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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

9 DE Reg. 415-420 (09/01/05)

Refers to Volume 9, pages 415-420 of the 
Delaware Register issued on September 1, 2005.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00. Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage. For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency 
proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a 
regulation, it shall file notice and full text of such 
proposals, together with copies of the existing 
regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, 
with the Registrar for publication in the Register of 
Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The 
notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings 
including a brief synopsis of the subject, 
substance, issues, possible terms of the agency 
action, a reference to the legal authority of the 
agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views; if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be 
held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place 
and a summary of the nature of the proposal shall 
also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation. The notice shall 
also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
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materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include: (1) A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received; (4) The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 

no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 
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The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation. The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.
DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

PUBLIC NOTICE

Proposed Amendment to the Basin Regulations--Water 
Supply Charges and Comprehensive Plan Relating to 

Certificates of Entitlement

Summary: The Delaware River Basin Commission
("Commission" or "DRBC") will hold a public hearing to
receive comments on proposed amendments to the
Commission's Basin Regulations - Water Supply Charges
and Comprehensive Plan concerning certificates of
entitlement. No changes in the substance or administration
of the rule are proposed. The purpose of the proposed
amendments is to clarify the language of the rule to conform
to the Commission's past decisions and current practices in
order to provide better notice to users as to how the
Commission is implementing its entitlements program and to
avoid future controversy.

Background. The Delaware River Basin Compact
("Compact"), the 1961 statute that created the DRBC and
defined its powers, authorizes the Commission to charge for
the use of facilities that it may own or operate and for
products and services rendered thereby. Compact, §3.7.
Congress limited this authority by providing that the
Commission cannot charge for water withdrawals or

diversions that could lawfully have been made without
charge as of the effective date of the Compact. Id., § 15.1(b).

By Resolution No. 64-16A in 1964 the Commission
authorized a water charging program. It provided for the
revenues generated by the program to be used for repayment
of the nonfederal share of the investment cost of water
supply storage facilities associated with federal projects
within the Basin. In anticipation of Commission investment
in storage at the Beltzville Lake and Blue Marsh Reservoir
projects in Pennsylvania, the Commission by Resolution No.
1971-4 defined, among other things, the means by which it
would establish water charging rates. Consistent with
Section 15.1 (b) of the Compact, Resolution No. 1971-4
provided that charges would be applicable only to the
amount of water withdrawn in excess of the amount taken or
legally entitled to be taken by an entity during the preceding
year. By Resolution No. 74-6, the Commission instituted a
system of water supply charges for surface water
withdrawals within the Basin. That resolution provided for
the issuance of certificates of entitlement to then-current
water users, establishing the amount of water each could
lawfully take from the surface waters of the Basin without
charge, consistent with Section 15.1(b) of the Compact. The
resolution provided that a certificate of entitlement was not
transferable, except under limited circumstances set forth in
enumerated exceptions.

Because entitlements treat users that commenced water
withdrawals before the enactment of the Compact more
favorably than users who commenced water withdrawals
later, even though all users benefit equally from the facilities
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financed by water supply charges, courts and the
Commission have emphasized the need to eliminate
entitlements over time. Both the Commission and the courts
have construed narrowly the exceptions to the rule that
entitlements are not transferable, and the Commission has in
its decisions consistently held that changes in ownership or
control would extinguish a certificate. However, the
language of the regulations has never explicitly defined
"changes in ownership or control." As a consequence, in the
decisions that the Commission has been asked to make in its
adjudicatory capacity and that the courts have subsequently
been asked to decide, the matter of what constitutes a change
of ownership or control has been controversial.

In 1994, in response to a ruling by the Third Circuit in
Texaco Refining and Marketing, Inc. v. DRBC, 824 F. Supp.
500 (D.Del. 1993), aff’d., No. 93-7475 (3d Cir. June 24,
1994) (per curiam), the Commission adopted Resolution No.
94-20. That resolution incorporated an explicit "ownership
and/or control" test and eliminated the merger exception
included in the Commission's regulations at the time. In
addition, the exception for corporate reorganizations
embodied in Section 5.2.1.F.2 of the Water Charging
Regulations was amended to apply only when the
reorganization "does not affect ownership and/or control."

In spite of the 1994 amendment, some members of the
Basin community have continued to interpret the language of
the rule in a manner contrary to the Commission's consistent
interpretation. To avoid further controversy, the Commission
proposes a more thorough revision of the language, intended
to remove any ambiguity.

Key Provisions. In addition to defining "change in
ownership and/or control" with much greater specificity, the
proposed revisions also make clear that a merger at any tier
in a corporate organization will extinguish a certificate held
by a subsidiary in the same way as if the merger had
occurred at the subsidiary level. Although the Commission
has interpreted its rule this way in the past, the rules have
never been explicit on this point.

The proposed amendments preserve and clarify the
corporate reorganization exception contained in the current
regulation. The Commission traditionally has not
extinguished an entitlement in the case of an internal
reorganization, and it does not propose a change in this
practice.

The proposed amendments also preserve the existing
exception for agricultural uses. Historically, agriculture has
been treated differently than other uses. For purposes other
than agriculture, an entitlement is issued to a user and would
not be transferable to a different user, even if the use
remained the same. In the case of agriculture, however, an
entitlement effectively runs with the land, as long as the land

remains in agriculture. The proposed amendments provide
that an entitlement can be reissued to the successor of a
holder of a certificate issued for agricultural water use,
provided that the successor demonstrates that the water will
continue to be used for agricultural irrigation purposes.

Dates: The public hearing on the proposed rule change will
be held on Wednesday, December 7, 2005 at approximately
2:30 P.M. as part of the Commission's regularly scheduled
business meeting. The time is approximate because the
Commission will conduct hearings on several dockets
(project approvals) beforehand, beginning at approximately
1:30 P.M. The hearing will continue until all those who wish
to testify are afforded an opportunity to do so. In the event
that all those who wish to testify cannot be heard on
December 7, the hearing will be continued at a date, time and
location to be announced by the Commission Chair that day.
Persons wishing to testify at the hearing are asked to register
in advance with the Commission Secretary by phoning
609-883-9500, extension 224. Written comments will be
accepted through Tuesday, January 10, 2006.

Addresses: The public hearing will be held in the Goddard
Room at the Commission's office building, located at 25
State Police Drive in West Trenton, New Jersey. Directions
to the Commission's office building are posted on the
Commission's website, http://www.drbc.net. Written
comments should be addressed to the Commission Secretary
as follows: by email to paula.schmitt@drbc.state.nj.us; by
fax to the Commission Secretary - 609-883-9522; by U.S.
Mail to the Commission Secretary, DRBC, P.O. Box 7360,
West Trenton, NJ 08628-0360; or by overnight mail to the
Commission Secretary, DRBC, 25 State Police Drive, West
Trenton, NJ 08628-0360.

Additional Information, Contact: The full text of the
proposed amendment and the text of the current regulation
are posted on the Commission's website, http://
www.drbc.net. Please contact Commission Secretary Pamela
Bush at 609-883-9500 ext. 203 with questions about the
proposed rule or the rulemaking process.

Pamela M. Bush, Esquire
Commission Secretary and Assistant General Counsel
October 12, 2005
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

14 DE Admin. Code 225

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

225 Prohibition of Discrimination

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE

Admin. Code 225 Prohibition of Discrimination in order to
align the wording of this regulation with the
nondiscrimination statement on the Department stationary,
the Employee Handbook and the Department’s application
for employment.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards? The amended regulation addresses the prohibition
of discrimination not student achievement issues.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation addresses equitable education issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation addresses prohibition of discrimination
not students’ health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
will help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are
respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels? The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or

administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity? The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies? The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation? There is no less burdensome
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
additional cost to the State and to the local school boards for
compliance with the regulation.

225 Prohibition of Discrimination

1.0 Prohibition of Discrimination
No person in the State of Delaware, shall, on the basis of

race, color, creed religion, national origin, sex, sexual
orientation, marital status, disability, age or gender Vietnam
Era veteran’s status, be unlawfully excluded from
participation in, denied the benefits of, or subjected to
discrimination under any program or activity receiving
approval or financial assistance from or through the
Delaware Department of Education.

2 DE Reg. 1246 (1/1/99)
7 DE Reg. 1177 (3/1/04)
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 525

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

525 Requirements for Career-Technical Education 
Programs

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the

State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
525 Requirements for Career-Technical Education Programs
in order to add the phrase “or under unique circumstances as
approved by the Department of Education” to 3.0
Cooperative Education and to 4.0 Diversified Occupations
Programs. The word “quarterly” has also been added to 4.1
under Diversified Education Programs to clarify the number
of visits the teacher or counselor must make and “Relative
Caregiver” has been added to parent or guardian in 3.3 and
4.3. The Name of the Delaware Advisory Council on Career
and Technical Education has also been corrected in 2.14.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards? The amended regulation addresses career and
technical programs and improving student achievement is an
important consideration in the development of these
programs.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation addresses career and technical programs and
equity issues are an important consideration in the
development of these programs.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation addresses career and technical programs
and students’ health and safety are an important part of these
programs.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
addresses career and technical programs and students’ legal

rights are an important consideration in the development of
these programs.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels? The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity? The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies? The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation? There is no less burdensome
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no cost to
the State and to the local school boards of compliance with
the regulation.

525 Requirements for Career-Technical Education 
Programs

1.0 Career-Technical Education Programs
All Career-Technical Education Programs shall meet the

provisions of Delaware's State Plan for Career and Technical
Education and meet the provisions of the content standards
approved by the Department of Education or, if there are no
approved state content standards, meet local program
standards approved by the Department of Education.

6 DE Reg. 955 (2/1/03)
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2.0 Requirements for all local School Districts and 
Charter Schools that Offer State Approved Career-
Technical Education Programs

All local School Districts and Charter Schools that offer
State Approved Career-Technical Education Programs shall:

2.1 Have the approval of the Department of Education
before implementing new programs.

2.2 Have adequate funding to support and sustain the
instructional program.

2.3 Employ teachers certified in Career-Technical
Education Program areas.

2.4 Make provisions for meeting the unique needs of all
students.

2.5 Establish and maintain an active advisory
committee which includes labor and management personnel
to assist in the development and operation of the program.

2.6 Use present and projected labor market
information, available from the Delaware Occupational
Information Coordinating Committee, to determine the need
for new and continuing Career-Technical Education
Programs.

2.7 Survey local business and industry to determine
their occupational needs and the availability of placement
and employment opportunities for program completers.

2.8 Survey the student population to determine their
occupational interests and needs.

2.9 Organize and financially support career-technical
student organizations as integral components of Career-
Technical Education Programs in public schools that
complement and enrich instruction. The following career-
technical student organizations are affiliated in Delaware:

2.9.1 Business Professionals of America (BPA)
2.9.2 Technology Student Association (TSA)
2.9.3 Distributive Education Clubs of America

(DECA), an association of marketing students
2.9.4 Family, Career and Community Leaders of

America (FCCLA)
2.9.5 The National FFA Organization
2.9.6 Skills USA/VICA
2.9.7 The Delaware Career Association (DCA)

2.10 Integrate related academic content into
individual career-technical education courses, and guide
students through a course selection process that supports the
necessary academic preparation required by the student's
career path and educational goals.

2.11 Schedule trade and industrial education
programs, when offered, for a minimum of two consecutive
periods a day or the equivalent, five days a week for two or
more years.

2.12 Establish no rules practices or regulations that
interfere with, prohibit or otherwise prevent students from

having the opportunity to learn about, enroll in and complete
a Career-Technical Education Program in a career-technical
school district.

2.13 Use equipment and facilities comparable to
that used by local business and industry for which the
Career-Technical Education Program is preparing students.

2.14 Schedule Department of Education and
Delaware Advisory Council on Career and Technical
Education program review and monitoring visits upon
request.

1 DE Reg. 1196 (2/1/98)
6 DE Reg. 955 (2/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 1603 (5/1/05)

3.0 Cooperative Education Programs.
Cooperative Education Programs provide senior Career-

Technical Education Program students with coordinated on-
the-job training not ordinarily available in the classroom.
During the student's senior year, or under unique
circumstances as approved by the Department of Education,
employers may provide this on-the-job training in
occupations directly related to the Career-Technical-
Education Program in which the student is enrolled. For the
purpose of granting credit during the school year two hours
of Cooperative Education Work Experience shall equal one
hour of instructional time. In a summer Cooperative
Education Work Experience Program one-half unit of credit
shall be granted and shall be counted toward the units of
credit necessary for graduation.

3.1 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units the Career-Technical Education Program
Teacher or Career Guidance Counselor shall be provided
with a full class period, each day, for every fifteen (15)
students enrolled in the Cooperative Education Work
Experience Program in order to make quarterly visits to the
student's place of employment to ensure coordination
between the classroom and the on-the-job experience.

3.2 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units the students shall; possess minimum
occupational competencies specified by the Career-
Technical Education Teacher Coordinator before being
placed in cooperative employment, be in their senior year
and be in a Cooperative Education Work Experience
Program that relates directly to the student's current or
completed career-technical education pathway and be
supervised through on-site visits by an assigned Career-
Technical Education Program Teacher Coordinator or Career
Guidance Counselor.

3.3 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units the school shall have on file, for each student;
a training agreement that includes training objectives and is
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signed by a parent or guardian, guardian or Relative
Caregiver the employer, the student and a representative of
the district. A State Work Permit for Minors in accordance
with State Department of Labor regulations shall also be on
file.

3.4 For an IDEA eligible student, the student's IEP
team, in consultation with the Career Technical Education
Teacher Coordinator, may authorize the student's
participation in this program irrespective of lack of senior
year status if necessary to provide the student a free,
appropriate public education.

2 DE Reg. 111 (7/1/98)
6 DE Reg. 955 (2/1/03)

4.0 Diversified Occupations Programs.
Diversified Occupations Programs provide students

with coordinated on-the-job training not ordinarily available
in the classroom. During the student's junior and or senior
year, year or under unique circumstances as approved by the
Department of Education employers provide this on-the-job
training. For the purpose of granting credit during the school
year, two hours of work experience in a Diversified
Occupations Work Experience Program shall equal one hour
of instructional time. In a summer Diversified Occupations
Work Experience Program one-half unit of credit shall be
granted and that credit shall be counted toward the units of
credit necessary for graduation.

4.1 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units a Career-Technical Education Program
Teacher or Career Guidance Counselor shall be provided
with a full class period, each day, for every fifteen (15)
students enrolled in the Diversified Occupations Work
Experience Program in order to make quarterly on-site visits
to the student's place of employment to ensure coordination
between the classroom and the on-the-job experience.

4.2 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units the students shall; possess minimum readiness
competencies as specified by the Career-Technical
Education Program Teacher Coordinator before being placed
in a Diversified Occupations Work Experience Program
employment situation, be in their junior or senior year meet
the requirements of 4.0 and be actively enrolled in a
Diversified Occupations Work Experience Program that
meets for at least one class period per week.

4.3 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units the school shall have on file, for each student;
a training agreement that includes training objectives and is
signed by a parent or guardian, guardian or Relative
Caregiver, the employer, the student and a representative of
the district. A State Work Permit for Minors in accordance

with State Department of Labor regulations shall also be on
file.

4.4 For an IDEA eligible student, the student's IEP
team, in consultation with the Career Technical Education
Teacher Coordinator, may authorize the student's
participation in this program irrespective of lack of junior or
senior year status if necessary to provide the student a free,
appropriate public education.

2 DE Reg. 111 (7/1/98)
6 DE Reg. 955 (2/1/03)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Sections 1250-1252 (14 Del.C. §§1250-1252)
14 DE Admin. Code 310

PUBLIC NOTICE
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
Section 122(D)

310 Certification Administrative Supervisor/Reading 
Coordinator

 
A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested

Repeal

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks
the approval of the State Board of Education to repeal 14 DE
Admin. Code §310 Certification Administrative Supervisor/
Reading Coordinator. It is necessary to repeal this regulation
as the requirements for administrative supervisor are
incorporated into 14 DE Admin. Code §1531, thereby
making regulation §310 unnecessary.

310 Certification Administrative Supervisor/Reading 
Coordinator

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for assignment as a district reading supervisor/coordinator or
state supervisor of reading.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree (or Master's equivalent) from

an accredited college and,
1.2 Experience
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1.2.1 Minimum of three years of successful
teaching experience with at least two years in the classroom
and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Eligible for the Reading Specialist License

and,
1.3.2 A three semester hour graduate level course in

each of the following:
1.3.2.1 Educational Supervision
1.3.2.2 Technology in Education
1.3.2.3 Curriculum Development, and

1.3.3 Nine graduate semester hours in specialized
reading courses chosen from the following:

1.3.3.1 Children's and Adolescent Literature
3 semester hours

1.3.3.2 Emergent Literacy 3 semester hours
1.3.3.3 Teaching English as a Second

Language 3 semester hours
1.3.3.4 Seminar in Reading Research, and 3

semester hours
1.3.4 Six additional semester hours of graduate

level courses chosen from
the following:

1.3.4.1 Educational Assessment 3 semester
hours

1.3.4.2 Legal Issues in Education 3 semester
hours

1.3.4.3 Leadership in Education 3 semester
hours

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years at the request of a Delaware public
school district to a person who meets the requirements listed
below, and who is employed as a Reading Coordinator/
Supervisor to allow for the completion of the requirements
for the Standard License in1.0.

2.1.1 Bachelor's degree from an accredited college;
and

2.1.2 Eligible for the Standard Reading Specialist
License and,

2.1.3 Minimum of three years of successful
teaching experience with at least two years in the classroom
and,

2.1.4 Six additional semester hours in graduate
level courses and,

2.1.5 Three semester hours in graduate level
reading courses in 1.3.3.
3.0 Licenses that may be issues for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Sections 1250-1252 (14 Del.C. §§1250-1252)
14 DE Admin. Code 1544-45, 1549-50, 1552-53

PUBLIC NOTICE
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
Section 122(D)

1544 Art Teacher Elementary
1545 Art Teacher Secondary

1549 Music Teacher Elementary
1550 Music Teacher Secondary

1552 Physical Education Teacher Elementary
1553 Physical Education Teacher Secondary

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Repeal

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks
the approval of the State Board of Education to repeal 14 DE
Admin. Code1544, 1545, 1549, 1550, 1552, and 1553.  It is
necessary to repeal these regulations as as comprehensive K-
12 regulations exist in all of the affected content areas.
PRAXIS™ II tests in these content areas are comprehensive
in nature, addressing grades kindergarten through 12.
Passage of the appropriate PRAXIS™ II test would qualify a
candidate for all levels of certification. In a continuing effort
to reduce the number and complexity of regulations, it is
necessary to repeal the above regulations, as they are
unnecessary and redundant.

1544 Art Teacher Elementary

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for Art
Teacher - Elementary (required in grades K-6 in an
elementary school and valid in grades 5-8 in a middle level
school).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 5, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 681
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge,
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department
shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Art Teacher
Elementary to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware
Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department
prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited
college or university and,

3.2 Professional Education
3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher

education program in Elementary Art or,
3.2.2 Minimum of 24 semester hours to include

Human Development, Methods of Teaching Art/Elementary
Level, Art for Special Education, Effective Teaching
Strategies, Multicultural Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Major in Art or,
3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher

education program in Elementary Art or,
3.3.3 Minimum of 36 semester hours including

a minimum of two courses in each of the following areas:
Drawing, Painting, Design, Art History Aesthetics,
Graphics, Printmaking, and Related Processes, Three
Dimensional Arts and Crafts including 1 course in Ceramics.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006
only.  Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate as an
Art Teacher - Elementary after that date must comply with
the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1545 Art Teacher Secondary

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.  §1220(a), for Art
Teacher - Secondary (required in grades 9-12 and valid in
grades 5-8 in a middle level school).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions

2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this
regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge,
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department
shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Art Teacher
Secondary to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware
Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department
prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited
college or university and,

3.2 Professional Education
3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher

education program in Secondary Art or,
3.2.2 Minimum of 24 semester hours to include

Human Development, Methods of Teaching Art/Secondary
Level, Art for Special Education, Effective Teaching
Strategies, Multicultural Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Major in Art or,
3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher

education program in Secondary Art or,
3.3.3 Minimum of 36 semester hours including

a minimum of two courses in each of the following areas:
Drawing, Painting, Design, Art History Aesthetics,
Graphics, Printmaking, and Related Processes, and Three
Dimensional Arts and Crafts, including 1 course in
Ceramics.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006
only.  Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate as
anArt Teacher - Secondary after that date must comply with
the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1549 Music Teacher Elementary

1.0 Content
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This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a
Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.  §1220(a), for
Music Teacher Elementary (Required for grades K-6 and
valid in grades 5-8 in a middle level school).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge,
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department
shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Music Teacher
Elementary to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware
Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department
prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited
college or university and,

3.2 Professional Education
3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher

education program in Elementary Music or,
3.2.2 Minimum of 24 semester hours to include

Human Development, Methods of Teaching Music/
Elementary Level, Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities,
Effective Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Major in Music or,
3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher

education program in Elementary Music or,
3.3.3 Minimum of 36 semester hours including

course work in Music Theory, Music Literature, and Musical
Performance. 

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006
only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate as a
Music Teacher-Elementary after that date must comply with
the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1550 Music Teacher Secondary

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.  §1220(a), for
Music Teacher - Secondary  (Required for grades 9-12 and
valid in grades 5-8 in a middle level school).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge,
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department
shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Music Teacher
Secondary to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware
Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department
prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited
college or university and,

3.2 Professional Education
3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher

education program in Secondary Music or,
3.2.2 Minimum of 24 semester hours to include

Human Development, Methods of Teaching Music/
Secondary Level, Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities,
Effective Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, and,

3.2.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.2.3.1 Major in Music or,
3.2.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher

education program in Secondary Music or,
3.2.3.3 Minimum of 36 semester hours

including course work in Music Theory, Music Literature,
and Musical Performance.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)
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4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006
only. Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate as a
Music Teacher Secondary after that date must comply with
the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1552 Physical Education Teacher Elementary

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for
Physical Education Teacher Elementary (Required for
grades K-6 in an elementary school and valid in grades 7-8
in a middle level school).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge,
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department
shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Physical Education
Teacher Elementary to an applicant who holds a valid
Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the
Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the
following requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited
college or university and,

3.2 Professional Education
3.2.1 Completion of a program in teacher

education in Physical Education (must include K-4) or,
3.2.2 Minimum of 24 semester hours to include

Human Development, Methods of Teaching Physical
Education/Elementary Level, and Methods of Teaching
Physical Education at one of the following levels: 5-8 or 9-
12; Special/Adapted Physical Education, Effective Teaching
Strategies, Multicultural Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Major in Physical Education or,

3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher
preparation program in Physical Education, K-4 or,

3.3.3 Minimum of 45 semester hours including
course work in the following areas of Physical Education:

3.3.3.1 Foundations and Theory (15 semester
hours): History, Philosophy, Administration, Program
Planning, Concepts of Play, Coaching Strategy and
Techniques, Evaluation

3.3.3.2 Movement Experience* (18 semester
hours) Individual Sports, Dual Sports, Team Sports,
Elementary Rhythms/Dance, Aquatics, Low Organization or
Cooperation Games, Movement/Tumbling, Gymnastics
Apparatus, Recreation and Leisure Activities, Health-related
Fitness (*Must include two courses in Elementary School
Physical Education Activities)

3.3.3.3Science (12 semester hours):
Anatomical, Physiological, Biomechanical, Kinesiological,
Exercise Performance, Technical Applications (including
computers)

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006
only.  Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate as a
Physical Education Teacher - Elementary after than date
must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C.
§1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1553 Physical Education Teacher

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.  §1220(a), for
Physical Education Teacher Secondary (Required in grades 9
-12 and valid in grades 5-8 in a middle level school).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge,
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)
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3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department
shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Physical Education
Teacher Secondary to an applicant who holds a valid
Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the
Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the
following requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited
college or university and,

3.2 Professional Education
3.2.1 Completion of a teacher preparation

program in Physical Education (must include 7-12) or,
3.2.2 Minimum of 24 semester hours to include

Human Development, Methods of Teaching Physical
Education/Secondary Level, Special/Adapted Physical
Education, Effective Teaching Strategies, Multicultural
Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Major in Physical Education or,
3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher

preparation program in Physical Education, 9 -12 or,
3.3.3 Minimum of 45 semester hours including

course work in the following areas of Physical Education:
3.3.3.1 Foundations and Theory (15 semester

hours): History, Philosophy, Administration, Program
Planning, Concepts of Play, Coaching Strategy and
Techniques, Evaluation.

3.3.3.2 Movement Experience* (18 semester
hours): Individual Sports, Dual Sports, Team Sports,
Elementary Rhythms/Dance, Aquatics, Low Organization or
Cooperation Games, Basic Movement/Tumbling,
Gymnastics Apparatus, Recreation and Leisure Activities,
Health-related Fitness. (Must include two courses in
Elementary School Physical Education Activities)

3.3.3.3 Science (12 semester hours):
Anatomical, Physiological, Biomechanical, Kinesiological,
Exercise Performance, Technical Applications (including
computers).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006
only.  Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate as a
Physical Education Teacher - Secondary after that date must
comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

Statutory Auhority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Estate Recovery Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and
Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) related to the Estate Recovery
Program. Additionally, this action is technical in nature to
allow for updated state plan pre print pages. This technical
amendment to clarify the plan has no budget impact.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906,
New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by November 30, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Amendment

Statutory Authority
• Section 1917 of the Social Security Act, Liens,

Adjustments and Recoveries, and Transfers of
Assets;

• 42 CFR §433.36, Liens and Recoveries;
• State Medicaid Manual, Section 3810, Medicaid

Estate Recoveries; and,
• Title 25, Delaware Code, Chapter 50, Liens and

Estate Recoveries.

Amending the Following Updated Pre Print State Plan
Pages

• Pages 53, 53a, 53b, 53c, 53d, 53e 
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• Attachment 4.17-A, Pages 1, 2, 3, and 4

Background
Under the estate recoveries provisions in the Omnibus

Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1993 and §1917(b) of
the Social Security Act, states must recover certain Medicaid
benefits correctly on behalf of an individual. Beneficiaries
are notified of the Medicaid estate recovery program during
their initial application for Medicaid eligibility and annual
redetermination process. Federal law provides protections to
ensure adequate notice to clients, prevention of undue
hardship, and cost effectiveness under a state’s recovery
program.

For individuals age 55 or older, States are required to
seek recovery of payments from the individual's estate for
nursing facility services, home and community-based
services, and related hospital and prescription drug services.
States have the option of recovering payments for all other
Medicaid services provided to these individuals.

States are also required to establish procedures, under
standards specified by the Secretary for waiving estate
recovery when recovery would cause an undue hardship.

Summary of Proposed Amendment
For institutionalized individuals age 55 years or over,

the time period for the exclusion of placement of a lien on
real property due to intent to return home is being reduced
from two (2) years to sixty (60) days. Due to the resources
available to postpone and prevent institutionalization, such
as the elderly and disabled waiver program, most admissions
are permanent or for short-term rehabilitation of less than 60
days. In the nine (9) years that DHSS has been placing liens
on real property, most of the properties excluded for the
intent to return home were sold during the two (2) year
exclusion period or the liens were placed after the two (2)
years.

The following proposed changes are effective January 1,
2006:

• DSSM 20310.1.1, Intent to Return and DSSM
20620.3, Community Spouse Income Allowance/
Home Maintenance Disregard: Amends the length
of time DMMA will protect the $75.00 per month
for home maintenance from 6 months to 2 months.

