
Delaware Register
Regulations 

of

    Issue Date:  April 1, 2005
Volume 8  -  Issue 10                  Pages 1339 - 1504

IN THIS ISSUE:

Regulations:
Errata
Proposed
Final

Governor
Appointments

General Notices
Calendar of Events &

Hearing Notices

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. Chapter 11, Subchapter III, this issue of the Register contains all 
documents required to be published, and received, on or before March 15, 2005. 



INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE                 
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS1340
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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

8 DE Reg. 757-772 (12/01/04)

Refers to Volume 8, pages 757-772 of the 
Delaware Register issued on December 1, 2004.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage. For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency 
proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a 
regulation, it shall file notice and full text of such 
proposals, together with copies of the existing 
regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, 
with the Registrar for publication in the Register 
of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The 
notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings 
including a brief synopsis of the subject, 
substance, issues, possible terms of the agency 
action, a reference to the legal authority of the 
agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be 
held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place 
and a summary of the nature of the proposal shall 
also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation. The notice shall 
also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
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materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include: (1) A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received; (4) The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6) 
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor; 
Sandra F. Clark, Administrative Specialist II; 
Kathleen Morris, Unit Operations Support 
Specialist; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of 
Regulations; Steve Engebretsen, Assistant 
Registrar; Victoria Schultes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Rhonda McGuigan, Administrative 
Specialist I; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative 
Librarian; Lisa Schieffert, Research Analyst; 
Judi Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Alice 
W. Stark, Legislative Attorney; Ted Segletes, 
Paralegal;  Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop 
Supervisor;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer;  Don 
Sellers, Printer.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE MANUFACTURED HOME RELOCATION TRUST FUND
201 Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund Regulations...................................... 8 DE Reg.   619 (Prop.)

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Proposed Amendment to the Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive

Plan to Classify the Lower Delaware River as Special Protection Waters............................. 8 DE Reg.   513 (Prop.)
Proposed Amendment to the Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive

Plan to Establish Pollutant Minimization Plan Requirements for Point and Non-Point
Source Discharges of Toxic Pollutants Following Issuance of a TMDL by either the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency or a Member State, or an Assimilative Capacity
Determination by the Delaware River Basin Commission..................................................... 8 DE Reg.    515 (Prop.)

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
State Fire Prevention Regulations.......................................................................................... .......... 8 DE Reg.        6 (Prop.)

   8 DE Reg.    416 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

100 Board of Accountancy..................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   944 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1216 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1269 (Final)

200 Board of Landscape Architects........................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   625 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   947 (Prop.)

300 Board of Architecture...................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   953 (Prop.)
500 Board of Podiatry............................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   955 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1273(Final)
700 Board of Chiropractic...................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   627 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   997 (Final)
8 DE Reg. 1218 (Prop.)

1100 Board of Dental Examiners............................................................................................ 8 DE Reg. 1057 (Prop.)
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners....................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   627 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   998 (Final)
1700 Board of Medical Practice............................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   628 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.  750 (Errata)
1770 Board of Medical Practice Respiratory Care Advisory Council.................................... 8 DE Reg.  635 (Prop.)
1800 Board of Plumbing Examiners....................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.  639 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1000 (Final)
1900 Board of Nursing........................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   377 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   757 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   864 (Final)
8 DE Reg. 1089 (Final)
8 DE Reg. 1219 (Prop.)

2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice............................................................... 8 DE Reg.   518 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1063 (Prop.)

2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     16 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   536 (Final)
8 DE Reg.   640 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1002 (Final)
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2500 Board of Pharmacy, Rule 16.0, Crimes Substantially Related to the Practice of
Pharmacy................................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   517 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   879 (Final)
2600 Board of Physical Therapists & Athletic Trainers......................................................... 8 DE Reg.   772 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1233 (Prop.)
2700 Board of Professional Land Surveyors.......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   774 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1280 (Final)
2900 Real Estate Commission........................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   961 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1283 (Final)
3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency

Professionals ........................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   963 (Prop.)
3100 Board of Funeral Services...................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   777 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1241 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1285 (Final)

3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine........................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   645 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1105 (Final)

3500 Board of Examiners of Psychologists............................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   779 (Prop.)
3600 Board of Geologists....................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   785 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1105 (Final)
3700 Board of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists & Hearing Aid Dispensers..... 8 DE Reg.   786 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1106 (Final)
3800 State Committee on Dietitics/Nutrition......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   787 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1288 (Final)
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners.................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   218 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   880 (Final)
8 DE Reg.   966 (Prop.)

5100 Board of Cosmetology & Barbering.............................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   788 (Prop.)
5200 Board of Nursing Home Administrators........................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   790 (Prop.)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork.................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   390 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   692 (Final)
8 DE Reg.   796 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1107 (Final)

Gaming Control Board, Bingo, Charitable Gambling and Raffles......................................... 8 DE Reg.   531 (Final)
PUBLIC INTEGRITY COMMISSION

Public Integrity Commission, Rules of................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   710 (Final)
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Reg. Docket No. 15, Concerning the Terms and Conditions Under Which Water Utilities
Require Advances and/or Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction from Customers or
Developers, and the Proper Ratemakeing Treatment for such Contributions
and Advances................................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   969 (Prop.)

Reg. Docket No. 54, Concerning the Jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission to
Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity to Provide 
Wastewater Services........................................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   646 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Rule 8.3.3.5, Erythropietin...................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   329 (Final)
Rule 8.8 Prohibited Substances Protests; Testing................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   698 (Final)
Rule 8.9 Prerace Testing By Blood Gas Analyzer or Similar Equipment.............................. 8 DE Reg.   798 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1108 (Final)
Rule 8.10 Quarantine Procedure for Carbon Dioxide Positive Test (Prerace or Postrace)..... 8 DE Reg. 1108 (Final)
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations............................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   336 (Final)

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
Rule 11.14.1.5 Scratches................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   652 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1289 (Final)
Rule 19.3.1.1, Application for Review........................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   652 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1289 (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101 Delaware Student Testing Program................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.     17 (Prop.)

  8 DE Reg.   425 (Final)
106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II).......... 8 DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

  8 DE Reg.   431 (Final)
107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance  Appraisal System (DPAS II)...... 8 DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

   8 DE Reg.   431 (Final)
108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)........ 8 DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

   8 DE Reg.   431 (Final)
251 Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)........................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1112 (Final)
252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of Educational Records........ 8 DE Reg. 1112 (Final)
260 General Appeal Procedure for the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the

United States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA  .................................................... 8 DE Reg.   221 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   537 (Final)

262 General Administrative Appeal Procedures for National School Lunch Programs (NSLP),
School Breakfast Program (SBP) and the After School Snack Program (ASSP) of the 
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)-Fiscal Action.......................................... 8 DE Reg. 1066 (Prop.)

264 General Administrative Appeal Procedures for the Summer Food Servide Programs of the
United States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA...................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1068 (Prop.)

278 Non-public School Educator Licensure and Certification...................................................... 8 DE Reg.   811 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1123 (Final)

401 Major Capitol Improvement Program..................................................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1295 (Final)
501 State Content Standards.......................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     36 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   445 (Final)
525 Requirements for Career-Technical Education Programs....................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1243 (Prop.)
545 K-12 School Counseling Program.......................................................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1245 (Prop.)
609 District and School Based Intervention Services 8 DE Reg.   657 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1008 (Final)
611 Consortium Discipline Alternative Programs for Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems 8 DE Reg.   657 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1008  (Final)
618 (Formerly Reg. 879) School Safety Audit.............................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   344 (Final)
620 (Formerly Reg. 880) School Crisis Response Plans............................................................... 8 DE Reg.   344 (Final)
701 Unit Count.............................................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg. 1070 (Prop.)
705 Training Camp and Special Duty in the National Guard and/or Reserves.............................. 8 DE Reg.   396 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   700 (Final)
706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Service in the Armed Forces......................................... 8 DE Reg.   397 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   701 (Final)
712 Employee Leave...................................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1073 (Prop.)
714 Professional Employee Work Stoppage or Strike................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   820 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1132 (Final)
718 Health Examinations for School District Employees..................................................... 8 DE Reg.     37 (Prop.)

  8 DE Reg.   399 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   702 (Final)

725 School Administrator Contracts/Agreements......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   821 (Final)
8 DE Reg. 1133 (Final)

727 Credit for Experience for Administrators, Teachers and Specialists...................................... 8 DE Reg. 1246 (Prop.)
731 School Food Service Employees............................................................................................. 8 DE Reg. 1248 (Prop.)
733 Substitutes .............................................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg. 1249 (Prop.)
742  Compensation of District Personnel Under Specific Project Proposals 8 DE Reg.   520 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   884 (Final)
805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program................................................ 8 DE Reg.     38 (Prop.)

   8 DE Reg.   400 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   822 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1134 (Final)

851 K-12 Compreshensive Health Education Program................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   661 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1012 (Final)

852 Child Nutrition........................................................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   224 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   540  (Final)
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885 Safe Management and Disposal of Surplus Chemicals in the Delaware Public School
System ................................................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   345 (Final)

925 Children with Disabilities....................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   225 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   402 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   886 (Final)

940 Early Admission to Kindergarten for Gifted Students............................................................ 8 DE Reg. 1074 (Prop.)
1105 School Transportation........................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   237 (Final)

8 DE Reg.   541 (Final)
REGULATIONS REPEALED

250 Procedures Related to the Collection, Maintenance  and Disclosure of Student Data,
Repeal of.......................................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   800 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.  1112 (Final)
610 Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems Component (14 Del.C. §1604 of Chapter 16,

Comprehensive School Discipline Improvement Program August 1998........................ 8 DE Reg.   657 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1008 (Rep.)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
307 Certification Administrative - Director of Special Education........................................ 8 DE Reg.   825 (Prop.)

Certification Administrative - Director of Special Education (Transferred to 1523)............. 8 DE Reg. 1299 (Final)
309 Certification Administrative - Supervisor of Special Education, Repeal of................... 8 DE Reg.   827 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1297 (Final)
323 Certification Computer Science Teacher................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   247 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   552  (Final)
331 (Transferred to 1566) Certification Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher........................ 8 DE Reg.   248 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   553  (Final)
334 Standard Certificate Marketing Education Teacher................................................................ 8 DE Reg. 1250 (Prop.)
368 Certification School Psychologist................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     41 (Prop.)
1501 Knowledge, Skills And Responsibility Based Supplements For Educators................. 8 DE Reg.     73 (Final)

8 DE Reg.   828 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1137 (Final)

1502 Educator Mentoring.............................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   347 (Final)
1505 Professional Growth Programs..................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     78 (Final)
1509  Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation............................................................... 8 DE Reg.   446 (Final)
1523 (previously 307) Standard Certificate Director of Special Education.................................. 8 DE Reg. 1299 (Final)
1528 Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive.................................................................. 8 DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1529 Foreign Language Teacher Secondary.......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1531 Certification Administrative School Leader I............................................................... 8 DE Reg.   832 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1301 (Final)
1533 Foreign Language Teacher Elementary........................................................................ 8 DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1537 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary........................................................................ 8 DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1540 Standard Certificate Science Teacher.................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.  834 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1138 (Final)
1542 Standard Certificate Science Teacher Middle Level............................................................. 8 DE Reg.   837 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1139 (Final)
1554 Standard Certificate Reading Specialist................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   405 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   899 (Final)
1555 Standard Certificate Early Care and Education (Ages 0-K) Teacher.................................... 8 DE Reg. 1252 (Prop.)
1558 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary Middle Level 8 DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1566 (Formerly Reg. 331) Standard Certificate Family & Consumer Sciences Teacher.............. 8 DE Reg.   553 (Final)
1577 (Formerly Reg. 368) Standard Certificate-School Psychologist  ......................................... 8 DE Reg.   448 (Final)
1584 Permits Paraeducators........................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   839 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1141 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

Tobacco Quarterly Escrow Installments and Certification..................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1075 (Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 6010, (7 Del.C. §6010)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2005-S-0001

* NOTICE:  On February 1, 2005, an incorrect version of the
this final regulation was published in the Register of
Regulations. The following version is the correct regulation
and has been adopted by the Secretary of DNREC pursuant
to the following Order.  It is in final form and does not show
additions and deletions.

I. Background

On April 20, 2004, a public hearing was held in the
DNREC Auditorium in Dover to receive comment on the
Department’s proposed revisions to the Delaware Sediment
and Stormwater Regulations. The Sediment and Stormwater
Program of the Department held a series of workshops in the
fall of 2003 to explain and discuss the draft proposed
changes to these Regulations. Comments were solicited from
the community by the Department regarding same at that
time as well.

This rule making procedure represents a culmination of
a process which began in February of 2001 when the
Department convened a regulatory advisory committee to
assist in the implementation of proposed changes to these
regulations.  Subsequent to the Start Action Notice being
filed in August of 2001, the first public workshop was held
in October of 2002.  Additional comment and response
periods occurred between October of 2002 and April 2003,
at which time the Division received their legal review
concerning these proposed revisions.  In November of 2003,
several optional public review workshops were once again
held to further discuss the draft regulation with the public.
On March 1, 2004, the proposed amendments were
forwarded to the Register of Regulations, and the actual
public hearing was held on April 20, 2004.

No public comments were entered into the record at the
time of the public hearing on April 20, 2004.  However, as a
result of Department’s solicitation for public input regarding
this rulemaking, there were written comments received and
incorporated into the record from the public in both the pre-
hearing and post-hearing phases of this rulemaking process.
The Department provided their Final Response Document
with regard to these comments in a memorandum to the
Hearing Officer dated January 3, 2005. Thereafter, the
Hearing Officer prepared her report and recommendation in

the form of a memorandum to the Secretary dated January 4,
2005, and that memorandum is expressly incorporated
herein by reference. Proper notice of the hearing was
provided as required by law.  

II. Findings and Conclusions
All of the findings and conclusions contained in the

Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated January 4, 2005, are
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.  Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed
amendments be promulgated and implemented in the manner
and form provided for by law, as recommended in the
Hearing Officer’s memorandum.

IV.  Reasons

The adoption of these proposed changes in the Delaware
Sediment and Stormwater Regulations will be beneficial to
the State of Delaware, in that it will clarify the difference
between federal requirements and the state permitting
process regarding such matters. Additionally, the adoption of
these amendments will help to improve and/or enhance the
overall performance of the State of Delaware’s Sediment and
Stormwater Program, in furtherance of the policies and
purposes of 7 Del.C. Ch. 40. 

John A. Hughes, Secretary

Date of Issuance:  March 16, 2005
Effective Date of the Amendment:  April 11, 2005

5101 Delaware Sediment and Stormwater Regulations

1.0 Scope 
1.1 Stormwater runoff may reasonably be expected to

be a source of pollution to waters of the State, and may add
to existing flooding problems. The implementation of a
statewide sediment and stormwater program will prevent
existing water quantity and water quality problems from
becoming worse, and in some cases, reduce existing
problems. 

1.2 Sediment and stormwater approvals are required for
land changes or construction activities for residential,
commercial, industrial, or institutional land use which are
not exempted or waived by these Regulations. Requirements
under these Regulations do not apply to agricultural land
management practices unless the Conservation District or
the Department determines that the land requires a soil and
water conservation plan, and the owner or operator of the
land has refused either to apply to a Conservation District for
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the development of such a plan, or to implement a plan
developed by a Conservation District.

1.3 The Department intends that, to the extent possible,
the provisions of these Regulations be delegated to either the
Conservation Districts, local governments, or other State
agencies. Those program provisions which are subject to
delegation include sediment and stormwater management
plan approval, inspection during construction, post-
construction inspection, and education and training. Initial
consideration regarding delegation of program components
shall be given to the Conservation Districts.

1.4 The implementation of a stormwater utility
represents a comprehensive approach to program funding
and implementation. The activities which may be undertaken
by a stormwater utility include not only assessment,
collection, and funding activities, but also carrying out
provisions of adopted stormwater management plans. These
provisions may include contracting for such services as
project construction, project maintenance, project
inspection, and enforcement of installation and maintenance
requirements imposed with respect to approved land
disturbing activities. 

8 DE Reg. 1172 (2/01/05)

2.0 Definitions 
As used in these regulations, the following terms shall

have the meanings indicated below: 
“Adverse Impact” means a negative impact to

land or waters resulting from a construction or development
activity. The negative impact includes increased risk of
flooding; degradation of water quality; increased
sedimentation; reduced groundwater recharge; negative
impacts on aquatic organisms; negative impacts on wildlife
and other resources, and threatened public health. 

“Agricultural Land Management Practices”
means those methods and procedures generally accepted by
the Conservation Districts and used in the cultivation of land
in order to further crop and livestock production and
conservation of related soil and water resources. 

“Applicant” means a person, firm, or
governmental agency who executes the necessary forms to
obtain plan approval for a land disturbing activity. 

“Appropriate Plan Approval Agency” means the
Department, Conservation District, county, municipality, or
State agency that is responsible in a jurisdiction for review
and approval of sediment and stormwater management
plans. 

“As-Built Plans or Record Documents” means a
set of engineering or site drawings that delineate the specific
approved stormwater management facility as actually
constructed. 

“Certified Construction Reviewer” means those
individuals, having passed a Departmental sponsored or
approved training course, who provide on-site inspection for

sediment control and stormwater management in accordance
with these regulations. 

“Delegation” means the acceptance of
responsibility by a Conservation District, county,
municipality, or State agency for the implementation of one
or more elements of the statewide sediment and stormwater
management program. 

“Department” means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control. 

“Designated Watershed or Subwatershed”
means a watershed or subwatershed proposed by a
Conservation District, county, municipality, or State agency
and approved by the Department. The Department may
establish additional requirements in these watersheds and
subwatersheds due to existing water quantity or water
quality problems. These requirements shall be implemented
on an overall watershed or subwatershed master plan that is
developed for water quality and/or water quantity protection. 

“Detention Structure” means a permanent
stormwater management structure whose primary purpose is
to temporarily store stormwater runoff and release the stored
runoff at controlled rates. 

“Develop Land” means to change the runoff
characteristics of a parcel of land in conjunction with
residential, commercial, industrial, or institutional
construction or alteration. 

“Developer” means a person undertaking, or for
whose benefit, activities covered by these regulations are
commenced and/or carried out. 

“Drainage Area” means that area contributing
runoff to a single point measured in a horizontal plane,
which is enclosed by a ridge line. 

“Easement” means a grant or reservation by the
owner of land for the use of such land by others for a specific
purpose or purposes, and which must be included in the
conveyance of land affected by such easement. 

“Erosion and Sediment Control” means the
control of solid material, both mineral and organic, during a
land disturbing activity, to prevent its transport out of the
disturbed area by means of air, water, gravity, or ice. 

“Exemption” means those land development
activities that are not subject to the sediment and stormwater
requirements contained in these regulations. 

“Grading” means excavating, filling (including
hydraulic fill) or stockpiling of earth materials, or any
combination thereof, including the land in its excavated or
filled condition. 

“Green Technology Best Management Practices
(BMP's)” means those practices that achieve stormwater
management objectives by applying the principles of
filtration, infiltration and storage most often associated with
natural vegetation and undisturbed soils while minimizing a
reliance on structural components. They may also be
constructed using an imported soil medium and planted with
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vegetation designed to promote the natural hydrologic
process. These practices include, but are not limited to,
vegetative filtration, riparian buffer plantings, bio-retention
areas, vegetative flow conveyance, as well as recharge and
surface storage in undisturbed natural areas. 

“Infiltration” means the passage or movement of
water through the soil profile. 

“Land Disturbing Activity” means a land change
or construction activity for residential, commercial,
industrial, and institutional land use which may result in soil
erosion from water or wind or movement of sediments or
pollutants into State waters or onto lands in the State, or
which may result in accelerated stormwater runoff,
including, but not limited to, clearing, grading, excavating,
transporting and filling of land. 

“Off-site Stormwater Management” means the
design and construction of a stormwater management facility
that is necessary to control stormwater from more than one
land disturbing activity. 

“On-site Stormwater Management” means the
design and construction of stormwater management
practices that are required for a specific land disturbing
activity. 

“Person” means any State or federal agency,
individual, partnership, firm, association, joint venture,
public or private corporation, trust, estate, commission,
board, public or private institution, utility, cooperative,
municipality or other political subdivision of this State, any
interstate body or any other legal entity. 

“Redevelopment” means a land disturbance
activity that alters the use of land but does not necessarily
alter the pre-development runoff characteristics. 

“Responsible Personnel” means a foreman or
superintendent who is in charge of on-site clearing and land
disturbing activities for sediment and stormwater control
associated with a construction project. 

“Sediment” means soils or other surficial materials
transported and/or deposited by the action of wind, water, ice
or gravity as a product of erosion. 

“Sediment and Stormwater Management Plan”
(or Detailed Plan) means a plan for the control of soil
erosion, sedimentation, stormwater quantity, and water
quality impacts resulting from any land disturbing activity. 

“Stabilization” means the prevention of soil
erosion by surface runoff or wind through the establishment
of a soil cover through the implementation of vegetative or
structural measures. Examples include, but are not limited
to, straw mulch with temporary or permanent vegetation,
wood chips, and stone or gravel ground cover. 

“Standard Plan” means a set of pre-defined
standards and/or specifications for minor land disturbing
activities that may preclude the preparation of a detailed plan
under specific conditions. 

“State Waters” means any and all waters, public or
private, on the surface of the earth which are contained
within, flow through or border upon the State or any portion
thereof. 

“Stormwater” means the runoff of water from the
surface of the land resulting from precipitation or snow or
ice melt. 

“Stormwater Management” means:
• for water quantity control, a system of

vegetative, structural, and other measures
that may control the volume and rate of
stormwater runoff which may be caused
by land disturbing activities or activities
upon the land; and 

• for water quality control, a system of
vegetative, structural, and other measures
that control adverse effects on water
quality that may be caused by land
disturbing activities or activities upon the
land. 

“Stormwater Utility” means an administrative
organization that has been established for the purposes of
funding sediment control, stormwater management or flood
control planning, design, construction, maintenance, and
overall resource needs by authorized and imposed charges. 

“Tidewater” means water that alternately rises and
falls due to the gravitational attraction of the moon and sun
and is under the regulatory authority of 7 Del.C. Ch. 72.
Examples of tidewaters include the Atlantic Ocean, the
Delaware Bay, and the Delaware Inland Bays. 

“Variance” means the modification of the
minimum sediment and stormwater management
requirements for specific circumstances where strict
adherence of the requirements would result in unnecessary
hardship and not fulfill the intent of these regulations. 

“Waiver” means the relinquishment from sediment
and stormwater management requirements by the
appropriate plan approval authority for a specific
development on a case-by-case review basis. 

“Water Quality” means those characteristics of
stormwater runoff from a land disturbing activity that relate
to the chemical, physical, biological, or radiological integrity
of water. 

“Water Quantity” means those characteristics of
stormwater runoff that relate to the rate and volume of the
stormwater runoff to downstream areas resulting from land
disturbing activities. 

“Watershed” means the total or partial drainage
area contributing stormwater runoff to a single point. 

8 DE Reg. 1172 (2/01/05)
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3.0 Exemptions, Waivers, and Variances
3.1 The following activities are exempt from both

sediment control and stormwater management requirements
established by these regulations: 

3.1.1 Agricultural land management practices,
unless the local Conservation District or the Department
determines that the land requires a new or updated soil and
water conservation plan, and the owner or operator of the
land has refused either to apply to a Conservation District for
the development of such a plan, or to implement a plan
developed by a Conservation District; 

3.1.2 Developments or construction that disturb
less than 5,000 square feet; 

3.1.3 Land development activities which are
regulated under specific State or federal laws which provide
for managing sediment control and stormwater runoff. An
example of this exemption would be specific permits
required under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination
System when discharges are a combination of stormwater
and industrial or domestic wastewater or which must comply
with Parts 122, 123, and 124 of Title 40 of the Code of
Federal Regulations. The Department shall ensure that all
land developments which are regulated under specific State
or federal laws are coordinated with delegated plan approval
agencies to ensure compatibility of requirements 

3.1.4 Projects which are emergency in nature
that are necessary to protect life or property such as bridge,
culvert, or pipe repairs and above ground or underground
electric and gas utilities or public utility restoration. The
emergency nature of a project may preclude prior plan
review and approval, but subsequent inspection may
necessitate sediment control or site stabilization in
accordance with the provisions of this Chapter. The
appropriate plan approval agency shall be notified orally or
in writing within 48 hours of the initiation of such
emergency activity. 

The appropriate plan approval agency shall
determine and approve of the emergency nature of a project.
If the nature of the emergency will require more than 120
days to accomplish construction, formal approval shall be
obtained for sediment control and stormwater management.
These activities must still comply with other State, federal,
and local requirements. 

3.1.5 Commercial forest harvesting operations
that meet the requirements of the Department of Agriculture
under 3 Del.C. Ch. 29, Subchapter VI. 

3.2 Appropriate Plan Approval Agencies may grant
waivers from the stormwater management requirements of
these regulations for individual developments provided that
a written request is submitted by the applicant containing
descriptions, drawings, and any other information that is
necessary to evaluate the proposed development. A separate
written waiver request shall be required if there are
subsequent additions, extensions, or modifications which

would alter the approved stormwater runoff characteristics to
a development receiving a waiver. 

3.2.1 A project may be eligible for a waiver of
stormwater management for both quantitative and qualitative
control if the applicant can demonstrate that: 

3.2.1.1 The proposed project will return the
disturbed area to a pre-development runoff condition and the
pre-development cover is unchanged at the conclusion of the
project; or 

3.2.1.2 The proposed project consists of a
linear disturbance of less than ten (10) feet in width; or 

3.2.1.3 The project is for an individual
residential detached unit or agricultural structure, and the
total disturbed area of the site is less than one acre; or 

3.2.1.4 The proposed project is for
agricultural structures in locations included in current soil
and water conservation plans that have been approved by the
appropriate Conservation District. 

3.2.2 A project may be eligible for a waiver or
variance of stormwater management for water quantity
control if the applicant can demonstrate that: 

3.2.2.1 The proposed project will not
generate an increase in the 2-year post-development peak
discharge rate of more than ten (10) percent above the 2-year
pre-development peak discharge rate and will have no
adverse impact on the receiving wetland, watercourse, or
waterway; or 

3.2.2.2 Provisions will be made or exist for a
nonerosive conveyance system to tidewater by either a
closed drainage system or by open channel flow that has
adequate capacity to contain the runoff events being
considered as a requirement of these regulations; or

3.2.2.3 The location of a project within a
watershed would aggravate downstream flooding by the
imposition of peak control requirements. 

3.3 The plan approval agency may grant a written
variance from any requirement of these regulations if there
are exceptional circumstances applicable to the site such that
strict adherence to the provisions of these regulations will
result in unnecessary hardship and not fulfill the intent of
these regulations. A written request for variance shall be
provided to the plan approval agency and shall state the
specific variances sought and the reasons for their granting.
The plan approval agency shall not grant a variance unless
and until sufficient specific reasons justifying the variance
are provided by the applicant. 

8 DE Reg. 1172 (2/01/05)

4.0 Departmental Responsibilities 
4.1 The Department is responsible for the

implementation and supervision of the sediment and
stormwater program which is established by 7 Del.C. Ch. 40.
This responsibility shall include, but not be limited to, the
authority to: 
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4.1.1 Provide technical and other assistance to
Conservation Districts, counties, municipalities, federal, and
State agencies in implementing this Chapter; 

4.1.2 Develop and publish, as regulation
components, minimum standards, guidelines and criteria for
delegation of sediment and stormwater program
components, and model sediment and stormwater ordinances
for use by Conservation Districts, counties, State agencies,
and municipalities; 

4.1.3 Review the implementation of all
components of the statewide sediment and stormwater
management program that have been delegated to either the
Conservation Districts, counties, municipalities, or other
State agencies in reviews to be accomplished at least once
every three years; 

4.1.4 Require that appropriate sediment and
stormwater management provisions be included in all new
erosion and sediment control plans developed pursuant to
these regulations; 

4.1.5 Cooperate with appropriate agencies of the
United States or other states or any interstate agency with
respect to sediment control and stormwater management; 

4.1.6 Conduct studies and research regarding
the causes, effects, and hazards of stormwater and methods
to control stormwater runoff; 

4.1.7 Conduct and supervise educational
programs with respect to sediment control and stormwater
management; 

4.1.8 Require the submission to the Department
of records and periodic reports by Conservation Districts, tax
ditch organizations, county, and municipal agencies as may
be necessary to carry out these regulations; 

4.1.9 Review and approve designated
watersheds; 

4.1.10 Establish a maximum life of three years
for the validation of approved plans. These regulations shall
specify variances which expand this time limitation in
specific situations; and 

4.1.11 Establish a means of communication, such
as a newsletter, so that information regarding program
development and implementation can be distributed to
interested individuals. 

4.2 Matters of policy, procedures, standards, criteria,
approvals, inspection, or enforcement relating to the
Sediment and Stormwater Chapter shall be established by
the Department subject to the jurisdiction of the Secretary of
the Department. Sediment and stormwater programs or
portions of programs which are delegated to the
Conservation Districts, counties, municipalities, or State
agencies shall include sediment and stormwater criteria
consistent with the standards, procedures, and regulations of
the Department. 

A variation of requirements by the delegated
agency on a specific watershed will not be valid unless

approved by the Department. All State and federal
development in the watershed shall be reviewed subject to
the same variations and requirements by the delegated State
agency or Department as appropriate. 

4.3 In situations where public notification and
comment are required before an action is taken by the
Department, the Regulatory Advisory Committee shall have
an opportunity to review the proposed Departmental action
and provide input to the Department regarding the action. 

5.0 Criteria for Delegation of Program Elements 
5.1 Conservation Districts, counties, municipalities,

and State agencies may seek delegation of four program
elements relating to the implementation of the statewide
sediment and stormwater program. Delegation may be
granted by the Secretary for review and approval of sediment
and stormwater management plans, inspection during
construction, subsequent maintenance inspection, and
education and training. Program elements that are delegated
shall be implemented according to Chapter 40 and these
regulations.

5.2 The Secretary, or his designee, shall grant
delegation of one or more program elements to any
Conservation District, county, municipality, or State agency
seeking delegation that is found capable of providing
compliance with Chapter 40 and these regulations. The final
decision regarding delegation shall be made only after an
opportunity has been provided for public review and
comment. Initial consideration regarding delegation of
program elements shall be given to the Conservation
Districts. The Conservation Districts, having unique
capabilities and area wide responsibilities are in ideal
positions to coordinate and implement local sediment and
stormwater programs. 

5.3 Requests for delegation of more than one program
element may be accomplished by the submission of one
request for all the elements requested. A concern by the
Department over one element will not jeopardize delegation
of other requested program elements.

5.4 To be considered capable of providing compliance
with Chapter 40 and these regulations, applications for
delegation of program elements shall contain the following
requisite items. 

5.4.1 Requests for delegation of plan approval
responsibility shall include the following information:

5.4.1.1 Ordinance or program information
detailing the plan approval process,

5.4.1.2 Plan review check lists and plan
submission requirements, 

5.4.1.3 Sediment and stormwater criteria,
including waiver and variance procedures, that meet
minimum standards established by these regulations, 
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5.4.1.4 Assurance of adequate personnel
allocations and expected time frames for plan review which
meet the requirements of Section 8(9), and 

5.4.1.5 Assurance that plan reviewers will
attend Departmental training programs in related fields such
as wetlands identification, subaqueous permits requirements,
etc. 

5.4.2 Requests for delegation of inspection
during construction shall include the following information: 

5.4.2.1 Inspection and referral procedures, 
5.4.2.2 Time frames for inspection of active

land disturbing activities, 
5.4.2.3 Inspection forms, 
5.4.2.4 Assurance of adequate personnel

allocations or a timetable to obtain adequate personnel, 
5.4.2.5 Criteria for the Certified Construction

Reviewer if utilized, and 
5.4.2.6 Procedures and time frames for

processing complaints. 
5.4.3 Requests for delegation of maintenance

inspection responsibility shall include the following
information: 

5.4.3.1 Inspection and referral procedures, 
5.4.3.2 Inspection forms, 
5.4.3.3 Time frames, not exceeding one year,

for inspection of completed stormwater management
structures, and 

5.4.3.4 Assurance of adequate personnel
allocation or a timetable to obtain adequate personnel. 

5.4.4 Requests for delegation of education and
training responsibility shall include the following
information: 

5.4.4.1 Types of educational and training
activities to be accomplished, 

5.4.4.2 Frequency of activities, 
5.4.4.3 Names and backgrounds of those

individuals conducting the training, and 
5.4.4.4 Procedures and timetables to notify

the Department of educational programs. 
5.5 A Conservation District, county, municipality, or

State agency which has been granted delegation of one or
more program elements may establish alternative
requirements which are compatible with or are more
stringent than Departmental requirements. These alternative
requirements may be implemented only when prior
Departmental approval has been granted. These alternative
requirements shall apply in lieu of the provisions of these
regulations in the specific program element that has been
delegated. Alternative requirements shall be implemented
only after public notice has been provided which would
allow for public review and comment prior to Departmental
approval. 

5.6 Delegation of authority for one or more program
elements may be granted for a maximum time frame of three

years. After three years a new application to the Department
must be made. Over the time frame for which delegation has
been granted, the Department will evaluate delegation
implementation, coordinate review findings with the
delegated authority, and determine if the new delegation
should be granted. 

5.7 A Conservation District, county, municipality, or
State agency requesting or renewing delegation shall submit
a written request to the Secretary on or before January 1 of
the year immediately preceding the fiscal year for which
delegation or renewal of delegation is sought. 

5.8 The Secretary shall, in writing, grant or deny
delegation on or before April 1 of the year during which
delegation is sought. The Secretary may not deny a
requested delegation unless opportunity has been afforded to
the appropriate officials to present arguments. Delegation
shall be effective July 1 of that year and extend no more than
three years, unless renewed. In the event that the Department
does not act on the renewal request by April 1, the delegated
authority submitting the request would be entitled to
continue operating for a subsequent three year time period
unless action is taken by the Department to suspend the
program. 

5.9 If the Secretary determines that a delegated
program falls below acceptable standards established by
these regulations, delegation may be suspended after
opportunity is afforded for a hearing. During a period of
suspension, the program element shall revert to the
Department for implementation. Funds set aside by a
delegated agency, that were collected through fees
established by the plan approval agency, shall be transferred
to the Department for use if delegation is suspended. 

5.10A delegated authority may sub-delegate program
elements, with Departmental concurrence, to a stormwater
utility or other responsible entity or agency. 

5.11The Department shall maintain, and make available
upon request, a listing of the current status of delegation for
all jurisdictions within the State. 

6.0 Plan Approval Fees, Maintenance Fees, and 
Performance Bonds 

6.1 The establishment of plan approval fees, not
involving stormwater utilities, shall be in accordance with
the following items: 

6.1.1 Delegation of program elements will
depend, to a large extent, on funding and personnel
commitments. If the delegated jurisdiction has a source of
funding that is provided through State General or local
revenues, then the implementation of the delegated
component will not necessitate the imposition of a plan
approval fee to cover the cost of the delegated program
component. 

6.1.2 In the event that one component of an
overall sediment and stormwater management program is
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not funded through the use of general or special funds, a
non-refundable plan approval fee will be collected at the
time that the sediment and stormwater management plan or
application for waiver or variance is submitted or approved.
The plan approval fee will provide for the unfunded costs of
plan review, administration and management of the approval
agency, construction review, maintenance inspection, and
education and training. The plan review or permit approval
agency, whether delegated or the Department, shall be
responsible for the collection of the plan approval fee. 

Unless all program elements in a county or
municipality have been delegated to a single agency, the
funds collected not supporting the plan review function shall
be distributed to the appropriate agencies. 

6.1.3 The number of needed personnel and the
direct and indirect expenses associated with those personnel
shall be developed by the agencies requesting delegation in a
specific jurisdiction in conjunction with and with the
concurrence of the Department. Those expenses will then
form the basis for determining unit plan approval costs. 

6.1.4 Prior to plan approval, a fee may be
assessed by the appropriate plan approval agency for those
activities approved prior to July 1, 1991 for which
construction will initiate after July 1, 1991. 

6.1.5 Where the Department becomes the
designated plan approval agency, the Department may assess
a plan review and construction review fee. That fee shall not
exceed $80.00 per disturbed acre per project. 

6.1.6 The use of Certified Construction
Reviewers for sediment control and the submission of “As
Built or Record Document” certification regarding
stormwater management construction may reduce the
inspection requirements for the delegated agency but may
not eliminate that inspection requirement. Periodic overview
inspections will still be necessary to ensure construction
management. 

6.2 The imposition of a financial guarantee, based on
existing local authority, may be required by the plan
approval agency to ensure that construction of the
stormwater management practices was accomplished
according to the approved sediment and stormwater
management plan. The developer, when required, shall
submit to the plan approval agency a surety or cash bond, or
irrevocable letter of credit prior to the issuance of any
building or grading permit for construction of any land
disturbing activity that requires a stormwater management
facility. 

The amount of the security shall not exceed 150%
of the total estimated construction cost of the stormwater
management facility. The financial guarantee so required
shall include provisions relative to forfeiture for failure to
complete work specified in the approved stormwater
management plan, compliance with all the provisions of
these regulations, and other applicable laws and regulations,

and any time limitations. The financial guarantee, fully or
partially, shall not be released without a final inspection of
the completed work and, when required, after submission of
“As Built or Record Document” plans, and after written
confirmation by the design engineer that construction was
accomplished according to the approved plans. A partial
release of the financial guarantee shall be allowed only to the
extent that the work already accomplished would warrant
such release. 

6.3 A maintenance fee may be required on approvals
granted for stormwater management structures that will be
maintained by a Conservation District, county, or
municipality. A fee mechanism shall be established prior to
the final release of any required financial guarantee or final
approval of the completed stormwater management structure
by the designated construction review agency. 

8 DE Reg. 1172 (2/01/05)

7.0 Criteria for Implementation of a Stormwater Utility 
The implementation of a stormwater utility will

necessitate the development of a local utility ordinance prior
to its implementation. There are essential components that
an ordinance must contain to function as a funding
mechanism for stormwater management and those
components shall include, but not be limited to, the
following items: 

7.1 The financing of a stormwater utility with a user
charge system must be reasonable and equitable so that each
user of the stormwater system pays to the extent to which the
user contributes to the need for the stormwater system, and
that the charges bear a substantial relationship to the cost of
the service. The use of county and municipal taxpayer rolls
and accounting systems are allowed for the assessment and
collection of fees. 

7.2 The intent of the utility must be clearly defined
regarding program components that are to be funded through
the utility. Those components may include but not be limited
to the following activities: 

7.2.1 Preparation of long range watershed
master plans for stormwater management, 

7.2.2 Annual inspections of all stormwater
management facilities, both public and private, 

7.2.3 Undertaking regular maintenance, through
contracting or other means, of stormwater management
structures that have been accepted for maintenance, 

7.2.4 Plan review and inspection of sediment
control and stormwater management plans and practices, and 

7.2.5 Retrofitting designated watersheds,
through contracting or other means, to reduce existing
flooding problems or to improve water quality. 

7.3 The authority for the creation of the stormwater
utility and the imposition of charges to finance sediment and
stormwater activities is conferred in 7 Del.C. Ch. 40. The
application of a stormwater utility by means of a local
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 10, FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 2005



ERRATA 1359
ordinance shall not be deemed a limitation or repeal of any
other powers granted by State statute. 

7.4 The creation of a stormwater utility shall include
the following components: 

7.4.1 The boundaries of the utility, such as
watersheds or jurisdictional boundaries as identified by the
local governing body, 

7.4.2 The creation of a management entity, 
7.4.3 Identification of stormwater problems, 
7.4.4 Method for determining utility charges, 
7.4.5 Procedures for investment and

reinvestment of funds collected, and 
7.4.6 An appeals or petition process. 

7.5 As established by local ordinance, the local
governing agency shall have responsibility for implementing
all aspects of the utility including long range planning, plan
implementation, capital improvements, maintenance of
stormwater facilities, determination of charges, billing, and
hearing of appeals and petitions. The local agency also will
have responsibility for providing staff support for utility
implementation

In the event that an agency or department other than
the one in which the utility is located is best equipped to
undertake a particular task, the local governing agency shall
ensure that appropriate interagency charges are determined
such that all costs of stormwater management are reflected in
the utility budget and that utility charges finance all aspects
of stormwater management. 

7.6 With respect to new stormwater management
facilities constructed by private developers, the local
governing agency shall develop criteria for use in
determining whether these will be maintained by the utility
or by the facility owner. Such criteria may include whether
the facility has been designed primarily to serve residential
users and whether it has been designed primarily for
purposes of stormwater management. In situations where it
is determined that public maintenance is not preferable,
standards shall be developed to ensure that inspection of
facilities occurs annually and that facilities are maintained as
needed.

7.7 The use of charges is limited to those purposes for
which the utility has been established, including but not
limited to: planning; acquisition of interests in land including
easements; design and construction of facilities;
maintenance of the stormwater system; billing and
administration; and water quantity and water quality
management, including monitoring, surveillance, private
maintenance inspection, construction inspection, and other
activities which are reasonably required. 

8.0 Plan Application and Approval Process 
8.1 After July 1, 1991, unless a particular activity is

exempted by these regulations, a person may not disturb land
without an approved sediment and stormwater management

plan from the appropriate plan approval agency. A grading
or building permit may not be issued for a property unless a
sediment and stormwater management plan has been
approved that is consistent with the following items: 

8.1.1 7 Del.C. Ch. 40, relating to erosion and
sediment control and stormwater management, and;

8.1.2 These regulations, or duly adopted county
or municipal ordinances that are adopted as a part of the
delegation process and relate to the intent of these
regulations. 

8.2 A sediment and stormwater management plan or an
application for a waiver shall be submitted to the appropriate
plan approval agency by the developer for review and
approval for a land disturbing activity, unless otherwise
exempted. The sediment and stormwater management plan
shall contain supporting computations, drawings, and
sufficient information describing the manner, location, and
type of measures in which stormwater runoff will be
managed from the entire development. The appropriate plan
approval agency shall review the plan to determine
compliance with the requirements of these regulations prior
to approval. The approved sediment and stormwater
management plan shall serve as the basis for water quantity
and water quality control on all subsequent construction. 

8.3 The sediment and stormwater management plan
shall not be considered approved without the inclusion of an
approval stamp with signature and date, on the plans by the
appropriate plan approval agency. 

8.4 All sediment and stormwater management plans
submitted for approval shall contain certification by the
owner or developer that clearing, grading, construction, or
development will be accomplished pursuant to the plan and
that responsible personnel involved in the land disturbance
will have a Certification of Training at a Departmental
sponsored or approved training program for the control of
erosion and sediment control before initiation of the project.
The Certification of Training for responsible personnel
requirement may be waived by the appropriate plan approval
agency on any project involving silviculture or fewer than
four residential homes. 

8.5 All sediment and stormwater management plans
shall contain certification by the owner or developer of the
right of the Department or delegated inspection agency to
conduct on-site inspections. 

8.6 A grading or building permit issued by a local
jurisdiction may be suspended or revoked after written
notice is given to the permittee by the responsible delegated
agency or the Department for any of the following reasons: 

8.6.1 Violations of the conditions of the
sediment and stormwater management plan approval; 

8.6.2 Changes in site runoff characteristics upon
which a waiver was granted; 

8.6.3 Construction not in accordance with the
approved plans; 
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8.6.4 Noncompliance with correction notice or
stop work order issued for the construction of the sediment
control practices or the stormwater management facilities; 

8.6.5 An immediate danger exists in a
downstream area in the opinion of the appropriate plan
approval or inspection agency, or the Department; or 

8.6.6 Failure to submit stormwater management
“As Built or Record Document” plans, when required, at the
completion of the project. 

8.7 Approved plans remain valid for 3 years from the
date of an approval, unless specifically extended or renewed
by the appropriate plan approval agency. The basis for
extension or renewal may include, but not limited to, the
following items: 

8.7.1 Failure to initiate the approved project for
reasons acceptable to the appropriate plan approval agency
such as funding or other agency permit delays; or 

8.7.2 Time duration for a type of activity that
typically exceeds three years. 

8.8 Projects which have been approved prior to July 1,
1991, and where site clearing has not been initiated on the
project within two years, shall be resubmitted to the
appropriate plan approval agency for review and approval
subject to the requirements of these regulations. 

8.9 Upon receipt of a completed application for
sediment and stormwater management, the appropriate plan
approval agency shall accomplish its review within 30
calendar days, and have either the approval or review
comments transmitted to the applicant. If that 30 day time
frame cannot be met, the appropriate plan approval agency
shall notify the applicant of the reasons for delay, and an
expected time frame not to exceed an additional 30 days,
when that review will be accomplished. 

8 DE Reg. 1172 (2/01/05)

9.0 Criteria for Designated Watersheds 
The concept of designated watersheds is intended, not

only to prevent existing water quantity and water quality
problems from getting worse, but also to reduce existing
flooding problems and to improve existing water quality or
meet State Water Quality Standards in selected watersheds.
Criteria is established for designated watersheds and that
criteria will depend on whether the specific problems of the
watershed are water quantity or water quality oriented. Water
quantity and water quality concerns will be considered in all
designated watersheds, but the overall emphasis for each
designated watershed will depend on its existing and
anticipated problems. 

9.1 To initiate consideration of a watershed for
Designated Watershed or Subwatershed status, a watershed
shall be recommended by a Conservation District, county,
municipality, or State agency, to the Department. Upon
recommendation to the Department, all involved agencies at

the local level will be contacted and their input received
prior to any watershed study being initiated. 

9.2 Included with the recommendation of a watershed
for Designated Watershed or Subwatershed status to the
Department shall be an identification of the specific
problems that exist in the watershed so that the pursuit of a
watershed study is warranted. Inclusion in these regulations
as a Designated Watershed or Subwatershed requires
approval by the Department that a significant water quantity
or water quality problem exists that would necessitate this
joint State, District, and local government involvement.
Also, inclusion of a watershed as a Designated Watershed or
Subwatershed will necessitate a public hearing process. The
process of problem identification shall be based on the
following information: 

9.2.1 To initiate a watershed study based on
water quality considerations the following information must
be submitted: 

9.2.1.1 Existing water quality data that has
been collected as a result of the overall statewide water
quality inventory process, or 

9.2.1.2 Other water quality data collected
through specific sampling that was accomplished in the
watershed, or 

9.2.1.3 Submission of a water quality
assessment that was accomplished using a qualitative
collection method of benthic macroinvertebrates. 

9.2.2 To initiate a watershed study based on
flooding or water quantity considerations the following
information must be submitted: 

9.2.2.1 Estimated annual flood damage to
either private, residential, commercial, industrial, or public
properties, or 

9.2.2.2 Number of residences or industries in
the floodplain, or 

9.2.2.3 The history of flooding in the
watershed, or 

9.2.2.4 Measures already taken to minimize
or reduce flooding, or 

9.2.2.5 Dangers to public health and welfare. 
9.3 Upon modification of these regulations to include a

watershed as a Designated Watershed or Subwatershed an
advisory group will be established that will guide the overall
watershed study. The advisory group will be appointed by
the Secretary and will include State, District, and local
representatives in addition to representatives of the regulated
community and others affected by the results of the study. 

9.4 The general components contained in the actual
watershed studies shall be the following items: 

9.4.1 Stormwater quantity or water quality
problem identification, 

9.4.2 The overall needs of the watershed
including the additional impacts of new development
activities, 
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9.4.3 Alternative approaches to address the
existing and future problems, 

9.4.4 A selected approach that includes the
overall costs and benefits, 

9.4.5 Schedule for implementation, 
9.4.6 Funding sources that are available for the

actual implementation of study recommendations, and 
9.4.7 A public hearing process prior to final

Departmental approval. 
9.5 The following goals are to be obtained through the

implementation of the Designated Watershed or
Subwatershed program: 

9.5.1 Reduction of existing flooding or water
quality impacts, 

9.5.2 Prevention of future flooding or water
quality impacts, and 

9.5.3 Minimization of economic and social
losses. 

9.6 Specific plan components of a water quality
watershed study shall include, but not be limited to, the
following items: 

9.6.1 The limits of the watershed, 
9.6.2 An inventory of existing water quality

data, 
9.6.3 An inventory of areas having significant

natural resource value as defined in existing State or local
studies as they may be impacted by the construction or
location of stormwater control structures, 

9.6.4 An inventory of areas of historical and
archaeological value identified in existing State or local
studies as they may be impacted by the construction or
location of stormwater control structures, 

9.6.5 A map or series of maps of the watershed
showing the following information: 

9.6.5.1 Watershed topography, 
9.6.5.2 Significant geologic formations, 
9.6.5.3 Soils information, 
9.6.5.4 Existing land use based on existing

zoning, 
9.6.5.5 Proposed land use based on expected

zoning or comprehensive plans, 
9.6.5.6 Location of tidal and nontidal

wetlands, and 
9.6.5.7 Locations where water quality data

were obtained. 
9.6.6 An evaluation of water quantity concerns

so that flooding does not become a problem in the
watershed. 

9.7 Specific components of a water quantity based
study shall include, but not be limited to, the following
items: 

9.7.1 The limits of the watershed, 
9.7.2 An inventory of historic flood damage

sites, including frequency and damage estimates, 

9.7.3 An inventory of areas of significant
natural resource value as noted in existing State and local
studies as they may be impacted by the construction or
location of stormwater control structures, 

9.7.4 An inventory of areas of historical and
archaeological value identified in existing State and local
studies as they may be impacted by the construction or
location of stormwater control structures, 

9.7.5 A map or series of maps of the watershed
showing the following information: 

9.7.5.1 Watershed topography, 
9.7.5.2 Soils information, 
9.7.5.3 Existing land use based on existing

zoning, 
9.7.5.4 Proposed land use based on expected

zoning or comprehensive plans, 
9.7.5.5 Locations of tidal and nontidal

wetlands, 
9.7.5.6 Locations of existing flooding

problems including floor and corner elevations of structures
already impacted, and

9.7.5.7 100 year floodplain delineations,
water surface profiles, and storm hydrographs at selected
watershed location.

9.7.6 An evaluation of water quality concerns so
that water quality degradation does not become a problem in
the watershed. 

9.8 The initiation of studies for Designated Watersheds
or Subwatersheds depends on the availability of funding for
the study. Once a watershed has been designated, the
Department will make every effort to secure funding through
federal, State, or local means. 

9.9 The Department is designated as the agency
responsible for administering designated watershed or
subwatershed studies with the advice of the advisory group
appointed by the Secretary. Recommendations based on the
results of the watershed study will only be made with the
overall consent of the advisory group. 

9.10 The formal results of the Designated
Watershed or Subwatershed study will require formal
acceptance by the local Conservation District Board of
Supervisors and the local governing body of the appropriate
county or municipality. 

9.11 Implementation of the results of the Designated
Watershed or Subwatershed study will necessitate the
development and implementation of a dedicated funding
source such as a stormwater utility to ensure design,
construction, and maintenance of needed structures is
accomplished. 

9.12 Those watersheds or subwatersheds designated
due to existing water quantity or water quality problems
include the following: 

9.12.1 Dover/Silver Lake/St. Jones River and all
drainage areas upstream of the Silver Lake dam. 
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10.0Specific Design Criteria and Minimum Standards 
and Specifications 

10.1General submission requirements for all projects
requiring sediment and stormwater management approval
include the following information: 

10.1.1 A standard application form, 
10.1.2 A vicinity map indicating north arrow,

scale, and other information necessary to locate the property
or tax parcel, 

10.1.3 A plan at an appropriate scale
accompanied by a design report and indicating at least: 

10.1.3.1 Name and address of: 
10.1.3.1.1 The owner of the property

where the project is proposed; 
10.1.3.1.2 The land developer; and 
10.1.3.1.3 The applicant. 

10.1.3.2 The existing and proposed
topography, as required on a case by case basis. 

10.1.3.3 The proposed grading and earth
disturbance including: 

10.1.3.3.1 Surface area involved; and 
10.1.3.3.2 Limits of grading including

limitation of mass clearing and grading whenever possible. 
10.1.3.4 Stormwater management and

stormwater drainage computations, including: 
10.1.3.4.1 Pre- and post-development

velocities, peak rates of discharge, and inflow and outflow
hydrographs of stormwater runoff at all existing and
proposed points of discharge from the site, 

10.1.3.4.2 Site conditions around points
of all surface water discharge including vegetation and
method of flow conveyance from the land disturbing
activity, and 

10.1.3.4.3 Design details for structural
controls. 

10.1.3.5 Erosion, sediment control, and
stormwater management provisions including: 

10.1.3.5.1 Provisions to preserve top
soil and limit disturbance; 

10.1.3.5.2 Details of site grading, and; 
10.1.3.5.3 Design details for structural

controls which includes diversions and swales. 
10.1.4 Federal Emergency Management Agency

flood maps and federal and State protected wetlands, where
appropriate. 

10.1.5 The appropriate plan approval agency
shall require that plans and design reports be sealed by a
qualified design professional that the plans have been
designed in accordance with approved sediment and
stormwater ordinances, regulations, standards and criteria.
The appropriate plan approval agency may waive this
requirement on a case by case basis. 

10.1.6 Additional information necessary for a
complete project review may be required by the appropriate
plan approval agency as deemed appropriate. This additional
information may include items such as public sewers, water
lines, septic fields, wells, etc. 

10.2Specific requirements for the erosion and sediment
control portion of the sediment and stormwater management
plan approval process include, but are not limited to, the
following items. The appropriate plan approval agency may
modify the following items for a specific project or type of
project. Modification for a specific type of project will
require the concurrence of the Department before that
modification may be applied and that modification shall be
subject to public review and comment prior to adoption. 

10.2.1 All plans shall include details of
temporary and permanent stabilization measures including
placement of the following statement on all plans submitted
for approval. Following soil disturbance or redisturbance,
permanent or temporary stabilization shall be completed
within 14 calendar days as to the surface of all perimeter
sediment controls, topsoil stockpiles, and all other disturbed
or graded areas on the project site. 

These requirements do not apply to those areas
which are shown on the plan and are currently being used for
material storage, or for those areas on which actual earth
moving activities are currently being performed. 

10.2.2 All plans shall be consistent with the
standards and specifications contained in the Delaware
Erosion and Sediment Control Handbook, and approved
supplements. The supplements shall be subject to public
review and comment prior to their incorporation in the
Erosion and Sediment Control Handbook. 

10.2.3 A sequence of construction shall be
contained on all plans describing the relationship between
the implementation and maintenance of sediment controls,
including permanent and temporary stabilization and the
various stages or phases of earth disturbance and
construction. The sequence of construction shall, at a
minimum, include the following activities: 

10.2.3.1 Clearing and grubbing for those
areas necessary for installation of perimeter controls; 

10.2.3.2 Construction of perimeter
controls; 

10.2.3.3 Remaining clearing and
grubbing; 

10.2.3.4 Road grading; 
10.2.3.5 Grading for the remainder of the

site; 
10.2.3.6 Utility installation and whether

stormdrains will be used or blocked until after completion of
construction; 

10.2.3.7 Final grading, landscaping, or
stabilization; and 

10.2.3.8 Removal of sediment controls. 
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10.2.4 The plans shall contain a description of the
predominant soil types on the site, as described by the
appropriate soil survey information available through the
local Conservation District. 

10.2.5 Unless an exception is approved on a case
by case basis or an exception is approved for a specific type
of activity by the appropriate plan approval agency, not more
than 20 acres may be cleared at any one time. Once grading
is initiated in one 20 acre section, a second 20 acre section
may have stumps, roots, brush, and organic material
removed. This will necessitate the phasing of construction
on sites in excess of 20 acres to minimize areas exposed of
ground cover and reduce erosion rates. Grading of the
second 20 acre section may not proceed until temporary or
permanent stabilization of the first 20 acre section is
accomplished. 

10.3 Specific requirements for the permanent
stormwater management portion of the sediment and
stormwater management plan approval process include, but
are not limited to, the following items. The appropriate plan
approval agency may modify the following items for a
specific project or type of project. Modification for a specific
type of project will require the concurrence of the
Department before the modification may be applied and the
modification for a type of project shall be subject to public
review and comment. 

10.3.1 It is the overall goal of the Department to
utilize stormwater management as a means to minimize
water quantity and water quality impacts due to land
disturbing activities and to mimic pre-development
hydrology, to the maximum extent practicable, in regards to
the rate, volume and duration of flow. These regulations will
provide general design requirements that must be adhered to
in the absence of Designated Watershed or Subwatershed
specific criteria. 

10.3.2 All hydrologic computations shall be
accomplished using the methodologies from the most recent
U.S.D.A. Natural Resources Conservation Service Technical
Releases 20 or 55, or other methods as approved by the
Department. The storm duration for computational purposes
shall be the 24 hour rainfall event. For projects south of the
Chesapeake and Delaware Canal, the Delmarva Unit
Hydrograph shall be incorporated into the design procedure. 

10.3.3 Stormwater management requirements for
a specific project shall be based on the entire area to be
developed, or if phased, the initial submittal shall control
that area proposed in the initial phase and establish a
procedure and obligation for total site control. 

10.3.4 Water quantity control is an integral
component of overall stormwater management. Control of
peak discharges will, to some extent, prevent increases in
flooding. The following design criteria for peak flow control
is established for water quantity control purposes, unless a
waiver is granted based on a case-by-case basis: 

10.3.4.1 Projects in New Castle County that
are located north of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal
shall not exceed the post-development peak discharge for the
2, 10, and 100 year frequency storm events at the pre-
development peak discharge rates for the 2, 10, and 100 year
frequency storm events. 

10.3.4.2 Projects in New Castle County that
are located south of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal,
Kent County, and Sussex County shall not exceed the post-
development peak discharge for the 2 and 10 year frequency
storm events at the pre-development peak discharge rates for
the 2 and 10 year frequency storm events. 

10.3.4.3 Watersheds, other than Designated
Watersheds or Subwatersheds, that have well documented
water quantity problems may have more stringent, or
modified, design criteria that is responsive to the specific
needs of that watershed. Modified criteria for that watershed
must receive Departmental approval, and all projects
reviewed and approved by the appropriate plan approval
agency shall meet or exceed the modified criteria. Proposed
modification of criteria for a watershed shall be subject to
public review and comment prior to implementation. 

10.3.5 Water quality control is also an integral
component of stormwater management. Control of runoff
from small, frequent rainfall events on-site will minimize
further degradation of downstream water quality and habitat.
The following design criteria are established for water
quality protection unless a waiver or variance is granted on a
case-by-case basis. 

10.3.5.1 In general, the preferred option for
water quality protection shall be those practices collectively
referred to as "Green Technology BMP's". Other practices
shall be considered only after preferred practices have been
eliminated for engineering or hardship reasons as approved
by the appropriate plan approval agency. 

10.3.5.2 Water quality practices shall be
designed to manage the rate and volume of flow from the
2.0" NRCS Type II rainfall event, up to a maximum of 1.0"
of runoff. 

10.3.5.3 Alternative stormwater quality
practices may be acceptable to the Department and/ or the
plan approval agency if the removal efficiency for suspended
solids meets or exceeds 80% as demonstrated by
scientifically independent evaluation and monitoring
performance data. 

10.3.5.4 The Department and/or the plan
approval agency may require other acceptable stormwater
quality practices if a receiving waterbody has been identified
as impaired, or designated with a specific pollutant reduction
target necessary to meet State of Delaware water quality
regulations. 

10.3.5.5 Water quality practices may also be
acceptable to the Department and/or the plan approval
agency if they are designed to reduce pollutant loading from
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a specific post-development source. The Department and/or
the plan approval agency will determine if this criterion for
water quality Best Management Practices is appropriate. 

10.3.5.6 The Department will develop
policy and maintain documentation related to the
performance of water quality practices. The Department will
also provide guidance for the design, appropriate use and
required maintenance of water quality practices. These shall
include structural and non-structural practices in addition to
source reduction management strategies. 

10.3.5.7 The Department and/or the plan
approval agency will review the specific water quality
practices proposed in a Sediment and Stormwater
Management Plan, and review, approve or deny approval of
the plan based on the criteria specified in Section E. of these
regulations.

10.3.6 All ponds that are constructed for
stormwater management shall be designed and constructed
in accordance with the U.S.D.A. Soil Conservation Service
Small Pond Code 378, dated September, 1990, as approved
for use in Delaware.

10.3.7 Any pond utilized for water supply
purposes, or for irrigation, must obtain approval from the
Department for that use pursuant to Chapter 60. 

10.3.8 Where ponds are the proposed method of
control, the developer shall submit to the approving agency,
when required, an analysis of the impacts of stormwater
flows downstream in the watershed for the 100 year
frequency storm event. 

The analysis shall include hydrologic and
hydraulic calculations necessary to determine the impact of
hydrograph timing modifications of the proposed
development, with and without the pond, on downstream
dams, highways, structures, or natural points of constricted
streamflows past which the timing effects would be
considered negligible. The results of the analysis will
determine the need to modify the pond design or to eliminate
the pond requirement. Lacking a clearly defined downstream
point of constriction, the downstream impacts shall be
established, with the concurrence of the approving agency,
downstream of a tributary of the following size: 

10.3.8.1 The first downstream tributary
whose drainage area equals or exceeds the contributing area
to the pond; or 

10.3.8.2 The first downstream tributary
whose peak discharge exceeds the largest designed release
rate of the pond. 

10.3.9 Where existing wetlands are intended as a
component of an overall stormwater management system,
the following criteria shall be adhered to: 

10.3.9.1 The only disturbance to the
wetland, for the purposes of these regulations, shall be that
disturbance caused by the stormwater management pond
embankment placement and construction; or 

10.3.9.2 The applicant can demonstrate that
the intended or functional aspects of the stormwater
management facility and wetlands are maintained or
enhanced, or the construction in the wetland for stormwater
management is the only reasonable alternative. 

10.3.9.3 All other necessary State and federal
permits can be obtained. 

10.3.10 Designs shall be in accordance with
standards developed or approved by the Department, which
are subject to public review and comment. 

10.3.11 Ease of maintenance must be considered
as a site design component. Access to the stormwater
management structure must be provided for in the design,
and land area adjacent to the structure must be set aside for
disposal of sediments removed from the structure when
maintenance is performed. The land set aside for pond
maintenance shall be sized as follows: 

10.3.11.1 The set aside area shall
accommodate at least 2% of the stormwater management
basin volume to the elevation of the 2 year storage volume
elevation; 

10.3.11.2 The maximum depth of the set
aside volume shall be one foot; 

10.3.11.3 The slope of the set aside area
shall not exceed 5%; and 

10.3.11.4 The area and slope of the set
aside area may be modified if an alternative area or method
of disposal is approved by the appropriate plan approval
agency. 

10.3.12 A clear statement of defined maintenance
responsibility shall be established during the plan review and
approval process. 

10.3.13 All ponds shall have a forebay or other
design feature to act as a sediment trap. A reverse slope
bench must be provided one foot above the normal pool
elevation for safety purposes and all embankment ponds,
having a normal pool, shall have a drain installed to facilitate
maintenance. 

10.3.14 The use of infiltration practices for the
disposal of stormwater runoff is classified by the USEPA as
an underground injection control practice, class V injection
well. The appropriate plan approval agency shall forward a
copy of all such approvals and the results of all construction
inspections to the Department’s Underground Injection
Control program manager. 

10.3.15 Infiltration practices have certain
limitations on their use on certain sites. These limitations
include the following items: 

10.3.15.1 Areas draining to these practices
must be stabilized and vegetative filters established prior to
runoff entering the system. Infiltration practices shall not be
used if a suspended solids filter system does not accompany
the practice. If vegetation is the intended filter, there shall be,
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at least, a 20 foot length of vegetative filter prior to
stormwater runoff entering the infiltration practice; 

10.3.15.2 The bottom of the infiltration
practice shall be at least three feet above the seasonal high
water table, whether perched or regional, determined by
direct piezometer measurements which can be demonstrated
to be representative of the maximum height of the water
table on an annual basis during years of normal precipitation,
or by the depth in the soil at which mottling first occurs; 

10.3.15.3 The infiltration practice shall be
designed to completely drain of water within 48 hours. 

10.3.15.4 Soils must have adequate
permeability to allow water to infiltrate. Infiltration practices
are limited to soils having an infiltration rate of at least 1.02
inches per hour. 

Initial consideration will be based on a
review of the appropriate soil survey, and the survey may
serve as a basis for rejection. On-site soil borings and
textural classifications must be accomplished to verify the
actual site and seasonal high water table conditions when
infiltration is to be utilized. 

10.3.15.5 Infiltration practices greater than
three feet deep shall be located at least 20 feet from
basement walls; 

10.3.15.6 Infiltration practices designed to
handle runoff from impervious parking areas shall be a
minimum of 150 feet from any public or private water
supply well; 

10.3.15.7 The design of an infiltration
practice shall provide an overflow system with measures to
provide a non-erosive velocity of flow along its length and at
the outfall; and 

10.3.15.8 The slope of the bottom of the
infiltration practice shall not exceed five percent. Also, the
practice shall not be installed in fill material as piping along
the fill/natural ground interface may cause slope failure. 

10.3.15.9 Unless allowed on a specific
project, infiltration practices will be used primarily for water
quality enhancement only. 

10.3.15.10 An infiltration practice shall not
be installed on or atop a slope whose natural angle of incline
exceeds 20%.

10.3.16 A regional approach to stormwater
management is an acceptable alternative to site specific
requirements. As a substitute control practice, regional
stormwater management structures shall be required to meet
the following items: 

10.3.16.1 They shall have a contributory
drainage area not in excess of 400 acres unless, on a case by
case basis, a larger drainage area is approved by the
appropriate plan approval agency; 

10.3.16.2 They shall have a permanent pool
of water and provide for 24 hour detention of the first inch of
stormwater runoff from the entire upstream watershed; and 

10.3.16.3 All other necessary approvals
have been obtained that could be cause for site rejection. 

10.3.17 The pre-development peak discharge rate
shall be computed assuming that all land uses in the site to be
developed are in good hydrologic condition. 

8 DE Reg. 1172 (2/01/05)

11.0 Standard Plan Criteria 
11.1 Approval under this section involves

submission of a standard plan by a land owner, developer, or
agent to the appropriate plan approval agency. The minimum
criteria for the standard plan will be developed by the
Department, and may be expanded upon by the appropriate
plan approval agency. The standard plan will contain
standard conditions for erosion and sediment control that
must be implemented on sites where a detailed plan is not
required. The appropriate plan approval agency shall
approve or deny standard plan requests within 14 calendar
days of receipt. 

11.2 The inclusion of an activity into the standard
plan classification does not relinquish that activity from the
requirements of Chapter 40. Rather, the standard plan
precludes that activity from the necessity of a detailed plan
review for each individual project. 

11.3 Approval of a standard plan does not relieve
the applicant from the conditions that are a part of the
standard plan approval regarding the implementation of
control practices as required by the standard plan. Failure to
implement control practices pursuant to conditions included
in the general permit standard plan may necessitate
appropriate enforcement action as provided in Chapter 40
and these regulations. 

11.4 Those activities eligible for standard plans
include the following, when the stormwater management
requirements have been waived in accordance with Section 3
of these Regulations: 

11.4.1 Individual detached residential home or
agricultural structure construction where the disturbed area
for construction will be less than one acre in size. Two or
more contiguous lots being developed concurrently by the
same land developer will not be eligible for the standard
plan.

11.4.2 Highway shoulder and side swale
maintenance.

11.4.3 The repair, maintenance, and installation
of above and underground utilities. 

11.4.4 Minor Commercial, Institutional, and
industrial projects where the total disturbed area will be less
than one acre.

11.4.5 Modification or reconstruction of a tax
ditch by a tax ditch organization when that tax ditches not
intended to serve new development, and which will not
increase water quantity or adversely impact water quality, or
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change points of discharge so as to adversely affect the
waters of the State. 

11.5 The appropriate plan approval agency may
place more restrictive conditions upon the standard plan
approval including the requirement for detailed plans for any
standard plan category. The imposition of more specific
requirements for categories of projects shall be approved by
the Department, and shall be subject to public review and
comment prior to their imposition. 

8 DE Reg. 1172 (2/01/05)

12.0 Certified Construction Reviewer Requirements 
12.1 Projects reviewed and approved by the

Department for sediment control and stormwater
management, in general, shall have a certified construction
reviewer when the disturbed area of the project is in excess
of 50 acres. In addition any project, regardless of its size,
may be required by the Department, or the appropriate plan
approval agency, to have a certified construction reviewer on
a case by case basis. 

12.2 The Department or the appropriate inspection
agency may require that any project, already under
construction, have on site a certified construction reviewer
if, on that project, significant sediment control or stormwater
management problems necessitate more frequent
inspections. 

12.3 The certified construction reviewer shall
function under the direction of a registered professional
engineer licensed to practice engineering in the State of
Delaware. 

12.4 Individuals designated as certified construction
reviewers shall attend and pass a Departmental sponsored or
approved construction review training course. The course
content will contain, at a minimum, information regarding
the following items: 

12.4.1 Basic hydrology and hydraulics; 
12.4.2 Soils information including texture,

limitations, erodibility, and classifications; 
12.4.3 Types of vegetation, growing times, and

suitability; 
12.4.4 Erosion, sediment control, and stormwater

management practices; 
12.4.5 Inspection and problem referral

procedures; 
12.4.6 Aspects of State law, regulations, local

ordinances, and approval procedures: and 
12.4.7 Sediment and stormwater management

plan content. 
12.5 The time frame for certification shall not

exceed five years unless extended by the Department. 
12.6 The responsibility of the certified construction

reviewer will be to ensure the adequacy of construction
pursuant to the approved sediment and stormwater
management plan. 

12.7 The certified construction reviewer shall be
responsible for the following items: 

12.7.1 Provision of a construction review of
active construction sites on at least a weekly basis; 

12.7.2 Within five calendar days, informing the
person engaged in the land disturbing activity, and the
contractor, by a written construction review report of any
violations of the approved plan or inadequacies of the plan.
The plan approval agency shall be informed, if the approved
plan is inadequate, within five working days. In addition, the
appropriate construction review agency shall receive copies
of all construction review reports; and 

12.7.3 Referral of the project through the
delegated inspection agency to the Department for
appropriate enforcement action if the person engaged in the
land disturbing activity fails to address the items contained
in the written construction review report. Verbal notice shall
be made to the Department within two working days and
written notice shall be provided to the Department within
five working days. 

12.8 If the Secretary or his designee determines that
a certified construction reviewer is not providing adequate
site control or is not referring problem situations to the
Department, the Secretary or his designee may suspend or
revoke the certification of the construction reviewer. 

12.9 In any situation where a certified construction
reviewer’s approval is being suspended or revoked, an
opportunity for hearing before the Secretary or his designee
shall be provided. During any suspension or revocation, the
certified construction reviewer shall not be allowed to
provide construction reviews pursuant to these regulations.
The minimum time of suspension or revocation shall be 6
months. 

13.0 Contractor Certification Program 
13.1 The Department shall require certification of

responsible personnel for any foreman or superintendent
who is in charge of on-site clearing and land disturbing
activities for sediment and stormwater control associated
with a construction project. Responsible personnel are not
required on any project involving silvaculture or fewer than
four residential homes. Responsible personnel shall obtain
certification by completing a Department sponsored or
approved training program. Enrollment of existing and
future responsible personnel is the responsibility of
employers. Response to a Department notice of training and
certification in accordance with the provisions of item 3 of
this section shall serve as an application for training. The
Department shall notify employers of responsible personnel
as to the date and location of training programs for
attendance by responsible personnel and other interested
persons. 

13.2 After July 1, 1991, any applicant seeking
sediment and stormwater plan approval shall certify to the
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appropriate plan approval agency that all responsible
personnel involved in the construction project will have a
certificate of attendance at a Departmental sponsored or
approved training course for the control of sediment and
stormwater before initiation of any land disturbing activity.
The certificate of attendance shall be valid until the
Department notifies the individual or announces in local
newspapers that recertification is required due to a change in
course content. 

