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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example
would be:

19 DE Reg. 1100 (06/01/16)

Refers to Volume 19, page 1100 of the Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2016.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation
may be reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed in
the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that issue of
the Register in which the regulation was published. Proposed regulations are designated with (Prop.); Final
regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations
that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Amendments to Rules of Practice and Procedure....................................................  27 DE Reg. 206 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Office of the Secretary

806 Regulations for Invasive Plants...................................................................    27 DE Reg. 80 (Prop.)
 27 DE Reg. 246(Final)

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations..........................................    27 DE Reg. 10 (Prop.)

 27 DE Reg.153 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Office of the Secretary

105 Residential Child Care Facilities and Day Treatment Programs.................    27 DE Reg. 82 (Prop.)
106A Teacher Appraisal Process 

Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) Revised.....................    27 DE Reg. 99 (Final)
107A Specialist Appraisal Process 

Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) Revised.....................   27 DE Reg.101 (Final)
108A Administrator Appraisal Process 

Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)...................................   27 DE Reg.102 (Final)
235 Teacher of the Year Award..........................................................................    27 DE Reg. 84 (Prop.)

 27 DE Reg. 247(Final)
275 Charter Schools..........................................................................................   27 DE Reg.103 (Final)
608 Unsafe School Choice Option Policy..........................................................    27 DE Reg.217(Prop.)
901 Dispute Resolution Process for Educational Placement for Children and 

Youth Experiencing Homelessness ............................................................    27 DE Reg.137(Prop.)
902 Gifted or Talented Education Plan..............................................................    27 DE Reg.220(Prop.)
910 Delaware Requirements for Issuance of the Secondary Credential...........    27 DE Reg.223(Prop.)
1021 DIAA Committees......................................................................................  27 DE Reg.154 (Final)
1043 Officials.....................................................................................................   27 DE Reg.158 (Final)
1213 Speech-Language Pathologist Student Loan Repayment Program..........    27 DE Reg. 11 (Prop.)

 27 DE Reg.159 (Final)
1215 High Needs Educator Student Loan Payment Program............................    27 DE Reg. 14 (Prop.)

 27 DE Reg.162 (Final)
1216 Educator Support Scholarship Program....................................................    27 DE Reg. 18 (Prop.)

 27 DE Reg.165 (Final)
1218 Mental Health Services Student Loan Repayment Program.....................    27 DE Reg. 21 (Prop.)

 27 DE Reg.168 (Final)
Professional Standards Board

1501 Salary Supplements for Educators............................................................    27 DE Reg.226(Prop.)
1503 Comprehensive Educator Induction Programs.........................................    27 DE Reg.142(Prop.)
1510 Initial License............................................................................................   27 DE Reg.171 (Final)
1516 Professional Standards Board Standing Committees...............................   27 DE Reg.173 (Final)
1517 Paraeducator Permit.................................................................................    27 DE Reg.230(Prop.)
1519 Multiple Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge.......................    27 DE Reg. 37 (Final)
1552 Junior Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (JROTC) Teacher......................    27 DE Reg.231(Prop.)
1571 Special Education Teacher of Students with Disabilities...........................    27 DE Reg. 24 (Prop.)
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   27 DE Reg.175 (Final)
1585 School Behavior Analyst...........................................................................    27 DE Reg.176 (Final)
1586 School Behavior Analyst Assistant...........................................................    27 DE Reg.181 (Final)
1596 Charter School Leader..............................................................................    27 DE Reg. 39 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
Division of Revenue

Regulations Governing Tax Refund Intercept Claims of Other States...............    27 DE Reg.143(Prop.)
Regulation Governing Tax Refund Offset and 

Lottery Winnings Intercept Programs..........................................................    27 DE Reg.105 (Final)
Office of the State Lottery

203 Video Lottery and Table Game Regulations...............................................    27 DE Reg.106 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Health Care Quality

3345 Personal Assistance Services Agencies...................................................    27 DE Reg. 43 (Final)
3350 Skilled Home Health Agencies (Licensure)..............................................    27 DE Reg. 44 (Final)
3351 Home Health Agencies--Aide Only (Licensure)........................................    27 DE Reg. 45 (Final)

Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance
2023 Quality Strategy........................................................................................    27 DE Reg. 250(Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Doula Services.................................................    27 DE Reg.235(Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - 

Ground Emergency Medical Transportation (GEMT)..................................    27 DE Reg.149(Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Pharmacy Over the Counter (OTC) & 

Physician Administered Drugs (PAD)..........................................................    27 DE Reg.147(Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Pharmacy Value Based Purchasing (VBP)......    27 DE Reg.237(Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan: Temporary Extension to 

COVID-19 Disaster Relief Co-pay & Premium Provisions..........................    27 DE Reg.107 (Final)
US Savings Bonds: DSSM 20330.7..................................................................    27 DE Reg. 46 (Final)

Division of Public Health
4458A Cottage Food Regulations......................................................................    27 DE Reg. 30 (Prop.)

   27 DE Reg.238(Prop.)
4459A Regulations Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning

Prevention Act for Children Between the Ages of 22 and 26 Months.........    27 DE Reg.109 (Final)
Division of Social Services

Delaware’s SNAP EBT System: DSSM 9093, 9093.1, 9093.11........................    27 DE Reg.111 (Final)
Determining Relative Child Care: DSSM 11006.7.............................................    27 DE Reg. 49 (Final)

Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
6002 Credentialing Mental Health Screeners and 

Payment for Voluntary Admissions.......................................................    27 DE Reg.185 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Office of the Commissioner

1316 Arbitration of Health Insurance Disputes Between Carriers And 
Non-Network Providers of Emergency Care Services................................    27 DE Reg.113 (Final)

1406 Third Party Administrators........................................................................    27 DE Reg.150(Prop.)
2102 Termination of Coverage for Policies of Commercial Governmental and 

Professional Liability Insurance [Formerly Regulation 54]..........................     27 DE Reg.114 (Rep.)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Fraud and Consumer Protection Division

106 Home Improvement Services.....................................................................    27 DE Reg. 254(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
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Division of Paid Leave
1401 Rules Defining and Regulating the Healthy Delaware Families Act, 

Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program and the Division of Paid 
Leave ..........................................................................................................    27 DE Reg. 51 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Division of Fish and Wildlife

3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Seasons; Methods of Take; 
Creel Limit; Possession Limit.......................................................................    27 DE Reg.115 (Final)

3801 Shellfish Aquaculture.................................................................................    27 DE Reg.151(Prop.)
Division of Waste and Hazardous Substances

1351 Underground Storage Tank Systems.........................................................    27 DE Reg. 87 (Prop.)
1352 Aboveground Storage Tanks.....................................................................    27 DE Reg. 88 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner

Rule 202 (Formerly Rule 19) A Rule Defining the Words Hotel, Motel, 
Restaurant and Dinner Theater...................................................................    27 DE Reg.186 (Final)

Rule 1201 (Formerly Rule 7) A Rule Requiring Persons Between the 
Ages of 16 and 18 to Secure a Work Permit to be 
Employed by an On-Premises Licensee......................................................    27 DE Reg.189 (Final)

Rule 1202 (Formerly Rule 7.1) Employment of Persons Who Have Reached 
the Age of 18 Years in Package Stores........................................................    27 DE Reg.189 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Professional Regulation

1700 Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline................................................    27 DE Reg. 89 (Prop.)
1900 Board of Nursing.......................................................................................    27 DE Reg. 61 (Final)

   27 DE Reg.239(Prop.)
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice...................................................    27 DE Reg. 91 (Prop.)
2500 Board of Pharmacy....................................................................................    27 DE Reg. 258(Final)
2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers............................................................    27 DE Reg. 94 (Prop.)
3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine....................................................................    27 DE Reg.190 (Final)
3600 Board of Geologists...................................................................................    27 DE Reg. 31 (Prop.)

   27 DE Reg. 260(Final)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork.............................................................    27 DE Reg. 63 (Final)
Uniform Controlled Substances Act Regulations................................................    27 DE Reg. 7   (Emer.)

Division of Small Business
The Delaware Sports Tourism Capital Investment Fund....................................    27 DE Reg.240(Prop.)

Public Service Commission
1002 Minimum Filing Requirements for All Regulated Companies Subject

 to the Jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission.................................    27 DE Reg.117 (Final)
3001 Rules for Certification and Regulation of Electric Suppliers, Net Metering, and 

Community Energy Facilities ......................................................................    27 DE Reg. 262(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division of Motor Vehicles

2226 Third Party Commercial Driver License Skills Testing...............................    27 DE Reg. 35 (Prop.)
   27 DE Reg.191(Final)

2266 Vehicle Document Fees............................................................................    27 DE Reg. 94 (Prop.)
   27 DE Reg. 267(Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF PAID LEAVE

Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, Sections 105 and 3720 (19 Del.C. §§105 and 3720)
19 DE Admin. Code 1401

ERRATA

1401 Rules Defining and Regulating the Healthy Delaware Families Act, Family and Medical Leave 
Insurance Program and the Division of Paid Leave

* Please Note: The Department of Labor, Division of Paid Leave, regulation 19 DE Admin. Code 1401 Rules
Defining and Regulating the Healthy Delaware Families Act, Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program and the
Division of Paid Leave, was published as final in the Delaware Register of Regulations, 27 DE Reg. 51 (07/01/23).
Subsections 4.3.7.3, 6.15.1, and 19.2 were inadvertently published incorrectly.

Subsection 4.3.7.3 was published as:

4.3.7.3 The party to whom [benefit payment] the instrument was forwarded;

Subsection 4.3.7.3 should have read:

4.3.7.3 The party to whom the [benefit payment] instrument was forwarded;

Subsection 6.15.1 was published as:

[6.18.16.15.1]The purpose of this reclassification provision is to either:

[6.18.1.1 16.15.1.1]Continue to provide coverage for those Delaware-based employees who are
temporarily assigned to an out-of-state location; or

[6.18.1.2 16.15.1.2]To make eligible for coverage those employees who are telecommuting or who
work on a continuing basis out-of-state when they would normally be located in the State
of Delaware.

Subsection 6.15.1 should have read:

[6.18.16.15.1]The purpose of this reclassification provision is to either:

[6.18.1.1 6.15.1.1]Continue to provide coverage for those Delaware-based employees who are
temporarily assigned to an out-of-state location; or

[6.18.1.2 6.15.1.2]To make eligible for coverage those employees who are telecommuting or who work
on a continuing basis out-of-state when they would normally be located in the State of
Delaware.

Subsection 19.2 was published as:

19.2 Audit. In addition to those powers stated in the Act, the Division may audit employers for compliance
with the Act, as the Division determines. The Division reserves the right to examine any adjudicated
claims application, whether they have been approved or denied, on a random basis. Admitted private
insurers with [certified approved] PFML coverage plans shall provide the Division access to their
records systems, along with the training and assistance necessary to understand the materials therein,
so that the Division may audit claims adjudicated by those [carriers insurers]. The records and
systems of self-insured private plans shall likewise be made available to and intelligible by the Division
for auditing purposes.

Subsection 19.2 should have read:

19.2 Audit. In addition to those powers stated in the Act, the Division may audit employers for compliance
with the Act, as the Division determines. The Division reserves the right to examine any adjudicated
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claims application, whether they have been approved or denied, on a random basis. Admitted private
insurers with [certified approved] PFML coverage plans shall provide the Division access to their
records systems, along with the training and assistance necessary to understand the materials therein,
so that the Division may audit claims adjudicated by those [carriers insurers]. The records and
systems of self-insured private plans shall likewise be made available to and intelligible by the Division
for auditing purposes.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119 an agency may promulgate a regulatory change as an Emergency under the following
conditions:

§ 10119. Emergency regulations.
If an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the adoption,

amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by § 10115, the following rules shall apply:
(1) The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that

it finds practicable;
(2) The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state, in writing, the reasons for the agency's

determination that such emergency action is necessary;
(3) The order effecting such action may be effective for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed

once for a period not exceeding 60 days;
(4) When such an order is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or authorized by this

chapter, the agency shall state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested
person for the reconsideration or revision thereof; and

(5) The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next issue of the
Register of Regulations. (60 Del. Laws, c. 585, § 1; 62 Del. Laws, c. 301, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 48, § 10.)
DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 4731 and 29 Delaware Code, Section 10119(3) 
(16 Del.C. §4731 & 29 Del.C. §10119(3))

ORDER

Uniform Controlled Substances Act Regulations

In Re: EMERGENCY RULE
PLACING ILLICIT XYLAZINE
IN SCHEDULE III

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119(3), the Secretary of State ("Secretary") is renewing emergency amendments to
the Uniform Controlled Substance Act rules and regulations. Emergency regulations may be promulgated pursuant
to the Administrative Procedures Act, so long as an agency determines there exists "an imminent peril to the public
health, safety or welfare." 29 Del.C. §10119. Such regulation will only be effective for a maximum of 120 days but
may be renewed once for an additional period of 60 days. 29 Del.C. §10119(3).

Evidence reviewed by the Secretary demonstrated that xylazine is a non-opioid with increasing presence as an
adulterant, often in conjunction with opioids, in the illicit drug supply. Adulterants are often added to illicit drugs to
(1) increase or decrease a drug's effects or (2) increase a drug's resale value. Both isolated and in conjunction with
other drugs, xylazine is implicated as a cause or contributing cause of death in the United States. The low cost of
xylazine contributes, in part, to xylazine's increased presence in the nation's illegal drug supply. Heroin and
xylazine have some similar pharmacological effects including bradycardia, hypotension, central nervous system
depression and respiratory depression. When used in conjunction with an opioid, such as heroin or fentanyl,
xylazine may worsen respiratory depression in the event of a drug overdose. Because xylazine is not an opioid,
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 27, ISSUE 5, WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2023

https://dpr.delaware.gov/


EMERGENCY REGULATIONS290
naloxone is not known to be effective at reversing overdoses caused by xylazine and there is no known antidote or
reversal agent for xylazine overdose in humans. Xylazine may be accompanied by skin ulcers with wounds that
secrete pus, decaying tissue and bacterial infections which can lead to amputations at higher rates than other
injectable drugs.

The Secretary has been charged by the General Assembly with placing a substance in Schedule III if the
Secretary finds that: "(1) The substance has a potential for abuse less than the substances listed in Schedules I
and II; (2) The substance has currently accepted medical use in treatment in the United States; and (3) Abuse of
the substance may lead to moderate or low physical dependence or high psychological dependence." 16 Del.C.
§4717. 

By Emergency Order effective June 2, 2023, the Secretary found that adoption of a regulation placing xylazine
temporarily in Schedule III in Delaware must occur on an emergency basis in order to properly protect the public
until such time as the legislature may adopt a statutory amendment to 16 Del.C. §4718. The Emergency Order was
published in the July 1, 2023 issue of the Register. SB No. 189 as amended by SA No. 1, placing xylazine in
Schedule III, was signed on August 17, 2023 and will be effective the earlier of November 23, 2023 or the
expiration of the Secretary's Emergency Order. 

The Emergency Order took effect June 2, 2023 and was effective 120 days. The public threat posed by
xylazine continues. Therefore, the renewal of the Secretary's Order is required to ensure continuity of xylazine's
status as a Schedule III controlled substance. This renewal shall take effect September 30, 2023 and shall remain
in effect for 60 days as authorized by 29 Del.C. §10119(3).

The Secretary will accept, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or
revision of this regulation by addressing the same to the attention of the Office of Controlled Substances, Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. A copy of this Emergency Order will be submitted to the
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the next Delaware Register of Regulations;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED this __23____ day of September 2023:

The above referenced amendment to the Uniform Controlled Substance Act Regulations,
a copy of which is attached as Exhibit A, is renewed, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119(3), as
supported by the evidence contained herein. 

DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF STATE
SECRETARY OF STATE
Jeffrey W. Bullock

Uniform Controlled Substances Act Regulations
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

10.0 Procedures for Adoption of Regulations

10.1 Notice. Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any of these controlled substances regulations,
the Secretary of State/Committee will give at least twenty (20) days notice of the intended action.

10.1.1 The notice will include a statement of either the terms of substance of the intended action or a
description of the subjects and issues involved, or the time when, and the place where to present
their views thereon.

10.1.2  The notice will be mailed to persons who have made timely request of the Office of Controlled
Substances for advance notice of such rule-making proceedings and shall be published in two
newspapers of general circulation in this State.

10.2 Hearing. The Secretary of State shall designate the Committee to preside over hearings. The
Committee will afford all interested persons a reasonable opportunity to submit data, views or
arguments, orally or in writing.
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10.3 Emergency Regulations. If the Secretary of State, upon the recommendation of the Committee, finds
that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires adoption of a regulation upon
fewer then twenty (20) days notice and states in writing the reasons for that finding, the Secretary of
State may proceed without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing the
Secretary finds practicable, to adopt an emergency regulation. Such rules will be effective for a period
not longer than 120 days, but the adoption of an identical rule under the procedures discussed above
is not precluded.

10.3.1 Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §4713 the Secretary of State finds that the synthetic opioid, 3, 4-dichloro-N-
[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-methylbenzamide (also known as U-47700) and it isomers,
esters, ethers, salts and salts of isomers, esters and ethers, has high potential for abuse; has no
accepted medical use in treatment in the United States or lacks accepted safety for use in
treatment under medical supervision, and therefore:

10.3.1.1 The Secretary of State, as authorized by 16 Del.C. §4713, does hereby add by rule 3,4-
dichloro-N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-methylbenzamide (also known as U-47700)
and it isomers, esters, ethers, salts and salts of isomers, esters and ethers, in Schedule I
of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, 16 Del.C. Ch. 47.

10.3.2 Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §4717, the Secretary of State has the authority to place a substance in
Schedule III where the Secretary finds that the substance has a potential for abuse less than the
substances listed in Schedules I and II; has currently accepted medical use in treatment in the
United States; and abuse of the substance may lead to moderate or low physical dependence or
high psychological dependence, and therefore:

10.3.2.1 The Secretary of State, as authorized by 16 Del.C. §4717, does hereby add by regulation
illicit xylazine and its isomers, esters, ethers, salts and salts of isomers, esters and ethers,
in Schedule III of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, 16 Del.C. Ch. 47.

10.3.2.1.1 Testing strips to determine the presence of xylazine or xylazine-related substances
are exempt from subsection 10.3.2.1.

10.3.2.2 For the purpose of this subsection:

10.3.2.2.1 "Illicit" use of xylazine means any use in the human species or any use that is not licit
use.

10.3.2.2.2 "Licit" use of xylazine means:

10.3.2.2.2.1Any administration to nonhuman species a drug containing xylazine that has been
approved by the Secretary of Health and Human Services under section 512 of the
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C. 360b); or that is permissible under
section 512(a)(4) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C.
360b(a)(4)).

10.3.2.2.2.2The manufacturing, importation, or use of xylazine as an active pharmaceutical
ingredient for manufacturing an animal drug approved under section 512 of the
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C. 360b) or issued an investigation
use exemption under subsection (j) of such section 512.

10.3.2.2.2.3The manufacturing, importation, or use of a xylazine bulk chemical for
pharmaceutical compounding by licensed pharmacists or veterinarians.

10.3.2.2.2.4 Another use approved or permissible under the Federal Food, Drug, and
Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C. 301 et seq.).

10.4 Finding and Availability. The Secretary of State will maintain on file any adoption, amendment or repeal
of these regulations. In addition, copies of these regulations will be available for public inspection at
the Office of Controlled Substances.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/emergency/27 DE Reg 289 11-01-23.htm
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(a) (14 Del.C. §122(a))
14 DE Admin. Code 415

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

415 Voluntary School Assessments

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(a), the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 415

Voluntary School Assessments. This amendment is needed to include the collection of Voluntary School

Assessments (VSA) in Sussex County as authorized by Senate Bill 186 of the 152nd General Assembly. Additional
amendments to alter the style or form of the regulation are also included.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m. EST) on or before
December 1, 2023. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a copy from
the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street,
Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation does not specifically address the improvement of student achievement as
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measured against state achievement standards.
2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended

regulation will help ensure all students receive an equitable education.
3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation will help ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected.
4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended

regulation continues to help ensure that all students' legal rights are respected.
5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local

board and school level? The amended regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The amended regulation does not change the decision making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is no less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no material costs to implementing this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 292RFA 11-01-23.pdf

415 Voluntary School Assessments

1.0 General Provisions

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §103(c), this regulation shall apply to Voluntary School Assessments that are required in
lieu of Certifications of Adequate Capacity for proposed residential developments in New Castle County and
Sussex County.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, have the following meaning unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

“Building Valuation Data” or “BVD” means the average construction costs as published biannually by the
International Code Council, which can be used for determining permit fees for a jurisdiction.

