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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is  an official State publication established by authority of  69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited  by volume, issue , p age number and  date. An example
would be:

13 DE Reg. 24-47 (07/01/09)

Refers to Volume 13, pages 24-47 of the Delaware Register issued on July 1, 2009.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens an d othe r in terested p arties may p articipate in the pr ocess b y which a dministrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full tex t of su ch proposals, together with  copies o f the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the  Register of Regulations pursuant to § 1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any oth er regulations th at ma y be impacted or  affected by the proposal, and shall st ate the manner in wh ich
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public he aring sha ll not be sched uled less than 20  days fo llowing publication of no tice o f the p roposal in  the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the prop osal, notice of the time, date, pl ace and a
summary of the n ature o f the p roposal shall a lso be  published in  at lea st 2  Delawa re newspapers o f g eneral
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held  open fo r a minimum of 3 0 days af ter the  proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upo n a ll the  testim onial a nd written e vidence and information sub mitted, toge ther with
summaries o f the e vidence a nd information b y subordinates, the agency sha ll de termine whether a r egulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact w ith respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or  repeal a r egulation or to  take no action  and the  decision shall be  supported by it s findings on  the
evidence and infor mation received; ( 4) Th e exact te xt an d citation of such re gulation ad opted, am ended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in it s final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.
When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in th e pr eceding section, n o judicial r eview o f a regulation is a vailable u nless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING TIME

October 1 September 15       4:30 p.m.
November 1 October 15       4:30 p.m.
December 1 November 15       4:30 p.m.
January 1 December 15       4:30 p.m.
February 1 January 17       4:30 p.m.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF

Deborah A.  Porter, In terim Supervisor; Judi Abbo tt, Administrative S pecialist I;  Jeffrey W . Hag ue,
Registrar of  Regulations; Robert Lupo , Printer; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J. Messina,
Print Shop Supervisor; Kathleen Morris, Administrative S pecialist I; Debbie Puz zo, Research A nalyst; Don
Sellers, Printer; Georgia Roman, Unit Operations Support Specialist; Victoria Schultes, Administrative Specialist
II; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative Specialist II.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed in the
preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that issue of the
Register in which th e re gulation was pu blished.  Pro posed re gulations ar e desig nated with ( Prop.); Final
regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations that
have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Amendments to the Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive

Plan to Update Water Quality Criteria for Toxic Pollutants in the Delaware Estuary
and Extend These Criteria to the Delaware Bay................................................ 14 DE Reg.     70 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Harness Racing Commission

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations, Subsection 5.1.8 Substance
Abuse/Addiction...........................................................................................  14 DE Reg.    23 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Office of the Secretary

251 Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA).................................  14 DE Reg.    26 (Final)
501 State Content Standards.............................................................................  14 DE Reg.      6 (Prop.)
545 K to 12 School Counseling Programs.........................................................  14 DE Reg.    28 (Final)
920 Educational Programs for English Language Learners (ELLs)...................  14 DE Reg.  103 (Final)

Professional Standards Board
1503 Educator Mentoring ..................................................................................  14 DE Reg.    29 (Final)
1521 Elementary Teacher..................................................................................  14 DE Reg.    83 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance

Combining §1915(c) Home and Community-Based Services Waivers..............  14 DE Reg.    88 (Prop.)
Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Services.............................................  14 DE Reg.  103 (Final)

Division of Public Health
4455 Delaware Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code...................  14 DE Reg.    36 (Final)

Division of Social Services
DSSM: 3000 Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) - Definition.... 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)

3000.4 TANF and State Only Foster Care............................................ 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
3004 Specified Relationship.................................................................. 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
3004.1 Living in the Home.................................................................... 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
3010 Participation and Cooperation in Developing CMR...................... 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
3018 General Assistance (GA)............................................................. 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
3021 Unrelated Children....................................................................... 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
3022 Ineligibility Due to Family Cap...................................................... 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
3027 Age as a Condition of Eligibility.................................................... 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
3027.2 Minor Parents............................................................................ 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
3028.1 Mandatory Composition of Assistance Units............................. 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
3028.2 Optional Composition of Assistance Units................................ 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
4001 Family Budget Group................................................................... 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
4001.1 Examples to Illustrate Rules Regarding Budget Groups........... 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
4004.3 Earned Income Disregards in GA............................................. 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
4007.1 Standards of Need/Payment Standard - GA............................. 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
4009 Determining Financial Eligibility and Grant Amounts in GA......... 14 DE Reg.     91 (Prop.)
11003.9.1: Income ................................................................................ 14 DE Reg.       8 (Prop.)
11003.9.5: Making Income Determinations .......................................... 14 DE Reg.       8 (Prop.)
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11004.2: Interviews ............................................................................... 14 DE Reg.     11 (Prop.)
11004.9: Authorizing Service ................................................................ 14 DE Reg.     11 (Prop.)
11005.4: Overpayments........................................................................ 14 DE Reg.     15 (Prop.)
11005.4.1: Determine the Overpayment Amount.................................. 14 DE Reg.     15 (Prop.)
11005.4.2: Overpayment Notices.......................................................... 14 DE Reg.     15 (Prop.)
11005.4.3: Role of Audit and Recovery................................................. 14 DE Reg.     15 (Prop.)
11006.3 Service Authorization............................................................... 14 DE Reg.     39 (Final)

Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
6001 Substance Abuse Facility Licensing Standards........................................ 14 DE Reg.     18 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
704 Homeowners Premium Consumer Comparison ............................................... 14 DE Reg.     41 (Final)
901 Arbitration of Automobile and Homeowners’ Insurance Claims (Withdrawn).... 14 DE Reg.     44 (Final)
1208 New Annuity Mortality Table for Use in Determining Reserve Liabilities

for Annuities ...................................................................................................... 14 DE Reg.     48 (Final)
1218 Determining Reserve Liabilities For Credit Life Insurance .............................. 14 DE Reg.     49 (Final)
1404 Long-Term Care Insurance.............................................................................. 14 DE Reg.     92 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Fraud and Consumer Protection Division

102 Debt Management Services........................................................................ 14 DE Reg.     93 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Division of Industrial Affairs

1101 Apprenticeship and Training Regulations.................................................. 14 DE Reg.     50 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Division of Fish and Wildlife

3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits, Seasons; Quotas......................... 14 DE Reg.   113 (Final)
3702 Defnitions.................................................................................................. 14 DE Reg.   117 (Final)
3771 Oyster Harvesting Licensee Requirements............................................... 14 DE Reg.   117 (Final)
3901 Definitions.................................................................................................. 14 DE Reg.     52 (Final)
3902 Method of Take.......................................................................................... 14 DE Reg.     52 (Final)
3903 Federal Laws and Regulations Adopted................................................... 14 DE Reg.     52 (Final)
3904 Seasons.................................................................................................... 14 DE Reg.     52 (Final)
3907 Deer.......................................................................................................... 14 DE Reg.     52 (Final)
3921 Guide License........................................................................................... 14 DE Reg.     52 (Final)
3922 Hunter and Trapper Identification Number................................................ 14 DE Reg.     52 (Final)

Division of Water Resources
7201 Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution, Section 9.5, 

Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation (CAFO)....................................... 14 DE Reg.     19 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Professional Regulation

100 Board of Accountancy................................................................................. 14 DE Reg.     54 (Final)
2700 Board of Registration for Professional Land Surveyors............................. 14 DE Reg.    102(Prop.)
8800 Boxing and Combative Sports Rules and Regulations.............................. 14 DE Reg.     20 (Prop.)

Public Service Commission
2002 Regulations Governing Certificates of Public Convenience and

Necessity for Water Utilities......................................................................... 14 DE Reg.   120 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division of Planning and Policy

2307 Delaware Safe Routes to School Regulations.......................................... 14 DE Reg.     56 (Final)
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2311 Long-Term Lease Policies and Practices.................................................. 14 DE Reg.     21 (Prop.)

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
Office of Management and Budget

Freedom of Information Act Regulation............................................................. 14 DE Reg.      57 (Final)
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of su ch p roposals, tog ether with cop ies of  the  e xisting regulation b eing a dopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the  Register of Regulations pursuant to § 1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any oth er regulations th at ma y be imp acted or af fected by the proposal, and shall st ate the manner in wh ich
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such
public he aring sha ll not be sched uled less than 20  days fo llowing publication of no tice o f the p roposal in  the
Register of Regulations.  If a public  hearing will be held on the prop osal, notice of the time, date, plac e and a
summary of the nature o f th e p roposal shall a lso be  pu blished in  at lea st 2  Dela ware newsp apers o f g eneral
circulation.   The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRIGULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 10005 (3 Del.C. §10005)
3 DE Admin. Code 501

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaw are Harness Racing  Co mmission, pu rsuant to  3 Del.C. §10 005, pro poses to cha nge it s Rule
7.6.6.7.7. The Commission will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule changes on October 12, 2010. (Please
note this date has been changed from the previous posting of August 10, 2010.)

Written comments sho uld b e sent to  Hu gh J. Gallagher, Admin istrator of Harness Racing, Dep artment of
Agriculture, 2320 S. D uPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901. W ritten comments will be acc epted for thirty (30) days
from the date of publication in the Register of Regulations on September 1, 2010.

The proposed ch anges a re for the purpose o f updating the Rules a nd to m ore a ccurately reflect cur rent
policies, pr actices a nd p rocedures. Copies a re pu blished on line at th e Register of Regulations we bsite: http://
regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml

A copy is also available for inspection at the Harness Racing Commission office.

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

7.0 Rules of the Race

(Break in Continuity within Sections)

7.6 Racing Rules
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(Break in Continuity within Sections)

7.6.6 Recall Rules
7.6.6.1 In c ase o f a r ecall, a lig ht pla inly visib le t o th e dr ivers s hall be  fla shed an d a r ecall

sounded, but the starting gate shall proceed out of the path of the horses. In the case of a
recall, whenever po ssible, the starter shall lea ve th e win gs of the ga te extended and
gradually slo w the spe ed of the g ate to assi st in  sto pping the  field of ho rses. In an
emergency, however, the starter shall use his discretion to close the wings of the gate.

7.6.6.2 There shall be n o recall after the word "go" ha s been give un less there is a me chanical
failure of the starting gate.

7.6.6.3 The starter shall attempt to dispatch all horses away in position and on gait but there shall
be no recall for a breaking horse.

7.6.6.4 In the event a horse causes two recalls, it may be scratched by the judges.
7.6.6.5 The starter may sound a recall for the following reasons:

7.6.6.5.1 A horse scores ahead of the gate;
7.6.6.5.2 There is interference;
7.6.6.5.3 A horse has broken equipment;
7.6.6.5.4 A horse falls before the word "go" is given; or
7.6.6.5.5 A mechanical failure of the starting gate;
7.6.6.5.6 A horse comes to the gate out of position.

7.6.6.6 A fine and/or suspension may be applied to any driver for:
7.6.6.6.1 Delaying the start;
7.6.6.6.2 Failure to obey the starter's instructions;
7.6.6.6.3 Rushing ahead of the inside or outside wing of the gate;
7.6.6.6.4 Coming to the starting gate out of position;
7.6.6.6.5 Crossing over before reaching the starting point;
7.6.6.6.6 Interference with another driver during the start; or
7.6.6.6.7 Failure to come up into position and stay in position behind the starting gate until the

word “go” is given.

*Please Note: Due to th e size  of the proposed regulation, it  is not  being published here. A cop y of the
regulation is available at:

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 405

405 Minor Capital Improvement Programs

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation
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B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 405 Minor Capital Improvement Programs.

This re gulation was r eviewed an d amended a s p art of the  5 year cycle . The a mendments ar e generally for
clarification purposes.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before October 4, 2010 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of Education,
at 4 01 Fe deral S treet, Suite 2, Do ver, Delawa re 19901. A co py of th is r egulation is a vailable fr om the abo ve
address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria 
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievem ent as meas ured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is related to min or cap ital improvement and not directly re lated to student
achievement as measured against state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all s tudents receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation is r elated to m inor capital improvement and does not directly affect ensuring all students receive and
equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The amended regulation is related to minor capital improvements and should support the health and safety of all
students through improved flexibility and a better defined process. 

4. Will the amended regulation help to  ensure that all stude nts’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation is related to minor capital improvements and should support the health and safety of all students through
improved flexibility and a better defined process.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and s chool leve l? The amended regulation preserves the necessary authorit y and improves flex ibility of
decision making at the local board and school level through a better defined minor capital improvement regulation. 

6. Will the amended regulation  place unnecessary reporting or admi nistrative require ments or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulations will decrease reporting and
administrative requirement s through improv ed flexib ility and a better defined Minor Capit al Improvement
regulation.

7. Will the decision making authority  and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The amended regulation does no change decision making authority or accountability. 

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational po licies, in p articular to state educational p olicies a ddressing a chievement in  the  cor e academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation supports improved
implementation through a better defined Minor Capital Improvement regulation.

9. Is ther e a  less bu rdensome m ethod for  ad dressing th e p urpose o f th e r egulation? The is no t a  less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this  regulation. The amended should decrease reporting and
administrative burden.

10. What is the  co st to the  S tate a nd to th e local scho ol bo ards of comp liance with th e re gulation? Th e
amended regulation will not have added costs to the State or local school board for compliance. The amendments
should decrease the burden to districts.

405 Minor Capital Improvement Programs

1.0 Minor Capital Improvement Program
1.1 The Min or Ca pital Im provement Pro gram (M CI) is a p rogram to pr ovide fo r the p lanned an d

programmed maintenance and repair of the school plant. The p rogram's primary purpose is to kee p
real property assets in their original condition of completeness and efficiency on a scheduled basis. It
is not fo r incr easing th e plan t inventory or  ch anging its co mposition. Minor Ca pitol Impr ovement
Projects ar e pr ojects that cost less tha n $5 00,000 u nless th e pr oject is fo r r oof r epair. T he MCI
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program is  shall be  reviewed an nually by  th e sc hool d istrict and  shou ld b e com prised o f work
necessary for good maintenance practice.

1.2 Minor Ca pitol Impr ovement Pr oject pur chase o rders sha ll be sub mitted to the  S tate Division  of
Accounting prior t o any wo rk b eing done. A separate purchase or der m ust be subm itted for  ea ch
project. (One copy of the approv ed purchase order will be returned to the district for their information
and record.)

1.3 Use of Funds: The follo wing areas are authorized for the expenditure of Minor Capital Improvement
Program funds: maintenance, repairs, modernization, inspections, testing, maintenance agreements
and se rvice contr acts related to : r oofs, he ating systems, ventilation & air  co nditioning systems,
plumbing & w ater sy stems, electrical sy stems, windows, doors , floors, ceilin gs, masonry, structural
built in equipment, painting, fire suppression systems, life safety systems, maintenance of site security
systems ins tallation and mainte nance, s chool ground s, athletic facilities and play grounds, of fice
equipment used for instructional purposes only and renovations, alterations and modernizations that
do not require major structural changes.

1.4 Exclusions: Funds allocated for a specific project shall be used only for that project. Program funds
may not be  u sed for the following: m ovable e quipment o ther tha n office equipment used for
instructional purposes that is transported from one location to another, routine janitorial supplies, new
construction th at increases th e area of  a bu ilding o r e xtends a ny of it s comp onent systems, site
improvements that add to or extend the existing roadways or side walks, surfacing a non surfaced area
for parking, co mpleting ma jor co nstruction pro jects or  sp ecific item s o mitted or  de leted fr om m ajor
construction projects or floor space allocated according to formula and used otherwise.

1.5 Invoices: Invoices may shall be sent directly to t he Division of Accounting for processing. Payments
may be made as  the pr oject pr ogresses o r af ter wor k has b een comp leted an d a ccepted., as
warranted by the nature and scope of the individual project(s).

2.0 Career Technical Program Equipment Replacement Requests
2.1 Requests for  the  r  Replacement of Car eer Technical Pr ogram eq uipment may b e m ade un der the

accomplished using  Mino r Cap ital Impr ovement Pro gram Req uests shall  be ma de wh en the
equipment is within three years of its estimated life so districts can accumulate the necessary dollars to
purchase the item. Distr icts de siring to  p articipate in the Car eer T echnical Program equ ipment
replacement program shall submit a r equest in wr iting to the  Office of Schoo l Plant Planning at the
time of th e Min or Ca pital Im provement Prog ram submission. D istricts should not include Career
Technical Pr ogram re placements wit h r egular Major Ca pitol Im provement Pr ojects, V ocational
Education Replacement funds.

2.2 Career Technical Program Equipment is defined as either a movable or fixed unit but not a built in unit.
In addition, the equipment shall retain its original shape and appearance with use, be nonexpendable,
and re present an investmen t which makes it fe asible an d advisable to cap italize and n ot lo se it s
identity th rough incor poration into a  dif ferent or  mo re co mplex u nit. Co mputers an d comp uter
peripheral eq uipment ma y be  purchased using Minor Capit al Im provement Vocational Education
Equipment Re placement Funds p rovided such equipment pur chased with such fu nds is use d in a
vocational education setting for the service life of said equipment.

2.2.1 In order to replace Career Technical Program equipment, the equipment must have a minimum 10
year life expectancy, have a unit cost of $500 or more, be obsolete or more then five (5) years old,
and be purchased with state, state and local or local funds.

2.3 Funds: Funds shall be allocated based on the percentage of a district's Vocational Division II Units to
the total of such units of all participating districts. This percentage is applied to the total funds available
in a given year for capital equipment. Career Technical Schools are 100% State funded.

3.0 Purchase Orders
Funds may be expended anytime during the life of th e Act wh ich appropriated the funds, usually, a
three year period. Appropriations may be  accumulated over  those three years and expended for  a
major replacement when a sufficient balance is attained. However, should funds prove insufficient after
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 3, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2010



PROPOSED REGULATIONS138
three yea rs o f ap propriations, the district m ust supp lement the pro gram fro m their own or  other
resources. Funds u nexpended whe n the ap propriating Ac t expir es sh all r evert to the S tate unless
properly an d duly continued in  accor dance with Office o f Ma nagement a nd Bud get requirements.
Purchase orders shall include the re ference ID system, sub system, component and deficiency code
from the correction on the facility assessment website database.

4.0 Cost Limitations
The maximum co st of a  Min or Cap ital Improvement Project is $50 0,000 exce pt roof re pairs an d
replacements which are not cost limited. Non roof projects exceeding the ceiling shall be requested in
the Major Capital Improvement Program.

5.0 Temporary Employees
Workers may be  hired under the  Minor Capital Improvement Program provided they a re temporary
hires and directly involved in  the planning, constructing, or  record main tenance of th e construction
project.

6.0 Reporting
At the end of each fiscal year, s School districts shall submit a list of completed projects accomplished
under the Minor Capital Improvement Program account for Minor Capital Improvement summary and
detailed projects in the accounting system as req uired by the Delaware Department of Education in
order to accomplish proper control and reporting of said projects.

2 DE Reg. 1382 (2/1/99)
6 DE Reg. 1672 (6/1/03)
9 DE Reg. 970 (12/01/05)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 727

727 Credit for Experience for Educators and for Secretarial Staff

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Reauthorization of Existing Regulation 

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to readopt 14 DE Admin. Code 727 Credit for Experience for Educators

and for Secretarial Staff. This regulation was reviewed as part of the 5 year review cycle.
Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or

before October 4, 2010 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of Education,
at 4 01 Fe deral S treet, Suite 2, Do ver, Delawa re 19901. A co py of th is r egulation is a vailable fr om the abo ve
address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievem ent as meas ured against state achievement

standards? The regulation addresses credit for experience as it relates to salaries for educators and secretarial
staff.
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2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation
addresses credit for experience as it relates to salaries for educators and secretarial staff.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The regulation addresses credit for experience as it relates to salaries for educators and secretarial staff.

4. Will the amended regulation help to  ensure that all students’ legal ri ghts are res pected? The regulation
addresses credit for experience as it relates to salaries for educators and secretarial staff.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? There are no proposed changes to the regulation. 

6. Will the amended regulation place unnec essary reporting or administrative requireme nts or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? There are no proposed changes to the regulation.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? There are no proposed changes to the regulation.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational po licies, in p articular to state educational p olicies a ddressing a chievement in  the  cor e academic
subjects of ma thematics, scie nce, la nguage a rts an d social stu dies? The re ar e no proposed ch anges to the
regulation.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There are no proposed
changes to the regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no proposed changes to the regulation.

727 Credit for Experience for Educators and for Secretarial Staff

1.0 Educators Graduating from a 5 Year or 4 Year Preservice Program
1.1 Definitions

1.1.1 The fo llowing words and te rms when used  in this su bsection sh all ha ve the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Eligible Employe e” includ es, bu t is no t limited  to , teac hers, nurses,  librarians,  psychologist s,
therapists, and counselors paid in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1305 that were hired into their first
professional position after June 30, 2001 and zero years of experience. The exception to the zero
years of experience would be an employee who qualified for military  experience credit under 14
Del.C. §1312(a) and 14 DE Admin. Code 706.

“Five Year Pre service Pro gram” me ans a re gionally accr edited college or u niversity five year
planned degree program which includes an extensive clinical component or internship in the fifth
year.

“Four Y ear Pre service Pro gram” mea ns a r egionally accredited colle ge o r u niversity four  year
preservice undergraduate bachelor degree program.

“Grade Point Average (GPA)” means the grade point average (GPA) stated on the official transcript
of the regionally accredited college or university granting the bachelor’s degree in the Four Year
Preservice Program.

1.2 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1312(a), a graduate of a five year preservice program, or a graduate of a four
year preservice program who graduates with a GPA of 3.75 or higher on a 4.0 scale or the equivalent,
shall be granted one year of experience on the applicable state salary schedule.

1.3 An employee eligible for one year of credited experience shall meet the definition of Eligible Employee
in 1.1 and meet the requirements of 1.2.

9 DE Reg. 396 (9/1/05)

2.0 Administrators
No credit for experience sha ll be  give n for  p art time e mployment in a dministrative o r super visory
positions.
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3.0 Teachers
3.1 Days t aught as a substitute or  as a  p araeducator ma y no t be used toward cre dit for  expe rience;

however, emp loyment as a  teach er on a r egular part time basis ma y be used towar d cr edit for
experience.

3.1.1 A "regular part time" employee is on e who is employed in a position which requires at least 50
hours per month for at least 9 months during any 12 consecutive month period.

4.0 Secretarial Staff
Secretaries may be  granted one (1) year's experience for  each creditable yea r of expe rience as a
secretary in private business, public or private school, or other governmental agency.

5.0 Creditable Experience
Creditable experience includes experience obtained while working outside of Delaware.

6.0 Applicability
This re gulation applies to the d etermination o f cred itable e xperience for salary pu rposes on ly, and
does not apply to the determination of creditable experience for pension purposes which is specified in
29 Del.C. Ch. 55. Laws on employment and salary for administrators, teachers, and secretaries are
found in 14 Del.C. Ch. 13.

3 DE Reg. 1542 (5/1/00)
8 DE Reg. 1607 (5/1/05)
9 DE Reg. 396 (9/1/05)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 940

940 Early Admission to Kindergarten for Gifted Students

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Repeal 

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code

940 Early Admission to Kindergarten for Gifted Students. This regulation was reviewed under the five ye ar cycle,
and a proposed amendment was published in the May 2010 Register of Regulations. The Department received
comments from the Governor’s Advisory Council and thereafter reviewed the regulation and proposed amendment
again. Upon this further review and consideration of the comments received, the Department determined that the
identification by professionally qualified persons under 14 Del.C. §3101(4) and the lo cal district’s assessment of
the best interest of the child under 14 Del.C. §2702(b) is the better mechanism to determine early admission to
Kindergarten for Gif ted Students. That mechanism will allow  students with all st atutorily listed areas  of abilities,
singularly or in comb ination, to be assessed with the same criteria. Accordingly, the Department has determined
that continued regulation in this area is unnecessary at this time.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before October 4, 2010 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of Education,
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at 4 01 Fe deral S treet, Suite 2, Do ver, Delawa re 1 9901. A co py of this r egulation is ava ilable fr om the  abo ve
address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria 
1. Will the repealed regulation help improve student ac hievement as m easured against st ate achievement

standards? The repealing of the regulation is consistent with the provisions in Delaware Code related to exceptions
to entry into school.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The repealing of
the regulation is consistent with the provisions in Delaware Code related to exceptions to entry into school.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The repeal of this regulation is not intended to affect the health and safety of students.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected?  The repealing of
the regulation is consistent with the provisions in Delaware Code related to exceptions to entry into school.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The repealing of the regulation is consistent with the provisions in Delaware Code related
to exceptions to entry into school, especially as it related to authority and flexibility of local board and school levels. 

