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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

3 DE Reg. 737 - 742 (12/1/99)

Refers to Volume 3, pages 737 - 742 of the
Delaware Register issued on December 1, 1999.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-739-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
 DATE             DATE        TIME

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 15 4:30 P.M.

SEPTEMBER 1 AUGUST 15 4:30 P.M.
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William S. Montgomery, Director,
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Director; Kathleen K. Amalfitano, Secretary;
Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of Regulations;
Maryanne McGonegal, Research Analyst; Ruth
Ann Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J.
Messina, Print Shop Supervisor; Alex W. Mull,
Assistant Registrar; Deborah A. Porter,
Administrative Secretary; Virginia L. Potts,
Administrative  Assistant; Barbara Ryan, Public
Information Clerk; Ted Segletes, Paralegal;  Don
Sellers, Printer; Thom Shiels, Legislative
Attorney; Marguerite P. Smith, Public
Information Clerk; Alice W. Stark, Legislative
Attorney; Mary Jane Starkey, Senior Secretary;
Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Rochelle Yerkes,
Senior Secretary.
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Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
BLS Ambulance Provider/First Responder ........................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.   122     (Prop.)

3  DE Reg.   750     (Final)
Standard for the Marking, Identification and Accessibility of Fire Lanes, 

Exits, Fire Hydrants, Sprinkler and Standpipe Connections ......................................... .......3  DE Reg.    97       (Final)
NFPA Fire Codes & Standards, Incorporation by Reference................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  416       (Final)

Department of Administrative Services
Division of Professional Regulation

Board of Accountancy.................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  850     (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1121    (Prop.)

Notice of Public Hearing......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1019   (Errata)
Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners...................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1143    (Prop.)
Board of Cosmetology and Barbering............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   573    (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1129    (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1197    (Final)

Board of Electrical Examiners........................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  522     (Final)
 3  DE Reg. 1023    (Prop.)

Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators.................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   486    (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1060    (Final)

Board of Examiners of Psychologists............................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   576    (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1067    (Final)

Board of Massage and Bodywork................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1032    (Prop.)
Board of Nursing............................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   690    (Prop.)
Board of Pharmacy

Regulations I - Pharmacist, Licensure Requirements, II Grounds for
Disciplinary Proceeding, and V Dispensing..................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1133    (Prop.)

Regulation V(A)(7) & V(D)(3)(c), Dispensing....................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.       8    (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.     43    (Final)

Regulation VI- D, Pure Drug Regulations............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.       8    (Prop.)
Regulation XIV -  Administration of Injectable Medications................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.       8    (Prop.)
Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent or

Impaired Professionals..................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     571  (Prop.)
Delaware Gaming Board, Regulations Governing Bingo, Section 1.03(10)......................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   1147  (Prop.)
Merit Employee Relations Board, Chapter 20, Grievance Procedure................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     167  (Final)

Department of Agriculture
Delaware Pesticide Rules and Regulations............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   1035  (Prop.)
Farmland Preservation Program............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.     170  (Final)
Harness Racing Commission

Preference Dates, Chapter VII, Rule I-F......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     432  (Final)
Overnight Events, Chapter VI, Rule II-A-5.................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     432  (Final)
24 proposed amendments................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.     885  (Prop.)

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
Appeals from Decisions of the Stewards, Rule 19.03(a)................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.     885  (Prop.)
Bleeders, Rule 10.04....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     360  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.     754  (Final)

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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Bleeder Medication, Rule 15.02..................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     360  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.     754  (Final)

Requests for Continuances must be Filed with the Administrator
of Racing, Rule 19.06....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     885  (Prop.)

Department of Education
Accumulation of Annual Leave............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)
Administrative and Supervisor Personnel, Repeal of............................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  1165  (Prop.)
Administrator Contracts......................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1077  (Final) 
Career Guidance and Placement Counselors, Repeal of........................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  1174  (Prop.)
Child Nutrition ...................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      10  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    524  (Final)
Children with Disabilities...................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    886  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1151  (Prop.)
Content Standards, 500.1....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1052  (Prop.)
Credit for Experience for Administrators, Teachers and Secretaries..................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1173  (Prop.)
Deferred Compensation ........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    363  (Rep.)

 3  DE Reg.    633  (Final)
Definitions, Public and Private Schools................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)
Delaware Licensure for Teachers Holding National Board for Professional

Teaching Standards Certification.................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1149  (Prop.)
Delaware Student Testing Program........................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    687  (Errata)
Delayed Certification, Sub-Standard Certification, Provisional

Certificate, Repeal of...................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1076  (Final)

DSSAA Constitution & Bylaws, 29 amendments................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    435  (Final)
DSSAA Constitution & Bylaws, Rule 1 & 33....................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      11  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.   525   (Final)
Educational Programs for Students with Limited English Proficiency................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   900   (Prop.)
Educational Programs for Students with Limited English Proficiency, 900.6....................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1054  (Prop.)
Employee Leave.................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1077  (Final)
Health Examinations for School District Employe es........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      13  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    526  (Final)
K-12 Comprehensive Health Education and Family Life

Education Policy............................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    717  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1073  (Final)

K-12 Guidance Programs....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1175  (Prop.)
K-12 Guidance Programs, 500.13.......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1053  (Prop.)
Maternity Leave, Repeal........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    527  (Rep.)
Military Leave, Credit for Service in the Armed Forces....................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    361  (Prop.)

    3  DE Reg.    630  (Final)
Payment of Personnel under Various Programs..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    492  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    755  (Final)
Payment Schedules for Contractual Programs/In-Service Education.................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    363  (Rep.)

 3  DE Reg.    633  (Final)
Payment of Teachers in Summer Programs in Vocational-Technical

School Districts............................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    363  (Rep.)
  3  DE Reg.    633  (Final)

Permanent File of School Districts........................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)
Pre-referral of Enrolled Students for Special Education and/or Related

Services, Repeal.............................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    903  (Prop.)
Professional Employees Strikes............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1077  (Final)
Recruiting & Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas.................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    100  (Final)
Regulation for Charter Schools - Admission, Repeal............................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    492  (Rep.)

  3  DE Reg.    758  (Final)
School Crisis Response Plans................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.     434  (Final)
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School Food Service Employees............................................................................................ ....... 3  DE. Reg.  1173  (Prop.)
School Health Tuberculosis (Tb) Control Program............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     440  (Final)
School Safety Audit............................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     433  (Final)
School Transportation ........................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     588  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.     942  (Final)
School Transportation Aides.................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   1150  (Prop.)
Services for Exceptional Children, Repeal............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.     903  (Prop.)
Sick Leave ......................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     709  (Prop.)
State Salary Increase Adjustments for Changed Status......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     363  (Rep.)

 3  DE Reg.     633  (Final)
Student Testing Program........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.     364  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.     582  (Prop.)
Substitutes ......................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   1174  (Prop.)
Teacher Work Day.................................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.     709  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.   1077  (Final)
Teacher of the Year Award..................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     104  (Final)

Department of Finance
Administration of the Education Expense & Property Tax Relief Fund ............................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     597  (Prop.)
Division of Revenue

State Lottery Office
Definition of Technology Provider, Regulation 2.0................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.     719  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.   1081  (Final)
Licensing Process for Technology Providers,

Regulations 4.1 and 4.2.................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     719  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.   1082  (Final)

Non-Discrimnation on the Basis of Disability in Delaware Lottery
Programs, Rule 29 ........................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     600  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.     951  (Final)
Payment of Prizes, Powerball Game, Rule 23......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     126  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.     523  (Final)
Requirements for Video Lottery Agent to File Financial Reports,

Regulation 8.2................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     720  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.   1083  (Final)

Requirements for Video Lottery Agents to File Copies of all Video
Lottery Related Contracts, Regulation 6.35..................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     720  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.   1083  (Final)
Technology Provider Duties, Regulation 5.11......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     720  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.   1082  (Final)
Tax Appeal Board, Rules & Regulations........................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.     905  (Prop.)

Department of Health & Social Services
Division of Public Health

Conrad State 20 / J-1 Visa Waiver Program................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     603  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.     956  (Final)

Delaware Trauma System Rules & Regulations............................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.       14  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.     442  (Final)

Governing the Control of Communicable and other Disease Conditions  3  DE Reg.   1201  (Final)
Metabolic Disorders & Establishment of Case Review Committee,

Regulations Defining .............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    529   (Final)
State of Delaware Food Code......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    495   (Prop.)
Office of Drinking Water

Regulations Governing Public Drinking Water Systems......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    197   (Final)
Division of Social Services

1115 Demonstration Waiver............................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    916  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1218  (Final)

DSSM Sec. 2023, Program Violations............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    287  (Final)
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DSSM Sec. 3002, Time Limit, Temporary Welfare Program......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    369  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    759  (Final)

DSSM Sec. 3002, Time Limit, Temporary Welfare Program, Withdraw of................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    443  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 3002, Exceptions to the Time Limit Counter.............................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    443  (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 3031, Work for your Welfare...................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    371  (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 3032, Diversion Assistance......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    444  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 9059, Income Exclusions............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    287  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7, Income Limits & Determination of Fees...................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7.2, Income Limits & Determination of Fees .................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7.7, Income Limits & Determination of Fees................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)

  3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11004.3, Income Limits & Determination of Fees...................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11004.7, Determination of Child Care Fee................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.      42  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    444  (Final)
 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)

DSSM Sec. 11004.7.1, Income Limits & Determination of Fees................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)

DSSM Sec. 11004.7.11, Income Limits & Determination of Fees................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)

DSSM Sec. 13444, Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMB)....................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1084  (Final)

DSSM Sec. 13445, Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiaries (SLMB)................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1084  (Final)

DSSM Sec. 13447, Qualifying Individuals ................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1084  (Final)

DSSM Sec. 14433.2, Eligibility for State Funded Benefits (Nonqualified Aliens)....... ....... 3  DE Reg.    634  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 15430, Adoption Subsidy Children............................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1085  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 17300, Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries .................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1084  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 17300.3.2.5, Unearned Income .................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1084  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 17300.3.3, Resources.................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1085  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 17300.3.3.1, Excluded Resources............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1085  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 17700, Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals.................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  1058  (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 18700.5, Cancellation of Coverage for Nonpayment of Premiums............ ....... 3  DE Reg.    617  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1085  (Final)
DSSM Sec. 20100, Long Term Care Introduction ......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    617  (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 20700, Home and Community Based Services .......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    617  (Prop.)
Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1020  (Errata)
Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual, Nutrition Therapy................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    618  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    958  (Final)
Eligibility Manual, 15400, Income................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    107  (Final)
Eligibility Manual, 16240, Composition of Budget Unit............................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    107  (Final)
Eligibility Manual, A Better Chance, Delaware TANF Plan.......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    634  (Final)
General Policy Manual .................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    277  (Final)

General Policy Manual, Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP)............... ....... 3  DE Reg.    620  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1021  (Errata)

General Policy Manual, Eligibility for DHCP................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    776  (Final)

Guaranteed Eligibility..................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1059  (Prop.)
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Home Health Provider Manual, Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver Program................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    374  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    776  (Final)

Independent Laboratory Provider Manual...................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    127  (Prop.)
  3  DE Reg.    531  (Final)

Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Provider Policy.............................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    914  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1218  (Final)

Pharmacy Provider Manual, Drug Rebate Programs  3  DE Reg.    620  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1022  (Errata)

Pharmacy Provider Manual, Drugs Used for Cosmetic Purposes.................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    375  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    777  (Final)

Practitioner Provider Manual.......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    277  (Final)
Practitioner Provider Manual, Pharmacy Services......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    620  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1022  (Errata)
Private Duty Nursing, HCBS Waiver and Assisted Living Manual............................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    278  (Final)

Department of Insurance
Regulation 56, Life & Health Submissions Regarding Acquired

ImmunodeficiencySyndrome (AIDS)............................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    288  (Final)
Regulation 82, Standards of Payment for Multiple Surgical Procedures............................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    636  (Final)
Regulation 83, Standards of Payment for Assistants at Surgery............................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    638  (Final)

Department of Labor
Division of Employment & Training

Apprenticeship & Training Rules & Regulations........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      42  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    641  (Final)

Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Division of Air & Waste Management

Air Quality Management Section
Delaware 1996 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan Emission

Inventory for VOC, Nox, and CO.................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    722  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    843  (Errata)
 3  DE Reg.  1220  (Final)

Delaware 1996 Milestone Demonstration for Kent and New Castle
Counties............................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    729  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1227  (Final)
Delaware On-Road Mobile Source Emissions Budgets for the Delaware, 

Phase II Attainment Demonstration................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    127  (Prop.)
Reg. No. 3, Ambient Air Quality Standards............................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    778  (Final)
Reg. No. 36, Acid Rain Program ............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    621  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    959  (Final)
Reg. No. 37, NOx Budget Program......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    376  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    779  (Final)
Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source

Categories, Subpart A....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      51  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    445  (Final)

Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source
Categories, Subpart N....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      59  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    445  (Final)
Reg. No. 39, NOx Budget Trading Program........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    129  (Prop.)
Reg. No. 40, Delaware’s National Low Emissions Vehicle Program...................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    532  (Final)
2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent & New Castle Counties................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.      65  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1236  (Final)

Waste Management Section
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    534  (Final)

Division of Fish & Wildlife
Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations, NT-2, Bag Limits & Seasons...................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    748  (Prop.)
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Shellfish Regulations
S-51, Seasons and Area Closed to Taking Horseshoe Crabs................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1177  (Prop.)
S-52, Requirement for Collecting Horseshoe Crabs for Persons Under 16............ ....... 3  DE Reg.    622  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1093  (Final)
S-53, Number of Persons Accompanying a Person with a Valid Horseshoe

Crab Collecting Permit..................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    623  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1093  (Final)

S-54, Possession Limit of Horseshoe Crabs, Exceptions........................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    623  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1093  (Final)

......................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1177  (Prop.)
S-55, Horseshoe Crab Dredging Restrictions.......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1178  (Prop.)
S-55A, Horseshoe Crab Dredge Permit Lottery...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    652  (Final)
S-57, Horshshoe Crab Reporting Requirements...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1178  (Prop.)
S-58, Horseshoe Crab Containment and Transportation Restrictions..................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    623  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1094  (Final)
S-61, Collecting Horseshoe Crabs at Night, Prohibited.......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    623  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1094  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 4,Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits

Season ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    737  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1088  (Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 6, Striped Bass Limits; Recreational Fishing
Seasons; Method of Take; Creel Limit; Possession Limit....................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    739  (Prop.)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 7, Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    739  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1089  (Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 10, Weakfish Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons............. ....... 3  DE Reg.    740  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1090  (Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 23, Black Sea Bass Size Limits; Trip Limits; Seasons;
Quotas ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    740  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1090  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 25, Atlantic Sharks..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    741  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1090  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 26, American Shad & Hickory Shad; Creel Limits................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    742  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1092  (Final)
Wildlife & Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    289  (Final)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-1,Definitions........................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    742  (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-4 Seasons, Diamondback Terrapin....................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    742  (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-6, Game Preserves................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    745  (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-14, Falconry......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    745  (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-15, Collection or Sale of Native Wildlife............................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    746  (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-16, Endangered Species....................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    747  (Prop.)

Division of Water Resources
Land Treatment of Wastes.............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    445  (Final)
Surface Water Quality Standards ................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    311  (Final)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for zinc in the

Red Clay Creek........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    163  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    806  (Final)

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for zinc in the
White Clay Creek.................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    164  (Prop.)

  3  DE Reg.    650  (Final)

Department of Public Safety
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control

Rule 76, A Rule Governing Taxes Paid On Spirits......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    624  (Prop.)
Division of Motor Vehicles

Policy Regulation Number 45 Concerning Driver Improvement
Problem Driver Program.......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1179  (Prop.)

Policy Regulation Number 90 Concerning Aggressive Drivers..................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1182  (Prop.)
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Delaware State Police, Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private
Security Agents

Firearm’s Policy  3  DE Reg.    960  (Final)
Personnel Rosters & Job Assignments  3  DE Reg.    961  (Final)
Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals, Vehicular Markings  3  DE Reg.    961  (Final)
Use of Animals  3  DE Reg.    963  (Final)

Department of State
Office of the State Banking Commissioner

Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0002, Instructions for Preparation of 
Franchise Tax........................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    512  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    810  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0005, Instructions for Preparation of 

Franchise Tax for Federal Savings Banks not Headquartered in this
 State but Maintaining Branches in this State.......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    515  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    812  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0009, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise

 Tax for Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks............................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    517  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    815  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2112.0001, Mortgage Loan Brokers Operating Regulations............. ....... 3  DE Reg.    403  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    654  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2111(a).0002, Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimum 
Requirements for Content of Books & Records...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    404  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    655  (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2115.0003, Mortgage Loan Broker Regulations Itemized

Schedule of Charges................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    405  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    656  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2113.0004, Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimum Disclosure
Requirements .......................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    406  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    657  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2111(b).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    406  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    657  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2213.0002, Licensed Lenders Minimum Requirements for

Content of Books & Records................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    407  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    658  (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2218/2231.0003, Licensed Lenders Regulations Itemized
Schedule of Charges................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    408  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    659  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2210(e).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    411  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    662  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2318.0001, Report of Delaware Sale of Checks, Drafts &

Money Orders Volume............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    411  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    662  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance
Companies Minimum Requirements for Content of Books & Records.................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    412  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    663  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2906(e).0002, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies

 Operating Regulations............................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    413  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    664  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2906(e).0003, Report of Delaware Loan Volume Motor
Vehicle Installment Contracts.................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   414  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.   665  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.3404/3409.0001, Preneed Funeral Contracts Regulations 

Governing Revocable & Irrevocable Trust Agreements......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   415  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.   666  (Final)
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Department of Transportation
Statewide Access Management Policy & Statewide Classification Maps............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   916  (Prop.)
Subdivision Streets, Mobility Friendly Design Standards .................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   624  (Prop.)

Governor’s Office
Executive Order No. 61, Declaration of Drought Warning;  Extending Voluntary

Water Conservation Measures; and Other Related Items............................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   453
Executive Order No. 62, Proclamation of State of Emergency Due to Drought

Emergency; Issuing an Emergency Order Imposing Mandatory
Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   454

Executive Order No. 63, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62 Regarding the
State of Emergency due to Drought Emergency............................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   546

Executive Order No. 64, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62, as Amended
by Executive Order No. 63, Regarding the State of Emergency due to Drought
Emergency ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   546

Executive Order No. 65, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62, as Amended by 
Executive Order No. 63 and Executive Order No. 64;  Regarding the State of 
Emergency due to Drought Emergency.......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   547

Executive Order No. 66, Termination of State of Emergency Due to Drought; 
Repeal of  Mandatory Water Conservation Measures; Declaration of Drought
Warning; Extending Voluntary Water Conservation Measures; and Other
Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   550

Executive Order No. 67, Proclamation of State of Emergency Due to Hurricane ................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   667
Executive Order No. 68, Termination of Drought Warning and Other

Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   667
Executive Order No. 69, Amendment to Executive Order No.27 as Amended

by Executive Order No. 56 Regarding  the Creation of the Violence
Against Women Act Implementation Committee........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   668

Executive Order No. 70, Amendment to Executive Order No. 27 Regarding the
Violence Against Women Act Implementation Committee............................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   964

Executive Order No. 71, Creating the Governor’s Building and Trade Council................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   964
Executive Order No. 72, State Employees and the Right to Organization and

Effective Union Representation...................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1095
Executive Order No. 73, Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume

Cap for Calendar Year 1999 and Initial Suballocation of State Private
Activity Bond Volume Cap for Calendar Year 2000...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1095

Executive Order No. 74, Implementation of the Recommendations of the Water
Supply Task Force;  Appointment of Temporary Water Coordinator;
Establishment of a Water Supply Coordinating Council................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg. 1096

Executive Order No. 75, Establishment of the Workforce Investment Board....................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1267
Executive Order No. 76, Amendment to Exec. Order No. 36 Regarding State

Employee Obligations & Compensation During Emergencies...................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1268
Appointments & Nominations............................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   111

 3  DE Reg.   341
 3  DE Reg.   457
 3  DE Reg.   552
 3  DE Reg.   669
 3  DE Reg.   820
 3  DE Reg.   966
 3  DE Reg. 1099
 3  DE Reg. 1270

Public Service Commission
Reg. Docket No. 4, Establishing the Minimum Filing Requirements  for all

Regulated Companies Subject to the Jurisdiction of the Public
Service Commission....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1185  (Prop.) 

Reg. Docket No. 49, Creation of a Competitive Market for Retail Electric
Supply Service................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   538  (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority 31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512)

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF REGULATIONS |
CONTAINED IN DSSM 4006.1, 8030.1, |
9059, 11003.9.1, and 14710 |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:
Delaware Health and Social Services has determined

that a threat to the public welfare exists if revision of
regulations contained in DSSM Sections 4006.1, 8030.1,
9059, 11003.9.1, and 14710 are not implemented without
prior notice or hearing.  Failure to do so would jeopardize
Delaware’s intent to exclude the earnings of temporary
census workers in all our assistance programs, which has
been recommended by all the federal agencies involved, and
to participate in a census demonstration project, which is
encouraged by Food and Nutrition Service.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:
(revisions underlined):

FINDING OF FACT
The Department finds that these changes should be

made in the best interest of the general public of the State of
Delaware. The Department will receive, consider, and
respond to petitions by any interested person for the
reconsideration or revision thereof. 

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed

revision to the regulation be adopted on an emergency basis,
without prior notice or hearing, and shall become effective
immediately.

March 10, 2000

GREGG C. SYLVESTER, MD
SECRETARY

DSSM 4006.1  Excluded Income

The following kinds of income are disregarded in
determining financial eligibility and grant amounts in ABC
and GA:

• The value of USDA donated foods.
• The value of food stamps.
• Foster care payments made on behalf of foster

children residing in the home.
• Payments made directly to a third party on behalf of

a recipient.

EXAMPLE:  A friend pays a recipient's electric bill.  The
payment is made directly to the electric company.  This
payment is not considered as income to the assistance unit.

• A one-time bonus payment of $50.00 will be paid
from A BETTER CHANCE funds to teens who
graduate from high school by age 19.  This bonus
will be paid directly to the high school graduate.
Disregard as income and resource the bonus
payment, for ABC and Food Stamp purposes. 

• A cash payment made to the ABC unit responsible
for household bills by a non-unit member for his or
her share of the common household expenses.

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the emergency regulation being promulgated.  Italic type  indicates new
text.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119, if an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the
adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C. §10115, then the following rules
shall apply:  (1)  The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing
that it finds practicable;  (2)  The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state in writing the reasons for the
agency’s determination that such emergency action is necessary;  (3)  the order effecting such action may be effective for a
period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed once for a period not exceeding 60 days;  (4)  When such an order is
issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or authorized by Chapter 101 of Title 29, the agency shall state
as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or
revision thereof; and  (5)  The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next
issue of the Register of Regulations.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
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• Any bona fide loan including loans for current
living expenses.  The following criteria must be met
to ensure that the loan is bona fide:

1. Written agreement between the client and
the individual or establishment engaged in the business of
making loans to repay the money within a specified time.

2. If the loan is obtained from an individual
or establishment not normally engaged in the business of
making loans, obtain one of the following:

a.   Borrower's acknowledgement of
obligation to repay; or

b.   Borrower's expressed intent to repay
either by pledging real or personal property or anticipated
income; or

c.   A written statement detailing
borrower's plans to repay the loan when future anticipated
income is received.

• Money received in the form of a non-recurring
lump sum payment is to be counted as a resource in
the month received unless specifically excluded
from consideration as a resource by other Federal
law or regulations. 

• Income received under the Uniform Relocation
Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies
Act of 1970.

• Incentive payments or reimbursement for training-
related expenses derived from participation in
Institutional and Work Experience Training or
special work projects under the Work Incentive
Program (First Step).

• Benefits received under the nutrition program for
the elderly or the Women, Infants, and Children
Nutritional Program.

• All payments received under the VISTA program
unless the value of the payment when adjusted to
reflect the number of hours worked is equal to or
greater than the minimum wage currently in effect
under the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938.  In that
case the income is treated as earned income and
disregards applicable to the category of assistance
are deducted from it.

• Payments distributed per capita to or held in trust
for members of any Indian tribe under Public Law
92-254, P.L. 93-134, or P.L. 94-540.

• Federal major disaster and emergency assistance
provided to individuals and families and
comparable disaster assistance provided by State,
local governments, and disaster assistance
organizations under P.L. 100-707.

"Emergency" means any occasion or instance for which,
in the determination of the President, Federal assistance is
needed to supplement State and local efforts and capabilities

to save lives and to protect property and public health and
safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in any
part of the United States.

"Major Disaster" means any natural catastrophe...which
in the determination of the President causes damage of
sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant major disaster
assistance to supplement the efforts of available resources of
states, local governments, and disaster relief organizations in
alleviating the damage, loss, hardship, or suffering caused
thereby.

• Restitution made to United States' citizens and
permanent resident aliens of Japanese ancestry who
were interned during World War II pursuant to Title
I. of P.L. 100-383.

• Restitution made by any Aleut who was relocated
by authority of the United States from his or her
home village on the Pribilof Islands or the Aleutian
Islands during World War II pursuant to Title II of
P.L. 100-383.

• Payments made from the Agent Orange Settlement
Fund or any other fund established pursuant to the
settlement in the In Re Agent Orange product
liability litigation, M.D.L. No. 381 (E. D. N. Y.).

• Payments of supportive services or reimbursement
of out-of pocket expenses made to individual
volunteers serving as foster grandparents, senior
health aides, or senior companions, and to persons
serving in services corps of retired executives and
active corps of executives, and any other program
under Title II and III pursuant to Section 418 of
P.L. 93-113.

• Tax exempt portions of payments made pursuant to
the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, P.L. 92-
203.

• Payments of Experimental Housing Allowance
Program made under annual contributions contracts
entered into prior to January 1, 1975, under Section
23 of the U.S. Housing Act of 1937, as amended.

• Receipts distributed to members of certain Indian
tribes which are referred to in Section 5 of P.L. 94-
114.

• Housing subsidies provided under Section 8 of the
U.S. Housing Act.

• Benefits paid to eligible households under the
Home Energy Assistance Act of 1980.

• Home energy assistance based on need, such as, but
not limited to home energy assistance from the
following agencies:

Kingswood Community Center
Peoples' Settlement Association
Catholic Social Services, Inc.
Neighborhood House, Inc.
Community Housing, Inc.
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Jewish Family Service of Delaware
Salvation Army
Community Action (Sussex County)

• Assistance from other agencies and organizations
provided that no duplication exists between such
other agency and that provided by DSS.  To assure
that non-duplication exists, determine that the aid
granted by another agency is for a different
purpose.  For example, vocational rehabilitation
provides cash allowances (usually $25 per week) to
reimburse clients for costs such as transportation
related to their participation in a training program.

• Earned income tax credits (EITC).
• Income received from the Census Bureau April

01,2000 through December 31, 2000.

DSSM 8030.1  Excluded Income

The following kinds of income are disregarded in
determining financial eligibility and grant amounts in RCA:

• The value of USDA donated foods.
• The value of food stamps.
• Foster care payments made on behalf of foster

children residing in the home.
• Payments made directly to a third party on behalf of

a recipient.

EXAMPLE:  A friend pays a recipient's electric bill.  The
payment is made directly to the electric company.  This
payment is not considered as income to the assistance unit.

• Earnings received by children under the Summer
Youth Program of the Job Training Partnership Act
of 1982 for a period not to exceed six (6) months.

• A cash payment made to the RCA unit responsible
for household bills by a non-unit member for his or
her share of the common household expenses.

• Any bona fide loan including loans for current
living expenses.  The following criteria must be met
to ensure that the loan is bona fide:

1. Written agreement between the client and
the individual or establishment engaged in the business of
making loans to repay the money within a specified time.

2. If the loan is obtained from an individual
or establishment not normally engaged in the business of
making loans, obtain one of the following:

a. Borrower's acknowledgement of
obligation to repay; or

b. Borrower's expressed intent to repay
either by pledging real or personal property or anticipated
income; or

c. A written statement detailing
borrower's plans to repay the loan when future anticipated

income is received.
• Income received under the Uniform Relocation

Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies
Act of 1970.

• Incentive payments or reimbursement for training-
related expenses derived from participation in
Institutional and Work Experience Training or
special work projects under the Work Incentive
Program (First Step).

• Benefits received under the nutrition program for
the elderly or the Women, Infants, and Children
Nutritional Program.

• All payments received under the VISTA program
unless the value of the payment when adjusted to
reflect the number of hours worked is equal to or
greater than the minimum wage currently in effect
under the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938.  In that
case the income is treated as earned income and
disregards applicable to the category of assistance
are deducted from it.

• Payments distributed per capita to or held in trust
for members of any Indian tribe under Public Law
92-254, P.L. 93-134, or P.L. 94-540.

• Federal major disaster and emergency assistance
provided to individuals and families and
comparable disaster assistance provided by State,
local governments, and disaster assistance
organizations under P.L. 100-707.

"Emergency" means any occasion or instance for which,
in the determination of the President, Federal assistance is
needed to supplement State and local efforts and capabilities
to save lives and to protect property and public health and
safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in any
part of the United States.

"Major Disaster" means any natural catastrophe...which
in the determination of the President causes damage of
sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant major disaster
assistance to supplement the efforts of available resources of
states, local governments, and disaster relief organizations in
alleviating the damage, loss, hardship, or suffering caused
thereby.

• Payments of supportive services or reimbursement
of out-of pocket expenses made to individual
volunteers serving as foster grandparents, senior
health aides, or senior companions, and to persons
serving in services corps of retired executives and
active corps of executives, and any other program
under Title II and III pursuant to Section 418 of
P.L. 93-113.

• Housing subsidies provided under Section 8 of the
U.S. Housing Act.

• Benefits paid to eligible households under the
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Home Energy Assistance Act of 1980.
• Home energy assistance based on need, such as, but

not limited to home energy assistance from the
following agencies:

Kingswood Community Center
Peoples' Settlement Association
Catholic Social Services, Inc.
Neighborhood House, Inc.
Community Housing, Inc.
Jewish Family Service of Delaware
Salvation Army
Community Action (Sussex County)

• Assistance from other agencies and organizations
provided that no duplication exists between such
other agency and that provided by DSS.  To assure
that non-duplication exists, determine that the aid
granted by another agency is for a different
purpose.  For example, vocational rehabilitation
provides cash allowances (usually $25 per week) to
reimburse clients for costs such as transportation
related to their participation in a training program.

• Earned income tax credits (EITC).
• Income of an individual acting as a refugee's

sponsor.
• Income received from the Census Bureau from

April 1, 2000 through December 31, 2000.

DSSM 9059 Income Exclusions
[273.9(c)]

Only the following items will be excluded from
household income and no other income will be excluded:

 A. Any gain or benefit which is not in the form of
money payable directly to the household.

This includes in-kind benefits and certain vendor
payments.  In-kind benefits are those for which no monetary
payment is made on behalf of the household and includes
meals, clothing, housing, or produce from a garden.  A
vendor payment is a money payment made on behalf of a
household by a person or organization outside of the
household directly to either the household's creditors or to a
person or organization providing a service to the household.  

Payments made to a third party on behalf of the
household are included or excluded as income as follows:

1. Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) vendor payments.  Rent or mortgage
payments made to landlords or mortgages by HUD are
excluded.

2. Educational assistance vendor payments.
Educational assistance provided to a third party on behalf of
the household for living expenses shall be treated the same
as educational assistance directly to the household.

3. Vendor payments that are reimbursements.
Reimbursements made in the form of vendor payments are

excluded on the same basis as reimbursements paid directly
to the household as described in DSSM 9059 E .

4. Other third party payments.  Other third party
payments shall be handled as follows:  Moneys legally
obligated and otherwise payable to the household which are
diverted by the provider of the payment to a third party for a
household expense shall be counted as income and not
excluded.  If the person or organization makes a payment to
a third party on behalf of a household using funds that are
not owed to the household, the payment shall be excluded
from income. The following are examples of third party
payments:

a) A friend or relative uses his or her own
money to pay the household's rent directly to the landlord.
This vendor payment shall be excluded.

b) A household member earns wages.
However, the wages are garnished or diverted by the
employer and paid to a third party for a household expense,
such as rent.  This vendor payment is counted as income.
However, if the employer pays a household's rent directly to
the landlord in addition to paying the household its regular
wages, the rent payment shall be excluded from income.
Similarly, if the employer provides housing to an employee
in addition to wages, the value of the housing shall not be
counted as income.

c) A household receives court-ordered
monthly support payments in the amount of $400.  Later,
$200 is diverted by the provider and paid directly to a
creditor for a household expense.  The payment is counted as
income.

Money deducted or diverted from a court-
ordered support or alimony payment to a third party for a
household's expense shall be included as income because the
payment is taken from money that is owed to the household.
However, payments specified by a court order or other
legally binding agreement to go directly to a third party
rather than the household are excluded from income because
they are not otherwise payable to the household.

Examples of court-ordered payments:
a) A court awards support payments in

the amount of $400 a month and in addition orders $200 to
be paid directly to a bank for repayment of a loan.  The $400
payment is counted as income and the $200 payment is
excluded from income.

b) A civil service retiree is entitled to a
retirement payment of $800 a month.  However, $400 is
diverted to his ex-wife by court order for child support.  This
is similar to a wage garnishment.  Since the retirement
benefits are legally obligated and otherwise payable to the
retiree's household, the $800 is budgeted for food stamp
purposes.

Support payments not required by a court
order or other legally binding agreement (including
payments in excess of the amount specified in a court order
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or written agreement) which are paid to a third party on the
household's behalf shall be excluded from income.

5. Payments made by the Division or by another
government agency to a child care institution to provide day
care for a household member are also excluded as vendor
payments.

6. All or part of a public assistance grant which
would normally be provided in a money payment but which
is diverted to a protective payee will be considered income to
the household.

7. Emergency Assistance payments will be
excluded if they are made directly to a third party for a
household expense.  This rule applies even if the household
has the option of receiving a direct cash payment.

8. Under some pay/benefit plans, an employee
may choose to have the employer withhold from the
employee's earnings money to pay certain expenses such as
child care and medical expenses as a vendor payment to a
third party when the expenses are incurred.  The amount is
counted as earned income when withheld because the money
is legally obligated and otherwise payable to the employee at
that time.

9. Some companies make credits available to
employees to use to buy health insurance, annual leave, sick
leave or life insurance.  The employee cannot elect to receive
a cash payment and loses the credits if not used.  The amount
shows up on the pay stub when used.  These flexible benefits
are not counted as income because they are not legally
obligated and otherwise payable to the employee as
earnings.

Some companies give employees "points" as
incentive to arrive to work on time, work so many weeks
without taking leave, etc.  These points have a monetary
value that appears on the pay stub and the points are subject
to taxes.  The employee can only redeem the points for
commodities or goods from a catalog provided by the
employer; they cannot convert the points to cash.  These
points are excluded from income because the funds are not
otherwise payable to the household.

B. Any income in the certification period which is
received too infrequently or irregularly to be reasonably
anticipated, but not in excess of $30 a quarter.

C. Educational assistance, including grants,
scholarships, fellowships, work study, educational loans on
which payment is deferred, veterans’ educational benefits
and the like.

To be excluded, the educational assistance listed
above must be:

A. Awarded to a household member enrolled at a:
1. Recognized institution of post-secondary

education,* 
2. School for the handicapped,
3. Vocational education program,
4. Vocational or technical school, or 

5. Program that provides for obtaining a
secondary school diploma or the equivalent;

*   Means any public or private educational
institution which normally requires a high school diploma or
equivalency certificate for enrollment or admits persons who
are beyond the age of compulsory school attendance for that
State.  The institution must be authorized to provide an
educational program beyond secondary education or
provides a program of training to prepare students for gainful
employment, including correspondence schools at that level. 

B. Used for or identified (earmarked) by the
institution, school, program, or other grantor for the
following allowable expenses:

1. Tuition,
2. Mandatory school fees, including the rental or

purchase of any equipment, material, and supplies related to
the pursuit of the course of study involved,

3. Books,
4. Supplies,
5. Transportation,
6. Miscellaneous personal expenses, other than

the normal living expenses of room and board, of the student
incidental to attending a school, institution, or program,

7. Dependent care (amounts excluded cannot be
excluded under the income dependent care deduction under
DSSM 9060 ), and 

8. Origination fees and insurance premiums on
educational loans.

Exclusions based on use for the allowable expenses
listed above must be incurred or anticipated for the period
the educational income is intended to cover regardless of
when the educational income is actually received.  If a
student uses other income sources to pay for allowable
educational expenses in months before the educational
income is received, the exclusions to cover the expenses
shall be allowed when the educational income is received.
When the amounts used for allowable expenses are more
than amounts earmarked by the institution, school,  program
or other grantor, an exclusion shall be allowed for amounts
used over the earmarked amounts.  Exclusions based on use
shall be subtracted from unearned educational income first
when possible, and the remainder, if any, shall be excluded
from earned educational income.

An individual's total educational income exclusions
cannot exceed that individual's total educational income
received. 

D. All loans, including loans from private individuals
as well as commercial institutions, other than educational
loans on which repayment is deferred.  Educational loans on
which repayment is deferred shall be excluded according to
DSSM 9059 C .  A loan on which repayment must begin
within 60 days after receipt of the loan shall not be
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considered a deferred repayment loan.  
E. Reimbursements for past or future expenses, to the

extent that they do not exceed actual expenses, and do not
represent a gain or benefit to the household.

Reimbursements for normal household living
expenses such as rent or mortgage, personal clothing, or food
eaten at home are a gain or benefit and, therefore, are not
excluded.  To be excluded, these payments must be provided
specifically for an identified expense, other than normal
living expenses, and used for the purpose intended.  When a
reimbursement, including a flat allowance, covers multiple
expenses, each expense does not have to be separately
identified as long as none of the reimbursement covers
normal living expenses.  The amount by which a
reimbursement exceeds the actual incurred expense will be
counted as income.  However, reimbursements will not be
considered to exceed actual expenses, unless the provider or
the household indicates that the amount is excessive.

Examples of excludable reimbursements which are
not considered to be a gain or benefit to the household are:

• Reimbursements or flat allowances for job or
training related expenses such as travel, per diem,
uniforms, and transportation to and from the job or
training site.  Reimbursements which are provided
over and above the basic wages for these expenses
are excluded; however, these expenses, if not
reimbursed, are not otherwise deductible.
Reimbursements for the travel expenses incurred by
migrant workers are also excluded, as are
maintenance funds provided to VR clients for
uniforms, supplies, etc.

• Reimbursement for out-of-pocket expenses of
volunteers incurred in the course of their work.

• Medical or dependent care reimbursements.
• Reimbursements received by households to pay for

a service provided under Title XX of the Social
Security Act.

Do not consider the following as excludable
reimbursements:

• No portion of benefits provided under Title IV-A of
the Social Security Act, (ABC) to the extent such
benefit is attributed to an adjustment for work
related or child care expenses, will be considered
excludable under this provision.

• No portion of any educational assistance that is
provided for normal living expenses (room and
board) shall be considered a reimbursement
excludable under this section.

F. Monies received and used for the care and
maintenance of a third-party beneficiary who is not a
household member.

If the intended beneficiaries of a single payment are
both household and non-household members, any
identifiable portion of the payment intended and used for the
care and maintenance of the non-household member will be
excluded.  If the non-household member's portion cannot be
readily identified, the payment must be evenly prorated
among intended beneficiaries and the exclusion applied to
the non-household member's prorata share or the amount
actually used for the non-household member's care and
maintenance, whichever is less.

G. The earned income of a student under age 18 who
attends elementary or secondary school or classes to obtain a
GED at least half-time and lives with a natural, adoptive or
step parent, is under the control of a household member
other than a parent, or is certified in a separate food stamp
household but lives with a natural, adoptive or step parent. 

This exclusion continues to apply during temporary
interruptions in school attendance due to semester or
vacation breaks, provided the child's enrollment will resume
following the break.  If the child's earnings or amount of
work performed cannot be differentiated from that of other
household members, prorate the total earnings equally
among the working members.    The child's prorata share is
excluded.   

H. Money received in the form of a non-recurring
lump sum payment.

These include, but are not limited to:  income tax
refunds, rebates or credits; retroactive lump sum Social
Security, SSI, public assistance, railroad retirement benefits,
or other payments; lump sum insurance settlement; or
refunds of security deposits on rental property or utilities.
These payments will be counted as resources in the month
received unless specifically excluded from consideration as a
resource by other federal laws.

Payments of large retroactive SSI benefit amounts
are required to be made in installments for SSI recipients.
These SSI retroactive lump sum installments are excluded
from income.  

Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) payments,
whether paid in advance or made as tax refunds, are
considered to be non-recurring lump sum payments.

I. The cost of producing self-employment income
(See DSSM 9074.4 ).

J. Any income that is specifically excluded by any
other Federal law from consideration as income for the
purpose of determining eligibility for the Food Stamp
Program.

The following laws provide such an exclusion:

PART A -- GENERAL
1. P. L. 79-396, Section 12(e) of the National School

Lunch Act, as amended by Section 9(d) of P. L. 94-105,
provides that,

The value of assistance to children under this Act
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shall not be considered to be income or resources for any
purposes under any Federal or State laws, including laws
relating to taxation and welfare and public assistance
programs.

This law authorizes the School Lunch Program, the
Summer Food Service Program for Children, the
Commodity Distribution Program, and the Child and Adult
Care Food Program.  Note that the exclusion applies to
assistance provided to children rather than that paid to
providers.

2. P. L. 89-642, the Child Nutrition Act of 1966,
Section 11(b), provides in part that,

The value of assistance to children under this Act
shall not be considered to be income or resources for any
purpose under any Federal or State laws including, but not
limited to, laws relating to taxation, welfare, and public
assistance programs.

This law authorizes the Special Milk Program, the
School Breakfast Program, and the Special Supplemental
Food Program for women, infants, and children (WIC).

3. P. L. 91-646, Section 216, the Uniform Relocation
Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policy Act of
1970.  Reimbursements are excluded from income and
resources.

4. P. L. 93-113, the Domestic Volunteer Services Act
of 1973, Titles I and II, as amended.

Payments under Title I of that Act, including
payments from such Title I programs as VISTA, University
Year for Action, and Urban Crime Prevention Program, to
volunteers shall be excluded for those individuals receiving
food stamps or public assistance at the time they joined the
Title I program, except that households which were
receiving an income exclusion for a Vista or other Title I
Subsistence allowance at the time of conversion to the Food
Stamp Act of 1977 shall continue to receive an income
exclusion for VISTA for the length of their volunteer
contraction in effect at the time of conversion.  Temporary
interruptions in food stamp participation shall not alter the
exclusion once an initial determination has been made.  New
applicants who were not receiving public assistance or food
stamps at the time they joined VISTA shall have these
volunteer payments included as earned income.

Payments to volunteers under Title II, including the
Retired Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP), Foster
Grandparents Program and Senior Companion Program, are
excluded from income.

5. P. L. 93-288, Section 312(d), the Disaster Relief
Act of 1974, as amended by P. L. 100-707, Section 105(i),
the Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Amendments
of 1988, 11/23/88.  Payments precipitated by an emergency
or major disaster as defined in this Act, as amended, are not
counted as income or resources for food stamp purposes.
This exclusion applies to Federal assistance provided to
persons directly affected and to comparable disaster

assistance provided by States, local governments, and
disaster assistance organizations.

A major disaster is any natural catastrophe such as a
hurricane or drought, or, regardless of cause, any fire, flood,
or explosion, which the President determines causes damage
of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant major
disaster assistance to supplement the efforts and available
resources of States, local governments, and disaster relief
organizations in alleviating the damage, loss, hardship, or
suffering caused thereby.

An emergency is any occasion or instance for
which the President determines that Federal assistance is
needed to supplant State and local efforts and capabilities to
save lives and to protect property and public health and
safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

Most, but not all, Federal Emergency Management
Assistance (FEMA) funds are excluded.  For example, some
payments made to homeless people to pay for rent,
mortgage, food, and utility assistance when there is no major
disaster or emergency is not excluded under this provision.

6. P. L. 97-300, the Job Training Partnership Act
(JTPA), 10/13/82.  Section 142(b) provides that allowances,
earnings and payments to individuals participating in
programs under JTPA shall not be considered as income.
Subsequently P. L. 99-198, the Food Security Act of 1985,
12/85, amended section 5(1) of the Food Stamp Act to
require counting as income on-the-job training payments
provided under section 204(5) of Title II of the JTPA except
for dependents less than 19 years old.  Section 702(b) of P.L.
102-367, the Job Training Reform Amendments of 1992,
further amended the Food Stamp Act (by changing the
reference) to exclude on-the-job training payments received
under the Summer Youth Employment and training
Program.   This means that currently only on-the-job training
payments to (1) youths, other than dependents under 19, in
year-round programs and (2) adults can be counted.  All
other JTPA income is excluded.

7. P. L. 99-425, Section (e), the Low-Income Home
Energy Assistance Act, 9/30/86.  The amount of any home
energy assistance payments or allowances provided directly
to, or indirectly on behalf of, a household is excluded from
income and resources.  In determining any excess shelter
expense deduction, the full amount of such payments or
allowances shall be deemed to be expended by such
household for heating or cooling expenses.

8. P. L. 99-498, the Higher Education Act
Amendments of 1986, Section 479B, as amended by P. L.
100-50, June 3, 1987.  Amounts made available for tuition
and fees and, for students attending an institution at least
half-time, books, supplies, transportation and miscellaneous
personal expenses (other than room, board and dependent
care) provided under Title IV of the Act and by the Bureau
of Indian Affairs were excluded from income and resources.

P. L. 102-325, the Higher Education Amendments
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of 1992, dated 7/23/92, contain two separate provisions that
affect the treatment of payments made under the Higher
Education Act.  In regard to Title IV-- Student Assistance,
Part F, Section 479B provides that:

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, student
financial assistance received under this title, or under Bureau
of Indian Affairs student assistance programs, shall not be
taken into account in determining the need or eligibility of
any person for benefits or assistance, or the amount of such
benefits or assistance, under any Federal, State, or local
program financed in whole or in part with Federal funds.

Student assistance authorized under Title IV
includes the following:  (State and local agencies select
students for some of these programs.  In addition, some State
and local agencies have separate programs of their own with
similar names.)

• Basic Educational Opportunity Grants (BEOG or
Federal Pell Grants)

• Presidential Access Scholarships (PAS-Super Pell
Grants)

• Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity
Grants (FSEOG)

• State Student Incentives Grants (SSIG)
• Federal Direct Student Loan Programs (FDSLP)

(Formerly GSL and FFELP):
• Federal Direct Supplemental Loan Program

(provides loans to students)
• Federal Direct PLUS Program (provides loans to

parents)
• Federal Direct Stafford Loan Program
• Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford Loan

Program, and
• Federal Consolidated Loan Program
• Federal Perkins Loan Program - Direct loans to

students in institutions of higher education (Perkins
Loans, formerly NDSL)

• Federal Work Study Funds (Note: Not all Federal
work study funds come under Title IV of the Higher
Education Act.)

• TRIO Grants (Go to organizations or institutions
for students from disadvantaged backgrounds):

• Upward Bound (Some stipends go to students)
• Student Support Services
• Robert E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement
• Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program
• College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP) for

students whose families are engaged in migrant and
seasonal farm work

• High School Equivalency Program (HEP)
• National Early Intervention Scholarship and

Partnership Program (NEISP).
There is only one BIA student assistance program

per se.  It is the Higher Education Grant Program, which is

sometimes called the Scholarship Grant Program.  However,
education or training assistance received under any BIA
program must be excluded.  There is an Adult Education
Program that provides money to adults to get a GED, attend
technical schools, and for job training.  There is also an
employment assistance program.  In addition, education and
training may be made available under separate programs like
the Indian Child and Family Programs.  Each tribe has a BIA
agency that may be contacted for more information about
education and training assistance.

Section 480(b) provides that:
The changes made in part F of title IV of the Act by

the amendment made by this section shall apply with respect
to determinations of need under such part F for award years
beginning on or after July 1, 1993.

Title XIII, Indian Higher Education Programs, Part
E--Tribal Development Student Assistance Revolving Loan
Program (Tribal Development Student Assistance Act),
Section 1343(c) provides in part that:

. . . for purposes of determining eligibility, loans
provided under this program may not be considered in needs
analysis under any other Federal law, and may not penalize
students in determining eligibility for other funds.

The Part E exclusion was effective October 1, 1992.
P. L. 98-524, the Carl D. Perkins Vocational

Education Act, Section 507, as amended by P. L. 101-392, 9/
25/90, Sections 501 and 701 of the Carl D. Perkins
Vocational and Applied Technology Education Act
Amendments of 1990.  Amounts made available for tuition
and fees and, for students attending an institution at least
half-time, books, supplies, transportation, dependent care,
and miscellaneous personal expenses (other than room and
board).  This provision was effective July 1, 1991.  The
programs under this Act include the following:

• Indian Vocational Education Program
• Native Hawaiian Vocational Education Program
• State Vocational and Applied Technology

Education Program which contains the:
• State Program and State Leadership Activities 
• Program for Single Parents, Displaced

Homemakers, and Single Pregnant Women
• Sex Equity Program
• Programs for Criminal Offenders
• Secondary School Vocational Education Program
• Postsecondary and Adult Vocational Education

Program
• State Assistance for Vocational Education Support

Programs by Community-Based Organizations
• Consumer and Homemaking Education Program
• Comprehensive Career Guidance and Counseling

Program
• Business-Labor-Education Partnership for Training

Program
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• National Tech-Prep Education Program
• State-administered Tech-Prep Education Program
• Supplementary State Grants for Facilities and

Equipment and Other Program Improvement
Activities

• Community Education Employment Centers
Program

• Vocational Education Lighthouse Schools Program
• Tribally Controlled Postsecondary Vocational

Institutions Program
• Vocational Education Research Program
• National Network for Curriculum Coordination in

Vocational and Technical Education
• National Center or Centers for Research in

Vocational Education
• Materials Development in Telecommunications

Program
• Demonstration Centers for the Training of

Dislocated Workers Program
• Vocational Education Training and Study Grants

Program
• Vocational Education Leadership Development

Awards Program
• Vocational Educator Training Fellowships Program
• Internships for Gifted and Talented Vocational

Education Students Program
• Business and Education Standards Program
• Blue Ribbon Vocational Education Program
• Educational Programs for Federal Correctional

Institutions
• Vocational Education Dropout Prevention Program
• Model Programs of Regional Training for Skilled

Trades
• Demonstration Projects for the Integration of

Vocational and Academic Learning Program
• Cooperative Demonstration Programs
• Bilingual Vocational Training Program
• Bilingual Vocational Instructor Training Program
• Bilingual Materials, Methods, and Techniques

Program

(Federal Perkins Loans authorized under Part E of
Title IV of the Higher Education Act must be handled in
accordance with other Title IV income.)

Section 5(d)(3) of the Food Stamp Act, as amended
by P. L. 101-624, Food, Agriculture, Conservation and
Trade Act of 1990, Title XVIII, Mickey Leland Memorial
Domestic Hunger Relief Act, 11/28/90, and P. L. 102-237,
Food, Agriculture, Conservation, and Trade Act
Amendments of 1991, Section 903, provides that educational
monies are excluded from income:

• when they are awarded to a person enrolled at a
recognized institution of post-secondary education,

at a school for the handicapped, in a vocational
education program, or in a program that provides
for completion of a secondary school diploma or
obtaining the equivalent thereof,

• to the extent that they do not exceed the amount
used for or made available as an allowance
determined by such school, institution, program, or
other grantor, for tuition, mandatory fees (including
the rental or purchase of any equipment, materials,
and supplies related to the pursuit of the course of
study involved), books, supplies, transportation,
and other miscellaneous personal expenses (other
than living expenses), of the student incidental to
attending such school, institution, or program, and 

• to the extent loans include any origination fees and
insurance premiums.)

9. P. L. 99-576, Veterans' Benefits Improvement and
Healthcare Authorization Act of 1986, Section 303(a)(1), 8/
7/86, which amended Section 1411(b) and 1412(c) of the
Veterans' Educational Act of 1984 (GI Bill) provides that
any amount by which the basic pay of an individual is
reduced under this subsection shall revert to the Treasury
and shall not, for purposes of any Federal law, be considered
to have been received by or to be within the control of such
individual.  Title 38 of the USC, Chapter 30, Section 1411
refers to basic educational assistance entitlement for service
on active duty and Section 1412 refers to basic educational
assistance entitlement for service in the Selected Reserve.
(Section 216 of P. L. 99-576 authorized stipends for
participation in study of Vietnam-era veterans' psychological
problems.  These payments are not excluded by law.)

10. P. L. 100-175, Section 166, Older Americans Act,
11/29/87.  Funds received by persons 55 and older under the
Senior Community Service Employment Program under
Title V of the Older Americans Act are excluded from
income.  Each State and eight organizations receive Title V
funds.  The organizations that receive some Title V funds are
as follows:

Green Thumb
National Council on Aging
National Council of Senior Citizens
American Association of Retired Persons
U.S. Forest Service
National Association for Spanish Speaking Elderly
National Urban League
National Council on Black Aging

11. P. L. 100-242, Section 126(c)(5)(A), 11-6-87, The
Housing and Community Development Act of 1987,
excludes most increases in the earned income of a family
residing in certain housing while participating in HUD
demonstration projects authorized by section 126.
Demonstration projects are authorized by this law for
Charlotte, North Carolina, and 10 additional locations.  The



EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 10, SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2000

1301

affected regional offices will be contacted individually
regarding these projects.