• DSSM 20500.5.2, Lien Recovery Exception:
Amends the lien recovery exception provision for a
sibling lawfully residing in the home of the
recipient from two (2) years (24 months) to one (1)
year (12 months) immediately prior to the
recipient’s admission for long term care services.

• DSSM 20500.6.1, Exceptions to the Lien Policy:
Amends the client’s intent to return home provision

from two (2) years to within sixty (60) days of their
admission date to a facility. If the stay in the facility
is sixty (60) days or more, DHSS will place a lien
on the property. 

The proposed amendment is subject to approval by the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-64a

REVISIONS:
53

Revision: HCFA-PM-95-3 (MB)
May 1995

State Plan Under Title XIX Of The Social Security Act

STATE/TERRITORY: DELAWARE

Citation
42 CFR 433.36(c) 4.17  Liens and Adjustments or
1902(a)(18) and Recoveries
1917(a) and (b) of 
 the Act (a) Liens

___The State imposes liens against an
individual's real property on account
of medical assistance paid or to be
paid.

The State complies with the
requirements of section 1917(a) of the
Act and regulations at 42 CFR 433.36
(c)-(g) with respect to any lien
imposed against the property of any
individual prior to his or her death on
account of medical assistance paid or
to be paid on his or her behalf.

___The State imposed liens on real
property on account of benefits
incorrectly paid.

  X  *The State imposes TEFRA liens
1917(a) (1) (B) on real property of an
individual who is an inpatient of a
nursing facility, ICF/MR or other
medical institution, where the
individual is required to contribute
toward the cost of institutional care all
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but a minimal amount of income
required for personal needs.

The procedure by the State for
determining that an institutionalized
individual cannot reasonably be
expected to be discharged are
specified in Attachment 4.17-A.
(NOTE:  If the State indicates in its
State plan that it is imposing TEFRA
liens, the State is required to
determine whether an institutionalized
individual is permanently
institutionalized and afford these
individuals notice, hearing
procedures, and due process
requirements.)

___The State imposes liens on both
real and personal property of an
individual after the individual's death.

*The State only imposes TEFRA liens on real property
of inpatient long term care residents age 55 and over under
OBRA 93.

53a

Revision: HCFA-PM-95-3 (MB)
May 1995

State Plan Under Title XIX Of The Social Security Act

STATE/TERRITORY: DELAWARE

(b) Adjustments or Recoveries

The State complies with the
requirements of section 1917(b) of the Act and regulations at
42 CFR 433.36 (h)-(l).

(1) For permanently institutionalized
individuals, adjustments or recoveries
are made from the individual's estate
or upon sale of the property subject to
a lien imposed because of medical
assistance paid on behalf of the
individual for services provided in a
nursing facility, ICF/MR, or other
medical institution.

___Adjustments or recoveries are
made for all other medical assistance
paid on behalf of the individual.

(2) ___The State determines
"permanent institutional status" of the
individuals under the age of 55 other
than those with respect to whom it
imposes liens on real property under
§1917(a)(1)(B) (even if it does not
impose those liens.

(3) For any individual who received
medical assistance at age 55 or older,
adjustments or recoveries of payments
are made from the individual's
estate for nursing facility
services, home and community-
based services, and related
hospital and prescription drug
services.

  X   In addition to adjustment of
recovery of payments for services
listed above, payments are adjusted or
recovered for all services under the
State Plan.

53b

Revision: HCFA-PM-95-3 (MB)
May 1995

State Plan Under Title XIX Of The Social Security Act

STATE/TERRITORY: DELAWARE

(4) N/A The State disregards assets
or resources for individuals who
receive or are entitled to receive
benefits under a long term care
insurance policy as provided for
in Supplement 8b to Attachment
2.6-A.

N/A The State adjusts or recovers
from the individual's estate on
account of all medical assistance
paid for nursing facility and other
long-term care services provided
on behalf of the individual
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(States other than California,
Connecticut, Indiana, Iowa, and
New York, which provide long-
term care insurance policy-based
asset or resource disregard, must
select this entry. These five States
may either check this entry or one
of the following entries).

N/A The State does not adjust or
recover from the individual's
estate on account of any medical
assistance paid for nursing
facility or other long-term care
services provided on behalf of the
individual.

N/A The State adjusts or recovers
from the assets or resources on
account of medical assistance
paid for nursing facility or other
long-term care services provided
on behalf of the individual to the
extent described below: 

53c

Revision: HCFA-PM-95-3 (MB)
May 1995

State Plan Under Title XIX Of The Social Security Act

STATE/TERRITORY: DELAWARE

(c) Adjustments or Recoveries: Limitations

The State complies with the
requirements of Section 1917(b)(2) of
the Act and regulations at 42 CFR
§422.36 (h) - (i) and the State Probate

 law.

(1) Adjustment or recovery of
medical assistance correctly paid will
be made only after the death of the
individual's surviving spouse, and
only when the individual has no
surviving child who is under age 21,
blind, or disabled.

(2) With respect to liens on the home

of any individual who the State
determines is permanently
institutionalized and who must as a
condition of receiving services in the
institution apply their income to the
cost of care; the State will not seek
adjustment or recovery of medical
assistance paid on behalf of the
individual until such time as none of
the following individuals are residing
in the individual's home:

(a) a sibling of the individual
(who was residing in the
individual's home for at least one
year immediately before the date
the individual was
institutionalized).

(b) a child of the individual
(who was residing in the
individual's home for at least two
years immediately before the date
the individual was
institutionalized) who established
to the satisfaction of the State that
the care the child provided
permitted the individual to reside
at home rather than become
institutionalized.

(3) No money payments under
another program are reduced as a
means of adjusting or recovering
Medicaid claims incorrectly paid.

53d

Revision: HCFA-PM-95-3 (MB)
May 1995

State Plan Under Title XIX Of The Social Security Act

STATE/TERRITORY: DELAWARE

(d) Attachment 4.17-A
(1) Specifies the procedures for
determining that an institutionalized
individual cannot reasonably be
expected to be discharged from the
medical institution and return home.
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The description of the procedure
meets the requirements of 42 CFR
433.36(d).

(2) Specifies the criteria by which a
son or daughter can establish that he
or she has been providing care, as
specified under 42 CFR 433.36(f).

(3) Defines the following terms: 

• Estate (at minimum, estate as
defined under State Probate law.)
Except for the grandfathered States
listed in Section 4.17(b)(3), if the
State provides a disregard for assets
or resources for any individual who
received or is entitled to receive
benefits under a long-term care
insurance policy, the definition of
estate must include all real, personal
property and assets of an individual
(including any property or assets in
which the individual had any legal
title or interest at the time of death to
the extent of the interest and also
including the assets conveyed
through devices such a joint tenancy,
life estate, living trust, or other
arrangement).
•  individual's home,
• equity interest in the home,
• residing in the home for at least 1 or
2 years,
• on a continuous basis,
•discharge from the medical
institution and return home, and 
•  lawfully residing.

53e

Revision: HCFA-PM-95-3 (MB)
May 1995

State Plan Under Title XIX Of The Social Security Act

STATE/TERRITORY: DELAWARE

(4) Describes the standards and
procedures for waiving estate
recovery when it would cause undue

hardship.

(5) Defines when adjustment or
recovery is not cost-effective. Defines
cost effective and includes
methodology or thresholds used to
determine cost-effectiveness. 

(6) Describes collection procedures.
Includes advance notice requirements,
specifies the method for applying for
a waiver, hearing and appeals
procedures, and the time frames
involved.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-64b

REVISIONS:
ATTACHMENT 4.17-1

Page 1

State Plan Under Title XIX Of The Social Security Act

STATE/TERRITORY: DELAWARE

Liens and Adjustments or Recoveries

1. The State uses the following process for
determining that an institutionalized individual cannot
reasonably be expected to be discharged from the medical
institution and return home:

The process for determining that an
institutionalized individual cannot reasonably be expected to
be discharged from the medical institution and return home
is made based on the individual’s medical condition. The
following is considered in making the determination, that it
is reasonable that the client may return home within sixty
(60) days: 

A written statement or DMMA Form 407
completed and signed by the attending physician indicating
that it is reasonable to expect the client will be able to return
home within sixty (60) days of their admission date. Any
lien placed on the real property of an institutionalized client
will be released when that client is discharged to return to
live in the home on the property.

2. The following criteria are used for establishing that
permanently institutionalized individual's son or daughter
provided care as specified under regulations at 42
CFR§433.36(f):

Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) shall
not seek recovery in the case of a lien on an individual's
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home when there is a son or daughter over the age of twenty-
one (21) lawfully residing in the home of the client whom:

a) has resided there for a period of at least two (2)
years immediately prior to the date of the client’s admission
to a long-term care service;

b) has lawfully resided there on a continuous
basis since that time; and

c) can establish to the Department's satisfaction
that he or she provided the care and assistance that permitted
the recipient to reside in the home rather than in a long-term
care facility.

The son or daughter may demonstrate having
rendered care or assistance that resulted in a delay in the
need for institutionalized care by means of a written
statement from an institutionalized individual’s attending
medical attending physician or another person or persons
who have personal knowledge of the living circumstances of
the individual. The written statement must indicate that the
individual was able to remain in his or her home because of
the care provided by the child. A written statement only from
the child will not satisfy this requirement.

NOTE:  DHSS can seek recovery from other
assets in the estate.

3. The State defines the terms below as follows:
• Estate means all real property, as well as all

personal property that constitutes assets of the
individual’s estate as described in Title 12 of
the Delaware Code, Chapter 19.

• Individual’s home means his or her principal
place of residence.

• Equity interest in the home means a formal
legal interest such as mortgage or loan.

• Residing in the home for at least one (1) or two
(2) years on a continuous basis means using the
home as the principal place of residence.

• Discharge from the medical institution and
return home means the release of a person from
a long-term care facility for the purpose of
returning to the home for permanent residence
or discontinuance of home and community-
based services.

• Lawfully residing means residing in the home
with the permission of the owner or, if under
guardianship, the owner’s legal guardian.

4. The State defines undue hardship as follows:
In cases of undue hardship, recovery may be

waived for the period of the hardship. Undue hardship exists
for certain individuals who have resided in the home of the
DHSS long-term care recipient on a continuous basis for a
period of at least two (2) years twenty-four consecutive
months) immediately prior to the date of the DHSS long-

term care recipient’s admission to DHSS long-term care
services.

Individuals eligible for recovery waiver are limited
to children, grandchildren, parents, or siblings of the DHSS
long-term care recipient who meet one of the following
conditions:

Receive any Federal or State funded assistance for
living expenses (examples: SSI, AFDC, VA Aid and
Attendance) and have no other home to which they can
return.

OR
Have total family income less than or equal to

200% of the current monthly Federal Poverty limit, and
have total family resources that can be converted to cash less
than or equal to $3,000, including any real property that they
own.

OR
DHSS will also not recover if the real property that

is held in ownership with children, grandchildren, siblings or
parents constitutes a business that contributes to the
livelihood of that other individual or his/her dependents or
heirs.

In cases of undue hardship, liens against the real
property of DHSS long-term care recipients shall be filed,
but a moratorium established on the lien. The moratorium on
imposing the lien on the home will exist as long as the
hardship condition continues to be met and as long as the
above-described individuals reside in the DHSS long-term
care recipient’s home on a continuous basis.

NOTE: The waiver for recovery will exist as long
as one of the above conditions continues to be met and as
long as the above-described individuals reside in the DHSS
long-term care recipient’s home on a continuous basis.

5. The following standards and procedures are used by
the State for waiving estate recoveries when recovery would
cause undue hardship, and when recovery is not cost
effective.

Standards: Same as number 4 above.
Procedures: If a hardship condition is requested and

verified when the referral for estate recovery is received, it is
tracked for eight (8) months. If at the end of eight (8) months
the hardship condition still applies the recovery case is
closed because Delaware probate law requires that claims
against estates be filed within eight (8) months of the date of
death.

Not Cost Effective: Criteria for determining cost
effectiveness are set forth below in number 6.

6. The State defines when adjustment or recovery is not
cost effective. The State defines cost effectiveness as follows
(include methodology/thresholds used to determine cost
effectiveness.
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If there are no resources for burial and the total
assets in the estate are less than $5,000 then, it is not
considered cost effective to pursue because the State’s
probate law requires that funeral expenses be paid first.

If there are resources for burial in the amount of
$5,000 then it is considered cost effective to pursue if there
are assets in the estate.

7. The State uses the following collection procedures
(include specific elements contained in the advance action
notice requirement, the method for applying for a waiver,
hearing and appeals procedures, and time frames involved):

The State distributes a pamphlet, outlining estate
recovery procedures, at the time of application to all
applicants for long-term care services.

All persons receiving or applying for Long Term
Care Medicaid Services are advised in writing about the
estate recovery policy of DHSS at the time of application
and redetermination, via the ERL1.DOC form titled,
Recovery and Lien Policy for Persons Receiving or
Applying for Long Term Care Services.  This form outlines
the following:

• Explanation of estate recovery, including
citations of the federal and state authority;

• Defines long-term care;
• Describes the circumstances under which

DHSS will file a claim;
• Describes what constitutes undue hardship.

Exclusion and hardship waiver conditions are
listed on page 2 of this form titled, Request for
Exclusion or Hardship Waiver;

• Specifies which Medicaid payments DHSS
will seek to recover; and,

• Appeal procedures, specifically notifying
recipient/applicant that “If you are dissatisfied
with any decision made by the Department of
Health and Social Services, you have the right
to appeal the decision by requesting a fair
hearing. You must submit a written request to
the local DHSS office within 90 days of the
action”.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-64c

REVISIONS:

20310.1.1 Intent to Return
The principal place of residence may be excluded if the

individual intends to return home after any length of time.
Temporary Institutionalization - If the attending

physician has certified that a recipient is likely to return to
his own home within a definite period (not to exceed 6 2

months) up to $75.00 per month may be protected for
maintenance of the home.

(Break In Continuity of Sections)

20500.5.2 Lien Recovery Exceptions
DHSS shall not seek recovery in the case of a lien on an

individual’s home when there is:
a son or daughter over the age of 21 lawfully
residing in the home of the recipient, who has
resided there for a period of at least two years
immediately prior to the date of the recipient’s
admission to a long-term care service, who has
lawfully resided there on a continuous basis since
that time, and who can establish to the
Department’ssatisfaction that he or she provided the
care that permitted the recipient to reside in the
home rather than in a long-term care facility

or
Sibling lawfully residing in the home of the
recipient for 2 years (24 months) one (1) year (12
months) immediately prior to the recipient’s
admission for long term care services. 

NOTE: DHSS can seek recovery from other assets in
the estate.

(Break In Continuity of Sections)

20500.6.1 Exceptions to the Lien Policy
1. Clients intending to return home within 2 years

sixty (60) days of their admission date to a facility. 
a) If the stay in the facility is 2 years sixty (60)

days or more, DHSS will determine if medical
documentation indicates the client can reasonably be
expected to return home, taking into consideration such
factors as length of stay in a facility, mental capacity and
physical condition place a lien on the property.

b) DHSS will provide the recipient of notice of
the medical evaluation to determine if the recipient can
return home. The results of the medical evaluation will also
be provided to the recipient with the opportunity for a fair
hearing before the department. The lien on the property will
be released if the patient is discharged after sixty (60) days
and returns to live in the home.

2. DHSS will not file a lien as long as the following
individuals lawfully resided in the home before the date of
application for long-term care services and continue to reside
in the home while the applicant receives long-term care
services:
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a) Husband or wife of the applicant or recipient
(NOTE: Common law marriages are not recognized by the
Courts of Delaware).

b) Son or daughter who is blind or disabled as
defined in accordance with the disability rule of the federally
administered Supplemental Security Income (Title XVI of
the Social Security Act).

c) Child under age 21 who is lawfully residing in
the home.

d) Sibling lawfully residing in the home for 2
years (24 months) one (1) year (12 months) immediately
prior to admission to a long term care facility and who has
equity in the property. 

3. DHSS will also not file a lien if the real property
that is held in ownership with children, grandchildren,
siblings or parents constitutes a business, which contributes
to the livelihood of that other individual or his/her
dependents or heirs.

(Break In Continuity of Sections)

20620.3 Community Spouse Income Allowance/Home
Maintenance Disregard

Temporary Institutionalization - If the attending
physician has certified that a recipient is likely to return to
his own home within a definite period (not to exceed 6 2
months) up to $75.00 per month may be protected for
maintenance of the home. This allowance may be used for
mortgage payments, rent, insurance, utility bills, repairs, etc.
Copies of receipts, contracts or other types of verification
shall be obtained and kept in the DSS record.

The $75 home maintenance disregard may not be
allowed if the community spouse is receiving the spousal
income allowance.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is

proposing to amend the policy of the Food Stamp Program in
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates
to changes in Federal rules.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 by November 30, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Citations
• 7 CFR §272.1, General Terms and Conditions
• 7 CFR §273.1, Household Concept
• 7 CFR §273.2(d)(2), Cooperation with QC

Reviewer

Summary of Proposed Changes
DSS proposes to amend its regulations to comply with

changes to Federal rules, as follows:
• Under DSSM 1003.2, Information to Law

Enforcement revises DSS policy regarding
disclosure of information about food stamp
applicants or recipients to law enforcement
agencies.

• Under DSSM 9013.1, Household Definition there
are three changes. The first change clarifies who
can be budgeted together for food stamp purposes
when persons do not live in the home for the entire
month. Federal rules state that as long as a person is
in the home for a portion of the month, that person
can be included in the food stamp budget as long as
s/he is not receiving food stamps in another
household. The second change clarifies the term
“spouse” for food stamp purposes based on the
definition provided in Section 3 of the Defense of
Marriage Act, 1 USC §7. The third change
renumbers the current #3 to #6 to accommodate
added language at new numbers 3, 4 and 5.

• Under DSSM 9029.1, Cooperation with Quality
Control clarifies that if a household does not
comply with a Quality Control (QC) review, is
terminated and moves into another household, that
household still cannot get benefits until the
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household complies with QC. The change also
defines annual review period.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-60

REVISIONS:

1003.2 Information to Law Enforcement Agencies

For Cash Assistance Programs:
Each DSS Financial Services Regional Operations

Manager has the authority to disclose the address of a
recipient to a Federal, State or local law enforcement officer
at the officer's request if the officer furnishes the agency with
the name of the recipient and notifies the agency that the
recipient:

• is fleeing to avoid prosecution; or
• is a fleeing felon (or in the case of New Jersey is

fleeing from conviction of a high misdemeanor); or
• is violating a condition or probation or parole; or
• has information that is necessary for the officer to

conduct his or her official duties; and;,
• the location or apprehension of the recipient is

within such official duties.

For Food Stamps:
DSS will disclose information about food stamp

applicants or recipients to law enforcement agencies only
when the agency provides a written request and it is for the
purpose of investigating an alleged violation of the Food
Stamp Act or regulation.

The written request shall include:
• the identity of the individual requesting the

information,
• the individual's authority to request the information,
• the violation being investigated, and
• the identity of the person on whom the information

is requested.

DSS shall also make available to law enforcement
officers, on official duty, the address, social security number,
and a photograph (if available) of a food stamp recipient if
the officer furnishes the recipient's name and informs DSS
that the individual is fleeing to avoid prosecution, custody or
confinement for a felony, is violating a condition of parole or
probation, or has information necessary for the officer to
conduct an official duty related to a felony/parole violation.

DSS will also provide information regarding a
household member who has information about another
household member who is fleeing to avoid prosecution or
custody for a felony, or has violated a condition of probation

or parole. The information will be provided as long as the
law enforcement officer has provided a written request.

If the law enforcement officer has provided
documentation, not just the written request, that a household
member is fleeing to avoid prosecution or custody for a
felony, or has violated a condition of probation or parole,
DSS shall terminate the member’s participation.

DSS will only disclose the information that is necessary
to comply with a specific written request of a law
enforcement agency.

(Break In Continuity of Sections)

9013.1 Household Definition
A) General Definition - a household is composed of

one of the following individuals or groups of individuals,
provided they are not residents of an institution (except as
otherwise specified in DSSM 9015), or are not boarders (as
specified in DSSM 9013.3).

1. An individual living alone
2. An individual living with others, but

customarily purchasing food and preparing meals for home
consumption separate and apart from the others;

3. A group of individuals who live together and
customarily purchase food and prepare meals together for
home consumption;

B) Special Definition - the following individuals living
with others or groups of individuals living together must be
considered as customarily purchasing food and preparing
meals together, even if they do not do so*.

1. Spouses who live together. Spouse refers to
either of two individuals:

a. Who would be defined as married to each
other under applicable State law; or

b. Who are living together and are holding
themselves out to the community as husband and wife by
representing themselves as such to relatives, friends,
neighbors, or trades people.

*Same sex couples, for food stamp purposes, are not
considered spouses and the presumption of purchasing food
and preparing meals together would not apply to them.

2. Children 21 years of age and younger living
with their parents [Parents are defined as natural parent(s) or
step-parent(s)].

Children (other than foster care children) who
are under 18 and live under the parental control of a non-
parent, adult household member cannot be separate
households.

Adult children (22 years of age and older) who
live with their parents can be separate households if they
purchase and prepare food separately.
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3. Child(ren) living with a non-parent who has
legal custody of the child(ren) will continue to be a member
of the household for food stamp purposes even if a natural
parent moves into the home. The non-parent must provide
proof of legal custody.  If the adult who has legal custody of
the child chooses to let the child and natural parent purchase
and prepare meals together, the child can become a member
of the natural parent’s food stamp household.

4. Joint custody – Children who live with parents
in a joint custody situation can get food stamps with the
parent who is the first to apply for food stamps. If both
parents are applying for the same child(ren), the parent who
provides the majority of the meals (21 meals a week) will
include the child as part of his/her food stamp household.

5. When an individual resides a portion of the
month with a food stamp household, the household can
choose to include or exclude the individual from the food
stamp household. If included, the income of the individual
must be included and the individual cannot get benefits in
another household or state.

Examples:
• A son works out of state but comes home every

weekend.  His mom can include or exclude him.
• A child lives in PA with her father. She comes to

DE to live with her mom on weekends. Her mother
can include her in her food stamp household as long
as the child is not getting food stamps in PA.

• A child goes to a residential school and comes
home every other weekend and holidays. The
parents can include the child in their food stamp
household.
3. 6. Although a group of individuals living

together and purchasing and preparing meals together
constitutes a single household under the provisions of the
above general definition, an otherwise eligible member of
such a household who is 60 years of age or older and who is
unable to purchase and prepare meals because (s)he suffers
from a disability considered permanent under the Social
Security Act, or suffers from a non-disease-related, severe,
permanent disability, may be a separate household from the
others based on the provisions of this section provided that
the income (all income under DSSM 9055) of the others with
whom the individual resides (excluding the income of the
spouse of the elderly and disabled individual) does not
exceed 165% of the poverty line. Only the spouse of the
elderly and disabled individual is required to be included in
the same household with the individual.

(Break In Continuity of Sections)

9029.1 Cooperation With Quality Control

A household is ineligible if it refuses to cooperate in any
subsequent review of its eligibility as a part of a Quality
Control (QC) review. If a household is terminated for refusal
to cooperate with a QC reviewer, the household may reapply
but will not be determined eligible until it cooperates with
the QC reviewer. If a household terminated for refusal to
cooperate with a State QC reviewer reapplies after 95 days
from the end of the annual review period September, (the
end of the annual review period  which runs October through
September each fiscal year), do not determine the household
ineligible for its refusal to cooperate with a State QC
reviewer during the completed review period. However, the
household must provide verification in accordance with
DSSM 9032.13.

If a household terminated for refusal to cooperate with a
Federal QC reviewer reapplies after seven months from the
end of the annual review period September, (the end of the
annual review period which runs October through September
each fiscal year), do not determine the household ineligible
for its refusal to cooperate with a Federal QC reviewer
during the completed review period. However, the household
must provide verification in accordance with DSSM
9032.13.

If the household who refuses to cooperate with a QC
reviewer joins another food stamp household, those
individuals would be treated as ineligible household
members until they cooperate with the QC reviewer.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18 Delaware Code, Sections 311 and 2503

(18 Del.C. §§311 and 2503)
18 DE Admin. Code 1214

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW
DENN hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING will
be held on TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 29, 2005 at 2:00 p.m.
in the Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware. The hearing is to receive public comment in
Docket No. 2005-153, proposed Regulation 1214 relating to
Senior Protection In Annuity Transactions. The purpose
for proposing Regulation 1214 is to set forth standards and
procedures for recommendations to senior consumers that
result in a transaction involving annuity products so that the
insurance needs and financial objectives of senior consumers
at the time of the transaction are appropriately addressed.
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The text of the proposed amendments is reproduced in
the November 2005 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations.  The text can also be viewed at the Delaware
Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://
www.state.de.us/inscom/departments/documents/
ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 18
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or
may be presented orally at the hearing. Written comments,
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed
change to the regulation must be received by the Department
of Insurance no later than 2:00 p.m., Friday, December 2,
2005, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, or sent by fax to
302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us. If you
are disabled and might need assistance in this matter, please
contact Julia Blevins at 302.739.4251 ext.111 or
Julia.Blevins@state.de.us.

1214 Senior Protection In Annuity Transactions

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to set forth standards

and procedures for recommendations to senior consumers
that result in a transaction involving annuity products so that
the insurance needs and financial objectives of senior
consumers at the time of the transaction are appropriately
addressed.

2.0 Scope
This regulation shall apply to any recommendation to

purchase or exchange an annuity made to a senior consumer
by an insurance producer, or an insurer where no producer is
involved, that results in the purchase or exchange
recommended.

3.0 Authority
This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner

pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§311, 2304 and 2312. It is
promulgated in accordance with 29 Del.C. Chapter 101.

4.0 Exemptions
Unless otherwise specifically included, this regulation

shall not apply to recommendations involving:
4.1 Direct response solicitations where there is no

recommendation based on information collected from the
senior consumer pursuant to this regulation;

4.2 Contracts used to fund:

4.2.1 An employee pension or welfare benefit
plan that is covered by the Employee Retirement and Income
Security Act (ERISA);

4.2.2 A plan described by Sections 401(a),
401(k), 403(b), 408(k) or 408(p) of the Internal Revenue
Code (IRC), as amended, if established or maintained by an
employer; 

4.2.3 A government or church plan defined in
Section 414 of the IRC, a government or church welfare
benefit plan, or a deferred compensation plan of a state or
local government or tax exempt organization under Section
457 of the IRC; 

4.2.4 A nonqualified deferred compensation
arrangement established or maintained by an employer or
plan sponsor; 

4.2.5 Settlements of or assumptions of liabilities
associated with personal injury litigation or any dispute or
claim resolution process; or

4.2.6 Formal prepaid funeral contracts.

5.0 Definitions
“Annuity” means a fixed annuity or variable annuity

that is individually solicited, whether the product is
classified as an individual or group annuity.

“Insurer” means a company required to be licensed
under the laws of this state to provide insurance products,
including annuities.
“Insurance producer” means a person required to be licensed
under the laws of this state to sell, solicit or negotiate
insurance, including annuities.

“Recommendation” means advice provided by an
insurance producer, or an insurer where no producer is
involved, to an individual senior consumer that results in an
annuity transaction in accordance with that advice.

“Senior consumer” means a person sixty-five (65)
years of age or older. In the event of a joint purchase by more
than one party, the purchaser will be considered to be a
senior consumer if any of the parties is age sixty-five (65) or
older.

