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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del. 
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed 
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example 
would be:

9 DE Reg. 1036-1040 (01/01/06)

Refers to Volume 9, pages 1036-1040 of the Delaware Register issued on January 1, 2006.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single 
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of 
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative 
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability 
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, 
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, 
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, 
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to 
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be 
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such 
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general 
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for 
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is 
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed, 
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation 
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief 
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt, 
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the 
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which 
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days 
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the 
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court 
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or 
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.
When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be 
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a 
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was 
published in the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING TIME

  November 1 October 16       4:30 p.m.
  December 1 November 15       4:30 p.m.
  January 1 December 15       4:30 p.m.
  February 1 January 15       4:30 p.m.
  March 1 February 15       4:30 p.m.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF

Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative Specialist II; Kathleen Morris, 
Administrative Specialist I; Georgia Roman, Unit Operations Support Specialist; Alice W. Stark, Senior Legislative 
Attorney; Debbie Puzzo, Research Analyst; Judi Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar 
of Regulations; Steve Engebretsen, Assistant Registrar; Victoria Schultes, Administrative Specialist II; Ruth Ann 
Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop Supervisor; Don Sellers, Printer; Robert Lupo, 
Printer.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed in the 
preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that issue of 
the Register in which the regulation was published. Proposed regulations are designated with (Prop.); Final 
regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations that 
have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE COUNCIL ON POLICE TRAINING
1901 Delaware Council on Police Training ............................................................. ......11 DE Reg.     6 (Prop.)

11 DE Reg. 180 (Final)

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Revised Proposed Amendments to the Comprehensive Plan and Water Code Relating

to a Flexible Flow Management Plan for Operation of the New York City Delaware
Basin Reservoirs ............................................................................................... ......11 DE Reg.     8 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Delaware Forest Service

402 State Forest Regulations ........................................................................... ......11 DE Reg.   10 (Prop.)
11 DE Reg. 307 (Final)

Harness Racing Commission
501 Harness Racing Rules 3, 4, and 6.............................................................. ......11 DE Reg. 308 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Office of the Secretary

106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System
(DPAS II) .................................................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 121 (Prop.)

107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System
(DPAS II) .................................................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 132 (Prop.)

108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System
(DPAS II) .................................................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 143 (Prop.)

385 Permits Substitute Teachers....................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 248 (Prop.)
804 Immunizations............................................................................................. ......11 DE Reg. 250 (Prop.)
923 Children with Disabilities, Subpart B, General Duties and Eligibility

of Agencies................................................................................................. ......11 DE Reg. 181 (Final)
925 Children with Disabilities, Subpart D, Evaluations, Eligibility Determination, 

 Individualized Education Programs............................................................ ......11 DE Reg. 184 (Final)
Professional Standards Board

340 Certification Theater Teacher...................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 253 (Prop.)
1520 Standard Certificate Early Childhood Teacher (Birth to Grade 2)............. ......11 DE Reg. 255 (Prop.)
1530 Middle Level Teacher................................................................................ ......11 DE Reg. 261 (Prop.)
1534 Middle Level Social Studies Teacher........................................................ ......11 DE Reg. 262 (Prop.)
1541 Secondary Health Education Teacher...................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 264 (Prop.)
1571 Secondary Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher................... ......11 DE Reg. 266 (Prop.)
1576 Elementary Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher.................. ......11 DE Reg. 269 (Prop.)
1590 Delaware Administrator Standards........................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 311 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
Division of Revenue

1151-1 Personal Income Tax Withholding Exemption Certificates.................... ......11 DE Reg. 271 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Developmental Disabilities

2100 Eligibility Criteria....................................................................................... ......11 DE Reg.   18 (Prop.)
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Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance
DSSM: 20330 Countable Resources Computation ........................................... ..... 11 DE Reg.   20 (Prop.)

11 DE Reg. 314 (Final)
20330.4.1 Annuities............................................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg. 274 (Prop.)
50300 Referral Process ........................................................................ ..... 11 DE Reg.   21 (Prop.)

11 DE Reg. 318 (Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan Attachment 4.19-D Pediatric Nursing

Facility............................................................................................. ..... 11 DE Reg. 312 (Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Employee Education About False Claims

Act 11 DE Reg. 319 (Final)
Division of Public Health

4203 Cancer Treatment Program....................................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg. 115 (Emer.)
11 DE Reg. 278 (Prop.)

4459 Lead Based Paint Hazards........................................................................ ..... 11 DE Reg. 280 (Prop.)
4469 Personal Assistance Services Agencies................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg. 196 (Final)

Division of Social Services
DSSM: 1006 Civil Rights and Non-Discrimination.............................................. ..... 11 DE Reg.   23 (Prop.)

11 DE Reg. 325 (Final)
1007 Complaint Procedures and........................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg.   23 (Prop.)

11 DE Reg. 325 (Final)
9004 Non-Discrimination Policy ............................................................ ..... 11 DE Reg.   23 (Prop.)

11 DE Reg. 325 (Final)
9013.1 Household Definition ................................................................ ..... 11 DE Reg.   25 (Prop.)

11 DE Reg. 332 (Final)
9032 Mandatory Verification.................................................................. ..... 11 DE Reg. 216 (Final)
9033 Verification of Questionable Information....................................... ..... 11 DE Reg. 216 (Final)
9038 Verification Subsequent to Initial Certification.............................. ..... 11 DE Reg. 216 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
101 Organization, Methods and Operations of the Delaware Insurance Commission 

[Formerly Reg. 25].............................................................................................. ..... 11 DE Reg. 218 (Final)
608 Automobile Insurance Coverage [Formerly Regulation 45]............................... ..... 11 DE Reg. 220 (Final)
1216 Military Sales Practices ................................................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg.   26 (Prop.)

11 DE Reg. 333 (Final)
1217 Unfair Discrimination in Life Insurance, Annuities and Health Insurance on the 

Basis of Physical or Mental Impairment ............................................................ ..... 11 DE Reg.   32 (Prop.)
1301 Internal Review, Arbitration and Independent Utilization Review of Health

Insurance Claims ............................................................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg.   68 (Final)
1403 Managed Care Organizations ......................................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg.   73 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Division of Air and Waste Management

1132 Transportation Conformity......................................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg. 281 (Prop.)
1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

Part 6.0 ...................................................................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg. 152 (Prop.)
Parts 8.0 and 12.0........................................................................................ ..... 11 DE Reg. 221 (Final)

1142 Specific Emission Control Requirements, Section 2.0 Control of NOx 
Emissions from Industrial Boilers and Process Heaters at Petroleum
Refineries ................................................................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg.   75 (Final)

1148 Control of Stationary Combustion Turbine Electric Generating Unit
Emissions.................................................................................................... ..... 11 DE Reg.   80 (Final)

Division of Fish and Wildlife
3203, 3207, 3210, 3211, 3214 and 3215, Horseshoe Crab Regulations........... ..... 11 DE Reg. 282 (Prop.)
3521 Weakfish Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons................................... ..... 11 DE Reg. 153 (Prop.)
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3900 Wildlife Regulations ................................................................................. ......11 DE Reg.   33 (Prop.)
11 DE Reg. 334 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Division of State Police

2300 Pawn Brokers and Junk Dealers.............................................................. ......11 DE Reg. 288 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Professional Regulation

200 Board of Landscape Architects................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 347 (Final)
400 Delaware Gaming Control Board, (Regulations 401, 403 and 404)........... ......11 DE Reg. 155 (Prop.)
500 Board of Podiatry, Sections 7 and 9........................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 157 (Prop.)
700 Board of Chiropractic.................................................................................. ......11 DE Reg. 348 (Final)
1800 Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration

Examiners ................................................................................................. ......11 DE Reg.   86 (Final)
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy................................................................ ......11 DE Reg. 290 (Prop.)
2500 Board of Pharmacy, Section 2.................................................................. ......11 DE Reg. 222 (Final)

Section 3 .................................................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 167 (Prop.)
2900 Real Estate Commission.......................................................................... ......11 DE Reg.   87 (Final)
2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers........................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 171 (Prop.)
3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical 

Dependency Professionals......................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 225 (Final)
3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine ................................................................... ......11 DE Reg.   88 (Final)
3600 Board of Registration of Geologists ......................................................... ......11 DE Reg.   55 (Prop.)

11 DE Reg. 349 (Final)
3700 Board of Examiners of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists

and Hearing Aid Dispensers....................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 294 (Prop.)
3800 Committee on Dietetics/Nutrition.............................................................. ......11 DE Reg. 226 (Final)
4400 Delaware Manufactured Home Installation Board.................................... ......11 DE Reg. 177 (Prop.)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork............................................................. ......11 DE Reg. 178 (Prop.)

Office of the State Bank Commissioner
2107/2208 Guidance On Nontraditional Mortgage Product Risks

(5 Del.C. §2110(a), §2210(a))..................................................................... ......11 DE Reg.   90 (Final)
2108/2209 Statement on Subprime Mortgage Lending..................................... ......11 DE Reg. 298 (Prop.)
2302 Exemptions............................................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 298 (Prop.)
3402 Surety Bond or Irrevocable Letter of Credit.............................................. ......11 DE Reg. 298 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division of Planning and Policy

Standards and Regulations for Subdivision Streets and State Highway Access ....11 DE Reg.   67 (Prop.)
Division of Transportation Solutions

Uniform Traffic Control Devices......................................................................... ......11 DE Reg. 227 (Final)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Executive Orders:

No. 98, Establishing The Leadership For Education Achievement In Delaware Committee....... 229
No. 99, Study By The State Fire Prevention Commission Regarding Audits Of Volunteer

Fire Companies..................................................................................................................... 230
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new 
text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119 an agency may promulgate a regulatory change as an Emergency under the following 
conditions:

§ 10119. Emergency regulations.
If an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the adoption, 

amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by § 10115, the following rules shall apply:
(1) The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and 

hearing that it finds practicable;
(2) The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state, in writing, the reasons for the 

agency's determination that such emergency action is necessary;
(3) The order effecting such action may be effective for a period of not longer than 120 days and may 

be renewed once for a period not exceeding 60 days;
(4) When such an order is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or 

authorized by this chapter, the agency shall state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or revision thereof; and

(5) The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next 
issue of the Register of Regulations. (60 Del. Laws, c. 585, § 1; 62 Del. Laws, c. 301, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 48, § 
10.)
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Pharmaceutical Services Program – Tamper-Resistant Prescription Pads

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

This emergency regulation is being promulgated to amend the Delaware Medical Assistance Program 
(DMAP) Provider Manuals to bring Medicaid regulations into compliance with a new Federal law.  Delaware Health 
and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) must take this action on 
an emergency basis to ensure access to quality healthcare.  The Department has determined that a threat to the 
public welfare exists if it is not implemented without prior notice or hearing.

NATURE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT:

Agency rules are revised to comply with Public Law 110-28 known as the U.S. Troop Readiness, Veterans’ 
Care, Katrina Recovery, and Iraq Accountability Appropriations Act of 2007 requiring prescriptions in written form to 
be executed on tamper-resistant prescription pads in order to qualify for reimbursement by the Delaware Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP).  Currently, there is no rule in place to require certain types of paper for prescriptions. 
This federal requirement mandates that written prescriptions be printed on certain types of paper which cannot be 
copied. The requirement does not apply to prescriptions transmitted by telephone, facsimile, or electronic 
prescribing. Effective October 1, 2007, federal financial participation (FFP) will not be available for written 
prescriptions to eligible Medicaid beneficiaries that are not written on tamper-resistant prescription pads.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/index.html


EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 375
SUMMARY OF THE PROPOSED AMENDMENT:

A. Beginning October 1, 2007, DMAP will require that a tamper-resistant prescription pad must 
contain at least one of the following three CMS defined characteristics:

1. One or more industry-recognized features designed to prevent unauthorized copying of a
completed or blank prescription form;

2. One or more industry-recognized features designed to prevent the erasure or modification
of information written on the prescription by the prescriber;

3. One or more industry-recognized features designed to prevent the use of counterfeit
prescription forms.

B. Appropriate DMAP Provider Manuals will be updated to provide additional detail
including examples of features, which comply with the above requirements.

Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) provider manuals and official notices are available for 
downloading from the DMAP website: www.dmap.state.de.us or EDS Pharmacy Services may be contacted at 
(800) 999-3371- Select #0, then #1.

This emergency regulation is also published concurrently herein under “Proposed Regulations” to allow for 
public comment.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that a compelling public interest exists which necessitates promulgation of an 
emergency regulation and requests emergency approval of rule revisions to comply with Public Law 110-28 known 
as the U.S. Troop Readiness, Veterans’ Care, Katrina Recovery, and Iraq Accountability Appropriations Act of 2007 
which requires that all prescription drugs in written form be executed on tamper-resistant prescription pads in order 
to qualify for reimbursement under federal Medicaid guidelines. Rule revisions are necessary since federal 
financial participation will not be available for written prescriptions for eligible Medicaid beneficiaries on or after 
October 1, 2007, that are not written on tamper-resistant prescription pads. Accordingly, beginning October 1, 
2007, DMAP will require that a tamper-resistant prescription pad must contain at least one of the following three 
CMS defined characteristics: (1) One or more industry-recognized features designed to prevent unauthorized 
copying of a completed or blank prescription form; (2) One or more industry-recognized features designed to 
prevent the erasure or modification of information written on the prescription by the prescriber; and, (3) One or 
more industry-recognized features designed to prevent the use of counterfeit prescription forms. The Department 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or revision thereof. 

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed revisions to the Delaware Medical Assistance Program 
(DMAP) provider manuals to comply with the tamper-resistant prescription pad provisions of Public Law 110-28 
known as the U.S. Troop Readiness, Veterans’ Care, Katrina Recovery, and Iraq Accountability Appropriations Act 
of 2007 be adopted on an emergency basis without prior notice or hearing, and shall become effective October 1, 
2007.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS 
9-14-07

DMMA EMERGENCY ORDER REGULATION #07-48
REVISIONS:

(Regulation Number will be assigned pending further review and analysis by Department staff) 

Effective October 1, 2007, Section 1903(i) of the Social Security Act requires that written (non-electronic) 
prescriptions for covered outpatient drugs for Medicaid clients be executed on a tamper-resistant pad in order to be 
eligible for federal matching funds. To meet this requirement, DMAP will only reimburse for covered Medicaid 
outpatient drugs when the written (non-electronic) prescription is executed on a tamper-resistant pad, or the 
prescription is electronic, faxed, or verbal.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates 
new text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, 
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, 
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, 
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to 
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be 
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such 
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general 
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for 
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION

PUBLIC NOTICE

Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive Plan to Classify the Lower Delaware River as 
Special Protection Waters

The Delaware River Basin Commission ("Commission" or "DRBC") is a federal-state regional agency 
charged with managing the water resources of the Delaware River Basin without regard to political boundaries. Its 
members are the governors of the four Basin states - New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and Delaware - and a 
federal representative appointed by the President of the United States. The Commission is not subject to the 
requirements of the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act. This notice is published by the Commission for 
informational purposes.

Summary: The Commission will hold a public hearing to receive comments on proposed amendments to 
the Commission's Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive Plan to establish numeric values 
for existing water quality for the reach of the main stem Delaware River known as the "Lower Delaware" and to 
assign this reach the SPW classification "Significant Resource Waters" (SRW). The Lower Delaware extends from 
the southern boundary of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area at River Mile ("RM") 209.4 to the head 
of tide at Trenton, New Jersey, RM 144.4. Although no area of the State of Delaware falls within the portion of the 
Basin subject to the proposed regulations, as a member of the Delaware River Basin Commission, Delaware 
participates in cooperative management of the Basin's water resources and has a role in deciding whether the 
proposed rules are adopted.

The Lower Delaware River has carried the SPW-SRW classification on a temporary basis since January of 
2005, making this reach and its drainage area subject for the past three years to those provisions of the 
Commission's SPW regulations that do not depend for implementation upon the use of numeric values for existing 
water quality. The amendments that currently are proposed would make projects within the Lower Delaware 
drainage subject to all applicable SPW requirements, including those for "no measurable change" to existing water 
quality as defined by the rule. The amendments also would incorporate language intended to clarify aspects of the 
SPW regulations that have been a source of confusion for some DRBC docket holders and applicants since the 
program was originally adopted in 1992 for point sources and in 1994 for non-point sources. Notably, a new term - 
"substantial alterations or additions" - is proposed to be added to the Definitions section of the regulations and to 
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be inserted in other sections of the rule to clarify which types of additions or alterations to existing wastewater 
treatment facilities will trigger certain SPW requirements that are deemed appropriate in connection with capital 
investment projects. A new paragraph also is proposed to expressly authorize effluent trading between point 
sources to satisfy the requirement for no measurable change to existing water quality under certain circumstances.

Background: The Special Protection Waters regulations, consisting of Section 3.10.3.A.1. of the 
Commission's Water Quality Regulations, are intended to maintain the quality of interstate waters where existing 
water quality is better than the established stream quality objectives. They include rules that discourage new and 
increased discharges to designated waters. Where such discharges are permitted, the rules ensure that 
incremental pollutant loadings and visual impacts are minimized, that minimum standards of treatment are applied, 
and that new loadings cause no measurable change from existing water quality, as defined by the rule, except 
toward natural conditions. The SPW regulations currently include a table establishing the numeric values that 
define existing water quality in the stream reaches permanently designated by the Commission as SPW in 1992. 
These reaches include the main stem Delaware River from Hancock, New York, to the downstream boundary of 
the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area as well as the portions of intrastate tributaries to the Delaware 
located within the boundaries of the Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational River Corridor and the Middle 
Delaware Scenic and Recreational River (Delaware River between River Miles 250.1 and 209.5). The locations of 
water quality control points between Hancock and River Mile 209.5 are provided in a second table. The water 
quality control points are the locations used to assess water quality for purposes of defining and protecting it. No 
changes are proposed to the permanent designations and water quality control points that were established in 
1992.

Since 2005, the SPW regulations have listed the Lower Delaware River as "Significant Resource Waters" 
(SRW) on a temporary basis and have applied to this reach only a portion of the SPW regulations, pending the 
development of numeric values for existing water quality in the Lower Delaware; a determination as to whether the 
SRW classification should be assigned to the entire reach or whether the alternative classification, "Outstanding 
Basin Waters" (OBW), should be used for those portions eligible for that classification by virtue of their inclusion in 
the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System; and resolution of a number of questions relating to implementation of 
the program. The proposed amendments would permanently classify the entire Lower Delaware reach as SRW. By 
incorporating into the regulation numeric values for existing water quality at a set of Lower Delaware River water 
quality control points, the amendments also would allow all applicable provisions of the SPW regulations to apply to 
projects within the Lower Delaware drainage.

Key provisions of the SPW regulations that will continue to apply within the drainage area to the Lower 
Delaware River if the proposed amendments are approved include the following: sections 3.10.3 A.2.c.1. through 
3., in part requiring that no new or expanded wastewater discharges may be permitted in waters classified as SPW 
until all non-discharge-load reduction alternatives have been fully evaluated and rejected because of technical or 
financial infeasibility; sections 3.10.3 A.2.d.1. through 7., setting forth requirements for wastewater treatment 
facilities; and sections 3.10.3 A.2.e.1. and 2., conditioning project approval on the existence of an approved Non-
Point Source Pollution Control Plan for the project area and requiring that approval of a new or expanded 
withdrawal and/or wastewater discharge project be subject to the condition that new connections to the project 
system be limited to service areas regulated by a non-point source pollution control plan approved by the 
Commission. 

If the proposed amendments are adopted, numeric values for twenty parameters will be established, 
defining existing water quality by rule for purposes of the SPW program at 24 water quality control points in the 
Lower Delaware River. The parameters include: ammonia-ammonium NH3-NH4 (mg/l), chloride (mg/l), chlorophyll 
a (mg/m3), dissolved oxygen (mg/l), dissolved oxygen saturation (%), E. coli (colonies/100 ml), enterococcus 
(colonies/100 ml), fecal coliform (colonies/100 ml), nitrate NO3-N (mg/l), orthophosphate (mg/l), pH, specific 
conductance (umhos/cm), total dissolved solids (mg/l), total Kjeldahl nitrogen (mg/l), total nitrogen (mg/l), total 
phosphorus (mg/l), total suspended solids (mg/l), turbidity (NTU), alkalinity (mg/l), and hardness (mg/l). The 
proposed values are based upon five years of ambient water quality monitoring, from 2000 through 2004.

Adoption of numeric values for existing water quality and creation of a set of Boundary Control Points in 
the Lower Delaware River will mean that applicants seeking approval to construct new facilities or to expand 
existing facilities in the Lower Delaware drainage will be required for the first time to demonstrate that their new or 
increased discharges will cause no measurable degradation of existing water quality at the established water 
quality control points (sections 3.10.3 A.2.b.2. and 3.10.3 A.2.f.). As in the upper and middle portions of the non-
tidal Delaware, the "no measurable change" requirement will apply whether a project discharges directly to the 
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main stem or to a tributary. For certain main stem discharges, if minimum treatment standards alone do not ensure 
no measurable change at the downstream water quality control point, additional treatment may be required 
(section 3.10.3 A.2.b.2. in combination with section 3.10.3A.2.d.6.).

Importantly, the proposed amendments, if approved, will add language to clarify that for projects involving 
existing facilities discharging to SPW - whether in the upper, middle or lower portion of the Delaware River - only 
substantial additions or alterations as defined by the rule will trigger the requirements that no such project may be 
approved until (1) all non-discharge load reduction alternatives have been fully evaluated and rejected because of 
technical or financial infeasibility (section 3.10.3.A.2.c.1.) (OBW and SRW discharges); (2) the applicant has 
demonstrated the technical and/or financial infeasibility of using natural wastewater treatment technologies for all 
or a portion of the incremental load (section 3.10.3.A.2.d.5.) (OBW, SRW and tributary discharges); (3) the 
Commission has determined that the project is demonstrably in the public interest as defined by the rule (section 
3.10.3.A.2.c.3.) (SRW discharges); and (4) the minimum level of treatment to be provided for such projects is Best 
Demonstrable Technology as defined by the rule (section 3.10.3.A.2.d.6.) (direct OBW and SRW discharges). The 
proposed amendments further clarify that alterations limited to changes in the method of disinfection and/or the 
addition of treatment works for nutrient removal at existing facilities are not deemed to be "substantial alterations or 
additions" triggering the foregoing requirements.

The proposed amendments include clarification as to the baseline to be used in measuring predicted 
changes to existing water quality, and the effect of discharge/load reduction alternatives and/or natural treatment 
alternatives for projects that involve substantial alterations or additions to existing facilities. 

Previous register notices concerning designation of the Lower Delaware River as Special Protection 
Waters include notices published in the Delaware Register of Regulations on Friday, October 1, 2004 (8 DE Reg. 
513-515) (proposed designation) and in the Federal Register on September 23, 2004 (69 FR 57008) (proposed 
designation), August 22, 2005 (70 FR 48923) (proposed extension), August 21, 2006 (71 FR 48497) (proposed 
extension), and August 22, 2007 (72 FR 46931) (proposed extension). The proposed and final versions of the 
initial designation and the subsequent extensions also were published on the Commission's website, 
www.drbc.net. 

Dates:  The public hearing will be held on December 4, 2007, at the Commission's office building, located 
at 25 State Police Drive, West Trenton, New Jersey.  Driving directions are available on the Commission's website, 
www.drbc.net.  Please do not rely on Internet mapping services as they may not provide accurate directions to the 
DRBC. The hearing will begin at 2:30 P.M. and will continue until all those who wish to testify are afforded an 
opportunity to do so.  Persons wishing to testify at the hearing are asked to register in advance by phoning Ms. 
Paula Schmitt at 609-883-9500, ext. 224. Written comments will be accepted through the close of business on 
December 6, 2007.  Written comments may be submitted by email to paula.schmitt@drbc.state.nj.us; by fax to 
Commission Secretary at 609-883-9522; by U.S. Mail to Commission Secretary, DRBC, P.O. Box 7360, West 
Trenton, NJ 08628-0360; or by overnight mail to Commission Secretary, DRBC, 25 State Police Drive, West 
Trenton, NJ 08628-0360. In all cases, please include the commenter's name, address and affiliation if any in the 
comment document and include "SPW" in the subject line.

Further Information: The current rule and the full text of the proposed amendments are posted on the 
Commission's website, www.drbc.net, along with supporting data, reports, maps and related documents.  Hard 
copies may be obtained by contacting Ms. Paula Schmitt at 609-883-9500, ext. 224. The Commission will hold two 
informational meetings on the proposed rulemaking. The first will take place on Thursday, October 25, 2007 from 
7:00 P.M. to 9:00 P.M. at the office of the Delaware and Raritan Canal Commission at the Prallsville Mills Complex, 
33 Risler Street (Route 29) in Stockton, New Jersey.  The second will be held on Thursday, November 1, 2007 from 
7:00 P.M. to 9:00 P.M. in Room 315 of the Acopian Engineering Building at Lafayette College, located at High 
Street, Easton, Pennsylvania. Please contact Commission Secretary Pamela Bush, 609-883-9500 ext. 203 with 
questions about the proposed rule or the rulemaking process.  

Pamela M. Bush, Esquire, Commission Secretary
September 14, 2007
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DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 6603 (16 Del.C. §6603)

Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations Part X, Ambulance Service Regulations

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will hold a hearing pursuant to 16 Del.C. §6603 and 29
Del.C. §101 on Tuesday, November 20, 2007, at 1:00 P.M. in the Commission Chamber, Delaware State Fire 
School, Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware. The Commission is 
proposing changes to the following Regulations.

Persons may view the proposed changes to the Regulations between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., 
Monday through Friday, at the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, Delaware State Fire School, Delaware 
Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware, 19904, or Office of the State Fire Marshal 
located at the Delaware Fire Service Center, 1537 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware, 19904, or the Regional 
State Fire Marshal’s Offices located 2307 MacArthur Road, New Castle, Delaware and 22705 Park Avenue, 
Georgetown, Delaware, 19947. You can find the meeting announcement and proposed changes on the Delaware 
Website http://www.delaware.gov/egov/calendar.nsf or on the Delaware State Fire Marshal’s Office webpage at 
www.statefiremarshal.delaware.gov under the tabs “Services” and “Proposed Changes”.

Persons may present their views in writing by mailing their views to the Commission at the above 
addresses prior to the hearing, and the Commission will consider those responses received before 9:00 a.m. on 
November 20, 2007, or by offering testimony at the Public Hearing.  If the number of persons desiring to testify at 
the Public Hearing is large, the amount of time allotted to each speaker will be limited.  There will be a reasonable 
fee charge for copies of the proposed changes or retrieve from the webpage for free.

Summary of changes proposed on August 21, 2007 to the State Fire Prevention Commission for consideration.

1. Part X, Chapter III (Definitions) – revised Ambulance Attendant for the purpose of clarity.
2. Part X, Chapter IX has been rewritten for better clarity.
3. Part X, Chapter XIV modified to address the reinstatement procedures for Delaware

EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant.
4. Part X, Chapter XV modified to address requirements to the Criminal History Background Checks.
5. Part X, Chapter XVI modified to address requirements to the First Responder.

2006 Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations Part X Ambulance Service Regulations

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to ensure a consistent and coordinated high quality level of ambulance 

service throughout the state, focusing on timeliness, quality of care and coordination of efforts.

2.0 Application
2.1 This regulation shall apply to any person, firm, corporation or association either as owner, agent or 

otherwise providing either prehospital or interhospital ambulance service meeting the definitions of either "BLS 
Ambulance Service" or "Non-Emergency Ambulance Service" within the State of Delaware. The following are 
exempted from this regulation:

2.1.1 Privately owned vehicles not ordinarily used in the business of transporting persons who 
are sick, injured, wounded or otherwise incapacitated or helpless.

2.1.2 A vehicle rendering service as an ambulance in case of a major catastrophe or emergency 
when the ambulances with permits and based in the locality of the catastrophe or emergency are insufficient to 
render the services required.

2.1.3 Ambulances based outside the State rendering service in case of a major catastrophe or 
emergency when the ambulances with permits and based in the locality of the catastrophe or emergency are 
insufficient to render the services required.
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2.1.4 Ambulances owned and operated by an agency of the United States Government.
2.1.5 Ambulances based outside the State engaged strictly in interstate transportation.
2.1.6 A vehicle which is designed or modified and equipped for rescue operations to release 

persons from entrapment and which is not routinely used for emergency medical care or transport of patients.
7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

3.0 Definitions
For the purpose of this policy the following definitions are used:
Advanced Life Support (ALS) - The advanced level of pre-hospital and inter hospital emergency care 

that includes basic life support functions including cardiopulmonary resuscitation, plus cardiac monitoring, cardiac 
defibrillation, telemetered electrocardiography, administration of anti arrhythmic agents, intravenous therapy, 
administration of specific medications, drugs and solutions, use of adjunctive medical devices, trauma care and 
other authorized techniques and procedures.

Advertising - Information communicated to the public, or to an individual concerned by any oral, written, 
or graphic means including, but not limited to, handbills, newspapers, television, billboards, radio, and telephone 
directories.

Ambulance - Any publicly or privately owned vehicle, as certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission, that is specifically designed, constructed or modified and equipped, and intended to be used for and 
is maintained or operated for the transportation upon the streets and highways of this state for persons who are 
sick, injured, wounded or otherwise incapacitated or helpless.

Ambulance Attendant - A person trained in emergency medical care procedures and currently certified 
by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission as an EMT-B in accordance with standards prescribed by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission. Ambulance Attendant remains in this document for the purpose of 
clarity and is to be construed interchangeably with EMT-B.

Ambulance Service District - A geographical area with boundaries which are typically (but not always) 
aligned to fire service districts within the state as identified and certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission.

BLS Run Report - Standardized Patient Care Report provided by the State EMS office, paper or 
computerized.

Basic Life Support (BLS) - The level of capability which provides EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant 
emergency patient care designed to optimize the patient’s chances of surviving an emergency situation.

BLS Ambulance Service - Ambulance service which provides BLS level intervention both through the 
level of personnel and training provided.

BLS Ambulance Service Contract - A written contract between either a Primary or Secondary 
Ambulance Service Provider and an individual, organization, company, site location or complex or other entity for 
BLS ambulance service.

BLS Run Report - Standardized Patient Care Report provided by the State EMS office, paper or 
computerized.

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) – A combination of chest compressions and rescue breathing 
used during cardiac and respiratory arrest to keep oxygenated blood flowing to the brain. (AHA Manual)

Center For Medicare/Medicaid Services (CMS) - The Federal Agency which oversee Medicare Billing 
and Ambulance Standard.

Certification – An initial authorization by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission to practice the 
skills of an EMT-Basic/Ambulance Attendant or First Responder specifying that the individual has successfully 
completed and passed the approved curriculum and evaluation process.

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission (DSFPC) - The State Governing Body mandated in Title 
16, Delaware Code whom Regulates the Basic Life Support System in Delaware.

Delaware Refresher Course - A course of instruction for re-certification required by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission for EMT-B/Ambulance Attendants and First Responders that meet the guidelines of 
the DOT Curriculum.

Delaware State Fire School (DSFS)  - An agency of the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
which is designated as its duly authorized representative to administer the provisions of the Ambulance Service 
Regulations.

Delaware Training Standard For Delaware Emt-B/Ambulance Attendants & First Responders – The 
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current of United States Department of Transportation Curriculum. 
Emergency - The BLS and ALS response to the needs of an individual for immediate medical care in 

order to prevent loss of life or aggravation or physiological of psychological illness or injury.
Emergency Medical Dispatch System - Means an approved protocol system used by an approved 

dispatch center to dispatch aid to medical emergencies which must include:
• Systematized caller interrogation questions
• Systematized pre-arrival instruction; and
• Protocols matching the dispatcher’s evaluation of injury or illness severity with vehicle response 

mode and configuration.
Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Provider – Individual providers certified by the Delaware State Fire 

Prevention Commission to perform pre hospital care.  For the purposes of this regulation this includes EMT-B/
Ambulance Attendant and First Responders.

Emergency Medical Technician – Basic (EMT-B) – The individual as defined in Title 16 of Delaware 
Code who provides patient care on an ambulance and has completed the National Department of Transportation 
curriculum and initially certified as a National Registered and Delaware Emergency Medical Technician-Basic and 
upon re-certification chooses to meet the State of Delaware requirements.

First Responder - An individual who has to take the First Responder Course that meets the DOT 
curriculum.

HIPAA - Health Insurance Probability and Accountability Act of 1996.
Hospital - An institution having an organized medical staff which is primarily engaged in providing to 

inpatients, by or under the supervision of physicians, diagnostic and therapeutic services or rehabilitation services 
for the care or rehabilitation of injured, disabled, pregnant, diseased, sick or mentally ill persons. The term includes 
facilities for the diagnosis and treatment of disorders within the scope of specific medical specialties, but not 
facilities caring exclusively for the mentally ill.

Medical Command Facility - The distinct unit within a hospital which meets the operational, staffing and 
equipment requirements established by the Secretary, Delaware Health and Social Services for providing medical 
control to the providers of advanced life support services.  Any hospital that operates an emergency medical facility 
and desires to be designated as a medical command facility shall maintain and staff such facility on its premises 
and at its own expense with exception of base station communication devices which shall be an authorized shared 
expense pursuant to the provisions of Title 16, Chapter 98.

Medical Control - shall mean directions and advice normally provided from a centrally designated medical 
facility operating under medical supervision, supplying professional support through radio or telephonic 
communication.

Medical Control Physician - Any physician board-certified or board-prepared in emergency medicine, or 
a physician certified on advanced trauma life support (ATLS) and advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) who is 
credentialed by the hospital within which a medical command facility is located, and who is authorized by the 
medical command facility to give medical commands via radio or other telecommunication devices to a paramedic. 
When a medical control physician establishes contact with a paramedic, and provides medical control instructions 
that exceed or otherwise modify the standing orders of the statewide standard treatment protocol, the paramedic 
shall, solely for the purpose of compliance with the Medical Practices Act, be considered to be operating under the 
license of said medical control physician.

National Department Of Transportation (DOT) – Emergency Medical Technician Curriculum - A 
curriculum developed and adopted by the Federal Government as a recommended guide for people providing 
emergency care in the field.

National Registry Of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) - The nationally recognized 
organization for the testing and registering of persons who have completed DOT, EMT-Basic and First Responder 
Courses.

National Registered Emergency Medical Technician – Basic (NREMT-B) - a person who completed the 
DOT curriculum and passed the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians Examination.

Non-emergency Ambulance Service - Ambulance service which provides routine transport of persons 
who are sick, convalescent, incapacitated and non-ambulatory but do not ordinarily require emergency medical 
treatment while in transit.

Office Of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS) - The State Agency Mandated in Title 16 that serves as 
the designated representative of the NREMT; provides medical advise and direction; regulates the statewide 
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automatic external defibrillator program; and coordinates data collection activities for the EMS system.
Patient - An individual who is sick, injured, wounded or otherwise incapacitated or helpless and/or seeks 

immediate medical attention.
Pre-hospital Care - Any emergency medical service, including advanced life support, rendered by an 

emergency medical unit before and during transportation to a hospital or other facility.
Primary Ambulance Service - BLS Ambulance Service provided by the Primary Ambulance Service 

Provider certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission within a specific ambulance service district.  
Primary Ambulance Service Provider - An organization or company which has been designated by the 

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission as having primary responsibility for providing BLS ambulance service 
within a specific ambulance service district.

Protocols - shall mean written and uniform treatment and care plans for emergency and critical patient 
statewide that constitutes the standing order of basic life support provider.  The treatment protocols shall be 
prepared by the Board of Medical Practice as defined by House Bill 332 of the 140th General Assembly.

Recertification Training - A defined curriculum that once completed allows the individual to continue 
practicing as an EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant or First Responder for a specific period of time as determined by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

Response Time - The time the ambulance is notified by dispatch until the ambulance arrives on scene.
Responsible Charge - The individual who is identified as having both the responsibility and authority to 

ensure full and complete compliance with all requirements of this regulation.
Secondary Ambulance Service - Ambulance Service provided under contract to specific locations within 

a primary ambulance service district by a BLS Ambulance Service Provider other than the primary provider.
Secondary Ambulance Service Provider - An organization or company which provides supplemental 

BLS ambulance service anywhere in the state and always under specific contractual agreements.
Semi Automatic External Defibrillation (AED) – An external computerized defibrillator designed for use 

in unresponsive victims with no breathing or signs of circulation (AHA Manual). 
State Board Of Medical Practice (Board) - The Board of Medical Practice is charged with protecting the 

consumers of the Delaware healthcare system through the proper licensing and regulation of physicians and other 
health care professionals.

7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

BLS AMBULANCE SERVICE

4.0 BLS Ambulance Service Permits
4.1 Any person, firm, corporation or association either as owner, agent or otherwise who furnish, 

conduct, maintain, advertise or otherwise engage in or profess to be engaged in the business or service of 
providing BLS Ambulance Service upon the streets or highways of this state shall hold a valid permit as either a 
Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service Provider issued by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission. 
Application for this permit shall be upon forms provided by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

4.2 The issuance of a permit hereunder shall not be construed so as to authorize any person, firm, 
corporation or association to provide ambulance services or to operate any ambulance without compliance with all 
ordinances and regulations enacted or promulgated by any state, county or municipal government concerning 
ambulances.

4.3 Prior to issuing an original or renewal permit, the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
shall determine that all requirements of this regulation are fully met. Additionally, the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission has the authority to ensure continued compliance with these regulations through the 
periodic review of records and operations.

4.4 Only companies holding a current, valid BLS Ambulance Service Provider Permit shall be 
authorized to respond and provide BLS Ambulance Service within the state.

4.5 A Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service Provider may not discontinue BLS ambulance service 
until a replacement provider has been selected and can assume service with no reduction in service.

7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

5.0 BLS Ambulance Service Districts
5.1 The Delaware State Fire PreventionCommission shall have the authority to establish Ambulance 
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Service Districts as per Title 16 Delaware Code, Section 1617(a).
5.2 The role of Primary Ambulance Service Provider shall be assigned to those fire departments 

providing BLS Ambulance Service at the time this regulation was initially adopted in 1997. The ambulance service 
district for these providers shall correspond to their established fire districts as certified by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

5.3 In those areas in which fire departments were not providing BLS Ambulance Service at the time 
this regulation was officially adopted in 1997, the organization who was providing BLS Ambulance Service shall be 
designated as the Primary Ambulance Service Provider. The ambulance service district for these providers shall 
correspond to their current boundaries.

7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

6.0 Primary and Secondary BLS Ambulance Service Providers
6.1  BLS Ambulance Service may be provided by Primary Ambulance Service Providers within their 

ambulance service district or in the course of providing mutual aid within other ambulance service districts 
provided:

6.1.1 They have a current permit
6.1.2 They are assigned by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission as a Primary 

Ambulance Service Provider
6.2 The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission shall be authorized to select a new Primary 

Ambulance Service Provider at such time that:
6.2.1 The current Primary Ambulance Service Provider chooses to discontinue service 
6.2.2  Failure to meet one or more elements of these regulations creates a threat to public 

safety
6.3 Any organization desiring to assume the role of Primary Ambulance Service Provider will be 

required to apply to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission showing adequate cause in the interest of 
public safety to justify the change.

6.4 BLS Ambulance Service may be provided by Secondary Ambulance Service Providers only to 
those with whom they have a contract for such service provided they:

6.4.1 Have a current permit.
6.4.2 Have a written contract to provide BLS Ambulance Service to that specific location or site.
6.4.3 Provide the names, locations and conditions of all Secondary Ambulance Service 

contracts to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission within 20 days of contract finalization.
7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

7.0 BLS Ambulance Service Provider Permit Requirements
7.1 BLS Administrative Requirements.

7.1.1 Procedures for securing a BLS ambulance service primary or secondary ambulance 
service permit include:

7.1.1.1 The owner or registered agent must apply to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission upon forms provided and according to procedures established by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission.

7.1.1.2 The Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service Provider shall either be based in 
Delaware or maintain an office in Delaware with a full time individual domiciled at that office who is in “Responsible 
Charge”.

7.1.1.3 All requirements set forth in this regulation must be met before issuance of permit.
7.1.1.4 The Primary or Secondary Ambulance Provider must provide proof of liability 

insurance in the amount of $1 Million blanket liability coverage.
7.1.1.5 The Primary or Secondary Ambulance Provider must provide proof of automobile 

liability insurance in the amount of $1 Million individual, $3 Million aggregate per occurrence.
7.1.2 Permits shall be valid for a period of one year from the permits effective date.  Effective 

date runs for a calendar year.
7.1.3 The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission may issue temporary permits when 

determined to be in the interest of public safety per Title 16.
7.1.4 On an on-going basis throughout the term of the permit, the owner or individual in 
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“responsible charge” shall be available upon reasonable notification for the purpose of providing documentation on 
any provisions of this regulation and permitting physical inspection of all facilities and vehicles.

7.1.5  No ambulance service provider shall advertise or represent that it provides any 
ambulance service other than authorized to provide under this regulation.

7.1.6  All individuals or ambulance service providers shall be required to participate in the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission approved ambulance data collection system which includes:

7.1.6.1 A BLS run report will be completed on all dispatched responses.
7.1.6.2 EMT-B/Ambulance Attendants must complete, without exception, a written/

computer report on each patient contact.  Reports must be completed in a timely fashion.
7.1.6.3 When available, the report will be entered electronically and forwarded to the state 

EMS office.
7.1.6.4 Failure to comply with data submission will result in loss of ambulance provider 

license or EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant Certification.
7.1.6.5 Submit any other data to the designated agencies as required by the Delaware 

State Fire Prevention Commission.
7.1.7 The ambulance company shall provide on an annual basis a financial statement to the 

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.  The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission has the option to 
withhold funding as per HB 332 for failing to report the financial statement.

7.2   BLS Operational Requirements
7.2.1 Vehicle Standards

7.2.1.1 All ambulances shall be registered and licensed in the State of Delaware by the 
Delaware Motor Vehicle Department.

EXCEPTIONS:
7.2.1.1.1 Those vehicles to which the international registration plan applies
7.2.1.1.2Those vehicles properly registered in some other state.

7.2.1.2  Vehicles shall have clearly visible letters on both sides and the rear identifying the 
name of the organization or corporation or the vehicle’s specific identifier as specified under permit documentation. 
The letters shall be at least three inches in height.

7.2.1.3 Vehicle patient compartment shall conform with the criteria within the GSA 
Federal Specifications for ambulances (KKK-1822C).

7.2.2 Equipment Standards
Every ambulance shall be equipped with equipment and supplies as specified by the 

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission and updated annually following recommendations from the Delaware 
State Fire School Director with concurrence from the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission’s Medical 
Director.

7.2.3  Staffing Requirements
7.2.3.1 Minimum acceptable crew staffing when transporting a patient shall consist of a 

driver and one EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant.
7.2.3.2 A minimum of one EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant shall always be in the patient 

compartment when a patient is present.
7.2.3.3 BLS ambulance drivers are required to have completed the “Emergency Vehicle 

Operators” course conducted by the Delaware State Fire School or an equivalent program approved by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

7.2.4  Quality Assurance
7.2.4.1  Each Primary and Secondary Ambulance Service Provider shall be responsible 

for monitoring quality assurance in the form of patient care and both mobilization and response times.  The method 
in which this is accomplished is the authority and responsibility of the Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service 
Provider per the Quality Assurance and Improvement Program adopted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission and the Office of Emergency Medical Services.

7.2.5 Communications Requirements
7.2.5.1  Dispatch Centers

7.2.5.1.1 Dispatch centers for both Primary and Secondary Ambulance Service 
Providers shall meet the criteria established by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

7.2.5.1.2 Secondary ambulance service providers dispatch centers shall be 
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responsible for following call taking protocols as established by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission. 
Calls determined to be ALS in nature shall be transferred to the appropriate public safety answering point 
(PSAP)within 30 seconds of taking the call utilizing a dedicated phone line to that PSAP.

7.2.5.1.3 Calls determined to be BLS in nature shall not be required to be 
forwarded to the PSAP.

7.2.5.1.4 Dispatch centers shall follow an Emergency Medical Dispatch System 
approved by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

7.2.5.2  Ambulances
7.2.5.2.1 All Ambulances shall be equipped with reliable communications systems 

which permit direct communications with their dispatch center and all medical command facilities with which the 
ambulance will or may operate.

7.2.6 SAED Requirements: Upon placing an SAED on any ambulance, the ambulance service 
provider will comply with the Delaware Early Defibrillation Program Administrative Policies as established by the 
Office of Emergency Medical Services.

7.2.7  Infection Control:All ambulance service providers will comply with the infection control 
requirements in chapter 12A, Title 16 of the Delaware code.

7.2.8  Medical Control: Ambulance service providers shall be required to follow all orders 
issued.

7.2.9  Center for Medicare Medicaid Services (CMS): All ambulance services providers will 
comply with the Final Rule in the Federal Register (64F.R3637) revising the Medicare policies for ambulance 
services adopted February 24, 1999.

7.2.10  Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) All ambulance 
service providers will comply with the HIPAA of 1996.

7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

8.0   Compliance
8.1 The owner or registered agent of every ambulance service provider shall provide ambulance 

service in accordance with the requirements set forth in this regulation and the contractual agreements established 
as either a primary or secondary Ambulance Service Provider and filed with the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission in accordance with the provisions set forth in these regulations. Failure to provide this service shall be 
grounds for suspension or revocation of permit.

8.2 Grievances - All grievances relative to ambulance service shall follow procedures established 
within the Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations, Part IX “Fire Service Standards”.

8.3 Penalties - Following review of a valid complaint or upon failure to comply with any provision of this 
regulation, the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, following procedures established within the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Regulations, shall have the authority to issue corrective orders, suspend or revoke the 
provider’s permit.

8.4 Whenever there is reason to believe that any provisions of this regulation have been violated, the 
ambulance service provider shall be immediately notified.  Violations shall require correction within five (5) working 
days of receipt of notice with the exception of those violations which represent an imminent danger to the public.

8.5 For those violations representing an imminent danger to the public, the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission shall issue and deliver an order to cease and desist any further ambulance service until 
such time as the violation has been verified as being corrected and corrective measures accepted by the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission.

8.6 The continued violation of any element of this regulation or failure or refusal to comply with any 
order to correct a violation or failure to obey a cease and desist order by any ambulance service provider shall be 
cause for revocation or suspension of permit by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission after 
determination that the provider is guilty of such violation.

8.7 In addition to 8.6, it shall be cause for revocation or suspension of a permit after determining the 
ambulance service provider:

8.7.1 Has practiced any fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit in obtaining or renewing a permit 
8.7.2  Is guilty of gross negligence, incompetence or misconduct in providing services
8.7.3 Is guilty of a violation of the codes and regulations adopted by the Delaware State Fire 

Prevention Commission
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007



PROPOSED REGULATIONS386
8.7.4 Has been found guilty of an unfair or deceptive trade practice
8.7.5 Has violated any contractual agreement related to providing ambulance service

8.8  Upon issuance of an order, the ambulance service provider accused may request a review of the 
order by the  Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.  All hearings shall be conducted in conformity with 
procedures established by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

8.9  Any person aggrieved by a violation or order may file an appeal to the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission pursuant to 16 Del.C. Ch. 66,  §6608. 

7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

9.0 Basic Life Support Data Assessment Committees
9.1 Members:  The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission hereby establishes Basic Life 

Support (BLS) Data Assessment Committees, hereinafter referred to as the Committees.
9.1.1 There shall be three committees, one in each county of the State of Delaware. Members 

shall consist of representatives from the County Volunteer Firemen’s Association, the County Fire Chief’s 
Association, the County Ambulance Association, County and/or State EMS Medical Directors, and the County or 
local Fire and Emergency Medical (EMS) Dispatch Center dispatching the respective Company’s EMS calls.

9.1.2 The President of his or her respective Association shall appoint each representative.  The 
manager of the Fire and EMS Dispatch Center dispatching the Company's BLS incidents shall appoint the Dispatch 
Center representative.

9.1.3 The representative from each Association shall serve on their respective Committee until 
a letter of appointment is received from the respective Association or Dispatch Center indicating replacement of 
their current representative. 

9.2  Duties:  Each Committee shall meet at least biannually, or as necessary, to review their respective 
County’s Fire and EMS Dispatch Center’s Basic Life Support (BLS) data.  They shall review the monthly data for 
each Ambulance Provider, hereinafter referred to as Provider, in their County.  Criteria for review shall include 
numbers of dispatched calls, scratches, and special circumstances.  Each committee shall submit biannually a 
written report to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, reporting on their reviews, and any suggestions 
they might have to improve the BLS system or committee procedures.

9.2.1  If the Committee deems that a Provider needs improvement in an area, the Committee 
shall schedule a meeting with that Provider to determine if they can support the Provider in solving the identified 
problem(s). When meeting with the Provider, the Committee, by consensus, shall select a Chair to mediate 
discussions presented by the Committee to the Provider.

9.0 Statewide Basic Life Support QualityAssurance/Quality Improvement
9.1 The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission hereby establishes a Statewide Basic Life 

Support (BLS) Quality Assurance and Quality Improvement Committee hereinafter referred to as the Committee.
9.2 Purpose

The Quality Assurance/Quality Improvement (QA/QI), under direction of the State Medical Director 
is responsible for assuring and improving the quality of Basic Life Support within EMS systems that are served by 
the State Of Delaware.

9.3 Definitions
Quality Assurance is the retrospective review or inspection of services or processes that is 

intended to identify problems.
Quality Improvement is the continuous study and improvement of a process, system or 

organization
9.4 Objectives

9.4.1 Conduct medical incident reviews (QA)
9.4.2 Collect patient care statistics to evaluate system effectiveness and identify trends (QI)
9.4.3 Provide constructive feedback on quality improvement to all EMS professionals within the 

State of Delaware
9.4.4 To coordinate the findings of quality assurance activities with the content of EMS 

continuing education programs
9.4.5 To provide assistance to EMS providers with local agency QA/QI programs.

9.5 EMS Agencies Quality Assurance and Improvement Requirments
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9.5.1 EMS agencies should appoint a Quality Assurance Manager
9.5.2 The Quality Assurance Manager is charged with the responsibility of assuring that 

reasonable standards of care and professionalism are met within their respective EMS agency.
9.5.3 The Quality Assurance Manager should attend a Quality Management Training Program.
9.5.4 The Quality Assurance Manager shall implement a Quality Assurance and Improvement 

Program within their agency, department.
9.5.5 The Quality Assurance Manager shall perform monthly reviews of their data collection and 

conduct formal reviews with their personnel.
9.5.6 The Quality Assurance Manager will work closely with the Statewide QA/QI Committee on 

EMS policies, guidelines, protocols and system performance.
9.5.7 The Quality Assurance manager will consult with their County and State EMS Medical 

Director.
9.5.8 The Quality Assurance manager will consult with the Delaware State Fire School Director 

or their designee.
9.6 Statewide QA/QI Improvement Committee

The statewide BLS QA/QI committee shall be comprised of one BLS representative from each 
county (appointed by the County Fireman’s Association), The BLS Medical Advisor, The State Medical Director, 
one representative from the State Fire Prevention Commission, one representative from the Delaware State Fire 
School, one representative from the Office of EMS, one representative from the Delaware Volunteer Fireman’s 
Association, a dispatch center representative and an EDIN representative. The goal of this committee is to make 
sure BLS is meeting all State standards and is providing the best patient care to the citizens and visitors of 
Delaware.

9.7 Committee Responsibilities
• Responsible to assure reasonable standards of care and professionalism are met within the 

State of Delaware’s BLS system.
• Participate in Patient Care Report review audits, data collection, and evaluation of system 

performance.
• Maintain strict confidentiality of patient information, personnel and Q/A topics.
• Each committee member MUST sign a confidentiality statement.
• Make sure information disseminated is protected from discovery of protected healthcare 

information.
• Make recommendations for changes to policies, guidelines and protocols.
• Attend a quarterly meeting to discuss QA/QI issues.
• Design and implement QI projects that are practical and able to collect patient care statistics to 

evaluate system effectiveness and identify trends in patient care.
• Establish clinical benchmarks to measure the State’s BLS system.