12. P. L. 100-383, section 105(f)(2), Wartime
Relocation of Civilians, 8/10/88 (the Civil Liberties Act of
1988).  Payments to U.S. citizens of Japanese ancestry and
permanent resident Japanese aliens or their survivors and
Aleut residents of the Pribilof Islands and the Aleutian
Islands West of Unimak Island are excluded from income
and resources.

13. P. L. 100-435, Section 501, 9/19/88, which
amended Section 17(m)(7) of the Child Nutrition Act of
1966.  Under WIC demonstration project, coupons that may
be exchanged for food at farmers' markets are excluded from
income and resources.

14. P. L. 101-201, Agent Orange Compensation
Exclusion Act, 12/6/89.  All payments from the Agent
Orange Settlement fund or any other fund established
pursuant to the settlement in the Agent Orange product
liability litigation are excluded from income and resources
retroactive to January 1, 1989.  The disabled veteran will
receive yearly payments.  Survivors of deceased disabled
veterans will receive a lump-sum payment. These payments
were disbursed by the AETNA insurance company.

P. L. 101-239, 12/19/89, the Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act of 1989, Section 10405, also excluded
payments made from the Agent Orange settlement fund or
any other fund established pursuant to the settlement in the
In re Agent Orange product liability litigation, M.D.L. No.
381 (E.D.N.Y.) from income and resources in determining
eligibility for the amount of benefits under the Food Stamp
Program.

(Note: P. L. 102-4, Agent Orange Act of 1991, 2/6/
91, authorized veterans' benefits to some veterans with
service connected disabilities resulting from exposure to
agent orange.  Most of the eligible veterans received a lump
sum payment for retroactive benefits due them, followed by
regular monthly payments.  The lump sum payment is
excluded as income but the subsequent monthly payments
are counted as unearned income.  These payments from the
Department of Veterans Affairs are issued by the U.S.
Treasury.  These VA payments are not excluded by law.)

15. P. L. 101-426, Section 6(h)(2), the Radiation
Exposure Compensation Act, dated October 15, 1990,
excludes payments made under this public law from food
stamp income and resources.

16. P. L. 101-508, 11/5/90, the Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act of 1990, Title XI Revenue Provisions,
Section 11111, Modifications of Earned Income Tax Credit,
subsection (b) provides that any Federal earned income tax
credit shall not be treated as income and shall not be taken
into account in determining resources for the month of its
receipt and the following month.  This provision was
effective with taxable years beginning after December 31,
1990.

The September 1988 amendments to the Food
Stamp Act require the exclusion from income of any
payment made to the household under section 3507 of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (relating to advance payment
of earned income credit).  The August 1993 amendments to
the Food Stamp Act require the exclusion from resources of
any earned income tax credits received by any member of
the household for a period of 12 months from receipt if such
member was participating in the food stamp program at the
time the credits were received and participated in such
program continuously during the 12-month period.

17. P. L. 101-610, Section 177(d), 11/16/90, National
and Community Service Act (NCSA) of 1990, provides that
Section 142(b) of the JTPA applies to projects conducted
under Title I of the NCSA as if such projects were conducted
under the JTPA.  See item 6 above for the JTPA income
exclusion.  Title I includes three Acts: (1) Serve-America:
The Community Service, Schools and Service-Learning Act
of 1990, (2) the American Conservation and Youth Service
Corps Act of 1990, and (3) the National and Community
Service Act.  There are about 47 different NCSA programs,
and they vary by State.  Most of the payments are made as a
weekly stipend or for educational assistance.  The Higher
Education Service-Learning program and the AmeriCorps
umbrella program come under this Title.  The National
Civilian Community Corps (NCCC) is a federally managed
AmeriCorps program.  The Summer for Safety program is an
AmeriCorps program under which participants earn a
stipend and a $1000 post-service educational award.  The
National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993, P.L.
103-82, 9/23/93, amended the National and Community
Services Act of 1990 but it did not change the exclusion.  

18. P.S. 101-625, section 22(i), Cranston-Gonzales
National Affordable Housing Act, dated 11/28/90 (42 USCS
1437t(i)) provides that,

(i)  Treatment of Income - No service provided to a
public housing resident under this section [Family
Investment Centers] may be treated as income for purposes
of any other program or provision of State or Federal law. 

This exclusion applies to services such as child
care, employment training and counseling, literacy training,
computer skills training, assistance in the attainment of
certificates of high school equivalency and other services.  It
does not apply to wages or stipends. 

This same public law, Section 522Ii)(4), excludes
most increases in the earned income of a family residing in
certain housing while participating in HUD demonstration
projects authorized by this public law.  Demonstration
projects are authorized by this law for Chicago, Illinois, and
3 other locations.  The affected regional offices will be
contacted individually regarding these projects. 

19. P. L. 102-550, Housing and Community
Development Act of 1992, Section 456(e) provides that
payments made under the Youthbuild Program are to be
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treated like JTPA payments.  Therefore they should be
excluded from income in accordance with item 6 above.  

20. P. L. 102-586, signed 11/4/92, Section 8, amended
the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act
Amendments of 1992 by adding a new Section 658S to
exclude the value of any child care provided or arranged (or
any amount received as payment for such care or
reimbursement for costs incurred for such care) under this
subchapter from income for purposes of any other Federal or
Federally-assisted program that bases eligibility, or the
amount of benefits, on need.  (These payments are made
under the Social Security Act, as amended.)

21. P. L. 103-286, dated 8/1/94, Section 1 (a) provides
in part that:

Payments made to individuals because of their
status as victims of Nazi persecution shall be disregarded in
determining eligibility for and the amount of benefits or
services to be provided  under any Federal or federally
assisted program which provides benefits or services based,
in whole or in part, on need. 

22. P. L. 103-322, section 230202, dated 9/13/94,
amended Section 1403 of the Crime Act of 1984 (42 U.S.C.
10602) to provide in part that:

(e) Notwithstanding any other law, if the
compensation paid by an eligible crime victim compensation
program would cover costs that a Federal program, or a
federally financed State or local program, would otherwise
pay,  

(1) such crime victim compensation program
shall not pay that compensation; and 

(2) the other program shall make its payments
without regard to the existence of the crime victim
compensation program.

Based on this language, payments received under
this program must be excluded from income and resources
for food stamp purposes.

23. P. L. 104-193, section 103(a), dated 8/22/96,
amended Section 404(h) of Part A of Title IV of the Social
Security Act to provide that for the purpose of determining
eligibility to receive, or the amount of, any benefit
authorized by the Food Stamp Act, funds (including interest
accruing) in an individual development account under the
TANF block grant program shall be disregarded with respect
to any period during which such individual maintains or
makes contributions into such an account.

24. P.L. 104-204, section 1804(d), dated 9/26/96
provides that:

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the
allowance paid to a child under this section shall not be
considered income or resources in determining eligibility for
or the amount of benefits under any Federal or federally
assisted program.

A monthly allowance (from $200 - $1200) is paid
to a child of a Vietnam veteran for any disability resulting

from spina bifida suffered by such child.

Part B - AMERICAN INDIAN OR ALASKA NATIVE
Usually a law will authorize payments to members of a

tribe or band, and the law will apply to the members enrolled
in the tribe or band wherever they live. However, items 2, 3,
and 4 are general laws, and they apply to all tribes.  The
individuals should have documentation showing the type of
payment and where it originated.

1. P. L. 92-203, section 29, dated 1/2/76, the Alaska
native Claims Settlement Act, and Section 15 of P. L. 100-
241, 2/3/88, the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act
Amendments of 1987 - All compensation (including cash,
stock, partnership interest, land, interest in land, and other
benefits) received under this Act are excluded from income
and resources.

2. 25 USCA 640-d-22 (P.L. 93-531, section 22, dated
12/22/74) provides in part that the availability of financial
assistance to any Navajo or Hopi Indian pursuant to 25
USCS § 460d-460d-31 may not be considered as income or
resources or otherwise used as the basis for denying or
reducing the financial assistance or other benefits to which
such household or member would otherwise be entitled to
under the Social Security Act or any other Federal or
federally assisted program.

25 USCS 1407 Judgment Funds (as amended by P.
L. 93-134 and P. L. 97-458) provides that:

None of the funds [appropriated in satisfaction of
judgements of the Indian Claims and Commission or Claims
Court in favor of any Indian tribe, band, etc.] which--

(1) are distributed per capita or held in trust
pursuant to a plan approved under the provisions of this Act
[25 USCS §§ 1401 et seq.], or

(2) on the date of enactment of this Act
[enacted Jan. 12, 1983], are to be distributed per capita or are
held in trust pursuant to a plan approved by Congress prior to
the date of enactment of this Act [enacted Jan. 12, 1983], or

(3) were distributed pursuant to a plan
approved by Congress after December 31, 1981 but prior to
the date of enactment of this Act [enacted Jan. 12, 1983], and
any purchases made with such funds, including all interest
and investment income accrued thereon while such funds are
so held in trust, shall be subject to Federal or State income
taxes, nor shall such funds nor their availability be
considered as income or resources nor otherwise utilized as
the basis for denying or reducing the financial assistance or
other benefits to which such household or member would
otherwise be entitled under the Social Security Act [42
USCS § 301 et seq.] or, except for per capita shares in excess
of $2,000, any Federal or federally assisted program.

The $2,000 amount applies to each payment made
to each person.  Initial purchases made with exempt
payments distributed between January 1, 1982 and January
12, 1983, are excluded from resources to the extent that
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excluded funds were used.
3. P. L. 98-64, 8/2/83, applied the exclusion in 25

USCS 1407 to per capita payments from funds which are
held in trust by the Secretary of Interior (trust fund
distributions) for an Indian tribe.  (Per capita payments may
be authorized for specific tribes under other public laws.)

4. 25 USCS 1408 (as amended by P. L. 93-134, P. L.
97-458, and P. L. 103-66, Section 13736, 10/7/93) provides
that interests of individual Indians in trust or restricted lands
shall not be considered a resource and up to $2,000 per year
of income received by individual Indians that is derived from
such interests shall not be considered income in determining
eligibility for assistance under the Social Security Act or any
other Federal or federally assisted program.  Interests
include the Indian's right to or legal share of the trust or
restricted land and any income accrued from the funds in
trust or the restricted lands.  The exclusion applies to each
individual Indian than has an interest.  The income exclusion
applies for both eligibility and benefit level purposes for
food stamp purposes.  The income exclusion applies to
calendar years. 

5. P. L. 93-531, section 22 - Relocation assistance
payments to members of the Navajo and Hopi Tribes are
excluded from income and resources.

6. P. L. 94-114, section 6, 10/17/75 - Income derived
from certain submarginal land held in trust for certain Indian
tribes is excluded from income and resources.  The tribes
that may benefit are:

Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe of 
Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin

Blackfeet Tribe
Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma
Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe
Crow Creek Sioux Tribe
Lower Brule Sioux Tribe
Devils Lake Sioux Tribe
Fort Belknap Indian Community
Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes
Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior 
Chippewa Indians
Keweenaw Bay Indian Community
Minnesota Chippewa Tribe
Navajo Tribe
Oglala Sioux Tribe
Rosebud Sioux Tribe
Shoshone-Bannock Tribes
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe

7. P. L. 94-189, Section 6, 12/31/75 - Funds
distributed per capita to the Sac and Fox Indians or held in
trust are excluded from income and resources.  The funds are
divided between members of the Sac and Fox Tribe of
Oklahoma and the Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississippi in
Iowa.  The judgments were awarded in Indian Claims
Commission dockets numbered 219, 153, 135, 158, 231, 83,

and 95.
8. P. L. 94-540 - Payments from the disposition of

funds to the Grand River Band of Ottawa Indians are
excluded from income and resources.

9. P. L. 95-433, section 2 - Indian Claims Commission
payments made pursuant to this Public Law to the
Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakima Indian Nation
and the Apache Tribe of the Mescalero Reservation are
excluded from income and resources.

10. 25 USCS 1931 Indian Child Welfare (P. L. 95-608,
11/8/78), subparagraph (a) provides for child and family
service grant programs on or near reservations in the
preparation and implementation of child welfare codes.
Such programs may include, but are not limited to, family
assistance, including homemaker and home counselors, day
care, after school care, and employment, recreational
activities, and respite care; home improvement; the
employment of professional and other trained personnel to
assist the tribal court in the disposition of domestic relations
and child welfare matters; and education and training of
Indians; including tribal court judges and staff, in skills
relating to child and family assistance and service programs.
Subparagraph (b) provides that assistance under 25 USCS
1901 et seq. shall not be a basis for the denial or reduction of
any assistance otherwise authorized under any federally
assisted programs.  (Similar off-reservation programs are
authorized by 25 USCS 1932.  We have asked the Office of
General Counsel if the exclusion applies to these programs.)

11. P. L. 96-420, section 9(c), 10/10/80, Maine Indian
Claims Settlement Act of 1980 - Payments made to the
Passamaquoddy Tribe, the Penobscot Nation, and the
Houlton Band of Maliseet are excluded from income and
resources.

12. P. L. 97-403 - Payments to the Turtle Mountain
Band of Chippewas, Arizona are excluded from income and
resources.

13. P. L. 97-408 - Payments to the Blackfeet,
Grosventre, and Assiniboine tribes, Montana, and the
Papago, Arizona, are excluded from income and resources.

14. P. L. 98-123, Section 3, 10/13/83 - Funds
distributed under this Act to members of the Red Lake Band
of Chippewa Indians are excluded from income and
resources.  Funds were awarded in docket number 15-72 of
the United States Court of Claims.  

15. P. L. 98-124, Section 5 - Per capita and interest
payments made to members of the Assiniboine Tribe of the
Fort Balknap Indian Community, Montana, and the
Assiniboine Tribe of the Fort Peck Indian Reservation,
Montana, under this Act are excluded from income and
resources.  Funds were awarded in docket 10-81L.

16. P. L. 98-500, Section 8, 10/17/84, Old Age
Assistance Claims Settlement Act, provides that funds made
to heirs of deceased Indians under this Act shall not be
considered as income or resources nor otherwise used to
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reduce or deny food stamp benefits except for per capita
shares in excess of $2,000.

17. P. L. 99-146, Section 6(b), 11/11/85 - Funds
distributed per capita or held in trust for members of the
Chippewas of Lake Superior are excluded from income and
resources.  Judgements were awarded in Dockets Numbered
18-S, 18-U, 18-C, and 18-T.

Dockets 18-S and 18-U are divided among the
following reservations.

Wisconsin:
Bad River Reservation
Lac du Flambeau Reservation
Lac Courte Oreilles Reservation
Sokaogon Chippewa Community
Red Cliff Reservation
St. Croix Reservation

Michigan:
Keweenaw Bay Indian Community (L'Anse,

Lac Vieux Desert, and Ontonagon Bands)
Minnesota:

Fond du Lac Reservation
Grand Portage Reservation
Nett Lake Reservation (including Vermillion

Lake and Deer Creek)
White Earth Reservation

Under dockets 18-C and 18-T funds are given to the
Lac Courte Oreilles Band of the Lake Superior Bands of
Chippewa Indians of the Lac Courte Oreilles Reservation of
Wisconsin, the Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe
of Chippewa Indians of the Bad River Reservation, the
Sokaogon Chippewa Community of the Mole Lake Band of
Chippewa Indians, and the St. Croix Chippewa Indians of
Wisconsin.

18. P. L. 99-264, White Earth Reservation Land
Settlement Act of 1985, 3/24/86, Section 16 excludes
moneys paid under this Act from income and resources.
This Act involves members of the White Earth Band of
Chippewa Indians in Minnesota.

19. P. L. 99-346, Section 6(b)(2) - Payments to the
Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan are excluded
from income and resources.

20. P. L. 99-377 - Section 4(b), 8/8/86, - Funds
distributed per capita to the Chippewas of the Mississippi or
held in trust under this Act are excluded from income and
resources.  The judgements were awarded in Docket Number
18-S.  The funds are divided by reservation affiliation for the
Mille Lac Reservation, Minnesota; White Earth Reservation,
Minnesota; and Leech Lake Reservation, Minnesota.

21. P. L. 101-41, 6/21/89, the Puyallup Tribe of Indians
Settlement Act of 1989, Section 10(b) provides that nothing
in this Act shall affect the eligibility of the Tribe or any of its
members for any Federal program.  Section 10(c) provides
that none of the funds, assets, or income from the trust fund

established in Section 6(b) shall at any time be used as a
basis for denying or reducing funds to the Tribe or its
members under any Federal, State, or local program.  (The
Puyallup Tribe is located in the State of Washington.)

22. P. L. 101-277, 4/30/90, funds appropriated in
satisfaction of judgements awarded to the Seminole Indians
in dockets 73, 151, and 73-A of the Indian Claims
Commission are excluded from income and resources except
for per capita payments in excess of $2,000.  Payments were
allocated to the Seminole Nation of Oklahoma, the Seminole
Tribe of Florida, the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida,
and the independent Seminole Indians of Florida.

23. P. L. 101-503, Section 8(b), Seneca Nation
Settlement Act of 1990, dated November 3, 1990, provides
that none of the payments, funds or distributions authorized,
established, or directed from this Act, and none of the
income derived therefrom, shall affect the eligibility of the
Seneca Nation or its members for, or be used as a basis for
denying or reducing funds under, any Federal program.

24. P.L. 103-436, 11/2/94, Confederated Tribes of the
Colville Reservation Grand Coulee Dam Settlement Act,
Section 7(b), provides that payments made pursuant to that
Act are totally excluded from income and resources for food
stamps purposes. 

K. Payments or allowances made for the purpose
of providing energy assistance under any Federal Law,
(LIHEAP), including HUD and FMHA (Farmers Home
Administration) reimbursements, are excluded as income.

Federal or State one-time assistance for
weatherization or emergency repair or replacement of
heating or cooling devices are also excluded as income.

L. Cash donations based on need received on or
after February 1, 1988 from one or more private nonprofit
charitable organizations, but not to exceed $300 in a Federal
fiscal year quarter.

M. Earned income tax credit payments received
either as a lump sum or payments under section 3507 of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (relating to advance payment
of earned income tax credits received as part of the paycheck
or as a reduction in taxes that otherwise would have been
paid at the end of the year).

N. Any payment made to an E & T participant for
costs that are reasonably necessary and directly related to
participation in the E & T program.  These costs include, but
are not limited to, dependent care costs, transportation, other
expenses related to work, training or education, such as
uniforms, personal safety items or other necessary
equipment, and books or training manuals. These costs shall
not include the cost of meals away from home.

O. Governmental foster care payments received
by households with foster care individuals who are
considered to be boarders in accordance with DSSM 9013.3.

P. Income of an SSI recipient necessary for the
fulfillment of a plan for achieving self-support (PASS).  The
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income set aside for this special PASS account is excluded
for income purposes.

Q. Marines living on base in adequate quarters are
not entitled to receive a Basic Allowance for Quarters
(BAQ) even though the amount is listed under entitlements
and a deduction is shown for the same amount under
deductions on the Leave and Earnings Statement (LES).  For
these cases the BAQ is disregarded under the entitlement and
deduction sections when verified.  Staff must advise
applicants to get a letter from their commanding officer
stating that the LES is incorrect, the applicant is not entitled
to the BAQ and does not receive it.

R. In HUD's Family Self-Sufficiency (FSS)
Program, participants sign a contract to achieve economic
independence within five years.  As the participant's
employment income rises, a portion of the rent increases
they would normally be charged would be waived.  The
amount waived will be credited to an escrow account to be
given to the family at the end of the program.

The participating household must fulfill its
employment obligation under the contract or HUD may
terminate the FSS supportive services.  The family will then
forfeit any escrow account funds.

While the funds are in the FSS Escrow Account,
they are totally unavailable to the household and excluded as
a resource.  When the household achieves economic
independence and is given the escrow account, the money
will be excluded as income as a nonrecurring lump-sum
payment.

S. The earnings of temporary census workers
from the Bureau of the Census is not counted as income for
food stamp purposes effective April 1, 2000 through
December 31, 2000.

DSSM 11003.9.1  Countable Income

A. All sources of income, earned (such as wages) and
unearned (such as child support, social security pensions,
etc.) are countable income when determining a family’s
monthly gross income. Monthly income typically includes
the following:

1. Money from wages or salary, such as total
money earnings from work performed as an employee,
including wages, salary, Armed Forces pay, commissions,
tips, piece rate payments and cash bonuses earned before
deductions are made for taxes, bonds, pensions, union dues,
etc.

2. Gross income from farm or non-farm self-
employment is determined by subtracting business expenses
such as supplies, equipment, etc. from gross proceeds. The
individual’s personal expenses (lunch, transportation,
income tax, etc.) are not deducted as business expenses but
are deducted by using the ABC standard allowance for work
connected expenses. In the case of unusual situations (such

as parent/caretaker just beginning business), refer to DSSM
9605 and 9701 through 9702.3.

3. Social Security pensions, public assistance
payments, net rental income, unemployment compensation,
workers compensation, pensions, annuities, alimony and
child support.

B. Monies from the following sources are not counted:
1. per capita payments to or funds held in trust for

any individual in satisfaction of a judgment of Indian Claims
Commissions or Court of Claims;

2. payments made pursuant to the Alaska Native
Claims Settlement Act to the extent such payments are
exempt from taxation under ESM (a) of the Act;

3. money received from the sale of property such
as stocks, bonds, a house or a car (unless the person was
engaged in the business of selling such property, in which
case the net proceeds are counted as income from self-
employment);

4. withdrawal of bank deposits;
5. money borrowed or given as gifts;
6. capital gains;
7. the value of USDA donated food and Food

Stamp Act of 1964 as amended;
8. the value of supplemental food assistance

under the Child Nutritional Act of 1966 and the special food
service program for children under the National School
Lunch Act, as amended;

9. any payment received under the Uniform
Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition
Policies Act of 1970;

10. earnings of a child under the age of 14 years of
age;

11. loans or grants such as scholarships obtained
and used under  conditions that preclude their use for current
living costs;

12. any grant or loan to any undergraduate student
for educational   purposes made or insured under any
program administered by the Commissioner of Education
under the Higher Education Act;

13. home produce utilized for household
consumption;

14. all of the earned income of a minor parent who
is a full-time student or part-time student who is working but
is not a full-time employee (such as high school students
who are employed full-time during  summer);

15. payments derived from participation in projects
under the ABC (such as CWEP) program or other job
training programs;

16. all Vista income; and
17. all income derived as a Census taker during the

period between April 1, 2000 and December 31, 2000.
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14710 Income 

Income is any payment from any source whether in
money, goods or services; whether recurring or on a one-
time basis.  Gross income, net income, disregarded income,
excluded income, earned and unearned income are defined
in the policy of each specific program.  Income eligibility
limits vary from program to program.  

For each Medicaid eligibility group and for the
Delaware Healthy Children Program, all wages paid by the
Census Bureau for temporary employment related to Census
2000 activities are excluded from April 1, 2000 through
December 31, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 903(e)(2)(a) (7 Del.C. 903 (e)(2)(a))

Order No. 2000-F-0017

ORDER

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119, The Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control is adopting an
amendment to Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 7 without prior
notice or public hearing to establish new size limits for
recreational fishermen on striped bass.

REASONS FOR EMERGENCY ORDER

The State of Delaware is required to reduce landings of
striped bass that measure 28 inches or greater by 14% in
2000 according to the Fishery Management Plan for striped
bass, as amended, approved by the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission.

The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission did
not approve Delaware's plan to reduce landings of 28 inch
and larger striped bass until February 7, 2000.
Delaware and New Jersey, sharing the Delaware Bay, agreed
to adopt similar regulations to accommodate recreational
fishermen.

The striped bass recreational fishing season will
commence on or before April 1, 2000.

Delaying the implementation of recreational fishing
restrictions will adversely affect the resource and the public

welfare of Delaware fishermen by confusing them with
different regulations than New Jersey fishermen for the same
body of water .

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

This order shall take effect at 12:01 AM on April 1,
2000 and shall remain in effect for 120 days.

PETITIONS FOR RECOMMENDATIONS

The Department will receive, consider and respond to
petitions by any interested person for reconsideration or
revision of this order.  Petitions should be presented to the
Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE  19901.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, the 21st day of March, 2000, that
the above referenced amendment to Tidal Finfish Regulation
No. 7, a copy of which is attached hereto, is adopted
pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119.

Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources

and Environmental Control

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION 7.  STRIPED BASS
POSSESSION SIZE LIMIT; EXCEPTIONS.

a) Notwithstanding, the provisions of §929(b)(1),
Chapter 9, Title 7, Delaware Code or unless otherwise
authorized, it shall be unlawful for any recreational
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any more than
two (2) striped bass from the tidal waters of this State that
measures less than twenty-eight (28) inches in total length in
one day provided one measures no less than twenty-four (24)
inches in total length or more than twenty-eight (28) inches
in total length and one measures no less than twenty-eight
(28) inches in total length.

b) Notwithstanding, the provisions of §929(b)(1),
Chapter 9, Title 7, Delaware code or unless otherwise
authorized, it shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any striped bass
from the tidal waters of this State that measure less than
twenty (20) inches in total length or more than 32 inches in
total length.

c)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any person to possess a striped  bass that measures less than
28 24  inches, total length, unless said striped bass is in one
or more of the following categories:

1) It has affixed, a valid strap tag issued by the
Department to a commercial food fisherman; or

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/fwwel.htm
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2) It was legally landed in another state for
commercial purposes and has affixed a valid tag issued by
said state's marine fishery authority; or

3) It is packed or contained for shipment, either
fresh or frozen, and accompanied by a bill-of-lading with a
destination to a state other than Delaware; or

4) It was legally landed in another state for non
commercial purposes by the person in possession of said
striped bass and there is affixed to either the striped bass or
the container in which the striped bass is contained a tag that
depicts the name and address of the person landing said
striped bass and the date, location, and state in which said
striped bass was landed; or

5) It is the product of a legal aquaculture
operation and the person in possession has a written bill of
sale or receipt for said striped bass.

d) Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful
for any commercial finfisherman to possess any striped bass
for which the total length has been altered in any way prior
to selling, trading or bartering said striped bass.

e) The words "land" and "landed" shall mean to put or
cause to go on shore from  a   vessel.

f) It shall be unlawful for any person, except a
commercial finfisherman authorized to fish during
Delaware’s commercial striped bass fishery, to land any
striped bass that measures less than twenty eight (28) four
(24) inches in total length.

g) It shall be unlawful for a commercial finfisherman
authorized to fish during Delaware’s commercial striped
bass fishery to land any striped bass that measures less than
twenty (20) inches in total length or more than 32 inches in
total length.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3105(a) (24 Del.C. 3105(a))

The Delaware Board of Funeral Services will hold a
public hearing prior to its regularly scheduled meeting on
May 31, 2000 to hear public comment on proposed changes
to its rules and regulations  related to the qualifications for
licensure including requirements for the equivalent of an
Associate Degree in Mortuary Science, the state and national
tests, and the internship in 24 Del. C. §3107(a).   The public
hearing will be held at 9:30 a.m. in conference room A on
the second floor of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Blvd., Dover, DE 19904   Copies of the proposed regulations
can be obtained from Susan Miccio, Division of Professional
Regulation (302-739-4522 ext. 206), at the above address.
Written comments may be submitted to the Board in care of
Susan Miccio at the same address.   The final date to submit
written comments shall be at the scheduled public hearing.  

1.0 Duties of the Officers
2.0 Licensure Requirements
3.0 Federal Trade Commission Regulations
4.0 Establishment Permits
5.0 Duplicate Certificate
6.0 Suspension- Revocation or Lapse of

Funeral Director's License

7.0 Cash Advance
8.0 Code of Ethics
9.0 Continuing Education Regulations
10.0 Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent

or Impaired Professionals

1.0 Duties of the Officers
1.1 The President shall preside at all meetings, call

meetings, sign certificates with other Board members or
other forms that may be required by him or her by law.

1.2 In the absence of the President, the Secretary shall
preside at the meetings and call meetings when the President
is absent.  However, the signatory duties of the President
may not be transferred to the Secretary.

1.3 In accordance with 29 Del.C. §8807, the Division
of Professional Regulation shall maintain and keep all
records of licensed funeral directors in the State of Delaware
issuing a number and date to each license.

1.4 The Division shall also cause to be collected all fees
including license application fees, renewal fees or any other
fee required to be paid in accordance with the provisions of
24 Del.C. Ch. 31, et.seq.

1.5 In accordance with the Freedom of Information
Act, 29 Del.C.  §10004(c), the Division of Professional
Regulation shall publish an agenda of all meetings which
shall include the time, dates and places of said meetings and
an agenda. The Board shall also give public notice of the
regular meetings and its intent to hold an executive session
closed to the public at least seven days in advance.
However, the agenda may be subject to change to include
additional items not on the agenda including executive
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sessions closed to the public which arise at the time of the
Board's meeting.

1.6 The Division of Professional Regulation shall
insure that accurate and detailed minutes of all business to
come before the Board at all Board meetings be transcribed
in accordance with 29 Del.C. §8807 and 24 Del.C. §3103(d).

2.0 Licensure Requirements
2.1 Requirements for licensing of those applying for a

Funeral Director's license in the State of Delaware. The
qualifications of applicants for licensure as funeral director
are contained in 24 Del.C. §3107(a)(1)-(9) and 24 Del.C.
§3109.

2.2 A year of academic training shall consist of at least
thirty (30) semester hours successfully completed by the
applicant at an accredited college or university. Two years of
academic training shall consist of at least sixty (60) semester
hours successfully completed by the applicant at an
accredited college or university.  The applicant shall request
that a copy of an official transcript be sent to the Board.

2.3 2.2 An applicant who has attended a school or
college fully accredited by the American Board of Funeral
Service Education "ABFSE" or its successor and who, after
attending such ABFSE accredited school or college, has
received an Associate degree or its equivalent in Funeral
Services, mortuary science, wherein such "degree" required
the successful completion of at least sixty (60) semester
credit hours, shall be eligible for licensure as a funeral
director in accordance with the educational requirements
contained within 24 Del.C. §3107.  The applicant shall
request that a copy of an official transcript be sent to the
Board.

2.3 The equivalent of an Associate Degree as that term
is used in 24 Del.C. §3107  and herein is a certificate in
mortuary science that required a minimum of thirty (30)
semester credit hours.  In addition to said certificate,
sufficient  semester credit hours earned from a regionally
accredited institution of postsecondary education, so that the
applicant has earned a total of at least sixty (60) semester
credit hours, are required. 

2.4 In order for an applicant to apply for an internship of
one year’s duration under the auspices of a licensed
Delaware Funeral Services practitioner pursuant to 24
Del.C. 3107(a)(4), the applicant shall have certified that he
or she has graduated from an accredited high school or its
equivalent, and has received an Associate Degree in
mortuary science, consisting of sisty (60) credit hours, from
a school fully accredited by the ABFSE or its successor.

2.5 2.4 The Division, upon request of an eligible
applicant  a registered intern or applicant seeking licensure
via reciprocity, shall administer the State examination
required by 24 Del.C. §3107(a)(3)  based solely upon the
laws and regulations of Delaware which may govern, impact
on, and relate to the profession including preneed funeral

service contracts, consumer protection law and regulations,
and laws and regulations governing crematories and
cemeteries.  An applicant for full licensure, whether via
initial or reciprocal licensure, prior to applying for the
Division’s test based upon the law and regulations of
Delaware (“State” examination) shall first sit for and
successfully complete the national examination required by
24 Del.C. 3105 (a)(3), the written examination prepared by a
national professional organization recognized by the ABFSE
by a passing score determined by the organization preparing
the test recognized by the ABFSE. shall be deemed to have
successfully passed the state examination  with a minimum
grade of 70%. The national examination required by 24
Del.C. §3107(a)(2) may be taken before or during the
internship.

2.6 2.5 As required by 24 Del.C. §3107(a)(4), an
applicant other than one seeking licensure via reciprocity
shall satisfactorily complete an internship of one year’s
duration in a licensed Delaware funeral establishment under
the auspices of a licensed Delaware funeral service
practitioner. An applicant must successfully complete the
required total of sixty (60) semester hours of academic
training prior to beginning the internship.  An application to
sit for the State examination shall be accompanied by a
notarized statement from the Funeral Service Practitioner
under whom the applicant “intern” as defined by 24 Del.C.
3101(8) served his internship.  The notarized statement shall
attest that the applicant has concluded his/her internship and
submitted to the Board satisfactory evidence of the
completion of twenty-five (25) embalming reports and four
(4) completed quarterly work reports.   In order for an
applicant to apply for an internship, the applicant shall have
certified on a form approved by the Board that he or she has
graduated from an accredited high school or its equivalent,
and has received an Associate Degree or its equivalent in
mortuary science, consisting of sixty (60) credit hours, from
a school fully accredited by the ABFSE or its successor.
Satisfactory completion of an internship requires a minimum
of twenty-five (25) embalming reports and four (4)
completed quarterly work reports evidenced by a notarized
statement by the sponsor.  An intern may be given one
extension of  his or her internship for an additional year. 

2.7 The State examination shall consist of questions
pertaining to the law and regulations of the State of
Delaware and which may govern, impact on, and relate to
the profession including preneed funeral services contracts,
consumer protection law and regulations, and laws and
regulations governing crematories and cemeteries.  An
applicant shall be deemed to have successfully passed the
“state examination” with a minimum grade of 70%. 

3.0 Federal Trade Commission Regulations
A licensed funeral director in the State of Delaware

shall comply with all Federal Trade Commission
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Regulations governing the pricing of funeral services and
merchandise and the method of payment for funeral services
as defined under 24 Del.C. §3101(7).  Upon the issuance of a
funeral director's license, a licensed funeral director
represents that he/she is familiar with all Federal Trade
Commission rules and regulations and shall abide by the
same. A licensee may be subject to discipline pursuant to 24
Del.C. Ch.31, et seq. if these rules or regulations have been
violated by the licensee.

4.0 Establishment Permits
4.1 The requirements for the issuance, continuance, and

proper maintenance of a funeral establishment permit are
contained in 24 Del.C. §3117.  In accordance with 24 Del.C.
§3117(a)(2), the funeral establishment shall be conducting
funeral services from a building that is appropriate as
defined in 24 Del.C. §3101(5). All establishments, both
newly issued and those grandfathered by 24 Del.C. §3117
(a)(1), shall in said building have preparation rooms which
shall be locked. Licensed funeral directors shall exercise full
control over preparation rooms and supplies.

4.2 All funeral establishments provided a permit in
accordance with the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3117 shall,
in addition to conforming with all safety requirements of the
State Department of Health and Social Services, provide the
following:

4.2.1 A room for the preparation and embalming
of human remains;

4.2.2 Said preparation room shall contain
embalming equipment and supplies.

4.3 Funeral Establishment Permit: Circumstances for
Termination and Continuation.

4.3.1 The statutory requirements for the
issuance of a funeral establishment permit are contained in
24 Del.C. §3117.

4.3.2 To be exempt from the provisions of 24
Del.C. §3117(a)(2), the funeral establishment shall have
been maintained, operated and conducted on a continuous
basis prior to September 6, 1972 until the present date.
Further, only the record owner of the funeral establishment
shall be entitled to obtain said exemption.  No assignment of
the exemption rights contained in 24 Del.C. §3121 (a)(2) is
permitted and no other licensed funeral director may apply
for or be assigned said rights.

4.3.3 If a licensed funeral director relocates or
otherwise moves a funeral establishment that has been
granted an exemption pursuant to the provision of 24 Del.C.
§3117(a)(2) from its original location, the exemption
allowed under 24 Del.C. §3117(a)(2) shall immediately
become null and void.  For purposes of this section the term
"move" or "relocate" is defined as to place such
establishment outside the original building's location at its
exact address of record unless the building where the funeral
establishment permit is contained is renovated.

5.0 Duplicate Certificate
Any licensed funeral director may obtain a duplicate

funeral director's certificate upon proof of satisfactory
evidence to the Board that the original has been lost or
destroyed and a payment of a fee as set by the Division of
Professional Regulation.

6.0 Suspension- Revocation or Lapse of Funeral Director's
License

During any period a licensed funeral director's license
has lapsed, been revoked or suspended by the Board in
accordance with 24 Del.C. §§3111 or 3114, no other
licensed funeral director in the State of Delaware may
register death certificates or secure burial permits for the
licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended or has
lapsed.  Nor shall the licensee whose license has lapsed, been
revoked or suspended by the Board, be able to register death
certificates or secure burial permits.  The Board may notify
the Division of Public Health, the Department of Health and
Social Services, the Medical Examiner's Office or other
appropriate state or federal agency that said funeral director
is prohibited from practicing funeral services as defined by
24 Del.C. Ch. 31.

7.0 Cash Advance
7.1 A licensed funeral director in the State of Delaware

is prohibited from billing or causing to be billed any item
that is referred to as a "cash advance" item unless the net
amount paid for such item is for funeral services in the same
amount as is billed by the funeral director.  A cash advance
item is payment made by the funeral director for the
consumer to a third party including but not limited to
cemetery fees, crematory fees, death certificates and florists.

7.2 The effective date of these regulations is the 6th day
of December, 1989 in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118
(b).

7.3 The following rules are adopted by the board as a
supplement to the Rules and Regulations governing the State
Board of Funeral Services, previously adopted and
promulgated on the 6th day of December, 1989 pursuant to
24 Del.C. §3105 (a)(1) and the Administrative Procedures
Act, 29 Del.C. §10115.

8.0 Code of Ethics
8.1 The following is adopted as the code of ethics for

all funeral service licensees in the State of Delaware.
8.1.1 As funeral directors, we herewith fully

acknowledge our individual and collective obligation to the
public, especially to those we serve, our mutual
responsibilities for the proper welfare of the funeral services
profession.

8.1.2 To the public we pledge: vigilant support
of public health laws; proper legal regulations for the
members of our profession; devotion to high moral and



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 10, SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2000

1311

service standards; conduct befitting good citizens, honesty in
all offerings of service and merchandise to the public and all
business transactions.

8.1.3 To those we serve we pledge: confidential
business and professional relationships; cooperation with the
customs, laws, religions and creeds; observance of all
respect due to the deceased; high standards of confidence
and dignity in conduct of all services; truthful representation
of all services and merchandise.

8.1.4 To our profession we pledge: support of
high educational standards and proper licensing law;
encouragement of scientific research; adherence to sound
business practices; adoption of improved technique;
observance of all the rules of fair competition and
maintenance of favorable personnel relations.

9.0 Continuing Education Regulations
9.1 Board Authority

9.1.1 This rule is promulgated under the
authority of 24 Del.C. §3105 which grants the Board  of
Funeral Services (hereinafter “the Board”) authority to
provide for rules for continuing funeral services education as
a prerequisite for license renewal.

9.2 Requirements
9.2.1 Every licensed funeral director in active

practice shall complete at least 10 hours/credits of approved
continuing education (hereinafter "CE") during the two year
licensure period prior to the time of license renewal.
Licensees who earn more than the required amount of CE
credit hours during a given licensure period may carry over
no more than 50% of the total CE credit hours required for
the next licensure period.

9.2.2 When a Delaware licensee on inactive
status files a written application to return to active practice
with the Board, the licensee shall submit proof of having
completed the required CE credit hours for the period just
prior to the request to return to active practice.

9.2.3 Upon application for renewal of a license,
a funeral director licensee shall submit to the Board proof of
completing the required number of CE credit hours.

9.3. Waiver of the CE Requirement
9.3.1 The Board has the power to waive any part

of the entire CE requirement for good cause if the licensee
files a written request with the Board.  For example,
exemptions to the CE requirement may be granted due to
health or military service.  Application for exemption shall
be made in writing to the Board by the applicant for renewal.
The Board shall decide the merits of each individual case at a
regularly scheduled meeting.

9.3.2 Newly licensed funeral directors,
including those newly licensed by reciprocity, are exempt
during the time from initial licensure until the
commencement of the first full licensure period.

9.4. Continuing Education Program Approval

9.4.1 Each contact hour (at least fifty minutes) is
equivalent to 1.0 CE credit hour.  One college credit hour is
equivalent to 5 CE credit hours.

9.4.2 Eligible program providers or sponsors
include but are not limited to, educational institutions,
govermnent agencies, professional or trade associations and
foundations and private firms.

9.4.3 Sources of CE credits include but are not
limited to the following:

• Programs sponsored by national funeral service
organizations.

• Programs sponsored by state associations.
• Program provided by local associations.
• Programs provided by suppliers.
• Independent study courses for which there is an

assessment of knowledge.
• College courses.
9.4.4 The recommended areas include but are

not limited to the following:
• Grief counseling
• Professional conduct, business ethics or legal

aspects relating to practice in the profession.
• Business management concepts relating to

delivery of goods and services.
• Technical aspects of the profession.
• Public relations.
• After care counseling.
9.4.5 Application for CE program approval shall

include the following:
9.4.5.1 Date and location.
9.4.5.2 Description of program subject,

material and content.
9.4.5.3 Program schedule to time segments in

subject content areas for which approval of, and
determination of credit is required.

9.4.5.4 Name of instructor(s), background,
expertise.

9.4.5.5 Name and position of person making
request for program approval.

9.4.6 Requests for CE program approval shall
be submitted to the Board on the application provided by the
Board.  Application for approval may be made after the
program; however, if the program is not approved, the
applicant will be notified and no credit given.

9.4.7 Approval of CE credits and program
formats by the Committee shall be valid for a period of two
years from the date of approval.  Changes in any aspect of
the approved program shall render the approval invalid and
the presenter will be responsible for making reapplication to
the Committee.

9.4.8 Upon request, the Board shall mail a
current list of all previously approved programs.

9.5. Continuing Education Committee
9.5.1 The Board of Funeral Services shall



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 10, SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2000

1312

appoint a committee known as the Continuing Education
Committee.  The Committee shall consist of the following
who shall elect a chairperson:

9.5.1.1 One (1) Board member (non-
licensed).

9.5.1.2 One (1) non-Board member who shall
be a licensed funeral director who is owner/operator of a
funeral establishment.

9.5.1.3 One (1) non-Board member who shall
be a licensed funeral director who does not own or operate a
funeral establishment.

9.5.2 Membership on this Committee shall be
on a rotating basis, with each member serving a three year
term and may be eligible for reappointment.  The Committee
members shall continue to serve until a new member is
appointed.

9.5.3 The Continuing Education Committee
shall oversee matters pertaining to continuing education and
make recommendations to the Board with regard to approval
of submitted programs for CE by licensees and with regard
to the Board's review of audited licensees.  The Board shall
have final approval on all matters.

9.6 Certification of Continuing Education -
Verification and Reporting

9.6.1 The program provider/sponsor has sole
responsibility for the accurate monitoring of program
attendance. Certificates of attendance shall be supplied by
the program provider/sponsor and be distributed only at the
completion of the program.

9.6.2 Verification of completion of an
independent study program will be made with a student
transcript.

9.6.3 The funeral director licensee shall
maintain all original certificates of attendance for CE
programs for the entire licensure period.  Proof shall consist
of completed CE form provided by the Board and shall be
filed with the Board on or before thirty (30) days prior to the
expiration date of the biennial renewal period.

9.6.4 Applications for renewal may be audited
by the Board to determine whether or not the recommended
requirements of continuing education have been met by the
licensee.

9.6.5 If a licensee is found to be non-compliant
in continuing education, the licensee's license shall lapse at
the expiration of the present licensing period.  The Board
shall reinstate such license within twelve (12) months of
such lapse upon presentation of satisfactory evidence of
successful completion of continuing education requirements
and upon payment of all fees due.

9.6.6 Programs approved for continuing
education credit by another state funeral board other than
Delaware shall be automatically approved for all Delaware
licensees upon written application and verification of CE
credits by the applicable state board.

10.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

10.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.  

10.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

10.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

10.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

10.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 10, SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2000

1313

10.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

10.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

10.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

10.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

10.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.  

10.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

10.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

10.7 The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public

records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.  

10.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

10.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

10.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

10.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

10.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF LICENSED

PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3604 (24 Del.C. 3604)

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.,
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. §3606(a)(1), the Delaware Board
of Licensed Professional Geologists proposes to revise its
rules and regulations.  Please note that the following Rules
and Regulations are a total rewriting and reordering of
existing regulations, and will supersede and replace any
previously adopted rules and regulations of the Board

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Friday, May 5, 2000 at 10:00 a.m., in the
Second Floor Conference Room B of the Cannon Building,
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861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Mary
Paskey at the above address.  The final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled public hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations or to make comments at the public hearing
should notify Mary Paskey at the above address or by calling
(302) 739-4522, extension 207.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

1.0 Definitions
"Geology" is the science which encompasses the study

of the earth's crust; its history; its constituent minerals,
liquids, gases and consolidated and unconsolidated rock
materials; the natural processes that cause change within the
earth; and the utilization of this knowledge.

"Practice of Geology" is the application of the
principles, theories, laws and body of knowledge
encompassed in the science of geology.  Such application
may take the form of, but is not limited to, consultation,
research, investigation, evaluation, mapping, sampling,
planning of geological projects, works and systems such as
public or private utilities, dams, roads, buildings, processes,
works or projects such as predicting, locating, evaluation,
and exploitation of the occurrence of petroleum, natural gas,
energy sources, coal, metallic and non-metallic minerals,
water, rocks, and other natural resources.  A person shall be
construed to practice who by verbal claim, sign
advertisement or in any other way represents himself to be a
geologist, or holds himself out as able to perform or who
does perform geologic services or work.

"Geologist" is a person qualified by education and
experience to practice geology including specialists in its
various subdisciplines.

"Registered Geologist" (or "Registrant") is a person who
possesses all the qualifications specified under 24 Del.C.
sec. 3605 for registration and who has been issued a
certificate of registration by the Board.

"Responsible Charge" means the individual control and
direction of the practice of geology by the use of initiative,
skill and individual judgment.

"Board" is the Delaware Board of Registration of
Geologists.

2.0 Code of Ethics
2.1 General Provisions:

2.1.1 A geologist shall be guided by the highest
standards of ethics, honesty, integrity, fairness, personal
honor, and professional conduct.

2.1.2 A geologist shall not knowingly permit the

publication or use of his work or name in association with
any unsound or illegitimate venture.

2.1.3 A geologist shall not give a professional
opinion or make a report without being as completely
informed as might be reasonably expected considering the
purpose for which the opinion or report is desired.  All
assumptions on which the results of the report or opinion are
based shall be set forth in the report or opinion.

2.1.4 A geologist shall be as objective as
possible in any opinion, report or other communication he
makes which will be used to induce participation in a
venture.  He shall not make sensational, exaggerated, or
unwarranted statements.  He shall not misrepresent data,
omit relevant data, or fail to mention the lack of data that
might affect the results or conclusions of such opinion,
report or communication.

2.1.5 A geologist shall not falsely or maliciously
attempt to injure the reputation or business of another
geologist.

2.1.6 A geologist shall freely give credit for
work done by others.  A geologist shall not knowingly
accept credit rightfully due to others or otherwise indulge in
plagiarism in oral and written communications.

2.1.7 A geologist having knowledge of the
unethical or incompetent practice of another geologist shall
avoid association with that geologist in professional work.  If
a geologist acquires tangible evidence of the unethical or
incompetent practice of another geologist, he shall submit
the evidence to the Board.

2.1.8 A geologist shall not use the provisions of
24 Del.C. ch. 36 or the Board's regulations to maliciously
prosecute, harass or otherwise burden another geologist with
unfounded or false charges.

2.1.9 A geologist shall endeavor to cooperate
with others in the profession in encouraging the ethical
dissemination of geological knowledge--especially when it
is in the public interest.

2.1.10 A geologist shall not engage in conduct
that involves fraud, dishonesty, deceit or misrepresentation
either directly or through the actions of others.

2.1.11 A geologist shall not discriminate against
any person on the basis of race, creed, sex or national origin.

2.1.12 A geologist shall not aid any person in the
unauthorized practice of geology.

2.1.13 A geologist shall not practice geology in a
jurisdiction where that practice would violate the standards
applicable to geologists in the jurisdiction.

2.2 Provisions Concerning Monetary Matters:
2.2.1 A geologist having, or expecting to have,

any interest in a project or property on which he performs
work, must make full disclosure of the interest to all parties
concerned with the project or property.

2.2.2 A geologist's fee shall be reasonable.  The
factors to be considered in determining the reasonableness of
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a fee include the following:
2.2.2.1 the time and labor required, the

novelty and difficulty of the work involved, and the skill
requisite to perform the service properly;

2.2.2.2 the likelihood, if apparent to the client
or employer, that the acceptance of the particular
employment will preclude other employment of the
geologist;

2.2.2.3 the fee customarily charged in the
area for similar geological services;

2.2.2.4 the total value of the project and the
results obtained;

2.2.2.5 the time limitations imposed by the
client or by the circumstances;

2.2.2.6 the nature and length of the
professional relationship with the client;

2.2.2.7 the experience, reputation, and ability
of the geologist or geologists performing the service; and

2.2.2.8 whether the fee is fixed or contingent.
2.2.3 When the geologist has not regularly

performed services for the client, the basis or rate of the fee
shall be communicated to the client, preferably in writing,
before or within a reasonable time after commencing
services.

2.2.4 A fee may be contingent on the outcome
of a project for which geological services are rendered,
except for a project where a contingent fee is prohibited by
law or professional ethics.  A contingent fee agreement shall
be in writing and shall state the method by which the fee is to
be determined.

2.2.5 A division of fee between geologists or
other professionals who are not associated may be made only
if:

2.2.5.1 the division is in proportion to the
services performed by each geologist or professional or, by
written agreement with the client, each geologist or
professional assumes joint responsibility for the services
performed;

2.2.5.2 the client is advised of and does not
object to the participation of all the geologists and/or other
professionals involved; and

2.2.5.3 the total fee is reasonable.
2.2.6 A geologist shall not accept a concealed

fee for referring an employer or client to a specialist or for
recommending geological services other than his own.  A
geologist who engages or advises a client or employer to
engage collateral services shall use his best judgment to
insure the collateral services are used prudently and
economically.

2.3 Provisions Concerning the Relationship with the
Client:

2.3.1 A geologist shall not undertake, or offer to
undertake, any type of work with which he is not familiar or
competent by reason of a lack of training or experience

unless he makes full disclosure of his lack of training or
experience to the appropriate parties prior to undertaking the
work.

2.3.2 A geologist shall protect to the fullest
extent the employer's or client's interest so far as is
consistent with the public welfare and professional
obligations and ethics.

2.3.3 A geologist who finds that an obligation to
an employer or client conflicts with professional obligations
or ethics should have the objectionable conditions changed
or terminate the services.

2.3.4 A geologist shall not use either directly or
indirectly any proprietary information which is developed or
acquired as a result of working for an employer or client in
any way that conflicts with the employer's or client's interest
and without the consent of the employer or client.

2.3.5 A geologist who has worked or performed
a service for any employer or client shall not use the
information peculiar to that employment and which is gained
in such employment for his own personal profit unless he is
given written permission to do so or until the employer,
client, or their successor's interest in such information has
changed in such a way that the information is valueless to
him or of no further interest to him.

2.3.6 A geologist shall not divulge confidential
information.  This does not relieve a registered geologist
from the duty to report conditions required by law or
regulation.

2.3.7 A geologist retained by a client shall not
accept, without the client's consent, an engagement by
another if there is a possibility of a conflict between the
interest of the two clients.

2.3.8 A geologist shall advise an employer or
client to retain, and cooperate with, other experts and
specialists whenever the employer's or client's interests are
best served by such sex-vices.

2.3.9 A geologist shall not terminate services to
an employer or client when it will cause immediate jeopardy
to the employer's or client's interests.  The geologist shall
attempt to give due notice of termination.  However, the
geologist may terminate services under any of the following
circumstances:

2.3.9.1 failure to receive compensation or
good evidence indicating compensation will not be received
for services performed;

2.3.9.2 when continued employment will
result in a violation of 24 Del.C. ch. 36 or other illegality;

2.3.9.3 when continued employment will
result in sickness or injury to the geologist or his dependents.

3.0
3.1 No registrant or applicant for registration shall

violate the provisions of the Board's regulations adopted
pursuant to 24 Del.C. sec. 3604(e).
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3.2 The Board may revoke or suspend the certificate of
any registrant who has violated any provision of the Board's
regulations adopted pursuant to 24 Del.C. sec. 3604(e).

3.3 No registrant shall attempt or commit fraud, deceit
or misrepresentation in the process of obtaining registration
for an applicant.

3.4 The Board may suspend or revoke the certificate of
any registrant who has committed fraud, deception or
misrepresentation in applying for registration, or in assisting
another in the process of obtaining registration, under the
provisions of 24 Del.C. ch. 36.

3.5 Any applicant for registration who misrepresents
any qualification or other pertinent information on an
application for registration, or in any other manner misleads
the Board to support an application for registration, shall not
be permitted to apply for registration until a period of one
year has passed from the discovery by the Board of the
misrepresentation.

4.0
4.1 The stamp and seal authorized by the Delaware

State Board of Registration of Geologists shall be of the
design shown here and shall not be less than one and one-
half (1-1/2) inches in diameter.  It may be purchased by the
registrant from any convenient source.

4.2 All reports, drawings, maps or documents involving
the practice of geology that have been prepared, or reviewed
and approved, by a registered geologist and that will become
a matter of public record, or relied upon by any person,
within this state for geological purposes, shall be impressed
with the stamp or seal.  The stamp or seal will indicate that
the registrant has accepted responsibility for the work.

4.3 Any registrant who affixes, or allows to be affixed,
his seal or name to a document or report is responsible for all
work contained therein regardless of whether such work has
been performed by the geologist or a subordinate.

4.4 No person shall stamp or seal any Plans, reports,
specifications, plats, or other documents with the stamp or
seal of a geologist, or in any manner use the title "geologist",
unless such person is duly registered in compliance with 24
Del.C. ch. 36.

4.5 No person shall stamp or seal any plans,
specifications, plats, reports, or other documents with the
stamp or seal of a registered geologist or place his or her
name thereon as a registered geologist if his registration has
been suspended, revoke or has expired.

