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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

6 DE Reg. 1541-1542 (06/01/03)

Refers to Volume 6, pages 1541-1542 of the 
Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2003.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an 
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or 
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text 
of such proposals, together with copies of the 
existing regulation being adopted, amended or 
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the 
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the 
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the 
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the 
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of 
the agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will 
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, 
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal 
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice 
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
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materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received;  (4)  The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6) 
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
State Fire Prevention Regulations.......................................................................................... .......... 8  DE Reg.       6 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   416 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

1900 Board of Nursing........................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  377 (Prop.)
2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     16 (Prop.)
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners.................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   218 (Prop.)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork.................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   390 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Rule 8.3.3.5, Erythropietin............................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   329 (Final)
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations..................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   336 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101 Delaware Student Testing Program................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.     17 (Prop.)

  8  DE Reg.   425 (Final)
106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II).......... 8  DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

  8  DE Reg.   431 (Final)
107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance  Appraisal System (DPAS II)...... 8  DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   431 (Final)
108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)........ 8  DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   431 (Final)
260 General Appeal Procedure for the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the

United States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA  .................................................... 8  DE Reg.   221 (Prop.)
501 State Content Standards.......................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     36 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.   445 (Final)
618 (Formerly Reg. 879) School Safety Audit.............................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   344 (Final)
620 (Formerly Reg. 880) School Crisis Response Plans............................................................... 8  DE Reg.   344 (Final)
705 Training Camp and Special Duty in the

National Guard and/or Reserves............................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   396 (Prop.)
706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Service

in the Armed Forces................................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   397 (Prop.)
718 Health Examinations for School District Employees..................................................... 8  DE Reg.     37 (Prop.)

  8  DE Reg.   399 (Prop.)
805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program................................................ 8  DE Reg.     38 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   400 (Prop.)
852 Child Nutrition........................................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   224 (Prop.)
885 Safe Management and Disposal of Surplus Chemicals in the Delaware Public School

System ................................................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   345 (Final)
925 Children with Disabilities....................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   225 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.   402 (Prop.)
1105 School Transportation................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   237 (Final)
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
323 Certification Computer Science Teacher................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   247 (Prop.)
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1533 Foreign Language Teacher Elementary........................................................................ 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)
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1577 (Formerly Reg. 368) Standard Certificate-School Psychologist  ......................................... 8  DE Reg.   448 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Assisted Living Facilities, Regulations for..................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     46 (Prop.)
      8  DE Reg.     85 (Final)

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Regulations Pertaining to the Testing of Newborn Infants for Metabolic, Hematologic

and Endocrinologic Disorders................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   100 (Final)
203 Cancer Treatment Program...................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   107 (Final)
463 Licensing and Registration of Operators of Public Water Supply Systems............. 8  DE Reg.     47 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   453 (Final)
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM)
5311 Notification of Time and Place of Hearing............................................................. 8  DE Reg.   351 (Final)

  8  DE Reg.  376 (Errata)
9068.1 Certification Period Length......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   113 (Final)
20700.5-20700.5.8, Acquired Brain Injury Waiver Program.......................................... 8  DE Reg.   250 (Prop.)
Child Care Subsidy Program: 11002.9 Definitions and Explanation Of Terms; 

11004.4.1 Explanation of Certificates;  11006.4.2 Fee Paying Clients.................... 8  DE Reg.  407 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
301 Audited Financial Reports...................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   252 (Prop.)
504 (Formerly Reg. No. 47) Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines 

Brokers and Consultants......................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   409 (Prop.)
606, (Formerly Reg. No. 31) Proof of Automobile Insurance............................................... 8  DE Reg.     55 (Prop.)
607, (Formerly Reg. No. 37) Defensive Driving Course Discount Automobiles

and Motorcycles...................................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     59 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.   460 (Final)

1404 Long-Term Care Insurance................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   257 (Prop.)
1501 Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards................................................. 8  DE Reg.     62 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   465 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP & TRAINING

Section 106.5, Standards of Apprenticeship................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     65 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.   468 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Green Energy Fund Program Regulation............................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   114 (Final)
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Surface Water Quality Standards.................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   154 (Final)
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Appointments ................................................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   361 (Final)

8  DE Reg.   479 (Final)
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Advisory Group...................................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  477 (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,

Section 133 (16 Del.C. §133)

Nature of the Proceedings

The Delaware Department of Health and Social 
Services ("Department") has determined that a threat to the 
public welfare exists if revision to the Cancer Treatment 
Program Regulations, Section 4.0 Technical Eligibility, is 
not implemented without prior notice or hearing. Failure to 
retroactively (July 1, 2004) update this Section will result in 
delay in treatment and pose an unnecessary health risk to 
minors under 18 years of age, diagnosed with Cancer, who 
are otherwise eligible for benefits under the Cancer 
Treatment Program.

Nature of Proposed Revisions

Revisions indicated by underlined type and strike 
through.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that these changes should be 
made in the best interest of the general public of the State of 
Delaware. The Department will receive, consider and 
respond to petitions by any interested person for the 
reconsideration or revision thereof.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, this 15th day of 
September, 2004, that the proposed revision to the regulation 
be adopted on an emergency basis without prior notice or 
hearing, and shall become effective immediately and 
retroactively to July 1, 2004.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary
Department of Health and Social Services

203 Cancer Treatment Program

1.0 Purpose
The Cancer Treatment Program (CTP) is a program of 

Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS), Division of 
Public Health (DPH), intended to provide medical insurance 
coverage to Delawareans for the treatment of cancer. The 
program serves Delawareans who have no health insurance.

2.0 Availability of Funds
2.1 Benefits will be available to enrollees provided that 

funds for this program are made available to DHSS. 
2.2 In the event that funds are not available, DHSS will 
notify enrollees and providers.

3.0 General application information
3.1 The application must be made in writing on the 

prescribed CTP form. An individual, agency, institution, 
guardian or other individual acting can make this request for 
assistance for the applicant with his knowledge and consent. 
The CTP will consider an application without regard to race, 
color, age, sex, disability, religion, national origin or political 
belief as per State and Federal law.

3.2 Each individual applying for the CTP is requested, 
but not required, to furnish his or her Social Security 
Number. 

3.3 Filing an application gives the applicant the right to 
receive a written determination of eligibility and the right to 
appeal the written determination.

4.0 Technical Eligibility
4.1 The following are required for an adult applicant to 

receive benefits under this program. The adult applicant 
must:

4.1.1 Need treatment for cancer in the opinion 
of the applicant’s licensed physician of record. Cancer 
treatment will not include routine monitoring for pre-
cancerous conditions, or monitoring for recurrence during or 
after remission.

4.1.2 Be a Delaware resident.
4.1.3 Have been a Delaware resident at the time 

cancer was diagnosed.
4.1.4 Have no health insurance. 

4.1.4.1 Examples of health insurance include 
comprehensive, major medical and catastrophic plans, 
Medicare, and Medicaid.

4.1.4.2 Excepted are the following types of 
insurance plans, which do not exclude eligibility for the 
CTP: dental, vision, dismemberment, drug, mental health, 
nursing home, blood bank, workman’s compensation, 
accident, family planning, the Delaware Prescription 
Assistance Program, the Delaware Chronic Renal Disease 
program, and non-citizen medical coverage.

4.1.4.3 The CTP is the payer of last resort and 
will only provide benefits to the extent that they are not 
covered by the plans listed in 4.1.4.2.

4.1.5 Be over the age of 18 years.
4.1.6 Be diagnosed with any cancer on or after 

July 1, 2004, or be receiving benefits for the treatment of 
colorectal cancer through the Division of Public Health’s 
Screening for Life program on June 30, 2004.

4.2 The following are required for a minor (child under 
18 years of age) to receive benefits under this program. The 
minor applicant must:

4.2.1 Need treatment for cancer in the opinion 
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of the applicant’s licensed physician of record. Cancer 
treatment will not include routine monitoring for pre-
cancerous conditions, or monitoring for reoccurrence during 
or after remission.

4.2.2 Be a Delaware resident
4.2.3 Have been a Delaware resident at the time 

cancer was diagnosed.
4.2.4 Be diagnosed with any cancer on or after 

July 1, 2004. Coverage shall be retroactive up to 3 months 
prior to date of application, provided applicant meets 
medical requirements and applicant’s parent(s) or legal 
guardian(s) meet financial eligibility requirements under 5.1. 
In no case will the minor applicant be eligible for benefits 
under this program before July 1, 2004.

4.2.5 The CTP is payer of last resort and will 
only provide benefits to the extent that they are not covered 
by other plans.

4.3 An inmate of a public institution shall be eligible 
for the CTP, provided that the benefits of the CTP are not 
otherwise provided in full or in part. 

4.3.1 For the purposes of the CTP, the 
definitions of public institution and inmate shall be the same 
as used by the Delaware Medicaid program.

4.4 The Medical Assistance Card is the instrument used 
to verify an individual’s eligibility for benefits. Prior to 
rendering services, medical providers are required to verify 
client eligibility using the client’s identification number by 
accessing one of the Electronic Verification Systems (EVS) 
options. Instructions for accessing EVS are described in the 
EVS section of the billing manual.

5.0 Financial Eligibility
5.1 To be eligible for the CTP the applicant must have 

countable household income that is less than 650% of the 
Federal Poverty Level (FPL).

5.2 Income is any type of money payment that is of 
gain or benefit to an individual. Income is either counted or 
excluded for the eligibility determination.

5.3 Countable income includes but is not limited to:
5.3.1 Social Security benefits – as paid after 

deduction for Medicare premium
5.3.2 Pension – as paid
5.3.3 Veterans Administration Pension – as paid
5.3.4 U.S. Railroad Retirement Benefits – as 

paid
5.3.5 Wages – net amount after deductions for 

taxes and FICA Senior Community Service Employment – 
net amount after deductions for taxes and FICA

5.3.6 Interest/Dividends – gross amount
5.3.7 Capital Gains – gross amount from capital 

gains on stocks, mutual funds, bonds.
5.3.8 Credit Life or Credit Disability Insurance 

Payments – as paid
5.3.9 Alimony – as paid

5.3.10 Rental Income from entire dwelling – 
gross rent paid minus standard deduction of 20% for 
expenses

5.3.11 Roomer/Boarder Income – gross room/
board paid minus standard deduction of 10% for expenses

5.3.12 Self Employment – countable income as 
reported to Internal Revenue Service (IRS)

5.3.13 Unemployment Compensation - as paid
5.4 Excluded income includes but is not limited to:

5.4.1 Annuity payments
5.4.2 Individual Retirement Account (IRA) 

distributions
5.4.3 Payments from reverse mortgages
5.4.4 Capital gains from the sale of principal 

place of residence
5.4.5 Conversion or sale of a resource (i.e. 

cashing a certificate of deposit)
5.4.6 Income tax refunds 
5.4.7 Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)
5.4.8 Vendor payments (bills paid directly to a 

third party on behalf of the individual)
5.4.9 Government rent/housing subsidy paid 

directly to individual (i.e. HUD utility allowance)
5.4.10 Loan payments received by individual
5.4.11 Proceeds of a loan
5.4.12 Foster care payments made on behalf of 

foster children living in the home
5.4.13 Retired Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP)
5.4.14 Veterans Administration Aid and 

Attendance payments
5.4.15 Victim Compensation payments
5.4.16 German reparation payments
5.4.17 Agent Orange settlement payments
5.4.18 Radiation Exposure Compensation Trust 

Fund payments
5.4.19 Japanese-American, Japanese-Canadian, 

and Aleutian restitution payments
5.4.20 Payments from long term care insurance 

or for inpatient care paid directly to the individual
5.5 Determination of the household income will be 

based on the family budget group, which is the total number 
of persons whose income is budgeted together. This will 
always include the following:

5.5.1 Married couples if they live together; and,
5.5.2 Unmarried couples who live together as 

husband and wife.
5.5.3 Couples will be considered as living 

together as husband and wife if:
5.5.3.1 They say they are married, even if the 

marriage cannot be verified; or, 
5.5.3.2 They are recognized as husband and 

wife in the community; or,
5.5.3.3 One partner uses the other's last name; 

or,
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 4, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2004



EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 511
5.5.3.4 They state they intend to marry.
5.6 In households that include a caretaker, the 

caretaker's children and other children that are the caretaker's 
responsibility, the caretaker's income and those of his/her 
children are always budgeted together. The income of any 
other children in the home will be considered separately. In 
these situations, the separate budget groups can be combined 
to form a single family budget group only when the 
following conditions are met:

5.6.1 CTP benefits would be denied to any of 
the recipients by maintaining separate budget groups.

5.6.2 The caretaker chooses to have his/her 
income and those of his/her children considered with the 
income of any other people in the home.

6.0 Residency
6.1 A Delaware resident is an individual who lives in 

Delaware with the intention to remain permanently or for an 
indefinite period, or where the individual is living and has 
entered into a job commitment, or seeking employment 
whether or not currently employed. 

6.2 Factors that may be taken into account when 
determining residency are variables such as the applicant’s 
age, location of dwellings and addresses, location of work, 
institutional status, and ability to express intent. 

6.3 Eligibility:
6.3.1 Will not be denied to an otherwise 

qualified resident of the State because the individual's 
residence is not maintained permanently or at a fixed 
address. 

6.3.2 Will not be denied because of a durational 
residence requirement.

6.3.3 Will not be denied to an institutionalized 
individual because the individual did not establish residence 
in the community prior to admission to an institution.

6.3.4 Will not be terminated due to temporary 
absence from the State, if the person intends to return when 
the purpose of the absence has been accomplished.

6.4 When a State or agency of the State, including an 
entity recognized under State law as being under contract 
with the State, arranges for an individual to be placed in an 
institution in another State, the State arranging that 
placement is the individual's State of residence.

7.0 Verification of eligibility information
7.1 The CTP may verify information related to 

eligibility. Verification may be verbal or written and may be 
obtained from an independent or collateral source.

7.2 Documentation shall be date stamped and become 
part of the CTP case record.

7.3 Verifications received and/or provided may reveal a 
new eligibility issue not previously realized. Additional 
verifications may be required.

7.4 Failure to provide requested documentation may 

result in denial or termination of eligibility.

8.0 Disposition of applications
8.1 The CTP will dispose of each application by a 

finding of eligibility or ineligibility, unless:
8.1.1 There is an entry in the case record that the 

applicant voluntarily withdrew the application, and that the 
CTP sent a notice confirming the applicant’s decision;

8.1.2 There is a supporting entry in the case 
record that the applicant is deceased; or

8.1.3 There is a supporting entry in the case 
record that the applicant cannot be located.

9.0 Changes in circumstances and personal information
9.1 Enrollees are responsible for notifying the CTP of 

all changes in his circumstances that could potentially affect 
eligibility for the CTP.   Failure to do so may result in 
overpayments being processed and legal action taken to 
recover funds expended on his/her behalf during periods of 
ineligibility. 

9.2 Enrollees are responsible for notifying the CTP of 
changes in the enrollee’s name, address and telephone 
number.

10.0 Termination of eligibility
10.1 Eligibility terminates:

10.1.1 When the enrollee attains other medical 
insurance, including Medicare, Medicaid, and the Medicaid 
Breast and Cervical Cancer treatment program.

10.1.2 When the enrollee is no longer receiving 
treatment for cancer as defined in 4.1.1.

10.1.3 When the enrollee no longer meets the 
technical or financial eligibility requirements.

10.1.4 12 months after the date that cancer 
treatment is initiated.

10.2 If eligibility is terminated, it may only be 
renewed for an individual who is diagnosed with another 
cancer for which coverage has not been previously provided.

11.0 Coverage and benefits
11.1 Coverage is limited to the treatment of cancer 

as defined by DHSS.
11.2 There is no managed care enrollment.
11.3 Benefits will be paid at rates equivalent to 

Medicaid under a fee for service basis. If a Medicaid rate 
does not exist for the service provided, the CTP will 
determine a fair rate.

11.4 Benefits will only be paid when the provider of 
the cancer treatment services is a Delaware Medicaid 
Assistance Provider.

11.5 Benefits for patients enrolled prior to 
September 1, 2004 (or whatever date is established by DHSS 
as having an operational benefits management information 
system), may not be paid until after that date.
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11.6 The CTP is the payer of last resort and will 
only provide benefits to the extent that they are not otherwise 
covered by another insurance plan.

11.7 Eligibility may be retroactive to the day that 
cancer treatment was initiated provided that the application 
is filed within one year of that day. In such circumstances, 
covered services will only be provided for the time period 
that the applicant is determined to have been eligible for the 
CTP.

11.8 In no case will eligibility be retroactive to a 
time period prior to July 1, 2004, except if the enrollee was 
receiving benefits for the treatment of colorectal cancer 
through the Division of Public Health’s Screening for Life 
program on June 30, 2004. If this exception occurs, 
eligibility will be retroactive only to the date the enrollee 
was receiving benefits for colorectal cancer treatment 
through the Screening for Life program.

12.0 Cancer treatment services which are not covered
12.1 The cost of nursing home or long-term care 

institutionalization is not covered. (The cost of cancer 
treatment services within a nursing home or long term care 
institution is a covered benefit.)

12.2 Services not related to the treatment of cancer 
as determined by DHSS are not covered.

12.3 Cancer treatment services for which the 
enrollee is eligible to receive by other health plans as listed 
in 4.1.4.2 are not covered.

13.0 Changes in program services
13.1 When changes in program services require 

adjustments of CTP benefits, the CTP will notify enrollees 
who have provided an accurate and current name, and 
address or telephone number.

14.0 Confidentiality
14.1 The CTP will maintain the confidentiality of 

application, claim, and related records as required by law.

15.0 Review of CTP decisions
15.1 Any individual who is dissatisfied with a CTP 

decision may request a review of that decision.
15.2 Such request must be received by the CTP in 

writing within 30 days of the date of the decision in question.
15.3 The CTP will issue the results of its review in 

writing. The review will be final and not subject to further 
appeal.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new text. 
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file 
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with 
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The notice shall describe the nature 
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference 
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the 
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final 
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the 
proposal in the Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The 
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its 
regulation-making proceedings.
DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

Proposed Amendment to the Water Quality Regulations, 
Water Code and Comprehensive Plan to Classify the 
Lower Delaware River as Special Protection Waters

Agency: Delaware River Basin Commission

Summary: The Delaware River Basin Commission 
("Commission" or "DRBC") will hold a public hearing to 
receive comments on proposed amendments to the 
Commission's Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and 
Comprehensive Plan to classify as Special Protection Waters 
the reach of the main stem Delaware River known as the 
"Lower Delaware." The Lower Delaware extends from the 
southern boundary of the Delaware Water Gap National 
Recreation Area at River Mile ("RM") 209.5 to the head of 
tide at Trenton, New Jersey, RM 133.4.

Background. The Special Protection Waters regulations, 
consisting of Section 3.10.3.A.1. of the Water Quality 
Regulations (also, "Regulations"), are intended to maintain 
the quality of interstate waters where existing water quality 
is better than the established stream quality objectives. They 
consist in large part of a series of policies relating to: water 
quality management (§3.10.3.A.2.b.), allowable discharges 
(§3.10.3.A.2.c.), wastewater treatment facilities 
(§3.10.3.A.2.d.), the control of non point sources of 
pollution (§3.10.3.A.2.e.), and inter governmental 
responsibilities (§3.10.3.A.2.f). Other sections of the rule 
include definitions (§3.10.3.A.2.a.), a list of waters classified 

as Special Protection Waters (§3.10.3.A.2.g.), a table 
defining existing water quality with numeric values for a 
series of  different parameters in each of the river sections 
classified as Special Protection Waters (Table 1), and a table 
describing the location of the Boundary and Interstate 
Special Protection Waters Control Points, which are the 
locations used to assess water quality for purposes of 
defining and protecting existing water quality (Table 2).

To be protected as Special Protection Waters, stream 
reaches must be classified as either "Outstanding Basin 
Waters" or "Significant Resource Waters." "Outstanding 
Basin Waters" are defined as "interstate and contiguous 
intrastate waters that are contained within the established 
boundaries of national parks; national wild, scenic and 
recreational rivers systems; and/or national wildlife refuges 
that are classified by the Commission under Subsection 
2.g.1). [of the Regulations] as having exceptionally high 
scenic, recreational and ecological values that require special 
protection" (§ 3.10.3.A.2.a.1.). "Significant Resource 
Waters" are defined as "interstate waters classified by the 
Commission under Subsection 2.g.2. [of the Regulations] as 
having exceptionally high scenic, recreational, ecological, 
and/or water supply uses that require special protection" (§ 
3.10.3.A.2.a.2.).

In accordance with Section 3.10.3.A.2. of the 
Regulations, the Delaware Riverkeeper Network submitted 
to the Commission in April 2001 a nomination petition 
requesting that the Commission classify the Lower Delaware 
River as Special Protection Waters. The Commission 
initiated a five year monitoring program in May of 2000 to 
characterize existing water quality in the Lower Delaware. 
Four years of data have been collected and analyzed. Data 
collection and analysis for the fifth year will be completed in 
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2004.
A series of studies, plans, and policies and a federal 

designation document the scenic, recreational, ecological 
and water supply values and uses of the Lower Delaware and 
support the goal of preserving these qualities. The four years 
of data and findings set forth in the report entitled, Delaware 
Eligibility Determination for DRBC Declaration of Special 
Protection Waters (DRBC, August 2004) demonstrate that 
water quality in the Lower Delaware River generally is 
better than the water quality criteria. The Lower Delaware 
National Wild & Scenic River Study Report (National Park 
Service, Northeast Region, 1999) documents that the Lower 
Delaware River includes islands, wetlands, and diverse 
ecosystems that support rare and endangered plant and 
animal species and constitute scenic and recreational 
amenities. The Lower Delaware River Management Plan
(Lower Delaware River Wild and Scenic River Study Task 
Force and Local Government Committee, with assistance 
from the National Park Service, August 1997) (LDRMP) 
contains goals relating to water quality, natural resources, 
historic resources, recreation, economic development and 
open space preservation for the Lower Delaware River. Goal 
1 of the LDRMP calls for maintaining, and where practical, 
improving existing water quality in the main stem of the 
Lower Delaware River and its tributaries. On November 1, 
2000, the President of the United States signed Public Law 
106 418, designating portions of the Lower Delaware River 
as part of the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System. The 
system was established by Congress in 1968 to preserve the 
character of rivers with "outstandingly remarkable scenic, 
recreational, geologic, fish and wildlife, historic, cultural or 
other similar values" and to ensure that designated rivers 
remain free flowing (P.L. 106 418, 10e Congress). The Water 
Resources Plan for the Delaware River Basin (DRBC 
Watershed Advisory Committee, September 2004) ("Basin 
Plan"), which is supported by each of the Commission's 
signatories, directs, "[w]here water quality is better than 
standards for the protection of aquatic life and wildlife, 
implement anti degradation regulations, policies and/or other 
mechanisms to maintain or improve existing water quality."

Proposed Amendments. The Commission proposes to 
amend the Special Protection Waters regulations by adding 
one section of the main stem Delaware River to the list of 
stream reaches classified as Outstanding Basin Waters (see 
§3.10.3.A.2.g.1) and two sections of the main stem Delaware 
River to the list of stream reaches classified as Significant 
Resource Waters (see §3.10.3.A.2.g.2). The section of the 
main stem proposed to be classified as "Outstanding 
Resource Waters" is the reach extending from RM 171.4, a 
point just south of the Gilbert Generating Station in Holland 
Township, New Jersey, to RM 141.8, at Washington 
Crossing, Pennsylvania. The sections of the main stem 
proposed to be classified as "Significant Resource Waters" 

extend from RM 209.5, the downstream boundary of the 
Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area, to RM 
171.4, the location of which is noted above, and from RM 
141.8 at Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania, to RM 133.4, 
the location of the head of tide at Trenton, New Jersey.

The proposed amendments do not at this time include 
additions to Table 1, defining existing water quality in each 
classified reach with numeric values for a series of different 
parameters, or to Table 2, describing the location of the 
Boundary and Interstate Special Protection Waters Control 
Points. These amendments will be made at a later date, when 
analysis of a fifth year of water quality data for the Lower 
Delaware has been completed. Thus, the Commission 
proposes to add to Section 3.10.3.A.2.g. a new section 6)., 
providing that the regulations that depend for enforcement 
upon the use of approved numeric values for existing water 
quality will not apply, under the proposed amendments, to 
regulated activities within the drainage area of the Lower 
Delaware River and that all other provisions of Section 
3.10.3.A.2. shall apply for the Lower Delaware River upon 
the effective date of the proposed amendments. Provisions of 
the Special Protection Waters regulations that will apply 
within the drainage area to the Lower Delaware River 
include but are not limited to the following: Subsections 
3.10.3.A.2.c.1. through 3., in part requiring an analysis of 
alternatives to new or expanded discharges; Subsections 
3.10.3A.2.d.1. through 7., setting forth requirements for 
wastewater treatment facilities; and Subsections 
3.10.3A.2.e.1. and 2., conditioning project approval on the 
existence of an approved Non Point Source Pollution 
Control Plan for the project area and requiring that approval 
of a new or expanded withdrawal and/or wastewater 
discharge project be subject to the condition that new 
connections to the project system be limited to service areas 
regulated by non point source control plans approved by the 
Commission.

Dates: The public hearing will be held on October 27, 2004 
at approximately 2:00 P.M. as part of the Commission's 
regularly scheduled business meeting. This time is 
approximate because the Commission will conduct hearings 
on several dockets (project approvals) beforehand, 
beginning at approximately 1:30 P.M. The hearing will 
continue until all those who wish to testify are afforded an 
opportunity to do so. In the event all those who wish to 
testify cannot be heard on October 27, the hearing will be 
continued at a date, time and location to be announced by the 
Commission Chair that day. Persons wishing to testify at the 
hearing are asked to register in advance with the 
Commission Secretary by phoning 609 883 9500, extension 
224. Written comments will be accepted through Tuesday, 
November 30, 2004.

Addresses: The public hearing will be held in the Kirby 
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Auditorium of the National Constitution Center, 525 Arch 
Street, Independence Mall, Philadelphia. Written comments 
should be addressed to the Commission Secretary as follows: 
by e mail to 12aula.schmitt@drbc.state.nj.us; by fax to 
Commission Secretary   dial 609 883 9522; by U.S. Mail to 
Commission Secretary, DRBC, P.O. Box 7360, West 
Trenton, NJ 08628 0360; or by overnight mail to 
Commission Secretary, DRBC, 25 State Police Drive, West 
Trenton, NJ 08628 0360.

Additional Information, Contacts: The full text of the 
draft resolution containing the proposed rule change, a map 
illustrating the proposed stream classifications for the Lower 
Delaware, a map illustrating the Wild and Scenic Rivers 
System designations in the Lower Delaware, and reports 
about the Lower Delaware will be posted no later than 
October 1, 2004 on the Commission's web site, http://
www.drbc.net. The Commission will hold two informational 
meetings on the proposed rulemaking. One meeting will be 
held on Thursday, October 14, 2004 from 7:00 to 9:00 P.M. 
at the Delaware and Raritan Canal Commission office at the 
Prallsville Mills Complex, 33 Risler Street (Route 29) in 
Stockton, New Jersey. Another will be held on Wednesday, 
October 20, 2004 from 7:00 to 9:00 P.M. in Room 315 of the 
Acopian Engineering Building at Lafayette College, located 
on High Street in Easton, Pennsylvania. Directions to the 
meeting locations will be posted on the Commission's web 
site, http://www.drbc.net in advance of the meeting dates. 
Please contact Pamela Bush, tel. 609-883-9500 ext. 203 with 
questions about the proposed rule or the rulemaking process.

Pamela M. Bush, Esquire
Commission Secretary
September 14, 2004

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

Proposed Amendment to the Water Quality Regulations, 
Water Code and Comprehensive Plan to Establish 

Pollutant Minimization Plan Requirements for Point and 
Non-Point Source Discharges of Toxic Pollutants 
Following Issuance of a TMDL by either the U. S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or a Member State, or 
an Assimilative Capacity Determination by the Delaware 

River Basin Commission.

Agency: Delaware River Basin Commission

Summary: The Delaware River Basin Commission 
("Commission" or "DRBC") will hold a public hearing to 
receive comments on a proposed amendment to the 
Commission's Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and 

Comprehensive Plan to establish pollutant minimization plan 
requirements for point and non-point source discharges of 
toxic pollutants following issuance of a total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) under Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act 
(CWA) by either a member state or the U. S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA), or issuance of an assimilative 
capacity determination by the Commission.

A TMDL establishes the maximum loading of a 
pollutant that a water body can receive without causing an 
impairment of the water quality standard, which includes 
designated uses, water quality criteria calculated to protect 
those uses and anti degradation requirements. When water 
quality standards are not attained, despite the 
technology-based control of industrial and municipal 
wastewater (point sources), the CWA requires that the 
impaired waters be identified on the state's Section 303(d) 
list and that a TMDL be developed for the pollutant or 
pollutants causing the impairment. A determination of the 
assimilative capacity of a water body for a given pollutant 
under Section 4.30.7 of the Commission's Water Quality 
Regulations is similar to the establishment of maximum total 
loading for a water body in a TMDL. The Commission may 
issue an assimilative capacity determination whenever a 
stream quality objective (the Commission's term for a 
numeric water quality criterion) is not being attained.

A TMDL or assimilative capacity determination does 
not in and of itself result in any improvement in water 
quality. Rather, the total loading or assimilative capacity 
must be allocated among the various sources contributing to 
the water quality impairment, and each discharger must 
reduce its discharge to achieve its allocated load. For point 
source discharges, the individual load allocation typically is 
converted to an effluent limitation in a National Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit issued under 
Section 402 of the Clean Water Act. For non-point sources, 
the load allocation typically is achieved through Best 
Management Practices (BMPs).

For certain toxic pollutants in water bodies within the 
Delaware River Basin, ambient and/or effluent monitoring 
shows that loadings are many times higher than the levels 
required to ensure that water quality standards are met. 
Substantial reductions in loadings of such pollutants from all 
point and non-point sources are needed to protect the 
designated uses. However, the process of developing and 
allocating a total load or determining the assimilative 
capacity of the water body for the pollutant may take the 
regulatory agencies many years. As has become apparent in 
the case of the TMDLs for polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) 
in the Delaware Estuary, issued by EPA on December 15, 
2003 on behalf of the states of Delaware, New Jersey and 
Pennsylvania, it may be many more years before the states 
are able to incorporate implementing provisions into NPDES 
permits for point sources and require implementing BMPs 
for non-point sources. For PCBs, and possibly for other 
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persistent bioaccumulative toxic chemicals, still more time - 
in some cases decades - will be needed before dischargers 
achieve sufficient load reductions to achieve the water 
quality standards. The proposed rule is intended to accelerate 
real improvements in water quality by authorizing the 
Commission to require point and non-point source 
dischargers to initiate load reduction efforts sooner. No 
numeric targets are proposed. Rather, the rule is based on 
concepts of pollution prevention and sustainability and the 
recognition that dischargers that are familiar with their own 
operations may be best situated to identify opportunities for 
achieving prompt loading reductions in a cost-effective 
manner. To comply with the rule, dischargers must plan and 
implement measures for achieving the maximum practicable 
reduction of pollutant discharges to the air, soil and water.

The proposed rule is primarily a gap-filling measure. 
For point sources, it will cease to apply to any discharge 
upon the next issuance by the state or EPA of a NPDES 
permit or permit renewal with respect to that discharge. For 
non-point discharges, the Commission's intention is to apply 
the rule only where existing state and federal programs will 
not ensure implementation of the TMDL or assimilative 
capacity determination.

The rule has four principal parts. Section A addresses 
the scope of the rule - both the pollutants and the entities 
intended to be regulated. Section B sets forth procedures for 
submission, review, implementation and continuation of 
Pollutant Minimization Plans ("PMPs" or "plans") required 
under the rule, including the relationship of the rule to the 
NPDES permit program. Section C lists the elements 
required to be included in a PMP, and Section D sets forth 
the requirement that dischargers submit a report annually, 
quantifying changes in pollutant loadings since initiation of 
the PMP and describing measures under way or completed to 
reduce loadings. Additional sections include a waiver 
provision and a provision for the development of guidance to 
assist dischargers in developing PMPs under the rule.

Scope of the Proposed Rule. The scope of the proposed 
rule is limited to toxic chemicals listed in Section A.1 of the 
rule. The proposed rule lists one pollutant - polychlorinated 
biphenyls or "PCBs," for which the EPA issued a TMDL for 
the Delaware Estuary on December 15, 2003. Additional 
pollutants may be added to the rule only through notice and 
comment rulemaking.

Classes of dischargers or individual dischargers 
proposed to be subject to the rule may be added by 
amendment or by a directive of the Commission's Executive 
Director, upon approval by the Commission. Two classes of 
PCB dischargers are initially proposed to be included: those 
listed in Group 1 of Tables 3-2 through 3-5 of Appendix 3 of 
the document, US. Environmental Protection Agency 
Regions II and Ill, Total Maximum Daily Loads for 
Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs) for Zones 2-5 of the Tidal 

Delaware River (December 15, 2003); and those listed in 
Group 2 of the same tables in the event that the presence of 
PCB congeners is confirmed through monitoring in 
accordance with the requirements set forth in Appendix 3 of 
the same document.

Procedures for Submission, Review, Implementation and 
Continuation of PMPs. The proposed rule requires 
dischargers to submit a PMP to the Commission and the 
permitting agency, if any, within three months of publication 
of a final rule or issuance of a directive by the Executive 
Director. The Commission staff, in consultation with the 
permitting agency staff (if applicable), will review each PMP 
for completeness, and the executive director will issue a 
completeness determination, confirming that a PMP contains 
all components required by the rule, or identifying 
deficiencies in the PMT. Where a deficiency is identified, a 
discharger has 30 days to submit a revised PMP reflecting a 
good faith effort to cure the deficiency. The rule sets forth 
procedures for subsequent revisions if necessary, and allows 
the executive director to seek penalties against a discharger 
for repeated failure to comply, or grant a waiver from a 
requirement of the rule for good cause shown. The 
discharger must commence implementation of its plan as 
submitted within 60 days of receipt of a determination of 
completeness.

Upon issuance of a final new or renewed NPDES permit 
by EPA or a member state after the imposition of a PMP 
requirement under the proposed rule, the permit supersedes 
any provisions of the PMP that relate to the 
NPDES-permitted discharge.

PMPs for point source discharges will receive a 
thorough substantive review at the time of NPDES permit 
issuance or reissuance. Due to limited agency resources, 
earlier substantive review of PMPs by the Commission or 
the member states is authorized but not required. The rule 
provides that if the Commission determines at any time that 
a PMP is not likely to achieve the maximum practicable 
reduction of pollutant discharges to the air, soil or water, it 
may require the discharger to submit a revised PMP to more 
aggressively reduce pollutant loading.

The initial term of the PMP is to be five years. The term 
of any PMP that is not superseded by a NPDES permit 
within five years may be extended by the Executive Director, 
following a review by the commission staff in consultation 
with the staff of the appropriate state environmental agency.

Plan Elements. Interested parties are referred to the text 
of the rule for the required elements of a PMP. Notably, these 
elements include strategies for tracking down unknown 
sources of the pollutant, as well as for minimizing releases of 
the pollutant where sources are found. Plans also must 
include a description of the procedures to be used to 
measure, demonstrate and report progress in reducing 
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potential and actual discharges of the pollutant, including 
annual sampling and analysis of discharges using a 
prescribed analytical method if one is listed in the rule. In the 
case of PCBs, dischargers are required to measure loadings 
annually using EPA Method 1668, Revision A. Dischargers 
are encouraged to use less complex and expensive analytical 
methods where possible for purposes of screening or 
identifying pollutant sources.

Annual Report. Annual sampling and reporting using a 
uniform method are required in order for dischargers and 
regulators to determine the effectiveness of a PMP in 
reducing pollutant loadings to a waterway.

Dates: The public hearing will be held on October 27, 2004 
at 11:00 A.M. as part of the Commission's regularly 
scheduled business meeting. The hearing will end 60 to 90 
minutes later, at the discretion of the Commission chair. If 
necessary, the hearing will be continued at a date and 
location announced by the Commission chair, until all those 
who wish to testify are afforded an opportunity to do so. 
Persons wishing to testify at the hearing are asked to register 
in advance with the Commission Secretary by phoning 
609-883-9500, extension 224. Written comments will be 
accepted through Friday, November 19, 2004.

Addresses: The full text of the proposed rule will be posted 
no later than October 1, 2004 on the Commission's web site, 
http://www.drbc.net. The public hearing will be held in the 
Kirby Auditorium at the National Constitution Center, 525 
Arch Street, Independence Mall, Philadelphia. Written 
comments should be addressed to the Commission Secretary 
as follows: by e-mail to paula.schmitt@drbc.state.ni.us; by 
fax to Commission Secretary - dial 609-8839522; by U.S. 
Mail to Commission Secretary, DRBC, P.O. Box 7360, West 
Trenton, NJ 086280360; or by overnight mail to 
Commission Secretary, DRBC, 25 State Police Drive, West 
Trenton, NJ 08628-0360. 

Further Information, Contacts: Please contact Pamela 
Bush, 609-883-9500 ext. 203, with questions about the 
proposed rule or the rulemaking process.

Pamela M. Bush, Esquire, 
Commission Secretary
September 14, 2004

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PHARMACY

24 DE Admin. Code 2500
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,

Section 2509 (24 Del.C. §2509)

The Delaware Board of Pharmacy in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §2509 has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations as mandated by Senate Bill 229. The proposal 
identified crimes that are substantially related to the practice 
of pharmacy. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed changes 
on November 10, 2004 at 10:00 a.m. in the Jesse Cooper 
Building, Room 309 (third floor conference room), Federal 
and Water Streets, Dover, DE 19901. The Board will receive 
and consider input from any person on the proposed 
Regulation. Written comment can be submitted at any time 
prior to the hearing in care of David Dryden, Executive 
Secretary, at the above address.   In addition to publication in 
the Register of Regulations, copies of the proposed 
regulation can be obtained from David Dryden, Executive 
Secretary, by calling (302) 739-4798.   Notice of the hearing 
and the nature of the proposal are also published in two 
Delaware newspapers of general circulation.
       The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

Proposed Rules and Regulations

16.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
pharmacy.

16.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal the following crimes, is deemed to be a crime 
substantially related to the practice of pharmacy in the State 
of Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

16.1.1 Unlawfully administering a controlled 
substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11 
Del.C. §626.

16.1.2 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal 
drugs, methamphetamines, L.S.D., or designer drugs. 16 
Del.C. §4753A.

16.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
pharmacy shall be deemed to include any crimes under any 
federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

PLEASE NOTE: AS THE REST OF THE SECTIONS WERE NOT 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 4, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2004

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/index.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS518
AMENDED, THEY ARE NOT BEING PUBLISHED. A 
COMPLETE SET OF THE RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR 
THE BOARD OF PHARMACY IS AVAILABLE AT:
http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title24/
2500%20Board%20of%20Pharmacy.shtml#TopOfPage

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY

24 DE Admin. Code 2000
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 2006(b) (24 Del.C. §2006(b))

PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §2006 (b) has proposed changes 
to its rules and regulations as mandated by Senate Bill 229. 
The proposal identifies crimes that are substantially related 
to the practice of occupational therapy.

A public hearing will be held at  4:30 p.m. on November 
17, 2004, in the second floor conference room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board of 
Occupational Therapy Practice, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, 
Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons 
wishing to submit written comments may forward these to 
the Board at the above address.  The final date to receive 
written comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

Proposed Rules and Regulations

7.0 Crimes substantially related to  practice of 
occupational therapy

7.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the 
attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or conceal or 
of solicitation to commit the following crimes, is deemed to 
be a crime substantially related to the practice of 
occupational therapy in the State of Delaware without regard 
to the place of conviction:

7.1.1 Unlawful harm to law enforcement or 
seeing eye dogs.  7 Del.C. §1717

7.1.2 Aggravated menacing. 11 Del.C. §602(b)
7.1.3 Reckless endangering.  11 Del.C. §604
7.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §605
7.1.5 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. §606
7.1.6 Assault in the third degree. 11 Del.C. § 

611
7.1.7 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C. § 

612
7.1.8 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C. § 613
7.1.9 Abuse of a sports official. 11 Del.C. § 614
7.1.10 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C. § 

615
7.1.11 Terroristic threatening.  11 Del.C. § 

621(a)(b)
7.1.12 Unlawful administering drugs. 11 Del.C. § 

625
7.1.13 Unlawful administering controlled 

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11 
Del.C. § 626

7.1.14 Prohibited acts as to substances releasing 
vapors or fumes. 11 Del.C. § 627

7.1.15 Vehicular assault in the first degree.11 
Del.C. § 629

7.1.16 Criminally negligent homicide.11 Del.C. § 
631

7.1.17 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. § 632
7.1.18 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. § 633
7.1.19 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §634
7.1.20 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C. § 

635
7.1.21 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. § 636
7.1.22 Sexual harassment. 11 Del.C. § 763
7.1.23 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §768
7.1.24 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. § 769
7.1.25 Rape in the fourth degree. 11 Del.C. §770
7.1.26 Rape in the third degree.11 Del.C. § 771
7.1.27 Rape in the second degree.11 Del.C. § 772
7.1.28 Rape in the first degree. 11 Del.C. § 773 
7.1.29 Sexual extortion. 11 Del.C. § 7767
7.1.30 Bestiality. 11 Del.C. § 777
7.1.31 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 

Del.C. § 778
7.1.32 Dangerous crime against a child. 11 

Del.C. § 779
7.1.33 Unlawful imprisonment in the first 

degree.11 Del.C. § 782
7.1.34 Kidnapping in the second degree.11 

Del.C. § 783
7.1.35 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C. § 

783A
7.1.36 Acts constituting coercion.11 Del.C. § 791
7.1.37 Burglary in the second degree.11 Del.C. § 

825
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7.1.38 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C. § 
826

7.1.39 Robbery in the second degree.11 Del.C. § 
831

7.1.40 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C. § 
832

7.1.41 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C.
§ 835

7.1.42 Carjacking in the first degree.11 Del.C. § 
836

7.1.43 Extortion.11 Del.C. § 846
7.1.44 Identity theft.11 Del.C. § 854
7.1.45 Forgery. 11 Del.C. § 861
7.1.46 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C. § 

871
7.1.47 Unlawful use of a credit card.11 Del.C. § 

903
7.1.48 Insurance fraud.11 Del.C. § 913
7.1.49 Health care fraud. 11 Del.C. § 913A
7.1.50 Dealing in children.11 Del.C. § 1100
7.1.51 Abandonment of a child.11 Del.C. § 1101
7.1.52 Endangering the welfare of a child.11 

Del.C. § 1102 
7.1.53 Endangering the welfare of an 

incompetent person.  11 Del.C. § 1105
7.1.54 Unlawfully dealing with a child.  11 

Del.C.   § 1106
7.1.55 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C. § 

1108
7.1.56 Unlawful dealing in child pornography. 11 

Del.C. § 1109
7.1.57 Possession of child pornography.11 Del.C.

§ 1111
7.1.58 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school 

zones.  11 Del.C. § 1112
7.1.59 Sexual solicitation of a child.11 Del.C. § 

1112A
7.1.60 Terroristic threatening of public officials 

or public servants.  11 Del.C. § 1240
7.1.61 Abetting the violation of driver’s license 

restrictions. 11 Del.C. § 1249
7.1.62 Offenses against law enforcement animals. 

11 Del.C. §1250
7.1.63 Felony hate crimes. 11 Del.C. § 1304
7.1.64 Felony stalking.  11 Del.C. § 1312A
7.1.65 Felony cruelty to animals. 11 Del.C. § 

1325 
7.1.66 Felony maintaining a dangerous animal.11 

Del.C. § 1327(a)
7.1.67 Felony violation of privacy. 11 Del.C. § 

1335(a) 
7.1.68 Adulteration.11 Del.C. § 1339
7.1.69 Promoting prostitution in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §1352

7.1.70 Promoting prostitution in the first 
degree.11 Del.C. §1353

7.1.71 Obscenity.11 Del.C. § 1361
7.1.72 Carrying a concealed deadly weapon.11 

Del.C. § 1442
7.1.73 Felony unlawful dealing with a dangerous 

weapon.11 Del.C. §1445(a)
7.1.74 Felony possession of a deadly weapon 

during the commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. § 1447
7.1.75 Possession and purchase of deadly 

weapons by persons prohibited.  11 Del.C. § 1448
7.1.76 Possession of a weapon in a Safe School 

and Recreation Zone. 11 Del.C. § 1457(a)
7.1.77 Duty to report child abuse or neglect. 16 

Del.C. §   903
7.1.78 Abuse, neglect, mistreatment or financial 

exploitation of residents or patients in a nursing or similar 
facility.  16 Del.C. §1136

7.1.79 Falsification or destruction of records 
related to maintenance medical treatment. 16 Del.C. § 2513

7.1.80 Manufacture, delivery or possession with 
intent to deliver Schedule I or II narcotic drugs. 16 Del.C. § 
4751

7.1.81 Manufacture, delivery or possession with 
intent to deliver Schedule I , II, III, IV, or V non-narcotic 
drugs.16 Del.C. §4752

7.1.82 Possession, consumption,or use of 
controlled substances.16 Del.C. §4753

7.1.83 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal 
drugs, metamphetamines, L.S.D., or designer drugs. 16 
Del.C. § 4753A.

7.1.84 Possession, consumption, or use of on-
narcotic controlled  substances classified in Schedule I, II, 
III, IV, or V. 16 Del.C. § 4754

7.1.85 Crimes by persons who are controlled 
substance registrants.  16 Del.C. § 4755
7.1.86  Crimes related to controlled substances. 16 Del.C. § 
4756

7.1.87 Distribution of controlled substances to 
persons under 21 years of age.16 Del.C. §4761

7.1.88 Distribution, delivery or possession of a 
controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property. 16 
Del.C. § 4767

7.1.89 Distribution, delivery or possession of a 
controlled substance within 300 Feet of park, recreation area, 
church, synagogue or other place of worship.16 Del.C. § 
4768

7.1.90 Obtaining benefit under false pretense. 31 
Del.C. § 1003

7.1.91 Falsification of reports, statements, or 
documents. 31 Del.C. §1004

7.1.92 Kickback schemes and solicitation. 31 
Del.C.  §1005

7.1.93 Conversion of benefit payment. 31 Del.C.
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§ 1006
7.1.94 Intentional abuse, neglect, mistreatment, 

or exploitation of an infirm adult. 31 Del.C. § 3913
7.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 

occupational therapy shall be deemed to include any crimes 
under any federal law,  state law, or  valid town, city or 
county ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

PLEASE NOTE: AS THE REST OF THE SECTIONS WERE NOT 
AMENDED, THEY ARE NOT BEING PUBLISHED. A 
COMPLETE SET OF THE RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR 
THE BOARD OF PHARMACY IS AVAILABLE AT:
http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title24/
2000%20Board%20of%20Occupational%20Therapy.sh
tml#TopOfPage

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 742

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(d)  (14 Del.C. §122(d))

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

742 Compensation of District Personnel Under Specific 
Project Proposals

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 

Admin. Code 742 Compensation of District Personnel 
Under Specific Project Proposals in order to add a reference 
to charter schools and change the title and the regulation so 
the regulation refers only to federal projects.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses staff 
compensation issues not student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation addresses staff compensation not issues of an 
equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 
amended regulation addresses staff compensation issues not 
health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses staff compensation issues not students’ legal 
rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The amended regulation will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
amended regulation will not place any unnecessary reporting 
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no 
additional cost the State and to the local school boards of 
compliance with the regulation.

