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INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF
REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an of-
ficial State publication established by authority of
69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of
each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regula-
tions that are proposed to be adopted, amended or
repealed and any emergency regulations promul-
gated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the
following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders

• Governor’s Appointments

• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text

• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices

• Other documents considered to be in the
public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

1:1 Del. R. 35 - 37 (July 1, 1997) refers to
Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 35 - 37 of the Delaware
Register issued on July 1, 1997.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested
parties may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full
text of such proposals, together with copies of
the existing regulation being adopted, amended
or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in
the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of
this title.  The notice shall describe the nature of
the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority
of the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing,
of the place to which and the final date by which
such views may be submitted; or if at a public
hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.
If a public hearing is to be held, such public
hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days
following publication of notice of the proposal
in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing
will be held on the proposal, notice of the time,
date, place and a summary of the nature of the
proposal shall also be published in at least 2
Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have
made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of i ts regulation-making
proceedings.

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$100.00  from January - December.  Single
copies are available at a cost of $9.00 per issue,
including postage.  For more information
contact the Division of Research at 302-739-
4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

The opportunity for public comment shall
be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of Regulations.
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DATES FOR THE DELAWARE

REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt
within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and
information submitted, together with summaries of
the evidence and information by subordinates, the
agency shall determine whether a regulation should
be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its
conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A
brief summary of the evidence and information
submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of
fact with respect to the evidence and information,
except where a rule of procedure is being adopted
or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation or to take no action and the
decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact
text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the
order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions
required by the law under which the agency has
authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a
quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than
10 days from the date the order adopting, amending
or repealing a regulation has been published in its
final form in the Register of Regulations, unless
such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an
emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action
in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be subject
to review until final agency action on the proposal
has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,
no judicial review of a regulation is available unless
a complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30
days of the day the agency order with respect to the
regulation was published in the Register of
Regulations.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates
new text.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons
may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;
The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

DEPARTMENT OF
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION  OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

DELAWARE  BOARD OF CLINICAL

SOCIAL  WORK EXAMINERS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3901, 3906(a)(1)

(24 Del.C. 3901, 3906(a)(1))

The Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners
shall, pursuant to Title 24, Sections 3901 and 3906(a)(1) of
the Delaware Code, and Title 29, Section 10115 of the
Delaware Code , conduct a public hearing on the proposed
rules and regulations of the Delaware Board of Clinical Social
Work Examiners for clinical social workers licensed in the
State of Delaware.

The hearing shall be held on Monday, September 21,
1998 at 9:30 a.m. in the Second Floor Conference Room B
of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware.

The proposed rules and regulations include provisions:
(1) requiring an applicant holding a degree from a program
outside the United States to supply the Board with an
educational credential evaluation; (2) changing the date by
which licensees must submit documentation of continuing

education hours and providing for good cause extensions of
time in which continuing education credits can be submitted;
and (3) establishing procedures and requirements for licensees
seeking inactive status.

Copies of the proposed rules and regulations of the
Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners may be
obtained by contacting Ms. Gayle L. Franzolino at (302) 739-
4522 Extension 220, or by writing the Board of Clinical Social
Work Examiners at 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 203, Cannon
Building, Dover, DE  19904-2467.

Persons wishing to comment in writing on the proposed
rules and regulations must submit such comments to Ms. Gayle
L. Franzolino at the above address on or before the scheduled
hearing.

PROPOSED

DELAWARE BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK
EXAMINERS

RULES AND REGULATIONS

1.   ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

1.1 Officers shall be elected in September of each year,
for a one year term.  Special election to fill vacancies shall be
held upon notice and shall be only for the balance of the
original term.
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1.2 Officers have the following responsibilities:

(a) The President will preside at all meetings and
sign official documents on  behalf of the Board.

(b) The Vice-President will perform the duties of
the President when the latter is unavailable or unable to
perform the duties of the President.

(c)  The Secretary will preside over meetings in the
absence of the President and Vice-President.

2.    PROFESSIONAL SUPERVISION
2.1 Acceptable supervision shall be that amount of

personal oversight by the licensed professional that would be
considered usual and customary in the profession consistent
with the applicant’s level of skill, education and experience,
but in any event should include the following activities, by
way of example and not by way of limitation:

(a) Individual case reviews.
(b) Evaluations of diagnosis and courses of

treatment.
(c)  Proper adherence to agency policy and

procedures.
2.2 The amount of supervisory contact shall be at least

one hour per week during the supervised period.  This contact
must be on a one-to-one face-to-face basis.

2.3 The Board shall require submission of the following
information from the supervisor(s):   supervisor’s name,
business address, license number,professional field and
State in which the license was granted during the period of
supervision; agency  in which the supervision took place (if
applicable); the number of qualifying practice hours toward
the statutory requirement; and the number of one-to-one face-
to-face supervisory hours.

2.4 A licensed Psychiatrist shall be defined as a licensed
Medical Doctor with a specialty in psychiatry or a licensed
Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine with a specialty in psychiatry.

3.   APPLICATION AND EXAMINATION
3.1 Applications will be kept active and on file for two

(2) years.  If the applicant fails to meet the licensure
requirements and/or pass the examination within two (2) years,
the application shall be deemed to have expired and the
applicant must reapply in the same manner as for initial
application, i.e., by submitting the application documentation
along with the proper fee to be eligible to sit for the
examination.

3.2 The Board will not review incomplete applications.
3.3 All signatures must be original on all forms.
3.4 The applicant shall have obtained the passing score

on the national clinical examination approved by the American
Association of State Social Work Boards (AASSWB).  The
Board shall accept the passing grade as determined by the
AASSWB.

3.5 Any applicant holding a degree from a program

outside the United States or its territories must provide the
Board with an educational credential evaluation from
International Consultants of Delaware, Inc., its successor, or
any other similar agency approved by the Board,
demonstrating that their training and degree are equivalent to
domestic accredited programs.  No application is considered
complete until the educational credential evaluation is received
by the Board.  (29 Del. C. § 3907(a)(1))

4.    RENEWAL

4.1 The licensee’s failure to receive notices or letters
concerning renewal will not relieve the licensee of the
responsibility to personally assure delivery of his/her renewal
application to the Board.

4.2 In order to be eligible for license renewal during the
first year after expiration, the practitioner shall be required to
meet all continuing education credits for continued licensure,
pay the licensure fee, and pay any late fee established by the
Division of Professional Regulation.

5. CONTINUING EDUCATION
5.1 Required Continuing Education Hours:

(a) All licensees must complete forty-five (45)
hours of continuing education during each biennial license
period. For license periods beginning January 1, 1999  and
thereafter, Ddocumentation of all continuing education hours
must be submitted to the Board for approval prior to the
expiration date of the license. by October 31 of each biennial
license period.

(b) At the time of the initial license renewal, some
individuals will have been licensed for less than two (2) years.
Therefore, for these individuals only, the continuing education
hours will be prorated as follows:

License Granted During First Year: Credit Hours
Required:

January 1 - June 30 35 hours
July 1 - December 31 25 hours

License Granted During Second Year: Credit Hours
Required:

January 1 - June 30 15 hours
July 1 - December 31   5 hours

(c) Any licensee seeking to submit continuing
education hours for the Board’s approval after the end of a
licensing period must submit a written request to the Board
before the end of the licensing period and pay the appropriate
administrative fee.  The Board will grant such extensions only
on a showing of good cause.  No extension shall be for more
than 120 days after the end of the licensing period.  No license
shall be renewed unless the licensee has fulfilled the
continuing education requirement or received a good cause
extension from the Board.
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      5.2 Definition of Continuing Education:

(a) Continuing education is defined to mean courses
in colleges and universities, televised and extension courses,
independent study courses, workshops, seminars, conferences
and lectures oriented toward the enhancement of clinical social
work practice, values, skills and knowledge, including
preparation of a first-time clinical course.  This definition also
includes staff development activities provided by the various
agencies.

(b) Any program submitted for continuing
education hours must have been attended during the current
biennial licensing period.

(c) Clock hour credit will be for the actual number
of hours during which instruction was given during the
program, excluding meals and breaks.

5.3 Continuing Education Requirements:
Category I: A minimum of thirty (30) clock hours of

continuing education shall be in the
assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of
mental, emotional, and psycho-social
disorders, shall include at least three (3)
clock hours in ethical social work practice.

Category II : The remaining hours can be taken in social
research, psychology, sociology, human
growth and development, child and family
development, health, social action,
advocacy, human creativity, and any other
offering that directly relates to the licensee’s
practice.  A maximum of five (5) clock
hours may be given for a first-time
preparation of a clinical social work course,
in-service training, workshop, or seminar.
A copy of the course syllabus and
verification that the course was presented
is required for Board approval.

5.4 Course Documentation:
To receive continuing education credits, each licensee

must provide documentation which identifies the date and
place of the course, the number of instructional hours attended,
the agenda, outline or brochure of presentation, and certificate
of attendance stating hours of attendance.  The Board will
accept and retain the original or photocopy of such documents.

6.    INACTIVE STATUS  (24 Del. C. § 3911(c))
6.1 A licensee asking to have his/her license placed on

inactive status must notify the Board of his/her intention to
do so, in writing, prior to the expiration of his/her current
license.  Each subsequent request for extensions of inactive
status must be submitted to the Board in writing, before the
end of the immediately prior inactive period.

6.2 A licensee on inactive status must comply with Rule
5, “Continuing Education,” for each period of inactivity.  A
licensee on inactive status seeking to re-enter practice must
notify the Board in writing of his/her intention, pay the

appropriate fee, and provide the Board with documentation
of any continuing education hours required by Rule 5.

6.3 On written request and a showing of hardship, the
Board may grant additional time for completion of continuing
education requirements to licensees returning to practice from
inactive status.  “Hardship” includes, but is not limited to,
illness and involuntary unemployment.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

*  PLEASE NOTE THAT  THE FOLLOWING  REGULATORY  CHANGES

WILL  BE PRESENTED TO THE STATE  BOARD OF EDUCATION  AT ITS

MONTHLY  MEETING  ON AUGUST 20, 1998.

REPEAL OF POLICY FOR ESTABLISHING A SCHOOL
DISTRICT PLANNING PROCESS

The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of
Education to repeal the regulations, Policy for Establishing a
School District Planning Process, L.9.a.,b. and c. on pages A-
41 and A-42 in the Handbook for K-12 Education.  The policy,
established ten years ago, mandated that every school district
develop a five year strategic plan and submit it to the
Department of Education for approval and then submit
progress reports to the Department for review thereafter.  The
regulation required that the local district’s strategic plan
include a list of defined components.  The repeal is requested
because the local districts should be permitted to select their
own planning process and to carry it through as they see fit.
In addition, school district planning is required through the
Consolidated Grant Process which is not addressed in the
current policy and the Department of Education has not had
the resources to monitor the requirements set forth in the
original policy.

L.9.POLICY FOR ESTABLISHING A SCHOOL DISTRICT
PLANNING PROCESS

a. Preface
The State Board of Education believes that systematic

planning processes must be installed in each school district
so that the districts can efficiently and effectively improve
and accommodate change.  Change is confronting public
education from all quarters:  demographic, economic,
sociological, political, technological, environmental and
educational.  School policy makers must understand the
changing context in which they find themselves and respond
from an informed and reasoned position.

As part of its leadership role the State Board of Education,
through a planning process, has developed long range goals
to guide public education.  The Board desires that each district

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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complement this action by developing and installing a
planning process that considers the forces of change, builds
consensus in the district and focuses resources on attaining
both the state and local goals.  Further, the Board believes
that through an articulated state and local planning partnership,
with commonly held goals, public education in Delaware will
be positioned to confront change in a proactive manner.
Therefore, the following policy is proposed.

b. Policy
Each school district shall develop a strategic planning

process for guiding the district for a period of five years.  The
district planning process shall be submitted to the Department
of Public Instruction for State Board of Education approval
by August, 1991.

Once approved, the planning process will be implemented
during the 1992-1993 school year.  The initial district five
year plan will be used to guide budgeting for the 1994-1995
school year.  Through annual updates the district shall maintain
a current five year plan.  Progress reports based on the plan
shall be submitted to the State Board for review.

c. Strategic Planning Process
The strategic planning process, as a minimum, must

include the following components:
Strategies for:

(1) Developing wide community involvement and
consensus building in the school district

(2) Developing a mission statement for the district
(3) Documenting the district’s history, strengths and

shortcomings
(4) Recognizing the unique aspects and/or

limitations of the school district
(5) Addressing the national and state goals for

education
(6) Developing five-year goals for the district
(7) Translating the district goals into action at the

school level
(8) Budgeting the plan
(9) Developing accountability procedures and

indicators of progress
(10)Updating the plan annually

(State Board Approved September 1990) ]

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

MIDDLE LEVEL EDUCATION REGULATION

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of

Education to repeal parts of the Middle Level Education
Section of the Handbook for K-12 Education, Section III,
Pages C-1 through C-4, and to amend other parts.  Parts A.1.
and 2., Middle Level Education Policy, should be repealed
with the exception of the second half of the first paragraph
under A.2., page C-1, on certification which reads as follows:
“Beginning and newly employed teachers, administrators and
counselors who work in middle level programs shall, by
September, 1998, hold either a Middle Level Endorsement or
a Certificate.  This endorsement or certificate will assure that
the middle level educator has knowledge of the middle level
curriculum and the instructional strategies as well as
understanding the nature and needs of adolescent students”.

Part B.1., Middle Level Programs, should be repealed
because it is simply a list of programs provided for technical
assistance purposes.  Part B.2.a., Programs in English
Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies,
should be repealed because the content is covered in two other
regulations.  Part B.2.b.(1) and (2), Visual and Performing
Arts, should be amended along with Parts II.D.2.a. and b.,
pages B-4 and B-5, of the Elementary Section and Parts
IV.A.3.b.(1) and (2), page D-3, of the Secondary Section of
the Handbook as a separate regulation which reflect all three
existing parts by requiring that all schools provide a program
of study in the visual and performing arts.  Part B.2.c., Gifted
and Talented Education, should be repealed because it only
provides technical assistance information.  Part B.2.d.,
Comprehensive Health and Family Life Education, should
be repealed because it exists as a separate regulation and only
appears in this section for information purposes.  Part B.2.e.,
Physical Education, will remain until a new regulation for K-
12 defining health and physical education can be proposed
following the development of standards for these areas.  Part
B.2.f., Home Economics, should be amended to refer to all
pre-vocational areas and to career awareness and not just refer
to Home Economics and Technology Education.  Part B.2.g.,
Instruction in the Constitution of the United States was
repealed previously because it is in the Code.  Part B.2.h.,
Metric System, and Part B.2.i., Consumer Education, were
repealed previously. Part B.2.j., Minimum Class Periods, and
Part B.2.k., Prevocational Courses, should be repealed because
the content is covered in the vocational-technical program
regulations.  These changes are being recommended because
it is the position of the Secretary that although the elements
in the existing middle level education policy Parts A.1. and 2.
represent good strategies that are research based, the
organization of middle level education programs should be
left to the discretion of the local districts and local boards.
The Department of Education will continue to support this as
a model for middle level programs through technical assistance
and through the certification requirements, pre-vocational/
career education and visual and performing arts requirements,
but final decisions on the overall organization of middle level
programs will be local decisions.
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C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amended parts of the regulation help
improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards?

The amended parts of the regulation will help to improve
student achievement as measured against state improvement
standards.

2. Will the amended parts of the regulation help ensure
that all students receive an equitable education?

The amended parts of the regulation are written to ensure
that all students receive the same opportunities throughout
their Middle Level Education Program.

3. Will the amended parts of the regulation help to
ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately
protected?

The amended parts of the regulation do not address health
and safety issues.

4. Will the amended parts of the regulation help to
ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended parts of the regulation do not specifically
deal with equal rights issues.

5. Will the amended parts of the regulation preserve
the necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at
the local board and school level?

The amended parts of the regulation will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended parts of the regulation place
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school
levels?

The amended parts of the regulation will not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school
levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the same
entity.

8. Will the amended parts of the regulation be consistent
with and not an impediment to the implementation of other
state educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects
of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies?

The amended parts of the regulation will not be an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

The amended parts of the regulation are needed to provide
clarity and focus.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school boards
of compliance with the amended parts of the regulation?

The amendment parts of the regulation do not add any
additional cost.

FROM HANDBOOK FOR K-12 EDUCATION

III. MIDDLE LEVEL EDUCATION
A. MIDDLE LEVEL EDUCATION POLICY

1. PHILOSOPHY
The State Board of Education recognizes that Middle

Level Education is special and unique in the state’s educational
system.  As such, it is a broad-based program that provides
young adolescents with a positive environment during their
transition years.  It emphasizes the development of the student
in the academic, physical, social and emotional realms within
a community of learning and caring.

The State Board of Education also recognizes that
those who administer effective middle level programs and
those who teach and work in them should be appropriately
educated for, and personally committed to, the process of
helping each student succeed and become future oriented.

1. 2.REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION[
MIDDLE LEVEL EDUCATION PROGRAMS

By September, 1996, every public school in
Delaware with students in consecutive grades within the range
of grades 5 through 8 shall organize those students into middle
level programs either as separate schools or as a separate
school within a school.  Additionally, Beginning and newly
employed teachers, administrators and counselors who work
in middle level programs shall, by September, 1998, hold
either a middle level endorsement or certificate.  This
endorsement and/or certificate will assure that the middle level
educator has knowledge of the middle level curriculum and
instructional strategies as well as an understanding of the
nature and needs of young adolescent students.

The following are the essential components of a
program designed to meet the learning styles and
developmental needs of middle level students.  These
components of effective Middle Level Education shall be
implemented by all reorganized middle level schools.

a. A comprehensive core curriculum for all
students with a planned sequence of concepts and skills
including, but not limited to:  communication skills,
multicultural literacy, humanities, social sciences,
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mathematics, natural sciences, fine and performing arts,
critical/creative thinking, family life/parenting education,
health and wellness education, technological literacy and the
exploration of occupational and personal interests.

b. Grouping of students into smaller
heterogeneous learning communities within the larger school.

c. Interdisciplinary teams of teachers who
share responsibility for instruction of the same students,
integrate subject matter, and collaborate to meet changing
developmental and instructional student needs.

d. Counseling, mentoring and career
exploration programs designed to assist students with personal
and future decision making, particularly decisions related to
high school program choices.

e. Co-curricular activities, including
opportunities for volunteerism, which are varied and related
to the current interests and developmental stages of middle
level students.

f. Staff development programs designed
specifically for middle level practitioners based upon the
unique needs of middle level students and programs.

g. A school climate where positive
relationships with adults and other students create an
atmosphere conducive to personal and academic growth as
well as a sense of security and structure.

h. Cooperative relationships with health and
social service agencies which provide students with the health
and family support systems.

i. Partnerships emphasizing a supportive role
be developed and maintained with families, business and
industry, agencies serving youth and their families, elementary
and high school staff and students, and higher education
institutions, to help assure the success of middle level students.

The Department of Public Instruction shall
provide technical assistance to the districts and schools to
assure an effective transition and to help schools organize
their programs.  Program Guidelines for Middle Level
Education will serve as the basis for operating, evaluating,
and organizing middle level education.

(State Board Approved April 1991, Revised March 1995)

B. PROGRAMS
1. MIDDLE LEVEL PROGRAMS

a. English/Language Arts
b. Math
c. Science
d. Social Studies
e. Visual and Performing Arts
f. Foreign Language
g. Gifted and Talented Education
h. Health and Family Life Education
i. Physical Education
j. Pre-Vocational-Technical Education

Orientation/Exploration
k. Home Economics and Family Life/

Parenting Education
l. Technology Education

2. ADDITIONAL MIDDLE SCHOOL
REQUIREMENTS

a. Programs In English Language Arts,
Mathematics, Science and Social Studies

(1) Middle level school programs in
English language arts, mathematics, science and social studies
must be aligned with the state content standards as adopted
by the State Board of Education in June, 1995.

b. Visual and Performing Arts (music, visual
arts, theatre, dance)

(1) All schools must provide a program of
study in the visual and performing arts as a part of the
curriculum to meet the educational and cultural needs of
students in each of the middle level grades, five through eight.

(2) Programs in the visual and performing
arts must be aligned with the state content standards when
they are approved by the State Board of Education.  It is
anticipated that they will be adopted in June, 1997.

c. Gifted and Talented Education
(1) Refer to Programs for Gifted and

Talented Students in the State of Delaware, an annual
publication for specific district and higher education program
offerings.  Also, see “Low-Cost Options for Students with
Special Gifts & Talents” (Appendix E) and “Program
Standards for Gifted and Talented Programs in the State of
Delaware” (Appendix F).

d. Comprehensive Health Education and
Family Life Education

Based on the Comprehensive Health
Education and Family Life Education Policy, Health and
Family Life Education must be provided in grades 5 and 6 for
thirty-five (35) hours in each grade of which fifteen (15) hours
in each grade must address Drug/Alcohol Education.  In grades
7 and 8, separate from other subject areas, there must be a
minimum of sixty (60) hours of Comprehensive Health
Education of which fifteen (15) hours in each grade must
address Drug/Alcohol Education.  If all of the sixty (60) hours
are provided in one year at grade 7 or 8, an additional fifteen
(15) hours of Drug and Alcohol Education must be provided
in the other grade.  (See Page A-55 of the Handbook for this
Policy, State Board Approved September 1987, Revised July
1990)]

2. e.Physical Education
Physical education must be offered at least two

class periods per week for a year or five days a week for a
semester in both grades 7 and 8.  (State Board Approved
February 1985)

3. f.Home Economics Career Awareness and Pre-
Vocational Programs

Program offerings in home economics and
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technology education must be available to all students in
middle school to insure that they have the exploratory
experience and elective studies to develop their special interest
skills.  It is essential that these programs be staffed by certified
home economics and technology education teachers. All
middle schools shall provide a program of career awareness
and pre-vocational education that will give students the
opportunity to explore and understand the skills, aptitudes
necessary for successful, adult work experiences.

g. Instruction in the Constitution of the United
States

In the area of social studies, Delaware Code
requires that --

“The instruction in the Constitution of the
United States and the Constitution and government of the State
of Delaware shall begin not later than opening of the eighth
grade...”  (See Page A-39 of the Handbook for 14 Del. C.
Section 4103)

This requirement must be met through units
included in the social studies curriculum.

h. Metric System
A unit of instruction must be provided on

the metric system of measurement.  This instruction may be
offered as part of the science or mathematics curriculum.  (See
Page A-39, State Board Approved February 1974)

i. Consumer Education
Fifteen classroom hours of introductory

study in consumer education is also required in middle level
programs.  (See Page A-37 State Board Approved
Requirement, May 1975)

j. Minimum Class Periods
Although the maximum number of periods

allocated to any subject area is left to the discretion of the
individual school, it should be emphasized that minimum and
appropriate instructional time be devoted to all subject areas.
Educational needs of students based upon appropriate
diagnostic techniques should aid in determining the number
of class sessions per week as well as class length.

(1) The minimum amount of time a subject
shall meet per week must not be less than two periods or the
equivalent of 90 minutes per week of class time.  Schools
should endeavor to provide class instruction beyond the
minimum required.

k. Pre-Vocational Courses
State Board approval for funding pre-

vocational courses (99.0200) will be contingent upon meeting
approved State content standards for pre-vocational education
courses and shall be designated as such, independent of any
other course, and offered as a self-contained vocational subject
as described in b. of this section.  (State Board Approved July
1987)

From the Elementary Section of the Handbook for K-12
Education, Pages B-4 to B-5

II.D.2. VISUAL AND PERFORMING ARTS (Music,
Visual Arts, Theatre and Dance)

a. All schools must provide a program of study in the
visual and performing arts as a part of the curriculum to meet
the educational and cultural needs of students in each of the
elementary grades, kindergarten through four.

b. Programs in the visual and performing arts must be
aligned with the state content standards when they are adopted
by the State Board of Education.  It is anticipated they will be
adopted in June, 1997.

From the Middle Level Section of the Handbook for K-12
Education, Page C-3

III.B.2.b. Visual and Performing Arts (music, visual arts,
theatre, dance)

(1) All schools must provide a program of study in the
visual and performing arts as a part of the curriculum to meet
the educational and cultural needs of students in each of the
middle level grades, five through eight.

(2) Programs in the visual and performing arts must be
aligned with the state content standards when they are
approved by the State Board of Education.  It is anticipated
that they will be adopted in June, 1997.

From the High School Section of the Handbook for K-12
Education, Page D-3

IV.A.3.b. Visual and Performing Arts (Music, Visual Arts,
Theatre, and Dance)

(1) All high schools should provide a program of study
in the visual and performing arts as a part of the curriculum to
meet the educational and cultural needs of all students as well
as those students wishing to pursue indepth study or a career
in the visual and performing arts.

(2) Programs in the visual and performing arts must be
aligned with the state content standards when they are adopted
by the State Board of Education.  It is anticipated that they
will be adopted in June, 1997.

Visual and Performing Arts (Music, Visual Arts, Theatre, and
Dance)

All schools shall provide a program of study in the visual and
performing arts as part of the curriculum necessary to meet
the educational and cultural needs of students.  This program
of study shall be aligned with the state content standards in
the visual and performing arts.
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REPEAL OF REGULATION, PROMOTION POLICY

The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of
Education to repeal the regulation, Promotion Policy, J.3.,
page A-27 in the Handbook for K-12 Education.  The policy
requires each local school district to have a policy on
promotion for students K-12 based on student achievement.
The regulation also permits the local school district policy to
include but not be limited to factors such as emotional stability
or instability, physical health and strength and motivational
and social skills.  The repeal is necessary because 14 Del. C.,
as amended in June, 1998, now defines the elements of a local
district’s promotion policy.

3. PROMOTION POLICY
Each local school district shall have a promotion policy

for kindergarten through grade 12 and such policy must be
based on student achievement.  The promotion policy may
also include other factors to be considered when decisions
must be made regarding student promotion.  Such factors may
include, but not be limited to, emotional stability or instability,
physical health and strength variables, motivation and social
skills.  Promotion policy guidelines should be assessed on a
continuing basis and modified as appropriate. (State Board
Approved January 1978)

REPEAL OF REGULATIONS, STUDENT PROGRESS,
GRADING AND REPORTING

The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of
Education to repeal the regulations, Student Progress, Grading
and Reporting, J.1.a.-d. and J.2.a.-c., pages A-25 to A-27 in
the Handbook for K-12 Education.  These regulations are
really technical assistance suggestions for student grading and
reporting.  The terms are defined and the role and purpose of
grading and reporting is explained and the methodology is
discussed.  Grading and reporting on student progress (as on
report cards) has always been a local prerogative.  Although
the Del. C. requires school profiles, reporting directly to
parents/guardians has always been left to each local school
district.  The Department’s guidelines may be helpful but they
should not be regulatory.

J. STUDENT PROGRESS
1. GRADING

a. Definition
Grading represents that segment of evaluation

concerned with the methods and processes by which individual
students are assessed to determine the extent to which they
have acquired basic concepts, knowledge of facts, skills and
processes, fundamental information, and have achieved the
instructional objectives of a particular subject or area of study.
The assessment is usually distinguished through a numerical

rating or alphabetical symbol.
b. Role of Grading
A grade or mark thus reflects the degree to which

students have developed and progressed educationally in
comparison with other members of a class or in terms of their
individual capacity or ability.  The grade must be considered
as the value resulting from the evaluation process associated
with learning and the attainment of objectives.  It should never
be construed as an end in itself.  Such an assumption elevates
the product beyond the process of learning.

c. Variety of Evaluation Methods
Teachers and administrators should realize that

grading is only one aspect of evaluation.  It becomes the
responsibility of the school administrator to assure that as
much appropriate information and knowledge about a student
as possible be considered before assigning a grade.  The
process of evaluating and the criteria for determining the
educational achievement of a student must be all-
encompassing to be reliable.  A grade must be based on a
multitude of factors, not test scores alone.

d. Grading System
Any grading system used should follow reliable and

valid principles of measurement and evaluation.  The exact
symbols designating the grade are not as important as the
processes leading to the designation.  It is important, however,
that all persons developing or revising a grading system be
able to understand the relationship of one grade to another on
a percentage scale or numerical scale.

2. REPORTING
a. Definition
Reporting relates to the methods of communication

existing between the school, the students, and their families.
The purpose or objectives of reporting are as follows:

(1) to inform the students and their families of
educational progress and achievement which may reflect both
the quantity and quality of class achievement;

(2) to provide information to the students and
their families about the purpose and objectives of education;

(3) to assist the teachers in assessing the
instructional program and bringing about improvement; and

(4) to provide information necessary for
maintaining accurate and appropriate student records for
present and future reference.

b. Purpose
Reporting to students and their families the results

of an evaluation of the individual student may be in many
forms:  oral reporting, written reporting, and conferences.  Oral
reporting may involve an informal or formal conference.  The
report card is the main instrument for communicating student
progress.

c. Achievement and Attitude Reporting
Written reporting constitutes the basis for

communicating the grades the students have earned in the
various subjects in the school.  These grades usually reflect
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academic achievement, but may relate to attitudinal aspects
as well as character traits.  It is recommended, however, that
a grade should not reflect a composite of achievement and
attitude.  Separate symbols or ratings should be designated
for each of these categories.

It is most important that reporting convey to all
concerned the fundamental intentions for which a reporting
system was devised.]

REPEAL OF REGULATIONS, SUMMER SCHOOL
PROGRAMS

The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of
Education to repeal the regulations Summer School Programs,
E.3.a. and b., pages A-13 to A-14 in the Handbook for K-12
Education.  The regulations, as they are written, are in the
form of technical assistance and do not use the terms must or
shall.  The regulations list the types of summer school
experiences that may be offered for students and present
guidelines for districts to use when establishing summer school
courses for credit.  Since it is the local school districts who
operate summer school programs, they should establish the
policies with the exception of the extended year program
which is defined in Del. C.

3. SUMMER SCHOOL PROGRAMS
a. The organization and administration of the summer

school instructional programs should be in accordance with
acceptable educational procedures.  Summer school programs,
conducted under the auspices of the local school district or
combined districts, may be established to provide the
following experiences:

(1) remedial or make-up courses for credit for those
students who have failed the course or else who have received
a low grade;

(2) programs designed for completing specific
performance requirements;

(3) exploratory courses where the students acquire
basic information and skills;

(4) occupational/vocational courses where students
acquire personal or specialized skills and/or participate in
cooperative work experience programs where appropriate
credit is granted;

(5) personal or academic enrichment courses for the
acquisition of information and skills;

(6) original or advanced courses for credit for
students who want to complete their program of studies early;
and

(7) recreational programs which do not grant credit
but provide activities of a physical nature.

b. In order to establish educational programs during
the summer where credit for satisfactory completion of the
scheduled courses is granted, these following guidelines

should be considered:
(1) Establish courses of study and student

performance expectations prior to attendance.  This will permit
objective assessment of the content to determine equivalency.

(2) Establish procedures for the admittance and
registration of students, and the employment of staff.

(3) Establish a minimum grade of 60 or the letter
grade equivalent and/or the approval of the principal as the
criteria for acceptance into a remedial or make-up course
which was previously failed.

(4) Establish that:  make-up or remedial courses for
those who have failed should be at least 90 continuous minutes
in duration or its equivalent in performance expectations and
accomplishments for a six-week period.

(5) Students participating in approved summer
school programs should receive the grade achieved.  It is the
responsibility of the home school administrator to record the
grade received and average the grade or enter appropriate
notation on the students’ records as to make-up or remedial
study.

(6) Courses granting full credit of one unit must
meet the equivalent of 120 hours.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

SCHOOL ATTENDANCE

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of
Education to amend the regulation School Attendance found
on page A-8, 4.a.,b.,c., and d. in the Handbook for K-12
Education.  The content of the regulation is found in the Del.
C., Chapter 27 and was included in the Handbook for technical
assistance purposes.  The amendment would remove the
present language and substitute the following new language.
“Every school district shall have an attendance policy which
defines and describes the district’s rules concerning attendance
for students K-12 and the district shall distribute and explain
these policies to every student at the beginning of each school
year.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement standards?
The amended regulation concerns policy adoption

and does not specifically address student achievement issues.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
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students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation does not address equity
issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation does not address health and
safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation does not address legal rights
issues but it does support the student’s right to information
concerning district policies.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the same
entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies
addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of
mathematics, science, language arts and social studies?

The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation?

The amended regulation is necessary in order to
assure that local district attendance policies are in place and
are well publicized.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?

There is no additional cost to the local school boards.

This policy can be distributed with the student rights and
responsibilities materials.

AS AMENDED

4. SCHOOL ATTENDANCE
Additional information concerning school attendance--

laws, regulations, reasons for necessary and legal absences,
the role of the visiting teacher, and recommended forms are
found in the publication, Resource Materials for Developing
Procedures of Administering School Attendance, Revised
January 1990.  (See Appendix A)

a. Every parent, guardian or other person in the State
having legal control of a child between the ages of 5 and 16 is
required to, and shall, send such child to a free public school
each day of the minimum school term of 180 days.

(1) Students in special education who attain age 21
after September 30 (except July 1 for Complex or Rare), may
continue their school placement until the end of that fiscal
year.

b. After a child has once been enrolled in school, the
school shall require an excuse from the parent or guardian for
every absence, and such excuse shall contain the reason for
the absence.

c. The school principal is responsible for
recommending to the local board of education guidelines
relating to classroom attendance and the establishment of
acceptable standards of performance in the subject areas
required for graduation or promoting along with acceptable
attendance standards for all subject areas.

d. The chief school officer is the attendance officer of
the district.  A visiting teacher is assigned to each school
district or a combination of districts to investigate attendance
problems.  It is always the first goal of attendance personnel
to ascertain the reason for absence and then seek a way to
return the child to school.  The visiting teacher should be an
enforcement officer only as a last resort.  However, if the
investigation warrants, a school attendance violation notice
may be sent to the parents by the chief school officer.

SCHOOL ATTENDANCE

1. Every school district shall have an attendance policy
which defines and describes the district’s rules concerning
attendance for students K-12 and the district shall distribute
and explain these policies to every student at the beginning
of each school year.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND

SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512)

Food Stamp Program

The Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of
Social Services, is proposing to implement a policy change
to the Division of Social Services’ Manual Section 9068,
regarding certification periods during which a household is
eligible to receive food stamp benefits.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

Establishes circumstances under which different
households will be assigned certification periods of varying
lengths.

COMMENT PERIOD

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Division of Social Services, P.O.
Box 906, New Castle, DE, by August 30, 1998.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

9068 Certification Periods
[273.10(f)]

Certification periods means the period of time within
which a household shall be eligible to receive benefits.  At
the expiration of each certification period, entitlement to food
stamp benefits ends.  Further eligibility will be established
only upon a recertification based upon a newly completed
application, an interview and verification.  Under no
circumstances will benefits be continued beyond the end of a
certification period without a new determination of eligibility.

The certification periods for all households shall not
exceed 12 months.

Households eligible for the child support deduction shall
have the following certification periods:

• Households with no record of regular child support
payments or payments of arrearages shall be certified for no
more than 3 months.

• Households with a record of regular child support
payments or payments of arrearages shall be certified for no
more than six months.

12-month certification periods are assigned to households
when:

• Households consist entirely of elderly or
unemployable persons with stable income like Social Security,
SSI, pension and/or disability benefits; and

• Households receive their primary source of income
from self-employment or regular farm employment with the
same employer.

6-month certification periods are assigned to households
when:

• Households have stable income and there is little
likelihood of major changes in income, deductions and
household composition;

• Households consist of ABAWD individuals because
the system will close the case after three months of not meeting
the work rules;

• Household have a record of regular child support
and arrearage payments; and,

• Households have been closed due to the New Hire
Match and they come in verifying that they are now working.

3-month certification periods are assigned to households
when:

• Household have no record of regular child support
or child support arrearage payments;

• Homeless households receive their benefits at a P.
O. Box;

• Households receive their benefits at the local office;

• Households have been closed due to the New Hire
Match and they come in verifying they are no longer working;
and

• Households have unstable circumstances.

Simplified Food Stamp Program

The Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of
Social Services, is proposing to implement on a permanent
basis a policy change to the Division of Social Services’
Manual Section 9000 that was implemented previously by
emergency order.  The change arises from Public Law 104-
193, the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (national welfare reform), as an
option and was first announced in January, 1995, as part of
the original A Better Chance (ABC) waiver design.  These
changes were previously published for public comment in
the June 1, 1998 Delaware Register of Regulations.  However,
due to subsequent staff analysis and substantial modification
of the proposal, it is being re-proposed for public comment.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

Replaces food stamp work exemptions with ABC
exemptions, lowering to under 13 weeks the age at which a
child exempts a parent/caretaker for ABC clients in Workfare.

Allows the agency to use the food stamp allotment along
with the ABC benefit in determining the number of hours a
household is required to participate in Workfare, which is a
work experience program in which participants work to earn
their benefits.

COMMENT PERIOD

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Division of Social Services, P.O.
Box 906, New Castle, DE, by August 30, 1998.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

9092 Simplified Food Stamp Program
DSS was approved by Food and Nutrition Service, under

the United States Department of Agriculture, to operate a
Simplified Food Stamp Program (SFSP).  The SFSP permits
a state to substitute certain TANF rules and procedures for
food stamp rules.  Delaware’s SFSP component is the work
for your welfare (Workfare) program rules.

Households in which all members, or one or more
members, receive ABC may participate in the SFSP.  Non-
Public Assistance (NPA) households will not participate in
the SFSP.

The SFSP will follow all the regular food stamp rules for
determining eligibility and certifying households.  Under the
SFSP, the changes in the food stamps rules that will affect
Workfare ABC households who receive food stamps are:

• replacing food stamp Workfare penalties with the
ABC Workfare program requirements and penalties, and

• replacing food stamp work exemptions with ABC
exemptions.

The two ABC work exemptions are:
a) A parent caring for a child under 13 weeks of age;

or
b) An individual determined unemployable by a health

care professional.

The SFSP allows Delaware to require individuals who
are receiving ABC and caring for children age 13 weeks and
older to participate in Workfare.  The SFSP also allows
Delaware to use the food stamp allotment along with the ABC
grant to determine the number of hours of Workfare
participation.

DELAWARE’S WORKFARE PROGRAM

Work For Your Welfare (Workfare) program

Work for Your Welfare (Workfare) is defined as a work
experience program in which participants work to earn their
benefits.  Those in Workfare must participate for a
predetermined number of hours each week and complete 10
hours of job search activities per week.

Required Hours of Workfare Participation

One-parent households will be required to work the maximum
participation hours of 25 hours per week.  The maximum
required work hours for one-parent families will increase to
30 hours per week for FFY 1999.

Two-parent households will be required to work the maximum
participation hours of 35 hours per week.

Determine the Workfare required hours of participation:
1. The pre-sanctioned ABC grant is divided by

minimum wage of $5.15, and the result is rounded down.
• The result is subtracted from the appropriate

required monthly maximum participate hours (for example,
25 hours per week would be 25 x 4.33 = 108).

• The remainder is multiplied by $5.15 to
determine the portion of the food stamp allotment which can
be used when imposing a Workfare reduction.

2. The food stamp allotment is divided by minimum
wage of $5.15, and the result is rounded down.

3. The two results (#1 and #2), added together, are the
monthly number of hours for which the family/household is
required to participate.

4. The monthly number of hours (#3) is divided by 4.33
to get a weekly number of hours, rounded down.

5. Compare the weekly number of hours (#4) to the
maximum required for a one or two-parent household.  Use
the lesser number for the weekly number of hours.

6. The weekly number of hours (#5) is divided by 5 to
get the daily participation requirement, rounded down.  (This
step is needed to give the Contractor and Client an idea of
how to schedule the work on a daily basis to assure that the
Client is able to meet the required Workfare hours of
participation.)

7. Consult the yearly table for the number of days the
participant is required to do Workfare.  Multiply that number
by the daily participation rate (#6) to determine the monthly
required participation rate.

Workfare Reduction

For every hour that a participant fails to work, the ABC check
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will first be reduced by $5.15.  If the ABC grant reduces to
zero, any remaining Workfare reduction amount will be used
to reduce the food stamp allotment up to the portion used to
meet the required hours of participation.

Determination of  the Workfare reduction amount:
1. Subtract the actual hours of participation for a month

from the required hours for the same month.
2. Any amount greater than zero is multiplied by $5.15,

resulting in the Workfare reduction amount.
3. Subtract the exact Workfare reduction amount (#2)

from the ABC grant amount and round down.
4. Subtract any 1/3 E& T/school attendance sanctions

from amount in #3 before subtracting any $68 or $50
sanctions.

5. If the subtraction of the Workfare reduction amount
reduces the ABC benefit to zero and there is a remaining
Workfare reduction amount, this amount will be subtracted
from the food stamp allotment.  Only the portion of the food
stamp allotment used to determine the participation hours can
be subtracted from the food stamp allotment.  (If there is a
$100 Workfare reduction amount left over after the grant
reduced to zero, but only $75 of the allotment was used to
determine the hours of participation, only $75 can be
subtracted from the allotment.)

Job Search Activities/Failure to Complete

Individuals in Workfare must complete 10 hours of job search
activities each week.  The failure to complete job search
activities will result in a progressive 1/3 grant reduction
sanction.  For food stamps, if the individual who fails to
complete job search activities is caring for a child under the
age of six, no sanction will be applied to the household.  The
pre-sanctioned grant amount will be used in the food stamp
calculation to prevent an increase in the food stamps.
(Riverside Rule.)

If the individual who fails to complete job search activities is
not caring for a child under six years of age, DSS will apply
the appropriate food stamp sanction.

The appropriate food stamp sanctions are:
• If the individual who failed to complete job search

activities is the head of household, the whole food stamp
household is sanctioned for the appropriate 1 month, 3 months,
or six months period, or until compliance whichever is later.

If the individual is not the head of household, the
individual is removed from the food stamp case for the
appropriate 1 month, 3 months, or six months period, or until
compliance whichever is later.

SUMMARY OF THE SIMPLIFIED FOOD STAMP

PROGRAM:
• The simplified food stamp program lowers the age

at which a child exempts a parent from work requirements in
Workfare to under 13 weeks.

• Household will work a pre-determined number of
hours in order to receive their ABC benefit.

• Hours not worked will result in a reduction in the
potential benefits they could have received.

• Failure to complete job search activities will result
in a food stamp sanction for those households where the
youngest child is 6 years of age or older.

• Food stamps are calculated using the pre-sanctioned
grant amount before applying any Workfare reduction amount
or appropriate sanction.  (Riverside rule)

• Workfare reductions are applied before reductions
for any sanctions.

• When the ABC grant reduces to zero and a Workfare
reduction amount remains, the remainder, or a portion of the
remainder, is subtracted from the food stamp allotment.  Only
the portion of the food stamp allotment that was needed to
meet the required hours of participation can be subtracted.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION  OF WATER RESOURCES

WATER SUPPLY SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:

Regulations for Licensing Water Well Contractors, Pump
Installer Contractors, Well Drillers, Well Drivers and Pump
Installers.

BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND
ISSUES:

The proposed changes and additions add a continuing
education requirement as a prerequisite for renewing licenses
to practice well drilling, well driving and pump installation.
Revisions are proposed to section 6 and a new section 7 has
been added.  Sections 7 through 15 of the current regulations
will be renumbered and section references located throughout
the current regulations will be corrected as needed.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/water.htm
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POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:

N/A

STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:

Title 7, Del. C., Chapter 60

OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY
THE PROPOSAL:

None

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:

The public hearing will be held on August 27, 1998 at
7:00 p.m. in the auditorium of the DNREC office building
located at 89 Kings Highway in Dover.  Written comments
must be received by 4:30 p.m. on August 31, 1998.  Comments
may be mailed to the attention of Carol W. Apgar, Water
Supply Section, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 or E-
Mailed to capgar@dnrec.state.de.us.

PREPARED BY:

Carol W. Apgar   (capgar@dnrec.state.de.us) 302-739-
3665    June 22, 1998

PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE REGULATIONS FOR
LICENSING WATER WELL CONTRACTORS, PUMP

INSTALLER CONTRACTORS, WELL DRILLERS,
WELL DRIVERS AND PUMP INSTALLERS

JUNE 22, 1998
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SECTION 1 – PURPOSE

1.01 It is the purpose of this regulation to protect the public
health and to conserve and protect the water resources of the
state; to examine and license those persons engaged in the
contracting for and the drilling, boring, coring, driving,
digging, construction, installation, removal, or repair of water
wells and water test wells or the installation or removal of
pumping equipment in and for a water well or water test well;
and for the Secretary to appoint a Water Well Licensing Board
to advise and assist the Secretary in the administration of the
licensing program.

SECTION 2 – DEFINITIONS

2.01 Application Fee – means the fee set forth by the
Secretary to apply for a license in one of the categories of this
regulation.

2.02 Board – means the Water Well Licensing Board.

2.03 Certificate of Insurance – means Contractors
Liability Insurance.

2.04 Construction of Water Wells – means all acts
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necessary to obtain ground water by wells, including the
location and excavation of the well, installation of casing,
grout, screens, and developing and testing.

2.05 Department – means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control

2.06 Dewatering – means the temporary lowering of the
ground water level for the construction of sewer lines, water
lines, elevator shafts and foundations.

2.07 Installation – means the actual installation of pumps,
and/or pumping equipment for water wells, and the removal
for repairs or service and the reinforcement thereof.

2.08 License Fees – means the fee set forth by the
Secretary for the licensing of Water Well Contractors, Pump
Installer Contractors, Well Drillers, Well Drivers, and Pump
Installers.

2.09 Person – means any individual, partnership,
corporation, association, institution, cooperative enterprise,
municipality, commission, political subdivision or duly
established legal entity.

2.10 Pumps and/or Pumping Equipment – means any
equipment or materials utilized or intended for use in
withdrawing or obtaining ground water from water wells.

2.11 Pump Installer Contractor – means any person
engaged in the business of contracting for the installation,
modification, and repair of water well pumps and related
equipment.

2.12 Pump Installer – means any person in responsible
charge of all on-site work in the installation, modification,
and repair of water well pumps and related equipment.

2.13 Repair of Water Wells – means work on any well
involving re-drilling, deepening, changing casing and screen
depths, re-screening, cleaning by use of chemicals, re-
development, the removal and re-installation of pumps,
pumping equipment, and all related equipment to draw water
from a water well.

2.14 Secretary – means the Secretary of the Department
of  Natural Resources and Environmental Control or his duly
authorized designee.

2.15 Test Boring and Coring – means the removal and
collection of soil samples from the earth by means of augers,
core-barrels, spoons, wash casing and bailers for the purpose
of obtaining geologic and hydrologic information.

2.16 Water Well – means any excavation that is drilled,
cored, bored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise
constructed when the intended use of such excavation is for
the location testing, acquisition or artificial recharge of
underground water and where the depth is greater than the
diameter or width.

2.17 Water Well Contractor – means any person engaged
in the business of contracting for the construction of water
wells, and/or the installation of pumping equipment in or for
wells.

2.18 Water Well Driller – means any person in responsible
charge of all on-site work relating to the drilling, construction,
developing and testing of water wells, water well alteration
and repair, test boring and coring, and the installation,
modification, and repair of water well pumps and related
equipment.

2.19 Water Well Driver – means any person in responsible
charge for all on-site work relating to the driving, construction,
developing and testing of driven wells, dewatering, alteration
and repair of driven wells, test boring, coring and the
installation, modification and repair of water well pumps and
related equipment ordinarily used in driven wells.

SECTION 3 – WATER WELL LICENSING BOARD

3.01 The Secretary shall appoint, with the power of
removal, a Water Well Licensing Board (hereafter referred to
as the “Board”) to advise and assist the Secretary in the
administration of the licensing program.  The Board shall
consist of six members, four members who are currently
licensed by the Department to engage in the construction of
water wells or the installation of water well pumping
equipment, one member from the office of the State Geologist
who shall serve at the pleasure of the Secretary and one
member from the Department who shall serve at the pleasure
of the Secretary.  The member from the Department shall act
as secretary of the Board, and be responsible for the keeping
of records, the collection of fees, and any other duties
delegated either by the Secretary or the Board.  All persons
appointed to the Board shall be citizens of the United States
and residents of the State of Delaware.  Initially, the four Board
members from the water well industry shall be appointed to
staggered terms so that no more than two members’ terms
shall expire the same year, two being appointed to one year
terms, one appointed for a two year term and one appointed
for three years.  Thereafter, Board members shall be appointed
to terms of three years.

3.02 The Water Well Contractor Licensing Board, with
the consent of the Secretary shall establish and administer
such procedures and guidelines as may be necessary for the
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regulation of those involved in water well construction and
pump installation, and shall include at least the following
provisions:

a. Examination of candidates, the granting and renewal
of licenses, and

b. Suspension and revocation of licenses.

SECTION 4 – WHO MUST BE LICENSED

4.01 All persons who engage in the business of contracting
for water wells, test boring and coring, dewatering, the
installation, modification and repair of water well pumps and
related equipment within the State of Delaware.

4.02 All persons who engage in the business of water well
drilling, water well driving, test boring and coring, dewatering
and the installation, modification, and repair of water well
pumps and related equipment within the State of Delaware.

4.03 All persons engaged in the business of contracting
for the installation, modification, and repair of water well
pumps and related equipment within the State of Delaware.

4.04 All persons engaged in installation, modification, and
repair of water well pumps and related equipment within the
State of Delaware.

SECTION 5 – PROCEDURES FOR LICENSING

5.01 Application fee: An application for any type of
license issued by the Board shall be made on forms furnished
by the Board and be accompanied by a non-refundable
application fee of $10.00.

5.02 Minimum Requirements for Licensing:
a. The applicant must be at least eighteen years of age;
b. Has had at least two years experience in the work

for which he is applying for a license (one year in the case of
a pump installer);

c. Furnishes the Board with references from two
persons actively engaged in the well drilling and/or pump
installation business; and

d. Demonstrates professional competence by passing
a written and/or oral examination prescribed by the Board

e. Eligibility for Examination

The Board shall determine by (a) through (c) of the above
criteria whether an applicant meets the necessary requirements
to be eligible for examination.  After determining that an
applicant is eligible for examination, the Board shall notify
the applicant of his eligibility for examination.  Applicants
who are determined ineligible for examination shall be so
notified by the Board and may re-apply after 90 days from
the date of notification.

5.03 Notification for Examination
The Board shall, not less than thirty days prior to the

examination, notify each eligible applicant of the time and
place of the examination.  The examination shall be given at
least annually, and at such other times as in the opinion of the
Board, the number of applicants warrants.  The Board may, if
the applicant meets all other requirements issue a temporary
license, not to exceed 90 days, until the next examination is
given by the Board.

5.04 Examination
The examination shall consist of a written and/or oral

examination, and shall fairly test the applicant’s knowledge
and application thereof in the following subjects:  Basics of
drilling methods and basics of construction; state and local
laws and ordinances concerning the construction of water
wells and/or installation of pumps and pumping equipment,
and rules and regulations promulgated in connection therein.

5.05 Reapplication after Failure of Examination
In the event an applicant fails to receive a passing grade

on the examination, he shall be so notified by the Board within
30 days and may re-apply for a subsequent examination with
payment of the application fee, no less than 90 days after date
of said notification.  The examination may be taken no more
than twice a year.

5.06 Reciprocity
The Secretary may license, without examination, upon

payment of the required application and license fees, and
evidence of required insurance where applicable, applicants
who are duly licensed under the laws of any other state having
requirements deemed by the Board at least equivalent to those
of the State of Delaware.

5.07 Persons Previously Licensed – Exemptions from
Examination and Proof of Experience

Any person who has been licensed in the business of
Water Well Contractor, Pump Installer Contractor, Well
Driller, Well Driver or Pump Installer by the Department for
the calendar year 1981, accompanied by satisfactory proof to
the Board that he was so licensed, and accompanied by
payment of the required fee and the furnishing of the required
insurance where applicable, be granted a license in the
category of which he was licensed without fulfilling the
requirements that he pass the examination prescribed in the
Minimum Requirements for Licensing.

5.08 Upon Notification of Being Qualified for Licensing,
the Applicant shall where applicable, submit to the Board the
following:

a. Certificate of Insurance indicating Contractors
Liability Insurance in the minimum amounts required where
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applicable and specified herein, and

b. Payment of License fee (payable to the “State of
Delaware”),

c. License Fees
EFF. 7/1/91

Water Well Contractor $100.00 $150.00
Pump Installer Contractor 75.00 115.00
Well Driller 20.00 30.00
Well Driver 15.00
Pump Installer 10.00 15.00

SECTION 6 – LICENSE RENEWAL OF LICENSE
Every license issued by the Secretary, unless otherwise

suspended or revoked, shall expire on December 31st of each
year, and shall be renewed provided that:

a. On or before December 31st, each licensee shall
submit to the Board a renewal fee (payable to the State of
Delaware) as specified in Section 5.09(c).

b. Evidence of Contractor’s Liability Insurance where
applicable.

6.01 License Term
All licenses shall expire on December 31st of the year

issued unless otherwise indicated on the license.

6.02 Application for Renewal
a. A license may be renewed prior to its expiration date

providing the licensee submits the following:
1. A renewal application on forms provided by the

Department.
2. Satisfactory evidence that the liability insurance

requirements of Section 8 of these regulations have been
satisfied.

3. Satisfactory evidence of compliance with the
continuing education requirements of figure 1 and sections
6.04 and 7 of these regulations, except as exempted by Section
6.04(d)(2).

4. Any applicable renewal fee.
b. An expired license may be renewed within one (1)

year following its expiration by submitting the information
required in Section 6.02(a)(1-4) of these regulations and any
applicable late fee.

c. Licensees who apply for renewal of their licenses
under Section 6.02(a) and (b) of these regulations shall not
be required to take an examination as a condition of license
renewal.

6.03 Reinstatement of Expired Licenses
Applicants for the reinstatement of licenses that have been

expired for more than one (1) year or more shall be subject to
all requirements of Section 5 of these regulations.

6.04 Continuing Education Credits
a. All licensees shall comply with the continuing

education requirements of Section 7.03(b) of these regulations
as a condition for the renewal of their license.

b. A licensee holding two (2) or more licenses issued
under these regulations may fulfill the continuing education
requirements for renewal of all licenses by obtaining the larger
of the minimum hours of continuing education subject to the
requirements of Section 6.04(d) and (e).

c. The Secretary may consider a request for a temporary
extension of a license for a period not to exceed three (3)
months, providing sufficient cause can be proven subject to
the Secretary’s discretion.  In order to be considered for such
an extension, the applicant must submit a written request
containing a statement containing the reason(s) why he or
she was or is not able to obtain the necessary credits within
the required time frame.

d. Persons holding valid Well Driller or Well Driver
licenses shall complete a minimum of ten (10) hours of
continuing education credits prior to being granted a license
renewal, with the following exceptions:

1. Persons holding Well Driller or Well Driver
licenses that are restricted to the installation of dewatering
wells and pumping equipment shall complete a minimum of
three (3) hours of continuing education credits prior to being
granted a license renewal.

2. The requirements of Section 6.04 shall not apply
to Well Driller licenses that are restricted to the construction
of geotechnical wells using hand-operated tools.

e. Persons holding valid Pump Installer licenses shall
complete a minimum of five (5) hours of continuing education
credits prior to being granted a license renewal.

f. The licensee shall be responsible for all costs of
obtaining the required number of continuing education credit
hours.

g. A maximum of one-half (½) of the required annual
continuing education credits earned in excess of the minimum
required to renew a license may be transferred to the next
year.

h. Continuing education credits for renewal of a license
held for less than one year by a person who did not hold a
license during the previous twelve months shall be required
as noted in figure 1.

CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS REQUIRED
FOR LICENSE RENEWAL

Months Licensed Well Driller/      WD Dewatering     Pump Installer

Driver (WD)

Less than 1 0 0 0
Between 1 and 3 0 0 0
Between 3 and 6 5 1 2
Between 6 and 8 5 1 3
Between 8 and 9 7 2 3
Between 9 and 10 7 3 5
Between 10 and 12 10 3 5

(Figure 1)
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SECTION 7 – CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS

7.01 Continuing Education Program Approval
a. Continuing education programs shall be designed to

improve, advance, or extend the licensee’s professional skill
and knowledge relating to the practice of well construction or
repair and pump installation or repair.  Acceptance of
continuing education programs shall be based upon the
curriculum or program content and the qualifications of the
instructor.

b. Prospective continuing education programs shall be
submitted for the Secretary’s approval on form(s) provided
by the Department and:

1. Shall be instructed by persons knowledgeable
in well drilling or pump installation and repair, or

2. Shall be conducted by an accredited educational
facility.

c. Applications for the approval of curriculums,
programs, seminars, etc. shall include the following:

1. Description of subject matter.
2. Length of course or courses in hours.
3. Name and qualifications of instructor(s).
4. Proposed time.
5. Proposed Date(s).
6. Proposed Location.

d. Approval of a program shall remain in effect for as
long as it and the instructor remain unchanged, the program
content remains unchanged and the program is not outdated.

e. A change in subject matter, length, or instructor(s)
shall require resubmission and approval.

f. Credits shall not be accepted for any program
attended prior to its approval.

g. Approval shall not be granted for any course,
seminar, workshop, etc. dealing with the requirements of the
1999 revisions to the “Regulations for Licensing Water Well
Contractors, Pump Installer Contractors, Well Drillers, Well
Drivers and Pump Installers” or the 1997 “Regulations
Governing the Construction and Use of Wells” except as noted
in Section 7.01(h).

h. Approval of programs dealing with proposed
revisions or additions to the regulations noted in section
7.01(g) and any other state or local requirements regarding
well construction or repair, pump installation or repair may
be considered providing the program(s) are held within the
first six (6) months of implementation of the requirements.

i. Subject to approval by the Secretary, continuing
education credit in the practice of well construction and repair
and pump installation and repair may be obtained by, but are
not limited to the following:

1. Course work, seminars, workshops, lectures, etc.
given by accredited educational facilities.

2. Courses, seminars, workshops, or lectures given
by national, state, and local trade associations, product

vendors, manufacturers, etc.
3. Extension studies and correspondence courses.
4. Papers written by a licensee and published in a

professional journal or scientific media requiring peer review.
5. Instruction of continuing education courses.
6. Attendance at conferences and conventions

sponsored by regional, national and local trade associations.

7.02 Assignment of Credit
a. Continuing education credits shall be awarded on

an hour-for-hour basis for attendance at an approved
continuing education program unless otherwise indicated in
section 6.02 of these regulations unless otherwise indicated
in section 7.02(b) through (g).

b. Credits shall be awarded in not less than one-half
(½) hour increments.

c. For programs where continuing education units have
been assigned, one unit is equivalent to ten (10) clock hours
or one credit hour of approved training.

d. Credits are awarded on a two (2) for one (1) hour of
continuing education credit for the instructor of an approved
training program.

e. Five (5) credit hours are approved for each day of
attendance at a national, regional or local trade association
conference or convention.

f. One-half (½) credit hour is approved for attendance
at a local trade association meeting or seminar.

g. Three (3) credit hours shall be awarded for each paper
written by a licensee and published in a scientific media or
professional journal requiring peer review.

7.03 Recording Credits
a. Approved continuing education credits obtained

within the appropriate license renewal period shall be credited
as provided in section 7.02 of these regulations.

b. The licensee is responsible for submission of proof
of attendance at all approved continuing education programs.
Documentation of credits received shall consist of any one of
the following, unless otherwise approved by the Secretary:

1. A record of attendance for each course on forms
provided by the Department or,

2. An official student transcript issued by the
educational facility, or

3. A certificate or other documentation signed by
the instructor or sponsor of the program providing the name
of the individual who attended, the date the program was held,
the name of the program, the number of training hours, and
attesting to the satisfactory completion of the program.

c. Inability to substantiate credit hours earned is
grounds for disallowance of the credits in question.

SECTION 7 8 – ACCEPTANCE OF INSURANCE

7. 8.01 The Board may accept a Certificate of Insurance in
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lieu of a policy providing that the Certificate of Insurance is
endorsed to include said license holder by name.  Said
insurance is a condition of licensing and must remain in effect
during period when license is valid.

SECTION 8 9 – SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF
LICENSE

8.01 9.01 The Board shall recommend to the Secretary the
revocation of the license of any licensee who, upon hearing
by the Board, has been found guilty of fraud or deceit in
obtaining his license.

8.02  9.02 The Board shall recommend to the Secretary the
suspension or revocation of the license of any licensee who,
upon investigation and hearing by the Board, is:

a. Found to be guilty of gross negligence,
incompetence, or misconduct in the business of well drilling
or pump installation and repair in the State of Delaware,
including flagrant violations of the laws, regulations or
conditions of permits; or

b. Is no longer able to perform his duties properly.

8.03 9.03 Procedures for Hearings
Whenever the Board finds that the licensee under this

regulation may be or may have been engaging in practices
which are in violation of any provision of these or other
regulations applicable to water well construction and
abandonment, the Board shall give written notice to the
licensee describing the alleged violation and requesting that
the alleged offender appear before the Board for a hearing to
show cause why his license should not be suspended or
revoked.

a. The Board shall advise the Secretary to notify the
alleged violator of his right to a hearing before the Board to
show cause why his license should not be suspended or
revoked.   The notification shall be in the form of a registered
or certified letter, return receipt requested, setting forth the
alleged violation or violations, and making known to the
alleged violator the time and place of the hearing.  This notice
must be given at least twenty (20) days prior to the hearing.

b. The alleged violator may appear with counsel
at the hearing.

c. The Secretary shall appoint one of the members
of the Board to act as the hearing officer.

d. A record shall be made of any hearing
concerning revocation or suspension of licenses.

e. At the conclusion of the hearing the Board, by a
majority of those present vote, shall recommend to the
Secretary suspension, revocation or affirmation of the license
of the accused based upon evidence and testimony given at
the hearing.

f. The Board shall advise the Secretary of its
decision within three (3) days of the hearing.

g. The Secretary shall provide the accused with
notice by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested,
as to his decision within twenty (20) days of the conclusion
of the hearing.

h. Any appeal of the Secretary’s decision will be
subject to the provisions in 7 Del. C., Section 6008.

SECTION 9 10 – SUSPENSION

9.01 10.01 Suspension – Upon expiration of the term of
suspension, the license of the suspended person, company or
corporation, shall be deemed in good standing the first
calendar day after the term of suspension has expired provided
that the cause of the suspension has been corrected to the
satisfaction of the Board.

9.02 10.02 Revocation – Upon expiration of the term of
revocation, that person, company or corporation may apply
for a license in the same manner as a new license is obtained.

SECTION 10 11 – IDENTIFICATION OF LICENSE
HOLDER

10.01 11.01 Any person licensed by the Water Well
Licensing Board shall possess, while he is working, a valid
and current identification card furnished by the Board showing
his identity, type of license, and license number and shall
exhibit it on demand.  Only a person licensed by the Board
shall be authorized to operate equipment used in the business
of well drilling and/or pump installation, or if an unlicensed
person is employed for the operation of the equipment, he
shall perform all work under the immediate and continuous
supervision of a person licensed by the Board present at the
work site.

SECTION 11 12 – MARKING OF VEHICLES AND
EQUIPMENT

11.01   12.01Any Contractor licensed by the Water Well
Licensing Board shall mark each well drilling rig, well driving
rig, water tank truck, well and pump service rig used by the
Contractor or his employees with legible and plainly visible
identification markings.

11.02 12.02 The identification markings used shall be the
name of the Company, Corporation, or Contractor, and the
Contractor’s License Number.

11.03 12.03 The identification marking shall be printed upon
each side of the well drilling rig, well driving rig, water tank
truck, and well and pump service rig in letters and numerals
at least 1 ½ inches high, and the letters and numerals shall be
in a color sufficiently different from the color of the vehicle
or equipment so that identification markings are plainly
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legible.

11.04 12.04 Weatherproof decals or magnetic signs meeting
the requirements above are acceptable.

SECTION 12 13 – INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

12.0 13.01 The Board shall require, as a condition of
licensing, that all Water Well Contractors and Pump Installer
Contractors shall carry and maintain the following
Contractor’s Liability Insurance:

a. Contractor’s Liability Insurance:
Bodily Injury $100 each person

$300 each occurrence
Property Damage $50,000 each occurrence

$50,000 each aggregate

SECTION 13 14 – REPEALER

13.01 14.01 The provisions of this regulation are intended
to supercede existing regulations of this state insofar as they
relate to the matters included in this regulation.

SECTION 14   15 – SEVERABILITY

14.01  15.01 If any part of this regulation or the application
of any part thereof, is held invalid or unconstitutional, the
application of such part to the other persons, or circumstances
and the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected
thereby and shall be deemed valid and effective.

SECTION 15 16 – RESPONSIBILITIES OF WATER WELL
CONTRACTORS, PUMP INSTALLER CONTRACTORS,
WELL DRILLERS, WELL DRIVERS AND PUMP
INSTALLERS

15.01 16.01 Pursuant to these regulations, licensed Water
Well Contractors, Pump Installer Contractors, Well Drillers,
Well Drivers and Pump Installers shall be responsible for the
following:

a. Initiating work only on wells for which the proper
approval has been granted;

b. Compliance with all applicable regulations and
requirements;

c. The conduct of work carried out by himself and any
employee; and

d. The proper submission of completion reports for all
work done, signed by the licensed Water Well Driller or
Driver.

DEPARTMENT  OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION  OF WATER RESOURCES

WATERSHED ASSESSMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Indian River,
Indian River Bay, and Rehoboth Bay, Delaware

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues

The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) is proposing to adopt Total Maximum Daily
Load (TMDL) Regulations for nitrogen and for phosphorous
for the Indian River, Indian River Bay, and Rehoboth Bay.
A TMDL sets a limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be
discharged into a waterbody and still protect water quality.
TMDLs are composed of three components, including Waste
Load Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of Safety
(MOS).

Possible Terms of the Agency Action

Following adoption of the proposed Total Maximum
Daily Load for the Indian River, Indian River Bay, and
Rehoboth Bay, DNREC will develop a Pollution Control
Strategy (PCS) to achieve the necessary load reductions.  The
PCS will identify specific pollution reduction activities and
timeframes and will be developed in concert with the
Department’s ongoing Whole Basin Management Program
and the affected public.

Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act

The authority to develop a TMDL is provided by Title 7
of the Delaware Code, Chapter 60, and Section 303(d) of the
Federal Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 et. seq., as amended.

Other legislation that may be impacted

None

Notice of Public Comment

A public workshop will be held on Wednesday,
September 2, 1998, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m., at the Virden Center,
University of Delaware College of Marine Studies, Lewes,
Delaware.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/water.htm
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A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, September

2, 1998, at 6:00 p.m. at the Virden Center, University of
Delaware College of Marine Studies, Lewes, Delaware.  The
hearing record will remain open until 4:30 p.m., September
11, 1998.  Please bring written comments to the hearing or
send them to Rod Thompson, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE, 19901; facsimile: (302) 739-
6242.  All written comments must be received by 4:30 p.m.,
September 11, 1998.  For planning purposes, those individuals
wishing to make oral comments at the public hearing are
requested to notify Betty Turner, (302-739-4590; facsimile:
(302) 739-6140; email: bturner@state.de.us) by 4:30 p.m.,
September 1, 1998.

Additional information and supporting technical
documents may be obtained from the Watershed Assessment
Section, Division of Water Resources, Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control, 29 South State Street,
Dover, DE 19901, (302) 739-4590, facsimile: (302) 739-6140.

Prepared By:

John Schneider, Watershed Assessment Section, 739-
4590

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Indian River,
Indian River Bay, and Rehoboth Bay, Delaware

A. INTRODUCTION and BACKGROUND

Intensive water quality monitoring performed by the State
of Delaware, the federal government, various university and
private researchers, and citizen monitoring groups has shown
that the Indian River, Indian River Bay, and Rehoboth Bay
are highly enriched with the nutrients nitrogen and
phosphorous.  Although nutrients are essential elements for
both plants and animals, their presence in excessive amounts
cause undesirable conditions.  Symptoms of nutrient
enrichment in the Inland Bays have included excessive
macroalgae growth (sea lettuce and other species),
phytoplankton blooms (some potentially toxic), large daily
swings in dissolved oxygen levels, loss of Submerged Aquatic
Vegetation (SAV), and fish kills.   These symptoms threaten
the future of the Inland Bays - very significant natural,
ecological, and recreational resources of the State - and may
result in adverse impacts to the local and State economies
through reduced tourism, a decline in property values, and
lost revenues.  Hence, excessive nutrients pose a significant
threat to the health and well being of people, other animals,
and plants living within the watershed.

A reduction in the amount of nitrogen and phosphorous
reaching the Inland Bays is necessary to reverse the
undesirable effects.  These nutrients enter the Bays from

several sources including point sources, nonpoint sources, and
from the atmosphere.   Point sources of nutrients are end-of-
pipe discharges coming from municipal and industrial
wastewater treatment plants and other industrial uses.
Nonpoint sources of nutrients include runoff from agricultural
and urban areas, seepage from septic tanks, and ground water
discharges.  Atmospheric deposition comes from both local
and regional sources, such as motor vehicle exhausts and
emissions from power plants that burn fossil fuels.

Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act (CWA)
requires States to develop a list (303(d) List) of waterbodies
for which existing pollution control activities are not sufficient
to attain applicable water quality standards and to develop
Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for pollutants or
stressors causing the impacts.   A TMDL sets a limit on the
amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into a waterbody
and still protect water quality.  TMDLs are composed of three
components, including Waste Load Allocations (WLAs) for
point source discharges, Load Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint
sources, and a Margin of Safety (MOS).

The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control (DNREC) listed the Indian River,
Indian River Bay, and Rehoboth Bay on the State’s 1996 and
1998 303(d) Lists and proposes the following Total Maximum
Daily Load regulation for nitrogen and phosphorous.

B. Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation for
Indian River, Indian River Bay, and Rehoboth Bay, Delaware

Article 1. All point sources which are currently
discharging into the Indian River, Indian River
Bay, and Rehoboth Bay and their tributaries
shall be eliminated systematically.

Article 2. The nonpoint source nitrogen loads from
tributaries in the upper Indian River shall be
reduced by 85 percent (from the base-line period
of 1988 through 1990).  These tributaries include
Swan Creek, Iron Branch, Pepper Creek, Vines
Creek, and Millsboro Pond.  This shall result in
reducing nitrogen loads from these tributaries
during a normal rainfall year from 1285
kilograms per day (2833 pounds per day) to 193
kilograms per day (425 pounds per day).

Article 3. The nonpoint source phosphorous loads from
tributaries in the upper Indian River shall be
reduced by 65 percent (from the base-line period
of 1988 through 1990).  These tributaries include
Swan Creek, Iron Branch, Pepper Creek, Vines
Creek, and Millsboro Pond.  This shall result in
reducing phosphorous loads from these
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tributaries during a normal rainfall year from
38 kilograms per day ( 84 pounds per day) to
13 kilograms per day (29 pounds per day).

Article 4. The nonpoint source nitrogen loads from all
remaining tributaries to the Indian River, Indian
River Bay, and Rehoboth Bay shall be reduced
by 40 percent (from the base-line period of 1988
through 1990).  This shall result in reducing
nitrogen loads from these tributaries during a
normal rainfall year from 732 kilograms per day
(1614 pounds per day) to 439 kilograms per day
(968 pounds per day).