13.3 After July 1, 1991, employers of responsible
personnel may receive interim certification for responsible
personnel during the period before attendance at a
Departmental sponsored or approved training course by
submitting an enrollment form to the Department. Interim
certification shall be valid until the scheduled date of
attendance for training of responsible personnel. These
enrollment forms are available from the Department and the
Conservation Districts. 

14.0 Construction Review and Enforcement 
Requirements 

14.1 The land developer shall request, at least 24
hours ahead of time, that the appropriate inspection agency
approve work completed at the stages of construction
outlined in the sequence of construction contained on the
approved plans. Any portion of the work which does not
comply will be promptly corrected by the developer after
written notice by the appropriate inspection agency. The
notice shall set forth the nature of corrections required and
the time frame within which corrections must be made. 

14.2 The land developer shall notify the appropriate
inspection agency before initiation of construction and upon
project completion when a final inspection will be conducted
to ensure compliance with the approved sediment and
stormwater management plan. 

14.3 The responsible inspection agency shall, for
inspection purposes, do all of the following items: 

14.3.1 Ensure that the approved sediment and
stormwater management plans are on the project site and are
complied with; 

14.3.2 Ensure that every active site is inspected
for compliance with the approved plan on a regular basis; 

14.3.3 Prepare and leave on site, or forward to the
contractor, a written report after every inspection that
describes: 

14.3.3.1 The date and location of the site
inspection; 

14.3.3.2 Whether the approved plan has been
properly implemented and maintained; 

14.3.3.3 Approved plan or practice
deficiencies; and 

14.3.3.4 The action taken. 

14.3.4 Notification of on-site personnel or the
owner/developer in writing when violations are observed,
describing the: 

14.3.4.1 Nature of the violation; 
14.3.4.2 Required corrective action; and 
14.3.4.3 Time period for violation correction. 

14.4 The Department may investigate complaints or
refer any complaint received to the local inspection agency if
the activity is located in a jurisdiction that has received
delegation of sediment and stormwater management
inspection. In conjunction with a referral, the Department
may also initiate an on-site investigation after notification of
the local inspection agency in order to properly evaluate the
complaint. The Department shall take enforcement action
when appropriate, and notify the local inspection agency in a
timely manner of any enforcement actions taken.

14.5 The Department, at its discretion and upon
notification to either the owner, developer, or contractor,
may visit any site to determine the adequacy of sediment and
stormwater management practices. In the event that the
Department conducts site inspections, the appropriate
inspection agency shall be notified prior to the initiation of
any enforcement action. The appropriate inspection agency
shall establish a time frame to obtain site compliance. This
notification shall, in no way limit the right to the Department
to take action subsequent to any provision of these
regulations or Chapter. Formal procedures for interaction
between the Department and the appropriate inspection
agency on site inspection and referral will be developed on
an individual basis. 

14.6 The appropriate plan approval agency may
require a revision to the approved plans as necessary due to
differing site conditions. The appropriate plan approval
agency shall establish guidelines to facilitate the processing
of revised plans where field conditions necessitate plan
modification. Where changes to the approved plan are
necessary those changes shall be in accordance to the
following: 

14.6.1 Major changes to approved sediment and
stormwater management plans, such as the addition or
deletion of a sediment basin, shall be submitted by the
owner/developer to the appropriate plan approval agency for
review and approval. 

14.6.2 Minor changes to sediment and
stormwater management plans may be made in the field if
approved by the construction reviewer and documented in
the field review report. The appropriate inspection agency
shall develop a list of allowable field modifications for use
by the construction reviewer. 

14.7 Stormwater management construction shall
have inspections accomplished at the following stages: 

14.7.1 Infiltration practices shall be inspected at
the commencement, during, and upon completion of
construction; 
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14.7.2 All ponds shall be inspected at the
following stages: 

14.7.2.1 Upon completion of excavation to
sub-foundation and where required, installation of structural
supports or reinforcement for structures, including, but not
limited to; 

14.7.2.1.1 Core trenches for structural
embankments, 

14.7.2.1.2 Inlet-outlet structures and
anti-seep structures, watertight connectors on pipes, and 

14.7.2.1.3 Trenches for enclosed storm
drainage facilities. 

14.7.2.2 During placement of structural
fill, concrete, and installation of piping and catch basins; 

14.7.2.3 During backfill of foundations
and trenches; 

14.7.2.4 During embankment
construction; and 

14.7.2.5 Upon completion of final grading and
establishment of permanent vegetation. 

14.8 The agency responsible for construction review
may, in addition to local enforcement options, refer a site
violation to the Department for additional enforcement
action. 

14.9 Referral of a site violation to the Department
may initiate a Departmental construction review of the site to
verify site conditions. That construction review may result in
the following actions: 

14.9.1 Notification through appropriate means to
the person engaged in a land disturbing activity and the
contractor to comply with the approved plan within a
specified time frame; and 

14.9.2 Notification of plan inadequacy, with a
time frame for the person engaged in a land disturbing
activity to submit a revised sediment and stormwater plan to
the appropriate plan approval agency and to receive its
approval with respect thereto. 

The Department shall notify the local
inspection agency in a timely manner of what enforcement
action is taken on the site. 

14.10 Failure of the person engaged in the land
disturbing activity or the contractor to comply with
Departmental requirements may result in the following
actions in addition to other penalties as provided in Chapter
40. 

14.10.1 The Department shall have the power to
issue a cease and desist order to any person violating any
provision of Chapter 40 and these regulations by ordering
such person to cease and desist from any site work activity
other than those actions necessary to achieve compliance
with any administrative order. 

14.10.2 The Department may request that the
appropriate plan approval agency refrain from issuing any
further building or grading permits to the person having

outstanding violations until those violations have been
remedied. 

15.0 Maintenance Requirements 
15.1 For erosion and sediment control, all practices

shall be maintained in accordance with requirements
specified in the Delaware Sediment and Erosion Control
Handbook dated 1989 or as directed by the construction
reviewer. 

15.2 Prior to the issuance of any building or grading
permit for which stormwater management is required, the
responsible plan approval agency shall require the applicant
or owner to execute an inspection and maintenance
agreement binding on all subsequent owners of land served
by the private stormwater management facility. Such
agreement shall provide for access to the facility at
reasonable times for regular inspection by an inspection
agency and for an assessment of property owners to ensure
that the stormwater management structure is maintained in
proper design working condition. 

15.3 The Department encourages, and will provide
technical assistance to, any Conservation District or local
jurisdiction who chooses to assume the maintenance
responsibility for stormwater management structures on, at
least, residential lands. Public maintenance provides a
reasonable assurance that maintenance will be accomplished
on a regular basis. 

15.4 The owner or person responsible shall perform
or cause to be performed preventive maintenance of all
completed stormwater management practices to ensure
proper functioning. The responsible inspection agency shall
ensure preventive maintenance through inspection of all
stormwater management practices. The inspections shall
occur at least once each year. 

15.5 Inspection reports shall be maintained by the
responsible inspection agency on all detention and retention
structures and those inspection reports shall include the
following items: 

15.5.1 The date of inspection; 
15.5.2 The name of the inspector; 
15.5.3 The condition of: 

15.5.3.1 Vegetation, 
15.5.3.2 Fences, 
15.5.3.3 Spillways, 
15.5.3.4 Embankments, 
15.5.3.5 Reservoir area, 
15.5.3.6 Outlet channels, 
15.5.3.7 Underground drainage, 
15.5.3.8 Sediment load, or 
15.5.3.9 Other items which could effect the

proper function of the structure. 
15.5.4 Description of needed maintenance. 

15.6 Responsible inspection agencies shall provide
procedures to ensure that deficiencies indicated by
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inspections are rectified. The procedures shall include the
following: 

15.6.1 Notification to the person responsible for
maintenance of deficiencies including a time frame for
repairs; 

15.6.2 Subsequent inspection to ensure
completion of repairs; and 

15.6.3 Effective enforcement procedures or
procedures to refer projects to the Department if repairs are
not undertaken or are not done properly. 

16.0 Penalties 
16.1 Any person who violates any rule, order,

condition imposed in an approved plan or other provision of
these regulations shall be fined not less than $200 or more
than $2,000 for each offense. Each day that the violation
continues shall constitute a separate offense. The Justice of
the Peace Courts shall have jurisdiction of offenses brought
under this subsection. 

16.2 Any person who intentionally, knowingly, and
after written notice to comply, violates or refuses to comply
with any notice issued pursuant to these regulations shall be
fined not less than $500 or more than $10,000 for each
offense. Each day the violation continues shall constitute a
separate offense. The Superior Court shall have jurisdiction
of offenses brought under this subsection. 

17.0 Hearings 
The conduct of all hearings conducted pursuant to these

regulations shall be in accordance with the relevant
provisions of 7 Del.C. Ch. 60.

18.0 Severability 
If any section, subsection, sentence, clause, phrase, or

portion of these regulations are for any reason held invalid or
unconstitutional by any court or competent jurisdiction, such
provision and such holding shall not affect the validity of the
remaining portions of these regulations.

7 DE Reg. 1147 (3/1/04)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation. The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 2104(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §2104(a)(1))

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Examiners in Optometry is
proposing an amendment to Rule 3.4 of its rules and
regulations pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2104(a)(1) and 29 Del.C.
§10115. The Board proposes to amend Rule 3.4 to strike the
limitation on the number of interns or externs permitted in a
practice at any period of time. 

A public hearing will be held on May 12, 2005 at 6:45
p.m. in the second floor conference room B of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed amendment to the
rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware
Board of Optometry, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at
the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
amendment to its regulations at its regularly scheduled
meeting following the public hearing.

The proposed amendment to Rule 3.4. is as follows:

3.0 Internship
3.1 An internship is a course of study in which

applicants receive part of their clinical training in a Board
approved private practice setting in Delaware, or other
Board approved setting, under the supervision of a licensed
optometrist or ophthalmologist. An active, licensed
Optometrist or Ophthalmologist may act as a supervisor.
Any applicant’s participation in such an internship program
must be approved by the Board and is subject to the
following terms and conditions:

3.1.1 A letter from the practitioner with whom
the applicant will be interning stating the goals, duties and
the number of hours he/she will be working.  If the applicant
is not doing his/her internship with a therapeutically certified
optometrist or ophthalmologist, he/she must also complete
an additional one hundred (100) hours of clinical internship
with a therapeutically certified Optometrist, Medical doctor
or Osteopathic physician.

3.1.2 Each applicant who will be participating in
the internship program must provide the name and address of
the supervisor and the dates of the internship for approval by
the Board before the internship may begin provided that, in
the event an applicant has made a good faith effort to submit
all necessary licensure materials for approval of the
internship, and in the event that the Board is unable to meet
to review said licensure materials due to the absence of a
sufficient number of statutorily appointed Board members,
as occurred in July-August, 2003, the Board may approve
said internship starting as of the date when the applicant has
submitted all licensure materials.

3.1.3   A letter must be received by the Board from
the supervisor verifying the completion of the internship.
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3.1.4 For purposes of this Section and 29 Del.C.
§2110, the term “duration” shall be defined as “a period of
no less than six (6) months and no greater than the period
ending on the date of the next Board meeting following the
end of the six (6) month period.” No intern may practice on a
temporary license beyond the duration of the internship.

3.2 Subject to the approval requirements stated above, a
candidate’s internship requirements may be satisfied while
the candidate is a member of the Armed Forces if he/she:

3.2.1 Functions as a fully credentialed
therapeutically certified optometric practitioner; and (for
purposes of this Section equivalent to the Air Force
regulations).
 3.2.2 Performs his optometric duties on a full-
time basis in a completely equipped eye clinic.

3.3 Full-time:  minimum of 35 hours per week.
3.4 All supervisors must supervise the interns on a one-

to-one basis whenever an applicant performs a task which
constitutes the practice of optometry. No supervisor may be
a supervisor for more than one intern, or student extern, at a
time. during the period of the internship or externship. Only
one intern shall be permitted in any practice for any period of
time.

3.5 All acts which constitute the practice of optometry
under 24 Del.C. §2101(a) may be performed by the intern
only under the following conditions:

3.5.1 The supervisor shall be on the premises
and immediately available for supervision at all times;

3.5.2 All intern evaluations of any patient shall
be reviewed by the supervisor prior to final determination of
the patient’s case before the patient leaves the premises; and

3.5.3 A supervisor shall at all times effectively
supervise and direct the intern.

3.6 A violation of any of the conditions enumerated in
this rule may be grounds for the Board to revoke their
approval of an internship program. The Board may also
revoke its approval of an internship program if it determines
that either the supervising optometrist or the intern has
engaged in any conduct described by 24 Del.C. §2113(a).
Furthermore, any violation of the terms of this rule by a
supervising optometrist who is a licensed optometrist shall
be considered unprofessional conduct and a violation of 24
Del.C. §2113(a)(7).

2 DE Reg 85 (5/1/99)
7 DE Reg. 912 (1/1/04)
8 DE Reg. 536 (10/01/04)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Examiners in
Optometry is available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/optometry/
index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2500 Board of Pharmacy

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 2509  (24 Del.C. §2509)

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Pharmacy in accordance with
24 Del.C. §2509 has proposed changes to its rules and
regulations. The proposal makes clerical and clarification
changes to Regulations 1.0, 3.0, 5.0, 9.0, and 10.0.
Regulation 1.2 is modified to recognize the role of
preceptors from Pharmacy Colleges when students are
participating in coordinated practical experience programs in
Delaware pharmacies. Regulation 1.6 regarding to re-entry is
deleted. Regulation 5.0 is changed to permit students of
Pharmacy College to dispense and provide counseling.  The
provisions for emergency use medication in Regulation 9.0
are changed to correspond to the provisions in 11.0. The
reference material in Regulation 10.0 is modified.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed changes
on  May  11, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. in the Jesse Cooper
Building, Room 309 (third floor conference room), Federal
and Water Streets, Dover, DE 19901.  The Board will receive
and consider input from any person on the proposed
changes.  Written comment can be submitted at any time
prior to the hearing in care of David Dryden, Executive
Secretary, at the above address.  In addition to publication in
the Register of Regulations, copies of the proposed
regulation can be obtained from David Dryden, Executive
Secretary, by calling (302)739-4798.  Notice of the hearing
and the nature of the proposal are also published in two
Delaware newspapers of general circulation.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

Proposed Rules and Regulations

1.0 Pharmacist Licensure Requirements
1.1 Examination Requirements

1.1.1 In order to be eligible for examination for
licensure, an applicant must provide proof of completion of
all requirements for graduation from an approved school or
college. An approved school or college of pharmacy is an
institution which has established standards in its
undergraduate degree program which are at least equivalent
to the minimum standards for accreditation established by
the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education.
Provided, however, that graduates of schools or colleges of
pharmacy located outside of the United States, which have
not established standards in their respective undergraduate
degree programs which are at least equivalent to the
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minimum standards for accreditation established by the
American Council on Pharmaceutical Education, shall be
deemed eligible for examination for licensure by providing
evidence satisfactory to the Board of Pharmacy of
graduation from such school or college and by successfully
passing an equivalency examination recognized by the
Board of Pharmacy. Certification by the National
Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) Foreign
Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC)
meets the equivalency examination requirement.

1.1.2 Candidates must obtain a passing grade as
determined by the National Association of Boards of
Pharmacy (NABP) on the North American Pharmacist
Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) and the Multistate
Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination for Delaware (MPJE)
to be eligible for a license to practice.  A candidate must take
an examination within 365 days of the determination of
eligibility by the Board. The Secretary will supply the grades
obtained to the candidate upon receipt of a written request
from that person.

1.1.3 The Board will re-confirm the eligibility
of an applicant who fails the NAPLEX.  The applicant shall
be entitled to take a re-examination at least ninety-one (91)
days following the date of the failure.  If an applicant has
failed the examination three times, he/she shall be eligible to
re-take the NAPLEX, provided that he/she produces
evidence of working full-time as an intern for a period of six
months or has attended an accredited college of pharmacy as
a registered student for a minimum of one semester
consisting of 12 credits during the interim.  A certification of
satisfactory completion of such work shall be furnished by
the Dean of the College or the preceptor as the case may be. 

1.1.4 The Board will re-confirm the eligibility
of an applicant who fails the MPJE. The applicant  shall be
entitled to  re-take the MJPE at least thirty-one (31) days
following the date of the failure. If an applicant has failed the
examination three times, he or she shall be eligible to re-take
the examination, provided that he or she produces evidence
of working full-time as an intern for a period of three
months or has completed a one semester college course on
jurisprudence. 

1.2 Practical Experience Requirements
1.2.1 An applicant for registration as an intern

must submit an application for registration of Internship after
entering the first professional year of college of pharmacy
which includes an “Affidavit of Class Standing” and
“Affidavit of Preceptor.”  This application must be obtained
from the Board of Pharmacy.  If the applicant is a graduate of
a foreign pharmacy school, he/she must produce evidence
that he/she has passed an equivalency examination by the
Board.

1.2.2 Persons who register as interns in the State
of Delaware shall, in accordance with the requirements of 24
Del.C. §2515, complete not less than 1500 hours of Board

approved practical experience under the supervision of a
licensed pharmacist.  The total 1500 hours of internship may
be acquired in the community or hospital settings.  A
minimum of 1000 hours shall be obtained in the community
or hospital settings.  The remaining 500 hours may be
obtained in other recognized fields of practice, e.g.:
Industrial Pharmacist, Drug Information Pharmacist,
Military Pharmacist, Mail Order Pharmacist, HMO
Pharmacist, Consultant Pharmacist (Nursing Home,
Infusion, Medicaid DUR, Etc.), Home Health Care
Pharmacist (may include Durable Medical Equipment, etc.),
Nuclear Pharmacist, Compliance Pharmacist, Government
Pharmacist, Clinical Pharmacist, Contracted Pharmacy
Services.

1.2.3 The hours accrued during the College of
Pharmacy Practical Experience Program may be applied to
the 1500 hours total.  These hours shall be recorded on the
College Practical Experience Affidavit supplied by the
Board.  Additional practical experience acquired in the State
of Delaware must be submitted to the Board on the Affidavit
of intern Experience form provided by the Board of
Pharmacy Office.  Practical experience acquired in another
State is acceptable if the State Board in which the applicant
acquired the hours submits a letter of certification, or if the
applicant’s preceptor completes the Delaware State Board of
Pharmacy’s Affidavit of intern Experience form.  Applicants
who have not completed all the practical experience
requirements, but who have graduated from an accredited
college or have been certified by the NABP Foreign
Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee are eligible to
take the examination. However, applicants will not be fully
licensed until all the requirements of the Statutes and
Regulations are completed.

1.2.4  1.2.3 Practical experience must be acquired
under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist known as a
Preceptor.  The Preceptor must be a pharmacist licensed in
this State or any other State and must have a minimum of
two years of pharmacy practice.  A pharmacist employed by
a College of Pharmacy shall serve as the preceptor for a
student participating in the coordinated practical experiance
program. The Preceptor must certify that the intern has
successfully completed all the requirements outlined in the
Responsibilities of the Intern professional assessment form.

1.2.4 Practical experience acquired in another
State is acceptable if the State Board in which the applicant
acquired the hours submits a letter of certification, or if the
applicant’s preceptor completes the Delaware State Board of
Pharmacy’s Affidavit of Intern Experience form. Applicants
who have not completed all the practical experience
requirements, but who have graduated from an accredited
college or have been certified by the NABP Foreign
Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee are eligible to
take the examination. However, applicants will not be fully
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licensed until all the requirements of the Statutes and
Regulations are completed. 

1.2.5 An intern must notify the Board of
Pharmacy in writing within ten (10) days of a change of
preceptor.  A change of preceptor affidavit must be
completed and filed with the Board. The hours accrued
during the College of Pharmacy Practical Experience
Program may be applied to the 1500 hours total. These hours
shall be recorded on the College Practical Experience
Affidavit supplied by the Board.  Registration as an intern in
this State is not required for school experience.

1.2.5  1.2.6 An intern must notify the Board of
Pharmacy in writing within ten (10) days of a change or
preceptor.  A change of preceptor affidavit must be
completed and filed with the Board.

1.3 Continuing Education Requirements
1.3.1 A pharmacist must acquire 3.0 C.E.U.'s

(30 hours) per biennial licensure period.  No carry over of
credit from one registration period to another period is
permitted.

1.3.2 Hardship - Hardship exemptions may be
granted by the Board of Pharmacy upon receipt of evidence
that the individual was unable to complete the requirements
due to circumstances beyond his control.

1.3.3 Criteria for Hardship Exemption as
Recommended by the Board of Pharmacy:

1.3.3.1 Applicant must notify the Board in
writing concerning the nature of the hardship and the time
needed for an extension. In case of medical disability, a letter
from the physician with supporting documentation to
corroborate the condition and the length of time of extension
needed.

1.3.3.2 The Board of Pharmacy will review
requests. 

1.3.3.3 The Board will notify the registrant of
its decision.

1.3.4 Persons who are newly licensed after the
registration period begins, must complete continuing
education units proportional to the total number of
continuing education units required for the biennial licensure
renewal.  (1.25 hours/per month).

1.4 Continuing Professional Educational Programs
1.4.1 Topics of Study

Topics of study shall be subject matter
designed to maintain and enhance the contemporary practice
of pharmacy.

1.4.2 Approved Provider 
1.4.2.1 Any provider approved by ACPE.
1.4.2.2 In-state organization which meets

criteria approved by the Board.
1.4.3 Application for Delaware State Provider

1.4.3.1 Any in-state organization may apply
to the Board on forms provided by the Board for initial
qualification as an approved provider. The Board shall

accept or reject any such application by written notice to
such organization within 60 days after receipt of its
application. If an organization is approved, the Board will
issue a certificate or other notification of qualification to it,
which approval shall be effective for a period of two years
and shall be renewable upon the fulfillment of all
requirements for renewal as set forth by the Board.

1.4.3.2 The Board may revoke or suspend an
approval of a provider or refuse to renew such approval if the
provider fails to maintain the standards and specifications
required. The Board shall serve written notice on the
provider by mail or personal delivery at its address as shown
on its most current application specifying the reason for
suspension, revocation, or failure to renew.  The provider so
affected shall, upon written request to the Board within ten
days after service of the notice, be granted a prompt hearing
before the Board at which time it will be permitted to
introduce matters in person, or by its counsel, to defend itself
against such revocation, suspension, or failure to renew, in
accordance with the provisions set forth in the State's
Administrative Procedures Act.

1.4.4 Criteria for Approval of Delaware State
Providers.  Only applicants who are located within the State
of Delaware are eligible.  Such Continuing Education
providers shall provide evidence of ability to meet the
following criteria or approval as a Continuing
Pharmaceutical Education Provider. Other persons must
apply through ACPE for approval or be acceptable to other
Boards of Pharmacy that certify continuing education for
relicensure. 

1.4.4.1 Administration and Organization
1.4.4.1.1 The person who is in charge

of making sure that the program meets the quality standards
must have a background in the administration of education
programs.

1.4.4.1.2 There shall be an identifiable
person or persons charged with the responsibility of
administering the continuing pharmaceutical education
program.

1.4.4.1.3 Such personnel shall be
qualified for such responsibilities by virtue of experience
and background.

1.4.4.1.4 If an approved provider
presents programs in co-sponsorship with other
non-approved provider(s),  the approved provider has the
total responsibility for assurance of quality of that program.
If more than one approved provider co-sponsors a program,
they have the joint responsibility for assuring quality.

1.4.4.1.5 Administrative
Requirements include:

1.4.4.1.5.1 The development of
promotional materials which state:

1.4.4.1.5.1.1 Educational
objectives.
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1.4.4.1.5.1.2 The target
audience.

1.4.4.1.5.1.3 The time
schedule of the activities.

1.4.4.1.5.1.4 Cost to the
participant/covered items.

1.4.4.1.5.1.5 Amount of
C.E. credit which will be awarded.

1.4.4.1.5.1.6 Credentials of
the faculty, presenters, and speakers.

1.4.4.1.5.1.7 Self-evaluation
instruments.

1.4.4.1.5.2 Compliance with a
quantitative measure for C.E. credit.

1.4.4.1.5.2.1 The number of
C.E.U.'s to be awarded for successful completion shall be
determined by the provider and reported in the promotional
materials.

1.4.4.1.5.2.2 In cases where
the participants' physical presence is required, C.E. credit
will only be awarded for that portion of the program which
concerns itself with the lecture(s), evaluation and question
and answer segments.

1.4.4.1.5.2.3 The measure of
credit shall be a fifty-minute contact hour. In the case of
other programs such as home study courses, the amount of
credit awarded shall be determined by assessing the amount
of time the activity would require for completion by the
participant if delivered in a more formal and structured
format.

1.4.4.1.5.2.4 The provider
must provide the Board upon request with appropriate
records of successful participation in previous continuing
education activities.

1.4.4.1.5.2.5 The provider
must present to the participant a form or certificate as
documentation of the completion of the program.  The form
must be at least 4" x 6" and no larger than 8 1/2" x 11".  That
certificate must show the name, address, and license number
of the participant, the name of the provider, the title and date
of the program, the number of credits earned, and an
authorized signature from the provider.

1.4.4.2 Program Faculty.  The selection of
program faculty must be based upon proved competency in
the subject matter and an ability to communicate in order to
achieve a learning experience.

1.4.4.3 Program Content Development
1.4.4.3.1 Such programs shall involve

effective advance planning. A statement of educational goals
and/or behaviors must be included in promotional materials.
Such objectives and goals must be measurable and
accessible to evaluation. In determining program content,
providers shall involve appropriate members of the intended
audience in order to satisfy the educational needs of the

participants. All programs of approved providers should
pertain to the general areas of professional pharmacy
practices which should include, but not be limited to:

1.4.4.3.1.1 The social, economic,
behavioral, and legal aspects of health care,

1.4.4.3.1.2 the properties and
actions of drugs and drug dosage forms,

1.4.4.3.1.3 the etiology,
characteristics, therapeutics and prevention of the disease
state,

1.4.4.3.1.4 pharmaceutical
monitoring and management of patients.

1.4.4.3.2 All ancillary teaching tools
shall be suitable and appropriate to the topic.

1.4.4.3.3 All materials shall be
updated periodically to include up-to-date-practice setting.

1.4.4.3.4 It is the responsibility of the
provider to be sure that the programs are continuously
upgraded to meet educational objectives of the Practice of
Pharmacy. The needs of the pharmacist participant must be
considered in choosing the method of delivery. Innovation in
presentations is encouraged within the limits of budget
resources and facilities. Whatever method of delivery is
used, it must include the participation of the pharmacist as
much as possible within the program, i.e. questions and
answers, workshops, etc.

1.4.4.4 Facilities. The facilities shall be
adequate for the size of the audience, properly equipped (all
appropriate audio/-visual media materials), well lighted and
ventilated to induce a proper learning experience.

1.4.4.5 Evaluation. Effective evaluation of
programs is essential and is the responsibility of both the
provider and participant.

1.4.4.5.1 Participant - Some
evaluation mechanisms must be developed by the provider to
allow the participant to assess his/her own achievement per
the program.

1.4.4.5.2 Provider evaluation - a
provider shall also develop an instrument for the use of the
participant in evaluating the effectiveness of the program
including the level of fulfillment of stated objectives.

1.4.5 Criteria for Awarding Continuing
Education Credits.  Individual programs must meet the
criteria for provider approval in order to be considered.  In
those cases where the provider is not an ACPE provider, nor
a Board of Pharmacy approved provider, a registrant may
complete an application provided by the Board for approval
of individual programs.

1.4.5.1 In order to receive full credit for
non-ACPE approved programs of one-to-two hour lengths,
evidence of a post test must be presented.  An automatic
25% deduction if no post test presented.

1.4.5.2 In order to receive full credit for non
ACPE approved programs of three or more hours in length,
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evidence of a pre and post test must be presented. Automatic
25% deduction if no pre and post test presented.

1.4.5.3 Credit will be assigned only for the
core content of the program which explicitly relates to the
contemporary practice of Pharmacy.

1.4.5.4 A maximum of 2 credit hours will be
awarded for First Aid, attendance at a Board of Pharmacy
meeting and CPR/BCLS courses one time only per
registration period.

1.4.5.5 Credit for Instructors of Continuing
Education

1.4.5.5.1 Any pharmacist whose
primary responsibility is not the education of health
professionals, who leads, instructs or lectures to groups of
nurses, physicians, pharmacists or others on pharmacy
related topics in organized continuing education or inservice
programs, shall be granted continuing education credit for
such time expended during actual presentation, upon
adequate documentation to the Delaware Board of
Pharmacy.

1.4.5.5.2 Any pharmacist whose
primary responsibility is the education of health
professionals shall be granted continuing education credit
only for time expended in leading, instructing, or lecturing to
groups of physicians, pharmacists, nurses or others on
pharmacy related topics outside his/her formal course
responsibilities (that is, lectures or instructions must be
prepared specifically for each program) in a learning
institution.

1.4.5.5.3 Credit for presentations of
in-service training programs or other lectures shall be
granted only for topics meeting the criteria for continuing
pharmacy education, and shall be granted only once for any
given program or lecture. (Any topic completely revised
would be eligible for consideration.)

1.4.5.5.4 A maximum of 6 hours (0.6
C.E.U.'s) in this category may be applied toward fulfilling
the total biennial continuing education requirements.

1.4.5.6 Credit for On the Job Training:
1.4.5.6.1 The Board of Pharmacy does

not as a general rule encourage the submission of "on the job
training" for fulfilling the continuing education
requirements.  All programs meeting this definition shall be
reviewed on an individual basis.

1.4.5.6.2 All programs that are
submitted for credit must meet the criteria for continuing
pharmacy education.

1.4.5.6.3 No credit shall be awarded
for programs required by an employer for continued
employment of the employee.  (Examples OSHA training,
Infection Control Education required by JCAHO.)

1.4.5.6.4 A maximum of 4 hours (0.4
C.E.U.'s) in this category may be applied toward fulfilling
the total biennial continuing education requirements.

1.5 The Verification of Continuing Education - A
pharmacist shall complete the required continuing education
and submit the signed renewal form with appropriate fees to
the Board of Pharmacy. A pharmacist shall retain the
supporting documentation, such as certification of
completion for a minimum of six years.  The Board will
randomly audit the documentation of at least 10% of
licensed pharmacists every biennial term. Supporting
documentation may be requested for up to six years.
Pharmacists who were not selected for audit do not send
supporting documentation to the Board.  Submitting a false
documentation may constitute grounds for discipline under
24 Del.C. §2518 (a)(1).

1.6 Re-Entry - A pharmacist may have his/her license
reinstated by completing the following requirements:

1.6.1 Payment of any back fees;
1.6.2 Successfully obtaining a grade of 75 on an

examination on the Practice of Pharmacy if the pharmacist
has not practiced in three years;

1.6.3 Submission of evidence of completion of
at least 20 hours of approved C.E. from the date of
application for reinstatement if the pharmacist has practiced
within the last three years.

1.76Reciprocal Requirements
1.76.1 An applicant  for licensure by reciprocity

shall be of good moral character and shall: 
1.76.1.1 submit proof that he or she was

qualified for licensure in Delaware at the time of initial
licensure by examination;

1.76.1.2 submit proof of licensure in good
standing from each state where he or she is or  has been
licensed; and

1.76.1.3 obtain a passing score on the MPJE on
the laws applicable in this State as provided in Regulation
1.1.

1.76.2 Reciprocity applicants who took
examinations after June 1, 1979, must have passed the
NAPLEX or an examination deemed equivalent by the
Board and obtained scores required for applicants for
licensure by examination.

1.76.3 Applicants who are licensed by reciprocity
must begin accruing continuing education units at a rate of
1.25 hours/per month beginning with the month of licensure.

Regulation 1.2 revised 10/11/96
Regulation 1.3.2 revised 2/6/97
Regulation 1.3.2 deleted, 1.3.3.1 amended, 1.4 amended
Effective date 10/11/98
 1 DE Reg. 1965 (6/1/98)
 2 DE Reg. 683 (10/1/98)
 4 DE Reg. 163 (7/1/00)
 4 DE Reg. 1501 (3/1/01)
 6 DE Reg. 488 (10/1/02)
 7 DE Reg. 309 (9/1/03)
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3.0 Pharmacy Requirements
3.1 Pharmacist in Charge 

3.1.1 Application for permit to operate a
pharmacy in the State of Delaware must be on a form
approved by the Board.  The form shall include the statement
to be signed by the pharmacist in charge, "I understand that I
am responsible for conducting and managing the
prescription department in compliance with applicable State
and Federal laws."

3.1.2 The Board interprets the responsibilities of
the Pharmacist-in-Charge to include, but not be limited to the
following:

3.1.2.1 Maintain necessary pharmaceutical
equipment and reference texts in accordance with the State
Board of Pharmacy requirements.

3.1.2.2 Maintain records required by the
Uniform Controlled Substances Act and other relevant State
and Federal regulations.

3.1.2.3 Maintain proper security of particular
pharmacy operation during and after normal business hours.

3.1.2.4 Establish procedures within operation
that maintain standard of practice as it relates to the
dispensing of pharmaceuticals. These procedures shall
include proper supervision of supportive personnel and
delegation of authority to another pharmacist when not on
duty.

3.1.2.5 The pharmacist on duty is directly
responsible for his own actions.

3.1.2.6 Notify the Board of Pharmacy in
writing within 10 days of termination as
pharmacist-in-charge.

3.2 Owner's Affidavit.  The owner or owners and, in the
case of a corporation, an authorized official of the
corporation must present an affidavit properly notarized
containing the statement, "I hereby swear or affirm that the
foregoing statements are correct and do hereby agree to
abide by the pharmacy laws of the State of Delaware and to
all rules and regulations of the Delaware State Board of
Pharmacy."  The Board must be notified within 10 days of
change of ownership.

3.3 Equipment and Reference Materials. Each
pharmacy shall have the following equipment and maintain a
library of the latest edition and supplements of current
reference sources (either hard copy or electronically
accessible) appropriate to the individual pharmacy practice
and to the care of the patients served.  The reference sources
must:

3.3.1 References:
3.3.1.1 Provide information on the

therapeutic use, dosing, pharmacology, adverse effects, and
interactions of drugs dispensed to patient. 

3.3.1.2 Provide information helpful in the
counseling of patients on the use of drugs dispensed.

3.3.1.3 Enable the pharmacist to properly
compound medicines within accepted standards of pharmacy
practice. 

3.3.1.4 Include a listing of therapeutic
equivalents for drugs dispensed.

3.3.1.5 Include current Delaware and federal
laws and regulations governing pharmacy and controlled
substances.

3.3.1.6 Provide any other information
necessary to the safe and effective practice of pharmacy for
the specific practice setting.

3.3.2 Equipment
3.3.2.1 Prescription Scale, Class A

Set of Metric Weights if balance is used
3.3.2.2 Graduates, (must be glass) Metric 

One of Each:
 30 ml
 60 ml

125 ml
500 ml
(or Set with both metric and Apothecary

Graduations may be used)
3.3.2.3 Mortars and Pestles

1 One 8 ounce glass
1 One 8 ounce wedgewood

3.3.2.4 Filter Paper
3.3.2.45  Prescription/physician Order Files
3.3.2.56  Two Spatulas
3.3.2.67  One Glass Funnel
3.3.2.78 One Glass Stirring Rod
3.3.2.89  Ointment Slab or Papers
3.3.2.910  Purified Distilled Water

Each Pharmacy shall have such additional
equipment as is necessary to perform a specific procedure.

All equipment must be clean and must be
maintained in such a manner that allows the pharmacist to
accurately weigh, measure and compound ingredients.

3.4 Physical Facilities. Have sufficient size, space,
sanitation, and environmental control for adequate
distribution, dispensing and storage of drugs and devices.
Such facilities shall include:

3.4.1 A dispensing area of adequate size and
space for proper compounding, dispensing and storage of
drugs and devices, to ensure the safety and well being of the
public and pharmacy personnel.

3.4.2 Sufficient environmental control, i.e.
lighting, ventilation, heating and cooling to maintain the
integrity of drugs and devices.  The area in which drugs and
devices are stored shall be accurately monitored using
control devices to maintain room temperature between 59×
and 86× 59 degrees and 86 degrees Fahrenheit.

3.4.3 The pharmacy department or prescription
area must contain a sink with hot and cold running water.  It
must be large enough to accommodate the equipment
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required by the Board so that the utensils can be properly
washed and sanitized.

3.4.4 Suitable refrigeration with appropriate
monitoring device. Refrigerators and freezers (where
required) will be maintained at within the USP/NF range:  

Refrigerator - 36× to 46×  36 degrees to 46
degrees Fahrenheit

Freezer - plus 4× to minus 14× Minus 13
degrees to plus 14 degrees Fahrenheit.

A sign with letters not less than 3/4" in height
in the vicinity of the prescription department visible to the
public which shows the name of the pharmacists employed
at that pharmacy or the name of the pharmacist on duty.

3.5 Building Standards.  An application to operate a
new pharmacy must include (3) copies of floor plans drawn
to scale of the proposed prescription department.  The floor
plans must include the following:

3.5.1 The requirements listed in §2534(Ff)(1)
through (4).  

3.5.2 A partitioned An area which assures
patient privacy will be provided to facilitate counseling.
This area must afford the patient privacy from auditory
detection by any unauthorized person or persons. The
minimum requirement would be a 9 square foot partitioned
area. An area partitioned by a 5 foot divider on 2 sides with a
minimum of 9 square feet would satisfy this requirement in
most settings.

3.5.3 The floor plans shall include the location
of the sink, all doors, storage room, approved Schedule II
controlled substance safe or cabinet, and the method of
securing the prescription department from floor to ceiling,
when the prescription department is closed and the
remainder of the store is open.

3.5.4 The floor plans must include the type of
alarm system to be installed, and the name, address and
phone number of alarm provider.  The alarm system, as
required by Regulation 5 of the Delaware Controlled
Substance Act, must be reviewed and approved for
compliance by the Office of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.

3.5.5 The above requirements shall also apply
for any remodeling or change of location of the prescription
department. The pharmacist-in-charge or applicant for
permit must submit the floor plans requirements to the
Delaware Board of Pharmacy and the Office of Narcotics
and Dangerous Drugs prior to any construction and at least
15 days prior to the next scheduled Board of Pharmacy
meeting for its review.

3.6 Security. When the pharmacist is off duty not
physically present and the operation is open for business, the
pharmacy department shall be physically or  electronically
secured from floor to ceiling. The partitioned off section
required by 24 Del.C. §2534 must be five feet high measured
from the floor. A conspicuous sign with letters not less than
three inches in height, reading "PRESCRIPTION

LABORATORY TEMPORARILY CLOSED, NO
PROFESSIONAL SERVICES RENDERED," or words of
similar import, must be posted in the front section of the
operation or in front of the prescription area, room or
partitioned off section where it can be seen by the public.

3.7 Board Interview.  Applicants for permit to operate a
pharmacy in the State of Delaware must appear before the
Board for an interview.  The owner or authorized official
must be present in addition to the pharmacist-in-charge.
Whenever there is a change of pharmacist-in-charge, if that
person has never held that position in the State of Delaware,
he/she must appear before the Board for an interview within
ninety days after assuming the position.

Regulation 3.5.2 revised 6/16/97
Regulation 3.5.6 revised Effective date 10/11/98
2 DE Reg. 683 (10/1/98)
6 DE Reg. 488 (10/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 309 (9/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1666 (6/1/04)

5.0 Dispensing
5.1 Definitions

“Agent”  An employee of the pharmacy supervised
by the pharmacist or a person acting on behalf of the ultimate
user.

“Automated Data Processing System (ADP)”  A
system utilizing computer software and hardware for the
purposes of recordkeeping.

“Cell”  Any container which holds the medication
for automatic dispensing.

“Common Data Base”  A file or data base created
by ADP that enables authorized users to have common
access to this file regardless of physical location.

“Compounding” The art of the extemporaneous
preparation and manipulation of drugs as a result of a
practitioner's prescription order or initiative based on the
practitioner/patient/pharmacist relationship in the course of
professional practice, including the reconstitution of
powders for administration and the preparation of drugs in
anticipation of drug orders based on routine, regularly
observed prescribing patterns. Pharmaceutical compounding
must be in compliance with FFDCA Section 503A and any
regulations promulgated by FDA concerning compounding,
pertaining to this section.

“Computer” Programmable electronic device,
capable of multifunctions including but not limited to
storage, retrieval and processing of information.

“Controlled Substance” Those drug items
regulated by Federal (CSA of 1970) and/or State Controlled
(dangerous) Substances Act.

“CRT”  Cathode Ray Tube used to impose visual
information on a screen.

“Delivery” The transfer of a dispensed prescription
to the ultimate user (patient) or his/her agent.
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“Dispensing” To furnish or deliver a drug to an
ultimate user by or pursuant to the lawful order of a
practitioner; including the preparation, packaging, labeling
or compounding necessary to prepare the drug for that
delivery.

“Downtime” That period of time when a computer
is not operable.

“Facsimile (FAX) Prescription” A facsimile
prescription is an order which is transmitted by an electronic
device over telephone lines which sends an exact copy image
to the receiver (pharmacy).

“Final Container” is that which holds the article,
designed to hold a quantity of drug product intended for
administration as a single dose, multiple dose, or a single
finished device intended for use promptly after the container
is opened.

“New Medication” A medication not previously
dispensed by the pharmacy for the ultimate user.

“Patient Counseling” The offer to discuss the
patient's prescription made by the pharmacist or the
pharmacist's designee in a face-to-face communication with
the patient or his/her agent, unless in the professional
judgment of the pharmacist it is deemed impracticable and in
such instances, it would be permissible for the offer to
counsel to be made through alternative means.

“Pertinent Patient Medication Information”
Information which increases the patient's ability to minimize
the risks and enhance the benefits of drug use. The type of
information the pharmacist should consider is contained in
the latest edition of USP DI "Advice for the Patient."

“Prescriber” A practitioner authorized to prescribe
and acting within the scope of this authorization.

“Prescription” An order for medication which is
dispensed to or for an ultimate user, but does not include an
order for medication which is dispensed for immediate
administration to the ultimate user, (e.g., an order to dispense
a drug to a bed patient for immediate administration in a
hospital is not a prescription.) A written order from a
practitioner authorized to prescribe and acting within the
scope of this authorization, (other terminology: prescription
order) or a telephone order reduced to writing by the
pharmacist.

“Printout” A hard copy produced by computer that
is readable without the aid of any special device.

“Reduced to Writing” For new prescriptions this
means the preparation of a paper document containing all the
information required for a written prescription including the
State requirement (Section 2553)for drug product selection;

For a refill authorization, it may be handled as
a new prescription as in above, or by placing on the original
prescription or the patient profile (whichever document is
consistently used to document refills) the date, a statement
"O.K. for 'x' number of additional refills", or words of
similar import, and the pharmacist's initials.  In no instance,

shall the refill authorizations exceed the legal limits
established by State and Federal laws.

If the prescriber authorizing additional refills
differs from the Prescriber whose name appears on the
signature line of the original prescription, then that
authorization is considered a new prescription and must be
handled as described above.

“Regulatory Agency” Any Federal or State agency
charged with enforcement of pharmacy or drug laws and
regulations.

“Stop Date” A date established by an appropriate
authority which indicates when medication will no longer be
administered or dispensed in the absence of a specific time
period directed by the prescriber.

“Supportive personnel” A person who is not
registered as an intern or pharmacist with the Board who
may perform tasks as authorized by this Regulation.

5.2 The practice of dispensing shall include, but not be
limited to the following acts which shall be performed only
by a pharmacist, or a pharmacy intern or student
participating in an approved College of Pharmacy
coordinated, practical experience program.

5.2.1 Receive oral prescriptions and reduce
them immediately to writing.

5.2.2 Certification of the prescription order -
(This involves authenticating the prescription, confirming
proper dosage and instructions, and reviewing for
incompatibility, etc.)

5.2.3 Record refill dates and initials of the
dispensing pharmacist on the prescription (or on another
appropriate uniformly maintained readily retrievable record
such as the medication records)   The pharmacist, intern or
student who dispenses the original prescription shall hand-
sign or initial the prescription. Initials mechanically or
electronically generated are acceptable in lieu of the above
provided that the individual verifies either on a daily printout
or in a bound log book daily that the information on the
prescription is correct. The verification must be hand-signed
and dated by the individual.

5.3 Patient Counseling
 5.3.1 Before dispensing or delivering a new

medication to a patient or his or her agent, a pharmacist, or
pharmacy intern or student participating in an approved
College of Pharmacy coordinated practical experience
program  and working under the direct supervision of the
pharmacist, shall conduct a prospective drug review. A
pharmacist or pharmacy intern may conduct a  A prospective
drug review may be conducted before refilling a prescription
to the extent deemed appropriate. by the pharmacist or
pharmacy intern in his/her professional judgment. Such   A
prospective drug  review shall include screening for potential
drug therapy problems due to therapeutic duplication, drug-
drug interactions, including serious interactions with over-
the-counter drugs, drug-disease contraindications, if disease
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is known, incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug
treatment, drug-allergy interactions, and clinical abuse or
misuse based on available information received by the
pharmacist.

5.3.2 Except when a prescriber requests that
information regarding a prescribed drug not be given to a
specific patient, a A pharmacist, or a pharmacy intern  or
student participating in an approved College of Pharmacy
coordinated practical experience program  and working
under the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall, with each
new medication dispensed, provide verbal  counseling to the
patient or the patient’s agent on pertinent medication
information. The counseling may include, but not be limited
to the following:

5.3.2.1 the name and description of the
prescribed drug;

5.3.2.2 the dosage and the dosage form;
5.3.2.3 the method and route of

administration;
5.3.2.4 the duration of the prescribed drug

therapy;
5.3.2.5 any special directions and precautions

for preparation, administration, and use by the patient that
the pharmacist determines are necessary;

5.3.2.6 common severe side effects or
adverse effects or interactions and therapeutic
contraindications that may be encountered, how to avoid
them, and what actions should be taken if they occur;

5.3.2.7 patient techniques for self-monitoring
of the drug therapy;

5.3.2.8 proper storage;
5.3.2.9 prescription refill information;
5.3.2.10 the action to be taken in the event of a

missed dose; and
5.3.2.11 current over-the-counter medication

use.
5.3.3 This section does not apply to a

pharmacist dispensing drugs for inpatient use in a hospital or
other institution where the drug is to be administered by a
nurse or other appropriate health care provider.

5.3.4 Nothing in this section requires a
pharmacist or pharmacy intern or student participating in an
approved College of Pharmacy coordinated practical
experience program and working under the direct
supervision of a pharmacist, to provide patient counseling
when a patient or the patient's agent refuses the counseling.
There must be a record in a uniform place that documents a
patient's acceptance or refusal of counseling. The record
must indicate who made the offer to counsel.

5.3.5 If the dispensed prescription is delivered
by an agent of the pharmacy when the pharmacist is not
present (i.e. home delivery, pharmacist off duty and
non-resident pharmacies) written or printed information
shall be included with the prescription.  The patient or his/

her agent shall be informed that the pharmacist will be
available for consultation.

5.3.6 The pharmacist shall in his/her
professional judgment refill prescriptions in keeping with the
number of doses ordered and the directions for use.  

5.3.7 The pharmacist who dispenses the original
prescription shall hand-sign or initial the prescription.
Initials mechanically or electronically generated are
acceptable in lieu of the above provided that the pharmacist
verifies either on a daily printout or in a bound log book
daily that the information on the prescription is correct.  The
verification must be hand-signed and dated by the
pharmacist.

5.4 Supportive personnel
5.4.1 Qualifications and training

5.4.1.1 The pharmacist-in-charge is
responsible for ensuring proper training of all supportive
personnel. The actual training may be delegated to a
pharmacist or other trained supportive personnel.

5.4.1.2 The areas of training required are to
be determined by the pharmacist-in-charge and will be
appropriate to  the practice site and responsibilities assigned
to the supportive personnel.  Areas of training shall include:

5.4.1.2.1 general drug and dosage
form knowledge

5.4.1.2.2  medical terminology 
5.4.1.2.3  pharmaceutical calculations
5.4.1.2.4 prescription labeling

requirements
5.4.1.2.5 general filling/dispensing

responsibilities
5.4.1.2.6 patient profile record system

requirements
5.4.1.2.7 requirements for patient

counseling
5.4.1.2.8  confidentiality
5.4.1.2.9  safety practices

        5.4.1.2.10 inventory functions
5.4.1.2.11 knowledge of applicable

State and Federal Statutes and Regulations
5.4.1.2.12 other site-specific

parameters
5.4.1.3 The general content of the training

program must be maintained in the policy and procedure
manual.

5.4.1.4 Documentation of successful training
in specific areas by oral or written evaluation will be
maintained and will be available for inspection by the Board
of Pharmacy. 

5.4.2 Supervision. Supportive personnel must be
supervised by a registered pharmacist who will be
responsible for  the activities of these persons.

5.4.3 Activities allowed
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5.4.3.1 Supportive personnel will be allowed
to perform only those duties permitted by this regulation.

5.4.3.2 Supportive personnel may aid in the
dispensing of prescriptions as authorized in Section 2513
under the supervision of a pharmacist by performing the
following tasks:

5.4.3.2.1Obtaining the medication from
stock.

5.4.3.2.2Typing the label after the
pharmacist has interpreted the directions.

5.4.3.2.3Counting, pouring and selecting
prefabricated medications and selecting individual
prepackaged unit dose medication provided that these are not
in conflict with the state and federal law (Federal
Comprehensive Controlled Substances Act) and that a final
check by the pharmacist is made after the medication is
placed in the final container prior to dispensing and
administration to the patient.  There will be a final check by
a licensed pharmacist prior to dispensing and administration,
except where the Board of Pharmacy grants, in writing, an
exemption for good cause shown.

5.4.3.3 Compounding is the responsibility of
the pharmacist or pharmacy intern under the direct
supervision of the pharmacist. All compounding must be in
compliance with FFDCA Section 503A and any regulations
promulgated by FDA concerning compounding pertaining to
this section.  The pharmacist may utilize the assistance of
supportive personnel if the following is performed:

5.4.3.3.1 The formulation is
developed by the pharmacist before proceeding with the
compounding.

5.4.3.3.2 The compounding
ingredients are checked by the pharmacist before proceeding
with the compounding.

5.4.3.3.3 Every weight and
measurement is checked by the pharmacist before
proceeding with the compounding.

5.4.3.3.4 The finished product is
checked by the pharmacist before dispensing.

5.4.3.3.5 A log is maintained showing
the identity of the person actually compounding the
medication and the identity of the pharmacist who has
performed each of the checks indicated above for each step
of the procedure.  If policies and procedures are in place
ensuring adequate checks by the pharmacist per regulation,
the requirement for a log will be waived.

5.4.3.4 Only supportive personnel or persons
being trained as supportive personnel as required by this
regulation, may perform the activities defined by this
regulation.

5.5 Automatic Dispensing Devices. If any automatic
counting device is used by a pharmacy, each cell shall have
clearly displayed thereon, the date filled, the name of the
drug, the batch number, the manufacturer's name, and the

expiration date of the particular batch number.  No drug can
be added to the cell until the present supply is depleted. 

5.6 Authorization for renewal of prescriptions.  A
prescription written for medication which, pursuant to State
and Federal law, may be sold, dispensed, or furnished only
upon prescription, shall not be renewed without specific
authorization of the prescriber.  The pharmacist shall in his/
her professional judgment refill prescriptions in keeping
with the number of doses ordered and the directions for use.
Refills beyond one year of the date of the original
prescription shall not be dispensed without further
authorization of the prescriber. 

5.7 Mandatory Patient Profile Record System
5.7.1 A patient profile record system must be

maintained at all pharmacies for persons for whom
prescriptions are dispensed.  The patient profile system shall
be devised so as to entitle the immediate retrieval of
information necessary to enable the dispensing pharmacist to
identify previously dispensed medication at the time a
prescription is presented for dispensing.  

5.7.2 The following information shall be
recorded by a pharmacist or designee:

5.7.2.1 The family name and first name of the
person for whom the medication is intended (the patient);

5.7.2.2 The address of the patient and phone
number;

5.7.2.3 The patient's age, or date of birth, and
gender;

5.7.2.4 The original date the medication is
dispensed pursuant to the receipt of a physician's
prescription;

5.7.2.5 The number or designation
identifying the prescription;

5.7.2.6 The prescriber's name;
5.7.2.7 The name, strength, quantity,

directions and refill information of the drug dispensed;
5.7.2.8 The initials of the dispensing

pharmacist and the date of dispensing medication as a
renewal (refill) if said initials and such date are not recorded
on the original prescription;

5.7.2.9 If the patient refuses to give all or part
of the required information, the pharmacist shall so indicate
and initial in the appropriate area.

5.7.2.10 Pharmacist comments relevant to the
patient's drug therapy, including any other information
peculiar to the specific patient or drug.

5.7.3 The pharmacist or pharmacy intern under
the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall attempt to
ascertain and shall record any allergies and idiosyncrasies of
the patient and any chronic disease states and frequently
used over-the-counter medication as communicated to the
pharmacist by the patient.  If the answer is none, this must be
indicated on the profile.
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5.7.4 Upon receipt of a new prescription, a
pharmacist or pharmacy intern under the direct supervision
of a pharmacist must examine the patient's profile record
before dispensing the medication to determine the possibility
of a harmful drug interaction or reaction.  Upon recognizing
a potential harmful reaction or interaction, the pharmacist
shall take appropriate action to avoid or minimize the
problem which shall, if necessary, include consultation with
the physician.

5.7.5 A patient profile record must be
maintained for a period of not less than one year from the
date of the last entry in the profile record unless it is also
used as a dispensing record.

5.8 Exchange of Valid Non-Controlled Prescriptions
Between Pharmacies

5.8.1 Verbal Exchange of Prescriptions - When
a pharmacy receives a verbal request for a prescription
transfer, it may be honored provided that:

5.8.1.1 The request comes from a registered
pharmacist.

5.8.1.2 The copy is immediately reduced to
writing and contains the information required on a written
prescription as listed in Regulation 5.0, and  includes the first
and last name of the pharmacist transmitting the information.

5.8.1.3 The prescription used for refills must
be clearly identified as a copy. 

5.8.1.4 The copy shows the date and the file
number of the original prescription and indicates the name
and address of the pharmacy providing the copy.

5.8.1.5 The copy shows the last date of
dispensing.

5.8.1.6 Only the actual number of refills
remaining are indicated.

5.8.1.7 A notation indicating a copy was
given and refills are no longer valid must be placed on either
the original prescription or patient profile. The document
used must be the same one used for the recording of refills
per the pharmacy's policy.

5.8.2 A copy prepared or transmitted that does
not meet the requirements of this Regulation is deemed to be
an invalid prescription.

5.8.3 Written copies of prescriptions are for
information only and are not valid for refilling.

5.9 Automated Data Processing Systems
5.9.1 Profiles.  When ADP's are used to

maintain patient profile records, all the requirements of
Delaware Pharmacy Regulation 5.0 must be met.

5.9.2 Prescription (Drug Order) Information.
Prescription information (drug order) shall include, but not
be limited to:

5.9.2.1 Original dispensing date
5.9.2.2 Name and address of patient (patient

location if in an institution)
5.9.2.3 Name of prescriber

5.9.2.4 DEA number of prescriber in the case
of a controlled substance

5.9.2.5 Name, strength, dosage form and
quantity, (or Stop Date), and route of administration if other
than oral form of drug prescribed

5.9.2.6 Renewals authorized
5.9.2.7 Directions of use for patient

5.9.3 Records of Dispensing. Records of
dispensing for original and refill prescriptions are to be made
and kept by pharmacies for three years.  Information must be
immediately accessible for a period of not less than one year
from the date of last entry.  Information beyond one year but
up to three years from the date of last entry may be
maintained off-line but must be produced no later than five
days upon request from proper authorities.  The information
shall include, but not be limited to:

5.9.3.1 Quantity dispensed
5.9.3.2 Date of dispensing
5.9.3.3 Serial Number (or equivalent if an

institution)
5.9.3.4 The identification of the pharmacist

responsible for dispensing
5.9.3.5 Record of renewals to date
5.9.3.6 Name and strength of medicine

5.9.4 Record Retrieval (Documentation of
Activity).  Any such ADP system must provide via CRT
display and or hard copy printout a current history of all
authorized prescription activity. This information shall
include, but not be limited to:

5.9.4.1 Serial number of prescription
(equivalent if an institution)

5.9.4.2 Date of processing
5.9.4.3 Quantity dispensed
5.9.4.4 The identification of the pharmacist

responsible for dispensing
5.9.4.5 Medication dispensed

5.9.5 Auxiliary Recordkeeping System. An
auxiliary recordkeeping system shall be established for the
documentation of renewals if the ADP is inoperative for any
reason. The auxiliary system shall insure that all renewals
are authorized by the original prescription and that the
maximum number of renewals are not exceeded.  When the
ADP is restored to operation, the information regarding
prescriptions dispensed and renewed during the inoperative
period shall be entered into the automated data processing
system.

5.9.6 Common Data Base. Two or more
pharmacies may establish and use a common data file or
base to maintain required or pertinent dispensing
information.  Pharmacies using such a common file are not
required to transfer prescriptions or information for
dispensing purposes between or among pharmacies
participating in the same common prescription file or data
base; provided however, any such common file must contain
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complete and adequate records of such prescription and
renewals dispensed.  Where common data base is used, this
shall not be considered a transfer under Board Regulation
5.0 for non-controlled substances.

5.9.7 Transfer of Prescriptions via ADP. A
pharmacist may transfer a prescription electronically (ADP)
for Schedule III, IV, or V controlled substances to another
pharmacy for renewal purposes in accordance with Title 21,
Code of Federal Regulations Section 1306.26 1306.25.  A
pharmacist may transfer a prescription electronically (ADP)
for non-controlled drug for renewal purposes in accordance
with current State Regulations.

5.9.7.1 Any pharmacy using ADP must
comply with all applicable State and Federal regulations.

5.9.7.2 A pharmacy shall make arrangements
with the supplier of data processing services or materials to
assure that the pharmacy continues to have adequate and
complete prescription and dispensing records if the
relationship with such supplier terminates for any reason. A
pharmacy shall assure continuity in maintenance of records.

5.9.7.3 The computer record shall reflect the
fact that the prescription order has been transferred, the
name of the pharmacy to which it was transferred, the date of
transfer, the name of the pharmacist transferring information,
and any remaining refill information, if applicable.

5.9.7.4 The pharmacist receiving the
transferred prescription drug order shall reduce it to writing
with the following information:

5.9.7.4.1Write the word "TRANSFER" on
the face of the transferred prescription.

5.9.7.4.2Provide all information required
to be on the prescription drug order pursuant to State and
Federal laws and regulations.

5.9.7.5 To maintain the confidentiality of
patient's prescriptions (drug orders) or other pertinent
records, there must exist adequate safeguards of security.
This shall also pertain to prevent non-user access.

5.10 Electronic Transmission Of Prescriptions
5.10.1 All Prescription Drug Orders

communicated by way of Electronic Transmission shall:
5.10.1.1 be transmitted directly to a

Pharmacist in a licensed Pharmacy of the patient’s choice
with no intervening Person having access to the Prescription
Drug Order;

5.10.1.2 identify the transmitter’s phone
number for verbal confirmation, the time and date of
transmission, and the identity of the Pharmacy intended to
receive the transmission, as well as any other information
required by Federal or State law;

5.10.1.3 be transmitted by an authorized
Practitioner or his designated agent; and

5.10.1.4 be deemed the original
Prescription Drug Order provided it meets the requirements
of this subsection.

5.10.2 The prescribing Practitioner may authorize
his agent to communicate a Prescription Drug Order orally
or by way of Electronic Transmission to a Pharmacist in a
licensed Pharmacy, provided that the identity of the
transmitting agent is included in the order.

5.10.3 The Pharmacist shall exercise professional
judgment regarding the accuracy, validity, and authenticity
of the Prescription Drug Order communicated by way of
Electronic Transmission consistent with existing Federal or
State laws and rules.

5.10.4 All electronic equipment for receipt of
Prescription Drug Orders communicated by way of
Electronic Transmission shall be maintained so as to ensure
against unauthorized access.

5.10.5 Persons other than those bound by a
confidentiality agreement pursuant to Section 2.A. (2)(k)
shall not have access to Pharmacy records containing
Confidential Information or personally identifiable
information concerning the Pharmacy’s patients.

5.10.6 Controlled substance prescriptions may
only be electronically transmitted via a facsimile.

5.10.7 Facsimile prescriptions must meet the
following requirements in addition to the above listed
electronic Transmission requirements.

5.10.7.1 The prescription order shall
include the fax number of the transmitter, the number of
transmitted pages, the name, phone number, and electronic
number of the pharmacy intended to receive the
transmission, and a confidentiality statement in bold type
stating the electronic transmission should not be seen by
unauthorized persons.

5.10.7.2 Unless the prescription is written
for a schedule II controlled substance, the prescriber should
not issue the written prescription to the patient.

5.10.7.3 A facsimile transmitted
prescription order must be reduced to writing, unless
received as a non-fading document, with a notation that the
order was received by facsimile.

5.10.7.4 The receiving facsimile machine
must be in the prescription department to protect
patient-pharmacist-authorized prescriber confidentiality and
security.

5.10.7.5 Both non-controlled and
controlled substance prescriptions may be transmitted via
facsimile following state and federal requirements.  All
prescription orders for controlled substances shall be
hand-signed by the practitioner.

5.11 Return of Medications and Supply
5.11.1 Prescriptions and items of personal

hygiene shall not be accepted for return or exchange by any
pharmacist or pharmacy after such prescription or items of
personal hygiene have been taken from the premises where
sold, distributed or dispensed.
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5.11.2 Products under the direct control of a
health care professional which are packaged in manufacturer
unit dose or tamper-proof unopened bulk containers, tamper
proof seal in tact, including unused multi-dose punch cards,
may be redispensed in accordance with expiration dating in
customized patient medication package. Partially used
products may not be redispensed. Nothing in this regulation
precludes the Federal laws and regulations.

Effective Date:  October 11, 1996
Effective Date:  April 14, 1997 Section 5.4 revised 
Effective Date:  June 11, 1998
Amended Effective September 11, 1999

 1 DE Reg. 1965 (6/1/98)
3 DE Reg. 431 (9/1/99)
4 DE Reg. 163 (7/1/00)

 4 DE Reg. 682 (10/1/00)

9.0 Hospital Pharmacy
9.1 Definition:

A hospital pharmacy is defined as a pharmacy
registered with the Board located in a hospital facility.
"Hospital pharmacy" shall not include a pharmacy operated
by a hospital facility at a location other than the site of a
permanent facility at which in-patient care and medical
services are rendered.  

9.2 Personnel
9.2.1 Director of Pharmacy. The storage,

compounding, repackaging, dispensing and distribution of
drugs by a hospital pharmacy shall be under the direction,
supervision and responsibility of the pharmacist-in-charge,
hereinafter referred to as the Director of Pharmacy, who shall
be responsible for operating the pharmacy in compliance
with appropriate State and Federal Statutes and Regulations.
Written policies and procedures will be established defining
the operation and scope of services provided by the hospital
pharmacy.  The Manual shall include policy and procedures
concerning:

9.2.1.1 Preparation and sterilization of
parenteral medications if done within the hospital pharmacy.

9.2.1.2 Establishment of specifications for
procurement of drugs, chemicals and biologicals. The
procedures are subject to the approval of the appropriate
committee of the hospital.

9.2.1.3 Maintaining readily available
inventory of emergency drugs both in the pharmacy and
patient care areas.  Current antidote information and
telephone numbers of regional poison control centers must
also be available.

9.2.1.4 Participation in the development of a
Formulary or drug list for the hospital.

9.2.1.5 The filling and labeling of all
containers from which drugs are to be administered in
compliance with applicable Statutes and Regulations.

9.2.1.6 The records of the transactions of the
pharmacy that are required by applicable law and that are
necessary for accurate control and accountability.  This
should include procedures for wastage of controlled
substances in all areas of the hospital.

9.2.1.7 Polices and procedures shall specify
the duties to be performed by pharmacy personnel.

9.2.1.8 Discontinued drug procedures to
insure that discontinued drugs and containers with worn,
illegible or missing labels are returned to the pharmacy for
proper disposition or disposal.  All outdated products should
be removed from all areas and stored in a separate section in
the pharmacy for proper disposition or disposal.

9.2.1.9 A recall procedure that can be
implemented to insure proper disposition of the recalled
materials.

9.2.1.10 A policy for drugs brought in by
patients.

9.2.1.11 A policy for the proper handling of
investigational drugs must be in compliance with FDA and
State requirements.

9.2.1.12 The pharmacist shall be involved with
the utilization review process as it pertains to drug therapy.

9.2.2 Registered Pharmacists.  The Director of
Pharmacy may be assisted by additional registered
pharmacists who are also responsible for compliance with
the applicable laws.

9.2.3 Supportive Personnel. Supportive
personnel may be utilized in assisting the pharmacist.  These
persons must be supervised by a registered pharmacist who
is present within the hospital and is responsible for the
activities of those persons.

9.3 Absence of Pharmacist.  When a pharmacist is not
on duty, drugs may be provided for use by physicians and
other authorized staff via night cabinets or other areas
designated by the hospital, and in emergency circumstances
by access to the pharmacy.  A pharmacist shall be available
to provide professional services.

9.4 Night Cabinets or Other Designated Areas
9.4.1 These drug storage areas must be securely

locked and substantially constructed in a manner which
prevents easy entry.

9.4.2 Access must be limited to authorized
personnel.

9.4.3 Contents and use procedures should be
determined by the pharmacy and those departments with
access to the night cabinet or other designated areas in
accordance with the hospital's policies and procedures.

9.4.4 Drugs must be properly labeled and
prepackaged in sufficient quantities as defined by the
hospital.

9.4.5 Accountability records documenting
withdrawal and replacement of controlled drugs must be
readily available.
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9.4.6 The transaction shall be reviewed by the
pharmacy when it reopens and incorporated into the hospital
pharmacy's medication recordkeeping system.

9.5 Access to Pharmacy. When a pharmacist is not
available and medications cannot be obtained immediately
from any other source, authorized persons may enter the
pharmacy and obtain drugs per procedures established by the
hospital. The procedures must include the following
stipulations:

9.5.1 Entry shall be by two persons; registered
nurse or physician with another nurse, physician, or security
person present approved by the hospital.

9.5.2 Persons authorized to enter the pharmacy
shall indicate the name and strength and amount of drug
removed, the date, time and their signature, and the name
and location of the patient. The transaction shall be reviewed
by the pharmacy when it reopens and incorporated into the
hospital pharmacy's medication recordkeeping system.

9.6 Emergency Drugs. Emergency drugs must be
available for use by authorized personnel at strategic
locations throughout the hospital. The drugs must be
available to authorized personnel and must be stored in a
manner to preserve the integrity of the contents.

9.6.1 Emergency Drugs Defined - Emergency
drugs are those drugs which may be required to meet the
immediate therapeutic needs of patients and which are not
available from any other authorized source in sufficient time
to prevent risk or harm to patients.

9.6.2 Emergency drug supplies shall be clearly
identified for emergencies. A list showing the contents and
the strength and quantity of each item shall be attached to the
exterior.

9.6.3 Removal of Drugs - Drugs shall be
removed from an emergency drug supply only pursuant to a
valid physician's order or by authorized personnel.

9.6.4 Notification - Whenever an emergency
drug supply is accessed, the pharmacy or its designee shall
be notified within 24 hours, and the pharmacy or its designee
shall restock and reseal or replace the kit or cart within
forty-eight hours.

9.7 Equipment and Texts. Each hospital pharmacy shall
have the equipment and texts required by Board Regulation
3.0 and Regulation 10.0.

9.8 Drug Storage.  Drugs must be stored in compliance
with State and Federal Statutes and Regulations and
according to USP/NF requirements.

9.9 Labeling
9.9.1 The drug dispensed for inpatient use shall

contain a label, shall show the brand or established name and
the strength of the medication.  If the medication is
prepacked, it must also show the source, lot number and
expiration date, in compliance with the Board's prepacking
regulation.

9.9.2 All drugs dispensed for outpatients must
be labeled in compliance with the Pharmacy Statutes.

9.9.3 Admixtures in parenteral bags and bottles
shall be labeled in accordance with Regulation 10.0.

9.10 Abbreviations. The hospital should establish a
standard list of abbreviations to be used whenever
medications are prescribed.

9.11 Outpatient Orders.  Medication dispensed for
outpatients via prescriptions are governed by applicable
State and Federal Statutes Regulations. A patient profile
must be maintained and counseling must be provided for
each person according to Regulation 5.0.

9.12 Suspected Adverse Drug Reaction. When an
adverse reaction is documented, the pharmacy department
shall receive a copy.

9.13 Maintenance of Medication Orders. Patient
Profile - A patient medication profile must be maintained for
each inpatient whose medication is directly dispensed from
the pharmacy.  It must show the patient's name, location, age,
allergies and diagnosis(es) as available. The profile must
show the name, strength and quantity of the drug dispensed
and appropriate directions and the initials of the dispenser.
Prior to administration of the first dose, the pharmacist must
examine the profile to determine the possibility of a harmful
drug interaction or reaction.  Upon recognizing a significant
potential for harm, the pharmacist should notify the
prescriber and other appropriate persons.  The profile must
be retained and readily retrievable for 30 days after
discharge.

9.14 Medication Error.  Medication error as defined
by the hospital shall be documented and reported
immediately to the pharmacy.  It should also be reported to
the attending physician.

9.15 Monthly Inspections. A member of the
pharmacy staff shall conduct monthly inspections of each
nursing station and patient care areas where medications are
dispensed, administered or stored. Such documented
inspections shall verify that:

9.15.1 Disinfectants and drugs for external use
are stored separately.

9.15.2 Drugs are stored under proper conditions.
9.15.3 No outdated drugs are present.
9.15.4 Distribution, administration, and

disposition of controlled substances audits indicates proper
recordkeeping and administration.

9.15.5 Emergency drug supplies and floor stock
drug levels are properly maintained.

9.15.6 Drugs are properly secured.
9.16 Hospital Operating with an Off-site Pharmacy

Provider.
9.16.1 Definition. A hospital operating with an

off-site pharmacy is one that obtains pharmacy services from
another hospital, community pharmacy, or infusion
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pharmacy that can provide services as necessary for
operation.

9.16.2 Personnel.
9.16.2.1 There must be a Director of Pharmacy

or Consultant Pharmacist available on an on-call procedure
24 hours per day.  The storage, compounding, repackaging,
dispensing and distribution of drugs by an off-site Provider
Pharmacy shall be under the direction, supervision and
responsibility of a Pharmacist-in-Charge or Director of
Pharmacy.  This person shall be responsible for operating the
pharmacy in compliance with appropriate State and Federal
Statutes and Regulations.

9.16.2.2 The Director of Pharmacy or
Pharmacist-in-Charge may be assisted by additional
registered pharmacists who are also responsible for
compliance with the applicable laws. Any of these registered
pharmacists may act as the Consultant Pharmacist for the
institution if he/she is licensed to practice pharmacy in the
State of Delaware.  Additional supportive personnel may be
utilized as required.

9.16.2.3 The Director of Pharmacy or
Pharmacist-in-Charge must provide written policies and
procedures establishing the operation and scope of services
provided by the off-site Pharmacy Provider.  The Policy and
Procedure Manual shall include all items as outlined in "B."
9.2 of this section.  In addition, the manual shall include a
written statement of pharmaceutical services provided and
the responsibilities of the off-site Provider Pharmacy.

9.16.3 Monthly Inspections.  The Director of
Pharmacy or Consultant Pharmacist must perform monthly
medication area inspections as outlined in "O" 9.15 of this
section.