742  Compensation of School District and Charter School 
Personnel Under Specific Project Proposals Federal 

Projects

1.0 A school district or charter school may use Federal 
or local federal funds to:

1.1 Employ additional administrative, supervisory and 
teaching personnel, or other necessary personnel beyond 
those allocated in Delaware Code, Title 14, in order to 
implement a federally or locally supported project.

1.2 Extend the employment of a ten or eleven month 
employee through the eleventh and twelfth month for 
purposes of conducting a federally or locally supported 
program. Part-time assignments shall be paid a pro-rata 
share.
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1.3 Employ teachers of the school district or charter 
school during the school year for additional hours each week 
to support such activities as extra-time instruction federally 
supported programs.

1.4 Employ full-time instructional personnel who are 
qualified for administrative or supervisory positions to carry 
on administrative or supervisory activities of a federally 
supported program beyond the regular school day or school 
week.

1.5 Pay a salary equal to the combined Sstate and local 
salary of other persons in similar assignments at the same 
rank.

1.6 Pay an hourly rate for a part-time assignment as an 
amount pro-rated against the annual salary for the same rank 
and assignment and in accordance with the qualifications of 
the individual so assigned and in accordance with previous 
sections of this statement.

2.0  A district shall:
2.1  Where applicable include a description of the 

position in the project proposal as presented to the 
Department of Education for approval.

2.2  In describing any new or additional position, align it 
with a recognized rank as described in Delaware Code, Title 
14; or in the case of a nonpublic school institution describe 
the position in terms of a rank already existing in the 
institution and assigned to comparable work.

2.3  Include in the benefits of the employee all of those 
benefits that accrue to an employee of the State or the local 
school district except that the benefit of the provisions of 14 
Del.C. Ch. 14 shall not apply to any person whose salary is 
paid from Federal funds in whole or in part.

2.4  Seek and obtain approval of a Federally-funded 
project through the office of the appropriate coordinator in 
the Department of Education prior to the assignment of 
personnel for the assumption of duties and payment of wages 
or salary.

2.5  Comply with the maximum hourly compensation 
rates as published by the Department of Education unless 
there is authorization to pay at a per diem rate.

See 3 DE Reg. 755 (12/1/99)

2.0 A school  district or charter school shall not:
2.1 Supplant funds for a local or state position by 

substituting federal funds for payment of that position.
2.2 Pay a salary to cover paid vacation days during 

intended federal employment when that federal employment 
is an extension of a ten or eleven-month school year as 
assigned and paid by the state.

3 DE Reg. 755 (12/1/99)

3.0 A district shall not:
3.1 Supplant funds for a local or State position by 

substituting Federal funds for payment of that position.

3.2 Pay a salary to cover paid vacation days during 
intended Federal employment when that Federal 
employment is an extension of a ten- or eleven-month school 
year as assigned and paid by the State.

3.0 For federal project proposals that require the 
approval of the Department of Education, the applicant 
shall:

3.1 Describe any new or additional position, align it 
with a recognized rank as described in Delaware Code Title 
14 or in the case of a nonpublic school institution describe 
the position in terms of a rank already existing in the 
institution and assigned to comparable work.

3.2 Include in the benefits of the employee all of those 
benefits that accrue to an employee of the state or the local 
school district or charter school except that the benefit of the 
provisions of 14 Del.C. Ch. 14 shall not apply to any person 
whose salary is paid from federal funds in whole or in part.

3.3 Seek and obtain approval of the project through the 
Department of Education prior to the assignment of 
personnel for the assumption of duties and payment of wages 
or salary.

4.0 Local school districts shall comply with the maximum 
hourly compensation rates as published by the Department 
of Education.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program 

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / 
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program is proposing to 
amend the policy of the Food Stamp Program in the Division 
of Social Services Manual (DSSM).

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program & 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720 by October 31, 2004.
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The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

Citation
7 CFR 273.7(j): Certification of Eligible Households – 

Work Provisions – Voluntary Quit and Reduction of Work 
Effort

Previous regulations required States to impose voluntary 
quit sanctions only on active individuals.  When an 
individual was not getting benefits, States had to wait until 
the individual reapplied for benefits to impose the sanction. 
The regulations were changed to allow States to impose 
voluntary quit sanctions even if the household’s certification 
had ended and the household did not reapply for benefits. 
This means the sanctions can be applied while the case is 
closed.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-08

REVISIONS:

9026 Voluntary Quit
[273.7(n)]

No individual who voluntarily quit his/her most recent 
job or reduced work hours to less than 30 hours per week, 
without good cause will be eligible to participate in the Food 
Stamp Program as specified below.

At the time of application, explain to the applicant the 
consequences of the individual quitting his or her job 
without good cause.

9026.1 Application Processing
1) When a household files an application for 

participation or when a participating household reports the 
loss of a source of income, determine whether any household 
member voluntarily quit a job.  Benefits will not be delayed 
beyond the normal processing times specified in DSSM 
9028  pending the outcome of this determination.  This 
provision applies only if the employment involved 30 hours 
or more per week or provided weekly earnings at least 
equivalent to the Federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 
hours; the quit occurred within 60 days prior to the date of 
application or anytime thereafter; and the quit was without 
good cause.  Changes in employment status that result from 
reducing hours of employment while working for the same 
employer, terminating a self employment enterprise or 
resigning from a job at the demand of the employer will not 
be considered as a voluntary quit for the purpose of this 

subsection.
An employee of the Federal Government or of a 

state or local government, who participates in a strike against 
such government and is dismissed from his or her job 
because of participation in the strike, will be considered to 
have voluntarily quit a job without good cause.

2) In the case of an applicant household, 
determine whether any currently unemployed (i.e., 
employed less than 30 hours per week or receiving less than 
weekly earnings equivalent to the Federal minimum wage 
multiplied by 30 hours) household member who is required 
to register for work has voluntarily quit his or her most 
recent job within the last 60 days.  If DSS learns that a 
household has lost a source of income after the date of 
application but before the household is certified, determine 
whether a voluntary quit occurred.

3) In the case of a participating household, 
determine whether any household member voluntarily quit 
his or her job or reduced work his or her hours, while 
participating in the Program.

4) If the determination of voluntary quit is 
established, determine if that member is the head of the 
household per DSSM 9014 or another household member.

5) Upon a determination that the head of 
household/individual voluntarily quit employment, 
determine if the voluntary quit was with good cause as 
defined in DSSM 9026.3.  In the case of an applicant 
household, if the voluntary quit was without good cause, the 
household's application for participation will be denied and 
the appropriate period of ineligibility imposed per DSSM 
9021.2. 

Provide the applicant household with a notice 
of denial  informing the household of the following items:

• The proposed disqualification period,
• Its right to reapply at the end of the 

period of ineligibility,
• Its right to a fair hearing.
If DSS determines that the head of a 

participating household/individual voluntarily quit his/her 
job or reduced his/her work hours while participating in the 
program or discovers a quit or reduction of work hours 
which occurred within sixty (60) days prior to application or 
between application and certification, provide a notice of 
adverse action within ten (10) days after the determination of 
a voluntary quit is made.  The notification must contain the 
proposed period of ineligibility and must specify that the 
household may reapply at the end of the sanction.  The 
periods of ineligibility are imposed according to DSSM 
9021.2, and is effective upon the issuance of the notice of 
denial. 

For those households which leave the program 
before the sanction can be levied, do not impose the sanction 
until the household returns to the program. 

If a voluntary quit or reduction in work effort 
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occurs in the last month of a certification period, or it is 
determined in the last 30 days of the certification period, the 
individual must be denied recertification for a period equal 
to the appropriate mandatory disqualification period.  The 
beginning of the disqualification starts with the first day after 
the last certification period ends and continues for the length 
of the disqualification period, regardless of whether the 
individual reapplies for food stamps.

Example:
It is determined that a participating individual 

quit his job without good cause in the last month of the 
certification period.  The individual does not reapply for 
benefits.  The individual is disqualified for three months 
starting with the first day after the certification period ended.

• If the individual reapplies before the 
three month period has ended, the 
individual is denied benefits due to the 
voluntary quit sanction.

• If the individual reapplies after the three 
month period has ended, the 
disqualification period has been served 
and eligibility can be determined.

Each household has a right to a fair hearing to 
appeal a reduction or termination of benefits due to a 
determination that the household's head voluntarily quit his/
her job without good cause.  If the participating household 
requests a fair hearing and the Division's determination is 
upheld, the disqualification period begins with the first 
month after the hearing decision is rendered.

Household heads who have been disqualified 
for quitting a job will carry their sanction with them if they 
join a new household as its head.  The new household will be 
ineligible for the remainder of the sanction period unless the 
person who caused the disqualification ends it per DSSM 
9021.4.

6) If an application for participation is filed in the 
third month of disqualification, use the same application for 
the denial of benefits in the remaining month of 
disqualification and certification for any subsequent 
month(s) if all other eligibility criteria are met.

9026.2  Exemptions From Voluntary Quit Provisions
Persons exempt from the full-time work registration 

provisions are also exempt from voluntary quit provisions 
(See DSSM 9018.3).

9026.3  Good Cause
Good cause for leaving employment includes the 

good cause provisions found in DSSM 9025 and resigning 
from a job that does not meet the suitability criteria specified 
at DSSM 9022.  Good cause for leaving employment also 
includes:

1) Discrimination by an employer based on age, 

race, sex, color, disability, religious beliefs, national origin, 
or political beliefs;

2) Work demands or conditions that under 
continued employment would be unreasonable, such as 
working without being paid on schedule;

3) Acceptance by the head of household of 
employment, or enrollment at least halftime in any 
recognized school, training program or institution of higher 
education, that requires the head of household to leave 
employment;

4) Acceptance by another household member of 
employment or enrollment at least half time in any 
recognized school, training program, or institution of higher 
education in another county which requires the household to 
move and thereby requires the head of household to leave 
employment;

5) Resignations by persons under the age of 60 
which are recognized by the employer as retirement;

6) Employment which becomes unsuitable by not 
meeting the criteria specified in DSSM 9022 after the 
acceptances of such employment;

7) Acceptance of a bona fide offer of employment 
of more than 30 hours a week or in which the weekly 
earnings are equivalent to the federal minimum wage 
multiplied by 30 hours which, because of circumstances 
beyond the control of the head of household, subsequently 
either does not materialize or results in employment of less 
than 30 hours a week or weekly earnings of less than the 
federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours; and

8) Leaving a job in connection with patterns of 
employment in which workers frequently move from one 
employer to another such as migrant farm labor or 
construction work.  There may be some circumstances where 
households will apply for food stamp benefits between jobs, 
particularly in cases where work may not yet be available at 
the new job site.  Even though employment at the new site 
has not actually begun, the quitting of previous employment 
will be considered as with good cause if it is part of the 
pattern of that type of employment.

9026.4  Voluntary Quit Verification
To the extent that the information given by the 

household is questionable as defined in DSSM 9033, request 
verification of the household's statements.  The primary 
responsibility for providing verification as provided in 
DSSM 9035 rests with the household.  If it is difficult or 
impossible for the household to obtain documentary 
evidence in a timely manner, assistance will be offered to the 
household to obtain the needed verification.  Acceptable 
sources of verification include but are not limited to the 
previous employer, employee associations, union 
representatives, and grievance committees or organizations. 
Whenever documentary evidence cannot be obtained, 
substitute a collateral contact.
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The Division is responsible for obtaining 
verification from acceptable collateral contacts provided by 
the household.  If the household and the Division are unable 
to obtain requested verification from these or other sources 
because the cause for the quit resulted from circumstances 
that for good reason cannot be verified, such as a resignation 
from employment due to discrimination practices or 
unreasonable demands by an employer or because the 
employer cannot be located, the household will not be 
denied access to the Food Stamp Program.

9026.5  Ending a Voluntary Quit Or A Reduction In 
Work Hours Disqualification

Following the end of the disqualification period, as 
defined in DSSM 9021.2, a household may begin 
participation in the program if it applies again and is 
determined eligible.

Eligibility may be reestablished during a 
disqualification period and the household will, if otherwise 
eligible, be permitted to resume participation if the violator 
becomes exempt from the work registration requirements 
through DSSM 9018.3, other that through exemptions based 
on items (3) and (5) of that sections.  Should a household 
which has been determined to be non-compliant without 
good cause split into more than one household, the sanction 
will follow the member who caused the disqualification.  If a 
head of household who committed the violation joins 
another food stamp household as head of the household, that 
household is ineligible for the balance of the period of 
ineligibility.

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code,
Section 4101(d) (21 Del.C. §4101(d))

PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Secretary of the 
Department of Safety and Homeland Security, formerly the 
Secretary of the Department of Public Safety, in accordance 
with 21 Del.C. §4101(d) and 73 Del. Laws, c. 350, sec. 92 
intends to promulgate regulations. These regulations will 
regulate the administration of the Electronic Red Light 
Safety Program in unincorporated areas of the State of 
Delaware. The Electronic Red Light Safety Program through 
the use of traffic light signal monitoring systems will impose 
monetary liability on owners or operators of motor vehicles 
for failure to comply with traffic light signals.  A public 
hearing will be held on Monday, November 1, 2004 at 11:00 
A.M. in the second floor main conference room (rm. 205) of 
the Safety and Homeland Security Building, 303 

Transportation Circle, Dover, DE. The Secretary of Safety 
and Homeland Security will receive and consider input in 
writing from any person on the proposed regulations.  Any 
written comments should be submitted to the Department of 
Safety and Homeland Security, in care of William G. Bush, 
IV, at P.O. Box 818, Dover, DE 19903-0818 on or before 
November 1, 2004. Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the 
proposed regulations may do so by sending a written request 
to the Department of Safety and Homeland Security, P.O. 
Box 818, Dover, DE 19903-0818 or may obtain a copy in 
room 220 of the Safety and Homeland Security Building, 
303 Transportation Circle, Dover, DE.  This notice will be 
published in two newspapers of general circulation not less 
than twenty (20) days prior to the date of the hearing.

Electronic Red Light Safety Program (ERLSP)

1.0 Statement of Purpose
The purpose of these regulations are to provide for the 

establishment and administration of a program in 
unincorporated areas of the State of Delaware imposing 
monetary liability on owners or operators of motor vehicles 
for failure to comply with traffic light signals. These 
regulations are being promulgated in accordance with 21
Del.C. §4101(d) and 73 Del. Laws, c. 350, sec. 92. 

2.0 Locations of Traffic Light Signal Monitoring 
Systems

There shall be up to 10 locations in unincorporated areas 
of the State of Delaware where traffic light signal monitoring 
systems shall be installed and operated. 

3.0 Nestor Traffic Systems, Inc. 
The Department of Transportation has selected Nester 

Traffic Systems, Inc. to provide traffic light signal 
monitoring systems for unincorporated areas of the State of 
Delaware and to assist in administering the Electric Red 
Light Safety Program in unincorporated areas of the State of 
Delaware.  Nestor Traffic Systems, Inc. and its employees 
may participate in the administration of the Electronic Red 
Light Safety Program.

4.0 Fines
The owner or operator of a vehicle that commits a 

violation by failing to comply with a traffic light signal, as 
evidenced by information obtained from a traffic light signal 
monitoring system, shall be subject to a civil assessment in 
the amount of $75.

5.0 Violation Criteria
For a violation to occur, the front of a vehicle must be 

behind the stop line marked on the pavement at the time the 
traffic light signal turns red and must then continue into the 
intersection while the traffic light signal is red. 
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6.0 Determination of Violation
An employee of the Delaware State Police shall review 

video evidence from a traffic light signal monitoring system 
and make a determination as to whether a violation has 
occurred.  If a determination is made that a violation has 
occurred, a Notice of Violation shall be sent to the registered 
owner of the vehicle that committed the violation.

7.0 Exemptions
The following vehicles are exempt from receiving a 

notice of violation:
7.1 Emergency vehicles with active emergency lights;
7.2 Vehicles moving through the intersection to avoid 

or clear the way for a marked emergency vehicle; 
7.3 Vehicles under police escort; and
7.4 Vehicles in a funeral procession.

8.0 Notice of Violation Content
A Notice of Violation shall contain:
8.1 A civil violation number;
8.2 The name and address of the registered owner of 

the vehicle that committed the violation;
8.3 The registration number of the motor vehicle 

involved in the violation;
8.4 The violation charges;
8.5 The location where the violation occurred; 
8.6 The date and time of the violation;
8.7 The date the notice of violation is mailed;
8.8 Four images that demonstrate proof of a violation. 

This shall include:
8.8.1 An image showing the vehicle behind the 

stop line, light is red;
8.8.2 An image showing vehicle within 

intersection, light is red;
8.8.3 An image showing a close-up of the 

license plate; and
8.8.4 An image showing the rear of vehicle, 

with license plate;
8.9 The amount of the civil assessment imposed and the 

date by which the civil assessment should be paid;
8.10 Information advising an owner or operator of a 

vehicle regarding the manner, time and place by which 
liability as alleged in a Notice of Violation may be contested 
and warning that the failure to pay the civil assessment or to 
contest liability within 30 days of the mailing of the Notice 
of Violation is an admission of liability and may result in a 
judgment being entered against the owner or operator and/or 
the denial of the registration or the renewal of the 
registration of any of the owner’s vehicles; and

8.11 Notice concerning a person’s ability to rebut 
the presumption that he or she was the operator of the 
vehicle at the time of the alleged violation and the means for 
rebutting the presumption.

9.0 Affidavits
9.1 If the registered owner of a vehicle whom has 

received a notice of violation contends that he/she was not 
the operator of the vehicle at the time of the violation, he/she 
will be required to submit an affidavit denying that he/she 
was an operator and shall provide the name and address of 
the operator at the time of the violation.  

9.2 If the registered owner is a leasing company that 
rents/leases vehicles, that leasing company must provide by 
affidavit the name and address of the person or entity who 
rented/leased or otherwise had care, custody, or control of 
the vehicle at the time of the violation.

9.3 If  a vehicle, or its plates were stolen at the time of 
the alleged violation, the registered owner must provide an 
affidavit denying he/she was an operator and provide a 
certified copy of the police report/log  reflecting such theft.

9.4 An affidavit must be provided by the registered 
owner of a vehicle receiving a Notice of Violation within 30 
days of the mailing date of the Notice of Violation. 

9.5 Upon receipt of an affidavit by the State of 
Delaware or Nestor Traffic Signals, Inc., the newly 
implicated person will be mailed a notification informing 
him/her of the violation.

10.0 Payment of Civil Assessment 
A person electing to pay a civil assessment should make 

payment by check or money order to ERLSP. Payment 
should be made by mail to: P.O. Box 2018, Winchster, VA 
22604 or at such other address as specified on the Notice of 
Violation. 

11.0 Procedures to Contest a Violation
A hearing to contest a violation will be heard in the 

Justice of the Peace Court for the State of Delaware. A 
person receiving a Notice of Violation may request a hearing 
to contest a violation by sending such request to the address 
provided with or on the Notice of Violation within 30 days of 
the date the Notice of Violation was sent to the owner or 
operator of the vehicle. If a request for a hearing is not made 
within 30 days of the Notice of Violation being sent to the 
owner or operator of the vehicle, that person or entity has 
waived the right to contest the violation.  

12.0 Failure to Pay Civil Assessment
If the owner or operator of a vehicle does not pay a civil 

assessment within 30 days of the Notice of Violation being 
sent to the owner or operator of the vehicle or does not 
successfully contest a violation, the Division of Motor 
Vehicles may refuse to register and/or deny the renewal of 
the registration of any of the owner’s vehicles.  Additionally, 
the Department of Transportation may pursue a civil action, 
including seeking judgment and execution on a judgment 
against the owner or operator of the vehicle.
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND

CULTURAL AFFAIRS
Statutory Authority:  30 Delaware Code,
Section 1815(b), (30 Del.C. §1815(b))

PUBLIC NOTICE

Title:
Amendments to the Regulations Governing the Historic 

Preservation Tax Credit

Brief Synopsis:
The Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act (30 Del.C. Ch. 

18, Subch. II) was first enacted by the General Assembly in 
2001 and was amended in 2002, 2003 and 2004.  Program 
regulations were adopted in July, 2002 (6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/
02).and were amended in July, 2004 (8 DE Reg. 194 (7/1/
04).  The 2004 amendments allowed for phasing of 
rehabilitation projects.  The purpose of the following 
proposed regulatory amendments is to implement the code 
changes of 2004 and to clarify various sections of the 
regulations.  As to the phasing of projects under this 
program, the proposed amendments modify six sections of 
the regulations (§3.0, §5.4, §6.1, §6.3, §6.4, §6.5, §7.1).   As 
to clarification of the regulations, the proposed amendments 
modify eight sections of the regulations (§1.0, §3.0, §4.1, 
§4.2, §4.4, §5.1, §5.2, §5.3, §5.5, 5.6, §5.7, §5.8, §5.9, §5.10, 
§5.11, §6.2, §6.3, §6.4).   The Historic Preservation Tax 
Credit Act is designed to promote community revitalization 
and redevelopment through the rehabilitation of historic 
property by providing tax credits for expenditures made to 
rehabilitate any certified historic property.

Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
30 Del.C. §1815(b)

Other Regulations that may be Affected by the Proposal:
The State Bank Commissioner and the Division of 

Revenue will adopt regulations or issue guidelines for tax 
elements of the Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act.

Notice of Public Comment:
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 

101, the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs proposes 
to amend rules and regulations pursuant to its authority 
under 30 Del.C. §1815(b).  The Division will receive and 
consider all written comments on the proposed rules and 
regulations related to implementation of amendments to the 
Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act.  Comments should be 
submitted to the Division in care of Daniel R. Griffith, 
Director, Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, 21 The 
Green, Suite B, Dover, DE 19901.  The final date to submit 

comments is October 31, 2004.  Anyone wishing to obtain a 
copy of the proposed amendments to the rules and 
regulations should notify Daniel R. Griffith at the above 
address or call 302-739-5685.  This notice will be published 
in two newspapers of general circulation.

Prepared by:
Daniel R. Griffith, Director
302-739-5685
September 15, 2004

Proposed Regulations Governing the Historic 
Preservation Tax Credit Act:

1.0 Scope
A person or business entity that owns and rehabilitates a 

certified historic property may receive a credit against 
personal Delaware State income tax or bank franchise tax 
liabilities according to procedures and criteria established in 
these regulations and those that may be promulgated by the 
Division of Revenue or the State Bank Commissioner.  Any 
person eligible for credits under this Chapter, except a 
person engaged in a resident curator relationship, may 
transfer, sell or assign any or all unused credits. except a 
person engaged in a resident curator relationship.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/2/02)

2.0 Statutory Authority
These regulations are created pursuant to 30 Del.C. Ch. 

18, Subch. II which authorizes the Division of Historical and 
Cultural Affairs to promulgate regulations for 
implementation of the provisions of this subchapter (except 
tax-related procedures) including, but not limited to, setting 
of fees and development of standards for the rehabilitation of 
eligible historic properties. The subchapter further 
authorizes the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs to 
promulgate the application and forms governing 
participation in the certification program.

3.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Act” means the 30 Del.C. Ch. 18, Subch. II. 
“Application” means the Delaware Historic 

Preservation Tax Credit application that shall consist of three
four parts, as follows: the Request for Certification of 
Historic Property (Part 1); the Request for Certification of 
Rehabilitation (Part 2); and the Request for Certification of 
Completion (Part 3), and the Request for Credit Award.

“Certified historic property” or “qualified property” 
means a property located within the State of Delaware that 
is: 

• individually listed in the National Register of 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 4, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2004

http://www.state.de.us/sos/histcult.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 527
Historic Places; or 
• located in a historic district listed in the 

National Register of Historic Places and 
certified by the United States Secretary of 
the Interior as contributing to the historic 
significance of that district; or 

• individually designated as a historic property 
by local ordinance and certified by the 
Delaware State Historic Preservation Office 
as meeting the criteria for inclusion in the 
National Register of Historic Places; or 

• located in a historic district set apart or 
registered by a local government, certified 
by the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Office as contributing to the historic 
significance of such area, and certified by the 
Delaware State Historic Preservation Office 
as meeting the criteria for inclusion in the 
National Register.

"Certification of Completion", "Completion 
Certificate" or "Certificate of Completion" means the 
certificate issued by the Delaware State Historic 
Preservation Officer attesting that certified rehabilitation, or, 
if applicable, phase thereof, has been completed and that the 
documentation of qualified expenditures and project plans 
that would be required in order to qualify for tax credits 
under Section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code (whether or 
not such project would be eligible for such federal tax credit) 
has been obtained. 

“Certified rehabilitation” means rehabilitation of a 
certified historic structure property or portion thereof that 
has been certified by the Delaware State Historic 
Preservation Officer as a substantial rehabilitation, and is in 
conformance with the Standards of the Secretary of the 
Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation (36 CRF, part 67) or 
such other standards as the Delaware State Historic 
Preservation Office shall from time to time adopt.

“Credit award” means the amount of qualified 
expenditures as determined by the State Office as part of the 
Part 2 approval multiplied by the appropriate amount
percentage as determined in 30 Del.C. §1813.

“Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer” 
means the person designated and appointed in accordance 
with 16 USC §470a(b)(1)(a).

“Federal tax credit” means the Federal Rehabilitation 
Tax Credit as defined in the United States Tax Code, Title 
26, Subtitle A, Chapter 1, Subchapter A, Part IV, Subpart E, 
Section 47.

“Fiscal Year” means the State’s of Delaware’s fiscal 
year.

“National Register of Historic Places” or “National 
Register” means the National Register of districts, sites, 
buildings, structures, and objects significant in American 
history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, and culture 

that the United States Secretary of the Interior is authorized 
to expand and maintain pursuant to Section 101(a)(1) of the 
National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, as amended.

"Office" or "State Office" means the Delaware State 
Historic Preservation Office.

"Owner-occupied historic property" means any 
certified historic property, or any portion thereof, which is 
owned by a taxpayer and is being used, or within a 
reasonable period will be used, by such taxpayer as the 
taxpayer's principal residence. “Reasonable period” shall 
mean within six months of the issuance of the Certification 
of Completion.  The State Office, in its sole discretion, may 
offer one extension, not to exceed three months, for cause. 
Such property may consist of part of a multiple dwelling or 
multiple purpose building or series of buildings, including a 
cooperative or condominium. If only a portion of a building 
is used as the principal residence, only those qualified 
expenditures that are properly allocable to such portion shall 
be eligible under this subchapter. 

"Person" means any individual, any form of company 
or corporation which is lawful within the State of Delaware 
(including limited liability companies and S corporations) 
whether or not for profit, any form of partnership which is 
lawful within the State of Delaware (including limited 
liability partnerships) whether or not for profit, any trust or 
estate, and any lawful joint venture. "Person" shall also mean 
any governmental entity, pass-through entity, or person 
under a lease contract for five years or longer.

“Phased rehabilitation” means any certified 
rehabilitation of a certified historic property reasonably 
expected to be completed in two or more distinct stages of 
development as more fully described in Treasury Regulation 
1-48-12(b)(v) or any successor provision.

"Property" means real estate and shall include any 
building or structure, including multiple-unit structures.

“Qualified expenditure” means any amount properly 
expended by a person for the certified rehabilitation of a 
certified historic property, but shall not include: 

• acquisition of real property or acquiring an 
interest in real property; 

• any addition to an existing structure except 
where the combined square footage of all 
additions is 20% or less than the total square 
footage of the historic portion of the property 
and each such addition is approved by the 
Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer, 
pursuant to federal guidelines, as: 
• preserving the character-defining 

features of the certified historic property,
• adequately differentiating the new 

construction from the existing structure, 
and 

• complying with requirements regarding 
safety and accessibility in a manner 
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reasonably designed to minimize any 
adverse impact on the certified historic 
property; 

• paving or landscaping costs which exceed 
10% of the total qualified expenditures; 

• sales and marketing costs; or
• expenditures not properly charged to a 

capital account, including in the case of 
owner-occupied property, expenditures that 
would not properly be charged to a capital 
account where the owner using such property 
is a trade or business. 

“Reasonable period” means that an owner must occupy 
the rehabilitated property as their principal residence within 
six months of the issuance of the Certificate of Completion. 
The State Office, in its sole discretion, may offer one 
extension, not to exceed three months, for cause.

“Resident Curator” means a person who has entered 
into a contractual agreement with the owner of a qualified 
property in which the person agrees to pay for full 
restoration of the owner’s qualifying property in exchange 
for a life tenancy in the property without remunerative 
compensation to the owner for the life tenancy.

“Substantial rehabilitation” or “full restoration” 
means rehabilitation of a certified historic property for which 
the qualified expenditures, during the 24-month period, or 
the 60-month period for a phased rehabilitation, selected by 
the taxpayer and ending with or within the taxable year, 
exceed: 

• for income-producing property, and non-
income producing property other than 
owner-occupied historic property, the current 
standard required by Section 47(c)(1)(C) 
Internal Revenue Code; and 

• for owner-occupied historic property or 
property under contract with a resident 
curator, $5,000.

“Taxpayer” means any person as defined in this section, 
and shall include any individual or corporation taxable under 
Title 5, or taxable under either 30 Del.C. Ch. 11 or 30 Del.C.
Ch. 19. 

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)
8 DE Reg. 194 (7/1/04) 

4.0 Procedures for Certification of Historic Property
4.1 A taxpayer may request that a property in a 

National Register listed or locally designated historic district 
be certified by the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Officer as a certified historic property by filing the Part 1 
application with the State Office.  The Part 1 application 
shall be filed on standard forms available from the State 
Office.  An incomplete application will not be processed 
until all required application information has been received. 
The State Office will notify the taxpayer of the additional 

information needed to undertake or complete the review.
4.2 An incomplete Part 1 application will not be 

processed until all required application information has been 
received.  Where adequate documentation is not provided, 
the State Office will notify the taxpayer of the additional 
information needed to undertake or complete the review.

4.3 The Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer 
shall determine whether the property for which a complete 
Part 1 application is received meets the definition of certified 
historic property and will notify the taxpayer of the decision.

4.4 Taxpayers of properties If a property is individually 
listed in the National Register, do not need to submit
submission of a Part 1 application is not required. The name 
of the historic property and its date of listing in the National 
Register must be provided in the Part 2 application.

6 DE Reg 108 (7/1/02)

5.0 Procedures for Certification of Rehabilitation
5.1 A taxpayer may request a determination by the 

Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer that a proposed 
substantial rehabilitation plan meets the criteria for 
certification by filing a Part 2 application with the State 
Office. The Part 2 application shall be filed on standard 
forms available from the State Office.  

5.2 A taxpayer must submit Part 1 of the application 
prior to, or with, Part 2.  The Part 2 of the application will 
not be processed until an adequately documented and 
approved Part 1 application, where required as outlined in 
Section 4.0 of these regulations, is on file.

5.3 An incomplete Part 2 application will not be 
processed until all required application information has been 
received.  Where adequate documentation is not provided, 
the State Office will notify the taxpayer of the additional 
information needed to undertake or complete review.

5.4 A taxpayer requesting approval of a phased 
rehabilitation plan shall provide the State Office with a 
description of the phases and their completion dates when 
submitting the Part 2 application.  The Delaware State 
Historic Preservation Officer will notify the taxpayer if the 
phased rehabilitation plan is approved.  The final completion 
date for a phased rehabilitation is binding unless the taxpayer 
requests a change in writing.  For a phased rehabilitation, the 
taxpayer has 60 months to meet the substantial rehabilitation 
test.

5.4.5 The Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Officer shall determine whether the proposed substantial 
rehabilitation for which a complete application is received 
under Section 5.1 of this regulation meets the definition of a 
certified rehabilitation and shall send the taxpayer notice of 
the determination and of the credit award. The State Office 
may require modifications to the plan in order to meet the 
definition of a certified rehabilitation.

5.5.6 A Request for Credit Award application must 
be submitted with the Part 2 application.  The Part 2 
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application A taxpayer must also provide cost estimates of 
qualified expenditures prepared by a licensed architect, 
engineer, or contractor or a certified construction cost 
estimator. for the proposed rehabilitation.  This information 
will be used to determine the credit award for approved Part 
2 applications.

5.5.7 The amount of tax credit applied against the 
qualified expenditures in accordance with 30 Del.C. §1813
shall represent the credit award.   The cost estimate supplied 
by the taxpayer in accordance with  Section 5.6 will be used 
to determine the credit award for approved Part 2 
applications.

5.5.8 Credits will be awarded in chronological order 
based upon the date and time on which each application 
receives Part 2 approval from the State Office.  The State 
Historic Preservation Officer shall notify the taxpayer of the 
amount of the credit award.

5.5.9 In the alternative, the Delaware State Historic 
Preservation Officer may certify a rehabilitation plan and
issue a Part 2 approval to any taxpayer who has obtained a 
Part 1 and Part 2 certification from the federal government 
pursuant to 36 CFR 67. where applicable. Under this 
provision, a taxpayers must file the State of Delaware Part 2 
cover form containing as well as the information required 
under Section 5.5 5.6 of these regulations.

5.5.10 All taxpayers must begin construction on the 
approved Part 2 certified rehabilitation plan within one year 
of receiving the Part 2 approval. Taxpayers, having received 
Part 2 approval, must notify the State Office in writing of the 
start date of the rehabilitation work. If construction on the 
rehabilitation plan is not substantially commenced and is 
being diligently pursued within this time period, the taxpayer 
will forfeit the awarded credits, and the credits awarded to 
such taxpayer will become available for award to other 
taxpayers.  Substantially commenced and diligently pursued 
means that at a minimum 25% of the estimated rehabilitation 
costs must have been expended. The State Office reserves 
the right to obtain documentation from the applicant 
supporting the expenditure.

5.10.11 The project may be inspected by the Delaware 
State Historic Preservation Officer or his/her designated 
representative to determine if the work is consistent with the 
approved Part 2 certified rehabilitation plan, or and if the 
project has substantially commenced and is being diligently 
pursued.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

6.0 Procedures for Certification of Completion
6.1 Upon completion of a certified rehabilitation, or an 

approved project phase thereof, the taxpayer must submit a 
Part 3 application with required documentation and a final 
accounting of qualified expenditures, to the Delaware State 
Historic Preservation Office.  The completed project may be 
inspected by the Delaware State Historic Preservation 

Officer or his/her designated representative to determine if 
the work meets the definition of a certified rehabilitation.

6.2 An incomplete Part 3 application will not be 
processed until all required application information has been 
received.  Where adequate documentation is not provided, 
the State Office will notify the taxpayer of the additional 
information needed to undertake or complete the review. 
The completed project may be inspected by the Delaware 
State Historic Preservation Officer or his/her designated 
representative to determine if the work meets the definition 
of a certified rehabilitation.

6.2 3 Upon approval by the State Office that the 
completed rehabilitation, or an approved phase thereof,
meets the definition of a certified rehabilitation, the State 
Office shall submit the documentation of qualified 
expenditures to the Division of Revenue or the State Bank 
Commissioner, as appropriate, and request a determination 
of the value of the tax credit for the completed project or an 
approved phase.

6.3 4 Upon receipt from the Division of Revenue of 
the certification of the value of the tax credit for the project, 
or an approved phase thereof, associated with the Certificate 
of Completion by the Division of Revenue or the State Bank 
Commissioner, the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Officer shall issue a Certificate of Completion to the 
taxpayer. For approved phased rehabilitations, each phase 
must receive a Certificate of Completion indicating that each 
phase is a certified rehabilitation in order for the overall 
project to be considered to be a certified rehabilitation.

6.5 In the case of approved phased projects, more than 
one Certificate of Completion may be awarded to a single 
rehabilitation project.  Credits issued to the initial assignee, 
or in the case of a tax-exempt assignee, to the first taxable 
transferee after the associated phase completion, shall be 
subject to revocation and repayment to the Delaware 
Division of Revenue or the Office of the State Bank 
Commissioner if, under regulations issued by the State 
Office, a phased rehabilitation is not completed by the 
agreed upon completion date indicating that the applicant for 
the credit award is unable or unwilling to complete it, or in 
the event that the project does not meet the certification 
requirements previously agreed to with the State Office.

6.4 6 In no event shall the credit claimed by a 
taxpayer exceed the approved Part 2 credit award.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)  

7.0 Fees for Processing Rehabilitation Certification 
Request

7.1 The fee for review of rehabilitation work for 
projects where the qualified expenditures are over $100,000 
is $250 for each separate application. The fee from a single 
taxpayer for multiple projects submitted at the same time 
shall not exceed $2,500. Final action will not be taken on any 
application until the appropriate remittance is received. No 
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fee will be charged for rehabilitation projects where the 
qualified expenditures are under $100,000.

7.2 The fee, where applicable, must be submitted with 
the Part 3 application.  For phased projects, the fee must be 
submitted with the first Part 3 submitted.  All checks shall be 
made payable to the State of Delaware.

8.0 Resident Curator Program
8.1 Curatorship property is subject to periodic 

inspection by the State Office during the tax years in which 
the credit is applicable.

8.2 Improvements to curatorship property must be 
completed within five years from the date of execution of the 
contract between the owner and the resident curator.

8.3 Curatorship property must not be used for 
commercial purposes.

8 DE Reg. 194 (7/1/04)

9.0 Administrative Review
9.1 A taxpayer whose application has been disapproved 

by the Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer under 
these regulations may file a written request for review with 
the Secretary of State or the Secretary’s designee within 60 
days after the notice of disapproval is sent.

9.2 The Secretary of State or the Secretary’s designee 
shall review the request within 60 days after receipt of the 
request. If the Secretary of State or the Secretary’s designee 
determines that the application filed meets the standards set 
forth in these regulations the application shall be considered 
approved. If the Secretary of State or Secretary’s designee 
determines that the application filed does not meet the 
standards set forth in these regulations, the application shall 
be disapproved. The Secretary of State or Secretary’s 
designee shall promptly notify the taxpayer of the 
Secretary’s determination.

9.3 A taxpayer whose application has been disapproved 
by the Secretary of State may appeal that action in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 
Del.C. §10101 et. seq.

9.4 An appellant who has exhausted all administrative 
remedies shall be entitled to judicial review in accordance 
with 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, Subch. V of the Administrative 
Procedures Act.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text 
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold 
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language 
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in 
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials, 
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and 
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and 
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2) 
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being 
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, 
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the 
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations, 
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
GAMING CONTROL BOARD

Statutory Authority:  28 Delaware Code,
Section 1503 (28 Del.C. §1503)

24 DE Admin. Code 401

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 28 Del.C. §1503, the 
Delaware Gaming Control Board ("Board") hereby issues 
this Order, adopting a proposed amendment to the Board's 
Bingo Rules.  Following notice and a public hearing held on 
August 5, 2004 on the proposed Rule, the Board makes the 
following findings and conclusions:

Summary Of Evidence

1. The Board posted public notice of the proposed rule 
revision in the May 1, 2004 Register of Regulations and in 
two Delaware newspapers of general circulation.  The 
proposal contained a proposed amendment to Bingo 
Regulation 2.3 to provide that all bingo applications, original 
and supplemental, shall be filed at least six weeks before the 
scheduled event.

2. The Board received no comments from the public 
either in writing or at the public hearing.

Findings Of Fact

3. The public was given notice and an opportunity to 
provide the Board with comments in writing and by 
testimony at the public hearing regarding the proposed rule 
amendment.  The Board received no public comments.

4. The Board finds that the proposed amendment to 
Bingo Regulation 2.3 should be adopted in its proposed 
form.

Conclusion

5. The proposed rule amendment was promulgated by 
the Board in accord with its statutory duties and authority as 
set forth in 28 Del.C. §1503.  The proposed rule will provide 
for clear guidelines for the submission of all bingo 
applications and allow the Board sufficient time to review all 
applications at its regularly scheduled meetings.

6. The Board deems these rules as proposed to be 
necessary for the effective enforcement of 28 Del.C. chapter 
11 and for the full and complete regulation of bingo.

7. The Board concludes that the promulgated 
amendment to Bingo Regulation 2.3 will be adopted and will 
now provide as follows:

2.3 All original and supplemental applications 
shall be filed with the Secretary of the Board at 
least six (6) weeks prior to the date of the occasion. 
All supplemental applications shall be filed fifteen 
(15) days prior to the first date of the occasion.
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8. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) 
days from the publication of this order in the Registrar of 
Regulations on October 1, 2004.  

IT IS SO ORDERED this 2nd day of September, 2004.

Frank Long, Chairman
John Mancus, Vice-Chairman
Ronald Mosher
Roland Neeman
Thomas R. Trader

401 Regulations Governing Bingo

1.0 Definitions
“Bingo”  A game of chance played for prizes with cards 

bearing numbers or other designations, five or more in one 
line, the holder covering numbers as objects similarly 
numbered are drawn from a receptacle and the game being 
won by the person who first covers a previously designated 
arrangement of numbers on such a-card.

“Bingo Statute”  The statutory law concerning bingo, 
as contained in 28 Delaware Code, Section 1101 et. seq.

“Board”  The Delaware Gaming Control Board.
“Color Coded”  A different color for each of the five 

letters of the word "BINGO."
“Cookie Jar Bingo”  A game of chance in which 

players pay a set fee into a cookie jar or other container and 
receive a number which entitles the player to entry into a 
later drawing for the total funds deposited by all other 
players in the cookie jar or container.

2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)
“Districts”  Those districts mentioned in Article II, 

917A of the Delaware Constitution.
“Equipment”  The receptacle and color coded 

numbered objects to be drawn from it, the master board upon 
which such objects are placed as drawn, the cards or sheets 
bearing numbers or other designations to be covered and the 
objects used to cover them, the boards or signs, however 
operated, used to announce or display the numbers or 
designations as they are drawn, public address systems, 
tables, chairs, and other articles essential to the operation, 
conduct and playing of bingo.

“Game”  The game of bingo.
“Instant Bingo”  A game of chance played with sealed 

or covered cards which must be opened in some fashion by 
the holder such that the cards reveal instantly whether the 
holder has won a prize.  This type of game includes but is not 
limited to games commonly known as “rip-offs” or “Nevada 
pull-tabs.”

2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)

“Member in Charge”  A bona fide, active member of 
the "Qualified Organization" in charge of, and primarily 
responsible for the conduct of the game on each occasion.

“Occasion”  A single gathering or session at which a 
series of successive bingo games (regular, special, or 
otherwise) is played, not to exceed forty (40) in number.

“Proceeds”  The gross income received from all 
activities engaged in or on occasion when bingo is played, 
less only, such actual expenses incurred as are authorized in 
the Bingo Statute and these Rules and Regulations.

“Qualified Organization”  A volunteer fire company, 
veterans organization, religious or charitable organization, or 
fraternal society that is operated in a manner so as to come 
within the provisions of Section 170 of the U.S. Secretary of 
the Treasury.

2.0 Applications For Bingo License.
2.1 original applications shall be filed upon:

2.1.1 the first application of an organization for 
a license;

2.1.2 after the first application and upon a 
subsequent change in the organization's charter or bylaws; or

2.1.3 in the event of a subsequent application 
after a prior refusal, suspension, or revocation by the Board.

2.2 Supplemental applications for bingo licenses shall 
be filed in all instances except those covered by the original 
application.  All promotional give-away events, as defined 
under 28 Del.C. §1139(h)(2), must be listed on an applicant's 
application for licensure, giving the dates of the promotional 
give-away events.  If the event is not listed on the 
application, no promotional give-away event can be 
conducted.

2.3 All original and supplemental applications shall be 
filed with the Secretary of the Board at least six (6) weeks 
prior to the date of the occasion.  All supplemental 
applications shall be filed fifteen (15) days prior to the first 
date of the occasion.

2.4 No applications (original or supplemental) shall be 
accepted unless the applicant, at the time of the filing, 
attaches a check or money order for the full amount of the 
fees payable by law for each occasion requested.  In the 
event an application is refused by the Board, the application 
fees shall be refunded in full to the applicant.  There shall be 
a license fee of $15 for each occasion on which bingo is 
conducted under a license.

2.5 No application shall be received by the 
Commission unless it clearly shows that the applicant is 
located in and seeks to conduct the game in a district which 
has approved the licensing of bingo by referendum, and on 
premises owned or regularly leased by the applicant.  If the 
applicant desires to conduct games on premises specially 
leased for the occasion, a separate written request therefor 
(together with supporting reasons) shall accompany the 
application.  The Board reserves the right to accept or reject 
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any application for the conduct of games on specially leased 
premises. Organization conducting a Function shall prepare 
and have available on the premises a list of all persons taking 
part in the management or operation of the Function.  Such 
list shall be maintained as part of the licensees, records of the 
Function and shall be made available to any member or 
agent of the Board or law enforcement officer.

2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)

3.0 Bingo Licenses
3.1 Upon receiving an application, the Board shall 

make an investigation of the merits of the application.  The 
Board shall consider the impact of the approval of any 
license application on existing licensees within the 
applicant's geographical location prior to granting any new 
license. The Board may deny an application if it concludes 
that approval of the application would be detrimental to 
existing licensees.

3.2 The Board may issue a license only after it 
determines that:

3.2.1 The applicant is duly qualified to conduct 
games under the State Constitution, statutes, and regulations.

3.2.2 The members of the applicant who intend 
to conduct the bingo games are bona fide active members of 
the applicant and are persons of good moral character and 
have never been convicted of a crime involving moral 
turpitude.

3.2.3 The bingo games are to be conducted in 
accordance with the provisions of the State Constitution, 
statutes, and regulations.

3.2.4 The proceeds are to be disposed of as 
provided in the State Constitution and statutes.

3.2.5 No salary, compensation or reward 
whatever will be paid or given to any member under whom 
the game is conducted.  If the findings and determinations of 
the Board are to the effect that the application is approved, 
the Secretary shall execute a license for the applicant.

3.3 The license shall be issued in triplicate.  The 
original thereof shall be transmitted to the applicant.  Two 
copies shall be retained by the Commission for its files.

3.4 If the findings and determinations of the 
Commission are to the effect that the application is denied, 
the Secretary shall so notify the applicant by certified mail of 
the reasons for denial, and shall refund any application fees 
submitted.

3.5 In the event of a request for an amendment of a 
license, the request shall be promptly submitted to the 
Commission in writing, and shall contain the name of the 
licensee, license number, and a concise statement of the 
reasons for requested amendment.  The Commission may 
grant or deny the request, in its discretion, and may require 
supporting proof from the licensee before making any 
determination.  The Commission may require the payment of 
an additional license fee before granting the request.  The 

licensee shall be notified of the Commission's action by 
appropriate communication, so that the licensee will not be 
unduly inconvenienced.