5.0
5.1 Any person who claims exemption from the

provisions of 24 Del.C. ch. 36 under section 3602(l), shall be
entitled to such exemption so long as his remuneration from
the practice of geology is solely related to the teaching
function.  If such remuneration is processed through his
academic unit, it shall be considered prima facie evidence of

the fact that such work is related to his teaching.  Any person
claiming such exemption shall, in a conspicuous manner at
the conclusion of any report or study bearing his name,
include the statement:

I hereby claim exemption from the requirements of 24
Del.C. ch. 36 (Delaware Geologist Registration Act) and am
not subject to the provisions of that Act and the standards
and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.

Such disclaimer shall not be required on reports or studies
submitted solely to refereed professional journals for
publication.

6.0
6.1 In order to enable the Board to prepare and

maintain a list of persons qualified to practice geology in this
State, the Board shall issue a certificate of registration to any
person whose application for registration has been approved
by the Board under the provisions of 24 Del.C. ch. 36 on or
after February 5, 1975.

6.2 Certificates of registration shall be valid for a
period of two (2) years whereupon they shall become invalid
unless renewed.

6.3 The Board will notify every person registered as a
geologist in the State of the expiration date of his certificate.
Such notice shall be mailed at least thirty (30) days prior to
the expiration date.  The failure of the Board to notify a
registrant of his expiration date does not in any way relieve
the registrant of the requirement to renew his certificate
pursuant to the Board's regulations and 24 Del.C. ch. 36.

6.4 Renewal may be effected by:
6.4.1 filing with the Board, on a form prescribed

and provided by the Board, an application for renewal;
6.4.2 providing such other information as may

be required by the Board to ascertain the registrant's good
standing; and

6.4.3 payment of such fees as may be
authorized.

6.5 The failure of a registrant to renew his certificate of
registration shall cause his registration with the Board to
lapse.  A geologist whose registration has lapsed may renew
his certificate within one year after the expiration date upon
payment of the renewal fee and a late fee which shall be 50%
of the renewal fee.  No geologist will be permitted to renew
his certificate once the one year period has expired unless the
former registrant re-applies under the same conditions which
govern applicants for registration under 24 Del.C. ch. 36.

6.6 No geologist shall practice geology during the
period of time his registration has lapsed.

7.0
7.1 In accordance with 24 Del.C. sec. 3604(g), a non-

resident geologist who is not registered in Delaware may
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practice in this State provided the following requirements
have been met to the satisfaction of the Board:

7.1.1 The non-resident geologist must:
7.1.1.1 provide evidence from a state

recognized by the Board indicating that he is registered and
in good standing in that state;

7.1.1.2 have no place of business in Delaware
and must not be a resident of the State of Delaware; and

7.1.1.3 not practice in the State of Delaware
under the terms of this registration for more than thirty (30)
days in any one (1) calendar year.

7.1.2 The non-resident geologist who is not
registered in Delaware shall notify the Delaware State Board
of Registration of Geologists in writing at the beginning and
end of each term of practice in Delaware.  For purposes of
this Regulation, thirty (30) days shall be defined as thirty
(30) consecutive calendar days. REV. 1/10/90

8.0 Procedures for Practice by Registrants of Other States
8.1 24 Del.C. 3604 (g) and Regulation No. 7 of the

Delaware State Board of Registration of Geologists, allow
one (1) application per year to practice in Delaware for up to
30 consecutive days in a calendar year by registrants of
another State without being registered in Delaware provided
the practitioner is not a resident, does not maintain a place of
business in Delaware, and that the State issuing the
registration has requirements similar to those of Delaware.
Section 3604 (g) and Regulation No. 7 provide the basis for
the Board's procedures.

8.2 A geologist wishing to practice in Delaware under
the provisions of Section 3604(g) and Regulation No. 7 shall
submit a request to practice on a form provided by the
Board.  That form shall request identifying information, the
type and location of the project involved, the starting date
and projected completion date, and the State, title, and
identifying number of the certificate or license tendered in
support of the application.  Evidence of registration or
licensure in good standing shall accompany the application.

8.3 The application may be reviewed by the
Administrative Assistant to the Delaware State Board of
Registration of Geologists who, upon finding the criteria set
forth in the Board's statute and regulation appear to be
satisfied, shall issue a letter-form to the applicant informing
the applicant that the Board grants the applicant permission
and, that the conditions of the statute and regulation must be
observed, and recording the start and latest allowable end
dates (no extensions are permissible), and notifying the
applicant of the requirement to report the date of completion
of work performed.

8.4 Upon completion of the specified work in
Delaware, the short-term practitioner shall be responsible for
notifying the Delaware State Board of Registration of
Geologists that the work permitted under the short-term
recognition provisions has been completed.

8.5 The Delaware State Board of Registration of
Geologists will keep a roster of those States having
substantially similar requirements for registration and review
it periodically. Any short-term permits issued shall be
presented in a list for the Board at each Delaware State
Board of Registration of Geologists meeting.

8.6 Failure to properly apply for short-term recognition,
apparent falsification of any information provided the Board,
and exceeding the time limits specified, in addition to
questions raised by the public served, governmental
agencies, or the standards set forth in the Delaware
Geologist Registration Act shall be bases for filing a
complaint by the Delaware State Board of Registration of
Geologists with the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation and if the Delaware State Board of Registration
of Geologists finds that the aforementioned conditions
apply, the Board will file a complaint with the Director.

8.7 The form provided by the Board shall also include a
certification by the registrant that he/she will consent to the
appointment of the chairperson of the Board of Registration
of Geologists as agent upon whom service may be made for
all actions including disciplinary actions that may arise out
of the practice of geology under this rule, and be bound by
the Delaware law and the Board of Registration of
Geologists' regulations and the Code of Ethics for the
professional practice of geology for any activity pursuant to
this rule.

1.0 Definitions
2.0 Code of Ethics 
3.0 Stamp/Seal Requirements
4.0 Licensing Exemptions
5.0 Issuing & Renewal of License
6.0 Continuing Education
7.0 ASBOG Examination
8.0 Reciprocity

1.0 Definitions
“Board” shall mean the State Board of Geologists

established in 24 Del. C., Ch. 36, §3603.
“Continuing Education Unit” shall mean one contact

hour (60 minutes), subject to the Board’s    
 review.

“Five Years of Experience” shall mean:
Experience acquired in geological work as

described in the 24 Del. C., Ch. 36, §3602 (5) and (6) 
and after completion of academic requirements as stated in
§3608(a)(1).  The Board may discount experience obtained
more than ten (10) years prior to the submission of an
application.  Part-time experience will be granted
proportional to full-time credit.  Three of the five years of
experience must be in a position of responsible charge as
defined in Rule 1(C). 

Experience references must be provided by a
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person knowledgeable and having a background of
 geological work.

The Board will only consider years of experience
documented by references.

“Geologist” shall mean a person who is qualified to
practice professional geology including specialists in its
various subdisciplines.

“Practice of Geology” shall mean any service or
creative work, the adequate performance of which requires
geologic education, training and experience in the
application of the principles, theories, laws and body of
knowledge encompassed in the science of geology.  This
may take the form of, but is not limited to, consultation,
research, investigation, evaluation, mapping, sampling,
planning of geologic projects and embracing such geological
services or work in connection with any public or private
utilities, structures, roads, buildings, processes, works or
projects.  A person shall be construed to practice geology,
who by verbal claim, sign, advertisement or in any other way
represents himself or herself to be a geologist, or who holds
himself or herself out able to perform or who does perform
geologic services or work.

“Responsible Charge” shall mean the individual control
and direction, by the use of initiative, skill and individual
judgment, of the practice of geology.

2.0 Code of Ethics
2.1 General Provisions:

2.1.1 A geologist shall be guided by the highest
standards of ethics, honesty, integrity, fairness, personal
honor, and professional conduct.

2.1.2 A geologist shall not knowingly permit the
publication or use of his/her work or name in association
with any unsound or illegitimate venture.

2.1.3 A geologist shall not give a professional
opinion or make a report without being as completely
informed as might be reasonably expected considering the
purpose for which the opinion or report is desired.  All
assumptions on which the results of the report or opinion are
based shall be set forth in the report or opinion.

2.1.4 A geologist shall be as objective as
possible in any opinion, report or other communication he/
she makes which will be used to induce participation in a
venture.  He/she shall not make sensational, exaggerated, or
unwarranted statements.  He/she shall not misrepresent data,
omit relevant data, or fail to mention the lack of data that
might affect the results or conclusions of such opinion,
report or communication.

2.1.5 A geologist shall not falsely or maliciously
attempt to injure the reputation or business of another
geologist.

2.1.6 A geologist shall freely give credit for
work done by others.  A geologist shall not knowingly
accept credit rightfully due to others or otherwise indulge in

plagiarism in oral and written communications.
2.1.7 A geologist, having knowledge of the

unethical or incompetent practice of another geologist, shall
avoid association with that geologist in professional work.  If
a geologist acquires tangible evidence of the unethical or
incompetent practice of another geologist, he/she shall
submit the evidence to the Board.

2.1.8 A geologist shall not use the provisions of
24 Del. C., Ch. 36 or the Board’s regulations to maliciously
prosecute, harass or otherwise burden another geologist with
unfounded or false charges.

2.1.9 A geologist shall endeavor to cooperate
with others in the profession in encouraging the ethical
dissemination of geological knowledge—especially when it
is in the public interest.

2.1.10 A geologist shall not engage in conduct
that involves fraud, dishonesty, deceit or misrepresentation
either directly or through the action of others.

2.1.11 A geologist shall not discriminate against
any person on the basis of race, creed, sex or national origin.

2.1.12 A geologist shall not aid any person in the
unauthorized practice of geology.

2.1.13 A geologist shall not practice geology in a
jurisdiction where that practice would violate
the standards applicable to geologists in the jurisdiction.

2.2 Provisions Concerning Monetary Matters
2.2.1 A geologist having, or expecting to have,

any interest in a project or property on which
he/she performs work, must make full disclosure of the
interest to all parties concerned with the project or property.

2.2.2 A geologist’s fee shall be reasonable.  The
factors to be considered in determining the reasonableness of
a fee include the following:

2.2.2.1 the time and labor required, the
novelty and difficulty of the work involved, and the skill
requisite to perform the service properly;

2.2.2.2 the likelihood, if apparent to the client
or employer, that the acceptance of the particular
employment will preclude other employment of the
geologist;

2.2.2.3 the fee customarily charged in the
area for similar geological services;

2.2.2.4 the total value of the project and the
results obtained;

2.2.2.5 the time limitations imposed by the
client or by the circumstances;

2.2.2.6 the nature and length of the
professional relationship with the client;

2.2.2.7 the experience, reputation, and ability
of the geologist or geologists performing the service; and

2.2.2.8 whether the fee is fixed or contingent.
2.2.3 When the geologist has not regularly

performed services for the client, the basis or rate of the
fee shall be communicated to the client, preferably in
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writing, before or within a reasonable time after
commencing services.

2.2.4 A fee may be contingent on the outcome
of a project for which geological services are rendered,
except for a project where a contingent fee is prohibited by
law or professional ethics.  A contingent fee agreement shall
be in writing and shall state the method by which the fee is to
be determined.

2.2.5 A division of fee between geologist and
other professionals who are not associated may be made only
if:

2.2.5.1 the division is in proportion to the
services performed by each geologist or professional or, by
written agreement with the client.  Each geologist or
professional assumes joint responsibility for the services
performed;

2.2.5.2 the client is advised of and does not
object to the participation of the geologist and/or other
professionals involved; and 

2.2.5.3 the total fee is reasonable.
2.2.6 A geologist shall not accept a concealed

fee for referring an employer or client to a
 specialist or for recommending geological services other
than his/her own.  A geologist who engages or advises a
client or employer to engage collateral services shall use his/
her best judgement to ensure the collateral services are used
prudently and economically.

2.3 Provisions Concerning The Relationship With The
Client

2.3.1 A geologist shall not undertake, or offer to
undertake, any type of work with which he/she is not
familiar or competent by reason of lack of training or
experience unless he/she makes full disclosure of his/her
lack of training or experience to the appropriate parties prior
to undertaking the work.

2.3.2 A geologist shall protect to the fullest
extent the employer or client’s interest, so far, as is
consistent with the public welfare and professional
obligations and ethics.

2.3.3 A geologist who finds that an obligation to
an employer or client conflicts with professional obligations
or ethics should have the objectionable conditions changed
or terminate the services.

2.3.4 A geologist shall not use either directly or
indirectly any proprietary information which is developed or
acquired as a result of working for an employer or client in
any way that conflicts with the employer’s or client’s interest
and without the consent of the employer or client.

2.3.5 A geologist who has worked or performed
a service for any employer or client shall not use the
information peculiar to that employment and which is gained
in such employment for his/her own personal profit unless
he/she is given written permission to do so or until the
employer, client, or their successor’s interest in such

information has changed in such a way that the information
is valueless to him/her or of no further interest to him/her.

2.3.6 A geologist shall not divulge confidential
information.  This does not relieve a licensed geologist from
the duty to report conditions required by law or regulation.  

2.3.7 A geologist retained by a client shall not
accept, without the client’s consent, an engagement by
another if there is a possibility of a conflict between the
interest of the two clients.

2.3.8 A geologist shall advise an employer or
client to retain, and cooperate with, other experts and
specialists whenever the employer’s or client’s interests are
best served by such services.

2.3.9 A geologist shall not terminate services to
an employer or client when it will cause immediate jeopardy
to the employer’s or client’s interests.  The geologist shall
attempt to give due notice of termination;  however, the
geologist may terminate services under any of the following
circumstances:

2.3.9.1 failure to receive compensation or
good evidence indicating compensation will not be received
for services performed;

2.3.9.2 when continued employment will
result in a violation of 24 Del. C., Ch. 36 or other illegality;

2.3.9.3 when continued employment will
result in sickness or injury to the geologist or his/her
dependents.

2.3.10 A geologist shall not use or abuse drugs,
narcotics, controlled substances, or illegal drugs without a
prescription from a licensed physician.  A geologist shall
also not abuse alcoholic beverages such that it impairs his/
her ability to perform his/her work

3.0 Stamp/Seal Requirements
3.1 The stamp or seal authorized by the Delaware State

Board of Geologists shall be of the design shown here and
shall not be less than one and one-half (1 ½) inches in
diameter.  It may be purchased by the licensee from any
convenient source.
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3.2 All reports, drawings, maps, or similar technical
submissions involving the practice of geology that have been
prepared, or reviewed and approved, by a licensed geologist
and that will become a matter of public record, or relied
upon by any person, within this state for geological
purposes, shall be impressed with the stamp or seal.  The
stamp or seal will indicate that the licensee has accepted
responsibility for the work.

3.3 Any licensee who affixes, or allows to be affixed,
his/her seal or name to a document or report is responsible
for all work contained therein regardless of whether such
work has been performed by the geologist or a subordinate.

3.4 No person shall stamp or seal any plans, reports,
specifications, plats or similar technical submissions with
the stamp or seal of a geologist or in any manner use the title
“geologist,” unless such person is 
duly licensed in compliance with 24 Del. C., Ch. 36.

3.5 No person shall stamp or seal any plans,
specifications, plats, reports, or a similar document with the
stamp or seal of a licensed geologist if his/her license has
been suspended, revoked or has expired.

3.6 Computer files of reports, drawings or similar
technical work involving the practice of geology and that
will become a matter of public record or relied upon by any
person shall include the following statement:

This submission is made in compliance with 24
Del. C., Ch. 36 by (name)___________, P.G., DE
license number ____ on this date
_______________________.

4.0 Licensing Exemption
4.1 Any person who claims exemption from the

provisions of 24 Del. C., Ch. 36 under §3617(a), shall be
entitled to such exemption so long as his/her remuneration
from the practice of geology is solely related to a teaching
function.  If such remuneration is processed through his/her
academic unit, it shall be considered prima facie evidence of
the fact that such work is related to his/her teaching.  Any
person claiming such exemption shall, in a conspicuous
manner at the conclusion of any report or study bearing his/
her name, include the statement:

“I hearby claim exemption from the requirements
of 24 Del. C., Ch. 36 (Delaware Professional
Geologist Act) and am not subject to the provisions
of that Act and the standards and regulations
adopted pursuant thereto.”

Such a disclaimer shall not be required on reports or
studies submitted solely to refereed professional journals for
publications.

Any other geologic work, including consulting, not
directly related to educational activities, shall not be

considered exempt.

5.0 Issuance and Renewal of License
5.1 Each license shall be renewed biennially.  The

failure of the Board to notify a licensee of his/her expiration
date and subsequent renewals does not, in any way, relieve
the licensee of the requirement to renew his/her certificate
pursuant to the Board’s regulations and 24 Del. C., Ch. 36.

5.2 Renewal may be effected by:
5.2.1 filing a renewal form prescribed by the

Board and provided by the Division of Professional
Regulation;

5.2.3 providing other information as may be
required by the Board to ascertain the licensee’s good
standing;

5.2.4 submission of evidence of continuing
education on a form prescribed by the Board and provided
by the Division of Professional Regulation as described in
regulation five;

5.2.5 payment of fees as determined by the
Division of Professional Regulation.

5.3 Failure of a licensee to renew his/her license shall
cause his/her license to expire.  A geologist whose license
has expired may renew his/her license within one year after
the expiration date upon fulfilling items (B) (1-4) above,
certifying that he/she has not practiced geology in Delaware
while his/her license has expired, and paying the renewal fee
and a late fee which shall be 50% of the renewal fee.

5.4 No geologist will be permitted to renew his/her
license once the one-year period has expired.

5.5 The former licensee may re-apply under the same
conditions that govern applicants for licensure under 24 Del.
C., Ch. 36.

5.6 No geologist shall practice geology in the State of
Delaware during the period of time that his/her
Delaware license has expired.

6.0 Continuing Education
6.1 The Board will require continuing education as a

condition of license renewal.  Continuing education shall be
waived for the first licensure renewal following the effective
date of the Board’s Rules and Regulations.

6.2 The continuing education period will be from

August 1st to July 31st of each biennial licensing period.
6.3 Each licensed geologist shall complete, biennially,

24 units of continuing education as a condition of license
renewal.  The licensee is responsible for retaining all
certificates and documentation of participation in approved
continuing education programs.  Upon request, such
documentation shall be made available to the Board for
random audit and verification purposes 60 days prior to
renewal.  A continuing education unit is equivalent to one
contact hour (60 minutes), subject to the Board’s review.
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The preparing of original lectures, seminars, or workshops in
geology or related subjects shall be granted one (1) contact
hour for preparation for each contact hour of presentation.
Credit for preparation shall be given for the first presentation
only.

6.4 A candidate for renewal may be granted an
extension of time in which to complete continuing education
hours upon a showing of hardship.  “Hardship” may include,
but is not limited to, disability; illness; extended absence
from the jurisdiction; or exceptional family responsibilities.
Requests for hardship consideration must be submitted to the
Board in writing prior to the end of the licensing period for
which it is made.

6.5 Continuing education shall be prorated for new
licensees in the following manner:  

6.5.1 If at the time of renewal, a licensee has
been licensed for less than one year, no continuing education
is required; if he/she has been licensed for more than one
year, but less than two years, twelve of the twenty-four hours
will be required; if he/she has been licensed for two years or
more the full twenty-four hours is required.

6.6 In his/her personal records, each licensee must keep
proof of attendance for each activity listed on the CE log
form.  If the Board conducts an audit of a licensee’s CE
records, the Board will request the licensee’s documentation
of attendance to the CE event listed on the form.  Failure to
submit proof of attendance during an audit will result in loss
of CE credit for that event.

6.7 Continuing education must be in a field related to
Geology.  Approval will be at the discretion of 
the Board.  CEUs earned in excess of the required credits for
the two- (2) year period may not be carried over to the next
biennial period.

6.8 Categories of Continuing Education & Maximum
Credit Allowed:

6.8.1 Courses – 24 CEUs
6.8.2 Professional Meetings & Activities/Field

Trips – 12 CEUs
6.8.3 Peer Reviewed Publications – 12 CEUs
6.8.4 Presentations – 12 CEUs
6.8.5 Research/Grants – 12 CEUs
6.8.6 Specialty Certifications – 12 CEUs
6.8.7 Home Study Courses – 12 CEUs
6.8.8 Teaching – 12 CEUs
6.8.9 Service on a Geological Professional

Society, Geological Institution Board/Committee or   
Geological State Board – 6 CEUs

6.8.10 For any of the above activities, when it is
possible to claim credit in more than one category, the
licensee may claim credit for the same time period in only
one category.

6.9 Automatic Approval for course work
sponsored by the following Professional Societies:

6.9.1 American Association of Petroleum

Geologists (AAPG)
6.9.2 American Association of Stratigraphic

Palynologists (AASP)
6.9.3 American Geological Institute (AGI) 
6.9.4 American Geophysical Union (AGU)
6.9.5 American Institute of Hydrology (AIH)
6.9.6 American Institute of Professional

Geologists (AIPG)
6.9.7 Association of American State Geologists

(AASG)
6.9.8 Association of Earth Science Editors

(AESE)
6.9.9 Association of Engineering Geologists

(AEG)
6.9.10 Association of Ground Water Scientists &

Engineers (AGWSE) 
6.9.11 Association of Women Geoscientists

(AWG)
6.9.12 Clay Mineral Society (CMS)
6.9.13 Council for Undergraduate Research-

Geology Div. (CUR)
6.9.14 Geologic Society of America (GSA)
6.9.15 Geoscience Information Society (GIS)
6.9.16 International Association of

Hydrogeologists/US National Committee (IAH)
6.9.17 Mineralogical Society of America (MSA)
6.9.18 National Association of Black Geologists

and Geophysicists (NABGG)
6.9.19 National Association of Geoscience

Teachers (NAGT)
6.9.20 National Association of State Boards of

Geology (ASBOG)
6.9.21 National Earth Science Teachers

Association (NESTA)
6.9.22 National Speleological Society (NSS)
6.9.23 Paleontological Research Institution (PRI)
6.9.24 Paleontological Society (PS)
6.9.25 Seismological Society of America (SSA)
6.9.26 Society of Economic Geologists (SEG)
6.9.27 Society of Exploration Geophysicists

(SEG)
6.9.28 Society of Independent Professional Earth

Scientists (SIPES)
6.9.29 Society for Mining, Metallurgy, and

Exploration, Inc. (SME)
6.9.30 Society for Organic Petrology (TSOP)
6.9.31 Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM)
6.9.32 Society of Vertebrate Paleontology (SVP)
6.9.33 Soil Science Society of America (SSSA)
6.9.34 Other professional or educational

organizations as approved periodically by the Board.
6.10 Courses not pre-approved by the Board may be

submitted for review and approval throughout the biennial
licensing period.
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7.0 ASBOG Examination
7.1 An applicant for examination and qualification for a

license as a Geologist shall make application in writing, on
forms provided by the Board, and shall furnish evidence
satisfactory to the Board that he/she has met the pre-
examination requirements as provided for 24 Del. C., Ch. 36,
§3608.  

7.2 An applicant for licensure must have satisfactorily
passed each part of the ASBOG examination with a scaled
score of not less than 70%.

7.3 An applicant’s approval to sit for the ASBOG exam
shall be valid for a period not to exceed two years.

8.0 Reciprocity
8.1 Applicants applying for licensure by reciprocity

must submit the state law and rules and regulations from at
least one state in which they have been licensed.  The Board
will review these documents for substantial similarity to
Delaware’s state law and rules and regulations.

8.2 Applicants, who were originally licensed in another
jurisdiction after June 17, 1998, will be required to have a
passing score (70%) on each part of the ASBOG
examination.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTUTE
PESTICIDES SECTION

Statutory Authority, 3 Delaware Code,
Section 1237 (3 Del.C. 1237)

The Delaware Department of Agriculture, Pesticides
Section, is proposing to amend the Delaware Pesticide
Rules and Regulations, (“Rule”)  Revised, February 10,
1999, and origianlly proposed in the February 2000 issue of
the Delaware Register of Regulations beginning at page
1037.  The amendments are being proposed under legal
authority of 3 Del.C. Chapter 12, §1237.  Persons may
present their views in writing to H. Grier Stayton, Pesticides
Administrator, Delaware Dept. of Agriculture, 2320 S.
duPont Hwy., Dover, DE 19901. A Public Hearing is also
scheduled to receive verbal or written comments and will be
held on April 25, 2000, at 7 p.m., at the Delaware
Department of Agriculture Building, 2320 S. DuPont Hwy.,
Dover, DE. 

The proposed revisions of Sections 4, Registration, and
Section 5, Licensing are the consequence of changes to 3

Del.C. Chapter 12, Pesticide Law, made during the 140th

General Assembly session.  Amendments to Section 4
Registration will provide for a biennial pesticide product

registration period and a fee increase. Amendments to
Section 5, Licensing, will require a pesticide business
license applicant or holder of the license to employ a
certified applicator with a minimum of two years practical
experience pursuant to §1207(c)(1) of the Law.  Section 5
amendments also provide for the option of a one or two year
license period.

The proposed revision of Section 22, Restrictions on
the Use of Pesticides for the Control of Subterranean
Termites, will clarify disclosure requirements and prescribe
a disclosure form for applicators of termiticides.

Copies of the proposed Rules may be obtained by
calling the Department’s Pesticides Section at 1-800-282-
8685.  The comment period for the proposed Rules will
remain opend until May 1, 2000.

SECTION 1   GENERAL

1.01  Scope
These regulations establish general operating rules and

procedures for the enforcement of the Delaware Pesticide
Law, including but not limited to the certification of users of
restricted and general use pesticides.

1.02  Authority
These regulations are issued under the authority of

TITLE 3 PART II CHAPTER 12 of the Annotated Code of
Delaware.
 
1.03  Effective Date

These regulations were amended on February 10, 1999,
in accordance with Title 29, Chapter 101, Annotated Code of
Delaware

1.04  Filing Date
These regulations were filed in the Office of the

Secretary of State on February 10, 1999.

SECTION 2   DECLARATION OF POLICY

3 Del.C. Part II, Chapter 12, Section 1237, places the
enforcement of the Delaware Pesticide Law with the
Department of Agriculture and empowers the Department to
establish regulations.

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Secretary of
Agriculture by 3 Del.C. Part II, Chapter 12, I, John F.
Tarburton, Secretary of Agriculture, do hereby promulgate
the following rules and regulations governing the sale, use
and application of pesticides in Delaware.

SECTION 3   DEFINITIONS

The following words and terms, when used in these
regulations, shall have the following meanings, unless the

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/pest/pest.htm
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context clearly indicates otherwise.  All terms defined by the
Delaware Pesticides Law (3 Del.C., Part II, Chapter 12) are
hereby incorporated by reference in this regulation.

“Accident” means an unexpected, undesirable event
resulting in the presence of a pesticide that adversely affects
man or the environment.

“Brand” means any word, name, symbol, device, or any
combination thereof, which serves to distinguish a pesticide
product manufactured, distributed, sold, or offered for sale
by one person from that manufactured, distributed, sold, or
offered for sale by any other person.

“Certification” means the recognition by the
Department that a person has met the qualification standards
established under Section 8 or Section 9 of these regulations
and has been issued a written certificate from the
Department authorizing them to use pesticides for the
specified type(s) of pest control.

“Competent” means properly qualified to perform
functions associated with pesticide application, the degree of
capability required being directly related to the nature of the
activity and associated responsibility.

“Fumigant” means a gaseous or readily volatilizable
chemical (such as hydrogen cyanide or methyl bromide)
used as a pesticide.

“Fumigation” means the application of a fumigant to
one or more rooms in a structure, or to the entire structure, or
to a localized space within a structure or outside a structure,
such as a box car, aircraft, truck, ship or any object sealed or
covered.  Excluded is the use of a fumigant in or on the soil.

“Grade” means a formulation of a pesticide, except that
the addition of pigments solely for coloration shall not
constitute a change in formulation such as to constitute a
new grade requiring registration.

“Handle pesticides” means to mix, load, apply, or
dispose of pesticides.

“Hazardous waste” means a solid waste, or combination
of solid wastes, which because of its quantity, concentration,
physical, chemical, or infectious characteristics may cause or
significantly contribute to an increase in mortality or an
increase in serious irreversible, or incapacitating, irreversible
illness or poses a substantial present or potential hazard to
human health or the environment when improperly treated,
stored, transported or disposed of, or otherwise managed.
Without limitation, included within this definition are those
hazardous wastes listed in Section 261.31, 261.32 and
261.33 of the State of Delaware Hazardous Waste
Regulations and those solid wastes which otherwise exhibit
the characteristics of a hazardous waste as defined in Part
261 of the State of Delaware Hazardous Waste Regulations.

“LAW” means the Delaware Pesticide Law, 3 Del.C.,
Part II, Chapter 12.

“Regulated pest” means a specific organism considered
by the state or by a Federal Agency to be a pest requiring

regulatory restrictions, regulations or control procedures in
order to protect man or the environment.

“Service vehicle” means any vehicle used by a licensee
to transport pesticides for the purpose of their application.

SECTION 4   REGISTRATION

4.01  PRODUCT REGISTRATION
(a) Every pesticide which is distributed within the State

or delivered for transportation or transported in intrastate
commerce or between points within this State through any
point outside this State shall be registered with the Secretary
subject to the provisions of this law.  Such registration shall
be renewed annually prior to July 1; provided, that R
registration is not required if a pesticide is shipped from one
plant or warehouse to another plant or warehouse operated
by the same person and used solely at such plant or
warehouse as a constituent part to make of a pesticide which
is registered under the provision of an experimental use
permit issued by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

(b) The An applicant for registration for a pesticide
which is federally registered shall file a statement with the
Secretary which shall include:

(1) The name and address of the applicant and the
name and address of the person whose name will appear on
the label, if other than the applicant's.

(2) The name of the pesticide.
(3) Other necessary information required for

completion of the Department’s application for registration
form.

(4) A complete copy of the labeling accompanying
the pesticide and a statement of all claims to be made for it,
including the directions for use.

(5) The use classification as provided in the
"Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act", as
amended.

(6) The EPA product registration number.
(c) The applicant desiring to register a pesticide shall

pay an annual registration fee of twenty five dollars ($25.00)
a biennial registration fee of seventy dollars ($70.00) to the
Delaware Department of Agriculture for each brand or grade
of pesticide to be registered for such applicant.  All such
registrations shall expire on June 30 of any one year continue
in effect until June 30 of the year in which they expire.
Applications received between January 1 and June 30 shall
be registered for the upcoming two year period.
Applications received between July 1 and December 31 will
be registered for a two year period beginning July 1 of the
year in which the application was received.

(d) Any registration approved by the Secretary and in
effect on June 30, for which a renewal application has been
made and the proper fee paid, shall continue in full force and
effect until suspended, or otherwise denied in accordance
with the provisions of Section 1205 of this law the LAW.
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Forms for registration shall be mailed to registrants at least
forty-five days prior to the due date.

(e) If it appears to the Secretary that the composition of
the pesticide is such as to warrant the proposed claims for it
and if the pesticide and its labeling and other material
required to be submitted comply with the requirements of
this law these regulations, he shall register the pesticide.

(f) Pesticide products that are discontinued by a
registrant shall be registered for a period of two years.  Said
two year limit covers the year in which the item is declared
to be discontinued by the registrant and an additional year to
permit time to dispose of shelf stock.  Should the registrant
provide the Department with written notification that shelf
stocks of the product are depleted, the products shall be
exempt from the two year continued registration period.

4.02  EMPLOYEE REGISTRATION
(a) Every licensee shall register with the Department

all employees who handle pesticides.  Registration shall be
made when making an application for a license or within 30
days after employment.  The fee for registering each
employee shall be $25.00.  However, the fee shall be waived
for any employee registration if that employee is certified
under the LAW. 

(b) Each licensee shall be responsible for insuring that
all employees handling pesticides (other than a certified
applicator) have successfully completed a training program
approved by the Department.  Such training shall be
completed within 30 days of employment and before the
employee is registered with the Department.

1. The Department will not approve any training
program that does not include the following subjects:

(i) Pesticide Law and Regulations;
(ii) Label comprehension;
(iii) Safety and emergency procedures;
(iv) Proper pesticide handling, storage and

disposal;
(v) Pest identification and control procedures;
(vi) Pesticide application techniques;
(vii)Environmental and health concerns; and
(viii)Integrated pest management principles

2. Upon request by the Department, each licensee
shall provide written verification that an employee has
completed an approved training program.

(c) The name and address of each such employee shall
be provided to the Department by the licensee.  The
Department shall issue a registration card to those registered.
This registration card shall bear the name and license
number of the employee and shall become null and void
upon termination of employment with the licensee.  This
card is to be carried by the employee during working hours
and is to be displayed upon request.

(d) Written notification of employment termination of
this registered employee with the licensee shall be made to

the Department within 30 days subsequent to termination.
(e) The Department, after due notice, and opportunity

for a hearing may deny, suspend or revoke an employee
registration, if the Department finds the registered employee
has committed any violations of the LAW.

(f) The Department, after due notice and opportunity
for a hearing, may deny an application for employee
registration, if the applicant has committed any violations
under the LAW.

SECTION 5   LICENSING

5.01  All business licensee applicants shall pay an annual fee
of $50.00.

Applicants for a business license shall complete a
signed and notarized application form prescribed by the
Department.  

5.02  All pest control business license numbers shall appear
on all service vehicles used by persons holding a commercial
pesticide applicators license excluding:  7.01 (a) Agriculture
Plant Pest Control; 7.01 (b)Agriculture Animal Pest Control;
7.02 Forest Pest Control; 7.04 Seed Treatment; 7.05 Aquatic
Pest Control; 7.08 Public Health Pest Control; 7.09
Regulatory Pest Control; 7.10 Demonstration and Research
Pest Control.  The license number shall be in bold readable
numbers not less than 2 inches or more than 6 inches high.
The full name of the business licensee shall be displayed on
the vehicle. 
       All business license applicants shall pay an annual fee of
$50.00, or a biennial fee of $100.00. 

5.03 No license shall be issued to any person, nor shall it
remain valid, unless such person is certified or has a certified
applicator in his employ at all times.

5.04 For applicants or holders of a license in categories
7.01(a), 7.02, or 7.07(a-c), at least one person designated as a
certified applicator  under the license shall meet the
experience requirement of §1207(c)(1) of the LAW.

5.05 All pest control business license numbers shall
appear on all service vehicles used by persons holding a
commercial pesticide applicators license excluding with the
exception of categories: 7.01(a) Agriculture Plant Pest
Control; 7.01(b) Agriculture Animal Pest Control; 7.02
Forest Pest Control; 7.04 Seed Treatment; 7.05 Aquatic Pest
Control; 7.08 Public Health Pest Control; 7.09 Regulatory
Pest Control; 7.10 Demonstration and Research Pest
Control.  The license number shall be in bold readable
numbers not less than 2 inches or more than 6 inches high.
The full name of the business licensee shall be displayed on
the vehicle.
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SECTION 6  RESTRICTED USE PESTICIDES
CLASSIFICATION 

6.01 Restricted use pesticides shall be classified in the
State of Delaware to conform to the current listing of
pesticides classified by the EPA as Federally registered use
products.

SECTION 7  CATEGORIZATION OF COMMERCIAL
APPLICATORS

Categories and subcategories of applicators (other than
private applicators) who use or supervise the use of
pesticides are identified below.

7.01 AGRICULTURAL PEST CONTROL
CATEGORY

(a) AGRICULTURAL PLANT - This subcategory
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use
of pesticides in the production of agricultural crops,
including without limiting the following:  feed grains,
soybeans, forage, vegetables, small fruits and tree fruits; as
well as on grasslands and non-crop agricultural lands.

(b) AGRICULTURAL ANIMAL - This subcategory
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use
of pesticides on swine, sheep, horses,  goats, poultry and
livestock, and to places on or in which animals are confined.
Doctors of Veterinary Medicine engaged in the business of
applying pesticides for hire, or publicly holding themselves
out as pesticide applicators or engaged in large scale use are
included in this category.

(c) FUMIGATION OF SOIL AND AGRICULTURAL
PRODUCTS - This subcategory includes commercial
applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides for soil
fumigation in the production of an agricultural commodity
and/or for fumigation of agricultural products in storage or
transit.

7.02 FOREST PEST CONTROL CATEGORY
This category includes commercial applicators using or

supervising the use of pesticides in forests, forest nurseries,
and forest seed producing areas.

7.03 ORNAMENTAL AND TURF PEST CONTROL
CATEGORY

This category includes commercial applicators using or
supervising the use of pesticides to control pests in the
maintenance and production of ornamental trees, shrubs,
flowers and turf.

7.04 SEED TREATMENT CATEGORY
This category includes commercial applicators using or

supervising use of pesticides on seeds.

7.05 AQUATIC PEST CONTROL CATEGORY
(a) AQUATIC WEED - This subcategory includes

commercial applicators using or supervising the use of any
pesticide purposefully applied to standing or running water,
excluding applicators engaged in public health related
activities.

(b) ANTIFOULING PAINT - This subcategory
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use
of any anti-fouling paints for the protection of boat hulls.
This subcategory also includes applicators using or
supervising the use of anti-fouling paints on containers
which they sell, lease, or use for the purpose of harvesting
shellfish.

(c) MOSQUITO CONTROL - This subcategory
includes applicators using or supervising the use of
pesticides for the management and control of mosquitoes.

7.06 RIGHT-OF-WAY PEST CONTROL CATEGORY
This category includes commercial applicators using or

supervising the use of pesticides in the maintenance of
roads, electric power lines, pipelines, railway rights-of-way
or similar areas.

7.07   INDUSTRIAL, INSTITUTIONAL, STRUCTURAL
AND HEALTH RELATED PEST CONTROL
CATEGORY

This category includes commercial applicators using or
supervising the use of pesticides in, on, or around food
handling establishments, including warehouses and grain
elevators, and any other structures and adjacent areas, public
or private; human dwellings, institutions, such as schools
and hospitals, industrial establishments; and for the
protection of stored, processed or manufactured products.
This category contains the following subcategories:

(a) GENERAL PEST CONTROL  -  This subcategory
includes commercial applicators who use or supervise the
use of pesticides to control household pests, including pests
that infest structures, stored products, and residential food
preparation areas, and pests that infest or contaminate food
and any stage of processing in food processing facilities.
This includes treatment of food processing areas and control
of vertebrate structural invaders.  This category does not
include control of wood-destroying pests, or the use of
fumigants.

(b) WOOD DESTROYING PEST CONTROL  -  This
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or
supervising the use of pesticides, other than fumigants, in or
around structures for the prevention, suppression, or control
of wood destroying organisms.

(c) FUMIGATION PEST CONTROL (non-
agricultural) - This subcategory includes commercial
applicators using or supervising the use of fumigant
pesticides to control pests in structures other than soils and
agricultural products/commodities.
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(d) WOOD PRESERVATIVES - This subcategory
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use
of pesticides for the preservation of wood or wood products.
This would include, but not be limited to, the pressure
treatments, non-pressure treatments, or brush-on
applications with wood preservatives.  Commercial
applicators certified in another category of pest control and
who use or supervise the use of wood preservatives on an
incidental basis may apply these products under their current
certification.  Private applicators using wood preservative
products for purposes related to agricultural production may
also apply wood preservatives under their current
certification. 

(e) INSTITUTIONAL AND MAINTENANCE PEST
CONTROL - Except as otherwise provided in these
regulations, this subcategory includes any individual using
pesticides on a property they own, or are employed or
otherwise engaged to maintain, including but not limited to
janitors, general maintenance personnel, sanitation
personnel, and grounds maintenance personnel.  This
subcategory does not include private applicators as defined
in Section 9 below, individuals who use anti-microbial
pesticides, or individuals who use pesticides which are not
classified as “restricted use pesticides” in or around their
dwelling.

(f) COOLING TOWER PEST CONTROL  -  This
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or
supervising the use of pesticides to control microbial and
other pests in cooling towers or related areas.

(g) MISCELLANEOUS PEST CONTROL - This
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or
supervising the use of pesticides in a category not previously
covered in these regulations.

7.08 PUBLIC HEALTH PEST CONTROL
CATEGORY

This category includes, but is not limited to, State,
Federal and other governmental employees who use or
supervise the use of pesticides in public health programs for
the management and control of pests having medical or
public health importance.
7.09 REGULATORY PEST CONTROL CATEGORY

This category includes State, Federal and other
governmental employees who use or supervise the use of
restricted use pesticides in the control of regulated pests.

7.10 DEMONSTRATION AND RESEARCH PEST
CONTROL CATEGORY

This category includes:
(a) Individuals who demonstrate to the public the

proper use and technique of application of a restricted use
pesticide or supervises such demonstrations, and/or

(b) Persons conducting field research with pesticides,
and in doing so, use or supervise the use of restricted use

pesticides.  Included in the first group are such persons as
extension specialists and county agents, commercial
representatives demonstrating pesticide products, and those
individuals demonstrating methods used in public programs.
The second group includes State, Federal, commercial and
other persons conducting field research when utilizing
pesticides.

SECTION 8   STANDARDS FOR CERTIFICATION
OF COMMERCIAL APPLICATORS

8.01 DETERMINATION OF COMPETENCY
(a) Competence in the use and handling of pesticides

shall be determined on the basis of written examinations,
and, as appropriate, performance testing, based upon
standards set forth below and which are approved by the
Secretary. Such examination and testing shall include the
general standards applicable to all categories and the
additional standards specifically identified for each category
or subcategory (if any) in which an applicator is to be
certified.  All examinations shall be administered as closed
book examinations.

(b) Applicants for examination shall register at least
one (1) week before the scheduled examination date.

(c) Exams shall be scheduled quarterly during the
calendar year and shall be given at such times and places as
the Secretary may direct.

(d) Correctly answering 70% or more of the questions
shall be considered to be satisfactory evidence of
competence.

(e) Failure to answer at least 70% of the questions
correctly shall be grounds for denial of certification.
Applicant may apply for one (1) reexamination scheduled at
least thirty (30) days after their initial examination. No
person shall be permitted to be examined in the same
category or subcategory more than twice in any twelve (12)
month period.

8.02 GENERAL STANDARDS FOR ALL
CATEGORIES OF CERTIFIED COMMERCIAL
APPLICATORS

All commercial applicators shall demonstrate practical
knowledge of the principles and practices of pest control and
safe use of pesticides.  Testing shall be based on examples of
problems and situations appropriate to the particular
category or subcategory of the applicator's certification and
the following areas of competency:

(a) LABEL & LABELING COMPREHENSION
(1) The general format and terminology of

pesticide labels and labeling; 
(2) The understanding of instructions, warnings,

terms, symbols, and other information commonly appearing
on pesticide labels;

(3) Classification of the product, general or
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restricted; and the necessity for use consistent with the label.
(b) SAFETY

(1) Pesticides toxicity and hazard to man and
common exposure routes; 

(2) Common types and causes of pesticides
accidents;

(3) Precautions necessary to guard against injury
to applicators and other individuals in or near treated area; 

(4) Need for and use of protective clothing and
equipment; 

(5) Symptoms of pesticide poisoning;
(6) First aid and other procedures to be followed in

case of a pesticide accident; and 
(7) Proper identification, storage, transport,

handling, mixing procedures and disposal methods for
pesticides and used pesticide containers, including
precautions to be taken to prevent children from having
access to pesticides and pesticide containers.

(c) ENVIRONMENT
The potential environmental consequences of the

use and misuse of pesticides as may be influenced by such
factors as:

(1) Weather and other climatic conditions;
(2) Types of terrain, soil or other substrate;
(3) Presence of fish, wildlife and other non-target

organisms; and     
(4) Drainage patterns.

(d) PESTS
Factors such as:
(1) Common features of pest organism and

characteristics of damage needed for pest recognition; 
(2) Recognition of relevant pests; and
(3) Pest development and biology as it may be

relevant to problem identification and control.
(e) PESTICIDES

Factors such as:
(1) Types of pesticides;
(2) Types of formulations;
(3) Compatibility, synergism, persistence and

animal and plant toxicity of the formulations;
(4) Hazards and residues associated with use;
(5) Factors which influence effectiveness or lead

to such problems as resistance to pesticides; and,
(6) Dilution procedures.

(f) EQUIPMENT
Factors including:
(1) Types of equipment and advantages and

limitations of each type; and 
(2) Uses, maintenance and calibration.

(g) APPLICATION TECHNIQUES
Factors including:
(1) Methods or procedures used to apply various

formulations of pesticides, solutions, and gases, together
with a knowledge of which technique of application to use in

a given situation; 
(2) Relationship of discharge and placement of

pesticides to proper use, unnecessary use, and misuse; and 
(3) Prevention of drift and pesticide loss into the

environment.
(h) LAWS AND REGULATIONS

Factors including:
Applicable State and Federal laws and regulations.

8.03 SPECIFIC STANDARDS FOR COMPETENCY
FOR EACH CATEGORY OF COMMERCIAL
APPLICATORS

Some of the factors referenced in this section are of
particular importance because of the different types of
activities carried out by the applicators in each category.  For
example, practical knowledge of drift problems should be
required of agricultural applicators but not seed treatment
applicators.  The latter, however, should be particularly
knowledgeable of the hazards of the misuse of treated seed
and the necessary precautionary techniques.  Commercial
applicators in each category shall be particularly qualified
with respect to the practical knowledge standards elaborated
below.

(a) AGRICULTURAL PEST CONTROL
CATEGORY

(1) AGRICULTURAL PLANT PEST CONTROL
SUBCATEGORY

Applicators must demonstrate practical
knowledge of crops grown and the specific pests of those
crops on which they may be using restricted use pesticides.
The importance of such competency is amplified by the
extensive areas involved, the quantities of pesticides needed,
and the ultimate use of many commodities as food and feed.
Practical knowledge is required concerning soil and water
problems, pre-harvest intervals, re-entry intervals,
phytotoxicity, and potential for environmental
contamination, non-target injury and community problems
resulting from the use of restricted use pesticides in
agricultural areas.

(2) AGRICULTURAL ANIMAL PEST
CONTROL SUBCATEGORY

Applicators applying pesticides directly to
animals must demonstrate practical knowledge of such
animals and their associated pests.  A practical knowledge is
also required concerning specific pesticide toxicity and
residue potential, since host animals will frequently be used
for food.  Further, the applicator must know the relative
hazards associated with such factors as formulation,
application techniques, age of animals, stress and extent of
treatment.

(3) FUMIGATION OF SOIL AND
AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS SUBCATEGORY

Applicators must demonstrate knowledge of
application techniques appropriate to soil fumigation and
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agricultural product fumigation.  This includes the use of
personal protective clothing and equipment, and general
safety procedures such as posting, reentry, aeration, and
accident procedures.

(b) FOREST PEST CONTROL CATEGORY
Applicators shall demonstrate practical knowledge

of types of forests, forest nurseries, and forest seed
production in Delaware and the pests involved.  They should
possess practical knowledge of the cyclic occurrence of
certain pests and specific population dynamics as a basis for
programming pesticide applications.  A practical knowledge
is required of the relative biotic agents and their vulnerability
to the pesticides to be applied.  Because forest stands may be
large and frequently  include natural aquatic habitats and
harbor wildlife, the consequences of pesticide use may be
difficult to assess.  The applicator must, therefore,
demonstrate practical knowledge of control methods which
will minimize the possibility of secondary problems such as
unintended effects on wildlife.  Proper use of specialized
equipment must be demonstrated, especially as it may relate
to meteorological factors and adjacent land use.

(c) ORNAMENTAL AND TURF PEST CONTROL
CATEGORY

Applicators shall demonstrate knowledge of
pesticide problems associated with the production and
maintenance of ornamental trees, shrubs, plantings, and turf,
including cognizance of phytotoxicity due to a wide variety
of plant material, drift, and persistence beyond the intended
period of pest  control.  Because of the frequent proximity of
human habitations to application activities, applicators in
this category must demonstrate practical knowledge of
application methods which will minimize or prevent hazards
to humans, pets, and other domestic animals.

(d) SEED TREATMENT CATEGORY
Applicators shall demonstrate practical knowledge

of types of seeds that require chemical protection against
pests and factors such as seed coloration, carriers, and
surface active agents which influence pesticide binding and
may affect germination.  They must demonstrate practical
knowledge of hazards associated with handling, sorting and
mixing, and misuse of treated seed such as introduction of
treated seed into food and feed channels, as well as proper
disposal of unused treated seeds.

(e) AQUATIC PEST CONTROL CATEGORY
(1) AQUATIC WEED - Applicators shall

demonstrate practical knowledge of the secondary effects
which can be caused by improper application rates, incorrect
formulations, and faulty application of pesticides used in this
subcategory.  Further, they must have practical knowledge
concerning potential pesticide effects on plants, fish, birds,
beneficial insects and other organisms which may be present
in aquatic environments.  These applicators shall also
demonstrate practical knowledge of the principles of limited
area application.

(2) ANTIFOULING PAINT - Applicators in this
subcategory shall demonstrate practical knowledge of the
labeling instructions, safety precautions and environmental
concerns associated with the use of marine anti-fouling
paints.  They shall demonstrate practical knowledge of the
term “acceptable release rate” as it applies to organotin
paints; knowledge of the types of paints approved for
specific hull types; knowledge of the types of anti-fouling
paints approved for use on equipment or containers used for
the harvesting of shellfish; knowledge of potential
environmental consequences from the use/misuse or
improper disposal of pesticides; safety precautions necessary
to avoid exposure of workers to anti-fouling paints; proper
storage, handling, and disposal methods of paint chips and
dusts suspected of containing organotin compounds; marine
pests and relevant life cycles which are controlled through
the application of anti-fouling paints; methods, procedures,
and equipment used in applying organotin and anti-fouling
paints; applicable State and Federal laws and regulations;
and recordkeeping requirements under the Delaware
Pesticide Law.

(3) Mosquito Control - Applicators shall
demonstrate a practical knowledge of the principles
associated with the management of mosquitoes, including all
of the following: their life cycle; types of formulations
appropriate for their management; methods of application;
possible effects on water quality; and, the potential health
effects on humans in the target area.

(f) RIGHT-OF-WAY PEST CONTROL CATEGORY
Applicators shall demonstrate a practical

knowledge of a wide variety of environments, since right-of-
ways can traverse many different terrains, including
waterways.  They shall demonstrate practical   knowledge of
problems on runoff, drift, and excessive foliage destruction
and ability to recognize target organisms.  They shall also
demonstrate practical knowledge of the nature of herbicides
and the need for containment of these pesticides within the
right-of-way area, and the impact of their application
activities in the adjacent areas and communities.

(g) INDUSTRIAL, INSTITUTIONAL, STRUCTURAL
AND HEALTH RELATED PEST CONTROL
CATEGORY

Applicators in this category must demonstrate a
practical knowledge of a wide variety of pests including their
life cycles, types of formulation appropriate for their control,
and methods of  application that avoid contamination of
food, contamination of habitat, and  the exposure of people
and pets.  Since human exposure, including babies, children,
pregnant women, and elderly people, is frequently a
potential problem, applicators must demonstrate practical
knowledge of the specific factors which may lead to a
hazardous condition including continuous exposure.
Because health related pest control may involve outdoor
applications, applicators must also demonstrate practical
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knowledge of environmental conditions particularly related
to this activity.

(1) GENERAL PEST CONTROL
SUBCATEGORY

Applicators must demonstrate knowledge of
household pests including but not limited to:  pests that
invade or infest structures, stored products, and residential
food preparation areas;  pests that infest or contaminate
foods and foodstuffs at any stage of processing in the food
manufacturing and processing areas of operation including
but not limited to:  flour mills, bakeries, bottling plants,
dairies, canneries, meat packing plants, supermarkets,
convenience stores, rest homes, hospitals, ships, vehicles,
restaurants, cafeterias, and snack bars; conditions conducive
to infestations and selection of appropriate control
procedures, other than fumigation for each situation; and
hazards associated with pesticides in food manufacturing
and processing. 

(2) WOOD DESTROYING PEST CONTROL
SUBCATEGORY

Applicators must demonstrate knowledge of
organisms that destroy structures made of wood including
but not limited to beetles, termites and fungi, and conditions
conducive to infestation; selection, calibration, and use of
appropriate control procedures and their related equipment
including:  rodding and trenching, topical application of
pesticides and local injection of specially labeled liquid or
pressurized aerosol pesticides into infested wood; hazards
involved in the handling and use of these pesticides.

(3) FUMIGATION (NON-AGRICULTURAL)
SUBCATEGORY

Applicators must demonstrate a practical
knowledge of the conditions requiring the application of
fumigants, and the selection of the most appropriate
fumigation methods to use; equipment used in fumigation
including but not limited to application, monitoring, testing,
calculating, and personal protective devices; release,
distribution, and maintenance of the correct fumigant
concentrations for the product being used and the structure
being fumigated under differing conditions; and hazards
involved in the use of fumigants.

(4) WOOD PRESERVATIVE SUBCATEGORY
Applicators must demonstrate a practical

knowledge of the pests involved with wood products,
including their life cycles, wood degradation, the pesticides
available for controlling such problems, and methods of
application including pressure, non-pressure and brush-on
treatments.  Since there is concern regarding the potential for
environmental contamination as well as acute and chronic
health problems from applicator exposure when using
certain woodtreating pesticides, specific emphasis will be
placed upon demonstrating a practical knowledge of the
product use, precautions    which are required and found on
the labels and labeling of these pesticides and include

protective clothing and equipment, sanitation procedures,
disposal procedures and environmental precautions.  Since
treated wood products present potential environmental
problems and acute and chronic exposure problems to the
users and the general public, whether or not they come into
direct contact with the treated wood, applicators must
demonstrate a practical knowledge of the consumer
information covering use, site, and handling precautions
which are found in the Consumer Information Sheets of
products registered for pressure treatment and in the labeling
for products registered for sap and stain control, ground line
treatment of utility poles, and home and farm use (including
railroad tie repair).   