"Certification of Adequate Capacity" means a certification that the school district in which a proposed
development is located has 85% or less capacity for the elementary, middle, and high schools in the
proposed development's feeder pattern. Such certification is issued by the Secretary based on
information provided to the Department by the school district and district, New Castle County
Department of Land Use Use, or Sussex County.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.

“Gross Area” means the calculated square footage of a residential unit.

"Secretary" means the Secretary of the Delaware Department of Education or his or her the Secretary's
designee.

“Voluntary School Assessment” means the assessment amount calculated by the Secretary pursuant to 14
Del.C. §103(c).
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3.0 Certification of Adequate Capacity

3.1 The Secretary shall issue a Certification of Adequate Capacity for a proposed development if the
school district in which the proposed development is located has adequate capacity for the increased
demand that will result from the proposed development.

3.2 Determining Adequate Capacity

3.1.1 3.2.1A school district has adequate capacity for a proposed development if the elementary, middle,
and high schools in the proposed development's feeder pattern each do not exceed 85 percent of
the maximum number of students the schools can contain based on each school's physical space
and class size for each grade level.

3.1.2 3.2.2Capacity shall include students who are enrolled in the proposed development's feeder pattern
schools based on their residence, as provided in 14 Del.C. §202(c), and through the Delaware's
School District Enrollment Choice Program as provided in 14 Del.C. Ch. 4.

3.1.3 3.2.3Capacity is determined by the district at the time a developer submits a completed request for a
Certification of Adequate Capacity.

4.0 Determining Total Cost of a Residential Unit

4.1 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §103(c)(3), a Voluntary School Assessment shall not exceed 5 percent of the
total cost of a residential unit.

4.2 Determining Total Cost of a Residential Unit

4.1.1 4.2.1For the purpose of this regulation, the total cost of a residential unit shall mean the total cost to
construct the unit.

4.1.1.1 4.2.1.1The total cost shall equal the Gross Area of the unit multiplied by the square footage
construction cost that is derived from the Building Valuation Data table that is first issued
for the current calendar year.

4.1.1.2 4.2.1.2The total cost shall not include the cost of land and site work.

4.1.2 4.2.2The developer shall contact the Department to identify residential units subject to the 5 percent
limitation.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(a) and (b)(6) (14 Del.C. §122(a) & (b)(6))
14 DE Admin. Code 501

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

501 State Content Standards

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(a) and (b)(6), the Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of

Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 501 State Content Standards. This regulation is being amended to add
language related to the new Media Literacy Content Standards and Driver Education Content Standards.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
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community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m. EST) on or before
December 1, 2023. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a copy from
the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street,
Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation helps to improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards by ensuring alignment with state content standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation will help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
The amended regulation does not address students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all students' legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The amended regulation does not change the decision making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is no less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no material costs to implementing this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 294RFA 11-01-23.pdf

501 State Content Standards

1.0 Instructional Programs

1.1 Instructional programs offered in the public schools of Delaware shall be in alignment with the
appropriate content standards documents. These documents are: English Language Arts Content
Standards, Mathematics Content Standards, Science Content Standards, Social Studies Content
Standards, Health Education and Assessment Content Standards, Physical Education Content
Standards, Visual and Performing Arts Content Standards, Agriscience Content Standards, Business
Finance and Marketing Education Content Standards, World Language Content Standards,
Technology Education Content Standards, Skilled and Technical Sciences Content Standards, Family
and Consumer Sciences Content Standards, State-approved CTE Programs of Study Content
Standards, Computer Science Content Standards and Standards, Financial Literacy Content
Standards, Media Literacy Content Standards, and Driver Education Content Standards.

1.1.1 The content standards documents may from time to time hereafter be amended with the approval
of the Secretary and the State Board of Education. For purposes of this regulation, "adopted" shall
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mean to accept a set of standards as the basis for curriculum and assessment alignment across
the state according to a timeline established and disseminated by the Department of Education.

1.1.1.1 Effective with the 2010-2011 school year, Delaware Content Standards in English
language arts and mathematics shall be comprised of the Common Core Standards
developed in partnership with the National Governors Association and the Council of Chief
State School Officers.

1.1.1.2 Effective with the 2013-2014 school year, the Next Generation Science Standards
(NGSS) developed in partnership with twenty-six (26) 26 states, including Delaware, shall
be adopted as the Delaware Content Standards in science. For purposes of this
subsection, “adopted” shall mean to accept a set of standards as the basis for curriculum
and assessment alignment across the state according to a timeline established and
disseminated by the Department of Education.

1.1.1.3 Effective with the 2018-19 school year, the Financial Literacy Content Standards shall be
adopted. For purposes of this subsection, "adopted" means to accept a set of standards
as the basis for curriculum across the state according to a timeline established and
disseminated by the Department of Education.

1.1.1.4 Effective with the 2018-19 school year, the Computer Science Content Standards shall be
adopted. For purposes of this subsection, "adopted" means to accept a set of standards
as the basis for curriculum across the state according to a timeline established and
disseminated by the Department of Education.

1.1.1.5 Effective with the 2023-2024 school year, the Media Literacy Content Standards shall be
adopted.

1.1.1.6 Effective with the 2023-2024 school year, the Driver Education Content Standards shall be
adopted.

1.1.2 Integration of the content standards shall be provided for within and across the academic and
technical curricula.

1.1.3 Instructional materials and curricula content shall be kept current and consistent with provisions of
14 DE Admin. Code 502 Alignment of Local School District Curricula to the State Content
Standards and 14 DE Admin. Code 503 Instructional Program Requirements.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b)(6) (14 Del.C. §122(b)(6))
14 DE Admin. Code 502

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

502 Alignment of Local School District Curricula to the State Content Standards

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(b)(6), the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 502

Alignment of Local School District Curricula to the State Content Standards. This regulation needs to be amended
to align with modifications in State Content Standards and Department of Education reporting expectations of
school districts and to clarify the title of the regulation.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
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Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at the website: https://
education.delaware.gov/community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30
p.m. EST) on or before December 1, 2023. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation
may obtain a copy from the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building,
401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement standards?

The amended regulation does not directly address student achievement as measured against state achievement
standards.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended regulation is
intended to help ensure all students receive an equitable education by ensuring uniform curricula for all Delaware
public schools.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation does not directly impact student's health and safety.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended regulation
continues to help ensure that all students' legal rights are respected.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local board and
school level? The amended regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated does
not change because of the amended regulation.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of
mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies, specifically the desire to monitor uniformity of
curricula across districts.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is no less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? School
districts should not incur any material costs to implementing this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 296RFA 11-01-23.pdf

502 Alignment of Local School District Curricula to the State Content Standards

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to provide a process through which all Delaware school districts demonstrate
the alignment of their local curricula with the State Content Standards in the content areas specified in the 14 DE
Admin. Code 501 as required by 14 Del.C. §122(b)(6).

2.0 Definitions

“Adoption” means to accept a set of standards as the basis for curriculum and assessment alignment
across the state according to a timeline established and disseminated by the Department of Education.

"Alignment" means meeting the expectations or outcomes outlined in each of the content area
standards in 14 DE Admin. Code 501.
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"Curricula" means a coherent set of high-quality instructional materials, academic lessons, and
content implemented for a particular subject and designed for teachers to facilitate learning that leads
to students' mastery of standards.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.

"Equitable access" means every student has the opportunity to engage with grade-level and course-
level materials regardless of any subgroup designation.

“Evidence” means certification the documents maintained by the district that its curriculum is aligned
to the state content standards, which is supported by documentation maintained by the district State
Content Standards.

“Grade Level Expectations” means the documents created and officially released by the Delaware
Department of Education which detail student learning objectives in each content area for kindergarten
through grade twelve.

“Recommended Statewide Uniform Curricula” means one or more of the following documents:
Academic Content Standards, Clarifications, and Grade Level Expectations posted to the Delaware
Department of Education website. The Department may update the document(s) based on changes to
the State Content Standards in 14 DE Admin. Code 501.

"High quality instructional materials" means comprehensive materials that are aligned with the
adopted Delaware content standards. The materials are written with clear purpose, effective lesson
structure, and pacing to provide equitable access to the grade-level or course-level content, when
used in accordance with their intended design and align to the Department's definition of high quality.

"Implemented" means using aligned materials according to their intended design and with processes
in place for continuous improvement, including initial and sustained professional learning to support
the educators who are using or leading the use of the instructional materials.

"Supports" means professional learning and feedback required to successfully implement high quality
instructional materials and curricula.

3.0 Alignment Requirement

All Each school districts district shall provide evidence to the Department that their school district curricula are
aligned with the State Content Standards. State Content Standards exist in English Language Arts, Mathematics,
Social Studies, Science, World Languages, Visual and Performing Arts, Health, Physical Education, Agriscience,
Business Finance and Marketing Education, Technology Education, Skilled and Technical Sciences, and Family
and Consumer Sciences Computer Science, Career and Technical Education Programs of Study, Financial
Literacy, Media Literacy, and Driver's Education. Content standards adopted by the Department in the future shall
also be included under this section section.

4.0 Documentation of Curriculum Alignment

4.1 Alignment of school district curricula to the State Content Standards shall be certified annually by the
district through an assurance in the consolidated grant application.

4.2 Documentation of Upon the request of the Department, documentation demonstrating alignment of
school district curricula shall be given to the Department and include: curriculum maps or scope and
sequence of instructional topics, unit plans, lesson plans, and assessments and may be subject to
Department review. Included in the documentation shall also be the names of the implemented
instructional resources including high quality instructional materials when applicable, a description of
the method alignment process, and level of involvement in the alignment process by building
administrators, teachers teachers, and specialists.

4.3 Documentation for Agriscience, Business Finance and Marketing Education, Technology Education,
Skilled and Technical Sciences, and Family and Consumer Sciences Career and Technical Education
programs of study shall follow requirements in 14 DE Admin. Code 525 Requirements for Career and
Technical Education Programs of Study.
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5.0 Documentation for Specific Student Populations

As part of its documentation, the district shall explain modifications or enhancements to curricula for specific
subgroups such as students with disabilities, gifted students, English learners or any other special population of
students and certify alignment to the State Content Standards. Each school district shall also certify annually
through an assurance in the consolidated grant application that alignment and equitable access to the grade-level
or course-level State Content Standards is provided to subgroups such as students with disabilities, gifted students,
and Multilingual Learners. Upon the request of the Department, the school district shall explain the supports
provided in its curricula for these subgroups.

6.0 Subsequent Review of Alignment

Each district shall be required to certify curriculum maintain alignment if there are major any changes to a
content area in the approved curricula in curriculum occur. The district shall only be required to submit
documentation of curriculum alignment in the affected any content area upon the request by of the Department.
Further, districts may be required to submit documentation of aligned curriculum in the assessed content area or
areas which form the basis for any school rating.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(a) and (b)(6) (14 Del.C. §122(a) & (b)(6))
14 DE Admin. Code 503

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

503 Instructional Program Requirements

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(a) and (b)(6), the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

503 Instructional Program Requirements. This regulation is being amended to update references to grade-level
and course-level expectations to ensure alignment with current practice, to remove reference to "local" school
districts, to add Health Education instructional program requirements, and to amend grammar and punctuation to
comply with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at the website: https://
education.delaware.gov/community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30
p.m. EST) on or before December 1, 2023. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation
may obtain a copy from the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building,
401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement standards?

The amended regulation will help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement standards
by ensuring instructional program requirements are met.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended regulation will
help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation does not directly impact student's health and safety.
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4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended regulation
continues to help ensure that all students' legal rights are respected.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local board and
school level? The amended regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements on decision makers.

7. Will the decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The decision-making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated does
not change because of the amended regulation.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of
mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is no less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are no
material costs to implementing this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 299RFA 11-01-23.pdf

503 Instructional Program Requirements

1.0 English Language Arts

1.1 Local school School districts and charter schools shall provide instructional programs in English
language arts for each grade K to 12.

1.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in an English language arts program
that demonstrates alignment to the Department of Education's adopted English Language Arts content
standards and grade level expectations.

1.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in English language arts
necessary to graduate from high school through courses that demonstrate alignment to the
Department of Education's adopted English Language Arts content standards and grade level
expectations.

2.0 Mathematics

2.1 Local school School districts and charter schools shall provide instructional programs in mathematics
for each grade K to12.

2.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in a mathematics program that
demonstrates alignment to the Department of Education’s adopted mathematics content standards
and grade level expectations.

2.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in mathematics necessary to
graduate from high school through courses that demonstrate alignment to the Department of
Education's adopted mathematics content standards and grade level course-level expectations.

3.0 Science

3.1 Local school School districts and charter schools shall provide instructional programs in science for
each grade K to 12.
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3.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in a science program that
demonstrates alignment to the Department of Education's adopted science content standards and
grade level expectations.

3.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in science necessary to graduate
from high school through courses that demonstrate alignment to the Department of Education's
adopted science content standards and course expectations.

4.0 Social Studies

4.1 Local school School districts and charter schools shall provide instructional programs in social studies
for each grade K to 12.

4.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in a social studies program that
demonstrates alignment to the Department of Education's adopted social studies content standards
and grade level expectations.

4.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in social studies necessary to
graduate from high school through courses that demonstrate alignment to the Department of
Education's adopted Social Studies social studies content standards and grade level expectations.

5.0 Physical Education

5.1 Local school School districts and charter schools shall provide instructional programs in physical
education for each grade K to 12 with the exception of the James H. Groves High School program.
James H. Groves High School program is not required to provide instructional programs in physical
education to its students and is exempt from the provisions of this subsection.

5.2 All public school students in each grade 1 to K through 8 shall be enrolled in a comprehensive physical
education program that demonstrates alignment to the Department of Education's adopted physical
education content standards and grade level expectations.

5.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credit in physical education necessary
to graduate from high school through courses that demonstrate alignment to the Department of
Education's adopted physical education content standards and grade level expectations.

5.3.1 In addition to the one 1 credit required for high school graduation, only one 1 additional elective
credit in physical education may be used to fulfill the graduation requirements.

5.4 The physical education requirements may be waived only for students who either have an excuse from
a qualified licensed healthcare provider, which is defined as anyone lawfully authorized to diagnose
and prescribe medical treatment or restriction, or objections based on religious beliefs. The local
school district or charter school shall have the authority to grant such waivers. The local school district
or charter school shall maintain records of the waivers granted and upon request, make them available
for review consistent with Federal and state confidentiality laws.

5.5 Local school School districts and charter schools shall annually assess the physical fitness of each
student in grades 4 and 7, and in grade 9 or 10. The physical fitness assessment tool used by the
districts and charter schools shall be one 1 designated by the Delaware Department of Education.

5.5.1 The local school School districts and charter schools shall provide the results of the physical
fitness assessment to the parent(s), guardian(s), or Relative Caregiver parents, guardians, or
relative caregiver of each student. The school districts and charter schools shall also report this
information to the Delaware Department of Education in a format determined by the Department.

5.5.1.1 5.5.2 The Delaware Department of Education shall annually report the statewide grade level
results of the physical fitness assessment to the public.

6.0 Visual and Performing Arts

6.1 Local school School districts and charter schools shall provide instructional programs in the visual and
performing arts for each grade K to 12 with the exception of the James H. Groves High School
program. James H. Groves High School program is not required to provide instructional programs in
visual and performing arts to its students and is exempt from the provisions of this subsection.
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6.2 All public school students in each grade 1 to K through 6 shall be enrolled in a both visual and
performing arts program programs that demonstrates demonstrate alignment to the Department of
Education's adopted visual and performing arts content standards and grade level grade-level or
course-level expectations.

7.0 Career and Technical Education

7.1 Local school School districts and charter schools, when consistent with the charter school's approved
program, shall provide instructional program(s) programs in grades 7 and 8 that demonstrate
alignment to career and technical education programs of study within the high school feeder pattern(s)
patterns.

7.1.1 No later than the 2017-2018 school year, career Career and technical instructional program(s)
programs in grades 7 and 8 shall be aligned to career and technical education programs of study
at the high school level.

7.2 All public school students in grades 9 through 12 in local school districts, and charter schools when
consistent with the charter school's approved program, shall be provided with the opportunity to enroll
in and complete a career and technical education program of study.

8.0 World Language

8.1 Local school School districts and charter schools with any of grades 9 through 12 shall provide
instructional programs in world languages for grades 9 through 12 that demonstrate alignment to the
Department of Education's adopted world language content standards and course course-level
expectations.

8.2 All public school students in grades 9 through 12 shall complete the credits in world languages
required to graduate from high school through courses that demonstrates demonstrate alignment to
the Department of Education's adopted world language content standards and course course-level
expectations.

9.0 Health Education

9.1 School districts and charter schools shall provide instructional programs in health education for each
grade K through 12 that meet the hours requirements outlined in 14 DE Admin. Code 551. James H.
Groves High School program is not required to provide instructional programs in health education to its
students and is exempt from the provisions of this subsection.

9.2 School districts and charter schools shall provide comprehensive health education programming for
each grade K through 8 that demonstrates alignment to the Department of Education's adopted health
education content standards.

9.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in health education necessary to
graduate from high school through health education programming that demonstrates alignment to the
Department of Education's adopted health education content standards.
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(a) and 604(b) (14 Del.C. §§122(a) and 
604(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 737

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

737 Tuition Billing for Special Schools and Programs

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(a) and 604(b), the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

737 Tuition Billing for Special Schools and Programs. This amendment is needed to update language pertaining to
tuition eligibility and processing of tuition billing and payments per 14 Del. Code Chapter 6.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m. EST) on or before
December 1, 2023. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a copy from
the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street,
Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? This regulation will provide additional funding to charter schools which could potentially improve
achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? This regulation
will provide additional funding to charter schools which could potentially improve the equitable education of
students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
This regulation will help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? This regulation
does not address the legal rights of students.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? This regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at
the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? This regulation does not create unnecessary reporting
requirements.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? This regulation does not address decision making authority and accountability for addressing
the subject to be regulated be placed in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? This regulation will not impede the
implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for this purpose.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? This
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regulation does not result an additional cost to the State.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 303RFA 11-01-23.pdf

737 Tuition Billing for Special Schools and Programs

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to outline the process for the tuition billing and payments between local school
districts and tuition generating Special Schools and Special Programs.

2.0 Definitions

In this regulation, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated below:

“Direct Services” means the provision of instructional and educational services by the authorized
Special School or Special Program that are readily identifiable to that program.

“Educational Related Expenses” means those expenses that are necessary to operate the Special
School or Special Program to meet the criteria for which it was established and includes, but is not
limited to, Direct Services and Indirect Costs as those terms are defined herein.

“Indirect Costs” means those costs that have been incurred for common or joint purposes. These
costs benefit more than one cost objective (e.g. award, project or activity) and cannot be readily and
specifically identified with a particular final cost objective without efforts disproportionate to the results
achieved. If an authorized Special School or Special Program elects to apply an indirect cost rate it
shall not apply a rate that exceeds the Restricted Rate approved by the Department of Education in
the fiscal year.

“Inter-district student” means a student who is attending a Special School or Special Program
operated by any school district other than the school district in which the student’s parents, Relative
Caregiver or legal guardian resides.

“Intra-district student” means a student who is attending a Special School or Special Program
operated by the school district in which the student’s parents, Relative Caregiver or legal guardian
resides.

“Local School District” means a reorganized school district or vocational technical school district
established pursuant to Chapter 10 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code.

“Special Program” means a program established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §203 or that has been
approved as a Special Program by the Department of Education with the consent of the State Board of
Education.

"Special School" means a school established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §203 or that has been approved
as a Special School by the Department of Education with the consent of the State Board of Education.

“Time and Effort Log” means the record of actual time worked in the Special School or Special
Program by a local school district employee.

“Tuition Billing form” means the standardized template developed and approved by the Department
of Education, and based on current state law, to determine the tuition costs allowable per pupil
attending a Special School or Special Program.

3.0 Process for Determining Tuition Eligibility

3.1 A local school district may charge tuition for an intra- or inter- district student enrolled in a Special
School or Special Program based on the following criteria:

3.1.1 The student shall be enrolled and attending the Special School or Special Program as of

September 30th of the current school year; and
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3.1.2 The charges attributed to the Special School or Special Program shall be limited to Educational
Related Expenses or those expenses that have been approved by the Department of Education.

3.2 A local school district operating a tuition eligible Special School or Special Program may not reallocate
state units earned for the Special School or Special Program, if such reallocation requires an increase
in the tuition tax rate or tuition billing amount. If a reallocation of state units earned will not require such
an increase, districts may reallocate positions as necessary to ensure the most efficient delivery of
services, except for those instances currently prohibited by state law, including but is not limited to, 14
Del.C., §1703(o).

4.0 Process for Tuition Billing

4.1 A local school district shall calculate the tuition charges by using the most current Tuition Billing forms
and instructions developed and approved by the Department of Education.