9.16.4 Storage
9.16.4.1 Drugs must be stored at the off-site

Pharmacy Provider in compliance with State and Federal
Statutes and Regulations and according to USP/NF
requirements.

9.16.4.2 The Pharmacy Provider must also
provide any special handling and/or packaging and/or
storage conditions for compounded sterile preparations when
delivering from the pharmacy to the institution as necessary
to maintain the sterility and stability of the preparation.  This
includes any product that is frozen or that requires
refrigeration.

9.16.5 Patient Profiles.  The off-site Pharmacy
Provider must maintain complete patient profiles as outlined
in Regulation 5.0.

9.16.6 Medication Errors or Adverse Reactions
9.16.6.1 Any medication errors or adverse

drug reactions, as defined by the hospital, shall be
documented and reported to the off-site Pharmacy Provider.

9.16.6.2 This information shall also be
reported to the Director of Pharmacy, Pharmacist-in-Charge,

or Consultant Pharmacist for their review and documentation
for the patient profile.

9.16.7 Emergency Medications
9.16.7.1 All legend drugs not dispensed in

patient name shall be approved by the Board of Pharmacy in
order for those emergency medications to be kept as "stock"
at the institution.

9.16.7.2 The procedure for approval of
emergency medications must be followed as outlined in
Regulation 11.3.

9.16.7 Emergency Use Medications
9.16.7.1 Emergency use medications are those

which may be required to meet the immediate therapeutic
needs of patients, as determined by the prescriber, and which
are not available from any other authorized source in
sufficient time to prevent risk or harm to patients by delay
resulting from obtaining such drugs from other sources.

9.16.7.2 It is the responsibility of the facility
and provider pharmacy to determine the supply of
emergency use medication that are to be stocked as well as
documenting their locations within the facility. A list of
current contents must be attached to the medication supply.

9.16.7.3 Accountability for emergency use
medications.

9.16.7.3.1 The pharmacy provider must be
contacted within 24 hours after medication is used from the
supply and the pharmacy must restock the supply within a
reasonable time to prevent harm to patients.

9.16.7.3.2 The provider pharmacy is
responsible for the accuracy of all emergency use
medications at the time of the filling of the medication. This
check must also include any medication that became
available when the medication is accessed. Records
documenting use of an emergency medication must be kept
for a minimum of 2 years at the provider pharmacy and must
be readily available for inspection by the Board.

9.16.7.3.3  Failure to comply with these
procedures can result in the suspension or denial of the use
of emergency use medications.

9.16.7.3.4 Violations of accountability
procedures for emergency use medications may result in
review proceedings before the Board.

10.0 Sterile Pharmaceuticals and Antineoplastic
Agents

This regulation contains minimum pharmacy practices
for the preparation, compounding and dispensing of sterile
preparations and antineoplastic agents by licensed
pharmacies.

10.1  Definitions. As used in this part, the following
terms shall have the meanings specified:

“Admixture” A solution for parenteral
administration to which one or more additional drugs have
been added.
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“Antineoplastic Agent” A drug used to treat
various forms of cancer.

“Aseptic Technique” A procedure for
compounding sterile preparations designed to minimize/
prevent contamination during the compounding procedure.

“Class 100" A classification of an airflow unit
capable of producing an environment containing no more
than 100 airborne particles of a size 0.5 micron and larger
per cubic foot (3.5 particles/liter) of air.

“Enteral Nutrition” The administration into the
gastro-intestinal tract of calories, nitrogen, and/or other
nutrients to achieve tissue synthesis and anabolism for
patients requiring medically prescribed, defined formula,
liquid diets.

“HEPA” (High-efficiency particulate air) Filter - A
filter that provides a minimum-efficiency of 99.97% in
removal of particles 0.3 micron or larger from the effluent
air.

“Laminar Airflow” An entire body of air moving
with uniform velocity along parallel flow lines.

“Parenteral” A sterile preparation intended for
injection and used in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, or
treatment of disease or modification of physiological
functions in human beings, but not including blood or blood
products or as otherwise defined in the current United States
Pharmacopeia.

“Sterile Pharmaceutical” A dosage form free
from living microorganisms.

“Total Parenteral Nutrition” The intravenous
administration of calories, nitrogen, and other to achieve
tissue synthesis and anabolism.

10.2 General Requirements. A licensed pharmacy in
the State of Delaware desiring to compound and dispense
prescriptions or physician's orders for sterile
pharmaceuticals and antineoplastic agents shall meet the
following requirements:

10.2.1 Facilities and Equipment
10.2.1.1 The environment for the preparation

of such prescriptions shall be set in a low traffic area, clean
and free of contaminants and dust, and equipped to permit
controlled aseptic/antineoplastic compounding.

10.2.1.2 The area for preparing sterile/
antineoplastic prescriptions shall be segregated from general
non-aseptic work and storage areas and shall be used solely
for sterile pharmaceutical/anti-neoplastic compounding.
The area shall be maintained at controlled room
temperatures as defined by the United States Pharmacopeia.

10.2.1.3 The area(s) shall provide space for a
minimum of one class 100 environment. Additionally, the
space shall be of a size to accommodate equipment as
required herein and sufficient space to allow personnel
working therein to safely and accurately fulfill their duties.

10.2.1.4 Minimum requirements for
equipment, supplies and publications are as follows:

10.2.1.4.1 Minimally, a class 100 air
flow unit

10.2.1.4.1.1 The air flow unit must
be in compliance with recommendations from OSHA
guidelines.

10.2.1.4.2 Refrigerator
10.2.1.4.3 Sink and wash area easily

accessible to the sterile preparation/antineoplastic
compounding area(s)

10.2.1.4.4 Appropriate waste containers
for:

10.2.1.4.4.1 Used needles and
syringes

10.2.1.4.4.2 All antineoplastic
wastes including apparel used in their preparation

10.2.1.4.5 Supplies:
10.2.1.4.5.1 Disposable needles and

syringes and other supplies needed for sterile
pharmaceutical/antineoplastic compounding

10.2.1.4.5.2 Disinfectant cleaning
agents

10.2.1.4.5.3 Single-use lint free
towels or air-driers 

10.2.1.4.5.4 Handwashing materials
with bactericidal action

10.2.1.4.5.5 Equipment and
materials for cleaning antineoplastic agent spills

10.2.1.4.6 References: In addition to
compliance with the reference requirements as set forth in
Delaware Board Regulation 3.0, the pharmacy must have the
following texts (items b and c required if chemotherapy
agents are prepared):

10.2.1.4.6.1Handbook of Injectable
Drugs by the American Society of Hospital Pharmacists.

10.2.1.4.6.21Procedures for handling
Antineoplastic Drugs Technical Bulletin - most current
edition published by the American Society of Hospital
Health Systems Pharmacists.

10.2.1.4.6.32Most current edition of
OSHA Guidelines for the handling of antineoplastic agents.

10.2.1.4.6.4The Policy and
Procedures Manual prepared under Section F of this
Regulation.

10.2.1.4.7 Drug Components: All drug
components that are received, stored, or used in
compounding prescriptions shall meet official compendial
requirements.  If this cannot be met, pharmacists shall use
their professional judgment to procure alternatives.

10.3 Personnel
10.3.1 The compounding of sterile

pharmaceuticals/anti-neoplastic agents shall be under the
control and supervision of a licensed pharmacist. The
licensed pharmacist-in-charge or licensed pharmacist
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designee shall be on duty and on premises during all hours of
operation of said pharmacy.

10.3.2 A pharmacist shall be accessible by
telephone 24 hours a day to answer questions and to provide
consultation regarding the dispensed preparation.

10.3.3 Supportive Personnel: The pharmacist
managing the section of the pharmacy providing sterile/
anti-neoplastic product pharmacy services may be assisted
by supportive personnel. These personnel must have
specialized training in this field, and shall work under the
supervision of a licensed pharmacist.  The training provided
to these personnel must be described in writing in a training
manual.  The duties and responsibilities of these personnel
must be consistent with their training and experience.

10.4 Storage, Preparation, Dispensing, and
Handling

10.4.1 A pharmacy shall provide any special
handling and/or packaging and/or storage conditions for
compounded sterile/antineoplastic preparations when
delivering from the pharmacy to the patient or institution as
necessary to maintain sterility and stability of the
preparation.

10.4.2 Each pharmacy shall develop product
sampling plans and shall have the ability to determine or
know where to readily procure services to assure the quality
of the products compounded or prepared.

10.4.3 Delivery service.  The pharmacist
managing the section of the pharmacy providing sterile/
antineoplastic product pharmacy services is responsible for
the environmental control of all products shipped.
Therefore, any compounded, sterile parenteral product or
antineoplastic agent that is frozen, or that requires
refrigeration, must be shipped or delivered to a patient in
appropriate coolers and stored appropriately in the patient's
home.

10.5 Labeling
10.5.1 Each compounded preparation shall bear a

label indicating the date beyond which it should no longer be
administered and the temperature or conditions under which
it should be stored.

10.5.2 If the preparation is an antineoplastic
product, it must be labeled with a warning label clearly
identifying the product as such.

10.5.3 The following "beyond use" dates shall be
used: Admixtures in parenteral bags and bottles shall be
labeled with a distinctive supplementary label, indicating the
name and amount of the drug added, date, expiration date of
the container and name or initials of the person preparing the
solution.

10.5.3.1 Admixtures: Maximum of
seventy-two hours when stored under refrigerated conditions
from the time of compounding unless the manufacturer's
recommendation is to store at room temperature and/or

longer storage times can be substantiated with
documentation.

10.5.3.2 If medications with expiration periods
of less than forty-eight hours are added to a parenteral
solution, or if the manufacturer indicates an expiration
period of less than forty-eight hours, the "beyond use" date
of the solution shall be the shorter expiration period and shall
appear on the label.

10.6 Policy and Procedures Manual
10.6.1 A Policy and Procedures Manual shall be

prepared and be available at each pharmacy site where sterile
pharmaceuticals/antineoplastic agents are prepared for
inspection by authorized agents of the Board of Pharmacy.
The Policy and Procedures Manual shall contain the
objectives, operational guidelines and standard operating
procedures of the pharmacy pertaining to sterile products/
antineoplastic agents.  A procedure shall be  included that
addresses how a contaminated product is detected, recall
measures and follow up.

10.6.2 The manual shall include procedures to be
used by the pharmacy to prevent contamination of the
products during preparation, storage, and dispensing.

10.6.3 The manual shall include written policies
and procedures for cleaning and maintenance of the sterile
pharmaceutical compounding/antineoplastic agent area(s)
with records kept in the pharmacy department for one year.

10.6.4 Documentation of the following shall be
included:

10.6.4.1 Replacement of filters and
prefilters.

10.6.4.2 Certification of clean air source
by an outside agency at least once a year.

10.6.4.3 Cleaning and maintenance of the
equipment.

10.6.5 If antineoplastic agents are compounded in
the pharmacy, protection shall be provided for its personnel
by utilizing the proper equipment and protective garb and
having a Policy and Procedures Manual for said
antineoplastic agents. The Manual shall include, among the
other requirements, the following special requirements
outlined in sections 10.2 - 10.5 the following special
requirements:

10.6.5.1 Procedures for disposal of all unused
drugs and materials used in the preparation of antineoplastic
agents in accordance with accepted professional standards,
such as the most current OSHA Guidelines, regarding the
handling of antineoplastic agents.

10.6.5.2 Safety standards which stress
proper technique in handling antineoplastic agents and
which include:

10.6.5.2.1 A certified vertical laminar
air flow hood.

10.6.5.2.2 Protective garb, i.e., gloves,
face and eye protection, and gowns.
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10.6.5.3 In the event that antineoplastic agents
and other parenterals are prepared within the same air flow
unit, procedures shall be provided for a thorough scrub down
and air purge of at least twenty minutes after compounding
of the antineoplastic agent(s).

10.6.6 The Policy and Procedures Manual shall
be maintained on a current basis. It shall be reviewed at least
annually and changes shall show the effective date.

Revised Effective Date:  April 14, 1997 (10.2 General
Requirements revised)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Pharmacy is
available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/pharmacy/
index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3600 Board of Geology

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3606  (24 Del.C. §3606)

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Geologists in accordance with
24 Del.C. §3606 has proposed changes to Rule 7.0 of its
rules and regulations to clarify that the ASBOG
Fundamentals Of Geology (FG) exam may be taken at any
time after the applicant meets the educational requirements
set forth in the statute.  This rule clarifies that the ASBOG
Fundamentals Of Geology (FG) exam and ASBOG Practice
of Geology (PG) may be taken at separate times allowing the
Fundamentals exam to be taken immediately after
graduation if an applicant so desires.  

A public hearing will be held on May 6, 2005 at 10:15
a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Geologists, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite
203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to submit written
comments may forward these to the Board at the above
address.  The final date to receive written comments will be
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

7.0 ASBOG Examination
7.1 An applicant for wishing to sit for any portion for

the ASBOG examination and qualification required for a
license as a Geologist shall make application in writing, on
forms provided by the Board,   and shall furnish evidence
satisfactory to the Board that he/she has met the pre-
examination requirements as provided for 24 Del.C. Ch. 36,
§3608. 

7.1.1 An applicant wishing to sit for the
ASBOG Fundamentals of Geology (FG) Exam may do so
provided they meet the minimum educational requirements
set forth in 24 Del.C.  §3608(a)(1). To apply, the applicant
must fill out the request to sit for the fundamentals
application and submit their transcripts [to date] to the Board
for approval.   Once taken, the applicants score will be held
on file indefinitely by ASBOG. 

7.1.2 An applicant wishing to sit for the
ASBOG Practice of Geology (PG) must have acquired 5
years of professional work experience as defined in Rule 1.0
and must submit a full application for licensure to the Board
for review.  Approval to sit for the PG will be dependant
upon the applicant providing sufficient evidence,
satisfactory, to the Board that he/she meets the qualifications
for licensure set forth in 24 Del.C. §3608.

7.2 An applicant for licensure must have satisfactorily
passed each part of the ASBOG examination with a scaled
score of not less than 70%.

7.3 An applicant’s approval to sit for either part of the
ASBOG exam shall be valid for a period not to exceed two
years.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Geology is
available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/geology/index.shtml
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  26 Delaware Code,

Section 209(a)  (26 Del.C. §209(a))

IN THE MATTER OF THE ]
ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS ]
GOVERNING THE MINIMUM ] PSC
STANDARDS FOR SERVICE PROVIDED ] Regulation
BY PUBLIC WASTEWATER UTILITIES ] Docket
SUBJECT TO THE JURISDICTION OF ] No. 55
THE DELAWARE PUBLIC SERVICE ]
COMMISSION ]
(OPENED FEBRUARY 22, 2005) ]

ORDER NO. 6581 

AND NOW, this 22nd day of February, 2005; 
WHEREAS, on July 6, 2004, legislation was enacted

by the Delaware General Assembly, found at 74 Delaware
Laws, Chapter 317, which granted the Delaware Public
Service Commission (“the Commission”) jurisdiction to
regulate Wastewater Utilities having more than fifty
customers (hereinafter collectively “Wastewater Utilities”),
including the jurisdiction to grant and revoke Certificates of
Public Convenience and Necessity (“CPCNs”); and

WHEREAS, in connection with the implementation of
this new jurisdiction over Wastewater Utilities, the
Commission deems it appropriate, advisable, and in the
public interest to promulgate regulations intended to govern
the minimum standards for service provided by Wastewater
Utilities; and

WHEREAS, the Commission has considered proposed
regulations prepared by the Commission’s Staff; now,
therefore,

IT IS ORDERED THAT:
Pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a), and 29 Del.C. §§10111

et seq., the Commission promulgates proposed Regulations
Governing the Minimum Standards for Service Provided by
Public Wastewater Utilities Subject to the Jurisdiction of the
Delaware Public Service Commission ("Regulations").

The Secretary of the Commission shall transmit to the
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware
Register the notice and the proposed Regulations attached
hereto as Exhibits "A" and "B" respectively.

The Secretary of the Commission shall cause the notice
attached hereto as Exhibit "A" to be published in The News
Journal and the Delaware State News newspapers on or
before April 1, 2005. 

The Secretary of the Commission shall cause the notice
attached hereto as Exhibit "A" to be sent by United States
mail to all Wastewater Utilities currently operating under a
CPCN in Delaware, all persons who have an application for
a CPCN for a wastewater system pending before the

Commission, and all persons who have made timely written
requests for advance notice of the Commission's regulation-
making proceedings.  

Ruth A. Price is designated as the Hearing Examiner for
this matter pursuant to 26 Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C. Ch.
101, and is authorized to organize, classify, and summarize
all materials, evidence, and testimony filed in this docket, to
conduct the public hearing contemplated under the attached
notice, and to make proposed findings and recommendations
to the Commission concerning Staff's proposed regulations
on the basis of the materials, evidence, and testimony
submitted. Hearing Examiner Price is specifically
authorized, in her discretion, to solicit additional comment
and to conduct, on due notice, such public hearing(s) as may
be required to develop further materials and evidence
concerning any later-submitted proposed regulations or
amendments thereto.

Francis J. Murphy, Esquire, is designated Staff Counsel
for this matter.

The public utilities regulated by the Commission are
notified that they may be charged for the cost of this
proceeding under 26 Del.C. §114.

The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority
to enter such further Orders in this matter as may be deemed
necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester , Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

E X H I B I T  "A"

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE ]
ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS ]
GOVERNING THE MINIMUM ] PSC
STANDARDS FOR SERVICE PROVIDED ] Regulation
BY PUBLIC WASTEWATER UTILITIES ] Docket
SUBJECT TO THE JURISDICTION OF ] No. 55
THE DELAWARE PUBLIC SERVICE ]
COMMISSION ]
(OPENED FEBRUARY 22, 2005) ]

PUBLIC  NOTICE

The Delaware General Assembly has enacted legislation
granting the Delaware Public Service Commission (“the
Commission”) jurisdiction over Wastewater Utilities serving
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fifty or more customers in the aggregate. The law is found at
74 Delaware Laws, Chapter 317.  

In connection with the exercise of jurisdiction over
Wastewater Utilities, the Commission is promulgating
proposed new regulations governing the Minimum
Standards For Service Provided by Wastewater Utilities
subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission. The first
regulation sets forth: (a) the Commission’s authority to
promulgate the regulations; (b) the applicability of the
regulations; and (c) the definitions used in the regulations.
The second regulation addresses: (a) the records and reports
to be maintained by wastewater utilities; (b) information to
be filed with the Commission; (c) the complaint records that
are to be maintained; and (d) customer billing. The third
regulation governs engineering subjects, including: (a) the
authorization needed for operation or construction of a
wastewater system; (b) wastewater plant operation; and (c)
wastewater plant inspection. The fourth regulation deals
with wastewater system safety programs. The fifth
regulation governs customer relations, including: (a)
applications for service; and (b) billing statement
adjustment. The sixth regulation governs front-end capital
contributions.

Copies of the proposed Regulations are available for
public inspection at the Commission’s address set out below
during normal business hours. The Commission has
authority to promulgate the regulations pursuant to 26 Del.C.
§209(a) and 29 Del.C. §10111 et seq.

The Commission hereby solicits written comments,
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written
materials concerning the proposed regulations. Ten (10)
copies of such materials shall be filed with the Commission
at its office located at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware, 19904. All such
materials shall be filed with the Commission on or before
May 5, 2005. Persons who wish to participate in the
proceedings but who do not wish to file written materials are
asked to send a letter informing the Commission of their
intention to participate on or before April 5, 2005.

The regulations and the materials submitted in
connection therewith will be available for public inspection
and copying at the Commission's Dover office during normal
business hours.  The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.  The
regulations may also be reviewed, by appointment, at the
office of the Division of the Public Advocate located at the
Carvel State Office Building, 4th Floor, 820 North French
Street, Wilmington, Delaware 19801 and will also be
available for review on the Commission's website:
www.state.de.us/delpsc. 

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to
participate in these proceedings should contact the
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed
to facilitate such review or participation. Such contact may

be in person, by writing, by telephone, or otherwise.  The
Commission's toll-free telephone number (in Delaware) is
(800) 282-8574. Any person with questions may also contact
the Commission Staff at (302) 739-4247 or by Text
Telephone at (302) 739-4333.  Inquiries can also be sent by
Internet e-mail to karen.nickerson@state.de.us.

E X H I B I T "B"

PROPOSED REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE 
MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR SERVICE 

PROVIDED BY PUBLIC WASTEWATER UTILITIES 
SUBJECT TO THE JURISDICTION OF THE 

DELAWARE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

1.0 General
1.1 Authorization For Regulations.  Title 26 of the

Delaware Code vests in the Delaware Public Service
Commission the authority to formulate standards for such
wastewater services and facilities as it deems necessary to
carry out the provisions of this law.  (26 Del.C. § 209)

1.2 Application Of Regulations. These regulations shall
apply to any public wastewater utility operating within the
State of Delaware, under the jurisdiction of the Delaware
Public Service Commission.  These regulations shall become
effective ninety (90) days after adoption by the Commission.

1.2.1 Purpose. These regulations are intended to
insure adequate service to the public, to provide standards
for uniform and fair charges and requirements by the utilities
and their customers, and to establish the rights and
responsibilities of both utilities and customers.

1.2.2 Duties Under Other Statutes. These
regulations shall in no way relieve any utility from any of its
duties under the laws of this State or regulations
promulgated by other State or Federal agencies or
authorities.

1.2.3 Exemption. If the application of these
regulations will cause a utility unreasonable hardship, or if
unreasonable difficulty is involved in compliance, the utility
may apply to the Commission for a temporary or permanent
exemption, provided that the utility shall submit with such
application a full and complete statement of the reasons for
the application. Applications for exemptions will be
determined by the Commission upon due notice to the
affected customers and after a hearing.

1.2.4 Modification. The adoption of these
regulations shall in no way preclude the Commission, upon
complaint, upon its own motion, or upon the application of
any utility, from altering or amending them, in whole or in
part, or from requiring any other or additional equipment,
facility, or standard, or from making such modifications with
respect to the utility's application as may be necessary to
meet exceptional conditions. Any modification of these
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regulations shall be subject to the provisions of 29 Del.C.
Ch. 64.

1.3 Definitions. The following words or terms, when
used in these regulations, shall have the meaning indicated,
unless the context otherwise requires:

“Collection System”. Consists of service lines,
mains, manholes, customer facilities such as service lines,
pump stations, lift stations, and appurtenances, owned and
operated by the utility that conveys wastewater from
customers to the treatment facilities.

“Commission”. The Public Service Commission of
Delaware.

“Complaint”. A complaint shall mean any specific
objection to charges on the utility billing statement, facilities,
practices, or services of a utility.

“Customer”.  Any person, including any
individual, corporation, partnership, firm, association,
company, proprietorship, cooperative, joint stock company,
or other form of business enterprise or legal entity of any
kind, or any government agency or entity served by a
wastewater utility.

“Dwelling Unit”. One or more rooms arranged for
the use of one or more individuals as a single housekeeping
unit, with cooking, living, sanitary, and sleeping facilities.

“Equivalent Dwelling Unit EDU”. Is a
measurement of the volume of wastewater for a single
dwelling unit and is used as a means to compare wastewater
flows from customers for other classes of wastewater
service. 

“Main”.  Any wastewater pipe, owned, operated, or
maintained by a wastewater utility, which is used for the
collection or conveyance of wastewater, excluding service
lines.

“Meter”.  Without other qualifications, any device
or instrument which is used by the utility in measuring the
quantity of wastewater discharged from a customer or
service area for recording or billing purposes.

“Premises”.  A tract of land or real estate,
including buildings and other appurtenances thereon.

“Service Line”.  The pipe that runs from the main
to the customer's premises.

“Shall”. The use of the word "shall" in these
regulations expresses a mandatory requirement.

“Should”. The use of the word "should" in these
regulations expresses suggestion or guidance and is not
mandatory.

“Utility”. Any person, including any individual,
corporation, firm, partnership, association, company,
proprietorship, cooperative, joint stock company, or other
form of business enterprise or legal entity of any kind, that
provides wastewater services, including collection,
transport, or treatment of wastewater, and is subject to
regulation by the Commission.   

“Wastewater Plant”. Equipment, stations, and
property owned or operated by a utility, used in its business
operations to render wastewater service to its customers.

2.0 Records And Reports
2.1 Availability Of Records. All documents, including

books, accounts, papers, records, computer files, electronic
data, maps of service area indicating location of mains,
pumping stations, and treatment facilities, and memoranda
required by these regulations or necessary for the
administration thereof, shall be open and available for
examination by the Commission or its authorized
representatives at all times.

2.2 Retention Of Records.  All documents, including
books, accounts, papers, records, computer files, electronic
data, and memoranda required by these regulations shall be
preserved for a minimum period of five (5) years.

2.3 Location. All documents, including books,
accounts, papers, records, computer files, electronic data,
and memoranda required by these regulations shall be kept
in an office within this State, and shall not be removed from
this State, except upon such terms and conditions as may be
prescribed by the Commission. This provision shall not
apply if the utility is engaged in interstate commerce, and its
accounts are kept at its principal office outside this State.
However, such utility, when requested by the Commission,
shall furnish to the Commission, certified copies of all
documents, including its books, accounts, papers, records,
computer files, electronic data, and memoranda relating to
the business done by such public utility.

2.3.1 All wastewater utilities shall maintain
their accounts and records in compliance with the Uniform
System of Accounts as promulgated in 1996 by the National
Association of Regulatory Commissions.

2.3.2 Observance of the system of accounts
applicable to the utility by appropriate class is obligatory
upon all persons having direct charge of the books and
accounts of the utility. For the purpose of securing
uniformity in the applications of this system, all questions of
doubtful interpretation of accounting rules are to be
submitted to the Commission for consideration and decision.

2.4 Information To Be Filed With The Commission.
Each utility shall file with the Commission, and keep
current, a copy of its approved tariff.

2.4.1 Rates. The tariff shall include each
schedule of rates for service.

2.4.2 Rules.  The tariff shall include the utility's
rules and regulations, or terms and conditions describing the
utility's policies and practices in rendering service, and in its
relations with customers or prospective customers.

2.4.3 Bill Forms.  Each utility shall file with the
Commission a sample of each type of customer billing
statement, which shall include the information normally
shown on a customer's bill for service.
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2.4.4 Persons to Contact.  Each utility shall file
with the Commission and shall notify its customers, upon
request, of the name, title, business address, and telephone
number of the person(s) who should be contacted in
connection with the following areas of operation:

2.4.4.1 management;
2.4.4.2 customer relations (complaints and

billing inquiries);
2.4.4.3 engineering; and
2.4.4.4 emergencies during non-office hours

and regular hours; and shall notify the Commission promptly
of any changes.

2.4.5 Accident Notification.   In the event of a
fatal or serious accident, prompt notice shall be given to the
Commission by telephone or such other means of
communication designed to assure prompt notice to the
Commission, followed by a full written report of such
accident. A full written report is also required when the
utility suffers any serious property damage. These reports
shall be treated confidentially pursuant to 26 Del.C. §213(b).

2.4.6 Reports of Service Interruption.  Each
utility shall file with the Commission a report of any system
failures or service interruption within ten (10) days after
such an event has occurred. Reports shall include:

2.4.6.1 location and time of failure or
interruption;

2.4.6.2 time that failure or interruption was
remedied;

2.4.6.3 estimated number of customers
affected; and

2.4.6.4 cause of the failure or interruption.
Utilities shall make all possible efforts to re-establish service
in the shortest time practicable with due regard to safety.

When service is interrupted for scheduled
repairs or maintenance, such work should be done at a time
that will cause the least inconvenience to customers. The
customers who would be affected shall be notified prior to
the scheduled interruption.

2.4.7 Annual Reports.  Each utility shall file an
annual financial statement based upon the accounts set out in
the Uniform System of Accounts, or such other requirement
as prescribed by the Commission. This annual report shall be
filed with the Commission on or before April 30th of the
following year.

2.5 Complaints.
2.5.1 Each utility shall keep a record of each

complaint received. The complaint record shall contain:
2.5.1.1 complainant's name, address, and

telephone number;
2.5.1.2 nature of the complaint;
2.5.1.3 date complaint was received;
2.5.1.4 when, how, and by whom the

complaint was handled; and

2.5.1.5 disposition and findings of the
complaint.

2.5.2 Resolution. All complaints should be
handled promptly, courteously, and include a full
investigation prior to any conclusion.

2.5.3 Disputes.  After the Commission or the
Company have completed an investigation of a customer's
complaint concerning a bill, and when the issue is resolved
in favor of the utility, the customer shall be afforded a
reasonable time, not less than twenty (20) days, to pay the
bill as finally determined.

2.6 Customer Billing.  Billing for wastewater service
may be based on the following:

2.6.1 Flat rate per EDU; and
2.6.2 Volume measured by water meters serving

customer premises. In cases where a significant volume of
water does not enter the sanitary sewer, or where water from
another source enters the sanitary sewer, the measured water
meter volume may be adjusted to more accurately reflect the
volume of wastewater discharged. Any such adjustment is to
be based on meter readings associated with increased or
decreased billable volume. Any supplemental meters are to
be provided at the expense of the customers and to be
maintained in good operating condition subject to testing by
the utility.

Wastewater flow measuring devices shall be
maintained in good working order.

In cases where water meters are used as a basis for
billing wastewater service, the terms and conditions for
testing meters and billing adjustments shall be as provided in
PSC Order No. 2076, relating to service governing water
utilities.

3.0 Engineering
3.1 Authorization For Operation Or Construction. No

person, including any individual, corporation, firm,
partnership, association, company, proprietorship,
cooperative, joint stock company or association, or other
form of business enterprise or legal entity of any kind shall
commence any construction of a wastewater system for
public use without having been granted a Certificate of
Public Convenience and Necessity, and such other permits as
may be required by law. System expansion, even within the
certificated area, shall not commence without approval of
the plans by the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control (DNREC Reg. 4.06).

If the construction of an extension involves the acquisition
of a private right-of-way, then the prospective customer or
developer shall attempt to secure the right-of-way and deliver
it to the utility free of cost before construction of the extension
is started. If, however, it is not reasonably possible for the
prospective customer or developer to secure the right-of-way,
and the construction of the extension involves the utility’s
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incurring expenses for right-of-way easements, such costs shall
be added to the total cost of the extension.

Utilities are required to incorporate the terms and
conditions applicable to contributions in-aid-of construction
and refundable advances in their tariff rules and regulations.

3.2 Wastewater Plant Operation. The utility's
wastewater plant shall be constructed, installed, maintained,
and operated in accordance with current engineering
practices in the wastewater industry, to assure, as far as
reasonably possible, continuity of service, uniformity in the
quality of service furnished, and the safety of persons and
property, in compliance with relevant DNREC and Health
Department regulations and policies.

3.3 Wastewater Plant Inspection. Each utility must
adopt and file with the Commission a program of inspection
of its wastewater plant in order to develop a capital
improvement plan. The frequency of the various inspections
shall be based on the utility's experience and accepted good
practice. Each utility shall keep sufficient records to give
evidence of compliance with its inspection program.

4.0 Operation
4.1 System Safety Program. Each utility shall exercise

reasonable care to reduce the hazards to which its
employees, customers, and the general public may be
subjected. A safety program should be adopted by each
utility, fitted to the size and type of its operations.

4.1.1 "Miss Utility". All wastewater utilities are
required to belong to and participate in the "Miss Utility"
program to minimize third-party damage to other utilities as
well as their own.

4.1.2 Promote Safe Work Methods. Each utility
shall require its employees to use suitable tools and
equipment in order that they may perform their work in a
safe manner. The utility's employees who are subject to the
hazards of asphyxiation, chemical handling, electrical shock,
or drowning in the course of performing their work shall be
properly instructed in the accepted methods of artificial
respiration, including CPR (cardio-pulmonary resuscitation).

5.0 Customer Relations
5.1 Application For Service.

5.1.1 Rate Schedules.  If applicable, each utility
shall assist the customer or applicant in selecting the most
economical rate schedule. If, after the selection of a service
line diameter, the customer determines that a different size
service is needed, the full cost of the new service or other
facilities requested by the customer will be the responsibility
of the customer.

5.1.2 Customer Notification.  Customers
affected by a change in rates or service schedule
classification shall be notified by the utility.

5.1.3 Tariff Notice.  Each utility shall keep in
each office of the utility where applications are received, a

copy of its currently approved tariff available for public
inspection at any reasonable time.

5.1.4 Meter Reading.  Every customer served by
a wastewater utility shall be informed of the method of meter
reading if meters are in place for billing purposes.

5.1.5 Interest on Deposits.  When a utility's tariff
requires or permits the collection of a deposit from
customers, the utility shall pay interest on all such deposits at
the rate of six percent (6%) annual simple interest. Interest
shall be computed from the date of receipt of the deposit by
the utility.

5.1.5.1 Interest on deposits shall be credited
to the account of the depositor annually, at the time the
deposit is returned, or when service is terminated, whichever
is sooner; and

5.1.5.2 Deposits shall cease to draw interest
on the date service is terminated, on the date the deposit is
returned, or on the date that notice is sent to the depositor's
last known address that the deposit is no longer required.

5.2 Billing Statement Adjustment.  If wastewater
service is billed on the basis of metered water usage, billing
adjustments shall be calculated on the premise that the meter
should be 100% accurate. For the purpose of a billing
adjustment, the error in registration of the meter shall be
calculated and applied as specified in the meter test rules of
the wastewater utility tariff or PSC Order No. 2076
governing minimum service standards provided by public
water companies.

6.0 Front-end Capital Contributions 
Front-end capital contributions shall be required from all

new connections to recover, at least in part, the cost of
constructing conveyance, treatment, and disposal facilities
incurred by the utility where applicable.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code
Section 4815(b)(3)b.2.D

(29 Del.C. §4815(b)(3)b.2.D

PUBLIC NOTICE

The State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture’s
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund (herein “the Fund”)  hereby
gives notice of its intention to adopt amended regulations
pursuant to the General Assembly’s delegation of authority
to adopt such measures found at 29 Del.C. §4815(b)(3)b.2.D
and in compliance with Delaware’s Administrative
Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10115. The proposed amended
regulations constitute a clarification of two existing
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regulations. The first is an amendment which will allow a
wider participation by stallions seeking to register with the
Fund’s Program. The second is a clarification of the term
“Satisfactory Performance Line” that was at issue in a recent
Delaware lawsuit.

The Fund solicits, and will consider, timely filed written
comments from interested individuals and groups
concerning these proposed amended regulations. The
deadline for the filing of such written comments will be
thirty days (30) after these proposed amended regulations are
promulgated in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Any such submissions should be mailed or delivered to
Ms. Judy Davis-Wilson, Administrator, Delaware
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund whose address is State of
Delaware, Department of Agriculture, 2320 South duPont
Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901 by May 1, 2005.

502 Delaware Standardbred Breeders Fund Regulations

2.0 Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in this part

for purposes of the Delaware Standardbred Breeder's Fund
Program, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise.  Such definitions shall not affect
the use of that term by the Delaware Harness Racing
Commission for purposes other than for the Breeder's Fund
Program.

"Bred" means any form of insemination inside the
State of Delaware by a Delaware sire, including
insemination using semen transported within the State of
Delaware, provided that such semen is not frozen or
desiccated in any way or at any time. Bred shall also refer to
foals of mares bred outside the State of Delaware by a
Delaware sire through interstate semen transportation when
such semen is not frozen or desiccated in any way or at any
time, provided that owners of mares that produce foals from
Delaware sires eligible for this program that are bred through
interstate semen transportation shall not be eligible for
bonuses paid to owners of mares under the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder's Program set forth in Section 4
herein. A foal conceived through embryo transplantation is
not eligible for nomination to the Delaware Standardbred
Breeder's Program under any circumstances.

"Breeder"  means the owner of the dam at the time of
breeding through foaling. 

"Breeding Season" is the season during which
reproduction occurs and which runs from February 1st to
August 1st of the calendar year.

"Delaware-bred Horse"  means a Standardbred by a
Delaware sire and registered with the Administrator by
May15th of the yearling year.

"Delaware Resident" means a person as defined in 3
Del.C. §10032.

"Delaware Sire" means a Standardbred stallion that
regularly stands for a breeding season in Delaware, does not
compete for purses during that period, and is registered with
the Administrator of the Breeder's Program. A Delaware sire
may be: a) owned by a resident of the State of Delaware and
standing the entire breeding season in the State of Delaware;
or b) owned by a resident of a state other than Delaware, but
standing the entire breeding season in Delaware, verified by
a copy of a the lease filed with the Administrator of the
Program at the time of registration for the Program, as
provided in section 1.1 above; or c) owned jointly by a
resident (or residents) and  a non-resident (or non-residents)
of Delaware and standing the entire breeding season in
Delaware with the same lease requirements as in b) above. A
Delaware Sire may compete for purses within the State of
Delaware at any time. However, a Delaware sire may
compete for purses outside the State of Delaware, or enter
claiming races within or without the State of Delaware, only
after the breeding season in Delaware ends. A violation of
this regulation will disqualify the Standardbred stallion from
being registered with the Breeders’ Program for the
breeding season of the year following the violation.

“Private Treaty” No stallion participating in the
Program may be offered for service under private treaty.
Each stallion registered in the Program must make public the
breeding fee.

“Registrant” is a horse owner, the horse owner’s agent
of record or trainer of record, or the lessee of a horse.

“Satisfactory Performance Line” means the path of
the Standardbred on the racetrack as charted by the licensed
charter at Dover Downs and/ or Harrington Raceway during
which the horse does not break stride for any reason.

6 DE Reg. 1497 (5/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 336 (8/1/04)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Harness Racing
Commission is available at:

http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title3/
500/index.shtml#TopOfPage

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code,

Section 10103 (3 Del.C. §10103)

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission,
pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10103, proposes to amend rules 15.0
and 19.3.1.1 to permit the Commission to blood gas test,
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 10, FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 2005

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/thoroughbred/index.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1395
outlining quarantine procedures for positive tests, clarifying
the current rules regarding furosemide, and to raise the
appeal bond from $250 to $400 to cover the increased
administrative costs including court reporter costs associated
with appeals brought before the commission. The
Commission will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule
change on Saturday, April 30, 2005.  Written comments
should be sent to John Wayne, Administrator of Racing,
Department of Agriculture, 2320 S. DuPont Highway,
Dover, DE  19901.

The proposed rule changes are as follows:

15.0 Medication; Testing Procedures
15.1 Prohibition and Control of Medication:

  15.1.1 It shall be the intent of these Rules to
protect the integrity of horse racing, to guard the health of
the horse and to safeguard the interests of the public and the
racing participants through the prohibition or control of all
drugs and medications or substances foreign to the natural
horse. Horses should not compete under the influence of
drugs or therapeutic medications. However, horses, in
training, like all athletes, may require the administration of
therapeutic medications at times to diagnose or treat illness
or injury.  Certain drugs have no therapeutic use in horses in
training, and these drugs should not be administered to
horses in training, nor should they be permitted at any
concentration in post-race samples.  In this context:

15.1.1.1 No horse participating in a race shall
carry in its body any substance foreign to the natural horse,
except as hereinafter provided.

15.1.1.2 No foreign substance shall be
administered to a horse (entered to race) by injection, oral
administration, rectal infusion or suppository, or by
inhalation within twenty-four (24) hours prior to the
scheduled post time for the first race, except as hereinafter
provided.

15.1.1.3 No person other than a veterinarian
shall have in his possession any equipment for hypodermic
injection, any substance for hypodermic administration or
any foreign substance which can be administered internally
to a horse by any route, except for an existing condition as
prescribed by a veterinarian.

15.1.1.4 Notwithstanding the provisions of
Rule 15.1.1.3 above, any person may have in his possession
within a race track enclosure, any chemical or biological
substance for use on his own person, provided that, if such
chemical substance is prohibited from being dispensed by
any Federal law or law of this State without a prescription,
he is in possession of documentary evidence that a valid
prescription for such chemical or biological substance has
been issued to him.

15.1.1.5 Notwithstanding the provisions of
Rule 15.1.1.3 above, any person may have in his possession

within any race track enclosure, any hypodermic syringe or
needle for the purpose of administering a chemical or
biological substance to himself, provided that he has notified
the Stewards:  (1) of his possession of such device; (2) of the
size of such device; and (3) of the chemical substance to be
administered by such device and has obtained written
permission for possession and use from the Stewards.

15.1.2 Definitions:
  The following terms and words used in these Rules

are defined as:
15.1.2.1 Hypodermic Injection shall mean any

injection into or under the skin or mucous, including
intradermal injection, subcutaneous injection, submucosal
injection, intramuscular injection, intravenous injection and
intraocular (intraconjunctival) injection.

15.1.2.2 Foreign Substances shall mean all
substances except those which exist naturally in the
untreated horse at normal physiological concentration, and
shall also include substances foreign to a horse at levels that
cause interference with testing procedures.

15.1.2.3 Veterinarian shall mean a veterinary
practitioner authorized to practice at the race track.

15.1.2.4 Horse includes all horses registered
for racing under the jurisdiction of the Commission and for
the purposes of these Rules shall mean stallion, colt, gelding,
ridgling, filly or mare.

15.1.2.5 Chemist shall mean the Commission's
chemist.

15.1.2.6 Test Sample shall mean any body
substance including, but not limited to, blood or urine taken
from a horse under the supervision of the Commission's
Veterinarian and in such manner as prescribed by the
Commission for the purpose of analysis.

15.1.2.7 Race Day shall mean the 24-hour
period prior to the scheduled post time for the first race.

15.1.3  Foreign Substances:
15.1.3.1 No horse participating in a race shall

carry in its body any foreign substance except as provided in
Rule 15.1.3.1.3:

15.1.3.1.1  A finding by the chemist that a
foreign substance is present in the test sample shall be prima
facie evidence that such foreign substance was administered
and carried in the body of the horse while participating in a
race.  Such a finding shall also be taken as prima facie
evidence that the Trainer and agents responsible for the care
or custody of the horse has/have been negligent in the
handling or care of the horse.

15.1.3.1.2  A finding by the chemist of a
foreign substance or an approved substance used in violation
of Rule 15.1 in any test sample of a horse participating in a
race shall result in the horse being disqualified from purse
money or other awards, except for purposes of pari-mutuel
wagering which shall in no way be affected.
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15.1.3.1.3 A foreign substance of accepted
therapeutic value may be administered as prescribed by a
Veterinarian when test levels and guidelines for its use have
been established by the Veterinary-Chemist Advisory
Committee of the National Association of State Racing
Commissioners and approved by the Commission.
Aminocaproic acid may be present in a horse's body while it
is participating in a race, subject to all the provisions of these
Rules.

15.1.3.1.4 The only approved non-
steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) that may be
present in a horse's body while it is participating in a race is
phenylbutazone/oxyphenobutazone in the level stated in
15.1.3.1.5 or 15.1.3.1.6.  The presence of any other NSAID
at any test level is forbidden.

Revised:  1/6/92.
15.1.3.1.5 The test level of

phenylbutazone under this Rule shall not be in excess of two
point five (2.5) micrograms (mcg) per milliliter (ml) of
plasma without penalties in the following format:

Micrograms per milliliter Penalties

0 to 2.5 No action
2.6 to 4.9 First Offense-$250.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9  Second Offense within 365

days
$500.00 fine

2.6 to 4.9 Third Offense within 365
days $500.00

fine and/or Suspension and/
or Loss of Purse

5.0 and Over Fine, Suspension, Loss of
Purse

15.1.3.1.6  The test level for
oxphenobutazone under this Rule shall not be in excess of
two (2) micrograms (mcg) per milliliter (ml) of plasma.

Micrograms per milliliter Penalties

0 to 2.5 No action
2.6 to 4.9 First Offense-$250.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9  Second Offense within 365

days
$500.00 fine

2.6 to 4.9 Third Offense within 365
days $500.00

fine and/or Suspension
and/or

Loss of Purse
5.0 and Over Fine, Suspension, Loss of

Purse

15.1.3.1.7 No bleeder medication
otherwise permissible under this Rule may be administered
to a horse within one hour of the scheduled post time of the
horse's race.  The administration of salix to a horse on race
day will be governed by Rule 15.2.

15.1.3.1.8 If a horse is to receive one or
more bleeder medications, aminocaproic acid and/or salix,
the trainer shall declare said use at the time of entry.  

15.1.3.1.9 A veterinarian administering
bleeder medications shall report the administration of such
medications on the same form that is used to report the
administration of salix.

15.1.3.1.10 The race program shall
denote what medication(s) have been administered to a horse
in the race and the past performance lines in the program, if
any, shall denote any medications administered to said horse
in those races.

15.1.3.1.11 Any horse running on
permissible bleeder medication under these Rules shall
remain on the medication for a period of not less than sixty
(60) days before being permitted to race without the
permissible bleeder medication.

15.1.3.1.12 The detection of permissible
bleeder medications (salix and/or aminocaproic acid) in a
horse following the running of a race which was not declared
or reported to the Stewards, may result in the disqualification
of the horse and other disciplinary action imposed upon the
trainer and administering veterinarian. Conversely, the
absence of bleeder medication following the running of a
race in which was declared and reported by a trainer and/or
veterinarian, may result in the disqualification of the horse
and other disciplinary action imposed upon the trainer and
administering veterinarian.

15.1.3.1.13 Erythropietin (EPO)
A finding by the official chemist

that the antibody of Erythropietin (EPO) was present in a
post-race test specimen of a horse shall be promptly reported
in writing to the Stewards.  The Stewards shall notify the
owner and trainer of the positive test result for Erythropietin
antibodies.  The Stewards shall notify the Commission
Veterinarian of the name of the horse for placement on the
Veterinarian's List, pursuant to Rule 5.32, if the positive test
result indicates that the horse is unfit to race.  Any horse
placed on the Veterinarian's List pursuant to this Rule shall
not be permitted to enter a race until the owner or trainer, at
their own expense, provides proof of a negative test result
for EPO antibodies from a laboratory approved by the
Commission provided said test sample is obtained under
collection procedures acceptable to the Commission or its
designee under these Rules.

Notwithstanding any inconsistent
provision of these Rules, a horse shall not be subject to
disqualification from the race and from any share of the
purse in the race and the trainer of the horse shall not be
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subject to application of trainer's responsibility based on the
finding by the laboratory that the antibody of Erythropoietin
was present in the sample taken from that horse.

15.2 Bleeder Medication:
15.2.1 Notwithstanding anything in the Rules of

Racing to the contrary, the Stewards may permit the
administration of Furosemide (Lasix Salix) to control
epistaxis (bleeding) to horses under the following
conditions:

15.2.1.1 A horse which, during a race or
workout at a duly licensed race track in this State or within
the first hour immediately following such a race or workout,
is observed by the Commission's Veterinarian or the
Stewards to be shedding blood from one or both nostrils or is
found to have bled internally.  (An endoscopic examination
of the horse, in order to confirm bleeding, may be performed
by the practicing veterinarian in the presence of the
Commission's Veterinarian at the detention barn within one
(1) hour of workout or race.)

15.2.1.2 A horse which has been certified as a
bleeder in another jurisdiction may be placed on the bleeder
list provided that the other jurisdiction qualified it as a
bleeder using criteria satisfactory to the Commission's
Veterinarian and the Stewards. It shall be the absolute
responsibility of the Trainer to report bleeders from other
jurisdictions to the Commission's Veterinarian or Stewards
on official forms from that State prior to entry.

15.2.1.3 The Commission's Veterinarian shall
be responsible to maintain an up-to-date "bleeder" list and
the list shall be available in the Racing Secretary's office.

15.2.1.4 A horse in the Bleeder Program shall
be required to be brought to an area designated by the
Licensee and approved by the Commission not later than
three and one-half (3 ½) hours before post time for the race
in which it is entered.  During the 3 ½ hour period, the horse
shall be under the care and custody of a groom or caretaker
appointed by the Trainer.  The approved Furosemide
medication may be administered by a licensed practicing
veterinarian  within three (3) hours before post time.  The
practicing veterinarian shall make a report to the Stewards of
the treatment on forms provided by the Stewards on the same
day of treatment.

15.2.1.5 (Deleted.)
15.2.1.6 A horse which bled for the first time

shall not be permitted to run for a period of ten (10) calendar
days.  A horse which bleeds a second time shall not be
permitted to run for thirty (30) calendar days. A horse which
bleeds a third time shall not be permitted to run for ninety
(90) days.  A horse which bleeds a fourth time shall be
barred from further racing in the State of Delaware, except
that if a horse's fourth bleeding incident occurs within one
year of the first bleeding incident, then the horse shall not be
barred but shall not be permitted to run for one year.  If a
horse has bled three times but at least twelve months have

passed since the last bleeding incident, then if the horse
bleeds for a fourth time, the horse shall not be permitted to
run for twelve (12) months, and any further bleeding
incidents will prevent the horse from racing for another
twelve (12) month period.  A positive endoscopic
examination shall be classed as a first time bleeder.

Revised:  6/19/92.
15.2.1.7 Dosage. Furosemide (Lasix Salix)

shall be administered intravenously, or intramuscularly as
permitted under Rule 15.02.1.8, to horses in the Bleeder
Program by a licensed practicing veterinarian, who will
administer not more than 500 milligrams nor less than 100
milligrams, subject to the following conditions:

15.2.1.8 The dosage administered may not
vary by more than 250 milligrams from race to race without
the permission of the Commission Veterinarian.

15.2.1.9 Restrictions. No one except a licensed
practicing veterinarian shall possess equipment or any
substance for injectable administration on the race track
complex, and no horse is to receive furosemide (Lasix Salix)
in oral or intramuscular form, except that the stewards may
approve intramuscular administration for a horse based on
written documentation from the Commission veterinarian
and the trainer's veterinarian.

15.2.1.10 Post-Race Quantification. As
indicated by post-race quantification, a horse may not carry
in its body at the time of the running of the race more than
100 nanograms of furosemide (Lasix Salix) per milliliter of
plasma in conjunction with a urine that has a specific gravity
of 1.010 or lower.

15.2.1.10.1 If post-race analysis indicates
that the specific gravity of a horse's urine is less than 1.010
and the concentration of furosemide in the blood plasma is
greater than 100 nanograms per milliliter, the stewards shall
take the following action (for each horse):

15.2.1.10.1.1 If such overage is the
first violation of this rule for this horse, the trainer and/or
attending veterinarian shall be issued a warning and be
required to participate in a review of all pertinent
Commission rules and subsequent penalties at a time
scheduled by the stewards. If the trainer wishes to contest the
overage, the trainer shall follow a specific procedure under
which all of the following conditions must be met:

15.2.1.10.1.2  the horse in question
must report to the detention barn four hours prior to post
time.

15.2.1.10.1.3  the same handler/
groom must stay with the horse at all times.

15.2.1.10.1.4 a blood sample shall be
taken by the Commission veterinarian before the
administration of furosemide.

15.2.1.10.1.5 the trainer's veterinarian
must administer furosemide at a dosage not to exceed 500
milligrams.
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15.2.1.10.1.6 the Commission
veterinarian must witness the administration of furosemide.

15.2.1.10.1.7  the horse must return to
the detention barn after the race for the taking of post-race
blood and urine testing by the Commission veterinarian or
assistant, no matter how the horse finishes in the race.

15.2.1.10.2 If, after all of the above
conditions are met, the post race tests reveal that the specific
gravity of the horse's urine is again below 1.010 and the
concentration of furosemide in the blood plasma is greater
than 100 nanograms per milliliter of plasma, and the blood
sample taken in the detention barn before the administration
of furosemide tests negative for furosemide, the horse will
be placed on an "exempt" list and the first offense will be
removed, provided further that any horse on the "exempt"
list will be required to have all future prerace Lasix Salix
treatments administered pursuant to the procedure set forth
in Rules 15.2.1.9.1.2 through 15.2.1.9.1.7 set forth above.
Any horse that is placed on the "exempt" list and later fails to
follow the prerace procedure for Lasix Salix administration
set forth in Rules 15.2.1.9.1.2 through 15.2.1.9.1.7 above
will be removed from the "exempt" list, disqualified from the
race, and subject to the penalties in this Rule for subsequent
offenses.

15.2.1.10.3 If such overage is the second
violation of this rule for the same horse, the trainer and/or
attending veterinarian shall be fined a minimum of $100.00
and a maximum of $500.00.

15.2.1.10.4 If such overage is the third
violation of this rule for the same horse, the trainer and/or
attending veterinarian shall be issued a minimum suspension
of seven (7) days and a maximum suspension of fifteen (15)
days and shall be fined a minimum of $100.00 and a
maximum of $1,000.00, and the stewards in their discretion
may order loss of purse as an additional penalty.

15.2.1.10.5 If such overage is the fourth
violation for the same horse, the trainer and/or attending
veterinarian shall be issued a suspension of fifteen (15) days
to thirty (30) days, and shall be fined $250.00 to $1,000.00,
and the stewards will order loss of purse as a mandatory
penalty.

15.3  Responsibility for Prohibited Administration:
15.3.1 Any person found to have administered or

authorized a medication, drug or substance which caused or
could have caused a violation of Rules 15.1 or 15.2, or
caused, participated or attempted to participate in any way in
such administration, shall be subject to disciplinary action.

15.3.2 The registered Trainer of a horse found to
have been administered a medication, drug or substance in
violation of Rules 15.1 or 15.2 shall bear the burden of proof
to show freedom from negligence in the exercise of a high
degree of care in safeguarding such horse from being
tampered with and, failing to prove such freedom from

negligence (or reliance on the professional ability of a
licensed Veterinarian), shall be subject to disciplinary action.

15.3.3 The Assistant Trainer, groom, stable
watchman or any other person having the immediate care
and custody of a horse found to have been administered a
medication, drug or substance in violation of Rules 15.1 or
15.2, if found negligent in guarding or protecting such horse
from being tampered with, shall be subject to disciplinary
action.

15.3.4 A licensed Veterinarian shall be
responsible for any medication, drug or substance that he
administers, prescribes or causes to be administered by his
direction on a horse.  If found to have made an error in type
or quantity of same administered and if in reliance upon the
correctness thereof a Trainer races such treated horse in
violation of Rules 15.1 and 15.2, such licensed Veterinarian
shall be subject to disciplinary action.

15.4  Reports of Administration:
15.4.1 Before a licensed Veterinarian administers

or prescribes any drug or restricted substance for a horse, he
shall ascertain by reasonable inquiry whether the horse has
been entered to race at any track and, if the horse has been
entered, he shall not administer or prescribe any drug or
restricted substance within the time or manner restricted by
these Rules.

15.4.2  If, however, an emergency exists
involving the life or health of the horse, he may proceed to
treat or prescribe for the horse but shall report the matter as
promptly as practicable to the Commission Veterinarian and
Stewards.

15.4.3 Any Veterinarian practicing at any
Delaware race track shall file a daily report with the
Stewards and the Commission Veterinarian as to any
medication prescribed or administered or professional
service performed.  This report shall be filed in person or
postmarked within a period of forty-eight (48) hours from
the time of treatment.  Detection of any unreported
medication, drug or substance by the Commission's Chemist
in a pre-race or post-race test may be grounds for
disciplinary action against such Veterinarian.

15.4.4 Such daily reports shall accurately reflect
the identity of the horse treated, diagnosis, time of treatment,
type and dosage of medication, drug or substance and
method of administration.

15.4.5 Such daily reports shall remain
confidential except that the Commission's Veterinarian may
compile general data therefrom to assist the Commission in
formulating policies or rules and the Stewards may review
the same in investigating a possible violation of these rules.
See Rule 11.2.8 respecting a public list of horses declared to
race on medication.

15.4.6 When making an entry, it shall be the duty
of the Trainer or his representative, as required by Rule
11.02(d), to disclose and declare to the Racing Secretary or
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his representative whether said horse will race on any
medication permitted by these rules.

15.5  Report Prior to Race of Cessation or
Reduction of Medication:

15.5.1 For any horse entered to run in a race, a
timely report of the elimination or reduction since its last
race in the level of Phenylbutazone and/or similar
medications administered to it at the time of such last race
shall be made to the Commission's Veterinarian by the
horse's Owner, Trainer, attending Veterinarian and/or any
other person having supervision over, or custody of, such
horse.

Violation of this Rule will constitute grounds for
disciplinary action.

15.6 Bettors' Safeguard:
15.6.1 To help protect against inconsistent

performances, a horse which last raced after having been
administered Phenylbutazone and/or similar medication
shall not be permitted to race without having been
administered the same or similar medication at a comparable
level, unless the Commission's Veterinarian grants his prior,
express approval that such horse may race notwithstanding
that the medication program to which it was subjected at the
time of its last race has subsequently been eliminated or
reduced.

15.6.2 Violation of any aspect of this Rule by an
Owner, Trainer, attending Veterinarian or any other person
having supervision or custody of the horse will constitute
grounds for disciplinary action as provided by these Rules.

15.7 Commission List:
15.7.1 As a guide to Owners, Trainers and

Veterinarians, the Commission may from time to time
publish a list of medications, shown by brand and generic
names, specifically prohibited for racing.  Such list shall not
be considered exclusive and medications shown thereon
shall be considered only as among those, along with others
not so listed, prohibited by general classification under Rule
15.1.

15.8 Detention Area:
15.8.1 Each Licensee may provide and maintain

on its grounds a fenced enclosure sufficient in size and
facilities to accommodate stabling of horses temporarily
detained for the taking of sample specimens for chemical
testing; such detention area shall be under the supervision
and control of the Commission's Veterinarian.

15.9 Horses to be Tested:
15.9.1 The Stewards may at any time order the

taking of a blood, urine, or saliva specimen for testing from
any horse entered. Any Owner or Trainer may at any time
request that a specimen be taken from a horse he owns or
trains by Commission's Veterinarian and be tested by
Commission's Chemist, provided the costs of such testing
are borne by the Owner or Trainer requesting such test.

15.9.1.1 Every effort shall be made to
collect both blood and urine samples from all horses selected
for post-race testing.  Blood samples shall be tested:

15.9.1.1.1 For determination of
those drugs with regulatory thresholds;

15.9.1.1.2 For those drugs not
detectable in urine; and

15.9.1.1.3 To determine, when
possible, whether a positive test result is consistent with the
documented administration of the drug.

15.10 Procedure for Taking Specimens:
15.10.1  Horses from which specimens are to be

drawn shall be taken to the detention area at the prescribed
time and remain there until released by the Commission
veterinarian.  Only the owner, trainer, groom, or hotwalker
of horses to be tested shall be admitted to the detention area
without permission of the Commission veterinarian.

15.10.1.1 Blood samples must be collected
at a consistent time, preferably not later than one hour post-
race.

15.10.2 Stable equipment other than equipment
necessary for washing and cooling out a horse shall be
prohibited in the detention area.

15.10.2.1  Buckets and water shall be furnished
by the Commission veterinarian.

15.10.2.2 If a body brace is to be used, it shall
be supplied by the responsible trainer and administered only
with the permission and in the presence of the Commission
veterinarian.

15.10.2.3 A licensed veterinarian shall attend a
horse in the detention area only in the presence of the
Commission veterinarian.

15.10.3 One of the following persons shall be
present and witness the taking of the specimen from a horse
and so signify in writing:

15.10.3.1  The owner;
15.10.3.2  The responsible trainer who, in the

case of a claimed horse, shall be the person in whose name
the horse raced;  or

15.10.3.3  A stable representative designated
by such owner or trainer.

15.10.4 All urine containers shall be supplied by the
Commission laboratory and shall be sealed with the
laboratory security seal which shall not be broken, except in
the presence of the witness as provided by Rule 15.10.3.

15.10.5 Blood vacutainers will also be supplied by
the Commission laboratory in sealed packages as received
from the manufacturer.

15.10.6  Samples taken from a horse, by the
Commission veterinarian or his assistant at the detention
barn, shall be collected and in double containers and
designated as the "primary" and "secondary" samples.

15.10.6.1These samples shall be sealed with
tamper-proof tape and bear a portion of the multiple part
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"identification tag" that has identical printed numbers only.
The other portion of the tag bearing the same printed
identification number shall be detached in the presence of
the witness.

15.10.6.2 The Commission Veterinarian
shall:

15.10.6.2.1 Identify the horse from
which the specimen was taken.

15.10.6.2.2 Document the race and day,
verified by the witness;  and

15.10.6.2.3 Place the detached portions
of the identification tags in sealed envelope for delivery only
to the stewards.

15.10.6.3  After both portions of samples have
been identified in accordance with this section, the "primary"
sample shall be delivered to the official chemist designated
by the Commission.

15.10.6.3.1 Laboratories conducting
post-race sample analysis must have access to LC/MS
instrumentation for screening and/or confirmation purposes.

15.10.6.4  The "secondary" sample shall
remain in the custody of the Commission veterinarian at the
detention area and urine samples shall be frozen and blood
samples refrigerated in a locked refrigerator/freezer.

15.10.6.5  The Commission veterinarian shall
take every precaution to ensure that neither the Commission
chemist nor any member of the laboratory staff shall know
the identity of the horse from which a specimen was taken
prior to the completion of all testing.

15.10.6.6  When the Commission chemist has
reported that the "primary" sample delivered contains no
prohibited drug, the "secondary" sample shall be properly
disposed.

15.10.6.7  If after a horse remains a reasonable
time in the detention area and a specimen can not be taken
from the horse, the Commission veterinarian may permit the
horse to be returned to its barn and usual surroundings for
the taking of a specimen under the supervision of the
Commission veterinarian.

15.10.6.8  If one hundred (100) milliliters (ml.)
or less of urine is obtained, it will not be split, but will be
considered the "primary" sample and will be tested as other
"primary" samples.

15.10.6.9 Two (2) blood samples shall be
collected in twenty (20) milliliters vacutainers, one for the
"primary" and one for the "secondary" sample.

15.10.6.10  In the event of an initial finding of
a prohibited drug or in violation of these Rules, the
Commission chemist shall notify the Commission, both
orally and in writing, and an oral notice shall be issued by
the Commission to the owner and trainer or other responsible
person no more than twenty-four (24) hours after the receipt
of the initial finding, unless extenuating circumstances
require a longer period, in which case the Commission shall

provide notice as soon as possible in order to allow for
testing of the "secondary" sample.

15.10.6.10.1  If testing of the "secondary"
sample is desired, the owner, trainer, or other responsible
person shall so notify the Commission in writing within 48
hours after notification of the initial positive test or within a
reasonable period of time established by the Commission
after consultation with the Commission chemist.  The
reasonable period is to be calculated to insure the integrity of
the sample and the preservation of the alleged illegal
substance.

15.10.6.10.2  Testing of the "secondary"
samples shall be performed at a referee laboratory selected
by representatives of the owner, trainer, or other responsible
person from a list of not less than two (2) laboratories
approved by the Commission.

15.10.6.11 The Commission shall bear the
responsibility of preparing and shipping the sample, and the
cost of preparation, shipping, and testing at the referee
laboratory shall be assumed by the person requesting the
testing, whether it be the owner, trainer, or other person
charged.

15.10.6.11.1A Commission representative
and the owner, trainer, or other responsible person or a
representative of the persons notified under these Rules may
be present at the time of the opening, repackaging, and
testing of the "secondary" sample to ensure its identity and
that the testing is satisfactorily performed.

15.10.6.11.2  The referee laboratory shall
be informed of the initial findings of the Commission
chemist prior to the making the test.

15.10.6.11.3  If the finding of the referee
laboratory is proven to be of sufficient reliability and does
not confirm the finding of the initial test performed by the
Commission chemist and in the absence of other
independent proof of the administration of a prohibited drug
to the horse in question, it shall be concluded that there is
insubstantial evidence upon which to charge anyone with a
violation.

15.10.6.12  The Commission veterinarian shall
be responsible for safeguarding all specimens while in his
possession and shall cause the specimens to be delivered
only to the Commission chemist as soon as the possible after
sealing, in a manner so as not to reveal the identity of a horse
from which the sample was taken.

15.10.6.13  If an Act of God, power failure,
accident, strike or other action beyond the control of the
Commission occurs, the results of the primary official test
shall be accepted as prima facie evidence.

15.11 Commission Chemist:
15.11.1 The Commission's Chemist, who shall be

a member of the Association of Official Racing Chemists,
shall conduct tests on specimens provided him in order to
detect and identify prohibited substances therein and report
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 10, FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1401
on such in such a manner, and according to such procedures,
as the Commission from time to time may approve and/or
prescribe.

15.12  Prohibited Practices
15.12.1  The following conduct shall be prohibited

for all licensees:
15.12.1.1 The possession and/or use of a

drug, substance, or medication, specified below, on the
premises of a licensed race track under the jurisdiction of the
Commission for which a recognized analytical method has
not been developed to detect and confirm the administration
of such substance including but not limited to erythropoietin,
darbepoietin, and perfluorcarbon emulsions;  or the use of
which may endanger the health and welfare of the horse or
endanger the safety of the rider;  or the use of which may
adversely affect the integrity of racing.

15.12.1.2 The possession and/or use of a
drug, substance, or medication on the premises of a facility
under the jurisdiction of the regulatory body that has not
been approved by the United States Food and Drug
Administration (FDA) for use in the United States.

15.12.1.3 The practice, administration, or
application of Intermittent Hypoxic Treatment by  External
Device which is performed on the premises of a facility
under the jurisdiction of the Commission, and which may
endanger the health, safety, and welfare of the horse or
endanger the safety of the jockey, or the use of which may
adversely affect the integrity of racing.  Intermittent Hypoxic
Treatment is the administration of hypoxic gas to a horse for
the purpose of enhancing aerobic metabolism by simulating
training at a high altitude.

15.12.1.4 The use of a nasogastric tube (a
tube longer than six inches, inserted in a horses’ nostril) for
the administration of any substance within the 24-hour
period considered raceday is forbidden without prior
permission of the Commission.

15.12.1.5 The possession and/or use of
blood doping agents, including but not limited to the
following list, on the premises of a facility under the
jurisdiction of the Comission is forbidden: Erythropoietin;
Darbepoietin; Oxyglobin; Hemopure.

15.13 Shock Wave Therapy/Instruments
15.13.1 No person may possess on a licensee’s

race track an instrument used for shock wave therapy.
15.13.2 No horse may be treated with any form of

shock wave therapy within ten (10) days of racing (the day
of the treatment shall be considered the first day in counting
the number of days).  

15.13.3 The administration of shock wave therapy
may only be performed by a licensed veterinarian.  A
veterinarian using shock wave therapy shall document and
report each treatment on his daily medication report.

15.13.4 A Trainer or Veterinarian who has been
found to have violated any of the above provisions of this

Rule shall be subject to appropriate disciplinary action by the
stewards and/or Commission including but not limited to a
maximum suspension of ninety (90) days.

15.14 Blood Gas Testing
15.14.1 The Commission may use a testing

machine that measures carbon dioxide levels in pre-race
samples using a Base Excess testing protocol.  

15.14.2 Under this protocol, the prohibitive Base
Excess concentrations are as follows: Base Excess level of
10.0 mmol/l (mEq/l) or higher for non-furosemide (Salix)
treated horses and Base Excess (BE) level of 12.0 mmol/l
(mEq/l) or higher for furosemide (Salix) treated horse. The
level of uncertainty will be included before it is considered a
violation of these Rules. The level of uncertainty is 0.4
mmol/l (mEq/l) and a positive test report must include this
level of uncertainty. A horse must show a Base Excess (BE)
level of 10.4 mmol/l (mEq/l) or higher for non-furosemide
(Salix) treated horse and Base Excess (BE) level of 12.4
mmol/l (mEq/l) or higher for furosemide (Salix) treated
horse, in order for a violation to be reported under this Rule.

15.14.3 A licensee has the right, pursuant to the
quarantine procedure outlined at 15.15, or by such other
procedures as may be established from time to time by the
Commission, to attempt to prove that a horse has a naturally
high carbon dioxide level in excess of the above-mentioned
levels.

15.15 Quarantine Procedure For Carbon Dioxide
Positive Tests (Prerace Or Postrace)

15.15.1 Detention/Quarantine of Horses: The
owner or trainer must request use of the quarantine
procedure by sending written notice to the Stewards within
forty-eight (48) hours of notification of the positive carbon
dioxide test report. The owner or trainer will then be
permitted, totally at his/her own expense, to make the
necessary scheduling arrangements with theStewards and the
Commission Veterinarian. The horse in question will be
quarantined on the grounds for periodic blood gas testing by
the DTRC (up to three days) at the trainer's expense. All
caretaker activities for the horse in question will be the
responsibility of the horse's trainer.

15.15.2 Procedure: The owner or trainer will be
responsible for providing the DTRC with a minimum check
for $1,500.00 to cover the costs for the quarantine. A
professionally trained Track Security Officer must be with
the horse at all times, and the Security Officer must be
knowledgeable about the importance of monitoring all
activity pertaining to the quarantined horse.

15.15.3 The quarantine of a horse is subject to the
following mandatory requirements:

15.15.3.1 The owner or trainer will be
required to deposit sufficient funds with the DTRC Stewards
to cover the costs of the quarantine of the horse. The
minimum quarantine cost will be $1,500, and this figure may
be higher if additional special circumstances are required for
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 10, FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1402
a particular horse. None of these procedures will be initiated
until the Commission has in its possession a certified check
or other method of payment acceptable to the Commission.
The owner or trainer is responsible for all costs for the
quarantine, including but not limited to, the costs of: stall
bedding, daily cleaning of the stall, feed and hay, stall rent,
hourly guard salary, portable toilet rental, veterinary charge,
courier or shipping charges to the laboratory, laboratory
analysis costs. Unused funds will be returned to the trainer. 

15.15.3.2 The expected period of the
quarantine will be seventy-two hours.

15.15.3.3 The owner or trainer is required
to execute a reasonable liability waiver form if requested to
do so by the track for the quarantine of the horse on track
grounds.

15.15.3.4 The owner or trainer is obligated
to reimburse the track if the racing association is required to
purchase additional insurance to cover risks from the
quarantine of the trainer's horse. The owner or trainer is also
responsible for any additional costs required by the track to
pad or otherwise specially equip the quarantine stall.

15.15.3.5 All activity of the quarantined
horse is observed, documented, and recorded by security
officers for the track and the DTRC.

15.15.3.6 The Commission will be
responsible for arranging for and providing for bedding,
feed, water, and daily cleaning of the stall, all of which are at
the owner's expense. Feed for the horse will be purchased by
DTRC officials as specified by the owner or trainer. Samples
of the feed will be retained by the DTRC designated official.

15.15.3.7 Each bale of hay/straw will be
intact and uncut for inspection of contraband. Four small
samples of hay are to be taken from the bale of hay used to
feed the animal (one from each end of the bale of hay and
two from the middle of the bale of hay). These samples with
the ingredient tags from the bag of feed used by the horse
will be retained by the DTRC designated official.

15.15.3.8 Every trainer, groom, or caretaker
is subject to continuous observation and may be searched
when with the horse for contraband.

15.15.3.9 Horses may be trained, but if leg
paints or salves are used, they must be new and in unopened
containers, and the track Security Officer must monitor the
preparation of the horse.

15.15.3.10 A Security Officer must observe
the horse during training and ensure that it does not leave the
track except to return to the quarantine stall.

15.15.3.11 A sick horse must only be
determined ill by the Commission’s Veterinarian and the
quarantine of the horse will be terminated. Any bills incurred
for the quarantine of the horse prior to the illness and
termination of the detention will be prorated.

15.15.3.12 Stalls for the quarantine of horses
are designated by the Stewards of the DTRC, in cooperation
with the racetrack.

15.15.3.13 Trainers can restrict water based
on previous pre-race preparation schedules.

15.15.3.14 Trainers are expected to train
their horse in the same manner as the horse was trained on
previous racing events. The horse will be equipped with all
the items that it would normally carry, taken to the paddock,
and handled in a manner similar to previous racing events.