(5) INSTITUTIONAL AND MAINTENANCE
SUBCATEGORY

Applicators in this subcategory must
demonstrate a practical knowledge of a wide variety of pests
for the purpose of providing structural pest control or lawn
pest control in and around schools, hospitals, nursing homes,
child day-care centers, and apartment buildings.  Since
children and elderly people have a potentially higher
sensitivity to pesticides, applicators in this subcategory
should be particularly knowledgeable in avoiding
applications which may lead to a hazardous condition,
including continuous exposure.

(6) COOLING TOWER SUBCATEGORY
Applicators shall demonstrate a practical

knowledge of the labeling instructions, safety precautions
and environmental concerns associated with the use of
pesticides to treat the waters of cooling towers.  They must
demonstrate an understanding of the following: the effects of
tower operation upon cooling water composition; the
importance and potential harm of discharge of exhaust water
into environment waters, the steps that can be taken to
minimize water-caused problems, the importance of
diligence and control in the execution of cooling water
treatment programs.

(7) MISCELLANEOUS SUBCATEGORY
Applicator must demonstrate knowledge

appropriate to their specific field of pest control.
(h) PUBLIC HEALTH PEST CONTROL

CATEGORY
Applicators shall demonstrate practical knowledge

of vector-disease transmission as it relates to and influences
application programs.  A wide variety of pests are involved,
and it is essential that they be known and recognized, and
appropriate life cycles and habitats be understood as a basis
for control strategy.  These applicators shall have practical
knowledge of a great variety of environments ranging from
streams to those conditions found in buildings. They should
also have practical knowledge of the importance and
employment of such non-chemical control methods as
sanitation, waste disposal, and drainage.

(i) REGULATORY PEST CONTROL CATEGORY
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Applicators shall demonstrate practical knowledge
of regulated pests, applicable laws relating to quarantine and
other regulation of pests, and the potential impact on the
environment of restricted use of pesticides used in
suppression and eradication programs.  

They shall demonstrate knowledge of factors
influencing introduction, spread, and population dynamics of
relevant pests.  Their knowledge shall extend beyond that
required by their immediate duties, since their services are
frequently required in other areas where emergency
measures are invoked to control regulated pests  and where
individual judgments must be made in new situations.

(j) DEMONSTRATION AND RESEARCH PEST
CONTROL CATEGORY

Persons demonstrating the safe and effective use of
pesticides to other applicators and the public will be
expected to meet comprehensive standards reflecting a broad
spectrum of pesticides uses.  Many different pest problem
situations will be encountered in the course of activities
associated with demonstration, and practical knowledge of
problems, pests, and population levels occurring in each
demonstration situation is required.  Further, they should
demonstrate an understanding of pesticide -  organism
interactions and the importance of integrating pesticide use
with other control methods.  In general, it would be expected
that applicators doing demonstration pest control work
possess a practical knowledge of all of the standards detailed
in section 8.02 above.  In addition, they shall meet the
specific standards required for categories (1) through (7) of
this section as may be applicable to their particular activity.

Persons conducting field research or method
improvement work with restricted use pesticides should  be
expected to know the general standards detailed in 8.02
above.  In addition, they shall be expected  to know the
specific standards required for paragraph 8.03 (l) through (9)
of this section, applicable to their particular activity, or
alternatively, to meet the more inclusive requirements listed
under “Demonstration".

8.04   CERTIFICATION FEES AND RENEWAL
(a) CERTIFICATION FEES

(1) Commercial applicators shall pay an annual
certification fee of $20.00.  All certifications shall continue
in full force until December 31st of each year whereupon
they shall become invalid unless renewed, except that a
certification for which a renewal application has been
submitted to the Department by November 30th, shall
remain in full force and effect until such time as the
Department gives notice to the applicant of renewal or
denial.  Applications for renewal shall be mailed to all
certified applicators by the Department before October 1st of
each year.

(2) Federal, State or Local government employees
who are certified under this law are exempt from this fee.

This exemption shall remain valid only when applying or
supervising the application of pesticides for such
governmental agencies.

(b) CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
(1) Commercial Applicators

(i) Commercial applicators shall be required
to be reexamined through a written test prior to their annual
certification renewal.

(ii) The reexamination requirement may be
satisfied without taking a test, if the commercial applicator
provides the Department with evidence that he has
completed a specified minimum number of hours attending
approved education courses, seminars or programs during
the three calendar years preceding certification renewal.  The
specified number of hours for each category are listed in
paragraph 8.04 (b)(1)(iv) below.  This exemption from
reexamination does not apply to a person holding a lapsed
certificate, as described in paragraph 8.04 (b)(3) below.

(iii) A commercial applicator shall be exempt
from the reexamination requirement for the first two
certification renewals following his original certification in
Delaware.

(iv) The number of hours of training required
to fulfill paragraph 8.04 (b)(1)(ii) are specified as follows:

Category of Pest Control Hours
Agricultural Plant (1A)    8
Agricultural Animal (1B)    4
Fumigation of Soils and

Agricultural Commodities (1C)    4
Forest (02)    4
Ornamental & Turf (03)    8
Seed Treatment (04)    2
Aquatic (5A)    4
Antifouling Paint (5B)    2
Mosquito (5C)    4
Right-of-Way (06)    4
Industrial, Institutional, Structural
  & Health Related (07)

General Pest Control (7A)  18
Wood Destroying Pest Control (7B) 18
Fumigation Pest Control
  (non-agricultural) (7C)    4
Wood Preservatives (7D)    4
Institutional and Maintenance (7E)   18
Cooling Towers (7F)    4
Miscellaneous (7G)    4

Public Health (08)    4
Regulatory (09)    4
Demonstration & Research (10)    8 

(2) Private Applicators
(i) A private applicator's certification shall

continue in full force until December 31st of the third year
following his original certification.
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(ii) A private applicator shall be required to be
reexamined prior to certification renewal.

(iii) The reexamination requirement may be
satisfied without taking a test, if the applicator provides the
Department with evidence that he has attended a minimum
of three (3) hours of approved education courses, seminars
or programs during the three (3) calendar years preceding
certification renewal.

(3) Expiration
(i) A certificate shall have a ninety (90) day

grace period after the date of expiration.  When the grace
period expires, the certificate shall be considered to have
lapsed.

(ii) A person holding a lapsed certificate must
be examined as described by paragraph 8.01, in order to
receive a new certificate.

(iii) An applicator is not imparted the right to
purchase, use or supervise the use of a restricted use
pesticide during the ninety (90) day grace period following
the expiration date on his certificate.

8.05 EXEMPTIONS
The above standards do not apply to the following

persons for the purposes of these regulations:
(a) Persons conducting laboratory type research

involving restricted use pesticides; and
(b) Doctors of Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathy, and

Doctors of Veterinary Medicine applying pesticides as drugs
or medication during the course of their normal practice.

(c) Owners and employees of any child day-care center
which is operated within a private home.  

SECTION 9   STANDARDS FOR CERTIFICATION
OF PRIVATE APPLICATORS

9.01 As a minimum requirement for certification, a
private applicator must show that he possesses a practical
knowledge of the pest problem and pest control practices
associated with his agricultural operations and his related
legal responsibility.  This practical knowledge includes
ability to:

(a) Recognize common pests to be controlled and
damage caused by them.

(b) Read and understand the label and labeling
information - including the common name of pesticides he
applies; pest(s) to be controlled, timing and methods of
application; safety precautions; any pre-harvest or re-entry
restrictions; and specific disposal procedures.

(c) Apply pesticides in accordance with label
instructions and warnings, including the ability to prepare
the proper concentration of pesticide to be used under
particular circumstances taking into account such factors as
area to be covered, speed at which application equipment
will be driven, and the quantity dispersed in a given period

of operation.
(d) Recognize local environmental situations that

must be considered during application to avoid
contamination.

(e) Recognize poisoning symptoms and
procedures to follow in case of a pesticide accident.

9.02 Such competence of each private applicator shall be
verified through the administration of a private applicator
certification system here described which ensures that the
private applicator is competent, based upon the standards set
forth above, to use the restricted use pesticides under
limitations of applicable State and Federal laws and
regulations.  One or more of the following options will be
employed to certify private applicators:

(a) GENERAL CERTIFICATION
This option certifies the private applicator as

competent to apply any restricted use pesticide which he
would normally expect to use in his particular agricultural
operations.  Competency determination shall reflect all
aspects of the private applicator standards and shall be broad
enough to test the private applicator's ability to apply general
principles to specific problems associated with the restricted
use pesticides required for the production and protection of
his crops.

(b) PESTICIDE CLASS CERTIFICATION
This option certifies the private applicator as

competent to apply any restricted use pesticide products and
all different formulations of a pesticide used for the same
purpose, use, or application.  Examples  include, but are not
limited to, preemergence herbicides for vegetable crops,
foliar insecticides on corn, rodenticides in fruit orchards,
nematicides in fields prior to planting, ground application of
fungicides on vegetables, seed treatments for plant diseases,
and livestock dips for insect control.

Competency determination shall reflect the full
range of the private applicator standards, but with special
emphasis placed on the particular characteristics of the
pesticide class, as well as the nature of  the application or
use.

(c) COMMODITY/CROP/SITE CERTIFICATION
This option certifies the private applicator as

competent to apply any restricted use pesticide needed for
specific crops or sites which the applicator would be
expected to deal with in his agricultural operations.  This
would include any pesticide products (different pesticide
classes, active ingredients, and formulations) used on a
specific line or class designation.  Examples include:  single
crop such as corn, apples, or wheat; single site class such as
poultry houses or dairy barns; single livestock line, such as
beef cattle, swine, or turkeys; crop classes such as forage
crops or small fruits, site class such as barns or greenhouses;
and livestock class such as poultry.

Competency determination shall reflect the full
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range of the private applicator standards, with emphasis
placed on the particular characteristics of the specific crop or
site, or crop/site class concerned and the pests involved.

A private applicator may wish to be certified for a
specific crop or site (such as corn or beef cattle) or for a crop
or site class (such as forage crops, livestock, small grain
crops).

(d) SINGLE PRODUCT CERTIFICATION
This option certifies as competent the private

applicator for one or more uses of a single product or related
products with the same active ingredient and with a similar
formulation and uses.  Competency determination shall
reflect all appropriate uses of these products for the
agricultural area where he will be expected to make pesticide
application.

(e) SINGLE PRODUCTS/SINGLE USE
AUTHORIZATION (EMERGENCY PROGRAM)

This option would authorize the private applicator
to make single use application(s) of a restricted use  product
(or other products of the same formulation).  This option will
be used only as an emergency provision to accommodate
situations such as an unexpected pest problem that requires
immediate certification of a previously uncertified private
applicator or one whose particular type of certification
would not cover the product needed to deal with the
problem.

9.03 DETERMINATION OF COMPETENCY FOR
PRIVATE APPLICATORS

(a) Competence in the use and handling of pesticides
by private applicators shall be determined by written
examinations with questions based upon study materials
made available by the Department.  Correctly answering
70% or more of the questions shall be considered to be
satisfactory evidence of competence.

(b) Failure to answer at least 70% of the questions
correctly shall be grounds for denial of certification.  The
applicant may apply for reexamination, which shall be
scheduled by the Department at least 30 days after the
applicant’s initial examination.

(c) Upon showing of hardship, an applicant for private
applicator certification may appeal to the Secretary for an
exception to paragraphs 9.03 (a) and (b).  At his discretion,
the Secretary may provide for an alternative means of
examination, to include but not be limited to oral
examination.  Oral examinations shall cover the same
material included in the written examination.

SECTION 10   STANDARDS FOR SUPERVISION OF
NON-CERTIFIED APPLICATORS BY CERTIFIED
PRIVATE AND COMMERCIAL APPLICATORS

10.01 Certified applicators whose activities indicate a
supervisory role must demonstrate a practical knowledge of

federal and state supervisory requirements, including
labeling, regarding the application of restricted use
pesticides by non-certified applicators.

10.02 The availability of the certified applicator must be
directly related to the hazard of the situation, the complexity
of the application or the ability to readily communicate with
the non-certified applicator.  In many situations, where the
certified applicator is not required to be physically present,
"direct supervision" shall include verifiable instructions to
the competent person, as follows:

(a) Detailed guidance for applying the pesticide
properly, and

(b) Provisions for contacting the certified applicator in
the event he is needed.  In other situations, and as required
by the label, the actual physical presence of a certified
applicator may be required when  application is made by a
non-certified applicator.

SECTION 11  FEDERAL AGENCY PESTICIDE
APPLICATORS

11.01 When an employee of any agency of the United
States Government has been qualified in any category as
competent to apply restricted use pesticides under the
Government Agency Plan (GAP) or under other plans
judged by the Secretary to be at least equal to the Delaware
Plan, such employee will be certified by the Secretary in the
same category without the need for a written examination
nor for the payment of any fee.

11.02 Federal employees qualified under an acceptable
Federal Plan to apply restricted use pesticides and who
intend to apply restricted use pesticides in Delaware as a part
of their agency work shall present their qualifying
documents to the Secretary and, if acceptable, these
documents will be endorsed or a state document will be
issued which will permit the federal employee to use
restricted use pesticides in Delaware.

11.03 If, in an emergency situation, federal employees are
brought into Delaware to control or eradicate pests and when
these employees have been properly qualified to use
restricted use pesticides under the plan of another state or
under an acceptable federal government agency plan, such
employee shall be considered to be certified in Delaware and
he or his agency must, within 10 days, present qualifying
credentials to the Secretary.  At this time state credentials
will be issued if the employee is to remain in Delaware as an
applicator of restricted use pesticides.

11.04 The provisions of this section do not apply to non-
federal employees contracted to perform pesticide
application for the federal government.  In an emergency,
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however, and with the concurrence of the Secretary, a non-
certified person may apply pesticides under the direct
supervision of a properly certified federal applicator.  Within
10 days such person working within the state boundaries
must apply for Delaware certification in the normal manner.

SECTION 12   RECIPROCITY

12.01 When a commercial applicator is certified under the
state plan of another state and desires to operate as a
commercial applicator in Delaware he shall make
application to the Secretary and shall include, along with the
proper fee and other details required by the LAW, a true
copy of his credentials certifying him as an applicator of
restricted use pesticides in another state.  The Secretary then
may, if he approves the credentials, issue a Delaware
certification to the applicator in the appropriate classification
and/or category(ies) for which he is certified in another state
without a written examination.  The original certification
must be made in the state where the commercial applicator
resides or where he has his principle place of business.

SECTION 13   REVOCATION

13.01 The Department, after due notice and opportunity
for a hearing, may deny, suspend, revoke or modify any
application for or provision of any certification, including
reciprocal certification, under the LAW if the Department
finds that the Certified Applicator or the applicant for
Certification has committed any act or acts declared by the
Law or these regulations to be unlawful.

SECTION 14   RECORDS

14.01 COMMERCIAL APPLICATORS
Commercial applicators shall, for a period of two years

from the date of application, keep records detailing the
application of any pesticides to include:

(a) The brand name of the pesticide used.  In the case
of a Restricted Use Pesticide or a pesticide which is used
under the provisions of 40 Code of Federal Regulations,
Part 170, Worker Protection Standards, the EPA Registration
Number shall also be recorded at or before the time of
application.

(b) When applicable, the dilution rate of the pesticide
and the amount of diluted material applied per unit (i.e.
gallons/acre, lbs./acre, etc.)

(c) The date and specific area treated.
(d) The pest against which the pesticide was used.
(e) The applicator's name, and when applicable, the

name of the certified applicator responsible for his
supervision.

(f) When label directions advise precaution in regard
to drift, on-site weather conditions to include:

(i) Wind velocity and direction
(ii) Temperature
(iii) Relative humidity

(g) In addition to the above record keeping
requirements, the applicator shall have available at the site of
application, a copy of the label of the pesticide being used.
Upon request, the applicator shall provide any interested
person at or adjacent to the application site, with any
information contained on the pesticide label.

14.02 RESTRICTED USE PESTICIDES DEALERS
Restricted use pesticide dealers shall keep and maintain

for a period of two years, records on the sale or other
disposition of restricted use pesticides to include the
following:

(a) The name and address of the residence or principal
place of business of the certified applicator to whom the
pesticide is made available for use.

(b) The certification identification number of the
purchaser or receiver of the pesticide on the document.

(c) The product name and E.P.A. registration number
on the label of the pesticide.

(d) The quantity of the pesticide made available for use
in the transaction.

(e) Date of the sale or transaction.

SECTION 15   FINANCIAL SECURITY REQUIRED
OF LICENSEE

15.01 The Secretary shall not issue a license until the
applicant has filed evidence of financial security with the
Secretary.  Such evidence shall consist of a general liability
insurance policy with completed operation coverage or
certification thereof from an insurance company, person, or
risk retention group formed under the Federal Risk Act of
1986, authorized to do business in Delaware.

(a) AGRICULTURE
(1) PLANT PEST CONTROL

An applicant for certification in this category
shall file evidence of financial security in the minimum
amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for
bodily injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(2) AGRICULTURE ANIMAL PEST CONTROL
An applicant for certification in this category

shall file evidence of financial security in the minimum
amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for
bodily injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(b) FOREST PEST CONTROL
An applicant for certification in this category shall

file evidence of financial security in the minimum amount of
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Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for bodily
injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(c) ORNAMENTAL AND TURF PEST CONTROL
An applicant for certification in this category shall

file evidence of financial security in the minimum amount of
Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for bodily
injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(d) SEED TREATMENT
An applicant for certification in this category shall

file evidence of financial security in the minimum amount of
Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for bodily
injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(e) AQUATIC PEST CONTROL
An applicant for certification in this category shall

file evidence of financial security in the minimum amount of
Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for bodily
injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(f) RIGHT-OF-WAY PEST CONTROL
An applicant for certification in this category shall

file evidence of financial security in the minimum amount of
Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for bodily
injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(g) INDUSTRIAL, INSTITUTIONAL,
STRUCTURAL AND HEALTH RELATED PEST
CONTROL

An applicant for certification in this category shall
file evidence of financial security in the minimum amount of
Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for bodily
injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.
15.02 AERIAL APPLICATORS

Aerial applicators applying for a license in any of the
above categories or subcategories shall show evidence of
financial security in the minimum of One Hundred Thousand
Dollars ($100,000) for each individual damage and Three
Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for bodily injury or
death for each occurrence and One Hundred Thousand
Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting from the
use or misuse of pesticides.

15.03 Nothing to these regulations shall be construed in
any way to relieve any person from liability for any damage
to the person or lands of another caused by the use of

pesticides even though such use conforms to the rules and
regulations of the Secretary.

SECTION 16   STORING AND DISPOSAL OF
PESTICIDES AND PESTICIDE CONTAINERS

16.01 PROHIBITED ACTS
No person shall dispose of or store (or receive for disposal or
storage) any pesticide, pesticide container or pesticide
container residue:

(a) In a manner inconsistent with its label or labeling;
(b) So as to cause or allow the open dumping of

pesticides or pesticide containers;
(c) So as to cause or allow open burning of pesticide or

pesticide containers, except; the open burning by the user of
small quantities of combustible containers (but not to exceed
50 lbs.) containing pesticides other than those containing
organic mercury, chlorates, lead, cadmium, or arsenic
compounds, is acceptable when allowed by state or local
regulations and when due regard is given to wind direction in
relation to the protection of crops, animals and people from
the pesticide vapors created through burning;

(d) So as to cause or allow dumping of pesticides in
any stream, river, pond, sewer or lake, except in
conformance with permits issued by the Delaware
Department of Agriculture or other state agency having
jurisdiction regarding water pollution;

(e) So as to violate any applicable state or federal
pollution control standard.

16.02 PESTICIDE AND PESTICIDE CONTAINER
DISPOSAL

Pesticide containers shall, upon completion of use, be
triple rinsed immediately by the applicator or someone under
his direct supervision or cleaned by another method or
procedure equivalent in residue removal effectiveness.

(a) The standard triple rinse procedure is as follows:
(1) The emptied container shall be drained for at

least thirty (30) seconds after steady flow of pesticide
formulation has ceased and after individual drops are
evident.  Any pesticide formulation drained shall be added to
the spray tank mix and shall be applied in accordance with
label instructions.

(2) A solvent, usually water, specified by the
manufacturer and capable of removing the pesticide residue
shall be added to the drained container in an amount equal to
ten percent (10%) of its capacity.  The container then shall
be shaken, agitated, or rolled vigorously in such fashion as to
dislodge residues from the top, bottom and sides. The liquid
residues (rinsate) shall be added as make-up to the spray tank
mix, and the container shall be allowed to drain for at least
thirty (30) seconds after steady flow has ceased and after
individual drops are evident.

(3) The above procedure shall be performed two
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more times, each time allowing the container to drain at least
thirty (30) seconds and adding all rinsate to the spray tank
mix to be applied in accordance with label instructions.

(b) In cases where undiluted formulations are used and
rinsate cannot be added to the spray tank, the residue must be
disposed of in accordance with applicable Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC)
regulations.

(c) Methods of rinsing or cleaning containers, other
than the standard triple rinsing procedure described above,
may be used provided they are shown to remove equivalent
amounts of pesticide residues which can be disposed of in an
environmentally safe manner.

(d) In the case of containers with removable inner
liners that prevent contact between the pesticide and the
container, removal of the liner shall be considered the
equivalent of triple rinsing.  The removed liners must be
disposed of in a sanitary landfill or by incineration if allowed
by State and local authorities.   Liners removed from
pesticide containers containing pesticides listed as hazardous
waste are also considered hazardous waste unless the liners
are triple rinsed with an applicable solvent or other method
approved as equivalent, prior to their removal from the
container. These liners must be handled and disposed of in
accordance with applicable DNREC regulations.

(e) Following the rinsing, cleaning or liner removal
procedure, plastic or metal containers not destined for return
to manufacturers or shipment to reconditioners shall be
punctured prior to disposal to insure they are empty and to
prevent re-use.  Glass containers are exempt from this
puncture requirement.  Plastic containers may be burned if
allowed by State and local authorities.

(f) Pesticide containers labeled for commercial or farm
use, which have been triple rinsed and handled in accordance
with 16.02 (a) through 16.02 (e), shall be disposed of at a
Solid Waste Facility.

(g) Unused or unwanted farm or commercial use
pesticides which qualify as hazardous waste shall be
disposed of in accordance with 7 DEL C., Chapter 63 and the
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

(h) Pesticides and/or pesticide containers which are not
subject to these regulations are as follows:

(1) Paper, cardboard and fiberboard containers.
Storage, handling and disposal must, however, be in
accordance with label directions and any applicable DNREC
regulations and/or local ordinances.  This waiver applies
only if all the pesticide contents have been removed from the
container using practical methods.

(2) Aerosol containers and compressed gas
cylinders, provided that aerosol containers are disposed of
according to the product labeling and the empty compressed
gas cylinders are returned for re-use.

(3) Pesticide containers labeled as returnable, and
which are returned to the manufacturer for refill.

(4) Pesticides and pesticide containers which are
intended solely for home and garden use, provided they are
securely wrapped in several layers of paper and disposed of
singly during routine municipal solid waste disposal.

16.03 PESTICIDE STORAGE
(a) Pesticides shall be stored in such a manner so as to

prevent the contamination of food, feed and/or water.
(b) Pesticides shall be stored out of the reach of

children and so as not to present a public nuisance.
(c) Until such time as the Secretary shall, along with

the Pesticide Advisory Committee and any other person as
the Secretary may consult, promulgate more specific rules
and regulations covering the storage of pesticides and
pesticide containers not provided in 16.01 and 16.03 of this
Section, the recommended  procedures for the storage of
pesticides and containers detailed in Regulations
promulgated by the Administrator, United States
Environmental Protection Agency shall be the recommended
procedures for Delaware.  The Secretary shall make copies
of these procedures available to any person needing
guidance for proper storage of pesticides or pesticide
containers.

SECTION 17   PESTICIDE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

17.01 EXPENSES OF MEMBERS NOT FROM
GOVERNMENT DEPARTMENTS

Pesticide Advisory Committee members not from
governmental departments shall submit expense accounts to
the Secretary. Reimbursements made to members not from
governmental departments shall be made for the actual cost
of lodging and meals (out of state) and for transportation
according to the regulations applicable to Department
employees.

SECTION 18   APPLICATION AND EQUIPMENT

18.01 No person shall apply, dispense or use any pesticide
in or through any equipment or application apparatus unless
such equipment or application apparatus is in sound
mechanical condition and capable of satisfactory operation.
All pesticide application equipment shall be properly
equipped to dispense the proper amount of material; all
pesticide mixing, storage, or holding tanks, whether on
application equipment or not, shall not leak pesticide; all
spray distribution systems shall not leak pesticides and any
pumps which such systems may have shall not leak
pesticides and any pumps which such systems may have
shall be capable of operating at sufficient pressure to assure a
uniform and adequate rate of discharge; and all pesticide
application equipment shall be equipped with whatever cut-
off valves and discharge orifices may be necessary to enable
the operator to pass over non-target areas without
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contaminating them.

18.02 All hoses, pumps or other equipment used to fill
pesticide handling, storage or application equipment shall be
fitted with an effective valve or device to prevent backflow
of pesticides or pesticide use-dilutions into water supply
systems, streams, lakes, other sources of water or other
materials.  Provided, however, such backflow devices or
valves are not required for separate water storage tanks used
to fill agricultural pesticide application equipment by gravity
systems when the fill spout, tube or pipe is not allowed to
contact or fall below the water level of the application
equipment being filled and no other possible means of
establishing a backsiphon or backflow exists.

SECTION 19   ANTIFOULING PAINT
RESTRICTIONS

19.01 For the purposes of this section, the following
definitions shall apply:

(a) The term "acceptable release rate" means a
measured release rate not to exceed 4.0 micrograms per
square centimeter per day and as further defined in the
Organotin Anti-fouling Paint Control Act of 1988, (Pub. L. -
100-333).

(b) The term "antifouling paint" means a coating, paint,
or treatment that is applied to a vessel or any fishing gear
used to catch shellfish or finfish to control fresh water or
marine fouling organisms.

(c) The term “vessel” means every description of
watercraft, other than a seaplane, used or capable of being
used as a means of transportation on the water, whether self-
propelled or otherwise, and includes barges and tugs. 

(d) The term "commercial boat yard" means any
facility which engages for hire in the construction, storage,
maintenance, repair, or refurbishing of vessels or any
licensed independent marine maintenance contractor who
engages in such activities.

(e) The term "organotin" means any compound of tin
used as a biocide in an anti-fouling paint.

(f) The term "retail" means the transfer of title to
tangible personal property other than for resale, after
manufacturing or processing.

19.02 Except as otherwise provided in this Section, no
person shall distribute, possess, sell, or offer for sale, apply
or offer for use or application any marine anti-fouling paint
containing organotin.

19.03 No person may sell or deliver to, or purchase or
receive from, another person at retail any substance
containing organotin for the purpose of adding such
substances to paint to create an anti-fouling paint.

19.04 A person may distribute or sell a marine anti-
fouling paint containing organotin with an acceptable release
rate to the owner or agent of a commercial boat yard.  The
owner or agent of a commercial boat yard may possess and
apply or purchase for application an anti-fouling paint
containing organotin with an acceptable release rate,
however, such paint may be applied only within a
commercial boat yard and only to vessels which exceed
twenty-five meters (82.02 feet) in length or which have
aluminum hulls.

19.05 A person may distribute, sell, or apply a marine
anti-fouling paint containing organotin having an acceptable
release rate, if the paint is distributed or sold in a spray can in
a quantity of sixteen ounces avoirdupois or less and is
commonly referred to as outboard or lower unit paint.

SECTION 20  RESTRICTED USE PESTICIDE
DEALER PERMITS

20.01 For the purposes of these regulations the following
definitions shall apply:

(a) The term "restricted use pesticide dealer" means
any person who makes available for use any restricted use
pesticide,  or who offers to make available for use any such
pesticide.  The term excludes any person who sells or
distributes pesticides only as an integral part of his pesticide
application service when such pesticides are dispensed only
through equipment used during a pesticide application.

(b) The term "make available for use" means to
distribute, sell, ship, deliver for shipment, or receive, and
(having so received) deliver, for use by any person.
However, the term excludes transactions solely between
persons who are pesticide producers, registrants,
wholesalers, or retail dealers, acting only in those capacities.

(c) The term "dealership" means any site owned or
operated by a restricted use pesticide dealer where any
restricted use pesticide is made available for use, or where
the dealer offers to make available for use any  such
pesticide.

20.02 Effective December 31, 1990, no person shall make
available for use any restricted use pesticide unless that
person has a valid Dealer Permit issued by the Department.

20.03 A separate Dealer Permit shall be required for each
dealership owned or operated by the restricted use pesticide
dealer.

20.04 Issuance of a Dealer Permit:
(a) Application for a Dealer Permit shall be made in

writing to the Department on a designated form obtained
from the Department.

(b) The Department shall issue a Dealer Permit to an
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applicant upon payment of a fee of $25.00 for a calendar
year or any part of a calendar year.

(c) All permits shall remain in full force and effect
until December 31st of each year whereupon they shall
become invalid unless renewed, except that a permit for
which a renewal application has been submitted to the
Department by November 30th shall remain in full force and
effect until such time as the Department gives written notice
to the permit holder of renewal or denial.

20.05 A restricted use pesticide dealer is responsible for
the acts of his employees in the solicitation and sale of all
pesticides and all claims and recommendations for the use of
pesticides.

20.06 A dealer permit is not transferable.

20.07 The Department, in addition to any penalties
authorized by the LAW, may deny, suspend, or revoke the
application or permit of a restricted use pesticide dealer if he
has failed to comply with any provisions of the LAW or any
rules and regulations promulgated thereunder.

SECTION 21   INSTITUTIONAL AND
MAINTENANCE PESTICIDE USE RESTRICTIONS

21.01 For the purposes of these regulations, the following
definitions shall apply:

(a) The term “general use pesticide” shall include all
pesticides as defined by 3 Del.C., DELAWARE
PESTICIDE LAW, §1202 (27), with the following
exceptions:

(1) Any Restricted Use Pesticides, as defined by 3
Del.C. §1202 (30);

(2) Any State Restricted Use Pesticide, as defined
by 3 Del.C., §1202 (31);

(3) Any anti-microbial pesticide used for
controlling bacteria, viruses, or other microorganisms.

(b) The term “school” shall mean a completed structure
utilized as a public or private school, grades kindergarten
through post graduate.

(c) The term "apartment building" shall mean a
building that contains four or more dwelling units that are
rented primarily for nontransient, permanent dwelling
purposes, with rental paid by intervals of one week or longer.

(d) The term "nursing home" shall have the same
meaning assigned by 16 Del.C., Chapter 11, §1101.

(e) The term “hospital” shall have the same meaning
assigned by 16 Del.C., Chapter 10, §1001 (1).

(f) The term “child day-care center” shall mean a
facility, other than a school as defined elsewhere herein,
which provides care, education, protection, supervision and
guidance on a regular basis for children.  Services are
provided for part of the 24 hour day, unattended by parent or

guardian, and for compensation.  Provided, nevertheless, that
“child day-care center” shall not include any such facility
which is operated within a private home.

(g) The term "private home" shall mean a non-public
residence such as a house, duplex, townhouse, apartment, or
mobile home where the provider of child day-care services
lives and has control over the furnishings and use of space.
An individual unit in public housing and university housing
complexes is considered a private home.

(h) The term "Institutional and Maintenance
applicator" means any person who:

(1) Owns, operates or maintains a school,
apartment building, nursing home, hospital or child day-care
center, or is an employee of a school, apartment building,
nursing home, hospital, or child day-care center; and who

(2) Applies general use pesticides inside the
school, apartment building, nursing home, hospital, or child
day-care center.

21.02 A general use pesticide applicator must be certified
pursuant to Section 8 of these regulations, unless, such
person possesses a valid certification in subcategory 7.07 (e),
Institutional and Maintenance Pest Control.

21.03 A person certified as a general maintenance
applicator may not engage in the business of pest control
outside the scope of the employment for which they have
been certified, unless the person becomes certified as
otherwise provided by the LAW.

21.04 An owner or manager of a building that is a school,
apartment building, nursing home, hospital, or child day-
care center may obtain general maintenance pest control
services for the building from a person only by:

(a) Contracting with a business licensed pursuant to 3
Del.C., Chapter 12, §1206;

(b) Having the services performed by a general
maintenance applicator with a valid certification in Section
7.07(a) or 7.07(e) of these regulations.

21.05 Records of "general use pesticide" applications
made in a school, apartment building, nursing home,
hospital, or child day-care center shall be kept in accordance
with Section 14.01.

SECTION 22   RESTRICTIONS ON THE USE OF
PESTICIDES FOR THE CONTROL OF
SUBTERRANEAN TERMITES

22.01 This section applies to commercial pesticide
applications for the control of subterranean termites.  It is
directed primarily towards soil treatment and does not
include other treatments applied as dusts, aerosols or
fumigants, n Nor does it address application technology such



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 10, SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2000

1338

as biological control agents or baits.

22.02 For the purpose of this section, the following
definition shall apply:

(a) "Termiticide" shall mean a pesticide registered
pursuant to the LAW and which is intended for preventing,
destroying, repelling or mitigating termites.

(b) “Continuous chemical barrier” shall mean the
application of a termiticide such that the resultant soil
residue meets or exceeds the soil residue requirements
currently recommended by the Association of Structural Pest
Control Regulatory Officials (ASPCRO) and as those
requirements may be amended in the future.  Soil residue
sampling shall be conducted in conformity with the current
ASPCRO soil sampling protocol and as it may be amended
in the future.

22.03 Termiticides shall be used to establish a continuous
chemical barrier in all applicable areas prescribed by the
label.  However, where the termiticide is applied such that a
continuous barrier is not achieved, or where the termiticide
is not applied to all applicable areas prescribed by the
termiticide label, the conditions outlined in both (a) and (b)
below must be satisfied:

(a) One or more of the following situations is present:
(1) Specific environmental conditions are such that

application of the termiticide at the full labeled concentration
and volume may result in adverse environmental impact.
Examples may include the presence of a well, a footing drain
that empties into a water body, a high water table, etc.;

(2) Structural barriers or soil conditions or types
exist that prohibit application of the labeled volume or limit
access to applicable soil treatment areas;

(3) Construction elements are present that would
or could encourage a reduced volume, e.g., poured walls vs.
hollow block walls;

Specific customer request, or at the
recommendation of the certified applicator.

(b) Within fourteen (14) days following the termiticide
application, the following information shall be is furnished
in writing to the customer or to the appropriate person
customer’s agent:

(1) A full disclosure explaining the difference
between full and partial applications.  The disclosure shall
include the termite control strategies being utilized and the
reasons for those alternatives;

(2) The pesticide used, including brand name and
EPA registration number;

(3) The actual volume of the termiticide applied;
(4) Specific information of sufficient detail to

distinguish where treatment actually occurred, including a
diagram of the structure identifying treated areas, well
locations known well heads, and sites of visible termite
activity;

(5) A clear, concise statement indicating whether
the application has any guarantee or warranty, and the terms
of the guarantee or warranty, e.g., retreatment (full or
partial), damage repair and retreatment, or no warranty.

This information shall be furnished to the
customer or customer’s agent on a form approved by the
Department.  The applicator shall for a period of two years
from the date of application, keep and maintain all
completed copies of disclosure documents.  Such records
shall be made available to authorized employees of the
Department upon request.

22.04 Any application of termiticides, pursuant to this
section, must be conducted with a commercial applicator at
the site of application.  This commercial applicator must be
certified in category 7.07(b), Wood Destroying Pest Control.   

22.05 The disclosure information and written notification
specified in paragraph 22.03(b) are not required of
termiticide treatments to utility poles, fence posts or tree
stumps. 

22.06 Any pre-construction termiticide application shall
be applied in accordance with the termiticide product
labeling and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency,
Pesticide Regulations (PR) Notice 96-7.  For pre-
construction treatments, PR Notice 96-7 supercedes this
Section, and no pre-construction treatment shall be applied
at a lower dosage and/or concentration than specified on the
label, for applications prior to installation of the finished
grade.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

*  PLEASE NOTE:  THE FOLLOWING PROPOSED

REGULATORY CHANGES WILL BE CONSIDERED AT THE

MONTHLY MEETING OF THE STATE BOARD OF

EDUCATION ON THURSDAY, APRIL 21, 2000 AT 2:00 P.M.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

SUPPORTIVE INSTRUCTION (HOMEBOUND)
 
A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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B.  SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend the regulation
Supportive Instruction (Homebound) pages A-11 to A-13 in
the Handbook for K-12 Education.  The regulation has been
amended to update the language and to clarify when services
can begin for pregnant students who qualify.  Items (3)
through (7) have been removed because (3), (4) and (5) are
local district decisions and (6) and (7) are in the Del. C.

1. Will the amended regulation help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation will provide additional
academic support to homebound students.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses supportive
instructional services, which could be interpreted as a type of
equity issue.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation addresses supportive
instruction, not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses supportive
instruction, not student’s rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

Decision making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state

educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation?

The regulation is needed to insure that these
services are available and amending the regulation is needed
for clarity and focus.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?

There is no additional cost to the state or to the local
school boards for compliance with this amended regulation.

I. E. 2.  SUPPORTIVE INSTRUCTION (HOMEBOUND) 
a. Definition

Supportive instruction is an alternative educational
program provided at home, hospital or related site.  For non-
handicapped students hospitalized or at home for a sudden
illness or accident considered to be of a temporary nature,
procedures for eligibility shall be limited to medical
certification that the student cannot attend school.  For
handicapped students, services shall be provided according
to the Administrative Manual: Programs for Exceptional
Children, and shall be processed under the district's special
education authority.

b. Eligibility
To be eligible for supportive instruction as a

non-handicapped student, the student shall be enrolled in the
local school district and:

(l) if absence is due to a medical condition, be
certified by a physician's statement where absence will be for
two weeks or longer; or

(2) if absence is necessary due to severe
adjustment problems, be certified by a staff conference,
including a psychologist or psychiatrist; or

(3) if for transitional in-school program, be
certified by staff conference.

c. Pregnancy complicated by illness or other
abnormal conditions as certified by a physician may be
considered a valid reason for supportive instruction;
however, a normal pregnancy is considered a condition for
which other State supported instructional programs
administered by local districts should be adequate.

d. Implementation
Supportive instruction for non-handicapped

students will begin as soon as administratively feasible and
may continue upon return to school only in those exceptional
cases where it is determined that the student needs a
transitional program to guarantee a successful return to the
school program.  Such unusual cases shall be referred to the
Department of Public Instruction, for approval.

(1) The following weekly schedule of hours of
instruction will be supported by State funds to the extent that
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appropriations allow:
Out of School
Grades K-5 Minimum 3 hoursMaximum 5

hours
Grades 6-8 Minimum 5 hoursMaximum 7

hours
Grades 9-12 Minimum 5 hoursMaximum 10

hours

In School
Grades K-12 No minimum Maximum 3

hours
(2) State funded instruction shall not exceed

three visits per week.  Summer instruction is permitted for a
student who, as determined by the student's teachers and
principal, needs the instruction to complete course work or
to maintain a level of instruction in order to continue in a
school program the following September.

(3) A home-to-school telephone instructional
system may be provided when economically feasible and
educationally advisable as determined by the local district
administration.  Negotiations for installation, removal, and
costs shall be between the telephone company and the local
school district.  (Payable from allocations for homebound
instruction.)  When a home-to-school telephone instructional
system is provided, the coordinating teacher at the
elementary level, or, in the case of departmentalized
instruction, the teacher of each basic subject area may be
authorized to visit the home for one hour per week to give
assistance.

(4) The student's curriculum shall be followed
to the maximum extent possible.

(5) When a student is in a departmentalized
program, more than one teacher may be assigned.

(6) Teachers providing home, hospital, and/or
supportive instruction for a student shall be paid no less than
the minimum hourly rate as set by the Department of Public
Instruction.

(7) A specific amount is allocated to each
district for operation of this program, but nothing in these
regulations shall be construed to prevent a local school
district from providing additional hours of instruction, or
paying a higher hourly rate for teachers' services so long as
the extension of services is supported by local or Division III
funds. Summer instruction may be provided with State
funds, subject to the availability of funds and approval by the
Department of Public Instruction.  Funds for teacher travel in
the provision of home, hospital, or supportive instruction are
to be provided by the local school district subject to
reimbursement annually upon request to the Department of
Public Instruction.

SUPPORTIVE INSTRUCTION (HOMEBOUND)

1.0 Definition: Supportive instruction is an alternative
educational program provided at home, in a hospital or at a
related site for students hospitalized or at home for a sudden
illness or accident considered to be of a temporary nature.

1.1 Procedures for eligibility shall be limited to medical
certification that the student cannot attend school.

1.2 For students with disabilities, services shall be
provided according to the Administrative Manual: Programs
for Special Education Services, and shall be processed under
the district's special education authority.

2.0 Eligibility:  To be eligible for supportive instruction as a
non-handicapped student, the student shall be enrolled in the
local school district and shall be:

2.1 Certified by a physician's statement if the absence is
due to a medical condition and will be for two weeks or
longer.

2.2 Certified through a staff conference that includes a
psychologist or psychiatrist if the absence is due to severe
adjustment problems.

2.3 Certified through a staff conference if the absence
is for transitional in-school programs.

2.4 Pregnancy complicated by illness or other abnormal
conditions as certified by a physician may be considered a
valid reason for supportive instruction; however, a normal
pregnancy is considered a condition for which other State
supported instructional programs administered by local
districts should be adequate.

2.4.1 Students who remain in the school and
have a physician’s note on file may be eligible for
homebound during the required post partum period.

2.4.1.1 Homebound instruction may begin as
soon as the physician’s statement is received.

3.0 Implementation:  Supportive instruction for students
will begin as soon as administratively feasible and may
continue upon return to school only in those exceptional
cases where it is determined that the student needs a
transitional program to guarantee a successful return to the
school program.

3.1 The following weekly schedule of hours of
instruction will be supported by state funds to the extent the
appropriations allow.

3.1.1 Out of School:  Grades K-5 minimum 3
hours, maximum 5, Grades 6-8 minimum 5 hours, maximum
7, Grades 9-12 minimum 5 hours, maximum 10.

3.1.2 In School:  Grades K-12 maximum 3
hours.

3.2 Summer instruction is permitted for a student who,
as determined by the student's teachers and principal, needs
the instruction to complete course work or to maintain a
level of instruction in order to continue in a school program
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the following September.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL.C., SECTION 122(d)

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS FOR STUDENTS 
WITH LIMITED ENGLISH PROFICIENCY

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B.  SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend the regulations
Educational Programs for Students with Limited English
Proficiency, Pages A-16 – A-18 in the Handbook for K-12
Education.  The amended regulations are substantially
changed and provide specific directions to local school
districts as to the services that they must provide to students
with limited English proficiency.  The regulations define a
student with limited English proficiency, provide an
identification procedure, define a program for these students
and set forth a reclassification procedure.  The regulations
also provide directions for monitoring student progress,
program evaluation, reports for DOE and communication
with language minority parents or guardians.  Finally the
regulations state that language minority students are to be a
part of the Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP).

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulations are designed to assist
limited English proficient students in improving their
English skills and improving their achievement in all content
areas.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulations are designed to provide
limited English proficient students with an equal opportunity
to an education.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulations address educational
opportunity, not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that
limited English proficient students’ legal rights are
respected?

The amended regulations will insure that legal
rights of students with limited English proficiency are
protected.

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level?

The amended regulations set the parameters around
required services for limited English proficient students and
still preserve the necessary authority and flexibility at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulations do not require additional
reporting but may require additional administrative decisions
at the local board and school levels pertaining to instruction
for students with limited English proficiency.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity?

8. Will the amended regulations be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulations will be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulations?

The Office of Civil Rights requires that the
Department of Education make such regulations.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulations?

There is an additional cost to local school boards
for compliance with the regulations and funds are made
available through the Academic Excellence Units and Extra
Time for Students grants.  The statewide English language
proficiency assessment will be purchased by the Department
of Education.

I. F. 3.  LIMITED ENGLISH PROFICIENCY PROGRAMS
(BILINGUAL EDUCATION)

a. The State Board of Education believes in the
following program goals for students of limited English
proficiency (LEP):

(1) the ensurance of equal educational
opportunity to every eligible student of limited English
proficiency;

(2) the enabling of limited English proficient
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students to continue to develop academically while
achieving competence in the English language in order to
facilitate their successful integration into regular classrooms
and to allow them to meet grade promotion and graduation
standards.

b. Eligibility
Eligibility for instructional programs designed

for limited English proficient students should be based on
the following criteria:

(1) A student who by reason of foreign birth
or ancestry speaks a language other than English, or who has
been identified by a valid English language assessment
instrument as a pupil of limited English proficiency, is
eligible to receive a program of bilingual education or
English as a Second Language.

(2) The parents or legal guardians of limited
English proficient children identified for enrollment in such
programs should be informed of the reasons for their child's
selection, the native language used in the program, and the
alternative educational programs in the local district.

(3) Parental involvement in their children's
instructional program should be encouraged, including the
option of deciding whether or not to enroll their children in
such programs.

c. Instructional Programs
(1) Instructional programs for pupils of

limited English proficiency should not exceed three years,
which period may be extended by the State Superintendent
with respect to individual pupils, upon application by the
appropriate school authorities.

(2) Where appropriate and practicable,
transitional bilingual education programs may be provided to
meet the needs of qualified pupils in order to facilitate their
future integration into the regular school curriculum.  Where
feasible, the bilingual education program may be provided
on a cooperative, multi-school, multi-district or regional
basis.

(3) Limited English Proficiency students
bring to their schools and communities languages and
cultural heritages that enrich the curriculum and school
setting.  Therefore, it is important to provide all children
with opportunities for gaining an understanding of their own
culture as well as the cultures of others.

(4) Bilingual programs should be designed to:
(a) provide content instruction for

children of limited English proficiency using the child's
native language and English;

(b) provide native language instruction;
and

(c) provide English as a Second
Language (ESL) instruction.

(5) The State Board of Education recognizes
ESL-only programs as currently the best solution in
answering the needs of school districts with small numbers

of children from nations with uncommon languages or with
small numbers of children speaking the same non-English
language.  ESL instruction should include the four language
skills areas:  listening/comprehension, speaking, reading,
and writing and assist in the learning of content areas
through structured monolingual instruction in English.

(6) Instruction in content area subjects
(mathematics, science, and social studies) should be
equivalent in scope to the curriculum required by the
Department of Public Instruction and the local school
district.  Pupils taught in their native language are expected
to progress in the content areas taught at the same rate as
their English-speaking peers are expected to progress when
taught in English.

(State Board Approved February 1987)

Educational Programs for Students with Limited English 
Proficiency

1.0 General.  Each district shall identify upon enrollment
every student with limited English proficiency, and each
district shall make available to every student who has been
determined to be eligible for limited English proficiency
services a program of instruction until such time as the
student becomes fully proficient in English in accordance
with 5.0 below.

2.0 Student with Limited English Proficiency Defined.  For
the purpose of this section, a student with limited English
proficiency is one who, by reason of foreign birth or
ancestry, speaks a language other than English, and either
comprehends, speaks, reads or writes little or no English, or
who has been identified as a pupil of limited English
proficiency by a valid English language proficiency
assessment approved by the Department of Education for use
statewide.

3.0 Determination of Eligibility for Limited English
Proficiency Programs.  Each school district shall implement
a system for the timely and reliable identification of students
with limited English proficiency and determination of such
students’ eligibility for limited English proficiency
programs.  This system shall include a home language
survey and an assessment of English language proficiency.

3.1 A home language survey shall be administered as
part of the registration process for all registering students
and shall elicit from the student’s parent or guardian the
student’s first acquired language and the language(s) spoken
in the student’s home.

3.2 Any student for whom a language other than
English is reported on the home language survey as the
student’s first acquired language or as a language used in the
student's home shall be administered an English language
proficiency assessment.  Such assessment shall be conducted



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 10, SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2000

1343

in conformance with the following standards:
3.2.1 the assessment shall be based on a

standardized instrument, validated for this purpose and
approved by the Department of Education for use statewide;

3.2.2 the assessment shall measure English
proficiency in reading, writing, speaking and oral
comprehension, except that reading and writing proficiency
will generally not be assessed for students below grade 2;

3.2.3 the assessment shall be conducted by
qualified personnel trained in the administration of the
assessment instrument;

3.2.4 the assessment shall be conducted as soon
as practicable, but not later than 25 school days after
enrollment.

3.3 Any student who achieves a score on the English
language proficiency assessment that is lower than the
eligibility cut-off score in reading, writing, or oral English
established by the Department of Education shall be entitled
to a program of instruction for students with limited English
proficiency.  Reading and writing proficiency will not be
considered for students below grade 2.

3.4 For each student enrolled in the 2000-2001 school
year, each district shall conduct a home language survey, to
the extent practicable, of every enrolled student as in 3.1
and, as applicable pursuant to 3.2, an English language
proficiency assessment in accordance with 3.2.1 through
3.2.3.  Beginning with the 2000-2001 school year, each
district shall conduct such a home language survey, and as
appropriate, an English language proficiency assessment of
every new student at the time of enrollment in a school.

4.0 Specially Designed Program.  Each enrolled student
who is eligible for services pursuant to 3.3 above, shall be
provided with a program of instruction for students with
limited English proficiency.

4.1 A program of instruction for students with limited
English proficiency shall include:  formal instruction in
English language development; and instruction in academic
subjects which is designed to provide students with limited
English proficiency with access to the District’s curriculum
in a manner comparable to that provided to other students.

4.2 In selecting program(s), each district may choose
from a variety of programs that are research-based and best
practice in the education of limited English proficient
students.  Beginning with the 2001-2002 school year,
programs of instruction for students with limited English
proficiency are to be approved by the Department of
Education.  Such programs include bilingual programs as
well as programs that are delivered exclusively in English.

4.2.1 Bilingual programs shall be designed to
include:

4.2.1.1 standards-based instruction for
students with limited English proficiency, using the
student’s native language and English;

4.2.1.2 instruction in reading and writing in
the student’s native language; and

4.2.1.3 English as a second language
instruction.

4.2.2 Programs delivered exclusively in English
shall be designed to include:

4.2.2.1 standards-based instruction for
students with limited English proficiency, using English in a
manner that takes into account the student’s level of English
proficiency;

4.2.2.2 instruction which builds on the
language skills and academic subject knowledge the student
has acquired in his or her native language; and

4.2.2.3 English as a second language
instruction.

4.2.3 Programs shall be implemented consistent
with the goals of prompt acquisition of full English
proficiency and progress in academic subject areas that is at
a rate comparable to that of students who are not students
with limited English proficiency.

4.2.4 Programs shall include instruction in
academic subjects which is equivalent in scope to the
instruction that is provided to students who are not limited in
English proficiency.

4.2.5 Instruction shall be delivered by teachers
who meet Department of Education certification
requirements and who are trained in the delivery of
instruction to students with limited English proficiency.

4.2.6 Where a bilingual program is offered, the
parent or guardian of an eligible student may opt for the
eligible student to be served in a program for students with
limited English proficiency carried out exclusively in
English.

5.0 Reclassification Procedures.  At least once each school
year, each eligible student shall be considered for
reclassification as a fully English proficient student who no
longer needs a program for students with limited English
proficiency.

5.1 Reclassification shall include an assessment of
English proficiency in accordance with the standards in 3.2.1
-3.2.4 above.

5.2 Any student who achieves a score on the English
language proficiency assessment which is lower than the
eligibility cut-off score in reading, writing, or oral English
established by the Department of Education shall be
regarded as a student with limited English proficiency and
shall continue to be eligible for a program of instruction for
students with limited English proficiency.  Reading and
writing proficiency will not be considered for students below
grade 2.

5.3 Any student who achieves a score on the English
language proficiency assessment at or above the eligibility
cut-off score in reading, writing, and oral English established
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by the Department of Education shall be reclassified as fully
English proficient and considered ineligible for a program of
instruction for students with limited English proficiency.
Reading and writing proficiency will not be considered for
students below grade 2.

5.4 Before removing any student from a program for
students with limited English proficiency, the district shall
assess the student’s level of performance in academic subject
areas.  Any reclassified student found to have incurred
academic deficits while in the program for students with
limited English proficiency shall be provided with
supplemental instructional services in the relevant subject
areas.

6.0 Monitoring Performance of Ineligible and Reclassified
Students.  For at least two school years following the
determination of ineligibility or reclassification, a district
shall monitor the academic performance of each student who
has been:  assessed pursuant to 3.2 above and found
ineligible for a program; or reclassified as fully English
proficient pursuant to 5.3 above.  Students who experience
academic performance problems during this period shall,
based on further assessment, be considered for entry/reentry
into a program of instruction for students with limited
English proficiency and shall be provided with supplemental
instructional services as necessary and appropriate.

7.0 Program Evaluation.  Each district shall prepare an
annual evaluation of its program(s) for students with limited
English proficiency.  Such evaluation shall be available for
review upon request and shall be submitted to the
Department of Education beginning with the 2001-2002
school year.  At a minimum, this program evaluation shall:

7.1 consider the validity of the assessment processes
carried out pursuant to 3.2 and 3.3, and 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, and 5.4
above, in terms of predicting student success in the regular
instructional program;

7.2 consider the effectiveness of each program of
instruction for students with limited English proficiency in
achieving the goals and standards in 4.2. above; and

7.3 describe any modifications that have been proposed
or implemented, based on the evaluation data.