4.2 The local school district shall submit tuition bills to the Department of Education for certification no later

than November 15th of each year.

4.3 The Department of Education shall certify that the billing is true and correct no later than twenty (20)
working days after receipt. No bill for tuition charges shall be paid until it has been certified by the
Secretary of Education.

4.4 Upon certification, the local school district shall provide a copy of the certified tuition bill to the
district(s) whose students are being served by the Special School or Special Program.

4.4.1 A district may bill for its students being served by a Special School or Special Program that it
operates. All stipulations within this regulation shall be followed for intra district students.

4.5 Any local school district that has received a tuition bill from another local school district shall pay the

tuition charges no later than January 1st of the current school year.

4.6 All billing disputes shall be documented through written explanation and provided to the finance officer
of the local school district operating the Special School or Special Program.

4.6.1 Only charges in dispute may be held; the undisputed remainder of the tuition bill shall be paid as
described in 4.5.

4.6.2 Billing disputes shall be resolved and charges paid before the end of the current school year.

4.7 If any tuition bill is adjusted within the current school year after already being certified by the
Department, and if the adjustments alter the Special School or Special Program’s cost, individual
enrollment, total enrollment or tuition rate per pupil from what was already certified, the district shall
resubmit the tuition bill to the Department for approval and include reasons for change(s).

4.8 Tuition billings for a Special School or Special Program serving out-of-state students shall be submitted
to the Department of Education on a form entitled “Establishment of Tuition Costs for Out-of-State/
Country Students with Disabilities.” The Department of Education shall certify the tuition bill in
accordance with 14 Del.C., Chapter 6 and other sections of this regulation.

5.0 Tuition Billing Form and Reconciliation

5.1 For all estimated and actual tuition rate data, the sum of the sending district enrollments shall be equal
to the exact number of students in the total program enrollment.

5.2 Tuition bills shall be prepared and submitted in accordance with this regulation for intra-district
students served by an approved Special School or Special Program.

5.3 Tuition billings that yield an increase or decrease of 10% or more per pupil over the prior year estimate
shall include a detailed explanation for the rate change.

6.0 Waivers

Tuition charges may be waived in accordance with 14 Del.C. Chapter 6.

7.0 Audit and Record Retention Requirements
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The local school district shall follow the requirements for audit and record retention as prescribed by the Office
of the Auditor of Accounts and Department of State – Delaware Public Archives.

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to outline tuition eligibility and the process for tuition billing and payments, per
14 Del.C. Chapter 6.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, have the following meaning:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.

"Inter-district student" means a tuition-eligible student who is receiving services in a school district or charter
school other than the district of residence.

"Receiving school district" means any reorganized school district which enrolls in its schools any pupil who is
not a resident.

"Sending school district" means any reorganized school district which sends a resident student to a
receiving school district or charter school.

"Special program" means a program established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §203.

3.0 Process for Determining Tuition Eligibility (Special Programs)

3.1 A school district may charge tuition for intra-district (meaning students receiving services in the school
district in their district of residence) and inter-district students enrolled in a special program established
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §203.

3.2 The student shall be enrolled and attending the special program as of September 30th of the current
school year. School districts may reach agreements around partial year billing for inter-district students
attending special programs for less than the full year.

4.0 Process for Determining Tuition Eligibility (PreK, Intensive, Complex)

4.1 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1703, a school district may bill tuition for local share and excess costs of
students classified as preK, intensive and complex.

4.2 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §509(f), a charter school may bill tuition for excess local costs of students
classified as intensive and complex.

4.3 The student shall be enrolled and attending the school district or charter school as of September 30th
of the current school year.

5.0 Tuition Calculations and Expenditures

5.1 The charges attributed to tuition billing shall be limited to educational-related expenses (meaning
those expenses that are necessary to provide a free and appropriate education to tuition-eligible
students) and eligible indirect costs (meaning those costs that have been incurred for common or joint
purposes) that are necessary for the education of tuition-eligible students. An indirect cost rate shall
not exceed the restricted rate approved by the Department in the fiscal year.

5.2. Any tuition funding collected by any receiving school district or charter school must be expended on
costs identified as the basis for the charge.

6.0 Process for Tuition Billing

6.1 A school district or charter school shall calculate the tuition charges by using the most current tuition
billing forms and instructions for any tuition expenditures for all tuition-eligible students, excluding
private placements approved through the Interagency Collaborative Team (ICT). A tuition billing form
means the standardized templates developed and approved by the Department to determine the
tuition costs allowable per tuition-eligible student.
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6.2 A school district or charter school shall submit tuition bills to the Department for certification no later
than November 15th of each year. This timeline is critical to ensuring timely payment of obligations to
support students by January 1st in accordance with 14 Del.C. §602(d), and therefore must be met by
all school districts and charter schools eligible to submit tuition bills. Failure to meet this deadline may
result in the Department's inability to certify tuition bills.

6.3 Tuition bills must include documentary evidence to support and justify each entry on the tuition bill.
Documents to be submitted may include enrollment reports, payroll reports, financial statements, etc.,
and must allow the Department to validate each tuition bill submitted.

6.3.1 Tuition billings that yield an increase or decrease of 10% or more per student over the prior year
estimate shall include a detailed explanation for the change.

6.3.2 If the Department is unable to certify any tuition bill as submitted, additional documentary evidence
may be requested.

6.4 The Department shall certify that the billing is true and correct no later than 20 working days after
receipt of all documentary evidence including any additional information requested as allowed for in
subsection 6.3.2. No bill for tuition charges shall be paid until it has been certified by the Secretary of
Education, or designee.

6.5 Upon certification, the receiving school district or charter school shall provide a copy of the certified
tuition bill to the sending school district whose students are being served by the receiving school
district or charter school.

6.6 Any billing disputes on behalf of the sending school district shall be documented through written
explanation and provided to the Chief Financial Officer (or equivalent) of the receiving school district or
charter school and the Department no later than December 31st.

6.6.1 Only charges in dispute may be held; the undisputed remainder of the tuition bill shall be paid.

6.6.2 Billing disputes shall be resolved by the parties and charges paid before the end of the current
school year. If disputes have not been resolved by May 1st of each year, both parties shall notify
the Department of the circumstances and the Department shall provide a resolution no later than
June 1st of the same year. Upon review, the Department shall provide a written decision to both
parties, and that decision will serve as the basis for final certification of the tuition bill for immediate
payment.

6.7 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §602(d), any sending school district that has received a tuition bill from a
receiving school district or charter school shall pay the tuition charges no later than January 1st of the
current school year. In the event payment is delayed beyond the statutorily required date, the
Department may process tuition payments from the sending school district's local tuition appropriation.

6.8 If any tuition bill is adjusted within the current school year after being certified by the Department, and
if the adjustments alter the cost, individual enrollment, total enrollment or tuition rate per student from
what was already certified, the receiving school district or charter school shall send an amended tuition
bill to the Department for approval and include justification.

6.9 Tuition billings for a special program serving out-of-state students shall be submitted to the
Department on a form entitled "Establishment of Tuition Costs for Out-of-State/Country Students with
Disabilities." The Department shall certify the tuition bill in accordance with 14 Del.C. Ch. 6 and other
sections of this regulation.
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(a) (14 Del.C. §122(a))
14 DE Admin. Code 1001

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1001 Participation in Extra Curricular Activities

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Repeal of Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
The Secretary of Education intends to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 1001 Participation in Extra Curricular

Activities.   This regulation is being repealed because it is no longer necessary. Academic eligibility criteria for
middle and high school students' participation in extracurricular activities is established by the Delaware
Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA) Board and Delaware public schools, including school districts and
charter schools, are required to comply with such requirements pursuant to 14 Del.C. §304(3).

In accordance with 14 Del.C. §122(d), the Department is required to perform and issue a written educational
impact analysis of any new proposed regulation and of any regulation that is proposed to be continued. Because
this regulation is proposed to be repealed, the Department is not required to perform and issue a written
educational impact analysis.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m. EST) on or before
December 1, 2023. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a copy from
the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street,
Dover, Delaware.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 308RFA 11-01-23.pdf

1001 Participation in Extra Curricular Activities

1.0 Academic Eligibility Criteria

Local school districts and charter schools shall establish their own academic eligibility criteria for
participation in all extra curricular activities except for interscholastic athletics. The academic eligibility
criteria for interscholastic athletics is established in 14 DE Admin. Code 1009.2.6 DIAA Senior High
School Interscholastic Athletics, and in 14 DE Admin. Code 1008.2.6 DIAA Junior High and Middle
School Interscholastic Athletics.

Comment: In establishing and implementing academic eligibility criteria applicable to students with
disabilities, districts are reminded that some flexibility may be contemplated by Federal guidelines.
See 34 CFR Sec. 104.4.
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(b)(15) and 303 (14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) & 
303)

14 DE Admin. Code 1034

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

1034 DIAA Health and Safety Requirements

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) and 303, the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association Board of

Directors ("Board"), acting in consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education
("Department"), proposes amendments to 14 DE Admin. Code 1034 DIAA Health and Safety Requirements. The
regulation provides health and safety requirements that are designed to protect the physical well-being of student
athletes and to promote healthy, adolescent lifestyles in accordance with 14 Del.C. §301. The proposed
amendments include adding and striking terms in Section 2.0, revising Section 4.0, and embedding the definition of
"Qualified Healthcare Professional" within Section 7.0. The proposed amendments are consistent with HS 1 for HB
193 of the 152nd General Assembly, which was signed into law on September 21, 2023, and were recommended
to the Board by the Board's Sports Medicine Advisory Committee.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901
or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/
regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m. EST) on or before December 4, 2023. Any
person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a copy from the Department at the
Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation concerns health and safety requirements that are designed to protect the
physical well-being of student athletes and to promote healthy, adolescent lifestyles and is not designed to help
improve student achievement as measured against state achievement standards. The regulation is being amended
as a result of HS 1 for HB 193 of the 152nd General Assembly. The proposed amendments are consistent with the
bill that was signed into law on September 21, 2023.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation concerns health and safety requirements that are designed to protect the physical well-being of student
athletes and to promote healthy, adolescent lifestyles and is not designed to help ensure that all students receive
an equitable education. The regulation is being amended as a result of HS 1 for HB 193 of the 152nd General
Assembly. The proposed amendments are consistent with the bill that was signed into law on September 21, 2023.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation concerns health and safety requirements that are designed to protect the physical well-being
of student athletes and to promote healthy, adolescent lifestyles, so the regulation will help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation concerns health and safety requirements that are designed to protect the physical well-being of student
athletes and to promote healthy, adolescent lifestyles and is not designed to help ensure all students' legal rights
are respected. The regulation is being amended as a result of HS 1 for HB 193 of the 152nd General Assembly.
The proposed amendments are consistent with the bill that was signed into law on September 21, 2023.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS310
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change the authority or flexibility of decision makers at
the local board and school level. By statute (14 Del.C. §303), DIAA develops rules and regulations relating to
middle and secondary school interscholastic athletics for schools in Delaware, including the regulation of athletic
programs of all public schools and such nonpublic schools that elect to become full or associate DIAA Member
Schools. The Board enforces the regulations (14 Del.C. §304).

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The Board enforces the regulations relating to interscholastic athletics in Delaware (14 Del.C.
§304).

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The amended regulation concerns health and
safety requirements that are designed to protect the physical well-being of student athletes and to promote healthy,
adolescent lifestyles. The regulation is being amended as a result of HS 1 for HB 193 of the 152nd General
Assembly. The proposed amendments are consistent with the bill that was signed into law on September 21, 2023.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? There is not a
less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended regulation?
There is no expected cost to the state or to the local school boards of compliance with the amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 309RFA 11-01-23.pdf

1034 DIAA Health and Safety Requirements

1.0 Content

In accordance with 14 Del.C. §§301 and 303, this regulation provides health and safety requirements that are
designed to protect the physical well-being of student athletes and to promote healthy, adolescent lifestyles,
including physical examinations for student athletes at the middle and high school levels, the concussion protocol
for all student athletes pursuant to 14 Del.C. §303(d), wrestling weight control programs, requiring medical
personnel in attendance at football games, and requiring certain certifications for individuals who oversee certain
interscholastic athletic activities.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning:

"Administrative Head" means the chief or head individual in charge of a DIAA member school, traditionally
referred to or generally known as the principal or headmaster.

"Board" means the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association Board of Directors established pursuant to
14 Del.C. Ch. 3.

"Conditioning Program" means a voluntary conditioning program that is available to all interested, accepted
and registered students at a Member School, is not restricted to members of a particular team, and in
which sport-specific equipment and organized drills in the skills and techniques of a particular sport are
prohibited.

"Executive Director" means the Executive Director of the DIAA.

"Guardian" or "Legal Guardian" means an individual who legally has responsibility for the care and
management of the student during the student's minority. The relationship is a legal one and must be
created by a court order signed by a judge, commissioner, or master of a court of competent
jurisdiction.
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"Informal Instruction" means drills to teach sport-specific skills with only demonstration-level contact
permitted. Informal instruction does not involve team competitions or contests. Intentional or direct
contact is not permitted.

"Member School" means a full or associate member school of the DIAA.

"Practice" means working on skills for a particular sport within a single team at a Member School as guided by
coaches and includes team workouts and inner-team scrimmages.

"Qualified Healthcare Professional" means a Doctor of Medicine (MD); a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine
(DO); or a school nurse, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or athletic trainer. Qualified Healthcare
Professionals shall be licensed by their state and in good standing with the State of Delaware.

"Qualified Healthcare Provider" means a Doctor of Medicine (MD), a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO), a
Physician Assistant, an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, athletic trainer, or sports physical
therapist who is trained and experienced in the evaluation, management, and care of concussions or a
licensed psychologist with training in neuropsychology and in the evaluation and management of
concussions. Qualified Healthcare Providers shall be licensed by their state and in good standing with
the State of Delaware.

"Qualified Physician" means a Doctor of Medicine (MD) or a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) who is
licensed by their state and in good standing with the State of Delaware.

"Relative Caregiver" means an adult who, by blood, marriage or adoption, is the child's great grandparent,
grandparent, step grandparent, great aunt, aunt, step aunt, great uncle, uncle, step uncle, step parent,
brother, sister, step brother, step sister, half brother, half sister, niece, nephew, first cousin or first
cousin once removed but who does not have legal custody or legal guardianship of the student.

"Scrimmage" means an informal competition between schools in which a final score is not kept, the time
periods are permitted to be modified, the results of the competition are not reported to the media, the
coaches are permitted to interrupt the play to provide instruction, and the competition is strictly for
practice purposes.

"Summer" means the period of time from the last scheduled date for DIAA spring sport championships to
August 1st. 

"Workout" means generic conditioning activities engaged in by individual student athletes, including aerobic,
agility, balance, flexibility, and resistance training.

3.0 Physical Examinations

3.1 A student athlete shall not be eligible to try out, Practice, Scrimmage, or compete in an interscholastic
contest unless a licensed physician (MD or DO), a licensed nurse practitioner, or a licensed physician's
assistant verifies in writing on or after April 1 and before beginning such athletic activity for the current
school year that the student athlete has been adequately examined within the last 12 months and is
cleared medically to participate. However, should any conditions found in subsection 3.3 of this
regulation occur since the last examination, a reexamination is required before the student athlete can
be medically cleared. A student athlete who participates in a contest without a preparticipation physical
evaluation shall be considered an ineligible athlete and the athlete and the student athlete's Member
School shall be subject to penalties.

3.1.1 A student shall not participate in any Conditioning Programs during the Summer or school year
without a current preparticipation physical evaluation.

3.1.2 Student athletes without a current preparticipation physical evaluation are required to submit an
up-to-date physical and medical history form in order to participate in interscholastic athletic
activities.

3.2 A DIAA approved form certifying the examination as well as the parent's, Legal Guardian's, or Relative
Caregiver's consent, shall be on file with the Administrative Head prior to the student athlete
participating in a Practice, Scrimmage, or game.

3.3 For any subsequent sports season in the school year, a limited reexamination shall be performed if any
of the following circumstances exist: the student athlete has been treated for an injury during the
preceding sports season, the student athlete has been out of school during the preceding sports
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season with an illness other than the usual minor upper respiratory or gastrointestinal upset, an
operation has been performed on the student athlete during the preceding sports season, or the
student athlete has a remedial defect.

3.4 The medical history of the student athlete shall be available at the time of each examination.

3.5 A student athlete is temporarily ineligible to participate if the student athlete who is otherwise properly
certified to participate in interscholastic athletics is physically unable to participate due to illness or
injury for 5 consecutive days on which a Practice, Scrimmage or contest is held. Prior to resuming
participation, the student athlete shall present to the Administrative Head or the Administrative Head's
designee, a statement from a licensed physician (MD or DO), a nurse practitioner, or a physician's
assistant that the student athlete is again physically able to participate. If a student athlete is physically
unable to participate due to a head injury, the concussion protocol in Section 4.0 shall be followed.

4.0 Concussion Protocol

4.1 If a student athlete is suspected of sustaining a concussion or exhibits signs or symptoms of a
concussion, the student athlete shall be removed from the Practice or game immediately.

4.2 A Qualified Healthcare Professional Provider shall determine whether an apparent concussion has
occurred. The Qualified Healthcare Professional Provider shall be approved by the host school to
provide on-site evaluations of student athletes who are suspected of sustaining a concussion or exhibit
signs or symptoms of a concussion. If a Qualified Healthcare Professional Provider is not present or is
not appointed or approved by the host school, the injury shall be treated as a concussion and the
student athlete shall not return to play until the student athlete is evaluated by a Qualified Healthcare
Professional Provider in an appropriate medical setting.

4.3 If a Qualified Healthcare Professional Provider determines that the student athlete did not sustain a
concussion, the student athlete may return to play.

4.4 If a Qualified Healthcare Professional Provider determines that the student athlete sustained a
concussion or is unable to rule out a concussion, the student athlete shall be referred for further
evaluation by a Qualified Physician. The student athlete shall be ineligible to participate in Practices,
Scrimmages, or contests until the student athlete receives written clearance from a Qualified Physician
Healthcare Provider on the DIAA Acute Concussion Evaluation (ACE) and Return to Play Form.

4.4.1 Clearance to enter Stage 5 of the return to play protocol shall be made by a Qualified Healthcare
Provider who is not employed by the member school.

4.4.2 For the purpose of this subsection, a licensed athletic trainer or school nurse shall provide final
clearance after completion of the return to play protocol.

4.5 Failure to comply with the requirements of this regulation shall result in the student athlete being
considered ineligible. The student athlete and Member School shall be penalized by the Board for
violations of the concussion protocol.

4.6 If an official observes an apparent injury, the official shall report the injury to the student athlete's
coach.

4.7 The Sports Medicine Advisory Committee may recommend amendments to the Concussion Protocol
to the Rules and Regulations Committee and the Board.

5.0 High School Wrestling Weight Control Program

5.1 For health and safety reasons, the DIAA Wrestling Committee has recommended the Wrestling Weight
Control Program which requires each student athlete to establish their minimum weight class via body
composition testing. The Wrestling Weight Control Program, as recommended by the DIAA Wrestling
Committee, is adopted by the Board. The DIAA Wrestling Committee may recommend amendments to
the Board. The program requires hydration testing with a specific gravity not greater than 1.025, which
immediately precedes the body composition assessment. A minimum weight class is determined by a
body fat assessment. Male student athletes shall not compete at a weight class lower than 7% body fat
and female student athletes shall not compete at a weight class lower than 12% body fat. Any student
athlete's assessment that is below 7% for males and 12% for females shall require a medical release
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signed by a licensed physician (MD or DO). The release shall not allow a student athlete to participate
at a weight class below that for which the initial assessment allows. The program restricts student
athletes to an average weight loss of 1.5% a week, with descent, until the student athlete has reached
the minimum weight determined by the initial body composition testing. A 2-pound growth allowance
shall be permitted on or after December 26th each year for student athletes who have certified at their
approved minimum weight class. Student athletes shall not receive the 2-pound growth allowance until
they have certified at their minimum weight.

5.2 Student athletes shall certify at their minimum weight class on or before the last competition date for
wrestling in order to be eligible to participate at their minimum weight class in the dual meet and state
tournaments series, including qualifying tournaments.

5.3 The Wrestling Weight Control Program includes an online roster management program utilizing the
National Wrestling Coaches Association weight management program. The program creates an "alpha
master roster" which must be presented to the opposing coach or tournament director prior to weighing
in. Each Member School shall have access to the alpha master roster of all Member Schools.