15.15.3.15 Blood samples will be taken from
the quarantined horse by the Commission Veterinarian, as he
or she deems appropriate and necessary during the
quarantine period. A blood sample should be taken when the
horse first enters the quarantine stall and again at the pre-
arranged time between sixty (60) and seventy-two (72)
hours. At the discretion of the Commission, another sample
may be taken between the initial sample and the sample
taken at the cessation of the quarantine period. Blood
samples will only be taken from the horse that is at rest for a
period of time approved by the Commission Veterinarian.
The owner or trainer or his/her representative must be
present and witness the collection of the blood samples.
Blood samples will be shipped promptly to the
Commission's designated testing laboratory, pursuant to the
Commission's standard chain-of-custody procedures.

15.15.3.16 At the conclusion of the
quarantine period, the party requesting the quarantine will be
provided timely notice of the test results from the DTRC.
The trainer may present such evidence at a hearing before
theStewards if he or she attempts to prove that the horse has
a naturally high carbon dioxide level.

1 DE Reg. 508 (11/1/97)
1 DE Reg. 1184 (2/1/98)
3 DE Reg. 754 (12/1/99)
4 DE Reg. 179 (7/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1131 (1/1/01)
4 DE Reg. 1821 (5/1/01)
6 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/02)
6 DE Reg. 1205 (3/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 766 (12/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1540 (5/1/04)

19.0 Hearings, Reviews and Appeals
19.1 Procedure Before Stewards:

19.1.1 Before holding any Stewards' hearing
provided for under these Rules, notice in writing must be
given to any party charged with a violation, other than a
routine riding offense occurring in a race, unless such notice
is waived in writing by the person charged.

19.1.2 The notice required by the preceding
subsection shall include:
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19.1.2.1 Identification of the specific Rule or
Rules involved, the infraction for which he is charged and a
brief statement of the facts supporting such charge.

19.1.2.2  The time and place of hearing.
19.1.2.3 The statement that the party charged

may be represented by legal counsel or by a representative of
any racing trade organization of which he is a member.

19.1.3 All Stewards' hearings shall be closed and
the Stewards shall cause no public announcement to be made
concerning a matter under investigation until the conclusion
of the hearing and the party charged has been notified of the
decision.

19.1.4 The hearing shall be conducted by no less
than two of the Stewards in such a manner as to ascertain and
determine the substantial rights of the parties involved and
shall not be bound by technical rules of procedure and
evidence. In emergencies during the live racing meet or
during periods when there is no live racing, a hearing may be
conducted by only one Steward.

7 DE Reg. 316 (9/1/03)
19.1.5 All testimony at such hearings shall be

given under oath.  A record shall be made of the hearing,
either by use of a tape recorder or by court reporter's
transcript, or otherwise, if funds for such are made available
from any source.  The Stewards will not be required to
receive testimony under oath in cases where their ruling is
based upon a review of the video tapes of a race.

19.1.6 If, at the conclusion of their hearing, the
Stewards find that a Rule has been violated, they promptly
shall issue a written ruling which sets forth the name of
every person charged with a violation, the Rule violated,
their finding as to the violation of such Rule and the penalty
affixed.  Copies of such rulings shall be delivered to each
party in interest and to the Commission and the Licensee,
and posted in the Racing Secretary's office.

19.2 Review and Appeal:
19.2.1 Any party who is penalized by any order

or ruling of the Stewards may apply to the Commission for a
review of such Stewards' order or ruling.

19.3 Application for Review:
19.3.1 An application to the Commission for the

review of a Steward's order or ruling must be made within
forty-eight (48) hours after such order or ruling is issued by
written or oral notice and shall:

19.3.1.1 Be in writing and addressed to the
Commission’s Administrator of Racing, accompanied by a
filing fee of $250 plus an additional fee of $150 to cover the
cost of administrative expenses including court reporter
costs.  The Commission, for just cause, may refund the $250
portion of the filing fee.  In no event shall the advance
payment of the court reporter’s fee be refunded.

19.3.1.2 Contain the signature of the applicant
and the address to which notices may be mailed to applicant;

19.3.1.3 Set forth the order or ruling requested
to be reviewed and the date thereof;

19.3.1.4  Succinctly set forth the reasons for
making such application;

19.3.1.5  Request a hearing;
19.3.1.6  Briefly set forth the relief sought; and
19.3.1.7 Provide assurance to the Commission

that all expenses occasioned by the appeal will be borne by
the applicant; and

19.3.1.8 Contain a sworn, notarized statement
that the applicant has a good faith belief that the appeal is
meritorious and is not taken merely to delay the penalty
imposed by the stewards.

19.4 Disposition of Review Application:
19.4.1 After consideration of any such

application for review, the Commission may grant the
application, defer it or reject it.  The applicant shall be
advised of the Commission's disposition of his application
for review.

19.5 Commission Hearing:
19.5.1 If the Commission grants any such

application for review, before holding any hearing thereon, it
shall:

19.5.1.1 Give written notice forthwith to the
applicant and all other necessary parties personally or by
mail, including:

19.5.1.1.1 Time and place of such hearing
as designated by the Commission Chairman, but such time
shall not be less than five (5) days and no more than thirty
(30) days after service of notice unless at the request of a
party and in order to provide a fair hearing.

19.5.1.1.2  Except to applicant, a copy of
the application for review.

19.5.2 The Commission may request the
Attorney General to appoint a special prosecutor to carry the
burden of proof showing a Rule violation if the matter
involves a Rule violation and requires a proceeding of an
adversary nature, such prosecutor being an attorney who has
had no prior participation in the matter on review.

19.5.3 The Commission may request the
Attorney General, or a member of his staff other than the
special prosecutor, to serve as law officer for the
Commission to assist the presiding officer in rendering
decisions of a judicial nature.

19.5.4 The Commission shall permit all parties
that so desire to be represented by counsel and, to the extent
it deems necessary or appropriate, shall permit all parties to
respond and present evidence and argument on all issues
involved.

19.5.5 The Commission may issue, under the
hand of its Chairman and the seal of the Commission,
subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and the production
of books, papers and documents, before the Commission,
and may administer oaths or affirmations to the witnesses
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whenever, in the judgment of the Commission, it may be
necessary for the effectual discharge of its duties.

19.5.6 If any person refuses to obey any
subpoena or to testify or produce any books, papers or
documents, then any Commissioner may apply to the
Superior Court of the county in which he or the Commission
may be sitting and, thereupon, the Court shall issue its
subpoena requiring the person to appear and to testify or
produce any books, papers or documents.

19.5.7 Whoever fails to obey or refuses to obey a
subpoena of the Superior Court shall be guilty of contempt
of court and shall be punished accordingly.

19.5.8 False swearing on the part of any witness
shall be deemed perjury and shall be punished as such.

19.5.9 All tape recordings or stenographic
recordings taken and transcriptions made of the hearing or
any part thereof shall be paid for by such parties as request
that such a tape or stenographic record be made of the
hearing, except that additional transcripts thereof shall be
paid for by the person desiring such copies.

19.5.10 The Commission may exclude evidence
that is irrelevant, immaterial or unduly repetitious and may
admit evidence that would be inadmissible under the Civil
Rules of Procedure but is evidence of the type commonly
relied upon by reasonably prudent men in the conduct of
their affairs.

19.5.11 All or part of the evidence may be received
in written form if the interest of the appearing parties will not
be substantially prejudiced thereby.

19.5.12 The Commission may take official notice
of technical facts or customs or procedures common to
racing.

19.5.13 The Commission may make an informal
disposition of the matter by stipulation, agreed settlement,
consent order or default.

19.5.14 Upon conclusion of the hearing, the
Commission shall take the matter under advisement, shall
render a decision as promptly as possible and shall issue a
ruling in final adjudication of the matter.  Such ruling shall
set forth the name of every person charged with a Rule
violation; the Rule number and pertinent parts of the Rule
alleged to have been violated; a separate statement of
reasons for the decision; and penalties fixed by the
Commission, if any.  Copies of such ruling shall be delivered
to each party in interest, posted in the Racing Secretary's
office of the Licensee where the matter arose and forwarded
to the national office of the National Association of State
Racing Commissioners.

19.5.15 The Commission, for just cause, may
refund the filing fee to the applicant.

Added:  9/27/94
19.6 Continuances:

19.6.1 All applications for a continuance of a
scheduled hearing shall be in writing, shall set forth the

reasons therefor and shall be filed with the Commission's
Administrator of Racing after giving notice of such
application by mail or otherwise to all parties or their
attorneys, including counsel for the stewards.  The
Commission will not consider any continuance request from
counsel for an appellant unless counsel has filed a written
entry of appearance with the Commission.  For attorneys
who are not members of the Delaware bar, those attorneys
must comply with the provisions of Delaware Supreme
Court Rule 72 for admission pro hac vice before the
Commission.  The Commission will not consider any
continuance request from attorneys who are not members of
the Delaware bar unless and until that attorney has been
formally admitted under Delaware Supreme Court Rule 72
as the attorney of record for the appellant. 

19.6.2 When application is made for continuance
of a cause because of the illness of an applicant, witness or
counsel, such application shall be accompanied by a medical
certificate attesting to such illness and inability.

19.6.3 An application for continuance of any
hearing must be received by the Commission at least ninety-
six (96) hours prior to the time fixed for the hearing.  An
application received by the Commission within the 96-hour
period will not be granted except for extraordinary reasons.
The Commission will not consider any request for a
continuance absent evidence of good cause for the request.
A failure by an appellant to take reasonable action to retain
counsel shall not be considered good cause for a
continuance.

19.6.4 If the Commission approves the
application for continuance, it shall, concurrently with such
postponement, set a date for the continued hearing.

3 DE Reg. 1541 (5/1/00)
8 DE Reg. 1289 (3/1/05)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Thoroughbred Racing
Commission is available at:

http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title3/
1000/index.shtml#TopOfPage
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 503

EDUCATION IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT TO
14 DEL.C. Section 122(d)

503 Instructional Program Requirements

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the

State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
503 Instructional Program Requirements by removing
section 5.0 Functional Life Skills Curriculum.  The reference
to the Standards for the Functional Life Skills was removed
from 14 DE Admin. Code 501 State Content Standards in
September 2004 because federal regulations no longer allow
the use of separate functional standards that are aligned to
academic content standards.  In order to align 14 DE Admin.
Code 503 Instructional Program Requirements with 14 DE
Admin. Code 501 State Content Standards the reference to
the Functional Life Skills Curriculum in 5.0 of 14 DE
Admin. Code 503 Instructional Program Requirements must
be removed.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amendment to the regulation simply aligns it
with its companion regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 501
State Content Standards.  

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amendment to
the regulation simply aligns it with its companion regulation
14 DE Admin. Code 501 State Content Standards.  

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amendment to the regulation simply aligns it with its
companion regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 501 State
Content Standards.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amendment to the
regulation simply aligns it with its companion regulation 14
DE Admin. Code 501 State Content Standards.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level?  The amended regulation will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place any unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less burdensome
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is cost to
the State and to the local school boards of compliance with
the regulation. 

503 Instructional Program Requirements

1.0 English Language Arts
1.1 Local school districts and each charter school shall

provide instructional programs in English Language Arts for
each grade K-12.

1.2 All public school students in each grade K-8 shall
be enrolled in an English language arts program.

1.3 All public school students in grades 9-12 shall
complete the credits in English language arts necessary to
graduate from high school.

2.0 Mathematics
2.1 Local school districts and each charter school shall

provide instructional programs in mathematics for each
grade K-12.

2.2 All public school students in each grade K-8 shall
be enrolled in a mathematics program.

2.3 All public school students in grades 9-12 shall
complete the credits in mathematics necessary to graduate
from high school.
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3.0 Science
3.1 Local school districts and each charter school shall

provide instructional programs in science for each grade K-
12.

3.2 All public school students in each grade K-8 shall
be enrolled in a science program.

3.3 All public school students in grades 9-12 shall
complete the credits in science necessary to graduate from
high school.

4.0 Social Studies
4.1 Local school districts and each charter school shall

provide instructional programs in social studies for each
grade K-12.

4.2 All public school students in each grade K-8 shall
be enrolled in a social studies program.

4.3 All public school students in grades 9-12 shall
complete the credits in social studies necessary to graduate
from high school.

5.0 Functional Life Skills Curriculum
5.1 Local school districts and each charter school shall

provide instructional programs for students for whom a
functional life skills curriculum is appropriate.

5.2 Public school students in the Functional Life Skills
Curriculum shall participate in health, physical education,
visual and performing arts and vocational technical
programs as directed by their Individual Education Program
(IEP).

6.0 5.0Physical Education
6.1 5.1 Local school districts and each charter school

shall provide instructional programs in physical education
for each grade K-12 with the exception of the James H.
Groves High School program.

6.2 5.2 All public school students in each grade 1-8
shall be enrolled in a physical education program.

6.3 5.3 All public school students in grades 9-12 shall
complete the credit in physical education necessary to
graduate from high school.

6.4 5.4 In addition to the one credit required for high
school graduation, only one additional elective credit in
physical education may be used to fulfill the graduation
requirements.

6.5 5.5 The physical education requirements may be
waived only for students who have an excuse from a
qualified physician or objections based on religious beliefs.
The local school district shall have the authority to grant
such waivers.

7.0 6.0 Visual and Performing Arts
7.1 6.1 Local school districts and each charter school

shall provide instructional programs in the visual and

performing arts for each grade K-12 with the exception of
the James H. Groves High School program.

7.2 6.2 All public school students in each grade 1-6
shall be enrolled in a visual and performing arts program.

8.0 7.0 Vocational Technical Education
8.1 7.1 Local school districts and charter schools,

when consistent with the charter school's approved program,
shall provide instructional programs in two or more
vocational technical education areas in grades 7 and 8.

5 DE Reg. 865 (10/1/01)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C.  §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp and Cash Assistance Programs

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend the policies of the Food Stamp Program
and the Cash Assistance Program in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates to trafficking victims.  

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by April 30, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

Citation
• The Trafficking Victims Protection

Reauthorization Act (TVPRA) of 2003
• The following changes are made in DSSM 3024

and DSSM 9007.1:
• Eligible family members of victims of severe
trafficking can now receive a Derivative T Visa
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 10, FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 2005

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/index.html


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1407
and are now eligible to receive food stamp and
cash benefits the same as refugees.

3024  Citizens and Aliens
[233.50]

Only U.S. citizens and qualified aliens, as defined in
section 431 of PRWORA, are eligible to receive cash
assistance benefits

Citizens are those persons born in the 50 states and the
District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, U.S. Virgin
Islands, and Northern Mariana Islands. Children born
outside of the United States are citizens if both parents are
citizens.

Qualified aliens who entered the United States prior to
August 22, 1996 are treated as if they were United States
citizens. Qualified aliens are defined as aliens who are:

1. An alien lawfully admitted for permanent
residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA);

2. An alien granted asylum under section 208 of
the INA;

3. A refugee admitted to the United States under
section 207 of the INA;

4. An alien paroled into the United States under
section 212(d)(5) of the INA for a period of at least 1 year;

5. An alien whose deportation is being withheld
under section 243(h) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1,
1997, or whose removal is being withheld under section
241(b)(3) of the INA;

6. An alien granted conditional entry under
section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1,
1980;

7. An alien who is a Cuban or Haitian entrant; or
8. An alien who (or whose child or parent) has

been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in the United
States and otherwise satisfies the requirements of 8 U.S.C.
1641(c). 

Qualified aliens admitted on or after August 22, 1996,
are barred from receiving cash benefits for five (5) years,
except for certain excepted groups described below who are
not subject to the bar. The following excepted groups of
aliens are exempt from the 5-year ban on benefits:

1. Qualified aliens lawfully residing in the State
who are honorably discharged veterans and who fulfill
minimum active-duty service requirements, or who are on
non-training active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces, or who
are the spouse, unmarried dependent child, or unremarried
surviving spouse of such a veteran or active-duty personnel,
provided that, in the latter case, the marriage satisfied the
requirements of 38 U.S.C. § 1304;

2. Refugees, for a period of five years after the
date they entered the U.S. as refugees;

3. Asylees, for a period of five years after
obtaining such status;  

4. Aliens whose deportation of removal has been
withheld, for a period of five years after obtaining such
status; 

5. Cuban/Haitian entrants, as defined in section
501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980, for
a period of five years after they obtain such status; and

6. Amerasian immigrants from Vietnam, admitted
to the U.S. pursuant to section 84 of the Foreign Operations,
Export Financing, and Related Programs Appropriations Act
of !988, for a period of five years after their admission.

7. Individuals who are eligible due to being
lawfully admitted for permanent residence (LPR) who can
be credited with 40 quarters of work; 

8. Victims of Severe Trafficking per Public Law
106-386 Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000:

Severe forms of trafficking is defined as,
• sex trafficking in which a

commercial sex act is induced by
force, fraud, or coercion, or in
which the person induct to perform
such an act has not attained 18 years
of age; or

• the recruitment, harboring,
transportation, provision, or
obtaining of a person for labor or
services, through the use of force,
fraud, or coercion for the purpose of
subjection to involuntary servitude,
peonage, debt bondage, or slavery.

Adult victims of severe trafficking will be
certified by the U. S. Department of Health and Human
Services (HHS) and will receive a certification letter.
Children, those under 18 years of age, who are victims of
severe trafficking do not need to be certified but will receive
a letter stating that the child is a victim of a severe form of
trafficking.  These victims of trafficking are treated like
refugees.  Victims of trafficking do not have to hold a certain
immigration status, but they need to be certified by HHS in
order to be eligible for cash assistance; and

9. An alien who (or whose child or parent) has
been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in the United
States and otherwise satisfies the requirements of 8 U.S.C.
1641(c). 

Documentation:
1. Lawful permanent resident status is verified

by:
• INS Form I-551; or
• Unexpired temporary I-551 stamp in

foreign passport or on INS Form I-94.
2. Refugee status is verified by:

• INS Form I-94 annotated with stamp
showing admission under section 207 of
the INS;
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• INS Form I-688B (Employment
Authorization Card) annotated
"274a12(a)(3);

• INS Form I-766 (Employment
Authorization Document) annotated
"A3"; or

• INS Form I-571 (Refugee travel
Document).

3. Asylee status is verified by:
• INS Form I-94 annotated with stamp

showing grant of asylum under § 208 of
the INA;

• INS Form I-688B (Employment
Authorization Card) annotated
“274a12(a)(5);

• INS Form I-766 (Employment
Authorization Document annotated
“A5”;

• Grant letter from the Asylum Office of
INS; or

• Order from an immigration judge
granting asylum.

4. The status of an alien whose deportation is
withheld is verified by:

• INS Form I-688B (Employment
Authorization Card) annotated
"274a12(a)(10); 

• INS Form I-766 (Employment
Authorization Document) annotated
"A10"; or

• Order from an immigration judge
showing deportation withheld under
§243(h) of the INA as in effect prior to
April 1, 1997, or removal withheld
under §241(b)(3) of the INA.

5. Cuban/Haitian entrant status is verified by:
• INS Form I-551 (Alien Registration

Receipt Card) with the code CU6, CU7,
or CH6;

• An unexpired temporary I-551 stamp in
foreign passport or on INS Form I-94
with the code CU6 or CU7;

• INS Form I-94 with stamp showing
parole as "Cuban/Haitian Entrant"
(Status Pending);

• INS Form I-94 showing parole into the
United States on or after October 10,
1980; and

• Cuban or Haitian passport, identity card,
birth certificate, or other reasonable
evidence of Cuban or Haitian nationality

6. Amerasian immigrant status is verified by:
• INS Form I-551 with the code AM6,

AM7, or AM8; or

• Unexpired temporary I-551 stamp in
foreign passport or on INS Form I-94
with the code AM1, AM2, or AM3.

7. The 40 qualifying quarters of work is
determined under Title II of the Social Security Act.  This
includes the quarters of work not covered by Title II of the
Social Security Act. Quarters of work not covered by Title II
of the Social Security Act is based on the sum of the
following:

• quarters the alien worked;
• quarters credited from the work of a

parent of the alien before the alien
became 18 (including quarters worked
before the alien was born or adopted);
and

• quarters credited from the work of a
spouse of an alien during their marriage
if they are still married or the spouse is
deceased.

NOTE:  A spouse cannot get credit for quarters
of coverage of a spouse when the couple divorces before
determination of eligibility is made. If a determination of
eligibility has been made based on the quarters of coverage
of a spouse, and the couple later divorces, the alien's
eligibility continues until the next recertification.  At that
time, eligibility is determined without crediting the alien
with the former spouse's quarters of coverage.  (Beginning
January 1, 19997, any quarter in which the alien received
any Federal means-tested benefits does not count as a
qualifying quarter.  A parent's or spouse's quarter is not
creditable if the parent or spouse received any Federal
means-tested benefits or actually received food stamps in
that quarter.  If an alien earns the 40th quarter of coverage
before applying for food stamps or any other Federal means-
tested benefit in that same quarter, all that quarter toward the
40 qualifying quarters total.);

8. When a victim of a severe form of trafficking
applies for benefits, DSS will follow normal procedures for
refugees except DSS will:

• Accept the original certification letter or
letter for children in place of INS
documentation.  Victims of severe forms
of trafficking are not required to
provided any documentation regarding
immigrant status. (DO NOT SEND FOR
SAVE VERIFICATION.)

• Call the trafficking verification line at
(202) 401-5510 to confirm the validity
of the certification letter or similar letter
for children and to notify the Office of
Refugee Resettlement (ORR) of the
benefits for which the individual has
applied.
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• Note the "entry date" for the refugee
benefit purposes. The individual's "entry
date" for refugee benefits purposes is the
certification date, which appears in the
body of the certification letter or letter
for children.

• Issue benefits to the same extent as a
refugee, provided the victim of a severe
form of trafficking meets other program
eligibility criteria like income limits.

• Recertification letters will be used to
confirm that the individual continues to
meet the certification requirements.
These letters will have the same "entry
date" as the original certification letters.
The regular recertification periods will
apply to these individuals in the same
manner that they apply to refugees; and

• Victims of trafficking are issued T visas
by US Immigration and Citizenship
Services. 

• The Trafficking Victims Protection
Reauthorization Act (TVPRA) of 2003
expanded eligibility to include the minor
children, spouses, and in some cases the
parents and siblings of victims of severe
trafficking.  Under TVPRA, eligible
relatives of trafficking victims are
entitled to visas designated as T-2, T-3,
T-4 or T-5 (known as Derivative T
Visas) and are eligible like the direct
victims of severe trafficking.

• If an alien is awarded a T visa and was
under the age of 21 years on the date the
T visa application was filed, the
Derivative T Visas are available to the
alien’s spouse, children, unmarried
siblings under 18 years of age, and
parents.

• If an alien is awarded a T visa and was
age of 21 years or older on the date the T
visa application was filed, the Derivative
T Visas are available to the alien’s
spouse and children.

9. For aliens who (or whose child or parent) is
claiming that they have been battered or subjected to
extreme cruelty in the United States and otherwise meets the
requirements of 8 U.S.C. 1641(c) call PPDU to determine if
the documentation provided is satisfactory.

Aliens admitted as temporary residents are not eligible
for public assistance benefits. Included are visitors, tourists,
diplomats, and students.

Citizenship and alien status are verified at the time of
application.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

9007.1 Citizens and Qualified Aliens
[273.4]

Citizens and Qualified Aliens
The following residents of the United States are

eligible to participate in the Food Stamp Program without
limitations based on their citizenship/alienage status:

1. Persons born in the 50 states and the District of
Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Islands, and the
Northern Mariana Islands. Children born outside the United
States are citizens if both parents are citizens;

2. Naturalized citizens or a Untied States non-
citizen national (person born in an outlaying possession of
the United States, like American Samoa or Sawin's Island, or
whose parents are U.S. non-citizen nationals;

3. Individuals who are:
An American Indian born in Canada who

possesses at least 50 per centum of blood of the American
Indian race to whom the provisions of section 289 of the
Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) apply;

A member of an Indian tribe as defined in
section 4(e) of the Indian Self-Determination and Education
Assistance Act which is recognized as eligible for the special
programs and services provided by the U.S. to Indians
because of their status as Indians;

Lawfully residing in the U.S. and was a
member of the Hmong or Highland Laotian tribe at the time
that the tribe rendered assistance to U.S. personnel by taking
part in a military or rescue operation during the Vietnam era
beginning August 5, 1964, and ending May 7, 1975;

The spouse or surviving spouse of such
Hmong or Highland Laotian who is deceased, or

An unmarried dependent child of such
Hmong or highland Laotian who is under the age of 18 or if a
full-time student under the age of 22 of such a deceased
Hmong or Highland Laotian provided that the child was
dependent upon him or her at the time of his or her death; or
an unmarried disabled child age 18 or older if the child was
disabled and dependent prior to the child's 18th birthday.

4. Individuals who are eligible indefinitely due to
being:

A lawfully admitted for permanent residence
(LPR) who can be credited with 40 quarters of work as
determined under Title II of the Social Security Act,
including qualifying quarters of work not covered by Title II
of the Social Security Act, based on the sum of : quarters the
alien worked; quarters credited for the work of a parent the
alien before the alien became 18 (including quarters worked
before the alien was born or adopted); and quarters credited
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from the work of a spouse of an alien during their marriage if
they are still married or the spouse is deceased.  A spouse
cannot get credit for quarters of coverage of a spouse when
the couple divorces before a determination of eligibility is
made.  If a determination of eligibility has been made based
on the quarters of coverage of a spouse, and the couple later
divorces, the alien's eligibility continues until the next
recertification.  At that time, eligibility is determined without
crediting the alien with the former spouses quarters of
coverage.  (Beginning January 1, 1997, any quarter in which
the alien received any Federal means-tested benefits does not
count as a qualifying quarter.  A parent's or spouse's quarter
is not creditable if the parent or spouse received any Federal
means-tested benefits or actually received food stamps in
that quarter.  If an alien earns the 40th quarter of coverage
before applying for food stamps or any other Federal means-
tested benefit in that same quarter, all that quarter toward the
40 qualifying quarters total.); 

lawfully living in the U. S. for five (5) years as
a qualified alien beginning on the date of entry:

Qualified aliens include lawfully admitted
residents (holders of green cards), those granted asylum,
refugees, victims of a severe form of trafficking, those
paroled in the United States under section 212(d)(5) of the
INA for at least one year, those whose deportation is being
withheld, those granted conditional entry under section
501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980,
Cuban or Haitian entrants, and under certain  circumstances,
a battered spouse, battered child or parent or child or
battered person with a petition pending under 204(a)(1)(A)
or (B) or 244(a)(3) of the INA.

lawfully in US and is now under 18 years
of age;

lawfully in US and is receiving disability
or blind (payments listed under DSSM 9013.1)

lawfully in US and 65 or older on 8/22/96
(born on or before 8/22/31).

An alien with one of the following military
connections:

A veteran who was honorably
discharged for reasons other than alien status who fulfills the
minimum active-duty service requirements of 38 U.S.C.
5303A(d), including an individual who died in active
military, naval or air service;

A veteran includes an individual who
served before July 1, 1946, in the organized military forces
of the Government of the Commonwealth of the Philippines
while such forces were in the service of the Armed Forces of
the U.S. or in the Philippine Scouts, as described in 389
U.S.C. 107;

An individual on active duty in the
Armed Forces of the U.S. other than for training; or

The spouse and unmarried dependent
children (legally adopted or biological) of a person described
above in (i) through (iii), including spouse of a deceased
veteran, provided the marriage fulfilled the requirements of
38 U.S.C. 1304, and the spouse has not remarried. An
unmarried child for the purposes of this section is: a child
who is under the age of 18 or, if a full-time student, under the
age of 22; such unmarried dependent child of a deceased
veteran was dependent upon the veteran at the time of the
veteran's death; or an unmarried disabled child age 18 or
older if the child was disabled and dependent on the veteran
prior to the child's 18th birthday.

5. The following aliens with a seven-year (7) time
limit:

(A) refugees admitted under section 207
of the Act;

(B) asylees admitted and granted asylum
under section 208 of the Act;

(C) aliens whose deportation or removal
has been withheld under section 241(b)(3) and 243 (h) of the
INA.

(D) Cuban and Haitians admitted under
section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Act of 1980; and

(E) Amerasians admitted under Section
584 of the Foreign Operations, Export Financing, and
Related Programs Appropriations Act, 1998.

The seven-year (7) time limit begins
from the date they obtained their alien status, (was granted
asylum, was admitted as a refugee, from the date the
deportation or removal was withheld).

(F) Immigrants who are victims of severe
trafficking in persons per Public Law 106-386 Trafficking
Victims Protection Act of 2000.  Severe forms of trafficking
in persons is defined as sex trafficking in which a
commercial sex act is induced by force, fraud, or coercion,
or in which the person induced to perform such an act has
not attained 18 years of age; or the recruitment, harboring,
transportation, provision, or obtaining of a person for labor
services, through the use of force, fraud, or coercion for the
purpose of subjection to involuntary servitude, peonage, debt
bondage, or slavery.  Victims of trafficking are issued T visas
by US Immigration and Citizenship Services.

The Trafficking Victims Protection
Reauthorization Act (TVPRA) of 2003 expanded eligibility
to include the minor children, spouses, and in some cases the
parents and siblings of victims of severe trafficking.  Under
TVPRA, eligible relatives of trafficking victims are entitled
to visas designated as T-2, T-3, T-4 or T-5 (known as
Derivative T Visas) and are eligible for food stamps like the
direct victims of severe trafficking.

If an alien is awarded a T visa and was
under the age of 21 years on the date the T visa application
was filed, the Derivative T Visas are available to the alien's
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spouse, children, unmarried siblings under 18 years of age,
and parents.

If an alien is awarded a T visa and was
age of 21 years or older on the date the T visa application
was filed, the Derivative T Visas are available to the alien's
spouse and children.

Adult victims of severe trafficking
will be certified by the U. S. Department of Health and
Human Services (HHS) and will receive a certification letter.
Children, those under 18 years of age, who are victims of
severe trafficking do not need to be certified but will receive
a letter stating that the child is a victim of a severe form of
trafficking.  These victims of trafficking, and eligible
relatives awarded a Derivative T Visa,  are treated like
refugees for food stamp purposes.  Victims of trafficking do
not have to hold a certain immigration status, but they need
to be certified by HHS in order to receive food stamps.

When a direct victim of a severe form
of trafficking applies for benefits, DSS will follow normal
procedures for refugees except DSS will:

1. Accept the original
certification letter for child in place of INS documentation.
Victims of severe forms of trafficking are not required to
provide any documentation regarding immigrant status.
(DO NOT CALL SAVE.)

2. Call the trafficking
verification line at (202) 401-5510 to confirm the validity of
the certification letter or similar letter for children and to
notifiy the Offices of Refugee Resettlement (ORR) of the
benefits for which the individual has applied.

3. Note the "entry date" for
refugee benefit purposes.  The individual's "entry date" for
refugee benefit purposes is the certification date, which
appears in the body of the certification letter or letter for
children.

4. Issue benefits to the same
extent as a refugee, provided the victim of a severe form of
trafficking meets other program eligibility criteria like
income limits.

5. Re-certification letters will
be used to confirm that the individual continues to meet the
certification requirements. These letters will have the same
"entry date" as the original certification letters. The regular
recertification periods will apply to these individuals in the
same manner that they apply to refugees.

6. The seven-year (7) time limit
begins from the date they obtained their alien status, (was
granted asylum, was admitted as a refugee, from the date the
deportation or removal was withheld).

7. An alien who has been
battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in the U.S. by a
spouse or a parent or by a member of the spouse or parent's
family residing in the same household as the alien at the time
of the abuse, an alien whose child has been battered or

subjected to battery or cruelty, or an alien child whose parent
has been battered.

When an eligible relative of a direct
victim of severe trafficking applies for benefits:

1. Accept the nonimmigrant T-
2, T-3, T-4 or T-5 Derivative Visa and follow the normal
procedures for providing services and benefits to refugees.

2. Call the toll-free trafficking
verification line at 1 (866) 401-5510 to notify ORR of the
benefits for which the individual has applied.  (NOTE:  the
DHS Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE)
system does not contain information about victims of a
severe form of trafficking or nonimmigrant alien family
members. DO NOT CONTACT SAVE concerning victims
of trafficking or their nonimmigrant alien family members.)

3. Issue benefits to the same
extent as a refugee provided the Derivative T Visa holder
meets other program eligibility criteria like income.

4. For an individual who is
already present in the United States on the date the
Derivative T Visa is issued, the date of entry for food stamp
purposes is the Notice Date on the I-797, Notice of Action of
Approval of that individual’s Derivative T Visa.

5. For an individual who enters
the United States on the basis of a Derivative T Visa, the date
of entry for food stamp purposes is the date of entry stamped
on that individual’s passport or I-94 Arrival Record.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C.  §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Long Term Care Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding the Long Term Care Program. The
proposal gives direction on counting gifts to minors under
the Uniform Gifts to Minors Act (UGMA) for the eligibility
process.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program
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Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by April 30, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary Of The Proposed Change

Citation

• SSA Program Operations Manual - SI 01120.205
• DSSM 20330.9 - Adds a new rule that addresses

Uniform Gifts to Minors Act (UGMA) and how
this resource counts towards the eligibility
process. The rule clarifies when UGMA assets
are counted or excluded as a resource.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-14

NEW:

DSSM 20330.9 Uniform Gifts to Minors Act
Most States have adopted the Uniform Gifts to Minors

Act (UGMA) which permits making gifts to minors that are
free of tax burdens. The UGMA is sometimes called the
Uniform Transfers to Minors Act (UTMA).

Under UGMA legislation:
• An individual makes an irrevocable gift of

money or other property to a minor
• The gift, plus any earnings it generates, is

under the control of a custodian until the
child reaches the age of majority established
by State law;

• The custodian has discretion to provide to
the minor or spend for the minor’s support,
maintenance, benefit or education as much
of the assets as he/she deems equitable; and 

• The child automatically receives control of
the assets upon age of majority (through his/
her 18th birthday).  At this time, the UGMA
property becomes a countable asset.

UGMA property including any additions or earnings is
not income to the minor.  However, any disbursements from
the UGMA account to the minor will be considered income
to the minor.

Verification
Verify all allegations of existence of a UGMA gift by

obtaining a copy of the document of ownership (e.g., deed,
certificate of deposit, savings account, etc.) or other written
document from the issuing source.  If there is no document

designating a UGMA gift, then the asset is considered a
countable resource.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Sections 903(e)(2) (7 Del.C. §§903(e)(2)) 

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN# 2005-07

1. Title Of The Regulations:
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3512 Winter Flounder Size

Limit; Possession Limit; Seasons. (Formerly Tidal Finfish
Reg. 20)

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And
Issues:

The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
recently approved Amendment 1 to the Interstate Fishery
Management Plan for inshore Stocks of Winter Flounder.  In
order to come into compliance with this amendment, this
proposed regulation would raise the minimum size for winter
flounder (Pseudopleuronectes americanus) from 10 inches
to 12 inches, total length and would establish a possession
limit of 10 winter flounder per day (a day being 24 hours) for
recreational fisherman. The above referenced plan also
requires that the open season for recreational fishing be no
longer than 60 days and that at least 20 continuous days must
be closed in the months of March and April.  Therefore it is
proposed that:

Option 1 (Preferred) - It shall be unlawful for any
recreational fisherman to take and reduce to possession any
winter flounder before 12:01 AM February 11 or after
midnight April 10 in any given calendar year.

Option 2 - It shall be unlawful for any recreational
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any winter
flounder before 12:01 AM February 11 or after midnight
April 30 in any given calendar year. Further, it shall be
unlawful for any recreational fisherman to take and reduce to
possession any winter flounder between 12:01 AM March 1
and 12:00 midnight March 20 in any given calendar year.

Other options for an open fishing season may be
considered as long as they include the required 20-day
closure during the months of March and April and a 60-day
open season.
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3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
N/A

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
§903(e)(2)a of 7 Del.C.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The
Proposal:

N/A

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing or calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901, (302) 739-
3441.  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will be
held at the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE at 7:30 PM on April 27, 2005.  The record will
remain open for written or e-mail comments to
roy.miller@state.de.us until 4:40 PM May 2, 2005.

3512 Winter Flounder Size Limit; Possession Limit; 
Seasons (Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 20)
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any winter
flounder, (Pseudopleuronectes Pleuronectes americanus),
that measure less than twelve (12) ten (10) inches, total
length.

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to
have in possession more than ten (10) winter flounder per
day (a day being 24 hours) at or between the place where
said winter flounder were caught and said recreational
fisherman’s personal abode or temporary or transient place
of lodging.

3.0 Option 1 (Preferred). It shall be unlawful for any
recreational fisherman to take and reduce to possession any
winter flounder before 12:01 AM February 11 or after
midnight April 10 in any given calendar year.

Option 2  It shall be unlawful for any recreational
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any winter
flounder before 12:01 AM February 11 or after midnight
April 30 in any given calendar year. Further, it shall be
unlawful for any recreational fisherman to take and reduce to
possession any winter flounder between 12:01 AM March 1
and 12:00 midnight March 20 in any given calendar year.

Other options for an open fishing season may be
considered as long as they include a 20-day closure during
the months of March and April and a 60 day open season as
required for compliance with Amendment 1 to the Atlantic

States Marine Fisheries Commission Winter Flounder
Management Plan.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Sections 903(e)(2)a; 903(f) and 1902(a)(4)
(7 Del.C. §§903(e)(2)a; 903(f) and 1902(a)(4)) 

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN# 2005-02

1. Title Of The Regulations:
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3504  Striped Bass Possession

Size Limit; Exceptions. (Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 7)
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3541  Atlantic Sharks.

(Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 25)
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3566  Minimum Age For A

Commercial Finfish Licensee Or A Recreational Gill Net
Licensee.

Shellfish Regulation 3701  Minimum Age For A
Commercial Shellfishing Licensee OR NON-
COMMERCIAL CLAMMING PERMITTEE.

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And
Issues:

To clarify what the minimum size limit is for striped
bass taken commercially in gill nets in the Delaware River
and Bay during the extended two-week season in February
and the extended season during the month of May.  During
these season extensions, the minimum size for striped bass
taken commercially from Delaware River and Bay shall be
20 inches total length, just as it is 20 inches total length
during March and April in the Delaware River and Bay.  The
commercial gill net minimum size during the extended two-
week season in February shall also be 20 inches total length
in the Nanticoke River and its tributaries.

To set a minimum size of 54 inches, fork length and a
one shark per person per day harvest limit for shoreline and
pier fishermen for any large coastal shark, any pelagic shark
or any small coastal shark exclusive of dogfish sharks.

To establish the age of 16 years as the minimum age to
qualify for a commercial foodfish license and commercial
foodfish equipment permits, for a recreational gill net
permit, or for commercial shellfish licenses or a non-
commercial clamming permit.

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
N/A

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
§903(e)(2)a; §903 (f); §1902 (a)(4) of 7 Del.C.
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5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The
Proposal:

N/A

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing or calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901, (302)739-3441.
A public hearing on this proposed amendment will be held at
the Department of Natural resources and Environmental
Control Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
PM on April 27, 2005.  The record will remain open for
written or e-mail comments to roy.miller@state.de.us until
4:40 PM May 2, 2005.

3504 Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions. 
(Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 7)
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 Notwithstanding, the provisions of 7 Del.C. §929(b)(1)
or unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for any
recreational fisherman to take and reduce to possession any
striped bass that measures less than twenty-eight (28) inches
in total length.

2.0 Notwithstanding, the provisions of 7 Del.C. §929(b)(1)
or unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for any
commercial food fisherman to take and reduce to possession
any striped bass that measure less than twenty-eight (28)
inches in total length from the tidal waters of this State
except that commercial gill net fishermen may take striped
bass measuring no less than twenty (20) inches in total
length from the tidal waters of the Delaware River and
Delaware Bay or their tributaries during the period from
months of February 15 March and April through May 31 or
from the tidal waters of the Nanticoke River or its tributaries
during the period from February 15 through in the month of
March.

3.0 Unless otherwise authorized, Iit shall be unlawful for
any person to possess a striped bass that measures less than
28 inches, total length, unless said striped bass is in one or
more of the following categories:

3.1 It has affixed, a valid strap tag issued by the
Department to a commercial gill net fisherman and was
legally taken and tagged by said commercial gill net
fisherman from the tidal waters of the Delaware River and
Delaware Bay or their tributaries during the period from
months of February 15 March and April through May 31; or
from the tidal waters of the Nanticoke River or its tributaries
during the period from February 15 in through the month of
March; or

3.2 It was legally landed in another state for
commercial purposes and has affixed a valid tag issued by
said state's marine fishery authority; or

3.3 It entered Delaware is packed or contained for
shipment, either fresh or frozen, and accompanied by a bill-
of-lading with a destination to a state other than Delaware; or

3.4 It was legally landed in another state for non
commercial purposes by the person in possession of said
striped bass and there is affixed to either the striped bass or
the container in which the striped bass is contained a tag that
depicts the name and address of the person landing said
striped bass and the date, location, and state in which said
striped bass was landed; or

3.5 It is the product of a legal aquaculture operation and
the person in possession has a written bill of sale or receipt
for said striped bass.

4.0 Unless otherwise authorized, Iit shall be unlawful for
any commercial finfisherman to possess any striped bass for
which the total length has been altered in any way prior to
selling, trading or bartering said striped bass.

5.0 The words "land" and "landed" shall mean to put or
cause to go on shore from a vessel.

6.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to land any striped
bass that measures less than twenty-eight (28) inches in total
length at any time, except those striped bass caught in a
commercial gill net legally fished in the waters of Delaware
River or Delaware Bay or their tributaries during the period
from February 15 months of March and April through May
31 or from a commercial gill net legally fished in the tidal
waters of the Nanticoke River or its tributaries in during the
period from February 15 through the month of March. 

7.0 It shall be unlawful for a commercial finfisherman
authorized to fish during Delaware's commercial striped bass
fishery to land any striped bass that measures less than
twenty (20) inches in total length.

3541 Atlantic Sharks (Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 25)
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 Definitions:
“Fillet” shall mean to remove slices of fish flesh, of

irregular size and shape, from the carcass by cuts made
parallel to the backbone.

“Land or Landing” shall mean to put or cause to go on
shore from a vessel.

“Management Unit” shall mean any of the large
coastal species, small coastal species, pelagic species and
prohibited species of sharks or parts thereof defined in this
regulation. 
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“Large Coastal Species” shall mean any of the
following species of sharks or parts thereof:

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran
Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini
Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zyqaena
White shark, Carcharodon carcharias
Nurse shark, Ginglymostoma cirratum
Blacktip shark, Carcharhinus limbatus
Bull shark, Carcharhinus leucas
Lemon shark, Neqaprion brevirostris
Sandbar shark, Carcharhinus plumbeus
Silky shark, Carcharhinus falciformis
Spinner shark, Carcharhinus brevipinna
Tiger shark, Galeocerdo cuvieri

“Small Coastal Species” shall mean any of the
following species of sharks or parts thereof:

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo
Atlantic sharpnose shark, Rhizoprionodon

terraenovae
Blacknose shark, Carcharhinus acronotus
Finetooth shark, Carcharhinus isodon

“Pelagic Species” shall mean any of the following
species of sharks or parts thereof:

Porbeagle shark, Lamna nasus
Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus
Blue shark, Prionace qlauca
Oceanic whitetip shark, Carcharhinus longimanus
Thresher shark, Alopias vulpinus

“Prohibited Species” shall mean any of the following
species of sharks or parts thereof:

Basking shark, Cetorhinidae maximus
White shark, Carcharodon carcharias
Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai
Sand tiger, Odontaspis taurus
Whale shark, Rhincodon typus
Bignose shark, Carcharhinus altimus
Caribbean reef shark, Carcharhinus perezi
Dusky shark, Carcharhinus obscurus
Galapagos shark, Carcharhinus galapaqensis
Narrowtooth shark, Carcharhinus brachyurus
Night shark, Carcharhinus siqnatus
Atlantic angel shark, Squatina dumerili
Caribbean sharpnose shark, Rhizoprionodon

porosus
Smalltail shark, Carcharhinus porosus
Bigeye sixgill shark, Hexanchus vitulus
Sevengill shark, Heptranchias perlo
Sixgill shark, Hexanchus griseus
Longfin mako, Isurus paucus
Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus

3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00) 

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to land, purchase,
trade, barter, or possess or attempt to land, purchase, trade,
barter, or possess a prohibited species.

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to possess the fins
from any shark in the management unit prior to landing said
shark unless said fins are naturally attached to the body of
said shark.

4.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to fillet a shark in the
management unit prior to landing said shark. A shark may be
eviscerated and the head removed prior to landing said
shark.

5.0 It shall be unlawful to release any shark in the
management unit in a manner that will not ensure said sharks
maximum probability of survival.

6.0 It shall be unlawful for the operator of any vessel
without a commercial food fishing license to have on board
said vessel more than one shark in the management unit
except that two Atlantic sharpnose sharks also may be on
board in addition to the one shark in the management unit. 

1 DE Reg. 345 (10/1/97) 
3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)

7.0 It shall be unlawful for any person who has been issued
a valid commercial food fishing license while on board any
vessel to possess any large coastal shark, any small coastal
shark or any pelagic shark in the management unit during the
remainder of any period after the effective date a commercial
quota for that group of sharks has been reached in said
period or is projected to be reached in said period by the
National Marine Fisheries Service, National Oceanic and
Atmospheric Administration and the U.S. Department of
Commerce.

8.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in a
directed commercial fishery for a prohibited species.

9.0 It shall be unlawful for the operator of any vessel
without a commercial foodfishing license to have on board
said vessel any large coastal shark, any pelagic shark or any
small coastal shark that measures less than 54 inches, fork
length (tip of snout to indentation between dorsal and ventral
tail lobes).

10.0 It shall be unlawful for any person without a
commercial foodfishing license to take and reduce to
possession any large coastal shark, any small coastal shark or
any pelagic shark less than 54 inches.

11.0 It shall be unlawful for any person without a
commercial foodfishing license to take and reduce to
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 10, FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1416
possession more than one large coastal shark, small coastal
shark or pelagic shark per day (a day being 24 hours). 

3566  Minimum Age for Commercial Food Fish 
Licensees
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2)

1.0 An individual must be at least 16 years of age to qualify
for a commercial foodfish license as defined in 7 Delaware
Code §914 or to qualify for a food fishing equipment permit
as defined in 7 Delaware Code §915, including recreational
gill net permits and recreational drift gill net permits.

3701 General 

1.0 An individual must be at least 16 years of age in
order to qualify for any of the following licenses or
permits:

1.1 Commercial clam tong/rake license
1.2 Commercial clam dredge license
1.3 Noncommercial clamming permit
1.4 Commercial conch pot license
1.5 Commercial conch dredge license
1.6 Commercial crab pot license
1.7 Commercial crab dredge license
1.8 Commercial horseshoe crab collecting permit
1.9 Horseshoe crab dredge permit
1.10 Commercial lobster pot license
1.11 Oyster harvesting license
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DELAWARE ECONOMIC 
DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

DELAWARE COUNCIL ON 
DEVELOPMENT FINANCE

29 Del.C. Ch. 11, Subch. III

ORDER ADOPTING AND PROMULGATING 
REGULATION SETTING FORTH PROCEDURE FOR 

PUBLIC COMMENT AT MEETINGS

Procedure for Public Comment at Meetings

ORDER ADOPTING AND PROMULGATING
REGULATION

AND NOW this 28th day of February, 2005, in
accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 11,
Subch. III and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101 and more particularly in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10113(b) a quorum of the
members of the Council on Development Finance (the
“Council”) hereby enter this ORDER adopting informally
and promulgating the regulation set forth below in
connection with the Council’s Procedure for Public
Comment at Meetings.

NATURE OF PROCEEDINGS: SYNOPSIS OF THE
SUBJECT AND SUBSTANCE OF THE PROPOSED
REGULATION:

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5007, the Council serves as an
advisor to the Director of the Delaware Economic
Development Office (“DEDO”) and considers matters
relating to the financing and modernization of agricultural,
industrial, commercial and other facilities in Delaware and
such other matters as may be referred to it by the Governor
or the Director of DEDO. In addition, under 29 Del.C.
§5055(d), the Council is statutorily delegated the authority
and responsibility for conducting public hearings following
reasonable public notice prior to the issuance by The
Delaware Economic Development Authority (“DEDA”) of
any bond or the provision by DEDA of any other form of
financing support to assisted persons.  The Council desires to
establish procedures to enable members of the public to
make comments at the hearings that the Council conducts in
a manner consistent with the fair, efficient and orderly
conduct of the Council’s business.  In accordance with the
procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 11, Subch. III, 29
Del.C. Ch. 101, in particular, 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(2), the
Council is adopting informally this regulation pertaining to
the Council’s Procedure for Public Comment at Meetings.

DECISION AND ORDER CONCERNING THE
REGULATION

NOW THEREFORE, under the statutory authority and
for the reasons set forth above, the members of the Council,
ORDER that the regulation be, and that it hereby is, adopted
and promulgated as set forth below. The effective date of this
Order is ten days from the date of its publication in the
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Delaware Register of Regulations, in accordance with 29
Del.C. §10118(g).

Steven L. Biener
Nancy W. Cook
Andrew M. Lubin
Donald J. Lynch
Roger P. Roy
Fred C. Sears, II
Ann T. Tansey
F. Samuel Wilcox, III
Richelle A. Vible

TEXT OF REGULATION

1.0 Procedure for Public Comment at Meetings
1.1 The Acting Chairperson shall call on meeting

attendees from the general public so they can identify
themselves for the record.  This shall be done immediately
following the Call to Order.  Members of the general public
are not allowed to participate in the meeting at this point in
any way other than by identifying themselves.  In the event
that the Call to Order occurs before the posted Agenda start
time, the Acting Chairperson shall call on attendees
immediately after the posted start time or upon the entry of
such attendees to the meeting room, if after the posted start
time.

1.2 For each project on the respective Agenda, the
Acting Chairperson shall be responsible for asking members
of the general public if they would like to make comments.
This shall occur after the project has been introduced but
before any motion has been made and voted upon.
Comments shall be limited to ten minutes or at the discretion
of the Acting Chairperson.  Members of the general public
are not entitled to ask questions and Council members, State
employees and private-sector individuals associated with the
project are not obligated to answer questions.  Pursuant to 29
Del.C. §10004 (d), members of the general public whose
comments exceed ten minutes and/or willfully disrupt the
conduct of the meeting are subject to removal.

1.3 The Council members shall vote on a project after
all members of the general public have had a chance to
comment.

DELAWARE HOME RELOCATION 
AUTHORITY TRUST FUND

201 Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation 
Trust Fund Regulations

Statutory Authority:  25 Delaware Code,
Section 7012 (25 Del.C. §7012)

ORDER

AND NOW, this 9th day of March, 2005, the Delaware
Manufactured Home Relocation Authority (the
“Authority”), issues the following Order which shall be
effective ten (10) days after the publication of this Order in
the Delaware Registrar of Regulations:

1. Pursuant to its statutory authority, the Authority has
proposed for adoption a comprehensive set of regulations
(the "Proposed Regulations") to be used in the
administration of the Delaware Manufactured Home
Relocation Trust Fund (“Trust Fund”). William A. Denman
(the "Hearing Examiner") was designated as the Hearing
Examiner to conduct a public hearing for the purpose of
receiving comments from the public on the Proposed
Regulations.

2. The public hearing was held on Tuesday, November
30, 2004.  A copy of the Proposed Regulations and notice of
the public comment session was published in the Delaware
Registrar on November 1, 2004, and notice of the hearing
was published in both the Delaware State News and the
News Journal on October 29, 2004. 

3. The public hearing was presided over by the
Hearing Examiner. On January 3, 2005, the Hearing
Examiner submitted his Findings and Recommendations, a
copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit A.

4. The Authority considered the Proposed Regulations
and the Findings and Recommendations of the Hearing
Examiner at its regularly scheduled Board meetings held on
January 19, 2005 and February 8, 2005.  At its February 8,
2005 Board meeting, the Authority adopted a resolution
pursuant to which the Authority accepted the Findings and
Recommendations of the Hearing Examiner.

5. A summary of the evidence and public comments
submitted on the Proposed Regulations is set forth in the
Findings and Recommendations of the Hearing Examiner
attached hereto as Exhibit A. 

6. For the reasons set forth herein and in the Findings
and Recommendations of the Hearing Examiner, the
Authority, by this Order, adopts as final regulations the
Regulations attached to this Order as Exhibit B.

7. At the public hearing, most of the comments
focused on the maximum tenant relocation expense
reimbursement rates set forth in the Proposed Regulations.
The Proposed Regulations provide for a maximum
relocation benefit of $4,000 for a singlewide manufactured
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home and a maximum relocation benefit of $8,000 for a
doublewide manufactured home.
 8. The Delaware statute that created the Authority
requires the Authority to set “maximum relocation
payments” payable to tenants who are required to relocate
their manufactured homes due to a change in use initiated by
the owner of the manufactured home community.  Pursuant
to 25 Del.C. §7013(a), the Authority is authorized to
reimburse tenants for relocation expenses in an amount equal
to the lesser of:  (1) the actual reasonable expenses of
moving the manufactured home and existing appurtenances
to a new location within a 25 mile radius of the vacated
manufactured home community, or (2) the maximum
relocation payment established by the Authority’s Board of
Directors. The Delaware Legislature contemplated the
possibility that it may not be economically or fiscally
responsible for the Authority to reimburse dislocated tenants
for 100% of the actual expenses of moving the tenant’s
manufactured home.

9. Since its formation, the Authority has reviewed and
approved several applications for relocation benefits by
dislocated tenants. The actual cost of moving a
manufactured home will depend upon numerous factors,
including the size of the home, the type of amenities added
by the tenant, and the distance of the move.  The Authority
has reviewed applications relating to manufactured homes
that contain additions such as decks, fences and sheds.
These additions have a major impact upon the cost of
relocating the home.  While the Authority might prefer in all
cases to reimburse dislocated tenants for all reasonable
expense incurred by the tenant in relocating the tenant’s
manufactured home, the Authority recognizes its
responsibility to administer the Trust Fund in a fiscally
responsible manner so that all applicants that come before
the Authority, both now and in the future, will be treated
fairly. If the maximum relocation payment is set too high, in
the future the Trust Fund may not have adequate funds in
place to provide any benefits to future tenants.

10. The Authority believes that the maximum
relocation benefits set forth in the Proposed Regulations are
reasonable. The applications for benefits that have been
submitted to the Authority to date confirm that these
maximum amounts are reasonable at this time.  As noted in
the Hearing Examiner’s report, the Authority has reviewed
and approved tenant applications for expense reimbursement
for relocating singlewide homes where the actual expenses
of relocation totaled approximately $4,000. The Authority
has also reviewed and approved applications relating to the
relocation multi-section homes where the actual expenses
were less than $8,000. The Authority recognizes that there
will be circumstances, as there have been, where the actual
expenses of relocating a manufactured home will exceed the
maximum amounts set by this Authority. Indeed, such a
scenario was contemplated by the drafters of the statute that

created the Trust Fund. Nevertheless, for the reasons set
forth herein and in the Hearing Examiner’s report, the
Authority reaffirms its decision to set the maximum rate at
$4,000 for singlewide homes and $8,000 for doublewide
homes. 

11. As the Trust Fund grows, and the Authority
accumulates claims experience, the Authority has the power
to adjust the maximum relocation benefits as well as the
monthly assessment collected by the Authority from
landlords and tenants. In the meantime, the maximum limits
set forth herein provide a reasonable starting point.

12. Several comments were received relating to various
other matters relating to the Proposed Regulations. The
Authority has considered these comments, and for the
reasons set forth in the Findings and Recommendations of
the Hearing Examiner, the Authority believes that all such
comments have been adequately addressed by the
recommended changes set forth in the Hearing Examiner's
Findings and Recommendations.  

NOW THEREFORE, for the reasons set forth above
and in the Findings and Recommendations of the Hearing
Examiner, IT IS ORDERED:

1. That the "Delaware Manufactured Home
Relocation Trust Fund Regulations" (the "Regulations")
attached hereto as Exhibit B are adopted pursuant to 25
Del.C. §7011, et. seq.  The Regulations adopted herein shall
become effective ten (10) days after their publication in the
Delaware Registrar of Regulations.

2. That pursuant to 29 Del.C. §1134, the Authority
shall transmit a copy of this Order and the Regulations to the
Delaware Registrar of Regulations for publication in the
next issue of the Delaware Registrar of Regulations.

3. That a copy of this Order and the Regulations shall
be mailed to each entity or persons that previously filed
comments to the Proposed Regulations and to each person
who has made a timely request for advance notice of the
Authority’s regulation making proceedings.

4. That the Authority reserves the right to hereafter
alter, amend, or waive the Regulations adopted herein to the
extent that the same may be allowed by law. 

5. That the Authority reserves the jurisdiction and
power to enter such further orders in this matter as may be
deemed necessary or proper. 
 

BY ORDER OF THE AUTHORITY:
Stevan D. Class, Chairperson
Terri Rock, Vice Chairperson
Jerome S. Heisler, Jr. Board Member
Caron Thompson, Board Member
Ken Fuchs, Board Member
Susan Hehman, Board Member
William Reed, Board Member
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Raymond L. Paylor, Board Member
Edwin Speraw, Board Member

Findings and Recommendations of Hearing Examiner

Dated:  January 3, 2005
Pursuant to its statutory authority, the Delaware

Manufactured Home Relocation Authority (the “Authority”)
has proposed for adoption a comprehensive set of
regulations to be used in the administration of the Delaware
Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund (“Trust Fund”).
The Trust Fund was established pursuant to 25 Del.C.
§7012. The proposed regulations adopted by the Authority
would, among other things:  (a) establish criteria for tenant
benefits, including the maximum relocation benefit available
to a tenant for a single section home and a multi-section
home; (b) criteria for landlord benefits, including the
maximum relocation benefit for manufactured homes that
have been abandoned or determined to be non-relocatable;
(c) application procedures to be followed by applicants for
benefits; and (d) application review procedures.

As required by law, a public hearing was held on
Tuesday, November 30, 2004, beginning at 3:30 p.m. in the
Richardson Conference Room located at the Offices of the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE  19901.  A copy of
the Proposed Regulations and notice of the hearing was
published in the Delaware Registrar on November 1, 2004.
Notice of the Hearing was also published in both the
Delaware State News and the News Journal on October 29,
2004.

The Hearing

The hearing started at approximately 3:30 p.m. on
November 30, 2004. As the Hearing Examiner designated by
the Authority for purposes of scheduling the hearing,
receiving comments from the public, summarizing the
evidence, and making recommendations to the Authority, I
presided over the hearing.  

The Hearing was well attended, with in excess of 30
persons attending the hearing. Prior to entertaining
comments from the public, the Notice of the Hearing and the
Proposed Regulations that were previously published in the
Delaware Registrar on November 1, 2004 were marked as
Exhibit 1. The Affidavits of Publication, documenting the
publication of Notice of the Hearing in the News Journal and
Delaware State News on October 29, 2004, were marked as
Exhibit 2, and the attendance sign in sheet has been marked
as Exhibit 4.  

Fifteen members of the public appeared at the hearing
and presented comments on the Proposed Regulations. In
addition, the following written comments were submitted
either at the hearing or subsequent to the hearing:

(1) Presentation of Marion F. Fetterman, Vice President
of the Reybold Group (Exhibit 3);

(2) December 6, 2004 letter from Jerome S. Heisler, Jr.,
Managing Member of the Reybold Group (Exhibit 5);

(3) December 7, 2004 letter from John W. Banks
(Exhibit 6);

(4) December 7, 2004 emails from Barbara Lifflander
(Exhibit 7);

(5) December 5, 2004 letter from Danny J. Skeans
(Exhibit 8);

(6) December 1, 2004 email from R. G. Giesweidt
(Exhibit 9);

The following Board Members were present:  Stevan
Glass, Chairperson of the Authority, Terri Rock, Vice
Chairperson of the Authority, Caron Thompson, Susan
Hehman, Ed Speraw, Ken Fuchs, and William Reed.  Ruth
Briggs King, Executive Director of the First State
Manufactured Housing Association, attended on behalf of
the Association. 

After the hearing, a verbatim transcript of the hearing,
consisting of 61 pages, was prepared. The record in this
matter consists of the transcript of the hearing, and Exhibits
1 through 9.

Summary of Oral Comments Submitted at the Hearing

As noted above, fifteen members of the public spoke
during the hearing. A brief summary of the comments
relating to the proposed regulations is set forth below.  I
would note however that as one would expect in such
proceedings, comments and issues were discussed that did
not necessarily relate to the proposed regulations. The
summary set forth below does not attempt to address
comments having no bearing on the proposed regulations.  

1. John W. Banks
Mr. Banks expressed his belief that the proposed

maximum relocation benefits available for tenants for a
singlewide and doublewide home ($4,000 and $8,000
respectively) was “a little bit low.”  He noted that some old
homes have been “built on” and for a mover to take those out
and try to move them and retain the usability of them would
be rather expensive.  (TR-8)

2. Barbara Lifflander
Ms. Lifflander, a resident of Pot Nets Bayside,

expressed her belief that the $4,000/ $8,000 maximum
relocation benefits available to tenants were “entirely
unrealistic.”  (TR-11)  

3. Bobbie Hemmerich
Ms. Hemmerich, a resident of Pine Woods Circle in

Lewes, Delaware, commented that she owns an older
singlewide manufactured home that has a “tip out” that has
been added.  Her manufactured home has a porch and a deck
and she commented that all of these additions would make it
impossible to move. Ms. Hemmerick also expressed concern
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about her ability to find a location within 25 miles of her
current residence to relocate her manufactured home, if
necessary.  (TR-15-16)
  4. Arthur Norton

Mr. Norton stated that he had difficulty in locating the
address of the Authority and that his landlord had not been
collecting the assessment. (TR-20-21)

5. Andy Strine
Mr. Strine stated that he owns a number of

manufactured home communities in Kent County, Delaware
and that his company has facilitated the move of several
individuals out of Victorian Village.  Based on those moves,
he observed that his company was able to develop a “rough
idea” of the cost that it takes to move a manufactured home.
His estimate of the cost to move a 14 x 76 single section
home was approximately $3,000.  His estimate of the cost of
moving a 28 x 76 foot home was $7,000. Mr. Strine noted
that there will be instances where the owners of
manufactured homes have built on additions and porches
that will make it difficult to move the homes.  (TR-27)  

Mr. Strine was part of the group that helped draft the
legislation that set up the Authority. Mr. Strine commented
that before the adoption of the statute, the landlord could
give the tenant six months notice to move and there was no
compensation payable to the tenant to assist the tenant with
the expense of moving.  (TR-28)  Mr. Strine commented that
the benefits available under the statute only apply where
there has been a change of use, and the benefits are not and
should not be available to a tenant who is being evicted.
(TR-28)  

Mr. Strine stated that in enacting the legislation the
drafters were looking at the legislation as a “safety net” for
the people that "really needed it the most".  The group was
looking at people who could not afford to relocate their
house if their house was not relocatable. According to Mr.
Strine, the fund would give these people some funds to go
out and purchase another house in another community, or
give them the security deposit to move into an apartment.
(TR-29)  He recommended that the Authority not do
anything that would end up bankrupting the fund.  Mr. Strine
expressed his belief that the $4,000/$8,000 maximum
relocation benefit available for tenants was “not that far off
target.”  (TR-29)  

6. James Skeans
Mr. Skeans resides in Dover, Delaware.  Regarding the

comments of Mr. Strine, Mr. Skeans expressed his belief that
“they may be subsidizing the price a little bit, to get someone
else in their park.”  This latter suggestion was denied by Mr.
Strine.  (TR-30)  Mr. Skeans expressed concern about the
difficulty his mother, Geraldine Skeans, was having
relocating her manufactured home. He urged people to
contact their representative to push for changes in the
legislation.  He suggested that members of the legislature are

starting to understand that the $4,000/$8,000 is not enough.
(TR-31-32)

7 Danny J. Skeans
Mr. Skeans presented comments on behalf of his

mother, Geraldine Skeans, who is a resident of Victorian
Village.  He expressed concern that his mother was sending
her share of the $3.00 assessment to her landlord, but had no
way of knowing if the landlord had in fact been sending the
money directly to the Authority.  He also expressed concern
that the Authority had no “police action” to know how much
money the Authority should be receiving each month.

Mr. Skeans did not believe that the $4,000/$8,000
maximum relocation benefit available to tenants was
adequate.  He presented several estimates for relocating his
mother’s multi-section home.  The estimates presented were
as follows:

(a) Messick Mobile Home - $14,690
(b) Iplenski Mobile Home - $11,136
(c) Marshall & Bailey Contracting - $14,900

(exclusive of electric hookups)
(d) Ronald Graham - $7,900 (exclusive of any utilities,

plumbing or air conditioning) Mr. Skeans commented that it
could cost $3,000 just to get the electric hooked back up.
(TR-34)

Mr. Skeans also expressed concern about the difficulty
his mother was having finding another location.  His mother
has a pet that requires a fenced in yard, and according to Mr.
Skeans, most manufactured home communities will not
allow the tenant to erect a fence.  (TR-35)  He also expressed
his concern that he did not want the Trust Fund to be
bankrupt, but he also did not want his mother to be bankrupt.
(TR-37)  

8. Alma Bringhurst
Ms. Bringhurst resides at the Sweet Briar Mobile Home

Park.  She did not believe that the $4,000/$8,000 maximum
relocation benefit for tenants was sufficient. (TR-39) She
also commented that none of the parks in the Sussex County
area are now taking singlewides, which would make her
manufactured home unrelocatable. (TR-39) She also
expressed concern that tenant assessments that were
collected prior to the effective date of the assessment have
not been properly refunded to the tenants by the community
owners.

9. Charles Kolodjdski
Mr. Kolodjdski resides at High Point Park.  Mr.

Kolodjdski also expressed his concern that the maximum
tenant relocation benefits were “a little on the low side.”  He
commented that approximately 7 years ago he purchased his
doublewide and the cost of setting up his home, including
plumbing, electric, air conditioning, and footings, was in
excess of $4,000. (TR-42)  He referred to a tenant in
Victorian Village who has to relocate her home, and the
cheapest quote she has been given to move the home was
$12,000.  (TR-44)
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  10. John W. Paradee, Esquire
Mr. Paradee pointed out a typographical error in Section

1.2.2 of the Proposed Regulations.  He suggested deleting
the semicolon and the “C” in the parentheses located in
Section 1.2.2.  

Mr. Paradee noted that proposed Section 1.2.1 identifies
certain situations where a tenant would not be entitled to
relocation benefits. The Proposed Regulations provide that
where the landlord at the landlord’s expense moves a
tenant’s manufactured home by “mutual consent” to another
lot in the manufactured home community, or to another
manufactured home community, the tenant would not be
entitled to any benefits.  Mr. Paradee recommended
eliminating the “mutual consent” requirement.  Mr. Paradee
suggested that if a landlord moved a manufactured home
without the tenant’s consent, under the regulations, the
tenant might qualify for relocation benefits.  Mr. Paradee
commented that the home could only lawfully be moved
without the tenant’s consent if the tenant had been lawfully
evicted or the home is abandoned by the tenant.  (TR-47) Mr.
Paradee commented that rather than create a question or an
issue about whether or not the tenant qualifies for relocation
benefits based on who consented to the move, the Authority
should strike the phrase “by mutual consent” from the
regulations. If the landlord pays for the relocation, the tenant
should not be entitled to any benefits, whether the tenant
consented to the move or not. (TR-48)

Mr. Maly stated that the amount that a tenant should be
reimbursed toward the cost of relocating his home should be
in the “$10,000-$15,000 area for a doublewide at the current
market.”  (TR-48)  He also suggested that whatever number
is set that the rate should be keyed to a rate or index such as
the prime rate so that as the economy changes and the costs
change, it would not be necessary to keep revising the law.
(TR-49)  He also expressed concern over the provision in the
statute that would allow the landlord to receive benefits.
(TR-49)

11. Richard Maly
12. Ruth Briggs King
Ms. King addressed comments by other speakers who

had expressed concern that the Authority had not been
receiving funds from one or more manufactured home
communities. She indicated that some of the communities
mentioned during the hearing have been contributing to the
fund. (TR-50) She also commented that there are some
tenants in some areas who are not contributing to the fund.

13. Ron R. Bachand
Mr. Bachand discussed some of the difficulties involved

in relocating a manufactured home. He noted that it can take
several days to move a home, leaving the tenant without a
place to live. (TR-52-53) He also expressed concern that
tenants would have difficulty in finding a place for their pet
to stay while the home is being moved. He noted that there

are costs associated with properly reinstalling carpet in a
manufactured home. (TR-54)

14. John Walsh
Mr. Walsh stated that the Authority needs to consider

the expenses people have to pay to live somewhere else
during the time it takes to relocate a home, as well as the cost
associated with moving some of the outbuildings located on
the property.  Mr. Walsh expressed concern about the
maximum benefit for homes that are deemed to be non-
relocatable.  He noted that there are manufactured homes in
communities in the State of Delaware that have a value in
excess of $100,000. 

15. Gina Miserendine
Ms. Miserendine represented the Delaware Housing

Coalition.  She indicated that her group was working to help
tenants establish cooperatives and establishing “resident
owned communities.” She suggested that the Authority
consider using relocation fees to enable displaced tenants to
purchase an ownership interest in a community.  (TR-58-59)

Summary of Written Comments Submitted at the 
Hearing

1. Marion F. Fetterman  (Exhibit 3)
Marion F. Fetterman, Vice President of the Reybold

Group, submitted written comments  (Exhibit 3) with
projected estimates for breakdown, transport, and reset of a
single-section and multi-section home. The projected costs
of moving a singlewide home a distance of 25 miles or less
into a Reybold community is $3,090, exclusive of any cost to
reinstall skirting or footers. The estimated labor cost to
reinstall skirting is approximately $250. The cost of
installing new skirting is estimated to be $850.  If footers are
required, the estimated cost is $1,500.  For a multi-section
home, the estimated cost is $6,620, exclusive of skirting
installation and footers.  The costs (exclusive of skirting and
footers) for moving a manufactured home into a Reybold
community a distance of 25-50 miles are estimated to be
$3,200 and $6,840 respectively.  (Ex. 3)
  2. John W. Banks – December 7, 2004 Letter (Exhibit
6) 

Mr. Banks recommended retaining the “mutual consent”
requirement in Section 1.2.1.  Otherwise, according to Mr.
Banks, the park owner “could put a home in a bad location.”
Because in his view many homes are only worth “$0”,
Section 1.7.3 would result in the homeowner receiving no
money.  He did not agree with this. Mr. Banks noted that in
his opinion Section 1.8 could cost $300-$500 and the home
could be worth nothing because of age or condition, so the
tenant would be  "out 300-500 dollars".  Mr. Banks also
expressed his opinion that manufactured home communities
will no longer accept singlewide homes, and that many of
the homes in parks are singlewides.  (Ex. 6)  

3. Barbara Lifflander  (Exhibit 7)
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As noted, Ms. Lifflander submitted written comments in
the form of an email.  She commented that the Authority has
“no policing power” at its disposal.  

She also commented that the regulations are “too
loosely constructed, ambiguous in some places, with
loopholes which favor landlords, i.e., the $4,000-$8,000
sum.”  She expressed concern that there was not enough
input from the most severely impacted class of people and
that public comment sessions should be held in local
communities or their churches.  

She expressed concern that the regulations cover
“disparate land rent communities” ranging from trailer parks
with one set of problems to six figure parks which offer
attractive amenities and charge “exorbitant land rents.”
According to Ms. Lifflander, they are not comparable and
this is a recurring theme in the regs and therefore it is unfair
and "illegal".  

She expressed concern that the section on homes which
are unrelocatable is most problematic and needs work and
clarification to avoid future dispute and hardship.  

With respect to the provision of the regulations
requiring the tenant to obtain at the tenant’s expense an
appraisal prepared by a certified manufactured home
appraiser, she expressed her belief that there are no experts
in this area of housing.  She noted that the Authority is
supposed to have a list of said experts, and expressed a
desire to review this list.