6. Will the amended regulation place unnec essary reporting or administrative requireme nts or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The repealing of the regulation is consistent with the
provisions in Delaware Code related to exceptions to entry into school and is no t intended to p lace unnecessary
reporting, administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The repealing of the regulation is consistent with the  provisions in Delaware Code related to
exceptions to entry into school.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational po licies, in p articular to state educational p olicies a ddressing a chievement in  the  cor e academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The repealing of the regulation is consistent
with the provisions in Delaware Code related to exceptions to entry into school and not inconsistent with other state
educational policies.

9. Is there a le ss burdensome method for  addressing the purpose of the regulation? The repealing of the
regulation is consistent with the provisions in Delaware Code related to exceptions to entry into school.

10. What is the c ost to the S tate and to the  local scho ol bo ards of comp liance with th e re gulation? The
Department does n ot con template a dditional costs to the state o r local school b oards with the repeal o f this
regulation. 

940 Early Admission to Kindergarten for Gifted Students

1.0 Requirements for Early Admission to Kindergarten
When providing early enrollment into kindergarten of children who are gifted pursuant to the provisions
of 14 Del.C. §3101(3)(a) o r ( b), lo cal sch ool d istricts an d cha rter scho ols shall com ply with the
following requirements:

1.1 At the  request of any parent, legal guardian or  pe rson acting as a  caregiver pu rsuant to  14 Del.C.
§202(f), the district or charter school shall conduct an evaluation of any such potentially gifted child by
a school psychologist or  o ther professionally qualified person, in conjunction with othe r appropriate
personnel, to determine  if the c hild possesses outstanding mental and cognitive abiliti es and to
determine if the child can demonstrate the social, emotional, and physical maturity, normally expected
for successfu l p articipation in kindergarten. A discussion shall be  held to de termine the p arent,
guardian or Relative Caregiver’s reason for requesting the child’s early admission to kindergarten prior
to the legal age.

1.1.1 The evaluation shall be conducted at no cost to the parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver.
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1.2 In order to qualify for early enrollment, the child must achieve a measured score at least 1.5 standard
deviations above the mean score for the assessment instrument used to determine the child’s mental
and cognitive abilities . In addition, the evaluation mu st indicate that the child possesses the social,
emotional and physical maturity to successfully participate in kindergarten.

1.3 Following the completion of the evaluation, a representative of the school district or charter school who
is knowledgeable of the evaluation process and any assessments used during the evaluation shall talk
with the parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver to discuss the evaluation results.

8 DE Reg. 1479 (4/1/05)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

School-Based Wellness Center Clinic Services

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - T itle 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) with 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512,
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is amending
the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to update the reimbursement methodology for School-Based Wellness Center
Clinic Services.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by September 30, 2010.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the pro posed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The pu rpose of th is p roposal is to  amend the T itle XIX Med icaid State Plan  to u pdate the re imbursement
methodology for School-Based Wellness Center Clinic Services. 

Statutory Authority
• 42 CFR 440.205, Public Notice of Changes in Statewide Methods and Standards for Setting Payment 

Rates;
• 42 CFR §440.90, Clinic Services; and,
• State Medicaid Manual, Section 4320, Clinic Services. 

Summary of Proposed Amendment
School-Based W ellness Center Clinic (SBWCCs), operated by the D ivision of Public H ealth in Delaware

schools, provide primary prevention and early intervention services, including physical examinations, treatment of
acute medical problems, community referrals, counseling and other  supportive services to ch ildren in  school or
educational settings.

The Title XIX Me dicaid State Plan is be ing revised to upd ate th e reimbursement methodology fo r Sch ool-
Based Wellness Center Clinic Services, as the current rate methodology expires on September 30, 2010.
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Effective for dates of serv ice on Oc tober 1, 2010 and af ter, claims fo r School Based Wellness Center Clinic
Services will no longer be reimbursed at a single encounter rate per child per year but will be paid based on billed
procedure codes for individual services delivered by SBWCCs at the Delaware Medicaid P hysician Fee Schedule
rates. 

No change w ill be made to the services provided under the s chool-based wellnes s center  clinic s ervices
benefit.

The provisions of this amendment are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS).

Fiscal Impact Statement
The proposal imposes no increase in cost on the General Fund.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #10-37
REVISION:

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 2

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State/Territory: DELAWARE

School-Based Wellness Center Clinic Services, operated by the Division of Public Health in Delaware schools, are
reimbursed a single rate once each benefit year for any client served in one of the school-based clinics. This rate
methodology will sunset on September 30, 2010  using the DMAP physician fee schedule ef fective for dates of
service on or after October 1, 2010.  Except as otherwise noted in the plan, State-developed fee schedule rates are
the same fo r bo th governmental and private providers of th is service and the DM AP physician fee sched ule is
available on the DMAP website. (http://www.dmap.state.de.us/downloads/hcpcs.html)

Payments for clinic services will not exceed the upper payment limits set forth in 42 CFR 447.321:. (1) For services
covered by Medicare, payments are not to exceed the Medicare rates or the Medicare aggregate payment amount
for th ose se rvices; and (2 ) F or services no t co vered by  Medicare, a ggregate p ayments ar e no t to  exceed a n
amount that could reasonably be estimated would have been paid under Medicare payment principles. Since the
School-Based W ellness Centers will be p aid at the DMAP physician fee sc hedule rates, which is p aid as  a
percentage of the Medicare phy sician fee sc hedule, not to exc eed 100%, the payments will not ex ceed what
Medicare would have paid.

Payments to Scho ol-Based Wellness Centers shall be considered “preventive pediatric services” as per 42 CFR
433.139(b)(3)(i) for the purpose of applying third party billing requirements.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 311; 314; 29 Delaware Code, Section 10112

(18 Del.C. §§311; 314 & 29 Del.C. §10112)

PUBLIC NOTICE

908 Procedures for Responding to Freedom of Information Requests

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAR EN WELDIN STEWART, CIR-ML hereby gives notice of intent to ado pt
Department of Insurance Regulation 908 relating to requests from the public for information under the Freedom of
Information Act.  The docket number for this proposed amendment is 1379.

The purpose of the proposed Regulation 908 is to establish procedures for providing information requested by
the public and guaranteeing that information that is provided can be provided and, if so, is p rovided in a timely
fashion. The text of the proposed regulation is reproduced in the September 2010 edition of the Delaware Register
of Regulations. The text can also be  viewed at the Dela ware In surance Commission er’s we bsite at: http://
www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a public hearing on the p roposed changes.  Any person
can file  wr itten comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data or other materials concerning the p roposed
amendments.  Any wr itten submission in response to this notice and relevant to th e proposed changes must be
received by th e De partment of Insur ance no  later th an 4:00  p .m., Monday October 4 , 20 10, and sho uld b e
addressed to Mitch Crane, Esqu ire, Delaware Department o f Insurance, 841 Silver  Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE
19904, or sent by fax to 302.739.2021 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

908 Procedures for Responding to Freedom of Information Requests

1.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Commissioner” means the Commissioner of the Delaware Insurance Department.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Insurance.
“FOIA” means The Freedom of Information Act as established pursuant to Chapter 100 of Title 29 of
the Delaware Code Annotated.
“FOIA Coordinator” is defin ed as an individual designated by a pu blic body to accept an d process
requests for public records under the act. The Commissioner shall designate the individual who shall
be the FOIA Coordinator.  The FOI Co ordinator may appoint Assistant FOIA Coordinators to acce pt
and process FOIA requests.
“Public re cord” is information of a ny kind , owned, made, u sed, r etained r eceived, produced,
composed, drafted or otherwise compiled or collected by the Department relating in any way to public
business, or in any way of  public interest, or in any way related to public purposes, regardless of the
physical form or characteristic by which su ch information is stored, recorded or reproduced and not
protected from disclosure by law.
“Writing” is defined as “handwriting, typewriting, printing, photo stating, photographing, photocopying,
and e very othe r me ans of re cording, an d includ es lette rs, wo rds, pictur es, sou nds, or  symbols, or
combinations ther eof, an d p apers, map s, mag netic or  p aper t apes, pho tographic film s o r p rints,
microfilm, microfiche, magnet ic or  punched cards,  discs,  drums, or other means of rec ording or
retaining meaningful content.
“Written request” is defined as “a writing that asks for information, and includes a writing transmitted
by facsimile, electronic mail, or other electronic means.”
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2.0 Purpose
The purpose of  th is Regulation is t o set forth the policy an d procedures for responding to r equests
from the public for information as set forth in 29 Del.C. Chapter 100.

3.0 Records Request, Response Procedures and Access
3.1 All FOIA Request s s hall be made in w riting to the De partment, a ddressed to:  FOIA Coo rdinator,

Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. All FOIA Requests shall specifically
identify in writing the records sought for review in sufficient detail to enable the Department to locate
the records with reasonable effort.  The Department shall provide reasonable assistance to the public
in identifying and locating records to which they are entitled access.

3.2 The Department shall respond, in writing, within ten working days of the receipt of a FOIA Request.
Such response shall specify the name and telephone number of a contact person with respect to the
FOIA Request and shall state whether:

3.2.1 the Department will permit inspection of the public records;
3.2.2 the Department requires additional time beyond the 10 business days for circumstances to include

but not limited to, the request is for voluminous records, requires legal advice, for the public record
is in  storage or archived.  In  the event the Department is u nable to make the requested public
records available for inspection with the 10 business day period, the Department shall provide an
expected time at which they will be made available; or

3.2.3 if it does not permit such inspection, the reason or reasons for such refusal.
3.3 Prior to disclosure, records will be reviewed to ensure that those records or portions of records

deemed n on-public pur suant to 29 Del.C. §10002(g) ar e re moved.  In r eviewing the r ecords, all
documents shall be considered public records unless subject to one of the exceptions set forth in 29
Del.C. §10002(g).

3.4 After receiving the response of the Department to a FOIA Request, the requesting party shall contact
the person specified in the written response thereto to schedule a mutually convenient date, time and
place for the inspection of the public records.

3.5 All FOIA Requests shall be coordinated by the FOIA Coordinator.
3.6 The Department shall provide reasonable access for reviewing public records during regular business

hours. Th e De partment shall make the r equested pu blic reco rds availa ble unless th e re cords or
portions of the records are determined to be excluded from the definition of a “public record” pursuant
to 29 Del.C. §10002(g).

4.0 Fees
4.1 Administrative Fees

4.1.1 Charges for administrative fees include:
4.1.1.1Staff time associated with processing FOIA Requests will include:

4.1.1.1.1 Locating and reviewing files:
4.1.1.1.2 Monitoring file reviews;
4.1.1.1.3 Generating computer records (electronic or print-outs);
4.1.1.1.4 Review of request by legal counsel
4.1.1.1.5 Other work items as necessary per request.

4.1.2 Calculation of Administrative Charges:
4.1.2.1 Administrative charges will be billed to the requestor per quarter hour.  These charges will be

billed a t the  cu rrent, ho urly p ay gr ade r ate, plus b enefits ( pro-rated fo r q uarter hours
increments) of the pers onnel performing the s ervice.  Administrative c harges w ill be in
addition to any copying charges.

4.1.2.1 Appointment Re scheduling/Cancellation –  Re questors w ho d o n ot re schedule or  ca ncel
appointments to view files at lea st one full business day in a dvance of the appointment
may be subject to the administrative charges incurred by the Department in preparing the
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requested records.  The Department shall prepare an itemized invoice of these charges
and mail to the requestor for payment.

4.2 Photocopying Fee s –  The follo wing ar e cha rges for ph otocopies of public r ecords mad e by
Department personnel:

4.2.1 Standard Sized, Black and White Copies.
4.2.1.1 The first 20 pages of standard sized, black and white copied material shall be provided free of

charge.  The charge for copying standard sized, black and white public records for copies
over and above 20 shall be $0.25 per copied sheet.  This charge applies to copies on the
following standard paper sizes:

4.2.1.1.1 8.5” x 11”
4.2.1.1.2 8.5” x 14” and
4.2.1.1.3 11” x 17”

4.2.2 Oversized Copies/Printouts.
4.2.2.1 The charge for copying oversized public records shall be as follows:

4.2.2.1.1 18” x 22” $2.00 each
4.2.2.1.2 24” x 36” $3.00 each

4.2.3 Color Copies/Printouts
4.2.3.1 The charge for standard sized, color copies or color printouts shall be $1.00 per sheet.  This

charge applies to copies on the following standard paper sizes:
4.2.3.1.1 8.5” x 11”
4.2.3.1.2 8.5” x 14 and
4.2.3.1.3 11” x 17”

4.2.4 Microfilm and /or Microfiche Printouts.
4.2.4.1 Microfilm a nd/or micr ofiche p rintouts, made by De partment per sonnel o n st andard size d

paper, will be calculated at $0.50 per printed page.
4.3 Electronically Generated Records.

4.3.1 Charges for copying records maintained in an electronic format will be ca lculated by the material
costs involved in generating the co pies (including, but not limited to: magnetic tape, diskette, or
compact disc costs) and administrative costs.

4.3.2 In th e ev ent t hat r equests f or records maintained in an ele ctronic for mat ca n be  electro nically
mailed to the requestor, only the administrative charges in preparing the electronic records will be
charged.

4.4 Payment
4.4.1 Payment for copies and/or admini strative charges will be due at the time c opies are released to

the requestor.
4.4.2 The Department may require pre- payment of copying and administrative charges prior to mailing

copies of requested records.

5.0  Effective Date of this Regulation.
This Regulation will become ef fective 10 days after being published as a final regulation.  Any and all
FOIA Requests currently in process at the time of adoption will be subject to this Regulation.
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

7 DE Admin. Code 1138

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

PUBLIC NOTICE

SAN # 2010-17

1. Title of the Regulations:
Amendment to Regulation 1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

2. Brief Synopsis of The Subject, Substance and Issues:
Under Section 112(k) of the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments, Congress mandated that the EPA identify 30 or

more hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) that posed the greatest threat to public health in urban areas, to identify the
small area sources that emit those HAPs, and to develop regulations to reduce the emissions of those HAPs. In
1999, the EPA identified 33 HAPs that posed the greatest threat to public health and has, since that time, identified
over 60 new area source categories for which regulations are being developed.

On December 2, 2009, the EPA promulgated another of these ar ea source category standards that will affect
existing and fu ture Delaware sources, th e ar ea so urce standard for  asp halt p rocessing a nd asphalt r oofing
products manufacturing operations under 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart AAAAAAA.

Delaware is proposing to amend Regulation 1138 by adding a new Section 16 that covers asphalt processing
and asphalt roofing products manufacturing operations. The purpose of th is proposed amendment is to pr ovide
increased protection for Delaware citizens against a variety of potential adverse health effects linked to a long term
exposure to polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, PAHs. Lung cancer is the primary concern. Seven of the PAHs have
been classified as Group B2, probable human carcinogens by EPA. The proposed amendment will provide greater
consistency between Delaware’s air toxics standards for these types of operations and the recently promulgated
federal standard (40 CFR Part 63 Subpart AAAAAAA) on which this propos ed amendment is heavily based. In
addition, this amendment proposes to include a more health protective requirement that currently exists in similar
area source air toxics standards found in Regulation 1138 and other Delaware air regulations.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT: 
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The Proposal:
None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Statements a nd te stimony ma y be presented eithe r o rally or in wr iting a t a  pu blic he aring to be  he ld on

Wednesday, September 22, 2010 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC’s Grantham Lane Conference Room, 715
Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE. In terested parties may submit comments in w riting to: J im Snead, DNR EC
Division of Air Quality, 715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720.

7. Prepared By:
James R. Snead        (302) 323-4542        james.snead@state.de.us        August 3, 2010
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1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

*Please Note: Due to th e size  of the proposed regulation, it  is not  being published here. A cop y of th e
regulation is available at:

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL AFFAIRS

Statutory Authority: 30 Delaware Code, Section 1815(b) (30 Del.C. §1815(b))

100 Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program

PUBLIC NOTICE

Title:
Amendments to the Regulations Governing the Historic Preservation Tax Credit

Brief Synopsis:
The Histor ic Pre servation Tax Cred it Act (3 0 Del.C. Ch. 1 8, Su bch. II ) was first en acted by th e Gen eral

Assembly in 2001 and was amended in 2002, 2003, 2004, and 2005.  Program regulations were adopted on July
11, 2002 (6 DE Reg. 108 published 07/01/02), and were amended on July 11, 2004 (8 DE Reg. 194 published on
07/01/04) and on January11, 2005 (8 DE Reg. 1031 published 01/01/05).  The 2010 amendments to the legislation
provide for a ten-year extension to the Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act, sets aside a portion of the annual cap
for projects which will receive a credit award under $300,000 and provides for the Delaware Department of State to
report a nnually to the Governor a nd th e Le gislature. Th e pu rpose o f the  followin g pr oposed regulatory
amendments is to  implement the code  changes of 2010 and to c larify various sect ions of th e re gulations. The
proposed amendments address the changes to the way in which credits are awarded under this program in section
7.6, and address the new reporting requirements in §10.0.  As to the clarification of the regulations, the proposed
amendments modify 31 sections of the regulations (1.0, 3.0, 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4, 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, 5.4, 5.5, 5.6, 5.7, 5.8,
5.9, 5.10, 5.11, 6.1, 6.2, 6.3, 6.4, 6.5, 6.6, 7.0, 7.1, 7.2, 8.2, 8.3, 9.1, 9.3, 9.4), and create nine new sections of the
regulations (4.5, 5.4, 5.9, and 7.1- 7.6). The Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act is designed to promote community
revitalization and redev elopment through the rehabilit ation of his toric property by providing t ax c redits for
expenditures made to rehabilitate any certified historic property. 

Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
30 Del.C. Ch.18, Subch. II, §1815(b)

Other Regulations that may be Effected by the Proposal:
The State Bank Commissioner and the Division of Revenue may adopt regulations or issue guidelines for tax

elements of the Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act.

Notice of Public Comment:
PLEASE T AKE NOTICE , p ursuant to  29  Del.C ., Ch. 101, the Division of His torical and Cultural Af fairs

proposes to ame nd rules and regulations pursuant to  its authority under 30 Del.C. §1815(b).  The Division will
receive an d consid er a ll written comments on the proposed rules and regulations re lated to imp lementation of
amendments to the Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act.  Submit comments to the Div ision in care of Timothy A.
Slavin, Director, Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, 21 The Green, Dover, DE 19901. The final date to submit
comments is September 30, 2010. Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed amendments to the rules and
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regulations should notify Timothy A. Slavin at the above address or call 302-736-7400. This notice will be published
in two newspapers of general circulation.

Prepared by:
Timothy A. Slavin, Director
302-736-7400
September 15, 2010

100 Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program

1.0 Scope
With permission of the property owner, a A person or business entity that owns and who rehabilitates a
certified historic property may receive apply for a credit against personal Delaware State income tax or
bank franchise tax liabilities according to procedures and criteria established in these regulations and
those th at may be  promulgated by the Division  of Re venue or  th e State Ban k Commissioner. Any
person eligible for t ax cre dits u nder this Chapter, e xcept a p erson e ngaged in  a resident cur ator
relationship, may transfer, sell or assign any or all unused credits. 

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)
8 DE Reg. 1031 (1/1/05)

2.0 Statutory Authority
These regulations are created pursuant to 30 Del.C. Ch. 18, Subch. II, which authorizes the Division of
Historical and Cultural Af fairs to  promulgate regulations fo r implementation of  the provisions o f th is
subchapter ( except t ax-related pr ocedures) including, bu t no t limited to , setting of fee s and
development of st andards for the re habilitation of eligible historic properties . The s ubchapter further
authorizes the Divis ion of Histori cal and  Cultur al Af fairs to pr omulgate the a pplication a nd for ms
governing participation in the certification program.

3.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Act” shall means the 30 Del.C. Ch. 18, Subch. II.
“Application” shall means the Delaware Historic Preservation Tax Credit application that shall consist
of four parts, as follows : the Reques t for Certification of Histo ric Property (Part 1) ; the  Request for
Certification of Rehabilitation (Part 2); the Request for Certification Certificate of Completion (Part 3),
and the Request for Credit Award.
“Certified historic property” or “qualified property” shall means a property located within the State
of Delaware that is: 

• individually listed in the National Register of Historic Places; or 
• located in a historic district listed in the National Register of Historic Places and certified by 

the United States Secretary of the Interior as contributing to the historic significance of that 
district; or 

• individually designated as a historic property by local ordinance and certified by the Dela-
ware State Historic Preservation Office as meeting the criteria for inclusion in the National 
Register of Historic Places; or 

• located in a historic district set apart or registered by a local government, which historic dis-
trict is certified by the Delaware State Historic Preservation Office contributing as meeting 
the criteria for inclusion in the National Register and which property contributes to the his-
toric significance of such area, and certified by the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Office as meeting the criteria for inclusion in the National Register historic district. 
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"Certification of Completion", or "Certificate of Completion " shall means the certificate issued by
the Dela ware S tate Histo ric Pr eservation Officer attesting that the  certified rehabilit ation, or , if
applicable, phase thereof, has been completed, and that the documentation of qualified expenditures
and project plans tha t would be  required in  order to qualify for tax credits under Section 47  of th e
Internal Revenue Code (26 USC 47) (whether or not such project would be eligible for such federal tax
credit) has been obtained. 
“Certified rehabilitation” shall means rehabilitation of a certified historic property, or portion thereof,
that ha s b een ce rtified b y t he De laware State Historic Pr eservation Of ficer as a subst antial
rehabilitation, and is  in conformance with the Secret ary of the Interior’s Standards for R ehabilitation
(36 CRF, part 67) or such other standards as the Delaware State Historic Preservation Office shall from
time to time adopt.
“Credit award” shall means the amount of qualified expenditures as determined by the State Office as
part of the Part 2 approval multiplied by the appropriate percentage as determined in 30 Del.C. §1813.
“Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer” shall means the person designated and appointed in
accordance with National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, as amended (16 USC §470a(b)(1)(a A)).
The Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer is an appointed position held by the Director, Division
of Historical and Cultural Affairs.
“Federal tax credit” shall means the Federal Rehabilitation Tax Credit as defined in the United States
Tax Code, Title 26, Subtitle A, Chapter 1, Subchapter A, Part IV, Subpart E, Section 47 (26 USC 47).
“Fiscal Year” shall means the State of Delaware’s fiscal year.
“National Register of Historic Places” or “National Register” shall means the Nationa l Register of
districts, sites, buildings,  structures, and objects significant in American  his tory, ar chitecture,
archaeology, engineering, and culture that the United States Secretary of the Interior is authorized to
expand and maintain pursuant to Section 101(a)(1) of the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966,
as amended (16 USC §470(a)(1)(A)).
"Office" or "State Office" shall means the Delaware State Historic Preservation Office, which is a part
of the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs.
"Owner-occupied h istoric pr operty" s hall mea ns an y ce rtified hist oric pr operty, or an y po rtion
thereof, which is owned by a taxpayer and is being used, or within a reasonable period will be used, by
such t axpayer a n ap plicant as the  ap plicant’s t axpayer's pr incipal r esidence. Such p roperty may
consist of p art of a multiple dwelling or multiple purpose building or series of bu ildings, including a
cooperative o r condominium. If only a  portion of a  building is used as  the principal res idence, only
those q ualified e xpenditures th at ar e properly a llocable to such po rtion sh all be eligible under this
subchapter to apply for tax credits calculated at the percentage available to owner-occupants. 
"Person" or “applicant” shall means a ny ind ividual; any for m of com pany or  cor poration which is
lawful within the State of Delaware (including limited liability companies and S corporations) whether or
not for profit; any form of partnership which is lawful within the State of De laware ( including limited
liability partnerships) whether or not for profit; any trust or estate; and any lawful joint venture. "Person"
or “applicant” shall also mean any governmental entity; or any pass-through entity or person under a
lease contract for five years or longer. 
“Phased re habilitation” shall  me ans any  certifi ed rehabilit ation of  a c ertified historic property
reasonably e xpected to be com pleted in two o r mo re distinct st ages of de velopment a s mor e fully
described in Treasury Regulation 1-48-12(b)(v) or any successor provision.
"Property" shall means real estate and shall include any building or structure, including multiple-unit
structures.
“Qualified e xpenditure” s hall mea ns an y amount p roperly expe nded by a person for the  cer tified
rehabilitation of a certified historic property, but shall not include: 

• acquisition of real property or acquiring an interest in real property, or any costs associated 
with the acquisition of the property; 

• any addition to an existing structure except where the combined square footage of all addi-
tions is 20% or less than the total square footage of the historic portion of the property and 
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each such addition is approved by the Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer, pursu-
ant to federal guidelines, as: 
• preserving the character-defining features of the certified historic property, 
• adequately differentiating the new construction from the existing structure, and 
• complying with requirements regarding safety and accessibility in a manner reasonably 

designed to minimize any adverse impact on the certified historic property; 
• sitework, paving or landscaping costs which exceed in excess of 10% of the total qualified 

expenditures; 
• sales and marketing costs; or
• an expenditures not properly charged to a capital account, including, in the case of owner-

occupied property, an expenditures that would not properly be charged to a capital account 
where the owner person using such property is in a trade or business. 

