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p R DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE
5500 Bail Enforcement Agents

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 5504(a) (24 Del.C. §5504(a))
24 DE Admin. Code 5500

PROPOSED
PUBLIC NOTICE
5500 Bail Enforcement Agents

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Examiners of Bail Enforcement Agents, in accordance with 24 Del.C. Ch. 55
proposes to amend:

Adopted Rule 3.0 - Use of Animals, basic verbiage clean-up to keep with consistency throughout;
Adopted Rule 8.0 - Apprehension Procedures, basic verbiage clean-up to keep with consistency throughout;

Adopted Rule 9.0 - Notification of Arrest, deleted by Directive issued by Governor Markell, redundant as it is in the
law;

Adopted Rule 9.0 - Electronic Control Device (ECD), creates rule allowing BEA's to carry these devices and
mandates the training and instructors;

Adopted Rule 10.0 - Suspensions and Revocations, basic verbiage clean-up to keep with consistency throughout;
and

Adopted Rule 12.0 - Prohibited acts basic verbiage clean-up to keep with consistency throughout.

If you wish to view the complete Rules, contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 672-5304. Any persons wishing to
present views may submit them in writing, by October 31, 2014, to Delaware State Police, Professional Licensing Section,
P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE 19903. The Board will hold its quarterly meeting Tuesday, November 25, 2014, 10:00 am, at the
Tatnall Building, 150 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard South, Room 112, Dover, DE.

5500 Bail Enforcement Agents

1.0 Licensing

1.1 A bail enforcement agent ID card, license and badge shall not be issued if the applicant has not complied with
the provisions set forth in 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 and the regulations set forth herein. Moreover, no license shall be
issued if charges are pending under 24 Del.C. §5507.

1.2 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for an ID card, license and badge under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 must
also meet the following qualifications:

1.2.1  Must complete the training qualifications set forth in Section 6.0; and
1.2.2 If carrying a weapon, must meet and maintain the qualifications set forth in Sections 4.0 and 5.0.

1.3 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for licensure under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 must submit the following
for approval:

1.3.1 Afee of $75 for a four (4) year ID card license and badge; and
1.3.2 Any and all applications required by the Professional Licensing Section.
1.4 The ID cards and badges are the property of the Delaware State Police.

1.5 There shall be no reciprocity with any other state regarding the issuing of an ID card, license and badge to a
bail enforcement agent.

1.6 A fee of $50 shall be for the re-application of the ID card, license and badge, which shall be valid for another
four (4) years.

1.7 Any person wishing to be licensed as a bail enforcement agent must show proof of current and valid
sponsorship from a licensed bail enforcement agent that has been licensed, through 24 Del.C. Ch. 55, for at
least five (5) consecutive years.

2.0 Badges, Patches, Advertisements

2.1 No individual licensed under Title 24 Chapter 55 shall use any type of uniform or other clothing items displaying
logos, badges, patches, or any other type of writing without first being approved by the Board of Examiners.
Under no circumstances shall any item contain the seal or crest of the State of Delaware, any state of the
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United States, the seal or crest of any county or local sub division, or any facsimile of the aforementioned seals
or crests.

.1 All bail enforcement agents shall display their badge at all times during the lawful performance of their

duties pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 and the regulations set forth herein.
All advertisements, including vehicle markings, or other forms of publication, subsequent to their use, are
subject to review by the Board of Examiners for potential misrepresentation. If the Board of Examiners does
not approve the advertisement or publication, the concerns shall be forwarded to the licensee. Failure to
correct the advertisement or publication shall be considered a violation of these Rules & Regulations.

The use of auxiliary lights or sirens on vehicles is prohibited.

Use of Animals
The use of animals is prohibited in the performance of any bai-enforcement-agent BEA activity.

Firearms Policy

No person shall carry a firearm under this chapter unless the individual first completed and passed an
approved 40-hour firearm course, instructed by a certified firearm instructor, recognized by the Professional
Licensing Section. The initial qualification shoot may be used to fulfill one day and one low light requirement
during the first year.

All persons licensed to carry a firearm under this chapter must be re-certified yearly, by an instructor as
described in Section 4.1, by shooting a minimum of three (3) qualifying shoots a year. The shoots must be
scheduled on at least two (2) separate days, with a minimum 90 days between scheduled shoots. Of the three
(3) shoots, there shall be one mandatory "low light" shoot. Simulation is permitted and it may be combined with
a daylight shoot. The minimum passing score is 80%.

4.2.1  All renewal shoot sheets must be submitted by January 31st of each year for the previous calendar year.
4.2.2 Any person not meeting the minimum qualifications set forth in 4.2 may have their firearms certification

suspended until such time that they meet the minimum three (3) qualifying shoots within the calendar year.

The only approved firearms that may be carried shall be either a revolver or semi-automatic handgun and be
maintained to factory specifications. Only the handguns with the following calibers are permitted:

431 9mm
432 .357
433 .38
434 40
435 45

All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).

All persons must carry the same firearm that they qualify with (this will be noted by the serial number of each
firearm on the shoot sheets).

All persons must undergo a drug screening for certification and re-certification. The screening results shall be
submitted with the firearms certification/re-certification forms to the Professional Licensing Section. A copy of
any drugs prescribed by a medical doctor shall be provided, if necessary.

Nightstick, Pr24, Mace, Peppergas, Chemical Spray, and Handcuffs

6.1

To carry the above weapons/items, a bail enforcement agent must have completed training, by a Professional
Licensing Section approved instructor on each and every weapon/item carried. Proof of training, and any
renewal training, must be provided to the Professional Licensing Section. Under no circumstances would a
person be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item, unless first approved by the Professional Licensing
Section.