9.8 Medical Incident Review and Analysis
9.8.1 The QA/QI process evaluates all aspects of patient care and EMS performance in the BLS 

system. The committee will concentrate on the following areas:
9.8.1.1 Time Elements

9.8.1.1.1 Hour of day
9.8.1.1.2 Day of week
9.8.1.1.3 Response times (dispatched-arrival)
9.8.1.1.4 Scene time (arrival-left scene)
9.8.1.1.5 Transport time (left scene-at hospital)

9.8.1.2 Patient Assessment
9.8.1.2.1 Chief complaint
9.8.1.2.2 Mechanism of injury
9.8.1.2.3 History
9.8.1.2.4 Vital Signs
9.8.1.2.5 Physical Examination

9.8.1.3 Patient Treatment
9.8.1.3.1 Treatment protocol followed
9.8.1.3.2 Appropriate protocol followed
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9.8.1.3.3 If no, was deviation justified
9.8.1.3.4 Patient response to treatment adequately documented

9.8.1.4 Refused transport
9.8.1.4.1 Disposition appropriate
9.8.1.4.2 Appropriate releases signed

9.8.1.5 Documentation
9.8.1.5.1 Overall documentation adequate

9.8.1.6 System issues
9.8.1.6.1 Recourses (equipment and personnel)
9.8.1.6.2 Priority Medical Dispatch
9.8.1.6.3 Hospital Diversion
9.8.1.6.4 Scratch Rate
9.8.1.6.5 ALS cancellations
9.8.1.6.6 Air medical utilization
9.8.1.6.7 Funding

9.8.1.7 Outcomes
9.8.2 Quarterly reports will be developed through the states patient care reporting system, 

EDIN. A percentage of the patient care reports will be reviewed using a designated and approved auditing tool.
9.8.3 The QA/QI committee shall review these reports during the quarterly meeting.
9.8.4 The primary goal is to identify and address any problem or improvement areas and 

recommend potential solutions:
• Knowledge or skill issues
• Documentation issue
• Resource issue
• Protocol issue
• Communication issue
• Statewide system issue
• Conduct issue

9.8.5 The QA/QI committee shall provide constructive feedback and recommendations to 
improve the State’s BLS system.

• Recommend changes to policy, procedures, or protocols
• Recommend changes in operational procedures or equipment
• Recommend training

9.8.6 All committee recommendations will be forwarded to the appropriate agency(s) for 
consideration.

9.3 9 Grievance Procedure
In the event that the Committee has problems with the Provider, or the Provider has problems with 

the Committee, either may forward the problem to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission through the 
normal Grievance Procedures, previously adopted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

NON-EMERGENCY AMBULANCE SERVICE

10.0 Non-emergency Ambulance Service Permits
10.1  Any person, firm, corporation or association either as owner, agent or otherwise who furnish, 

conduct, maintain, advertise or otherwise engage in or profess to be engaged in the business or service of 
providing non-emergency ambulance service upon the streets or highways of this state shall hold a valid permit 
issued by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.  Application for this permit shall be upon forms 
provided by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

10.2 The issuance of a permit hereunder shall not be construed so as to authorize any person, firm, 
corporation or association to provide ambulance services or to operate any ambulance without compliance with all 
ordinances and regulations enacted or promulgated by any state, county or municipal government concerning 
ambulances.

10.3 Prior to issuing an original or renewal permit, the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
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shall determine that all requirements of this regulation are fully met.  Additionally, the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission has the authority to ensure continued compliance with these regulations through the 
periodic review of records and operations.

10.4  Only companies holding a current, valid non-emergency ambulance service provider permit shall 
be authorized to respond and provide non-emergency ambulance service within the state. 

11.0    Non-emergency Ambulance Service Provider Permit Requirements
11.1  Administrative Requirements

11.1.1 Procedures for securing a non-emergency ambulance service permit include:
11.1.1.1 The owner or registered agent must apply to the Delaware State Fire 

Prevention Commission upon forms provided and according to procedures established by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

11.1.1.2 The non-emergency ambulance service provider shall either be based in 
Delaware or maintain an office in Delaware with a full time individual domiciled at that office who is in “Responsible 
Charge”.

11.1.1.3 All requirements set forth in this regulation must be met before issuance 
of permit.

11.1.1.4 The non-emergency ambulance service provider must provide proof of 
liability insurance in the amount of $1 Million blanket liability coverage.

11.1.1.5 The non-emergency ambulance service provider must provide proof of 
automobile liability insurance in the amount of $1 Million individual, $3 Million aggregate per occurrence.

11.1.2  Permits shall be valid for a period of one year from the permits effective date.
11.1.3  The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission may issue temporary permits when 

determined to be in the interest of public safety per Title 16.
11.1.4  On an on-going basis throughout the term of the permit, the owner or individual in 

“responsible charge” shall be available upon reasonable notification for the purpose of providing documentation on 
any provisions of this regulation and permitting physical inspection of all facilities and vehicles.

11.1.5  No ambulance service provider shall advertise or represent that it provides any 
ambulance service other than authorized to provide under this regulation.

11.2   Operational Requirements
11.2.1 Vehicle Standards

11.2.1.1 All ambulances shall be registered and licensed in the State of Delaware 
by the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicle Department. 

EXCEPTIONS:
11.2.1.1.1Those vehicles to which the international registration plan applies.
11.2.1.1.2Those vehicles properly registered in some other state.

11.2.1.2 Vehicles shall have clearly visible letters on both sides and the rear 
identifying the name of the organization or corporation or the vehicle’s specific identifier as specified under permit 
documentation. The letters shall be at least three inches in height.

11.2.1.3 Vehicle patient compartment shall conform with the criteria within the 
GSA Federal Specifications for ambulances (KKK-A-1822C).

11.2.2  Equipment Standards
Every ambulance shall be equipped with equipment and supplies as specified by the 

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission and updated annually considering recommendations from the 
Delaware State Fire School Director with concurrence from the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission’s 
Medical Director.

11.2.3  Staffing Requirements
11.2.3.1 Minimum acceptable crew staffing when transporting a patient shall 

consist of a driver and one EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant.
11.2.3.2 A minimum of one EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant shall always be in the 

patient compartment when a patient is present.
11.2.4  Communications Requirements Ambulances

All Ambulances shall be equipped with a reliable communications systems which permit 
direct communications with all medical command facilities with which the ambulance will or may operate.
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11.2.5 SAED Requirements
Upon placing an SAED on any ambulance, the ambulance service provider will comply with the 

Delaware Early Defibrillation Program Administrative Policies as established by the Office of Emergency Medical 
Services

11.2.6 Infection Control
All ambulance service providers will comply with the infection control requirements in Chapter 11A, 

Title 16 of the Delaware code.
11.2.7 Center for Medicare Medicaid Services (CMS)
All ambulance services providers will comply with the Final Rule in the Federal Register 

(64F.R3637) revising the Medicare policies for ambulance services adopted February 24, 1999.
11.2.8 Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) All ambulance service 

providers will comply with the HIPAA of 1996.
7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

12.0   Compliance
12.1  The owner or registered agent of every ambulance service provider shall provide ambulance 

service in accordance with the requirements set forth in this regulation and the contractual agreements established 
as either a primary or secondary Ambulance Service Provider and filed with the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission in accordance with the provisions set forth in these regulations. Failure to provide this service shall be 
grounds for suspension or revocation of permit.

12.2 Grievances - All grievances relative to ambulance service shall follow procedures established 
within the Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations, Part IX “Fire Service Standards”.

12.3 Penalties - Following review of a valid complaint or upon failure to comply with any provision of this 
regulation, the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, following procedures established within the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Regulations, shall have the authority to issue corrective orders, suspend or revoke the 
provider’s permit.

12.4  Whenever there is reason to believe that any provisions of this regulation have been violated, the 
ambulance service provider shall be immediately notified.  Violations shall require correction within five (5) working 
days of receipt of notice with the exception of those violations which represent an imminent danger to the public.

12.5  For those violations representing an imminent danger to the public, the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission shall issue and deliver an order to cease and desist any further ambulance service until 
such time as the violation has been verified as being corrected and corrective measures accepted by the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission.

12.6 The continued violation of any element of this regulation or failure or refusal to comply with any 
order to correct a violation or failure to obey a cease and desist order by any ambulance service provider shall be 
cause for revocation or suspension of permit by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission after 
determination that the provider is guilty of such violation.

12.7  In addition to 12.6, it shall be cause for revocation or suspension of a permit after determining the 
ambulance service provider:

12.7.1 Has practiced any fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit in obtaining or renewing a permit 
12.7.2  Is guilty of gross negligence, incompetence or misconduct in providing services
12.7.3  Is guilty of a violation of the codes and regulations adopted by the Delaware State Fire 

Prevention Commission
12.7.4  Has been found guilty of an unfair or deceptive trade practice
12.7.5  Has violated any contractual agreement related to providing ambulance service 

12.7  Upon issuance of an order, the ambulance service provider accused may request a review of the 
order by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.  All hearings shall be conducted in conformity with 
procedures established by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

12.8  Any person aggrieved by a violation or order may file an appeal to the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission pursuant to 16 Del.C., Ch. 66, §6608.

7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

13.0   Discontinuation Of Service By Ambulance Providers
13.1  STEP 1: Any fire department and/or ambulance company desiring to terminate ambulance service 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 391
in the state of Delaware must notify the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in writing 120 days before 
terminating service.

13.2  STEP 2: Immediately upon notification of a fire department and/or ambulance company’s desire to 
terminate service, the Chairman or the Vice Chairman of the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission shall 
notify the president of the county firemen’s association in which the fire department and/or ambulance company 
provides service to the residences and visitors of the state of Delaware for that district.

13.3  STEP 3: Immediately upon receiving notification of a fire department and or ambulance 
company’s desire to terminate service the county firemen’s association president shall appoint a committee.  The 
committee shall include, but not be limited to: two members shall be the President’s of the County Fire Chief’s and 
County Ambulance Associations or their designees.  The County President shall have the right to appoint other 
members to this committee, as he and/or she may deem necessary. 

13.3.1 To communicate and offer assistance to the terminating company in an effort to help them 
continue service.

13.3.2 In the event that the county committee is unable to get the company to continue service, 
they shall then contact the surrounding departments and ascertain and/or develop a plan for those departments to 
divide the district and continue service.

13.3.3 In the event that steps one and two fail the county committee may put forth any and all 
suggestions they deem viable in order to provide ambulance service to the residences and visitors of the state of 
Delaware for that district.

13.3.4 The committee, through the County Firemen’s Association President, shall report to the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission within 60 days with their recommendations and/or findings.

7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

14.0   Training/Certification
 All individuals who successfully complete initial EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant training shall be eligible for 

and must successfully pass the NREMT examination to receive Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant 
certification.

14.1 Eligibility For Certification/EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant
14.1.1 Apply to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission on the approved application 

form provided by the Delaware State Fire School.
14.1.2 An individual may apply for and receive certification as an EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant 

provided that.
14.1.2.1 They are a member in good standing of a Delaware Fire Department, an 

Ambulance Organization, a Private Ambulance Provider or any other group, business or industry certified by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission to provide ambulance service.

14.1.2.2 They have obtained EMT-B, EMT-I or EMT-P registration from the 
NREMT.

14.1.2.3 The Chief, CEO, or head of the respective organization signs the 
application.

14.1.2.4 They are compliant with criminal history background check legislation.
14.1.2.5 Must be 18 years of age.
14.1.2.6 Comply with the State of Delaware Immunization policy.

14.2  Certification
14.2.1  Certification will be obtained by completing a state approved EMT-B/Ambulance 

Attendant Course and passing the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians Exam.  Registration & 
Certification will be issued for the time period to coincide with the NREMT registration cycle. This is typically a two-
year period.  Individuals will be issued a Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant certification upon successful 
completion of the NREMT registration process.

14.2.2  Individuals who take EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant class from approved provider other 
than the Delaware State Fire School are required to meet all Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
requirements for certification.

14.2.2.1  It is the responsibility of the individual applying for certification to provide 
criminal history background check as specified by Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

14.2.1.2 It is the responsibility of the individual applying to provide all necessary 
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documentation for certification to include AED/CPR, protocol training and NREMT-B card.
14.3   Recertification as DELAWARE EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant]

14.3.1 Individuals will be re-certified for a two-year period.
14.3.2 The re-certification requirements for a Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant will be 

determined by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, with recommendations of their medical advisor/
director.

14.3.3 Requirements for re-certification are:
14.3.3.1 Individuals must submit a request for re-certification to the Delaware State 

Fire School documenting completion of requirements.
14.3.3.1.1 Requirements

• Attend a prescribed DOT/EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant refresher
• Current CPR/AED certificate

14.3.4  Re-registration as an NREMT-B:  The registration requirements for a National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technician – Basic will be determined by the National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technicians.

14.3.4.1 Continuing education classes to achieve re-registration through the 
NREMT will be reviewed for approval by the Office of Emergency Medical Services in accordance with NREMT 
policy and procedures.

14.3.5 Active duty military personnel not able to re-certify due to deployment may request for an 
extension of certification until they are able to return and complete necessary requirements.  Upon return the 
individual shall have 90 days to complete re-certification requirements.

14.4   Decertification
14.4.1 An EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant will lose their Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant 

Certification to provide patient care if:
14.4.1.1 They do not meet the re-certification requirements as defined by the 

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.
14.4.1.2 De-certification by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 

following procedures and in compliance with Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations, Part IX Fire Service 
Standards.

14.4.2  National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians will revoke certification based upon 
their national policy.  If an individual has their certification revoked by the National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technicians the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission may also decertify their Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance 
Attendant Certification.

14.4.3 The individual is convicted of an offense as specified in 16 Del C. §6712(b) while currently 
certified and the procedures in Part X, Section XV, Criminal History Background Check.

14.5 Reinstatement For Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant
14.5.1 Individual desiring to regain certification as a Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant, after 

the expiration of their certification may do so provided the following conditions are met.
• Their card has been expired 18 24 months or less.
• They must attend an approved EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant refresher course.
• They must take and pass the Delaware Protocol examination.
• They must show proof of a current AED and CPR certification.
• They must take and pass the current protocol self study course available from the 

Delaware State Fire School Delaware Protocol examination. The protocol self study 
course available from the Delaware State Fire School.

• They must acquire a Delaware and Federal Background Check at their expense.
• They must submit all required paperwork and application for certification to the 

Delaware State Fire School.
14.5.2 Individuals whose card has expired 18 24 months or more must take the entire EMT-B/

Ambulance Attendant course and National Registry Examination.
14.5.3 Individuals desiring to regain registration as an NREMT-B must follow the policies of the 

National Registry Organization.
14.6 Testing Procedures For National Registry

Initial testing and re-testing for National Registered EMT-B will follow the guidelines set forth by the 
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National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians.
14.7    Reciprocity

14.7.1  Emergency Medical Technicians, paramedics, nurses, or physicians who enter Delaware 
with a National Registry EMT-B, EMT-I or EMT-P certification will receive reciprocity as EMT-B/Ambulance 
Attendant in the Delaware System provided that.

14.7.1.1 They become a member of a certified ambulance service provider in 
Delaware.

14.7.1.2 They submit the required application form to the Delaware State Fire 
School.

14.7.1.3 They have a current National Registry EMT-B, EMT-I or EMT-P 
certification.

14.7.1.4 CPR and AED as approved by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission.

14.7.1.5 Challenge practical exams as required.
14.7.1.6 Challenge Successfully completed Delaware Protocol Examination.
14.7.1.7 Provide mandated State & Federal background checks.
14.7.1.8 Applicants will be advised of the appeal process of Part X, Section XV, 

Criminal History Background Check if reciprocity is denied because of criminal history background check.
14.7.2 Applicants certified from other states without at least a Nationally Registered EMT-B 

certification must obtain National Registry prior to applying for Delaware Certification.
14.7.3 The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission reserves the right to administer a written 

examination if deemed necessary.
7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

15.0   Criminal History Background Check
15.1  Authorized Governmental Designee for the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission

15.1.1 The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission authorizes the Director of the Delaware 
State Fire School to be its governmental designee to acquire and review State and Federal criminal history 
background checks submitted by the State Bureau of Identification for an applicant applying to become a Delaware 
EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant an Ambulance Attendant/ Delaware Emergency Medical Technician and to interview 
the applicant, if necessary.

15.2   Evaluation Procedure for Criminal History Background Checks
15.2.1  The Director of the Delaware State Fire School shall evaluate the criminal history 

background checks using the criteria established in 16 Del.C. §6712(b).  All criminal history background checks will 
be forwarded by the State Bureau of Identification to the Director of the Delaware State Fire School.

15.2.2 Should the Director of the Delaware State Fire School as a result of the criminal history 
background check find cause to recommend to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission that it deny the 
application of the person seeking certification as an EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant, the Director shall notify the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission of this decision.

15.2.3 The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission Director of the Delaware State Fire 
School shall advise the applicant that it intends to deny the application the application is denied and state the 
reason therefor.  The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission Director of the Delaware State Fire School will 
also advise the applicant of the right to review all information reviewed by the Director of the Delaware State Fire 
School and the right to appeal the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission’s decision by requesting a hearing 
before the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

15.3  Appeal Process for Denial of Certification or De-certification because of Criminal Conviction
15.3.1 Any Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant applicant or certificate holder notified by the 

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission and or the Delaware State Fire School that the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission intends to deny the application or decertify the certificate holder because of criminal 
history background check information may appeal the denial to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission. 
The process is:

15.3.1.1 Within 10 days after the postmark on the notification of the intent to deny 
certification or decertify a certificate holder, the applicant shall submit a written request for a hearing to the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission stating the reason(s) supporting the appeal.
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15.3.1.2 Notice of the hearing shall be given at least 20 days before the day of the 
hearing and comply with the provisions of 29 Del.C. §10122.

15.3.1.3 The grievance hearing before the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission will be conducted in accordance with the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.

15.3.1.4 The hearing will be closed to the public unless the applicant requests an 
open hearing.  After the hearing, the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will inform the applicant of its 
decision.

15.4   Requirements for Certification
15.4.1 Persons seeking certification as an Ambulance Attendant/Delaware Emergency Medical 

Technician must be eighteen (18) years of age at the time of application.
15.4.1.1 Individuals entering an EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant course must be 

eighteen (18) years of age at the start of the course.
15.4.2 An individual applying for certification must meet the requirement of Part X, of the 

Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations “Ambulance Service Regulations”. 
15.4.3 Persons seeking certification must meet the criminal history background  check as 

mandated in 16 Del.C. §6712(b), effective July 12, 2001 and follow the procedures outlined in this policy.
15.5   Administrative Policy Pertaining to Criminal History Background Checks

15.5.1 Delaware State Fire School training announcements for EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant 
courses will include the statement “Criminal History Background checks will be required on or before the first night 
of class as per the regulations”.

15.5.2 All Chiefs of Departments, Presidents or Ambulance Captains of volunteer rescue or 
ambulance squads or Operating Officers of private corporations which have students pre-registered for the class 
will be sent a notice to inform the student that a criminal history background checks will be done on the first night of 
class and fingerprinting will be required.  It will be the responsibility of private EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant training 
institution to make their students aware that a Criminal History Background Check is required to become a State of 
Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant and the Criminal History Background Check be available in order to 
receive certification.

15.5.3 Any student not pre-registered for the class will not be accepted as a walk-in.
15.5.4  All EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant students will sign a release provided by the State Bureau 

of Identification authorizing the criminal history background check.  Any student failing to sign the designated form 
will not be allowed to participate in the course.

15.5.5 Students who are members of a private ambulance service are required to pay the course 
tuition prior to the first night of class.  The tuition is non-refundable unless the student drops out prior to the first 
night of class.  The tuition includes the cost of the criminal history background check which will be paid to the State 
Bureau of Identification on the student’s behalf by the Delaware State Fire School.

15.5.6 Any volunteer fire, rescue or ambulance company registering astudent who is denied 
certification pursuant to the provision of 16 Del.C. §6712(b), shall be responsible to reimburse the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission for the cost of the criminal history background check.

15.5.7 Any student accepted into the course who does not complete the course will be required 
to reimburse the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission the cost of the criminal history background check 
and course textbook materials.

15.6   Condition and Duration of Certification/De-certification
15.6.1 The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission shall issue initial certification as an 

Ambulance Attendant/Delaware Emergency Medical Technician – Basic as prescribed in Part X, of the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention  Regulations provided that:

15.6.2   Procedure for De-certification for Criminal Offense
15.6.2.1 The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission may decertify any 

currently certified EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant when it has reason to believe that the person has been convicted 
of a crime within the scope of §6712 of Title 15.

15.6.2.2 Upon receiving a written notice that an EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant was 
convicted of a crime within the provisions of  §6712, Title 16 the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission shall:

15.6.2.2.1 Immediately suspend the individual’s certification pending an 
investigation into the allegations.

15.6.2.2.2 Notify the individual in writing of the allegations and suspensions 
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and allow the certificate holder an informal opportunity to contest the allegations of a conviction.
15.6.2.2.3 Require the individual to obtain a current Criminal History 

background check at their expense.
15.6.2.2.3.1 Criminal History Background check information will be 

sent to and reviewed by the Director of the Delaware State Fire School, who will make determination if cause for 
de-certification exists.  The Director of the Delaware State Fire School will notify the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission of the findings.

15.6.2.2.4 Based on the information provided by the Director of the 
Delaware State Fire School, the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will either inform the certificate holder 
of the intent to de-certify the individual or lift the individual’s suspension.

15.6.2.3 The individuals may appeal the de-certification using the procedure under 
Part X, Section XV, Criminal History Background Check, Appeal Process.

15.6.3   Funding of Reciprocity Criminal History Background Checks
15.6.3.1 All applicants will pay for the criminal history background check at the 

time of their request.
15.6.3.1.1 It is the responsibility of the private providers, private individuals 

or City of Wilmington to pay all costs – they are not eligible for reimbursement.
15.6.3.1.2 Upon successful completion of the reciprocity process the 

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will reimburse the individual or the individual’s volunteer fire, rescue 
or ambulance organization for the cost of the criminal history background check.

15.6.4   Reciprocity for University of Delaware Students
15.6.4.1 The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will waive the criminal 

history background  check requirements for all University of Delaware Students applying for certification as an 
Ambulance Attendant/Delaware Emergency Medical Technician.

15.6.4.1.1 The University Police Department will provide the Director of the 
Delaware State Fire School with a written document listing all eligible students and a statement that they have 
passed an internal background check at least equal to the requirement of 16 Del.C. §6712.

15.6.5   Confidentiality Of Criminal History Background Check Information
15.6.5.1 Information obtained pursuant to the criminal history background check is 

confidential and except as provided in Section C 4 below, shall not be released from the Delaware State Fire 
School under any circumstances to anyone.

15.6.5.2 All criminal history background check information that is reviewed by the 
Director of the Delaware State Fire School shall be retained in a locked file cabinet in the custody of the Director for 
a two (2) year period.

15.6.5.3 When a denial for certification is made, the information will be turned over 
to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission where it will be advised by the Director of the Delaware State 
Fire School and the Background Check will be secured for at least 60 days or until the appeal process is 
completed.

15.6.5.3.1 If an appeal is not filed at the end of 60 days, the information is to 
be returned to the Director of the Delaware State Fire School normal file system.

15.6.5.4 Per 16 Del.C. §6712 the individual may meet with the Director of the 
Delaware State Fire School and after providing proof of identification including a photo identification, review their 
information.  Copies will not be provided to anyone.

7 DE Reg. 1649 (06/01/04)

16.0   First Responder
First Responders do not meet the requirements of EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant and cannot transport a 

patient without a Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant present and in the patient care compartment.
16.1  Eligibility for Delaware First Responder Certification 

16.1.1 16 years of age
16.1.2 Complete Approved DOT First Responder Curriculum
16.1.3 National Registry First Responder Certification is optional
16.1.4 Submit required applications and paperwork to Delaware State Fire School

16.2  Certification is valid for 2 years with a re-certification date of September.
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16.3  Re-certification
16.3.1 Must re-certify as mandated by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

16.3.1.1 DOT First Responder Refresher, AED and CPR.
16.3.1.2 National Registry – As determined by National Registry.

16.4  De-certification
16.4.1  May have their certification revoked by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in 

compliance with the Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations Part IX “Fire Service Standards”.
16.5   Expired First Responder Certifications

16.5.1 Individuals desiring certification as a First Responder after the expiration date of their 
certification may do so providing the following conditions are met.

16.5.1.1 Card expired 18 24 months or less
16.5.1.2 Attend approved refresher course
16.5.1.3 Show proof of current AED/CPR Certification
16.5.1.4 Submit all required applications and paperwork to Delaware State Fire 

School
16.5.2  Individuals whose card has expired more than 18 24 months must attend a complete First 

Responder Training course.
16.5.3 Individuals desiring to regain National Registry Registration must follow the policies of the 

National Registry.
16.6 Testing procedures Delaware First Responder

16.6.1  Initial testing and retesting for First Responders will follow the guidelines set forth by 
Delaware State Fire School.

16.7  Reciprocity
16.7.1 First Responders from other state must submit a request
16.7.2 Show proof of attending a DOT curriculum
16.7.3 Obtain CPR/AED as approved by Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
16.7.4 Challenge practical examinations as determined by the Delaware State Fire School
16.7.5 Challenge the State First Responder Examination

7 DE Reg. 1649 (6/1/04)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 10005; 29 Delaware Code,
Section 4815(b)(3)(c)(3) (3 Del.C. §10005; 29 Del.C. §4815(b)(3)(c)(3))

3 DE Admin. Code 1001

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10005, proposes to add rules 
13.8.2, 13.13.2, 13.13.3, and 13.13.4 to reflect current policies, practices, and procedures. The Commission will 
hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on October 23, 2007. Written comments should be sent to John 
F. Wayne, Executive Director, Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, 777 Delaware Park Boulevard, 
Wilmington, DE 19804.

1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

13.0 Claiming Races
13.1 Owners Entitled:
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13.1.1 In claiming races, any horse is subject to claim for its entered price by any Owner 
in good standing, who has horses stabled on the Licensee’s grounds, and who has started a horse at the race 
meeting at which the claim is made.

13.1.2 An Owner may claim out of the race in which he first starts a horse. Owners 
shipping in from other stable areas who have a horse claimed shall be allowed one claim to replace the horse lost 
via claiming.

13.1.3 A new Owner, i.e., an individual, partnership, corporation or any other authorized 
racing interest who has not held an Owner’s license in any racing jurisdiction during the prior year, is eligible to 
claim by obtaining an “Open Claiming License” from the Commission.

13.1.4 In order to obtain an open claiming license and file an open claim, an individual 
must comply with the following procedures:

13.1.4.1 Depositing an amount no less than the minimum claiming price of the 
intended claim at that meet with the Horsemen’s Bookkeeper. Such amount shall remain on account until a claim is 
in fact made. In the event of withdrawal of such fund, any license issued hereunder shall be automatically revoked 
and terminated.

13.1.4.2 Securing an Owner or authorized racing interest license by the 
Commission. Such license will be conditioned upon the making of a claim and shall be revoked if no such claim is, 
in fact, made within thirty (30) racing days after issuance or if the deposit above required is withdrawn prior to 
completion of a claim.

13.1.4.3 Naming a Trainer licensed by the Commission who will represent him 
once said claim is made.

13.2 Claim by Agent:
13.2.1 A claim may be made by an authorized agent, but an agent may claim only for the 

account of those for whom he is authorized and registered as agent and the name of the authorized agent, as well 
as the name of the Owner for whom the claim is being made, shall appear on the claim slip.

13.3 Claiming Own Horse Prohibited:
13.3.1 No person shall claim his own horse or cause his own horse to be claimed, 

directly or indirectly, for his own account. No claimed horse shall remain in the same stable or under the care or 
management of the Owner or Trainer from whom claimed.

13.4 Limits on claims:
13.4.1 No person shall claim more than one horse from any one race. No authorized 

agent, although representing several Owners, shall submit more than one claim for any race. When a stable 
consists of horses owned by more than one person, trained by the same Trainer, not more than one claim may be 
entered on behalf of such stable in any one race. An Owner who races in a partnership may not claim except in the 
interest of the partnership, unless he has also started a horse in his own individual interest. An owner who races in 
a partnership may claim in his or her individual interest if the individual has started a horse in the partnership. The 
individual must also have an account with the horsemen's bookkeeper that is separate from the partnership 
account.

13.5 Twenty Day Prohibition -- Sale of Claimed Horse:
13.5.1 A claimed horse shall not run for twenty days after being claimed in a race in 

which the determining eligibility price is less than twenty-five percent more than the price for which the horse was 
claimed. The day claimed shall not count but the following calendar day shall be the first day, and the horse shall 
be entitled to enter whenever necessary so that it may start on the twenty-first calendar day following the claim. 
This provision shall not apply to starter handicaps, allowance and starter allowance races.

13.6 Thirty Day Prohibition -- Sale of Claimed Horse:
13.6.1 No horse claimed in a claiming race shall be sold or transferred, wholly or in part, 

to anyone within thirty (30) days after the day it was claimed, except in another claiming race. No claimed horse 
shall race elsewhere until sixty (60) calendar days after the date on which it was claimed or until after the close of 
the meeting at which it was claimed, whichever comes first. The day claimed shall not count, but the following 
calendar day shall be the first day and the horse shall be entitled to enter elsewhere whenever necessary so the 
horse may start on the 61st calendar day following the claim. The Stewards shall have the authority to waive this 
rule upon application, so as to allow a claimed horse to race in a stakes race. The Stewards may also permit a 
horse claimed in a steeplechase or hurdle race to race elsewhere in a steeplechase or hurdle race after the close 
of the steeplechase program, if such a program ends before the close of the meeting at which it is claimed.
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Revised: 7/16/86
13.7 Form of Claim:

13.7.1 Each claim shall be made in writing on a form and in an envelope supplied by 
Licensee. Both form and envelope must be filled out completely and must be accurate in every detail.

13.8 Procedure for Claim:
13.8.1 Claims must be deposited in the claim box at least ten (10) minutes before post 

time of the race from which the claim is being made. No money or its equivalent shall be put in the claim box. For a 
claim to be valid, the claimant must have, at the time of filing the claim, a credit balance in his account with the 
Horsemen's Bookkeeper of not less than the amount of the claim.

Revised: 8/15/95
13.8.2 Officials and employees of the association shall not provide any information as to filing of 

claims until after the race has been run except as is necessary for processing of the claim.
13.9 Stewards' Duties:

13.9.1 The Stewards, or their designated representatives, shall open the claim envelopes 
for each race as soon as the horses leave the paddock en route to the post. They shall thereafter check with the 
Horsemen's Bookkeeper to ascertain whether the proper credit balance has been established with the Licensee 
and with the Racing Secretary as to whether the claimant has claiming privileges at Licensee's meeting.

13.10 Conflicting claims:
13.10.1 If more than one valid claim is filed for the same horse, title to the horse shall be 

determined by lot under the supervision of the Stewards or their designated representative.
13.11 Delivery of Claimed Horse:

13.11.1 Any horse that has been claimed shall, after the race has been run, be taken to 
the paddock for delivery to the claimant, who must present written authorization for the claim from the Racing 
Secretary. No person shall refuse to deliver to the person legally entitled thereto a horse claimed out of a claiming 
race and, until delivery is made, the horse in question shall be disqualified from further racing.

13.12 Nature and Effect of a Claim:
13.12.1 Claims are irrevocable except as otherwise provided for in these Rules. Title to a 

claimed horse shall be vested in the successful claimant from the time the said horse is a starter and said claimant 
shall then become the Owner of the horse, whether it be alive or dead, sound or unsound, or injured, during the 
race or after it. A claimed horse shall run in the interest of and for the account of the Owner from whom claimed.

13.12.2 A post-race test may be taken from any horse claimed out of a claiming race. The 
trainer of the horse at the time of entry for the race from which the horse was claimed shall be responsible for the 
claimed horse until the post-race sample is collected. Any claimed horse not otherwise selected for testing by the 
stewards shall be tested if requested by the claimant at the time the claim form is submitted in accordance with 
these Rules. The successful claimant shall have the right to void the claim should the forensic analysis be positive 
for any prohibited substance, an illegal level of a permitted medication, or if a blood sample exhibits a positive 
response to the Erythropoietin (EPO) antibody test.

13.13 Prohibited Practices:
13.13.1 No person shall offer or enter into an agreement to claim or not to claim or to 

attempt to prevent another person from claiming any horse in a claiming race. No person shall attempt, by 
intimidation, to prevent anyone from running a horse in any claiming race. No Owner or Trainer shall make an 
agreement with another Owner or Trainer for the protection of each other's horses in a claiming race.

13.13.2 A person shall not claim a horse in which the person has a financial or beneficial 
interest as on owner or trainer.

13.13.3 A person shall not cause another person to claim a horse for the purpose of 
obtaining or retaining an undisclosed financial or beneficial interest in the horse.

13.13.4 A person shall not claim a horse or enter into any agreement to have a horse 
claimed on behalf of an ineligible person.

13.14 Invalidation of Claim:
13.14.1  Claims which are not made in keeping with the Rules shall be void. The Stewards 

may, at any time in their discretion, require any person filing a claim to furnish an affidavit in writing that he is 
claiming in accordance with these Rules. The Stewards shall be the judges of the validity of the claim and, if they 
feel that a "starter" was nominated for the purpose of making its Owner eligible to claim, they may invalidate the 
claim.
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13.15 Necessity to Record Lien:
13.15.1  Any person holding a lien of any kind against a horse entered in a claiming race 

must record the same with the Racing Secretary and/or Horsemen's Bookkeeper at least thirty (30) minutes before 
post time for that race. If none is so recorded, it shall be conclusively assumed, for claiming purposes, that none 
exists.

13.16 Claiming Privileges -- Eliminated Stable:
13.16.1  If a person's stable shall be eliminated with thirty (30) racing days or less 

remaining in the current racing season, and such person is unable to replace the horse(s) lost via a claim by the 
end of the racing season, such person may apply to the Stewards for an additional thirty (30) racing days of 
eligibility to claim in the new race meeting as long as the person owns no other horses at the start of the next race 
meeting. Should a stable at a meeting be eliminated by sale or removal from the grounds, the right to claim is void. 
After claiming a horse under the conditions of this Rule, the Owner shall be required to reinstate his eligibility to 
claim pursuant to these Rules before being eligible to make another claim.

13.17 Claim Embraces Horse's Prior Engagements:
13.17.1  The engagements of a claimed horse pass automatically with the horse to the 

claimant.
13.18 Caveat Emptor:

13.18.1  Notwithstanding any designation of sex or age appearing on the racing program 
or in any racing publication, the claimant of a horse shall be solely responsible for determining the age or sex of the 
horse claimed.

13.19 Racing Claimed Horse: Repealed
1 DE Reg. 713 (12/1/97)
2 DE Reg. 373 (9/1/98)
2 DE Reg. 2043 (5/1/99)
5 DE Reg. 849 (10/1/01)
5 DE Reg. 1710 (3/1/02)
6 DE Reg. 1205 (3/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 316 (9/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1540 (5/1/04)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published here.  A copy of 
the regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title3/1000/1001/index.shtml

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 601

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

601 School Police Relations

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 601 School Police Relations by adding 

definitions, a training component for school administrators involved in reporting school crimes, and specific 
incidents of misconduct. In addition, a compliance component was added in Section 7.0 that if a school fails to 
comply with the reporting mandates it shall be subject to identification as a "Persistently Dangerous School" 14 DE 
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Admin. Code 608.
In addition, a section was added that indicates that a school that is not in comply with the reporting 

mandates will be subject to identified as "persistently dangerous" 14 DE Admin. Code 608.
Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business 

on or before November 5, 2007 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of 
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, DE 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the above 
address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state 

achievement standards? This regulation is related to school and law enforcement relations, and not student 
achievement as measured against state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? This 
regulation is related to school and law enforcement relations and not related to students receiving an equitable 
education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately 
protected? This regulation is related to school climate and should help ensure that all students' health and safety 
are adequately protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? This 
regulation is related to school climate and should help ensure all students' legal rights are adequately protected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at 
the local board and school level? The amended regulation does not make changes to decision making at the local 
board or school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or 
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place 
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates at the local board or school level. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? The amended regulation does not make changes to current decision making authority or 
accountability.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of 
other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core 
academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? This regulation is related to school 
and law enforcement relations, and is not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies. 

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a 
less burdensome method of addressing school and law enforcement agency relations at this time.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? 
There are not additional costs to the State or local school boards for compliance to this amended regulation.

601 School Police Relations

1.0 Policy on School Police Relations
All local school districts, charter schools and alternative schools or consortia shall establish a policy on 

school police relations. Each school district, charter school and alternative school or consortium shall develop a 
Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with each police department which provides services to it. Each MOA shall be 
in a form substantially similar to a Model MOA as developed, approved and from time to time revised by the 
Department of Education.

2.0 School Employees Responsibilities for Reporting Crimes
Each school district, charter school and alternative school or consortium shall, at the time of hiring and at 

the beginning of each school year thereafter, advise each school employee (as that term is defined in 14 Del.C. 
§4112) of his/her duty to report school crimes and the penalty for failure to so report.
3.0 Reporting of Crimes to the Delaware Department of Education

The Superintendent of each school district and program administrator for each charter school and 
alternative school, or his/her designee, shall report to the Department of Education all school crimes required to be 
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reported pursuant to 14 Del.C. §4112, and any subsequent amendment thereto. Such reports shall be made on 
forms as designated by the Department of Education and filed with the Department of Education within the time 
prescribed by statute.

4.0 Reporting Specific Incidents of Misconduct
In addition to those school crimes required to be reported pursuant to statute, the Superintendent of each 

school district and program administrator for each charter school and alternative school or consortia shall report to 
the Department of Education incidents of misconduct 4.1 through 4.7. Such reports shall be made on forms as 
designated by the Department of Education and filed with the Department of Education not later than five working 
days following the incident.

4.1 Pornography, possession and production
4.2 Bomb threats
4.3 Criminal mischief (vandalism)
4.4 Tampering with public records
4.5 Alcohol, possession and use
4.6 Felony theft ($1,000 or more)
4.7 Bullying

5.0 Definition
For purposes of the reporting required pursuant to 4.7 of this regulation, "Bullying" is defined as when one 

person, or a group of persons, targets another person with repeated direct or indirect negative actions over a 
period of time which are harmful to the victim either emotionally or physically. A negative action occurs when a 
person knowingly inflicts, or attempts to inflict, physical or emotional injury or discomfort upon another person.

1 DE Reg. 511 (11/1/97)
6 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/02)

601 Schools and Law Enforcement Agencies

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to ensure that effective communication and working relationships exist 

between public schools and law enforcement agencies.

2.0 Definitions
"Alternative Program" mean a program established pursuant to 14 Del.C., Chapter 16.
"School Employee" for purposes of this regulation shall mean all persons 18 years of age or older hired 

by a school district, attendance zone, or charter school; subcontractors such as bus drivers or security guards; 
employees of an Alternative Program provider; substitute employees; and persons hired by or subcontracted by 
other state agencies to work on school property. This definition shall be consistent with 14 Del.C. §4112.

3.0 Written Policy and Memorandum of Agreement (MOA)
3.1 All local school districts, charter schools, and Alternative Programs shall establish a written policy 

on effectively communicating and working with law enforcement agencies. Each school district, charter school and 
Alternative Program shall develop a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with each law enforcement agency which 
provides services to it. Each MOA shall be in a form substantially similar to a Model MOA as developed, approved 
and from time to time revised by the Department of Education.

4.0 Training Component
4.1 Any school administrator responsible for reporting school crimes or reporting school conduct 

incidents to law enforcement and to the Department of Education; or any school administrator responsible for 
reporting suspension and expulsion data to the Department; or any school administrator responsible for any 
disciplinary process involving staff or students shall complete Department of Education approved training and any 
such additional training the Department of Education may prescribe from time to time.

4.2 The approved training shall be primarily provided by staff at the Department of Education. The 
training may be provided by a school administrator at the district, charter school, or Alternative Program who is 
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qualified to provide such training by having completed the Department of Education approved training. The district, 
charter school, or Alternative Program shall provide the name(s) of the trainer(s) conducting the training and the 
name(s) of those school administrator(s) attending the training if such training was provided by the district, charter 
school, or Alternative Program.

4.3 Each school district, charter school, and Alternative Program shall, at the time of hiring and at the 
beginning of each school year thereafter, advise each School Employee of his/her duty to report school crimes and 
the penalty for failure to so report as prescribed in 14 Del.C. §4112 (e).

5.0 Reporting of Crimes to the Delaware Department of Education
5.1 The superintendent or head administrator of each school district, charter school, and Alternative 

Program or his/her designee, shall ensure each school within his/her jurisdiction reports to the Department of 
Education all school crimes required to be reported pursuant to 14 Del.C. §4112, and any subsequent amendment 
thereto. Such reports shall be submitted in a format as designated by the Department of Education and filed with 
the Department of Education within the time prescribed by Delaware statutes.

6.0 Reporting Specific Incidents of Misconduct
6.1 In addition to those school crimes required to be reported pursuant to statute, the superintendent 

or head administrator of each school district, charter school, and Alternative Program, or his/her designee, shall 
report to the Department of Education incidents of misconduct 6.1.1 through 6.1.12. Such reports shall be 
submitted in a format as designated by the Department of Education and filed with the Department of Education 
not later than five working days following the incident.

6.1.1 Pornography, possession and production
6.1.2 Criminal mischief (vandalism)
6.1.3 Tampering with public records
6.1.4 Alcohol, possession and use
6.1.5 Felony theft ($1,000 or more)
6.1.6 Bullying
6.1.7 Offensive Touching (student victim)
6.1.8 Terroristic Threatening (student victim)
6.1.9 Sexual Harassment
6.1.10 Fighting/Disorderly Conduct
6.1.11 Inhalants
6.1.12 Drug Paraphernalia

7.0 Compliance Component
7.1 A school that fails to comply with the reporting mandates as set forth herein shall be subject to 

identification as a "Persistently Dangerous School" as this term is defined in 14 DE Admin. Code 608. A school 
identified as Persistently Dangerous will retain that designation for the entire fiscal year.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

14 DE Admin. Code 734

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

734 District School Board and Charter School Board Member Financial Responsibility Training

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
New Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code by adding a new regulation titled 734 
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District School Board and Charter School Board Member Financial Responsibility Training. This regulation is 
required by passage of Senate Bill 308 from the 143rd General Assembly. This regulation outlines the financial 
responsibility training required for district and charter school board members.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business 
on or before November 5, 2007 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of 
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, DE 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the above 
address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state 

achievement standards? This regulation outlines the financial responsibility training of school board members and 
does not specifically address student achievement as measured against the state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? This 
regulation outlines the financial responsibility training of school board members and does not specifically address 
the assurance that all students receive and equitable education. 

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately 
protected? This regulation outlines the financial responsibility training of school board members and does not 
specifically address the health and safety of students.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? This 
regulation outlines the financial responsibility training of school board members and does not specifically address 
the assurance that all students' legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at 
the local board and school level? This regulation outlines the financial responsibility training of school board 
members and does not change any of the authority or flexibility of decision making at the local board or school 
level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or 
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? This regulation outlines the mandated 
financial responsibility training of school board members and does not change any of the reporting or 
administrative requirements upon local or school level decision makers. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? This regulation outlines the mandated financial responsibility training of school board 
members and does not change the entity where decision making authority or accountability currently lies. 

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of 
other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core 
academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? This regulation outlines the 
mandated financial responsibility training of school board members and is not an impediment to the implementation 
of other state educational policies. 

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? This regulation 
outlines the mandated financial responsibility training of school board members.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? 
There are no substantive additional costs to the State or local school boards for compliance with this regulation.

734 District School Board and Charter School Board Member Financial Responsibility Training

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to outline the criteria and process for the required financial responsibility 

training for members of district school boards including vocational technical school boards and the boards of 
charter schools pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1803. The purpose of the training is to instruct members of school boards in 
properly discharging their responsibility to insure that public funds, including both state and local funds, are 
appropriately managed and expended, and shall include training on state and local funding of public education.

2.0 Definitions
"Certificate of Completion" means the document provided by the Department of Education indicating the 

individual has attended and completed the School Board Financial Training.
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"Charter School Board" shall mean the charter school board of directors pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§503, 
504.

"District School Board" shall mean reorganized school district boards and vocational technical school 
district boards duly appointed or elected pursuant to Chapter 10 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code.

"School Board Member" shall mean a District School Board or Charter School Board member whether 
that person is elected, appointed, or is a volunteer.

"Trainer" means an individual approved by the Secretary of Education to provide the School Board 
Financial Training.

3.0 School Board Financial Training
3.1 The School Board Financial Training or Training means the educational programs, developed by 

the Department of Education, approved by the Office of Management and Budget and Controller General's Office 
for District School Board and Charter School Board members. This Training shall, at a minimum, consist of two (2) 
hours and cover the following topics:

3.1.1 Overview of education budget process and timelines;
3.1.2 Instruction in the basic rules of budgeting, including State of Delaware funds, local funds, 

and federal funds;
3.1.3 State Financial Management System; and
3.1.4 Reporting requirements.

4.0 District School Board and Charter School Board Financial Responsibility Training Requirement
4.1 Each member of a District School Board or Charter School Board shall attend and receive a 

Certificate of Completion for the School Board Financial Training within one (1) year of election, appointment, or 
voluntary service to a District School Board or Charter School Board.

4.2 An individual that attends Training and receives a Certificate of Completion shall be considered to 
meet the requirement of 4.1.

5.0 Schedule of School Board Financial Training
5.1 The Department shall annually publish a list of date(s) for Training. The Training shall be 

conducted by a Trainer as defined in this regulation.

6.0 Notification of Attendance
6.1 The Department shall periodically, but not less than annually, provide a list of those School Board 

Members that have not satisfied the requirement of 4.1 to their respective District School Board or Charter School 
Board President, the Office of Management and Budget, and Controller General's Office.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1522

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1522 Elementary School Counselor

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of 

Education, seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation DE Admin. Code 1522 
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Elementary School Counselor. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational personnel, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is necessary to amend this regulation given that the existing regulation reverted 
to DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate in June of 2006. This regulation sets forth the requirements for an 
Elementary School Counselor.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business 
on Wednesday October 31, 2007 to Mr. Charlie Michels, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards 
Board, The Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available 
from the above address or may be viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state 

achievement standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for 
the issuance of a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or 
education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students 
to help ensure that students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The 
amended regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have 
acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular 
subject or to instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately 
protected?   The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The 
amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students' legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at 
the local board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of 
decision makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or 
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place 
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and 
school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be 
regulated rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with 
the consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of 
other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core 
academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation will be 
consistent with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to 
state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, 
language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 
Del.C. requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted 
regulation?   There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1522 Elementary School Counselor

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), 

for Counselor Elementary School (Required in grades 1 to 6 and valid in a middle level school, grades 5 to 8).
7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
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“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the 

license is issued.
“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed 

knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of 
students.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Counselor 

Elementary School to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or 
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the 
following requirements:

3.1 Master's degree from a regionally accredited college or university in an approved program in 
Elementary School Counseling and,

3.2 A minimum of three years' professional experience in an elementary school setting; or three years 
of appropriate experience as approved by the Department of Education; or a supervised school counseling 
internship of one full year in an elementary school setting which is part of a graduate degree program in elementary 
school counseling, or arranged by the Department of Education. The internship may be completed over a two year 
period on a half time basis or,

3.3 A Master's degree from a regionally accredited college in any field and,
3.4 A minimum of 27 semester hours of graduate course work in the areas of: Principles and Practices 

of the Guidance Program, Individual Counseling Skills, Group Counseling Skills, Human Development, 
Developmental Group Guidance, Individual and Group Testing for Counselors, Supervised Practicum in 
Elementary School Counseling, Counseling Theory, Consultation, and

3.5 Experience as in 3.2.
7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard 

Certificate as a Counselor Elementary School after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 DE 
Admin. Code 1505.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. 

§1220(a), for Elementary School Counselor. This certification is required for grades 1 to 6, and is valid in grades 5 
to 8 in a Middle Level school.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin Code 1505 Standard 
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any 

subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

3.0 Standard Certificate
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an 

Elementary School Counselor to an educator who has met the following:
3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, 

Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and,
3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin Code 1505, Standard Certificate 

including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto: and
3.1.3 Has satisfied the additional requirements in this regulation.
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4.0 Additional Requirements
An educator must also meet the following:
4.1. Has satisfied at least one of the following additional education requirements:

4.1.1 Graduated from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation 
program or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the 
appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or 
university, with a Masters degree in Elementary School Counseling; or

4.1.2 Graduated from a regionally accredited college or university with a Masters degree in any 
content area and satisfactory completion of 27 semester hours of graduate course work in the areas of:

4.1.2.1 Principles and Practices of the School Counseling Program
4.1.2.2 Individual Counseling Skills
4.1.2.3 Group Counseling Skills
4.1.2.4 Human Development
4.1.2.5 Developmental Group Guidance
4.1.2.6 Individual and Group Testing for Counselors
4.1.2.7 Supervised Practicum in Elementary Counseling
4.1.2.8 Counseling Theory
4.1.2.9 Consultation; and

4.2 Has met at least one of the following experience requirements:
4.2.1 A minimum of three years professional experience in an elementary school setting; or, 
4.2.2 A minimum of three years of equivalent experience as approved by the Department of 

Education; or,
4.2.3 A supervised school counseling internship of one full year in an elementary school setting 

which is part of a graduate degree program in Elementary School Counseling or arranged by the Department of 
Education. The internship may be completed over a two year period on a half-time basis.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1530

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1530 Middle Level Teacher

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Repeal

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education 

seeks the approval of the State Board of Education to repeal Regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 1530 Middle Level 
Teacher as each of four core academic subject areas are regulated by individual certification regulations.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business 
on October 31, 2007 to Mr. Charlie Michels, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards Board, 401 
Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available from the above address or may be 
viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the repeal of the regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state 

achievement standards?  The repealed regulation concerns certification for educators, not student achievement.
2. Will the repeal of the regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education?  The 

repealed regulation concerns certification regulations for educators, not equitable education for students.
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3. Will the repeal of the regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately 
protected?  The repealed regulation concerns certification of educators, not students' health and safety.

4. Will the repeal of the regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The 
repealed regulation address educator certification, not students' legal rights.

5. Will the repealed regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at 
the local board and school level?  The repeal of the regulation will preserve the authority and flexibility of decision 
makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the repealed regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or 
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The repeal of the regulation will not place 
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and 
school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the regulation to be 
repealed rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration and cooperation with the Department of 
Education, and with the consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the repeal of the  regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of 
other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core 
academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies?  The repeal of the regulation will be 
consistent with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to 
state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, 
language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the repeal of regulation?  The 
repeal of regulation is designed to reduce the burden placed on school districts.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the repeal of the 
regulation?  There will be no cost to the state or to local school boards resulting from the repeal of the regulation.

1530 Middle Level Teacher

1.0 Content
 1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. 

§1220(a), for Middle Level Teacher (Grades 6 to 8).
7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1749 (6/1/04)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the license 

is issued.
“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) credits in the content area to be taught.
“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed 

knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of 
students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1749 (6/1/04)

3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Middle 

Level Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or 
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following 
requirements:

3.1 Degree Requirement
3.1.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university with a major or its 
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equivalent in the content area to be taught; and
3.1.1.1 Appropriate pedagogical content courses consistent with the NASDTEC 

or NCATE specialty organization standards for middle school or the content specialization to be taught;or
3.1.2 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university in an NCATE specialty 

organization or state approved program, where the state employed the appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty 
organization standards in Elementary or Middle School Education.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1749 (6/1/04)

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only.  Applicants who apply for a Standard 

Certificate as a middle level teacher after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. 
Code 1505.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1749 (6/1/04)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1531

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1531 Middle Level English Language Arts Teacher

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
New Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of 

Education, seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to adopt regulation DE Admin. Code 1531 Middle 
Level English Language Arts Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational 
personnel, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is necessary to adopt this regulation in order to complete the 
compilation of certification regulations of the Middle Level core academic subjects, and to align the certification with 
the Delaware English Language Arts Standards' grade level delineations and the corresponding Grade Level 
Expectations (GLE's). This regulation sets forth the requirements for a Middle Level English Language Arts 
Teacher.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business 
on Wednesday October 31, 2007 to Mr. Charlie Michels, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards 
Board, The Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available 
from the above address or may be viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the adopted regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state 

achievement standards?  The adopted regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for the 
issuance of a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education 
to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students to help 
ensure that students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the adopted regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The 
adopted regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have 
acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular 
subject or to instruct a particular category of students.
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3. Will the adopted regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately 
protected?   The adopted regulation addresses educator certification, not students' health and safety.

4. Will the adopted regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The 
adopted regulation addresses educator certification, not students' legal rights.

5. Will the adopted regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at 
the local board and school level? The adopted regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of 
decision makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the adopted regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or 
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The adopted regulation will not place 
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and 
school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be 
regulated rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with 
the consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the adopted regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of 
other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core 
academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The adopted regulation will be 
consistent with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to 
state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, 
language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation?  14 
Del.C. requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted 
regulation?   There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1531 Middle Level English Language Arts Teacher

1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. 

§1220(a), for Middle Level English Language Arts Teacher.  This certification is required for grades 6, 7 and 8 in a 
Middle Level school.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard 
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any 

subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

3.0 Standard Certificate
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a 

Middle Level English Language Arts Teacher to an educator who has met the following:
3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, 

Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and, 
3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, 

including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto.
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1532

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1532 Middle Level Mathematics Teacher

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of 

Education, seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation DE Admin. Code 1532 Middle 
Level Mathematics Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational personnel, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is necessary to amend this regulation in order to align the certification with the 
Delaware Mathematics Standards' grade level delineations and the corresponding Grade Level Expectations 
(GLE's). This regulation sets forth the requirements for a Middle Level Mathematics Teacher.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business 
on Wednesday October 31, 2007 to Mr. Charlie Michels, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards 
Board, The Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available 
from the above address or may be viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state 

achievement standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for 
the issuance of a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or 
education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students 
to help ensure that students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The 
amended regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have 
acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular 
subject or to instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately 
protected?   The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The 
amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students' legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at 
the local board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of 
decision makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or 
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place 
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and 
school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be 
regulated rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with 
the consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of 
other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core 
academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation will be 
consistent with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to 
state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, 
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language arts and social studies.
9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 

Del. C. requires that we promulgate this regulation.
10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted 

regulation?   There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1532 Middle Level Mathematics Teacher 

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), 

for Mathematics Teacher Middle Level (required for grades 7 to 8, and valid in grades 5 to 6 in a middle level 
school.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's 

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage 

in the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public 
schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and 
approved by the State Board. The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in 
a specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits 
or an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree 
program or apart from it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional development provider 
approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality 
expected of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her 
unfitness.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the 
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a 
particular content area. 