Article 5. The nonpoint source phosphorous loads from
all remaining tributaries to the Indian River,
Indian River Bay, and Rehoboth Bay shall be
reduced by 40 percent (from the base-line period
of 1988 through 1990).  This shall result in
reducing phosphorous loads from these
tributaries during a normal rainfall year from
36 kilograms per day ( 79 pounds per day) to
22 kilograms per day (49 pounds per day).

Article 6. The atmospheric nitrogen deposition rate shall
be reduced by 20 percent (from the base-line
period of 1988 through 1990).  This shall result
in reducing the atmospheric nitrogen deposition
rate from 765 kilograms per day (1687 pounds
per day) to 612 kilograms per day (1349 pounds
per day).

Article 7. Based upon hydrodynamic and water quality
model runs and assuming implementation of
reductions identified by Articles 1 through 6,
DNREC has determined that, with an adequate
margin of safety, water quality standards will
be met.

Article 8. Implementation of this TMDL Regulation shall
be achieved through development and
implementation of a Pollution Control Strategy.
The strategy will be developed by DNREC in
concert with the Department’s ongoing Whole
Basin Management Program and the affected
public.

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Nanticoke
River and Broad Creek, Delaware

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues

The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) is proposing to adopt Total Maximum Daily
Load (TMDL) Regulations for nitrogen and for phosphorous
for the Nanticoke River and Broad Creek.   A TMDL sets a
limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into
a waterbody and still protect water quality. TMDLs are
composed of three components, including Waste Load
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of Safety
(MOS).

Possible Terms of the Agency Action

Following adoption of the proposed Total Maximum
Daily Loads for the Nanticoke River and Broad Creek,
DNREC will develop a Pollution Control Strategy (PCS) to
achieve the necessary load reductions.  The PCS will identify
specific pollution reduction activities and timeframes and will
be developed in concert with the Department’s ongoing Whole
Basin Management Program and the affected public,

Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act

The authority to develop a TMDL is provided by Title 7
of the Delaware Code, Chapter 60, and Section 303(d) of the
Federal Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 et. seq., as amended

Other legislation that may be impacted

None

Notice of Public Comment

A public workshop will be held on Wednesday,
September 9, 1998, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m., at the Kiwanis Room,
the Boys & Girls Club of Delaware Western Sussex County,
310 Virginia Ave., Seaford, Delaware.

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, September
9, 1998, at 6:00 p.m., at the Kiwanis Room, the Boys & Girls
Club of Delaware Western Sussex County, 310 Virginia Ave.,
Seaford, Delaware.  The hearing record will remain open until
4:30 p.m., September 18, 1998.  Please bring written
comments to the hearing or send them to Rod Thompson,
Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE,
19901; facsimile: (302) 739- 6242.  All written comments
must be received by 4:30 p.m., September 18, 1998.  For
planning purposes, those individuals wishing to make oral
comments at the public hearing are requested to notify Betty
Turner, (302-739-4590; facsimile: (302) 739-6140; email:
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bturner@state.de.us) by 4:30 p.m., September 8, 1998.

Additional information and supporting technical
documents may be obtained from the Watershed Assessment
Section, Division of Water Resources, Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control, 29 South State Street,
Dover, DE 19901, (302) 739-4590, facsimile: (302) 739-6140.

Prepared By:

John Schneider, Watershed Assessment Section, 739-4590

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) for Nanticoke
River and Broad Creek, Delaware

A. INTRODUCTION and BACKGROUND

Intensive water quality monitoring performed by the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(DNREC) and studies performed by others have shown that
the Nanticoke River and Broad Creek are highly enriched with
the nutrients nitrogen and phosphorus.  Although nutrients
are essential elements for both plants and animals, their
presence in excessive amounts cause undesirable conditions.
Symptoms of nutrient enrichment in the Nanticoke River and
Broad Creek have included frequent phytoplankton blooms
and large daily swings in dissolved oxygen levels.   These
symptoms threaten the future of the Nanticoke River Subbasin
- very significant natural, ecological, and recreational
resources of the State.

A reduction in the amount of nitrogen and phosphorous
reaching the Nanticoke River and Broad Creek is necessary
to reverse the undesirable effects.  These nutrients enter the
rivers from point sources and nonpoint sources.   Point sources
of nutrients are end-of-pipe discharges coming from municipal
and industrial wastewater treatment plants and other industrial
uses.  Nonpoint sources of nutrients include runoff from
agricultural and urban areas, seepage from septic tanks, and
ground water discharges.

Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act (CWA)
requires States to develop a list (303(d) List) of waterbodies
for which existing pollution control activities are not sufficient
to attain applicable water quality criteria and to develop Total
Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for pollutants of concern.
A TMDL sets a limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be
discharged into a waterbody and still protect water quality.
TMDLs are composed of three components, including Waste
Load Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (Las) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of Safety
(MOS).

DNREC listed the Nanticoke River and Broad Creek on

the State’s 1996 and 1998 303(d) Lists and proposes the
following Total Maximum Daily Load regulation for nitrogen
and phosphorous.

B.  Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation for
the Nanticoke River and Broad Creek, Delaware

Article 1. Biological Nutrient Removal (BNR), or
equivalent, processes shall be employed in three
large municipal wastewater treatment plants in
the Nanticoke River and Broad Creek Sub-basin.
These three facilities include Seaford Sewage
Treatment Plant, Bridgeville Sewage Treatment
Plant, and Laurel Sewage Treatment Plant.  This
shall result in reducing nitrogen load from these
three facilities from the current permitted load
of 199 kilograms per day (439 pounds per day)
to 100 kilograms per day (221 pounds per day).
Reduction of phosphorous loads from these
three facilities will be from the  current permitted
load of 33 kilograms per day (73 pounds per
day) to 25 kilograms per day (55 pounds per
day).

Article 2. For the remaining wastewater treatment plants
in the watershed, discharge of  nitrogen and
phosphorous loads shall be capped at their
current permitted loads.  These loads are 568
kilograms per day (1252 pounds per day) of
nitrogen and 1.0 kilograms per day (2.2 pounds
per day) of phosphorous.

Article 3. The nonpoint source nitrogen load to the
Nanticoke River and Broad Creek shall be
reduced by 30 percent (from the 1992 base-line).
This shall result in reduction of nitrogen loads
during a normal rainfall year from 2274
kilograms per day (5013 pounds per day) to
1723 kilograms per day (3799 pounds per day).

Article 4. The nonpoint source phosphorus load to the
Nanticoke River and Broad Creek shall be
reduced by 50 percent (from the 1992 base-line).
This shall result in reduction of phosphorous
loads during a normal rainfall year from 54
kilograms per day (119 pounds per day) to 36
kilograms per day (79 pounds per day).

Article 5. Based upon hydrodynamic and water quality
model runs and assuming implementation of
reductions identified by Articles 1 through 4,
DNREC has determined that, with an adequate
margin of safety, water quality standards will
be met in the Nanticoke River and Broad Creek.
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Article 6. Implementation of this TMDL Regulation shall

be achieved through development and
implementation of a Pollution Control Strategy.
The Strategy will be developed by DNREC in
concert with the Department’s ongoing Whole
basin management Program and the affected
public.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Section 7107 (18 Del.C. 7107)

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H.
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING
will be held on Friday, August 21, 1998 at 10:00 a.m. in the
2nd Floor Conference Room of the Delaware Insurance
Department at 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904.

The purpose of the Hearing is to solicit comments from
the industry, the agent community, and the general public on
the agent community’s request to strike the cap on agent
commissions from Insurance Department Regulation 63,
Section 24 relating to long term care insurance policies, which
reads as follows:

“Section 24.  Permitted compensation arrangements

A. An insurer or other entity may provide
commission or other compensation to an agent
or other representative for the sale of a longterm
care insurance policy or certificate which shall
not exceed twentyfive percent (25%) of the total
premium paid for that policy year.

B. No entity shall provide compensation to its agents
or other producers and no agent or producer shall
receive compensation greater than twenty-five
percent (25%) of the total premium paid for that
policy year for the sale of a replacement long-
term care insurance policy or certificate.

C. For purposes of this section, “compensation”
includes pecuniary or non-pecuniary
remuneration or any kind relating to the sale or
renewal of the policy or certificate including but
not limited to bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards and
finders fees.”

and to consider numerous consumer protection provisions
contained in the National Association of Insurance

Commissioners’ Long Term Care Model Regulation.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.  C. Chapter
101.  Comments are being solicited from any interested party.
Comments may be in writing or may be presented orally at
the hearing.  Written comments must be received by the
Department of Insurance no later than Friday, August 14, 1998
and should be addressed to Fred A. Townsend, 111, Deputy
Insurance Commissioner, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
DE 19904.  Those wishing to testify or those intending to
provide oral testimony must notify Fred A. Townsend, III at
302.739.4251, ext. 157 or 800.282.8611 no later than Friday,
August 14, 1998.

REGULATION 63

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE REGULATION

Adopted:  July 30, 1990
Amended:  December 23, 1996
Amended:
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Section 1.  Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to implement 18 Del. C.,
Chapter 71, to promote the public interest, to promote the
availability of long-term care insurance coverage, to protect
applicants for long-term care insurance, from unfair or
deceptive sales or enrollment practices, to facilitate public
understanding and comparison of long-term care insurance
coverages, and to facilitate flexibility and innovation in the
development of long-term care insurance.

Section 2.  Authority

This regulation is issued pursuant to the authority vested in
the Commissioner under 18 Del. C. Sec. 314.

Section 3.  Applicability and scope

Except as otherwise specifically provided, this regulation
applies to all long-term care insurance policies and certificates
delivered or issued for delivery in this state on or after the
effective date hereof, by insurers; fraternal benefit societies;
nonprofit health, hospital and medical service corporations;
prepaid health plans; health maintenance organizations and
all similar organizations.

Section 4.  Definitions

For the purpose of this regulation, the terms “Department,”
“long-term care insurance,” “Commissioner,” “applicant,”
“policy” and “certificate” shall have the meanings set forth in
18 Del. C. Sections 102 and 7103.

Section 5.  Policy definitions

No long-term care insurance policy delivered or issued for
delivery in this state shall use the terms set forth below, or
terms of like or similar meaning, unless the terms are defined
in the policy and the definitions satisfy the following
requirements:

A. “Activities of daily living” means at least bathing,
continence, dressing, eating, toileting and transferring.

A B. “Acute Condition” means that the individual is
medically unstable.  Such an individual requires frequent
monitoring by medical professionals, such as physicians and
registered nurses, in order to maintain their health status.

B C. “Adult day care” means a program for six (6) or more
individuals, of social and health-related services provided
during the day in a community group setting for the purpose
of supporting frail, impaired elderly or other disabled adults
who can benefit from care in a group setting outside the home.

D. “Chronically ill” means any individual who has been
certified by a Licensed Health Care Practitioner as being
unable to perform, without assistance from another individual,
at least two activities of daily living for a period of at least
ninety (90) days; or who requires substantial supervision to
protect such individual from threats to health and safety due
to severe cognitive impairment.

E. “Cognitive impairment” means a deficiency in a person’s
short-term or long-term memory, orientation as to person,
place, and time, deductive reasoning, or judgment.

C F.“Home health care services” means medical and
nonmedical services provided to ill, disabled or infirm persons
in their residences.  Such services may include homemaker
services, assistance with activities of daily living and respite
care services.

D G. “Medicare” shall be defined as “The Health
Insurance for the Aged Act, Title XVIII of the Social Security
Amendments of 1965 as Then Constituted or Later Amended,”
or “Title I, Part I of Public Law 89-97, as Enacted by the
Eighty-Ninth Congress of the United States of America and
popularly known as the Health Insurance for the Aged Act,
as then constituted and any later amendments or substitutes
thereof,” or words of similar import.

E H. “Mental or nervous disorder” shall not be defined to
include more than neurosis, psychoneurosis, psychopathy,
psychosis, or mental or emotional disease or disorder.

F I.  “Personal care” means the provision of hands-on services
to assist an individual with activities of daily living (such as
bathing, eating, dressing, transferring and toileting).

G J. “Preexisting Conditions” shall be defined in  accordance
with 18 Del. C. Sec. 7105 (C).

K.  “Qualified Long-Term Care Insurance Policy” means a
policy that provides coverage for qualified long-term care
services that is intended to meet the requirements of §
7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.



189

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 2, SATURDAY, AUGUST 1, 1998

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
L. “Qualified Long-Term Care Services” means necessary
diagnostic, preventive therapeutic, curing, treating, mitigating
and rehabilitative services and Maintenance or Personal Care
Services which are required by a Chronically Ill Individual
and are provided pursuant to a Plan of Care prescribed by a
Licensed Health Care Practitioner.

H M. “Skilled nursing care,” “intermediate care,”
“personal care,” “home care,” and other services shall be
defined in relation to the level of skill required, nature of the
care and the setting in which care must be delivered.

I N. All providers of services, including but not limited to
“skilled nursing facility,” “extended care facility,”
“intermediate care facility,” “convalescent nursing home,”
“personal care facility,” and “home care agency” shall be
defined in relation to the services and facilities required to be
available and the licensure or degree status of those providing
or supervising the services.  The definition may require that
the provider be appropriately licensed or certified.

Section 6.  Policy practices and provisions

A. Renewability.  The terms “guaranteed renewable” and
“noncancellable” shall not be used in any individual long-
term care insurance policy without providing further
explanatory language in accordance with the disclosure
requirements of Section 7 of this regulation.

(1) No such policy issued to an individual shall contain
renewal provisions less favorable to the insured than
“guaranteed renewable.”  However, the Commissioner may
authorize nonrenewal on a statewide basis, on terms and
conditions deemed necessary by the Commissioner, to best
protect the interests of the insureds, if the insurer demonstrates:
That renewal will jeopardize the insurer’s solvency.

(2) The term “guaranteed renewable” may be used only
when the insured has the right to continue the long-term care
insurance in force by the timely payment of premiums, during
which period the insurer has no unilateral right to make any
change in any provision of the policy or rider, and cannot
decline to renew and cannot revise rates except on a class
basis in accordance with subsection 4 below.  This cost
disclosure must be approved by the Commissioner and
included in any solicitation and also prominently displayed
on the initial policy.

(3) Every long-term care insurance policy or certificate
issued or delivered in this State must be “guaranteed
renewable” as defined in subsection 2 above, and contain a
cost disclosure section as defined subsection 4 below.

(4)(a) The following cost disclosure information shall
appear in bold print on the cover page of every individual
policy and Outline of Coverage issued or delivered in this
state:  “This policy provides only the following price
protection, and no more.  Your premiums may not increase

by more than X% during any given calendar year and your
benefits may not decrease.  Any representations that these
increases will not take place are unauthorized and shall not
be relied upon.”

(b) The following cost disclosure information shall
appear in bold print on the cover page of every certificate and
Outline of Coverage issued or delivered in this state:  “This
policy provides only the following price protection, and no
more.  Your premiums are guaranteed to remain the same for
the first three(3) years this policy is in force.  Your premiums
may not increase by more than X% during any three year
rating period.  Insurers will be allowed a carry forward of the
initially disclosed maximum premium increase, but said carry
forward is lost within twenty-four (24) months if not utilized.”
Any additional language that appears under the cost disclosure
section must be approved in advance by the Delaware
Insurance Department.  The purpose of this cost disclosure
section is twofold: first, to make crystal clear to the purchaser
what the maximum cost will be from year to year, and second,
to prohibit the practice of low pricing during the early years
of a policy followed by dramatic increases  designed to
produce a high ratio of cancellations when the group insured
reaches that age at which its members are more likely to file
claims.  Therefore, this section does not permit annual
increases to be accumulated and applied all at once.  For
example, if the price is $100 in the initial year of the policy
and 10% is the represented annual maximum increase, then
during the second year of the policy, the maximum allowable
price is $110, the third year of the policy the maximum
allowable price is not more than 110% of the price actually
charges during year two of the policy.  It is  not permissible to
charge $121 during the third year of the policy unless $110
had actually been charged during year two of the policy.  In
other words, any permitted annual price increase not
implemented during a calendar year is thereafter waived and
may not be considered in calculating future prices.

B. Limitations and Exclusions.  No policy may be delivered
or issued for delivery in this state as long-term care insurance
if such policy limits or excludes coverage by type of illness,
treatment, medical condition or accident, except as follows:

(1) Preexisting conditions;
(2) Mental or nervous disorders; however, this shall  not

permit exclusion or limitation of benefits on the basis of
Alzheimer’s Disease;

(3) Alcoholism and drug addiction;
(4) Illness, treatment or medical condition arising out

of:
(a) War or act of war (whether declared or

undeclared);
(b) Participation in a felony, riot or insurrection;
(c) Service in the armed forces or units auxiliary

thereto;
(d) Suicide (sane or insane), attempted suicide or
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intentionally self-inflicted injury; or

(e) Aviation (this exclusion applies only to non-
fare-paying passengers).

(5) Treatment provided in a government facility (unless
otherwise required by law), services for which benefits are
available under Medicare or other governmental program
(except Medicaid), any state or federal workers’
compensation, employer’s liability or occupational disease
law, or any motor vehicle no-fault law, services provided by
a member of the covered person’s immediate family and
services for which no charge is normally made in  the absence
of insurance.

(6) No territorial limitations will be permitted, except
that nothing herein shall preclude limiting benefits for specific
services to a specific dollar amount, or to that dollar amount
which is reasonable and prevailing in a particular geographic
area which is defined and clearly delineated in the original
offering or solicitation and the initial policy or certificate, or
to specific providers within a particular geographic area.
Moreover, nothing herein shall prohibit the limitation of
services to a particular geographic area when the insured elects
to receive services within that specific geographical area.  For
purposes of this clause, the location of receipt of services must
be within 50 miles of the domicile of the insured at the time
of entry therein or that area, including the nearest three nursing
homes, whichever distance is greater.

C. Extension of Benefits.  Termination of long-term care
insurance shall be without prejudice to any benefits payable
for institutionalization which began while the long-term care
insurance was in force and continues without interruption after
termination.  Such extension  of benefits beyond the period
the long-term care insurance was in force may be limited to
the duration of the benefit period, if any, or to payment of the
maximum benefits and may be subject to any policy waiting
period, and all other applicable provisions of the policy.

D. Continuation or Conversion.
(1) Group long-term care insurance issued in this state

on or after the effective date of this section shall provide
covered individuals with a basis for continuation or conversion
of coverage.

(2) For the purposes of this section, “a basis for
continuation of coverage” means a policy provision which
maintains coverage under the existing group policy when such
coverage would otherwise terminate and which is subject only
to the continued timely payment of premium when due. Group
policies which restrict provision of benefits and services to,
or contain incentives to use certain providers and/or facilities
may provide continuation benefits which are substantially
equivalent to the benefits under the existing policy.  The
Commissioner shall make a determination as to the substantial
equivalency of benefits, and in doing so, shall take into
consideration the differences between managed care and non-

managed care plans, including, but not limited to, provider
system arrangements, service availability, benefit levels and
administrative complexity.

(3) For the purposes of this section, “a basis for
conversion of coverage” means a policy provision that an
individual whose coverage under the group policy would
otherwise terminate or has been terminated for any reason,
including discontinuance of the group policy in its entirety or
with respect to an insured class, and who has been
continuously insured under the group policy (and any group
policy which it replaced), for at least six months immediately
prior to termination, shall be entitled to the issuance of a
converted policy by the insurer under whose group policy he
or she is covered, without evidence of insurability.

(4) For the purposes of this section, “converted policy”
means an individual policy of long-term care insurance
providing benefits identical to or determined by the
Commissioner to be substantially equivalent to or in excess
of those provided under the group policy from which
conversion is made.

Where the group policy from which conversion is made
restricts provision of benefits and services to, or contains
incentives to use certain providers and/or facilities, the
Commissioner, in making a determination as to the substantial
equivalency of benefits, shall take into consideration the
differences between managed care and non-managed care
plans, including, but not limited to, provider system
arrangements, service availability, benefit levels and
administrative complexity.  When the policyholder or
certificate holder is no longer in the geographical area of the
provider system or available services, the insurer must
calculate the financial worth of the group policy and make a
cash contribution toward the purchase of any health insurance
policy the policyholder may select.

(5) Written application for the converted policy shall be
made and the first premium due, if any, shall be paid as
directed by the insurer no later than thirty-one (31) days after
termination of coverage under the group policy.  The
converted policy shall be issued effective on the day following
the termination of coverage under the group policy, and shall
be renewable annually.

(6) Unless the group policy from which conversion is
made replaced previous group coverage, the premium for the
converted policy shall be calculated on the basis of the
insured’s age at inception of coverage under the group policy
from which conversion is made.  Where the group policy from
which conversion is made replaced previous group coverage,
the premium for the converted policy shall be calculated on
the basis of the insured’s age at inception of coverage under
the group policy replaced.

(7) Continuation of coverage or issuance of a converted
policy shall be mandatory, except where:
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(a) Termination of group coverage resulted from

an individual’s failure to make any required payment of
premium or contribution when due; or

(b) The terminating coverage is replaced no later
than thirty-one (31) days after termination, by group coverage
effective on the day following the termination of coverage:

(i) Providing benefits identical to or benefits
determined by the Commissioner to be substantially equivalent
to or in excess of those provided by the terminating coverage;
and

(ii) The premium for which is calculated in a
manner consistent with the requirements of Paragraph (6) of
this section.

(8) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section,
a converted policy issued to an individual who at the time of
conversion is covered by another long-term care insurance
policy which provides benefits on the basis of incurred
expenses, may contain a provision which results in a reduction
of benefits payable if the benefits provided under the additional
coverage, together with the full benefits provided by the
converted policy, would result in payment of more than 100
percent of incurred expenses.  Such provision shall only be
included in the converted policy if the converted policy also
provides for a premium decrease or refund which reflects the
reduction in benefits payable.

(9) The converted policy may provide that the benefits
payable under the converted policy, together with the benefits
payable under the group policy from which conversion is
made, shall not exceed those that would have been payable
had the individual’s coverage under the group policy remained
in force and effect.

(10)Notwithstanding any other provision of this section,
any insured individual whose eligibility for group long-term
care coverage is based upon his or her relationship to another
person, shall be entitled to continuation of coverage under
the group policy upon termination of the qualifying
relationship by death or dissolution of marriage.

(11)For the purposes of this section: a “Managed-Care
Plan” is a health care or assisted living arrangement designed
to coordinate patient care or control costs through utilization
review, case management or use of specific provider networks.

E. Discontinuance and Replacement.

If a group long-term care insurance policy is replaced by
another group long-term care policy issued to the same
policyholder, the succeeding insurer shall offer coverage to
all persons covered under the previous group policy on its
date of termination.  Coverage provided or offered to
individuals by the insurer and the premiums charged under
the new group policy:

(1) Shall not result in any exclusion for pre-existing
conditions that would have been covered under the  group
policy being replaced; and

(2) Shall not vary or otherwise depend on the
individual’s health or disability status, claim experience or
use of long-term care services.

F. The premiums charged to an insured for long-term care
insurance shall not increase due to either:(1)  The increasing
age of the insured at ages beyond sixty-five (65); or(2)  The
duration the insured has been covered under the policy.

G. Electronic Enrollment for Group Policies
(1) In the case of a group defined in 18 Del. C. § 7103(4)

a. any requirement that a signature of an insured be obtained
by an agent or insurer shall be deemed satisfied if:

(a) The consent is obtained by telephonic or
electronic enrollment by the group policyholder or insurer.
A verification of enrollment information shall be provided to
the enrollee;

(b) The telephonic or electronic enrollment provides
necessary and reasonable safeguards to assure the accuracy,
retention and prompt retrieval of records; and

(c) The telephonic or electronic enrollment provides
necessary and reasonable safeguards to assure that the
confidentiality of individually identifiable information is
maintained.

(2) The insurer shall make available, upon request of
the Commissioner, records that will demonstrate the insurer’s
ability to confirm enrollment and coverage amounts.

Section 7.  Required disclosure provisions

A. Renewability.  Individual long-term care insurance
policies shall contain a renewability provision consistent
herewith.  Such provision shall be appropriately  captioned,
shall appear on the first page of the policy, and shall clearly
state the duration, where limited, of renewability and the
duration of the term of coverage for which the policy is issued
and for which it may be renewed, subject to Section 6.,
paragraph A.(1) hereof. This provision shall not apply to
policies which do not contain a renewability provision, and
under which the right to nonrenew is reserved solely to the
policyholder.

B. Riders and Endorsements.  Except for riders or
endorsements by which the insurer effectuates a request made
in writing by the insured under an individual long-term care
insurance policy, all riders or endorsements added to an
individual long-term care insurance policy after date of issue
or at reinstatement or renewal which reduce or eliminate
benefits or coverage in the policy shall require signed
acceptance by the individual insured.  After the date of policy
issue, any rider or endorsement which increases benefits or
cover-age with a concomitant increase in premium during the
policy term must be agreed to in writing signed by the insured,
except if the increased benefits or coverage are required by
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law.  Where a separate additional premium is charged for
benefits provided in connection with riders or endorsements,
such premium charge shall be set forth in the policy, rider or
endorsement.

C. Payment of Benefits.  A long-term care insurance policy
which provides for the payment of benefits based on standards
described as “usual and customary”, “reasonable and
customary”, “reasonable and prevailing”, or words of similar
import shall include a definition of such terms and an
explanation of such terms in its outline of coverage.

D. Limitations.  If a long-term care insurance policy or
certificate contains any limitations with respect to preexisting
conditions, such limitations shall appear as a separate
paragraph of the policy or certificate and shall be labeled as
“Preexisting Condition Limitations.”

E. Other Limitations or Conditions on Eligibility for
Benefits.  A long-term care insurance policy or certificate
containing any limitations or conditions for eligibility, except
in accordance with 18 Del. C. Section 7105, shall set forth a
description of such limitations or conditions, including any
required number of days or confinement, in a separate
paragraph of the policy or certificate and shall label such
paragraph “Limitations or Conditions of Eligibility for
Benefits.”

F. Disclosure of Tax Consequences.
(1) With regard to life insurance policies which provide

an accelerated benefit for long-term care, a disclosure
statement is required at the time of application for the policy
or rider and  at the time the accelerated benefit payment request
is submitted that receipt of these accelerated benefits may be
taxable, and that assistance should be sought from a personal
tax advisor.  The disclosure statement shall be prominently
displayed on the first page of the policy or rider and any other
related documents.

(2) With regard to qualified long-term care insurance
policies a disclosure statement shall appear in bold print on
the face of the policy and outline of coverage indicating the
policy is intended to be a qualified long-term care policy under
Section 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1996.

G. Benefit Triggers.  Activities of daily living and cognitive
impairment shall be used to measure an insured’s need for
long term care and shall be described in the policy or certificate
in a separate paragraph and shall be labeled “Eligibility for
the Payment of Benefits.”  Any additional benefit triggers
shall also be explained in this section.  If these triggers differ
for different benefits, explanation of the trigger shall
accompany each benefit description.  If an attending physician
or other specified person must certify a certain level of
functional dependency in order to be eligible for benefits, this

too shall be specified.

Section 8. Unintentional Lapse

Each insurer offering long-term care insurance shall, as a
protection against unintentional lapse, comply with the
following:

(1)a. Notice before lapse or termination. No
individual long-term care policy or certificate shall be issued
until the insurer has received from the applicant either a written
designation of at least one person, in addition to the applicant,
who is to receive notice of lapse or termination of the policy
or certificate for nonpayment of premium, or a written waiver
dated and signed by the applicant electing not to designate
additional persons to receive notice. The applicant has the
right to designate at least one person who is to receive the
notice of termination, in addition to the insured. Designation
shall not constitute acceptance of any liability on the third
party for services provided to the insured. The form used for
the written designation must provide space clearly designated
for listing at least one person. The designation shall include
each person’s full name and home address. In the case of an
applicant who elects not to designate an additional person,
the waiver shall state: “Protection against unintended lapse.  I
understand that I have the right to designate at least one person
other than myself to receive notice of lapse or termination of
this long-term care insurance policy for nonpayment of
premium. I understand that notice will not be given until thirty
(30) days after a premium is due and unpaid. I elect NOT to
designate a person to receive this notice.”

The insurer shall notify the insured of the right to
change this written designation, no less often than once every
two (2) years.

b. When the policyholder or certificateholder pays
premium for a long-term care insurance policy or certificate
through a payroll or pension deduction plan, the requirements
contained in Subsection (1)a. need not be met until sixty (60)
days after the policyholder or certificateholder is no longer
on such a payment plan.  The application or enrollment form
for such policies or certificates shall clearly indicate the
payment plan selected by the applicant.

c. Lapse or termination for nonpayment of
premium. No individual long-term care policy or certificate
shall lapse or be terminated for nonpayment of premium unless
the insurer, at least thirty (30) days before the effective date
of the lapse or termination, has given notice to the insured
and to those persons designated pursuant to Subsection (1)a.,
at the address provided by the insured for purposes of receiving
notice of lapse or termination. Notice shall be given by first
class United States mail, postage prepaid; and notice may not
be given until thirty (30) days after a premium is due and
unpaid. Notice shall be deemed to have been given as of five
(5) days after the date of mailing.

2. Reinstatement.  In addition to the requirement in
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Subsection (1),  a long-term care insurance policy or certificate
shall include a provision that provides for reinstatement of
coverage, in the event of lapse if the insurer is provided proof
that the policyholder or certificateholder was cognitively
impaired or had a loss of functional capacity before the grace
period contained in the policy expired.  This option shall be
available to the insured if requested within five (5) months
after termination and shall allow for the collection of past due
premium, where appropriate.  The standard of proof of
cognitive impairment or loss of functional capacity shall not
be more stringent than the benefit eligibility criteria on
cognitive impairment or the loss of functional capacity
contained in the policy and certificate.]

Section 8 9. Prohibition against post-claims underwriting

A. All applications for long-term care insurance policies or
certificates except those which are guaranteed issue shall
contain clear and unambiguous questions designed to ascertain
the health condition of the applicant.

B.(1) If an application for long-term care insurance
contains a question which asks whether the applicant has had
medication prescribed by a physician, it must also ask the
applicant to list the medication that has been prescribed.

(2) If the medications listed in such application were
known by the insurer, or should have been known at the time
of application, to be directly related to a medical condition
for which coverage would otherwise be denied, then the policy
or certificate shall not be rescinded for that condition.

C. Except for policies or certificates which are guaranteed
issue:

(1) The following language shall be set out
conspicuously and in close conjunction with the applicant’s
signature block on an application for a long-term care
insurance policy or certificate:  Caution:  If your answers on
this application are incorrect or untrue [company] has the right
to deny benefits or rescind your policy.

(2) The following language, or language substantially
similar to the following, shall be set out conspicuously on the
long-term care insurance policy or certificate at the time of
delivery:  Caution:  The issuance of this long-term care
insurance [policy] [certificate] is based upon your responses
to the questions on your application.  A copy of your
[application] [enrollment form] [is enclosed] [was retained
by you when you applied].  If your answers are incorrect or
untrue, the company has the right to deny benefits or rescind
your policy.  The best time to clear up any questions is now,
before a claim arises!  If, for any reason, any of your answers
are incorrect, contact the company at this address: [insert
address].

(3) Prior to issuance of a long-term care insurance policy
or certificate to an applicant age eighty (80) or older, the

insurer shall obtain one of the following:
(a) A report of a physical examination,
(b) An assessment of functional capacity,
(c) An attending physician’s statement, or
(d) Copies of medical records.

D. A copy of the completed application or enrollment form
(whichever is applicable) shall be delivered to the insured no
later than at the time of delivery of the policy or certificate
unless it was retained by the  applicant at the time of
application.

E. Every insurer or other entity selling or issuing  long-term
care insurance benefits shall maintain a record  of all policy
or certificate rescissions, both state and  countrywide, except
those which the insured voluntarily  effectuated and shall
annually furnish this information  to the Insurance
Commissioner in the form prescribed by the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners.

Section 9 10.Minimum standards for home health and
community care benefits in long-term care insurance policies

A. A long-term care insurance policy or certificate shall not,
if it provides benefits for home health or community care
services, limit or exclude benefits;

(1) By requiring that the insured/claimant would need
skilled care in a skilled nursing facility if home health care
services were not provided.

(2) By requiring that the insured/claimant first or
simultaneously receive nursing and/or therapeutic services in
a home, community or institutional setting before home health
care services are covered.

(3) By limiting eligible services to services provided by
registered nurses or licensed practical nurses.

(4) By requiring that a nurse or therapist provide services
covered by the policy that can be provided by a home health
aide, or other licensed or certified home care worker acting
within the scope of his or her licensure or certification.

(5) By excluding coverage for personal care services
provided by a home health aide;

(6) By requiring that the provision of home health care
services be at a level of certification or licensure greater than
that required by the eligible service;

(7) By requiring that the insured/claimant have an acute
condition before home health care services are covered.

(8) By limiting benefits to services provided by
Medicare-certified agencies or providers;

(9)  By excluding coverage for adult day care services.

B. A long-term care insurance policy or certificate, if it
provides for home health or community care services, shall
provide total home health or community care coverage that is
a dollar amount equivalent to at least one-half of one year’s
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coverage available for nursing home benefits under the policy
or certificate.  This requirement shall not apply to policies or
certificates issued to residents of continuing care retirement
communities.

C. Home health care coverage may be applied to non-home
health care benefits provided in the policy or certificate when
determining the maximum coverage under the terms of the
policy or certificate.

Section 10 11. Requirement to offer inflation protection

A. No insurer may offer a long-term care insurance policy
unless the insurer also offers to the policyholder the option to
purchase a policy that provides for benefit levels to increase
with benefit maximums or reasonable durations which are
meaningful to account for reasonably anticipated increases
in the costs of long-term services covered by the policy.
Insurers must offer to each policyholder, at the time of
purchase, the option to purchase a policy with an inflation
protection feature no less favorable than one of the following:

(1) Increases benefit levels annually in a manner so that
the increases are compounded annually at a rate not less than
five percent (5%);

(2) Guarantees the insured individual the right to
periodically increase benefit levels without providing evidence
of insurability or health status so long as the option for the
previous period has not been declined.  The amount of
additional benefit shall be no less than the difference between
the existing policy benefit and that benefit compounded
annually at a rate of at least five percent (5%) for the period
beginning with the purchase of the existing benefit and
extended until the year in which the offer is made; or

(3) Covers a specific percentage of actual or reasonable
charges and does not include a maximum specified indemnity
amount of limit.

B. Where the policy is issued to a group, the required offer
in Subsection A above shall be made to the group policyholder;
except, if the policy is issued to a group defined in 18 Del. C.,
Section 7103.(4), other than to a continuing care retirement
community, the offering shall be made to each proposed
certificate holder.

C. The offer in Subsection A above shall not be required of
life insurance policies or riders containing accelerated long-
term care benefits.

D. Insurers shall include the following information in or with
the outline of coverage:

(1) A graphic comparison of the benefit levels of a policy
that increases benefits over the policy period with a policy
that does not increase benefits.  The graphic comparison shall
show benefit levels over at least a twenty (20) year period.

(2) Any expected premium increases or additional
premiums to pay for automatic or optional benefit increases.
An insurer may use a reasonable hypothetical, or a graphic
demonstration, for the purposes of this disclosure.

E. Inflation protection benefit increases under a policy which
contains such benefits shall continue without regard to an
insured’s age, claim status or claim history, or the length of
time the person has been insured under the policy.

F. An offer of inflation protection which provides for
automatic benefit increases shall include an offer of a premium
which the insurer expects to remain constant.  Such offer shall
disclose in a conspicuous manner that the premium may
change in the future unless the premium is guaranteed to
remain constant.

G.(1) Inflation protection as provided in subsection A(1)
of this section shall be included in a long-term  care insurance
policy unless an insurer obtains a rejection of inflation
protection signed by the policyholder as required in this
subsection.

(2) The rejection shall be considered part of the
application and shall state:

I have reviewed the outline of coverage and the graphs that
compare the benefits and premiums of this policy with and
without inflation protection. Specifically, I have reviewed
Plans -------- and I reject inflation protection.

Section 11 12. Requirements for replacement

A. Application forms shall include the following questions
designed to elicit information as to whether, as of the date of
the application, the applicant has another long-term care
insurance policy or certificate in force or whether a long-term
care policy or certificate is intended to replace any accident
and sickness or long-term care policy or certificate presently
in force. A supplementary application or other form to be
signed by the applicant and the agent, except where the
coverage is sold without an agent, containing such questions
may be used.  With regard to a replacement policy issued to a
group defined in 18 Del. C., 7103 (4), the following questions
may be modified only to the extent necessary to elicit
information about health or long-term care insurance policies
other than the group policy being replaced; provided, however,
that the certificate holder has been notified of the replacement.

(1) Do you have another long-term care insurance policy
or certificate in force (including health care services contract,
health maintenance organization contract)?

(2) Did you have another long-term care insurance
policy or certificate in force during the last twelve (12)
months?

(a) If so, with which company?
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(b) If that policy lapsed, when did it lapse?

(3) Are you covered by Medicaid?
(4) Do you intend to replace any of your medical or

health insurance with this policy {certificate}?

B. Agents shall list any other health insurance policies they
have sold to the  applicant.

(1) List policies sold which are still in force.
(2) List policies sold in the last five (5) years which are

no longer in force.

C. Solicitations Other than Direct Response.  Upon
determining that a sale will involve replacement, an insurer;
other than an insurer using direct response solicitation
methods, or its agent; shall furnish the applicant, prior to
issuance or delivery of the individual long-term care insurance
policy, a notice regarding replacement of accident and sickness
or long-term care coverage.  One copy of such notice shall be
retained by the applicant and an additional copy signed by
the applicant shall be retained by the insurer.  The required
notice shall be provided in the following manner:

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING REPLACEMENT
OF INDIVIDUAL ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS OR
LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE

According to [your application] [information you have
furnished], you intend to lapse or otherwise terminate existing
accident and sickness or long-term care insurance and replace
it with an individual long term care insurance policy to be
issued by [company name] Insurance Company.  Your new
policy provides thirty (30) days within which you may decide,
without cost, whether you desire to keep the policy.  For your
own information and protection, you should be aware of and
seriously consider certain factors which may affect the
insurance protection available to you under the new policy.

You should review this new coverage carefully, comparing it
with all accident and sickness or long-term care insurance
coverage you now have, and terminate your present policy
only if, after due consideration, you find that purchase of this
long-term care insurance is a wise decision.

STATEMENT TO APPLICANT BY AGENT [BROKER OR
OTHER REPRESENTATIVE]:

(Use additional sheets, as necessary).

I have reviewed your current medical or health insurance
coverage.  I believe the replacement of insurance involved in
this transaction materially improves your position.  My
conclusion has taken into account the following
considerations, which I call to your attention:

1. Health conditions which you may presently have
(preexisting conditions), may not be immediately or fully
covered under the new policy.  This could result in denial or
delay in payment of benefits under the new policy, whereas a
similar claim might have been payable under your present
policy.

2. State law provides that your replacement policy or
certificate may not contain new pre-existing conditions or
probationary periods.

3. If you are replacing existing long-term care insurance
coverage, you may wish to secure the advice of your present
insurer or its agent regarding the proposed replacement of
your present policy.  This is not only your right, but it is also
in your best interest to make sure you understand all the
relevant factors involved in replacing your present coverage.

4. If, after due consideration, you still wish to terminate
your present policy and replace it with new coverage, be
certain to truthfully and completely answer all questions on
the application concerning your medical health history.
Failure to include all material medical information on an
application may provide a basis for the company to deny and
future claims and to refund your premium as though your
policy had never been in force.  After the application has been
completed and before you sign it, reread it carefully to be
certain that all information has been properly recorded.

_______________________________
(Date)
_______________________________
(Agent’s Signature)

The above “Notice to the Applicant” was delivered to me on:

________________________________
(Date)
_________________________
(Applicant’s Signature)

D. Direct Response Solicitations.  Insurers using direct
response solicitation methods shall deliver a notice regarding
replacement of accident and sickness or long-term care
coverage to the applicant upon issuance of the policy.  The
required notice shall be provided in the following manner:

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING REPLACEMENT
OF INDIVIDUAL ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS OR
LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE

According to [your application] [information you have
furnished], you intend to lapse or otherwise terminate existing
accident and sickness or long-term care insurance and replace
it with the long-term care insurance policy delivered herewith
issued by [company name] Insurance Company.  Your new
policy provides thirty (30) days within which you may decide,
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without cost, whether you desire to keep the policy.  For your
own information and protection, you should be aware of and
seriously consider certain factors which may affect the
insurance protection available to you under the new policy.

You should review this new coverage carefully, comparing it
with all accident and sickness or long-term care insurance
coverage you now have, and terminate your present policy
only if, after due consideration, you find that purchase of this
long-term care coverage is a wise decision.

1. Health conditions which you may presently have
(preexisting conditions), may not be immediately or fully
covered under the new policy.  This could result in denial or
delay in payment of benefits under the new policy, whereas a
similar claim might have been payable under your present
policy.

2. State law provides that your replacement policy or
certificate may not contain new pre-existing conditions or
probationary periods.

3. If you are replacing existing long-term care insurance
coverage, you may wish to secure the advice of your present
insurer or its agent regarding the proposed replacement of
your present policy.  This is not only your right, but it is also
in your best interest to make sure you understand all the
relevant factors involved in replacing your present coverage.

4. [To be included only if the application is attached to
the policy.]  If, after due consideration, you still wish to
terminate your present policy and replace it with new coverage,
read the copy of the application attached to your new policy
and be sure that all questions are answered fully and correctly.
Omissions or misstatements in the application could cause an
otherwise valid claim to be denied.  Carefully check the
application and write to [company name and address] within
(30) thirty days if any information is not correct and complete,
or if any past medical history has been left out of the
application.

------------------------------
(Company Name)

E. Where replacement is intended, the replacing insurer shall
notify, in writing, the existing insurer of the proposed
replacement.  The existing policy shall be identified by the
name of the insurer, name of the insured and policy number
or address including zip code.  Such notice shall be made
within five (5) working days from the date the application is
received by the insurer or the date the policy is issued,
whichever is sooner.

Section 12 13. Replacement requirements

A. Every insurer shall maintain records for each Delaware-
licensed agent of that agent’s amount of replacement sales as
a percentage of the agent’s total annual sales and the amount

of lapses of long-term care insurance policies sold by the agent
as a percent of the agent’s total annual sales.

B. Each insurer shall report annually by June 30 the ten
precedent (10%) of its Delaware-licensed agents with the
greatest percentages of lapses and replacements as measured
by subsection A. above.

C. Reported replacement and lapse rates do not alone
constitute a violation of insurance laws or necessarily imply
wrongdoing.  The reports are for the purpose of reviewing
more closely agent activities regarding the sale of long-term
care insurance.

D. Every entity providing long-term care insurance in this
state shall file annually as an attachment to its annual statement
an exhibit that discloses the total number of long-term care
insurance policies, by form number, in force in this state and
the total number of policies, by form number, that have lapsed
over the previous five years.  Companies must provide in-
force policy and  lapsed policy information in the following
manner:

POLICY FORM # ______
SOLD LAPSED LAPSED LAPSED LAPSED LAPSED  TOTAL

1985 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989
100   6    21   11   32   14   84
1986 1986 1987 1988 1989
100     6   11   21   32   70
1987 1987 1988 1989
100     6   21   28   50
1988 1988 1989
100     6   14   20
1989 1989
100     6     6

E. Every insurer shall report, annually by June 30 the number
of replacement policies sold as a percentage of its total annual
sales and as a percentage of its total number of policies in
force as of the preceding calendar year.

F. For purposes of this section, “policy” shall mean only
long-term care insurance and “report” shall mean on a
statewide basis.

Section 13 14.  Licensing

No agent is authorized to market, sell, solicit or otherwise
contact any person for the purpose of marketing long-term
care insurance unless the agent has demonstrated his or her
knowledge of long-term care insurance and the
appropriateness of such insurance by passing a test required
by this state and maintaining appropriate licenses. For purposes
of this section:
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A. The examination for licensure as a health insurance agent
or broker shall be expanded to include a minimum of at least
ten (10) questions in the area of long-term care insurance.
Agents shall comply with the licensing provisions contained
in 18 Del. C. §§ 1716(a)(4) and 1725(a) relating to lines of
authority and examinations, respectively.

B. To continue to sell long-term care insurance policies or
certificates, agents and broker shall be required - in addition
to current annual Continuing Education Unit requirements -
to successfully complete an additional  three (3) hours of long-
term care insurance-specific Continuing Education
coursework, to be administered by the Delaware Insurance
Department.

C B. Insurers shall submit to the Delaware Insurance
Department, no later than May 1 of each year, a complete list
of every Delaware-licensed agent or broker who sold a long-
term care insurance policy or certificate during the previous
calendar year.

Section 14 15. Discretionary powers of Commissioner

The Commissioner may, upon written request and after an
administrative hearing, issue an order to modify or suspend a
specific provision or provisions of this regulation with respect
to a specific long-term care insurance policy or certificate
upon a written finding that:

A. The modification or suspension would be in the best
interest of the insureds; and

B. The purposes to be achieved could not be effectively or
efficiently achieved without the modification or suspension;
and

C. (1) The modification or suspension is necessary to the
development of an innovative and reasonable approach for
insuring long-term care; or

(2) The policy or certificate is to be issued to  residents
of a life care or continuing care retirement community or some
other residential community for the elderly and the
modification or suspension is reasonable related to the special
needs or nature of such a community; or

(3) The modification or suspension is necessary to permit
long-term care insurance to be sold as part of, or in conjunction
with, another insurance product.

Section 15 16. Reserve standards

A. When long-term care benefits are provided through the
acceleration of benefits under group or individual life  policies
or riders to such policies, policy reserves for such benefits
shall be determined in accordance with 18 Del. C. Sec. 1113.

Claim reserves must also be established in the case when such
policy or rider is in claim status. Reserves for policies and
riders subject to this subsection should be based on the multiple
decrement model utilizing all relevant decrements except for
voluntary termination rates.  Single decrement  approximations
are acceptable if the calculation produces  essentially similar
reserves, if the reserve is clearly more conservative, or if the
reserve is immaterial.  The calculations may take into account
the reduction in life insurance benefits due to the payment of
long-term care  benefits.  However, in no event shall the
reserves for the long-term care benefit and the life insurance
benefit  be less than the reserves for the life insurance benefit
assuming no long-term benefit.  In the development and
calculation of reserves for policies and riders subject to this
subsection, due  regard shall be given to the applicable policy
provisions, marketing methods, administrative procedures  and
all other considerations which have an impact on projected
claim costs, including, but not limited to, the following:

(1) Definition of insured events;
(2) Covered long-term care facilities;
(3) Existence of home convalescence coverage;
(4) Definition of facilities;
(5) Existence or absence of barriers to eligibility;
(6) Premium waiver provision;
(7) Renewability;
(8) Ability to raise premiums;
(9) Marketing method;
(10)Underwriting procedures;
(11)Claims adjustment procedures;
(12)Waiting period;
(13)Maximum benefit;
(14)Availability of eligible facilities;
(15)Margins in claim costs;
(16)Optional nature of benefit;
(17)Delay in eligibility for benefit;
(18) Inflation protection provisions; and
(19)Guaranteed insurability options.

Any applicable valuation morbidity table shall be certified as
appropriate as a statutory valuation table by a member of the
American Academy of Actuaries.

B. When long-term care benefits are provided other than as
in Subsection A above, reserves shall be determined in
accordance with 18 Del. C. Sec. 1108.

Section 16 17. Loss ratio

A. Benefits under individual long-term care insurance
policies and group policies with fewer than 250 insureds shall
be deemed reasonable in relation to premiums provided the
expected loss ratio is at least sixty percent, calculated in a
manner which provides for adequate reserving of the long-
term care insurance risk.  Long-term care benefits provided



198

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 2, SATURDAY, AUGUST 1, 1998

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
through the acceleration of the death benefit under a life
insurance policy or annuity, where the charge or the premium
for the acceleration benefit is  identifiable and where the
payment of such long-term care benefits cannot result in the
decrease of the total amount of benefits payable under the
policy (i.e., long-term care benefits plus balance payable upon
death), shall be exempt from this section.  In evaluating the
expected loss ratio, due consideration shall be given to all
relevant factors, including:

A. Statistical credibility of incurred claims experience
and earned premiums;

B. The period for which rates are computed to provide
coverage;

C. Experienced and projected trends;
D. Concentration of experience within early policy

duration;
E. Expected claim fluctuation;
F. Experience refunds, adjustments or dividends;
G. Renewability features;
H. All appropriate expense factors;
I. Interest;
J. Experimental nature of this coverage;
K. Policy reserves;
L. Mix of business by risk classification; and
M. Product features such as long elimination periods,

high deductibles and high maximum limits.

B. Every entity providing long-term care insurance in this
State shall file annually its rates, rating schedule and
supporting documentation including ratios of incurred losses
to earned premiums by number of years of policy duration
demonstrating that it is in compliance with the foregoing
applicable loss ratio standards and that the period for which
the policy is rated is reasonable in accordance with accepted
actuarial principles and experience.

For purposes of this section, policy forms shall be deemed to
comply the loss ratio standards if:

(i) for the most recent year, the ratio of the incurred
losses to earned premiums for policies or certificates which
have been in force for three years or more is greater that or
equal to the applicable percentages contained in this section;
and

(ii) the expected losses in relation to premiums over the
entire period for which the policy is rated comply with the
requirements of this section.  An expected third-year loss ratio
which is greater than or equal to the applicable percentage
shall be demonstrated for policies or certificates in force less
than three years.

Section 17 18. Filing requirement

Prior to an insurer or similar organization offering group long-
term care insurance to a resident of this state pursuant to 18

Del. C. Section 7104 it shall file with the Commissioner
evidence that the group policy or certificate thereunder has
been approved by a state having statutory or regulatory long-
term care insurance requirements substantially similar to those
adopted in this state.

Section 18 19. Standard format outline of coverage

This section of the regulation implements, interprets and
makes specific, the provisions of 18 Del. C. Section 7105, in
prescribing a standard format and the content of an outline of
coverage.

A. The outline of coverage shall be a free-standing
document, using no smaller than ten point type.

B. The outline of coverage shall contain no material of an
advertising nature.

C. Text which is capitalized or underscored in the standard
format outline of coverage may be emphasized by other means
which provide prominence equivalent to such capitalization
or underscoring.

D. Use of the text and sequence of text of the standard format
outline of coverage is mandatory, unless otherwise specifically
indicated.

E. Format for outline of coverage;

[COMPANY NAME]
[ADDRESS - CITY & STATE]
[TELEPHONE NUMBER]
LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE
OUTLINE OF COVERAGE
[Policy Number or Group Master Policy and Certificate
Number]

[Except for polices or certificates which are guaranteed issue,
the following cautionary statement, or language substantially
similar, must appear on the outline of coverage.]

Caution:  The issuance of this long-term care insurance
[policy] [certificate] is based upon your responses to the
questions on your application.  A copy of your [application]
[enrollment form] [is enclosed] [was retained by you when
your applied].  If your answers are incorrect or untrue, the
company has the right to deny benefits or rescind your policy.
The best time to clear up any questions is now, before a claim
arises!  If, for any reason, any of your answers are incorrect,
contact the company at this address: [insert address].

1. This policy is [an individual policy of insurance] ([a group
policy] which was issued in the [indicate jurisdiction in which
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group policy was issued]).

2. PURPOSE OF OUTLINE OF COVERAGE.  This outline
of coverage provides a very brief description of the important
features of the policy.  You should compare this outline of
coverage to outlines of coverage for other policies available
to you.

This is not an insurance contract, but only a summary of
coverage.  Only the individual or group policy contains
governing contractual provisions.  This means that the policy
or group policy sets forth in detail the rights and obligations
of both you and the insurance company.  Therefore, if  you
purchase this coverage, or any other coverage, it is  important
that you READ YOUR POLICY (OR CERTIFICATE)
CAREFULLY!

3. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY OR
CERTIFICATE MAY BE RETURNED AND PREMIUM
REFUNDED.

(a) [Provide a brief description of the right to return--”free
look” provision of the policy.]

(b) [Include a statement that the policy either does or does
not contain provisions providing for a refund or partial refund
of premium upon the death of an insured or surrender of the
policy or certificate.  If the policy contains such provisions,
include a description of them.]

4. THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT
COVERAGE.  If you are eligible for Medicare, review the
Medicare Supplement Buyer’s Guide provided by the
insurance company.

(a) [For agents] Neither [insert company name] nor its agents
represent Medicare, the federal government or any state
government.

(b) [For direct response] [insert company name] is not
representing Medicare, the federal government or any state
government.

5. LONG-TERM CARE COVERAGE.  Policies of this
category are designed to provide coverage for one or more
necessary or  medically necessary diagnostic, preventive,
therapeutic, rehabilitative, maintenance, or personal care
services, provided in a setting other than an acute care unit of
a hospital, such as in a nursing home, in the community or in
the home.

This policy provides coverage in the form of a fixed dollar
indemnity benefit for covered long-term care expenses, subject
to policy [limitations] [waiting periods] and [coinsurance]

requirements.  [Modify this paragraph if the policy is not an
indemnity policy.]

6. BENEFITS PROVIDED BY THIS POLICY.

(a) [Covered services, related deductible(s), waiting
periods, elimination periods and benefit maximums.]

(b) [Institutional benefits, by skill level.]

(c) [Non-institutional benefits, by skill level.]

[Any benefit screens triggers must be explained in this section.
If these screens triggers differ for different benefits,
explanation of the screen trigger should accompany each
benefit description.  If an attending physician or other specified
person must certify a certain level of functional dependency
in order to be eligible for benefits, this too must be specified.
If activities  of daily living (ADLs) are used to measure an
insured’s need for long-term care, then these qualifying criteria
or screens  triggers must be explained.]

(d) Activities of daily living and cognitive impairment
shall be used to measure an insured’s need for long-term care
and must be defined and described as part of the outline of
coverage.

7. LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS.

[Describe:

(a) Preexisting conditions;

(b) Non-eligible facilities/provider;

(c) Non-eligible levels of care (e.g., unlicensed providers,
care of treatment provided by a family member, etc.);

(d) Exclusions/exceptions;

(e) Limitations.]

[This section should provide a brief specific description of
any policy provisions which limit, exclude, restrict, reduce,
delay, or in any other manner operate to qualify payment of
the benefits described in (6) above.]

THIS POLICY MAY NOT COVER ALL THE EXPENSES
ASSOCIATED WITH YOUR
LONG-TERM CARE NEEDS.

8. RELATIONSHIP OF COST OF CARE AND
BENEFITS.  Because the costs of long-term care services
will likely increase over time, you should consider whether
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and how the benefits of this plan may be adjusted.  [As
applicable, indicate the following:

(a) That the benefit level will not increase over time;

(b) Any automatic benefit adjustment provisions;

(c) Whether the insured will be guaranteed the option to buy
additional benefits and the basis upon which benefits will be
increased over time if not only by a specified amount or
percentage;

(d) If there is such a guarantee, include whether additional
underwriting or health screening will be required, the
frequency and amounts of the upgrade options, and any
significant restrictions or limitations;

(e) And finally, describe whether there will be any additional
premium charge imposed, and how that is to be calculated.]

9. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY (OR
CERTIFICATE) MAY BE CONTINUED IN FORCE OR
DISCONTINUED.

(a) Describe the policy renewability provisions;

(b) For group coverage, specifically describe continuation/
conversion provisions applicable to the certificate and group
policy;

(c) Describe waiver of premium provisions or state that there
are not such provisions;

(d) State whether or not the company has a right to change
premium, and if such a right exists, describe clearly and
concisely each circumstance under which premium may
change.

10. ALZHEIMER’S DISEASE AND OTHER ORGANIC
BRAIN DISORDERS.

[State that the policy provides coverage for insureds clinically
diagnosed as having Alzheimer’s disease or related
degenerative and dementing illnesses.  Specifically describe
each benefit screen or other policy provision which provides
preconditions to the availability of policy benefits for such an
insured.]

11. PREMIUM.

[(a) State the total annual premium for the policy;

(b) If the premium varies with an applicant’s choice among
benefit options, indicate the portion of annual premium  which

corresponds to each benefit option.]

12. ADDITIONAL FEATURES.

[(a) Indicate if medical underwriting is used;

(b) Describe other important features.]

Section 19 20. Filing requirements for advertising

Prior to use, every insurer, health care service plan or other
entity providing long-term care insurance in this State shall
provide a copy of any long-term care insurance advertisement
intended for use in this State whether through written, radio
or television medium to the Insurance Commissioner of the
State Delaware for review and approval by the Commissioner.

Section 20 21. Standards for marketing

A. Every insurer, health care service plan or other entity
marketing long-term care insurance coverage in this state,
directly or through its producers, shall:

(1) Establish marketing procedures to assure that any
comparison of policies by its agents or other producers will
be fair and accurate.

(2) Establish marketing procedures to assure excessive
insurance is not sold or issued.

(3) Display prominently by type, stamp or other
appropriate means, on the first page of the outline of coverage
and policy, the following:  “Notice to Buyer: This policy may
not cover all of the costs associated with long-term care
incurred by the buyer during the period of coverage.  The
buyer is advised to review carefully all policy limitations.”

(4) Inquire and otherwise make every reasonable effort
to identify whether a prospective applicant or enrollee for
long-term care insurance already has accident and sickness
or long-term care insurance and the types and amounts of any
such insurance.

(5) Every insurer or entity marketing long-term care
insurance shall establish auditable procedures for verifying
compliance with this subsection~A.

(6) If the state of Delaware is the state in which the policy
or certificate is delivered or issued for delivery, the insurer
shall, at solicitation, provide written notice to the prospective
policyholder or certificate holder that the Senior Outreach
Advisory Resource Program (SOAR) Elderinfo Program, a
senior counseling program approved by the Commissioner,
is available and the name, address and telephone number of
the SOAR Elderinfo Program.

B. In addition to the practices prohibited in 18 Del. C.,
Chapter 23, Unfair Trade Practices, the following acts and
practices are prohibited:

(1) Twisting.  Knowingly making any misleading
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representation or incomplete or fraudulent comparison of any
insurance policies or insurers for the purpose of inducing, or
tending to induce, any person to lapse, forfeit, surrender,
terminate, retain, pledge, assign, borrow on or convert any
insurance policy or to take out a policy of insurance with
another insurer.

(2) High Pressure Tactics.  Employing any method of
marketing having the effect of or tending to induce the
purchase of insurance through force, fright, threat, whether
explicit or implied, or undue pressure to purchase or
recommend the purchase of insurance.

(3) Cold lead advertising.  Making use directly or
indirectly of any method of marketing which fails to disclose
in a conspicuous manner that a purpose of the method of
marketing is solicitation of insurance and that contact will be
made by an insurance agent or insurance company.

Section 22. Suitability

A.  This section shall not apply to life insurance policies that
accelerate benefits for long-term care.

B. Every insurer, health care service plan or other entity
marketing long-term care insurance (“insurer”) shall:

(1) Develop and use suitability standards to determine
whether the purchase or replacement of long-term care
insurance is appropriate for the needs of the applicant;

(2) Train its agents in the use of its suitability standards;
and

(3) Maintain a copy of its suitability standards and make
them available for inspection upon request by the
Commissioner.

C. (1) To determine whether the applicant meets the
standards developed by the insurer, the agent and insurer shall
develop procedures that take the following into consideration:

(a) The ability to pay for the proposed coverage and
other pertinent financial information related to the purchase
of the coverage;

(b) The applicant’s goals or needs with respect to
long-term care and the advantages and disadvantages of
insurance to meet these goals or needs; and

(c) The values, benefits and costs of the applicant’s
existing insurance, if any, when compared to the values,
benefits and costs of the recommended purchase or
replacement.

(2) The insurer, and where an agent is involved, the agent
shall make reasonable efforts to obtain the information set
out in Paragraph (1) above.  The efforts shall include
presentation to the applicant, at or prior to application, the
“Long-Term Care Insurance Personal Worksheet.”  The
personal worksheet used by the issuer shall contain, at a
minimum, the information in the format contained in
Appendix B, in not less than twelve (12) point type.  The

insurer may request the applicant to provide additional
information to comply with its suitability standards.  A copy
of the insurer’s personal worksheet shall be filed with the
Commissioner.

(3) A completed personal worksheet shall be returned
to the insurer prior to the insurer’s consideration of the
applicant for coverage, except the personal worksheet need
not be returned for sales of employer group long-term care
insurance to employees and their spouses.

(4) The sale or dissemination outside the company or
agency by the issuer or agent of information obtained through
the personal worksheet in Appendix B is prohibited.

D.  The insurer shall use the suitability standards it has
developed pursuant to this section in determining whether
issuing long-term care insurance coverage to an applicant is
appropriate.

E. Agents shall use the suitability standards developed by the
insurer in marketing long-term care insurance.

F.  At the same time as the personal worksheet is provided to
the applicant, the disclosure form entitled “Things You Should
Know Before You Buy Long-Term Care Insurance” shall be
provided.  The form shall be in the format contained in
Appendix C, in not less than twelve (12) point type.

G.  If the issuer determines that the applicant does not meet
its financial suitability standards, or if the applicant has
declined to provide the information, the issuer may reject the
application.  In the alternative, the issuer shall send the
applicant a letter similar to Appendix D.  However, if the
applicant has declined to provide financial information, the
issuer may use some other method to verify the applicant’s
intent.  Either the applicant’s returned letter or a record of the
alternative method of verification shall be made part of the
applicant’s file.

H.  The insurer shall report annually to the Commissioner the
total number of applications received from residents of this
state, the number of those who declined to provide information
on the personal worksheet, the number of applicants who did
not meet the suitability standards, and the number of those
who chose to confirm after receiving a suitability letter.

Section 23. Standards for Benefit Triggers

A.  A long-term care insurance policy shall condition the
payment of benefits on a determination of the insured’s ability
to perform activities of daily living and on cognitive
impairment.  Eligibility for the payment of benefits shall not
be more restrictive than requiring either a deficiency in the
ability to perform not more than three (3) of the activities of
daily living or the presence of cognitive impairment.
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B. (1)Activities of daily living shall include at least the
following as defined in Section 5 and in the policy:

(a) Bathing;
(b) Continence;
(c) Dressing;
(d) Eating;
(e) Toileting; and
(f) Transferring;

(2)  Insurers may use activities of daily living to trigger
covered benefits in addition to those contained in Paragraph
(1) as long as they are defined in the policy.

C.  An insurer may use additional provisions for the
determination of when benefits are payable under a policy or
certificate; however the provisions shall not restrict, and are
not in lieu of, the requirements contained in Subsections A
and B.

D.  For purposes of this section the determination of a
deficiency shall not be more restrictive than:

(1) Requiring the hands-on assistance of another person
to perform the prescribed activities of daily living; or

(2) If the deficiency is due to the presence of a cognitive
impairment, supervision or verbal cueing by another person
is needed in order to protect the insured or others.

E.  Assessments of activities of daily living and cognitive
impairment shall be performed by licensed or certified
professionals, such as physicians, nurses or social workers.

F.  Long term care insurance policies shall include a clear
description of the process for appealing and resolving benefit
determinations.

G.  The requirements set forth in this section shall be effective
(12 months after adoption of this provision) and shall apply
as follows:

(1) Except as provided in Paragraph (2), the provisions
of this section apply to a long-term care policy issued in this
state on or after the effective date of the amended regulation.

(2) For certificates issued on or after the effective date
of this section, under a group long-term care insurance policy
as defined in 18 Del. C. § 7103(4)a. [effective, the provisions
of this section shall not apply.

Section  21 24.  Prohibition against pre-existing conditions
and probationary periods in replacement policies or certificates

If a long-term care insurance policy or certificate replaces
another long-term care insurance policy or certificate, the
replacing insurer shall waive any time periods applicable to
pre-existing conditions and probationary periods in the new
long-term care insurance policy or certificate to the extent
that similar exclusions have been satisfied under the original

policy.

Section 22 25.  Requirement to deliver shopper’s guide

A. A long-term care insurance shopper’s guide in the format
developed by the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners, or one developed or approved by the
Commissioner, shall be provided to all prospective applicants
of a long-term care insurance policy or certificate.

(1) In the case of agent solicitations, an agent must
deliver the shopper’s guide prior to the presentation of an
application or enrollment form.

(2) In the case of direct response solicitations, the
shopper’s guide must be presented in conjunction with any
application or enrollment form.

B. Life insurance policies or riders containing accelerated
long-term care benefits are not required to furnish the above-
referenced guide, but shall furnish the policy summary
required under 18 Del. C., Section 7105 (j).

Section 23 26.  Requirement to offer nonforfeiture benefit

A. No policy or certificate may be delivered or issued for
delivery in this state unless the insurer also offers to the
policyholder or certificateholder the option to purchase a
policy that provides for nonforfeiture benefits to the defaulting
or lapsing policyholder or certificateholder.

This section does not apply to life insurance policies or
riders containing accelerated long-term care benefits.

(1) For purpose of this section, attained age rating is
defined as a schedule of premiums starting from the issue
date which increases with increasing age at least one percent
per year to age fifty (50), and at least three percent (3%) per
year beyond age fifty (50).

(2) For purposes of this section, the nonforfeiture benefit
shall be a shortened benefit period providing paid-up long-
term care insurance coverage after lapse.  The same benefits
(amounts and frequency in effect at the time of lapse but not
increased thereafter) will be payable for a qualifying claim,
but the lifetime maximum dollars or days of benefit shall be
determined as specified in Paragraph (3).

(3) The standard nonforfeiture credit will be equal to
100 percent of the sum of all premiums paid, including the
premiums paid prior to any changes in benefits.  The insurer
may offer additional shortened benefit period options, as long
as the benefits for each duration equal or exceed the standard
nonforfeiture credit for that duration.  However, the minimum
nonforfeiture credit shall not be less than thirty (30) times the
daily nursing home benefit at the time of lapse.  In either
event, the calculation of the nonforfeiture credit is subject to
the limitation of Subsection B.

(4) No policy or certificate shall begin a nonforfeiture
benefit later than the end of the third year following the policy
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or certificate issue date except that for a policy or certificate
with attained age rating, the nonforfeiture benefit shall begin
on the earlier of:

(a) The end of the tenth year following the policy
or certificate issue date; or

(b) The end of the second year following the date
the policy or certificate is no longer subject to attained age
rating.

(5) Nonforfeiture credits may be used for all care and
services qualifying for benefits under the terms of the policy
or certificate, up to the limits specified in the policy or
certificate.

B. All benefits paid by the insurer while the policy or
certificate is in premium paying status and in the paid up status
will not exceed the maximum benefits which would have been
payable if the policy or certificate had remained in premium
paying status.

C. There shall be no difference in the minimum nonforfeiture
benefit as required under this section for group and individual
policies.

D. The requirements set forth in this section shall become
effective on May 1, 1997, except for certificates issued on or
after the effective date of this section under a group long-
term care insurance policy as defined in 18 Del. C., Section
7103, which policy was in force at the time this amended
regulation became effective.

E. Premiums charged for a policy or certificate containing
nonforfeiture benefits shall be subject to the loss ratio
requirements of Section 16 treating the policy as a whole.

F. (1) A nonforfeiture benefit as provided in subsection
A.(2) and (3) of this section shall be included in a long-term
care insurance policy or certificate unless an insurer obtains a
rejection of a nonforfeiture benefit signed by the policyholder
or certificateholder as required in this section.

(2) The rejection shall be considered part of the
application and shall state: I have reviewed the outline of
coverage and the nonforfeiture benefit as described therein.
Specifically, I have reviewed Plan __________________ and
I reject the nonforfeiture benefit.

Section 24 27. Permitted compensation arrangements

A. An insurer or other entity may provide commission or
other compensation to an agent or other representative for
the sale of a long-term care insurance policy or certificate
which shall not exceed twenty-five percent (25%) of the total
premium paid for that policy year.

B. No entity shall provide compensation to its agents or other

producers and no agent or producer shall receive compensation
greater than twenty-five percent (25%) of the total premium
paid for that policy year for the sale of a replacement long-
term care insurance policy or certificate.

C. For purposes of this section, “compensation” includes
pecuniary or non-pecuniary remuneration or any kind relating
to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate including but
not limited to bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards and finders fees.

A. An insurer or other entity may provide commission or other
compensation to an agent or other representative for the sale
of a long-term care insurance policy or certificate only if the
first year commission or other first year compensation is no
more than 200 percent of the commission or other
compensation paid for selling or servicing the policy or
certificate in the second year or period.

B. The commission or other compensation provided in
subsequent (renewal) years must be the same as that provided
in the second year or period and must be provided for a
reasonable number of renewal years.

C. No entity shall provide compensation to its agents or other
producers and no agent or producer shall receive compensation
greater than the renewal compensation payable by the
replacing insurer on renewal policies.

D. For purposes of this section, “compensation” includes
pecuniary or non-pecuniary remuneration of any kind relating
to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate including but
not limited to bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards and finders fees.]

Section 25 28.  Penalties

In addition to any other penalties provided by the laws of this
state, any insurer and any agent found to violate any
requirement of this state relating to the regulation of long-
term care insurance or the marketing of such insurance shall
be subject to a fine of up to three (3) times the amount of any
commissions paid for each policy involved in the violation or
up to $10,000, whichever is greater.

Section 26 29.  Separability

If any provision of this regulation or the application thereof
to any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be
invalid, the remainder of the regulation and the application of
such provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be
affected thereby.

Section 27 30.  Effective Date

This regulation became effective July 30, 1990, except Section
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13 became effective July 1, 1993.  Amendment #1 adopted
nonforfeiture benefits (Section~23) on December 23, 1996,
to become effective on May 1, 1997. Subsequent amended
provisions of this Regulation shall become effective 45 days
from the Commissioner’s order amending this regulation.

Donna Lee H. Williams
Insurance Commissioner

Appendix B

Long Term Care Insurance
Personal Worksheet

People buy long-term care insurance for a variety of reasons.
These reasons include to avoid spending assets for long-term
care, to make sure there are choices regarding the type of
care received, to protect family members from having to pay
for care, or to decrease the chances of going on Medicaid.
However, long term care insurance can be expensive, and is
not appropriate for everyone.  State law requires the insurance
company to ask you to complete this worksheet to help you
and the insurance company determine whether you should
buy this policy.

Premium

The premium for the coverage you are considering will be
[$_________ per month, or $_______ per year,] [a one-time
single premium of $____________.]

[The company cannot raise your rates on this policy.]  [The
company has a right to increase premiums in the future.]  The
company has sold long-term care insurance since [year] and
has sold this policy since [year].  [The last rate increase for
this policy in this state was in [year], when premiums went
up by an average of ______%].  [The company has not raised
its rates for this policy.]

Drafting Note:  The issuer shall use the bracketed sentence or
sentences applicable to the product offered.  If a company
includes a statement regarding not having raised rates, it must
disclose the company’s rate increases under prior policies
providing essentially similar coverage.

[  Have you considered whether you could afford to keep this
policy if the premiums were raised, for example, by 20%?]

Drafting Note:  The issuer shall use the bracketed sentence
unless the policy is fully paid up or is a noncancellable policy.

Income

Where will you get the money to pay each year’s premiums?

Income Savings Family members

What is your annual income? (check one)
Under $10,000 $[10-20,000] $[20-30,000]
$[30-50,000] Over $50,000

Drafting Note:  The issuer may choose the numbers to put in
the brackets to fit its suitability standards.

How do you expect your income to change over the next 10
years? (check one)

No change Increase Decrease

If you will be paying premiums with money received only
from your own income, a rule of thumb is that you may not
be able to afford this policy if the premiums will be more
than 7% of your income.