3.6 No license shall be effective for a period of more t 
an one year from the date it was issued.

3.7 No license shall be effective after the organization 
to which it was granted has become ineligible to conduct 
bingo under any provision of Article II, §17A of the 
Delaware Constitution.

3.8 No license shall be effective after the voters in any 
District designated in Article II, §17A of the Constitution 
have decided against bingo in a referendum held pursuant to 
that section and subchapter II of the Bingo Statute.

3.9 No bingo licensee licensed prior to July 14, 1998, 
shall conduct more than ten (10) bingo events in any 
calendar month and no bingo licensee licensed after the 
enactment of 71 Del. Laws, 444 (July 14, 1998) shall 
conduct more than one (1) bingo event per week.  A bingo 
licensee who was licensed prior to July,14, 1998 whose 
license lapses for six (6) months or more due to non-renewal 
or suspension or any other reason shall, upon licensing 
thereafter, be considered a licensee licensed after the 
enactment of 71 Del.  Laws 444 (July 14, 1998).

3.10 The license application shall contain a full and 
fair description of the prize and the appraised value of the 
prize.  In lieu of submitting an appraisal, the applicant or 
licensee may submit the full retail value of the prize.  In 
cases where the applicant or licensee purchases the prize 
from a third party, the Board may require that the applicant 
or licensee arrange for an independent appraisal of the value 
of the prize from a person licensed to render such appraisals, 
or if there is no person licensed to render such appraisals, 
from a person qualified to render such appraisals.

2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)
3 DE Reg. 1692 (6/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 334 (8/1/00)

4.0 Conduct of Bingo.
4.1 The officers of a licensee shall designate a bona 

fide, active member to be in charge of and primarily 
responsible for the conduct of the game of chance on each 
occasion.  The member in charge shall supervise all activities 
on the occasions for which he is in charge and shall be 
responsible for the making of the required report thereof. 
The member in charge shall be familiar with the provisions 
of the Bingo Statute, and these rules and regulations.

4.2 The room where any game is being held, operated, 
or conducted, or where it is intended that any game shall be 
held, operated, or conducted, or where it is intended that any 
equipment be used, shall at all times be open to inspection by 
the appropriate law enforcement officers and agents of the 
District in which the premises are situated, and to the Board 
and its agents and employees.  Bingo games shall not be 
commenced prior to 1:30 p.m. and the operation of a 
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function shall be limited to six hours.  Instant bingo is 
permitted during any event sponsored by the organization 
that is licensed to conduct it, regardless of the day or time.

4.3 No person under the age of eighteen (18) shall be 
permitted in any bingo game, the prize for which is money. 
No person under the age of 18 shall be permitted to 
participate in any instant bingo game.  No person under the 
age of sixteen (16) shall participate in any game of bingo nor 
shall such person conduct or assist in the conduct of the 
playing of any game of bingo, except that persons no 
younger than the age of fourteen (14) may act as waiters and 
waitresses in the handling of food or drinks at an occasion on 
which a licensee conducts bingo.

4.4 No organization licensed prior to enactment of 71
Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998), may hold, operate, or 
conduct bingo more often than ten (10) days in any calendar 
month.  No bingo licensee licensed after the enactment of 71
Del.  Laws 444 (July 14, 1998) shall conduct more than one 
bingo event per week.  A bingo licensee licensed prior to the 
enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998), whose 
license lapses for six (6) months or more due to nonrenewal 
or suspension or any other reason shall, upon licensing 
thereafter, be considered a licensee licensed after the 
enactment of 71 Del.  Laws 444 (July 14, 1998).

4.5 The Board and its duly authorized agents and 
employees may examine the books and records of any 
licensee, so far as those books and records relate to any 
transaction connected with the holding, operating, and 
conducting of the game of bingo, and may examine any 
manager, officer, director, agent, member, employee, or 
assistant of the licensee under oath in relation to the conduct 
of the game of bingo.

4.6 (Deleted.)
4.7 No prize greater in an amount or value than $250 

shall be offered or given any single game and the aggregate 
amount or value of all prizes offered or given in all games 
played on a single occasion shall not exceed $1,000.  All 
winners shall be determined and all prizes shall be awarded 
in any game played on any occasion within the same 
calendar day as that upon which the game is played.  The 
value of any promotional giveaways, which shall be no more 
than $500 per annum to be distributed at an organizational 
anniversary date and no more than three (3) holiday dates per 
year, shall not be counted towards the dollar amounts 
described in this section.  However, a licensee may offer 
inducements, including but not limited to cookie-jar bingo 
games that do not exceed $500 per game per night, free 
refreshments, and free transportation of players to and from 
bingo events, to attract bingo players to the bingo event, 
provided that the fair market value of inducements is limited 
to 15% of the total amount of all other prizes offered or 
given during the bingo event.

4.7.1 Any amounts in any cookie-jar bingo 
games shall not be included in the limitations of this section 

or in any prize money limitations.  A bingo licensee may not 
have more than two $500 cookie jar bingo pots at any one 
time which are to be awarded to players.  The licensee must 
award the first cookie jar bingo pot before it may start a third 
cookie jar bingo pot. In the event that a licensee has a first 
cookie jar bingo pot of $500 and then accrues a second 
cookie jar bingo pot of $500, the licensee must award the 
first cookie jar pot to a player on the occasion at which the 
second cookie jar pot reaches the $500 limit.  On such 
occasion, if the first cookie jar pot is not awarded by the end 
of the occasion, the licensee shall conduct a final special 
bingo game of "full card" or "black out" bingo using a 
separate, single card, and the first $500 cookie jar shall be 
won by the player or players who first covers all spaces on 
their entire card.

4.8 Two or more organizations may not hold games of 
bingo at the same place on the same day.  Unless a bingo 
licensee has been licensed prior to the enactment of 71 Del. 
Laws 444 (July 14, 1998), only one licensed organization 
may hold bingo games in a licensed organization's building 
during any given week.

4.9 No alcoholic beverages shall be permitted in the 
room from the time the bingo hall opens until the conclusion 
of the last bingo game of the occasion.

4.10 All games shall be conducted with equipment 
that is owned absolutely by the licensee or that is leased for 
fees not in excess of those allowable under the Schedule of 
Rental for leasing of equipment on file with the Board. 
Equipment shall include playing cards.  If the licensee uses 
cards that are for more than one session of playing bingo, 
these cards should be identified as the property of the 
licensee.

4.11 All winners shall be determined and all prizes 
shall be awarded in any game played on any occasion within 
the same calendar day as that upon which the game is 
played.

4.12 When more than one player is found to be the 
winner on the call of the same number in the same game, the 
designated prize shall be divided equally as possible; and 
when division is not possible, substitute prizes, whose 
aggregate value shall not exceed that of the designated prize, 
shall be awarded; but such substitute prizes shall be of equal 
value to each other.

4.13 The equipment used in the playing of bingo 
and the method of play shall be such that each card shall 
have an equal opportunity to be a winner.  The objects drawn 
shall be essentially equal as to size, shape, weight, and 
balance, and as to all other characteristics that may control 
their selection, and all shall be present in the receptacle 
before each game is begun.  All numbers shall be announced 
so as to be visible or audible to all players present.

4.14 The particular arrangement of numbers 
required to be covered in order to win the game shall be 
clearly described and announced to the players immediately 
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before each game is begun.
4.15 No arrangement of numbers shall be required 

to be covered in order to win the game other than the 
following:

4.15.1 one unspecified horizontal row;
4.15.2 one unspecified vertical row;
4.15.3 one unspecified full diagonal row;
4.15.4 one unspecified row (horizontal, vertical, 

or diagonal);
4.15.5 Two or more of the foregoing, forming a 

specified arrangement;
4.15.6 The entire card;
4.15.7 Four corners;
4.15.8 Eight spaces surrounding the free space.

4.16 Within the limits contained in 28 Del.C. 
§1132(b), alternate prizes may be offered depending upon 
the number of calls within which bingo is reached, provided 
the application for the bingo license and the license so 
specify.

4.17 Any player shall be entitled to call for a 
verification of all numbers drawn at the time a winner is 
determined, and for a verification of the objects remaining in 
the receptacle and not yet drawn.  The verification shall be 
made in the immediate presence of the member designated to 
be in charge on the occasion, but if such member is also the 
announcer, then in the immediate presence of an officer of 
the licensee.

4.18 No licensee shall conduct more than forty (40) 
games on a single occasion.

4.19 In the playing of bingo, no person who is not 
physically present in the room where the game is actually 
conducted shall be allowed to participate as a player in the 
game.

4.20 Within the limits contained in 28 Del.C. 
§1132(6), the prizes offered may be varied depending upon 
the number of people who attend the occasion, provided the 
application for bingo license and license so specify.  If a 
licensee avails itself of the provisions of this rule, it must 
announce at the beginning of each game the number of 
people present and the prizes to be awarded.

4.21 The entire proceeds of the games of bingo must 
be used solely for the promotion or achievement of the 
purposes of the licensee.

4.22 Any local rules adopted by the licensee that 
affect the conduct of the players or the awarding of prizes 
shall be prominently posted in at least four locations within 
the area where the bingo games are conducted.

4.23 The licensee shall be permitted to reserve seats 
within the area where the bingo games are conducted to 
provide for the special needs of handicapped persons, and 
the licensee shall ensure that the remaining seats are made 
available to the players on an equal basis.

4.24 A licensee may charge an admission fee to a 
game event in any room or area in which a game is to be 

conducted.  The admission fee shall entitle the game player 
(a) to a card enabling the player to participate without 
additional charge in all regular games to be played under the 
license at the event, or (b) to free refreshments.  The licensee 
may charge an additional fee to a game player for a single 
opportunity to participate in a special game to be played 
under license at the event.

4.25 No person shall conduct or assist in conducting 
any game except an active member of the organization to 
which the license is issued.

4.26 No item of expense shall be incurred or paid in 
connection with the conduct of the game except shall be 
incurred or paid in connection with the conduct of the game 
except such as are bona fide items of a reasonable amount 
for merchandise furnished or services rendered which are 
reasonably necessary for the conduct of the game.

2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)
2 DE Reg. 1761 (4/1/99)

5.0 Reports After Games
5.1 When no game is held on any date when a licensee 

is authorized to hold such game, a report to that effect shall 
nonetheless be filed with the Secretary of the Board.

5.2 If a licensee fails to file a report within the time 
required or if a report is not properly verified, or not fully, 
accurately, and truthfully completed, no further license shall 
be issued to it and any existing license shall be suspended 
until such time as the default has been corrected.

6.0 Suspension and Revocation of Licenses
6.1 Proceedings to suspend or to revoke a license shall 

be brought by notifying the licensee of the ground thereof 
and the date set forth for a hearing thereon.  The 
Commission may stop the operation of a game pending 
hearing, in which case the hearing must be held within five 
(5) days after such action.

6.2 When suspension or revocation proceedings are 
begun before the Commission, it shall hear the matter and 
make written findings in support of its decision.  The 
licensee shall be informed of the decision and of the 
effective date of the suspension or revocation.

6.3 When a license is suspended or revoked, the 
licensee shall surrender up the license to the Board on or 
before that effective date set forth in the notice of decision. 
In no case shall any license be valid beyond the effective 
date of suspension or revocation, whether surrendered or not.

6.4 Upon finding of the violation of these rules and 
regulations or the Bingo Statute, such as would warrant the 
suspension or revocation of a license, the Board may in 
addition to any other penalties which may be imposed, 
declare the violator ineligible to conduct a game of bingo 
and to apply for a license under said law for a period not 
exceeding thirty (30) months thereafter.  Such declaration of 
the ineligibility may be extended to include, in addition to 
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the violator, any of its subsidiary organizations, its parent 
organization and any other organization having a common 
parent organization or otherwise affiliated with the violator, 
when in the opinion of the Board, the circumstances of the 
violation warrant such action.

7.0 Severability
If any provision of these Regulations or the application 

of such provision to any person or circumstances shall be 
held invalid, the validity of the remainder of these 
Regulations and the applicability of such provisions to other 
persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby.

2 DE Reg. 1224 (1/1/99)

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN OPTOMETRY

24 DE Admin. Code 2100
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 2104(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2104(a)(1))

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 24 Del.C.
§2104(a)(1) and for the reasons stated hereinafter, the 
Delaware Board of Examiners in Optometry (“the Board”) 
issues this Order adopting its proposed amendment to Board 
Rule 3.1.

Nature Of The Proceedings

The Board proposes to amend Rule 3.1 to add a 
provision clarifying that an internship is to be done in a 
private practice setting in the State of Delaware, or other 
Board approved setting, under the supervision of a licensed 
optometrist or ophthalmologist to ensure that the clinical 
setting for the intern is in keeping with the standard of care 
in Delaware. Notice of the public hearing on the Board’s 
proposal was published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations on July 1, 2004, and in two Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation, all in accordance with 29 
Del.C. §10115.  The public hearing was held as noticed on 
August 26, 2004.  The Board deliberated on the proposed 
amendment following the public hearing and unanimously 
voted to adopt the rule revision as published.

Summary Of Evidence

The Board received no written comments in response to 
the notice of its intention to amend Rule 3.1 regarding 
internships.  No public comment was received at the August 
26, 2004 public hearing.

Findings Of Fact And Conclusions

The public was given notice and an opportunity to 
provide the Board with comments in writing and by 
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments 
to the Commission’s Rules.  The Commission received no 
written or verbal comments on the proposed amendment.

The Board finds that the proposed amendment to the 
Rule 3.1 is necessary for the Board to ensure that the 
practitioner’s clinical experience and skills are in keeping 
with the standard of care in Delaware.

The Board also finds that adopting the rule as proposed 
is in the best interest of the citizens of the State of Delaware 
and is necessary to protect the health of the general public, 
particularly the recipients of optometric services.

The Board concludes that the proposed amendment to 
Rule 3.1 is necessary for the enforcement of 24 Del.C. Ch. 
21, and for the full and effective performance of the Board’s 
duties under that Chapter.

NOW, THEREFORE, by a unanimous vote of a 
quorum of the Board of Examiners of Optometry,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:
1. The proposed amendment to the Board’s Rules and 

Regulations is approved and adopted in the exact text 
attached hereto as Exhibit “A”.

2. The effective date of this Order is ten (10) days 
from the date of its publication in the Register of 
Regulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(e).

3. The Board reserves the jurisdiction and authority to 
issue such other and further orders in this matter as may be 
necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 
OPTOMETRY

(as authenticated by a quorum of the Board)
Dr. Carl Maschauser, President, Professional Member
Dr. Sonja Biddle, Professional Member
Dr. Allan Tocker, Professional Member
Nichole Anderson, Public Member
Ruth Banta, Public Member

3.0 Internship
3.1 An internship is a course of study in which 

applicants receive part of their clinical training in a Board 
approved private practice setting in Delaware, or other 
Board approved setting, under the supervision of a licensed 
optometrist or ophthalmologist. An active, licensed 
Optometrist or Ophthalmologist may act as a supervisor. 
Any applicant’s participation in such an internship program 
must be approved by the Board and is subject to the 
following terms and conditions:
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3.1.1 A letter from the practitioner with whom 
the applicant will be interning stating the goals, duties and 
the number of hours he/she will be working. If the applicant 
is not doing his/her internship with a therapeutically certified 
optometrist or ophthalmologist, he/she must also complete 
an additional one hundred (100) hours of clinical internship 
with a therapeutically certified Optometrist, Medical doctor 
or Osteopathic physician.

3.1.2 Each applicant who will be participating in 
the internship program must provide the name and address of 
the supervisor and the dates of the internship for approval by 
the Board before the internship may begin provided that, in 
the event an applicant has made a good faith effort to submit 
all necessary licensure materials for approval of the 
internship, and in the event that the Board is unable to meet 
to review said licensure materials due to the absence of a 
sufficient number of statutorily appointed Board members, 
as occurred in July-August, 2003, the Board may approve 
said internship starting as of the date when the applicant has 
submitted all licensure materials.

3.1.3 A letter must be received by the Board 
from the supervisor verifying the completion of the 
internship.

3.1.4 For purposes of this Section and 29 Del.C.
§2110, the term “duration” shall be defined as “a period of 
no less than six (6) months and no greater than the period 
ending on the date of the next Board meeting following the 
end of the six (6) month period.” No intern may practice on a 
temporary license beyond the duration of the internship.

3.2 Subject to the approval requirements stated above, a 
candidate’s internship requirements may be satisfied while 
the candidate is a member of the Armed Forces if he/she:

3.2.1 Functions as a fully credentialed 
therapeutically certified optometric practitioner; and (for 
purposes of this Section equivalent to the Air Force 
regulations).

3.2.2 Performs his optometric duties on a full-
time basis in a completely equipped eye clinic.

3.3 Full-time: minimum of 35 hours per week.
3.4 All supervisors must supervise the interns on a one-

to-one basis whenever an applicant performs a task which 
constitutes the practice of optometry. No supervisor may be 
a supervisor for more than one intern, or student extern, at a 
time. Only one intern shall be permitted in any practice for 
any period of time.

3.5 All acts which constitute the practice of optometry 
under 24 Del.C. §2101(a) may be performed by the intern 
only under the following conditions:

3.5.1 The supervisor shall be on the premises 
and immediately available for supervision at all times;

3.5.2 All intern evaluations of any patient shall 
be reviewed by the supervisor prior to final determination of 
the patient’s case before the patient leaves the premises; and

3.5.3 A supervisor shall at all times effectively 

supervise and direct the intern.
3.6 A violation of any of the conditions enumerated in 

this rule may be grounds for the Board to revoke their 
approval of an internship program. The Board may also 
revoke its approval of an internship program if it determines 
that either the supervising optometrist or the intern has 
engaged in any conduct described by 24 Del.C. §2113(a). 
Furthermore, any violation of the terms of this rule by a 
supervising optometrist who is a licensed optometrist shall 
be considered unprofessional conduct and a violation of 24 
Del.C. §2113(a)(7).

2 DE Reg 85 (5/1/99)
7 DE Reg. 912 (1/1/04)

* PLEASE NOTE: AS THE REST OF THE SECTIONS WERE 
NOT AMENDED THEY ARE NOT BEING PUBLISHED. A 
COMPLETE SET OF THE BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 
OPTOMETRY RULES AND REGULATIONS ARE AVAILABLE 
AT:
http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title24/
2100%20Board%20of%20Examiners%20in%20Optom
etry.shtml#TopOfPage

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 260

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(e) (14 Del.C. §122(e))

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

260 General Appeal Procedures for the Child and Adult 
Care Food Program of the United States Department of 

Agriculture CACEP/USDA

I. Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 
Admin Code 260 General Appeal Procedures for the Child 
and Adult Care Food Program of the United States 
Department of Agriculture CACEP/USDA. The 
amendments are necessary in order to bring the state’s 
regulations in line with the requirements of the federal 
statute.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on July 26, 2004 
in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No comments 
were received.
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II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 260 in order to bring the state’s 
regulations in line with the requirements of the federal 
statute.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 260. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 
260 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 260 hereby amended shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 260 amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 260 in the 
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on September 16, 
2004.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 16th day of September 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

260  General Appeal Procedures for the Child and Adult 
Care Food Programs of the United States Department of 

Agriculture CACFP/USDA

1.0  When a participating institution or agency seeks to 
appeal actions taken by the Delaware Department of 
Education pursuant to findings based on monitoring or 
administrative reviews the following shall apply:

1.1  The institution or agency shall be advised in writing 
of the grounds on which the Delaware Department of 
Education has based its action. The notice of action, which 
shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested shall 
also include a statement indicating that the institution has the 
right to appeal the action.

1.2  To initiate an appeal procedure, a written request for 
review shall be filed by the appellant not later than 15 
calendar days from the date the appellant received the notice 
of action, and the Delaware Department of Education shall 
acknowledge the receipt of the request for appeal within 10 
calendar days. Then, the following procedures shall pertain:

1.2.1  Within five (5) days of receipt of an appeal 
for review, the Delaware Secretary of Education, or his/her 
designee, shall appoint a review official who shall be 
selected from the approved list of hearing officers. The 
review official shall be an independent and impartial official 
other than, and not accountable to, any person authorized to 
make decisions that are subject to appeal under the 
provisions of this section.

1.2.2  The appellant may refute the charges 
contained in the notice of action in person and by written 
documentation to the review official. In order to be 
considered, written documentation must be filed with the 
review official not later than 30 calendar days after the 
appellant received the notice of action. The appellant may 
retain legal counsel, or may be represented by another 
person. A hearing shall be held by the review official in 
addition to, or in lieu of, a review of written information 
submitted by the appellant only if the appellant so specifies 
in the letter of request for review. Failure of the appellant 
institution’s representative to appear at a scheduled hearing 
shall constitute the appellant institution’s waiver of the right 
to a personal appearance before the review official, unless 
the review official agrees to reschedule the hearing. A 
representative of the Delaware Department of Education 
shall be allowed to attend the hearing to respond to the 
appellant’s testimony and to answer questions posed by the 
review official.

1.2.2.1  If the appellant does not specifically 
request a hearing in the letter of request for review, and the 
review official determines that a review of documentation is 
sufficient for resolution, the appellant and the Delaware 
Department of Education shall be advised of the official’s 
determination.

1.2.2.2  If the appellant has requested a 
hearing, the appellant and the Delaware Department of 
Education shall be provided with at least 10 calendar days 
advance written notice, sent by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, of the time and place of the hearing.

1.2.3  Any information on which the Delaware 
Department of Education’s action was based shall be 
available to the appellant for inspection from the date of 
receipt of the request for review.

1.2.4  The review official shall make a 
determination based on information provided by the 
Delaware Department of Education and the appellant, and on 
Program regulations.

1.2.5  Within 60 calendar days of the Delaware 
Department of Education’s receipt of the request for review, 
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the review official shall inform the State agency and the 
appellant of the determination of the review.

1.2.6  The Delaware Department of Education’s 
action shall remain in effect during the appeal process. 
However, participating institutions and facilities may 
continue to operate under the Program during an appeal of 
termination, unless the action is based on imminent dangers 
to the health or welfare of participants.

1.2.7  The determination by the Delaware 
Department of Education’s review official is the final 
administrative determination to be afforded to the appellant.

1.2.8  Appeals shall not be allowed on decisions 
made by the Food and Consumer Services, U.S. Department 
of Agriculture, on requests for exceptions to the claims 
submission deadlines stated in 7CFR Sec. 226.10(e) or 
requests for upward adjustments to claims.

1.2.9  In cases where an appeal results in the 
dismissal of a claim against an institution, which was 
asserted by the Delaware Department of Education, based 
upon Federal audit findings of the Food and Consumer 
Services, U.S. Department of Agriculture, may assert a claim 
against the Delaware Department of Education in 
accordance with the procedures outlined in 7CFR Sec. 
226.14(c).

Authority: 7 CFR Sec. 226.6 State Agency 
Administrative Responsibilities, (k) Institution appeal 
procedures.

See 5 DE Reg. 461 (8/1/01)

260  General Administrative Review Procedures for the 
Child and Adult Care Food Programs of the United 
States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA

1.0 Institutions participating in the Delaware CACFP 
may request an Administrative Review of the following 
actions:

1.1 Denial of a new or renewing institution's 
application for participation;

1.2 Denial of an application submitted by a sponsoring 
organization on behalf of a facility; 

1.3 Proposed termination of an institution’s agreement;
1.4 Proposed disqualification of a responsible principal 

or responsible individual;  
1.5 Suspension of an institution’s participation;  
1.6 Denial of an institution's application for start-up or 

expansion payments;
1.7 Denial of all or a part of an institution’s claim for 

reimbursement except for a denial based on a late 
submission under 7 CFR §226.10(e);

1.8 Demand for the remittance of an overpayment; and 
1.9 Any other action of the State agency affecting an 

institution’s participation or its claim for reimbursement.

2.0 Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 1.0 above,
institutions participating in the Delaware CACFP may 
not request an Administrative Review of the following 
actions: 

2.1 A determination that an institution is seriously 
deficient; 

2.2 Disqualification of an institution or a responsible 
principal or responsible individual, and the subsequent 
placement on the State agency list and the National 
disqualified list; or 

2.3 Termination of a participating institution’s 
agreement, including termination of a participating 
institution’s agreement based on the disqualification of the 
institution by any publically funded program.

3.0 Except where the abbreviated administrative review 
procedures apply as set forth below, administrative 
reviews will be conducted as follows:

3.1 The Department of Education (“Department”) must 
give notice of the action being taken or proposed, the basis 
for the action, and the procedures under which the institution 
and the responsible principals or responsible individuals may 
request an administrative review of the action.  Notice shall 
be given to the institution’s executive director and chairman 
of the board of directors, and the responsible principals and 
responsible individuals by U. S. Mail postage prepaid.   As 
used herein, “Petitioner” means a participating institution or 
agency, or its responsible principals or responsible 
individuals, as appropriate under the circumstances. 

3.2 A request for administrative review must be 
submitted to the Department in writing not later than 15 days 
after the date the notice of action is received.

3.3 The petitioner may retain legal counsel or may be 
represented by another person if permitted by law.

3.4 Any information on which the Department’s action 
was based will be available to the petitioner for inspection 
from the date of receipt by the Department of the request for 
an administrative review.

3.5 The petitioner may refute the findings contained in 
the notice of action in person or by submitting written 
documentation to the Department’s review official.  In order 
to be considered, written documentation must be submitted 
to and received by the review official not later than 30 days 
after the petitioner received the notice of action.

3.6 A hearing must be held by the administrative 
review official in addition to, or in lieu of, a review of 
written information only if the petitioner requests a hearing 
in the written request for an administrative review.  If the 
petitioner fails to appear at a scheduled hearing, the 
petitioner waives the right to a personal appearance before 
the administrative review official, unless the administrative 
review official agrees to reschedule the hearing.  A 
representative of the Department may, but is not required, to 
attend the hearing to respond to the petitioner’s testimony 
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and to answer questions posed by the administrative review 
official.  If a hearing is requested, the petitioner and the 
Department must be provided with at least 10 days notice of 
the time and place of the hearing.  

3.7 The administrative review official shall be 
independent and impartial.  The administrative review 
official may be an employee of the Department, but must not 
have been involved in the action that is the subject of the 
administrative review, or have a direct personal or financial 
interest in the outcome of the administrative review.   The 
petitioner may contact the administrative review official 
directly, but all such contacts must include the participation 
of a representative of the Department if the Department 
chooses to participate.

3.8 The administrative review official shall make a 
determination based solely on the information provided by 
the Department, the petitioner, and based upon federal and 
Delaware laws, regulations, policies and procedures 
governing the CACFP/USDA.

3.9 The decision of the administrative review official 
shall be issued to the Department and petitioner within 60 
days of the Department’s receipt of the written request for an 
administrative review.  If the last day on which the decision 
is to be issued shall fall on a Saturday, Sunday, legal state 
holiday, or day when the Department is closed due to 
adverse weather conditions, the decision shall be issued on 
the next regular work day of the Department.  The failure to 
issue a timely decision shall not, solely in itself, constitute 
grounds for reversing the Department’s action.  The decision 
of the administrative review official is the final 
administrative determination to be afforded to the petitioner.

3.10The Department shall maintain a searchable record 
of all administrative reviews and the dispositions of the 
same.

3.11The Department shall conduct the administrative 
review of the proposed disqualification of the responsible 
principals and responsible individuals as part of the 
administrative review of the application denial, proposed 
termination and/or proposed disqualification of the 
institution with which the responsible principals or 
responsible individuals are associated.  However, at the 
discretion of the administrative review official, separate 
administrative reviews may be held if the institution does not 
request an administrative review or if either the institution or 
the responsible principal or responsible individual 
demonstrates that their interests conflict.

4.0 Notwithstanding any of the foregoing to the contrary, 
administrative review will be limited to a review of written 
submissions concerning the accuracy of the Department’s 
determination if the application was denied or the 
Department proposes to terminate the institution’s agreement 
because:

4.1 The information submitted on the application was 

false; or
4.2 The institution, one of its sponsored facilities, or 

one of the principals of the institution or its facilities is
4.2.1On the National Disqualified List; or
4.2.2Ineligible to participate in any other publicly 

funded program by reason of violation of the requirements of 
the program; or

4.2.3Has been convicted for any activity that 
indicates a lack of business integrity.

5.0 The Department’s administrative responsibilities to 
a participating institution shall remain in effect during 
the administrative review as follows:

5.1 Overpayment demand.  During the period of the 
administrative review, the Department is prohibited from 
taking action to collect or offset the overpayment.  However, 
the Department must assess interest beginning with the 
initial demand for remittance of the overpayment and 
continuing through the period of administrative review 
unless the administrative review official overturns the 
Department’s action.

5.2 Program payments.  The availability of Program 
payments during an administrative review of the denial of a 
new institution’s application, denial of a renewing 
institution’s application, proposed termination of a 
participating institution’s agreement, and suspension of an 
institution shall be treated in accordance with the provisions 
of 7 CFR §226.6 (c)(1)(iii)(D), (c)(2)(iii)(D), (c)(3)(iii)(D), 
(c)(5)(i)(D), and (c)(5)(ii)(E), respectively.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 852

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

852 Child Nutrition

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 852 Child Nutrition in order to add the 
appropriate references to the federal legislation concerning 
nutrition standards and to correct the grammar.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on July 26, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. 
Comments were received from the Governor’s Advisory 
Council for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for 
Persons with Disabilities.  In response to the Councils’ 
concern that the regulation did not include charter schools, 
the Department does not believe that it has the authority to 
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include charter schools within this regulation.  
In response to the Councils’ concern about the sale of 

soft drinks in schools, the regulation is designed to reinforce 
Federal regulation 7CFR Ch.11§ 210.11(2)(b) Competitive 
Food Service which prohibits the sale of foods of minimal 
value in the food service areas during the lunch period.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 852 in order to add the appropriate 
references to the federal legislation concerning nutrition 
standards and to correct the grammar.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 852. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 
852 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 852 hereby amended shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 852 amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code in the 
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on September 16, 
2004.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 16th day of September 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

 852 Child Nutrition

1.0 Each school district shall have a Child Nutrition 
Policy which at a minimum shall provide that:

1.1 Meals served to children will be are nutritious and 
well balanced as defined by USDA 7CFR Part 210.10 
Nutrition Standards for Lunches and Menu Planning 
Methods and USDA 7CFR Part 220.8 Nutrition Standards 

for Breakfast and Menu Planning Alternatives. 
1.2 The foods sold in addition to meals be are selected 

to promote healthful eating habits and exclude those foods of 
minimal nutritional value as defined by the Food and 
Nutrition Service, USDA 7 CFR Part 210, Appendix B.

1.3 Purchasing practices ensure the use of quality 
products.

1.4 Students have adequate time to eat breakfast and 
lunch.

1.5 Nutrition education be an integral is part of the 
curriculum from preschool to twelfth grade.

1.6 Food service personnel use training and resource 
materials developed by the Department of Education and the 
United States Department of Agriculture to motivate 
children in selecting healthy diets.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 1105

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1105 School Transportation

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 
State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 
1105 School Transportation. A new section, 22.0, has been 
added to include the responsibilities of non-public, non-
profit schools for the administration of their transportation 
systems under the rules and regulations of the Department of 
Education.  Some additional language is included in the final 
version to further clarify the issues in 22.3 and 22.4.  Section 
13.2.1 was also amended in order to allow for a different 
payment schedule for school districts that begin school 
before September 1st.  Instead of changing the payment date 
for everyone as appeared in the proposed regulation, the 
final version allows for differences in the district pay 
schedules.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on July 26, 2004 
in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  Comments were 
received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with 
Disabilities. 

In response to the comments that the nonpublic school 
standards, Section 22.3 have no analogous exception as in 
8.7, the Department has added an eligibility exception 
statement in Section 22.3 similar to the statement in section 
8.7 for families of nonprofit, nonpublic school students who 
are unable to walk or should not walk from home to school 
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and return.
In response to the concern about Section 19.0 based on 

14 Del.C. §3124 the Department’s response remains the 
same as in the April 2004 reply to the Councils that “the 
comments are not specific to the amendments being 
considered and in addition the concerns that were expressed 
about the regulation largely reflect the statutory provisions”. 

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 1105 in order to add a new section, 22.0, 
to include the responsibilities of non-public, non-profit 
schools for the administration of their transportation systems 
under the rules and regulations of the Department of 
Education.  Section 13.2.1 was also amended in order to 
allow for a different payment schedule for school districts 
that begin school before September 1st.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1105. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 
1105 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 1105 hereby amended shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1105 amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code in the 
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch 29 on September 16, 
2004.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 16th day of September 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President

Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Clairbourne D. Smith

1105  School Transportation

1.0 Responsibilities of Local Superintendents:  Local 
District Superintendents or their designees shall assume the 
following responsibilities concerning the transportation of 
students:

1.1 Implement state school transportation regulations. 
Local school disciplinary policies shall include pupil 
behavior and discipline on the school bus.

1.2 Define and coordinate changes to school 
transportation operations impacting local district budget 
allocations with the Department of Education.

1.3 Provide resource material and encourage teachers 
to include instruction in passenger safety in the school 
curriculum.

1.4 Provide for close and continuous supervision of the 
unloading and loading zones on or near the school plant, and 
of the emergency drills.

1.5 Provide supervision for those students whose bus 
schedules require them to arrive at school before classes 
begin and remain after classes terminate.

1.6 Promote public understanding of, and support for 
the district‘s school transportation program.

1.7 Assume prime responsibility for student conduct.

2.0 Conditions for School Bus Contractors:  School Bus 
Contractors shall agree to the following conditions in 
their contracts:

2.1 Follow all applicable federal, state, and local school 
bus regulations and policies.

2.2 Communicate effectively with the district 
transportation supervisor.

2.3 Dismiss a school bus driver when it can be shown 
that the driver is not satisfactorily performing driver tasks. 
District transportation supervisors may restrict a driver from 
operating in their school district.

2.4 Pay drivers and aides and provide substitute drivers 
and aides.

3.0 Responsibilities of School Bus Drivers:  Local school 
districts shall have a policy concerning the responsibilities of 
school bus drivers which, at a minimum, includes the 
following:

3.1 A statement that the school bus driver is in full 
charge of the bus and pupils, has the authority of a classroom 
teacher and is responsible for the health, safety, and welfare 
of each passenger.
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3.2 Statements listing the following specific 
responsibilities of the bus driver:

3.2.1 Operate the school bus in a safe and 
efficient manner.

3.2.2 Conduct pre-trip and post-trip checks on 
the vehicle.

3.2.3 Establish and maintain rapport with 
passengers.

3.2.4 Maintain discipline among passengers.
3.2.5 Meet emergency situations effectively.
3.2.6 Communicate effectively with district and 

school staff.
3.2.7 Maintain effective contact with the public.
3.2.8 Complete reports as required by the state 

or school district.
3.2.9 Complete required training programs 

satisfactorily.
3.2.10 Refrain from using profane or indecent 

language or tobacco while on duty.
3.2.11 Dress appropriately.
3.2.12 Pickup and drop-off students at designated 

stops.
3.2.13 Submit to periodic random drug and 

alcohol testing and be subject to actions specified in the 
Delaware Code and in federal requirements.

3.2.14 Report suspected cases of child abuse to 
the school principal or designated official.

3.2.15 Notify the district transportation 
supervisor of any school bus accident.

3.3 A statement requiring a report of a physical 
examination on forms designated by the Department of 
Education.

4.0 Qualifications and Responsibilities of School Bus 
Aides

4.1 Qualifications for School Bus Aides include the 
following and shall apply to all new applicants and for any 
person whose employment as an aide has lapsed for a period 
of over one year.

4.1.1 Be at least 18 years of age.
4.1.2 Be fingerprinted to allow a criminal 

history check at both state and federal level and meet the 
same requirements (pre-licensing) specified for school bus 
drivers in the Del.C.

4.1.3 File with the district transportation 
supervisor a notarized affidavit (the same as the school bus 
driver affidavit) attesting to acceptable criminal history 
pending an official state and federal criminal record report.

4.1.4 Submit to the federal drug and alcohol 
testing procedures established for school bus drivers. 

4.2 Local school districts shall have a policy 
concerning school bus aides which, at a minimum, lists the 
following responsibilities:

4.2.1 Assist in loading and unloading of 

students, including lift operation.
4.2.2 Ensure that students and equipment are 

properly strapped in seats.  Adjust, fasten, and release 
restraint devices for students and equipment, as required. 
Monitor overall safety of students and equipment.

4.2.3 Ensure that all students remain seated at 
all times.

4.2.4 Assist the driver during unusual traffic 
conditions; act as a lookout if necessary when bus must be 
backed.

4.2.5 Assist the driver in the enforcement of all 
state and school district bus safety regulations.

4.2.6 Perform record keeping tasks related to 
student attendance and bus assignment.

4.2.7 Monitor and report student misbehavior 
according to established procedure.

4.2.8 Assist the driver in keeping the interior of 
the bus clean.

4.2.9 Assist students with disabilities with 
personal needs associated with their disabilities.

4.2.10 Assist in bus evacuation drills.
4.2.11 Work cooperatively with all school 

personnel and parents.
4.2.12 Perform other duties as assigned by the 

district transportation supervisor or designee.

5.0 Student Conduct on School Buses:  School Districts 
shall have a policy concerning the behavior of students on 
school buses that shall, at a minimum, contain the following 
rules which if not followed may result in the suspension of 
bus riding privileges.

5.1 Obey the driver promptly, and be courteous to the 
driver and to fellow students.  Students are to conduct 
themselves while on the bus in such a way that it will not 
distract the driver from the job of driving.

5.2 Be at their bus stop on time for pickup.
5.3 Wait for the bus on the sidewalk or shoulder, not the 

roadway.
5.4 Keep a safe distance from the bus while it is in 

motion.
5.5 Enter the bus without crowding or disturbing others 

and occupy their seats immediately.
5.6 Get on or off the bus only when it is stopped.
5.7 Remain seated and facing forward.  No student 

shall occupy a position in the driver area in front of a 
stanchion, barrier, or white floor line that may distract the 
driver’s attention or interfere with the driver’s vision.

5.8 Stay out of the driver’s seat.  Also, unnecessary 
conversation with the driver is prohibited while the bus is in 
motion.

5.9 Follow highway safety practices in accordance with 
the Motor Vehicle Laws of the State of Delaware and walk 
on the side of the road facing traffic when going to or from 
the bus or bus stop along the highway.  Before crossing the 
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road to board the bus or after being discharged from the bus 
cross only upon an audible clearance signal from the driver.

5.10 Do not cross the road until it is clear of all 
traffic or that traffic has come to a complete stop and then 
walk in front of the bus far enough to be seen by the driver at 
all times.

5.11 Observe classroom conduct when on the bus.
5.12 Do not call out to passers-by or open the bus 

windows without permission from the driver, nor extend 
head or arms out of the windows.

5.13 Do not leave the bus without the driver’s 
consent, except on arrival at their regular bus stop or at 
school.

5.14 Keep the bus clean, sanitary, and orderly and 
not damage or abuse the equipment.

5.15 Do not smoke, use profanity or eat or drink on 
the bus.

5.16 Do not throw articles of any kind in, out, or 
around the bus.

5.17 Other forms of misconduct that will not be 
tolerated are acts such as, but not limited to, indecent 
exposure, obscene gestures, spitting, and others that may be 
addressed in the school code of conduct.

6.0 Procedures for Operating Buses:  Each school district 
shall adopt the following procedures for the operation of 
their school buses:

6.1 No person other than a pupil, teacher, school 
official, aide or substitute driver shall be permitted to ride on 
a school bus while transporting pupils.  Exceptions may be 
made for parents involved in Department of Education 
educational programs that provide for transportation and 
others approved by the district transportation supervisor.

6.2 The driver shall maintain a schedule in the bus and 
shall at all times adhere to it.  Drivers shall not be required to 
wait for pupils unless they can be seen making an effort to 
reach the bus stop.

6.3 The driver shall maintain discipline on the bus, and 
shall report cases of disobedience or misconduct to the 
proper school officials.  No pupils may be discharged from 
the bus for disciplinary reasons except at the home or school. 
The principal or designated school official shall be notified 
of such action immediately. Any change to the action taken 
by the driver or any further disciplinary action to be taken is 
the responsibility of the principal or designated school 
official.

3 DE Reg. 942 (1/1/00)
6.4 Pupils shall have definite places to get on and leave 

the bus, and should not be allowed to leave the bus at any 
place other than the regular stop without written permission 
from their parents, and approval by the principal or 
designated school official, except in cases of emergency. 
Districts may adopt a more restrictive policy.

6.5 Buses shall be brought to a full stop before pupils 

are allowed to get on or off.  Pupils are not permitted to ride 
outside or in any hazardous location in the bus including the 
area ahead of the stanchions, barriers, or white floor line 
designating the driver-area.

6.6 Buses shall not stop near the crest of hills, on 
curves, or on upgrades or downgrades of severe inclination. 
When stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging 
pupils, the bus shall always be stopped on the right side of 
the road and as far off the paved or main traveled portion of 
the highway as the condition of the shoulder permits.

6.7 Pupils who must cross the road to board the bus or 
after leaving the bus shall cross at a distance in front of the 
bus and beyond the crossing control arms so as to be clearly 
seen by the driver and only upon an audible clearance by the 
driver.  The driver shall attempt to signal pupils to cross by 
instructions through the external speaker of the public 
address system.

6.8 All loading and unloading of pupils shall be made 
from the service door.  The rear exit door is not to be used 
except in cases of emergency or emergency drills.  No object 
shall be placed in the bus that restricts the passage to the 
emergency door or other exits.

6.9 No one but the driver shall occupy the driver’s seat. 
Pupils shall remain behind the white floor line.

6.10 Seats may be assigned to pupils by the driver, 
subject to the approval of a school official.

6.11 The doors of the bus shall be kept closed while 
the bus is in motion, and pupils shall not put their head or 
arms out of open windows.

6.12 When the bus is stopped on school grounds, 
students are aboard, and the motor is running, the 
transmission shall be in neutral (clutch disengaged) and the 
parking brake set.  While on school grounds, drivers shall 
not leave their seat while the motor is running or leave the 
key in the ignition switch.

6.13 Fuel tanks shall not be filled while the engine 
is running or while pupils are in the bus.

6.14 Weapons of any kind are not permitted on a 
school bus.

6.15 Animals are not permitted on school buses; 
however, a service animal is permitted if a physician certifies 
that it is required.

6.16 A school bus shall not be used for hauling 
anything that would make it objectionable for school use or 
unsafe for passengers.

6.17 Band instruments, shop projects and other 
school projects shall not be permitted on the bus if they 
interfere with the driver or other passengers.  The aisle, exits, 
and driver’s vision shall not be blocked.

6.18 Bus stops on roadways with three or more 
lanes (with oncoming traffic) must be made on the right side 
of the road.  Students shall not be required to cross more than 
two lanes of traffic when entering or leaving the bus.

6.19 Headlights or daytime running lights shall be 
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on at all times when the bus is in motion.
6.20 On the bus route every effort should be made to 

load children before turn-arounds are made and unload them 
after the turn-around is made.

6.21 Backing of school buses is prohibited, except 
in unusual circumstances:

6.21.1 A school bus shall not be driven 
backwards on school grounds unless an adult is posted to 
guard the rear of the bus.

6.21.2 When backing is unavoidable extreme 
caution must be exercised by the bus operator and an outside 
observer should be used if possible.

7.0 Accident Reports: All drivers or contractors shall 
complete accident reports and submit them to the district 
person in charge of transportation in order to assure accurate 
information pertaining to school bus accidents.

7.1 The following information shall be included on all 
school bus accident reports and be maintained in the district 
transportation files:

7.1.1 A description, preferably using diagrams, 
of the damage to each vehicle in addition to estimates of 
damage costs.

7.1.2 A description of all personal injuries.
7.1.3 A list of passengers and witnesses.
7.1.4 Name, address and telephone number of 

the driver.
3 DE Reg. 942 (1/1/00)

7.1.5 Follow-up information, such as the actual 
cost of repairs, should be added to the accident report 
wherever it is filed; i.e., in federal, state or local offices, so 
that the record of the accident is complete.  Other pertinent 
information relating to the accident that should be added 
later, if the information is readily available, includes:

• Disposition of any litigation.
• Disposition of any summonses.
• Net effects of all personal injuries sus-

tained, including medical care given, 
physician’s fees, hospital expenses, etc.

• Amount of property damage other than 
to vehicles involved.

• Any corrective actions taken against the 
school bus driver, e.g., training, suspen-
sion, or dismissal.

• A summation of the driver’s total acci-
dent record so that each completed 
report form will contain a listing of the 
total number of accidents that the driver 
has had.

8.0 Transportation Benefits:  Transportation benefits shall 
be provided for pupils in grades K-6 whose legal residences 
are one (1) mile or more from the public schools to which 
they would normally be assigned by the district 

administrations and for pupils in grades 7-12 whose legal 
residences are two (2) miles or more from the public schools 
to which they would normally be assigned by the district 
administrations.

8.1 For the purpose of these regulations, the “legal 
residence” of the pupil is deemed to be the legal residence of 
the parent(s), legal guardian(s), or caregiver Relative 
Caregiver as described in 14 Del.C. §202(e)(3).  Daycare 
facilities may be designated as a pupil’s residence for pickup 
and drop off.

8.2 To determine pupil eligibility for transportation 
benefits, measurement shall be by the most direct route 
provided by a public road or public walkway.  The 
measurement shall be from the nearest point where a private 
road or walkway connects the legal residence of the pupil 
with the nearest public entrance of the school building to 
which the pupil is normally assigned by the school district 
administration.

8.3 All school bus routes shall be measured from the 
first pick-up point to the respective schools served in the 
approved sequence, and then by the most direct route back to 
the first pick-up point.

8.4 Additional bus routes required after the opening of 
school shall be approved by the Department of Education 
and supported by evidence of need to include:  enrollment 
number changes, descriptions of existing routes in the area 
of proposed additional service, the run times, and actual 
loads.  A description of the proposed route shall also 
accompany the request.

8.5 Transportation for eligible pupils may be provided 
from locations other than their legal residence provided that:

8.5.1 Such pickup and discharge points as 
approved by the district administration are in excess of the 
relevant one and two mile limits from the school to be 
attended, and such transportation to be provided will be to 
the public school to which the pupil is assigned by the 
district administration.

8.5.2 Such transportation to be provided be on 
the same bus and/or route to and from the school attended by 
the pupil (i.e. each student is entitled to one seat on one bus) 
except that permission may be granted on a year-by-year 
basis by the district administration for eligible pupils to ride 
other buses if seats are available and does not create 
additional expense to the State.

8.5.3 The limitation pertaining to “same bus and 
route” indicated above is not applicable to pupils attending 
vocational-technical schools or kindergartens operating one-
half day sessions.