6.0 Duties of Insurers and Insurance Producers
6.1 In recommending to a senior consumer the

purchase or exchange of an annuity that results in another
insurance transaction or series of insurance transactions, the
insurance producer, or the insurer where no producer is
involved, shall have reasonable grounds for believing that
the recommendation is suitable for the senior consumer on
the basis of the facts disclosed by the senior consumer as to
his or her investments and other insurance products and as to
his or her financial situation and needs.
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6.2 Prior to the execution of an annuity transaction
resulting from a recommendation, an insurance producer, or
an insurer where no producer is involved, shall make
reasonable efforts to obtain information concerning:

6.2.1 the senior consumer’s financial status;
6.2.2 the senior consumer’s tax status;
6.2.3 the senior consumer’s investment

objectives; and
6.2.4 such other information used or considered

to be reasonable by the insurance producer, or the insurer
where no producer is involved, in making recommendations
to the senior consumer.

6.3 The following conditions shall apply to transactions
contemplated by this regulation:

6.3.1 Except as provided in section 6.3.2,
neither an insurance producer, or an insurer where no
producer is involved, shall have any obligation to a senior
consumer under section 6.1 related to any annuity
transaction if a consumer:

6.3.1.1 refuses to provide relevant
information requested by the insurer or insurance producer;

6.3.1.2 decides to enter into an insurance
transaction that is not based on a recommendation of the
insurer or insurance producer; or

6.3.1.3 fails to provide complete or accurate
information.

6.3.2 An insurer or insurance producer’s
recommendation subject to section 6.3.1 shall be reasonable
under all the circumstances actually known to the insurer or
insurance producer at the time of the recommendation.

6.4 The following procedures shall apply to
transactions contemplated by this regulation:

6.4.1 Except as provided in sections 6.4.2 and
6.4.3, an insurer shall establish and maintain a system to
supervise the insurer’s, and the insurer’s insurance
producers’, recommendations to senior consumers that is
reasonably designed to achieve compliance by the insurer
and its insurance producers with this regulation, including,
but not limited to:

6.4.1.1 written procedures; and
6.4.1.2 periodic reviews of its distribution

methods that are reasonably designed to assist in detecting
and preventing violations of this regulation.

6.4.2 The following conditions shall apply to the
delegation of an insurer’s obligations:

6.4.2.1 An insurer may, by contract, delegate
to a third party the obligation to perform the functions
required by section 6.4.1 with respect to insurance producers
under contract with or employed by the third party.

6.4.2.2 An insurer shall make reasonable
inquiry to assure that the third party contracting under

section 6.4.2.1 is performing the functions required under
section 6.4.1 and shall take such action as is reasonable
under the circumstances to enforce the contractual obligation
to perform the functions. An insurer may comply with its
obligation to make reasonable inquiry by doing all of the
following:

6.4.2.2.1 The insurer annually obtains
a certification from a third party senior manager who has
responsibility for the delegated functions that the manager
has a reasonable basis to represent, and does represent, that
the third party is performing the required functions; and

6.4.2.2.2 The insurer, based on
reasonable selection criteria, periodically selects third parties
contracting under section 6.4.2.1 for a review to determine
whether the third parties are performing the required
functions. The insurer shall perform those procedures to
conduct the review that are reasonable under the
circumstances.

6.4.3 An insurer is not required by section 6.4.1
to:

6.4.3.1 review, or provide for review of, all
insurance producer solicited transactions; or

6.4.3.2 include in its supervisory system an
insurance producer’s recommendations to senior consumers
of products other than the insurer’s annuities.

6.4.4 Section 7 does not apply to this subsection.
6.4.5 The commissioner may order:

6.4.5.1 an insurer to take reasonably
appropriate corrective action for any senior consumer
harmed by the insurer’s, or by the insurer’s insurance
producer’s, violation of this regulation;

6.4.5.2 an insurance producer to take
reasonably appropriate corrective action for any senior
consumer harmed by the insurance producer’s violation of
this regulation; and

6.4.5.3 a general agency or independent
agency that employs or contracts with an insurance producer
to sell, or solicit the sale of, annuities to senior consumers, to
take reasonably appropriate corrective action for any senior
consumer harmed by the insurance producer’s violation of
this regulation.

6.5 Compliance with the National Association of
Securities Dealers Conduct Rules pertaining to suitability
shall satisfy the requirements under this section for the
recommendation of variable annuities. However, nothing in
this subsection shall limit the insurance commissioner’s
ability to enforce the provisions of this regulation.

7.0 Recordkeeping
7.1 Insurers and insurance producers shall maintain or

be able to make available to the commissioner records of the
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 5, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS696
information collected from the senior consumer and other
information used in making the recommendations that were
the basis for insurance transactions for five years after the
insurance transaction is completed by the insurer. An insurer
is permitted, but shall not be required, to maintain
documentation on behalf of an insurance producer.

7.2 Records required to be maintained by this
regulation may be maintained in paper, photographic,
microprocess, magnetic, mechanical or electronic media or
by any process that accurately reproduces the actual
document.

8.0 Severability
If any provision of this Regulation or the application of

any such provision to any person or circumstance shall be
held invalid the remainder of such provisions, and the
application of such provision to any person or circumstance
other than those as to which it is held invalid, shall not be
affected.

9.0 Causes of Action and Defenses
This regulation shall not create a cause of action for any

person or entity, other than the Delaware Insurance
Commissioner, against an insurer or its representative based
upon a violation of 18 Del.C. §2304.  In the same manner,
nothing in this regulation shall establish a defense for any
party to any cause of action based upon a violation of 18
Del.C. §2304.

10.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall become effective on January 11,

2006.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60
(7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

PUBLIC NOTICE

1201 Accidental Release Prevention Regulation

1. Title of the Regulations:
Regulation 1201 “Accidental Release Prevention

Regulation”

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues
The Department is proposing to amend the Accidental

Release Prevention Regulation to include 1999, 2000 and
2004 amendments made by the Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) to the Accidental Release Prevention
Requirements contained in federal rule 40 CFR Part 68.  The
Department believes these amendments are already in effect
for regulated Delaware facilities and that this amendment
will have no impact on them. In addition, several minor
changes and corrections are proposed for the “Additional
Delaware Accidental Release Prevention Provisions”
contained in Section 6.0 of the Regulation. Specifically this
includes minor changes to the Delaware only lists and
simplifying Delaware risk management plan submission
requirements. Again, the Department believes these
corrections and changes will have no impact on Delaware
only regulated facilities. In summary, the purpose of this
proposed amendment is a correction to the Delaware
regulation; bringing it into agreement with the most recent
federal rule changes.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action
None

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 77

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the 
Proposal
None

6. Notice of Public Comment
Interested parties may submit comments in writing to:

Jay Brabson, Emergency Prevention and Response Branch,
715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720, and/or
statements and testimony may be presented either orally or
in writing at the public hearing to be held on Monday,
December 5, 2005 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC
auditorium at the Richardson and Robbins Building, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  The public comment period for
this proposed amendment will extend through December 15,
2005.

7. Prepared By
Jay Brabson   (302) 323-4542  October 14, 2005

1201 Accidental Release Prevention Regulation

1.0 Statement of Authority
1.1 Pursuant to 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 77, the

General Assembly of the State of Delaware has directed that
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regulations be prepared and adopted by the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control to require
owners or operators of stationary sources having regulated
substances to take actions, subject to review by the
Department, to control and minimize the chances of sudden,
accidental releases and catastrophic releases of such
substances. The Department adopted the “Regulation for the
Management of Extremely Hazardous Substances” on
September 25, 1989 and modified this regulation on
December 18, 1995. The “Accidental Release Prevention
Regulation” replaces the “Regulation for the Management of
Extremely Hazardous Substances” in its entirety.

1.2 The General Assembly of the State of Delaware has
also directed the Department to seek full delegation from the
United States Environmental Protection Agency to
administer the sections of 40 Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR) Part 68, “Chemical Accident Provisions” revised as
of July 1, 1997 which can be delegated to the State.

2.0 Purpose
2.1 The purpose of this regulation is to protect lives and

the health of citizens of the state living and working in the
vicinity of stationary sources having regulated substances on
site. This regulation is concerned with the prevention of
sudden releases of regulated substances and the generation
of pressure waves and thermal exposure beyond the property
boundaries of the stationary source where they occur and the
catastrophic health consequences caused by short-term
exposures to such accidental releases. This regulation has the
goal of prevention of such catastrophic events by requiring
owner or operator having regulated substances on-site to
take all feasible actions needed to minimize the probability
of catastrophic events. It is the intent of this regulation to
complement and be enforced in conjunction with other laws.

2.2 It is also the secondary purpose of this regulation to
adopt the necessary language to allow the Department to
seek delegation of the United States Environmental
Protection Agency authority for 40 CFR Part 68, “Chemical
Accident Provisions” revised as of July 1, 1997 April 9,
2004 for the administration of the sections of this rule which
can be delegated to the State.

2.3 This regulation has two parts. The first part
(consisting of Section 5) deals with adopting the federal
language to allow delegation of the federal program. The
second part (consisting of Section 6) uses state authority to
extend beyond 40 CFR Part 68 revised as of July 1, 1997 to
continue to regulate substances that were previously
regulated by the Delaware “Regulation for the Management
of Extremely Hazardous Substances”, as revised on
December 18, 1995. The accidental release prevention
activities (the prevention program or the risk management

program) are the same for processes subject to either Section
5.0 or Section 6.0. Section 6.0 also contains reporting
requirements for a process having regulated substances that
are subject to the State criteria but not the federal criteria.

3.0 Policy and General Duty
3.1 It is the obligation of the owner or operator of

stationary sources having regulated substances on-site to
operate in a manner consistent with this regulation by
developing and implementing a risk management program
that anticipates and minimizes the chances of catastrophic
events. The stationary source risk management program
implementation shall be subject to review by the
Department. It is the objective of this regulation and the
programs established by this regulation to prevent accidental
releases and to minimize the consequences of any such
release of any substance listed in Section 5.130 or Sections
6.2, 6.3 and 6.4 or any other extremely hazardous substance.

3.2 Every person in control of or associated with any
such substances (regulated or not regulated) that is produced,
handled, or stored has a general duty to identify hazards
which may result from such releases using appropriate
hazard assessment techniques, to design and maintain a safe
facility taking such steps as are necessary to prevent
releases, and to minimize the consequences of accidental
releases which do occur.

4.0 Definitions
Accidental release means an unanticipated emission of

a regulated substance or other extremely hazardous
substance into the ambient air from a stationary source.

Actual Distance to Stationary Source Boundary
means the distance from the nearest potential release point
capable of generating a sufficient quantity to the  nearest
public receptor.

Actual Quantity (AQ) means the sum of all the
physical quantities of a regulated substance listed in either
Section 6.2, 6.3 or 6.4 in whatever form at the maximum
design capacity of the process considering administrative
controls.

Administrative controls mean written procedural
mechanisms used for hazard control.

Administrator means the Administrator of the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency.

AIChE/CCPS means the American Institute of
Chemical Engineers/Center for Chemical Process Safety.

API means the American Petroleum Institute.
Article means a manufactured item, as defined under 29

CFR 1910.1200(b) dated July 1, 1997, that is formed to a
specific shape or design during manufacture, that has end
use functions dependent in whole or in part upon the shape
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or design during end use, and that does not release or
otherwise result in exposure to a regulated substance under
normal conditions of processing and use.

Artificial Barricade means an artificial mound or
riveted wall of earth of a minimum thickness of three feet
(NFPA-495, 1996 Edition, Explanatory Notes for Table 6-
4.1 “American Table of Distances”).

ASME means the American Society of Mechanical
Engineers.

Board means the Environmental Appeals Board.
CAS means the Chemical Abstracts Service.
Catastrophic Event means a sudden release of a

sufficient quantity of a regulated substance, a pressure wave
or a thermal exposure beyond the property boundaries of a
stationary source which will cause death or permanent
disability to a person because of a single, short term
exposure.

Catastrophic release means a major uncontrolled
emission, fire, or explosion, involving one or more regulated
substances that presents imminent and substantial
endangerment to public health and the environment.

Classified information means “classified information”
as defined in the Classified Information Procedures Act, 18
U.S.C. App. 3, Section 1(a) as “any information or material
that has been determined by the United States Government
pursuant to an executive order, statute, or regulation, to
require protection against unauthorized disclosure for
reasons of national security.”

Combustible Liquid means a liquid having a flash
point at or above 100×F and below 140×F.

Condensate means hydrocarbon liquid separated from
natural gas that condenses due to changes in temperature,
pressure, or both, and remains a liquid at standard
conditions.

Consequence Analysis means a review of the potential
effects of regulated substance release on surrounding
populations.

Consequence Assessment means an evaluation of the
results of a release of a regulated substance.  A consequence
assessment shall consist of:

• An estimate of the PRQ,
• Dispersion analysis (for toxics, flammables, and

combustibles) showing downwind effects, and
• Consequence analysis involving potentially

exposed population.
Covered process means a process that has a regulated

substance present in more than a threshold quantity as
determined in Section 5.115 or a regulated substance present
in more than the sufficient quantity as determined in
Sections 6.2, 6.3 or 6.4.

Critical means those elements such as equipment,
piping, alarms, interlocks, or controls which are essential to
preventing the occurrence of a catastrophic event.

Crude oil means any naturally occurring, unrefined
petroleum liquid.

Department means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC).

Dispersion Analysis means the calculation, by means
of a model of the ambient concentrations of a regulated
substance after its release, taking into account, when
appropriate, the physical and chemical state and properties
of the regulated substance, the release scenario, and the
geographical, topographical, geological and meteorological
characteristics of the environment which will influence the
migration, movement, dilution, or degradation of the
regulated substance in the environment.

DOT means the United States Department of
Transportation.

Environmental receptor means natural areas such as
national or state parks, forests, or monuments; officially
designated wildlife sanctuaries, preserves, refuges, or areas;
and Federal wilderness areas, that could be exposed at any
time to toxic concentrations, radiant heat, or overpressure
greater than or equal to the endpoints provided in Section
5.22.1, as a result of an accidental release and that can be
identified on local U. S. Geological Survey maps.

Field gas means gas extracted from a production well
before the gas enters a natural gas processing plant.

Flammable Gas means a gas or vapor which when
mixed with air or oxygen in certain concentrations will ignite
and burn on contact with a source of ignition. Such gases
have lower and upper explosive limits which are usually
expressed in terms of percentage by volume of gas or vapor
in air.

Flammable Liquid means a liquid having a flash point
below 100×F.

Hot work means work involving electric or gas
welding, cutting, brazing, or similar flame or spark-
producing operations.

Implementing agency means the Department.
Injury means any effect on a human that results either

from direct exposure to toxic concentrations, radiant heat, or
overpressures from accidental releases or from the direct
consequences of a vapor cloud explosion (such as flying
glass, debris, and other projectiles) from an accidental
release and that requires medical treatment or
hospitalization.

Major change means introduction of a new process,
process equipment, or regulated substance, an alteration of
process chemistry that results in any change to safe operating
limits, or other alteration that introduces a new hazard.
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Mechanical integrity means the process of ensuring
that process equipment is fabricated from the proper
materials of construction and is properly installed,
maintained, and replaced to prevent failures and accidental
releases.

Medical treatment means treatment, other than first
aid, administered by a physician or registered professional
personnel under standing orders from a physician.

Mitigation or mitigation system means specific
activities, technologies, or equipment designed or deployed
to capture or control substances upon loss of containment to
minimize exposure of the public or the environment.
Passive mitigation means equipment, devices, or
technologies that function without human, mechanical, or
other energy input. Active mitigation means equipment,
devices, or technologies that need human, mechanical, or
other energy input to function.

Natural Barricade means natural features of the
ground, such as hills, or standing timber of sufficient density
that the surroundings which require protection cannot be
seen from the regulated  process when the trees are bare of
leaves; see the Explanatory Notes for Table 6-4.1 of NFPA
495 “Explosive Materials Code, 1196 Edition”.

NAICS means the North American Industrial
Classification System. (Replaces SIC codes).

Natural gas processing plant (gas plant) means any
processing site engaged in the extraction of natural gas
liquids from field gas, fractionation of mixed natural gas
liquids to natural gas products, or both, classified as North
American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) code
211112 (previously Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
code 1321).

NFPA means the National Fire Protection Association.
Offsite means areas beyond the property boundary of

the stationary source, and areas within the property boundary
to which the public has routine and unrestricted access
during or outside business hours.

OSHA means the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health
Administration.

Owner or operator means any person who owns,
leases, operates, controls, or supervises a stationary source.

Person or persons means a natural person, partnership,
limited partnership, trust, estate, corporation, custodian,
association or any other individual entity in its own or any
representative capacity.

Petroleum refining process unit means a process unit
used in an establishment primarily engaged in petroleum
refining as defined in NAICS code 32411 for petroleum
refining (formerly SIC code 2911) and used for the
following: producing transportation fuels (such as gasoline,
diesel fuels, and jet fuels), heating fuels (such as kerosene,

fuel gas distillate, and fuel oils), or lubricants; separating
petroleum; or separating, cracking, reacting, or reforming
intermediate petroleum products streams. Examples of such
units include, but are not limited to, petroleum-based solvent
units, alkylation units, catalytic hydrotreating, catalytic
hydrorefining, catalytic hydrocracking, catalytic reforming,
catalytic cracking, crude distillation, lube oil processing,
hydrogen production, isomerization, polymerization,
thermal processes, and blending, sweetening, and treating
processes. Petroleum refining process units include sulfur
plants.

Population means the public.
Produced water means water extracted from the earth

from an oil or natural gas production well, or that is
separated from oil or natural gas after extraction.

Process means any activity involving a regulated
substance including any use, storage, manufacturing,
handling, or on-site movement of such substances, or
combination of these activities. For the purposes of this
definition, any group of vessels that are interconnected, or
separate vessels that are located such that a regulated
substance could be involved in a potential release, shall be
considered a single process.

Process Hazard Review means a systematic
identification of the potential sources and conditions that
may result in the release of a regulated substance and
determination of the effects of the release on the surrounding
environment using generally accepted methods of risk
assessment.

Public means any person except employees or
contractors at the stationary source.

Public receptor means offsite residences, institutions
(e.g., schools, hospitals), industrial, commercial, and office
buildings, parks, or recreational areas inhabited or occupied
by the public at any time without restriction by the stationary
source where members of the public could be exposed to
toxic concentrations, radiant heat, or overpressure, as a result
of an accidental release.

Regulated substance is any substance listed pursuant to
Section 5.130 or Sections 6.2, 6.3, or 6.4.

Replacement in kind means a replacement that
satisfies the design specifications.

Retail facility means a stationary source at which more
than one-half of the income is obtained from direct sales to
end users or at which more than one-half of the fuel sold, by
volume, is sold through a cylinder exchange program.

Risk Management Program means all the activities
intended to reduce risk of a catastrophic event including, but
not limited to, the consideration of technology, personnel
and the equipment associated with the covered process.
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Risk Management Plan or RMP means the risk
management plan submission  required under subpart G of
Section 5.  The Delaware RMP is called the Delaware Risk
Management Plan.

RMP Off-site Consequent Analysis Guidance means
guidance document published on May 24, 1996 by the EPA
intended to assist sources to conduct worst-case consequence
analyses and alternative scenarios involving regulated
substances.

Secretary means the Secretary of the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control.

Separate Containment Area means an area which is
separated from other areas by 100 meters or which is
separated from adjoining areas by 4-hour fire rated walls
resistant to blast pressures of 3 psig; in addition, such areas
cannot have common piping containing a regulated
substance.

SIC means Standard Industrial Classification.
Stationary source means any buildings, structures,

equipment, installations, or substance emitting stationary
activities which belong to the same industrial group, which
are located on one or more contiguous properties, which are
under the control of the same person (or persons under
common control), and from which an accidental release may
occur. The term stationary source does not apply to
transportation, including storage incident to transportation,
of any regulated substance or any other extremely hazardous
substance under the provisions of this regulation. A
stationary source includes transportation containers used for
storage not incident to transportation and transportation
containers connected to equipment at a stationary source for
loading or unloading. Transportation  includes, but is not
limited to, transportation subject to oversight or regulation
under 49 CFR parts 192, 193, or 195, or a state natural gas or
hazardous liquid program for which the state has in effect a
certification to DOT under 49 U.S.C. Section 60105. A
stationary source does not include naturally occurring
hydrocarbon reservoirs. Properties shall not be considered
contiguous solely because of a railroad or pipeline right-of-
way.

Substance Hazard Index (SHI) means a calculated
number which relates the relative danger of a substance
considering toxicity and ability to disperse in the
atmosphere.

Sufficient Quantity (SQ) means the amount of
regulated substance sufficient to cause a catastrophic event.
The sufficient quantity shall be calculated based on
commonly recognized atmospheric modeling procedures and
mortality/exposure probabilities calculated for an average
individual. For flammable and combustible substances, the
sufficient quantity is expressed as a release rate. For toxic

and explosive substances it is expressed as a distinct
quantity.

Technically qualified individual means a person or
persons (1) who, because of education, training, or
experience, or a combination of these factors, is capable of
understanding the health and environmental risks associated
with the chemical substance which is used under his or her
supervision, (2) who is responsible for enforcing appropriate
methods of conducting scientific experimentation, analysis,
or chemical research to minimize such risks, and (3) who is
responsible for the safety assessments and clearances related
to the procurement, storage, use, and disposal of the
chemical substance as may be appropriate or required within
the scope of conducting a research and development activity.

Threshold quantity means the quantity specified for
regulated substances pursuant to Section 112(r)(5) of the
Clean Air Act as amended, listed in Section 5.130 and
determined to be present at a stationary source as specified in
Section 5.115.

Typical meteorological conditions means the
temperature, wind speed, cloud cover, and atmospheric
stability class, prevailing at the site based on data gathered at
or near the site or from a local meteorological station.

Unit means the nearest whole number resulting from the
division of the actual quantity by the sufficient quantity at
100 meters as set forth in Sections 6.2, 6.3, or 6.4 of this
regulation and the nearest whole number resulting from the
division of the actual quantity by the threshold quantity as
set forth in Section 5.130 of this regulation. For stationary
sources reporting propane or ammonium nitrate with a
potential release quantity equal to or greater than the
sufficient quantity in their risk management plan, the units
will equal one, regardless of the actual quantity.

Vessel means any reactor, tank, drum, barrel, cylinder,
vat, kettle, boiler, pipe, hose, or other container.

Worst-case release means the release of the largest
quantity of a regulated substance from a vessel or process
line failure that results in the greatest distance to an endpoint
defined in Section 5.22.1.

5.0 Accidental Release Prevention Provisions
Established to Seek Delegation of 40 CFR Part 68

Revised as of July 1, 1997

Subpart A - General
5.1 through 5.9 Reserved
5.10 Applicability

5.10.1 An owner or operator of a stationary
source that has more than a threshold quantity of a regulated
substance in a process, as determined under Section 5.115,
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shall comply with the requirements of this regulation no later
than the latest of the following dates:

5.10.1.1  June 21, 1999;
5.10.1.2  Three years after the date on which a

regulated substance is first listed by EPA pursuant to 40 CFR
68.130 dated July 1, 1997; or

5.10.1.3 The date on which a regulated
substance is first present above a threshold quantity in a
process.

5.10.2 Program 1 eligibility requirements. A
covered process is eligible for Program 1 requirements as
provided in Section 5.12.2 if it meets all of the following
requirements: 
    5.10.2.1 For the five years prior to the
submission of an RMP, the process has not had an accidental
release of a regulated substance where exposure to the
substance, its reaction products, overpressure generated by
an explosion involving the substance, or radiant heat
generated by a fire involving the substance led to any of the
following off-site:

5.10.2.1.1 Death;
5.10.2.1.2 Injury; or
5.10.2.1.3 Response or restoration

activities for an exposure of an environmental receptor;
5.10.2.2 The distance to a toxic or

flammable endpoint for a worst-case release assessment
conducted under Subpart B and Section 5.25 is less than the
distance to any public receptor, as defined in Section 5.30;
and

5.10.2.3 Emergency response procedures
have been coordinated between the stationary source and
local emergency planning and response organizations.

5.10.3 Program 2 eligibility requirements. A
covered process is subject to Program 2 requirements if it
does not meet the eligibility requirements of either 5.10.2 or
5.10.4 of this section.

5.10.4 Program 3 eligibility requirements. A
covered process is subject to Program 3 if the process does
not meet the requirements of 5.10.2 of this section, and if
either of the following conditions is met:

5.10.4.1 The process is in NAICS code
325181, 325211, 325311, 32532, 32411, 32211, 325188,
32511, 325192, 325199; or

5.10.4.2 The process is subject to the
OSHA process safety management standard, 29 CFR
1910.119 dated July 1, 1997.

5.10.5 If at any time a covered process no longer
meets the eligibility criteria of its Program level, the owner
or operator shall comply with the requirements of the new
Program level that applies to the process and update the
RMP as provided in Section 5.190.

5.11 Reserved
5.12 General Requirements

5.12.1 General requirements. The owner or
operator of a stationary source subject to this part shall
submit a single RMP, as provided in Sections. 5.150 to
5.185. The RMP shall include a registration that reflects all
covered processes.

5.12.2 Program 1 requirements. In addition to
meeting the requirements of 5.12.1 of this section, the owner
or operator of a stationary source with a process eligible for
Program 1, as provided in Section 5.10.2, shall:

5.12.2.1 Analyze the worst-case release
scenario for the process(es), as provided in Section 5.25;
document that the nearest public receptor is beyond the
distance to a toxic or flammable endpoint defined in Section
5.22.1; and submit in the RMP the worst-case release
scenario as provided in Section 5.165;

5.12.2.2 Complete the five-year accident
history for the process as provided in Section 5.42 of this
part and submit it in the RMP as provided in Section 5.168;

5.12.2.3 Ensure that response actions have
been coordinated with local emergency planning and
response agencies; and 

5.12.2.4 Certify in the RMP the following:
“Based on the criteria in Section 5.10 (40 CFR 68.10 dated
July 1, 1997), the distance to the specified endpoint for the
worst-case accidental release scenario for the following
process(es) is less than the distance to the nearest public
receptor: [list process(es)]. Within the past five years, the
process(es) has (have) had no accidental release that caused
off-site impacts provided in the risk management program
rule (Section 5.10.2.1). No additional measures are
necessary to prevent off-site impacts from accidental
releases. In the event of fire, explosion, or a release of a
regulated substance from the process(es), entry within the
distance to the specified endpoints may pose a danger to
public emergency responders. Therefore, public emergency
responders should not enter this area except as arranged with
the emergency contact indicated in the RMP. The
undersigned certifies that, to the best of my knowledge,
information, and belief, formed after reasonable inquiry, the
information submitted is true, accurate, and complete.
[Signature, title, date signed].”

5.12.3 Program 2 requirements. In addition to
meeting the requirements of paragraph 5.12.1 of this section,
the owner or operator of a stationary source with a process
subject to Program 2, as provided in Section 5.10.3, shall:

5.12.3.1 Develop and implement a
management system as provided in Section 5.15; 

5.12.3.2 Conduct a hazard assessment as
provided in Sections. 5.20 through 5.42;
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5.12.3.3 Implement the Program 2
prevention steps provided in Sections. 5.48 through 5.60 or
implement the Program 3 prevention steps provided in
Sections. 5.65 through 5.87;

5.12.3.4 Develop and implement an
emergency response program as provided in Sections. 5.90
to 5.95; and 

5.12.3.5 Submit as part of the RMP the
data on prevention program elements for Program 2
processes as provided in Section 5.170.

5.12.4 Program 3 requirements. In addition to
meeting the requirements of 5.12.1 of this section, the owner
or operator of a stationary source with a process subject to
Program 3, as provided in Section 5.10.4 shall:

5.12.4.1 Develop and implement a
management system as provided in Section 5.15;

5.12.4.2 Conduct a hazard assessment as
provided in Sections. 5.20 through 5.42;

5.12.4.3 Implement the prevention
requirements of Sections. 5.65 through 5.87;

5.12.4.4 Develop and implement an
emergency response program as provided in Sections. 5.90
to 5.95 of this part; and

5.12.5 Submit as part of the RMP the data on
prevention program elements for Program 3 processes as
provided in Section 5.175.