Savings and Investments

Not counting your home, what is the approximate value of all
of your assets (savings and investments)? (check one)

Under $20,000 $20,000-$30,000$30,000-$50,000
Over $50,000

How do you expect your assets to change over the next ten
years? (check one)

Stay about the sameIncrease Decrease

If you are buying this policy to protect your assets and your
assets are less than $30,000, you may wish to consider other
options for financing your long-term care.

Disclosure Statement

The information provided above accurately describes my
financial situation

I choose not to complete this information.

Signed:
(Applicant) (Date)

[ I explained to the applicant the importance of completing
this information.

Signed:
(Agent) (Date)

Agent’s Printed Name: ]

[Note:  In order for us to process your application, please
return this signed statement to [name of company], along with
your application.]
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[My agent has advised me that this policy does not appear to
be suitable for me.  However, I still want the company to
consider my application.

Signed: ]
(Applicant) (Date)

Drafting Note:  Choose the appropriate sentences depending
on whether this is a direct mail or agent sale.

The company may contact you to verify your answers.

Drafting Note:  When the Long-Term Care Insurance Personal
Worksheet is furnished to employees and their spouses under
employer group policies, the text from the heading “Disclosure
Statement” to the end of the page may be removed.

Appendix C

Things You Should Know Before You Buy Long-Term
Care Insurance

• A long-term care insurance policy may pay
most of the costs for your care in a nursing home.
Many policies also pay for care at home or other
community settings. Since policies can vary in
coverage, you should read this policy and make
sure you understand what it covers before you
buy it.
• [You should not buy this insurance policy
unless you can afford to pay the premiums every
year.]  [Remember that the company can
increase premiums in the future.]

Drafting Note:  For single premium policies, delete this bullet;
for noncancellable policies, delete the second sentence only.

• The personal worksheet includes questions
designed to help you and the company determine
whether this policy is suitable for your needs.
• Medicare does not pay for most long-term
care.
• Medicaid will generally pay for long-term
care if you have very little income and few
assets. You probably should not buy this policy
if you are now eligible for Medicaid.
• Many people become eligible for Medicaid
after they have used up their own financial
resources by paying for long-term care services.
• When Medicaid pays your spouse’s nursing
home bills, you are allowed to keep your house

and furniture, a living allowance, and some of
your joint assets.
• Your choice of long-term care services may
be limited if you are receiving Medicaid.  To
learn more about Medicaid, contact your local
or state Medicaid agency.
• Make sure the insurance company or agent
gives you a copy of a book called the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners’
“Shopper’s Guide to Long-Term Care
Insurance.”  Read it carefully.  If you have
decided to apply for long-term care insurance,
you have the right to return the policy within 30
days and get back any premium you have paid
if you are dissatisfied for any reason or choose
not to purchase the policy.
• Free counseling and additional information
about long-term care insurance are available
through your state’s insurance counseling
program.  Contact your state insurance
department or department on aging for more
information about the senior health insurance
counseling program in your state.

Appendix D

Long-Term Care Insurance Suitability Letter

Dear [Applicant]:

Your recent application for long-term care insurance included
a “personal worksheet,” which asked questions about your
finances and your reasons for buying long-term care insurance.
For your protection, state law requires us to consider this
information when we review your application, to avoid selling
a policy to those who may not need coverage.

[Your answers indicate that long-term care insurance may
not meet your financial needs.  We suggest that you review
the information provided along with your application,
including the booklet “Shopper’s Guide to Long-Term Care
Insurance” and the page titled “Things You Should Know
Before Buying Long-Term Care Insurance.”  Your state
insurance department also has information about long-term
care insurance and may be able to refer you to a counselor
free of charge who can help you decide whether to buy this
policy.]

[You chose not to provide any financial information for us to
review.]

Drafting Note:  Choose the paragraph that applies.

Long-Term
Care
Insurance

Medicare

Medicaid

Shopper’s
Guide

Counseling
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We have suspended our final review of your application.  If,
after careful consideration, you still believe this policy is what
you want, check the appropriate box below and return this
letter to us within the next 60 days.  We will then continue
reviewing your application and issue a policy if you meet our
medical standards.

If we do not hear from you within the next 60 days, we will
close your file and not issue you a policy.  You should
understand that you will not have any coverage until we hear
back from you, approve your application and issue you a
policy.

Please check one box and return in the enclosed envelope.

Yes, [although my worksheet indicates that long-term
care insurance may not be a suitable purchase,] I wish to
purchase this coverage.  Please resume review of my
application.

Drafting Note:  Delete the phrase in brackets if the applicant
did not answer the questions about income.

No.  I have decided not to buy a policy at this time.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE DATE

Please return to [issuer] at [address] by [date].]
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates
new text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed striken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published
in the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the
evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended
or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and
information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except
where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take
no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact
text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other
findings or conclusions required by the law under which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least
a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of
Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF
ADMINISTR ATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION  OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF FUNERAL  SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 3105(a)(1)
(24 Del. C. 2105(a)(1))

Before the Board of Funeral Services

In re: Rules and Regulation of the Board of Funeral Services

Order Adopting the Rules and Regulations Of the Board of
Funeral Services

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Honorable Stephanie A. Ulbrich, chair, Joint
Sunset Committee, addressed the Board in a letter dated
April 30, 1998 and indicated language in proposed Rules 1.6
and 1.8 was inconsistent with the enabling act.  The letter is
attached as Exhibit A.

2. No other written or verbal information was received.

Finding of Fact

1. Reviewing and updating the rules satisfies the
legislative purpose of developing standards to assure
competence and providing a mechanism of handling
complaints.

2. Proposed Rules 1.6 and 1.8 should be changed to be
consistent with the law. No further notice is necessary. 29
Del, C. Sections 10 1 13 (b) and 10 1 18 (c).

3. If the proposed legislation is enacted, further
changes to bring these rules into compliance with the new
law with respect to the educational requirements can be
accomplished without the formality of Register of
Regulation publication pursuant to the sections supra.

Text and Citation

The exact text and citation of each rule is attached hereto
as Exhibit B and incorporated herein.

Decision

Pursuant to the authority in 24 Del, C. Section 3105(a)(1)
and after due notice as required under the Administrative
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procedures Act, the Board of Funeral Services by the
undersigned members hereby promulgates and adopts the
Rules in Exhibit B to be effective ten days following
publication in the Delaware Register of Regulation.

SO ORDERED THIS 20th day of May, 1998.

Richard W. Harra, President
Gary J. Wallick, Secretary
Barbara R. Robbins
Charles P. Arcaro
J. Thomas Sturgis, Jr., Ph.D.
Dorothy J. Sapp
Edward G. Minus, Sr.

April 30, 1998

Ms. Barbara R. Robbins, immediate past president
Board of Funeral Services
861 Silver Lake Blvd., Ste. 203
Dover, DE 19904-2467

Dear Ms. Robbins:

Thank you for your letter of March 19, 1998, regarding the
requirements for licensure for persons providing funeral
services.  The Sunset Committee will discuss its 1997
recommendation regarding requirements for licensure for
funeral directors during an upcoming meeting.

I understand the Board has scheduled a public hearing for
proposed rules and regulations.  Proposed Rule 1.6 appears to
violate statutory language and a Sunset Committee
recommendation.  The proposal states that the Division “shall
administer a State examination based solely upon the laws
and regulations of Delaware and other jurisdictions which
impact on, relate to and govern its profession.”  Current 3107,
24 Del.  C., requires that the examination shall be “based solely
upon the laws of Delaware governing the profession.”

The Sunset Committee in 1997 recommended that 3107, 24 Del.
C., be rewritten to “clarify that the Division of Professional
Regulation has sole authority to contract for the validated
examination on state law and that the examination be strictly
on state law governing the practice of funeral services.” The
Sunset recommendation did not change the current statutory
mandate, but rather clarifies the Division’s authority and
reinforces that the examination is to cover strictly state law.
These same comments apply to proposed Rule 1.8 regarding
the content of the state examination.

Please ask the Board to consider these comments on the
proposed Rule changes.

It is evident that your Board has worked to comply with the
Sunset Committee recommendations.  I look forward to
continuing to work with you and your new Board President,
Richard Harra, to implement the Sunset recommendations The
legislation has been prepared and will be ready for introduction
as soon as the Committee discusses the education
requirements.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Representative Stephanie A. Ulbrich, chair
Joint Sunset Committee

RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE DELAWARE
BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICES

A revision of the Rules and Regulations governing the State
Board of Funeral Services of the State of Delaware, adopted
and promulgated this 20th day of May, 1998 at  Dover,
Delaware.  These Rules and Regulations are hereby adopted
pursuant to 24 Del. C. Section 3105 (a)(1) and the Administrative
Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. Section 10115.  These regulations
supersede and replace any previous adopted rules, regulations
or bylaws by the State Board of Funeral Services.

**********
Duties of the Officers

1. The President shall preside at all meetings, call meetings,
sign certificates with other Board members or other forms that
may be required by him or her by law.

2. In the absence of the President, the Secretary shall preside
at the meetings and call meetings when the President is absent.
However, the signatory duties of the President may not be
transferred to the Secretary.

3. In accordance with 29 Del. C. Section 8807, the Division
of Professional Regulation shall maintain and keep all records
of licensed funeral directors in the State of Delaware issuing a
number and date to each license.

4. The Division shall also cause to be collected all fees
including license application fees, renewal fees or any other
fee required to be filed for paid in accordance with the
provisions of 24 Del. C. ch. 31, et seq.

5. In accordance with the Freedom of  Information Act, 29
Del. C. Section 10004 (c) the Division of Professional
Regulation shall publish an agenda of all meetings which shall
include the time, dates and places of said meetings and an
agenda.  The Board shall also give public notice of the regular
meetings and its intent to hold an executive session closed to
the public at least seven days in advance.  However, the agenda
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may be subject to change to include additional items not on
the agenda including executive sessions closed to the public
which arise at the time of the Board’s meeting.

6. The Division of Professional Regulation shall insure that
accurate and detailed minutes of all business to come before
the Board at all Board meetings be transcribed in accordance
with 29 Del. C. Section 8807 and 24 Del. C. Section 3104 (d).

RULES AND REGULATIONS - LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

Rule 1.0

Requirements for licensing of those applying for a Funeral
Director’s License in the State of Delaware.  The qualifications
of applicants for licensure as funeral director are contained in
24 Del. C. Section 3106 (a) (1-5) and 24 Del. C. Section 3108.

Rule 1.2

A year of academic training shall consist of at least thirty (30)
semester hours successfully completed by the applicant at an
accredited college or university.  Two years of academic training
shall consist of at least sixty (60) semester hours successfully
completed by the applicant at an accredited college or
university.  The applicant shall request that a copy of an official
transcript be sent to the Board.

Rule 1.3

If an applicant has attended a school or college fully accredited
by the American Board of Funeral Service Education or its
successor, and has received a certificate of satisfactory
completion in a one year program, the applicant shall be required
to complete an additional (60) semester credit hours at an
accredited college or university.

Rule 1.4

An applicant who has attended a school or college fully
accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education
“ABFSE” or its successor and who, after attending such
ABFSE accredited school or college, has received an
Associate degree in Funeral Services, wherein such “degree”
required the successful completion of at least sixty (60)
semester credit hours, shall in addition thereto to such ABFSE
accredited Associate’s Degree, receive and complete academic
training at an accredited college or university and successfully
completed at least thirty (30) additional semester credit hours
to be eligible for licensure as a funeral director in accordance
with the requirements contained within 24 Del. C. Section 3106.

Rule 1.5

In order for an applicant to apply for internship of one year’s
duration under the auspices of a licensed Delaware Funeral
Services practitioner pursuant to 24 Del. C. Section 3106 (a)(3),
the applicant shall have certified that he or she has graduated
from an accredited high school or its equivalent, and completed
at least two years of academic training from an accredited
college or university.  In addition, the applicant shall certify
that he or she has completed one year of academic training in
funeral services from a school or college fully accredited by
the American Board of Funeral Service Education or its
successor.

Rule 1.6

As required by 24 Del. C. Section 3107, the Division, upon
request of an eligible applicant, shall administer a State
examination based solely upon the laws and regulations of
Delaware [and other jurisdictions which impact on, relate to
and govern its profession.]  An applicant for full licensure
whether via initial or reciprocal licensure; prior to applying for
the Division’s test based upon the law and regulations of
Delaware [and other jurisdictions which impact on Delaware
licensees]  (“State” examination) shall first sit for and
successfully complete the national examination required by
24 Del. C. Section 3105 (a)(3), the written examination prepared
by a national professional organization recognized by the
American Board of Funeral Services Education by a passing
score determined by the organization preparing the test
recognized by the American Board of Funeral Services
Education.  The national examination may be taken before or
during the internship.

Rule 1.7

As required by 24 Del. C. Section 3106 (a)(3), an applicant
other than one seeking licensure via reciprocity shall
satisfactorily complete an internship of one year’s duration in
a licensed Delaware funeral establishment under the auspices
of a licensed Delaware funeral service practitioner.  An applicant
must successfully complete the required total of ninety (90)
semester hours of academic training (as required by Rules 1.2
through 1.4) prior to beginning the internship.  An application
to sit for the State examination as required by 24 Del. C. Section
3107 shall be accompanied by a notarized statement from the
Funeral Service Practitioner under whom the applicant “intern”
as defined by 24 Del. C. Section 3103 (8) served his internship.
The notarized statement shall attest that the applicant has
concluded his/her internship and submitted to the Board
satisfactory evidence of   the completion of twenty-five (25)
embalming reports and four (4) completed quarterly work
reports.
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Rule 1.8

The State examination required by 24 Del. C. Section 3107
shall consist of questions pertaining to the law and regula-
tions of the State of Delaware [and other jurisdictions]
which may govern, impact on, and relate to the profession
including preneed funeral services contracts, consumer
protection law and regulations, and laws and regulations
governing crematories and cemeteries.  An applicant shall
be deemed to have successfully passed the “state examina-
tion” with a minimum grade of 70%.

Federal Trade Commission Regulations

Rule 2.0

A licensed funeral director in the State of Delaware shall comply
with all Federal Trade Commission Regulations governing the
pricing of funeral services and merchandise and the method
of payment for funeral services as defined under 24 Del. C.
Section 3101 (4).  Upon the issuance of a funeral director’s
license, a licensed funeral director represents that he/she is
familiar with all Federal Trade Commission rules and regulations
and shall abide by the same.  A licensee may be subject to
discipline pursuant to 24 Del. C. Ch.31, et seq. if these rules or
regulations have been violated by the licensee.

Establishment Permits

Rule 3.0

The requirements for the issuance, continuance, and proper
maintenance of a funeral establishment permit are contained
in 24 Del. C. Section 3121.  In accordance with 24 Del. C. Section
3121 (1) the funeral establishment shall be conducting funeral
services from a building that is appropriate as defined in 24
Del. C. Section 3101 (5).  All establishments, both newly issued
and those grandfathered by Section 3121 (a)(2) shall in said
building have preparation rooms which shall be locked.
Licensed funeral directors shall exercise full control over
preparation rooms and supplies.

Rule 3.1

All funeral establishments provided a permit in accordance
with the requirements of 24 Del. C. Section 3121 shall, in addition
to conforming with all safety requirements of the State
Department of Health and Social Services, provide the
following:

1.(a.)  A room for the preparation and embalming of human
remains;

1.(b.)  Said preparation room shall contain embalming

equipment and supplies.

Rule 3.2

Funeral Establishment Permit:  Circumstances for termination
and continuation.

The statutory requirements for the issuance of a funeral
establishment permit are contained in 24 Del. C. Section 3121.

To be exempt from the provisions of 24 Del. C. Section 3121
(a)(2), the funeral establishment shall have been maintained,
operated and conducted on a continuous basis prior to
September 6, 1972 until the present date.  Further, only the
record owner of the funeral establishment shall be entitled to
obtain said exemption.  No assignment of the exemption rights
contained in 24 Del. C. Section 3121 (a)(2) is permitted and no
other licensed funeral director may apply for or be assigned
said rights.

Rule 3.3

If a licensed funeral director relocates or otherwise moves a
funeral establishment that has been granted an exemption
pursuant to the provision of 24 Del. C. Section 3121 (a)(2) from
its original location, the exemption allowed under Section 3121
(a)(2) shall immediately become null and void.  For purposes
of this section the terms “move” or “relocate” is defined as to
place such establishment outside the original building’s
location at its exact address of record unless the building where
the funeral establishment permit is contained is renovated.

Duplicate Certificate

Rule 4.0

Any licensed funeral director may obtain a duplicate funeral
director’s certificate upon proof of satisfactory evidence to
the Board that the original has been lost or destroyed and a
payment of a fee as set by the Division of Professional
Regulation.

Suspension, Revocation, or Lapse of Funeral Director’s
License

Rule 5.0

During any period a licensed funeral director’s license has
lapsed, been revoked or suspended by the Board in
accordance with 24 Del. C. Section 3110 or Section 3115, no
other licensed funeral director in the State of Delaware may
register death certificates or secure burial permits for the
licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended or has
lapsed.  Nor shall the licensee whose license has lapsed, been
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revoked or suspended by the Board, be able to register death
certificates or secure burial permits.  The Board may notify the
Division of Public Health, the Department of Health and Social
Services, the Medical Examiner’s Office or other appropriate
state or federal agency that said funeral director is prohibited
from practicing funeral services as defined by Chapter 31 of
Title 24.

Cash Advance

Rule 6.0
A licensed funeral director in the State of  Delaware is prohibited
from billing or causing to be billed any item that is referred to
as a “cash advance” item unless the net amount paid for such
item is for funeral services in the same amount as is billed by
the funeral director.  A cash advance item is payment made by
the funeral director for the consumer to a third party including
but not limited to cemetery fees, crematory fees, death
certificates and florists.

(The effective date of these regulations is the 6th day of
December, 1989 in accordance with 29 Del. C. Section 10118
(b).)

The following rules are adopted by the board as a supplement
to the Rules and Regulations governing the State Board of
Funeral Services, previously adopted and promulgated on the
6th day of  December, 1989 pursuant to Del. C. Section 3105
(a)(1) and the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. Section
10115.

Code of Ethics

Rule 7.0

The following is adopted as the code of ethics for all funeral
service licensees in the State of Delaware.

1.  As funeral directors, we herewith fully acknowledge our
individual and collective obligation to the public, especially
to those we serve, our mutual responsibilities for the proper
welfare of the funeral services profession.

2.  To the public we pledge; vigilant support of public health
laws; proper legal regulations for the members of our
profession; devotion to high moral and service standards;
conduct befitting good citizens, honesty in all offerings of
service and merchandise to the public and all business
transactions.

3.  To those we serve we pledge; confidential business and
professional relationships; cooperation with the customs, laws,
religions and creeds; observance of all respect due to the
deceased; high standards of confidence and dignity in conduct

of all services; truthful representation of all services and
merchandise.

4.  To our profession we pledge; support of high educational
standards and proper licensing law; encouragement of
scientific research; adherence to sound business practices;
adoption of improved technique; observance of all the rules
of fair competition and maintenance of favorable personnel
relations.

Effective Date:

The effective date of these regulations is the 11th day of
August 1998 in accordance with 29 Del. C. Section 10118 (b).

Continuing Education Regulations

Rule 8.0

1.  Board Authority

This rule is promulgated under the authority of 24 Del. C.
Section 3105 which grants the Board of Funeral Services
(hereinafter “the Board”) authority to provide for rules for
continuing funeral services education as a prerequisite for
license renewal.

2.  Requirements
1.  Every licensed funeral director in active practice shall

complete at least 10 hours/credits of approved continuing
education (hereinafter “CE”) during the two year licensure
period prior to the time of license renewal.  Licensees who
earn more than the required amount of CE credit hours during
a given licensure period may carry over no more than 50% of
the total CE credit hours required for the next licensure period.

2.  When a Delaware licensee on inactive status files a
written application to return to active practice with the Board,
the licensee shall submit proof of having completed the
required CE credit hours for the period just prior to the request
to return to active practice.

3.  Upon application for renewal of  a license, a funeral
director licensee shall submit to the Board proof of completing
the required number of CE credit hours.

3.  Waiver of the CE Requirement
1.  The Board has the power to waive any part of the

entire CE requirement for good cause if the licensee files a
written request with the Board.  For example, exemptions to
the CE requirement may be granted due to health or military
service.  Application for exemption shall be made in writing
to the Board by the applicant for renewal.  The Board shall
decide the merits of each individual case at a regularly
scheduled meeting.

2.  Other exemptions include the following:
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a. Newly licensed funeral directors, including

those newly licensed by reciprocity, are exempt during the
time from initial licensure until the commencement of the
first full licensure period.

4.  Continuing Education Program Approval
1.  Each contact hour (at least fifty minutes) is equivalent

to 1.0 CE credit hour.  One college credit hour is equivalent
to 5 CE credit hours.

2.  Eligible program providers or sponsors include but
are not limited to, educational institutions, government
agencies, professional or trade associations and foundations
and private firms.

Sources of CE credits include but are not limited to the
following:

a.  Programs sponsored by national funeral service
organizations.

b.  Programs sponsored by state associations.
c.  Program provided by local associations.
d.  Programs provided by suppliers.
e.  Independent study courses for which there is an

assessment of knowledge.
f.  College courses.

3.  The recommended areas include but are not limited
to the following:

a.  Grief counseling
b.  Professional conduct, business ethics or legal

aspects relating to practice in the profession.
c.  Business management concepts relating to

delivery of goods and services.
d.  Technical aspects of the profession.
e.  Public relations.
f.  After care counseling.

4.  Application for CE program approval shall include
the following:

a.  Date and location.
b.  Description of program subject, material and

content.
c.  Program schedule to time segments in subject

content areas for which approval of, and determination of
credit is required.

d.  Name of instructor(s), background, expertise.
e.  Name and position of person making request for

program approval.
5.  Requests for  CE program approval shall be submitted

to the Board on the application provided by the Board.
Application for approval may be made after the program;
however, if the program is not approved, the applicant will be
notified and no credit given.

6.  Approval of CE credits and program formats by the
Committee shall be valid for a period of two years from the
date of approval.  Changes in any aspect of the approved
program shall render the approval invalid and the presenter

will be responsible for making reapplication to the
Committee.

7.  Upon request, the Board shall mail a current list of
all previously approved programs.

6.  Certification of Continuing Education - Verification and
Reporting

1.  The program provider/sponsor has sole responsibility
for the accurate monitoring of program attendance.
Certificates of attendance shall be supplied by the program
provider/sponsor and be distributed only at the completion
of the program.

2.  Verification of completion of a independent study
program will be made with a student transcript.

3.  The funeral director licensee shall maintain all
original certificates of attendance for CE programs for the
entire licensure period.  Proof shall consist of completed
CE form provided by the Board and shall be filed with the
Board on or before thirty (30) days prior to the expiration
date of the biennial renewal period.

4.  Applications for renewal may be audited by the Board
to determine whether or not the recommended requirements
of continuing education have been met by the licensee.

5.  If a licensee is found to be non-compliant in
continuing education, the licensee’s license shall lapse at the
expiration of the present licensing period.  The Board shall
reinstate such license within twelve (12) months of such lapse
upon presentation of satisfactory evidence of successful
completion of continuing education requirements and upon
payment of all fees due.

6.  Programs approved for continuing education credit
by another state funeral board other than Delaware shall be
automatically approved for all Delaware licensees upon written
application and verification of CE credits by the applicable
state board.

7.  Continuing Education Committee
1.  The Board of  Funeral Services shall appoint a

committee known as the Continuing Education Committee.
The Committee shall consist of the following who shall elect
a chairperson:

a.  One (1) Board member (non-licensed).
b.  One (1) non-Board member who shall be a

licensed funeral director who is owner/operator of a funeral
establishment.

c.  One (1) non-Board member who shall be a
licensed funeral director who does not own or operate a
funeral establishment.

2.  Membership on this Committee shall be on a rotating
basis, with each member serving a three year term and may
be eligible for reappointment.  The Committee members shall
continue to serve until a new member is appointed.

3.  The Continuing Education Committee shall oversee
matters pertaining to continuing education and make
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recommendations to the Board with regard to approval of
submitted programs for CE by licensees and with regard to
the Board’s review of audited licensees.  The Board shall
have final approval on all matters.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUC ATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

POLICY FOR SCHOOL DISTRICTS ON THE POSSESSION,
USE AND DISTRIBUTION OF DRUGS AND ALCOHOL

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The regulation Policy for School Districts on the Possession,
Use and Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol found on pages
130 to 133 in The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities,
and pages A-55 - A-60 in the Handbook for K-12 Education
must be amended.  This regulation defines key terms, identifies
the minimum number of elements that each local district must
have in their local drug and alcohol policies and defines the
position of the Department of Education.  The amendment is
necessary to change the wording of the first paragraph of
section III to read as follows, “Each school district shall have
a policy on file and update it periodically.  The policy shall
contain at a minimum the following”.  The other change is to
substitute the Department of Education for the Department
of Public Instruction in the last paragraph following section
III.K.  Following concerns expressed by the State Board of
Education at the first hearing on the regulation in March,
items 1.B. and 1.E. have been deleted because they are
technical assistance information and not regulation.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on March 16, 1998, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
There were no comments received concerning the
amendment from the newspaper advertisements.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary and the State Board of Education find that it is
necessary to amend the regulation in order to update the
language of the regulation and to delete two items which are

technical assistance and not regulation.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reason the Secretary and the State Board
of Education conclude that it is necessary to amend the
regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the
regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby amended.
Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(e),
the amended regulation hereby adopted shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as set
forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said amended regulation
shall be cited in The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities
and in the document entitled Regulations of the Department
of Education.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on July 16,
1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from
the date this order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of July, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts
Secretary of Education

Consented to this 16th day of July, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

Policy for School Districts on the Possession, Use or
Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol

I. The following policy on the possession, use, or
distribution of drugs and alcohol shall apply to all public school

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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districts.

A. The possession, use and/or distribution of alcohol,
a drug, a drug-like substance, a look-alike substance and/or
drug paraphernalia are wrong and harmful to students and are
prohibited within the school environment.

[B. Communications devices, such as, but not limited
to, mobile phones and electronic beepers, ordinarily
have no place in the school environment. These devices
may be allowed in school, according to individual school
and/or district codes of conduct.

B. Student lockers are the property of the school
and may be subjected to search at any time with or
without reasonable suspicion.]

[D. C.] Student motor vehicle use to and in the school
environment is a privilege which may be extended by school
districts to students in exchange for their cooperation in the
maintenance of a safe school atmosphere.  Reasonable
suspicion of a student’s use, possession or distribution of
alcohol, a drug, a drug-like substance, a look-alike substance
or drug paraphernalia, or of a student’s possession of an
unauthorized electronic beeper or other communication device
in the school environment, may result in the student being
asked to open an automobile in the school environment to
permit school authorities to look for such items.  Failure to
open any part of the motor vehicle on the request of school
authorities may result in the police being called to conduct a
search, and will result in loss of the privilege to bring the
vehicle on campus.

[E. Students of majority age, i.e. age 18 or older, are
responsible for their own actions. All such students will
be treated as adults for the purposes of reporting
violations of this policy and of the law to the police. Such
students shall also be on notice that their parents and/
or guardians will be notified (if their address  and/or
telephone number is known to the school) of the students
actions in accordance with this policy.]

[F. D.] All alcohol, drugs, drug-like substances, look-
alike substances and/or drug paraphernalia found in a
student’s possession shall be turned over to the principal or
designee, and be made available, in the case of a medical
emergency, for identification.  All substances shall be sealed
and documented, and, in the case of substances covered by
16 Del. C., ch 47, turned over to police as potential evidence.

II. The following definitions shall apply to this policy and
will be used in all district policies.

A. “Alcohol” shall mean alcohol or any alcoholic liquor
capable of being consumed by a human being, as defined in
Section 101 of Title 4 of the Delaware Code, including alcohol,
spirits, wine and beer.

B. “Drug” shall mean any controlled substance or
counterfeit substance as defined in Section 4701 of Title 16 of
the Delaware Code, including, for example, narcotic drugs
such as heroin or cocaine, amphetamines, anabolic steroids,

and marijuana, and shall include any prescription substance
which has been given to or prescribed for a person other than
the student in whose possession it is found.

C. “Drug paraphernalia” shall mean all equipment,
products and materials as defined in Section 4701 of Title 16 of
the Delaware Code, including, for example, roach clips,
miniature cocaine spoons and containers for packaging drugs.

D. “Prescription drugs” shall mean any substance
obtained directly from or pursuant to a valid prescription or
order of a practitioner, as defined in 16 Del. C., Sec. 4701 (24),
while acting in the course of his or her professional practice,
and which is specifically intended for the student in whose
possession it is found.

E. “Drug-like substance” shall mean any noncontrolled
and/or nonprescription substance capable of producing a
change in behavior or altering a state of mind or feeling,
including, for example, some over-the-counter cough
medicines, certain types of glue, caffeine pills.

F. “Nonprescription medication” shall mean any over-
the-counter medication; some of these medications may be a
“drug-like substance.”

G. “Look-alike substance” shall mean any
noncontrolled substance which is packaged so as to appear
to be, or about which a student makes an express or implied
representation that the substance is, a drug or a noncontrolled
substance capable of producing a change in behavior or
altering a state of mind or feeling.  See Del. C., Sec. 4752A.

H. “Possess,” “possessing,” or “possession” shall mean
that a student has on the student’s person, in the student’s
belongings, or under the student’s reasonable control by
placement of and knowledge of the whereabouts of, alcohol, a
drug, a look-alike substance, a drug-like substance or drug
paraphernalia.

I. “Use” shall mean that a student is reasonably known
to have ingested, smoked or otherwise assimilated alcohol, a
drug or a drug-like substance, or is reasonably found to be
under the influence of such a substance.

J. “Distribute,” “distributing” or “distribution” shall
mean the transfer or attempted transfer of alcohol, a drug, a
look-alike substance, a drug-like substance, or drug
paraphernalia to any other person with or without the exchange
of money or other valuable consideration.

K. “School environment” shall mean within or on
school property, and/or at school sanctioned or supervised
activities, including, for example, on school grounds, on
school buses, at functions held on school grounds, at extra-
curricular activities held on and off school grounds, on field
trips and at functions held at the school in the evening.

L. “Expulsion” shall mean exclusion from school for
a period determined by the local district not to exceed 180
school days.  The process for readmission shall be
determined by the local district. (State Board Approved
January 1991, Revised August 1991)
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III . Each school district shall develop and submit to the
Department of Public Instruction by September 1, 1991, for the
review and approval, policies and/or regulations which shall
include, as a minimum, the following:

Each school district shall have a policy on file and update it
periodically.  The policy shall include, as a minimum the
following:

A. A system of notification of each student and of his/
her parent at the beginning of the school year, and whenever
a student enters or re-enters the school during the school
year, of the state and district policies and regulations.

B. A statement that it is anticipated that the state and
district policies shall apply to all students, except that with
respect to handicapped students, the federal law will be
followed, and a determination of whether the violation of the
alcohol and drug policy was due to the student’s handicapping
condition will be made prior to any discipline or change or
placement in connection with the policy.

C. A written policy which sets out procedures for
reporting incidents, how authorities and/or parents are to be
contacted, and how confidentiality is to be maintained.

D. A written policy on how evidence is to be kept,
stored and documented, so that the chain of custody is clearly
established prior to giving such evidence over to the police.

E. A written policy on search and seizure.
F. A program of intervention and assistance, which

includes:
1. Having in each school building at least one

person to whom staff can refer students to receive initial
counseling and to obtain information on counseling/treatment
services available to the student, on the student’s rights, if
any, to those services, and on the confidentiality which the
student can expect.

2. A written statement, available to be given to
students or their parents, on what resources are available in
the school environment and in the community for counseling
and for drug and/or alcohol treatment.

3. A system which ensures that all staff members
are aware of resources in and referral procedures within the
school environment, and encourage students to seek support
and assistance.

4. A system which encourages or requires that a
student with alcohol or drug problems be assessed to
determine the extent of alcohol or drug involvement and that
the student receive the appropriate level of counseling or
treatment needed.

5. A policy of notification of the conditions under
which the district will provide or pay for alcohol and/or drug
counseling/treatment and/or testing, and the extent to which
the cost of such services must be borne by the student.

G. A discipline policy which contains, at a minimum,
the following penalties for infractions of state and district drug
policies.

1. Use/Impairment:  For a first offense, if a
student is found to be only impaired and not in violation of
any other policies, he/she will be suspended for up to 10
days, or placed in an alternative school setting for up to 10
days, depending upon the degree of impairment, the nature
of the substance used, and other aggravating or mitigating
factors.  For a second or subsequent offense, a student may
be expelled or placed in an alternative school setting for the
rest of the school year.

2. Possession of alcohol, a drug, a drug-like
substance, and/or a look-alike substance, in an amount typical
for personal use, and/or drug paraphernalia:  For a first offense,
the student will be suspended for 5-10 days, or placed in an
alternative school setting for 5-10 days.  For a second or
subsequent offense, a student may be expelled for the rest of
the school year.

3. Possession of a quantity of alcohol, a drug, a
drug-like substance, a look-alike substance and/or drug
paraphernalia in an amount which exceeds an amount typical
for personal use, and/or distribution of the above named
substances or paraphernalia:  the student will be suspended
for 10 days, or placed in an alternative school setting for 10
days.  Depending on the nature of the substance, the quantity
of the substance and/or other aggravating or mitigating
factors, the student also may be expelled.

H. A policy in cases involving a drug-like substance or
a look-alike substance for establishing that the student
intended to use, possess or distribute the substance as a drug.

I. A policy which establishes how prescription and
non-prescription drugs shall be handled in the school
environment and when they will be considered unauthorized
and subject to these state and local policies.

J. A policy which sets penalties for the unauthorized
possession of communication devices.

K. A policy which sets out the conditions for return
after expulsion for alcohol or drug infractions.

The policy shall include the designation of a district
committee composed of teachers, parents, school nurses, and
community leaders.  Any revisions in the local school district
policy will be submitted to the Department of Public Instruction
Education for review and approval.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

SAFETY

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED
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The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of
Education to repeal the regulation on Safety, pages A-46 and
A-47, section I.M.2. a., b., and d. in the Handbook for K-12
Education.  This section includes references to safety issues
all addressed to the school principal.  This section, with the
exception of item c., should be repealed because it is mainly
there for technical assistance purposes and where a regulation
was adopted as directed by Delaware Code, Title 14, Chapter
2, Section 204, the Code has been repealed.  Part a. states that
the principal is responsible for a safe school environment and
should become responsible for the laws relating to such a
responsibility.  This does not need to be made into a regulation.
Part b. refers to the use of eye protection devices for students
and refers to the Delaware Code, Title 14, Section 8302,
Requirements for Eye Protection in Educational Institutions
in the State of Delaware.  This requirement is in the Code and
does not need to be regulated by the Department of Education.
Part c. will be amended later as a separate regulation as
recommended by the State Board at their April meeting.  Part
d. says that the principal will properly supervise the arrival
and departure of school buses and will hold exit drills twice
each year.  The Delaware School Transportation Manual
addresses the responsibilities of principals concerning the
arrival and departure of school buses.  Part d. should not be
regulated because it is already covered in school
transportation regulations.  Parts e. and f. address the issues
of playground equipment and playground safety.  The 14 Del.
C., Section 204, Kindergartens and Playgrounds and other
Schools law has been repealed and the existence of the law
was the reason for the regulatory language of parts e. and f. in
the Handbook for K-12 Education.  Title 14, Section 1056, of
the Del. C., gives the local school boards the responsibility for
the use, control and management of their playground
equipment, hence the Department of Education does not need
to make regulations on playground equipment and safety.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News
Journal and the Delaware State News on April 17, 1998, in the
form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice invited written
comments and none were received from the newspaper
advertisements.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to repeal this regulation
because the information contained in the regulation is either
technical assistance, a repeat of existing Del. C. language or
Department of Education Regulations, or it is the prerogative
of the local school board to make regulations governing the
issue.

III.  DECISION TO REPEAL THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is

necessary to repeal the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14
Del. C., Section 122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit
B is hereby repealed.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation repealed hereby shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation shall be
removed from the Handbook for K-12 Education.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open session
at the said Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on July 16,
1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of July, 1998.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Approved this 16th day of July, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith
Repeal of Regulation for Safety

The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of
Education to repeal the regulation on Safety, pages A-46 and
A-47, section I.M.2. a., b., and d. in the Handbook for K-12
Education.  This section includes references to safety issues
all addressed to the school principal.  This section, with the
exception of item c., should be repealed because it is mainly
there for technical assistance purposes and where a regulation
was adopted as directed by Delaware Code, Title 14, Chapter
2, Section 204, the Code has been repealed.  Part a. states that
the principal is responsible for a safe school environment and
should become responsible for the laws relating to such a
responsibility.  This does not need to be made into a regulation.
Part b. refers to the use of eye protection devices for students
and refers to the Delaware Code, Title 14, Section 8302,
Requirements for Eye Protection in Educational Institutions
in the State of Delaware.  This requirement is in the Code and
does not need to be regulated by the Department of Education.
Part c. will be amended later as a separate regulation as
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recommended by the State Board at their April meeting.  Part
d. says that the principal will properly supervise the arrival
and departure of school buses and will hold exit drills twice
each year.  The Delaware School Transportation Manual
addresses the responsibilities of principals concerning the
arrival and departure of school buses.  Part d. should not be
regulated because it is already covered in school
transportation regulations.  Parts e. and f. address the issues
of playground equipment and playground safety.  The 14 Del.
C., Section 204, Kindergartens and Playgrounds and other
Schools law has been repealed and the existence of the law
was the reason for the regulatory language of parts e. and f. in
the Handbook for K-12 Education.  Title 14, Section 1056, of
the Del. C., gives the local school boards the responsibility for
the use, control and management of their playground
equipment, hence the Department of Education does not need
to make regulations on playground equipment and safety.

I.M.2. SAFETY
a. The principal is responsible for the provision of a

safe environment for students and should become familiar
with the laws which relate to such responsibility.

b. 14 Del. C. ¤8302 requires the use of eye protection
devices for students and staff while participating in hazardous
activities.  (For further information see Requirements for Eye
Protection in Educational Institutions in the State of Delaware,
[February 1975].)

c. Pupils being released from school for other than
medical purposes shall be released only to their parents or to
persons authorized by their parents.  The school
superintendent, principal, or others delegated by the
superintendent or principal, shall check carefully to make certain
that the person claiming to represent the parent is so authorized.
Written authority is preferable; however, a check may be made
by telephoning the parent for confirmation.

d. The principal will see that all buses are properly
supervised on arrival and departure.  Exit drills shall be carried
out at least twice each year.  The principal as well as teachers
and drivers should be familiar with the State of Delaware School
Transportation Manual, (April 1976).

e. Each district shall adopt a policy statement that shall
address the installation, maintenance, operation, periodic self-
inspection and use of playgrounds and playground equipment
with emphasis on safe use by students and public.

f. The building principal is responsible for forming an
ad-hoc advisory committee to assist in implementing and
monitoring established district policy concerning playground
safety.  Awareness of the Playground Safety Policy should be
provided to students, staff, parents and community through
safety instruction programs and widespread dissemination.

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

TITLE I COMPLAINT PROCESS

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of
Education to amend a section of the Handbook for K-12
Education entitled Title I Complaint Process, Section I.F.2.,
pages A-15 and A-16.  This regulation needs to be amended
to reflect the requirements of the Elementary Secondary
Education Act (ESEA) of 1965 as amended by the Improving
America’s Schools Act (IASA) of 1994.  The amendment to
the federal act requires the State to adopt written procedures
for receiving and resolving any complaint from an organization
or individual that the State or an agency or consortium of
agencies is violating a Federal Statute or regulation that apply
to a covered program as listed in the Federal Statute.  The
amendments to the Delaware Department of Education
Regulation change the Department of Public Instruction to
the Delaware Department of Education, change the name of
the regulation to Federal Programs General Complaint
Procedures, list all of the programs covered by the complaint
process as defined in the Federal Statute and add the Goals
2000: Educate America Act of 1994 to the list of covered
programs.  Section 3 (formerly 2.b.) of the DOE regulation also
has been changed to encourage individuals to file a complaint
with the local school district prior to filing a complaint with the
Delaware Department of Education, but does not preclude
filing first with the state agency.

Notice of the proposed amendment was published in the News
Journal and Delaware State News on June 16, 1998, and no
comments were received from the newspaper advertisements.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend this regulation
because the Federal statute requires that the State adopt written
procedures for receiving and resolving any complaints from
an organization or individual that the State or an agency or
consortium of agencies is violating a Federal statute or
regulation that apply to a covered program listed in the statute.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is
necessary to amend the proposed regulation.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del. C., Sec. 122, the regulation attached hereto
as Exhibit B is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of
14 Delaware Code, Section 122(e), the amended
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regulationereby adopted shall be in effect for a period of
five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in
Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations shall be
cited in the document entitled Regulations of the Department
of Education.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Sec. 122, in open session at
the said Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on July 16, 1998.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the
date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of July, 1998.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education

Approved this 16th day of July, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

FROM THE HANDBOOK FOR K-12 EDUCATION

I.F.2. TITLE I COMPLAINT PROCEDURES
a. An organization or an individual may file a written,

signed complaint with the Title I Office of the Delaware
Department of Public Instruction (Title I Office) concerning
an alleged violation by a Local Education Agency (LEA) or
the State Education Agency (SEA) of a Federal statute or
regulations that apply to the Title I LEA Program, in accordance
with 200.73-75 of the Title I regulations and the following
procedures:

(1) The complaint must include (a) a statement that
the SEA or an LEA has violated a requirement of a Federal
statute or regulations that apply to the Title I LEA Program;
and (b) the facts on which the statement is based.

(2) The Title I Office shall resolve the complaint and
issue a written report including findings of fact and a decision
to the parties included in the complaint within sixty calendar
days of the receipt of the complaint.  An extension of the time
limit may be made by the Title I Office only if exceptional
circumstances exist with respect to a particular complaint.

(3) The Title I Office may conduct an independent
on-site investigation of a complaint, if it determines that an
on-site investigation is necessary.

b. An organization or an individual may file a written,
signed complaint with the LEA, in lieu of the Title I Office,
concerning an alleged violation by the LEA of a Federal statute
or regulations that apply to the Title I LEA Program.

(1) The complaint must include (a) a statement that
the LEA has violated a requirement of a Federal statute or
regulations that apply to the Title I LEA Program and (b) the
facts on which the statement is based.

(2) The superintendent or the agency head of the
LEA shall resolve the complaint and issue a written report
including findings of fact and a decision to the parties involved
in the complaint within thirty calendar days of the receipt of
the complaint.

(3) An appeal of the LEA decision may be made by
the complainant to the Title I Office of the Department of Public
Instruction.  The appeal shall be in writing and signed by the
individual making the appeal.  The Title I Office shall resolve
the appeal in the same manner as a complaint, as indicated in
A.1. through 3.

c. Any party to the complaint has the right to request
the Secretary, U. S. Department of Education, to review the
final decision of the Title I Office.  The request for an appeal of
the decision to the Secretary shall be made in writing to the
Title I Office within sixty days of the receipt of the decision.

d. Complaints and appeals to the Title I Office shall be
mailed to the following address:

Title I Office
Department of Public Instruction
P. O. Box 1402
Dover, Delaware 19903

(State Board Approved February 1990)

AS AMENDED

FEDERAL PROGRAMS GENERAL COMPLAINT
PROCEDURES*

1. Programs that are covered by this complaint process
include: Part A of Title I, Improving Basic Programs Operated
by the Local Education Agency; Part B of Title I, Even Start
Family Literacy Program; Part C of Title I, Migrant Education;
Part D of Title I, Children and Youth who are Neglected,
Delinquent, or at Risk of Dropping Out; Title II Eisenhower



219

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 2, SATURDAY, AUGUST 1, 1998

FI NAL REGULATIONS
Professional Development Program; Subpart 2 of Part A Title
III, State and Local Programs for School Technology
Resources; Part A of Title IV, Safe and Drug Free Schools and
Communities; and Title VI, Innovative Education Program
Strategies, as required under the Elementary Secondary
Education Act (ESEA) of 1965, as amended by the Improving
America’s Schools Act (IASA) of 1994.  In addition the
Delaware Department of Education is extending the complaint
procedures to include programs under the Goals 2000: Educate
America Act of 1994.

2. An organization or an individual may file a written,
signed complaint regarding an alleged violation of Federal
Program Statutes or regulations.  The complaint shall be filed
with the Department of Education and may involve either a
Local Education Agency or the State Education Agency.

a. The complaint shall include (a) a statement that
the State Education Agency or a Local Education Agency
has violated a requirement of a Federal statute or regulation
that applies to these Local Education Agency programs.  And
(b) the facts on which the statement is based.

b. The Delaware Department of Education shall
resolve the complaint and issue a written report including
findings of fact and a decision to the parties included in the
complaint within sixty calendar days of the receipt of the
complaint.  An extension of the time limit may be made by
the Department of Education only if exceptional
circumstances exist with respect to a particular complaint.

c. The Delaware Department of Education may
conduct an independent on-site investigation of the
complaint, if it determines that an on-site investigation is
necessary.

3. An organization or an individual is encouraged to
file a written, signed complaint with the Local Education
Agency, prior to submission of the complaint to the Delaware
Department of Education, concerning an alleged violation by
the Local Education Agency of a Federal statute or regulation
that applies to the Local Education Agency’s program.

a. The complaint shall include (a) a statement that
the Local Education Agency has violated a requirement of a
Federal statute or regulation that applies to the Local Education
Agency’s programs and (b) the facts on which the statement
is based.

b. The superintendent or the agency head of the
Local Education Agency shall resolve the complaint and issue
a written report including findings of fact and a decision to
the parties involved in the complaint within thirty calendar
days of the receipt of the complaint.

c. An appeal of the Local Education Agency
decision may be made by the complainant to the Department
of Education.  The appeal shall be in writing and signed by
the individual making the appeal.  The Department of
Education shall resolve the appeal in the same manner as a
complaint, as indicated in 2. a, b and c.

4. Any party to the complaint has the right to request

the Secretary, U. S. Department of Education, to review the
final decision of the Delaware Department of Education.  The
request for an appeal of the decision to the Secretary shall
be made in writing to the Delaware Department of Education
within sixty days of the receipt of the decision.

5. Complaints and appeals to the Delaware Department
of Education shall be mailed to the following address:

Director of Unified Planning and Quality Assurance
Department of Education
P. O. Box 1402
Dover, Delaware 19903

* IDEA Part B, as amended, has other specific remedies
and procedural safeguards specified under Section 615 of the
Act to protect disabled students.  See the State’s
Administrative Manual: Programs for Exceptional Children.

DEPARTMENT OF HEA LTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

BEFORE THE DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND SOCIAL SERVICES

IN THE MATTER OF:         |
        |

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS         |
OF THE MEDICAID/MEDICAL          |
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM         |
DMAP 301.25         |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social Services
(“Department”) initiated proceedings to update policies related
to Medicaid eligibility. The Department’s proceedings to amend
its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware
Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the April Register of Regulations, requiring written
materials and suggestions from the public concerning the
proposed regulations to be produced by May 1, at which time
the Department would receive information, factual evidence
and public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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No written or verbal comments were received relating

to this proposed rule.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the April Register of Regulations should be adopted
as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective August 10, 1998.

June 1, 1998
Date of Signature

Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary

Delaware Medical Assistance Program Eligibility Manual

REVISION:

DMAP 301.25
Composition of Budget Unit

The budget unit is composed of various adults who are legally/
financially responsible for each other and various children
(related or unrelated) for whom the adults have legal
responsibility or for whom the adults have accepted parental-
like responsibility.

One family and/or household may be composed of one or
more budget units and an individual may belong to more than
one budget unit. However, the budget unit must exclude any
individual who is receiving Medicaid under another program
(such as SSI, AFDC, GA, Disabled Children, Waiver, Deemer).
Any individual who is receiving assistance under the QMB or
SLMB programs may be included or excluded from the budget
unit.  The eligibility worker will first include the QMB or SLMB
individual in the budget unit.  If the income of the QMB or
SLMB individual makes another individual ineligible, we will
exclude the QMB or SLMB individual and his or her income
from the budget unit. The budget unit must exclude any
individual who is receiving SSI.  Any individual who is receiving
assistance under ABC, GA, Disabled Children, HCBS, QMB,
SLMB, or other Medicaid only group may be included or
excluded from the budget unit.  If the income of the individual
who is receiving medical assistance under another eligibility
group makes another individual ineligible, we will exclude the
individual who is receiving assistance under another eligibility
group.

The budget unit may be modified to exclude related
individuals with income except:

• a parent is always financially responsible for the
minor (under age 18)  natural/adopted, non-emancipated
child, or unborn child,

• a spouse is always financially responsible for a
spouse,

•  an unmarried partner is always financially
responsible for his child or unborn child and the child’s or
unborn child’s mother.  Unmarried partners who do not have
children for whom they are responsible will be placed in
separate budget units.

• unmarried partners with a mutual child (child in
common) are always financially responsible for the child or
unborn child.  Neither partner is responsible for the other,
even though both parents are responsible for their mutual
child.

NOTE:  The parent, spouse, or partner may be excluded
from the poverty level budget unit if he or she is receiving
assistance under another Medicaid group.

Individuals to Include in the Budget Unit:

• Pregnant woman and unborn child(ren)

• The spouse

• [NOTE:  If the income of the stepfather makes some
of the stepchildren ineligible, put them in another budget unit
with their natural mother.]

If the income of the stepparent makes some of the stepchildren
ineligible, do not count the stepparent income.  The stepparent
and his or her own children remain in the budget unit.

Unmarried partners if the couple have a child for whom they
are responsible.  An unmarried partner (who is not the parent
of the child) may be excluded when his or her income makes
the child or the other unmarried partner ineligible.

• Unmarried partners if the couple have a child for
whom they have assumed parental-like responsibility.  The
child and the unmarried partners will first be included in the
budget unit.  An unmarried partner (who is not the parent of
the child) must be excluded when his or her income makes
the child or the other unmarried partner ineligible.

• Include both unmarried partners when determining
the eligibility of a mutual child or a mutual unborn child.
The pregnant woman will count as two (or more).

• Other natural or adopted children under age 18 that
both parents have in common.  Families have the choice of
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including or excluding siblings. .  If a sibling has income that
would make the budget unit ineligible, the sibling with income
is excluded.  The exclusion of a sibling with income reduces
the budget unit size and the income standard used to determine
eligibility.  The sibling with the income is ineligible and
cannot be put in a separate budget unit. If a child has income,
include the child with income in the budget unit, but do not
count that child’s income when determining the eligibility
of the siblings, the parents, or other individuals in the budget
unit.  The child’s income is counted when determining his or
her own eligibility.  Please note that the income of a child
who is a minor parent is counted when determining the
eligibility of his or her own child.

• Other related or unrelated children under age 18
(such as a niece, cousin, friend’s child, minor sibling of adult).
This is permissible because there is no technical requirement
that the child be living in the home of a specified relative.  If
the children are ineligible in the big budget unit, place them
in a separate budget unit. If the income of an adult sibling
renders the minor sibling ineligible, place the minor in a
separate budget unit. Include the adult sibling who has
assumed parental-like responsibility for a minor sibling in
the budget unit.  If the income of the adult sibling renders the
minor ineligible, place the minor in a separate budget unit.

• The parents of a pregnant minor living together in
the same home.  Do not include her parents if the pregnant
minor is considered emancipated.  See technical eligibility
for an explanation of emancipation.

Individuals to Exclude From the Budget Unit:

• Individuals who are recipients of SSI, AFDC, AFDC/
AU, GA or any Medicaid program.  A QMB or SLMB may be
included or excluded in the budget unit.

• Individuals who are recipients of SSI are excluded..
Individuals who are recipients of ABC, GA, Medicaid only,
QMB, SLMB, may be included or excluded in the budget
unit.

• Parents of the father of a baby or unborn when the
pregnant minor is living there with his parents.  We will
include the parents of the father if he is under age 18 and is
applying for Medicaid.

• A stepparent, if the income of the stepparent makes
the stepchildren ineligible.

• A sibling, if the income of the sibling makes the
budget unit ineligible.  The sibling with income may not be
placed in a separate budget unit.

NOTE:  If an individual is not included in the budget unit, do
not include his or her income.

Individuals in Separate Budget Units:

• Siblings age 18 or over.  For example, two sisters
age 18 or over who live together will be in separate budget
units. Related adults age 18 or over.  For example, two sisters
age 18 or over who live together will be in a separate budget
unit.

• Unrelated adults age 18 or over. Single adults will
not be budgeted together unless they have children.  If an
unmarried couple is living together and they have a child for
whom they are responsible, they may be placed in the same
budget unit. Single adults and unmarried partners will not be
budgeted together unless they have children.  If an unmarried
couple is living together and they have a child for whom they
have assumed parental-like responsibility, the child and the
unmarried partners may be placed in the same budget unit.

NOTE:  An unmarried partner (who is not the parent of the
child) must be excluded when his or her income makes the
child or the other unmarried partner ineligible.

• Foster parents are not budgeted with the foster child.
Needy foster parents are placed in a separate budget unit.

DEPARTMENT OF HEA LTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

BEFORE THE DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND SOCIAL SERVICES

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS |
OF THE MEDICAID/MEDICAL |
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social Services
(“Department”) initiated proceedings to update policies related
to durable medical equipment, EPSDT, and practitioner
services.  The Department’s proceedings to amend its
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware
Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the May Register of Regulations, requiring written

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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materials and suggestions from the public concerning the
proposed regulations to be produced by June, at which time
the Department would receive information, factual evidence
and public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating
to this proposed rule.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the May Register of Regulations should be adopted
as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective August 10, 1998.

June 5, 1998

Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary

Delaware Medical Assistance Program Provider Manuals

REVISIONS:

Durable Medical Equipment Provider Specific Policy Manual

I. DEFINITION AND OVERVIEW

III. CRITERIA FOR COVERAGE

Powered Air Flotation Fluidized Bed/Mattress

Incontinence Products

Coverage for Recipients age 4 Years and Over

Incontinence products for recipients age four years and older
may be covered by the DMAP when prescribed by a physician
as medically necessary for the treatment of incontinence related
to a diagnosed condition.  Treatment of incontinence aims to
control the condition through bladder or bowel retaining, or
other behavior management techniques, diet modification, drug
therapy, and possibly surgery.  All reasonable attempts at
control treatment are expected to be made.

The DMAP may cover disposable incontinence products for
recipients age four years and over.  The DME supplier must
maintain the physician’s prescription for an incontinent product
in their client files and the prescription must be renewed every
six months.

The physician must prescribe the most appropriate type of
incontinence products for the recipient and the DME supplier
must dispense the least costly appropriate product of that
type.  Physicians are expected to prescribe an accurate daily
allowance, and DME suppliers are cautioned not to routinely
dispense the Medicaid maximum allowance of eight units per
day unless medically necessary,

The DMAP considers the following types on incontinent
products suitable for recipients who have incontinence:
diapers/briefs, incontinent undergarments, guards, pads or
liners.  Medicaid recognizes that some patients may require
two types of incontinent products to meet their needs, but the
daily combined usage of both is not to exceed the expected
daily allowance of eight units per day.

The DME supplier must use the locally assigned procedure
code WW798 - Disposable Incontinence Products - Medically
Necessary - For Ages Over 4 Years.  Billing must include a
description of the product dispensed, manufacturer’s name,
and product number.  The supplier must use locally assigned
procedure code WW800 or WW801, depending on the age of
the recipient, when reusable incontinent products are
prescribed for the treatment of incontinence.

The DMAP does not cover menstruation sanitary supplies,
nor additional incontinent supplies for menstruation.  Further,
Medicaid will not cover Pull-up disposable training pants as
they are not viewed as an appropriate treatment for
incontinence and do not represent the least costly appropriate
alternative health service available.  Disposable incontinent
supplies are not to be dispensed under HCPCS procedure
code A5149 (incontinence/ostomy supply, miscellaneous).

Coverage of Diapers for Children Under 4 Years of Age

Individual consideration may be given for the coverage of
disposable diapers for those children under four years of age
when the use is outside the normal range (the DMAP considers
eight diapers per day to be normal usage).  A letter from the
attending practitioner must be submitted to the Medical
Review Team detailing medical necessity.  The letter must
address the child’s diagnosis, the effects of the condition, the
duration of the condition, the functional level of the child, the
number of diapers used per day, why the excessive number is
medically necessary, and if attempted, the results of toilet
training.  Authorization is required for the coverage of diapers
for children under four years of age.  If the service is approved,
the DME provider will be required to submit a CMN using the
locally assigned procedure code WW799.

Exceeded Units

The DMAP has established an upper limit on medically
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necessary incontinence products for recipients age four years
and over.  This limit (8 per day) represents the maximum usage
and will be waived only in extraordinary circumstances.  If the
recipient’s need exceeds the limit, the DME supplier is required
to submit a letter from the attending practitioner documenting
the recipient’s diagnosis, why the excessive number is
medically necessary, the total number of incontinence products
needed, and the period of time for which the approval is being
requested.  The letter will be returned to the DME provider if
these requirements are not met.

VI. EPSDT PROGRAM SPECIFIC POLICY

Non-Covered Services

Diapers

Diapers routinely used for children under 4 years of age are
not covered.  Refer to Equipment Specific Coverage Criteria
for Diapers Section III, Criteria for Coverage, Incontinence
Products, for a description of requirements for coverage of
diapers under age four (4). specific coverage exceptions.

Pull-Up Disposable Training Pants

Pull-Up disposable training pants are not an appropriate
treatment for incontinence and do not represent the least costly
appropriate alternative health service available.  Therefore,
they are considered to be a non-covered service. If
incontinence products are required during a lengthy training
period we will continue our policy of covering diapers during
toilet training when it is medically necessary.

The DMAP does not generally cover incontinence liners,
diaper doublers, sanitary pads, etc.

Diapers

The DMAP may reimburse DME suppliers for disposable
diapers for eligible recipients four years of age and older.
Disposable diapers for children age four and above are covered
when prescribed by a physician as medically necessary for
the treatment of incontinence related to a diagnosed condition.

Individual consideration will be given for the coverage of
disposable diapers for those children under four years of age
when the use is outside the normal range (the DMAP considers
8 diapers per day to be normal usage).  A letter from the
attending practitioner must be submitted to the EPSDT Medical
Review Team detailing medical necessity.  The letter must
address the child’s diagnosis, the effects of the condition, the
duration of the condition, the functional level of the child, the
number of diapers used per day, why the excessive number is
medically necessary, and if attempted, the results of toilet

training.  Prior authorization is required for the coverage of
diapers for children under four years of age.  If the service is
approved, the DME provider will be required to submit a CMN
using the local HCPCS code WW799.

The DMAP has established an upper limit on medically
necessary disposable diapers for children over four years of
age.  This limit (8 per day) represents the maximum usage and
will be waived only in extraordinary circumstances.  If the
patient’s need exceeds the limit, the DME supplier is required
to submit a letter from the attending practitioner documenting
the patient’s diagnosis, why the excessive number is medically
necessary, the total number of diapers needed, and the period
of time for which the approval is being requested.  The letter
will be returned to the DME provider if these requirements are
not met.

Equipment Specific Coverage Criteria

Biliblanket  Phototherapy Blanket

The DMAP will cover biliblankets phototherapy blankets to
treat abnormal bilirubin levels in newborns.  The DME provider
should use code WW802 WW839 when requesting
authorization for the biliblanket.phototherapy blanket. The
EPSDT Medical Review Team may authorize the rental of a
biliblanket Rental may be authorized for up to, but not to exceed,
9 7 days. The DME provider must attach a letter of medical
necessity from the attending practitioner to the CMN.  The
letter must include all bilirubin laboratory data. The DME
provider may only bill for days the unit was in use and must
attach all bilirubin laboratory data to the CMN.  A separate
physician’s letter of medical necessity will be required when
use exceeds the 7 day limit.

Augmentative Communication Devices

The DMAP may cover augmentative communication devices
that are medically necessary for individuals under the age of
21 through the EPSDT program.  The DME provider is required
to attach a letter of medical necessity from the attending
practitioner to the CMN.  In addition, supportive
documentation, as appropriate, must address the following
areas:

· Full evaluation by an expert examiner (such as a
Speech-Language Pathologist).

· Full school speech-language evaluation.
· School IEP.
· Trial assessment with the requested device.
· Comparison to other devices not selected.

The DME provider is further required to attach the catalog
literature or manufacturer’s invoice for the requested device
to the CMN.  This literature must document the cost to the
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provider for the device.

Orthotics/Prosthetics

The DMAP may cover orthotics/prosthetics for children under
the age of 21 through the EPSDT program.  Requests for these
items require prior authorization with a CMN. and a
practitioner’s letter of medical necessity.  It is important that
the supplier include ICD-9 CM diagnosis(es) that are relevant
to the procedure codes being authorized on the CMN.

The DME provider must request prior authorization by using
HCPCS procedure codes that begin with “L” followed by four
(4) digits.  The DME provider must not re-define the procedure
and must use a code that describes the exact item dispensed.
If the use of a miscellaneous code is necessary, the provider
must include a description of the device and itemized
explanation of all charges.

The replacement of an orthotic or prosthetic, due to growth,
requires documentation of  the previous and current
measurements and a full explanation that all possible
adjustments have been made.  The supplier may be requested
to submit documentation of measurements and/or adjustments
for replacement of an orthotic or prosthetic due to growth.

Enuresis Alarm

The DMAP will cover enuresis alarms for children over age
four years. This bed-wetting alarm requires prior authorization
and a letter of medical necessity from the attending practitioner.
with the CMN. The supplier must include the appropriate ICD-
9 CM diagnosis code(s) on the CMN  When requesting
authorization for the enuresis alarm the supplier is required to
use the locally assigned code WW838. The following
information must be documented in the practitioner’s letter of
medical necessity:

· Physical findings in relation to nocturnal enuresis.
· Effects of any behavior modification programs.
· Effects of any medication therapy, if applicable.

Mic-Key Skin Level Gastrostomy Kit
This kit must be prior authorized with a CMN. and a letter of
medical necessity is required from the attending practitioner.
When requesting prior authorization for this kit the provider
must use code WW800 848 on the CMN.  Code WW 800  849
may also be used when additional supplies, such as the Secur-
Lok extension set (12” length), is needed. must be used when
requesting adapters for skin level gastrostomy kits (the request
is limited to 5 adapters per month).   If approved, the DMAP
will cover up to, but not exceed, 5 adapters per month. When
requesting other additional supplies needed with the skin level
gastrostomy kit code WW800 must be used. Approval for
additional supplies will not be given prior to the dates of service.

The CMN submitted to the DMAP for an authorization number
must be signed by the attending practitioner.

VII AUGMENTATIVE & ALTERNATIVE
COMMUNICATION DEVICES & SERVICES

A. SCOPE OF COVERAGE

Augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) devices
are defined as electronic or non-electronic aids, devices, or
systems that assist a Medicaid beneficiary to overcome or
ameliorate (reduce to the maximum degree possible) the
communication limitations that preclude or interfere with
meaningful participation in current and projected daily
activities.  Meaningful participation means effective and
efficient communication of messages which takes into
account the beneficiary’s preferences.  Examples of AAC
devices include:

· communication boards or books;
· electrolarynxes;
· speech amplifiers; and
· electronic devices that produce speech and/or

written output.

AAC devices include devices that are constructed for use as
communication devices as well as systems that may include a
computer, when an important use of the computer will be as
the beneficiary’s communication device.  AAC devices also
include related components and accessories, including
software programs, symbol sets, overlays, mounting devices,
switches, cables and connectors, auditory, visual, and tactile
output devices, and necessary supplies, such as rechargeable
batteries.

AAC services are treatment to assist Medicaid beneficiaries
in meeting the full range of their communication needs.  AAC
services are within the scope of practice of speech-language
pathologists.  The goal of AAC services will be accomplished
by:

· developing and improving expressive
communication and/or language comprehension skills and
abilities that may be adversely affected by e.g., congenital or
developmental disabilities;

· maintaining and protecting beneficiaries’ existing
expressive communication and/or language comprehension
skills and abilities from loss or deterioration due to e.g.,
progressive impairments and disabilities; and

· restoring beneficiaries’ expressive communication
and/or language comprehension skills and abilities damaged
or lost due to e.g., diseases, disability, or traumatic injury.

The scope of AAC services includes diagnostic, screening,
preventive, and corrective service provided by or under the
direction of a speech-language pathologist.  Specific activities
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include evaluation for, recommendation of, design, set-up-
customization and training related to the use of AAC devices.

Settings in Which AAC Services May be Provided

AAC services are covered under multiple Medicaid categories,
including, but not limited to:

· an individual’s home as part of home health services,
which includes supplies, equipment, and appliances suitable
for use in the home;

· inpatient hospital services;
· out-patient hospital services;
· nursing facility services; and
· intermediate care facilities for persons with mental

retardation, developmental disabilities and related condition.

Because all AAC devices are customized to overcome or
ameliorate each beneficiary’s communication limitations, and
are for the sole and exclusive use of a single beneficiary, the
cost of AAC devices for residents of nursing facilities and/or
ICF/MR-DD facilities is not included in the facility’s “per diem”
or daily rate for that beneficiary.
Treatment Plan & Physician Endorsement of Medical
Necessity Required

Assessment is necessary prior to the development of the
treatment plan and physician endorsement.  For detailed
information refer to Section B, Assessment, Data Reporting
and Procedural Requirements.

A speech-language pathology treatment plan is required for
all requests for DMAP funding for AAC devices and AAC
services.  Other health professionals, as appropriate, may
participate in the development of the treatment plan.  The
treatment plan must be prepared by a speech by a speech-
language pathologist who:

· has a certificate of clinical competence from the
American Speech-Language-Association;

· has completed the equivalent educational
requirements and work experience necessary for the
certificate; or

· has completed the academic program and is
acquiring supervised work experience to qualify for the
certificate.

A physician must document endorsement of such plan through
either completion of a DMAP approved form or letter of medical
necessity.  For individuals enrolled in a managed care plan,
the endorsing physician must be the primary care physician.

The AAC devices and AAC services must be an integral part
of the treatment plan.  The treatment plan must address each
beneficiary’s unique communication abilities and the
expressive communication or receptive (language

comprehension) limitations that preclude or interfere with
meaningful participation in current and projected daily
activities.  It must:

· conform to the scope of coverage stated in this
policy;

· be based on the evaluation criteria and data reporting
requirements stated in this policy;

· satisfy the medical need criteria stated in the policy;
and

· indicate that the beneficiary has demonstrated
potential to benefit from AAC devices and/or services at a
basic and reasonable level.

Eligible Individuals

AAC services will be provided to beneficiaries with significant
expressive communication or receptive (language
comprehension) impairments: beneficiaries who currently lack
adequate functional communication skills and abilities through
gestures, speech and/or writing.  These impairments include
but are not limited to: apraxia of speech, dysarthria, and
cognitive communication disabilities.

Trial Use Periods for AAC Devices

A trial use period for AAC devices is not required but may be
recommended by the speech-language pathologist who
conducts the AAC evaluation as described in Section C,
Review Criteria of this policy.  The results of trial use periods
are often instructive in determining the most appropriate AAC
intervention, and thus are preferred.  If the results of the
assessment are clinically inconclusive, Medicaid may require
a trial use period.

Medicaid authorization for rental of AAC device(s) will be
approved for trial use periods when the speech-language
pathologist prepares a request consistent with the requirements
as described in the Trial Use Period Request section of this
policy.  The reasons for a trial use period request include, but
are not limited to: the characteristics of the beneficiary’s
communication limitations; lack of familiarity with a specific
AAC device; and concern that the beneficiary has not had
sufficient experience with the requested device to permit
determination of the device’s appropriateness.

Trial Use Period Request

If a speech-language pathologist or Medicaid seeks a trial use
period, a plan for this period must be developed by the speech-
language pathologist that includes:

· the duration of the trial period;
· description of the speech-language pathologist’s

qualifications that satisfy Medicaid’s provider participation
requirements;
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· description of the speech-language pathologist’s

AAC services training and experience (and the AAC services
experience of all other professionals, as appropriate) involved
in the assessments of the beneficiary’s functioning and
communication limitations;

· beneficiary identifying information, such as name,
Medical Assistance ID#, date of the assessment, medical
diagnosis (primary, secondary, tertiary), and significant
medical history;

· the AAC device(s) to be examined during the trial
period, including all the necessary components (e.g.,
mounting device, software, switches or access control
mechanism);

· description of the AAC devices assessment
components, such as vocabulary requirements,
representational system(s), display organization and features,
rate enhancement techniques, message characteristics, speech
synthesis, printed output, display characteristics, feedback,
auditory and visual output, access techniques and strategies,
and portability and durability concerns, if any.

· the identification of the service provider(s), e.g.,
speech-language pathologists, educators, residential
providers, etc. who will assist the beneficiary in learning and
using the AAC device(s) during the trial period;

· the identification of the AAC service provider(s)
who will assess the trial period; and

· the data collection schedule and the evaluation
criteria, specific to the beneficiary, that will be used to
determine the success or failure of the trial period.

Trial use period proposals must request Medicaid funding for
rental of, or otherwise state the source of all necessary
components of the AAC devices, including AAC services
provider(s) who will assist the beneficiary during the trial use
period.

Trial periods may be extended and/or different AAC devices
provided, when requested by the speech-language pathologist
responsible for evaluating the trial use period.

Trial Use Period Results

Results of trial use periods must be submitted with a prior
approval request.  The results must include the following:

· identification of the requested AAC devices
including all required components, accessories, peripheral
devices, supplies, and the device vendor;

· identification of the beneficiary’s and
communications partner’s AAC devices preference, if any;

· justification stating why the recommended AAC
device (including description of the significant
characteristics and features) is better able to overcome or
ameliorate the communicate limitations that preclude or
interfere with the beneficiary’s meaningful participation in

current and projected daily activities, as compared to the
other AAC devices considered; and

· justification stating why the recommended AAC
device (including description of the significant
characteristics and features) is the least costly, equally
effective alternative form of treatment to overcome or
ameliorate the communication limitations that preclude or
interfere with the beneficiary’s meaningful participation in
current and projected daily activities.

Purchase or Rental

The speech-language pathologist is required to estimate
whether it is more cost effective to rent or purchase the
requested AAC device.  In addition to price, material factors
in determining cost effectiveness include availability, expected
useful life, upgradability, and warranty availability, and terms.
The determination to rent or purchase will be based upon cost
effectiveness and must also take into account the comparative
delay in providing the device to the beneficiary.  No AAC
device will be denied approval solely because it is not available
for rental.

AAC devices purchased by the Medicaid program become
the property of the beneficiary.

Repair and Replacement

AAC Device(s) Repair
Medicaid will pay for repair to keep AAC device(s), accessories
and other system components (“devices”) in working
condition.  Repair will be covered for the anticipated useful
lifetime of the device(s), and for as long thereafter as the
device(s) continue to be the appropriate treatment for the
beneficiary.  Medicaid payment for repair will include diagnostic
testing of the device, parts, labor and shipping, when not
otherwise available without charge pursuant to a
manufacturer’s warranty.

Medicaid AAC device repair will be subject to the following
procedure:

· When a device ceases to function properly, the
beneficiary, a person acting on behalf of a beneficiary, or
Medicaid staff will notify the device manufacturer or the
manufacturer’s designee for the purpose of repair, and follow
the manufacturer’s or designee’s instructions to send the
device for assessment.