8.0 Student Information Reports.  Each district shall provide
the Department of Education annually with the language
background, the current English proficiency level of each
LEP student enrolled in the district, and the type of program
in which the LEP student receives services, and related
information.  Such reporting shall take place in a manner
prescribed by the Department of Education.  A district shall
provide such other information as the Department of
Education may request, in order to assure adherence to this
regulation.

9.0 Communications with Language Minority Parents/
Guardians.  Each district shall ensure that communications
with parents/guardians, including notices of eligibility for a
program for students with limited English proficiency,
notices about the student’s educational performance and
progress in such programs, and school information that is
made available to other parents/guardians, are provided to
each language minority parent/guardian in a language the
parent/guardian can understand to the extent practicable.

10.0 Accountability.  Students with limited English
proficiency and students reclassified as fully English
proficient shall be included in the Delaware Student Testing
Program (DSTP).  Alternative assessment measures may be
used as provided in Department of Education guidelines,
including the Guidelines for the Inclusion of Students with
Disabilities and Students with Limited English Proficiency,
as the same may, from time to time, be amended hereafter.

10.1 Differential analysis of the results of the DSTP
and any alternative assessment measures shall be conducted
on the performance of students with limited English
proficiency and students reclassified as fully English
proficient. Such data shall be made available with other
accountability data for each district and the state as a whole.

10.2 The Department of Education and each district
shall ensure that consequences and benefits under
Delaware’s system of statewide accountability are dispensed
in a manner that is equitable to students with limited English
proficiency and students reclassified as fully English
proficient, based on assessments which accurately measure
the student’s performance in the area being assessed and are
reflective of the curriculum which was delivered to the
student.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

CERTIFICATION FOR SPEECH LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGIST

 
A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary seeks the consent of the State
Board of Education to amend the regulation Certification for
Speech Language Pathologist, page 23, Section 5 of Specific
Requirements in the Manual for Certification of
Professional Public School Personnel.  The amendment
would remove the requirement of nine (9) credit hours of
course work presently required.  The content of this course
work is covered in the content of the Master’s Degree
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program that a Speech Language Pathologist is required to
complete in order to obtain a state license.  The nine hours
have been an impediment for districts in the hiring process
and the state license requirements already assure that the
person has the required knowledge.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation addresses certification
requirements, not student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses certification
requirements, not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation addresses certification
requirements, not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses certification
requirements, not student’s legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

There is no less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?

There is no additional cost to the state or to the local
school boards for compliance with this amended regulation.

DELAWARE STATE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
INSTRUCTION CERTIFICATION OF PROFESSIONAL 

PUBLIC SCHOOL PERSONNEL

SPEECH LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST

I.  Requirements for the Standard Certificate
A. Licensed Speech/Hearing Pathologist in the State of

Delaware; and
B. Completion of a Master’s degree program in the

area of speech and hearing pathology; and
C. Nine semester hours covering the following areas:

1. Introduction/Survey of Exceptional Children
2. Assessment/Prescription/IEP Development
3. Applied Behavior Analysis

II. Requirements for the Limited Standard Certificate
Issued for a period of three years at the request of a

Delaware public school district to a person who meets the
requirements listed below and who is employed as a Speech
Language Pathologist, to allow for the completion of the
requirements for the Standard certificate under Section I.
Above.

A. Requirements as listed in I. A. and B.

CERTIFICATES ISSUED FOR THIS POSITION

Standard See above
Limited Standard See above
Temporary None

Speech Language Pathologist

1.0 Requirements for the Standard Certificate
1.1 Licensed Speech/Hearing Pathologist in the State of

Delaware; and
1.2 Completion of a Master’s degree program in the

area of speech and hearing pathology.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority 31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512)

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF REGULATIONS |
CONTAINED IN DSSM 4006.1, 8030.1, |
9059, 11003.9.1, and 14710 |

PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware Health and Social Services is proposing
changes to regulations contained in the Division of Social
Services Manual Sections 4006.1, 8030.1, 9059, 11003.9.1,
and 14710. These changes are initiated pursuant to 29
Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed
by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.  These changes are
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.  

Written materials and suggestions by interested persons
for related to this proposal must be forwarded by April 30,
2000, to the Director, Division of Social Services, P. O. Box
906, New Castle, DE 19720.

SUMMARY OF REGULATIONS:
Excludes the earnings of temporary census workers

during the period of April 1, 2000 through December 31,
2000 ofr DABC (TANF), General Assistance, Refugee
Assistance, Food Stamps, Child Care and Medicaid.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:
(revisions underlined):

DSSM 4006.1  Excluded Income

The following kinds of income are disregarded in
determining financial eligibility and grant amounts in ABC
and GA:

• The value of USDA donated foods.
• The value of food stamps.
• Foster care payments made on behalf of foster

children residing in the home.
• Payments made directly to a third party on behalf of

a recipient.

EXAMPLE:  A friend pays a recipient's electric bill.  The
payment is made directly to the electric company.  This
payment is not considered as income to the assistance unit.

• A one-time bonus payment of $50.00 will be paid
from A BETTER CHANCE funds to teens who
graduate from high school by age 19.  This bonus
will be paid directly to the high school graduate.
Disregard as income and resource the bonus
payment, for ABC and Food Stamp purposes. 

• A cash payment made to the ABC unit responsible
for household bills by a non-unit member for his or
her share of the common household expenses.

• Any bona fide loan including loans for current
living expenses.  The following criteria must be met
to ensure that the loan is bona fide:

1. Written agreement between the client and
the individual or establishment engaged in the business of
making loans to repay the money within a specified time.

2. If the loan is obtained from an individual
or establishment not normally engaged in the business of
making loans, obtain one of the following:

a.   Borrower's acknowledgement of
obligation to repay; or

b.   Borrower's expressed intent to repay
either by pledging real or personal property or anticipated
income; or

c.   A written statement detailing
borrower's plans to repay the loan when future anticipated
income is received.

• Money received in the form of a non-recurring
lump sum payment is to be counted as a resource in
the month received unless specifically excluded
from consideration as a resource by other Federal
law or regulations. 

• Income received under the Uniform Relocation
Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies
Act of 1970.

• Incentive payments or reimbursement for training-
related expenses derived from participation in
Institutional and Work Experience Training or
special work projects under the Work Incentive
Program (First Step).

• Benefits received under the nutrition program for
the elderly or the Women, Infants, and Children
Nutritional Program.

• All payments received under the VISTA program
unless the value of the payment when adjusted to
reflect the number of hours worked is equal to or
greater than the minimum wage currently in effect
under the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938.  In that
case the income is treated as earned income and
disregards applicable to the category of assistance
are deducted from it.

• Payments distributed per capita to or held in trust
for members of any Indian tribe under Public Law
92-254, P.L. 93-134, or P.L. 94-540.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
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• Federal major disaster and emergency assistance
provided to individuals and families and
comparable disaster assistance provided by State,
local governments, and disaster assistance
organizations under P.L. 100-707.

"Emergency" means any occasion or instance for which,
in the determination of the President, Federal assistance is
needed to supplement State and local efforts and capabilities
to save lives and to protect property and public health and
safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in any
part of the United States.

"Major Disaster" means any natural catastrophe...which
in the determination of the President causes damage of
sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant major disaster
assistance to supplement the efforts of available resources of
states, local governments, and disaster relief organizations in
alleviating the damage, loss, hardship, or suffering caused
thereby.

• Restitution made to United States' citizens and
permanent resident aliens of Japanese ancestry who
were interned during World War II pursuant to Title
I. of P.L. 100-383.

• Restitution made by any Aleut who was relocated
by authority of the United States from his or her
home village on the Pribilof Islands or the Aleutian
Islands during World War II pursuant to Title II of
P.L. 100-383.

• Payments made from the Agent Orange Settlement
Fund or any other fund established pursuant to the
settlement in the In Re Agent Orange product
liability litigation, M.D.L. No. 381 (E. D. N. Y.).

• Payments of supportive services or reimbursement
of out-of pocket expenses made to individual
volunteers serving as foster grandparents, senior
health aides, or senior companions, and to persons
serving in services corps of retired executives and
active corps of executives, and any other program
under Title II and III pursuant to Section 418 of
P.L. 93-113.

• Tax exempt portions of payments made pursuant to
the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, P.L. 92-
203.

• Payments of Experimental Housing Allowance
Program made under annual contributions contracts
entered into prior to January 1, 1975, under Section
23 of the U.S. Housing Act of 1937, as amended.

• Receipts distributed to members of certain Indian
tribes which are referred to in Section 5 of P.L. 94-
114.

• Housing subsidies provided under Section 8 of the
U.S. Housing Act.

• Benefits paid to eligible households under the

Home Energy Assistance Act of 1980.
• Home energy assistance based on need, such as, but

not limited to home energy assistance from the
following agencies:

Kingswood Community Center
Peoples' Settlement Association
Catholic Social Services, Inc.
Neighborhood House, Inc.
Community Housing, Inc.
Jewish Family Service of Delaware
Salvation Army
Community Action (Sussex County)

• Assistance from other agencies and organizations
provided that no duplication exists between such
other agency and that provided by DSS.  To assure
that non-duplication exists, determine that the aid
granted by another agency is for a different
purpose.  For example, vocational rehabilitation
provides cash allowances (usually $25 per week) to
reimburse clients for costs such as transportation
related to their participation in a training program.

• Earned income tax credits (EITC).
• Income received from the Census Bureau April

01,2000 through December 31, 2000.

DSSM 8030.1  Excluded Income

The following kinds of income are disregarded in
determining financial eligibility and grant amounts in RCA:

• The value of USDA donated foods.
• The value of food stamps.
• Foster care payments made on behalf of foster

children residing in the home.
• Payments made directly to a third party on behalf of

a recipient.

EXAMPLE:  A friend pays a recipient's electric bill.  The
payment is made directly to the electric company.  This
payment is not considered as income to the assistance unit.

• Earnings received by children under the Summer
Youth Program of the Job Training Partnership Act
of 1982 for a period not to exceed six (6) months.

• A cash payment made to the RCA unit responsible
for household bills by a non-unit member for his or
her share of the common household expenses.

• Any bona fide loan including loans for current
living expenses.  The following criteria must be met
to ensure that the loan is bona fide:

1. Written agreement between the client and
the individual or establishment engaged in the business of
making loans to repay the money within a specified time.

2. If the loan is obtained from an individual
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or establishment not normally engaged in the business of
making loans, obtain one of the following:

a. Borrower's acknowledgement of
obligation to repay; or

b. Borrower's expressed intent to repay
either by pledging real or personal property or anticipated
income; or

c. A written statement detailing
borrower's plans to repay the loan when future anticipated
income is received.

• Income received under the Uniform Relocation
Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies
Act of 1970.

• Incentive payments or reimbursement for training-
related expenses derived from participation in
Institutional and Work Experience Training or
special work projects under the Work Incentive
Program (First Step).

• Benefits received under the nutrition program for
the elderly or the Women, Infants, and Children
Nutritional Program.

• All payments received under the VISTA program
unless the value of the payment when adjusted to
reflect the number of hours worked is equal to or
greater than the minimum wage currently in effect
under the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938.  In that
case the income is treated as earned income and
disregards applicable to the category of assistance
are deducted from it.

• Payments distributed per capita to or held in trust
for members of any Indian tribe under Public Law
92-254, P.L. 93-134, or P.L. 94-540.

• Federal major disaster and emergency assistance
provided to individuals and families and
comparable disaster assistance provided by State,
local governments, and disaster assistance
organizations under P.L. 100-707.

"Emergency" means any occasion or instance for which,
in the determination of the President, Federal assistance is
needed to supplement State and local efforts and capabilities
to save lives and to protect property and public health and
safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in any
part of the United States.

"Major Disaster" means any natural catastrophe...which
in the determination of the President causes damage of
sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant major disaster
assistance to supplement the efforts of available resources of
states, local governments, and disaster relief organizations in
alleviating the damage, loss, hardship, or suffering caused
thereby.

• Payments of supportive services or reimbursement
of out-of pocket expenses made to individual

volunteers serving as foster grandparents, senior
health aides, or senior companions, and to persons
serving in services corps of retired executives and
active corps of executives, and any other program
under Title II and III pursuant to Section 418 of
P.L. 93-113.

• Housing subsidies provided under Section 8 of the
U.S. Housing Act.

• Benefits paid to eligible households under the
Home Energy Assistance Act of 1980.

• Home energy assistance based on need, such as, but
not limited to home energy assistance from the
following agencies:

Kingswood Community Center
Peoples' Settlement Association
Catholic Social Services, Inc.
Neighborhood House, Inc.
Community Housing, Inc.
Jewish Family Service of Delaware
Salvation Army
Community Action (Sussex County)

• Assistance from other agencies and organizations
provided that no duplication exists between such
other agency and that provided by DSS.  To assure
that non-duplication exists, determine that the aid
granted by another agency is for a different
purpose.  For example, vocational rehabilitation
provides cash allowances (usually $25 per week) to
reimburse clients for costs such as transportation
related to their participation in a training program.

• Earned income tax credits (EITC).
• Income of an individual acting as a refugee's

sponsor.
• Income received from the Census Bureau from

April 1, 2000 through December 31, 2000.

DSSM 9059 Income Exclusions
[273.9(c)]

Only the following items will be excluded from
household income and no other income will be excluded:

 A. Any gain or benefit which is not in the form of
money payable directly to the household.

This includes in-kind benefits and certain vendor
payments.  In-kind benefits are those for which no monetary
payment is made on behalf of the household and includes
meals, clothing, housing, or produce from a garden.  A
vendor payment is a money payment made on behalf of a
household by a person or organization outside of the
household directly to either the household's creditors or to a
person or organization providing a service to the household.  

Payments made to a third party on behalf of the
household are included or excluded as income as follows:

1. Department of Housing and Urban
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Development (HUD) vendor payments.  Rent or mortgage
payments made to landlords or mortgages by HUD are
excluded.

2. Educational assistance vendor payments.
Educational assistance provided to a third party on behalf of
the household for living expenses shall be treated the same
as educational assistance directly to the household.

3. Vendor payments that are reimbursements.
Reimbursements made in the form of vendor payments are
excluded on the same basis as reimbursements paid directly
to the household as described in DSSM 9059 E .

4. Other third party payments.  Other third party
payments shall be handled as follows:  Moneys legally
obligated and otherwise payable to the household which are
diverted by the provider of the payment to a third party for a
household expense shall be counted as income and not
excluded.  If the person or organization makes a payment to
a third party on behalf of a household using funds that are
not owed to the household, the payment shall be excluded
from income. The following are examples of third party
payments:

a) A friend or relative uses his or her own
money to pay the household's rent directly to the landlord.
This vendor payment shall be excluded.

b) A household member earns wages.
However, the wages are garnished or diverted by the
employer and paid to a third party for a household expense,
such as rent.  This vendor payment is counted as income.
However, if the employer pays a household's rent directly to
the landlord in addition to paying the household its regular
wages, the rent payment shall be excluded from income.
Similarly, if the employer provides housing to an employee
in addition to wages, the value of the housing shall not be
counted as income.

c) A household receives court-ordered
monthly support payments in the amount of $400.  Later,
$200 is diverted by the provider and paid directly to a
creditor for a household expense.  The payment is counted as
income.

Money deducted or diverted from a court-
ordered support or alimony payment to a third party for a
household's expense shall be included as income because the
payment is taken from money that is owed to the household.
However, payments specified by a court order or other
legally binding agreement to go directly to a third party
rather than the household are excluded from income because
they are not otherwise payable to the household.

Examples of court-ordered payments:
a) A court awards support payments in

the amount of $400 a month and in addition orders $200 to
be paid directly to a bank for repayment of a loan.  The $400
payment is counted as income and the $200 payment is
excluded from income.

b) A civil service retiree is entitled to a

retirement payment of $800 a month.  However, $400 is
diverted to his ex-wife by court order for child support.  This
is similar to a wage garnishment.  Since the retirement
benefits are legally obligated and otherwise payable to the
retiree's household, the $800 is budgeted for food stamp
purposes.

Support payments not required by a court
order or other legally binding agreement (including
payments in excess of the amount specified in a court order
or written agreement) which are paid to a third party on the
household's behalf shall be excluded from income.

5. Payments made by the Division or by another
government agency to a child care institution to provide day
care for a household member are also excluded as vendor
payments.

6. All or part of a public assistance grant which
would normally be provided in a money payment but which
is diverted to a protective payee will be considered income to
the household.

7. Emergency Assistance payments will be
excluded if they are made directly to a third party for a
household expense.  This rule applies even if the household
has the option of receiving a direct cash payment.

8. Under some pay/benefit plans, an employee
may choose to have the employer withhold from the
employee's earnings money to pay certain expenses such as
child care and medical expenses as a vendor payment to a
third party when the expenses are incurred.  The amount is
counted as earned income when withheld because the money
is legally obligated and otherwise payable to the employee at
that time.

9. Some companies make credits available to
employees to use to buy health insurance, annual leave, sick
leave or life insurance.  The employee cannot elect to receive
a cash payment and loses the credits if not used.  The amount
shows up on the pay stub when used.  These flexible benefits
are not counted as income because they are not legally
obligated and otherwise payable to the employee as
earnings.

Some companies give employees "points" as
incentive to arrive to work on time, work so many weeks
without taking leave, etc.  These points have a monetary
value that appears on the pay stub and the points are subject
to taxes.  The employee can only redeem the points for
commodities or goods from a catalog provided by the
employer; they cannot convert the points to cash.  These
points are excluded from income because the funds are not
otherwise payable to the household.

B. Any income in the certification period which is
received too infrequently or irregularly to be reasonably
anticipated, but not in excess of $30 a quarter.

C. Educational assistance, including grants,
scholarships, fellowships, work study, educational loans on
which payment is deferred, veterans’ educational benefits
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and the like.
To be excluded, the educational assistance listed

above must be:
A. Awarded to a household member enrolled at a:

1. Recognized institution of post-secondary
education,* 

2. School for the handicapped,
3. Vocational education program,
4. Vocational or technical school, or 
5. Program that provides for obtaining a

secondary school diploma or the equivalent;

*   Means any public or private educational
institution which normally requires a high school diploma or
equivalency certificate for enrollment or admits persons who
are beyond the age of compulsory school attendance for that
State.  The institution must be authorized to provide an
educational program beyond secondary education or
provides a program of training to prepare students for gainful
employment, including correspondence schools at that level. 

B. Used for or identified (earmarked) by the
institution, school, program, or other grantor for the
following allowable expenses:

1. Tuition,
2. Mandatory school fees, including the rental or

purchase of any equipment, material, and supplies related to
the pursuit of the course of study involved,

3. Books,
4. Supplies,
5. Transportation,
6. Miscellaneous personal expenses, other than

the normal living expenses of room and board, of the student
incidental to attending a school, institution, or program,

7. Dependent care (amounts excluded cannot be
excluded under the income dependent care deduction under
DSSM 9060 ), and 

8. Origination fees and insurance premiums on
educational loans.

Exclusions based on use for the allowable expenses
listed above must be incurred or anticipated for the period
the educational income is intended to cover regardless of
when the educational income is actually received.  If a
student uses other income sources to pay for allowable
educational expenses in months before the educational
income is received, the exclusions to cover the expenses
shall be allowed when the educational income is received.
When the amounts used for allowable expenses are more
than amounts earmarked by the institution, school,  program
or other grantor, an exclusion shall be allowed for amounts
used over the earmarked amounts.  Exclusions based on use
shall be subtracted from unearned educational income first
when possible, and the remainder, if any, shall be excluded
from earned educational income.

An individual's total educational income exclusions
cannot exceed that individual's total educational income
received. 

D. All loans, including loans from private individuals
as well as commercial institutions, other than educational
loans on which repayment is deferred.  Educational loans on
which repayment is deferred shall be excluded according to
DSSM 9059 C .  A loan on which repayment must begin
within 60 days after receipt of the loan shall not be
considered a deferred repayment loan.  

E. Reimbursements for past or future expenses, to the
extent that they do not exceed actual expenses, and do not
represent a gain or benefit to the household.

Reimbursements for normal household living
expenses such as rent or mortgage, personal clothing, or food
eaten at home are a gain or benefit and, therefore, are not
excluded.  To be excluded, these payments must be provided
specifically for an identified expense, other than normal
living expenses, and used for the purpose intended.  When a
reimbursement, including a flat allowance, covers multiple
expenses, each expense does not have to be separately
identified as long as none of the reimbursement covers
normal living expenses.  The amount by which a
reimbursement exceeds the actual incurred expense will be
counted as income.  However, reimbursements will not be
considered to exceed actual expenses, unless the provider or
the household indicates that the amount is excessive.

Examples of excludable reimbursements which are
not considered to be a gain or benefit to the household are:

• Reimbursements or flat allowances for job or
training related expenses such as travel, per diem,
uniforms, and transportation to and from the job or
training site.  Reimbursements which are provided
over and above the basic wages for these expenses
are excluded; however, these expenses, if not
reimbursed, are not otherwise deductible.
Reimbursements for the travel expenses incurred by
migrant workers are also excluded, as are
maintenance funds provided to VR clients for
uniforms, supplies, etc.

• Reimbursement for out-of-pocket expenses of
volunteers incurred in the course of their work.

• Medical or dependent care reimbursements.
• Reimbursements received by households to pay for

a service provided under Title XX of the Social
Security Act.

Do not consider the following as excludable
reimbursements:

• No portion of benefits provided under Title IV-A of
the Social Security Act, (ABC) to the extent such
benefit is attributed to an adjustment for work
related or child care expenses, will be considered



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 10, SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2000

1351

excludable under this provision.
• No portion of any educational assistance that is

provided for normal living expenses (room and
board) shall be considered a reimbursement
excludable under this section.

F. Monies received and used for the care and
maintenance of a third-party beneficiary who is not a
household member.

If the intended beneficiaries of a single payment are
both household and non-household members, any
identifiable portion of the payment intended and used for the
care and maintenance of the non-household member will be
excluded.  If the non-household member's portion cannot be
readily identified, the payment must be evenly prorated
among intended beneficiaries and the exclusion applied to
the non-household member's prorata share or the amount
actually used for the non-household member's care and
maintenance, whichever is less.

G. The earned income of a student under age 18 who
attends elementary or secondary school or classes to obtain a
GED at least half-time and lives with a natural, adoptive or
step parent, is under the control of a household member
other than a parent, or is certified in a separate food stamp
household but lives with a natural, adoptive or step parent. 

This exclusion continues to apply during temporary
interruptions in school attendance due to semester or
vacation breaks, provided the child's enrollment will resume
following the break.  If the child's earnings or amount of
work performed cannot be differentiated from that of other
household members, prorate the total earnings equally
among the working members.    The child's prorata share is
excluded.   

H. Money received in the form of a non-recurring
lump sum payment.

These include, but are not limited to:  income tax
refunds, rebates or credits; retroactive lump sum Social
Security, SSI, public assistance, railroad retirement benefits,
or other payments; lump sum insurance settlement; or
refunds of security deposits on rental property or utilities.
These payments will be counted as resources in the month
received unless specifically excluded from consideration as a
resource by other federal laws.

Payments of large retroactive SSI benefit amounts
are required to be made in installments for SSI recipients.
These SSI retroactive lump sum installments are excluded
from income.  

Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) payments,
whether paid in advance or made as tax refunds, are
considered to be non-recurring lump sum payments.

I. The cost of producing self-employment income
(See DSSM 9074.4 ).

J. Any income that is specifically excluded by any
other Federal law from consideration as income for the

purpose of determining eligibility for the Food Stamp
Program.

The following laws provide such an exclusion:

PART A -- GENERAL
1. P. L. 79-396, Section 12(e) of the National School

Lunch Act, as amended by Section 9(d) of P. L. 94-105,
provides that,

The value of assistance to children under this Act
shall not be considered to be income or resources for any
purposes under any Federal or State laws, including laws
relating to taxation and welfare and public assistance
programs.

This law authorizes the School Lunch Program, the
Summer Food Service Program for Children, the
Commodity Distribution Program, and the Child and Adult
Care Food Program.  Note that the exclusion applies to
assistance provided to children rather than that paid to
providers.

2. P. L. 89-642, the Child Nutrition Act of 1966,
Section 11(b), provides in part that,

The value of assistance to children under this Act
shall not be considered to be income or resources for any
purpose under any Federal or State laws including, but not
limited to, laws relating to taxation, welfare, and public
assistance programs.

This law authorizes the Special Milk Program, the
School Breakfast Program, and the Special Supplemental
Food Program for women, infants, and children (WIC).

3. P. L. 91-646, Section 216, the Uniform Relocation
Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policy Act of
1970.  Reimbursements are excluded from income and
resources.

4. P. L. 93-113, the Domestic Volunteer Services Act
of 1973, Titles I and II, as amended.

Payments under Title I of that Act, including
payments from such Title I programs as VISTA, University
Year for Action, and Urban Crime Prevention Program, to
volunteers shall be excluded for those individuals receiving
food stamps or public assistance at the time they joined the
Title I program, except that households which were
receiving an income exclusion for a Vista or other Title I
Subsistence allowance at the time of conversion to the Food
Stamp Act of 1977 shall continue to receive an income
exclusion for VISTA for the length of their volunteer
contraction in effect at the time of conversion.  Temporary
interruptions in food stamp participation shall not alter the
exclusion once an initial determination has been made.  New
applicants who were not receiving public assistance or food
stamps at the time they joined VISTA shall have these
volunteer payments included as earned income.

Payments to volunteers under Title II, including the
Retired Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP), Foster
Grandparents Program and Senior Companion Program, are
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excluded from income.
5. P. L. 93-288, Section 312(d), the Disaster Relief

Act of 1974, as amended by P. L. 100-707, Section 105(i),
the Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Amendments
of 1988, 11/23/88.  Payments precipitated by an emergency
or major disaster as defined in this Act, as amended, are not
counted as income or resources for food stamp purposes.
This exclusion applies to Federal assistance provided to
persons directly affected and to comparable disaster
assistance provided by States, local governments, and
disaster assistance organizations.

A major disaster is any natural catastrophe such as a
hurricane or drought, or, regardless of cause, any fire, flood,
or explosion, which the President determines causes damage
of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant major
disaster assistance to supplement the efforts and available
resources of States, local governments, and disaster relief
organizations in alleviating the damage, loss, hardship, or
suffering caused thereby.

An emergency is any occasion or instance for
which the President determines that Federal assistance is
needed to supplant State and local efforts and capabilities to
save lives and to protect property and public health and
safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

Most, but not all, Federal Emergency Management
Assistance (FEMA) funds are excluded.  For example, some
payments made to homeless people to pay for rent,
mortgage, food, and utility assistance when there is no major
disaster or emergency is not excluded under this provision.

6. P. L. 97-300, the Job Training Partnership Act
(JTPA), 10/13/82.  Section 142(b) provides that allowances,
earnings and payments to individuals participating in
programs under JTPA shall not be considered as income.
Subsequently P. L. 99-198, the Food Security Act of 1985,
12/85, amended section 5(1) of the Food Stamp Act to
require counting as income on-the-job training payments
provided under section 204(5) of Title II of the JTPA except
for dependents less than 19 years old.  Section 702(b) of P.L.
102-367, the Job Training Reform Amendments of 1992,
further amended the Food Stamp Act (by changing the
reference) to exclude on-the-job training payments received
under the Summer Youth Employment and training
Program.   This means that currently only on-the-job training
payments to (1) youths, other than dependents under 19, in
year-round programs and (2) adults can be counted.  All
other JTPA income is excluded.

7. P. L. 99-425, Section (e), the Low-Income Home
Energy Assistance Act, 9/30/86.  The amount of any home
energy assistance payments or allowances provided directly
to, or indirectly on behalf of, a household is excluded from
income and resources.  In determining any excess shelter
expense deduction, the full amount of such payments or
allowances shall be deemed to be expended by such
household for heating or cooling expenses.

8. P. L. 99-498, the Higher Education Act
Amendments of 1986, Section 479B, as amended by P. L.
100-50, June 3, 1987.  Amounts made available for tuition
and fees and, for students attending an institution at least
half-time, books, supplies, transportation and miscellaneous
personal expenses (other than room, board and dependent
care) provided under Title IV of the Act and by the Bureau
of Indian Affairs were excluded from income and resources.

P. L. 102-325, the Higher Education Amendments
of 1992, dated 7/23/92, contain two separate provisions that
affect the treatment of payments made under the Higher
Education Act.  In regard to Title IV-- Student Assistance,
Part F, Section 479B provides that:

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, student
financial assistance received under this title, or under Bureau
of Indian Affairs student assistance programs, shall not be
taken into account in determining the need or eligibility of
any person for benefits or assistance, or the amount of such
benefits or assistance, under any Federal, State, or local
program financed in whole or in part with Federal funds.

Student assistance authorized under Title IV
includes the following:  (State and local agencies select
students for some of these programs.  In addition, some State
and local agencies have separate programs of their own with
similar names.)

• Basic Educational Opportunity Grants (BEOG or
Federal Pell Grants)

• Presidential Access Scholarships (PAS-Super Pell
Grants)

• Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity
Grants (FSEOG)

• State Student Incentives Grants (SSIG)
• Federal Direct Student Loan Programs (FDSLP)

(Formerly GSL and FFELP):
• Federal Direct Supplemental Loan Program

(provides loans to students)
• Federal Direct PLUS Program (provides loans to

parents)
• Federal Direct Stafford Loan Program
• Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford Loan

Program, and
• Federal Consolidated Loan Program
• Federal Perkins Loan Program - Direct loans to

students in institutions of higher education (Perkins
Loans, formerly NDSL)

• Federal Work Study Funds (Note: Not all Federal
work study funds come under Title IV of the Higher
Education Act.)

• TRIO Grants (Go to organizations or institutions
for students from disadvantaged backgrounds):

• Upward Bound (Some stipends go to students)
• Student Support Services
• Robert E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement
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• Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program
• College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP) for

students whose families are engaged in migrant and
seasonal farm work

• High School Equivalency Program (HEP)
• National Early Intervention Scholarship and

Partnership Program (NEISP).

There is only one BIA student assistance program
per se.  It is the Higher Education Grant Program, which is
sometimes called the Scholarship Grant Program.  However,
education or training assistance received under any BIA
program must be excluded.  There is an Adult Education
Program that provides money to adults to get a GED, attend
technical schools, and for job training.  There is also an
employment assistance program.  In addition, education and
training may be made available under separate programs like
the Indian Child and Family Programs.  Each tribe has a BIA
agency that may be contacted for more information about
education and training assistance.

Section 480(b) provides that:
The changes made in part F of title IV of the Act by

the amendment made by this section shall apply with respect
to determinations of need under such part F for award years
beginning on or after July 1, 1993.

Title XIII, Indian Higher Education Programs, Part
E--Tribal Development Student Assistance Revolving Loan
Program (Tribal Development Student Assistance Act),
Section 1343(c) provides in part that:

. . . for purposes of determining eligibility, loans
provided under this program may not be considered in needs
analysis under any other Federal law, and may not penalize
students in determining eligibility for other funds.

The Part E exclusion was effective October 1, 1992.
P. L. 98-524, the Carl D. Perkins Vocational

Education Act, Section 507, as amended by P. L. 101-392, 9/
25/90, Sections 501 and 701 of the Carl D. Perkins
Vocational and Applied Technology Education Act
Amendments of 1990.  Amounts made available for tuition
and fees and, for students attending an institution at least
half-time, books, supplies, transportation, dependent care,
and miscellaneous personal expenses (other than room and
board).  This provision was effective July 1, 1991.  The
programs under this Act include the following:

• Indian Vocational Education Program
• Native Hawaiian Vocational Education Program
• State Vocational and Applied Technology

Education Program which contains the:
• State Program and State Leadership Activities 
• Program for Single Parents, Displaced

Homemakers, and Single Pregnant Women
• Sex Equity Program
• Programs for Criminal Offenders

• Secondary School Vocational Education Program
• Postsecondary and Adult Vocational Education

Program
• State Assistance for Vocational Education Support

Programs by Community-Based Organizations
• Consumer and Homemaking Education Program
• Comprehensive Career Guidance and Counseling

Program
• Business-Labor-Education Partnership for Training

Program
• National Tech-Prep Education Program
• State-administered Tech-Prep Education Program
• Supplementary State Grants for Facilities and

Equipment and Other Program Improvement
Activities

• Community Education Employment Centers
Program

• Vocational Education Lighthouse Schools Program
• Tribally Controlled Postsecondary Vocational

Institutions Program
• Vocational Education Research Program
• National Network for Curriculum Coordination in

Vocational and Technical Education
• National Center or Centers for Research in

Vocational Education
• Materials Development in Telecommunications

Program
• Demonstration Centers for the Training of

Dislocated Workers Program
• Vocational Education Training and Study Grants

Program
• Vocational Education Leadership Development

Awards Program
• Vocational Educator Training Fellowships Program
• Internships for Gifted and Talented Vocational

Education Students Program
• Business and Education Standards Program
• Blue Ribbon Vocational Education Program
• Educational Programs for Federal Correctional

Institutions
• Vocational Education Dropout Prevention Program
• Model Programs of Regional Training for Skilled

Trades
• Demonstration Projects for the Integration of

Vocational and Academic Learning Program
• Cooperative Demonstration Programs
• Bilingual Vocational Training Program
• Bilingual Vocational Instructor Training Program
• Bilingual Materials, Methods, and Techniques

Program

(Federal Perkins Loans authorized under Part E of
Title IV of the Higher Education Act must be handled in
accordance with other Title IV income.)
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Section 5(d)(3) of the Food Stamp Act, as amended
by P. L. 101-624, Food, Agriculture, Conservation and
Trade Act of 1990, Title XVIII, Mickey Leland Memorial
Domestic Hunger Relief Act, 11/28/90, and P. L. 102-237,
Food, Agriculture, Conservation, and Trade Act
Amendments of 1991, Section 903, provides that educational
monies are excluded from income:

• when they are awarded to a person enrolled at a
recognized institution of post-secondary education,
at a school for the handicapped, in a vocational
education program, or in a program that provides
for completion of a secondary school diploma or
obtaining the equivalent thereof,

• to the extent that they do not exceed the amount
used for or made available as an allowance
determined by such school, institution, program, or
other grantor, for tuition, mandatory fees (including
the rental or purchase of any equipment, materials,
and supplies related to the pursuit of the course of
study involved), books, supplies, transportation,
and other miscellaneous personal expenses (other
than living expenses), of the student incidental to
attending such school, institution, or program, and 

• to the extent loans include any origination fees and
insurance premiums.)

9. P. L. 99-576, Veterans' Benefits Improvement and
Healthcare Authorization Act of 1986, Section 303(a)(1), 8/
7/86, which amended Section 1411(b) and 1412(c) of the
Veterans' Educational Act of 1984 (GI Bill) provides that
any amount by which the basic pay of an individual is
reduced under this subsection shall revert to the Treasury
and shall not, for purposes of any Federal law, be considered
to have been received by or to be within the control of such
individual.  Title 38 of the USC, Chapter 30, Section 1411
refers to basic educational assistance entitlement for service
on active duty and Section 1412 refers to basic educational
assistance entitlement for service in the Selected Reserve.
(Section 216 of P. L. 99-576 authorized stipends for
participation in study of Vietnam-era veterans' psychological
problems.  These payments are not excluded by law.)

10. P. L. 100-175, Section 166, Older Americans Act,
11/29/87.  Funds received by persons 55 and older under the
Senior Community Service Employment Program under
Title V of the Older Americans Act are excluded from
income.  Each State and eight organizations receive Title V
funds.  The organizations that receive some Title V funds are
as follows:

Green Thumb
National Council on Aging
National Council of Senior Citizens
American Association of Retired Persons
U.S. Forest Service

National Association for Spanish Speaking Elderly
National Urban League
National Council on Black Aging

11. P. L. 100-242, Section 126(c)(5)(A), 11-6-87, The
Housing and Community Development Act of 1987,
excludes most increases in the earned income of a family
residing in certain housing while participating in HUD
demonstration projects authorized by section 126.
Demonstration projects are authorized by this law for
Charlotte, North Carolina, and 10 additional locations.  The
affected regional offices will be contacted individually
regarding these projects.

12. P. L. 100-383, section 105(f)(2), Wartime
Relocation of Civilians, 8/10/88 (the Civil Liberties Act of
1988).  Payments to U.S. citizens of Japanese ancestry and
permanent resident Japanese aliens or their survivors and
Aleut residents of the Pribilof Islands and the Aleutian
Islands West of Unimak Island are excluded from income
and resources.

13. P. L. 100-435, Section 501, 9/19/88, which
amended Section 17(m)(7) of the Child Nutrition Act of
1966.  Under WIC demonstration project, coupons that may
be exchanged for food at farmers' markets are excluded from
income and resources.

14. P. L. 101-201, Agent Orange Compensation
Exclusion Act, 12/6/89.  All payments from the Agent
Orange Settlement fund or any other fund established
pursuant to the settlement in the Agent Orange product
liability litigation are excluded from income and resources
retroactive to January 1, 1989.  The disabled veteran will
receive yearly payments.  Survivors of deceased disabled
veterans will receive a lump-sum payment. These payments
were disbursed by the AETNA insurance company.

P. L. 101-239, 12/19/89, the Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act of 1989, Section 10405, also excluded
payments made from the Agent Orange settlement fund or
any other fund established pursuant to the settlement in the
In re Agent Orange product liability litigation, M.D.L. No.
381 (E.D.N.Y.) from income and resources in determining
eligibility for the amount of benefits under the Food Stamp
Program.

(Note: P. L. 102-4, Agent Orange Act of 1991, 2/6/
91, authorized veterans' benefits to some veterans with
service connected disabilities resulting from exposure to
agent orange.  Most of the eligible veterans received a lump
sum payment for retroactive benefits due them, followed by
regular monthly payments.  The lump sum payment is
excluded as income but the subsequent monthly payments
are counted as unearned income.  These payments from the
Department of Veterans Affairs are issued by the U.S.
Treasury.  These VA payments are not excluded by law.)

15. P. L. 101-426, Section 6(h)(2), the Radiation
Exposure Compensation Act, dated October 15, 1990,
excludes payments made under this public law from food
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stamp income and resources.
16. P. L. 101-508, 11/5/90, the Omnibus Budget

Reconciliation Act of 1990, Title XI Revenue Provisions,
Section 11111, Modifications of Earned Income Tax Credit,
subsection (b) provides that any Federal earned income tax
credit shall not be treated as income and shall not be taken
into account in determining resources for the month of its
receipt and the following month.  This provision was
effective with taxable years beginning after December 31,
1990.

The September 1988 amendments to the Food
Stamp Act require the exclusion from income of any
payment made to the household under section 3507 of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (relating to advance payment
of earned income credit).  The August 1993 amendments to
the Food Stamp Act require the exclusion from resources of
any earned income tax credits received by any member of
the household for a period of 12 months from receipt if such
member was participating in the food stamp program at the
time the credits were received and participated in such
program continuously during the 12-month period.

17. P. L. 101-610, Section 177(d), 11/16/90, National
and Community Service Act (NCSA) of 1990, provides that
Section 142(b) of the JTPA applies to projects conducted
under Title I of the NCSA as if such projects were conducted
under the JTPA.  See item 6 above for the JTPA income
exclusion.  Title I includes three Acts: (1) Serve-America:
The Community Service, Schools and Service-Learning Act
of 1990, (2) the American Conservation and Youth Service
Corps Act of 1990, and (3) the National and Community
Service Act.  There are about 47 different NCSA programs,
and they vary by State.  Most of the payments are made as a
weekly stipend or for educational assistance.  The Higher
Education Service-Learning program and the AmeriCorps
umbrella program come under this Title.  The National
Civilian Community Corps (NCCC) is a federally managed
AmeriCorps program.  The Summer for Safety program is an
AmeriCorps program under which participants earn a
stipend and a $1000 post-service educational award.  The
National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993, P.L.
103-82, 9/23/93, amended the National and Community
Services Act of 1990 but it did not change the exclusion.  

18. P.S. 101-625, section 22(i), Cranston-Gonzales
National Affordable Housing Act, dated 11/28/90 (42 USCS
1437t(i)) provides that,

(i)  Treatment of Income - No service provided to a
public housing resident under this section [Family
Investment Centers] may be treated as income for purposes
of any other program or provision of State or Federal law. 

This exclusion applies to services such as child
care, employment training and counseling, literacy training,
computer skills training, assistance in the attainment of
certificates of high school equivalency and other services.  It
does not apply to wages or stipends. 

This same public law, Section 522Ii)(4), excludes
most increases in the earned income of a family residing in
certain housing while participating in HUD demonstration
projects authorized by this public law.  Demonstration
projects are authorized by this law for Chicago, Illinois, and
3 other locations.  The affected regional offices will be
contacted individually regarding these projects. 

19. P. L. 102-550, Housing and Community
Development Act of 1992, Section 456(e) provides that
payments made under the Youthbuild Program are to be
treated like JTPA payments.  Therefore they should be
excluded from income in accordance with item 6 above.  

20. P. L. 102-586, signed 11/4/92, Section 8, amended
the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act
Amendments of 1992 by adding a new Section 658S to
exclude the value of any child care provided or arranged (or
any amount received as payment for such care or
reimbursement for costs incurred for such care) under this
subchapter from income for purposes of any other Federal or
Federally-assisted program that bases eligibility, or the
amount of benefits, on need.  (These payments are made
under the Social Security Act, as amended.)

21. P. L. 103-286, dated 8/1/94, Section 1 (a) provides
in part that:

Payments made to individuals because of their
status as victims of Nazi persecution shall be disregarded in
determining eligibility for and the amount of benefits or
services to be provided  under any Federal or federally
assisted program which provides benefits or services based,
in whole or in part, on need. 

22. P. L. 103-322, section 230202, dated 9/13/94,
amended Section 1403 of the Crime Act of 1984 (42 U.S.C.
10602) to provide in part that:

(e) Notwithstanding any other law, if the
compensation paid by an eligible crime victim compensation
program would cover costs that a Federal program, or a
federally financed State or local program, would otherwise
pay,  

(1) such crime victim compensation program
shall not pay that compensation; and 

(2) the other program shall make its payments
without regard to the existence of the crime victim
compensation program.

Based on this language, payments received under
this program must be excluded from income and resources
for food stamp purposes.

23. P. L. 104-193, section 103(a), dated 8/22/96,
amended Section 404(h) of Part A of Title IV of the Social
Security Act to provide that for the purpose of determining
eligibility to receive, or the amount of, any benefit
authorized by the Food Stamp Act, funds (including interest
accruing) in an individual development account under the
TANF block grant program shall be disregarded with respect
to any period during which such individual maintains or



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 10, SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2000

1356

makes contributions into such an account.
24. P.L. 104-204, section 1804(d), dated 9/26/96

provides that:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the

allowance paid to a child under this section shall not be
considered income or resources in determining eligibility for
or the amount of benefits under any Federal or federally
assisted program.

A monthly allowance (from $200 - $1200) is paid
to a child of a Vietnam veteran for any disability resulting
from spina bifida suffered by such child.

Part B - AMERICAN INDIAN OR ALASKA NATIVE
Usually a law will authorize payments to members of a

tribe or band, and the law will apply to the members enrolled
in the tribe or band wherever they live. However, items 2, 3,
and 4 are general laws, and they apply to all tribes.  The
individuals should have documentation showing the type of
payment and where it originated.

1. P. L. 92-203, section 29, dated 1/2/76, the Alaska
native Claims Settlement Act, and Section 15 of P. L. 100-
241, 2/3/88, the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act
Amendments of 1987 - All compensation (including cash,
stock, partnership interest, land, interest in land, and other
benefits) received under this Act are excluded from income
and resources.

2. 25 USCA 640-d-22 (P.L. 93-531, section 22, dated
12/22/74) provides in part that the availability of financial
assistance to any Navajo or Hopi Indian pursuant to 25
USCS § 460d-460d-31 may not be considered as income or
resources or otherwise used as the basis for denying or
reducing the financial assistance or other benefits to which
such household or member would otherwise be entitled to
under the Social Security Act or any other Federal or
federally assisted program.

25 USCS 1407 Judgment Funds (as amended by P.
L. 93-134 and P. L. 97-458) provides that:

None of the funds [appropriated in satisfaction of
judgements of the Indian Claims and Commission or Claims
Court in favor of any Indian tribe, band, etc.] which--

(1) are distributed per capita or held in trust
pursuant to a plan approved under the provisions of this Act
[25 USCS §§ 1401 et seq.], or

(2) on the date of enactment of this Act
[enacted Jan. 12, 1983], are to be distributed per capita or are
held in trust pursuant to a plan approved by Congress prior to
the date of enactment of this Act [enacted Jan. 12, 1983], or

(3) were distributed pursuant to a plan
approved by Congress after December 31, 1981 but prior to
the date of enactment of this Act [enacted Jan. 12, 1983], and
any purchases made with such funds, including all interest
and investment income accrued thereon while such funds are
so held in trust, shall be subject to Federal or State income
taxes, nor shall such funds nor their availability be

considered as income or resources nor otherwise utilized as
the basis for denying or reducing the financial assistance or
other benefits to which such household or member would
otherwise be entitled under the Social Security Act [42
USCS § 301 et seq.] or, except for per capita shares in excess
of $2,000, any Federal or federally assisted program.

The $2,000 amount applies to each payment made
to each person.  Initial purchases made with exempt
payments distributed between January 1, 1982 and January
12, 1983, are excluded from resources to the extent that
excluded funds were used.

3. P. L. 98-64, 8/2/83, applied the exclusion in 25
USCS 1407 to per capita payments from funds which are
held in trust by the Secretary of Interior (trust fund
distributions) for an Indian tribe.  (Per capita payments may
be authorized for specific tribes under other public laws.)

4. 25 USCS 1408 (as amended by P. L. 93-134, P. L.
97-458, and P. L. 103-66, Section 13736, 10/7/93) provides
that interests of individual Indians in trust or restricted lands
shall not be considered a resource and up to $2,000 per year
of income received by individual Indians that is derived from
such interests shall not be considered income in determining
eligibility for assistance under the Social Security Act or any
other Federal or federally assisted program.  Interests
include the Indian's right to or legal share of the trust or
restricted land and any income accrued from the funds in
trust or the restricted lands.  The exclusion applies to each
individual Indian than has an interest.  The income exclusion
applies for both eligibility and benefit level purposes for
food stamp purposes.  The income exclusion applies to
calendar years. 

5. P. L. 93-531, section 22 - Relocation assistance
payments to members of the Navajo and Hopi Tribes are
excluded from income and resources.

6. P. L. 94-114, section 6, 10/17/75 - Income derived
from certain submarginal land held in trust for certain Indian
tribes is excluded from income and resources.  The tribes
that may benefit are:

Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe of 
Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin

Blackfeet Tribe
Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma
Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe
Crow Creek Sioux Tribe
Lower Brule Sioux Tribe
Devils Lake Sioux Tribe
Fort Belknap Indian Community
Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes
Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior 
Chippewa Indians
Keweenaw Bay Indian Community
Minnesota Chippewa Tribe
Navajo Tribe
Oglala Sioux Tribe
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Rosebud Sioux Tribe
Shoshone-Bannock Tribes
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe

7. P. L. 94-189, Section 6, 12/31/75 - Funds
distributed per capita to the Sac and Fox Indians or held in
trust are excluded from income and resources.  The funds are
divided between members of the Sac and Fox Tribe of
Oklahoma and the Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississippi in
Iowa.  The judgments were awarded in Indian Claims
Commission dockets numbered 219, 153, 135, 158, 231, 83,
and 95.

8. P. L. 94-540 - Payments from the disposition of
funds to the Grand River Band of Ottawa Indians are
excluded from income and resources.

9. P. L. 95-433, section 2 - Indian Claims Commission
payments made pursuant to this Public Law to the
Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakima Indian Nation
and the Apache Tribe of the Mescalero Reservation are
excluded from income and resources.

10. 25 USCS 1931 Indian Child Welfare (P. L. 95-608,
11/8/78), subparagraph (a) provides for child and family
service grant programs on or near reservations in the
preparation and implementation of child welfare codes.
Such programs may include, but are not limited to, family
assistance, including homemaker and home counselors, day
care, after school care, and employment, recreational
activities, and respite care; home improvement; the
employment of professional and other trained personnel to
assist the tribal court in the disposition of domestic relations
and child welfare matters; and education and training of
Indians; including tribal court judges and staff, in skills
relating to child and family assistance and service programs.
Subparagraph (b) provides that assistance under 25 USCS
1901 et seq. shall not be a basis for the denial or reduction of
any assistance otherwise authorized under any federally
assisted programs.  (Similar off-reservation programs are
authorized by 25 USCS 1932.  We have asked the Office of
General Counsel if the exclusion applies to these programs.)

11. P. L. 96-420, section 9(c), 10/10/80, Maine Indian
Claims Settlement Act of 1980 - Payments made to the
Passamaquoddy Tribe, the Penobscot Nation, and the
Houlton Band of Maliseet are excluded from income and
resources.

12. P. L. 97-403 - Payments to the Turtle Mountain
Band of Chippewas, Arizona are excluded from income and
resources.

13. P. L. 97-408 - Payments to the Blackfeet,
Grosventre, and Assiniboine tribes, Montana, and the
Papago, Arizona, are excluded from income and resources.

14. P. L. 98-123, Section 3, 10/13/83 - Funds
distributed under this Act to members of the Red Lake Band
of Chippewa Indians are excluded from income and
resources.  Funds were awarded in docket number 15-72 of
the United States Court of Claims.  

15. P. L. 98-124, Section 5 - Per capita and interest
payments made to members of the Assiniboine Tribe of the
Fort Balknap Indian Community, Montana, and the
Assiniboine Tribe of the Fort Peck Indian Reservation,
Montana, under this Act are excluded from income and
resources.  Funds were awarded in docket 10-81L.

16. P. L. 98-500, Section 8, 10/17/84, Old Age
Assistance Claims Settlement Act, provides that funds made
to heirs of deceased Indians under this Act shall not be
considered as income or resources nor otherwise used to
reduce or deny food stamp benefits except for per capita
shares in excess of $2,000.

17. P. L. 99-146, Section 6(b), 11/11/85 - Funds
distributed per capita or held in trust for members of the
Chippewas of Lake Superior are excluded from income and
resources.  Judgements were awarded in Dockets Numbered
18-S, 18-U, 18-C, and 18-T.

Dockets 18-S and 18-U are divided among the
following reservations.

Wisconsin:
Bad River Reservation
Lac du Flambeau Reservation
Lac Courte Oreilles Reservation
Sokaogon Chippewa Community
Red Cliff Reservation
St. Croix Reservation

Michigan:
Keweenaw Bay Indian Community (L'Anse,

Lac Vieux Desert, and Ontonagon Bands)
Minnesota:

Fond du Lac Reservation
Grand Portage Reservation
Nett Lake Reservation (including Vermillion

Lake and Deer Creek)
White Earth Reservation

Under dockets 18-C and 18-T funds are given to the
Lac Courte Oreilles Band of the Lake Superior Bands of
Chippewa Indians of the Lac Courte Oreilles Reservation of
Wisconsin, the Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe
of Chippewa Indians of the Bad River Reservation, the
Sokaogon Chippewa Community of the Mole Lake Band of
Chippewa Indians, and the St. Croix Chippewa Indians of
Wisconsin.

18. P. L. 99-264, White Earth Reservation Land
Settlement Act of 1985, 3/24/86, Section 16 excludes
moneys paid under this Act from income and resources.
This Act involves members of the White Earth Band of
Chippewa Indians in Minnesota.

19. P. L. 99-346, Section 6(b)(2) - Payments to the
Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan are excluded
from income and resources.

20. P. L. 99-377 - Section 4(b), 8/8/86, - Funds
distributed per capita to the Chippewas of the Mississippi or
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held in trust under this Act are excluded from income and
resources.  The judgements were awarded in Docket Number
18-S.  The funds are divided by reservation affiliation for the
Mille Lac Reservation, Minnesota; White Earth Reservation,
Minnesota; and Leech Lake Reservation, Minnesota.

21. P. L. 101-41, 6/21/89, the Puyallup Tribe of Indians
Settlement Act of 1989, Section 10(b) provides that nothing
in this Act shall affect the eligibility of the Tribe or any of its
members for any Federal program.  Section 10(c) provides
that none of the funds, assets, or income from the trust fund
established in Section 6(b) shall at any time be used as a
basis for denying or reducing funds to the Tribe or its
members under any Federal, State, or local program.  (The
Puyallup Tribe is located in the State of Washington.)

22. P. L. 101-277, 4/30/90, funds appropriated in
satisfaction of judgements awarded to the Seminole Indians
in dockets 73, 151, and 73-A of the Indian Claims
Commission are excluded from income and resources except
for per capita payments in excess of $2,000.  Payments were
allocated to the Seminole Nation of Oklahoma, the Seminole
Tribe of Florida, the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida,
and the independent Seminole Indians of Florida.

23. P. L. 101-503, Section 8(b), Seneca Nation
Settlement Act of 1990, dated November 3, 1990, provides
that none of the payments, funds or distributions authorized,
established, or directed from this Act, and none of the
income derived therefrom, shall affect the eligibility of the
Seneca Nation or its members for, or be used as a basis for
denying or reducing funds under, any Federal program.

24. P.L. 103-436, 11/2/94, Confederated Tribes of the
Colville Reservation Grand Coulee Dam Settlement Act,
Section 7(b), provides that payments made pursuant to that
Act are totally excluded from income and resources for food
stamps purposes. 

K. Payments or allowances made for the purpose
of providing energy assistance under any Federal Law,
(LIHEAP), including HUD and FMHA (Farmers Home
Administration) reimbursements, are excluded as income.

Federal or State one-time assistance for
weatherization or emergency repair or replacement of
heating or cooling devices are also excluded as income.

L. Cash donations based on need received on or
after February 1, 1988 from one or more private nonprofit
charitable organizations, but not to exceed $300 in a Federal
fiscal year quarter.