8.6 A spur to a bus route (where a bus leaves a main 
route) shall not be scheduled unless the one-way distance is 
greater than ½ mile.  Requests for exception due to a unique 
traffic hazard from a parent must be in writing, approved by 
the local school board, and submitted through the Chairman 
of the Unique Hazard Committee for review.
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8.7 Students otherwise ineligible to ride a bus may ride 
if a physician certifies that a student is unable or should not 
walk from home to school and return.

9.0 Bus Capacities:  Bus capacities for children in grades 
K-6 shall be established by the manufacturer on the basis of 
13 inches per child, and for Grades7-12 secondary pupils the 
capacity shall be established on the basis of 15 inches per 
child.  A mixture of the criteria will be used to plan loads 
when pupils come from both of the above groups.  Actual 
bus loads may not exceed this guidance.  Standees shall not 
be permitted under normal circumstances; however, 
exceptions may be made in emergency situations on a 
temporary basis.

10.0 Loading and Unloading:  Each school shall have a 
loading and unloading dock or area, rather than load or 
discharge passengers onto the street.  On school grounds all 
other traffic is prohibited in the loading and unloading area 
during school bus loading/unloading operations.

11.0 Unique Hazards:  Unique hazards are considered 
to be conditions or situations that expose the pedestrian to 
rare or uncommon traffic dangers.  This definition is not 
intended to include hazards representative of situations 
which may exist throughout the State.

11.1 Procedures for handling Unique Hazards 
requests.

11.1.1 When the request for relief originates with 
parents of pupils affected or vested officials, such as State 
and local police representatives, Safety Council 
representatives, and legislators, it shall be presented in 
writing to the local school authorities.

11.1.1.1 The local school administration shall 
make every effort to resolve problems identified by the 
parents, vested officials, or by the local district staff.

11.1.1.2 If the problem cannot be resolved by 
the local school administration, the request shall be 
forwarded to the local board of education for appropriate 
action.  If the local board of education has explored all of the 
local alternatives to resolve the problem without success, a 
request by board action shall be made to the Chairman of the 
Unique Hazards Committee (Education Associate for School 
Transportation).

11.2The request to the Unique Hazards Committee must 
include:

11.2.1 The original request from the parents, 
vested officials, or the district staff.

11.2.2 A statement of the specific hazard and area 
involved including maps showing the specific location, 
points of concern and schools attended.

11.2.3  Number and grades of children involved.
11.2.4 School schedule and the time children 

would normally be walking to and from school in the area of 

concern.
11.2.5 List any actions to resolve the problem 

taken by the local school administration.
11.2.6 List any actions to resolve the problem 

taken by the local board of education.
11.3 The Unique Hazards Committee will process 

the request and report its findings and recommendations to 
the Department of Education for their consideration and 
action.  A copy of the report will also be forwarded to the 
local board of education involved.11.2.7  List any actions to 
resolve the problem taken by the town, the city or county.

11.4 The Unique Hazards Committee consists of 
representatives from the Department of Transportation; the 
New Castle County Crossing Guard Division; Delaware 
Safety Council; Traffic Control Section, the Delaware State 
Police; and the Department of Education Associate for 
School Transportation (Chairman).

11.5 Unique Hazards Committee Recommendations 
Appeal Process

11.5.1 Appeals to the Unique Hazards Committee 
recommendations approved by the State Department of 
Education must be in writing and from the local board of 
education.

11.5.2 The local school board shall, before 
making an appeal, make every effort to resolve the problem. 
If, in the opinion of the local board of education, 
reconsideration is needed by the Unique Hazards 
Committee, the appeal, along with pertinent information, 
should be forwarded to the Chairman of the Unique Hazards 
Committee.

11.5.3 The Unique Hazards Committee will 
submit to the State Department of Education its 
recommendations regarding the appeal for reconsideration 
by the local board of education.  A copy of the report will 
also be forwarded to the local board of education involved.

12.0 Contingency Plans:  Each school district shall 
have contingency plans for inclement weather, accidents, 
bomb threats, hostages, civil emergencies, natural disasters, 
and facility failures (environmental/water, etc.).  These plans 
shall be developed in cooperation with all those whose 
services would be required in the event of various types of 
emergencies.  The school transportation supervisor, school 
administrators, teachers, drivers, maintenance and service 
personnel, students, and others shall be instructed in the 
procedure to be followed in the event of the contingencies 
provided for in the plans.

13.0 Reimbursements for School Bus Ownership and 
or Contracts:  School buses may be either state owned/
district operated or contracted.

13.1 Reimbursements for buses operated by the 
district shall be on the basis of the formula for district 
operated buses unless otherwise approved by the Department 
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of Education.
13.1.1 Drivers employed by the district shall be 

paid on the regular payroll of the district.  When drivers are 
employed in a dual capacity there shall be strict accounting 
for salary division.

13.2 Reimbursement for buses operated on contract 
shall be on the basis of the approved formula or of a bid if 
the amount should be less.

13.2.1 Contractors shall be paid regularly [at the 
end in the middle] of the month.  The total contract shall be 
paid in ten (10) installments, with the first payment [at the 
end in the middle] of September.  [For those school 
districts opening before September 1, payments may be 
made as early as thirty (30) days following the start of the 
school year with follow-up monthly payments to be made 
no earlier than the date used for the first payment.]

13.3 Any transportation costs caused by grade 
reorganizations and/or pupil re-assignments during the 
school term after October 1, other than the occupancy of a 
new school building, shall be at the expense of the local 
school district unless approved by the Department of 
Education.

13.4 Bills unpaid from Transportation funding lines 
that have not been encumbered as of June 30, shall be the 
responsibility of the local school district.

13.5 Reimbursement to the local school district for 
contracts or for district-owned or leased buses shall be made 
on the basis of a Department of Education formula approved 
by the State Board of Education.  This formula shall take 
into consideration school bus cost and depreciation, fixed 
charges, operations, maintenance, driver and aide wages. 
Reimbursement shall be made only for transportation of 
eligible pupils and exceptions approved by the Department 
of Education and the State Board of Education.

13.6 Contract allowances for buses when there are 
Emergency Days (forgiven by the Department of Education 
with the consent of the State Board of Education), Specially 
Declared Holidays or Strikes by Teachers.

13.6.1 School bus contractors and school districts 
shall be paid the normal rate of pay as provided for in their 
contract, less the allowance for maintenance and 
administration.  Driver (including layover allowance) and 
aide allowances shall be paid.

13.6.2 School bus contractors and school districts 
with buses assigned to midday kindergarten or vocational-
technical trips shall be paid the normal rate of pay as 
provided for in their contract, less the allowance for fuel.

13.6.3 The additional mileage allowance for 
contractor and school district buses will not include fuel and 
maintenance allowances.

13.6.4 The Delmar School District shall be 
reimbursed on the basis of the additional days necessary to 
operate as a result of the agreement with the Wicomico 
County Board of Education for the Delmar, Maryland 

elementary schools.
14.0 Transportation Formulas for Public School Districts 
Operating District, Lease, or Lease Purchase Buses Items 
which are not on this list must be approved by the State 
Department of Education.  Any purchase, commitment, or 
obligation exceeding the transportation allocation to the 
district is the responsibility of the district.

14.1 The following items may be used for the 
purpose of providing pupil transportation in accordance with 
the regulations of the Department of Education.

14.1.1 Advertising including equipment, routes, 
supplies, and employees.

14.1.2 Communication systems including two-
way radios, cellular phones, and AM-FM radio.

14.1.3 Fuel including gasoline, diesel, propane, 
kerosene, storage tanks, pumps, additives, and oil.

14.1.4 Leasing/rental including tools, equipment, 
storage facilities, buses, garage space, and office space.

14.1.5 Office supplies and materials including 
computer hardware, computer software, data processing, 
maps, postage, printing, subscription, and measuring 
devices.

14.1.6 Safety materials including audio-visual 
aids, restraining vests, belts, safety awards, pins, patches, 
certificates, wheelchair ramps, wheelchair retainers, 
printing, handout materials, pamphlets, training materials, 
subscriptions, and bus seats.

14.1.7 Salary/wages including attendants (aide) 
as approved by the Department of Education when required 
in a student’s IEP, dispatchers, drivers, maintenance helpers, 
mechanics, mechanics helpers, office workers, secretarial, 
substitute drivers, supervisory (other than State supported 
supervisor or manager), and State provided employee 
benefits.

14.1.8 Shop facilities including heat, electric, 
water, sewer, security, fences, lights, locks, guards, bus 
storage, janitorial supplies, brushes, mops, buckets, soap, 
tools, maintenance vehicles, grease, service vehicles, and 
work uniforms for maintenance staff.

14.1.9 Sidewalks including construction of 
sidewalks, footbridges, etc. that would be offset in reduced 
busing costs in 5 years or less, with prior approval of 
Supervisors of Transportation and School Plant Planning.

14.2 Special 01-60 state funds are provided to 
school districts for training supplies.  This account may also 
be used for reimbursements for state provided equipment 
and services.

14.3 Examples of Programs Excluded from State 
Reimbursement:

14.3.1 Extracurricular Field trips
14.3.2 Transportation of pupils from one school 

to another for special programs (e.g., music festivals, 
Christmas programs, etc.)

14.3.3 Transportation of pupils to and from 
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athletic contests, practices, tutoring, band events, etc.
14.3.4 Post-secondary classes
14.3.5 Federal programs
14.3.6 Alternative school transportation when not 

using a shuttle concept that is as efficient as a shuttle 
concept.

14.3.7 Choice school transportation outside of the 
school district or outside of the attendance area of school that 
the bus normally serves.

14.3.8 Charter school transportation outside of 
the school district.

15.0 Transportation Allowances for Individuals: 
Requests for transportation allowances shall be made in 
writing to the Department of Education by districts with 
justification.  This information is necessary in order for the 
Department to determine a pupil’s eligibility.  The 
responsibility for establishing a claim for transportation 
allowances rests upon the district and claimant.

15.1 All requests shall be signed by the parent or 
guardian and certified by the superintendent, principal or the 
principal teacher of the school to be attended.  In case of a 
car pool, only the driver shall be paid.

15.2 Payments or reimbursements for transportation 
by private means shall be on the following basis:

15.2.1 When adequate public services is 
available, the public service rates shall be used.

15.2.2 When public service is not available and it 
is necessary to provide transportation by private conveyance, 
the allowance shall be calculated at the prevailing state rate 
per mile for the distance from the home to the school or 
school bus and return twice a day, or for the actual distance 
traveled.

15.2.3 Districts shall maintain a monthly record 
of mileage traveled on a form provided by the Department of 
Education.

15.2.4 Any exception or variation must be 
approved by the Department of Education.

16.0 Cost Records: Cost Records shall include the 
following costs directly attributable to the transportation of 
eligible students on district school buses:

16.1 Total expenditures by funding code.
16.2 Wages of the Drivers.
16.3 Bus maintenance costs (expenditure for all bus 

supplies, repairs and routine service).
16.4 Cost of accidents, including bus repairs.
16.5 Indirect costs (all those costs not included in 

above categories and all costs associated with those who 
supervise the school transportation operation).

17.0 Bus Replacement Schedules: The time begins for 
a new bus when it is placed in service.  A bus shall have the 
required mileage prior to the start of the school year.  Once a 

bus is placed in service for the school year, it will not be 
replaced unless it is unable to continue service due to 
mechanical failure.

17.1 The following age and mileage requirements 
apply:

17.1.1 12th year must be replaced ( it may then be 
used as a spare); or

17.1.2 150,000 miles no matter age of bus; or
17.1.3 7 years plus 100,000 miles; or
17.1.4 may be replaced after 10 years.

17.2 Contractors shall be reimbursed for their 
eligible school buses for the annual allowances permitted by 
the Formula.  New (unused) buses placed in service in a year 
following their manufacture shall begin their 7 years of 
capital allowances with the rate specified for the year of 
manufacture and continue in year increments until 
completed.

17.3 School buses purchased with state-allocated 
transportation funds may be used by the school districts for 
purposes other than transportation of pupils to and from 
school.  This type of use shall be at the district’s expense and 
shall occur only during a time when the bus is not making its 
normal school run.

In accordance with the Attorney General’s opinion of 
June 18, 1974, regarding the use of buses purchased from 
State-allocated transportation funds for purposes other than 
the regular transportation of pupils to and from school, the 
provisions of Title 14, Section 1056, School Property, Use, 
Control and Management, shall apply.

18.0 School Bus Inspections: The Delaware Motor 
Vehicle Division has two periods of time when all school bus 
owners shall have their buses inspected each year, once 
during January or February and the second yearly inspection 
during June, July, or August.

19.0 Transportation for Students with Disabilities: 
Transportation or a reimbursement for transportation 
expenses actually incurred shall be provided by the State for 
eligible persons with disabilities by the most economically 
feasible means compatible with the person’s disability 
subject to the limitations in the following regulations:

19.1 When the legal residence of a person receiving 
tuition assistance for private placement is within sixty (60) 
miles (one way) of the school or institution to be attended, 
the person shall be eligible for round trip reimbursement for 
transportation on a daily basis at the per mile rate allowed by 
the Internal Revenue Service for business use of a private 
vehicle, or for transportation at State expense which may be 
provided in lieu of the per mile reimbursement.  (Round trip 
mileage is considered to be from the person’s legal residence 
to the school or institution and return twice a day, or for 
actual mileage traveled, whichever is less.)

19.2 When the legal residence of a person receiving 
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tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of sixty 
(60) miles (one way) but less than one hundred (100) miles 
(one way) from the school or institution to be attended, the 
person shall be eligible for round trip transportation 
reimbursement at the per mile rate allowed by the Internal 
Revenue Service for business use of a private vehicle, or for 
transportation at State expense which may be provided in 
lieu of the per mile reimbursement on a weekly basis and on 
such other occasions as may be required when the school is 
not in session due to scheduled vacations or holidays of the 
school or institution.  (Round trip mileage is considered to be 
from the person’s legal residence to the school or institution 
and return twice a week.  The weekly basis is to be 
determined by the calendar of the school or institution to be 
attended.)

19.3 When the legal residence of a person receiving 
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of one 
hundred (100) miles (one way) of the school or institution to 
be attended, the person shall be eligible for round trip 
reimbursement on the basis of one round trip per year from 
the person’s legal residence to the school or institution and 
return, and at such other times when care and maintenance of 
the person is unavailable due to the closing of the residential 
facility provided in conjunction with the school or 
institution.  (Round trip is considered to be from the person’s 
legal residence to the school or institution to be attended and 
from the school or institution to the legal residence of the 
person on an annual basis or at such times as indicated 
above.)

19.4 Reimbursement shall be computed on the per 
mile rate allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for 
business use of a private vehicle from the legal residence to 
the point of embarkation and return to the legal residence 
and for the actual fares based on the most economical means 
of transportation from the point of embarkation to the school 
or institution to be attended; the return trip shall be computed 
on the same basis.

19.5 Transportation at State expense may be 
provided from the legal residence to the point of 
embarkation in lieu of the per mile reimbursement when it is 
determined by the local district to be more economically 
feasible.

19.6 The local district of residence shall be 
responsible for payment of all such transportation 
reimbursement when it is determined by the local district to 
be more economically feasible.

19.7 All requests for payment shall be made by the 
parent or legal guardian or other person who has control of 
the child to the transportation supervisor responsible for 
transportation in the district of residence at a time 
determined by the district but prior to June 5 of any year.

19.8 When reimbursements are made they shall be 
based on required documentation to support such payment.

19.9 The legal residence for the purpose of these 

regulations is defined as the residence of the parent, legal 
guardian or other persons in the state having control of the 
child with disabilities and with whom the child actually 
resides.

19.10 School Transportation Aides:  With the 
approval of the Department of Education, a state funded 
school bus aide may be provided on school buses serving 
special schools/programs for children with disabilities.

3 DE Reg. 1548 (5/1/00)

20.0 Transportation for Alternative Programs:  Costs 
for transportation shall be paid by the state from funds 
appropriated for student transportation if transportation is 
provided by extending already existing routes.  Shuttle 
services that extend existing routes will be allowed. 
Additional routes established to transport students to and 
from the Alternative Programs or other special transportation 
designs will not be paid by the state from the school 
transportation appropriation and shall be included in the 
Alternative Program budget and be paid from the state 
allocation for alternative programs and/or the districts 30% 
share.  Planning committees for these programs shall include 
the transportation supervisors who will be providing 
services.  In addition, those supervisors must coordinate 
planning with and submit their transportation plans to the 
Education Associate for School Transportation at the 
Department of Education.

21.0 Drugs and Alcohol Testing
21.1 Content:

21.1.1 Pursuant to 14  Del.C.  2910, this 
regulation shall apply to the contracting for a program of 
drug and alcohol testing services necessary to enable public 
school districts, charter schools, and any person or entity that 
contracts with a school district or charter school to provide 
transportation for State public school students, to comply 
with such drug and alcohol testing requirements applicable 
to Delaware public school bus drivers as are now, or may 
hereafter be, imposed by federal law.

21.1.2 School bus aides shall be subject to the 
same federal and state drug and alcohol testing requirements 
as school bus drivers.  They shall use non-DOT forms, and 
the employer shall follow the same procedures set forth 
herein.

21.2 Definitions:  The following words and terms, 
when used in this regulation, shall have the following 
meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Alcohol” means the intoxicating agent in beverage 
alcohol, ethyl alcohol or other low molecular exercising 
weight alcohols, including methyl or isopropyl alcohol.

“CDL” means a commercial drivers license issued 
pursuant to 21 Del.C. Chapter 26.

“Department”means the Delaware Department of 
Education.
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“DOT” means the United States Department of 
Transportation.

“Drug”means the controlled substances for which 
tests are required under the provisions of 49 U.S.C. 49 
31306 CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40, and include 
marijuana, cocaine, amphetamines, phencyclidine (PCP), 
and opiates.

“Employer” means school bus contractors or 
school districts and charter schools when they directly 
employ school bus drivers.

“Negative result” means a verified negative drug 
test result or an alcohol test result lower than the Federal 
standard as defined by the provisions of 49 U.S.C.  31306, 
49 CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40.

“Positive result” means a verified positive, 
adulterated, or substituted drug test result, an alcohol test 
result equal to or greater than the Federal standard or a 
refusal to take a drug or alcohol test as defined by the 
provisions of 49 U.S.C.  31306, 49 CFR Part 382 and 49 
CFR Part 40.

21.3 Federal Regulations: Employers shall comply 
with the drug and alcohol testing regulations issued by the 
Secretary of Transportation of the United States pursuant to 
49 U.S.C. ' 31306 and located at 49 CFR Part 382 and 49 
CFR Part 40.
 21.4 Drug and Alcohol testing program 
requirements:

21.4.1 The employer shall:
21.4.1.1 Be responsible for compliance with 

all federal and state regulations;
21.4.1.2 Maintain drug and alcohol testing 

records for their school bus drivers and aides.
21.4.1.2.1 Documentation of drug and 

alcohol testing results shall flow directly from the 
Consortium/Third Party Administrator Medical Review 
Officer (C/TPA/MRO), as defined by the provisions of 49 
CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40, to the employer.  Copies 
of positive results shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.

21.4.2 The Department shall:
21.4.1.2.2   Documentation of results shall be 

addressed to the individual, or employer, and the transportation 
supervisors for the school district, charter school or 
Department so as to ensure confidentiality.

21.4.2.1  Bid the contract for the drug and 
alcohol testing program;

21.4.2.2  Monitor the drug and alcohol testing 
program;

21.4.3 Any school bus driver or aide who is not in 
compliance with federal and state drug and alcohol testing 
requirements shall not perform driver or aide duties until 
they have satisfied the federal and state requirements.

21.4.3.1 Any school bus driver or aide who has 

a positive drug or alcohol test result shall comply with DOT 
regulations regarding a Substance Abuse Professional (SAP) 
evaluation, treatment and return-to-duty testing before 
another pre-employment test is allowed.

21.4.3.2 An employer who hires a school bus 
driver or aide who has previously failed a drug or alcohol 
test shall ensure that all follow-up drug and/or alcohol 
testing recommended by the SAP evaluation is implemented.

21.5 Pre-employment Testing
21.5.1 School bus drivers with no CDL and aides 

with no prior experience must have a negative pre-
employment drug test, and the employer must receive a 
negative result before the prospective employee can operate 
a school bus or serve as an aide.

21.5.2 Bus drivers with a CDL and school bus 
aides with past experience shall follow DOT rules and 
regulations to determine the necessity for pre-employment 
drug testing.

21.5.3 Employers shall provide Federal Drug 
Testing Custody and Control (CCF) forms to new school bus 
drivers and non-DOT forms to school bus aides who shall 
take the forms to the appropriate collection facility where the 
driver or aide shall be administered a drug test.  Forms shall 
note the employer and school district or charter school.

21.5.4 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.

21.5.5 Positive results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.  Copies of positive results 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and the Department for accounting 
and audit purposes.

21.5.6 Employers shall notify prospective school 
bus drivers and aides in writing of a positive result.  Copies 
of this letter shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for 
the school district  or charter school and the Department. 

21.6 Random Testing
21.6.1 Employers shall provide the C/TPA/MRO 

a quarterly list of eligible drivers and aides to be drug and 
alcohol tested no later than one week before the testing 
quarter.  The list shall note the primary school district or 
charter school of the drivers and aides.  Copies of the lists 
shall be provided to the school district or charter school 
transportation supervisors.

21.6.2 The C/TPA/MRO shall send the employer 
lists of drivers and aides to be tested by the end of the first 
week of the quarter.  

21.6.3 Employers shall provide CCF and alcohol 
testing forms to the drivers and aides who shall take the 
forms and go immediately to the appropriate collection 
facility where the driver or aide shall be administered a drug 
test or a drug and alcohol test.  Forms shall note the 
employer and the school district or charter school.

21.6.4 Employers shall complete the required 
random tests before the end of the calendar quarter.
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21.6.5 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO  to the employer.

21.6.6 Notification of positive results shall be 
forwarded from the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.  Copies of 
the positive results forms shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.

21.6.7 Employers shall notify school bus drivers 
and aides in writing of a positive result.  Copies of this letter 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and Department.

21.7 Post-Accident and Reasonable Suspicion 
Testing

21.7.1 Employers shall provide CCF and alcohol 
testing forms to the school bus drivers and aides who shall 
take the forms and go immediately to the appropriate 
collection facility where the driver or aide shall be 
administered a drug and/or alcohol test.  Forms shall note the 
employer and school district and charter school.

21.7.2 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.

21.7.3 Notification of positive results shall be 
forwarded from the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.  Copies of 
the positive result form shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.  

21.7.4 Employers shall notify school bus drivers 
and aides in writing of a positive result.  Copies of this letter 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and the Department. 

22.0 The nonpublic, nonprofit schools shall be 
responsible for the administration and supervision of the 
family transportation allowance provided by the State 
Department of Education.

22.1 The nonprofit, nonpublic school shall act as the 
administrator and fiscal agent.  If the nonpublic, nonprofit 
school chooses to use an agent to receive payment other than 
the nonpublic, nonprofit school, written authorization from 
the governing board of the nonpublic, nonprofit school, such 
as the board of trustees or the school board, specifying such 
agent shall be forwarded to the Education Associate for 
School Transportation in the Department of Education.  The 
use of an agent to accept payment shall not relieve the 
nonpublic, nonprofit school from its responsibility to 
administer and supervise the transportation program, to 
maintain records, or to submit such reports as may be 
required.

22.2 Those nonpublic, nonprofit schools with 
families requesting transportation allowances shall have a 
Federal ID number. [ The nonpublic, nonprofit school 
shall submit the initial transportation form, provided by 
the Department of Education, no later than August 31st

of each year.]
22.3 Transportation allowances shall be made only 

for those eligible students (Delaware residents attending 
Delaware schools) who meet residence-to-school proximity 
guidance of one (1) mile or more for grades K-6 and two (2) 
miles or more for grades 7-12 and who make application to 
the nonpublic, nonprofit school for such transportation 
allowances.  These applications for transportation 
allowances shall be signed by the parent, guardian, or 
Relative Caregiver and certified by a school administrator. 
[Families of a student who would not otherwise be 
eligible for the allowance may receive the allowance if a 
physician certifies that the student is unable to walk or 
should not walk from home to school and return.]  The 
responsibility for establishing a claim for transportation 
allowances rests upon the claimant, and all records of this 
request shall be kept on file in the nonpublic, nonprofit 
school office.  Such records shall be made available for audit 
by a representative of the Department of Education or the 
State Auditors.

22.4 The State shall provide the transportation funds 
to the nonpublic, nonprofit school or designated agent for 
eligible families.  The family shall direct the nonpublic, 
nonprofit school or designated agent how the funds are to be 
dispersed [e.g; some or all of the funds to the parent, 
guardian or Relative Caregiver for tuition, for school-
provided transportation costs, for an allowance, etc.]  The 
nonpublic, nonprofit school shall ensure that its tuition, 
transportation fees, and other costs of attendance are 
independent of the allowances.

22.5 Payment shall be made only on the basis of one 
trip to and one trip from nonpublic, nonprofit school daily. 
Families who transport more than one child to the same 
school by private conveyance shall be reimbursed on the 
basis of the number of trips rather than on the number of 
children transported.  No family shall qualify for more than 
one reimbursement for students it transports to a single 
school except for families with two or more children, one of 
whom is enrolled in a half day kindergarten program. In the 
event of car pools, each family is entitled to reimbursement, 
but a family shall not receive more than the annual 
allowance.

22.6 [The nonpublic, nonprofit school shall submit 
the initial transportation form, provided by the 
Department of Education, no later than August 31st of 
each year.]  The nonpublic, nonprofit school or designated 
agent shall submit the final transportation form provided by 
the Department of Education no later than October 3rd of 
each year.   All information shall be based on September 30th

enrollment and eligibility.  After the submission of the final 
transportation form no further adjustments for eligibility 
shall be made for the remainder of the school year.

22.7 Upon receipt of the initial form required by the 
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Department of Education the first payment shall be made at 
the end of September.  Upon receipt of the final form the 
remaining payments will be made at the end of  October, 
January, and April.  The school shall return funds not 
distributed to parents, guardians or Relative Caregivers to the 
State of Delaware.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
14 DE Admin. Code 323

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

323 Certification Computer Science Teacher
Effective July 1, 1993

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to repeal 
Regulation 323 from Title 14 of the Delaware 
Administrative Code.  The regulation concerns the 
requirements for certification of educational personnel.  As 
part of a continuing effort to reduce the number of 
regulations which govern virtually every aspect of State 
government, it is recommended that the above-referenced 
regulation be repealed.

Notice of the proposed repeal of the regulations was 
published in the News Journal and Delaware State News on 
July 20, 2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. 
The notice invited written comments.  Written comment was 
received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Citizens expressing the importance of computer 
proficiency/literacy for students, and the increasing need for 
students to develop computer skills.  The regulation 
concerns computer science and computer programming, not 
computer proficiency or literacy, which are embedded 
throughout the curriculum at the elementary level, and which 
are taught through the business education, mathematics, and 
technology education curricula at the middle and high 
schools, in addition to being embedded throughout the 
curriculum.  Students are required to demonstrate 
proficiency in computer literacy, but are not required to take 
a specific course. Fewer than 20 certificates are in existence, 
and none has been issued for this area in over four years.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to repeal this 
regulation as the incidence of issuance of certificates 

pursuant to this regulation is extremely low, and all 
individuals are eligible to hold other certificates.

III.  Decision To Repeal The Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude the 
identified regulation should be repealed.  Therefore, 
pursuant to 14 Del. C. §1203 and § 1205(b)., the regulations 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B” are hereby repealed.

IV.  Text And Citation

The text of the regulations 323, attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” are repealed, and said regulations shall be 
deleted from the DE Admin. Code.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 2ND DAY of  SEPTEMBER, 
2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Sharon Brittingham
Norman Brown Heath Chasanov
Edward Czerwinski Angela Dunmore
Karen Gordon Barbara Grogg
Bruce Harter Valerie Hoffmann
Leslie Holden Carla Lawson
Mary Mirabeau Gretchen Pikus
Karen Schilling Ross Carol Vukelich

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF 
EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 16th Day of September, 
2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

323 Certification Computer Science Teacher 
Effective July 1, 1993
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1.0  The following shall be required for a Standard License 
for all teachers assigned to teach computer programming 
grades 9-12 or any aspect of computer science, and is valid 
in grades 7-8.

1.1  Bachelor's degree from an accredited college and,
1.2  Professional Education

1.2.1  Completion of an approved teacher education 
program in Computer Science or,

1.2.2  A current, valid Standard License in any area 
of secondary education or,

1.2.3  A minimum of 24 semester hours to include 
Human Development, Methods of Teaching Computer 
Science, Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities, Effective 
Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, and student 
teaching at the secondary (9-12) level in an accredited 
secondary school and,

1.3  Specific Teaching Field
1.3.1  A major in Computer Information Science or,
1.3.2  A minimum of 12 semester hours of 

Computer Science course work to include a one-semester 
course in each of the following areas:

1.3.2.1  Data Structures and File Processing
1.3.2.2  Pascal Programming
1.3.2.3  Assembly Language
1.3.2.4   Operating Systems and,
1.3.2.5  A minimum of 6 semester hours of 

elective course work in Computer Science from courses 
designated with a Computer Science or Computer 
Information Science symbol.

2.0  The following shall be required for a Limited 
Standard License

2.1  This License may be issued for a 3-year period at 
the request of a Delaware public school district to a person 
who meets the requirements listed below, and who is 
employed as a teacher of Computer Science/Programming or 
related areas, to allow for the completion of the requirements 
stated in 1.0.

2.1.1  Requirements as stated in 1.1 and 1.2.2, and 
course work in 3 of the 4 required areas listed in 1.3.2 and,

2.1.2  Three years of successful classroom teaching 
experience at the secondary level in an accredited secondary 
school, while holding a Standard License in the content area 
taught.

3.0  Present Computer Teachers Protected
3.1  Those teachers authorized prior to the adoption of 

this License by the Delaware State Board of Education (4/
89) to teach computer science or programming, and who 
have the recommendation of the district superintendent shall 
be authorized to continue in such a teaching assignment in 
the school district where the assignment was authorized. 
Authorization to teach in this circumstance does not 
constitute a License in the area of computer science, nor is 

such authorization transferable to any other school district. 
Courses taught for computer literacy or word processing 
skills do not require certification in computer science.

4.0  Licenses that may be issued for this position include 
Standard and Limited Standard.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
14 DE Admin. Code 331

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

331 Certification Family And Consumer Sciences 
Teacher

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 331 Certification Family and Consumer 
Sciences Teacher.  This regulation applies to the certification 
of educational personnel pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a).  It 
is necessary to amend this regulation due to changes in 
statute regarding licensure and certification of educators. 
The regulation will be renumbered 1566 to reflect its 
movement to the Professional Standards section of the 
Department regulations.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on July 20, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No 
comments were received.  Verbal comments resulted in 
revising the names of some of the course titles from those 
originally published, and changing the number of credits 
required from 36 to 39.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to adopt this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the 
licensure and certification of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit 
“B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in 
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effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1566 of the Administrative 
Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS 
BOARD THE 2ND DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Sharon Brittingham
Norman Brown Heath Chasanov
Edward Czerwinski Angela Dunmore
Karen Gordon Barbara Grogg
Bruce Harter Valerie Hoffmann
Leslie Holden Carla Lawson
Mary Mirabeau Gretchen Pikus
Karen Schilling Ross Carol Vukelich

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF 
EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 16th Day Of September, 
2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

331 1566 Standard Certificateion Family and Consumer 
Sciences Teacher 

Effective July 1,1993 
(Formerly Home Economics)

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard license 
in grades 9-12 and is valid in grades 5-8 in a middle level 
school

1.1 License 1   Comprehensive
1.1.1 Bachelor's degree from an accredited 

college or university and,

1.2 Professional Education
1.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher 

education program in Family and Consumer Science/ 
Comprehensive or,

1.3 Specific Teaching Field
1.3.1 Completion of a major in Family and 

Consumer Science/Comprehensive or,
1.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher 

education program in Family and Consumer Science /
Comprehensive or,

1.3.3 A minimum of 36 semester hours in 
Family and Consumer Science with at least one course in 
each of the following areas:

1.3.3.1 Housing/Home Furnishings/Home 
Equipment, Consumer/Family Economics, Home 
Management, Child Development, Family Life/Parenthood 
Education, Foods/Nutrition, Textiles/Clothing, and 
Computer Literacy.

1.0 Content.
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for 
Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher.

2.0 License II - Specialized Areas
2.1 Bachelor's degree from an accredited college and,
2.2 Professional Education

2.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher 
education program in Family and Consumer Science or,

2.2.2 A minimum of 24 semester hours to 
include Human Development/Learning, Methods of 
Teaching Family and Consumer Science (including clinical 
experience), Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities, Effective 
Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, and student 
teaching evenly divided between the middle and high school 
levels and,

2.3 Specific Teaching Field
2.3.1 License II A:  Child Care and Guidance, 

Management and Services
2.3.1.1 A minimum of 36 semester hours 

distributed as follows: 21 semester hours covering the 
following areas:  Child Development, Care and Guidance; 
Child Care Management (Preschool Education); Family 
Life/Parenthood Education, Computer Literacy, and 15 
semester hours from the other areas of Family and Consumer 
Sciences listed in 1.3.3.

2.3.2 License II B:  Food Production, 
Management, and Services

2.3.2.1 A minimum of 36 semester hours 
distributed as follows:

2.3.2.1.1 21 semester hours covering 
the following areas:  Food Sciences, Human Nutrition, Food 
Service, Institutional Management, Computer Literacy and, 
Fifteen semester hours from the other areas of Family and 
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Consumer Sciences listed in1.3.3.
2.3.3 License II C:  Clothing, Apparel, and 

Textiles Management, Production and Services
2.3.3.1 A minimum of 36 semester hours 

distributed as follows: 
2.3.3.1.1 21 semester hours covering 

the following areas:
2.3.3.1.1.1 Commercial Garment 

and Apparel, Fashion Design, Clothing Construction, 
Textiles and Clothing Retail, Textiles Testing, Custom 
Tailoring and Alteration, Fashion/Fabric Coordination, 
Computer Literacy, and

2.3.3.1.1.2 15 semester hours from 
the other areas of Family and Consumer Sciences in 1.3.3.

2.3.4 License II D:  Institutional, Home 
Management, and Supporting Services

2.3.4.1 A minimum of 36 semester hours 
distributed as follows:

2.3.4.1.1 21 semester hours covering 
the following areas:

2.3.4.1.1.1 Companion to the Aged, 
Consumer Assisting, Custodial Services, Executive 
Housekeeping, Homemaker's Aide, Computer Literacy, and 
15 semester hours from the other areas of Family and 
Consumer Sciences in 1.3.3.

2.0 Definitions.
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill, 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

1.0  The following shall be required for the Standard license 
in grades 9-12 and is valid in grades 5-8 in a middle level 
school

1.1  License 1   Comprehensive

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include 
Standard and Limited Standard.

3.1 The limited Standard license may be issued upon 
request of a Delaware public school district for a teacher 
employed in one of these positions who meets the standards 
set forth in 2.3 of regulation 301 General Regulations for 
Certification of Professional Public School Personnel.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department 

shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Family and Consumer 
Sciences Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware 
Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or 
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department 
prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following 
requirements:

3.1 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization 
recognized educator preparation program offered by a 
regionally accredited college or university, with a major in 
Family and Consumer Sciences; or

3.2 Graduating from a state approved educator 
preparation program offered by a regionally accredited 
college or university, with a major in Family and Consumer 
Sciences, where the state approval body employed the 
appropriate NCATE specialty organization standards; or

3.3 1.2.2  A minimum of 24 [36 39] semester hours 
with at least one course in each of the following areas:

3.3.1 [Human Development/]Learning Adult 
Development [/ and] Aging;

3.3.2 Methods of Teaching Family and 
Consumer Science[s] (including clinical experience); 

3.3.3 Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities; 
3.3.4  Effective Teaching Strategies; 
3.3.5  Multicultural Education; student teaching 

evenly divided between the middle and high school levels 
and,

3.3.6 [Family Consumer Economics/]
Resource Management;

3.3.7 [Life Span Development/Human 
Development/]Child Development[/Adult Development]; 

3.3.8 Adolescent Development; 
3.3.9 Family [Life]/Human Sexuality; 
3.3.10 [Foods/] Nutrition[/Food Principles];
3.3.11 Textiles/Clothing; and
3.3.12 Curriculum and Evaluation for Family and 

Consumer Sciences.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

Acquired Brain Injury Waiver Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
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(DSSM) regarding the Acquired Brain Injury Waiver 
Program (ABIWP). 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program & 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O. 
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware by August 31, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

The Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver Program 
(ABIMWP) is a community-based services program funded 
by the Division of Social Services (DSS), Delaware Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP) and operated by the Division 
of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
(DSAAPD). It is targeted to individuals with acquired brain 
injury who meet Medicaid nursing facility admission 
criteria.

The proposed set forth the rules and regulations 
governing the administration of the ABIWP, and describe the 
types of services available under the program.  The 
regulations being proposed would also define the eligibility 
criteria that must be met by applicants for the services and 
the scope of services available to eligible applicants. 

The earliest effective date for the ABIMWP is October 
10, 2004.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-18

20700.5 Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver 
Program

The Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver Program 
(ABIMWP) is a home and community-based services 
program funded by the Division of Social Services (DSS), 
Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) and 
operated by the Division of Services for Aging and Adults 
with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD). It is targeted to 
individuals with acquired brain injury who meet Medicaid 
nursing facility admission criteria.

The earliest effective date for the ABIMWP is October 
10, 2004.

20700.5.1 Eligibility Criteria
To be eligible for the ABIMWP, an 

individual must:
1. be a Delaware resident
2. be between 18 and 64 years of age 

(persons who enter the waiver before age 65 may remain in 
the waiver after age 65)

3. meet the financial and medical criteria 
for the DSS Long Term Care Medicaid Program and meet 
nursing facility admission criteria.

Medical eligibility is determined by the 
Pre-Admission Screening Unit of DSAAPD.

Financial eligibility is determined by DSS.
Program eligibility is determined by 

DSAAPD. An individual must meet all of the following 
criteria:

a have an injury to the brain which is 
not hereditary or congenital (Acquired Brain Injury) 

b have a need of one waiver service, in 
addition to case management, on a monthly basis

c have a physical, cognitive and/or 
behavioral symptom of an acquired brain injury and 
currently reside in a nursing facility or is at risk for 
placement in a nursing facility

d have completed or would no longer 
benefit from intensive, inpatient, post-trauma or 
rehabilitation programs

e accept and maintain case management 
services

20700.5.2 Number of Recipients
There is a maximum number of recipients 

who may be served under the ABIMWP each fiscal year. 
The total unduplicated number of recipients served under the 
program cannot exceed the maximum number approved by 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). 
DSAAPD will monitor the number of individuals receiving 
ABIMWP services so the maximum number will not be 
exceeded.

20700.5.3 Cost Effective Requirement
In order for an applicant to be eligible for 

the ABIMWP, the applicant’s cost of care cannot exceed the 
cost of their care if the same applicant was institutionalized. 
An average monthly cost for institutionalized individuals is 
used to determine the amount that may be spent on 
ABIMWP recipients. A DSAAPD worker determines cost 
effectiveness.

20700.5.4 Approval
Upon approval, DSS will send a notice of 

approval to the applicant or the applicant’s  representative 
and the ABIMWP provider. The notice to the provider will 
include the effective date of Medicaid coverage, the patient 
pay amount, and the Medicaid identification number. 

20700.5.5 Post Eligibility Budgeting
See DSSM 20720 and 20995.1 for patient 

pay calculation.
For recipients residing in Assisted Living 

facilities, the personal needs allowance is equal to the 
current Adult Foster Care rate.    Collection of the patient 
pay amount from the recipient or the recipient’s 
representative is the responsibility of the assisted living 
provider.
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For recipients residing in community-
based settings, the personal needs allowance is equal to 
250% of the Federal SSI Benefit Rate.   Collection of the 
patient pay amount from the recipient or the recipient’s 
representative is the responsibility of the provider who is 
providing the most costly service.

20700.5.6 Days Appropriate for Billing
The waiver provider may not bill for any 

day that the recipient is absent from the program or facility 
for the entire day. The waiver provider may bill for services 
for any day that the recipient is present in the facility or 
program for any part of the day. 

If the recipient resides in an assisted living 
facility, the waiver provider may not bill Medicaid for room 
and board. 

20700.5.7 Hospitalization or Illness
Waiver services will terminate upon 

hospitalization.  There are no Medicaid  bed hold days for 
hospitalization.  DSS will redetermine eligibility for 
continued Medicaid coverage.  Waiver services may restart 
after hospital discharge as determined by DSAAPD staff. 

If the recipient is a resident of an assisted 
living facility, the waiver provider shall not provide services 
to a recipient that has been bedridden for seven (7) 
consecutive days unless a physician certifies that the 
individual’s needs may be safely met by the service 
agreement.   If a physician certification is not obtained, 
waiver services will terminate and DSS will redetermine 
eligibility for continued Medicaid coverage.

20700.5.8 ABIMWP Services
Acquired brain injury waiver services will 

include the following:
Case Management
Personal Care
Respite Care
Adult Day Expanded Services
Specialized Medical Equipment and 

Supplies
Personal Emergency Response Systems 

(PERS)
Assisted Living Program
Behavioral and/or Cognitive Services

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311 and 2304 
(18 Del.C. §§311 and 2304))

ORDER

 301 Audited Financial Reports
[Formerly Regulation 50]

A public hearing was held on September 1, 2004 to 
receive comments on amendments to Regulation 301 
relating to audited financial reports from licensed insurers. 
By my order of August 17, 2004, Deputy Insurance 
Commissioner F.L. Peter Stone was appointed hearing 
officer to receive comments and testimony on the proposed 
amendments to the regulation.  Public notice of the hearings 
and publication of proposed Regulation 301 in the Register 
of Regulations and two newspapers of general circulation 
was in conformity with Delaware law.  Four persons 
attended the public hearing.  There were no written 
comments received by the Department.

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

Steve White, Chief Financial Examiner for the 
Delaware Department of Insurance spoke in support of the 
proposed changes.  He said that this has been the first 
amendment in ten years and would bring Delaware into 
conformity with the model regulation approved by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners 
(“NAIC”).  He further noted that by amending the 
regulation, the Delaware Department of Insurance would not 
face accreditation problems from the NAIC.  The Hearing 
Officer has recommended approval of the proposed changes 
to the regulation.

Findings Of Fact

The purpose for a public hearing on a proposed 
regulatory change is to determine the necessity for the 
change and whether the language proposed to effect that 
change needs to be changed or modified for purposes of 
clarity or efficiency.  I find that the proposed changes reflect 
the standards for financial review adopted by the NAIC over 
the last ten years.  In the absence of any opposition to the 
proposed changes recommended by the Department I find 
that the changes are desirable and appropriate.

Decision

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§311 and 526, 
and the record in this docket, I adopt the FINAL REPORT 
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AND RECOMMENDATION OF THE HEARING 
OFFICER dated September 7, 2004 and order that 
Regulation 301 be amended as provided for in the notice 
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations 8 DE 
Reg. 252 (8/1/04).

I order that the proposed change shall become effective 
on October 12, 2004.

Donna Lee H. Williams, Insurance Commissioner
DATED:  September 7, 2004

 301 Audited Financial Reports

1.0 Authority
1.1 This Regulation is promulgated and adopted 

pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§311, 322(a), 324 and 526, and 29 
Del. C. §10117.

2.0 Purpose and Scope
2.1 The purpose of this Regulation is to improve the 

Delaware Insurance Department's surveillance of the 
financial condition of insurers by requiring an annual 
examination by independent certified public accountants of 
the financial statements reporting the financial condition and 
the results of operations of insurers.

2.2 Every insurer (as defined in Section 3.0) shall be 
subject to this regulation. Insurers having direct premiums 
written in this state of less than $1,000,000 in any calendar 
year and less than 1,000 policyholders or certificate holders 
of directly written policies nationwide at the end of such 
calendar year shall be exempt from this Regulation for such 
year unless the Commissioner makes a specific finding that 
compliance is necessary for the Commissioner to carry out 
statutory responsibilities except those insurers having 
assumed premiums pursuant to contracts and/or treaties of 
reinsurance of $1,000,000 or more will not be so accepted
exempt.

2.3 Foreign or alien insurers filing audited financial 
reports in another state, pursuant to such other state's 
requirements of audited financial reports are exempt from 
filing in Delaware unless such filing is specifically requested 
by the Commissioner. Any foreign or alien insurer receiving 
a copy of any notification of adverse financial condition 
report must file such report with the Commissioner within 
the time specified in Section 10.0 that has been found by the 
Commissioner to be substantially similar to the requirements 
herein, are exempt from this regulation if: 

2.3.1 A copy of the Audited Financial Report, 
Report on Significant Deficiencies in Internal Controls, and 
the Accountant’s Letter of Qualifications that are filed with 
the other state are filed with the commissioner in accordance 
with the filing dates specified in Sections 4, 11 and 12, 
respectively (Canadian insurers may submit accountants’ 
reports as filed with the Canadian Dominion Department of 

Insurance).
2.3.2 A copy of any Notification of Adverse 

Financial Condition Report filed with the other state is filed 
with the commissioner within the time specified in Section 
10.

2.4 This regulation shall not prohibit, preclude or in 
any way limit the Commissioner from ordering and/or 
conducting and/or performing examinations of insurers 
under the rules and regulations of the Delaware Insurance 
Department and the practices and procedures of the 
Delaware Insurance Department.

3.0 Definitions
"Audited financial report" means and includes those 

items specified in Section 5.0 of this rule.
"Accountant" and or "Independent Certified Public 

Accountant" means an independent certified public 
accountant or accounting firm in good standing with the 
American Institute of CPAs and in all states in which he, she 
or they are licensed to practice; for Canadian and British 
companies, it means a Canadian-chartered or British-
chartered accountant.

“Indemnification” means an agreement of indemnity 
or a release from liability where the intent or effect is to shift 
or limit in any manner the potential liability of the person or 
firm for failure to adhere to applicable auditing or 
professional standards, whether or not resulting in part from 
knowing of other misrepresentations made by the insurer or 
its representatives.

"Insurer" means a licensed insurer as defined in Title 
18 Del. C. Ch.5 or authorized insurer as defined in Title 18 
Del. C., Ch.19.

4.0 Filing and Extensions for Filing of Annual Audited 
Financial Reports

4.1 All insurers shall have an annual audit by an 
independent certified public accountant and shall file an 
audited financial report with the Commissioner on or before 
June 1 for the year ended December 31 immediately 
preceding. The Commissioner may require an insurer to file 
an audited financial report earlier than June 1 with ninety 
(90) days advance notice to the insurer.  4.2 Extensions of 
the June 1 filing date may be granted by the Commissioner 
for thirty-day periods upon a showing by the insurer and its 
independent certified public accountant of the reasons for 
requesting such extension and determination by the 
Commissioner of good cause for an extension. The request 
for extension must be submitted in writing not less than ten 
(10) days prior to the due date in sufficient detail to permit 
the Commissioner to make an informed decision with 
respect to the requested extension.