· When a device is received by the manufacturer or
manufacturer’s designee for the purpose of repair, the
manufacturer or designee will conduct an assessment of the
device to determine whether it can be repaired, and if so, prepare
a written estimate of the diagnostics, parts, labor, shipping,
and total cost of the repair, as well as the effectiveness (i.e.,
estimated durability) of the repair.
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If Medicaid was the original payment source for the device,
the manufacturer or manufacturer’s designee for the purpose
of repair will:

· repair the device if the total cost of the repair is
less than or equal to $300.00; or

· notify the beneficiary or the person acting on the
beneficiary’s behalf that the total cost of the (non-battery)
repair, including shipping, will be greater than $300.00, and
that prior approval must first be obtained before the repair can
proceed.  When the repair is completed, the manufacturer or
representative for the purpose of repair will return the repair
device to the beneficiary.

If Medicaid was not the original payment source for the device,
the manufacturer or manufacturer’s designee for the purpose
of repair will notify the beneficiary or the person acting on the
beneficiary’s behalf of the repair cost and that prior approval
must first be obtained before the repair can proceed.

If the manufacturer or manufacturer’s designee for repair
concludes the device is not able to be repaired, written notice
will be provided to the beneficiary or person acting on the
beneficiary’s behalf that prior approval must be sought to
replace the device.

Procedure for Repair or Replacement of AAC Device Batteries

If the assessment conducted by the manufacturer or
manufacturer’s designee for repair identifies the device battery
as the malfunctioning or non-functioning part, the following
procedure will be followed;

· repair of the battery will occur independent of the
$300.00 period approval threshold; and

· independent of whether Medicaid was the original
payment source for the device, or replacement of the battery
will occur without the need of prior approval.

Repair or replacement of an AAC device battery will be
performed, and the device returned to the beneficiary, or person
acting on the beneficiary’s behalf, as soon as possible.

Rental of AAC Device During Assessment, Repair and/or
Replacement Period

When the manufacturer or manufacturer’s designee receives
notification from the beneficiary or a person acting on the
beneficiary’s behalf that an AAC device is malfunctioning or
non-functioning, and is being returned for assessment, the
manufacturer is authorized to provide the beneficiary, on a
rental basis, an AAC device during the assessment, repair
and/or replacement period.  The rental period is authorized to
continue without regard to the need for prior approval for the
repair and/or replacement of the beneficiary’s AAC device.
Rental of an AAC device during the assessment, repair and/or

replacement period is not limited to devices for which Medicaid
was the original payment source.

AAC Device Repairs Greater Than $300.00 and AAC Device
Replacement

Requests for prior approval for AAC device repairs greater
than $300.00 and for AAC device replacements must be
accompanied by the following information:

· description of the speech-language pathologist’s
AAC services training and experience (and the AAC services
experience of all other professionals, as appropriate) involved
in the assessments of the beneficiary’s functioning and
communication limitations; and

· beneficiary identifying information, such as name,
Medical Assistance ID#, date of the assessment, medical
diagnosis (primary, secondary, tertiary), and significant
medical history.

The speech-language pathologist also must report whether
there have been any significant changes in any of the subject
areas identified in the Required Assessment & Data Reporting
section of this policy.  The information must include the items
specifically listed in the Sensory Status, Postural, Mobility &
Motor Status, Current Speed, Language & Expressive
Communication Status, Communication Needs Inventory,
Summary of Communication Limitations, AAC Devices
Assessment Components, and the Treatment Plan and Follow-
Up sections and whether the device remains the speech -
language pathologist’s recommendation for beneficiary’s use.

AAC Devises Replacement or Modification

Modification or replacement of AC devices will be covered by
Medicaid subject to the following limitations:

· All modification or replacement requests will
require prior approval;

· Prior approval request for replacement AAC devices
may be submitted for identical or different devices;

· Requests for prior approval for replacement of
identical AAC devices must explain how replacement is more
cost-effective than repair of current device(s).  Data must be
provided about age, repair history (frequency, duration and
cost), and repair projections (estimated durability of repairs).

· Requests for prior approval for modification or
replacement of AAC devices with different devices due to
changed circumstances may be submitted at any time and must
include the following additional information:

1. aba significant change has occurred in the
beneficiary’s expressive communication impairments and/
or receptive communication limitations.  Modification or
replacement requests due to changed individual circumstance
must be supported y a new assessment of communication
limitations; or
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2. abalthough there has been no significant change

in the beneficiary’s communication limitations, there has
been a significant change in the characteristics, features or
abilities of available AAC devices (i.e., a technological
change) that will overcome or permit a significant further
amelioration of the beneficiary’s communication limitations
as compared to the current AAC device.  A detailed
description of all AAC device changes and the purpose of
the changes must be provided.  In assessing such requests,
Medicaid will place particular emphasis on whether the
existing device reasonably achieves its purpose.

· requests for prior approval for replacement of AAC
devices due to loss or damage (either for identical devices
or different devices) must include additional information
including a complete explanation of the cause of the loss or
damage, and a plan to prevent the recurrence of the loss or
damage.

B. ASSESSMENT, DATA REPORTING AND PROCEDURAL
REQUIREMENTS

Role Of The Speech-Language Pathologist

An assessment of individual functioning and communication
limitations that preclude or interfere with meaningful
participation in current and projected daily activities is required
for Medicaid funding for AAC devices and AAC services.
The assessment must provide the information detailed in the
Required Assessment & Data Reporting section of this chapter.
It must be completed by a speech-language pathologist (with
input from other health professionals, e.g., occupational
therapists and rehabilitation engineers).

Prior Approval

All requests for AAC device(s):
· require prior approval;
· require physician endorsement consistent with the

definition of AAC as discussed in section A, Scope of
Coverage;

· must include a sign-off by the beneficiary, guardian
or similar representative as well as the vendor; and

· repairs that are greater than $300.00, and requests
for modification or replacement of AAC devices require prior
approval.

Required Assessment & Data Reporting

The following data are required to be submitted in support of
a prior approval request for AAC devices:

Speech-Language Pathologist Identifying Information
· Description of the speech-language pathologist’s

qualifications that satisfy the requirements in this policy.

· Description of the speech-language pathologist’s
AAC services training and experience (and the AAC services
experience of all other professionals, as appropriate) involved
in the assessments of the beneficiary’s functioning and
communication limitations.
Beneficiary Information

1) Identifying Information:
· Name
· Medical Assistance ID number
· Date of the Assessment
· Medical diagnosis (primary, secondary,

tertiary)
· Significant medical history

2) Sensory Status:
· Vision
· Hearing
· Description of how vision, hearing, tactile and/

or receptive communication impairments or disabilities
affect expressive communication

3) Postural, Mobility & Motor Status:
· Motor status
· Optimal positioning
· Integration of mobility with AAC devices
· Beneficiary’s access methods (and options) for

AAC devices
4) Current Speech, Language & Expressive

Communication Status
· Identification and description of the

beneficiary’s expressive or receptive (language
comprehension) communication impairment diagnosis

· Speech skills and prognosis
· Language skills and prognosis
· Communication behaviors and interaction skills

(i.e., styples and patterns)
· Indication of past treatment, if any
· Description of current communication

strategies, including use of an AAC device, if any
5) Communication Needs Inventory

· Description of beneficiary’s current and
projected (e.g., within 2 years) communication needs

· Communication partners and tasks, including
partners’ communication abilities limitations, if any

· Communication environments and constraints
which affect AAC device selection and/or features (e.g.,
verbal and/or visual output and/or feedback; distance
communication needs)

6) Summary of Communication Limitations
· Description of the communication limitations

that preclude or interfere with meaningful participation in
current and projected daily activities (i.e., why the
beneficiary’s current communication skills and behaviors
prevent meaningful participation in the beneficiary’s current
and projected daily activities)

7) AAC Devices Assessment Components
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· Vocabulary requirements
· Representational system(s)
· Display organization and features
· Rate enhancement techniques
· Message characteristics, speech synthesis,

printed output, display characteristics, feedback, auditory and
visual output

· Access techniques and strategies
· Portability and durability concerns, if any

8) Identification of AAC Devices Considered for
Beneficiary

· Identification of the significant characteristics
and features of the AAC devices considered for the
beneficiary

· Identification of the cost of the AAC devices
considered for the beneficiary (including all required
components, accessories, peripherals, and supplies, as
appropriate)

9) AAC Device Recommendation
· Identification of the requested AAC devices

including all required components, accessories, peripheral
devices, supplies, and the device vendor

· Identification of the beneficiary’s and
communication partner’s AAC devices preference, if any

· Justification stating why the recommended
AAC device (including description of the significant
characteristics and features) is better able to overcome or
ameliorate the communication limitations that preclude or
interfere with the beneficiary’s meaningful participation in
current and projected daily activities, as compared to the
other AAC devices considered

· Justification stating why the recommended
AAC device (including description of the significant
characteristics and features) is the least costly, equally
effective alternative form of treatment to overcome or
ameliorate the communication limitations that preclude or
interfere with the beneficiary’s meaningful participation in
current and projected daily activities

10) Treatment Plan & Follow Up
· Description of short term communication goals
· Description of long term communication goals
· Assessment criteria to measure beneficiary’s

progress toward achieving short and long term
communication goals

· Description of amount, duration and scope of
the AAC services required for the beneficiary to achieve short
and long term communication goals

· Schedule of data collection
· Identification and experience of AAC services

provider responsible for training (these services providers
may include, e.g.: occupational therapists, rehabilitation
engineers, the beneficiary’s parents, teachers and other
services providers)

C. REVIEW CRITERIA

Medicaid funding for AAC devices will be approved when
the devices are established to be medically necessary and the
least costly, equally effective, alternative form of treatment to
overcome or ameliorate the communication limitations that
preclude or interfere with the beneficiary’s meaningful
participation in current and projected daily activities.

Medical Necessity

The medical need for AAC devices and services must be
established by a speech-language pathologist (and other
health professionals, as appropriate) according to the
evaluation and data reporting criteria stated in section B,
Required Assessment and Data Reporting, and be supported
by a physician’s completion of a DSS-approved form or letter
of medical necessity.

In general, medical necessity is established when the requested
device or service meets the criteria of the DSS-approved
medical necessity standard.  See Appendix H in the General
Policy for the DSS-approved medical necessity standard.

Subject to these criteria, assessment of “medical necessity”
for AAC devices and services will be guided by the following
specific standards:

Medical Need Criteria for AAC Devices

Medical need will be established for beneficiaries:
· who have a diagnosis of a significant expressive or

receptive (language comprehension) communication
impairment or disability;

· whose impairment or disability either temporarily
or permanently causes communication limitations that
preclude or interfere with the beneficiary’s meaningful
participation in current and projected daily activities;

· who have had a speech-language pathologist (and
other health professionals, as appropriate) who:

1) abperform an assessment and submit a report
pursuant to the criteria set forth in section B, Required
Assessment and Data Reporting;

2) abrecommend speech-language pathology treatment
in the form of AAC devices and AAC services; and

3) abprepare a speech-language pathology treatment
plan that describes the specific components of the AAC
devices and the required amount, duration and scope of the
AAC services that will overcome or ameliorate
communication limitations that preclude or interfere with
the beneficiary’s meaningful participation in current and
projected daily activities.

· whose requested AAC devices and AAC services
constitute the least costly, equally effective form of treatment
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that will overcome or ameliorate communication limitations
that preclude or interfere with the beneficiary’s meaningful
participation in current and projected daily activities.

General Principles Governing Medical Need Determination
· The cause of the beneficiary’s impairment or

disability (e.g., congenital, developmental, or acquired) or
the beneficiary’s age at the onset of the impairment or
disability may be relevant considerations I the determination
of medical need.

· Whether a beneficiary’s daily activities,
communication partners and communication environments
are related to or intersect with other benefits and/or services
programs (e.g., school, early intervention services, adult
services programs, employment) does not preclude a
determination that the beneficiary has a medical need for
AAC devices and AAC services.

· No cognitive, language, literacy, prior treatment, or
other similar pre-requisites must be satisfied by a beneficiary
in advance of a request for AAC devices and AAC services.

· The unavailability of an AAC devices, component
or accessory for rental will not serve as the basis for denying
a prior approval request for that device, component or
accessory.  The prior approval request must document the
manner in which a comparable device may be substituted for
assessment purposes in the event that a trial period is
required.

· The unavailability of a warranty for an AAC device
or other component or accessory will not serve as the basis
for denying a prior approval request for that device, component
or accessory, although Medicaid encourages providers to
consider the availability of a reasonable warranty as a factor
within the device selection process.

Additional Information Needed - Request for Peer Review
· When the medical need for an AAC device cannot

be established pursuant to the criteria stated in the Medical
Need Criteria for AAC Devices in this section, based on the
information submitted in support of a prior approval request,
Medicaid will determine and take the following steps:

1) if information required by the Medical Need Criteria
for AAC Devices in this section is not included in the prior
approval request, then Medicaid will make contact directly
with the speech-language pathologist who conducted the
assessment for the beneficiary, identify the specific additional
information that is needed, and request that the additional
information be submitted; and/or

2) abif an interpretation is required of information in
the prior approval request, then Medicaid will seek the advice
of speech-language pathologist(s) with extensive AAC
experience recommend to Medicaid by the American Speech-
Language & Hearing Association (ASHA), the United States
Society for Augmentative & Alternative Communication
(USSAAC) and/or RESNA, who will provide the required

information
· Requested additional information and/or

interpretations must be produced as soon as practicable but
in no event more than 21 working days from the date of the
request.

· Requests for additional information and/or requests
for interpretations of information submitted will be made
prior to issuance of any denial of a prior approval request.

Time Limits and Notice for Decision Making
· Review of prior approval request required by the

Medical Need Criteria for AAC Devices in this section will
be completed within a reasonable amount of time (in most
cases no longer than 60 days).  If review has not been
completed within 45 days, the beneficiary, guardian, or
similar representative will be notified of the status of the
pending application.

· Requests for additional information and/or request
for interpretations will be made as soon as the need is
identified.

· Decisions on prior approval requests that are not
timely issued may entitle the beneficiary to pursue an appeal.

· Written notice of decisions to deny prior approval
or to approve a funding request with or without modifications
will be provided directly to the beneficiary and vendor.
Written notice will be provided to other persons, as
appropriate.

D. GLOSSARY

Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC)
AAC approaches support, enhance, or augment the

communication of individuals who are not independent
communicators in all situations.  An individual’s AAC system
should not be a single technique, device, or strategy, but rather
an array of techniques, devices and strategies from which the
individual chooses in order to effectively address the demands
of a given communication opportunity.

AAC Devices
Electronic or non-electronic aids, devices or systems

that assist a beneficiary to overcome or ameliorate (to the
maximum degree possible) the communication limitations
that preclude or interfere with meaningful participation in
current and projected daily activities.  Examples of AAC
devices include: communication boards or books,
electrolarynxes, speech amplifiers, and electronic devices
that produce speech and/or written output.  AAC devices
include devices that are constructed for use as
communication devices as well as systems that may include
a computer, when an important use of the computer will be
as the beneficiary’s communication device.  AAC devices
also include related components and accessories, including
software program, symbol sets, overlays, mounting devices,
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switches, cables and connectors, auditory, visual., and tactile
output devices, and necessary supplies, such as rechargeable
batteries.

AAC Services
Treatment to assist beneficiaries in meeting the full range

of their communication needs.  The scope of AAC services
includes diagnostic, screening, preventive, and corrective
services provided by or under the direction of a speech-
language pathologist.  Specific activities include evaluation
for, recommendation of, design, sup-up, customization,
programming, and training related to the use of AAC devices.

Beneficiary’s Preferences
The means and mode of message transmission a

beneficiary prefers to use in a given communication
interaction.

Current and Projected Daily Activities
The activities of daily living in which the individual now

participates and in which it is anticipated the individual will
participate when the individual’s communication limitations
have been overcome or ameliorated via the application of AAC
approaches.

Expressive Communication Limitations
Difficulties in language production via any expressive

communication modality (speech, writing, sign language,
gesture, facial expression, graphic symbol selection).

Meaningful Participation
Effective and efficient communication of messages,

taking into account the beneficiary’s preferences regarding
means and mode of transmission.
Receptive Communication Limitations
Difficulties in language understanding via any communication
modality (speech, writing, sign language, gesture, facial
expression, graphic symbol selection).

EPSDT Provider Specific Policy Manual

II. QUALIFIED PROVIDERS

Providers of EPSDT services could include the State’s health
department, pediatricians, family practitioners and other private
practicing physicians, therapy service providers, providers of
specialized supplies and equipment, health maintenance
organizations, prepaid health plans, community/migrant health
centers, private dentists, and other agencies that are routinely
involved with a child’s physical and mental health needs.

IV. CONTENTS/DESCRIPTION OF SERVICES

EPSDT Special Needs Dental Program include dental services

provided by private dentists who are enrolled with the DMAP
and are paid directly for dental services when provided to
“special needs” children who meet the following eligibility
criteria:

Special Needs Eligibility Criteria

Medicaid eligible children who have been diagnosed by their
primary care provider with one or more of the following medical
conditions may be treated by a dentist who is enrolled with
the DMAP without prior approval by the DPH Dental Clinic:

· Autism
· Bleeding Disorders
· Craniofacial Anomalies
· Oral/Maxillofacial Trauma (requiring immediate

service)
· Serious Emotional/Behavioral Disorders*
· Severe Chronic Illness (respiratory, cardiac, renal,

gastrointestinal)
· Severe Orthopedic Disorders/Wheelchair-bound
· Spinal Bifida
· Baby Bottle Syndrome
· Cancer
· HIV Infection
· Mental Retardation
· Seizure Disorders

*When the diagnosed condition requires general anesthesia
sedation, restraints, or other similar measures which preclude
treatment in a DPH clinic setting.

All other Medicaid eligible children must first be evaluated by
the DPH Dental Clinic before referral and treatment by a private
dentist can be approved (except for orthodontics; see
“Orthodontics” entry).  This means that otherwise healthy
children who need services which cannot be provided by DPH
must still be referred to a private dentist by DPH.

Covered Services

For eligible children meeting the criteria, or for otherwise
healthy children who need services which cannot be provided
in the DPH Dental Clinic (and for whom a referral has been
made by DPH), the DMAP will cover medically necessary
dental services for the relief of pain and infections, restoration
of teeth, and maintenance of dental health.  Covered services
include:

· Examinations
· Prophylactics
· Fluoride treatments
· Permanent and temporary fillings
· Extractions
· Pulpotomies
· Endodontics
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· In-office sedation
· Stainless steel crowns
· Oral surgery
· Periodontics
· Prosthodontics
· Emergency services
· Adjunctive services

Orthodontics

Orthodontics is a covered services under the DMAPs EPSDT
Program for children under age twenty-one (21) years who
have been diagnosed with a “handicapping” or “crippling”
malocclusion.  However, all orthodontic care must still be
referred by and approved by the DPH dental clinic.  Payment
of orthodontic services will continue to be managed by the
DPH through its Special Dental Program.

Provider Enrollment

To be eligible for payment by the DMAP under the Special
Needs Dental Program, dental providers must enroll and
contract with the State of Delaware Department of Health and
Social Services.

Billing and Reimbursement

All dental services must be billed on a HCFA-1500 claim form
and must be submitted directly to EDS, the Medicaid fiscal
agent.  Claims must be submitted within one year of the date
of service to be considered for payment.

See Appendix A for the local HCPCS procedure code used by
the DMAP for billing Special Needs Dental service.

When billing for Special Needs Dental service the place of
service “3” (doctor’s office) and the type of service “9” (other
medical service) must be entered in the appropriate block on
the claim form.

All services provided during a dental visit should be totaled
and charged on one claim line corresponding to the dental
procedure code given in Appendix A.  Do not itemize each
individual charge for a client’s service.  Dental services will be
reimbursed at a negotiated rate.

Third Party Liability

Medicaid is the payer of last resort. When a Medicaid client
carries dental insurance coverage, that plan must be billed
before Medicaid.  A copy of the insurance voucher, explanation
of benefits, or denial statement must be attached to the dental
claim and any third party payment must be indicated in the
appropriate field on the claim.

EPSDT Dental Program

Dental services are covered by the DMAP for children under
age 21 through the EPSDT program.  While dental services
continue to be provided through the DPH dental clinics, private
dentists may enroll with the DMAP to help create broader
access to dental care.

Under this dental policy there are minimal program requirements.
An enrolled dental provider may treat any Medicaid eligible
child and will be paid directly by the DMAP. The EPSDT dental
program does not require prior authorization for services and
does not require prior approval by DPH.

This EPSDT Dental Program incorporates the previous “Special
Needs Dental Program” and provides general guidelines for
the treatment of all Medicaid eligible children whether or not
they have special needs.  For those Medicaid clients who are
“special needs” children, these guidelines dictate the
requirements for the provision of dental care.

Eligibility Criteria

Children under age 21 who are currently covered by the DMAP
(Medicaid), are eligible to receive medically necessary dental
services.  Eligible children need not have been evaluated and
referred by the DPH Dental Clinics to be treated by dental
providers enrolled in the DMAP.  Clients aged 21 or older are
not eligible for dental services under Medicaid; billings for
clients 21 and older will be denied as non-covered services.

Covered Services

Medicaid covers medically necessary dental services in
appropriate care settings for the relief of pain and infections,
restoration of teeth, and maintenance of dental health.  Covered
services include:

 Examinations Prosthodontics
Endodontics Sealants
Prophylactics In-office Sedation
Oral Surgery Permanent and temporary

fillings
Radiographs Periodontics
Extractions Fluoride Treatments
Pulpotomies Adjunctive Services

(treatment of dental
pain, anesthesia, drug
management, etc.)

Orthodontics

Orthodontics is a covered service under Medicaid’s EPSDT
Dental Program for children under age 21 who have been
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diagnosed with a “handicapping” or “crippling” malocclusion.
However, all orthodontic care must still be referred by and
prior approved by the DPH dental clinics.  Payment of
orthodontic services will continue to be managed by the DPH
through its Special Dental Program.

Billing and Reimbursement

A locally assigned HCPCS procedure code is required for
billing dental services provided to Medicaid eligible children.
The locally assigned HCPCS procedure code, definition, unit
of service definition, service limitations, prior authorization
requirement, rate, place and type of service codes, and
diagnosis codes are found in Appendix A.

When billing for EPSDT dental services the type of service
“9” (Other Medical Service) and the appropriate place of
service (as listed below) must be entered in the proper block
on the claim form.

Place of Service:

1 - Inpatient Hospital C - Residential Treatment Center
2 - Outpatient Hospital D - Specialized Treatment Facility
3 - Doctor’s Office G - Emergency Room
4 - Patient’s Home J - Clinic
7 - Nursing Home

When billing for EPSDT dental services the diagnosis code
“521” (Disorder of Tooth Development and Eruption) must be
entered in the proper block on the claim form.

All services provided during a dental visit should be totaled
and charged on one claim line corresponding to the dental
HCPCS procedure code from Appendix A.  One unit of service
covers all charges incurred during the visit.  Do not itemize
each individual charge for a client’s service on the claim form.
However, you should maintain office records or files showing
each individual service and charge for review purposes.

Dental services will be reimbursed at a pre-determined rate set
by the State.

Third Party Liability

Medicaid is the payer of last resort.  When a Medicaid client
carries dental insurance coverage, that plan must be billed
before Medicaid.  A copy of the insurance voucher, explanation
of benefits, or denial statement must be attached to the dental
claim, and any third party payment must be indicated in the
appropriate field on the claim.  Medicaid will coordinate benefits
and pay any balance due up to its fee.

The managed care organizations contracted by the State to

provide medical care to Medicaid clients do not provide dental
coverage under the Diamond State Health Plan.

Medicaid Card

The provider should check the recipient’s Medicaid card for
current eligibility before every service (cards are generally
good for the whole month).  Dental care is not a covered benefit
for all Medicaid clients even if they have a Medicaid card.
Clients aged 21 and older are not covered.

Freedom of Choice of Provider

Clients are permitted free choice of providers.  If a dental
provider decides not to bill Medicaid for a service, the provider
must advise the client prior to the delivery of service that the
client will be responsible for the bill.  The client then retains
the right to decide to be treated and to pay for the service
personally or to seek another dental provider who will accept
the Medicaid payment.

Medicaid Payment

Medicaid payment is considered payment in full.  Therefore,
dental providers may not charge clients for balances not
covered by Medicaid, and may not charge clients for services
and reimburse them once Medicaid pays the claim.  However,
providers may bill a client when Medicaid denies a claim
because the client is not eligible on the date of service, when
the service is a non-covered benefit in the Medicaid Program
(example. age 21 or older, cosmetic care, etc.), or when missed
appointments are usually charged to patients and the Medicaid
client was informed prior to the appointment that missed
appointments are considered “not covered” by Medicaid.

Confidentiality

Client information may only be used for purposes directly
related to the administration of the Medicaid Program.  Client
information may not be made public and lists of Medicaid
clients may not be made and distributed to others.  See the
Medicaid Provider Contract for further details.

Specialized Supplies and Equipment  Further information on
coverage of equipment for children under age 21 is available
in the EPSDT and  Augmentative and Alternative
Communication Devices and Services sections of the Durable
Medical Equipment Provider Manual.

Practitioner Provider Specific Policy Manual

IX. SPECIFIC CRITERIA FOR ORAL SURGEONS

Dental services, including the extraction of teeth, are restricted
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to recipients under twenty-one 21 (through age 20) years of
age and are generally  must be provided by the Division of
Public Health (DPH Dental Clinics  Referrals to private dentists
are made by DPH when the scope of work required cannot be
provided by the clinic.  Dental services which cannot be
provided by DPH may only be rendered by a private dentist/
oral surgeon following an evaluation and referral by DPH.

Dental services are also provided by private dentist through
the EPSDT Dental Program.  Eligible children do not need to
be evaluated or referred by the DPH dental clinic to be treated
by dental providers enrolled with the DMAP in the EPSDT
Dental Program.

Services that are authorized by DPH must be billed directly to
DPH not the DMAP.

Dental procedures for recipients age 21 and over are not
covered in any setting.

DEPARTMENT OF HEA LTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION  OF PUBLIC  HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 122(3)(t)(1) (16 Del.C.122(3)(t)(1))

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE
STATE OF DELAWARE REGULATIONS GOVERNING

LEAD-BASED PAINT HAZARDS

The Public Hearing was held on June 24, 1998, at the Jesse
Cooper Building, Dover, DE before John J. Beaman, Hearing
Officer, to discuss the proposed Delaware Health and Social
Services Lead-Based Paint Hazards regulations. The
announcements regarding the hearings were advertised on
June 1, 1998, in the Delaware State News, the News Journal
and the Delaware Registry of Regulations in accordance with
Delaware Law. Mr. Thomas V. May made the agency’s
presentation.  Attendees were allowed and encouraged to
discuss and ask questions regarding all sections of the
proposed regulations. They offered no negative opinions and
most questions regarded clarification of the sections.  The
public comment period was open from June 1 to July 2, 1998.
One written comment was received and supported the
regulations.  No negative comments were received.  Verifying
documents are attached to the Hearing Officer’s record.  The
regulations have been approved by the Delaware Attorney
General’s Office.

STATE OF DELAWARE
REGULATIONS GOVERNING LEAD-BASED PAINT

HAZARDS

ADOPTED  JULY 15,  1998, BY THE SECRETARY OF
DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES UNDER
AUTHORITY OF 16 DEL. C. CHAPTER 1, §122(3)(t)
EFFECTIVE DATE:  AUGUST 11, 1998

* Please note: There were no changes to this
regulation from the proposed regulation to the
final regulation. Due to space limitations the full
text of the regulation is not reproduced here, the
full-text of the regulations was published in the
June 1, 1998 Register of Regulations page 1906
(1:12 Del.R. 1906) or from the Department of
Health and Social Services.

DEPARTMENT OF N ATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMEN TAL CONTROL
DIVISION  OF AIR & W ASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY  MANAGEMENT  SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Section 6010 (7 Del.C. 6010)

1. Title of The Regulations:

Delaware’s Low Enhanced Inspection and Maintenance
(LEIM) Program.

2. Brief Synopsis of The Subject, Substance And Issues:

Adoption of Regulation No. 31 - LOW ENHANCED
INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE PROGRAM in Kent and
New Castle Counties (severe ground-level ozone
nonattainment areas of the State), with appendices, covering
both exhaust emission testing and pressure testing portions;
Plan for Implementation of Regulation No. 31 (with
appendices); Amend Regulation No. 26 - MOTOR VEHICLE
EMISSIONS AND INSPECTION PROGRAM which is now
reflective of the Sussex County I/M  Program.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:

N/A

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:

Title 7, Del. C., Chapter 60

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/aqm_page/aqm_nets.htm
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by The Proposal:

Elimination of Regulation No. 33 - MOTOR VEHICLE
PRESSURE TEST AND EMISSION CONTROL DEVICE
INSPECTION PROGRAM which is now contained in
Regulation No. 31.

6. Notice of Public Comment:

The public hearing was held on May 21, 1998 at 6:00
p.m. in the auditorium of the DNREC office building located
at 89 Kings Highway in Dover. Secretary’s Order signed Jun
16, 1998 and notice placed in Delaware State News, News
Journal. Sunday News Journal.

7. Prepared By:

Philip A. Wheeler (pwheeler@dnrec.state.de.us)
302-739-4791    June 22, 1998

REGULATION NO. 26

MOTOR VEHICLE EMISSIONS INSPECTION PROGRAM
08/13/98

Section 1 -Applicability and General Provisions

1.1 Except as provided in Section 4 of this regulation, the
standards, requirements and procedures set forth in this
regulation are applicable to all motor vehicles titled and
registered within Sussex County and as specified by the
Department, including any motor vehicles owned or operated
by the federal, state and local governments and their agencies.

08/13/98
Section 2 -Definitions

DIVISION:   The Division of Motor Vehicles in the Department
of Public Safety of the State of Delaware.

WAIVER: An exemption issued to a motor vehicle that cannot
comply with the applicable emissions standard and cannot be
repaired for reasonable cost.

DEPARTMENT: The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control of the State of Delaware.

EMISSIONS: Products of combustion discharged into the
atmosphere from the tailpipe of a motor vehicle engine.

EMISSIONS INSPECTION AREA:The emissions inspection
area will constitute the entire State effective April 1, 1990.

EMISSIONS STANDARD(S): The maximum concentration
of either hydrocarbon (HC) or carbon monoxide (C0), or
both, allowed in the emissions from the tailpipe of a motor
vehicle as established by the Secretary of the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control or his designee
in Technical Memorandum #2 entitled “Motor Vehicle
Inspection and Maintenance Program - Emission Limit
Determination” dated 12/29/87.

FAILED MOTOR VEHICLE: Any motor vehicle which does
not comply with applicable emission standards during the
initial test or any retest.

FLEET INSPECTION STATION: A facility approved by the
Department to conduct emissions inspections of the motor
vehicles of a qualified fleet as determined by the  Department.

MODEL YEAR: The year of manufacture of a vehicle as
designated by the manufacturer, or the model year designation
assigned by the Division to a vehicle constructed by other
than the original manufacturer.

MOTOR VEHICLE: Includes every vehicle, as defined in 21
Del. Code, Section   101, which is self-propelled, except farm
tractors and off-highway vehicles.

MOTOR VEHICLE OFFICER: A person who has completed
an approved emissions inspection equipment training program
and is employed by an official inspection station.
NEW MOTOR VEHICLE: A motor vehicle of the current or
preceding model year  that has never been previously titled or
registered in this or any other jurisdiction and whose ownership
document remains as a manufacturer’s certificate of origin.

OFFICIAL INSPECTION STATION: The Motor Vehicle Safety
Inspection Stations in Wilmington, New Castle, Dover and
Georgetown, Delaware, operated by the Division.

REASONABLE COST: The actual cost of parts and labor which
is necessary to cause the failed motor vehicle to comply with
applicable emissions standards or which contributes toward
compliance.  It shall not include the cost of those repairs
determined by the Division to be necessary due to alteration
or removal of any part of the emission control system of the
motor vehicle, or due to any damage resulting from the use of
improper fuel in the failed motor vehicle.

REGISTERED GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT(G.V.W.): The vehicle
gross weight designated  by the Division on the vehicle
registration card which is the total weight of the vehicle and
its maximum allowable load.

VEHICLE: Means every device in, upon or by which any
person or property is or  may be transported or drawn upon a
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public highway, excepting devices moved by human power
or used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks and
excepting off-highway vehicles.

05/09/85
Section 3 - Registration Requirement

3.1 Effective January 1, 1983, no motor vehicle that is subject
to this regulation may be granted registration in the State of
Delaware unless the motor vehicle is in compliance with the
applicable emissions standards, regardless of its pass/fail
status of other tests normally performed at the official
inspection station.

02/08/95
Section 4 - Exemptions

4.1 The following motor vehicles are exempt from the
provisions of this regulation:

A. All farm vehicles not required by law to be registered
B. All historic vehicles, kit cars or antique vehicles

displaying antique vehicle registration plates.
C. All motor vehicles with a registered G.V.W. over 8,500

pounds.
D. All motorcycles.
E. All vehicles that are registered in Delaware, but are

not operated in Delaware consistent with established
procedures of the Division.

F. All vehicles that obtain power by a means other than
gasoline internal combustion.  (Example:  diesel, electric,
propane, etc.)

4.2 Any exemption issued to a vehicle under this Section will
not have an expiration date and will expire only upon a change
in the vehicle status for which exemption was initially granted.

07/06/82
Section 5 - Enforcement

5.1 Enforcement shall be in accordance with the provisions
of 7 Del. C., Chapter 67.

6/18/98
Section 6 - Compliance, Waivers and Extensions of Time

6.1 Compliance with applicable emissions standards shall be
determined at an official inspection station or at a fleet
inspection station.  The idle test procedure prescribed by the
Department in Technical Memorandum #1 entitled “Motor
Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program - Vehicle Test
Procedure and Machine Calibration”, dated 6/9/82, shall be
the official test procedure.  A pass/fail printout from the
emission testing equipment given to the driver will serve as
the driver’s record of the test results.

A. Any motor vehicle shall be deemed to be in
compliance with Section 3.1 if the test results are equal to or
less than the emissions standards applicable to the motor
vehicle.

B. Except as provided in Section 6.1 C, any motor vehicle
shall be deemed to be in noncompliance with Section 3.1 if the
test results are greater than the emissions standards applicable
to the motor vehicle.

C. Any motor vehicle which fails its initial emissions
test shall be deemed to be in compliance with Section 3.1 if not
later than the registration expiration date, the motor vehicle
either (1) is repaired at reasonable cost and is in compliance
with applicable emissions standards as determined by an
emissions retest at an Official Inspection Station, or (2) is
granted a waiver pursuant to Section 6.2, or (3) is granted an
extension of time not to exceed one month.

D. Whenever the owner of a failed motor vehicle
determines to the satisfaction of the Division that it cannot be
repaired at reasonable cost, the owner may be granted a waiver
provided the owner makes application to the Division prior to
the registration expiration date or by such other time as may
be specified by the Division.

6.2 - Waiver issuance criteria
A. Waivers shall be issued only after a vehicle has failed

a retest performed after all qualifying repairs have been
completed, and a minimum of 10% improvement (reduction) in
hydrocarbons (HC) and carbon monoxide (CO) has resulted
from those repairs.

B. Any available warranty coverage shall be used to
obtain needed repairs before expenditures can be counted
towards the cost limits in Section 6.2 E of this regulation.  The
operator of a vehicle within the statutory age and mileage
coverage under section 207(b) of the Clean Air Act shall
present a written denial of warranty coverage from the
manufacturer or authorized dealer for this provision to be
waived for approved tests applicable to the vehicle.

C. Waivers shall not be issued to vehicles for
tampering-related repairs.  The cost of tampering-related repairs
shall not be applicable to the minimum expenditure in Section
6.2 F of this regulation.  An exemption for tampering-related
repairs may be issued if it can be verified that the part in
question or one similar to it is no longer available for sale.
Repairs shall be appropriate to the cause of the test failure,
and a visual check shall be made to determine if repairs were
actually made if, given the nature of the repair, it can be visually
confirmed.  Receipts shall be submitted for review to further
verify that qualifying repairs were performed.

D. A minimum of $75 for pre-81 vehicles and $200 for
1981 and later vehicles shall be spent on related repairs in
order to qualify for a waiver.  This minimum cost should not be
construed as an amount which must be spent as a condition
of compliance after an initial failure.  This cost relates only to
the minimum cost which must be incurred when determining
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the eligibility of granting a waiver.  In addition, this regulation
does not prevent the vehicle owner from performing self-
repairs.

6.3 The Division shall be responsible for specifying any forms
or procedures to be followed in making applications pursuant
to Section 6.2.

6.4 Waivers issued pursuant to this regulation are valid until
the date of current registration expiration.

6.5 Quality control of waiver issuance.
A. The program shall include methods of informing

vehicle owners or lessors of potential warranty coverage, and
ways to obtain warranty repairs.

B. The program shall insure that repair receipts are
authentic and cannot be revised or reused.

C. The program shall insure that waivers are only valid
for one test cycle.

07/06/82
Section 7 - Inspection Facility Requirements

7.1 Motor Vehicle Officers employed by the Division shall
meet the requirements specified in this regulation.

7.2 Test equipment used by the Division shall be a type
approved by the Department and testing procedures shall be
conducted in accordance with the provisions of this
regulation.

7.3 No person employed by the Division to test motor vehicle
emissions shall engage in or have an interest in the operation
of repair facilities located in this State; perform emission related
repairs for compensation; or recommend repair facilities to
owners or operators of vehicles being tested.

07/06/82
Section 8 - Certification of Motor Vehicle Officers

8.1 A person may not perform the duties of a motor vehicle
officer for testing motor vehicle emissions or operating
emission testing equipment to determine the compliance or
noncompliance of a motor vehicle as required by this regulation
at an official inspection station unless that person has applied
for and has received certification in accordance with the
provisions of this Section.

8.2 To become certified, a person shall successfully complete
a training course for this purpose approved by the Division.

08/13/98
Section 9 - Calibration and Test Procedures and Approved
Equipment

9.1 All emissions testing for the purpose of determining
compliance with emissions standards shall be performed using
equipment approved by the Department and calibration and
test procedures as provided in this regulation.

9.2 Calibration and test procedures: Reserved.

TECHNICAL MEMORANDUM #1
Reserved

(Revised 12/29/87)
TECHNICAL MEMORANDUM #2
MOTOR VEHICLE INSPECTION AND MAINTENANCE
PROGRAM EMISSION LIMIT DETERMINATION

The five vehicle age groups have different allowable
emission rates in the idle mode due to the sophistication of
the emission control equipment installed by the manufacturer.
The only exception being the pre-1968 age group which had
no pollution control apparatus, save for a few vehicles with
positive crankcase ventilation (PCV) valves.  Installation of
PCV valves was virtually a voluntary measure by auto
manufacturers.

During the time period March 1 through June 30, 1982,
data was being gathered by a mandatory emission inspection
with voluntary repair, at the two vehicle safety inspection lanes
in New Castle County.  The Sun Model CEA-3023 Computer
Emission Analyzer (hereafter called the analyzer) has the ability
to store, on conventional data cassettes, all of the input
required and the results of a test on every vehicle tested.  This
is to include date, time, vehicle age group, vehicle registration
number, hydrocarbon (HC) and carbon monoxide (CO) emission
limits for the particular vehicle age group and the actual HC
and CO emissions from the tested vehicle.  A paper printout of
this information is given to the driver upon being tested.  Test
procedures were consistent with those described in Appendix
B to Technical Memorandum #1.

During the voluntary emission program, the HC and CO
emission limits programmed into the analyzer were, with one
exception, the same as those used by the State of New Jersey
in its I & M program.  Using these limits or “cut points” for
each vehicle type gave a very good frame of reference to
analyze the limits applicable to Delaware.

In general, about 25% of the vehicles tested during that
voluntary program failed to pass the New Jersey standards.

Emission limits for each age group and the failure rate as
a percent are shown in Table 1.

Table 1

HC(1)

pre 1968  1400 18%
1968-1970  700 22%
1971-1974  500 20%
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1975-1979  300 29%
1980 +  100 15%

Notes   (1)  Hydrocarbon (HC) emissions expressed as parts
per million (ppm) of non-methane HC

(2)  The New Jersey standards for 1980 and later models
are 300 ppm of HC

The rate of emission reduction required by the I & M
program adoption must be at least 35% reduction of total HC
emissions from tailpipe at the end of 1987.  The 35% is defined
as the difference in emissions of HC between the vehicle fleet
not having I & M and that having I & M, in the urbanized
portion of the ozone non-attainment area.  Since the mechanics
of testing only those vehicles registered to an address within
the “urbanized”(1) area would be difficult at best, the entire
county was included in the calculations for reductions.(2)  The
types of vehicles to be tested for emissions were broadened
to include the two classes of light duty trucks, those under
6,000 pounds G. V. W. and those in the 6,000 to 8,500 pound
G.V.W. class.  These two measures reduced the estimated failure
rate from the 20% of the urbanized auto and station wagon
fleet, which is the target rate to accomplish the 35% reduction
in the emissions, down to 15%.

Attached as Appendix A to this Technical Memorandum
is an April 16, 1982, letter from the I & M staff at EPA’s Ann
Arbor office.  This letter details their evaluation of a 10%
stringency factor on the three LD classes of vehicles in NCC
to provide at least 35% reduction in tailpipe emissions.
Following up the EPA analysis is a similar analysis for the
Delaware-specific data.  With a 15% stringency factor the
results show that a 39.7% reduction in HC will be realized
when the same 1,083 factor for “entire county inspection” is
applied.  This is obviously a reduction in tailpipe HC emissions
adequate to meet the EPA requirements.

The selection of cut points for each vehicle class was
accomplished by computer storage and retrieval of the data.
For each vehicle age group, the frequency of each emission
reading was determined and the appropriate percentile selected
as the cut point for that particular age group.  For simplicity
and reduced computer storage requirements each individual
reading was grouped in sets of 5 ppm, in the case of HC, and
in sets of 0.05%, in the case of CO.

Light duty trucks (pickups and vans) have different levels
of emission controls than those of autos.  Age groups of the
two light duty gasoline truck classes LDGT1(3) and LDGT2(4)

had to be fit into one of the auto age group levels of emission
control.  This determination was made by utilizing Table 7 of
the January, 1981, EPA document entitled “Recommendations
Regarding the Selection of Idle Emission Inspection Cutpoints
for Inspection and Maintenance Programs”.  The final result
of this exercise is shown in Table 2, and this table represents
the cutpoints adopted in the 1982 S.I.P. revision.  Since the
County of New Castle is non-attainment for ozone which is
affected by HC, the rates shown for CO will be recorded, but

failure of CO limits will not affect registration of the vehicle.
_______________________
(1)  The urbanized area as defined by the U.S. Bureau of the
Census.
(2)  This expanded the potential vehicle fleet by a factor of
1.083 which is the ratio of total NCC population to the urbanized
area population.
(3)  Truck with GVW less than 6,000 pounds
(4)  Truck with GVW greater than 6,000 but less than 8,500
pounds

Table 2

LDGV LDGT1 LDGT2 HC
pre 1968 pre 1968 pre 1970 1600 ppm
1968-1971 1968-1970 1970-1972 1100 ppm
1972-1974 1971-1974 1973-1978 800 ppm
1975-1979 1975 & later 1979 & later 600 ppm
1980 & later 235 ppm*

*The emission limit of 235 ppm for 1980+ vehicles is the
“warranty” emission limit of 220 ppm plus the accuracy of the
testing equipment (+/- 15 ppm)

REVISION NUMBER 1 - 5/9/85

The following changes are made effective July 1, 1985, and
consist of revisions to existing Table 2 of the approved 1982
Ozone SIP Revision

 Table 2 (As Revised)

LDGV LDGT      HC

1968-1970 1970-1972 1100 ppm
1971-1974 1973-1978   800 ppm
1975-1979 1979-1983   500 ppm
1980   275 ppm
1981 & later 1984 & later   220 ppm

Whenever the Department determines that the cutpoints used
during 1985 or any subsequent year do not provide the minimal
required hydrocarbon reduction, the following cutpoints will
become effective on the first day of a new calendar year.

Table 2

 LDGV LDGT               HC
1968-1970 1970-19821000 ppm
1971-1974 1973-1978   700 ppm
1975-1979 1979-1983   450 ppm
1980   275 ppm
1981 & later 1984 & later   220 ppm

This determination shall be based on vehicle test data from
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the first ten months of the past year.  Public notice prominently
placed in the Wilmington newspapers will announce details of
the changes and the circumstances which caused the
adjustments to be made.

REVISION NUMBER 2 - 12/29/87

The following changes are made effective January 1, 1988,
and consist of revisions to existing Table 2 of the approved
1982 Ozone SIP Revision.

Table 2
(As Revised)

LDGV LDGT HC
1968-1970 1970-1972 900 ppm
1971-1974 1973-1978 600 ppm
1975-1979 1979-1983 400 ppm
1980 220 ppm
1981 & later1981 & later 220 ppm

Whenever the Department determines that the cutpoints used
during 1988 or any subsequent year do not provide the minimal
required hydrocarbon reduction, the following cutpoints will
become effective on the first day of a new calendar year.

Table 2
(As Revised)

LDGV LDGT HC
1968-1970 1970-1972 800 ppm
1971-1974 1973-1978 500 ppm
1975-1979 1979-1983 350 ppm
1980 220 ppm
1981 & later1981 & later 220 ppm

This determination shall be based on vehicle test data from
the first ten months of the past year.  Public notice prominently
placed in the Wilmington newspapers will announce details of
the changes and the circumstances which caused the
adjustments to be made.

A. The following changes are made effective January 31,
l990, and will be retained indefinitely unless  circumstances
occur which will be described in Part B.

TABLE 2

GROUP AUTO/   PICKUP/VAN      HYDROCARBON       CARBON
STA. WAG. UNDER 8501#     LIMIT            DIOXIDE

           LIMIT

1 ’68-’70   ’70-’72            900 ppm 9.00
2 ‘7l-’74   ’73-’78            600 ppm 6.00

3 ’75-’79 ’79-’83          400 ppm 4.00
4 ’80 (NONE) 220 ppm 2.00
5 ‘8l + ’84 + 220 ppm l.20

B.   Whenever the Department determines that the cutpoints
proposed in Part A  do not provide the minimal required
hydrocarbon reduction, the following  cutpoints will become
effective on the first day of calendar quarter (i.e.  January,
April, July or October).

TABLE 2

GROUP AUTO/   PICKUP/VAN      HYDROCARBON       CARBON
STA. WAG. UNDER 8501#     LIMIT            DIOXIDE

           LIMIT(%)

l ’68-’70     ’70-’72 800 ppm 8.00
2 ‘7l-’74     ’73-’78 500 ppm 5.00
3 ’75-’79     ’79-’83 350 ppm 3.50
4 ’80     (NONE) 220 ppm 2.00
5 ‘8l PLUS   ’84 PLUS 220 ppm l.20

Low enhanced Inspection and Maintenance Program
Regulation No. 31

08/13/98
Section 1 - Applicability.

(a) This program shall be known as the “Low enhanced
Inspection and Maintenance Program” or “LEIM Program”,
and shall be identified as such in the balance of this regulation.

(b) This regulation shall apply to New Castle and Kent
Counties.

(c) This regulation shall apply to all vehicles registered in
the following postal ZIP codes:

19701 19702 19703 19706 19707 19708 19709 19710 19711
19712 19713 19714 19715 19716 19717 19718 19720 19730
19731 19732 19733 19734 19735 19936 19703 19938 19800
19801 19802 19803 19804 19805 19806 19807 19808 19809
19810 19850 19890 19894 19896 19897 19898 19899 19901
19902 19903 19904 19934 19936 19938 19942 19943 19946
19952 19953 19954 19955 19960 19961 19962 19963* 19964
19977 19979 19980

* Note: If vehicles registered in Sussex County and with this
ZIP code, this  regulation is not  applicable.

(d) The legal authority for implementation of the LEIM
Program is contained in 7 Del.C. Chapter 60, §6010(a).
Appendix 1 (d) contains the letter from the State of Delaware,
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Secretary of the Department to EPA Regional Administrator,
W. Michael McCabe committing to continue the I/M program
through the enforcement of this regulation out to the
attainment year and remain in effect until the applicable area
is redesignated to attainment status and a Maintenance Plan
is approved by the EPA.  7 Del. C. Chapter 60, §6010(a) does
not have a sunset date.

(e) Requirements after attainment.
This LEIM program shall remain in effect if the area is
redesignated to attainment status, until approval of a
Maintenance Plan, under Section 175A of the Clean Air Act,
which demonstrates that the area can maintain the relevant
standard for the maintenance period (10 years) without benefit
of the emission reductions attributable to the continuation of
the LEIM program.

(f) Definitions
Alternative Fuel Vehicle: Any vehicle capable of operating
on one or more fuels, none of which are gasoline, and which
is subject to emission testing to the same stringency as a
similar gasoline fueled vehicle.

Certified Repair Technician: Automotive repair technician
certified jointly by the College (or other training agencies or
training companies approved by the Department) and the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
and the Division of Motor Vehicles as having passed a
recognized course in emission repair. (See Appendix 7 (a))

Certified Manufacturer Repair Technician:A u t o m o t i v e
repair technician certified by the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control and the Division of
Motor Vehicles, as trained in doing emission repairs on vehicles
of a specific manufacturer. (See Appendix 7 (a))

College:The Delaware Technical and Community College

Compliance Rate: The percentage of vehicles out of the total
number required to be inspected in any given year that have
completed the inspection process to the point of receiving a
final certificate of compliance or a waiver.

Director: The Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles in the
Department of Public Safety.

Division: The Division of Motor Vehicles in the Department of
Public Safety of the State of Delaware.

Department: The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control of the State of Delaware.

Emissions: Products of combustion and fuel evaporation
discharged into the atmosphere from the tailpipe, fuel system

or any emission control component of a motor vehicle.

Emissions Inspection Area: The emissions inspection area
shall constitute the entire counties of New Castle and Kent.

Emissions Standard(s): The maximum concentration of
hydrocarbons (HC), carbon monoxide (CO) or oxides of
nitrogen (NO

X
), or any combination thereof, allowed in the

emissions from a motor vehicle as established by the Secretary,
as described in this regulation.

Failed Motor Vehicle: Any motor vehicle which does not
comply with applicable exhaust emission standards,
evaporative system function check requirements and emission
control device inspection requirements during the initial test
or any retest.

Flexible Fuel Vehicle: Any vehicle capable of operating on
more than one fuel type, one of which includes gasoline, which
must be tested to program standards for gasoline.  This is in
contrast to alternative fuel vehicles.

Going Concern: An individual or business with a primary,
full time interest in the repair of motor vehicles.

GPM: Grams per mile (grams of emissions per mile of travel).

Manufacturer’s Gross Vehicle Weight: The vehicle gross
weight as designated by the manufacturer as the total weight
of the vehicle and its maximum allowable load.

Model Year: The year of manufacture of a vehicle as designated
by the manufacturer, or the model year designation assigned
by the Division to a vehicle constructed by other than the
original manufacturer.

Motor Vehicle: Includes every vehicle, as defined in 21 Del.
Code, Section 101, which is self-propelled, except farm tractors,
off-highway vehicles, motorcycles and mopeds.

Motor Vehicle Technician: A person who has completed an
approved emissions inspection equipment training program
and is employed or under contract with the State of Delaware.

New Motor Vehicle: A motor vehicle of the current or preceding
model year that has never been previously titled or registered
in this or any other jurisdiction and whose ownership document
remains as a manufacturer’s certificate of origin, unregistered
vehicle title.

Official Inspection Station: All official Motor Vehicle Inspection
Stations located in New Castle and Kent counties, operated
by, or under the auspices of, the Division.
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Operator: An employee or contractor of the State of Delaware
performing any function related to motor vehicle inspections
in the State.

Performance Standard: The complete matrix of emission factors
derived from the analysis of the model program as defined in
40 CFR Part 51 Subpart S, by using EPA’s computerized
Mobile5a emission factor model.  This matrix of emission factors
is dependent upon various speeds, pollutants and evaluation
years.

PFI: The Plan for Implementation of Regulation No. 31, which
can be also considered to be the technical support document
for that regulation.

Reasonable Cost: The actual cost of parts and labor which is
necessary to cause the failed motor vehicle to comply with
applicable emissions standards or which contributes towards
compliance.  It shall not include the cost of those repairs
determined by the Division to be necessary due to the alteration
or removal of any part of the emission control system of the
motor vehicle, or due to any damage resulting from the use of
improper fuel in the failed motor vehicle.

Registration Fraud: Any attempt by a vehicle owner or operator
to circumvent the requirements to properly and legally register
any motor vehicle in the State of Delaware.

Secretary: The Secretary of the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control.

Stringency Rate:The tailpipe emission test failure rate
expected in an I/M program among pre-1981 model year
passenger cars or pre-1984 light-duty trucks.

Vehicle Type: EPA classification of motor vehicles by weight
class which includes the terms light duty and heavy duty
vehicle.

Waiver: An exemption issued to a motor vehicle that cannot
comply with the applicable exhaust emissions standard and
cannot be repaired for a reasonable cost.

Waiver Rate: The number of vehicles receiving waivers
expressed as a percentage of vehicles failing the initial exhaust
emission test.

08/13/98
Section 2 -Low Enhanced I/M performance standard.

(a) On-road testing:
The performance standard shall include on-road testing

of at least 0.5% of the subject vehicle population, or 20,000
vehicles whichever is less, as a supplement to the periodic

inspection required in paragraph (a) of  Section 3.  The
requirements are contained in Section 12 of this regulation.
(b) On-board diagnostics (OBD):

[Reserved]

08/13/98
Section 3 - Network type and program evaluation.

(a) The LEIM Program shall be a test-only, centralized system
operated in New Castle and Kent Counties by the State of
Delaware’s Division of Motor Vehicles.

(1) Network type:
Centralized testing.

(2) Start date:
January 1, 1995

(3) Test frequency:
Biennial testing.

(4) Model year coverage:
Idle test of all covered vehicles: Model years 1968 and newer
for light duty vehicles and model years 1970 and newer for
light duty trucks.

(5) Vehicle type coverage:
Light duty vehicles, and light duty trucks, rated up

to 8,500 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR).
(6) Exhaust emission test type:

Idle test of all covered vehicles according to the
requirements found in Appendix 6 (a).

(7) Emission standards:
(Emissions limits according to model year may be

found in Appendix 3 (a) (7) )
Maximum exhaust dilution measured at no less than

6% CO plus carbon dioxide (CO
2
) on all tested vehicles (as

described in Appendix B of the EPA Rule).
(8) Emission control device inspections:

Visual inspection of the catalyst on all 1975 and
later model year vehicles with the exception of new motor
vehicles registered in Delaware.

(9) Evaporative system function checks:
Evaporative system integrity (pressure) test on 1975

and later model year vehicles with the exception of the five
most recent model years.

(10) Stringency:
A 20% emission test failure rate among pre-1981

model year vehicles.
(11) Waiver rate:

A 3%  rate, as a percentage of failed vehicles.
(12) Compliance rate:

A 96% compliance rate.
(13) Evaluation date:

Low enhanced I/M program areas subject to the
provisions of this paragraph shall be shown to obtain the same
or lower emission levels as the model program described in
this paragraph by 2000 for ozone nonattainment areas and
2001 for CO nonattainment areas, and for severe and extreme
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ozone nonattainment areas, on each applicable milestone and
attainment deadline, thereafter.  Milestones for NO

X
  shall be

the same as for ozone.

(b) On-board diagnostics (OBD):
[Reserved]

(c)  Program Evaluation
(1) Program evaluation shall be used in determining

actual emission reductions achieved from the LEIM program
for the purposes of satisfying the requirements of sections
182(g)(1) and 182(g)(2) of the Clean Air Act, relating to
reductions in emissions and compliance demonstration.

(2) Transient mass emission test procedure  [Reserved].

08/13/98
Section 4 - Test frequency and convenience.

(a) The LEIM Program shall be operated on a biennial
frequency, which requires an inspection of each subject vehicle
at least once every two years, regardless of any change in
vehicle status, at an official inspection station.  New vehicles
must be presented for LEIM program testing not more than 36
months after initial titling.

(b) This system of inspections and registration renewals
allows the additional benefit of coupling both enforcement
systems together.  Local, County and State police shall
continue to enforce registration requirements, which shall
require inspection in order to come into compliance.
Requirements of inspection of motor vehicles before receiving
a vehicle registration is found in the Delaware Criminal and
Traffic manual Title 21 Chapter 21.  Violations of registration
provisions and the resulting penalties are found in the Delaware
Criminal and Traffic Law Manual, Title 21, Chapter 21.  One 60
day extension shall be available to allow testing and repair.(See
Appendix 4 (a) for the citations)

(c) Stations shall be open to the public at hours designed for
maximum public convenience.  These hours shall equal a
minimum of 42 hours per week.  Stations shall remain open
continuously through the designated hours, and every vehicle
presented for inspection during these hours shall receive a
test prior to the daily closing of the station.  Testing hours
shall be Monday and Tuesday: 8:00 am to 4:30 pm, Wednesday:
12 noon to 8 pm, Thursday and Friday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.
These hours may be subject to change by the State. Official
inspection stations shall adhere to regular, extended testing
hours and shall test any subject vehicle presented for a test
during its test period.

08/13/98
Section 5 - Vehicle coverage.

(a) Subject Vehicles
The LEIM program is based on coverage of all 1968 and

later model year, gasoline powered, light duty vehicles and
1970 and later model year light duty trucks up to 8,500 pounds
GVWR. The following is the complete description of the LEIM
program:

Vehicles registered or required to be registered within the
emission inspection area, and fleets primarily operated within
the emissions inspection area boundaries and belonging to
the covered model years and vehicle classes comprise the
subject vehicles, which are as follows: (See Appendix 5 (a) for
DMV Out of State Renewals)

(1) All vehicles titled/registered in Delaware from
model year 1968 light duty vehicles and 1970 and later model
year light duty trucks and whose vehicle type are subject to
the applicable test schedule.

(2) All subject fleet vehicles shall be inspected at an
official inspection station.

(3) Subject vehicles which are registered in the program
area but are primarily operated in another LEIM area shall be
tested, either in the area of primary operation, or in the area of
registration.  Alternate schedules may be established to permit
convenient testing of these vehicles (e.g., vehicles belonging
to students away at college should be rescheduled for testing
during a visit home).

(4) Vehicles which are operated on Federal installations
located within an emission inspection shall be tested,
regardless of whether the vehicles are registered in the
emission inspection jurisdiction.  This requirement applies to
all employee-owned or leased vehicles (including vehicles
owned, leased, or operated by civilian and military personnel
on Federal installations) as well as agency-owned or operated
vehicles, except tactical military vehicles, operated on the
installation.  This requirement shall not apply to visiting agency,
employee, or military personnel vehicles as long as such visits
do not exceed 60 calendar days per year.  In areas without test
fees collected in the lane, arrangements shall be made by the
installation with the LEIM program for reimbursement of the
costs of tests provided for agency vehicles, at the discretion
of the Director.  The installation manager shall provide
documentation of proof of compliance to the Director.  The
documentation shall include a list of subject vehicles and shall
be updated periodically, as determined by the Director, but no
less frequently than each inspection cycle.  The installation
shall use one of the following methods to establish proof of
compliance:

(i) Presentation of a valid certificate of compliance
from the LEIM program, from any other LEIM program at least
as stringent as the LEIM program described herein, or from
any program deemed acceptable by the Director.

(ii) Presentation of proof of vehicle registration
within the geographic area covered by the LEIM program,
except for any Inspection and Maintenance program whose
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enforcement is not through registration denial.

(iii) Another method approved by the Director.
(5) Vehicles powered solely by a “clean fuel” such as

compressed natural gas, propane, alcohol and similar non-
gasoline fuels shall be required to report for inspection to the
same emission levels as gasoline powered cars until standards
for clean fuel vehicles become available and are adopted by
the State.

(6) Vehicles able to be powered by more than one fuel,
such as compressed natural gas and/or gasoline, must be tested
and pass emissions standards for all fuels when such
standards have become adopted by the Department..

(b) Exemptions
The following motor vehicles are exempt from the

provisions of this regulation:
(1) Vehicles manufactured and registered as Kit Cars
(2) Tactical military vehicles used exclusively for military

field operations.
(3) All motor vehicles with a manufacturer’s gross

vehicle weight over 8,500  pounds.
(4) All motorcycles and mopeds
(5) All vehicles powered solely by electricity generated

from solar cells and/or stored in batteries.
(6) Non-road sources, or vehicles not operated on public

roads
(7) Vehicles powered solely by Diesel fuel.

(c) Any exemption from inspection requirements issued to a
vehicle under this Section shall not have an expiration date
and shall expire only upon a change in the vehicle status for
which the exemption was initially granted.

(d) Fleet owners are required to have all non-exempted
vehicles under their control inspected at an official inspection
station during regular station hours.

(e) Vehicles shall be pre-inspected prior to the emission
inspection, and shall be prohibited from testing should any
unsafe conditions be found.  These unsafe conditions include,
but are not limited to significant exhaust leaks, and significant
fluid leaks.  The Division and the Department shall not be
responsible for major vehicle component failures during the
test, of parts which were deficient or excessively worn prior to
the start of the test.

08/13/98
Section 6 -Test procedures and standards.

(a) Test procedure requirements. (The test procedure use to
perform this test shall conform to the requirements shown in
Appendix 6 (a) ).

(1) Initial tests (i.e., those occurring for the first time in a
test cycle) shall be performed without repair or adjustment at

the inspection facility, prior to the test.
(2) An official test, once initiated, shall be performed in

its entirety regardless of intermediate outcomes except in the
case of invalid test condition or unsafe conditions.

(3) Tests involving measurements shall be performed
with equipment that has been calibrated according to the
quality control procedures established by the Department

(4) Vehicles shall be rejected from testing, as covered in
this section, if the exhaust system is missing or leaking, or if
the vehicle is in an unsafe condition for testing.

(5) After an initial failure of any portion of any emission
test in the LEIM program, all vehicles shall be retested without
repairs being  performed.  This retest shall be indicated on the
records as the second chance test. After failure of the second
chance test, prior to any subsequent retests, proof of
appropriate repairs must be submitted indicating the type of
repairs and parts installed (if any).  This shall be done by
completing the “Vehicle Emissions Repair Report Form”
(Appendix 6 (a) (5) which will be distributed to anyone failing
the emissions test.)

(6) Idle testing using BAR 90 emission analyzers
(analyzers that have been certified by the California Bureau of
Automotive Repair) shall be performed on all 1968 through
current (minus three years) model year vehicles in New Castle
and Kent Counties.

(7) Emission control device inspection.
Visual emission control device checks shall be performed
through direct observation or through indirect observation
using a mirror.  These inspections shall include a determination
as to whether each subject device is present.

(8) Evaporative System Integrity Test. Vehicles shall fail
the evaporative system integrity test(s) if the system(s) cannot
maintain the equivalent pressure of eight inches of water using
USEPA approved fast pass methodology.  Additionally,
vehicles shall fail evaporative system integrity testing if the
canister is missing or obviously disconnected, the hoses are
crimped off, or the fuel cap is missing. Evaporative system
integrity test procedure  is found in See Appendix 6 (a) (8) .

(9) On-board diagnostic checks.
[Reserved]

(b) Test standards
(1) Emissions standards.
HC, CO, CO+CO

2
 (or CO

2
 alone), emission standards

shall be applicable to all vehicles subject to the LEIM program
and repairs shall be required for failure of any standard
regardless of the attainment status of the area.

(i) Steady-state short tests.
Appropriate model program standards shall be used

in idle testing of vehicles from model years 1968 light duty
vehicles and model years 1970 light duty trucks and newer.

(2) Visual equipment inspection standards performed
by the Motor Vehicle Technician.

(i) Vehicles shall fail visual inspections of subject
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emission control devices if such devices are part of the original
certified configuration and are found to be missing, modified,
disconnected, or improperly connected.

(3) On-board diagnostics test standards.
[Reserved].

(c) Applicability.
In general, section 203(a)(3)(A) of the Clean Air Act

prohibits altering a vehicle’s configuration such that it
changes from a certified to a non-certified configuration.  In
the inspection process, vehicles that have been altered from
their original certified configuration are to be tested by the
Motor Vehicle Technician in the same manner as other subject
vehicles.

(1) Vehicles with engines of a model year older than the
chassis model year shall be required to pass the standards
commensurate with the chassis model year.

(2) Vehicles that have been switched from an engine of
one fuel type to another fuel type that is subject to the LEIM
program (e.g., from a diesel engine to a gasoline engine) shall
be subject to the test procedures and standards for the current
fuel type, and to the requirements of paragraph (c)(1) of this
section.

(3) Vehicles that are switched to a fuel type for which
there is no certified configuration shall be tested according to
the most stringent emission standards established for that
vehicle type and model year.  Emission control device
requirements may be waived if the Division determines that
the alternatively fueled vehicle configuration would meet the
new vehicle standards for that model year without such
devices.

(4) Vehicles converted to run on alternate fuels,
frequently called a dual-fuel vehicle, shall be tested and required
to pass the most stringent standard for each fuel type.

(5) Mixing vehicle classes (e.g., light-duty with
heavy-duty) and certification types (e.g., California with
Federal) within a single vehicle configuration shall be
considered tampering.

08/13/98
Section 7 - Waivers and compliance via diagnostic inspection.

(a) Waiver issuance criteria.
(1) Motorists shall expend a reasonable cost, as defined

in Section 1 of this Regulation in order to qualify for a waiver.
Effective January 1, 1997 for vehicles registered in New Castle
County and July 1, 1997 for vehicles registered in Kent County,
in order to qualify for waiver repairs on any 1981 or later model
year vehicle shall be performed by a certified repair technician
or a certified manufacturer repair technician, as defined in
Section 1 of this regulation, and must have been appropriate
to correct the emission failure.  Repairs of primary emission
control components may be performed by non-technicians
(e.g., owners) to apply toward the waiver limit.  The waiver

would apply to the cost of parts for the repair or replacement
of the following list of emission control component systems:
Air induction system (air filter, oxygen sensor), catalytic
converter system (convertor, preheat catalyst), thermal reactor,
EGR system (valve, passage/hose, sensor) PCV System, air
injection system (air pump, check valve), ignition system
(distributor, ignition wires, coil, spark plugs).  The cost of any
hoses, gaskets, belts, clamps, brackets or other emission
accessories directly associated with these components may
also be applied to the waiver limit.

(2) Any available warranty coverage shall be used to
obtain needed repairs before expenditures can be counted
towards the cost limits in paragraph (a)(4) of this section.  The
operator of a vehicle within the statutory age and mileage
coverage under section 207(b) of the Clean Air Act shall
present a written denial of warranty coverage from the
manufacturer or authorized dealer for this provision to be
waived for approved tests applicable to the vehicle.

(3) Receipts shall be submitted for review to further verify
that qualifying repairs were performed.

(4) A minimum expenditure for repairs  of $75 for pre-81
model year vehicles or a minimum expenditure  of $200 for 1981
model year and newer vehicles shall be spent in order to qualify
for a waiver.  The minimum repair cost for  1981 and newer
vehicles shall increase to $450 starting January 1, 2000. For
each subsequent year,  the $450 minimum expenditure shall be
adjusted in January of that year by the percentage, if any, by
which the Consumer Price Index for the preceding calendar
year differs from the Consumer Price Index for 1989.

(5) The issuance of a waiver applies only to those
vehicles failing an exhaust emission tests.  No waivers are
granted to vehicles failing the evaporative emission integrity
test.

(6) Waivers shall be issued by the Division Director
only after:

(i) a vehicle has failed a retest for only the exhaust
emissions portions of the program, performed after all
qualifying repairs have been completed;

(iii)  and a minimum of 10% improvement (reduction)
in hydrocarbons (HC) and carbon monoxide (CO) has resulted
from those repairs. This requirement [Section 7 (a) (6) (ii)] will
cease to be  in effect starting January 1, 2000.

(7) Qualifying repairs include repairs of primary
emission control components performed within 90 days of
the test date.

(8) Waivers issued pursuant to this regulation are valid
until the date of current registration expiration.

(9) Waivers will not be issued to vehicles for
tampering-related repairs.  The cost of tampering-related repairs
shall not be applicable to the minimum expenditure in paragraph
(a)(4) of this section.  The Director will issue exemptions for
tampering-related repairs if it can be verified that the part in
question or one similar to it is no longer available for sale
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(b) Compliance via diagnostic inspection.

Vehicles subject to an emission test at the cutpoints
shown in Appendix 3 (a)(7) of Regulation 31 may be issued a
certificate of compliance without meeting the prescribed
emission cutpoints, if, after failing a retest on emissions, a
complete, documented physical and functional diagnosis and
inspection performed by a Delaware Certified Emission  Repair
Technician shows that no additional emission-related repairs
are needed.

(c) (1) In order to meet the requirements of the EPA Rule,
the State commits to maintaining a waiver rate equal to or less
than 3% of the failed vehicles.

(2) The Secretary shall take corrective action to lower
the waiver rate should the actual rate reported to EPA be above
3%.

(3) Actions to achieve the 3% waiver rate, if required,
shall include measures such as not issuing waivers on vehicles
less than 6 years old, raising minimum expenditure rates, and
limiting waivers to once every four years.  If the waiver rate
cannot be lowered to levels committed to in the SIP, or if the
State chooses not to implement measures to do so, then the
Secretary shall revise the I/M emission reduction projections
in the SIP and shall implement other LEIM program changes
needed to ensure the performance standard is met.

08/13/98
Section 8 - Motorist compliance enforcement.

(a) Registration denial.
Registration denial enforcement (See Appendix 8 (a),

the Systems Requirement Definition  for the Registration
Denial process) is defined as rejecting an application for
initial registration or re-registration of a used vehicle (i.e., a
vehicle being registered after the initial retail sale and
associated registration) unless the vehicle has complied with
the LEIM program requirement prior to granting the
application. This enforcement is the express responsibility
of the Division with the assistance of police agencies for on
road inspection and verification. The law governing the
registration of motor vehicles is found in the Delaware
Criminal and Traffic Law Manual, Title 21, Chapter 21.
Pursuant to section 207(g)(3) of the Act, nothing in this
section shall be construed to require that new vehicles shall
receive emission testing prior to initial retail sale.  In
designing its enforcement program, the Director shall:

(1) Provide an external, readily visible means of
determining vehicle compliance with the registration
requirement to facilitate enforcement of the LEIM program.
This shall be in the form of a window sticker and tag sticker
which clearly indicate the vehicles compliance status and next
inspection date;

(2) Adopt a schedule of biennial testing that clearly
determines when a vehicle shall have to be inspected to comply

prior to (re)registration;
(3) Design a registration denial system which features

the electronic transfer of information from the inspection lanes
to the Division’s Data Base, and monitors the following
information:

(i) Expiration date of the registration;
(ii) Unambiguous vehicle identification information;

and
(iii) Whether the vehicle received either a waiver or

a certificate of compliance, and;
(iv) The Division’s unique windshield certificate

identification number to verify authenticity; and
(v) The Division shall finally check the inspection

data base to ensure all program requirements have been met
before issuing a vehicle registration.

(4) Ensure that evidence of testing is available and
checked for validity at the time of a new registration of a used
vehicle or registration renewal.

(5) Prevent owners or lessors from avoiding testing
through manipulation of the title or registration system;  title
transfers do not re-start the clock on the inspection cycle.

(6) Limit and track the use of time extensions of the
registration requirement to only one 60 day extension per
vehicle to prevent repeated extensions.