Training Requirements For Issuance of a License

All individuals applying for licensure under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 must complete training in the following prior to the
issuance of a license:

.1 Courses in Constitution/Bill of Rights, Laws of Arrest, Laws of Search & Seizure of Persons Wanted, Police

Jurisdiction, Use of Deadly Force, and the Rules & Regulations of Bail Enforcement Agents; and

6.1.2 Mandatory training in the field by a bail enforcement instructor approved by the Board.
6.1.3 A bail enforcement agent shall go through a minimum one year internship with an approved licensed bail

enforcement agent.



7.0 Continuing Education and Training

Continuing education/training shall be 32 hours every four (4) years with the breakdown being eight (8) hours
per year, which must include at least two (2) hours each year in training on the use of deadly force. Failure to
have the eight hours of training every year shall be grounds for suspension or revocation of a current license or
rejection of a renewal application. Any licensed Bail Enforcement Agent (BEA) not obtaining the continuing
education for a given year by the last class offered shall be placed on emergency suspension immediately.
Once the continuing education class has been taken for the following year, Professional Licensing may
administratively re-instate the BEA.
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8.0 Apprehension Procedures

8.1 All bailenforcement-agents BEA's licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 are required to notify the police emergency
911 dispatch center for the appropriate jurisdiction prior to making any attempt at an apprehension. This
notification must occur prior to responding to the address of the attempt.

8.1.1 Notification shall be made to one of the following 911 dispatch centers as appropriate; Recom - DSP, New
Castle County PD, Newark PD, Wilmington PD, University of Delaware PD, Kent-com - DSP, Smyrna PD,
Dover PD, Milford PD, Suscom - DSP, Seaford PD, Rehoboth Beach PD, Dewey Beach PD, Bethany PD,
and South Bethany PD.

8.2 Upon successful apprehension, if the bailenforcementagent BEA transports the subject to the law
enforcement agency in the jurisdiction in which the apprehension occurred, transfer of custody to the law
enforcement agency shall take place at that time.

8.2.1 A failure of a police agency to accept custody of the fugitive shall be immediately documented by the bail
enforcement-agent BEA and reported to the Beard Professional Licensing Section.

8.3 Failure to follow the procedures as described in this section could result in the suspension or revocation of the
bail-enforcement-agent BEA identification card, license, and badge and-lD-card.

9.0 Electronic Control Device (ECD)

9.1 In order for a BEA to carry/use an electronic control device (ECD), he/she must complete a training program
approved by the Board and all certifications or re-certifications must be on file with the Professional Licensing
Section.

9.2 ECD Instructors
9.2.1 All ECD instructors must be approved by the Professional Licensing Section before they are authorized to
instruct or qualify individuals licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13.

10.0 Suspensions and Revocations

10.1  The Director of the Professional Licensing Section shall have the power to invoke the intent to suspend or
revoke any individuallicensed issued an identification card, license and badge under Title 24 Chapter 55 that
violates the Chapter or the promulgated Rules & Regulations.

10.2  The Director of the Professional Licensing Section may issue an intent to suspend or revoke any individual;
licensed issued an identification card. license and badge under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55, that has been arrested and
that arrest could result in the conviction of any misdemeanor or felony that violates the Chapter or the
promulgated Rules and Regulations.

10.3  Any person individual whose identification card, license and badge has been suspended, revoked, rejected; or
denied shall be granted a full hearing, by the Board at their next quarterly meeting, provided that the violating
party requests such a hearing, in writing, to the Director of the Professional Licensing Section within 30 days of
the suspension. Such persen individual shall be entitled to an appeal of the Board's decision to the Department
of Safety and Homeland Security if a written appeal is filed within ten (10) days from the date of the Board's
decision.

11.0 Criminal Offenses



1.1 For the purposes of 24 Del.C. Ch. 55, the Board may deny an application for a license or suspend or revoke a
license if the applicant or licensee has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime involving moral turpitude. A
misdemeanor crime involving moral turpitude includes, but is not limited to, the following crimes in the
Delaware Code (or similar crimes under the laws of other jurisdictions):

11.1.1 §763 Sexual harassment;

11.1.2 §764 Indecent exposure in the second degree;
11.1.3 §765 Indecent exposure in the first degree;
114 §766 Incest;

11.1.5 §767 Unlawful sexual contact in the third degree;
11.1.6 §781 Unlawful imprisonment in the second degree;
11.1.7 §840 Shoplifting;

11.1.8 §861 Forgery;

11.1.9 §871 Falsifying Business Records

11.1.10 §881 Bribery

11.1.11 §907 Criminal Impersonation

11.1.12 §1101 Abandonment of a Child;

11.1.13 §1102 Endangering the Welfare of a Child;
11.1.14 §1105 Endangering the Welfare of an Incompetent Person;
11.1.15 §1106 Unlawfully Dealing with a Child;

11.1.16 §1107 Endangering Children;

11.1.17 §1245 Falsely Reporting an Incident;

11.1.18 §1341 Lewdness;

11.1.19 §1342 Prostitution;

11.1.20 §1343 Patronizing a Prostitute; and

11.1.21 §1355 Permitting Prostitution

11.2  Title 16
11.2.1 §1166 Patient Neglect or Abuse
11.3  Title 31

11.3.1 §3913 Abuse/Neglect/Exploitation/Mistreatment of an Infirm Adult.

12.0 Prohibited Acts

No one licensed issued an identification card. license or badge under this-chapter 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 shall be
impaired, by drugs or alcohol, while performing the duties of a bailenforcementagent BEA.
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