“Reasonable per iod” sh all m eans that an owner must occupy the rehabilit ated property  as their
principal residence within six months of the issuance of the Certificate of Completion. The State Office,
in its sole discretion, may offer one extension, not to exceed three months, for cause.
“Resident Cu rator” shall  me ans a per son who ha s en tered into a contractual ag reement with the
owner of a qualified certified  pr operty in which  the pe rson agrees to p ay for full  restoration o f the
owner’s q ualifying property in ex change for  a life te nancy in the  pr operty without remunerative
compensation to the owner for the life tenancy.
“Substantial re habilitation” o r “ full re storation” shall  mea ns rehabilit ation of a certified historic
property for which the qualified expenditures, during the 24-month period, or the 60-month period for a
phased rehabilitation, selected by the taxpayer and ending with or within the taxable year applicant
exceeds: 

• for income-producing property, and non-income producing property other than owner-occu-
pied historic property, the current standard required by Section 47(c)(1)(C) of the Internal 
Revenue Code (26 USC 47(c)(1)(C)); and 

• for owner-occupied historic property, non-income producing property, or property under con-
tract with a resident curator, $5,000.

“Taxpayer” shall  m eans a ny pe rson, as defin ed in  th is se ction, and  shall in clude any in dividual or
corporation taxable under Title 5, or taxable under either 30 Del.C. Ch. 11, or 30 Del.C. Ch. 19. 

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)
8 DE Reg. 194 (7/1/04)
8 DE Reg. 1031 (1/1/05)

4.0 Procedures for Certification of Historic Property
4.1 A t axpayer With  pe rmission on the  pr operty owne r, an  ap plicant m ay re quest submit a Part 1

application to the S tate Of fice req uesting th at the S tate Histor ic Pr eservation Of ficer c ertify that  a
property in a National Register listed or locally designated historic district be certified by the Delaware
State Historic Preservation Officer as is a certified historic property by filing the Part 1 application with
the S tate Office as de fined in Section 3.0 of this re gulation. The ap plicant sh all file tThe Par t 1
application shall be filed on standard forms available from developed by the State Office. 

4.2 The State Of fice sh all no t p rocess an incomplete Pa rt 1 application w ill not be processed  un til all
required application information has been is received. Where adequate documentation is not provided,
the S tate Office will  shall  notify t he t axpayer ap plicant of the  ad ditional information ne eded to
undertake or complete the review.

4.3 The De laware State Hist oric Pr eservation O fficer shall de termine whether the property fo r which a
complete Part 1 application is received meets the definition of certified historic property and will shall
notify the taxpayer applicant of the decision.

4.4 If a property is in dividually listed in the  National Register, submission of a Pa rt 1 ap plication is n ot
required. The na me of  the his toric pr operty and its date of listin g in the Na tional Register  must be
provided in the Part 2 application.
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4.5 The Dela ware State Historic Pr eservation Officer ma y certify a s histo ric a ny pr operty for  wh ich a n
applicant has ob tained a  Pa rt 1 cer tification fro m th e fed eral go vernment p ursuant to 36  CFR 6 7.
Under this provision, an applicant shall file only the cover page of the Delaware Part 1 application.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)
8 DE Reg. 1031 (1/1/05)

5.0 Procedures for Certification of Rehabilitation
5.1 An applicant taxpayer may request a determination by the Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer

that sub mit a  Part 2 app lication to the S tate Of fice re questing th at th e Delawar e S tate Histo ric
Preservation Officer determine if  a proposed rehabilit ation plan meets the criteria for certification by
filing a Part 2 applic ation with the State Office as a certified rehabilitation as defined in Section 3.0 of
this regulation. The applicant shall file tThe Part 2 application shall be filed on standard forms available
from developed by the State Office. 

5.2 An applicant taxpayer must shall  submit Part 1 of th e application prior to, or  with, Part 2. The  State
Office shall not process the Part 2 application will not be processed until an ad equately documented
and approved Part 1 application, where required as outlined in Section 4.0 4.4 of these regulations, is
on file.

5.3 The State O ffice s hall n ot pr ocess an incomplete Part 2 app lication w ill not be processed  un til all
required application information is has been received. Where adequate documentation is not provided,
the S tate Office will  shall  notify t he t axpayer ap plicant of the  ad ditional information ne eded to
undertake or complete review.

5.4 Applicants may submit subsequent Part 2 applications for the same property as long as the following
criteria are met:

• For certified properties held for income (depreciable properties, as often as the project work 
qualifies for income tax credits under Section 47(c)(1)(C) of the Internal Revenue Code (26 
USC 47(c)(1)(C))

• For all other certified properties, no sooner than 24 months from the date of the prior Part 2 
approval as long as other program requirements have been met.

5.4 5.5 An applicant taxpayer requesting approval of a phased rehabilitation plan shall provide the State Office
with a description of the phases and their completion dates when submitting the Part 2 application. The
Delaware S tate Historic Preservation Of ficer shall  w ill no tify the app licant t axpayer i f the p hased
rehabilitation plan is approved. The final completion date for a phased rehabilitation is binding unless
the ap plicant t axpayer reques ts a c hange in writing. For a phased rehabilit ation, the applicant is
allowed up to taxpayer has 60 months to meet the substantial rehabilitation test.

5.56 The Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer shall determine whether the proposed rehabilitation
for which a complete application is received under Section 5.1 of this regulation meets the definition of
a certified rehabilitation and shall send the taxpayer applicant notice of the de termination. The State
Office may require modifications to the plan in order to meet the definition of a certified rehabilitation.

5.6 A Request for Credit Award application must be submitted with the Part 2 application. A taxpayer must
also provide cost estimates of qualified expenditures prepared by a licensed architect, engineer, or
contractor or a certified construction cost estimator. 

5.7 The amount of t ax credit applied against the qualified expenditures in accor dance with 30 Del.C. §1813
shall r epresent the credit awa rd.   The cost esti mate supp lied by th e t axpayer in acco rdance with
Section 5.6 will used to determine the credit award for approved Part 2 applications.   

5.8 Credits will be awarded in chronological order based upon the date and time on which each application
receives Part 2 approval from the State Office. The State Historic Preservation Officer shall notify the
taxpayer of the amount of the credit award.

5.97 In the alternative, Tthe Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer may issue a Part 2 approval to any
applicant taxpayer who has obtained a Part 2 certification from the federal government pursuant to 36
CFR 67. Under this provision, an applicant taxpayer shall must file only the cover page of the State of
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Delaware Part 2 application cover form as well as the information required under Section 5.6 of these
regulations.

5.108 All Applicants taxpayers must begin construction on the appr oved certified rehabilitation plan within
one year of receiving the Part 2 approval. If construction on the rehabilitation plan is not subs tantially
commenced and diligently pursued within this time period, the applicant  taxpayer will shall forfeit any
assigned credit award. the awarded cred its and the  Any  forfeited tax credits may awarded to such
taxpayer will become available for award to other applicants taxpayers. Substantially commenced and
diligently pur sued shall m eans that th e a pplicant can  d emonstrate that at  a min imum, 25% of the
estimated rehabilitation costs was must have been expended within the first year after the tax credits
are a ssigned. The State Office r eserves the  right to obtain d ocumentation from the  applicant
supporting the expenditure. 

5.119 The p roject may b e inspected by the  Dela ware S tate Historic Preservation Officer, or his/her
designated representative, may inspect the pr operty to determine if the work  is consistent with the
approved certified rehab ilitation plan, and if the project has substantially c ommenced and is being
diligently pursued.

5.10 The applicant may request that the State Office review changes to  the project plan after the Part 2
application is approved. The Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer shall determine whether the
proposed change meets the definition of a certified rehabilitation and shall send the applicant notice of
the determination.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)
8 DE Reg. 1031 (1/1/05)

6.0 Procedures for Certification of Completion
6.1 Upon completion of a certified the rehabilitation work outlined in the Part 2 application, or an approved

project phase thereof, the taxpayer applicant must submit to the State Office a Part 3 applic ation with
required documentation supporting a ny con ditions in th e Pa rt 2  ap plication a pproval, the  for m(s)
required in the Division of Revenue’s regulations indicating the name of the taxpayer who will claim the
tax credit, and a final accounting of qualified expenditures, to the Delaware State Historic Preservation
Office. 

6.2 The State Office shall not process aAn incomplete Part  3 applic ation will not be processed un til all
required application information is has been received. Where adequate documentation is not provided,
the S tate Office will  shall  notify t he t axpayer ap plicant of the  ad ditional information ne eded to
undertake or com plete the re view. Th e S tate Of fice ma y in spect the  co mpleted pr oject ma y be
inspected by the Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer, or his/her designated representative, to
determine if the work meets the definition of a certified rehabilitation.

6.3 Upon approval by the S tate Office that the completed rehabilitation, or an approved ph ase thereof,
meets the definition of a certified rehabilit ation, the State Of fice s hall s ubmit the documentation of
qualified expenditures to the Division of Revenue and request a determination of the value of the tax
credit fo r the  completed pr oject or a n ap proved p hase the reof, me ets th e de finition of a cer tified
rehabilitation, the Delaware  State Historic Preservation Officer shall issue a Certificate of Completion
for the project, or phase thereo f. For approv ed phased  rehabilit ations, each phase must receive a
Certificate of Completion in order for the overall project to be considered a certified rehabilitation.

6.4 Upon receipt from the Division of Revenu e of the certification of the valu e of the t ax credit for  the
project, or an approved phase thereof, the Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer shall issue a
Certificate of C ompletion to the taxpayer. Fo r approved phased rehabilit ations, each phase must
receive a C ertificate of Completion indicating that each phase is  a ce rtified rehabilitation in order for
the overall project to be considered to be a certi fied rehabilitation. After a project, or phase thereof,
receives its Certificate of Completion, the State Office shall submit the documentation outlined in 6.3 of
these regulations to the Division of Revenue, and request a determination of the value of the tax credit
for the completed p roject or an approved phase. For all p rojects in which the tax credits a re to be
applied against franchise taxes, and at other times as requested by the Division of Revenue, the forms
and documentation will also be submitted to the State Bank Commissioner’s Office.
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6.5 The Division of Revenue will return the forms certifying the value of the tax credit for the project, or an
approved phase thereof, to the State Officer which shall ransmit the Certi ficate of Completion and the
Revenue form(s) to the taxpayer who will claim the tax credits. 

6.56 In the c ase of approved pha sed projects, a single rehabilitation project may receive  more than one
Certificate of Completion. may be awarded to a single rehabilitation project. Credits issued to the initial
assignee, or in the case of a tax-exempt assignee, to the first taxable transferee after the associated
phase completion, shall b e ar e su bject to r evocation an d r epayment to  th e Dela ware Division  of
Revenue or the Office of the State Bank Commissioner if, under regulations issued by the State Office,
a phased rehabilit ation is not completed by the agr eed upon comple tion date indicating that the
applicant for the credit award is unable or unwilling to complete it; or in the event that the project does
not meet the certification requirements previously agreed to with the State Office. 

6.6 In no event shall the credit claimed by a taxpayer exceed the approved Part 2 credit award.
6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

7.0 Procedures for Requesting a Credit Award
7.1 An applicant shall request a credit award by filing a Request for Credit Award application with the State

Office. The Request for Credit Award application may be submitted at the same time or subsequent to
the submission of the Part 2 application, but no latter than simultaneously with the Part 3 application.

7.2 The applicant shall support the amount of qualified expenditures indicated on the Request for Credit
Award by sub mitting a cost estim ate prepared by a licen sed architect or engineer; an accountant; a
contractor or a certifie d c onstruction c ost es timator. Where the rehabilit ation work  is complete,
documentation of cost s may be  pr epared b y a  lice nsed ar chitect o r e ngineer; an a ccountant; a
contractor or  a  cer tified con struction cost estimator; or ma y be do cumented by p aid in voices or
cancelled checks for contractual work; and store invoices for material purchases. The State Office may
prescribe the  fo rmat in which the  docum entation o f q ualified expe nditures is subm itted. T he cost
estimate is verified by and may be adjusted by the State Office if documentation is inadequate or costs
are disallowed.

7.3 The S tate Of fice will not process an incomplete Re quest for Credit  A ward application until all
documentation as r equired in Section 7 .3 o f the r egulations is received. Wh ere adequate
documentation is not pr ovided, the State Office shall notify the applicant of the additional information
needed to undertake or complete the review.

7.4 The credit award is calculated as a percentage of the qualified expenditures and will be rounded down
to the nearest whole dollar. The criteria for applying the percentages to establish the credit award are:

• For depreciable (income-producing) certified properties, 20% of qualified expenditures;
• For depreciable certified properties where the whole or a part, receives low income housing 

credits, 30% to be applied to that portion of the square footage;
• For all other certified properties, 30% except where an owner would meet HUD established 

low income criteria, then 40%.
7.5 The State Historic Preservation Officer shall notify the applicant of the amount of the credit award. The

Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer will consider increasing the credit award where there has
been an increase in qualified costs of greater than 5% of the total.

7.6 Each fiscal year, $2 million of the $5 million assigned to make credit awards under these regulations is
reserved for projects receiving a credit award of not more than $300,000. After April 1, any unassigned
portion of the $2 million is released to be available for credit awards to any eligible project.

7.0 8.0 Fees for Processing Rehabilitation Certification Request
78.1 The fee for review of rehabilit ation work  for project s where th e qualified ex penditures are over

$100,000 is $ 250 for each separate application. The fee from a single taxpayer for multiple projects
submitted at the same time shall not exceed $2,500. Final action will not be taken on any application
until the appropriate remittance is received. No fee will be charged for rehabilitation projects where the
qualified expenditures are under less than $100,000.
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78.2 The applicant shall submit the fee, where applicable, must be submitted with the Part 3 application. For
phased projects, the applicant shall submit the fee must be submitted with the first Part 3 submitted. All
checks shall be made payable to the State of Delaware.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)
8 DE Reg. 1031 (1/1/05)

8.0 9.0 Requirements for Resident Curator Program Properties
89.1 Curatorship property is subject to periodic inspection by the State Office during the tax years in which

the credit is applicable.
89.2 Improvements to cu ratorship property mu st shall  be  co mpleted wi thin fiv e y ears fr om t he date of

execution of the contract between the owner and the resident curator.
89.3 Curatorship property may shall not be used for commercial purposes.

8 DE Reg. 194 (7/1/04)

9.0 10.0Administrative Review
910.1 A taxpayer whose application has be en is  disapproved by the Delaware State Historic Preservation

Officer under these regulations may file a written request for review with the Secretary of State or the
Secretary’s designee within 60 days after the notice of disapproval is sent.

910.2 The Secretary of State or the Secretary’s designee shall review the request within 60 days after receipt
of the r equest. If the Secretary of S tate or the Se cretary’s designee determines that the a pplication
filed meets the standards set forth in these regulations the application shall be considered approved. If
the Secretary of State or Secretary’s designee determines that the application filed does not meet the
standards set forth in these regulations, the application shall be disapproved. The Secretary of State or
Secretary’s designee shall promptly notify the taxpayer of the Secretary’s determination.

910.3 A t axpayer wh ose ap plication has be en is  disap proved b y the  Secretary of S tate may ap peal th at
action in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10101 et. seq.

910.4 An appellant who has exhausted exhausts al l administrative remedies shall be  is  entitled to judic ial
review in accordance with 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, Subch. V of the Administrative Procedures Act.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

11.0 Reporting Requirements
11.1 Annually, on or b efore January 31st, the Delaware State Histor ic Preservation Officer shall issue an

annual report on the restoration and rehabilitation status of all t ax credit projects approved in the
previous calendar year.

11.2 The annual report shall include a list of all tax credit projects issued in previous years for which the tax
credits have not been claimed.

11.3 The annual report will be distributed to the Governor and the General Assembly.
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
GAMING CONTROL BOARD

Statutory Authority: 28 Delaware Code, Section 1122 (28 Del.C. §1122)
10 DE Admin. Code 101

101 Regulations Governing Bingo

PUBLIC NOTICE

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulations

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Delaware Gaming Board will seek public comments on the issue of whether its current Rule 1.0 in 10 DE

Admin. Code 101 should be amended. The rule relates to the definition of “cookie jar bingo” and to the manner of
playing cookie jar bingo games. The Board proposes to change the definition of  “Cookie Jar Bingo” as it appears
therein, to make it clear that the fee to enter to play a cookie jar bingo game must be separately collected and may
not be included in any other fees. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before October 1 to : Delaware Gaming Control Board, 861 Silver  Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 20 3,
Dover, DE 19904. A copy of these regulations is available from the above address or may be viewed at the Division
of Professional Regulation business office at the same address.

C. Summary of Proposal
Currently, the definition of “cookie jar bingo” involves a chance for a player to pay a fee into a jar or container to

obtain a chance to win the funds contained therein. The Board wishes to clarify and make it clear that this fee must
be a separately collected fee.

101 Regulations Governing Bingo

1.0 Definitions
“Bingo” A game of chance played for prizes with cards bearing numbers or other designations, five or
more in one  line, the h older cover ing numbers as ob jects similarly nu mbered ar e dr awn from  a
receptacle an d the  gam e be ing won  by the p erson who fir st cover s a  pr eviously de signated
arrangement of numbers on such a-card.
“Bingo Statute” The statutory law concerning bingo, as contained in 28 Del.C., §1101 et. seq.
“Board” The Delaware Gaming Control Board.
“Color Coded” A different color for each of the five letters of the word "BINGO."
“Cookie J ar Bingo” A ga me of chan ce in wh ich player s pay a set fe e into a cookie  jar or  other
container and receive a number which entitles the player to a chance to win the  total funds in the
cookie jar or container. At the start of the event, a bingo number shall be drawn which shall serve as
the “cookie jar number.” That number shall be posted for all players to see. During the games played
on that occasion, if a player achieves bingo when the cookie jar number is drawn, the player shall win
the funds in the cookie jar or container. If no one achieves bingo when the cookie jar number is drawn,
the funds in the jar  shall not be awarded. An organization may not otherwise offer a cookie jar game
and may not designate the last game of the night or any other particular game as a cookie jar game at
which the funds will be awarded w ithout a person achievi ng bingo when the c ookie jar number is
drawn. The fee to play a cookie jar bingo game must be collected separately and such fee may not be
included in the fee to play regular bingo games or in any other fee.
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Any a mounts in  an y co okie ja r bingo g ames shall n ot be  in cluded in any p rize money limit ations
contained in these rules. An organization may not have more than two cookie jar bingo pots at any one
time. The first jar must be awarded before a third jar can be started. If two cookie jar pots each contain
the maximum amount of mo ney allowed by law , the first jar  must be  awarded at the same event at
which the second jar reaches the allowable maximum. If the first jar has not been awarded by the final
game of the night, a special final bingo game of “full card” or “black out” bingo using a separate, single
card, shall be played and the jar will be won by the first person who covers all spaces on their entire
card.
If at the beginning of an event when players pay their fee, one jar contains the maximum (up to $1,000)
and the second jar would go over the maximum if the fees are added, the fees shall be held and not
placed in the second jar at that time. When the first jar  is then won, the second jar shall be filled to a
total of the maximum and the remaining fee moneys shall be placed in a new jar.
“Districts” Those districts mentioned in Article II, 917A of the Delaware Constitution.
“Equipment” The receptacle and color coded numbered objects to be drawn from it, the master board
upon which su ch objects ar e pla ced as dr awn, the car ds or  sheets bea ring nu mbers or  other
designations to be  co vered an d the o bjects used  to  co ver the m, th e bo ards or  sig ns, h owever
operated, used to announce or display the numbers or designations as they are drawn, public address
systems, tables, chairs, and other articles essential to the operation, conduct and playing of bingo.
“Game” The game of bingo.
“Instant Bingo” A game of chance played with se aled or covered cards which must be op ened in
some fashion by the holder such that the cards reveal instantly whether the holder has won a prize.
This type of game includes but is not limited to games commonly known as “rip-offs” or “Nevada pull-
tabs.”
“Member in Charge” A bona fide, active member of the "Qualified Organization" in charge of, and
primarily responsible for the conduct of the game on each occasion.
“Occasion” A sin gle ga thering or  session at which a series of successive  b ingo g ames (regular,
special, or otherwise) is played, not to exceed forty (40) in number.
“Proceeds” The gross income received from all activities eng aged in or  on occasion  when bingo is
played, less only, such a ctual expenses incurred as ar e authorized in the Bingo Statute and these
Rules and Regulations.
“Qualified Orga nization” A vol unteer fire comp any, veterans  organization, r eligious o r charitable
organization, or fraternal society that is operated in a  manner so as to come within the provisions of
Section 170 of the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury.
“Week” means a seven day period beginning on Sunday and ending on Saturday.

2 DE Reg. 1224 (01/01/99)
12 DE Reg. 357 (09/01/08)
13 DE Reg. 412 (09/01/09)
13 DE Reg. 1355 (04/01/10)

2.0 Applications For Bingo License
2.1 Original applications shall be filed upon:

2.1.1  the first application of an organization for a license;
2.1.2 after the first application and upon a subsequent change in the organization's charter or bylaws; or
2.1.3 in th e ev ent of a subsequent application aft er a prior refusal, suspension, or  revocation by the

Board.
2.2 Supplemental applications for bingo licenses shall be filed in all instances except those covered by the

original application. All promotional give-away events, as defin ed under 28 Del.C. §1139(h)(2), must
be listed o n a n a pplicant's application fo r licen sure, giving the d ates of the  pr omotional give-away
events. If the event is not listed on the application, no promotional give-away event can be conducted.
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2.3 All original and supplemental applications shall be filed with the Secretary of the Board at least six (6)
weeks prior to the date of the occasion.

2.3.1 An application must be submitted in advance of the proposed date of the function as to allow the
Board to consider the application at two consecutive board meetings before deciding to approve or
deny the application.

2.4 No applications (original or supplemental) shall be accepted unless the applicant, at the time of the
filing, attaches a check or money order for the full amount of the fees payable by law for each occasion
requested. In the event an application is refused by the Board, the application fees shall be refunded in
full to the applicant. There shall be a license fee of $15 for each occasion on which bingo is conducted
under a license.

2.5 No app lication sh all be received by  the Commiss ion unles s it clearly show s that the applicant is
located in an d seeks to conduct the game in a di strict which has approved the licensing of bingo by
referendum, and on premises owned or regularly leased by the applicant. If the applicant desires to
conduct gam es on pr emises spe cially leased for t he o ccasion, a  separate written re quest ther efor
(together with supporting reasons) shall accompany the application. The Board reserves the right to
accept or reject any application for the conduct of games on specially leased premises. Organization
conducting a Function shall prepare and have available on the premises a list of all persons taking part
in the management or operation of the Function. Such list shall be maintained as part of the licensees,
records of the F unction and shall be made available to an y memb er or  age nt of the Bo ard or  law
enforcement officer.

2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)
8 DE Reg. 531 (10/01/04)
12 DE Reg. 357 (09/01/08)

3.0 Bingo Licenses
3.1 Upon receiving an application, the Board shall make an investigation of the merits of the application.

The Board shall consider the impact of the approval of an y license application on existing licen sees
within the applicant's geographical location prior to granting any new license. The Board may deny an
application if it concludes that approval of the application would be detrimental to existing licensees.

3.2 The Board may issue a license only after it determines that:
3.2.1 The app licant is du ly qu alified to conduct games under th e Sta te Constitution, sta tutes, an d

regulations.
3.2.2 The me mbers of th e ap plicant who  inten d to co nduct the  bing o ga mes ar e b ona fid e active

members of  the ap plicant an d are pe rsons o f go od m oral ch aracter a nd have never be en
convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude.

3.2.3 The bingo games are to be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the State Constitution,
statutes, and regulations.

3.2.4 The proceeds are to be disposed of as provided in the State Constitution and statutes.
3.2.5 No salary, compensation or reward whatever will be paid or given to any member under whom the

game is co nducted. If th e fin dings and d eterminations of  the Boa rd are to th e ef fect that the
application is approved, the Secretary shall execute a license for the applicant.

3.3 The license shall be issued. The original thereof shall be transmitted to the applicant.
3.4 If the findings and determinations of the Commission are to the effect that the application is denied, the

Secretary shall so notify the applicant by certified mail of the reasons for denial, and shall refund any
application fees submitted.

3.5 In the event of a request for an amendment of a license, the request shall be promptly submitted to the
Commission in wr iting, and shall contain the name of the  l icensee, license number, and a co ncise
statement of the reasons for requested amendment. The Commission may grant or deny the request,
in its discretion, and may require supporting proof from the licensee before making any determination.
The Commission may require the payment of an additional license fee before granting the request.
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The licensee shall be no tified of the Commission's action by appropriate communication, so that the
licensee will not be unduly inconvenienced.