5.13 and 5.14 Reserved
5.15  Management 

5.15.1 The owner or operator of a stationary
source with processes subject to Program 2 or Program 3
shall develop a management system to oversee the
implementation of the risk management program elements.

5.15.2 The owner or operator shall assign a
qualified person or position that has the overall
responsibility for the development, implementation, and
integration of the risk management program elements.

5.15.3 When responsibility for implementing
individual requirements of this part is assigned to persons
other than the person identified under 5.15.2 of this section,
the names or positions of these people shall be documented
and the lines of authority defined through an organization
chart or similar document.

Subpart B-Hazard Assessment
5.15 through 5.19 Reserved
5.20 Applicability 

An owner or operator of a stationary source that has
more than a threshold quantity of a regulated substance in a
process, as determined under Section 5.115, shall prepare a
worst-case release scenario analysis as provided in Section
5.25 of this part and complete the five-year accident history

as provided in Section 5.42. The owner or operator of a
Program 2 and 3 process must comply with all sections in
this subpart for these processes.

5.21 Reserved
5.22 Off-site Consequence Analysis Parameters 

5.22.1 Endpoints. For analyses of off-site
consequences, the following endpoints shall be used:

5.22.1.1 Toxics. The toxic endpoints provided
in Table 3 of this part.

5.22.1.2 Flammables. The endpoints for
flammables vary according to the scenarios studied:

5.22.1.2.1 Explosion. An overpressure
of 1 psi.

5.22.1.2.2 Radiant heat/exposure time.
A radiant heat of 5 kw/m2 for 40 seconds.

5.22.1.2.3 Lower flammability limit. A
lower flammability limit as provided in NFPA documents or
other  generally recognized sources.

5.22.2 Wind speed/atmospheric stability class.
For the worst-case release analysis, the owner or operator
shall use a wind speed of 1.5 meters per second and
atmospheric stability class of F. If the owner or operator can
demonstrate that local meteorological data applicable to the
stationary source show a higher minimum wind speed or less
stable atmosphere at all times during the previous three
years, these minimums may be used. For analysis of
alternative scenarios, the owner or operator may use the
typical meteorological conditions for the stationary source.

5.22.3 Ambient temperature/humidity. For worst-
case release analysis of a regulated toxic substance, the
owner or operator shall use the highest daily maximum
temperature in the previous three years and average humidity
for the site, based on temperature/humidity data gathered at
the stationary source or at a local meteorological station; an
owner or operator using the RMP Off-site Consequence
Analysis Guidance may use 25 deg.C and 50 percent
humidity as values for these variables. For analysis of
alternative scenarios, the owner or operator may use typical
temperature/humidity data gathered at the stationary source
or at a local meteorological station.

5.22.4 Height of release. The worst-case release
of a regulated toxic substance shall be analyzed assuming a
ground level (0 feet) release. For an alternative scenario
analysis of a regulated toxic substance, release height may
be determined by the release scenario.

5.22.5 Surface roughness. The owner or operator
shall use either urban or rural topography, as appropriate.
Urban means that there are many obstacles in the immediate
area; obstacles include buildings or trees. Rural means there
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are no buildings in the immediate area and the terrain is
generally flat and unobstructed.

5.22.6 Dense or neutrally buoyant gases. The
owner or operator shall ensure that tables or models used for
dispersion analysis of regulated toxic substances
appropriately account for gas density.

5.22.7 Temperature of released substance. For
worst case, liquids other than gases liquified by refrigeration
only shall be considered to be released at the highest daily
maximum temperature, based on data for the previous three
years appropriate for the stationary source, or at process
temperature, whichever is higher. For alternative scenarios,
substances may be considered to be released at a process or
ambient temperature that is appropriate for the scenario.

5.23 through 5.24 Reserved
5.25 Worst-Case Release Scenario Analysis

5.25.1 The owner or operator shall analyze and
report in the RMP:

5.25.1.1 For Program 1 processes, one
worst-case release scenario for each Program 1 process;

5.25.1.2 For Program 2 and 3 processes:
5.25.1.2.1 One worst-case release

scenario that is estimated to create the greatest distance in
any direction to an endpoint provided in Table 3 of this
regulation  resulting from an accidental release of regulated
toxic substances from covered processes under worst-case
conditions defined in Section 5.22;

5.25.1.2.2 One worst-case release
scenario that is estimated to create the greatest distance in
any direction to an endpoint defined in Section 5.22.1
resulting from an accidental release of regulated flammable
substances from covered processes under worst-case
conditions defined in Section 5.22; and

5.25.1.2.3 Additional worst-case
release scenarios for a hazard class if a worst-case release
from another covered process at the stationary source
potentially affects public receptors different from those
potentially affected by the worst-case release scenario
developed under 5.25.1.2.1 or 5.25.1.2.2 of this section.

5.25.2 Determination of worst-case release
quantity. The worst-case release quantity shall be the greater
of the following:

5.25.2.1 For substances in a vessel, the
greatest amount held in a single vessel, taking into account
administrative controls that limit the maximum quantity; or

5.25.2.2 For substances in pipes, the
greatest amount in a pipe, taking into account administrative
controls that limit the maximum quantity.

5.25.3 Worst-case release scenario-toxic gases.
5.25.3.1 For regulated toxic substances that are

normally gases at ambient temperature and handled as a gas

or as a liquid under pressure, the owner or operator shall
assume that the quantity in the vessel or pipe, as determined
under 5.25.2 of this section, is released as a gas over 10
minutes. The release rate shall be assumed to be the total
quantity divided by 10 unless passive mitigation systems are
in place.

5.25.3.2 For gases handled as refrigerated
liquids at ambient pressure:

5.25.3.2.1 If the released substance is
not contained by passive mitigation systems or if the
contained pool would have a depth of 1 cm or less, the owner
or operator shall assume that the substance is released as a
gas in 10 minutes;

5.25.3.2.2 If the released substance is
contained by passive mitigation systems in a pool with a
depth greater than 1 cm, the owner or operator may assume
that the quantity in the vessel or pipe, as determined under
5.25.2 of this section, is spilled instantaneously to form a
liquid pool. The volatilization rate (release rate) shall be
calculated at the boiling point of the substance and at the
conditions specified in 5.25.4 of this section.

5.25.4 Worst-case release scenario-toxic liquids.
5.25.4.1 For regulated toxic substances that are

normally liquids at ambient temperature, the owner or
operator shall assume that the quantity in the vessel or pipe,
as determined under 5.25.2 of this section, is spilled
instantaneously to form a liquid pool.

5.25.4.1.1 The surface area of the pool
shall be determined by assuming that the liquid spreads to 1
centimeter deep unless passive mitigation systems are in
place that serve to contain the spill and limit the surface area.
Where passive mitigation is in place, the surface area of the
contained liquid shall be used to calculate the volatilization
rate.

5.25.4.2 If the release would occur onto a
surface that is not paved or smooth, the owner or operator
may take into account the actual surface characteristics.

5.25.4.2.2 The volatilization rate shall
account for the highest daily maximum temperature
occurring in the past three years, the temperature of the
substance in the vessel, and the concentration of the
substance if the liquid spilled is a mixture or solution.

5.25.4.3 The rate of release to air shall be
determined from the volatilization rate of the liquid pool.
The owner or operator may use the methodology in the RMP
Off-site Consequence Analysis Guidance or any other
publicly available techniques that account for the modeling
conditions and are recognized by industry as applicable as
part of current practices. Proprietary models that account for
the modeling conditions may be used provided the owner or
operator allows the Department  access to the model and
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describes model features and differences from publicly
available models to local emergency planners upon request.

5.25.5 Worst-case release scenario-flammables.
The owner or operator shall assume that the quantity of the
substance, as determined under 5.25.2 of this section,
vaporizes resulting in a vapor cloud explosion. A yield factor
of 10 percent of the available energy released in the
explosion shall be used to determine the distance to the
explosion endpoint if the model used is based on TNT-
equivalent methods.

5.25.6 Parameters to be applied. The owner or
operator shall use the parameters defined in Section 5.22 to
determine distance to the endpoints. The owner or operator
may use the methodology provided in the RMP Off-site
Consequence Analysis Guidance or any commercially or
publicly available air dispersion modeling techniques,
provided the techniques account for the modeling conditions
and are recognized by industry as applicable as part of
current practices. Proprietary models that account for the
modeling conditions may be used provided he owner or
operator allows the Department access to the model and
describes model features and differences from publicly
available models to local emergency planners upon request.

5.25.7 Consideration of passive mitigation.
Passive mitigation systems may be considered for the
analysis of worst case provided that the mitigation system is
capable of withstanding the release event triggering the
scenario and would still function as intended.

5.25.8 Factors in selecting a worst-case scenario.
Notwithstanding the provisions of 5.25.2 of this section, the
owner or operator shall select as the worst case for
flammable regulated substances or the worst case for
regulated toxic substances, a scenario based on the following
factors if such a scenario would result in a greater distance to
an endpoint defined in Section 5.22.1 beyond the stationary
source boundary than the scenario provided under 5.25.2 of
this section:

5.25.8.1 Smaller quantities handled at
higher process temperature or pressure; and

5.25.8.2 Proximity to the boundary of the
stationary source.

5.26 and 5.27 Reserved
5.28 Alternative Release Scenario Analysis

5.28.1 The number of scenarios. The owner or
operator of Program 2 and Program 3 processes shall
identify and analyze at least one alternative release scenario
for each regulated toxic substance held in a covered
process(es) and at least one alternative release scenario to
represent all flammable substances held in covered
processes.

5.28.2 Scenarios to consider.

5.28.2.1 For each scenario required under
5.28.1 of this section, the owner or operator shall select a
scenario:

5.28.2.1.1 That is more likely to occur
than the worst-case release scenario under Section 5.25; and 

5.28.2.1.2 That will reach an endpoint
off-site, unless no such scenario exists.

5.28.2.2 Release scenarios considered
should include, but are not limited to, the following, where
applicable: 

5.28.2.2.1 Transfer hose releases due to
splits or sudden hose uncoupling;

5.28.2.2.2 Process piping releases from
failures at flanges, joints, welds, valves and valve seals, and
drains or bleeds;

5.28.2.2.3 Process vessel or pump
releases due to cracks, seal failure, or drain, bleed, or plug
failure;

5.28.2.2.4 Vessel overfilling and spill,
or over-pressurization and venting through relief valves or
rupture disks; and

5.28.2.2.5 Shipping container
mishandling and breakage or puncturing leading to a spill.

5.28.3 Parameters to be applied. The owner or
operator shall use the appropriate parameters defined in
Section 5.22 to determine distance to the endpoints. The
owner or operator may use either the methodology provided
in the RMP Off-site Consequence Analysis Guidance or any
commercially or publicly available air dispersion modeling
techniques, provided the techniques account for the specified
modeling conditions and are recognized by industry as
applicable as part of current practices. Proprietary models
that account for the modeling conditions may be used
provided the owner or operator allows the Department
access to the model and describes model features and
differences from publicly available models to local
emergency planners upon request.

5.28.4 Consideration of mitigation. Active and
passive mitigation systems may be considered provided they
are capable of withstanding the event that triggered the
release and would still be functional.

5.28.5 Factors in selecting scenarios. The owner
or operator shall consider the following in selecting
alternative release scenarios:

5.28.5.1 The five-year accident history
provided in Section 5.42; and 

5.28.5.2 Failure scenarios identified under
Section 5.50 or Section 5.67.

5.29 Reserved
5.30 Defining Off-site Impacts-Population
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5.30.1 The owner or operator shall estimate in
the RMP the population within a circle with its center at the
point of the release and a radius determined by the distance
to the endpoint defined in Section 5.22.1.

5.30.2 Population to be defined. Population shall
include residential population. The presence of institutions
(schools, hospitals, prisons), parks and recreational areas,
and major commercial, office, and industrial buildings shall
be noted in the RMP.

5.30.3 Data sources acceptable. The owner or
operator may use the most recent census data, or other
updated information, to estimate the population potentially
affected.

5.30.4 Level of accuracy. Population shall be
estimated to two significant digits.

5.31 and 5.32 Reserved
5.33 Defining Off-site Impacts–environment 

5.33.1 The owner or operator shall list in the
RMP environmental receptors within a circle with its center
at the point of the release and a radius determined by the
distance to the endpoint defined in Section 5.22.1 of this
part.

5.33.2 Data sources acceptable. The owner or
operator may rely on information provided on local U.S.
Geological Survey maps or on any data source containing
U.S.G.S. data to identify environmental receptors.

5.34 and 5.35 Reserved
5.36 Review and Update

5.36.1 The owner or operator shall review and
update the off-site consequence analyses at least once every
five years.

5.36.2 If changes in processes, quantities stored
or handled, or any other aspect of the stationary source
might reasonably be expected to increase or decrease the
distance to the endpoint by a factor of two or more, the
owner or operator shall complete a revised analysis within
six months of the change and submit a revised risk
management plan as provided in Section 5.190.

5.37 and 5.38 Reverved
5.39 Documentation. The owner or operator shall

maintain the following records on the off-site consequence
analyses:

5.39.1 For worst-case scenarios, a description of
the vessel or pipeline and substance selected as worst case,
assumptions and parameters used, and the rationale for
selection; assumptions shall include use of any
administrative controls and any passive mitigation that were
assumed to limit the quantity that could be released.
Documentation shall include the anticipated effect of the
controls and mitigation on the release quantity and rate.

5.39.2 For alternative release scenarios, a
description of the scenarios identified, assumptions and
parameters used, and the rationale for the selection of
specific scenarios; assumptions shall include use of any
administrative controls and any mitigation that were
assumed to limit the quantity that could be released.
Documentation shall include the effect of the controls and
mitigation on the release quantity and rate.

5.39.3 Documentation of estimated quantity
released, release rate, and duration of release.

5.39.4 Methodology used to determine distance
to endpoints.

5.39.5 Data used to estimate population and
environmental receptors potentially affected.

5.40 and 5.41 Reserved
5.42 Five-Year Accident History.

5.42.1 The owner or operator shall include in the
five-year accident history all accidental releases from
covered processes that resulted in deaths, injuries, or
significant property damage on site, or known off-site
deaths, injuries, evacuations, sheltering in place, property
damage, or environmental damage.

5.42.2 Data required. For each accidental release
included, the owner or operator shall report the following
information:

5.42.2.1 Date, time, and approximate
duration of the release;

5.42.2.2 Chemical(s) released;
5.42.3.3 Estimated quantity released in

pounds and, for mixtures containing regulated toxic
substances, percentage concentration by weight of the
released regulated toxic substance in the liquid mixture;

5.42.3.4 Five- or six-digit NAICS code
that most closely corresponds to the process;

5.42.3.5 The type of release event and its
source;

5.42.3.6 Weather conditions, if known;
5.42.3.7 On-site impacts;
5.42.3.8 Known off-site impacts;
5.42.3.9 Initiating event and contributing

factors,  if known;
5.42.3.10 Whether off-site responders were

notified, if known; and
5.42.3.11 Operational or process changes

that resulted from investigation of the release and that have
been made by the time this information is submitted in
accordance with 5.168.

5.42.3 Level of accuracy. Numerical estimates
may be provided to two significant digits.
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Subpart C - Program 2 Prevention Program
5.43 through 5.47 Reserved
5.48  Safety Information 

5.48.1 The owner or operator shall compile and
maintain the following up-to-date safety information  related
to the regulated substances, processes, and equipment:

5.48.1.1 Material Safety Data Sheets that
meet the requirements of 29 CFR 1910.1200(g) dated July 1,
1997;

5.48.1.2 Maximum intended inventory of
equipment in which the regulated substances are stored or
processed;

5.48.1.3 Safe upper and lower
temperatures, pressures, flows, and compositions;

5.48.1.4 Equipment specifications; and
5.48.1.5 Codes and standards used to

design, build, and operate the process.
5.48.2 The owner or operator shall ensure that the

process is designed in compliance with recognized and
generally accepted good engineering practices. Compliance
with Federal or state regulations that address industry-
specific safe design or with industry-specific design codes
and standards may be used to demonstrate compliance with
this paragraph.

5.48.3 The owner or operator shall update the
safety information if a major change occurs that makes the
information inaccurate.

5.49 Reserved
5.50 Hazard Review 

5.50.1 The owner or operator shall conduct a
review of the hazards associated with the regulated
substances, process, and procedures. The review shall
identify the following: 

5.50.1.1 The hazards associated with the
process and regulated substances;

5.50.1.2 Opportunities for equipment
malfunctions or human errors that could cause an accidental
release;

5.50.1.3 The safeguards used or needed to
control the hazards or prevent equipment malfunction or
human error; and 

5.50.1.4 Any steps used or needed to
detect or monitor releases.

5.50.2 The owner or operator may use checklists
developed by persons or organizations knowledgeable about
the process and equipment as a guide to conducting the
review. For processes designed to meet industry standards or
Federal or state design rules, the hazard review shall, by
inspecting all equipment, determine whether the process is
designed, fabricated, and operated in accordance with the
applicable standards or rules.

5.50.3 The owner or operator shall document the
results of the review and ensure that problems identified are
resolved in a timely manner.

5.50.4 The review shall be updated at least once
every five years. The owner or operator shall also conduct
reviews whenever a major change in the process occurs; all
issues identified in the review shall be resolved before
startup of the changed process.

5.51 Reserved
5.52 Operating Procedures

5.52.1 The owner or operator shall prepare
written operating procedures that provide clear instructions
or steps for safely conducting activities associated with each
covered process consistent with the safety information for
that process. Operating procedures or instructions provided
by equipment manufacturers or developed by persons or
organizations knowledgeable about the process and
equipment may be used as a basis for a stationary source's
operating procedures.

5.52.2 The procedures shall address the
following:

5.52.2.1 Initial startup;
5.52.2.2 Normal operations;
5.52.2.3 Temporary operations;
5.52.2.4 Emergency shutdown and

operations;
5.52.2.5 Normal shutdown;
5.52.2.6 Startup following a normal or

emergency shutdown or a major change that requires a
hazard review;

5.52.2.7 Consequences of deviations and
steps required to correct or avoid deviations; and

5.52.2.8 Equipment inspections.
5.52.3 The owner or operator shall ensure that the

operating procedures are updated, if necessary, whenever a
major change occurs and prior to startup of the changed
process.

5.53 Reserved
5.54 Training 

5.54.1 The owner or operator shall ensure that
each employee presently operating a process, and each
employee newly assigned to a covered process have been
trained or tested competent in the operating procedures
provided in Section 5.52 that pertain to their duties. For
those employees already operating a process on June 21,
1999, the owner or operator may certify in writing that the
employee has the required knowledge, skills, and abilities to
safely carry out the duties and responsibilities as provided in
the operating procedures.

5.54.2 Refresher training. Refresher training shall
be provided at least every three years, and more often if
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 5, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 707
necessary, to each employee operating a process to ensure
that the employee understands and adheres to the current
operating procedures of the process. The owner or operator,
in consultation with the employees operating the process,
shall determine the appropriate frequency of refresher
training.

5.54.3 The owner or operator may use training
conducted under Federal or state regulations or under
industry-specific standards or codes or training conducted by
covered process equipment vendors to demonstrate
compliance with this section to the extent that the training
meets the requirements of this section.

5.54.4 The owner or operator shall ensure that
operators are trained in any updated or new procedures prior
to startup of a process after a major change.

5.55 Reserved
5.56 Maintenance

5.56.1 The owner or operator shall prepare and
implement procedures to maintain the on-going mechanical
integrity of the process equipment. The owner or operator
may use procedures or instructions provided by covered
process equipment vendors or procedures in Federal or state
regulations or industry codes as the basis for stationary
source maintenance procedures.

5.56.2 The owner or operator shall train or cause
to be trained each employee involved in maintaining the on-
going mechanical integrity of the process. To ensure that the
employee can perform the job tasks in a safe manner, each
such employee shall be trained in the hazards of the process,
in how to avoid or correct unsafe conditions, and in the
procedures applicable to the employee's job tasks.

5.56.3 Any maintenance contractor shall ensure
that each contract maintenance employee is trained to
perform the maintenance procedures developed under 5.56.1
of this section.

5.56.4 The owner or operator shall perform or
cause to be performed inspections and tests on process
equipment. Inspection and testing procedures shall follow
recognized and generally accepted good engineering
practices. The frequency of inspections and tests of process
equipment shall be consistent with applicable manufacturers'
recommendations, industry standards or codes, good
engineering practices, and prior operating experience.

5.57 Reserved
5.58 Compliance Audits 

5.58.1 The owner or operator shall certify that
they have evaluated compliance with the provisions of this
subpart at least every three years to verify that the
procedures and practices developed under the rule are
adequate and are being followed.

5.58.2 The compliance audit shall be conducted
by at least one person knowledgeable in the process.

5.58.3 The owner or operator shall develop a
report of the audit findings.

5.58.4 The owner or operator shall promptly
determine and document an appropriate response to each of
the findings of the compliance audit and document that
deficiencies have been corrected.

5.58.5 The owner or operator shall retain the two
(2) most recent compliance audit reports. This requirement
does not apply to any compliance audit report that is more
than five years old.

5.59 Reserved
5.60 Incident Investigation

5.60.1 The owner or operator shall investigate
each incident which resulted in, or could reasonably have
resulted in a catastrophic release.

5.60.2 An incident investigation shall be initiated
as promptly as possible, but not later than 48 hours following
the incident.

5.60.3 A summary shall be prepared at the
conclusion of the investigation which includes at a
minimum:

5.60.3.1 Date of incident;
5.60.3.2 Date investigation began;
5.60.3.3 A description of the incident;
5.60.3.4 The factors that contributed to the

incident; and,
5.60.3.5 Any recommendations resulting from

the investigation.
5.60.4 The owner or operator shall promptly

address and resolve the investigation findings and
recommendations. Resolutions and corrective actions shall
be documented.

5.60.5 The findings shall be reviewed with all
affected personnel whose job tasks are affected by the
findings. 

5.60.6 Investigation summaries shall be retained
for five years.

Subpart D -Program 3 Prevention Program
5.61 through 5.64 Reserved
5.65 Process Safety Information

5.65.1 In accordance with the schedule set forth
in Section 5.67, the owner or operator shall complete a
compilation of written process safety information before
conducting any process hazard analysis required by this
subpart. The compilation of written process safety
information is to enable the owner or operator and the
employees involved in operating the process to identify and
understand the hazards posed by those processes involving
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regulated substances. This process safety information shall
include information pertaining to the hazards of the
regulated substances used or produced by the process,
information pertaining to the technology of the process, and
information pertaining to the equipment in the process.

5.65.2 Information pertaining to the hazards of
the regulated substances in the process. This information
shall consist of at least the following:

5.65.2.1 Toxicity information;
5.65.2.2 Permissible exposure limits;
5.65.2.3 Physical data;
5.65.2.4 Reactivity data;
5.65.2.5 Corrosion data;
5.65.2.6 Thermal and chemical stability

data; and
5.65.2.7 Hazardous effects of inadvertent

mixing of different materials that could foreseeably occur.
Note: Material Safety Data Sheets

meeting the requirements of 29 CFR 1910.1200(g) dated
July 1, 1997 may be used to comply with this requirement to
the extent they contain the information required by this
subparagraph.

5.65.3 Information pertaining to the technology
of the process.

5.65.3.1 Information concerning the
technology of the process shall include at least the following:

5.65.3.1.1 A block flow diagram or
simplified process flow diagram;

5.65.3.1.2 Process chemistry;
5.65.3.1.3 Maximum intended

inventory;
5.65.3.1.4 Safe upper and lower limits

for such items as temperatures, pressures, flows or
compositions; and

5.65.3.1.5 An evaluation of the
consequences of deviations.

5.65.3.2 Where the original technical
information no longer exists, such information may be
developed in conjunction with the process hazard analysis in
sufficient detail to support the analysis.

5.65.4 Information pertaining to the equipment in
the process.

5.65.4.1 Information pertaining to the
equipment in the process shall include:

5.65.4.1.1 Materials of construction;
5.65.4.1.2 Piping and instrument

diagrams (P and ID's);
5.65.4.1.3 Electrical classification;
5.65.4.1.4 Relief system design and

design basis;
5.65.4.1.5 Ventilation system design;

5.65.4.1.6 Design codes and standards
employed;

5.65.4.1.7 Material and energy balances
for processes built after June 21, 1999; and

5.65.4.1.8 Safety systems (e.g.
interlocks, detection or suppression systems).

5.65.4.2 The owner or operator shall document
that equipment complies with recognized and generally
accepted good engineering practices.

5.65.4.3 For existing equipment designed and
constructed in accordance with codes, standards, or practices
that are no longer in general use, the owner or operator shall
determine and document that the equipment is designed,
maintained, inspected, tested, and operating in a safe
manner.

5.66 Reserved
5.67 Process Hazard Analysis

5.67.1 The owner or operator shall perform an
initial process hazard analysis on processes covered by
Program Level 3. The process hazard analysis shall be
appropriate to the complexity of the process and shall
identify, evaluate, and control the hazards involved in the
process. The owner or operator shall determine and
document the priority order for conducting process hazard
analyses based on a rationale which includes such
considerations as extent of the process hazards, number of
potentially affected employees, age of the process, and
operating history of the process. The process hazard analysis
shall be conducted as soon as possible, but not later than
June 21, 1999. Process hazards analyses completed to
comply with 29 CFR 1910.119(e)dated July 1, 1997 are
acceptable as initial process hazards analyses. These process
hazard analyses shall be updated and revalidated, based on
their completion date.

5.67.2 The owner or operator shall use one or
more of the following methodologies that are appropriate to
determine and evaluate the hazards of the process being
analyzed.

5.67.2.1 What-If;
5.67.2.2 Checklist;
5.67.2.3 What-If/Checklist;
5.67.2.4 Hazard and Operability Study

(HAZOP);
5.67.2.5 Failure Mode and Effects

Analysis (FMEA);
5.67.2.6 Fault Tree Analysis; or
5.67.2.7 An appropriate equivalent

methodology.
5.67.3 The process hazard analysis shall address:

5.67.3.1 The hazards of the process;
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5.67.3.2 The identification of any
previous incident which had a likely potential for
catastrophic consequences;

5.67.3.3 Engineering and administrative
controls applicable to the hazards and their interrelationships
such as appropriate application of detection methodologies
to provide early warning of releases. (Acceptable detection
methods might include process monitoring and control
instrumentation with alarms, and detection hardware such as
hydrocarbon sensors.);

5.67.3.4 Consequences of failure of
engineering and administrative controls; 

5.67.3.5 Stationary source siting;
5.67.3.6 Human factors; and
5.67.3.7 A qualitative evaluation of a

range of the possible safety and health effects of failure of
controls.

5.67.4 The process hazard analysis shall be
performed by a team with expertise in engineering and
process operations, and the team shall include at least one
employee who has experience and knowledge specific to the
process being evaluated. Also, one member of the team must
be knowledgeable in the specific process hazard analysis
methodology being used.

5.67.5 The owner or operator shall establish a
system to promptly address the team's findings and
recommendations; assure that the recommendations are
resolved in a timely manner and that the resolution is
documented; document what actions are to be taken;
complete actions as soon as possible; develop a written
schedule of when these actions are to be completed;
communicate the actions to operating,, maintenance, and
other employees whose work assignments are in the process
and who may be affected by the recommendations or actions.