M. Earned income tax credit payments received
either as a lump sum or payments under section 3507 of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (relating to advance payment
of earned income tax credits received as part of the paycheck
or as a reduction in taxes that otherwise would have been
paid at the end of the year).

N. Any payment made to an E & T participant for
costs that are reasonably necessary and directly related to
participation in the E & T program.  These costs include, but

are not limited to, dependent care costs, transportation, other
expenses related to work, training or education, such as
uniforms, personal safety items or other necessary
equipment, and books or training manuals. These costs shall
not include the cost of meals away from home.

O. Governmental foster care payments received
by households with foster care individuals who are
considered to be boarders in accordance with DSSM 9013.3.

P. Income of an SSI recipient necessary for the
fulfillment of a plan for achieving self-support (PASS).  The
income set aside for this special PASS account is excluded
for income purposes.

Q. Marines living on base in adequate quarters are
not entitled to receive a Basic Allowance for Quarters
(BAQ) even though the amount is listed under entitlements
and a deduction is shown for the same amount under
deductions on the Leave and Earnings Statement (LES).  For
these cases the BAQ is disregarded under the entitlement and
deduction sections when verified.  Staff must advise
applicants to get a letter from their commanding officer
stating that the LES is incorrect, the applicant is not entitled
to the BAQ and does not receive it.

R. In HUD's Family Self-Sufficiency (FSS)
Program, participants sign a contract to achieve economic
independence within five years.  As the participant's
employment income rises, a portion of the rent increases
they would normally be charged would be waived.  The
amount waived will be credited to an escrow account to be
given to the family at the end of the program.

The participating household must fulfill its
employment obligation under the contract or HUD may
terminate the FSS supportive services.  The family will then
forfeit any escrow account funds.

While the funds are in the FSS Escrow Account,
they are totally unavailable to the household and excluded as
a resource.  When the household achieves economic
independence and is given the escrow account, the money
will be excluded as income as a nonrecurring lump-sum
payment.

S. The earnings of temporary census workers
from the Bureau of the Census is not counted as income for
food stamp purposes effective April 1, 2000 through
December 31, 2000.

DSSM 11003.9.1  Countable Income

A. All sources of income, earned (such as wages) and
unearned (such as child support, social security pensions,
etc.) are countable income when determining a family’s
monthly gross income. Monthly income typically includes
the following:

1. Money from wages or salary, such as total
money earnings from work performed as an employee,
including wages, salary, Armed Forces pay, commissions,
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tips, piece rate payments and cash bonuses earned before
deductions are made for taxes, bonds, pensions, union dues,
etc.

2. Gross income from farm or non-farm self-
employment is determined by subtracting business expenses
such as supplies, equipment, etc. from gross proceeds. The
individual’s personal expenses (lunch, transportation,
income tax, etc.) are not deducted as business expenses but
are deducted by using the ABC standard allowance for work
connected expenses. In the case of unusual situations (such
as parent/caretaker just beginning business), refer to DSSM
9605 and 9701 through 9702.3.

3. Social Security pensions, public assistance
payments, net rental income, unemployment compensation,
workers compensation, pensions, annuities, alimony and
child support.

B. Monies from the following sources are not counted:
1. per capita payments to or funds held in trust for

any individual in satisfaction of a judgment of Indian Claims
Commissions or Court of Claims;

2. payments made pursuant to the Alaska Native
Claims Settlement Act to the extent such payments are
exempt from taxation under ESM (a) of the Act;

3. money received from the sale of property such
as stocks, bonds, a house or a car (unless the person was
engaged in the business of selling such property, in which
case the net proceeds are counted as income from self-
employment);

4. withdrawal of bank deposits;
5. money borrowed or given as gifts;
6. capital gains;
7. the value of USDA donated food and Food

Stamp Act of 1964 as amended;
8. the value of supplemental food assistance

under the Child Nutritional Act of 1966 and the special food
service program for children under the National School
Lunch Act, as amended;

9. any payment received under the Uniform
Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition
Policies Act of 1970;

10. earnings of a child under the age of 14 years of
age;

11. loans or grants such as scholarships obtained
and used under  conditions that preclude their use for current
living costs;

12. any grant or loan to any undergraduate student
for educational   purposes made or insured under any
program administered by the Commissioner of Education
under the Higher Education Act;

13. home produce utilized for household
consumption;

14. all of the earned income of a minor parent who
is a full-time student or part-time student who is working but
is not a full-time employee (such as high school students

who are employed full-time during  summer);
15. payments derived from participation in projects

under the ABC (such as CWEP) program or other job
training programs;

16. all Vista income; and
17. all income derived as a Census taker during the

period between April 1, 2000 and December 31, 2000.

14710 Income 

Income is any payment from any source whether in
money, goods or services; whether recurring or on a one-
time basis.  Gross income, net income, disregarded income,
excluded income, earned and unearned income are defined
in the policy of each specific program.  Income eligibility
limits vary from program to program.  

For each Medicaid eligibility group and for the
Delaware Healthy Children Program, all wages paid by the
Census Bureau for temporary employment related to Census
2000 activities are excluded from April 1, 2000 through
December 31, 2000.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its General Policy Provider Manual.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by April 30, 2000.

Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP)

The Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP)
provides payment assistance for prescription drugs to
Delaware’s low-income senior and disabled citizens who are
ineligible for, or do not have, prescription drug benefits or
coverage through federal, state, or private sources. The
program is administered by the fiscal agent under contract

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
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with the State.
To be eligible for this program a person must:

• Be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien;
• Have income that is less than 200% of the Federal

Poverty Level (FPL) or have prescription drug
expenses that exceed 40% of his or her annual
income;

• Be a resident of the State of Delaware;
• Be ineligible for Medicaid prescription benefits;
• Be ineligible for Nemours Health Clinic

Pharmaceutical benefit;
• Be ineligible for and/or not receiving a prescription

drug benefit through a Medicare supplemental
policy or any other third party payer prescription
benefit; and

• Be an individual aged 65 or over or be an individual
between the ages 19 and 64 who is otherwise
eligible for  receiving disability (Social Security
Disability Insurance) benefits under Title II of the
Social Security Act.

Prescription drugs covered under the program are
restricted to medically necessary products manufactured by
pharmaceutical companies that agree to provide
manufacturer rebates.  Policy and guidelines will follow the
existing DMAP limitations.  Services covered are include
generic and brand name FDA-approved and other legal
prescription drugs, as well as cost effective over-the-counter
drugs prescribed by a physician practitioner.  Necessary
diabetic supplies not covered by Medicare will also be
covered.  Medications that are covered by Medicare are not
covered by this program.

Payment assistance shall not exceed $2,500 per State
fiscal year to assist each eligible person in the purchase of
prescription drugs.  There will be a co-payment of $5 or 25%
of the cost of the prescription whichever is greater.  The
pharmacy will collect the co-payment before the prescription
is dispensed.  Copayments may be waived in case of good
cause.  Clients may request that their copayments be waived
if they have experienced a catastrophic situation resulting in
unexpected, extraordinary expenses related to loss or
significant damage to shelter or the well being of themselves
or their immediate family.  The request must be in writing
and explain the circumstances that led to the request.
Verification will be required in the form of collateral
contacts such as repair bills, police or insurance reports, etc.
The DPAP team will notify the client if good cause is
granted.  Copayments will be waived for the remainder of
the fiscal year.

Eligibility Confirmation

It is the provider's responsibility to verify a recipient's

current eligibility each time a service is provided.  The
provider should request that the recipient show a current
Medical Assistance card, establishing identity and dates of
eligibility.

Pharmacy providers should refer to the Billing
Instructions/POS Transactions section of the Pharmacy
Manual, which outlines recipient eligibility confirmation via
the authorization number for POS/DUR.

Assistance regarding eligibility information, restricted/
hospice/managed care/Qualified Medicare Beneficiary
coverage’s, and third party liability information may be
obtained by the provider by accessing the CONFIRM
Automated Voice Response system.  Refer to the CONFIRM
Automated Voice Response section of this manual for more
detail.

Note:Eligibility information regarding the Delaware
Healthy Children Program cannot be obtained by accessing
the CONFIRM system.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DELAWARE SECURITIES ACT

Statutory Authority:  6 Delaware Code,
Sections 7313, 7314 and 7325
(6 Del.C. 7313, 7314 & 7325)

The Delaware Securities Division of the Attorney
General’s Office hereby gives notice that it intends to amend
Rules 700 and 701 to accomplish the following:

1. Establish minimum competency requirements for
new investment advisors and investment adiviser
representatives to protect Delaware investors.

2. Efficiently regulate the growing number of
investment advisors and investment adivser representatives.

3. Streamline the mechanics of licensing by adopting
the uniform qualification exams used by sister states, thereby
avoiding duplicative or burdensome licensing processes.

The legal authority for this action is found in section
7325 of the Delaware Securities Act as well as sections 7313
and 7314 of the Act.  Any person may submit his or her
written comments on the proposed action by sending them
to:

Securities Commissioner
Department of Justice
Carvel State Office Building, 5th Floor
820 N. French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

All comments must be received no later than 30 days
after the date of publication of this notice.  Final action will
be taken upon expiration of that period.

James B. Ropp, Securities Commissioner

http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm
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Part G.  Investment Advisers and Investment Adviser
Representatives

§700 Registration of Investment Advisors

(a) A person applying for a license as an investment
adviser in Delaware shall make application for such license
on Form ADV (Uniform Application for Investment Adviser
Registration under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940).
Amendments to such application shall also be made on Form
ADV.

(b) The applicant shall file the following items with the
Commissioner:  (i) the application on Form ADV; (ii) the fee
required by Section 7314 of the Act; (iii) a balance sheet
prepared in accordance with Schedule G of Form ADV; (iv)
a list of all investment adviser representatives employed by
the investment adviser;  (v) such other information as the
Commissioner may reasonably require proof of compliance
with Rule 710 by filing an Investment Adviser Affidavit
available at http://www.state.de.us/securities or by
contacting the Division of Securities; and (vi) such other
information as the Commissioner may reasonably require.

(c) Registration expires at the end of the calendar year.
Any investment adviser may renew its registration by filing
with the Commissioner an updated Form ADV, together
with the fee required by Section 7314 of the Act and a list of
all investment adviser representatives employed by the
investment adviser.

(d) Every investment adviser must have at least one
investment adviser representative registered with the
Commissioner to obtain or to maintain its license as an
investment adviser.

§701 Registration of Investment Adviser
Representatives

(a) A person applying for a license as an investment
adviser representative in Delaware shall make application
for such license on Form U-4 (Uniform Application for
Securities Industry Registration or Transfer).  Amendments
to such application shall also be made on Form U-4.

(b) The applicant shall file the following items with the
Commissioner: (i) the application on Form U-4; (ii) the fee
required by Section 7314 of the Act; (iii) a certification that
the applicant has successfully completed the Uniform
Investment Adviser Law Examination (Series 65 or 66)
administered by the NASD proof of compliance with Rule
710 by filing an Investment Adviser Representative
Affidavit available at http://www.state.de.us/securities or by
contacting the Division of Securities; and (iv) such other
information as the Commissioner may reasonably require.
The Commissioner may waive the exam requirements upon
good cause shown.

(c) Good cause for waiver of the exam requirement of

subsection (b)(iii) of this Rule shall include holding a
credential designated by the Commissioner by rule or order,
so long as the individual is in good standing with the
organization that issued the credential.  Such credentials
shall include the designation Certified Financial Planner
awarded by the Certified Financial Planner Board of
Standards.

(d)  (c)  Registration expires at the end of the calendar
year.  Any investment adviser representative may renew his
or her registration by filing with the Commissioner a letter of
intent to renew and the fee required by Section 7314 of the
Act.

§ 710 Examination Requirements

(a) Examination Requirements.  An individual
applying to be registered as an investment adviser or
investment adviser representative under the Act shall
provide the Commissioner with proof of obtaining a passing
score on one of the following examinations:

(1) The Uniform Investment Adviser Law
Examination (Series 65 examination); or

(2) The General Securities Representative
Examination (Series 7 examination) and the Uniform
Combined State Law Examination (Series 66 examination).

(b) Grandfathering.
(1) Any individual who is registered as an

investment adviser or investment adviser representative in
any jurisdiction in the United States on the effective date of
this Rule shall not be required to satisfy the examination
requirements for continued registration, except that the
Commissioner may require additional examinations for any
individual found to have violated any state or federal
securities law.

(2) An individual who has not been registered in
any jurisdiction for a period of two (2) years shall be
required to comply with the examinations requirements for
this Rule.

(c) Waivers.  The examination shall not apply to an
individual who currently holds one of the following
professional designations:

(1) Certified Financial Planner (CFP) awarded by
the International Board of Standards and Practices for
Certified Financial Planners, Inc.;

(2) Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC)
awarded by the American College, Bryn Mawr,
Pennsylvania;

(3) Personal Financial Specialist (PFS) awarded by
the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants;

(4) Charted Financial Analyst (CFA) awarded by
the Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts;

(5) Chartered Investment Counselor (CIC)
awarded by the Investment Counsel Association of America,
Inc.; or
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(6) Such other professional designation as the
Commissioner may by rule or order recognize.

(d) The Commissioner reserves the power to waive the
exam requirements upon good cause shown.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

HAZARDOUS WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapters 60 and 63 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60, 63)

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste

(DRGHW).

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

The State of Delaware is authorized by the U. S.
Environmental Protection Agency to administer its own
hazardous waste management program. To maintain this
authorization, the State must remain equivalent to and no
less stringent than the federal program.  To accomplish this,
the State regularly amends the DRGHW by adopting
regulations previously promulgated by EPA.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
NONE

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY
TO ACT:

Amendments to DRGHW are proposed and amended in
accordance with the provisions found at 7 Delaware Code,
Chapters 60 & 63.

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

NONE

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to

DRGHW will be held on Tuesday May 9, 2000 beginning at
7:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  In addition, those affected by
the proposed amendments are invited to attend one of two
workshops conducted on April 25th and May 4th, 2000.

7. PREPARED BY:
Donald Short, Hazardous Waste Management
(302) 739-3689

2000 AMENDMENTS TO
DELAWARE REGULATIONS GOVERNING

HAZARDOUS WASTE

SUMMARY

This summary presents a brief description of the 2000
amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing
Hazardous Waste (DRGHW), and a list of those sections
generally affected by the amendments.  This summary is
being provided solely for the convenience of the reader.

These changes incorporate certain Federal RCRA
amendments into Delaware’s hazardous waste management
program.  The State is required to adopt these amendments
in order to maintain its RCRA program delegation and
remain current with the Federal hazardous waste program.  

The State is also making miscellaneous changes to the
existing regulations for the purpose of correcting errors and
to add consistency or clarification to the existing regulations.
Some amendments are being made to the existing
regulations in order to improve or enhance the performance
of the hazardous waste management program.

The regulatory amendments in this package are listed
below and organized by the promulgating Federal Register
notice.  For additional information please contact the
Hazardous Waste Management Branch at (302) 739-3689. 

1. Title: Hazardous Remediation Waste
Requirements (HWIR-Media)

Federal Register Reference:63 FR 65874-65947
Federal Promulgation Date:November 30, 1998

Summary: This rule streamlines permitting for treatment,
storage and disposal of remediation wastes managed at
cleanup sites.  The new requirements:  1) make permits
faster and easier to obtain,  2) provide that obtaining these
permits will not subject the owner/operator to facility-wide
corrective action at remediation-only facilities, and 3) allow
the use of Remediation Action Plans (RAPs) as an
alternative to traditional RCRA hazardous waste permits.
This rule also finalizes regulations regarding use of staging
piles during cleanup and providing an exclusion for dredged
materials managed under appropriate Clean Water Act or
Marine Protection Research and Sanctuaries Act permits.

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include:

260.10, 261.4(g), 264.1(j), 264.73(b), 264.101(d),
264.552(a), 264.553(a), 264.554, 265.1(b), 268.2(c),

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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268.50(g), 122.2, 122.11(d), 122.42 Appendix I, 122.70,
122.73(a), 122 Subpart H.

2. Title: Universal Waste Rule (Hazardous Waste
Management System; Modification of the
Hazardous Waste Recycling Regulatory
Program)

Federal Register Reference:63 FR 71225-71230
Federal Promulgation Date:December 24, 1998

Summary: This rule corrects EPA errors that appeared in
the May 11, 1995 Federal Register, Universal Waste Rule
(60 FR 25492).  No new regulatory requirements are created
with this rule; instead it, (1) makes three corrections to
regulations governing the management of spent lead-acid
batteries that are reclaimed, (2) corrects the definition of a
small quantity universal waste handler, and (3) clarifies the
export requirements which apply to destination facilities,
when the facilities act as universal waste handlers. 

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include:  266.80(a) and (b), 273.6.

3. Title: Petroleum Refining Process Wastes
Leachate Exemption

Federal Register Reference:64 FR 6806
Federal Promulgation Date:February 11, 1999

Summary:  From the definition of hazardous waste, this rule
temporarily defers landfill leachate and landfill gas
condensate derived from previously disposed wastes that
now meet the listing descriptions of one or more of the
recently added petroleum refinery wastes (K169, K170,
K171, and K172).  This exemption applies to landfill
leachate and gas condensate subject to regulation under the
Clean Water Act.   The exempted leachate may not
ordinarily be managed in surface impoundments or
otherwise placed on the land after February 13, 2001, except
for the purpose of providing storage under temporary or
emergency conditions. 

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include:  261.4(b)(15).

4. Title: Land Disposal Restrictions Phase IV
Technical Corrections and Clarification to
Treatment Standards

Federal Register Reference:64 FR 25408-25417
Federal Promulgation Date:May 11, 1999

Summary: This rule clarifies and/or makes technical

corrections to the following five final rules that were
promulgated by EPA and adopted by DNREC in 1998 and
1999:

(1) Regulations promulgating Land Disposal
Restrictions (LDR) treatment standards for wood preserving
wastes, as well as reducing the paperwork burden for
complying with LDRs;

(2) Regulations promulgating LDR treatment standards
for metal-bearing wastes, as well as amending the LDR
treatment standards for soil contaminated with hazardous
waste, and amending the definition of which secondary
materials from mineral processing are considered to be
wastes subject to the LDRs;

(3) An administrative stay of the metal-bearing waste
treatment standards as they apply to zinc micronutrient
fertilizers;

(4) An emergency revision of the LDR treatment
standards for hazardous wastes from the production of
carbamate wastes; and, 

(5) Revised treatment standards for spent aluminum
potliners from primary aluminum production. 

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include: 

261.2(c) and (e), 261.4(a), 262.34(d), 268.2(h), 268.7(a)
and (b), 268.9(d), 268.40(i) and (j), 268.40/Table, 268.48(a),
268.49(c).

5. Title: Test Procedures for the Analysis of Oil and
Grease and Non-Polar Material

Federal Register Reference:64 FR 26315-26327
Federal Promulgation Date:May 14, 1999

Summary:  This rule approves use of EPA Method 1664,
Revision A: N-Hexane Extractable Material (HEM; Oil and
Grease) and Silica Gel Treated N-Hexane Extractable
Material (SGT-HEM; Non-polar Material) by Extraction and
Gravimetry (hereafter Method 1664) for use in EPA's Clean
Water Act (CWA) programs, and incorporates Method 1664
by reference for use in EPA's Resource Conservation and
Recovery Act (RCRA) programs. The rule also deletes
Method 9070 and adds revised Method 9071B as Update
IIIA to the Third Edition of the EPA-approved test methods
manual SW-846.  EPA has taken these actions as a part of
the Agency’s effort to reduce dependency on use of
chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) to protect Earth's ozone layer
and to meet the CFC phaseout agreed to in the Montreal
Protocol and required by the Clean Air Act Amendments of
1990.

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include:

260.11(a)(11), 260.11(a)(16).
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6. Title: Universal Waste Rule:  Specific Provisions
for Hazardous Waste Lamps

Federal Register Reference:64 FR 36466-36490
Federal Promulgation Date:July 6, 1999

Summary: With this rule, DNREC adds spent hazardous
waste lamps to the list of universal wastes.  Handlers of
universal wastes are subject to less stringent standards for
storing, transporting, and collecting these wastes.  The
streamlined universal waste management requirements
under Part 273 should lead to better management of spent
lamps and will facilitate compliance with hazardous waste
requirements.

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include:

260.10, 261.9(b)-(d), 264.1(g)(11), 265.1(c)(14),
268.1(f)(2)-(4), 122.1(c)(2)(viii), 273.1(a), 273.2(a)&(b),
273.3(a), 273.4(a), 273.5(a)-(c), 273.6, 273.7, 273.8(a)&(b),
273.9, 273.10, 273.13(d), 273.14(e), 273.30,
273.32(b)(4)&(5), 273.33(d), 273.34(e), 273.50, 273.60(a),
273.81(a). 

7. Miscellaneous Changes:  Miscellaneous changes will
be made to the Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous
Waste to correct errors and inconsistencies in the
regulations.  In some cases, changes will be made to enhance
the performance of the State’s hazardous waste management
program.  

Sections or portions of DRGHW affected by these changes
include but are not limited to:

Part 260, a Statement of Authority is being added
indicating that enforcement may also occur under 7 Del.C.,
Chapter 60 authority.  Other changes being proposed affect
§§261.3(c) & (d), 264.1(g)(2), 264.13, 265.13, 268
Appendix VIII, and 273.32(a)(1).

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PRIVATE 

INVESTIGAORS & PRIVATE SECURITY AGENCIES

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 1304(b)(3) (24 Del.C. 1304(b)(3))

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Examiners of
Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies, in
accordance with Del. Code Title 24 Chapter 13 proposes to
amend Adopted Rule 11/04/1994-7 – Employment
Notification.  This amendment will clarify the employer’s
responsibility of the action of their employees to the
Detective Licensing Section.  If you wish to view the
complete Rule, contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-
5991.  Any persons wishing to present views may submit
them in writing, by April 30, 2000, to Delaware State Police,
Detective Licensing, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE 19903;  The
Board will hold its quarterly meeting Thursday, April 13,
2000, 10:00am, at the Delaware State Police Headquarters
Conference Room, 1441 North DuPont Highway in Dover,
Delaware.

11/04/1994 -1  Firearm’s Policy
No person licensed under 24 Del.C. 1315 & 1317 shall

carry a firearm unless that person has first passed an
approved firearms course given by a Board approved
certified firearms instructor, which shall include a minimum
40 hour course of instruction.  Individuals licensed to carry a
firearm must shoot a minimum of three (3) qualifying shoots
per year, scheduled on at least two (2) separate days, with a
recommended 90 days between scheduled shoots.  Of these
three, there will be one (1) mandatory “low light” shoot.
Simulation is permitted and it may be combined with a
daylight shoot.

See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

A. Firearms - approved type of weapons
1 9mm
1 .357
1 .38
1 .40

See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

B. All weapons must be either a revolver or semi-
automatic and must be double-action or double-action only
and must be maintained to factory specifications.

C. Under no circumstances will anyone be allowed to
carry any type of shotgun or rifle or any type of weapon that
is not described herein.

D. All individuals must qualify with the same type of
weapon that he/she will carry.

E. All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).
F. The minimum passing score is 75%.  All licenses

http://www.state.de.us/pubsafe/index.htm
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are valid for a period of one (1) year.
See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

11/04/1994 - 2  Nightstick, Pr24, Mace, Peppergas and
Handcuffs

To carry the above weapons/items a security guard must
have completed a training program on each and every
weapon/item carried, taught by a certified instructor
representing the manufacturer of the weapon/item.  Proof of
these certifications must be provided to the Director of the
Board of Examiners. Under no circumstances would a
person be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item,
unless first approved by the Director of the Board of
Examiners.

11/04/1994 - 3  Personnel Rosters and Job Assignments
Anyone licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall submit an

alphabetical personnel roster and a job site list to the director
of the Detective Licensing Section by the tenth of every
month. Alphabetical personnel rosters shall include the full
name, DOB, race, sec, expiration date, and position code of
each individual in your employ.  For example:

Mark A. Smith 01/25/60W M 01/25/99  SG
Helen E. White 03/17/71B F 03/17/00  FA
John F. Henry 05/23/43B M 05/23/00  PI
James D. Williams 12/03/40W M 06/30/99  MG
Frank G. Mongomery 07/24/55B M 06/30/99  LH
Anne L. Murray 10/20/40W F 06/30/99  CO

SG Security Guard
FA Firearm’s
PI Private Investigator
MG Delaware Manager
LH License Holder
CO Corporate Officer

See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

Job site lists shall include the name, address, location,
and hours of coverage. For example:

The DuPont Industry
Barley Mill Road
2200 - 0600 Hours, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday
See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

11/04/1994 - 4 Record Book; Right of Inspection
All persons licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch.13 shall keep

and maintain at their place of business, at all times, a book
that shall contain the names and positions of all employees
along with the location that each employee is assigned to
work.  This book shall contain all current personnel
information and at all times shall be current and up-to-date to
include the list of weapons/items each employee is qualified

to carry, the certification dates, scores and the serial number
of the weapon/item, if applicable.

See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

11/04/1994 - 5 Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals,
Vehicular Markings 

Amended 04/17/97
Amended 04/23/98

No person licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall wear or
display any uniform, patch, or badge unless first approved by
the Board of Examiners.  The use of “patrol” and/or
“officer” on any type of uniform, patch, badge, seal,
vehicular marking or any type of advertisement shall first be
proceeded by the word “security”.  Under no circumstances
shall a uniform, patch, badge, seal, vehicular marking,
letterhead, business card or any type of advertisement
contain the seal or crest of the State of Delaware, any state of
the United States, the seal or crest of any county or local sub
division, or any facsimile of the aforementioned seals or
crests.

A. Advertisement and other forms of publications:
No letterhead, business card, advertisement, or

other form of publication including but not limited to
uniforms, patches, badges, seals, vehicular markings and
similar items may be used or displayed unless first approved
by the Board of Examiners.  No such items will be approved
by the Board if the item will mislead the public by confusing
the licensee and/or his/her employees with official law
enforcement agencies and/or personnel.

All uniforms displaying a patch must contain an
approved patch that is not generic in nature. The patch must
have the name of the agency printed on it.

Auxiliary lights on vehicles, used for patrol, shall
be amber and/or clear only.  Use of sirens is prohibited.

See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

11/04/1994 - 6  Qualified Manager
A qualified manager cannot be employed by more than

one company at the same time.  For example; a person
cannot serve as a qualified manager for two separate private
security agencies and/or private investigative agencies.

11/04/1994 - 7  Employment Notification
It shall be the responsibility of each person licensed as a

security guard under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 to notify the Director
of the Board of Examiners, in writing within 24 hours, if
such person is terminated or leaves one agency for
employment with another or works for more than one
security guard agency.  Under no circumstances will a
security guard be permitted to be employed by more than
two agencies at a time.  It is also the responsibility for each
licensed security guard to advise his/her employer(s) of
whom he/she is employed with (i.e. If a security guard is
employed with two security guard agencies, both employers
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must be made aware of this fact as well as the Director of the
Board of Examiners.)

A. Employers Responsibility
A license holder of a private security agency shall notify

the Director within 24 hours, if an employee is terminated
and/or ceases employment.

1. A licensed provte security agency, after
investigation, shall notify the Detective Licensing Office, in
writing, of any terminated employees.  This information is to
be included in the next monthly roster report following the
termination.

2. A licensed private security agency shall report
to the Detective Licensing Office, in writing, the following:

a. The name of any employee arrested;
b. The name of any employee admitted to

any mental hospital ward, mental institution or sanitarium;
or

c. The name of any employee disabled from
carrying, owning, or possessing a gun by action of federal or
state statute and/or court order, including bond orders and
protection from abuse orders.

11/04/1994 - 8 Criminal Offenses
In addition to those qualifications set forth in 24  Del.C.

§1314, no person required to be licensed under this chapter
shall be issued a license, if that person has been convicted of
Assault III or Offensive Touching misdemeanor within the
last three (3) years.

11/04/1994 - 9  Private Investigators
A. A Private Investigator must not be a member or

employee of any Law Enforcement Organization, as defined
by the Council on Police Training.

B. At the time of processing, a Private Investigator
must provide proof of employment by a licensed Private
Investigative Agency with the Private Investigator
application signed by the employer.  The identification card
will bear the employer’s name.  Upon termination of
employment, the identification card is no longer valid.  If
seeking employment with another licensed agency, the
Private Investigator must be re-licensed with the new
employer and a new identification card will be issued as in
the previous procedure.

C A licensed Private Investigator may only be
employed by one licensed private investigative agency at a
time.

11/04/1994 - 10 Licensing Fees
A. Class A License - Private Investigative Agency

In-State License Holder
Individual - No Employees - Not Corporation

$230 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd
years

$5,000 Bond

$1,000,000 Liability Insurance per
occurrence

Corporation - Has Employees
$345 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd

years
$10,000 Bond
$1,000,000 Liability Insurance per

occurrence
License Holder

$345 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd
years

Out-of-State
Individual and Corporation

$10,000 Bond
$1,000,000 Liability Insurance per

occurrence
Office Manager

$230 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd
years

$5,000 Bond
B. Class B License - Private Security Agency

In-State License Holder
Individual - No Employees - Not Corporation

$230 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd
years

$5,000 Bond
$1,000,000 Liability Insurance per

occurrence
Corporation - Has Employees

$345 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd
years

$10,000 Bond
$1,000,000 Liability Insurance per

occurrence
$10,000 Bond
$1,000,000 Liability Insurance per

occurrence
Office Manager

$230 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd
years

Individual and Corporation
Out-of-State License Holder

$345 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd
years

$5,000 Bond
C. Class C License - Private Investigative & Private

Security Agency
In-State License Holder

Individual - No Employees - Not Corporation
$345 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd

years
$10,000 Bond
$1,000,000 Liability Insurance per

occurrence
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Corporation - Has Employees
$520 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd

years
$15,000 Bond
$1,000,000 Liability Insurance per

occurrence
Out-of-State

Individual and Corporation License Holder
$520 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd

years
$15,000 Bond
$1,000,000 Liability Insurance per

occurrence
Office Manager

$345 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd
years

$10,000 Bond
D. Class D License - Armored Car Agency License

License Holder
Corporation - Has Employees

$345 for 2 years to expire June 30th of odd
years

Banking Commissioner License
5 Del.C. 3203

04/23/98 - 11 Use Of Animals
The use of animals is prohibited in the performance of

private security activities.
See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 1406(a)(1)(24 Del. C. §1406(a)(1))

In Re: |
| Order

Rules and Regulations |

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Board received a letter from Robert H. Keis,
retired chief electrical inspector, dated February 29, 2000
that is made part of the record in its entirety. He suggested
changes to proposed Rule 1.2 and asked for clarification of
the CE requirements.  Mr. Keis raised a concern about Rule
10.1.3 as it applies to concealed wiring in plants.  He thought
the term “d-mark” needed further explanation in Rule 10.1.6.
Finally, he suggested that all electrical work should be
inspected and a permit should be required for any electrical
work by a homeowner.

2. Mr. Keis made further verbal comments at the
public hearing.  He suggested that the proof required for
Continuing Education (CE) must be clarified and suggested
license numbers be included on certificates of completion to
distinguish between licensees with similar names.

3. Robert Smith offered verbal comments to the
Board. He suggested sentence reordering for clarification
and typographical corrections.  He agreed that the CE
requirements needed clarification Mr. Smith pointed out the
problems with the statutory language requiring inspection
five days following application when the work was not yet
complete.

Findings of Fact

1. It is necessary to promulgate rules and regulations
as authorized and required by Chapter 14 of Title 24 of the
Delaware Code that was amended effective July 20,1999.

2. There probably needs to be some clarification of the
proof of CE requirement but it can be deferred since it is not
an imminent problem.

3. The words “or on”  in the definition of electrical
services clarify the meaning of the term “structure” as it is
used in 24 Del. C. Section 1402.

4. Adding the term “point of service” and using the
word “demarcation” improve Rule 10.1.7

5. With the changes indicated, the rules  explain
sections of the statute as needed to accomplish its purpose.

6. The changes made after hearing and discussion are
non-substantive.

Text and Citation

The exact text and citation of each rule as it appeared in
the Delaware Register of Regulations, Vol. 3, Issue 8
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(February 1, 2000) is attached hereto with the changes noted.

Decision

Pursuant to the Authority in 24 Del. C. §1406(a)(1) and
after due notice as required under the Administrative
Procedures Act, the Board of Electrical Examiners by the
undersigned members hereby promulgates and adopts the
Rules and Regulations to be effective ten days following
publication in the Delaware Register of Regulation.

SO ORDERED THIS 7th day of March 2000.

Board of Electrical Examiners
Anthony Szczuka, President
C. Kenneth Draper
David Whitt
Charles Davis
Steven Dignan
Bruce A. Goldsborough
Pravin Dattani
Donald King

Delaware Board Of Electrical Examiners
Rules And Regulations

1.0 License required.
1.1 No person shall perform electrical services or

represent themselves as qualified to perform electrical
services  without first having been duly licensed unless
specifically excepted by statute.  24 Del.C. §§1407, 1419

1.2 To perform “electrical services” or   “electrical
work” means to plan, estimate, layout,  perform, or supervise
the installation, erection, or repair of any electrical
conductor, molding, duct, raceway, conduit, machinery,
apparatus, device, or fixture for the purpose of lighting,
heating, or [on] power in any structure or for elevators,
swimming pools, hot tubs, electric signs, air conditioning,
heating, refrigeration, oil burners, and overhead and
underground primary distribution systems.

1.3 A license is not required for servicing equipment in
the fields of heating, air conditioning, refrigeration or
appliances.

2.0 Applications.
2.1 Applications may be obtained in person during

regular business hours  or by mail from the Division of
Professional Regulation, Cannon Building, Ste. 203,  861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904-2467 .
Applications must be made in the name of the individual, not
a company.  The Board shall approve the application form to
insure that it contains all of the information necessary to
satisfy the statutory requirements for licensure.

2.2  Applications which are incomplete shall be
retained for one year to allow an applicant the opportunity to
supplement the application.  After one year, incomplete
applications are destroyed.  Thereafter, an applicant must
resubmit a current application with the appropriate fee.

2.3 Applications approved for testing will be valid for
two years.  If the test isn’t taken, the application is destroyed.
Thereafter, an applicant must resubmit a current application
with the appropriate fee.

3.0 Qualifications.
3.1 Persons demonstrating the education and

experience qualifications set forth in 24 Del. C. §1408  may
be licensed as a master electrician, limited electrician, master
electrician special, or limited electrician special. 

3.2 An applicant shall submit proof of qualifications
verified by his or her  affidavit on a form approved by the
Board. Proof of experience requires either an employer’s
affidavit, a tax  form w-2, or tax Schedule C.  The required
experience and training must be completed  prior to taking
the licensure test

4.0 Examinations.
4.1 As a condition of licensure, applicants shall obtain

a grade of 75% on the Division-approved test. Only the
National Electrical Code Book can be used during the test as
a reference.  Applicants should submit a completed
application with all necessary credentials for Board approval
at least 45 days before the test is given.  As long as the
credentials have been approved, a license may issue from the
Division of Professional Regulation upon proof of obtaining
a passing score on the test, proof of insurance, and payment
of the fee as provided herein.  A member of the State Board
of Electrical  Examiners will attend the examination. All
scores will be presented to the Board at the first meeting
after the examination results are available.  The roster of
persons qualified for licensure will appear in the minutes.

4.2 Applicants who fail  two consecutive times with a
grade of less than 50% each time must wait one year before
retesting.

5.0 Fees
5.1  Fee information can be obtained from the Division

of Professional Regulation, Cannon Building Ste. 203, 861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904 -2467.

6.0 License and Insurance.
6.1 The license will be issued by the Division of

Professional Regulation to a qualified applicant upon receipt
of the required fee and proof of insurance.

6.2 Each licensee shall maintain general liability
insurance of at least $300,000.00.  Proof of said insurance
shall be submitted at the time of license issuance and each
renewal.
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7.0 Expiration and Renewal.
7.1 All licenses as master electrician or master

electrician special  expire on June 30, 2000 and even -
numbered years thereafter.  All licenses as limited electrician
or limited electrician special expire on June 30, 2001 and
odd - numbered years thereafter.

7.2 As a condition of renewal, each applicant must
show proof  of continuing education as required in the Rules
and Regulations.  Extra continuing education hours do not
carry over to the next licensing period. Renewal applications
will be audited by the Board for compliance with the
continuing education requirements.

7.3 A license is lapsed when a licensee has failed to
either complete the requirements for renewal or obtain
permission for  inactive status.  A licensee may activate a
lapsed license within one year of the date the renewal
application was due by meeting all requirements and paying
an additional fee set by the Division of Professional
Regulation.

7.4   A licensee with a valid license may request in
writing to be placed on inactive status.  An inactive status
can be effective for up to two years and renewed biennially
by application to the Division.    Said license may be
reactivated by the Board  upon written request  which
includes evidence of 10 hours of continuing education
completed within the preceding 2 years, proof of insurance,
and payment of a prorated fee to be computed by the
Division of Professional Regulation. 

7.5 A  licensee is not authorized to work as a licensed
electrician in this State during the period of lapse or inactive
status.

8.0 Continuing Education
8.1 Continuing education (CE) is required of all

licensees and proof shall be submitted to the Board by April
30 of any year after 2000 in which a license is to be renewed.
For example, if a license must be renewed June 30, 2001, the
proof of completion of CE  is due on April 30, 2001.  A
licensee who has submitted CE hours that are not allowed
will be notified so that he or she may obtain replacement CE
before the June 30 expiration of the license.

8.2 Sponsors or licensees seeking pre-approval of CE
hours should submit the request on a  form approved by the
Board at least 60 days before the CE course  is being offered.

8.3 Licensees shall complete 10 hours of approved CE
during each renewal period with the following exceptions - a
person licensed less than one year does not need to complete
CE at the first renewal; a person licensed one year but less
than two years must submit 5 CE hours at the first renewal.

8.4 The Board may consider a waiver of CE
requirements or acceptance of partial fulfillment based on
the Board’s review of a written request with supporting
documentation of hardship.

9.0 Loss of license holder
9.1 A procedure permitting  temporary practice after

loss of a licensee to avoid business interruption is provided
in 24 Del.C. §1418 and is necessary only where there is no
currently employed licensee to assume the duties of the
former license holder.

9.2 The notification must include documentation of the
business relationship with the former license holder.

10.0Exceptions.
10.1No license is required for performing electrical

work by the following persons or entities:
10.1.1 persons working under the supervision of

a Delaware licensed master or  limited electrician;
10.1.2 persons under the supervision of a licensed

electrician who is the owner or full-time employee of a
company performing electrical work;

10.1.3 a professional engineer in a manufacturing
or industrial plant having six years experience in electrical
planning and design who is registered with the Board as the
person responsible for the plant repairs, maintenance, and
electrical additions;

10.1.4 the Department of Transportation, or a
contractor, for work performed by or under the supervision
of the Department for the installation erection, construction,
reconstruction and/or maintenance of drawbridges and
traffic control devices

10.1.5 persons working beyond the main breaker
or fuse of 200 amps or less in a structure used exclusively for
agriculture;

10.1.6 persons performing the work of any light
or power company, electric or steam railway company,
telegraph or telephone company when the work is part of the
plant or service used in rendering authorized service to the
public such as power delivery by an electric company.  This
exception ends at the point of [attachment service],
termination box, or [d-mark demarcation point]; 

10.1.7 a homeowner who has obtained a
homeowner’s permit  provided by law.

11.0 Reciprocity
11.1 An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall

complete an application approved by the Board and cause a
certificate of good standing to be sent to the Board from the
licensing agencies of all jurisdictions where the applicant is
or has been licensed.  Upon request an applicant for
licensure under this provision must submit to the Board a
copy of reciprocal state’s current licensure requirements. If
the reciprocal state’s requirements are not substantially
similar to those of this State, as determined by the Board,
the applicant shall submit proof of practice for at least five
years after licensure. Proof or practice can be by an
employer’s affidavit, tax form w-2 , or tax Schedule C
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12.0 Required Inspection.
12.1 Every licensee shall file for an inspection by a

licensed inspection agency no later than five working days
after the commencement of electrical work.  The inspection
agency shall complete the inspections no later than five
working days after the application has been received.  

12.2 Any professional engineer excepted from
licensure shall at least annually file with the Board a
certificate of inspection by a licensed inspection agency and
a letter stating that all repairs, maintenance, and additions to
a manufacturing or industrial plant meet the Standards of the
National Electrical Code.  The annual inspection should
include a representative sampling of the work performed by
the authority of the responsible professional engineer.

12.3 Any person performing electrical work on
agricultural structures excepted from licensure shall
nevertheless obtain a certificate of inspection from a
[Board- approved licensed]  inspection agency for new
installations.

12.4 Any person authorized to perform work by a
homeowner’s permit shall obtain a final inspection by a
[Board- approved licensed] inspection agency.

13.0 Organization of the Board
13.1 Election of Officers

Annually during the July meeting, the Board shall
elect officers to serve for a one year term from September 1-
August 31.

13.2 Duties of the Officers
13.2.1 President - The president shall preside at

all meetings, designate subordinates when provided by law,
sign correspondence on behalf of the Board, and perform
other functions inherent in the position.  In conducting
meetings or hearings, the President may limit or exclude
evidence as provided under the Administrative Procedures
Act unless overruled by a majority of the Board.

13.2.2 Vice President - The Vice President
assumes the duties and powers of the President when the
President is unavailable.

13.2.3 Secretary - The Secretary assumes the
duties and powers of the President when neither the
President nor the Vice President is available.

13.2.4 Complaint officer - The complaint officer
shall be a professional member who  works with the
investigator of the Division of Professional Regulation when
complaints are investigated pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8807.
The complaint officer shall report to the Board when
complaints are closed and recuse himself or herself from
participating in disciplinary hearings involving matters that
have been reviewed in his or her capacity as complaint
officer.    

13.2.5 Education officer - The education officer
may review courses submitted for continuing education
approval and makes recommendations to the Board.

13.3 Meeting Minutes
The minutes of each meeting are taken by the

Administrative Assistant from the Division of Professional
Regulation and approved by the Board.

14.0 Homeowners Permits
14.1 The Division of Professional Regulation is

authorized to issue homeowners’ permits pursuant to an
application process approved by the Board. Generally
homeowner’s permits are not required for replacement in
kind but are required for new construction, renovation, and
any work that requires a building permit.

14.2 A homeowner shall not be permitted to install a
hot tub or a swimming pool.    

15.0 Inspection agencies
15.1 Inspection agencies shall be licensed in accord

with the provisions of 24 Del.C. §1421 in order to operate in
Delaware.  An application on a form  approved by the Board
must be  filed at the Division of Professional Regulation.

15.2 No inspection agency will be approved until it
produces proof of general liability insurance in the amount
of at least $1,000,000.00 and errors and omissions insurance
in the amount of at least $1,000,000.00.

15.3 Inspection agencies must submit, to the
Division of Professional Regulation, the names of its
employees who are inspectors and proof of compliance with
the statutory requirements for inspectors. Inspectors must
have seven years of experience in residential, commercial, or
industrial wiring.  Proof of experience shall be submitted by
affidavit of the named employer, a tax form w-2, or tax
Schedule C. The experience requirement for an inspector
employed by an approved inspection agency on July 20,
1999 is satisfied with seven years of inspection experience.
Each inspector shall also submit a passing score for the
Electrical one and two family dwelling and the Electrical
General examinations within 18 months of employment and
the Electrical Plan Review examination within 24 months of
employment. For inspectors employed by the inspection
agency on July 20, 1999, the time for taking said
examinations shall run from the date these regulations
become effective and not the date first employed.

16.0 Voluntary treatment option for chemically
dependent or impaired professionals.

A voluntary treatment option is available for chemically
dependent or impaired professionals as provided in 29
Del.C. §8807 (n) who are reported to the Board or Division
using the following procedures:

16.1 If the report is received by the president of the
Board, that president shall immediately notify the Director
of Professional regulation or his/her designate of the report.
If the Director of Professional Regulation receives the
report, he/she shall immediately notify the president of the
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Board, or that president’s designate or designates.
16.2 The president of the Board or that president’s

designate or designates shall, within seven (7) days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

16.3 In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility.  This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within thirty (30) days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board president or that president’s designate(s).

16.4 A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board president or that president’s
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the with the treating professional, deem
necessary, only if such action will not endanger the public
health, welfare or safety, and the regulated professional
enters into an agreement with the Director of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate and the president of the
Board or that president’s designate for a treatment plan and
progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement.  Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
President of the Board.  

16.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the Board
president or that president’s designate or designates or the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate in regard to the Voluntary Treatment Option or
to comply with their requests for evaluations and screens
may disqualify the regulated professional from the
provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option and the Board
president or that president’s designate or designates shall
cause to be activated an immediate investigation and
institution of disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as
outlined in 29 Del.C. §8807(h).

16.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to the following provisions:

16.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the Board.  Board approval
shall not require that the regulated professional be identified
to the Board.  Treatment and evaluation functions must be
performed by separate agencies to assure an unbiased
assessment of the regulated professional’s progress.

16.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the president of the Board or to that
president’s designate or designates or to the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate at
such intervals as required by the president of the Board or
that president’s designate or designates or the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and
such person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.

16.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program.

16.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional
to be personally responsible for all costs and charges
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and
treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the
regulated professional to cover administrative costs
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option.  The
amount of the fee imposed under this paragraph shall
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to
defray the expenses of the Board, as well as the proportional
expenses incurred by the Division of Professional
Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board in addition
to the administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.

16.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the Board’s president, or his/her
designate or designates or to the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate by the treating
professional who shall be immune from any liability for such
reporting made in good faith and without malice.

16.7 The regulated professional’s records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection.  However, the
participating Board may consider such records in setting a
disciplinary sanction in any future matter in which the
regulated professional’s chemical dependency or impairment
is an issue.

16.8 The Board’s president, his/her designate or
designates or the Direction of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with the
treating professional at any time during the Voluntary
Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a chemically
dependent or impaired professional if such action is deemed
necessary to protect the public health, welfare or safety.

16.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.

16.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to
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comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an
immediate investigation and disciplinary proceedings as
appropriate.

16.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected
if the matter is handled in a non-disciplinary matter.

16.12 Any regulated professional who complies with
all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF NURSING

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 1906(1) (24 Del.C. 1906(1))

In Re: |
|

Revision of Regulations, |
Articles II; V; VI; VIII and X |

Final Order
Background

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1906(1) the Board of Nursing
(the "Board") proposed to adopt amendments to its Rules
and Regulations, as more specifically set forth in the Notice
appearing in the Delaware Register of Regulations published
December 1, 1999.  As required by 29 Del.C. §10115, notice
was given to the public that a hearing would be held on
January 12, 2000 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference
room of the Cannon building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard,
Dover, Delaware, to consider the proposed amendments.
(Board Exhibit No. 1)  The public hearing was held as
scheduled before a quorum of the members of the Delaware
Board of Nursing.  There were no relevant written comments
received concerning the proposed changes and additions.  

Summary of Public Hearing Comments

Iva Boardman, RN, MSN, the Executive Director of the
Board of Nursing, was sworn and presented an explanation
of each of the proposed changes and additions to the Rules
and Regulations and provided a brief over-view of the
rationale for each change and addition.  (Board Exhibit No.
2).

Comments at the hearing were also provided by Nancy
W. Snyder, RN, MSN, the Chair of the Department of

Associate Degree Nursing at the Stanton/Wilmington
Campus of Delaware Technical and Community College.
Ms. Snyder spoke suggesting clarification of two proposed
modifications:  Revised Article II, Section 7.1 and Revised
Article VI, Section 3.7.  

Article II, Section 7.1 concerns Nursing Education
Programs and the procedure for annual review of such
programs.  As proposed this provision read, "The Board
shall review the annual reports and self-evaluation reports of
the programs submitted each October."  Ms. Snyder
suggested that the proposal be clarified to reflect that the
reports would be submitted October 1st and not necessarily
reviewed by the Board at that time.

Ms. Snyder also suggested the possibility of
clarification to the proposed wording of Article VI, Section
3.7 which, as revised will be Section 3.6, and which
addresses the time period allowed for an applicant to retake
the National Council Licensing Examination (NCLEX).  Ms.
Snyder noted that there could be confusion concerning the
time periods set out in the Rule.

Findings

The Board finds that the proposed changes and
additions as published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations, Vol. 3, Issue 6, Wednesday, December 1, 1999
are reasonable and necessary for the proper regulation of the
practice of nursing within the authority of the Board of
Nursing with the following non-substantive modification to
address the public comments received at the hearing.
Specifically, Article II, Section 7.1 as originally proposed
will be modified to clarify that the Board will receive the
required reports on October 1st of each year.  The Section, as
modified and as approved by the Board unanimously will
read:  "The Board shall review the annual reports and
self-evaluation reports of the programs to be submitted each
October 1st."  This date correction will be carried throughout
the regulation as indicated in the final version attached
hereto.

The Board finds that no modification is necessary for
Article VI, Section 3.6 because the language
"Notwithstanding the foregoing", clarifies that the
application of the two year limitation on  retesting is to
operate prospectively for graduates after April 30, 2000.
The proposed Amendments apply to all individuals and
entities subject to regulation by the Board and the Board
finds no basis for any exemptions pursuant to Chapter 104 of
Title 29 (Regulatory Flexibility Act) and no such exemptions
have been requested.

Conclusion

Based on the Board's authority to adopt and revise rules
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and regulations pursuant to 24 Del. C. º 1906(1), it is the
decision of the Board to adopt the proposed changes and
additions to its Rules and Regulations with the single change
discussed above.  A copy of the Rules and Regulations with
the modifications adopted by this Order are attached hereto
as Exhibit "A" and incorporated herein.  The effective date
of this Order and of the Rules and Regulations amendments
hereby adopted is March 10, 2000 or ten (10) days from the
date of its publication in the Delaware Register of
Regulations, pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10118(e) whichever is
later.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 8th day of March, 2000.

Delaware Board of Nursing
(As authenticated by a quorum of the Board):

Betty Baker
Deborah Boyle-Borkowski, RN, APN
Emma Lou Browning
Doris Dayton
Beulah Gray
Gwelliam Hines, LPN
Deborah Maichle, RN, MSN
Jan Monihan, RN, M.Ed.
Helen Perkins, LPN
Til Purnell
Sallie Seger, LPN
Janet West, RN, MSN
Pamela Andrade, RN, MS, Vice-President
June Turansky, President

ARTICLE II NURSING EDUCATION PROGRAMS

SECTION 1 - DEFINITIONS
1.1 “Board” - the Delaware Board of Nursing.
1.2 “Conditional Approval” - the status granted to a

program that is determined to be deficient in a specified area.
When this determination is made by the Board, written
notice shall be sent to the program specifying the deficient
areas, and the time limit within which the deficiencies are to
be corrected.

1.3 “Full Approval” - the status granted to a program
that meets the requirements of the Law and the Rules and
Regulations of the Board. Continuation of full approval is
contingent upon annual review of the program and
continuing to meet the criteria.

1.4 “Initial Approval” - authorization to admit students
and enter into contractual agreements for clinical facilities. It
is granted only after an application has been submitted,
reviewed and a survey visit made by the Board. No students
shall be admitted to the program until the institution  has
received written notification that initial approval has been

granted. Failure to comply will delay initial approval.
1.5 “National Accrediting Agency For Nursing

Education”- a national accrediting agency for nursing
education that is recognized by  the Council on
Postsecondary Accreditation and by the U.S. Department of
Education.

1.6 “Nursing education program” - as defined in 24
Del. C., Chapter 19.

SECTION 2: AUTHORITY DESIGNATED TO BOARD
OF NURSING

2.1 In accordance with 24 Delaware Code, Chapter 19,
the Board may:

A. Approve curricula and develop criteria and
standards for evaluating nursing education programs;

B. Provide for surveys of such programs at such
time as it may deem necessary;

C. Approve such programs to meet the
requirements of the Chapter and of the Board; and

D. Deny or withdraw approval from nursing
education programs for failure to meet prescribed curriculum
or other standards. (Subsections 1906 (b), (c), (e)).

SECTION 3: PURPOSES OF APPROVAL
3.1 The state requires that nursing education programs

be approved in order to:
A. Provide for the safe practice of nursing by

setting minimum requirements for the programs that prepare
the licensee.

B. Encourage self-evaluation for the improvement
of a nursing education program.

C. Provide for the public a list of nursing
education programs that meet the requirements set by the
Board.

D. Assure  the  graduates of approved nursing
programs of their eligibility to apply for admission to the
licensing examination and to facilitate their licensure by
endorsement in other states.

SECTION 4:  PROCEDURE FOR ESTABLISHING A
NURSING EDUCATION PROGRAM

PHASE I
4.1 An administrative officer of the institution shall

complete the appropriate application form and forward three
copies to the Executive Director of the Board at least 12
months prior to enrollment of students.

4.2 The Board shall review the application and conduct
a site visit. At least one of the visitors shall be a nurse
educator who has curriculum expertise at the level of the
program being reviewed.

4.2:1 Alternatively, the institution desiring to
establish a nursing education program may elect to have the
site visit made by a Board member(s) and a nursing
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education consultant, the latter with special expertise in the
same type of nursing education as the program. The
consultant shall be from a list of qualified persons approved
by the Board. Costs associated with the visit of the
consultant shall be borne by the nursing education program
requesting same.

4.3 The purpose of the site visit is to validate the
information recorded on the application.

4.4  The site visitation team shall make a written report
to the  Board. 

4.5 The Board shall report to the institution within 90
days after all requirements of Phase I have been met.

PHASE II
4.6 The  institution shall notify the Board of the

appointment of a qualified nurse as director of the program
at least nine months in advance of the anticipated enrollment
of students in nursing courses.