3.6 No license shall be effective for a period of more than one year from the date it was issued.
3.7 No license shall be effective after the or ganization to which it was granted has become ineligible to

conduct bingo under any provision of Article II, §17A of the Delaware Constitution.
3.8 No lice nse s hall be  e ffective after th e v oters in any Dis trict d esignated in  Art icle II,  §1 7A of  th e

Constitution have decided against bingo in a referendum held pursuant to that section and subchapter
II of the Bingo Statute.

3.9 No bingo licensee licensed prior to July 14, 1998, shall conduct more than ten (10) bingo events in any
calendar month and no bingo licensee licensed af ter the enactment of 71  Del. Laws 444 (July 14,
1998) shall conduct more than one (1) bingo event per week. A bingo licensee who was licensed prior
to July,14, 1998 whose license lapses for six (6) months or more due to non-renewal or suspension or
any othe r r eason sha ll, upon lice nsing thereafter, be  conside red a  licensee  licen sed a fter the
enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998).

3.10 The license application shall contain a full and fair description of the prize and the appraised value of
the prize. In lieu of submitting an appraisal, the applicant or licensee may submit the full retail value of
the prize. In cases where the applicant or licensee purchases the prize from a third party, the Board
may require that the ap plicant or  licensee arrange for an independent appraisal of the value of the
prize from a person licensed to render such appraisals, or if there is no person licensed to render such
appraisals, from a person qualified to render such appraisals.

3.11 When bingo is conducted in conjunction with a  carnival, festival, or similar event scheduled for more
than one day, the game may be played up to every night of the event and shall be considered a single
event for purposes of the rule allowing one event per week for those licensed after July 10, 1998 or ten
events per month for those licensed before July 10, 1998.

2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)
3 DE Reg. 1692 (6/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 334 (8/1/00)
13 DE Reg. 412 (09/01/09)
13 DE Reg.  (01/01/10)

4.0 Conduct of Bingo
4.1 The officers of a licensee shall designate a bona fide, active member to be in charge of and primarily

responsible for  the conduct of the ga me of ch ance on each occasion.  The member in char ge shall
supervise al l activities on the o ccasions for wh ich he is in ch arge and sha ll be responsible for  the
making of the required report thereof. The member in charge shall be familiar with the provisions of the
Bingo Statute, and these rules and regulations.

4.2 The room where any game is be ing he ld, operated, o r conducted, o r where it is int ended that any
game shall be held, operated, or conducted, or where it is intended that any equipment be used, shall
at all times be open to inspection by the appropriate law enforcement officers and agents of the District
in which the premises are situated, and to the Board and its agents and employees. Bingo games shall
not be commenced p rior to 1 :30 p .m. and the operation of a fun ction shall be lim ited to six ho urs.
Instant bingo is permitted during any event sponsored by the organization that is licensed to conduct it,
regardless of the day or time.

4.3 No person under the age of eighteen (18) may participate in any bingo game. No person under the age
of 18 shall be permitted to p articipate in any instant bingo game.  Persons between the ages of 16
through 18 may conduct or assist in conducting the bingo game and persons over the age of fourteen
(14) may act as waiters and waitresses in th e handling of food or dr inks at an occasion on which a
licensee conducts bingo.

4.4 No organization licensed prior to enactment of 71 Del. Law 444 (July 14, 1998), may hold, operate, or
conduct bingo more often than ten (10) days in any calendar month. No bingo licensee licensed after
the enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998) shall conduct more than one bingo event per week.
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A bingo licensee licensed prior to the enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998), whose license
lapses for six (6) months or mor e due to nonrenewal or suspension or an y other reason shall, upon
licensing thereafter, be considered a licensee licensed after the enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July
14, 1998).

4.5 The Board and its duly authorized agents and employees may examine the books and records of any
licensee, so far  as tho se bo oks and re cords relate to a ny tran saction con nected with  th e h olding,
operating, and con ducting of th e g ame of b ingo, an d may e xamine an y ma nager, officer, d irector,
agent, member, employee, o r assistant of  the licensee under oath in  re lation to  the co nduct o f the
game of bingo.

4.6 No prize in an amount or value greater than $250 shall be offered or given in any single game and the
aggregate amount or value of all prizes offered or given in all games played on a single occasion shall
not exce ed $ 1,250. All winn ers sha ll be d etermined an d all p rizes shall b e awar ded in a ny gam e
played on any occasion within the same calendar day as that u pon which th e game is played. The
value of any promotional giveaways, which shall be no more than $500 per annum to be distributed at
an organizational anniversary date and no more than three (3) holiday dates per  year, shal l not be
counted towar ds the do llar amounts de scribed in this section. Howev er, a licens ee may of fer
inducements, including but not limited to cookie-jar bingo games that do not exceed $1,000 per game
per night, free refreshments, and free transportation of players to and from bingo events, to attract
bingo players to the bingo event, provided that the fair market value of induc ements is limited to 15%
of the total amount of all other prizes offered or given during the bingo event.

4.7 Two or more organizations may not hold games of bingo at the same place on the same day. Unless a
bingo licensee has been licensed prior to the enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998), only one
licensed organization may ho ld bingo games in  a licensed organization's bu ilding during any give n
week.

4.8 No alcoholic beverages shal l be  permitted in  the  room from the time the b ingo hall opens until the
conclusion of the last bingo game of the occasion.

4.9 All games shall be conducted with equipment that is owned absolutely by the licensee or that is leased
for fees not in excess of those allowable under the Schedule of Rental for leasing of equipment on file
with the Board. Equipment shall include playing cards. If the licensee uses cards that are for more than
one session of playing bingo, these cards should be identified as the property of the licensee.

4.10 All winners shall be determined and all prizes shall be awarded in any game played on any occasion
within the same calendar day as that upon which the game is played.

4.11 When more than one player is foun d to be the winner on the call of the same number in the same
game, the designated prize shall be divided equally as possible; and when division is not p ossible,
substitute prizes, wh ose ag gregate va lue shall no t e xceed th at of th e d esignated pr ize, sh all be
awarded; but such substitute prizes shall be of equal value to each other.

4.12 The equipment used in the playing of bingo and the method of play shall be such that each card shall
have an  equal opportunity to  be a  winner. The objects drawn shall b e essentia lly equal as to size,
shape, weight, and balance, and as to all other characteristics that may control their selection, and all
shall be present in the receptacle before each game is begun. All numbers shall be announced so as
to be visible or audible to all players present.

4.13 The p articular ar rangement of nu mbers re quired to  be cover ed in or der to win th e ga me shall b e
clearly described and announced to the players immediately before each game is begun.

4.14 No arrangement of numbers shall be required to be covered in order to win the g ame other than the
following:

4.14.1 one unspecified horizontal row;
4.14.2 one unspecified vertical row;
4.14.3 one unspecified full diagonal row;
4.14.4 one unspecified row (horizontal, vertical, or diagonal);
4.14.5 Two or more of the foregoing, forming a specified arrangement;
4.14.6 The entire card;
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4.14.7 Four corners;
4.14.8 Eight spaces surrounding the free space.
4.14.9 Any other configuration or shape on the card established by an organization, provided the players

are informed of the shape needed to win before play commences.
4.15 Within the limits contained in 28 Del.C. §1132(b), alternate prizes may be offered depending upon the

number of calls within which bingo is reached, provided the application for the bingo license and the
license so specify.

4.16 Any pla yer sha ll be e ntitled to call for  a veri fication of all nu mbers dr awn at the time  a winne r is
determined, and for a ve rification of  the objects remaining in th e receptacle and not yet drawn. The
verification shall be made in the immediate presence of the member designated to be in charge on the
occasion, but if such member is also the announcer, then in the immediate presence of an officer of the
licensee.

4.17 No licensee shall conduct more than forty (40) games on a single occasion.
4.18 In the playing of bingo, no person who is not physically present in the room where the game is actually

conducted shall be allowed to participate as a player in the game.
4.19 Within the limits contained in 28 Del.C. §1132(6), the prizes offered may be varied depending upon the

number of people who attend the occasion, provided the application for bingo license and license so
specify. If a licens ee avails itself of the prov isions of this rule, it must ann ounce at the b eginning of
each game the number of people present and the prizes to be awarded.

4.20 The entire proceeds of the games of bingo must be used solely for the promotion or achievement of
the purposes of the licensee.

4.21 Any local rules adopted by the licensee that affect the conduct of the players or the awarding of prizes
shall be pro minently posted in at least four  location s with in th e ar ea wher e th e bin go ga mes are
conducted.

4.22 The licensee shall be permitted to reserve seats within the area where the bingo games are conducted
to p rovide for th e sp ecial needs of ha ndicapped persons, an d the licen see sh all en sure th at the
remaining seats are made available to the players on an equal basis.

4.23 A licensee may charge an admission fee to a game event in any room or area in which a game is to be
conducted. Th e ad mission fe e shal l entitle th e ga me pla yer ( a) to a card e nabling the player  to
participate without additional charge in all regular games to be played under the license at the event, or
(b) to free refreshments. Th e licensee m ay cha rge an additional fee to a game playe r fo r a single
opportunity to participate in a special game to be played under license at the event.

4.24 No p erson shall conduct o r assist in  co nducting a ny game except a n active m ember o f the
organization to which the license is issued.

4.25 No item of expense shall be incurred or paid in connection with the conduct of the game except shall
be incurred or paid in connection with the conduct of the game except such as are bona fide items of a
reasonable amount for merchandise furnished or services rendered which are reasonably necessary
for the conduct of the game.

 2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)
 2 DE Reg. 1761 (4/1/99)
12 DE Reg. 357 (09/01/08)
13 DE Reg. 107 (07/01/09)
13 DE Reg. 412 (09/01/09)
13 DE Reg. 1355 (04/01/10)

5.0 Reports After the Function
5.1 When no ga me is held  on a da te a licensee is authorized to hold such game, a report to th at effect

shall be filed with the Board.
5.2 Within 5 days of the last day of the function, the member-in-charge shall submit a report to the Board

that includes all information required by 28 Del.C. §1140(a).
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5.3 If a licensee fails to timely file a report or if a report is not properly verified, or not fully, accurately, and
truthfully completed, no further license shall be issued to the licensee and any existing license shall be
suspended until such time as the deficiency has been corrected.

11 DE Reg. 516 (10/01/07)
12 DE Reg. 357 (09/01/08)
13 DE Reg. 107 (07/01/09)

6.0 Suspension and Revocation of Licenses
6.1 Proceedings to suspend or to revoke a license shall be brought by notifying the licensee of the ground

thereof and the date set for th for  a  hearing thereon. The Commission may stop the  operation of a
game pending hearing, in which case the hearing must be held within five (5) days after such action.

6.2 When suspe nsion or  re vocation proceedings a re begun be fore the Co mmission, it shall hear th e
matter a nd m ake wr itten findings in  su pport of  it s decision. T he lic ensee shall be in formed o f the
decision and of the effective date of the suspension or revocation.

6.3 When a license is suspended or revoked, the licensee shall surrender up the license to the Board on or
before th at ef fective da te se t for th in th e no tice of de cision. I n no ca se shall a ny license be  valid
beyond the effective date of suspension or revocation, whether surrendered or not.

6.4 Upon finding of the violation of these rules and regulations or the Bingo Statute, such as would warrant
the suspension or revocation of a license, the Board may in addition to any other penalties which may
be imposed, declare the violator ineligible to conduct a game of bingo and to apply for a license under
said law for a period not exc eeding thirty (30) months thereaf ter. Such declaration of  the ineligibility
may be extended to in clude, in addition to the violator, any of its subsidiary organizations, its parent
organization and any other organiz ation having a common p arent organization or otherwise af filiated
with the viola tor, when in the o pinion of the Boa rd, the c ircumstances of  the violation warrant such
action.

7.0 Severability
If any p rovision of these Regulations or  the  app lication o f su ch pr ovision to  any p erson or
circumstances s hall be held invalid, the v alidity of th e rem ainder of these Regu lations an d the
applicability of such provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby.

2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Sections 1133 and 10115(a)

(29 Del.C., §§1133 & 10115(a))

ORDER NO. 7820

AND NOW, this 17th day of August, 2010.
WHEREAS, from time to time, the Delaware Public Service Commission (the “Commission”) receives requests

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF RULES |
AND REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE |
PROCEDURE FOR INSPECTION AND COPYING | PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 62
OF PUBLIC RECORDS UNDER THE FREEDOM |
OF INFORMATION ACT, 29 DEL.C. §§10001-10006 |
(OPENED AUGUST 17, 2010) |
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for documents pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. §§10001-10006 (“FOIA”); and
WHEREAS, section 10003 of FOIA  states that it is  the responsibility of public bodi es to est ablish rules and

procedures regarding access to public records as well as fees charged for copying such records; and
WHEREAS, the Commission opens this docket to propose rules and regulations applicable to FOIA requests

made to the Commission for public records in the possession of the Commission (the “Proposed FOIA Rules”); and
WHEREAS, a copy of the Commission’s Proposed FOIA Rules is attached hereto as Exhibit A; and 
WHEREAS, the  Commission believes tha t the  Proposed FOIA Rules shou ld be  pub lished in the Delaware

Register of Regulations to provide public notice of the rulemaking to develop final rules and regulations;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED BY THE AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF NO FEWER THAN THREE 
COMMISSIONERS:

1. That, for the reasons set forth in the body of this Order, and pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10003(b) and 29 Del.C.
§10115, the Commission proposes rules and regulations applicable to requests made to the Commission, pursuant
to the Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. §§10001-10006 (“FOIA”), for public records in the possession of the
Commission (the “Proposed FOIA Rules”, a copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit A).

2. That, pur suant to  29  Del.C. §§1133 an d 10 115(a), the Secr etary shall transmit to the Reg istrar of
Regulations for pu blication in the Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of th is Order, a long with a  copy of
Proposed FOIA Rules (Exhibit A).

3. That th e Secr etary shall cause the  No tice of Proposed Rule -Making ( the “ Notice”, a copy of which is
attached hereto as Exhibit B) to be published in The News Journal and the Delaware State News newspapers on
or before September 1, 2010. The Secretary shall include proof of such pub lication in th e docket file  before the
public hearing in this matter. 

4. That, pursuant to 29  Del.C. §§ 10115(a) a nd 1 0116, pe rsons o r entities ma y file written comm ents,
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before September 30, 2010.

5. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may
be deemed necessary or proper. 

If you wish to obtain written copies of the Order and the Proposed FOIA Rules, please contact the PSC at (302)
736-7500. Copies are $0.25 per page. Payment is expected prior to copying (if you wish the copies to be mailed) or
at the time the copies are retrieved (if you retrieve them in person). You may also download a copy of the Proposed
FOIA Rules from the September 2010 issue of the Register of Regulations (see http://regulations.delaware.gov/).

The PSC now solicits comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials about the
Proposed FOIA Rules. If you wish to file any such materials, you should submit an original and ten copies of such
written documents on or before September 30, 2010. You should file such materials with the PSC at the following
address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn: Proposed FOIA Rules

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission. Such
electronic co py m ay b e f iled on  a  co py-capable CD -Rom dis k or  se nt as  an  a ttachment to  an  In ternet e- mail
addressed to joseph.handlon@state.de.us.

If no comments or objections are timely received, the Commission may approve the Proposed FOIA Rules as
final without further proceedings.

Any individual with a disability desiring to participate in these proceedings or to review the filings should contact
the Commission to discuss any auxiliary  aids or serv ices needed. The SA C’s toll-free telephone number w ithin
Delaware is 1-800-282-8574. The PSC m ay b e reached at ( 302) 73 6-7500 (in cluding text telephone
communications). 
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1008 Regulations Governing Requests made pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act

1.0 Definitions
Capitalized ter ms no t otherwise d efined in  the se regulations shall have  the mea nings given those
terms in  FOIA and the  Com mission’s Rule s of Pr actice an d Procedure (see 26 DE Admin. Code
§1001), as applicable.
“Affected Party” means any party who has submitted Third Party Confidential Records.
“FOIA” shall mean the Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C., Ch. 100, as may be amended from time
to time.
“Third Party Confidential Records” are records submitted to the Commission by a third party under a
claim of confidentiality  pursuant to the Commis sion’s Rules of Practice and Procedure. Records will
not be  co nsidered T hird Pa rty Confidential Records fo r pu rpose of th ese re gulations if th e re cords
were n ot iden tified an d subm itted as co nfidential in ac cordance with t he Commiss ion’s R ules of
Practice and Procedure.

2.0 General
2.1 The Comm ission pr omulgates the se re gulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10 003(b), to est ablish

procedures regarding requests made to the Commission pursuant to FOIA fo r public records in the
possession of the Commission. The Commission is under no obligation under FOIA to answer written
questions, analyze data, create documents not already in its possession or compile information in a
record. F OIA r equests sha ll b e made fo r the purposes of obtaining existing d ocuments i n th e
Commission’s possession.

2.2 Consistent with FOIA, it is  the Commission’s desire that the public have access to the Commission’s
public records under reasonable terms and conditions. These regulations establish reasonable fees for
compiling and photo-copying public records and prov ide instructions regarding how to make FOIA
requests with the Commission and how such requests will be processed.

2.3 Commission staff may perform the duties of the Commission under these regulations.

3.0 Requests
3.1 Persons requesting requests for records pursuant to FOIA shall submit an original and one copy of a

written letter request indicating that the request is being made pursuant to FOIA. The written request
shall be addressed to:

Delaware Public Service Commission
Attn.: Commission Secretary
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building, Suite 100

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Arnetta McRae, Chair
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Dallas Winslow, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Alisa Carrow Bentley, Secretary
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Dover, Delaware 19904
Requests by electronic mail will not be entertained.

3.2 Requests shall indicate clearly where records are to be sent.
3.3 Requests for records shall describe the records sought in sufficient detail to enable their location with

reasonable effort.
3.4 Records may not be produced to any person who has an outstanding balance with the Commission

relating to a prior FOIA request.
3.5 Requests that do not comply with these regulations may be denied in whole or in part.

4.0 Responses
4.1 The Co mmission sha ll respond to a request made under these  regulations with in te n (1 0) da ys of

receipt of the request. Such response may include the requested records, deny the request in whole or
in part, or indicate when the r equested records will be produced and under what, if any, conditions. A
response to a request for Third Party Confidential Records shall be made pursuant to the procedures
and the timeframe set forth in Rule 6 below.

4.2 To the e xtent a FOIA r equest see ks d ocuments th at the Co mmission, in its sole discretion, may
consider voluminous, the Commission may require that the party requesting the records inspect and
copy the re cords at th e Co mmission’s of fice during its r egular b usiness h ours. Alter natively, the
Commission may , in it s s ole discr etion, employ the assist ance of an ou tside ven dor to  copy the
requested records, in which case the requester will be required to pay the copy charges assessed by
such vendor.

5.0 Fees for Photocopying Performed by Commission and Administrative Fees.
5.1 Administrative Fees. The C ommission may assess administrative fees incurred in  re sponding to a

FOIA request as set forth herein. Such fees include:
5.1.1 Staff time  asso ciated wit h pr ocessing FOIA r equests, inclu ding, but not limited to, time spent

locating and reviewing files, monitoring file reviews, and generating computer records.
5.1.2 Administrative fees will be billed per quarter hour and will be billed at the current, hourly pay grade

rate of the personnel per forming the servic e. Administrative charges will be in addition to any
copying charges.

5.2 Photocopy Charges
5.2.1 Standard Size Copies. The charge for copying standard size black and white public records shall

be $0.50 per printed page (i.e., single-sided copies are $0.50 and double-sided copies are $1.00).
The charge for color copies or printouts shall be $2.00 per page. This charge applies to copies on
the following standard paper sizes: 8.5 x 11; 8.5 x 14; and 11 x 17.

5.2.2 Oversized Cop ies/Printouts. The charge for  copying oversized pub lic records ( including bu t not
limited to blueprints, engineering drawings, GIS printouts and maps) shall be as follows: 24 x 26:
$2.00 each; 24 x 36: $3.00 each; 30 x 42: $5.00 each; and all larger documents: $1.00 per square
foot. An additional charge of $1.50 per page will be assessed to color copies.

5.2.3 Microfilm/Microfiche Printouts. Microfilm and/or micr ofiche printouts mad e by Commission
personnel and printed on standard sized paper will be $1.00 per page.

5.2.4 Electronically-Generated Records. Charges for copying records maintained in an electronic format
will be calculated by the material costs  involved in generating the copies, including but not limited
to magnetic tape, diskette or compact disc costs and third-party costs.

5.3 Payment for copies and/or administrative charges are due at the time the records are released.

6.0 Requests Seeking Non-Public and Third Party Confidential Records.
6.1 Records identified as non-public pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10002(g) shall not be produced in response to

a FOIA request. In addition, the following procedures shall apply to requests seeking records that the
Commission believes are non-public because they are Third Party Confidential Records:
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6.1.1 Upon receipt of a request seeking Third Party Confidential Records, the Commission will notify the
Affected Party in writin g of th e re quest, ide ntifying th e pa rty making  the request and the  Third
Party Confidential Records sought.

6.1.2 Within ten (10) days of receipt of the notice required by Rule 6.1, the Affected Party shall advise
the Commission in w riting whether it opposes the disclosure of th e Thir d Party Confidential
Records. If the Commission is not so notified, it will produce the Third Party Confidential Records.

6.1.3 If the Affected Party timely objects to the production of the Third Party Confidential Records, the
Affected Par ty sh all, at th e tim e of no tifying th e Co mmission of  its objection, pr ovide in wr iting
information sufficient to justify a claim of confidentiality under FOIA. Such information shall include,
but not be limited to, the following:

6.1.3.1 Any measures taken by the Affected Party to guard against disclosure of the Third Party
Confidential Records;

6.1.3.2 Whether the Third Pa rty Confide ntial Re cords have been in tentionally or  in advertently
disclosed since their submission to the Commission and any actions or precautions taken
in connection with such disclosure; and

6.1.3.3 Whether the disclosure of the Third Party Confidential Records would result in substantial
or harmful effects on t he Affected Party’s commercial or financial interests, and if so: (a)
what those harmful effects would be; (b) why the effects should be viewed as substantial;
and (c) how the disclosure would cause such harmful effects.

6.1.4 The Affe cted Party bears th e bu rden of establishin g confid entiality und er FOIA. A unil ateral
assertion that records are confidential or otherwise not subject to a FOIA request is insufficient to
support a finding that requested information is in fact non-public.

6.1.5 Within a reasonable time after receiving the Affected Party’s response filed pursuant to Rule 5.1.2,
the Co mmission sh all de termine whe ther th e Th ird Party Confide ntial Docu ments shou ld b e
produced pursuant to FOIA despite the Affected Party’s claim of confidentiality. Written notice of
the Co mmission’s de cision sh all b e pr ovided to  th e p arty making  th e FOIA r equest and the
Affected Party.

7.0 Appeals of Commission’s Decision.
As authorized by 29 Del.C. §10005, any person denied access to requested records may (i) bring suit
in a cour t of competent jur isdiction with in sixty (6 0) days of su ch den ial o r ( ii) pe tition the Attorn ey
General to determine whether a vi olation of FOIA ha s occurred. The procedures applicable to such
petition are provided in 29 Del.C. §10005.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text added at the  time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text be ing deleted.
[Bracketed Bold la nguage] ind icates text added at the time the final o rder was issu ed.  [Bracketed stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The op portunity for public comme nt shall be he ld ope n fo r a min imum of 30 da ys af ter the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations.  At th e conclusio n of all hearings and af ter re ceipt within  the time
allowed of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and wr itten evidence and information submitted, together
with summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt,
amend or  repeal a re gulation o r to  take no action  and the d ecision sh all be  supported by it s findings on  the
evidence an d information r eceived;  (4)  T he exact text  and cit ation of such reg ulation ado pted, ame nded or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  ( 6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by th e law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date o f an order which ad opts, amends or repeals a re gulation shall be n ot less tha n 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has bee n published in it s final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 501

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

501 State Content Standards

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
501 State Content Standards to reflect the State’s adoption of the Common Core Standards in Eng lish language
arts and mathematics. The Common Core Standards were developed in partnership with the National Governors
Association (NGA) and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). State stakeholders participated in the
review of the standards. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on July 6,
2010 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. Comments were received from Governor’s Advisory Council for
Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities endorsing the amendments.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 501 State Content Standards in order
to reflect the State’s adoption of the Common Core Standards in English language arts and mathematics.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 501
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State Content S tandards. Therefore, pur suant to  14 Del.C. § 122, 14 DE A dmin. Code 501 S tate Content
Standards  attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14
DE Admin. Code  501 State Content Standards hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from
the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 501 State Content Standards amended hereby shall be in the form attached
hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 501 State Content Standards in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on August 19,
2010.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 19th day of August 2010.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Lillian M. Lowery, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 19th day of August 2010.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

501 State Content Standards

1.0 Instructional Programs
1.1 Instructional p rograms of fered in  the p ublic sch ools of Delaware s hall be  in alignment w ith the

appropriate content standards documents. These documents are: English Language Arts Curriculum
Framework, M athematics Cu rriculum F ramework, Science Curriculum F ramework, Social Studies
Curriculum Fr amework, Health Ed ucation Cu rriculum F ramework and  Assessmen t, Physica l
Education Content Standards, Visual and Performing Arts Content Standards, Agriscience Curriculum
Framework Con tent Standards, Busine ss Fina nce and Marketing Education Cur riculum Framework
Content S tandards, W orld La nguage Cur riculum Fra mework Content S tandards, Technology
Education Curriculum Framework Content S tandards, Skilled and T echnical Sciences Content
Standards and the Family and Consumer Sciences Content Standards.