6.0 Middle School Wrestling Weight Control Program

6.1 Each year, 4 weeks from the first day a student athlete appears at wrestling Practice, the student
athlete shall establish the student athlete's minimum weight class at a weigh in witnessed by and
attested to in writing by the athletic director or a designated staff member (excluding coaches) of the
school the student athlete attends. A student athlete may recertify at a lower weight during the 4 weeks
from the first day they appear at Practice. However, once certified at a weight, a student athlete shall
not weigh in more than 1 class above the weight of the certification without automatically recertifying at
a higher weight. Once recertified to a higher weight class the student athlete can no longer recertify
lower. After 4 weeks from the first Practice day, a student athlete shall not compete in a weight class
below the student athlete's duly established weight class.

6.2 By the end of 4 weeks of Practice, a certified team roster listing the established minimum weight class
of each student athlete shall be sent to the Executive Director. Further, duly attested notices of
additions to the certified roster shall be sent to the Executive Director without delay.

6.3  Weight classifications and length of match shall be designated by the Board.

6.4  A team that begins its season in October shall receive a 1-pound growth allowance in November and
an additional 1-pound growth allowance in December. A team that begins its season in November
shall receive a 1-pound growth allowance in December, an additional 1-pound growth allowance in
January, and a third 1-pound growth allowance in February.

6.5  Member Schools that desire to conduct their wrestling program at a time other than the specified
season must request permission from the Board.

6.6  Except as modified by this section, the current edition of the NFHS Wrestling Rules Book shall apply.

7.0 Required Medical Personnel in Attendance at All Football Games

Provision shall be made for a Qualified Healthcare Professional Doctor of Medicine (MD), a Doctor of
Osteopathic Medicine (DO), school nurse, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or athletic trainer to be present at
all interscholastic football games in which a Member School participates. The Qualified Healthcare Professional
Doctor of Medicine (MD), a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO), school nurse, nurse practitioner, physician
assistant, or athletic trainer shall be licensed by their state and in good standing with the State of Delaware and
must be approved or appointed by the Administrative Head or the Administrative Head's designee. The host school
shall provide this service. Failure by the host school to provide this service shall result in a $250.00 fine.

8.0 Required Certifications for Individuals Who Oversee Workouts, Conditioning Programs, Open Gym 
Programs, and Informal Instruction

All certified, emergency, and volunteer coaches, including individuals overseeing Workouts, Conditioning
Programs, open gym programs, and Informal Instruction, shall maintain current certification in CPR, AED, and first
aid and complete the NFHS' "Concussion in Sports" course online through NFHSlearn.com every 2 years.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 9706(g)(2) (16 Del.C. §9706(g)(2))
16 DE Admin. Code 4305

PUBLIC NOTICE

4305 Trauma System Regulation

Office of Emergency Medical Services & Preparedness Section, Division of Public Health, Department of
Health and Social Services (Department), has proposed amendments to the State of Delaware Trauma System
Regulations. The proposed revisions to the Trauma System regulations bring the Delaware Statewide Trauma
System and its components into alignment with the current revision of the American College of Surgeons'
Committee on Trauma's Resources for Optimal Care of the Injured Patient 2022 Standards. The revisions were
developed and recommended by the stakeholders who serve on the state Trauma System Committee and
primarily are related to documentation of the requirements for Trauma System Participating Hospitals, modification
of the Trauma Registry inclusion criteria to be in alignment with the National Trauma Data Bank criteria, updating of
the Trauma Center Designation Process, and relocation of the Prehospital Trauma Triage Scheme to the
Advanced and Basic Life Support Standing Orders. Older, original, and outdated sections were updated with
current practices.

On November 1, 2023, pursuant to 16 Del.C. §9706 (g)(2), the Department plans to publish proposed
amendments to the State of Delaware Trauma System Regulations and hold them out for public comment per
Delaware law.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the November 1, 2023 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Office of Emergency
Medical Services at (302) 223-2700.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning
the proposed regulations must submit them by December 1, 2023, at:

Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Email: DHSS_DPH_regulations@delaware.gov
Phone: (302) 744-44951

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 314RFA 11-01-23.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 314 11-01-23.htm
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DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 122(3)t (16 Del.C. §122(3)t)
16 DE Admin. Code 4459

PUBLIC NOTICE

4459 Lead-Based Paint Hazards

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §122(3)t., the Health Systems Protection section within the Division of Public Health,
Department of Health and Social Services, is proposing revisions to the Lead Based Paints Hazards. The revisions
include:

• Addition of electronic payments for Accreditation of Training Programs;
• Removal of the requirement for the Secretary to maintain a list of parities whose accreditation has changed

status; and
• Addition of the ability for an Abatement Worker to apply for a 1 year provisional certification.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the November 1, 2023, edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Division of Public
Health at (302) 744- 4700.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, testimony, briefs, or other written materials concerning the
proposed regulations must submit them by Friday, December 1, 2023, at:

Division of Public Health 
417 Federal Street 
Dover, DE 19901 
Email: DHSS_DPH_regulations@delaware.gov
Phone: (302) 744-4700

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 315RFA 11-01-23.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 315 11-01-23.htm

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 122(3)t (16 Del.C. §122(3)t)
16 DE Admin. Code 4459A

PUBLIC NOTICE

4459A Regulations Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §122(3)t, the Health Systems Protection section within the Division of Public Health,
Department of Health and Social Services, is proposing revisions to the Regulations Governing the Childhood
Lead Poisoning Prevention. The revisions include:

• Addition of the Division's investigation and reporting obligations; and
• Technical and renumbering revisions.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 27, ISSUE 5, WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2023

http://regulations.delaware.gov
mailto:DHSS_DPH_regulations@delaware.gov
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 315RFA 11-01-23.pdf
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 315 11-01-23.htm
https://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html
https://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html


PROPOSED REGULATIONS316
Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the November 1, 2023, edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Division of Public
Health at (302) 744- 4700. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, testimony, briefs, or other written materials concerning the
proposed regulations must submit them by Friday, December 1, 2023, at: 

Division of Public Health 
417 Federal Street 
Dover, DE 19901 
Email: DHSS_DPH_regulations@delaware.gov
Phone: (302) 744-4700

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 315aRFA 11-01-23.pdf

4459A Regulations Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11.0 Division's Investigation and Reporting Obligations

11.1 Within 60 days of receiving notification that a child has an elevated blood lead level, the Division shall
determine: the child's residential address from birth through testing, the site of the child's lead
exposure, and the property owner of the site at which the child became exposed to lead. Any
documents that the Division creates or holds that contain confidential health information shall be
conspicuously marked and will not become public documents.

11.2 Within 10 days of identifying the site of lead exposure, the Division shall notify the Delaware State
Lead-Based Paint Program of the location and contact information of the property owner. These
communications will be public records subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act,
Delaware Code Title 29, Chapter 100.

11.0 12.0Severability

If any provision or application of any provision of these regulations is held invalid, that invalidity shall
not affect the validity of other provisions or applications of these regulations.

27 DE Reg. 109 (08/01/23)

12.0 13.0Penalty

Violators are subject to sanctions pursuant to 16 Del.C. §107 for each violation of the requirements
established in these regulations.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 315a 11-01-23.htm
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DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Sections 3004F(d) and 3008F(a) (16 Del.C. §§3004F(d) 
& 3008F(a))

16 DE Admin. Code 4501

PUBLIC NOTICE

4501 Regulations for Animals Held in Shelter

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §3004F(d) and §3008F(a), Office of Animal Welfare, Division of Public Health, Department of
Health and Social Services, is proposing revisions to the regulations governing Animals Held in Shelter. On
November 1, 2023, the Division of Public Health plans to publish as "proposed" revisions to the Animals Held in
Shelter regulations. The revisions include updates to reflect current best practices in animal sheltering, edits
required to mirror recent changes in Delaware Code, and technical corrections.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the November 1, 2023 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Division of Public
Health at (302) 744-4951.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, testimony, briefs, or other written materials concerning the
proposed regulations must submit them by December 1, 2023, at:

Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Email: DHSS_DPH_regulations@delaware.gov
Phone: (302) 744-4951

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 317RFA 11-01-23.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 317 11-01-23.htm

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL AFFAIRS

Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, Sections 105 and 2322B(19 Del.C. §§105 & 2322B)
19 DE Admin. Code 1341

PUBLIC NOTICE

1341 Workers' Compensation Regulations

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 19 Del.C. §§105 and 2322B, the Delaware Department of Labor, Office of Workers'
Compensation ("Office"), proposes to modify 19 DE Admin. Code 1341 regarding the health care payment
system, specifically the Workers' Compensation Regulations.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
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compilations of data or other written materials concerning the proposed modifications should direct them to the
following address:

Susan Justison
Delaware Department of Labor
Division of Industrial Affairs / Office of Workers' Compensation
4425 North Market Street, 3rd Floor
Wilmington, DE 19802

Comments may also be directed via electronic mail to susan.justison@Delaware.gov. Any written submission in
response to this notice and relevant to the proposed rules must be received by the above contact at the Delaware
Department of Labor no later than 4 p.m. EST, December 1, 2023.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed rule and guidelines will be based upon
the Office's consideration of the written comments and any other written materials filed by the public.

Statutory Authority 19 Del.C. §105

 19 Del.C. §105 enables the Delaware Department of Labor to adopt and promulgate rules and regulations not
inconsistent with Title 19 of the Delaware Code; provided, that no such rule or regulation shall extend, modify or
conflict with any law of the State of Delaware or the reasonable implications thereof.

19 Del.C. §2322B enables the Delaware Department of Labor to adopt and promulgate rules and regulations
for adjustments to the health care payment system following adoption and recommendation by the Workers'
Compensation Oversight Panel.

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 317aRFA 11-01-23.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 317a 11-01-23.htm

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 102, 103, 758, and 801 (7 Del.C. §§102, 103, 
758 & 801)

7 DE Admin. Code 3900

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN # 2023-08

DOCKET # 2023-R-F-0013

3900 Wildlife

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:

Amend 7 DE Admin. Code 3900 Wildlife

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS 319
The Division of Fish and Wildlife's Wildlife Section is proposing to make amendments to existing regulations within
7 DE Admin. Code 3900 Wildlife. Specifically, changes are proposed within sections - 1.0 Definitions, 2.0 Method
of Take, 3.0 Federal Laws and Regulations Adopted, 4.0 Seasons, 5.0 Wild Turkeys, 7.0 Deer, 8.0 General Rules
and Regulations Governing Land and Waters Administered by the Division, 9.0 Wildlife Theft Prevention Fund,
10.0 Nuisance Wildlife, 14.0 Falconry, 15.0 Collection or Sale of Native Wildlife, 16.0 Endangered Species, 17.0
Species of Special Concern, 19.0 (Reserved), 20.0 Game Bird Releases, 21.0 Guide License, 22.0 Hunter and
Trapper License Exempt Number, and 23.0 Non-native/Invasive Wildlife A new set of regulations is being proposed
with the creation of, 24.0 Wildlife Management Zone Boundaries.

While expansive, most of the changes being proposed will provide additional hunting and trapping opportunities
such as establishing new seasons, expanding current seasons, providing additional methods of take and
developing new and improved reporting criteria for harvested game. However, some of the proposed changes are
needed to minimize negative impacts to some species and to minimize damage to infrastructure and habitats on
lands and waters administered by the Division, while others are minor administrative updates such as correcting
grammar and misspellings.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:

N/A

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:

Statutory basis for these changes is authorized under 7 Del.C. §102, §103, §758, and §801

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

N/A

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:

The hearing record on the proposed changes to 7 DE Admin. Code 3900 will be open November 1, 2023. The
virtual public hearing will be held on Wednesday, December 13, 2023, beginning at 6:00 p.m. The web link to the
virtual hearing can be accessed through the DNREC Public Hearings site at https://dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/
public-hearings/. If prompted, use Meeting ID: 981 1400 7545 Passcode: 955331. To access the audio-only portion
of the virtual hearing, dial (305) 224- 1968 and enter the Meeting ID and Passcode noted above. Closed captioning
is available in over 20 languages, including English and Spanish, to attendees via the Zoom platform utilized for all
DNREC Public Hearings.

Those wishing to offer verbal comments during DNREC virtual public hearings must pre-register no later than noon
on the date of the virtual hearing. The designated page for this Pre-Registration process can be found here: https:/
/dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/public-hearings/comments/registration/

The proposed amendments may be inspected online starting November 1, 2023 at https://
regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or in-person, by appointment only, by contacting Joe
Rogerson by phone at 302-735-3600 or by email at Joseph.Rogerson@delaware.gov. 

Public comments will be received until close of business Friday, January 12, 2024. Comments will be accepted in
written form via email to DNRECHearingComments@delaware.gov, or by using the online form at https://de.gov/
dnreccomments, or by U.S. mail to the following address:

Lisa Vest, Hearing Officer
DNREC - Office of the Secretary
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901
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7. PREPARED BY:

Joe Rogerson
Joseph.Rogerson@delaware.gov 
(302) 735-3600

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 318RFA 11-01-23.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 318 11-01-23.htm

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
STATE BUREAU OF IDENTIFICATION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 1305(b)(1) (24 Del.C. §1305(b)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 1300

PUBLIC NOTICE

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies

Purpose: In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 24 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 13, Section 1305(b)(1), the
Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies proposes to adopt regulations to allow
the use of canines by licensed security guards for the detection of firearms and controlled substances.

Written Comments: The Delaware Department of Safety and Homeland Security, State Bureau of Identification
will receive written comments, suggestions, briefs or other written material until the close of business, 4:30 p.m.,
December 1, 2023. Written comments shall be submitted via e-mail to Frank.Kaleta@delaware.gov or via the
USPS to Frank Kaleta, 600 South Bay Rd. Suite 1, Dover DE 19901.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 320RFA 11-01-23.pdf

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies

1.0 Firearm’s Firearms Policy

1.1 Section 1.0 shall apply only to individuals licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13, while such individuals are
acting in the performance of their duties as an armed security guard or armed armored car guard.

1.2 No individual licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall carry a firearm unless that individual has first
passed an approved firearms course of instruction and an initial qualification administered by an
approved firearms instructor. The course of instruction shall include a minimum 40 hours of training.
The Professional Licensing Section may waive the 40 hour training requirement depending upon the
applicant's professional credentials, training and/or or work experience (i.e. prior law enforcement). If
waived, they the applicant must show proficiency and qualify a day and low light shoot with an
approved firearms instructor. The initial qualification course shall be used to fulfill one day and one low
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS 321
light requirement during the first year; however an additional day shoot must be completed at least 90
days after the date of initial certification, within the calendar year.

1.3 In order to open carry a firearm while in the performance of their duties, individuals licensed to carry a
firearm under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 must shoot a minimum of three qualifying shoots per calendar year,
scheduled on at least two separate days, with a minimum 90 days between scheduled day shoots. Of
these three, there will be one mandatory “low light” shoot which may be combined with a day shoot.
Two day shoots shall not be completed on the same date. These qualifying shoots will be administered
by an approved firearms instructor.

1.3.1 An individual not meeting the minimum qualifications set forth in subsection 1.3 may have their
firearms license suspended until such time that they meet the minimum three qualifying shoots
within the calendar year.

1.4 Only the handguns with the following calibers are permitted:

1.4.1 9mm;

1.4.2 .357;

1.4.3 .38;

1.4.4 .40;

1.4.5 .45; or

1.4.6 .357 SIG.

1.5 All weapons must be either a revolver or semi-automatic and must be double-action or double-action
only and must be maintained to factory specifications.

1.6 Under no circumstances will anyone under this Section be allowed to carry any type of weapon that is
not described herein.

1.7 All individuals must meet the minimum qualifications set forth in subsection 1.3 with the same make/
model/caliber of weapon that he/she the individual will carry.

1.8 All ammunition must be factory fresh (no re-loads).

1.9 The minimum passing score is 80%.

1.10 Private investigative, private security, and armored car agencies shall be held responsible for
monitoring all firearm certification or recertification for their employees for compliance with
promulgated rules and regulations.

1.11 All firearms licenses, armed security guard and armed armored car guard, are valid for a period of one
year. Private investigative, private security, and armored car agencies must provide the Professional
Licensing Section with documentation that employees are compliant with firearm certification and

recertification requirements of Section 1.0 by January 15th of each year for the previous calendar year.

1.12 If an individual requests to carry a different approved weapon, while in the performance of their the
individual’s duties as an armed security guard or armed armored car guard, other than the one on file
with the Professional Licensing Section, he/she the individual must have approval from the Director of
Professional Licensing after providing documentation by their the individual’s respective agency
demonstrating that they the individual successfully passed a day and lowlight qualification shoot with
their the new weapon. Upon approval, the individual can begin to carry the new weapon and the prior
qualification of a different weapon will become void. Another day shoot with the new weapon must take
place after 90 days, during the same calendar year. Individuals will only be authorized to carry the
weapon they last qualified with and provided proof of qualification to the Professional Licensing
Section.

1.12.1 An individual may not change weapons after September 30th, of the current calendar year, without
prior approval of the Director of Professional Licensing, after submitting a request to the
Professional Licensing Section. If approval is granted, the individual must be certified and their the
individual’s agency must provide documentation demonstrating that the individual successfully
passed a day and low light qualification shoot with their the new weapon to the Professional
Licensing Section prior to carrying the weapon.

1.13 Firearms Instructors providing instruction under Section 1.0;
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1.13.1 Firearms instructors must be certified by the National Rifle Association as a Law Enforcement
Instructor or through a law enforcement training and standards commission (i.e. C.O.P.T.).
Certification by another professional firearms training institution as a "certified law enforcement
firearms Instructor" must be approved by the Board. Instructors approved by the Board through
another professional firearms training institution will have reciprocity approval with any other Board
under Department of Safety and Homeland Security, Division of State Police, Professional
Licensing Section.

1.13.2 Firearms instructors are restricted to teaching and qualifying individuals according to the type of
firearm matching their certification. (For example, a certified handgun instructor may only instruct
and qualify individuals with the handgun.)

1.13.3 All firearms instructors must be approved by the Professional Licensing Section before they are
authorized to instruct or qualify licensed individuals.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4.0 Training Requirements

4.1 Each person licensed as a security guard under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall successfully complete a
training program approved by the Board, and any such additional training as the Board deems
appropriate. Satisfactory completion of the training program shall be certified by mandatory testing
with a passing grade of 75%. The test will be administered by a Board approved training/testing facility.

4.1.1 The required training shall include, but not be limited to, instruction in rules and regulations, legal
requirements and limitations, use of force, ethics, emergency services, diversity, communication,
asset protection, and terrorism. The Board, in its discretion, may require such additional topics as
it finds necessary.

4.1.2 Individuals engaged in any violation of academic integrity which is validated by the testing facility
will be required to repeat the testing process and incur any additional costs involved. If a
subsequent violation of the academic standard is discovered and validated by the testing facility,
the individual will be barred from taking any further tests and their license or application will be
denied/suspended. No provision of this Section will exclude the individual from a due process
hearing before the Board, if requested.

4.1.3 Individuals may complete the training with either a Board approved training facility or the agency
that employs them. The employer must hold either a Class B or Class C agency license.

4.2 Certified instructors must be employed by a Board approved training facility or a Class B or C agency
providing the training. All instructors' certifications will be pursuant to subsection 4.2.1.

4.2.1 Instructors for the training program must be certified by a Board approved training facility by
completing an Instructor Certification Course. This course will be developed by an approved
training/testing facility with collaboration from the Professional Licensing Section, and approved by
the Board. An instructors test shall be mandatory with a passing grade of 75%. If this test is failed,
the instructor shall re-take the course and the test until receiving a passing grade before being
certified. Instructors who were approved by rules set by previous versions of this Section would
remain eligible to instruct as long as they retake the Instructor Certification Course administered
by the Board approved facility by January 1, 2021.

4.2.2 In order to remain certified, instructors must take a refresher course offered by a Board approved
training facility every five years or sooner as the Board may require. The refresher course will
contain updates to the training curriculum and testing materials previously approved by the board.

4.2.3 The approved training facility shall provide the Professional Licensing Section with the names and
test scores of all instructors certified. This information will be forwarded to the Board.

4.2.4 An instructors instructor’s approval may be suspended or revoked as deemed necessary by the
Board.

4.3 The Professional Licensing Section shall have the authority to require regular reports on training from
licensees and employers, and shall report to the Board on compliance with this Section.
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4.4 Training and test certifications shall be submitted with each new or renewal application, and the
training shall be completed no more than one year prior to submission of the application.

5.0 Use Of Animals

The use of animals is prohibited.

5.1 The use of animals is prohibited, except for a canine to be used solely for the detection of firearms,
ammunition, or controlled substances.

5.2 Any private security agency licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 wishing to use a canine, shall use a
Delaware licensed security guard as the canine handler.

5.3 Both the canine and the security guard must have completed a training program consistent with the
detection of all items listed. All certifications/re-certifications must be on file with the private security
agency and available within 72 hours to the Professional Licensing Section for inspection.