4. Danny Skeans – December 5, 2004 (Exhibit 8)
Mr. Skeans expressed concern about the possibility that

a tenant may pay his or her share to the landlord and if the
landlord does not remit the funds to the Authority this could
impact the tenant’s ability to obtain benefits. He claimed that
the Regulations do not address the landlord’s responsibility
to also pay his or her share of the assessment.  In his written
comments, he reiterated his belief that the $4,000/$8,000
maximum benefit was not sufficient. He submitted proposed
estimates to move his mother's home ranging from a low of
$7,900 (exclusive of utility disconnections or reconnections)
to a high of $14,900 (exclusive of utility disconnections or
reconnections). 

5. Jerome S. Heisler – December 6, 2004 Submittal
(Exhibit 5)

Mr. Heisler provided an analysis based on certain
assumptions showing the relationship between relocation
caps, dwelling unit buyout caps, and funds available based
on various per unit assessments.  The purpose of his analysis
was to attempt to demonstrate several matters that the
Authority has to take into consideration under the relocation
and buyout cap discussions.  According to Mr. Heisler, the
cap for buyouts depends on the relocation reimbursement
rate and the amount collected by the Authority.
Additionally, according to Mr. Heisler, if more than 120
units are retired in a year the fund may be insolvent.
Furthermore, Mr. Heisler opined that the $3.00 monthly

assessment is not sufficient if something unexpected is
drawn from the fund.  In conclusion, Mr. Heisler states that
his study is “only instructive in a sense that” the Authority’s
funds are limited.

6. R. G. Geisweidt-December 1, 2004 Email (Exhibit
9)

R. G. Geisweidt submitted an email commenting that the
regulations should provide for compensation for damage to a
home while the home is being relocated, such as damage to
water pipes.

Recommendations

Section 1.2.2
With respect to Mr. Paradee’s recommendation

regarding the typographical error in Section 1.2.2, I
recommend that Section 1.2.2 of the Proposed Regulations
be modified by deleting the phrase “or (c) the tenant
abandons the manufactured home;” and re-designating the
deleted language as Section 1.2.3. I further recommend that
the existing Section 1.2.3 be re-designated as “1.2.4.”  The
provisions in the Regulations that identify the situations
under which a tenant is not entitled to compensation are
statutory provisions required by 25 Del.C. §7013(b).
Section 1.2.1

Mr. Paradee recommends deleting the phrase “mutual
consent” from Proposed Regulation 1.2.1. I recommend
rejecting this recommendation.  The language set forth in the
Proposed Regulations is, for the most part, a verbatim
statement of what is specifically set forth in 25 Del.C.
§7013(b)(1).  Mr. Paradee expressed concern that by not
deleting the term “mutual consent”, a tenant might be
entitled to reimbursement for relocation expenses for homes
moved by the landlord without the "consent of the tenant".
The Regulations and the statute make it clear that if a tenant
abandons the manufactured home, the tenant would not be
entitled to any relocation expense reimbursement benefits.
If a tenant elects to abandon a home, the statute and the
regulations do however provide for some compensation to
the tenant to compensate the tenant for the loss of the home.
If the landlord moves the tenant’s manufactured home
without the tenant’s consent as a result of eviction
proceedings, the tenant would not be entitled to any
relocation benefits since the tenant would not have incurred
any such expenses.  I am convinced that the intent of the
statute is to reimburse the tenant, subject to the condition of
reasonableness and any maximum limit established by the
Authority, to expenses actually incurred by the tenant in
relocating the tenant’s manufactured home.
Lodging Expenses

Mr. Bachand suggested that lodging expenses should be
recoverable.  I recommend that no changes be made in the
Proposed Regulations to provide for the reimbursement of
lodging expenses. The expenses that are eligible for
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reimbursement are set forth in 25 Del.C. §7013(a). Subject
to the maximum benefit determined by the Authority, a
tenant is only entitled to be reimbursed for actual reasonable
expenses of moving the manufactured home and existing
appurtenances to a new location within a 25 mile radius of
the vacated manufactured home community. Because
lodging expenses are not an actual expense of “moving” the
manufactured home, it is my opinion that there is no
statutory basis for the Authority to reimburse these expenses.

Manufactured Home Cooperatives

Ms. Miserendine suggested that the Authority consider
using relocation expense payments to enable displaced
tenants to apply the relocation fee toward the purchase price
of an interest in a “resident owned community”. I
recommend rejecting this proposal because there is no
statutory basis for reimbursing a tenant for any cost
associated with acquiring an interest in a “resident owned
community” or any other real estate.  Subject to any
maximum limits set by the Authority, the intent of the statute
is to provide for reimbursement of actual and reasonable
relocation expenses incurred by a tenant or to compensate
the tenant for the value of a manufactured home that is
determined to be non-relocatable or is abandoned.  If a
manufactured home is determined to be non-relocatable or is
abandoned by the tenant, the tenant is free to use any benefit
payment made to compensate the tenant for the loss of the
home in whatever way the tenant deems appropriate.
Barbara Lifflander’s Comments

Ms. Lifflander submitted written comments to the
Proposed Regulations (Exhibit 7). While certainly made in
good faith, the bulk of Ms. Lifflander’s comments with
respect to the Regulations consist of general observations
and do not contain any specific recommendation for
changes. However, Ms. Lifflander's concern about the
availability in Delaware of a “certified manufactured home
appraiser” is one that needs to be addressed by the Authority.
However, I do not recommend any change to the Proposed
Regulations, because the Delaware statute specifically
requires that the fair market value of a home be based upon a
“board-approved, certified manufactured home appraiser.”
See 25 Del.C. §7013(c)(2).  Ms. Lifflander’s other written
comments (the Authority has “no policing power”, the
Regulations are “too loosely constructed, ambiguous in
some places, with loopholes which favor landlords”) do not
in my opinion warrant any changes to the Proposed
Regulations at this time.

Maximum Tenant Relocation Expense Reimbursement 
Rates

The Delaware statute requires the Authority to set
“maximum relocation payments.” Indeed, 25 Del.C.

§7013(a) authorizes the payment of a relocation
reimbursement to a tenant in an amount equal to the lesser
of:  (1) the actual reasonable expenses of moving the
manufactured home and existing appurtenances to a new
location within a 25-mile radius of the vacated manufactured
home community including, but not limited to, the cost of
taking down, moving, and setting up the home in a new
location; or (2) the maximum relocation payment which
must be established by the Authority’s Board of Directors.
Clearly, the Delaware legislature contemplated the
possibility that it may not be economically or fiscally
responsible for the Authority to reimburse dislocated tenants
for 100% of the actual reasonable expenses of moving the
tenant’s manufactured home.  The actual cost of moving a
manufactured home will depend upon numerous factors,
including the size of the home, the type of amenities added
by the tenant, and the distance of the move. There are
manufactured homes with additions such as decks, fences,
and sheds. Some contain drywall typical of stick built
houses. In an ideal world I am certain that the Authority
would want to reimburse dislocated tenants for each and
every reasonable expense incurred by the tenant in relocating
the tenant’s manufactured home. However, the Authority
must administer the Trust Fund in a fiscally responsible
fashion so that all applicants that come before the Authority,
both now and in the future, will be treated fairly.  If the Trust
Fund is not managed properly, the Trust Fund could become
insolvent to the detriment of future applicants. Accordingly,
in setting a maximum relocation payment amount, in my
view the Authority needs to balance a tenant's desire to
receive maximum compensation for the tenant’s out of
pocket costs with the need to maintain the financial stability
of the Trust Fund. If the maximum payment is set too high,
the Authority's ability to provide benefits to future applicants
would be jeopardized.

The Proposed Regulations would provide for a
$4,000.00 maximum relocation payment for a singlewide
home and an $8,000.00 maximum relocation payment for a
doublewide home.  For the reasons set forth below, I
recommend that the Authority reaffirm its prior decision and
retain the $4,000.00/$8,000.00 maximum relocation benefits
set forth in the Regulations. 

The bulk of the discussion at the public comment
session of course focused on this issue.  Several commenters
expressed concern that the maximum relocation benefits
were too low.  A representative of the manufactured home
community owners in Delaware suggested that the proposed
maximum benefit amounts were “not that far off target”
based upon personal experience. Danny Skeans,
commenting on behalf of his mother, presented estimates for
relocating his mother’s multi-section home that ranged from
a low of $7,900 (exclusive of utility relocation costs) to a
high of $14,690.  With respect to Ms. Skeans’ home, it is
clear that Ms. Skeans and her son, Danny Skeans, have made
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reasonable efforts to obtain competitive bids in an effort to
minimize the actual cost of relocating the home.  It should be
noted that Ms. Skeans’ home, perhaps like many
manufactured homes, has several built on items that were not
originally a part of the manufactured home, such as a deck
and a fence.  Ms. Skeans’ manufactured home, also contains
drywall which creates problems with respect to physically
transporting the manufactured home from one location to
another. Setting the maximum relocation benefit at $4,000/
$8,000 will at times result in an applicant being reimbursed
for less than the actual expense incurred in relocating the
home. However, the Authority has received several
applications for relocation benefits.  Two applications for the
relocation of a singlewide home sought reimbursement for
actual expenses of $4,018 and $4,070 respectively. Three
applications for the relocation of multi-section homes
requested reimbursement for actual expenses of $7,552,
$8,125, and $11,136 respectively. It is true, as in the case of
Ms. Skeans and others, that the cost of moving a doublewide
home in some cases will exceed $8,000.  Nevertheless, while
the amount of claims data available at this time is not
substantial, the data does suggest that setting a maximum
benefit at $4,000 for singlewides and $8,000 for
doublewides is not unreasonable.  Based upon the public
comments and the Authority’s existing claims experience, it
is my belief that the $4,000/$8,000 maximum benefit
amount represents a reasonable amount at this time.

The Authority will soon face the difficult task of setting
the maximum payment that will be available to a tenant
whose manufactured home is determined to be non-
relocatable.  The value of a manufactured home can be
substantial, and some have suggested that there are homes
with values in excess of $100,000.  The Authority will have
to balance the interests of those displaced homeowners
whose homes are relocatable with the interest of those whose
homes are not. The maximum payment for relocation
expenses, as set by the Authority, will have a substantial
impact on the projected funds that will otherwise be
available to reimburse manufactured homeowners whose
homes are determined to be non-relocatable. Hopefully, most
of the homes that need to be moved due to a change in use
will be "re-locatable". Setting the maximum amount for
relocation expenses will assist the Authority in determining
what maximum payment to set for those homes that are
determined to be non-relocatable.  The $4,000.00/$8,000.00
maximum is in my opinion a reasonable place to start. As the
fund grows, and the Authority accumulates more claims
experience, the Authority can adjust this amount and perhaps
increase the monthly assessment if it deems appropriate. 

Finally, one commentator suggested that the regulations
provide for periodic increases in the maximum payment
based upon changes in the "prime rate" or cost of living.  I do
not recommend doing so at this time.  The Authority is
empowered to exercise its judgment in setting the maximum

benefits.  This decision should not, in my view, be based on a
formula tied to some index.

 Conclusion

For the reasons set forth above, I recommend to the
Authority that: (1) the $4,000/$8,000 maximum benefit for
tenant relocation expenses, as set forth in the Proposed
Regulations, be retained, (2) that Section 1.2.2 of the
Proposed Regulations be modified by deleting the phrase “or
(c) the tenant abandons the manufactured home;” and re-
designating the deleted language as Section 1.2.3, and (3)
that the existing Section 1.2.3 be re-designated as “1.2.4.”

As noted above, several comments were made that did
not specifically relate to the regulations. I have not attempted
to address these comments in this report.  A copy of the
transcript of the hearing and each written submittal have
however been provided to the Board.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM A. DENMAN
Hearing Examiner
Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
116 W. Water St.
PO Box 598
Dover, DE  19903

201 Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Trust 
Fund Regulations

The Authority is granted authority to establish rules and
regulations and establish criteria for the disbursement of
benefits available to landlords and tenants under the
provisions of 25 Del.C. §7011, et. seq. (the "Act"). The
regulations set forth below establish criteria for benefits
eligibility, pursuant to the statute, application procedures,
application review procedures, and payment procedures.

1.0 Criteria for Tenant Benefits
1.1 Only “Tenants”, as defined under the Act, are

entitled to benefits under the Act. A Tenant is defined to
mean an owner of a manufactured home who has tenancy of
a lot in a manufactured home community. A manufactured
home community refers to a parcel of land where two or
more lots are rented or offered for rent for the placement of
manufactured homes. Notwithstanding anything stated
herein to the contrary, a Tenant shall not be entitled to any of
the benefits described herein unless all of the statutory
requirements set forth in the Act have been met.

1.2 A Tenant is entitled to relocation benefits under the
Act if the Tenant is required to move due to a change in use
or conversion of the land in a manufactured home
community. A Tenant is not entitled for compensation for
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relocation if:
1.2.1 the Landlord (at the Landlord’s expense)

moves the Tenant’s manufactured home by mutual consent
to another lot in the manufactured home community or to
another manufactured home community; or

1.2.2 the Tenant is vacating the manufactured
home community and so informed the Landlord before
notice of the change in use was given by the Landlord; [or
(c)

1.2.3] the Tenant abandons the manufactured
home; or

1.2.3[1.2.4] the Tenant has failed to pay the
Tenant’s share of the Relocation Trust Fund assessment
during the course of his or her tenancy.

1.3 The maximum relocation payment available to a
Tenant is $4,000.00 for a single section home or $8,000.00
for a multi-section home.

1.4 If a Tenant is required to move due to a change in
use and complies with the statutory requirements of 25
Del.C. §7013, the Tenant is entitled to payment from the
Relocation Trust Fund of the lesser of:

1.4.1 the actual relocation expenses of moving
the manufactured home and existing appurtenances to a new
location within a 25 mile radius of the vacated manufactured
home community, or

1.4.2 the maximum benefits available under
Section 1.3.

1.5 Moving expenses which are eligible for
reimbursement include the cost of taking down, moving and
setting up the manufactured home in the new location.

1.6 In certain circumstances, a manufactured home may
be considered non-relocatable. If, based upon the criteria
described herein, a Tenant’s manufactured home is
determined by the Authority to be non-relocatable, the
Tenant may qualify for compensation to reimburse the
Tenant for the value of the non-relocatable home subject to
the limitations set forth in the Act.

1.7. Whether or not a home can or cannot be relocated
will be determined by the Authority based upon the
following criteria:

1.7.1 the availability of a replacement home site
within a 25 mile radius of the vacated manufactured home
community;

1.7.2 the feasibility of physical relocation,
including the ability of taking down, moving and setting up
the home in a new location without causing significant
structural damage to the manufactured home in the process;

1.7.3 the appraised value of the manufactured
home in comparison to the projected cost of relocating the
manufactured home to a new location.

1.8 If the Authority determines that the Tenant’s
manufactured home cannot be relocated, the Tenant shall
obtain, at the Tenant’s expense, an appraisal prepared by a
certified manufactured home appraiser for purposes of

determining the fair market value of the home and any
existing appurtenances. The appraisal shall exclude the value
of the underlying land. The maximum benefits available to
the Tenant under such circumstances shall be determined by
the Board for a single section home and a multi-section
home following the completion of an actuarial study to be
performed under the direction of the Authority. Subject to
the maximum limits, the amount of compensation that will
be paid to the Tenant will be equal to the fair market value of
the home based upon the appraisal.

1.9 To be eligible for compensation for a non-
relocatable home, in addition to the application provided for
in Section 3 hereof, the Tenant must deliver to the Authority
a current State of Delaware title to the home, duly endorsed
by the owner or owners of record, with valid releases of all
liens shown on the title, and a tax release.

1.10 In lieu of the foregoing benefits, a Tenant may
elect to abandon the manufactured home in the manufactured
home community and collect from the Trust Fund, in lieu of
any other benefits available under the Act, the sum of $1,500
for a single section home or $2,500 for a multi-section home.
To qualify for this payment, the Tenant must deliver to the
Authority a current State of Delaware title to the
manufactured home duly endorsed by the owner or owners
of record, valid releases of all liens shown on the title, and a
tax release.

2.0 Criteria for Landlord Benefits
2.1 If pursuant to the Act and these regulations, a

manufactured home is determined to be non-relocatable or a
Tenant abandons the home, upon application by the Landlord
duly submitted to the Authority, a Landlord of a
manufactured home community is entitled to receive from
the Relocation Trust Fund payment in an amount determined
by the Authority to be sufficient to remove and/or dispose of
the manufactured home. The maximum relocation payment
available to a Landlord is $4,000.00 for a single section
home or $8,000.00 for a multi-section home. To qualify for
this benefit, the Landlord must submit an application
pursuant to the provisions of Section 3. Notwithstanding
anything stated herein to the contrary, a Landlord shall not
be entitled to any of the benefits described herein unless all
of the statutory requirements set forth in the Act have been
met.  

2.2 Upon receipt of the title documents from the Tenant
for the manufactured home that is considered to be non-
relocatable or abandoned pursuant to the Act, the Authority
will relinquish the title to the Landlord to facilitate the
removal and/or disposal of the home from the manufactured
home community. Within ten (10) calendar days after the
removal and/or disposal of the manufactured home by the
Landlord, the Landlord shall notify the Authority in writing
of the amount of funds received by the Landlord, if any, from
any subsequent sale or disposal of the manufactured home,
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and a copy of all documents relating to the removal and/or
disposal shall be provided to the Authority, including
documents relating to any expenses incurred by the Landlord
in removing and/or disposing of the home.

2.3 Within thirty (30) days after receipt of the
information and documents required under the Act and these
regulations, the Authority shall cause a voucher to be issued
to the Division of Revenue of the Department of Finance,
directing the Division to issue a check in a designated
amount to the Landlord which amount shall represent the
amount determined by the Authority to be sufficient to cover
the cost of the removal and/or disposal of the manufactured
home, less any profit realized by the Landlord from the
removal and/or disposal of the home, subject to the
maximum relocation payment set forth in Section 2.1 hereof. 
 2.4 A Landlord shall not be entitled to any payment
from the Trust Fund if the Landlord has failed to pay the
Landlord’s share of the total Trust Fund assessment during
the course of the tenancies relating to the manufactured
home community or if the Landlord has failed to remit the
Tenant’s share of said assessment.

3.0 Application Procedures
3.1 The Authority will provide application forms

(Appendix A and Appendix B) on which applicants for
benefits under the Act may apply for benefits.

3.2 In the case of an application for benefits under the
Act by a Tenant, the application shall be in the form of
Appendix A and shall contain the following information:

3.2.1 name of the Tenant;
3.2.2 mailing address of the Tenant;
3.2.3 telephone number of the Tenant;
3.2.4 manufactured home community park

name and address;
3.2.5 space number for the manufactured home;
3.2.6 a description of the manufactured home,

including its size, year, manufacturer, and whether the
manufactured home is a single-wide or a double-wide;

3.2.7 a copy of the title or ownership documents
relating to the manufactured home;

3.2.8 a copy of the notice of termination or non-
renewal of the Tenant’s rental agreement due to a change in
use of land;

3.2.9 in the case of an application for relocation
assistance, a copy of the contract between the Tenant and a
licensed moving or towing contractor for the moving
expenses for the home;

3.2.10 in the case of any requests for
compensation for a manufactured home considered by the
Tenant to be non-relocatable, a description of the facts which
the Tenant relies upon in support of the Tenant’s contention
that the manufactured home is in fact non-relocatable based
upon the criteria provided for in the Act and these
regulations, together with any and all documents relating to

the purchase of the manufactured home and any
improvements made to the manufactured home by the
Tenant;

3.2.11 a certification by the Tenant that the
Tenant has paid the Tenant’s share of the Trust Fund
assessments during the course of the Tenant’s tenancy.

3.3 In the case of an application for benefits under the
Act by a Landlord, the application shall be in the form of
Appendix B and shall contain the following information:

3.3.1 the name of the Landlord;
3.3.2 the name of the manufactured home

community;
3.3.3 the mailing address of the Landlord;
3.3.4 the telephone number of the Landlord and

if the Landlord is not an individual, the name of the
designated representative of the Landlord;

3.3.5 a description of each manufactured home
for which the Landlord is seeking financial assistance;

3.3.6 a copy of the notice of termination or non-
renewal of the rental agreement due to a change in use of
land;

3.3.7 a contract with a licensed moving or
towing contractor for the removal and/or disposal of the
manufactured home;

3.3.8 an itemization of all expenses, other than
the expenses reflected in the contract between the Landlord
and the moving or towing contractor, together with
associated documents, which the Landlord anticipates will
be incurred in removing and/or disposing of the
manufactured home from the manufactured home
community;

3.3.9 a certification by the Landlord that the
Landlord has paid the Landlord’s share of the total Trust
Fund assessment during the course of the tenancies for the
manufactured home community and has remitted to the
Authority the Tenant’s share collected by the Landlord.

4.0 Assistance and Data Gathering
4.1 When requested, the Authority shall provide

assistance to Landlords and Tenants in completing
application forms.

4.2. The Authority’s staff may conduct on-site
inspections and/or phone interviews with the applicants to
acquire data necessary to enable the Authority to carry out its
duties under the Act.

5.0 Application Review Procedures
5.1 The Authority has the power to approve

applications pursuant to the Act.
5.2 The Authority or the Authority’s staff will review

applications and determine whether or not the procedural
requirements under the Act and these regulations have been
met. The Authority shall not be required to render a decision
on any application unless and until the Applicant has
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submitted a completed application prepared in accordance
with the Act and these regulations, and the Authority shall
have the right to reject any application that does not comply
with the procedural requirements of the Act or these
regulations.
  5.3 The Board of Directors of the Authority, or a
committee of the Board designated to make such decisions
(if authorized by the Board of Directors) shall endeavor to
render a decision with respect to each application no later
than thirty (30) days after receipt by the Authority of a
completed application prepared in accordance with the Act
and these regulations.

5.4 If the Authority approves an application, benefits
available under the Act shall be made in the form of a
voucher issued to the Division of Revenue of the Department
of Finance, directing the Division to issue a check in a
designated amount to the Applicant. Before any payment
will be made by the Authority to the Applicant, the
Applicant must provide the Authority with documentary
evidence showing that the expenses for which the Applicant
seeks reimbursement have been paid by the Applicant.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, if an Applicant can
demonstrate that due to financial hardship the Applicant
cannot make such payments in advance of the payment of
any benefit available under the Act, the Authority may issue
a two-party check made payable to the Applicant and the
contractor. Under such circumstances, the original check will
be mailed to the Applicant and a copy will be mailed to the
contractor.  

5.5 If at the time the application is approved, the Trust
Fund does not have sufficient monies to make a payment to
an Applicant, the Authority shall issue a written promissory
note to the Applicant for funds due and owing. Promissory
Notes shall be redeemed in order of issuance of the notes as
additional monies come into the Trust Fund.

5.6 If based upon the information submitted in a
Tenant's completed application, the Authority determines
that the Tenant's manufactured home cannot be relocated
based upon the criteria set forth herein, the Tenant shall be
directed to obtain, at the Tenant’s expense, an appraisal
prepared by a certified manufactured home appraiser, for
purposes of determining the fair market value of the home
and any existing appurtenances as sited, exclusive of the
value of the underlying land. Within thirty (30) days after
receipt of the appraisal, the Authority shall advise the Tenant
of the benefits that the Authority will pay to the Tenant for
the non-relocatable home. Payment shall be made to the
Tenant in the manner described herein, within ten (10) days
after the Tenant provides the Authority with all the
documents required, including the current title to the home.
Upon receipt of the title, the Authority will relinquish the
title to the Landlord to facilitate the removal and/or disposal
of the home from the manufactured home community.

5.7 With respect to applications submitted by the

Landlord for costs associated with the removal and/or
disposal of non-relocatable or abandoned manufactured
homes, within thirty (30) days after the receipt of the
completed application and all necessary documents and
information, including the documents described in Section
5.4 hereof, the Authority shall determine the cost of
removing and/or disposing of the manufactured home and
shall (subject to the maximum limits set forth in Section 2.1
hereof) issue payment for said amount to the Landlord, less
any profit realized by the Landlord from the removal and/or
disposal of the home.

5.8 If an Applicant disagrees with the Authority’s
decision with respect to any application, the Applicant may
petition the Authority to reconsider its decision by
requesting an administrative review with the Authority no
later than fourteen (14) calendar days after the Authority's
initial decision on the application.  The request:

5.8.1 must be in writing;
5.8.2 must be received by the Authority within

the aforesaid fourteen (14) day period; and
5.8.3 must include reasons and documentation

in support of the Applicant’s position.
5.9 After receipt of the Applicant’s letter, the Authority

will schedule an administrative review of the application at a
regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Directors of the
Authority. Notice of the administrative review meeting will
be sent to the Applicant at least seven (7) days in advance of
the meeting. At the administrative review meeting, the
Applicant shall present information or documentation to
support the Applicant’s position. At the administrative
review meeting, the Authority will render a decision and
notify the Applicant of its decision and the reason for the
Authority's decision. The decision of the Authority shall be
final and conclusive.

6.0 Moving and Towing Contractors
6.1 It shall be the responsibility of the Tenant and/or

Landlord to enter into a contract with a towing or moving
company for purposes of relocating, removing and/or
disposing of a manufactured home. The contractor must be
duly licensed to engage in said business in Delaware. The
Authority shall not be responsible for the performance of the
contractor, or have any obligation to the contractor, financial
or otherwise.

7.0 Certified Manufactured Home Appraisers
7.1 The Authority shall maintain a list of certified

manufactured home appraisers who are authorized and
qualified to appraise manufactured homes in Delaware.

7.2 The appraiser shall be an independent appraiser
who is qualified to appraise manufactured homes in
Delaware.

7.3 Any appraisal required under the Act shall include
the certified manufactured home appraiser’s opinion as to
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the fair market value of the manufactured home as sited, and
any existing appurtenances, but shall exclude the value of
the underlying land. The appraisal shall take into
consideration the replacement cost of the manufactured
home, together with the age, physical condition and
appearance of the home.

7.4 Any appraisal submitted by the appraiser shall
include the appraiser’s professional qualifications, a
summary of the salient facts and conclusions of the
appraiser, a description of the manufactured home, its
condition, and the appraiser’s analysis and conclusions.

7.5 The appraiser shall provide at least one original and
three copies of each report to the Authority.

APPENDIX A

DELAWARE MANUFACTURED HOME 
RELOCATION AUTHORITY

TENANT APPLICATION FOR RELOCATION 
ASSISTANCE

I hereby request assistance from the Delaware
Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund as set forth in 25
Del.C. §7012.  By signing this form, I certify that I am a
tenant as defined in 25 Del.C. §7003(u) and that I have paid
my share of the total Trust Fund assessment during the
course of my tenancy. I understand that it is a class A
misdemeanor for a tenant or a tenant's agent to file any
notice, statement, or other document required hereunder
which is false or contains a material misstatement of fact.

____________________________________________
(Signature of Tenant) (Date)

____________________________
(Social Security No.)

TENANTS NAME_______________________________
(Please Print)

PARK NAME __________________________________

UNIT 
ADDRESS:_____________________________________

Space No.

CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE: _________________________ 

Mailing Address if different from where unit is:
_______________________________________ 

PHONE NUMBER: _______________

SINGLE-WIDE___ DOUBLE-WIDE___

UNIT SIZE: _____YEAR: ________ 

MANUFACTURER: __________________

Please attach: (a) a copy of your title or a notarized
document showing ownership; (b) a copy of the notice of
termination or non-renewal of your rental agreement due to a
change in use of land; (c) if you are seeking relocation
expenses, you must submit a copy of your contract with a
licensed moving or towing contractor for the moving
expenses for your home; (d) if you believe that your home is
non-relocatable, provide a brief description of the reason for
your belief. (If the Authority determines that your home is in
fact non-relocatable, you must obtain at your expense, an
appraisal prepared by a certified manufactured home
appraiser. A list of qualified appraisers may be obtained by
contacting the Authority). If you elect to abandon your
home, please so note below. Under the Act, the maximum
benefit payable to a Tenant who elects to abandon his or her
home is $1,500.00 for a single section home and $2,500.00
for a multi-section home.

Type of Benefits Applied For: (Check the Appropriate
Benefit and Amount Requested)

A. Relocation Expenses of Moving Home____$ ____

B. Abandonment Payment______$ _____

C. Non-Relocatable Home Payment______$ _____

This form must be completed and returned along with
the required documents to:

Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation
Authority

Dover, Delaware 19901

APPENDIX B

DELAWARE MANUFACTURED HOME 
RELOCATION AUTHORITY

 APPLICATION FOR REMOVAL AND DISPOSAL 
ASSISTANCE SUBMITTED BY

MANUFACTURED HOME COMMUNITY OWNER

The undersigned Applicant, a manufactured home
community owner, hereby requests assistance from the
Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund
pursuant to 25 Del.C. §7014.  By signing this form,
Applicant certifies that Applicant is the owner of a
manufactured home community, as defined in 25 Del.C.
§7003(l), and that Applicant has paid Applicant's share of
the total Trust Fund assessment during to course of the
tenancies and has remitted to the Authority the tenant's share
as required by law. Applicant agrees that if Applicant
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realizes a profit from the removal and/or disposal of a home
included in this Application, Applicant will notify the
Authority in writing and will reimburse the Trust Fund for
any profit gained by the Applicant pertaining to that home.
Applicant understands that it is a class A misdemeanor for a
landlord or a landlord's agent to file any notice, statement, or
other document required under Section 7014 which is false
or contains a material misstatement of fact.

__________________________________
(Signature of Landlord) (Date)

____________________________
   (Social Security or E.I. Number)

LANDLORD NAME______ _______________________
(Please Print)

PARK NAME __________________________________

PARK 
ADDRESS:____________________________________

Space No.

CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE: _________________________ 

Mailing Address if different from where park is located:
_______________________________________ 

PHONE NUMBER: _______________

Total Spaces in Park:_______

TOTAL HOMES LOCATED IN PARK: ______

DATE TERMINATION/NONRENEWAL NOTICE 
MAILED TO TENANTS: ___________

DATE RECLOCATION PLAN FILED WITH
AUTHORITY: _______________________

Please attach: (a) a copy of the Relocation Plan and all
quarterly updates to the Plan; (b) a copy of the notice of
termination or non-renewal due to a change in use of land;
(c) if you are seeking recovery of removal/disposal
expenses, you must submit a copy of your contract with a
licensed moving or towing contractor for the moving and
disposal expenses for each home that is being removed or
disposed of; (d) for each non-relocatable or abandoned home
for which compensation is sought, complete the attached
summary form and submit with this Application.

Total Removal/Disposal Expenses Claimed:$ ___________

This form must be completed and returned along with

the required documents to:

Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation 
Authority
Dover, Delaware 19901

NON-RELOCATABLE OR ABANDONED HOME 
DESCRIPTION FORM

HOME OWNER INFORMATION CURRENT 
LOCATION OF MANUFACTURED HOME

Name: _________________________________

Address & Space Number:
Address: _______________________________ 
City/State/Zip Code: ______________________ 
Phone Number: __________________________

DESCRIPTION OF HOME

Single or Multi-Wide: ___________________________
Size: ________________________________________
Manufacturer: _________________________________
Serial Number: ________________________________
Year Manufactured: _____________________________
HUD Label if any: ______________________________

Listing of Appurtenances attached to the home, including
estimate of Size:
(Awnings, Skirting, Coolers or Air Conditioners, Sheds,
Porches, Carport, etc.)
________________________________________________

DETAIL OF WORK TO BE PERFORMED AND
CHARGES:
NOTE:  Must include all disassembly, transportation and
disposal costs.

Contractor Information:
Name: _____________________________
Address: ___________________________

IF APPLICANT REALIZES A PROFIT FROM THE
REMOVAL AND/OR DISPOSAL OF THE HOME,
APPLICANT MUST REIMBURSE THE TRUST FUND
FOR ANY PROFIT GAINED BY APPLICANT
PERTAINING TO THAT HOME.
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
200 Board of Landscape Architecture
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 205 (24 Del.C. §205)
24 DE Admin Code 200

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two
Delaware newspapers, a Public hearing was held on March
9, 2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of
Landscape Architects to receive comments regarding
proposed Regulations 3.0 and 7.1.2.

BACKGROUND

The enabling legislation for the practice of landscape
architecture is found in 24 Del.C. Chapter 2.  The purpose of
the change to Regulation 3.0 is to conform the regulation to
changes in law brought about by the passage of HB 211 by
the Delaware General Assembly.  HB 211 clarified that
entities under Delaware law or the laws of any other state
may practice landscape architecture in Delaware as long a
Delaware licensed landscape architect has been designated
as being responsible for services performed by such entity.
The entity must also receive a certificate of authorization
from the Board. The proposed regulation changes the
application process to account for these changes in the law.

The purpose of the change to Regulation 7.1.2 is to
specify the approval process for continuing education
programs. Continuing education programs other than those
sponsored by organizations in Regulation 7.1.2 will be
reviewed at the time of renewal.  Self directed activities must
be pre-approved and the licensee must submit 60 days prior
to the activity on forms provided in Regulations 7.3 and 7.4.

The Board believes and finds that the State of Delaware
has a compelling public policy interest in providing
application and renewal procedures that conform to changes
in law concerning the ability of entities to practice landscape
architecture in Delaware. The Board further finds that the
specification of continuing education is in the public interest
by ensuring that licensed landscape architects have specified
levels of educational and professional competence by timely
completing approved continuing education courses.
Therefore, the Board finds that the changes to Regulations
3.0 and 7.1.2, as contained in Exhibits A and B respectively,
enhance the ability of licensees to practice landscape
architecture in Delaware. 

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND 
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

No written comments were received. No public
comment was received at the March 9, 2005 hearing. 

FINDINGS OF FACT WITH RESPECT TO THE 
EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Board carefully reviewed and considered the
proposed changes to Regulations 3.0 and 7.1.2. The
overarching concerns of the Board of Landscape
Architecture were the public health, safety and welfare of
citizens and the ability to maintain the public trust in the
practice of landscape architecture.  The Board finds that the
changes to Regulation 3.0 are necessary to conform with
changes in law resulting from HB 211, in accord with 29
Del.C. Sec. 10113(4).  The Board further finds that the
continuing education approval process specified in
regulation 7.1.2 is necessary to ensure that licensees properly
comply with the procedures for granting continuing
education. 

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulations 3.0
and 7.1.2 attached as Exhibits A and B respectively to be
effective 10 days following publication of this order in the
Register of Regulations.  The text of the revised rule remains
as published in Register of Regulations, 8 DE Reg. 953 (Jan.
05).

SO ORDERED this 9th day of March, 2005.

Second Order

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on March
9, 2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of
Landscape Architects to receive comments regarding
proposed Regulation 11.0. The proposed regulation
identifies crimes substantially related to the practice of
landscape architecture as mandated by SB 229 enacted by
the 142nd General Assembly.  The proposed regulation was
published in 8 DE Reg. 953 (Jan., 2005).

Background

The enabling legislation for the practice of landscape
architecture is found in 24 Del.C. Chapter 2.  Pursuant to SB
229 the Board is directed to promulgate regulations
specifically identifying those crimes which are substantially
related to the practice of landscape architecture.
“‘Substantially related” means the nature of the criminal
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conduct, for which the person was convicted, has a direct
bearing on the fitness or ability to perform 1 or more of the
duties or responsibilities necessarily related to the practice of
architecture. The Board is therefore empowered to
promulgate regulations specifically identifying those crimes
which are substantially related to the provision of landscape
architecture services. This regulation specifically identifies
those crimes which are substantially related to the practice of
landscape architecture services in Delaware.

The Board believes and finds that the State of Delaware
has a compelling public policy interest in ensuring that
licensed landscape architects have specified levels of
educational and professional competence as well as
sufficient character and judgment to practice safely in their
chosen fields and to do so in a manner which will not
undermine the community’s confidence in the expertise and
professionalism of the members of the profession.
Landscape architects perform consultation, investigation,
research, planning, design, drawing preparation,
specifications and contract services in connection with the
development of land areas with the primary purpose of the
preservation, enhancement or determination of proper land
uses.  It is therefore critical that all reasonable steps are taken
to determine, to the extent possible, that the licensing of
landscape architects takes into consideration not only the
individual’s technical competence but his or her propensity
to behave in a way that does not expose the public to risk.
This regulation fosters legitimate expectations of honest and
honorable behavior by such licensed professionals in the
performance of their duties.

Therefore, the Board finds that conviction of the crimes
listed in Exhibit “A” Proposed Regulation 11.0 or
substantially similar crimes in another state or jurisdiction,
including federal crimes, have a direct bearing on and
adversely affect the character and fitness to perform one or
more of the duties or responsibilities substantially and
necessarily related to the practice of landscape architecture
in Delaware. 

Summary of the Evidence

No written comments were received. No public
comment was received at the March 9, 2005 hearing. 

Findings of Fact

The Board carefully reviewed and considered the crimes
presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from the
Delaware Code.   The overarching concerns of the Board of
Landscape Architecture were the public health, safety and
welfare of citizens and the ability to maintain the public trust
in the practice of landscape architecture.

The Board finds that the identified crimes are
substantially related to fitness or ability to perform 1 or more

of the duties and responsibilities of landscape architect in
that they involve: the use of physical violence or force, or the
threat thereof, toward or upon the person of another; sexual
abuse or inappropriate sexual conduct; violation of privacy;
dishonesty, or false or fraudulent conduct;  mistreatment or
abuse of children, the elderly; and offenses involving the
illegal possession or the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or
other addictive substances and those non-addictive
substances with a substantial capacity to impair reason or
judgment. 

In summary, the Board finds that adopting regulation
11.0 as proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the
State of Delaware and is necessary to protect the health and
safety of the individuals who need the services of a
landscape architect.

Decision And Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulation 11.0
attached as Exhibit “A” to be effective 10 days following
publication of this order in the Register of Regulations.  The
text of the revised rule remains as published in Register of
Regulations, 8 DE Reg. 953 (Jan. 05).

SO ORDERED this 9th day of March, 2005.

200 Board of Landscape Architecture

1.0 Filing of Applications for Written Examination
1.1 Persons seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del.C.

§206 shall submit an application for written examination on
a form prescribed by the Board to the Board’s office at the
Division of Professional Regulation (the “Division”) along
with the application fee established by the Division.
Applicants for written examination shall be filed in such
office of the Board no later than twelve (12) weeks prior to
the opening date of the examination.

1.2 Applicants seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del.C.
§206(a)(1) shall have graduated from a school or college of
landscape architecture approved or accredited by the
national Council of Landscape Architectural Registration
Boards, the American Society of Landscape Architects
Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board, or other
legitimate national association of landscape architects.

1.3 For purposes of 24 Del.C. §206(a)(3), courses in
landscape architecture shall have been taken at a school or
college of landscape architecture approved or accredited by
the national Council of Landscape Architectural Registration
Boards, the American Society of Landscape Architects
Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board, or other
legitimate national association of landscape architects.

1.4 Each applicant must submit documentary evidence,
as more fully described on the application form, to show the
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Board that the applicant is clearly eligible to sit for the
examination under 24 Del.C. §206.
  1.5 The Board shall not consider an application for
written examination until all items described in paragraphs
1.1 and 1.2 of this Rule have been submitted to the Board’s
office.
  1.6 The Board reserves the right to retain as a
permanent part of the application any or all documents
submitted.
  1.7 The examination shall be the Council of Landscape
Architectural Registration Board’s (“CLARB”) current
uniform national examination. CLARB establishes a passing
score for each uniform national examination.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §§206, 207
5 DE Reg. 821 (10/01/01)

2.0 Filing of Applications for Reciprocity
  2.1 Persons seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del.C.
§208, shall submit payment of the fee established by the
Division and an application on a form prescribed by the
Board which shall include proof of licensure and good
standing in each state or territory  of current licensure, and
on what basis the license was obtained therein, including the
date licensure was granted.  Letters of good standing must
also be provided for each state or jurisdiction in which the
applicant was ever previously licensed.

2.2 The Board shall not consider an application for
licensure by reciprocity until all items described in 24 Del.C.
§208 and paragraph 2.1 of this Rule have been submitted to
the Board’s office.

2.3 A passing exam score for purposes of reciprocity
shall be the passing score set by CLARB, or the passing
score accepted by the Delaware Board, for the year in which
the exam was taken.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §208.

3.0 Filing of Applications for Certificate of
Authorization

Corporations or partnerships seeking a certificate of
authorization pursuant to 24 Del. C. §212 shall submit an
application on a form prescribed by the Board.  Such
application shall include the (a) names and addresses of all
officers and members of the corporation, or officers and
partners of the partnership, and (b) the name of a corporate
officer in the case of a corporation, or the name of a partner
in the case of a partnership, who is licensed to practice
landscape architecture in this State and who shall be
responsible for services in the practice of landscape
architecture on behalf of the corporation or partnership.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §212.
A business entity desiring a certificate of authorization

pursuant to 24 Del.C. Section 212 shall file with the Board
an application, on forms provided by the Board, listing
relevant information, including the names and addresses of

officers, partners, members, managers or principals of the
business entity and also of the individual(s) duly licensed to
practice landscape architecture in this State who shall be in
responsible charge of the landscape architecture in
compliance with 24 Del.C. Section 212(b)(1), and any other
information required by the Board, accompanied by the
appropriate fee. A certificate of authorization shall be
renewed biennially in such manner as is determined by the
Division, and upon payment of the appropriate fee and
submission of a renewal form provided by the Division. In
the event there should be a change in the information
provided in the application for a certificate of authorization,
notification of such change shall be provided to the Board in
writing within thirty (30) days of the effective date of such
change.

4.0 Licenses 
Only one license shall be issued to a licensed landscape

architect, except for a duplicate issued to replace a lost or
destroyed license.

5.0 Seal
5.1 Technical Requirements

5.1.1 For the purpose of signing and sealing
drawings, specifications, contract documents, plans, reports
and other documents (hereinafter collectively referred to as
“drawings”), each landscape architect shall provide him or
herself with an individual seal of design and size as approved
by the Board to be used as hereinafter directed on documents
prepared by him or her or under his/her direct supervision for
use in the State of Delaware.

5.1.2 The application of the seal impression or
rubber stamp to the first sheet of the bound sheets of the
drawings (with index of drawings included), title page of
specifications, and other drawings and contract documents
shall constitute the licensed landscape architect’s stamp.

5.1.3 The seal to be used by a licensee of the
Board shall be of the embossing type or a rubber stamp, and
have two (2) concentric circles.  The outside circle measures
across the center 1 13/16 inches. The inner circle shall
contain only the words “NO.” and “State of Delaware.”  At
the bottom the words “Registered Landscape Architect”
reading counterclockwise, and at the top the name of the
licensee.

5.1.4 An impression of the seal is to be
submitted to the Board to be included in the licensee’s
records.

5.2 Use of the Seal
5.2.1 A landscape architect shall not sign or seal

drawings unless they were prepared by him/her or under his/
her direct supervision.

5.2.2 “Supervision” for purposes of signing and/
or sealing drawings shall mean direct supervision, involving
responsible control over and detailed professional
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knowledge of the contents of the drawings throughout their
preparation. Reviewing, or reviewing and correcting,
drawings after they have been prepared by others does not
constitute the exercise of responsible control because the
reviewer has neither control over, nor detailed professional
knowledge of, the content of such drawings throughout their
preparation. 

  5.2.3 The seal appearing on any drawings shall
be prima facie evidence that said drawings were prepared by
or under the direct supervision of the individual who signed
and/or sealed the drawings.  Signing or sealing of drawings
prepared by another shall be a representation by the
registered landscape architect that he/she has detailed
professional knowledge of and  vouches for the contents of
the drawings.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §205(a)(1); 212(a).

6.0 Renewal of Licenses 
6.1 Each application for license renewal or request for

inactive status shall be submitted on or before the expiration
date of the current licensing period.  However, a practitioner
may still renew his or her license within 60 days following
the license renewal date upon payment of a late fee set by the
Division. Upon the expiration of 60 days following the
license renewal date an unrenewed license shall be deemed
lapsed and the practitioner must reapply pursuant to the
terms of 24 Del.C. §210(b).

6.2 It shall be the responsibility of all licensees to keep
the Board and the Division informed of any change in name,
home or business address.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §210.

7.0 Continuing Education as a Condition of Biennial
Renewal

7.1 General Statement: Each licensee shall be required
to meet the continuing education requirements of these
guidelines for professional development as a condition for
license renewal. Continuing education obtained by a licensee
should maintain, improve or expand skills and knowledge
obtained prior to initial licensure, or develop new and
relevant skills and knowledge.

  7.1.1 In order for a licensee to qualify for
license renewal as a landscape architect in Delaware, the
licensee must have completed 20 hours of continuing
education acceptable to the Board within the previous two
years, or be granted an extension by the Board for reasons of
hardship.  Such continuing education shall be obtained by
active participation in courses, seminars, sessions, programs
or self-directed activities approved by the Board.

7.1.1.1 For purposes of seminar or classroom
continuing education, one hour of acceptable continuing
education shall mean 60 minutes of instruction.

7.1.2 To be acceptable for credit toward this
requirement, all courses, seminars, sessions, programs or

self-directed activities shall be submitted to the Board.  The
Board shall recommend any course, seminar, session or
program for continuing education credit that meets the
criteria in sub-paragraph 7.1.2.1 below.  All courses,
seminars, sessions and programs are acceptable for
continuing education credit if sponsored by organizations
listed in Rule 7.1.3. All other continuing education credits
will be reviewed at the time of  renewal. All self-directed
activities for continuing education credit allowed by Rule
7.6 must be pre-approved and submitted by the licensee 60
days prior to the activity on the form provided in Rules 7.3
and 7.4.

7.1.2.1 Each course, seminar, session,
program, or self-directed activity to be recommended for
approval by the Board shall have a direct relationship to the
practice of landscape architecture as defined in the Delaware
Code and contain elements which will assist licensees to
provide for the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of
Delaware served by Delaware licensed landscape architects.

5 DE Reg. 446 (8/1/01)
7.1.3 Continuing Education courses offered or

sponsored by the following organizations will be
automatically deemed to qualify for continuing education
credit:

7.1.3.1 American Society of Landscape
Architects (National and local/chapter levels)

7.1.3.2 Council of Landscape Architectural
Registration

7.1.4 Erroneous or false information attested to
by the licensee shall constitute grounds for denial of license
renewal.

7.2 Effective Date: The Board shall commence
requiring continuing education as a condition of renewal of a
license for the license year commencing on February 1,
1995. The licensee shall be required to successfully
complete twenty (20) hours of continuing education within
the previous two calendar years (example: February 1, 1993
through January 31, 1995).

7.3 For licensing periods beginning February 1, 2001
and thereafter, documentation as required by Rule 7.4 of all
continuing education hours must be submitted to the Board
on or before November 1 of the year preceding the biennial
renewal date of the licenses.  A license shall not be renewed
until the Board has approved twenty (20) hours of continuing
education classes as provided in Rule 7.1 or has granted an
extension of time for reasons of hardship.

7.4 Reporting: The licensee shall submit a completed
Verification of Continuing Education Form provided by the
Division of Professional Regulation to the Board.

7.4.1 Each licensee must retain copies of all
supporting materials documenting proof of continuing
education compliance for submission to the Board upon
request.  Supporting materials include a syllabus, agenda,
itinerary or brochure published by the sponsor of the activity
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and a document showing proof of attendance (i.e.,
certificate, a signed letter from the sponsor attesting to
attendance, report of passing test score).  The Board reserves
its right to request additional information and/or
documentation to verify continuing education compliance.

7.5 Hardship: The Board will consider any reasonable
special request from individual licensees for continuing
education credits and procedures. The Board may, in
individual cases involving physical disability, illness, or
extenuating circumstances, grant an extension, not to exceed
two (2) years, of time within which continuing education
requirements must be completed. In cases of physical
disability or illness, the Board reserves the right to require a
letter from a physician attesting to the licensee’s physical
condition.  No extension of time shall be granted unless the
licensee submits a written request to the Board prior to the
expiration of the license.

7.6 Self-directed Activities: For renewal periods
beginning February 1, 2001, the following rules regarding
self-directed activity shall apply. The Board will have the
authority to allow self-directed activities to fulfill the
continuing education requirements of the licensees.
However, these activities must result in a book draft,
published article, delivered paper, workshop, symposium, or
public address within the two (2) year reporting period.
Self-directed activities must advance the practitioner’s
knowledge of the field and be beyond the practitioner’s
normal work duties. Instructors will not be granted CE credit
for studies customarily associated with their usual university
or college instruction teaching loads.

7.6.1 The Board may, upon request, review and
approve credit for self-directed activities in a given biennial
licensing period. A licensee must obtain pre-approval of the
Board prior to undertaking the self-directed activity in order
to assure continuing education credit for the activity. Any
self-directed activity submitted for approval must include a
written proposal outlining the scope of the activity, the
number of continuing education hours requested, the
anticipated completion date(s), the role of the licensee in the
case of multiple participants and whether any part of the self-
directed activity has ever been previously approved or
submitted for credit by the same licensee. Determination of
credit will be made by the Board upon review of the
completed final project.

7.7 Exemptions: New licensees by way of uniform
national examination or by way of reciprocity shall be
exempt from the continuing education requirements set forth
herein for their first renewal period.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §205(12).
5 DE Reg. 446 (8/1/01)

8.0 Inactive Status
8.1 A licensee may, upon written request to the Board,

place his/her license on inactive status.

8.2 A licensee who has been granted inactive status and
who wishes to re-enter the practice of landscape architecture,
shall submit a written request to the Board along with a pro-
rated renewal fee and proof of completion of twenty (20)
hours of continuing education during the period of inactive
status.

8.3 Licensees on inactive status shall renew their
inactive status by notification to the Division of Professional
Regulation at the time of biennial license renewal.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §210(c).

9.0 Disciplinary Proceedings and Hearings
9.1 Disciplinary proceedings against any  licensee may

be initiated by an aggrieved person by submitting a
complaint in writing to the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation as specified in 29 Del.C.
§8807(h)(1)-(3).

9.1.1 A copy of the written complaint shall be
forwarded to the administrative assistant for the Board.  At
the next regularly scheduled Board meeting, a contact person
for the Board shall be appointed and a copy of the written
complaint given to that person.

9.1.2 The contact person appointed by the Board
shall maintain strict confidentiality with respect to the
contents of the complaint and shall not discuss the matter
with other Board members or with the public.  The contact
person shall maintain contact with the investigator or deputy
attorney general assigned to the case regarding the progress
of the investigation.

9.1.3 In the instance when the case is being
closed by the Division, the contact person shall report the
facts and conclusions to the Board without revealing the
identities of the parties involved.  No vote of the Board is
necessary to close the case.

9.1.4 If a hearing before the Board has been
requested by the Deputy Attorney General, a copy of these
Rules and Regulations shall be provided to the respondent
upon request. The notice of hearing shall fully comply with
29 Del.C. Sec. 10122 and 10131 pertaining to the
requirements of the notice of proceedings. All notices shall
be sent to the respondent’s address as reflected in the Board’s
records.

9.1.5 At any disciplinary hearing, the
respondent shall have the right to appear in person or be
represented by counsel, or both.  The Respondent shall have
the right to produce evidence and witnesses on his or her
behalf and to cross examine witnesses. The Respondent shall
be entitled to the issuance of subpoenas to compel the
attendance of witnesses and the production of documents on
his or her behalf.

9.1.6 No less than 10 days prior to the date set
for a disciplinary hearing, the Department of Justice and the
respondent shall submit to the Board and to each other, a list
of the witnesses they intend to call at the hearing.  Witnesses
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not listed shall be permitted to testify only upon a showing of
reasonable cause for such omission.

9.1.7 If the respondent fails to appear at a
disciplinary hearing after receiving the notice required by 29
Del.C. §10122 and 10131, the Board may proceed to hear
and determine the validity of the charges against the
respondent.

Statutory authority: 24 Del.C. §§213 and 215; 29 Del.C.
§§10111, 10122 and 10131

9.2 Hearing procedures
9.2.1 The Board may administer oaths, take

testimony, hear proofs and receive exhibits into evidence at
any hearing. All testimony at any hearing shall be under
oath.

9.2.2 Strict rules of evidence shall not apply.
All evidence having probative value commonly accepted by
reasonably prudent people in the conduct of their affairs
shall be admitted.

9.2.3 An attorney representing a party in a
hearing or matter before the Board shall notify the  Board of
the representation in writing as soon as practicable.

9.2.4 Requests for postponements of any matter
scheduled before the Board shall be submitted to the Board’s
office in writing no less than three (3) days before the date
scheduled for the hearing. Absent a showing of exceptional
hardship, there shall be a maximum of one postponement
allowed to each party to any hearing.

9.2.5 A complaint shall be deemed to “have
merit” and the Board may impose disciplinary sanctions
against the licensee if a majority of the members of the
Board find, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the
respondent has committed the act(s) of which he or she is
accused and that those act(s) constitute grounds for
discipline pursuant to 24 Del.C. §213.

Statutory authority: 24 Del.C. §§205(7)(8); 213, 214,
215.

10.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

10.1 If the report is received by the chairperson of
the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately
notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her
designate of the report. If the Director of Professional
Regulation receives the report, he/she shall immediately
notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that
chairperson's designate or designates.

10.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

10.3 In order for the individual to participate in the

Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).

10.4 A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

10.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
section 10.8.

10.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:

10.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.

10.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
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designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.

10.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program.
 10.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional
to be personally responsible for all costs and charges
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and
treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the
regulated professional to cover administrative costs
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount
of the fee imposed under this subparagraph shall
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the
proportional expenses incurred by the Division of
Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board
in addition to the administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option.

10.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.

10.6.6 Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

10.7 The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.

10.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.

10.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.

10.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to

comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.

10.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected
if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter.

10.12 Any regulated professional who complies with
all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless
otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with
the regulated professional shall include the potential for
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may
be disclosed.

11.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of
architecture

11.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice
of landscape architecture in the State of Delaware without
regard to the place of conviction:

11.1.1 Conspiracy in the first degree. 11 Del.C.
§513.

11.1.2 Aggravated Menacing. 11 Del.C. §602(b).
11.1.3 Reckless endangering in the first degree.

11 Del.C. §604.
11.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second

degree. 11 Del. C. §605.
11.1.5 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first

degree. 11 Del.C. §606.
11.1.6 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§612.
11.1.7 Assault in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §613
11.1.8 Terroristic threatening; felony. 11 Del.C.

§621
11.1.9 Vehicular homicide in the first degree. 11

Del.C. §630A.
11.1.10 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second

degree.  11 Del.C. §633.
11.1.11 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first

degree. 11 Del.C. §634.
11.1.12 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§635.
11.1.13 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
11.1.14 Unlawful sexual contact in the second

degree. 11 Del.C. §768.  
11.1.15 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree.
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11 Del.C. §769.
11.1.16 Rape in the fourth degree. 11 Del.C. §770.
11.1.17 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §771.
11.1.18 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§772.
11.1.19 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773.
11.1.20 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. §776.
11.1.21 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11

Del.C. §778.
11.1.22 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. §780.
11.1.23Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree.

11 Del.C. §782.
11.1.24 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11

Del.C. §783.
11.1.25 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§783A.
11.1.26 Arson in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§802.
11.1.27 Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803.
11.1.28  Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§825.
11.1.29 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§826
11.1.30 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§831.
11.1.31 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§832.
11.1.32 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§835.
11.1.33 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§836.
11.1.34 Theft.  11 Del.C. §841
11.1.35 Theft; false pretenses. 11 Del C. §843
11.1.36  Extortion.  11 Del. C. §846.
11.1.37  Identity theft.  11 Del.C. §854.
11.1.38  Forgery.  11 Del.C. §861.
11.1.39 Tampering with public records in the first

degree.  11 Del.C. §876.
11.1.40 Issuing a false certificate. 11 Del.C. §878.
11.1.41 Bribery 11 Del.C. §881.
11.1.42 Receiving a bribe 11 Del.C. §882.
11.1.43 Criminal impersonation of a police officer.

11 Del.C. §907B.
11.1.44  Insurance fraud. 11 Del.C. §913.
11.1.45 Dealing in children.  11 Del.C. §1100.
11.1.46 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11

Del.C. §1102.
11.1.47 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1108.
11.1.48 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography.

11 Del.C. §1109.
11.1.49 Possession of child pornography. 11

Del.C. § 1111.
11.1.50 Felony Bribery. 11 Del.C. §1201.

11.1.51 Felony Receiving a Bribe. 11 Del.C.
§1203.

11.1.52 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C.
§1222.

11.1.53 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C.
§1223.

11.1.54 Terroristic threatening of public officials
or public servants. 11 Del. C. §1240.

11.1.55 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous
weapon.  11 Del.C.  §1445.

11.1.56 Possession of a deadly weapon during
commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447.

11.1.57 Possession of a firearm during
commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. §1447A.

11.1.58 Possession and purchase of deadly
weapons by persons prohibited. 11 Del.C. §1448.

11.1.59 Removing a firearm from the possession
of a law enforcement officer.  11 Del.C. §1458.

11.1.60 Criminal Penalties, Organized Crime and
Racketeering.  11 Del.C. §1504.

11.1.61 Victim or Witness intimidation. 11 Del.C.
§§3532 & 3533.

11.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of
landscape architecture shall be deemed to include any crimes
under any federal law,  state law, or  valid town, city or
county ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes
identified in this rule.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
1700 Board of Medical Practice

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 1730(a)(12) (24 Del.C. §1730(a)(12))

24 DE Admin. Code 1700

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and
publication of notice in two Delaware Newspapers, a public
hearing was held on Tuesday, January 4, 2005 at a scheduled
meeting of the Board of Medical Practice to receive and
consider public comment concerning proposed Regulation
No. 29. This Regulation sets forth crimes which the Board of
Medical Practice believes are substantially related to the
practice of medicine, the practice as a licensed respiratory
care practitioner and a physician’s assistant. The proposed
regulation was published in the Register of Regulations in
Volume 8, Issue 6, Wednesday, December 1, 2004.
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Background

The 142nd General Assembly of the State of Delaware
passed Senate Bill No. 229 which, among other things,
directed various Boards, Agencies and Commissions
including the Board of Medical Practice to adopt a regulation
specifically identifying and setting forth crimes which were
deemed to be substantially related to the practice of
medicine, the work of a physician’s assistant or the practice
of respiratory care. (See Section 29, Senate Bill No. 229,
Del. Code Ann., §1730(e)( June 30, 2004))  The Governor
signed this legislation into law.

In this legislation, the term “substantially related to”
means that the nature of the criminal conduct, for which the
person was convicted, has a direct bearing on the fitness or
ability to perform one or more of the duties or
responsibilities necessarily related to the provision of the
particular professional services.

Summary of the Evidence

The Board received written comments from Ms.
Daniese McMullin-Powell, Chairperson of the State Council
for Persons with Disabilities (“SCPD”). In her written
comments, Ms. McMullin-Powell observes that the Board of
Medical Practice has not adopted a restrained approach to
defining crimes substantially related to the practice of
medicine. Ms. McMullin-Powell also observes that many of
the listed crimes are misdemeanors which would not have
been disqualifying under the statute prior to the repeal of the
“any felony” statute. Finally, Ms. McMullin-Powell asserts
that the SCPD believes that the Board’s 7 page list of crimes
is inconsistent with the legislative intent of S.B. No. 229.

In proposing the Regulation, the  Board carefully
considered a compilation of crimes extracted from the
Delaware Code and included federal criminal offenses
(Title 18, U.S.C.A.) to include Federal Health Care offenses
as being substantially related to the fitness of an individual to
provide health care services in the State of Delaware as a
physician, Physician’s Assistant or a licensed Respiratory
Care Practitioner. Also included are any crimes under other
laws which are substantially similar to those crimes
identified in the proposed regulation.

It is the view of the Board that the conviction of such
crimes should form the basis for a proposal to deny
certification to an applicant as a matter of public information
and protection. It is unfortunate that the Board has been
required to specify in advance a list of crimes which are
deemed to be “substantially related to the practice of….” It is
unfortunate because such determinations are more
appropriately made after a review of the circumstances
surrounding the crime and the particular facts leading to the
conviction. However, the Board has the statutory ability to

waive any such criminal convictions as well as other
disqualifications for licensure as a physician. The addition of
waiver provisions for Physician’s Assistants and Respiratory
Care Practitioners has been legislatively proposed.  The
presence of a waiver provision vesting appropriate discretion
in the Board allows the Board to take into consideration
things such as the circumstances surrounding the
commission of the crime, how much time has elapsed since
the conviction, the extent to which restitution has been made,
the age of the individual at the time of the conviction and any
other circumstances bearing on the ability of the individual
to practice in the health care field competently and with
safety to the public.  It is a fact that there are physicians
practicing in Delaware who are convicted felons and the
Board has expressly waived such felony convictions and
granted licensure when it was determined to be appropriate
to do so and proposed to continue to make such waivers
where the circumstances indicate that it is appropriate to do
so and the public is protected.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board by this order adopts the proposed Regulation
No. 29 to be effective on April 11, 2005. (Ten (10) days after
the publication of this Order in the Register of Regulations).

Text and Citation

The text of the Regulation No. 29 remains as published
in the Register of Regulation, Volume No. 8, Issue No. 6,
Wednesday, December 1, 2004, (a copy of which is attached
hereto) with the exception of the erroneously published
definition of “Jurisdiction” in Section 29.1 which is
corrected to read: “ ‘Substantially similar crimes in another
State or Jurisdiction’ includes all crimes prohibited by or
punishable under Title 18 of the United States Code
Annotated (U.S.C.A.) such as, but not limited to, Federal
Health Care Offenses”.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 1st day of March, 2005.

Anthony M. Policastro, M.D.
Oluseyi N. Senu-Oke, M.D.
Mr. John W. Banks
Mr. Vance Daniels
Francis Marro, M.D.
Roberto Villasenor, M.D.
James Salva, M.D.
Galicano Inguito, M.D.
Karl McIntosh, M.D. Board Vice President
Garrett Colmorgen, M.D. Board President
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29.0 Crimes Substantially Related to the Practice of
Medicine and the Practice of Licensed Respiratory Care
and Practice as a Licensed Physician’s Assistant

The Board finds that for purposes of licensing,
renewal, reinstatement and discipline, the conviction of any
of the following crimes, or of the attempt to commit or a
conspiracy to commit or conceal the following crimes or
substantially similar crimes in another state or jurisdiction, is
deemed to be substantially related to the practice of
Medicine, Respiratory Care and Physician’s Assistants in the
State of Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

29.1 For the purposes of this section the following
definitions shall apply:

“Conviction”  means a verdict of guilty by whether
entered by a judge or jury, or a plea of guilty or a plea of nolo
contendere or other similar plea such as a “Robinson” or
“Alford” plea unless the individual has been discharged
under §4218 of Title 11 of the Delaware Code (probation
before judgment) or under §1024 of Title 10 (domestic
violence diversion program) or by §4764 of Title 16 (first
offenders controlled substances diversion program).

“Jurisdiction” [Substantially similar crimes in
another State or Jurisdiction] including all crimes
prohibited by or punishable under Title 18 of the United
Stated Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.) such as, but not limited
to, Federal Health Care offenses.

29.2 Any crime which involves the use of physical
force or violence toward or upon the person of another and
shall include by way of example and not of limitation the
following crimes set forth in Title 11 of the Delaware Code
Annotated: 

Assaults and Related Offenses
29.2.1 §601.  Offensive touching; 
29.2.2 §602.  Menacing;
29.2.3 §603.  Reckless endangering in the second

degree;
29.2.4 §604.  Reckless endangering in the first

degree;
29.2.5 §605.  Abuse of a pregnant female in the

second degree;
29.2.6 §606.  Abuse of a pregnant female in the

first degree;
29.2.7 §611.  Assault in the third degree; 
29.2.8 §612.  Assault in the second degree; 
29.2.9 §613.  Assault in the first degree; 
29.2.10 §614.  Assault on a sports official.
29.2.11 §615.  Assault by abuse or neglect; 
29.2.12 §621.  Terroristic threatening;
29.2.13 §625.  Unlawfully administering drugs;
29.2.14 §626. Unlawfully administering controlled

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs;
29.2.15 §627. Prohibited acts as to substances

releasing vapors or fumes;
29.2.16 §628. Vehicular assault in the second

degree; 
29.2.17 §629. Vehicular assault in the first degree; 
29.2.18 §630. Vehicular homicide in the second

degree; 
29.2.19 §630A. Vehicular homicide in the first

degree;
29.2.20 §631.  Criminally negligent homicide;
29.2.21 §632.  Manslaughter; 
29.2.22 §633. Murder by abuse or neglect in the

second degree; 
29.2.23 §634. Murder by abuse or neglect in the

first degree;
29.2.24 §635.  Murder in the second degree;
29.2.25 §636.  Murder in the first degree;
29.2.26 §645.  Promoting suicide.
Abortion and Related Offenses
29.2.27 §651.  Abortion;
29.2.28 §653.  Issuing abortional articles.
Sexual Offenses
29.2.29 §763.  Sexual harassment;
29.2.30 §764. Indecent exposure in the second

degree;
29.2.31 §765. Indecent exposure in the first

degree;
29.2.32 §766.  Incest;
29.2.33 §767.  Unlawful sexual contact in the third

degree;
29.2.34 §768. Unlawful sexual contact in the

second degree;
29.2.35 §769. Unlawful sexual contact in the first

degree;
29.2.36 §770.  Rape in the fourth degree;
29.2.37 §771.  Rape in the third degree;
29.2.38 §772.  Rape in the second degree;
29.2.39 §773.  Rape in the first degree;
29.2.40 §776.  Sexual extortion;
29.2.41 §777.  Bestiality;
29.2.42 §778.  Continuous sexual abuse of a child;
29.2.43 §780.  Female genital mutilation.
Kidnapping and Related Offenses
29.2.44 §781. Unlawful imprisonment in the

second degree;
29.2.45 §782. Unlawful imprisonment in the first

degree; 
29.2.46 §783.  Kidnapping in the second degree;
29.2.47 §783A.  Kidnapping in the first degree;
29.2.48 §785.  Interference with custody;
Coercion
29.2.49 §791.  Acts constituting coercion;

29.3 Any crime which involves dishonesty or false,
fraudulent or aberrant behavior and shall include by way of
example and not of limitation the following crimes listed in
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Title 11 of the Delaware Code Annotated:
Arson and Related Offenses
29.3.1 §801.  Arson in the third degree; 
29.3.2 §802.  Arson in the second degree;
29.3.3 §803.  Arson in the first degree;
29.3.4 §804.  Reckless burning or exploding;
29.3.5 §805.  Cross or religious symbol burning;
Criminal Trespass and Burglary
29.3.6 §820.  Trespassing with intent to peer or

peep into a window or door of  another;
29.3.7 §821. Criminal trespass in the third

degree;
29.3.8 §822. Criminal trespass in the second

degree;
29.3.9 §823. Criminal trespass in the first degree;
29.3.10 §824.  Burglary in the third degree;
29.3.11 §825.  Burglary in the second degree;
29.3.12 §826.  Burglary in the first degree;
29.3.13 §828.  Possession of burglar’s tools or

instruments facilitating theft;
Robbery
29.3.14 §831.  Robbery in the second degree;
29.3.15 §832.  Robbery in the first degree.
29.3.16 §835.  Carjacking in the second degree;
29.3.17 §836.  Carjacking in the first degree;
Theft and Related Offenses
29.3.18 §840.  Shoplifting; class G felony;
29.3.19 §840A. Use of illegitimate retail sales

receipt or Universal Product Code Label.
29.3.20 §841.  Theft;
29.3.21 §842. Theft; lost or mislaid property;

mistaken delivery.
29.3.22 §843.  Theft; false pretense.
29.3.23 §844.  Theft; false promise.
29.3.24 §845.  Theft of services.
29.3.25 §846.  Extortion;
29.3.26 §848.  Misapplication of property;
29.3.27 §849.  Theft of rented property;
29.3.28 §850. Use, possession, manufacture,

distribution and sale of unlawful  telecommunication and
access devices.

29.3.29 §851.  Receiving stolen property;
29.3.30 §853.  Unauthorized use of a vehicle;
29.3.31 §854.  Identity theft;
29.3.32 §859.  Larceny of livestock;
29.3.33 §860. Possession of shoplifter’s tools or

instruments facilitating theft;
Forgery and Related Offenses
29.3.34 §861.  Forgery; class F felony;
29.3.35 §862.  Possession of forgery devices;
Offenses Involving Falsification of Records
29.3.36 §871.  Falsifying business records;
29.3.37 §872.  Falsifying business records;
29.3.38 §873. Tampering with public records in

the second degree;
29.3.39 §876. Tampering with public records in

the first degree;
29.3.40 §877. Offering a false instrument for

filing;
29.3.41 §878. Issuing a false certificate;
Bribery Not Involving Public Servants
29.3.42 §881. Bribery; 
29.3.43 §882. Bribe receiving; 
Frauds on Creditors
29.3.44 §891.  Defrauding secured creditors;
29.3.45 §892.  Fraud in insolvency;
29.3.46 §893. Interference with levied-upon

property;
Other Frauds and Cheats
29.3.47 §900. Issuing a bad check;
29.3.48 §903. Unlawful use of credit card;
29.3.49 §903A. Reencoder and scanning devices;
29.3.50 §906. Deceptive business practices;
29.3.51 §907.  Criminal impersonation; 
29.3.52 §907A. Criminal impersonation, accident

related;
29.3.53 §907B. Criminal impersonation of a police

officer;
29.3.54 §908.  Unlawfully concealing a will;
29.3.55 §909. Securing execution of documents by

deception;
29.3.56 §910.  Debt adjusting; 
29.3.57 §911. Fraudulent conveyance of public

lands;
29.3.58 §912.  Fraudulent receipt of public lands;.
29.3.59 §913.  Insurance fraud;
29.3.60 §913A. Health care fraud;
29.3.61 §914. Use of consumer identification

information;
29.3.62 §915.  Use of credit card information;
29.3.63 §915A. Credit and debit card transaction

receipts; 
29.3.64 §916.  Home improvement fraud; 
29.3.65 §917.  New home construction fraud;
Offenses Relating to Recorded Devices
29.3.66 §920. Transfer of recorded sounds; 
29.3.67 §921. Sale of transferred recorded sounds;
29.3.68 §922. Improper labeling;
Computer Related Offenses
29.3.69 §932. Unauthorized access.
29.3.70 §933. Theft of computer services.
29.3.71 §934. Interruption of computer services.
29.3.72 §935. Misuse of computer system

information.
29.3.73 §936. Destruction of computer equipment.
29.3.74 §937. Unrequested or unauthorized

electronic mail or use of network or software to cause same.
29.3.75 §938. Failure to promptly cease electronic
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communication upon request.
Offenses Relating to Marriage
29.3.76 §1001. Bigamy;
29.3.77 §1003. Bigamous marriage contracted

outside the State.
29.4 Any crime which involves misuse or abuse of

children or animals and shall include by way of example and
not of limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the
Delaware Code Annotated:

Child Welfare; Sexual Offenses, Animal Offenses
29.4.1 §1100. Dealing in children;
29.4.2 §1101. Abandonment of child;
29.4.3 §1102. Endangering the welfare of a child;
29.4.4 §1105. Endangering the welfare of an

incompetent person;
29.4.5 §1106. Unlawfully dealing with a child;
29.4.6 §1107. Endangering children;
29.4.7 §1108. Sexual exploitation of a child;
29.4.8 §1109. Unlawfully dealing in child

pornography;
29.4.9 §1111. Possession of child pornography;
29.4.10 §1112. Sexual offenders; prohibitions

from school zones.
29.4.11 §1112A. Sexual solicitation of a child;
29.4.12 §1113. Criminal non-support and

aggravated criminal non-support.
29.4.13 §1114. Body-piercing; tattooing or

branding;
29.4.14 §1114A. Tongue-splitting;
29.4.15 §1116. Sale or distribution of tobacco

products to minors;
29.4.16 §1117.  Notice;
29.4.17 §1119. Distribution of cigarettes through

vending machines;
29.4.18 §1120.  Distribution of tobacco products;
29.4.19 §1124. Purchase or receipt of tobacco

products by minor;
29.4.20 §1325. Cruelty to animals; 
29.4.21 §1325A. The unlawful trade in dog or cat

by-products;
29.4.22 §1326. Animals; fighting and baiting

prohibited;
29.4.23 §1327. Maintaining a dangerous animal;

29.5 Any crime which involves offenses against the
public order the commission of which may tend to bring
discredit upon the profession and which are thus
substantially related to one’s fitness to practice such
profession and shall include by way of example and not of
limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the
Delaware Code Annotated:

Bribery and Improper Influence
29.5.1 §1201. Bribery; 
29.5.2 §1203. Receiving a bribe;
29.5.3 §1205. Giving unlawful gratuities;

29.5.4 §1206. Receiving unlawful gratuities; 
29.5.5 §1207. Improper influence;
29.5.6 §1211. Official misconduct;
29.5.7 §1212. Profiteering.
Perjury and related offenses
29.5.8 §1221. Perjury in the third degree;
29.5.9 §1222. Perjury in the second degree; 
29.5.10 §1223. Perjury in the first degree;
29.5.11 §1233. Making a false written statement; 
29.5.12 §1239. Wearing a disguise during the

commission of a felony;
29.5.13 §1240. Terroristic threatening of public

officials or public servants;
29.5.14 §1241. Refusing to aid a police officer;
29.5.15 §1243. Obstructing fire-fighting

operations;
29.5.16 §1244. Hindering prosecution;
29.5.17 §1245. Falsely reporting an incident;
29.5.18 §1246. Compounding a crime;
29.5.19 §1248. Obstructing the control and

suppression of rabies;
29.5.20 §1249. Abetting the violation of driver’s

license restrictions;
29.5.21 §1250. Offenses against law-enforcement

animals;
29.5.22 §1251. Escape in the third degree;
29.5.23 §1252. Escape in the second degree;
29.5.24 §1253. Escape after conviction;
29.5.25 §1254. Assault in a detention facility;
29.5.26 §1257A. Use of an animal to avoid

capture;
29.5.27 §1259. Sexual relations in detention

facility;
29.5.28 §1260.  Misuse of prisoner mail.
Offenses Relating to Judicial and Similar

Proceedings
29.5.29 §1261.  Bribing a witness;
29.5.30 §1262.  Bribe receiving by a witness; 
29.5.31 §1263.  Tampering with a witness; 
29.5.32 §1263A. Interfering with child witness.
29.5.33 §1264.   Bribing a juror; 
29.5.34 §1265.   Bribe receiving by a juror; 
29.5.35 §1266.   Tampering with a juror; 
29.5.36 §1267.   Misconduct by a juror; 
29.5.37 §1269. Tampering with physical evidence;
29.5.38 §1271.   Criminal contempt;
29.5.39 §1271A. Criminal contempt of a domestic

violence protective order;
29.5.40 §1273.  Unlawful grand jury disclosure.