1.1.1 The content standards documents may from time to time hereafter be amended with the approval
of the Secretary and the State Board of Education.

1.1.1.1 Effective with th e 20 10-2011 schoo l year , Delaware C ontent Standards in English
language ar ts an d m athematics sha ll be  comp rised of the  Comm on Core S tandards
developed in partnership with the National Governors Association and the Council of Chief
State School Officers.

1.1.2 Integration of the content standards shall be provided for within and across the curricula.
1.1.3 Instructional materials and curricula content shall be kept current and consistent with provisions of

14 DE Admin. Code  50 2 Alig nment of Lo cal Schoo l Distr ict Curricula to the S tate Co ntent
Standards and 14 DE Admin. Code 503 Instructional Program Requirements.

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory Coverdale
Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.
G. Patrick Heffernan James L. Wilson, Ed.D.
Barbara B. Rutt
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1 DE Reg. 153 (8/1/97)
1 DE Reg. 729 (12/1/97)
4 DE Reg. 343 (8/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 850 (10/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 853 (11/1/00)
5 DE Reg. 865 (10/1/01)
8 DE Reg. 445 (9/1/04)
13 DE Reg. 256 (8/1/09)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 3003A; 29 Delaware Code, Section 7971 (14)
(16 Del.C., §3003A; 29 Del.C., §7971(14))

16 DE Admin. Code 3220

ORDER

3220 Training and Qualifications for Nursing Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

Delaware Health and Social Servic es (“Department”), Division of Long Term Care Reside nts Pr otection,
initiated proceedings to a mend the  r egulations regarding t he T raining and Certification of Certified Nursing
Assistants. The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code,
Section 10114, with authority prescribed by 29 Delaware Code, Section 7971. 

The Department published its notice of pr oposed regulatory change pursuant to 29  Delaware Code Section
10115 in th e May 2010 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the
public concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by May 31, 2010 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations. 

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGE

The proposal amends existing Regu lation 3220 –  Training and Cer tification of C ertified Nursing Assistants.
The proposed change will amend the regulation relative to the assessment of fees for reciprocal certification of a
nursing a ssistant from another st ate, a dd a r equirement fo r continuing education, m odify tra ining pr ogram
requirements and delete the Senior CNA Training Program Instructor component. 

Statutory Authority
• 16 Del.C. §3002A, “Training and Qualification for Nursing Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants.” 
• 29 Del.C. §7971, (14) “Regulate the Certification of Nursing Assistants.”

Summary of Changes
The Beebe Medical Center School of Nursing, POLYTECH Adult Education Program, New Castle County Vo-

Tech Sc hool D istrict, D elaware Technical and Community Colleg e, Gene sis He althcare Cor poration, Cour tland
Manor Inc, th e Dela ware Health care Associatio n an d the  Alzh eimer’s Asso ciation o ffered the comments and
recommendations summarized below. DLTCRP has considered each comment and respond as follows:

1)  Clar ification is r equested on whether the term general supervision requires that a p erson be personally
present at all times.

Response:  The term General Supervision is now defined at 1.0 and does not require actual observation of
students at all times.

“General Supervision” is providing necessary guidance for the program and maintaining ultimate responsibility.
2)  T he requirement of an RN  h aving lon g te rm c are experience limits who c an te ach a nursing a ssistant
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course. 
Response: The regulation has been modified to more closely match the federal regulation.  Instructors do not

have to have one year of long term care experience if the program is under the general supervision of at least one
Registered Nurse who has the requisite long term care experience.

3.1.5 All in structors (cla ssroom a nd clinical)  must ha ve completed a  course in teach ing adults o r have
experience tea ching adults or  in th e ca se of high sc hool p rograms, b e a state licensed h igh scho ol teacher.
Instructors do not have to have one year of long term care experience if the school has identified a RN supervisor
as described in 3.1.4. The RN supervisor shall be available to all instructors, shall assist in developing lesson plans
based on exper ience in t aking ca re of nursing home re sidents, shall periodically en sure and  do cument th at
instructors ar e op erating effectively and  th at th e p rogram is operating in a ccordance with  all st ate an d fed eral
regulations.  Classroom ratios of student to instructor shall not exceed 24:1.

3)  The requirement at 2.3 of testing within 30 days of course completion, or 90 days in the event of a failure is
unreasonable in the current market.

Response:  This regulation has been modified.  The individual has 24 months from the date of course
completion to pass the competency test.  The 90 days only applies if facilities wish to include the nursing assistant
in staffing calculations.

4)  The continuing education requirement at 2.4 may be cost prohibitive to many certified nursing assistants.
Response: The Division will be offering courses statewide at little or no cost to nursing assistants.
5)  Section 2.6 permits persons currently enrolled in nursing programs to take the CNA competency test after

having satisfactorily completed a Fundamentals/Basic Nursing course, will the instructors of those hospital-based
courses be deemed to have met the CNA Instructor requirements? 

Response:  No, to clarify the importance of the long term care experience, 2.6 has been modified to add 75
hours of clinical training in a long term care setting.  3.1.4 also includes the long term care requirement.

6)  At Sectio n 2 .8 the regulation permits an  indi vidual to t ake the CNA competency t est af ter satisf actorily
completing a military nursing assistant training course or a hospital based nursing assistant training course. Would
the faculty in the  hospital based  nursing p rogram be  considered to  meet the CNA Training Pr ogram in structor
requirements?  

Response: No.  Please note that 2.8 has been deleted.
7)  Hospital-based CNA training programs may not be able to meet the requirement at 3.1.2 that 75 hours of

clinical instruction be performed in a long term care setting.  
Response:  This change brings the Delaware regulations into compliance with 42 CFR 483.152 which requires

that the clinical portion of the training  be performed in a facility or laboratory setting similar to the setting in which
the individual functions as a nurse aide such as a nursing or skilled nursing facility.  This construction of the
regulatory requirement has recently been confirmed with CMS.

8)  High school and community college teachers may not be able to meet the teaching experience requirement
at 3.1.4.

Response: Please refer to the new 3.1.5.  The adult education training requirement is a federal regulation.  The
high school exception is set forth in the regulation and at 6.2.2.

9)  Appropriately licensed or certified personnel are excluded from being adjunct instructors in their areas of
expertise.

Response:  No, this concern is cured by a new section 3.1.8.
3.1.8 Other pe rsonnel from the  he alth profession may sup plement th e in structor, including but n ot

limited to , registered nu rses, licensed p ractical/vocational n urses, ph armacists, dieticians, social wo rkers,
sanitarians, fire safety expe rts, nur sing hom e administrators, ge rontologists, p sychologists, ph ysical a nd
occupational therapists, activ ity spec ialist, speech/l anguage/hearing ther apists a nd re sident rights exp erts.
Supplemental personnel must have at least 1 year of experience in their respective fields. 

10)  The 60 day notice requirement at 3.1.9, for changes to program personnel is problematic.  
Response:  The requirement was modified to 21 days and a provision for a waiver has been added.

3.1.9 Programs must notify the Divis ion in w riting (which may be fa xed) at least 2 1 days prior to
implementing pe rmanent and/or substantial changes to th e program or  the  program's personnel.  Examp les of
substantial changes include, but are not limited to, instructor(s), clinical or classroom site, major revision of course
structure, change in textbook. The 21 day time period may be waived by the Division for good cause shown.

11)  The  curriculum competencies related to the p sychosocial needs of the resident needed to be  revised to
reflect current practices.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 3, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 1, 2010



FINAL REGULATIONS 171
Response:  Competencies 3.3.3.1.5 and 3.3.3.1.9 were revised. 
12)  High schoo l and community college teachers may not be able to meet the r equirement at 6.0 to ha ve

formal educational preparation or experience with skills of adult learning.
Response:  As to the community college teachers, they teach adults, so the requirement must be met.  High

school programs meet the requirement with licensed teachers.  See 6.2.2.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes set forth in the May 2010 Register of Regulations should be
adopted, subject to the modification set forth above which is not substantive. 

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED , that the proposed changes to Regulation 3220 -Training and Certification of
Certified Nu rsing Assist ants, with the mo dification ind icated he rein, is ad opted and  shall be fina l effective
September 1, 2010.

Rita Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

3220 Training and Qualifications for Nursing Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants (Formerly 
Regulation No. 69)

1.0 Definitions
“Advanced Pra ctice Nurs e” shal l mea n a n i ndividual wh ose e ducation a nd licensure m eet the
criteria outlined in 24 Del.C. Ch. 19 and who is certified in at least one of the following specialty areas:
(1) Adult n urse pr actitioner; ( 2) Gerontological clinical nurse s pecialist; (3 ) Ger ontological n urse
practitioner; (4) Psychiatric/mental health clinical nurse specialist; (5) Family nurse practitioner.
“Assisted Living  Fa cility”  As sisted living facility  is a resi dential arrangement  for fee licensed
pursuant to 16 Del.C. Ch. 11.
“Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)” a duly certified individual under the supervision of a licensed
nurse, who provides care which does not require the judgment and skills of a licensed nurse.  The care
may includ e, but is no t limited to , th e following: bathing, dr essing, g rooming, toiletin g, am bulating,
transferring and feeding, observing and reporting the general well-being of the person(s) to whom they
are providing care.
“Department” the Department of Health and Social Services.
"Direct Supervision" means actually observing students performing tasks.
“Division” the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection.
"General Supervision " is pr oviding necessary guidance for  the  p rogram a nd ma intaining ultima te
responsibility.
“Intermediate Care Facility” Facility licensed pursuant to 16 Del.C. Ch. 11 with a license designated
for intermediate care beds.
“Licensed Nurse”  shall mean a licensed practical nurse, registered nurse and/or advanced practice
nurse whose education and licensure meet the criteria in 24 Del.C. Ch. 19.
"Licensed Nu rsing Fa cility" is a residential ins titution, as  defined in 16 Del.C., §1104(4),  w hich
provides services to residents which include resident beds, continuous nursing services, and health
and treatment services for individuals who do not currently require continuous hospital care.  Care is
given in accordance with  physician's orders and requires the competences of a registered nurse (RN).
“Licensed Prac tical Nurs e ( LPN)”  a  n urse wh o is lic ensed as a  practical nurse in Delaware or
whose license is re cognized to  practice in th e State of Delaware, an d wh o may su pervise LPN’s,
CNA’s, NA’s and other unlicensed personnel.
“Nursing As sistant (NA)”  a n in dividual who  ha s co mpleted the  re quisite training to be come a
Certified Nursing Assistant but is awaiting certification.
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“Nursing Relat ed Services” those he alth re lated ser vices th at inc lude su pervision of , and dir ect
assistance to, individuals in their activities of daily living and/or those physical and psychosocial basic
skills encompassed in the certified nursing assistant curriculum.
“Nursing Services Direct Caregivers” those individuals, as defined in 16 Del.C., §1161(e), assigned
to the direct care of nursing facility residents.
“Physician”  a physician licensed to practice in the State of Delaware.
“Registered Nurse (RN)”   a n urse who is a gr aduate of an approved school of professional nursing
and who is licensed in Delaware or whose license is recognized to practice in the State of Delaware.
“Rehabilitation” the restoration or ma intenance of an ill or injured pers on to self-sufficiency at his or
her highest attainable level.
“Resident”  a person admitted to a nursing facility or similar facility licensed pursuant to 16 Del.C. Ch
11.
“Restraint”  “Physical Rest raints” are de fined as any manual me thod or p hysical or m echanical
device, material or equipment attached or adjacent to the resident’s body that the individual cannot
remove easily wh ich restricts freedom o f mo vement o r no rmal access to  one ’s b ody. “Chemical
Restraints” are defined as a psychopharmacologic drug that is used for discipline or convenience and
not required to treat medical symptoms.
“Senior Certified Nursing Assistant” a Certified Nursing Assistant who has met the requirements
and training specified in Section 4 of these regulations.
“Skilled Care Faci lity” Facility licensed pursuant to 16 Del.C. Ch. 11 with a  license designated for
skilled care beds.
“Student”  a person enrolled in a course offering certification as a CNA.
[“Supervision” direct ov ersight a nd inspe ction of  the  act  of  acc omplishing a  func tion or
activity.]

6 DE Reg. 1505 (5/1/03)

2.0 General Training Requirements And Competency Test
Each Nursing Assistant/Certified Nursing Assistant employed by any nursing facility either as contract/
agency or facility staff shall be required to meet the following:

2.1 An individual shall complete a nu rsing assistant training course approved by the Dep artment on the
recommendation of the CNA T raining Cu rriculum Committee.  The Committee shall consist of
individuals with experience in the knowledge and skills required of CNAs.

2.2 Nursing Assistants a re re quired to p ass a competency te st p rovided by the  De partment or  b y a
contractor approved by the Department.

2.3 [Nursing As sistants s hall t ake t he c ompetency t est wit hin 30  day s of  co mpletion of a n
approved program or when  the nearest testing location is av ailable to the nursing assistant,
whichever is later.  Nursing assistants who fail to obtain a passing score may repeat the test
two ad ditional t imes, but mus t obt ain cert ification wit hin 90 da ys of  prog ram comple tion.
Nursing assistants who fail to obtain a passing score after testing three times must repeat the
CNA training program before retaking the test, or they cannot continue to work as a nursing
assistant. 
Nursing Assistants shall take the competency test within 30 days of completion of an approved
program.  Nurs ing as sistants who fail to  obt ain a p assing s core may  repe at the  te st two
additional times.  Nursing assistants who fail to obtain a passing score after testing three times
must repeat the CNA training program before retaking the test.  The certificate of completion of
an ap proved p rogram, a p rerequisite t o t esting, must  be  da ted wit hin 24  mont hs of  th e
available te sting date.  Nursing assistants who are tr ained in a facility and  are counted for
staffing purposes pu rsuant to 16 Del.C. §1 162 ( f)  mu st pass t he t est within 9 0 days of
completion of the facility program to continue to be counted in staffing calculations.]

2.4 A Certified Nursing Assistant must In order to qualify for recertification, a CNA m ust, during each 24
month certification period: 1) complete 24 hours of approved continuing education, and 2) perform at
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least 64  ho urs o f nu rsing re lated se rvices fo r pay un der the  su pervision of a licen sed n urse or
physician during each 24-month certification period in ord er to qualify for recertification.  A certified
nursing as sistant CN A who  do es no t pe rform a t least 64  h ours of n ursing r elated ser vices in a
certification period or fails to com plete the required continuing education must complete and pass a
new training course and the competency test again, or competency test. Nursing assistants who fail to
obtain a p assing score af ter testing thr ee tim es must repeat th e CNA training pr ogram before
additional testing will be permitted.

2.5 [A Certified Nursing Assistant An individual A Certified Nursing Assistant] trained and certified
outside the State o f Delaware in  a program that equals or  exceeds the  fede ral nu rse aide tra ining
program requirements in the Code of Federal Regulations §483.152 cannot work in Delaware without
a Delaw are certificate.  Delaware certification is required pr ior to be ing em ployed as a  CNA.  The
Department will grant reciprocity if the following conditions are met: 

2.5.1 [The CNA The individual The CNA] must have a current certificate from the jurisdiction where he
or she currently practices, except that candidates from the State of Maryland must hold a current
Geriatric Nursing Assistant certificate.

2.5.2 [The CNA  The  in dividual The CNA ] must ha ve 3 m onths o f fu ll-time experience as a CNA
performing nursing related services for pay under the supervision of a licensed nurse or physician,
or have completed a train ing and competency evaluation program with  the number of hou rs at
least equal to that required by the State of Delaware.

2.5.3 [The CNA The individual The CNA] must be in good standing in the jurisdiction where he/she is
currently certified.

2.5.4 The [Nursing Assistant CNA] submits $30 to the Department to cover the costs associated with
granting the reciprocity.

2.6 [Employees h ired a s] Nu rsing [Assistants/Certified N ursing Assistants st udents] who are
currently e nrolled in a  nur sing p rogram a nd h ave satisfa ctorily co mpleted a  Fun damentals/Basic
Nursing course with a  75 hour clinical component in a long term care setting will be deemed to meet
the training requirements. These individuals will be appr oved to t ake the competency test upon
submission of a le tter fro m th eir scho ol of nu rsing attestin g to cur rent enr ollment st atus and
satisfactory course completion as described.

2.7 [Individuals Nursing students] who have graduated from an RN or LPN program within 24 months
prior to application for certification are deemed qualified to meet the Department’s nurse aide training
and competency evaluation program requirements and are eligible for certification upon submission of
a sealed copy of th eir diploma.  Individ uals who h ave graduated from an RN or LPN pro gram more
than 24  months pr ior to  application fo r ce rtification a re deemed qualified to mee t the Department’s
nurse aide  tra ining pr ogram r equirements a nd ar e e ligible to t ake the competency te st u pon
submission of a sealed copy of their diploma.

2.8 [An individual who has satisfactorily completed a military nursing assistant training course or
hospital-based nur sing as sistant t raining co urse of at  le ast 150  hours  with a which is
substantially similar to Delaware's nurse aide training program curriculum comparable to the
curriculum co ntent of  Section 69.303 of t hese regu lations and who  has per formed nurs ing
related services within 24 months prior to application for certification is deemed qualified to
meet t he Department’s nu rse aide tr aining prog ram requirements and is eligible to t ake the
competency test upon submission of documentation of course completion.

2.9] For the purpose o f calculating minimum staffing levels, any individual who has completed a ll of the
classroom training and half of t he clinical training in a facility sponsored training  program may be
considered as a member of such facility’s staff while undergoing the last 37.5 hours of clinical training
at such facility.

2.[109] A nursing assistant who is employed by, or who has received an offer of employment from, a federally
certified nursing facility  on the date on which the aide begins a nurse aide training and competency
evaluation pr ogram may no t be  ch arged fo r a ny portion o f the pr ogram including tuition, an y te sts
taken and fees for textbooks or other required course materials.
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2.[110] If a Certified Nursing Assistant who is not employed, or does not have an offer to be  employed as a
nurse aide be comes emp loyed by, or  receives an of fer of  emp loyment fro m, a fede rally certified
nursing fac ility not later than 12 months af ter completing a nurse aide training and competency
evaluation program, the federally certified nursing facility shall reimburse all doc umented personally
incurred costs in completing the program. Facilities s hall accept as documentation canceled checks,
paid receipts, written verification from a tra ining program or other written evidence which reasonably
establishes the CNA’s personally incurred costs.  Such costs include tuition, tests taken and  fees for
textbooks or othe r required cour se m aterials.  Su ch cost s shall be re imbursed in  eq ual qu arterly
payments with full reimbursement to  coincide with the CNA’s completion of on e year of em ployment
including the orientation period.

2.[121] Any nurs ing facility which reimburses a Certified Nurs ing Assis tant for documented  personally
incurred costs of a nurse aide training and competency evaluation program shall notify the Division of
Long Term Care Residents Protection of such reimbursement.  Notice of such reimbursement shall be
entered in the CNA Registry dat abase and infor mation reg arding such reimbursement sha ll be
available to facilities upon request.

6 DE Reg. 1505 (5/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 1014 (1/1/05)

3.0 CNA Training Program Requirements
3.1 General. Program approval must be obtained from the Division prior to operating a CNA program. To

obtain approval, the curriculum content for the Certified Nursing Assistant training programs shall meet
each of the following requirements:

3.1.1 The curriculum shall inc lude material that will prov ide a basic lev el of both knowledge and
demonstrable skills for each individual completing the program.

3.1.2 The program shall be a minimum of 150 hours in length, div ided equally between clinical s kills
training and classroom instruction consisting of: 1) classroom instruction including laboratory time
of 75 hours, and 2) clinical skills training of 75 hours in a long term care setting.  Additional hours
may be added in either of these areas or both.

3.1.3 Classroom in struction and demonstrated proficienc y in eac h skill shall be completed prior to
students’ pe rforming d irect resident ca re.  Programs sh all main tain docum entation of re quired
skills that each student has successfully demonstrated to the RN instructor.

3.1.4 Classroom ratios of student to RN  instructor shall not ex ceed 24:1.  Clinical and laboratory ratios
of student to instructor shall not exceed 8:1.[All instructors must have completed a course in
teaching adults. [Or in the case of High School Programs be a  state-licensed high school
teacher.]
The training of nursing assistant must be done by or under the general supervision of a RN
who possesses a minimum of two yea rs of  nursing experience, a t least 1 yea r of wh ich
must be in the provision of long term care facility services.  The required one year of full-
time (35-hours per week) long term care experience can be met  by work experience in, or
supervision or teaching of students in a certified skilled nursing facility or nursing facility
defined in 42 CFR § 483.5(a).]

3.1.5 [All class room inst ruction mus t be  done by  a Re gistered Nurse.  The Regis tered Nurs e
must possess a minimum of 2 years of full time (35 hours per week) nursing experience in
the past 5 ye ars, at least 1 year of which must be in the provision of long term care at a
certified Skilled Nursi ng Faci lity or nursing facility as de fined in 42 CF R § 483 .5(a).
Classroom ratios of student to RN instructor shall not exceed 24:1.
All instructors (classroom and clinical) must have completed a course in teaching adults or
have experience teaching adults or in the case of high school programs, be a state licensed
high school teacher.  Instructors do not have to have one year of long term care experience
if the school has identified a RN supervisor as described in 3.1.4. The RN supervisor shall
be available to all instructors, shall assist in developing lesson plans based on experience
in t aking ca re of nursing ho me re sidents, s hall pe riodically ensure and document t hat
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instructors are operating effectively and that the program is operating in accordance with
all state and federal regulations. Classroom ratios of student to instructor shall not exceed
24:1]

3.1.6 [Laboratory and  clin ical inst ruction ma y be  provided by a  qua lified Regis tered Nur se o r
Licensed Practical Nurse. The Licensed Practical Nurse must have a minimum of  three (3)
years e xperience un der the su pervision o f a  Regist ered Nur se and must ha ve the
equivalent o f 1  ye ar f ull time ( 35 hours pe r we ek) ex perience in a lice nsed sk illed o r
intermediate care nursing facility or hospital within the past 5 years. Clinical and laboratory
ratios of  s tudent t o Re gistered Nurs e o r L icensed Practical Nurse inst ructor sh all not
exceed 8:1.
LPN instructors must have at least three years of nursing experience and must work under
the general supervision of a RN.]

3.1.57 [The RN instructor shall directly supervise provide general supervision to students at  all
times d uring clinical inst ruction. A Re gistered Nurs e or  Lice nsed Pra ctical Nurs e s hall
provide d irect supe rvision to st udents Stud ents sh all re main in visua l c ontact with  a
licensed  nurse in the clinical setting while performing any skills in which proficiency has
not been both demonstrated and documented.
Clinical instructors shall provide general supervision of students at all times during clinical
instruction.  Clinical instructors shall provide direct supervision to students in the clinical
setting while  th e s tudent is lea rning a  comp etency un til proficiency ha s be en both
demonstrated and do cumented. Clin ical and labo ratory ra tios of st udent t o Re gistered
Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse instructor shall not exceed 8:1.

3.1.8 Other personnel from the health profession may supplement the instructor, including but
not limit ed to , registered nurses, lice nsed pra ctical/vocational nur ses, pharmacists,
dieticians, social wo rkers, sa nitarians, fire  sa fety e xperts, n ursing ho me ad ministrators,
gerontologists, p sychologists, ph ysical and  oc cupational therapists, ac tivity sp ecialist,
speech/language/hearing therapists a nd re sident r ights e xperts. Supplemental pe rsonnel
must have at least 1 year of experience in their respective fields.]

3.1.6[89]Programs must notify the Division in writing (which may be faxed) when at least 21 days prior to
implementing  permanent and/or substantial changes to the program or the program's personnel
are made.  Examples of substantial changes include, but are not limited to, instructor(s), clinical or
classroom site, major revision of course structure, change in textbook. The 21 day time period may
be waived by the Division for good cause shown.