5.0 Contents of Annual Audited Financial Report
5.1 The aAnnual aAudited fFinancial rReport shall 
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report the financial position of the insurer as of the end of the 
most recent calendar year and the results of its operations, 
cash flows and changes in capital and surplus for the year 
then ended in conformity with statutory accounting practices 
prescribed, or otherwise permitted, by the Department of 
Insurance of the state of domicile

5.2 The annual Audited Financial Report shall include 
the following:

5.2.1 Report of independent certified public 
accountant.

5.2.2 Balance sheet reporting admitted assets, 
liabilities, capital and surplus.

5.2.3 Statement of operations.
5.2.4 Statement of cash flows.
5.2.5 Statement of changes in capital and 

surplus.
5.2.6 Notes to financial statements. These notes 

shall be those required by the appropriate NAIC Annual 
Statement Instructions and any other notes required by 
generally accepted accounting principles and shall also 
include: the NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures 
Manual.  The notes shall include a reconciliation of 
differences, if any, between the audited statutory financial 
statements and the annual statement filed pursuant to 18 Del. 
C. § 526 with a written description of the nature of these 
differences. 

5.2.6.1 A reconciliation of differences, if any, 
between the audited statutory financial statements and the 
Annual Statement filed pursuant to 18 Del. C. §526 of the 
Delaware Insurance Statute with a written description of the 
nature of these differences.

5.2.6.2 A summary of ownership and 
relationships of the insurer and all affiliated companies.

5.2.7 The financial statements included in the 
aAudited fFinancial rReport shall be prepared in a form and 
using language and groupings substantially the same as the 
relevant sections of the aAnnual sStatement of the insurer 
filed with the Commissioner, and the financial statement 
shall be comparative, presenting the amounts as of 
December 31 of the current year and the amounts as of the 
immediately preceding December 31. However, in the first 
year in which an insurer is required to file an audited 
financial report, the comparative data may be omitted.

6.0 Designation of Independent Certified Public 
Accountant

6.1 Each insurer required by this regulation to file an 
annual audited financial report must within sixty (60) days 
after becoming subject to such requirement, register with the 
Commissioner in writing the name and address of the 
independent certified public accountant or accounting firm 
(generally referred to in this rule as the "accountant") 
retained to conduct the annual audit set forth in this 
regulation. Insurers not retaining an independent certified 

public accountant on the effective date of this regulation 
shall register the name and address of their retained certified 
public accountant not less than six (6) months before the date 
when the first audited financial report is to be filed.

6.2 The insurer shall obtain a letter from the 
accountant, and file a copy with the Commissioner stating 
that the accountant is aware of the provisions of the 
Insurance Code and the rRules and rRegulations of the 
Insurance Department of the state of domicile that relate to 
accounting and financial matters and affirming that 
accountant he will express his or her opinion on the financial 
statements in terms of their conformity to the statutory 
accounting practices prescribed or otherwise permitted by 
that Department, specifying such exceptions as he or she 
may believe appropriate.

6.3 If an accountant who was the accountant for the 
immediately preceding filed audited financial report is 
dismissed or resigns the insurer shall within five (5) business 
days notify the Department of this event. 

6.3.1 The insurer shall also furnish the 
Commissioner with a separate letter within ten (10) business 
days of the above notification stating whether in the twenty-
four (24) months preceding such event there were any 
disagreements with the former accountant on any matter of 
accounting principles or practices, financial statement 
disclosure, or auditing scope or procedure; which 
disagreements, if not resolved to the satisfaction of the 
former accountant, would have caused him or her to make 
reference to the subject matter of the disagreement in 
connection with his or her opinion. 

6.3.2 The disagreements required to be reported 
in response to this Section include both those resolved to the 
former accountant's satisfaction and those not resolved to the 
former accountant's satisfaction. 

6.3.3 Disagreements contemplated by this 
section are those that occur at the decision-making level, i.e., 
between personnel of the insurer responsible for presentation 
of its financial statements and personnel of the accounting 
firm responsible for rendering its report.

6.3.4 The insurer shall also in writing request 
such former accountant to furnish a letter addressed to the 
insurer stating whether the accountant agrees with the 
statements contained in the insurer's letter and, if not, stating 
the reasons for which he or she does not agree; and the 
insurer shall furnish such responsive letter from the former 
accountant to the Commissioner together with its own.

7.0 Qualifications of Independent Certified Public 
Accountant

7.1 The Commissioner shall not recognize any person 
or firm as a qualified independent certified public accountant 
that is not in good standing with the American Institute of 
CPAs and in all states in which the accountant is licensed to 
practice, or, for a Canadian or British company, that is not a 
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chartered accountant.  if the person or firm: 
7.1.1 Is not in good standing with the American 

Institute of CPAs and in all states in which the accountant is 
licensed to practice, or, for a Canadian or British company, 
that is not a chartered accountant; or

7.1.2 Has either directly or indirectly entered 
into an agreement of indemnity or release from liability 
(collectively referred to as indemnification) with respect to 
the audit of the insurer.

7.2 Except as otherwise provided herein, an 
independent certified public accountant shall be recognized 
as qualified as long as he or she conforms to the standards of 
his or her profession, as contained in the Code of 
Professional Ethics of the American Institute of Certified 
Public Accountants and Rules and Regulations and Code of 
Ethics and Rules of Professional Conduct of the Delaware 
Board of Public Accountancy, or similar code.

7.3 A qualified independent certified public accountant 
may enter into an agreement with an insurer to have disputes 
relating to an audit resolved by mediation or arbitration. 
However, in the event of a delinquency proceeding 
commenced against the insurer under 18 Del. C. Ch. 59, the 
mediation or arbitration provisions shall operate at the option 
of the statutory successor.

7.4 The time during which an accountant may serve 
shall be subject to the following provisions:

7.4.1 No partner or other person responsible for 
rendering a report may act in that capacity for more than 
seven (7) consecutive years. Following any period of service 
such person shall be disqualified from acting in that or a 
similar capacity for the same company or its insurance 
subsidiaries or affiliates for a period of two (2) years. An 
insurer may make application to the Commissioner for relief 
from the above rotation requirement on the basis of unusual 
circumstances. The Commissioner may consider the 
following factors in determining if the relief should be 
granted:

7.43.1.1 Number of partners, expertise of 
the partners or the number of insurance clients in the 
currently registered firm;

7.43.1.2 Premium volume of the insurer; or
7.43.1.3 Number of jurisdictions in which the 

insurer transacts business.
7.3.4 The requirements of this paragraph shall 

become effective two (2) years after the enactment of this 
rule.

7.54 The Commissioner shall not recognize as a 
qualified independent certified public accountant, nor accept 
any annual Audited Financial Report, prepared in whole or 
in part by, any natural person who:

7.54.1 Has been convicted of fraud, bribery, a 
violation of the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt 
Organizations Act, 18 U.S.C. Sections 1961-1968, or any 
dishonest conduct or practices under federal or state law;

7.54.2 Has been found to have violated the 
insurance laws of this state with respect to any previous 
reports submitted under this regulation; or

7.54.3 Has demonstrated a pattern or practice of 
failing to detect or disclose material information in previous 
reports filed under the provisions of this regulation.

7.65 The Insurance Commissioner, as provided in 
the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. Ch. 
101, and 18 Del.C. Ch. 3, may hold a hearing to determine 
whether a certified public accountant is qualified and, 
considering the evidence presented, may rule that the 
accountant is not qualified for purposes of expressing his or 
her opinion on the financial statements in the annual 
aAudited fFinancial Rreport made pursuant to this regulation 
and require the insurer to replace the accountant with another 
whose relationship with the insurer is qualified within the 
meaning of this regulation.

8.0 Consolidated or Combined Audits
8.1 An insurer may make written application to the 

Commissioner for approval to file audited consolidated or 
combined financial statements in lieu of separate annual 
audited financial statements if the insurer is part of a group 
of insurance companies which utilizes a pooling or one 
hundred percent reinsurance agreement that affects the 
solvency and integrity of the insurer's reserves and such 
insurer cedes all of its direct and assumed business to the 
pool. In such cases, a columnar consolidating or combining 
worksheet shall be filed with the report, as follows:

8.1.1 Amounts shown on the consolidated or 
combined aAudited fFinancial rReport shall be shown on the 
worksheet;.

8.1.2 Amounts for each insurer subject to this 
section shall be stated separately;.

8.1.3 Noninsurance operations may be shown 
on the worksheet on a combined or individual basis;.

8.1.4 Explanations of consolidating and 
eliminating entries shall be included;. and

8.1.5 A reconciliation shall be included of any 
differences between the amounts shown in the individual 
insurer columns of the worksheet and comparable amounts 
shown on the aAnnual sStatements of the insurers.

9.0 Scope of Examination and Report of Independent 
Certified Public Accountant

9.1 Financial statements furnished pursuant to Section 
5.0 hereof shall be examined by an independent certified 
public accountant. The examination of the insurer's financial 
statements shall be conducted in accordance with generally 
accepted auditing standards. Consideration should also be 
given to such other procedures illustrated in the Financial 
Condition Examiner's Handbook promulgated by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners as the 
independent certified public accountant deems necessary.
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10.0 Notification of Adverse Financial Condition
10.1 The insurer required to furnish the annual 

Audited Financial Report shall require the independent 
certified public accountant to report, in writing, within five 
(5) business days to the board of directors or its audit 
committee any determination by the independent certified 
public accountant that the insurer has materially misstated its 
financial condition as reported to the Commissioner as of the 
balance sheet date currently under examination or that the 
insurer does not meet the minimum capital and surplus 
requirement of the Delaware Insurance Statute as of that 
date.  10.1.1 An insurer that who has received a report 
pursuant to this paragraph shall forward a copy of the report 
to the Commissioner within five (5) business days of receipt 
of such report and shall provide the independent certified 
public accountant making the report with evidence of the 
report being furnished to the Commissioner.  10.1.2 If the 
independent certified public accountant fails to receive such 
evidence within the required five (5) business day period, the 
independent certified public accountant shall furnish to the 
Commissioner a copy of its report within the next five (5) 
business days.

10.2 No independent public accountant shall be 
liable in any manner to any person for any statement made in 
connection with the above paragraph if such statement is 
made in good faith in compliance with the section 10.1
above paragraph.

10.3 If the accountant, subsequent to the date of the 
Audited Financial Report filed pursuant to this regulation, 
becomes aware of facts which might have affected his or her
report, the Department notes the obligation of the accountant 
to take such action as prescribed in Volume 1, Section AU 
561 of the Professional Standards of the American Institute 
of Certified Public Accountants.

11.0  Report on Significant Deficiencies in Internal 
Controls

11.1 In addition to the annual audited financial 
statements, each insurer shall furnish the Commissioner with 
a written report prepared by the accountant describing 
significant deficiencies in the insurer's internal control 
structure noted by the accountant during the audit. SAS No. 
60, Communication of Internal Control Structure Matters 
Noted in an Audit (AU Section 325 of the Professional 
Standards of the American Institute of Certified Public 
Accountants) requires an accountant to communicate 
significant deficiencies (known as "reportable conditions") 
noted during a financial statement audit to the appropriate 
parties within an entity. 11.2 No report should be issued if 
the accountant does not identify significant deficiencies. If 
significant deficiencies are noted, the written report shall be 
filed annually by the insurer with the Department within 
sixty (60) days after the filing of the annual audited financial 
statements. 11.3 The insurer is required to provide a 

description of remedial actions taken or proposed to correct 
significant deficiencies, if such actions are not described in 
the accountant's report.

12.0 Accountant's Letter of Qualifications
12.1 The accountant shall furnish the insurer in 

connection with, and for inclusion in, the filing of the annual 
audited financial report, a letter stating:

12.1.1 That the accountant is independent with 
respect to the insurer and conforms to the standards of his or 
her profession as contained in the Code of Professional 
Ethics and pronouncements of the American Institute of 
Certified Public Accountants and the Rules of Professional 
Conduct of the Delaware Board of Public Accountancy, or 
similar code;.

12.1.2 The background and experience in 
general, and the experience in audits of insurers of the staff 
assigned to the engagement and whether each is an 
independent certified public accountant. Nothing within this 
regulation shall be construed as prohibiting the accountant 
from utilizing such staff as he or she deems appropriate 
where use is consistent with the standards prescribed by 
generally accepted auditing standards.

12.1.3 That the accountant understands the 
annual audited financial report and his or her opinion thereon 
will be filed in compliance with this regulation and that the 
Commissioner will be relying on this information in the 
monitoring and regulation of the financial position of 
insurers.

12.1.4 That the accountant consents to the 
requirements of Section 13.0 of this regulation and that the 
accountant consents and agrees to make available for review 
by the Commissioner, or the Commissioner’s his designee or 
his appointed agent, the workpapers, as defined in Section 
13.0;.

12.1.5 A representation that the accountant is 
properly licensed by an appropriate state licensing authority 
and is a member in good standing in the American Institute 
of Certified Public Accountants;. and

12.1.6 A representation that the accountant is in 
compliance with the requirements of Section 7.0 of this 
regulationule.

13.0 Definition, Availability and Maintenance of CPA 
Workpapers

13.1 Workpapers are the records kept by the 
independent certified public accountant of the procedures 
followed, the tests performed, the information obtained, and 
the conclusions reached pertinent to the accountant’s his 
examination of the financial statements of an insurer. 13.1.1 
Workpapers, accordingly, may include audit planning 
documentation, work programs, analyses, memoranda, 
letters of confirmation and representation, abstracts of 
company documents and schedules or commentaries 
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prepared or obtained by the independent certified public 
accountant in the course of his examination of the financial 
statements of an insurer and which support the accountant’s
his opinion thereof.

13.2 Every insurer required to file an Audited 
Financial Report pursuant to this regulation, shall require the 
accountant to make available for review by Department 
examiners, all workpapers prepared in the conduct of the 
accountant’s his examination and any communications 
related to the audit between the accountant and the insurer, at 
the offices of the insurer, at the Insurance Department or at 
any other reasonable place designated by the Commissioner.
13.3 The insurer shall require that the accountant retain the 
audit workpapers and communications until the Insurance 
Department has filed a Report on Examination covering the 
period of the audit but no longer than seven (7) years from 
the date of the audit report.

13.43 In the conduct of the aforementioned periodic 
review by the Department examiners, it shall be agreed that 
photocopies of pertinent audit workpapers may be made and 
retained by the Department. Such reviews by the Department 
examiners shall be considered investigations and all working 
papers and communications obtained during the course of 
such investigations shall be afforded the same confidentiality 
as other examination workpapers generated by the 
Department.

14.0 Exemptions and Effective Dates
14.1 Upon written application of any insurer, the 

Commissioner may grant an exemption from compliance 
with this regulation if the Commissioner finds, upon review 
of the application, that compliance with this regulation 
would constitute a financial or organizational hardship upon 
the insurer. An exemption may be granted at any time and 
from time to time for a specified period or periods. Within 
ten (10) days from a denial of an insurer's written request for 
an exemption from this regulation, such insurer may request 
in writing a hearing on its application for an exemption. 
Such hearing shall be held in accordance with the Delaware 
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, and 18 
Del.C.  Ch. 3 Section 3.0.

14.2 Domestic insurers retaining a certified public 
accountant on the effective date of this regulation who 
qualify as independent shall comply with this regulation for 
the year ending December 31, 1994 and each year thereafter 
unless the Commissioner permits otherwise.

14.3 Domestic insurers not retaining a certified 
public accountant on the effective date of this regulation who 
qualify as independent may meet the following schedule for 
compliance unless the Commissioner permits otherwise.

14.3.1 As of December 31, 1994, file with the 
Commissioner:

14.3.1.1 Report of independent certified public 
accountant;

14.3.1.2 Audited balance sheet;
14.3.1.3 Notes to audited balance sheet.

14.3.2 For the year ending December 31, 1994 
and each year thereafter, such insurers shall file with the 
Commissioner all reports required by this regulation.

14.4 14.3.3 Foreign insurers shall comply with this 
regulation for the year ending December 31, 1994 and each 
year thereafter, unless the Commissioner permits otherwise.

15.0 Canadian and British Companies
15.1 In the case of Canadian and British insurers, 

the annual audited financial report shall be defined as the 
annual statement of total business on the form filed by such 
companies with their domiciliary supervision authority duly 
audited by an independent chartered accountant.

15.2 For such insurers, the letter required in Section 
6.0 shall state that the accountant is aware of the 
requirements relating to the annual audited statement filed 
with the Commissioner pursuant to Section 4.0 and shall 
affirm that the opinion expressed is in conformity with such 
requirements.

16.0 Severability Provision
16.1 If any section or portion of a section of this 

regulation or the applicability thereof to any person or 
circumstance is held invalid by a court, the remainder of the 
regulation or the applicability of such provision to other 
persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby.

17.0 Effective Date
This regulation became effective July 29, 1987.  the first 

amendment became effective on September 12, 1994.  This 
second amendment shall become effective on October 12, 
2004.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311 and 7105 
(18 Del.C. §§311 and 7105))

ORDER

1404 Long-term Care Insurance
[Formerly Regulation 63]

A public hearing was held on September 1, 2004 to 
receive comments on amendments to Regulation 1404 
relating to audited financial reports from licensed insurers. 
By my order of August 17, 2004, Deputy Insurance 
Commissioner F.L. Peter Stone was appointed hearing 
officer to receive comments and testimony on the proposed 
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amendments to the regulation.  Public notice of the hearings 
and publication of proposed Regulation 1404 in the Register 
of Regulations and two newspapers of general circulation 
was in conformity with Delaware law.  Four persons 
attended the public hearing.  Five written comments were 
received, three of which were submitted after the public 
hearing but prior to the expiration of the published time for 
public comment.

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

I adopt the FINAL REPORT AND 
RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE HEARING OFFICER 
dated September 7, 2004 and incorporate it herein by 
reference.  The Delaware Department of Insurance favors 
the proposal which adds three new sections to the regulation 
dealing with the required disclosure of rating practices to 
consumers, new initial filing requirements and provisions 
relating to premium rate schedule increases.  The three had 
not been previously adopted by the Department even though 
they were part of the model regulation approved by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners (“NAIC”) 
and were in force in neighboring jurisdictions.  A change 
was recommended to section 13.1.1 (formerly 11.1.1) to 
provide an alternate opportunity for insurers to offer 
inflation protection on a basis other than five percent 
compounded annually.  The change means that if a consumer 
cannot afford the five percent inflation protection, a 
company is free to offer alternative lower cost inflation 
protection benefits that might be more affordable even if the 
benefit is less than the five percent standard.

Two non-substantive changes to the regulation that were 
not published are desirable and appropriate.  The first is the 
addition of definitional terms be added to section 4 of the 
regulation so that the use of those terms in the regulation will 
be consistent with the NAIC model regulation’s definitions 
and use of those terms.  The addition of definitions that do 
not change the substance of the regulation and which provide 
notice to the public as to how the terms are used does not 
require re-notice and re-hearing of the regulation even 
though the final regulation, if adopted, would differ from the 
one published for public comment.

The State Council for Persons With Disabilities and the 
State Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council 
submitted identical comments suggesting that section 6.2.5’s 
exception for Medicaid was possibly illegal.  It was noted 
that the exclusion for government programs other than 
Medicaid was in section 6 of the regulation which allows 
policy exclusions for coverage provided by a government 
program.  It is appropriate for a long term care policy to 
exclude benefits provided under other programs to avoid 
having a consumer pay for double coverage when it is not 
necessary to do so.  In any event, by excluding Medicaid 
from section 6.2.5 the regulation provides that treatment 

under a Medicaid program cannot give rise to a policy 
exclusion under section 6.2 and would not necessarily make 
Medicaid the payer of first resort. 

The State Council for Persons With Disabilities and the 
State Developmental Disabilities Council also noted that the 
new section 8 referred to an Appendix F which was not part 
of the published proposed changes.  The omission was not 
intentional.  The hearing officer has recommended that the 
appendix be included in the final version and further 
recommended that re-notice and re-publication for comment 
was not required because the appendix did not change the 
substantive provisions of section 8 but rather provided a 
form for insurers to use for purposes of disclosure to 
consumers.

Findings Of Fact

The purpose for a public hearing on a proposed 
regulatory change is to determine the necessity for the 
change and whether the language proposed to effect that 
change needs to be changed or modified for purposes of 
clarity or efficiency.  There were no objections to the 
addition of the three new sections as noted above.  I find that 
the addition of definitions relating to the usage of the terms 
“exceptional increase,” incidental,” qualified actuary” and 
similar policy forms” as submitted in Exhibit 5 are not 
substantive in nature and clarify the context in which those 
terms are used in the regulation.  I find that the addition of 
those terms to the final regulation would not require a re-
notice or re-hearing of the regulation.

I find that the final regulation should also include 
Appendix F as submitted in Exhibit 5.  It does not alter the 
substantive provisions of the regulation and section 8.2.5 
clearly notes that the form is required as part of an insurer’s 
compliance with the regulation.

I find that the reasons for the change are meritorious and 
will benefit consumers insofar as they enhance the disclosure 
requirements of the insurers and make inflation protection 
more affordable. 

Decision

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§ 311 and 7105, 
and the record in this docket, I adopt the FINAL REPORT 
AND RECOMMENDATION OF THE HEARING 
OFFICER dated September 7, 2004 and order that 
Regulation 1404 be amended as provided for in the notice 
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations 8 DE 
Reg. 252 (8/1/04) as supplemented with the addition of the 
definitional changes in section 4 and the addition of 
Appendix F.

I order that the proposed change shall become effective 
on January 1, 2005.
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Donna Lee H. Williams, Insurance Commissioner
DATED:  September 7, 2004

1404 LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE
[Formerly Regulation 63]

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to implement 18 Del.C.

Ch. 71, to promote the public interest, to promote the 
availability of long-term care insurance coverage, to protect 
applicants for long-term care insurance, from unfair or 
deceptive sales or enrollment practices, to facilitate public 
understanding and comparison of long-term care insurance 
coverages, and to facilitate flexibility and innovation in the 
development of long-term care insurance. 

2.0 Authority
This regulation is issued pursuant to the authority vested 

in the Commissioner under 18 Del.C. §§ 3141 and 7105. 

3.0 Applicability and Scope
Except as otherwise specifically provided, this 

regulation applies to all long-term care insurance policies 
and certificates delivered or issued for delivery in this state 
on or after the effective date hereof, by insurers; fraternal 
benefit societies; nonprofit health, hospital and medical 
service corporations; prepaid health plans; health 
maintenance organizations and all similar organizations.

4.0 Definitions
[4.1] For the purpose of this regulation, the terms 

"Department," "long-term care insurance," "Commissioner," 
"applicant," "policy" and "certificate" shall have the 
meanings set forth in 18 Del.C. §§ 102 and 7103.

[4.2 Exceptional increase
4.2.1 "Exceptional Increase" means only 

those increases filed by an insurer as exceptional for 
which the Commissioner determines the need for the 
premium rate increase is justified:

4.2.1.1 Due to changes in laws or 
regulations applicable to long-term care coverage in this 
state; or

4.2.1.2 Due to increased and unexpected 
utilization that affects the majority of insurers of similar 
products.

4.2.2 Except as provided in Section 20, 
exceptional increases are subject to the same 
requirements as other premium rate schedule increases.

4.2.3 The Commissioner may request a 
review by an independent actuary or a professional 
actuarial body of the basis for a request that an increase 
be considered an exceptional increase.

4.2.4 The Commissioner, in determining that 
the necessary basis for an exceptional increase exists, 

shall also determine any potential offsets to higher claims 
costs.

4.3 "Incidental," as used in Section 20.10, means 
that the value of the long-term care benefits provided is 
less than ten percent (10%) of the total value of the 
benefits provided over the life of the policy. These values 
shall be measured as of the date of issue.

4.4 "Qualified actuary" means a member in good 
standing of the American Academy of Actuaries.

4.5 "Similar policy forms" means all of the long-
term care insurance policies and certificates issued by an 
insurer in the same long-term care benefit classification 
as the policy form being considered. Certificates of 
groups that meet the definition in 18 Del.C. §7103(4) are 
not considered similar to certificates or policies otherwise 
issued as long-term care insurance, but are similar to 
other comparable certificates with the same long-term 
care benefit classifications. For purposes of determining 
similar policy forms, long-term care benefit 
classifications are defined as follows: institutional long-
term care benefits only, non-institutional long-term care 
benefits only, or comprehensive long-term care benefits.]

5.0 Policy Definitions
No long-term care insurance policy delivered or issued 

for delivery in this state shall use the terms set forth below, 
or terms of like or similar meaning, unless the terms are 
defined in the policy and the definitions satisfy the following 
requirements:

5.1 “Activities of daily living” means at least bathing, 
continence, dressing, eating, toileting and transferring.

5.2 "Acute Condition" means that the individual is 
medically unstable.  Such an individual requires frequent 
monitoring by medical professionals, such as physicians and 
registered nurses, in order to maintain their health status.

5.3 "Adult day care" means a program for six (6) or 
more individuals, of social and health-related services 
provided during the day in a community group setting for the 
purpose of supporting frail, impaired elderly or other 
disabled adults who can benefit from care in a group setting 
outside the home.

5.4 “Chronically ill” means any individual who has 
been certified by a Licensed Health Care Practitioner as 
being unable to perform, without substantial assistance from 
another individual, at least two activities of daily living for a 
period of at least ninety (90) days; or who requires 
substantial supervision to protect such individual from 
threats to health and safety due to severe cognitive 
impairment.

5.5 “Cognitive impairment” means a deficiency in a 
person’s short-term or long-term memory, orientation as to 
person, place, and time, deductive or abstract reasoning, or 
judgment as it relates to safety awareness.

5.6 "Home health care services" means medical and 
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nonmedical services provided to ill, disabled or infirm 
persons in their residences.  Such services may include 
homemaker services, assistance with activities of daily 
living and respite care services.

5.7 "Medicare" means "The Health Insurance for the 
Aged Act, Title XVIII of the Social Security Amendments of 
1965 as Tthen Cconstituted or Llater Aamended," or "Title I, 
Part I of Public Law 89-97, as Eenacted by the Eighty-Ninth 
Congress of the United States of America and popularly 
known as the Health Insurance for the Aged Act, as then 
constituted and any later amendments or substitutes thereof," 
or words of similar import.

5.8 "Mental or nervous disorder" shall not be 
defined to include more than neurosis, psychoneurosis, 
psychopathy, psychosis, or mental or emotional disease or 
disorder.

5.9 "Personal care" means the provision of hands-on 
services to assist an individual with activities of daily living 
(such as bathing, eating, dressing, transferring and toileting).

5.10 "Preexisting Conditions" shall be defined in 
accordance with 18 Del.C. § 7105 (Cc).

5.11 “Qualified Long-Term Care Insurance 
Policy” means a policy that provides coverage for qualified 
long-term care services that is intended to meet the 
requirements of §7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended.

5.12 “Qualified Long-Term Care Services” means 
necessary diagnostic, preventive therapeutic, curing, 
treating, mitigating and rehabilitative services and 
Maintenance or Personal Care Services which are required 
by a Chronically Ill Individual and are provided pursuant to a 
Plan of Care prescribed by a Licensed Health Care 
Practitioner.

5.13 "Skilled nursing care", "intermediate 
care", "personal care", "home care", and other services 
shall be defined in relation to the level of skill required, 
nature of the care and the setting in which care must be 
delivered.

5.14 All providers of services, including but not 
limited to "skilled nursing facility", "extended care facility", 
"intermediate care facility", "convalescent nursing home", 
"personal care facility", and "home care agency" shall be 
defined in relation to the services and facilities required to be 
available and the licensure or degree status of those 
providing or supervising the services.  The definition may 
require that the provider be appropriately licensed or 
certified.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

6.0 Policy Practices and Provisions
6.1 Renewability.  The terms "guaranteed renewable" 

and "noncancellable" shall not be used in any individual 
long-term care insurance policy without providing further 
explanatory language in accordance with the disclosure 

requirements of section 7.0 of this regulation.
6.1.1 No such policy issued to an individual 

shall contain renewal provisions less favorable to the insured 
than "guaranteed renewable."  However, the Commissioner 
may authorize nonrenewal on a statewide basis, on terms and 
conditions deemed necessary by the Commissioner, to best 
protect the interests of the insureds, if the insurer 
demonstrates:  That renewal will jeopardize the insurer's 
solvency.

6.1.2 The term "guaranteed renewable" may be 
used only when the insured has the right to continue the 
long-term care insurance in force by the timely payment of 
premiums, during which period the insurer has no unilateral 
right to make any change in any provision of the policy or 
rider, and cannot decline to renew and cannot revise rates 
except on a class basis in accordance with section 6.1.4 
below.  This cost disclosure must be approved by the 
Commissioner and included in any solicitation and also 
prominently displayed on the initial policy.

6.1.3 Every long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate issued or delivered in this State must be 
"guaranteed renewable" as defined in section 6.1.2 above, 
and contain a cost disclosure section as defined section 6.1.4 
below.

6.1.4 Cost Disclosure Information.
6.1.4.1 The following cost disclosure 

information shall appear in bold print on the cover page of 
every individual policy and Outline of Coverage issued or 
delivered in this state:  "This policy provides only the 
following price protection, and no more.  Your premiums 
may not increase by more than X% during any given 
calendar year and your benefits may not decrease.  Any 
representations that these increases will not take place are 
unauthorized and shall not be relied upon."

6.1.4.2 The following cost disclosure 
information shall appear in bold print on the cover page of 
every certificate and Outline of Coverage issued or delivered 
in this state:  "This policy provides only the following price 
protection, and no more.  Your premiums are guaranteed to 
remain the same for the first three (3) years this policy is in 
force.  Your premiums may not increase by more than X% 
during any three year rating period.  Insurers will be allowed 
a carry forward of the initially disclosed maximum premium 
increase, but said carry forward is lost within twenty-four 
(24) months if not utilized."  Any additional language that 
appears under the cost disclosure section must be approved 
in advance by the Delaware Insurance Department.  The 
purpose of this cost disclosure section is twofold: first, to 
make crystal clear to the purchaser what the maximum cost 
will be from year to year, and second, to prohibit the practice 
of low pricing during the early years of a policy followed by 
dramatic increases designed to produce a high ratio of 
cancellations when the group insured reaches that age at 
which its members are more likely to file claims.  Therefore, 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 4, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS566
this section does not permit annual increases to be 
accumulated and applied all at once.  For example, if the 
price is $100 in the initial year of the policy and 10% is the 
represented annual maximum increase, then during the 
second year of the policy, the maximum allowable price is 
$110, the third year of the policy the maximum allowable 
price is not more than 110% of the price actually charges 
during year two of the policy.  It is not permissible to charge 
$121 during the third year of the policy unless $110 had 
actually been charged during year two of the policy.  In other 
words, any permitted annual price increase not implemented 
during a calendar year is thereafter waived and may not be 
considered in calculating future prices.

6.1.5 In addition to other requirements of this 
subsection, a qualified long-term care insurance contract 
shall be guaranteed renewable.

6.2 Limitations and Exclusions.  No policy may be 
delivered or issued for delivery in this state as long-term care 
insurance if such policy limits or excludes coverage by type 
of illness, treatment, medical condition or accident, except as 
follows:  

6.2.1 Preexisting conditions;
6.2.2 Mental or nervous disorders; however, this 

shall not permit exclusion or limitation of benefits on the 
basis of Alzheimer's Disease;

6.2.3 Alcoholism and drug addiction;
6.2.4 Illness, treatment or medical condition 

arising out of:
6.2.4.1 War or act of war (whether declared 

or undeclared);
6.2.4.2 Participation in a felony, riot or 

insurrection;
6.2.4.3 Service in the armed forces or units 

auxiliary thereto;
6.2.4.4 Suicide (sane or insane), attempted 

suicide or intentionally self-inflicted injury; or
6.2.4.5 Aviation (this exclusion applies only 

to non-fare-paying passengers).
6.2.5 Treatment provided in a government 

facility (unless otherwise required by law), services for 
which benefits are available under Medicare or other 
governmental program (except Medicaid), any state or 
federal workers' compensation, employer's liability or 
occupational disease law, or any motor vehicle no-fault law, 
services provided by a member of the covered person's 
immediate family and services for which no charge is 
normally made in the absence of insurance.

6.2.6 No territorial limitations are permissible, 
except that nothing herein shall preclude limiting benefits for 
specific services to a specific dollar amount, or to that dollar 
amount which is reasonable and prevailing in a particular 
geographic area which is defined and clearly delineated in 
the original offering or solicitation and the initial policy or 
certificate, or to specific providers within a particular 

geographic area.  Moreover, nothing herein shall prohibit the 
limitation of services to a particular geographic area when 
the insured elects to receive services within that specific 
geographical area.  For purposes of this clause, the location 
of receipt of services must be within 50 miles of the domicile 
of the insured at the time of entry therein or that area, 
including the nearest three nursing homes, whichever 
distance is greater.

6.2.7 Expenses for services or items available or 
paid under another long-term care insurance or health 
insurance policy.

6.2.8 In the case of a qualified long-term care 
insurance contract expenses for services or items to the 
extent that the expenses are reimbursable under Title XVIII 
of the Social Security Act or would be so reimbursable but 
for the application of a deductible or coinsurance amount.

6.2.9 This section 6.2 is not intended to prohibit 
exclusions and limitations by type of provider.

6.3 Extension of Benefits.  Termination of long-term 
care insurance shall be without prejudice to any benefits 
payable for institutionalization which began while the long-
term care insurance was in force and continues without 
interruption after termination.  Such extension  of benefits 
beyond the period the long-term care insurance was in force 
may be limited to the duration of the benefit period, if any, or 
to payment of the maximum benefits and may be subject to 
any policy waiting period, and all other applicable 
provisions of the policy.

6.4 Continuation or Conversion.
6.4.1 Group long-term care insurance issued in 

this state on or after the effective date of this section shall 
provide covered individuals with a basis for continuation or 
conversion of coverage.

6.4.2 For the purposes of this section, "a basis 
for continuation of coverage" means a policy provision 
which maintains coverage under the existing group policy 
when such coverage would otherwise terminate and which is 
subject only to the continued timely payment of premium 
when due. Group policies which restrict provision of 
benefits and services to, or contain incentives to use certain 
providers and/or facilities may provide continuation benefits 
which are substantially equivalent to the benefits under the 
existing policy.  The Commissioner shall make a 
determination as to the substantial equivalency of benefits, 
and in doing so, shall take into consideration the differences 
between managed care and non-managed care plans, 
including, but not limited to, provider system arrangements, 
service availability, benefit levels and administrative 
complexity.

6.4.3 For the purposes of this section, "a basis 
for conversion of coverage" means a policy provision that an 
individual whose coverage under the group policy would 
otherwise terminate or has been terminated for any reason, 
including discontinuance of the group policy in its entirety or 
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with respect to an insured class, and who has been 
continuously insured under the group policy (and any group 
policy which it replaced), for at least six months 
immediately prior to termination, shall be entitled to the 
issuance of a converted policy by the insurer under whose 
group policy he or she is covered, without evidence of 
insurability.

6.4.4 For the purposes of this section, 
"converted policy" means an individual policy of long-term 
care insurance providing benefits identical to or determined 
by the Commissioner to be substantially equivalent to or in 
excess of those provided under the group policy from which 
conversion is made.

6.4.4.1 Where the group policy from which 
conversion is made restricts provision of benefits and 
services to, or contains incentives to use certain providers 
and/or facilities, the Commissioner, in making a 
determination as to the substantial equivalency of benefits, 
shall take into consideration the differences between 
managed care and non-managed care plans, including, but 
not limited to, provider system arrangements, service 
availability, benefit levels and administrative complexity. 
When the policyholder or certificate holder is no longer in 
the geographical area of the provider system or available 
services, the insurer must calculate the financial worth of the 
group policy and make a cash contribution toward the 
purchase of any health insurance policy the policyholder 
may select.

6.4.5 Written application for the converted 
policy shall be made and the first premium due, if any, shall 
be paid as directed by the insurer no later than thirty-one (31) 
days after termination of coverage under the group policy. 
The converted policy shall be issued effective on the day 
following the termination of coverage under the group 
policy, and shall be renewable annually.

6.4.6 Unless the group policy from which 
conversion is made replaced previous group coverage, the 
premium for the converted policy shall be calculated on the 
basis of the insured's age at inception of coverage under the 
group policy from which conversion is made.  Where the 
group policy from which conversion is made replaced 
previous group coverage, the premium for the converted 
policy shall be calculated on the basis of the insured's age at 
inception of coverage under the group policy replaced.

6.4.7 Continuation of coverage or issuance of a 
converted policy shall be mandatory, except where:

6.4.7.1 Termination of group coverage 
resulted from an individual's failure to make any required 
payment of premium or contribution when due; or

6.4.7.2 The terminating coverage is replaced 
no later than thirty-one (31) days after termination, by group 
coverage effective on the day following the termination of 
coverage:

6.4.7.2.1 Providing benefits identical 

to or benefits determined by the Commissioner to be 
substantially equivalent to or in excess of those provided by 
the terminating coverage; and

6.4.7.2.2 The premium for which is 
calculated in a manner consistent with the requirements of 
6.4.6 of this section.

6.4.8 Notwithstanding any other provision of 
this section, a converted policy issued to an individual who 
at the time of conversion is covered by another long-term 
care insurance policy which provides benefits on the basis of 
incurred expenses, may contain a provision which results in 
a reduction of benefits payable if the benefits provided under 
the additional coverage, together with the full benefits 
provided by the converted policy, would result in payment of 
more than 100 percent of incurred expenses.  Such provision 
shall only be included in the converted policy if the 
converted policy also provides for a premium decrease or 
refund which reflects the reduction in benefits payable.

6.4.9 The converted policy may provide that the 
benefits payable under the converted policy, together with 
the benefits payable under the group policy from which 
conversion is made, shall not exceed those that would have 
been payable had the individual's coverage under the group 
policy remained in force and effect.

6.4.10 Notwithstanding any other provision of 
this section, any insured individual whose eligibility for 
group long-term care coverage is based upon his or her 
relationship to another person, shall be entitled to 
continuation of coverage under the group policy upon 
termination of the qualifying relationship by death or 
dissolution of marriage.

6.4.11 For the purposes of this section: a 
"Managed-Care Plan" is a health care or assisted living 
arrangement designed to coordinate patient care or control 
costs through utilization review, case management or use of 
specific provider networks.

6.5 Discontinuance and Replacement.
If a group long-term care insurance policy is 

replaced by another group long-term care policy issued to 
the same policyholder, the succeeding insurer shall offer 
coverage to all persons covered under the previous group 
policy on its date of termination.  Coverage provided or 
offered to individuals by the insurer and the premiums 
charged under the new group policy:

6.5.1 Shall not result in any exclusion for pre-
existing conditions that would have been covered under the 
group policy being replaced; and

6.5.2 Shall not vary or otherwise depend on the 
individual's health or disability status, claim experience or 
use of long-term care services.

6.6 The premiums charged to an insured for long-term 
care insurance shall not increase due to either:  (1) The 
increasing age of the insured at ages beyond sixty-five (65); 
or (2) The duration the insured has been covered under the 
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policy.
6.7 Electronic Enrollment for Group Policies

6.7.1 In the case of a group defined in 18 Del.C.
§ 7103(4)a. any requirement that a signature of an insured be 
obtained by an agent or insurer shall be deemed satisfied if:

6.7.1.1 The consent is obtained by telephonic 
or electronic enrollment by the group policyholder or 
insurer.  A verification of enrollment information shall be 
provided to the enrollee;

6.7.1.2 The telephonic or electronic 
enrollment provides necessary and reasonable safeguards to 
assure the accuracy, retention and prompt retrieval of 
records; and

6.7.1.3 The telephonic or electronic 
enrollment provides necessary and reasonable safeguards to 
assure that the confidentiality of individually identifiable 
information is maintained.

6.7.2 The insurer shall make available, upon 
request of the Commissioner, records that will demonstrate 
the insurer’s ability to confirm enrollment and coverage 
amounts.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

7.0 Required Disclosure Provisions
7.1 Renewability.  Individual long-term care insurance 

policies shall contain a renewability provision consistent 
herewith.  Such provision shall be appropriately  captioned, 
shall appear on the first page of the policy, and shall clearly 
state the duration, where limited, of renewability and the 
duration of the term of coverage for which the policy is 
issued and for which it may be renewed, subject to section 
6.1.1 hereof. This provision shall not apply to policies which 
do not contain a renewability provision, and under which the 
right to nonrenew is reserved solely to the policyholder.  

7.2 Riders and Endorsements.  Except for riders or 
endorsements by which the insurer effectuates a request 
made in writing by the insured under an individual long-term 
care insurance policy, all riders or endorsements added to an 
individual long-term care insurance policy after date of issue 
or at reinstatement or renewal which reduce or eliminate 
benefits or coverage in the policy shall require signed 
acceptance by the individual insured.  After the date of 
policy issue, any rider or endorsement which increases 
benefits or coverage with a concomitant increase in premium 
during the policy term must be agreed to in writing signed by 
the insured, except if the increased benefits or coverage are 
required by law.  Where a separate additional premium is 
charged for benefits provided in connection with riders or 
endorsements, such premium charge shall be set forth in the 
policy, rider or endorsement.  

7.3 Payment of Benefits.  A long-term care insurance 
policy which provides for the payment of benefits based on 
standards described as "usual and customary", "reasonable 
and customary", "reasonable and prevailing", or words of 

similar import shall include a definition of such terms and an 
explanation of such terms in its outline of coverage.  

7.4 Limitations.  If a long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate contains any limitations with respect to 
preexisting conditions, such limitations shall appear as a 
separate paragraph of the policy or certificate and shall be 
labeled as "Preexisting Condition Limitations."

7.5 Other Limitations or Conditions on Eligibility for 
Benefits.  A long-term care insurance policy or certificate 
containing any limitations or conditions for eligibility, 
except in accordance with 18 Del.C. § 7105, shall set forth a 
description of such limitations or conditions, including any 
required number of days or confinement, in a separate 
paragraph of the policy or certificate and shall label such 
paragraph "Limitations or Conditions of Eligibility for 
Benefits."

7.6 Disclosure of Tax Consequences.  
7.6.1 With regard to life insurance policies 

which provide an accelerated benefit for long-term care, a 
disclosure statement is required at the time of application for 
the policy or rider and at the time the accelerated benefit 
payment request is submitted that receipt of these 
accelerated benefits may be taxable, and that assistance 
should be sought from a personal tax advisor.  The disclosure 
statement shall be prominently displayed on the first page of 
the policy or rider and any other related documents. This 
subsection shall not apply to qualified long-term care 
insurance contracts.

7.6.2 With regard to qualified long-term care 
insurance policies a disclosure statement shall appear in bold 
print on the face of the policy and outline of coverage 
indicating the policy is intended to be a qualified long-term 
care policy under Section 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1996.

7.7 Benefit Triggers.  Activities of daily living and 
cognitive impairment shall be used to measure an insured’s 
need for long term care and shall be described in the policy 
or certificate in a separate paragraph and shall be labeled 
“Eligibility for the Payment of Benefits.”  Any additional 
benefit triggers shall also be explained in this section.  If 
these triggers differ for different benefits, explanation of the 
trigger shall accompany each benefit description.  If an 
attending physician or other specified person must certify a 
certain level of functional dependency in order to be eligible 
for benefits, this too shall be specified.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

8.0 Required Disclosure of Rating Practices to 
Consumers  

8.1 This subsection shall apply as follows:
8.1.1 Except as provided in section 8.1.2, this 

section applies to any long-term care policy or certificate 
issued in this state on or after March 1, 2005.

8.1.2 For certificates issued on or after the 
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effective date of this amended regulation under a group long-
term care insurance policy as defined in 18 Del.C. § 7103(4), 
which policy was in force at the time this amended 
regulation became effective, the provisions of this section 
shall apply on the policy anniversary following January 1, 
2006.

8.2 Other than policies for which no applicable 
premium rate or rate schedule increases can be made, 
insurers shall provide all of the information listed in this 
subsection to the applicant at the time of application or 
enrollment, unless the method of application does not allow 
for delivery at that time. In such a case, an insurer shall 
provide all of the information listed in this section to the 
applicant no later than at the time of delivery of the policy or 
certificate.

8.2.1 A statement that the policy may be subject 
to rate increases in the future; 

8.2.2 An explanation of potential future 
premium rate revisions, and the policyholder’s or 
certificateholder’s option in the event of a premium rate 
revision;

8.2.3 The premium rate or rate schedules 
applicable to the applicant that will be in effect until a 
request is made for an increase;

8.2.4 A general explanation for applying 
premium rate or rate schedule adjustments that shall include:

8.2.4.1 A description of when premium rate 
or rate schedule adjustments will be effective (e.g., next 
anniversary date, next billing date, etc.); and

8.2.4.2 The right to a revised premium rate or 
rate schedule as provided in section 8.2.3 if the premium rate 
or rate schedule is changed; 

8.2.5 Premium rate increase information
8.2.5.1 Information regarding each pr0emium 

rate increase on this policy form or similar policy forms over 
the past ten (10) years for this state or any other state that, at 
a minimum, identifies:

8.2.5.1.1 The policy forms for which 
premium rates have been increased;

8.2.5.1.2 The calendar years when the 
form was available for purchase; and 

8.2.5.1.3 The amount or percent of 
each increase. The percentage may be expressed as a 
percentage of the premium rate prior to the increase, and 
may also be expressed as minimum and maximum 
percentages if the rate increase is variable by rating 
characteristics. 

8.2.5.2 The insurer may, in a fair manner, 
provide additional explanatory information related to the rate 
increases.

8.2.5.3 An insurer shall have the right to 
exclude from the disclosure premium rate increases that only 
apply to blocks of business acquired from other nonaffiliated 
insurers or the long-term care policies acquired from other 

nonaffiliated insurers when those increases occurred prior to 
the acquisition. 

8.2.5.4 If an acquiring insurer files for a rate 
increase on a long-term care policy form acquired from 
nonaffiliated insurers or a block of policy forms acquired 
from nonaffiliated insurers on or before the later of the 
effective date of this section or the end of a twenty-four-
month period following the acquisition of the block or 
policies, the acquiring insurer may exclude that rate increase 
from the disclosure. However, the nonaffiliated selling 
company shall include the disclosure of that rate increase in 
accordance with section 8.2.5.1.

8.2.5.5 If the acquiring insurer in section 
8.2.5.4 above files for a subsequent rate increase, even 
within the twenty-four-month period, on the same policy 
form acquired from nonaffiliated insurers or block of policy 
forms acquired from nonaffiliated insurers referenced in 
section 8.2.5.4, the acquiring insurer shall make all 
disclosures required by section 8.2.5, including disclosure of 
the earlier rate increase referenced in section 8.2.5.4.