29.6 Any crime which involves offenses against a
public health order and decency which may tend to bring
discredit upon the profession, specifically including the
below listed crimes from Title 11 of the Delaware Code
Annotated which evidence a lack of appropriate concern for
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the safety and well being of another person or persons in
general or sufficiently flawed judgment to call into question
the individuals ability to make health care decisions or
advise upon health care related matters for other individuals.

Disorderly Conduct and Related Offenses
29.6.1 §1301.   Disorderly conduct;
29.6.2 §1302.   Riot;
29.6.3 §1304.   Hate crimes;
29.6.4 §1311.   Harassment;
29.6.5 §1312.   Aggravated harassment;
29.6.6 §1312A. Stalking;
29.6.7 §1313. Malicious interference with

emergency communications;
29.6.8 §1315.   Public intoxication;
29.6.9 §1316. Registration of out-of-state liquor

agents;
29.6.10 §1320. Loitering on property of a state-

supported school, college or university; 
29.6.11 §1321.  Loitering
29.6.12 §1322.  Criminal nuisance;
29.6.13 §1323.  Obstructing public passages; 
29.6.14 §1324. Obstructing ingress to or egress

from public buildings;
29.6.15 §1331.   Desecration; 
29.6.16 §1332.   Abusing a corpse; 
29.6.17 §1333. Trading in human remains and

associated funerary objects.
29.6.18 §1335.   Violation of privacy;
29.6.19 §1338. Bombs, incendiary devices,

Molotov cocktails and explosive devices;
29.6.20 §1339.   Adulteration; 
29.6.21 §1340.   Desecration of burial place.
Offenses Involving Public Indecency
29.6.22 §1341.   Lewdness; 
29.6.23 §1342.   Prostitution; 
29.6.24 §1343.  Patronizing a prostitute prohibited.
29.6.25 §1351.  Promoting prostitution in the third

degree; 
29.6.26 §1352. Promoting prostitution in the

second degree;
29.6.27 §1353.   Promoting prostitution in the first

degree;
29.6.28 §1355.   Permitting prostitution;
Obscenity
29.6.29 §1361.   Obscenity; acts constituting;
29.6.30 §1365. Obscene literature harmful to

minors;
29.6.31 §1366.  Outdoor motion picture theatres;
Offenses Involving Gambling
29.6.32 §1403. Advancing gambling in the first

degree;
29.6.33 §1404. Providing premises for gambling;
29.65.34§1405. Possessing a gambling device;

class A misdemeanor.

29.6.35 §1406. Being concerned in interest in
keeping any gambling device;

29.6.36 §1407.  Engaging in a crap game;
29.6.37 §1411. Unlawfully disseminating

gambling information.
29.7 Any crime which involves the illegal

possession or the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or other
addictive substances and those non-addictive substances
with a substantial capacity to impair reason or judgment and
shall include by way of example and not of limitation the
following crimes listed in Chapter 47 of Title 16 of the
Delaware Code Annotated:

29.7.1 §4751.   Prohibited acts A; 
29.7.2 §4752.   Prohibited acts B; 
29.7.3 §4752A.Unlawful delivery of

noncontrolled substance.
29.7.4 §4753.   Prohibited acts C.
29.7.5 §4753A.Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine,

illegal drugs, methamphetamines, L.S.D., or designer drugs.
29.7.6 §4754.   Prohibited acts D; 
29.6.7 §4754A.Possession and delivery of

noncontrolled prescription drug.
29.7.8 §4755.   Prohibited acts E;
29.7.9 §4756.   Prohibited acts; 
29.7.10 §4757.   Hypodermic syringe or needle;

delivering or possessing; disposal; exceptions; 
29.7.11 §4758. Keeping drugs in original

containers.
29.7.12 §4761.   Distribution to persons under 21

years of age; 
29.7.13 §4761A. Purchase of drugs from minors; 
29.7.14 §4767. Distribution, delivery, or

possession of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of
school property; 

29.7.15 §4768. Distribution, delivery or
possession of controlled substance in or within 300 feet of
park, recreation area, church, synagogue or other place of
worship.

29.8 Any crime which involves the misuse or illegal
possession or sale of a deadly weapon or dangerous
instrument and shall include by way of example and not of
limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the
Delaware Code Annotated:

Offenses Involving Deadly Weapons and
Dangerous Instruments

29.8.1 §1442. Carrying a concealed deadly
weapon;

29.8.2 §1443. Carrying a concealed dangerous
instrument;

29.7.3 §1444. Possessing a destructive weapon; 
29.8.4 §1445. Unlawfully dealing with a

dangerous weapon;
29.8.5 §1446. Unlawfully dealing with a

switchblade knife;
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29.8.6 §1447.  Possession of a deadly weapon
during commission of a felony;

29.8.7 §1447A. Possession of a firearm during
commission of a felony;

29.8.8 §1448.  Possession and purchase of deadly
weapons by persons prohibited; 

29.8.9 §1448A. Criminal history record checks
for sales or firearms;

29.8.10 §1449. Wearing body armor during
commission of felony;

29.8.11 §1450.   Receiving a stolen firearm;
29.8.12 §1451.   Theft of a firearm;
29.8.13 §1452. Unlawfully dealing with knuckles-

combination knife;
29.8.14 §1453. Unlawfully dealing with martial

arts throwing star; 
29.8.15 §1454. Giving a firearm to person

prohibited; 
29.8.16 §1455. Engaging in a firearms transaction

on behalf of another;
29.8.17 §1456. Unlawfully permitting a minor

access to a firearm;
29.8.18 §1457. Possession of a weapon in a Safe

School and Recreation Zone;
29.8.19 §1458. Removing a firearm from the

possession of a law enforcement officer;
29.8.20 §1459. Possession of a weapon with a

removed, obliterated or altered serial number;
29.8.21 §1471. Prohibited acts.
Offenses Involving Drug Paraphernalia
29.8.22 §4774. Penalties.
Offenses Involving Organized Crime and

Racketeering
29.8.23 §1504. Criminal Penalties for Organized

Crime & Racketeering
Offenses Involving Intimidation of Victims or

Witnesses
29.8.24 §3532. Acts of Intimidation: Class E

felony
29.8.25 §3533. Aggravated act of intimidation,

Class D felony
Other Crimes
29.8.26 Title 3 §1041. Willfully or maliciously

starting fires; Carelessly Starting Fires;
29.8.27 §1043. Setting fire to woodland;

Unseasonable Marsh Burning.
29.8.28 Title 4 §901. Offenses carrying penalty of

imprisonment for 3 to 6   months;
29.8.29 §902. Offenses carrying penalty of fine of

$500 to $1,000 or imprisonment of 3 to 6 months on failure
to pay fine;

29.8.30 §903.  Offenses carrying penalty of fine of
not more than $100 imprisonment for 1 month on failure to
pay fine;

29.8.31 §904. Offenses concerning certain
persons;

29.8.32 §905. Unlicensed manufacture of
alcoholic liquor; Possession of still, apparatus, mash, etc., by
unlicensed person;

29.8.33  §906.  Transportation or shipment;
29.8.34 §907. Interference with officer or inspector;
29.8.35 §908.  Failure of licensee to file report;
29.8.36 §909. Violation of rules respecting liquor

taxes.
29.8.37 Title 7 §1717. Unauthorized acts against a

service guide or seeing eye dog.
29.8.38 Title 11 §2403. Manufacture, possession

or sale of intercepting device;
29.8.39 §2410. Breaking and entering, etc. to place

or remove equipment;
29.8.40 §2412. Obstruction, impediment or

prevention of interception;
29.8.41 §2422. Divulging contents of

communications;
29.8.42 §3532. Act of intimidation;
29.8.43 §3533. Aggravated act of intimidation;
29.8.44 §3534. Attempt to intimidate;
29.8.45 §8523. Penalties [for violation of reporting

provision re: SBI];
29.8.46 §8562. Penalties [for failure of child-care

provider to obtain information required under §8561 or for
those providing  false information]

29.8.47 §8572. Penalties [for providing false
information when seeking employment in a public school]

29.8.48 §9016. Filing false claim [under Victims’
Compensation Fund].

29.8.49 Title 12 §210. Alteration, theft or
destruction of Will.

29.8.50 Title 16 §1136. Abuse or neglect of a
patient or resident of a nursing facility.

29.8.51 Title 21 §2118A. Unlawful possession or
manufacture of proof of  insurance;

29.8.52 §2133. Penalties; jurisdiction of justices of
the peace.

29.8.53 §2315.  False statements;
29.8.54 §2316. Altering or forging certificate of

title, manufacturer’s certificate of origin, registration sticker
or vehicle I identification plate;

29.8.55 §2620. False statements; incorrect or
incomplete information;

29.8.56 §2703.  License to operate a motorcycle,
motorbike, etc.;

29.8.57 §2710.  Issuance of a Level 1 Learner’s
Permit and Class D operator’s license to persons under 18
years of age;

29.8.58 §2722. Restricted licenses based on
driver’s physical limitations;

29.8.59 §2751.  Unlawful application for or use of
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 10, FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 2005



FINAL REGULATIONS 1445
license or identification card;
29.8.60 §2752.  False statements;
29.8.61 §2756. Driving vehicle while license is

suspended or revoked; penalty;
29.8.62 §2760. Duplication, reproduction, altering,

or counterfeiting of driver’s licenses or identification cards.
29.8.63 Title 23 §2302. Operation of a vessel or

boat while under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or
drugs;

29.8.64 §2305. Penalties; jurisdiction.
29.8.65 Title 24  §903.  Sale to persons under 21 or

intoxicated persons.
29.8.66 Title 29 §3107. Motor vehicle safety-

responsibility; False statements;
29.8.67 §4175A. Reckless driving;
29.8.68 §4177.  Driving a vehicle while under the

influence or with a prohibited alcohol content; evidence;
arrests; and     penalties.

29.8.69 §4177M. Operating a commercial motor
vehicle with a prohibited blood alcohol concentration or
while impaired by drugs;

29.8.70 §4183 Parking areas for vehicles being
used by persons with disabilities;

29.8.71 §4198J.  Bicycling on highways under
influence of drugs or alcohol;

29.8.72 §4198O. Operation of electric personal
assistive mobility devices (EPAMD);

29.8.73 §4201. Duty of driver involved in accident
resulting in property damage or injury;

29.8.74 §4202. Duty of driver involved in accident
resulting in injury or death to any person;

29.8.75 §4203.  Duty to report accidents; evidence;
29.8.76 §4204. Report of damaged vehicles; cars

involved in fatal accidents;
29.8.77 §4604. Possession of motor vehicle master

keys, manipulative keys, key-cutting devices, lock picks or
lock picking devices and hot wires;

29.8.78 §6420.  Odometers penalties;
29.8.79 §6702. Driving vehicle without consent of

owner;
29.8.80 §6704. Receiving or transferring stolen

vehicle;
29.8.81 §6705. Removed, falsified or unauthorized

identification number on vehicle, bicycle or engine; removed
or affixed license/registration plate with intent to
misrepresent identity;

29.8.82 §6707.   Penalty;
29.8.83 §6709. Removal of warranty or

certification stickers; vehicle identification plates;
confidential vehicle identification numbers;

29.8.84 §6710. Unlawful possession of assigned
titles, assigned registration cards, vehicle identification
plates and warranty stickers.

29.8.85 Title 30 §571. Attempt to evade or defeat

tax;
29.8.86 §572. Failure to collect or pay over tax;
29.8.87 §573. Failure to file return, supply

information or pay tax;
29.8.88 §574. Fraud and false statements;
29.8.89 §576. Misdemeanors.
29.8.90 Title 31 §1007. Fraudulent acts penalties;
29.8.91 §3913. Welfare violations [knowing or

reckless abuse of an infirm adult]
29.9 Any crime which is a violation of Title 24,

Chapter 17 (Delaware Medical Practices Act) as it may be
amended from time to time or of any other statute which
requires the reporting of a medical situation or condition to
state, federal or local authorities or a crime which constitutes
a violation of the Medical Practice Act of the state in which
the conviction occurred or in which the physician is licensed.

29.10 The Board reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to modify this regulation as and if it becomes
necessary to either add or delete crimes including such
additions as may be required on an emergency basis under
29 Del.C. §10119 to address imminent peril to the public
health, safety or welfare. The Board also specifically
reserves the jurisdiction to review any crime committed by
an applicant for licensure as a physician and to determine
whether to waive the disqualification under 24 Del.C.
§1720(d).

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Medical
Practice is available at:  http://www.state.de.us/research/
AdminCode/title24/1700 Board of Medical
Practice.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
1770 Board of Medical Practice Respiratory 

Care Practice Advisory Council
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 1770B(e) (24 Del.C. §1770B(e)(5))
24 DE Admin. Code 1770

ORDER

AND NOW,  this 1st day of March, 2005, the Board of
Medical Practice having considered the hereto attached
Recommendation of the Respiratory Care Practice Advisory
Council which commends to the Board approval of the Rules
and Regulations attached to the aforesaid Recommendation
of the Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council pursuant
to 29 Del.C. §1770B; 
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AND, the Board of Medical Practice after consideration
having determined not to approve the aforesaid Rules and
Regulations as proposed by the Respiratory Care Practice
Advisory Council;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED:
1. That the hereto attached Rules and Regulations

recommended by the Respiratory Care Practice Advisory
Council to govern the administration of sedation and
analgesia by licensed respiratory care practitioners in the
State of Delaware are hereby temporarily rejected by the
Board of Medical Practice.  This rejection is expressly for
the purpose of allowing the General Assembly of the State of
Delaware to address the scope of practice of Respiratory
Care Practitioners as it pertains to the administration of
conscious sedation and analgesia in connection with
respiratory care procedures. If there is no legislation from
the Delaware General Assembly concerning this subject
enacted by June 30, 2005, the Respiratory Care Practice
Advisory Council shall resubmit such proposed Regulations
or a revision thereof to the Board of Medical Practice for its
consideration.

2. That such Rules and Regulations shall not be
deemed to be effective and shall not be placed into force or
effect pending further Order of the Board of Medical
Practice.
 

BY ORDER OF THE BOARD OF MEDICAL
PRACTICE:

Garrett Colmorgen, M.D. Karl McIntosh, M.D.
Francis Marro, M.D. Mr. John W. Banks
Vance Daniels Roberto Villasenor, M.D.
Paul W. Ford Oluseyi N. Senu-Oke, M.D.
Mr. George Brown Galicano Inguito, M.D.
James Salva, M.D. Vincent Lobo, D.O.
Ray A. Blackwell, M.D. Anthony M. Policastro, M.D.

8.0 Continuing Education
8.1 Contact Hours Required for Renewal

8.1.1 The respiratory care practitioner shall be
required to complete (20) twenty contact hours biennially
and to retain all certificates and other documented evidence
of participation in an approved/accredited continuing
education program for a period of at least (3) three years.
Upon request, such documentation shall be made available
to the Council for random audit and verification purposes.
All contact hours must be completed at least sixty (60) days
prior to the end of the renewal year. 

8.1.2 Contact hours shall be prorated for new
licensees in accordance with the following schedule:

Two years remaining in the licensing 
cycle requires - 20 hours

One year remaining in the licensing 
cycle requires  - 10 hours

Less than one year remaining in the 
licensing cycle - exempt

8.2 Exemptions
8.2.1 A licensee who because of a physical or

mental illness during the license period could not complete
the continuing education requirement may apply through the
Council to the Board of Medical Practice for a waiver.  A
waiver would provide for an extension of time or exemption
from some or all of the continuing education requirements
for one (1) renewal period. Should the illness extend beyond
one (1) renewal period, a new request must be submitted.

8.2.2 A request for a waiver must be submitted
sixty (60) days prior to the license renewal date.

8.3 Criteria for Qualification of Continuing Education
Program Offerings

The following criteria are given to guide respiratory
care practitioners in selecting an appropriate activity/
program and to guide the provider in planning and
implementing continuing education activities/programs.
The overriding consideration in determining whether a
specific activity/program  qualifies as acceptable continuing
education shall be that it is a planned program of learning
which contributes directly to the professional competence of
the respiratory care practitioner.

8.3.1 Definition of Contact Hours
8.3.1.1 Fifty consecutive minutes of

academic course work, correspondence course, or seminar/
workshop shall be equivalent to one (1) contact hour. A
fraction of a contact hour may be computed by dividing the
minutes of an activity by 50 and expressed as a decimal.

8.3.1.2 Recredentialing examination for
certified respiratory therapy technician, (CRTT), and
registered respiratory therapist, (RRT),  shall be equivalent
to five (5) contact hours.

8.3.1.3 Successful completion of advanced
specialty exams administered by the National Board for
Respiratory Care, (NBRC), shall be equal to five (5) contact
hours for each exam.

8.3.1.4 One (1) semester hour shall be equal
to fifteen (15) contact hours.

8.3.1.5 One (1) quarter hour shall be equal to
ten (10) contact hours.

8.3.1.6 Two (2) hours (120 minutes) of
clinical educational experience shall be equal to one (1)
contact hour.

8.3.1.7 Fifty (50) consecutive minutes of
presentation of lectures, seminars or workshops in
respiratory care or health care subjects shall be equivalent to
one (1) contact hour.

8.3.1.8 Preparing original lectures, seminars,
or workshops in respiratory care or health care subjects shall
be granted no more than two (2) contact hours for each
contact hour of presentation.

8.3.1.9 Performing clinical or laboratory
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research in health care shall be reviewed and may be granted
an appropriate number of contact hour(s) at the Council’s
discretion.

8.3.2 Learner Objectives
8.3.2.1 Objectives shall be written and be the

basis for determining
content, learning experience, teaching methodologies, and
evaluation.

8.3.2.2 Objectives shall be specific,
attainable, measurable, and describe expected outcomes for
the learner.

8.3.3 Subject Matter
Appropriate subject matter for continuing

education shall include the following:
8.3.3.1 Respiratory care science and practice

and other scientific topics related thereto
8.3.3.2 Respiratory care education
8.3.3.3 Research in respiratory care and

health care
8.3.3.4 Management, administration and

supervision in health care delivery
8.3.3.5 Social, economic, political, legal

aspects of health care
8.3.3.6 Teaching health care and consumer

health education
8.3.3.7 Professional requirements for a

formal respiratory care program or a related field beyond
those that were completed for the issuance of the original
license

8.3.4 Description
Subject matter shall be described in outline

form and shall include learner objectives, content, time
allotment, teaching methods, faculty, and evaluation format.

8.3.5 Types of Activities/Programs
8.3.5.1 An academic course shall be an

activity that is approved and presented by an accredited post-
secondary educational institution which carries academic
credit. The course may be within the framework of a
curriculum that leads to an academic degree in respiratory
care beyond that required for the original license, or relevant
to respiratory care, or any course that shall be necessary to a
respiratory care practitioner’s professional growth and
development.

8.3.5.2 A correspondence course contains the
following elements:

8.3.5.2.1 developed by a professional
group, such s an education corporation or professional
association.

8.3.5.2.2 follows a logical sequence.
 8.3.5.2.3 involves the learner by

requiring active response to module materials and provides
feedback.

8.3.5.2.4 contains a test to indicate
progress and to verify completion of module.

8.3.5.2.5 supplies a bibliography for
continued study.

8.3.5.3 A workshop contains the following
elements:

8.3.5.3.1 developed by a
knowledgeable individual or group in the subject matter.

8.3.5.3.2 follows a logical sequence.
8.3.5.3.3 involves the learner by

requiring active response, demonstration and feedback.
8.3.5.3.4 requires hands-on

experience.
8.3.5.3.5 supplies a bibliography for

continued study.
8.3.5.4 Advanced and specialty examinations

offered by the NBRC or other examinations as approved by
the Council including:

Recredential exam
Pediatric/perinatal specialty exam
Pulmonary function credentialing exams
Advanced practitioner exam

8.3.5.5 Course preparation
8.3.5.6 Clinical education experience must

be:
8.3.5.6.1 Planned and supervised.
8.3.5.6.2 Extended beyond the basic

level of preparation of the individual who is licensed.
8.3.5.6.3 Based on a planned program

of study.
8.3.5.6.4 Instructed and supervised by

individual(s) who possess the appropriate credentials related
to the discipline being taught.

8.3.5.6.5 Conducted in a clinical
setting.

8.4 Educational Providers
8.4.1 Continuing education contact hours

awarded for activities/programs approved by the following
are appropriate for fulfilling the continuing education
requirements pursuant to these regulations:

American Association for Respiratory Care.
American Medical Association under

Physician Category I.
American Thoracic Society 
American Association of Cardiovascular and

Pulmonary Rehabilitation
      American Heart Association

American Nurses Association
American College of Chest Physicians
American Society of Anesthesiologists
American Sleep Disorders Association
Other professional or educational organizations

as approved periodically by the Council.
8.5 Accumulation of Continuing Education

8.5.1 When a licensee applies for license
renewal, a minimum of twenty (20) contact hours in
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activities that update skills and knowledge levels in
respiratory care theory, practice and science is required. The
total of twenty (20) contact hours per renewal period shall
include the following categories:

4 DE Reg. 694 (10/1/00)
      8.5.1.1 A minimum of 12 contact hours of
continuing education required for renewal must be acquired
in a field related to the science and practice of respiratory
care as set forth in Subsection  8.3.3, Subject Matter, 8.3.3.1,
8.3.3.2, or 8.3.3.3.

8.5.1.2 The remaining 8 contact hours of the
continuing education required for renewal may be selected
from Subsection 8.3.3, Subject Matter.

8.5.2 Contact hours, accumulated through
preparation for, presentation of, or participation in activities/
programs as defined are limited to application in meeting the
required number of contact hours per renewal period as
follows:

8.5.2.1 Presentation of respiratory care
education programs, including preparation time, to a
maximum of four contact hours.

8.5.2.2 Presentation of a new respiratory care
curriculum, including preparation, to a respiratory care
education program, to a maximum of four contact hours.

8.5.2.3 Preparation and publication of
respiratory care theory, practice or science, to a maximum of
four contact hours.

8.5.2.4 Research projects in health care,
respiratory care theory, practice or science, to a maximum of
four contact hours.

8.5.2.5 Infection control programs from
facility or agency to a maximum of one contact hour.

[8.5.2.6 Presentation or participation in
review or recertification in American Heart Association
or Red Cross provider or instructor programs, such as
Advanced Cardiac Life Support, Basic Life Support,
Pediatric Advanced Life Support, or CPR, to a
maximum of two contact hours per program.]

8.5.2.7 Academic course work, related to
health care or health care administration, to a maximum of
four contact hours.

8.6 Review/Approval of Continuing Education Contact
Hours

8.6.1 The Council may review the
documentation of any respiratory care practitioner’s
continuing education.

8.6.2 The Council may determine whether the
activity/program documentation submitted meets all criteria
for continuing education as specified in these regulations.

8.6.3 Any continuing education not meeting all
provisions of these rules shall be rejected in part or in whole
by the Council.

8.6.4 Any incomplete or inaccurate
documentation of continuing education may be rejected in

part or in whole by the Council. 
8.6.5 Any continuing education that is rejected

must be replaced by acceptable continuing education within
a reasonable period of time established by the Council. This
continuing education will not be counted towards the next
renewal period.

8.6.6 Each license not renewed in accordance
with this section shall expire, but may within a period of
three years thereafter be reinstated upon payment of all fees
as set by the Division of Professional Regulation of the State
of Delaware.

8.6.7 An applicant wishing to reinstate an
expired license shall provide documentation establishing
completion of the required 20 hours of continuing education
during the two-year period preceding the application for
renewal.

4 DE Reg. 694 (10/1/00)

[12.0 Sedation and analgesia regulations:
Moderate Sedation – A drug-induced depression of

consciousness during which patients respond
purposefully to verbal commands, either alone or
accompanied by light tactile stimulation.  No
interventions are required to maintain a patent airway
and spontaneous ventilation is adequate.  Cardiovascular
function is maintained.

Direct Supervision – The physician will be present
during the initial and continued administration of
moderate sedation and will interpret monitoring.

12.1 Certain recognized and accepted
respiratory care procedures may involve the
administration of sedative and analgesic medications by
Respiratory Care Practitioners and the monitoring of
patients who have received such medications. Such
procedures include, but are not limited to:

12.1.1 Bronchoscopy
12.1.2 Intubation 
12.1.3 Administration of anesthetic agents

during mechanical ventilation 
12.2 In the process of providing respiratory care,

Respiratory Care Practitioners, under the direct
supervision of a physician with clinical privileges to
administer moderate sedation, may administer sedative
and analgesic medications to induce moderate sedation,
pursuant to the order of a licensed physician, who is
licensed and credentialed to prescribe and administer the
particular medication(s). The route of administration
shall be appropriate to the procedure.

12.3 Any administration and monitoring by a
Respiratory Care Practitioner of a sedative or analgesic
which may induce moderate sedation must be:

12.3.1 In accordance with the current version
of the “Practice Guidelines for Sedation and Analgesia
by Non-Anesthesiologist” published by the American
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Society of Anesthesiologists as the same may from time to
time be amended, AND,

12.3.2 Undertaken only by Respiratory Care
Practitioners who have successfully completed a formal
educational experience and periodic competency
assessment in the administration of sedatives, and
analgesics. Such training and education shall be
expressly approved for facilities accredited by a
nationally recognized accrediting body approved by
federal regulations in which the procedure is being
performed. Such training shall include:

12.3.2.1 Competency assessment for
licensed Respiratory Care Practitioners administering
sedation and analgesic:

12.3.2.1.1 Successfully complete a
formal dysrhythmia or EKG module or course, or the
institution’s approved dysrhythmia competency course.

12.3.2.1.2 Successfully complete a
medication pharmacology competency specific to
sedation and analgesic.

12.3.2.1.3 Current Basic Cardiac Life
Support certification.

12.3.2.1.4 Completion of a
department specific competency related to sedation and
analgesic provided by facilities accredited by a nationally
recognized accrediting body approved by federal
regulations.

12.3.2.1.5 Successful completion of
the relevant Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) or
Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) or Neonatal
Resuscitation   Program (NRP) course every two (2)
years.

12.3.3 These periodic competencies require
approval in writing by the department medical director
or by another Delaware licensed physician who is in a
position to assess the individual’s qualifications. The
Respiratory Care Practitioner must maintain his or her
records of completion of the formal education and
periodic competence certification for a period of three (3)
years.

12.4 Respiratory Care Practitioners shall not
administer sedative or analgesic substances in the home
care environment]

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Respiratory Care
Practice Advisory Council is available at:  http://
www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title24/1770
Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2000 Board of Occupational Therapists
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 2006(b) (24 Del.C. §2006(b))
24 DE Admin. Code 2000

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on
November 17, 2004 at a scheduled meeting of the Board of
Occupational Therapy Practice to receive comments
regarding proposed Regulation 7.0. The  proposed regulation
identifies crimes substantially related to the practice of
occupational therapy as mandated by  SB 229 enacted by the
142nd General Assembly. The proposed regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 4,
October 1, 2004.

A revised proposal with substantive changes was again
published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 9,
February 1, 2005. A second public hearing was held on
March 16, 2005 to receive comments on the revised
proposal.

Background

Under 24 Del.C. §2015(a)(2) as amended by SB 229,
the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice may impose
discipline on a licensee who “has been convicted of a crime
that is substantially related to the practice of occupational
therapy.”   SB 229 has defined “substantially related” as “the
nature of the criminal conduct, for which the person was
convicted, has a direct bearing on the fitness or ability to
perform one or more of the duties or responsibilities
necessarily related to the practice of occupational therapy.”
The “practice of occupational therapy” is defined in 24
Del.C. §2002(7).1

After hearing the public comment in November, the
Board decided to reexamine the selected crimes at its
January meeting. There were some misdemeanors that were
included by mistake. The Board is guided in this process by
its recognition that there is a large and diverse population
served by occupational therapists.  Some patients have
seeing eye dogs or canine partners for life. Occupational

1. “Practice of occupational therapy” shall mean the use of
goal-directed activities with individuals who are limited by
physical limitations due to injury or illness, psychiatric and
emotional disorders, developmental or learning disabilities,
poverty and cultural differences or the aging process, in
order to maximize independence, prevent disability and
maintain health.
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therapists work in the homes and cars of clients. They serve
vulnerable populations and the goal of the Board, consistent
with its legislative mandate, is the protection of these
individuals.  

It is noteworthy that the National Board for Certification
of Occupational Therapy, Inc. (NBCOT) reviews crimes on a
case by case basis when permitting applicants to take the
licensure examination that is the prerequisite for licensure in
Delaware.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

For the November 17, 2004 public hearing:

1. John A. Werner, Chairperson, Governor’s Advisory
Council for Exception Citizens, submitted a letter dated
October 26, 2004  with  two comments. First, he believes the
Board did not identify crimes that are substantially related to
the practice of occupational therapy, rather a hodgepodge of
crimes including some misdemeanors. He selected  proposed
7.1.9, 7.1.61, 7.1.62 and 7.1.71, as examples of inappropriate
selections. He thought a restrained approach to defining
crimes would be consistent with the intent of SB 229.

Secondly, he notes that in 16.1 the phrase “without
regard to the place of conviction” could be considered to
include foreign jurisdictions that may not have the due
process protection we enjoy in this country.  He suggested
that the Board clarify whether convictions in foreign
countries are disqualifying events.

2. Daniese McMullin-Powell, Chairperson, State
Council for Persons with Disabilities, submitted a
memorandum dated November 8, 2003 with the same
comments and concerns expressed by the Governor’s
Council for Exceptional Citizens.

3. Julie Marshall offered verbal comment supporting
the written comments read into the record.   She thought the
94 crimes identified should be scaled back and stated that the
occupational therapy field  should not follow a conventional
model that might apply to other allied medical fields.

For the March 16 , 2005  public hearing:

4. Jamie Wolfe, Chairperson, Delaware
Developmental Disabilities Council sent a letter dated
February 24, 2005.  She noted the changes made by the
Board but the Council supports giving the Division of
Professional Regulation the authority to identify the crimes
for consistency among professions. The Council
recommends clarifying that foreign crimes are not covered.
In addition, the Council recommends including the rule
promulgated by the Board of Dental Examiners reserving the
authority to make changes in emergencies.1  She thought that
would encourage Boards to take a more restrained approach

if they could subsequently add crimes that may have been
overlooked.

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and 
Information Submitted

The Board completed its assigned task after carefully
considering what occupational therapists do in all settings
and the clients that they serve. It considered the written and
verbal comments after two public hearings. The Board
respectfully suggests that an approach of being inclusive is
necessary to protect the public. The Board does have the
authority to re-visit the regulation. However, reviewing the
circumstances in each case would be a better mechanism to
accomplish the legislative intent than making emergency
revisions because a major crime was overlooked.

There is no indication that the legislature intended for
criminal conduct in a foreign jurisdiction to be treated more
favorably that the same conduct in this country. It is
noteworthy that the prior statutory felony language was
silent with respect to place of conviction.  It is outside the
scope of the enabling legislation for the Board to impose
jurisdictional limitations that were not included by the
General Assembly.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulation 7.0
to be effective 10 days following publication of this order in
the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the revised rules remains as published in
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 9, February 1, 2005

SO ORDERED this  day of   16th day of March, 2005.

BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY
PRACTICE

Michael von Reider, President
December Hughes, Vice President
Dana Maurer, Secretary
Mara Schmittinger

1.  11.10 The Board [of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene]
reserves the jurisdiction and authority to modify this
regulation as and if it becomes necessary to either add or
delete crimes including such additions as may be required on
an emergency basis under 29 Del.C. §10119 to address
imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare.
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7.0 Crimes substantially related to practice of occupatio
 occupational therapy

7.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the
attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or conceal or
of solicitation to commit the following crimes, is deemed to
be a crime substantially related to the practice of
occupational therapy in the State of Delaware without regard
to the place of conviction:

7.1.1 Unlawful harm to law enforcement or
seeing eye dogs. 7 Del.C. §1717

7.1.2 Aggravated meancing.  11 Del.C. §602(b)
7.1.3  Reckless endangering.  11 Del.C. §604
7.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second

degree.  11 Del.C. §605
7.1.5 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first

degree.  11 Del.C. §606
7.1.6 Assault in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§612
7.1.7 Assault in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §613
7.1.8 Felony abuse of a sports official.  11

Del.C. §614
7.1.9 Assault by abuse of neglect.  11 Del.C.

§615
7.1.10 Felony Terroristic threatening.  11 Del.C.

§621
7.1.11 Unlawful administering drugs.  11 Del.C.

§625
7.1.12 Unlawful administering controlled

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs.  11
Del.C. §626

7.1.13 Vehicular assault in the first degree.  11
Del.C. §629

7.1.14 Criminally negligent homicide.  11 Del.C.
§631

7.1.15 Manslaughter.  11 Del.C. §632
7.1.16 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second

degree.  11 Del.C. §633
7.1.17 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first

degree.  11 Del.C. §634
7.1.18 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§635
7.1.19 Murder in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §636
7.1.20 Sexual harassment.  11 Del.C. §763
7.1.21 Unlawful sexual contact in the second

degree.  11 Del.C. §768
7.1.22 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree.

11 Del.C. §769
7.1.23 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770
7.1.24 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §771
7.1.25 Rape in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§772
7.1.26 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773
7.1.27 Sexual extorition.  11 Del.C.. §776
7.1.28 Bestiality.  11 Del.C.  §777

7.1.29 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11
Del.C. §778

7.1.30 Dangerous crime against a child.  11
Del.C. §779

7.1.31 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree.
11 Del.C. §782

7.1.32 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11
Del.C. §783

7.1.33 Kidnapping in the first degree.  11 Del.C.
§783A

7.1.34 Acts constituting coercion. 11 Del.C. §791
7.1.35 Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§825
7.1.36 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§826
7.1.37 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§831
7.1.38 Robbery in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§832 
7.1.39 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§835
7.1.40 Carjacking in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§836
7.1.41 Extortion.  11 Del.C.  §846
7.1.42 Identity theft.  11 Del.C. §854
7.1.43 Felony forgery.  11 Del.C. §861
7.1.44 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C.

§871
7.1.45 Felony unlawful use of a credit card.  11

Del.C. §903
7.1.46 Insurance fraud.  11 Del.C. §913
7.1.47 Health care fraud.  11Del.C. §913A
7.1.48 Dealing in children.  11 Del.C. §1100
7.1.49 Endangering the welfare of a child.  11

Del.C. §1102
7.150 Endangering the welfare of an

incompetent person.  11 Del.C. §1105
7.1.51 Unlawfully dealing with a child.  11

Del.C. §1106
7.1.52 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1108
7.1.53 Unlawful dealing in child pornography.  11

Del.C. §1109
7.1.54 Possession of child pornography 11 Del.C.

§1111
7.1.55 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school

zones.  11 Del.C. §1112
7.1.56 Sexual solicitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1112A
7.1.57 Terroristic threatening of public officials

or public servants.  11 Del.C. §1240
7.1.58 Felony abetting the violation of driver’s

license restrictions.  11 Del.C. §1249
7.1.59 Felony offenses against law enforcement
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animals. 11 Del.C. §1250
7.1.60 Felony hate crimes.  11 Del.C.  §1304
7.1.61 Felony stalking.  11 Del.C. §1312A
7.1.62 Felony cruelty to animals.  11 Del.C..

§1325
7.1.63 Felony maintaining a dangerous animal.

11 Del.C.  §1327(a)
7.1.64 Felony violation of privacy.  11 Del.C.

§1335(a)
7.1.65 Adulteration.  11 Del.C. §1339
7.1.6966 Promoting prostitution in the second

degree.  11 Del.C. §1352
7.1.67 Promoting prostitution in the first degree.

11 Del.C. §1353
7.1.68 Obscenity.  11 Del.C. §1361
7.1.69 Carrying a concealed deadly weapon.  11

Del.C. §1442
7.1.70 Felony unlawful dealing with a dangerous

weapon.  11 Del.C. §1445(a)
7.1.71 Felony possession of a deadly weapon

during the commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1447
7.1.72 Possession of a firearm during a

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. §1447A
7.1.73 Possession and purchase of deadly

weapons by persons prohibited.  11 Del.C. §1448
7.1.74 Felony Possession of a weapon in a Safe

School and Recreation Zone.  11 Del.C. §1457
7.1.75 Duty to report child abuse or neglect.  16

Del.C.  §903
7.1.76 Abuse, neglect, mistreatment or financial

exploitation of residents or patients in a nursing or similar
facility.  16 Del.C. §1136

7.1.77 Felony falsification or destruction of
records related to maintenance medical treatment.  16 Del.C.
§2513

7.1.78 Manufacture, delivery or possession with
intent to deliver schedule I or II narcotic drugs.  16 Del.C.
§4751

7.1.79 Manufacture, delivery or possession with
intent to deliver Schedule I, II, III, IV, or V non-narcotic
drugs.  16 Del.C. §4752

7.1.80 Unlawful delivery or noncontrolled
substances.  16 Del.C. §4752A.

7.1.81 Possession, consumption, or use of
controlled substances.  16 Del.C. §4753.

7.1.82 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal
drugs, metamphetamines, L.S.D., or designer drugs. 16
Del.C. §4753A

7.1.83 Possession, consumption, or use of non-
narcotic controlled substances classified in Schedule I, II,
III, IV, or V.  16 Del.C. § 4754

7.1.84 Crimes related to controlled substances.
16 Del.C. §4756

7.1.85 Distribution of controlled substances to

persons under 21 years of age.  16 Del.C. §4761
7.1.86 Distribution, delivery or possession of a

controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property.  16
Del.C. §4767

7.1.87 Distribution, delivery or possession of a
controlled substance within 300 feet of park, recreation area,
church, synagogue or other place of worship.  16 Del.C.
§4768

7.1.88 Felony obtaining benefit under false
representation.  31 Del.C. §1003

7.1.89 Felony falsification of reports, statements,
or documents.  31 Del.C.  §1004

7.1.90 Kickback schemes and solicitation. 31
Del.C.  §1005

7.1.91 Conversion of benefit payment.  31 Del.C.
§1006

7.1.92 Intentional abuse, neglect, mistreatment,
or exploitation of an infirm adult.  31 Del.C. §3913

7.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of
occupational therapy shall be deemed to include any crimes
under any federal law,  state law, or  valid town, city or
county ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Occupational
Therapy is available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/
occupationaltherapy/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2600 Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic 

Trainers
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 2604(1) (24 Del.C. §2604(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 2600

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on March
15, 2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Examining
Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers to receive
comments regarding proposed Regulation 13.0. The
proposed regulation identifies crimes substantially related to
the practice of physical therapy and athletic training as
mandated by SB 229 enacted by the 142nd General
Assembly.  The proposed regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 6, December 1, 2004.  
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Background

Under Title 24, Chapter 26, one of the qualifications for
licensure is that the applicant “Shall not have a criminal
conviction record, nor pending criminal charge relating to an
offense, the circumstances of which substantially relate to
the practice of physical therapy or athletic training.
Applicants who have criminal conviction records or pending
criminal charges shall require appropriate authorities to
provide information about the record or charge directly to
the Board in sufficient specificity to enable the Board to
make a determination whether the record or charge is
substantially related to the practice of physical therapy or
athletic training.” 24 Del.C. §2606(a)(6). 24 Del.C.
§2616(a)(4), as amended by SB 229,  provides that the
Board, after due notice and hearing, may refuse to license or
register any applicant or may refuse to renew the license or
registration of any person or may suspend or revoke the
license or registration of any licensed or registered person
who “has been convicted of a crime that is substantially
related to the practice of physical therapy or athletic training
in the courts of this State or any other state, territory or
country. Conviction, as used in this paragraph, shall include
a finding or verdict of guilt, an admission of guilt or a plea of
nolo contendere.” 24 Del.C. §2616(a)(4).
“ ‘Substantially related’ means the nature of the criminal
conduct, for which the person was convicted, has a direct
bearing on the fitness or ability to perform 1 or more of the
duties or responsibilities necessarily related to the practice of
physical therapy or athletic training.” 24 Del.C. §2602(9).

The Board’s authority to promulgate rules and
regulations implementing or clarifying specific sections of
Chapter 26 is set forth in 24 Del.C. §2604(a)(1). The specific
mandate for this rule is set forth in 24 Del.C. §2604(b).  The
proposed regulation specifically identifies those crimes
which are substantially related to the practice of physical
therapy and athletic training.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written comments were received. No public
comment was received at the March 15, 2005 hearing.

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and 
Information Submitted

The Board carefully reviewed and considered the crimes
presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from the
Delaware Code.  The overarching concern of the Board was
the safety of the public since the licensed practitioners work
in close physical proximity, and have direct physical contact,
with the individuals they treat while performing the services
of a physical therapist or athletic trainer. Clients may include
children and the elderly who are vulnerable to undue

influence or other forms of abuse. Practitioners work in a
variety of settings including, but not limited to, hospitals,
clinics, nursing homes and private offices.  In addition, many
athletic trainers work directly with student athletes in
schools.

Physical therapists and athletic trainers also have access
to confidential health and financial information.
Practitioners often have access to home and business
addresses of their clients. They also have access to the
billing information of their clients, including credit card and
checking account information.

The “primary objective of the Examining Board of
Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers, which all other
objectives and purposes are secondary, is to protect the
general public (especially those persons who are direct
recipients of services regulated by this chapter) from unsafe
practices and from occupational practices which tend to
reduce competition or to fix the price of services rendered..”
24 Del.C. § 2601.

The Board finds that the crimes identified in the
proposed rule are substantially related to fitness or ability to
perform 1 or more of the duties or responsibilities
necessarily related to the practice of physical therapy or
athletic training in that they involve: the use of physical
violence or force, or the threat thereof, toward or upon the
person of another; sexual abuse or inappropriate sexual
conduct; violation of privacy; dishonesty, or false or
fraudulent conduct; mistreatment or abuse of children and
the elderly; and offenses involving the illegal possession or
the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or other addictive
substances and those non-addictive substances with a
substantial capacity to impair reason or judgment and which
call into question the ability of the practitioner to carry out
the practitioner's professional duties with due regard for the
health and safety of  the individuals who are the recipients of
their services.

In summary, the Board finds that adopting regulation
13.0 as proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the
State of Delaware and is necessary to protect the health and
safety of the general public, particularly the recipients of
physical therapy and athletic training services.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts Regulation 13.0 to be effective
10 days following publication of this Order in the Register of
Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the rule remains as published in Register of
Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 6, December 1, 2004, and as
attached hereto as Exhibit A.
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SO ORDERED this 15th day of March, 2005.

EXAMINING BOARD OF PHYSICAL
THERAPISTS AND ATHLETIC TRAINERS

Gary T. Nowell, President, Professional Member
Patrick McKenzie, Vice-Chairperson,

Professional Member
Katherine Daniello, Professional Member
Vincent De Leo, Professional Member
Sharon Harris, Public Member
Steven Kotrch, Public Member
Ruth Ann Messick, Public Member
Denise Smith, Professional Member
John R. Smith, Professional Member
Kristen Whiteman, Professional Member

13.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of
physical therapy and athletic training:

13.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice
of physical therapy and athletic training in the State of
Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

13.1.1 Offensive touching.  11 Del.C.  601.
13.1.2 Aggravated menacing.  11  Del.C. §602

(b)
13.1.3 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second

degree. 11 Del.C.  § 605.
13.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first

degree. 11  Del.C. §606.
13.1.5 Assault in the second degree. 11  Del.C.

§612
13.1.6 Assault in the first degree.  11  Del.C.

§613.
13.1.7 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11  Del.C.

§615.
13.1.8 Unlawfully administering drugs.  11

Del.C. §625.
13.1.9 Unlawfully administering controlled

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11
Del.C. §626.

13.1.10 Criminally negligent homicide.  11  Del.C.
§631.

13.1.11 Manslaughter. 11  Del.C. §632.
13.1.12 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second

degree. 11  Del.C. §633
13.1.13 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first

degree. 11  Del.C.  §634.
13.1.14 Murder in the second degree; class A

felony.  11 Del.C. §635.
13.1.15 Murder in the first degree. 11  Del.C.

§636.

13.1.16 Promoting suicide. 11  Del.C. §645.
13.1.17 Abortion.  11  Del.C. §651.
13.1.18 Issuing abortional articles. 11 Del.C. §653.
13.1.19 Incest.  11  Del.C. §766.
13.1.20 Unlawful sexual contact in the third

degree. 11  Del.C. §767.
13.1.21 Unlawful sexual contact in the second

degree. 11  Del.C. §768.
13.1.22 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree.

11  Del.C. §769.
13.1.23 Rape in the fourth degree. 11  Del.C. §770.
13.1.24 Rape in the third degree.  11  Del.C. §771.
13.1.25 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§772.
13.1.26 Rape in the first degree.  11  Del.C. §773.
13.1.27 Sexual extortion.  11  Del.C. § 776.
13.1.28 Bestiality.  11  Del.C. § 777.
13.1.29 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11

Del.C. §778.
13.1.30 Dangerous crime against a child. 11

Del.C. §779.
13.1.31 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. §780.
13.1.32 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree.

11  Del.C. §782.
13.1.33 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11

Del.C. §783.
13.1.34 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11  Del.C.

§783A.
13.1.35 Arson in the first degree.  11  Del.C. §803.
13.1.36 Burglary in the third degree. 11 Del.C.

§824.
13.1.37 Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§825.
13.1.38 Burglary in the first degree.  11  Del.C.

§826.
13.1.39 Robbery in the second degree.  11  Del.C.

§831.
13.1.40 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§832.
13.1.41 Carjacking in the second degree. 11

Del.C.  §835.
13.1.42 Carjacking in the first degree. 11  Del.C.

§836.
13.1.43 Theft; felony.  11  Del.C. §841.
13.1.44 Extortion. 11  Del.C.. §846.
13.1.45 Identity theft.  11  Del.C.. §854.
13.1.46 Forgery.  11  Del.C. § 861.
13.1.47 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C.

§871.
13.1.48 Tampering with public records in the

second degree.  11  Del.C. §873.
13.1.49 Tampering with public records in the first

degree.  11  Del.C. §876.
13.1.50 Offering a false instrument for filing. 11
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Del.C. §877.
13.1.51 Issuing a false certificate. 11  Del.C. §878.
13.1.52 Reencoder and scanning devices. 11

Del.C.. §903A.
13.1.53 Criminal impersonation of a police officer.

11  Del.C. §907B.
13.1.54 Insurance fraud.  11  Del.C.. §913.
13.1.55 Health care fraud.  11  Del.C.§913A.
13.1.56 Dealing in children. 11  Del.C. §1100.
13.1.57 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1108.
13.1.58 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography.

11  Del.C. §1109.
13.1.59 Possession of child pornography. 11

Del.C. §1111.
13.1.60 Sexual solicitation of a child. 11  Del.C.

§1112A.
13.1.61 Bribery.  11 Del.C. §1201
13.1.62 Receiving a bribe; felony. 11  Del.C.

§1203.
13.1.63 Perjury in the second degree. 11  Del.C.

§1222.
13.1.64 Perjury in the first degree. 11  Del.C.

§1223.
13.1.65 Escape after conviction.  11  Del.C. §1253.
13.1.66 Assault in a detention facility. 11  Del.C.

§1254.
13.1.67 Promoting prison contraband; felony. 11

Del.C. §1256.
13.1.68 Bribing a witness.  11  Del.C. §1261.
13.1.69 Bribe receiving by a witness. 11  Del.C.

§1262.
13.1.70 Tampering with a witness. 11  Del.C.

§1263.
13.1.71  Interfering with child witness; class F..  11

Del.C. §1263A.
13.1.72 Bribing a juror.  11 Del. C. §1264.
13.1.73 Bribe receiving by a juror.  11  Del.C.

§1265. 
13.1.74 Tampering with physical evidence.  11

Del.C. §1269.
13.1.75 Riot.  11  Del.C. §1302.
13.1.76 Hate crimes; felony.  11  Del.C. §1304.
13.1.77 Aggravated harassment. 11  Del.C. §1312.
13.1.78 Stalking; felony.  11  Del.C. §1312A.
13.1.79 Abusing a corpse.  11  Del.C. §1332.
13.1.80 Violation of privacy; felony. 11  Del.C.

§1335.
13.1.81 Bombs, incendiary devices, Molotov

cocktails and explosive devices. 11  Del.C. §1338.
13.1.82 Adulteration.  11  Del.C. §1339.
13.1.83 Promoting prostitution in the second

degree.  11  Del.C. §1352.
13.1.84 Promoting prostitution in the first degree.

11  Del.C. § 1353.
13.1.85 Obscenity.  11  Del.C.. §1361.
13.1.86 Carrying a concealed deadly weapon;

Class E (if previous conviction within 5 years). 11  Del.C.
§1442.

13.1.87 Possessing a destructive weapon. 11
Del.C. §1444.

13.1.88 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous
weapon; felony  11  Del.C. §1445.

13.1.89 Possession of a deadly weapon during
commission of a felony. 11  Del.C. §1447.

13.1.90 Possession of a firearm during
commission of a felony.  11  Del.C. §1447A.

13.1.91 Possession and purchase of deadly
weapons by persons prohibited.  11  Del.C. §1448.

13.1.92 Engaging in a firearms transaction on
behalf of another.   11  Del.C.. §1455.

13.1.93 Organized Crime and Racketeering. 11
Del.C. §1504.

13.1.94 Victim or Witness Intimidation. 11  Del.C.
§§3532 & 3533.

13.1.95 Abuse, neglect, mistreatment or financial
exploitation of residents or patients; felony or under
subsection (c). 16  Del.C. §1136(a), (b) and (c). 

13.1.96 Prohibited acts A under the Uniform
Controlled Substances Act.   16  Del.C. §4751(a), (b) and
(c).

13.1.97 Prohibited acts B under the Uniform
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4752(a) and (b).

13.1.98 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal
drugs,   methamphetamines,Lysergic Acid Diethylamide
(LS.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-
methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA). 16 Del.C.
§4753A (a)(1)-(9).

13.1.99 Prohibited acts E under the Uniform
Controlled Substances Act.  16 Del.C. §4755.(a)(1) and (2)

13.1.100 Prohibited acts under the Uniform
Controlled Substances Act. 16 Del.C.  §4756(a)(1)-(5) and
(b).

13.1.101 Distribution to persons under 21 years
of age.  16  Del.C. §4761.

13.1.102 Purchase of drugs from minors.  16
Del.C. §4761A

13.1.103 Operation of a vessel or boat while
under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or drugs;
felony.  23  Del.C. §2302(a) and § 2305 (3) and (4).

13.1.104 Failure to collect or pay over tax. 30
Del.C. §572.

13.1.105 Driving a vehicle while under the
influence or with a prohibited alcohol content; felony. 21
Del.C. §4177 (3) and (4).

13.1.106 Duty of driver involved in accident
resulting in injury or death to any person; felony.  21 Del.C.
§4202.
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13.1.107 Prohibition of Intimidation under the
Fair Housing Act; felony. 6  Del.C. §2581.

13.1.108 Interception of Communications
Generally; Divulging Contents of Communications; felony.
11  Del.C. §2402

13.1.109 Breaking and Entering, Etc. to Place
or Remove Equipment 11  Del.C. §2410. 

13.1.110 Aggravated Act of Intimidation. 11
Del.C. §3533

13.1.111 Attempt to Intimidate. 11 Del.C.
§3534

13.1.112 Providing false information when
seeking employment in a public school.  11  Del.C. §8572

13.1.113 Abuse, neglect, exploitation or
mistreatment of infirm adult; felony.  31  Del.C. §3913(a),
(b) and (c).

13.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of
physical therapy and athletic training shall be deemed to
include any crimes under any federal law, state law, or valid
town, city or county ordinance, that are substantially similar
to the crimes identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Physical
Therapists and Athletic Trainers is available at:  http://
www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
physicaltherapy/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3000 Board of Professional Counselors of 
Mental Health and Chemical Dependency 

Professionals
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,

Section 3006(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §3006(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 3000

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on
February 4, 2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware
Board of Professional Mental Health Counselors and
Chemical Dependency Professionals to receive comments
regarding proposed Regulation 11.0. The proposed
regulation identifies crimes substantially related to the
practice of mental health counseling and chemical
dependency counseling. The proposed regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 7,
January 1, 2005.

Background

Under Title 24, Chapter 30, one of the qualifications for
licensure as a professional counselor of mental health is that
the applicant shall submit evidence verified by oath and
satisfactory to the Board that that the applicant “shall not
have a criminal conviction record nor pending criminal
charge relating to an offense the circumstances of which
substantially relate to actions as a licensed professional
counselor of mental health or associate counselor of mental
health. Applicants who have criminal conviction records or
pending criminal charges shall request appropriate
authorities to provide information about the conviction or
charge directly to the Board in sufficient specificity to enable
the Board to make a determination whether the conviction or
charge is substantially related to actions as a licensed
professional counselor of mental health or associate
counselor of mental health.” 24 Del.C. §3008(a)(5). 24
Del.C. §3013(a)(2), as amended by SB 229,  provides that a
licensee shall be subject to disciplinary action set forth in §
3015 if, after a hearing, the Board finds that the licensee “has
been convicted of a crime that is substantially related to the
practice of professional counseling of mental health.” “A
copy of the record of conviction certified by the clerk of
court entering the conviction shall be conclusive evidence
therefor.” 24 Del.C. §3013(a)(3).

In addition, a licensed chemical dependency
professional shall be subject to disciplinary sanction set forth
in §3032 if, after a hearing, the Board finds that the licensee
“has been convicted of a crime that is substantially related to
the practice of professional counseling of mental health or
chemical dependency counseling. A copy of the record of
conviction certified by the clerk of the court entering the
conviction shall be conclusive evidence thereof.” 24 Del.C.
§3027(a)(2).
 “‘Substantially related’ means the nature of the criminal
conduct, for which the person was convicted, has a direct
bearing on the fitness or ability to perform 1 or more of the
duties or responsibilities necessarily related to the practice of
professional counseling of mental health and chemical
dependency counseling.” 24 Del.C. §3002(9).

The Board’s authority to promulgate rules and
regulations implementing or clarifying specific sections of
Chapter 30 is set forth in 24 Del.C. §3006(a)(1). The specific
mandate for this rule is set forth in 24 Del.C. §3006(c).  The
proposed regulation specifically identifies those crimes
which are substantially related to the practice of professional
counseling of mental health and chemical dependency
counseling.

Summary of the Evidence

No written comments were received. No public
comment was received at the February 4, 2005 hearing. 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 10, FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 2005

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/profcounselors/index.shtml


FINAL REGULATIONS 1457
Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and 
Information Submitted

The Board carefully reviewed and considered the crimes
presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from the
Delaware Code.   The overarching concern of the Board was
the safety of the public since practitioners work closely in a
position of trust and responsibility with the members of the
public they serve gaining access to the details of their
clients’ personal, family, business, health and financial
information. In addition, they deal with individuals and
families who are often in crisis and vulnerable to undue
influence and manipulation. The nature of counseling
requires the highest standards of honesty and integrity in
dealing with confidential issues and patient records. It also
requires that the practitioner is able to exercise appropriate
judgment in dealing with a multitude of issues, including but
not limited to, a client’s criminal conduct, physical
disabilities, addictions, behavior disorders, sexual abuse and
other mental health issues.

In addition, practitioners work in a variety of settings
including, but not limited to, hospitals, clinics, schools,
prisons, detention centers and private offices. They
frequently counsel individuals on a one to one basis when no
one else is present.  They are called upon to testify in court
proceedings and file reports with courts and governmental
agencies.

The “primary objective of the Board of Professional
Mental Health Counselors and Chemical Dependency
Professionals, to which all other objectives and purposes are
secondary, is to protect the general public, specifically those
persons who are the direct recipients of services regulated by
this chapter, from unsafe practices and from occupational
practices which tend to reduce competition or fix the price of
services rendered. The secondary objectives of the Board are
to maintain minimum standards of licensee competency and
to maintain certain standards in the delivery of services to
the public.” 24 Del.C. § 3001.

The Board finds that the crimes identified in the
proposed rule are substantially related to fitness or ability to
perform 1 or more of the duties and responsibilities of a
professional counselor of mental health and chemical
dependency professional in that they involve: the use of
physical violence or force, or the threat thereof, toward or
upon the person of another; sexual abuse or inappropriate
sexual conduct; violation of privacy; dishonesty, or false or
fraudulent conduct; mistreatment or abuse of children, the
elderly or animals; offenses indicative of issues with power
and control; offenses against public administration including
but not limited to bribery and perjury, and offenses involving
the illegal possession or the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or
other addictive substances and those non-addictive
substances with a substantial capacity to impair reason or
judgment.

In summary, the Board finds that adopting regulation
11.0 as proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the
State of Delaware and is necessary to protect the health and
safety of the general public, particularly the recipients of the
services provided by professional counselors of mental
health and chemical dependency professionals.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts Regulation 11.0 to be effective
10 days following publication of this order in the Register of
Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the regulation remains as published in
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 7, January 1, 2005,
without any changes, and as attached hereto as Exhibit A.

SO ORDERED this ____day of __________, 2005.

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS OF
MENTAL HEALTH AND CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY
PROFESSIONALS

David Ciamaricone, LPCMH, President, 
Professional Member

James D. Wilson, Ed.D, LPCMH,
Vice-President, Professional Member

Dawn S. Brown, Secretary, Public Member
Jean Gunnells, LPCMH, Professional Member
Joan T. McDonough, Public Member
Carmetah Murray, Public Member

11.0 Crimes substantially related to the provision of
mental health counseling and chemical dependency
counseling:

11.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the provision
of mental health counseling and chemical dependency
counseling in the State of Delaware without regard to the
place of conviction:

11.1.1 Menacing.  11 Del.C. §602(a)
11.1.2 Aggravated menacing.  11 Del.C. §602(b) 
11.1.3 Reckless endangering in the first degree.

11 Del.C. §604
11.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second

degree. 11 Del.C. §605.
11.1.5 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first

degree. 11 Del.C. §606.
11.1.6 Assault in the third degree. 11 Del.C.

§611.
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11.1.7 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C.
§612

11.1.8 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §613.
11.1.9 Abuse of a sports official; felony.  11

Del.C. §614.
11.1.10 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C.

§615.
11.1.11 Terroristic threatening.  11 Del.C. §621(a)

and (b).
11.1.12 Unlawfully administering drugs. 11 Del.C.

§625.
11.1.13 Unlawfully administering controlled

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11
Del.C. §626.

11.1.14 Criminally negligent homicide.  11 Del.C.
§631.

11.1.15 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632.
11.1.16 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second

degree. 11 Del.C. §633
11.1.1 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first

degree. 11 Del.C. §634.
11.1.18 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§635.
11.1.19 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
11.1.20 Promoting suicide. 11 Del.C. §645.
11.1.21 Abortion.  11 Del.C. §651.
11.1.22 Self abortion.  11 Del.C. §652.
11.1.23 Issuing abortional articles. 11 Del.C. §653.
11.1.24  Sexual harassment.  11 Del.C. §763.
11.1.25 Indecent exposure in the second degree.

11 Del.C. §764.
11.1.26 Indecent exposure in the first degree.  11

Del.C. §765.
11.1.27 Incest.  11 Del.C. §766.
11.1.28 Unlawful sexual contact in the third

degree. 11 Del.C. §767.
1.1.29 Unlawful sexual contact in the second

degree. 11 Del.C. §768.
11.1.30 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree.

11 Del.C. §769.
11.1.31 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770.
11.1.32 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §771.
11.1.33 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§772.
11.1.34 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773.
11.1.35 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. §776.
11.1.36 Bestiality.  11 Del.C. §777.
11.1.37 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11

Del.C. §778.
11.1.38 Dangerous crime against a child. 11

Del.C. §779.
11.1.39 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. §780.
11.1.40 Unlawful imprisonment in the second

degree. 11 Del.C. §781.

11.1.41 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree.
11 Del.C. §782.

11.1.42 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11
Del.C. §783.

11.1.43 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C.
§783A.

11.1.44 Acts constituting coercion. 11 Del.C.
§791.

11.1.45 Arson in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §801.
11.1.46 Arson in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§802.
11.1.47  Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803
11.1.48 Cross or religious symbol burning. 11

Del.C. §805.
11.1.49 Trespassing with intent to peer or peep

into a window of another.  11 Del.C. §820.
11.1.50 Burglary in the third degree. 11 Del.C.

§824.
11.1.51 Burglary in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§825.
11.1.52 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§826.
11.1.53 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§831.
11.1.54 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§832.
11.1.55 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§835.
11.1.56 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§836.
11.1.57 Theft; felony. 11 Del.C. §841.
11.1.58 Theft; false pretense. 11 Del.C. §843.
11.1.59 Theft; false promise. 11 Del.C.  §844.
11.1.60 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846.
11.1.61 Misapplication of property. 11 Del.C.

§848.
11.1.62 Theft of rented property; felony. 11 Del.C.

§849.
11.1.63 Receiving stolen property.  11 Del.C. §851
11.1.64 Identity theft.  11 Del.C. §854.
11.1.65 Forgery.   11 Del.C. §861.
11.1.66 Possession of forgery devices. 11 Del.C.

§862.
11.1.67 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C.

§871.
11.1.68 Tampering with public records in the

second degree  11 Del.C. §873.
11.1.69 Tampering with public records in the first

degree.  11 Del.C.  §876.
11.1.70 Offering a false instrument for filing. 11

Del.C. §877.
11.1.71 Issuing a false certificate.  11 Del.C. §878.
11.1.72 Bribery. 11 Del.C. §881.
11.1.73 Bribe receiving. 11 Del.C. §882.
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11.1.74 Defrauding secured creditors. 11 Del.C.
§891.

11.1.75 Fraud in insolvency. 11 Del.C. §892.
11.1.76 Interference with levied-upon property. 11

Del.C. §893.
11.1.77 Issuing a bad check; felony. 11 Del.C.

§900.
11.1.78 Unlawful use of credit card; felony. 11

Del.C.   §903.
11.1.79 Reencoder and scanning devices. 11

Del.C. §903A.
11.1.80 Criminal impersonation. 11 Del.C. §907.
11.1.81 Criminal impersonation, accident related.

11 Del.C. §907A.
11.1.82 Criminal impersonation of a police officer.

11 Del.C. §907B.
11.1.83 Unlawfully concealing a will. 11 Del.C.

§908.
11.1.84 Securing execution of documents by

deception. 11 Del.C. §909.
11.1.85 Fraudulent conveyance of public lands. 11

Del.C. §911.
11.1.86 Fraudulent receipt of public lands. 11

Del.C. §912.
11.1.87 Insurance fraud.  11 Del.C.  §913.
11.1.88 Health care fraud.  11 Del.C. §913A.
11.1.89 Home improvement fraud. 11 Del.C.

§916.
11.1.90 New home construction fraud.  11 Del.C.

§917.
11.1.91 Misuse of computer system information.

11 Del.C. §935.
11.1.92 Bigamy.  11 Del.C. §1001.
11.1.93 Bigamous marriage contracted outside of

the State.  11 Del.C. §1002.
11.1.94 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C. §1100.
11.1.95 Abandonment of child.  11 Del.C. §1101.
11.1.96 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11

Del.C. §1102.
11.1.97 Endangering the welfare of an

incompetent person.  11 Del.C. §1105.
11.1.98 Unlawfully dealing with a child. 11 Del.C.

§1106.
11.1.99 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1108.
11.1.100 Unlawfully dealing in child

pornography. 11 Del.C. §1109.
11.1.101 Possession of child pornography. 11

Del.C. §1111.
11.1.102 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from

school zones.  11 Del.C. §1112.
11.1.103 Sexual solicitation of a child.  11

Del.C. §1112A.
11.1.104 Criminal non-support and aggravated

criminal non-support.  11 Del.C. §1113.
11.1.105 Bribery.  11 Del.C. §1201
11.1.106 Receiving a bribe; felony.  11 Del.C.

§1203.
11.1.107 Improper influence. 11 Del.C. §1207.
11.1.108 Perjury in the third degree.  11 Del.C.

§1221.
11.1.109 Perjury in the second degree. 11

Del.C. §1353.
11.1.147 Permitting prostitution. 11 Del.C.

§1355.
11.1.148 Obscenity.  11 Del.C. §1361.
11.1.149 Obscene literature harmful to minors.

11 Del.C. §1365.
11.1.150 Outdoor notion picture theatres. 11

Del.C. §1366.
11.1.151 Possessing a destructive weapon. 11

Del.C. §1444.
11.1.152 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous

weapon; felony.  11 Del.C. §1445.
11.1.153 Possession of a deadly weapon during

commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447.
11.1.154 Possession of a firearm during

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. §1447A.
11.1.155 Possession and purchase of deadly

weapons by persons prohibited.  11 Del.C. §1448.
11.1.156 Receiving a stolen firearm.  11 Del.C.

§1450.
11.1.157 Theft of a firearm.  11 Del.C. §1451.
11.1.158 Giving a firearm to person prohibited.

11 Del.C.  §1454.
11.1.159 Engaging in a firearms transaction on

behalf of another.   11 Del.C. §1455.
11.1.160 Possession of a weapon in a Safe

School and Recreation Zone.  11 Del.C. §1457.
11.1.161 Removing a firearm from the

possession of a law enforcement officer.  11 Del.C. §1458.
11.1.162 Organized Crime and Racketeering.

11 Del.C. §1504.
11.1.163 Victim or Witness Intimidation. 11

Del.C. §§3532 & 3533.
11.1.164 Abuse, neglect, mistreatment or

financial exploitation of residents or patients.  16 Del.C.
§1136(a), (b) and (c).

11.1.165 Prohibited acts A under the Uniform
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4751(a), (b) and (c).

11.1.166 Unlawful delivery of non controlled
substance. 16 Del.C. §4752A.

11.1.167 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine,
illegal drugs,   methamphetamines, Lysergic Acid
Diethylamide (L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-
methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA). 16 Del.C.
§4753A (a)(1)-(9).

11.1.168 Prohibited acts under the Uniform
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Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4756(a)(1)-(5) and
(b).

11.1.169 Distribution to persons under 21 years
of age.  16 Del.C. §4761.

11.1.170 Purchase of drugs from minors.  16
Del.C. §4761A

11.1.171 Distribution, delivery, or possession
of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property;
penalties; defenses.  16 Del.C. §4767

11.1.172 Distribution, delivery or possession of
controlled substance in or within 300 feet of park, recreation
area, church, synagogue or other place of worship.  16
Del.C. §4768

11.1.173 Drug paraphernalia-Manufacture and
sale; delivery to a minor; felony.  16 Del.C. §§4771 and
4774.

11.1.174 Operation of a vessel or boat while
under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or drugs; third
and fourth offenses.  23 Del.C. §2302(a) and §2305 (3) and
(4).

11.1.175 Obtaining benefit under false
representation. 31 Del.C. §1003.

11.1.176 Reports, statements and documents.
31 Del.C. §1004.

11.1.177 Kickback schemes and solicitations.
31 Del.C. §1005.

11.1.178 Conversion of payment. 31 Del.C.
§1006.

11.1.179 Driving a vehicle while under the
influence or with a prohibited alcohol content; third and
fourth offenses.  21 Del.C. §4177 (3) and (4).

11.1.180 Duty of driver involved in accident
resulting in injury or death to any person; felony.   21 Del.C.
§4202.

11.1.181 Prohibited trade practices against
infirm or elderly.  6 Del.C. §2581

11.1.182 Prohibition of intimidation [under the
Fair Housing Act];  6 Del.C. §4619

11.1.183 Auto Repair Fraud victimizing the
infirm or elderly.  6 Del.C. §4909A

11.1.184 Unauthorized Acts against a Service
Guide or Seeing Eye Dog  7 Del.C. §1717

11.1.185 Interception of Communications
Generally; Divulging Contents of Communications 11
Del.C. §2402

11.1.186 Breaking and Entering, Etc. to Place
or Remove Equipment  11 Del.C.  §2410

11.1.187 Divulging Contents of
Communications.  11 Del.C. §2422

11.1.188 Installation and Use Generally [of pen
trace and trap and trace devices]. 11 Del.C. §243.

11.1.189 Attempt to Intimidate. 11 Del.C.
§3534

11.1.190 Failure of child-care provider to

obtain information required under §8561 or for those
providing false information; felony. 11 Del.C. §8562

11.1.191 Providing false information when
seeking employment in a public school.  11 Del.C. §8572

11.1.192 Filing False Claim [under Victims’
Compensation Fund].  11 Del.C. §9016

11.1.193 Alteration, Theft or Destruction of
Will. 12 Del.C. §210.

11.1.194 Failure of Physician to file report of
abuse of neglect pursuant to 16 Del.C. §903.

11.1.195 Coercion or intimidation involving
health-care decisions and falsification, destruction of a
document to create a false impression that measures to
prolong life have been authorized; felony. 16 Del.C. §2513
(b).

11.1.196 [Failure to make] Reports of Persons
who are Subject to Loss Consciousness.  24  Del.C. §1763.  