5.67.6 At least every five (5) years after the
completion of the initial process hazard analysis, the process
hazard analysis shall be updated and revalidated by a team
meeting the requirements in 5.67.4 of this section, to assure
that the process hazard analysis is consistent with the current
process. Updated and revalidated process hazard analyses
completed to comply with 29 CFR 1910.119(e) dated July 1,
1997 are acceptable to meet the requirements of this
paragraph.

5.67.7 The owner or operator shall retain process
hazards analyses and updates or revalidations for each
process covered by this section, as well as the documented
resolution of recommendations described in 5.67.5 of this
section for the life of the process.

5.68 Reserved
5.69 Operating Procedures

5.69.1 The owner or operator shall develop and
implement written operating procedures that provide clear
instructions for safely conducting activities involved in each
covered process consistent with the process safety
information and shall address at least the following
elements.

5.69.1.1 Steps for each operating phase:
5.69.1.1.1 Initial startup;
5.69.1.1.2 Normal operations;
5.69.1.1.3 Temporary operations;
5.69.1.1.4 Emergency shutdown

including the conditions under which emergency shutdown
is required, and the assignment of shutdown responsibility to
qualified operators to ensure that emergency shutdown is
executed in a safe and timely manner;

5.69.1.1.5 Emergency operations;
5.69.1.1.6 Normal shutdown; and,
5.69.1.1.7 Startup following a

turnaround, or after an emergency shutdown.
5.69.1.2 Operating limits:

5.69.1.2.1 Consequences of deviation
and

5.69.1.2.2 Steps required to correct or
avoid deviation.

5.69.1.3 Safety and health considerations:
5.69.1.3.1 Properties of, and hazards

presented by, the chemicals used in the process;
5.69.1.3.2 Precautions necessary to

prevent exposure, including engineering controls,
administrative controls, and personal protective equipment;

5.69.1.3.3 Control measures to be taken
if physical contact or airborne exposure occurs;

5.69.1.3.4 Quality control for raw
materials and control of hazardous chemical inventory levels
and,

5.69.1.3.5 Any special or unique
hazards.

5.69.1.4 Safety systems and their functions.
5.69.2 Operating procedures shall be readily

accessible to employees who work in or maintain a process.
5.69.3 The operating procedures shall be

reviewed as often as necessary to assure that they reflect
current operating practice, including changes that result from
changes in process chemicals, technology, and equipment,
and changes to stationary sources. The owner or operator
shall certify annually that these operating procedures are
current and accurate.

5.69.4 The owner or operator shall develop and
implement safe work practices to provide for the control of
hazards during operations such as lockout/tagout; confined
space entry; opening process equipment or piping; and
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 5, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS710
control over entrance into a stationary source by
maintenance, contractor, laboratory, or other support
personnel. These safe work practices shall apply to
employees and contractor employees.

5.70 Reserved
5.71 Training.

5.71.1 Initial training. 
5.71.1.1 Each employee presently involved in

operating a process, and each employee before being
involved in operating a newly assigned process, shall be
trained in an overview of the process and in the operating
procedures as specified in Section 5.69. The training shall
include emphasis on the specific safety and health hazards,
emergency operations including shutdown, and safe work
practices applicable to the employee's job tasks.

5.71.1.2 In lieu of initial training for those
employees already involved in operating a process on June
21, 1999, an owner or operator may certify in writing that the
employee has the required knowledge, skills, and abilities to
safely carry out the duties and responsibilities as specified in
the operating procedures.

5.71.2 Refresher training. Refresher training shall
be provided at least every three years, and more often if
necessary, to each employee involved in operating a process
to assure that the employee understands and adheres to the
current operating procedures of the process. The owner or
operator, in consultation with the employees involved in
operating the process, shall determine the appropriate
frequency of refresher training.

5.71.3 Training documentation. The owner or
operator shall ascertain that each employee involved in
operating a process has received and understood the training
required by this paragraph. The owner or operator shall
prepare a record which contains the identity of the employee,
the date of training, and the means used to verify that the
employee understood the training.

5.72 Reserved
5.73 Mechanical Integrity 

5.73.1 Application. Paragraphs 5.73.2 through
5.73.6 of this section apply to the following process
equipment:

5.73.1.1 Pressure vessels and storage
tanks;

5.73.1.2 Piping systems (including piping
components such as valves);

5.73.1.3 Relief and vent systems and
devices;

5.73.1.4 Emergency shutdown systems;
5.73.1.5 Controls (including monitoring

devices and sensors, alarms, and interlocks);  and
5.73.1.6 Pumps.

5.73.2 Written procedures. The owner or operator
shall establish and implement written procedures to maintain
the on-going integrity of process equipment.

5.73.3 Training for process maintenance
activities. The owner or operator shall train each employee
involved in maintaining the on-going integrity of process
equipment in an overview of that process and its hazards and
in the procedures applicable to the employee's job tasks to
assure that the employee can perform the job tasks in a safe
manner.

5.73.4 Inspection and testing.
5.73.4.1 Inspections and tests shall be

performed on process equipment.
5.73.4.2 Inspection and testing procedures

shall follow recognized and generally accepted good
engineering practices.

5.73.4.3 The frequency of inspections and
tests of process equipment shall be consistent with
applicable manufacturers' recommendations and good
engineering practices, and more frequently if determined to
be necessary by prior operating experience.

5.73.4.4 The owner or operator shall
document each inspection and test that has been performed
on process equipment. The documentation shall identify the
date of the inspection or test, the name of the person who
performed the inspection or test, the serial number or other
identifier of the equipment on which the inspection or test
was performed, a description of the inspection or test
performed, and the results of the inspection or test.

5.73.5 Equipment deficiencies. The owner or
operator shall correct deficiencies in equipment that are
outside acceptable limits (defined by the process safety
information in Section 5.65) before further use or in a safe
and timely manner when necessary means are taken to assure
safe operation.

5.73.6 Quality assurance.
5.73.6.1 In the construction of new plants

and equipment, the owner or operator shall assure that
equipment as it is fabricated is suitable for the process
application for which they will be used. 

5.73.6.2 Appropriate checks and
inspections shall be performed to assure that equipment is
installed properly and consistent with design specifications
and the manufacturer's instructions.

5.73.6.3 The owner or operator shall
assure that maintenance materials, spare parts and equipment
are suitable for the process application for which they will be
used.

5.74 Reserved
5.75 Management of Change
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5.75.1 The owner or operator shall establish and
implement written procedures to manage changes (except for
‘replacements in kind’) to process chemicals, technology,
equipment, and procedures; and, changes to stationary
sources that affect a covered process.

5.75.2 The procedures shall assure that the
following considerations are addressed prior to any change: 

5.75.2.1 The technical basis for the
proposed change;

5.75.2.2 Impact of change on safety and
health;

5.75.2.3 Modifications to operating
procedures;

5.75.2.4 Necessary time period for the
change; and,

5.75.2.5 Authorization requirements for
the proposed change.

5.75.3 Employees involved in operating a process
and maintenance and contract employees whose job tasks
will be affected by a change in the process shall be informed
of, and trained in, the change prior to start-up of the process
or affected part of the process.

5.75.4 If a change covered by this paragraph
results in a change in the process safety information required
by Section 5.65 of this part, such information shall be
updated accordingly.

5.75.5 If a change covered by this paragraph
results in a change in the operating procedures or practices
required by Section 5.69, such procedures or practices shall
be updated accordingly.

5.76 Reserved
5.77 Pre-startup Review

5.77.1 The owner or operator shall perform a pre-
startup safety review for new stationary sources and for
modified stationary sources when the modification is
significant enough to require a change in the process safety
information.

5.77.2 The pre-startup safety review shall
confirm that prior to the introduction of regulated substances
to a process: 

5.77.2.1 Construction and equipment is in
accordance with design specifications;

5.77.2.2 Safety, operating, maintenance,
and emergency procedures are in place and are adequate;

5.77.2.3 For new stationary sources, a
process hazard analysis has been performed and
recommendations have been resolved or implemented before
startup; and modified stationary sources meet the
requirements contained in management of change, Section
5.75; and

5.77.2.4 Training of each employee
involved in operating a process has been completed.

5.78 Reserved
5.79 Compliance Audits

5.79.1 The owner or operator shall certify that
they have evaluated compliance with the provisions of this
section Regulation at least every three years to verify that the
procedures and practices developed under the Regulation are
adequate and are being followed.

5.79.2 The compliance audit shall be conducted
by at least one person knowledgeable in the process.

5.79.3 A report of the findings of the audit shall
be developed.

5.79.4 The owner or operator shall promptly
determine and document an appropriate response to each of
the findings of the compliance audit, and document that
deficiencies have been corrected.

5.79.5 The owner or operator shall retain the two
(2) most recent compliance audit reports.

5.80 Reserved
5.81 Incident Investigation

5.81.1 The owner or operator shall investigate
each incident which resulted in, or could reasonably have
resulted in a catastrophic release of a regulated substance.

5.81.2 An incident investigation shall be initiated
as promptly as possible, but not later than 48 hours following
the incident. 

5.81.3 An incident investigation team shall be
established and consist of at least one person knowledgeable
in the process involved, including a contract employee if the
incident involved work of the contractor, and other persons
with appropriate knowledge and experience to thoroughly
investigate and analyze the incident.

5.81.4 A report shall be prepared at the
conclusion of the investigation which includes at a
minimum:

5.81.4.1 Date of incident;
5.81.4.2 Date investigation began;
5.81.4.3 A description of the incident;
5.81.4.4 The factors that contributed to the

incident; and,
5.81.4.5 Any recommendations resulting

from the investigation.
5.81.5 The owner or operator shall establish a

system to promptly address and resolve the incident report
findings and recommendations. Resolutions and corrective
actions shall be documented.

5.81.6 The report shall be reviewed with all
affected personnel whose job tasks are relevant to the
incident findings including contract employees where
applicable.
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5.81.7 Incident investigation reports shall be
retained for five years.

5.82 Reserved
5.83 Employee Participation

5.83.1 The owner or operator shall develop a
written plan of action regarding the implementation of the
employee participation required by this section.

5.83.2 The owner or operator shall consult with
employees and their representatives on the conduct and
development of process hazards analyses and on the
development of the other elements of process safety
management in this regulation.

5.83.3 The owner or operator shall provide to
employees and their representatives access to process hazard
analyses and to all other information required to be
developed under this regulation.

5.84 Reserved
5.85 Hot Work Permit 

5.85.1 The owner or operator shall issue a hot
work permit for hot work operations conducted on or near a
covered process. 

5.85.2 The permit shall document that the fire
prevention and protection requirements in 29 CFR
1910.252(a)dated July 1, 1997 have been implemented prior
to beginning the hot work operations; it shall indicate the
date(s) authorized for hot work; and identify the object on
which hot work is to be performed. The permit shall be kept
on file until completion of the hot work operations.

5.86 Reserved
5.87 Contractors

5.87.1 Application. This section applies to
contractors performing maintenance or repair, turnaround,
major renovation, or specialty work on or adjacent to a
covered process. It does not apply to contractors providing
incidental services which do not influence process safety,
such as janitorial work, food and drink services, laundry,
delivery or other supply services.

5.87.2 Owner or operator responsibilities.
5.87.2.1 The owner or operator, when

selecting a contractor, shall obtain and evaluate information
regarding the contract owner or operator's safety
performance and programs.

5.87.2.2 The owner or operator shall
inform contract owner or operator of the known potential
fire, explosion, or toxic release hazards related to the
contractor's work and the process.

5.87.2.3 The owner or operator shall
explain to the contract owner or operator the applicable
provisions of subpart E of this regulation.

5.87.2.4 The owner or operator shall
develop and implement safe work practices consistent with

Section 5.69.4, to control the entrance, presence, and exit of
the contract owner or operator and contract employees in
covered process areas.

5.87.2.5 The owner or operator shall
periodically evaluate the performance of the contract owner
or operator in fulfilling their obligations as specified in
5.87.3 of this section.

5.87.3 Contract owner or operator
responsibilities.

5.87.3.1 The contract owner or operator
shall assure that each contract employee is trained in the
work practices necessary to safely perform his/her job.

5.87.3.2 The contract owner or operator
shall assure that each contract employee is instructed in the
known potential fire, explosion, or toxic release hazards
related to his/her job and the process, and the applicable
provisions of the emergency action plan.

5.87.3.3 The contract owner or operator
shall document that each contract employee has received and
understood the training required by this section. The contract
owner or operator shall prepare a record which contains the
identity of the contract employee, the date of training, and
the means used to verify that the employee understood the
training. 

5.87.3.4 The contract owner or operator
shall assure that each contract employee follows the safety
rules of the stationary source including the safe work
practices required by Section 5.69.4.

5.87.3.5 The contract owner or operator
shall advise the owner or operator of any unique hazards
presented by the contract owner or operator's work, or of any
hazards found by the contract owner or operator's work.

Subpart E-Emergency Response
5.88 and 5.89 Reserved
5.90 Applicability 

5.90.1 Except as provided in 5.90.2 of this
section, the owner or operator of a stationary source with
Program 2 and Program 3 processes shall comply with the
requirements of Section 5.95.

5.90.2 The owner or operator of stationary source
whose employees will not respond to accidental releases of
regulated substances need not comply with Section 5.95 of
this part provided that they meet the following:

5.90.2.1 For stationary sources with any
regulated toxic substance held in a process above the
threshold quantity, the stationary source is included in the
community emergency response plan developed under 42
U.S.C . 11003;

5.90.2.2 For stationary sources with only
regulated flammable substances held in a process above the
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threshold quantity, the owner or operator has coordinated
response actions with the local fire department; and

5.90.2.3 Appropriate mechanisms are in place
to notify emergency responders when there is a need for a
response.

5.91 through 5.94 Reserved
5.95 Emergency Response Program 

5.95.1 The owner or operator shall develop and
implement an emergency response program for the purpose
of protecting public health and the environment. Such
program shall include the following elements: 

5.95.1.1 An emergency response plan, which
shall be maintained at the stationary source and contain at
least the following elements: 

5.95.1.1.1 Procedures for informing the
public and local emergency response agencies about
accidental releases;

5.95.1.1.2 Documentation of proper
first-aid and emergency medical treatment necessary to treat
accidental human exposures; and

5.95.1.1.3 Procedures and measures for
emergency response after an accidental release of a regulated
substance;

5.95.1.2 Procedures for the use of emergency
response equipment and for its inspection, testing, and
maintenance;

5.95.1.3 Training for all employees in relevant
procedures; and 

5.95.1.4 Procedures to review and update, as
appropriate, the emergency response plan to reflect changes
at the stationary source and ensure that employees are
informed of changes.

5.95.2 A written plan that complies with other
Federal contingency plan regulations or is consistent with
the approach in the National Response Team's Integrated
Contingency Plan Guidance (“One Plan”) and that, among
other matters, includes the elements provided in paragraph
5.95.1 of this section, shall satisfy the requirements of this
section if the owner or operator also complies with
paragraph 5.95.3 of this section.

5.95.3 The emergency response plan developed
under paragraph 5.95.1.1 of this section shall be coordinated
with the community emergency response plan developed
under 42 U.S.C. 11003. Upon request of the local emergency
planning committee or emergency response officials, the
owner or operator shall promptly provide to the local
emergency response officials information necessary for
developing and implementing the community emergency
response plan.

Subpart F–Regulated Substances for Accidental Release
Prevention 

5.96 through 5.99 Reserved
5.100 Purpose 
This subpart designates substances to be listed under

section 112(r)(3), (4), and (5) of the Clean Air Act, as
amended and identifies their threshold quantities.

5.101 through 5.114 Reserved
5.115 Threshold Determination

5.115.1 A threshold quantity of a regulated
substance listed in Section 5.130 is present at a stationary
source if the total quantity of the regulated substance
contained in a process exceeds the threshold.

5.115.2 For the purposes of determining whether
more than a threshold quantity of a regulated substance is
present at the stationary source, the following exemptions
apply:

5.115.2.1 Concentrations of a regulated
toxic substance in a mixture. If a regulated substance is
present in a mixture and the concentration of the substance is
below one percent by weight of the mixture, the amount of
the substance in the mixture need not be considered when
determining whether more than a threshold quantity is
present at the stationary source. Except for oleum, toluene
2,4-diisocyanate, toluene 2,6-diisocyanate, and toluene
diisocyanate (unspecified isomer), if the concentration of the
regulated substance in the mixture is one percent or greater
by weight, but the owner or operator can demonstrate that
the partial pressure of the regulated substance in the mixture
(solution) under handling or storage conditions in any
portion of the process is less than 10 millimeters of mercury
(mm Hg), the amount of the substance in the mixture in that
portion of the process need not be considered when
determining whether more than a threshold quantity is
present at the stationary source. The owner or operator shall
document this partial pressure measurement or estimate.

5.115.2.2 Concentrations of a regulated
flammable substance in a mixture.

5.115.2.2.1 General provision. If a
regulated substance is present in a mixture and the
concentration of the substance is below one percent by
weight of the mixture, the mixture need not be considered
when determining whether more than a threshold quantity of
the regulated substance is present at the stationary source.
Except as provided in paragraph 5.115.2.2 and .3 of this
section, if the concentration of the substance is one percent
or greater by weight of the mixture, then, for purposes of
determining whether a threshold quantity is present at the
stationary source, the entire weight of the mixture shall be
treated as the regulated substance unless the owner or
operator can demonstrate that the mixture itself does not
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have a National Fire Protection Association flammability
hazard rating of 4. The demonstration shall be in accordance
with the definition of flammability hazard rating 4 in the
NFPA 704, Standard System for the Identification of the
Hazards of Materials for Emergency Response, National Fire
Protection Association, Quincy, MA, 1996. Available from
the National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch
Park, Quincy, MA 02269-9101. This incorporation by
reference was approved by the Director of the Federal
Register in accordance with 5 U.S.C. 552(a) and 1 CFR part
51. Copies may be inspected at the Environmental Protection
Agency Air Docket (6102), Attn: Docket No. A-96-O8,
Waterside Mall, 401 M. St. SW., Washington D.C.; or at the
Office of Federal Register at 800 North Capitol St., NW,
Suite 700, Washington, D.C. Boiling point and flash point
shall be defined and determined in accordance with NFPA
30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code, National
Fire Protection Association, Quincy, MA, 1996. Available
from the National Fire Protection Association, 1
Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02269-9101. This
incorporation by reference was approved by the Director of
the Federal Register in accordance with 5 U.S.C. 552(a) and
1 CFR part 51. Copies may be inspected at the
Environmental Protection Agency Air Docket (6102), Attn:
Docket No. A-96-O8, Waterside Mall, 401 M. St. SW.,
Washington D.C.; or at the Office of Federal Register at 800
North Capitol St., NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. The
owner or operator shall document the National Fire
Protection Association flammability hazard rating.

5.115.2.2.2 Gasoline. Regulated
substances in gasoline, when in distribution or related
storage for use as fuel for internal combustion engines, need
not be considered when determining whether more than a
threshold quantity is present at a stationary source.

5.115.2.2.3 Naturally occurring
hydrocarbon mixtures. Prior to entry into a natural gas
processing plant or a petroleum refining process unit,
regulated substances in naturally occurring hydrocarbon
mixtures need not be considered when determining whether
more than a threshold quantity is present at a stationary
source. Naturally occurring hydrocarbon mixtures include
any combination of the following: condensate, crude oil,
field gas, and produced water, each as defined in Section 5.3
of this part 4.0.

5.115.2.3 Articles. Regulated substances
contained in articles need not be considered when
determining whether more than a threshold quantity is
present at the stationary source.

5.115.2.4 Uses. Regulated substances,
when in use for the following purposes, need not be included

in determining whether more than a threshold quantity is
present at the stationary source: 

5.115.2.4.1 Use as a structural
component of the stationary source;

5.115.2.4.2 Use of products for routine
janitorial maintenance;

5.115.2.4.3 Use by employees of foods,
drugs, cosmetics, or other personal items containing the
regulated substance; and

5.115.2.4.4 Use of regulated substances
present in process water or non-contact cooling water as
drawn from the environment or municipal sources, or use of
regulated substances present in air used either as compressed
air or as part of combustion.

5.115.2.5 Activities in laboratories. If a
regulated substance is manufactured, processed, or used in a
laboratory at a stationary source under the supervision of a
technically qualified individual, the quantity of the substance
need not be considered in determining whether a threshold
quantity is present. This exemption does not apply to: 

5.115.2.5.1 Specialty chemical
production;

5.115.2.5.2 Manufacture, processing, or
use of substances in pilot plant scale operations; and

5.115.2.5.3 Activities conducted outside
the laboratory.

5.116 through 5.124 Reserved
5.125 Exemptions. Agricultural nutrients. Ammonia

used as an agricultural nutrient, when held by farmers, is
exempt from all provisions of this regulation.

5.126 Exclusion. Flammable Substances Used as
Fuel or Held for Sale as Fuel at Retail Facilities. A
flammable substance listed in Table 2 of 5.130 is
nevertheless excluded from all provisions of section 5 when
the substance is used as a fuel or held for sale as a fuel at a
retail facility.

5.127 through 5.129 Reserved
5.130 List of Substances.

5.130.1 Regulated toxic and flammable substances
under Section 112(r) of the Clean Air Act are the substances
listed in Tables 1 and 2, Threshold quantities for listed toxic
and flammable substances are specified in the tables.

5.130.2 The basis for placing toxic and flammable
substances on the list of regulated substances are explained
in the notes to the list.
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Table 1: List of Regulated Toxic Substances and 
Threshold Quantities for Accidental Release Prevention

Chemical Name CAS # Threshol
d 
Quantity 
(lbs)

Basi
s for 
Listi
ng

Acrolein [2-Propenal] 107-02-8 5,000 b
Acrylonitrile [2-
Propenenitrile]

107-13-1 20,000 b

Acrylyl chloride [2-Propenoyl 
chloride]

814-68-6 5,000 b

Allyl alcohol [2-Propen-1-ol] 107-18-61 15,000 b
Allylamine [2-Propen-1-
amine]

107-11-9 10,000 b

Ammonia (anhydrous) 7664-41-7 10,000 a, b
Ammonia (conc 20% or 
greater)

7664-41-7 20,000 a, b

Arsenous trichloride 7784-34-1 15,000 b
Arsine 7784-42-1 1,000 b
Boron trichloride [Borane, 
trichloro-]

10294-34-5 5,000 b

Boron trifluoride [Borane, 
trifluoro-]

7637-07-2 5,000 b

Boron trifluoride with methyl 
ether (1:1) [Boron, 
trifluoro[oxybis[methane]]-, T-
4-

353-42-4 15,000 b

Bromine 7726-95-6 10,000 a, b
Carbon Disulfide 75-15-0 20,000 b
Chlorine 7782-50-5 2,500 a, b
Chlorine Dioxide [Chlorine 
oxide (ClO2)]

10049-04-4 1,000 c

Chloroform [Methane, 
trichloro-]

67-66-3 20,000 b

Chloromethyl ether [Methane, 
oxybis[chloro]]

542-88-1 1,000 b

Chloromethyl methyl ether 
[Methane, chloromethoxy-]

107-30-2 5,000 b

Crotonaldehyde [2-Butenal] 4170-30-3 20,000 b
Crontonaldehyde, (E)-[2-
Butenal, (E)-]

123-73-9 20,000 b

Cyanogen chloride 506-77-4 10,000 c
Cylclohexylamine 
[Cyclohexanamine]

108-91-8 15,000 b

Diborane 19287-45-7 2,500 b
Dimethyldichlorosilane 
[Silane, dichlorodimethyl-]

75-78-5 5,000 b

1,1-Dimethylhydrazine 
[Hydrazine, 1,1-dimethyl-]

57-14-7 15,000 b

Epichlorohydrin [Oxirane, 
(chloromethyl)-]

106-89-8 20,000 b

Ethylenediamine [1,2-
Ethanediamine]

107-15-3 20,000 b

Ethyleneimine [Aziridine] 151-56-4 10,000 b
Ethylene Oxide [Oxirane] 75-21-8 10,000 a, b
Fluorine 7782-41-4 1,000 b
Formaldehyde (solution) 50-00-0 15,000 b
Furan 110-00-9 5,000 b
Hydrazine 302-01-2 15,000 b
Hydrochloric acid (conc 37% 
or greater)

7647-01-0 15,000 d

Hydrocyanic acid 74-90-8 2,500 a, b
Hydrogen chloride 
(anhydrous) [Hydrochloric 
acid]

7647-01-0 5,000 a

Hydrogen fluoride/
Hydrofluoric acid (conc 50% 
or greater) [Hydrofluoric acid]

7664-39-3 1,000 a, b

Hydrogen selenide 7783-07-5 500 b
Hydrogen sulfide 7783-06-4 10,000 a, b
Iron, pentacarbonyl- [Iron 
carbonyl (Fe(CO)5, (TB-5-
11)-]

13463-40-6 2,500 b

Isobutyronitrile 
[Propanenitrile, 2-methyl-]

78-82-0 20,000 b

Isopropyl chloroformate 
[Carbonochloridic acid, 
methylester]

108-23-6 15,000 b

Methacrylonitrile [2-
Propenenitrile, 2-methyl-]

126-98-7 10,000 b

Methyl chloride [Methane, 
chloro-]

74-87-3 10,000 a

Methyl chloroformate 
[Carbonochloridic acid, 
methylester]

79-22-1 5,000 b

Methyl hydrazine [Hydrazine, 
methyl-]

60-34-4 15,000 b

Methyl isocyanate [Methane, 
isocyanato-]

624-83-9 10,000 a, b

Methyl mercaptan 
[Methanethiol]

74-93-1 10,000 b

Methyl thiocyanate 
[Thiocyanic acid, methyl 
ester]

556-64-9 20,000 b

Methyltrichlorosilane [Silane, 
trichloromethyl-]

75-79-6 5,000 b

Nickel carbonyl 13463-39-3 1,000 b
Nitric acid (conc 80% or 
greater)

7697-37-2 15,000 b
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1   The mixture exemption in Sec. 5.115.2.1 does not apply to the
substance.

Note: Basis for Listing:
a Mandated for listing by EPA by Congress in

Section 112(r) of the 1990 Clean Air Act.
b Listed on the 40 CFR Part 302 EHS list dated July

1, 1997 and has a vapor pressure of 10 mmHg or greater.
c Toxic gas.
d Toxicity of hydrogen chloride, potential to release

hydrogen chloride, and history of accidents.
e Toxicity of sulfur trioxide and sulfuric acid,

potential to release sulfur trioxide, and history of accidents.