3.2 Equipment
All programs shall have available at a minimum the following equipment:

3.2.1 Audio/Visual (Overhead projector and/or TV with VCR)
3.2.2 Teaching Mannequin, Adult, for catheter and perineal care
3.2.3 Hospital Bed
3.2.4 Bedpan/Urinal
3.2.5 Bedside commode
3.2.6 Wheelchair
3.2.7 Scale
3.2.8 Overbed Table
3.2.9 Sphygmomanometer
3.2.10 Stethoscope
3.2.11 Resident Gowns
3.2.12 Thermometers, Glass and Electronic
3.2.13 Crutches
3.2.14 Canes (Variety)
3.2.15 Walker
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3.2.16 Miscellaneous Supplies: i.e ., Band ages, Co mpresses, Heating Pad, He aring A id, Dentures,
Toothbrushes, Razors.

3.2.17 Foley Catheter Drainage Bag
3.2.18 Hydraulic Lift
3.2.19 Adaptive eating utensils/equipment

3.3 Curriculum Content
The following material identifies the minimum competencies that the curriculum content shall develop.
Nursing assistants being prepared to work in skilled, intermediate, or assisted living facilities either as
direct or contract staff shall master each competency. All demonstrable competencies for each student
must be documented as mastered by the RN instructor in order for a student to qualify as successfully
having completed that section of programming.

3.3.1 The Nursing Assistant Role And Function
Introduces th e characteristics o f a n ef fective n ursing assistant: p ersonal attributes, o n-the-job
conduct, ap pearance, g rooming, h ealth an d ethical behavior.  Also pr esented are th e
responsibilities of the nursing assistant as a member of the residen t care team.  Legal aspects of
resident care and resident r ights are presented.  Rele vant Federal and  State statutes ar e a lso
reviewed.

Competencies:
3.3.1.1 Function as a nursing assistant within the standards described below:

3.3.1.1.1 Define the role and functions of the nursing assistant and provide awareness of the
legal limitations of being a nursing assistant.

3.3.1.1.2 Recognize the responsibilities of the nursing assistant as a member of the health care
team. Understand the relevant State and Federal regulations for long term care and
legalities of reporting and documenting incidents and accidents.

3.3.1.1.3 Understand the role of Long Term Care advocates, investigators and surveyors.
3.3.1.1.4 Identify th e “ chain of c ommand” in  the o rganizational stru cture of the h ealth car e

agency.
3.3.1.1.5 Maintain pe rsonal hygiene and ex hibit dr ess pr actices wh ich m eet p rofessional

standards.
3.3.1.1.6 Recognize the importance of punctuality and commitment to the job.
3.3.1.1.7 Differentiate between ethical and unethical behavior on the job.
3.3.1.1.8 [Understand Rec ognize Underst and] the role, responsibility and functional

limitations of the nursing assistant.
3.3.1.2 Demonstrate behavior that maintains resident’s rights.

3.3.1.2.1 Provide privacy and maintenance of confidentiality.
3.3.1.2.2 Promote th e resident’s rig ht to m ake personal choices to  accommodate individual

needs.
3.3.1.2.3 Give assistance in resolving grievances.
3.3.1.2.4 Provide needed assistance in going to and participating in resident and family groups

and other activities.
3.3.1.2.5 Maintain ca re and security o f resident’s pe rsonal possessions as  per the resident’s

desires.
3.3.1.2.6 Provide care which en sures that th e re sidents ar e fre e from ab use, mistreatment,

neglect or  finan cial explo itation and  re port any inst ances of su ch po or ca re to th e
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection. Discuss the psychological impact of
abuse, n eglect, mistre atment, m isappropriation of pr operty of r esidents a nd/or
financial exploitation.

3.3.1.2.7 Maintain the resident’s environment and care through appropriate nursing assistant
behavior so as to keep the resident free from physical and chemical restraints.
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3.3.1.2.8 Discuss the potential negative outcomes of physical restraints, including side rails.
3.3.2 Environmental Needs Of The Resident

Key Concepts:  Introduces the nursing assistant to the need to keep residents safe from injury and
infection in the long-term care setting. The nursing assistant is taught why and how to use infection
control and isolation techniques. Safety through prevention of fires and accidents, and emergency
procedures for fire and other disasters are presented.
Competencies:

3.3.2.1 Apply the basic principles of infection control.
3.3.2.1.1 Identify ho w dis eases ar e transmitted a nd understand concep ts of in fection

prevention.
3.3.2.1.2 Demonstrate proper hand washing technique.
3.3.2.1.3 Demonstrate appropriate aseptic techniques in the performance of normal duties and

understand the role of basic cleaning, disinfecting, and sterilization tasks.
3.3.2.1.4 Demonstrate p roper iso lation an d s afety techn iques in the  ca re of the infectious

resident and proper handling and disposal of contaminated materials.
3.3.2.2 Assist with basic emergency procedures.

3.3.2.2.1 Follow safety and emergency procedures.
3.3.2.2.2 Identify safety measures that prevent accidents to residents.
3.3.2.2.3 Recognize signs when a resident is choking or may have an obstructed airway.
3.3.2.2.4 Assist with clearing obstructed airway.
3.3.2.2.5 Call for help when encountering convulsive disorders, loss of conscious ness, shock,

hemorrhage, and assist the resident until professional help arrives.
3.3.2.2.6 Follow disaster procedures.
3.3.2.2.7 Report emergencies accurately and immediately.
3.3.2.2.8 Identify potential fire hazards.

3.3.2.3 Provide a safe, clean environment.
3.3.2.3.1 Identify the resident’s need for a clean and comfortable environment.  Describe types

of common accidents in the nursing home and their preventive measures. Be aware of
the impact o f e nvironmental fa ctors o n the r esident in  all areas in cluding bu t not
limited to light and noise levels.

3.3.2.3.2 Report unsafe c onditions to appropriate superv isor.  Use the nurs e call syst em
effectively.

3.3.2.3.3 Report evidence of pests to appropriate supervisory personnel.
3.3.2.3.4 Report nonfunctioning equipment to appropriate supervisory/charge personnel.
3.3.2.3.5 Prepare soiled linen for laundry.
3.3.2.3.6 Make arrangement of furniture and equipment for the resident’s convenience and to

keep environment safe.
3.3.3 Psychosocial Needs Of The Resident

Key Concepts:  Focus is placed on the diverse social, emotional, recreational and spiritual needs
of r esidents in  a lon g term  ca re se tting. T he curriculum sha ll describ e some  of the ph ysical,
mental, and emotional changes associated with aging and institutionalization, and present ways in
which the nursing assistant may effectively communicate with residents and their families.
Competencies:

3.3.3.1 Demonstrate basic skills by identifying the psychosocial characteristics of the populations
being serv ed in the nurs ing facility inc luding pers ons with ment al ret ardation, ment al
illness and persons w ith dementia, Alzheimer’s diseas e, developmental disabilities and
other related disorders.

3.3.3.1.1 Indicate the ways to meet the resident’s basic human needs for life and mental well
being.
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3.3.3.1.2 Modify h is/her own  be havior in  response to  resident’s be havior.  Re spect the
resident’s b eliefs r ecognizing cultural dif ferences in  ho lidays, spirituality, clothin g,
foods and medical treatments.

3.3.3.1.3 Identify methods to ensure that the resident  may fulfill his /her maximum potential
within the normal aging process.

3.3.3.1.4 Provide training in, and the  op portunity for , self- care accor ding to the resident’s
capabilities.

3.3.3.1.5 Demonstrate principles of behavior management by rein forcing appropriate behavior
and reducing or  e liminating in appropriate b ehavior. [For p ersons wi th de mentia,
recognize that cognitive functions are impaired, determine what the resident is
trying to communicate and respond appropriately.]

3.3.3.1.6 Demonstrate skills which allow the resident to make personal c hoices and promote
the resident’s dignity.

3.3.3.1.7 Utilize resident’s family as a source of emotional s upport and recogniz e the family’ s
need for emotional support.

3.3.3.1.8 Recognize how age, illness and disability  af fect me mory, sexuality , mood and
behavior, including wandering.

3.3.3.1.9 [Describe aggressive and wandering behavior; recognize responsibility of staff
related to wanderers and aggressive residents. Recognize aggressive behavior
and learn management techniques.  Recognize that certain behaviors, such as
wandering, are a form of communication.  Learn to apply strategies to promote
safe behaviors.]

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the May 2010 issue of the Register at page 1386 (13 DE Reg. 1386). Therefore, the entire final regulation
is not being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

3220 Training and Qualifications for Nursing Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Child Care Subsidy Program

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

Delaware He alth an d S ocial Se rvices (“ Department”) /  Division of Soc ial Serv ices in itiated p roceedings to
provide information of public inte rest wit h res pect to  the Child Care Su bsidy Pr ogram re garding Income and
Making Income Determinations. The  Department’s pr oceedings wer e initiated  pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of public comment pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10115 in the
July 20 10 Delaware Register of Regulations, r equiring wr itten ma terials a nd su ggestions fr om the pu blic
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by July 31, 2010 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.
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SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGES

The proposed change described below amends Child Care Subsidy Program policies in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Income and Making Income Determinations. 

Statutory Authority
45 CFR §98.11(b)(2), Administration under contracts and agreements

Summary of Proposed Changes
1) D SSM 11003.9.1, Income: The purpose of th is ru le change is to clarify the ru les regarding determining

countable income and to remove procedures. This amendment clarifies how to d ecide what income to  count to
determine eligibility for subsidized child care. 

2) DSSM 1 1003.9.5, Making Income Determinations: The purpose of this ru le change is to clar ify the ru les
regarding determining financial eligibility and to remove procedures. The revised rule clarifies how to count income
to arrive at a monthly amount.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES

The Governor ’s Advisory  Council for Exceptional Citizens (GAC EC) and the State Counc il for Persons with
Disabilities (SC PD) of fered the fo llowing observation an d recommendation summarized below . DSS  has
considered each comment and responds as follows.

First, §11003.9.1A refers to “social security pensions”. Section 11003.9.1 refers to (capitalized) “Social Security
pensions”. DSS may wish to  su bstitute “S ocial Sec urity income” in both contexts similar to it s r eference to
“Supplemental Security I ncome” in  th e la tter se ction. Ot herwise, th e re ference w ould appear to  co ver Social
Security retirement benefits but not Title II SSDI benefits.

Agency Response: Thank you for your observation. The policy has been changed to read as follows:

Countable Income. All sources of income, earned (such as wages) and unearned (such as child support,
Social Security income, etc.) are countable income when determining a family's monthly gross income.
…

Second, §11003.9.1 lists “disregarded income which includes the following subpart:

7. The value of USDA donated foods and Food Stamp Act of 1964 as amended;

This provision remains unchanged from the current regulation. However, the reference to the Food Stamp Act
literally makes no sense (e.g. the value of the Food Stamp Act of 1964 is d isregarded). We suspect some words
are missing.

Agency Response: Thank you for picking up on this error. The policy has been changed as follows: 

7. the value of USDA donated foods;

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the July 2010 Register of Regulations should
be adopted.
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THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED , tha t the  p roposed r egulation to a mend the Child Care Su bsidy Program
policies regarding Income and Making Income Determinations is ad opted and shall be fin al effective September
10, 2010.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATIONS #10-36
REVISIONS:

11003.9.1 Income

45 CFR 98.11(b)(2)

A. Countable Incom e. All sou rces of income , e arned (such as wag es) an d un earned (su ch as child su pport,
[social s ecurity pensions So cial Sec urity in come], etc.)  ar e cou ntable inco me whe n de termining a family's
monthly gross income. Monthly gross income typically includes the following:

1. Money from wages o r sa lary, such as  to tal money earnings Money earned from work performed as an
employee, including wages, salary, Armed Forces pay, commissions, tips, piece rate payments and cash bonuses.
Count the amount earned before deductions are made for taxes, bonds, pensions, union dues, etc. This is g ross
income. Wages need to be equal to the federal minimum wage or an equivalent.

Gross income from farm or non-farm self-employment is determined by subtracting the self-employment standard
deduction for  p roducing i ncome as described below. The individual's personal expenses (lunch, transportation,
income tax, etc.) are not deducted as business expenses but are deducted by using the TANF standard allowance
for work connected expenses. In the case of unusual situations (such as parent/caretaker just beginning business),
refer to DSSM 9056 and 9074.

Earnings from self-employment are counted after applying a standard deduction for self-employment expenses. To
get the self-employment deduction, self-employed households must ve rify at least one business cost to  produce
income.

Self-Employment Standard Deduction for Producing Income

The cost for  p roducing in come is a st andard de duction of the  gr oss in come. Th is st andard d eduction is a
percentage of the gross income determined annually and listed in the Cost-of-Living  Adjustment (COLA) notice
each October. The standard deduction is considered the cost to produce income.

The st andard ded uction is co nsidered the co st to  produce income. T he gross in come t est is  ap plied a fter the
standard deduction. The earned income deductions are then applied to the net self-employment income and any
other earned income in the household.

The standard deduction app lies to all self-e mployed hou seholds with co sts to  produce incom e. To re ceive the
standard deduction, the self-employed household must provide and verify they have business costs to produce
income. The verifications can include, but are not limited to, tax records, ledgers, business records, receipts, check
receipts, and business statements. The self-employed household does not have to ver ify all its business costs to
receive the standard deduction.
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Self-employed households not claiming or v erifying any cost s to pr oduce inc ome will not receive the s tandard
deduction.

2. Social Security pensions, Supplemental Security Income, Veteran's benefits, public
assistance p ayments, net r ental in come, u nemployment com pensation, wo rkers compensation, pe nsions,
annuities, alimony, adoption assistance, dis ability benefit s, milit ary allotments, Rail Road Retirement, and child
support.

B.   Disregarded Income
Monies received from the following sources are not counted:
1. per capita payments to or funds held in trust for any individual in satisfaction of a judgment of Indian Claims

Commission or the Court of Claims;
2. payments made pursuant to th e Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act to th e extent such payments are

exempt from taxation under ESM 21(a) of the Act;
3. money received from the sale of property such as stocks, bonds, a house or a car (unless the person was

engaged in the business of selling such property, in which case the net proceeds are counted as income from self-
employment);

4. withdrawal of bank deposits;
5. money borrowed or given as gifts;
6. capital gains;
7. the value of USDA donated foods [and Food Stamp Act of 1964 as amended];
8. the value of supplemental food assist ance und er the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 and the special food

service program for children under the National School Lunch Act, as amended;
9. any payment received under the Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies Act

of 1970;
10. loans or grants such as scholarships obtained and used under conditions that preclude their use for current

living costs;
11. any grant or loa n to  any und ergraduate stu dent for  educational pu rposes mad e or  insured und er any

program administered by the Commissioner of Education under the Higher Education Act;
12. home produce utilized used for household consumption;
13. all of the earned income of a minor or minor parent (under 18) who is a full-time student or a part-time child

under age 18 who is a student who is wor king but is not a full-time employee (such as high school students who
are employed full-time during summer);

14. all payments derived from participation in projects under the Food Stamp Benefit Employment & Training
(FS FB E&T) program or other job training programs;

15. all Vista income; and
16. all income derived as a Census taker.

Resources (s uch as cars, homes, savings accou nts, life in surance, etc.)  ar e n ot co nsidered when
determining financial eligibility or the parent fee.

(Break In Continuity of Sections)

11003.9.5 Making Income Determinations

45 CFR 98.11(b)(2)

DSS programmed the DCIS II Child Care Sub system to automatically make financial eligibility decisions. As long
as the appropriate income for the appropriate persons is entered into the system, and as long as the correct family
size is entered, the DCIS II Child Care Sub system will calculate income and determine eligibility.
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In the event of system failure, use 4 1/3 weeks per month to compute a person's monthly gross income. If there is
a variance in wages, use the average of the last month's wages or the average of the last three month's wages,
whichever is less.

The following are examples for converting various pay schedules to monthly income.

A. Client A is paid $200.00 per week - $200 x 4.33 = $866/month.

B. Client A is paid $200 per week, but has a varying work schedule. Week one - $200; week two $100; week three
- $176; week four - $200. $200 + $100 + $176 + $200 = $676 divided by 4 = $169/week average. $169 x 4.33 =
$731.77/month.

C. Client B is paid $400 every other week. $400 x 2.16 = $864.

D. Client C is paid $950 twice a month. $950 x 2 = $1900/month.

E. Other sources of income, such as child support, are added to wages either as the actual amount received or as
an average of the amount received in the past three months.

Staff will use gross monthly income in all cases except for self-employment income. Gross income is income before
any deductions. See 11003.9.1 for disregarded income.

Determine the  mo nthly a mount of in come using the conversion method b elow. T his ap plies to ea rned and
unearned income.

A. Weekly gross income is multiplied by 4.33 to calculate the monthly income.

B. Bi-weekly gross income is multiplied by 2.16 to calculate the monthly income. Bi-weekly income is income that
is received every other week.

C. Semi-monthly gross income is multiplied by 2 to calculate the monthly income. Semi-monthly income is income
that is received twice each month.

If the income is different from pay to pay, use the income from the previous month or the average of the last three
months income, whichever is less. This applies for earned and unearned income.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Child Care Subsidy Program

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

Delaware He alth an d S ocial Se rvices (“ Department”) /  Division of Soc ial Serv ices in itiated p roceedings to
provide information of public in terest with respect to  the Child Care Subsidy Program regarding Interviews and
Authorizing Service. The Department’s proceedings were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114
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and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.
The Department published its notice of public comment pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10115 in the

July 20 10 Delaware Register of Regulations, r equiring wr itten mate rials a nd su ggestions fr om th e pu blic
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by July 31, 2010 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGES

The proposed change described below amends Child Care Subsidy Program policies in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Interviews and Authorizing Service. 

Statutory Authority
45 CFR §98.11, Administration under contracts and agreements

Summary of Proposed Changes
1) DSSM 11004.2, Interviews: The purpose of this rule change is to clarify current policy regarding interviews

and to r emove procedures. The original text is also r eformatted to further clarify interview requirements for child
care services. The intent of the proposed amendment is to simplify language and improve readability.

2) DSSM 11004.9, Authorizing Service Authorizing Child Care Services: The purpose of this rule change is to
add program g uidelines for a uthorizing ser vices and to r emove procedures. The a mended p olicy st ates that
Purchase of Care (POC) funds cannot be paid for parents/caretakers to provide direct care to their own children in
a home or any other child care facility.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES

The Governor ’s Advisory  Council for Exceptional Citizens (GAC EC) and the State Counc il for Persons with
Disabilities (SC PD) of fered the fo llowing observation an d recommendation summarized below . DSS  has
considered each comment and responds as follows.

Overall, the propos ed regulation is  more condensed than the current vers ion and omit s illustrations.  It als o
clarifies that parents cannot obtain the subsidy if they are caring for their own children in their own home or facility
if the parent provides direct care to the child in that setting.  The proposed regulation was published as 14 DE Reg.
11 in the July 1 , 2010 issue of the Register of Regulations.  The Councils have the following observations and
recommendations.

First, §11004.2.4 authorizes consideration of a “ special need” conveyed through “correspondence submitted
by a physician or medical professional”.  The current regulation is more expansive in defining the scope of persons
who can submit documentation of a spe cial need.  Sectio n 11004.2.B.4.c authorizes the DSS worker to rely on
“written documentation from a recognized professional (such as a doctor, social worker, nurse, school counselor,
etc) of the special needs”.  This is superior to the proposed regulation which requires an actual letter (in contrast to
“written documentation”) and is limited  to medical professionals.  There are many circumstances in which a  non-
medical professional (e.g. DVR worker; social worker; psychologist) could logically provide the confirmation of a
special need.

Agency Response: DSS would like to  thank yo u fo r comme nt. The special ne eds pr ogram was re vised
through th e Administrative Procedures Act in Jul y 2009 to in clude the statement “ documentation that m ay be
provided on the Special Needs Form or  any other writ ten co rrespondence submitted by a ph ysician or  medical
professional with the authority to do so.”  The  purpose of this revision was to correct the oversight made in 2009
when this section should have been updated to be consistent with other sections of the manual.  

Second, in §11004.2.4, DSS may wish to consider amending the first line to read “any other information...such
as documentation of travel time or a special need.”  Travel time would be relevant to the need for child care in both
the employment and school contexts.  Merely referencing a “work schedule” or “class schedule” will understate the
extent of need which should include travel time.  

Agency Response: DSS would like to thank  you for your respon se however the statement will remain as is.
Travel time relates to the amount of child care needed and is only considered after staff has determined there is a
need for child care.  
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Third, §11004.2.4. limits DSS workers to consideration of a “protective need” only if based on a DFS referral:
“For a protective need, a referral from Division of Family Services must be submitted.”  This may be unduly narrow.
We recognize that related regulations [§§11003.7.6 and 11003.7.8] limit consideration of children with protective
child ca re ne eds to  th ose re ferred by  DFS.  The re levant fe deral r egulation [45 CFR 98 .20] refers to  “an
appropriate pr otective ser vices wor ker” b ut do es n ot d efine the term.  As a practical ma tter, the  DSCYF  of ten
provides primary case management and other services through contractors (e.g. Child, Inc.; Delaware Guidance).
Moreover, there are many victim  protection organizations.  Fo r example, many po lice departments have victim
advocates.  We recommend expanding the scope of persons who can document a “protective need”.  Consider the
following substitute standard:

A protective need must be ba sed on a re ferral from the Div ision of Family Serv ices (“DFS”), authorized
DFS cont ract agency , or vict im services perso nnel em ployed by la w enforcement or  no n-profit
organization.

Agency Response: DSS u nderstands you r desire to in crease th e so urces of a  p rotective need referral.
However, the Division is not in a position to expand this group of eligibles at this time.

Fourth, §11004.9 includes the following recital: “These children may be able to get another type of child care”.
This is somewhat cryptic.  If DSS is aware of some other sources of child care assistance in this context, it would
be pr eferable to pr ovide some guidance to  workers th rough a cross re ference o r no te.  The De partment of
Education periodically includes non-regulatory notes in its regulations with cross references to other regulations or
resources.  

Agency Response: Thank you for your suggestion that we give some guidance to workers through a cr oss
reference or note to the other types of child care available. This statement serves as a reminder that those parents
who cannot get child care assistance because they are providing direct care to their own children are not prohibited
from receiving child care assistance if their children are placed in another child care setting.  DSS has revised the
policy as follows:

All child care services must be authorized before parents/caretakers can receive subsidized child care.
Parents/caretakers can choose any provider who is either licensed, licensed exempt or self arranged. No
parent/caretaker can receive POC funds to provide child care services to their own children in a home or
any other child care facility where the parent/caretaker provides direct care to that child. These children
may be able to get child care assistance if their children are placed in another child care setting. 

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the July 2010 Register of Regulations should
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED , tha t the  p roposed r egulation to a mend the Child Care Su bsidy Program
policies regarding Interviews and Authorizing Service is adopted and shall be final effective September 10, 2010.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATIONS #10-39
REVISIONS:

11004.2 Interviews and Necessary Documentation

45 CFR 98.11
Complete an interview either over the phone or in person.
When scheduling an applicant for an interview do so in the following manner.
A As soon as re asonably possible after the parent/caretaker makes an informal contact set a specific d ay

and time for an  interview. Co nsider th e p arent/caretaker's sc hedule a nd attempt to sc hedule a ppointments a t
parent/caretaker convenience.
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B Advise the p arents/caretakers of the information they will need to bring to  the interview . At a minimum
parent/caretakers should bring:

1. if employed, current pay stubs covering the 30 days immediately before the date of ap plication or a
letter or employer statement (on company letterhead) noting the  employer's name, the parent/caretaker's work
schedule, earnings, frequency of pay, and start date;

2. if in training and/or school, a statement from the school/training program with starting and completion
dates and days and hours required to attend or a copy of a registration form and class schedule;

3. any other income information;
4. any other information which may have a bearing on establishing need, such as:

a. in cases of a spe cial need for  eithe r a  ch ild o r an adult, parents/caretakers must complete the
Special Needs Form;

b. for a protective need, a completed Division of Family Services Referral; or
c. written documentation fr om a r ecognized pr ofessional (such as doctor , social wor ker, nu rse,

school counselor, etc.) of the special needs.
C. Along with appointment information, send and/or give parents/caretakers a child care certificate package

and a list of approximately five available contracted providers. Instruct parents/caretakers to select a provider prior
to the formal interview. Even though parents/caretakers may ultimately  select providers under contract with DSS,
provide them with enough information to make  an informed choice. Therefore, in all instances, send and/or give
parents/caretakers a certificate package and Guide to Quality Child Care booklet. Inform clients that if they fail to
provide the DSS Case Manager with a provider within 60 days of eligibility confirmation and noticing, their case will
close.