4.7  The director shall be responsible for planning the
program and providing the information required in Part II of
the application form, which must be resubmitted at least
three months prior to the anticipated enrollment of students.

4.8 The Board shall review  the application and
supporting information at a regularly scheduled meeting and
determine if the program is prepared to admit students.   If it
is so determined, initial approval will be granted.

PHASE III
4.9 Following  initial approval, the director of the

program shall submit five copies of a progress report to the
Board every six months. This shall be a general report of
progress to date to include number of students enrolled,
attrition rate, faculty credentials, curriculum design, and use
of clinical facilities. After the admission of students, these
reports shall continue to be submitted at six month intervals
until discontinued by the Board.

4.10 The institution shall appoint other qualified nurse
faculty members no less than  four months in advance of
enrollment of students in nursing courses to participate in
determining the theoretical framework and in developing the
curriculum plan and course content.

4.10:1 The program shall be developed according to
criteria in accordance with Section V of these Regulations.
The curriculum plan, including course descriptions, shall be
submitted for Board review and approval three months in
advance of enrollment of students in nursing courses.

4.11 Following the  graduation of  the first class, the
nurse faculty shall prepare and submit five copies of a self
evaluation report to the Board for review. The Board will
conduct a survey visit to consider full approval of the
program.

4.11:1 The Board’s  decision  regarding approval
status shall be sent in writing to the appropriate
administrative officers and to the director of the nursing

education program.

SECTION 5: STANDARDS FOR APPROVAL
5.1  Organization and Administration.

5.1:1 The school shall be authorized to conduct a
nursing education program by charter or articles of
incorporation of the controlling institution, by resolution of
its board of control, or by the school’s own charter or articles
of incorporation.

5.1:2 Universities,  colleges,  community or  junior
colleges, and public schools offering programs in nursing
shall be accredited by their appropriate agencies.

5.1:3 Hospitals  conducting a  nursing education
program shall be accredited by the Joint Commission on
Accreditation of Health Care Organizations or the American
Osteopathic Association.

5.1:4 Any agency or institution that is used by a
nursing education program shall be authorized to conduct
business in the state of Delaware, or in the state in which the
agency or institution is located.

5.1:5 The authority and responsibility for the
operation of the nursing education program shall be vested in
a director who is duly licensed to practice professional
nursing in Delaware and who is responsible to the
controlling board, either directly or through appropriate
administrative channels.

5.1:6 A written  organization plan shall be prepared
and submitted to the Board and shall indicate the lines of
authority and communication of the program to the
controlling body, other departments within the controlling
institution, the affiliating and cooperating agencies, and to
the advisory committee, if one exists.

5.1:7 Adequate  funds shall be  allocated  by  the
controlling agency to carry out the stated purposes of the
program. The director of the nursing program shall be
responsible for budget recommendations and administration,
consistent with the established policies of the controlling
agency.

5.1:8 When  the program  uses  educational or
clinical resources that are under the control of another
authority, there shall be written agreements with each
resource provider. Such agreements shall be developed
jointly with the provider, reviewed periodically according to
the policies of the program and the agency, and include
provision for adequate notice of termination.

5.1:9 Clerical services shall be provided to support
the program with a minimum of one full-time secretary and
additional secretarial staff as needed.

5.2 Philosophy and Objectives
5.2:1 Philosophy and objectives shall be clearly

stated in writing.
5.3 Faculty

5.3:1 Minimum Qualifications
A. All nursing faculty members, including the
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director, shall hold current licenses to  practice as Registered
Nurses in Delaware.

B. The director and each member of the
nursing faculty shall be academically and professionally
qualified for the position to which appointed.  All nursing
faculty members shall maintain professional competence in
their area(s) of teaching responsibility through professional
development activities such as nursing practice, participation
in professional meetings, workshops, formal college courses,
and nursing research.

C. The director of a baccalaureate degree
program shall hold an earned doctoral degree or have a
specific plan for completing a doctoral degree and shall hold
a degree in nursing at the Master’s level or higher. The
director shall have experience in nursing practice, nursing
education and shall give evidence of ability in providing
leadership.   A director employed by the school prior to the
promulgation of these Rules and Regulations shall be
exempt from this rule while remaining in the employ of that
school.

D. The director of a nursing education
program shall hold a minimum of a Master’s degree. The
director shall hold a degree in nursing at the baccalaureate
level or higher and shall have experience in nursing practice,
nursing education and shall give evidence of ability in
providing leadership. A director employed by the school
prior to the promulgation of these Rules and Regulations
shall be exempt from this rule while remaining in the employ
of that school.

E. Each member of the nursing faculty shall
hold a baccalaureate degree in nursing or a Master’s in
nursing. Faculty employed by the school prior to the
promulgation of these Rules and Regulations shall be
exempt from this rule while remaining in the employ of that
school.

F. Non-nurse members of the faculty shall
hold academic and professional credentials in their field of
specialization.

5.3:2 Number 
The number of faculty members shall be

sufficient to prepare the students for licensure, to achieve the
objectives as stated in the school’s application, and
reasonably proportionate to:

A. Number of students enrolled;
B. Frequency of admissions;
C. Education and experience of faculty

members;
D. Number and location of clinical facilities;

and
E. Total responsibilities of the faculty

members.
5.3:3  Conditions of employment

A. Qualifications  and responsibilities for
faculty member positions shall be defined in writing.

B. Written  personnel policies shall be
consistent with the policies of the sponsoring institution.

C. Faculty  assignments shall allow time for
class and laboratory preparation, teaching, program
evaluation, improvement of teaching methods, guidance of
the students, participation in faculty organizations and
committees, attendance at professional meetings, and
participation in continuing education activities.

5.3:4  Functions
The principal functions of the faculty shall be

to:
A. Develop the philosophy and objectives of

the nursing program;
B. Develop, implement, evaluate and revise

the curriculum;
C. Participate in the recruitment, admission

and retention of students in the nursing program;
D. Establish criteria for promotion and

completion of the program in nursing;
E. Evaluate  student achievement on the basis

of established criteria;
F. Recommend  successful candidates for

degree, diploma and other forms of recognition; and
G. Participate in  appropriate  activities of the

controlling institution.
5.3:5  Organization

A. The nursing faculty shall attend regular
meetings of the faculty for the purpose of developing,
implementing and evaluating the nursing curriculum.

B.  Committees shall be established as
needed.

C. Written  rules or bylaws shall govern the
conduct of nursing faculty meetings and committees.

D. Minutes  of faculty and  committee
meetings,  including action taken, shall be recorded and
available for reference.

E. Provision shall be made for nursing
student membership and participation on faculty committees
and in committee meetings as appropriate.

F. Where nursing practice/education
(advisory) committees are established, their functions and
relationship to the board of control and to the program shall
be clearly defined

G. Written  rules  shall  govern  the activities
of the nursing practice/education (advisory)  committee(s)
and minutes of the meetings shall be on file in the
administrative office of the program.

5.4  Students
5.4:1  Admission, Promotion and Graduation

A. Criteria
Policies and procedures related to the

selection and admission of students are the responsibility of
the individual school.

B. Students shall be admitted on the basis of
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established criteria and without discrimination as to age,
race, religion, sex, sexual preference, national origin, or
disability.
 C. There  shall be written policies for the
admission and re-admission of students.

D. Schools  granting advanced standing after
admission via challenge examinations, College Level
Examination Program, teacher made tests or any other
method shall have written criteria for granting course credit.

E. The policies for promotion, retention and
graduation shall be published in the school catalogue or in
other appropriate documents that are available to students.

F. All   candidates in a program that requires
applicants to be registered nurses must be licensed in
Delaware if any clinical experiences occur in the State.

5.4:2  Services
A. There shall be written policies for student

welfare as related to health, counseling and guidance,
financial aid, and residence life, if offered.

B. There  shall be well-defined written
policies governing payment and refund of tuition and  other
fees.

5.5 Information
5.5:1 Annual Report 

By [September October] 1 of each year, five
copies of an annual report of the nursing education program
shall be sent to the Board, using the format supplied by the
Board.  The report will include information from August 1 of
the previous year through July 31 of the current academic
year. 

5.5:2  School Records
A nursing education program shall maintain a

system of records which shall contain all data relating to
approval by any agency or body. The data shall include, but
not be limited to, course outlines, minutes of faculty and
committee meetings, pertinent correspondence, reports of
standardized tests and survey reports. Such data shall be
available to the Board representatives during the course of a
site survey visit subject to applicable provisions of state and
federal law.

5.5:3  Student Records
A. The school  shall maintain a record for

each student. Subject to applicable provisions of law, such
records shall be available to Board representatives during the
course of a site survey visit.

B. A final transcript for each student shall be
retained in the permanent records of the school.

C. Provision  shall  be  made for the
protection of records against loss, destruction and
unauthorized use.

5.5:4  School Bulletin or Catalogue
Current information about the school shall be

published periodically and distributed to students, applicants
for admission and to the Board. It should include a general

description of the program, philosophy and objectives of the
controlling institution and of the nursing programs,
admission and graduation requirements, fees, expenses, and
financial aid, educational facilities, living accommodations,
student activities and services, curriculum plan, course
descriptions, and faculty staff roster.

5.6 Curriculum
The following shall apply to nursing education

programs:
5.6:1  Nursing Education Programs

A. The curriculum shall reflect the stated
philosophy and objectives of the school and evidence of an
organized pattern of instruction and appropriate supervised
nursing practice consistent with sound educational practices
and principles of learning.

B. LPN  and  RN  programs shall provide for
concurrent or correlated theory and clinical practice in the
physical and/or mental health care of individuals of all ages,
the nursing care of mothers and newborns, children, adults,
the aged, individuals with mental health problems, and
individuals in diverse settings, not necessarily in separate
courses.

1. Clinical experiences shall include
preventive aspects of illness, nursing care of persons with
acute and chronic illnesses and rehabilitative care.
Opportunities shall be provided for the student to participate
in patient teaching in a variety of settings with individuals,
families and other groups.

2. Concurrent and or correlated theory
shall include the history of nursing, health care issues, and
legal-ethical issues.

C. The RN curriculum shall provide
instruction in the following  fields:

1. Physical and  biological  sciences
including  content  from the areas of anatomy and
physiology, chemistry, microbiology, pharmacology and
nutrition, which may be integrated, combined or presented as
separate courses, and

2. Social  and  behavioral  sciences
including  content drawn from the fields of communication
theory, psychology and sociology and shall serve as a basis
for the selection of learning experiences which develop
abilities and skills in observation, interviewing, interpersonal
relations, and problem-solving.

3. Professional nursing responsibilities.
4. Nursing research and nursing

leadership in BSN programs.
D. The LPN curriculum shall provide

instruction in the following fields:
1. Essential  facts and  principles in the

biological, physical and social sciences including body
structure and functions, elementary microbiology,
pharmacology and nutrition, signs of emotional and mental
health, human growth and development, and administration
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of medications.
5.7 Evaluation

5.7:1  Evaluation as a basis for curriculum revision
and change in practices is a continuous process and an
inherent responsibility of the faculty. The degree to which
the faculty accomplishes its objectives shall be determined
through evaluation of curriculum content, teaching
methodologies, clinical and other learning experiences,
student progress, success of graduates on the licensing
examination, promotion, retention and degree of nursing
competence of the graduate.

5.8 Educational Facilities
5.8:1  Classrooms, laboratories, and conference

rooms shall be adequate in number, size and type for the
number of students and educational purposes for which the
rooms are used.

5.8:2 Offices
  A. Offices shall be available and adequate in
size, number and type to provide faculty with opportunities
for uninterrupted work and privacy for conferences with
students.

B. Space  for  clerical staff,  records, files and
other equipment shall be adequate for the needs of  the
program.

5.8:3 Learning Resources
A. The  library shall have recent, pertinent

and sufficient holdings to meet the learning needs of students
and faculty.

1. Provision  shall be made for regular
additions to and deletions from the library collection.

2. Library  facilities  and policies shall
be conducive to effective use.

B. Equipment  shall be available so that a
multimedia approach to learning is afforded.

5.8:4  Clinical Facilities
A. The  clinical facility to which the student

is assigned for clinical practice is  considered an integral part
of the nursing program.

B. Clinical  facilities shall be selected by the
faculty to provide learning experiences essential to achieve
the stated purposes of the program and the stated objectives
for each clinical course. They may include, but are not
limited to:

1. Inpatient  facilities such as acute care
hospitals, specialized hospitals, long term and extended care
facilities.

2. Outpatient  facilities such as hospital
based clinics, community health centers, mental health
clinics and physicians’ offices.

3. Other community agencies such as
hospices, health maintenance organizations, day care
centers, senior centers and prisons.

C. The following criteria for clinical facility
use must be met:

1. There shall be an environment in
which effective learning can take place and in which the
student is recognized as a learner.

2. There  shall  be  an  adequate  number
of qualified professional and other nursing personnel not
including the student, to ensure safe care of the patient.

3. There shall be a sufficient number and
variety of patients to provide adequate learning experiences.

D. Hospital facilities shall be accredited by
the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Care
Organizations or the American Osteopathic Association.
Other facilities such as specialized hospitals, long term and
extended care facilities and community health agencies shall
be licensed or approved by the appropriate approving
authority.

E. Facilities used for clinical experience shall
be approved by the Board prior to the assignment of
students. Approval shall be based on information provided
by the school on forms furnished by the Board. A visit by
Board representatives to the clinical site may be scheduled.

F. Clinical facilities used in another state
require written notification to that jurisdiction’s Board of
Nursing.

G. Written   agreements  between  the school
and agencies involved shall:

1. Ensure that the faculty are ultimately
responsible for the students’ learning experiences.

2. Provide  for  continuous planning for
students in cooperation with the director of nursing and
appropriate nursing staff of the agency.

3. Provide adequate space for the
number of students and faculty to conduct educational
conferences. 

H. Observational  experiences shall be
planned in cooperation with the agency to meet stated
objectives.

5.9 Program Changes
5.9:1  Program Changes Requiring Board of

Nursing Prior Approval
A. Changes in the philosophy and/or

objectives of the program.
B. Changes in the overall curriculum plan.
C. Changes in the administrative sponsorship

of the program.
5.9:2 Procedure for Approval of Program Change

A. When  a program change is contemplated,
consultation from the Board is available.

B. When  any  program  change  is proposed,
a written  plan  shall be submitted to the Board including the:

1. Description of the change
2. Rationale for the change
3. Relationship of the proposed change

to the present program.
C. Three copies of these materials shall be
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submitted to the Board at least one month prior to the Board
meeting at which time the request will be considered.

5.10  Procedure for Continuing Full Approval 
5.10:1  Each nursing education  program that is

accredited by a Board-approved national accrediting agency
for nursing education must submit a copy of the self-study
document and the letter of notification of accreditation status
by [September October] following the reaccredi[t d]ation
visit.  This is contingent on the program remaining
accredited and sharing copies of all correspondence related
to compliance with the national accrediting agency’s
recommendations.  Extraneous material will be disseminated
to Board Members at the discretion of the Executive Director
in consultation with the President.

5.10:2  Each nursing education program that does
not have Board approved national accreditation will be re-
evaluated at least every five years.  Survey visits may be
scheduled as determined by the Board.

A. Representative(s) of the Board will
conduct a survey visit on a date mutually acceptable to the
nursing program and the Board.

B. The  Board shall notify the director of the
nursing education program of the intended survey visit by
June of the year preceding the survey visit.  The Director
shall coordinate an agenda for the visit with the Board and
submit it to the Board office three weeks prior to the visit for
distribution to the team.

C. The school shall submit five copies of a
comprehensive self-evaluation report, following the format
supplied by the Board, by [September October] 1 of the
survey year.

5.10:3  Interim visits may be made at any time
within the five-year period either by request or as deemed
necessary by the Board, with advance notice. At least one of
the visitors shall be a nurse educator who has curriculum
expertise at the level of the program being reviewed.

5.10:4  If the Board determines that a program is
not maintaining the  standards of Section 5 of these Rules
and Regulations, the program shall be granted conditional
approval and given a reasonable period of time to correct
deficiencies.

5.10:5  A failure to attain an eighty percent pass
rate on the licensure examination for first time candidates as
reflected in two consecutive annual reports will require
presentation to the Board of a plan to identify and correct
deficiencies.  Progress reports will be required.

A. A  program reporting five or fewer
candidates in a 12 month period with a failure to attain an
eighty percent pass rate as reflected in two consecutive
annual reports must provide a written explanation to the
Board for action.

5.10:6  Deficiencies sufficient to warrant a
determination of conditional approval (probation) may
include one or  more of the following:

A. Failure  to adhere to the school’s stated
philosophy and curriculum objectives.

B. Repeated  violations  of stated academic
and/or admission policies.

C. Failure to maintain a faculty and
administration of adequate size and qualifications.

D. Use of students for nursing services or
other purposes that are not primarily educational.

E. Failure  to  provide adequate resources for
cognitive learning and clinical practice.

F. Failure   to  admit  and  retain  students
and/or hire and promote faculty and other personnel without
discrimination as to age, race, religion, sex, sexual
preference, national origin, or disability.

G. Failure to attain an eighty percent pass rate
on the licensure examination for first time candidates in any
three consecutive calendar years.

H. Any  other deficiencies that, in  the
opinion of the Board, detrimentally affect the educational
process.

5.10:9 7  Upon notification of conditional approval
(probation), the program administrator shall submit an action
plan no less than two weeks preceding the Board meeting
designated in the notification.  The action plan shall include
identification of the deficiency(ies), proposed corrective
action, and projected timeline to remediate the
deficiency(ies).  The program administrator will be invited
to present the action plan at the designated Board meeting.
The Board may approve the plan as submitted, recommend
revisions, or reject the plan.  The program shall submit
progress reports as specified by the Board during the term of
conditional approval (probation). Prior to the expiration of
the probationary period, the program administrator will be
invited to meet with the Board to review the status of the
plan relative to remediation of the deficiency(ies).  A
program becomes eligible for unconditional approval when
the Board is satisfied that the stated deficiency(ies) has been
corrected.  If satisfactory remediation has not occurred in the
stated timeline, the program administrator will submit an
explanation and revised plan with projected timeline.  The
Board may approve the plan as submitted, or with revisions,
or reject the plan and propose to withdraw program
approval.

5.10:7 8  A program that fails to correct these
deficiencies to the satisfaction of the Board within a
reasonable time shall be discontinued after a hearing in
which facts regarding such deficiencies are established.

5.10:8 9  Provisions of Sections 6.1 B., C., D., and
E. shall prevail for any program for which Board approval
has been discontinued.

SECTION 6: TERMINATION OF A NURSING
PROGRAM

6.1 The controlling institution shall:
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A. Submit written notification to the Board of its
intent to terminate or interrupt the nursing program.

B. Provide  for  the  completion  of  the  nursing
program for all students currently enrolled.

C. Safeguard  the quality of the educational
program for these students.

D. Provide  for the permanent retention  of records
of students and graduates.

E. Notify the Board in writing as to the location of
records and where requests for records may be sent.

SECTION 7: PROCEDURE FOR ANNUAL REVIEW OF
NURSING EDUCATION PROGRAMS

7.1 The Board shall review the annual reports and self-
evaluation reports of the programs [to be] submitted each
September October [1].

7.2 Following review of the reports from the programs,
written notification of the action taken at the regularly
scheduled board meeting, including any recommendations,
shall be sent to the appropriate administrative officers of the
school. This could include notification of the Board’s
intention to conduct a site visit.

7.3 Site Visits
7.3:1  For any site visit, the President shall

designate the Board members who are to make the survey
visits and the chair person of the survey team. At least one
member of each team shall be a nurse educator who has
curriculum expertise at the level of the program being
reviewed.

7.3:2  The site visit may be made by a Board
member(s) and a nursing education consultant, the latter
with special expertise at the same level of nursing education
as the program. The consultant shall be selected from a list
of qualified persons submitted by the nursing program and
approved by the Board. Costs associated with the hiring of
the consultant shall be borne by the program.

7.3:3  The Board will indicate in advance any
clinical areas they wish to visit.

7.3:4 The school shall schedule separate
interviews for the visitors with:

A. The nurse administrator of the program
B. The faculty
C. Representative students from each level 
D. Others as deemed appropriate by the

agency or the Board.
7.3:5 The school shall have records available for

visitor review, including:
A. Committee minutes
B. Course materials
C. Evaluation data regarding the entire

program
D. Other materials as specified by the survey

team.
(Approved 11/8/95)

(Revised 7/8/98)

ARTICLE V GUIDELINES FOR COURSES RELATED
TO ASSISTANCE WITH MEDICATIONS 24 Del. Code,
Subsection 1902

SECTION 1:  DEFINITION
1.1 “Assistance with medications” means a situation

where a designated care provider functioning in a setting
authorized by Section 1921 of this Chapter, who has taken a
Board approved medication training program, or a
designated care provider who is otherwise exempt from the
requirement of having to take the Board approved self
administration of medication training program, assists the
patient in self-administration of medication other than by
injection, provided that the medication is in the original
container with a proper label and directions.  The designated
care provider may hold the container for the patient, assist
with the opening of the container, and assist the patient in
taking the medication.

SECTION 2: PROCEDURE FOR ADMINISTERING
TRAINING COURSE

2.1 Three copies of each proposed medication training
course shall be submitted to the Board for approval or
advance notice made to the Board that the approved core
training program will be used.

2.2 Credentials of all instructors shall be submitted to
the Board for approval.

2.3 Upon completion of the course, the instructor shall
submit a list of the successful students to the Board.

SECTION 3:  PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS
3.1 Upon completion of this assistance with self-

administration of medications training course, the designated
care provider will be able to meet the objectives as indicated
in the Board approved course guidelines.

3.2 Designated care providers will be recertified as
specified by the Board of Nursing.

SECTION 4: ANNUAL REPORTING
4.1 The administrator of the program shall submit an

annual report to the Board of Nursing by July August 1 on a
form provided by the Board.

4.2 The report shall indicate compliance with the
guidelines as set forth in the Board approved assistance with
administration of medication training program.

ARTICLE VI: REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES
FOR LICENSURE

SECTION 1:   EXAMINATIONS
1.1 The Board declares that the National Council

Licensure Examination-RN (NCLEX-RN) and the National
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Council Licensure Examination-PN (NCLEX-PN) are the
required examinations for licensure in Delaware. The
Division of Professional Regulation has the authority to
review and approve the content and validity of examinations.

1.2 Up to July 1982, the passing score for professional
nurse candidates was a standard score of 350 on each test of
the State Board Test Pool Examination. 

1.3 Effective July 1, 1982, the passing score for
Registered Nurse candidates was 1600 on the NCLEX-RN
and 350 on NCLEX-PN.

1.4 Effective July 1, 1988, results are reported and
recorded as pass or fail.

1.5 The candidate shall take the licensing examination
within 90 calendar days following graduation from a Board
approved program of professional or practical nursing and
not there after without petitioning the Board for specific
authorization to test after the 90 day period.  Such petitions
may be granted by the Board upon a showing of good cause.

1.6 To be eligible to take the examination for licensure
for practical nursing, the applicant must be a graduate of a
Board approved program for practical nursing. A graduate of
a program for professional nursing will be denied permission
to take the examination for licensure as a practical nurse.

1.7 The candidate shall file two applications for each
examination.

A. The NCLEX application shall be filed with a
non-refundable fee.

B. The candidate shall file a completed and
notarized Delaware application for licensure by
examination, along with the required fee.

C. In addition, the candidate shall file a signed
official school transcript indicating the date of graduation or
date degree was conferred. If this is not possible, a certifying
letter from the director indicating the candidate had
completed the program will be accepted until an official
transcript is available.

D. The candidate shall present the admission card
issued by the Board in order to be admitted to any portion of
the examination.

1.8 A candidate who has been accepted but is unable to
attend the scheduled examination must notify the Board
prior to the starting time or during the first day of
examination with a specific reason for not attending. If the
reason is acceptable to the Board, (e.g. candidate is ill, death
in immediate family, accident, etc.) the Delaware application
for licensure by examination will be extended to the next
examination date.

SECTION 2: TEMPORARY PERMITS PRIOR TO
EXAMINATION

2.1 Prior to the employment starting date the candidate
shall submit a notarized application for a temporary permit
on a form provided by the Board.

2.2 The temporary permit is a limited license

authorizing professional or practical nursing practice only at
the institution employing the graduate, and only under
supervision and pending the results of the examination.

2.3 Any graduate who has completed the requirements
of a state board of nursing approved program of professional
or practical nursing and who has filed for licensure by
examination in Delaware may be employed in professional
or practical nursing, working under the direct supervision of
a Registered Nurse pending results of the licensing
examination.

2.4 Direct supervision means supervision by a
Registered Nurse on the same assigned unit during the same
time period. The term  “unit” is defined as one staffed unit of
a maximum of forty patients.

2.5 In order to practice nursing in Delaware with a
temporary permit, a recent graduate of a state board of
nursing approved program of nursing in another state must
file an application for licensure before beginning to practice.
If the graduate has taken, or is scheduled to take, the NCLEX
Examination in the state in which the program is located, the
applicant shall file an application for licensure by
endorsement in Delaware.

A. Candidates must submit written documentation
that they are candidates for the NCLEX in the state in which
the examination is being written.

2.6 The Board of Nursing will verify employment with
the employer and verified documentation will be noted on
the application.

2.7 Only a candidate approved to take an examination
scheduled after graduation from an approved State Board of
Nursing program in the United States or its territories may be
issued a temporary permit to practice nursing, good until the
release of the examination results.

2.8 The temporary permit shall terminate forthwith if a
candidate fails to take the examination in the time
prescribed. The Board will notify the candidate’s employer
of the termination of the permit.  The candidate shall return
the permit to the Board.

2.9 If extenuating circumstances exist, the candidate
may apply to the Board for reissuance of a temporary permit.
If the reason is acceptable, the permit may be reissued.
(Refer to Section 7: Temporary Permits)

SECTION 3 TEST RESULTS
3.1 In the case of a successful candidate, the results are

released in the following order: the candidate, the director of
the school of nursing and the news media. In the case of the
unsuccessful candidate the results are released in the
following order: the candidate, the employer, and the
director of the school program.

3.2 A successful candidate will receive the test results
and a copy of the Law regulating the practice of nursing in
Delaware, (24 Delaware Code, Chapter 19), and a certificate
of registration with a permanent license number.
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3.3 A letter to unsuccessful candidates will accompany
the test results to advise them of their status and the
procedure to be followed for re-examination.

3.4 A candidate taking the Practical Nursing
examination for the first time in October of a renewal year
will be issued a license for the next biennium with the
certificate of registration.

3.5 4  Candidates for licensure who fail the National
Council Licensure Examination may not be employed in
nursing, are not permitted to practice nursing as defined in
the Law, and must return the temporary permit upon receipt
of the failure notification.

3.6 5  The candidate’s employer shall be notified that
the temporary permit is not valid, and the candidate may not
be employed in nursing until the NCLEX has been passed.

3.7 6  The applicant shall retake the examination within
a one-year period following notification of failure in order to
be eligible for re-examination and not there after without
petitioning the Board for specific authorization to retest after
the one-year period.  Such petitions may be granted by the
Board upon a showing of good cause to allow for further
examination. There is a fee for each re-examination. Any
candidate who graduated following the date of February
1982 may retake NCLEX for an unlimited number of times
within a five year period from writing the first exam the date
of graduation from an approved nursing education program.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, any candidate who graduates
from an approved nursing education program after April 30,
2000 may retake NCLEX an unlimited number of times
within a two year period from graduation and not there after
without petitioning the Board for specific authorization to
retest after [the] two year period.  Such petitions may be
granted by the Board upon a showing of good cause to allow
further examination.

SECTION 4: REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICANTS
GRADUATING FROM FOREIGN PROGRAMS

4.1 Applicants graduating from programs outside of the
United States and not licensed by the State Board Test Pool
Examination or NCLEX in another state:

A. Must have been issued a certificate of licensure
by the licensing agency in the state, territory, or country
where the nursing program is located;

B. Must submit a certificate issued by the
Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools as
evidence of the educational requirements of a curriculum for
the preparation of professional nurses which is equivalent to
the approved professional schools in Delaware;

C. Must submit official English translations of all
required credentials; 

D. Must, in instances when completion of a four-
year high school course study or its equivalent cannot be
verified, take the high school equivalence examination given
by a State Department of Education;

E. Must submit evidence that the program from
which applicant is a graduate meets the approved standards
adopted by the Board (24 Delaware Code, Chapter 19,
subsections 1910 and 1914) and Rules and Regulations:
Article II -Section 5. (If the program does not include the
areas specified in the above curricula, the deficiencies must
be made up before the applicant is eligible to take NCLEX);

F. Are allowed one year from the date of Board
review of the completed application to make up all
deficiencies, including the taking of the initial examination;

G. Effective July 1, 1982, professional nurse
applicants must have passed the NCLEX examination (with
a minimum standard score of 1600) and practical nurse
applicants must have passed the NCLEX examination (with
a minimum standard score of 350) within four examination
opportunities, within a period of two years or original
notification of failure.

H. Effective July 1, 1988, results are reported and
recorded as pass or fail. 

I. May be issued a temporary permit and may be
employed in professional or practical nursing if the applicant
has met all of the Board’s prerequisites for taking the
NCLEX in Delaware and is scheduled to do so;

J. May work only at the institution employing the
applicant, under the direct supervision of a registered nurse
pending results of the first licensing examination.

K. Must meet all other requirements for licensure.
4.2 All applications will be reviewed by the Board to

determine if the applicant is eligible to take the NCLEX
Examination or to determine if applicant’s educational
qualifications are as Board prescribed and may be eligible
for licensure by examination.

4.3 Canadian applicants writing the Canadian Nurses’
Association Testing Service (CNATS) Examination from
1970 - 1979 are eligible for licensure by endorsement.

4.4 Canadian applicants writing the Canadian Nurses’
Association Testing Service (CNATS) Examination, first
administered August 1980, are eligible for licensure by
endorsement with a passing score of 400. (September 15,
1981)

4.5 Canadian applicants  writing the Canadian Nurses’
Association Testing Service (CNATS) Examination after
that examination became graded on a pass or fail basis are
not eligible for licensure by endorsement and must pass the
NCLEX.  (June 8, 1996)

SECTION 5: LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT
5.1 All endorsement applicants shall:

A. Submit a completed, signed, and notarized
application on a form provided by the Board.

B. Remit the required non-refundable fee.
C. Attach to the application a photocopy of a

current license indicating date of expiration.
D. Provide official verification of original
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licensure in another  jurisdiction on a form acceptable to the
Board.

E. An applicant for endorsement must have
completed high school or must have passed a nationally
standardized test, and be otherwise qualified for licensure.

5.1:2  The Board shall request a reference on a form
supplied by the Board from:
  A. the applicant’s immediate past
employer(s) in the past six months.  Such reference(s) should
be given by the nursing employer, or if the immediate past
employer is not a nursing professional, by the applicant’s
immediate supervisor (e.g. physician, director, manager).  In
the case of someone engaged in solo practice or who is self-
employed, the reference shall be provided by at least one
professional colleague with whom the individual has most
recently worked for at least six months in the past five years.

B. in the event of no previous nursing
employer, the Director of the applicant’s approved nursing
education program. Any unsatisfactory reference shall be
brought to the attention of the Board for review.

5.1:3  If the applicant has not been employed in
nursing a minimum of 1000 hours in the past five years or a
minimum of 400 hours of nursing practice within the
previous two years, the applicant must give evidence of
satisfactory completion of an approved refresher program
within a two-year period before licensure by endorsement
will be granted. In the event no refresher course is available
the Board may consider alternate methods of evaluating
current knowledge in professional/practical nursing.

5.1:4  All completed applications for endorsement
will be submitted to the Board for consideration of approval.

5.1:5  Issuance of a license shall be considered as
notice of approval of the application.

5.1:6  All applications will be purged in accordance
with Division policy.

5.2 Registered Nurses
5.2:1  The Board may issue a license to practice

professional nursing as a Registered Nurse by endorsement,
without a written examination, to an applicant who has been
duly licensed as a Registered Nurse under the laws of
another state, territory,  or foreign country if, in the opinion
of the Board, the applicant meets the qualifications for
licensure in this state.

5.2:2  As of 1950 and thereafter, the State Board
Test Pool Examination for professional nursing is the
licensing examination authorized for use by all boards of
nursing in jurisdictions in the United States. (In July 1982,
the examination was re-titled National Council Licensure
Examination-RN (NCLEX-RN). Prior to this date,
examinations constructed by state boards of nursing are
acceptable, providing such examinations include all of the
required clinical areas: medicine, surgery, obstetrics-
gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry). Until 1953, the passing
score required for each of the tests was 70%.

5.2:3  Those applicants graduating as of 1953 and
thereafter are required to show evidence of clinical
experience in medical nursing, surgical nursing, psychiatric
nursing, nursing of children, and obstetrical nursing.

5.2:4  An applicant for licensure by endorsement
must be a graduate of a State Board of Nursing approved
school of nursing, and be otherwise qualified for licensure. 

5.3 Licensed Practical Nurses
5.3:1  Effective October 1, 1963, waiver or

equivalency licensure is not acceptable in Delaware. The
Board may issue a license to practice nursing as a Licensed
Practical Nurse, without a written examination, to an
applicant who has been licensed as a Practical Nurse or a
person entitled to perform similar services under a different
title under the laws of any state, territory or foreign country
if, in the opinion of the Board, the applicant has the
qualifications required for the licensing of practical nurses.

5.3:2  Candidates for licensure are required to have
theory and clinical experience in medical nursing, surgical
nursing, psychiatric nursing, obstetrical nursing, and nursing
of children.

5.3:3  The applicant must be a graduate of a Board
approved program for practical nursing.

5.3:4  A licensed practical nurse applicant for
licensure by endorsement must have passed the NCLEX-PN.

5.3:5  An applicant for endorsement must be
otherwise qualified for endorsement.

SECTION 6: LICENSURE: BIENNIAL RENEWAL AND
REINSTATEMENT

6.1 Biennial Renewal of Licensure
6.1:1  In order to practice nursing in Delaware with

or without financial compensation, Registered Nurses or
Licensed Practical Nurses who are duly licensed under any
provision of Chapter 19 shall renew their licenses biennially,
prior to December 31 of the biennium. In the event that
applicant for renewal or reinstatement of licensure has not
been actively employed in professional or practical nursing
in the past five years, the applicant will be required to give
evidence of satisfactory completion of a professional or
practical nursing refresher program within an approved
agency within a two-year period to renewal before licensure
will be granted, In the event no refresher course is available
the Board may consider alternate methods of evaluating
current knowledge in professional or practical nursing.

A. Registered Nurses - the license shall be
valid for two calendar years expiring each odd-numbered
year on dates established by the Department of
Administrative Services.

B. Licensed Practical Nurses - the license
shall be valid for two calendar years expiring each even-
numbered year on the dates established by the Department of
Administrative Services.

6.1:2  The applicant shall indicate nursing
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employment within the past five years before the renewal
application will be processed.  A minimum of 1000 hours of
nursing practice within the past five years or a minimum of
four hundred hours of nursing practice within the past two
years is required for licensure by renewal or reinstatement.
Verification of completion of the practice hours will occur
for a minimum of 1% of the total number of licensees with
notice of the audit two months prior to the renewal in a
biennium. An additional 2% will be audited within six
months of renewal of licensure. See Article IX, for
Mandatory Continuing Education requirements.

A. Upon receipt of such notice, the licensee
must submit verification of compliance for the period being
audited/verified.  Verification will be done on a form
supplied by the Board office that includes employer’s name,
title, address, telephone number, job title, and dates of
employment.

B. The employer will submit the completed
form directly to the Board office.

C. The Board shall notify the licensee of the
results of the audit immediately following the Board meeting
at which the audits are reviewed.

D.  An unsatisfactory verification or audit
shall result in Board action.

E. Failure to notify the Board of a change in
mailing address will not absolve the licensee from audit
requirements.

6.1:3  An application for renewal of license will be
mailed at least 12 weeks prior to the expiration date of
current licensure.

6.1:4  Failure to receive the application for renewal
shall not relieve the licensee of the responsibility for
renewing their license by the expiration date.

6.1:5  Renewal application, along with the required
fee, shall be returned to the Board office and postmarked no
later than the last day of the month before the month of
expiration.

6.1:6  Licenses that have lapsed may be reinstated
by the Board upon satisfactory explanation by the licensee of
failure to renew and after payment of a penalty fee.

6.1:7  During the month of expiration, the Board
may issue a renewal certificate upon receipt of a renewal
application, the documentation of nursing employment, the
renewal fee and late fee.

6.2 Reinstatement of Licensure
6.2:1  Registered Nurses or Licensed Practical

Nurses who fail to renew their licenses by February 28, May
31, and September 30, of the renewal period shall be
considered to have lapsed licenses and shall not practice
nursing in the state of Delaware. After February 28, May 31,
and September 30 of the current licensing period, any
requests for reinstatement of a lapsed licensed shall be
presented to the Board for action. All applicants shall have a
minimum of 1000 hours of nursing practice within the

previous five years or a minimum of four hundred hours of
nursing practice within the past two years before licensure
by reinstatement will be granted. The practice of nursing can
be with or without financial compensation. In the event the
applicant has not been actively employed in nursing as
described above, the applicant will be required to give
evidence of satisfactory completion of a refresher program
with an approved agency within two years prior to
reinstatement. In the event no refresher course is available,
the Board may consider alternate methods of evaluating
current knowledge in professional or practical nursing.

6.2:2  The applicant shall file a notarized
application for reinstatement of licensure. The application
shall be accompanied by a satisfactory reference from a
current or previous employer, renewal fee and penalty fee.

6.3 It is unprofessional conduct and a violation of
Delaware Law to practice without a license. The Board may
refuse a license or refuse to renew a license of a professional
nurse or a practical nurse who practices without a current
license.

6.4 Reinstatement Hearings
6.4:1  Hearings for consideration of reinstatement

licensure may be held for those applicants who file for
reinstatements more than 90 days after the renewal period
and who have been practicing nursing without a current
license, or who have submitted an unsatisfactory explanation
for failure to renew.

6.4:2  A notice of hearing shall be sent to the
Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse. The hearing
shall be conducted in accordance with the Administrative
Procedures Act and the Nurse Practice Act.

6.4:3  The Board shall make determination for
reinstatement of licensure or shall determine that the
Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse shall be
subject to the penalties provided for violations of the Nurse
Practice Act.

6.4:4  Upon determination that licensure shall be
reinstated, the Board shall issue a license to practice nursing.

SECTION 7: TEMPORARY PERMITS
7.1 The temporary permit is a limited license

authorizing professional, practical or graduate nursing
practice only at the employing institution for no longer that
an initial 90 day period.

7.2 Nurses who produce current evidence of licensure
to practice nursing in another state and who have applied for
endorsement may be issued a temporary permit to practice
nursing for a maximum of 90 days, if they have been
employed in nursing a minimum of 1000 hours in the past
five years or a minimum of four hundred hours of nursing
practice within the past two years.

7.3  A temporary permit to practice nursing for a
maximum of 90 days may be issued to persons who have
requested reinstatement of their licensure, if they have been



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 10, SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2000

1385

employed in nursing a minimum of 1000 hours in the past
five years or a minimum of four hundred hours of nursing
practice in the past two years.

7.4 All applicants seeking temporary permits to
practice professional, practical or graduate nursing in
Delaware must:

A. Prior to employment starting date, submit a
notarized application for endorsement or examination,
completing the portion for a temporary permit, and
indicating employer.

B. Have been employed in nursing a minimum of
1000 hours in the past five years or a minimum of four
hundred hours in the past two years, if applying for
reinstatement or endorsement, with current evidence of
licensure from another state.

C. Have been accepted as a nurse employee in
Delaware. The Board of Nursing will verify employment
with the employer and verified documentation will be noted
on the application.

D. Have graduated from a State Board of Nursing
approved program.

E. Pay a licensure fee which is not refundable.
7.5 Upon completion of all requirements, a temporary

permit will be issued for no longer than 90 days with
subsequent renewal periods of 60 and 30 days sequentially.

7.6 The Executive Director shall:
A. Keep a register of permits.
B. Refrain from issuing a temporary permit in any

doubtful situation until further evidence is obtained or until
the Board has given approval.

7.7 In the absence of the Executive Director, the
President may issue a temporary permit with the same
restrictions.

SECTION 8: INACTIVE STATUS
8.1 A person previously licensed by the Board and not

engaged in the practice of nursing in the state of Delaware,
but desiring to maintain the right to use the title Registered
Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse, may apply and be
granted inactive status by the Board in accordance with these
regulations.

8.2 A nurse desiring inactive status shall send a written
notice to the Board with fee. Upon receipt of notice and fee
the Board shall place the name of the person on an inactive
status list and shall issue a certificate. The person shall not
practice nursing in this state.

8.3 A licensee on inactive status shall use the
appropriate title, Registered or Licensed Practical Nurse,
followed by (INACTIVE).

8.4 A licensee will receive a certificate of inactive
status with the term Inactive Registered Nurse or Inactive
Licensed Practical Nurse printed across the top.

8.5 A notice of inactive status shall be sent to all
persons on the inactive list at renewal time. To receive a

certificate of inactive status, the licensee shall return the
renewal notice with the fee.

8.6 All applications from persons on inactive status
who decide to resume active status will be presented to the
Board for review for reinstatement.

8.7 In the event the applicant has not been actively
practicing nursing within the previous five years, the
applicant will be required to give evidence of satisfactory
completion of a refresher program with an approved agency
within two years prior to reactivation, or participate in an
alternate Board approved method of evaluating current
knowledge in professional or practical nursing. All
applicants shall have a minimum of 1000 hours of nursing
within the previous five years or a minimum of four hundred
hours of nursing practice within the previous two years. See
Article IX, for Mandatory Continuing Education
requirements.

SECTION 9: LOSS OF LICENSE, CHANGE OF NAME/
ADDRESS

9.1 If a license is lost, stolen or destroyed, the licensee
shall submit a letter to the Board explaining the loss. A letter
indicating the original number and expiration dates shall be
issued by the Executive Director in lieu of a duplicate
license.

9.2 Licensees who legally change their names and wish
to change the name on the license, shall provide notarized
copies of evidence, such as marriage licenses or court
actions. The maiden name will be retained on the license.

9.3 Notice of change of address shall be submitted in
writing within 30 days of the change. All notices from the
Board will be sent to the last address provided by the
licensee or applicant to the Board.

9.4 A list of license numbers of lost, stolen or otherwise
destroyed licenses shall be kept on file in the Board office.

SECTION 10: REGISTER OF NURSES LICENSED IN
DELAWARE

10.1  Licensure Verification
10.1:1  Following the official renewal period, the

Executive Director shall request each employer or
employing agency to submit to the Board by FebruaryApril
15 a list of all nurses employed. The list shall include the
following information:

A. Name of employee, alphabetized by last
name;

B. Classification (Registered Nurse, Licensed
Practical Nurse, Advanced Practice Nurse or nurse holding
temporary permit);

C. License number; and
D. Expiration date of current license or

temporary permit.
10.1:2  Individuals submitting the list attest by their

signatures that they viewed each current registration of
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licensure and advanced practice recognition.
10.1:3  The list will be checked by the Executive

Director. If it is not possible to verify current licensure, the
Executive Director will immediately notify the employer by
letter.

10.1:4  The Executive Director shall prepare a
summary of the survey to be presented to the Board.

10.2  Release of Information
10.2:1  The Executive Director may release to a

citizen of Delaware the following information:
A. Whether or not the individual was or is

currently licensed,
B. Date of original licensure,
C. Under what condition license was issued

(examination, endorsement, or waiver),
D. Whether license was ever suspended or

revoked following a hearing.
10.2:2  Additional information may be released

pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act.

ARTICLE VIII - RULES AND REGULATIONS
GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF NURSING AS AN
ADVANCED PRACTICE NURSE IN THE STATE OF
DELAWARE

SECTION 1: AUTHORITY
1.1 These rules and regulations are adopted by the

Delaware Board of Nursing  under the authority of the
Delaware Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del.C., §1902(d),
§1906(1), §1906(7).

SECTION 2: PURPOSE
2.1 The general purpose of these rules and regulations

is to assist in protecting and  safeguarding the public by
regulating the practice of the Advanced Practice  Nurse.

SECTION 3: SCOPE 
3.1 These rules and regulations govern the educational

and experience requirements  and standards of practice for
the Advanced Practice Nurse.  Prescribing medications and
treatments independently is pursuant to the Rules and
Regulations promulgated by the Joint Practice Committee as
defined in 24 Del. C., §1906(20). The Advanced Practice
Nurse is responsible and accountable  for her or his practice.
Nothing herein is deemed to limit the scope of  practice or
prohibit a Registered Nurse from engaging in those activities
that  constitute the practice of professional nursing and/.or
professional nursing in a  specialty area.

SECTION 4: DEFINITIONS
4.1 “Advanced Practice Nurse” as defined in 24 Del.

C., §1902(d)(1).   
Such a nurse will be given the title  Advanced

Practice Nurse by state licensure, and may use the title

Advanced Practice Nurse within his/her specific specialty
area.

4.1:1  “CERTIFIED NURSE MIDWIFE (C.N.M.)”
A Registered Nurse who is a provider for

normal maternity, newborn and well-woman gynecological
care.  The CNM designation is received after  completing an
accredited post-basic nursing program in midwifery at
schools of medicine, nursing or public health, and passing a
certification examination administered by the ACNM
Certification Council, Inc. or other nationally recognized,
Board of Nursing approved certifying organization.

4.1:2  “CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE
ANESTHETIST (C.R.N.A.)”

A Registered Nurse who has graduated from a
nurse anesthesia educational program accredited by the
American Association of  Nurse Anesthetists’ Council on
Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational programs,
and who is certified by the American Association of Nurse
Anesthetists’ Council on Certification of Nurse Anesthetists
or other nationally recognized, Board of Nursing approved
certifying organization.

4.1:3  “CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST
(C.N.S.)”

A Registered Nurse with advanced nursing
educational preparation who functions in primary,
secondary, and tertiary settings with individuals, families,
groups, or communities.  The CNS designation is received
after graduation from a Master’s degree program in a clinical
nurse specialty or post Master’s certificate, such as
gerontology, maternal-child, pediatrics, psych/mental health,
etc.   The CNS must have national certification in the area of
specialization at the advanced level if such a certification
exists or as specified in Article VIII, Section 9.4.1 of these
Rules and Regulations.  The certifying agency must meet the
established criteria approved by the Delaware Board of
Nursing.

4.1:4  “NURSE PRACTITIONER (N.P.)”
A Registered Nurse with advanced nursing

educational preparation who is a provider of primary
healthcare in a variety of settings with a focus on a specific
area of practice.  The NP designation is received after
graduation from a Master’s program or from an accredited
post-basic NP certificate program of at least one academic
year in length in a nurse practitioner specialty such as acute
care, adult, family, geriatric, pediatric, or women’s health,
etc.  The NP must have national certification in the area of
specialization at the advanced level by a certifying agency
which meets the established criteria approved by the
Delaware Board of Nursing.

4.2 “Audit”
The verification of existence of a collaborative

agreement for a minimum of 10% of the total number of
licenses issued during a specified time period.

4.3 “Board” 
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The Delaware Board of Nursing
4.4 “Clinical Nursing Specialty” a delimited focus of

advanced nursing practice.  Specialty areas can be identified
in terms of population, setting, disease/pathology, type of
care or type of problem.  Nursing administration does not
qualify as a clinical nursing specialty.

4.4  5  “Collaborative Agreement”
Written verification of health care facility approved

clinical privileges; or health  care facility approved job
description; or a written document that outlines the  process
for consultation and referral between an Advanced Practice
Nurse and a  licensed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or
licensed Delaware health care delivery system.

4.5 6  “Guidelines/ Protocols”
Suggested pathways to be followed by an

Advanced Practice Nurse for  managing a particular medical
problem. These guidelines/protocols  may be developed
collaboratively by an Advanced Practice Nurse and a
licensed physician, dentist or a  podiatrist, or licensed
Delaware health  care delivery system.

4.6 7  “National Certification”
That credential earned by a nurse who has met

requirements of a  Board approved certifying agency.
4.6 7:1  The agencies so approved include but are

not limited to:
A. American Academy of Nurse Practitioners
B. American Nurses Credentialing Center
C. American Association of Nurse

Anesthetists Council on Certification of Nurse  Anesthetists
D. American Association of Nurse

Anesthetists Council on Recertification of Nurse
Anesthetists

E. National Certification Corporation for the
Obstetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal  Nursing Specialties

F. National Certification Board of Pediatric
Nurse Practitioners and Nurses.

G. ACNM Certification Council, Inc.
4.7 8  “Post Basic Program”

4.7 8:1  A combined didactic and clinical/
preceptored program of at least one academic year of full
time study in the area of advanced nursing practice with a
minimum of 400 clinical/preceptored hours.

4.7 8:2  The program must be one offered and
administered by an approved health agency and/or institution
of higher learning,

4.7 8:3  Post basic means a program taken after
licensure is achieved.

4.8 9  “Scope of Specialized Practice”
That area of practice in which an Advanced

Practice Nurse has a Master’s degree or a post-basic program
certificate in a clinical nursing specialty with national
certification.

4.9 10  “Supervision”
Direction given by a licensed physician or

Advanced Practice Nurse to an Advanced Practice Nurse
practicing pursuant to a temporary permit.  The  supervising
physician or Advanced Practice Nurse must be periodically
available at the site where care is provided, or available for
immediate guidance.

SECTION 5: GRANDFATHERING PERIOD
5.1 Any person holding a certificate of state licensure

as an Advanced Practice Nurse that is valid on July 8, 1994
shall be eligible for renewal of such licensure under the
conditions and standards prescribed herein for renewal of
licensure.

SECTION 6: STANDARDS FOR THE ADVANCED
PRACTICE NURSE

6.1 Advanced Practice Nurses view clients and their
health concerns from an integrated multi-system perspective.

6.2 Standards provide the practitioner with a
framework within which to operate and with the means to
evaluate his/her practice. In meeting the standards of
practice of nursing in the advanced role, each practitioner,
including but not limited to those listed in Section 4.1 of
these Rules and Regulations:

A. Performs comprehensive assessments using
appropriate physical and psychosocial parameters;

B. Develops comprehensive nursing care plans
based on current theories and advanced clinical knowledge
and expertise;

C. Initiates and applies clinical treatments based
on expert knowledge and technical competency to client
populations with problems ranging from health promotion to
complex illness and for whom the Advanced Practice Nurse
assumes primary care responsibilities. These treatments
include, but are not limited to psychotherapy, administration
of anesthesia, and vaginal deliveries;

D. Functions under established guidelines/
protocols and/or accepted standards of care;

E. Uses the results of scientifically sound
empirical research as a basis for nursing practice decisions;

F. Uses appropriate teaching/learning strategies to
diagnose learning impediments;

G. Evaluates the quality of individual client care
in accordance with quality assurance and other standards;

H. Reviews and revises guidelines/protocols, as
necessary;

I. Maintains an accurate written account of the
progress of clients for whom primary care responsibilities
are assumed;

J. Collaborates with members of a multi-
disciplinary team toward the accomplishment of mutually
established goals;

K. Pursues strategies to enhance access to and use
of adequate health care services;

L. Maintains optimal advanced practice based on
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a continual process of review and evaluation of scientific
theory, research findings and current practice;

M. Performs consultative services for clients
referred by other members of the multi-disciplinary team;
and

N. Establishes a collaborative agreement with a
licensed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or licensed Delaware
health care delivery system to facilitate consultation and/or
referral as appropriate in the delivery of health care to
clients.

6.3 In addition to these standards, each nurse certified
in an area of specialization and recognized by the Board to
practice as an Advanced  Practice Nurse is  responsible for
practice at the level and scope defined for that specialty
certification by the agency which certified the nurse.

SECTION 7: GENERIC FUNCTIONS OF THE
ADVANCED PRACTICE NURSE WITHIN THE
SPECIALIZED SCOPE OF PRACTICE include but are not
limited to:

7.1 Eliciting detailed health history(s)
7.2 Defining nursing problem(s)
7.3 Performing physical examination(s)
7.4 Collecting and performing laboratory tests
7.5 Interpreting laboratory data
7.6 Initiating requests for essential laboratory

procedures
7.7 Initiating requests for essential x-rays 
7.8 Screening patients to identify abnormal problems
7.9 Initiating referrals to appropriate resources and

services as necessary
7.10  Initiating or modifying treatment and medications

within established guidelines
7.11  Assessing and reporting changes in the health of

individuals, families and communities
7.12  Providing health education through teaching and

counseling
7.13  Planning and/or instituting health care programs in

the community with other health care professionals and  the
public

7.14  Delegating tasks appropriately
7.15 Prescribing medications and treatments

independently pursuant to Rules and  Regulations
promulgated by the Joint Practice Committee as defined in
24   Del. C., §1906(20).

SECTION 8: CRITERIA FOR APPROVAL OF
CERTIFICATION AGENCIES

8.1 A national certifying body which meets the
following criteria shall be recognized by the Board to satisfy
24 Del. C., §1902(d)(1).

8.2 The national certifying body:
8.2:1  Is national in the scope of its credentialing.
8.2:2  Has no requirement for an applicant to be a

member of any organization.
8.2:3  Has educational requirements which are

consistent with the requirements of  these rules.
8.2:4  Has an application process and credential

review which includes documentation that the applicant’s
education is in the advanced nursing practice category being
certified, and that the applicant’s clinical practice is in the
certification category.