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and 
Certification. The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of 
education in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. 
Territories, New Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline 
of educational personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national 
accrediting body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of 
Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed 
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of 
students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or 

permanent certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired 
certificates or licenses issued from another state.
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7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)
10 DE Reg. 100 (07/01/06)

3.0 Standard Certificate
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Mathematics Teacher Middle Level to an educator 

who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or 
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following 
requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a 
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area, 
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation 
program or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the 
appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or 
university, with a major or its equivalent in Mathematics; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, 
the Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the 
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any 
content area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory 
completion of fifteen (15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, 
of which at least six (6) credits or their equivalent must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the 
approval of the employing school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of 
the Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the 
Standards Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the 
examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from 
another state in Mathematics;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under 
official investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where 
the alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, 
disloyalty or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant 
to 14 Del.C. §1203.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)
10 DE Reg. 100 (07/01/06)

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.
7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)
10 DE Reg. 100 (07/01/06)

5.0  Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if 

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all 

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.
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6.0  Application Procedures for License Holders
If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, 

Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard 
Certificates, only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or 
education required for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

7.0  Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically 

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before 
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status 
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status 
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The 
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the 
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited 
Standard Certificate. Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, 
but in no case later than December 31, 2008.

8.0  Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a 

certificate or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, 
Continuing, or Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in 
accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1514. An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full 
and fair hearing before the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the 
Standards Board’s Hearing Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or 

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard 
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the 
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or 
charter school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)
10 DE Reg. 100 (07/01/06)

1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate pursuant to 14 Del.C. 

§1220(a), for Middle Level Mathematics Teacher. This certification is required for grades 6, 7 and 8 in a Middle 
Level school.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard 
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any 

subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

3.0 Standard Certificate
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a 

Middle Level Mathematics Teacher to an educator who has met the following:
3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, 

Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and, 
3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, 

including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto.
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1533

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1533 Middle Level Science Teacher

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of 

Education, seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation DE Admin. Code 1533 Middle 
Level Science Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational personnel, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is necessary to amend this regulation in order to align the certification with the 
Delaware Science Standards' grade level delineations and the corresponding Grade Level Expectations (GLE's). 
This regulation sets forth the requirements for a Middle Level Science Teacher.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business 
on Wednesday October 31, 2007)) to Mr. Charlie Michels, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards 
Board, The Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available 
from the above address or may be viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state 

achievement standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for 
the issuance of a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or 
education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students 
to help ensure that students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The 
amended regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have 
acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular 
subject or to instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately 
protected?   The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The 
amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students' legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at 
the local board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of 
decision makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or 
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place 
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and 
school levels.  

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be 
regulated rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with 
the consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of 
other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core 
academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies?  The amended regulation will be 
consistent with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to 
state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, 
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language arts and social studies.
9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation?  14 

Del.C. requires that we promulgate this regulation.
10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted 

regulation?   There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1533 Middle Level Science Teacher

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), 

for Science Teacher Middle Level (required for grades 7 to 8, and valid in a middle level school, grades 5 to 6).

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's 

assignment or employment status.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage 

in the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public 
schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Standards Board and 
approved by the State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in 
a specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Fifteen (15) Credits or Their Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits 
or an equivalent number of hours, with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours, taken either as part of a degree 
program or apart from it, from a regionally accredited college or university or a professional development provider 
approved by the employing school district or charter school.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality 
expected of an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her 
unfitness;

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the 
license is used.

“Major or its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours of course work in a 
particular content area.  

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and 
Certification.  The organization represents professional standards boards, commissions and departments of 
education in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the U.S. 
Territories, New Zealand, and British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation, licensure, and discipline 
of educational personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national 
accrediting body for schools, colleges, and departments of education authorized by the U.S. Department of 
Education.

“Science Discipline” means those areas of science for which Delaware content standards have 
been established.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed 
knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of 
students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State” means a current full or 

permanent certificate or license issued by another state. It does not include temporary, emergency or expired 
certificates or licenses issued from another state.
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10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

3.0 Standard Certificate
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Middle School Science Teacher to an educator who 

holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, Standard or Professional 
Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 who has met the following requirements:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a 
particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in the area, 
subject, or category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation 
program or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the 
appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or 
university, with a major or its equivalent in any science discipline; or

3.1.3 Satisfactorily completing the Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program, 
the Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such other alternative educator preparation programs as the 
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.4 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any 
content area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their first Standard Certificate, satisfactory 
completion of fifteen (15) credits or their equivalent in professional development related to their area of certification, 
of which at least six (6) credits must focus on pedagogy, selected by the applicant with the approval of the 
employing school district or charter school which is submitted to the Department; and

3.2 For applicants applying after December 31, 2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of 
the Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, achieving a passing score as established by the 
Standards Board, in consultation with the Department and with the concurrence of the State Board, on the 
examination; or

3.3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and holding a valid and current license or certificate from 
another state in Middle School Science;

3.3.1 The Department shall not act on an application for certification if the applicant is under 
official investigation by any state or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where 
the alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, 
disloyalty or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant 
to 14 Del.C §1203.

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

4.0 Multiple Certificates
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.
7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 1139 (2/1/05)
10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

5.0 Application Requirements
An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 Official transcripts; and
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination if applicable and available; or
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if 

applicable; or
5.4 An official copy of the out of state license or certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all 

required documentation for that application in addition to the documentation cited above.
10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

6.0 Application Procedures for License Holders
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If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard, 
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard 
Certificates, only that documentation necessary to demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill or 
education required for the additional Standard Certificate requested is required.

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

7.0 Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of a Standard Certificate, except as specifically 

addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate issued on or before 
August 31, 2003 shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of their current Professional Status 
Certificate or Standard Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which they held a Professional Status 
Certificate or a Standard Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the Advanced License. The 
Department shall also recognize a Limited Standard Certificate issued prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the 
educator successfully completes the requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with the Limited 
Standard Certificate.  Requirements must be completed by the expiration date of the Limited Standard Certificate, 
but in no case later than December 31, 2008.

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder of a 

certificate or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It shall be revoked in the event the educator’s Initial, 
Continuing, or Advanced License or Limited Standard, Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in 
accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full 
and fair hearing before the Professional Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the 
Standards Board’s Hearing Procedures and Rules.

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of the superintendent of a local school district or 

charter school administrator or other employing authority, review credentials submitted in application for a Standard 
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the 
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or 
charter school administrator or other employing authority.

10 DE Reg. 100 (7/1/06)

1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate pursuant to 14 Del.C. 

§1220(a), for Middle Level Science Teacher.  This certification is required for grades 6, 7 and 8 in a Middle Level 
school.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin Code 1505 Standard 
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any 

subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

3.0 Standard Certificate
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a 

Middle Level Science Teacher to an educator who has met the following:
3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, 

Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and, 
3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin Code 1505 Standard Certificate, 

including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto.
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1534

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1534 Middle Level Social Studies Teacher

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
New Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of 

Education, seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to adopt regulation DE Admin. Code 1534 Middle 
Level Social Studies Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational personnel, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is necessary to adopt this regulation in order to complete the compilation of 
certification regulations of the Middle Level core academic subjects, and to align the certification with the Delaware 
Social Studies Standards' grade level delineations and the corresponding Grade Level Expectations (GLE's). This 
regulation sets forth the requirements for a Middle Level Social Studies Teacher.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business 
on Wednesday October 31, 2007 to Mr. Charlie Michels, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards 
Board, The Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available 
from the above address or may be viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the adopted regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state 

achievement standards? The adopted regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for the 
issuance of a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education 
to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students to help 
ensure that students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the adopted regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The 
adopted regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have 
acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular 
subject or to instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the adopted regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately 
protected?   The adopted regulation addresses educator certification, not students' health and safety.

4. Will the adopted regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The 
adopted regulation addresses educator certification, not students' legal rights.

5. Will the adopted regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at 
the local board and school level?  The adopted regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of 
decision makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the adopted regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or 
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The adopted regulation will not place 
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and 
school levels.  

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be 
regulated rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with 
the consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the adopted regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of 
other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core 
academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies?  The adopted regulation will be 
consistent with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/


PROPOSED REGULATIONS420
state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, 
language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 
Del.C. requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted 
regulation?  There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1534 Middle Level Social Studies Teacher

1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate pursuant to 14 Del.C. 

§1220(a), for Middle Level Social Studies Teacher.  This certification is required for grades 6, 7 and 8 in a Middle 
Level school.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin Code 1505 Standard 
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any 

subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

3.0 Standard Certificate
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a 

Middle Level Social Studies Teacher to an educator who has met the following:
3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, 

Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and,
3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, 

including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1545

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1545 Secondary School Counselor

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of 

Education, seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation DE Admin. Code 1545 
Secondary School Counselor. The regulation concerns the requirements for certification of educational personnel, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is necessary to amend this regulation given that the existing regulation reverted 
to DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate in June of 2006. This regulation sets forth the requirements for a 
Secondary School Counselor.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business 
on Wednesday October 31, 2007 to Mr. Charlie Michels, Executive Director, Delaware Professional Standards 
Board, The Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901. Copies of this regulation are available 
from the above address or may be viewed at the Professional Standards Board Business Office.
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C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state 

achievement standards? The amended regulation addresses student achievement by establishing standards for 
the issuance of a standard certificate to educators who have acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or 
education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of students 
to help ensure that students are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The 
amended regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach students meet high standards and have 
acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular 
subject or to instruct a particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately 
protected?   The amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The 
amended regulation addresses educator certification, not students' legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at 
the local board and school level? The amended regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of 
decision makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or 
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation will not place 
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and 
school levels. 

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be 
regulated rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with the Department of Education, and with 
the consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of 
other state educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core 
academic subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation will be 
consistent with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, in particular to 
state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, 
language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 
Del.C. requires that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted 
regulation?   There is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

1545 Secondary School Counselor

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), 

for Counselor Secondary School (Required in grades 9 to 12 and valid in a middle level school, grades 5 to 8).
7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the 

license is issued.
“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed 

knowledge, skill, or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a category of 
students.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)
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3.0 Standard Certificate
In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Counselor 

Secondary School to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or 
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the 
following requirements:

3.1 Master's degree from a regionally accredited college or university in an approved program in 
Secondary School Counseling and,

3.2 A minimum of three years' professional experience in a secondary school setting; or three years of 
appropriate experience as approved by the Department of Education; or a supervised school counseling internship 
of one full year in a secondary school setting which is part of a graduate degree program in secondary school 
counseling, or arranged by the Department of Education. The internship may be completed over a two year period 
on a half time basis or,

3.3 A Master's degree from a regionally accredited college in any field and,
3.4 A minimum of 27 semester hours of graduate course work in the areas of: Principles and Practices 

of the Guidance Program, Individual Counseling Skills, Group Counseling Skills, Career Development, Individual 
and Group Testing for Counselors, Human Development, Supervised Practicum in Secondary School Counseling, 
Counseling Theory, Consultation and,

3.5 Experience as in 3.2.
7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

4.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 only. Applicants who apply for a Standard 

Certificate as a Counselor Secondary after that date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. 
Code 1505.

7 DE Reg. 775 (12/1/03)

1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. 

§1220(a), for Secondary School Counselor. This certification is required for grades 9 to 12 and is valid in grades 5 
to 8 in a Middle Level school.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505, Standard 
Certificate including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any 

subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

3.0 Standard Certificate
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as a 

Secondary School Counselor to an educator who has met the following:
3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, 

Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and,
3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, 

including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto; and,
3.1.3 Has satisfied the additional requirements in this regulation.

4.0 Additional Requirements
An educator must also meet the following:
4.1. Has satisfied at least one of the following additional education requirements:

4.1.1 Graduated from an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator preparation 
program or from a state approved educator preparation program, where the state approval body employed the 
appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards, offered by a regionally accredited college or 
university, with a Masters degree in Secondary School Counseling; or

4.1.2 Graduated from a regionally accredited college or university with a Masters degree in any 
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content area and satisfactory completion of 27 semester hours of graduate course work in the areas of: 4.1.2 
Graduated from a regionally accredited college or university with a Masters degree in any content area and 
satisfactory completion of 27 semester hours of graduate course work in the areas of:

4.1.2.1 Principles and Practices of the School Counseling Program
4.1.2.2 Individual Counseling Skills
4.1.2.3 Group Counseling Skills
4.1.2.4 Human Development
4.1.2.5 Career Development
4.1.2.6 Individual and Group Testing for Counselors
4.1.2.7 Supervised Practicum in Elementary Counseling
4.1.2.8 Counseling Theory
4.1.2.9 Consultation; and

4.2 Has met at least one of the following experience requirements:
4.2.1 A minimum of three years professional experience in a secondary school setting; or,
4.2.2 A minimum of three years of equivalent experience as approved by the Department of 

Education; or,
4.2.3 A supervised school counseling internship of one full year in a secondary school setting 

which is part of a graduate degree program in Secondary School Counseling or arranged by the Department of 
Education. The internship may be completed over a two year period on a half-time basis.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Disabilities Services Eligibility Criteria

2100 Eligibility Criteria

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and 
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Developmental Disabilities Services (DDDS) is proposing to amend the 
eligibility criteria related to DDDS services.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, written testimony, written briefs 
or other written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Joseph B. Keyes, Ph.D., 
Applicant Services Unit; Division of Developmental Disabilities Services, 1052 S. Governor's Avenue, Suite 101, 
Dover, Delaware 19904 or by fax to (302) 744-9711 by November 2, 2007.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments at the Public Hearing 
and written materials filed by other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Statutory Authority
• Title 29, 7910
• Title 16, 5521, 5522

Summary of Proposed Changes
1) The definition/diagnosis of mental retardation has been modified to correspond with the American 

Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Classification Manual definition of 2002. The proposed 
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criteria, therefore, is consistent with the most current diagnostic nomenclature in the field of developmental 
disabilities.

2) Asperger's Disorder has been added to the eligibility criteria. Currently, DDDS includes Autism in 
the eligibility criteria. Recently, there has been a national effort at viewing autism as a spectrum of disorders of 
which both Autism and Asperger's are considered core disorders. From a programmatic and service delivery 
standpoint, Asperger's fits in the DDDS service system model. The addition of Asperger's Disorder to the Division's 
eligibility criteria is also consistent with what some other states are doing and with what the Department of 
Education did in adding Asperger's Disorder to its Autism special education classification.

3) Addition of two legal requirement statements: a) "citizen or a lawful alien of the United States"; b) 
"resident of the State of Delaware". This is consistent with Delaware Code regarding eligibility for state services 
and consistent with Department policy.

2100 Eligibility Criteria

The Division of Developmental Disabilities Services provides services to those individuals who meets all of 
the following conditions:

(A)    (i) is attributable to mental retardation (1992 AAMR definition) 
and/or

(ii) Autism (DSM IV) and/or
(iii) Prader Willi (documented medical diagnosis) and/or
(iv) brain injury (individual meets all criteria of the 1992 AAMR definition including age 

manifestation) and/or
(v) is attributable to a neurological condition closely related to mental retardation because 

such condition results in an impairment of general intellectual functioning and adaptive behavior similar to persons 
with mental retardation and requires treatment and services similar to those required for persons with impairments 
of general intellectual functioning:

(B) is manifested before age 22
(C) is expected to continue indefinitely;
(D) results in substantial functional limitations in 2 or more of the following adaptive skill areas

1) communication;
2) self-care;
3) home living;
4) social skills;
5) community use;
6) self-direction;
7) health and safety;
8) functional academics;
9) leisure;
10) work; and 

(E) reflects the need for lifelong and individually planned services.
Intellectual functioning, and adaptive behavior is determined by using tests approved by the Division.
4 DE Reg. 228 (7/1/00)

1.0 The Division of Developmental Disabilities Services provides services to those individuals with a 
developmental disability who meets all of the following criteria:

1.1 citizen or a lawful alien of the United States
1.2 a resident of the State of Delaware
1.3 a disability/disorder attributed to one or more of the following:

1.3.1 Mental Retardation; defined as a significant generalized limitation in intellectual 
functioning. Significant generalized limitation in intellectual functioning is defined as IQ scores approximately two 
standard deviations below the mean. (American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities; 
Classification Manual, 2002); and/or

1.3.2 Autistic Disorder (299.00; American Psychiatric Association; Diagnostic & Statistical 
Manual - IV, 1994); and/or
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1.3.3 Asperger's Disorder (299.80; American Psychiatric Association; Diagnostic & Statistical 
Manual - IV, 1994); and/or

1.3.4 Prader-Willi Syndrome (documented medical diagnosis; World Health Organization; 
International Classification of Diseases - 9)

1.3.5 Brain injury or neurological condition related to mental retardation that meets: a) a 
significant generalized impairment in intellectual functioning (defined in 1.3.1); b) significant limitations in adaptive 
behavior functioning (defined in 1.4); and c) originates before age 22 (defined in 1.5)

1.4 significant limitations in adaptive behavior functioning
1.4.1 Significant limitations in adaptive behavior functioning is defined as performance that is at 

least two standard deviations below the mean of either:
1.4.1.1 Score on a standardized measure of conceptual, social, or practical skills; or
1.4.1.2 Overall score on a standardized measure of conceptual, social and practical skills

1.5 the disability originates before age 22
1.6 The requirements of 1.3 through 1.5 of this section shall not apply to any client who is receiving 

services on the effective date of these regulations and who meets the requirements of 1.1 and 1.2 of this section 
and the requirements of the regulations under which the client initially established eligibility.

2.0 Intellectual functioning, adaptive behavior functioning, Autistic Disorder, and Asperger's Disorder shall be 
established and based on the use of standardized assessment instruments accepted by the Division.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Pharmaceutical Services Program – Tamper-Resistant Prescription Pads

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and 
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is amending the Delaware Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Manuals to bring the Medicaid regulations into compliance with new Federal 
law.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & 
Policy Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by October 31, 2007. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL 

Statutory Authority

Public Law 110-28, U.S. Troop Readiness, Veterans’ Care, Katrina Recovery, and Iraq Accountability 
Appropriations Act of 2007, signed into law on May 25, 2007

Background

The federal U.S. Troop Readiness, Veterans’ Care, Katrina Recovery, and Iraq Accountability 
Appropriations Act of 2007 provides that effective October 1, 2007, federal Medicaid funding shall not be available 
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for any amounts expended for prescription drugs for which the prescription was executed in written and non-
electronic form unless the prescription was executed on a tamper-resistant pad.

To be in compliance with the federal mandate, for prescription drug claims with dates of service on or after 
October 1, 2007, Delaware Medicaid must be in compliance with this section of the Social Security Act by requiring 
the use of tamper proof prescription pads: §1903(i) – Payment under the preceding provisions of this section shall 
not be made: “(23) with respect to amounts expended for medical assistance for covered outpatient drugs (as 
defined in section 1927(k)(2) for which the prescription was executed in written (and non-electronic) form unless 
the prescription was executed on a tamper-resistant pad.”

On August 17, 2007, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), issued a letter to State 
Medicaid Directors with guidance on implementing the new requirement. CMS has outlined three baseline 
characteristics of tamper-resistant prescription pads, but each State will define which features it will require to meet 
those characteristics in order to be considered tamper-resistant. The baseline characteristics are one or more 
industry-recognized features that: (1) prevent unauthorized copying of a completed or blank prescription form; (2) 
prevent the erasure or modification of information written on the prescription by the prescriber; (3) and prevent the 
use of counterfeit prescription forms. On October 1, 2007, States must require at least one of these baseline 
requirements. Then, no later than October 1, 2008, States must require all three characteristics on prescription 
pads in order to be considered tamper-resistant. 

The letter to State Medicaid Directors outlines situations where the new requirement does and does not 
apply. The requirement does not apply: when the prescription is electronic, faxed, or verbal; when a managed care 
entity pays for the prescription; or in most situations when drugs are provided in certain institutional and clinical 
facilities. The letter also allows emergency fills as long as a prescriber provides a verbal, faxed, electronic, or 
compliant prescription within 72 hours. This restriction applies to all outpatient drugs, including over-the-counter 
drugs in States that reimburse for prescriptions for such items.

Summary of Proposed Regulation

The Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) provider policies are revised to comply with Public 
Law 110-28 known as the U.S. Troop Readiness, Veterans’ Care, Katrina Recovery, and Iraq Accountability 
Appropriations Act of 2007 requiring prescriptions in written form to be executed on tamper-resistant prescription 
pads in order to qualify for reimbursement by the DMAP. Currently, there is no rule in place to require that written 
prescriptions be printed on certain types of paper, which cannot be copied. The requirement does not apply to 
prescriptions transmitted by telephone, facsimile, or electronic prescribing. 

A. Beginning October 1, 2007, DMAP will require that a tamper-resistant prescription pad must 
contain at least one of the following three CMS defined characteristics:

1. One or more industry-recognized features designed to prevent unauthorized copying of a
completed or blank prescription form;

2. One or more industry-recognized features designed to prevent the erasure or modification
of information written on the prescription by the prescriber;

3. One or more industry-recognized features designed to prevent the use of counterfeit
prescription forms.

B. Appropriate DMAP Provider Manuals will be updated to provide additional detail
including examples of features, which comply with the above requirements.

Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) provider manuals and official notices are available for 
downloading from the DMAP website: www.dmap.state.de.us or EDS Pharmacy Services may be contacted at 
(800) 999-3371- Select #0, then #1.

This proposed regulation is also published concurrently herein under “Emergency Regulations”.
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DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #07-49
REVISIONS:

(Regulation Number will be assigned pending further review and analysis by Department staff) 

Effective October 1, 2007, Section 1903(i) of the Social Security Act requires that written (non-electronic) 
prescriptions for covered outpatient drugs for Medicaid clients be executed on a tamper-resistant pad in order to be 
eligible for federal matching funds. To meet this requirement, DMAP will only reimburse for covered Medicaid 
outpatient drugs when the written (non-electronic) prescription is executed on a tamper-resistant pad, or the 
prescription is electronic, faxed, or verbal.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan Attachment 4.19-D Reimbursement Methodology for Nursing Facilities

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code), and with 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 
512, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is 
proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding the reimbursement methodology for nursing 
facilities.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & 
Policy Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by October 31, 2007.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

Summary of Proposal

Statutory Authority
42 CFR Part 447, Subpart B - Payment Methods- General Provisions;
42 CFR Part 447, Subpart C - Payment for Inpatient Hospital and Long-Term Care Facility Services; and,
42 CFR §447.205, Public Notice of Changes in Statewide Methods and Standards for Setting Payment 

Rates.

Summary of Proposed State Plan Amendment
The purpose of this amendment is to update the Prospective Reimbursement System for Long Term Care 

Facilities to be consistent with the policies of the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA). DMMA is 
not changing existing policies or procedures, but clarifying the Medicaid State Plan to reflect current practices, as 
follows:

• To clarify the designations of Peer Groups consistently throughout Attachment 4.19-D.
• To allow public facilities to be included in Peer Groups A or B at the discretion of the Medicaid 

Director. This allows a public facility to be established as an individual per diem rate in Peer 
Groups A or B.

• To clarify existing regulatory language referring to Peer Group C's rate methodology.
• To provide language explaining the Medicaid Director's right to waive any provision of Attachment 
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4.19-D if it is necessary to ensure the health and safety of nursing facility residents.

The provisions of this amendment are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS).

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATIONS #07-47
REVISIONS:

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
Page 1

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES

PROSPECTIVE REIMBURSEMENT SYSTEM
FOR LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES

STATE PLAN AMENDMENT 4.19-D

I. General Provisions 

A. Purpose

This plan establishes a reimbursement system for long-term care facilities that complies with 
federal requirements, including but not limited to: 

• Requirements of the Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1981 that nursing facility provider 
reimbursements be reasonable and adequate to assure an efficient and economically 
operated facility. 

• The requirement that Medicaid payments in the aggregate do not exceed what would have 
been paid by Medicare based on allowable cost principles. 

• Limitations on the revaluation of assets subsequent to a change of ownership since July 
18, 1984. 

• Requirements of the Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1987 to establish one level of nursing 
care, i.e., Nursing Facility Care, to eliminate the designation of Skilled and Intermediate 
Care, and to provide sufficient staff to meet these requirements. 

• The requirement to employ only nurse aides who have successfully completed a training 
and competency evaluation program or a competency evaluation program. 

B. Reimbursement Principles 

1. Providers of nursing facility care shall be reimbursed prospectively determined per 
diem rates based on a patient based classification system. Providers of ICF-MR 
and ICF-IMD services shall be reimbursed prospectively determined per diem 
rates.
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
   Page 2 

2. The Delaware Medicaid Program shall reimburse qualified providers of long-term 
care based on the individual Medicaid recipient's days of care multiplied by the 
applicable per diem rate for that patient's classification less any payments made 
by recipients or third parties. 

II. Rate Determination for Nursing Facilities

A. Basis for Reimbursement 

Per Diem reimbursement for nursing facility services shall be composed of five prospectively 
determined rate components that reimburse providers for primary patient care, secondary patient 
care, support services, administration, and capital costs.

The primary patient care component of the per diem rate is based on the nursing care costs related 
specifically to each patient's classification. In addition to assignment to case mix classifications, 
patients may qualify for supplementary primary care reimbursement based on their characteristics and 
special service needs. Primary care component reimbursement for each basic patient classification 
will be the same for each facility within a group. A schedule of primary rates, including rate additions, 
is established for each of three groups of facilities: For the purpose of establishing rates, nursing 
facilities shall be divided into groups of like facilities for which a schedule of primary rates, including 
rate additions, is established for each group:

• Private facilities in New Castle County
• Private facilities in Kent and Sussex Counties
• Public facilities

Payment for the secondary, support, administrative, and capital costs comprise the base rate, and is 
unique to each facility. Provider costs are reported annually to Medicaid and are used to establish rate 
ceilings for the secondary, support, and administrative cost centers in each provider group.

The sections that follow provide specific details on rate computation for each of the five rate 
components.

B. Rate Components

Payment for services based on the sum of five rate components. The rate components are defined as: 

• Primary Patient Care. This cost center encompasses all costs that are involved in the provision of 
basic nursing care for nursing home patients and is inclusive of nursing staff salaries, fringe 
benefits, and training costs. All nurses' salaries, fringe benefits, and training for staff with duties 

Peer Group A Private facilities in New Castle County and public 
facilities located in New Castle County at the dis-
cretion of the Medicaid Director

Peer Group B Private facilities in Kent and Sussex Counties and 
public facilities located in Kent and Sussex Coun-
ties at the discretion of the Medicaid Director

Peer Group C Public facilities operated by the State of Delaware
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that count towards the minimum staff requirements will be included in this cost center.

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
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• Secondary Patient Care. This cost center encompasses other patient care costs that directly 
affect patient health status and quality of care and is inclusive of clinical consultants, social 
services, raw food, medical supplies, and non prescription drugs, dietitian services, dental 
services (in public facilities only), and activities personnel. 

• Support Services. This cost center includes costs for departments that provide supportive 
services other than medical care and is inclusive of dietary, operation and maintenance of the 
facility, housekeeping, laundry and linen, and patient recreation. 

• Administrative. This category includes costs that are not patient related and is inclusive of owner/
administrator salary, medical and nursing director salary (excluding such time spent in direct 
patient care), administrative salaries, medical records, working capital, benefits associated with 
administrative personnel, home office expenses, management of resident personal funds, and 
monitoring and resolving patient's rights issues.

• Capital. This category includes costs related to the purchase and lease of property, plant and 
equipment and is inclusive of lease costs, mortgage interest, property taxes and depreciation. 

C. Excluded Services

Those services to residents of private long term care facilities that are ordinarily billed directly by 
practitioners will continue to be billed separately and are not covered by the rate component 
categories. This includes prescription drugs, Medicare Part B covered services, physician services, 
hospitalization and dental services, laboratory, radiology, and certain ancillary therapies. 

For public facilities, laboratory, radiology, prescription drugs, physician services, dental services, and 
ancillary therapies may be included in the per diem.

Costs of training and certification of nurse aides are billed separately by the facilities as they are 
incurred, and reimbursed directly by Medicaid. 

D. Primary Payment Component Computations 

The primary patient care rate component is based on a patient index system in which all nursing home 
patients are classified into patient classes. The lowest resource intensive clients are placed in the 
lowest class. 
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The Department will assign classes to nursing home patients. Initial classification of patients occurs 
through the State's pre-admission screening program. These initial classifications will be reviewed by 
Department nurses within 31 to 45 days after assignment. Patient classification will then be reviewed 
twice a year. Facilities will receive notices from the Department concerning class changes and 
relevant effective dates. 

1. In order to establish the patient classification for reimbursement, patients are 
evaluated and scored by Medicaid review nurses according to the specific amount of 
staff assistance needed in Activity of Daily Living (ADL) dependency areas. These 
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include Bathing, Eating, Mobility/Transfer/Toileting. Potential scores are as follows: 

0 - Independent 
1 - Supervision (includes verbal cueing and occasional staff standby) 
2 - Moderate assistance (requires staff standby/physical presence) 
3 - Maximum Assistance 

Patients receiving moderate or maximum assistance will be considered "dependent"
in that ADL area. Patients receiving supervision will not be considered dependent. 
Reimbursement is determined by assigning the patient to a patient classification 
based on their ADL scores or range of scores. 

Each patient classification is related to specific nursing time factors. These time 
factors are multiplied by the 75th percentile nurse wage in each provider group to 
determine the per diem rate for each classification. 

2. Patients receiving an active rehabilitative/preventive program as defined and 
approved by the Department shall be reimbursed an additional 20% of the primary 
care rate component.

      To be considered for the added reimbursement allowed under this provision, a facility 
must develop and prepare an individual rehabilitative/preventive care plan.This plan 
of care must contain rehabilitative/preventive care programs as described in a 
Department approved list of programs. The services must seek to address specific 
activity of daily living and other functional problems of the patient. The care plan must 
also indicate specific six month and one-year patient goals, and must have a 
physician's approval. 
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The Department will evaluate new facility-developed rehabilitative/preventive care 
plans during its patient classification reviews of nursing homes. 

Interim provisional approval of plans can be provided by Department review nurses. 
When reviewed, the Department will examine facility documentation on the provision 
of rehabilitative/preventive services to patients with previously approved care plans as 
well as progress towards patient goals. 

3. Patients exhibiting disruptive psycho social behaviors on a frequent basis as defined 
and classified by the Department shall receive an additional 10 percent of the primary 
care rate component for the appropriate classification 

The specific psychosocial behaviors that will be considered for added reimbursement 
under this provision are those that necessitate additional nursing staff intervention in 
the provision of personal and nursing care. Such behaviors include: verbal and 
physically disruptive actions, inappropriate social behavior, non-territorial wandering, 
and any other similar patient problems as designated by the Department. 

Facilities must have complete documentation on frequency of such behaviors in a 
patient's chart for the Department to consider the facility for added reimbursement 
under this provision. This documentation will be evaluated during patient classification 
reviews of a nursing home. 
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4. Patient class rates are determined based on the time required to care for patients in 
each classification, and nursing wage, fringe benefit, and training costs tabulated 
separately for private facilities in New Castle County, private facilities in Kent and 
Sussex Counties, and public facilities statewide. each facility peer group.

      Primary rates are established by the following methodology: 

• Annual wage surveys and cost reports required of each provider are used to 
determine 75th percentile hourly nursing wages for Peer Groups A and B. For Peer 
Group C, wage surveys and cost reports are combined and treated as one facility 
prior to determining the 75th percentile. 

The cost report used in the calculations will represent the fiscal year ending June 30th 
of the previous reimbursement year. The Delaware reimbursement year, for purposes 
of rate setting, is from January 1 through December 31 for private facilities and 
October 1 through September 30 for State facilities. for Peer Groups A and B, and 
October 1 through September 30 for Peer Group C.
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This is calculated by first dividing total pay by total hours for each nursing 
classification (RN, LPN, Aide) in each facility, then arraying them to determine the 
75th percentile within each provider group. Based on cost data from each provider 
group, hourly wage rates are adjusted to include hourly training and fringe benefit 
costs within each provider group.

• In each of the three provider groups (private facilities in New Castle County, Kent and 
Sussex Counties, and public facilities), provider peer groups the rates are established 
in the same manner.

The primary component of the Medicaid nursing home rate is determined by 
multiplying the 75th percentile hourly nursing wage for RNs, LPNs, and Aides by 
standard nursing time factors for each of the base levels of patient acuity. 

• Providers will be reimbursed for agency nurse costs if their use of agency nurses does 
not exceed the allowable agency nurse cap determined each year by the Delaware 
Medicaid staff. Any nursing cost incurred in excess of the allowable cap will not be 
included in the nursing cost calculation.

• Within each of the patient classes, Medicaid provides "Incentive add-ons" to 
encourage rehabilitative and preventive programs. Rehabilitative and preventive 
services shall be reimbursed an additional 20% of the primary care rate component. 
Incentive payments discourage the deterioration of patients into higher classifications.

• Patients exhibiting disruptive psychosocial behaviors on a frequent basis as defined 
by the Department and are receiving an active rehabilitation/preventive program as 
defined and approved by the Department shall be reimbursed an additional 10% of the 
rehabilitative/preventive primary care rate component.

E. Non-primary Rate Component Computations 

Facility rates for the four non-primary components of secondary, support, administrative, and capital 
are computed from annual provider cost report data on reimbursable costs. Reimbursable costs are 
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defined to be those that are allowable based on Medicare principles, according to HIM 15. Costs 
applicable to services, facilities, and supplies furnished to a provider by commonly owned, controlled 
or related organizations shall not exceed the lower cost of comparable services purchased elsewhere.
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The cost report used in the calculations will represent the fiscal year ending June 30th of the previous 
reimbursement year. The Delaware reimbursement year, for purposes of rate setting is from January 1 
through December 31 for private facilities and October 1 through September 30 for State facilities. Peer 
Groups A and B and October 1 through September 30 for Peer Group C.

• Individual allowable cost items from cost reports for each facility comprising the base rate 
component are summed and divided by patient days. For established facilities, the patient day 
amount used in this computation equal actual patient days or estimated days based on a 90 
percent occupancy of Medicaid certified beds, whichever is greater. The day amount for new 
facilities¹ equals actual patient days for the period of operation, or estimated days based on a 
75 percent occupancy of Medicaid certified beds, whichever is greater. This applies to cost 
centers comprising the basic rate.

The discussion that follows explains rate computation for the secondary, support, 
administrative and capital payment centers.

1. Secondary patient care rates are reimbursed according to the cost of care determined 
prospectively up to a calculated ceiling (115 percent of median per diem costs). Three 
steps Using the same facility peer grouping that was determined for the calculation of 
the primary care payment component, the following steps are required:

• Facilities are grouped into three peer groups - private facilities in New Castle County, 
private facilities in Kent and Sussex Counties, and public facilities.

• Individual allowable cost items from cost reports for each facility comprising the 
secondary care component are summed and divided by patient days. For established 
facilities, the patient day amount used in this computation equals actual patient days 
or estimated days based on a 90 percent occupancy of Medicaid certified beds, 
whichever is greater. The day amount for new facilities¹ equals actual patient days for 
the period of operation, or estimated days based on a 75 percent occupancy of 
Medicaid certified beds, whichever is greater.

• The median per diem cost is determined for each category of facility and inflated by 
15 percent. The secondary care per diem assigned to a facility is the actual allowable 
cost up to a maximum of 115 percent of the median.

2. Support service component rates are determined in a manner that parallels the 
secondary component rate calculation process. However, the ceiling is set at 110 
percent of median support costs per day for the appropriate category of facility. In 
addition, facilities, which maintain costs below the cap, are entitled to an incentive 
payment 25 percent of the difference between the facility's actual per day cost and the 
applicable cap, up to a maximum incentive of 5 percent of the cap amount.

* "New facility" is defined as: (1) New construction built to provide a new service of 
either intermediate or skilled nursing care for which the existing facility has never 
before been certified, or (2) construction of an entirely new facility totally and 
administratively independent of an existing facility.
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3. Administrative component rates are determined in a manner parallel to the secondary 
component. However, the ceiling is set at 105 percent of median costs per day. A 
facility is entitled to an incentive payment of 50 percent of the difference between its 
actual costs and the cap. The incentive payment is limited to 10 percent of the ceiling 
amount.

 
4. Capital component rates are determined prospectively and are subject to a rate floor 

and rate ceiling. The dollar amounts representing the 20th percentile of actual per 
diem capital cost (floor) and the 80th percentile of actual per diem capital cost (ceiling) 
are calculated. If the facility's costs are greater than or equal to the floor, and less than 
or equal to the ceiling, the facility's prospective rate is equal to its actual cost. If the 
facility's costs are below the floor, the prospective rate is equal to the lower of the floor 
or actual cost plus twenty-five percent of actual cost. If the facility's costs are greater 
than the ceiling, the prospective rate is equal to the higher of the ceiling or ninety-five 
percent of actual cost. Costs associated with revaluation of assets of a facility will not 
be recognized.

The capital component is also subject to the occupancy standards as set forth in 
section II.E. of State Plan Amendment 4.19-D. The capital component rate is 
calculated on a statewide basis.

5. Where services are currently contracted by the nursing facility to a practitioner, 
additional services may be billed directly. These services are not covered by the rate 
component categories for private facilities, but may be included in the rate for public 
facilities. These services include therapies, physician services, dental services and 
prescription drugs.

F. Computation of Total Rate from Components

A facility's secondary, support, administrative, and capital payments will be summed and called its 
basic rate. The total rate for a patient is then determined by adding the primary rate for which a patient 
qualifies to the facility's basic rate component. The basic payment amount will not vary across patients 
in a nursing home. However, the primary payment will depend on a patient's class and qualification for 
added rehabilitative/preventive and/or psychosocial reimbursement.

G. OBRA '87 Additional Costs 

     1. Nurse Aide Training and Certification

Providers of long-term care services will be reimbursed directly for the reasonable 
costs of training, competency testing and certification of nurse aides in compliance 
with the requirements of OBRA '87. The training and competency testing must be in a 
program approved by the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, 
Division of Public Health. A "Statement of Reimbursement Cost of Nurse Aide 
Training" is submitted to the state by each facility quarterly. 
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Costs reported on the Statement of Reimbursement Cost are reimbursed directly and claimed by the 
State as administrative costs. They include:
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 435
• Costs incurred in testing and certifying currently employed nurse aides, i.e., testing fees, 
tuition, books, and training materials. 

• Costs of providing State approved training or refresher training in preparation for the 
competency evaluation testing to employed nurse aides who have not yet received 
certification.

• Salaries of in-service instructors to conduct State approved training programs for the 
portion of their time involved with training, or fees charged by providers of a State 
approved training program. 

• Costs of transporting nurse aides from the nursing facility to a testing or training site. 

The following costs of nurse aide training are considered operational, and will be reported annually on 
the Medicaid cost report. These costs will be reimbursed through the Primary cost component of the 
per diem rate.

• Salaries of nurse aides while in training or competency evaluation. 

• Costs of additional staff to replace nurse aides participating in training or competency 
evaluation. 

• Continuing education of nurse aides following certification. 

2. Additional Nurse Staff Requirements

Additional nurse staff required by a nursing facility to comply with the requirements of 
OBRA '87 will be reimbursed under the provisions of the Delaware Medicaid Patient 
Index Reimbursement System (PIRS). This system makes no distinction between 
levels of care for reimbursement. Nursing costs are derived from average hourly 
wage, benefit, and training cost data provided on the Nursing Wage Survey submitted 
by each facility. Prospective rates for each patient acuity classification are calculated 
by these costs by the minimum nursing time factors. Although representative of actual 
costs incurred, these prospectively determined rates are independent of the number 
employed or the number of staff vacancies at any given time.

3. Additional Non-Nursing Requirements 

The Delaware Medicaid reimbursement system will recognize the incremental costs of 
additional staff and services incurred by nursing facilities to comply with
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the mandates of OBRA '87. Prospective rate calculations will be adjusted to account 
for costs incurred on or after October 1, 1990.

Where services are currently contracted by the nursing facility to a practitioner, 
additional services may be billed directly. These services are not covered by the rate 
component categories (for private facilities, but may be included in the rate for public 
facilities.) These services include therapies, physician services, dental services, and 
prescription drugs.

A supplemental schedule to the Statement of Reimbursement Costs (Medicaid Cost 
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Report) will be submitted by each facility to demonstrate projected staff and service 
costs required to comply with OBRA'87. For the rate year beginning October 1, 1990, 
facilities may project full year costs onto prior year reported actual costs to be included 
in the rate calculation.

The supplemental schedule will be used to project costs incurred for programs 
effective October 1, 1990 into the prospective reimbursement rates. Where nursing 
care facilities indicate new and anticipated staff positions, those costs will be included 
with the actual SFY '90 costs when calculating the reimbursement rates effective 
October 1, 1990.

Additional staff requirements include dietitian, medical director, medical records, 
activities personnel, and social worker. 

H. Hold Harmless Provision

For the first year under the patient index reimbursement system the Department will have in effect a 
hold-harmless provision. The purpose of the provision is to give facilities an opportunity to adjust their 
operations to the new system. Under this provision, no facility will be paid less by Medicaid under the 
patient index system than it would have been paid had Federal Fiscal Year 1988 rates, adjusted by an 
inflation factor, been retained.

For the period October 1, 1990 to September 30, 1991, the Department will have in effect a hold-
harmless provision with respect to capital reimbursement rates. The purpose of this provision is to give 
facilities an opportunity to adjust their operations to the new system. Under this provision, facilities will 
be paid the greater of the rate under the prospective capital rate methodology or the rate based on 
reimbursable costs. Beginning October 1, 1991, all facilities will be subject to the prospective capital 
rate methodology described in Section II, E.4.

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
      Page 11

I. Annual Rate Recalculation

1. Primary Payment Component

Rates for the primary patient care component will be rebased annually. Two sources 
of provider-supplied data will be used in this rate rebasing:

• An annual nursing wage and salary survey that the Department will conduct of all 
Medicaid-participating nursing facilities in Delaware.

• Nursing home cost report data on nurses' fringe benefits and training costs.

For Peer Groups A and B, The the 75th percentile wages will be redetermined 
annually from the wage and salary survey, and the standard nurse time factors will be 
applied for each patient classification. The cost report and wage and salary survey will 
be for the previous year ending June 30. For Peer Group C, wage surveys and cost 
reports are combined and treated as one facility prior to determining the 75th 
percentile.

2. Non-Primary Payment Components

The payment caps for the secondary, support, and administrative components will be 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 437
rebased every fourth year using the computation methods specified in Section E 
above. For the interim periods between rebasing, the payment caps will be inflated 
annually based on reasonable inflation estimates as published by the Department. 
Facility-specific payment rates for these cost centers shall then be calculated using 
these inflated caps and cost report data from the most recently available cost 
reporting period.

The capital floor and ceiling will be rebased annually.

3. Inflation Adjustment

Per Diem caps for primary, secondary, support and administrative cost centers will be 
adjusted each year by inflation indices. The inflation indices will be obtained from a 
recognized source and based on an appropriate index for the primary cost center and 
the following cost centers: secondary, support and administrative.

The inflation factors are applied to the actual nursing wage rates to compensate for 
the annual inflation in nursing costs. This adjustment is made before the nurse training 
and benefits are added and the wages are multiplied by the standard nurse time 
factors.
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Examples of inflation rates indices that may be used includes but is not limited to:

1. Department of Economics, University of Delaware Health Care Index (or other similar 
university research centers' index)

2. U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Consumer Price Index 

3. CMS Prospective Payment System-Skilled Nursing Facility Input Price Index

4. CMS Excluded Hospital 2002 Input Price Index

5. CMS Excluded Hospital with Capital Input Price Index

6. CMS Rehabilitation, Psychiatric, and Long Term Care Hospital with Capital Input Price 
Index

Cost center caps are used to set an upper limit on the amount a provider will be reimbursed for 
the costs in the secondary, support, and administrative cost centers. Initially, these caps are 
computed by determining the median value of the provider's actual daily costs, then adjusting 
upwardly according to the particular cost center. The Secondary cost center cap is 115% of 
the provider group median, and Administrative costs are capped at 105% of the median. 
Delaware Medicaid will recalculate non-primary cost center caps every fourth year. The next 
rebase will be for rates effective January 1, 2008 for Peer Groups A and B and October 1, 
2007 for Peer Group C. In interim rate years, these cost center caps will not be recomputed. 
Instead, cost center caps will be adjusted by inflation factors. The inflation index provided by a 
recognized source will be applied to the current cap in each cost center in each provider group 
to establish the new cap. The actual reported costs will be compared to the cap. Facilities with 
costs above the cap will receive the amount of the cap.
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 J. Medicare Aggregate Upper Limitations

The State of Delaware assures CMS that in no case shall aggregate payments made under this plan, 
inclusive of DEFRA capital limitations, exceed the amount that would have been paid under Medicare 
principles of reimbursement. As a result of a change of ownership, on or after July 18, 1984, the State 
will not increase payments to providers for depreciation, interest on capital and return on equity, in the 
aggregate, more than the amount that would be recognized under section 1861(v)(1)(0) of the Social 
Security Act. Average projected rates of payment shall be tested against such limitations. In the event 
that average payment rates exceed such limitations, rates shall be reduced for those facilities 
exceeding Medicare principles as applied to all nursing facilities.
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III. Rate Determination ICF/MR and ICF/IMD Facilities

Delaware will recalculate the prospective per diem rates for ICF/MRs and ICF/IMDs annually for the 
reimbursement year, January 1 through December 31 for private facilities Peer Groups A and B and 
October 1 through September 30 for public facilities Peer Group C. ICF/MR and ICF/IMD facilities shall 
be reimbursed actual total per diem costs determined prospectively up to a ceiling. The ceiling is set at 
the 75th percentile of the distribution of costs of the facilities in each class. There are four (4) classes 
of facilities, which are: Within Peer Groups A, B, and C defined in section II.A., there are additional 
classifications of facilities that affect reimbursement. They are:

1. Public ICF/MR facilities of 8 beds or less.
2. Public ICF/MR facilities of greater than 8 beds.
3. Private ICF/MR facilities of 60 beds or less.
4. Public ICF/IMD facilities.

These facilities will fall into the peer group that matches their geographic location within the state. 
Facilities classified as ICF/MR or ICF/IMD shall be reimbursed their actual total per diem costs 
determined prospectively up to a ceiling. The ceiling is set at the 75th percentile of the distribution of 
costs of the facilities in each class.

An inflation factor (as described in II.H.I.3 above) will be applied to prior year's costs to determine the 
current year's rate.

IV. Rate Reconsideration

A. Primary Rate Component

Long-term care providers shall have the right to request a rate reconsideration for alleged patient 
misclassification relating to the Department's assignment of the case mix classification. Conditions for 
reconsideration are specified in the Department's nursing home appeals process as specified in the 
long-term care provider manual.

1. Exclusions from Reconsideration

Specifically excluded from patient class reconsiderations are:

• Changes in patient status between regular patient class reviews.
• Patient classification determinations, unless the loss of revenues for a month's 

period of alleged misclassification equals ten percent or more of the facility's 
Medicaid revenues in that month.
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2. Procedures for Filing

Facilities shall submit requests for reconsiderations within sixty days after patient 
classifications are provided to a facility. All requests shall be submitted in writing and 
must be accompanied by supporting documentation as required by the Department.

3. Patient Reclassifications

Any reclassification resulting from the reconsideration process will become effective 
on the first day of the month following such reclassification.
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B. Non-Primary Rate Components

Long-term care providers shall have the right to request a rate reconsideration for any alleged 
Department miscalculation of one or more non-primary payment rates.
Miscalculation is defined as incorrect computation of payment rates from provider supplied data in 
annual cost reports.

1. Exclusions from Reconsideration

Specifically excluded from rate consideration are:
                                                                                                              

• Department classification of cost items into payment centers.
• Peer-group rate ceilings.
• Department inflation adjustments.
• Capital floor and ceiling rate percentiles.

2. Procedures for Filing

Rate reconsiderations shall be submitted within sixty days after payment rate 
schedules are provided to a facility. All requests shall be submitted in writing and must 
be accompanied by supporting documentation as requested by the Department.

3. Rate Adjustments

Any rate adjustments resulting from the reconsideration process will take place on the 
first day of the month following such adjustment. Rate adjustments resulting from this 
provision will only affect the facility that had rate miscalculations. Payment ceilings and 
incentive amounts for other facilities in a peer group will not be altered by these 
adjustments.

C. Waiver of Requirements

The Director of the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance may waive any provision of the State 
Plan related to "Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates: Prospective Reimbursement 
System for Long Term Care Facilities": if a circumstance exists that could negatively affect the health, 
safety and welfare of residents in Delaware if the provision is not waived.

V. Reimbursement for Super Skilled Care

A higher rate will be paid for individuals who need a greater level of skilled care than that which is 
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currently reimbursed in Delaware nursing facilities. For patients in the Super Skilled program the rate 
will be determined as follows:
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A summary of each individual who qualified under the Medicaid program's criteria for a "Super Skilled" 
level of care will be sent to local nursing facilities, which have expressed an interest in providing this 
level of care. They will be asked to submit bids, within a specific time frame, for their per diem charge 
for caring for the individual. The Medicaid program will review the bids and select the one that most 
meets the needs of the patient at the lowest cost.

VI. Reporting and Audit Requirements

A. Reporting

All facilities certified to participate in the Medicaid program are required to maintain cost data 
and submit reports on the form and in the format specified by the Department. Such reports 
shall be filed annually. Cost reports are due within ninety days of the close of the state fiscal 
year. All Medicaid participating facilities shall report allowable costs on a state fiscal year 
basis, which begins on July 1 and ends the following June 30. The allowable costs recognized 
by Delaware are those defined by Medicare principles.

In addition, all facilities are required to complete and submit an annual nursing wage survey 
on a form specified by the Department. All facilities must provide nursing wage data for the 
time periods requested on the survey form.

For patients in the Super Skilled program, annual Super Skilled bids will be considered the 
cost report for Super Skilled services. The nursing facility cost report must be adjusted to 
reflect costs associated with care for Super Skilled patients.

Failure to submit timely cost reports or nursing wage surveys within the allowed time periods 
when the facility has not been granted an extension by the Department, shall be grounds for 
suspension from the program. The Department may levy fines for failure to submit timely data 
as described in Section II.D. of the General Instructions to the Medicaid nursing facility cost 
report.

B. Audit

The Department shall conduct a field audit of participating facilities, in accordance with 
Federal regulation and State law. Both cost reports and the nursing wage surveys will be 
subject to audit.

Overpayments identified and documented as a result of field audit activities, or other findings 
made available to the Department, will be recovered. Such overpayments will be accounted 
for on the Quarterly Report of Expenditures as required by regulation.

Rate revisions resulting from field audit will only affect payments to those facilities that had an 
identified overpayment. Payment ceilings and incentive payments for other facilities within a 
peer group will not be altered by these revisions.
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C. Desk Review

All cost reports and nursing wage surveys shall be subjected to a desk review annually. Only 
desk reviewed cost report and nursing wage survey data will be used to calculate rates.

VII. Reimbursement for Out-of-State Facilities

Facilities located outside of Delaware will be paid the lesser of the Medicaid reimbursement rate from 
the state in which they are located or the highest rate established by Delaware for comparably certified 
non-state operated facilities as specified above.

VIII. Reimbursement of Ancillary Service for Private Facilities

For Peer Groups A and B:

Oxygen, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy will be reimbursed on a fee-for-
service basis. The rates for these services are determined by a survey of all enrolled facilities' costs. 
The costs are then arrayed and a cap set at the median rate. Facilities will be paid the lower of their 
cost or the cap. The cap will be recomputed every three years based on new surveys.

The Delaware Medicaid Program's nursing home rate calculation, the Patient Index Reimbursement 
System, complies with requirements found in the Nursing Home Reform Act and all subsequent 
revisions. A detailed description of the methodology and analysis used in determining the adjustment in 
payment amount for nursing facilities to take into account the cost of services required to attain or 
maintain the highest practicable physical, mental and psychosocial well-being of each resident eligible 
for benefits under Title XIX is found in Attachment A.

For Peer Group C:

Ancillary Services are included in the per diem reimbursement.

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
Page 17

IX. Reimbursement for Pediatric Nursing Facility Care 

Certain Medicaid-eligible children under the age of 21 years require facility-based nursing care and 
would be best served in a specialized pediatric nursing facility (that is, other than a traditional nursing 
facility). In order to qualify for this care, clients must be determined to require this level of care by the 
DMMA Medical Evaluation Team.

The level of reimbursement for each client will be based on the level of care determined by the DMMA 
Medical Evaluation Team. A per diem rate shall be established for each level of care based on 
reasonable costs for comparable DMMA services that have a demonstrated cost history and that serve 
a similar population, adjusted as necessary to reflect substantive differences in program operation. 
Rates for each level of care shall be computed for a base year and may be inflated each year 
thereafter using a nationally recognized inflation index. In addition to all nursing and operational costs, 
per diem rates are inclusive of all services, including but not limited to all therapies, supplies, non-
custom durable medical equipment and over-the-counter (OTC) drugs required to treat the child's 
medical condition but do not include custom durable medical equipment for the individual use of a 
client or prescription ("legend product") drugs, which will be billed directly to Medicaid by the 
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appropriate medical care provider in accordance with Medicaid policy.

Eligible recipients meeting the eligibility criteria for pediatric nursing facility care but who are being 
cared for in a facility other than a Pediatric Nursing Care Facility shall be reimbursed at the lowest 
appropriate Pediatric Nursing Facility rate after an assessment by the DMMA Medical Evaluation 
Team.