8.3 An applicant shall sign an acknowledgement at the 
time of application, unless the method of application does 
not allow for signature at that time, that the insurer made the 
disclosure required under sections 8.2.1 and 8.2.5. If due to 
the method of application the applicant cannot sign an 
acknowledgement at the time of application, the applicant 
shall sign no later than at the time of delivery of the policy or 
certificate.

8.4 An insurer shall use the forms in Appendices B and 
F to comply with the requirements of sections 8.2 and 8.3 of 
section 8.

8.5 An insurer shall provide notice of an upcoming 
premium rate schedule increase to all policyholders or 
certificateholders, if applicable, at least forty-five (45) days 
prior to the implementation of the premium rate schedule 
increase by the insurer. The notice shall include the 
information required by section 8.2 when the rate increase is 
implemented

89.0 Unintentional Lapse
89.1 Each insurer offering long-term care insurance 

shall, as a protection against unintentional lapse, comply 
with the following:

89.1.1 Notice before lapse or termination. No 
individual long-term care policy or certificate shall be issued 
until the insurer has received from the applicant either a 
written designation of at least one person, in addition to the 
applicant, who is to receive notice of lapse or termination of 
the policy or certificate for nonpayment of premium, or a 
written waiver dated and signed by the applicant electing not 
to designate additional persons to receive notice. The 
applicant has the right to designate at least one person who is 
to receive the notice of termination, in addition to the 
insured. Designation shall not constitute acceptance of any 
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liability on the third party for services provided to the 
insured. The form used for the written designation must 
provide space clearly designated for listing at least one 
person. The designation shall include each person’s full 
name and home address. In the case of an applicant who 
elects not to designate an additional person, the waiver shall 
state: “Protection against unintended lapse.  I understand that 
I have the right to designate at least one person other than 
myself to receive notice of lapse or termination of this long-
term care insurance policy for nonpayment of premium. I 
understand that notice will not be given until thirty (30) days 
after a premium is due and unpaid. I elect NOT to designate 
a person to receive this notice.”

89.1.1.1 The insurer shall notify the 
insured of the right to change this written designation, no 
less often than once every two (2) years.

89.1.2 When the policyholder or certificateholder 
pays premium for a long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate through a payroll or pension deduction plan, the 
requirements contained in section 89.1.1.1 need not be met 
until sixty (60) days after the policyholder or 
certificateholder is no longer on such a payment plan.  The 
application or enrollment form for such policies or 
certificates shall clearly indicate the payment plan selected 
by the applicant.

89.1.3 Lapse or termination for nonpayment of 
premium. No individual long-term care policy or certificate 
shall lapse or be terminated for nonpayment of premium 
unless the insurer, at least thirty (30) days before the 
effective date of the lapse or termination, has given notice to 
the insured and to those persons designated pursuant to 
section 89.1.1.1, at the address provided by the insured for 
purposes of receiving notice of lapse or termination. Notice 
shall be given by first class United States mail, postage 
prepaid; and notice may not be given until thirty (30) days 
after a premium is due and unpaid. Notice shall be deemed to 
have been given as of five (5) days after the date of mailing.

89.2 Reinstatement.  In addition to the requirement 
in section 89.1.1, a long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate shall include a provision that provides for 
reinstatement of coverage, in the event of lapse if the insurer 
is provided proof that the policyholder or certificateholder 
was cognitively impaired or had a loss of functional capacity 
before the grace period contained in the policy expired.  This 
option shall be available to the insured if requested within 
five (5) months after termination and shall allow for the 
collection of past due premium, where appropriate.  The 
standard of proof of cognitive impairment or loss of 
functional capacity shall not be more stringent than the 
benefit eligibility criteria on cognitive impairment or the loss 
of functional capacity contained in the policy and certificate.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

10.0 Initial Filing Requirements
10.1 This section applies to any long-term care 

policy issued in this state on or after March 1, 2005.
10.2 An insurer shall provide the information listed 

in this subsection to the commissioner 30 days prior to 
making a long-term care insurance form available for sale.

10.2.1 A copy of the disclosure documents 
required in Section 8; and

10.2.2 An actuarial certification consisting of at 
least the following:

10.2.2.1 A statement that the initial 
premium rate schedule is sufficient to cover anticipated costs 
under moderately adverse experience and that the premium 
rate schedule is reasonably expected to be sustainable over 
the life of the form with no future premium increases 
anticipated; 

10.2.2.2 A statement that the policy 
design and coverage provided have been reviewed and taken 
into consideration;

10.2.2.3 A statement that the underwriting 
and claims adjudication processes have been reviewed and 
taken into consideration;

10.2.2.4 A complete description of the 
basis for contract reserves that are anticipated to be held 
under the form, to include:

10.2.2.4.1 Sufficient detail or sample 
calculations provided so as to have a complete depiction of 
the reserve amounts to be held;

10.2.2.4.2 A statement that the 
assumptions used for reserves contain reasonable margins 
for adverse experience; 

10.2.2.4.3 A statement that the net 
valuation premium for renewal years does not increase 
(except for attained-age rating where permitted); and 

10.2.2.4.4 A statement that the 
difference between the gross premium and the net valuation 
premium for renewal years is sufficient to cover expected 
renewal expenses; or if such a statement cannot be made, a 
complete description of the situations where this does not 
occur;

10.2.2.4.4.1 An aggregate 
distribution of anticipated issues may be used as long as the 
underlying gross premiums maintain a reasonably consistent 
relationship; 

10.2.2.4.4.2 If the gross premiums 
for certain age groups appear to be inconsistent with this 
requirement, the commissioner may request a demonstration 
under section10.3 based on a standard age distribution; and

10.2.2.4.5 Premium schedules.
10.2.2.4.5.1 A statement that the 

premium rate schedule is not less than the premium rate 
schedule for existing similar policy forms also available 
from the insurer except for reasonable differences 
attributable to benefits; or
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10.2.2.4.5.2 A comparison of the 
premium schedules for similar policy forms that are 
currently available from the insurer with an explanation of 
the differences.

10.3 Actuarial information.
10.3.1 The commissioner may request an 

actuarial demonstration that benefits are reasonable in 
relation to premiums. The actuarial demonstration shall 
include either premium and claim experience on similar 
policy forms, adjusted for any premium or benefit 
differences, relevant and credible data from other studies, or 
both. 

10.3.2 In the event the commissioner asks for 
additional information under this provision, the period in 
section 10.2 does not include the period during which the 
insurer is preparing the requested information.

911.0 Prohibition Against Post-Claims Underwriting
911.1 All applications for long-term care insurance 

policies or certificates except those which are guaranteed 
issue shall contain clear and unambiguous questions 
designed to ascertain the health condition of the applicant.

911.2 If an application for long-term care insurance 
contains a question which asks whether the applicant has had 
medication prescribed by a physician, it must also ask the 
applicant to list the medication that has been prescribed.

911.2.1 If the medications listed in such 
application were known by the insurer, or should have been 
known at the time of application, to be directly related to a 
medical condition for which coverage would otherwise be 
denied, then the policy or certificate shall not be rescinded 
for that condition. 

911.3 Except for policies or certificates which are 
guaranteed issue:  

911.3.1 The following language shall be set out 
conspicuously and in close conjunction with the applicant's 
signature block on an application for a long-term care 
insurance policy or certificate:  Caution:  If your answers on 
this application are incorrect or untrue [company] has the 
right to deny benefits or rescind your policy.

911.3.2 The following language, or language 
substantially similar to the following, shall be set out 
conspicuously on the long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate at the time of delivery:  Caution:  The issuance of 
this long-term care insurance [policy] [certificate] is based 
upon your responses to the questions on your application.  A 
copy of your [application] [enrollment form] [is enclosed] 
[was retained by you when you applied].  If your answers are 
incorrect or untrue, the company has the right to deny 
benefits or rescind your policy.  The best time to clear up any 
questions is now, before a claim arises!  If, for any reason, 
any of your answers are incorrect, contact the company at 
this address: [insert address].

911.3.3 Prior to issuance of a long-term care 

insurance policy or certificate to an applicant age eighty (80) 
or older, the insurer shall obtain one of the following:

911.3.3.1 A report of a physical 
examination,

911.3.3.2 An assessment of functional 
capacity,

911.3.3.3 An attending physician's 
statement, or 

911.3.3.4 Copies of medical records.
911.4 A copy of the completed application or 

enrollment form (whichever is applicable) shall be delivered 
to the insured no later than at the time of delivery of the 
policy or certificate unless it was retained by the applicant at 
the time of application.

911.5 Every insurer or other entity selling or issuing 
long-term care insurance benefits shall maintain a record of 
all policy or certificate rescissions, both state and 
countrywide, except those which the insured voluntarily 
effectuated and shall annually furnish this information to the 
Insurance Commissioner in the form prescribed by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

1012.0 Minimum Standards for Home Health and 
Community Care Benefits in Long-Term Care Insurance 
Policies

1012.1 A long-term care insurance policy or certificate 
shall not, if it provides benefits for home health or 
community care services, limit or exclude benefits;

1012.1.1 By requiring that the insured/claimant 
would need skilled care in a skilled nursing facility if home 
health care services were not provided.

1012.1.2 By requiring that the insured/claimant 
first or simultaneously receive nursing and/or therapeutic 
services in a home, community or institutional setting before 
home health care services are covered.

1012.1.3 By limiting eligible services to 
services provided by registered nurses or licensed practical 
nurses.

1012.1.4 By requiring that a nurse or therapist 
provide services covered by the policy that can be provided 
by a home health aide, or other licensed or certified home 
care worker acting within the scope of his or her licensure or 
certification.

1012.1.5 By excluding coverage for personal 
care services provided by a home health aide;

1012.1.6 By requiring that the provision of 
home health care services be at a level of certification or 
licensure greater than that required by the eligible service;

1012.1.7 By requiring that the insured/claimant 
have an acute condition before home health care services are 
covered.

1012.1.8 By limiting benefits to services 
provided by Medicare-certified agencies or providers;

1012.1.9 By excluding coverage for adult day 
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care services.
1012.2 A long-term care insurance policy or 

certificate, if it provides for home health or community care 
services, shall provide total home health or community care 
coverage that is a dollar amount equivalent to at least one-
half of one year's coverage available for nursing home 
benefits under the policy or certificate.  This requirement 
shall not apply to policies or certificates issued to residents 
of continuing care retirement communities.

1012.3 Home health care coverage may be applied to 
non-home health care benefits provided in the policy or 
certificate when determining the maximum coverage under 
the terms of the policy or certificate. 

1113.0 Requirement to Offer Inflation Protection
1113.1 No insurer may offer a long-term care 

insurance policy unless the insurer also offers to the 
policyholder the option to purchase a policy that provides for 
benefit levels to increase with benefit maximums or 
reasonable durations which are meaningful to account for 
reasonably anticipated increases in the costs of long-term 
services covered by the policy.  Insurers must offer to each 
policyholder, at the time of purchase, the option to purchase 
a policy with an inflation protection feature no less favorable 
than one of the following:

1113.1.1 Increases benefit levels annually in a 
manner so that the increases are compounded annually at a 
rate not less than five percent (5%).;  However, if the insured 
individual shall reject the inflation protection offer as 
provided for in this section, the insurer may offer other or 
alternate forms of inflation protection;  

1113.1.2 Guarantees the insured individual the 
right to periodically increase benefit levels without 
providing evidence of insurability or health status so long as 
the option for the previous period has not been declined. 
The amount of additional benefit shall be no less than the 
difference between the existing policy benefit and that 
benefit compounded annually at a rate of at least five percent 
(5%) for the period beginning with the purchase of the 
existing benefit and extended until the year in which the 
offer is made; or

1113.1.3 Covers a specific percentage of actual 
or reasonable charges and does not include a maximum 
specified indemnity amount of limit.

1113.2 Where the policy is issued to a group, the 
required offer in section 1113.1 above shall be made to the 
group policyholder; except, if the policy is issued to a group 
defined in 18 Del.C. § 7103(4), other than to a continuing 
care retirement community, the offering shall be made to 
each proposed certificate holder.

1113.3 The offer in section 1113.1 above shall not be 
required of life insurance policies or riders containing 
accelerated long-term care benefits. 

1113.4 Insurers shall include the following 

information in or with the outline of coverage:
1113.4.1 A graphic comparison of the benefit 

levels of a policy that increases benefits over the policy 
period with a policy that does not increase benefits.  The 
graphic comparison shall show benefit levels over at least a 
twenty (20) year period.

1113.4.2 Any expected premium increases or 
additional premiums to pay for automatic or optional benefit 
increases. An insurer may use a reasonable hypothetical, or a 
graphic demonstration, for the purposes of this disclosure.

1113.5 Inflation protection benefit increases under a 
policy which contains such benefits shall continue without 
regard to an insured's age, claim status or claim history, or 
the length of time the person has been insured under the 
policy.

1113.6 An offer of inflation protection which provides 
for automatic benefit increases shall include an offer of a 
premium which the insurer expects to remain constant.  Such 
offer shall disclose in a conspicuous manner that the 
premium may change in the future unless the premium is 
guaranteed to remain constant. 

1113.7
1113.7.1 Inflation protection as provided in 

section 1113.1.1 of this section shall be included in a long-
term care insurance policy unless an insurer obtains a 
rejection of inflation protection signed by the policyholder as 
required in this subsection.

1113.7.2 The rejection shall be considered part 
of the application and shall state:

I have reviewed the outline of coverage and the 
graphs that compare the benefits and premiums of this policy 
with and without inflation protection. Specifically, I have 
reviewed Plans __________ and I reject inflation protection.

1214.0 Requirements for Replacement
1214.1 Application forms shall include the following 

questions designed to elicit information as to whether, as of 
the date of the application, the applicant has another long-
term care insurance policy or certificate in force or whether a 
long-term care policy or certificate is intended to replace any 
accident and sickness or long-term care policy or certificate 
presently in force. A supplementary application or other 
form to be signed by the applicant and the agent, except 
where the coverage is sold without an agent, containing such 
questions may be used.  With regard to a replacement policy 
issued to a group defined in 18 Del.C. § 7103(4), the 
following questions may be modified only to the extent 
necessary to elicit information about health or long-term care 
insurance policies other than the group policy being 
replaced; provided, however, that the certificate holder has 
been notified of the replacement.

1214.1.1 Do you have another long-term care 
insurance policy or certificate in force (including health care 
services contract, health maintenance organization contract)?
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1214.1.2 Did you have another long-term care 
insurance policy or certificate in force during the last twelve 
(12) months?

1214.1.2.1 If so, with which company?
1214.1.2.2 If that policy lapsed, when did it 

lapse?
1214.1.3 Are you covered by Medicaid?
1214.1.4 Do you intend to replace any of your 

medical or health insurance with this policy {certificate}?
1214.2 Agents shall list any other health insurance 

policies they have sold to the applicant.
1214.2.1 List policies sold which are still in 

force. 
1214.2.2 List policies sold in the last five (5) 

years which are no longer in force.
1214.3 Solicitations Other than Direct Response. 

Upon determining that a sale will involve replacement, an 
insurer; other than an insurer using direct response 
solicitation methods, or its agent; shall furnish the applicant, 
prior to issuance or delivery of the individual long-term care 
insurance policy, a notice regarding replacement of accident 
and sickness or long-term care coverage.  One copy of such 
notice shall be retained by the applicant and an additional 
copy signed by the applicant shall be retained by the insurer. 
The required notice shall be provided in the following 
manner:

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING 
REPLACEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL

ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS OR LONG-TERM CARE 
INSURANCE

According to [your application] [information you have 
furnished], you intend to lapse or otherwise terminate 
existing accident and sickness or long-term care insurance 
and replace it with an individual long term care insurance 
policy to be issued by [company name] Insurance Company. 
Your new policy provides thirty (30) days within which you 
may decide, without cost, whether you desire to keep the 
policy.  For your own information and protection, you should 
be aware of and seriously consider certain factors which may 
affect the insurance protection available to you under the 
new policy.

You should review this new coverage carefully, 
comparing it with all accident and sickness or long-term care 
insurance coverage you now have, and terminate your 
present policy only if, after due consideration, you find that 
purchase of this long-term care insurance is a wise decision.

STATEMENT TO APPLICANT BY AGENT
[BROKER OR OTHER REPRESENTATIVE]:

(Use additional sheets, as necessary).
I have reviewed your current medical or health 

insurance coverage.  I believe the replacement of insurance 
involved in this transaction materially improves your 
position.  My conclusion has taken into account the 
following considerations, which I call to your attention:

1. Health conditions which you may presently 
have (preexisting conditions), may not be immediately or 
fully covered under the new policy.  This could result in 
denial or delay in payment of benefits under the new policy, 
whereas a similar claim might have been payable under your 
present policy.

2. State law provides that your replacement 
policy or certificate may not contain new pre-existing 
conditions or probationary periods.

3. If you are replacing existing long-term care 
insurance coverage, you may wish to secure the advice of 
your present insurer or its agent regarding the proposed 
replacement of your present policy.  This is not only your 
right, but it is also in your best interest to make sure you 
understand all the relevant factors involved in replacing your 
present coverage.

4. If, after due consideration, you still wish to 
terminate your present policy and replace it with new 
coverage, be certain to truthfully and completely answer all 
questions on the application concerning your medical health 
history.  Failure to include all material medical information 
on an application may provide a basis for the company to 
deny and future claims and to refund your premium as 
though your policy had never been in force.  After the 
application has been completed and before you sign it, 
reread it carefully to be certain that all information has been 
properly recorded.
_______________________________

(Date)
_______________________________

(Agent's Signature) 
The above "Notice to the Applicant" was delivered to me on:
________________________________

(Date)
_________________________

(Applicant's Signature) 

1214.4 Direct Response Solicitations.  Insurers using 
direct response solicitation methods shall deliver a notice 
regarding replacement of accident and sickness or long-term 
care coverage to the applicant upon issuance of the policy. 
The required notice shall be provided in the following 
manner:

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING 
REPLACEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL

ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS OR LONG-TERM CARE 
INSURANCE

According to [your application] [information you have 
furnished], you intend to lapse or otherwise terminate 
existing accident and sickness or long-term care insurance 
and replace it with the long-term care insurance policy 
delivered herewith issued by [company name] Insurance 
Company.  Your new policy provides thirty (30) days within 
which you may decide, without cost, whether you desire to 
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keep the policy.  For your own information and protection, 
you should be aware of and seriously consider certain factors 
which may affect the insurance protection available to you 
under the new policy.

You should review this new coverage carefully, 
comparing it with all accident and sickness or long-term care 
insurance coverage you now have, and terminate your 
present policy only if, after due consideration, you find that 
purchase of this long-term care coverage is a wise decision.

1. Health conditions which you may presently 
have (preexisting conditions), may not be immediately or 
fully covered under the new policy.  This could result in 
denial or delay in payment of benefits under the new policy, 
whereas a similar claim might have been payable under your 
present policy.

2. State law provides that your replacement 
policy or certificate may not contain new pre-existing 
conditions or probationary periods.  

3. If you are replacing existing long-term care 
insurance coverage, you may wish to secure the advice of 
your present insurer or its agent regarding the proposed 
replacement of your present policy.  This is not only your 
right, but it is also in your best interest to make sure you 
understand all the relevant factors involved in replacing your 
present coverage.

4. [To be included only if the application is 
attached to the policy.]  If, after due consideration, you still 
wish to terminate your present policy and replace it with new 
coverage, read the copy of the application attached to your 
new policy and be sure that all questions are answered fully 
and correctly.  Omissions or misstatements in the application 
could cause an otherwise valid claim to be denied.  Carefully 
check the application and write to [company name and 
address] within (30) thirty days if any information is not 
correct and complete, or if any past medical history has been 
left out of the application.

__________________________
(Company Name)

1214.5 Where replacement is intended, the replacing 
insurer shall notify, in writing, the existing insurer of the 
proposed replacement.  The existing policy shall be 
identified by the name of the insurer, name of the insured 
and policy number or address including zip code.  Such 
notice shall be made within five (5) working days from the 
date the application is received by the insurer or the date the 
policy is issued, whichever is sooner.

14.6 Life Insurance policies that accelerate benefits 
for long-term care shall comply with this section if the policy 
being replaced is a long-term care insurance policy. If the 
policy being replaced is a life insurance policy, the insurer 
shall comply with the replacement requirements of 
Regulation 1204. If a life insurance policy that accelerates 
benefits for long-term care is replaced by another such 

policy, the replacing insurer shall comply with both the long-
term care and the life insurance replacement requirements.

1315.0 Reportinglacement Requirements
1315.1 Every insurer shall maintain records for each 

Delaware-licensed agent of that agent's amount of 
replacement sales as a percentage of the agent's total annual 
sales and the amount of lapses of long-term care insurance 
policies sold by the agent as a percent of the agent's total 
annual sales.

1315.2 Each insurer shall report annually by June 30 
the ten percent (10%) of its Delaware-licensed agents with 
the greatest percentages of lapses and replacements as 
measured by section 1315.1 above.

1315.3 Reported replacement and lapse rates do not 
alone constitute a violation of insurance laws or necessarily 
imply wrongdoing.  The reports are for the purpose of 
reviewing more closely agent activities regarding the sale of 
long-term care insurance.

1315.4 Every entity providing long-term care 
insurance in this state shall file annually as an attachment to 
its annual statement an exhibit that discloses the total 
number of long-term care insurance policies, by form 
number, in force in this state and the total number of 
policies, by form number, that have lapsed over the previous 
five years.  Companies must provide in-force policy and 
lapsed policy information in the following manner:

POLICY FORM # ______

SOLD   LAPSED   LAPSED   LAPSED LAPSED  LAPSED  TOTAL
1985 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989
100 6 21 11 32 14 84

1986 1986 1987 1988 1989
100 6 11 21 32 70

1987 1987 1988 1989
100 6 21 28 50

1988 1988 1989
100 6 14 20

1989 1989
100 6 6

1315.5 Every insurer shall report, annually by June 30 
the number of replacement policies sold as a percentage of 
its total annual sales and as a percentage of its total number 
of policies in force as of the preceding calendar year.

1315.6 For purposes of this section, "policy" shall 
mean only long-term care insurance and "report" shall mean 
on a statewide basis.
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146.0 Licensing
146.1 No agent is authorized to market, sell, solicit or 

otherwise contact any person for the purpose of marketing 
long-term care insurance unless the agent has demonstrated 
his or her knowledge of long-term care insurance and the 
appropriateness of such insurance by passing a test required 
by this state and maintaining appropriate licenses.

146.2 Agents shall comply with the licensing 
provisions contained in 18 Del.C. Ch. 17 and Delaware 
Insurance Department Regulation 504, as the same may be 
amended or supplemented, §§ 1716(a)(4) and 1725(a) 
relating to lines of authority and examinations, respectively. 

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

1517.0 Discretionary Powers of Commissioner
The Commissioner may, upon written request and after 

an administrative hearing, issue an order to modify or 
suspend a specific provision or provisions of this regulation 
with respect to a specific long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate upon a written finding that:

1517.1 The modification or suspension would be in the 
best interest of the insureds; and

1517.2 The purposes to be achieved could not be 
effectively or efficiently achieved without the modification 
or suspension; and

1517.3
1517.3.1 The modification or suspension is 

necessary to the development of an innovative and 
reasonable approach for insuring long-term care; or

1517.3.2 The policy or certificate is to be 
issued to  residents of a life care or continuing care 
retirement community or some other residential community 
for the elderly and the modification or suspension is 
reasonable related to the special needs or nature of such a 
community; or

1517.3.3 The modification or suspension is 
necessary to permit long-term care insurance to be sold as 
part of, or in conjunction with, another insurance product.

1618.0 Reserve Standards
1618.1 When long-term care benefits are provided 

through the acceleration of benefits under group or 
individual life policies or riders to such policies, policy 
reserves for such benefits shall be determined in accordance 
with 18 Del.C. § 1113.  Claim reserves must also be 
established in the case when such policy or rider is in claim 
status. Reserves for policies and riders subject to this 
subsection should be based on the multiple decrement model 
utilizing all relevant decrements except for voluntary 
termination rates.  Single decrement approximations are 
acceptable if the calculation produces essentially similar 
reserves, if the reserve is clearly more conservative, or if the 
reserve is immaterial.  The calculations may take into 
account the reduction in life insurance benefits due to the 

payment of long-term care benefits.  However, in no event 
shall the reserves for the long-term care benefit and the life 
insurance benefit be less than the reserves for the life 
insurance benefit assuming no long-term benefit.  In the 
development and calculation of reserves for policies and 
riders subject to this subsection, due  regard shall be given to 
the applicable policy provisions, marketing methods, 
administrative procedures  and all other considerations 
which have an impact on projected claim costs, including, 
but not limited to, the following:

1618.1.1 Definition of insured events;
1618.1.2 Covered long-term care facilities;
1618.1.3 Existence of home convalescence 

coverage;
1618.1.4 Definition of facilities;
1618.1.5 Existence or absence of barriers to 

eligibility;
1618.1.6 Premium waiver provision;
1618.1.7 Renewability;
1618.1.8 Ability to raise premiums;
1618.1.9 Marketing method;
1618.1.10 Underwriting procedures; 
1618.1.11 Claims adjustment procedures;
1618.1.12 Waiting period;
1618.1.13 Maximum benefit;
1618.1.14 Availability of eligible facilities;
1618.1.15 Margins in claim costs;
1618.1.16 Optional nature of benefit;
1618.1.17 Delay in eligibility for benefit;
1618.1.18 Inflation protection provisions; and
1618.1.19 Guaranteed insurability options.

Any applicable valuation morbidity table shall 
be certified as appropriate as a statutory valuation table by a 
member of the American Academy of Actuaries.

1618.2 When long-term care benefits are provided 
other than as in section 1618.1 above, reserves shall be 
determined in accordance with 18 Del.C. § 1108. 

1719.0 Loss Ratio
1719.1 This section shall apply to all long-term care 

insurance policies or certificates except those covered under 
Sections 10 and 20.

1719.2 Benefits under long-term care insurance 
policies shall be deemed reasonable in relation to premiums 
provided the expected loss ratio is at least sixty percent 
(60%) for individual policies and at least sixty-five percent 
(65%) for group policies, calculated in a manner which 
provides for adequate reserving of the long-term care 
insurance risk. In evaluating the expected loss ratio, due 
consideration shall be given to all relevant factors, including:

1719.2.1 Statistical credibility of incurred 
claims experience and earned premiums;

1719.2.2 The period for which rates are 
computed to provide coverage;
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1719.2.3 Experienced and projected trends;
1719.2.4 Concentration of experience within 

early policy duration;
1719.2.5 Expected claim fluctuation;
1719.2.6 Experience refunds, adjustments or 

dividends;
1719.2.7 Renewability features;
1719.2.8 All appropriate expense factors;
1719.2.9 Interest;
1719.2.10 Experimental nature of the coverage;
1719.2.11 Policy reserves;
1719.2.12 Mix of business by risk classification; 

and
1719.2.13 Product features such as long 

elimination periods, high deductibles and high maximum 
limits.

1719.3 Section 19.2 shall not apply to life insurance 
policies that accelerate benefits for long-term care. A life 
insurance policy that funds long-term care benefits entirely 
by accelerating the death benefit is considered to provide 
reasonable benefits in relation to premiums paid, if the 
policy complies with all of the following provisions:

1719.3.1 The interest credited internally to 
determine cash value accumulations, including long-term 
care, if any, are guaranteed not to be less than the minimum 
guaranteed interest rate for cash value accumulations 
without long-term care set forth in the policy;

1719.3.2 The portion of the policy that provides 
life insurance benefits meets the nonforfeiture requirements 
of 18 Del. C. § 2929;

1719.3.3 The policy meets the disclosure 
requirements of 18 Del. C. § 7105;

1719.3.4 Any policy illustration that meets the 
applicable requirements of the Delaware Insurance 
Department Regulation 1210; and

1719.3.5 An actuarial memorandum is filed 
with the insurance department that includes:

1719.3.5.1 A description of the basis on 
which the long-term care rates were determined;

1719.3.5.2 A description of the basis for the 
reserves;

1719.3.5.3 A summary of the type of policy, 
benefits, renewability, general marketing method, and limits 
on ages of issuance;

1719.3.5.4 A description and a table of each 
actuarial assumption used. For expenses, an insurer must 
include percent of premium dollars per policy and dollars per 
unit of benefits, if any;

1719.3.5.5 A description and a table of the 
anticipated policy reserves and additional reserves to be held 
in each future year for active lives;

1719.3.5.6 The estimated average annual 
premium per policy and the average issue age;

1719.3.5.7 A statement as to whether 

underwriting is performed at the time of application. The 
statement shall indicate whether underwriting is used and, if 
used, the statement shall include a description of the type or 
types of underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 
functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 
policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee or 
any dependent will be underwritten and when underwriting 
occurs; and

1719.3.5.8 A description of the effect of the long-
term care policy provision on the required premiums, 
nonforfeiture values and reserves on the underlying life 
insurance policy, both for active lives and those in long-term 
care claim status.

17.1 Benefits under individual long-term care 
insurance policies and group policies with fewer than 250 
insureds shall be deemed reasonable in relation to premiums 
provided the expected loss ratio is at least sixty percent, 
calculated in a manner which provides for adequate 
reserving of the long-term care insurance risk.  Long-term 
care benefits provided through the acceleration of the death 
benefit under a life insurance policy or annuity, where the 
charge or the premium for the acceleration benefit is 
identifiable and where the payment of such long-term care 
benefits cannot result in the decrease of the total amount of 
benefits payable under the policy (i.e., long-term care 
benefits plus balance payable upon death), shall be exempt 
from this section.  In evaluating the expected loss ratio, due 
consideration shall be given to all relevant factors, including:

17.1.1 Statistical credibility of incurred claims 
experience and earned premiums;

17.1.2 The period for which rates are computed 
to provide coverage;

17.1.3 Experienced and projected trends;
17.1.4 Concentration of experience within early 

policy duration;
17.1.5 Expected claim fluctuation;
17.1.6 Experience refunds, adjustments or 

dividends;
17.1.7 Renewability features;
17.1.8 All appropriate expense factors;
17.1.9 Interest;
17.1.10 Experimental nature of this coverage;
17.1.11 Policy reserves;
17.1.12 Mix of business by risk classification; and
17.1.13 Product features such as long elimination 

periods, high deductibles and high maximum limits.
17.2 Every entity providing long-term care 

insurance in this State shall file annually its rates, rating 
schedule and supporting documentation including ratios of 
incurred losses to earned premiums by number of years of 
policy duration demonstrating that it is in compliance with 
the foregoing applicable loss ratio standards and that the 
period for which the policy is rated is reasonable in 
accordance with accepted actuarial principles and 
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experience.
For purposes of this section, policy forms shall be 

deemed to comply the loss ratio standards if:
17.2.1f or the most recent year, the ratio of the 

incurred losses to earned premiums for policies or 
certificates which have been in force for three years or more 
is greater that or equal to the applicable percentages 
contained in this section; and

17.2.2 the expected losses in relation to 
premiums over the entire period for which the policy is rated 
comply with the requirements of this section.  An expected 
third-year loss ratio which is greater than or equal to the 
applicable percentage shall be demonstrated for policies or 
certificates in force less than three years.

20.0 Premium Rate Schedule Increases
20.1 This section shall apply as follows:

20.1.1 Except as provided in section 20.1.2, this 
section applies to any long-term care policy or certificate 
issued in this state on or after September 1, 2005.

20.1.2 For certificates issued on or after the 
effective date of this amended regulation under a group long-
term care insurance policy as defined in Section 18 Del. C. § 
7103(4), which policy was in force at the time this amended 
regulation became effective, the provisions of this section 
shall apply on the policy anniversary following January 1, 
2006.

20.2 An insurer shall provide notice of a pending 
premium rate schedule increase, including an exceptional 
increase, to the commissioner at least 30 days prior to the 
notice to the policyholders and shall include:

20.2.1 Information required by section 8;
20.2.2 Certification by a qualified actuary that:

20.2.2.1 If the requested premium rate 
schedule increase is implemented and the underlying 
assumptions, which reflect moderately adverse conditions, 
are realized, no further premium rate schedule increases are 
anticipated;

20.2.2.2 The premium rate filing is in 
compliance with the provisions of this section;

20.2.3 An actuarial memorandum justifying the 
rate schedule change request that includes:

20.2.3.1 Lifetime projections of earned 
premiums and incurred claims based on the filed premium 
rate schedule increase; and the method and assumptions used 
in determining the projected values, including reflection of 
any assumptions that deviate from those used for pricing 
other forms currently available for sale; 

20.2.3.1.1 Annual values for the five 
(5) years preceding and the three (3) years following the 
valuation date shall be provided separately; 

20.2.3.1.2 The projections shall include 
the development of the lifetime loss ratio, unless the rate 
increase is an exceptional increase;

20.2.3.1.3 The projections shall 
demonstrate compliance with section 20.3; and

20.2.3.1.4 For exceptional increases, 
20.2.3.1.4.1 The projected 

experience should be limited to the increases in claims 
expenses attributable to the approved reasons for the 
exceptional increase; and

20.2.3.1.4.2 In the event the 
commissioner determines as provided in section 4.1.4 that 
offsets may exist, the insurer shall use appropriate net 
projected experience;

20.2.3.2 Disclosure of how reserves have been 
incorporated in this rate increase whenever the rate increase 
will trigger contingent benefit upon lapse;

20.2.3.3 Disclosure of the analysis performed 
to determine why a rate adjustment is necessary, which 
pricing assumptions were not realized and why, and what 
other actions taken by the company have been relied on by 
the actuary;

20.2.3.4 A statement that policy design, 
underwriting and claims adjudication practices have been 
taken into consideration; and

20.2.3.5 In the event that it is necessary to 
maintain consistent premium rates for new certificates and 
certificates receiving a rate increase, the insurer will need to 
file composite rates reflecting projections of new 
certificates;

20.2.4 A statement that renewal premium rate 
schedules are not greater than new business premium rate 
schedules except for differences attributable to benefits, 
unless sufficient justification is provided to the 
commissioner; and

20.2.5 Sufficient information for review of the 
premium rate schedule increase by the commissioner.

20.3 All premium rate schedule increases shall be 
determined in accordance with the following requirements:

20.3.1 Exceptional increases shall provide that 
seventy percent (70%) of the present value of projected 
additional premiums from the exceptional increase will be 
returned to policyholders in benefits;

20.3.2 Premium rate schedule increases shall be 
calculated such that the sum of the accumulated value of 
incurred claims, without the inclusion of active life reserves, 
and the present value of future projected incurred claims, 
without the inclusion of active life reserves, will not be less 
than the sum of the following:

20.3.2.1 The accumulated value of the initial 
earned premium times fifty-eight percent (58%);

20.3.2.2 Eighty-five percent (85%) of the 
accumulated value of prior premium rate schedule increases 
on an earned basis;

20.3.2.3 The present value of future projected 
initial earned premiums times fifty-eight percent (58%); and

20.3.2.4 Eighty-five percent (85%) of the 
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present value of future projected premiums not in section 
20.3.2.3 on an earned basis;

20.3.3 In the event that a policy form has both 
exceptional and other increases, the values in section 
20.3.2.2 and 20.3.2.4 will also include seventy percent 
(70%) for exceptional rate increase amounts; and

20.3.4 All present and accumulated values used 
to determine rate increases shall use the maximum valuation 
interest rate for contract reserves as specified by applicable 
Delaware law or regulation.  The actuary shall disclose as 
part of the actuarial memorandum the use of any appropriate 
averages.

20.4 For each rate increase that is implemented, the 
insurer shall file for review by the commissioner updated 
projections, as defined in section 20.2.3.1, annually for the 
next three (3) years and include a comparison of actual 
results to projected values. The commissioner may extend 
the period to greater than three (3) years if actual results are 
not consistent with projected values from prior projections. 
For group insurance policies that meet the conditions in 
section 20.11, the projections required by this subsection 
shall be provided to the policyholder in lieu of filing with the 
commissioner.

20.5 If any premium rate in the revised premium 
rate schedule is greater than 200 percent of the comparable 
rate in the initial premium schedule, lifetime projections, as 
defined in section 20.2.3.1, shall be filed for review 
[approval] by the commissioner every five (5) years 
following the end of the required period in section 20.4. For 
group insurance policies that meet the conditions in section 
20.11, the projections required by this subsection shall be 
provided to the policyholder in lieu of filing with the 
commissioner.

20.6 Actual v. projected experience.
20.6.1 If the commissioner has determined that 

the actual experience following a rate increase does not 
adequately match the projected experience and that the 
current projections under moderately adverse conditions 
demonstrate that incurred claims will not exceed proportions 
of premiums specified in section 20.3, the commissioner 
may require the insurer to implement any of the following:

20.6.1.1 Premium rate schedule adjustments; 
or 20.6.1.2 Other measures to reduce the 
difference between the projected and actual experience. 

20.6.2 In determining whether the actual 
experience adequately matches the projected experience, 
consideration should be given to section 20.2.3.5, if 
applicable.

20.7 If the majority of the policies or certificates to 
which the increase is applicable are eligible for the 
contingent benefit upon lapse, the insurer shall file:

20.7.1 A plan, subject to commissioner approval, 
for improved administration or claims processing designed 
to eliminate the potential for further deterioration of the 

policy form requiring further premium rate schedule 
increases, or both, or to demonstrate that appropriate 
administration and claims processing have been 
implemented or are in effect; otherwise the commissioner 
may impose the condition in section 20.8; and

20.7.2 The original anticipated lifetime loss ratio, 
and the premium rate schedule increase that would have 
been calculated according to section 20.3 had the greater of 
the original anticipated lifetime loss ratio or fifty-eight 
percent (58%) been used in the calculations described in 
section 20.3.2.1 and 20.3.2.3.

20.8 Lapse rate review.
20.8.1 For a rate increase filing that meets the 

following criteria, the commissioner shall review, for all 
policies included in the filing, the projected lapse rates and 
past lapse rates during the twelve (12) months following 
each increase to determine if significant adverse lapsation 
has occurred or is anticipated: 

20.8.1.1 The rate increase is not the first rate 
increase requested for the specific policy form or forms;

20.8.1.2 The rate increase is not an exceptional 
increase; and 

20.8.1.3 The majority of the policies or 
certificates to which the increase is applicable are eligible for 
the contingent benefit upon lapse

20.8.2 In the event significant adverse lapsation 
has occurred, is anticipated in the filing or is evidenced in 
the actual results as presented in the updated projections 
provided by the insurer following the requested rate 
increase, the commissioner may determine that a rate spiral 
exists. Following the determination that a rate spiral exists, 
the commissioner may require the insurer to offer, without 
underwriting, to all in force insureds subject to the rate 
increase the option to replace existing coverage with one or 
more reasonably comparable products being offered by the 
insurer or its affiliates.

20.8.2.1 The offer shall:
20.8.2.1.1 Be subject to the approval of 

the commissioner;
20.8.2.1.2 Be based on actuarially 

sound principles, but not be based on attained age; and
20.8.2.1.3 Provide that maximum 

benefits under any new policy accepted by an insured shall 
be reduced by comparable benefits already paid under the 
existing policy.

20.8.2.2 The insurer shall maintain the 
experience of all the replacement insureds separate from the 
experience of insureds originally issued the policy forms. In 
the event of a request for a rate increase on the policy form, 
the rate increase shall be limited to the lesser of: 

20.8.2.2.1 The maximum rate increase 
determined based on the combined experience; and

20.8.2.2.2 The maximum rate increase 
determined based only on the experience of the insureds 
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originally issued the form plus ten percent (10%).
20.9 If the commissioner determines that the insurer 

has exhibited a persistent practice of filing inadequate initial 
premium rates for long-term care insurance, the 
commissioner may, in addition to the provisions of section 
20.8 of this section, prohibit the insurer from either of the 
following:

20.9.1 Filing and marketing comparable coverage 
for a period of up to five (5) years; or

20.9.2 Offering all other similar coverages and 
limiting marketing of new applications to the products 
subject to recent premium rate schedule increases.

20.10 Sections 20.1 through 20.9 shall not apply to 
policies for which the long-term care benefits provided by 
the policy are incidental, as defined in section 4.2, if the 
policy complies with all of the following provisions:

20.10.1 The interest credited internally to 
determine cash value accumulations, including long-term 
care, if any, are guaranteed not to be less than the minimum 
guaranteed interest rate for cash value accumulations 
without long-term care set forth in the policy;

20.10.2 The portion of the policy that provides 
insurance benefits other than long-term care coverage meets 
the nonforfeiture requirements as set forth by law or 
regulation including but not limited to the following:

20.10.2.1 18 Del.C. §2929; and
20.10.2.2 Delaware Insurance Department 

Regulation 1201;
20.10.3 The policy meets the disclosure 

requirements of 18 Del. C. §§ 7105 and 7106;
20.10.4 The portion of the policy that provides 

insurance benefits other than long-term care coverage meets 
the requirements as set forth by law or regulation including 
but not limited to the following:

20.10.4.1 Policy illustrations as required by 
Delaware Insurance Department Regulation 1210; and

20.10.4.2 Disclosure requirements in 
Delaware Insurance Department Regulation 1201.

20.10.5 An actuarial memorandum is filed with the 
insurance department that includes:

20.10.5.1 A description of the basis on 
which the long-term care rates were determined;

20.10.5.2 A description of the basis for the 
reserves;

20.10.5.3 A summary of the type of policy, 
benefits, renewability, general marketing method, and limits 
on ages of issuance;

20.10.5.4 A description and a table of each 
actuarial assumption used. For expenses, an insurer must 
include percent of premium dollars per policy and dollars per 
unit of benefits, if any;

20.10.5.5 A description and a table of the 
anticipated policy reserves and additional reserves to be held 
in each future year for active lives;

20.10.5.6 The estimated average annual 
premium per policy and the average issue age;

20.10.5.7 A statement as to whether 
underwriting is performed at the time of application. The 
statement shall indicate whether underwriting is used and, if 
used, the statement shall include a description of the type or 
types of underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 
functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 
policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee or 
any dependent will be underwritten and when underwriting 
occurs; and

20.10.5.8 A description of the effect of the 
long-term care policy provision on the required premiums, 
nonforfeiture values and reserves on the underlying 
insurance policy, both for active lives and those in long-term 
care claim status.

20.11 Sections 20.6 and 20.8 shall not apply to group 
insurance policies as defined in 18 Del. C. § 7103(4) where:

20.11.1 The policies insure 250 or more persons 
and the policyholder has 5,000 or more eligible employees 
of a single employer; or

20.11.2 The policyholder, and not the 
certificateholders, pays a material portion of the premium, 
which shall not be less than twenty percent (20%) of the total 
premium for the group in the calendar year prior to the year a 
rate increase is filed. 

1821.0 Filing Requirement
Prior to an insurer or similar organization offering group 

long-term care insurance to a resident of this state pursuant 
to 18 Del.C. §7104 it shall file with the Commissioner 
evidence that the group policy or certificate thereunder has 
been approved by a state having statutory or regulatory long-
term care insurance requirements substantially similar to 
those adopted in this state.

1922.0 Standard Format Outline of Coverage
This section of the regulation implements, interprets and 

makes specific, the provisions of 18 Del.C. Section 7105, in 
prescribing a standard format and the content of an outline of 
coverage.

1922.1 The outline of coverage shall be a free-standing 
document, using no smaller than ten point type.

1922.2 The outline of coverage shall contain no 
material of an advertising nature.

1922.3 Text which is capitalized or underscored in the 
standard format outline of coverage may be emphasized by 
other means which provide prominence equivalent to such 
capitalization or underscoring.

1922.4 Use of the text and sequence of text of the 
standard format outline of coverage is mandatory, unless 
otherwise specifically indicated.

1922.5 Format for outline of coverage;: 
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[COMPANY NAME]
[ADDRESS - CITY & STATE]

[TELEPHONE NUMBER]

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE
OUTLINE OF COVERAGE

[Policy Number or Group Master Policy and Certificate 
Number]

[Except for polices or certificates which are guaranteed 
issue, the following cautionary statement, or language 
substantially similar, must appear as follows in the  on the
outline of coverage.]

Caution:  The issuance of this long-term care insurance 
[policy] [certificate] is based upon your responses to the 
questions on your application.  A copy of your [application] 
[enrollment form] [is enclosed] [was retained by you when 
your applied].  If your answers are incorrect or untrue, the 
company has the right to deny benefits or rescind your 
policy.  The best time to clear up any questions is now, 
before a claim arises!  If, for any reason, any of your answers 
are incorrect, contact the company at this address: [insert 
address].

1. This policy is [an individual policy of 
insurance] ([a group policy] which was issued in the 
[indicate jurisdiction in which group policy was issued]).

2. Purpose Of Outline Of Coverage.  This outline 
of coverage provides a very brief description of the 
important features of the policy.  You should compare this 
outline of coverage to outlines of coverage for other policies 
available to you.  This is not an insurance contract, but only a 
summary of coverage.  Only the individual or group policy 
contains governing contractual provisions.  This means that 
the policy or group policy sets forth in detail the rights and 
obligations of both you and the insurance company. 
Therefore, if you purchase this coverage, or any other 
coverage, it is important that you READ YOUR POLICY 
(OR CERTIFICATE) CAREFULLY!

3. FEDERAL TAX CONSEQUENCES. 
This [POLICY] [CERTIFICATE] is intended to be a 
federally tax-qualified long-term care insurance contract 
under Section 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended.

OR
Federal Tax Implications of this [POLICY] 
[CERTIFICATE]. This [POLICY] [CERTIFICATE] is not 
intended to be a federally tax-qualified long-term care 
insurance contract under Section 7702B(b) of the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986 as amended. Benefits received under 
the [POLICY] [CERTIFICATE] may be taxable as income.

4. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY OR 
CERTIFICATE MAY BE CONTINUED IN FORCE OR 
DISCONTINUED.

(a) [For long-term care health insurance 

policies or certificates describe one of the following 
permissible policy renewability provisions:

(1) Policies and certificates that are 
guaranteed renewable shall contain the following statement:] 
RENEWABILITY: THIS POLICY [CERTIFICATE] IS 
GUARANTEED RENEWABLE. This means you have the 
right, subject to the terms of your policy, [certificate] to 
continue this policy as long as you pay your premiums on 
time. [Company Name] cannot change any of the terms of 
your policy on its own, except that, in the future, IT MAY 
INCREASE THE PREMIUM YOU PAY.

(2) [Policies and certificates that are 
noncancellable shall contain the following statement:] 
RENEWABILITY: THIS POLICY [CERTIFICATE] IS 
NONCANCELLABLE. This means that you have the right, 
subject to the terms of your policy, to continue this policy as 
long as you pay your premiums on time. [Company Name] 
cannot change any of the terms of your policy on its own and 
cannot change the premium you currently pay. However, if 
your policy contains an inflation protection feature where 
you choose to increase your benefits, [Company Name] may 
increase your premium at that time for those additional 
benefits.