8.2:5  Uses an examination as a basis for
certification in the advanced nursing practice category which
meets the following criteria:

8.2:5.1  The examination is based upon job
analysis studies conducted using standard methodologies
acceptable to the testing community;

8.2:5.2  The examination represents the
knowledge, skills and abilities essential for the delivery of
safe and effective advanced nursing care to the clients;

8.2:5.3  The examination content and its
distribution are specified in a test plan  (blueprint), based on
the job analysis study, that is available to examinees;

8.2:5.4  Examination items are reviewed for
content validity, cultural sensitivity and correct scoring
using an established mechanism, both before use and
periodically;

8.2:5.5  Examinations are evaluated for
psychometric performance;

8.2:5.6  The passing standard is established
using acceptable psychometric methods, and is reevaluated
periodically; and

8.2:5.7  Examination security is maintained
through established procedures

8.2:6  Issues certification based upon passing the
examination and meeting all other certification
requirements.

8.2:7  Provides for periodic recertification which
includes review of qualifications and continued competency.

8.2:8  Has mechanisms in place for communication
to Boards of Nursing for timely verification of an
individual’s certification status, changes in certification
status, and changes in the certification program, including
qualifications, test  plan and scope of practice.

8.2:9  Has an evaluation process to provide quality
assurance in its certification program.

SECTION 9: APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE TO
PRACTICE AS AN ADVANCED PRACTICE NURSE

9.1 Application for licensure as a Registered Nurse
shall be made on forms supplied by the Board.

9.2 In addition, an application for licensure to practice
as an Advanced Practice Nurse shall be made on forms
supplied by the Board.

9.2:1  The APN applicant shall be required to
furnish the name(s) of the licensed  physician, dentist,
podiatrist, or licensed Delaware health care delivery system
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with whom a current collaborative agreement exists before
beginning employment in Delaware.

9.2:2  Notification of changes in the name of the
licensed physician, dentist,  podiatrist, or licensed Delaware
health care delivery system shall be forwarded to the Board
office.

9.3 Each application shall be returned to the Board
office together with appropriate documentation and non-
refundable fees.

9.4 A Registered Nurse meeting the practice
requirement as listed in Section 11 and all other
requirements set forth in these Rules and Regulations may be
issued a license as an Advanced Practice Nurse in the
specific area of  specialization in which the nurse has been
nationally certified at the advanced  level and/or has earned a
Master’s degree in a clinical nursing specialty.

9.4:1  Clinical nurse specialists, whose subspecialty
area can be categorized under a broad scope of nursing
practice for which a Board-approved national  certification
examination exists, are required to pass this certification
examination to qualify for permanent licensure as an
Advanced Practice Nurse.  This would include, but not be
limited to medical-surgical and psychiatric-mental health
nursing.  If a more specific post-graduate level certification
examination that has Board of Nursing approval is available
within the clinical nursing specialist’s subspecialty area at
the time of licensure application, the applicant may
substitute this examination for the broad-based clinical
nursing  specialist certification examination.

9.4:2  Faculty members teaching in nursing
education programs are not required to be licensed as
Advanced Practice Nurses.  Those faculty members teaching
in graduate level clinical courses may apply for licensure as
Advanced Practice Nurses and utilize graduate level clinical
teaching hours to fulfill the practice requirement as stated in
11.2.1.

9.5 Renewal of licensure shall be on a date consistent
with the current Registered Nurse renewal period. A renewal
fee shall be paid.

9.6 The Board may refuse to issue, revoke, suspend or
refuse to renew the license as an Advanced Practice Nurse or
otherwise discipline an applicant or a  practitioner who fails
to meet the requirements for licensure as an Advanced
Practice Nurse or as a registered nurse, or who commits any
disciplinary offense under the Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del. C.
Chapter 19, or the Rules and Regulations promulgated
pursuant thereto.  All decisions regarding independent
practice and/or independent prescriptive authority are made
by the Joint Practice Committee as provided in 24 Del. C.,
Section 1906(20) - (22).

SECTION 10: TEMPORARY  PERMIT FOR ADVANCED
PRACTICE NURSE LICENSURE

10.1  A temporary permit to practice, pending Board

approval for permanent  licensure, may be issued provided
that:

A. The individual applying has also applied for
licensure to practice as a  Registered Nurse in Delaware, or

B. The individual applying holds a current license
in Delaware, and

C. The individual submits proof of graduation
from a nationally accredited or Board approved Master’s or
certificate advanced practice  nursing program, and has
passed the certification examination, or 

D. The individual is a graduate of a Master’s
program in a clinical nursing specialty for which there is no
certifying examination, and can show evidence of at least
1000 hours of clinical nursing practice within the past 24
months.  

E. Application(s) and fee(s) are on file in the
Board office.

10.1:1  A temporary permit to practice, under
supervision only, may be issued at the discretion of the
Executive Director provided that:

A. The individual meets the requirements in
10.1.A. or B., and E. and; 
   B. The individual submits proof of
graduation from a nationally accredited or Board approved
Master’s or certificate advanced practice nurse program,
and;

C. The individual submits proof of admission
into the approved certifying agency’s examination or is
seeking a temporary permit to practice under supervision to
accrue the practice hours required to sit for the certifying
examination or has accrued the required practice hours and is
scheduled to take the first advanced certifying examination
upon eligibility or is accruing the practice hours referred to
in 10.1 D; or,

D. The individual meets A and B hereinabove
and is awaiting review by the certifying agency for eligibility
to sit for the certifying examination.

10.2  If the certifying examination has been passed, the
appropriate form must accompany the application.

10.3  A temporary permit may be issued:
A. For up to two years in three month periods.
B. At the discretion of the Executive Director.

10.4  A temporary permit will be withdrawn:
A. Upon failure to pass the first certifying

examination
1. The applicant may petition the Board of

Nursing to extend a temporary permit under supervision
until results of the next available certification exam are
available by furnishing the following information:

a. current employer reference,
b. supervision available,
c. job description,
d. letter outlining any extenuating

circumstances,
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e. any other information the Board of
Nursing deems necessary.

B. In the absence of a collaborative agreement.
C B.  For other reasons stipulated under temporary

permits elsewhere in these Rules and Regulations.
10.5 A lapsed temporary permit for designation is

equivalent to a lapsed license and the same rules apply.
10.6  Failure of the certifying examination does not

impact on the retention of the basic professional Registered
Nurse licensure.

10.7  Any person practicing or holding oneself out as an
Advanced Practice Nurse in any category without a Board
authorized license in such category shall be considered an
illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the penalties
provided for violations of the Law regulating the Practice of
Nursing in Delaware, (Chapter 19, Title 24).

10.8  Endorsement of Advanced Practice Nurse
designation from another state is processed the same as for
licensure by endorsement, provided that the applicant meets
the criteria for an Advanced Practice Nurse license in
Delaware.

SECTION 11: MAINTENANCE OF LICENSURE
STATUS: REINSTATEMENT

11.1  To maintain licensure, the Advanced Practice
Nurse must meet the  requirements for recertification as
established by the certifying agency.

11.2  The Advanced Practice Nurse must have practiced
a minimum of 1500 hours in  the past five years or no   less
than 600 hours in the past two years in the  area of
specialization in which licensure has been granted.

11.2:1  Faculty members teaching in graduate level
clinical courses may count a maximum of 500 didactic
course contact hours in the past five years or 200  in the past
two years and all hours of direct on-site clinical supervision
of students to meet the practice requirement.

11.2:2  An Advanced Practice Nurse who does not
meet the practice requirement may be issued a temporary
permit to practice under the supervision of a person licensed
to practice medicine, surgery, dentistry, or advanced
practice nursing, as determined on an individual basis by the
Board.

11.3  The Advanced Practice Nurse will be required to
furnish the name(s) of the licensed physician, dentist,
podiatrist, or licensed Delaware health care delivery system
with whom a current collaborative agreement exists.

11.4  Advanced Practice Nurses who fail to renew their
licenses by December 31 of the renewal period shall be
considered to have lapsed licenses.  After  December 31 of
the current licensing period, any requests for reinstatement
of a lapsed license shall be presented to the Board for  action.

11.5  To reinstate licensure status as an Advanced
Practice Nurse, the requirements for recertification and 1500
hours of practice in the past five years or no less  than 600

hours in the past two years in the specialty area must be met
or the  process described in 11.4 followed.

11.6  An application for reinstatement of licensure must
be filed and the appropriate fee paid.

SECTION 12  AUDIT OF LICENSEES
12.1  The Board may select licensees for audit two

months prior to renewal in any biennium.  The Board shall
notify the licensees that they are to be audited for
compliance of having a collaborative agreement.

A. Upon receipt of such notice, the licensee must
submit a copy of a current  collaborative agreement(s) within
three weeks of receipt of the notice.

B. The Board shall notify the licensee of the
results of the audit immediately  following the Board
meeting at  which the audits are  reviewed.

C. An unsatisfactory audit shall result in Board
action.

D. Failure to notify the Board of a change in
mailing address will not absolve the licensee from audit
requirements.

12.2  The Board may select licensees for audit
throughout the biennium.

SECTION 13 EXCEPTIONS TO THE REQUIREMENTS
TO PRACTICE

13.1  The requirements set forth in Section 9 shall not
apply to a Registered Nurse  who is duly enrolled as a bona
fide student in an approved  educational  program for
Advanced Practice Nurses as long as the practice is confined
to the educational requirements of the program and is under
the direct supervision of a qualified instructor.

ARTICLE X DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS

SECTION 1: DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS
1.1 The Board may:

- refuse to issue a temporary permit or a license to
practice nursing:

- revoke, suspend or censure a license to practice
nursing;

- issue a letter of reprimand;
- place a license on probationary status;
- refuse to renew a license; or
- otherwise discipline a licensee as provided by 24

Delaware Code,  Chapter 19 §1922.

SECTION 2: PROCEDURES
2.1 Any individual shall submit written complaints of

violations of Delaware Code 24, Chapter 19 to the Division
of Professional Regulation and the Executive Director shall
retain a copy.

2.2 Any Board member receiving a complaint alleging
a practitioner’s or licensee’s violation of the Nurse Practice
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Act should promptly forward the complaint to the Division
of Professional Regulation with a copy to the Executive
Director.

2.3 Hearings on licensing matters and complaints filed
with the Board that allege a practitioner or licensee has
violated the Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del. C. Chapter 19, shall
be heard and determined by the Board in accordance with the
applicable provisions of the Nurse Practice Act and the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C., Chapter 101.
When the licensee/practitioner, prosecuting Deputy Attorney
General, and appointed Board member, if any, consent, the
complaint may be resolved through the Consent Agreement
process described herein in lieu of a formal disciplinary
hearing before the Board.

SECTION 3: REISSUANCE OF LICENSE FOLLOWING
DISCIPLINARY ACTION

3.1 Upon application made by the licensee, a suspended
or probated license may be reissued or reinstated, on such
conditions as the Board may determine, after the imposed
period of discipline has concluded and after evidence is
presented to satisfy the Board that the condition that lead to
the disciplinary action has been corrected.

SECTION 4: UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT DEFINED
4.1 Nurses whose behavior fails to conform to legal

standards and accepted standards of the nursing profession
and who thus may adversely affect the health and welfare of
the public may be found guilty of unprofessional conduct.

4.2 Unprofessional conduct shall include but is not
limited to the following:

A. Performing acts beyond the authorized scope
of the level of nursing practice for which the individual is
licensed.

B. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the
practice of nursing without adequate preparation, or without
maintaining competency.

C. Performing new nursing techniques and/or
procedures without education and practice.

D. Inaccurately recording, falsifying or altering a
patient or agency record.

E. Committing verbal or physical abuse of
patients or co-employees.

F. Assigning unlicensed persons to perform the
practice of licensed nurses.

G. Delegating nursing practice or advanced
nursing practice to unqualified persons.

H. Failing to supervise persons to whom nursing
practice or advanced nursing practice has been delegated.

I. Leaving a patient assignment after accepting
responsibility except in documented emergency situations.

J. Failing to safeguard a patient’s dignity and
right to privacy in providing services.

K. Violating the confidentiality of information

concerning a patient.
L. Failing to take appropriate action to safeguard

a patient from incompetent, unethical or illegal health care
practice.

M. Practicing nursing when unfit to perform
procedures and make decisions in accordance with the
license held because of physical, psychological, or mental
impairment.

N. Diverting drugs, supplies or property of a
patient or agency.

O. Diverting, possessing, obtaining, supplying or
administering prescription drugs to any person, including
self, except as directed by a person authorized by law to
prescribe drugs.

P. Practicing professional or practical nursing
when license or temporary permit has expired.

Q. Practicing as an Advanced Practice Nurse
when designation and/or certification and/or temporary
permit has expired.

R. Practicing professional or practical nursing in
this state without a current Delaware license or permit.

S. Practicing as an Advanced Practice Nurse in
this state without current designation and a registered nurse
license and/or temporary permits.

T. Allowing another person to use her/his nursing
license, temporary permit, or certification of Advanced
Practice Nurse for any purpose.

U. Aiding, abetting and/or assisting an individual
to violate or circumvent any law or duly promulgated rule
and regulation intended to guide the conduct of a nurse or
other health care provider.

V. Resorting to fraud, misrepresentation or deceit
in taking NCLEX-RN or PN, or in obtaining a license,
temporary permit or advanced practice designation.

W. Disclosing the contents of the licensing
examination or soliciting, accepting or compiling
information regarding the examination before, during or
after its administration.

X. Failing to report unprofessional conduct by
another licensee.

Y. Practicing or holding oneself out as an
Advanced Practice Nurse in any category without holding a
Board authorized certificate of state designation in such
category.

Z. Failing to comply with the requirements for
mandatory continuing education.

AA.Failing to take appropriate action or to follow
policies and procedures in the practice situation designed to
safeguard the patient.

BB. Failing to comply with the terms and
conditions set out in a disciplinary action of the Board. (4/8/
98)
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SECTION 5 - CONSENT AGREEMENT PROCESS
5.1 Disciplinary proceedings subject to resolution by

Consent Agreement process shall proceed as follows:
5.1:1  The President shall appoint a Board member,

subject to ratification by the Board at the next meeting, to
review each formal complaint against a licensee and
determine whether the Consent Agreement process can be
used in lieu of a formal disciplinary hearing. Similarity to
previous cases that have established Board remedies and
severity and number of counts may be considered. The
assigned Deputy Attorney General may also request that the
complaint proceed by the Consent Agreement process.

5.1:2  If the appointed Board member and the state
prosecutor concur that a consent agreement is appropriate,
the Board office shall send the licensee a copy of the formal
complaint and a request to proceed either to a formal hearing
or to a Consent Agreement process within 14 days. If the
Consent Agreement process is not appropriate, the complaint
will be set for hearing.

5.1:3  The licensee shall be required to respond
within 14 days when the Consent Agreement alternative is
offered. When the response deadline is not met or the
licensee declines the Consent Agreement process, a hearing
date shall be scheduled.

5.1:4  Upon receipt of agreement to use the Consent
Agreement process, the appointed Board member and Board
counsel shall receive a copy of the complaint, investigative
report, and any other appropriate material within seven days.

5.1:5  The Board counsel shall consult with the
appointed Board member in drafting the Consent
Agreement. Negotiations among the licensee and his/her
counsel, if any, the Board member, Board counsel, and the
prosecutor may take place by informal conferences,
telephone, or correspondence. The Consent Agreement will
include a brief recitation of the facts; the licensee’s
acknowledgment of charge(s) in the complaint and violation
of the Nurse Practice Act; the licensee’s waiver of rights to
the formal disciplinary hearing before the Board; and
sanction to be imposed.

5.1:6  The consultation and drafting and acceptance
of the consent agreement are to be done in a timely fashion,
with a report to the Board at 60 day intervals until
presentation for approval by the Board.

5.1:7  If agreement among all parties has not
occurred after 120 days from presentation of the first consent
agreement, the Board shall be notified of the reasons why no
agreement has been reached. If appropriate, the Board may
schedule a complaint for a hearing.

5.1:8  After the licensee and his or her attorney, if
any, the prosecutor, and the appointed Board member have
signed the consent agreement, it shall be presented to the
Board at the Board’s next meeting for signature by a quorum
of the Board and entry as an order of the Board.

5.1:9  The Consent Agreement is not effective until

it is entered as an order of the Board. At any time before the
Consent Agreement is entered as an order of the Board,
either the licensee or the State may terminate the consent
agreement process and elect to proceed by formal
disciplinary hearing before the Board.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 

122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

Regulatory Implementing Order

Amendments To Regulation From The Handbook Of 
Personnel Administration For Delaware School Districts

Sick Leave And Accumulation Of Annual Leave

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks to amend the
regulation from the Handbook for Personnel Administration
for Delaware School Districts:  Sick Leave and
Accumulation of Annual Leave.

Sick Leave and Accumulation of Annual Leave from
pages 7-1 and 7-2 have been amended and included in one
regulation called Employee Leave.  The Del.C. references
and the technical assistance comments have been removed.
In the case of vacation leave the regulation has been revised
to reflect current practice and 14 Del.C., Section 1318(I),
which addresses how to handle the accumulated vacation
leave when an employee retires or goes to another job.

Notice of the proposed amendment to the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on December 13, 1999, in the form hereto attached as
Exhibit A.  The notice invited written comments and none
were received from the newspaper advertisements.

II.  Findings Of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend
this regulation in order to remove the Del.C. references and
the technical assistance language and to update the
references to reflect present practice.

III.  Decision To Amend The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to amend the regulation as
presented. Therefore, pursuant to Section 122 the regulation
attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby amended.  Pursuant to
the provisions of 14 Del.C., Section 122(e), the regulation

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years
from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V.
below.

IV.  Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
March 16, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten
(10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of March, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff
Acting Secretary of Education  

Approved this 16th day of March, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

Employee Leave

1.0 Sick Leave - Sick leave accumulated by an employee of
any state agency shall be transferred when said employee
begins subsequent employment in a school district.

1.1 Sick leave days are made available at the start of the
fiscal year, but adjustments for employees who terminate
service prior to the end of the school year shall be made in
the final paycheck.

2.0 Vacation Leave – Subject to any limitation imposed by
statute, accumulated vacation leave shall be paid upon
termination of employment.  The employee may either
remain on the regular payroll until such time as all vacation
time is exhausted, or a lump sum payment may be made for
all unused vacation time on the employee’s final paycheck.
The vacated position may be filled at any time provided that

the two employees do not receive compensation for the same
pay period.  Accumulated vacation time shall not be
transferred between different employing state agencies.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 
Section 122 (3)(u) (16 Del.C. 122(3(u))

Adoption of State of Delaware |
Rules and Regulations Governing |
The State of Delaware Food Code |

Nature of the Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”)
initiated proceedings to adopt Rules and Regulations
Governing The State of Delaware Food Code.  The DHSS’s
proceedings to adopt regulations were initiated pursuant to
29 Delaware Code Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed
by 16 Delaware Code Chapter 1, Section 122 (3) (u).

On October 1, 1999 (Volume 3, Issue 4), DHSS
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice
of proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10115.  It requested that written materials and
suggestions from the public concerning the proposed
regulations be delivered to DHSS by November 1, 1999, or
be presented at public hearings on October 27 or October 28,
1999, after which time DHSS would review information,
factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed
regulations.

A summary of the comments is part of the
accompanying “Summary of Evidence.”

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed rules in Section
3-603.11 of the regulations, pertaining to Consumer
Advisory, shall not be adopted.  However, said section will
be reserved for future Consumer Advisory rules.

Exclusive of the proposed rules in Section 3-603.11 as
described above, the Department finds that the proposed
regulations as set forth in the attached copy should be
adopted in the best interest of the general public of the State
of Delaware. The proposed regulations include
modifications from those published in the October 1, 1999
Register of Regulations, based on comments received during
the public notice period.  These modifications are deemed
not to be substantive in nature.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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Rules and Regulations Governing The State of Delaware
Food Code are adopted as modified and excepting
amendments in Section 3-603.11.  Said regulations shall
become effective April 11, 2000 after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations. 

Gregg C. Sylvester, MD, Secretary
March 15, 2000

Summary of Evidence

State of Delaware Rules and Regulations Governing the 
State of Delaware Food Code

Public hearings were held on October 27, 1999, in the
Department of Transportation Southern District Office, in
Georgetown and in the Department of Transportation
Administration Building in Dover, and on October 28, 1999,
in the Carvel State Office Building, in Wilmington,
Delaware, before David P. Walton, Hearing Officer, to
discuss the proposed Delaware Health and Social Services
(DHSS) Rules and Regulations Governing The State of
Delaware Food Code. The announcements regarding all
public hearings were advertised in the Delaware State News,
the News Journal and the Delaware Register of Regulations
in accordance with Delaware Law.  Mr. Thom May, Director
of Community Environmental Health Services, and the
Office of Food Protection staff made the agency’s
presentation.  Attendees were allowed and encouraged to
discuss and ask questions regarding all sections of the
proposed regulations.  With few exceptions, public
testimony focused on the six national level problematic
issues between the food industry and the Food and Drug
Administration (FDA).  Those concerns and the DHSS
(Agency) response are as follows:

• Members of the food industry and the Delaware
Food Safety Council (DFSC) would like a 10 year
exemption versus a 5 year exemption as allowed in
the 1999 Food Code to replace refrigeration equip-
ment that does not meet the 41 (F) degrees or below
cold holding temperature requirement.  The food
industry would also like to see open-top, grill-line
and prep reach-in refrigeration units be exempted
from this requirement for the life of the equipment.

Agency Response: DHSS recommends retaining the 5
year exemption requirement.  A survey of five major
refrigeration manufacturers (Hussman, Hobart, Hill Phoenix,
Delfield and Beverage Air) revealed that they have offered
industry refrigeration units (open-air, reach-in, restaurant,
merchandise display) that meet the 41 (F) degree standard
since the early 1990s.  DHSS pledges to work with the
DFSC and industry during the 1999 Food Code 1-year

phase-in period to identify refrigeration units that do not
meet the 1999 Food Code standard. By working with
industry and identifying these units early, industry can
phase-in new purchases over the next 5 years to ease the
financial load.  In addition, under the 1999 Food Code,
Public Health has the authority to grant case-by-case,
temporary variances for bonafide hardships.  DHSS will also
monitor the science and feasibility of this requirement as
provided by the FDA, and will consider extending this
phase-in period in the future if warranted.  It is the agency’s
contention that the public health benefits of compliance with
the refrigeration requirement far outweigh the cost or
inconvenience associated with the 5 year phase-in period.

• Members of the food industry and the DFSC asked
that the 1999 Food Code, food hot holding tempera-
ture requirement of 140 (F) be reduced to 130 (F).

Agency Response: DHSS recommends retaining the 140 (F)
hot holding temperature requirement.  Although from an
unscientific standpoint, to lower this requirement seems
inconsequential.  However, this standard has a scientific
basis that takes into consideration equipment variables and
human error.  Lowering this standard by 10 degrees could
mean the difference between rapid food pathogen growth
and no pathogen growth.  Food-borne illnesses are directly
linked to disease causing pathogen growth.  In a meeting
held after the public hearings, the DFSC voted to accept the
140 (F) food hot holding standard in the 1999 Food Code as
written.

• Members of the food industry and the DFSC asked
that the 1999 Food Code requirement that prohibits
bare-hand contact with ready-to-eat foods be
changed to minimal bare-hand contact.

Agency Response: DHSS recommends retaining this
requirement.  In this section of the 1999 Food Code there are
provisions providing regulators leeway to approve minimal
bare-hand contact on a case-by-case basis with ready-to-eat
foods.  DHSS contends that prohibited bare-hand contact
with ready-to-eat foods provides maximum protection
against ready-to-eat food contamination.  Through proper
education, supervision and awareness, this requirement will
have minimal impact on the food-service industry while
providing maximum protection to the consumer.  In a
meeting held after the public hearings, the DFSC voted to
accept this requirement of the 1999 Food Code as written.

• Members of the food industry and the DFSC asked
to have a language change (by adding an “or”)
made in the section of the 1999 Food Code requir-
ing demonstration of knowledge of the person in
charge.
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Agency Response: DHSS recommends retaining the original
language of this section.  By adding an “or” to the
demonstration of knowledge section, makes compliance
with the 1999 Food Code an optional indicator of knowledge
for the person in charge.  DHSS contends that knowledge
that reflects compliance with the 1999 Food Code cannot be
optional for the person in charge of food service operations.
In a meeting held after the public hearings, the DFSC voted
unanimously to accept this section of the 1999 Food Code as
written.

• Members of the food industry and the DFSC asked
that the section of the 1999 Food Code requiring a
consumer advisory about undercooked or raw food
be deleted.

Agency Response: DHSS recommends deleting this
requirement, but reserve this section (3-603.11) for future
FDA Consumer Advisory rules.  Based on FDA’s
recommendation, DHSS prefers not to adopt a requirement it
will not enforce.  FDA’s current recommendation on the
Consumer Advisory section of the 1999 Food Code is to not
enforce this requirement until acceptable language and
guidance is agreed upon at the national level. When this
issue is resolved at the national level, DHSS will analyze the
FDA Consumer Advisory guidance and in cooperation with
the DFSC consider adoption.

• Members of the food service industry and the
DFSC recommended that food inspectors be
required to have the same knowledge as is required
in the 1999 Food Code of the person in charge of a
food service operation.

Agency Response: The agency agrees with the food
service industry and the DFSC.  Agency Food Service
Inspectors are required to have qualification training and
recurring training as part of their certification process. This
level of training exceeds that which is required of the person
in charge of a food service operation.  In a meeting held after
the public hearings, the DFSC voted unanimously to accept
this section of the 1999 Food Code as written.

• Two members of the food service industry and the
DFSC asked in the event of a hardship, existing res-
taurants be considered for a variance or waiver in
meeting the strict facility guideline standards set
forth in the 1999 Food Code.

Agency Response: In the 1999 Food Code under the
Modifications and Waivers section, public health has the
authority to grant facility variances on a case-by-case basis.

• A member of the food service industry and the
DFSC voiced concern over the wording, “criminal
remedies” used under the Responsibilities of the
Permit Holder section of the 1999 Food Code.

Agency Response: DHSS recommends retaining the
wording in this section as written.  Although these words
sound harsh, it is necessary language to make food service
permit holders aware that the 1999 Food Code is linked to
and enforceable by established Delaware Statue.  This
particular wording, “criminal remedies” is needed for the
rare occasion when a food service proprietor willfully,
repeatedly and knowingly violates food safety procedures
that jeopardizes the health of residents or visitors to
Delaware.

Upon further review and advisement by the Deputy
Attorney General, the Agency has decided to delete Section
8-604.20, of the regulation, pertaining to Administrative
Penalties.  This section was deleted due to DHSS not having
specific statute authority to enforce such penalties.

In addition, page number errors were discovered on the
index page of the 1999 Food Code.  These errors do not
change the intent or regulatory nature of the Code and will
be corrected prior to publication.

The public comment period was open from October 1,
1999 to November 1, 1999.

Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing
Officer’s record.  The regulations have been approved by the
Delaware Attorney General’s office and the Cabinet
Secretary of DHSS.

STATE OF DELAWARE FOOD CODE
ADDENDUM TO THE 1999 FDA FOOD CODE

Chapters 1 – 8 of the “1999 FDA Food Code” is being
herewith adoped by the State of Delaware as the primary
document in regulating retail food establishments in the
State.  The text below is an addendum to Chapter 8, to
comply with Delaware-specific requirements and is to be
appended at the end of Chapter 8 in the primary document,
Chapters 1 – 8 of the “1999 FDA Food Code”, which can be
found on the Internet at the following address: http://
vm.cfsan.fda.gov/~dms/fc99-toc.html.  

*  PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROPOSED REGULATIONS ARE

BEING INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE IN ACCORDANCE

WITH THE PROCEDURES AS AUTHORIZED BY 29 DEL.C.
1134.

PART  8-6 ENFORCEMENT PROCEDURES

8-601 Re-inspection Fee
8-601.10

(A)  A re-inspection fee shall be assessed under the
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following circumstances:
(1) When critical violations are shown to exist

during a follow-up inspection 
(2) When non-critical violations are shown to

exist on successive routine inspections
(3) When a complaint inspection requires a

follow-up inspection to confirm compliance.
(4) When an inspection is required to

determine compliance with the terms of a corrective action
plan or an administrative hearing.

(5) To determine the proper posting of a valid
permit.

(6) Any other follow-up inspection deemed
necessary by the regulatory authority to determine
compliance with these Regulations.

(B) The fee shall be that required by 16 Del. C.
Chap. 1, 134.

(C) Failure to pay the re-inspection fee, as
specified, shall result in the automatic suspension of the
permit to operate a food establishment.  The permit shall
remain suspended until the regulatory authority receives full
payment of all fees.

8-602 Administrative Action
8-602.10 General

If the regulatory authority determines that a food
establishment is operating without a valid permit, or that
condition(s) exist(s) in a food establishment which
represent(s) an Imminent Health Hazard or if serious
violations, repeat violations, or general unsanitary conditions
are found to exist, administrative action may occur.
Administrative action will be conducted in accordance with
the Procedures for Office of Food Protection Prosecutions.

(A) Operation without a Permit
If food establishment is found operating

without a valid permit as required by 8-301.11 of these
Regulations, the regulatory authority shall order the facility
immediately closed.  The closure shall be effective upon
receipt of a written notice by the person in charge of the food
establishment or employee of the food establishment.  A
closure notice statement recorded on the inspection report by
the representative of the regulatory authority constitutes a
written notice.  The food establishment shall remain closed
until a permit application and applicable fees and any
required plans have been received and approved by the
Regulatory Authority. In order to open, the food
establishment must comply with 8-303.10 of these
Regulations.

(B) Imminent Health Hazard(s)
(1) Suspension of Permit

If some condition(s) is/are determined to
exist in the food establishment which present(s) an imminent
health hazard to the public, the regulatory authority, or his
designee, in the county in which the food establishment

operates may suspend the operating permit of the food
establishment without a hearing for a period not to exceed
ten (10) government business days. The suspension shall be
effective upon receipt of written notice by the person in
charge of the food establishment or employee of the food
establishment.  A suspension statement recorded on the
inspection report by the inspecting regulatory representative
constitutes a written notice. The permit shall not be
suspended for a period longer than ten (10) government
business days without a hearing. Failure to hold a hearing
within the ten (10) government business day period shall
automatically terminate the suspension.

(2) The permit holder of the food
establishment may request, in writing, a hearing before the
regulatory authority at any time during the period of
suspension, for the purpose of demonstrating that the
imminent health hazard(s) no longer exist.  The request for
hearing shall not stay the suspension.

(C) Serious Violations, Repeat Violations and
General Unsanitary Conditions

When conditions exist in a food establishment
that represent serious violations, repeat violations and
general unsanitary conditions in a food establishment, the
regulatory authority may initiate a corrective action plan or
schedule a hearing.

8-603 Agency Emergency Actions
8-603.10 Food may be examined or sampled by the

regulatory authority as often as necessary for enforcement of
these Regulations.  

8-603.20 All food shall be wholesome and free from
spoilage.  Food that is spoiled or unfit for human
consumption shall not be kept on the premises. The
established administrative procedures for the
implementation and enforcement of the provisions of 16 Del.
C., Chapter 33, relating to the embargo of misbranded or
adulterated food, and penalties shall be applicable to this
Section.

8-604 Penalties
 8-604.10 Any person (or responsible officer of that
person) who violates a provision of these Regulations, and
any person (or responsible officer of that person) who is the
holder of a permit or who otherwise operates a food
establishment that does not comply with the requirements of
these Regulations shall be subject to the provisions of 16
Del. C. §107.

8-604.20 Any person (or responsible officer of that
person) who violates a provision of these Regulations, and
any person (or responsible officer of that person) who is the
holder of a permit or who otherwise operates a food
establishment that refuses, fails or neglects to comply with
an order of the Secretary shall be subject to an administrative
penalty of not less than $100 and not more than $1,000,
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together with costs.
8-604.30 The regulatory authority may seek to

enjoin violations of these Regulations.
8-604.40 A conspicuous, colored placard shall be

prominently displayed at all entrances of food
establishments meeting the following criteria:

(A) Failure to obtain a valid permit; or
(B) whose permit stands suspended; or
(C) whose permit stands revoked; or
(D) whose permit has expired due to non-payment

of a permit fee.

[Current Status of Consumer Advisory Language
Regarding] [§ 3-603.11 (Reserved)]

[The following information is not part of Chapter 3 and
is not intended to be included in the codified portion of
the Food Code.  It is inserted here to provide a summary
of recent events surrounding the matter of a consumer
advisory, addressed in § 3-603.11 of the Code.  In cases
where the Food Code is adopted through incorporation
by reference, this page may be 
removed.

A consensus as to what constitutes satisfactory
compliance with § 3-603.11 was reached at the 1998
Conference for Food Protection (CFP) meeting.  A third
option for the consumer "reminder" was added later.
This insert page is to alert the reader to the options
available to  food establishments in advising consumers
of the increased possibility of foodborne illness when
animal derived foods are eaten raw or undercooked.

Included in Annex 3 is a full discussion of the evolution of
the 1998 CFP consensus, satisfactory compliance,
applicability of the Code provision, and the meaning and
application of the phrase that appears in § 3-603.11, i.e.,
"or otherwise processed to eliminate pathogens."

There are two components to satisfactory compliance:
Disclosure and Reminder.

Disclosure is satisfied when:
(1) Items are described, such as:

(a) Oysters on the half shell (raw oysters),
(b) Raw egg Caesar salad, and
(c) Hamburgers (can be cooked to order); or

(2) Items are asterisked to a footnote that states that
the items:

(a) Are served raw or undercooked, or
(b) Contain (or may contain) raw or

undercooked ingredients.

Reminder is satisfied when the items requiring disclosure

are asterisked to a footnote that states:
(1) Regarding the safety of these items, written

information is available upon
request;1

(2) Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry,
seafood, shellfish, or eggs may 
increase your risk of foodborne illness; or

(3) Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry,
seafood, shellfish, or eggs may
increase your risk of foodborne illness, especially if you
have certain medical
conditions.

1Essential criteria for such written information are being
developed and will be made available with a
downloadable model brochure on the CFSAN Web Page
at http://www.cfsan.fda.gov  All brochures must meet
these essential criteria.]
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-SEVEN

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE.

RE: CREATING THE ELECTRONIC
GOVERNMENT STEERING COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware is committed to
enhancing the delivery of services and providing taxpayers
and citizens with information about their government;

WHEREAS, through the rapid proliferation of access to
the Internet, citizens can more easily access needed
information at little or no cost, and may take advantage of
Internet-based transactions with businesses and government;

WHEREAS, the Internet holds enormous potential for
simplifying and enhancing service delivery and information
sharing with citizens, and reducing the cost to taxpayers
associated with such activities;

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware has made significant
progress to date in providing citizens with access to
information and in providing services through the use of
Internet-based technologies; and

WHEREAS, to build on the successes achieved to date,
and to coordinate efforts to improve Intenet-based service
delivery by Delaware State agencies, a coordinating body
needs to be appointed to provide leadership and direction
across state agencies.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by virtue of
the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby order and declare the following:

1. An "Electronic Government Steering Committee"
(hereinafter referred to as the Committee) shall be
established to provide leadership, direction and coordination
for the State of Delaware in providing State services and
information through the Internet.

A. The Committee shall have the following
membership:

(i) The Secretary of State;
(ii) The Secretary of the Department of

Finance;
(iii) The State Budget Director;
(iv) The Director of the Office of Information

Services;
(v) The Delaware State Treasurer;
(vi) A representative of the Office of the

Governor; and,
(vii)Others as the Governor shall deem

appropriate.
B. The Chair of the Committee shall be selected

by the Governor, and shall serve at the pleasure of the
Governor.

2. The Committee shall have the following duties and
responsibilities:

A. Identification of both short and long-term
projects to enhance state service delivery and information
exchange through the use of the Internet;

B. To work with agency personnel to implement,
to the extent practicable within current budget constraints,
identified short-term projects before the close of calendar
year 2000;

C. To develop and promulgate standards to be
adhered to by State agencies in the use of the Internet for
service delivery and information exchange by state agencies;
and,

D. To issue a report no later than December 15,
2000 summarizing the steps taken by the Committee during
calendar year 2000, and identifying areas where the state can
improve its use of Internet-based technologies to enhance
service delivery and information exchange.

3. An "Electronic Government Project Director"
(hereinafter referred to as the Director) shall be appointed by
the Committee.

4. The Director shall have the following duties and
responsibilities:

A. To ensure that projects identified by the
Committee are competed in a timely fashion;

B. To assist in the development of standards for
use by State agencies in developing Internet based services;
and,

C. To report to the Committee on the regular basis
regarding the progress of identifies projects.

5. The provisions of this Order shall be effective
immediately.

Approved this 22 day of February 2000.
Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest:
Edward Freel, Secretary of State

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-EIGHT

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE.

RE: ESTABLISHING TEMPORARY GOALS FOR
STATE AGENCIES IN AWARDING PUBLIC
WORKS CONTRACTS AND MAKING
CHANGES TO THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE
BUILDING AND TRADE COUNCIL.

WHEREAS, the State is committed to maximizing the
participation of minority and women-owned businesses in
public works projects and other areas of procurement, in
accordance with applicable federal and state law;

WHEREAS, under current state law, state funded public
works projects undertaken by Delaware State agencies may
only be awarded on the basis of price and schedule;

WHEREAS, the United States Supreme Court, in City
of Richmond v. J.A. Croson Co. (1989), held that state and
local governments may only implement targeted minority
business enterprise (MBE) programs if they demonstrate a
"compelling governmental interest" justifying the program
and the program is otherwise "narrowly tailored" to remedy
any disparity identified;

WHEREAS, to demonstrate a "compelling government
interest," a study empirically establishing the existence,
extent and possible causes of disparity in the awarding of
public works contracts must be conducted;

WHEREAS, the State has not as yet undertaken such an
in-depth, quantitative disparity study, but intends to do so in
the near future;

WHEREAS, the study should, to the extent disparity is
established, identify appropriate remedies to address the
disparity;

WHEREAS, in the absence of such a study, it appears
that minority and women-owned businesses may be
underrepresented on several major public works contracts
that have been let by the State of Delaware; and,

WHEREAS, the State has a responsibility to determine
if discrimination exists in public works contracting and to
ameliorate the effects of any discrimination identified.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware,
do hereby order as follows:

1. The following interim goals are set for participation
by minority and female individuals, and minority and
women-owned firms in State public works projects, pending
the outcome and recommendations of a disparity study:

A. Workforce Goal:
(i) The percentage of women and racial

minorities employed by construction firms working on state
agency public works projects should approximate the
percentage that exists in the appropriate labor market.

(ii) In determining whether this goal has been
achieved, the aggregate of all construction related
employment for the calendar year should be examined.

B. Contractor/Sub-Contractor Participation
Goal:

(i) Documented, good faith efforts should be
made to encourage prime contractors on State agency public
works projects to employ Minority or Disadvantaged Owned
Businesses (M/DBE) as subcontractors to meet or exceed the
goals established by this order.

(ii) The goal of participation by M/DBEs as
sub-contractors during the calendar year should be no less
than 10 percent over the average percentage participating
during the previous five (5) calendar years on such projects.

2. Additionally, documented, good faith efforts should
be made to maximize the number of M/DBEs that provide
goods and services, professional services or non-
professional services with an understanding of state
procurement practices and information on how to provide
goods and services to state agencies.

3. Each state agency shall submit to the Governor's
Building and Trades Council, no later than January 31, 2001,
a report documenting efforts to meet the goals set forth in
this order during calendar year 2000.

4. The goals set forth in this order are temporary in
nature.  Any disparity study commissioned by the State of
Delaware should address the issue of whether the factual
predicate establishes the need for any ongoing remedies, and
if so, whether the interim goals as established by this
Executive Order should be suspended, extended, modified
and/or augmented with other kinds of remedies, such as
amending current State law to allow for the establishment of
a State M/DBE program.

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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5. While the primary focus of the interim goals set
forth in this Order is public works contracting, it is
understood and acknowledged that the viability of
establishing similar goals for other areas of procurement
should be examined in the future.

6. Amend Executive Order 71 by striking the text of
paragraph 2 and inserting in lieu thereof the following
language:

“2. The Council shall be composed of the
following:

(i) A Chairperson, to be selected by the
Governor;

(ii) Director of the Delaware Economic
Development Office;

(iii) Secretary of the Department of Labor;
(iv) Secretary of the Department of

Administrative Services;
(v) Secretary of the Department of

Transportation;
(vi) A representative of the Office of the

Mayor of the City of Wilmington;
(vii)A representative of the Latin

American Community Center;
(viii)A representative of the Delaware

Commission for Women;
(ix) A representative of the state branch of

the National Association for the Advancement of
Colored People (NAACP);

(x) A representative of the Metropolitan
Wilmington Urban League;

(xi) A representative of the
Interdenominational Ministers Action Council of
Delaware, Inc.;

(xii)A representative of the Delaware
Contractors' Association;

(xiii)A representative of the Association of
Builders and Contractors;

(xiv)A representative of the Delaware
Building and Trade Association;

(xv) A representative of the Delaware
Construction Council;

(xvi)A representative of the Micro
Business Chamber of Commerce;

(xvii)A representative of the Minority
Business Association; and

(xviii)One At-Large member to be
selected by the Governor,"

7. The provisions of this Order shall be effective
immediately.

Approved this 17th day of March, 2000.

Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest: Edward Freel, Secretary of State
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BOARD/COMMISSION      TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE        OFFICE

Advisory Council for Children, Youth and Dr. Paula J. Malone 02/21/02
Their Families Reverend Gloria L. Cherry 02/16/02

Architectural Accessibility Board Mr. Ralph W. Simpers 02/11/03

Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Ms. Mary Ann Poling 02/07/03
Administrators

Board of Examiners of Psychologists Mr. Richard M. Lindale 09/05/00
Mr. Frank Szczuka 03/20/03

Board of Landscape Architects Ms. Lorene Athey 02/11/03

Board of Massage and Bodywork Ms. Carla J. Arcaro 02/11/03

Board of Registration of Geologists Ms. Elizabeth Brown 01/17/03
Dr. Robert Jordan 01/17/03

Board Registration for Land Surveyors Mr. Amos W. Aiken 02/10/03

Child Protection Accountability Commission Colonel Gerald R. Pepper Pleasure of the
Governor

Children’s Trust Fund Board of Directors Ms. Carlene M. Whitsel 03/16/03

Council of Corrections Mr. Weston E. Nellius Pleasure of the
Governor

Council on Forestry Mr. George Barczewski 03/27/03

Council on Hispanic Affairs Mr. Hector Figueroa 06/12/01
Ms. Iris Rosa-Boyd 06/12/01
Mr. Rene Solis 05/06/00

Council on Real Estate Appraisers Ms. Jill K. Morrison 07/24/01

Delaware Bicycle Council Mr. Fred Breukelman 03/20/03
Ms. P. Raquel Bushweller 03/17/03
Ms. Jana Simpler 03/20/03
Mr. Paul A. Stevenson, Jr. 03/20/03

Delaware Commission for Women Ms. Patricia Rodriquez 03/20/03

Delaware Commission on Veterans Affairs Mr. Robert D. Marcinkowski 02/07/04
Mr. John Thomas 03/21/04

Developmental Disabilities Planning Council Ms. Linda Barnett 03/20/03
Mr. James Cartmell 03/20/03
Ms. Margaret Cartmell 03/20/03

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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BOARD/COMMISSION        TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE          OFFICE

Developmental Disabilities Planning Council Ms. Bethel Chang 03/20/03
Mr. Goodwin Cobb, III 03/20/03
Mr. Brian Hartman 03/20/03
Mr. Larry Henderson 03/20/03
Ms. Helen Skinner 03/20/03
Ms. Catherine Sullivan 03/20/03

Dover Housing Authority Mr. Philemon Hill 03/20/06

Foster Care Review Board Mr. Roger Blevins 01/24/03

Governor’s Building and Trade Council Mr. Desmond A. Baker Pleasure of the
Governor

Honorable Lisa Blunt-Bradley Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Charles E. Brittingham Pleasure of the
Governor

Honorable Anne P. Canby Pleasure of the
Governor

Edward J. Capodanno Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. James H. Gilliam, Sr. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Maria M. Matos Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. John McMahon Pleasure of the
Governor

Honorable Vincent P. Meconi Pleasure of the
Governor

Honorable Darrell J. Minott Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Kathy Laffey Montgomery Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Thomas J. Moyer Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Olakunle S. Oludina Pleasure of the
Governor

Reverend Lawrence W. Wright Pleasure of the
Governor

Human Relations Commission Ms. Neta L. Pringle 02/07/03

State Rehabilitation Advisory Council Ms. Christine Mantyla 03/20/03
Ms. Jamie Wolfe 03/20/03

Tourism Advisory Board Mr. Frank Fantini 03/20/03
Ms. Carol S. Harding 02/07/03
Mr. Edward J. Sutor 02/11/03
Mr. Xavier Teixido 02/07/03
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BOARD/COMMISSION      TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE        OFFICE

Water Supply Coordinating Council Mr. Charles Jenner Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Naomi McCafferty Pleasure of the
Governor

Wilmington Housing Authority Mr. Gary E. Hindes Pleasure of the
Governor

Workforce Investment Board Ms. Suzanne C. Moore Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Didi Bowditch Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Jeffrey M. Bross Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Richard Fluri Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Bruce R. Fitzgerald Pleasure of the
Governor
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICES

The Delaware Board of Funeral Services will hold a
public hearing prior to its regularly scheduled meeting on
May 31, 2000 to hear public comment on proposed changes
to its rules and regulations  related to the qualifications for
licensure including requirements for the equivalent of an
Associate Degree in Mortuary Science, the state and national
tests, and the internship in 24 Del. C. §3107(a).   The public
hearing will be held at 9:30 a.m. in conference room A on
the second floor of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Blvd., Dover, DE 19904   Copies of the proposed regulations
can be obtained from Susan Miccio, Division of Professional
Regulation (302-739-4522 ext. 206), at the above address.
Written comments may be submitted to the Board in care of
Susan Miccio at the same address.   The final date to submit
written comments shall be at the scheduled public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF LICENSED

PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.,
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. §3606(a)(1), the Delaware Board
of Licensed Professional Geologists proposes to revise its
rules and regulations.  Please note that the following Rules
and Regulations are a total rewriting and reordering of
existing regulations, and will supersede and replace any
previously adopted rules and regulations of the Board

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Friday, May 5, 2000 at 10:00 a.m., in the
Second Floor Conference Room B of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Mary
Paskey at the above address.  The final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled public hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations or to make comments at the public hearing
should notify Mary Paskey at the above address or by calling
(302) 739-4522, extension 207.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTUTE
PESTICIDES SECTION

The Delaware Department of Agriculture, Pesticides
Section, is proposing to amend the Delaware Pesticide
Rules and Regulations, (“Rule”)  Revised, February 10,
1999, and origianlly proposed in the February 2000 issue of
the Delaware Register of Regulations beginning at page
1037.  The amendments are being proposed under legal
authority of 3 Del.C. Chapter 12, §1237.  Persons may
present their views in writing to H. Grier Stayton, Pesticides
Administrator, Delaware Dept. of Agriculture, 2320 S.
duPont Hwy., Dover, DE 19901. A Public Hearing is also
scheduled to receive verbal or written comments and will be
held on April 25, 2000, at 7 p.m., at the Delaware
Department of Agriculture Building, 2320 S. DuPont Hwy.,
Dover, DE. 

The proposed revisions of Sections 4, Registration, and
Section 5, Licensing are the consequence of changes to 3

Del.C. Chapter 12, Pesticide Law, made during the 140th

General Assembly session.  Amendments to Section 4
Registration will provide for a biennial pesticide product
registration period and a fee increase. Amendments to
Section 5, Licensing, will require a pesticide business
license applicant or holder of the license to employ a
certified applicator with a minimum of two years practical
experience pursuant to §1207(c)(1) of the Law.  Section 5
amendments also provide for the option of a one or two year
license period.

The proposed revision of Section 22, Restrictions on
the Use of Pesticides for the Control of Subterranean
Termites, will clarify disclosure requirements and prescribe
a disclosure form for applicators of termiticides.

Copies of the proposed Rules may be obtained by
calling the Department’s Pesticides Section at 1-800-282-
8685.  The comment period for the proposed Rules will
remain opend until May 1, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its
monthly meeting on Thursday, April 21, 2000 at
2:00 p.m. in the Townsend Building, Dover,
Delaware.

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/pest/pest.htm
http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware Health and Social Services is proposing
changes to regulations contained in the Division of Social
Services Manual Sections 4006.1, 8030.1, 9059, 11003.9.1,
and 14710. These changes are initiated pursuant to 29
Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed
by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.  These changes are
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.  

Written materials and suggestions by interested persons
for related to this proposal must be forwarded by April 30,
2000, to the Director, Division of Social Services, P. O. Box
906, New Castle, DE 19720.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its General Policy Provider Manual.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by April 30, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DELAWARE SECURITIES ACT

The Delaware Securities Division of the Attorney
General’s Office hereby gives notice that it intends to amend
Rules 700 and 701 to accomplish the following:

1. Establish minimum competency requirements for
new investment advisors and investment adiviser
representatives to protect Delaware investors.

2. Efficiently regulate the growing number of
investment advisors and investment adivser representatives.

3. Streamline the mechanics of licensing by adopting
the uniform qualification exams used by sister states, thereby

avoiding duplicative or burdensome licensing processes.
The legal authority for this action is found in section

7325 of the Delaware Securities Act as well as sections 7313
and 7314 of the Act.  Any person may submit his or her
written comments on the proposed action by sending them
to:

Securities Commissioner
Department of Justice
Carvel State Office Building, 5th Floor
820 N. French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

All comments must be received no later than 30 days
after the date of publication of this notice.  Final action will
be taken upon expiration of that period.

James B. Ropp
Securities Commissioner

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

HAZARDOUS WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

1.  TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste

(DRGHW).

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

The State of Delaware is authorized by the U. S.
Environmental Protection Agency to administer its own
hazardous waste management program. To maintain this
authorization, the State must remain equivalent to and no
less stringent than the federal program.  To accomplish this,
the State regularly amends the DRGHW by adopting
regulations previously promulgated by EPA.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
NONE

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY
TO ACT:

Amendments to DRGHW are proposed and amended in
accordance with the provisions found at 7 Delaware Code,
Chapters 60 & 63.

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

NONE

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to

DRGHW will be held on Tuesday May 9, 2000 beginning at
7:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  In addition, those affected by
the proposed amendments are invited to attend one of two
workshops conducted on April 25th and May 4th, 2000.

7. PREPARED BY:
Donald Short, Hazardous Waste Management
(302) 739-3689

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION
REGISTER NOTICE 

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:  
Regulations Governing Solid Waste

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:  

Revisions are being proposed to many sections of the
regulations.  See attachment for a section-by-sections
synopsis of the changes.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY
TO ACT:

Title 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL: 

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
A public workshop will be held on Wednesday, May 10,

2000, from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon in the auditorium of the
Richardson and Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE.  A public hearing will be held on Tuesday, July
25, 2000, from 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. in the auditorium of
the Richardson and Robbins Building.

7. PREPARED BY:
Janet T. Manchester, 302-739-3820.

Synopsis of proposed revisions to
Regulations Governing Solid Waste

Section 2 (Scope and Applicability)

• Clarify requirements applicable to agricultural
waste.

• Remove composting and recycling from
"Exemptions" and place them in a new subsection,
"Composting and Recycling Approvals".

Section 3 (Definitions)

• Define some previously undefined terms.
• Delete definitions of terms no longer used in the

regulations.
• Clarify definitions found to be imprecise or

incomplete.

Section 4 (Permit Requirements and Administrative
Procedures)

• Add a provision requiring all permittees to comply
with the conditions of their permits.

• Clarify procedures for transferring a permit.
• Increase the notification time for transfer of a

permit.
• Streamline the procedure for approving the closure

of a solid waste facility.
• Provide greater consistency in permitting

requirements.

Section 5 (Sanitary Landfills)

•Prohibit the acceptance of Conditionally Exempt Small
Quantity Generator waste.

Section 7 (Transporters)
• Clarify administrative requirements pertaining to

permit applications.
• Clarify reporting and documentation requirements.
• Prohibit transporters who have been denied a

transporter permit from being listed as a sub-
contractor or sub-lease on another transporter's
permit for a period of one year after the expiration
or denial date.

• Provide references to other sections of the
regulations where applicable.

Section 10 (Transfer Stations)

• Remove language referring to flow control at
Delaware Solid Waste Authority facilities.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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Section 11, Part 1 (Infectious Waste)

• Reorganize portions of this section to make
requirements more understandable.

• Reference other applicable sections of the
regulations to minimize misunderstanding of
requirements.

In addition, DNREC is proposing the following changes
throughout the regulations:

• Change "Solid Waste Management Branch" to
"Solid and Hazardous Waste Management Branch."

• Eliminate, where possible, provisions requiring
compliance with regulations, standards, or
procedures not contained within this document and
potentially subject to change by entities other than
the DNREC Solid and Hazardous Waste
Management Branch.

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PRIVATE 

INVESTIGAORS & PRIVATE SECURITY AGENCIES

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Examiners of
Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies, in
accordance with Del. Code Title 24 Chapter 13 proposes to
amend Adopted Rule 11/04/1994-7 – Employment
Notification.  This amendment will clarify the employer’s
responsibility of the action of their employees to the
Detective Licensing Section.  If you wish to view the
complete Rule, contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-
5991.  Any persons wishing to present views may submit
them in writing, by April 30, 2000, to Delaware State Police,
Detective Licensing, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE 19903;  The
Board will hold its quarterly meeting Thursday, April 13,
2000, 10:00am, at the Delaware State Police Headquarters
Conference Room, 1441 North DuPont Highway in Dover,
Delaware.

http://www.state.de.us/pubsafe/index.htm
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