Eligible children in Pediatric Nursing Facilities located outside of Delaware are reimbursed at the 
lowest Delaware Pediatric Nursing Facility rate for each client category level to which they are 
assigned after being assessed by the DMMA Medical Evaluation Team. 

In special cases, the State has the option to provide additional reimbursement if circumstances 
warrant, where such additional reimbursement is necessary to ensure that the appropriate level of care 
is given to assure that the child's health status is not jeopardized.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Acquired Brain Injury (ABI) §1915(c) Home and Community-Based Services Waiver Application

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, and, in compliance with 
State Notice procedures as set forth in the Federal Register, September 27, 1994, Delaware Health and Social 
Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is submitting an Acquired Brain Injury 
(ABI) §1915(c) Home and Community-Based Services Waiver application to the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS).

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning this waiver must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning and Policy 
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New 
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by October 31, 2007. A copy of the waiver application is 
available upon request by contacting Lisa Bond, Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
at (302) 255-9358.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

Statutory Authority
• Social Security Act §1915(c), Provisions Respecting Inapplicability and Waiver of Certain Requirements 

of this Title
• 42 CFR §441, Subpart G, Home and Community-Based Services Waiver Requirements

Background
The Medicaid Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver program is authorized in accordance 

with §1915(c) of the Social Security Act. The program permits a State to furnish an array of home and community-
based services that assist Medicaid beneficiaries to live in the community and avoid institutionalization. The State 
has broad discretion to design its waiver program to address the needs of the waiver's target population. Waiver 
services complement and/or supplement the services that are available to participants through the Medicaid State 
plan and other federal, state and local public programs as well as the supports that families and communities 
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provide.

Summary of Proposal
This waiver will provide services for individuals aged 18 and above who have sustained an acquired brain 

injury (ABI) and who would otherwise require care in a nursing facility.
The goal of the waiver is to provide services to persons with ABI in a manner which responds to each 

consumer's abilities, assessed needs, and preferences, and which ensures maximum consumer self-sufficiency, 
independent functioning, and safety. This goal will be accomplished through the delivery of a range of home and 
community-based long-term cares services. 

Services to be provided through the waiver include:

• Case Management
• Personal Care
• Adult Day Services
• Respite
• Cognitive Services
• Day Habilitation
• Personal Emergency Response System
• Assisted Living

The waiver will be administered by the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA), the State 
Medicaid agency, and operated by the Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
(DSAAPD).  The waiver period is December 1, 2007 through November 30, 2010.

The provisions of this waiver are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS).

An authenticated PDF version of the Acquired Brain Injury (ABI) §1915(c) Home and Community-Based 
Services Waiver Application is available here: Waiver

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program 9006.3 Exceptions From Notice

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and 
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend Food Stamp Program policies in the 
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding exemptions from adverse action notices.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, 
Program & Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, 
Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 (new fax number) by October 31, 2007.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.
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Summary of Proposed Change

Statutory Authority

7 CFR 273.13(b), Exemptions from Notice

Summary of Proposed Change

DSSM 9006.3, Exemptions from Notice:  The policies of the Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), U.S.
Department of Agriculture (USDA) states that mail returned as undeliverable for whatever reason requires
DSS to send a Request for Contact form to the household to clarify their living arrangement before DSS can
close the case for whereabouts unknown. The agency is removing language in the current rule that requires
terminating a case without timely notice when the post office returns mail with no forwarding address. This
information is incorrect.  This rule is also being amended to reflect typographical and rule number corrections.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #07-45
REVISIONS:

9006.2 Adequate Notice
The notice is considered adequate when:
1) It is in writing;
2) It is a clear expression of the proposed action;
3) It explains the proposed action and the reasons for it;
4) It explains that the household has a right to request a fair hearing;
5) It gives a telephone number and the name of a person to contact for further information;
6) It notifies the household of the circumstances under which the benefits may continue;
7) It notifies the household of its liability for any overissuance received while awaiting a fair hearing if

the final hearing decision is adverse to the household;
8) It notifies the household of the availability of free legal services.

9006.3 Exceptions Exemptions From Notice
[273.13(b)]
Do not provide individual notices of adverse action when:

1) The State initiates a mass change (see DSSM 9086); 
2) The Division determines, based on reliable information, that all members of a household have died

or that the household has moved from the project area; or DSS mail has been returned by the post office indicating
no known forwarding address;

3) The household has been receiving an increased allotment to restore lost benefits, the restoration
is complete, and the household was previously notified in writing of when the allotment would terminate;

4) The household's allotment varies from month to month within the certification period to take into
account changes which were anticipated at the time of certification and the household was so notified at the time of
certification;

5) The household jointly applied for TANF/ GA/RCA and food stamp benefits and has been receiving
food stamp benefits pending the approval of the TANF/GA/RCA grant and was notified at the time of certification
that food stamp benefits would be reduced upon approval of the TANF\GA grant;

6) A household member is disqualified for intentional Program violation in accordance with DSSM
2023, or the benefits of the remaining household members are reduced or terminated to reflect the disqualification
of that household member. The notice requirements for individuals or households affected by intentional Program
violation disqualifications are explained in DSSM 2023.
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7) DSS has assigned a longer certification period to a household certified on an expedited basis and 
for whom verification was postponed, provided the household has received written notice that the receipt of 
benefits beyond the month of application is contingent on its providing the postponed verification and that DSS may 
act on the verified information without further notice as provided in DSSM 9041.

8) DSS must change the household's benefits back to the original benefit level as required in DSSM 
9085.

9) DSS is terminating the eligibility of a resident of a drug or alcoholic treatment center or a group 
living arrangement if the facility loses either its certification from DHSS or has its status as an authorized 
representative suspended due to FNS disqualifying it as a retailer. Residents of group living arrangements applying 
on their own behalf are still eligible to participate.

10) Converting a household from cash repayment to benefit reduction as a result of failure to make 
agreed upon repayment as discussed in DSSM 7000 7004.1.

11) The household voluntarily requests in writing or in the presence of a case worker, that its 
participation be terminated. If the household does not provide a written request, send the household a letter 
confirming the voluntary withdrawal. Written information does not entail the same rights as a notice of adverse 
action except that the household may request a fair hearing.

12) DSS determines, based on reliable information, that the household will not be residing in the 
project area and, therefore, will be unable to obtain its next allotment. Inform the household of its termination no 
later than its next scheduled issuance date. Do not delay terminating the household's participation in order to 
provide advance notice.

If the following conditions are met, dispense with the timely notice requirement in DSSM 9006.2. However, 
the household must be notified that its benefits will be reduced or terminated no later than the date the household 
receives, or would have received its allotment:

a) The household reports the information which results in the reduction or termination.
b) The reported information is in writing. Information reported on a TANF monthly report form will 

satisfy this requirement.
c) Based solely upon the household's written information, DSS can determine the household's 

allotment or ineligibility.
d) The household retains its right to a fair hearing.
e) The household retains its right to continued benefits by requesting a fair hearing within the time 

period provided by the notice of adverse action.
f) The Division continues the household's previous benefit level, if required, within five working days 

of the household's request for a fair hearing.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program 9032.2 Alien Eligibility

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and 
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend Food Stamp Program policies in the 
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding alien eligibility.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, 
Program & Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, 
Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 (new fax number) by October 31, 2007.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
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the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Change

Statutory Authority
7 CFR 273.2(f)(1)(ii), Mandatory Verification, Alien Eligibility

Summary of Proposed Change
DSSM 9032.2, Alien Eligibility: The deleted paragraph does not belong in this section. The federal 

regulations do not have this paragraph in this section. For food stamp purposes, citizenship is not verified unless 
questionable. This language, phrased differently, is actually in another section of policy under DSSM 9033, 
Verifications of Questionable Information

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #07-46
REVISION:

9032 Mandatory Verification
[273.2(f)(1)]

Verify the following information prior to certification of households initially applying:

9032.1 Income
Gross nonexempt income shall be verified for all households prior to certification.
Verify termination of employment. Acceptable documentation includes employer's statement, lay off notice, 

etc. In addition, if the household reports no income, explore past management and potential sources of income, 
e.g., UC benefits, OASDI, Workmen's Compensation, etc.

When all attempts to verify income have been unsuccessful because the person or organization providing 
the income has failed to cooperate with the household and DSS, and all other sources of verification are 
unavailable, determine an amount to use based on the best available information.

Sometimes the best available information may be from a collateral contact or just from a client.

9032.2 Alien Eligibility
A. DSS must verify the eligible status of applicant aliens. If an alien does not wish DSS to contact INS 

to verify his or her immigration status, DSS will give the household the option of withdrawing its application or 
participating without that member.

The following information may be relevant to the eligibility of some aliens: date of admission or date status 
was granted; military connection; battered status; if the alien was lawfully residing in the United States on August 
22, 1996; membership in certain Indian tribes; if the person was 65 or older on August 22, 1996; if a lawful 
permanent resident can be credited with 40 qualifying quarters of covered work and if any Federal means-tested 
public benefits were received in any quarter after December 31, 1996; or if the alien was a member of certain 
Hmong or Highland Laotian tribes during a certain period of time or is the spouse or unmarried dependent of such 
a person. DSS must verify these factors if applicable to the alien's eligibility.

The SSA Quarters of Coverage History System (QCHS) is used to verify whether a lawful permanent 
resident has earned or can receive credit for a total of 40 qualifying quarters. The QCHS may not show all 
qualifying quarters because SSA records do not show current year's earnings and in some cases the last year's 
earnings, depending on the time of request. Sometimes an applicant may have work from an uncovered 
employment that is not documented by SSA, but is countable toward the 40 quarters test. In both cases the 
individual, rather than SSA, will need to provide the evidence needed to verify the quarters.

B. An alien is ineligible until acceptable documentation is provided unless:
1. DSS has submitted a copy of a document provided by the household to INS for 

verification. Pending such verification, DSS cannot delay, deny, reduce, or terminate the individual's eligibility for 
benefits on the basis of the individual's immigration status; or

2. The applicant of DSS has submitted a request to SSA for information regarding the 
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number of quarters of work that can be credited to the individual. SSA has responded that the individual has fewer 
than 40 quarters, and the individual provides documentation from SSA that SSA is conducting an investigation to 
determine if more quarters can be credited. DSS will certify the individual pending the results of the investigation 
for up to 6 months from the date of the original determination of insufficient quarters; or

3. The applicant or DSS has submitted a request to a Federal agency for verification of 
information which bears on the individual's eligible status. DSS will certify the individual pending the results of the 
investigation for up to 6 months from the date of the original request for verification.

C. DSS must provide alien applicants with a reasonable opportunity to submit acceptable 
documentation of their eligible status as of the 30th day following the date of application. A reasonable opportunity 
is at least 10 days from the date of DSS's request for an acceptable document. When DSS fails to provide an alien 
applicant with a reasonable opportunity as of the 30th day following the date of application, DSS must provide the 
household with benefits no later than 30 days following the date of application, provided the household is otherwise 
eligible.

D. DSS must verify a household member's citizenship or status as a non-citizen national. DSS will 
accept participation in another program as acceptable verification if verification of citizenship or non-citizen national 
was obtained for that program. If the household cannot obtain acceptable verification, DSS must accept a signed 
third-party statement, under penalty of perjury, which indicates a reasonable basis for personal knowledge that the 
member in question is a U. S. citizen or a non-citizen national.

(Inserted to Provide Context Only)

9033 Verification of Questionable Information
[273.2(f)(2)]

Eligibility factors other than those listed in DSSM 9032 will be verified only if questionable and if they affect 
a household's eligibility or benefit level.

Questionable information is information inconsistent with statements made by the applicant, with other 
information on the application or previous applications, or with information received by the agency. Procedures 
described below will apply when one of the following eligibility factors is questionable:

When expenses claimed by the household for purposes of determining allowable program deductions (per 
DSSM 9060) or those otherwise reported during the certification interview (e.g., car payments, credit card bills) 
exceed declared income, ask the household to verify how such expenses were paid. New applicants must 
satisfactorily explain past management. Possible methods to verify payments are as follows:

Benefits may be authorized if the following conditions are met:
a) A new household provides a satisfactory explanation of past management including any 

verification that is reasonably available to the household.
b) A participating household satisfactorily verifies factors of past management. Verification must be 

from the month(s) immediately preceding certification/recertification.
Additionally, households where management has been questionable will be notified that they will be 

responsible for verifications of all cash outflow at times of recertification if management continues to appear 
questionable.

A. Household Composition. Verify factors affecting the composition of a household, if questionable. 
Individuals who wish to be a separate household from those with whom they reside will be responsible for proving 
a claim that they are a separate household to the satisfaction of the Division.

Income Source Type of Verification

Loans and gifts Statement from lender
Sale of personal property Receipt from sale
Exchange of services/ in-kind benefits Statement from landlord, etc.
Gambling proceeds Lottery tickets
Odd jobs Note from employer
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Individuals who claim to be a separate household from those with whom they reside based on the various 
age and disability factors for determining separateness will be responsible for proving a claim of separateness in 
accordance with DSSM 9032.11.

B. Citizenship. The household must provide acceptable verification for any member whose U.S. 
citizenship is questionable.

A claim to citizenship may be considered questionable if:
1) The claim of citizenship is inconsistent with statements made by the applicant or with other 

information on the application or on previous applications.
2) The claim of citizenship is inconsistent with information received from another source.
3) The individual does not have a Social Security Number.

When a household's statement that one or more of its members are U.S. citizens or has the status as a 
non-citizen national is questionable, ask the household to provide acceptable verification. Acceptable forms of 
verification include birth certificates, religious records, voter registration cards, certificates of citizenship or 
naturalization provided by INS, such as identification cards for use of resident citizens in the United States (INS 
form I 179 or INS form I 197), or U.S. passports. Participation in the TANF Program will also be considered 
acceptable verification if verification of citizenship or non-citizen national status was obtained for that program. If 
the above forms of verification cannot be obtained and the household can provide a reasonable explanation as to 
why verification is not available, accept a signed statement from a third party indicating a reasonable basis for 
personal knowledge that the member in question is a U.S. citizen. The signed statement must contain a warning of 
the penalties for helping someone commit fraud, such as: "If you intentionally give false information to help this 
person get food stamps, you may be fined, imprisoned, or both."

The member whose citizenship or non-citizen national status is in question will be ineligible to participate 
until proof of U.S. citizenship or non-citizen national status is obtained. Until proof of U.S. citizenship or non-citizen 
national status is obtained, the member whose citizenship or non-citizen national status is in question will have his 
or her income, less a pro rata share, and all of his or her resources considered available to any remaining 
household members as set forth in DSSM 9076.2.

C. Deductible expenses. If obtaining verification for a deductible expense may delay certification, 
advise the household that its eligibility and benefit level may be determined without providing a deduction for the 
claimed but unverified expense. This provision also applies to the allowance of medical expenses per DSSM 9032. 
Shelter costs would be computed without including the unverified components. The standard utility allowance will 
be used if the household is entitled to claim it.

If the expense cannot be verified within 30 days of the date of application, determine the household's 
eligibility and benefit level without providing a deduction of the unverified expense. If the household subsequently 
provides the missing verification, redetermine the household's benefits, and provide increased benefits, if any, in 
accordance with the timeliness standards in DSSM 9085. If the expense could not be verified within the 30 day 
processing standard because the Division failed to allow the household sufficient time per DSSM 9040 to verify the 
expense, the household will be entitled to the restoration of benefits retroactive to the month of application, 
provided that the missing verification is supplied in accordance with DSSM 9040. If the household would be 
ineligible unless the expense is allowed, the household's application will be handled as provided in DSSM 9040.

11 DE Reg. 216 (08/01/07)

DIVISION OF SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND MENTAL HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Sections 2207 and 2208 (16 Del.C. §§2207 and 2208)

PUBLIC NOTICE

6100 Substance Abuse Facility Licensing Standards

In compliance with the State’s Administrative Procedures Act (APA – Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 16 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 22, Sections 2207 and 2208, Delaware 
Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) is proposing to 
establish updated licensure standards for Substance Abuse Treatment facilities to replace existing standards 
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promulgated in 1979.
Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 

written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Mr. Harris Taylor, Dir. of Program 
Accountability, Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, 1901 North DuPont Highway, Main Administration 
Building, New Castle, Delaware 19720 by October 31, 2007.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGE

Statutory Authority

Title 16 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 22, Sections 2207 and 2208.

Summary of Proposed Change

The proposed licensure standards will replace the existing licensure standards in their entirety. The existing 
standards were promulgated in 1979 and have been minimally modified since that time. The proposed standards 
reflect changes in substance abuse treatment system since the existing standards were implemented. 

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the 
regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/proposed/11 DE Reg 448 10-01-07.htm 6100 
Licensing of Substance Abuse Treatment Facilities

An authenticated PDF version of the regulation is available at:
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/proposed/11 DE Reg 448 10-01-07.pdf 6100 

Licensing of Substance Abuse Treatment Facilities

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code, Sections 314 and 2741 (18 Del.C.  §§314 & 2741)

18 DE Admin. Code 606

PUBLIC NOTICE

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN hereby gives notice of intent to adopt proposed 
Department of Insurance Regulation 606 relating to the standardization of insurance identification cards and 
notification to the Division of Motor Vehicles of the termination of automobile insurance. The docket number for this 
proposed amendment is 526.

The purpose of the proposed regulation is to require standardized motor vehicle insurance identification 
cards, require notification to the Division of Motor Vehicles of the termination of motor vehicle insurance coverage 
and related changes in the existing Regulation. The text of the proposed amendment is reproduced in the October 
2007 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The text can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance 
Commissioner’s website at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/
ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes.  Any 
person can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the 
proposed amendments. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed changes 
must be received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Monday November 5, 2007, and should 
be addressed to Mitchell G. Crane, Esquire, Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
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DE 19904, or sent by fax to 302.739.2021 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

606 Proof of Automobile Insurance [Formerly Regulation 31]

1.0 Authority
1.1 This regulation is adopted under the authority of 18 Del.C. §§314 and 2304 2741; 21 Del.C. §2118

as amended by S. B. 212, and adopted in cooperation with the Division of Motor Vehicles. This regulation is 
promulgated under the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C., Ch.101.

2.0 Background Purpose
2.1 In support of the Delaware Motorist Protection Act (No-Fault Law) the Department of Insurance, in 

coordination with the Division of Motor Vehicles, has been authorized to adopt regulations to remove uninsured 
drivers from Delaware roads.  This regulation is promulgated to carry out the Legislature's direction.

2.1 The purpose of this regulation is to
2.1.1 establish requirements to govern the form of the standardized insurance identification (ID) 

card for each insured  vehicle pursuant to Delaware law;
2.1.2 establish the procedure by which automobile insurers shall notify the Division of Motor 

Vehicles when  automobile  insurance coverage is terminated or when insurers pay claims for uninsured motorists; 
and

2.1.3 provide procedures for the submission of insurance company data to the Division of Motor 
Vehicles for administrative efficiency.

3.0 Purpose Reserved
3.1 The purpose of this regulation is to define for insurers which write auto insurance policies in 

Delaware the requirements to issue a standardized insurance identification (ID) card for each insured vehicle, to 
establish the requirement for notification to the Division of Motor Vehicles under certain prescribed conditions when 
auto insurance coverage is terminated or when insurers pay claims for uninsured motorists and to provide for the 
submission of computer data to the Division of Motor Vehicles for administrative efficiency.

4.0 Insurance Identification Card
4.1 All companies licensed to write automobile insurance in the State of Delaware must furnish 

Insurance Identification Cards.  At least one card must be issued for each vehicle for which liability insurance is in 
effect.  21 Del.C. §2118 (n) Delaware policyholders who are members of the military and are stationed outside of 
Delaware may be issued a card of that state provided their coverage meets Delaware requirements.

4.2 Insurers may use uniform ACORD format or may prepare the ACORD format as described below:
4.2.1 The size, weight, and color of the card shall be as below:

4.2.1.1 Size:  Not smaller than 3-1/2" x 2-1/4" or larger than 3" x 5"
4.2.1.2 Weight:  Optional
4.2.1.3 Color:  White
4.2.1.4 After September 1, 1993, Each card shall be printed on paper stock which 

contains a clearly visible watermark, screened color, reflective ink, or laser-lock which prevents unauthorized or 
fraudulent reproduction. The watermark must be a company logo, Delaware State Seal, or a generic 
insurance-specific logo which clearly identifies the watermark as issued by an insurance company. The ACORD 
"ghost script" anti-fraud paper with the ACORD watermark shall satisfy the watermark requirement.

4.2.2 The insurance card shall contain the following information:
4.2.2.1 The statement "The ID card must be carried in the vehicle at all times" 

shall be shown on the face of the card if space is available; otherwise this statement may appear on the back of the 
card.

4.2.2.2 Card shall be identified as "Identification Card."
4.2.2.3 Company Name.  The insurer's insurance company name shall be shown

printed on the face of the card. Group name may be shown instead if the card will identify the specific company 
involved. If the insurer is part of a group, the group name may be printed on the card  so long as the card clearly 
identifies the name of the insurer issuing the insurance.
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4.2.2.4 Insurer's five digit National Association of Insurance Commissioners 
("NAIC") company identification number.

4.2.2.5 Named Insured. This name must be the named insured as carried in the 
insurer's records.

4.2.2.6 Address.  Optional. The insurer may, at its option, include the address of 
the insured.

4.2.2.7 Policy Number.
4.2.2.8 Effective Date.
4.2.2.9 Expiration Date. The insurance identification card shall be valid for no 

more than the term stated in the policy but not to exceed 6 months. The expiration date for ID cards shall be no 
more than six months from the effective date, except that Notwithstanding the foregoing limitation, an insurance 
identification card may be issued for a period of 12 months if the premium has been written on an annual basis and 
the premium is being paid in installments of no more than for  a 12 month period. aAny insured who has not been 
continuously insured by a licensed insurance company or a qualified self-insured during the six months preceding 
the effective date of an ID card under this regulation shall be issued an ID card with an expiration date no longer 
than the date for which premium has been paid or for six months whichever is shorter; provided, however, that any 
insured owning five or more vehicles may be issued an ID card which is effective for a six month period. The 
expiration date shall be stated by day, month and year or month, day and year, as long as in such manner that the 
exact date of expiration can be clearly identified.  For purposes of this section, a policy renewed in the same 
company with a lapse in coverage of 30 days or less shall be considered to have been continuously insured by a 
licensed insurance company during the preceding six months.

4.2.2.10 Vehicle(s) Insured.  Information shall be completed by indicating any of 
the following, depending on the type of policy or vehicle involved:

4.2.2.10.1 Year, Make, and Vehicle Identification Number ("VIN") of the 
vehicle(s) insured. Model of the vehicle may be shown as the Make. The Year, and Make of the vehicle may be 
abbreviated, but the complete VIN must be shown.

4.2.2.10.2 "All Owned Vehicles" (five vehicles or more); or
4.2.2.10.3 "Fleet" (five vehicles or more).

4.2.2.11 Items which are not obvious as to meaning shall be appropriately 
captioned.

4.2.3 The order of the information to be contained on the ID card may be rearranged at the 
option of the company, provided there is no drastic change and the rearrangement is necessary to accommodate a 
fixed printout system already established by a company.

4.2.4 At least one ID card shall be issued for each vehicle insured under the policy for which 
liability insurance is in effect.

4.2.5 If a vehicle is specifically described on the ID card, the company must issue a new card 
upon either a change of vehicle or the acquisition of any additional one. If a different policy number is assigned 
upon renewal, a new ID Card must also be issued. The expiration date requirement of section 4.2.2.9 above shall 
apply to an insured's replacement or additional insured vehicle in a manner similar to the previously owned or 
insured vehicle.  The owner of the vehicle shall so inform the insurer of the additional or replacement vehicle.  Only 
after the insurer is so informed, shall the insurer be obligated to issue an insurance ID card to the insured for the 
additional or replacement vehicle.

4.2.6 A letter or notification should accompany every ID card advising the insured that the card 
is required to register the vehicle, to obtain new tags, have his vehicle inspected, and to serve as evidence of 
insurance for the law enforcement authorities, e.g., in cases involving accidents, moving traffic violations or road 
spot checks. This notification may be printed on the back of the ID CARD card.  Delaware law requires the ID card 
to be in the vehicle when it is being operated.

4.2.7 The Division of Motor Vehicles will accept for registration purposes a copy of the 
application for insurance or the assignment notice or binder pending issuance of insurance or the assignment 
notice pending issuance of the ID card. However, such evidence of insurance will be accepted for registration 
purposes only if it has been dated prior to the date and no later than the day preceding the date of application for 
registration. For Assigned Risk coverage, insurers shall instruct their agents to place an insurer identification code 
of "99999" on applications to indicate placement with the Assigned Risk Plan.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007



PROPOSED REGULATIONS452
4.2.8 Insurance ID cards shall be issued in conformance with section 4.2.2 above. The 
Insurance Commissioner may exercise his statutory authority to investigate and examine the compliance of 
insurance carriers with this regulation. The Insurance Commissioner may, after notice and hearing, impose and 
enter an order as follows:

4.2.8.1 For each occasion where the Insurance Commissioner determines that 
an ID card was issued inadvertently in non-compliance with section 4.2.2.9 above, the insurer shall be fined $100. 
No fine, however, shall be imposed if the ID card was validly issued.

4.2.8.2 For each occasion where the Insurance Commissioner determines an ID 
card was issued with disregard of the requirements of Section 4 B.2(i) 4.2.2.9 above, but with no pattern of 
conscious disregard, the insurer shall be fined $1,000.

4.2.8.3 For each occasion where the Insurance Commissioner determines an ID 
card was issued as part of a pattern of conscious disregard of the requirements of section 4.2.2.9 above, the 
insurer shall be fined $2,000.

4.2.9 "Date of issuance" of an insurance card shall be the effective date of that card.
Amended Section 4 became effective May 12, 1993.

5.0 Violations and Penalties
5.1 If an insurer shall violate the provisions of this regulation, the Commissioner shall give written 

notice to the insurer of the violation and said notice shall inform the insurer of the right to request a hearing 
pursuant  to 18 Del.C. §323.

5.2 If an insurer shall be determined to be in violation by consent or after a hearing, the Commissioner 
may impose such penalties as permitted pursuant to the Insurance Code.

56.0 Notice of Cancellation or Termination
56.1 Whenever an assigned risk insurance policy is cancelled or terminated for any reason within two 

years of the original date of issuance, the company must file a Notice of Cancellation with the Division of Motor 
Vehicles. When a personal lines insurance policy is cancelled or terminated and that cancellation or termination is 
final under 18 Del.C. §3904 (a) (1) within 6 months of the original date of issuance, the insurer must file a Notice of 
Cancellation with the Division of Motor Vehicles.

56.2 The notice shall be filed with the Division of Motor Vehicles within 30 days following the effective 
date on which cancellation has become final. "Final" means the date after which coverage cannot be reinstated 
without lapse or the issuance of a new policy.

56.3 The notice shall be a two-part form with the size, content, and format consistent with the attached 
forms and specifications as approved by the Division of Motor Vehicles (See Attachment A Specifications for 
Delaware Notice of Termination, Form FR-4.) The location of the window area for the insured's name and address 
is prescribed so the Division of Motor Vehicles can use the same window envelope for mailing notices from all 
companies. The Division of Motor Vehicles will use the same notice for forwarding mailing notices to the terminated 
policyholder. The notice shall be a form with the size, content, and format consistent with the attached forms or as 
otherwise approved by the Division of Motor Vehicles.

6.0 Compliance Date--Use of Old and New Forms
6.1 Companies may exhaust their present supply of ID cards by adding the NAIC Code Number. 

However, the new ID card which complies with the regulation shall be mailed to all Delaware policyholders by no 
later than October 1, 1990, regardless of whether a prior ID card indicating a later date of expiration has been 
issued and at least every six months thereafter.  (New ID cards shall be issued for replacement vehicles.) In 
addition, use of the notice of cancellation shall begin no later than October 1, 1990.

6.2 Companies are responsible for providing all forms required under this Regulation.
Amended Section 6 became effective January 1, 1991.

7.0 Furnishing Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Information to the Division of Motor Vehicles
7.1 An insurer shall furnish within 30 days of a request by the Division of Motor Vehicles prescribed 

information on each motor vehicle insured in the State of Delaware.  The information shall be provided on computer 
tape(s) as prescribed in Attachment B in the form and manner approved by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
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7.2 Those insurers unable to provide the prescribed information by computer tape must obtain written 
approval from the Division of Motor Vehicles to provide the information in a prescribed paper listing. This approval 
must be obtained by January 1, 1991.  (See Attachment C.)

8.0 Random Selection/Verification
8.1 Pursuant to State Statute, 21 Del.C. §2118 the Division of Motor vehicles shall periodically 

randomly select on an annual basis at least 10 percent of the vehicle registrations and send them to the insurers of 
record for verification of liability insurance. at intervals specified in section 8.4 below. This process shall be 
accomplished by computer tapes except where approved under section 7.2 of this regulation. The prescribed 
information and format of the data being furnished by the Division of Motor Vehicles to the insurers shall be as 
prescribed in Attachment D. Responses from the insurers shall be required only for those vehicles determined by 
the insurers to be not insured.

8.2 The prescribed information and format of data furnished to those nonautomated insurers as 
approved in section 7.2. shall be prescribed in Attachment E. Responses from the insurers who are non-automated 
shall be required only for those vehicles as determined by the insurer to be not insured.

8.3 All responses from the insurers shall be delivered to the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles 
within 30 days of the mailing date of the verification request. All responses shall include a completed prescribed 
transmittal letter to indicate the completion of the specified verification project.

8.43 The random selection/verification process shall be done no more than twelve times and no less 
than four times annually.

9.0 Notification of Uninsured Drivers
9.1 Each insurer licensed to write automobile liability insurance in Delaware shall notify the Division of 

Motor Vehicles on a form approved by the Division of Motor Vehicles (Attachment F) the name of any person or 
persons involved in an accident or filing a claim who is alleged to have been operating a Delaware registered motor 
vehicle without the insurance required under Delaware law.  The insurer shall provide the name, address, and 
description of the vehicle alleged to be uninsured.

10.0 Additional Required Proofs of Insurance
10.1 Each insurer licensed to write automobile liability insurance in this State shall furnish to their 

insureds verification of the insurance in force at the request of the Division of Motor Vehicles by use of a form 
approved by the Division of Motor Vehicles. The forms provided by the insurers to their agents or directly shall 
conform with the format of Form FR-19 (Attachment G). Forms shall be controlled, and numbered sequentially, by 
the insurer or its agents. To prevent copying, the sequential numbers must be in red ink and a minimum of seven 
digits. The words "Delaware Insurance Certificate" must be in dark blue ink. Each insurer is to utilize such 
measures as may be necessary to assure delivery of these forms to qualified  insured drivers only.

11.0 Enforcement
11.1 Failure of an insurer to provide an Insurance Identification Card, or to provide notice of 

cancellation or termination as provided in section 5.0, shall be deemed a violation of the Commissioner's lawful 
order and may be found in violation of The Motor Vehicle Code, Title 21. In such instances the insurer shall, after 
hearing, be subjected to the penalties as prescribed in 18 Del.C. §334.

1211.0 Severability
1211.1  If any provision of this regulation or the application thereof to any person or situation is held 

invalid, such invalidity shall not affect any other provision or application of the regulation which can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application and to this end the provisions of this regulation are declared to be 
severable.

1312.0 Effective Date
13.1 Except for the conditions specified under section 6.0 this regulation* shall become effective 

January 1, 1991.
13.2 Delaware Insurance Department Bulletins 71-21, 71-22 and 74-8 are superseded and are 

rescinded effective January 1, 1991.
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12.1 This Regulation shall become effective January 1, 2008.

*Regulation No. 31 was entitled "Insurance Identification Card" under an effective date of July 1, 1979; 
amended July 1, 1982; amended effective January 1, 1991 and again on May 12, 1993 under present title except 
for the conditions specified under § 6 and § 4 of the regulation and April 12, 1993.

Attachments A to G accompanying Regulation No. 31 follow:
ASSIGNED RISK
INSURANCE CERTIFICATION REQUEST
INITIAL TAP PROCESSING
LETTER OF TRANSMITTAL
RANDOM SELECTION TAPE PROCESSING
RANDOM SELECTION MANUAL PROCESSING
DELAWARE UNINSURED VEHICLE REPORT
DELAWARE INSURANCE CERTIFICATION

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 314 and 3403 (18 Del.C. §§314 & 3403)

18 DE Admin. Code 702

PUBLIC NOTICE

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN hereby gives notice of a proposed change to 
Department of Insurance Regulation 702 relating to required disclosures for residential homeowners policies. The 
Commissioner proposes to amend Regulation 702. The docket number for this proposed amendment is 527.

The proposed changes to the regulation appear in section 2 relating to the purpose by requiring notice of 
deductibles required by the coverage, and by the addition of a section 5.1.5, describing the required disclosures of 
information relative to deductibles. The text of the proposed amendment is reproduced in the October 2007 edition 
of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The text can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance Commissioner's 
website at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person 
can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed 
amendments. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed changes must be 
received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Monday, November 5, 2007, and should be 
addressed to Mitch Crane, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, 
or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

702 Required Disclosures For Residential Homeowners Polices

1.0 Authority
This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§311(a) and 2304(1). It is 

promulgated in accordance with 29 Del.C. Chapter 101.

2.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to ensure that homeowners insurance policyholders are aware that they 

are not insured for certain types of risks or claims, to the extent that they do not have such coverage, and that they 
are aware of any deductibles required by their coverage. This regulation does not mandate any coverage by any 
carrier issuing homeowners insurance in the State of Delaware.
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3.0 Applicability
This regulation shall apply to homeowners insurance policies. A homeowners insurance policy for 

purposes of this regulation means a property or casualty contract of insurance covering residential properties as 
defined by 18 Del.C. §4120.

4.0 Requirement of Disclosure
Insurers, upon initial delivery of a homeowners policy terms and declaration page, and not less than once 

annually after delivery, shall provide a form to the policyholder entitled “Important Information About Your 
Homeowners Insurance.” The title of the document shall be in at least 30 point type.

5.0 Content of Disclosure
5.1 Each form presented pursuant to Section 4.0 of this Regulation shall make the following 

disclosures:
5.1.1 Disclosure that the policy does not cover damage caused by flooding, and sufficient 

information to allow the policyholder to contact the National Flood Insurance Program in order to purchase flood 
insurance if so desired. The following language shall be sufficient to ensure compliance with this subsection 5.1: 
“This policy does not cover damage to your property caused by flooding. Flood insurance is available for 
communities and property that participate in the National Flood Insurance Program (“NFIP”). Not all communities 
participate in the NFIP. Flood insurance may be available even if you do not live in a flood hazard area as defined 
by the NFIP. Please call the NFIP at 1-800-427-4661 to see if your community and property are eligible for 
coverage. If your community does not participate in the NFIP, you may contact your insurance agent or broker to 
see if there is other flood insurance coverage available to you.” The disclosure may also inform the policyholder 
that the insurer offers flood insurance as a participant in the NFIP’s “Write Your Own” program. The disclosure 
required by this subsection shall be entitled “Flood Insurance,” and the subsection title shall be in at least 18 point 
type.

5.1.2 Disclosure that the policy may not cover the full cost of replacement without depreciation 
of the property, and sufficient information to allow the policyholder to purchase such coverage from the carrier if it is 
offered by the carrier. The following language shall be sufficient to ensure compliance with this subsection 5.2: 
“This policy may not cover the full cost of replacing your home if your home should be destroyed in an event 
otherwise covered by this policy. You may purchase additional coverage from us sufficient to cover the full cost of 
replacing your home, at an additional cost.” The disclosure required by this subsection shall be entitled “Replacing 
Your Home,” and the subsection title shall be in at least 18 point type.

5.1.3 Disclosure of any limitations in the policy regarding reimbursement for items stolen from 
the property, including but not limited to jewelry, furs, fine art, etc. and sufficient information to allow the 
policyholder to purchase insurance which would not contain such limitation if such coverage is offered by the 
insurer. The following language shall be sufficient to ensure compliance with this subsection 5.3: “This policy may 
not cover the value of all items stolen from your home. Please carefully review your policy to determine which items 
stolen from your home are not covered by this policy.” The disclosure required by this subsection shall be entitled 
“Reimbursement for Stolen Items,” and the subsection title shall be in at least 18 point type.

5.1.4 Disclosure of any formal practice followed by the insurer regarding non-renewal of the 
policy on the occurrence of certain factors or on the basis of claims asserted by the policyholder. The following 
language shall be sufficient to ensure compliance with this subsection 5.4: “We have a policy of declining to renew 
homeowners insurance policies under the following circumstances: (list the claim activities or occurrences that are 
likely to cause non-renewal of a policyholder’s policy).” The disclosure required by this subsection shall be entitled 
“Non-Renewal of Your Policy,” and the subsection title shall be in at least 18 point type.

5.1.5 Disclosure of information regarding any required deductibles, which disclosure shall 
include the following information:

5.1.5.1 A description of what a deductible is, including a statement that the policyholder is 
responsible for payment of the entire amount of the deductible;

5.1.5.2 A full description of the circumstances that will trigger applicability of each 
deductible;

5.1.5.3 A description and example(s) of how each deductible will be calculated;
5.1.5.4 The following statement: “Deductibles are not required by state law and are not 

uniform across insurance companies, and therefore the charge for each deductible may vary between insurers.”
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The disclosure required by this subsection shall be entitled “Policyholder Payment 
of Deductibles: and the title shall be in at least 18 point type.

5.2 Where a policy provides full coverage for any of the items required by sections 5.1.1 through 5.1.3, 
or where the policy does not require payment of a deductible, the insurer may indicate that the disclosure, as to 
each such item, is not applicable or “N/A.”

6.0 Time for Compliance
Insurers required by Section 5.1.5 to provide disclosures regarding payment of insurance deductibles must 

submit the forms containing the language they propose for compliance with Section 5.1.5 to the Insurance 
Commissioner for approval by December 15, 2007.

67.0 Review and Approval of Forms
All forms required by this regulation shall be submitted to and approved by the Commissioner, or his 

representative, pursuant to 18 Del.C. §2712 et seq.

78.0 Severability
If any provision of this regulation, or the application of any such provision to any person or circumstances, 

shall be held invalid, the remainder of such provisions, and the application of such provisions to any person or 
circumstance other than those as to which it is held invalid, shall not be affected.

89.0 Causes of Action
This regulation shall not create, nor form the basis for, a cause of action for any person or entity, other than 

the Delaware Department of Insurance, against any insurer for violation of the provisions hereof.

910.0 Effective Date
The effective date of this regulation shall be January 1, 2006.
9 DE Reg. 438 (09/01/05)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 314 and 3403 (18 Del.C. §§314 & 3403)

18 DE Admin. Code 2201

PUBLIC NOTICE

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN hereby gives notice of proposed Department of 
Insurance Regulation 2201 relating to medical malpractice relief. The docket number for this proposed regulation is 
528.

The purpose of this regulation is to provide procedures governing the Medical Malpractice Relief Initiative 
Pilot Program established by the Fiscal Year 2007 Appropriations Act. The text of the proposed regulation is 
reproduced in the October 2007 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The text can also be viewed at 
the Delaware Insurance Commissioner's website at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/
ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person 
can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed 
amendments. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed changes must be 
received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Monday, November 5, 2007, and should be 
addressed to Regulatory Specialist Mitch Crane, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake 
Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.
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2201 Implementation of Medical Malpractice Relief Initiative Pilot Program

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this section is to provide regulations governing the Medical Malpractice Relief Initiative 

Pilot Program established by the Fiscal Year 2007 Appropriations Act.

2.0 Authorization
These regulations are adopted in accordance with 18 Del.C. §311 and the Fiscal Year 2007 Appropriations 

Act.

3.0 Scope
These regulations shall govern the application of entities seeking state funding pursuant to the Medical 

Malpractice Relief Initiative Pilot Program for the purpose of establishing a Delaware-domiciled risk retention and/
or captive entity.

4.0 Approval
4.1 No entity shall receive funding pursuant to the Medical Malpractice Relief Initiative Pilot Program 

unless such entity receives the recommendation of the Delaware Insurance Commissioner and the approval of the 
Controller General, the Co-Chairs of the Joint Finance Committee, and Director of the Office of Management and 
Budget.

4.2 An entity seeking low or no interest loans pursuant to the Medical Malpractice Relief Initiative Pilot 
Program for the purpose of fostering the establishment of risk reduction group(s) and/or captive insurance entities 
shall make application to the Delaware Department of Insurance on forms provided by the Department.

4.3 The Delaware Insurance Commissioner shall review any applications submitted pursuant to these 
provisions and shall determine whether to recommend such applicant for receipt of Medical Malpractice Relief 
Initiative Pilot Program funding. The Insurance Commissioner may require any documents reasonably necessary 
to verify the information contained in an application.

4.4 If the Insurance Commissioner decides to recommend an applicant for funding, the Commissioner 
shall make a funding recommendation for such applicant to the Controller General, the Co-Chairs of the Joint 
Finance Committee, and the Director of the Office of Management and Budget for their final review and approval.

4.5 If the Commissioner recommends funding for the application, the Commissioner's 
recommendation shall include the amount and type of funding, when said funds must be repaid to the State, and 
any conditions to be placed on the funding award.

5.0 Requirements and Considerations for Funding Awards
5.1 No applicant for funding under the Medical Malpractice Relief Initiative Pilot Program shall be 

recommended for funding unless the Insurance Commissioner finds that the applicant:
5.1.1 Is organized for the purpose of increasing the availability of medical malpractice insurance 

and reducing the costs of medical malpractice insurance through enhanced risk management and lower 
administrative costs; and

5.1.2 Is a Delaware-domiciled captive insurance company licensed pursuant to 18 Del.C. §6903
or a Delaware-domiciled risk retention group chartered pursuant to 18 Del.C. §8003.

5.2 In reviewing such applications and determining whether to recommend an applicant for funding, 
the Insurance Commissioner shall consider all factors the Commissioner considers relevant to the success of the 
applicant and the protection of Delaware consumers, including but not limited to the following criteria:

5.2.1 The likelihood that receiving the funding will assist the applicant in increasing the 
availability of and reducing the cost of medical malpractice insurance and of increasing the predictability of such 
costs;

5.2.2 The need of the medical professionals who are members of the applicant for an alternative 
to the traditional medical malpractice insurance market;

5.2.3 The applicant's structure and business plan;
5.2.4 The number of medical professionals who are members of the applicant; and
5.2.5 The applicant's provisions for and emphasis on risk management.
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6.0 Funding
Funding pursuant to this program shall be limited to low or non-interest loans, via a surplus note, letter of 

credit, or otherwise. Funding awards must be conditioned upon binding agreements requiring that such funds be 
repaid to the State. 

7.0 Length of Pilot Program
The pilot portion of any program funded under this provision must be completed within 12 months of 

approval of these regulations.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL AFFAIRS
     Health Care Advisory Panel

 Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, Section  202(a)  (19 Del.C. §202(a))

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Secretary of Labor in accordance with 19 Del.C. §§2322B and E has proposed rules and regulations 
relating to workers' compensation.  These proposals set forth the Fee Schedule Amounts for professional services 
and hospital fees, and the use of consistent forms for the health care providers.  

A public hearing will be held before the Health Care Advisory Panel ("Panel") at 4:00 p.m. on November 5, 
2007, in the Department of Labor Fox Valley Annex, 4425 N. Market Street, Wilmington, Delaware 19802 where 
members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules may obtain a 
copy from John Kirk, Administrator, Workers' Compensation, Division of Industrial Affairs, Department of Labor, 
P.O. Box 9828, 4425 N. Market Street, Wilmington, Delaware 19809-0828. Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Panel at the above address. The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Panel will consider making a recommendation to the Secretary at the regularly scheduled meeting 
following the public hearing.

Workers Compensation Regulations

1.0 Definitions
As used in this regulation:

"Department" means the Department of Labor. 
"Fee Schedule Amounts" mean the fees as set forth by the Health Care Payment System.
"Health Care Advisory Panel" or "HCAP" means the seventeen (17) members appointed by the 

Governor by and with the consent of the Senate to carry out the provisions of Chapter 23, Title 19, Delaware 
Code.

"Health Care Payment System" means the comprehensive fee schedule promulgated by the Health Care 
Advisory Panel to establish medical payments for both professional and facility fees generated on workers' 
compensation claims.

"HCAP Forms" means the standard forms for the provision of health care services set forth in Section 
2322E, Chapter 23, Title 19, Delaware Code.

2.0 Purpose and Scope
2.1 Section 2322B, Chapter 23, Title 19, Delaware Code authorizes and directs the Department within 

180 days from the first meeting of the Health Care Advisory Panel to adopt a Health Care Payment System by 
regulation after promulgation by the Health Care Advisory Panel.

2.2 Section 2322B(c), Chapter 23, Title 19, Delaware Code establishes the formula based upon 
historical data required to determine the Fee Schedule Amounts for professional services.

2.3 Section 2322B(e), Chapter 23, Title 19, Delaware Code establishes the amount of reimbursement for 
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a procedure, treatment or service to be eighty-five (85%) of the actual charge as of November 1, 2008, if a specific 
fee is not set forth in the Fee Schedule Amounts.

2.4 Section 2322B (g), Chapter 23, Title 19, Delaware Code establishes separate service categories.
2.5 Section 2322B (h), Chapter 23, Title 19, Delaware Code establishes the Hospital fees developed 

for the Health Care Payment System.
2.6 Section 2322B (i), Chapter 23, Title 19, Delaware Code establishes the Ambulatory Surgical 

Treatment Center fees developed for the Health Care Payment System.
2.7 The fees to be established in Sections 2322B (k)(l) and (m) shall be promulgated and 

recommended by the Health Care Advisory Panel to the Department before the effective date of the regulation.
2.8 Section 2322E, Chapter 23, Section 19, Delaware Code, authorizes and directs the Health Care 

Advisory Panel to approve, propose and recommend to the Department the adoption by regulation of consistent 
forms for the health care providers ("HCAP Forms").

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapters 60 and 63 (7 Del.C. Chs. 60 and 63)

7 DE Admin. Code 1301

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN # 2004-05  

1301 Regulations Governing Solid Waste

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS: 
Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste (DRGSW)

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
There are five amendments to update and enhance various sections of the solid waste regulations. The 

first amendment regarding Permits has three changes to clarify language, define requirements for permit transfers, 
and to make environmental assessment application requirements consistent. The second and third amendments 
regarding Sanitary and Industrial Landfills clarifies a reference to an Engineering Report. The fourth amendment 
regarding to Environmental Covenants updates language to comply with changes to the Delaware Code. The fifth 
amendment regarding Infectious Waste has eighteen changes that clarify and reorganize the entire Section. 
These five amendments will help improve understanding and implementation of the solid waste requirements.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
NONE

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
Amendments to DRGSW are proposed and amended in accordance with the provisions found at 7 

Delaware Code, Chapter 60.

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
NONE

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to DRGSW will be held on Monday October 22, 2007 

starting at 6:30 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  
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7. PREPARED BY:
Bill Davis, Environmental Scientist, Solid and Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-9403

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the 
regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/proposed/11 DE Reg 459 10-01-07.htm 1301 
Regulations Governing Solid Waste

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapters 60 and 63 (7 Del.C. Chs. 60 and 63)

7 DE Admin. Code 1302

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN # 2007-14

1302 Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste (DRGHW)

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
In order for the State of Delaware to maintain authorization from the U. S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) to administer its own hazardous waste management program, the State must maintain a program 
that is equivalent to and no less stringent than the Federal program. To accomplish this, the State regularly amends 
the DRGHW by adopting amendments previously promulgated by EPA.  In addition, the State is proposing to make 
miscellaneous changes to the DRGHW that correct existing errors in the hazardous waste regulations, add 
clarification or enhance the current hazardous waste regulations.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
NONE

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
Amendments to DRGHW are proposed and amended in accordance with the provisions found at 7 

Delaware Code, Chapters 60 and 63.

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
NONE

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to DRGHW will be held on Monday October 22, 2007

starting at 6:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE.

7. PREPARED BY:
Bill Davis, Environmental Scientist, Solid and Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-9403

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the 
regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/proposed/11 DE Reg 460 10-01-07.htm 1302 
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste
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DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

7 DE Admin. Code 1351

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN #2005-06

1351 Underground Storage Tank Systems

1. Title of the Regulations:
Delaware Regulations Governing Underground Storage Tank Systems

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Delaware Regulations Governing Underground Storage Tank Systems were first effective July 11, 

1986. The most recent revision date was November 23, 1994. The DNREC is proposing changes to the UST 
Regulations to incorporate new technological advances in UST system designs and operation to ensure the 
greatest protection of human health, safety and the environment in Delaware.

The changes to the Delaware UST Regulations are proposed for the following reasons:
• Outdated technology is being phased out of the Regulations to provide better protection of human 

health, safety and the environment.
• The federal Energy Policy Act (EPACT) of 2005 placed several requirements on state UST 

programs that had to be incorporated into the UST Regulations.
• New fuels, such as E10 and E85, made new requirements necessary.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
None

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
 7 Del.C., Chapter 74

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the Proposal: 
 N/A

6. Notice of Public Comment:
The DNREC will conduct a Public Hearing on Tuesday, October 30, 2007. The hearing is scheduled to 

begin at 6:00pm in the conference room at the DNREC office located at 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE. The 
public and interested parties are invited to attend the hearing and to make comments orally or in writing at the 
hearing. Written comments not presented at the hearing should be addressed to Ms. Jill Williams Hall, DNREC/
TMB, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE 19720 and must be received by the Department not later than 4:00pm on 
October 30, 2007 unless a longer time is specified at the hearing.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available online at http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/info/Rules.htm
Copies may be viewed during regular business hours at the following DNREC offices:

DNREC, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE
DNREC, R&R Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
DNREC, Route 113, Sussex Suites, Unit # 6, Georgetown, DE

7. Prepared By:
Jill Williams Hall, Planner IV 395-2500 9/4/07 Jill.Hall@state.de.us

Summary of the Most Significant Changes to the UST Regulations

PART A: General Requirements for Underground Storage Tank Systems
• Definitions: Obsolete terms deleted; some new terms added
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• All Referenced Standards updated to the most recent edition.
• After a transfer of ownership of an UST system the UST cannot be operated for more than 72 

hours without the Department having received required notification documents.
• The Department created a delivery prohibition program as required by EPACT. EPACT mandates 

that the Department affix a tag prohibiting delivery to any UST System that does not have certain 
required equipment.

PART B: Requirements for Installation, Operation and Maintenance of UST Systems Storing 
Regulated Substance excluding Heating Fuel or Hazardous Substance

• Secondary containment of the entire UST System, including double wall tanks and piping, 
containment sumps at tank tops, and dispenser containment are required at all new installations. 
Tanks and Piping must have interstitial monitoring equipment that must be checked for evidence of 
a release every 30 days.

• All components of new UST System must be UL or equivalent third party certified and must be 
maintained such that manufacturer's warranties are not voided.

• Outdated release detection methods such as observation tubes, monitor wells and vapor detection 
tubes will be terminated within five years after the regulations are promulgated.

• Impressed current cathodic protection systems are not allowed on new installations. Repair of 
existing impressed current systems must be approved by the Department.

• Equipment utilized for release detection must pass annual testing and inspection requirements. 
Previously there was no such maintenance requirement.

• USTs containing ethanol blends must check for water in the tank everyday. Previously there was 
no requirement for ethanol blends.

• The Department can require a tank tightness test if inventory and release detection records are not 
maintained.

• Spill containment devices on new installations must have a 15 gallon capacity.
• Spill containment devices must be tightness tested annually.
• Sump and interstitial sensors on new installations must be tested annually; sensors on existing 

systems that are utilized for release detection must be tested annually.
• Containment sumps on new installations must be tightness tested every 3 years; containment 

sumps on existing systems that are utilized as part of the release detection system must be tested 
every 3 years.

• Operators must conduct a visual inspection of the entire facility at least once every 30 days 
including lifting all sump covers, removing dispenser covers and lifting all manhole covers to check 
for evidence of equipment deterioration, malfunction or a release. Records must be kept of 
inspections and repairs.

• Specific requirements for used oil and emergency generator tanks have been added.
• Emergency generator tanks must implement a method of release detection by January 1, 

2009. These tanks formerly had no requirement for any release detection.
• Used oil USTs must utilize release detection but are allowed to implement manual tank 

gauging as a method of release detection.
• Double elbow swing joints must be replaced with flexible connectors by January 1, 2011.

PART C: Requirements for Installation, Operation and Maintenance of UST Systems Storing Heating 
Fuel

• Secondary containment of the entire UST System, including double wall tanks and piping, 
containment sumps at tank tops, and dispenser containment are required at all new installations. 
Tanks and Piping must have interstitial monitoring equipment that must be checked for evidence 
of a release every 30 days.

• All components of new UST System must be UL or equivalent third party certified and must be 
maintained such that manufacturer's warranties are not voided.

• Outdated release detection methods such as observation tubes, monitor wells and vapor detection 
tubes will be terminated within five years after the regulations are promulgated. Tank tightness 
testing can be utilized for the life of the system as a release detection method.
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• Impressed current cathodic protection systems are not allowed on new installations. Repair of 
existing impressed current systems must be approved by the Department.

• Equipment utilized for release detection must pass annual testing and inspection requirements. 
Previously there was no such maintenance requirement.

• The Department can require a tank tightness test if inventory and release detection records are not 
maintained.

• Spill containment devices on new installations must have a 15 gallon capacity.
• Spill containment devices must be tightness tested annually.
• Sump and interstitial sensors on new installations must be tested annually; sensors on existing 

systems that are utilized for release detection must be tested annually.
• Containment sumps on new installations must be tightness tested every 3 years; containment 

sumps on existing systems that are utilized as part of the release detection system must be tested 
every 3 years.