(b) [For group coverage, specifically describe 
continuation/conversion provisions applicable to the 
certificate and group policy;]

(c) [Describe waiver of premium provisions 
or state that there are not such provisions.]

5. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE COMPANY 
MAY CHANGE PREMIUMS.
[In bold type larger than the maximum type required to be 
used for the other provisions of the outline of coverage, state 
whether or not the company has a right to change the 
premium, and if a right exists, describe clearly and concisely 
each circumstance under which the premium may change.]

6. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY OR 
CERTIFICATE MAY BE RETURNED AND PREMIUM 
REFUNDED.

(a) [Provide a brief description of the right to 
return–“free look” provision of the policy.]

(b) [Include a statement that the policy either 
does or does not contain provisions providing for a refund or 
partial refund of premium upon the death of an insured or 
surrender of the policy or certificate. If the policy contains 
such provisions, include a description of them.]

7. THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT 
COVERAGE. If you are eligible for Medicare, review the 
Medicare Supplement Buyer’s Guide available from the 
insurance company.

(a) [For agents] Neither [insert company 
name] nor its agents represent Medicare, the federal 
government or any state government.

(b) [For direct response] [insert company 
name] is not representing Medicare, the federal government 
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or any state government.
8. LONG-TERM CARE COVERAGE. Policies 

of this category are designed to provide coverage for one or 
more necessary or medically necessary diagnostic, 
preventive, therapeutic, rehabilitative, maintenance, or 
personal care services, provided in a setting other than an 
acute care unit of a hospital, such as in a nursing home, in the 
community or in the home.  This policy provides coverage in 
the form of a fixed dollar indemnity benefit for covered 
long-term care expenses, subject to policy [limitations] 
[waiting periods] and [coinsurance] requirements. [Modify 
this paragraph if the policy is not an indemnity policy.]

9. BENEFITS PROVIDED BY THIS POLICY.
(a) [Covered services, related deductibles, 

waiting periods, elimination periods and benefit maximums.]
(b) [Institutional benefits, by skill level.]
(c) [Non-institutional benefits, by skill level.]
(d) Eligibility for Payment of Benefits

[Activities of daily living and cognitive 
impairment shall be used to measure an insured’s need for 
long-term care and must be defined and described as part of 
the outline of coverage.] [Any additional benefit triggers 
must also be explained. If these triggers differ for different 
benefits, explanation of the triggers should accompany each 
benefit description. If an attending physician or other 
specified person must certify a certain level of functional 
dependency in order to be eligible for benefits, this too must 
be specified.]

10. LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS.
[Describe:
(a) Preexisting conditions;
(b) Non-eligible facilities and provider;
(c) Non-eligible levels of care (e.g., 

unlicensed providers, care or treatment provided by a family 
member, etc.);

(d) Exclusions and exceptions;
(e) Limitations.]
[This section should provide a brief specific 

description of any policy provisions which limit, exclude, 
restrict, reduce, delay, or in any other manner operate to 
qualify payment of the benefits described in Number 6 
above.]

THIS POLICY MAY NOT COVER ALL THE EXPENSES 
ASSOCIATED WITH YOUR LONG-TERM CARE 
NEEDS.

11. RELATIONSHIP OF COST OF CARE AND 
BENEFITS. Because the costs of long-term care services 
will likely increase over time, you should consider whether 
and how the benefits of this plan may be adjusted. [As 
applicable, indicate the following:

(a) That the benefit level will not increase 
over time;

(b) Any automatic benefit adjustment 

provisions;
(c) Whether the insured will be guaranteed the 

option to buy additional benefits and the basis upon which 
benefits will be increased over time if not by a specified 
amount or percentage;

(d) If there is such a guarantee, include 
whether additional underwriting or health screening will be 
required, the frequency and amounts of the upgrade options, 
and any significant restrictions or limitations;

(e) And finally, describe whether there will be 
any additional premium charge imposed, and how that is to 
be calculated.]

12. ALZHEIMER’S DISEASE AND OTHER 
ORGANIC BRAIN DISORDERS.  [State that the policy 
provides coverage for insureds clinically diagnosed as 
having Alzheimer’s disease or related degenerative and 
dementing illnesses. Specifically describe each benefit 
screen or other policy provision which provides 
preconditions to the availability of policy benefits for such 
an insured.] 

13. PREMIUM.
[(a) State the total annual premium for the 

policy;
(b) If the premium varies with an applicant’s 

choice among benefit options, indicate the portion of annual 
premium which corresponds to each benefit option.]

14. ADDITIONAL FEATURES.
[(a) Indicate if medical underwriting is used;
(b) Describe other important features.]

15. CONTACT THE STATE SENIOR HEALTH 
INSURANCE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM IF YOU HAVE 
GENERAL QUESTIONS REGARDING LONG-TERM 
CARE INSURANCE. CONTACT THE INSURANCE 
COMPANY IF YOU HAVE SPECIFIC QUESTIONS 
REGARDING YOUR LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 
POLICY OR CERTIFICATE.

19.5.3 TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY 
OR CERTIFICATE MAY BE RETURNED AND 
PREMIUM REFUNDED.

19.5.3.1[Provide a brief description of the right 
to return--"free look" provision of the policy.]

19.5.3.2[Include a statement that the policy 
either does or does not contain provisions providing for a 
refund or partial refund of premium upon the death of an 
insured or surrender of the policy or certificate.  If the policy 
contains such provisions, include a description of them.] 

19.5.4 THIS IS NOT MEDICARE 
SUPPLEMENT COVERAGE.  If you are eligible for 
Medicare, review the Medicare Supplement Buyer's Guide 
provided by the insurance company.

19.5.4.1[For agents] Neither [insert company 
name] nor its agents represent Medicare, the federal 
government or any state government. 
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19.5.4.2[For direct response] [insert company 
name] is not representing Medicare, the federal government 
or any state government. 

19.5.5 LONG-TERM CARE COVERAGE. 
Policies of this category are designed to provide coverage for 
one or more necessary or  medically necessary diagnostic, 
preventive, therapeutic, rehabilitative, maintenance, or 
personal care services, provided in a setting other than an 
acute care unit of a hospital, such as in a nursing home, in the 
community or in the home.

This policy provides coverage in the form of a 
fixed dollar indemnity benefit for covered long-term care 
expenses, subject to policy [limitations] [waiting periods] 
and [coinsurance] requirements.  [Modify this paragraph if 
the policy is not an indemnity policy.]

19.5.6 BENEFITS PROVIDED BY THIS 
POLICY.

19.5.6.1[Covered services, related 
deductible(s), waiting periods, elimination periods and 
benefit maximums.]

19.5.6.2[Institutional benefits, by skill level.]
19.5.6.3[Non-institutional benefits, by skill 

level.]
[Any benefit triggers must be explained in 

this section.  If these triggers differ for different benefits, 
explanation of the screen trigger should accompany each 
benefit description.  If an attending physician or other 
specified person must certify a certain level of functional 
dependency in order to be eligible for benefits, this too must 
be specified.  If activities of daily living (ADLs) are used to 
measure an insured's need for long-term care, then these 
qualifying criteria or triggers must be explained.]

19.5.6.4Activities of daily living and cognitive 
impairment shall be used to measure an insured’s need for 
long-term care and must be defined and described as part of 
the outline of coverage.

19.5.7LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS.
19.5.7.1Describe:

19.5.7.1.1Preexisting conditions;
19.5.7.1.2Non-eligible facilities/provider;
19.5.7.1.3Non-eligible levels of care (e.g., 

unlicensed providers, care of treatment provided by a family 
member, etc.);

19.5.7.1.4Exclusions/exceptions; 
19.5.7.1.5Limitations.

This section should provide a brief 
specific description of any policy provisions which limit, 
exclude, restrict, reduce, delay, or in any other manner 
operate to qualify payment of the benefits described in 
section 19.5.6 above.

THIS POLICY MAY NOT COVER 
ALL THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH YOUR 
LONG-TERM CARE NEEDS.

19.5.8RELATIONSHIP OF COST OF CARE AND 

BENEFITS.  Because the costs of long-term care services 
will likely increase over time, you should consider whether 
and how the benefits of this plan may be adjusted.  As 
applicable, indicate the following:

19.5.8.1That the benefit level will not increase 
over time;

19.5.8.2Any automatic benefit adjustment 
provisions;

19.5.8.3Whether the insured will be guaranteed 
the option to buy additional benefits and the basis upon 
which benefits will be increased over time if not only by a 
specified amount or percentage;

19.5.8.4If there is such a guarantee, include 
whether additional underwriting or health screening will be 
required, the frequency and amounts of the upgrade options, 
and any significant restrictions or limitations;

19.5.8.5And finally, describe whether there 
will be any additional premium charge imposed, and how 
that is to be calculated.

19.5.9TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY 
(OR CERTIFICATE) MAY BE CONTINUED IN FORCE 
OR DISCONTINUED.

19.5.9.1Describe the policy renewability 
provisions;

19.5.9.2For group coverage, specifically 
describe continuation/conversion provisions applicable to 
the certificate and group policy;

19.5.9.3Describe waiver of premium 
provisions or state that there are not such provisions;

19.5.9.4State whether or not the company has a 
right to change premium, and if such a right exists, describe 
clearly and concisely each circumstance under which 
premium may change.

19.5.10ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE AND OTHER 
ORGANIC BRAIN DISORDERS.

State that the policy provides coverage for 
insureds clinically diagnosed as having Alzheimer's disease 
or related degenerative and dementing illnesses. 
Specifically describe each benefit screen or other policy 
provision which provides preconditions to the availability of 
policy benefits for such an insured.

19.5.11PREMIUM.
19.5.11.1State the total annual premium for the 

policy;
19.5.11.2If the premium varies with an 

applicant's choice among benefit options, indicate the 
portion of annual premium that corresponds to each benefit 
option.

19.5.12ADDITIONAL FEATURES.
19.5.12.1Indicate if medical underwriting is 

used;
19.5.12.2Describe other important features. 

[COMPANY NAME]
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[ADDRESS - CITY & STATE]
[TELEPHONE NUMBER]

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

203.0 Filing Requirements for Advertising
203.1 Prior to use, every insurer, health care service 

plan or other entity providing long-term care insurance in 
this State shall provide a copy of any long-term care 
insurance advertisement intended for use in this State 
whether through written, radio or television medium to the 
Insurance Commissioner of the State Delaware for review 
and approval by the Commissioner.

2124.0 Standards for Marketing
2124.1 Every insurer, health care service plan or other 

entity marketing long-term care insurance coverage in this 
state, directly or through its producers, shall:

2124.1.1 Establish marketing procedures to 
assure that any comparison of policies by its agents or other 
producers will be fair and accurate.

2124.1.2 Establish marketing procedures to 
assure excessive insurance is not sold or issued.

2124.1.3 Display prominently by type, stamp 
or other appropriate means, on the first page of the outline of 
coverage and policy, the following:  "Notice to Buyer: This 
policy may not cover all of the costs associated with long-
term care incurred by the buyer during the period of 
coverage.  The buyer is advised to review carefully all policy 
limitations."

2124.1.4 Inquire and otherwise make every 
reasonable effort to identify whether a prospective applicant 
or enrollee for long-term care insurance already has accident 
and sickness or long-term care insurance and the types and 
amounts of any such insurance.

2124.1.5 Every insurer or entity marketing 
long-term care insurance shall establish auditable procedures 
for verifying compliance with this section 2124.0.

2124.1.6 If the state of Delaware is the state in 
which the policy or certificate is delivered or issued for 
delivery, the insurer shall, at solicitation, provide written 
notice to the prospective policyholder or certificate holder 
that the Elderinfo Program, a senior counseling program 
approved by the Commissioner, is available and the name, 
address and telephone number of the Elderinfo Program.

2124.2 In addition to the practices prohibited in 18 
Del.C. Ch. 23, Unfair Trade Practices, the following acts and 
practices are prohibited:

2124.2.1 Twisting.  Knowingly making any 
misleading representation or incomplete or fraudulent 
comparison of any insurance policies or insurers for the 
purpose of inducing, or tending to induce, any person to 
lapse, forfeit, surrender, terminate, retain, pledge, assign, 
borrow on or convert any insurance policy or to take out a 
policy of insurance with another insurer.

2124.2.2 High Pressure Tactics.  Employing 
any method of marketing having the effect of or tending to 
induce the purchase of insurance through force, fright, 
threat, whether explicit or implied, or undue pressure to 
purchase or recommend the purchase of insurance.

2124.2.3 Cold lead advertising.  Making use 
directly or  indirectly of any method of marketing which fails 
to disclose in a conspicuous manner that a purpose of the 
method of marketing is solicitation of insurance and that 
contact will be made by an insurance agent or insurance 
company.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

2225.0 Suitability
2225.1 This section shall not apply to life insurance 

policies that accelerate benefits for long-term care.
2225.2 Every insurer, health care service plan or other 

entity marketing long-term care insurance (“insurer”) shall:
2225.2.1 Develop and use suitability standards 

to determine whether the purchase or replacement of long-
term care insurance is appropriate for the needs of the 
applicant; 

2225.2.2 Train its agents in the use of its 
suitability standards; and

2225.2.3 Maintain a copy of its suitability 
standards and make them available for inspection upon 
request by the Commissioner.

2225.3 Procedures required.
2225.3.1 To determine whether the applicant 

meets the standards developed by the insurer, the agent and 
insurer shall develop procedures that take the following into 
consideration:

2225.3.1.1 The ability to pay for the 
proposed coverage and other pertinent financial information 
related to the purchase of the coverage;

2225.3.1.2 The applicant’s goals or needs 
with respect to long-term care and the advantages and 
disadvantages of insurance to meet these goals or needs; and

2225.3.1.3 The values, benefits and costs of 
the applicant’s existing insurance, if any, when compared to 
the values, benefits and costs of the recommended purchase 
or replacement.

2225.3.2 The insurer, and where an agent is 
involved, the agent shall make reasonable efforts to obtain 
the information set out in section 2225.3.1 above.  The 
efforts shall include presentation to the applicant, at or prior 
to application, the “Long-Term Care Insurance Personal 
Worksheet.”  The personal worksheet used by the issuer shall 
contain, at a minimum, the information in the format 
contained in Appendix B, in not less than twelve (12) point 
type.  The insurer may request the applicant to provide 
additional information to comply with its suitability 
standards.  A copy of the insurer’s personal worksheet shall 
be filed with the Commissioner.
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2225.3.3 A completed personal worksheet shall 
be returned to the insurer prior to the insurer’s consideration 
of the applicant for coverage, except the personal worksheet 
need not be returned for sales of employer group long-term 
care insurance to employees and their spouses.

2225.3.4 The sale or dissemination outside the 
company or agency by the issuer or agent of information 
obtained through the personal worksheet in Appendix B is 
prohibited.

2225.4 The insurer shall use the suitability standards it 
has developed pursuant to this section in determining 
whether issuing long-term care insurance coverage to an 
applicant is appropriate.

2225.5 Agents shall use the suitability standards 
developed by the insurer in marketing long-term care 
insurance.

2225.6 At the same time as the personal worksheet is 
provided to the applicant, the disclosure form entitled 
“Things You Should Know Before You Buy Long-Term 
Care Insurance” shall be provided.  The form shall be in the 
format contained in Appendix C, in not less than twelve (12) 
point type.

2225.7 If the issuer determines that the applicant does 
not meet its financial suitability standards, or if the applicant 
has declined to provide the information, the issuer may reject 
the application.  In the alternative, the issuer shall send the 
applicant a letter similar to Appendix D.  However, if the 
applicant has declined to provide financial information, the 
issuer may use some other method to verify the applicant’s 
intent.  Either the applicant’s returned letter or a record of the 
alternative method of verification shall be made part of the 
applicant’s file.

2225.8 The insurer shall report annually to the 
Commissioner the total number of applications received 
from residents of this state, the number of those who 
declined to provide information on the personal worksheet, 
the number of applicants who did not meet the suitability 
standards, and the number of those who chose to confirm 
after receiving a suitability letter.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

2326.0 Standards for Benefit Triggers
2326.1 A long-term care insurance policy shall 

condition the payment of benefits on a determination of the 
insured’s ability to perform activities of daily living and on 
cognitive impairment.  Eligibility for the payment of benefits 
shall not be more restrictive than requiring either a 
deficiency in the ability to perform not more than three (3) of 
the activities of daily living or the presence of cognitive 
impairment. 

2326.2 Activities of Daily Living
2326.2.1 Activities of daily living shall include 

at least the following as defined in section 5.0 and in the 
policy:

2326.2.1.1 Bathing;
2326.2.1.2 Continence;
2326.2.1.3 Dressing;
2326.2.1.4 Eating;
2326.2.1.5 Toileting; and
2326.2.1.6 Transferring;

2326.2.2 Insurers may use activities of daily 
living to trigger covered benefits in addition to those 
contained in section 2326.2.1 as long as they are defined in 
the policy.

2326.3 An insurer may use additional provisions for 
the determination of when benefits are payable under a 
policy or certificate; however the provisions shall not 
restrict, and are not in lieu of, the requirements contained in 
sections 2326.1 and 2326.2.

2326.4 For purposes of this section the determination 
of a deficiency shall not be more restrictive than: 

2326.4.1 Requiring the hands-on assistance of 
another person to perform the prescribed activities of daily 
living; or

2326.4.2 If the deficiency is due to the presence 
of a cognitive impairment, supervision or verbal cueing by 
another person is needed in order to protect the insured or 
others.

2326.5 Assessments of activities of daily living and 
cognitive impairment shall be performed by licensed or 
certified professionals, such as physicians, nurses or social 
workers.

2326.6 Long term care insurance policies shall include 
a clear description of the process for appealing and resolving 
benefit determinations.

2326.7 The requirements set forth in this section 
shall be effective (12 months after adoption of this 
provision) and shall apply as follows:

2326.7.1 Except as provided in section 
2326.7.2, the provisions of this section apply to a long-term 
care policy issued in this state on or after the effective date of 
the amended regulation.

2326.7.2 For certificates issued on or after the 
effective date of this section, under a group long-term care 
insurance policy as defined in 18 Del.C. §7103(4)a, the 
provisions of this section shall not apply.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

247.0 Prohibition Against Pre-Existing Conditions and 
Probationary Periods in Replacement Policies or 
Certificates

24.1 If a long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate replaces another long-term care insurance policy 
or certificate, the replacing insurer shall waive any time 
periods applicable to pre-existing conditions and 
probationary periods in the new long-term care insurance 
policy or certificate to the extent that similar exclusions have 
been satisfied under the original policy.
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258.0 Requirement to Deliver Shopper's Guide
258.1 A long-term care insurance shopper's guide in 

the format developed by the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners, or one developed or approved by 
the Commissioner, shall be provided to all prospective 
applicants of a long-term care insurance policy or certificate.

258.1.1 In the case of agent solicitations, an agent 
must deliver the shopper's guide prior to the presentation of 
an application or enrollment form.

258.1.2 In the case of direct response solicitations, 
the shopper's guide must be presented in conjunction with 
any application or enrollment form.

258.2 Life insurance policies or riders containing 
accelerated long-term care benefits are not required to 
furnish the above-referenced guide, but shall furnish the 
policy summary required under 18 Del.C. § 7105 (j).

2629.0 Requirement to Offer Nonforfeiture Benefit
2629.1 No policy or certificate may be delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state unless the insurer also offers 
to the policyholder or certificateholder the option to 
purchase a policy that provides for nonforfeiture benefits to 
the defaulting or lapsing policyholder or certificateholder.

This section does not apply to life insurance 
policies or riders containing accelerated long-term care 
benefits.

2629.1.1 For purpose of this section, attained 
age rating is defined as a schedule of premiums starting from 
the issue date which increases with increasing age at least 
one percent per year to age fifty (50), and at least three 
percent (3%) per year beyond age fifty (50).

2629.1.2 For purposes of this section, the 
nonforfeiture benefit shall be a shortened benefit period 
providing paid-up long-term care insurance coverage after 
lapse.  The same benefits (amounts and frequency in effect at 
the time of lapse but not increased thereafter) will be payable 
for a qualifying claim, but the lifetime maximum dollars or 
days of benefit shall be determined as specified in section 
2629.1.3.

2629.1.3 The standard nonforfeiture credit will 
be equal to 100 percent of the sum of all premiums paid, 
including the premiums paid prior to any changes in 
benefits.  The insurer may offer additional shortened benefit 
period options, as long as the benefits for each duration 
equal or exceed the standard nonforfeiture credit for that 
duration.  However, the minimum nonforfeiture credit shall 
not be less than thirty (30) times the daily nursing home 
benefit at the time of lapse.  In either event, the calculation of 
the nonforfeiture credit is subject to the limitation of section 
2629.2.

26.1.4 No Policy or certificate shall begin a 
nonforfeiture benefit later then the end of the third year 
following the policy or certificate issue date except that for a 
policy or certificate with attained age rating, the 

nonforfeiture benefit shall begin on the earlier of:
2629.1.4 Effective Dates

29.1.4.1 The nonforfeiture benefit shall begin 
not later than the end of the third year following the policy or 
certificate issue date.  The contingent benefit upon lapse 
shall be effective during the first three (3) years.

29.1.4.2 Section 29.1.4.1 notwithstanding, 
Nno policy or certificate shall begin a nonforfeiture benefit 
later than the end of the third year following the policy or 
certificate issue date except that for a policy or certificate 
with attained age rating, the nonforfeiture benefit shall begin 
on the earlier of:

2629.1.4.2.1 The end of the tenth year 
following the policy or certificate issue date; or

2629.1.4.2.2 The end of the second year 
following the date the policy or certificate is no longer 
subject to attained age rating.

2629.1.5 Nonforfeiture credits may be used for 
all care and services qualifying for benefits under the terms 
of the policy or certificate, up to the limits specified in the 
policy or certificate.

2629.2 All benefits paid by the insurer while the policy 
or certificate is in premium paying status and in the paid up 
status will not exceed the maximum benefits which would 
have been payable if the policy or certificate had remained in 
premium paying status.

2629.3 There shall be no difference in the minimum 
nonforfeiture benefit as required under this section for group 
and individual policies.

2629.4 The requirements set forth in this section shall 
become effective on May 1, 1997, except for certificates 
issued on or after the effective date of this section under a 
group long-term care insurance policy as defined in 18 
Del.C. § 7103, which policy was in force at the time this 
amended regulation became effective.

2629.5 Premiums charged for a policy or certificate 
containing nonforfeiture benefits shall be subject to the loss 
ratio requirements of section 1618.0 treating the policy as a 
whole.

2629.6 Rejection of nonforfeiture benefit.
2629.6.1 A nonforfeiture benefit as provided in 

sections 2629.1.2 and 2629.1.3 shall be included in a long-
term care insurance policy or certificate unless an insurer 
obtains a rejection of a nonforfeiture benefit signed by the 
policyholder or certificateholder as required in this section.

2629.6.2 The rejection shall be considered part 
of the application and shall state: I have reviewed the outline 
of coverage and the nonforfeiture benefit as described 
therein.  Specifically, I have reviewed Plan ___________ 
and I reject the nonforfeiture benefit.

2629.7 Nonforfeiture benefits for qualified long-
term care policies shall meet the following requirements:

2629.7.1 The nonforfeiture provision shall be 
appropriately captioned:
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2629.7.2 The nonforfeiture provision shall 
provide a benefit available in the event of a default in the 
payment of any premiums and shall state that the amount of 
the benefit may be adjusted subsequent to being initially 
granted only as necessary to reflect changes in claims, 
persistency and interest as reflected in changes in rates for 
premium paying contracts approved by the Commissioner
Secretary of the Treasury for the same contract form; and

2629.7.3 The nonforfeiture provision shall 
provide at least one of the following:

2629.7.3.1 Reduced paid-up insurance;
2629.7.3.2 Extended term insurance;
2629.7.3.3 Shortened benefit insurance; or
2629.7.3.4 Other similar offerings approved 

by the Commissioner.
2629.8 If the required offer of a nonforfeiture 

benefit is rejected, the insurer shall provide the contingent 
benefit upon lapse described below.  In the event that a group 
policyholder elects to make the nonforfeiture benefit an 
option to the certificateholder, a certificate shall provide 
either the nonforfeiture benefit or the contingent benefit 
upon lapse.

2629.8.1 The contingent benefit on lapse shall 
be triggered every time an insurer increases the premium 
rates to a level which results in a cumulative increase of the 
annual premium set forth below based on the insured’s issue 
age, and the policy or certificate lapses within 120 days of 
the due date of the premium so increased.  Unless otherwise 
required, policyholders shall be notified at least thirty (30) 
days prior to the due date of the premium reflecting the rate 
increase.

Triggers for a Substantial Premium Increase
Percent Increase Over
Issue Age     Initial Premium
29 and under 200%
30-34 190%
35-39 170%
40-44 150%
45-49 130%
50-54 110%
55-59 90%
60 70%
61 66%
62 62%
63 58%
64 54%
65 50%
66 48%
67 46%
68 44%
69 42%
70 40%
71 38%

72 36%
73 34%
74 32%
75 30%
76 28%
77 26%
78 24%
79 22%
80 20%
81 19%
82 18%
83 17%
84 16%
85 15%
86 14%
87 13%
88 12%
89 11%
90 and over 10%

2629.8.2 On or before the effective date of a 
substantial premium increase as defined in section 2629.8.1 
above, the insurer shall:

2629.8.2.1 Offer to reduce policy benefits 
provided by the current coverage without the requirement of 
additional underwriting so that required premium payments 
are not increased;

2629.8.2.2 Offer to convert the coverage to a 
paid-up status with a shortened benefit period in accordance 
with the terms of section 2629.5.  This option may be elected 
at any time during the 120-day period referenced in section 
2629.8.1; and

2629.8.2.3 Notify the policyholder or 
certificateholder that a default or lapse at any time during the 
120-day period referenced in section 2629.8.1 shall be 
deemed to be the election of the offer to convert in section 
2629.8.2.2 above.

2629.8.2.4 The contingent benefit upon 
lapse shall begin not later than the end of the third year 
following the policy or certificate issue date.

2730.0 Permitted Compensation Arrangements
2730.1 An insurer or other entity may provide 

commission or other compensation to an agent or other 
representative for the sale of a long-term care insurance 
policy or certificate which shall not exceed thirty-five 
percent (35%) of the total premium paid for that policy year.

2730.2 No entity shall provide compensation to its 
agents or other producers and no agent or producer shall 
receive compensation greater than twenty-five percent 
(25%) of the total premium paid for that policy year for the 
sale of a replacement long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate.

2730.3 For purposes of this section, "compensation" 
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includes pecuniary or non-pecuniary remuneration or any 
kind relating to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate 
including but not limited to bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards 
and finders fees.

2831.0 Penalties
28.1 In addition to any other penalties provided by 

the laws of this state, any insurer and any agent found to 
violate any requirement of this state relating to the regulation 
of long-term care insurance or the marketing of such 
insurance shall be subject to a fine of up to three (3) times 
the amount of any commissions paid for each policy 
involved in the violation or up to $10,000, whichever is 
greater.

2932.0 Separability
29.1 If any provision of this regulation or the 

application thereof to any person or circumstance is for any 
reason held to be invalid, the remainder of the regulation and 
the application of such provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected thereby.

303.0 Effective Date
303.1 This regulation became effective July 30, 1990, 

except Section 13 became effective July 1, 1993. 
Amendment #1 adopted nonforfeiture benefits (Section 
2326) on December 23, 1996, to become effective on May 1, 
1997.  Amendment #2 became effective on March 22, 1999 
to become effective 120 days thereafter.  Amendment #3 
adding sections 8.0, 10.0 and 20.0 shall become effective on 
January 1, 2005Subsequent amended provisions of this 
Regulation shall become effective 120 days from the 
Commissioner’s order amending this regulation. 

See 2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

APPENDIX A

RESCISSION REPORTING FORM FOR
LONG-TERM CARE POLICIES

FOR THE STATE OF DELAWARE
FOR THE REPORTING YEAR 19[ ]

Company 
Name:___________________________________________

Address:______________________________________

Phone Number:__________________________________

Due: March 1 annually

Instructions:

The purpose of this form is to report all rescissions of 
long-term care insurance policies or certificates. Those 
rescissions voluntarily effectuated by an insured are not 
required to be included in this report. Please furnish one 
form per rescission.

Detailed reason for rescission: 
________________________________________________
__________________________________

Signature
__________________________________

Name and Title (please type)
__________________________________

Date

APPENDIX B
Long Term Care Insurance

Personal Worksheet

People buy long-term care insurance for a variety of 
reasons.  Some don’t want to use thier own assets to pay for 
long-term care  Some buy insurance to make sure they can 
choose  the type of care they get. Others don’t want their 
family to have to pay for care or don’t want to go on 
Medicaid. But long term care insurance may be expensive, 
and may not be right for everyone. 

By state law, the insurance company must fill out 
part of the information on this worksheet and ask you to fill 
out the rest  to help you and the company decide if you 
should buy this policy.

Premium Information

Policy Form Numbers____________________
The premium for the coverage you are considering will 

be [$_________ per month, or $_______ per year,] [a one-
time single premium of $____________.]

Type of Policy (non cancellable/guaranteed 
renewable):________________________________

The Company’s Right to Increase Premiums:
[The company cannot raise your rates on this policy.] 

[The company has a right to increase premiums on this 
policy in the future, provided it raises rates for all policies in 
the same class in this state.] [Insurers shall use appropriate 
bracketed statement.  Rate guarantees shall not be shown on 
this form.]  

Policy
Form #

Policy and
Certificate #

Name 
of
Insured

Date of
Policy
Issuanc
e

Date/s
Claim/s
Submitted

Date of
Rescission
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Rate Increase History
The company has sold long-term care insurance since 

[year] and has sold this policy since [year].  [The company 
has never raised its rates for any long-term care policy it has 
sold in this state or any other state.] [The company has not 
raised its rates for this policy form or similar policy forms in 
this state or any other state in the last 10 years.] [The 
company has raised its premium rates on this policy form or 
similar policy forms in the last 10 years.  Following is a 
summary of the rate increases.] 

Questions Related to Your Income
How will youpay each year’s premium?

From my Income From my Savings/Investments My 
Family will Pay

[  Have you considered whether you could afford to keep 
this policy if the premiums went up, for example, by 20%?]

What is your annual income? (check one)
Under $10,000 $[10-20,000] $[20-30,000]
$[30-50,000] Over $50,000

How do you expect your income to change over the 
next 10 years? (check one)

No change Increase Decrease
If you will be paying premiums with money 

received only from your own income, a rule of thumb is that 
you may not be able to afford this policy if the premiums 
will be more than 7% of your income.

Will you buy inflation protection?(check one) Yes 
No
If not, have you considered hwo you will pay for the 
difference between future costs and your daily benefit 
amount?  From my Income From my Savings/Investments 

My Family will Pay

How are you planning to pay for your care during the 
elimination period? (check one)

From my Income From my Savings/Investments My 
Family will Pay

Question Related to Your Savings and Investments
Not counting your home, about how much are all of 

your assets (savings and investments) worth? (check one)
Under $20,000 $20,000-$30,000 $30,000-

$50,000 Over $50,000
How do you expect your assets to change over the 

next ten years? (check one)
Stay about the same Increase Decrease

If you are buying this policy to protect your assets 
and your assets are less than $30,000, you may wish to 
consider other options for financing your long-term care.
Disclosure Statement

Signed:
(Applicant) (Date)
[ I explained to the applicant the importance of 

completing this information.
Signed:
(Agent)(Date)
Agent’s Printed Name:]
[Note:  In order for us to process your application, 

please return this signed statement to [name of company], 
along with your application.]

[My agent has advised me that this policy does not 
appear to be suitable for me.  However, I still want the 
company to consider my application.

Signed: ]
(Applicant) (Date)
Drafting Note:  Choose the appropriate sentences 

depending on whether this is a direct mail or agent sale.
The company may contact you to verify your 

answers.
Drafting Note:  When the Long-Term Care 

Insurance Personal Worksheet is furnished to employees and 
their spouses under employer group policies, the text from 
the heading “Disclosure Statement” to the end of the page 
may be removed.

APPENDIX C

Things You Should Know Before You Buy Long-Term 
Care Insurance

Drafting Note:  For single premium policies, delete this 
bullet; for noncancellable policies, delete the second 
sentence only.

®The information provided 
above accurately describes my 
financial situation.

®I choose not to complete 
this information.

Long-
Term
Care
Insurance

A long-term care insurance policy may pay 
most of the costs for your care in a nursing 
home. Many policies also pay for care at 
home or other community settings. Since 
policies can vary in coverage, you should 
read this policy and make sure you 
understand what it covers before you buy it.

[You should not buy this insurance policy 
unless you can afford to pay the premiums 
every year.]  [Remember that the company 
can increase premiums in the future.]
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Appendix D
Long-Term Care Insurance Suitability Letter

Dear [Applicant]:
Your recent application for long-term care insurance 

included a “personal worksheet,” which asked questions 
about your finances and your reasons for buying long-term 
care insurance.  For your protection, state law requires us to 

consider this information when we review your application, 
to avoid selling a policy to those who may not need 
coverage.

[Your answers indicate that long-term care insurance 
may not meet your financial needs.  We suggest that you 
review the information provided along with your 
application, including the booklet “Shopper’s Guide to 
Long-Term Care Insurance” and the page titled “Things You 
Should Know Before Buying Long-Term Care Insurance.” 
Your state insurance department also has information about 
long-term care insurance and may be able to refer you to a 
counselor free of charge who can help you decide whether to 
buy this policy.]

[You chose not to provide any financial information for 
us to review.]

Drafting Note:  Choose the paragraph that applies.
We have suspended our final review of your application. 

If, after careful consideration, you still believe this policy is 
what you want, check the appropriate box below and return 
this letter to us within the next 60 days.  We will then 
continue reviewing your application and issue a policy if you 
meet our medical standards.

If we do not hear from you within the next 60 days, we 
will close your file and not issue you a policy.  You should 
understand that you will not have any coverage until we hear 
back from you, approve your application and issue you a 
policy.

Please check one box and return in the enclosed 
envelope.

Yes, [although my worksheet indicates that long-
term care insurance may not be a suitable purchase,] I wish 
to purchase this coverage.  Please resume review of my 
application.

Drafting Note:  Delete the phrase in brackets if the 
applicant did not answer the questions about income.

No.  I have decided not to buy a policy at this time.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATUREDATE
Please return to [issuer] at [address] by [date].

[APPENDIX E

Claims Denial Reporting Form
Long-Term Care Insurance

OMITTED

APPENDIX F

Instructions:
This form provides information to the applicant 
regarding premium rate schedules, rate schedule 
adjustments, potential rate revisions, and policyholder 
options in the event of a rate increase.

The personal worksheet includes 
questions designed to help you and the 
company determine whether this policy is 
suitable for your needs.

Medicare Medicare does not pay for most long-term 
care.

Medicaid Medicaid will generally pay for long-term 
care if you have very little income and 
few assets. You probably should not buy 
this policy if you are now eligible for 
Medicaid.

Many people become eligible for 
Medicaid after they have used up their 
own financial resources by paying for 
long-term care services.

When Medicaid pays your spouse’s 
nursing home bills, you are allowed to 
keep your house and furniture, a living 
allowance, and some of your joint assets.

Your choice of long-term care services may be 
limited if you are receiving Medicaid.  To learn 
more about Medicaid, contact your local or 
state Medicaid agency.

Shopper’s
Guide

Make sure the insurance company or agent 
gives you a copy of a book called the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners’ 
“Shopper’s Guide to Long-Term Care 
Insurance.”  Read it carefully.  If you have 
decided to apply for long-term care insurance, 
you have the right to return the policy within 
30 days and get back any premium you have 
paid if you are dissatisfied for any reason or 
choose not to purchase the policy.

Counseling Free counseling and additional information 
about long-term care insurance are available 
through your state’s insurance counseling 
program.  Contact your state insurance 
department or department on aging for more 
information about the senior health insurance 
counseling program in your state.
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Insurers shall provide all of the following information to 
the applicant: 

Long Term Care Insurance
Potential Rate Increase Disclosure Form

1. [Premium Rate] [Premium Rate Schedules]: 
[Premium rate] [Premium rate schedules] that [is][are] 
applicable to you and that will be in effect until a request 
is made and [filed][approved] for an increase [is][are] [on 
the application][$_____])

Drafting Note: Use "approved" in states requiring prior 
approval of rates.

2. The [premium] [premium rate schedule] for this 
policy [will be shown on the schedule page of] [will be 
attached to] your policy.

3. Rate Schedule Adjustments: 

The company will provide a description of when 
premium rate or rate schedule adjustments will be 
effective (e.g., next anniversary date, next billing date, 
etc.) (fill in the blank): __________________.

4. Potential Rate Revisions:
This policy is Guaranteed Renewable. This means that 
the rates for this product may be increased in the future. 
Your rates can NOT be increased due to your increasing 
age or declining health, but your rates may go up based 
on the experience of all policyholders with a policy 
similar to yours.

If you receive a premium rate or premium rate schedule 
increase in the future, you will be notified of the new 
premium amount and you will be able to exercise at least 
one of the following options:

• "Pay the increased premium and continue your 
policy in force as is.

• "Reduce your policy benefits to a level such that 
your premiums will not increase. (Subject to 
state law minimum standards.)

• "Exercise your nonforfeiture option if pur-
chased. (This option is available for purchase for 
an additional premium.)

• "Exercise your contingent nonforfeiture rights.* 
(This option may be available if you do not pur-
chase a separate nonforfeiture option.)

* Contingent Nonforfeiture

If the premium rate for your policy goes up in the future 

and you didn't buy a nonforfeiture option, you may be 
eligible for contingent nonforfeiture. Here's how to tell if 
you are eligible: 

You will keep some long-term care insurance coverage, 
if:

• "Your premium after the increase exceeds your 
original premium by the percentage shown (or 
more) in the following table; and

• "You lapse (not pay more premiums) within 120 
days of the increase. 

The amount of coverage (i.e., new lifetime maximum 
benefit amount) you will keep will equal the total amount 
of premiums you've paid since your policy was first 
issued. If you have already received benefits under the 
policy, so that the remaining maximum benefit amount is 
less than the total amount of premiums you've paid, the 
amount of coverage will be that remaining amount. 

Except for this reduced lifetime maximum benefit 
amount, all other policy benefits will remain at the levels 
attained at the time of the lapse and will not increase 
thereafter. 

Should you choose this Contingent Nonforfeiture option, 
your policy, with this reduced maximum benefit amount, 
will be considered "paid-up" with no further premiums 
due.

Example: 

• "You bought the policy at age 65 and paid the 
$1,000 annual premium for 10 years, so you have 
paid a total of $10,000 in premium.

• "In the eleventh year, you receive a rate increase 
of 50%, or $500 for a new annual premium of 
$1,500, and you decide to lapse the policy (not 
pay any more premiums).

• "Your "paid-up" policy benefits are $10,000 
(provided you have a least $10,000 of benefits 
remaining under your policy.)

Contingent Nonforfeiture
Cumulative Premium Increase over Initial Premium

That qualifies for Contingent Nonforfeiture

(Percentage increase is cumulative from date of original 
issue. It does NOT represent a one-time increase.)

Issue Age Percent Increase Over Initial 
Premium

29 and under 200%
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30-34 190%
35-39 170%
40-44 150%
45-49 130%
50-54 110%
55-59 90%
60 70%
61 66%
62 62%
63 58%
64 54%
65 50%
66 48%
67 46%
68 44%
69 42%
70 40%
71 38%
72 36%
73 34%
74 32%
75 30%
76 28%
77 26%
78 24%
79 22%
80 20%
81 19%
82 18%
83 17%
84 16%
85 15%
86 14%
87 13%
88 12%
89 11%
90 and over 10%

Appendix G
Long-Term Care Insurance

Replacement and Lapse Reporting Form

OMITTED]

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  6 Delaware Code,
Section 4616 (6 Del.C. §4616)

ORDER

A public hearing was held on June 10, 2004 to receive 
public comment on the proposed changes to the Fair 
Housing Regulations of the State Human Relations 
Commission.  Notice of the hearing was published in two 
newspapers and in the Register of Regulations, Volume 7, 
Issue 11, May 1, 2004.  The Commission deliberated and 
reached a decision at its regularly scheduled meeting on 
September 9, 2004. 

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Received

There were no verbal comments offered at the public 
hearing.  Three written comments were received from the 
State Council for Persons with Disabilities, Delaware 
Developmental Disabilities Council, and the Governor’s 
Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens.  The letters are 
similar and are summarized as follows:

1. The use of the form for filing complaints should not 
be mandatory and the word “may” should replace “should.”

2. The 90 day time frame for dismissal due to 
inactivity should be expanded.  Formerly, it was one year.

3. The 10 calendar or business days for disclosing 
witnesses and exhibits for a hearing should be consistent.

4. The commentors suggest that the Commission 
should be able to order transcripts.  The rules just authorize a 
party to request a transcript.

5. Several clerical errors were noted.

Findings Of Fact Based On The Information Received

1. The parties are encouraged to use the Commission’s 
complaint form.  Using the directory term “should” instead 
of “shall” allows for discretion in accepting another form of 
complaint.

2. The dismissal after 90 days of inactivity rather than 
one year is based on HUD guidelines for investigation from 
the U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development.  A 
complainant can refile within the applicable statute of 
limitations.

3. The Commission agrees that the 10 day period for 
identifying witnesses and other evidence for a hearing 
should be consistent.  The rules will be uniform allowing 10 
business days in 10.1 and 10.2..

4. The Commission can ask for a transcript since it is 
part of its own records.  It is unnecessary to make a provision 
in the Rule.
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5. The clerical changes are made as suggested.  The 
affected provisions are restated in the TEXT below.

6. The Commission find these changes are not 
substantive and do not require further publication and 
comment.

Text

The text appears in the Register of Regulations, Volume 
7, Issue 11, May 1, 2004 with the following substitutions:

2.4 Complaints filed with the Commission through the 
Division of Human Relations shall be in writing 
and are deemed to be filed when received at the 
office in substantially completed form as required. 
A complaint referred to the Commission or the 
Division of Human elations by a federal agency 
shall be deemed to be filed on the date it was taken 
or filed with such agency.

4.2 Within thirty (30) days after a complaint is filed, the 
Division shall prepare questionnaires to be 
answered by the parties.  Questions may be 
suggested by the parties for inclusion in such 
questionnaires.  The answer to such questionnaires 
shall be submitted in writing to staff within 10 
business days after service of the questionnaire. 
Each party shall receive a copy of every other 
party’s response to questionnaires.

4.4 Investigation of a complaint shall proceed 
according to the time limits set forth in the Act to 
aid conciliation, to determine if reasonable cause 
exists to issue a charge, and to prepare the case for 
hearing or Court.

5.6 Written and executed copies of such agreements 
shall be given to all parties.  Conciliation 
agreements shall be publicly available unless the 
Complainant and Respondent otherwise agree and 
the Commission determines that disclosure is not 
required to further the purposes of the Act.

10.2 A written list of witnesses a party intends to 
call during a Panel Hearing must be delivered to the 
Commission and all parties at least ten (10) 
business days prior to the hearing.

15.2.1.2 Units occupied by persons under age 55 who 
are employees of the housing facility are not 
considered in determining whether housing 
qualifies as housing for persons age 55 or older.

Decision And Effective Date

The State Human Relations Commission hereby adopts 
the proposed changes to be effective 10 days following 
publication in the Register of Regulations.

SO ORDERED THIS  9th day of  September, 2004.

STATE HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION
Calvin H. Christopher, Chairperson
Gail E. Launay, Vice Chairperson
Randall Perry Diaz J. Bonville
Dawn Brown Chok-Fun C. Chui
Katharine V. Cropper Wallace R. Dixon
Bernice M. Edwards Ralph A. Figueroa
James E. Gray Marian L. Harris
Shirley Horowitz Doug James  
William D. Johnston Harold Truxon
Mookkan Periyasamy John W. Pitts

1502 Fair Housing Regulations

Introduction
Pursuant to the authority granted to the Human 

Relations Commission under Title 6, Chapter 46, Section 
4616 of the Delaware Fair Housing Act, and in accordance 
with the applicable requirements of The Administrative 
Procedures Act, the Human Relations Commission has 
adopted these rules and regulations to carry out the Delaware 
Fair Housing Act (The Act).

These regulations shall govern individual cases over 
which the Human Relations Commission and the Office 
Division of Human Relations have jurisdiction pursuant to 
Chapter 46, Title 6 of the Delaware Code.

These procedural regulations are intended to carry out 
the Delaware Fair Housing Act prohibiting unlawful 
discrimination in housing, and to enable the Commission to 
achieve equal or greater protection, thereby allowing 
eligibility for certain Federal funding necessary to carry out 
this function as a substantially equivalent agency.

These new Regulations shall apply to Fair Housing 
causes of action occurring under the Delaware Fair Housing 
Act on or after September 1, 1992.

These rules and regulations are specific to the 
processing of complaints of unlawful housing discrimination 
under the Delaware Fair Housing Act. The Commission 
believes these rules and regulations are necessary to ensure 
the appropriate administration of the Fair Housing Act and in 
order that the commission will be regarded as a substantially 
equivalent agency.

1.0 Definitions
1.1 The following terms used in these regulations shall 

have the same definition as defined in the Delaware Fair 
Housing Act, Section 4602:
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Age
Aggrieved persons
Chairperson
Commission
Complainant
Conciliation
Conciliation Agreement
Court
Covered Multifamily Dwellings
Discriminatory Housing Practice
Dwelling
Familial Status
Family
Handicap or Disability
Housing For Older Persons
Marital Status
Panel
Panel Chair
Person
Residential Real Estate - Related Transaction
Respondent
To Rent
To Sell or sale
Special Administration Fund

1.2 As used in these Rules and Regulations, the 
following terms are defined:

“Act” means The Delaware Fair Housing Act as 
amended from time to time, Chapter 46, Title 6 of the 
Delaware Code.

“Commissioner” means a person duly serving as a 
member of the Commission.

“Charging Party” means the same as 
"Complainant" (including in some instances the 
Commission).

“Creed” means any system of beliefs guiding or 
directing a person's behavior and actions including, but not 
limited to, an organized religion, sect, or philosophical 
society.

“Director” means the administrator and head of the 
Office of Human Relations or person duly authorized to act 
as such.

“National Origin” means the native country of an 
individual or his ancestor(s).

“Office” means any one of the places of business of 
the Office of Human Relations.

“Party” means the Complainant(s) or 
Respondent(s).

“Religion” means a particular system of faith and 
worship recognized and practiced by a particular church, 
sect or denomination or other group of people.

“Sex” means the basis of being male or female.
“Staff” means a person employed by the Office of 

Human Relations of the State of Delaware.
“Verified” means that the person signing the 

complaint or answer has sworn or affirmed that the 
statements of facts in the document are true.