D. For p arents/caretakers wh o come  into the  of fice without a sch eduled app ointment, co nduct the  fo rmal
interview process that same day if possible. However, the parents/caretakers need to select a child care provider
before care can be authorized.

E Though verification of the appropriate information to establish need is important, the system will authorize
Presumptive Child  Ca re se rvice can be auth orized fo r a pproximately o ne mo nth while  ce rtain infor mation
verification is pending. In this case, the sy stem will, gi ve notice of needed informat ion, authorize child care for
approximately one month (depending on the date of application) and end date the authorization. If the system does
not authorize Presumptive Child Care, parents/caretakers will be giv en ten da ys from the date of the initial
application t o s ecure and provide th e ne cessary d ocumentation. If  th e parents/caretakers r eceive P resumptive
Child Care and the initial application date occurs between the first and the ninth of the month, the authorization for
care will extend to the end of the current month. If the initial application occurs from the tenth of the month or after,
authorization for care will extend to th e end of the following month. (For mo re information on Presumptive Child
Care see section 11004.8)

EXAMPLE 1: A parent comes into the office on January 6 and need s care to start work beginning January 7. The
parent meets eligibility c riteria. The system will authorize Presumptiv e Child Care until J anuary 31 and give the
parent u ntil Jan uary 16 to pr ovide pr oof o f e mployment. If by Ja nuary 1 6 the  parent pr ovides pr oof, en ter the
information and verification into the system and run SFU/EDBC. The system will generate a new authorization with
the end date of June 30th. If by January 17 the parent fails to provide proof, a DCIS II Child Care Sub system notice
is mailed informing the parent that child care services will end as of January 31.

EXAMPLE 2: A parent comes into the of fice on January 12 and needs to start work beginning January 13. The
parent meets eligibility requ irements. The system will authorize care until February 28 an d give the p arent until
January 22 to provide proof. If by January 22 the parent provides proof, enter the information and verification into
the system and run SFU/EDBC. The system will generate a new authorization with an end date of June 30th. If by
January 22 the parent fails to provide proof, a DCIS II Child Care Sub system notice is mailed informing the parent
that child care will end as of February 28.

Complete an interview either over the phone or in person. Conduct the interview the same day if possible. Parents
will need to supply the following verifications:

1. if employed:
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a. pay stubs for the 30 days before the date of application, or
b. a letter or em ployer st atement ( on comp any letter head) noting the employer's na me, te lephone

number, the parent’s/caretaker's work schedule, earnings, frequency of pay, and start date,
2. any unearned income, such as child support, Social Security, and unemployment compensation
3. if in training and/or school:

a. a statement from the school/training program with starting and completion dates and days and hours
required to attend, or

b. a copy of a registration form and class schedule;
4. any other information which will help in determining the need for s ervice, s uch as doc umentation of a

special need. Documentation of the special need may be provided on the Special Needs Form or any other written
correspondence s ubmitted by  a physician o r m edical professional with th e au thority to do  so. Fo r a pr otective
need, a referral from Division of Family Services must be submitted.

Parents must be given any information that will help them to make an informed decision regarding their child care
services. Provide parents/caretakers with a list of providers and a child care certificate packet as needed. Although
verifications are needed, Presumptive Child Care may be opened pending information. Presumptive Care can be
authorized fo r app roximately one mon th, dep ending on the date of a pplication. ( For mo re information o n
Presumptive Child Care see DSSM 11004.8).

(Break In Continuity of Sections)

11004.9Authorizing Service Authorizing Child Care Services

45 CFR 98.11

Once a case is created, service mu st be au thorized before parents/caretakers can receive subsidized child
care. Authorization is both the name for the  form (618d) and the process to g rant parents/caretakers child care
services (see Section 11002.9 for definition).

Complete a se parate authorization for each child who is eligible to receive child care services. Therefore, if
there is m ore tha n one ch ild in  a  fam ily who needs service, complete sep arate aut horizations for each child.
Complete an authorization by creating one in the DCIS II Child Care Sub system. Again, as when entering a case,
in DCIS II authorization data screens have required data fields which are highlighted. Complete these data fields
before proceeding. Follow the rules below in creating authorizations.

A. Obtain provider information before completing an authorization. This means that if parents/caretakers wish
to select a provider by using a child care certificate, they must have the certificate returned before an authorization
can be issued.

B. Parents/caretakers can only choose providers who are either self-arranged, licensed exempt or who can be
matched to existing information in the Site Referral function of the DCIS II Child Care Sub system. If the provider
selected has a contract with DSS, this provider will be listed in the DCIS II under the Site Referral section. Access
these providers t hrough their s ite ID# or s ite se arch. Finally, if p arent/caretakers p arents/caretakers u se a
certificate and they select a contracted provider, consider this as contracted care even though the parent/caretaker
used a certificate.

C. When parents/caretakers wish to self-arrange child care, ensure the parent submits the information on the
Self-Arranged Provid er Ag reement and  Registra tion Fo rm. When parents/caretakers w ish t o a rrange c ertificate
child c are, ensure the p arent s ubmits the  infor mation on th e Child Care Certific ate Provider Ag reement an d
Registration Form. Send th e appropriate form to the Child C are Monitor for CCMIS proce ssing. The monitor will
notify the Case Manager when the information is data entered.

D. When the monitor notifies the Case Manager that data has been entered in CCMIS, enter effective and
expiration dates on the authorization. Effective dates will always start when service is due to begin. In most cases,
service will begin either the same day the authorization is completed or on a date in the near future. However, there
may be occasions when service will begin prior to the actual date of the child care interview.

EXAMPLE 1: The TANF parent who self -initiates a Food S tamp Employment & Training (FS E& T) training or
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education co mponent. In this ca se, m ake the au thorization e ffective as of the date  the p arent st arted the
component activity if the parent needed child care for the activity and was financially eligible.

EXAMPLE 2: When a Child Care Case Manager receives a protective referral from Family Services after child care
services have already started.

The ending date for the authorization period means the last day for which Case Managers can authorize care.
The authorization period can not exceed the recertification date. This is for all categories of care.

As noted above, the ending date will always be the last day of the month of the authorization period.
E. Ensur e tha t service is au thorized o nly for  th e d ays and ho urs tha t p arent/caretakers parents/caretakers

actually need care. Therefore, only enter the following on the DCIS II Child Care Authorization Detail screens. 
1. the appropriate number of days per week that p arent/caretakers parents/caretakers will need care, for

example 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 days;
2. the appropriate type of ca re needed, half-day (P), full-day (X), day and a half (T), or two full d ays (D)

(supervisory approval is necessary for T and D care);
3. whether absent days are paid (absent days correspond to the  number of autho rized days, however,

when care is self-arranged, DSS pays only for the days the child attends care). If a client is authorized for 7 days s/
he does not receive paid absent days;

4. whether extended care is authorized; and
5. whether school care is authorized.

F. The remaining fields (Category, Waive Fee Reason, Family Size, and Family Income) of the authorization
screen are system completed, depending upon the information previously entered. Press the appropriate key t o
post the authorization in the system. Click th e ‘save’ button. Complete separate authorizations if there are more
children who need care.

All child care services must be au thorized before parents/caretakers can receive subsidized child care. Parents/
caretakers can choose any provider who is either licensed, licensed exempt or self arranged. No parent/caretaker
can receive POC funds to provide child care services to their own children in a home or any other child care facility
where the parent/caretaker provides direct care to that child. These parents may be able to get [another type of]
child care [assistance if their children are placed in another child care setting].

Authorizations always start after service has been approved. The exact date is selected by the parent/caretaker. An
authorization ends on the last day of the month of the authorization period. At no time can the authorization period
exceed the review date. Child care may be authorized only for the days and hours that parents/caretakers need
care. The types of care that can be authorized are part time (P), full day (X), day and a half (T) and double time (D)
which is two  days. All licen sed and licensed exempt child care providers can receive up to five (5 ) absent days,
depending on the number of da ys the child is a uthorized to  attend. Children in  se lf arranged care and children
authorized for seven (7) days do not receive absent days.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Child Care Subsidy Program

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware H ealth and Social Serv ices (“Dep artment”) / Division of Soc ial Serv ices in itiated p roceedings to
provide information of pu blic in terest with respect to the Child Care Subsidy Program regarding Overpayments.
The Department’s proceedings were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code  Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.
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The Department published its notice of public comment pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10115 in the
July 20 10 Delaware Register of Regulations, r equiring wr itten ma terials a nd su ggestions fr om the pu blic
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by July 31, 2010 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGES

The proposed change described below amends Child Care Subsidy Program policies in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Overpayments. 

Statutory Authority
45 CFR §98.11, Administration under contracts and agreements

Summary of Proposed Changes
DSSM 11005.4, 11005.4.1, 11005.4.2 and 11005.4.3 [Reserved], Child Care Overpayments: The purpose of

this rule change is to clarify current policy guidelines regarding overpayments and to remove the examples. The
original text is also reformatted to simplify language and improve readability. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GAC EC) and the State Counc il for Persons with
Disabilities ( SCPD) offered th e follo wing ob servation an d r ecommendation summarized b elow. DSS has
considered each comment and responds as follows.

First, the in troduction, last sentence, reads as follows: “Each in  the  adult chil d care household is liable for
repayment of the overpayment.” There is ostensibly a word missing from the sentence. Alternatively, perhaps the
sentence was intended to read as follows: “Each adult in the child care household is liable for overpayment.” Apart
from the wording, we have multiple substantive concerns with the concept embodied in the sentence. 

Agency Response: DSS thanks you for your recommendation and will revise the sentence to read as follows:
“Each adult in the child care household is liable for the overpayment.”

A. There is no de finition of “child ca re household”. Th ere a re r eferences to “ a fa mily” [§ §11003.6,
11003.7.2, and 11003.9]. In particular, §11003.9.3 recites as follows:

The people whose needs and income are considered together comprise the de finition of family size.
Family size is the basis upon which DSS looks at income to determine a family’s financial eligibility and
the child care parent fee.

Imposing liability on everyone in an undefined “household” will predictably result in confusion and fair hearings.
Agency Response: The Division thanks you for your response however, the definition of “family size and child

care household,” are synonymous. The same people in the “family,’ and the child care household, are defined as
the people whose needs and income comprise the definition of family size. Th erefore, these same people along
with their income make up the “child care household.”  

B. Section 11003.9.4 identifies minor parents as separate eligibility units under the program “even if they
live with their leg al g uardian o r parents”. Th ere is so me “ tension” b etween the regulatory e stablishment o f a
separate eligibility unit for minor p arents and the rec ital that “ each in the ...household is liable for overp ayment.
The co-habiting le gal guardian or gr andparent of child ren ser ved in the  p rogram sho uld no t be liable for
overpayments. Moreover, the legal basis for imposing liab ility of other non-applicant co-habiting persons is also
questionable.

Agency Response: DSS thanks you for your response.  DSS does not permit dependent minors to apply
for be nefits on  their  own. Th e r esponsible adult(s) in  th e h ome must sign a ny ap plication. As such, they  t ake
responsibility for any overpayments that occur subsequent to that application. 

C. There is a lack of due process if everyone in a “household” is liable for an overpayment while notice
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and opportunity for hearing is only offered to the parent/caretaker under §11005.4.2. 
Agency Response: The ho usehold issu e is addressed in the responses abo ve. In the case of a

responsible adult signing the application for a min or parent the notice and opportunity for hearing is sent to that
adult. The notifications are not sent to the minor.

Second, in the last paragraph in the regulation, the term “over payments” should be “overpayments”. 
Agency Response: DSS has reviewed your comments and agrees with your recommendation. The term,

“over payments,” will be changed to “overpayments.”

Third, DSS is eliminating all examples from the regulation. We encourage the Division to reconsider the value
or retaining the examples. Much of the State workforce is ag ing and retiring. New DSS emp loyees would benefit
from the examples which provide easily-understood guidance reflecting long-term practice. 

Agency Response: The ex amples were re moved from the policy be cause wit h th e p olicy rewritten fo r
clarification, there is no need for them. Over time the examples become inaccurate and misleading. The DSS has
plans to provide a compilation of examples for staff use outside of the policy manual.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the July 2010 Register of Regulations should
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED , tha t the p roposed r egulation to  a mend the Child Care Su bsidy Program
policies regarding Child Care Overpayments is adopted and shall be final effective September 10, 2010.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #10-38
REVISIONS:

11005.4 Child Care Overpayments

45 CFR 98.11

A child care overpayment occurs when DSS pays providers for more child care service than parents/caretakers are
eligible to receive. The overpayment may result because of agency or parent/caretaker error.

EXAMPLE 1: A Case Manager incorrectly enters parent income informati on resulting in a lower parent fee. After
several months, the Case Manager realizes the mistake. Because DSS has already made payment to the provider,
the Case Manager must process this change as an overpayment.

EXAMPLE 2: A p arent reports income of $500.00 for a family  size of three. However , after several months, the
Case Manager discovers income actually was $750.00. The lower income resulted in the parent paying a smaller
fee than the parent should have paid. Because DSS has already made payment to the provider, the Case Manager
must process this change as an overpayment.

The CCMIS will not process changes to an authorization for a prior period of time through the Correct Transactions
function when the result is negative. A negative change means parents/caretakers receive less service because of
a change in circumstances; for example, the change results in the parent paying a higher fee. In these situations,
process an overpayment, using the child care overpayment notice and complete a Change Authorization to correct
the error for future authorizations.

DSS is to attempt recovery in all cases of suspected fraud, in all cases involving current recipients, and in all cases
where the overpayment amount would equal or exceed the costs of recovery.
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11005.4.1Determine the Overpayment Amount

Determine the amount of the overpayment by:

A. subtracting the difference between what DSS paid the provider versus what DSS should have paid, or

B. subtracting the difference between the fee the parent paid and the fee the parent should have paid.

EXAMPLE: A child over age two in a center is paid $13.00/day or $299.00 ($13.00 x 23 days) for a full month
of child care. The parent paid no fee; DSS paid the full fee. However, the parent should have paid a fee amounting
to $1.00/day. DSS should have paid $12.00/day if the parent paid $1.00/day fee, or $276.00 monthly. 

$299.00 DSS paid
 276.00 DSS should have paid
 23.00 Overpayment

If th is over payment con tinued for  six m onths, the  to tal o verpayment is $1 38.00. The Ca se Ma nager must
complete an overpayment notice, noting the amount of the overpayment and the child care category under which
the child received service.

DCIS provides case ma nagers with  a ccess to the Claims Management func tion of  the CCMIS to assist in
determining th e ov erpayment a mount. Access is limit ed to  child tr ansactions and is  inquiry only . The Claims
Management function provides access to the actual provider payment.

11005.4.2Overpayment Notices

Once the overpayment amount is determined, complete an overpayment notice in detail. Submit the notice to the
supervisor who will check it for accuracy.

Send the original notice to the parent/caretaker and, after waiting 10 days, send a copy to the Audit and Recovery
Unit. Audit and Recovery are responsible for establishing repayment agreements with parents/caretakers and for
collecting and tracking payments on overpayment debts.

To provide parent/caretakers who disagree with the overpayment amount the opportunity to request a fair hearing,
wait 10  days before send ing the co py of th e over payment n otice to  Audit and  Re covery. Th is allo ws p arents/
caretakers with an opportunity to contact case managers to possibly resolve the matter before intervention by Audit
and Recovery.

11005.4.3Role of Audit and Recovery

Collection of the overpayment by Audit and Recovery follows current policy as noted in DSSM 7000. Note that DSS
can only recoup child care payments from child care benefits. Any attempt to recover child care overpayments from
AFDC benefits can only occur if there is a voluntary request from the recipient family. The recipient family can only
make such a voluntary request if the child care they were receiving was Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS
E&T) -AFDC Child Care, At-Risk, or Transitional Child Care.

In ad dition to est ablishing repayment agreements and overseeing the colle ction of over payments, Audit an d
Recovery als o i nvestigate overpayments for  suspicion of fraud. Case man agers will  not make fr aud
determinations, but in cases where they suspect fraud, they should notify Audit and Recovery of their suspicions.

The Provider Administrator, along with Child Care Monitors, will continue to assume responsib ility for situations
involving provider overpayments.

A child care overpayment occurs when DSS pays for more child care service than parents/caretakers are eligible to
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receive. Overpayments may be the result of an agency, provider or parent/caretaker action.

DHSS will attempt recovery in all cases of suspected fraud, in all cases involving current recipients, and in all cases
where the overpayment amount would equal or exceed the costs of recovery. Each [adult] in the [adult] child care
household is lia ble f or re payment of th e overpayment. [In ins tances wher e a legal guardian or  p arent is
required to sign the child care application, the legal guardian(s) or the parent(s) in the home is responsible
for t he overpayment even t hough t he p arent(s) or gu ardian(s) is n ot technically p art of  th e c hild care
household.]

11005.4.1 Determining the Overpayment Amount
To determine the amount of the overpayment subtract the amount that the parent should have paid the provider

from the DSS calculated parent fee. The difference is the overpayment amount.

11005.4.2 Overpayment Notices
Notify parents/caretakers in writing of any overpayment. The overpayment notice will contain:

1. a statement of the client’s right to a fair hearing as provided in DSSM 5300
2. the method by which s/he may request a fair hearing
3. what to do to continue receiving your benefits after requesting a fair hearing
4. a statement that s/he may represent him/herself or that s/he may be represented by counsel or by another

person
5. the reason for the overpayment
6. the amount of the overpayment
7. the overpayment time period
8. the name of the child/ren associated with the overpayment.

DSS can o nly re coup child ca re [over payments overpayments] from child care benefits. Any at tempt t o
recover child ca re overpayments from TANF be nefits can only occu r if there is a vo luntary re quest fro m the
recipient fa mily. Au dit and Re covery Management Se rvices (ARMS) is th e ag ency re sponsible fo r establishing
repayment agreements and the collection of overpayments.

11005.4.3 RESERVED

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 903(e)(1)(c); 903(f)

(7 Del.C. §§903(e)(1)(c); §903(f))
7 DE Admin. Code 3541

Secretary’s Order No.: 2010-F-0025

7 DE Admin. Code 3541 Atlantic Sharks

Date of Issuance: August 16, 2010
Effective Date of the Amendment:  September 11, 2010

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” o r “ DNREC”) the following findi ngs, re asons and con clusions a re entered a s an Order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking proceeding.
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Background and Procedural History

This Or der con siders p roposed r egulations to  ame nd 7 DE Admin. Code 3541, Atlantic Sharks. The
Department’s Division of Fish and Wildlife co mmenced the re gulatory develo pment process with S tart Actio n
Notice 2010-15.  The Dep artment published it s in itial p roposed r egulation Ame ndments in the  Ma y 1, 2 010
Delaware Register of Regulations, a nd held  a public hearing o n Jun e 21 , 201 0.  Th e p ublic h earing r ecord
remained open at that time for public comment through June 30, 2010.  It should be noted that no members of the
public were in  attendance at th e hearing he ld on June 21, 2010, nor was an y pub lic comment received by the
Department at any time concerning this proposed promulgation.

The Department is proposing to a mend Tidal Finfish Regulation 3541 concerning Atlantic Sha rks in o rder to
bring D elaware into compli ance with  the Atla ntic S tates Mar ine Fisheries Co mmission’s (“ ASMFC”) Interstate
Fishery Management Plan (“IFMP”) for Atlantic Coastal Sharks.  The IFMP for Atlantic Coastal Sharks specifies
which gears tha t fishermen are a uthorized to use  in st ate water s on the Atlan tic Coa st.  T he gears tha t are
authorized by A SMFC are hook and line, gill net, trawl net, short-line, pound net and weir.  Presently, Delaware
allows the use of hook and line, troll line, dip net, lift net, push net, cast net, spear or harpoon, haul seine, bag net,
hoop net, fyke net, fish pot, and gill net for use in state waters to harvest food-fish, which includes sharks.  To meet
the requirements of the IFMP, Delaware must restrict the commercial gears that may be used for the harvesting of
Atlantic coastal sharks to hook and line, and gill net.  R ecreational fishermen are restricted to the use of rod and
reel and hand line.  Fishermen with a federal shark permit who are fishing outside of state waters are not restricted
to these  gear type s and ma y la nd shar ks u sing any ge ar that is in accord ance with the r ules an d re gulations
established by NOAA Fisheries.

Additionally, the IFMP for Atlantic Coastal Sharks specifies that a federal Commercial Shark Dealer Permit is
required to b uy and sell an y shark caught in st ate waters.  At the  present time, the State of Dela ware does not
require seafood dealers to have this permit to buy and sell shark caught in state waters.  Again, these modifications
to th e existing sh ark r egulations wo uld br ing Delaware into full complianc e with the IFMP for Atlantic Coas tal
Sharks. 

The Department’s presiding hearing officer, Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated August 6,
2010 ( Report). The Rep ort recommends ce rtain find ings and the  a doption of the  p roposed Ame ndments as
attached to the Report as Appendix A.  

Findings and Discussion

I find that  the proposed Amendments are well-supported by the re cord developed by the Department, and I
adopt the Report to the extent it is consistent with this Order.   The Department’s experts developed the record and
drafted the proposed Amendments.

I find that the Department’s experts in th e Division of Fish and Wildlife fu lly developed the record to support
adoption of these Ame ndments.   With the adoption of this Order, Delaware will (1) allow Delaware to remain in
compliance with the ASMFC Plan for  Coastal Sharks, as well as the la test addendum to the IFMP for Coastal
Shark; and (2) prevent total closure of these fisheries in Delaware by order of the Secretary of Commerce due to
lack of compliance with federal regulations concerning this species.

In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are entered:
1.) The Dep artment has jur isdiction und er its st atutory au thority to  issue  an Or der ado pting these

proposed Amendments as final;
2.) The De partment provided ad equate pu blic notice of the pr oposed Amen dments, and pr ovided the

public with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed Amendments, including at the public hearing held
on June 21, 2010; 

3.) The Department held a pu blic hearing on Jun e 21, 20 10 in or der to co nsider public comment before
making any final decision;

4.) The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its recommended record and the recommended
Amendments as set forth in Appendix A, are adopted to provide additional reasons and findings for this Order;  

5.) The r ecommended Am endments sh ould be  ado pted a s fin al r egulation Am endments becau se
Delaware will be able to (1 ) remain in compliance wit h the aforementioned Fish ery Management Plan for this
species, as implemented by the ASMF C; (2) prevent total closure of th ese fisheries in Delaware by o rder of the
Secretary o f Commerce due to l ack of compliance with fed eral regulations concerning this species; and, lastly,
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because (3) the amendments are well supported by documents in the record; 
6.) The Department sha ll su bmit this Or der ap proving th e final  regulation to the  Delaware Register of

Regulations for public ation in its ne xt ava ilable issue, and provide such other no tice as th e law and  regulation
require and the Department determines is appropriate. 

Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

3541 Atlantic Sharks 

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 Definitions:
“Fillet” shall mean to remove slices of fish flesh, of ir regular size and shape, from the carcass by cuts made

parallel to the backbone.
“Land or Landing” shall mean to put or cause to go on shore from a vessel.
“Management Unit” shall mean any of the non-sandbar large coastal species, small coastal species, pelagic

species and prohibited species of  sharks or parts thereof defined in th is regulation. Smooth dogfish
(Mustelus canus), although they are a species of shark, are not presently part of the management unit
as defined above, and are not subject to minimum size or daily harvest restirctions. They are subject to
the provisions of Regulation 3541, Sections 3.0 and 4.0.

“Non-Sandbar Large Coastal Species” shall mean any of the following species of sharks or parts thereof:
Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran
Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini
Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zyqaena
Nurse shark, Ginglymostoma cirratum
Blacktip shark, Carcharhinus limbatus
Bull shark, Carcharhinus leucas
Lemon shark, Neqaprion brevirostris
Silky shark, Carcharhinus falciformis
Spinner shark, Carcharhinus brevipinna
Tiger shark, Galeocerdo cuvieri

“Pelagic Species” shall mean any of the following species of sharks or parts thereof:
Porbeagle shark, Lamna nasus
Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus
Blue shark, Prionace qlauca
Oceanic whitetip shark, Carcharhinus longimanus
Thresher shark, Alopias vulpinus

“Prohibited Species” shall mean any of the following species of sharks or parts thereof:
Basking shark, Cetorhinidae maximus
White shark, Carcharodon carcharias
Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai
Sand tiger, Odontaspis taurus
Whale shark, Rhincodon typus
Bignose shark, Carcharhinus altimus
Caribbean reef shark, Carcharhinus perezi
Dusky shark, Carcharhinus obscurus
Galapagos shark, Carcharhinus galapaqensis
Narrowtooth shark, Carcharhinus brachyurus
Night shark, Carcharhinus siqnatus
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Atlantic angel shark, Squatina dumerili
Caribbean sharpnose shark, Rhizoprionodon porosus
Smalltail shark, Carcharhinus porosus
Bigeye sixgill shark, Hexanchus vitulus
Sevengill shark, Heptranchias perlo
Sixgill shark, Hexanchus griseus
Longfin mako, Isurus paucus
Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus

"Sandbar shark" shall mean Carcharhinus plumbeus
"Shore fishing" shall mean any fishing that does not take place on board a vessel. The terms "shore fishing"

and "shore angler" are synonymous.
“Small Coastal Species” shall mean any of the following species of sharks or parts thereof:

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo
Atlantic sharpnose shark, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae
Blacknose shark, Carcharhinus acronotus
Finetooth shark, Carcharhinus isodon

3 DE Reg. 1088 (02/01/00)
12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to land, purchase, trade, barter, or possess or attempt to land, purchase, 
trade, barter, or possess a prohibited species.