• Operators must conduct a visual inspection of the entire facility at least once every 30 days 
including lifting all sump covers, removing dispenser covers and lifting all manhole covers to 
check for evidence of equipment deterioration, malfunction or a release. Records must be kept of 
inspections and repairs.

PART D: Requirements for Installation, Operation and Maintenance of UST Systems Storing 
Hazardous Substance

• Secondary containment of the entire UST System, including double wall tanks and piping, 
containment sumps at tank tops, and dispenser containment are required at all new installations. 
Tanks and Piping must have interstitial monitoring equipment that must be checked for evidence of 
a release every 30 days.

• All components of new UST System must be UL or equivalent third party certified and must be 
maintained such that manufacturer's warranties are not voided.

• Impressed current cathodic protection systems are not allowed on new installations. Repair of 
existing impressed current systems must be approved by the Department.

• Equipment utilized for release detection must pass annual testing and inspection requirements. 
Previously there was no such maintenance requirement.

• The Department can require a tank tightness test if inventory and release detection records are not 
maintained.

• Spill containment devices on new installations must have a 15 gallon capacity.
• Spill containment devices must be tightness tested annually.
• Sump and interstitial sensors on new installations must be tested annually; sensors on existing 

systems that are utilized for release detection must be tested annually.
• Containment sumps on new installations must be tightness tested every 3 years; containment 

sumps on existing systems that are utilized as part of the release detection system must be tested 
every 3 years.

• Operators must conduct a visual inspection of the entire facility at least once every 30 days 
including lifting all sump covers, removing dispenser covers and lifting all manhole covers to check 
for evidence of equipment deterioration, malfunction or a release. Records must be kept of 
inspections and repairs.

• Hazardous Substance USTs must show proof of financial responsibility by December 31, 2008.

PART E: Requirements for Reporting, Release Investigation, Remedial Action and Site Closure for 
UST Systems

• Light Non-Aqueous Phase Liquid (LNAPL) is now defined in Part A - distinguishes between Mobile 
LNAPL", "Free LNAPL" and "Residual LNAPL".

• Requires development of LNAPL Conceptual Site Model (LCSM) when LNAPL exists.
• Requirement limiting passive remedial action (RA) to 2 years removed and replaced with the 

requirement for an annual RA progress review and report to evaluate RA effectiveness (whether 
passive or active RA is implemented).

• Signature of DE PG or DE PE is required on hydrogeologic investigation reports and remedial 
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action workplans.on site closure report.
• Closure approval applies to site and surrounding conditions at the time the closure request was 

made. If risks posed by the site change in the future additional RA may be necessary.
• An approved contaminated material management plan is necessary prior to disturbance of 

residually contaminated soils or groundwater after a site has been closed.

PART F:  Financial Responsibility Requirements for UST Systems
• Hazardous Substance UST Systems must show proof of FR by Dec. 31, 2008

PART G:  Requirements for Contractor Certification
• Delete Interior Lining certification category
• Certified contractors must show provide proof of Contractor's Pollution Liability Insurance in the 

amount of $250,000
• Adds standards of performance for Companies and Supervisors
• Certified contractor must report contamination encountered while performing UST activities

PART H:  Regulations Governing Reimbursement for Petroleum Containment Cleanup
No changes

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the 
regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/proposed/11 DE Reg 461 10-01-07.htm 1351 
Underground Storage Tank Systems

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PRIVATE INVESTIGATORS AND PRIVATE SECURITY AGENCIES
 Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 1304(b)(3) (24 Del.C. §1304(b)(3))

24 DE Admin. Code 1300

PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies, 
in accordance with Del. Code Title 24 Chapter 13 proposes to adopt Rule 13.0 – Training Requirements. This 
adoption will require mandatory training and re-training of all security guards. If you wish to view the complete Rule, 
contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-5991. Any persons wishing to present views may submit them in writing, 
by October 31, 2007, to Delaware State Police, Detective Licensing, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE 19903. The Board 
will hold its quarterly meeting Thursday, October 25, 2007, 10:00 am, at the Delaware State Police Headquarters 
Conference Room, 1441 North DuPont Highway in Dover, Delaware.

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

13.0 Training Requirements
13.1 Each person licensed as a security guard under Title 24 Chapter 13 shall undertake a total of 

sixteen (16) hours of training through a program approved by the Board, and any such additional training as the 
Board deems appropriate.

13.2 The required training shall include instruction in legal requirements and limitations, use of force, 
ethics, emergency services, diversity, communication, asset protection, and terrorism. The Board, in its discretion, 
may require such additional topics as it finds necessary.

13.3 The Detective Licensing Section shall have the authority to require regular reports on training from 
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licensees and employers, and shall report to the Board on compliance with this regulation.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published here.  A copy of 
the regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/proposed/11 DE Reg 464 10-01-07.htm

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

PUBLIC NOTICE

ORDER NO. 7254

This 4th day of September, 2007, the Commission determines and Orders the following:
1. In 2000, this Commission regained the authority to issue Certificates of Public Convenience and 

Necessity (“CPCN”) to authorize entities to enter the water utility business or to allow existing water utilities to 
expand their operations and facilities into new service territories.  See 26 Del. C. § 203C (2006 Supp.) (“§ 203C”). 
The Commission thereafter promulgated rules to chart how the Commission would navigate this water utility CPCN 
regime.  See “Regulations Governing Water Utilities Including the Public Service Commission’s Jurisdiction to 
Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity” (adopted by PSC Order No. 5730 (June 5, 
2001) (“2001 Rules”)).1

2. Earlier this year, the Commission published notice that it proposed to repeal the 2001 rules in favor 
of a new set of rules mapping the regime surrounding CPCNs for water utilities.  See PSC Order No. 7142 (Mar. 
20, 2007) (proposing new rules to supercede 2001 Rules); 10 DE Reg. 1563-1580 (April 1, 2007) (formally noticing 
repeal and proposed new CPCN rules). However, during the course of the proceedings before the Hearing 
Examiner reviewing these new rules,  the Governor and General Assembly amended the provisions of § 203C. 
See 76 Del. Laws ch. 55 (June 28, 2007) (“chap. 55”).  In the main, the amendments reworked the listed criteria for 
awarding a CPCN under § 203C.  In particular, the amendment now obligates a utility to obtain petitions asking for 
water services executed by all of the landowners of each parcel to be included in a new service territory.2  An 

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF RULES |
CONCERNING THE IMPLEMENTATION OF |
72 DEL. LAWS CH. 402 (2000) GRANTING |
THE COMMISSION THE JURISDICTION TO | PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 51
GRANT AND REVOKE THE CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC |
CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY FOR PUBLIC |
UTILITY WATER UTILITIES (OPENED NOVEMBER 21, |
2000; REOPENED MARCH 20, 2007) |

1. Published in 5 DE Reg. 212 (July 1, 2001).

2. See 26 Del. C. § 203C(e)(1)b., as amended by chap. 55 § 1. Previously, a water utility could obtain a CPCN by 
presenting petitions signed by a majority of all of the landowners in the proposed service area. The amendment 
requires petitions for each parcel, executed by all the owners of record of the parcel. At the same time, the amend-
ments did not disturb a utility’s ability to receive a CPCN by proffering its agreement with the developer of a new 
development. The subdivision must have been previously approved by the relevant governmental authority. See 26 
Del. C. § 203C(e)(1)a., as carried forward by chap. 55 § 1.
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exception exists for “existing” subdivisions or developments, and “unincorporated communities.”  In such 
situations, the 2007 amendments permit a CPCN to be granted based on petitions for service signed by the 
landowners of a majority of the parcels within the development or community.3  In addition, the amendments also 
direct that, in the case of a CPCN premised on a resolution or ordinance enacted by a county or municipality, the 
service territory so authorized cannot extend beyond the political boundaries of the county or municipality entering 
the ordinance.4  Finally, in addition to making some other “technical” changes, the amendments require a municipal 
water authority to obtain the endorsement of the municipalities that formed it prior to seeking a CPCN to provide its 
water services beyond those municipalities’ borders.5

3. In light of the statutory amendments, the Hearing Examiner - at Staff’s suggestion – suspended 
further proceedings on the previously proposed new rules.  The Commission now withdraws the proposed rule 
changes proposed by Order No. 7142.  The recent legislative changes render some of those earlier provisions in 
need of further changes.

4. Instead, the Commission here proposes to adopt another set of new regulations related to CPCNs 
for water utilities.  See Exhibit B.  These new rules not only incorporate the statutory changes made in June, 2007, 
but also carry forward some of the same provisions, related to the administration of CPCNs, that were included in 
the earlier March, 2007 proposed rules.

5. The Commission proposes to repeal the 2001 Rules and adopt the revised set of rules pursuant to 
the authority granted by 26 Del.C. §203C(c) and 209(a). The revised rules entitled “Regulations Governing 
Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity for Water Utilities,” will supercede (and hence repeal) the 2001 
Rules.  They will, as did the 2001 Rules, apply to Commission-jurisdictional water utilities.  Moreover, they will also 
govern in those instances when a governmental, municipal, or municipal authority water utility must also seek a 
CPCN from the Commission in order to expand its operations and facilities.6

6. In many aspects, the new rules track the form and content of the 2001 Rules.  However, terms and 
provisions have now been added to conform to the new statutory criteria, and limitations, enacted in the 2007 
amendments to § 203C.  See proposed rules §§ 2.1 (definitions of “existing development,” “existing subdivision,” 
and “unincorporated community);” 3.9-3.11 (new criteria for CPCN); 3.12 (criteria for CPCN to municipal authority 
for extra-municipal service area).  In addition, this new set of proposed rules includes provisions that respond to 
various administrative and practical issues that Staff has identified as surfacing since the adoption of the 2001 
rules.  For example, the new rules provide forms of notice to be sent to landowners to explain the application and 
the landowners’ statutory right to “opt-out.”  See proposed rules §§ 10.2, 10.3.7  In a similar vein, the new rules 
impose particular mailing requirements related to the delivery of notices to landowners.  Proposed rules §§ 9.2-9.6. 
These mailing directives seek to ensure that the owners have actual notice that their property will be affected by 
the CPCN application.8  The new rules also impose an obligation on water utilities to retain, for five years, materials 
related to each application for a Certificate.  This retention obligation will help to make sure that the appropriate 
documents are available if later disputes might arise about a particular Certificate.  Proposed rules § 11.6.

3. See 26 Del. C. § 203C(e)(1)c., as amended by chap. 55 § 1.
  
4. See 26 Del. C. § 203C(e)(1)d., as amended by chap. 55 § 1.
  
5. See 26 Del. C. § 203C(n), as added by chap. 55 § 6. See 16 Del. C. ch. 14 (describing formation and powers 
of municipal water and sewer authorities).
 
6. See 26 Del. C. § 203C(a) (2006 Supp.) (municipalities, governmental agencies, water authorities, and water 
districts are within the scope of water utilities required to obtain Certificates except the CPCN regime is not applica-
ble where the municipal utility expands to serve within an area recently annexed by a municipality).
    
7. The 2007 statutory amendments limit the opt-out option to CPCN applications premised on landowner petitions 
under § 203C(e)(1)(b). & § 203C(e)(1)c. Thus, in the case of a CPCN premised on an agreement with a developer 
or an ordinance enacted by a county or municipality, the affected landowner is entitled to notice of the CPCN appli-
cation but cannot exercise any opt-out option. See 26 Del. C. § 203C(j), as amended by chap. 55 § 2.
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7. In several instances, the proposed new rules go beyond administrative detail.  First, the proposed 
new rules require the applying non-governmental water utility to certify that it will actually provide water services to, 
or have water system facilities available, the proposed service area within three years.  Proposed rules § 3.13. 
And if such certification fails to come true, the new rules then provide a mechanism for the Commission to 
determine whether the utility should be able to retain the CPCN in order to provide water services to the area. 
Proposed rules §§ 12.1-12.6.  Staff has proposed these provisions.  According to Staff, this process for certifying to 
actual service dovetails with the heart of the CPCN process: to authorize a water utility to “extend[] or expand[] . . . 
its business or operations.”  See 26 Del. C. § 203C(a) (2006 Supp.) (emphasis added).  In addition, as Staff sees it, 
the goal of the certification - to ensure that services follow the CPCN - is consistent with the text of § 203C, which 
conditions the grant of a CPCN for an area on either the developer signing a “service agreement,” the landowners 
“requesting water service,” or a governmental body “request[ing], direct[ing], or authoriz[ing] the applicant to 
provide water utility services.”  (all emphasis added.)  In each of the instances, the statutory text speaks of the 
Certificate being a vehicle for meeting an articulated desire to have water “service” in the service area, not a device 
for the utility to accumulate parcels in order to form a large, exclusive “franchise” area.9

8. Second, and also reflective of the statutory focus on “service” territory, the proposed new rules 
require that a service territory sought on the basis of 26 Del. C. § 203C(e)(1)b. be comprised of either a single 
parcel or multiple contiguous parcels to be served by a common system or main extension.  Proposed rules § 7.4. 
The Commission believes that this linkage of parcels within a service territory will foster efficient service territories.
 9. The Commission now proposes to adopt the new water utility CPCN Rules attached as Exhibit “B.” 
It solicits comments on any of the proposed provisions, including those adding bureaucratic details or the new 
regulatory section related to the certification of “actual service” to the service territory.  While not limiting the scope 
of any comments, the Commission also seeks input from water utilities and others on the following issues:

(a) Is the three-year period for providing service in a new service area reasonable in light of 
water utilities’ actual historical experiences?;

(b) Should the new rules more explicitly define “existing development”, “existing subdivision,” 
and “unincorporated community;”? and 

(c) Do the provisions of 26 Del. C. § 203C(e)(1)c. preclude a water utility from utilizing the 
provisions of 26 Del. C. § 203C(e)(1)b. to obtain a CPCN to serve one or more parcels in an existing development, 
existing subdivision, or an unincorporated community?
If a water utility believes the three-year period proposed for in the actual service certification provision (proposed 
rules §§ 3.13 & 12.0) is unreasonable, the utility should provide an appropriate time frame to be utilized in that 
process.  It should provide supporting data from its own experience to support its proffered time frame.

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:
1. That, for the reasons set forth in the body of this Order, and pursuant to 29 Del. C. § 10118(a), the 

Commission hereby withdraws the notice of repeal and rule revisions proposed by PSC Order No. 7142 (Mar. 20, 
2007), and published as proposed regulations at 10 Delaware Register of Regulations 1563-1580 (April 1, 2007). 
The Commission requests that the Registrar of Regulations publish notice of such withdrawal in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

2. That for the reasons set forth in the body of this Order, and pursuant to 26 Del. C. §§ 209(a)(1) & 
203C(c) and 29 Del. C. § 10113(a), the Commission now again proposes to repeal its “Regulations Governing 
Water Utilities Including the Public Service Commission’s Jurisdiction to Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public 
Convenience and Necessity (adopted by PSC Order No. 5730 (June 5, 2001)), and to adopt as a replacement for 

8. The statutory provisions of 26 Del. C. § 203C(d)(1) & (e)(1) (2006 Supp.) call for delivery of notices to landown-
ers by certified mail (or its equivalent). However, consistent with the “due process” principles articulated in Jones 
vs. Flowers, 547 U.S. 220 (2006), the new rules call for a follow-up mailing of notices by simple first-class mail to 
the landowner’s best known address in instances where the earlier certified mail attempt has been returned as 
unsuccessful.

9. The Commission received adverse comment about these provisions in response to similar provisions in the 
rules proposed by Order No. 7142. The Commission will incorporate the written comments received in response to 
the earlier proposed rule revisions into “the record” for this new set of proposed rules.
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such earlier rules the “Regulations Governing Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity for Water Utilities,” 
attached to this Order as Exhibit “B.”

3. That, pursuant to 29 Del. C. §§ 1133 and 10115(a), the Secretary shall transmit to the Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order; a copy of the current 
“Regulations Governing Water Utilities Including the Public Service Commission’s Jurisdiction to Grant and Revoke 
Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity” (Exhibit “A”) (now proposed to be repealed); and a copy of the 
now proposed “Regulations Governing Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity for Water Utilities” 
(Exhibit “B”).

4. That, in addition, the Secretary shall transmit the Notice of Proposed Rule-Making, attached as 
Exhibit “C,” to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations.  In addition, the 
Secretary shall cause such Notice of Proposed Rule-Making to be published in The News Journal and the 
Delaware State News newspapers on October 1, 2007.  The Secretary shall include proof of such publication in the 
docket file before the public hearing in this matter.  Further, the Secretary shall serve (by regular mail or electronic 
e-mail) a copy of such Notice on: (a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the Department of Natural Resources 
and Environmental Control; (c) the State Fire Marshal; (d) the Division of Public Health; (e) the State Planning 
Office; and (f) each person or entity who has made a timely request for advance notice of regulation-making 
proceedings; (g) each water utility currently subject to the regulatory jurisdiction of the Commission; and (h) each 
municipal water utility, governmental water district, or municipal water and sewer authority that has previously 
applied for a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity from this Commission. 

5. That, pursuant to 29 Del. C. §§ 10115(a) and 10116, persons or entities may file written comments, 
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before November 1, 2007.  The 
Commission will conduct a public hearing on the proposed new regulations on November 19, 2007 beginning at 
10:00 AM.  The comments, documents, briefs, and data received in response to the revised rules proposed by PSC 
Order No. 7142 (Mar. 20, 2007) (and now withdrawn) shall be incorporated into the record in this proceeding and 
shall be considered by the Hearing Examiner and Commission.

6. That, pursuant to 26 Del. C. § 502 and 29 Del. C. § 10116, Hearing Examiner Ruth Ann Price is 
designated to supervise the comment period and to conduct the public hearing. Thereafter, Hearing Examiner 
Price shall organize, classify, and summarize the materials and comments and file a Report with her 
recommendations concerning the adoption of the new regulations. Hearing Examiner Price is specifically 
designated, under 26 Del. C. § 102A, the power to determine the content and manner of any further public notice 
that might be necessary or appropriate.  Hearing Examiner Price may also conduct further proceedings, including 
additional hearings, as may be necessary or appropriate.

7. That Francis J. Murphy, Esquire, is designated Staff Counsel for this matter.  
8. That, pursuant to 26 Del. C. § 114, all jurisdictional water utilities are notified that they may be 

charged the costs of this proceeding.
9. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter 

as may be deemed necessary or proper. 

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chairman
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Dallas Winslow, Commissioner
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE-MAKING: AMENDMENT OF RULES FOR GRANTING AND SUPERVISING 
CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY FOR WATER UTILITIES

TO: ALL WATER UTILITIES, CONSUMERS, AND OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS

Under 26 Del.C. §203C, the Public Service Commission ("PSC") holds the authority to grant a Certificate 
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of Public Convenience and Necessity ("CPCN") to authorize an entity to begin water utility operations or to allow an 
existing water utility to expand its operations or business to a new proposed service territory. This CPCN authority 
encompasses water utilities subject to the PSC's general regulation as well as municipal and other governmental 
water utilities, districts, or authorities. In 2001, the PSC adopted "Regulations Governing Water Utilities Including 
the Public Service Commission's Jurisdiction to Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience and 
Necessity."  See 5 DE Reg. 212 (July 1, 2001). Those regulations set forth the process and criteria for reviewing, 
granting, or denying requests for CPCNs filed by water utilities.

Earlier, the PSC proposed to repeal the 2001 Rules related to water utility CPCNs in favor of a proposed 
new set of Rules. See 10 DE Reg. 1563-1580. The Commission has now withdrawn those earlier proposed new 
rules.

Pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§203C(c) and 209(a), the PSC now proposes to repeal those 2001 rules and 
replace them with new "Regulations Governing Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity for Water 
Utilities." As outlined in PSC Order No. 7254 (Sept. 4, 2007), the PSC believes the new rules will make 
improvements in the administration of the CPCN process. Initially, the proposed new rules implement the statutory 
changes made to the criteria for obtaining a CPCN (and the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C) by 76 Del. Laws ch. 55
(June 28, 2007).  Second, the new rules provide for more detailed requirements for notice to affected landowners 
of the CPCN application and provide specific requirements on the form of notice to be sent to affected landowners 
to inform them of their options. In addition, the new regulations add new provisions that require a water utility to 
certify that it will serve, or have facilities within, the new Proposed Service Area within three years and provide a 
procedure for the PSC to explore whether a CPCN should continue if service or facilities are not made available 
within such period.

You can review PSC Order No. 7254 (Sept. 4, 2007) and the proposed new rules in the October 1, 2007 
issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations. You can also review the Order and the new regulations at the PSC's 
Internet website located at http://depsc.delaware.gov. Written copies of the Order and proposed regulations can be 
obtained at the PSC's office at the address located below, for $0.25 per page.

The PSC now solicits comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials about 
the proposed repeal of the 2001 Water Utility CPCN rules and the adoption of the proposed new Water Utility 
CPCN rules.  If you want to file any such materials, you should submit an original and ten copies of such written 
documents on or before November 1, 2007.  You should file such materials with the PSC at the following address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 51

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission. 
Such electronic copy may be filed on a copy-capable CD-Rom disk or send as an attachment to an Internet e-mail 
addressed to karen.nickerson@state.de.us.

The PSC will also conduct a public hearing on the new proposed regulations on Monday, November 19, 
2007.  That hearing will begin at 10:00 A.M. and will be held at the PSC's office at the address set forth above. You 
may also submit comments and materials at such public hearing. 

If you are disabled and need assistance or help to participate in the proceedings, please contact the PSC 
to discuss that assistance.  If you want more information or have questions, you can contact the PSC about this 
matter at (800) 282-8574 (toll-free in Delaware) or (302) 736-7500.  Inquiries can also be sent by Internet e-mail 
addressed to andrea.maucher@state.de.us.

REGULATIONS CONCERNING WATER UTILITIES INCLUDING THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION'S 
JURISDICTION TO GRANT AND REVOKE CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY

10.101 Scope of Regulations.
These regulations are intended to govern certain practices and procedures before the Delaware Public 

Service Commission relating to water utilities.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007



PROPOSED REGULATIONS470
10.102 Definitions.
As used in these regulations:
"Commission" means the Delaware Public Service Commission.
"CPCN" means a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity.
"DPH" means the Delaware Division of Public Health.
"DNREC" means the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.
"Staff" means the Staff of the Delaware Public Service Commission.
"Secretary" means the Secretary of the Delaware Public Service Commission.

10.103  Application for Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity.
(a)  An application for a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity to begin the business of a water 

utility or to extend or expand the business or operations of any existing water utility shall be made in writing and 
filed with the Commission.  The application shall include all information and supporting documentation required by 
statute, the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Commission, these regulations, and shall not be considered 
complete until all such information and supporting documentation has been filed with the Commission.  At the time 
of filing, the application shall:

(1)  Contain a statement explaining the reason(s) why the Commission should grant the CPCN, 
and citations to all statutory and regulatory authority upon which the application is based, or upon which the 
applicant relies to support the application;

(2)  Clearly state the relief sought by the application; 
(3)  State the name, address, telephone number, and e-mail address (if any) of the person to be 

notified in the event the Staff determines there are deficiencies in the application;
(4)  Contain the supporting documentation required by 26 Del.C. § 203C, including evidence that 

all the landowners of the proposed territory have been notified of the application; 
(5)  Include a complete list of county tax map parcel number(s) for the area covered by the 

application;
(6)  Include (along with a complete list of tax map number(s)) corresponding names and addresses 

of property owners and a copy of all tax map(s) for the area;
(7)  For any proposed extension of service, contain a certification by the applicant that the 

extension will satisfy the provisions of 26 Del. C. § 403C, including the following:
(i)  The applicant is furnishing water to its present customers or subscribers in this State in 

such fashion that water pressure at every house supplied is at least 25 pounds at all times at the service 
connection; 

(ii)  The applicant shall furnish water to the house or separate location of each new 
customer or subscriber in this State at the pressure of at least 25 pounds at each such location or house at all times 
at the service connection while continuing also to supply each old customer or subscriber at the pressure of at least 
25 pounds at each house at all times at the service connection;

(iii) The applicant is not subject to a finding by the appropriate federal or state regulatory 
authority that it has materially failed to comply with applicable safe drinking water or water quality standards; and

(iv) The applicant is not subject to any Order issued by the Commission finding that the 
company has materially failed to provide adequate or proper safe water services to existing customers; and

(8)  For applications submitted under 26 Del. C. § 203C(e), include a statement indicating whether 
the applicant has determined if a majority of the landowners of the proposed territory to be served object to the 
issuance of a CPCN to the applicant, and the documentation relied upon to support the applicant's determination.

(b)  If an application for a CPCN involves a water utility project or service that requires the review, approval 
or authorization of any other state or federal regulatory body, including DNREC, the State Fire Marshal or DPH, the 
application to the Commission shall so state and shall include the following:

(1)  A statement of the current status of such application;
(2)  If the application to the other regulatory body or bodies has already been filed, a copy of any 

permit, order, certificate, or other document issued by the regulatory body relating thereto; and
(3)  If such an application or amendment thereof is filed with another state or federal regulatory 

body or a determination is made by any such regulatory body subsequent to the date of filing the CPCN application 
with the Commission, but prior to its determination, a copy of any permit, order, certificate or other document that 
has been issued relating thereto shall be filed with the Commission.
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(c)  An applicant for a CPCN – other than a municipality or other governmental subdivision – shall provide 
with the application (if not presently on file with the Commission) the following: 

(1)  A corporate history including dates of incorporation, subsequent acquisitions and/or mergers;
(2)  A complete description of all relationships between the applicant and its parent, subsidiaries, 

and affiliates.  Furnish a chart or charts which depict(s) the inter-company relationships; 
(3)  A map identifying all areas, including all towns, cities, counties, and other government 

subdivisions to which service is already provided; 
(4)  A statement identifying any significant element of the application which, to the applicant's 

knowledge, represents a departure from prior decisions of the Commission;
(5)  Annual reports to stockholders for applicant, its subsidiaries, and its parent for the last two 

years;
(6)  The applicant's audited financial statements, 10K's, and all proxy material for the last two 

years; and
(7)  Any reports submitted by the applicant within the preceding twelve months to any state or 

federal authorities in any proceedings wherein an issue has been raised about the applicant's failure to comply with 
any statute, regulation, rule, or order related to the provision of safe, adequate and reliable water service, including 
the water quality of water provided to existing customers.

(d)  A municipality or other governmental subdivision applying for a CPCN shall provide with the application 
(if not presently on file with the Commission) the statement and documents identified in subsections (c)(3), (4) and 
(7) hereof.

(e)  After a completed application has been filed and during the course of the Staff investigation of an 
application, the Commission may require an applicant to furnish additional information specifically related to the 
statutory standards for Commission review and consideration of an application, including the provision of safe, 
adequate, and reliable water service.

(f)  Supporting documentation not filed with the application must be made available for Staff inspection 
upon request.

10.104  Additional requirements for an application filed by a new water utility.
(a)  If the applicant for a CPCN is a new water utility that has not previously been awarded a CPCN in 

Delaware, the application, in addition to meeting the requirements of section 10.103, shall include the following:
(1)  Evidence that it possesses the financial, operational, and managerial capacity to comply with 

all state and federal safe drinking requirements and that it has, or will procure, adequate supplies of water to meet 
demand, even in drought conditions, by maintaining supply sufficient to meet existing and reasonably anticipated 
future peak daily and monthly demands;

(2)  A certified copy of the applicant's certificate of incorporation;
(3)  Details of plant as to type, capacity, cost, status of plant construction, construction schedule, 

and estimated number of customers to be served; and
(4)  A map showing the location and size, in acres or square feet, of the proposed territory, and the 

composition, diameter, length, and location of pipes to be initially installed.
(b)  If the applicant for a CPCN is a new water utility that is an unincorporated proprietorship, the applicant 

shall be subject to a rebuttal presumption that the applicant lacks the financial, operational, and managerial 
capacity to comply with the requirements for a CPCN.

10.105  Review of application; deficiencies in the application.
(a)  The Staff shall review all CPCN applications for compliance with applicable statutes and these 

regulations. The Staff will, within twenty-one days after the date of filing, specifically identify any deficiencies in the 
application, and immediately request the Secretary to promptly notify the applicant of the alleged deficiencies.  The 
applicant shall have thirty days from the date of the receipt of the notice from the Secretary of the deficiencies in 
the application to file a corrected or supplemental application.  The Commission may, in its discretion, extend the 
period to cure deficiencies in the application for an additional thirty days.

(b)  Only upon the applicant's filing of a corrected or supplemental application correcting the deficiencies 
shall such application be deemed completed and filed with the Commission for purposes of the time limits for 
action by the Commission under 26 Del. C. §203C(h).  In the event the alleged deficiencies are not cured within the 
time provided hereunder, Staff may move the Commission to reject the utility's application for non-compliance with 
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these regulations.
(c)  Nothing in this regulation shall prevent an applicant from filing an application in draft form for Staff's 

informal review and comment without prejudice, such informal review and comment not to be unreasonably 
withheld by Staff; nor shall this regulation affect or delay the filing date of applications that comply with applicable 
statutes and these regulations, or whose non-compliance is deemed minor or immaterial by the Commission or its 
Staff.

10.106  Filing of application with DNREC, the State Fire Marshal, and DPH; coordination and cooperation.
An applicant for a CPCN shall file a copy of the application and the supporting documentation required by 

section 10.103(a)(5) and (6) with DNREC, the State Fire Marshal, and DPH within three days of filing the same with 
the Commission. The Staff shall send written requests to DNREC, the State Fire Marshal, and DPH soliciting 
immediate written comment as to whether they are aware of any matters indicating that the applicant has been 
unwilling or unable to provide safe, adequate and reliable drinking water service to existing customers.  The Staff 
shall coordinate and cooperate with DNREC, the State Fire Marshal, and DPH during the process of reviewing an 
application for a CPCN.  The Staff shall also coordinate and cooperate with other interested state, local, and 
federal authorities.

10.107  Provision of notice to all landowners of the proposed territory.
(a)  Pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C(d)(1) and (e)(1), prior to filing the application with the 

Commission, the applicant shall provide written notice to all landowners of the proposed territory of the anticipated 
filing of the application.

(b)  The written notice required by 26 Del.C.  203C(d)(1) and (e)(1) shall be sent to all landowners of the 
proposed territory not more than sixty days and not less than thirty days prior to the filing of the application.

10.108  Landowners who object, opt-out, and/or request a public hearing; time limits; extension of time.
(a)  In proceedings involving an application submitted under 26 Del.C. §203C(e), any landowner whose 

property, or any part thereof, is located within the proposed territory to be served shall be permitted to (i) object to 
the issuance of the CPCN; (ii) opt-out of inclusion in the territory; and/or (iii) request a public hearing.  The 
applicant shall inform the Commission of the name and address of all landowners who notify the applicant of their 
objection to the issuance of the CPCN, their intention to opt-out of inclusion in the territory, and/or request a public 
hearing, and shall file with the Commission any written notices received from such landowners.  The Commission 
shall maintain records identifying all landowners who have provided written notice of their objection to the issuance 
of the CPCN, their intention to opt-out of inclusion in the territory, and/or request a public hearing, and shall make 
such records available to the applicant.

(b)  A landowner shall notify the Commission, in writing, if the landowner (i) objects to the issuance of the 
CPCN; (ii) intends to opt-out of inclusion in the territory; and/or (iii) requests a public hearing.  The notice to the 
Commission from the landowner must be filed with the Commission within (i) sixty days from the date of the 
landowner's receipt of a written notice from the water utility that complies with applicable statutes and these 
regulations, of the landowner's inclusion in the service territory; or (ii) thirty days of the filing of the completed 
application, whichever period is greater.  The Commission may, in the exercise of its discretion, extend the time to 
object, opt-out, and/or request a public hearing even though the period in which to do so has expired.  The 
Commission shall accept for filing written notices from landowners that were sent to the applicant and transmitted 
by the applicant to the Commission.

10.109  Notification to all landowners of the proposed territory of their rights to object, opt-out, and/or 
request a public hearing.

(a)  Pursuant to 26 Del.C. §203C(e), and for the purposes of notification to all landowners of the proposed 
territory encompassed by the CPCN, the notice sent to the landowners of the proposed territory must include, at a 
minimum, the following statement:

“(1)  Pursuant to Title 26, §203C(e) of the Delaware Code, an application for a Certificate of 
Public Convenience and Necessity (CPCN) will be submitted to the Delaware Public Service 
Commission on or about {enter date of intended submission}.  Your property has been included 
within an area {enter name of your organization} intends to serve with public water and we are 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 473
required to inform you of certain information. The area to be served is {provide a shorthand 
description of the service area}. If you agree to the inclusion of your property in the proposed 
service area, no action on your part is required.

(2)  Pursuant to current law, you may file an objection to receiving water service from {enter 
name of your organization}.  Under Delaware law, the Public Service Commission cannot grant a 
CPCN to {enter name of your  organization} for the proposed service area, including your property, 
if a majority of the landowners in the proposed service area object to the issuance of the CPCN.  If 
you object to receiving water service from {enter the name of your organization}, you must notify 
the Commission, in writing, within sixty days of your receipt of this notice or within thirty days of the 
filing of the completed application for a CPCN, whichever is greater.

(3)  Pursuant to current law, you may also elect to opt-out of inclusion in the proposed service 
area. The term "opt-out" means that you decide that you do not want to receive water service from 
{enter name of your organization}, even if a majority of the landowners in the proposed service 
area do elect to receive water service from {enter name of your organization}.  If you decide that 
you do not want to receive water service from {enter name of your organization} and instead wish 
to opt-out, you must notify the Commission, in writing, within sixty days of your receipt of this 
notice or within thirty days of the filing of the completed application for a CPCN, whichever is 
greater.  

(4)  You may also request a public hearing on this matter.  A request for a public hearing must 
be made in writing to the Commission within sixty days of your receipt of this notice or within thirty 
days of the filing of the completed application for a CPCN, whichever is greater.

(5)  The written notice of your decision to object to the issuance of the CPCN, to opt-out of 
receiving water service from {enter name of your organization}, and/or your written request for a 
public hearing, shall be sent to the Secretary of the Delaware Public Service Commission at the 
following address:

Secretary
Delaware Public Service Commission
{insert the address of the Secretary of the Delaware Public Service Commission}

(6)  Any written notice you send to the Commission must include the description of the service 
area referred to in paragraph (1) above and the name of the applicant so the Commission will be 
able to identify the CPCN application to which your notice is related.

(7)  Questions regarding objections, opt-outs, and hearings may be directed to: {enter the 
name or title, and the address and telephone number of the Commission's contact person(s)}."

(b) If a landowner sends a written notice directly to the applicant, the applicant shall file the notice with 
the Commission.

10.110  Suspension or revocation of CPCN for good cause. 
(a) Pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. § 203C(k) and (l), the Commission may suspend or revoke a 

CPCN, or a portion thereof, for good cause.  Good cause shall consist of:
(1)  A finding by the Commission of material non-compliance by the holder of a CPCN with any 

provisions of Titles 7, 16, or 26 of the Delaware Code dealing with obtaining water or providing water and water 
services to customers, or any order or rule of the Commission relating to the same; and

(2)  A finding by  he Commission that, to the extent practicable, service to customers will remain 
uninterrupted under an alternative water utility or a designated third party capable of providing adequate water 
service, including a trustee or  receiver appointed by the Delaware Court of Chancery; and 

(3)  Either (i) a finding by the Commission that there are certain methods to mitigate any financial 
consequences to customers served by the utility subject to suspension or revocation and the adoption of a plan to 
implement those methods; or (ii) a finding by the Commission that there are no practicable methods to mitigate the 
financial consequences to customers.

(b) In addition to the factors required by section 10.110(a)(1), (2) and (3), the Commission may consider 
one or more of the following factors in determining whether to suspend or revoke a CPCN: 
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(1)  Fraud, dishonesty, misrepresentation, self-dealing, managerial dereliction, or gross 
mismanagement on the part of the water utility; or

(2)  Criminal conduct on the part of the water utility; or
(3)  Actual, threatened or impending insolvency of the water utility; or
(4)  Persistent, serious, substantial violations of statutes or regulations governing the water utility 

in addition to any finding of non-compliance required by paragraph (a)(1) above; or 
(5)  Failure or inability on the part of the water utility to comply with an order of any other state or 

federal regulatory body after the water utility has been notified of its non-compliance and given an opportunity to 
achieve compliance; or

(6)  Such other factors as the Commission deems relevant to the determination to suspend or 
revoke a CPCN.

10.111  Proceedings to suspend or revoke a CPCN for good cause.
(a)  Proceedings before the Commission to suspend or revoke a CPCN for good cause shall be conducted 

in accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, Subchapter III.
(b)  Unless the Commission finds, pursuant to proceedings conducted in accordance with subsection (a) 

above, that (i) the conduct of a water utility poses an imminent threat to the health and safety of its customers; or 
(ii) a water utility is unable to provide safe, adequate, and reliable water service, the Commission will not suspend 
or revoke a CPCN for good cause without first affording the water utility a reasonable opportunity to correct the 
conditions that are alleged to constitute the grounds for the suspension or revocation of the CPCN.

10.112  Compliance with 29 Del. C. Ch. 101, Subchapter III.
Proceedings before the Commission involving Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity for water 

utilities shall be conducted in accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, Subchapter III, 
including any proceedings related to any findings under 26 Del. C. § 203C(f) that an applicant is unwilling or unable 
to provide safe, adequate, and reliable water service to existing customers, or is currently subject to such a 
Commission finding.

10.113  Waiver of requirements of sections 10.103 and 10.104.
The Commission may, in the exercise of its discretion, waive any of the requirements of sections 10.103 

and 10.104 above.

Regulations Concerning Certificates Of Public Convenience And Necessity For Water Utilities

1.0 Authority and Scope of Regulations
1.1 These regulations shall govern the process:  (a) for a person or entity (as described in 26 Del.C. 

§203C(a)) to obtain a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity to begin operation as a water utility; and (b) 
for a water utility to obtain a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity to extend, expand, or  enlarge its 
operations, business, or facilities beyond its then certificated service territory. These regulations also govern, in 
conjunction with the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C, how the Commission administers, supervises, and revokes 
any such Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity previously granted to a water utility.

1.2 These regulations are enacted pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§203C and 209(a).
1.3 In granting, denying, or revoking a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity under 26

Del.C. §203C and these regulations, the Commission shall act consistently with the procedures required by 29
Del.C. ch. 101, Subchapters III and IV.

1.4 The Commission may modify or extend any of the timing requirements set forth in these 
regulations so long as such timing requirement is not required by statutory provision.

1.5 The Commission may by Order, and for good cause, waive any obligation under these regulations 
that is not required by statute and may, in an individual application, excuse any failure to comply with these 
regulations that is not material to the Commission's decision.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, should have the following meanings, 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
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"Commission" refers to the Public Service Commission.
"CPCN" or "Certificate" means a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity required by the 

provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C.
"DPH" refers to the Division of Public Health of the Department of Health and Social Services.
"DNREC" refers to the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.  
"Existing development" or "existing subdivision" means an aggregate of already-occupied homes or 

buildings within a particular geographic area:
(a) that were constructed as part of a single-named development or subdivision;
(b) that share common deed restrictions or covenants; or
(c) that are governed by a common homeowners' association or similar type of body.

The existence and boundaries of such a development or subdivision may be established by a plat or 
subdivision map, documents reflecting common deed or conveyance restrictions, or homeowner association 
documents.

"Landowner notification" means the process for delivering to each landowner of record the relevant form 
of notice prescribed by either these regulations or further Commission directive.

"Landowner of record" shall mean each person or entity as defined and described in 26 Del.C. §203C(j). 
A landowner of record may be identified by reference to public tax or public land records or by relevant land 
conveyance documents.

"New water utility" means, for the purposes of 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(2), an entity that has not previously 
provided water utility services to the public within this State.

"Postal Service" refers to the United States Postal Service. 
“Proposed Service Area" is equivalent to "the proposed territory to be served" and means the area in 

which the applicant proposes to offer and provide its water utility services. The proposed service area shall be 
described by reference to one or more parcels or property, identified by the relevant county tax map identification 
designations. If the proposed service area cannot be described by reference to parcels of property, it may be 
described by a metes and bounds description, or any other equivalent description capable of being mapped.

"Record date" means the date for determining the persons and entities who are landowners of record in 
the Proposed Service Area. The record date shall be a date chosen by the applicant that is no more than sixty days 
prior to the date of filing of the application for a CPCN.

"SFM" refers to the Office of the State Fire Marshal.
"Staff" refers to the Staff of the Commission.
"Secretary" refers to the Secretary of the Commission.
"Unincorporated community" means an aggregate of already-occupied homes or buildings lying within a 

particular compact unincorporated geographic area that share common community interests; and
(a) that are commonly described as comprising a named community; or
(b) that are identified on maps as a particular named community.

The existence and boundaries of such an unincorporated community may be established by a plat, map, 
census data, or post office designation.

"Water utility" means a person or entity as defined by 26 Del.C. §102(8) that is obligated to obtain a 
CPCN under 26 Del.C. §203C(a).

3.0 Application for Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity
In General
3.1 An application for a Certificate to begin the business of a water utility, or to extend or expand the 

business, operations, or facilities of any existing water utility, shall be made in writing and shall be filed with the 
Commission.

3.2 An applicant may request, by a single application Certificates for one to five Proposed Service 
Areas.  In the case of an application joining multiple Proposed Service Areas, the application shall contain sufficient 
information and documentation to establish the applicant's entitlement to a Certificate for each separate Proposed 
Service Area. The Commission shall separately determine for each Proposed Service Area whether to grant a 
Certificate for that area. However, the Commission, by a single Order, may grant a CPCN for one or more of the 
Proposed Service Areas that have been joined in a single application.

3.3 The CPCN application shall include all information and supporting documentation required by 26
Del.C. §203C, the Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure, and these regulations. An application shall not 
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applicant.
Evidence of Landowner Notification
3.5 The application shall contain for each Proposed Service Area the documentation reflecting 

landowner notification as required by 26 Del.C. §203C(d)(1) or (e)(1), including:
3.5.1 copies of relevant Postal Service forms demonstrating that the applicant sent by certified 

mail the appropriate form of notice as required by these regulations to each landowner of record of each parcel 
encompassed within the Proposed Service Area;

3.5.2 copies of all materials or messages provided to the applicant by the Postal Service 
reflecting either delivery of the certified mail or failure of certified mail delivery because the delivery was "refused," 
"unclaimed," "undeliverable," "unknown," or otherwise not completed; and

3.5.3 a certification (or other evidence) that, for each earlier notice that was returned by the 
Postal Service due to a failure of certified mail delivery, the applicant then sent another copy of the required notice 
by first class United States mail to the best available address of the applicable landowner of record.

Criteria for a CPCN Request
3.6 For a request for a Proposed Service Area premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(d)(2)a., the application 

shall include all evidence (including reports or studies) that establish that the water sources and supplies then 
available in the Proposed Service Area do not meet the relevant standards governing drinking water for human 
consumption promulgated and enforced by the Department of Health and Social Services.

3.7 For a request for a Proposed Service Area premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(d)(2)b., the application 
shall include all evidence (including reports or studies) demonstrating that the supply of water available to the 
Proposed Service Area is insufficient to meet the projected demand. 

3.8 For a request for a Proposed Service Area premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)a., the application 
shall include a copy of a signed service agreement between the applicant and the developer of the proposed 
development or subdivision, and appropriate documentation reflecting that the development or subdivision has 
finally been approved by the relevant county or municipal government

3.9 For a request for a Proposed Service Area premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)b., the application 
shall include copies of each petition requesting that the applicant provide water services which has been signed  by 
all of the landowners of record of each parcel in the Proposed Service Area. Each such petition must meet the 
criteria set forth in section 8.1

3.10 For a request for a Proposed Service Area premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)c., the application 
shall include copies of each petition requesting that the applicant provide water services which has been signed by 
all of the landowners of record of a parcel to be encompassed by the Proposed Service Area. Each such petition 
must meet the criteria set forth in section 8.1. The application shall include such petitions for a majority of the 
parcels within the existing development, existing subdivision, or unincorporated community that constitutes the 
Proposed Service Area.1

3.11 For a request for a Proposed Service Area premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)d., the application 
shall include a certified copy of the resolution or ordinance from the governing body of the relevant county or 
municipality that requests, directs, or authorizes the applicant to provide water utility services to the Proposed 
Service Area. If requested, the applicant must also provide additional references to demonstrate that the county or 
municipality enacting the ordinance or resolution has the appropriate legal authority to authorize the provision of 
water utility services to the Proposed Service Area.

Additional Criteria for a CPCN Request by a Municipal Water Authority
3.12 If the applicant is a municipal water authority created under the provisions of Chapter 14 of title 16 

of the Delaware Code, and it seeks a Proposed Service Area that lies, wholly in part, outside of the political 

1.  Pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del. C. § 203C(e)(1)d., the resolution or ordinance shall only entitle the appli-
cant to a Proposed Service Area that lies within the political boundaries of the county or municipality that entered 
the resolution or ordinance. If the applicant is a municipality or municipal utility, and it seeks a Proposed Service 
Area that lies, wholly or in part, outside of the municipality's political boundaries, the applicant must, in the case of 
those parcels that are outside of the political boundaries, either (1) provide documentation to support a Certificate 
under some other provision of 26 Del. C. § 203C(d) or (e) or (2) cite another statutory provision that entitles the 
applicant to serve such parcels and which preempts the limitation expressed in 26 Del. C. § 203C(e)(1)d.
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boundaries of the municipality or municipalities that originally created such municipal authority, the application shall 
also include, as required by 26 Del.C. §203C(n), a certified copy of a resolution of the governing body of each such 
municipality requesting that the Certificate for the extra-territorial portion of the Proposed Service Area be granted.2

Plan of Service
3.13 An application shall include, for each Proposed Service Area, a description of how the applicant 

will provide water utility services to the area. In addition, the application shall include a separate certification that 
the applicant plans to provide its water utility services to consumers within the Proposed Service Area beginning no 
later than three years following the grant of a CPCN for the Area. 3

Additional Quality of Service Certifications and Information
3.14 In the case of a request by a water utility to expand or extend its operations and business, the 

application shall contain a certification that the proposed extension and expansion will satisfy the provisions of 26
Del.C. §403C.  The applicant shall certify that:

3.14.1 the applicant is then furnishing water to its present customers in such manner that water 
pressure at every connection is at least 25 pounds at all times;

3.14.2 the applicant will furnish water to each new customer in each Proposed Service Area at 
the pressure of at least 25 pounds at the service connection while continuing also to supply each existing customer 
at a pressure of at least 25 pounds at each service connection;

3.14.3 the applicant is not then subject to a ruling, decision, or finding by any federal or state 
regulatory authority that found, concluded, or determined that the application materially failed to comply with 
applicable safe drinking water or water quality standards; and 

3.14.4 the applicant is not subject to any finding or Order of the Commission that determined that 
the applicant materially failed to provide adequate or proper safe water services to existing customers.

3.15 If an applicant cannot supply each of the above certification, the application shall include a 
statement why the provisions of 26 Del.C. §403C do not apply to the applicant or the particular application.

3.16 If an application will involve a water utility project or water utility services that require the review, 
approval, or authorization of any other state or federal regulatory body (including DNREC, the SFM, or the DPH) 
the application shall also include:

3.16.1 a description of the nature of the review by the other regulatory body and current status of 
such review; and

3.16.2 a copy of any permit, order, certificate, approval, or other documents already issued by 
any other regulatory body relating to the water project or services.

3.17 If, after the filing of the application, any other state or federal regulatory body issues any permit, 
order, certificate, approval, or other documents related to the water project or services relevant to the application, 
the applicant shall promptly file such document with the Commission.

Additional Materials to be Supplied with the Application
3.18 Unless the following materials are already on file with, or available to, the Commission, an 

applicant - other than a municipal or other governmental water utility - shall provide with the application the 
following information: 

3.18.1 a corporate or business history including dates of incorporation and subsequent 
acquisitions and/or mergers;

3.18.2 a complete description of all relationships between the applicant and its parent, 
subsidiaries, and affiliates, including a chart of such intra- and inter-company relationships.

3.18.3 a map identifying all areas where the applicant then provides water utility services;
3.18.4 the Annual Reports provided to owners of the applicant, or to the owners of its parent or 

subsidiaries, over the two-year period prior to the filing of the application;
3.18.5 the audited financial statements, SEC 10K filings, and all proxy material related to the 

2.  This requirement for a resolution from each municipality requesting the grant of a Certificate does not excuse 
the municipal water authority from establishing its entitlement to a Certificate for the Proposed Service Area outside 
of the municipality's boundaries under the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C(d) or (e).

3.  This requirement shall not apply in the case of a Proposed Service Area for a municipal water utility or a gov-
ernmental water utility that lies within the political boundaries of the municipality or government. 
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applicant for the two years prior to the filing of the application; and
3.18.6 copies of all reports submitted by the applicant within the preceding twelve months to any 

State or federal authority related to whether the applicant has complied with any statute, regulation, rule, or order 
concerning the provision of safe, adequate, and reliable water services (including the quality of water provided to 
existing customers).

3.19 Unless the materials are already on file with the Commission or available to the Commission, a 
municipal or other governmental water utility shall provide with the application the statement and documents 
identified in sections 3.18.3 and 3.18.6.

4.0 Additional Requirements for an Application Filed by a New Water Utility
4.1 If the applicant is a new water utility, the application, in addition to fulfilling the requirements of 

sections 3.0 through 3.19, shall also include the following: 
4.1.1 a copy of the applicant's certificate of incorporation, partnership agreement, or other 

enabling document;4 
4.1.2 materials that demonstrate that the applicant possesses the financial, operational, and 

managerial capacity to comply with all State and federal safe drinking requirements and that the applicant has 
available, or will be able to procure, an adequate supply of water (even during drought conditions) to meet 
reasonably anticipated peak daily and monthly demands for its water utility services;

4.1.3 a description of the plant to be utilized to provide its water utility services (including details 
as to the type and capacity of treatment facilities, cost of facilities, and the projected construction schedule); 

4.1.4 a map detailing the composition, diameter, length, and location of mains and pipes to be 
initially installed; and

4.1.5 a projection of the number of customers to be served in the five-year period following the 
grant of the requested CPCN.

5.0 Review of the Application and Deficiencies in the Application
5.1 An applicant may ask the Staff to informally review a draft of an application prior to its formal filing. 

Such informal review shall not affect or delay the filing of an application that complies with applicable statutes and 
these regulations.

5.2 Upon filing, the Staff shall review an application for compliance with the applicable statutory 
provisions and these regulations. Within thirty days after the date of filing, Staff may notify the applicant of specific 
deficiencies in the application. The applicant shall have thirty days from the date of the receipt of such notice to file 
an amended or supplemental application. The Commission may, in its discretion, extend the period for curing 
deficiencies in the application for an additional period of time.

5.3 If the applicant submits an amended or supplemental application, the application shall then be 
deemed filed on the date of such submission for the purposes of the time limits set forth in 26 Del.C. §203C(h). In 
the event the deficiencies identified by Staff are not cured within the time period provided, Staff may request that 
the Commission to reject the application.

5.4 During the period the application is pending before the Commission, the Staff may request the 
applicant to provide additional relevant information or documents.

6.0 Coordination with Other State Agencies, Counties, and Municipalities
6.1 At the time of the filing of an application, or within three days thereafter, the applicant shall serve 

copies of its application on DNREC, the SFM, and the DPH.
6.2 At the time of the filing of an application, or within three days thereafter, the applicant shall also 

send a notice of its application, with a description of the Proposed Service Area, to the county in which the Area lies 
(in whole or in part).

6.3 In addition, if any parcel of land in a Proposed Service Area is located within a "future annexation 

4. If the business structure of the applicant is a sole proprietorship, the Commission will presume, subject to 
rebuttal, that the applicant lacks the financial, operational, and managerial capabilities to provide adequate water 
utility services. An applicant that is a sole proprietorship may provide with its application evidence to rebut this pre-
sumption and demonstrate that it will have the capabilities to provide  adequate and reliable services.
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area" or "future growth area" under a comprehensive plan (26 Del.C. §§101 and 702) adopted by a municipality 
that provides water utility services, then the applicant shall also serve a copy of the application on the municipality 
(or its municipal utility). The applicant shall serve such copy on the municipality (or its utility) at least thirty days 
prior to filing the application with the Commission. The application filed with the Commission shall include a 
certification of such service on the identified municipality.

6.4 During the process of reviewing an application, the Staff shall coordinate and cooperate with 
DNREC, the SFM, and the DPH. Staff may also coordinate and cooperate with other interested State, local, and 
federal authorities in reviewing the request for a CPCN.

7.0 Proposed Service Area
7.1 For a request premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(d)(2)a., the Proposed Service Area shall encompass 

only such parcels of land that lack available water sources or supplies that meet the standards governing drinking 
water for human consumption promulgated and enforced by the Department of Health and Social Services.

7.2 For a request premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(d)(2)b., the Proposed Service Area shall encompass 
only such parcels of land that lack available water sources or supplies sufficient to meet the projected demand for 
water in such parcels.

7.3 For a request premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)a., the Proposed Service Area shall encompass 
only such parcels that are within the subdivision or development plat or plan that has been finally approved by the 
relevant county or municipal government.