(b) (1) (i) Owners of subject vehicles must provide valid
proof of having received a passing test or a waiver to the
Director’s representative in order to receive registration from
the Division.

(ii) State and local enforcement branches, such as
police agencies, as part of this program, shall cite motorist
who do not visibly display evidence of compliance with the
registration and inspection requirements.

(iii) Fleet and all other registered applicable vehicle
compliance shall be assured through the regular enforcement
mechanisms concurrent with registration renewal, on-road
testing and parking lot observation.  Fleets shall be inspected
at official inspection stations.

(iv) Federal fleet compliance shall be assured
through the cooperation of the federal fleet managers as well
as also being subject to regular enforcement operations of
the Division.

08/13/98
Section 9 - Enforcement against operators and motor vehicle
technicians.

(a) Imposition of penalties
The State of Delaware shall continue to operate the

LEIM program using State of Delaware Employees for all
functions.  Should enforcement actions be required for
violations of program requirements, the Agreement between
State of Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle
Division and Council 81 of the American Federation of State,
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County and Municipal Employees, Section 8, Disciplinary
Action, and, the State of Delaware Merit Rules, shall be
adhered to in all matters.  Applicable provisions of these
documents are found in Appendix 9 (a).

(b) Legal authority.
(1) The Director shall have the authority to temporarily

suspend station Motor Vehicle Technicians’ certificates
immediately upon finding a violation or upon finding the Motor
Vehicle Technician administered emission tests with equipment
which had a known failure and that directly affects emission
reduction benefits, in accordance with the Agreement between
State of Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle
Division and Council 81 of the American Federation of State,
County and Municipal Employees, Section 8 Disciplinary
Action.

(2) The Director shall have the authority to impose
disciplinary action against the station manager or the Motor
Vehicle Technician, even if the manager had no direct
knowledge of the violation but was found to be careless in
oversight of motor vehicle technicians or has a history of
violations, in accordance with the Agreement between State
of Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle
Division and Council 81 of the American Federation of State,
County and Municipal Employees, and the State of Delaware
Merit Rules.  The lane manager shall be held fully responsible
for performance of the motor vehicle technician in the course
of duty.

08/13/98
Section 10 - Improving repair effectiveness.

A prerequisite for a retest shall be a completed repair form that
indicates which repairs were performed. (See Section 6 (a) (5)
of this Regulation).

08/13/98
Section 11 - Compliance with recall notices.

[Reserved]

08/13/98
Section 12 - On-road testing.

(a) Periodic random Delaware registered vehicle pullovers
on Delaware highways will occur without prior notice to the
public for on-road vehicle exhaust emission testing.

(b) Vehicles identified by the on-road testing portion of the
LEIM program shall be notified of the requirement for an out-
of-cycle emission retest , and shall have 30 days from the date
of the notice to appear for inspection.  Vehicles not appearing
for a retest shall be out of compliance, and be liable for penalties
under Title 21 of  Delaware Criminal and Traffic Law Manual
and the Division will take action to suspend the vehicle

registration.

08/13/98
Section 13 - Implementation deadlines.

All requirements related to the LEIM program shall be effective
ten days after the Secretary’s order has been signed and
published in the State Register.  This regulation supersedes
the existing Regulation Numbers 26 and 33 for Kent and New
Castle Counties effective ten days after the Secretary’s order
has been signed and published in the State Register.

APPENDIX 1 (d)

Commitment to Extend the I/M Program to the Attainment
Date Letter from Secretary Tulou to EPA Regional

Administrator,  W. Michael McCabe

July 8, 1998

Mr. W. Michael McCabe
Regional Administrator
EPA, Region III
841 Chestnut Building
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Dear Mr. McCabe:

This correspondence is  to address one of the cited
deficiencies published in the May 19, 1997 EPA rulemaking,
concerning Delaware’s Inspection and Maintenance
regulation.   I understand that this letter will address the
following deficiency:

Provide a statement from an authorized official that
the authority to implement Delaware’s I/M program
as stated above will continue through the attainment
date . . .

The Delaware I/M regulation has no sunset provision
and there is nothing in the Delaware statute  that requires our
regulations to have a sunset date nor  to be reauthorized in
order to continue beyond a sunset date.

We fully expect, barring the repeal of  7 Del. Chapter
67, the Delaware I/M regulation will be implemented to the
full extent of the law through the attainment date and most
likely through the maintenance period when that occurs.

Please feel free to contact Darryl Tyler, Program
Administrator of the Air Quality Management Section at (302)
739-4791, if you should have any questions.

Sincerely,
Christophe A. G. Tulou, Secretary
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cc: Jeffrey W. Bullock, Governor’s Chief of Staff

J. Jonathan Jones, Governor’s Policy Assistant for Federal
Affairs

Secretary Karen L. Johnson, Delaware Department of
Public Safety

Secretary Anne P. Canby, Delaware Department of
Transportation

APPENDIX 3 - (a)(7)
EXHAUST EMISSION LIMITS ACCORDING TO MODEL

YEAR

Group Auto/Station Wagons          Pickup/Van HC CO
(passenger vehicles)           under 8501#Limit Limit

(ppm) %

1 1968-70         1970-72 900 9.00
2 1971-74         1973-78 600 6.00
3 1975-79         1979-83 400 4.00
4 1980         (none) 220 2.00
5 1981 +         1984 + 220 1.20

APPENDIX 4 (a)
SECTIONS FROM DELAWARE CRIMINAL AND
TRAFFIC LAW MANUAL PENALTIES FOR NON-

COMPLIANCE OF VEHICLE REGISTRATION

21 Del. C. 21, §§  2115, 2116

§ 2115
“No person shall:

(1) Operate or, being the owner of any motor vehicle,
trailer or semitrailer, knowingly permit the operation upon a
highway of any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer which is
not registered or which does not have attached thereto and
displayed thereon the number plate or plates assigned thereto
by the Department and unexpired registration plate or plates,
subject to the exemptions allowed in this title, or under
temporary or limited permits as otherwise provided by this
title;

(2) Display or cause or permit to be displayed or have
in possession any registration card, number plate or
registration plate, knowing the same to be fictitious or to
have been canceled, revoked, suspended or altered;

(3) Lend to, or knowingly permit the use by, one not
entitled thereto any registration card, number plate or
registration plate issued to the person so lending or permitting
the use thereof;

(4) Fail or refuse to surrender to the Department upon
demand any registration card, number plate or registration
plate which has been suspended, canceled or revoked as
provided in this title;

(5) Use a false or fictitious name or address in any
application for the registration or inspection of any vehicle,

or for any renewal or duplicate thereof, or for any certificate
or transfer of title, or knowingly make a false statement,
knowingly conceal a material fact or otherwise commit a
fraud in any such application;

(6) Drive or move or, being the owner, cause or
knowingly permit to be driven or moved, on any highway any
vehicle or combination of vehicles which is in such unsafe
condition as to endanger any person or which is equipped in
any manner in violation of this title, but the provisions of
this title with respect to equipment on vehicles shall not apply
to implements of husbandry, road machinery, road rollers or
farm tractors except as herein made applicable;

(7) Own or operate any qualified motor vehicle as
defined under the International Registration Plan, as
authorized in Chapter 4 of this title, not properly displaying
an apportioned plate with required registration credentials,
or operate a qualified motor vehicle without having in that
person’s possession a trip permit registration as authorized
in §  2103(6) of this title. Any person who violates this
subsection shall, for the first offense, be fined not less than
$115 nor more than $345, and for each subsequent offense
not less than $345 nor more than $575. In addition, such
person shall also be fined in an amount which is equal to the
cost of registering the vehicle at its gross weight at the time
of the offense or at the maximum legal limit, whichever is
less, which fine shall be suspended if, within 5 days of the
offense, the court is presented with a valid registration card
for the gross weight at the time of the offense or the
maximum legal limit for such vehicle.

(8) Do any act forbidden or fail to perform any act
required under this chapter. (36 Del. Laws, c. 10, § 25; 40
Del. Laws, c. 38, §  10; Code 1935, § 5563; 43 Del. Laws, c.
244, § 14; 21 Del. C. 1953, § 2115; 49 Del. Laws, c. 220, §
21; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 202, § 2.)

Revisor’s note.—Section 3 of 70 Del. Laws, c. 202,
effective July 10, 1995, provides: “If any provision of this act
or the application thereof to any person or circumstances is
held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions
or applications of the act which can be given effect without
the invalid provision or application, and to that end the
provisions  of this act are declared to be severable.”

Effect of amendments.—70 Del. Laws, c. 202, effective
July 10, 1995, inserted present (7) and redesignated former (7)
as (8).”

§ 2116
“(a) Whoever violates this chapter shall, for the first

offense, be fined not less than $10 nor more than $100 or be
imprisoned not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days o;
both. For each subsequent like offense, the person shall be
fined not less than $50 nor more than $200 or imprisoned
not less than 90 days nor more than 6 months or both, in
addition to which any person, being the operator or owner of



248

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 2, SATURDAY, AUGUST 1, 1998

FINAL REGULATIONS
any vehicle which requires a registration fee which is
calculated upon the gross weight of the vehicle and any load
thereon shall be fined at a rate double that which is set forth
in this subsection and be imprisoned as provided herein or
both. In addition, such person shall also be fined in an amount
which is equal to the cost of registering the vehicle at its
gross weight at the time of the offense or at the maximum
legal limit, whichever is less; which fine shall be suspended,
if within 5 days of the offense the court is presented with a
valid registration card for the gross weight at the time of the
offense for the maximum legal limit for such vehicle.

(b)(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection
(a) of this section, whoever violates § 2115(1)-(5) of this
title shall, for the first offense, be fined not less than $50
nor more than $200, be imprisoned not less than 30 days nor
more than 90 days, or be penalized by both fine and
imprisonment. For each subsequent like offense, such person
shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $300, be
imprisoned not less than 90 days nor more than 6 months, or
be penalized by both fine and imprisonment.

(2) Any owner or operator of a vehicle which
requires a registration fee which is calculated upon the gross
weight of the vehicle, and any load thereon, and who violates
§  2115(1)-(5) of this title, shall be fined at a rate double that
which is set forth in this subsection, or be imprisoned as
provided herein, or be both fined and imprisoned. In addition,
such person shall also be fined an amount which is equal to
the costs of registering the vehicle either at its gross weight at
the time of the offense, or at the maximum legal limit, whichever
is less. Such fine shall be suspended if, within 5 days of the
offense, the court is presented with a valid registration card
for the actual gross weight of the vehicle at the time of the
offense.

(c) This section shall not apply to violations for which
a specific punishment is set forth elsewhere in this chapter.

(d) For any violation of the registration provisions of §
2102 or § 2115 of this subchapter and in absence of any
traffic offenses relating to driver impairment’ the violator’s
copy of the traffic summons shall act as that violator’s
authority to drive the vehicle involved by the most direct route
from the place of arrest to either the violator’s residence or
the violator’s current place of abode. (36 Del. Laws, c. 10, §
32; 37 Del. Laws, c. 10, §§ 10, 11; Code 1935, § 5570; 21
Del. C. 1953, § 2116; 59 Del. Laws, c. 332, §§ 1, 2; 64 Del.
Laws, c. 207, § 2; 69 Del. Laws, c. 307, §§ 1, 3, 4.).”

Appendix 5 (a)

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES POLICY ON OUT-OF-
STATE RENEWALS

The following is the Division’s policy for accomplishing
a registration renewal on a vehicle located outside the State

of Delaware when the vehicle owner is unable to return the
vehicle for inspection prior to the renewal date.  Vehicles
located within a 200 mile radius of a Division of Motor
Vehicles facility will be inspected at a division inspection
station  prior to renewal.  All other vehicles may be renewed
by accomplishing the following procedures:

(1) Refer all inquiries on out-of-state renewal to the
Dover Correspondence Office (739-3147).  Normally,
customers will be provided the out-of-state renewal package
by the Dover Administrative Office Correspondence Section.
Lane locations may provide the renewal package to walk-in
customers, but the completed paperwork must be mailed to
Dover for processing.

(2) When all documents are completed and the vehicle
has passed inspection, copies of the Application for Out-of-
State Registration and the inspection report (MV Form 210(a)
will be provided to Dover Lane (Tom Kersey) and DNREC
Air Quality  Section (Phil Wheeler).

(3) Tom Kersey or his designated representative will
load the inspection information on the MV210(a) form into
the computer system.  The MV210(a) form will be saved for
two years by the Dover lane.

(4) When the inspection information has been loaded,
Tom Kersey will send a Vehicle Inspection Report to Dover
Correspondence, the renewal can be completed and the
registration card and plate sticker can be mailed to the
customer.

(5) All documents will be saved by the Registration
Correspondence Section for two years.

(6) Random audit procedures:  Correspondents prior
to renewing selected vehicles will call the inspection station
and inspector shown on the MV210(a) form.  One out of
every ten vehicles will be selected to verify the vehicle was
inspected.  The verification will be conducted prior to sending
copies to DNREC and Dover lane.  Indicate on the bottom of
Page 2 of the form  the date and time of verification and the
name of the person performing the verification.  Sandy Tracy
will be in charge of the verification and selection process.

APPENDIX 6 (a) IDLE TEST PROCEDURE

From 40 CFR 51 Appendix B to Subpart S —  Test
Procedures

(I) Idle Test
(a) General requirements.  (1)  Exhaust gas sampling

algorithm.  The analysis of exhaust gas concentrations shall
begin 10 seconds after the applicable test mode begins.
Exhaust gas concentrations shall be analyzed at a minimum
rate of two times per second.  The measured value for pass/fail
determinations shall be a simple running average of the
measurements taken over five seconds.

(2) Pass/fail determination.  A pass or fail
determination shall be made for each applicable test mode
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based on a comparison of the short test standards contained
in Appendix C to this subpart, and the measured value for HC
and CO as described in paragraph (I)(a)(1) of this appendix.
A vehicle shall pass the test mode if any pair of simultaneous
measured values for HC and CO are below or equal to the
applicable short test standards.  A vehicle shall fail the test
mode if the values for either HC or CO, or both, in all
simultaneous pairs of values are above the applicable
standards.

(3) Void test conditions.  The test shall immediately
end and any exhaust gas measurements shall be voided if the
measured concentration of CO plus CO2 falls below six percent
or the vehicle’s engine stalls at any time during the test
sequence.

(4) Multiple exhaust pipes.  Exhaust gas
concentrations from vehicle engines equipped with multiple
exhaust pipes shall be sampled simultaneously.

(5) The test shall be immediately terminated upon
reaching the overall maximum test time.

(b) Test sequence.  (1)  The test sequence shall consist
of a first-chance test and a second-chance test as follows:

(i) The first-chance test, as described under
paragraph (c) of this section, shall consist of an idle mode.

(ii) The second-chance test as described under
paragraph (I)(d) of this appendix shall be performed only if
the vehicle fails the first-chance test.

(2) The test sequence shall begin only after the
following requirements are met:

(i) The vehicle shall be tested in as-received
condition with the transmission in neutral or park and all
accessories turned off.  The engine shall be at normal
operating temperature (as indicated by a temperature gauge,
temperature lamp, touch test on the radiator hose, or other
visual observation for overheating).

(ii) The tachometer shall be attached to the
vehicle in accordance with the analyzer manufacturer’s
instructions.

(iii) The sample probe shall be inserted into the
vehicle’s tailpipe to a minimum depth of 10 inches.  If the
vehicle’s exhaust system prevents insertion to this depth, a
tailpipe extension shall be used.

(iv) The measured concentration of CO plus
CO2 shall be greater than or equal to six percent.

(c) First-chance test.  The test timer shall start (tt=0)
when the conditions specified in paragraph (I)(b)(2) of this
appendix are met.  The first-chance test shall have an overall
maximum test time of 145 seconds (tt=145).  The first-chance
test shall consist of an idle mode only.

(1) The mode timer shall start (mt=0) when the
vehicle engine speed is between 350 and 1100 rpm.  If engine
speed exceeds 1100 rpm or falls below 350 rpm, the mode
timer shall reset to zero and resume timing.  The minimum
mode length shall be determined as described under paragraph
(I)(c)(2) of this appendix.  The maximum mode length shall

be 90 seconds elapsed time (mt=90).
(2) The pass/fail analysis shall begin after an elapsed

time of 10 seconds (mt=10).  A pass or fail determination
shall be made for the vehicle and the mode shall be terminated
as follows:

(i) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode and
the test shall be immediately terminated if, prior to an elapsed
time of 30 seconds (mt=30), measured values are less than
or equal to 100 ppm HC and 0.5 percent CO.

(ii) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode and
the test shall be terminated at the end of an elapsed time of
30 seconds (mt=30), if prior to that time the criteria of
paragraph (I)(c)(2)(i) of this appendix are not satisfied and
the measured values are less than or equal to the applicable
short test standards as described in paragraph (I)(a)(2) of this
appendix.

(iii) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode and
the test shall be immediately terminated if, at any point
between an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and 90
seconds (mt=90), the measured values are less than or equal
to the applicable short test standards as described in paragraph
(I)(a)(2) of this appendix.

(iv) The vehicle shall fail the idle mode and the
test shall be terminated if none of the provisions of paragraphs
(I)(c)(2)(i), (ii) and (iii) of this appendix is satisfied by an
elapsed time of 90 seconds (mt=90).  Alternatively, the
vehicle may be failed if the provisions of paragraphs
(I)(c)(2)(i) and (ii) of this appendix are not met within an
elapsed time of 30 seconds.

(v) Optional.  The vehicle may fail the
first-chance test and the second-chance test shall be omitted
if no exhaust gas concentration lower than 1800 ppm HC is
found by an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30).

(d) Second-chance test.  If the vehicle fails the
first-chance test, the test timer shall reset to zero (tt=0) and a
second-chance test shall be performed.  The second-chance
test shall have an overall maximum test time of 425 seconds
(tt=425).  The test shall consist of a preconditioning mode
followed immediately by an idle mode.

(1) Preconditioning mode.  The mode timer shall
start (mt=0) when the engine speed is between 2200 and 2800
rpm.  The mode shall continue for an elapsed time of 180
seconds (mt=180).  If engine speed falls below 2200 rpm or
exceeds 2800 rpm for more than five seconds in any one
excursion, or 15 seconds over all excursions, the mode timer
shall reset to zero and resume timing.

(2) Idle mode.  (i)  Ford Motor Company and Honda
vehicles.  The engines of 1981-1987 Ford Motor Company
vehicles and 1984-1985 Honda Preludes shall be shut off for
not more than 10 seconds and restarted.  This procedure may
also be used for 1988-1989 Ford Motor Company vehicles but
should not be used for other vehicles.  The probe may be
removed from the tailpipe or the sample pump turned off if
necessary to reduce analyzer fouling during the restart
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procedure.

(ii) The mode timer shall start (mt=0) when
the vehicle engine speed is between 350 and 1100 rpm.  If
engine speed exceeds 1100 rpm or falls below 350 rpm, the
mode timer shall reset to zero and resume timing.  The
minimum idle mode length shall be determined as described
in paragraph (I)(d)(2)(iii) of this appendix.  The maximum
idle mode length shall be 90 seconds elapsed time (mt=90).

(iii) The pass/fail analysis shall begin after an
elapsed time of 10 seconds (mt=10).  A pass or fail
determination shall be made for the vehicle and the idle mode
shall be terminated as follows:

(A) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode
and the test shall be immediately terminated if, prior to an
elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30), measured values are
less than or equal to 100 ppm HC and 0.5 percent CO.

(B) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode
and the test shall be terminated at the end of an elapsed time
of 30 seconds (mt=30), if prior to that time the criteria of
paragraph (I)(d)(2)(iii)(A) of this appendix are not satisfied
and the measured values are less than or equal to the
applicable short test standards as described in paragraph
(I)(a)(2) of this appendix.

(C) The vehicle shall pass the idle mode
and the test shall be immediately terminated if, at any point
between an elapsed time of 30 seconds (mt=30) and 90
seconds (mt=90), measured values are less than or equal to
the applicable short test standards described in paragraph
(I)(a)(2) of this appendix.

(D) The vehicle shall fail the idle mode and
the test shall be terminated if none of the provisions of
paragraphs (I)(d)(2)(iii)(A), (d)(2)(iii)(B), and (d)(2)(iii)(C)
of this appendix.

(E) Are satisfied by an elapsed time of 90
seconds (mt=90).

APPENDIX 6 (a) (5)
Vehicle Emission Repair Report Form

* FOR INFORMATION  ABOUT THE FORM PLEASE CONTACT  THE

DEPARTMENT  OF NATURAL  RESOURCES & E NVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL .

APPENDIX 6 (a)(8)
EVAPORATIVE SYSTEM INTEGRITY (PRESSURE) TEST

ESP Alternative Pressure Test

The EPA has defined an evaporative pressure test that involves
removing hoses from the charcoal canister. An alternative,
less intrusive test technique has been developed by ESP. The
EPA pressure test is performed by removing the gas tank fuel

vapor vent line from the charcoal canister and pressurizing
the gas tank through this line with nitrogen gas. The pressure
in the gas tank is then monitored for two minutes and if the
pressure drops below a specified level, the vehicle is failed.
The canister is often difficult to access and the vent hoses
difficult to remove and replace. The alternative test consists
of pressurizing the gas tank from the gas tank filler neck
instead of the canister. The gas cap is removed and replaced
by a gas cap adapter through which the fuel tank is filled with
nitrogen gas. The vent hose is clamped at the canister, the
gas tank is pressurized and the pressure in the tank monitored
for two minutes. Clamping the hose rather than removing it
is less likely to lead to breakage or hoses left disconnected,
reducing the liability arising from the test procedure. The
gas cap is tested on a test rig where the gas cap can be
pressurized on its own. Removing the gas cap and pressurizing
the tank from the filler neck has the following advantages:

Half of the leaks in the gas tank occur in the gas cap. On those
vehicles where the canister and vent lines are inaccessible,
50% of the emissions reduction available from the evaporative
system integrity check can be achieved by just testing the gas
cap.

Testing the gas cap separately allows leaking gas caps to be
identified. The customer can be recommended to replace the
gas cap rather than pay to have a repair station isolate the
cause of the leak.

The test is less intrusive as the vapor line to the charcoal
canister is clamped off rather than removed. On some vehicles
the vapor line can be reached even when the canister:, itself is
inaccessible.  The gas tank can be more rapidly pressurized
through the large filler neck opening than from the canister as
the vapor line to the tank typically has a narrow orifice in the
line. This is particularly important when pressurizing the large
vapor space in nearly empty gas tanks. The more rapid pressure
test potentially increases the throughput of the lane. The ESP
method will result in a 50% time saving in the fill time or
approximately 30 seconds. The 30 second time saving in the
multi-position lane will result in a lane throughput increase of
one to two vehicles per hour.

The ESP Alternative Pressure Test is a more accurate test
because it compensates for the volume of vapor space. During
the development of this technique, ESP discovered that
differences in fuel level in the gas tank can result in an order of
magnitude change in test results. ESP’s alternative approach
is designed to compensate for the pressure drop change of
the vapor space condition. Without the ESP method of testing,
it is expected that errors of omission and commission will result.
The variability of the test results derived from the EPA
prescribed method will result in problems such as, customer
complaints for “Ping-Pong” effects and general public
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dissatisfaction with the program. To further reduce the problem
of ping-ponging, ESP has developed a pressure drop table for
repair stations, that will enable the repair technicians to perform
the pressure test with a much higher degree of correlation to
the centralized test.

APPENDIX 7 (a)
EMISSION REPAIR TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION

PROCESS

Effective January 1, 1997 for vehicles registered in New
Castle County and July 1, 1997 for vehicles registered in
Kent County, in order to qualify for waiver repairs on any
1981 or later model year vehicle shall be performed by a
certified repair technician or a certified manufacturer repair
technician, as defined in Section 1 of this regulation.   The
cost of such repairs must total no less than $200.  Under the
policy developed by the Department, a Certified Emission
Repair Technician may be certified as trained to do repairs
on all makes of vehicles or vehicles of a specific
manufacturer.  Auto repair technicians seeking to become
certified under Regulation 31 have the following options in
attaining the certification:

1. All those applying for certification can “test out” and
gain certification without further emission repair training as
provided by the College or Auto Manufacturer or other training
organization.  The “test out” process is administered by the
College as follows:

• Applicants without L1 ASE (Automobile Service
Excellence) certification must first take the “Fundamental
Inspection Repair System Training” final exam.  Those
achieving a score of 75% or better are eligible to take the
“Delaware Emission Education Program” certification exam.

• Applicants achieving a score of 75% or better on
the certification exam will become certified on all makes of
vehicles.  Applicants with L1 ASE certification can test out
by taking the “Delaware Emission Education Program”
certification exam ONLY.

2. The testing procedure discussed above will determined
what, if any, training is needed for applicants seeking
certification.

• Technicians scoring below 75% on the
“Fundamental Inspection Repair System Training” final exam
must take a 60 hour fundamental emission repair training
course provided by the College.

• Those completing the 60 hour program and scoring
75% or better on the final exam can advance into a 40 hour
class which is  the next level of training, or attempt to test
out and take the certification exam, scoring 75% or better to
become certified.

• Technicians scoring below 75% on the “Delaware

Emission Education Program” certification exam must take
a 40 hour emission repair training course provided by the
College and then score 75% or better on the final exam to
become certified.

3. Technicians who are L1 ASE certified and who have
approved manufacturer’s emission repair training will be
certified for each make of vehicle of each manufacturer that
the technician was trained to do emission repairs.  The
procedure for certification is as follows:

• The Department will evaluate each of the
manufacturer’s “OEM Emissions Path” to determine if it
meets a reasonable minimum standard.  This evaluation must
contain proof that the manufacturer’s course work clearly
covers the Delaware I/M regulation (e.g. waiver process, etc.)

• Candidate manufacturer technician submits:
His/her transcript from the manufacturer on courses

taken and passed and; Proof of ASE L1 certification to the
Department.

• Candidate manufacturer technician takes and passes
a Delaware-specific short test which is intended to test the
candidate on the Delaware regulation, any specifics on waivers
that should be known, and general questions on vehicle repair.

• The Department and the Division issues
manufacturing-specific certification with clearly marked
authority on the certificate.
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Section I , Management Summary
Goals and Objectives

Improved Customer Service, Convenience and Control:
1. Implement Bar Coding interface to the Title and

Registration function.
2. Design an interface between Registration Renewal

and Titles to the Registration Denial system that will enable
the State of Delaware to obtain an improved rating though
Cleaner Air.

3. Design a Temporary tag tracking system.
4. Design an automated Waiver/Override system.
5. Design a Repair Facility and Repair Technician

tracking system.
6. Design improved data inquiry capabilities and

distribute to necessary customers.

Improved Personnel Training and System On-Line Help:
1. On-Line Help Training within each of the

applications.
2. On-Line Training through specialized system

testing.
3. Improved Operating Procedures.

Improved System Security and Flexibility:
1. System Security

· Override system parameter changes based on
functionality.

· Override system parameter changes based on
specific fields.

· Improved tracking of transactions, personnel
and dates.

· Improved reporting to DMV management.

2. Provide additional facilities for trouble shooting and
problem investigation capabilities.

Flexibility and Responsiveness to External Requirements:
1. Ability to create and maintain the registration denial

tables.
2. Maintain tracking history information for the

following functions:
· Temporary and Window Sticker inventory
· Temporary Tag history
· Window Sticker history
· Vehicle Inspection history

· Lane Inspector history
· Waiver history
· Override history
· Repair Facility and Repair Technical history
· Registration Notices
· External Agency history
· Audit  request history

Improved Business Control Over the System:
1. Operators:

· Tighter control over the issuance of registration
notices, vehicle inspections, registration renewal, title and
registration denial, temporary tags and waivers.

· Improved controls over the issuance of window
stickers.

· Better customer service through the offering
of inspection overrides and the tracking of external agency
vehicle inspections.

· Provide for the tracking of Certification of all
Lane Inspectors and the Re-Certification.

2. Transactions:
· Add on-line Waiver, Override, Vehicle

Inspections, Temporary tags and Window Stickers.
3. Auditing:

· Reduction of the number of vehicles being
renewed without an inspection.

· Reduction of the number of multiple temporary
tags being issued to the same vehicle owners.

· Identification of missing temporary tags and
window stickers from DMV inventory.

· Decrease the number of false inspection
readings.

· Decrease the number of external agency
vehicles traveling the Delaware highways without receiving
vehicle inspections.

· Increase inspection accountability through
more accurate vehicle inspection testing.

· Increase reporting accuracy to the
Environmental Protection Agency.

Improved System Functionality:
1. Title and Registration Denial:

· Improved editing on title and registration
application.

· Design interface between vehicle inspections,
temporary tags and waivers.

2. Linkage to mainframe MVALS database:
· Information transfer from vehicle inspection

database.
· Information transfer from temporary tags,

window stickers and the title and registration database.
· Information transfer of registration denial data

to DNREC and EPA.
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· Control the issuance of temporary tags though

lot range controls.
· Control the temporary tag inventory through the

delivery and distribution of temporary tags.
3. Bar Code interface on title and registration cards.
4. Automation and change to reports:

· Provide on-line tracking of inspectors by
location, date and time.

· Provide an inventory control system enabling
the Division to review temporary tags and window stickers.

· Provide Title and Registration clerks the ability
to review active and historical inspection results on-line.

· Provide an interface to the Title and
Registration application to effectively associate a vehicle
inspection with a specific registration and deny access until
the vehicle has been successfully approved.

· Provide inspector information of a specific
registration in association with a vehicle inspection.

· Provide on-line reporting activity by specific
testing, location, time and inspector on a weekly, monthly
and fiscal basis.

· Provide the ability to track vehicle repairs and
associate them with the proper vehicle registration.

· Track overrides that are associated with a
vehicle inspection.

· Provide on-line access to inspection results
data to the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control.

· Provide the ability to select specific inspection
information and print specific analysis reports.

· Provide the ability to create on-line reports to
EPA on a weekly, monthly and fiscal basis.

· Provide customers with notification of
inspection 90 days prior to the expiration date.

5. External Agency Vehicle Identification
· Provide the ability to identify/track external

agency vehicles being operated in Delaware.
· Provide the ability to ensure the external agency

vehicles have complied with the Federal standards.
· Provide the ability to automatically send and

receive vehicle inspection information.
· Provide the ability to report inspection result

to the Environmental Protection Agency.

Project Scope

This document does not include portions of the project
already in progress or being addressed by other selected DMV
vendors such as Environmental Systems Products, Inc. (ESP).
It centers on the mainframe application development and
maintenance that must be completed to support the
requirements of the project. It assumes the vehicle inspection
information to be correct and residing in the databases already
established for the Registration Denial project and that ESP

has provided OIS with complete and detailed technical
documentation of the database content, data manipulation,
calculations and report specifications. The State
Implementation Plan (SIP) for the Enhanced Inspection and
Maintenance Program prepared by the Delaware Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) is
the basis of this scope. The SIP is scheduled to be submitted
to the Federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in
January 1997 for review and approval. This scope most
certainly will be subject to change based upon the EPA review
and their findings.

Background:
Motor vehicle inspection and maintenance programs are

an integral part of the effort to reduce mobile source air
pollution. Of all highway vehicles it appears that, passenger
cars and light trucks emit most of the vehicle-related pollutants.
Although progress has been made in the reduction of  these
pollutants, the continuous increase in vehicle miles traveled
on the highways has offset much of the technological progress
thus far. Under the Clear Air Act, the Federal Environmental
Protection Agency is attempting to achieve major emission
reductions from these transportation sources. Until the
development and commercialization of cleaner burning engines
and fuels are successful, the main source of air pollution
reduction will come from the proper maintenance of the vehicles
during customer use.

To put the inspection program in perspective, it is
important to understand that today’s motor vehicles are totally
dependent upon properly functioning emission controls to
keep pollution levels low. Minor malfunctions in the emission
control system can increase emissions significantly. Since these
emissions may not be noticeable and the subsequent
malfunctions do not necessarily affect vehicle drive ability, it
is difficult to detect which vehicles fall into this category. The
new inspection equipment and programming provided by
Environmental System Products (ESP) will capture that
important data and record it on the mainframe for access by
the registration renewal and vehicle titling programs. Those
systems will verify the results and permit vehicles passing the
inspection tests to proceed through the DMV system without
change. Failing vehicles will require repair and re-testing until
they pass or receive a vehicle waiver from DMV management.

Project Scope:
DMV has suggested that the project be designed and

implemented in phases. Phasing the project installation makes
a great deal of sense since many of the components of the
entire project are still not totally defined. DMV’s
recommendation is:

Phase I:
· Create database images to store the ESP
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information.

· Test ESP system and database content.
· Analyze database content and verify accuracy.
· Install Phase I into production and begin

accumulating EPA information.

Phase II:
· Design, code and test Registration Renewal

Denial.
· Design, code and test a new (summary) Vehicle

Waiver system.
· Design, code and test a new Inspection Results

Override system.
· Design, code and test new rules for Registration

and Title Denial.
· Design, code and test a new temporary tag

extension tracking system.
· Design, code and test preliminary DMV

management reports.
· Test on-line access to MVALS by DNREC

personnel at their site locations.
· Add bar coding to the registration card print.
· Implement Phase II into production.

Phase III:
· Design, code and test Title Denial.
· Design, code and test inspection results

database “time remaining” routines for:
· Registration Renewal Denial.
· Registration Renewal Notices.
· Title Denial.
· Add bar coding to the Title form.
· Implement Phase III into production.

Phase IV:
· Design, code and test reporting for DNREC and

EPA auditing.
· Test on-line access to MVALS reports by

DNREC personnel at their site locations.
· Design. code and test a new inventory control

system for  window stickers.
· Implement Phase IV into production.

Phase V:
· Design, code and test DAFB vehicle tracking

system.
· Design, code and test Federal vehicle tracking

system. (PV, PO, etc.)
· Implement Phase V into production.

Phase VI:
· Design, code and test a new Certified Repair

Technicians system.
· Design, code and test a new Certified Lane

Technicians system.
· Design, code and test a new (detail) Waiver

system.
· Create special files and/or downloads and

reports to assist the DAFB in their conversion efforts.
· Design, code and test the identification and

reporting of covert vehicles.

Phase I:
The Registration Denial project centers around an

automated vehicle inspection system (installed by ESP) and
subsequent customer permission to title or renew a registration
in the State of Delaware. The new ESP system will replace the
need to issue inspection cards and the associated manual
inspection card tracking systems currently in place. Instead,
the new system will record the information results and data of
a physical vehicle inspection in databases locally on the lane
PC server and remotely at OIS on the IBM mainframe. The
mainframe databases will be the final residence of the data and
those databases will be used for all system decisions and
reporting. That database information will be used by the
MVALS programs to determine if the vehicle is in compliance
with Federal and Delaware codes and laws governing legal
vehicle registration. If the vehicle passes all of the inspection
tests, it becomes eligible to legally travel Delaware roadways.
Inspection results are related to the vehicle and applicable for
2 years.

The inspection results database and supporting databases
must be mapped back to the reporting requirements of DMV
management, DNREC and EPA in this phase to be absolutely
positive all of the informational contents are present.
Inconsistencies in the mapping may require modifications to
the ESP data capture.

Phase II:
The vehicle will be rejected by MVALS if it does not pass

all the inspection criteria. In this case, a temporary (60 day) tag
may be issued to give the customer time to correct the detected
problems with the vehicle. The design will incorporate tracking
and reporting on the temporary tags after the time of issuance.
When a vehicle is rejected, the customer may elect to repair
the deficiency and attempt to pass the inspection again.
Vehicle repairs may be made by a Certified Technician or by
the customer. If the vehicle continues to fail the inspection
but does not decrease measured emissions by set percentage
guidelines, DMV may elect to issue an inspection waiver based
upon established rules, limitations and customer expenditure
amounts. A vehicle summary of waiver expenditure information
for this inspection period must be recorded and tracked in a
new database by vehicle. This new database must be read
during the registration renewal process, for all failing vehicles,
to be sure a current record exists prior to allowing the vehicle
to be legally registered. A vehicle waiver overrides the most
recent inspection result. It is related to a vehicle and effective
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for 2 years. The waiver and inspection results databases must
be accessible to DNREC personnel for inquires using MVALS.

At times DMV management may elect to override the
results of an inspection and permit the vehicle legal registration
without further inspections by the lane technicians. The
system must permit management to override the vehicle
inspection result record with a passing grade. When an override
is granted, the system must record the new (overridden)
information and track who, when and why the override was
given. The new record will be stored in the inspection results
database along with information about the operator, date and
time. An override reason must be supplied before the record is
written to the database. Override capability and permissible
override categories must be controlled by an external means
to permit DMV management to modify who can override
inspection results and what can be modified.

Upon a successful inspection or if the results were
overridden or a waiver is issued, a registration renewal card
containing a PDF417 bar code and a new window sticker will
be issued (when implemented) upon payment of fees by the
customer.

Phase III:
When a vehicle is titled in the State of Delaware, it must

also comply with safety and emission tests prior to becoming
registered. The titling system must be modified to access the
new inspection results database to make the appropriate
decisions. Vehicle titling must be modified to parallel the
upgrades installed into the registration renewal system. It must
apply all of the same rules, waiver conditions and override
capabilities. A title containing a PDF417 bar code and a new
window sticker will be issued (when implemented) upon
payment of fees by the customer.

After a vehicle has been renewed or titled and
successfully passed inspection, or granted a waiver, the
customer has the option to choose a renewal period of 6
months, 1 year or 2 years. Since inspection results and
waivers are valid for 2 years, the system must determine the
amount of time remaining on the inspection based upon the
renewal period chosen by the customer. This algorithm must
be incorporated in the registration renewal, registration
renewal notification and title systems.

Phase IV:
DMV management, DNREC and the Federal EPA require

reports to be generated from the data captured on the
inspection results database. DMV management requires
specific counts of vehicles, the types of tests that are
performed and the results and percentages of the testing. They
will also require management reports and online inquires to
monitor the inspection system performance, database contents
and results. DNREC and the Federal EPA reporting
requirements are normally completed on an annual arrangement
and require reports concerning; the numbers and types of

tests, vehicle breakdowns by make and year, first test and re-
test results, information about the testing facilities and the
results of both covert and overt audits.

DNREC must be permitted access to the inspection
results and waiver databases through an on-line function that
will be created within the MVALS application. This function
will allow DNREC to review the inspection results and
(summary) waiver information on all vehicles. To insure DMV
is in compliance with the Federal regulations, DNREC will
be given the capability to order printed reports on-line from
MVALS concerning the inspection results and waiver
information.

Tracking and re-calling certified lane technicians is
definitely going to be another new responsibility of the
Division. DMV must track all State inspectors requiring testing
and re-certification in order to comply with the new Federal
EPA regulations. Reports on this activity must be submitted
to the Federal EPA on an annual basis.

Phase V:
In addition to the normal vehicle registration activity

occurring for Delaware citizens, with the new EPA
requirements, DMV must inspect approximately 10,000
additional vehicles owned by; the (non-military) Federal
Government, the military and military personnel from the Dover
Air Force base (DAFB). The majority of these vehicle
inspections will be on personally owned vehicles (POV) from
the DAFB. The DAFB presents a unique opportunity to DMV
because POV’s are normally not registered in Delaware.
Delaware does not require out of state vehicles to be inspected.
However, with the new federal regulations, DMV is required
to ensure that vehicles residing within the jurisdiction are in
compliance with the state-regulated inspection program. This
now includes all non-military Federally owned vehicles and
vehicles stationed at federal military sites throughout the state
even if they are not registered in Delaware. Notifying, tracking
and re-calling (test failures) POV’s will require cooperation
and coordination with DAFB motor pool and security
personnel. Additional  software and databases may be required
to assist in a successful implementation.

Phase VI:
As stated previously, the State Implementation Plan (SIP)

for the Enhanced Inspection and Maintenance Program
prepared by the Delaware Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control (DNREC) is the basis of this scope.
The SIP is scheduled to be submitted to the Federal EPA in
January 1997 for review and approval. This phase is subject to
change based upon the EPA review and their findings. The
following tasks are not definite requirements but may become
so after the EPA has made their final decision.

Certified repair technician information is currently
being gathered and retained by the Delaware Technical
Community College. DMV would like access to the
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information to enable them to incorporate the data into the
motor vehicle inspection reports that will be produced on
failed inspections. Tracking reports will include the number
of vehicles passing and failing by Certified Technician and
the repairs performed by the technician on each vehicle. DMV
may require the information to be downloaded from DTCC
or if that is not possible, they may have need to maintain the
information in duplicity.

When a vehicle is titled or renewed in the State of
Delaware, the Division must comply with the security
requirements established by the EPA. It requires the Division
to track and report all stickers issued to vehicles that have
passed the inspection program.  It will be necessary to track
a history of these documents when being issued, re-issued
and/or replaced.

In Phase II, summary waiver information is going to be
stored in a new database to assist in tracking vehicle waivers
that are issued. It is planned that DNREC will retain the detail
backup paperwork and copies necessary to comply with the
Federal regulations. If DNREC requires DMV to record the
details of a waiver, the system must be modified to comply.
Waiver details would include recording the place of purchase,
the line items purchased for repair and the individual amounts
of each.

If additional programming or design support is required
to assist the DAFB or other Federal agencies in meeting their
schedules and requirements, DMV may supply resources to
assist in the effort. The agencies requiring assistance may
require reports, file downloads and programming expertise to
expeditiously complete their commitment.

DNREC is currently handling all assignments and
identification of covert vehicles. If they require assistance in
this effort or require DMV to specially track them in the MVALS
system, additional design and programming will be required.
Reports on the activity of the covert vehicles would also be
required.

Exclusions:

Not included in the scope of this project are:
· Data capture, recording, tracking and reporting of

repair facilities.
· Special demarcation of Kent and Sussex county

boundaries.
· Design or software programming to handle

identification of covert and overt vehicles.
· Purchase of software for bar code printing.
· Covert vehicle identification and reporting issues.
· Vehicle manufacture notification requirements.

I accept this Project Scope as written and agree on the
contents within.

Approved by: Michael Shahan
Director of Motor Vehicles

Approved by: Jack Eanes
DMV Chief of Vehicle Service

Approved by: Cheryal Roe
DMV Systems Administrator

Approved by: John J. Nold
Executive Director, OIS

Prepared by: Barry W. Pugh
OIS Consultant, MicroTek Software

Management Overview

Background
Motor vehicle inspection and maintenance programs are

an integral part of the effort to reduce mobile- source air
pollution. Of all highway vehicles, it appears that passenger
cars and light trucks emit most of the vehicle-related pollutants.
Although progress has been made in the reduction of  these
pollutants, the continuous increase in vehicle miles traveled
on the highways has offset much of the technological progress
thus far. Under the Clear Air Act, the Federal Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA) is attempting to achieve major
emission reductions from these transportation sources. Until
the automotive manufacturers develop and commercialize
cleaner burning engines and fuels, the main source of air
pollution reduction will derive from the proper maintenance of
the vehicles during customer use. The contents of this System
Requirement Definition are subject to change based upon EPA
review of the Delaware State Implementation Plan (SIP) and
their findings.

To put the inspection program in perspective, it is
important to understand that today’s motor vehicles are totally
dependent upon properly functioning emission controls to
keep pollution levels low. Minor malfunctions in the emission
control system can increase emissions significantly. Since these
emissions may not be noticeable and the subsequent
malfunctions do not necessarily affect vehicle drive ability
performance, it is difficult to detect which vehicles fall into
this category. The new inspection equipment and programming
provided by Environmental System Products (ESP) will capture
that important inspection data and record it on the mainframe
for access by the registration renewal and vehicle titling
programs. Those systems will verify the results and permit
vehicles passing the inspection tests to proceed through the
DMV titling and registration systems without change. Failing
vehicles will require repair and re-testing until they pass
inspection or receive a vehicle waiver from DMV management.
All subsequent action, beginning with the initial inspection
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test – such as re-test inspection results, waivers, and overrides
– will be recorded by the system.

The Project Scope document refers to six
implementation phases within the development process of
this project. Those six implementation phases translate into
six high- level requirement specifications categories. It is
important to understand that the six requirement categories
do not all directly relate to the six installation phases. Part
or all of each requirement category will be implemented to
establish the six- phase approach for implementation. The
categories defined in the System Requirements Definition
document are:

1. System Control - This section of the
requirements document encompasses system rule file
maintenance, new temporary tag and window sticker inventory
file maintenance, and certified lane technician maintenance.
All of the functions within this design category must be
implemented before the system can become operational.

2. Vehicle Inspection - This corresponds to is
Phase I of the Project Scope and must be implemented in it’s
its entirety before other components may be installed that
depend on the Inspection Result data produced. The
requirements document refers to, but does not detail, the
client/ server system developed by ESP. Since this document
was developed after the ESP design, it only addresses
utilization of the data produced. Additional information
regarding the design of the system can be located in the ESP
design document.

3. Vehicle Registration - The requirements
described under this section cover vehicle titling,
registration renewal, vehicle titling, temporary tag
distribution, window sticker distribution, inspection result
verification/handling, and vehicle repair tracking. All of the
components in this section must be implemented before the
system can go on-line. online. Registration renewal will be
the first section to be implemented, with the title section to
follow. To support either section, temporary tag distribution,
window sticker distribution, and inspection result overrides
and waivers must be installed. The certified repair facility
and technician tracking components may be installed after
the system becomes operational.

4. External Agency - External agencies are
vehicles that are not registered with the State of Delaware.
Examples of these vehicles are:; Dover Air Force Base motor
pools and civilian vehicles;, the Postal Service vehicles;,
Reserved Armed Forces vehicles;, etc. Identification of these
those vehicles will not be as straight forward straightforward
as the vehicles registered in Delaware because since DMV
does not keep records for them today. The Clean Air Act
requires those vehicles to comply with the EPA emission
standards as long as they continue to operate in Delaware.
This section addresses the requirements and how to
accomplish them. As each agency is introduced to the system,
new program components may be required. Each agency may

be processed differently than the previous, based upon their
technical capabilities. DMV will strive to develop a
standardized approach and demand adherence from all
external agencies. The components described in this section
are required before introducing the first external agency to
the system.

5. Audit Reporting - Requirements for three
auditing techniques have been identified:; standard auditing
reports and functions;, special auditing functions; and auditing
as required by DNREC. Auditing the system on a periodic
basis  ; daily, weekly, etc. is considered a standard procedure.
Reports and screens will be programmed to run automatically
for all of the standard auditing procedures. Special audits
and DNREC (overt and covert) audits will be are discussed
and will permit flexibility in selection and formatting of the
information. Registration Denial data transfer to local PC’s
will also be an option.

6. Information Inquiry - The components in this
section represent additional inquiry functions required to
view the new information. Three separate areas have been
defined as requiring access to the information:; DMV, the
State Police, and DNREC. Each will share many of the same
inquiry  components with “information blocks” applied when
information is required by one agency and not the other.
System rules will be developed to control the information
selection and screen displays. Portions of this section will be
required as the initial system is installed. Advanced inquiry
facilities will be identified and included as the detail system
specifications are developed.

The following paragraphs supply additional detail in
reference to the above system requirement categories. If more
detail is required, please refer to the Section II - Data
Requirements and Section III - Process Requirements located
later in this document.

System Control
The requirements described in this section are designed

to keep the inventory files and system rules updated and in
control of the system. Currently there are five separate
processes defined:

1. The Registration Denial Rule Maintenance
process will permit DMV management to maintain all of the
associated rules concerning the Registration Denial system.
Rules pertain to system variables that actually “drive” the
system decision- making process. Externalizing the rules
permits more flexibility and better overall control of the
system by DMV.

2. A Temporary Tag Inventory maintenance system
will be developed to control the acquisition and distribution
of all temporary tags. The maintenance system will allow
control [of] and accounting [for] [of]  each temporary tag
distributed by DMV. Control begins when new inventory is
received. It will be tracked until the vehicle to which the tag
was assigned is purged from the DMV files. The inventory
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and temporary tag history files will be closely related.

3. A Window Sticker inventory control system will
permit similar (as temporary tags) control (as in the case of
temporary tags) over the window stickers issued by DMV.
The maintenance system will allow control of and accounting
for of each window sticker distributed by DMV. A vehicle
window sticker history file will be incorporated with the
present DMV title file.

4. The Certified Lane Technician maintenance
system will allow DMV to track and record information about
their lane technician employees. Information such as
certification test results, re-certification results, and
demographic data will be retained and reported.

5. The last new maintenance system planned will
track Certified Repair Facilities and associated Certified
Repair Technicians. The system will permit maintenance and
reporting of repair facilities employing certified repair
technicians and their certification test results.

Vehicle Inspection
This section describes the physical vehicle inspection

that normally occurs for every registered vehicle in Delaware.
The process is completed prior to a vehicle being titled, and
then (normally) every 2 years after for registration renewals.
The entire process occurs at the inspection lane(s) and is
conducted at various checkpoints within. The ESP system
controls the events that occur during the inspection process
and helps ensure that each station checkpoint records the
appropriate results. The results of each checkpoint test will be
recorded and stored in the ESP station manager computer and
then transmitted to the OIS mainframe in Dover, Delaware E.,
for permanent storage and retention. ESP handles all pass and
fail parameters, anti-tampering verification and recording,
permissible limits of the test, and calculating the 10% reduction
in emission gases from the initial inspection for waiver
processing. ESP also issues the final pass or fail grade for the
vehicle.

Vehicle Registration
The normal DMV administrative “life cycle lifecycle”

of a vehicle is described in this section. It begins when the
vehicle is purchased and titled in the State of Delaware. Under
normal circumstances, a vehicle will undergo an inspection
to initiate this process. However Although, most new vehicles
purchased in the state are exempt from an initial inspection.
During the vehicle “life cycle, lifecycle” it may be issued a
temporary tag, window sticker, or a waiver for emissions;, or
the inspection test results may be overridden by DMV
management. As the next (next cycle) vehicle- registration
renewal period nears, a registration renewal notice is printed
and sent to the customer. That notice prompts the owner to
bring the vehicle to DMV for an inspection and registration
renewal. The process (Notice, Inspection, Renewal)
continues as long as the vehicle ownership does not change

and the vehicle remains in Delaware. The major new portions
components of the Vehicle Registration component for
Registration Denial are:

Temporary Tags
Once a vehicle is issued a temporary tag, the

paperwork flows into DMV for record keeping. A clerk will
enter the temporary tag information into the computer using
a new temporary tag data- entry program. The program will
complete a stolen vehicle check as [is] currently done while
adding a title. A record will be added to the Temporary Tag
History file for that (X) tag number. That record will then be
available for inquiry by DMV and law enforcement. It can be
found by entering the VIN or the (X) temporary tag number.
The record will remain linked to the vehicle by VIN until the
vehicle is purged from the DMV files. As the record is being
recorded in the Temporary Tag History file, the temporary
tag number will be consumed from the Temporary Tag
Inventory file. Temporary tags are not tracked by today’s
todays system and will be valuable new information for DMV
and law enforcement agencies. The introduction of this
system will be completely new  to DMV.

Window Stickers
After a vehicle is titled or renewed, it will be

assigned a new window sticker. The current processes will
be modified to assign the next available window sticker to
the vehicle from the clerk’s [s] inventory. As a safety
precaution the clerk must enter the window sticker number,
and the program will verify the number against the available
window stickers in the clerk’s inventory. If the number is not
found, a window sticker override will be permitted. A reason
for the override must be supplied by the clerk. The program
will consume the window sticker from the clerk’s inventory
and add the information to the Window Sticker History file.
The Window Sticker History will remain on the DMV files
for a minimum of one inspection cycle. Replacement window
sticker issuance and fee collection will be made available on
the Cash Collection miscellaneous menu. Window sticker
inventories, distribution, and tracking are new processes to
DMV.

Title Vehicle
Vehicle titling is required by law, and all vehicles

owned by Delaware residents traveling the highways must be
titled. The title function encompasses several functions today,
such as; adding, correcting, and transferring titles. All of the
functions used by the title section will be a effected by the
changes being made for the Registration Denial project. Titling
can only occur after the vehicle has passed all of the inspection
tests required of the particular vehicle class. There are a few
exceptions, such as the fact that a vehicle may be  permitted
an override (and pass) of a failed test by DMV management.
Or, a vehicle may receive a waiver if it meets the vehicle repair
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expense limits and obtains a ten percent emission reduction
measured from the initial test. A window sticker must also be
issued to the vehicle.

The Correct Title function permits the title clerk to
correct information on the Title file that may have been
entered incorrectly during the Title Add function. New
features  must be included in the program to calculate the
remaining time left on an inspection and restrict expiration
date modification to the last day of that inspection.
Additionally, extensions beyond that inspection date will not
be permitted by the program without another inspection. The
program will require the capability to assign a new window
sticker without regard to inspection dates, a. Although, the
Correct Title function for a tag change will not issue a new
window sticker. The window sticker stays with the vehicle in
all cases.

The Transfer Title function permits the title clerk
to transfer vehicle title and associated information from one
owner to another. Transfers occur anytime vehicle ownership
changes for any reason. Expiration dates cannot be transferred
to another vehicle. In all cases, a vehicle expiration date remains
with the vehicle, not the tag.

The introduction of inspection result verification
and handling, window sticker inventories and distribution,
waivers, and overrides are new concepts that will be
introduced to DMV with the installation of this system.

Waiver Process
This process allows a clerk, or DMV management,

to store vehicle waiver repair information into the system
for a specific vehicle. The system will record the waiver
information and retain links to the Inspection Results, Title,
and Certified Technician files. Those linked files will be used
for tracking and reporting the effectiveness of repair
technicians and the waiver information permitted by DMV.
The waiver information will be validated by the Title and
Registration Renewal systems. When present and within the
confines of the rules set by DMV, the vehicle will be permitted
to proceed through the system without a passing inspection
record. Waivers may be entered directly from the Titles and
Registration Renewal screens or through an administrative
function. The repair facility and repair technician information
completing the vehicle repairs must be present in their
respective files before a waiver can be entered. The repair
facility and technician information may only be modified by
DMV supervisors and above. Recording and verifying this
information via computer is a completely new function to
DMV.

Override Function
This function will be used by DMV management (and

selected supervisors) and permit them to perform four major
functions against the Inspection Result file. It will allow:

1. Adding an Inspection Result record to the

file. This will only be permitted when the ESP system is down
and vehicle inspections revert back to the Bar 84 technique.
This function will be extremely secure and verified each time
a new entry is attempted.

2. Modification of the Inspection Result
content. This is the function normally known as an override.
The function will be restricted to particular DMV personnel,
and even those permitted will have data- level restrictions.
Overrides will be permitted on a case- by- case level and
normally restricted to only safety item failures.

3. Transferring Inspection Results from one
registration to another. This option will be used when the
lane technician makes a mistake while entering the vehicle
identification information. When a mistake has been made,
the inspection results will be logged under the wrong
registration. The customer will not be permitted to continue
through the process unless the mistake is rectified. The
system will track the transfer (from and to) information and
create another record for the proper vehicle. The original
inspection record will not be included in any statistical
reporting.

4. Deleting individual Inspection Result
records from the file. This is aA very rarely used, but
required, function to delete an inspection result record from
the file. This option will be used when an inspection result
record was created (Option #1 above) under the wrong
registration. The record will be marked for deletion, but it
will not be physically deleted from the file until the proper
authorization is given by DMV management. This function
will be highly secured and available only to those that
absolutely require the function.

Daily auditing reports will be produced by the
system and distributed to DMV management for all of the
above functions. All of the functions listed above are
completely new to DMV.

Renewal Notice
This process will be modified to produce additional

customer notices for one- year renewal and State Police
inspection requests. It will examine the Titles and Inspection
Results files to identify the vehicles whose registrations are
about to expire. It will determine if the vehicle requires an
inspection or just a registration renewal. It will also find vehicles
that have been requested to report to DMV for a special
inspection by the State Police. While processing the selected
records, it will determine if a vehicle must receive an inspection
or if the current inspection is valid for the vehicle registration
renewal. Vehicles that have been inspected within the last
year may renew their registration for one additional year without
another inspection. All the requirements of the owner to obtain
a registration renewal will be printed on the renewal notice.
The two- year inspection rule applies in all cases and will be
printed on the notice. The reporting changes are modifications
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to the current process. Adding a maintenance program to
update vehicles stopped by the State Police is a new
requirement of DMV.

Registration Renewal
The registration renewal process will be modified

to verify the inspection results file before permitting a
renewal. As in Like the title process, a renewal will only occur
after the vehicle has passed all of the inspection tests required
for a particular vehicle class, or it was permitted an override
(and pass) of a failed inspection, or a waiver was issued. A
waiver requires proof of repair expenses and a ten percent
emission reduction from the initial inspection before a
renewal may be issued. The renewal process updates the
current title record in the Title file. Once the title record is
updated, the system prints a 2-D bar code on the updated
registration card and issues the next available window sticker
from the clerk’s inventory. If the vehicle does not pass the
inspection, a temporary tag will be issued, without a window
sticker, by the registration clerk. Temporary tag issuance will
be accessible through the renewal screen. As with the title
functions, inspection result verification and handling, window
sticker and temporary tag inventories, waivers, and overrides
are new concepts to the registration clerks.

Management Overview

External Agency (Unregistered Vehicles)
This process is designed to permit DMV to identify and

test vehicles stationed in Delaware that are owned by external
agencies and not registered in Delaware (such as those owned
by the DAFB, the Postal Service, and other federal motor pools).
Those vehicles must be identified and tested to be sure they
are in compliance with the federal emission standards. It is the
responsibility of the individual agency to perform the follow-
up to ensure that all vehicles are, and remain, in compliance.
The system design for this function will incorporate:

· automatically receiving and loading the vehicle and
owner information into a database that will be used by ESP;

· using the information to inspect and test the vehicle
(ESP);

· recording the test results and subsequent re-test
results;

· providing the Inspection Results data to the external
agency in either a report or an online on-line inquiry so that
notices may be forwarded by the agency;

· and reporting vehicles inspected and statistical
information.

The introduction of this system will be completely new
to DMV.

Audit Reporting
This process will match the Title, Inspection Result, and

at times the Vehicle Audit Information files and create reports
about the information. Specific calculations and formats will
be determined as the design process continues. External rules
will be used to control the processing. All of the following
components are new to DMV:.

Standard Audit Reports - The reports will be standard
reports that will run unattended periodically and produce the
necessary reporting and audit information. The reports will be
designed in conjunction with DMV management to support
the information required by DNREC and the EPA. Some of the
reports will be written as part of the Phase II installation since
EPA will require reports before the system will be fully
installed.

Specialized Audit Reports - The reports will be
specialized (by data selection, not report format or content)
processes that will run to produce the necessary reporting
and audit information. Special reports may be produced from
the Inspection Result, Repair Facility, Technician, Waiver,
and inventory files. All reports will be designed with DMV
management to support any special requirements of DNREC
and the EPA.

Covert Audit Reports - These reports, like the
specialized reports, will be specific processes (by data
selection, not report format or content) that will run to
produce the necessary reporting and audit information. An
automated process will be created to allow DNREC the
ability to access and report the contents of the Title and
Inspection Result files. The audit function is a direct
responsibility of DNREC. Additional functionality will be
created as DNREC defines the requirements. All reports will
be designed with DNREC management in support of the
information they require.

Information Inquiry
There will be a great deal of new information created by

the Registration Denial Registration Denial system. That new
information will be accessible by DMV, the State Police,
and DNREC, and they will require new systems to permit
online on-line inquiries into the data. Modifications will also
be required to current systems to provide access to the data
without writing new inquiry systems. Access to allow specific
personnel permission to view the information will be granted
based upon security levels and new rules set up in the system.
Changes include modification to the current Delaware State
Police (CICS) processes to permit inquiry and viewing of the
new data captured by DMV. The current DMV inquiry systems
will be modified to access the new data and display the
information for back to the requester.

APPENDIX 9 (a)
ENFORCEMENT AGAINST OPERATORS AND
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INSPECTORS

Agreement between State of Delaware Department of Public
Safety Motor Vehicle Division and Council 81 of the American
Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Section
8, Disciplinary Action. (Subject to change as the result of
future union negotiations)

ARTICLE 8 - DISCIPLINARY ACTION

8.1 The Employer agrees that any disciplinary action
up to and including dismissal shall be taken only for just cause.

 8.2 Employee suspensions shall not exceed 30 calendar
days except under the following circumstances: a court action
is pending in the matter which led to the suspension; as a
result of an arbitration  award; or as a result of a grievance
settlement involving a dismissal action where arbitration is
pending.

8.3 Monetary fines shall not be imposed as a disciplinary
measure.

8.4 Prior to the implementation of a dismissal action,
employees shall be notified in writing that such action is being
considered and provided the reasons for the proposed action.

8.41 Employees shall be entitled to a pre-termination
hearing, provided they submit a written request for such
hearing to the Division Director and State Deputy Director
for Labor Relations within 5 work days of receiving the above
referenced notification. The  employee may be suspended
without pay during this period.

8.42 The pre-termination hearing shall be held within a
reasonable time after the employee has requested such hearing
in compliance with 8.41.

8.43 Pre-termination hearings shall be informal meetings
for the purpose of providing employees an opportunity to
respond to the proposed action, and offer any reasons why
dismissal may not be justified or too severe a penalty.

8.44 Prior to implementing a suspension without pay, the
Employer shall follow the notification requirements set forth
in 8.4.

8.5 Employees shall be entitled to a pre-suspension
meeting with the  Employer prior to the implementation of
the suspension, provided they make a written request for such
meeting to the Division Director within 5 working days after
receiving the notice.
8.51 The pre-suspension meeting shall be held within a
reasonable time after the employee has requested such

meeting in compliance with 8.5.

8.52 The pre-suspension meeting shall be an informal
meeting for the purpose of providing employees an
opportunity to respond to the proposed action, and offer any
reasons why the proposed suspension may not be justified or
too severe a penalty.

8.6 Employees may be accompanied by a Union
representative at any meeting/hearing held under this Article.

8.7 Any employee failure to comply with the
requirements set forth in 9.41 and 9.5 shall be treated as a
waiver of any rights set forth in this Article.

8.8 Disciplinary documentation shall not be cited by the
Employer in any action involving a similar subsequent offense
after 2 years, except if employees raise their past work record
as a defense or mitigating factor.

State of Delaware Merit Rules

CHAPTER 15 EMPLOYEE ACCOUNTABILITY

15. 1 Employees shall be held accountable for their
conduct. Measures up to and including dismissal shall be
taken only for just cause. “Just cause.’ means that
management has sufficient reasons for imposing
accountability. Just cause requires:

• showing that the employee has committed the
charged offense;

• offering specified due process rights specified in
this chapter; and

• imposing a penalty appropriate to the circumstances.

15.2 Employees shall receive a written reprimand where
appropriate based on specified misconduct, or where a verbal
reprimand has not produced the desired improvement.

15.3 Prior to finalizing a dismissal, suspension, fine or
demotion action, the employee shal1 be notified in writing
that such action is being proposed and provided the reasons
for the proposed action.

15.4 Employees shall receive written notice of their
entitlement to a pre-decision meeting in dismissal, demotion
for just cause, fines and suspension cases. If employees desire
such a meeting, they shall submit a written request for a
meeting to their Agency’s designated personnel
representative within 15 calendar days from the date of notice.
employees may be suspended without pay during this period
provided that a management representative has first reviewed
with the employee the basis for the action and provides an
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opportunity for response. Where employees’ continued
presence in the workplace would jeopardize others’ safety,
security, or the public confidence, they may be removed
immediately from the workplace without loss of pay.

15.5 The pre-decision meeting shall be held within a
reasonable time not to exceed 15 calendar days after the
employee has requested the meeting in compliance with 15.4.

15.6 Pre-decision meetings shall be informal meetings
to provide employees an opportunity to respond to the
proposed action, and offer any reasons why the proposed
penalty may not be justified or is too severe.

15.7 Fines of not more than 10 days pay may be imposed,
provided they do not cause employees to be paid less than
the federal minimum wage as set forth in the Fair Labor
Standards Act.

Low Enhanced Inspection and Maintenance Program
Plan for Implementation (PFI)

08/13/98
Section 1 - Applicability.

This program shall be known as the “Low Enhanced
Inspection and Maintenance Program” or the “LEIM
Program”, and shall be identified as such in the balance of
this document.

Enhanced programs are required in serious or worse
ozone nonattainment areas, depending upon population and
nonattainment classification or design value.  The
determination of whether an area  has a Low Enhanced  or a
High Enhanced  program depends on the emission reductions
required for the area.  If minimal reductions are needed to meet
the Rate of Progress Plan/Attainment requirements, the A Low
Enhanced program is acceptable, otherwise the a High
Enhanced  program must be adopted and implemented.

The following analysis first portrays the tests of the EPA
Rule, first for classification and population criteria and then
for extent of area of coverage. For both analyses, various
criteria are used to determine applicability. Following each
criteria is an analysis which identifies the areas of Delaware
where each criteria may or may not apply.  The rule language
is shown in italics.

(a) Nonattainment area classification and population
criteria.

(1) States or areas within an ozone transport region
shall implement enhanced I/M programs in any metropolitan
statistical area (MSA), or portion of an MSA, within the state
or area with a 1990 population of 100,000 or more as defined by
the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) regardless of

the area’s attainment classification.  In the case of a multi-state
MSA, enhanced I/M shall be implemented in all ozone transport
region portions if the sum of these portions has a population
of 100,000 or more, irrespective of the population of the portion
in the individual ozone transport region state or area.

Applicability: This criteria includes New Castle and
Kent Counties. This criteria excludes Sussex County due to
no 1990 MSA.

(2) Apart from those areas described in paragraph
(a)(1) of this section, any area classified as serious or worse
ozone nonattainment, or as moderate or serious CO
nonattainment with a design value greater than 12.7 ppm, and
having a 1980 Bureau of Census-defined (Census-defined)
urbanized area population of 200,000 or more, shall
implement enhanced I/M in the 1990 Census-defined
urbanized area.

Applicability: This criteria includes New Castle and
Kent Counties. This criteria excludes Sussex County, with a
classification of Marginal.

(3) Any area classified, as of November 5, 1992,
as marginal ozone nonattainment or moderate CO
nonattainment with a design value of 12.7 ppm or less shall
continue operating I/M programs that were part of an approved
State Implementation Plan (SIP) as of November 15, 1990,
and shall update those programs as necessary to meet the
basic I/M program requirements of this subpart.  Any such
area required by the Clean Air Act, as in effect prior to
November 15, 1990, as interpreted in EPA guidance, to have
an I/M program shall also implement a basic I/M program.
Serious, severe and extreme ozone areas and CO areas over
12.7 ppm shall also continue operating existing I/M programs
and shall upgrade such programs, as appropriate, pursuant to
this subpart.

Applicability: This criteria does not apply to New
Castle or Kent Counties since they are required to adopt
enhanced I/M. This criteria does not apply to Sussex since
the SIP Revision to include that county in the statewide basic
I/M program was not adopted by EPA by November 15, 1990.

(4) Any area classified as moderate ozone
nonattainment, and not required to implement enhanced I/M
under paragraph (a)(1) of this section,  shall implement basic
I/M in any 1990 Census-defined urbanized area in the
nonattainment area.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no Delaware
counties since no counties are classified as Moderate.

(5) Any area outside an ozone transport region
classified as serious or worse ozone nonattainment, or
moderate or serious CO nonattainment with a design value
greater than 12.7 ppm, and having a 1990 Census-defined
urbanized area population of less than 200,000 shall
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implement basic I/M in the 1990 Census-defined urbanized
area.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no Delaware
counties since no counties are outside the ozone transport
region.

(6) If the boundaries of a moderate ozone
nonattainment area are changed pursuant to section
107(d)(4)(A)(i)-(ii) of the Clean Air Act, such that the area
includes additional urbanized areas, then a basic I/M program
shall be implemented in the newly included 1990
Census-defined urbanized areas.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no Delaware
counties since no counties are classified as Moderate.

(7) If the boundaries of a serious or worse ozone
nonattainment area or of a moderate or serious CO
nonattainment area with a design value greater than 12.7 ppm
are changed any time after enactment pursuant to section
107(d)(4)(A) such that the area includes additional urbanized
areas, then an enhanced I/M program shall be implemented in
the newly included 1990 Census-defined urbanized areas, if
the 1980 Census-defined urban area population is 200,000 or
more.  If such a newly included area has a 1980 Census-defined
population of less than 200,000, then a basic I/M program
shall be implemented in the 1990 Census-defined urbanized
area.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no Delaware
counties since no counties (other than Kent) have urbanized
areas.

(8) If a marginal ozone nonattainment area, not
required to implement enhanced I/M under paragraph (a)(1)
of this section, is reclassified to moderate, a basic I/M
program shall be implemented in the 1990 Census-defined
urbanized area(s) in the nonattainment area.  If the area is
reclassified to serious or worse, an enhanced I/M program
shall be implemented in the 1990 Census-defined urbanized
area, if the 1980 Census-defined urban area population is
200,000 or more.  If less than 200,000, a basic I/M program
shall be implemented in the 1990 Census-defined urbanized
area(s) in the nonattainment area.

Applicability: This criteria could only apply to
Sussex, however data does not demonstrate that Sussex should
be reclassified to Moderate nonattainment.

(9) If a moderate ozone or CO nonattainment area
is reclassified to serious or worse, an enhanced I/M program
shall be implemented in the 1990 Census-defined urbanized
area, if the 1980 Census-defined urban area population is
200,000 or more.  In the case of ozone areas reclassified as
serious or worse, if the 1980 Census-defined population of the
urbanized area is less than 200,000, a basic I/M program shall
be implemented in the 1990 Census-defined urbanized area(s)
in the nonattainment area.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no Delaware
counties since no counties are classified as Moderate.

(b) Extent of area coverage.
(1) In an ozone transport region, the program shall

entirely cover all counties within subject MSAs or subject
portions of MSAs, as defined by OMB in 1990, except largely
rural counties having a population density of less than 200
persons per square mile based on the 1990 Census can be
excluded provided that at least 50% of the MSA population
is included in the program.  This provision does not preclude
the voluntary inclusion of portions of an excluded rural county.
Non-urbanized islands not connected to the mainland by roads,
bridges, or tunnels may be excluded without regard to
population.

Applicability: This criteria does not apply to New
Castle or Kent Counties since they are already classified as
Severe. This criteria does not apply to Sussex since there are
no MSAs in Sussex.

(2) Outside of ozone transport regions, programs
shall nominally cover at least the entire urbanized area, based
on the 1990 census.  Exclusion of some urban population is
allowed as long as an equal number of non-urban residents of
the MSA containing the subject urbanized area are included
to compensate for the exclusion.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no Delaware
counties since no counties are outside the ozone transport
region.

(3) Emission reduction benefits from expanding
coverage beyond the minimum required urban area
boundaries can be applied toward the reasonable further
progress requirements or can be used for offsets, provided
the covered vehicles are operated in the nonattainment area,
but not toward the enhanced I/M performance standard
requirement.

Applicability: Delaware does not plan to include
credits from vehicles registered in Sussex and operated in
Kent or New Castle due to the tentative nature of this analysis.

(4) In multi-state urbanized areas outside of ozone
transport regions, I/M is required in those states in the subject
multi-state area that have an urban area population of 50,000
or more, as defined by the Bureau of Census in 1990.  In a
multi-state urbanized area with a population of 200,000 or
more that is required under paragraph (a) of this section to
implement enhanced I/M, any state with a portion of the
urbanized area having a 1990 Census-defined population of
50,000 or more shall implement an enhanced program.  The
other coverage requirements in   paragraph (b) of this section
shall apply in multi-state areas as well.