5.4 The Board of Examiners shall review and approve or deny the request by a private security agency
licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 to use a canine as outlined in subsection 5.1 of this regulation.

5.5 The Director of Professional Licensing shall have the authority to investigate any violation or complaint
regarding the use of a canine. The Director may, without notice, issue a suspension of the use of a
canine at a job site upon finding that an emergency exists that requires immediate action to protect the
health and safety of the public. The suspension shall be effective immediately. The Professional
Licensing Section shall be responsible for issuing a final written report to the Board at the conclusion of
its investigation.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

7.0 Employment Notification

7.1 Anyone applying for licensure/registration under this chapter may be rejected without refund, or have
their license revoked, for knowingly omitting any criminal history, other material information or to make
a false statement on their application.

7.2 Employers Responsibility

7.2.1 A licensed private security agency, after investigation, shall notify the Professional Licensing
Section, in writing, of any terminated employees. This information is to be included in the next
monthly roster report following the termination.

7.2.2 A licensed private security agency shall report to the Professional Licensing Section, in writing, the
following:

7.2.2.1 The name of any employee arrested;

7.2.2.2 The name of any employee admitted to any mental hospital ward, mental institution or
sanitarium; or

7.2.2.3 The name of any employee disabled from carrying, owning, or possession a gun by action
of federal or state statute and/or statute, or court order, including bond orders and
protection from abuse orders.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11.0 Personnel Rosters and Job Assignments

11.1 Anyone licensed as a private security agency (Class B or C) under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall submit an
alphabetical personnel roster and a job site list to the Professional Licensing Section by the tenth of
every month. Anyone licensed as a private investigative agency (Class A) or armored car agency
(Class D), under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13, shall submit an alphabetical personnel roster to the Professional
Licensing Section by the tenth of January, April, July and October. Class A rosters only need to use
the position code for the License Holder and Compliance Agent. Class D rosters must specify an
individual that only has a yellow card, the License Holder and Compliance Agent. 
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11.1.1 Alphabetical, by last name, personnel rosters shall include the full name, DOB, race, sex,
expiration date, and position code of each individual in your employ employed by any agency
governed by this regulation. For example:

11.2 Job site lists shall include the name, address, location, and hours of coverage. Employees shall not be
listed on the job sites. For example:

The DuPont Industry

Barley Mill Road

2200 - 0600 Hours, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday

11.3 Rosters shall be submitted as required in subsection 11.1 regardless of the number of employees
working in the State of Delaware.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 320 11-01-23.htm

STATE BUREAU OF IDENTIFICATION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 5604(1) (24 Del.C. §5604(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 2400

PUBLIC NOTICE

2400 Board of Examiners of Constables

Purpose: In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 24 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 56, Section 5604(1), the
Constable Board of Examiners proposes to adopt regulations to amend licensing requirements and make technical
corrections to the regulation.

Written Comments: The Delaware Department of Safety and Homeland Security, State Bureau of Identification
will receive written comments, suggestions, briefs or other written material until the close of business, 4:30 p.m.,
December 1, 2023. Written comments shall be submitted via e-mail to Frank.Kaleta@delaware.gov or via the
USPS to Frank Kaleta, 600 South Bay Rd. Suite 1, Dover DE 19901.

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 324RFA 11-01-23.pdf

Henry, John F. 05/23/43 B M 05/23/00 PI

Montgomery, Frank G. 07/24/55 B M 06/30/99 LH

Smith, Mark A. 01/25/60 W M 01/25/99 SG

White, Helen E. 03/17/71 B F 03/17/00 FA

Workman, Henry K. 08/15/60 W M 08/15/99 CA

SG Security Guard

FA Firearms Guard

PI Private Investigator

LH License Holder

CA Compliance Agent
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(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 324 11-01-23.htm

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 2706(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2706(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 2700

PUBLIC NOTICE

2700 Board of Registration for Professional Land Surveyors

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2706(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Professional Land Surveyors ("Board") has proposed
revisions to its Rules and Regulations. The revised subsection 10.1.2 would relax the PDH requirement for
disabled, retired licensees under the age of 62. The other proposed amendments reflect technical and style
changes consistent with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation changes on January 18, 2024, at 8:30 a.m. in the
second-floor conference room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Professional Land Surveyors, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit
written comments may forward these to the Board at the above address or at Tashana.Branch@delaware.gov.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the final date to receive written comments will be February 7, 2024. The
Board will deliberate on all of the public comments at its regularly scheduled meeting.

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 325RFA 11-01-23.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 325 11-01-23.htm

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Board of Elevator Mechanics
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 6105(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §6105(a)(1))

PUBLIC NOTICE

6100 Board of Elevator Mechanics

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §6105(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Elevator Mechanics ("Board") has proposed adoption of
rules and regulations to implement its licensing law, Chapter 61 of Title 24 of the Delaware Code. In particular, the
proposed rules and regulations set forth the process whereby applicants may be eligible for licensure under the
grandfathering provision. Standards for licensure, practice and continuing education are adopted. The Board has
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also proposed adoption of a list of crimes substantially related to the practice of providing elevator services.

A public hearing will be held on November 21, 2023 at 10:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room B of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed
rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of Elevator Mechanics, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board
at the above address or at danielle.ridgway@delaware.gov.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the final date to receive written comments will be December 6, 2023. The
Board will deliberate on all of the public comments at its regularly scheduled meeting.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/proposed/27 DE Reg 325aRFA 11-01-23.pdf

6100 Board of Elevator Mechanics

1.0 General

1.1 Governing statute: Chapter 61 of Title 24 of the Delaware Code governs the Board of Elevator
Mechanics and the profession under its purview.

1.2 Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §6105(a)(1), the Board is authorized and hereby adopts these rules and
regulations.

1.3 Pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, the Board reserves the right to make
amendments, modifications and additions to these rules and regulations.

1.4 The Board reserves the right to grant exceptions to the requirements of the rules or regulations upon a
showing of good cause by the party requesting an exception, provided that the exception is not
inconsistent with the requirements of 24 Del.C. Ch. 61.

1.5 Duty to update address. All licensees must provide the Division of Professional Regulation with their
current mailing address and email address. Any change in mailing address or email address must be
reported to the Division within 10 days of the change. All notifications and correspondence pertaining
to a licensee's license that are sent through the mail will be sent only to the most recent address
provided by the licensee. The failure to provide the Division with a current mailing address will not
operate to excuse any duty or responsibility of the licensee and delivery to the most recent address
provided by the licensee will be considered proper notice.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms mean the following:

"ASME" means the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

"Board" means the Delaware Board of Elevator Mechanics.

"CE" means continuing education.

"Elevator" or "escalator" means a hoisting and lowering device equipped with a car or platform that moves in
guides for the transportation of individuals or freight in a substantially vertical direction through
successive floors or levels of a building or structure; or a power driven, inclined, continuous stairway
used for raising or lowering passengers; or a type of passenger carrying device on which passengers
stand or walk, and in which the passenger carrying surface remains parallel to its direction of motion
and is uninterrupted, and includes elevators, escalators, moving walkways, dumbwaiters, wheelchair
lifts, manlifts, stairway chairlifts that are not within a dwelling unit and any device within the scope of
ASME A17.1 (Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators), ASME A18.1 (Safety Standard for Platform
Lifts and Stairway Chairlifts), or ASME A90.1 (Safety Standards for Belt Manlifts), published by the
ASME, 2004 Edition, which are incorporated herein by reference, as amended and supplemented.
"Elevator" or "escalator" does not include any conveying devices, process equipment, and mine
elevators. Conveying devices include personnel hoists, material hoists, conveyors, and any other
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device outside of the scope of ASME A17.1, A18.1, or A90.1. "Dwelling unit" is a single unit providing
complete, independent living facilities for 1 or more persons living as a single housekeeping unit,
including permanent provisions for living, sleeping, eating, cooking and sanitation, and also includes
outside access dedicated solely to that unit.

"Elevator services" or "elevator work" means to perform, install, maintain, troubleshoot or supervise any,
which may include, but is not limited to, the installation, erection, modernization or repair of any
elevator, escalator, dumbwaiter, material lift, vertical reciprocity conveyor (VRC) or conveyance. All
elevator services or elevator work must be performed in accordance with the standards established in
the ASME code and International Building Code (IBC) that have been adopted by the authority having
jurisdiction and in any applicable local building code.

"IUEC" means International Union of Elevator Constructors.

"Stairway chairlift" means a lifting device that has a foot rest and seat, which is attached to stairs.

3.0 License required

3.1 No individual shall engage in the practice of providing elevator services nor hold oneself out to the
public as being qualified to act as a licensed elevator mechanic, or otherwise assume or use any title
or description conveying or tending to convey the impression that the individual is qualified to act as a
licensed elevator mechanic, unless the individual has been duly licensed under Chapter 61 of Title 24
of the Delaware Code.

3.2 Whenever a state license to practice as an elevator mechanic has expired or been suspended or
revoked, it shall be unlawful for the individual to act as an elevator mechanic in this State.

4.0 Applications

4.1 Applicants shall complete an application approved by the Board. Applications must be in the name of
the individual, not a company. An applicant must submit proof of qualifications verified by attestation.

4.2 Where applicable, an applicant must provide proof of instruction, training, or apprenticeship in the form
of a certified transcript, certificate of completion or any other document acceptable to the Board.

4.3 Proof of experience requires a notarized affidavit from the supervising licensed elevator mechanic
describing the nature of the experience. If an applicant cannot obtain the required notarized affidavit
from the supervising licensed elevator mechanic, the applicant shall submit a letter explaining why the
experience affidavit cannot be obtained, and W-2 tax forms showing full time employment may be
substituted at the discretion of the Board. The required experience and training must be completed
prior to taking the licensure exam.

4.4 Applicants relying on military training and experience must submit official documentation from the
supervising officials showing the type and approximate hours of work experience. Other official military
documentation that reliably verifies military training and experience may be accepted at the discretion
of the Board when supervisory officials are not available or cannot be located.

4.5 Incomplete applications will be retained for 1 year to allow an applicant the opportunity to supplement
the application. After 1 year, incomplete applications are destroyed and, thereafter, an applicant must
submit a new application with the appropriate fee.

5.0 Proof of Experience

5.1 An applicant applying for licensure based on experience must meet 1 of the following requirements:

5.1.1 Six years' full-time experience under the supervision of a licensed elevator mechanic; or

5.1.2 Eight thousand hours of full-time experience under the supervision of a licensed elevator
mechanic, plus 576 hours of related instruction, or other approved training verified by a certificate
of completion of apprenticeship from a lawful, registered apprenticeship program of any state; or

5.1.3 Four years' full-time experience under the supervision of a licensed elevator mechanic and 6,000
hours of technical training.
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6.0 Examinations

Once all credentials have been verified, a license may be issued by the Division of Professional Regulation
upon proof of obtaining a passing score on a Board accepted examination and payment of the applicable fee. The
passing score will be determined by the testing agency, except that the passing score may not be less than 70%.
The roster of persons qualified for licensure will appear in the minutes. A member of the Board may attend the
examination. Examinations must be monitored by an approved, independent third party.

7.0 Insurance

A licensed elevator mechanic is not required to have general liability insurance if the licensee's employer has
general liability insurance for all of its employees in the amount of at least $300,000. Elevator applicants and
licensees agree to work only for an elevator company that maintains a general liability insurance policy for all of its
employees in the minimum amount of $300,000.

8.0 Expiration, Renewal and Inactive Status

8.1 The licenses granted by the Board must be renewed by June 30th of each even numbered year,
otherwise, they expire as of July 1st. It is the responsibility of the licensee to renew the licensee's
license. The Board is not required to notify licensees of expiration dates.

8.1.1 As set forth in subsection 9.6, renewal applications will be randomly audited by the Board to
ensure their accuracy. Licensees selected for random audit will be notified of that selection within
60 days after the renewal deadline. Licensees must then submit the documentation requested by
the date indicated on the audit notice.

8.1.2 As a condition of renewal, applicants must attest to completion of continuing education (CE) as
required by Section 9.0. Attestation shall be completed electronically. Licensees selected for
random audit will be required to supplement their attestations with documentation of CE
completion during the biennial period that is the subject of the audit.

8.2 A licensee may renew an expired license within 1 year after the renewal deadline by meeting all
requirements and paying a late fee set by the Division. All late renewals will be audited for compliance
with the CE requirements.

8.3 A licensee with an active license may request in writing to be placed on inactive status. Inactive status
can be renewed electronically on a biennial basis. Inactive licenses may be reactivated by the Board
upon written request with proof of completion of 10 CE credits acquired within the 2 years preceding
application and payment of the appropriate fee set by the Division.

8.4 A licensee is not authorized to work as an elevator mechanic in this State during the period of inactive
status.

8.5 An individual whose license has expired for more than 1 year must reapply as a new applicant with
proof of completion of 10 CE credits acquired within the 2 years preceding application.

9.0 Continuing Education

9.1 Licensees shall complete 10 hours of approved CE during each renewal period with the following
exceptions: a person licensed less than 1 year does not need to complete CE at the first renewal; and
a person licensed 1 year but less than 2 years must submit 5 CE hours at the first renewal. Beginning
with the licensee's second renewal, the licensee must complete 10 hours of CE in compliance with this
Section.

9.2 CE is required of all licensees and shall be completed by June 30 of any year in which a license is to
be renewed. CE earned in excess of the required credits for the 2-year period may not be carried over
to the next biennial period. Licensees will only get CE credit for their first attendance at CE courses
during each licensing period. Licensees may retake a CE course in the same licensing period but will
not receive additional CE credit.

9.3 Courses must be designed to maintain and enhance the knowledge and skills of licensees related to
elevator work as defined by these rules and regulations.
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9.4 Sponsors or licensees can obtain Board approval of courses at any time by completing a form
approved by the Board and including a course outline with the number of classroom hours showing the
breakdown of time allotted for each part of course content, the curriculum vitae or resume of the
instructor and the appropriate fee set by the Division. The completed application will be presented for
review at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting.

9.4.1 Sponsors or licensees seeking pre-approval should submit the request as provided in subsection
9.4 at least 60 days before the CE course is being offered.

9.4.2 Approval of CE automatically expires 2 years from the date of Board approval.

9.5 CE courses certified by the following organizations will be automatically accepted by the Board:

9.5.1 National Elevator Industry Education Program or NEIEP;

9.5.2 Certified Elevator Technician Certification or CET as offered by the National Association of
Elevator Contractors;

9.5.3 National Association of Elevator Contractors or NAEC;

9.5.4 National Association of Elevator Safety Authorities or NAESA; and

9.5.5 Qualified Elevator Inspector Training Fund or QEITF.

9.6 Post-Renewal Audit. Verification of CE hours shall be by attestation. Attestation shall be completed
electronically. The Board will conduct random audits of renewal applications to ensure the veracity of
attestations and compliance with the CE requirements. Licensees selected for the random audit shall
submit CE course attendance verification in the form of a certificate signed by the course presenter or
by a designated official of the sponsoring organization. Licensees shall retain their CE course
attendance documentation for each licensure period. Licensees shall retain their CE course
attendance documentation for at least 3 years after renewal. Licensees found to be deficient or found
to have falsely attested may be subject to disciplinary action and sanctions. Licensees renewing during
the late renewal period shall be audited.

9.7 An applicant for license renewal may be granted an extension of time in which to complete CE hours or
a total or partial waiver of CE requirements upon a showing of hardship. Hardship may include
disability, illness, extended absence from the country and exceptional family responsibilities. No
extension of time or waiver shall be granted unless the licensee submits a written request to the Board
prior to the expiration of the license.

10.0 Grandfathering

Any person holding a master electrician special elevator license, issued by the Delaware Board of Electrical
Examiners, on or before June 30, 2024, will be issued an elevator mechanic license. An applicant who does not
qualify for grandfathering must apply as a new applicant.

11.0 Reciprocity

11.1 An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall submit an electronic application or through the Division of
Professional Regulation, pay the required fee, and request that verifications of licensure or letters of
good standing to be sent to the Board from the licensing agencies of all jurisdictions where the
applicant is or has been licensed.

11.2 If the reciprocal state's requirements are not substantially similar to those of this State, as determined
by the Board, the applicant shall submit proof of practice for at least 5 years after licensure. Proof of
practice requires an employer's notarized affidavit describing the nature of the applicant's experience.
If an applicant cannot obtain a notarized affidavit from the employer, the applicant must submit a letter
explaining why the experience affidavit cannot be obtained, and W-2 forms or other tax documents
showing 5 years full time employment may be substituted at the discretion of the Board.

11.3 Determination of Substantial Similarity of Licensing Standards. The applicant must submit to the Board
a copy of the reciprocal state's current statute and rules and regulations pertaining to licensure
requirements. The burden of proof is upon the applicant to demonstrate that the statute and rules of
the licensing state are at least equivalent to the experience and examination requirements of this
State. Based upon the information presented, the Board shall make a determination regarding whether
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the licensing requirements of the applicant's licensing state are substantially similar to those of
Delaware.

12.0 Organization of the Board

12.1 Election of Officers. Annually, the Board shall elect officers to serve for a 1-year term. Special elections
to fill vacancies shall be held upon notice and shall be only for the balance of the original term.

12.2 Duties of the Officers

12.2.1 President. The president shall preside at all meetings, designate subordinates when provided by
law, sign correspondence on behalf of the Board, and perform other functions inherent in the
position.

12.2.2 Vice President. The Vice President assumes the duties and powers of the President when the
President is unavailable.

13.0 Voluntary Treatment Option For Chemically Dependent Or Impaired Professionals

13.1 A voluntary treatment option is available for chemically dependent or impaired professionals as
provided in 29 Del.C. §8807(n) who are reported to the Board or Division using the following
procedures:

13.1.1 If the report is received by the president of the Board, that president shall immediately notify the
Director of Professional regulation or that Director's designate of the report. If the Director of
Professional Regulation receives the report, they shall immediately notify the president of the
Board, or that president's designate or designates.

13.1.2 The president of the Board or that president's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and inform the individual in writing of the
report, provide the individual written information describing the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
give the individual the opportunity to enter the Voluntary Treatment Option.

13.1.3 In order for the individual to participate in the Voluntary Treatment Option, the individual shall
agree to submit to a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a specified laboratory
or health care facility. This initial evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days following
notification to the professional by the participating Board president or that president's designate.

13.1.4 A regulated professional with chemical dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and continue to practice, subject to any
limitations on practice the participating Board president or that president's designate or designates
or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or that Director's designate may, in
consultation with the with the treating professional, deem necessary, only if the action will not
endanger the public health, welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into an
agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or that Director's designate and the
president of the Board or that president's designate for a treatment plan and progresses
satisfactorily in the treatment program and complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and Associations or other similar
professional groups with the approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the President
of the Board.

13.1.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the Board president or that president's designate or designates or
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or that Director's designate in regard to the
Voluntary Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for evaluations and screens may
disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option and
the Board president or that president's designate or designates shall cause to be activated an
immediate investigation and institution of disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in 29
Del.C. §8807(h).

13.2 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a regulated professional to enter into an agreement
which includes the following provisions:
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13.2.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a treatment program approved by the Board. Board
approval shall not require that the regulated professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies to assure an unbiased assessment
of the regulated professional's progress.

13.2.2 Consent to the treating professional of the approved treatment program to report on the progress
of the regulated professional to the president of the Board or to that president's designate or
designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or that Director's designate
at intervals as required by the president of the Board or that president's designate or designates or
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or that Director's designate, and the person
making the report will not be liable when the reports are made in good faith and without malice.

13.2.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved treatment program.

13.2.4 Agreement by the regulated professional to be personally responsible for all costs and charges
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment programs. In addition, the Division
of Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated professional to cover
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee
imposed under this subsection shall approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to
defray the expenses of the Board, as well as the proportional expenses incurred by the Division of
Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board in addition to the administrative costs
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option.

13.2.5 Agreement by the regulated professional that failure to satisfactorily progress in the treatment
program shall be reported to the Board's president, or that president's designate or designates or
to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or that Director's designate by the treating
professional who shall be immune from any liability for reporting made in good faith and without
malice.

13.3 The regulated professional's records of participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not reflect
disciplinary action and shall not be considered public records open to public inspection. However, the
participating Board may consider the records in setting a disciplinary sanction in any future matter in
which the regulated professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an issue.

13.4 The Board's president, that president's designate or designates or the Direction of the Division of
Professional Regulation or the Director's designate may, in consultation with the treating professional
at any time during the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a chemically dependent or
impaired professional if the action is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or safety.

13.5 If practice is restricted, the regulated professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.

13.6 Failure to enter into an agreement or to comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and the Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an immediate
investigation and disciplinary proceedings as appropriate.