Table 2: List of Regulated Flammable Substances1 and 
Threshold Quantities for Accidental Release Prevention

Nitric oxide [Nitrogen oxide 
(NO)]

10102-43-9 10,000 b

Oleum (Fuming sulfuric acid) 
[Sulfuric acid, mixture with 
sulfur trioxide]

8014-95-7 10,000 e

Peracetic acid 
[Ethaneperoxoic acid]

79-21-0 10,000 b

Perchloromethylmercaptan 
[methanesulfenyl chloride, 
trichloro-]

594-42-3 10,000 b

Phosgene [Carbonic 
dichloride]

75-44-5 500 a, b

Phosphine 7803-51-2 5,000 b
Phosphorus oxychloride 
[Phosphoyl chloride]

10025-87-3 5,000 b

Phosphorus trichloride 
[Phosphorous trichloride]

7719-12-2 15,000 b

Piperdine 110-89-4 15,000 b
Propionitrile [Propanenitrile] 107-12-0 10,000 b
Propyl chlorofromate 
[Cabonochloridic acid, 
proplyester]

109-61-5 15,000 b

Propyleneimne [Aziridine, 2-
methyl-]

75-55-8 10,000 b

Propylene oxide [Oxirane, 
methyl-]

75-56-9 10,000 b

Sulfur Dioxide (anhydrous) 7446-09-5 5,000 a, b
Sulfur tetrafluoride [Sulfur 
fluoride (SF4), (T-4)-]

7783-60-0 2,500 b

Sulfur trioxide 7446-11-9 10,000 a, b
Tetramethyllead [Plumbane, 
tetramethyl-]

75-74-1 10,000 b

Tetranitromethane [Methane, 
tetranitro-]

509-14-8 10,000 b

Titanium tetrachloride 
[Titanium chloride (TiCl4), (T-
4)]

7550-45-0 2,500 b

Toluene 2,4-diisocyanate 
[Benzene, 2,4-diisocyanato-1-
methyl-]1

584-84-9 10,000 a

Toluene 2,6-diisocyanate 
[Benzene, 1,3-diisocyanato-2-
methyl-]1

91-08-7 10,000 a

Toluene diisocyanate 
(unspecified isomer) 
[Benzene, 1,3-
diisocyanatomethyl-]1

26471-62-5 10,000 a

Trimethylchlorosilane [Silane, 
chlorotrimethyl-]

75-77-4 10,000 b

Vinyl acetate monomer 
[Acetic acid ethenyl ester]

108-05-4 15,000 b

Chemical Name CAS # Threshol
d 

Quantity 
(lbs)

Basis 
for 

Listing

Acetaldehyde 75-07-0 10,000 g
Acetylene [Ethyne] 74-86-2 10,000 f
Bromotrifluorethylene 
[Ethene, bromotribluoro-]

598-73-2 10,000 f

1,3-Butadiene 106-99-0 10,000 f
Butane 106-97-8 10,000 f
1-Butene 106-98-9 10,000 f
2-Butene 107-01-7 10,000 f
Butene 25167-67-3 10,000 f
2-Butene-cis 590-18-1 10,000 f
2-Butene-trans [2-Butene, 
(E)]

624-64-6 10,000 f

Carbon oxysulfide [Carbon 
oxide sulfide (COS)]

463-58-1 10,000 f

Chlorine monoxide 
[Chlorine oxide]

7791-21-1 10,000 f

2-Chloropropylene [1-
Propene, 2-chloro-]

557-98-2 10,000 g

1-Chloropropylene [1-
Propene, 1-chloro-]

590-21-6 10,000 g

Cyanogen [Ethanedinitrile] 460-19-5 10,000 f
Cyclopropane 75-19-4 10,000 f
Dichlorosilane [Silane, 
dichloro-]

4109-96-0 10,000 f

Difluoroethane [Ethane, 
1,1-difluoro-]

75-37-6 10,000 f

Dimethylamine 
[Methanamine, N-methyl-]

124-40-3 10,000 f
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1 A flammable substance when used as a fuel or held as a
fuel at a retail facility is excluded from all provisions of
section 5 (See 5.126).
Note: Basis for Listing:

a Mandated for listing by EPA by Congress in
Section 112(r) of the 1990 Clean Air Act.

f Flammable gas.
g Volatile flammable liquid.

Table 3: List of Toxic Endpoints 

CAS No. Chemical Name      Toxic 
   Endpoint(mg/L)

107-02-8 Acrolein [2-Propenal]       0.0011
107-13-1 Acrylonitrile [2-Propenenitrile]  0.076
814-68-6    Acrylyl chloride 

[2-Propenoyl chloride]      0.00090
107-18-6 Allyl alcohol [2-Propen-1-ol]  0.036
107-11-9 Allylamine [2-Propen-1-amine]     0.0032
7664-41-7 Ammonia (anhydrous)   0.14
7664-41-7 Ammonia (conc 20% or greater)   0.14
7784-34-1 Arsenous trichloride  0.010
7784-42-1 Arsine       0.0019
10294-34-5 Boron trichloride 

[Borane, trichloro-]     0.010
7637-07-2 Boron trifluoride 

[Borane, trifluoro-]    0.028
353-42-4  Boron trifluoride compound with methyl

ether (1:1)
[Boron,trifluoro[oxybis

2,2-Dimethylpropane 
[Propane, 2,2-dimethyl-]

463-82-1 10,000 f

Ethane 74-84-0 10,000 f
Ethyl acetylene [1-Butyne] 107-00-6 10,000 f
Ethylamine [Ethanamine] 75-04-7 10,000 f
Ethyl chloride [Ethane, 
chloro-]

75-00-3 10,000 f

Ethylene [Ethene] 74-85-1 10,000 f
Ethyl ether [Ethane, 
1,1oxybis-]

60-29-7 10,000 g

Ethyl mercaptan 
[Ethanethiol]

75-08-1 10,000 g

Ethyl nitrite [Nitrous acid, 
ethyl ester]

109-95-5 10,000 f

Hydrogen 1333-74-0 10,000 f
Isobutane [Propane, 2-
methyl]

75-28-5 10,000 f

Isopentane [Butane, 2-
methyl]

78-78-4 10,000 g

Isoprene [1,3-Butadinene, 
2-methyl-]

78-79-5 10,000 g

Isopropylamine [2-
Propanamine]

75-31-0 10,000 g

Isopropyl chloride 
[Propane, 2-chloro-]

75-29-6 10,000 g

Methane 74-82-8 10,000 f
Methylamine 
[Methanamine]

74-89-5 10,000 f

3-Methyl-1-butene 563-45-1 10,000 f
2-Methyl-1-butene 563-46-2 10,000 g
Methyl ether [Methane, 
oxybis-]

115-10-6 10,000 f

Methyl formate [Formic 
acid, methyl ester]

107-31-3 10,000 g

2 Methylpropene [1-
Propene, 2-methyl-]

115-11-7 10,000 f

1,3-Pentadinene 504-60-9 10,000 f
Pentane 109-66-0 10,000 g
1-Pentene 109-67-1 10,000 g
2-Pentene, (E)- 646-04-8 10,000 g
2-Pentene, (Z)- 627-20-3 10,000 g
Propadiene [1,2-
Propadiene]

463-49-0 10,000 f

Propane 74-98-6 10,000 f
Propylene [1-Propene] 115-07-1 10,000 f
Propyne [1-Propyne] 74-99-7 10,000 f
Silane 7803-62-5 10,000 f
Tetrafluoroethylene 
[Ethene, tetrafluoro-]

116-14-3 10,000 f

Tetramethylsilane [Silane, 
tetramethyl-]

75-76-3 10,000 g

Trichlorosilane [Silane, 
trichloro-]

10025-78-2 10,000 g

Trifluorochloroethylene 
[Ethene, chlorotrifluoro-]

79-38-9 10,000 f

Trimethylamine 
[Methylamine, N,N-
dimethyl-]

75-50-3 10,000 f

Vinyl acetylene [1-Buten-
3-yne]

689-97-4 10,000 f

Vinyl chloride [Ethene, 
chloro-]

75-01-4 10,000 a, f

Vinyl ethyl ether [Ethene, 
ethoxy-]

109-92-2 10,000 g

Vinyl fluoride [Ethene, 
fluoro-]

75-02-5 10,000 f

Vinylidene chloride 
[Ethene, 1,1-dichloro-]

75-35-4 10,000 g

Vinylidene fluoride 
[Ethene, 1,1-difluoro-]

75-38-7 10,000 f

Vinyl methyl ether 
[Ethene, methoxy-]

107-25-5 10,000 f
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[methane]-,T-4   0.023
7726-95-6 Bromine      0.0065
75-15-0 Carbon disulfide      0.16
7782-50-5 Chlorine     0.0087
10049-04-4 Chlorine dioxide 

[Chlorine oxide (ClO2)]      0.0028
67-66-3 Chloroform [Methane, trichloro-]   0.49
542-88-1 Chloromethyl ether

[Methane, oxybis[chloro-]    0.00025
107-30-2 Chloromethyl methyl ether 

[Methane, chloromethoxy-]       0.0018
4170-30-3 Crotonaldehyde [2-Butenal] 0.029
123-73-9 Crotonaldehyde, (E)-, 

[2-Butenal, (E)-]  0.029
506-77-4 Cyanogen chloride 0.030
108-91-8 Cyclohexylamine

[Cyclohexanamine]       0.16
19287-45-7 Diborane      0.0011
75-78-5 Dimethyldichlorosilane 

[Silane, dichlorodimethyl-] 0.026
57-14-7 1,1-Dimethylhydrazine

[Hydrazine, 1,1-dimethyl-] 0.012
106-89-8 Epichlorohydrin 

[Oxirane, (chloromethyl)-] 0.076
107-15-3 Ethylenediamine

[1,2-Ethanediamine]     0.49
151-56-4 Ethyleneimine [Aziridine]  0.018
75-21-8 Ethylene oxide [Oxirane] 0.090
7782-41-4 Fluorine           0.0039
50-00-0 Formaldehyde (solution) 0.012
110-00-9 Furan            0.0012
302-01-2 Hydrazine 0.011
7647-01-0 Hydrochloric acid 

(conc 37% or greater) 0.030
74-90-8 Hydrocyanic acid 0.011
7647-01-0 Hydrogen chloride

(anhydrous) [Hydrochloric acid]      0.030
7664-39-3 Hydrogen fluoride/Hydrofluoric

acid (conc 50% or greater)  
[Hydrofluoric acid] 0.016

7783-07-5 Hydrogen selenide        0.00066
7783-06-4 Hydrogen sulfide 0.042
13463-40-6 Iron, pentacarbonyl-

[Iron carbonyl (Fe(CO)5),
(TB-5-11)-]        0.00044

78-82-0 Isobutyronitrile
[Propanenitrile, 2-methyl-]         0.14

108-23-6 Isopropyl chloroformate
[Carbonochloride acid,
1-methylethyl ester]     0.10

126-98-7 Methacrylonitrile

[2-Propenenitrile, 2-methyl-]         0.0027
74-87-3 Methyl chloride

[Methane, chloro-]    0.82
79-22-1 Methyl chloroformate

[Carbonochloridic acid,
methyl ester]            0.0019

60-34-4 Methyl hydrazine
[Hydrazine, methyl-]            0.0094

624-83-9 Methyl isocyanate
[Methane, isocyanato-]             0.0012

74-93-1 Methyl mercaptan
[Methanethiol] 0.049

556-64-9 Methyl thiocyanate
[Thiocyanic acid, methyl ester] 0.085

75-79-6 Methyltrichlorosilane
[Silane, trichloromethyl-] 0.018

13463-39-3 Nickel carbonyl      0.00067
7697-37-2 Nitric acid

(conc 80% or greater) 0.026
10102-43-9 Nitric oxide [Nitrogen oxide (NO)]  0.031
8014-95-7 Oleum (Fuming Sulfuric acid)

[Sulfuric acid, mixture with
sulfur trioxide] 0.010

79-21-0 Peracetic acid
[Ethaneperoxoic acid]      0.0045

594-42-3 Perchloromethylmercaptan
[Methanesulfenyl chloride,
trichloro-]      0.0076

75-44-5 Phosgene [Carbonic dichloride]   0.00081
7803-51-2 Phosphine      0.0035
10025-87-3 Phosphorus oxychloride

[Phosphoryl chloride]      0.0030
7719-12-2 Phosphorus trichloride

[Phosphorous trichloride] 0.028
110-89-4 Piperidine        0.022
107-12-0 Propionitrile [Propanenitrile]         0.0037
109-61-5 Propyl chloroformate

[Carbonochloridic acid, propylester]0.010
75-55-8 Propyleneimine 

[Aziridine, 2-methyl-]            0.12
75-56-9 Propylene oxide

[Oxirane, methyl-]   0.59
7446-09-5 Sulfur dioxide (anhydrous)      0.0078
7783-60-0 Sulfur tetrafluoride

[Sulfur fluoride (SF4), (T-4)- ]      0.0092
7446-11-9 Sulfur trioxide 0.010
75-74-1 Tetramethyllead

[Plumbane, tetramethyl-]        0.0040
509-14-8 Tetranitromethane

[Methane, tetranitro-]      0.0040
7750-45-0 Titanium tetrachloride
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 5, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 719
[Titanium chloride (TiCl4), (T-4-]   0.020
584-84-9 Toluene 2,4-diisocyanate

[Benzene, 2,4-diisocyanato
-1-methyl-]      0.0070

91-08-7 Toluene 2,6-diisocyanate
[Benzene, 1,3-diisocyanato
-2-methyl-]      0.0070

26471-62-5 Toluene diisocyanate 
(unspecified isomer)

                            [Benzene, 1,3-diisocyanatomethyl-]0.0070
75-77-4 Trimethylchlorosilane

[Silane, chlorotrimethyl-] 0.050
108-05-4 Vinyl acetate monomer

[Acetic acid ethenyl ester]   0.26

Subpart G - Risk Management Plan
5.131 through 5.149 Reserved
5.150 Submission   Note: The data elements of the

Plan are required to be submitted to the EPA.  The data
elements of the plan are based upon 40 CFR 68.150 through
68.190 dated July 1, 1997 revised as of April 9, 2004
reprinted here under Sections 5.150 through 5.190. It is the
responsibility of the owner or operator to meet the existing
EPA risk management plan data submittal requirements at
the time of submission.

5.150.1 The owner or operator shall submit a
single RMP that includes the information required by
sections 5.155 through 5.185 for all covered processes. The
RMP shall be submitted in a method and format to a central
point as specified by EPA prior to June 21, 1999 as of the
date of submission.

5.150.2 The owner or operator shall submit
the first RMP no later than the latest of the following dates:

5.150.2.1 June 21, 1999;
5.150.2.2 Three years after the date on

which a regulated substance is first listed by EPA pursuant to
5.130; or

5.150.2.3 The date on which a regulated
substance is first present above a threshold quantity in a
process.

5.150.3 The owner or operator of any
stationary source for which  an RMP was submitted before
June 21, 2004, shall revise the RMP to include the
information required by 5.160.2.6 and 5.160.2.14 by June
21, 2004 in the manner specified by EPA prior to that date.
Any such submission shall also include the information
required by 5.160.2.20 (indicating that the submission is a
correction to include the information required by 5.160.2.6
and 5.160.2.14 or an update under 5.190).

5.150.4 Subsequent submissions of RMP’s
shall be in accordance with 5.190.  RMPs submitted under

this section shall be updated and corrected in accordance
with 5.190 and 5.195.

5.150.5 Notwithstanding the provisions of
5.155 to 5.190, the RMP shall exclude classified
information. Subject to appropriate procedures to protect
such information from public disclosure, classified data or
information excluded from the RMP may be made available
in a classified annex to the RMP for review by Federal and
state representatives who have received the appropriate
security clearances.

5.150.6 Procedures for asserting that
information submitted in the RMP is entitled to protection as
confidential business information are set forth in 5.151 and
5.152.

5.151 Assertion of claims of confidential business
information.

5.151.1 Except as provided in paragraph
5.141.2 of this section, an owner or operator of a stationary
source required to report or otherwise provide information
under this part may make a claim of confidential business
information for any such information that meets the criteria
set forth in 40 CFR 2.301.

5.151.2 Notwithstanding the provisions of 40
CFR part 2, an owner or operator of a stationary source
subject to this part may not claim as confidential business
information the following information:

5.151.2.1 Registration data required by Sec.
5.160.2.1 through 6, 8, and 5.160.2.1.10 through 13 and
NAICS code and Program level of the process set forth in
Sec. 5.160.2.7;

5.151.2.2 Offsite consequence analysis data
required by Sec. 5.165.2.4, 9, 10, 11, and 12.

5.151.2.3 Accident history data required by
Sec. 5.168;

5.151.2.4 Prevention program data required
by Sec.5.170.2, 5.170.4, 5.170.5.1, and 5.170.6 through
5.170.11;

5.151.2.5 Prevention program data required
by Sec. 5.175.2, 5.175.4, 5.175.5.1, 5.175.6 through
5.175.16; and

5.151.2.6 Emergency response program
data required by Sec. 5.180.

5.151.3 Notwithstanding the procedures
specified in 40 CFR part 2, an owner or operator asserting a
claim of CBI with respect to information contained in its
RMP, shall submit to EPA at the time it submits the RMP the
following:

5.151.3.1 The information claimed
confidential, provided in a format to be specified by EPA;

5.151.3.2 A sanitized (redacted) copy of the
RMP, with the notation “CBI” substituted for the
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information claimed confidential, except that a generic
category or class name shall be substituted for any chemical
name or identity claimed confidential; and

5.151.3.3 The document or documents
substantiating each claim of  confidential business
information, as described in Section 5.152.

5.152 Substantiating claims of confidential business
information

5.152.1 An owner or operator claiming that
information is confidential business information must
substantiate that claim by providing documentation that
demonstrates that the claim meets the substantive
criteria set forth in 40 CFR 2.301.

5.152.2 Information that is submitted as part of the
substantiation may be claimed confidential by marking it as
confidential business information. Information not so
marked will be treated as public and may be disclosed
without notice to the submitter. If information that is
submitted as part of the substantiation is claimed
confidential, the owner or operator must provide a sanitized
and unsanitized version of the substantiation.

5.152.3 The owner, operator, or senior official with
management responsibility of the stationary source shall sign
a certification that the signer has personally examined the
information submitted and that based on inquiry of the
persons who compiled the information, the information is
true, accurate, and complete, and that those portions of the
substantiation claimed as confidential business information
would, if disclosed, reveal trade secrets or other confidential
business information.

5.153 and 5.154 Reserved
5.155 Executive Summary. The owner or operator

shall provide in the RMP an executive summary that
includes a brief description of the following elements: 

5.155.1 The accidental release prevention and
emergency response policies at the stationary source;

5.155.2 The stationary source and regulated
substances handled;

(c) The worst-case release scenario(s) and
the alternative release scenario(s), including administrative
controls and  mitigation measures to limit the distances for
each reported scenario;

5.155.3 The general accidental release
prevention program and chemical-specific prevention steps;

5.155.4 The five-year accident history;
5.155.5 The emergency response program;

and
5.155.6 Planned changes to improve safety.

5.156 though 5.159 Reserved
5.160 Registration  

5.160.1 The owner or operator shall complete
a single registration form and include it in the RMP. The
form shall cover all regulated substances handled in covered
processes.

5.160.2 The registration shall include the
following data:

5.160.2.1 Stationary source name, street,
city, county, state, zip code, latitude, and longitude, method
for obtaining latitude and longitude, and description of
location that latitude and longitude represent; 

5.160.2.2 The stationary source Dun and
Bradstreet number;

5.160.2.3 Name and Dun and Bradstreet
number of the corporate parent company;

5.160.2.4 The name, telephone number, and
mailing address of the owner or operator;

5.160.2.5 The name and title of the person
or position with overall responsibility for RMP elements and
implementation, and (optional) e-mail address for that
person or position;

5.160.2.6 The name, title, telephone
number, and 24-hour telephone number and as of June 21,
2004, the e-mail address (if any e-mail address exists) of the
emergency contact;

5.160.2.7 For each covered process, the
name and CAS number of each regulated substance held
above the threshold quantity in the process, the maximum
quantity of each regulated substance or mixture in the
process (in pounds) to two significant digits, the five- or six-
digit NAICS code that most closely corresponds to the
process, and the Program level of the process;

5.160.2.8 The stationary source EPA
identifier; 

5.160.2.9 The number of full-time
employees at the stationary source;

5.160.2.10 Whether the stationary source is
subject to 29 CFR 1910.119 dated July 1, 1997;

5.160.2.11 Whether the stationary source is
subject to 40 CFR part 355 dated July 1, 1997;

5.160.2.12 Whether  If the stationary source
has a CAA Title V operating permit, the permit number; and

5.160.2.13 The date of the last safety
inspection of the stationary source by a Federal, state, or
local government agency and the identity of the inspecting
entity.

5.160.2.14 As of June 21, 2004, the name,
the mailing address, and the telephone number of the
contractor who prepared the RMP (if any);

5.160.2.15 Source of Parent Company E-
mail Address (Optional);
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5.160.2.16 Source Homepage address
(Optional);

5.160.2.17 Phone number at the source for
public inquiries (Optional);

5.160.2.18 Local Emergency Planning
Committee (Optional);

5.160.2.19 OSHA Voluntary Protection
Program status (Optional).

5.160.2.20 As of June 21, 2004, the type of
and reason for any changes being made to a previously
submitted RMP; the types of changes to RMP are
categorized as follows:

5.160.2.20.1 Updates and re-
submissions required under 5.190.2;

5.160.2.20.2 Corrections under 5.195
or for purposes of correcting minor clerical errors, updating
administrative information, providing missing data elements
or reflecting facility ownership changes, and which do not
require an update and re-submission as specified in 5.190.2;

5.160.2.20.3 De-registrations
required under 5.190.3; and

5.160.2.20.4 Withdrawals of an RMP for
any facility that was erroneously considered subject to this
Section 5 of this Regulation.

5.161 through 5.164 Reserved
5.165 Off-site Consequence Analysis 

5.165.1 The owner or operator shall submit in
the RMP information:

5.165.1.1 One worst-case release scenario
for each Program 1 process; and

5.165.1.2 For Program 2 and 3 processes,
one worst-case release scenario to represent all regulated
toxic substances held above the threshold quantity and one
worst-case release scenario to represent all regulated
flammable substances held above the threshold quantity. If
additional worst-case scenarios for toxics or flammables are
required by Section 5.25.1.2.3, the owner or operator shall
submit the same information on the additional scenario(s).
The owner or operator of Program 2 and 3 processes shall
also submit information on one alternative release scenario
for each regulated toxic substance held above the threshold
quantity and one alternative release scenario to represent all
regulated flammable substances held above the threshold
quantity.

5.165.2 The owner or operator shall submit the
following data: 

5.165.2.1 Chemical name;
5.165.2.2 Percentage weight of the

chemical in a liquid mixture (toxics only);
5.165.2.3 Physical state (toxics only);

5.165.2.4 Basis of results (give model name
if used);

5.165.2.5 Scenario (explosion, fire, toxic
gas release, or liquid spill and vaporization);

5.165.2.6 Quantity released in pounds;
5.165.2.7 Release rate;
5.165.2.8 Release duration;
5.165.2.9 Wind speed and atmospheric

stability class (toxics only);
5.165.2.10 Topography (toxics only);
5.165.2.11 Distance to endpoint;
5.165.2.12 Public and environmental

receptors within the distance;
5.165.2.13 Passive mitigation considered;

and
5.165.2.14 Active mitigation considered

(alternative releases only);
5.166 and 5.167 Reserved
5.168 Five-year Accident History. The owner or

operator shall submit in the RMP the information provided
in Section 5.42.2 on each accident covered by Section
5.42.1.

5.169 Reserved
5.170 Prevention Program/Program 2 

5.170.1 For each Program 2 process, the owner or
operator shall provide in the RMP the information indicated
in paragraphs 5.170.2 through 5.170.11 of this section. If the
same information applies to more than one covered process,
the owner or operator may provide the information only
once, but shall indicate to which processes the information
applies.

5.170.2 The five- or six digit NAICS code that
most closely corresponds to the process.

5.170.3 The name(s) of the chemical(s) covered.
5.170.4 The date of the most recent review or

revision of the safety information and a list of Federal or
state regulations or industry-specific design codes and
standards used to demonstrate compliance with the safety
information requirement.

5.170.5 The date of completion of the most recent
hazard review or update.

5.170.5.1 The expected date of completion
of any changes resulting from the hazard review; 

5.170.5.2 Major hazards identified;
5.170.5.3 Process controls in use;
5.170.5.4 Mitigation systems in use;
5.170.5.5 Monitoring and detection

systems in use; and
5.170.5.6 Changes since the last hazard

review.
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5.170.6 The date of the most recent review or
revision of operating procedures.

5.170.7 The date of the most recent review or
revision of training programs;

5.170.7.1 The type of training provided-
classroom, classroom plus on the job, on the job; and

5.170.7.2 The type of competency testing
used.

5.170.8 The date of the most recent review or
revision of maintenance procedures and the date of the most
recent equipment inspection or test and the equipment
inspected or tested.

5.170.9 The date of the most recent compliance
audit and the expected date of completion of any changes
resulting from the compliance audit. 

5.170.10 The date of the most recent incident
investigation and the expected date of completion of any
changes resulting from the investigation.

5.170.11 The date of the most recent change
that triggered a review or revision of safety information, the
hazard review, operating or maintenance procedures, or
training.

5.171 through 5.17 Reserved
5.175 Prevention Program/Program 3  

5.175.1 For each Program 3 process, the owner or
operator shall provide the information indicated in
paragraphs 5.175.2 through 5.175.16 of this section. If the
same information applies to more than one covered process,
the owner or operator may provide the information only
once, but shall indicate to which processes the information
applies.

5.175.2 The five- or six-digit NAICS  code that
most closely corresponds to the process.

5.175.3 The name(s) of the substance(s) covered.
5.175.4 The date on which the safety information

was last reviewed or revised.
5.175.5 The date of completion of the most recent

PHA or update and the technique used.
5.175.5.1 The expected date of completion

of any changes resulting from the PHA; 
5.175.5.2 Major hazards identified;
5.175.5.3 Process controls in use;
5.175.5.4 Mitigation systems in use;
5.175.5.5 Monitoring and detection

systems in use; and
5.175.5.6 Changes since the last PHA.

5.175.6 The date of the most recent review or
revision of operating procedures.

5.175.7 The date of the most recent review or
revision of training programs;

5.175.7.1 The type of training provided -
classroom, classroom plus on the job, on the job; and 

5.175.7.2 The type of competency testing
used.

5.175.8 The date of the most recent review or
revision of maintenance procedures and the date of the most
recent equipment inspection or test and the equipment
inspected or tested.

5.175.9 The date of the most recent change that
triggered management of change procedures and the date of
the most recent review or revision of management of change
procedures.

5.175.10 The date of the most recent pre-
startup review.

5.175.11 The date of the most recent
compliance audit and the expected date of completion of any
changes resulting from the compliance audit; 

5.175.12 The date of the most recent incident
investigation and the expected date of completion of any
changes resulting from the investigation;

5.175.13 The date of the most recent review or
revision of employee participation plans;

5.175.14 The date of the most recent review or
revision of hot work permit procedures;

5.175.15 The date of the most recent review or
revision of contractor safety procedures; and 

5.175.16 The date of the most recent evaluation
of contractor safety performance.

5.176 through 5.179 Reserved
5.180 Emergency Response Program  

5.180.1 The owner or operator shall provide in the
RMP the following information:

5.180.1.1 Do you have a written emergency
response plan?

5.180.1.2 Does the plan include specific
actions to be taken in response to an accidental releases of a
regulated  substance?

5.180.1.3 Does the plan include procedures
for informing the public and local agencies responsible for
responding to accidental releases?

5.180.1.4 Does the plan include
information on emergency health care?

5.180.1.5 The date of the most recent
review or update of the emergency response plan;

5.180.1.6 The date of the most recent
emergency response training for employees.

5.180.2 The owner or operator shall provide the
name and telephone number of the local agency with which
emergency response activities and the emergency response
plan is coordinated.
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5.180.3 The owner or operator shall list other
Federal or state emergency plan requirements to which the
stationary source is subject.

5.181 through 5.184 Reserved
5.185Certification  

5.185.1 For Program 1 processes, the owner or
operator shall submit in the RMP the certification statement
provided in Section 5.12.2.4.

5.185.2 For all other covered processes, the owner
or operator shall submit in the RMP a single certification
that, to the best of the signer's knowledge, information, and
belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the information
submitted is true, accurate, and complete.

5.186 through 5.189 Reserved
5.190 Updates

5.190.1 The owner or operator shall review and
update the RMP submitted under 40 CFR 68.150 dated July
1, 1997  (Section 5.150) as specified in paragraph 5.190(b)
this section and submit it in a the method and format to a
central point specified by EPA prior to June 21, 1999 as of
the date of submission. 