11.1.197 Abuse, neglect, exploitation or
mistreatment of infirm adult.  31 Del.C. §3913(a), (b) and
(c).

11.2 Crimes substantially related to provision of
mental health counseling and chemical dependency
counseling shall be deemed to include any crimes under any
federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Professional
Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency
Professionals is available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
profcounselors/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
5100 Board of Cosmetology and Barbering

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 5106 (24 Del.C. §5106)

24 DE Admin. Code 5100

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on January
31, 2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of
Cosmetology and Barbering to receive comments regarding
proposed Regulation 18.0. The proposed regulation
identifies crimes substantially related to the practice of
cosmetology, barbering, electrology and nail technology as
mandated by SB 229 enacted by the 142nd General
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Assembly.  The proposed regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 6, December 1, 2004.

Background

Under Title 24, Chapter 51, as amended by SB 229, one
of the qualifications for licensure is that the applicant “shall
not have a criminal conviction record, nor pending criminal
charge relating to an offense the circumstances of which
substantially relate to his or her licensed practice or which
calls into question the ability of the applicant to carry out
that applicant's own professional services with due regard for
the health and safety of the recipients of those services and
the public. Applicants who have criminal conviction records
or pending criminal charges shall require appropriate
authorities to provide information about the record or charge
directly to the Board in sufficient specificity to enable the
Board to make a determination whether the record or charge
is substantially related to his or her licensed practice or
which calls into question the ability of the applicant to carry
out that applicant's own professional services with due
regard for the health and safety of the recipients of those
services and the public.” 24 Del.C. §5107(a)(7). In addition,
a licensee shall be subject to disciplinary action if the
licensee has “been convicted of a crime that is substantially
related to the practice of cosmetology, barbering, or
manicuring within the past 5 years.” 24 Del.C. §5113
(a)(4).1
 “‘Substantially related’ means the nature of the criminal
conduct, for which the person was convicted, has a direct
bearing on the fitness or ability to perform 1 or more of the
duties or responsibilities necessarily related to the
cosmetology, barbering, or manicuring.” 24 Del.C.
§5101(13).
 The Board is charged by SB 229 to “promulgate
regulations specifically identifying those crimes, which are
substantially related to the practice of cosmetology,
barbering, or manicuring.” 24 Del.C. § 5106(b).
 

Summary of the Evidence

No written comments were received. 
Malik Shelton appeared to offer public comment.  Mr.

Shelton questioned whether the rule would allow for
licensure of someone who may have been convicted 10 years
ago of a crime on the list but has been rehabilitated. He also
wanted to know what standard the Board used to select the
crimes.

Counsel for the Board explained that Senate Bill 229 did
not permit the Board to look at the circumstances of the
offense or factors such as rehabilitation. In addition, Senate
Bill 229 set the standard by which the Board selected the
crimes and read the standard set forth in 24 Del.C.
§5101(13).

Theresa Tucci appeared to offer public comment. Ms.
Tucci was concerned with how information would be
obtained on the application.  Ms. Tucci’s did not have a
comment about the substance of the rule.

Findings of Fact

The Board carefully reviewed and considered the crimes
presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from the
Delaware Code. Neither of the public comments offered
specifically addressed or opposed the offenses selected by
the Board as substantially related.  The overarching concern
of the Board was the safety of public since the licensees have
direct physical contact with the individuals they treat while
performing cosmetology, barbering, electrology and nail
technology services. Many services are performed with
scissors, razors and other sharp instruments. Many salons
also include spa services where clients receive treatment in
various states of undress during which they should be able to
be secure in their privacy. In addition, licensees perform
services on children and the elderly who may be vulnerable
to undue influence or other forms of abuse.

Clients frequently share details of their personal lives
including information about their homes and financial status.
Licensees often have access to home and business addresses
of their clients. They also have access to the billing
information of their clients, including credit card and
checking account information. While certain services are
performed clients often leave personal property, including
purses, unattended.

The “primary objective of the Board of Cosmetology
and Barbering, to which all other objectives and purposes are
secondary, is to protect the general public (specifically those
persons who are direct recipients of services regulated by
this subchapter) from unsafe practices, and from
occupational practices which tend to reduce competition or
artificially fix the price of services rendered. The secondary
objectives of the Board are to maintain minimum standards
of practitioner competency, and to maintain certain standards
in the delivery of services to the public.” 24 Del.C. §5100.

The Board finds that the crimes identified in the
proposed rule are substantially related to fitness or ability to
perform 1 or more of the duties and responsibilities
necessarily related to the practice of cosmetology, barbering,
electrology and nail technology in that they involve: the use
of physical violence or force, or the threat thereof, toward or
upon the person of another; sexual abuse or inappropriate
sexual conduct; violation of privacy; dishonesty, or false or

1. A felony conviction remains a bar to licensure under in
24 Del.C. §5107(a)(6) as of the date of this Order and until
removed by legislative action.
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fraudulent conduct; mistreatment or abuse of children, the
elderly or animals; and those felony drug offenses involving
the distribution, delivery or possession of drugs in areas
where children are likely to be present. 

The Board finds that the proposed draft contained
typographical omissions  in sections 18.1.59, 18.1.74 and
18.1.83 and finds that the draft should have specified that the
offenses were limited to felony level offenses only. In
addition, the Board finds that the definitional provision
found in 18.1.76 is not a crime and should be deleted and the
remainder of the list renumbered. The Board will make these
non-substantive corrections.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts Regulation 18.0 to be effective
10 days following publication of this order in the Register of
Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the rule remains as published in Register of
Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 6, December 1, 2004, with
technical corrections noted above and as reflected in Exhibit
A attached hereto.

SO ORDERED this ____day of __________, 2005.

BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERING

Kevin J. Castaldi, President, Professional Member
Marina T. Civarelli, Vice President, Professional

 Member
Veronica L. Hopkins, Secretary, Public Member
John Bonarigo, Professional Member
Madelyn M. Nellius, Public Member
Richard Shultie, Jr., Professional Member
Jerome Stanley, Professional Member

5100 Board of Cosmetology and Barbering

18.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of
cosmetology, barbering, electrology and nail technology

18.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice
of cosmetology, barbering, electrology and nail technology
in the State of Delaware without regard to the place of
conviction:

18.1.1 Criminal solicitation in the first degree. 11
Del.C. §503.

18.1.2 Conspiracy in the first degree. 11 Del.C.
§513.

18.1.3 Aggravated Menacing. 11 Del.C. §602(b).
18.1.4 Reckless endangering in the first degree.

11 Del.C.   §604.
18.1.5 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second

degree. 11 Del.C. §605.
18.1.6 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first

degree.  11 Del.C.  §606
18.1.7 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§612.
18.1.8 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§613.
18.1.9 Abuse of a sports official; felony. 11

Del.C.  §614.
18.1.10 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C.

§615.
18.1.11 Terroristic threatening; felony.  11 Del.C.

§621.
18.1.12 Unlawfully administering drugs. 11 Del.C.

§625.
18.1.13 Unlawfully administering controlled

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11
Del.C.  §626.

18.1.14 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second
degree.  11 Del.C.  §633.

18.1.15 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first
degree.  11 Del.C.  §634.

18.1.16 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C.
§635.

18.1.17 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
18.1.18 Abortion.  11 Del.C.  §651.
18.1.19 Unlawful sexual contact in the second

degree.  11 Del.C.  §768.
18.1.20 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree.

11 Del.C. §769.
18.1.21 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770.
18.1.22 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C.  §771.
18.1.23 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§772.
18.1.24 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C.  §773.
18.1.25 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C.  §776.
18.1.26 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11

Del.C. §778.
18.1.27 Dangerous crime against a child. 11

Del.C. §779.
18.1.28 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. §780.
18.1.29 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree.

11 Del.C. §782.
18.1.30 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11

Del.C. §783.
18.1.31 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§783A.
18.1.32 Arson in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §801
18.1.33 Arson in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§802.
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18.1.34 Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803.
18.1.35 Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§825.
18.1.36 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§826
18.1.37 Possession of burglar's tools or

instruments facilitating theft.  11 Del.C. §828.
18.1.38 Robbery in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§831.
18.1.39 Robbery in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§832.
18.1.40 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§835.
18.1.41 Carjacking in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§836.
18.1.42 Extortion.  11 Del.C. §846.
18.1.43 Identity theft.  11 Del.C. §854.
18.1.44 Forgery.  11 Del.C. §861.
18.1.45 Possession of forgery devices. 11 Del.C.

§862.
18.1.46 Tampering with public records in the first

degree.  11 Del.C. §876.
18.1.47 Unlawful use of credit card; felony. 11

Del.C. §903.
18.1.48 Reencoder and scanning devices. 11

Del.C.  §903A.  
18.1.49 Criminal impersonation of a police officer.

11 Del.C. §907B.
18.1.50 Dealing in children.  11 Del.C. §1100 
18.1.51 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11

Del.C. §1102.
18.1.52 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C.

§1108.
18.1.53 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography.

11 Del.C. §1109.
18.1.54 Possession of child pornography. 11

Del.C.  §1111.
18.1.55 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school

zones.  11 Del.C. §1112.
18.1.56 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§1222.
18.1.57 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§1223.
18.1.58 Terroristic threatening of public officials

or public servants.  11 Del.C.  §1240.
18.1.59 Abetting the violation of driver's license

restrictions; [felony].  11 Del.C.  §1249.
18.1.60 Escape in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§1252
18.1.61 Escape after conviction.  11 Del.C. §1253.
18.1.62 Assault in a detention facility. 11 Del.C.

§1254.
18.1.63 Promoting prison contraband; deadly

weapon.  11 Del.C. §1256.

18.1.64 Use of an animal to avoid capture. 11
Del.C.  §1257A(b) (1) and (2).

18.1.65 Sexual relations in detention facility. 11
Del.C.  §1259.

18.1.66 Misuse of prisoner mail; second
conviction.  11 Del.C. §1260.

18.1.67 Tampering with a witness.   11 Del.C.
§1263.

18.1.68 Interfering with child witness. 11 Del.C.
§1263A.

18.1.69 Tampering with physical evidence. 11
Del.C. §1269.

18.1.70 Criminal contempt of a domestic violence
protective order.  11 Del.C.  §1271A.

18.1.71 Hate crimes.  11 Del.C. §1304.
18.1.72 Aggravated harassment.  11 Del.C. §1312.
18.1.73 Stalking.  11 Del.C.  §1312A.
18.1.74 Cruelty to animals; [felony]. 11 Del.C.

§1325.
18.1.75 Violation of privacy.  11 Del.C.  §1335.
[18.1.76 Definitions relating to riot, disorderly

conduct and related offenses.  11 Del.C.  §1337.]
18.1.[77 76] Bombs, incendiary devices, Molotov

cocktails and explosive devices.  11 Del.C.  §1338.
18.1.[78 77]  Adulteration.   11 Del.C. §1339.
18.1.[79 78] Promoting prostitution in the third

degree.  11 Del.C.  §1351.
18.1.[80 79]   Promoting prostitution in the second

degree.  11 Del.C.  §1352.
18.1.[81 80] Promoting prostitution in the first

degree.  11 Del.C.  §1353.
18.1.[82 81]  Obscenity.  11 Del.C.  §1361.
18.1.[83 82] Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous

weapon; [felony].  11 Del.C.  §1445. 
18.1.[84 83] Possession of a deadly weapon during

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1447.
18.1.[85 84] Possession of a firearm during

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1447A
18.1.[86 85] Possession and purchase of deadly

weapons by persons prohibited.  11 Del.C. §1448.
18.1.[87 86] Giving a firearm to person prohibited.

11 Del.C.  §1454.
18.1.[88 87] Engaging in a firearms transaction on

behalf of another.  11 Del.C. §1455.
18.1.[89 88] Possession of a weapon in a Safe

School and Recreation Zone; felony.  11 Del.C.  §1457.
18.1.[90 89] Removing a firearm from the

possession of a law enforcement officer. 11 Del.C.  §1458.
18.1.[91 90] Organized Crime and Racketeering. 11

Del.C. §1504.
18.1.[92 91] Victim or Witness intimidation. 11

Del.C. §§3532 & 3533.
18.1.[93 92]  Violations. (Abuse, neglect,

mistreatment or financial exploitation of residents or
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patients.) 16 Del.C. §1136.
18.1.[94 93] Distribution, delivery, or possession of

controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property.  16
Del.C. §4767.

18.1.[95 94] Distribution, delivery or possession of
controlled substance in or within 300 feet of park, recreation
area, church, synagogue or other place of worship. 16 Del.C.
§4768.

18.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of
cosmetology, barbering, electrology and nail technology
shall be deemed to include any crimes under any federal law,
state law, or  valid town, city or county ordinance, that are
substantially similar to the crimes identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Cosmetology
and Barbering is available at:  http://
www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
cosmetology/index.shtml

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  26 Delaware Code,

Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

In the Matter of  the Adoption of |
Regulations Concerning the |
Implementation of 74 Delaware |
Laws, Chapter 317 (2004) | PSC Regulation
Granting the Delaware Public | Docket No. 54
Service Commission the Jurisdiction|
to Regulate Wastewater Utilities |
Including the Jurisdiction to Grant |
and Revoke Certificates of Public |
Convenience and Necessity for |
Wastewater Utilities |
(Opened October 5, 2004)

ORDER NO. 6573

 AND NOW, to-wit, this 22nd day of February, 2005, the
Commission having received and considered the Findings
and Recommendations of the Hearing Examiner, previously
designated in the above-captioned matter, which was
submitted after a duly publicized evidentiary hearing, and
having heard from all parties and the Commission Staff that
there are no exceptions to said Findings and
Recommendations;

AND WHEREAS, based upon the recommendations of
the Hearing Examiner, the Commission has determined that

the evidence of record supports approving the Regulations
Concerning the Jurisdiction of the Public Service
Commission to Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public
Convenience and Necessity to Provide Wastewater Services,
as proposed by Commission Staff; 

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:
1. That the Commission hereby adopts and approves

in its entirety the Findings and Recommendations of the
Hearing Examiner, which is attached hereto as Exhibit “A.” 

2. That the Commission adopts the proposed
Regulations Concerning the Jurisdiction of the Public
Service Commission to Grant and Revoke Certificates of
Public Convenience and Necessity to Provide Wastewater
Services, the exact text and citation of which are attached
hereto as Exhibit “B.”

3. That the Secretary shall transmit this Order,
together with the exact text of Regulations Concerning the
Jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission to Grant and
Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity to
Provide Wastewater Services to the Registrar of Regulations
for publication on April 1, 2005.

4. That the effective date of this Order shall be the
later of April 10, 2005, or ten days after the date of
publication in the Register of Regulations of this Order and
the final text of Regulations Concerning the Jurisdiction of
the Public Service Commission to Grant and Revoke
Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity to Provide
Wastewater Services.

5. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may
be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner

ATTEST:  Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

E X H I B I T  “A”

FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE 
HEARING EXAMINER

William F. O’Brien, duly appointed Hearing Examiner
in this Docket pursuant to 26 Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C. ch.
101, by Commission Order No. 6486, dated October 5, 2004,
reports to the Commission as follows:

I. APPEARANCES

On behalf of Commission Staff (“Staff”):
MURPHY SPADARO & LANDON
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By:  Chase T. Brockstedt, Esquire

On behalf of the Division of the Public Advocate
(“DPA”):

G. Arthur Padmore, Public Advocate
On behalf of Artesian Wastewater Management, Inc.

(“Artesian”):
John J. Schreppler, II, Esquire

II. BACKGROUND

1. On July 6, 2004, new legislation was enacted by the
Delaware General Assembly, found at 74 Delaware Laws,
Chapter 317, which granted this Commission jurisdiction to
regulate wastewater utilities having more than fifty
customers, including the jurisdiction to grant and revoke
Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity
(“CPCN”).  In preparation for the implementation of this
new jurisdiction, Commission Staff drafted a proposed
regulation entitled Regulations Concerning the Jurisdiction
of the Public Service Commission to Grant and Revoke
Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity to Provide
Wastewater Services.

2. On October 5, 2004, by PSC Order No. 6486, the
Commission opened Regulation Docket No. 54 to consider
Staff’s proposed regulation. The Commission directed
publication of notice of the proposed regulation, which
included, among other things, publication in the Delaware
Register.  The Commission set a deadline of November 30,
2004, for the filing of comments by interested parties, and
scheduled a public hearing for December 8, 2004.  Written
comments were filed by Artesian (Ex. 6),1 DPA (Ex. 4), the
Office of State Planning Coordination (“State Planning”)
(Ex. 2), and White Marsh Environmental Systems, Inc. (a
subsidiary of Tidewater Utilities, Inc.) (Ex. 3).

3. In accordance with PSC Order No. 6486, a duly
noticed2 public hearing was conducted at the Commission’s
offices in Dover on December 8, 2004.  Representatives of
Staff, DPA, and Artesian participated in the hearing.  Clark
Carbaugh, President of Utility Systems, Inc., appeared at the
hearing but did not participate.  No member of the public
appeared at or otherwise participated in the hearing. 

4. At the hearing, Staff submitted an amended
proposed regulation, which included certain changes Staff
had made prior to the hearing based on the written comments
received (Ex 4.) In accordance with the post-hearing
schedule, Staff, on December 21, 2004, submitted its final
proposed regulation (Ex. 7), which included additional
changes Staff made based on the oral comments offered at
the hearing.  Staff also provided a redlined version of the
final proposal (Ex. 8), as well as a six-page, post-hearing
memorandum describing each change that it made to its
original proposed regulation (Ex. 9).  After receiving these
documents into evidence, I closed the record, which now
consists of nine exhibits and a 39-page verbatim transcript of
the proceedings.  I have considered all of the record evidence
of this docket and, based thereon, I submit for the
Commission’s consideration these Findings and
Recommendations.

II.  THE PROPOSED REGULATION 

5.  Staff’s proposed regulation consists of eleven rules
governing the certification process for wastewater utilities.
(Ex. 7.)  Rule 1 defines certain terms and acronyms.  Rule 2
identifies the scope of the regulation and the Commission’s
authority for its adoption.  Rules 3 and 4 outline the
application procedure and filing requirements for wastewater
utilities seeking a new CPCN or an extension of an existing
CPCN. Rule 5 provides a 21-day deadline for Staff to review
the CPCN application and to notify the applicant of any
deficiencies, and provides a 30-day deadline (upon notice)
for the applicant to correct any deficiencies.  Rule 6 requires
an applicant to provide copies of its application to the
Department of Natural Resources and Control (“DNREC”),
State Planning, the county within which the proposed service
territory lies, and any affected municipalities, towns or local
authorities (collectively, “municipalities”) and directs Staff
to coordinate its investigative efforts with these entities.

6. Rule 7 provides the procedure that applicants must
follow in order to notify landowners in the proposed service
territory of the CPCN application. Rule 8 provides the
process by which a landowner may oppose the CPCN
application or request a hearing on the application.

7. Rule 9 outlines the procedure that the Commission
will undertake before suspending or revoking a CPCN and
identifies the factors that constitute “good cause” for such
action. Rule 10 requires wastewater utilities to obtain
approval from the Commission before they abandon or
transfer a CPCN.  Rule 11 provides that municipalities and
governmental agencies who act as wastewater utilities need
not obtain CPCNs but must notify the Commission of their
service territories (and of any extensions thereof). In
addition, Rule 11 prohibits municipalities and governmental
agencies from extending service into an area subject to an
existing CPCN without prior Commission approval.

1. References to the Exhibits entered into the evidentiary
record of this proceeding will be cited as “(Ex. ___)” or
“(Ex. ___ at ___).”  References to the transcript of the
proceedings will be cited as “(Tr. at ___).”
 
2. Ex. 1 consists of the affidavits of publication of notice
from The News Journal and Delaware State News
newspapers.  Notice was also sent to all certified wastewater
utilities in Delaware.
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III.  SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE

8. By letter dated November 30, 2004, Constance C.
Holland, Director of State Planning, recommended that Staff
define “existing service territory” as:

The area for which the municipality, governmental
agency, or wastewater authority or district is
planning to serve with its public wastewater
service. This area shall be consistent with service
and/or growth areas reflected in the jurisdiction’s
most current wastewater and/or comprehensive
planning efforts.

(Ex. 2.)  Ms. Holland asserted that the definition would
provide guidance on what the Commission considers
“existing service territory” and would help reduce the
potential overlap between public wastewater providers and
private utility companies.

9. Kevin Neilson, Regulatory Policy Administrator,
testified on behalf of Commission Staff.  (Tr. at 16-22.)  Mr.
Neilson stated that Staff chose not to include the definition
proposed by State Planning because it did interpret the
statute to include an area not yet served as an “existing”
service territory. Mr. Neilson noted that under Staff’s
proposed rules, if a private wastewater utility applies for a
CPCN for an area that overlaps with a municipality’s
planned growth area, the municipality will have an
opportunity to object to the CPCN application and to request
a hearing.

10. Mr. Neilson testified that Staff had modified
slightly its proposed Rule 7.1 based on a recommendation
made by White Marsh in its December 7, 2004 comments
(Ex. 3).  The modification clarified that the Rule 7.1 notice
requirements apply only to CPCN applicants that rely on a
petition from a majority of landowners to comply with 26
Del.C. 203D(d) rather than to those that rely on a service
agreement with the developer of a proposed subdivision.
(Tr. at 22, Ex. 3.)

11. G. Arthur Padmore, Public Advocate, moved DPA’s
November 23, 2004 comments into the record (Ex. 4) and
asserted that Staff had addressed each of DPA’s concerns to
his satisfaction. DPA’s comments involved certain
clarifications of various rules as well as grammatical and
typographical corrections.

12. John Schreppler, counsel for Artesian, moved
Artesian’s December 17, 2004 comments into the record
(Ex. 6) and stated that Staff had addressed all but one of
Artesian’s concerns to his satisfaction. Artesian’s comments
primarily related to clarifications, deletions of unnecessary
language, and one minor change to a timing deadline.  The
remaining issue, which involved clarification of the
procedure for instituting a proceeding to revoke a CPCN
under proposed Rule 9.4, was left for resolution after the

hearing.  Staff reported in its post-hearing memorandum (Ex.
9) that it made certain minor changes to Rule 9.4, which
were acceptable to Artesian.

III. FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

14. The Commission has the authority and jurisdiction
to promulgate regulations under 26 Del.C. §209(a) and 29
Del.C. §10111 et seq.  Pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a), the
Commission may fix “just and reasonable” regulations
governing any public utility.

15.  The final proposed regulation, which is attached to
the proposed Order in this case as Exhibit “B”, outlines the
procedure to be followed by the regulated wastewater
utilities and by Staff with respect to CPCN applications,
transfers, abandonments, and revocations. The proposed
regulation follows the recent wastewater utility legislation
(codified primarily at 26 Del.C. 203D), which transferred
jurisdiction over wastewater CPCNs from DNREC to the
Commission. In addition, the proposed regulation parallels
the Commission’s existing regulation governing CPCNs for
water utilities, adopted in June 2001 in Regulation Docket
No. 51. (PSC Order No. 5730, June 5, 2001.) For the
following reasons, I recommend that the Commission adopt
the proposed regulation as “just and reasonable.” 

16.The comments submitted by the parties, and offered
at the hearing, primarily involved minor changes to language
that either served to clarify certain procedural or
administrative requirements in the proposed regulation or to
correct grammatical or typographical errors.  Based on these
comments, Staff made changes to its proposed regulation,
which, according to the parties that attended the hearing,
satisfied all concerns. (Ex. 9 at 2.)  Staff detailed such
changes in its post-hearing memorandum (Ex. 9).1 

17. Staff did not, however, incorporate the
recommendation made by the State Office of Planning
Coordination.  As summarized above, State Planning
suggested that the regulation define “existing service
territory” to include that area where a municipality or
governmental agency is planning to serve with its public
wastewater service, consistent with its comprehensive plan.
Staff did not include any definition in its proposed regulation
for “existing service territory,” which appears (or closely
appears) in proposed Rules 6.3, 11.1 and 11.2.

18. Under Rule 6.3, a CPCN applicant is required to
file copies of its application with the county within which the
proposed service territory falls, any municipality within
which the proposed service territory falls or is adjacent to,

1. Staff concluded (and I agree) that the changes it made to
the published proposed regulation are not material and,
therefore, do not warrant republication of the regulation
prior to Commission action. See 29 Del.C. §10118(c).
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and any municipality that has an “existing wastewater
service territory” that overlaps the applicant’s proposed
service territory. Rules 11.1 and 11.2 provide that
municipalities need not obtain CPCNs for new or existing
service territories but must file with the Commission
descriptions of their service territories and notify the
Commission of any extensions thereof.

19. At the hearing, Mr. Schreppler, Artesian’s counsel,
and Mr. Padmore, Public Advocate, supported Staff’s
decision not to incorporate State Planning’s
recommendation.  (Tr. at 36-38.) Mr. Schreppler argued that
a landowner whose property is located outside of a
municipality’s borders and miles from that municipality’s
wastewater system, but within its defined “service territory”
(under State Planning’s recommendation), could be held
“hostage” by that municipality when seeking wastewater
service.  He noted that, under this scenario, that property
owner would not have had the opportunity to challenge that
municipality’s identification of its service territory (and
cannot vote in the municipal elections).

20. Mr. Padmore expressed concern that allowing a
municipality to define its own service territory, beyond
where its system is located, could result in an increase in the
number of complaints his office receives from customers of
a municipal utility who do not reside within the municipality.
Because such customers are not residents of the
municipality, and because the Public Advocate lacks
jurisdiction over municipal utilities, these customers have
little recourse regarding their service complaints, according
to Mr. Padmore.

21. In its post-hearing memorandum, Staff
recommended against including State Planning’s proposed
definition of “existing service territory” because: 

a. the definition appears overly broad;
b. use of the definition is not likely to have any

practical effect on planning and development; [and]
c. under [Staff’s] proposed regulations, counties,

municipalities, towns,  local governments and the Office of
State Planning will receive copies of CPCN applications, and
may intervene and challenge the applications.
(Ex. 9 at 2.)1

22. For the reasons outlined above, I agree with Staff,
DPA, and Artesian that the Commission should not adopt
State Planning’s proposed definition of “existing service
territory.”  If the Commission were to adopt such definition,
the Commission would be, in effect, reserving future service
territory for a municipal utility, without first considering the
interests of ratepayers or competing wastewater utilities.
Under Staff’s proposed regulation, however, the
Commission will be able to institute proceedings to resolve

disputes whenever an investor-owned wastewater utility
seeks to expand into an area located within the growth plans
of a county or municipality.

23. For all of the above reasons, I recommend that the
Commission adopt, as just and reasonable, Staff’s proposed
regulation (Ex. 7). A proposed form of Order implementing
the above recommendation is appended, as Attachment “A,”
for the Commission’s convenience.

Respectfully submitted,

William F. O’Brien, Hearing Examiner
Dated: January 21, 2005

E X H I B I T   “B”

REGULATIONS CONCERNING THE 
JURISDICTION OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE 
COMMISSION TO GRANT AND REVOKE 

CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC CONVENIENCE AND 
NECESSITY TO PROVIDE WASTEWATER 

SERVICES

1.0 Definitions
1.1 The following words and terms, when used in

th[isese] regulation[s], should have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Commission” means the Delaware Public Service
Commission.

“CPCN” means a Certificate of Public Convenience
and Necessity.

“DNREC” means the Delaware Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control.

“DPA” means the Division of the Public Advocate.
“DPH” means the Division of Public Health of the

Delaware Department of Health and Social Services
“Staff” means the Staff of the Delaware Public Service

Commission.
“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware

Public Service Commission.

2.0 Scope and Authority
2.1 Th[isese] regulation[s] governs the process by

which non-governmental wastewater utilities serving, or
planning to serve, fifty or more customers (in the aggregate)
apply for and are granted a CPCN to provide wastewater
services.  Th[isese] regulation[s] also contains procedures
for municipalities, governmental agencies, and wastewater
authorities and districts, to notify the Commission of [its
their] service territory and planned service extensions.

2.2 Authority for these regulations is granted by 26
Del.C. §203D.

2.3 Proceedings before the Commission for wastewater
utilities shall be conducted in accordance with the
procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, Subchapter III,

1. Staff also replied directly to State Planning, in a letter
dated December 16, 2004.
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including any proceedings where the Commission finds that
an applicant is unwilling or unable to provide safe, adequate,
and reliable wastewater service to existing customers, or is
currently subject to such a Commission finding under 26
Del.C. §203D(e).

3.0 Application for a Certificate of Public Convenience
and Necessity

3.1 An application for a CPCN to begin the business of
a wastewater utility, or to extend or expand the business or
operations of an existing wastewater utility, shall be made in
writing and filed with the Commission.  The application
shall include all information and supporting documentation
required by statute, the Rules of Practice and Procedure of
the Commission, and these regulations, and shall not be
considered complete until all such information and
supporting documentation has been filed with the
Commission.  At the time of filing, the application shall:

3.1.1 Contain a statement explaining the
reason(s) why the Commission should grant the CPCN, and
include citations to all statutory and regulatory authority
upon which the application is based, or upon which the
applicant relies to support the application.

3.1.2 A statement identifying any significant
element of the application that, to the applicant's knowledge,
represents a departure from prior decisions of the
Commission.

3.1.3 State the name, address, telephone
number, and e-mail address (if any) of the individual to be
notified if Staff determines there are deficiencies in the
application.

3.1.4 For applications submitted under 26
Del.C. §203D(d)(2), contain the supporting documentation
required by 26 Del.C. §203D, that all landowners of the
proposed territory have been notified of the application by
certified mail.

3.1.5 A complete list of county tax map parcel
number(s), and the corresponding names and mailing
addresses of the property owners, for the area covered by the
application.

3.1.6 Copies of the tax map or maps with the
proposed service territory clearly marked.

3.1.7 A check made out to the Delaware Public
Service Commission as specified in Title 26.

3.2 If an application for a CPCN involves a wastewater
utility project or service that requires the review, approval or
authorization of any other state, local or federal regulatory
body, including DNREC, the application to the Commission
shall so state, and include the following:

3.2.1 A statement of the current status of such
application or applications.

3.2.2 If a determination has been made with
respect to such application by the other regulatory body or
bodies, the applicant shall include a copy of any permit,

order, certificate, or other document issued by the regulatory
body; and,

3.2.3 If a determination is made by the other
regulatory body or bodies with respect to such application
after the filing of the CPCN application with the
Commission, but prior to its determination, a copy of any
permit, order, certificate or other document issued by the
regulatory body or bodies shall be filed with the Commission
within six [working business] days of receipt [by the
applicant].

3.3 If not presently on file with the Commission, an
applicant for a CPCN shall provide the following with the
CPCN application:

3.3.1 A [corporate legal] history [of the
applicant]  including [information such as the] dates of
[formation or] incorporation, subsequent acquisitions and/
or mergers, [a copy of the applicant’s certificate of
incorporation or other documentation reflecting the
applicant’s formation, and business license];

3.3.2 A complete description of all relationships
between the applicant and its parent, subsidiaries, and
affiliates, and a chart or charts that depict the inter-company
relationships;

3.3.3 A map or maps identifying all areas,
including towns, cities, counties, or other government
subdivisions to which service is currently provided; 

3.3.4 Annual reports to stockholders for the
applicant, its subsidiaries, and its parent for the last two
years; 

3.3.5 The applicant's audited financial
statements, 10K's, and all proxy material for the last two
years;

3.3.6 Any report or document submitted by the
applicant within the preceding twelve months to any state or
federal authorities in any proceeding where an issue has been
raised regarding the applicant's failure to comply with any
statute, regulation, rule, or order related to the provision of
safe, adequate and reliable wastewater services to its existing
customers; and

3.3.7 Evidence of comprehensive general
liability insurance.

3.3.8 Supporting documentation not filed with
the application shall be made available upon request for Staff
review.

3.4 An applicant for a CPCN that proposes to extend
services into the service territory of a municipality,
government agency or wastewater authority or district must
submit written documentation that such entity has been
informed of and has approved such an expansion by the
applicant.

3.5 During the course of the Staff investigation of an
application, the Commission may require an applicant to
furnish additional information specifically related to the
statutory standards for Commission review and
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consideration [and including information] pertaining to the
financial viability of the applicant. [Such documentation
shall be made available for inspection and copying upon
request by the Staff.]

3.6 An applicant for a CPCN shall submit one original
and 10 copies of the application and shall include three
copies of applicable maps.

4.0 Additional Requirements for a CPCN Application
Filed by a New Wastewater Utility

4.1 Except for municipalities, governmental agencies
and wastewater authorities and districts, and wastewater
utilities serving or to serve fewer than 50 customers in the
aggregate, any new wastewater utility that has not previously
been awarded a CPCN in Delaware and that will begin
operations or [connect provide service to] its 50th customer
after June 7, 2004, must submit the following information
with its CPCN application:

4.1.1 Evidence that it possesses the financial,
operational, and managerial capacity to comply with all
federal, state and local wastewater requirements, by
maintaining capacity sufficient to meet existing and
reasonably anticipated future peak daily and monthly
demands;. [In this regard, the Staff may request that the
applicant provide information, such as projected
revenues, expenses, capital costs, number of customers,
and funding sources for a five-year period.]

4.1.2 A certified copy of the applicant's
certificate of incorporation or [other documents reflecting
the applicant’s formation, and the applicant’s] business
license if not presently on file with the Commission;

4.1.3 Details of plant as to type, capacity, cost,
status of plant construction, construction schedule, and
estimated number of customers to be served; and

4.1.4 A map showing the location and size, in
acres or square feet, of the proposed territory, and the
composition, diameter, length, and location of pipes to be
initially installed.

4.2 Any existing wastewater utility that did not obtain a
CPCN from the Commission by December 3, 2004 as
required by 26 Del.C. §203D(a)(2), must comply with the
requirements set forth in Section 4.1 of these rules.

5.0 Review of Application; Deficiencies in the
Application

5.1 The Staff shall review all CPCN applications for
compliance with applicable statutes and these regulations.
The Staff will, within twenty-one days after the date of
filing, specifically identify any deficiencies in the
application, and promptly notify the applicant of the alleged
deficiencies.

5.2 The applicant shall have thirty days from the date of
the receipt of the notice of the deficiencies in the application
to file a corrected or supplemental application. The

Commission may, in its discretion, extend the period to cure
deficiencies in the application for an additional thirty days.

5.3 Only upon the applicant's filing of a corrected or
supplemental application correcting the deficiencies shall
such application be deemed completed and filed with the
Commission for purposes of the time limits for action by the
Commission under 26 Del.C. §203D(g)(1).  In the event the
alleged deficiencies are not cured within the time provided
hereunder, Staff may move the Commission to reject the
utility's application for non-compliance with these
regulations.

5.4 Nothing in this regulation shall prevent an applicant
from filing an application in draft form for Staff's informal
review and comment without prejudice. Such informal
review and comment shall not be unreasonably withheld by
Staff; nor shall this regulation affect or delay the filing date
of applications that comply with applicable statutes and
these regulations, or whose non-compliance is deemed
minor or immaterial by the Commission or its Staff.

6.0 Filing of Application with DNREC [and the Office of
State Planning and DPH;] Coordination and
Cooperation; [Filing of Application with Counties,
Municipalities and Towns]

6.1 An applicant for a CPCN shall file a[n identical]
copy of the application [and its supporting
documentation] with DNREC [and the Office of State
Planning and DPH] within three days of filing the same
with the Commission. [The applicant need not provide
DNREC or the Office of State Planning with the
supporting documentation for the application unless
DNREC or the Office of State Planning request the
supporting documentation.]

6.2 Staff shall send a written request to DNREC [and
DPH] soliciting written comment as to whether it is aware of
any matters indicating that the applicant has been unwilling
or unable to provide safe, adequate and reliable wastewater
services to existing customers. [Within three days of filing
an applicantion with the Commission, an applicant for a
CPCN shall also file a copy of the application with a) any
county within whose boundaries the proposed service
territory would be located, and b) any municipality, town
or local authority i) whose boundaries are adjacent to the
proposed service territory, or ii) within whose boundaries
or existing wastewater service territory the proposed
service territory would be located. The applicant need
not provide the county, municipality, town or local
authority with the supporting documentation for the
application unless they request it.]

6.3 Staff shall coordinate and cooperate with DNREC
[and DPH] during the process of reviewing an application
for a CPCN.  Staff shall also coordinate and cooperate with
the DPA and other interested state, local, and federal
authorities.
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7.0 Provision of Notice to all Landowners[, Governing
County and Adjacent Towns and/or Cities of the
Proposed  Service Territory]

7.1 [Pursuant to the provisions of In proceedings
involving an application under] 26 Del.C. §203D(d)(2),
prior to filing the application with the Commission, the
applicant shall provide written notice of the anticipated filing
of the application to all landowners of the proposed territory.

7.2 Such written notice shall be sent to all landowners
of the proposed territory not more than sixty days and not
less than thirty days prior to the filing of the application, and
must include, at a minimum, the following statement:

“Pursuant to 26 Delaware Code, Section 203D(d)(2),
an application for a Certificate of Public Convenience
and Necessity (CPCN) will be submitted to the
Delaware Public Service Commission on or about {enter
date of intended submission}. Your property has been
included within an area {enter name of your
organization} intends to serve with public wastewater
and we are required to inform you of certain
information. The area to be served is {provide a
shorthand description of the service area}.  If you agree
to the inclusion of your property in the proposed service
area, no action on your part is required. Inclusion of
your property in a CPCN area does not obligate you to
connect immediately to our system; however, should
your existing system fail and public wastewater services
are deemed to be legally and publicly available, you
may then be required to connect.”

“Under Delaware law, the Public Service Commission
cannot grant a CPCN to {enter name of your
organization} if a majority of the landowners in the
proposed wastewater service area object to the issuance
of the CPCN.  If you object to the issuance of a CPCN
for the proposed area that includes your property, you
must notify the Commission, in writing, within sixty
days of your receipt of this notice or within thirty days
of the filing of the completed application for a CPCN,
whichever is greater.”

“You may also request a public hearing on this matter. 
The purpose of the public hearing will be to demonstrate
why it would not be in the public interest for the
Commission to grant {enter name of your organization}
a CPCN to provide wastewater services to the proposed
area.  A request for a public hearing must be made in
writing to the Commission within sixty days of your
receipt of this notice or within thirty days of the filing of
the completed application for a CPCN, whichever is
greater.”

“Written notice of your decision to object to the

issuance of the CPCN or your written request for a
public hearing, should be sent to the Secretary of the
Delaware Public Service Commission at the address
shown below. Any written notice sent to the
Commission must include the description of the service
area referred to above, your tax parcel identification
number, and the name of the applicant for the CPCN so
the Commission will be able to identify the CPCN
application to which your notice is related.

Secretary
Delaware Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite100
Dover, Delaware 19904

 “Questions regarding objections or public hearings may
be directed to: {enter the name or title, and the address
and telephone number of the Commission's contact
person(s)}.”

8.0 Landowners Who Object or Request a Public
Hearing; Time Limits; Extension of Time

8.1 In proceedings involving an application submitted
under 26 Del.C. §203D(d)(2), any landowner whose
property, or any part thereof, is located within the proposed
territory to be served may object to the issuance of the CPCN
or request a public hearing. The applicant shall inform the
Commission of the name and address of any landowner who
notifies the applicant of their objection to the issuance of the
CPCN or who requests a public hearing.  Any written notice
received [by the applicant] from a landowner shall be filed
with the Commission.

8.2 The Commission shall maintain records identifying
any landowner who has provided written notice of their
objection to the issuance of the CPCN or who has requested
a public hearing.  Such records shall be made available to the
applicant.

8.3 Written notice from a landowner either objecting to
the issuance of the CPCN or requesting a public hearing
must be filed with the Commission within sixty days from
the date of the landowner's receipt of a written notice from
the wastewater utility that complies with Section 7.0 of these
rules, or within thirty days of the filing of the completed
application, whichever period is greater.

8.4 The Commission may, in the exercise of its
discretion, extend the time to object or to request a public
hearing even though the period in which to do so has
expired.

9.0 Suspension or Revocation of CPCN for Good Cause
9.1 Pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203D(j),

the Commission may suspend or revoke a CPCN, or a
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portion thereof, for good cause. Good cause shall consist of:
9.1.1 A finding made by the Commission of

material noncompliance by the holder of the certificate with
any provisions of Titles 7, 16 or 26 dealing with the
provision of wastewater services to customers, or any order
or rule of the Commission relating to the same; or,

9.1.2 A finding by the Commission that the
wastewater utility has failed in a material manner to provide
adequate or safe wastewater service to customers as
evidenced by inadequate customer service, insufficient
investment in, or inadequate operation of, the system or
otherwise; and, 

9.1.3 A finding by the Commission that, to the
extent practicable, service to customers will remain
uninterrupted under an alternative wastewater utility or a
designated third party capable of providing adequate
wastewater service; and,

9.1.4. A finding by the Commission that to the
extent practicable, any financial consequences to customers
served by the utility subject to a revocation are appropriately
mitigated. (74 Del. Laws, Ch. 317, §6.)

9.2 [In addition to the factors In conjunction with
the findings] described in Section 9.1 above, the
Commission may consider one or more of the following
factors in determining whether to suspend or revoke a
CPCN:

9.2.1 Fraud, dishonesty, misrepresentation, self-
dealing, managerial dereliction, or gross mismanagement on
the part of the wastewater utility; or

9.2.2 Criminal conduct on the part of the
wastewater utility; or

9.2.3 Actual, threatened or impending
insolvency of the wastewater utility; or

9.2.4 Persistent, serious, substantial violations
of statutes or regulations governing the wastewater utility in
addition to any finding of non-compliance required by
Section 9.1.1 above; or

9.2.5 Failure or inability on the part of the
wastewater utility to comply with an order of any other
federal, state or local regulatory body after the wastewater
utility has been notified of its non-compliance and given an
opportunity to achieve compliance; or

9.2.6 Such other factors as the Commission
deems relevant to the determination to suspend or revoke a
CPCN.

9.3 Proceedings before the Commission to suspend or
revoke a CPCN for good cause shall be conducted in
accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch.
101, Subchapter III.

9.4 The Commission will not suspend or revoke a
CPCN for good cause without first affording the wastewater
utility a reasonable opportunity to correct the conditions that
[are alleged to] constitute the grounds for the suspension or
revocation of the CPCN, unless the Commission finds that

the conduct of a wastewater utility poses an imminent threat
to the health and safety of its customers, to the general public
or to the environment.

10.0 Abandonment, Sale of Utility, and Transfer of
CPCN

10.1 A utility seeking to abandon service, sell, or
transfer a CPCN shall file an application with the
Commission and must receive Commission approval prior to
such abandonment, sale, or transfer.

10.2 Any entity acquiring a CPCN from the
divesting utility must submit a CPCN application and
receive Commission approval as specified in these
regulations.

11.0 Municipalities, Governmental Agencies, and
Wastewater Authorities and Districts

11.1 As provided for in 26 Del.C. §203D(b),
municipalities, governmental agencies, and wastewater
authorities and districts engaging in or desiring to engage in
the business of a wastewater utility are not required to obtain
a CPCN from the Commission for any existing or new
service territory, or expansion of an existing territory.

11.2 These entities shall provide to the Commission
a description of any existing service territory for wastewater
service no later than October 4, 2004, and shall promptly
give notice and a description of any extension of wastewater
[service] territory or new wastewater service territory to the
Commission.

11.3 A municipality, governmental agency or
wastewater authority or district[s] shall not extend service in
areas where the Commission has granted a CPCN to another
wastewater utility without receiving the approval of the
Commission.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 262

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

262 General Administrative Appeal Procedures for 
National School Lunch Programs (NSLP), the School 
Breakfast Program (SBP) and the After School Snack 
Program (ASSP) of the United States Department of 

Agriculture (USDA) - Fiscal Action
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I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to adopt a new
regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 262 General Administrative
Appeal Procedures for the National School Lunch Programs
(NSLP), the School Breakfast Program (SBP) and the After
School Snack Program (ASSP) of the United States
Department of Agriculture (USDA)-Fiscal Action in order to
comply with the requirements in the federal statute for an
appeal procedure.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on January 20,
2005, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No
comments were received. 

II. Findings of Fact

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to adopt 14 DE
Admin. Code 262 in order to comply with the requirements
in the federal statute for an appeal procedure.

III. Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to adopt 14 DE Admin. Code 262.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
262 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted.
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE
Admin. Code 262 hereby adopted shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 262 adopted hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 262 in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on March 10, 2005.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 10th day of March 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

262 General Administrative Appeal Procedures for
National School Lunch Programs (NSLP), the School
Breakfast Program (SBP) and the After School Snack
Program (ASSP) of the United States Department of
Agriculture (USDA)-Fiscal Action

1.0 Institutions participating in the Delaware NSLP,
SBP and ASSP may request an Administrative Appeal of
the following fiscal actions:

1.1 Denial of all or a part of an institution’s claim for
reimbursement or withholding payment arising from a
Coordinated Review Effort (CRE) or follow-up review
activity conducted by the Delaware State Agency under
Volume 7 of the Code of Federal Regulations (7 CFR)
210.18; and, 

1.2 Withholding of program payments resulting from a
CRE.

2.0 Administrative Appeal shall apply as set forth below,
and will be conducted as follows:

2.1 The Department of Education (“Department”) shall
give written notice of the action being taken or proposed, the
grounds upon which the action is based, and the procedures
under which the school food authority (SFA) may request an
appeal of the action. Notice shall be given to the SFA
individuals by certified mail, return receipt requested.  As
used herein, “Petitioner” means an SFA or its responsible
individuals, as appropriate under the circumstances.

2.2 A request for administrative appeal shall be
submitted to the Department in writing, postmarked within
10 calendar days after the date the notice of action is
received.  The Department shall acknowledge receipt of the
request for appeal within 10 calendar days.

2.3 Any information on which the Department’s action
was based will be available to the petitioner for inspection
from the date of receipt by the Department of the request for
an administrative appeal; if alterations or adjustments can be
developed that are agreeable to both the petitioner and the
Department, such procedure shall be followed.

2.4 The petitioner may refute the findings contained in
the notice of action in person or by submitting written
documentation to the Department’s review official.  In order
to be considered, written documentation must be submitted
to the review official not later than 30 days after the
petitioner submitted the appeal, shall clearly identify the
State agency (SA) action being appealed, and shall include a
photocopy of the notice of action issued by the SA. 

2.5 A hearing must be held by the administrative appeal
official in addition to, or in lieu of, a review of written
information only if the petitioner requests a hearing in the
written request for an administrative appeal.  If the petitioner
fails to appear at a scheduled hearing, the petitioner waives
the right to a personal appearance before the administrative
appeal official, unless the administrative appeal official
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agrees to reschedule the hearing. A representative of the
Department may, but is not required, to attend the hearing to
respond to the petitioner’s testimony and written information
and to answer questions posed by the administrative appeal
official. If a hearing is requested, the petitioner and the
Department must be provided with at least 10 days written
notice, sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, of the
time and place of the hearing.

2.6 The petitioner may retain legal counsel or may be
represented by another person if permitted by law.

2.7 The administrative appeal official shall be
independent and impartial, other than, and not accountable
to, any person authorized to make decisions that are subject
to appeal under the provisions of this section. The
administrative appeal official may be an employee of the
Department, but shall not have been involved in the action
that is the subject of the administrative review, or have a
direct personal or financial interest in the outcome of the
administrative review. The petitioner may contact the
administrative appeal official directly, but all such contacts
shall include the participation of a representative of the
Department, if the Department chooses to participate.

2.8 The administrative appeal official shall make a
determination based solely on the information provided by
the Department, the petitioner, and based upon Program
regulations, policies and procedures governing the NSBP
and NSLP. 

2.9 The decision of the administrative appeal official
shall be issued to the Department and petitioner within 60
days of the Department’s receipt of the request for review, by
written notice, sent by certified mail, return receipt
requested.  If the last day on which the decision is to be
issued shall fall on a Saturday, Sunday, legal state holiday, or
day when the Department is closed due to adverse weather
conditions, the decision shall be issued on the next regular
work day of the Department.  The failure to issue a timely
decision shall not, constitute grounds for reversing the
Department’s action. The decision of the administrative
appeal official is the final administrative determination to be
afforded to the petitioner, unless the CRE or review included
USDA officials.  When USDA officials participate in the
CRE or review leading to the fiscal actions taken, then an
appeal may be made to the USDA as specified under 4.0
below.

2.10 The Department’s action shall remain in effect
during the appeal process.

2.11 The Department shall maintain a searchable
record of all administrative reviews and the dispositions of
the same.  The record shall document the Department’s
compliance with these regulations and shall include the basis
for its decision.

3.0 When the CRE or follow-up activity is conducted by the
State agency only, the appeal shall be made to the:  Secretary

of Education, Delaware Department of Education, P.O. Box
1402, Dover, DE 19903

4.0 When the CRE is performed as a State-Assisted CRE
with participation of USDA officials, at the discretion of the
petitioner, the appeal may also be made to the: Chief,
Administrative Review Branch, USDA-FNS, 3101 Park
Center Drive, Alexandria, VA  22302 

4.1 Any appeal correspondence should be marked
“Request for Review”.  The USDA Administrative Review
Branch conducting an appeal will make a determination
based on information provided by the Food and Nutrition
Service, the appellant and the Program regulations.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 264

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

264 General Administrative Appeal Procedures for the 
Summer Food Service Programs of the United States 

Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to adopt a new
regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 264 General Administrative
Appeal Procedures for the Summer Food Service Programs
of the United States Department of Agriculture CACFP/
USDA in order to comply with the requirements in the
federal statute for an appeal procedure.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on January 20,
2005, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No
comments were received.  

II. Findings of Fact

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to adopt 14 DE
Admin. Code 264 in order to comply with the requirements
in the federal statute for an appeal procedure.

III.  Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to adopt 14 DE Admin. Code 264.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
264 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted.
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE
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Admin. Code 264 hereby adopted shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 264 adopted hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 264 in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on March 10, 2005.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 10th day of March 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

264 General Administrative Appeal Procedures for the
Summer Food Service Programs of the United States
Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA

1.0 Institutions participating in the Delaware SFSP may
request an Administrative Appeal of the following actions:

1.1 Denial of a new or renewing institution's
application for participation;

1.2 Denial of a sponsor’s request for an advance
payment; 

1.3 Denial of all or a part of a sponsor’s claim for
reimbursement (except for a denial based on a late
submission under 7 CFR § 225.9(d)(5);

1.4 Refusal to forward to FNS an exception request by
the sponsor for payment of a late claim or request for an
upward adjustment to a claim; 

1.5 A claim against a sponsor for remittance of a
payment;

1.6 Termination of the sponsor or site; and,
1.7 Denial of a sponsor’s application for a site;

2.0 Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 1.0 above,
institutions participating in the Delaware SFSP may not
request an Administrative Review of the following action:

2.1 decisions made by FNS with respect to late claims
or upward adjustments under S 225.9(d)(5).

3.0 Administrative appeal procedures shall apply as set
forth below, and will be conducted as follows:

3.1 The Department of Education (“Department”) shall
give written notice of the action being taken or proposed, the
grounds upon which the action is based, and the procedures
under which the sponsor or food service management
company may request an appeal of the action.  Notice shall
be given to the institution’s executive director or other
responsible individuals by certified mail, return receipt
requested. As used herein, “Petitioner” means a participating
institution or agency, or its responsible individuals, as
appropriate under the circumstances.

3.2 A request for administrative appeal shall be
submitted to the Department in writing not later than 15 days
after the date the notice of action is received and the appeal
shall meet the requirements specified in 3.5 below.

3.3 The petitioner shall make an appeal within ten (10)
working days from the date on which the notice of action is
received.

3.4 Any information on which the Department’s action
was based shall be available to the petitioner for inspection
from the date of receipt by the Department of the request for
an administrative appeal.

3.5 The petitioner may refute the findings contained in
the notice of action in person or by submitting written
documentation to the Department’s review official.  In order
to be considered, written documentation shall be submitted
to the review official not later than seven (7) days after the
petitioner submitted the appeal, must clearly identify the
Department action being appealed, and must include a
photocopy of the notice of action issued by the Department.

3.6 A hearing shall be held by the administrative appeal
official in addition to, or in lieu of, a review of written
information only if the petitioner requests a hearing in the
written request for an administrative appeal.  If the petitioner
fails to appear at a scheduled hearing, the petitioner waives
the right to a personal appearance before the administrative
appeal official, unless the administrative appeal official
agrees to reschedule the hearing. A representative of the
Department may, but is not required, to attend the hearing to
respond to the petitioner’s testimony and written information
and to answer questions posed by the administrative appeal
official.  If a hearing is requested, the petitioner and the
Department must be provided with at least 10 days written
notice, sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, of the
time and place of the hearing.  

3.7 The petitioner may retain legal counsel or may be
represented by another person if permitted by law.

3.8 The hearing shall be held within fourteen (14) days
of the date of the receipt of the request for review, but, where
applicable, not before the appellant’s written documentation
is received in accordance with paragraphs 3.4–3.7 above.

3.9 The administrative appeal official shall be
independent and impartial. The administrative appeal official
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may be an employee of the Department, but shall not have
been involved in the action that is the subject of the
administrative review, or have a direct personal or financial
interest in the outcome of the administrative review. The
petitioner may contact the administrative appeal official
directly, but all such contacts shall include the participation
of a representative of the Department, if the Department
chooses to participate. 

3.10 The administrative appeal official shall make a
determination based solely on the information provided by
the Department, the petitioner, and based upon Program
regulations, policies and procedures governing the SFSP. 

3.11 The decision of the administrative appeal
official shall be issued to the Department and petitioner
within five (5) days of the petitioner’s hearing, or within five
(5) working days after receipt of the written documentation
if no hearing is held, the appeal official shall make a
determination based upon a full review of the administrative
record and inform the petitioner of the determination of the
review by certified mail, return receipt requested.  If the last
day on which the decision is to be issued shall fall on a
Saturday, Sunday, legal state holiday, or day when the
Department is closed due to adverse weather conditions, the
decision shall be issued on the next regular work day of the
Department.  The failure to issue a timely decision shall not,
constitute grounds for reversing the Department’s action.
The decision of the administrative appeal official is the final
administrative determination to be afforded to the petitioner.

3.12 The Department’s action shall remain in effect
during the appeal process.  However, participating sponsors
and sites may continue to operate the Program during an
appeal of termination, and if the appeal results in overturning
the Department’s decision, reimbursement shall be paid for
meals during the appeal process.  However, such continued
Program operation shall not be allowed if the Department’s
action is based on imminent dangers to the health or welfare
of children.  If the sponsor or site has been terminated for
this reason, the Department shall so specify in its notice of
action.

3.13 The Department shall send written notification
of the complete appeal procedures and of the actions which
can be appealed, as specified in sections 1.1–1.7 above, to
each potential sponsor applying to participate and to each
food service management company applying to register in
accordance with 7 CFR 225.6(g).

3.14 The Department shall maintain a searchable
record of all administrative reviews and the dispositions of
the same. The record shall document the Department’s
compliance with these regulations and shall include the basis
for its decision.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 701

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

701 Unit Count

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE
Admin. Code 701 Unit Count in order to clarify issues in
4.1.1 concerning the Delaware Adolescent Program, in 4.1.6
concerning Alternative Education Programs, in 4.1.7
concerning gifted kindergarten students, in 4.1.13
concerning Vocational Programs, in 5.1.6 concerning
students enrolled in a Homeschool and in 7.1.2 concerning
Charter Schools.  Editorial corrections have also been made. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the State News on January 20, 2005, in the
form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. Comments were
received from Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional
Children, the State Council for Persons with Disabilities and
the Developmental Disabilities Council concerning the 12.5
hour rule in section 4.1.12 of the regulation. The Department
acknowledges the concerns expressed by the Councils on the
existence of the 12.5 hour rule.   But, because of the financial
impact, the Department doesn’t feel that it is appropriate to
remove this provision without the concurrence of the Budget
Office, the Comptroller General’s office and the Joint
Finance Committee.

II. Findings of Fact

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14
DE Admin. Code 701 concerning  students in the Delaware
Adolescent Program, in alternative education programs, in
gifted kindergarten programs, in vocational programs, in
homeschools and in charter schools in order to provide
clarity to the explanation of the counting procedure.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 701.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. Chapter 17, 14 DE Admin.
Code 701 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE
Admin. Code 701 hereby amended shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.
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IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 701 amended hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 701 in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. Chapter 17 on March 10,
2005.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 10th  day of March 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

701 Unit Count

1.0 Forms and Record Keeping
1.1 All information submitted through the unit count

process shall be on the forms provided by the Department of
Education or in such other format as may be acceptable to
the Department.

1.2 Each school shall maintain September enrollment
records in a manner which will allow for efficient enrollment
audits by the Department of Education and the State Auditor
of Accounts. At the end of September, each school shall
assemble a comprehensive enrollment file that contains all
necessary support materials to substantiate the enrollments
reported.  This file shall be retained in the school for at least
three years.

1.3 Records to substantiate special education students
included in the enrollment count shall contain: student name,
cohort age group, grade level, eligibility category, name of
special education teachers serving the student in September,
and number of hours of special education services received
during the last week of school in September. Individual
student case studies, evaluations, and reports of specialists
do not need to be maintained as part of the September 30
enrollment file. However, individual student files may be
reviewed by the Department of Education or State Auditor of
Accounts to ascertain that the students reported are bonafide
identified as special education students as per 14 DE
Admin. Code 925.

2.0 Special Situations Regarding Enrollment
2.1 All exceptions and extenuating circumstances

relating to the enrollment count are addressed to the
Secretary of Education and shall be received by the
Secretary for consideration prior to September 30.

2.2 Students with multiple disabilities shall be reported
in the category that corresponds to their major eligibility
category.

2.3 Students included in the special education unit
count under the placement provisions of Transfer Student or
Emergency Temporary Placement or Change of Placement
shall meet the evaluation and placement requirements found
in 14 DE Admin. Code 925.

2.4 Students not assigned to a specific grade shall be
reported in a grade appropriate for their age or their
instructional level for purposes of the unit count.

3.0 Accounting for Students not in Attendance the Last
Ten Days in September

3.1 For students not in attendance at school during the
last 10 school days of September, the following information
shall be on file to substantiate their inclusion in the
enrollment count:

3.1.1 Reason for absence, usually medical, and
date of last direct contact with student or parent.

3.1.2 Reason to believe that student will be
returning to school before November 1st.

3.1.3 Districts and Charter Schools enrolling a
within-state transfer student during the last ten school days
of September shall notify the student's previous district or
charter school of such enrollment no later than the last
student attendance day of September. The notification shall
be by fax with a follow-up letter to the previous district
central office unit count coordinator’s office. The
notification shall be clearly labeled Unit Count Transfer
Students and include the student's name, grade, and previous
school of attendance. A student enrolling with a formal
notice of withdrawal from the previous district or charter
school is exempted from this notification requirement.
Failure to follow the notification procedure may result in
including the same student in two different district or charter
school enrollments and hence unit counts.  If that occurs, the
student will be disallowed from the receiving district's
district or charter school’s enrollment and unit count.  Copies
of the fax transmittals and follow-up letters shall be on file to
substantiate the student's inclusion in the receiving district's
district or charter school’s enrollment and unit count.

4.0 Programs, Situations and Program Types that
Qualify for Inclusion in the Unit Count

4.1 Students in the following programs, situations and
program types shall qualify for inclusion in the enrollment
count:

4.1.1 Delaware Adolescent Program, Inc.
(DAPI): A student enrolled in DAPI on September 30 may
be counted in the home school enrollment count. If the
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 10, FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 2005



FINAL REGULATIONS 1477
student received special education services the previous year
in the reporting school, the student may continue to be
reported for the same level of special education service as
was received during the previous year. If enrolled the
previous year in a vocational program in the reporting
school, the student may continue to be reported as enrolled
in the next vocational course in the program series.

4.1.1 Delaware Adolescent Program, Inc.
(DAPI):

4.1.1.1 Students enrolled in DAPI shall be
counted in the enrollment of the sending school.

4.1.1.2 Students shall be reported for the level
of special education service as defined by the current IEP.

4.1.1.3 If a student was enrolled the previous
year in a vocational program in the reporting school, the
students shall be reported as enrolled in the next vocational
course in the program series.

4.1.2 Repeating seniors who are enrolled in
school for a minimum number of instructional hours defined
as three traditional courses or an equivalent time in a block
schedule, shall be included in the unit count provided they
meet the age and residency requirements. Students in the
James H. Groves In-school Credit Program (14 DE Admin.
Code 915.2.4) and students in the Advanced Placement
Program shall be enrolled and attend at least one full credit
course in their high school to be included in the unit count
provided they also meet the age and residency requirements.

4.1.3 Temporary  problem, usually medical,
which precludes school attendance prior to November 1st.

4.1.4 Supportive Instruction (Homebound):
Students receiving supportive instruction (homebound)
pursuant to 14 DE Admin. Code 930 qualify for inclusion in
the unit count.

4.1.4.1 A child with a disability receiving
supportive instruction (homebound) shall be included in the
unit count as a full-time special education student if, in the
child's placement immediately preceding the homebound
placement, the child was receiving instruction from a
certified special education teacher for at least 12 ½ 12.5
hours per week.

4.1.4.2 A child with a disability receiving
supportive instruction (homebound) shall be included in the
unit count as a part-time special education student if, in the
child's placement immediately preceding the homebound
placement, the child was receiving instruction from a
certified special education teacher for less than 12 ½ 12.5
hours per week.

4.1.6 Alternative Education Program: A student
enrolled in an Alternative Program on September 30 may be
counted in the home school enrollment count. If the student
received special education services the previous year in the
reporting school], the student may continue to be reported
for the same level of special education service as was
received the previous year.  If enrolled the previous year in a

vocational program in the reporting school, the student may
be reported as enrolled in the next vocational course in the
program series.

4.1.6 Consortium Discipline Alternative
Program:

4.1.6.1 Students enrolled at a Consortium
Discipline Alternative Programs site shall be counted in the
enrollment of the sending school.  (see 14 DE Admin. Code
611)

4.1.6.2 Students shall be reported for the level
of special education service as defined by the current IEP.

4.1.6.3 If a student was enrolled in the
previous year in a vocational program in the reporting
school, the students shall be reported as enrolled in the next
vocational course in the program series.

4.1.7 Gifted or talented students as defined in 14
Del C. §3101 beginning with the chronological age of 4
inclusive, who have been identified by professionally
qualified persons (14 Del.C. §3101), are recorded in the
grade level enrollment group to which they are assigned.
These students should be evaluated using standardized
assessment instruments.

4.1.7 Students enrolled in kindergarten pursuant
to 14 DE Admin. Code 940 shall be counted in the grade
level enrollment group to which they are assigned.

4.1.8 Except as provided in section 5.0 and 7.2
of this regulation, all pre-kindergarten children with
disabilities shall be counted as full-time in the appropriate
eligibility category.

4.1.9 Students enrolled in residential facilities as
of the last day of September.  These students are included in
the enrollment count of the district operating the
instructional program in that facility.  The facilities that are
eligible shall be identified each year by the Department of
Education. 

4.1.10 Regular Programs - Regular programs
include students who are enrolled in the regular elementary
or secondary curriculum of the school, i.e., the core of the
school subjects, which most students take.

4.1.11 Full-time Special Education Services -
Students who have been properly identified, and receive
instruction from a certified special education teacher for at
least  12 1/2 12.5 hours per week. Children with disabilities
must have appropriate supporting documentation on file as
required by the Identification, Evaluation and Placement
Process in 14 DE Admin. Code 925.

4.1.12 Part Time Special Education Services -
Students who have been properly identified and receive
instruction from a certified special education teacher for less
than 12 1/2 12.5 hours per week. These children with
disabilities must meet all other criteria for full-time special
education services.  For unit count computation, they will
have their time apportioned between a regular student in a
specified grade and a special student in a specified category.
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4.1.12.1  The apportioning is accomplished by
dividing the number of hours that each student receives
instruction from a certified special education teacher by 15.
For example, if a second grade student eligible for special
education services in the Learning Disabled category
receives 11.5 hours of special education service per week,
the student is counted as a .77 LD student (11.5/15 = .77) and
a .23 second grade regular student.  This accounts for one
Full-Time Equivalent Student (.77 + .23 = 1.0).

 4.1.13 Vocational Programs - A maximum of 900
minutes of vocational time per week per student shall be
credited toward the vocational unit determination.  Students
who attend full time, 900 minute vocational programs are
not counted in any other vocational course.  They have the
maximum time allowed. However, units shall be counted on
the basis of 1 unit for each 30 students or major fraction
thereof for students enrolled in the New Castle County
Votech School District, the POLYTECH School District and
the Sussex Technical School District.

5.0 Programs and/or Situations that Do Not Qualify for
the Unit Count

5.1 Students in the following programs and situations
do not qualify for inclusion in the enrollment count:

5.1.1 Students who have not attended school
during the last 10 days of September

5.1.2 Students who are enrolled in General
Education Development (GED) programs

5.1.3 Students who are enrolled in other than
Department of Education approved programs

5.1.4 Students who are transferred to a state
residential facility during September shall not be included in
the enrollment count of the District unless that District
operates the facility's instructional program; otherwise the
student must be treated as a withdrawal

5.1.5 Children eligible for special education
under Developmentally Delayed Three Year Old Children
and Pre-School Speech Delayed 3 and 4 Year Old Children.
Services will be provided for these students through an
annual appropriation to the Department of Education
specifically for that purpose (14 Del.C. §1703).

5.1.6 Students enrolled in a Homeschool as
defined in 14 Del.C 2703A.

6.0 Nontraditional High School Schedules:
For unit count purposes if a special education student

student receiving special education services or a vocational
student in a school utilizing nontraditional schedules
receives, during the course of the year, the same amount of
instruction the student would have received under a
traditional class schedule, the district shall average the time
and calculate instructional time on a weekly basis; providing
however, that a vocational student receives a minimum of
300 minutes of instruction per week and a full-time special

education student receives a minimum of 7.5 hours of
instruction per week.

6.1 The following exemplifies a situation with the
required minimum minutes and hours for a full time
vocational and/or special education student and shows that
the heavy concentration of minutes or hours could occur
either in the fall or the spring of the year.

Fall/Spring Vocational = 300 minutes per week
Spring/Fall Vocational = 1500 minutes per week

1800 /2 = 900 minutes 
per week

Fall/Spring Special Education= 7.5 hours per week
Spring/Fall Special Education=17.5 hours per week

     =25.0 /2 = 12.5 hours 
per week

7.0 Charter Schools
7.1 Charter schools shall be allowed the following

options in calculating their unit count:
7.1.1 Using the standard public school

procedure:  major fraction unit rounding rule in each
category; or

7.1.2 Adding the fractional units in each
category and using the major fraction unit rounding rule on
the total. Adding the fractional units in each category,
fractional units will be funded

7.2 Funding for charter schools is limited to students
lawfully enrolled in such grades K through 12 as the charter
school may be approved to operate.  Charter schools shall
not include any pre-k students in their enrollment for unit
count purposes. This section shall not be interpreted to
authorize any charter school to enroll pre-k students.

8.0 Unit Adjustments After Audit
If, after the units are certified by the Secretary of

Education, a student is disqualified through the auditing
process from the unit count, the units will be recalculated
without that student.  An other Another eligible student shall
not be substituted for the disqualified student. A special
education student who has been identified and is receiving
special education services and is disqualified from the unit
count due to irregularities contained within supporting
documentation, may then be included in the appropriate
regular enrollment category provided the student meets
eligibility requirements. Only a student disqualified by the
audit process may be reassigned to another unit category.  In
no event can this adjustment result in a net increase in units
for a district.

2 DE Reg. 382 (9/1/98)
5 De Reg. 627 (9/1/01)
6 DE Reg. 74 (7/1/02)
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 10, FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 2005



FINAL REGULATIONS 1479
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 712

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

712 Employee Leave

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE
Admin. Code 712 Employee Leave in order to add the
words “school district(s)” to Sections 1.0 and 2.0 and to
change the reference to “vacation time” to “annual leave”.
The statement that “if there is a break in service the transfer
of annual leave can only occur if the break is less than six (6)
months” has also been added to Section 1.0.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on January 20,
2005, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No
Comments were received.  

II. Findings of Fact

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14
DE Admin. Code 712 by adding “school district(s)” to the
words “employing state agencies”, changing “vacation time”
to “annual leave” and  adding the statement that “if there is a
break in service the transfer of annual leave can only occur if
the break is less than six (6) months” to section 1.0 in order
to improve the clarity of the regulation.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 712.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1318, 14 DE Admin.
Code 712 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE
Admin. Code 712 hereby amended shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 712 amended hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 712 in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1318 on January 20, 2005.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 10th day of March 2005.

STATE OF EDUCATION

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

712 Employee Leave

1.0 Sick Leave
Sick leave accumulated by an employee of any state

agency or school district shall be transferred when said
employee begins subsequent employment in a school
district.  If there is a break in service the transfer can only
occur if the break was for less than six (6) months.

1.1 Sick leave days are made available at the start of the
fiscal year, but adjustments for employees who terminate
service prior to the end of the school year shall be made in
the final paycheck.

2.0 Vacation Annual Leave
Subject  to any limitation imposed by statute,

accumulated vacation annual leave shall be paid upon
termination of employment.  The employee may either
remain on the regular payroll until such time as all vacation
time annual leave is exhausted, or a lump sum payment may
be made for all unused vacation time annual leave on the
employee's final paycheck.  The vacated position may be
filled at any time provided that the two employees do not
receive compensation for the same pay period.  Accumulated
vacation time annual leave shall not be transferred between
different employing state agencies or school districts.

3 DE Reg. 1392 (4/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 940

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

940 Early Admission to Kindergarten for Gifted Students
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I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the approval of the
State Board of Education to adopt a new regulation 14 DE
Admin. Code 940 Early Admission to Kindergarten for
Gifted Students in order to clarify what a school must do if
they choose to admit gifted students to kindergarten before
they are five years of age.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on January 20,
2005, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  Comments
were received from Governor’s Advisory Council for
Exceptional Children and the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities.  The Councils suggested that more discretion be
given to the schools in determining if a four year old may be
admitted to kindergarten under the category of “Gifted” by
using “‘professional judgment”. It was the intent of the
Department to bring some specificity to the eligibility
process for early admissions to kindergarten.  To bring in the
option of “professional judgment” would open up the
process again.  The Department will retain the criteria as
described.    The Councils suggested removing the words “in
conjunction with other appropriate personnel” in line 1.1.
The Department will retain the existing language because the
intent is to bring in other personnel such as teachers or
counselors to assist with the determination for admission to
kindergarten.  

II. Findings of Fact

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to adopt 14 DE
Admin. Code 940 in order to clarify what a school must do
if they choose to admit gifted students to kindergarten before
they are five years of age.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to adopt 14 DE Admin. Code 940.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §3101(3) (a) or (b) and 14
Del.C. §2702(b), 14 DE Admin. Code 940, attached hereto
as Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision
of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 940 hereby
adopted shall be in effect for a period of five years from the
effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 940 adopted hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 940 in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on March 17, 2005.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 17th day of March 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education
Approved this 17th day of March 2005

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

940 Early Admission to Kindergarten for Gifted Students

1.0 When providing early enrollment into kindergarten of
children who are gifted pursuant to the provisions of 14
Del.C. § [3103 (a) (b) 3101(3)(a) or (b)], local school
districts and charter schools shall comply with the following
requirements:

1.1 At the request of any parent, legal guardian or
person acting as a caregiver pursuant to 14 Del.C. §202 (f),
the district or charter school shall conduct an evaluation of
any such potentially gifted child by a school psychologist or
other professionally qualified person, in conjunction with
other appropriate personnel, to determine [the child’s
outstanding if the child possesses outstanding] mental/
cognitive abilities and to determine if the child can
demonstrate the social, emotional, and physical maturity,
normally expected for successful participation in
kindergarten.  A discussion shall be held to determine the
parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver’s reason for
requesting the child’s early admission to kindergarten prior
to the legal age.

[1.1.1 The evaluation shall be conducted at no
cost to the parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver.]