13.7 Any person who reports pursuant to this section in good faith and without malice shall be immune from
any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from the reports, and shall have that person's
confidentiality protected if the matter is handled in a non-disciplinary matter.

13.8 Any regulated professional who complies with all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment
Option shall have the professional's confidentiality protected.

14.0 Crimes substantially related to work of an Elevator Mechanic

14.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or
conceal or the solicitation to commit any of the following crimes, is deemed to be a crime substantially
related to the work of an elevator mechanic in the State of Delaware without regard to the place of
conviction:

14.1.1 Menacing (felony). 11 Del.C. §602
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14.1.2 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §604

14.1.3 Assault in the second degree.11 Del.C. §612

14.1.4 Assault in the first degree.11 Del.C. §613

14.1.5 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632

14.1.6 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §633

14.1.7 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §634

14.1.8 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §635

14.1.9 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636

14.1.10 Unlawful sexual contact in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §768

14.1.11 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §769

14.1.12 Rape in the fourth degree. 11 Del.C. §770

14.1.13 Rape in the third degree. 11 Del.C. §771

14.1.14 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §772

14.1.15 Rape in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §773 

14.1.16 Sex offender unlawful conduct against a child. 11 Del.C. §777A

14.1.17 Sexual abuse of a child by a person in a position of trust, authority or supervision in the first
degree. 11 Del.C. §778

14.1.18 Sexual abuse of a child by a person in a position of trust, authority or supervision in the second
degree. 11 Del.C. §778A

14.1.19 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §782

14.1.20 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §783

14.1.21 Kidnapping in the first degree.11 Del.C. §783A

14.1.22 Arson in the second degree.11 Del.C. §802

14.1.23 Arson in the first degree.11 Del.C. §803

14.1.24 Burglary in the second degree.11 Del.C. §825

14.1.25 Burglary in the first degree.11 Del.C. §826

14.1.26 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §831

14.1.27 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §832

14.1.28 Theft; lost or mislaid property; mistaken delivery (felony). 11 Del.C. §842

14.1.29 Theft; false pretense (felony). 11 Del.C. §843

14.1.30 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846

14.1.31 Theft of rented property (felony). 11 Del.C. §849

14.1.32 Use, possession, manufacture, distribution and sale of unlawful telecommunication and access
devices (felony). 11 Del.C. §850

14.1.33 Receiving stolen property. 11 Del.C. §851

14.1.34 Identity theft. 11 Del.C. §854

14.1.35 Forgery. 11 Del.C. §861

14.1.36 Issuing a false certificate. 11 Del.C. §878

14.1.37 Unlawful use of payment card. 11 Del.C. §903

14.1.38 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 11 Del.C. §907B

14.1.39 Insurance fraud. 11 Del.C. §913

14.1.40 Home improvement fraud. 11 Del.C. §916

14.1.41 New home construction fraud. 11 Del.C. §917

14.1.42 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C. §1100A

14.1.43 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11 Del.C. §1102

14.1.44 Crime against a vulnerable adult. 11 Del.C. §1105

14.1.45 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C. §1108
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14.1.46 Dealing in child pornography. 11 Del.C. §1109

14.1.47 Possession of child pornography. 11 Del.C. §1111

14.1.48 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school zones. 11 Del.C. §1112

14.1.49 Sexual solicitation of a child. 11 Del.C. §1112A

14.1.50 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §1222

14.1.51 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §1223

14.1.52 Hate crimes. 11 Del.C. §1304

14.1.53 Stalking. 11 Del.C. §1312

14.1.54 Bombs, incendiary devices, Molotov cocktails and explosive devices. 11 Del.C. §1338

14.1.55 Adulteration. 11 Del.C. §1339

14.1.56 Possession of a firearm during a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447

14.1.57 Theft of a firearm.11 Del.C. §1451

14.1.58 Breaking and entering, etc. to place or remove equipment. 11 Del.C. §2410

14.2 Crimes substantially related to the work of an elevator mechanic shall be deemed to include any
crimes under any federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county ordinance, that are substantially
similar to the crimes identified in this rule.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued. [Bracketed bold stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 8303(7) and 30 Delaware Code, Section 558 
(29 Del.C. §8303(7) & 30 Del.C. §558)

ORDER

Regulations Governing Tax Refund Intercept Claims of Other States

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. § 8303(7), the Delaware Department of Finance (the "Department"), through its Division
of Revenue ("Revenue"), proposed to adopt regulations on the tax refund intercept claims of other states. The
regulations establish procedures for Revenue and other State Claimant Governments to follow in connection with
the program, including a certification process and a notice and opportunity for an administrative hearing prior to
offsetting against a state tax refund.

II. FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed regulation is necessary to implement 30 Del.C. §558 and facilitate the
process for other State Claimant Governments to refer debts for collection under the tax refund intercept program.
The Department finds that the proposed regulation should be adopted as submitted. Notice of the proposed
regulation and a Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement as required under 29 Del.C. Ch. 104 were
published in the Register of Regulations on September 1, 2023. The Department provided the public with an
opportunity to submit written comments for 30 days concerning the proposed regulation and did not receive written
comments.

III. DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
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The Department adopts the regulations as proposed. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
following its publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this   3rd   day of October 2023.

Department of Finance
Richard J. Geisenberger
Secretary of Finance

Regulations Governing Tax Refund Intercept Claims of Other States

1.0 Authority and Purpose

1.1 The Secretary is authorized under 29 Del.C. §8303(7) to establish and promulgate regulations as the
Secretary may deem necessary to govern the administration and operation of the Department.

1.2 This regulation establishes policies and procedures for the intercept program set forth in 30 Del.C.
§558.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, have the following meaning:

"Claimant government" has the meaning ascribed to it in 30 Del.C. §558(b)(1)a and 30 Del.C.
§558(b)(10).

"Debtor" means a person, organization, or entity who owes a debt to a claimant government.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Finance.

"Director" means the individual appointed to serve as Director of Revenue pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§8303(2)b.

"Program" refers to the intercept program authorized under 30 Del.C. §558.

"Refund" has the meaning ascribed to it in 30 Del.C. §558(b)(1)b.

"Revenue" means the Delaware Division of Revenue, a division of the Delaware Department of Finance.

"Secretary" means the individual appointed to serve as Secretary of the Delaware Department of Finance
pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8302(a).

"Tax debt" has the meaning ascribed to it in 30 Del.C. §558(b)(1)c.

"Taxing official" has the meaning ascribed to it in 30 Del.C. §558(b)(1)d.

"Taxpayer" has the meaning ascribed to it in 30 Del.C. §558(b)(1)e.

3.0 General Provisions

3.1 This regulation applies only to tax debts owed to a claimant government.

3.2 A claimant government is not precluded from using other debt collection procedures available under
applicable law. Debt collection procedures may be used separately or in conjunction with the program.

3.3 The Director shall ensure that claimant governments are not provided with or given access to tax
returns or information from tax returns, including the amount of income or particulars set forth or
disclosed in a report or return required under Title 30 of the Delaware Code and information on a
federal return or report which is required to be attached to or included in a State tax return, except to
the limited extent necessary to administer the program. Access to tax information granted by the
Director shall be on a need-to-know basis to perform program related duties and shall be memorialized
in writing. Claimant governments shall take necessary steps to protect tax information from inadvertent
disclosure and unauthorized access.

3.4 The Director shall have the authority under 30 Del.C. §558(b)(8) to enter into agreements with taxing
officials of claimant governments relating to:
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3.4.1 Procedures and methods to be employed by a claimant government with respect to the operation
of the program;

3.4.2 Safeguards against the disclosure or inappropriate use of personally identifiable information
regarding the taxpayer obtained or maintained in the administration of the program; and

3.4.3 A referral threshold amount.

4.0 Request for Intercept

4.1 Referral threshold. No single tax debt owed to a claimant government may be referred to Revenue for
intercept under the program if the tax debt amount is less than $100.00. Revenue and the claimant
government may agree to a higher threshold amount in writing.

4.2 Authority to certify tax debt and request intercept. A taxing official may certify to the Director the
existence of a tax debt owed to a claimant government and request that the Director withhold a refund
to which the taxpayer is entitled. A taxing official may not certify or request the Director to withhold a
refund, unless the laws of the claimant government extend a like comity for the collection of a tax debt
owed to this State as required by 30 Del.C. §558(b)(2)b.

4.3 Referral requirements. When a taxing official refers a tax debt to Revenue for intercept, the taxing
official must provide:

4.3.1 The full name of the taxpayer and, if required by the Director, the taxpayer's address;

4.3.2 The taxpayer's Social Security number or federal tax identification number;

4.3.3 The amount of the tax debt; and

4.3.4 A detailed statement for the applicable taxable year showing tax, interest, and penalty; or data that
sufficiently describes the tax debt in the Director's discretion.

4.4 Certification. When a taxing official refers a tax debt to Revenue for intercept, the taxing official shall
certify to the Director that:

4.4.1 The debtor exhausted all rights to administrative remedies and appeals related to the tax debt;

4.4.2 The debtor's rights to applicable administrative remedies and appeals lapsed; 

4.4.3 The claimant government determined the assessment of tax, interest, and penalty to be final and
enforceable; and

4.4.4 The claimant government determined that the tax debt is more than the referral threshold specified
in this regulation or more than the amount specifically agreed to in writing by Revenue and the
claimant government.

4.5 Noncompliance. Revenue may reject a referral that does not comply with the requirements of this
regulation.

4.6 Post-referral obligations. After referring a tax debt to Revenue, the claimant government shall promptly
notify Revenue and make the appropriate correction of the referral if:

4.6.1 The claimant government determines that an error has been made with respect to the information
transmitted to Revenue;

4.6.2 The claimant government receives a payment on account of a tax debt referred for intercept; or

4.6.3 The claimant government determines that the tax debt amount is otherwise incorrect.

5.0 Intercept Procedures

5.1 Upon referral of a tax debt under this regulation, Revenue will compare tax refund records with records
of tax debts referred for intercept.

5.2 For purposes of this regulation, a match for a tax refund owed to a debtor will occur when the taxpayer
identifying number and name are the same as the taxpayer identifying number and name of a debtor
submitted by the claimant government.

5.3 After a match, the Director shall promptly take reasonable steps to notify the taxpayer of a claimant
government's request for intercept and include a copy of the certification by the taxing official. The
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Director shall also promptly take reasonably steps to notify the taxpayer of the right to challenge the
proposed intercept by filing a written protest.

5.4 The taxpayer's written protest must include detailed reasons for the taxpayer's opposition of the
intercept and supporting documents. The taxpayer must hand deliver or mail the written protest to the
Director so that the Director receives it no later than 30 days from the date of the notice.

5.5 If a taxpayer files a timely protest, the Director shall:

5.5.1 Suspend the proposed intercept;

5.5.2 Impound the claimed amount of the taxpayer's refund;

5.5.3 Pay the unclaimed amount of the refund to the taxpayer;

5.5.4 Send a copy of the protest and supporting documents to the claimant government for a
determination of the merits of the protest in accordance with the laws of that state; and

5.5.5 Pay the impounded amount to the taxpayer if the claimant government fails to recertify to the
Director within 45 days of the date of the protest that the claimant government reviewed the issues
raised by the taxpayer, the taxpayer exhausted the administrative and judicial remedies provided
under the laws of the state of the claimant government, and the final tax debt amount. 

5.6 Subject to the taxpayer's rights of notice and protest, the Director shall pay the entire refund or the
amount certified to the claimant government, whichever is less. The Director shall pay a refund in
excess of the certified amount to the taxpayer.

5.7 If more than 1 claimant government has a debt against the taxpayer, Revenue will remit payments in
order of priority as determined by the Director.

5.8 If a refund is less than the certified amount, the Director shall withhold amounts from subsequent
refunds due to the taxpayer provided the claimant government shall withhold subsequent refunds of
taxpayers certified to the claimant government by the Director.

5.9 The Director shall take reasonable steps to notify the taxpayer that the refund has been reduced and
the amount of the reduction.

5.10 Joint tax returns. If a match relates to a joint personal income tax, the Director shall promptly take
reasonable steps to notify a non-debtor taxpayer of a claimant government's request for intercept and
the right to challenge the proposed intercept.

5.10.1 The non-debtor taxpayer must hand deliver or mail a written protest to the Director so that the
Director receives the written protest no later than 30 days from the date of the notice.

5.10.2 The non-debtor taxpayer's written protest must include a detailed description of the taxpayer's
reasons for a proper share of the refund and supporting documents.

5.10.3 The non-debtor taxpayer may attempt to make the required showing to the Director's satisfaction
by providing documentation to establish a right to a portion of the refund based on income
reported by the non-debtor taxpayer on the joint return.

5.10.4 If the non-debtor taxpayer files a timely protest and makes the required showing, Revenue shall
remit the proper share of the tax refund to the non-debtor taxpayer and apply the balance of the
refund in the manner prescribed in subsections 5.5 and 5.6.

5.11 In the event the debtor is due a refund with a non-debtor due to filing Married Filing Combined
Separate on 1 return, the Director shall regard a taxpayer as entitled to separate refunds based upon
the taxes due and prior payments of a taxpayer individually. The intercept contemplated in this
regulation shall not be applicable to a separate refund due to the non-debtor taxpayer. The intercept
provisions shall apply to a separate refund due to the debtor taxpayer.

5.12 Revenue has made reasonable attempts to notify a taxpayer if Revenue uses the current address
information contained in Revenue's records related to a tax return.

5.13 Revenue will advise a claimant government of the names and addresses of the debtors from whom
debts were collected and of the amounts collected from the debtors. Revenue will not advise as to the
source of payment from which the amounts were collected.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Pharmacy Over the Counter (OTC) & Physician Administered Drugs (PAD)

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding Pharmacy Over the Counter (OTC) & Physician
Administered Drugs (PAD), specifically, to align state plan with current reimbursement and provide for future
flexibility. The Department's proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Del.C. §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10115 in the
September 2023 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by October 1, 2023, at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence, and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL
The purpose of this proposed regulation is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan
regarding Pharmacy Over the Counter (OTC) & Physician Administered Drugs (PAD).

Background

Historically, CMS' Medicare fee schedule for Part B drugs was calculated as Average Sales Price (ASP)+6%.
However, for five years beginning 10/1/2022, CMS changed the rate for some Part B drugs to ASP+8%. Since
states get these pre-calculated rates from the quarterly CMS Medicare fee schedule file, they are already paying
ASP+8% for these drugs. In addition, CMS will be introducing a future rate type into the Medicare fee schedule that
is different than ASP+6% and the ASP+8%. To relieve states from having to submit multiple SPAs for these
changes, CMS requested states to update any references to ASP+6% to the "Medicare fee schedule."
Also, CMS anticipates the introduction of new OTC products that Medicaid programs will be required to cover.
These include OTC naloxone (in first half 2023) and OTC oral contraceptives (in second half 2023). To reduce the
number of SPAs to accommodate these new OTC drug classes, CMS requests that states insert general language
into the pharmacy coverage pages of their State Plans that reference covered OTCs listed in the state's provider
manual. Delaware's provider manual already has these products listed in a table so will be in compliance with the
state plan when this SPA is approved. 
In addition, there are changes to remove specific drugs/drug classes for coverage of other exceptions, with
replacement language that points to the preferred drug list, or when determined to be medically necessary. These
were made to achieve the same purpose as the CMS-requested OTC language change.

Statutory Authority
42 CFR 447.20

Purpose
The purpose of this proposed regulation is to align Delaware's Medicaid State Plan with current reimbursement
policy, provide for future flexibility with less administrative burden, and to update the State Plan in anticipation of
future OTC drugs/drug classes that Medicaid will be required to cover, thus reducing the need to submit multiple
State Plan Amendments.
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Summary of Proposed Changes
Effective for services provided January 1, 2023, DHSS/DMMA proposes to amend Attachment 3.1-A and Section
4.19-B of the Medicaid State Plan to update over the counter drugs and physician administered drug sections.

Public Notice

In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social
Security Act and 42 CFR 440.386 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code, DHSS/DMMA gave public notice and provided an open comment period for 30 days to allow all
stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed regulation. Comments were to have been received by
4:30 p.m. on October 1, 2023.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Review and Approval

The provisions of this state plan amendment (SPA) are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS). The draft SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after submittal to CMS
based upon public comment and/or CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to significant change.

Provider Manuals and Communications Update

Also, there may be additional provider manuals that may require updates as a result of these changes. The
applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy Specific Manuals and/or Delaware
Medical Assistance Portal will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are
issued, as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing
guidelines or instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to
distribute new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding DMAP updates.
DMAP updates are available on the Delaware Medical Assistance Portal website: https://
medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider

Fiscal Impact Statement

There is no anticipated fiscal impact. 

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response and Explanation of Changes

Comment: There were comments supporting the proposed changes to more easily allow for anticipated changes
in drug coverage, reimbursement policies and requirements.
Agency response: DMMA appreciates the support. 

DMMA is pleased to provide the opportunity to receive public comments and greatly appreciates the thoughtful
input given by:
• State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD)
• Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC)

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the September 2023 Register of Regulations

should be adopted.
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan

regarding Pharmacy Over the Counter (OTC) & Physician Administered Drugs (PAD), specifically, to align state
plan with current reimbursement and provide for future flexibility and shall be final effective November 11, 2023.

10/13/2023  |  3:12 PM EDT
Date of Signature
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Josette D. Manning Esq., Secretary, DHSS

Pharmacy Over the Counter (OTC) & Physician Administered Drugs (PAD)

*Please Note: Due to the formatting requirements of the regulation, it is being attached here as PDF
documents:
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/final/4.19-B-p14 Amended.pdf
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/final/sp_attachment_3_1_a_2-2b Amended.pdf

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Ground Emergency Medical Transportation (GEMT)

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding Ground Emergency Medical Transportation
(GEMT), specifically, to increase Medicaid reimbursement for emergency transportation providers. The
Department's proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Del.C. §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10115 in the
September 2023 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by October 1, 2023, at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

 
SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL
The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding Ground
Emergency Medical Transportation (GEMT).

Background
Delaware legislature has introduced a bill to revise Medicaid reimbursement for emergency transportation services
(GEMT), effective in SFY 2024. In its current form, this legislation calls for increasing the present percentages of
the Medicare rates that Medicaid pays for the services to 75% of Medicare across the board.

The amendment is needed to adjust for changes in the percentages of Medicare rates on which Medicaid bases its
reimbursement; this is in response to a Delaware state legislated requirement to increase emergency
transportation reimbursement. The proposed changes will allow for the update in reimbursement at this time and
will provide greater flexibility for Medicaid to implement future changes without the need for future amendments.

Statutory Authority
42 C.F.R § 430.10 and § 447.201

Purpose
The purpose of this proposed regulation is to update Ground Emergency Medical Transportation (GEMT),
specifically, to increase Medicaid reimbursement for emergency transportation providers.
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Summary of Proposed Changes
Effective July 1, 2023, the DHSS/DMMA proposes to amend Attachment 4.19-B page 3 of the Title XIX Medicaid
State Plan to increase Medicaid reimbursement for emergency transportation providers.

Public Notice

In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social
Security Act and 42 CFR 440.386 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code, DHSS/DMMA gave public notice and provided an open comment period for 30 days to allow all
stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed regulation. Comments were to have been received by
4:30 p.m. on October 1, 2023.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Review and Approval

The provisions of this state plan amendment (SPA) are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS). The draft SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after submittal to CMS
based upon public comment and/or CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to significant change.

Provider Manuals and Communications Update

Also, there may be additional provider manuals that may require updates as a result of these changes. The
applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy Specific Manuals and/or Delaware
Medical Assistance Portal will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are
issued, as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing
guidelines or instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to
distribute new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding DMAP updates.
DMAP updates are available on the Delaware Medical Assistance Portal website: https://
medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider

Fiscal Impact

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response and Explanation of Changes

Comment: There was a comment supporting the proposed changes.
Agency response: DMMA appreciates the support. 

DMMA is pleased to provide the opportunity to receive public comments and greatly appreciates the thoughtful
input given by:
• Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) 

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the September 2023 Register of Regulations

should be adopted.
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan

regarding Ground Emergency Medical Transportation (GEMT), specifically, to increase Medicaid reimbursement
for emergency transportation providers and shall be final effective November 11, 2023.

Federal Fiscal Year 2024 Federal Fiscal Year 2025

General (State) funds $309,000 $312,000

Federal funds $457,800 $462,500
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10/13/2023  |  7:48 PM EDT
Date of Signature

Josette D. Manning Esq., Secretary, DHSS

Ground Emergency Medical Transportation (GEMT)

*Please Note: Due to the formatting requirements of the regulation, it is being attached here as a PDF
document:
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/final/4.19-B page 3 Amended--.pdf

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Section 102 (18 Del.C. §102)
18 DE Admin. Code 1406

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1406 Third Party Administrators

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

In the September 1, 2023 edition of the Register of Regulations, at 27 DE Reg. 150 (September 1, 2023), the
Commissioner of the Delaware Department of Insurance (Commissioner) published a proposal to allow for the
required review of the operations of the administrator to be completed virtually or on-site.