5.190.2 The owner or operator of a stationary
source shall revise and update the RMP submitted under
5.150 as follows:

5.190.2.1 Within five years of its  At least
once every five years from the date of its initial submission
or most recent update required by paragraphs 5.190.2.2
through 5.190.2.7 of this section, whichever is later; For
purposes of determining the date of initial submissions,
RMP’s submitted before June 21, 1999 are considered to
have been submitted on that date.

5.190.2.2 No later than three years after a
newly regulated substance is first listed by EPA;

5.190.2.3 No later than the date on which a
new regulated substance is first present in an already covered
process above a threshold quantity;

5.190.2.4 No later than the date on which a
regulated substance is first present above a threshold
quantity in a new process;

5.190.2.5 Within six months of a change
that requires a revised PHA or hazard review;

5.190.2.6 Within six months of a change
that requires a revised off-site consequence analysis as
provided in 5.36; and 

5.190.2.7 Within six months of a change
that alters the Program level that applied to any covered
process.

5.190.3 If a stationary source is no longer subject
to this part, the owner or operator shall submit a revised de-
registration to EPA within six months indicating that the
stationary source is no longer covered.

5.191 through 5.194 Reserved
5.195 Required corrections. The owner or operator of

a stationary source for which a RMP was submitted shall
correct the RMP as follows:

5.195.1 New accident history information--For
any accidental release meeting the five-year accident history
reporting criteria of 5.42 and occurring after April 9, 2004,
the owner or operator shall submit the data required under
5.168, 5.170.10, and 5.175.12 with respect to that accident
within six months of the release or by the time the RMP is
updated under 5.190, whichever is earlier.

5.195.2 Emergency contact information--Beginning
June 21, 2004, within one month of any change in the
emergency contact information required under 5.160.2.6, the
owner or operator shall submit a correction of that
information.

Subpart H-Other Requirements
5.196 through 5.199 Reserved
5.200 Record Keeping. The owner or operator shall

maintain records supporting the implementation of this
regulation for five years unless otherwise provided in
subpart D.

5.201 through 5.209 Reserved
5.210 Availability of Information to the Public

5.210.1 The data elements of the plan  based
upon 40 CFR 68.150 through 68.190 dated July 1, 1997
reprinted  under Sections 5.150 through 5.190 of  subpart G
of this  regulation shall be available to the public under 42
U.S.C. 7414(c).

5.210.2 The disclosure of classified information by
the Department of Defense or other Federal agencies or
contractors of such agencies shall be controlled by
applicable laws, regulations, or executive orders concerning
the release of classified information.

5.211 through 5.214 Reserved
5.215 Permit Content and Designated Agency

Requirements
5.215.1 Requirements of this regulation apply to

any stationary source subject to Section 5.130 and State of
Delaware “Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution”, Regulation No. 30. The Regulation No. 30 permit
for the stationary source shall contain:

5.215.1.1 A statement listing this part as an
applicable requirement;

5.215.1.2 Conditions that require the source
owner or operator to submit:

5.215.1.2.1 A compliance schedule for
meeting the requirements of this regulation by the date
provided in Section 5.10.1 or; 
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5.215.2.2 As part of the
compliance certification submitted under Regulation 30
Section 6(c)(5), a certification statement that the source is in
compliance with all requirements of this regulation,
including the registration and submission of the RMP.

5.215.2 The owner or operator shall submit any
additional relevant information requested by the
Department.

5.215.3 The Department shall, at a minimum:
5.215.3.1 Verify that the source owner or

operator has registered and submitted an RMP or a revised
plan when required by this part; 

5.215.3.2 Verify that the source owner or
operator has submitted a source certification or in its absence
has submitted a compliance schedule consistent with
5.215.1.2 of this section;

5.215.3.3 For all of the sources subject to
this section, use one or more mechanisms such as, but not
limited to, a completeness check, source audits, record
reviews, or stationary source inspections to ensure that
permitted sources are in compliance with the requirements of
this part; and

5.215.3.4 Initiate enforcement action based
on 5.215.3.1 and 5.215.3.2 of this section as appropriate.

6.0  Additional Delaware Accidental Release Prevention
Provisions  This section is not federally enforceable.

6.1 Applicability 
6.1.1 Processes at the stationary source with

regulated substances present in more than the threshold
quantity as defined by Section 5.130 Table 1 or 2 of this
regulation are not subject to Sections 6.1.2, 6.5 or 6.6.

6.1.2 Processes with the regulated substance
having any potential release quantity equal to or greater than
the sufficient quantities as defined in either Section 6.2 Table
4, Section 6.3 Table 5 or Section 6.4 Table 6 and not subject
to Section 5.130 [see 6.1.1], shall:

6.1.2.1 Implement the Risk Management
Programs described in Section 5 for appropriate program
level;

6.1.2.2 Perform a hazard assessment for the
Delaware worst-case as required in 6.5; 

6.1.2.3 Submit a Risk Management Plan to
the Department that complies with 6.6;

6.1.2.4 Implement Section 5 Subpart E
Emergency Response;

6.1.2.5 Implement Section 5.200 Record
Keeping; and

6.1.2.6 Implement Section 5.15 Management.

6.1.3 Processes in which ammonia is used as an
agricultural nutrient, when held by farmers, is exempt from
all provisions of this regulation.

6.2 Additional Delaware Regulated Toxic Substances.
Table 4 lists the extremely toxic substances and the sufficient
quantities at a distance of 100 meters in pounds per hour that
are regulated by the State of Delaware only.

6.2.1 Regulated Delaware Toxic Substances
and their Sufficient Quantities in pounds per hour at 100
meters.

Note: T=EPA listed toxic   F= EPA listed flammable

Table 4: Regulated Delaware Toxic Substances and 
Sufficient Quantities

Chemical Name CAS #

Sufficient
Quantity (lbs/
hr)

EPA
Listed

Acrolein 107-02-8 150 T
Acrylyl chloride 814-68-6 200 T
Allylamine        107-11-9 1500 T
Arsine 7784-42-1 70 100 T
Bis (chloromethyl
ether) 542-88-1  70 50 T
Boron trichloride 10294-34-5  2100 T
Boron trifluoride 7637-07-2 250  2000 T
Bromine
pentafluoride 7789-38-2  1600
Bromine 7726-95-6  700 T
Bromine chloride 13863-41-7  1000
Carbon disulfide
(Liquid) 75-15-0 3500
Carbonyl fluoride 353-58-4  2100
Chlorine 7782-50-5 1300 T
Chlorine dioxide 10049-04-4 600 200 T
Chlorine
pentafluoride 13637-63-3 700
Chlorine trifluoride 7790-91-2  1700
Chloromethyl methyl
ether 107-30-2 400 700 T
Chloropicrin 76-06-2 450 200 
Cyanogen 460-19-5  1600 F
Cyanogen chloride 506-77-4 300 T
Cyanuric fluoride 675-14-9 40 
Diazomethane 334-88-3 400
Diborane 19287-45-7 80 T
Dichloroacetylene 7572-29-4 200
Dichlorosilane 4189-96-8  2500 F
Ethylene
fluorohydrin 371-62-8 20
Ethyleneinine 151-56-4 1000 T
Ethylene oxide 75-21-8 3500 T
Fluorine 7782-41-4 600 T
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6.2.2 Calculation of Sufficient Quantity for
Toxic Mixtures .

6.2.2.1 To determine whether a mixture
containing an regulated substance is to be regulated, the
owner or operator shall calculate the substance hazard index
(SHI) as follows:

SHImixture = SHIpure regulated substance X Mole fraction of
regulated substance in mixture 

As an alternative, the owner or operator may calculate
the SHI of the mixture using equilibrium vapor pressure for
the pure regulated substance above the mixture at 20×C.

6.2.2.2 If the SHI calculated for the mixture is
$8000 then the mixture shall be subject to the provision of
this regulation.

6.2.2.3 The sufficient quantity for the mixture
shall be calculated as follows:

6.2.3 Calculation of Potential Release Quantity
(PRQ). Owners or operators with a regulated toxic substance
present in a process that is equal to or greater than the
sufficient quantity shall calculate the maximum PRQ in
accordance with the provisions of paragraph 6.5.2.8.

6.2.4 Applicability. If any potential release
quantity equals or exceeds the sufficient quantity, then the
owner or operator shall develop and implement a risk
management program in accordance with Section 6.1.2.

6.3 Additional Delaware Regulated Flammable and
Combustible Substances

Formaldehyde 50-00-0 700 T
Furan 110-00-9 300 T
Hexafluoroacetone 684-16-2  7500
Hexafluoroacetone 648-16-2 6000
Hydrogen bromide 10035-10-6  3700
Hydrogen chloride
(anhydrous) 7647-01-0  3300 5000 T
Hydrogen cyanide 74-90-8  600 T
Hydrogen fluoride 7664-39-3 900 T
Hydrogen selenide 7783-07-5 150 T
Hydrogen sulfide 7783-06-4  3100 T
Iron pentacarbonyl 13463-40-6 200 T
Isopropyl formate 625-55-8  300
Isopropylamine 75-35-1  4000
Ketene 463-51-4 70
Methacryloyl
chloride 920-46-7 150 
Methacryloyloxethyl
isocyanate 30674-00-7 60
Methane sulfenyl
choride trichloro- 594-42-3 200
Methyl acrylonitrile 126-98-7  200 T
Methyl bromide 74-83-9  17000
Methyl
chloroformate 75-22-1  400 T
Methyl disulfide 624-92-0 25 
Methyl fluoroacetate 453-18-9 60
Methyl fluorosulfate 421-20-5  50
Methyl hydrazine 60-34-4 90 T
Methyl isocyanate 624-83-9  260 80 T
Methyl mercaptan 74-93-1  4300 T
Methyl vinyl ketone 78-94-4 15
Methyltrichlorosilan
e 75-79-6  2000 T
Nickel carbonyl 13463-39-3 150
Nitric acid (94.5
wt% or greater) 7697-37-2 300
Nitric oxide 10102-43-9 200 as NO2
Nitrogen oxides 10102-44-0 200 as NO2
Oleum (65 wt% or
greater) 8014-95-7 700 as SO3
Osmium tetroxide 20816-12-0  20
Oxygen difluoride 7783-41-7  10
Ozone 10028-15-6 20
Pentaborane 19624-22-7 20
Perchloromethyl
mercaptan  594-42-3 150 T
Perchloryl fluoride 7616-94-6  3600
Phosgene 75-44-5 90 T
Phosphine 7803-51-2  30 150 T
Phosphorous
trichloride 7719-12-2 600 1900 T
Propargyl bromide 106-96-7  10
Sarin 107-44-8 15

Selenium
hexafluoride 7783-79-1 900
Stibine 7803-52-3 350 170
Sulfur dioxide
(liquid) 7446-09-5 900 T
Sulfur pentafluoride 5714-22-7 250
Sulfur tetrafluoride 7783-60-0 200 T
Sulfur trioxide 7446-11-9 700 T
Tellurium
hexafluoride 7783-80-4  200
Tetrafluorohydrazine 10086-47-2  4700
Thionyl chloride 7719-09-7 200 1100
Trichloro
(chloromethyl) silane1558-25-4 70
Trichloro
(dichlorophenyl)
silane 27137-85-5  1800
Trichlorosilane 10025-78-2  3300 F
Trimethoxysilane 2487-98-3  600
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6.3.1 Flammable and Combustible liquids. The
following flammable and combustible liquids and gases that
are handled, used, produced, or stored equal to or greater
than their sufficient quantities shall be regulated.

6.3.1.1 All flammable gases (a regulated
flammable substance that exists as a gas at standard pressure
and temperature).

6.3.1.2 Flammable and combustible liquids
that are held at or above their atmospheric boiling point
(benzene, gasoline and hexane have been included in Table 5
as examples of these higher boiling combustible substances
which can be regulated if enough is present to form a vapor
cloud greater than the sufficient quantity); and

6.3.1.3 Flammable and combustible liquids
which are held below ambient temperatures through
refrigeration, but whose vapor pressure at 86×F is greater
than one atmosphere.

6.3.2 Flammable and combustible liquid
exemption. Flammable and combustible liquids handled,
used, produced or stored in atmospheric tanks below their
atmospheric boiling point without the benefit of chilling or
refrigeration are not regulated herein.

6.3.3 Partial list of flammable and combustible
liquids. Table 5 lists some of the most common flammable
and combustible substances and their sufficient quantity
release rates at a distance of 100 meters in pounds per
minute.

Table 5: Partial List of Delaware Regulated Flammable
Substances

6.3.4 Calculation of the sufficient quantity. The
sufficient quantity release rate for all flammable and
combustible substances at a distance of 100 meters from the
stationary source boundary shall be calculated using the
following formula and by using propane as the release rate
reference substance:

Chemical Name CAS #

Boiling
Point
(ΕF)

Sufficient
Quantity
(lbs/min)

EPA 
Listed

Acetaldehyde 75-07-0 69  4100 F
Acetylene 74-86-2 -118 1900 F
Ammonia 7664-41-7 -28 6700 T
Benzene 71-43-2 176 2600
1,3 Butadiene 106-99-0 24 2800 F
Butane 106-97-8 31 3000 F
Butene 25167-67-

3 21 2800 F
1-Butene 106-98-9 37.8 2700 F
2-Butene 107-01-7 37.8 2700 F
2-Butene trans 624-64-6 34 2800 F
2-Butene cis 590-18-1 38.7 2700 F
Carbon monoxide 7791-21-1 -314 10000
2-
Chloropropylene 
[1-Propene, 2-
chloro] 557-98-2 73 8000 F

Cyclopropane 75-19-4 -29 2800 F
Difluoroethane 
[Ethane, 1,1-
difluoro-] 75-37-6 -61 7300 F
Dimethylamine 124-40-3 45 3000 F
Dimethylpropane 
[Propane, 2,2-
dimethyl-] 463-82-1 49 2900 F
Ethane 74-84-0 -128 2800 F
Ethyl acetylene 107-00-6 47 3000 F
Ethyamine 75-04-7 62 4000 F
Ethylene 74-85-1 -155 2300 F
Ethylene oxide 75-21-8 51 3300 T
Ethyl chloride 75-00-3 54 4600 F
Gasoline 8006-61-9 100-400 3300
Hexane 100-64-3 156 2800
Hydrogen 1333-74-0 -422 300 F
Isobutane 
[Propane, 2-
methyl] 75-28-5 11 2900 F
Isopentane 
[Butane, 2-
methyl] 78-78-4 82 2900 F
Methane 74-82-8 -259 2500 F
Methylamine 74-89-5 21 3900 F
3-Methyl-1-
butene 563-45-1 68 3000 F
Methyl Ether 115-10-6 -11 4200 F
2-Methylpropene 
[1-Propene, 2-
metyh-] 115-11-7 20 2900 F
1.3 Pentadinene 504-60-9 -45 2900 F
Propane 74-98-6 -44 2700 F
Propylene 115-07-1 -53 2600 F
1-Propyne 74-99-7 -10 2200 F
Silane 7803-62-5 -169 2200 F
Tetramethylsilane 75-76-3 80 3600 F
Trimethylamine 75-50-3 38 3000 F
Vinyl chloride 75-35-4 7 5300 F
Vinyl fluoride 75-38-7 -97.5 6000 F
Vinyl methyl ether107-25-5 43 4100 F

 SQRR SQRR
MW
MW
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LFL

BP + 294
BP + 294
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HC
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SQRRx   = Sufficient Quantity Release Rate for
Substance x in lbs vapor/min

SQRRp   = Sufficient Quantity Release Rate for
Propane in lbs vapor/min

MWx      = Molecular weight of Substance X
MWp      = Molecular weight of Propane   =  44
LFLx      = Lower Flammable Limit of Substance X
LFLp      = Lower Flammable Limit of Substance

Propane = 2.1%
BPx        = Boiling Point of Substance X in ×K
BPp        = Boiling Point of  Propane in ×K = 229EK
HCp        = Heat of Combustion of Propane in Btu/lb

= 19,944 Btu/lb
HCx        = Heat of Combustion of Substance X in

Btu/lb

6.3.5 Calculation of Potential Release Quantity .
Owners or operators with a regulated flammable or
combustible substance present in a process that is equal to or
greater than the sufficient quantity shall calculate the
maximum PRQ in accordance with the provisions of
paragraph 6.5.2.8.

6.3.6 Applicability. If any potential release
quantity equals or exceeds the sufficient quantity, then the
owner or operator shall develop and implement a risk
management program in accordance with Section 6.1.2.

6.4 Delaware Regulated Explosive Substances 
6.4.1 Delaware regulated explosive substances

are listed in Table 6 with their sufficient quantities in pounds
at 100 meters.

Table 6: Delaware Regulated Explosive Substances 

* When data was not available, TNT equivalents assumed to
be 1:1. Processes subject to this section may use actual data
in calculating sufficient quantity.

Chemical Name CAS #

Sufficient 
Quantity 

(lbs)
EPA
Listed

Alkylaluminums (as tri-n-
butylaluminum) 1116-70-7 4700
Ammonium perchlorate 7790-98-9 6900
Ammonium nitrate  6484-52-2 6200
Ammonium permanganate 13446-10-

1 6900
Bromine trifluoride 7787-71-5 15000
3-Bromopropyne 106-96-7 6100
Butyl Hydroperoxide 
(tertiary) 75-91-2 3600
Butyl Perbenzoate (tertiary) 614-45-9 6300
Butyl Peroxyacetate (tertiary) 107-71-1 4300

Butyl Peroxypivalate 
(tertiary) 927-07-1 8600
Cellulose nitrate (not 
explosive grade) 9004-70-0 2300
Chlorodiethylaluminum 96-10-6 4100
1-Chloro-2,4-dinitrobenzene 97-00-7 3000
Cumene hydroperoxide 80-15-9 4400
Diacetyl peroxide (55% 
solution) 110-22-5 4200
Dibenzoyl peroxide 94-36-0 6100
Dibutyl peroxide (Tertiary) 110-05-4 4700
Diethylzinc 557-20-0 7700
Diisopropyl 
peroxydicarbonate 105-64-6 5200
Dilauroyl peroxide 105-74-8 5800
2, 4-Dinitroaniline 97-02-9 3000
1,2-Dinitrobenzene, ortho 528-29-0 2700
1,3-Dinitrobenzene, meta 99-65-0 2700
1,4-Dinitrobenzene, para 100-25-4 2700
2,3-Dinitrotoluene 602-01-7 3100
2,4-Dinitrotoluene 121-14-2 3100
2,5-Dinitrotoluene 619-15-8 3100
2,6-Dinitrotoluene 606-20-2 3100
3,4-Dinitrotoluene 610-39-9 3100
3,5-Dinitrotoluene 618-85-8 3100
Ethyl methyl ketone peroxide 19393-67-

0 2700
Ethyl nitrite 109-95-5 2800 F
Hydrogen peroxide (52% by 
weight or greater) 7722-84-1 5700
Hydroxylamine 7803-49-8 2500
2-Nitroaniline, ortho 88-74-4 3800
3-Nitroaniline, meta 90-09-2 3800
4-Nitroaniline, para 100-01-6 3800
Nitroethane  79-24-3 2800
Nitromethane 75-52-5 2300
Perchloric acid 7601-90-3 12000
Peroxyacetic Acid (60% 
acetic acid solution) 79-21-0 3200 T
Picric acid 88-89-1 2500
Propyl Nitrate (normal) 627-13-4 2700
Tetrafluoroethylene monomer116-14-3 7500 F
1,2,4-Trinitrobenzene 2300
2,3,4-Trinitrotoluene 602-29-3 2600
2,3,5-Trinitrotoluene 2600
2,3,6-Trinitrotoluene 2600
2,4,5-Trinitrotoluene 610-25-3 2600
2,4,6-Trinitrotoluene 118-96-7 2600
3,4,5-Trinitrotoluene 2600
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6.4.2 Calculation of Potential Release Quantity.
The potential release quantity for explosive substances is the
sum of all physical quantities which are used, handled,
produced, or stored in the process and which are neither
separated by a distance of 100 meters nor are barricaded as
defined in the explanatory notes for NFPA 495, Table 6-4.1.

6.4.3 Applicability. If any potential release
quantity equals or exceeds the sufficient quantity, then the
owner or operator shall develop and implement a risk
management program in accordance with Section 6.1.2.

6.5 Delaware Hazard Assessment 
6.5.1 The Delaware Hazard Assessment. The

owner or operator of a stationary source subject to Section
6.1.2 shall prepare a Delaware worst-case release scenario
analysis as provided in Section 6.5.2 of this section and
complete the five-year accident history as provided in
Section 5.42.  The owner or operator of a Program 2 process
must comply with Section 5.0 Subpart C and the owner or
operator of a Program 3 process must comply with Section
5.0 Subpart D. The Delaware hazard assessment shall
include:

6.5.1.1 An estimate of the potential release
quantity;

6.5.1.2 A dispersion analysis in the case the
scenario is for a regulated toxic, flammable or combustible
substance;

6.5.1.3 An overpressure grid in the case the
scenario is for a regulated explosive substance; and

6.5.1.4 A consequence analysis of the effects
on surrounding populations.

6.5.2 Off-site consequence analysis parameters.
6.5.2.1 Endpoints. For analyses of off-site

consequences, the following endpoints shall be used:
6.5.2.1.1 Toxic substances. The toxic

endpoints that shall be used in determining the distance to
endpoint are as follows and the order that follows shall
determine which endpoint should be used if a substance is
listed on several of the lists named below:

6.5.2.1.1.1 AIHA 1997, ERPG-3
will be considered before;

6.5.2.1.1.2 Acute Toxicities from
New Jersey “Toxic Catastrophe Prevention Act” (TCPA)
which will be considered before;

6.5.2.1.3 Levels of concern from
EPA’s “Technical Guidance for Hazard Analysis: Emergency
Planning for Extremely Hazardous Substances, December
1987” also known as the Green Book.

6.5.2.1.2 Flammable substances. The
endpoint for regulated flammable and combustible
substances shall be the radiant heat necessary to create
second degree burns from a vapor cloud fire 100 meters from

the source of the release or 1020.48 kj/sec m2. The
dispersion analysis shall account for movement of the vapor
cloud under average Delaware weather conditions prior to
ignition.

6.5.2.1.3 Explosive substances. The
endpoint shall be the amount of overpressure necessary to
cause eardrum rupture 100 meters from the release or 2.3 psi.

6.5.2.2 Wind speed/atmospheric stability
class.  For the Delaware worst-case release analysis, the
owner or operator shall use average Delaware weather
conditions consisting of a wind speed of 4.3 meters per
second and  atmospheric stability class of D.

6.5.2.3 Ambient temperature/humidity. For
worst-case release analysis of a regulated toxic substance,
the owner or operator shall use 86 EF. An owner or operator
may use 25 EC when using the RMP Off-site Consequence
Analysis Guidance.

6.5.2.4 Height of release. The worst-case
release of a regulated toxic substance shall be analyzed
assuming a ground level (0 feet) release.

6.5.2.5 Surface roughness. The owner or
operator shall use either urban or rural topography, as
appropriate. Urban means that there are many obstacles in
the immediate area; obstacles include buildings or trees.
Rural means there are no buildings in the immediate area and
the terrain is generally flat and unobstructed.

6.5.2.6 Dense or neutrally buoyant gases. The
owner or operator shall ensure that tables or models used for
dispersion analysis of regulated toxic substances
appropriately account for gas density. 

6.5.2.7 Temperature of released substance.
For worst case, liquids other than gases liquified by
refrigeration only shall be considered to be released at the
highest daily maximum temperature, based on data for the
previous three years appropriate for the stationary source, or
at process temperature, whichever is higher.

6.5.2.8 Maximum potential release rates for
the Delaware worst-case scenario shall be calculated
considering the following:

6.5.2.8.1 Catastrophic line failure
(flow from both ends);

6.5.2.8.2 Catastrophic hose failure
(flow from both ends);

6.5.2.8.3 Exposure of vessels and
equipment to fire;

6.5.2.8.4 Venting of pressure relief
valve at relief system design basis; and

6.5.2.8.5 Failure of mitigating systems
such as flares, scrubbers, isolation valves, excess flow
valves, and cooling systems.
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6.5.2.8.6 Graphs and calculations
were developed and were included in the “Background
Document, September 25, 1989”. These calculation and
graphs (produced below reproduced in Appendix A) provide
one method of calculating the maximum potential release
quantity. The method of calculation must be approved by the
Department and submitted with Delaware RMP, if different
from the approach described below.

6.5.2.8.6.1 To calculate the
potential release quantity of a gas (not a flashing liquid), the
following equation may be used to determine the release
rate:

where:
RR = the release rate of the actual regulated

substance in pounds/min.
RRR = a the release rate for methane estimated in

lbs/min from Appendix A Graph 1 or 2;
OED = the opening equivalent diameter in inches;
MW = the molecular weight of the actual substance

released;
P = the pressure inside the vessel or pipe prior to the

release in psig;
OEDR = the size of reference opening equivalent

diameter from Appendix A Graph 1 or 2;
PR = the pressure of methane curve from Appendix A

Graph 1 or 2 nearest the pressure of the pressure of the actual
substance; and

T = temperature of the substance prior to the release
in EF;

• For regulated toxic substances the maximum
potential release quantity is equal to RR X 60
minutes;

• For regulated flammable and combustible
substances the maximum potential release quantity
is equal to RR if the release is sustainable for a
minimum of 35 seconds.  Otherwise it is the actual
quantity; and

• A process becomes a covered process and is subject
to Section 6.1.2 when the maximum potential
release quantity is greater than or equal to the
sufficient quantity.

6.5.2.8.6.2 To calculate the
potential release quantity for a flashing liquid release, the
following equation may used to determine the release rate:

where:
RR = the release rate of the actual regulated

substance in pounds/min.
RRR =  the release rate for propane estimated in lbs/

min from Appendix A Graph 3 or 4;
OED = the opening equivalent diameter in inches;
Den = the liquid density of the actual substance

released prior to the release in lb/ft3;
P = the pressure inside the vessel prior to the release

in psig;
OEDR = the size of reference opening equivalent

diameter from Appendix A Graph 3 or 4; and
PR = the pressure of propane curve from Appendix A Graph
3 or 4 nearest the pressure of the pressure of the actual
substance.

• For flashing liquids whose boiling points are
greater than 5 EC, a pool of cold liquid can form
when the storage area is diked. The release rate is
used to calculate the size of the pool that is formed
by the substance being released. The potential
release quantity is calculated based on the surface
area of the pool in square feet multiplied by the
pool vaporization factor from Appendix A Graph 5.
For situations when there is no dike or for flashing
liquids whose boiling points are less than or equal
to 5 EC, assume that the liquid volatilizes
immediately upon release and that RR is the
maximum potential release quantity.

• For regulated toxic substances the maximum
potential release quantity is equal to RR X 60
minutes;

• For regulated flammable and combustible
substances the maximum potential release quantity
is equal to RR if the release is sustainable for a
minimum of 35 seconds.  Otherwise it is the actual
quantity; and

• A process becomes a covered process and is subject
to Section 6.1.2 when the maximum potential
release quantity is greater than or equal to the
sufficient quantity.

6.5.2.8.6.3 To calculate the
potential release quantity for a liquid release (not a flashing
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liquid), the equation below may be used to determine the
release rate:

where:
RR = the release rate of the actual regulated

substance in pounds/min.
RRR =  the release rate for gasoline estimated in

lbs/min from Appendix A Graph 6 or 7;
OED = the opening equivalent diameter in inches;
Den = the liquid density of the actual substance

released prior to the release;
P = the pressure inside the vessel prior to the release

in psig;
OEDR = the size of reference opening equivalent

diameter from Appendix A Graph 6 or 7; and
PR = the pressure of gasoline curve from Appendix

A Graph 6 or 7 nearest the pressure of the pressure of the
actual substance.
The release rate is used to calculate the size of the pool that
is formed by the substance being released. The potential
release quantity is calculated based on the surface area of the
pool in square feet multiplied by the pool vaporization factor
from Appendix A Graph 5.