7.4 For a request premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)b., the Proposed Service Area shall encompass 
either:

7.4.1 a single parcel; or
7.4.2 two or more contiguous parcels that will be provided water utility services by the same 

stand-alone system or by the same main extension.5  
7.5 For a request premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)c., the Proposed Service Area shall encompass 

only such parcels of land that the governing body of the county or municipality has directed,  requested, or 
authorized the applicant to serve.

7.5.1 For a request premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)c., the Proposed Service Area shall 
encompass only such parcels of land that lie within the existing development, existing subdivision, or the 
unincorporated community as described and defined under § 2.1.

8.0 Requirements Related to 26 Del. C. § 203C(e)(1)b. and c.
8.1 For a request premised on either 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)b. or 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)c., each 

petition requesting water utility services from the applicant must:
8.1.1 bear the signature of each landowner of record (or a duly authorized agent) that is 

requesting water utility services from the applicant;
8.1.2 reflect the date for each signature by each landowner of record, which date shall not be 

any earlier than one year prior to the date of the filing of the application;
8.1.3 bear a printed recitation of the name of each landowner of record executing the petition;
8.1.4 describe the nature and office of the executing individual if the request is by an artificial 

entity;
8.1.5 identify the tax map parcel number associated with each landowner of record requesting 

water service; and 
8.1.6 list the present mailing address and telephone number of each landowner of record that 

executes the request for water utility services.
8.2 If a petition under 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)b. or 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)c. involves a petition for water 

utility services on behalf of  condominium units as defined by 26 Del.C. §203C(j), the applicant shall provide with 
such petition the materials required by 26 Del.C. §203C(g)(1).

8.3 If a petition for water utility services is executed by an agent of the landowner of record, the 

5. If a landowner of record removes a contiguous property from the Proposed Service Area by the exercise of the 
"opt-out" option available under 26 Del.C. §203C(i), the exclusion of the parcel shall not render the remaining par-
cels non-contiguous.
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applicant shall provide with the petition evidence to demonstrate the agent's authority to act for the landowner of 
record.

9.0 Notice to Landowners in the Proposed Service Area
9.1 Pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C(d)(1) and (e)(1), prior to filing the application, the 

applicant shall send the form of notice prescribed by these regulations to each landowner of record in the Proposed 
Service Area. The landowners of record shall be determined as of the record date.

9.2 The form of notice required by these regulations shall be sent to each landowner of record not 
more than sixty days and not less than thirty days prior to the filing of the application. 

9.3 For requests premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(d)(2)a. or b., the notices shall be sent by United States 
certified mail, return receipt requested, with delivery restricted to the addressee.

9.4 For requests premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)a. or d., the notices shall be sent by United States 
certified mail, return receipt requested, with delivery restricted to the addressee.

9.5 For requests premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)b. or c., the notices shall be sent to those 
landowners of record who did not execute a petition for water services by United States certified mail, return receipt 
requested, and with delivery restricted to the addressee. In the case of landowners of record who did execute 
petitions for water service, the notices shall be sent by United States certified mail, return receipt requested.

9.6 If the Postal Service returns to the applicant any materials reflecting that, in the case of a particular 
landowner of record, the certified mail delivery required under sections 9.3 through 9.5 failed because the delivery 
was "refused," "unclaimed," "undeliverable," "unknown," or otherwise not completed, then the applicant shall 
promptly re-send the form of the required notice by first class United States mail to the best available address of 
that landowner of record.

9.7 The Commission, by Order, may authorize a method of providing notice to landowners of record 
that is equivalent to the methods set forth in sections 9.3 through 9.6.

10.0 Form of Notice to Landowners of Record
10.1 The notice to be sent to landowners of record in a request premised on either 26 Del.C. 

§203C(d)(2), 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)a., or 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)d. shall be in a form approved by Staff.
10.2 If the request is premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)b., the form of notice sent to landowners of 

record must include the following statements:

"Public records list you as a landowner of the property with the following tax map 
parcel identification number(s): [insert tax map parcel identification number(s)].  Within 
sixty (60) days, [insert water utility's name] plans to file an application with the 
Delaware Public Service Commission ("PSC") requesting a Certificate Of Public 
Convenience and Necessity ("CPCN") to provide water services to an area described 
as [insert description of proposed service area].  [INSERT WATER UTILITY'S NAME] 
HAS INCLUDED YOUR PROPERTY IN THE AREA IT INTENDS TO SERVE. IF YOU 
DO NOT TAKE ANY ACTION NOW, YOU MAY LOSE YOUR CHOICE OF WHO CAN 
PROVIDE WATER SERVICE TO YOUR PROPERTY AND WHETHER YOU CAN 
OBTAIN A WELL PERMIT. You should read this notice carefully to understand the 
options you have under the law in this situation.

a) You may choose to remain in the utility's proposed service 
territory. If you signed a petition for water services and wish to remain 
in the utility's proposed service territory, you may do nothing and 
disregard this letter.
(b) You may choose to "opt-out" of the utility's proposed service 
territory. You have the right to "opt-out" and have your property 
removed from the utility's service area. You can do this even though 
others in your area might desire water service from the utility. You 
should understand that being included in a utility's service area does 
not mean that public water services will be immediately available to 
your property or that, when available, you will be required to hook-up 
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to the public water system. However, if your property is included in the 
utility's water service territory and the well serving your drinking water 
needs becomes unusable, the Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control might deny you a permit for a new well if there 
is public water available to your property. On the other hand, if you 
elect to "opt-out" of the utility's service area, but later change your 
mind and decide to connect to the utility's public water system, you 
could be charged additional fees to be included in a new CPCN 
service area. Finally, you cannot "opt-out" after the Commission has 
granted the CPCN to the water utility.
(c) You may object to the CPCN application. If you file an 
objection, you need to tell the PSC why the utility has not met the 
law's requirements for a CPCN. You should review the law about what 
a utility must provide in order to obtain a CPCN (contact the PSC to 
obtain a copy of the law). If you file an objection, this will not also 
remove your property from a proposed service area. To remove your 
property from the service territory, you must request to "opt-out."

Under the law, the PSC is obligated to grant a CPCN to a utility to provide water 
services if the landowners of a parcel in the proposed service area have 
requested the utility's water services. Attached to this letter is a form which allows 
you (and other owners of the property) to exercise one or more of the options. If 
you wish to exercise any of the options, complete the form and return it to the PSC 
at the address listed below within 60 days from the date you receive this notice:

Delaware Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulelvard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, Delaware 19904

If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please contact the PSC at (302) 736-7500 
(in Delaware, call 800-282-8574) or by Internet e-mail at http://depsc.delaware.gov.

10.3 If the request is premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)c., the form of notice sent to landowners of 
record must include the following statements:

Public records list you as a landowner of the property with the following tax map parcel 
identification number(s): [insert tax map parcel identification number(s)].  Within sixty 
(60) days, [insert water utility's name] plans to file an application with the Delaware 
Public Service Commission ("PSC") requesting a Certificate of Public Convenience 
and Necessity ("CPCN") to provide water services to an area described as [insert 
name and description of existing development, existing subdivision, or unincorporated 
community].[INSERT WATER UTILITY'S NAME] HAS INCLUDED YOUR PROPERTY 
IN THE AREA IT INTENDS TO SERVE.  IF YOU DO NOT TAKE ANY ACTION NOW, 
YOU MAY LOSE YOUR CHOICE OF WHO CAN PROVIDE WATER SERVICE TO 
YOUR PROPERTY AND WHETHER YOU CAN OBTAIN A WELL PERMIT. You 
should read this notice carefully to understand the options you have under the law in 
this situation.

a) You may choose to remain in the utility's proposed service 
territory.  If you signed a petition for water services and wish to remain 
in the utility's proposed service territory, or, if you did not sign a 
petition for water services but do not object to being included, you 
may do nothing and disregard this letter.
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b) You may choose to "opt-out" of the utility's proposed service 
territory. You have the right to "opt-out" and have your property 
removed from the utility's service area. You can do this even though 
others in [insert development or community name] might desire water 
service from the utility. You should understand that being included in a 
utility's service area does not mean that public water services will be 
immediately available to your property or that, when available, you will 
be required to hook-up to the public water system. However, if your 
property is included in the utility's water service territory and the well 
serving your drinking water needs becomes unusable, the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control might 
deny you a permit for a new well if there is public water available to 
your property. On the other hand, if you elect to "opt-out" of the utility's 
service area, but later change your mind and decide to connect to the 
utility's public water system, you could be charged additional fees to 
be included in a new CPCN service area. Finally, you cannot "opt-out" 
after the Commission has granted the CPCN to the utility.
c) You may object to the Commission granting a CPCN for 
[insert development or community name]. If the landowners of a 
majority of the parcels in [insert development or community name] 
have not asked for water services, the PSC might deny the utility the 
right to serve in such area. An objection does not remove your 
property from the service territory; it simply reflects that you do not 
want the utility to provide services in the area. If you want to make 
sure your property is not included in the utility's service area, you 
should file the "opt-out" request described above. In addition, you 
may object that the water utility does not have the legal right to serve 
the area.  You should review the law about what a utility must provide 
in order to obtain a CPCN (contact the PSC to obtain a copy of the 
law). If you file such an objection, you will need to tell the PSC why 
the utility has not met the law's requirements for a CPCN.  Again, an 
objection will not remove your property from a proposed service area. 
To remove your property from the service territory, you must request 
to "opt-out."

Under the law, the PSC is obligated to grant a CPCN to a utility to provide water services to an 
existing development, existing subdivision, or recognized community if the landowners of a 
majority of the parcels in such development or community have requested the utility's water 
services. This means that even if you have not signed a request for the utility's water services, 
your property may be included in the utility's service area if the landowners of more than half of 
the parcels have made such requests. However, if you do not want your property included in 
the utility's proposed service territory or if you oppose the utility providing services in the area, 
then you must do something under one or more of the above options within 60 days.  Attached 
to this letter is a form which allows you (and other owners of the property) to exercise one or 
more of the options. If you wish to exercise any of the options, complete the form and return it 
to the PSC at the address listed below within 60 days from the date you receive this notice:

Delaware Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulelvard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, Delaware 19904

If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please contact the PSC at (302) 736-7500 
(in Delaware, call 800-282-8574) or by Internet e-mail at http://depsc.delaware.gov.
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10.4 In a request under 26 Del.C. §203C(e), the notice sent to each landowner shall also include a form 
of response (in a form approved by Staff) that allows the landowner to easily and plainly exercise the options 
available under the form of notice.

10.5 Except as the Commission might specifically approve, the applicant shall not include any other 
correspondence with the landowner notice required by these regulations. The exterior of the envelope for any 
notice shall carry language (approved by Staff) to alert the landowner of the importance of the notice.

10.6 Within twenty-one days of the filing of the application, the applicant shall also publish in two 
newspapers of general circulation a form of public notice of its application. The Staff shall approve a form of such 
public notice. The applicant shall promptly file proof of such publication with the Commission.

11.0 Landowner's Options to Object or "Opt-Out," and Objections from Other Interested Persons or 
Entities

11.1 A landowner of record of a parcel that is, in whole or in part, within a Proposed Service Area may 
object to a CPCN being granted by filing with the Commission a signed written document reflecting such objection. 
The objection shall set forth the reasons why the applicant is not entitled to a Certificate. Except for good cause, 
the written objection shall be filed with the Commission no later than twenty days after publication of the notices 
required under §10.6

11.2 The Commission may allow persons or entities that are not landowners of record to file an 
objection to an application for a CPCN. The objection shall set forth the person's or entity's interest in the matter 
and the reasons why the applicant is not entitled to a Certificate. Except for good cause, the objection by a non-
landowner shall be filed with the Commission no later than twenty days after publication of the notices required 
under §10.6.

11.3 In an application premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)b. or c., a landowner of record of a parcel that 
is, in whole or in part, within a Proposed Service Area may: (a) object to the issuance of the CPCN or (b) "opt-out" 
and have the landowner's parcel excluded from the Proposed Service Area pursuant to 26 Del.C. §203C(i). A 
landowner of record may exercise one or more of the above options.

11.3.1  The applicant shall immediately inform the Commission of the name and address of each 
landowner of record that notifies the applicant, either verbally or in writing, that the landowner wishes to exercise 
any one of the options under section 11.3. The applicant shall immediately file with the Commission any written 
documents from a landowner that exercises any of the options in section 11.3.

11.4 At any time prior to the issuance of the CPCN premised on 26 Del.C. §203C(1)b. or c., a 
landowner of record of a parcel that is, in whole or in part, within a Proposed Service Area, may file with the 
Commission a signed written document requesting that the landowner's parcel be excluded from the Proposed 
Service Area pursuant to 26 Del.C. §203C(i). A parcel will be excluded from the Proposed Service Area if any 
landowner of record of such parcel submits a signed "opt-out" request for exclusion of the parcel.  The Commission 
may deny an "opt-out" request submitted by a landowner of record if the landowners of record holding, or vested 
with, a controlling interest in the parcel rescind, or countermand, the request to "opt-out." The other owners shall 
demonstrate to the Commission that they hold the authority to bind the parcel.

11.5 The Commission shall maintain a record of all written documents received from landowners of 
record that exercise the options available under sections 11.1 through 11.4.

11.6 An applicant shall retain all record related to an application for a Certificate for a period of five 
years after the date of the filing of the application. The applicant shall make such records available to the 
Commission upon request.

12.0 Conditional Grant of a CPCN for a Proposed Service Area
12.1 A CPCN to provide water utility services to a Proposed Service Area shall be conditioned on the 

applicant subsequently actually providing water utility services to consumers within the Area within three years 
from the grant of the CPCN, consistent with the certification required to be made under section 3.13.

12.2 If at the end of three years after the grant of a CPCN the water utility is not actually providing water 
utility services to consumers within the Service Area granted by the CPCN, the Commission may institute a 
proceeding to determine whether the previously granted CPCN should lapse because of the water utility's failure to 
provide water utility services.

12.3 In determining whether the previously granted CPCN should lapse, the Commission may consider: 
(a) whether the landowners of record in the Service Area continue to endorse the water utility providing water utility 
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services to their properties; (b) whether the utility has a reasonable plan to begin to provide water utility services in 
the near future; and (c) whether the Service Area supports, or is essential to, the water utility providing water 
services to another Service Area.

12.4 If the Commission determines that the previously granted CPCN should lapse, any water utility 
may then file an application for a CPCN to provide water utility services to one or more parcels encompassed by 
the lapsed CPCN. 

12.5 A water utility granted a CPCN shall, within three years of the date of the CPCN, file a notice with 
the Commission reporting the date that it actually began providing water utility services to consumers in each 
Service Area granted by the CPCN.

12.6 The provisions of sections 12.1 through 12.5 shall not apply to a CPCN granted to a municipal 
water utility or a government water utility to provide water utility services to a service area in its governmental 
capacity.  In addition, those provisions shall not apply to any Service Area granted under 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)d. 
to a non-municipal or non-governmental water utility unless the relevant governing board of the municipality or 
county has withdrawn or revoked its earlier request for the water utility to provide its water utility services to the 
Service Area.

13.0 Suspension or Revocation of CPCN for Good Cause
13.1 Pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C(k) and (l), the Commission may suspend or revoke 

a CPCN, or a portion thereof, for good cause. Good cause shall consist of:
13.1.1   a finding by the Commission that the holder of a CPCN has not materially complied with: 

(a) any provisions of Titles 7, 16, or 26 of the Delaware Code dealing with obtaining water or providing water and 
water services to customers; or (b) any order or rule of the Commission relating to the same;

13.1.2 a finding by the Commission that, to the extent practicable, service to customers will 
remain uninterrupted under an alternative water utility or a designated third party capable of providing adequate 
water service, including a trustee or  receiver appointed by the Delaware Court of Chancery; and

13.1.3 either (a) a finding by the Commission that there are certain methods to mitigate any 
financial consequences to customers served by the utility subject to suspension or revocation and the adoption of 
a plan to implement those methods; or (b) a finding by the Commission that there are no practicable methods to 
mitigate the financial consequences to customers.

13.2 The Commission may also consider one or more of the following factors in determining whether to 
suspend or revoke a CPCN: 

13.2.1 fraud, dishonesty, misrepresentation, self-dealing, managerial dereliction, or gross 
mismanagement on the part of the water utility; or

13.2.2 criminal conduct on the part of the water utility; or
13.2.3 actual, threatened or impending insolvency of the water utility; or
13.2.4 persistent, serious, substantial violations of statutes or regulations governing the water 

utility in addition to any finding of non-compliance required by section 13.1.1 above; or
13.2.5 failure or inability on the part of the water utility to comply with an Order of any other State 

or federal regulatory body after the water utility has been notified of its non-compliance and given an opportunity to 
achieve compliance; or

13.2.6 such other factors as the Commission deems relevant to the determination to suspend or 
revoke a CPCN.

14.0 Proceedings to Suspend or Revoke a CPCN for Good Cause
14.1 Proceedings before the Commission to suspend or revoke a CPCN for good cause shall be 

conducted in accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del. C. ch. 101, Subchapters III and IV.
14.2 Unless the Commission finds, pursuant to proceedings conducted in accordance with section 14.1 

above, that (a) the conduct of the water utility poses an imminent threat to the health and safety of its customers; or 
(b) the water utility is incapable of providing safe, adequate, and reliable water service, the Commission will not 
suspend or revoke a CPCN for good cause without initially affording the water utility a reasonable opportunity to 
correct the conditions that are alleged to constitute the grounds for the suspension or revocation of the CPCN.
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

PUBLIC NOTICE

ORDER NO. 7276

This 4th day of September, 2007, the Commission determines and Orders the following:
1. In 2005 the General Assembly and the Governor enacted the "Renewable Energy Portfolio 

Standards Act," 26 Del.C. §§351-363 (2006 Supp.) ("the Act"). As its name suggests, the Act requires each electric 
supplier to annually accumulate a portfolio of "renewable energy credits" equivalent to a specified percentage of its 
retail electric supply sales within this State. The obligation begins in 2007 and the particular percentages increase 
each year.  In 2006, exercising the authority granted under 26 Del.C. §362 (2006 Supp.), the Commission 
promulgated "Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard" ("RPS Rules"). See 
PSC Order No. 6931 (June 6, 2006).1 

2. In the recently-ended legislative session, the General Assembly and Governor enacted significant 
changes to various provisions in the Act. See 76 Del. Laws ch. 165 §§1-9 (July 24, 2007) ("chapter 165"). The 
Commission now proposes to adopt revisions and amendments to its RPS Rules to incorporate, and assure 
consistency with, the statutory changes made by chapter 165. The revised RPS Rules, prepared by Staff and now 
being proposed for adoption, are set forth as Exhibit "B" to this Order.

3. The Commission continues to hold the authority to issue rules to implement the Act. See 26 Del.C. 
§362 (2006 Supp.). As noted, the proposed revisions are intended to mirror the recent changes in the statutory 
requirements. For example, the revisions incorporate the new "Schedule I" that increases the percentages of retail 
sales that electric suppliers must meet with renewable energy credits. Section 3.2.1.2 The proposed revisions also 
implement the new requirement that electric suppliers also concurrently acquire, as part of their yearly portfolio 
obligation, specified levels of "solar renewable energy credits." Section 3.2.1.3 In addition, the proposed revisions 
provide for the statutory increases to the dollar amounts of "alternative compliance payments" for renewable credits 
and institute a new solar alternative compliance payment regime to be available as an alternative to solar 
renewable  energy credits.  Section 3.3.4.4

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF RULES |
TO IMPLEMENT THE RENEWABLE ENERGY |
PORTFOLIO STANDARDS ACT, |
26 DEL.C. §§ 351-363, AS APPLIED TO | PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 56
RETAIL ELECTRICITY SUPPLIERS |
(OPENED AUGUST 23, 2005; |
REOPENED SEPTEMBER 4, 2007) |

1.  The RPS Rules (attached as Exhibit "A") were formally published at 10 DE Reg. 151-157 (July 1, 2006). 
Municipal electric utilities and the now self-regulated Delaware Electric Cooperative, Inc., can choose to be exempt 
from the Act's requirements by pursuing an alternative regime for supporting "renewable energy" resources. See 
26 Del.C. §§ 353(a), 363 (2006 Supp.).

2. See 26 Del.C. § 354(a), as amended by chapter 165 § 4(b).

3. See 26 Del.C. §§ 352(22)-(23), 354(a), 356(a), as amended by chapter 165 §§ 3, 4(a)-(b), & 6.

4. See 26 Del.C. §§ 352(22), 358(d), 358(e), as amended by chapter 165 §§ 3, 7, & 8.

http://depsc.delaware.gov/default.shtml
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Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:
1. That, for the reasons set forth in the body of this Order, and pursuant to 26 Del.C. §362 and 29

Del.C. §10115, the Commission proposes to revise its "Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy 
Portfolio Standard," originally adopted by PSC Order No. 6931 (June 6, 2006) and published at 10 DE Reg. 151-
57.  A copy of those rules, in their current form, are appended as Exhibit "A" to this Order.  The proposed revised 
Rules, which include the changes, amendments, and revisions now being proposed for adoption, are attached to 
this Order as Exhibit "B."

2. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 and 10115(a), the Secretary shall transmit to the Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order; a copy of the current 
"Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard" (adopted in PSC Order No. 6931 
(June 6, 2006)) (Exhibit "A"); and a copy of the revised "Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable 
Energy Portfolio Standard" now being proposed for adoption (Exhibit "B").  

3. That, in addition, the Secretary shall transmit the Notice of Proposed Rule-Making, attached as 
Exhibit "C," to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations. In addition, the 
Secretary shall cause such Notice of Proposed Rule-Making to be published in The News Journal and the 
Delaware State News newspapers on October 1, 2007. The Secretary shall include proof of such publication in the 
docket file before the public hearing in this matter. Further, the Secretary shall serve (by regular mail or by 
electronic e-mail) a copy of such Notice on: (a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the State Energy Office; (c) 
Delmarva Power & Light Company; (d) all certificated electric suppliers; and (e) each person or entity who has 
made a timely request for advance notice of regulation-making proceedings. 

4. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10115(a) and 10116, persons or entities may file written comments, 
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before October 31, 2007. Pursuant to 29
Del.C. §10117, the Commission will conduct a public hearing on the proposed revisions and resulting new "Rules 
and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard" on December 12, 2007 beginning at 
10:00 AM at the Commission's office at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware.

5. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C. §10116, Hearing Examiner Ruth Ann Price is 
designated to supervise the comment period and to conduct the public hearing. Thereafter, Hearing Examiner 
Price shall organize, classify, and summarize the materials and comments and file a Report with the Commission 
with her recommendations concerning the proposed revisions to the "Rules and Procedures to Implement the 
Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard." Hearing Examiner Price is specifically delegated the power, under 26
Del.C. §102A, to determine the content and manner of any further public notices that might be necessary or 
appropriate.  Hearing Examiner Price may also conduct further proceedings, including additional hearings, as may 
be necessary or appropriate.

6. That James McC. Geddes, Esquire, is designated Staff Counsel for this matter.  
7. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§114 and 1012(c)(2), all electric suppliers and electric public utilities 

are hereby notified that they may be charged the costs of this proceeding.
8. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter 

as may be deemed necessary or proper. 

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner Dallas Winslow, Commissioner
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE-MAKING: AMENDING “RULES and PROCEDURES TO IMPLEMENT THE 
RENEWABLE ENERGY PORTFOLIO STANDARD”

TO: ALL ELECTRIC SUPPLIERS, ELECTRIC UTILITIES, ELECTRIC GENERATORS USING RENEWABLE
RESOURCES, AND OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS

Under the "Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards Act," 26 Del.C. §§351-363 (2006 Supp.) ("the Act"), 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 487
each electric supplier making retail electric sales in Delaware must, beginning in 2007, accumulate a portfolio of 
"renewable energy credits" equivalent to a specified percentage of its overall retail electric supply sales. In 2006, 
the Public Service Commission ("PSC") adopted its "Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy 
Portfolio Standard" ("RPS Rules").  See 10 DE Reg. 151-157 (July 1, 2006).  

On July 24, 2006, the General Assembly and Governor enacted significant changes to various provisions 
of the Act. See 76 Del. Laws ch. 164 (July 24, 2007). In light of those statutory amendments, the PSC now 
proposes revisions to its RPS Rules to have those rules reflect, and be consistent with, the recent statutory 
changes. See PSC Order No. 7276 (Sept. 4, 2007).  For example, the proposed rule revisions incorporate the new 
statutory "Schedule I" that increases the percentages of retail sales that electric suppliers must meet with 
renewable energy credits. The proposed rule changes also implement the new requirement that electric suppliers 
also concurrently acquire, as part of their yearly renewable energy portfolio obligation, specified levels of "solar 
renewable energy credits." In addition, the proposed revisions reflect the increases in the dollar amounts of 
"alternative compliance payments" for renewable credits and institute a new solar alternative compliance payment 
regime to be available as a substitute for solar renewable energy credits. The PSC is authorized to make rules to 
implement the Act under 26 Del.C. §362.

You can review PSC Order No. 7276 (Sept. 4, 2007) and the proposed revised RPS Rules in the October 
1, 2007 issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations. You can also review the Order and the proposed, revised 
RPS Rules at the PSC's Internet website located at http://depsc.delaware.gov. If you wish to have written copies of 
the Order and proposed revised Rules, you can obtain them at the PSC's office at the address located below for 
$0.25 per page.

The PSC now solicits comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials about 
the proposed revisions to its RPS Rules. If you wish to file any such materials, you should submit an original and 
ten copies of such written documents on or before October 31, 2007. You should file such materials with the PSC 
at the following address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 56

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission. 
Such electronic copy may be filed on a copy-capable CD-Rom disk or sent as an attachment to an Internet e-mail 
addressed to karen.nickerson@state.de.us.

The PSC will also conduct a public evidentiary hearing on the new proposed regulations on Wednesday, 
December 12, 2007 at 10:00 AM at the Commission's office at the address set forth above. You may also submit 
comments and materials at such public evidentiary hearing.

If you are disabled and need assistance or help to participate in the proceedings, please contact the PSC 
to discuss that assistance.  If you want more information or have questions, you can contact the PSC about this 
matter at (800) 282-8574 (toll-free in Delaware) or (302) 736-7500. Inquiries can also be sent by Internet e-mail 
addressed to david.bloom@state.de.us.

RULES AND PROCEDURES TO IMPLEMENT THE RENEWABLE ENERGY PORTFOLIO STANDARD

1.0 Definitions
1.1 The following words and terms, when used in this Regulation, should have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Alternative Compliance Payment” (“ACP”) means a payment of a certain dollar amount per megawatt 

hour, which a Retail Electricity Supplier may submit in lieu of supplying the minimum percentage of RECs required 
under Section 3.3.4 of this Regulation.

“DNREC” means Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.
“Commission” means the Delaware Public Service Commission.
“Compliance Year” means the calendar year beginning with June 1 and ending with May 31 of the 
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following year, for which a Retail Electricity Supplier must demonstrate that it has met the requirements of this 
Regulation.

“Customer-Sited Generation” means a Generation Unit that is interconnected on the End-Use 
Customer’s side of the retail electricity meter in such a manner that it displaces all or part of the metered 
consumption of the End-Use Customer.

“Eligible Energy Resources” means the following energy sources located within the PJM region or 
imported into the PJM region and tracked through the PJM Market Settlement System:

Solar energy technologies that employ solar radiation to produce electricity;
Electricity derived from wind energy;
Electricity derived from ocean energy including wave or tidal action, currents, or thermal 

differences;
Geothermal energy technologies that generate electricity with a steam turbine, driven by hot water 

or steam extracted from geothermal reservoirs in the earth’s crust;
Electricity generated by a fuel cell powered by Renewable Fuels;
Electricity generated by the combustion of gas from the anaerobic digestion of organic material;
Electricity generated by a hydroelectric facility that has a maximum design capacity of 30 

megawatts or less from all generating units combined that meet appropriate environmental standards as 
determined by DNREC (see DNREC Regulation _____);

Electricity generated from the combustion of biomass that has been cultivated and harvested in a 
sustainable manner as determined by DNREC, and is not combusted to produce energy in a waste to energy 
facility or in an incinerator (see DNREC Regulation ____);

Electricity generated by the combustion of methane gas captured from a landfill gas recovery 
system; provided, however, that:

Increased production of landfill gas from production facilities in operation prior to January 
1, 2004 demonstrates a net reduction in total air emissions compared to flaring and leakage;

Increased utilization of landfill gas at electric generating facilities in operation prior to 
January 1, 2004 (i) is used to offset the consumption of coal, oil, or natural gas at those facilities, (ii) does not result 
in a reduction in the percentage of landfill gas in the facility’s average annual fuel mix when calculated using fuel 
mix measurements for 12 out of any continuous 15 month period during which the electricity is generated, and (iii) 
causes no net increase in air emissions from the facility; and

Facilities installed on or after January 1, 2004 meet or exceed 2004 Federal and State air 
emission standards, or the Federal and State air emission standards in place on the day the facilities are first put 
into operation, whichever is higher.

“End-Use Customer” means a person or entity in Delaware that purchases electrical energy at retail 
prices from a Retail Electricity Supplier.

“Fund” means the Delaware Green Energy Fund.
“GATS” means the Generation Attribute Tracking System developed by PJM-Environmental Information 

Services, Inc. (PJM-EIS).
“Generation Attribute” means a non-price characteristic of the electrical energy output of a Generation 

Unit including, but not limited to, the Unit’s fuel type, geographic location, emissions, vintage, and RPS eligibility.
“Generation Unit” means a facility that converts a fuel or an energy resource into electrical energy.
“Industrial Customer” means an End-Use Customer with a North American Industry Classification System 

(NAICS) Manufacturing Sector Code.
“Municipal Electric Company” means a public corporation created by contract between 2 or more 

municipalities pursuant to provisions of Title 22, Chapter 13 of the Delaware Code and the electric utilities that are 
municipally owned within the State of Delaware.

“New Renewable Generation Resources” means Eligible Energy Resources first going into commercial 
operation after December 31, 1997.

"Peak Demand" shall have the same meaning as and be determined consistently with how such term or a 
similar term is defined and determined in the applicable utility's tariff then in effect and approved by the 
Commission. For customers with more than one account, the peak demands shall be aggregated for all accounts. 
The calculation will be applied in the current year based on the Peak Demand, as defined above, in the prior year.

“PJM” or “PJM Interconnection” means the regional transmission organization (RTO) that coordinates 
the movement of wholesale electricity in the PJM region, or its successors at law.
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“PJM region” means the area within which the movement of wholesale electricity is coordinated by PJM 
Interconnection.  The PJM region is as described in the Amended and Restated Operating Agreement of PJM.

“Renewable Energy Credit” (“REC”) means a tradable instrument comprised of all the Generation 
Attributes equal to 1 megawatt-hour of electricity derived from Eligible Energy Resources and that is used to track 
and verify compliance with the provisions of this Regulation. A REC does not include emission reduction credits 
and/or allowances encumbered or used by a Generation Unit for compliance with local, state, or federal operating 
and/or air quality permits associated with the 1 megawatt-hour of electricity.

“Renewable fuel” means a fuel that is derived from Eligible Energy Resources. This term does not 
include a fossil fuel or a waste product from a fossil fuel source.

“RPS” and “Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard” means the percentage of electricity sales at retail in 
the State that is to be derived from Eligible Energy Resources.

“Retail Electricity Product” means an electrical energy offering that is distinguished by its Generation 
Attributes only and that is offered for sale by a Retail Electricity Supplier to End-Use Customers. Multiple electrical 
energy offerings with the same Generation Attributes may be considered a single Retail Electricity Product.

“Retail Electricity Supplier” means a person or entity that sells electrical energy to End-Use Customers 
in Delaware, including, but not limited to, non-regulated power producers, electric utility distribution companies 
supplying standard offer, default service, or any successor service to End-Use Customers. A Retail Electricity 
Supplier does not include a Municipal Electric Company for the purposes of this Regulation.

“Rural Electric Cooperative” means a non-stock, non-profit, membership corporation organized 
pursuant to the Federal “Rural Electrification Act of 1936” and operated under the cooperative form of ownership.

“Total Retail Sales” means retail sales of electricity within the State of Delaware exclusive of sales to any 
Industrial Customer with a Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts.

2.0 Purpose and Scope
2.1 The benefits of electricity from renewable energy resources accrue to the public at large, and 

electric suppliers and consumers share an obligation to develop a minimum level of these resources in the electric 
supply portfolio of the State. The purpose of this Regulation, in support of 26 Del.C., §351 – 363, is to set forth the 
rules for governing the RPS.

2.2 This regulation shall apply to all retail electricity sales in the State of Delaware except for retail 
electricity sales of Municipal Electric Companies and retail electricity sales to any Industrial Customer with a Peak 
Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts.

2.2.1 An Industrial Customer with Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts may elect to have 
their load exempt from this Regulation provided that they meet the definitions found in Section 1.1 and:

2.2.1.1 submit a notice to the Commission’s Staff including, but not limited to, Name and 
Address of Industrial Customer, and NAICS Code and load for each account;

2.2.1.1.1 the Commission’s Staff shall, within thirty (30) days of receipt of 
the notice, provide to the Industrial Customer an acknowledgement of the status, exempt or non-exempt, of the 
Industrial Customer and; 

2.2.1.2 submit the Commission’s Staff acknowledgement referenced in Section 2.2.1.1.1 
of this Regulation to their Retail Electricity Supplier.

2.2.2 For an End-Use Customer with multiple accounts totaling in excess of 1,500 kilowatts 
within an applicable utility’s service territory and served by a single Retail Electricity Supplier, to have their load 
exempt, the aggregate of their accounts with an NAICS Manufacturing Sector Code must have a Peak Demand of 
at least 751 kilowatts and they must follow the procedure found in Section 2.2.1.

2.3 Any Rural Electric Cooperative that is opted-out of Commission regulation by its membership 
pursuant to 26 Del.C. §223 of the Delaware Code shall, for all purposes of administering and applying this 
Regulation, be treated as a Municipal Electric Company during any period of time the Rural Electric Cooperative is 
exempt from Commission regulation. 

2.4 A Rural Electric Cooperative may elect to be exempt from the requirements of this Regulation 
provided that, on or before June 1, 2006, they:

2.4.1 submit a written notice to the Delaware General Assembly; 
2.4.2 submit a written notice to the Commission;
2.4.3 alert their End-Use Customers with notices inserted in two (2) consecutive electricity bills;
2.4.4 offer their End-Use Customers a voluntary program for purchasing renewable energy 
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under competitive rates; and
2.4.5 either contribute to the Delaware Green Energy Fund at levels commensurate with other 

Retail Electricity Suppliers or create an independent fund separate from the Delaware Green Energy Fund to be 
used in support of energy efficiency technologies, renewable energy technologies, or demand side management 
programs, into which they make payments of $0.178 for each megawatt-hour they sell, transmit, or distribute in the 
State.

3.0 Administration of RPS
3.1 Certifying Eligible Energy Resources:

3.1.1 The Commission through its Staff will certify Generation Units as Eligible Energy 
Resources based on the definition of Eligible Energy Resources found in Section 1.1 of this Regulation.

3.1.2 Any Generation Unit seeking certification as an Eligible Energy Resource must submit an 
Application for Certification as an Eligible Energy Resource Under the Delaware Renewable Energy Portfolio 
Standard (Application) to the Commission. This may include Customer-Sited Generation or a Generation Unit 
owned or operated by a Municipal Electric Company.

3.1.3 Commission Staff will review the Application and will notify the applicant of its approval as 
an Eligible Energy Resource or of any deficiencies in their Application within 30 days of receipt. The applicant will 
have the opportunity to revise their submission, if appropriate.

3.1.4 If Commission Staff finds the Generation Unit to be in compliance with Sections 1.0 and 
3.0 of this Regulation, as well as any other applicable Delaware statute; Commission Staff will issue a State of 
Delaware Certification Number.

3.1.5 Upon receipt of the State of Delaware Certification Number, a Generation Unit will be 
deemed an Eligible Energy Resource.

3.1.6 Upon designation as an Eligible Energy Resource, the Generation Unit’s owner shall be 
entitled to one (1) Renewable Energy Credit (REC) for each mega-watt hour of energy derived from Eligible Energy 
Resources.  RECs will be created and supplied by the PJM-EIS GATS, or its successor at law. Eligible Energy 
Resources are subject to applicable PJM-EIS GATS rules and shall pay applicable PJM-EIS GATS fees.

3.1.6.1 However, if in the future, the Commission finds that PJM-EIS’s GATS is not 
applicable or not suited to meet the needs or requirements of the RPS, the Commission may establish or 
participate in another renewable energy tracking system.

3.1.7 RECs created by Eligible Energy Resources on or after June 1, 2006 shall be valid to 
meet retail electricity supplier requirements, subject to Section 3.2.3 of this Regulation.

3.1.7.1 If a Generation Unit is deemed an Eligible Energy Resource under Section 3.1 
and the Eligible Energy Resource's GATS account continues to be maintained in good standing, the Eligible 
Energy Resource may achieve a Delaware designation for RECs recorded with PJM-EIS's GATS for the calendar 
year being traded in GATS at the time of the Commission Staff's approval of the Eligible Energy Resource, but no 
earlier than June 1, 2006.

3.1.8 An Eligible Energy Resource will remain certified unless substantive changes are made to 
its operational characteristics. Substantive changes include, but are not limited to changes in fuel type, fuel mix and 
generator type. An Eligible Energy Resource making substantive changes to its operational characteristics shall 
notify the Commission of such changes at least 30 days prior to the effective date of such changes.  At such time 
the Generation Unit shall submit a revised Application, which shall be subject to the process laid out in Section 3.1 
of this Regulation.

3.1.9 RECs created by an Eligible Energy Resource shall remain valid for compliance, subject 
to Section 3.2.3 and Section 3.3.3 of this Regulation, even if that Eligible Energy Resource is subsequently 
decertified for eligibility.

3.2 Compliance with RPS
3.2.1 The Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product sold to End-Use Customers by a 

Retail Electricity Supplier during any given Compliance Year shall include a minimum percentage of electrical 
energy sales from Eligible Energy Resources as shown in Schedule 1.
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3.2.2 A Retail Electricity Supplier’s compliance with Schedule 1 shall be based on accumulating 
RECs equivalent to the current Compliance Year's Cumulative Minimum Percentage of Total Retail Sales of each 
Retail Electricity Product sold to End-Use Customers and subject to Section 3.2.3 and, where appropriate, 
Commission regulations1. Such RECs shall be filed annually with the Commission within 120 days following the 
completion of the Compliance Year.

3.2.3 Each Retail Electricity Supplier can provide no more than 1% of each Compliance Year’s 
Total Retail Sales from Eligible Energy Resources operational before December 31, 1997. The remainder of each 
year’s retail sales, up to the required amount as specified in Section 3.2.1 of this Regulation must come from New 
Renewable Generation resources. In Compliance Year 2020 and for each Compliance Year thereafter, all Eligible 
Energy Resources used to meet the cumulative minimum percentage requirements set by the Commission rules 
shall be New Renewable Generation Resources.

3.2.4 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall not use RECs used to satisfy another state’s renewable 
energy portfolio requirements for compliance with Schedule 1.  A Retail Electricity Supplier may sell or transfer any 
RECs not required to meet this regulation.

3.2.5 On or after June 1, 2006, Eligible Energy Resources may create and accumulate RECs for 
the purposes of calculating compliance with the RPS.

3.2.6 Aggregate generation from small Eligible Energy Resources, 100 kilowatts of capacity or 
less, may be used to meet the requirements of Schedule 1, provided that the generators or their agents, on an 
annual basis, document the level of generation, as recorded by appropriate metering.

3.2.7 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive 300% credit toward meeting the RPS for energy 
derived from the following sources installed on or before December 31, 2014:

3.2.7.1 Solar electric; or
3.2.7.2 Renewable fuel that is used in a fuel cell.

3.2.8 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive 150% credit toward meeting the RPS for wind 
energy installations sited in Delaware on or before December 31, 2012.

3.2.9 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive credit toward meeting the RPS for electricity 
derived from the fraction of eligible landfill gas, biomass or biogas combined with other fuels.

3.2.10 Cumulative minimum percentage requirements of Eligible Energy Resources shall be 
established by Commission rules for Compliance Year 2020 and each subsequent year. In no case shall the 
minimum percentages established by Commission rules be lower than those required for Compliance Year 2019 in 

1.  The Commission understands the legislation to mean that the Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity 
Product sold to End-Use Customers during a given Compliance Year shall include a minimum percentage of RECs 
determined by the current Cumulative Minimum Percentage as defined in Schedule 1. The Commission shall, in 
another proceeding, further define how RECs from Green Power products, as that term is defined in Commission 
Docket Number 49, are to be tracked and utilized for compliance in the RPS.

SCHEDULE 1 

Compliance Year Cumulative Minimum 
Percentage 

2007 1% 
2008 1.5% 
2009 2% 
2010 2.75% 
2011 3.5% 
2012 4.25% 
2013 5% 
2014 5.75% 
2015 6.5% 
2016 7.25% 
2017 8% 
2018 9% 
2019 10% 
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Schedule 1. Each of the rules setting such minimum percentage shall be adopted at least two years prior to the 
minimum percentage being required.

3.2.11 Beginning in Compliance Year 2010, and in each Compliance Year thereafter, the 
Commission may review the status of Schedule 1 and report to the legislature on the status of the pace of the 
scheduled percentage increases toward the goal of 10%. If the Commission concludes at this time that the 
schedule either needs to be accelerated or decelerated, it may also make recommendations to the General 
Assembly for legislative changes to the RPS.

3.2.12 Beginning in Compliance Year 2014, and in each Compliance Year thereafter, the 
Commission may, in the event of circumstances specified in this subsection and after conducting hearings, 
accelerate or slow the scheduled percentage increases towards meeting the goal of 10%. The Commission may 
only slow the increases if the Commission finds that at least 30% of RPS compliance has been met through the 
ACP for three (3) consecutive years, despite adequate planning by the Retail Electricity Suppliers. The 
Commission may only accelerate the scheduled percentage increases after finding that the average price for RECs 
eligible for RPS compliance has, for two (2) consecutive years, been below a predetermined market-based price 
threshold to be established by the Commission. The Commission shall establish the predetermined market-based 
price threshold in consultation with the Delaware Energy Office.  Rules that would alter the percentage targets shall 
be promulgated at least two years before the percentage change takes effect. In no event shall the Commission 
reduce the percentage target below any level reached to that point.

3.3 Verification of Compliance with the RPS
3.3.1 Within 120 days of the end of a compliance year, each Retail Electricity Supplier who has 

made sales to an End-use Customer in the State of Delaware must submit a completed Retail Electricity Supplier’s 
Verification of Compliance with the Delaware Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard Report (Report) which 
includes, but is not limited to, evidence of the specified number of RECs required for that Compliance Year 
according to Schedule 1 and the Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product.

3.3.2 RECs must have been created by PJM-EIS’s GATS, or its successor at law or pursuant to 
Section 3.1.6.1 of this Regulation.

3.3.3 RECs, submitted for compliance with this Regulation, may be dated no earlier than three 
(3) years prior to the beginning of the current Compliance Year.

3.3.4 In lieu of standard means of compliance with the RPS, any Retail Electricity Supplier may 
pay into the Fund an ACP of $25 for each megawatt-hour deficiency between the RECs used by a Retail Electricity 
Supplier in a given compliance year and the RECs necessary for such Retail Electricity Supplier to meet the year’s 
Cumulative Minimum Percentage. In subsequent years, the ACP for any Retail Electricity Supplier shall increase 
as follows:

3.3.4.1 If a Retail Electricity Supplier has paid an ACP of $25 for any megawatt-hour 
deficiency in any previous year, then the ACP shall be $35 for each megawatt-hour.

3.3.4.2 If a Retail Electricity Supplier has paid an ACP of $35 for any megawatt-hour 
deficiency in any previous year, then the ACP shall be $45 for each megawatt-hour.

3.3.4.3 If a Retail Electricity Supplier has paid an ACP of $45 for any megawatt-hour 
deficiency in any previous year, then the ACP shall be $50 for each megawatt-hour.

3.3.4.4 If a Retail Electricity Supplier has paid an ACP of $50 for any megawatt-hour 
deficiency in any previous year, then the ACP shall be $50 for each megawatt-hour.

3.3.4.5 ACPs shall not be more than $50 for each megawatt-hour.
3.3.5 The Commission Staff shall notify any Retail Electricity Supplier of any compliance 

deficiencies within 165 days of the close of the current Compliance Year. If the Retail Electricity Supplier is found to 
be deficient by the Commission Staff, the Retail Electricity Supplier shall be required to pay the appropriate ACP, 
according to Section 3.3.4 of this Regulation. All such payments shall be due within 30 days of notification by the 
Commission Staff. Upon receipt of payment, the Retail Electricity Supplier shall be found to be in compliance for 
that given year. 

3.3.6. All compliance payments, made by the Retail Electricity Supplier, shall be payable to the 
Delaware Green Energy Fund and sent to the Commission.

4.0  Recovery of Costs 
4.1 A Retail Electricity Supplier may recover, through a non-bypassable surcharge on its supply 

portion of the bill, actual dollar for dollar costs incurred in complying with the State of Delaware’s RPS, except that 
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any compliance fee assessed pursuant to Section 3.3.4 and its subsections of these Rules and Regulation shall be 
recoverable only to the extent authorized by Section 4.2 of this Regulation.

4.2 A Retail Electricity Supplier may recover any ACP if the payment of an ACP is the least cost 
measure to ratepayers as compared to the purchase of Renewable Energy Credits to comply with the RPS; or if 
there are insufficient Renewable Energy Credits available for the Retail Electricity Supplier to comply with the RPS.

4.3 Any cost recovered under this section shall be disclosed to customers at least annually on inserts 
accompanying customer bills.

5.0 Other General Rules
5.1 Under Delaware’s Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 100, all information filed with the 

Commission is considered of public record unless it contains “trade secrets and commercial or financial information 
obtained from a person which is of a privileged or confidential nature.” 29 Del.C. §10002(d)(2). To qualify as a non-
public record under this exemption, materials received by the Commission must be clearly and conspicuously 
marked on the title page and on every page containing the sensitive information as “proprietary” or “confidential” or 
words of similar effect. The Commission shall presumptively deem all information so designated to be exempt from 
public record status. However, upon receipt of a request for access to information designated proprietary or 
confidential, the Commission may review the appropriateness of such designation and may determine to release 
the information requested. Prior to such release, the Commission shall provide the entity that submitted the 
information with reasonable notice and an opportunity to show why the information should not be released.

5.2 Any End-Use Customer, Retail Electricity Supplier, Eligible Energy Resource, potential Eligible 
Energy Resource or other interested party to which this Regulation may apply may file a complaint with the 
Commission pursuant to the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Delaware Public Service Commission.

5.3 The failure to comply with this Regulation may result in penalties, including monetary 
assessments, suspension or revocation of eligibility as an Eligible Energy Resource, or other sanction as 
determined by the Commission consistent with 26 Del.C., §205(a), §217, and §1019.

1.0 Definitions
1.1 The following words and terms, when used in this Regulation, should have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
"Alternative Compliance Payment" or "ACP" means a payment of a certain dollar amount per megawatt 

hour, which a Retail Electricity Supplier may submit in lieu of supplying the minimum percentage of RECs required 
under Section 3.3.4 of this Regulation.

"DNREC" means Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.
"Commission" means the Delaware Public Service Commission.
"Compliance Year" means the calendar year beginning with June 1 and ending with May 31 of the 

following year, for which a Retail Electricity Supplier must demonstrate that it has met the requirements of this 
Regulation.

"Customer-Sited Generation" means a Generation Unit that is interconnected on the End-Use 
Customer's side of the retail electricity meter in such a manner that it displaces all or part of the metered 
consumption of the End-Use Customer.

"Eligible Energy Resources" means the following energy sources located within the PJM region or 
imported into the PJM region and tracked through the PJM Market Settlement System:

Solar photovoltaic or solar thermal energy technologies that employ solar radiation to produce 
electricity or to displace electricity use;

Electricity derived from wind energy;
Electricity derived from ocean energy including wave or tidal action, currents, or thermal 

differences;
Geothermal energy technologies that generate electricity with a steam turbine, driven by hot water 

or steam extracted from geothermal reservoirs in the earth's crust;
Electricity generated by a fuel cell powered by Renewable Fuels;
Electricity generated by the combustion of gas from the anaerobic digestion of organic material;
Electricity generated by a hydroelectric facility that has a maximum design capacity of 30 

megawatts or less from all generating units combined that meet appropriate environmental standards as 
determined by DNREC (see DNREC Regulation's Secretary's Order No. 2006-W-0027);
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Electricity generated from the combustion of biomass that has been cultivated and harvested in a 
sustainable manner as determined by DNREC, and is not combusted to produce energy in a waste to energy 
facility or in an incinerator (see DNREC Regulation's Secretary's Order No. 2006-W-0027);

Electricity generated by the combustion of methane gas captured from a landfill gas recovery 
system; provided, however, that:

Increased production of landfill gas from production facilities in operation prior to January 
1, 2004 demonstrates a net reduction in total air emissions compared to flaring and leakage;

Increased utilization of landfill gas at electric generating facilities in operation prior to 
January 1, 2004 (i) is used to offset the consumption of coal, oil, or natural gas at those facilities, (ii) does not result 
in a reduction in the percentage of landfill gas in the facility's average annual fuel mix when calculated using fuel 
mix measurements for 12 out of any continuous 15 month period during which the electricity is generated, and (iii) 
causes no net increase in air emissions from the facility; and

Facilities installed on or after January 1, 2004 meet or exceed 2004 Federal and State air 
emission standards, or the Federal and State air emission standards in place on the day the facilities are first put 
into operation, whichever is higher.

"End-Use Customer" means a person or entity in Delaware that purchases electrical energy at retail 
prices from a Retail Electricity Supplier.

"Fund" means the Delaware Green Energy Fund.
"GATS" means the Generation Attribute Tracking System developed by PJM-Environmental Information 

Services, Inc. (PJM-EIS).
"Generation Attribute" means a non-price characteristic of the electrical energy output of a Generation 

Unit including, but not limited to, the Unit's fuel type, geographic location, emissions, vintage, and RPS eligibility.
"Generation Unit" means a facility that converts a fuel or an energy resource into electrical energy.
"Industrial Customer" means an End-Use Customer with a North American Industry Classification 

System (NAICS) Manufacturing Sector Code.
"Municipal Electric Company" means a public corporation created by contract between 2 or more 

municipalities pursuant to provisions of Title 22, Chapter 13 of the Delaware Code and the electric utilities that are 
municipally owned within the State of Delaware.

"New Renewable Generation Resources" means Eligible Energy Resources first going into commercial 
operation after December 31, 1997.

"Peak Demand" shall have the same meaning as and be determined consistently with how such term or a 
similar term is defined and determined in the applicable utility's tariff then in effect and approved by the 
Commission. For customers with more than one account, the peak demands shall be aggregated for all accounts. 
The calculation will be applied in the current year based on the Peak Demand, as defined above, in the prior year.

"PJM" or "PJM Interconnection" means the regional transmission organization (RTO) that coordinates 
the movement of wholesale electricity in the PJM region, or its successors at law.

"PJM region" means the area within which the movement of wholesale electricity is coordinated by PJM 
Interconnection. The PJM region is as described in the Amended and Restated Operating Agreement of PJM.

"Renewable Energy Credit" ("REC") means a tradable instrument comprised of all the Generation 
Attributes equal to 1 megawatt-hour of electricity derived from Eligible Energy Resources and that is used to track 
and verify compliance with the provisions of this Regulation. A REC does not include emission reduction credits 
and/or allowances encumbered or used by a Generation Unit for compliance with local, state, or federal operating 
and/or air quality permits associated with the 1 megawatt-hour of electricity.

"Renewable fuel" means a fuel that is derived from Eligible Energy Resources. This term does not include 
a fossil fuel or a waste product from a fossil fuel source.

"RPS" and "Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard" means the percentage of electricity sales at retail in 
the State that is to be derived from Eligible Energy Resources.

"Retail Electricity Product" means an electrical energy offering that is distinguished by its Generation 
Attributes only and that is offered for sale by a Retail Electricity Supplier to End-Use Customers. Multiple electrical 
energy offerings with the same Generation Attributes may be considered a single Retail Electricity Product.

"Retail Electricity Supplier" means a person or entity that sells electrical energy to End-Use Customers 
in Delaware, including, but not limited to, non-regulated power producers, electric utility distribution companies 
supplying standard offer, default service, or any successor service to End-Use Customers.  A Retail Electricity 
Supplier does not include a Municipal Electric Company for the purposes of this Regulation.
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"Rural Electric Cooperative" means a non-stock, non-profit, membership corporation organized pursuant 
to the Federal "Rural Electrification Act of 1936" and operated under the cooperative form of ownership.

"Solar Alternative Compliance Payment" or "SACP" means a payment of a certain dollar amount per 
megawatt-hour, which a Retail Electricity Supplier or Municipal Electric Supplier may submit in lieu of supplying the 
Minimum Percentage from Solar Photovoltaic required under Section 3.3.4 of this Regulation.

"Solar Renewable Energy Credit" or "SREC" means a tradable instrument that is equal to 1 megawatt-
hour of retail electricity sales in the State that is derived from Solar Photovoltaic Energy Resources and that is used 
to track and verify compliance with the provisions of this Regulation.

"Total Retail Sales" means retail sales of electricity within the State of Delaware exclusive of sales to any 
Industrial Customer with a Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts.

2.0 Purpose and Scope
2.1 The benefits of electricity from renewable energy resources accrue to the public at large, and 

electric suppliers and consumers share an obligation to develop a minimum level of these resources in the electric 
supply portfolio of the State. The purpose of this Regulation, in support of 26 Del.C., §351 - 363, is to set forth the 
rules for governing the RPS. 

