Skip to Page Content
Delaware.gov  |  Text OnlyGovernor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
 Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
 
 
 Phone Numbers Mobile Help Size Print Email

Delaware General AssemblyDelaware RegulationsMonthly Register of RegulationsJanuary 2019

Authenticated PDF Version

24 DE Admin. Code 2600
After due notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on September 25, 2018 at a regularly scheduled meeting of the Delaware Examining Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers (“Board”) to receive comments regarding the Board’s proposed revisions to its rules and regulations.
The proposed changes to the rules and regulations were originally published in the Register of Regulations, Volume 21, Issue 12, on June 1, 2018. The hearing was rescheduled and notice of the September 25, 2018 hearing was published in the Register of Regulations, Volume 22, Issue 3, on September 1, 2018, the News Journal (Exhibit 1) and the Delaware State News. Exhibit 2. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the date to receive final written comments was October 10, 2018, 15 days following the public hearing. The Board deliberated on the proposed revisions at its regularly scheduled meeting on December 11, 2018.
Board Exhibit 1: News Journal Affidavit of Publication.
Board Exhibit 2: Delaware State News Affidavit of Publication.
Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2604(a)(1), the Board has the statutory authority to promulgate rules and regulations.
IT IS SO ORDERED this 11th day of December, 2018 by the Delaware Examining Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers.
1.1 Consultation (24 Del.C. §2612)
1.3 Support personnel (24 Del.C. §2615) means a person(s) who performs certain routine, designated physical therapy tasks, or athletic training tasks, under the direct supervision of a licensed Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer. There shall be documented evidence of sufficient in-service training to assure safe performance of the duties assigned to the support personnel.
5.0 Athletic Trainers (24 Del.C. §§2602(2) and (3))
6.0 Support Personnel (24 Del.C. §2606(a))
7.1 Applications, the Rules and Regulations, and the Practice Act (24 Del.C. Ch. 26) are available on the Division of Professional Regulation's website.
7.3.1.3.1 A physical therapist student or physical therapist assistant student may take the examination up to 90 days prior to graduation from a CAPTE accredited program.
7.67.4 Applicants for licensure as an Athletic Trainer must submit to the Board the following:
7.6.17.4.1 Professional Qualifications - proof of graduation (official transcript) from an educational program described in 24 Del.C. §2606(a)(1), whether an accredited program or Board of Certification (BOC) internship.
7.6.27.4.2 Official letter of Athletic Trainer certification from BOC.
7.6.37.4.3 Proof of current CPR certification by the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, National Safety Council or other agency approved by the Board and posted on the Division of Professional Regulation's website. CPR certification must be obtained through a course with a live lab component.
7.6.47.4.4 Proof of completion of a criminal background check, pursuant to application instructions.
7.6.57.4.5 A check or money order made payable to the State of Delaware.
7.6.67.4.6 The completed application form.
7.77.5 Licenses shall expire biennially on every odd numbered year. License renewal shall be accomplished online at www.dpr.delaware.gov and shall include:
7.7.17.5.1 the applicable fee, and
7.7.27.5.2 attestation of completion of continuing education courses required by Section 13.0.
9.1.3 Pass the applicable licensing examination as set forth in subsections 7.4 and 7.5 subsection 7.3.1.1.
10.1 The Board may issue a temporary license to all applicants who have submitted to the Board the documents listed in subsection subsections 7.3 and subsection 7.6 7.4, respectively, and who have been determined to be eligible to take the examination. The Board shall accept a letter signed by the Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant applicant's school official stating that the applicant has completed all requirements for graduation; provided, however, that the applicant shall submit to the Board an official transcript as soon as it becomes available. The Board will determine the Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant applicant's eligibility to take the examination. In the case of Athletic Trainer applicants for temporary license, a letter from BOC stating the applicant's eligibility to take the BOC examination will be required. Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant applicants may practice only under the direct supervision of a licensed Physical Therapist. Athletic Trainer applicants may practice only under the direct supervision of a licensed Athletic Trainer or Physical Therapist as that supervision is defined in subsection 1.2.1. A temporary license shall expire upon notice to the applicant of his/her failure to pass the license examination and may not be renewed. In all other cases, a temporary license may be renewed only once.
10.3 Applicants engaged in a special project, teaching assignment, or medical emergency as described in 24 Del.C. §2611(b) must submit letters of good standing from all jurisdictions in which the applicant is or has ever been licensed.
12.0 Unprofessional Conduct (24 Del.C. §2616(7))
15.3.1.1 "Approved supervisor" shall mean a licensed physical therapist with Sports Physical Therapy Specialist ("SCS") certification by the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties (“ABPTS”), a licensed athletic trainer, or a board certified sports medicine physician.
15.3.1.2 "Collision sports" shall mean sports such as football, soccer, wrestling, ice hockey, men's lacrosse or rugby.
15.3.1.3 "Direct supervision" shall mean that the approved supervisor is physically present and has the ability to intervene in all care or coverage.
15.3.1.4 "Indirect supervision" shall mean that the approved supervisor is available by telecommunication.
15.3.1.5 "On-the-field care" shall mean physical therapy or athletic training care provided outside the clinical setting, at an athletic venue, to athletic injuries.
17.1.1 Aggravated menacing. 11 Del.C. §602 (b).
17.1.10 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632.
17.1.16 Abortion. 11 Del.C. §651.
17.1.17 Incest. 11 Del.C. §766.
17.1.41 Theft; felony. 11 Del.C. §841.
17.1.42 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846.
17.1.43 Identity theft. 11 Del.C. §854.
17.1.44 Forgery. 11 Del.C. §861.
17.1.60 Bribery. 11 Del.C. §1201.
17.1.68 Bribing a juror. 11 Del.C. §1264.
17.1.71 Riot. 11 Del.C. §1302.
17.1.76 Adulteration. 11 Del.C. §1339.
Last Updated: December 31 1969 19:00:00.
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |    delaware.gov