The Department also took the opportunity to make grammatical and formatting edits throughout the regulation.
The Department received one timely comment from the American Council of Life Insurers in support of the

implementation of virtual business practices and commented that the modernization of Third Party Administrator
audit laws is both prudent and timely.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Commissioner finds that the amendments to 18 DE Admin. Code 1406 as proposed in the September 1,
2023 Register of Regulations, having been properly noticed and open for public comment, should be adopted for
the reasons set forth in the proposal.

III. DECISION TO ADOPT THE PROPOSED AMENDMENTS

For the foregoing reasons, the Commissioner concludes that it is appropriate to adopt the proposed
amendments to 18 DE Admin. Code 1406.

IV. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

The  10th  day of October, 2023. Trinidad Navarro
Delaware Department of Insurance
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*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
September 2023 issue of the Register at page 150 (27 DE Reg. 150). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/final/27 DE Reg 342 11-01-23.htm

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF THE ARTS

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Sections 8729(c) and 10113(b)(4) (29 Del.C. §§8729(c) 
and 10113(b)(4))

1 DE Admin. Code 1001

ORDER

1001 Assistance for the Development of the Arts Regulations

The Division of the Arts is changing the current regulations of the Division of Arts Assistance for the
Development of the Arts. 1 DE Admin. Code 1001. The reason for the change is solely to update the website
URL stated in the regulations.

The regulatory change is authorized pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8729(c) and is exempt from the procedural
requirements of the Administrative Procedures Act and may be adopted informally. 29 Del.C. §10134(b)(4).
Pursuant to 29 Del.C §8729(c), the Director and the Delaware State Arts Council shall establish such rules and
regulations as are necessary to determine the eligibility of any instrumentality, or agency or political subdivision,
private or public nonprofit association for participation in contracts authorized by this section.

The Division hereby adopts these regulations and the effective date of this Order shall be ten days after this
Order is published in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 11 day of October, 2023.

Jessica Ball
Director, Delaware Division of the Arts

1001 Assistance for the Development of the Arts Regulations

1.0 Introduction

These regulations are authorized pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8729(c) which established a special fund of
the State of Delaware to encourage instrumentalities, agencies and political subdivisions of the State
and private and public nonprofit associations in the development of the arts in the State and to
enhance the appreciation of artistic expressions by citizens of the State. Arts Funding is dictated by the
availability of State, Federal, and other funds, and necessarily changes on a year to year basis.
Current available funding may be found at http://www.artsdel.org/grants https://arts.delaware.gov/
grant-overview/.

2.0 Grantee Categories

2.1 Delaware Artists

To be eligible for funding as a Delaware artist, the applicant must:

2.1.1 Be at least 18 years of age.

2.1.2 Be a resident of Delaware for at least one year at the time of application. Individual artists shall
submit a valid Delaware Driver's License or Delaware Motor Vehicle Identification Card as proof of
residency.

2.1.3 Recipients must remain Delaware residents during the grant period.
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2.1.4 Not be enrolled in degree or certificate-granting educational programs at the time of application or
for the duration of the grant period.

2.1.5 Additional grant specific eligibility guidelines may change in each fiscal year, given the availability
and source of grant funding. Current guidelines are posted at http://www.artsdel.org/grants https://
arts.delaware.gov/grant-overview/.

2.2 Delaware Arts Organizations

To be eligible for funding as an arts organization, the applicant must:

2.2.1 Identify in their charter, incorporation papers, bylaws, and IRS nonprofit determination letter at
least one of the following as a primary purpose of the organization: the promotion, presentation,
production, or teaching of the arts. The Division of the Arts shall make all final determinations as to
the primary purpose of the organization.

2.2.2 Certify that the organization is based and chartered in Delaware as a nonprofit organization;
exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(4) or 509(a) of the Internal
Revenue Code; and eligible to receive donations allowable as charitable contributions under
Section 170(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954.

2.2.3 Have a stable, functioning board of directors that meets at least quarterly.

2.2.4 Additional grant specific eligibility guidelines may change in each fiscal year, given the availability
and source of grant funding. Current guidelines are posted at http://www.artsdel.org/grants https://
arts.delaware.gov/grant-overview/.

2.3 Delaware Community Based Organizations

To be eligible for funding as a community-based organization, the applicant must:

2.3.1 Identify in their charter, incorporation papers, bylaws, and IRS nonprofit determination letter a
primary purpose of the organization other than the promotion, presentation, production, or
teaching of the arts. The Division of the Arts shall make all final determinations as to the primary
purpose of the organization. Such purpose may be, but is not limited to, libraries, civic groups,
community/senior centers, festivals, parks/recreation programs, and universities and colleges.

2.3.2 Be based and chartered in Delaware as a nonprofit organization; exempt from federal income tax
under Section 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(4) or 509(a) of the Internal Revenue Code; and eligible to
receive donations allowable as charitable contributions under Section 170(c) of the Internal
Revenue Code of 1954. Organizations that have not received Delaware incorporation or IRS
nonprofit designation are not eligible to apply for Project Support, and

2.3.3 Have a stable, functioning board of directors that meets at least quarterly, or

2.3.4 Be an established unit of municipal, county, or state government within Delaware.

2.3.5 Additional grant specific eligibility guidelines may change in each fiscal year, given the availability
and source of grant funding. Current guidelines are posted at http://www.artsdel.org/grants https://
arts.delaware.gov/grant-overview/.   

2.4 Delaware Arts Education Providers

To be eligible for arts education funding, the applicant must be:

2.4.1 Delaware public, private, or parochial school with an established arts curriculum and staff, pre-K
through 12, or

2.4.2 Delaware public school district and/or consortia of public schools, or

2.4.3 Delaware arts organization with a demonstrated commitment to arts learning, that also meets the
eligibility requirements for arts organization funding, or

2.4.4 Professional arts service or arts education organization based and chartered in Delaware.

2.4.5 Additional grant specific eligibility guidelines may change in each fiscal year, given the availability
and source of grant funding. Current guidelines are posted at http://www.artsdel.org/grants https://
arts.delaware.gov/grant-overview/.

2.5 Regional/National Nonprofit Organizations

To be eligible for funding, the applicant must:
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2.5.1 Be chartered as a nonprofit organization; exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3)
or 501(c)(4) or 509(a) of the Internal Revenue Code; and eligible to receive donations allowable as
charitable contributions under Section 170(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954. 

2.5.2 Provide the program(s) or service(s) funded by the grant directly to the Delaware Division of the
Arts or to its constituents, on behalf of the Division, under written agreement with the Division of
the Arts.

2.5.3 Additional grant specific eligibility guidelines may change in each fiscal year, given the availability
and source of grant funding. Current guidelines are posted at http://www.artsdel.org/grants https://
arts.delaware.gov/grant-overview/.

3.0 Grant Award Process

3.1 Organizational Grants. Organizational grants reviewed on an annual basis or for multi-year approval
are reviewed by impartial peer review panels, (hereinafter “Grant Panels.”) The decision to use private
citizens on grant review Grant Panels reflects the importance of having diverse public and expert
participation in the grant-making process.

3.1.1 Grant panels: Composition:

Individuals who work or live in Delaware are eligible to serve on Grant Panels. Grant Panels are
composed of artists, arts educators, arts and nonprofit organization administrators, corporate and
fund raising managers, knowledgeable arts specialists, and interested community members.
Panelists are chosen for their professional experience, expertise in an artistic discipline,
knowledge of the community, and ability to objectively review grant materials. The Division
convenes Grant Panels, mindful of Delaware's demographic and geographic diversity. Additional
out-of-state panelists may be selected in order to incorporate regional or national perspective, to
provide additional expertise and diversity, or to mitigate the potential for conflicts of interest. 

3.1.2 Conflicts of Interests

Grant Panelists are screened for conflicts of interest, and where they exist, panelists are recused
from discussion of the grant application or assigned to an alternate panel where a conflict does not
exist. Such conflicts are determined by review of statements and/or applications filed by Arts
Council members, Division Staff, panelists, and Grantees

3.1.3 Nominations

Grant Panelist nominations are accepted and processed by the Division of the Arts year round.

3.1.4 Grant Review Panel Meetings

Grant Panel meetings are public, posted and held in accordance with 29 Del.C. Ch. 100. Meetings
are chaired by a member of the State Arts Council or Division of the Arts staff.

3.1.5 Grant Review Process

Grant Panelists evaluate and rank applications according to grant specific criteria identified by
Division staff, and published at http://www.artsdel.org/grants https://arts.delaware.gov/grant-
overview/. Grant Panel comments and rankness are incorporated into the funding
recommendation process, and made available to applicants upon notification of the funding
decision. At the conclusion of their review, the Grant Panel makes a recommendation to the State
Arts Council.

3.1.6 Grant Award

The State Arts Council, at a meeting open to the public consistent with 29 Del.C. Ch. 100, reviews
the Grant Panel recommendations and rankings of applicants, to match them with available grant
funds. At the conclusion of this review, the State Arts Council makes funding recommendations to
the Division Director, who is responsible for all final funding decisions. The Division announces
grant awards after the approval of the State's fiscal year budget.

3.2 Artist Fellowship Grants

Delaware's arts community is very close-knit, and individual artists tend to be very familiar with the
work of other Delaware artists. The nature of artists' work is that it is inextricably linked to them as
individuals. Because of that, it is difficult to find impartial judges to adjudicate Fellowship applications
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for individual artists. Consequently, the Division of the Arts contracts with an out-of-state organization
to facilitate the review of Artist Fellowship applications. Grant specific criteria are published at http://
www.artsdel.org/grants https://arts.delaware.gov/grant-overview/.

3.2.1 Grant panels: Composition:

The facilitating organization presents a list of potential judges to Division staff, who selects the
judges whose expertise most clearly aligns with the applications submitted each year. Out-of-state
judges are chosen for their professional experience, expertise in an artistic discipline, and ability to
objectively review grant materials.

3.2.2 Grant Review Process

Applications are submitted to the Division of the Arts. Upon review for completeness and
accuracy, all materials are forwarded directly to the facilitating organization, which is responsible
for distribution of the applications to the judges. Judges review the applications individually and
submit their scores and comments to the facilitating organization. Scores and judges' comments
are then forwarded to the Division staff. Division staff members present a list of funding
recommendations, based on scores and available funds, to the State Arts Council for review at a
public meeting.

3.2.3 Grant Award

The State Arts Council conducts a public review of the recommendations from Division staff in
accordance with 29 Del.C. Ch. 100.   At the conclusion of the public review, the State Arts Council
makes its funding recommendations to the Division Director, who is responsible for all final funding
decisions. Fellowship awards are announced after public approval by the State Arts Council and
Division Director.

3.3 Short-term grants and Special Projects, and Interagency Partnerships

3.3.1 Grant Panelist Selection-

Short-term (non-annual) grant applications, special project grant applications, and interagency
partnership agreements are assigned by the Division Director to the program specialist whose
purview includes the arts discipline or project category.

3.3.2 Grant review process

Division staff review and evaluate short-term, special project grant applications according to
criteria developed by Division staff and published with the grant guidelines. Staff
recommendations are submitted to the Division Director for review.

3.3.3 Grant Award

The Division Director reviews staff recommendations and makes final funding decisions.
Notification letters are sent out within six weeks of the application submission deadline. Funding
decisions are presented to the State Arts Council at their quarterly meetings.

4.0 Appeals

4.1 Applicants may appeal funding decisions only on the basis of procedural error or impropriety.
Dissatisfaction with the amount of an award, or a decision not to fund a project, is not sufficient reason
for appeal. 

4.2 Standard of Review:

Grant determinations may be reconsidered if the Division Director determines that the application was
reviewed on the basis of criteria other than those appearing in the published guidelines for that grant
category; that Grant Panelists or Council members were influenced by Council members who failed to
disclose conflicts of interest, or that erroneous information was provided by staff, panelists, or Council
members at the time of the application's review, and such erroneous information was relied upon by
the Grant Panel, Council, or Division Director in making the grant determination.

4.3 Procedure for Appeal

4.3.1 Consultation
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Prior to submitting an appeal, applicants should first consult with the staff member assigned to the
application to review the panel comments and considerations. 

4.3.2 Written Request for Appeal

After consulting with the assigned staff member, if the applicant wishes to pursue an appeal, the
appeal must be sent in writing to the Division Director within 30 days of the date notifying the
applicant of the funding decision. The letter should contain evidence to support one or more of the
grounds for appeal noted in 4.1.

4.3.3 Review

The Director will notify the Chair of the State Arts Council of the appeal. The Director and Chair will
review the appeal and, at their discretion, will make a ruling or submit the appeal to the full Council
for review and recommendation. 

4.3.4 Notification

The Director will notify the applicant in writing of the ruling on the appeal.

4.3.5 Arts Council Review

After reviewing the appeal letter determination, the applicant may request a public hearing with the
Council, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 100. At the conclusion of the public hearing, the Council will
reconsider the appeal and make a final ruling. A simple majority vote of the Council will determine
the appeal outcome.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Examiners
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 1806(a)(2) (24 Del.C. §1806(a)(2))

24 DE Admin. Code 1800

ORDER

1800 Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Examiners

After due notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held
on September 12, 2023 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air
Conditioning and Refrigeration Examiners ("Board") to receive comments regarding proposed amendments to the
Board's rules and regulations. The new Section 5.0 establishes a continuing education requirement for licensees.

The proposed changes to the rules and regulations were published in the Delaware Register of Regulations,
Volume 26, Issue 12 on June 1, 2023, contemplating a July 11, 2023 public hearing. On August 1, 2023 in Volume
27, Issue 2 of the Delaware Register of Regulations, public notice was given that the public hearing had been
rescheduled to be held on September 12, 2023 at 8:30 a.m. Notice of the September 12, 2023 hearing was also
published in the News Journal (Exhibit 1) and the Delaware State News (Exhibit 2). Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §
10118(a), the date to receive final written comments was September 27, 2023, 15 days following the public
hearing. The Board deliberated on the proposed revisions at its regularly scheduled meeting on October 10, 2023.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The following exhibits were made a part of the record:

Board Exhibit 1: News Journal Affidavit of Publication.
Board Exhibit 2: Delaware State News Affidavit of Publication.

At the public hearing on September 12, 2023, Mr. Charles Robbins spoke publicly in favor of the amendments and
noted that when the proposal to adopt a continuing education was proposed earlier this year, the Board received
additional public support which he encouraged be incorporated in the Board's consideration of the amendment.
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No written comments were submitted.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing and by testimony on
the proposed amendments to the Board's rules and regulations. There were no comments provided to the Board in
writing. The Board considered the public comments from Mr. Robbins in favor of amending the regulations.

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. § 1806(a)(2), the Board has the statutory authority to promulgate rules and regulations
related to requirements for continuing education. And, having received only supportive comments concerning the
proposed amendment, the Board finds reason to amend the regulations as proposed and hereby takes action to do
so.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to the rules and regulations as proposed, to be effective 10 days following
publication of this Order in the Register of Regulations. The new rules and regulations are attached. 

IT IS SO ORDERED this 10th day of October 2023.

Board of Plumbing, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Examiners

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
June 2023 issue of the Register at page 1046 (26 DE Reg. 1046). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/final/27 DE Reg 347 11-01-23.htm

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Board of Home Inspectors
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 4106(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §4106(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 4100

ORDER

4100 Board of Home Inspectors

After due notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was
held on July 11, 2023 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of Home Inspectors ("Board") to receive
comments regarding proposed amendments to the Board's rules and regulations. The proposed regulation
changes addressed a growing practice in the profession of licensed home inspectors performing partial home
inspections and not producing written reports. In addition, they expand the list of certifying bodies acceptable to the
Board for experience applicants.

The proposed changes to the rules and regulations were initially published in the Delaware Register of

/s/ Harold Caswell, President, Professional
Member

/s/ Jonathan Cochran, Professional Member

/s/ Philip Sharp, Vice President,
Professional Member

/s/ Russell Yetter, Professional Member

/s/ John Mills, Secretary, Professional
Member

/s/ James Anderson, Public Member
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Regulations, Volume 26, Issue 5 on November 1, 2022 with a proposed hearing date of January 10, 2023. The
hearing was canceled, and the Notice was re-published in the April 1, 2023 Register, Volume 26, Issue 10 with a
hearing date of May 9, 2023. The May 9, 2023 hearing was canceled. A General Notice of the hearing rescheduled
for July 11, 2023 was published in the Register on June 1, 2023, Volume 26, Issue 12. Notice of the July 11, 2023
hearing was published in the News Journal (Exhibit 1) and the Delaware State News. Exhibit 2. Pursuant to 29
Del.C. § 10118(a), the date to receive final written comments was July 26, 2023. The Board deliberated on the
proposed revisions at its regularly scheduled meeting on September 12, 2023.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The following exhibits were made a part of the record:

Board Exhibit 1: News Journal Affidavit of Publication.
Board Exhibit 2: Delaware State News Affidavit of Publication.
Board Exhibit 3: July 11, 2023 email from Eric Thorn, Esquire.

There were no comments presented by testimony at the public hearing on July 11, 2023. Written comment was
submitted by Eric Thorn, Esquire pertaining to proposed revisions to subsection 4.5.2, which outlines the
experience requirements for non-trainee/experience applicants. Subsection 4.5.2 originally stated that an applicant
can meet experience requirements by documenting no fewer than 75 home inspections and providing evidence
that the applicant is a member of the American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI). Subsection 4.5.2 has been
amended to require that the applicant is a certified member of ASHI, or the National Association of Home
Inspectors (NAHI) or the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors (INTERNACHI). Mr. Thorn
commented that NAHI closed its doors in 2016 and no longer has members.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. § 4106(a)(1), the Board has the statutory authority to promulgate rules and regulations.
The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing and by testimony

on the proposed amendments to the Board's rules and regulations. The Board considered the written comments
submitted by Mr. Thorn. The Board found that certified membership in NAHI may meet the licensure requirements
where such certification was obtained or held prior to 2016.The Board decided that further revision of the proposed
regulatory amendments was not warranted.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to the rules and regulations as proposed, to be effective 10 days following
publication of this Order in the Register of Regulations. The new rules and regulations are attached hereto as
Exhibit A.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 10th day of October 2023.

DELAWARE BOARD OF HOME INSPECTORS

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
April 2023 issue of the Register at page 825 (26 DE Reg. 825). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/final/27 DE Reg 348 11-01-23.htm

/s/ Robert Clark, Chairperson /s/ John Kerrigan Sr., Vice Chairperson

/s/ Lisa Roddis /s/ David Zebley

/s/ Tammy Dawson
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Proposed Renewal for the DDDS Lifespan Waiver

HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICES WAIVER

In accordance with the public notice requirements of 42 CFR 441.304(d)(1), 42 CFR 441.304(e), and 42 CFR
441.304(f) and Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division
of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) gives notice related to the renewal of the DDDS HCBS Medicaid
Waiver authorized under section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act.

Purpose

The purpose of this posting is to provide public notice and elicit public input regarding Delaware's proposed
renewal of its current 1915 (c) HCBS Lifespan Waiver that serves individuals with intellectual and developmental
disabilities (IDD).

Overview and Summary of the Lifespan Waiver Amendment

Delaware proposes to renew the DDDS waiver that has been in continuous operation since 1987. The waiver must
be renewed every five years. Any changes during those five years must be made through an amendment to the
current approved waiver. The DDDS waiver is targeted to individuals with intellectual developmental disabilities
(IDD) (including brain injury), autism spectrum disorder, and Prader-Willi Syndrome. It provides services and
supports as an alternative to institutional placement and promotes independence, enables the individual to live
"their good life" safely in the community, encourages community engagement, and respects and supports their
desire to work or engage in other productive activities. 

Change(s) to the current waiver include:

• Updating language regarding background checks to implement certain flexibilities approved by CMS
during the public health emergency.

• Increasing the combined Respite and Personal Care service budget from $3,500 per person to $5,000
per person annually.

• Increasing the current Home and Vehicle Accessibility Adaptations budget from $6,000 per member
every 5 years (inclusive of both services) to $10,000 per member every 5 years (inclusive of both
services).

• Adding a new provider type to Assistive Technology, Home and Vehicle Accessibility Adaptations, and
Specialized Medical Equipment and Supplies. 

• Adding a new provider type for Residential Habilitation-Shared Living.
• Adding the option of providing specific activities virtually for Supported Employment (Individual),

Behavioral Consultation, and Nurse Consultation.
• Removing language from Appendix C (Prevocational Services) that reference payments of sub-

minimum wages.
• Other technical changes related to state procedure/policy changes and for purposes of clarification

and grammar.