Applicability: This criteria applies to no Delaware
counties since no counties are outside the ozone transport
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region.

The conclusion of this analysis is that New Castle
and Kent Counties are subject to the LEIM program
requirements.

(c) Requirements after attainment.
[This requirement is included in Regulation 31, Section

1 (e)]

(d) Definitions:  (Note: Definitions are found in
Regulation 31).

08/13/98
Section 2 - Low Enhanced I/M performance standard.

(a) The LEIM programs will be designed and
implemented to meet or exceed a minimum performance
standard, which is expressed as emission levels in area-wide
average grams per mile (gpm), achieved from highway mobile
sources as a result of the LEIM program.  The performance
standard was established using the following LEIM program
inputs and local characteristics, such as vehicle mix and local
fuel controls. The Delaware LEIM program inputs can be
found in Appendix 2 (b).

(1) Network type:
Centralized testing.

(2) Start date:
January 1, 1995

(3) Test frequency:
Annual testing.

(4) Model year coverage:
Testing of 1968 and newer vehicles.

(5) Vehicle type coverage:
Light duty vehicles, and light duty trucks, rated

up to 8,500 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR).
(6) Exhaust emission test type:

Idle test of all covered vehicles.  (As described
in appendix B of Subpart S of 40 CFR 51.

(7) Emission standards:
Those specified in 40 CFR Part 85, Subpart W.
Emission standards for 1981 and newer

vehicles of 1.2% CO, and 220 ppm HC for the idle test (as
described in Appendix B of the EPA Rule); and

Maximum exhaust dilution measured as no less
than 6% CO plus carbon dioxide (CO

2
) on all tested vehicles

(as described in Appendix B of the EPA Rule).
(8) Emission control device inspections:

Visual inspection of the positive crankcase
ventilation valve on all 1968 through 1971 model year
vehicles, inclusive, and of the exhaust gas recirculation valve
on all 1972 and newer model year vehicles.

(9) Evaporative system function checks: none
(10) Stringency:

A 20% emission test failure rate among
pre-1981 model year vehicles.

(11)Waiver rate:
A 3% waiver rate, as a percentage of failed

vehicles.
(12) Compliance rate:

A 96% compliance rate.
(13) Evaluation date:

Enhanced LEIM program areas subject to the
provisions of this paragraph shall be shown to obtain the same
or lower emission levels as the model program described in
this paragraph by 2000 for ozone nonattainment areas and
2001 for CO nonattainment areas, and for severe and extreme
ozone nonattainment areas, on each applicable milestone and
attainment deadline, thereafter.  Milestones for NOx shall
be the same as for ozone.

(b) The emission factors determined from the
application of the above inputs to Mobile5a are shown in the
document submitted to EPA, in November, 1995, entitled
State of Delaware Demonstration of Meeting the
Environmental Protection Agency Performance Standard for
the Low-Enhanced Motor Vehicle Inspection and
Maintenance Program.  This document has been provided in
Appendix 2 (b).

(c) On-board diagnostics (OBD):
[Reserved]

(d) Modeling requirements:
[Modeling requirements may be found in the

document cited in paragraph (b) above]

08/13/98
Section 3 - Network type and program evaluation.

(a) Program evaluation.
The LEIM program includes an ongoing evaluation by

the Department to quantify the emission reduction benefits
of the program, and to determine if the LEIM program is
meeting the requirements of the Clean Air Act and Regulation
31.

(1) LEIM program evaluation reports will be
prepared by the Department on a biennial basis, starting two
years after the initial start date of mandatory testing as
required in Section 24 of this PFI.  The first report will be
due to EPA by July 1, 1998, and every two years thereafter.

(2) The LEIM program evaluation test data will be
submitted to EPA and used by the State to calculate local
fleet emission factors, to assess the effectiveness of the
program, and to determine if the performance standard is
being met.  The most recent version of EPA’s mobile source
emission factor model, will be used to reflect the appropriate
emission reduction effectiveness of LEIM program elements
within Section 2 of this PFI based on actual performance.
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08/13/98
Section 4 - Adequate tools and resources.

(a) Administrative resources.
The LEIM program will maintain the administrative

resources necessary to perform all of the LEIM program
functions including quality assurance, data analysis and
reporting, and the holding of hearings and adjudication of
cases.

Based on the passage of HB 360 which was signed by
the Governor on November 9, 1993, on an annual schedule
$2.8 million is dedicated from fines derived from the Justice
of the Peace Courts for the purpose of ongoing operation of
the LEIM program. This signed legislation amends ‘ 6102
of Title 29 of the Delaware Code which is found in Appendix
4 (a). In addition, the yearly expected expenditures which
Delaware is committed to for the LEIM program is detailed
in Appendix 4 (a).

(b) Personnel.
The LEIM program shall employ sufficient personnel

to effectively carry out the duties related to the program,
including but not limited to administrative audits, inspector
audits, data analysis, LEIM program oversight, LEIM
program evaluation, public education and assistance, and
enforcement against motorists who are out of compliance
with LEIM program regulations and requirements.  The
category of personnel, the numbers of each category, the
duties and responsibilities of each category and the location
of each category within the structure of Delaware
government is shown in Appendix 4 (b).  When required,
enforcement actions taken involving Division and Department
personnel shall be conducted in accordance with the
Agreement between the State of Delaware Department of
Public Safety Motor Vehicle Division and Council 81 of the
American Federation of State, County and Municipal
Employees and the State of Delaware Merit Rules.

(c) Equipment.
The LEIM program shall possess equipment necessary

to achieve the objectives of the program and meet LEIM
program requirements, including but not limited to a steady
supply of vehicles for covert auditing, test equipment and
facilities for LEIM program evaluation, and computers
capable of data processing, analysis, and reporting.  Vehicles
used for covert auditing will be derived from the State owned
fleet of vehicles.

08/13/98
Section 5 - Test frequency and convenience.

(a) The biennial LEIM program test frequency is
consistent with Delaware Code requirements of 7 Del.
Chapter 21 ‘’ 2109 and 2110 and found in Appendix 5(a).
The test frequency shall be automatically integrated with the
enforcement process since the date of registration renewal

is the same date as that of the emission testing requirement.
Vehicles are assigned inspection cycles in Delaware.  The
inspection cycle normally remains with the vehicle when sold
or transferred within the State.   New vehicles, or used
vehicles newly tagged in Delaware, enter the “cycle” on the
date of registration, and remain on that cycle until removed
from service or transferred to another state. [See Section 11
for a detailed explanation of the registration denial process]

(b) In LEIM programs, test systems are to be designed
in such a way as to provide convenient service to motorists
required to get their vehicles tested.  The location of official
inspection stations are located in Wilmington, New Castle and
Dover and are essentially the same locations as before the
requirement for the LEIM program. These locations have been
found to be adequate and publicly accepted convenient
locations since 1983.

The network of stations are to provide test services that
are sufficient to insure short waiting times to get a test.  In
preparing the estimates for the number of lanes required, the
State based all assumptions on the peak hours of operation,
based on local experience.  Additional relief will be realized
with the inception of the change of expiration dates to daily,
avoiding end of period delays.  Short-term wait times will be
addressed by opening only enough lanes to provide a
convenient wait of no more than a monthly average of 20
minutes.

08/13/98
Section 6 - Vehicle coverage.

The legal authority for this section is contained in 7 Del.
C. 6707, as included in Appendix 11 (b).

The requirements of this section and the corresponding
section in Regulation 31, shall apply to all of the subject
vehicles registered in Delaware as described in the PFI.  For
the start up of the program on January 1, 1996, this number
is an historical growth data projection of 478,000 vehicles.
Delaware has confidence in this estimation based on a lengthy
record of 3 percent per annum growth in the vehicle
population.

08/13/98
Section 7 -Test procedures and standards.

[ Requirements may be found in Section 6 of Regulation
No. 31 ]

(a) Test procedure requirements: As a Division policy,
a vehicle will only be retested for that portion of the LEIM
program test (exhaust idle emissions or evaporative emissions)
that it initially failed.

(1) On-board diagnostic checks.
[Reserved].

(b) Test standards
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08/13/98
Section 8 -Test equipment.

(a) Performance features of computerized test systems.
Test equipment specifications are attached as Appendix

8 (a).  Each test lane will be equipped with the following
equipment for the idle test, at a minimum: a tailpipe probe, a
flexible sample line, a water removal system, particulate trap,
sample pump, flow control components, analyzers for HC,
CO and CO

2
, and O

2
 displays for exhaust concentrations of

HC, CO, 0
2
 and CO

2
.  Materials that are in contact with the

gases sampled shall not contaminate or change the character
of the gases to be analyzed, including gases from alcohol
fueled vehicles.  The probe shall be capable of being inserted
to a depth of at least eight inches into the tailpipe of the
vehicle being tested, or into an extension boot if one is used.
A pressure gauge and equipment for flowing compressed air
into the fuel tank evaporative control system will be used for
the pressure test.  The same equipment shall be used to
separately test the gas tank cap.

Test equipment for the Idle Test shall comply with the
Bureau of Automotive Repair BAR 90 TEST ANALYZER
SYSTEM SPECIFICATIONS dated April 1996, and is
incorporated here by reference.  Public review of this
document may requested by contacting the Department at
(302) 739-4791.

All test equipment will be fully computerized and all
processes will be automated to the highest degree possible.
All computerized equipment will have lock-out features to
prevent tampering by unauthorized personnel.  Station
managers, or their supervisors will have authorization to clear
lock-outs or access the hardware for any purpose other than
to perform an emissions test:  and will be required to enter
an access code that identifies them personally in order to do
so.  The date and reason for all lock-outs, as well as the date,
and by whom lock-outs are cleared will be kept in a data file.

The test process is completely computerized.  The
process begins with data entry, which will involve entering
the license plate number or the VIN.  The Motor Vehicle
Technician will obtain the VIN digits from the vehicle itself
and will check the tag number as well.  The entry will either,
call up a pre-existing or, create a new vehicle file based on
the registration data base and previous inspections of the
vehicle.  The Motor Vehicle Technician will compare the data
in the file and confirm that the vehicle presented matches
the VIN/tag number combination in the file.  The test process
is completely automatic, including the pass/fail decision and
test procedure.  Test lanes will be linked on a real-time basis
to a central computer; test data will be recorded onto the
station server and to the central data base as each test is
completed, and multiple initial testing will be prevented.
Records will be kept on the central data base for 10 years or
the life of the vehicle whichever is less.  The central data
base will be backed up nightly, and if the vehicle is purged,

data will be recorded on microfiche permanently.  System
lockouts will be initiated whenever the following quality
control checks are failed or not conducted on schedule:
periodic calibration or leak checks, and check of the pressure
monitoring devices.  All electronic calibration and system
integrity checks will be performed automatically, i.e., without
specific prompting by the Motor Vehicle Technician prior to
each test, and quality control will be under computer control
to the extent possible.

(1) Emission test equipment shall be capable of
testing all subject vehicles and will be updated from time to
time to accommodate new technology vehicles as well as
changes to the LEIM program.

(2) At a minimum, emission test equipment:
(i) Shall be automated to the highest degree

commercially available to minimize the potential for
intentional fraud and/or human error;

(ii) Shall be secure from tampering and/or
abuse;

(iii) Shall be based upon written specifications;
and

(iv) Shall be capable of simultaneously
sampling dual exhaust vehicles.

(v) Shall be able to determine the RPM of the
vehicle.

(3) The vehicle owner or driver will normally be
provided with a computer-generated record of test results,
including all of the items listed in 40 CFR part 85, subpart
W as being required on the test record.  The test report will
include:

(i) A vehicle description, including license tag
number, vehicle identification number, and odometer reading;

(ii) The date and time of test;

(iii) The name or identification number of the
individual(s) performing the tests and the location of the test
station and lane;

(iv) The type of tests performed, including
emission tests, visual checks for the presence of emission
control components including catalytic converter, and
functional, evaporative system checks including a gas cap
test;

(v) The applicable test standards;
(vi) abThe test results, including exhaust

concentrations and pass/fail results for each mode measured,
pass/fail results for evaporative system checks, and which
emission control devices inspected were passed, failed, or
not applicable;

(vii)A handout indicating the availability of
warranty coverage as required in Section 207 of the Clean
Air Act;

(viii) Certification that tests were performed
in accordance with the regulations; and

(ix) For vehicles that fail the tailpipe emission
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test, some possible causes of the specific pattern of high
emission levels found during the test are given in the Vehicle
Inspection Program Brochure distributed at the inspection
lane.

(b) Functional characteristics of computerized test
systems.  The test system is composed of emission
measurement devices and other motor vehicle test equipment
controlled by a computer.

(1) The test system shall automatically:
(i) Make a pass/fail decision for all

measurements;
(ii) Record test data to an electronic medium;
(iii) Conduct regular self-testing of recording

accuracy;
(iv) Perform electrical calibration and system

integrity checks before each test, as applicable, forwarded
electronically to the inspection database where it shall be
retained for 10 years or the life of the vehicle whichever is
less, and;

(v) Initiate system lockouts for:
(A) Tampering with security aspects of the

test system;
(B) Failing to conduct or pass periodic

calibration or leak checks;
(C) Failing to conduct or pass the pressure

monitoring device check (if applicable);
(D) A full data recording medium or one

that does not pass a cyclical redundancy check.
(2) The test systems will include a real-time data

link to a host computer that prevents unauthorized multiple
initial tests on the same vehicle in a test cycle and to insure
test record accuracy.

(3) The test system will insure accurate data
collection by limiting, cross-checking, and/or confirming
manual data entry.

(4) On-board diagnostic test equipment
requirements. [Reserved].

08/13/98
Section 9 - Quality control.

Quality control measures will insure that emission
measurement equipment is calibrated and maintained
properly, and that inspection, calibration records, and control
charts are accurately created, recorded and maintained.
(Concerning document maintenance see Regulation 31
Appendix 8(a) Systems Requirement Document -
Registration Denial)

(a) General provisions.
(1) The practices described in this section and in

Appendix 9 (a) (1) to this PFI shall be followed, at a minimum.
(2) Preventive maintenance on all inspection

equipment necessary to insure accurate and repeatable

operation will be performed on a periodic basis.
(3) Computerized analyzers shall automatically

record quality control check information, lockouts, attempted
tampering, and any other recordable circumstances which
should be monitored to insure quality control (e.g., service
calls).

(b) Requirements for evaporative system functional test
equipment.

Requirements for evaporative system functional test
equipment.

Equipment shall be maintained by the operator
according to demonstrated good engineering practices to
assure test accuracy.  Computer control of quality assurance
checks and quality control charts shall be used whenever
possible. Appendix 9 (b) contains periodic maintenance
procedures which shall be performed on all emission testing
equipment by the State.

(c) Document security.
Measures shall be taken to ensure that compliance

documents and data files cannot be stolen, removed, changed
or edited without being damaged or marked for detection.
Additional procedures concern document security can be
found in Appendix 9 (c).

(d) Covert Audits.
Unmarked state vehicles will be adjusted to fail

emission tests and brought into the testing lanes by state
employees not related to the LEIM program.  Test records
for these vehicles be kept by the Department auditing
personnel.  The number of covert vehicles that passed and
failed the tests will be compiled and the Motor Vehicle
Technician that performed the tests will be identified.  Details
of the actual operation of the covert program will remain
confidential to the Department personnel doing the audits.

08/13/98
Section 10 -Waivers and compliance via diagnostic inspection.

The LEIM program allows for the issuance of a waiver,
which is a form of compliance with the LEIM program
requirements that allows a motorist to comply without
meeting the applicable test standards, as long as prescribed
criteria are met.

(a) Issuance criteria.
[Requirements may be found in Regulation 31,

Section 6 (a)]
(b) Compliance via diagnostic inspection.

[Requirements may be found in Regulation 31,
Section 6 (b)]

(c) Quality control of waiver issuance.
(1) The Director shall provide control of waiver

issuance and processing by establishing a system of waivers
issued by the Division.

(2) Vehicle owners or lessors shall be informed via
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a standardized form provided by the Division, of potential
warranty coverage, and ways to obtain warranty repairs upon
their failure of an emissions inspection.

(3) Division personnel shall insure that repair
receipts are authentic and cannot be revised or reused.  All
qualified receipts shall be permanently marked so they cannot
be revised or reused.  Department personnel or personnel
contracted by  the Department, on a periodic schedule shall
perform visual inspections of all related repairs done by
anyone, except for waiver repairs done by Certified Emission
Repair Technicians.

(4) Waivers shall be tracked, managed, and
accounted for by the Division with respect to time extensions
or exemptions in the Division’s database so that owners or
lessors cannot receive or retain a waiver improperly.  Records
shall be maintained in secured, limited access data files and
cross checked on a quarterly basis with the main data base to
ensure waivers are being properly managed and reinspected
biennially by the inspection program.

08/13/98
Section 11 - Motorist compliance enforcement.

Compliance shall be ensured through the denial of motor
vehicle registration unless the vehicle has complied with the
I/M requirement prior to initial registration or registration
renewal.

(a) The following is a description of the Division of
Motor Vehicles’ registration policy according to Delaware
law on the registration of newly titled vehicles and registration
renewals:

(1) New motor vehicles that have never been titled/
registered in any state are allowed to register for a period of
three years without complying with the I/M requirement.

(2) All other vehicles older than 3 model years (and
that must comply with Regulation 31) coming into Delaware
or being titled/registered for the first time are required to
pass I/M inspection prior to titling and registration.  Delaware
Motor Vehicle Law Title 21, Section 2102, requires new
residents to register all vehicles within 60 days after taking
up residency in Delaware.  Failure to comply subjects the
violator to a fine of $25 or no more than $100 for the first
offense; second offense not less than $50 nor more than $200
or imprisonment not less than 10 nor more than 30 days or
both.

(3) All vehicles applying for registration renewal
must pass an I/M inspection within 90 days of their
registration expiration date in order for their registration to
be renewed.

(4) Delaware’s registration denial system is
designed to prevent fraud and registrations without inspection.
The system will be fully computerized by the end of 1998
which will allow the Division to use Vehicle Inspection

Reports (VIR’s) which are generated when a vehicle is
inspected as backup documentation.  Currently, the VIR is
printed on all inspections.  A VIR showing the vehicle has
passed inspection must be presented at the time of
registration or registration renewal.  The computer system
when implemented will automate the entire system.  The test
record will be stored in the vehicle’s registration database.
A failure in any portion of the test will prevent the vehicle
from being registered.  The system will lock out the clerks
from updating the vehicle record until the vehicle passes
inspection.  The VIR will only be used as backup
documentation in the event a failure occurs in the automated
system.

(5) The I/M test record for each vehicle is stored
in the Division’s mainframe computer database.  The I/M test
record is matched to the vehicle’s Vehicle Identification
Number (VIN), and the last ten (10) I/M inspections will be
stored with the vehicle’s registration record.  The test record
is a computer-based record with a paper back-up (VIR).  The
paper record is only kept for one year.  The motorist is given
the VIR when the inspection is completed.

(6) The Division currently issues a registration card
and license plate sticker to show a vehicle is registered.  In
order to prevent theft of license plates and plate stickers, the
Division anticipates issuing a windshield sticker in addition
to the plate sticker.  The window stickers will have unique
serial numbers which will be loaded into the registration
database and printed on the vehicle registration card.  In
addition, each sticker will have a unique bar code.  The
window sticker will also allow the Division to implement a
daily expiration system.  Currently, vehicle registrations
expire the 15th and the last day of each month.

(7) Penalty for non-compliance:
(i) Delaware law prohibits a vehicle owner

from operating or knowingly permitting the operation of a
vehicle upon the highway that is not registered or which does
not have attached thereon the number plate assigned by the
Department or a current expiration sticker.  The penalty for
non-compliance for the first offense is a fine of not less
than $50 nor more than $200, be imprisoned not less than
30 days nor more than 90 days or be penalized by both fine
and imprisonment for each subsequent like offense, fined
not less than $100 nor more than $300, be imprisoned not
less than 90 days nor more than six months, or be penalized
by both fine and imprisonment.  Delaware law enforcement
officers having probable cause to believe that a vehicle is
not in compliance with the law or regulations may inspect
the vehicle and documents and make arrests for non-
compliance.

(ii) At any time and notwithstanding the
possession of current registration plates as provided by
Delaware Title 21, the Public Safety Secretary, any authorized
agent of the Department or any police officer may, upon
reasonable cause, require the owner or operator of a vehicle
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to stop and submit such vehicle and the equipment to such
further inspection and test with reference thereto as may be
appropriate.  In the event such vehicle is found to be in an
unsafe condition or lacking the required equipment or is not
in proper repair and adjustment, the officer shall give a
written notice to the driver and shall send a copy thereof to
the Department.  The notice shall require that such vehicle
and its equipment be placed in safe condition and in proper
repair and adjustment and/or that proper equipment be
obtained, and that a certificate of inspection and approval for
such vehicle be obtained within five (5) days thereafter.

(iii) Every owner or driver upon receiving the
notice prescribed in subsection (a) of Title 21, Section 2144,
of the Delaware Code shall comply therewith and shall, within
the five (5) day period, secure an endorsement upon such
notice by an inspector of the Department that such vehicle is
in safe condition and properly equipped and its equipment in
proper repair and adjustment and shall then forward the notice
to the Department.  No person shall operate any such vehicle
after receiving a notice with reference thereto as above
provided, except as may be necessary to return such vehicle
to the residence or the place of business of the owner or
driver if within a distance of 20 miles or to a garage until the
vehicle and its equipment has been placed in proper repair
and adjustment and otherwise made to conform to the
requirements of this title.

(8) Rental agencies are required to register in
Delaware the number of vehicles the agency has available
for rent in Delaware.

(9) Department personnel will perform periodic
parking lot surveys to determine vehicle compliance rates
and to ensure I/M program compliance is being adhered to in
practice.  During the surveys the Department personnel shall
match vehicle tag numbers with Division Vehicle Inspection
Reports to ensure Delaware registered vehicles have been
inspected and complied with Regulation 31.  Vehicles with
expired tag stickers will be referred to the Division for
enforcement action.

(10) In Delaware, the compliance sticker (and
vehicle tag) normally remains with any vehicle already in the
program, regardless of ownership.  Vehicles changing the
compliance sticker and vehicle tag with a change in vehicle
ownership shall be assigned a new inspection cycle and
require a new compliance sticker prior to re-registration.
Manipulation of the title or registration shall therefore be
ineffective in attempting to avoid inspection.

(b) The following explains how the system currently
works and how the computer controlled system will work
once implemented:

(1) A registration renewal notice is sent to each
vehicle owner approximately 90 days prior to the expiration
of the current registration/inspection.

(2) The vehicle is required to be inspected at one
of the Division of Motor Vehicles inspection facilities.  After

the vehicle is inspected the owner is issued a Vehicle
Inspection Report (VIR).  The VIR indicates if the vehicle
failed or passed inspection.  When the vehicle passes
inspection, the owner presents the VIR to a registration
specialist who verifies the vehicle has passed inspection and
issues the registration renewal.

(3) Vehicles failing inspection must have the
vehicle repaired and presented back for inspection.  The
Division allows one retest without proof of repair.  After the
first retest, documented repairs must be performed prior to
another retest.  Vehicle owners whose registration have
expired or are about to expire can apply for a temporary
license plate to allow for operation of the vehicle for 30
days while the vehicle is being repaired.  Vehicles failing for
safety violations may be provided a temporary permit for 15
days to allow for the vehicle to be driven directly to a repair
shop from DMV.  The temporary tags and permits are tightly
controlled and are shown on the vehicle’s registration record.
This prevents an owner from obtaining more than one
temporary tag or permit.  The vehicle cannot obtain
registration until a VIR is presented which shows the vehicle
has passed I/M and the Division’s safety inspection program.

(4) The new automated system that will be
operating by the end of 1998 will provide the registration
specialist with on-line access to the vehicle inspection record.
When an owner comes in to register a vehicle, the computer
will indicate if the vehicle failed or passed inspection.  When
a vehicle fails inspection, the computer will lock the vehicle
record and prevent any attempt to register the vehicle.  The
registration specialist can look at the vehicle test record and
inform the customer of the failed items.  The customer can
then be offered a 30-day temporary tag or temporary permit.
Vehicles passing inspection will be allowed to register and
will be provided a new registration card and plate sticker.
Vehicles being titled for the first time in Delaware are subject
to the same restrictions.  The system will prevent the vehicle
from being registered.

(5) The system will have two methods to override
the inspection failure.  The first method involves emission
waivers issued under Regulation 31, Section 6.  The waiver
information and receipts will be verified by Delaware’s
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(DNREC).  The second method is by supervisory override.
The override authority allows the registration specialists to
change a vehicle record from fail to pass for certain safety-
related failure items.  Example:  vehicle fails for license plate
being damaged.  The customer will be issued a new license
plate by a registration specialist, and the failed safety item
will be changed to pass.  Registration specialists will not
have the authority or the ability to change any I/M-related
items.  The second security level involves DMV supervisory
personnel who would have the authority to override a record
in the event of a computer failure.  Example:  vehicle owner
takes vehicle through inspection, passes and receives a VIR
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showing a pass in all areas.  Through a computer glitch, the
vehicle record is not updated in the mainframe computer
system.  The supervisor can verify through the inspection
lane station manager computer that the vehicle was inspected
and passed.  The supervisor would then override the system
and allow the renewal.  The supervisor would notify the
Division’s Computer Support of the computer problem and
action would be taken to ensure the inspection test record is
sent to the mainframe system.  The override transaction ability
will be strictly controlled.  Managers will be provided with
reports when the override is used.  The override transaction
report will contain information to easily identify the
individual who performed the transaction override, date, time
and the item overridden.

(c) The legal authority is contained in 7 Del. C.60,
‘6010(a),  7 Del. C. 67, ‘6702..  These provisions are found
in Appendix 11 (b).  In Regulation 31, Section 8 and Appendix
4 (a) procedures to be followed by the Division in the specific
operation of the enforcement program, as well as a penalty
schedule to be followed when violations occur,  are included.

(d) (1) In the future, through the examination of  data,
test records and enforcement actions the Department will
be able to assess the compliance rate.  In addition, the
Department will conduct on-road and parking lot surveys of
vehicles with Delaware tags, noting the vehicle inspection
sticker located on the tag and indicating the month and year
of expiration.  In these same surveys, tag numbers will be
tracked and verified with the Division’s record as to
registration compliance. The number of out of compliance
vehicles that are identified in the on-road test and the number
of vehicles that have expired registration stickers that are
identified by the parking lot checks will be compiled and a
compliance rate will be determined.

(2) The State commits to a sustained level of LEIM
program enforcement which shall ensure a compliance rate
of no less than 96% of subject vehicles.  This reflects the
compliance rate used in LEIM program modeling.  In the
event that LEIM program evaluation reveals that this
compliance rate is not being continuously met, the following
contingency measures shall be implemented by the
Department:

(i) additional on-road testing and additional
parking lot surveillance

(ii) contact fleet and federal fleet managers to
ensure full compliance

(3) Should these measures not be sufficient to bring
the State’s compliance rate to the needed level, a final
measure shall be implemented.  The Division shall generate
a list of all vehicles known to be operating in the State under
legal tags.  This list shall be compared to a list of all vehicles
in compliance with the LEIM program.  Any outstanding
vehicles shall be investigated by the Department and brought
into compliance subject to current laws and regulations.

(e) As described in Section 6 (c) of Regulation No. 31,

certain vehicles shall be exempt from the inspection
requirements of the LEIM program.  Detailed in Appendix
11 (c)(1), is a 1993 estimation of the percentage of the fleet
by vehicle type, and, the percentage of the subject fleet that
vehicle type represents.  The exempt status of these vehicles
shall be confirmed through the registration inspection
requirements and through other established enforcement
mechanisms.  If a violation is found, the exempt status of any
individual vehicle may be revoked.

08/13/98
Section 12 - Motorist compliance enforcement program
oversight.

The enforcement program shall be audited regularly and
shall follow effective program management practices,
including adjustments to improve operation when necessary.

(a) Quality assurance and quality control.
A quality assurance program has been implemented

to insure effective overall performance of the enforcement
system.  Quality control procedures are required to instruct
individuals in the enforcement process regarding how to
properly conduct their activities.  Audits of the Quality
Assurance and Quality Control procedures shall be performed
by Department Auditors and reported to EPA on an annual
basis.  The quality control and quality assurance program shall
include:

(1) Verification of exempt vehicle status by
inspecting and confirming such vehicles during registration;

(2) Facilitation of accurate critical test data and
vehicle identifier collection through the use of automatic
data capture systems such as bar-code scanners or optical
character readers, or through redundant data entry performed
upon appearance for testing by lane personnel;

(3) Maintenance of an audit trail to allow for the
assessment of enforcement effectiveness such that all
documentation can be controlled, tracked and reported to
EPA by the Department on an annual basis with program
evaluations;

(4) Establishment of written procedures for
personnel directly engaged in LEIM program enforcement
activities, contained in Appendix 12 (a)(4);

(5) Establishment of written procedures for
Division personnel engaged in LEIM program document
handling and processing, such as registration clerks or
personnel involved in sticker dispensing and waiver
processing, as well as written procedures for the auditing of
their performance, contained in Appendix 12- (a)(5);

(6) A determination of enforcement program
effectiveness through annual audits of test records and LEIM
program compliance documentation, with the procedures
described in Appendix 12 (a)(6).  Results shall be provided
to EPA with annual program evaluation reports;
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(7) Enforcement procedures in accordance with the

Agreement Between State of Delaware Department of Public
Safety Motor Vehicle Division and Council 81 of the American
Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees and
the State of Delaware Merit Rules for immediate disciplining,
retraining, or removing enforcement personnel who deviate
from established requirements;

[Additional requirements may by found in Section
12 of the PFI]

(b) Information management.
The information data base to be used in

characterizing, evaluating, and enforcing the LEIM program
shall:

(1) Determine the subject vehicle population
through analysis of vehicles receiving State of Delaware tags
in New Castle and Kent Counties;

(2) Permit EPA audits of the enforcement process;
(3) Assure the accuracy of registration and other

program document files and data bases through internal and
cross data base comparisons of records;

(4) Maintain and ensure the accuracy of the testing
database through periodic internal and/or third-party
Departmental review;  through automated or redundant data
entry;  and, through automated analysis for valid
alpha-numeric sequences of the vehicle identification number
(VIN), certificate number, or tag number.  Department
auditors shall annually review and verify analyses, and assist
the Division and Police agencies in enforcement actions;

(5) Compare on a quarterly and annual basis, the
testing database to the registration database to determine
LEIM program effectiveness and establish compliance rates.

(6) Sample the fleet as a  determination of
compliance through parking lot surveys, road-side pull-overs,
or other in-use vehicle measurements.

(c) The legal authority in Appendix 11 (b), 7 Del. C.
‘6010(a), includes the authority to develop and implement
the enforcement oversight element of the LEIM program.
The regulations also include procedures to be followed by
the Division in the specific operation of the registration denial
system, as well as a penalty schedule to be followed when
violations occur. (See Regulation 31, Appendix 8 (a) Systems
Requirement Document- Registration Denial)

08/13/98
Section 13 - Quality assurance.

An ongoing quality assurance LEIM program has been
implemented to discover, correct and prevent fraud, waste,
and abuse and to determine whether procedures are being
followed, are adequate, whether equipment is measuring
accurately, and whether other problems might exist which
would impede LEIM program performance.  The quality
assurance and quality control procedures shall be evaluated
at least annually to assess their effectiveness and relevance

in achieving LEIM program goals.

(a) Performance audits.
Performance audits shall be conducted by the

Departments auditors on a minimum of an annual basis to
determine whether Motor Vehicle Technicians are correctly
performing all tests and other required functions.
Performance audits shall be of two types:  overt and covert,
and shall include:

(1) Performance audits based upon written
procedures and results shall be reported using either
electronic or written forms to be retained by the Division,
with sufficient detail using violations of procedures found,
to support a hearing if necessary.  This shall include all
evidence uncovered of a violation, including the time, date,
nature of the violation, and possible effect on vehicles being
inspected and the programs overall effectiveness.
Preliminary results shall be discussed with the lane manager.
Final results shall be transmitted to both the Division
Director and the Department Secretary who shall decide if
further action is required, and initiate that further action;

(2) Performance audits in addition to regularly
programmed audits for Motor Vehicle Technicians suspected
of violating regulations as a result of audits, data analysis, or
consumer complaints;

(3) Overt performance audits shall be performed
once per month and shall include:

(i) A check for the observance of issuing
windshield stickers (when implemented;

(ii) A check to see that required record keeping
practices are being followed;

(iii) A check for licenses or certificates and
other required display information; and

(iv) Observation and written evaluation of each
Motor Vehicle Technician’s ability to properly perform an
inspection;

(4) Covert performance audits shall include:
(i) Remote visual observation of Motor

Vehicle Technician performance, which shall include the use
of aids such as binoculars or video cameras, at least once per
year per Motor Vehicle Technician.

(ii) Site visits at least once per year per number
of Motor Vehicle Technicians using covert vehicles set to
fail (this requirement sets a minimum level of activity to
one covert inspection for each Motor Vehicle Technician at
each station, not a requirement that each Motor Vehicle
Technician be involved in a covert audit);

(iii) Full documentation of all audit preparation,
execution and performance, including verified vehicle
condition and preparation, which shall be sufficient for
building a legal case and establishing a performance record;

(iv) Covert vehicles covering the range of
vehicle technology groups (e.g., carbureted and fuel-injected
vehicles) included in the LEIM program, including a full range
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of introduced malfunctions covering the emission test, the
evaporative system tests, and emission control component
checks (as applicable);

(v) Sufficient numbers of covert vehicles and
auditors to allow for frequent rotation of both to prevent
detection by station personnel during audits conducted once
per month; and,

(vi) Access to on-line inspection databases by
Department and Division personnel to permit the creation
and maintenance of covert vehicle records.

Covert vehicles to be used in this requirement
shall be supplied from the pool maintained by the State of
Delaware for use throughout the State by various agencies.
The records of these vehicles shall be temporarily modified
by the Division and fitted with regular tags so that they cannot
be identified either visually or through an electronic search
of Division records as being anything other than regular
vehicles used by an individual for normal transportation.
Should re-use of any vehicle be necessary in conducting
audits, the Division’s System Administrator or designee only,
shall reset the test records to avoid detection of the vehicle
by lane personnel.

(b) Record audits.
Station and Motor Vehicle Technician records shall

be reviewed or screened at least monthly by the Department,
to assess station performance and identify problems that may
indicate potential fraud or incompetence.  Such review shall
include:

(1) Software-based, computerized analysis which
can be initiated by Division personnel to examine station
records and identify statistical inconsistencies, unusual
patterns, and other discrepancies;

(2) Visits to inspection stations by Department
auditors, to review records not already covered in the
electronic analysis (if any); and

(3) Comprehensive accounting for the windshield
stickers (when implemented) used to demonstrate
compliance with the LEIM program.

(c) Equipment audits.
During overt site visits, auditors shall conduct

quality control evaluations of the required test equipment,
including (where applicable):

(1) A gas audit using gases of known concentrations
at least as accurate as those required for regular equipment
quality control and comparing these concentrations to actual
readings;

(2) A check for tampering, worn instrumentation,
blocked filters, and other conditions that would impede
accurate sampling;

(3) A leak check;
(4) A check to determine that station gas bottles

used for calibration purposes are properly labeled and within
the required tolerances;

(5) A check of the system’s ability to accurately

detect background pollutant concentrations;
(6) A check of the pressure monitoring devices

used to perform the evaporative canister pressure test; and
(d) Auditor training and proficiency.

(1) Auditors are required to be formally trained and
knowledgeable in:

(i) The use of analyzers;
(ii) LEIM program rules and regulations;
(iii) The basics of air pollution control;
(iv) Basic principles of motor vehicle engine

repair, related to emission performance;
(v) Emission control systems;
(vi) Evidence gathering;
(vii)State administrative procedures laws;
(viii)  Quality assurance practices; and
(ix) Covert audit procedures.

(2) Auditors shall themselves be audited by their
supervisor, at least once per annum.

(3) The training and knowledge requirements in
paragraph (d)(1) of this section may be waived for temporary
auditors engaged solely for the purpose of conducting covert
vehicle runs.

08/13/98
Section 14 - Enforcement against operators and motor vehicle
technicians.

Enforcement against operators or motor vehicle
technicians shall include swift, sure, effective, and consistent
penalties for violation of LEIM program requirements in
accordance with the Agreement between the State of
Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle
Division and Council 81 of the American Federation of State,
County and Municipal Employees and the State of Delaware
Merit Rules..

(a) Imposition of penalties.
[ Requirements may be found in Section 14 of

Regulation No. 31 ]
(b) Legal authority.

[ Requirements may be found in Section 14 of
Regulation No. 31 ]

(c) Recordkeeping.  The Department shall maintain
records of all warnings, civil fines, suspensions, revocations,
and violations and shall compile statistics on violations and
penalties on an annual basis.  These records shall be provided
to the Division Director and to the EPA on an annual basis
beginning July 1, 1998.

08/13/98
Section 15 - Data collection.

Accurate data collection is essential to the management,
evaluation, and enforcement of an LEIM program.  The
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Director shall gather test data on individual vehicles, as well
as quality control data on test equipment.

(a) Test data.
The goal of gathering test data is to unambiguously

link specific test results to a specific vehicle,  LEIM program
registrant, test site, and Motor Vehicle Technician, and to
determine whether or not the correct testing parameters were
observed for the specific vehicle in question.  In turn, these
data can be used to distinguish complying and non-complying
vehicles as a result of analyzing the data collected and
comparing it to the registration database, to screen inspection
stations and Motor Vehicle Technicians for investigation as
to possible irregularities, and to help establish the overall
effectiveness of the LEIM program.  At a minimum, the LEIM
program shall collect the following with respect to each test
conducted:

(1) Test record number;
(2) Inspection station and Motor Vehicle

Technician numbers;
(3) Test system number;
(4) Date of the test;
(5) Vehicle Identification Number;
(6) Delaware tag number;
(7) Manufacturer’s Gross Vehicle Weight Rating

(GVWR) for vehicles above 8,500 pounds;
(8) Vehicle model year, make, and body style and

EPA vehicle classification;
(9) Odometer reading;
(10) Category of test performed (i.e., initial test,

first retest, or subsequent retest);
(11)Fuel type of the vehicle (i.e., gas, diesel, or

other fuel);
(12)  Emission test sequence(s) used;
(13)  Hydrocarbon emission scores and standards

for each applicable test mode;
(14)  Carbon monoxide emission scores and

standards for each applicable test mode;
(15)  Carbon dioxide emission scores (CO+CO

2
)

and standards for each applicable test mode;
(16)  Nitrogen oxides emission scores, if available,

and standards for each applicable test mode;
(17)  Results (Pass/Fail/Not Applicable) of the

applicable visual inspections for the gas cap, catalytic
converter, evaporative system, and any other visual inspection
for which emission reduction credit is claimed;

(18)  Results of the evaporative system pressure
test expressed as a pass or fail; and

(b) Quality control data.  At a minimum, the program
shall gather and report the results of the quality control checks
required under Section 9 of this PFI, identifying each check by
station number, system number, date, and start time.  The data
report shall also contain the concentration values of the
calibration gases used to perform the gas characterization

portion of the quality control checks.

08/13/98
Section 16 -Data analysis and reporting.

Data analysis and reporting are required to allow for
monitoring and evaluation of the program by program
management and EPA, and shall provide information regarding
the types of program activities performed and their final
outcomes, including summary statistics and effectiveness
evaluations of the enforcement mechanism, the quality
assurance system, the quality control program, and the testing
element.  Initial submission of the following annual reports
shall commence on July 1, 1996.  The biennial report shall
commence on July 1, 1998.

(a) Test data report.
The Secretary shall submit to EPA by July of each

year a report providing basic statistics on the testing program
for January through December of the previous year, including:

(1) The number of vehicles tested by model year
and vehicle type;

(2) By model year and vehicle type, the number and
percentage of vehicles:

(i) Failing the emissions test initially;
(ii) Failing each emission control component

check initially;
(iii) Failing the evaporative system integrity

check initially;
(iv) Failing the first retest for tailpipe

emissions;
(v) Passing the first retest for tailpipe

emissions;
(vi) Initially failed vehicles passing the second

or subsequent retest for tailpipe emissions;
(vii)Initially failed vehicles passing each

emission control component check on the first or subsequent
retest by component;

(viii) Initially failed vehicles passing the
evaporative system integrity check on the first or subsequent
retest;

(ix) Initially failed vehicles receiving a waiver;
and

(x) Vehicles with no known final outcome
(regardless of reason);

(3) The initial test volume by model year and test
station;

(4) The initial test failure rate by model year and
test station; and

(5) The average increase or decrease in tailpipe
emission levels for HC, CO, and NO

x
 (if applicable) after

repairs by model year and vehicle type for vehicles receiving
an emission test.

(b) Quality assurance report.
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The Secretary shall submit to EPA by July of each

year a report providing basic statistics on the quality assurance
program for January through December of the previous year,
including:

(1) The number of inspection stations and lanes
operating throughout the year; and

(2) The number of inspection stations and lanes
operating throughout the year:

(i) Receiving overt performance audits in the
year;

(ii) Not receiving overt performance audits in
the year;

(iii) Receiving covert performance audits in the
year;

(iv) Not receiving covert performance audits
in the year.

(3) The number of covert audits:
(i) Conducted with the vehicle set to fail the

emission test;
(ii) Conducted with the vehicle set to fail the

component check;
(iii) Conducted with the vehicle set to fail the

evaporative system check;
(iv) Conducted with the vehicle set to fail any

combination of two or more of the above checks;
(v) Resulting in a false pass for emissions;
(vi) Resulting in a false pass for component

checks;
(vii)Resulting in a false pass for the evaporative

system check; and
(viii) Resulting in a false pass for any

combination of two or more of the above checks;
(4) The number of Motor Vehicle Technicians and

stations, in accordance with the Agreement between State of
Delaware Department of Public Safety Motor Vehicle
Division and Council 81 of the American Federation of State,
County and Municipal Employees and the State of Delaware
Merit Rules:

(i) That were suspended, fired, or otherwise
prohibited from testing as a result of overt or covert audits;

(ii) That were suspended, fired, or otherwise
prohibited from testing for other causes; and

(5) The number of Motor Vehicle Technicians
certified to conduct testing;

(6) The number of hearings:
(i) Held to consider adverse actions against

Motor Vehicle Technicians and stations; and
(ii) Resulting in adverse actions against Motor

Vehicle Technicians and stations;
(7) The total number of covert vehicles available

for undercover audits over the year; and
(8) The number of covert auditors available for

undercover audits.
(c) Quality control report.

The Secretary shall submit to EPA by July of each
year a report providing basic statistics on the quality control
program for January through December of the previous year,
including:

(1) The number of emission testing sites and lanes
in use in the LEIM program;

(2) The number of equipment audits by station and
lane;

(3) The number and percentage of stations that have
failed equipment audits; and

(4) Number and percentage of stations and lanes
shut down as a result of equipment audits.

(d) Enforcement report.
(1) The Secretary shall, at a minimum, submit to

EPA by July of each year a report providing basic statistics
on the enforcement program for January through December
of the previous year, including:

(i) An estimate of the number of vehicles
subject to the inspection program, including the results of
an analysis of the registration data base;

(ii) The percentage of motorist compliance
based upon a comparison of the number of valid final tests
with the number of subject vehicles;

(iii) The number of compliance surveys
conducted, number of vehicles surveyed in each, and the
compliance rates found.

(2) The Secretary shall provide the following
additional information obtained from the Director:

(i) A report of the LEIM program’s efforts and
actions to prevent motorists from falsely registering vehicles
out of the LEIM program area or falsely changing fuel type
on the vehicle registration, and the results of special studies
to investigate the frequency of such activity; and

(ii) The number of registration file audits,
number of registrations reviewed, and compliance rates found
in such audits.

(e) Additional reporting requirements.
In addition to the annual reports in paragraphs (a)

through (d) of this section, LEIM programs shall submit to
EPA by July of every other year, beginning with July 1, 1998,
biennial reports addressing:

(1) Any changes made in LEIM program design,
personnel levels, procedures, regulations, and legal authority,
with detailed discussion and evaluation of the impact on the
LEIM program of all such changes; and

(2) Any weaknesses or problems identified in the
LEIM program within the two-year reporting period, what
steps have already been taken to correct those problems, the
results of those steps, and any future efforts planned.

08/13/98
Section 17 -Motor Vehicle Technician training and certification.

The Department and the Division shall jointly ensure that
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adequate and appropriate training is available within the state.
Interested agents may apply to be a state training facility.
Upon evaluation of the program and a positive finding, the
agent may be certified.  The Department and the Division shall
monitor and evaluate the training program delivery at least
annually to ensure that it continues to meet the requirements
of the program and reflects changes occurring in the program
over time. (See also Appendix 17)

(a) Training.
(1) Motor vehicle technician training shall impart

knowledge of the following:
(i) The air pollution problem, its causes and

effects;
(ii) The purpose, function, and goal of the

inspection LEIM program;
(iii) State inspection regulations and

procedures;
(iv) Technical details of the test procedures and

the rationale for their design;
(v) Emission control device function,

configuration, and inspection;
(vi) Test equipment operation, calibration, and

maintenance;
(vii)Quality control procedures and their

purpose;
(viii) Public relations; and
(ix) Safety and health issues related to the

inspection process.
(2) [ Requirements for monitoring and evaluating

the training program delivery can be found in the PFI, Section
17]

(3) In order to complete the training requirement,
a trainee shall pass with a minimum of 80% of correct
responses to all questions, a written test administered by the
Division.  In addition, a hands-on test shall be administered
in which the trainee demonstrates without assistance the
ability to conduct a proper inspection, to properly utilize
equipment and to follow other procedures.  Inability to
properly conduct all test procedures shall constitute failure
of the test.  The LEIM program shall take appropriate steps
to insure the security and integrity of the testing process,
and that sufficient training is provided to allow all motor
vehicle technicians to complete the training requirements.

(b) Motor Vehicle Technician Certification.
(1) All motor vehicle technicians shall be certified

by the Division in order to perform official inspections.
(2) Completion of motor vehicle technician

training and passing required tests with a grade of at least
80% shall be a condition of certification.

(3) Motor vehicle technician certificates shall be
valid for no more than 2 years, at which point refresher
training and testing shall be required prior to renewal.
Alternative approaches based on more comprehensive skill

examination and determination of motor vehicle technician
competency may be used.

(4) Certificates shall not be considered a legal right
but rather a privilege bestowed by the LEIM program
conditional upon adherence to LEIM program requirements.

08/13/98
Section 18 -Public information and consumer protection.

(a) Public awareness.
The Department and the Division shall ensure the

development of a plan for informing the public on an ongoing
basis throughout the life of the LEIM program of the air
quality problem, the requirements of federal and state law,
the role of motor vehicles in the air quality problem, the
need for and benefits of an LEIM program, how to maintain a
vehicle in a low-emission condition, how to find a qualified
repair technician, and the requirements of the LEIM program.
This information will be provided to motorists whose vehicles
fail the emission test in a brochure developed by the Division
entitled “Vehicle Inspection Program Brochure.   Motorists
shall also be offered a list of repair facilities in the area and
information on the results of repairs performed by repair
facilities in the area, as described in Section 20 (b)(1) of this
PFI.

(b) Consumer protection.
The Department shall institute procedures and

mechanisms to protect the public from fraud and abuse by
Motor Vehicle Technicians, and others involved in the LEIM
program.  It shall include mechanisms for protecting whistle
blowers and following up on complaints by the public or
others involved in the process.  It shall include a program to
assist owners in obtaining warranty covered repairs for
eligible vehicles that fail a test.  Additional consumer
protection policies by the Division is included in  Appendix
18-(b).

08/13/98
Section 19 -Improving repair effectiveness.

Effective repairs are the key to achieving LEIM program
goals and the state shall take steps to ensure the capability
exists in the repair industry to repair vehicles that fail I/M
tests.

(a) Technical assistance.
The Department shall provide the repair industry with

information and assistance related to vehicle inspection
diagnosis and repair.

(1) The Department shall regularly inform repair
facilities of changes in the inspection LEIM program, training
course schedules, common problems being found with
particular engine families, diagnostic tips and the like.

(2) The Department shall provide a telephone
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number where the public may call with questions related to
the legal requirements of state and Federal law with regard
to emission control device tampering, engine switching, or
similar issues.  Where possible, the Department will assist
repair technicians with repair problems and answer technical
questions that arise out of the repair process.

(b) Performance monitoring.
(1) The Department shall monitor the performance

of individual motor vehicle repair facilities, and provide to
the public at the time of initial failure, a summary of the
performance of Certified Emission Repair Technicians that
have repaired vehicles for retest. The initial stage of the repair
technician report card will score certified emission repair
technicians only with a 1 each time a  repaired vehicle comes
in for a  retest and passes and a  0 when the repaired vehicle
fails after the retest.  Motor Vehicle  Technicians will enter
the Certified Emission Repair Technician’s code number into
data management system and the vehicle emission report for
that retest will then have the technician and the results of the
test in the record.  The records will then be compiled in a
report an a percent of repaired vehicles that passed the retest
will be given to each technician.  The initial analysis will be
to assess the training that the state provides to the technician
to acquire certification.  After the initial stage of the
performance monitoring program is completed, a full
performance monitoring shall include statistics on the
number of vehicles submitted for a retest after repair by the
repair facility, the percentage passing on first retest, the
percentage requiring more than one repair/retest trip before
passing, and the percentage receiving a waiver.  The
Department shall issue procedures to weight the averages
for repair shops, to avoid causing a shop to carry a poor record
from the beginning of the program that does not reflect their
current ability to make repairs.  The LEIM program may
provide motorists with alternative statistics that convey
similar information on the relative ability of repair facilities
provide effective and convenient repairs, in light of the age
and other characteristics of vehicles presented for repair at
each facility.

This performance monitoring shall be achieved by
requiring waiver applicants to have repairs performed at repair
facilities with state certified technicians beginning on January
1, 1997 for vehicles registered in New Castle County and
July 1, 1997 for vehicles registered in Kent County.  Shops
shall be encouraged to participate because market forces
dictate the majority of customers will want to seek out State
Certified repair technicians due to their implied and State
regulated qualifications to perform emission repairs.  By
“closing the loop”, a standard form readable by a scanner can
be used to report repair information by shop and technician
directly to a data-base, which will readily allow compilation
of the required reporting statistics on performance
monitoring.  Department personnel will review the Vehicle
Inspection Report and Vehicle Emission Repair Report Form

for the failures that occurred and the  types of repairs done
before retest.  (See Appendix  6 (a) (5) in Regulation  31  for
a copy of the Vehicle Emission Repair Report Form)

(2) The Secretary shall provide feedback, including
statistical and qualitative information (repair technician
report card) prior to releasing the information to the public,
to individual repair facilities on a regular basis (at least
annually) regarding their success in repairing failed vehicles.
Copies will be sent to the Division.

(c) Repair technician training.
The Secretary shall assess the availability of adequate

repair technician training in the emissions inspection area
and, if the types of training described in paragraphs (c)(1)
through (4) of this section are not currently available, shall
insure that training is made available to all interested
individuals in the community either through private or public
facilities.  This shall involve working with the College (or
other training agencies or training companies approved by
the Department and Division) to add curricula to existing
programs or start new programs  The training available shall
include:

(1) Diagnosis and repair of malfunctions in
computer controlled, closed-loop vehicles;

(2) The application of emission control theory and
diagnostic data to the diagnosis and repair of failures on the
emission test and the evaporative system functional check;

(3) Utilization of diagnostic information on
systematic or repeated failures observed in the emission test
and the evaporative system functional check; and

(4) General training on the various subsystems
related to engine emission control.

(d) The College (or other training agencies or
training companies approved by the Department and Division)
shall provide, jointly certified by the Department and the
Division, adequate training in emission repair to qualified
individuals.  The program of study shall be consistent with
the EPA Rule, and shall qualify the trainees to perform
effective repairs on vehicles failing the emission test.  The
course of study shall be available on ongoing basis.  The
Department shall cooperate with the College  (or other
training agencies or training companies approved by the
Department) on an ongoing basis to ensure the training
program remains current with any changes to the program or
it’s requirements.

08/13/98
Section 20 -Compliance with recall notices.

[RESERVED]

08/13/98
Section 21 -On-road testing.

On-road testing is defined as the measurement of HC,
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CO, and/or CO

2
 emissions on any road or roadside in any I/

M area.  On-road testing is required in the emission
inspection area as defined in Regulation No. 31.

(a) General requirements.
(1) On-road testing shall be part of the emission

testing system, but is to be a complement to testing otherwise
required. Using a mobile Bar 90 unit to fulfill this
requirement is one alternative under consideration.

(2) On-road testing shall evaluate the emission
performance of 0.5% of the subject fleet or 20,000 vehicles,
whichever is less, including any vehicles that may be subject
to the follow-up inspection provisions of paragraph (a)(4)
of this section, each inspection cycle.  For Delaware, that
means that at least 1,125 valid inspections on vehicles are to
be conducted in this manner, adjusting annually for any
changes in subject fleet size.

(3) Owners of vehicles that have previously been
through the normal periodic inspection and passed the final
retest and found to be high emitters shall be notified that the
vehicles are required to pass an out-of-cycle follow-up
inspection. Notification of the requirement to appear for
testing shall be issued by mail.

(4) Number of vehicles failing the on-road
emission test or found not in compliance with applicable
sections of Regulation 31 will be compiled and used as a
measurement of the compliance rate of the LEIM program.

(5) The on-road tests will be done at different
locations in the LEIM area and cover different times of the
year.

08/13/98
Section 22 -Implementation deadlines.

[Requirements may be found in Regulation 31, Section
13].

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311, 2304(16), & 3212
(18 Del.C. 311, 2304(16), 2312)

BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE

In the Matter of: |
THE PROMULGATION OF REGULATION |
NO. 80. FINAL ORDER. |

ORDER

COMES NOW, the Insurance Commissioner of the State
of Delaware and Orders in conformance with the Proposed
Order and Recommendation of the Hearing Officer as
follows:

WHEREAS, I have considered the Proposed Order and
Recommendation submitted by the Hearing Officer, as well as
the entire record of this matter; and

WHEREAS, I adopt the Proposed Order and
Recommendation and incorporate the summary of evidence,
the proposed findings of fact, and the recommendation of
the Hearing Officer by this reference.

NOW THEREFORE, I Order that Regulation No.80 be
promulgated as referenced herein, effective 45 days from
the date hereof.
SO ORDERED this 2nd day of July, 1998.

DONNA LEE WILLIAMS
Insurance Commissioner
State of Delaware

BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE

In the Matter of: |
The Proposed Insurance |
Department Regulation No. 80 |

PROPOSED ORDER AND RECOMMENDATIONS

Proposed Regulation 80 requires health insurance
companies to settle claims for health care services within a
prescribed period of time.  The purpose of this regulation is
to ensure that health insurers pay claims to policyholders
and health care providers in a timely manner.  Regulation 80
is intended to establish standards for both determining
promptness in settling claims and determining the existence
of a general business practice for failing to promptly settle
such claims under 18 Del. C. § 2304(16).  On May 1, 1998,
the proposed regulation was published in the Register of
Regulations in accordance with 29 Del. C. chapters 11 and
101.  Also in accordance with 29 Del. C. chapter 101, a hearing
was held on May 28, 1998 before the below-signed hearing
officer.  The record was left open until July 19, 1998 allowing
for the submission of additional exhibits by interested parties.
The following is my Proposed Order and Recommendation
regarding the adoption of Regulation 80.

Present at the May 28 hearing were numerous individuals
representing consumers, healthcare providers, the insurance
industry, the trial bar and others.  A list of attendees is attached
hereto as Exhibit “B”.  Those who testified are so designated.

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/index.htm
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I.  Summary of the Evidence

The evidence in this matter consists of the oral testimony
of 14 individuals, as well as 32 written exhibits submitted by
interested parties.  Broad support for the notion of setting a
bright line standard for the timely settlement of health care
claims was expressed by those who testified at the hearing.
Criticisms of the Regulation included:

1. a fear that health insurers would base their defense to
any action for violation of Regulation 80 on an assertion that
bills were not received;

2. a definition of a “clean claim “ does not appear in the
Regulation;

3. that the general business practice standard of three
failures to met claims during any 36 month period is too strict;
and

4. that the Insurance Commissioner lacked the authority
to define what constitutes a general business practice.

II.  Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

Based upon the evidence received in this matter both oral
and written, I find that the failure to timely settle health care
claims constitutes a serious problem adversely affecting
consumers and health care providers alike.  I find that the
Insurance Commissioner is authorized to define by regulation
what constitutes a general business practice.  It is illogical to
require the Insurance Commissioner to establish a general
business practice in order to enforce the provisions of the
Unfair Insurance Practice statute (Chapter 23 of the Insurance
Code) without implicitly granting the Commissioner the
authority to set that standard.  Additionally, I find that the
standard set establishes only a rebuttable presumption that
general business practice exists and that evidence relating to
the high percentage of claims processed in a timely fashion
may serve to rebut the presumption.
I recommend numerous technical, non-substantive revisions
to the proposed regulation evidenced by footnotes where they
appear in the “marked up” version of the Regulation attached
hereto as Exhibit “C”.

III.  Recommendation

For the above reasons, it is recommended that the
Insurance Commissioner adopt Regulation 80 in the form
attached as Exhibit “A”.

SO RECOMMENDED, this 1st day of July 1998.

Fred A. Townsend III
Hearing Officer

REGULATION NUMBER 80

STANDARDS FOR PROMPT, FAIR AND EQUITABLE
SETTLEMENT OF CLAIMS FOR HEALTH CARE

SERVICES

Sections
1. Authority
2. Definitions
3. Scope
4. Purpose
5. Prompt payment
6. General business practice
7. Penalty
8. Effective date

Section  1. Authority
This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner pursuant

to 18 Del. C. §§ 311, 2304(16), and 2312.  It is promulgated in
accordance with 29 Del. C. Chapter 101.

Section  2. Definitions
For the purpose of this regulation, the following

definitions shall apply:
a. Health Insurer - health insurance companies, health

maintenance organizations, health service corporations and
any other entity providing a plan of health insurance or
benefits subject to state insurance regulation;

b. Health Care Provider - any entity or individual
licensed, certified or otherwise permitted by law to provide
health care in the ordinary course of business, practice or
profession;

c. Policyholder - a person covered under [such ] [a
health insurance] policy or a representative designated by
such person and entitled to make claims on his or her behalf.

[d. “Clean Claim”  - a claim that has no defect or
impropriety (including any lack of any required
substantiating documentation) or particular circumstance
requiring special treatment that substantially prevents timely
payments from being made on the claim.1]

Section  3. Scope
This regulation shall apply to all health insurers as defined

in Section 2 above, and
shall apply to all [contracts for insurance issued by these
entities] [plans or policies of health insurance or benefits
delivered or issued for delivery in this State and which cover
residents of this State or employees of employers located in
this State and their dependents.  Exempted from the provisions
of this Regulation are policies of automobile and workers
compensation insurance, hospital income and disability
income insurance, medicare supplement and long-term care
insurance.2 ]
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Section  4. Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to ensure that health
insurers pay claims to policyholders and health care providers
in a timely manner.  This regulation will establish standards for
both determining promptness in settling claims and determining
the existence of a general business practice for failing to
promptly settle such claims under 18 Del. C.  § 2304(16).

Section  5. Prompt payment of claims
a. A health insurer shall pay a [clean3 ] claim to a

policyholder or covered person, or make payment to a health
care provider [within 45] [no later than 45 calendar4 ] days
[of]  [after]  receipt of a claim or bill for services.

b. [Paragraph “a.” of this section shall not apply in the
following cases:]

[A claim is not a clean claim as defined in section
2 d. if any of the following circumstances exist: 5 ]

[(1) Where the obligation to pay a claim is not
reasonably clear based on information available to the health
carrier.]

[(1) Where the obligation of a health insurer to pay
a claim or make a payment for health care services rendered
is not reasonably clear due to a good faith dispute regarding
the eligibility of a person for coverage, the liability of another
insurer or corporation for all or part of a claim, the amount of
the claim, the benefits covered under a contract or agreement
, or the manner in which services were accessed or provided.]

[(2)] [(1) There] [Where there] exists a reasonable
basis supported by specific information, available for review
by the Department, that such claim was submitted fraudulently.

[(3) For claims properly disputed or litigated and
subsequently paid.6]

c. In those cases covered by subparagraph b(1) above,
a health insurer shall pay [any undisputed] [all]  portion[s] of
[the] [a] claim [meeting the definition of clean claim found in
section 2 d.] in accordance with subsection 5 a. hereof.
[Additionally, a health insurer]  [ and 7 ] shall notify the
policyholder in writing within 30 days of the receipt of the
claim:

(1) that such carrier is not obligated to pay the claim
or make the medical payment, [in whole or in part, ] 8  stating
the specific reasons why it is not liable; or

(2) [to request all ] [that]  additional information [is]
needed [and is being sought9 ] to determine liability to pay the
claim or make the healthcare payment.

[d.10] Upon receipt of the information provided in
subparagraph c(2) above, [or of an appeal of a claim or bill for
health care services denied pursuant to subparagraph c(1),]
[or upon the administrative resolution of a dispute wherein
the health insurer is deemed obligated to pay the claim or
make medical payment 11,] a health insurer shall comply with
paragraph “a.” of this section.

Section 6. General business practice
a. Within a 36 month period, three instances of a health

insurer’s failure to pay a claim or bill for services promptly, as
defined in section 5 above, shall give rise to a rebuttable
presumption that the insurer is in violation of 18 Del. C. §
2304(16)(f). [In determining whether the presumption is
rebutted the Commissioner may consider, among other
things, whether the health insurer meets nationally
recognized timeliness standards for claims payments such
as those applicable to the Medicare, Medicaid or Federal
Employees Health Benefit Plan programs.12]

b. The 36 month period established in paragraph “a.”
above shall be measured based upon the date the [claims or
bills became due13 ]  [complaints are received at the
Department].  Each claim or bill, or portion of a claim or bill,
pertaining to a single medical treatment or procedure provided
to an individual policyholder that is processed in violation of
this regulation shall constitute an “instance” as described in
paragraph “a.” above.

Section  7. Penalties
In addition to the imposition of penalties in accordance

with 18 Del. C. § 2312(b), [any health insurer that fails to adhere
to the standards contained in this regulation shall be required
] [the Commissioner may order the health insurer14] to pay
to the health care provider or claimant, in full settlement of the
claim or bill for health care services, the amount of the claim or
bill plus interest at the maximum rate allowable to lenders under
6 Del. C. 2301(a).  Such interest shall be computed from the
date the claim or bill for services first became due.

Section 8. Causes of Action [ and Defenses]
This regulation shall not create a cause of action for any

person or entity, other than the Delaware Insurance
Commissioner, against a health insurer or its representative
based upon a violation of 18 Del. C. § 2304(16). [ In the same
manner, nothing in this regulation shall establish a defense for
any party to any cause of action based upon a violation of 18
Del. C. § 2304(16).15]

Section  9. [Effective date] [Separability.]
[This regulation shall become effective 120 days from the

date signed by the Commissioner.] [If any provision of this
Regulation or the application of any such provision to any
person or circumstance, shall be held invalid, the remainder
of such provisions, and the application of such provision to
any person or circumstance other than those as to which it is
held invalid, shall not be affected.16]

[Section 10 Effective date
This regulation shall become effective 120 days from

the date signed by the Commissioner.]
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1. Definition of clean claim established by HCFA. Clean

claim definition called for by both industry and providers
representatives.

2. Technical revision that conforms with other such
references to Department jurisdiction in the Insurance Code.

3. See endnote 1
4. Technical revision
5. Technical revision clarifying intent.
6. Grants an exception for matters in dispute so as not

to create a violation for each dispute that lasts more than 45
days.

7. Technical revision
8. Technical revision
9. Technical revision
10. Technical revision
11. Clarification to conform with endnote 5
12. Clarifies that evidence of high percentage of timely

claim handling and satisfaction of national standards for
claims processing may serve as evidence to rebut
presumption of general business practice.

13. Revises standard that measures when late claims
processing can establish a general business practice from
the date of the report to date the claim is due.

14. Clarifies that penalties may be imposed by the
Insurance Commissioner and are not applicable in any private
cause of action. Also revision clarifies Commissioner’s
discretion in sanctioning offenders.

15. Strikes provisions that health insurer is prohibited
from raising defenses based on this regulation in any private
cause of action.

16. Technical revision

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING REGUL ATORY
CHANGES WERE MADE PRIOR TO THE

EFFECTIVE D ATE OF THE CURRENT
ADMINISTR ATIVE PROCEDURES ACT. THE

FOLLOWING IS PRESENTED FOR
INFORM ATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY.

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF |
THE DEVELOPMENT OF |
REGULATIONS FOR THE |
IMPLEMENTATION |
OF THE TELECOM- | PSC REGULATION
MUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY |  DOCKET NO. 41
INVESTMENT ACT |

FINDINGS, OPINION & ORDER NO.  4821

I. BACKGROUND

By Order No. 3647, dated July 20, 1993, the Delaware
Public Service Commission (“the Commission”) established
this docket “to consider the development and implementation
of such regulations as may be necessary to fully and
effectively implement the revised regulatory scheme” called
for by the Telecommunications Technology Investment Act
(“TTIA”), 26 Del. C. Subchapter VII-A.   The Commission’s
Order designated a Hearing Examiner to conduct the
proceedings in this docket and to report thereon to the
Commission.  On January 22, 1998, the Hearing Examiner
issued his Report including proposed “Rules and Regulations
for Implementing the Telecommunications Technology
Investment Act.”  The Hearing Examiner’s Report and
proposed Rules are attached hereto as Exhibit “A.”  The
Commission gave the participants to this proceeding the
opportunity to file exceptions to the Hearing Examiner’s
Report.  The Public Service Commission Staff (“Staff”),
AT&T Communications of Delaware, Inc. (“AT&T”), MCI
Telecommunications Corp. (“MCI”), Bell Atlantic-Delaware,
Inc. (“BA-Del”) and the Division of the Public Advocate
(“DPA”) all filed timely exceptions.

II. SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED AND FINDINGS OF FACT AND
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The record before the Hearing Examiner consisted of 42
exhibits and a 1366 page verbatim transcript of evidentiary
hearings and oral argument in addition to competing texts of
the proposed rules and written argument in the form of briefs.
The Hearing Examiner’s Report thoroughly summarizes the
evidence and information contained in this record and includes
recommended findings and conclusions based thereon.  The
Commission adopts as its own, and hereby incorporates herein
as if fully set forth, the Hearing Examiner’s summary of the
proceedings, his summary of the evidence and information
submitted, and his recommended findings of fact and
conclusions of law, except to the extent otherwise noted herein.

III . DISCUSSION

A. Legal and Policy Issues
During the course of the proceedings, the parties

pursued certain legal and policy positions which appear no
longer to be in issue.  Thus, BA-Del took the position that
the Commission lacks authority to promulgate rules under
the TTIA.  The Hearing Examiner thoroughly considered this
issue and concluded that BA-Del’s position was not sound.
BA-Del has not taken an exception to this conclusion.  The
Commission accordingly concludes, for the reasons set forth

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/pubservc/delpsc.htm
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in the Hearing Examiner’s report, that promulgation of Rules
to implement the TTIA is an appropriate exercise of its rule-
making authority.

Earlier in this docket the Commission determined
that Section 710 of the TTIA required the adoption of adequate
methodologies to ascertain both appropriate cost allocation
and reasonable method(s) for determining incremental costs.
PSC Order No. 3783, ordering ¶ 5 (May  17, 1994).  In his report,
the Hearing Examiner recommended that, if (as he
recommended) a TS-LRIC pricing standard was adopted for
basic services and an imputation standard was applied, then
the Commission need not adopt a specific rule embracing a
cost allocation methodology since such a rule would be
redundant.  No party filed any exceptions to this
recommendation.  Given the lack of any insistence on a cost
allocation methodology, and given the duty of a
telecommunications provider to file annual reports detailing
total costs and revenues for discretionary and competitive
services, the Commission will not now adopt a specific rule for
allocation of non-direct costs.

B. Rules
The Commission adopts the rules proposed by the

Hearing Examiner, in their entirety, except as modified by
the following determinations set out below.  Because the
Commission concludes that the modifications it adopts here
do not make substantive, significant revisions and because
staff ’s initial proposals and the Hearing Examiner’s
recommendations were not published in the Delaware Register1 ,
the Commission does not believe these rules must be deemed
new proposals which must be renoticed under 29 Del. C. §
10118(c).

Thus, the Commission accepts the
recommendations of the Hearing Examiner and adopts his
proposed  Rules with the following modifications.  (5-0)  The
Rules, as adopted, are attached hereto as Exhibit B.

Rule 2.1. Basic Service
This Rule provides a definition of basic services.

The Rule proposed by the Hearing Examiner tracks the
language of § 705(a) of the TTIA; however, BA-Del pointed
out that in one section, the Hearing Examiner had omitted
the word “local” which appears in the statute.  We agree that
this is a significant omission.  Accordingly, we adopt Rule
2.1 as proposed by the Hearing Examiner except that
paragraph (3) of that Rule shall read:  “(3) Which are provided
for the purpose of completing local telephone calls.” (5-0)

MCI proposed deleting criteria (1) and (2) of this Rule.
These criteria are set forth in the statute and we believe they
are properly replicated in the Rule.

Rule 2.2. Discretionary Services
This Rule provides a definition of Discretionary

services.  The Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule limited

this category to services “furnished exclusively to end-users.”
BA-Del asserted that because BA-Del statutorily is required
to offer all telecommunications services, including
discretionary services, for resale, the proposed Rule would,
in effect, eliminate the discretionary services category.

We agree that the cited language is unduly limiting and
carries results unintended under the TTIA.  We therefore
adopt the following language for Rule 2.2:

Services provided by a telecommunications services
provider that are classified by the Commission neither
as basic services nor as competitive services. (5-0)

Rule 2.3. Competitive Services
This rule sets forth criteria under which services

may be classified as “competitive.”  The Rule recommended
by the Hearing Examiner provided that such classification
would be appropriate if  a competitor offers the “same”
functions and features in the “same” geographic area.  Bell
Atlantic argued that this test is unnecessarily restrictive and
suggested the following language, which we adopt:

Services may be classified as competitive if similar
or substitute functions and features are offered and
available from suppliers other than the electing
telecommunications  service provider within the
relevant geographic areas in which the electing
telecommunications service provider offers such
services.

(5-0).  No party took exception to the language of the remainder
of the Rule which we adopt as proposed by the Hearing
Examiner.

Rule 2.4. Just and Reasonable Rates
This Rule defines just and reasonable rates for basic

and discretionary services.  The Hearing Examiner’s proposed
Rule limited the definition to apply only to “new” basic and
discretionary services.  AT&T took exception to this limitation
as inconsistent with the statute. We agree that the definition
should not be limited to apply only to new services.
Accordingly, we adopt the following language:

Pursuant to § 706(a)(1) and (2), rates for basic and
discretionary services must be just and reasonable.
A just and reasonable rate for a basic service: (a) shall
be non-discriminatory; (b) shall be based on the direct
cost of providing the service; and (c) may include a
reasonable profit.  A just and reasonable rate for a
discretionary service: (a) shall be non-discriminatory;
and (b) shall equal or exceed the incremental cost of
providing such service.