2.2 This Regulation shall apply to all retail electricity sales in the State of Delaware except for retail 
electricity sales of Municipal Electric Companies and retail electricity sales to any Industrial Customer with a Peak 
Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts. 

2.2.1 An Industrial Customer with Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts may elect to have 
their load exempt from this Regulation provided that they meet the definitions found in Section 1.1 and:

2.2.1.1 submit a notice to the Commission's Staff including, but not limited to, Name and 
Address of Industrial Customer, and NAICS Code and load for each account ;

2.2.1.1.1 the Commission's Staff shall, within thirty (30) days of receipt of 
the notice, provide to the Industrial Customer an acknowledgement of the status, exempt or non-exempt, of the 
Industrial Customer and; 

2.2.1.2 submit the Commission's Staff acknowledgement referenced in Section 2.2.1.1.1 
of this Regulation to their Retail Electricity Supplier.

2.2.2 For an End-Use Customer with multiple accounts totaling in excess of 1,500 kilowatts 
within an applicable utility's service territory and served by a single Retail Electricity Supplier, to have their load 
exempt, the aggregate of their accounts with an NAICS Manufacturing Sector Code must have a Peak Demand of 
at least 751 kilowatts and they must follow the procedure found in Section 2.2.1.

2.3 Any Rural Electric Cooperative that is opted-out of Commission regulation by its membership 
pursuant to 26 Del.C. §223 of the Delaware Code shall, for all purposes of administering and applying this 
Regulation, be treated as a Municipal Electric Company during any period of time the Rural Electric Cooperative is 
exempt from Commission regulation. 

2.4 A Rural Electric Cooperative may elect to be exempt from the requirements of this Regulation 
provided that, on or before June 1, 2006, they:

2.4.1 submit a written notice to the Delaware General Assembly;
2.4.2 submit a written notice to the Commission;
2.4.3 alert their End-Use Customers with notices inserted in two (2) consecutive electricity bills;
2.4.4 offer their End-Use Customers a voluntary program for purchasing renewable energy 

under competitive rates; and
2.4.5 either contribute to the Delaware Green Energy Fund at levels commensurate with other 

Retail Electricity Suppliers or create an independent fund separate from the Delaware Green Energy Fund to be 
used in support of energy efficiency technologies, renewable energy technologies, or demand side management 
programs, into which they make payments of $0.178 for each megawatt-hour they sell, transmit, or distribute in the 
State.

3.0 Administration of RPS
3.1 Certifying Eligible Energy Resources:

3.1.1 The Commission through its Staff will certify Generation Units as Eligible Energy 
Resources based on the definition of Eligible Energy Resources found in Section 1.1 of this Regulation.

3.1.2 Any Generation Unit seeking certification as an Eligible Energy Resource must submit an 
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Application for Certification as an Eligible Energy Resource Under the Delaware Renewable Energy Portfolio 
Standard (Application) to the Commission.  This may include Customer-Sited Generation or a Generation Unit 
owned or operated by a Municipal Electric Company.

3.1.3 Commission Staff will review the Application and will notify the applicant of its approval as 
an Eligible Energy Resource or of any deficiencies in their Application within 30 days of receipt. The applicant will 
have the opportunity to revise their submission, if appropriate.

3.1.4 If Commission Staff finds the Generation Unit to be in compliance with Sections 1.0 and 
3.0 of this Regulation, as well as any other applicable Delaware statute; Commission Staff will issue a State of 
Delaware Certification Number. 

3.1.5 Upon receipt of the State of Delaware Certification Number, a Generation Unit will be 
deemed an Eligible Energy Resource.

3.1.6 Upon designation as an Eligible Energy Resource, the Generation Unit's owner shall be 
entitled to one (1) Renewable Energy Credit (REC) for each mega-watt hour of energy derived from Eligible Energy 
Resources other than Solar Photovoltaic Energy Resources. Upon designation as an Eligible Energy Resource, 
the owner of a Generation Unit employing Solar Photovoltaic Energy Resources shall be entitled to one (1) Solar 
Renewable Energy Credit (SREC) for each mega-watt hour of energy derived from Solar Photovoltaic Energy 
Resource. SRECs and RECs will be created and supplied by the PJM-EIS GATS, or its successor at law. Eligible 
Energy Resources are subject to applicable PJM-EIS GATS rules and shall pay applicable PJM-EIS GATS fees.

3.1.6.1 However, if in the future, the Commission finds that PJM-EIS's GATS is not 
applicable or not suited to meet the needs or requirements of the RPS, the Commission may establish or 
participate in another renewable energy tracking system.

3.1.7 RECs or SRECs created by Eligible Energy Resources on or after June 1, 2006 shall be 
valid to meet retail electricity supplier requirements, subject to Section 3.2.3 of this Regulation.

3.1.7.1 If a Generation Unit is deemed an Eligible Energy Resource under Section 3.1 
and the Eligible Energy Resource's GATS account continues to be maintained in good standing, the Eligible 
Energy Resource may achieve a Delaware designation for RECs or SRECs recorded with PJM-EIS's GATS for the 
calendar year being traded in GATS at the time of the Commission Staff's approval of the Eligible Energy 
Resource, but no earlier than June 1, 2006.

3.1.8 An Eligible Energy Resource will remain certified unless substantive changes are made to 
its operational characteristics. Substantive changes include, but are not limited to changes in fuel type, fuel mix and 
generator type. An Eligible Energy Resource making substantive changes to its operational characteristics shall 
notify the Commission of such changes at least 30 days prior to the effective date of such changes. At such time, 
the Generation Unit shall submit a revised Application, which shall be subject to the process laid out in Section 3.1 
of this Regulation.

3.1.9 RECs or SRECs created by an Eligible Energy Resource shall remain valid for 
compliance, subject to Section 3.2.3 and Section 3.3.3 of this Regulation, even if that Eligible Energy Resource is 
subsequently decertified for eligibility.

3.2 Compliance with RPS
3.2.1 The Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product sold to End-Use Customers by a 

Retail Electricity Supplier during any given Compliance Year shall include a minimum percentage of electrical 
energy sales from Eligible Energy Resources and Solar Photovoltaics as shown in Schedule 1. Any portion of a 
Retail Electric Supplier's renewable energy supply portfolio for 2007, 2008 and 2009 Compliance Years that is 
acquired under wholesale renewable energy supply entered into pursuant to the 2005 or 2006 Delaware Standard 
Offer Services ("SOS") auctions shall be subject to the provisions of this Regulation as shown in Schedule 2 below 
that were in effect on the date of the 2005 or 2006 SOS auction.

SCHEDULE 1
Compliance Year (beginning June 

1st)
Cumulative Minimum Percentage  

from Solar Photovoltaics 
Minimum Cumulative Percentage 
from Eligible Energy Resourcesa

2007 -- 2.0%
2008 0.011% 3.0%
2009 0.014% 4.0%
2010 0.018% 5.5%
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3.2.2 A Retail Electricity Supplier's compliance with Schedule 1 shall be based on accumulating 
RECs equivalent to the current Compliance Year's Cumulative Minimum Percentage of Total Retail Sales of each 
Retail Electricity Product sold to End-Use Customers and subject to Section 3.2.3 and, where appropriate, 
Commission regulations.1 Such RECs shall be filed annually with the Commission within 120 days following the 
completion of the Compliance Year.

3.2.3 Each Retail Electricity Supplier can provide no more than 1% of each Compliance Year's 
Total Retail Sales from Eligible Energy Resources operational before December 31, 1997. The remainder of each 
year's retail sales, up to the required amount as specified in Section 3.2.1 of this Regulation must come from New 
Renewable Generation resources. In Compliance Year 2020 and for each Compliance Year thereafter, all Eligible 
Energy Resources used to meet the cumulative minimum percentage requirements set by the Commission rules 
shall be New Renewable Generation Resources.

3.2.4 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall not use RECs used to satisfy another state's renewable 
energy portfolio requirements for compliance with Schedule 1. A Retail Electricity Supplier may sell or transfer any 
RECs not required to meet this Regulation.

3.2.5 On or after June 1, 2006, Eligible Energy Resources may create and accumulate RECs for 
the purposes of calculating compliance with the RPS.

3.2.6 Aggregate generation from small Eligible Energy Resources, 100 kilowatts of capacity or 
less, may be used to meet the requirements of Schedule 1, provided that the generators or their agents, on an 
annual basis, document the level of generation, as recorded by appropriate metering.

3.2.7 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive 300% credit toward meeting the Minimum 
Cumulative Percentage from Eligible Energy Resources of Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 of the RPS for energy 
derived from the following sources installed on or before December 31, 2014:

3.2.7.1 Customer-Sited solar photovoltaic physically located in Delaware; or

SCHEDULE 2
Compliance Year (beginning June 

1st)
 Minimum Cumulative Percentage  

from Solar Photovoltaics 
Minimum Cumulative Percentage 
from Eligible Energy Resourcesa

a. Minimum Cumulative Percentage from Eligible Energy Resources includes the Minimum Cumulative Per-
centage from Solar Photovoltaics

2007 -- 1.00%
2008 0.011% 1.50%
2009 0.014% 2.00%
2010 0.018% 5.00%
2011 0.048% 7.00%
2012 0.099% 8.50%
2013 0.201% 10.00%
2014 0.354% 11.50%
2015 0.559% 13.0%
2016 0.803% 14.5%
2017 1.112% 16.00%
2018 1.547% 18.00%
2019 2.005% 20.00%

1. The Commission understands the legislation to mean that the Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Prod-
uct sold to End-Use Customers during a given Compliance Year shall include a minimum percentage of RECs 
determined by the current Cumulative Minimum Percentage as defined in Schedule 1. The Commission shall, in 
another proceeding, further define how RECs from Green Power products, as that term is defined in Commission 
Docket Number 49, are to be tracked and utilized for compliance in the RPS.
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3.2.7.2 A fuel cell powered by Renewable Fuels.
3.2.8 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive 150% credit toward meeting the RPS for wind 

energy installations sited in Delaware on or before December 31, 2012.
3.2.9 A Retail Electricity Supplier shall receive credit toward meeting the RPS for electricity 

derived from the fraction of eligible landfill gas, biomass or biogas combined with other fuels.
3.2.10 Cumulative minimum percentage requirements of Eligible Energy Resources shall be 

established by Commission rules for Compliance Year 2020 and each subsequent year. In no case shall the 
minimum percentages established by Commission rules be lower than those required for Compliance Year 2019 in 
Schedule 1. Each of the rules setting such minimum percentage shall be adopted at least two years prior to the 
minimum percentage being required.

3.2.11 Beginning in Compliance Year 2010, and in each Compliance Year thereafter, the 
Commission may review the status of Schedule 1 and report to the legislature on the status of the pace of the 
scheduled percentage increases toward the goal of 20%. If the Commission concludes at this time that the 
schedule either needs to be accelerated or decelerated, it may also make recommendations to the General 
Assembly for legislative changes to the RPS.

3.2.12 Beginning in Compliance Year 2014, and in each Compliance Year thereafter, the 
Commission may, in the event of circumstances specified in this subsection and after conducting hearings, 
accelerate or slow the scheduled percentage increases towards meeting the goal of 20%. The Commission may 
only slow the increases if the Commission finds that at least 30% of RPS compliance has been met through the 
ACP for three (3) consecutive years, despite adequate planning by the Retail Electricity Suppliers.  The 
Commission may only accelerate the scheduled percentage increases after finding that the average price for RECs 
eligible for RPS compliance has, for two (2) consecutive years, been below a predetermined market-based price 
threshold to be established by the Commission. The Commission shall establish the predetermined market-based 
price threshold in consultation with the Delaware Energy Office. Rules that would alter the percentage targets shall 
be promulgated at least two years before the percentage change takes effect. In no event shall the Commission 
reduce the percentage target below any level reached to that point.

3.3 Verification of Compliance with the RPS
3.3.1 Within 120 days of the end of a compliance year, each Retail Electricity Supplier who has 

made sales to an End-use Customer in the State of Delaware must submit a completed Retail Electricity Supplier's 
Verification of Compliance with the Delaware Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard Report (Report) which 
includes, but is not limited to, evidence of the specified number of SRECs and RECs required for that Compliance 
Year according to Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 and the Total Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product.

3.3.2 SRECs or RECs must have been created by PJM-EIS's GATS, or its successor at law or 
pursuant to Section 3.1.6.1 of this Regulation.

3.3.3 SRECs or RECs, submitted for compliance with this Regulation, may be dated no earlier 
than three (3) years prior to the beginning of the current Compliance Year.

3.3.4 In lieu of standard means of compliance with the RPS, any Retail Electricity Supplier may 
pay into the Fund a SACP or ACP pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. §358 or as determined by the State 
Energy Coordinator of the Delaware Energy Office consistent with 26 Del.C. §354 (a).

3.3.5 The Commission Staff shall notify any Retail Electricity Supplier of any compliance 
deficiencies within 165 days of the close of the current Compliance Year. If the Retail Electricity Supplier is found to 
be deficient by the Commission Staff, the Retail Electricity Supplier shall be required to pay the appropriate ACP, 
according to Section 3.3.4 of this Regulation. All such payments shall be due within 30 days of notification by the 
Commission Staff. Upon receipt of payment, the Retail Electricity Supplier shall be found to be in compliance for 
that given year.

3.3.6 All compliance payments, made by the Retail Electricity Supplier, shall be payable to the 
Delaware Green Energy Fund and sent to the Commission.

4.0 Recovery of Costs
4.1 A Retail Electricity Supplier may recover, through a non-bypassable surcharge on its supply 

portion of the bill, actual dollar for dollar costs incurred in complying with the State of Delaware's RPS, except that 
any compliance fee assessed pursuant to Section 3.3.4 and its subsections of these Rules and Regulation shall be 
recoverable only to the extent authorized by Section 4.2 of this Regulation.

4.2 A Retail Electricity Supplier may recover any ACP if the payment of an ACP is the least cost 
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measure to ratepayers as compared to the purchase of Renewable Energy Credits to comply with the RPS; or if 
there are insufficient Renewable Energy Credits available for the Retail Electricity Supplier to comply with the RPS.

4.3 Any cost recovered under this section shall be disclosed to customers at least annually on inserts 
accompanying customer bills.

5.0 Other General Rules 
5.1 Under Delaware's Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. ch. 100, all information filed with the 

Commission is considered of public record unless it contains "trade secrets and commercial or financial information 
obtained from a person which is of a privileged or confidential nature." 29 Del.C. §10002(d)(2). To qualify as a non-
public record under this exemption, materials received by the Commission must be clearly and conspicuously 
marked on the title page and on every page containing the sensitive information as "proprietary" or "confidential" or 
words of similar effect. The Commission shall presumptively deem all information so designated to be exempt from 
public record status. However, upon receipt of a request for access to information designated proprietary or 
confidential, the Commission may review the appropriateness of such designation and may determine to release 
the information requested. Prior to such release, the Commission shall provide the entity that submitted the 
information with reasonable notice and an opportunity to show why the information should not be released.

5.2 Any End-Use Customer, Retail Electricity Supplier, Eligible Energy Resource, potential Eligible 
Energy Resource or other interested party to which this Regulation may apply may file a complaint with the 
Commission pursuant to the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Delaware Public Service Commission.

5.3 The failure to comply with this Regulation may result in penalties, including monetary 
assessments, suspension or revocation of eligibility as an Eligible Energy Resource, or other sanction as 
determined by the Commission consistent with 26 Del.C., §205(a), §217, and §1019.

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DELAWARE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

The Delaware Economic Development Authority Council On Development Finance
Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code Sections 5005(11) and 5053(k)

(29 Del.C. §§5005(11) and 5053(k))

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

In accordance with procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 11, Subch. III and 29 Del.C., Ch. 101, the Director 
of the Delaware Economic Development Office, as Chairperson of The Delaware Economic Development 
Authority, is proposing to adopt a regulation for the administration and operation of the Council on Development 
Finance as recommended by the Joint Sunset Committee in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10214. The proposed 
regulation sets forth certain procedures for the administration and operation of the Council on Development 
Finance.

The Director of the Delaware Economic Development Office, as the Chairperson of The Delaware 
Economic Development Authority, or an employee of the Delaware Economic Development Office designated by 
the Director, will hold a public hearing at which members of the public may present comments on the proposed 
regulation on November 26, 2007 at 9:00 A.M. at Buena Vista, 661 South DuPont Highway in New Castle, Delaware 
19720. Additionally, members of the public may present written comments on the proposed regulation by 
submitting such written comments to Ms. Lee K. Porter, Delaware Economic Development Office, 99 Kings 
Highway, Dover, DE, 19901-7305. Written comments must be received on or before November 14, 2007. Members 
of the public may receive a copy of the proposed regulation at no charge by United States Mail by writing Ms. Lee 
K. Porter at the Dover, Delaware, address of the Delaware Economic Development Office set forth above, or by 
calling her at (302) 739-4271.
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1104 Administration and Operation of Council on Development Finance

1.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Chairperson” means the Chairperson of the Council.
“Competitiveness Fund” shall have the meaning given pursuant to 75 Del. Laws, c. 308, §36(d) (July 1, 

2004), 75 Del. Laws, c. 98, §39(d) (July 1, 2005), and 75 Del. Laws, c. 353, §40(d) (July 1, 2006).
“Council” means the Council on Development Finance.
“DEDA” means The Delaware Economic Development Authority.
“DEDO” means the Delaware Economic Development Office.
“Director” means the Director of DEDO in his or her capacity as Director, or as the Chairperson of DEDA.
“Member or Members” means the Members appointed to serve on the Council in accordance with 29 

Del.C. §5007.
“Project or Projects” shall have the meaning given pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5052(12).
“Strategic Fund” shall have the meaning given pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§5021 – 5029.
“Substantive Changes” means i) a 10% or lower decrease in the interest rate for any fixed rate loan made 

by DEDO or DEDA; ii) any changes in the collateral of a loan which would cause a decrease in the security position 
of DEDO or DEDA; and iii) a 10% or greater increase in the amount of any loan or grant.

2.0 Enabling Legislation
2.1 Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5003, DEDO was established. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5007 the Council 

was established. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5053 DEDA was established. DEDO and DEDA have authority to make 
regulations pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§5005(11) and 5053(k).

3.0 Purpose
3.1 The purpose of this Regulation is to enhance the coordination between the Council and DEDO and 

set forth certain procedures to be used in the administration and operation of the Council.

4.0 Procedures
4.1 In the event of any Council vacancy, Members will encourage the Governor to fill such a vacancy 

promptly.
4.2 The Council will request staff to develop an economic matrix that includes certain information on 

companies recommended for funding, including but not limited to, information on employee benefits such as health 
care and the potential for any unintended consequence stemming from the company’s operations.

4.3 The Council will, consistent with the provisions of 29 Del.C. §§10001 - 10005, make certain 
information contained in a company’s application available to the public upon written request.

4.4 The Council will, when practicable, schedule and locate meetings of the Council in a way that 
achieves geographic balance and centrality.

4.5 Any Substantive Changes made to any agreement or contract excluding any agreement contract 
or associated document related to any bond issued by DEDA, after initial review by the Council shall be 
resubmitted to the Council for additional review and recommendation.

4.6 DEDO will organize and provide orientation for all new Council Members and will organize and 
provide an annual retreat for all Council Members. The orientation will include: i) the responsibilities of Council 
Members and DEDO staff; ii) discussion of applicable state law/regulations; and iii) a briefing by the staff of the 
Delaware Public Integrity Commission on matters, including but not limited to, rules of conduct; conflict of interest, 
and public disclosure. The retreat will include reports on industry trends, emerging issues and emerging financing 
programs.

4.7 The Council requires staff to provide Members with periodic update reports on each recipient of all 
funding.

4.8 The Council will, consistent with 29 Del.C. §§5804, 5805 and 5806, encourage Members to 
identify prospective companies and to turn any information directly over to the Council staff for follow up.

4.9 The Council will, once a year, cooperate with the staff of DEDO in matters relating to DEDO’s 
strategic marketing plan, including the annual review of the plan.
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4.10 The Council will cooperate with the staff of DEDO in matters relating to the utilization of the DEDO 
website for news and information about Council meeting dates, times, locations, agendas, meeting minutes and 
Member contact information.

4.11 The Council requires that: i) DEDO make no announcement regarding the awarding of any funding 
prior to review by the Council and approval by the Director; or ii) that any announcement regarding the awarding of 
any funding, when the matter is under DEDO control, include that the funding is subject to review and 
recommendation of the Council.

4.12 Twice a year, DEDO staff will bring to the Council for review: employment levels, percents above 
sustainable wages, company investments and the repayment status for outstanding loans made by DEDO.

4.13 Projects with approvals that are more than two years old without an executed agreement will be 
brought to the Council’s attention.

4.14 The Director will brief the Chairperson on Projects under consideration as soon as DEDO 
completes its internal review and before DEDO makes an offer.

4.15 DEDO staff will provide reports to the Council on return on investment, gross State product and 
personal income tax data related to each Project where such information is used to determine the value of the 
Project.

4.16 DEDO will continue to inform the Council biannually on the fiscal status of all Projects including the 
total funds available, amounts encumbered (and corresponding dates of encumbrances), funds committed to future 
Projects and available balances.

4.17 DEDO will make sure that original offer letters for each Project are presented to the Council when 
the original offer letter resulted in an application being submitted to the Council for review and recommendation.

4.18 DEDO will present the Council with recommendations regarding how the Strategic Fund and 
Competitiveness Fund balances should be used on an allocation basis to help various economic development 
sectors.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007



FINAL REGULATIONS502

Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates 
new text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being 
deleted. [Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued. [Bracketed 
stricken through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is 
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time 
allowed of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together 
with summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation 
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief 
summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, 
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the 
evidence and information received;  (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days 
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the 
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 106

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin.
106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) to reflect the status of DPAS II 
from a pilot to implementation and to reflect comments and suggestions from the evaluations conducted at the 
conclusion of the first (June 2006) and second year (June 2007) of the pilot. The evaluations were conducted by 
Progress Education Corporation. The rewritten regulation will reflect changes to the procedures, the forms and the 
student improvement section of the regulation.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on 
Monday, July 23, 2007, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". There were no formal written comments 
received. The changes reflect language clarification and the addition of an evaluation process that was omitted in 
the August 2007 Delaware Register of Regulations. 

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 106 Teacher Appraisal Process 
Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) in order to change the status of the teacher appraisal process 
from a pilot to implementation. In addition, changes are made that reflect comments and suggestions based on the 
evaluations of the DPAS II pilot.
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III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II). Therefore, pursuant to 14
Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS II) attached hereto as Exhibit "B" is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) hereby 
amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. 
below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS II) amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "B", and said regulation shall be cited as 
14 DE Admin. Code 106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) in the 
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

IT IS SO ORDERED the 20th day of September 2007.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of September 2007.

State Board of Education

106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 The Teacher Appraisal Process, Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II), shall be effective for the 
following school districts and charter schools beginning with the 2007-08 school year:

Appoquinimink
Caesar Rodney
Colonial
Lake Forest
Laurel
[Smyrna]
Sussex Technical
MOT Charter
Providence Creek Academy Charter
Sussex Academy of the Arts and Sciences

The Teacher Appraisal Process, Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II), shall be effective for 
all public school districts and charter schools beginning with the 2008-2009 school year.

Jean W. Allen, President Richard M. Farmer, Jr., Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire Jorge L. Melendez
Barbara B. Rutt Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Terry M. Whittaker
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2.0 Definitions
"Announced Observation" shall consist of the Pre-observation Form and conference with the evaluator, 

an observation by the evaluator at an agreed upon date and time, using the associated formative conferences and 
reports. The observation shall be of sufficient length, at least thirty (30) minutes, to analyze the lesson and assess 
teacher performance.

"Board" shall mean a local board of education or charter school board of directors.
"Credentialed Evaluator" shall mean the individual, usually the supervisor of the teacher, who has 

successfully completed the evaluation training in accordance with 10.0. The Credentialed Evaluator may also be 
referred to as "Evaluator".

"DASA" shall mean the Delaware Association of School Administrators.
"DPAS II Guide for Teachers" shall mean the manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 

procedures, specific details about the five (5) components of evaluation and other relevant documents that are 
used to implement the appraisal process.

"DSEA" shall mean the Delaware State Education Association.
"Experienced Teacher" shall mean a teacher who holds a valid and current Continuing or Advanced 

License, or Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 1, 2003.
"Improvement Plan" shall be the plan that a teacher and evaluator mutually develop in accordance with 

8.0.
"Novice Teacher" shall mean a teacher who holds a valid and current Initial License.
"Satisfactory Component Rating" shall mean the teacher's performance [reflects the ability to]

demonstrate[s] an understanding of the concepts of the component.
"Satisfactory Evaluation" shall be equivalent to the overall "Effective" or "Needs Improvement" rating on 

the Summative Evaluation and shall be used to qualify for a continuing license.
"State Assessment" shall mean the Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) or its successor.
"Summative Evaluation" shall be the [rating process final evaluation] at the conclusion of the appraisal 

cycle.
"Unannounced Observation" shall consist of an observation by the evaluator at a date and time that has 

not been previously arranged using the associated formative conferences and reports. The observation shall be of 
sufficient length, at least thirty (30) minutes, to analyze the lesson and assess teacher performance.

"Unsatisfactory Component Rating" shall mean the teacher's performance does not [reflect the ability 
to] demonstrate an understanding of the concepts of the component.

"Unsatisfactory Evaluation" shall be the equivalent to the overall "Ineffective" rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

"Working Day" shall mean a day when the employee would normally be working in that district or charter 
school.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following five (5) components, including the four (4) Appraisal Criteria specified for each, shall 

be the basis upon which the performance of a teacher shall be evaluated by a credentialed evaluator:
5.1.1 Planning and Preparation

5.1.1.1 Selecting Instructional Goals: Teacher selects instructional goals that are aligned 
with the DE content standards and the district or charter school's curricula. Goals are appropriate for the learners 
and reflect high expectations for all students, consistent with State Assessment levels of performance where 
applicable.

5.1.1.2 Designing Coherent Instruction: Teacher plans for learning activities that align with 
the instructional goals and support student learning. Instructional planning shows a structure and selection of 
materials and activities that support student learning relative to the district or charter school's curricula.

5.1.1.3 Demonstrating Knowledge of Content and Pedagogy: Teacher shows his or her 
knowledge of content and how to teach it to a variety of learners. The teacher's plans include natural connections 
among content areas that deepen student learning. The content that he or she teaches is aligned to the district or 
charter school's curricula.

5.1.1.4 Demonstrating Knowledge of Students: Teacher shows his or her knowledge of 
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student developmental characteristics; approaches to learning, knowledge, and skills; interests; cultural heritage; 
and, where applicable, State Assessment performance levels.

5.1.2 Classroom Environment
5.1.2.1 Managing Classroom Procedures: Teacher has clearly defined procedures for 

managing learning time, transitions between learning events, and routines that maximize learning time.
5.1.2.2 Managing Student Behavior: Teacher establishes behavioral expectations and 

consequences and monitors student conduct. Teacher responds to student behavior in appropriate and effective 
ways to minimize disruptions.

5.1.2.3 Creating an Environment to Support Learning: Teacher creates an atmosphere in 
which learning is valued. Teacher-to-student and student-to-student interactions show rapport that is grounded in 
mutual respect.

5.1.2.4 Organizing Physical Space: Teacher organizes, allocates, and manages physical 
space to create a safe learning environment. Teacher uses physical resources to contribute to effective instruction 
and makes resources accessible to all students.

5.1.3 Instruction
5.1.3.1 Engaging Students in Learning: Content is appropriate, clear, and linked to 

student knowledge and experience. Content is aligned with the district or charter school's curricula. Activities and 
assignments engage all students. Instructional materials are suitable to the instructional goals. The instruction is 
coherent and paced appropriately for all students.

5.1.3.2 Demonstrating Flexibility and Responsiveness: Teacher has a repertoire of 
instructional strategies and makes use of them to make modifications to lessons as needed. Teacher differentiates 
instruction based on learner characteristics and achievement data.

5.1.3.3 Communicating Clearly and Accurately: Verbal and written communication is clear 
and appropriate to students' ages, backgrounds, and levels of understanding.

5.1.3.4 Using Questioning and Discussion Techniques: Questions are appropriate to the 
content and level of students' understanding. Teacher encourages students to pose their own questions and is 
responsive to student questions. Teacher facilitates student led discussions.

5.1.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.1.4.1 Communicating with Families: Teacher shares information about the school's 

educational program and expectations for student performance. Teacher develops a mechanism for two way 
communication with families about student progress, behavior, and personal needs or concerns.

5.1.4.2 Developing a Student Record System: Teacher keeps records of attendance, 
disciplinary actions, emergency contact information, and personal information. Teacher shares relevant information 
with appropriate school personnel.

5.1.4.3 Growing and Developing Professionally: Teacher chooses and participates in 
professional development that is aligned with his or her professional needs [or and] aligned with the needs of the 
school, district or charter school, or students.

5.1.4.4 Reflecting on Professional Practice: Teacher engages in reflective thinking as an 
individual, as a team participant, or as a school community member with the goal of improving instruction and 
learning for all students.

5.1.5 Student Improvement
5.1.5.1 Showing Student Improvement: Teacher uses school goals from the school 

improvement process to set his or her annual data driven goal(s) for student improvement. Data [used to 
establish goals] shall include school accountability data, State Assessment data where available, [or and]
classroom based assessment data [where available].

5.1.5.2 Aligning Assessments to Teacher Data Driven Goal(s): Teacher uses 
assessments and scoring criteria that accurately measure progress towards the student improvement goal(s).

5.1.5.3 Measuring Student Improvement: Teacher has specific, measurable evidence to 
show progress towards or attainment of goal(s) for student improvement.

5.1.5.4 Reflecting on Student Improvement: Teacher reflects on goal setting process and 
outcomes for the purpose of continuous professional improvement and shares student improvement information 
[with other staff] as appropriate.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)
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[11.0 Evaluation of Process
11.1 The Department of Education shall conduct an annual evaluation of the teacher appraisal 

process. The evaluation shall, at a minimum, include a survey of teachers and evaluators and interviews 
with a sampling of teachers and evaluators. Data from the evaluation and proposed changes to the DPAS II 
Guide for Teachers shall be presented to the State Board of Education for review on an annual basis.]

8 DE Reg. 431 (9/1/04)
9 DE Reg. 522 (10/1/05)

* Please note only those changes made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
August 2007 issue of the Register at page 121 (11 DE Reg. 121) are being published here. Therefore, the 
entire final regulation is not being republished. A copy of the regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/final/11 DE Reg 502 10-01-07.htm

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

14 DE Admin. Code 107

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. 
Code 107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) to reflect the status of 
DPAS II from a pilot to implementation and to reflect comments and suggestions from the evaluations conducted at 
the conclusion of the first (June 2006) and second year (June 2007) of the pilot. The evaluations were conducted 
by Progress Education Corporation. The rewritten regulation will reflect changes to the procedures, the forms and 
the student improvement section of the regulation.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on 
Monday, July 23, 2007, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". There were no formal written comments 
received. The changes reflect language clarification and the addition of an evaluation process that was omitted in 
the August 2007 Delaware Register of Regulations.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 107 Specialist Appraisal Process 
Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) in order to change the status of the specialist appraisal 
process from a pilot to implementation. In addition, changes are made that reflect comments and suggestions 
based on the evaluations of the DPAS II pilot. 

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II). Therefore, pursuant to 14 
Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS II) attached hereto as Exhibit "B" is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) hereby 
amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. 
below.
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IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal 
System (DPAS II) amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "B", and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) 
in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on 
September 20, 2007.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in 
the Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 20th day of September 2007.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of September 2007.

State Board of Education

107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 The Specialist Appraisal Process, Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II), shall be effective for the 
following school districts and charter schools beginning with the 2007-08 school year:

Appoquinimink
Caesar Rodney
Colonial
Lake Forest
Laurel
[Smyrna]
Sussex Technical
MOT Charter
Providence Creek Academy Charter
Sussex Academy of the Arts and Sciences

The Specialist Appraisal Process, Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II), shall be effective 
for all public school districts and charter schools beginning with the 2008-2009 school year.

1.1 Specialist shall mean a staff person who delivers professional services to students, teachers, staff 
or families, licensed or certified by the Department of Education or a professional board regulated by the Division of 
Professional Regulation. Specialists include, but are not limited to, guidance counselors, instructional support 
specialists, library media specialists, school psychologists, speech pathologists, school nurses, student support 
specialists, and therapeutic services specialists.

2.0 Definitions

Jean W. Allen, President Richard M. Farmer, Jr., Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire Jorge L. Melendez
Barbara B. Rutt Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Terry M. Whittaker
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“Announced Observation” shall consist of the Pre-observation Form and conference with the evaluator, 
an observation by the evaluator at an agreed upon date and time, using the associated formative conferences and 
reports. The observation for the specialist may be a collection of data over a specified period of time, up to four (4) 
weeks, or it may be an observation of sufficient length, at least thirty (30) minutes, to gather appropriate data and 
assess specialist performance.

“Board” shall mean a local board of education or a charter school board of directors.
“Credentialed Evaluator” shall mean the individual, usually the supervisor of the specialist, who has 

successfully completed the evaluation training in accordance with 10.0. The Credentialed Evaluator may also be 
referred to as “Evaluator”.

“DASA” shall mean the Delaware Association of School Administrators.
“DPAS II Guide for Specialists” shall mean the manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 

procedures, specific details about the five (5) components of evaluation and other relevant documents that are 
used to implement the appraisal system.

“DSEA” shall mean the Delaware State Education Association.
“Experienced Specialist” shall mean a specialist who holds a valid and current Continuing or Advanced 

License, or Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 1, 2003 or holds a valid and current 
license from his or her respective licensure body.

“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that a specialist and evaluator mutually develop in accordance with 
8.0.

“Novice Specialist” shall mean a specialist who holds a valid and current Initial License or holds a valid 
and current license from his or her respective licensure body.

“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the specialist’s performance [reflects the ability to]
demonstrate[s] an understanding of the concepts of the component.

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be equivalent to the overall “Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on 
the Summative Evaluation and shall be used to qualify for a continuing license.

“State Assessment” shall mean the Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) or its successor.
“Summative Evaluation” shall be the [rating process final evaluation] at the conclusion of the 

appraisal cycle.
“Unannounced Observation” shall consist of an observation by the evaluator at a date and time that has 

not been previously arranged using the associated formative conferences and reports. The observation shall be of 
sufficient length, at least thirty (30) minutes, to gather appropriate data and assess specialist performance.

“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the specialist’s performance does not [reflect the 
ability to] demonstrate an understanding of the concepts of the component.

“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

“Working Day” shall mean a day when the employee would normally be working in that district or charter 
school.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following five (5) components, including the four (4) Appraisal Criteria specified for each, shall 

be the basis upon which the performance of a specialist shall be evaluated by a credentialed evaluator:
5.1.1 Planning and Preparation

5.1.1.1 Designing Coherent Programs or Services: Specialist designs activities and plans 
for services that support the needs of the students or clients served.

5.1.1.2 Demonstrating Knowledge of Best Practice and Models of Delivery: Specialist 
uses practices and models of delivery that are aligned with local and national standards.

5.1.1.3 Demonstrating Knowledge of Students or Clients: Specialist shows knowledge of 
the needs and characteristics of the students or clients, including their approaches to learning, knowledge, skills, 
and interests.

5.1.1.4 Demonstrating Knowledge of Resources: Specialist selects appropriate 
resources, either within or outside of the school, that support the needs of students or clients.

5.1.2 Professional Practice and Delivery of Services
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 11, ISSUE 4, MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2007



FINAL REGULATIONS 509
5.1.2.1 Creating an Environment to Support Student or Client Needs: Specialist creates 
an environment in which student or client needs are identified and valued. Specialist and student or client 
interactions show rapport that is grounded in mutual respect.

5.1.2.2 Demonstrating Flexibility and Responsiveness: Specialist has a repertoire of 
instructional or professional strategies and makes modifications to services based on needs of the students or 
clients.

5.1.2.3 Communicating Clearly and Accurately: Verbal and written communication is clear 
and appropriate to students’ or clients’ ages, backgrounds, needs, or levels of understanding.

5.1.2.4 Delivering Services to Students or Clients: Specialist is responsive to the identified 
needs of the students or clients and meets standards of professional practice. The resources and materials are 
suitable and match the needs of the students or clients. The delivery of service is coherent.

5.1.3 Professional Collaboration and Consultation
5.1.3.1 Collaborating with Others: Specialist develops partnerships with school or district 

staff or external agencies to provide integrated services that meet student or client needs.
5.1.3.2 Serving as a Consultant to the School Community: Specialist shares expertise 

with school staff to assist them in their work or to respond to school wide issues, problems, or concerns.
5.1.3.3 Providing Resources and Access: Specialist provides school, district or external 

based resources to appropriate staff, students, or clients or gives information about the effective use of the 
resources.

5.1.3.4 Maintaining Standards of Professional Practice: Specialist adheres to his or her 
professional standards of practice, including issues surrounding confidentiality.

5.1.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.1.4.1 Communicating with Families: Specialist shares information about district or 

school educational programs and expectations for student or client performance. Specialist develops a mechanism 
for two way communication with families about student or client progress, behavior, personal needs, or concerns.

5.1.4.2 Developing a Record System: Specialist keeps student or client records relevant 
to their services and shares information with appropriate school personnel.

5.1.4.3 Growing and Developing Professionally: Specialist chooses and participates in 
professional development that is aligned with his or her professional needs [or and] aligned with the needs of the 
school, district or students.

5.1.4.4 Reflecting on Professional Practice: Specialist engages in reflective thinking as an 
individual, as a team participant, or as a school and community member with the goal of improving professional 
practice and delivery of service.

5.1.5 Student Improvement
5.1.5.1 Showing Student Improvement: Specialist uses school or district goals from the 

school or district improvement process to set his or her annual data driven goal(s) for student improvement. Data 
[used to establish goals] shall include school or district accountability data, State Assessment data where 
available, [or and] other assessment data [where available].

5.1.5.2 Using Assessments to Promote Student or Client Improvement: Specialist uses 
assessments related to his of her field of expertise that accurately measure progress towards the student 
improvement goal(s).

5.1.5.3 Measuring Student Improvement: Specialist has specific, measurable evidence to 
show progress towards or attainment of goal(s) for student improvement.

5.1.5.4 Reflecting on Student Improvement: Specialist reflects on goal setting process 
and outcomes for the purpose of continuous professional improvement and shares student improvement 
information [with other staff] as appropriate.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

[11.0 Evaluation of Process
11.1 The Department of Education shall conduct an annual evaluation of the teacher appraisal 

process. The evaluation shall, at a minimum, include a survey of teachers and evaluators and interviews 
with a sampling of teachers and evaluators. Data from the evaluation and proposed changes to the DPAS II 
Guide for Teachers shall be presented to the State Board of Education for review on an annual basis.]
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8 DE Reg. 431 (9/1/04)
9 DE Reg. 528 (10/1/05)

* Please note only those changes made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
August 2007 issue of the Register at page 132 (11 DE Reg. 132) are being published here. Therefore, the 
entire final regulation is not being republished. A copy of the regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/final/11 DE Reg 506 10-01-07.htm

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

14 DE Admin. Code 108

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. 
Code 108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) to reflect the status 
of DPAS II from a pilot to implementation and to reflect comments and suggestions from the evaluations conducted 
at the conclusion of the first (June 2006) and second year (June 2007) of the pilot. The evaluations were conducted 
by Progress Education Corporation. The rewritten regulation will reflect changes to the procedures, the forms and 
the student improvement section of the regulation.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on 
Monday, July 23, 2007, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". There were no formal written comments 
received. The changes reflect language clarification and the addition of an evaluation process that was omitted in 
the August 2007 Delaware Register of Regulations. 

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 108 Administrator Appraisal 
Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) in order to change the status of the administrator 
appraisal process from a pilot to implementation. In addition, changes are made that reflect comments and 
suggestions based on the evaluations of the DPAS II pilot. 

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II). Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal 
System (DPAS II) attached hereto as Exhibit "B" is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. 
§122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS II) hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set 
forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal 
System (DPAS II) amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "B", and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
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(DPAS II) in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on 
September 20, 2007.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in 
the Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 20th day of September 2007.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of September 2007.

State Board of Education

108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 The Administrator Appraisal Process, Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II), shall be effective for 
the following school districts and charter schools beginning with the 2007-08 school year:

Appoquinimink
Caesar Rodney
Colonial
Lake Forest
Laurel
[Smyrna]
Sussex Technical
MOT Charter
Providence Creek Academy Charter
Sussex Academy of the Arts and Sciences

The Administrator Appraisal Process, Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II), shall be 
effective for all public school districts and charter schools beginning with the 2008-2009 school year.

1.1 For purposes of this regulation, an administrator shall be a professional employee authorized by a 
board to serve in a supervisory capacity involving the oversight of an instructional program(s).

2.0 Definitions
“Board” shall mean the local board of education or charter school board of directors.
“Credentialed Evaluator” shall mean the individual, usually the supervisor of the administrator, who has 

successfully completed the evaluation training in accordance with 10.0. A superintendent shall be evaluated by 
member(s) of the local school board of education who shall also have successfully completed the evaluation 
training in accordance with 10.0. The Credentialed Evaluator may also be referred to as “Evaluator”.

“DASA” shall mean the Delaware Association of School Administrators.
“DPAS II Guide for Administrators” shall mean the manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 

procedures, evaluation criteria and other relevant documents that are used to implement the appraisal process.

Jean W. Allen, President Richard M. Farmer, Jr., Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire Jorge L. Melendez
Barbara B. Rutt Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Terry M. Whittaker
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“DSEA” shall mean the Delaware State Education Association.
“Experienced Administrator” shall mean an administrator who has three (3) or more years of service as 

an administrator.
“Formative Process” shall consist of the Goal Setting Conference, self evaluation, a survey of staff that 

are supervised by the administrator, and formative conferences and reports as outlined in the DPAS II Guide for 
Administrators.

“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that an administrator and evaluator mutually develop in 
accordance with 8.0.

“Inexperienced Administrator” shall mean an administrator who has less than three (3) years of service 
as an administrator.

“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the administrator’s performance [reflects the ability to]
demonstrate[s] an understanding of the concepts of the component.

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be equivalent to the overall “Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on 
the Summative Evaluation.

“State Assessment” shall mean the Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) or its successor.
“Summative Evaluation” shall be the [rating process final evaluation] at the conclusion of the 

appraisal cycle.
“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the administrator’s performance does not [reflect the 

ability to] demonstrate an understanding of the concepts of the component.
“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 

Evaluation.
“Working Day” shall mean a day when the employee would normally be working in that district or charter 

school.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following five (5) components, including the four (4) Appraisal Criteria specified for each, shall 

be the basis upon which the performance of an administrator shall be evaluated by a certified evaluator(s):
5.1.1 Vision and Goals

5.1.1.1 Using Data: Administrator, in collaboration with others such as the school or 
district improvement team or board, uses multiple sources of information and assists in analyzing data to establish 
rigorous and concrete school or district improvement goals in the context of student achievement and instructional 
programs.

5.1.1.2 Implementing Vision and Goals: Administrator provides leadership for major 
initiatives and change efforts relative to the school or district improvement goals. Administrator is committed to 
doing the work required for continuous school and district improvement.

5.1.1.3 Promoting Vision and Goals: Administrator promotes high expectations for 
teaching and learning. Administrator is committed to ensuring that all students have the knowledge and skills 
necessary to become successful in future educational activities.

5.1.1.4 Communicating the Vision and Goals: Administrator communicates effectively to 
appropriate stakeholders about progress towards meeting the school or district improvement plan goals. 
Administrator participates in a process to regularly monitor, evaluate and revise school or district improvement 
goals.

5.1.2 Culture of Learning
5.1.2.1 Advocating a Culture of Learning: Administrator provides leadership for 

assessing, developing and improving the school or district culture and instructional program that is conducive to 
student learning. Administrator can articulate the desired school or district instructional program and shows 
evidence about how he or she reinforces the instructional program and culture.

5.1.2.2 Monitoring the Culture of Learning: Administrator participates in monitoring and 
evaluating the effectiveness of the curriculum, instruction or assessment of students. Administrator evaluates staff 
and provides on-going coaching for improvement. Administrator uses a variety of sources of information to make 
decisions.

5.1.2.3 Sustaining the Culture of Learning: Administrator helps to ensure that staff have 
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professional development opportunities that enhance their performance and improve student learning. 
Administrator is accessible and approachable by staff, families, and community and is visible in the school or 
district community. Administrator supports the use of technology as appropriate in teaching and learning.

5.1.2.4 Maintaining the Culture of Learning: Administrator systematically and fairly 
recognizes accomplishments of staff and students towards a positive school or district culture. Administrator uses 
and analyzes data to instill the importance of continually developing programs and strategies to enhance 
opportunities for learning.

5.1.3 Management
5.1.3.1 Solving Problems or Concerns: Administrator addresses and resolves issues as 

they arise in a timely manner and works to prevent potential problems. Operational procedures are designed and 
managed to maximize opportunities for learning for all students.

5.1.3.2 Managing Resources: Administrator manages fiscal and physical resources 
responsibly, efficiently and effectively. Administrator protects instructional time by managing operational 
procedures in such a way as to maximize learning. Administrator efficiently manages his or her time so that 
teaching and learning are a high priority.

5.1.3.3 Complying with Policies: Administrator complies with federal, state, and board 
policies. School or district contractual agreements are effectively managed. Administrator maintains confidentiality 
and privacy of school or district records, including student or staff information.

5.1.3.4 Protecting the Welfare and Safety of Students and Staff: Administrator works to 
ensure a safe and secure school or district environment and a culture that is conducive to teaching and learning. 
Challenges that could potentially interrupt teaching and learning are addressed and resolved.

5.1.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.1.4.1 Maintaining Professional Relationships: Administrator fosters and maintains 

positive professional relationships with staff. Administrator is respectful of other’s opinions and demonstrates an 
appreciation for and sensitivity to diversity in the school or district community.

5.1.4.2 Promoting Family and Community Involvement: Administrator collaboratively 
works to establish a culture that encourages and welcomes families and community members and seeks ways in 
which to engage them in student learning.

5.1.4.3 Demonstrating Fairness: Administrator is fair and consistent when dealing with 
students and staff. Administrator demonstrates values, beliefs and attitudes that inspire all students and staff to 
higher levels of performance.

5.1.4.4 Growing and Developing Professionally: Administrator chooses and participates 
in professional development that is aligned with his or her professional needs [or and] aligned with the needs of 
the school or district.

5.1.5 Student Improvement
5.1.5.1 Showing Student Improvement: Administrator uses school or district goals from 

the school or district improvement process to set his or her personal annual data driven goal(s) for student 
improvement. Data [used to establish goals] shall include school or district accountability data, State Assessment 
data, [or and] other assessment data [where available].

5.1.5.2 Measuring Student Improvement: Administrator has specific, measurable 
evidence to show progress towards or attainment of goal(s) for student improvement.

5.1.5.3 Implementing Strategies for Student Improvement: Administrator designs and 
implements appropriate strategies to show progress towards or attainment of goal(s) for student improvement.

5.1.5.4 Reflecting on Student Improvement: Administrator reflects on goal setting process 
and outcomes for the purpose of continuous professional improvement and shares student improvement 
information [with other staff] as appropriate.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

10.0 Evaluator(s) Credentials
10.1 Evaluators shall have completed the DPAS II training as developed by the Department of 

Education. Evaluators shall receive a certificate of completion which is valid for five (5) years and is renewable 
upon completion of professional development focused on DPAS II as specified by the Department of Education.

10.2 The training for the certificate of completion shall include techniques for observation and 
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conferencing, content and relationships of ISLLC standards, and a thorough review of the DPAS II Guide for 
Administrators. Activities in which participants practice implementation of DPAS II procedures shall be included in 
the training.

10.3 The credentialing process shall be conducted by the Department of Education.

[11.0 Evaluation of Process
11.1 The Department of Education shall conduct an annual evaluation of the teacher appraisal 

process. The evaluation shall, at a minimum, include a survey of teachers and evaluators and interviews 
with a sampling of teachers and evaluators. Data from the evaluation and proposed changes to the DPAS II 
Guide for Teachers shall be presented to the State Board of Education for review on an annual basis.]

8 DE Reg. 431 (9/1/04)

* Please note only those changes made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
August 2007 issue of the Register at page 143 (11 DE Reg. 143) are being published here. Therefore, the 
entire final regulation is not being republished. A copy of the regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/final/11 DE Reg 510 10-01-07.htm

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Section 6010, (7 Del.C. §6010)

7 DE Admin. Code 3521

Secretary’s Order No.: 2007-F-0041

RE: Proposed Amendments to Delaware Tidal Finfish
Regulation 3521: Weakfish Size Limits, Possession Limits, and Seasons

Date of Issuance:   September 17, 2007
Effective Date of the Amendment: October 11, 2007

I. Background:
A public hearing was held on Wednesday, August 29, 2007, at 7:00 p.m. at the DNREC Richardson & 

Robbins Building Auditorium to receive comment on proposed amendments to the existing Delaware Tidal Finfish 
Regulation 3521 concerning weakfish size limits, possession limits, and seasons. In accordance with Addendum II 
to Amendment 4 of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s Interstate Fishery Management Plan for 
Weakfish, Delaware is required to lower the recreational possession limit on weakfish from eight (8) per day to six 
(6) per day by October 29, 2007. Similarly, the commercial hook and line daily harvest limit shall be reduced as 
well, from eight (8) per day to six (6) per day, except on four specific days of the week as indicated by the 
Department for food fishing equipment permits for hook and line. During the four days of the week so specified, 
commercial hook and line fisherman are not constrained by daily harvest limits, although minimum size limits still 
apply. The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission took this action in order to conserve weakfish as an aid to 
future stock recovery. All major weakfish harvesting states along the Atlantic seaboard are required to take this 
action. 

If commercial fishing removals of weakfish should rise to a pre-determined level consistent with average 
removals over the last five years, the Commission will give consideration to further restraints on commercial 
fishing. Similarly, if Delaware (or any other state’s commercial weakfish landings) exceeds its five-year mean by 
more than 25% in any single year, the Commission will review the findings and take action as it deems appropriate. 
If the commercial measures in the Weakfish Plan are modified, it would be incumbent upon Delaware to come into 
compliance with the applicable changes. 

No members of the public attended this hearing on August 29, 2007, and no public comment or questions 
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were received by the Department regarding this proposed action. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as 
required by law.

II. Findings:
The Department has provided a reasoned analysis and a sound conclusion with regard to the response 

given to each such comment, as reflected in the Hearing Officer’s Report of September 14, 2007, which is attached 
and expressly incorporated into this Order. Moreover, the following findings and conclusions are entered at this 
time:

1. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law. 
2. The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to make a determination in this 

proceeding; 
3. The Department provided adequate public notice of the proceeding and the public hearing in a 

manner required by the law and regulations; 
4. The Department held a public hearing in a manner required by the law and regulations;
5. The Department considered all timely and relevant public comments in making its determination; 
6. Promulgation of these proposed amendments would bring Delaware into compliance with 

Addendum II to Amendment 4 of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s Interstate Fishery 
Management Plan for Weakfish, by lowering the recreational possession limit on weakfish from eight (8) to six (6) 
per day by October 29, 2007;

7. Similarly, the commercial hook and line daily harvest limit shall be reduced as well, from eight (8) 
per day to six (6) per day. Commercial fisherman may declare four days of the week between the period May 1 
through October 31, and during those four days of the week, they are not subject to the recreational creel limit. On 
all other days of the week, and during the rest of the year, commercial hook and line fisherman are subject to the 
recreational creel limit, and minimum size limits still apply;

8. The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission has taken this action to conserve weakfish as an 
aid to future stock recovery, and all major weakfish harvesting states along the Atlantic seaboard are required to 
take this action;

9. If commercial fishing removals of weakfish should rise to a pre-determined level consistent with 
average removals over the last five years, the Commission will give consideration to further restraints on 
commercial fishing. Similarly, if Delaware exceeds its five-year mean by more than 25% in any single year, the 
Commission will review the findings and take action as it deems appropriate;

10. If the commercial measures in the Weakfish Plan are modified, it would be incumbent upon 
Delaware to come into compliance with the applicable changes; 

11. The Department has reviewed this proposed amendment in the light of the Regulatory Flexibility 
Act, and believes the same to be lawful, feasible and desirable, and that the recommendations as proposed should 
be applicable to all Delaware citizens equally;

12. The Department’s proposed regulation, as published in the September 1, 2007 Delaware Register 
of Regulations and set forth in Attachment “A” hereto, is adequately supported, not arbitrary or capricious, and is 
consistent with the applicable laws and regulations. Consequently, it should be approved as a final regulation, 
which shall go into effect ten days after its publication in the next available issue of the Delaware Register of 
Regulations; and that 

13. The Department’s proposed amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation 3521 are adequately 
supported, not arbitrary or capricious, and are consistent with the applicable laws and regulations. Consequently, it 
should be approved as a final regulation, which shall go into effect ten days after its publication in the next available 
issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations; and that

14. The Department has an adequate record for its decision, and no further public hearing is 
appropriate or necessary.
III. Order:

Based on the record developed, as reviewed in the Hearing Officer’s Report dated September 14, 2007, 
and expressly incorporated herein, it is hereby ordered that the proposed amendments to State of Delaware Tidal 
Finfish Regulation No. 3521 – Weakfish Size Limits, Possession Limits, and Seasons - be promulgated in final form 
in the customary manner and established rule-making procedure required by law.
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IV. Reasons:
The promulgation of State of Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 3521 will bring Delaware into 

compliance with Addendum II to Amendment 4 of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s Interstate 
Fishery Management Plan for Weakfish. This action is being taken by the Commission to conserve weakfish as an 
aid to future stock recovery. Thus, it is incumbent upon Delaware to be in compliance with the Commission’s plan, 
not only to avoid federal sanctions against Delaware and its weakfish refinery, but to protect this species with these 
conservation measures to ensure that weakfish will continue to be found in Delaware waters in the future.