Background

Delaware has operated a Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Waiver for individuals with intellectual
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 27, ISSUE 5, WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2023

https://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/index.html


GENERAL NOTICES 351
and developmental disabilities continuously since 1987. The authority under the Social Security Act that allows
HCBS waivers to be created requires that each waiver be renewed every five years.

Public Comment Submission Process

As required by 42 CFR Part 441.304, DHSS/DMMA must establish and use a public input process for any changes
in the services or operation of the waiver. Per Del. Code, Title 29, Ch. 101 §10118 (a), the opportunity for public
comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. The opportunity for public written comment shall be extended for a minimum of 15 days after the final
public hearing when 1 or more public hearings are held on the proposal. The public is invited to review and
comment on the proposed Lifespan Waiver Amendment. Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on December
15, 2023. Individuals may submit written comments using one or all the following methods:

By email: DHSS_DMMA_Publiccomment@Delaware.gov
(Please identify in the subject line: DDDS Lifespan Waiver Amendment)

By fax: 302-255-4481 to the attention of Melissa Dohring

By written comments sent to:
DDDS Lifespan Waiver Amendment
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance
Planning, Policy & Quality Unit
1901 North DuPont Highway
P.O. Box 906
New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906

This public notice, the Renewal, and a summary of the Renewal are posted online at:

https://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/homeandc.html

The DMMA and DDDS websites will indicate the locations at which the hardcopy can be viewed.

The hardcopy waiver amendment will be available at the following locations from November 1, 2023, through
December 15, 2023.

• DDDS Fox Run Office at: 2540 Wrangle Hill Road, Suite 200, Bear, DE 19701
• Thomas Collins Building at: 540 South Dupont Hwy, 1st Floor, Dover, DE 19901
• Woodbrook Office at: 1056 S. Governors Ave, Dover, DE 19904
• Stockley Center campus at: 26351 Patriots Way, Georgetown, DE 19947 - 101 Lloyd Lane and 101

Boyd Blvd.

Public Hearings

Notice will be published regarding the amendment in the November 1, 2023, Delaware Register of
Regulations with a link to the website where the complete application may be found. The comment period
begins on November 1, 2023, and ends on December 15, 2023.

This timeframe allows an additional period of 15 days for the public to comment after the last public meeting.

The public will have the opportunity to comment using the process described in the Register notice.

Following the comment period the State reviews, considers, and responds to all comments received.
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Dates and Locations for Public Hearings for the Lifespan Waiver Renewal-

New Castle County
• November 20, 2023
10:00 am- 11:00 am
Delaware State Patrol, Troop 2
100 Corporal Stephen J. Ballard Way
Newark, DE 19702
*If you would prefer to participate virtually:
Via Zoom: 
https://ddds.zoom.us/j/84687310917
833 548 0282 US Toll-free
Meeting ID: 846 8731 0917

Kent County
• November 21, 2023
2:00 pm- 3:00 pm 
Kent County Public Library
497 S. Red Haven Lane
Dover, DE 19901
*If you would prefer to participate virtually:
Via Zoom: 
https://ddds.zoom.us/j/82054612719
833 548 0282 US Toll-free
Meeting ID: 820 5461 2719

Sussex County
• November 22, 2023
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm 
Georgetown Public Library
123 W. Pine Street 
Delaware Room
Georgetown, De 19947
*If you would prefer to participate virtually:
Via Zoom: 
https://ddds.zoom.us/j/86841187213
833 548 0282 US Toll-free
Meeting ID: 868 4118 7213

DDDS will summarize any public feedback received including any changes it has made as a result of the public
comment to the proposed Lifespan Waiver Renewal that will be submitted to CMS.

If you require special assistance and/or services to participate in the public hearing (e.g., sign language
interpretation or other translation services, etc.) please call or e-mail the following contact at least ten (10) days
prior to the hearing for arrangements: Kami Giglio at 302-387-7388 or Kamin.Giglio@delaware.gov. 

The prompt submission of requests helps to ensure the availability of qualified individuals and appropriate
accommodations in advance.

Theodore G. Mermigos, Jr. Date10/13/2023 | 9:15 AM EDT
Acting Division Director 
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Section 6010(a) and (c) (7 Del.C. §6010(a) & (c))

NOTICE

Moderate Non-Attainment Plan For New Castle County For The 2015 8-Hour Ozone National Ambient Air 
Quality Standard and Basic Inspection & Maintenance Performance Standard Certification For New Castle 

County

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Moderate Non-Attainment Plan For New Castle County For The 2015 8-Hour Ozone National Ambient Air Quality
Standard 

Basic Inspection & Maintenance Performance Standard Certification For New Castle County

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
On June 4, 2018, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) designated 51 areas of the country as "non-
attainment" under the 2015 8-hour ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) of 70 parts per billion
(ppb). Ground level ozone, one of the principal components of "smog," is a serious air pollutant that harms human
health and the environment. Among those non-attainment areas is the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Atlantic City (PA-
NJ-MD-DE) Moderate Non-Attainment Area (NAA). This NAA includes New Castle County in Delaware. On
October 7, 2022, EPA published a final rule to reclassify certain ozone nonattainment areas from Marginal to
Moderate for the 2015 ozone NAAQS and instructed those areas to develop the following State Implementation
Plans (SIP):

Docket #2023-R-A-0016: "Moderate Non-Attainment Plan For New Castle County For The 2015 8-Hour Ozone
National Ambient Air Quality Standard". This document contains Delaware's SIP revision for meeting the
Attainment Plan requirements associated with the 2015 8-hour ozone NAAQS. Hearing begins at 6:00 pm.

Docket #2023-R-A-0017: "Basic Inspection & Maintenance Performance Standard Certification For New Castle
County". This document addresses how Delaware demonstrates that the vehicle Inspection and Maintenance (I/M)
Program meets the performance standard, as defined within the I/M regulations (40 CFR Part 51, subpart S) and
the Clean Air Act, through a Performance Standard Modeling certification. Hearing begins immediately following
Docket #2023-R-A-0016 hearing.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
7 Del.C. Ch. 60, Section 6010 (a) and (c).

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
None.

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Two virtual public hearings (Docket #2023-R-A-0016 and Docket #2023-R-A-0017) will be held on Tuesday,
November 28, 2023 beginning at 6 p.m. The web link to the virtual hearing can be accessed through the DNREC
Public Hearings site at https://de.gov/dnrechearings. If prompted for a password, please use: 666395. To access
the audio-only portion of the virtual hearing, dial 1-646-931-3860 and enter the event code 860 4729 4107. Closed-
captioning in over 20 languages, including English and Spanish, is available to attendees via the Zoom platform
utilized for all DNREC Public Hearings.
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Those wishing to offer verbal comments during DNREC public hearings must pre-register no later than noon of the
date of the virtual hearing at https://de.gov/dnreccomments or by telephone at 302-739-9001.

The proposed SIP documents may be inspected online starting November 1, 2023 at http://
regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml or by contacting Carolyn Cook, by phone at 302-739-9402
or by email at Carolyn.Cook@delaware.gov. The MOVES input/output files may be requested by contacting
Carolyn Cook at the contact information provided.

The Department will accept public comment through the close of business on December 13, 2023. Comments will
be accepted in written form via email to DNRECHearingComments@delaware.gov, or by using the online form at
https://de.gov/dnreccomments, or by U.S. mail to the following address:

Theresa Smith, Hearing Officer
DNREC - Office of the Secretary

89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901

7. PREPARED BY:
Carolyn Cook
Division of Air Quality-DNREC
100 W. Water Street, Suite 6A, Dover, DE 19904
Phone: (302)739-9402; email: Carolyn.Cook@delaware.gov 

*Please Note: Due to the formatting requirements of the proposed SIP documents they are being attached
here as PDF documents:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/general/2015 Ozone NAAQS Proposal
Certification SIP 10-12-23.pdf
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/general/2015 Ozone NAAQS Proposal
Appendices - Certification SIP 10-12-23.pdf
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/general/2015 Ozone NAAQS Proposal Attainment
Plan SIP 10-12-23.pdf
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/november2023/general/2015 Ozone NAAQS Proposal
Appendices - Attainment Plan SIP 10-12-23.pdf
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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS

Traffic Engineering Section
Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, Section 4505(d)(1) (21 Del.C. §4505(d)(1))

NOTICE

Senate Bill 89 as amended by Senate Amendment 1 - Fairfax Subdivision

September 19, 2023

Yvette Smallwood
Registrar of Regulations
411 Legislative Avenue
Dover, DE 19901

Ms. Smallwood, 

The Delaware General Assembly introduced Senate Bill 89 as amended by Senate Amendment 1 on March 18,
2021. The legislation which relates to traffic control devices for size and weight of vehicles and loads was
subsequently signed by Governor Carney on June 30, 2021. 

The legislation, which amends §4505 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code, provides as follows:

§4505. Traffic control devices.

(d)(1) The Secretary of the Department shall submit an order issued under subsection (c) of this section to the
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Register of Regulations. The Secretary shall also publish the
order on the Department's website with other similar orders.

In accordance with 21 Del. C. §4505(d)(1), Notice is hereby given by Delaware Department of Transportation,
Traffic Engineering Section, as approved and ordered by the Secretary of the Department of Transportation
pursuant to 21 Del. C. §4505(c), for the following permanent traffic control device for the safe movement of traffic in
the area:

"No Trucks Over 2 Axles Except Residential Services" on all local streets in the Fairfax subdivision

Please accept this notification by the Delaware Department of Transportation in order to publish the information in
the Register of Regulations.

Thank you, 
Peter Haag
Chief of Traffic Engineering
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware River Basin Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, November 8, 2023,
commencing at 1:30 p.m. The public hearing will be conducted remotely. The draft docket decisions and draft
resolutions that will be subjects of the public hearing, along with details about the remote platform and how to
participate, will be posted on the Commission's website, www.drbc.gov, at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing
date.

The Commission's quarterly business meeting will be held on Wednesday, December 6, 2023 commencing at
10:30 a.m. The business meeting will be held remotely. An agenda will be posted on the Commission's website,
www.drbc.gov, at least ten (10) days prior to the meeting date.

For additional information, including a link to the live stream of this event, please visit the DRBC website at
www.drbc.gov or contact Patricia Hausler at patricia.hausler@drbc.gov.

Pamela M. Bush, Esq.
Commission Secretary and Assistant General Counsel

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education meets monthly, generally at 5:00pm on the third Thursday of every month. These
meetings are open to the public. The Board rotates locations of regular meetings among the three counties.

The State Board of Education provides information about meeting dates and times, materials, minutes, and
audio recordings on its website: 
https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/state-board-of-education/sbe-monthly-meetings/

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

PUBLIC NOTICE
4305 Trauma System Regulation

Office of Emergency Medical Services & Preparedness Section, Division of Public Health, Department of
Health and Social Services (Department), has proposed amendments to the State of Delaware Trauma System
Regulations. The proposed revisions to the Trauma System regulations bring the Delaware Statewide Trauma
System and its components into alignment with the current revision of the American College of Surgeons'
Committee on Trauma's Resources for Optimal Care of the Injured Patient 2022 Standards. The revisions were
developed and recommended by the stakeholders who serve on the state Trauma System Committee and
primarily are related to documentation of the requirements for Trauma System Participating Hospitals, modification
of the Trauma Registry inclusion criteria to be in alignment with the National Trauma Data Bank criteria, updating of
the Trauma Center Designation Process, and relocation of the Prehospital Trauma Triage Scheme to the
Advanced and Basic Life Support Standing Orders. Older, original, and outdated sections were updated with
current practices.

On November 1, 2023, pursuant to 16 Del.C. §9706 (g)(2), the Department plans to publish proposed
amendments to the State of Delaware Trauma System Regulations and hold them out for public comment per
Delaware law.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the November 1, 2023 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Office of Emergency
Medical Services at (302) 223-2700.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning
the proposed regulations must submit them by December 1, 2023, at:
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Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Email: DHSS_DPH_regulations@delaware.gov
Phone: (302) 744-44951

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
PUBLIC NOTICE

4459 Lead-Based Paint Hazards

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §122(3)t., the Health Systems Protection section within the Division of Public Health,
Department of Health and Social Services, is proposing revisions to the Lead Based Paints Hazards. The revisions
include:

• Addition of electronic payments for Accreditation of Training Programs;
• Removal of the requirement for the Secretary to maintain a list of parities whose accreditation has changed

status; and
• Addition of the ability for an Abatement Worker to apply for a 1 year provisional certification.
Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the November 1, 2023, edition of the Delaware

Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Division of Public
Health at (302) 744- 4700.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, testimony, briefs, or other written materials concerning
the proposed regulations must submit them by Friday, December 1, 2023, at:

Division of Public Health 
417 Federal Street 
Dover, DE 19901 
Email: DHSS_DPH_regulations@delaware.gov
Phone: (302) 744-4700

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
PUBLIC NOTICE

4459A Regulations Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §122(3)t, the Health Systems Protection section within the Division of Public Health,
Department of Health and Social Services, is proposing revisions to the Regulations Governing the Childhood
Lead Poisoning Prevention. The revisions include:

• Addition of the Division's investigation and reporting obligations; and
• Technical and renumbering revisions.
Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the November 1, 2023, edition of the Delaware

Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Division of Public
Health at (302) 744- 4700. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, testimony, briefs, or other written materials concerning
the proposed regulations must submit them by Friday, December 1, 2023, at: 

Division of Public Health 
417 Federal Street 
Dover, DE 19901 
Email: DHSS_DPH_regulations@delaware.gov
Phone: (302) 744-4700
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DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
PUBLIC NOTICE

4501 Regulations for Animals Held in Shelter

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §3004F(d) and §3008F(a), Office of Animal Welfare, Division of Public Health,
Department of Health and Social Services, is proposing revisions to the regulations governing Animals Held in
Shelter. On November 1, 2023, the Division of Public Health plans to publish as "proposed" revisions to the
Animals Held in Shelter regulations. The revisions include updates to reflect current best practices in animal
sheltering, edits required to mirror recent changes in Delaware Code, and technical corrections.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the November 1, 2023 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Division of Public
Health at (302) 744-4951.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, testimony, briefs, or other written materials concerning
the proposed regulations must submit them by December 1, 2023, at:
Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Email: DHSS_DPH_regulations@delaware.gov
Phone: (302) 744-4951

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL AFFAIRS

PUBLIC NOTICE
1341 Workers' Compensation Regulations

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 19 Del.C. §§105 and 2322B, the Delaware Department of Labor, Office of Workers'
Compensation ("Office"), proposes to modify 19 DE Admin. Code 1341 regarding the health care payment
system, specifically the Workers' Compensation Regulations.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other written materials concerning the proposed modifications should direct them to the
following address:

Susan Justison
Delaware Department of Labor
Division of Industrial Affairs / Office of Workers' Compensation
4425 North Market Street, 3rd Floor
Wilmington, DE 19802

Comments may also be directed via electronic mail to susan.justison@Delaware.gov. Any written submission in
response to this notice and relevant to the proposed rules must be received by the above contact at the Delaware
Department of Labor no later than 4 p.m. EST, December 1, 2023.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed rule and guidelines will be based upon
the Office's consideration of the written comments and any other written materials filed by the public.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
PUBLIC NOTICE

3900 Wildlife

The Division of Fish and Wildlife's Wildlife Section is proposing to make amendments to existing regulations
within 7 DE Admin. Code 3900 Wildlife. Specifically, changes are proposed within sections - 1.0 Definitions, 2.0
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Method of Take, 3.0 Federal Laws and Regulations Adopted, 4.0 Seasons, 5.0 Wild Turkeys, 7.0 Deer, 8.0 General
Rules and Regulations Governing Land and Waters Administered by the Division, 9.0 Wildlife Theft Prevention
Fund, 10.0 Nuisance Wildlife, 14.0 Falconry, 15.0 Collection or Sale of Native Wildlife, 16.0 Endangered Species,
17.0 Species of Special Concern, 19.0 (Reserved), 20.0 Game Bird Releases, 21.0 Guide License, 22.0 Hunter
and Trapper License Exempt Number, and 23.0 Non-native/Invasive Wildlife. A new set of regulations is being
proposed with the creation of, 24.0 Wildlife Management Zone Boundaries.

While expansive, most of the changes being proposed will provide additional hunting and trapping
opportunities such as establishing new seasons, expanding current seasons, providing additional methods of take
and developing new and improved reporting criteria for harvested game. However, some of the proposed changes
are needed to minimize negative impacts to some species and to minimize damage to infrastructure and habitats
on lands and waters administered by the Division, while others are minor administrative updates such as correcting
grammar and misspellings.

The hearing record on the proposed changes to 7 DE Admin. Code 3900 will be open November 1, 2023. The
virtual public hearing will be held on Wednesday, December 13, 2023, beginning at 6:00 p.m. The web link to the
virtual hearing can be accessed through the DNREC Public Hearings site at https://dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/
public-hearings/. If prompted, use Meeting ID: 981 1400 7545 Passcode: 955331. To access the audio-only portion
of the virtual hearing, dial (305) 224- 1968 and enter the Meeting ID and Passcode noted above. Closed captioning
is available in over 20 languages, including English and Spanish, to attendees via the Zoom platform utilized for all
DNREC Public Hearings.

Those wishing to offer verbal comments during DNREC virtual public hearings must pre-register no later than
noon on the date of the virtual hearing. The designated page for this Pre-Registration process can be found here:
https://dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/public-hearings/comments/registration/

The proposed amendments may be inspected online starting November 1, 2023 at https://
regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or in-person, by appointment only, by contacting Joe
Rogerson by phone at 302-735-3600 or by email at Joseph.Rogerson@delaware.gov.

Public comments will be received until close of business Friday, January 12, 2024. Comments will be accepted
in written form via email to DNRECHearingComments@delaware.gov, or by using the online form at https://de.gov/
dnreccomments, or by U.S. mail to the following address:

Lisa Vest, Hearing Officer
DNREC - Office of the Secretary
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
STATE BUREAU OF IDENTIFICATION

PUBLIC NOTICE
1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies

Purpose: In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 24 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 13, Section 1305(b)(1), the
Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies proposes to adopt regulations to allow
the use of canines by licensed security guards for the detection of firearms and controlled substances.

Written Comments: The Delaware Department of Safety and Homeland Security, State Bureau of Identification
will receive written comments, suggestions, briefs or other written material until the close of business, 4:30 p.m.,
December 1, 2023. Written comments shall be submitted via e-mail to Frank.Kaleta@delaware.gov or via the
USPS to Frank Kaleta, 600 South Bay Rd. Suite 1, Dover DE 19901.
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STATE BUREAU OF IDENTIFICATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

2400 Board of Examiners of Constables

Purpose: In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 24 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 56, Section 5604(1), the
Constable Board of Examiners proposes to adopt regulations to amend licensing requirements and make technical
corrections to the regulation.

Written Comments: The Delaware Department of Safety and Homeland Security, State Bureau of Identification
will receive written comments, suggestions, briefs or other written material until the close of business, 4:30 p.m.,
December 1, 2023. Written comments shall be submitted via e-mail to Frank.Kaleta@delaware.gov or via the
USPS to Frank Kaleta, 600 South Bay Rd. Suite 1, Dover DE 19901.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

PUBLIC NOTICE
2700 Board of Registration for Professional Land Surveyors

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2706(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Professional Land Surveyors ("Board") has
proposed revisions to its Rules and Regulations. The revised subsection 10.1.2 would relax the PDH requirement
for disabled, retired licensees under the age of 62. The other proposed amendments reflect technical and style
changes consistent with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation changes on January 18, 2024, at 8:30 a.m. in
the second-floor conference room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Professional Land Surveyors, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit
written comments may forward these to the Board at the above address or at Tashana.Branch@delaware.gov.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the final date to receive written comments will be February 7, 2024.
The Board will deliberate on all of the public comments at its regularly scheduled meeting.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

6100 Board of Elevator Mechanics

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §6105(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Elevator Mechanics ("Board") has proposed
adoption of rules and regulations to implement its licensing law, Chapter 61 of Title 24 of the Delaware Code. In
particular, the proposed rules and regulations set forth the process whereby applicants may be eligible for licensure
under the grandfathering provision. Standards for licensure, practice and continuing education are adopted. The
Board has also proposed adoption of a list of crimes substantially related to the practice of providing elevator
services.

A public hearing will be held on November 21, 2023 at 10:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room B of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed
rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of Elevator Mechanics, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board
at the above address or at danielle.ridgway@delaware.gov.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the final date to receive written comments will be December 6, 2023.
The Board will deliberate on all of the public comments at its regularly scheduled meeting.
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