(5-0)
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Rule 2.5. Same or Similar; Substitute
This Rule defines criteria under which a service or

product may be found to have the “same or similar”
capabilities as another service.  Again, Bell Atlantic proposed
revising the Hearing Examiner’s Rule to eliminate the
requirements that services have “the same” capabilities or
functions and that alternate services be provided at
“substantially equivalent” rates terms and conditions.  BA-
Del argued that services could function as substitutes in the
market place without meeting these criteria.  For its part,
Staff proposed revising the Rule to clarify that the alternate
service or product must be offered in a comparable
geographic area.

We agree with BA-Del  that the language proposed by
the Hearing Examiner is too narrow.  We similarly agree with
Staff that the Rule should make reference to the geographic
area in which the alternate service is provided; however, we
believe that in this respect the Rule should track the language
of § 705 of the TTIA.  Accordingly, we adopt the following
language:

A service or product shall not be deemed to have
similar or substitute capabilities as service provided
by an electing telecommunications service provider,
or to be a similar  or a substitute service or product,
unless: (1) an unaffiliated provider is able to offer
the alternative service or product in the relevant
geographic area; (2) the service or product is capable
of providing comparable functions or benefits as the
telecommunications service provider’s service to
which it is being compared; and (3)  customers are
likely to perceive the services as similar or a
substitute.

(5-0).  Since the text of the Rule no longer refers to “same”
capabilities, the caption shall be amended as well and shall be
“Similar or Substitute.”

Rule 2.13. Incremental Cost
The Hearing Examiner’s text of this Rule contains a

cross reference to “Rule 8” of the proposed Rules.  Staff
pointed out that this appears to be a typographical error since
the reference is to the substance of Rule 7 and the Proposed
Rules contain no Rule 8.  We agree to make this correction.
(5-0)

Rule 2.15. Essential Service
In this section, the Hearing Examiner proposed a

definition of  “Essential Service.”  The text of the Proposed
Rules do not further employ this term.  Accordingly, Staff
suggested that it be deleted.  We agree.  (5-0)

Section 3.0. Annual Price Index Filings
Section 3.0 deals, generally, with the mechanisms

for adjusting rates under the TTIA.  Rules 3.1 through 3.4
address filing requirements and price adjustment mechanisms
applicable to basic services.  The parties took a variety of
exceptions to the Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rules in this
area.  In particular, both Staff and BA-Del suggested
substantial modification to the Hearing Examiner’s Rule 3.4.3
concerning application of the price index.  Both Staff’s and
BA-Del’s proposed revisions are offered to provide the
Commission and BA-Del additional flexibility in implementing
rate changes indicated by application of the price index.  We
accepted Staff’s version (3 voting in favor, 2 opposed).  BA-
Del suggested revising Rule 3.1 to give itself the ability, with
Commission approval, to implement price adjustments
throughout the year, rather than only at the time of its price
index filing.  We agreed that such increased flexibility is
appropriate and accepted BA-Del’s language.  (5-0)

On further discussion, the Commission recognized
that the Commission’s goal of allowing a greater degree of
flexibility in the implementation and timing of price
adjustments indicated under the price index formula would
be furthered by allowing the parties an opportunity to jointly
propose a single consistent revised version of Section 3.0.
We directed the Staff to undertake to submit such a proposed
revision to us, after consultation with the other parties  (5-
0), and further directed Staff that, to the extent our previous
votes concerning Rule 3.4.3 and 3.1 might have been
inconsistent with the language of a unified revision of this
portion of the Rules, it need not defer to those earlier votes.
(5-0)

After the first deliberation, Staff submitted revised
versions of Rules 3.1 through 3.4 to which the other parties
do not object.  We are satisfied that this submission
accurately reflects our intentions and hereby adopt these
revised rules.   (5-0)

Rules 3.1 through 3.4 shall read:
3.1.Annual Price Index Report.  The

telecommunications service provider shall  submit to the
Commission  and interested parties on an annual basis a Price
Index Report (the “PI Report”).  The filing of the PI Report
shall be subject to the following requirements.

3.2.Timing and notice of PI Report.  No later than
March 31 of each year, the electing telecommunications
service provider shall file with the Commission its Annual
PI Report which shall identify the beginning and ending values
for the GDP-PI as defined in Rule 3.41 and based thereon
provide a calculation of the new PI to be applicable for the
coming 12-month period.  The telecommunications service
provider shall give notice of the details of such filings in
accordance with Rule 2.10 and newspaper notice in
accordance with Rule 2.11.  The Commission will, to the
extent possible, approve or adjust the PI Report no later than
120 days after such filing.
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3.3 Extension for filing a PI Report.  The

Commission may, for good cause shown, grant an extension
to a telecommunications service provider for filing its annual
PI Report.  The telecommunications service provider shall
notify the Commission promptly, file a request for a delay
and suggested revised dates. The Commission may set a new
date on which the filing will be submitted.

3.4.Rate adjustment mechanism for basic services.
Rates for basic services may be adjusted consistent with the
new PI throughout the calendar year upon approval by the
Commission, but a rate for a basic service may not be changed
based on the PI more than once in any calendar year.

3.4.1. Price Index.  The Price Index (“PI”)
shall initially be set at 100 and shall be computed annually
according to the following formula:

PI
new

 = PI
old

 x [1 + DGDP-PI  - X ± Z)

where

PI
new

 = PI for current year

PI
old

 = Calculated PI for previous year

DGDP-PI = Percentage change in Gross Domestic
Product fixed weight Price Index (expressed as decimal),
for the most recent 12-month period available at the time of
filing, as published by the United States Department of
Commerce.

X = The productivity offset factor, where the produc
tivity offset shall be 3% applied annually.

Z = The combined positive and negative effects of
exogenous changes in the telecommunications service
provider’s costs of providing telecommunications services,
measured as a percentage of previous years’ revenues that
are explicitly the result of unforeseen changes in the tele
communications service provider’s cost as defined in Rule
2.8.

3.4.2. Exogenous cost adjustments.Upon the
application of any ratepayer or the telecommunications
service provider, rates for basic services may be adjusted
with approval by the Commission in order to reflect
exogenous costs, as defined in Rule 2.8.  Application by a
service provider for exogenous cost adjustments, whether
increases or decreases, may be filed once per calendar year
in conjunction with the annual PI Report, as detailed in Rule
3.1.

3.4.3. Filing Requirements for PI Report.
The PI shall be based upon the GDP-PI as defined in Rule
3.4.1 and appropriate exogenous cost adjustments (also
referred to as “Z” adjustments), as provided for in Rule 2.8.

The PI Report shall contain supporting documentation and
calculations (including documentation and calculations to
support Z adjustments), and the telecommunications service
provider shall, to the extent possible, respond to any requests
for additional information propounded by the Commission’s
Staff within ten (10) business days of the receipt of such
request by the telecommunications service provider.

3.4.4. Rate Increases for Basic Services.
Increases in rates for basic services may not exceed that
permitted by the application of the PI set forth in Rule 3.2.
At its option, the telecommunications service provider filing
the PI Report may seek, simultaneous with the filing of the
Report, Commission approval for basic service rate increases
permitted by application of the PI.  The Commission shall
render a decision on such proposed rate increases within120
days of filing.

In the event that the telecommunications
service provider chooses to seek approval of basic service
rate increases permitted by application of the PI at any time
other than simultaneous with its annual PI Report, the provider
shall file the rate change with the Commission and shall give
notice in accordance with Rules 2.10 and 2.11.  The
Commission shall render a decision on such proposed rates
within 120 days from such filing.

3.4.5. Rate Decreases for Basic Services.
In years when the PI

new
 is less than PI

old
, the

telecommunications service provider shall decrease rates by
no less than the change in the PI; provided, however, that the
Commission may, for good cause shown, permit the
requesting service provider to aggregate the resulting negative
rate change and (1) apply the amount to less than all basic
services; provided, however, that the aggregated amount shall
be allocated equitably among residential, business and
interexchange classes of customers, or (2) hold it in reserve
and apply it in  subsequent years, along with an amount
representing  interest at the rate established in Regulation
Docket No. 11 for the period in which the
telecommunications service provider reserved the rate
decrease.  In years when the PI

new
 is less than the PI

old
 the

telecommunications service provider shall seek,
simultaneous with the filing of the Report, Commission
approval for basic service rate decreases indicated by the
application of PI, or approval for aggregating or reserving
such decreases as permitted by subparagraphs (1) and (2) of
this Rule 3.4.5.  The Commission shall render a decision on
such proposal within 120 days from such filing.

Notwithstanding the provisions of this Rule
3.4.5, the telecommunications service provider, consistent
with Section 707(c)(2), may elect to decrease rates in
circumstances where the PI would permit otherwise and may
decrease rates in an amount greater than would be required
by the PI.

We note that adoption of these revised Rules also
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entails revision, for consistency, of other portions of Section
3.  Thus, the Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule 3.7 defining
“Z adjustments” under the price index formula is deleted as
it is redundant with new Rule 3.4.3.  Similarly, the language
of Hearing Examiner’s Rules 3.10 and 3.11 (now renumbered
as Rules 3.9 and 3.10) required minor revisions to their
language to make them consistent.  We hereby adopt those
revisions.  (5-0)

Rule 3.6. Rate Adjustments or Other Changes to
the Terms and Conditions  for  Competitive Services

This Rule requires, among other things, that the
telecommunications service provider shall provide written
noticeto the Commission within 72 hours of a change to the
prices, terms or conditions for competitive service.  BA-
Del tookexception to this provision but withdrew its
exception at the time of the Commission’s consideration.
We therefore adopt the Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule.
(5-0)

Rule 3.8. Prohibition Against Cross-
Subsidization

This Rule sets forth the statutory prohibition against
cross-subsidization.  The Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule
additionally addressed other matters.  Staff proposed to delete
this additional language as it duplicated provisions in other
sections of these Rules.  We agree.  The text of the Rule shall
be:

In compliance with Section 710(a) of the Act,
cross-subsidization of competitive services
with revenue generated from basic services or
discretionary services is prohibited.

Rule 3.9 (now Rule 3.8)Exogenous Cost Filing
Requirements

This Rule sets out the filing requirements that a
telecommunications service provider must make to show the
occurrence of an exogenous cost under the price index formula.
BA-Del took exception to that portion of the Rule which
required a telecommunications service provider to include
information concerning the extent to which the claimed
exogenous event is a unique and specific event affecting local
exchange telecommunications providers and/or Delaware
public utilities.  Staff explained that this requirement is intended
to give the Commission the information it requires to
differentiate between cost changes which are reflected in the
GDP-PI and those which are not.  We agree with Staff that the
requirement is appropriate.  (5-0)

The DPA suggested specifying that the Rule provide that
exogenous cost increases or decreases must be spread
equitably between the basic, discretionary and competitive
service categories.  We decline to make this change as we
believe this consideration can be taken into account at the
time of the cost change.  (5-0)

Rule 3.10 (now 3.9)        Filing Requirements for
Discretionary Services

The Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule requires, in
subparagraph (3), the telecommunications service provider
to submit with its annual price filing “a list of basic services
used to deliver [Discretionary] services.”  The Rule further
provides as an example of such underlying basic services,
“loops, switching functions, etc.”  While not objecting to
the requirement that it submit a list of underlying services,
BA-Del argued that it is unnecessary to provide examples of
such services in the Rule and that, in particular, “loops” and
“switching functions” are arguably not “services” at all.
Further, BA-Del proposed clarifying the initial sentence of
proposed Rule 3.10.  We agree with BA-Del on both points,
though we do not reach the issue of whether “loops” and
“switching functions” are or are not “services.”  Accordingly,
we adopt the following language:

The telecommunications service provider shall
submit, with its annual PI Report, discretionary
service data including:

*   *   *

(3) A list of basic services herein used separately
or in combination in order to deliver the services. (5-0)

Rule 3.11 (now 3.10) Filing Requirements for
Competitive Services

BA-Del again suggested omitting the parenthetical
in subparagraph (3) of this Proposed Rule which lists “loops”
and “switching functions” as examples of  “basic services”
that may be used to deliver a competitive service.  For the
reasons stated above, we will delete this language from the
Rule though, again the Commission does not reach the issue
of whether “loops” and “switching functions” are or are not
services.  (5-0)

Rule 3.12 (now 3.11)  Unbundling Require
ments For Competitive Services

The Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule requires
telecommunications service providers to provide access to
“all components of their basic and competitive services on an
unbundled basis at any technically feasible point on rates
that are just, reasonable and non-discriminatory.”  BA-Del
proposed striking the requirement that access be provided to
“components” of basic or discretionary services (rather than
to the services themselves) and further proposed striking the
requirements  that such access be provided at a technically
feasible point and on rates that are just, reasonable and non-
discriminatory.  BA-Del explained that it was concerned that
these provisions might ultimately be interpreted in a manner
inconsistent with the requirements imposed by the
Telecommunications Act of 1996.  Staff urged that the Hearing
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Examiner’s language be adopted as proposed.  We agree.
Accordingly, we adopt the Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule.
(5-0)

Proposed AT&T Rule 3.13
AT&T proposed adding a new Rule to Section 3

allowing “interested persons” to obtain discovery from the
telecommunications service provider within ten days of a price
index filing.  We agree with BA-Del that this Rule is
unnecessary. We reserve to the Commission the right to allow
discovery in appropriate cases.  (5-0)

Rule 4.1.3.1          Competitive Services Test
This Rule defines the criteria by which a service

may be judged to be “competitive.”  The Hearing Examiner
adopted standards which track the language of the TTIA.  MCI
suggested revising these criteria to require a complete absence
of barriers to entry and pricing at economic cost.  The
Commission believes it more appropriate to track the statutory
criteria and accordingly adopts the Hearing Examiner’s
proposed Rule.  (5-0)

Rule 5.3. Notice Requirements
The Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule requires a

party petitioning for service reclassification to publish notice
thereof.  AT&T and the Public Advocate suggested that the
Rule be revised to reflect the requirement of § 706(a)(4) of the
TTIA that notice also be served on interested interexchange
telecommunications carriers and the Division of the Public
Advocate.  The Commission agrees this modification should
be made.  The Commission directed Staff to propose the
necessary language, which it has done.  We therefore adopt
proposed revisions to Rule 5.3.  The Rule shall read:

Any petition for reclassification shall be filed by the
petitioning party concurrently with the Commission
and the telecommunications service provider, no less
than thirty (30) days prior to the proposed
implementation date for the reclassified service.  The
petitioning party shall public newspaper notice
pursuant to Rule 2.11.  Such notice shall specifically
describe the proposed filing and the effect of
Commission approval of such filing, and shall state
that written comments may be filed with the
Commission for its consideration.  In addition, the
petitioning party shall serve a copy of the petition for
reclassification on all interexchange
telecommunications carriers and service providers
who have submitted a written request for such notice
with the petitioning party and the Commission, and
on the Division of the Public Advocate.

(5-0)

Rule 5.4. Opportunity for Comment by
Interested Parties

The Hearing Examiner’s Proposed Rule set forth
time periods within which interested parties may file
comments concerning petitions for reclassification and
within which the Commission is to render a  decision.  BA-
Del suggested revisions to these time periods.  The parties
conferred prior to the Commission’s consideration and
submitted a jointly proposed modification to the Rule which
the Commission accepts.  The language of the Rule shall be:

Interested persons may file comments with the
Commission regarding any petition for
reclassification and may also request that the
Commission hold an evidentiary hearing on such
petition.  Comments shall be due twenty (20) days
following the date of publication of newspaper notice.
The Commission may, for good cause shown, extend
the comment period and the effective date for a
specific petition.  However, the Commission shall
issue a final order on a petition to reclassify a service
within one hundred twenty (120) days after the petition
date.

(5-0)

Rule 7.1. Definition of Incremental Costs Used
for the Determination of a Service Price Floor and the
Determination of a Service Price Floor and the Determination
of an Absence of Category Cross-Subsidization

As pointed out by AT&T, the caption of this Rule
contains typographical errors.  It shall be revised to read
“Definition of Incremental Costs to be Used to Determine a
Service Price Floor.” (5-0)

Rule 7.2. Additional Use of Incremental Costs
In the Calculation of a Price Floor For Discretionary and
Competitive Services

Rules 7.2.1 and 7.2.2 set forth the imputation test
governing rates for discretionary and competitive services.
Under the Hearing Examiner’s proposed formulation, the
revenue resulting from a proposed rate must equal or exceed
the revenue resulting from the sum of the rates which  another
telecommunications provider  “must use” in provision of the
service, plus additional factors.  AT&T suggested replacing
the phrase “must use” with the phrase “typically uses” since,
in absolute terms, no service provider “must use” any service.
AT&T further suggested a definition of the phrase “typically
uses” with which the other parties are in agreement.  We
therefore adopt AT&T’s proposed revisions to Rules 7.1 and
7.2.  The Rules shall read:

Rule 7.2.1. That the revenue resulting from the
proposed  rate for a Discretionary Service equals or
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exceeds the revenue resulting from the sum of the
rate(s) for the Basic Services which another
telecommunications service provider typically uses
in its provision, plus any additional incremental costs
incurred by the electing telecommunications service
provider and not associated with the rate(s) for the
Basic Services that are used to provide the
Discretionary Service.  In determining when another
telecommunications service provider “typically uses”
a Basic Service in its provision of a competing
Discretionary Service, the Commission shall consider
the current practices of other providers, whether
technically feasible, economically reasonable
alternatives exist for the underlying Basic Services,
and such other factors as the Commission deems
appropriate.

Rule 7.2.2 That the revenue resulting from the
proposed rate for a Competitive Service  equals or
exceeds the revenue resulting from the rate(s) for
Basic and Discretionary Services which another
telecommunications service provider typically uses
in its provision, plus any additional incremental costs
incurred by the electing telecommunications service
provider and not associated with the rate(s) for such
Basic and Discretionary Services that are used to
provide the Competitive Service.  In determining when
another telecommunications service provider
“typically uses” a Basic or Discretionary Service in
its provision of a competing Competitive Service, the
Commission shall consider the current practices of
other providers, whether technically feasible,
economically reasonable alternatives exist for the
underlying Basic and Discretionary Services and such
other factors as the Commission deems appropriate.

(5-0)

Rule 7.2.3 applies the imputation test to individual
customer contracts.  The Hearing Examiner’s proposed rule
requires each service in an individual customer contract to
meet the imputation standard. BA-Del suggested revising the
Rule to apply the standard to the contract as an aggregate
rather than to the individual services provided therein.  Staff
agreed with this change and we believe it to be reasonable.
Rule 7.2.3 shall read:

Individual customer contracts that include
Discretionary or Competitive Services with underlying Basic
or Discretionary Services that competitors typically use to
compete with BA-Del must satisfy the requirements of Rule
7.2.1 and 7.2.2, as applied to the complete contract price.
(5-0)

Rule 7.3. Total Service Long Run Incremental

Cost Study Methodology

Rule 7.3.1 establishes the general methodology for
performing TSLRIC cost studies.  The DPA took exception,
arguing that the Commission should adopt the incremental
cost rules proposed by the DPA’s consultant as the appropriate
costing methodology, instead of TSLRIC.  The Commissioners
conclude that use of TSLRIC as proposed by the Hearing
Examiner is appropriate.  (5-0)

Rule 7.3.1.7.Cost of Money
The Hearing Examiner’s proposed Rule required that the

telecommunications service provider fully document its
assumptions concerning the cost of money.  The Commission
believes this Rule to be too narrowly phrased.  Instead, the
telecommunications service provider should be required to
fully document all assumptions used, not merely the cost of
money.  Accordingly, the Commission adopts the following
Rule.

Assumptions.  The telecommunication service
provider shall fully document all assumptions used
to compute the proposed TSLRIC prices.

(5-0)

Rule 7.3.2. Administrative Requirements.

This Rule imposes certain requirements on the
telecommunications service provider to provide cost study
and other information.  Both Staff and BA-Del propose
changes intended to clarify the scope of the Rule.  The DPA
requested an express requirement that it should receive copies
of all materials produced.  The Commission adopts Staff’s
proposed rephrasing together with the DPA’s comments.  The
Rule we adopt is:

The telecommunications service provider shall
produce available documentation for all incremental
cost studies performed in compliance with this Rule.
Such documentation shall be substantively equivalent
to that provided by Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc. in
connection with incremental cost studies at the time
of the adoption of these rules.  The
telecommunications service provider shall provide a
copy of all documentation produced to the Division
of the Public Advocate.

(5-0)

Rule 7.4. The Application of the TSLRIC Price Floor
and Imputation Standard.

Rule 7.4.1. requires that, in applying the TSLRIC price
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floor and imputation standard, the revenue associated with a
particular Basic Service offering must be sufficient to meet its
TSLRIC price floor, unless otherwise authorized by the
Commission.  The DPA proposed elimination of this Rule for
the reason that it is inappropriate to authorize the Commission
to allow any basic service to be priced below cost.  The
Commission rejects this position and accepts the Rule as
proposed by the Hearing Examiner.  (5-0)

Notice to DPA.  The DPA requested the Hearing Examiner’s
rules 3.0, 5.3 and 7.3.2 be amended to require a
telecommunications service provider to serve the DPA with
all documentation provided to Staff.  The Rules as adopted
require such service.  (5-0)

NOW, THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED this 9th day
of June, 1998:

1. The Rules and Regulations for Implementing the
Telecommunications Technology Investment Act attached
hereto as Exhibit “B” shall be and hereby are adopted.

2. The Secretary of the Commission shall arrange for
publication of this Order and the Rules in the Delaware
Registrar of Regulations at the earliest possible date.

3. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date of the publication of this Order and the Rules in
the Delaware Registrar of Regulations.

4. The Commission reserves jurisdiction to enter such
other and further orders in this matter as it may deem
appropriate.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Joshua M. Twilley, Vice Chairman,
Arnetta McRae, Commissioner
John R. McClelland, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson
Acting Secretary

EXHIBIT “B”

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF  |
THE DEVELOPMENT OF  |
REGULATIONS FOR THE  |    REGULATION
IMPLEMENTATION OF THE  |    DOCKET NO. 41
TELECOMMUNICATIONS  |
TECHNOLOGY INVESTMENT  |
ACT RULES AND REGULATIONS   |
FOR IMPLEMENTING THE  |
TELECOMMUNICATIONS  |
TECHNOLOGY INVESTMENT ACT |

RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR IMPLEMENTING
THE TELECOMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY

INVESTMENT ACT

§ 1.0  Applicability.  These rules shall apply only to
telecommunications service providers that elect, pursuant to
Section 704 of Subchapter VII of Title 26 of the Delaware Code
Annotated, hereinafter, the “Act”, to have rates and prices
governed by the Telecommunications Technology Investment
Act (“TTIA”).

§ 2.0  Definition of Terms.
2.1. Basic service shall mean those local exchange carrier

telecommunications services: (1) which are offered in the
absence of services or products with the same or similar
capabilities offered by another service provider; (2) for which
significant barriers exist impeding entry into the market; (3)
which are provided for the purpose of completing local
telephone calls; (4) which are for the purpose of providing
access to the local exchange carrier’s network; or (5) which are
purchased as necessary components for other providers of
telecommunications services to offer, exclusive of stand-alone
resale offerings, their telecommunications services.  Unless
and until the Commission shall determine otherwise pursuant
to § 706 of this title, “basic services” shall include the
following:

(1) Residence, business, public and semipublic
“dial tone line” services;

(2) Residence, business and public “local usage
services;”

(3) “Switched access” services;
(4) “Exchange access component of centrex”

service;
(5) “White pages listings; whether listed, non-listed

or private;”
(6) “Local directory assistance service;”
(7) “Telecommunications relay service;”
(8) “911 enhanced emergency system;”
(9) “Direct inward dialing” for PBX trunks;
(10) “Basic service elements;”
(11) “TouchTone service;”
(12) “ISDN service” and features;
(13) “Basic rate interfaces;”
(14) “Primary rate interfaces;”
(15) Services categorized as “basic serving

arrangements” except for “high capacity special services”
(1.544mb and above); and

(16) “Complementary network services” except as
provided by a local exchange carrier to end users or for stand-
alone resale.

The Commission may, after notice and hearing, classify
other telecommunications services as basic services.
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2.2  Discretionary services.  Services provided by a

telecommunications service provider that are classified by the
Commission neither as basic services nor as competitive
services.

2.3. Competitive services. Services may be classified as
competitive if similar or substitute functions and features are
offered and available from suppliers other than the electing
telecommunications service provider within the relevant
geographic areas in which the electing telecommunications
service provider offers such services.  The provision of
services in this category may require the use of plant and/or
other resources of the electing telecommunications service
provider which are also used by the telecommunications
service provider jointly or in common for purposes of producing
and/or furnishing services classified as basic, discretionary,
or competitive.  For any service provided by a
telecommunications service provider to be classified by the
Commission as competitive, the Commission shall have
determined that all of the market conditions set forth in Section
705 (c) of the TTIA and Rule 4.1.3.1. exist with respect to such
service.  In addition, the Commission may consider any other
factors it deems relevant and in the substantial public interest
in making its determination regarding classification of a service
as competitive, including, but not limited to, those factors
enumerated in Rule 4.1.3.1.  All competitive services shall be
presumed to receive above-the-line regulatory treatment unless
expressly assigned by the Commission to below-the-line
treatment upon a finding, made pursuant to these Rules, that
all of the criteria required for the transfer of a service or activity
from above-the-line to below-the-line regulatory treatment have
been satisfied.

2.4. Just and Reasonable Rates.  Pursuant to §706 (a) (1)
and (2), rates for basic and discretionary services must be just
and reasonable.  A just and reasonable rate for a basic service:
(a) shall be non-discriminatory; (b) shall be based on the direct
cost of providing the service; and (c) may include a reasonable
profit.  A just and reasonable rate for a discretionary service:
(a) shall be non-discriminatory; and (b) shall equal or exceed
the incremental cost of providing such service.

2.5. Similar or substitute.  A service or product shall not
be deemed to have similar or substitute capabilities as service
provided by an electing telecommunications service provider,
or to be a similar or a substitute service or product, unless:  (1)
an unaffiliated provider is able to offer the alternative service
or product in the relevant geographic area; (2) the service or
product is capable of providing comparable functions or
benefits as the telecommunications service provider’s service
to which it is being compared; and (3) customers are likely to
perceive the services as similar or a substitute.

2.6. Present and viable.  The terms “present” and “viable”

may be defined differently depending on the characteristics
of the market for the service in question.  Therefore, the
Commission shall, on a case-by-case basis, determine the
definitions of these terms.

2.7. Barriers to market entry.  Barriers to market entry may
include any significant legal, regulatory, or economic factors
that inhibit entry into the market, including, but not limited to,
certification or franchise requirements, requirements for
easements or rights-of-way, pre-qualification financial
requirements, or exceptionally high start-up costs.  The
Commission shall, on a case-by-case basis, determine the
definition of these terms.

2.8. Exogenous costs; unforeseen cost changes.  Costs
that reflect an unforeseen change in the telecommunications
service provider’s costs of providing telecommunications
services, which change occurs for reasons beyond the control
of the electing telecommunications service provider.  Such
change may include, but not be limited to, legal or regulatory
changes which affect such costs, the method of accounting
for such costs, or taxes applicable to the service provider.

2.9. Day.  Any reference to a certain number of days shall
be interpreted to mean calendar days unless otherwise noted.

2.10. Notice.  Unless otherwise specified, notice shall,
at a minimum, consist of concurrent service of all documents
required to be filed with the Commission on:  (a) the Public
Advocate; and (b) all interested persons that submit a written
request to the Commission to provide such notice, pursuant
to an appropriate proprietary agreement, to the extent that any
such documents contain information claimed to be proprietary.
To the extent such proprietary documents are filed, and
interested persons have submitted a written request for notice
but have not executed an appropriate proprietary agreement,
the telecommunications service provider shall provide an
expurgated version of the notice to such parties.

2.11. Newspaper notice.  Newspaper notice shall
consist of publication of the required information, in a format
and manner consistent with the provisions of 26 Del. C. §102A.

2.12. Telecommunications Service Provider; Electing
Telecommunications Service Provider.  A telecommunications
service provider, otherwise subject to regulation by the
Commission under Chapter I, Subchapter III of Title 26 of the
Delaware Code Annotated, who elects in accordance with
Section 704 of the TTIA, to be governed by the provisions of
the TTIA.

2.13. Incremental cost.  Incremental Cost shall be
defined as long run, forward-looking, incremental costs
calculated in accordance with the principles, guidelines, and
requirements set forth in Section 7.
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2.14. Service.  As used herein, the term “service” shall

include any discrete, identifiable telecommunications service,
specifically delineated as such in the telecommunications
service provider’s tariff and/or price lists, and/or legally
classified as a competitive service, or determined by Order of
the Commission to be specifically delineated in such tariff
and/or price lists, in accordance with the TTIA and these rules.

§3.0. Annual Price Index Filings.

3.1. Annual Price Index Report.The telecommunications
service provider shall  submit to the Commission  and interested
parties on an annual basis a Price Index Report (the “PI
Report”).  The filing of the PI Report shall be subject to the
following requirements.

3.2. Timing and notice of PI Report. No later than
March 31 of each year, the electing telecommunications service
provider shall file with the Commission its Annual PI Report
which shall identify the beginning and ending values for the
GDP-PI as defined in Rule 3.4.1. and based thereon provide a
calculation of the new PI to be applicable for the coming 12-
month period.  The telecommunications service provider shall
give notice of the details of such filings in accordance with
Rule 2.10 and newspaper notice in accordance with Rule 2.11.
The Commission will, to the extent possible, approve or adjust
the PI Report no later than 120 days after such filing.

3.3 Extension for filing a PI Report.  The Commission
may, for good cause shown, grant an extension to a
telecommunications service provider for filing its annual PI
Report.  The telecommunications service provider shall notify
the Commission promptly, file a request for a delay and
suggested revised dates. The Commission may set a new date
on which the filing will be submitted.

3.4. Rate adjustment mechanism for basic services.  Rates
for basic services may be adjusted consistent with the new PI
throughout the calendar year upon approval by the
Commission, but a rate for a basic service may not be changed
based on the PI more than once in any calendar year.

3.4.1. Price Index.  The Price Index (“PI”) shall
initially be set at 100 and shall be computed annually
according to the following formula:

PI
new

 = PI
old

 x [1 + DGDP-PI  - X ± Z)

where

PI
new

 = PI for current year

PI
old

 = Calculated PI for previous year

DGDP-PI = Percentage change in Gross Domestic

Product fixed weight Price Index (expressed as decimal),
for the most recent 12-month period available at the time
of filing, as published by the United States Department
of Commerce.

X = The productivity offset factor, where the
productivity offset shall be 3% applied annually.

Z = The combined positive and negative effects of
exogenous changes in the telecommunications service
provider’s costs of providing telecommunications
services, measured as a percentage of previous years’
revenues that are explicitly the result of unforeseen
changes in the telecommunications service provider’s
cost as defined in Rule 2.8.

3.4.2. Exogenous cost adjustments. Upon
the application of any ratepayer or the telecommunications
service provider, rates for basic services may be adjusted
with approval by the Commission in order to reflect
exogenous costs, as defined in Rule 2.8.  Application by a
service provider for exogenous cost adjustments, whether
increases or decreases, may be filed once per calendar year
in conjunction with the annual PI Report, as detailed in Rule
3.1.

3.4.3. Filing Requirements for PI Report.  The
PI shall be based upon the GDP-PI as defined in Rule 3.4.1
and appropriate exogenous cost adjustments (also referred
to as “Z” adjustments), as provided for in Rule 2.8.  The PI
Report shall contain supporting documentation and
calculations (including documentation and calculations to
support Z adjustments), and the telecommunications service
provider shall, to the extent possible, respond to any requests
for additional information propounded by the Commission’s
Staff within ten (10) business days of the receipt of such
request by the telecommunications service provider.

3.4.4. Rate Increases for Basic Services.
Increases in rates for basic services may not exceed that
permitted by the application of the PI set forth in Rule 3.2.
At its option, the telecommunications service provider filing
the PI Report may seek, simultaneous with the filing of the
Report, Commission approval for basic service rate increases
permitted by application of the PI.  The Commission shall
render a decision on such proposed rate increases within120
days of filing.

In the event that the telecommunications service
provider chooses to seek approval of basic service rate
increases permitted by application of the PI at any time other
than simultaneous with its annual PI Report, the provider shall
file the rate change with the Commission and shall give notice
in accordance with Rules 2.10 and 2.11.  The Commission
shall render a decision on such proposed rates within 120
days from such filing.

3.4.5. Rate Decreases for Basic Services.I n
years when the PI

new
 is less than PI

old
, the telecommunications
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service provider shall decrease rates by no less than the
change in the PI; provided, however, that the Commission
may, for good cause shown, permit the requesting service
provider to aggregate the resulting negative rate change and
(1) apply the amount to less than all basic services; provided,
however, that the aggregated amount shall be allocated
equitably among residential, business and interexchange
classes of customers, or (2) hold it in reserve and apply it in
subsequent years, along with an amount representing  interest
at the rate established in Regulation Docket No. 11 for the
period in which the telecommunications service provider
reserved the rate decrease.  In years when the PI

new
 is less

than the PI
old

 the telecommunications service provider shall
seek, simultaneous with the filing of the Report, Commission
approval for basic service rate decreases indicated by the
application of PI, or approval for aggregating or reserving
such decreases as permitted by subparagraphs (1) and (2) of
this Rule 3.4.5.  The Commission shall render a decision on
such proposal within 120 days from such filing.

Notwithstanding the provisions of this Rule 3.4.5,
the telecommunications service provider, consistent with
Section 707(c)(2), may elect to decrease rates in
circumstances where the PI would permit otherwise and may
decrease rates in an amount greater than would be required
by the PI.

3.5. Rate cap for discretionary services.  Discretionary
service prices may not be increased by a telecommunications
service provider until after one (1) year following the utility’s
initial election under Price Regulation.  Discretionary service
prices may be increased by not more than 15% per calendar
year.  All prices for discretionary services shall be filed with
the Commission and made available for public inspection.

3.6. Rate adjustments or other changes to the terms and
conditions for competitive services.  Rates or terms and
conditions for competitive services may be determined by the
telecommunications service provider, subject to the provisions
of 26 Del. C. §709.  The telecommunications service provider
shall provide information regarding prices, terms and
conditions for competitive services to the Commission and
shall, within 72 hours of a change thereto, give written notice
to the Commission of such change or of a departure from such
prices or terms and conditions.

3.7. Prohibition against cross-subsidization.
In compliance with Section710(a) of the Act, cross-
subsidization of competitive services with revenue generated
from basic services or discretionary services is prohibited.

3.8. Exogenous cost filing requirements.  Any proposal
for recovery of exogenous costs through an adjustment to the
PI mechanism must include all of the following information:

(1) a description of the exogenous event or

condition;
(2) the date on which it occurred or became known;
(3) the amount of the flow-through requested;
(4) whether it is an increase or a decrease;
(5) an indication of how the increase or decrease

would be spread to each of the service categories (i.e., Basic,
Discretionary and Competitive);

(6) specifically how it would be spread to rates in
the Basic category; and

(7) the extent to which such an event or condition
has a unique and specific effect on local exchange
telecommunications utilities and/or Delaware regulated public
utilities by virtue of their status as such.

3.9. Filing requirements for discretionary services.  The
telecommunications service provider shall submit with its
annual P.I. Report discretionary service data including:

(1) a list of all discretionary services;
(2) the prices for the service;
(3) a list of the basic services used separately or in

combination in order to deliver the services;
(4) the total incremental cost associated with the

provision of the discretionary service that is separate from
the incremental cost associated with any underlying basic
service; and

(5) the total revenues and incremental costs for
competitive services as a whole.

3.10. Filing requirements for competitive services.
The telecommunications service provider shall submit with
its annual PI Report competitive service data sufficient to
establish that no cross-subsidization of competitive services
with revenues from basic or discretionary services exists.  Such
data shall include:

(1) a list of all competitive services;
(2) the rates for each service;
(3) a list of the basic and/or discretionary services

used separately or in combination in order to deliver the
competitive service;

(4) the total incremental cost associated with the
provision of the competitive service that is separate from
the incremental cost associated with any underlying basic
and/or discretionary services; and

(5) the total revenues and incremental costs for
competitive services as a whole.

3.11. Unbundling requirements for competitive
services.  For each competitive service, the electing
telecommunications service provider shall provide, to any
requesting telecommunications service provider,
nondiscriminatory access to all components of each basic or
discretionary service that is/are used to deliver the competitive
service, on an unbundled basis at any technically feasible
point, at rates, terms, and conditions that are just, reasonable,
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and nondiscriminatory.

3.12. Review of annual PI Report. I n t e r e s t e d
persons shall have thirty (30) days following the annual PI
Report date in which to submit written comments, and the
telecommunications service provider shall file a response with
the Commission within fifteen (15) days of the end of the
comment period.  The Commission may extend the comment
period for good cause shown.

3.13. Application by Purchasing Service Provider for
Determination that a Purchased Basic Service Rate is Just and
Reasonable.  Upon application by a provider of
telecommunications service, the rate charged for a basic service
which is purchased as a necessary component by such
provider of telecommunications services may be adjusted by
the Commission at any time upon a showing by such
telecommunications service provider that the rate is not just
and reasonable, provided that the rate so established is
consistent with Rule 7 of these Rules.

3.14. Revenue Neutral Changes.  Notwithstanding
any provisions within Section 3 of these Rules, upon
application by a telecommunications service provider, the rate
structure for a basic service may be adjusted by the
Commission where such adjustments would neither increase
nor decrease the total revenue to the service provider from
that particular basic service.

§ 4.0 Service classification and reclassification.
Telecommunications services will be regulated in accordance
with the provisions of §§705-709 of the TTIA and shall each
be classified or reclassified as specified below.

4.1 Classification of new services.  Services shall be
classified according to the specifications set forth below.
Phrases used to identify specific services within the foregoing
classifications shall be given meanings commonly ascribed to
them in proceedings before the Commission.  If the Commission
determines that any of such phrases have uncertain meaning,
the Commission shall, by order after duly noticed hearing,
adopt an appropriate definition.

4.1.1. Basic services.  An electing
telecommunications service provider shall file with the
Commission tariffs setting forth therein rates, terms, and
conditions for all basic services.

4.1.1.1. Basic services test.  Any new service
or any existing service for which reclassification has been
proposed pursuant to Section 5.0, which exhibits any one or
more of the following characteristics shall be classified as a
basic service:  (a) the service is offered in the absence of
services or products with similar or substitute capabilities
(as defined in Rule 2.5) offered by another service provider
not affiliated with the telecommunications service provider;

(b) it is a service for which significant barriers exist that
impede entry into the market; (c) it is a service provided for
the purpose of completing local telephone calls; (d) the
service provides access to a local exchange carrier’s network;
or (5) the service is purchased as a necessary component,
feature, or function for other providers of
telecommunications services in order to offer (exclusive of
stand-alone resale offerings) their telecommunications
services.

4.1.1.2. Initial list of basic services.  Unless
and until the Commission shall determine otherwise, basic
services shall include all of the following services:

(1) residence, business, public and semi-
public dial tone line services;

(2) residence, business, and public local
usage services;

(3) switched access services;
(4) exchange access component of

Centrex service;
(5) white page listings (whether listed,

non-listed, or private);
(6) local directory assistance services;
(7) telecommunications relay service;
(8) 911 enhanced emergency system;
(9) direct inward dialing for PBX trunks;
(10) basic service elements;
(11)TouchTone service;
(12) ISDN service and features;
(13) basic rate interfaces;
(14) primary rate interfaces;
(15) services categorized as basic

serving arrangements except for high capacity special
services (1.544 mb and above); and

(16) complementary network services
except as provided by a local exchange carrier to end users
or for stand-alone resale.

4.1.1.3. Other services.  The Commission may,
after notice and hearing, classify other telecommunications
services as basic services.

4.1.2. Discretionary services.   The
telecommunications service provider shall file with the
Commission a price list for all discretionary services.  A full
description of all terms and conditions for all discretionary
services shall be provided to the Commission.

4.1.2.1 Discretionary services test.
“Discretionary services” shall mean those
telecommunications services that the Commission
determines to be neither “basic services” nor “competitive
services.”

4.1.3. Competitive services.  The
telecommunications service provider shall provide to the
Commission a price list accompanied by a full description
of terms and conditions for all competitive services.  Such
price list shall be made available for public inspection at the
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offices of the Commission. Competitive services shall be
classified consistent with the following requirements.

4.1.3.1.  Competitive services test.  In order
for any existing or new service provided by a
telecommunications service provider to be classified as
competitive, the following market conditions must exist with
respect to such service:  (1) similar or substitute services or
products, as defined in Rule 2.5., are offered and generally
available within the relevant geographic area from at least
one unaffiliated provider; (2) there is at least one unaffiliated
provider that is present and viable, as determined by the
Commission; and (3) there are no significant barriers to
market entry, as defined in Rule 2.7.

4.1.3.2.  Other competitive service measures.
The Commission may also consider any other factors it deems
relevant and in the substantial public interest in making
determinations regarding the classification of services as
competitive.

§5.0 Service Reclassification. Reclassification of
existing services may occur as specified below subject to the
requirement that no service may be reclassified by the
Commission less than twelve (12) months after an initial election
by a telecommunications service provider made pursuant to
Section 704(a) of the Act.

5.1 Petitions to reclassify a service. A
telecommunications service provider, the Public Advocate, or
any party may file a petition with the Commission to reclassify
a service.  The Commission may also undertake such activity
on its own motion.  Any party, including the Commission’s
Staff, proposing any such reclassification shall have the burden
of supporting its proposal, except with respect to the
reclassification of a competitive service, in which case the
telecommunications service provider shall bear the burden of
demonstrating that said service continues to be a competitive
service.

5.2 Petition filing requirements. Any petition for
reclassification of a service made by any party must include,
at a minimum, the following information.

(1) a description of the service to be reclassified;
(2) the present category in which the service is

classified;
(3) the present and, if appropriate, the proposed

rates of the service; and
(4) a showing that the subject service meets all tests

and requirements of the category into which it has been
proposed to be classified.

5.3.  Notice requirements. Any petition for
reclassification shall be filed by the petitioning party
concurrently with the Commission and the telecommunications
service provider, no less than thirty (30) days prior to the

proposed implementation date for the reclassified service.  The
petitioning party shall publish newspaper notice pursuant to
Rule 2.11. Such notice shall specifically describe the proposed
filing and the effect of Commission approval of such filing,
and shall state that written comments may be filed with the
Commission for its consideration.  In addition, the petitioning
party shall serve a copy of the petition for reclassification on
all interexchange telecommunications carriers and service
providers who have submitted a written request for such notice
with the petitioning party and the Commission and on the
Division of the Public Advocate.

5.4. Opportunity for comment by interested parties.
Interested persons may file comments with the Commission
regarding any petition for reclassification and may also request
that the Commission hold an evidentiary hearing on such
petition.  Comments shall be due twenty (20) days following
the date of publication of newspaper notice.  The Commission
may, for good cause shown, extend the comment period for a
specific petition. However, the Commission shall issue a final
order on a petition to reclassify a service within one hundred
twenty (120) days after the petition date.

5.5. Rates for reclassified services. Where the
Commission has reclassified a service as a Basic service or a
Discretionary service, the Commission may determine whether
the current rate is just and reasonable.

§ 6.0  Reporting Requirements.

6.1. Reports. A telecommunications service provider shall
provide the Commission with any and all reports required by
the Commission, unless a petition is filed and approved
pursuant to Rule 7.2.

6.2. Petition to discontinue reports. A
telecommunications service provider may petition the
Commission to discontinue the provision of a report upon a
showing that such report is no longer necessary in order for
the Commission to fulfill its obligation under the Act.

§ 7.0 Incremental Cost Price Floor and Cross Subsidization
Prohibitions.

7.1. Definition of Incremental Costs to be used to
Determine a Service Price Floor.  Calculations of incremental
costs using the methodology described in this rule shall be
used by the telecommunications service provider.

7.1.1. The incremental costs used to determine a
price floor for a service and to insure the absence of service
cross subsidization as required by Section 710 of the Act
will be Total Service Long Run Incremental Costs
(“TSLRIC”), defined as the difference in the forward looking
total costs of the service provider less the forward looking
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total costs of the service provider without the service or
services at issue.

7.1.2. TSLRIC for determination of product or
service price floors shall be performed on the basis of the
individual service and shall include the forward looking
volume sensitive costs plus the product or service specific
fixed costs.  These forward looking volume sensitive costs
and the product or service specific fixed costs shall be known
as direct costs.

7.2. Additional Use of Incremental Costs in the
Calculation of a Price Floor for Discretionary and Competitive
Services. Incremental costs using the methodology described
herein shall be used by the telecommunications service
provider to meet the requirements of Sections 708 (a) (2) and
709 (2) of the TTIA. To meet these requirements a
telecommunications service provider shall demonstrate:

7.2.1. That the revenue resulting from the
proposed  rate for a Discretionary Service equals or exceeds
the revenue resulting from the sum of the rate(s) for the Basic
Services which another telecommunications service provider
typically uses in its provision, plus any additional incremental
costs incurred by the electing telecommunications service
provider and not associated with the rate(s) for the Basic
Services that are used to provide the Discretionary Service.
In determining when another telecommunications service
provider “typically uses” a Basic Service in its provision of a
competing Discretionary Service, the Commission shall
consider the current practices of other providers, whether
technically feasible, economically reasonable alternatives
exist for the underlying Basic Services, and such other factors
as the Commission deems appropriate.

7.2.2. That the revenue resulting from the
proposed rate for a Competitive Service  equals or exceeds
the revenue resulting from the rate(s) for Basic and
Discretionary Services which another telecommunications
service provider typically uses in its provision, plus any
additional incremental costs incurred by the electing
telecommunications service provider and not associated with
the rate(s) for such Basic and Discretionary Services that
are used to provide the Competitive Service.  In determining
when another telecommunications service provider “typically
uses” a Basic or Discretionary Service in its provision of a
competing Competitive Service, the Commission shall
consider the current practices of other providers, whether
technically feasible, economically reasonable alternatives
exist for the underlying Basic and Discretionary Services
and such other factors as the Commission deems appropriate.

7.2.3. Individual customer contracts that include
Discretionary or Competitive Services with underlying Basic
or Discretionary Services that competitors typically use to
compete with BA-Del must satisfy the requirements of Rule
7.2.1 and 7.2.2, as applied to the complete contract price.

7.3.Total Service Long Run Incremental Cost Study
Methodology.

7.3.1. General Methodology. The
telecommunications service provider will perform TSLRIC
studies in compliance with the Act using the following:

1. Long Run. Long run shall be defined to mean
a period of time over which all optimal capacity expansions
or contractions can be accomplished.

2. Forward-Looking. Forward looking shall be
defined to mean that the telecommunications service provider
will include in its incremental cost studies the technology,
or mix of technologies, that would be chosen in the long run
as the most economically efficient choice for replacement
of existing plant, equipment, or other investments.

3. Network Topology. Existing network
topology will be assumed to exist over the long run, unless
the telecommunications service provider has documented
plans to change such topology.  If a planned, rather than actual,
network topology is used, it shall be used for all cost studies
performed in compliance with this section.  The technologies
that provide the most efficient means of supplying the
necessary capacity, given this topology, should be assumed.

4. Currently Available Technologies. The
telecommunications service provider’s economical choice
of forward looking technologies may be restricted to those
technologies available in the marketplace and for which vendor
prices can be obtained at the time the study is performed.

5. Increment to be Studied. For purposes of all
studies performed in compliance with this Rule, the relevant
increment of output shall be the level of output necessary to
satisfy the total current or forecasted demand of the service
being studied.

6. Planning Period. The planning horizon for
service offerings shall be no less than 5 years and no greater
than 8 years, unless otherwise authorized by the Commission.

7. Assumptions. The telecommunications
service provider shall fully document all assumptions used
to compute the proposed TSLRIC prices.

7.3.2. Administrative Requirements    The
telecommunications service provider shall produce available
documentation for all incremental cost studies performed in
compliance with this Rule.  Such documentation shall be
substantively equivalent to that provided by Bell Atlantic-
Delaware, Inc. in connection with incremental cost studies at
the time of the adoption of these rules.  The telecommunications
service provider shall provide a copy of all documentation
produced to the Division of the Public Advocate.

7.4.The Application of the TSLRIC Price Floor and
Imputation Standard.

1. The revenue associated with a particular Basic
service offering must be sufficient to meet its TSLRIC price
floor, unless otherwise authorized by the Commission.

2. The revenue associated with a particular
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Discretionary service offering must be sufficient to meet
its TSLRIC price floor and imputation standard.

3. The revenue associated with a particular
Competitive service offering must be sufficient to meet its
TSLRIC price floor and imputation standard.

4. The revenue associated with an individual
customer contract must be sufficient to meet the contract’s
TSLRIC price floor and applicable imputation standard.

1This docket commenced and hearings were held prior to
the implementation of the Delaware Register and the
modifications to the rule-making process brought about by
71 Del. Laws Ch. 48 (June 1, 1997).
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE

OFFICE OF THE STATE  BANKING  COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority:  5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. 121(b))

ORDER ADOPTING REVISED REGULATIONS 5.751.0013, 5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001, 5.1403.0002, 5.1403/1101.0003,
5.1422.0004, AND 5.3404.0001, AND RESCINDING REGULATION 5.853.0001.P

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 13th day of July, 1998, that revised regulations 5.751.0013, 5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001,
5.1403.0002, 5.1403/1101.0003, 5.1422.0004, and 5.3404.0001 are adopted, and regulation 5.853.0001.P is rescinded,
as regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.  Copies of revised regulations 5.751.0013, 5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001,
5.1403.0002, 5.1403/1101.0003, 5.1422.0004, and 5.3404.0001 are attached hereto and incorporated herein by refer-
ence.  Revised regulations 5.751.0013, 5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001, 5.1403.0002, 5.1403/1101.0003, 5.1422.0004, and
5.3404.0001 supersede previous regulations 5.750/751.0013, 5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001.P, 5.1403.0002.P, 5.1403/
1101.0003.NC, 5.1422.0004.P, and 5.304(b).0001, respectively.  The effective date of revised regulations 5.751.0013,
5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001, 5.1403.0002, 5.1403/1101.0003, 5.1422.0004, and 5.3404.0001 is August 13, 1998.  Regula-
tion 5.853.0001.P is rescinded, effective August 13, 1998.  Revised regulations 5.751.0013, 5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001,
5.1403.0002, 5.1403/1101.0003, 5.1422.0004, and 5.3404.0001 are issued by the State Bank Commissioner, and regu-
lation 5.853.0001.P is rescinded, in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code.

Revised regulations 5.751.0013, 5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001, 5.1403.0002, 5.1403/1101.0003, 5.1422.0004, and 5.3404.0001
are adopted, and regulation 5.853.0001.P is rescinded, pursuant to the requirements of Chapters I I and 101 of Title 29
of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Notice of the proposed amendments and the text of amended regulations 5.751.0013, 5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001,
5.1403.0002, 5.1403/1101.0003, 5.1422.0004, and 5.3404.0001, and notice of the proposed rescission and the text of
regulation 5.853.0001.1", were published in the June 1, 1998 issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations.  The Notice
also was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on June 3, 1998, and mailed on or before that date
to all persons who had made timely written requests to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner for advance notice of
its regulation-making proceedings.  The Notice included, among other things, a summary of the proposed amended
regulations, invited interested persons to submit written comments to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner on or
beforeJuly 13, 1998, and stated that the proposed amended regulations were available for inspection at the Office of the
State Bank Commissioner, that copies were available upon request, and that a public hearing would be held on July 13,
1998 at 1O: 00 a.m. in Room 113 of the Tatnall Building, William Penn Street, Dover, Delaware 19901.

2. No comments were received on or before July 13, 1998.

3. A public hearing was held on July 13, 199 8 at IO: 00 a.m. regarding the proposed amended regulations
5.751.0013, 5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001, 5.1403.0002, 5.1403/1101.0003, 5.1422.0004, and 5.3404.0001, and the pro-
posed rescission of regulation 5.853.0001.P. The State Bank Commissioner, the Deputy Bank Commissioner for Super-
visory Affairs, and the Court Reporter attended the hearing.  No other person attended the hearing.  The State Bank
Commissioner and the Deputy Bank Commissioner for Supervisory Affairs summarized the proposed amended regula-
tions for the record.  No other comments were made or received at the hearing on the proposed amended regulations.

4. After review and consideration, the State Bank Commissioner decided to adopt revised regulations 5.751.0013,
5.852.0002, 5.1403.0001, 5.1403.0002, 5.1403/1101.0003, 5.1422.0004, and 5.3404.0001, and to rescind regulation
5.853.0001.P, as proposed.

Timothy R. McTaggart
State Bank Commissioner
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Regulation No.:  5.751.0013
Effective Date: August 13, 1998

PROCEDURES GOVERNING THE DISSOLUTION OF A STATE CHARTERED BANK OR TRUST COMPANY
5 Del. C. §751

The procedure governing the dissolution of a state chartered bank or trust company are set forth in Chapter 1 of Title 8
(§§103 and 275) of the Delaware Code.  In addition, no bank or trust company shall file a Certificate of Dissolution of the Bank
with the Secretary of State until approval, both in form and substance, is granted by the State Bank Commissioner.  The
Commissioner may require such information as to the assets and liabilities and condition of the bank(s) concerned as necessary.

Letter of Intent

A letter stating the intent to dissolve a bank or trust company and the target date for dissolution shall be filed with the
Commissioner thirty (30) days prior to the anticipated dissolution.  Included in the letter shall be a detailed description of the
method used to dissolve the bank, including, but not limited to, the following:

1. Proposed or contracted terms of all asset sales including:  loans, securities, fixed assets and other assets;
2. Proposed or contracted terms for the assumption of deposit liabilities;
3. Proposed or contracted terms for disposition of other liabilities including contingent liabilities;
4. Proposed disposition of capital accounts including, if any, settlements with dissenting shareholders.

In addition, the Applicant shall provide in timely manner verified copies of the following:

1. Consent of shareholders of the dissolution;
2. Letter of intent regarding the purchase and assumption of assets and liabilities as submitted to the Federal Deposit

Insurance Corporation or other federal regulatory authorities;
3. Letters of approval from appropriate federal regulatory authorities.

Findings and Decision of the Commissioner

A review and analysis of the proposed dissolution shall be performed by the State Bank Commissioner.  Upon making a
determination, the Commissioner shall issue his approval of dissolution pursuant to 5 Del. C. §751, if appropriate.

Certificate of Dissolution

Applicant shall file in timely manner a certified copy of the Certificate of Dissolution, signed by the Secretary of State, with
the Office of the State Bank Commissioner.

Document Control No.: 20-15/98/7/02
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Regulation No.:  5.852.0002
Effective Date: August 13, 1998

APPLICATION TO BECOME A DELAWARE BANK HOLDING COMPANY
5 DEL. C. §852

I. Scope of Regulation

This regulation establishes procedures governing the creation of a Delaware bank holding company.  A bank holding
company with bank subsidiaries in Delaware whose operations are principally conducted within this state is required to become
a Delaware bank holding company.  A bank holding company is deemed to be principally conducting operations in Delaware
when the total deposits of all bank subsidiaries in this State are greater than in any other state (See 5 Del. C. §851(3)).  Except
as provided in §852(a), no bank holding company other than a Delaware bank holding company may own a Delaware bank.

II. Application

Notice of Intent to become a Delaware Bank Holding Company constitutes an application.  Said Notice of Intent shall be
filed in duplicate with the Office of the State Bank Commissioner.  The Notice of Intent shall include:

A) Name of Applicant and address of principal office.
B) The State in which the Applicant is (or will be) incorporated.  If the Applicant is incorporated outside of the State of

Delaware, identify the name and address of a resident of Delaware designated as the Applicant’s agent for the service of any
paper or notice of legal process.

C) If applicable, the corporate title and the address of the bank to be acquired; the number of voting shares to be acquired;
and the percentage of said shares this number represents.

D) The name, address and telephone number of the person(s) to whom inquiries may be directed.
E) The Notice of Intent shall include the following exhibits:

1) A copy of the Resolution by the Board of Directors of the Applicant authorizing the establishment of a
Delaware bank holding company.

2) A description of the Applicant and the transaction.
3) A description of the financial and managerial resources of the proposed Delaware bank holding company.
4) The future prospects of the bank holding company and the bank whose assets or shares it will acquire, if

applicable, to include a statement in narrative form of a three (3) year business plan of the Applicant for the proposed bank
holding company and, if applicable, the bank to be acquired.

5) The financial history of the Applicant:
a) Provide a narrative description of the financial history of the Applicant and its bank and deposit taking

non-bank subsidiaries over the past three (3) years.  Include as exhibits all annual statements of income and condition filed with
the bank regulatory authority or authorities in each state where the bank holding company maintains a bank subsidiary or, in the
case of a national bank, with the Comptroller of the Currency; provided that such filings shall not be required with respect to any
bank subsidiary under the jurisdiction of the Delaware State Bank Commissioner.

b) Provide for the past three calendar years, copies of all Form 10-Ks.
c) Describe regulatory action taken or anticipated or any agreements in lieu thereof entered into with a

regulatory agency, either federal or state, with regard to any bank subsidiary within the holding company.
6) The effects of the proposed acquisition on competition in Delaware.
7) Describe how this transaction will better meet the needs and convenience of the public in the State of Delaware.
8) A copy of the application filed with the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System to become a Bank

Holding Company.

III. Publication

A proposed form of public notice shall be filed at the time the Notice of Intent (Application) is submitted for the
Commissioner’s approval.  Said public notice shall include:  the name and address of the Applicant, the subject matter of the
application, the name and address of the bank to be acquired, and a statement indicating:  a) for a period of 20 days commencing
with the second date of publication, interested parties may submit written comments to the State Bank Commissioner at 555 E.
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Loockerman Street, Dover, Delaware 19901; and b) the application is on file in the Office of the State Bank Commissioner and
the non-confidential portions thereof will be available for examination by interested parties during regular office hours.

Upon written notice from the Commissioner that the proposed public notice is satisfactory, the Applicant shall cause said
public notice to be published once a week for two consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the community in
which the head office of the bank of which shares are to be acquired is located.  An affidavit of publication shall be submitted
to the Commissioner for the record.

IV. Additional Information

Upon review and consideration of the application, the Commissioner may require any additional information deemed
necessary.

V. Confidential Information

An Applicant may request that specific information included in the Notice of Intent be treated as confidential.  Any information
or exhibits of which the applicant claims the designation of confidential shall be segregated at the end of the application as a
separate exhibit designated as “confidential”.  The Commissioner, in his sole discretion, shall determine whether any or all of
the information for which the “confidential” designation is requested by the Applicant meets the criteria for confidentiality set
forth in 29 Del. C. §10112(b)(4).  All portions of the Notice of Intent which the Commissioner does not designate as “confidential”
shall be made available for public inspection and copying in the manner provided by law with the exception of the copy of the
Application filed with the Federal Reserve.

VI. Fees

The Notice of Intent (Application) shall be accompanied by a filing fee in the amount of five thousand seven hundred and
fifty dollars ($5,750.00) for the use of the State and a non-refundable processing fee in the amount of one thousand one hundred
and fifty dollars ($1,150.00).  Checks shall be made payable to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner.

VII. Hearing

If, after the twenty (20) day comment period, the Commissioner determines a public hearing should be conducted, such
determination shall be made within ten (10) days after the conclusion of the 20-day comment period.  Notice fixing the time,
place and date for the holding of a hearing on the application shall be published at least twenty (20) days prior to the day it is to
be held.  The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code.

VIII. Findings and Decision of the Commissioner

The Findings and Decision approving or disapproving the Application will be issued in accordance with Chapter 101 of
Title 29, Delaware Code.

Document Control No.: 20-15/98/7/03
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Regulation No.:  5.1403.0001
Effective Date: August 13, 1998

PROCEDURES GOVERNING FILINGS AND DETERMINATIONS RESPECTING
APPLICATIONS FOR A FOREIGN BANK LIMITED PURPOSE BRANCH

OR FOREIGN BANK AGENCY
5 DEL. C. §1403

1. Application Process

A. Form of Application - An Applicant to establish a limited purpose branch or agency of a foreign bank in Delaware shall
complete the “Application for Chartering of a Delaware Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch or Foreign Bank Agency”
(Regulation No. 5.1403.0002).  Such Application shall not be regarded as having been received by the Commissioner for the
purposes of these regulations unless (1) all information solicited is provided in satisfactory form; (2) all documents which are
required are attached to the application; (3) a duly empowered executive officer has signed and certified to the Application; and
the Application is accompanied by a certified check made payable to the “State of Delaware” in the amount of $2,000.00.

B. Notice of Receipt of Application - Within seven (7) days of the date on which the Commissioner shall deem an
Application to have been received, he shall cause to be published, at the expense of the Applicant, once a week for two consecutive
weeks in a publication of general circulation within the County where the office of said Agency is to be located a notice
acknowledging receipt of the Application, which further recites:

(i) The location of the proposed office of the Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch or Agency;
(ii ) A statement regarding where members of the general public may view, for a period of twenty (20) days, a copy of

that portion of the Application which is not deemed to be “confidential”.
(iii ) A statement requesting any objections to the application be filed with the State Bank Commissioner in writing

within twenty (20) days of the first publication.

2. Hearing

If after the twenty (20) day comment period, the Commissioner determines a public hearing shall be conducted:
(a) Such determination shall be made within ten (10) days after the conclusion of the 20-day comment period;
(b) The Commissioner shall fix a time, place, and date for the holding of a hearing for the presentation of data, views or

arguments pertinent to the application.  In no event may the date fixed be less than twenty (20) days after publication of notice
of the hearing.  The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code.

3. Findings and Decision of the Commissioner

The Commissioner shall issue his Findings and Decision relative to the application within sixty (60) days from the receipt
of an Application, or within thirty (30) days of a hearing on such Application, whichever shall later occur.

Document Control No.: 20-15/98/7/04

Regulation No.:  5.1403.0002
Effective Date: August 13, 1998

APPLICATION BY A FOREIGN BANK FOR A CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY TO ESTABLISH
A FOREIGN BANK LIMITED PURPOSE BRANCH OR FOREIGN BANK AGENCY

PURSUANT TO 5 DELAWARE CODE, §1403

Any application made to the State Bank Commissioner pursuant to §1403 of Title 5, Delaware Code, shall be submitted on
the form appended hereto and accompanied by all documents called for by such form as well as by a duly authenticated copy of
its charter and bylaws.  A non-refundable filing fee of $2,000 - payable to “State of Delaware”, must accompany the filing of the
attached application (5 Del. C., §1403(c)).
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Attachment

Document Control No.: 20-15/98/7/05

State of Delaware
OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Application of a Foreign Bank for a
Certificate of Authority to Establish a Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch

or Foreign Bank Agency
Pursuant to 5 Del. C. §1401

APPLICANT (Foreign Bank)

Name of Bank

Address of Principal Office  (Street, City/Town, County, Country and Zip Code)

Country Organized in                          Date Incorporated                    Duration of Corporation

Type of Business: _____Commercial Banking        _____Merchant Bank            ____Other Foreign Institution

PROPOSED (please indicate)
_____ FOREIGN BANK LIMITED PURPOSE BRANCH OR
_____ FOREIGN BANK AGENCY

Proposed Location  (Street), City/Town, County, State and Zip Code)

I, the undersigned, President of ______________________________________,
being duly authorized by a resolution of the Board of Directors (copy herewith submitted), hereby apply for a Certificate of
Authority with respect to the proposed __ foreign bank limited purpose branch or __ foreign bank agency (please indicate).  In
making this application, I am not acting as an agency for other persons undisclosed to the State Bank Commissioner.

In support of the application, I hereby make the following statements and representations and submit the following
information for the purpose of inducing the State Bank Commissioner to issue such Certificate of Authority:

The UNDERSIGNED HEREBY CERTIFIES that the statements contained herein are true to my best knowledge and
belief.
____________________________________ _______________________________
(Print or Type Name of President) Signature

_______________________________
Date

Sworn and Subscribed before me this _________ day of _____________________, _________.

 _______________________________
Notary Public

Part I.     APPLICANT

1. List the States and Countries into which the Applicant has been admitted or is qualified to transact business.  Provide the
title and address of the appropriate regulator in each case.
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2. Provide an opinion of a member of the Bar of the State or Country of origin that:

(a) applicant’s charter authorizes it to carry on the business contemplated by the application;
(b) applicant has at all times conducted, and is now conducting, its business as authorized by its charter and bylaws and in

compliance with the laws of the State or Country of origin; and
(c) the application complies with the laws of the State or Country of origin.

3. If the Applicant is required to make filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission under Section 14 or 15(d) of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Applicant shall file with this application copies of all such filings made within the three
year period immediately preceding the date of this application (provided that 10Q filings need not be included if 10K filings for
the applicable year are provided).  If no such filings are made, than there shall be attached to this application copies of the
applicant’s annual certified financial statements for the most recent three fiscal years for which they are available and the latest
available quarterly statement.  If the Applicant is a subsidiary of a bank holding company, the annual financial statements for
such bank holding company for the most recent three fiscal years for which they are available and for the latest available fiscal
quarter shall also be attached (provided that if the Applicant’s annual financial statements are prepared on a consolidated basis
with those of its parent bank company, only the consolidated financial statements need be attached).

Also attach a listing of all persons who are directors or executive officers of the Applicant Bank, listing as to each:  his or
her name and business address, present principal business activity, occupation or employment (including office held) and, if
carried on with an organization other than that the applicant, the name, principal business and address of such other organization.

4. The attached statement of financial condition should be prepared as of the date within 120 days prior to the date of the
application.

INSTRUCTIONS

This statement of the financial condition of your institution should be prepared as at the date within 120 days prior to the date of
the application.

1. It is requested that the statement form be carefully reviewed before preparing the figures, and that all assets, liabilities and
capital accounts be segregated and reported in the appropriate printed titles, wherever possible.  If you have items which cannot
properly be classified under these titles, use the additional lines, and indicate clearly the nature of each such item by attaching
explanations where necessary.

2. All “reserves” or “provisions” should be analyzed and reported as follows:
(a) Reserves or provision for known or expected losses on assets should be deducted from such asset accounts;
(b) Reserves or provision for known or expected liabilities should be reported in Liability items 9 or 14, as the case may

be; and
(c) Reserves or provision for future contingencies or unforeseen losses should be included in Liability item 18.

3. Include in Asset item 3 only balances on deposit by your institution with other banks.  Do not include overdrafts by other
banks in their accounts with your institution, or “call loans” or other extensions of credit to them.  All such advances should be
included as loans, Asset item 6, or should be reported separately below in Asset item 15, with appropriate explanations.

4. Include in Asset item 4 all obligations of National governments, such as short term “treasury bills” discounted, as well as
bonds or other securities issued by them.  Securities included in both Asset items 4 and 5 should be reported at net book values,
less the allocated “reserves” or “provisions”.  The current market value (at the statement date) must also be reported in the
footnote to the statement.

5. Include in Liability item 17 all “reserves” or “surplus” paid in or accumulated from prior periods, and all profits carried
forward at previous closings of the books, less amounts actually appropriated for dividends already declared.  Current earnings
and profits, less expenses and losses incurred since the latest closing of the books, should also be included in this item.
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6. Unpaid dividends, including amounts declared by the directors out of current or prior profits should be included in Liability
item 14.

7. All “per contra” accounts such as “collections for account of customers,” “securities held for account of customers,”
“customers’ liability on letters of credit,” “guarantees,” et cetera, should be omitted from the statement of assets, liabilities and
capital accounts, but should be reported separately as “contingent assets and liabilities.”

8. This statement should be verified by the oath of a principal executive officer of the bank.  If that officer is unable to verify,
the reasons for his failure to execute the affidavit should be recited in and made a part of the verification.  The required oath may
be administered without the United States by an ambassador, a minister plenipotentiary, a minister extraordinary, a minister
resident, a charge d’affaires, a consul-general, a vice-consul-general, a deputy-consul-general, a consul, a vice-consul, a deputy
consul, a consular agent, a vice-consular agent, a commercial agent, or a vice-commercial agent of the United States within his
jurisdiction.  The seal of his office or the seal of the consulate or legation to which he is attached should be affixed.

BEFORE PREPARING THIS STATEMENT
PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS ON THE PREVIOUS PAGE

STATEMENT TO THE BANK COMMISSIONER OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE
ASSETS

ASSETS FOREIGN CONVERSION       U.S.
AMOUNT        RATE* DOLLARS

1. Cash on hand (currency, coin, and bullion) _________ ____________ __________
2. Exchanges and checks for next day’s clearings _________ ____________ __________
3. Deposits in other banking institutions _________ ____________ __________

(See Instruction No. 3)
4. Securities of National Governments** _________ ____________ __________

(See Instruction No. 4)
5. Other readily marketable securities** _________ ____________ __________

(See Instruction No. 4)
6. Loans and discounts, including overdrafts

and mortgages _________ ____________ __________
7. Bills rediscounted or sold with endorsement _________ ____________ __________
8. Customers’ liability on acceptances _________ ____________ __________
9. Investments in banking premises, furniture

and fixtures _________ ____________ __________
10. Investments in affiliated and subsidiary

companies _________ ____________ __________
11. Loans and advances to affiliated and

subsidiary companies _________ ____________ __________
12. Accrued interest and commissions receivable _________ ____________ __________
13. Inter-branch accounts _________ ____________ __________
14. Other cash items _________ ____________ __________
15. Other assets _________ ____________ __________
16. Total assets _________ ____________ __________

*Conversion rate should be as of the date of the statement
**Current market value of:
(Item 4) Securities of National Governments _________ ____________ __________
(Item 5) Other readily marketable securities _________ ____________ __________
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STATEMENT TO THE BANK COMMISSIONER

OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE
LIABILITIES AND CAPITAL ACCOUNTS

LIABILITIES AND CAPITAL ACCOUNTS FOREIGN CONVERSION       U.S.
AMOUNT        RATE DOLLARS

1. Deposits secured by pledge of assets _________ ____________ __________
2. Deposits of National Governments and _________ ____________ __________

political subdivisions
3. Deposits of banking institutions _________ ____________ __________
4. Other demand deposits, including certified _________ ____________ __________

and officers’ checks
5. Other time deposits, including certificates _________ ____________ __________

of deposits and savings accounts
6. Total deposits (total of items 1 to 5, inclusive) _________ ____________ __________
7. Currency in circulation _________ ____________ __________
8. Bills rediscounted or sold with endorsement _________ ____________ __________
9. Other liabilities for borrowed money,

however represented _________ ____________ __________
10. Acceptances outstanding _________ ____________ __________
11. Accrued interest, taxes and expenses payable _________ ____________ __________
12. Unearned interest and commissions _________ ____________ __________
13. Inter-branch accounts _________ ____________ __________
14. Other liabilities _________ ____________ __________
15. Total liabilities (total of items 6 to 14 inclusive) _________ ____________ __________
16. Capital stock _________ ____________ __________
17. Surplus and undivided profits (See Instruction No. 5) _________ ____________ __________
18. Reserves for contingencies (See Instruction No. 2) _________ ____________ __________
19. Total capital accounts (items 16 to 18 inclusive) _________ ____________ __________
20. Total liabilities and capital (item 15 plus item 19) _________ ____________ __________

Part II. PROPOSED (please indicate)
____ FOREIGN BANK LIMITED PURPOSE BRANCH OR
____ FOREIGN BANK AGENCY

1. Provide the name and title of the individual(s) who shall be in charge of the business and affairs of the proposed ____
foreign bank  limited purpose branch or

____ foreign bank agency (please indicate).

2. List the address of the proposed registered office in this State and the name of the proposed registered agent in this State at
that address for service of any paper, notice or legal process upon the applicant.