In developing this regulation, the Department has balanced the absolute environmental need for the State 
of Delaware to promulgate regulations concerning this matter with the important interests and public concerns 
surrounding the same, in furtherance of the policy and purposes of 7 Del.C., Ch. 60.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
August 2007 issue of the Register at page 153 (11 DE Reg. 153). Therefore, the regulation is not being 
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/final/11 DE Reg 514 10-01-07.htm

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

400 Delaware Gaming Control Board
Statutory Authority: 28 Delaware Code, Sections 1503 and 1504 (28 Del.C. §§1503 and 1504)

24 DE Admin. Code 401, 403 and 404

ORDER

401 Regulations Governing Bingo
403 Regulations Governing Charitable Gambling Other Than Raffles

404 Regulations Governing No Limit Texas Hold ‘em Poker

The Delaware Gaming Control Board (“Board”) was established to “protect the public through the 
regulation and policing of sports, amusements and other activities which involve gambling and other practices 
which are unlawful except as permitted by law.”  28 Del.C. §1501(a).  The Board is authorized by 28 Del.C. §§1503 
and 1504 to make, adopt, amend, and repeal regulations as necessary to effectuate that mandate.

The Delaware Gaming Control Board, in accordance with 29 Del.C. Chapter 101 and 28 Del.C. §1503, 
proposed amendments to section 5.0 Reports After Games of Regulations Governing Bingo. The proposed 
amendments clarify a licensee’s post-event/post-function reporting requirements. The Board further proposed 
amendments to Regulations Governing Charitable Gambling Other Than Raffles in section 6.0 Operation of 
Games and section 12.0 Reports After the Function. The proposed amendments to section 12.0 clarify a 
licensee’s post-event/post-function reporting requirements. The proposed amendments to section 6.0 alter the 
maximum allowable wagers for various charitable games.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. Chapter 101 and 28 Del.C. §1504, the Board proposed the establishment of 
404 Regulations Governing No Limit Texas Hold’em Poker. Section 1.0 Reports After the Function
establishes a licensee’s post-event/post-function reporting requirements but allows 30 days for submission of 
reports. Section 2.0 Limitation of Texas Hold’em Tournaments clarifies the allowable timeframe for holding 
tournaments. Section 3.0 Re-buys seeks to reconcile two conflicting statutory provisions declaring re-buys 
optional.

Minor grammatical, typographic, or stylistic changes were also included.
The proposals appeared in Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 11, Issue 2, page 155 on August 1, 

2007.
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Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written or verbal comments were received with the exception of a comment by Brandon Buglio of Ace’s 
Full Entertainment supporting the proposed amendment to Regulation 403, Section 6.1.

Findings of Fact

The Board finds that adoption of the proposed amendments is appropriate and serves the Board’s 
mandate to regulate gaming in the interest of public safety. 

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the proposed amendments to the regulations to be effective 10 days following 
final publication of this order in the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the final regulations is attached hereto as Exhibit A and is formatted to show the amendments. 
A non-marked up version of the regulations as amended is attached hereto as Exhibit B.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 6th day of September, 2007, by the Delaware Gaming Control Board.

John Mancus, Chairman
James Green, Vice Chairman
Deborah Messina
Brad Barrie

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
August 2007 issue of the Register at page 155 (11 DE Reg. 155). Therefore, the regulation is not being 
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/final/11 DE Reg 516 10-01-07.htm

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
OFFICE OF MOTOR FUEL TAX ADMINISTRATION

Statutory Authority: 6 Delaware Code, Section 2912 (6 Del.C. §2912 et seq.)

ORDER

2401 Regulations for the Office of Retail Gasoline Sales

BACKGROUND
Under 6 Del.C., §2912, certain entities that distribute Motor Fuels through Delaware retail service stations 

are required to provide pump assistance to motorists who cannot pump their own fuel. Section 2912 (a) places this 
requirement on Retail Dealers that offer both Full-Service and Self-Service. Section 2912 (b) places this 
requirement on stations that provide self-service, unless the location is operating on a remote control basis with 
only one employee, or someone able to provide refueling assistance is in the vehicle. Regulation 2912.1 currently 
requires Full/Self Service Retail Stations to conspicuously post a sign describing the pump service requirements. 
There is not a similar sign requirement for affected Self-Service Retail Stations. The purpose of this proposed 
change is to place the sign-posting requirement on Self-Service retail stations as well. In addition, format, 
numbering and style changes were made consistent with Administrative Procedures Act and Administrative Code 
styling.
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FINAL REGULATIONS518
Proposed changes to the existing regulations were previously advertised in the September 2006 State 
Register of Regulations. Initial comments on the proposed changes were received between September 21, 2006 
and July 31, 2007.

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER
I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted.
The Secretary of the Delaware Department of Transportation approves the proposed regulation as 

published in the Delaware Register of Regulations on September 1, 2006. Notices of the proposed regulation were 
published in the Delaware State News and the News Journal on December 26, 2006 and January 23, 2007. The 
notices invited written comments, and several comments were received. The notices also invited the public to 
attend a hearing on January 31, 2007 to comment on the proposed regulation. No members of the public attended 
the hearing. As a result of the comments received, two non-substantive changes were made:

1.  The term "Handicapped" was replaced with the phrase "persons with disabilities".
2.  References to refueling of gasoline were changed to refueling of motor fuels, to 

encompass other products besides gasoline being sold at retail service stations.

II. Findings of Fact.
The Secretary of Transportation finds that it is necessary to adopt the regulation to promote the provision 

of assistance to persons with disabilities, in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act and Delaware law. 

III. Decision to Adopt the Regulation.
For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary of Transportation concludes that it is necessary to adopt the regulation. 
Therefore, pursuant to 6 Del.C. §2911, the regulation attached hereto is hereby adopted. 

IV. Text and Citation.
The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto, and said regulation shall 

be cited in the Regulations of the Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles, Motor Fuel Tax 
Administration. 

FINAL REGULATIONS
V. Effective Date of Order.
The action referred to above was taken on August 14, 2007. The effective date of this Order shall be ten 

(10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED, this 14th day of August, 2007.

Carolann Wicks, P.E., Secretary
Delaware Department of Transportation

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
September 2006 issue of the Register at page 542 (10 DE Reg. 542). Therefore, the regulation is not being 
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2007/final/11 DE Reg 517 10-01-07.htm
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GOVERNOR’S EXECUTIVE ORDERS 519
STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER ONE HUNDRED

RE: Creating A Task Force To Examine Opportunities For Continued Improvement At The Delaware 
Psychiatric Center

WHEREAS, the Delaware Psychiatric Center has shown continued improvement in health care quality 
over the past seven years through a series of systemic changes; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware Psychiatric Center provides essential services to some of the most vulnerable 
citizens of the State of Delaware; and

WHEREAS, it is essential that adequate policies, procedures, and safeguards are in place to help protect 
individuals at the Delaware Psychiatric Center; and

WHEREAS, there are always opportunities to improve patient care and staff development at any health 
care facility;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the 
State of Delaware, do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The Task Force to Examine Opportunities for Continued Improvement at the Delaware Psychiatric 
Center (the “Task Force”) is hereby created. The Task Force will have nine (9) members appointed by the Governor 
who shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The members shall include patient/health care advocates, 
individuals with psychiatric health care experience, the chair of the Senate Health and Social Services Committee, 
the chair of the House Health and Human Development Committee, and members from the community-at-large. 
The Task Force shall be co-chaired by two members of the Task Force designated by the Governor.

2. The Task Force shall examine and make recommendations concerning:
a. Current hiring procedures for the Delaware Psychiatric Center staff, to include 

recommendations relating to criminal background checks, drug testing, and general interview and orientation 
processes;

b. Best medical practices for the Delaware Psychiatric Center, to include recommendations 
specifically relating to restructuring current units to meet the needs of the current patient population, matching staff 
with the appropriate patient groupings, and policies and protocols relating to care of psychiatric patients; 

c. Professional development for direct care staff at the Delaware Psychiatric Center, to 
include recommendations relating to training practices, needed resources for professional development 
opportunities, and curricula for direct care staff; 

d. Additional community placement options for patients of the Delaware Psychiatric Center, 
to include identification of such options and an examination of the existing patient population related to community 
placement opportunities;

e. Adequacy of the Delaware Psychiatric Center’s buildings and grounds, to include 
proposed designs for a new facility; and

f. The Delaware Psychiatric Center’s performance improvement unit, to include 
recommendations regarding changes in both staffing and scope of activities of that unit. 

3. The Task Force shall convene no later than within 30 days of the date of this order and provide its 
recommendations to the Governor no later than December 15, 2007.

Approved: August 22, 2007

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor
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ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER ONE HUNDRED-ONE

RE: Establishing The Child Poverty Task Force

WHEREAS, the United States of America has the highest child poverty rate of the seventeen wealthiest 
countries in the world; and 

WHEREAS, although the State of Delaware made progress towards reducing child poverty in the 1990’s, 
the poverty rate in Delaware has risen since 2002; and 

WHEREAS, children who live in poverty are subjected to a number of harsh realities that include, but are 
not limited to, a substantially greater likelihood to die from infectious diseases and to drop out of school prior to 
obtaining a high school diploma; and

WHEREAS, the United Kingdom reduced the child poverty rate in Great Britain from 19% in 2000 to 11% in 
2006 through its commitment to reduce child poverty by 50% within ten years; and 

WHEREAS, the States of Connecticut, California, and Minnesota, as well as the cities of New York and 
Milwaukee, have made similar commitments to reduce the child poverty rate by 50% within ten years; and 

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware recognizes the moral and economic interest in reducing child poverty, 
and appreciates the productivity that would result from a substantial decrease of child poverty in Delaware.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the 
State of Delaware, do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The Child Poverty Task Force (the “Task Force”) is hereby established.
2. The Task Force shall consist of twenty-five (25) members as follows:

a. The Secretary of the Department of Education or his/her designee;
b. The Secretary of the Department of Health and Social Services or his/her designee;
c. The Secretary of Labor or his/her designee;
d. The Secretary of the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families or his/

her designee;
e. The Executive Director of the Delaware State Housing Authority or his/her designee;
f. The Chief Judge of the Delaware Family Court or his/her designee;
g. The four Co-Chairs of the “Kid’s Caucus” in the State Legislature;
h. The Child Advocate or his/her designee;
i. The Governor’s Policy Advisor for Health;
j. The Governor’s Policy Advisor for Education;
k. Three members of the Delaware non-profit community whose organizations serve children 

and families, to be appointed by the Governor;
l. A representative of the University of Delaware’s Center for Community Research and 

Service;
m. A KIDS COUNT Delaware Board member or Data Committee Member or his/her 
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designee; 
n. A member of the business community appointed by the State Chamber of Commerce;
o. The President of the Metropolitan Wilmington Urban League or his/her designee;
p. A representative from the City of Wilmington, designated by the Mayor of the City of 

Wilmington;
q. One at-large member appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Delaware Senate; 

and 
r. One at-large member appointed by the Speaker of the Delaware House of 

Representatives.
3. The Task Force shall develop a ten-year plan to reduce the number of Delaware children living in 

poverty by 50% and to establish recommendations for prevention and intervention services in order to promote the 
health, safety and well-being of Delaware’s children and their families. The plan shall include:

a. Identifying and analyzing the occurrence of child poverty in Delaware; and
b. Identifying the risk factors for and underlying etiologies of child poverty; and 
c. Reviewing scholarly research that identifies the best practices for prevention and 

intervention of child poverty; and
d. Analyzing the long-term effects of child poverty on children, their families and their 

communities; and 
e. Assessing the costs of child poverty to municipalities and to the State; and 
f. Creating an inventory of existing state-wide public and private programs that address child 

poverty; and 
g. Calculating the percentage of the target population served by such programs and the 

current funding levels, if any, for such programs; and 
h. Identifying and analyzing any deficiencies or inefficiencies of such programs; and 
i. Establishing the procedures and priorities for implementing strategies to achieve a 50% 

reduction in child poverty in the State of Delaware by June 30, 2017.
4. The chairperson of the Task Force, who shall be appointed by the Governor from among its 

members, shall lead the administration of the Task Force by:
a. setting a time, date and place for the initial organizational meeting;
b. ensuring the proper preparation and distribution of meeting notices, agendas, minutes, 

correspondence, and reports of the Task Force;
c. ensuring the Task Force identify any staffing requirements necessary to properly execute 

the functions of this order, and allow the representatives from among the various state agencies to distribute those 
responsibilities within those agencies; and 

d. ensuring the final report of the Task Force is submitted to the Governor with copies 
submitted to the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, the Director 
of the Division of Research of Legislative Council and the Delaware Public Archives; 

5. The Task Force shall submit its report on “Recommendations to Reduce Child Poverty” to the 
Governor, Speaker of the House and President Pro Tempore within one year of the effective date of this order.

Approved: August 29, 2007

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive Plan to Classify the Lower Delaware River as 
Special Protection Waters

Summary:  The Commission will hold a public hearing to receive comments on proposed amendments to 
the Commission's Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive Plan to establish numeric values 
for existing water quality for the reach of the main stem Delaware River known as the "Lower Delaware" and to 
assign this reach the SPW classification "Significant Resource Waters" (SRW). The Lower Delaware extends from 
the southern boundary of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area at River Mile ("RM") 209.4 to the head 
of tide at Trenton, New Jersey, RM 144.4. Although no area of the State of Delaware falls within the portion of the 
Basin subject to the proposed regulations, as a member of the Delaware River Basin Commission, Delaware 
participates in cooperative management of the Basin's water resources and has a role in deciding whether the 
proposed rules are adopted.

The Lower Delaware River has carried the SPW-SRW classification on a temporary basis since January of 
2005, making this reach and its drainage area subject for the past three years to those provisions of the 
Commission's SPW regulations that do not depend for implementation upon the use of numeric values for existing 
water quality. The amendments that currently are proposed would make projects within the Lower Delaware 
drainage subject to all applicable SPW requirements, including those for "no measurable change" to existing water 
quality as defined by the rule. The amendments also would incorporate language intended to clarify aspects of the 
SPW regulations that have been a source of confusion for some DRBC docket holders and applicants since the 
program was originally adopted in 1992 for point sources and in 1994 for non-point sources. Notably, a new term - 
"substantial alterations or additions" - is proposed to be added to the Definitions section of the regulations and to 
be inserted in other sections of the rule to clarify which types of additions or alterations to existing wastewater 
treatment facilities will trigger certain SPW requirements that are deemed appropriate in connection with capital 
investment projects. A new paragraph also is proposed to expressly authorize effluent trading between point 
sources to satisfy the requirement for no measurable change to existing water quality under certain circumstances.

Dates: The public hearing will be held on December 4, 2007, at the Commission's office building, located 
at 25 State Police Drive, West Trenton, New Jersey. Driving directions are available on the Commission's website, 
www.drbc.net. Please do not rely on Internet mapping services as they may not provide accurate directions to the 
DRBC. The hearing will begin at 2:30 P.M. and will continue until all those who wish to testify are afforded an 
opportunity to do so. Persons wishing to testify at the hearing are asked to register in advance by phoning Ms. 
Paula Schmitt at 609-883-9500, ext. 224. Written comments will be accepted through the close of business on 
December 6, 2007. Written comments may be submitted by email to paula.schmitt@drbc.state.nj.us; by fax to 
Commission Secretary at 609-883-9522; by U.S. Mail to Commission Secretary, DRBC, P.O. Box 7360, West 
Trenton, NJ 08628-0360; or by overnight mail to Commission Secretary, DRBC, 25 State Police Drive, West 
Trenton, NJ 08628-0360. In all cases, please include the commenter's name, address and affiliation if any in the 
comment document and include "SPW" in the subject line.

Further Information: The current rule and the full text of the proposed amendments are posted on the 
Commission's website, www.drbc.net, along with supporting data, reports, maps and related documents. Hard 
copies may be obtained by contacting Ms. Paula Schmitt at 609-883-9500, ext. 224. The Commission will hold two 
informational meetings on the proposed rulemaking. The first will take place on Thursday, October 25, 2007 from 
7:00 P.M. to 9:00 P.M. at the office of the Delaware and Raritan Canal Commission at the Prallsville Mills Complex, 
33 Risler Street (Route 29) in Stockton, New Jersey. The second will be held on Thursday, November 1, 2007 from 
7:00 P.M. to 9:00 P.M. in Room 315 of the Acopian Engineering Building at Lafayette College, located at High 
Street, Easton, Pennsylvania. Please contact Commission Secretary Pamela Bush, 609-883-9500 ext. 203 with 
questions about the proposed rule or the rulemaking process.

Pamela M. Bush, Esquire, Commission Secretary
September 14, 2007
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DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations Part X, Ambulance Service Regulations

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will hold a hearing pursuant to 16 Del.C. §6603 and 29
Del.C. §101 on Tuesday, November 20, 2007, at 1:00 P.M. in the Commission Chamber, Delaware State Fire 
School, Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware. The Commission is 
proposing changes to the following Regulations.

Persons may view the proposed changes to the Regulations between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., 
Monday through Friday, at the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, Delaware State Fire School, Delaware 
Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware, 19904, or Office of the State Fire Marshal 
located at the Delaware Fire Service Center, 1537 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware, 19904, or the Regional 
State Fire Marshal’s Offices located 2307 MacArthur Road, New Castle, Delaware and 22705 Park Avenue, 
Georgetown, Delaware, 19947. You can find the meeting announcement and proposed changes on the Delaware 
Website http://www.delaware.gov/egov/calendar.nsf or on the Delaware State Fire Marshal’s Office webpage at 
www.statefiremarshal.delaware.gov under the tabs “Services” and “Proposed Changes”.

Persons may present their views in writing by mailing their views to the Commission at the above 
addresses prior to the hearing, and the Commission will consider those responses received before 9:00 a.m. on 
November 20, 2007, or by offering testimony at the Public Hearing.  If the number of persons desiring to testify at 
the Public Hearing is large, the amount of time allotted to each speaker will be limited.  There will be a reasonable 
fee charge for copies of the proposed changes or retrieve from the webpage for free.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10005, proposes to add rules 
13.8.2, 13.13.2, 13.13.3, and 13.13.4 to reflect current policies, practices, and procedures. The Commission will 
hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on October 23, 2007. Written comments should be sent to John 
F. Wayne, Executive Director, Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, 777 Delaware Park Boulevard, 
Wilmington, DE 19804.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday, October 18, 2007 at 1:00 p.m. in 
the Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Disabilities Services Eligibility Criteria 2100 Eligibility Criteria

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and 
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Developmental Disabilities Services (DDDS) is proposing to amend the 
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eligibility criteria related to DDDS services.
Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, written testimony, written briefs 

or other written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Joseph B. Keyes, Ph.D., 
Applicant Services Unit; Division of Developmental Disabilities Services, 1052 S. Governor's Avenue, Suite 101, 
Dover, Delaware 19904 or by fax to (302) 744-9711 by November 2, 2007.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments at the Public Hearing 
and written materials filed by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Pharmaceutical Services Program – Tamper-Resistant Prescription Pads

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and 
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is amending the Delaware Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Manuals to bring the Medicaid regulations into compliance with new Federal 
law.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & 
Policy Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by October 31, 2007. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan Attachment 4.19-D Reimbursement Methodology for Nursing Facilities

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code), and with 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 
512, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is 
proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding the reimbursement methodology for nursing 
facilities.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & 
Policy Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by October 31, 2007.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
 NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD
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Acquired Brain Injury (ABI) §1915(c) Home and Community-Based Services Waiver Application

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, and, in compliance with 
State Notice procedures as set forth in the Federal Register, September 27, 1994, Delaware Health and Social 
Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is submitting an Acquired Brain Injury 
(ABI) §1915(c) Home and Community-Based Services Waiver application to the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS).

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning this waiver must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning and Policy 
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New 
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by October 31, 2007. A copy of the waiver application is 
available upon request by contacting Lisa Bond, Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
at (302) 255-9358.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Food Stamp Program 9006.3 Exceptions From Notice

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and 
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend Food Stamp Program policies in the 
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding exemptions from adverse action notices.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, 
Program & Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, 
Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 (new fax number) by October 31, 2007.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Food Stamp Program 9032.2 Alien Eligibility

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and 
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend Food Stamp Program policies in the 
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding alien eligibility.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, 
Program & Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, 
Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 (new fax number) by October 31, 2007.
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The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND MENTAL HEALTH
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

6100 Substance Abuse Facility Licensing Standards

In compliance with the State’s Administrative Procedures Act (APA – Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware 
Code) and under the authority of Title 16 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 22, Sections 2207 and 2208, Delaware 
Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) is proposing to 
establish updated licensure standards for Substance Abuse Treatment facilities to replace existing standards 
promulgated in 1979.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other 
written materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Mr. Harris Taylor, Dir. of Program 
Accountability, Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, 1901 North DuPont Highway, Main Administration 
Building, New Castle, Delaware 19720 by October 31, 2007.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon 
the results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials 
filed by other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN hereby gives notice of intent to adopt proposed 
Department of Insurance Regulation 606 relating to the standardization of insurance identification cards and 
notification to the Division of Motor Vehicles of the termination of automobile insurance. The docket number for this 
proposed amendment is 526.

The purpose of the proposed regulation is to require standardized motor vehicle insurance identification 
cards, require notification to the Division of Motor Vehicles of the termination of motor vehicle insurance coverage 
and related changes in the existing Regulation. The text of the proposed amendment is reproduced in the October 
2007 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The text can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance 
Commissioner’s website at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/
ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes.  Any 
person can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the 
proposed amendments. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed changes 
must be received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Monday November 5, 2007, and should 
be addressed to Mitchell G. Crane, Esquire, Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
DE 19904, or sent by fax to 302.739.2021 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

702 Required Disclosures For Residential Homeowners Polices
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INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN hereby gives notice of a proposed change to 
Department of Insurance Regulation 702 relating to required disclosures for residential homeowners policies. The 
Commissioner proposes to amend Regulation 702. The docket number for this proposed amendment is 527.

The proposed changes to the regulation appear in section 2 relating to the purpose by requiring notice of 
deductibles required by the coverage, and by the addition of a section 5.1.5, describing the required disclosures of 
information relative to deductibles.  The text of the proposed amendment is reproduced in the October 2007 edition 
of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The text can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance Commissioner's 
website at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person 
can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed 
amendments.  Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed changes must be 
received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Monday, November 5, 2007, and should be 
addressed to  Mitch Crane, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, 
or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

2201 Implementation of Medical Malpractice Relief Initiative Pilot Program

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN hereby gives notice of  proposed Department of 
Insurance Regulation 2201 relating to medical malpractice relief. The docket number for this proposed regulation is 
528.

The purpose of this regulation is to provide procedures governing the Medical Malpractice Relief Initiative 
Pilot Program established by the Fiscal Year 2007 Appropriations Act. The text of the proposed regulation is 
reproduced in the October 2007 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The text can also be viewed at 
the Delaware Insurance Commissioner's website at: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/
ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the proposed changes. Any person 
can file written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed 
amendments. Any written submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed changes must be 
received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Monday, November 5, 2007, and should be 
addressed to Regulatory Specialist Mitch Crane, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake 
Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904,  or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL AFFAIRS
     Health Care Advisory Panel

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Secretary of Labor in accordance with 19 Del.C. §§ 2322B and E has proposed rules and regulations 
relating to workers' compensation.  These proposals set forth the Fee Schedule Amounts for professional services 
and hospital fees, and the use of consistent forms for the health care providers.  

A public hearing will be held before the Health Care Advisory Panel ("Panel") at 4:00 p.m. on November 5, 
2007, in the Department of Labor Fox Valley Annex, 4425 N. Market Street, Wilmington, Delaware  19802 where 
members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules may obtain a 
copy from John Kirk, Administrator, Workers' Compensation, Division of Industrial Affairs, Department of Labor, 
P.O. Box 9828, 4425 N. Market Street, Wilmington, Delaware 19809-0828. Persons wishing to submit written 
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comments may forward these to the Panel at the above address. The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Panel will consider making a recommendation to the Secretary at the regularly scheduled meeting 
following the public hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

SAN #2005-06

Title of the Regulations:
Delaware Regulations Governing Underground Storage Tank Systems

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Delaware Regulations Governing Underground Storage Tank Systems were first effective July 11, 

1986. The most recent revision date was November 23, 1994. The DNREC is proposing changes to the UST 
Regulations to incorporate new technological advances in UST system designs and operation to ensure the 
greatest protection of human health, safety and the environment in Delaware.

The changes to the Delaware UST Regulations are proposed for the following reasons:
• Outdated technology is being phased out of the Regulations to provide better protection of human 

health, safety and the environment.
• The federal Energy Policy Act (EPACT) of 2005 placed several requirements on state UST 

programs that had to be incorporated into the UST Regulations.
• New fuels, such as E10 and E85, made new requirements necessary.

Notice of Public Comment:
The DNREC will conduct a Public Hearing on Tuesday, October 30, 2007. The hearing is scheduled to 

begin at 6:00pm in the conference room at the DNREC office located at 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE. The 
public and interested parties are invited to attend the hearing and to make comments orally or in writing at the 
hearing. Written comments not presented at the hearing should be addressed to Ms. Jill Williams Hall, DNREC/
TMB, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE 19720 and must be received by the Department not later than 4:00 pm on 
October 30, 2007 unless a longer time is specified at the hearing.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available online at http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/info/Rules.htm
Copies may be viewed during regular business hours at the following DNREC offices:

DNREC, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE
DNREC, R&R Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
DNREC, Route 113, Sussex Suites, Unit # 6, Georgetown, DE

Prepared By:
Jill Williams Hall, Planner IV 395-2500 9/4/07 Jill.Hall@state.de.us

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS: 
Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste (DRGSW)
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2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
There are five amendments to update and enhance various sections of the solid waste regulations. The 

first amendment regarding Permits has three changes to clarify language, define requirements for permit transfers, 
and to make environmental assessment application requirements consistent. The second and third amendments 
regarding Sanitary and Industrial Landfills clarifies a reference to an Engineering Report. The fourth amendment 
regarding to Environmental Covenants updates language to comply with changes to the Delaware Code. The fifth 
amendment regarding Infectious Waste has eighteen changes that clarify and reorganize the entire Section. 
These five amendments will help improve understanding and implementation of the solid waste requirements.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
NONE

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
Amendments to DRGSW are proposed and amended in accordance with the provisions found at 7 

Delaware Code, Chapter 60.

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
NONE

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to DRGSW will be held on Monday October 22, 2007 

starting at 6:30 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  

7. PREPARED BY:
Bill Davis, Environmental Scientist, Solid and Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-9403

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

SAN # 2007-14

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste (DRGHW)

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
In order for the State of Delaware to maintain authorization from the U. S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) to administer its own hazardous waste management program, the State must maintain a program 
that is equivalent to and no less stringent than the Federal program. To accomplish this, the State regularly amends 
the DRGHW by adopting amendments previously promulgated by EPA.  In addition, the State is proposing to make 
miscellaneous changes to the DRGHW that correct existing errors in the hazardous waste regulations, add 
clarification or enhance the current hazardous waste regulations.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
NONE

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
Amendments to DRGHW are proposed and amended in accordance with the provisions found at 7 

Delaware Code, Chapters 60 and 63.

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
NONE

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
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The public hearing on the proposed amendments to DRGHW will be held on Monday October 22, 2007
starting at 6:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE.

7. PREPARED BY:
Bill Davis, Environmental Scientist, Solid and Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-9403

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PRIVATE INVESTIGATORS AND PRIVATE SECURITY AGENCIES

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies, 
in accordance with Del. Code Title 24 Chapter 13 proposes to adopt Rule 13.0 – Training Requirements. This 
adoption will require mandatory training and re-training of all security guards. If you wish to view the complete Rule, 
contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-5991. Any persons wishing to present views may submit them in writing, 
by October 31, 2007, to Delaware State Police, Detective Licensing, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE 19903. The Board 
will hold its quarterly meeting Thursday, October 25, 2007, 10:00 am, at the Delaware State Police Headquarters 
Conference Room, 1441 North DuPont Highway in Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

NOTICE OF RESCHEDULED PUBLIC HEARING

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners

The Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners, in accordance with 29 Del.C. Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C.
§1406(a)(1), has proposed amendments to its Regulation 7.0 Expiration and Renewal. Specifically, the 
amendments to Regulation 7.0 would require licensees to provide the name of their insurer and their policy number 
when they attest to maintenance of their required liability insurance during the renewal process. The amendments 
would also require licensees to provide course names and approval numbers when they attest to completion of 
their required continuing education during the renewal process. Minor grammatical, typographic, or stylistic 
changes may also be included.

The public hearing for the proposed regulatory changes was originally scheduled for September 5, 2007 at 
8:30 a.m. but has been rescheduled and will be held on November 7, 2007 at 8:30 a.m. in the second floor 
Conference Room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904. Members of the public 
may offer verbal comments on the proposal at the hearing. Written comments should be submitted to the Board 
care of Dianna Meade at the above address. Written comments may be submitted until the public hearing begins. 
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed changes or to make comments at the public hearing should 
contact Dianna Meade at (302) 744-4526.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations immediately following the public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
4400 Delaware Manufactured Home Installation Board

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Manufactured Home Installation Board, in accordance with 24 Del.C. §4416(b)(1) has 
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proposed revisions to Regulation 5.0 of its rules and regulations. The proposed revisions address the requirements 
for re-taking the examination once an applicant for licensure as a manufactured home installer has failed the 
examination at least twice.

A public hearing on the proposed revisions to the rules and regulations, originally scheduled for Monday, 
September 10, 2007, will be held on Monday, October 22, 2007, at 9:15 a.m. in Conference Room B, on the 
second floor of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public 
can offer comments. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy 
from the Delaware Manufactured Home Installation Board, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, 
Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above 
address.  The final date to receive written comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following 
the public hearing.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

Regulations Concerning Certificates Of Public Convenience And Necessity For Water Utilities

ORDER NO. 7254

This 4th day of September, 2007, the Commission determines and Orders the following:
1. In 2000, this Commission regained the authority to issue Certificates of Public 

Convenience and Necessity ("CPCN") to authorize entities to enter the water utility business or to allow existing 
water utilities to expand their operations and facilities into new service territories. See 26 Del.C. §203C (2006 
Supp.) ("§ 203C"). The Commission thereafter promulgated rules to chart how the Commission would navigate this 
water utility CPCN regime. See "Regulations Governing Water Utilities Including the Public Service Commission's 
Jurisdiction to Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity" (adopted by PSC Order No. 
5730 (June 5, 2001) ("2001 Rules")). 

2. Earlier this year, the Commission published notice that it proposed to repeal the 2001 
rules in favor of a new set of rules mapping the regime surrounding CPCNs for water utilities.  See PSC Order No. 
7142 (Mar. 20, 2007) (proposing new rules to supercede 2001 Rules); 10 DE Reg. 1563-1580 (April 1, 2007) 
(formally noticing repeal and proposed new CPCN rules). However, during the course of the proceedings before 
the Hearing Examiner reviewing these new rules,  the Governor and General Assembly amended the provisions of 
§ 203C.  See 76 Del. Laws ch. 55 (June 28, 2007) ("chap. 55").  In the main, the amendments reworked the listed 
criteria for awarding a CPCN under §203C. In particular, the amendment now obligates a utility to obtain petitions 
asking for water services executed by all of the landowners of each parcel to be included in a new service territory. 
An exception exists for "existing" subdivisions or developments, and "unincorporated communities." In such 
situations, the 2007 amendments permit a CPCN to be granted based on petitions for service signed by the 
landowners of a majority of the parcels within the development or community. In addition, the amendments also 
direct that, in the case of a CPCN premised on a resolution or ordinance enacted by a county or municipality, the 
service territory so authorized cannot extend beyond the political boundaries of the county or municipality entering 
the ordinance. Finally, in addition to making some other "technical" changes, the amendments require a municipal 
water authority to obtain the endorsement of the municipalities that formed it prior to seeking a CPCN to provide its 
water services beyond those municipalities' borders. 

3. In light of the statutory amendments, the Hearing Examiner - at Staff's suggestion - 
suspended further proceedings on the previously proposed new rules. The Commission now withdraws the 
proposed rule changes proposed by Order No. 7142. The recent legislative changes render some of those earlier 
provisions in need of further changes.

4. Instead, the Commission here proposes to adopt another set of new regulations related to 
CPCNs for water utilities. See Exhibit B. These new rules not only incorporate the statutory changes made in June, 
2007, but also carry forward some of the same provisions, related to the administration of CPCNs, that were 
included in the earlier March, 2007 proposed rules.
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5. The Commission proposes to repeal the 2001 Rules and adopt the revised set of rules 
pursuant to the authority granted by 26 Del.C. §203C(c) and 209(a). The revised rules entitled "Regulations 
Governing Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity for Water Utilities," will supercede (and hence repeal) 
the 2001 Rules.  They will, as did the 2001 Rules, apply to Commission-jurisdictional water utilities. Moreover, they 
will also govern in those instances when a governmental, municipal, or municipal authority water utility must also 
seek a CPCN from the Commission in order to expand its operations and facilities. 

6. In many aspects, the new rules track the form and content of the 2001 Rules. However, 
terms and provisions have now been added to conform to the new statutory criteria, and limitations, enacted in the 
2007 amendments to §203C. See proposed rules §§2.1 (definitions of "existing development," "existing 
subdivision," and "unincorporated community);" 3.9-3.11 (new criteria for CPCN); 3.12 (criteria for CPCN to 
municipal authority for extra-municipal service area). In addition, this new set of proposed rules includes provisions 
that respond to various administrative and practical issues that Staff has identified as surfacing since the adoption 
of the 2001 rules. For example, the new rules provide forms of notice to be sent to landowners to explain the 
application and the landowners' statutory right to "opt-out." See proposed rules §§ 10.2, 10.3. In a similar vein, the 
new rules impose particular mailing requirements related to the delivery of notices to landowners. Proposed rules 
§§9.2-9.6. These mailing directives seek to ensure that the owners have actual notice that their property will be 
affected by the CPCN application. The new rules also impose an obligation on water utilities to retain, for five 
years, materials related to each application for a Certificate. This retention obligation will help to make sure that the 
appropriate documents are available if later disputes might arise about a particular Certificate. Proposed rules 
§11.6.

7. In several instances, the proposed new rules go beyond administrative detail. First, the 
proposed new rules require the applying non-governmental water utility to certify that it will actually provide water 
services to, or have water system facilities available, the proposed service area within three years. Proposed rules 
§ 3.13.  And if such certification fails to come true, the new rules then provide a mechanism for the Commission to 
determine whether the utility should be able to retain the CPCN in order to provide water services to the area. 
Proposed rules §§ 12.1-12.6.  Staff has proposed these provisions. According to Staff, this process for certifying to 
actual service dovetails with the heart of the CPCN process: to authorize a water utility to "extend[] or expand[] . . . 
its business or operations." See 26 Del.C. §203C(a) (2006 Supp.) (emphasis added).  In addition, as Staff sees it, 
the goal of the certification - to ensure that services follow the CPCN - is consistent with the text of § 203C, which 
conditions the grant of a CPCN for an area on either the developer signing a "service agreement," the landowners 
"requesting water service," or a governmental body "request[ing], direct[ing], or authoriz[ing] the applicant to 
provide water utility services." (all emphasis added.) In each of the instances, the statutory text speaks of the 
Certificate being a vehicle for meeting an articulated desire to have water "service" in the service area, not a device 
for the utility to accumulate parcels in order to form a large, exclusive "franchise" area.

8. Second, and also reflective of the statutory focus on "service" territory, the proposed new 
rules require that a service territory sought on the basis of 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)b. be comprised of either a single 
parcel or multiple contiguous parcels to be served by a common system or main extension. Proposed rules §7.4. 
The Commission believes that this linkage of parcels within a service territory will foster efficient service territories.

9. The Commission now proposes to adopt the new water utility CPCN Rules attached as 
Exhibit "B."  It solicits comments on any of the proposed provisions, including those adding bureaucratic details or 
the new regulatory section related to the certification of "actual service" to the service territory.  While not limiting 
the scope of any comments, the Commission also seeks input from water utilities and others on the following 
issues:

(a) Is the three-year period for providing service in a new service area reasonable in 
light of water utilities' actual historical experiences?;

(b) Should the new rules more explicitly define "existing development", "existing 
subdivision," and "unincorporated community;"? and 

(c) Do the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)c. preclude a water utility from utilizing 
the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C(e)(1)b. to obtain a CPCN to serve one or more parcels in an existing 
development, existing subdivision, or an unincorporated community?

If a water utility believes the three-year period proposed for in the actual service 
certification provision (proposed rules §§3.13 & 12.0) is unreasonable, the utility should provide an appropriate 
time frame to be utilized in that process.  It should provide supporting data from its own experience to support its 
proffered time frame.
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Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:
1. That, for the reasons set forth in the body of this Order, and pursuant to 29 Del.C. 

§10118(a), the Commission hereby withdraws the notice of repeal and rule revisions proposed by PSC Order No. 
7142 (Mar. 20, 2007), and published as proposed regulations at 10 Delaware Register of Regulations 1563-1580 
(April 1, 2007).  The Commission requests that the Registrar of Regulations publish notice of such withdrawal in 
the Delaware Register of Regulations.

2. That for the reasons set forth in the body of this Order, and pursuant to 26 Del.C. 
§§209(a)(1) & 203C(c) and 29 Del.C. §10113(a), the Commission now again proposes to repeal its "Regulations 
Governing Water Utilities Including the Public Service Commission's Jurisdiction to Grant and Revoke Certificates 
of Public Convenience and Necessity (adopted by PSC Order No. 5730 (June 5, 2001)), and to adopt as a 
replacement for such earlier rules the "Regulations Governing Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity 
for Water Utilities," attached to this Order as Exhibit "B."

3. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 and 10115(a), the Secretary shall transmit to the 
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order; a copy of the 
current "Regulations Governing Water Utilities Including the Public Service Commission's Jurisdiction to Grant and 
Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity" (Exhibit "A") (now proposed to be repealed); and a copy 
of the now proposed "Regulations Governing Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity for Water Utilities" 
(Exhibit "B").

4. That, in addition, the Secretary shall transmit the Notice of Proposed Rule-Making, 
attached as Exhibit "C," to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations.  In 
addition, the Secretary shall cause such Notice of Proposed Rule-Making to be published in The News Journal and 
the Delaware State News newspapers on October 1, 2007. The Secretary shall include proof of such publication in 
the docket file before the public hearing in this matter. Further, the Secretary shall serve (by regular mail or 
electronic e-mail) a copy of such Notice on: (a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control; (c) the State Fire Marshal; (d) the Division of Public Health; (e) the State 
Planning Office; and (f) each person or entity who has made a timely request for advance notice of regulation-
making proceedings; (g) each water utility currently subject to the regulatory jurisdiction of the Commission; and (h) 
each municipal water utility, governmental water district, or municipal water and sewer authority that has previously 
applied for a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity from this Commission.

5. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10115(a) and 10116, persons or entities may file written 
comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before November 1, 2007. 
The Commission will conduct a public hearing on the proposed new regulations on November 19, 2007 beginning 
at 10:00 AM. The comments, documents, briefs, and data received in response to the revised rules proposed by 
PSC Order No. 7142 (Mar. 20, 2007) (and now withdrawn) shall be incorporated into the record in this proceeding 
and shall be considered by the Hearing Examiner and Commission.

6. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C. §10116, Hearing Examiner Ruth Ann 
Price is designated to supervise the comment period and to conduct the public hearing. Thereafter, Hearing 
Examiner Price shall organize, classify, and summarize the materials and comments and file a Report with her 
recommendations concerning the adoption of the new regulations. Hearing Examiner Price is specifically 
designated, under 26 Del.C. §102A, the power to determine the content and manner of any further public notice 
that might be necessary or appropriate.  Hearing Examiner Price may also conduct further proceedings, including 
additional hearings, as may be necessary or appropriate.

7. That Francis J. Murphy, Esquire, is designated Staff Counsel for this matter.  
8. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §114, all jurisdictional water utilities are notified that they may 

be charged the costs of this proceeding.
9. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this 

matter as may be deemed necessary or proper. 

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chairman
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Dallas Winslow, Commissioner
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner
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ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE-MAKING: AMENDMENT OF RULES FOR GRANTING and SUPERVISING 
CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY FOR WATER UTILITIES

TO: ALL WATER UTILITIES, CONSUMERS, AND OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS

Under 26 Del.C. §203C, the Public Service Commission ("PSC") holds the authority to grant a Certificate 
of Public Convenience and Necessity ("CPCN") to authorize an entity to begin water utility operations or to allow an 
existing water utility to expand its operations or business to a new proposed service territory. This CPCN authority 
encompasses water utilities subject to the PSC's general regulation as well as municipal and other governmental 
water utilities, districts, or authorities. In 2001, the PSC adopted "Regulations Governing Water Utilities Including 
the Public Service Commission's Jurisdiction to Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience and 
Necessity."  See 5 DE Reg. 212 (July 1, 2001). Those regulations set forth the process and criteria for reviewing, 
granting, or denying requests for CPCNs filed by water utilities.

Earlier, the PSC proposed to repeal the 2001 Rules related to water utility CPCNs in favor of a proposed 
new set of Rules. See 10 DE Reg. 1563-1580. The Commission has now withdrawn those earlier proposed new 
rules.

Pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§203C(c) and 209(a), the PSC now proposes to repeal those 2001 rules and 
replace them with new "Regulations Governing Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity for Water 
Utilities." As outlined in PSC Order No. 7254 (Sept. 4, 2007), the PSC believes the new rules will make 
improvements in the administration of the CPCN process. Initially, the proposed new rules implement the statutory 
changes made to the criteria for obtaining a CPCN (and the provisions of 26 Del.C. §203C) by 76 Del. Laws ch. 55
(June 28, 2007).  Second, the new rules provide for more detailed requirements for notice to affected landowners 
of the CPCN application and provide specific requirements on the form of notice to be sent to affected landowners 
to inform them of their options. In addition, the new regulations add new provisions that require a water utility to 
certify that it will serve, or have facilities within, the new Proposed Service Area within three years and provide a 
procedure for the PSC to explore whether a CPCN should continue if service or facilities are not made available 
within such period.

You can review PSC Order No. 7254 (Sept. 4, 2007) and the proposed new rules in the October 1, 2007 
issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations. You can also review the Order and the new regulations at the PSC's 
Internet website located at http://depsc.delaware.gov. Written copies of the Order and proposed regulations can be 
obtained at the PSC's office at the address located below, for $0.25 per page.

The PSC now solicits comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials about 
the proposed repeal of the 2001 Water Utility CPCN rules and the adoption of the proposed new Water Utility 
CPCN rules.  If you want to file any such materials, you should submit an original and ten copies of such written 
documents on or before November 1, 2007.  You should file such materials with the PSC at the following address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 51

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission. 
Such electronic copy may be filed on a copy-capable CD-Rom disk or send as an attachment to an Internet e-mail 
addressed to karen.nickerson@state.de.us.

The PSC will also conduct a public hearing on the new proposed regulations on Monday, November 19, 
2007.  That hearing will begin at 10:00 A.M. and will be held at the PSC's office at the address set forth above. You 
may also submit comments and materials at such public hearing. 

If you are disabled and need assistance or help to participate in the proceedings, please contact the PSC 
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to discuss that assistance.  If you want more information or have questions, you can contact the PSC about this 
matter at (800) 282-8574 (toll-free in Delaware) or (302) 736-7500.  Inquiries can also be sent by Internet e-mail 
addressed to andrea.maucher@state.de.us.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

Rules To Implement The Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards Act

ORDER NO. 7276

This 4th day of September, 2007, the Commission determines and Orders the following:
1. In 2005 the General Assembly and the Governor enacted the "Renewable Energy Portfolio 

Standards Act," 26 Del.C. §§351-363 (2006 Supp.) ("the Act"). As its name suggests, the Act requires each electric 
supplier to annually accumulate a portfolio of "renewable energy credits" equivalent to a specified percentage of its 
retail electric supply sales within this State. The obligation begins in 2007 and the particular percentages increase 
each year.  In 2006, exercising the authority granted under 26 Del.C. §362 (2006 Supp.), the Commission 
promulgated "Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard" ("RPS Rules"). See 
PSC Order No. 6931 (June 6, 2006).1 

2. In the recently-ended legislative session, the General Assembly and Governor enacted significant 
changes to various provisions in the Act. See 76 Del. Laws ch. 165 §§1-9 (July 24, 2007) ("chapter 165"). The 
Commission now proposes to adopt revisions and amendments to its RPS Rules to incorporate, and assure 
consistency with, the statutory changes made by chapter 165. The revised RPS Rules, prepared by Staff and now 
being proposed for adoption, are set forth as Exhibit "B" to this Order.

3. The Commission continues to hold the authority to issue rules to implement the Act. See 26 Del.C. 
§362 (2006 Supp.). As noted, the proposed revisions are intended to mirror the recent changes in the statutory 
requirements. For example, the revisions incorporate the new "Schedule I" that increases the percentages of retail 
sales that electric suppliers must meet with renewable energy credits. Section 3.2.1.2 The proposed revisions also 
implement the new requirement that electric suppliers also concurrently acquire, as part of their yearly portfolio 
obligation, specified levels of "solar renewable energy credits." Section 3.2.1.3 In addition, the proposed revisions 
provide for the statutory increases to the dollar amounts of "alternative compliance payments" for renewable credits 
and institute a new solar alternative compliance payment regime to be available as an alternative to solar 
renewable  energy credits.  Section 3.3.4.4  

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:
1. That, for the reasons set forth in the body of this Order, and pursuant to 26 Del.C. §362 and 29

Del.C. §10115, the Commission proposes to revise its "Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy 
Portfolio Standard," originally adopted by PSC Order No. 6931 (June 6, 2006) and published at 10 DE Reg. 151-
57.  A copy of those rules, in their current form, are appended as Exhibit "A" to this Order.  The proposed revised 
Rules, which include the changes, amendments, and revisions now being proposed for adoption, are attached to 
this Order as Exhibit "B."

2. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 and 10115(a), the Secretary shall transmit to the Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order; a copy of the current 

1.  The RPS Rules (attached as Exhibit "A") were formally published at 10 DE Reg. 151-157 (July 1, 2006). 
Municipal electric utilities and the now self-regulated Delaware Electric Cooperative, Inc., can choose to 
be exempt from the Act's requirements by pursuing an alternative regime for supporting "renewable 
energy" resources. See 26 Del.C. §§ 353(a), 363 (2006 Supp.).

2. See 26 Del.C. § 354(a), as amended by chapter 165 § 4(b).
3. See 26 Del.C. §§ 352(22)-(23), 354(a), 356(a), as amended by chapter 165 §§ 3, 4(a)-(b), & 6.
4. See 26 Del.C. §§ 352(22), 358(d), 358(e), as amended by chapter 165 §§ 3, 7, & 8.
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"Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard" (adopted in PSC Order No. 6931 
(June 6, 2006)) (Exhibit "A"); and a copy of the revised "Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable 
Energy Portfolio Standard" now being proposed for adoption (Exhibit "B").  

3. That, in addition, the Secretary shall transmit the Notice of Proposed Rule-Making, attached as 
Exhibit "C," to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations. In addition, the 
Secretary shall cause such Notice of Proposed Rule-Making to be published in The News Journal and the 
Delaware State News newspapers on October 1, 2007. The Secretary shall include proof of such publication in the 
docket file before the public hearing in this matter. Further, the Secretary shall serve (by regular mail or by 
electronic e-mail) a copy of such Notice on: (a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the State Energy Office; (c) 
Delmarva Power & Light Company; (d) all certificated electric suppliers; and (e) each person or entity who has 
made a timely request for advance notice of regulation-making proceedings. 

4. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§10115(a) and 10116, persons or entities may file written comments, 
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before October 31, 2007. Pursuant to 29
Del.C. §10117, the Commission will conduct a public hearing on the proposed revisions and resulting new "Rules 
and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard" on December 12, 2007 beginning at 
10:00 AM at the Commission's office at 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware.

5. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C. §10116, Hearing Examiner Ruth Ann Price is 
designated to supervise the comment period and to conduct the public hearing. Thereafter, Hearing Examiner 
Price shall organize, classify, and summarize the materials and comments and file a Report with the Commission 
with her recommendations concerning the proposed revisions to the "Rules and Procedures to Implement the 
Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard." Hearing Examiner Price is specifically delegated the power, under 26
Del.C. §102A, to determine the content and manner of any further public notices that might be necessary or 
appropriate.  Hearing Examiner Price may also conduct further proceedings, including additional hearings, as may 
be necessary or appropriate.

6. That James McC. Geddes, Esquire, is designated Staff Counsel for this matter.  
7. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§114 and 1012(c)(2), all electric suppliers and electric public utilities 

are hereby notified that they may be charged the costs of this proceeding.
8. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter 

as may be deemed necessary or proper. 

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner Dallas Winslow, Commissioner
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE-MAKING: AMENDING “RULES and PROCEDURES TO IMPLEMENT THE 
RENEWABLE ENERGY PORTFOLIO STANDARD”

TO: ALL ELECTRIC SUPPLIERS, ELECTRIC UTILITIES, ELECTRIC GENERATORS USING RENEWABLE 
RESOURCES, AND OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS

Under the "Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards Act," 26 Del.C. §§351-363 (2006 Supp.) ("the Act"), 
each electric supplier making retail electric sales in Delaware must, beginning in 2007, accumulate a portfolio of 
"renewable energy credits" equivalent to a specified percentage of its overall retail electric supply sales. In 2006, 
the Public Service Commission ("PSC") adopted its "Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy 
Portfolio Standard" ("RPS Rules").  See 10 DE Reg. 151-157 (July 1, 2006). 

On July 24, 2006, the General Assembly and Governor enacted significant changes to various provisions 
of the Act. See 76 Del. Laws ch. 164 (July 24, 2007). In light of those statutory amendments, the PSC now 
proposes revisions to its RPS Rules to have those rules reflect, and be consistent with, the recent statutory 
changes. See PSC Order No. 7276 (Sept. 4, 2007).  For example, the proposed rule revisions incorporate the new 
statutory "Schedule I" that increases the percentages of retail sales that electric suppliers must meet with 
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renewable energy credits. The proposed rule changes also implement the new requirement that electric suppliers 
also concurrently acquire, as part of their yearly renewable energy portfolio obligation, specified levels of "solar 
renewable energy credits." In addition, the proposed revisions reflect the increases in the dollar amounts of 
"alternative compliance payments" for renewable credits and institute a new solar alternative compliance payment 
regime to be available as a substitute for solar renewable energy credits. The PSC is authorized to make rules to 
implement the Act under 26 Del.C. §362.

You can review PSC Order No. 7276 (Sept. 4, 2007) and the proposed revised RPS Rules in the October 
1, 2007 issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations. You can also review the Order and the proposed, revised 
RPS Rules at the PSC's Internet website located at http://depsc.delaware.gov. If you wish to have written copies of 
the Order and proposed revised Rules, you can obtain them at the PSC's office at the address located below for 
$0.25 per page.

The PSC now solicits comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials about 
the proposed revisions to its RPS Rules. If you wish to file any such materials, you should submit an original and 
ten copies of such written documents on or before October 31, 2007. You should file such materials with the PSC 
at the following address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 56

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission. 
Such electronic copy may be filed on a copy-capable CD-Rom disk or sent as an attachment to an Internet e-mail 
addressed to karen.nickerson@state.de.us.

The PSC will also conduct a public evidentiary hearing on the new proposed regulations on Wednesday, 
December 12, 2007 at 10:00 AM at the Commission's office at the address set forth above. You may also submit 
comments and materials at such public evidentiary hearing.

If you are disabled and need assistance or help to participate in the proceedings, please contact the PSC 
to discuss that assistance.  If you want more information or have questions, you can contact the PSC about this 
matter at (800) 282-8574 (toll-free in Delaware) or (302) 736-7500. Inquiries can also be sent by Internet e-mail 
addressed to david.bloom@state.de.us.

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DELAWARE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

1104 Administration and Operation of Council on Development Finance

In accordance with procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 11, Subch. III and 29 Del.C., Ch. 101, the Director 
of the Delaware Economic Development Office, as Chairperson of The Delaware Economic Development 
Authority, is proposing to adopt a regulation for the administration and operation of the Council on Development 
Finance as recommended by the Joint Sunset Committee in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10214. The proposed 
regulation sets forth certain procedures for the administration and operation of the Council on Development 
Finance.

The Director of the Delaware Economic Development Office, as the Chairperson of The Delaware 
Economic Development Authority, or an employee of the Delaware Economic Development Office designated by 
the Director, will hold a public hearing at which members of the public may present comments on the proposed 
regulation on November 26, 2007 at 9:00 A.M. at Buena Vista, 661 South DuPont Highway in New Castle, Delaware 
19720. Additionally, members of the public may present written comments on the proposed regulation by 
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submitting such written comments to Ms. Lee K. Porter, Delaware Economic Development Office, 99 Kings 
Highway, Dover, DE, 19901-7305. Written comments must be received on or before November 14, 2007. Members 
of the public may receive a copy of the proposed regulation at no charge by United States Mail by writing Ms. Lee 
K. Porter at the Dover, Delaware, address of the Delaware Economic Development Office set forth above, or by 
calling her at (302) 739-4271.
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