2.0 Commencement of Proceedings Filing a Complaint 
(Formerly Rules 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6)

2.1 Any aggrieved person or the Commission itself 
may file a written complaint. Minors may be represented by 
a parent or guardian or responsible adult for the purpose of 
bringing an action.

2.2 The Commission may initiate an investigation 
regarding compliance with applicable law whether or not a 
complaint is filed. Such investigations may be initiated by 
written statement showing justification signed by the 
Commission Chair or such person as may be authorized by 
the Commission in accordance with applicable provisions of 
law. To the extent practicable, procedures in these 
Regulations shall apply to Commission-initiated 
investigations.

2.3 A complaint shall be filed at any one of the places 
of business of the Office Division of Human Relations.

2.4 Complaints made filed with the Commission 
through its Offices The Division of Human Relations shall 
be in writing and are deemed to be filed when received at the 
office in substantially completed form as required. A 
complaint referred to the Commission or Office the Division
of Human Relations by a federal agency shall be deemed to 
be filed on the date it was taken or filed with such agency.

2.5 Form of Complaint
2.5.1 All complaints may should be filed on a 

Complaint Form provided by the Office.
2.5.2 All complaints shall include the following 

data: 
2.5.2.1 Full name and address of 

Complainant(s).
2.5.2.2 Full name and address of Respondent 

(s), if known, identifying whether each Respondent is an 
individual, partnership, corporation, etc.

2.5.2.3 The alleged discriminatory housing 
practice(s). --A concise statement of the facts thereof.

2.5.2.4 The date (s) of the alleged 
discriminatory practice (s) and whether the practice(s) is/are 
of a continuing nature together with the duration of such 
continuing practice(s).

2.5.2.5 The signature of Complainant or his/
her attorney at law, or his/her representative authorized by 
written certification, or, in the case of a minor, a parent or 
guardian., guardian, or responsible adult on behalf of such 
minor, unless otherwise required by law. Such signature shall 
be notarized as a verified complaint. The Office Division of 
Human Relations shall provide such notarial service without 
charge for persons coming into the office.

2.6 Complainants and Respondents must keep the 
Office Division of Human Relations informed of their 
current addresses and telephone numbers.
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3.0 Answer to Complaint of Respondent Role (Formerly 
Rule 7) 

A copy of Aany written answer of Respondent shall be 
verified and filed with the Commission within 20 days of 
receiving the complaint with proof of service showing a 
copy has been served on the Complainant.

4.0 Initiating Action on Investigation of the Complaint 
(Formerly Rules 8, 9, 10 and 11)

4.1 Investigation of complaints shall be conducted by 
Staff the Division and commenced within 30 days after filing 
the complaint, and may include: interviews, questionnaires, 
fact finding conferences, search of records, the conduct of
tests, identification of witnesses, development of statistics, 
other studies of alleged practices and patterns, or other work 
to gather relevant evidence. Such work shall be subject to the 
approval of the Director.

4.2 Within thirty (30) days after a complaint is filed, 
[staff the Division] shall prepare questionnaires to be 
answered by the parties. Questions may be suggested by. the 
parties for inclusion in such questionnaires. The answer to 
such questionnaires shall be submitted in writing to staff 
within 10 business days after service of the questionnaire. 
Each party shall receive a copy of every other party’s 
response to questionaires.

4.3 Staff shall The Division may schedule an informal 
fact-finding conference to be held with the Complainant and 
Respondent within thirty (30) days of the date the complaint 
is filed, unless it is impractical to do so.

4.4 Investigation of a complaint shall proceed with all 
possible dispatch according to the time limits set forth in the 
Act, to aid conciliation, to determine if reasonable cause 
exists to issue a charge and to prepare the case for hearing or 
Court.

4.5 At the end of each investigation, the Commission
Division shall prepare a final investigative report containing 
that information set forth in Section 4610 (b)(5) of The Act.

5.0 Conciliation and Agreement (Formerly Rules 12, 13, 
14 and 15)

5.1 The opportunity to conciliate or settle a case is 
available at any stage of the complaint process and may 
include a no-fault settlement opportunity prior to the onset of 
the investigation offer; the Complainant shall be advised of 
the opportunity so notified when a complaint is filed and the 
Respondent when a complaint is served.

5.2 Conciliation shall be initiated upon request of 
Complainant or Respondent or recommendation of the 
Division  Staff or the  Panel assigned to the case.  Statements 
made in the course of conciliation can be disclosed only as 
provided under the Act.

5.3 An employee of the Division may serve as 
conciliator. A Commissioner, who is not assigned to the 
hearing Panel  other than one of the Commissioners later 

appointed as members of the hearing panel, may, in the 
discretion of the Chairperson be appointed by the 
Chairperson to serve as conciliator. , or a staff person may 
serve as conciliator.

5.4 Any agreement achieved by conciliation shall be set 
forth in writing and shall specify the appropriate relief 
agreed upon by the parties. The following may be included:

5.4.1 binding arbitration to resolve the dispute; 
payment of damages;

5.4.2 compensation or other monetary relief;
5.4.3 payments made to the Special 

Administration Fund of the Human Relations Commission 
under Chapter 30, Title 31 of the Delaware Code;

5.4.4 monitoring of future activities;
5.4.5 affirmative action measures; and/or other 

means to ensure future compliance, such as the 
implementation of Rental Guidelines in housing cases;

5.4.6 closing or terminating the case; and
5.4.7 any other relief agreed upon by the parties 

that will further the purposes of the Act.
5.5 A conciliation agreement shall become effective 

when signed by all parties, the Panel Chair if a Panel has 
been appointed, and the Commission Chair or his or her 
designee.

5.6 Written and executed copies of such agreements 
shall be given to all parties. and notice thereof promptly sent 
to the Panel if a Panel has been appointed. Conciliation 
agreements shall be made public publicly available unless 
the Complainant and Respondent otherwise agree and the 
Commission determines that disclosure is not required to 
further the purposes of the Act.

5.7 Failure to comply with Conciliation Agreements 
shall be pursued enforced according to the Act.

6.0 Charge (Formerly Rules 16 and 17)
6.1 Except in the case of complaints initiated by the 

Commission, the Director of the Office of Human Relations 
or a staff person designated by the Director shall make a 
determination as to whether or not reasonable cause exists to 
believe that a discriminatory choosing practice has occurred 
or is about to occur and issue a change or dismiss the 
complaint pursuant to Section 4610(f).

6.2 Although the time for conciliation specified by 
Section 4610(b)(1) of the Act ends with the filing of a charge 
or dismissal, under Section 4612(e), staff may still make 
efforts to settle the case before a final order is issued.

7.0 Case Closing Prior to Hearing 6.0 Administrative 
Closure (Formerly Rules 18, 19, and 20)

7.1 6.1 A case shall be considered to have been closed 
or can be voluntarily terminated upon withdrawal of 
complaint by Complainant in writing with or without 
prejudice prior to answer prior to a response by the 
Respondent. Such withdrawal shall be in writing. However, 
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after answer a response is filed by Respondent, a complaint 
may be withdrawn with or without prejudice only with he 
consent of the Respondent or with approval by the 
Chairperson or his or her designee to preserve the public 
interest.

7.2 6.2 A case may be closed by the Division  for lack 
of activity in the case for more than one (1) year ninety (90) 
days,  failure of Complainant to cooperate, or loss of contact 
with the Complainant. Application shall be made in writing 
by Staff to Panel or if no Panel has been appointed then to 
the Director or Chairperson, stating the reason for the 
proposed closing.

7.3 A case may be closed for failure of Complainant to 
cooperate upon application of Staff to the Panel or if no 
Panel has been appointed, then to the Director or 
Chairperson.

7.4 A case may be closed for loss of contact with the 
Complainants where all reasonable efforts to locate same 
have been exhausted, upon written application by the Panel 
or by the Staff to the Panel, or if no Panel has been 
appointed, then to the Director or Chairperson.

7.5 6.3 All notices of case closing shall be served on 
all parties at the last addresses they provided to the Division
and shall include a statement of the option to re-file the 
complaint as provided under the Act within the applicable 
statute of limitations.  of the right to appeal, to have the case 
reopened for good cause shown to the Panel, or if no Panel 
has been appointed, then to the Director or Chairperson.

7.0 Charge and Answer
7.1 Except in the case of complaints initiated by the 

Commission, the Director or his or her designee shall make a 
determination as to whether or not reasonable cause exists to 
believe that a discriminatory housing practice has occurred 
or is about to occur and issue a charge on behalf of the 
aggrieved person or dismiss the complaint pursuant to 
Section 4610(f).

7.2 The time for conciliation specified by Section 
4610(b)(1) of the Act ends with the filing of a charge or a 
dismissal under Section 4610(f)(1)(2).  Any subsequent 
settlement negotiations are conducted between the 
Respondent, or his or her attorney, and the Deputy Attorney 
general assigned to represent the Division.

7.3 The charge shall consist of a short and plain 
statement of the facts that support a finding of reasonable 
cause by the  Division and shall be served on the Respondent 
and the aggrieved person. The charge shall be based on the 
final investigative report and need not be limited to the facts 
alleged in the complaint.

7.4 An aggrieved person may intervene as a party in the 
proceeding with written notice to the Division and the 
Respondent.

7.5 Within 20 days after service of the charge, a 
Respondent shall file an answer with the Division.

7.6 Failure to file an answer to the charge shall be 
deemed an admission by the Respondent of all matters of 
fact recited therein and may result in the entry of a default 
decision by the Commission.

7.7 Any party may elect in writing to proceed for 
judicial determination rather that the administrative hearing 
before the Commission  by notifying the Division within 20 
days of receiving the charge. If an election for judicial 
determination is made, the Respondent is not required to file 
an answer to the charge with the Division. The subsequent 
proceeding are subject to the rules of the Court.

8.0 Appointment of Panel (Formerly Rule 21 and 22)
8.1 In the absence of an election to proceed with 

judicial determination  in a Civil Action pursuant to Section 
4612 of the Act, the Commission Chair or designee shall 
promptly appoint a panel of three (3) Commissioners, one of 
whom shall be designated as the Panel Chair.

8.2 The Panel shall have all the powers of the 
Commission with respect to matters before it.

9.0 Expedited Discovery after a Charge is Filed
(Formerly Rules 23, 24, 25, 26 and 27)

9.1 Staff shall cause interrogatories and/or requests for 
production of documents to be issued and depositions to be 
taken upon request of any party; After a charge is filed by the 
Division, parties may obtain discovery by depositions, 
written interrogatories, production of documents or things, 
and requests for admission.  The expense of such discovery 
shall be borne by the party requesting the discovery.

9.2 Pursuant to the Fair Housing Act, Sections 4612(d) 
and (e), discovery in A administrative proceedings shall be 
conducted as expeditiously as possible consistent with the 
need of all parties to obtain relevant evidence and the 
statutory requirement that a hearing be scheduled within 120 
days following the issuance of the charge unless 
impracticable.

9.3 The parties shall try to agree on procedures for 
discovery. Where the parties cannot agree, disputes shall be 
presented in writing to staff, and the dispute shall be resolved 
by written decision of a Commissioner, appointed by the 
Chairperson, who will not be assigned to the hearing Panel, 
or to the Director, who shall resolve the dispute according to 
the intent of the Fair Housing Act and fairness to both 
parties. The person making the decision shall make a written 
record of the decision and the reasons therefor.

9.4 Discovery need not be formal. made with the 
customary formalities of Superior Court or the Court of 
Chancery. For example, the parties need not have a 
professional stenographer for transcription of depositions, so 
long as a record is made in some fashion such as an audio or 
video tape.  by a professional or non-professional. Each 
party Parties shall be entitled to a copy of the record, in 
whatever form, at their own expense.
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9.5 Any party may serve on any other party a request to 
produce and permit the party making the request, or 
someone acting on that party's behalf to inspect and copy or 
photograph, any designated documents or photographs 
which constitute or contain evidence relating to any matter 
which is relevant to the subject matter involved in the 
pending hearing and not otherwise privileged and which are 
in the possession, custody or control of the party upon whom 
the request is served. Nevertheless, requests for production 
shall not be unduly burdensome upon the parties.

9.6 Production of documents shall be made to the 
requesting party within twenty (20) days after a written 
request is served upon the party, with a copy filed with the 
Commission. If the parties cannot agree as to production of 
documents, the party submitting the request may request the 
Commission to resolve the dispute according to Rule 9.1 
(Formerly Rule 23).

9.7 Each party shall be provided with copies of the 
other parties responses to staff questionnaires. If an 
interrogatory was not covered by the staff questionnaire, any 
party may request staff to supplement the questionnaire with 
additional questions. Disputes as to this shall be resolved
according to section 9.1 (Formerly Rule 23).

10.0 Pre-hearing Production (Formerly Rules 28 & 
29)

10.1 Copies or photographs of all exhibits, except 
exhibits intended solely for impeachment, must be delivered 
to the Commission Office at the office of the Division where 
the complaint was filed and to all parties at least ten (10) 
business days prior to the hearing. The hearing panel shall 
consider such exhibits without formal proof unless the 
parties and the Commission have been notified at least five 
(5) business days prior to the hearing that an adverse party 
intends to raise an issue concerning the authenticity of the 
exhibit.

10.1.1 The Panel may refuse to receive into 
evidence any exhibit, a copy or photographs of which has 
not been delivered to the Commission and to an adverse 
party as provided herein. After commencement of the 
hearing, the Panel, in its discretion, may view or inspect 
exhibits or the locus location involved in a case. in the 
presence of the parties and/or their attorneys or outside the 
presence of the parties or their attorneys.

10.1.2 Exhibits submitted at Panel Hearings are 
to be kept by the Commission during the passage of time for 
judicial review under Section 4612(i) or until all relevant 
proceedings have been concluded, whichever is later. When 
such time has passed, the exhibits shall be returned to their 
proper owner or destroyed.

10.2 A written list of witnesses a party intends to 
call during a Panel Hearing must be delivered to the 
Commission and all parties at least ten (10)  [business]
twenty-one (21) days prior to the hearing.

10.2.1 The Commission Panel may refuse to 
receive into evidence any testimony of a witness which who
has not been named on the witness list.

10.2.2 A party requesting that a witness be 
subpoenaed to appear shall provide the address where 
service can be made as required under Rule 11.5.  A witness 
is required to appear only if a subpoena has been issued.

11.0 Hearings (Formerly Rules 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 & 
35)

11.1 The purpose of a hearing is to receive 
evidence, determine facts, and, after deliberation, render an 
adjudication in accordance with applicable law.

11.2 The date, time, place and subject matter to be 
heard shall be included in the notice of hearing sent to all 
parties, the Panel and the Attorney General's representative, 
as well as such other information as is required by the 
Administrative Procedures Act. Notice of the hearing shall 
be sent to the parties pursuant to  the Administrative 
Procedures Act.

11.3 No fewer than three Commissioners shall 
constitute a quorum for all Commission Panel hearings. In 
the absence of any duly appointed Panel member for any 
reason whatsoever, the Commission Chair or his or her
designee shall be empowered to make a substitution without 
notice to the parties, provided the hearing has not yet begun.

11.4 The hearing shall be held in the C county in 
which the discriminatory housing practice is alleged to have 
occurred or is to be about to occur.

11.5 A subpoena shall be issued upon written 
request by any party to a proceeding, the Staff, or the Panel. 
Such request shall be submitted by a party within a 
reasonable time in advance of the hearing or deposition. 
Witnesses and documents requested must be clearly 
described in writing and include addresses for service. The 
consequence of failure to request a subpoena in timely 
fashion shall be at the discretion of the Panel.

11.5.1 Subpoenas may be served by the Division 
or a person  Staff, a Commissioner, or by any other person 
who is not a party and is not less than 18 years of age or 
older who is not a Respondent or aggrieved person in the 
proceeding. A return of service of each subpoena shall be 
promptly filed at the appropriate Office.

11.5.2 Where a person fails or neglects to attend 
and  testify or to  produce records or other evidence in 
obedience to a subpoena or other lawful order, the 
Commission may petition the Superior Court for an order 
requiring the person to appear to produce evidence or give 
testimony.  Failure to obey such order is punishable by the 
Court as contempt.

11.6 The hearing shall be conducted by the 
Commission Panel Chair in a setting designed to put the 
parties at ease.  The parties  Individuals  may be represented 
by counsel. A corporate entity must be represented by an 
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attorney admitted to practice in Delaware.  Every hearing 
shall be recorded by electronic instrument or court reporter.

11.6.1 All parties or their counsel shall be given 
the opportunity to make a brief opening statement prior to 
the introduction of any evidence in the case. The purpose of 
opening statements shall be to clarify the positions of the 
parties and the issues being presented for determination. 
Testimony shall be under oath or affirmation administered 
by the Panel Chair or a notary public.

11.6.2 All information and facts available
evidence shall be presented in by sworn testimony and 
exhibits documentary evidence presented at the hearing. 
Staff shall be required to attend the hearing in order to assist 
in the proceedings, or, where appropriate, to be a witness.
The Panel Chair shall have full authority to control the 
procedure of a hearing, including, but not limited to the 
authority to call and examine witnesses, admit or exclude 
evidence, and rule upon all motions and objections subject to 
the following:

11.6.2.1 Formal rules of evidence need not be 
strictly followed.

11.6.2.2 The right of cross e Examination shall 
be preserved and may be conducted by the parties, or a duly 
authorized a party who represents himself or herself, an 
attorney admitted to practice in Delaware who represents a 
party,  attorney-at-law or the Commission Panel.

11.6.2.3 Testimony from any other person may 
be allowed at the discretion of the Commission Panel.

11.6.2.3 Witnesses may be sequestered at the 
discretion of the Commission Panel, upon the request of the 
party(s).

11.6.2.4 Evidence on behalf of the 
Complainant should ordinarily be introduced first, to be 
followed by the Respondent, then allowing rebuttal, if any.

11.6.2.5 The Panel may continue a hearing 
from day to day or adjourn it to a later date or to a different 
place by so announcing at the Hearing or by appropriate 
notice to all parties.

11.6.2.6 Following presentation of the 
evidence an opportunity shall be given to each party to make 
a closing statement.

11.6.2.7 The Panel may re-call the parties for 
further testimony if it is unable to reach a decision.

11.7 A written transcript shall be prepared, if and as 
required, on the written request of any party to the matter, 
provided that such party pays for the cost of preparing the 
transcript. Staff The Division shall coordinate this process 
under State contract. Such recordings and transcripts shall be 
preserved with the official file record of a case.

12.0 Decision and Orders (Formerly Rules 36, 37 & 
38)

12.1 Deliberations of the Panel are non-public.  The 
case decision may be rendered immediately following the 

Hearing or the Panel may reserve its decision to a later date 
and so advise the parties. Decisions shall be by majority vote 
of the Panel. The Attorney General's representative may be 
invited to be present while the Panel reaches a decision.

12.2 A copy of the Final Order shall be delivered by 
hand or  mailed by Certified Mail, Return Receipt 
Requested, or Hand Delivery or by regular first class mail to 
the parties' last known address. In addition each party shall 
be notified of the right to seek reconsideration by the Panel.

12.3 Any party within ten (10)  five (5) business 
days after mailing of the Final order may apply to the Panel 
for reconsideration briefly and distinctly stating the grounds 
therefor. Such application for reconsider must show service 
on the opposing party.  

Within ten (10)  five (5) business days after 
service of such motion, the opposing party may serve and 
file a brief answer to each ground asserted in the motion.
Any such application or answer should be submitted in five 
(5) copies. The Panel shall promptly convene in person or by 
teleconference to consider such motion for reconsideration. 
The filing of such application shall not extend the time for 
judicial review under Section 4612(i).

13.0 Recovery of Attorney’s Fees, Costs,  and 
Expenses

13.1 Any party seeking to recover attorney’s fees, 
costs, and expenses  shall file a motion and affidavit 
detailing the time spent and fees incurred no later than the 
close of any hearing held before the Panel.

13.2 A motion filed by a Respondent shall state with 
particularity the improper purpose that would permit 
recovery of attorney’s fees, costs,  and expenses as provided 
pursuant to 6 Del. C. Section 4615.

13.0 14.0 Miscellaneous Provision (Formerly Rules 39, 
40, 41, 42, 43 & 44)

13.1 14.1 Time.
14.1.113.1.1 In computing any period of time 

prescribed or allowed by these Rules, by order of court, or by 
statute, the day of the act, event or default after which the 
designated period of time begins to run shall not be included. 
The last day of the period so computed shall be included, 
unless it is a Saturday or Sunday, or other legal holiday, or 
other day on which the office Division of Human Relations 
is closed, in which event the period shall run until the end of 
the next day on which the Office Division  is open. As used 
in this rule, "legal holidays" shall be those days provided by 
statute or appointed by the Governor or the Chief Justice of 
the State of Delaware.

14.1.213.1.2 When by these rules or by a notice 
given thereunder or by order of court an act is required or 
allowed to be done at or within a specified time, the 
Commission or Director for cause shown may at any time in 
its discretion
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14.1.2.113.1.2.1 with or without motion or 
notice order the period enlarged if request therefore is made 
before the expiration of the period originally prescribed or as 
extended by a previous order or

14.1.2.213.1.2.2 upon motion made after the 
expiration of specified period permit the act to be done 
where the failure to act was the result of excusable neglect.

14.1.3 13.1.3 Whenever a party has the right to 
or is required to do some act or take some proceeding within 
a prescribed period after being served and service is by mail, 
3 days shall be added to the prescribed period.

14.213.2 Service. Unless otherwise specifically 
required by the Acts or these regulations, service of 
complaints, answers, other pleadings, charges, motions, 
requests or notices shall be made according to this rule.

14.2.113.2.1 For the initial complaint and any 
pleading which brings in a new party, service shall be 
sufficient if made according to Superior Court Civil Rule 
4(f), Rule 4(h) for service under Title 10, Section 3104, or by 
certified mail, return receipt requested with the return receipt 
card signed by (1) the person to be served, (2) a person living 
with or working in the office of the person to be served, or 
(3) an agent authorized by appointment or by law to receive 
service of process.

14.2.213.2.2 Once jurisdiction over a party has 
been established, service may be by certified mail, return 
receipt requested, or by hand delivery or mail pursuant to 
Superior Court Civil Rule 5(b), as then in effect, or by some 
other means of notice generally recognized in the 
community with some confirmation of the notice having 
been sent such as by regular first class mail to the parties' last 
known address as evidenced by a certificate of mailing, by 
an express mail service with a receipt showing the notice 
was delivered to the express mail company, or by telecopier 
or fax with confirmation of transmission from the sender's 
machine.
14.3 13.3 These regulations shall be liberally construed to 
accomplish the purpose of the applicable laws.

14.413.4 These regulations shall be reviewed 
periodically by the Commission or its designee and the 
Director of the Office Division of Human Relations. Any 
recommendations for change shall be submitted in writing to 
the Commission for consideration at a regularly scheduled 
meeting.

14.513.5 The Administrative Procedures Act 
(Chapter 101 of Title 29) shall provide the method by which 
these regulations may be amended.

14.613.6 Copies of these regulations shall be 
available during regular office hours at the office Division of 
Human Relations or, upon request, by mail. A fee 
established by appropriate authority may be charged. A copy 
of the rules and regulations is also available at : http://
www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/General/Frame.htm

15.0 Regulations related to Housing for Older 
Persons.

15.1 Housing for persons age 62 or older.
15.1.1 Housing that is designated for persons age 

62 or older must be solely occupied by persons age 62 or 
older.

15.1.2 No person under age 62 may move into a 
unit designated for persons age 62 or older even if it is also 
occupied by a person who is qualified by age.  For example, 
if a person age 65 who lives  in a  unit designated for persons 
age 62 or older  marries a person age 60, the person age 60 
does  not qualify to live in the unit.

15.1.3 Units occupied by persons under age 62 
who are employees of the housing facility are not considered 
in determining whether housing qualifies as housing for 
persons age 62 or older.

15.1.4 Units occupied by persons under age 62 
who are  necessary to provide a reasonable accommodation 
to residents with disabilities are not considered in 
determining whether housing qualifies as housing for 
persons age 62 or older.

15.2 Housing for persons age 55 or  older.
15.2.1 Housing qualifies under this section as 

long as at least 80% of the units are occupied by at least one 
person age 55 or older.

15.2.1.1 In computing whether the 80% 
occupancy test is met, unoccupied units are not included in 
the calculation.

15.2.1.2 Units occupied by persons under age 
55 who are employees of the housing facility are not 
considered in determining whether housing qualifies as 
housing for persons age 55 or older.

15.2.1.3 Units occupied by persons under age 
55 who are  necessary to provide a reasonable 
accommodation to residents with disabilities are not 
considered in determining whether housing qualifies as 
housing for persons age 55 or older.

15.2.1.4 A unit that is temporarily vacant is 
deemed to be occupied by a person 55 or older if,  within the 
preceding 12 months, the unit was occupied by a person 55 
or older who intends to periodically return.

15.2.1.5 Owners or managers must maintain 
records demonstrating that at least 80% of the units are 
occupied by at least one person age 55 or older. These 
records shall include biennial  surveys made to confirm the 
ages of occupants by  reliable documentation, such as 
drivers’ licenses, passports, etc. Surveys shall be made 
available to the Division for inspection if a complaint of 
discrimination is filed.

15.2.2 To qualify under this section, a facility or 
community must publish and adhere to policies and 
procedures that demonstrate the intent of the owner to 
maintain housing for persons age 55 or older. The 
publication must be available for inspection at the 
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management office during regular business hours.
15.2.3 To qualify under this section, a facility or 

community must have significant facilities and services 
designed to meet the physical or social needs of older 
persons.   These can include periodic seminars, clubs, social 
activities, field trips, transportation, a local bus stop, 
homemaker or health services,  maintenance, clubhouse, 
exercise equipment, recreation area, newsletters,  etc. The 
Division will maintain a list of suggestions  available for the 
convenience of providers of housing for persons 55 or older. 
The list is not all-inclusive.

15.3 Provisions under the Act regarding familial 
status and age are not applicable to qualified housing for 
older persons.

15.4 A child under 18 years of age may be a 
temporary resident in a unit of housing for older persons if 
the child’s parent, guardian, or person acting as a parent, 
with whom the child just resided, is unable to care for the 
child by reason of death, serious injury or serious illness.

MERIT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS 
BOARD

ORDER

Classification Maintenance Review Appeal Procedures 
For Merit System Employees

BEFORE Brenda Phillips, Chairperson, Dallas Green, 
John W. Pitts, and John F. Schmutz, Members, constituting a 
quorum of the Merit Employees Relations Board pursuant to 
29 Del.C.  §5908(a).

It has come to the attention of the Merit Employees 
Relations Board (“Board”) that the hereto attached 
instructions and form for appealing Maintenance 
Classification decisions to the Board pursuant to 24 Del.C. 
§5915 should be made available on the Internet at the Web 
Site for the Delaware State Personnel Office.

In reviewing the appeal procedures and the form for the 
appeal which were adopted by the Board on June 19, 1997, 
the Board has determined that there are nonsubstantive 
changes which should be made to improve the form and style 
of both the instructions and the form for the sake of clarity.

These instructions and the form for appeal of 
Maintenance Classification decisions are adopted by the 
Board pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10113 and are to be filed with 
the Register of Regulations.  They are effective on the 
eleventh day following such publication.  (September 11, 
2004)

BY THE ORDER OF THE BOARD THIS 19th DAY 
OF AUGUST 2004.

Brenda Phillips, Chairperson
John F. Schmutz, Member
John W. Pitts, Member
Dallas Green, Member

CLASSIFICATION MAINTENANCE REVIEW
APPEAL PROCEDURES FOR

MERIT SYSTEM EMPLOYEES

1. The position incumbent is notified in writing of a final 
classification decision and is given a copy of (a) the 
classification specification for the new classification 
assigned to the position, (b) Classification Maintenance 
Appeal Procedures for Merit System Employees, (c) the 
classification appeal form, and (d) the name of the 
designated agency representative (normally the agency 
personnel administrator or a high level personnel 
professional, or if the agency does not have a personnel 
professional, a high level agency manager).  The 
classification decision may be appealed to MERB 
within thirty (30) calendar days from the notification to 
the employee of the classification decision.

2. The designated agency representative should within ten 
(10) calendar days offer to meet with the employee(s) 
considering filing a classification appeal to explain the 
process and answer questions about the appeals process. 
These meetings may be with individual employees or 
with groups of employees.

3. Within thirty (30) calendar days from the date the 
employee is given written notice of the final 
classification decision from the designated agency 
representative, the employee who decides to appeal 
must complete the employee portion of the 
classification appeal form (items 1-4), sign it and send 
copies of the appeal to the designated agency 
representatives and to MERB.  Receipt by MERB with 
items 1-4 completed and signed serves as the basis for 
timeliness (faxed copies are acceptable).

4. The Merit Employee Relations Board will forward a 
copy of the employee's appeal to the State Personnel 
Office Classification Unit upon receipt.  Within ten (10) 
calendar days from the receipt of the employee’s signed 
appeal, the designated agency representative has the 
hiring agency head or designee complete the agency's 
portion of the classification appeal form (items 5-7), and 
submit the agency's portion of the employee's appeal to 
the Merit Employee Relations Board.

5. Within ten (10) calendar days after receipt of the 
employee's appeal, MERB notifies the agency head, the 
designated agency representative, the employee, the 
Director of the State Personnel Office, and the State 
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Personnel Classification Unit, in writing, that the appeal 
has been received and is assigned to an Independent 
Reviewer.  The State provides access to all 
documentation pertaining to the classification decision.

6. Within thirty (30) calendar days of assignment of the 
appeal, the Independent Reviewer reviews the appeal 
form as filed by the employee and as completed by the 
agency and any other relevant documentation that was 
used in the classification decision provided by the State 
Personnel Classification Unit.  The Independent 
Reviewer may contact the employee and agency via the 
designated agency representative, and/or the State 
Personnel Classification Unit, to get additional 
information or clarification.  Based on this review, the 
Independent Reviewer shall prepare a written report of 
findings and recommendations concerning the 
classification appeal and shall submit it to MERB, the 
employee, the Director of the State Personnel Office, 
and the Manager of the Classification Unit.  In unusual 
circumstances, the Board may authorize the 
Independent Reviewer an additional thirty (30) calendar 
days to issue findings and recommendations to the 
parties.

When the independent Reviewer makes his/her 
findings and recommendations, he/she shall consider 
whether:

a. One or more major duties and 
responsibilities and/or major knowledge, skills and 
abilities are not included in the class specification;

b. Another class specification is clearly a more 
accurate description of the position.

7. Within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of the 
Independent Reviewer's findings and recommendations, 
the State Personnel Director and the employee shall 
accept, deny, or ignore the findings rendered by the 
Independent Reviewer and notify, in writing, the Merit 
Employee Relations Board.

8. If the Independent Reviewer's findings and 
recommendations are accepted by the employee and the 
Director, MERB is required to also accept the findings 
and to so notify the parties.

9. If the Independent Reviewer's findings are rejected or 
ignored by the Director or employee within (30) 
calendar days after the Independent Reviewer's findings 
and recommendations, MERB has sixty (60) calendar 
days to conduct a hearing.  At this same time, the appeal 
file containing the PCQ/JAQ, the written analysis by the 
Independent Reviewer, and any other documentation 
provided by the employee or agency and the State 
Personnel Classification Unit is available for review by 
the employee and the Director.  Parties may call the 
Merit Employee Relations Board if he/she wishes to 
schedule a time to review the file.

10. The employee and/or the Director may respond in 

writing to the findings and recommendations of the 
Independent Reviewer.  Such written response, which 
may include affidavits, should be filed with MERB, 
served  upon the opposing party, and provided to the 
Independent Reviewer within thirty (30) days of the 
issuance of the Independent Reviewer's findings and not 
less than ten (10) days prior to the scheduled hearing for 
oral  argument.

11. The Independent Reviewer shall forward a decision 
binder containing the appeal form completed by the 
agency and the employee, and any pertinent 
documentation from the State Personnel Classification 
Unit's classification maintenance review decision file, 
and the written findings and recommendations by the 
Independent Reviewer and any written responses thereto 
and any other pertinent material to the members of 
MERB not less than ten (10) calendar days prior to the 
scheduled hearing for oral argument.

12. The Board shall hold a hearing at which all parties may 
attend and have the opportunity to present brief oral 
arguments.  The Independent Reviewer will summarize 
the grounds for the appeal, the primary points made by 
the parties, and his/her findings and recommendations 
based on review of the facts.  The appellant will have 
the opening argument (normally no more than 15 
minutes) followed by the Director (normally no more 
than 15 minutes), and the appellant may close (normally 
5 minutes).  The Board may question the parties and the 
Independent Reviewer as deemed necessary.

13. Within fifteen (15) calendar days of the hearing, the 
Board shall render a final and binding decision 
considering the following criteria:

(a) the findings of the Independent Reviewer;
(b) the Director's initial determination;
(c) the Director's response to the Independent 

Reviewer's findings;
(d) the employee's response to the Independent 

Reviewer's findings'
(e) the oral argument;
(f) the consistency with other existing classified 

positions of a similar nature;
(g) the minimization of the number of 

classifications.
14. The Board shall notify the employee and the State 

Personnel Director, in writing of the Board's decision.

Adopted by the Board:  June 19, 1997
Revised:  April, 2004
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CLASSIFICATION APPEAL FORM

SECTIONS TO BE COMPLETED BY AGENCY 
PERSONNEL

Position  Number: _________________________________
Department/Division/Section:________________________
Date Employee was Given Notice of the Classification 
Decision by the Agency:___________________________
Date Appeal was Submitted by 
Employee:_______________________________________
Name of Personnel Representative:____________________
Title:_____________________
Phone No.___________________
Fax No._________________________
Date Bargaining Unit Representative Notified of Appeal (if 
applicable):____________________________

Note:  Items 1-4 are to be completed by the employee who is 
appealing the classification decision.  Items 5-7 are to be 
completed by the Division Director and/or the appropriate 
agency manager who is knowledgeable of the duties and 
responsibilities of the employee in this position.

TO BE COMPLETED BY EMPLOYEE

1. Name:  _____________________________________
Mailing Address - Workplace: ______________________
(Include State Mail Code, if known) 
________________________________________________

Mailing Address - Home (optional):__________________
Work Phone No.___________________________
Work Fax No.________________________
Class Title: ____________________________________

(Former Title)
_______________________________________________

(New Title)

Date Employee was Given Notice of the Classification 
Decision by the Agency:_____________________
Agency:_________________________________________

2.     Grounds for classification appeal.  (See guidelines for 
classification appeals to the Merit Employee Relations 
Board).

A.____ One or more major duties and responsibilities or 
major knowledge, skills and abilities are not included in the 
class specification.

B.____ Another class specification is clearly a more 
accurate description of the position.

3. A. If you checked 2(A) or 2(B) above, list the duties 
and responsibilities that are assigned to your position that are 

not included in the new class specification.
_______________________________________________

3. B. If you checked 2(A) or 2 (B) above, list the 
knowledge, skills and abilities that are required for your 
position that are not included in the new class specification. 
(Please note:  personal qualifications and job performance of 
employees are not relevant factors in classifying positions).
________________________________________________
 
4. Relief sought (check one of the following):

1._____  Revisions to class specifications.
2._____  Reclassification of position to: 

_______________________________________________
Name of Classification

(If No.2 was checked, the requested class title must be 
listed.)

TO BE COMPLETED BY AGENCY MANAGER OR 
DIVISION DIRECTOR

5. Name of Manager:____________________________
Phone No. _____________________________________ 
Fax No._____________________________
Title:____________________________________________

6. If the employee completed section 3(A), please verify 
that each of the duties and responsibilities listed are assigned 
to the position.  How long have these duties been assigned to 
this position?  If possible, indicate the specific date these 
duties were assigned.
________________________________________________

If the employee completed section 3(B), please verify 
that the knowledge, skills and abilities listed are required to 
perform this job.  (Please note:  Personal qualifications and 
job performance of employees are not relevant factors in 
classifying positions).
________________________________________________

________________________________________________
EMPLOYEE DATE
________________________________________________
IMMEDIATE SUPERVISOR DATE
________________________________________________
DIVISION DIRECTOR DATE
_______________________________________________
PERSONNEL REPRESENTATIVE DATE

Appeal form adopted by the Merit Employee Relations 
Board:  June 19, 1997

Revised:  April, 2004
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Board of Pilot Commissioners Mr. Grover A. Biddle 8/6/2009
The Honorable Richard S. Cordrey 8/6/2009

Council on Manufactured Housing Mr. Henry C. McCann 8/30/2006

Delaware Mentoring Council/Co-Chair Mr. James Wolfe Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware Mentoring Council Ms. Laura Anderson Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Timothy Barnekov Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Elisa Diller Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Cindy Dipinto Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Joseph Duffy Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Susan J. Eggert Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Barbara Grogg Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Lois M. Hobbs Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Bruce C. Reynolds Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable David P. Sokola Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Dorothy E. Talbert-Hersi Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Louis Vangieri Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Susan Whitaker Pleasure of the
Governor

Sgt. Roger A. Willey Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Valerie A. Woodruff Pleasure of the
Governor

Dover Housing Authority Ms. Audrey O. Daniels 8/2/8010

Governor’s Commission on Community and Volunteer Mr. Joseph J. Duffy 8/9/2005
Service Ms. Joyce E. Edwards 8/9/2007

Ms. Robin M. Fisher 8/9/2006
Edward W. Goate, Ed.D. 8/9/2005
Ms. Regina Greenwald 8/9/2007
Mr. Robert P. Hall 8/9/2007
Mr. Vincent F. Jacono, Jr. 8/9/2006
Mr. Timothy S. McLaughlin 8/9/2006
Mr. George B. Meldrum, Jr. 8/9/2007
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Governor’s Commission on Community and Volunteer Ms. Margaret E. Strine 8/9/2005
Service Mr. Robert D. Ulrich 8/9/2006

Mr. Ted G. Van Name 8/9/2005
Mr. Paul R. Wilkinson 8/9/2007
Ms. Carol A. Zeigler 8/9/2006

State Fire Prevention Commission Mr. Marvin C. Sharp 9/21/2005
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

FORMS AND RATES BULLETIN NO.  29

Consumer Notices Required Under 21 Del.C. §2118(a)(2)

Issued:  September 22, 2004

Under an amendment to become effective for all 
automobile liability polices written or renewed after October 
1, 2004, insurers, with respect to the Personal Injury 
Protection (“PIP) deductibles under the policies, will be 
required to:

• Provide each consumer/policyholder with a sepa-
rate document that fully explains all of the PIP 
deductible options offered by the insurer

• Obtain a written acknowledgment from the con-
sumer/policyholder that such explanation has in 
fact been received

• Obtain from the consumer/policyholder a signed 
separate acknowledgment of the specific PIP 
deductible selected by the consumer/policyholder 
which shall include an acknowledgment of the 
policy costs relating to such PIP deductible. 

The requirements of 18 Del.C. §2118(a)(2), as 
amended, do not conflict with the pre-existing obligations 
that insurers have under Regulation 603 (formerly 
Regulation 9), including the insurer’s obligation to provide 
each policyholder with a copy of Form A under Regulation 
603.  The insurer’s obligations under 18 Del.C. §2118(a)(2), 
as amended, will require all insurers offering automobile 
liability insurance to amend the currently approved forms for 
use in the State of Delaware.  The Department recognizes 
that compliance with the law may create a conflict with an 
insurer’s obligations to file forms for approval under 18 
Del.C.. §2712 et seq.  The Department will require insurers 
to comply with the law as of October 1, 2004.  However, 
insurers will be permitted to file the necessary form 
amendments for approval to their automobile policies at any 
time, provided, that no form amendment in compliance with 
18 Del.C. §2118(a)(2) shall be filed after December 31, 2004 
for any form put into use prior to December 1, 2004.  This 
bulletin applies only to form filings necessitated by 18 
Del.C. §2118(a)(2) and shall expire on December 31, 2004.

Donna Lee H. Williams
Insurance Commissioner

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/


CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING NOTICES 605
DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

Summary: The Delaware River Basin Commission 
("Commission" or "DRBC") will hold a public hearing to 
receive comments on a proposed amendment to the 
Commission's Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and 
Comprehensive Plan to establish pollutant minimization plan 
requirements for point and non-point source discharges of 
toxic pollutants following issuance of a total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) under Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act 
(CWA) by either a member state or the U. S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA), or issuance of an assimilative 
capacity determination by the Commission.

Dates: The public hearing will be held on October 27, 2004 
at 11:00 A.M. as part of the Commission's regularly 
scheduled business meeting. The hearing will end 60 to 90 
minutes later, at the discretion of the Commission chair. If 
necessary, the hearing will be continued at a date and 
location announced by the Commission chair, until all those 
who wish to testify are afforded an opportunity to do so. 
Persons wishing to testify at the hearing are asked to register 
in advance with the Commission Secretary by phoning 
609-883-9500, extension 224. Written comments will be 
accepted through Friday, November 19, 2004.

Addresses: The full text of the proposed rule will be posted 
no later than October 1, 2004 on the Commission's web site, 
http://www.drbc.net. The public hearing will be held in the 
Kirby Auditorium at the National Constitution Center, 525 
Arch Street, Independence Mall, Philadelphia. Written 
comments should be addressed to the Commission Secretary 
as follows: by e-mail to paula.schmitt tAdrbc.state.ni.us; by 
fax to Commission Secretary - dial 609-8839522; by U.S. 
Mail to Commission Secretary, DRBC, P.O. Box 7360, West 
Trenton, NJ 086280360; or by overnight mail to 
Commission Secretary, DRBC, 25 State Police Drive, West 
Trenton, NJ 08628-0360. 

Further Information, Contacts: Please contact Pamela 
Bush, 609-883-9500 ext. 203, with questions about the 
proposed rule or the rulemaking process.

Pamela M. Bush, Esquire,
 Commission Secretary

September 14, 2004

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PHARMACY

The Delaware Board of Pharmacy in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §2509 has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations as mandated by SB 229. The proposal identified 
crimes that are substantially related to the practice of 
pharmacy. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed changes 
on November 10, 2004 at 10:00 a.m. in the Jesse Cooper 
Building, Room 309 (third floor conference room), Federal 
and Water Streets, Dover, DE 19901. The Board will receive 
and consider input from any person on the proposed 
Regulation. Written comment can be submitted at any time 
prior to the hearing in care of David Dryden, Executive 
Secretary, at the above address.   In addition to publication in 
the Register of Regulations, copies of the proposed 
regulation can be obtained from David Dryden, Executive 
Secretary, by calling (302) 739-4798.   Notice of the hearing 
and the nature of the proposal are also published in two 
Delaware newspapers of general circulation.
       The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY

PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §2006 (b) has proposed changes 
to its rules and regulations as mandated by Senate Bill 229. 
The proposal identifies crimes that are substantially related 
to the practice of occupational therapy.

A public hearing will be held at  4:30 p.m. on November 
17, 2004, in the second floor conference room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board of 
Occupational Therapy Practice, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, 
Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons 
wishing to submit written comments may forward these to 
the Board at the above address.  The final date to receive 
written comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
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public hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly 
meeting on Thursday, October 21, 2004 at 1:00 p.m. in the 
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / 
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program is proposing to 
amend the policy of the Food Stamp Program in the Division 
of Social Services Manual (DSSM).  

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program & 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720 by October 31, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY

PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Secretary of the 
Department of Safety and Homeland Security, formerly the 
Secretary of the Department of Public Safety, in accordance 
with 21 Del.C. §4101(d) and 73 Del. Laws, c. 350, sec. 92 
intends to promulgate regulations. These regulations will 
regulate the administration of the Electronic Red Light 
Safety Program in unincorporated areas of the State of 
Delaware. The Electronic Red Light Safety Program through 
the use of traffic light signal monitoring systems will impose 

monetary liability on owners or operators of motor vehicles 
for failure to comply with traffic light signals.  A public 
hearing will be held on Monday, November 1, 2004 at 11:00 
A.M. in the second floor main conference room (rm. 205) of 
the Safety and Homeland Security Building, 303 
Transportation Circle, Dover, DE. The Secretary of Safety 
and Homeland Security will receive and consider input in 
writing from any person on the proposed regulations.  Any 
written comments should be submitted to the Department of 
Safety and Homeland Security, in care of William G. Bush, 
IV, at P.O. Box 818, Dover, DE 19903-0818 on or before 
November 1, 2004. Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the 
proposed regulations may do so by sending a written request 
to the Department of Safety and Homeland Security, P.O. 
Box 818, Dover, DE 19903-0818 or may obtain a copy in 
room 220 of the Safety and Homeland Security Building, 
303 Transportation Circle, Dover, DE.  This notice will be 
published in two newspapers of general circulation not less 
than twenty (20) days prior to the date of the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND

CULTURAL AFFAIRS

Notice of Public Comment:

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C., Ch. 
101, the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs proposes 
to amend rules and regulations pursuant to its authority 
under 30 Del.C. §1815(b).  The Division will receive and 
consider all written comments on the proposed rules and 
regulations related to implementation of amendments to the 
Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act.  Comments should be 
submitted to the Division in care of Daniel R. Griffith, 
Director, Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, 21 The 
Green, Suite B, Dover, DE 19901.  The final date to submit 
comments is October 31, 2004.  Anyone wishing to obtain a 
copy of the proposed amendments to the rules and 
regulations should notify Daniel R. Griffith at the above 
address or call 302-739-5685.  This notice will be published 
in two newspapers of general circulation.
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Visit The Delaware General 
Assembly On The Web! 

  The General Assembly Website features:
• Current legislative information
• Information on both the Senate and House of Representatives
• Access to the Delaware Code
• Access to the Delaware Register of Regulations
• Information on the legislative process
• Various reports and publications

The General Assembly Website is located at:
http://www.legis.state.de.us
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One copy of all legislation introduced:

_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $110.00
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $850.00

One copy of all legislation signed by the Governor:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $215.00

One copy of House and Senate calendars:
_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $110.00
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $850.00

One copy of all Governor’s Advisories:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $30.00

Daily Legislative Agendas and weekly Standing Committee Notices:
_ Via Fax  -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $135.00

* Subscribers who choose to pick up their materials at Legislative Hall are requested to do so at least once a week, due to 
limited on-site file space.  Thank you.

If you have any questions about our subscription services, please contact the Division of Research by dialing, toll-free, (800) 
282-8545 (in  state) or via E-Mail at jeffrey.hague@state.de.us.  Please dial (302) 744-4114 if you are calling from outside 
Delaware.

Please return this order form to the Division of Research at P.O. Box 1401, Legislative Hall, Dover, Delaware, 19903, or fax it 
to (302) 739-3895 as soon as possible.  (Don’t forget to make a copy for your own files).  You will be billed upon our receipt 
of your order. Your service(s) will begin, promptly, when payment is received and the General Assembly convenes.  Thank 
you for using the Subscription Services of the Division of Research.
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ACCESS THE DELAWARE CODE 
ON-LINE! 

• Up-to-date version of the Code reflecting recent legislative 
enactments
• Comprehensive full text search capabilities.

Visit the Delaware Code On-Line at:

http://www.delcode.state.de.us/
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