Skip to Page Content
Delaware.gov  |  Text OnlyGovernor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
 Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
 
 
 Phone Numbers Mobile Help Size Print Email

Delaware General AssemblyDelaware RegulationsMonthly Register of RegulationsFebruary 2018

Authenticated PDF Version

16 DE Admin. Code 11006
Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend Division of Social Services Manual regarding Relative Child Care, specifically, to outline participation requirements, documentation and training. The Department's proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.
The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10115 in the November 2017 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by December 1, 2017 at which time the Department would receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 447.205 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Social Services (DSS) gives public notice and provides an open comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed regulation. Comments were to have been received by 4:30 p.m. on March 1, 2018.
Agency Response: The Division of Social Services (DSS) appreciates the council's comment regarding the requirement of a minimum number of children to be cared for in the child's home. DSS policy 11003.5 In-Home Child Care dictates the following:
Second, Section 3 requires a relative provider to be "21 years of age or older". In contrast, the applicable federal regulation defines relative child care providers as "18 years of age or older". See 45 CFR 98.2. Moreover, states are restricted in their discretion to add requirements not included in the federal regulations:
Agency Response: DSS appreciates the council's comment regarding restrictions on the lead agency in their discretion to add requirements not included in the federal regulations. As we have been receiving a substantial number of requests for relative care for providers who were not suitable for a myriad of reasons DSS, in its effort to ensure the health and safety of children, proposes this and other revisions to the Relative Care Policy. We understand that the state is restricted in its discretion to add requirements not included in the federal regulations and we have reached out to the Administration for Children and Families, who administers the Child Care and Development Fund, for further guidance regarding this issue.
Third, Section 3 includes the following limit: "Relative child care is limited to evening and weekend shift work hours only." This is ill- conceived given the overall shortage of child care providers. Moreover, "special needs" parents and children are eligible for the State child care program. See 16 DE Admin. Code 11003.7.8. It may be extremely difficult for a parent of a special needs child ages 13-18 to identify a licensed provider to add a 13-18 year old to their daycare. Moreover, "special needs" parents often rely on relatives for parenting assistance and federal law requires states to accommodate that reliance. See Joint DOJ/HHS LOF to Mass. Dept. Of Children & Families (1/29/15), published at https://www.ada.gov/ma_docf_lof.pdf. See also U.S. DOJ/HHS Joint Guidance, "Protecting the Rights of Parents and Prospective Parents with Disabilities: Technical Assistance for State and Local Child Welfare Agencies and Courts under Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act (8/15)", published at https://www.ada.gov/doj_hhs_ta/child_welfare_ta.pdf. At a minimum, Section 3 should be revised to allow relative child care for special needs children and adults apart from evening and weekend shifts. It would also be prudent to authorize exceptions for all parents with the approval of DHSS.
Agency Response: DSS appreciates the Council's comment regarding the limitations on the Relative Care choice for parents. At this time the Division is not aware of any factual documentation regarding a child care shortage in our state. We are, however, setting the stage to conduct some research to determine if in fact the child care demand is greater than the supply, and where services may be lacking. Moreover, the division has seen a significant increase in the request for relative care by providers who are unsuitable for a myriad of reasons. We have had a rash of parents pulling their children from centers to allow relatives to provide care, parents attempting to get people other than relatives to provide care, people other than the authorized relatives actually caring for the children when site visits are conducted (which means they have not been finger printed), relative providers caring for the children at sites other than the authorized sites, relative providers/children who are unable to be located when attempting to conduct site visits, relative care providers allowing other adults who have not been fingerprinted, in the home, around the children, relatives providing care in environments that were not safe for children, etc. In its efforts to, as best it can, ensure the health and safety of children the division has made the decision to restore the integrity of the relative care program by limiting this choice to parents who need care during non-traditional hours such as weekends, and evening shifts. The agency is fully aware that there may be circumstances where exceptions must be made, particularly, for those families who may have a special need. The agency is amenable to addressing these exceptions as they present themselves.
Fourth, DMMA is imposing the following requirements on relative providers: 1) completion of orientation class on relative child care rules and regulations; 2) 28 hours of approved training within 12 months; 3) 3 hours of health and safety training annually; and 4) completion of both CPR and first aid courses resulting in certification followed by recertification every 2 years. See Section 4. DMMA is treating relative child care providers as if they were licensed day care providers even though they are exempt from licensing. See 16 DE Admin. Code 11004.4.1. Asking a typical grandparent to spend an estimated 40 hours in training to care for a grandchild is "overkill".
Agency Response: DSS appreciates the Council's comment regarding the required training for Relative Care Providers. Although these providers are exempt from licensing standards the division believes that best practices and health and safety standards are the foundation of quality child care. Meeting the basic health and safety needs of all children sets the stage for positive child outcomes. The pre-service, training and annual training modules provide caregivers with an overview of basic health and safety information and ensures that caregivers continue to be knowledgeable about current and best practices regarding child care.
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend Division of Social Services Manual regarding Relative Child Care, specifically, to outline participation requirements, documentation and training, is adopted and shall be final effective February 11, 2018.
Last Updated: December 31 1969 19:00:00.
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |    delaware.gov