3. PRO FORMA STATEMENT OF CONDITION - BEGINNING OF BUSINESS

Assets Liabilities and Capital

Description Amount Description Amount
Cash and due from banks __________ Liabilities _______
Securities __________
Loans __________
Bank premises __________ Total Liabilities _______
Furniture, fixtures and
     equipment __________
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Other Assets __________

Net organization expense

Total Assets __________

4. OFFICE(S)
Instructions:  Complete all appropriate sections below.  Where not applicable, insert “none.”  When the disclosure of any

information may adversely affect ongoing negotiations, include such information in the Confidential Section of this application.
Copies of any completed contracts should be submitted for the confidential use of the State Bank Commissioner.

a. Type of Occupancy (Check all which apply to indicate both type of quarters at opening and contemplated permanent
quarters.)

_______Permanent quarters leased (Complete b and c below)
_______Temporary quarters (Complete e below)
_______Permanent quarters owned (Complete b and d below)

b. Description of Premises
Dimensions Dimensions Number of   Number of
   of Lot of Building    Stories Parking  Spaces

Type of construction of building:

Details of building interior (mention all employee facilities and size of lobby area):

c. PREMISES LEASED
Name of Owner: ________________________________________________________________

Cost or appraised value of premises: ________________________________________________

Cost and description of leasehold improvements: ______________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
Terms of Lease  (Include renewal options): ___________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________
Insurance to be carried: __________________________________________________________
Annual Rental:_________________________________________________________________
Annual Amortization:____________________________________________________________

Copies of any lease should be submitted for the confidential use of the State Bank Commissioner.  Except where State law
obviates the need, a clause similar to the following should be incorporated in all leases drawn for the term exceeding one year
in connection with this application:

“Notwithstanding any other provisions contained in this lease, in the event the lessee is closed or taken over by the banking
authority in the State of Delaware, or other bank supervisory authority, the lessor may terminate the lease only with the concurrence
of such banking authority or other bank supervisory authority, and any such authority shall in any event have the election either
to continue or to terminate the lease:  Provided, that in the event this lease is terminated, the maximum claim of Lessor for
damages or indemnity for injury resulting from the rejection or abandonment of the unexpired term of the lease shall in no event
be in any amount exceeding the rent reserved by the lease, without acceleration, for the year next succeeding the date of the
surrender of the premises to the Lessor, or the date of re-entry of the Lessor, whichever first occurs, whether before or after the
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closing of the lessee, plus an amount equal to the unpaid rent accrued, without acceleration up to such date.”

d. PREMISES OWNED

Existing Structure

Name of Seller:________________________________________________________________
Date Constructed:______________________________________________________________
Cost to Bank:__________________________________________________________________
Cost and description of necessary repairs and alterations:_______________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________

Assessed Valuation:
Insurance to be Carried:
Estimated Annual Depreciation:
Depreciation Method:

Proposed Structure

Important:  In estimating cost of construction, include architect’s fee, site preparation, paving and landscaping.

Name of Seller of lot:__________________________________________________________
Cost of lot to bank:____________________________________________________________
Construction Cost:_____________________________________________________________
Estimated Assessed Valuation:___________________________________________________
Insurance to be carried:_________________________________________________________
Estimated Annual Depreciation:__________________________________________________
Depreciation Method:__________________________________________________________
Is the bank structure to be designed to permit additions to the building at a later  date?   _____ yes       _____ no

e. Temporary Quarters

Name of Owner: ______________________________________________________________
Cost or monthly rental:_________________________________________________________
Location  (Include distance and direction from permanent quarters):______________________
____________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________

Insurance to be carried:_________________________________________________________

Description of facilities and services offered (submit copies of lease or other contracts):
____________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________

Comments:___________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________
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5. PROPOSED INVESTMENT IN AND RENTAL OF FURNITURE, FIXTURES AND EQUIPMENT

Description:

Total Cost Annual Rental
ITEM (if owned) (if leased)

_________________________________ __________ __________
_________________________________ __________ __________
_________________________________ __________ __________
_________________________________ __________ __________
_________________________________ __________ __________
_________________________________ __________ __________
_________________________________ __________ __________
_________________________________ __________ __________
_________________________________ __________ __________

TOTALS __________ __________

Total Insurance to be Carried Total Annual Depreciation Depreciation Method

Do proponents plan to contract for off-premise electronic data processing  service?    ______yes     _______no      (If yes, list
servicer(s) if known and the applications that would be processed off-premise.  Attach copies of any electronic data processing
agreements that have been executed.)

6. ORGANIZATION EXPENSES

INSTRUCTIONS: List all expenses related to the organization of the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank
agency.  Include all expenses paid, additional costs anticipated prior to the opening date, and include any expenses for work
performed during the organization phases for which disbursement has been deferred beyond the opening date.
IMPORTANT:  If legal or other fees appear to be excessive in volume or amount, supportive documentation will be required.

TYPE OF RELATIONSHIP
(Specify Director,
Officer, 5% Stockholder,

ASSOCIATION or their relatives.
WITH BANK Designate any business

NAME OF RECIPIENT Mark appropriate column interests of the
Direct   Indirect   None aforementioned.) AMOUNT

Attorney Fees:
_________________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________
1.  TOTAL ATTORNEY FEES

Consultant Fees:
_________________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

2.  TOTAL CONSULTANT FEES________________________________________________________
3.  TOTAL PRE-OPENING SALARIES___________________________________________________
4.  TOTAL PRE-OPENING TRAVEL AND ENTERTAINMENT_______________________________
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5.  TOTAL APPLICATION AND INVESTIGATION FEES____________________________________

Other Expenses:   (Describe in detail any item in excess of $1,000)
________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

6.  TOTAL OTHER EXPENSES________________________________________________________
Total Organization Expenses  (Sum of lines 1-6 above.)

Pre-opening income

NET TOTAL

DESCRIBE SOURCE OF PRE-OPENING INCOME

DESCRIBE HOW ORGANIZATION EXPENSES WILL BE PAID

PROPOSED FOREIGN BANK LIMITED PURPOSE BRANCH OR
FOREIGN BANK AGENCY

PROJECTED AVERAGE ASSETS AND LIABILITIES

ASSETS YEAR 1 YEAR 2 YEAR 3

1. Cash & Cash Items in Process of Collection _______ _______ _______
2. Due from U.S. Office of Banks

(including placements of $ ) (1) _______ _______ _______
3. Due from Foreign Offices of Banks (1) _______ _______ _______
4. Investment Securities _______ _______ _______
5. Securities Purchased under Resale Agreements _______ _______ _______
6. Loans, Advances, Overdrafts (1) _______ _______ _______
7. Federal Funds Sold (1) _______ _______ _______
8. Customers’ Liability on Acceptances and

Deferred Payment Credits (1) _______ _______ _______
9. Bank Premises, Leasehold Improvements _______ _______ _______
10. Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment _______ _______ _______
11. Other Assets (1) _______ _______ _______
12. TOTAL ASSETS (Excluding Head Office, _______ _______ _______

Branches & Wholly Owned Subsidiaries)
13. Due from Head Office, Branches, Wholly Owned _______ _______ _______

Subsidiaries (Including loans, overdrafts,
def. pay’t credits, accept., FF sold, etc.)

14. TOTAL ASSETS _______ _______ _______

(1) Excluding Due from Head Office, Branches and Wholly Owned Subsidiaries
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PROPOSED FOREIGN BANK LIMITED PURPOSE BRANCH OR

FOREIGN BANK AGENCY
PROJECTED AVERAGE ASSETS AND LIABILITIES

LIABILITIES YEAR 1 YEAR 2 YEAR 3
CREDIT BALANCES (1)

15. Domestic IPCs _______ _______ _______
16. U.S. Offices of Banks _______ _______ _______
17. U. S. Government _______ _______ _______
18. Foreign IPCs _______ _______ _______
19. Foreign Offices of Banks _______ _______ _______
20. Foreign Governments, Official Institutions _______ _______ _______
21. Other Credit Balances _______ _______ _______
22. TOTAL CREDIT BALANCES
23. Borrowings from Banks (Outside U.S.  $        ) (1) _______ _______ _______
24. Securities Sold Under Repurchase Agreements    (1) _______ _______ _______
25. Federal Funds Purchases           (1) _______ _______ _______
26. Acceptances & Deferred Payments Credits _______ _______ _______
27. Other Liabilities           (1) _______ _______ _______
28. SUBTOTAL LIABILITIES _______ _______ _______
29. Accrued Expenses Payable _______ _______ _______
30. Due to Head Office, Branches, Wholly Owned

Subsidiaries (including borrowings of $           ) _______ ________ _______
31. Reserves for Loan Losses _______ ________ _______
32. Other Reserves (Specify) _______ ________ _______
33. TOTAL LIABILITIES _______ ________ _______

(1) Excluding Due to Head Office, Branches and Wholly Owned Subsidiaries

PROJECTION OF INCOME AND EXPENSE TO BE FILED IN CONNECTION
WITH APPLICATION BY FOREIGN BANKING CORPORATION TO OPEN AND

MAINTAIN A FOREIGN BANK LIMITED PURPOSE BRANCH OR FOREIGN BANK AGENCY

OPERATING INCOME YEAR 1 YEAR 2 YEAR 3

1. Interest & Fees on Loans _______ _______ _______
Income On:

2. Federal Funds Sold _______ _______ _______
3. Time Placements and C/Ds Purchased _______ _______ _______
4. Securities Purchased Under Agreements to Resell _______ _______ _______
5. Interest & Dividends on Investment Securities _______ _______ _______
6. Service Charges, Commissions and Fees

Foreign Exchange _______ _______ _______
7. Service Charges, Commissions and Fees

All Other _______ _______ _______
8. Net Profit on Foreign Exchange Trading _______ _______ _______
9. Other Operating Income (Itemized categories

aggregating $5,000 and over) _______ _______ _______
10. TOTAL OPERATING INCOME _______ _______ ________

OPERATING EXPENXE
11. Salaries and other employee benefits _______ _______ _______
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12. Interest on time certificates of deposit

of $100,000 and over _______ _______ _______
13. Interest on all other deposits or credit balances _______ _______ _______
EXPENSE INCURRED ON:
14. Federal funds purchased _______ _______ _______
15. Securities Sold Under Agreements to Repurchase _______ _______ _______
16. Interest on borrowings (Other than Head Office

Branches and Wholly Owned Subsidiaries) _______ _______ _______
17. Interest on borrowings from Head Office,

Branches and Wholly Owned Subsidiaries _______ _______ _______
18. Occupancy Expense - Banking Premises _______ _______ _______
19. Furniture & Equipment Expense - Include Deprec. _______ _______ _______
20. Amortization of start-up costs _______ _______ _______
21. Travel Expense _______ _______ _______
22. Insurance Expense _______ _______ _______
23. Legal Expense _______ _______ _______
24. Audit Expense _______ _______ _______
25. Communication Expense (Tel., Telex, Postage) _______ _______ _______
26. Promotional Expense _______ _______ _______
27. Other Operating Expense (Itemize categories

aggregating $5,000 and Over) _______ _______ _______
28. Provision for Loan Losses _______ _______ _______
29. TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSE _______ _______ _______
30. INCOME BEFORE INCOME TAXES AND

SECURITIES GAINS OR LOSSES _______ _______ _______
31. Applicable Income Taxes _______ _______ _______
32. INCOME BEFORE SECURITIES GAINS

OR LOSSES _______ _______ _______
33. Net Securities Gains or Losses

(Net of Related Tax Effects) _______ _______ _______
34. NET INCOME _______ _______ _______

* If projection does not show profitable operation (including provision for interest on borrowings
from Head Office, branches and wholly owned subsidiaries) by year 3, please indicate when
profits are expected.

9. FIDELITY COVERAGE

The applicant bank will at all times maintain sufficient surety bond coverage on its active officers and employees to
conform with generally accepted banking practices and will at all times maintain an excess employee dishonesty bond in the
amount of $1,000,000 or more.

10. PUBLIC CONVENIENCE AND ADVANTAGE

INSTRUCTIONS:  The proponents are responsible for developing the Legal factor Public Convenience and Advantage in
a way which clearly shows the economic support and justification for the Proposed Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch or
Foreign Bank Agency.  Submit such data relating to the trade area which you feel is relevant to the proposal.  If an economic
survey or feasibility study has been prepared it may provide most of the information requested.  Such information submitted in
support of your application will be included in the public file.

A. Briefly describe the geographical and product markets which the proposed Agency will principally serve.

B. Briefly indicate the reasons for submitting this Application and how the proposed Agency will become an economically
viable institution.
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PART III

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF PUBLIC CONVENIENCE
AND NECESSITY - CONFIDENTIAL SECTION

In preparing your application, keep in mind that the State Bank Commissioner deems that public policy warrants making all
information submitted to him in connection with this application available for public review, unless it qualifies for confidential
treatment under 29 Del. C. §§10002(d), 10112(b)(4), and Superior Court Rule of Civil Procedure 26(c).  The Commissioner has
determined that trade secrets, proprietary information and confidential financial information useful to the applicant in its business
will ordinarily qualify for such protection.

However, specific determinations of the question of confidentiality and non-disclosure rests in the first instance in the
discretion of the Commissioner and the specific information you include in the following section may be available for public
review in the discretion of the Commissioner.

I.  FINANCIAL HISTORY AND CONDITION

Outline below information with regard to fixed assets which you believe, if disclosed to the public, would adversely affect
ongoing negotiations.

Outline below, in detail, the basis for cost estimates for premises shown in the public section.

If fixed assets are to be purchased from a related party, evidence of the reasonableness of the cost(s)  must be provided.  Attach
copies of bids, independent appraisals and/or other supporting evidence.

If an insider is a party to any lease contract in connection with the application, explain the manner in which lease payments were
determined.

Specify the time required to prepare the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency premises for occupancy.  If
temporary quarters are anticipated, estimate the probable term of occupancy and describe the disposition of such quarters.

II.  FUTURE EARNINGS PROSPECTS

ESTIMATE OF SALARIES AND WAGES

POSITION FIRST YEAR SECOND YEAR THIRD YEAR

Officers ___________ ______________ ____________
Other Employees ___________ ______________ ____________

Total ___________ ______________ ____________

ESTIMATED LOAN DIVERSIFICATION

FIRST YEAR SECOND YEAR THIRD YEAR

TYPE OF LOAN Estimated   Average Estimated   Average Estimated   Average
Average      Percent Average     Percent Average      Percent
Volume       Return Volume     Return Volume       Return

Commercial ______      ______% ______    ______% ____ ____%
Installment ______      ______% ______    ______% ____ ____%
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Real Estate ______      ______% ______    ______% ____ ____%
Term ______      ______% ______    ______% ____ ____%
Purchased Participations ______      ______% ______    ______% ____ ____%

Exchange and Service charge policies to be followed.

COMMENTS  (Include other information supporting income and expense estimates reported in the Public Section of this
application).

III. PROPOSED OFFICERS

NOTE:  Attach a copy of the financial report and biographical information to include educational and business background for
each individual in charge of the business and affairs of the Proposed Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch or Foreign Bank
Agency.

PROPOSED OFFICERS OF THE FOREIGN BANK LIMITED PURPOSE BRANCH OR
FOREIGN BANK AGENCY

NAME ADDRESS AGE OCCUPATION TITLE

___________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________________________________

A. Has any proposed director, officer, or employee been convicted of any criminal offense involving dishonesty or a breach of
trust? ________ yes _________ no  (If yes, explain in Comments below.)

B. List names and addresses of all correspondent banks.

C. Are bonus, management or director compensation, or other similar plans in effect or anticipated?
__ yes   __ no  (If yes, attach copies.)

COMMENTS:

IV.  PUBLIC CONVENIENCE AND ADVANTAGE

List the proposed hours of operation for the proposed Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch or Foreign Bank Agency.
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Regulation No.:  5.1403/1101.0003
Effective Date: August 13, 1998

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE ORGANIZATION, CHARTERING, SUPERVISION, OPERATION AND
AUTHORITY OF A DELAWARE FOREIGN BANK LIMITED PURPOSE BRANCH, A DELAWARE FOREIGN BANK

AGENCY AND A DELAWARE FOREIGN BANK REPRESENTATIVE OFFICE

I. Statement of Authority.

These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the authority vested in the Commissioner under the provisions of Chapter
14, Title 5, Delaware Code, including without limitation §1403 (relating to the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign
bank agency application process); §1404(a)(2) (relating to the taking and maintenance of deposits by a foreign bank limited
purpose branch or foreign bank agency); §1405 (maintenance of assets by a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign
bank agency within Delaware); §1406(a)  (relating to the making of written reports to the Commissioner by a foreign bank
limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency); §1407 (relating to the rule-making power of the Commissioner generally);
§1420 (relating to the licensing and operation of a foreign bank representative office); §1422(a)  (relating to the application fee);
and §1424(b)  (relating to the fee which must accompany certain reports).  The Commissioner is authorized to adopt appropriate
regulations regarding the computation of tax liability of a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency or federal
branch or agency located in Delaware pursuant to the provisions of §1101(a) of Title 5.  Additionally, §121(b) authorizes the
Commissioner to prescribe regulations to carry out the purposes of Title 5.

II. General Powers.

A. Foreign Bank Agency.

A “foreign bank agency”, as defined in §101 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, shall be entitled to engage within the
State of Delaware in the general business of banking in the State of Delaware, subject, however, to the limitations set forth in 5
Del. C. §1404(a)(1).  The deposit taking authority of such agency, in addition to the authority expressly granted under §1404,
shall be co-extensive with the full authority which a federal agency operating in this State would have pursuant to the provisions
of the International Banking Act of 1978 as amended.

B. Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch

A “foreign bank limited purpose branch”, as defined in §101 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, shall be entitled to
engage in all the activities of a foreign bank agency and, in addition, may accept such deposits as would be permissible for a
corporation organized under §25A of the Federal Reserve Act (12 U.S.C. §611 et seq.).

C. Foreign Bank Representative Office.

A foreign bank representative office may conduct within the State of Delaware representative activities intended to
promote banking services offered by and originating from an office or offices of the foreign bank located outside the State of
Delaware.  A foreign bank representative office is prohibited from either offering or contracting for any product or service
within the State of Delaware which would constitute the doing of a general banking business in Delaware.

III. General Regulations.

A. Application Fees.

1) A foreign bank shall apply for a certificate of authority for a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank
agency on such forms and in such manner as the Commissioner shall from time to time prescribe.  The application shall be
accompanied by a filing fee in the amount of $2,000.00 for the use of the State made payable to the State of Delaware.

2) A foreign bank shall apply for a license to establish a representative office on such forms and in such manner as the
Commissioner shall from time to time prescribe.  The application shall be accompanied by a license fee of $500.00 and a
processing fee of $500.00 made payable to the State of Delaware.
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B. Records.

In addition to such records as the Commissioner may from time to time require with respect to the computation of tax
liability of a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency, each foreign bank limited purpose branch, foreign
bank agency and foreign bank representative office shall maintain at its place of business in Delaware in the English language
and in United States dollar equivalents a correct and complete set of books and records of account of all business transacted by
such office.

C. Reports.

1) Whenever the Commissioner shall require, the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency shall
make a written report in the English language and in United States dollar equivalents in such form as he shall from time to time
prescribe and verified by a duly authorized executive officer of the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency.
Such report shall show the actual financial condition of the business of the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank
agency in the State of Delaware at the close of any past day designated by the Commissioner.  The verification of such Report
shall state that the person making it on behalf of the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency solemnly
swears or affirms that the information set forth therein is a true and correct statement of the condition of the Delaware foreign
bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency to the best of his knowledge, information and belief.

Additionally, the Commissioner may from time to time request from a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign
bank agency a copy of any report of condition or the like filed by the foreign bank of which the foreign bank limited purpose
branch or foreign bank agency is a part with any other State, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, or the Federal Reserve
Board.

2) Every licensed foreign bank representative office shall file annually a written report of activities conducted during
the previous twelve-month period, in the English language and in United States dollar equivalents in such form as the Commissioner
shall prescribe.  Said report shall be accompanied by a $500.00 fee.

D. Maintenance of Assets in Delaware; Separate Assets.

A foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency shall maintain within the State of Delaware currency,
real estate (at net book value or appraised value, whichever is less), precious metals (to the extent of 75% of market value),
bonds, notes, debentures, drafts, bills of exchange or other evidence of indebtedness, including loan participation agreements or
certificates, or other obligations payable in the United States or in United States funds, or, with the prior approval of the
Commissioner, in funds freely convertible into United States funds, or also with the prior approval of the Commissioner, such
other assets as the Commissioner may permit, in an amount which shall be equal to one hundred percent (100%) of the liabilities
of the foreign bank of which the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency is a part which are payable at or
through the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency, including acceptances, but excluding (without
duplication) (1) accrued expenses, (2) amounts due and other liabilities to other offices, agencies or branches of, and wholly-owned
(except for a nominal number of directors’ shares) subsidiaries of, such foreign bank, (3) liabilities maintained on the books of
an international banking facility located at such foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency, and (4) such other
liabilities as the Commissioner shall determine.  The valuation of securities shall be in the manner provided in §1405.  Each
foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency shall keep the assets of its business in this State separate and apart
from the assets of its business outside this State.

E. Deposit of Assets.

The Commissioner may by order direct a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency to deposit all or
a portion of the assets which the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency is required to maintain in this State
with such banks or trust companies or national banks located in this State as the Commissioner may from time to time designate
where the Commissioner finds such order necessary or desirable for the maintenance of the sound financial condition of the
foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency, the protection of depositors, creditors and the public interest, and
the maintenance of public confidence in the business of a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency.

Where deposits constituting liabilities for purposes of paragraph (D) of this Article III are fully insured by the Federal
Deposit Insurance Corporation, such deposits shall be excluded from the definition of liabilities for the purpose of determining
the amount of assets which must be maintained by the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency within the
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State of Delaware.

IV. Revocation of Certificate of Authority or License.

A. Revocation of Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch
or Foreign Bank Agency Certificate of Authority.
1. Determination of Cause.
Whenever the Commissioner shall have cause to believe that a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank

agency has engaged in conduct which, pursuant to Section 1410, would constitute cause for the revocation of the certificate of
authority of such foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency, he shall notify such foreign bank limited purpose
branch or foreign bank agency in writing of the alleged violation, and, by means of informal fact-finding, determine whether an
order should be issued directing such foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency to cease and desist from the
conduct giving rise to the violation by a date certain.

2. Violation of Order.
If the Commissioner shall determine that a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency which is the

subject of a cease and desist order has not, within the time established, discontinued or rectified the conduct which was the
subject of the violation order, he shall give written notice in the manner provided by the provisions of 29 Del. C. §10122 to the
foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency of the date, time and place of a formal hearing at which the foreign
bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency shall appear and show cause why its certificate of authority should not be
revoked.  In addition to witnesses appearing on behalf of the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency, the
Commissioner shall, by either informal or formal fact finding, take such testimony and gather such evidence as he deems
necessary and appropriate in reaching a decision.  Within thirty (30) days following the adjournment of such hearing, the
Commissioner shall issue his findings and order revoking the certificate of authority, imposing a lesser sanction, or determining
that the order to show cause should be retired without action.  The foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency
shall have such right of appeal from such findings and order as is provided for in Subchapter V of Chapter 101, Title 29,
Delaware Code.

B. Revocation of Foreign Bank Representative Office License.
Upon a preliminary determination by the Commissioner that a foreign bank representative office may have engaged in

conduct which would constitute cause for the revocation of the license of such foreign bank representative office under the
provisions of §1425, he shall give notice in writing to such foreign bank representative office setting forth the alleged violation,
and directing such foreign bank representative office to appear at a place, on a date and at a time certain to show cause why its
license should not be revoked.  At such hearing, the foreign bank representative office shall be accorded the right to appear and
be heard.  The Commissioner shall, by either informal or formal fact finding and within thirty (30) days from the adjournment
of such hearing, issue findings and order directing the revocation of the license of the foreign bank representative office, some
lesser sanction, or the retirement of the notice to show cause without action.  The foreign bank representative office shall have
such rights of appeal from such findings and order as are provided in Subchapter V of Chapter 101, Title 29, Delaware Code.

V. Allocation of Income and Expenses for Purposes of Determining Delaware Tax Liability of Foreign Bank Limited Purpose
Branch or Foreign Bank Agency.

A. Method of Allocation.
Although technically a part of the foreign bank, a Delaware foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank

agency is to be treated for purposes of assessing and collecting the Delaware Bank Franchise Tax on taxable income (5 Del. C.
§1101 et seq.) as if it were a bank having separate corporate existence (§1101(a)).  To that end, and in order to derive the amount
of “net operating income before taxes” for purposes of §1101(a), a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency
shall maintain at all times separate books of account in its Delaware office which fully segregate and portray:

1. With respect to income:
(a)  all receipts directly attributable to an asset carried on the books of the foreign bank limited purpose branch or

foreign bank agency; and
(b)  all receipts arising from a transaction entered into or a service provided by the foreign bank limited purpose

branch or foreign bank agency within the State of Delaware;

provided, that the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency may exclude from its accounting of income
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otherwise properly allocated to Delaware such receipts as are directly or indirectly subject to taxation in any state other than
Delaware by reason of either:  (1) the existence of a taxable nexus under the laws of any such state between such state and the
transaction of service giving rise to such receipts; or (2) the required inclusion under the laws of any such state of such receipts
in the numerator of a receipts factor of a formula used to calculate the income of the foreign bank subject to tax in such state.

2.  With respect to expenses:
(a)  all costs directly incurred in the start up, maintenance and operation of the Delaware office;
(b)  all other costs attributable to the generation of income allocated to Delaware pursuant to subsection 1. above;

and
(c)  to the extent not included in paragraph (a) and (b) of this subsection 2. above, an aliquot portion of indirect

costs incurred by the foreign bank (in both the United States and the home country) with respect to the start up, maintenance and
operation of the foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency.

Costs under subparagraphs (b) and (c) of this subsection 2. shall be allocated to Delaware in the same ratio as the gross receipts
of the foreign bank are allocated to Delaware, or in such other fair, equitable and consistent manner as the Commissioner shall ,
upon request of a foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency, approve.

B. Commissioner’s Right of Examination
The Commissioner shall have the right from time to time to examine the books and records of a foreign bank limited

purpose branch or foreign bank agency for the purpose of determining whether all or any portion of the income of the foreign
bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency has been properly allocated to Delaware, and to issue such findings and
orders as he deems necessary and appropriate regarding the reallocation of income which he shall find to have been improperly
allocated to a state or states other than Delaware.

VI. Change of Location, Name or Business.
A foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency may, pursuant to the provisions of §1408, make written

request of the Commissioner to change its place of business (accompanied by a filing fee of $500.00) or to change its corporate
name for the duration of its corporate existence (no filing fee required).  Upon the receipt of such application, the Commissioner
shall grant such application within twenty (20) days thereof unless he shall have determined by informal fact finding or otherwise
that there exists cause for denying such application.  If the Commissioner should determine that facts or circumstances exist
constituting cause for denying such application, he shall provide notice and opportunity to be heard to the applicant foreign
bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency in the manner provided for under the provisions of 29 Del. C. §10123.  Not
less than thirty (30) days after the adjournment of such hearing, the Commissioner shall issue his final order and findings with
respect to the grant or denial of the requested change of location or change of name.  An applicant foreign bank limited purpose
branch or foreign bank agency aggrieved by the determination of the Commissioner shall have such right of appeal as is granted
pursuant to the provisions of Subchapter V, Chapter 101, Title 29, Delaware Code.

Document Control No.: 20-15/98/7/06

Regulation No.:  5.1422.0004
Effective Date: August 13, 1998

APPLICATION BY A FOREIGN BANK FOR A LICENSE
TO ESTABLISH A FOREIGN BANK REPRESENTATIVE OFFICE

PURSUANT TO SUBCHAPTER II, CHAPTER 14, TITLE 5, DELAWARE CODE

Any application made to the State Bank Commissioner pursuant to §1422 of Title 5, Delaware Code, shall be submitted on
the form appended hereto and accompanied by all documents called for by such form as well as by a duly authenticated copy of
the foreign bank’s charter and bylaws.  A non-refundable processing fee of $500 payable to “State of Delaware” must accompany
the filing of the attached application.  Upon approval of the application, an additional $500 fee must be remitted prior to
issuance of the license.

The Commissioner may, without notice or hearing, issue the requested license; provided that, at his discretion, the
Commissioner may require public notice and a hearing on the application.
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All portions, except for the financial report requested in item 5, of this application shall be considered public information.

Document Control No.: 20-15/98/7/07

State of Delaware
OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Application of a Foreign Bank
for a License to Establish a Foreign Bank Representative Office

Pursuant to 5 Del. C. Chapter 14 Subchapter II

APPLICANT (Foreign Bank)

Name of Bank

Address of Principal Office  (Street, City/Town, County, Country and Zip Code)

Country Organized in Date Incorporated       Duration of Corporation

Type of Business: _____Commercial Banking        _____Merchant Bank            ____Other Foreign Institution

PROPOSED FOREIGN REPRESENTATIVE OFFICE

Proposed Location  (Street), City/Town, County, State and Zip Code)

I, the undersigned, President of ______________________________________,
being duly authorized by a resolution of the Board of Directors (copy herewith submitted), hereby apply for a License with
respect to the proposed foreign bank representative office.  In making this application, I am not acting as an agent for other
persons undisclosed to the State Bank Commissioner.

In support of the application, I hereby make the following statements and representations and submit the following
information for the purpose of inducing the State Bank Commissioner to issue such License:

The UNDERSIGNED HEREBY CERTIFIES that the statements contained herein are true to my best knowledge and
belief.
____________________________________ _______________________________
(Print or Type Name of President) Signature

_______________________________
Date

Sworn and Subscribed before me this _________ day of _____________________, _________.

 _______________________________
                      Notary Public

1. List the States and Countries into which the Applicant has been admitted or is qualified to transact business.  Provide the
title and address of the appropriate regulator in each case.

2. Provide an opinion of a member of the Bar of the State or Country of origin that:
(a) applicant’s charter authorizes it to carry on the business contemplated by the application;
(b) applicant has at all times conducted, and is now conducting, its business as authorized by its charter and bylaws and in

compliance with the laws of the State or Country of origin; and
(c) the application complies with the laws of the State or Country of origin.

3. If the Applicant is required to make filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission under Section 14 or 15(d) of the
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Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Applicant shall file with this application copies of all such filings made within the three
year period immediately preceding the date of this application (provided that 10Q filings need not be included if 10K filings for
the applicable year are provided).  If no such filings are made, than there shall be attached to this application copies of the
applicant’s annual certified financial statements for the most recent three fiscal years for which they are available and the latest
available quarterly statement.  If the Applicant is a subsidiary of a bank holding company, the annual financial statements for
such bank holding company for the most recent three fiscal years for which they are available and for the latest available fiscal
quarter shall also be attached (provided that if the Applicant’s annual financial statements are prepared on a consolidated basis
with those of its parent bank company, only the consolidated financial statements need be attached).

Also attach a listing of all persons who are directors or executive officers of the Applicant Bank, listing as to each:  his or
her name and business address, present principal business activity, occupation or employment (including office held) and, if
carried on with an organization other than that the applicant, the name, principal business and address of such other organization.

4. The attached statement of financial condition should be prepared as of the date within 120 days prior to the date of the
application.

5. Attach the name and title as well as a biographical and financial report of the individual(s) who shall be in charge of the
business and affairs of the proposed representative office.  Additionally, three personal references are required.

6. Describe the scope and nature of the business to be conducted by the representative office.

7. Pursuant to §1422(b)(3), provide sufficient data as to how the convenience and needs of the public shall be served by the
establishment of the representative office.

INSTRUCTIONS

This statement of the financial condition of your institution should be prepared as at the date within 120 days prior to the date of
the application.

1. It is requested that the statement form be carefully reviewed before preparing the figures, and that all assets, liabilities and
capital accounts be segregated and reported in the appropriate printed titles, wherever possible.  If you have items which cannot
properly be classified under these titles, use the additional lines, and indicate clearly the nature of each such item by attaching
explanations where necessary.

2. All “reserves” or “provisions” should be analyzed and reported as follows:
(a) Reserves or provision for known or expected losses on assets should be deducted from such asset accounts;
(b) Reserves or provision for known or expected liabilities should be reported in Liability items 9 or 14, as the case may

be; and
(c) Reserves or provision for future contingencies or unforeseen losses should be included in Liability item 18.

3. Include in Asset item 3 only balances on deposit by your institution with other banks.  Do not include overdrafts by other
banks in their accounts with your institution, or “call loans” or other extensions of credit to them.  All such advances should be
included as loans, Asset item 6, or should be reported separately below in Asset item 15, with appropriate explanations.

4. Include in Asset item 4 all obligations of National governments, such as short term “treasury bills” discounted, as well as
bonds or other securities issued by them.  Securities included in both Asset items 4 and 5 should be reported at net book values,
less the allocated “reserves” or “provisions”.  The current market value (at the statement date) must also be reported in the
footnote to the statement.

5. Include in Liability item 17 all “reserves” or “surplus” paid in or accumulated from prior periods, and all profits carried
forward at previous closings of the books, less amounts actually appropriated for dividends already declared.  Current earnings
and profits, less expenses and losses incurred since the latest closing of the books, should also be included in this item.

6. Unpaid dividends, including amounts declared by the directors out of current or prior profits should be included in Liability
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item 14.

7. All “per contra” accounts such as “collections for account of customers,” “securities held for account of customers,”
“customers’ liability on letters of credit,” “guarantees,” et cetera, should be omitted from the statement of assets, liabilities and
capital accounts, but should be reported separately as “contingent assets and liabilities.”

8. This statement should be verified by the oath of a principal executive officer of the bank.  If that officer is unable to verify,
the reasons for his failure to execute the affidavit should be recited in and made a part of the verification.  The required oath may
be administered without the United States by an ambassador, a minister plenipotentiary, a minister extraordinary, a minister
resident, a charge d’affaires, a consul-general, a vice-consul-general, a deputy-consul-general, a consul, a vice-consul, a deputy
consul, a consular agent, a vice-consular agent, a commercial agent, or a vice-commercial agent of the United States within his
jurisdiction.  The seal of his office or the seal of the consulate or legation to which he is attached should be affixed.

BEFORE PREPARING THIS STATEMENT
PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS ON THE PREVIOUS PAGE

STATEMENT TO THE BANK COMMISSIONER OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE
ASSETS

ASSETS FOREIGN CONVERSION       U.S.
AMOUNT        RATE* DOLLARS

1. Cash on hand (currency, coin, and bullion) _________ ____________ __________
2. Exchanges and checks for next day’s clearings _________ ____________ __________
3. Deposits in other banking institutions _________ ____________ __________

(See Instruction No. 3)
4. Securities of National Governments** _________ ____________ __________

(See Instruction No. 4)
5. Other readily marketable securities** _________ ____________ __________

(See Instruction No. 4)
6. Loans and discounts, including overdrafts

and mortgages _________ ____________ __________
7. Bills rediscounted or sold with endorsement _________ ____________ __________
8. Customers’ liability on acceptances _________ ____________ __________
9. Investments in banking premises, furniture

and fixtures _________ ____________ __________
10. Investments in affiliated and subsidiary

companies _________ ____________ __________
11. Loans and advances to affiliated and

subsidiary companies _________ ____________ __________
12. Accrued interest and commissions receivable _________ ____________ __________
13. Inter-branch accounts _________ ____________ __________
14. Other cash items _________ ____________ __________
15. Other assets _________ ____________ __________
16. Total assets _________ ____________ __________
*Conversion rate should be as of the date of the statement
**Current market value of:

(Item 4) Securities of National Governments _________ ____________ __________
(Item 5) Other readily marketable securities _________ ____________ __________
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STATEMENT TO THE BANK COMMISSIONER
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

LIABILITIES AND CAPITAL ACCOUNTS

LIABILITIE S AND CAPITAL ACCOUNTS FOREIGN CONVERSION       U.S.
AMOUNT        RATE DOLLARS

1. Deposits secured by pledge of assets _________ ____________ __________
2. Deposits of National Governments and _________ ____________ __________

political subdivisions
3. Deposits of banking institutions _________ ____________ __________
4. Other demand deposits, including certified _________ ____________ __________

and officers’ checks
5. Other time deposits, including certificates _________ ____________ __________

of deposits and savings accounts
6. Total deposits (total of items 1 to 5,

inclusive) _________ ____________ __________
7. Currency in circulation _________ ____________ __________
8. Bills rediscounted or sold with endorsement _________ ____________ __________
9. Other liabilities for borrowed money,

however represented _________ ____________ __________
10. Acceptances outstanding _________ ____________ __________
11. Accrued interest, taxes and expenses payable _________ ____________ __________
12. Unearned interest and commissions _________ ____________ __________
13. Inter-branch accounts _________ ____________ __________
14. Other liabilities _________ ____________ __________
15. Total liabilities (total of items 6 to 14

inclusive) _________ ____________ __________
16. Capital stock _________ ____________ __________
17. Surplus and undivided profits

(See Instruction No. 5) _________ ____________ __________
18. Reserves for contingencies

(See Instruction No. 2) _________ ____________ __________
19. Total capital accounts (items 16 to 18

inclusive) _________ ____________ __________
20. Total liabilities and capital

(item 15 plus item 19) _________ ____________ __________

Regulation No.:  5.3404.0001
Effective Date: August 13, 1998

PRENEED FUNERAL CONTRACTS REGULATIONS
GOVERNING IRREVOCABLE TRUST AGREEMENTS

5 DEL. C. §3404

Disclosure Requirements for the Irrevocable Trust Document

The trust document establishing the irrevocable trust permitted by §3404 shall contain, at a minimum, the following mandatory
provisions:

(a) A provision which expressly identifies the trust as irrevocable for the lifetime of the beneficiary;
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(b) A provision for the disposition of trust funds to an alternate trustee upon discontinuation of business or inability to

provide goods or services by the original trustee in accordance with the terms of the trust;

(c) A provision that in the event funds paid into the trust are inadequate, at the time of the death of the beneficiary, to cover
anticipated funeral expenses, the trustee shall contribute all trust funds toward payment of the actual funeral expenses for the
funeral of the beneficiary;

(d) A provision that in the event the sum held by the trust exceeds the total actual costs of the goods and services for the
funeral of the beneficiary, the excess funds shall be paid to the estate of the beneficiary;

(e) A provision that the trustee may, from time to time, accept periodic monetary contributions to the trust, provided that
the principal sum contributed, exclusive of interest earned, shall not exceed $10,000;

(f) A provision which shall state “In no event shall the principal amount of the trust exceed $10,000 plus interest.”

Document Control No.: 20-15/98/7/08

Regulation No.:  5.853.0001.P
Effective Date:   7/31/89

PROCEDURES GOVERNING THE REGISTRATION OF DELAWARE BANK HOLDING COMPANIES WITH THE
BANK COMMISSIONER PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF SECTION 853 OF TITLE 5, DELAWARE CODE

Subchapter V of Chapter of Chapter 8 of Title 5, Delaware Code provides for the regulation of Delaware bank holding
companies.  A Delaware bank holding company is defined in 5 Del. C. §851(3) as a bank holding company with bank subsidiaries
whose operations are principally located in Delaware.  The operations of a bank subsidiary or subsidiaries are deemed to be
“principally located” in Delaware if the total deposits of all such subsidiaries in Delaware are greater than in any other state.
(Note that non-Delaware bank holding companies may be subject to regulation by the Delaware Bank Commissioner under
other Subchapters of Title 5:  see, for example, 5 Del. C. §845, regarding the regulation and examination of out-of-state bank
holding companies which acquire a Delaware bank or bank holding company).

Filing Deadline.  Any bank holding company which was a Delaware bank holding company as of May 18, 1987 shall
complete and file this registration form not later than September 1, 1989.  Any bank holding company which became or intends
to become a bank holding company after May 18, 1987 shall comply with the registration requirement by making application to
become a Delaware bank holding company pursuant to the provisions of Section 852 of Title 5, Delaware Code.

Registration Information:

1.Name of Delaware bank holding company:

2. Date on which bank holding company formed:

Date on which bank holding company became a Delaware bank holding company (if different):

3. Principal address of Delaware bank holding company:

4. Name and address of Delaware agent for the service of any paper, notice of legal process, etc.:

5. Name and address of each Delaware bank subsidiary of the Delaware bank holding company:
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6. Name and address of all non-bank subsidiaries of either the Delaware bank holding company of  the Delaware bank:

7. Name and address of each bank subsidiary of the Delaware bank holding company located in a  state other than Delaware:

8. Identify by government, region and address each regulatory authority (other than the Delaware Bank Commissioner) having
jurisdiction over the Delaware bank holding company or any bank subsidiary thereof.  With respect to each such regulator,
identify each report filed by the Delaware bank holding company or bank subsidiary.

(Signed)

Keith H. Ellis
State Bank Commissioner

CERTIFICATION

I, (Name)

(Title or designation)

of , a Delaware bank holding company, do hereby certify that I
have been duly authorized to execute and file this registration; and I further certify that, to my knowledge, information and
belief, the information provided  as part of this registration is true and correct.  Finally, I certify that

(Name of Delaware Bank Holding Company)  will fully comply with the reporting obligations
imposed upon it by the provisions of 5 Del. C. §854.

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE me, a Notary Public, this  day of , 198

(NOTARY PUBLIC)



322

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 2, SATURDAY, AUGUST 1, 1998

GOVERNOR’S APPOINTMENTS

BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE APPOINTEE

TERM OF
OFFICE

Cash Management Policy Board Mr. John V. Flynn, Jr., Chairperson 07/08/01

Delaware Advisory Council on Mr. George M. Records, Jr. 07/08/02
Natural Areas Ms. Delores A. Washam 07/08/02

Ms. Lynn W. Williams 07/08/02

Delaware Solid Waste Authority Ms. Phyllis M. McKinley 07/08/01
The Honorable Theodore W. Ryan 07/08/01

Health Facilities Authority Mr. Desmond A. Baker 06/19/03
Mr. Richard H. Derrickson 06/19/03
Mr. Rolf F. Eriksen 06/19/03
Mr. Stephen T. Golding 06/19/03
Ms. Shirley Tarrant 06/19/03

Industrial Accident Board Mr. Lowell L. Groundland 07/08/04

Justice of the Peace for Kent County The Honorable Margaret Barrett 07/08/04
The Honorable Karen N. Bundek 07/08/04
The Honorable Frederick W. Dewey, Jr. 07/08/04

Justice of the Peace for New The Honorable Robert A. Armstrong 07/08/04
Castle County The Honorable Thomas M. Kenney 07/08/04

Justice of the Peace for Sussex County The Honorable John R. Hudson 07/08/04
The Honorable Marcealeate S. Ruffin 07/08/04

Merit Employee Relations Board Ms. Susan L. Parker, Chairperson 07/08/01
Mr. Robert J. Burns 07/08/01
Mr. Dallas D. Green 07/08/01

New Castle County Board of Elections Mr. Ross E. Austin 07/08/02
Mr. Edmund S. Krzyzanowski 07/08/02
Mr. Lowell W. Parke 07/08/02

Public Integrity Commission The Honorable Paul E. Ellis 07/08/05
General Arthur V. Episcopo

State Coastal Zone Industrial Mr. George J. Collins 07/08/03
Control Board Mr. R. Jefferson Reed 07/08/03

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE APPOINTEE

TERM OF
OFFICE

Sussex County Board of Elections Ms. Deborah B. Hammond 07/08/02

Tax Appeals Board Ms. John H. Cordrey, Esq. 07/08/01
Mr. Cynthia H. Jarman 07/08/01
Mr. Todd C. Schiltz 07/08/01

University of Delaware Board of Trustees Mr. Steven J. Rothschild 07/08/04

Wastewater Facilities Advisory Council Mr. Thomas Novak, Jr. 07/08/01
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ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINIONS

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 98-IB03

The Honorable Harriet Smith Windsor
State Personnel Office
Townsend Building
401 Federal Street, Suite 5
Dover, DE 19901

Re: Authority to Delegate Approval of  Certain
Personnel Transactions

Dear Dr. Windsor:
Pursuant to a report from the Office of Auditor of

Accounts, you requested an informal opinion from the
Attorney General as whether 29 Del.C. 5943(f) permits the
State Personnel Director to delegate final authority for
approving personnel transactions to individual state agencies.
We conclude that the State Personnel Director’s delegation
of final authority to an agency does not violate Delaware law.

Twenty-nine Del.C. 5943(d) provides that a person who
is appointed improperly under Delaware law or the Merit Rules
bin who nonetheless renders services to the state may maintain
an action against any officer to recover agreed wages and
benefits or both.  In addition, 5943(e) provides that it is the
obligation of the appointing authority to determine that the
documents necessary for placing a person on the state payroll
are properly executed prior to the initial hiring, promotion,
demotion or any other change in an employee’s position in
state employment.  The statute provides examples of the proper
documentation for such personnel transactions.  Id.

Section 5943(f) provides:

For the purpose of subsections (d) and (e) of this
section, the Director of Personnel or the Director’s
designee shall determine whether an employee is
properly appointed.  The Director or the Director’s
designee shall certify the appointment by approving
the state personnel transaction supplied by the agency.

29 Del.C. 5943(f).  Moreover, subsection (f) provides that
the certification of the appointment relieves the appointing
authority of any liability for an improper appointment except
in cases of fraud.

Historically, an appointing authority would complete a
Personnel Action Request (“PAR-34”) form documenting new
hires, promotions and changes of address or paygrade relating
to state employees.  These forms would be forwarded to the
State Personnel Director for approval.  The Office of State
Personnel would then perform the simple ministerial task of
confirming the documentation submitted, indicating approval

by the signature of the State Personnel Director.
On May 6, 1981, the then State Personnel Director

delegated the final approval of these personnel transactions
to individual state agencies submitting the forms.  As a result.
PAR-34 forms are no longer reviewed and forwarded to the
State Personnel Office.  Instead, the forms are computer
generated electronically and forwarded directly to the
Department of Finance/Payroll.  You have advised that there
are approximately 50,000 PAR-34 forms completed each year.

Section 5943(f) does not restrict the Director’s ability to
delegate.  In other words, the Director may delegate her
responsibility under 5943(f) to a proper state agency at her
sole election.  Moreover, this delegation to state agencies is
reasonably related to the Director’s duty to “encourage the
development of more effective personnel administration with
the departments and agencies in the state service.” 29 Del. C.
5911(4).  Effective personnel administration requires the
avoidance of unnecessary ministerial acts to effectuate a
personnel transaction within an agency.

The delegation of this authority was made to agency
personnel, specifically Human Resource professionals, who
receive training and support from State Personnel Office on
all aspects of personnel administration.  There is no evidence
that any state agency has improperly certified a personnel
transaction without appropriate documentation, nor that any
such transaction failed to receive final approval.  Therefore,
we conclude that the delegation by the State Personnel Director
to individual state agencies of her authority to determine
whether an employee is properly appointed does not violate
any statute.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any  questions
or comments.

Very truly yours,
Marsha Kramarck
Deputy Attorney

Elizabeth Daniello Maron
Deputy Attorney General

Approved:
Michael J. Rich,
State Solicitor

http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm
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STATE OF DELAWARE

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION

NO. 98-IB04

Mr. D. Wood
330 Union Church Road
Townsend, DE 19734

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint
Against Appoquinimink School District

Dear Mr. Wood:
By letter dated April 14, 1998 (received by this Office

on April 20, 1998), you alleged that the Appoquinimink
School District (“the School District”) had violated the
Delaware Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del. C.  Sections
10001-10005 (“FOIA”), by holding a retreat workshop in
executive session on April 4, 1998 where public business was
discussed.

By letter dated April 21, 1998, we asked the School
District for its response to your complaint.  By letter dated
May 1, 1998, Superintendent Marchio confirmed that the
Appoquinimink Board of Education held a retreat workshop
on April 4, 1998 “to do creative thinking and planning for the
school district.” The minutes of the April 7, 1998 meeting of
the School Board state that the following matters were
discussed at the retreat: (1) the consequences of a failed
referendum; (2) a year-round school schedule; (3) the need to
develop a comprehensive vocational and career development
program and tracking system; (4) reporting requirements for
the human resource department; (5) raising standards for
athletic participation; (6) recruitment; (7) electrical rates; (8)
common terms for curriculum, instruction and policy; and
(9) review of grants.

Mr. Marchio states in his letter that “no official action
was taken by the board” at the April 7, 1998 meeting on the
basis of his report of the matters discussed at the April 4 retreat.
He further stated: “The district did err, however, in how the
workshop was posted in the newspaper.  It should have been
posted as a workshop open to the public.  Instead, it was posted
as a closed executive session.” According to Mr. Marchio,
“this was not done intentionally, and I can assure you that
future workshops will be advertised correctly. . . . The posting
and advertising of meetings is a responsibility of the district
office administration not the board of education, and the error
that has occurred here clearly belongs to me.  I can assure
you that this error will not be repeated.”

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Section 10004 of FOIA requires that every meeting of a
public body “shall be open to the public except those closed”

for a purpose authorized by statute for executive session.
Although the notice FOIA authorizes a public body to go into
executive session to discuss personnel matters (Section
10004(b)(9)), or to discuss pending or potential litigation
(Section 10004(b)(4)), at the April 4, 1998 retreat the School
Board did not in fact discuss legal and personnel issues but
rather discussed other matters of public business.

OPINION

The School District has admitted that it violated FOIA
by giving improper notice of its April 4, 1998 retreat.  By
stating in the notice that the retreat would be “a closed
executive session,” the School District deprived the public of
an opportunity to attend and speak out on matters of important
public interest.  It is irrelevant whether any “official action”
was taken at the retreat.  The open meeting law “applies to
meetings called to discuss public business as well as to
meetings called to take action on public business.” The News
Journal Co. v. McLaughlin, Del.  Ch., 377 A.2d 358, 362
(1977) (Brown, V.C.).

Whether the error in the posting of the notice was the
fault of the district office administration or the board of
education is also irrelevant.  The important point is that a
public body held a meeting to discuss matters of important
public interest; the public not only was not invited, but was
discouraged from attending by noticing the meeting as an
executive session.  If the board relies on the district office
administration to post notice, and that notice is defective, then
the meeting of the board was in violation of law and may be
deemed invalid.

As for remediation of this violation of law, we do not
believe that it would be appropriate, under the circumstances,
to direct the School Board to meet again.  As Mr. Marchio
points out, the board members “gave up a Saturday of their
own time to better fulfill their responsibilities as board
members.” Moreover, since the School District does not
appear to have taken any action on the matters discussed at
the retreat, presumably the public will have a further
opportunity for input before the School District takes any
action.  If, however, the School District were to take action
on any of the matters discussed at the retreat, the School
District would have to give notice to the public and an
opportunity to comment at a public meeting before taking
action.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we determine that the School
District violated FOIA by: (1) stating in the posted notice that
the retreat workshop would be held in executive session,
thereby conveying the message to the public that they could
not attend; and (2) meeting in executive session for a purpose

http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm
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not authorized by law.  We do not feel that any remediation is
necessary, however, for two reasons.  First, at the next meeting
of the School District on April 7, 1998, Mr. Marchio reported
on the matters discussed at the retreat workshop.  Since that
meeting was publicly noticed, the public had an opportunity
to comment.  Second, the School Board did not take any action
based on what happened at the retreat workshop.

While we agree with the School District that workshops
can be “useful and productive,” they should be noticed and
open to the public unless the topic to be discussed falls within
a statutorily authorized ground for executive session.  The
School District has represented “that future workshops will
be advertised correctly.” The School District is on notice that
the requirements of the open meeting law must be strictly
followed in the future.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:
Michael. J.  Rich
State Solicitor
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

DIVISION  OF REVENUE

Technical Information No. 98-3
July 14, 1998

Subject:  Offset of State Tax Refunds for Federal Liabilities.

Senate Bill No. 347 of the 139th General Assembly,
amended by Senate Amendment No. 1, 71 Del. Laws, ch.
386, permits the setoff of state refunds for federal tax
obligations provided the Director:

“finds, based on specific action of the United States
Senate or House of Representatives or a Committee
thereof, reasons to believe the United States may
extend a like comity for the collection of a tax debt
owed to this State no later than January 1, 2001.”

In fact, the IRS Restructuring Legislation, H.R. 2676,
has passed both the House and the Senate and provides for
reciprocal offsets by January 1, 2000.

This constitutes the finding required in 30 Del. C. §
558(b)(10).

William M. Remington
Director of Revenue

DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION

SUBDIVISION PLAN REVIEW FEE PROCEDURES
EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 1, 1998

17 Delaware Code, Section 131(i) as amended provides for
the Department of Transportation to collect fees for the costs
of administering the subdivision approval process.

These fees will be assessed for both residential and non-
residential development proposals at two different stages: (1)
the Initial Stage and (2) the Construction Stage.

Definitions

1. Gross floor area: The sum of the total horizontal areas of
every floor of every building on a lot. The measurement of
gross floor area shall be computed by applying the following
criteria:

a. The horizontal square footage is measured from the
face of all exterior walls.

b. Enclosed storage, mechanical areas, mezzanines and
similar structures shall be included as gross floor area wherever
at least seven feet are provided between the finished floor
and the ceiling.

c. No deduction shall apply for horizontal areas void
of actual floor space, for example, elevator shafts and
stairwells.

2. Lot: A parcel of land whose boundaries are established
by legal instrument such as recorded deed, court order or a
recorded plot which is recognized as a separate legal entity
for the purposes of transfer of title.

3. Major residential subdivision: A subdivision of five or
more residential lots.

4. Minor residential subdivision: A subdivision of four or
less residential lots.

5. Record plan: A complete plan which defines property
lines, proposed street and other improvements, and easements;
or a plan of private streets to be dedicated to public use.

6. Subdivision:
a. The division or redivision of a lot, or a parcel of

land, by any means, including  a plan or a description of metes
and bounds, into two or more lots, tracts, parcels, or other
divisions of land for the purpose of, whether immediate or
future, of lease, of the transfer of ownership or of building
development.

b. The division or allocation of land for the opening,
widening, or extension of any street or streets, or other public
facilities.

Policy/Guideline

(1) All fees are non-refundable.  Fees to be assessed are as
follows:

(a) Initial Stage.  Fees are collected at the time of
submission of the Record Plan for the Department’s review.
The fees associated with this stage reimburse the Department
for all plan review activities prior to plan recordation by the
county. An “Initial Stage Fee Calculation Form” must be
submitted with the fee.

(1) Minor residential subdivision: $100
(2) Major residential subdivision: $400 plus $10 per

lot.
(3) Non-residential development: $500 plus $20 per

lot or $500 plus $20 per 1,000 square feet of gross floor area,
whichever is greater.

(b) Construction Stage.   Fees are collected at the time
of submission of the Construction Plans for the Department’s
review. The fees associated with this review reimburse the
Department for the technical review of subdivision street plans

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/revenue/revenue.htm
http://www.state.de.us/deldot/index.html
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and highway access plans.  A “Construction Stage Fee
Calculation Form” must be submitted with the fee.

(1) Minor residential subdivision: N/A
(2) Major residential subdivision: 125% of the

Initial Stage fee for a major residential subdivision as identified
in item 1(a).

(3) Non-residential development: 150% of the
Initial Stage fee for non-residential development as identified
in item 1(a).

(2) The person responsible for implementing this procedure
within the Subdivision Office will be the Subdivision/Utilities
Engineer.  Collection and recording of fees will take place in
the Division of Preconstruction’s financial management unit.
All fees shall be submitted to the Subdivision/Utilities
Engineer or designee with the appropriate fee calculation form
and plan submission.  The Subdivision/Utilities Engineer or
a Subdivision Manager shall review for accuracy the fee
calculation form with respect to the plan and fee submitted.
Once reviewed and approved for accuracy, the reviewer will
give the check/money order to the Division of
Preconstruction’s financial management unit.  The financial
management unit will record the payment, assign an internal
control number and initiate the process to deposit the fee
through the Office of Finance.

(3) The Department’s Cash Receipt Policy must be followed
in order to be in compliance with 29 Delaware Code, Section
6103 (all receipts in excess of $100 per day must be deposited
daily). The date that applications/fees are received in the
Division of Preconstruction’s financial management unit in
the Department’s administration building in Dover will be
recorded for this purpose.

(4) Separate spreadsheets have been developed which will
record fees received by the Division of Preconstruction’s
financial management unit for Initial Stage fees and
Construction Stage fees.  These spreadsheets are to be utilized
to record the payment, verify fees received and perform
monthly reconciliation of revenues.

(5) The following program code has been established for the
revenues generated in accordance with this policy.

1898203-2N-8405-87-05000000 Plan Review Fees

(6) The following revenue codes have been established for
recording the revenue on both the DFMS and BACIS
accounting systems.

Initial Stage fee - 3717 01
Construction Stage fee - 3717 02

(7) Monthly Remittance to Trust Fund Administrator

Each month the Department’s Finance Office shall process a
payment voucher if the Subdivision Review Fee account
balance exceeds $1,000. This check will be forwarded with a
cover letter to the Trust Fund Administrator for deposit.

(8) The Division of Preconstruction’s financial management
unit must maintain a ledger of all receipts.  Monthly revenue
reports shall be generated by the Department’s Finance office
and forwarded to the Division of Preconstruction’s financial
management unit in order to reconcile monthly receipts.  A
report of reconciliation, including any discrepancies with
explanation thereof, will be forwarded to the Department’s
Finance Office, Trust Fund Administrator, and the Subdivision
Section on or before the 15th day of the next following month.
The Finance Office will retain a copy of the reconciliation for
one full year after successful audit.

(9) The Department will not accept a Record Plan or
Construction Plan submission without a respective fee
calculation form and payment. Should any payment received
be deemed insufficient, one of the following two options are
available at the discretion of the Department:

(a) Funds will be accepted and deposited in accordance
with the Department’s Cash Receipts Policy.  The Department
shall notify the applicant that no action on paperwork
submitted will take place until the balance of required fees is
received.

(b) All documents subject to review by the Subdivision
Office will be returned to the applicant.  Documents can be
resubmitted with correct fees at a later date.

(10)    Only certified checks or money orders will be accepted
and shall be made out to the Delaware Department of
Transportation.

(11)   Any requests for changes in this policy/guideline must
be forwarded in writing for approval of the following:

(a) Subdivision/Utilities Engineer
(b) Assistant Director for Design Support
(c) Office of Administration, Finance Administrator.
(d) Trust Fund Administrator
(e) Deputy Attorney General (representing DelDOT)

Upon approval of modifications, written approval will be
forwarded.



DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Subdivision Plan Review Fee

CONSTRUCTION STAGE FEE CALCULATION FORM

I. Application Information
Development Name ______________________________________________

                       Location ______________________________________________
       Parcel Number  ______________________________________________

                                      Owner (applicant) Name _______________________________________________
                                        Address _______________________________________________

                         Telephone _______________________________________________

II. Construction Plan Submission
A. ____ Residential Land Development

Number of Recorded Lots_______________________________
Number of lots being constructed this phase _________________

            B. ____ Non-Residential land development

III. Construction Stage Fee Calculations
Initial Stage Fees Previously Submitted (attach a copy of the Initial Stage Fee Form):

A. Major Subdivision $___________  Non-Residential Land Development $ ____________

Major Subdivision  ……………….. 125% of Design Fee
            _____________ x 1.25 x __________________ = $  ___________
               Design Fee       Phased Const. Ratio             Total

                       (For Phased Construction Plans, adjust total by ratio of Number of Lots
 for Phase/Total Number of Recorded Lots)

                       B. Non-Residential Land Development ………….. 150% of Design Fee
_____________ x 1.50 = $ ___________
    Design Fee                       Total

IV. Total Amount Remitted: $ _________________________ Check/M.O.  Number: ____________________
(Please make certified check or money order payable to the Department of Transportation)

V. Signatures
Applicant:  ____________________________________________ Date: ___________________

Applicant

Reviewed by: ____________________________________________ Date:   ___________________
                  DelDOT

(This signature acknowledges receipt of fee and does not constitute approval of project by the Department)

REMARKS: _________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________

Remit this form along with copy of Initial Stage Fee Form and certified check or money order to the Delaware
Department of Transportation, P.O. Box 778,  Dover, DE  19903.



DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Subdivision Plan Review Fee

INITIAL STAGE FEE CALCULATION FORM

I. Application Information
Development Name _________________________________________________
                 Location _________________________________________________
Tax Parcel Number  _________________________________________________

     Owner (applicant) Name _________________________________________________
       Address _________________________________________________
    Telephone _________________________________________________

II. Record Plan Submission
A. ____ Minor Residential Subdivision (4 or less lots) Number of lots ___________
B. ____ Major Subdivision (5 or more lots) Number of lots  ___________

            C. ____ Non-residential land development (i.e. commercial, school, office, church)
Number of lots ________ Gross Floor Area (square feet) ___________

III. Initial Stage Fee Calculations
A. Minor Residential Subdivision  (4 lots or less)……………..$100

B. Major Subdivision ……… $400 + (Number of Lots x $10) = total fee
$400 + [_______________ x $10] =  $________________
                Number of Lots               Total

   

C. Non-Residential land development …  $500 + (Number of Lots x $20) = total fee   OR
   $500 + ($20 x Gross floor area/1000 s.f.) = total fee   (which ever is greater)

Number of Lots    $500 +  [ ___________________ x $20] = $_____________________
                Number of Lots                    Total

Gross Floor Area   $500 + [ _____________÷1000  x  $20] = $_____________________
                   Gross Floor Area          Total

IV.  Total Amount Remitted: $ __________________________     Check/M.O. number: ________________
(Please make certified check or money order payable to the Delaware Department of Transportation.)

V. Signatures
Applicant:  __________________________________________ Date: ____________________

                                 Applicant
Reviewed by: ___________________________________________ Date:   ____________________

   DelDOT
(This signature acknowledges receipt of fee and does not constitute approval of project by the Department.)

REMARKS:__________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________
Remit this form and certified check or money order to the Delaware Department of Transportation, P.O. Box 778,
Dover, DE  19903.
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DEPARTMENT OF
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION  OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

DELAWARE  BOARD OF CLINICAL

SOCIAL  WORK EXAMINERS

The Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners
shall, pursuant to Title 24, Sections 3901 and 3906(a)(1) of
the Delaware Code, and Title 29, Section 10115 of the
Delaware Code , conduct a public hearing on the proposed
rules and regulations of the Delaware Board of Clinical Social
Work Examiners for clinical social workers licensed in the
State of Delaware.

The hearing shall be held on Monday, September 21, 1998
at 9:30 a.m. in the Second Floor Conference Room B of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware.

The proposed rules and regulations include provisions:
(1) requiring an applicant holding a degree from a program
outside the United States to supply the Board with an
educational credential evaluation; (2) changing the date by
which licensees must submit documentation of continuing
education hours and providing for good cause extensions of
time in which continuing education credits can be submitted;
and (3) establishing procedures and requirements for licensees
seeking inactive status.

Copies of the proposed rules and regulations of the
Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners may be
obtained by contacting Ms. Gayle L. Franzolino at (302) 739-
4522 Extension 220, or by writing the Board of Clinical Social
Work Examiners at 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 203, Cannon
Building, Dover, DE  19904-2467.

Persons wishing to comment in writing on the proposed
rules and regulations must submit such comments to Ms. Gayle
L. Franzolino at the above address on or before the scheduled
hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

State Board of Education  will hold its monthly meeting
on August 20, 1998 at 11:00 a.m.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

Food Stamp Program
The Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of

Social Services, is proposing to implement a policy change
to the Division of Social Services’ Manual Section 9068,
regarding certification periods during which a household is
eligible to receive food stamp benefits.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

Establishes circumstances under which different
households will be assigned certification periods of varying
lengths.

COMMENT PERIOD

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Division of Social Services, P.O.
Box 906, New Castle, DE, by August 30, 1998.

Simplified Food Stamp Program

The Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of
Social Services, is proposing to implement on a permanent
basis a policy change to the Division of Social Services’
Manual Section 9000 that was implemented previously by
emergency order.  The change arises from Public Law 104-
193, the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (national welfare reform), as an
option and was first announced in January, 1995, as part of
the original A Better Chance (ABC) waiver design.  These
changes were previously published for public comment in
the June 1, 1998 Delaware Register of Regulations.  However,
due to subsequent staff analysis and substantial modification
of the proposal, it is being re-proposed for public comment.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

Replaces food stamp work exemptions with ABC
exemptions, lowering to under 13 weeks the age at which a
child exempts a parent/caretaker for ABC clients in Workfare.

Allows the agency to use the food stamp allotment along
with the ABC benefit in determining the number of hours a
household is required to participate in Workfare, which is a
work experience program in which participants work to earn
their benefits.

www.doe.state.de.us
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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COMMENT PERIOD

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Division of Social Services, P.O.
Box 906, New Castle, DE, by August 30, 1998.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION  OF WATER RESOURCES

WATER SUPPLY SECTION

TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:

Regulations for Licensing Water Well Contractors, Pump
Installer Contractors, Well Drillers, Well Drivers and Pump
Installers.

BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

The proposed changes and additions add a continuing
education requirement as a prerequisite for renewing licenses
to practice well drilling, well driving and pump installation.
Revisions are proposed to section 6 and a new section 7 has
been added.  Sections 7 through 15 of the current regulations
will be renumbered and section references located throughout
the current regulations will be corrected as needed.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:

The public hearing will be held on August 27, 1998 at
7:00 p.m. in the auditorium of the DNREC office building
located at 89 Kings Highway in Dover.  Written comments
must be received by 4:30 p.m. on August 31, 1998.  Comments
may be mailed to the attention of Carol W. Apgar, Water
Supply Section, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 or E-
Mailed to capgar@dnrec.state.de.us.

DIVISION  OF WATER RESOURCES

WATERSHED ASSESSMENT SECTION

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Indian River,
Indian River Bay, and Rehoboth Bay, Delaware

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues

The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) is proposing to adopt Total Maximum Daily

Load (TMDL) Regulations for nitrogen and for phosphorous
for the Indian River, Indian River Bay, and Rehoboth Bay.
A TMDL sets a limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be
discharged into a waterbody and still protect water quality.
TMDLs are composed of three components, including Waste
Load Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of Safety
(MOS).

Possible Terms of the Agency Action

Following adoption of the proposed Total Maximum
Daily Load for the Indian River, Indian River Bay, and
Rehoboth Bay, DNREC will develop a Pollution Control
Strategy (PCS) to achieve the necessary load reductions.  The
PCS will identify specific pollution reduction activities and
timeframes and will be developed in concert with the
Department’s ongoing Whole Basin Management Program
and the affected public.

Notice of Public Comment

A public workshop will be held on Wednesday,
September 2, 1998, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m., at the Virden Center,
University of Delaware College of Marine Studies, Lewes,
Delaware.

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, September
2, 1998, at 6:00 p.m. at the Virden Center, University of
Delaware College of Marine Studies, Lewes, Delaware.  The
hearing record will remain open until 4:30 p.m., September
11, 1998.  Please bring written comments to the hearing or
send them to Rod Thompson, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE, 19901; facsimile: (302) 739-
6242.  All written comments must be received by 4:30 p.m.,
September 11, 1998.  For planning purposes, those individuals
wishing to make oral comments at the public hearing are
requested to notify Betty Turner, (302-739-4590; facsimile:
(302) 739-6140; email: bturner@state.de.us) by 4:30 p.m.,
September 1, 1998.

Additional information and supporting technical
documents may be obtained from the Watershed Assessment
Section, Division of Water Resources, Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control, 29 South State Street,
Dover, DE 19901, (302) 739-4590, facsimile: (302) 739-6140.

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Nanticoke
River and Broad Creek, Delaware

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues

The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) is proposing to adopt Total Maximum Daily
Load (TMDL) Regulations for nitrogen and for phosphorous

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/water.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/water.htm
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for the Nanticoke River and Broad Creek.   A TMDL sets a
limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into
a waterbody and still protect water quality. TMDLs are
composed of three components, including Waste Load
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of Safety
(MOS).

Possible Terms of the Agency Action

Following adoption of the proposed Total Maximum
Daily Loads for the Nanticoke River and Broad Creek,
DNREC will develop a Pollution Control Strategy (PCS) to
achieve the necessary load reductions.  The PCS will identify
specific pollution reduction activities and timeframes and will
be developed in concert with the Department’s ongoing Whole
Basin Management Program and the affected public,

Notice of Public Comment

A public workshop will be held on Wednesday,
September 9, 1998, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m., at the Kiwanis Room,
the Boys & Girls Club of Delaware Western Sussex County,
310 Virginia Ave., Seaford, Delaware.

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, September
9, 1998, at 6:00 p.m., at the Kiwanis Room, the Boys & Girls
Club of Delaware Western Sussex County, 310 Virginia Ave.,
Seaford, Delaware.  The hearing record will remain open until
4:30 p.m., September 18, 1998.  Please bring written
comments to the hearing or send them to Rod Thompson,
Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE,
19901; facsimile: (302) 739- 6242.  All written comments
must be received by 4:30 p.m., September 18, 1998.  For
planning purposes, those individuals wishing to make oral
comments at the public hearing are requested to notify Betty
Turner, (302-739-4590; facsimile: (302) 739-6140; email:
bturner@state.de.us) by 4:30 p.m., September 8, 1998.

Additional information and supporting technical
documents may be obtained from the Watershed Assessment
Section, Division of Water Resources, Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control, 29 South State Street,
Dover, DE 19901, (302) 739-4590, facsimile: (302) 739-6140.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H.
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING
will be held on Friday, August 21, 1998 at 10:00 a.m. in the
2nd Floor Conference Room of the Delaware Insurance
Department at 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904.

The purpose of the Hearing is to solicit comments from
the industry, the agent community, and the general public on

the agent community’s request to strike the cap on agent
commissions from Insurance Department Regulation 63,
Section 24 relating to long term care insurance policies, which
reads as follows:

“Section 24.  Permitted compensation arrangements

A. An insurer or other entity may provide
commission or other compensation to an agent
or other representative for the sale of a longterm
care insurance policy or certificate which shall
not exceed twentyfive percent (25%) of the total
premium paid for that policy year.

B. No entity shall provide compensation to its agents
or other producers and no agent or producer shall
receive compensation greater than twenty-five
percent (25%) of the total premium paid for that
policy year for the sale of a replacement long-
term care insurance policy or certificate.

C. For purposes of this section, “compensation”
includes pecuniary or non-pecuniary
remuneration or any kind relating to the sale or
renewal of the policy or certificate including but
not limited to bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards and
finders fees.”

and to consider numerous consumer protection provisions
contained in the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners’ Long Term Care Model Regulation.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.  C. Chapter
101.  Comments are being solicited from any interested party.
Comments may be in writing or may be presented orally at
the hearing.  Written comments must be received by the
Department of Insurance no later than Friday, August 14, 1998
and should be addressed to Fred A. Townsend, 111, Deputy
Insurance Commissioner, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
DE 19904.  Those wishing to testify or those intending to
provide oral testimony must notify Fred A. Townsend, III at
302.739.4251, ext. 157 or 800.282.8611 no later than Friday,
August 14, 1998.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN
COMMISSION

P.O. BOX 7360
WEST TRENTON, NEW JERSEY

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet
on Wednesday, August 12, 1998, in Deposit, New

York.  For more information contact Susan M.
Weisman at (609)883-9500 ext. 203

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/index.htm
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