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to possess the fins from any shark in the management unit prior to 
landing said shark unless said fins are naturally attached to the body of said shark.

4.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to fish for any shark while in state waters with any fishing equipment or 
by any method, except:  (1) Hook and Line; (2) Gill Net.

45.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to fillet a shark in the management unit prior to landing said shark. A 
shark may be eviscerated prior to landing said shark, but the head, tail, and fins must remain naturally attached to 
the carcass, except that commercial fishermen may eviscerate and remove the head of any shark reduced to 
possession, but the tail and fins must remain attached to the carcass.

12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)

56.0 It shall be unlawful to release any shark in the management unit in a manner that will not ensure said 
sharks maximum probability of survival.

67.0 It shall be unlawful for the operator of any vessel without a commercial food fishing license to have on 
board said vessel more than one non-prohibited shark per trip from among those species in the management unit, 
regardless of the number of people on board the vessel. In addition each recreational angler fishing from a vessel 
may harvest and possess one bonnethead, and one Atlantic sharpnose shark per trip.

7.1 It shall be un lawful fo r an y sha rk ca ught in state waters to b e bou ght an d sold with out a fed eral
Commercial Shark Dealer Permit.

1 DE Reg. 345 (10/1/97) 
3 DE Reg. 1088 (2/1/00)
8 DE Reg. 1718 (6/1/05)
12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)
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78.0 It shall be unlawful for any person who has been issued a valid commercial food fishing license while on 
board any vessel to possess any non-prohibited shark from among those species in the management unit during 
the remainder of any period after the effective date a commercial quota for that group of sharks has been reached 
in said period or is projected to be reached in said period by the National Marine Fisheries Service, National 
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and the U.S. Department of Commerce. Further, it shall be unlawful for 
any person who has been issued a valid commercial food fishing license while on board any vessel to possess any 
non-sandbar large coastal sharks, small coastal sharts, or pelagic sharks in exesss of current federal daily harvest 
limits administered by the National Marine Fisheries Service.

12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)

89.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in a directed commercial fishery for a prohibited species.

910.0 It shall be unlawful for the operator of any vessel without a commercial foodfishing license to have on 
board said vessel any non-prohibited shark from among those species in the management unit that measures less 
than 54 inches, fork length (tip of snout to indentation between dorsal and ventral tail lobes), with the exception of 
Atlantic sharpnose, blacknose, finetooth, bonnethead, and smooth dogfish sharks, for which no minimum size limit 
applies.

3 DE Reg. 1088 (2/1/00)
1 DE Reg. 850 (1/1/98)
1 DE Reg. 1005 (2/1/98)
12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)

1011.0 It shall be unlawful for any shore angler without a commercial foodfishing license to take and reduce to 
possession any non-prohibited shark from among those species in the management unit less than 54 inches, with 
the exception of Atlantic sharpnose, blacknose, finetooth, bonnethead, and smooth dogfish sharks, for which no 
size limit applies.

12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)

1112.0 It shall be unlawful for any shore angler without a commercial foodfishing license to take and reduce to 
possession more than one non-prohibited shark from among those species in the management unit per day (a day 
being 24 hours). Recreational shore anglers may also harvest one additional bonnethead, and one additional 
Atlantic sharpnose shark per day.

8 DE Reg. 1718 (6/1/05)
12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)

1213.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational or commercial fisherman to possess silky, tiger, blacktip, spinner, 
bull, lemon, nurse, scalloped hammerhead, great hammerhead, and smooth hammerhead sharks from May 15 
through July 15, regardless of where the shark was caught. Fishermen who catch any of these species in federal 
waters may not transport them through Delaware state waters during the aforementioned closed season.

12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)

1314.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational or commercial fisherman to land or possess any sandbar sharks, 
except for a commercial fisherman in possession of a valid sandbar shark research permit issued by the National 
Marine Fisheries Service. There must be a qualified observer aboard any vessel that lands and possesses sandbar 
sharks fishing under the auspices of a valid federal research permit.

12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)

1415.0 It shall unlawful for any Delaware recreational or commercial fisherman to land or possess any species of 
shark in state waters that is illegal to catch or land or possess in federal waters. Presently it is unlawfil for 
recreational fishermen to take and possess silky sharks in federal waters at any time of the year.
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12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)

1516.0 The Department may grant anyone permission to take and possess sharks that would otherwise be illegal 
to take and possess when used for display and/or research purposes. Applicants will need a current State of 
Delaware scientific collecting permit. Applicants must annually report the number, weight, species, location caught, 
and gear used for each shark collected for research or display purposes, and the annual disposition of said sharks 
throughout the life of each shark so taken. The Division reserves the right to place limits on or deny any request to 
take prohibited species of sharks under the auspices of a scientific collecting permit.

8 DE Reg. 1718 (06/01/05)
12 DE Reg. 1517 (06/01/09)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF PLANNING

Statutory Authority: 17 Delaware Code, Sections 132, 137 and 149; 29 Delaware Code, Section 
8404 (17 Del.C. §§132, 137 & 149 29 Del.C. §8404)

2 DE Admin. Code 2311

ORDER

2311 Long-Term Lease Policies and Practices

Background

The Delaware Department of T ransportation (DelDOT) , through its Division o f Planning, proposed to adopt
regulations to manage its real estate leasing practices and policies.

On oc casion, c ircumstances involvin g p arcels of la nd un der DelDOT’s co ntrol ma y p resent an  ap propriate
opportunity for leasing, as a means of managing the Department’s property assets until they are either needed for
implementation of th e State’s tr ansportation pr ogram, or  are de termined to  be n o lo nger ne cessary for such
purposes, and made available for disposition under the provisions of 17 Del.C. Section 137.

Public Comment Period

The Department took written comments on the proposed changes to its regulations regarding leasing policies
and practices from July 1, 2010 through July 31, 2010. The proposed regulations were published in the Delaware
Register in the July 2010 issue, Volume 14, on page 21.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

Four comments were received, for which the comments and the Department’s responses are set forth below:

1. When someone leases DelDOT property and is going to develop it, it should be a part of the lease, that the
Lessee be the re sponsible party for an y and all maintenance of s torm water s tructures that may be required. I t
would appear DelDOT could be further burden to provide yearly maintenance inspections, review site plans , and
general responsibility should the Lessee default on the lease.

Response: It generally would only be under a long term lease that anyone would develop our property to
the point a sto rm water management pond would be r equired. In the  future we wou ld not lease the property to
anyone who would be using our land solely for the placement of a storm water pond on our property rather than
their own, or  a llow a ny str uctures to b e p laced on  ou r leased lan d that co uld result in DelDOT becoming
responsible for the maintenance and repair of such structure.

2. When the new Policy mentions using a licensed appraiser, can a De lDOT staff member be tha t licensed
appraiser?
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Response:  No. While DelDOT has qualified staff members who could determine the rental values, it was
felt that an independent valuation would be the best way to go.

3. When there is  a potential econ omic development opportunity, how will the reduced value rent be
determined?

Response: The Leasee would advise DelDOT and D EDO of the rent al they w ould be willing to p ay and
DEDO will determine the merit of the rent reduction based on the factors it determines warrants a rental reduction

4. The Department cannot accept less than 85% of the approved market value rent and all bids shall begin at
that rent. The FHWA has responded that this would be contrary to federal law that st ates if lands acquired using
title 23 funds, DelDOT must receive market value for the property.

Response: The 85% rental acceptance should be removed in favor of developing a fair market value rental
range. On matters pertaining to social, environmental or economic rent reduction DelDOT must clearly show that
an exem ption is in  the o verall pu blic inter est fo r so cial, e nvironmental or  econo mic pu rposes; n onproprietary
governmental use or us es under 23 U. S.C.142 (f) Public T ransportation. Our Real est ate manual will reflect the
criteria for evaluating leasing at less than fair market value. The Department also suggests changing the text of the
proposed regulation to note that the FHWA will accept a fair market lease range. In addition, if the D epartment
receives a bid for less than fair market value for a property orig inally obtained with Federal aid, then it will request
permission from the FHWA to lease the property at less than fair market value.

Findings of Fact

Based on the record in this docket, I make the following findings of fact:

1. The p roposed ame ndments to th e Department’s re gulations, to pr ovide for rules re garding it s pr operty
leasing policies and procedures, are useful and proper, and should be adopted as or iginally proposed during the
comment period process required under the Administrative Procedures Act, except as described in the response to
comment 4 above, and as shown in bold text in the adopted regulation text below.

2. The adoption of these proposed regulations is in the best interests of the State of Delaware.

Decision and Effective Date

Based on the provisions of Delaware law and the record in this docket, I hereby adopt the Leasing Policies and
Practices regulations, as set forth in the version attached hereto, to be effective on September 21, 2010.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 18th day of August, 2010.

Carolann Wicks, Secretary, Delaware Department of Transportation

2311 Long-Term Lease Policies and Practices

1.0 Long-Term Leases
Any future lease of [DelDOT Department]-owned pr operty fo r a ter m of five ( 5) yea rs or  more
inclusive of any r enewal op tion sha ll be deemed a "long-term lease", and DelDOT  shall follow the
regulation below to determine the value of the leasehold interest. This regulation shall not apply to any
leaseback tran sactions; i.e. any lea se by and between DelDOT  and the  owner /tenant in lega l
occupancy on the date the property was originally acquired by DelDOT.

2.0 Competitive Sealed Bid Process
Unless DelDOT seeks to proceed under 3.0 below, DelDOT will provide an oppor tunity for parties to
publicly bid on the lease of the property through a competitive sealed bid process.  DelDOT shall retain
the right to rejec t all bids. Notice  of the proposed leasin g will be advertised at least twenty (20) days
prior to bid opening in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the parcel is located.
Conspicuous notice sh all also be displa yed on the property in question at least 20 days prior to bid
opening. The second notice  will be published approxim ately ten (10) days  prior to bid opening in a
newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the parcel is loc ated. [DelDOT Department]
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shall offer the property for lease [beginning] at not less than [85 percent of] the [lowest] approved
market value  [rent range] established by a licensed [fee] appraiser.

3.0 Economic and Civic/Benevolent Purpose Consideration.
3.1 In the event DelDOT should be asked by a party or otherwise consider entering into a long-term lease

for economic development c onsideration or civic/benevolent purposes, DelDOT w ill first determine
market valu e r ent through a licensed ap praiser. For pu rposes of this r egulation, an economic
development or civic/benevolent purpose proposal is defined as changes to material conditions under
the lease that result in less direct monetary value to DelDOT in exchange for the development of jobs,
economic g rowth an d/or the fu rtherance of a ci vic/benevolent purpose. Th e pu rpose of this valu e
determination is to allow for a fair, thorough and transparent consideration of the proposed incentive or
grant being considered.

3.2 In cases where the request  inv olves a p otential e conomic de velopment op portunity, De lDOT, a fter
making the value determination referenced above, shall refer the matter to the Delaware Economic
Development Of fice  ( "DEDO") for  its determination of whether the economic development benefits
justify the value  of the  reduced lease.  To the extent DEDO r ecommends moving  forwa rd with the
lease transaction, DEDO and DelDOT shall first present such proposal to the Council on Development
Finance ("CDF") fo r CDF revie w an d ap proval, following the re quired notice pr ovisions for CDF
proceedings.  In addition, DelDOT shall provide conspicuous notice on the property in question at least
20 day prior to the CDF meeting where the proposal is considered.  If approved by the CDF, DelDOT
may enter into the lease agreement on the condition that the nature of the lease, terms of rent and
other m aterial co nditions are consistent with  the recommendations o f DEDO and approval o f CDF.
DelDOT will continue to manage the properties during the lease term.

3.3 In the cases where the request involves a po tential civic o r other benevolent purpose, DelDOT sha ll
hold a public meeting in the general vicinity of property in question.  The notice shall clearly state the
proposed lessee, the proposed lease term, the estimated value of the reduced lease terms and such
notice will be advertis ed at least twenty (20) days prior to the hearing in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the parcel is located.  Conspicuous notice shall also be displayed on
the property in question at leas t 20 day s pri or to bid opening. A second notice will be published
approximately ten (10) days prior to bid opening in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in
which the parcel is located.  In addition, DelDOT shall notify in writing and seek input from the elected
State Representative and Senator of the district where the property is located.  Upon conclusion of the
hearing and a period of 10 days for additional written comments, the Secretary will determine whether
or not DelDOT will lease the property as proposed.

4.0 General Policies Governing Long-Term Leases of DelDOT Owned Property
4.1 Form leases shall be prepared by in-house legal counsel.
4.2 All long-term leases or modifications thereof shall require the review of in-house legal counsel and the

signature of the Secretary or the Secretary's designee.
[4.3 If Federal a id wa s us ed to acquire t he property s uggested f or le ase, DelDOT will request

permission from the FHWA to lease the property at less than fair market rental value, if no bids
are received in any higher amount.]
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER TWENTY

RE: IN OBSERVANCE OF WAR HERO AND DELAWARE FARMER ROBERT ‘BOB’ MINNER, JR.

WHEREAS, Bob Minner has remained dedicated to Delaware agriculture since he started farming near Houston,
Delaware with his father in the 1950s until the advent of the Vietnam War; and

WHEREAS, following the Vietnam War, Bob Minner chose to return to his Delaware roots and to the present day,
Bob Minner continuously farmed more than 400 acres where he produced First Rate From the First State; and

WHEREAS, because quality  farmland is es sential to the produc tivity and sust ainability of Delaw are agriculture,
Bob Minner and his family ar e actively engaged in permanently preserving their farmland as a le gacy for future
generations; and

WHEREAS, in 1970, Bob Minner entered into a more than 40-year d irect store delivery relationship with Acme
Markets in the region through which he helped establish a clear connection between the agriculture community of
Delaware and the food Delawareans put on their tables by providing a large volume of produce from his own fields,
such as watermelons, cantaloupes, squash, pumpkins and gourds, to the markets; and

WHEREAS, over the course of  these 40 years, Bob  Minner helped his  fe llow De laware farmers by purchasing
produce from them, $75,000-80,000 annually, for direct store delivery to Acme Markets; and

WHEREAS, the success of the great heritage of Delaware agriculture through the years depended on men and
women with Bob Minner’s knowledge and education.

Now, Therefore, We, Jack A. Markell, Governor, and Matthew Denn, Lieutenant Governor, do he reby
declare August 12, 2010 Bob Minner Day in the State of Delaware and urge all Delawareans to follow his example
of courage, dedication and hard work.

Jack A. Markell,
Governor

http://governor.delaware.gov/orders/index.shtml
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Dela ware River  Basin Comm ission will  hold a pub lic hearing an d bu siness meeting on  Wednesday,
September 15, 2010 beginning at 10: 30 a.m. The meeting will be held at the West T renton V olunteer Fire
Company, W est Uppe r Ferry Roa d, W est T renton, NJ.  Fo r m ore in formation, visit the DRBC web site at
www.drbc.net or  contact Pamela M. Bush, Esq., Commission Secretary and Assis tant General Counsel, at  609
883-9500 extension 203.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRIGULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaw are Harness Racing  Co mmission, pu rsuant to  3 Del.C. §10 005, pro poses to cha nge it s Rule
7.6.6.7.7. The Commission will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule changes on October 12, 2010. Please
note this date has been changed from the previous posting of August 10, 2010.)

Written comments sho uld b e sent to  Hu gh J. Gallagher, Admin istrator of Harness Racing, Dep artment of
Agriculture, 2320 S. D uPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901. W ritten comments will be acc epted for thirty (30) days
from the date of publication in the Register of Regulations on September 1, 2010.

The proposed ch anges a re for the purpose o f updating the Rules a nd to m ore a ccurately reflect cur rent
policies, pr actices a nd p rocedures. Copies a re pu blished on line at th e Register of Regulations we bsite: http://
regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml

A copy is also available for inspection at the Harness Racing Commission office.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday , August 20, 2010 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

School-Based Wellness Center Clinic Services
PUBLIC NOTICE

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - T itle 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) with 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512,
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is amending
the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to update the reimbursement methodology for School-Based Wellness Center
Clinic Services.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4454 by September 30, 2010.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
908 Freedom of Information Requests

PUBLIC NOTICE

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER KAREN WELD IN STEWART, CIR-ML hereby gives notice of intent to adopt
Department of Insurance Regulation 908 relating to requests from the public for information under the Freedom of
Information Act.  The docket number for this proposed amendment is 1379.

The purpose of the proposed Regulation 908 is to establish procedures for providing information requested by
the public and guaranteeing that information that is provided can be provided and, if so , is provided in a ti mely
fashion. The text of the proposed regulation is reproduced in the September 2010 edition of the Delaware Register
of Regulations. The text can also be  viewed at th e De laware In surance Commission er’s we bsite at: http://
www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to ho ld a public hearing on the p roposed changes.  Any person
can file  wr itten comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations o f data or  other materials concerning the p roposed
amendments.  Any writ ten submission in re sponse to this notice and relevant to th e proposed changes must be
received by th e De partment of Insur ance no  later th an 4:00  p .m., Monday Octo ber 4 , 20 10, and sho uld be
addressed to Mitch  Crane, Esqu ire, Delaware Department o f Insurance, 841 Silver  Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE
19904, or sent by fax to 302.739.2021 or email to mitch.crane@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

REGISTER NOTICE

Under Section 112(k) of the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments, Congress mandated that the EPA identify 30 or
more hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) that posed the greatest threat to public health in urban areas, to identify the
small area sources that emit those HAPs, and to develop regulations to reduce the emissions of those HAPs.  In
1999, the EPA identified 33 HAPs that posed the greatest threat to public health and has, since that time, identified
over 60 new area source categories for which regulations are being developed.

On December 2, 2009, the EPA promulgated another of these ar ea source category standards that will affect
existing and fu ture Delaware sources, th e ar ea so urce standard for  asp halt p rocessing a nd asphalt r oofing
products manufacturing operations under 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart AAAAAAA.

Delaware is proposing to amend Regulation 1138 by adding a new Section 16 that covers asphalt processing
and asphalt roofing products manufacturing operations.  The purpose of this proposed amendment is to provide
increased protection for Delaware citizens against a variety of potential adverse health effects linked to a long term
exposure to po lycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, PAHs.  L ung cancer is th e primary concern.  Seven  of the P AHs
have been classified as Group B2, probable human carcinogens by EPA.  The proposed amendment will provide
greater consistency b etween Delawar e’s a ir toxics standards fo r the se typ es of op erations a nd the r ecently
promulgated federal standard (40 CFR Part 63 Subpart AAAAAAA) on which this proposed amendment is heavily
based.  In addition, this amendment proposes to include a more health protective requirement that currently exists
in similar area source air toxics standards found in Regulation 1138 and other Delaware air regulations.

Statements a nd te stimony ma y be presented eithe r o rally or in wr iting a t a  pu blic he aring to be  he ld on
Wednesday, September 22, 2010 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC’s Grantham Lane Conference Room, 715
Grantham La ne, New Castle , DE.  Inter ested parties may submit comments in wr iting to: Jim Sn ead, DNREC
Division of Air Quality, 715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720.
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL AFFAIRS

100 Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Histor ic Pre servation Tax Cred it Act (3 0 Del.C. Ch. 1 8, Su bch. II ) was first en acted by th e Gen eral
Assembly in 2001 and was amended in 2002, 2003, 2004, and 2005.  Program regulations were adopted on July
11, 2002 (6 DE Reg. 108 published 07/01/02), and were amended on July 11, 2004 (8 DE Reg. 194 published on
07/01/04) and on January11, 2005 (8 DE Reg. 1031 published 01/01/05).  The 2010 amendments to the legislation
provide for a ten-year extension to the Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act, sets aside a portion of the annual cap
for projects which will receive a credit award under $300,000 and provides for the Delaware Department of State to
report a nnually to the Governor a nd th e Le gislature. Th e pu rpose o f the  followin g pr oposed regulatory
amendments is to implement the code changes of 2010 and to clar ify various sections of the regulations.  The
proposed amendments address the changes to the way in which credits are awarded under this program in section
7.6, and address the new reporting requirements in §10.0.  As to the clarification of the regulations, the proposed
amendments modify 31 sections of the regulations (1.0, 3.0, 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4, 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, 5.4, 5.5, 5.6, 5.7, 5.8,
5.9, 5.10, 5.11, 6.1, 6.2, 6.3, 6.4, 6.5, 6.6, 7.0, 7.1, 7.2, 8.2, 8.3, 9.1, 9.3, 9.4), and create nine new sections of the
regulations (4.5, 5.4, 5.9, and 7.1- 7.6). The Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act is designed to promote community
revitalization and redev elopment through the rehabilit ation of his toric property by providing t ax c redits for
expenditures made to rehabilitate any certified historic property. 

PLEASE T AKE NOTICE , p ursuant to  29  Del.C., Ch. 101, the Division of His torical and Cultural Af fairs
proposes to ame nd rules and regulations pursuant to  its authority under 30 Del.C. §1815(b).  The Division will
receive an d consid er a ll written comments on the proposed rules and regulations re lated to imp lementation of
amendments to the Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act.  Submit comments to the Div ision in care of Timothy A.
Slavin, Director, Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, 21 The Green, Dover, DE 19901. The final date to submit
comments is September 30, 2010.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed amendments to the rules and
regulations should notify Timothy A. Slavin at the above address or call 302-736-7400. This notice will be published
in two newspapers of general circulation.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
Gaming Control Board

101 Regulations Governing Bingo
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Gaming Board will seek public comments on the issue of whether its current Rule 1.0 in 24 DE
Admin. Code 101 should be amended. The rule relates to the definition of “cookie jar bingo” and to the manner of
playing cookie jar bingo games. The Board proposes to change the definition of  “Cookie Jar Bingo” as it appears
therein, to make it clear that the fee to enter to play a cookie jar bingo game must be separately collected and may
not be included in any other fees. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before October 1 to : Delaware Gaming Control Board, 861 Silver  Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 20 3,
Dover, DE 19904. A copy of these regulations is available from the above address or may be viewed at the Division
of Professional Regulation business office at the same address.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
1008 Regulations Governing Requests Made Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act

PUBLIC NOTICE

From time to time, t he D elaware Public Se rvice Co mmission (the  “Commission”) r eceives r equests for
documents pu rsuant to the  Fr eedom of Infor mation Act, 2 9 Del.C. § §10001-10006 (“ FOIA”). Section 10003 of
FOIA states that it is the responsibility of public bodies to establish rules and procedures regarding access to public
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records as well as fees charged for copying such records
The Commission proposes rules and regulations applicable to requests made to the Commission, pursuant to

the Freedom of Information Act, 29  Del.C. §§10001-10006 (“FOIA”), for public records in the po ssession of the
Commission.

If you wish to obtain written copies of the Order and the Proposed FOIA Rules, please contact the PSC at (302)
736-7500.  Copies are $0.25 per page.  Payment is expected prior to copying (if you wish the copies to be mailed)
or at the  time the copies are retrieved ( if you  retrieve them in  person).  You may also download a  copy of the
Proposed FOIA Rules fr om the Se ptember 20 10 issue of th e Register of Regulations (see http://
regulations.delaware.gov/).

The PSC now solicits comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials about the
Proposed FOIA Rules.  If you wish to file any such materials, you should submit an original and ten copies of such
written documents on or before September 30, 2010.  You should file such materials with the PSC at the following
address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Proposed FOIA Rules

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission.  Such
electronic co py m ay b e f iled on  a  co py-capable CD -Rom dis k or  se nt as  an  a ttachment to  an  In ternet e- mail
addressed to joseph.handlon@state.de.us.

If no comments or objections are timely received, the Commission may approve the Proposed FOIA Rules as
final without further proceedings.

Any individual with a disability desiring to participate in these proceedings or to review the filings should contact
the Commission to dis cuss any aux iliary aids or serv ices needed.  The PSC’ s toll-free telephone number within
Delaware is 1-800-282-8574. The PSC m ay b e reached at ( 302) 73 6-7500 (in cluding text telephone
communications).  
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