1.2 [The evaluation shall be conducted at no cost to
the parent, guardian or caregiver.  In order to qualify for
early enrollment, the results of the evaluation must
indicate that the child achieved a measured score at least
1.5 standard deviations above the mean score for the
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assessment instrument used to determine the child’s
outstanding mental/cognitive abilities, and that the child
possesses the social emotional and physical maturity to
successfully participate in kindergarten.] In order to
qualify for early enrollment, the child must achieve a
measured score at least 1.5 standard deviations above the
mean score for the assessment instrument used to
determine the child’s mental/cognitive abilities. In
addition, the evaluation must indicate that the child
possesses the social, emotional and physical maturity to
successfully participate in kindergarten.]

1.3 Following the completion of the evaluation, a
representative of the school district or charter school who is
knowledgeable of the evaluation process and any
assessments used during the evaluation shall talk with the
parent, guardian or [caregiver Relative Caregiver] to
discuss the evaluation results.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,

Section 223 (16 Del.C. §223)
16 DE Admin. Code 4108

 ORDER

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”)
initiated proceedings to adopt the State of Delaware Autism
Surveillance and Registration Program Regulations. The
DHSS proceedings to adopt regulations were initiated
pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Chapter 101 and authority as
prescribed by 16 Delaware Code, Section 223.

On January 1, 2005 (Volume 8, Issue 7), DHSS
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice
of proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10115. It requested that written materials and
suggestions from the public concerning the proposed
regulations be delivered to DHSS by January 31, 2005, or be
presented at a public hearing on January 24, 2005, after
which time DHSS would review information, factual
evidence and public comment to the said proposed
regulations.

Written comments were received during the public
comment period and evaluated. The results of that evaluation
are summarized in the accompanying “Summary of
Evidence.”

Summary of Evidence

A public hearing was held on January 24, 2005, at 10:00
a.m. in the Third Floor Conference Room of the Jesse
Cooper Building located on Federal and Water Streets,
Dover, Delaware before David P. Walton, Hearing Officer.
The purpose of the hearing was to discuss the proposed
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) Autism
Surveillance and Registration Program Regulations.
Announcements regarding the public hearing were published
in the Delaware State News, the News Journal and the
Delaware Register of Regulations in accordance with
Delaware Law.  Dennis Rubino, of the Community Health
Care Access Branch of the Division of Public Health (DPH)
made the agency’s presentation. One individual attended and
offered comments at the hearing on the proposed
Regulations.  Written comments were also received on the
proposed regulations during the public comment period
(January 1, 2005 through January 31, 2005).  Organizations
represented at the hearing and those offering comments
included:

• Autism Society of Delaware
• State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD)
• Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council

(DDDC)
• Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional

Citizens (GACEC)
• Delaware Healthcare Association

Public comments and the DHSS (Agency) responses are
indicated below:

Section 3.2:  This section states, “The Department
shall have access to information in the medical records of
children with suspected autism.”  It is unclear if the
Department will have access to the entire medical
records of the children or only the portion of the medical
record pertaining to the diagnosis of autism. This should
be clarified prior to publication of final regulations.

Agency Response: After careful review of the law and
Section 3.2 of the regulations, the intent is to have access to
all information in the medical record. While the Agency may
not always require information from the entire medical
record, based on the goals and purpose of the Autism
Registry it may as the situation dictates require access to the
entire medical record. The Agency is satisfied that section
3.2 is clear enough to gain access to required information
.

Section 3.5.2: This section requires that, “the
designated representative of any clinical laboratory
conducting assessment, evaluation or research that
performs any test which identifies a child or children
under age 18 with confirmed autism” to report this to the
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Division of Public Health within 30 days. Medical
professionals have stated that there are no laboratory
tests that would be performed in a clinical laboratory
that would identify a child with confirmed autism. It is
unclear why this section is included in the proposed
regulations as the related Statute does not make any
references to clinical laboratories being required to
report occurrences of autism.

Agency Response: The Agency agrees that there
currently is no laboratory test that could be performed to
identify a child with confirmed autism. However, Section
221 of the law refers to health care practitioners and all
hospitals and ‘clinical laboratories’. It is the intent of the
Agency to have confirmed autism reported from
assessments, evaluations, and research as conducted by the
health care practitioners in any clinical laboratory setting.

Although the definition of autism is taken directly
from the Statute there are some concerns that the
definition is incorrect.  Specifically, the portion of the
definition referring to structural or biochemical
abnormalities that may be diagnosed prior to the birth of
a child.  At this time there are no tests that are performed
on a child prior to birth that would allow for the
diagnosis of autism.

Agency Response:  The Agency has maintained the
definition of autism as per the law but has further refined the
definition according to ICD 9 and DSM IV.  Additionally, to
add further clarity, a list of diagnoses is contained in the
Appendix.

It is recommended that occupational and physical
therapists be included in the regulations since motor
functioning is part of the diagnostic criteria for autism.
For example, the definition of “confirmed autism or
diagnosed autism” in section 2.0 includes “stereotyped
and repetitive motor mannerisms (e.g. hand and finger
flapping or twisting or complex whole-body
movements)”.

Agency Response:  The Agency agrees and maintains
that occupational and physical therapists are included under
the term ‘health care practitioners’ (Section 3.5.1). 

The statutory [16 Del.C. Section 223(b)(c)]
exemptions for 1) health care providers who treat with
prayer alone and 2) caretakers of infants who oppose
reporting on religious grounds should be included in the
regulations.

Agency Response: The Agency agrees and language
from the law has been incorporated

into the final Regulations.

Section 5.1: There is a concern that the first sentence
could be construed to mean that reporting agencies
identified in section 3.5 should be reporting information
without personally identifiable information.  It is
inferred that DPH intended the first sentence of this
section to only apply to disclosure of information already
obtained by the Division.  To obviate any ambiguity, the
phrase “received by Division” could be inserted after the
word “autism”.

Agency Response: The Agency agrees with this
comment and this section has been amended for clarity
purposes.

It was recommend that DPH include a voluntary
registration process whereby parents or guardians of
Delaware citizens, regardless of age, may of their own
free will, register their dependent child after the point of
original diagnosis of autism. To that end, the following
wording should be considered for inclusion in the
regulations.

“Section 3.7 Voluntary Reporting: For the purposes
of fulfilling the intent of this act, specifically to collect
and reflect accurate and complete census data on citizens
with autism in Delaware, a voluntary registration process
has been established. Individuals may report their
autistic dependent of any age by completing from XYZ.
Having it attested by means of a signature of the autistic
individual’s attending physician and submitting this
form to DHSS, DPH, at the following address.
Individuals identified using this voluntary process will
become part of the Delaware registry.”

Agency Response: The Agency has investigated the
recommendation and found that: 1) the statute does not give
the authority to collect information for persons over the age
of 18; and 2) the Division is requiring that health care
practitioners confirm and report the children with an autism
diagnosis. Accordingly, any parent can therefore request that
their health care provider submit the report.  In this way, the
accuracy of the report is guaranteed.

In addition to written comments made above, positive
comments were shared about Delaware enacting such a
regulation to capture information in order to better
understand autism.

The public comment period was open from January 1,
2005 to January 31, 2005.

Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing
Officer’s record.  The regulation has been approved by the
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Delaware Attorney General’s office and the Cabinet
Secretary of DHSS.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as
set forth in the attached copy should be adopted in the best
interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.  The
proposed regulations include minor modifications from
those published in the January 1, 2005, Register of
Regulations, based on public comment.  These modifications
are deemed not to be substantive in nature.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
State of Delaware Autism Surveillance and Registration
Program Regulations are adopted and shall become effective
May 10, 2005, after publication of the final regulation in the
Delaware Register of Regulations. 

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, 3/14/2005

4108 Autism Surveillance and Registration Program

1.0 Purpose
1.1 Autism is a severe neurodevelopmental disorder

whose prevalence appears to be increasing in Delaware and
across the United States. An Autism Surveillance and
Registration, or an Autism Registry, will enable the
Department of Health & Social Services (DHSS), Division
of Public Health (DPH) to collect basic descriptive
information on the individuals with autism, to track changes
in prevalence over time, to inform the planning of service
delivery to children with autism and their families, and to
facilitate autism research.

1.2 The purpose of the Autism Registry is to provide an
accurate and continuing source of data concerning autism to
provide information to Public Health officials to help to
ultimately decrease the autism morbidity burden associated
with the disorder. The Autism Registry will gather data to
assist with: prevalence estimation, cluster investigation, risk
factor identification, and outcome assessment.

1.3 The usefulness of the data collected in the Autism
Registry will depend upon the full and accurate reporting of
the confirmed diagnosis of autism by health care
practitioners, hospitals, and clinical laboratories.

1.4 The Autism Registry will be a separate component
of the Newborn Screening Management System.

2.0 Definitions
The following words shall have the meanings indicated:
"Autism" means any structural or biochemical

abnormality, regardless of cause, diagnosed at any time
before or after birth, that requires medical or surgical
intervention or that interferes with normal growth or

development. Reportable autism diagnoses are listed in
Appendix A of these Regulations.

“Confirmed Autism Or Diagnosed Autism” means an
abnormality characterized by each of the following
symptoms:

• Impaired social behavior:
• marked impairment in the use of multiple

nonverbal behaviors, such as eye-to-eye
gaze, facial expression, body postures, and
gestures to regulate social interaction

• failure to develop peer relationships
appropriate to developmental level

• a lack of spontaneous seeking to share
enjoyment, interest, or achievements with
other people (e.g., by a lack of showing,
bringing, or pointing out objects of
interest)

• lack of social or emotional reciprocity
• Abnormal development of communication

skills:
• delay in, or total lack of, the development

of spoken language (not accompanied by
an attempt to compensate through
alternative modes of communication such
as gesture or mime)

• in individuals with adequate speech,
marked impairment in the ability to initiate
or sustain a conversation with others

• stereotyped and repetitive use of language
or idiosyncratic language

• lack of varied, spontaneous make-believe
play or social imitative play appropriate to
developmental level

• Lack of awareness of the need for emotional
support and little emotional response to family
members: 
• encompassing preoccupation with one or

more stereotyped and restricted patterns of
interest that is abnormal either in intensity
or focus

• apparently inflexible adherence to
specific, nonfunctional routines or rituals

• stereotyped and repetitive motor
mannerisms (e.g., hand or finger flapping
or twisting or complex whole-body
movements)

• persistent preoccupation with parts of
objects

"Division" refers to the Division of Public Health under
the Department of Health and Social Services.

“Infant” refers to a newborn from birth to 1 year of age.
"Registry" means a central data bank containing

collected, classified, coded, and sorted data relating to
confirmed autism in children from birth through age 17, as
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reported by health care practitioners, hospitals and clinical
laboratories.

"Surveillance" means the process of identifying and
investigating confirmed autism in children under age 18.

“Suspected Autism” is a term used for an infant or
young child who is showing some developmental variations
that do not meet the criteria for autism but whose variations
have been shown to be associated with a risk of eventually
developing all of the traits of autism.

3.0 Reporting Requirements
The provisions of this section shall apply to the

Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Public
Health, Autism Registry:

3.1 The registry shall collect information on any child
under the age eighteen (18) who is a resident of the state of
Delaware, or whose parent is a resident of Delaware, and
who is diagnosed at any time prior to age eighteen (18) as
having confirmed autism. For the purposes related to the
registry the Department shall have access to any medical
record of the child with confirmed autism.

3.2 The Department shall have access to information in
the medical records of children with suspected autism. On
request of the Department all mandated reporting sources
should identify children who have suspected autism.  The
Department shall have access to records of such children.

3.3 Any diagnosis of confirmed autism shall be
reported for all infants and children up to age 18, including
those who have since died (if the data is still available).

3.4 For purposes of these reporting requirements,
reportable diagnoses are those diagnoses, from the
International Classification of Diseases (ICD) and DSM IV
as listed in Appendix A of these regulations; as well as the 6-
digit modified Pediatric Association system (BPA/ICD-9).
The reportable diagnoses listed in Appendix A may be
revised, upon notice, to reflect changes in publications
accepted for use by the Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention.

3.5 The following persons and organizations are
required to report occurrences of autism within 30 days of
diagnosis to the Division of Public Health.

3.5.1 Any physician, surgeon, dentist, podiatrist,
or other health care practitioner who diagnoses a child with
autism under age 18 who is not known to be previously
reported.  Other health care practitioners will include but not
be limited to: psychiatrists, clinical and school
psychologists, speech and language pathologists, licensed
clinical social workers, and nurses including school nurses;

3.5.2 The designated representative of any
clinical laboratory conducting assessment, evaluation or
research that performs any test which identifies a child or
children under age 18 with confirmed autism not known to
be previously reported; and

3.5.3 The designated representative of any

hospital that diagnoses a child or children under age 18 with
confirmed autism.

3.6 The administrative officer of every health care
facility shall be responsible for establishing reporting
procedures at that facility, using the identified Autism
Registry Reporting Form. Reporting procedures must ensure
that, on the effective date of these regulations, each child up
to the age of 18 diagnosed as having confirmed autism or
currently under care with a diagnosis of confirmed autism
must be reported to the Division.

3.7 Reporting sources shall complete the Division of
Public Health Autism Surveillance Form for each reported
case, and forward the completed form to the Division of
Public Health Director or designee within 30 days of the
diagnosis.

4.0 Follow-up Information from Reporting Sources
Any follow-up information, including family, physician,

hospital or clinical laboratory contact deemed necessary by
the Department, shall be submitted to the Department at least
1 time each year by those required to report occurrences of
autism. The required follow-up information for the Autism
Surveillance and Registry system will be sent to the same
address as the Autism Registry Report Form.

[5.0 Exemption Based on Religious Grounds
5.1 The provisions of these regulations shall not

apply to any person or private institution that, as an
exercise of religious freedom, treats the sick or suffering
by spiritual means through prayer alone.

5.2 A parent, custodian or guardian of an infant
having uatism may refuse disclosure to surveillance
system and registry of the infant’s name and identifying
information on the grounds that such autism identificatin
is contrary to the religious tents and practices of the
infant’s parent, custodian or guardian.]

[5.0  6.0]  Confidentiality of Reports
[5.1 6.1] No report of a diagnosis or treatment of

confirmed autism [received by the Division] shall be
disclosed in such a way as to identify the child who is the
subject of the report, or as to identify the child's family.
However, patient-identifying information may be exchanged
among authorized entities as approved by the Department
and upon receipt by the Department of satisfactory
assurances by those entities of the preservation of the
confidentiality of such information. Those entities will
maintain the confidentiality of any information exchanged
for the purpose of delivery of program services, evaluation,
early intervention and epidemiological investigation.

[5.2 6.2] No individual or organization providing
information pursuant to these regulations shall be held liable
for divulging such information to the Division.

[5.3 6.3] Inclusion on the registry does not
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determine the eligibility for services through any state
agency.

[6.0 7.0] Penalties
Any person or organization required to report the

diagnosis or treatment of confirmed autism pursuant to these
regulations, and who violates these regulations, shall be
subject to a fine of up to $100 for each violation, pursuant to
16 Del.C. Sec. 226. Justices of the Peace Courts have
jurisdiction over such violations.

[7.0 8.0] Severability
In the event any particular clause or section of the

regulations should be declared invalid or unconstitutional by
any court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining portions
shall remain in full force and effective.

APPENDIX A

DELAWARE AUTISM REGISTRY REPORTABLE 
DIAGNOSES

Broad Categories Specific Categories Codes

Autism spectrum    ICD-9
disorder (ASD)      Infantile autism              299.0

     Infantile autism, active state     299.00
     Infantile autism, residual state  299.01
     DSM-IV
     Autistic disorder      299
     Childhood disintegrative
    disorder      299.1
     Rett's Disorder      299.8
     Asperger's Disorder      299.8

     Pervasive developmental
    disorder NOS         299.8

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend
the policies of the Food Stamp Program in the Division of
Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates to joint
application processing. The Department’s proceedings to

amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29
Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the February 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by March 2, 2005 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Citations
• 7 CFR 273.2(j): PA, GA and Categorically

Eligible Households
• Federal Final Rules of Food Stamp Program:

Noncitizen Eligibility and Certification
Provisions of Public Law 104-193, as Amended
by Public Laws 104-208, 105-33, and 105-185.

The changes require DSS to notify TANF/GA/RCA
households:

• that time limits or other requirements that apply
to the receipt of TANF/GA/RCA benefits do not
apply to the receipt of food stamp benefits; and

• that households no longer receiving TANF/GA/
RCA may still be eligible for food stamp
benefits.

Additionally, the proposed changes:
• encourage applicants to continue to apply for

food stamp benefits even if the household
determines not to apply for TANF/GA/RCA; and

• inform households that receiving food stamps
will have no bearing on any other program’s time
limits that may apply to the household.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response

The Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council
(DDDC) and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities
(SCPD) provided the following comment:

We endorse the proposed regulation because DSS must
advise recipients losing eligibility under TANF, GA, or RCA
that may still be eligible for Food Stamps. Indeed, DSS must
encourage continued participation in the Food Stamp
program. However, the word “for” appears to have been
omitted in Section 9028.1, first sentence between the words
“applying” and “TANF”.

Agency Response: Thank you for your endorsement.
The word “for” was inadvertently omitted during
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publication. The Final Regulation shows the correct version,
as intended.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the February 2005 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Food Stamp Program as it relates to
joint application processing is adopted and shall be final
effective April 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 3/14/2005 

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-01
REVISIONS:

9028.1 Joint Application Processing

Notify households applying [for] TANF/GA/RCA of
their right to apply for food stamp benefits at the same time
and permit them to do so. DSS will notify such households
that time limits or other requirements that apply to the
receipt of TANF/GA/RCA benefits do not apply to the
receipt of food stamp benefits. DSS will also notify such
households, which cease receiving TANF/GA/RCA because
they have reached a time limit, have begun working, or were
closed for other reasons, that they may still be eligible for
food stamp benefits. DSS will encourage applicants to
continue to apply for food stamp benefits even if household
determines not to apply for TANF/GA/RCA due to the
requirements or disadvantages of that program. DSS will
inform households that receiving food stamps will have no
bearing on any other program’s time limits that may apply to
the household. These households’ food stamp eligibility and
benefit levels are to be based solely on food stamp eligibility
criteria. However, any household in which all members are
recipients of TANF/GA/RCA and/or SSI benefits are to be
considered eligible for food stamps because of the TANF/
GA/RCA/SSI status in accordance with DSSM 9042.2.

Recipients include individuals authorized to receive
TANF/GA/RCA and or SSI benefits but who have not yet
received payment. In addition, persons are considered
recipients if the TANF/GA/RCA or SSI benefits are
suspended or recouped.  Persons entitled to TANF/GA/RCA
benefits because the grant is less than $10 are also
considered TANF/GA/RCA recipients.

Households, whether jointly processed and/or eligible
because of their TANF/GA/RCA/SSI status, will be certified
in accordance with the notice, procedural and timeliness
requirements of the food stamp regulations.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2005-A-0019

I. Background

A public hearing was held on January 25, 2005 in the
Priscilla Building Conference Room, 156 South State Street,
Dover, Delaware, to receive comment on a proposed revision
to the State Implementation Plan (SIP) for the Attainment
and Maintenance of the National Air Quality Standards for
Ozone. The proposed revision will contain a new regulation,
Regulation No. 45: Excessive Idling of Heavy Duty Vehicles.
Delaware has been designated moderate non-attainment for
the eight hour ozone standard.  In order to curb air emissions
that adversely impact air quality in the State, the Department
is proposing to regulate the engine idling time for the
operation of most heavy-duty vehicles having a gross vehicle
weight rating of over 8,500 pounds, regardless of the state in
which the vehicle is registered.  This regulation will continue
the efforts by the State to reduce the emissions of NOx
(nitrogen oxides), and will also assist in the reduction of
particulate emissions and other tailpipe pollutants from
vehicles operated in Delaware.

A workshop was held regarding this proposed new
regulation on January 4, 2005, in order to help provide a
draft of the proposed regulation before the time of the public
hearing, and to provide an opportunity for the public to ask
questions on this proposal.  Written comments which
suggested changes to the proposed new regulation were
received by the Department during both the pre-hearing
phase and at the time of the hearing from two members of
the public.  After the hearing, the Department performed an
evaluation of the evidence entered into the record in this
matter. Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared her report
and recommendation in the form of a Report to the Secretary
dated March 10, 2005, and that Report is expressly
incorporated herein by reference. Proper notice of the
hearing was provided, as required by law.

II.  Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the
Hearing Officer’s Report dated March 10, 2005 are
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expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.  Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed
regulatory revision be promulgated in final form, in
accordance with the customary and established rule-making
procedure required by law and as recommended in the
Hearing Officer’s Report.

IV.  Reasons

Adopting the proposed SIP revision and addition
Regulation No. 45 – Excessive Idling of Heavy Duty Vehicles
- will be beneficial to the State of Delaware, in that the same
will enable the State of Delaware to improve and/or enhance
the overall performance of the Air Quality Management
Section of the Division of Air and Waste Management.
Furthermore, Regulation No. 45 will continue the efforts by
the State of Delaware to reduce the emissions of NOx and
assist in the reduction of particulate emissions and other
tailpipe pollutants from vehicles operated in Delaware.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

Regulation 45
Excessive Idling of Heavy Duty Vehicles

1.0 Applicability 
This regulation applies to all on-road heavy-duty motor

vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of
greater than 8,500 pounds operating in the State of
Delaware.

2.0 Definitions
The following definitions are applicable to this

regulation: 
“Emergency vehicle” means any publicly owned

and operated ambulance, lifeguard, or lifesaving equipment
or any privately owned or operated vehicle which is in
response to an emergency call. Any publicly owned vehicle
operated by the following persons, agencies, or
organizations: (a) any federal, state, or local agency,
department, or district employing peace officers for use by
those officers in the performance of their duties, and,; (b)
any forestry or fire department of any public agency or fire
department.  Any vehicle owned or operated for the purpose
of: (a) fighting fires, (b) towing or servicing other vehicles,
(c) caring for injured persons, or (d) repairing, maintaining
and restoring public utility services necessary for the health
and/or safety by any of the following: (1) the state, (2) a
bridge and highway district, (3) a municipality and (4) a
public or private utility Any state-owned vehicle used in

responding to emergency fire, rescue or communications
calls and operated either by the Delaware Emergency
Management Agency or by any public agency or industrial
fire department to which the Delaware Emergency
Management Agency has assigned the vehicle. Any vehicle
owned or operated by any department or agency of the
United States government when the vehicle is used in
responding to emergency fire, ambulance, or lifesaving calls
or is actively engaged in law enforcement work. Any
emergency vehicle which a permit has been issued by the
Superintendent of the Delaware State Police.

“On-road heavy-duty motor vehicle” means any
vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of
greater than 8,500 pounds which is self- propelled and
designed for transporting persons or property, including but
not limited to trucks, buses, and farm vehicles.

3.0 Severability
Each section of this regulation shall be deemed

severable. If any section of this regulation is held to be
invalid, the remainder shall continue in full force and effect.

4.0 Operational Requirements for Heavy Duty Motor
Vehicles.

The owner or operator of an on-road heavy duty motor
vehicle shall comply with the following operational
requirements unless specifically exempted from the
operational requirements for these motor vehicles:

No on-road heavy duty motor vehicle shall be allowed
to operate for more than three (3) consecutive minutes when
the vehicle is not in motion.

5.0 Exemptions 
5.1 any on-road heavy duty motor vehicle which is

forced to remain motionless because of traffic conditions or
mechanical difficulties over which the operator has no
control; or

5.2 any situation where it is necessary to bring the on-
road heavy duty vehicle to the manufacturer's recommended
operating temperature; or

5.3 any situation when the on-road heavy duty vehicle
is being repaired; or

5.4 any emergency vehicle defined in Section 2.0 of
this regulation; or

5.5 any vehicle using auxiliary power for equipment to
perform the intended operation of the vehicle, including, by
way of example, a  power take off generator for any utility
truck; or

5.6 any vehicle idling for the necessary power for a
heater, air conditioner, or any ancillary equipment during
sleeping or resting in a sleeper berth such that the vehicle’s
location is not within 25 miles of a parking facility with
available truckstop electrification equipment, either shore
power or an advance system [that is approved by the
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Department including meeting all compatibility
requirements with existing onboard truck shorepower
equipment]; or

5.7 any vehicle idling to verify that the vehicle is in
safe operating condition as required by law and that all
equipment is in good working order, either as part of a  daily
vehicle inspection or as otherwise needed, provided that
such engine  idling is mandatory for such verification; or

5.8 any transit or school  bus for  up to five (5) minutes
prior to passenger boarding; or

5.9 any transit or school  bus when passengers are
onboard; or

5.10 any vehicle when providing heat to the
occupant and when the temperature is between -23 and 0 C,
or -10 and 32 F, an engine shall not idle for more than 15
consecutive minutes; or when the temperature is below -23 C
or -10 F, and where no nuisance is created, an engine shall
not be subject to idling restrictions [, or

5.11 any military tactical vehicle engaged in
training operations.]

6.0 Enforcement and Penalty
This regulation is enforceable under Title 7 Chapter 60,

§§6005 and 6013 of the Delaware Code. Violators are
subject to a penalty of not less than fifty dollars ($50) and
not more than five-hundred dollars ($500) for each offence.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 6010 (7 Del.C. §6010)

Order No. 2005-F-0018

Summary of Evidence and Information

Pursuant to due notice 8, issue 8 DE REG page 1080,
(2/1/05), The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposes to amend Tidal Finfish
Regulation Nos. 3511 and 3507 pertaining to summer
flounder and black sea bass respectively. For summer
flounder eight options were proposed to restrain the
recreational harvest to conform to the harvest cap of 150,000
fish imposed on Delaware for the 2005 fishing season by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s (ASMFC)
regional fisheries management plan. The proposed
regulation for black sea bass would eliminate the current
season closure and permit the fishery to remain open
throughout the year.

The options presented for summer flounder and the
changes associated with the black sea bass regulation are
necessary for Delaware to remain in compliance with the

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission fishery
management plan provisions for these species and all of the
options presented have been pre-judged to be in compliance
with the mandatory provisions of these fishery management
plans.

A public hearing was held on the proposed amendments
to Regulations 3511 and 3507 on March 8, 2005.  Comments
were taken on the eight options for summer flounder and the
proposed elimination of a seasonal component for
management of black sea bass. Written testimony was
received and included into the record.

Findings of Fact

• There was no opposition to the proposed
elimination of the season for black sea bass.  The nine people
that attended the public hearing all supported this change in
the regulation.
 • Among the nine people who spoke on the record at
the public hearing seven supported summer flounder option
7 or status quo.  The justification for their support of option 7
focused on concerns that by adding additional fish to the
creel limit or reducing the minimum size requirement the
harvest cap could be exceeded thus requiring more stringent
management measurers in 2006. The majority of the
speakers were opposed to any closed season and they wanted
to try and avoid an overage in 2005 that may require a closed
season in 2006 as part of a more restrictive approach to
restrain the recreational harvest of summer flounder.

• Four written comments were received that
pertained to the options for summer flounder. One person
supported the status quo (option 7), while one person
favored option 3 with a 17 inch minimum size limit and two
people supported option 2 with a 16.5 inch minimum size.  

• Two people endorsed option 8 which included an
additional two fish bag limit.  These individuals commented
that most anglers only catch one fish per trip so consequently
these two additional fish will not cause an overage in the
harvest cap.  It would provide additional incentive for people
to go fishing if a larger bag limit were available. 

• Those individuals supporting option 7, status quo,
indicated that this basic approach has been successful during
the last four years in restraining Delaware’s recreational
summer flounder landings within the harvest cap.  As such,
they support a continuation of this program for the 2005
recreational fishery.

Conclusions

I have reached the following conclusions:
• Delaware and the surrounding states are required to

restrain the recreational harvest of summer flounder to a
harvest cap level that is calculated individually for each
state. This cap is predicated on state landings of
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recreationally caught summer flounder in 1998 and
consequently all states have different caps. The individual
state harvest cap is a compliance requirement in the ASMFC
summer flounder FMP.  In order to avoid any action by
ASMFC, which under a worse case scenario could result in a
Federal moratorium on fishing for summer flounder in
Delaware, it will be necessary to require management
measurers in 2005 that have in the past proven to restrain the
harvest.

• Information presented at the public hearing by the
Department indicates that in 2001 under a restrictive
management program of 17.5 inch minimum size and 4 fish
creel limit the estimated harvest was 143,000 fish. This
estimated harvest is just slightly below the 150,000 fish
harvest cap in place for 2005 and consequently suggests that
even these measures may not be restrictive enough to
restrain the fishery in 2005 if fish are available in substantial
numbers in Delaware waters and fishing effort increases.

• The overwhelming majority of people who attended
the public hearing and commented on the record supported
option 7 which is more restrictive than option 8 and
theoretically should prove more effective in restraining the
harvest.

• Delaware’s minimum size limit for summer
flounder should remain at 17.5 inches and the creel limit
should remain at 4 fish for the 2005 fishing season.

• The current regulation for black sea bass should be
amended to permit harvesting during the entire year.  This
change in regulations will insure that Delaware’s
management program is consistent with the majority of
coastal states from Massachusetts to North Carolina.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered this 14th day in March in the year
2005 that an amendment to Tidal Finfish Regulation No.
3507, copies of which are attached hereto, is adopted
pursuant to 7 Del.C. § 903(e)(2)(a) and is supported by the
Departments findings of evidence and testimony received.
This Order shall become effective on April 11, 2005.

John A. Hughes, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control

3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Landing Permits; 
Qualifying Criteria; Seasons; Quotas (Formerly Tidal 
Finfish Reg.  23)

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial person to have
in possession any black sea bass (Centropristis striata) that
measures less than eleven (11) inches, total length.

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational person to have
in possession any black sea bass that measures less than
twelve (12) inches total length.

6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)
6 DE Reg. 1360 (4/1/03)

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial fisherman to
land, to sell, trade and or barter any black sea bass in
Delaware unless authorized by a black sea bass landing
permit issued by the Department.  The black sea bass landing
permit shall be presumed to transfer with the vessel
whenever it is bought, sold, or otherwise transferred, unless
there is a written agreement, signed by the transferor/seller
and transferee/buyer, or other credible written evidence,
verifying that the transferor/seller is retaining the vessel’s
fishing and permit history for purposes of replacing the
vessel.

6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)

4.0 The black sea bass pot fishery and the black sea bass
commercial hook and line fishery shall be considered
separate black sea bass fisheries.  The total pounds allocated
to each fishery by the Department shall be as follows: 96
percent of the State’s commercial quota, as determined by
the ASMFC, for the pot fishery; 4 percent for the
commercial hook and line fishery.  

6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

5.0 The Department may only issue a black sea bass landing
permit for the pot fishery to a person who is the owner of a
vessel permitted by the National Marine Fisheries Service in
accordance with 50 CFR §§648.4 and who had applied for
and secured from the Department a commercial food fishing
license and has a reported landing history in either the
federal or state reporting systems of landing by pot at least
10,000 pounds of black sea bass during the period 1994
through 2001.  Those individuals that have landing history
only in the federal data base must have possessed a state
commercial food fishing license for at least one year during
the time from 1994 through 2001.

6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

6.0 The Department may only issue a black sea bass landing
permit for the commercial hook and line fishery to a person
who has applied for and secured from the Department a
commercial food fishing license and a fishing equipment
permit for hook and line and submitted landings reports in
either the federal or state landing report systems for black
sea bass harvested by hook and line during at least one year
between  1994 and 2001.

1 DE Reg.1767 (5/1/98)
2 DE Reg 1900 (4/1/99)
3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
4 DE Reg 1665 (4/1/01)
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4 DE Reg 1859 (5/1/01)
5 DE Reg 2142 (5/1/02)
6 DE Reg. 348 (9/1/02)
6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

7.0 Any overage of the State's commercial quota will be
subtracted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission from the next year's commercial quota.

Any overage of an individual’s allocation will be
subtracted from that individual's allocation the next year and
distributed to those individuals in the appropriate fishery that
did not exceed their quota.

6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

8.0 Each participant in a black sea bass fishery shall be
assigned a equal share of the total pounds of black sea bass
allotted by the Department for   that particular fishery.  A
share shall be determined by dividing the number of pre-
registered participants in one of the two recognized fisheries
into the total pounds of black sea bass allotted to the fishery
by the Department.  In order to pre-register an individual
must indicate their intent in writing to participate in this
fishery by 4:30 PM on a date no later than 15 days after this
regulation is signed by the Secretary of the Department.

6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

9.0 It shall be unlawful for a commercial food fisherman to
transfer quota allocation shares of black sea bass to another
commercial food fishermen.

6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

10.0 Each commercial food fishermen participating in a
black sea bass fishery shall report to the Department, via the
interactive voice phone reporting system operated by the
Department, each days landings in pounds at least one hour
after packing out their harvest.

6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

11.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to have in possession more than 25 black sea bass at or
between the place where said black sea bass were caught and
said recreational fisherman’s personal abode or temporary or
transient place of lodging.

6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

12.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to take and reduce to possession or to land black sea bass
during the periods beginning at 12:01 AM on September 8,
2004 and ending at midnight on September 21, 2004 and
beginning at 12:01 AM on December 1, 2004 and ending at
midnight on December 31, 2004.
[(Note:  Seasonal measures were eliminated by SASMFC
for the 2005 season)]

7 DE Reg. 1575 (5/1/04)

3511  Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits;  
(Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 4)

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to
have in possession more than four (4) [four (4)] summer
flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder
were caught and said recreational fisherman's personal abode
or temporary or transient place of lodging.
[(Note: creel limit to be determined in combination with
seasonal closure and size limit.)]

6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, other than qualified
persons as set forth in section 4.0 of this regulation, to
possess any summer flounder that measure less than
seventeen and one-half (17.5) [seventeen and one-half
(17.5)] inches between the tip of the snout and the furthest
tip of the tail.
[(Note: size limit to be determined in combination with
seasonal closure and creel limit.)]

6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1575 (5/1/04)

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any person while on board a
vessel, to have in possession any part of a summer flounder
that measures less than seventeen and one-half (17.5)
[seventeen and one-half (17.5)] inches between said part's
two most distant points unless said person also has in
possession the head, backbone and tail intact from which
said part was removed.
[(Note: size limit to be determined in combination with
seasonal closure and creel limit.)]

6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)

4.0 Notwithstanding the size limits and possession limits in
this regulation, a person may possess a summer flounder that
measures no less than fourteen (14) inches between the tip of
the snout and the furthest tip of the tail and a quantity of
summer flounder in excess of the possession limit set forth in
this regulation, provided said person has one of the
following:

4.1 A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the date
said summer flounder  were received, the amount of said
summer flounder received and the name, address and
signature of the person who had landed said summer
flounder;

4.2 A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish
dealer who obtained said summer flounder; or

4.3 A bill of lading while transporting fresh or
frozen summer flounder.
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4.4 A valid commercial food fishing license and a
food fishing equipment permit for gill nets.

6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)
5.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial finfisherman to
sell, trade and or barter  or attempt to sell, trade and or barter
any summer flounder or part thereof that is landed in this
State by said commercial fisherman after a date when the de
minimis amount of commercial landings of summer flounder
is determined to have been landed in this State by the
Department.  The de minimis amount of summer flounder
shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota as set forth
in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan approved
by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. 

6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)

6.0 It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than 200
pounds of summer flounder in any one day in this State.

6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)

7.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been issued
a commercial food fishing license and fishes for summer
flounder with any food fishing equipment other than a gill
net, to have in possession more than four (4) summer
flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder
were caught and said person's personal abode or temporary
or transient place of lodging.
[(Note: Creel limit to be determined in combination with
seasonal closure and size limit.)]

1 DE Reg 1767 (5/1/98)
2 DE Reg 1900 (4/1/99)
3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
4 DE Reg 1552 (3/1/01)
5 DE Reg   462 (8/1/01)
5 DE Reg. 2142 (5/1/02)
6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1575 (5/1/04)

[Note:  Proposed options for seasonal closures
associated with creel limits and minimum size limits to
restrict the recreational summer flounder harvest in
Delaware in 2004 2005.

Opening Final Number of     Bag Minimum
Option Day Day Open Days Limit Size
1 01-Jan 08-Sep 220 7 16”
2 01-Jan 14-Aug 226 5 16.5”
3 01-Jan 6-Sep 249 5 17”
4 25-May 10-Aug 78 7 16”
5 25-May 18-Aug 86 5 16.5”
6 01-Jan 31-Dec 365       4 17.5”
8 01-Jan 31-Dec 365       6 17.5”]

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 6010  (7 Del.C. §6010)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2005-W-0020

I.  Background

On September 13, 2004, a public hearing was held in
Downes Lecture Hall, Terry Campus, at the Delaware
Technical & Community College in Dover to receive
comment on the Department’s proposed 2005 revisions to
the Delaware Regulations Governing the Design,
Installation, and Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment
and Disposal Systems. These regulations were initially
adopted in 1985, when the Department changed its approach
from a “perk test” (hydraulic approach) to a soils-based
approach for siting on-site wastewater systems. The
Department chose this approach in order to protect the State
of Delaware’s groundwater, which is used for the State’s
supply of drinking water. These regulations were formally
revised by the Department in 2002, after holding a series of
workshops and a public hearing back on October 29, 2001. 
During the process of promulgating the 2002 revisions to
these regulations, the Ground Water Discharges Section
realized that they did not have the authority to implement
some of the proposed changes, specifically, the creation of a
Class “H” System Inspector. The regulation amendment
process was reopened with a Start Action Notice issued in
October 2003, subsequent to the passing of new legislation
which allowed the licensing of the Class “H” System
Inspector.

Over the past year, the Department scheduled and
conducted four public workshops to help educate the public
with regard to the proposed changes to these regulations,
with the final workshop having been held on June 21, 2004.
In addition to these public workshops, the Department also
conducted several community meetings to further enlighten
the public as to the Department’s approach to these proposed
revisions to Delaware’s regulations governing such on-site
wastewater treatment and disposal systems. As a result of the
comments received from the public at these various public
forums, the Ground Water Discharges Section of the
Division of Water Resources proposed modifications to the
previously noticed changes, and the initial public hearing
concerning the proposed revisions to these regulations was
held, as noted above, on September 13, 2004. 

Subsequent to the conclusion of the initial public
hearing in September of 2004, the Department reviewed all
of the comments and concerns voiced by the public with
regard to these proposed regulation revisions, and
determined that the matter should go to a second public
hearing to specifically address the proposed requirement for
the use of a community-large on-site wastewater treatment
and disposal system. Thus, these proposed revisions were the
subject of a second public hearing, which took place at the
DNREC R & R Building in Dover on January 10, 2005.
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Following the second public hearing, the Ground Water
Discharges Section of the Division of Water Resources met
once again to review and consider the comments arising
from this supplemental hearing. These considerations, along
with the Department’s conclusions regarding same, are
contained within the Division of Water Resources’ Final
Response Document Memorandum submitted to the Hearing
Officer on March 14, 2005.  This Response Document was
incorporated into the Hearing Officer’s report for the sake of
brevity, and to aid the Secretary in his review of this
regulatory promulgation. Proper notice of both the initial
public hearing of September 13, 2004, and the supplemental
public hearing of January 10, 2005, were provided as
required by law.

II.  Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the
Hearing Officer’s Report dated March 14, 2005 are
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.  Order

In view of the above findings, it is hereby ordered that
the proposed 2005 revisions to the Delaware Regulations
Governing the Design, Installation, and Operation of On-
Site Wastewater Disposal Systems, as revised through the
public comment process and Departmental review, be
promulgated in final form in the customary manner and
established rule-making procedure required by law and as
recommended in the Hearing Officer’s Report.

IV. Reasons

This rulemaking represents careful, deliberate and
reasoned action by this agency to address the serious
problem which affects Delaware’s on-site wastewater
treatment and disposal systems. In developing these revised
regulations, the Department remains committed to
enhancing and improving its ability to require on-site
systems that are capable of adequately treating and disposing
of wastewater that meets or exceeds pollutant load reduction
targets established in existing TMDLs in order to address
statewide water quality impairments. Furthermore, these
revised regulations will help DNREC to achieve
administrative consistency with other State agencies such as
the Public Service Commission, the Division of Public
Health, and the State Fire Marshall’s Office, and to comply,
where possible, with Executive Order #59. Finally, the
promulgation of these revised Regulations demonstrates a
balance of the absolute environmental need for the State of
Delaware to revise its present regulations concerning this
matter with the important interests and wide array of public

concerns surrounding the design, installation, and operation
of these on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems,
in furtherance of the policy and purposes of 7 Del.C., Ch. 60.

       John A. Hughes, Secretary
Date of Issuance:   March 16, 2005
Effective Date of the Amendment:April 11, 2005

* PLEASE NOTE:  DUE TO THE LENGTH OF THE
REGULATION IT IS NOT BEING PUBLISHED IN THE PRINTED
VERSION OF THE REGISTER.  FOR A COPY OF THE
REGULATION PLEASE CONTACT THE REGISTRAR’S
OFFICE.

PDF Version (Adobe Acrobat Required)
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       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE

Board of The First State Preservation Ms. Leslie Davis Pleasure of the
Revolving Fund Governor

Board of Pharmacy Mr. Donald E. Holst 7/1/2008

Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Mr. Russel D. Buskirk 2/14/2008
Health and Chemical Dependency Mr. Michael T. Kriner 2/11/2008
Professionals

Department of Finance, Secretary The Honorable Richard S. Cordrey Pleasure of the
Governor

Kent County, Justice of the Peace The Honorable Frederick W. Dewey, Jr.2/18/2011

New Castle County, Justice of the Peace The Honorable Stanley J. Petraschuk 2/18/2011

Superior Court, Kent County, Associate Judge Mr. Robert B. Young 2/17/2017

Sussex County, Justice of the Peace The Honorable John R. Hudson 2/12/2011
The Honorable Marcealeate S. Ruffin 2/8/2011

Wilmington Area Planning Council Ms. Lee Ann Walling Pleasure of the
(WILMAPCO) Governor
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

DSS NOTICE OF INTENT #05-18

Pharmaceutical Services:
Prior Authorization, Preferred Drug List and 

Supplemental Drug Rebates

The purpose of this action is to implement a preferred
drug list and prior authorization for pharmacy services.  The
agency’s intent is to submit an amendment to the Title XIX
Medicaid State Plan to the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) to implement:

• a prior authorization process with a preferred drug
list (PDL) for certain designated drugs in selected
therapeutic classes covered under the prescription
drug program; 

• revisions to prescription quantity and duration
provisions; and,

• supplemental drug rebates.

Statutory Basis:

• Social Security Act, Title 19, Section §1927
• 42 United States Code s1396r-8

Amending the Following State Plan Pages:  

Attachment 3.1-A, Page 5 Addendum, Limitations

Summary of Provisions:

To ensure that the state delivers a medical assistance
prescription drug program, which is both cost effective and
prudently administered, the following describes the
proposed coverage changes for prescribed drugs and/or
supplies, effective April 1, 2005 for Prior Authorization with
Preferred Drug List and Supplemental Rebates:

1. Prior Authorization with a Preferred Drug List
a. A prior authorization process is established which

utilizes a preferred drug list (PDL) for selected therapeutic
classes. Drugs included on the preferred drug list (PDL) are
automatically prior authorized.  Drugs in those classes that
are not included on the PDL shall require prescribers to
obtain prior authorization.

b. Providers will be notified of the drugs selected for
placement on the PDL by selected therapeutic classes prior
to implementation of the prior authorization process and as

additional drugs are subsequently added to the list. This
information will be posted on the DMAP website.

c. The prior authorization process provides for a turn-
around response within 24 hours of receipt of a completed
prior authorization request from a prescribing provider by
telephone, mail or electronic communication. In emergency
situations, providers may dispense at least a 72-hour supply
of medication as mandated and pursuant to 42 United States
Code s1396r-8.

d. The Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board will
make recommendations to the Department regarding drugs
to be considered for prior authorization.  

2. Prescription Quantity and Duration
a. Other drug product restrictions may include dosage

and quantity limits, refill limits, and other parameters
necessary to ensure appropriate utilization or to prevent
fraud and abuse.

b. Prescriptions are limited to a quantity not to exceed
the greater of 100 dosing units or a 34-day supply.

3. Supplemental Drug Rebates
a. The state intends to enter into agreements with

pharmaceutical manufacturers to collect supplemental
rebates for the benefit of the state's Medicaid clients
providing such agreements are authorized by CMS.

b. Division of Social Services (DSS) will contract
with an independent organization to negotiate supplemental
rebate agreements with manufacturers.

By implementing these processes, the Department will
ensure that all eligible Medicaid beneficiaries have the same
comprehensive pharmacy coverage available to them, while
reducing the cost of pharmaceutical products to the state.
Physicians and patients will continue to have access to the
same FDA-approved drugs as they have had in the past.
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
Caseload Reduction Credit Report 

SUMMARY OF PROVISIONS

Section 407(b)(3) of the Social Security Act (the ACT)
requires a reduction of the State's required participation rate
for a fiscal year by the number of percentage points that the
average monthly number of families receiving assistance in
the State in the immediately preceding fiscal year is less than
the average monthly number of families that received
assistance in the State in fiscal year (FY) 1995. 

The statute prohibits this reduction from including any
caseload declines due to requirements of Federal law or due
to differences in State eligibility criteria. This reduction in
the participation rate is termed the TANF Caseload
Reduction Credit. 

To receive a caseload reduction credit, a State must
complete Form ACF-202, the Caseload Reduction Report, in

accordance with the regulations at 45 CFR 261.40 et seq.
The FY 2004 report provides the information needed to
calculate a caseload reduction credit (FY 2005 vs. FY 1995),
and thus determine the participation standard the State must
meet for the fiscal year. Form ACF-202 and Attachment 1 to
Form ACF-202 are available upon request via mail or fax.

ACF-202 TANF Caseload Reduction Credit Report
Part I - Implementation of All Eligibility Changes Made

by the State Since FY 1995
Part II - Application Denials and Case Closures, By

Reason
Part III - Description of the Methodology Used to

Calculate the Caseload Reduction Estimates (Attachment 1
to Form ACF-202)

Part IV- Certification

Delaware TANF Caseload Reduction Credit Report for
FY 2005

State _Delaware____________ Fiscal Year 2005 
PART I – Implementation of All Eligibility Changes Made by the State Since FY 1995

# Eligibility Change Implementation Date Estimated Impact on 
Caseload Since Change 

(positive or negative 
impact)

Changes Required by Federal Law
1 Parents/caretakers must work after 24 months of

assistance
 March 1997   0

2 Teen parents must live in adult-supervised settings Prior  to FY 1995   0
3 Deny assistance for 10 years for fraudulently

misrepresenting residence to obtain assistance in more
than one State

 March 1997   0

4 Deny assistance for fugitive felons, probation violators,
or parole violators

 March 1997   0

5 Deny assistance for certain individuals convicted of
drug-related felonies

 March 1997   0

6 Deny assistance to non-qualified aliens  March 1997 -123
State-Implemented Changes 
Changes Related to Income and Resources
1 Fill-the-gap budgeting for earnings  October 1995  +830
2 Increased resource limit  October 1995  +283

Changes Related to Categorical or Demographic Eligibility
Factors

None.

Changes Related to Behavioral Requirements
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3 Contract of Mutual Responsibility sanctions  October 1995   -684
4 Sanctions for noncompliance with employment and

training requirements
 October 1995   -822

Changes Due to Full-Family Sanctions

Other Eligibility Changes 
5 Work for your welfare requirement October 1995  -1,532
6 Time limit October 1995   -76

Estimated Total Net Impact on the Caseload of All Eligibility
Changes

  -2,124

Total Prior Year Caseload  5,735
Estimated Caseload Reduction Credit   32.4 percent (includes adjustment for

excess MOE)

State ___Delaware___________                                                                                Fiscal Year _2005______
PART II – Application Denials and Case Closures, By Reason

Fiscal Year 19951 Fiscal Year  2004

Reason for Application Denials Number Percentage Number Percentage
Failure to comply with procedural
requirements

18 31.6 2,441 26.8

Income exceeds standards 15 26.3 3,818 41.9
Application withdrawn 14 24.6 0 0.0
No eligible child 0 0 1,677   18.4
Resources exceed limits 6 10.5 323 3.6
Not deprived of support or care 1 1.8 0 0.0
Ineligible alien 1 1.8 141 1.5
Other 2 3.5 704 7.7
1 Delaware’s FY 1995 denial  and 

closure numbers are based on the 

State’s quality control sample
Total Application Denials 57 100.1 9,104 100.0

Reasons for Case Closures Number Percentage Number Percentage
Failure to comply with procedural
requirements

60 46.5 1,475 15.9

Earnings exceed standard of need 29 22.5 1,304 14.0
Voluntary withdrawal/recipient initiative 16 12.4 2,501 26.9
No longer eligible child 10 7.8 3,115 33.6
Moved or cannot locate 8 6.2 798 8.6
No longer deprived of support or care 3 2.3 0 0.0
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State Delaware     Fiscal Year 2005

PART IV -- Certification

I certify that we have provided the public an appropriate
opportunity to comment on the estimates and methodology
used to complete this report and considered those comments
in completing it.  Further, I certify that this report
incorporates all reductions in the caseload resulting from
State eligibility changes and changes in Federal
requirements since Fiscal Year 1995.  (A summary of public
comments is attached.)

___________________________________________
(signature)

________________________________________
(name)

________________________________________
(title)

Attachment 1 to Form ACF-202

Part III—Description of the Methodology Used to
Calculate the Caseload Reduction Estimates 

A. Actual Caseload Reduction and Adjustment for
Excess MOE Funds

• Taking into account the pro rata reduction in the
FY2004 caseload due to excess MOE spending,
Delaware’s average monthly TANF caseload
declined by 52.1 percent between FY1995 and
FY2003.  This caseload reduction number includes
child-only cases, as instructed in ACF guidance.

• The following table shows how the pro rata
reduction for excess MOE was calculated.
• Because Delaware served its two-parent

caseload under a separate state program in
FY2004, and because the State met its all-
family work participation rate requirement in
FY2004, the relevant spending floor is 75
percent of the basic MOE amount.

• The pro rata reduction takes into account the
use of federal TANF funds.  The pro rata
reduction is calculated as the State excess
MOE divided by the average cost per case,
where cost is the sum of State and federal
TANF funds.

• The end result is a pro rata reduction of 607
cases.  This number is subtracted above from
the actual FY2004 monthly average caseload to
yield the adjusted FY2004 caseload of 5,613.

Support increased from person inside or
outside home

0 0 7 0.1

Resources exceed limits 0 0 69 0.7
Other cash income 2 1.6 0 0.0
Failure to comply with JOBS program
requirements

0 0 0 0.0

Other 1 0.8 15 0.2

Total Case Closures 129 100.1 9,284 100.0

State ___Delaware___________                                                                                                               Fiscal Year _2005______
Part III – Description of the Methodology Used to Calculate the Caseload Reduction Estimates
(attach supporting data to this form)
   See attachment.

Delaware AFDC/TANF Caseload for FY95 and
FY04
FY 1995 monthly average caseload 10,775
FY 2004 monthly average caseload, actual
(= 5,643 TANF + 126 SSP families)

5,769

FY 2004 monthly average caseload,
adjusted for excess MOE spending

5,162

Caseload decline, FY1995 to FY2004 (not
including the effect of eligibility changes)

5,613

Sources:FY1995 and FY2004 TANF caseloads from
ACF/OPRE; SSP caseload from DE DSS

Pro Rata Reduction for Excess MOE

(a) DE FY1994 spending $29,028,092

(b) MOE (75% of (a)) $21,771,069
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B. Changes Required by Federal Law
1. Parents/caretakers must work after 24 months

of assistance or when job-ready
• The estimated impact of this federal policy on

Delaware’s caseload is 0, because the State’s
“work for your welfare” requirement
effectively supplants the federal policy. The
caseload impact of the State policy is described
below in Section C.5.

2. Teen parents must live in adult-supervised
settings to receive assistance

• The estimated impact of this federal policy
since FY1995 is 0, because the policy has been
codified in the State manual for many years
prior to FY1995.

3. A State must deny assistance for 10 years to a
person found to have fraudulently misrepresented
residence in order to obtain assistance in more than one
State

• For fraudulently misrepresenting residence,
Delaware removes the adult’s needs from the
grant, but allows children to receive assistance.
Although the policy denies individuals rather
than cases, it is possible that a case could be
denied if removing an adult’s needs reduces the
payment standard for a case so that it is no
longer greater than countable income.
Delaware’s automated TANF eligibility system
is currently unable to identify such instances, if
any exist.

4. A State must deny assistance for fugitive felons,
probation violators, or parole violators

• For fugitive felons, probation violators, and
parole violators, Delaware removes the adult’s
needs from the grant, but allows children to
receive assistance. Although the policy denies
individuals rather than cases, it is possible that
a case could be denied if removing an adult’s
needs reduces the payment standard for a case

so that it is no longer greater than countable
income.  Delaware’s automated TANF
eligibility system is currently unable to identify
such instances, if any exist.

5. A State must deny assistance for certain
individuals convicted of drug-related felonies

• For persons convicted of drug-related felonies,
Delaware removes the person’s needs from the
grant, but allows children to receive assistance.
Although the policy denies individuals rather
than cases, it is possible that a case could be
denied if removing an adult’s needs reduces the
payment standard for a case so that it is no
longer greater than countable income.
Delaware’s automated TANF eligibility system
is currently unable to identify such instances, if
any exist.

6. Non-qualified aliens are ineligible for Federal
TANF assistance

• The total number of cases denied as non-
qualified aliens since the federal policy took
effect is 153.  This includes denials in FY1998,
FY1999, FY2000, FY2001 FY2002, FY2003,
and FY2004.

• The count of denied non-qualified aliens was
adjusted to account for the fact that some of
these cases would have left TANF for other
reasons (e.g., due to employment or marriage)
before or during FY2004 if they had not been
denied as non-qualified aliens. See Section D
for a description of this adjustment.

C. State-Implemented Changes
1. Fill-the-Gap Budgeting for Earnings

• The average monthly number of cases in
FY2004 that were subject to fill-the-gap
budgeting for earnings is 830.  This number is
based on a monthly query to the Delaware
Client Information System (DCIS) on all open
cases with earnings.  Cases were counted as
subject to fill-the-gap budgeting for earnings in
a month only if earnings minus applicable
disregards were above the payment standard
for the relevant family size.

2. Increased Resource Limit
• The average monthly number of cases open in

FY2004 because of the increased resource
limits is 283.  This number is based on a count
of the number of cases open in a month whose
assets (cash plus vehicle) were above the
previous limits and below the current limit.

• Some cases were subject to both the increased
resource limit and fill-the-gap budgeting for
earnings.  To avoid such double-counting, the

(c) DE FY2004 MOE
spending

$27,210,684

(d) Federal TANF block grant
funds spent in FY2004

$24,477,872

(e) Total TANF spending for
FY2004

$51,688,556 = (c) + (d)

(f) Average spending per case $8,959
= (e) / FY2004
caseload
= (e)/ (5,643 TANF
+ 126 SSP)

(g) Excess MOE for FY2004 $5,439,615 = (c) - (b)

(h) Cases funded by excess
MOE

607 = (g) / (f)
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number of cases open because of the increased
resource limit (283) excludes cases that were
also open due to fill-the-gap budgeting.

3. Sanctions for Noncompliance with Contract of
Mutual Responsibility (CMR) Provisions

• The average monthly number of cases closed in
FY2004 because of CMR sanctions is 788.
This number is based on monthly cumulative
counts of cases closed due to CMR sanctions
for FY 1996 through September 2004.

• The CMR sanction is a graduated fiscal
sanction.  Sanctions for noncompliance are
initially $50 and increase by $50 every month
until there is compliance, or until the sanction
amount exceeds the grant amount.  Cases are
counted as closed due to CMR sanctions only
when the sanction amount exceeds the grant
amount.

• The CMR count was adjusted to account for
the fact that some of these cases would have
left TANF for other reasons (e.g., due to
employment or marriage) before or during
FY2004 if they had not been closed due to
CMR sanctions.  See Section D for a
description of this adjustment.

4. Sanctions for Noncompliance with Employment
and Training Requirements

• The average monthly number of cases closed in
FY2004 because of noncompliance with
employment and training (E&T) requirements
is 822.

• The sanction for noncompliance with E&T
requirements is a 1/3 reduction of the grant
amount for the first occurrence, a 2/3 reduction
for the second occurrence, and permanent case
closure for the third occurrence.  Cases are
counted as closed due to E&T sanctions only
for the third occurrence.

• Because the E&T level 3 sanction is
permanent, the number of cases closed due to
E&T sanctions as of the beginning of FY2003
is a cumulative count of all cases closed prior
to FY2003.  To this number we add the average
monthly number of cases closed due to E&T
sanctions during FY2004.

• The E&T sanction count was adjusted to
account for the fact that some of these cases
would have left TANF for other reasons (e.g.,
due to employment or marriage) before or
during FY2004 if they had not been closed due
to E&T sanctions. See Section D for a
description of this adjustment.

5. Work for Your Welfare Requirement
• The average monthly number of cases closed in

FY2004 because of noncompliance with the
“Work for Your Welfare” work requirement is
1,532.

• The workfare count was adjusted to account for
the fact that some of these cases would have
left TANF for other reasons (e.g., due to
employment or marriage) before or during
FY2004 if they had not been closed due to
noncompliance with the workfare requirement.
See Section D for a description of this
adjustment.

6. Time Limit
• Prior to January 2000, Delaware limited receipt

of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
(TANF) - for families in the Time Limited
Program - to 48 cumulative months, subject to
compliance with Contract of Mutual
Responsibility and Work for Your Welfare
requirements.

• Effective January 1, 2000 the time limit for
receipt of TANF cash benefits is 36 cumulative
months.  Individuals found eligible for TANF
prior to January 1, 2000 will still have a 48
month time limit even if they reapply for
benefits after January 1, 2000.

• Fifty-four (54) cases reached the four-year time
limit during FY2004.  Eight (8) cases had
reached the newer three-year time limit by the
end of FY2004.

D. Impacts of Eligibility Changes:  Adjusting for Cases
that Would Have Left TANF for Other Reasons

• As noted in ACF’s guidance for submitting
caseload reduction credit information, “a State may
adjust its estimate of the impact of a change over
time to account for likely caseload decline that
would have occurred due to other factors, such as
earnings, not associated with any eligibility
change.” A given cohort of TANF cases will leave
TANF over time, even absent sanctions and time
limits.  Most research shows a monotonic decline
over time in the rate of TANF receipt for a given
cohort, even when recidivism is accounted for.

• We estimated the rate at which cases would have
left over time in the absence of eligibility changes
using TANF receipt rates for the control group from
the random assignment evaluation of the State’s
ABC program.  The control group is close to an
ideal counterfactual because control group
members were not subject to the eligibility changes.
In addition, the control group receipt rates are
measured taking into account recidivism.

• More specifically, we used TANF receipt rates for
control group cases that were ongoing at the point
of random assignment, because cases that are
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sanctioned off or reach the time limit are ongoing
cases at the time they are sanctioned or reach the
time limit.  Using TANF receipt rates for ongoing
control group cases is more conservative than using
TANF receipt rates for all control group cases,
because exit rates are lower for ongoing cases.

• The TANF receipt rates for ongoing control group
cases show that:
• On average over the first year since random

assignment, 5.1 percent of cases left TANF;
• On average over the two years since random

assignment, 7.1 percent of cases left TANF;
• On average over the three years since random

assignment, 15.4 percent of cases left TANF;
• On average over the four years since random

assignment, 43.3 percent of cases left TANF;
• On average over the five years since random

assignment, 63.3 percent of cases left TANF;
• On average over the six years since random

assignment, 79.0 percent of cases left TANF;
and

• On average over the seven years since random
assignment, 88.7 percent of cases left TANF.

• These net exit rates were applied to the counts of
cases that closed due to eligibility changes to get
the adjusted number of cases closed due to
eligibility changes.  For example, the average
monthly number of cases closed due to CMR
sanctions in FY1998 was 489.  Using the control
group net exit rates, we assume that 63.3 percent of
these cases would have left for other reasons by the
end of FY2004, so the adjusted number of cases
closed due to CMR sanctions in FY1998 was 179,
which is 489*(1 - .633).  A similar adjustment was
made to cases closed due to sanctions during other
years.

• This approach has two limitations. First, on
average, ongoing control group cases became
subject to welfare reform policies during follow-up
quarter 6 or 7.  Even so, few or no control group
cases would have reached the “work for your
welfare” two-year time limit before another eight
quarters, meaning follow-up quarters 14 or 15.  The
second limitation is that, at this point follow-up
data are available only through quarter 10.
Consequently, net exit rates were extrapolated for
quarters 11 through 20, because the adjustment
requires exit rates for five full years.
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN OPTOMETRY

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Board of Examiners in Optometry is
proposing an amendment to Rule 3.4 of its rules and
regulations pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2104(a)(1) and 29 Del.C.
§10115. The Board proposes to amend Rule 3.4 to strike the
limitation on the number of interns or externs permitted in a
practice at any period of time. 

A public hearing will be held on May 12, 2005 at 6:45
p.m. in the second floor conference room B of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed amendment to the
rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware
Board of Optometry, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at
the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
amendment to its regulations at its regularly scheduled
meeting following the public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PHARMACY
Notice of Public Hearing

The Delaware Board of Pharmacy in accordance with
24 Del.C. §2509 has proposed changes to its rules and
regulations. The proposal makes clerical and clarification
changes to Regulations 1.0, 3.0, 5.0, 9.0, and 10.0.
Regulation 1.2 is modified to recognize the role of
preceptors from Pharmacy Colleges when students are
participating in coordinated practical experience programs in
Delaware pharmacies. Regulation 1.6 regarding to re-entry is
deleted. Regulation 5.0 is changed to permit students of
Pharmacy College to dispense and provide counseling.  The
provisions for emergency use medication in Regulation 9.0
are changed to correspond to the provisions in 11.0.  The
reference material in Regulation 10.0 is modified.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed changes
on  May  11, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. in the Jesse Cooper
Building, Room 309 (third floor conference room), Federal
and Water Streets, Dover, DE 19901.  The Board will receive
and consider input from any person on the proposed
changes.  Written comment can be submitted at any time

prior to the hearing in care of David Dryden, Executive
Secretary, at the above address.   In addition to publication in
the Register of Regulations, copies of the proposed
regulation can be obtained from David Dryden, Executive
Secretary, by calling (302)739-4798.   Notice of the hearing
and the nature of the proposal are also published in two
Delaware newspapers of general circulation.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF GEOLOGY
Notice of Public Hearing

The Delaware Board of Geologists in accordance with
24 Del.C. §3606 has proposed changes to Rule 7.0 of its
rules and regulations to clarify that the ASBOG
Fundamentals Of Geology (FG) exam may be taken at any
time after the applicant meets the educational requirements
set forth in the statute.  This rule clarifies that the ASBOG
Fundamentals Of Geology (FG) exam and ASBOG Practice
of Geology (PG) may be taken at separate times allowing the
Fundamentals exam to be taken immediately after
graduation if an applicant so desires.  

A public hearing will be held on May 6, 2005 at 10:15
a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Geologists, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite
203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to submit written
comments may forward these to the Board at the above
address.  The final date to receive written comments will be
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICES

Notice Of Rescheduled Public Hearing

The Delaware Board of Funeral Services in accordance
with 24 Del.C. §3105(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules
and regulations relating to continuing education. The
proposal authorizes the automatic approval of courses
offered by the Academy of Funeral Services Practitioners
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(AFSP) or state boards that license funeral directors.
A public hearing will be held at  10:30 a.m. on May 25,

2005, in the second floor Conference Room B of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rule may obtain a
copy from the Delaware Board of Funeral Services, 861
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE
19904.  Persons wishing to submit written comments may
forward these to the Board at the above address.  The final
date to receive written comments will be at the public
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed rule
at its regularly scheduled meeting following the public
hearing.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Notice of Public Hearing

The Delaware General Assembly has enacted legislation
granting the Delaware Public Service Commission (“the
Commission”) jurisdiction over Wastewater Utilities serving
fifty or more customers in the aggregate. The law is found at
74 Delaware Laws, Chapter 317.  

In connection with the exercise of jurisdiction over
Wastewater Utilities, the Commission is promulgating
proposed new regulations governing the Minimum
Standards For Service Provided by Wastewater Utilities
subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission. The first
regulation sets forth: (a) the Commission’s authority to
promulgate the regulations; (b) the applicability of the
regulations; and (c) the definitions used in the regulations.
The second regulation addresses: (a) the records and reports
to be maintained by wastewater utilities; (b) information to
be filed with the Commission; (c) the complaint records that
are to be maintained; and (d) customer billing. The third
regulation governs engineering subjects, including: (a) the
authorization needed for operation or construction of a
wastewater system; (b) wastewater plant operation; and (c)
wastewater plant inspection. The fourth regulation deals
with wastewater system safety programs. The fifth
regulation governs customer relations, including: (a)
applications for service; and (b) billing statement
adjustment. The sixth regulation governs front-end capital
contributions.

Copies of the proposed Regulations are available for
public inspection at the Commission’s address set out below
during normal business hours. The Commission has
authority to promulgate the regulations pursuant to 26 Del.C.
§209(a) and 29 Del.C. §10111 et seq.

The Commission hereby solicits written comments,
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written
materials concerning the proposed regulations. Ten (10)
copies of such materials shall be filed with the Commission
at its office located at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware, 19904. All such
materials shall be filed with the Commission on or before
May 5, 2005. Persons who wish to participate in the
proceedings but who do not wish to file written materials are
asked to send a letter informing the Commission of their
intention to participate on or before April 5, 2005.

The regulations and the materials submitted in
connection therewith will be available for public inspection
and copying at the Commission's Dover office during normal
business hours.  The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.  The
regulations may also be reviewed, by appointment, at the
office of the Division of the Public Advocate located at the
Carvel State Office Building, 4th Floor, 820 North French
Street, Wilmington, Delaware 19801 and will also be
available for review on the Commission's website:
www.state.de.us/delpsc. 

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to
participate in these proceedings should contact the
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed
to facilitate such review or participation. Such contact may
be in person, by writing, by telephone, or otherwise.  The
Commission's toll-free telephone number (in Delaware) is
(800) 282-8574. Any person with questions may also contact
the Commission Staff at (302) 739-4247 or by Text
Telephone at (302) 739-4333.  Inquiries can also be sent by
Internet e-mail to karen.nickerson@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
DELAWARE STANDARDBRED BREEDERS’ FUND

Notice of Public Hearing

The State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture’s
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund (herein “the Fund”)  hereby
gives notice of its intention to adopt amended regulations
pursuant to the General Assembly’s delegation of authority
to adopt such measures found at 29 Del.C. §4815(b)(3)b.2.D
and in compliance with Delaware’s Administrative
Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10115. The proposed amended
regulations constitute a clarification of two existing
regulations. The first is an amendment which will allow a
wider participation by stallions seeking to register with the
Fund’s Program. The second is a clarification of the term
“Satisfactory Performance Line” that was at issue in a recent
Delaware lawsuit.

The Fund solicits, and will consider, timely filed written
comments from interested individuals and groups
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concerning these proposed amended regulations. The
deadline for the filing of such written comments will be
thirty days (30) after these proposed amended regulations are
promulgated in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Any such submissions should be mailed or delivered to
Ms. Judy Davis-Wilson, Administrator, Delaware
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund whose address is State of
Delaware, Department of Agriculture, 2320 South duPont
Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901 by May 1, 2005.

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
Notice of Public Hearing

The Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission,
pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10103, proposes to amend rules 15.0
and 19.3.1.1 to permit the Commission to blood gas test,
outlining quarantine procedures for positive tests, clarifying
the current rules regarding furosemide, and to raise the
appeal bond from $250 to $400 to cover the increased
administrative costs including court reporter costs associated
with appeals brought before the commission. The
Commission will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule
change on Saturday, April 30, 2005.  Written comments
should be sent to John Wayne, Administrator of Racing,
Department of Agriculture, 2320 S. DuPont Highway,
Dover, DE  19901.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly
meeting on Thursday, April 21, 2005 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp and Cash Assistance Programs

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend the policies of the Food Stamp Program

and the Cash Assistance Program in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates to trafficking victims.  

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by April 30, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Long Term Care Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding the Long Term Care Program. The
proposal gives direction on counting gifts to minors under
the Uniform Gifts to Minors Act (UGMA) for the eligibility
process.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by April 30, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Title Of The Regulations:
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3504  STRIPED BASS

POSSESSION SIZE LIMIT; EXCEPTIONS. (Formerly
Tidal Finfish Reg. 7)

Tidal Finfish Regulation 3541  ATLANTIC SHARKS.
(Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 25)

Tidal Finfish Regulation 3566  MINIMUM AGE FOR
A COMMERCIAL FINFISH LICENSEE OR A
RECREATIONAL GILL NET LICENSEE.

Shellfish Regulation 3701 MINIMUM AGE FOR A
COMMERCIAL SHELLFISHING LICENSEE OR NON-
COMMERCIAL CLAMMING PERMITTEE.

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
To clarify what the minimum size limit is for striped

bass taken commercially in gill nets in the Delaware River
and Bay during the extended two-week season in February
and the extended season during the month of May.  During
these season extensions, the minimum size for striped bass
taken commercially from Delaware River and Bay shall be
20 inches total length, just as it is 20 inches total length
during March and April in the Delaware River and Bay.  The
commercial gill net minimum size during the extended two-
week season in February shall also be 20 inches total length
in the Nanticoke River and its tributaries.

To set a minimum size of 54 inches, fork length and a
one shark per person per day harvest limit for shoreline and
pier fishermen for any large coastal shark, any pelagic shark
or any small coastal shark exclusive of dogfish sharks.

To establish the age of 16 years as the minimum age to
qualify for a commercial foodfish license and commercial
foodfish equipment permits, for a recreational gill net
permit, or for commercial shellfish licenses or a non-
commercial clamming permit.

Notice Of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing or calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901, (302)739-3441.
A public hearing on this proposed amendment will be held at
the Department of Natural resources and Environmental
Control Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
PM on April 27, 2005.  The record will remain open for
written or e-mail comments to roy.miller@state.de.us until
4:40 PM May 2, 2005.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Sections 903(e)(2) (7 Del.C. §§903(e)(2)) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Title Of The Regulations:
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3512 Winter Flounder Size

Limit; Possession Limit; Seasons. (Formerly Tidal Finfish
Reg. 20)

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission

recently approved Amendment 1 to the Interstate Fishery
Management Plan for inshore Stocks of Winter Flounder.  In
order to come into compliance with this amendment, this
proposed regulation would raise the minimum size for winter
flounder (Pseudopleuronectes americanus) from 10 inches
to 12 inches, total length and would establish a possession
limit of 10 winter flounder per day (a day being 24 hours) for
recreational fisherman. The above referenced plan also
requires that the open season for recreational fishing be no
longer than 60 days and that at least 20 continuous days must
be closed in the months of March and April.  Therefore it is
proposed that:

Option 1 (Preferred) - It shall be unlawful for any
recreational fisherman to take and reduce to possession any
winter flounder before 12:01 AM February 11 or after
midnight April 10 in any given calendar year.

Option 2 - It shall be unlawful for any recreational
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any winter
flounder before 12:01 AM February 11 or after midnight
April 30 in any given calendar year.  Further, it shall be
unlawful for any recreational fisherman to take and reduce to
possession any winter flounder between 12:01 AM March 1
and 12:00 midnight March 20 in any given calendar year.
Other options for an open fishing season may be considered
as long as they include the required 20-day closure during
the months of March and April and a 60-day open season.

Notice Of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing or calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901, (302) 739-
3441.  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will be
held at the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE at 7:30 PM on April 27, 2005.  The record will
remain open for written or e-mail comments to
roy.miller@state.de.us until 4:40 PM May 2, 2005.
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