6.5.2.8.6.4 To determine the potential
release quantity, RR calculated above must be doubled if the
release is from a pipe or hose where it is possible to get flow
from both ends of the breakage; otherwise the PRQ = RR.

• For combustible liquids, a pool of liquid can form
when the storage area is diked. The release rate is
used to calculate the size of the pool that is formed
by the substance being released. The potential
release quantity is calculated based on the surface
area of the pool in square feet multiplied by the
pool vaporization factor from Appendix A Graph 5.
For situations when there is no dike, assume that
the pool depth is 1 centimeter.

• For regulated toxic substances the maximum
potential release quantity is equal to RR X 60
minutes;

• For regulated flammable and combustible
substances the maximum potential release quantity
is equal to the vapor release rate if the release is
sustainable for a minimum of 35 seconds.
Otherwise it is the actual quantity; and

• A process becomes a covered process and is subject

to 6.1.2 when the maximum potential release
quantity is greater than or equal to the sufficient
quantity.

6.5.2.9 For explosive substances, the
potential release quantity is the sum of all physical quantities
which are used, handled, produced, or stored in the process.
Processes separated by a distance of 100 meters or
barricaded as defined in NFPA 495, Explanatory notes for
Table 6-4.1 “American Table of Distances”, shall be
considered multiple processes. One method for determining
the distance to endpoint for an explosive substance that may
be used is the TNT equivalent method such as:

D = K W1/3

where:

D is the distance to endpoint for a given
overpressure;

W is the mass of TNT detonated, and 
K is the scaled distance or 24 for 2.3 psi

overpressure.

To approximate W, the weight of regulated substance is
multiplied by a yield factor (3% to 10%) and is multiplied by
the ratio of the heat of combustion of the regulated substance
to the heat of combustion of TNT.

6.5.3 Delaware Worst-case release scenario
analysis .

6.5.3.1 The owner or operator shall analyze
and report in the Delaware Risk Management Plan: 

6.5.3.1.1 For Program 1 processes,
one worst-case release scenario for each Program 1 process;

6.5.3.1.2 For Program 2 and 3
processes:

6.5.3.1.2.1 One worst-case release
scenario that is estimated to create the greatest distance in
any direction to an endpoint resulting from an accidental
release of regulated toxic substances from covered processes
under worst-case conditions defined in Section 6.5.2; and

6.5.3.1.2.2 One worst-case release
scenario that is estimated to create the greatest distance in
any direction to an endpoint defined in Section 6.5.2
resulting from an accidental release of regulated flammable
substances from covered processes under worst-case
conditions defined in Section 6.5.2.

6.5.3.1.2.3 One worst-case release
scenario that is estimated to create the greatest distance in
any direction to an endpoint defined in Section 6.5.2
resulting from the detonation of the regulated explosive
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substance from covered processes under worst-case
conditions defined in Section 6.5.2.

6.5.3.1.2.4 Additional worst-case
release scenarios for a hazard class if a worst-case release
from another covered process at the stationary source
potentially affects public receptors different from those
potentially affected by the worst-case release scenario
developed under paragraphs 6.5.3.1.2.1 or 6.5.3.1.2.2 of this
section.

6.5.3.2 Parameters to be applied. The owner
or operator shall use the parameters defined in Section 6.5.2
to determine distance to the endpoints. The owner or
operator may use the methodology provided in the RMP Off-
site Consequence Analysis Guidance or any commercially or
publicly available air dispersion modeling techniques,
provided the techniques account for the modeling conditions
and are recognized by industry as applicable as part of
current practices. Proprietary models that account for the
modeling conditions may be used provided he owner or
operator allows the Department access to the model and
describes model features and differences from publicly
available models to local emergency planners upon request.
The owner or operator may also use the following look-up
tables to determine the distance to endpoint (where AQ
represents the ratio of the actual quantity of a regulated
substance contained in a process to the sufficient quantity for
that substance):

Table 7: Distance to Endpoint for Delaware Regulated 
Toxic Substances 1

1This Table was developed from Section 5.2.2.2 the toxic
Distance Multipliers Table II from the “Regulation for the
Management of Extremely Hazardous Substances,
September 25, 1989.

Table 8: Distance to Endpoint for Delaware Regulated 
Flammable Substances 2

2This Table was developed from Section 5.3.3.3 the
flammable Distance Multipliers Table IV from the
“Regulation for the Management of Extremely Hazardous
Substances, September 25, 1989.

Table 9: Distance to Endpoint for Delaware Regulated 
Explosive Substances 3

3This Table was adapted from Section 5.4.3.2 the explosive
Distance Multipliers Table VI from the “Regulation for the
Management of Extremely Hazardous Substances,
September 25, 1989.

6.5.3.3 Consideration of passive mitigation.
Passive mitigation systems may be considered for the
analysis of worst case provided that the mitigation system is
capable of withstanding the release event triggering the
scenario and would still function as intended.

6.5.3.4 Factors in selecting a worst-case
scenario. Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph

AQ/SQ
Distance to Endpoint 

(meters)
Distance to 

Endpoint (miles)
1.0 100 0.06
2.0 143.10 0.09
2.5 161.11 0.10
3.0 177.45 0.11
4.0 208.29 0.13
5.0 235.03 0.15
7.5 294.91 0.18
10.0 346.72 0.22
25.0 590.66 0.37
50.0 905.11 0.56

AQ/SQ
Distance to 

Endpoint (meters)

Distance to 
Endpoint 

(miles)
1.0 100 0.06
2.0 146.29 0.09
2.5 165.89 0.10
3.0 182.62 0.11
4.0 214.83 0.13
5.0 243.90 0.15
7.5 305.90 0.19
10.0 359.30 0.22
25.0 589.41 0.37
50.0 870.80 0.54

AQ/SQ

Distance to 
Endpoint 
(meters)

Distance to 
Endpoint 

(miles)
1.0 100 0.06
2.0 121.01 0.08
2.5 131.51 0.08
3.0 142.02 0.09
4.0 156.71 0.10
5.0 167.53 0.10
7.5 194.59 0.12
10.0 213.11 0.13
25.0 291.20 0.18
50.0 366.86 0.22
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6.5.3.2 of this section, the owner or operator shall select as
the worst-case for flammable regulated substances or the
worst-case for regulated toxic substances, a scenario based
on the following factors if such a scenario would result in a
greater distance to an endpoint defined in Section 6.5.2
beyond the stationary source boundary than the scenario
provided under paragraph 6.5.3.2 of this section:

6.5.3.4.1 Smaller quantities handled at
higher process temperature or pressure; and

6.5.3.4.2 Proximity to the boundary of
the stationary source.

6.5.4 Defining off-site impacts-population.
6.5.4.1 The owner or operator shall estimate

in the Delaware Risk Management Plan the population
within a circle with its center at the point of the release and a
radius determined by the distance to the endpoint defined in
6.5.2.

6.5.4.2 Population to be defined. Population
shall include residential population. The presence of
institutions (schools, hospitals, prisons), parks and
recreational areas, and major commercial, office, and
industrial buildings shall be noted in the RMP.

6.5.4.3 Data sources acceptable. The owner
or operator may use the most recent Census data, or other
updated information, to estimate the population potentially
affected.

6.5.4.4 Level of accuracy. Population shall be
estimated to two significant digits or one significant digit if
the population is less than 1000.

6.5.5 Defining off-site impacts-environment.
6.5.5.1 The owner or operator shall list in the

RMP environmental receptors within a circle with its center
at the point of the release and a radius determined by the
distance to the endpoint defined in Section 6.5.2 of this part.

6.5.5.2 Data sources acceptable. The owner
or operator may rely on information provided on local U.S.
Geological Survey maps or on any data source containing
U.S.G.S. data to identify environmental receptors.

6.6 Delaware Risk Management Plan
6.6.1 Submission.

6.6.1.1 The owner or operator subject to 6.1.2
shall submit a single Delaware Risk Management Plan that
includes the information required by 6.6.2 through 6.6.10 for
all covered processes. The Delaware Risk Management Plan
shall be submitted on a form provided by the Department to
a location specified by the Department prior to June 21,
1999. The Department may establish procedures for the
submission of information under this section on electronic
media. The submission of information in accordance with
such procedures by owners or operators of covered processes

shall satisfy the associated requirement to submit the
information in a paper format.

6.6.1.2 The owner or operator shall submit
the first Delaware Risk Management Plan no later than the
latest of the following dates:

6.6.1.2.1 June 21, 1999;
6.6.1.2.2 Six months after the date on

which a newly regulated substance is first listed in Section 6;
or

6.6.1.2.3 The date on which a
regulated substance is first present above a threshold
quantity in a process.

6.6.1.2.4 Subsequent submissions of
Delaware Risk Management Plans shall be in accordance
with Section 6.6.10.

6.6.2 Executive summary. The owner or
operator shall provide in the Delaware Risk Management
Plan an executive summary that includes a brief description
of the same elements given in Section 5.155(a) through (g)
process, risk management plan and quantity and size of any
storage tanks.

6.6.3 Registration. The owner or operator shall
complete a single registration form and include it in the
Delaware Risk Management Plan. The form shall cover all
regulated substances handled in covered processes.
    The registration shall include the same data that is
described in Section 5.160(b).

6.6.4 Off-site consequence analysis.
6.6.4.1 The owner or operator shall submit in

the Delaware Risk Management Plan information:
6.6.4.1.1 One Delaware worst-case

release scenario for each Program 1 process; and
    6.6.4.1.2 For Program 2 and 3

processes, one Delaware worst-case release scenario to
represent: all regulated toxic substances with any potential
release quantity that is greater than the sufficient quantity; all
regulated flammable substances with any potential release
quantity that is greater than the sufficient quantity; and
all regulated explosive substance with any potential release
quantity that is greater than the sufficient quantity.

6.6.4.1.3 If additional Delaware
worst-case scenarios for toxics, flammables, or explosives
are required by Section 6.5.3.1.2.4, the owner or operator
shall submit the same information on the additional
scenario(s).

6.6.4.2 The owner or operator shall submit in
the Delaware Risk Management Plan the following data:

6.6.4.2.1 Chemical name;
6.6.4.2.2 Physical state (toxics and

flammables only);
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6.6.4.2.3 Basis of results (give model
name if used);

6.6.4.2.4 Scenario (explosion, fire,
toxic gas release, or liquid spill and vaporization);

6.6.4.2.5 Quantity released in pounds;
6.6.4.2.6 Release rate (toxics and

flammables only);
    (vii)Release duration (toxics and flammables

only);
(viii)Wind speed and atmospheric stability

class (toxics and flammables only);
6.6.4.2.7 Topography (toxics and

flammables only);
6.6.4.2.8 Distance to endpoint;
6.6.4.2.9 Public and environmental

receptors within the distance; and
6.6.4.2.10 Passive mitigation

considered.
6.6.5 Five-year accident history. The owner or

operator shall submit in the Delaware Risk Management
Plan the information provided in Section 5.42(b) in the
Delaware Risk Management Plan form on each accident
covered by Section 5.42(a) that resulted in known on-site or
off-site injuries or deaths, evacuations, sheltering in place,
on site or offsite property damage or onsite or offsite
environmental damage.

6.6.6 Prevention program/Program 2. For each
Program 2 process, the owner or operator shall provide in the
Delaware Risk Management Plan the information indicated
in Section 5.170(b) through (k) the Delaware Risk
Management Plan form. If the same information applies to
more than one covered process, the owner or operator may
provide the information only once, but shall indicate to
which processes the information applies.

6.6.7 Prevention program/Program 3. For each
Program 3 process, the owner or operator shall provide the
information indicated in Section 5.175(b) through (p) the
Delaware Risk Management Plan form. If the same
information applies to more than one covered process, the
owner or operator may provide the information only once,
but shall indicate to which processes the information applies.

6.6.8 Emergency response program. The owner
or operator shall provide in the Delaware Risk Management
Plan the same information that is described in Section 5.180
the Delaware Risk Management Plan form.

6.6.9 Certification.
6.6.9.1 For Program 1 processes, the owner

or operator shall submit in the Delaware Risk  Management
Plan the certification statement provided in Section
5.12(b)(4) the Delaware Risk Management Plan form.

6.6.9.2 For all other covered processes, the
owner or operator shall submit in the Delaware Risk
Management Plan a single certification that, to the best of
the signer's knowledge, information, and belief formed after
reasonable inquiry, the information submitted is true,
accurate, and complete.

6.6.10 Updates.
6.6.10.1 The owner or operator shall review

and update the Delaware Risk Management Plan as specified
in paragraph 6.6.10.2 of this section and submit it on a form
provided by the Department prior to June 21, 1999.

6.6.10.2 The owner or operator of a
covered process shall revise and update the Delaware Risk
Management Plan submitted under Section 6.6 within five
years of the initial submission or sooner updates as required
by the following: 

6.6.10.2.1 No later than six months
after a newly regulated substance is first listed by the
Department;

6.6.10.2.2 No later than the date on
which a new regulated substance is first present in an already
covered process above a threshold quantity;

6.6.10.2.3 No later than the date on
which a regulated substance is present above a threshold
quantity in a new process;

6.6.10.2.4 Within six months of a
change that requires a revised process hazard assessment or
hazard review;

    (v)Within six months of a change that requires a
revised off-site consequence analysis as provided in Section
5.36; and

6.6.10.2.5 Within six months of a
change that alters the program level that applied to any
covered process.

6.6.10.3 If a covered process is no longer
subject to this part, the owner or operator shall submit a
revised registration certification to the Department within six
months indicating that the process is no longer covered.

7.0 Inspections
7.1 Minimum Inspection Components. All

documentation required by this regulation shall be
maintained by the Owner  or operator of the stationary
source and shall be available on site for review by the
Department. At a minimum, inspections of stationary source
risk management programs include:

7.1.1 Review of selected risk management
program documentation including evidence of the
application of engineering and maintenance standards
associated with regulated substance;
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7.1.2 A physical onsite inspection of equipment
associated with regulated substance; and

7.1.3 Interviews of selected stationary source
personnel involved with regulated substance.

7.2 Inspection Protocol. The inspection protocol shall
consist of:

7.2.1 Appendix A “PSM Audit Guidelines”
from the OSHA Compliance Directive CPL 2-2.45A
(change-1) dated September 1994,

7.2.2 EPA audit guidance and protocol, and
7.2.3 The compliance of a covered process shall

be determined by physical inspections conducted: by trained
and tested state personnel or their designated trained and
qualified representatives, and by interviews with stationary
source personnel.

7.3 Access to Facilities and Records. The Department
has the right to enter any stationary source at any time to
verify compliance with this regulation. Inspections for the
sole purpose of document review shall be scheduled with
owner or operator of the stationary source management with
reasonable advance notice, and when possible, mutual
agreement.

7.4 Findings of Compliance or Noncompliance. The
Department shall issue an inspection report detailing the
findings of compliance or noncompliance with the risk
management program requirements for each inspection.
Reports shall contain the Department’s recommendations
based on inspection for potential improvements to a facility’s
risk management program. Department findings of
compliance or noncompliance with risk management
program requirements shall be provided in writing to the
stationary source management  no later than forty-five (45)
days following completion of the inspection. Significant
items of noncompliance shall be communicated directly to
the stationary source management by the Department during
an exit interview. If deficiencies or omissions in the risk
management program are identified, the Department shall
issue a written notice of noncompliance and recommend
program improvements. Within sixty (60) days after
receiving the Department's recommendations, the owner or
operator of the stationary source shall notify the Department
of changes and additions to improve the risk management
program or shall present a remediation plan and schedule for
the Department's approval.

7.5 Resolution of Findings of Noncompliance.
7.5.1 If the owner or operator of the stationary

source and the Department agree on measures to correct risk
management program deficiencies or omissions, the parties
may enter into a written agreement.

7.5.2 If the Department and owner or operator
of the stationary source fail to agree on improvements to the

risk management program following Department notice of
noncompliance as provided above and following an
administrative hearing with written findings, as provided for
in 7 Del,C,, Section 7716 7715 and Section 11 of this
regulation, the Department shall issue an administrative
order requiring correction of risk management program
deficiencies including a schedule for corrections as provided
for in 7 Del.C., Section 7715.7714.

7.5.3 If a functioning risk management program
is lacking and a situation exists which threatens real and
imminent jeopardy to the lives and health of persons in the
vicinity of the stationary source, the Department shall
promptly seek Chancery Court injunctive relief as provided
for in 7 Del.C., Section 7715 7714.

8.0 Audits
8.1 RMP Audit. In addition to inspections for the

purpose of regulatory development and enforcement, the
Department shall audit all RMPs submitted pursuant to
Section 5, Subpart G and the Delaware risk management
plans submitted under Section 6.6 within six 12 months of
the date that they are received by the Department or posted
by EPA.

8.2 Access to Information. The Department shall have
access to the stationary source, supporting documentation,
and any area where an accidental release could occur.
 8.3 Preliminary Audit Determination. Based on the
audit, the Department may issue the owner or operator of a
stationary source a written preliminary determination of
necessary revisions to the stationary source's RMP to ensure
that the RMP meets the criteria of Section 5 Subpart G. The
preliminary determination shall include an explanation for
the basis for the revisions, reflecting industry standards and
guidelines (such as AIChE/CCPS guidelines and ASME and
API standards) to the extent that such standards and
guidelines are applicable, and shall include a timetable for
their implementation.

8.4 Written response to a preliminary determination.
8.4.1 The owner or operator shall respond in

writing to a preliminary determination made in accordance
with 8.3 of this section. The response shall state the owner or
operator will implement the revisions contained in the
preliminary determination in accordance with the timetable
included in the preliminary determination or shall state that
the owner or operator rejects the revisions in whole or in
part. For each rejected revision, the owner or operator shall
explain the basis for rejecting such revision. Such
explanation may include substitute revisions. 

8.4.2 The written response under 8.4.1 of this
section shall be received by the Department within 60 days
of the issue of the preliminary determination or a shorter
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period of time as the Department specifies in the preliminary
determination as necessary to protect public health and the
environment. Prior to the written response being due and
upon written request from the owner or operator, the
Department may provide in writing additional time for the
response to be received.

8.5 Final Audit Determination. After providing the
owner or operator an opportunity to respond under 8.4 of this
section, the Department may issue the owner or operator a
written final determination of necessary revisions to the
stationary source's RMP. The final determination may adopt
or modify the revisions contained in the preliminary
determination under 8.3 of this section or may adopt or
modify the substitute revisions provided in the response
under 8.4 of this section. A final determination that adopts a
revision rejected by the owner or operator shall include an
explanation of the basis for the revision. A final
determination that fails to adopt a substitute revision
provided under 8.4 of this section shall include an
explanation of the basis for finding such substitute revision
unreasonable.

8.6 Determination of Violations. Thirty days after
completion of the actions detailed in the implementation
schedule set in the final determination under 8.5 of this
section, the owner or operator shall be in violation of Section
5 Subpart G, 7 Del.C., Section 7714(b)(1) and this section
unless the owner or operator revises the RMP prepared under
Section 6.0 or Subpart G as required by the final
determination, and submits the revised RMP as required
under Section 5.150.

8.7 Public Access to Determinations. The public shall
have access to the preliminary determinations, responses,
and final determinations under this section in a manner
consistent with Section 14.1 of this Regulation.

8.8 Nothing in this section shall preclude, limit, or
interfere in any way with the authority of Department to
exercise its enforcement, investigation, and information
gathering authorities concerning this regulation. Nothing in
this section shall preclude, limit or interfere in any way with
the authority granted to EPA under the Clean Air Act of
1990 and codified at 40 U.S.C. 7401 et seq.

9.0 Violations and Penalties
Any person who fails to comply with this regulation

shall be subject to the enforcement and penalty provisions
set forth in 7 Del.C., Section 7714.  A substantially complete
risk management program is in compliance with all
applicable parts of either Section 5.0 or Section 6.0. Failure
to meet these provisions is considered to be substantial non-
compliance.

10.0 Hearings
Any public hearing held by the Secretary pursuant to

this regulation shall be held in accordance with 7 Del.C.,
Section 6006, as well as any additional notice and hearing
requirements adopted by the Department by regulation.

11.0 Appeals
11.1 Any person(s) whose interest is substantially

affected by any action of the Secretary may appeal to the
Environmental Appeals Board in accordance with 7 Del.C.,
Section 6008.

11.2 Any person(s), jointly or severally, or any
taxpayer, or any officer, department board or bureau of the
State, aggrieved by any decision of the Environmental
Appeals Board, may appeal to the Superior Court in
accordance with 7 Del.C.,  Section 6009.

12.0 State Agency Notification
Every State agency having authority to grant

construction or operating permits to covered processes
having regulated substances on-site shall notify the
Department in writing prior to granting any permits and shall
confirm that the owner or operator has been informed of the
Regulatory requirements of this regulation.

13.0 Annual Fees
As provided for in 7 Del.C., Section 7714 7713.

14.0 Miscellaneous
14.1 Confidential Information. All documents (such

as, but not limited to: inspection reports, responses to
inspection reports, notices of violation, Administrative
Orders and Penalties, correspondences, RMPs and Delaware
risk management plans) submitted to the Department or
developed by the Department pursuant to this regulation
shall be handled consistent with the Freedom of Information
Act (29 Del.C., Chapter 100) with the exception of the
following which shall be maintained as confidential by the
Department as required by 7 Del.C., Section 771110(b):

14.1.1 Sections of Inspection Notes containing or
relating to trade secrets, and/or commercial or financial
information observed, viewed or obtained orally during an
inspection that may result in substantial harm to a business’
competitive edge.

14.1.2 Sections of Inspection Notes containing
the identity of persons interviewed during an inspection.

14.2 Severability. If any part of this regulation, or
the application of any part thereof, is held invalid or
unconstitutional, the application of such part to other persons
or circumstances and the remainder of this regulation shall
not be affected and shall be deemed valid and effective.
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14.3 Transfer of Registration. Registration under
this regulation may be transferred to a new owner provided
that an intention to transfer accompanied by a copy of the
registration, signed by both the transferor and the transferee,
is provided to the Department at least 10 days prior to the
transfer. A complete RMP or the Delaware risk management
plan must be submitted in accordance with either Section
5.190.2.3 or Section 6.6.10.2.3 whichever is applicable.

14.4 Scope of Regulations. This regulation shall
apply to all covered processes located in whole or in part
within the State of Delaware containing one or more
regulated substances.

Appendix A

Graphs 1 and 2: Gas Release Estimates for small and large 
openings

Graphs 3 and 4: Flashing Liquid Release Estimates for small 
and large openings
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Graph 5: Pool Vaporization Factor

Graphs 6 and 7: Flammable Liquid Release Estimates for 
small and large openings

DIVISION OF SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 6010, (7 Del.C. §6010)

PUBLIC NOTICE

5102 Regulation Governing Beach Protection and the 
Use of Beaches

1. Title of the Regulations:
Regulations Governing Beach Protection and the use of 

Beaches
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2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues
These Proposed Regulations are revisions to existing

regulations that have been in effect since 1983. The proposed
revisions will increase the effectiveness of the Coastal
Construction Program and improve its protection of the
beach and dune system. They will also reduce ambiguity
within the regulations and limit the amount and type of
construction permitted seaward of the Building Line.
Redrawing of the Building Line, incorporation of changes to
the Beach Preservation Act and the addition of new
construction standards for waterfront buildings will all result
in less damages to structures and improvements to the
natural dune and beach resource.

While this regulatory action is intended to modify
currently existing regulations, it was not possible, or
preferable, to show additions as underlines, or deletions as
strikeouts – as is normally required. This is because the
redraft of the regulations was so extensive and the new
numbering so drastically different than the previous
regulations, that to be comprehensible to the reader, we
opted to abandon the normal strike out and underline
protocol and instead provide the reader with an index of new
provisions with old section numbers and a compilation of
major changes to the overall regulation.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action
No Sunset Date

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act
Title 7, Delaware Code, Chapter 68

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the 
Proposal

None

6. Notice of Public Comment
A Public Hearing has been scheduled for December 14th

at 6:00 p.m., in the DNREC Auditorium

7. Prepared By:
Maria Sadler   302-739-9921  9/26/05

5102 Regulation Governing Beach Protection and the 
Use of Beaches

1.0 Definitions
1.1 As used in these Regulations, the following terms

shall have the meanings indicated below, unless the text
clearly indicates otherwise:

“Act” means the Beach Preservation Act of 1972,
(Title 7, Del.C. Ch. 68).

“Beach” means that portion of the shore of any
body of water which extends from the mean high water mark
inland one thousand feet, or to a roadway for automobiles,
whichever is closer.

“Beach Access Facility” means any structure,
improvement or facility constructed, installed or maintained
for the primary purpose of obtaining or facilitating access to
and from the berm and foreshore of the beach over, on or
across the primary coastal dune.

“Beach Enhancement” means the process of
improving or increasing the recreational and/or storm
protection value of a beach. 

“Beach Erosion” means the wearing away of a
beach by water or the elements.

“Beach Nourishment” means the process of
replenishing a beach with material (usually sand) obtained
from another location.

“Beach Preservation” means the process of
maintaining the recreational and/or storm protection value of
a beach.

“Beach Protection” means the process of
preventing the decrease of recreational and/or storm
protection values of a beach.

“Berm” means the nearly horizontal part of the
beach between the foreshore and primary dune formed by
the deposit of material by wave action.

“Breakwater” means a marine structure
constructed to protect a shore area, harbor, anchorage, or
basin from the undesirable effects of wave action.

“Building” means any roofed and walled structure
built for permanent or semi-permanent use.

“Building Line” means the line generally
paralleling the coast, set forth on maps prepared by the
Division with reference to the National Geodetic Vertical
Datum (NGVD) and the Delaware State Plane Coordinate
System, and based upon information provided by
topographic survey. The Building Line is located as follows:

a. Along beaches extending from the
Delaware/Maryland line to the tip of Cape Henlopen - 100
feet landward of the adjusted seawardmost 10-foot elevation
contour above NGVD;

b. Along beaches extending from the tip of
Cape Henlopen to the southernmost limit of Primehook
Beach - 100 feet landward of the adjusted seawardmost 7-
foot elevation contour above NGVD;

c. Along beaches extending from the
southernmost limit of Primehook Beach to the Old Marina
Canal north of Pickering Beach - 75 feet landward of the
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adjusted seawardmost 7-foot elevation contour above
NGVD;

d. or at the landward limits of the Beach, as
defined in these Regulations, whichever is most seaward.

“Bulkhead” means an upright structure or partition
built parallel or nearly parallel to the shoreline, primarily to
retain or prevent land from sliding and secondarily, to
protect upland from beach erosion and damage from wave
action. A bulkhead is generally of lighter construction than a
seawall.

“Complete Destruction” means the damage or
destruction of any structure by any means whatsoever to the
extent that, in the judgment of the Division, 75% or more of
the original structure, or if a building, more than 50% of the
original foundation pilings, are unsuitable for incorporation
into reconstruction of the structure.

“Construction” means any work or activity which
is likely to have a substantial physical effect on existing
coastal conditions or natural shore processes. Construction
as used in these Regulations shall also include
reconstruction, restoration, repair, alteration and placement
if said terms are not otherwise included for clarification.

“Department” means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control.

“Dike” means a wall or mound built around a low
lying area to prevent flooding.

“Division” means the Division duly authorized by
the Secretary as responsible for administering these
Regulations.

“Dune” means a mound, hill or ridge of
windblown sand, either bare or covered with vegetation,
naturally or artificially accumulated. 

“Dune Zone” means that area lying between the
Building Line and elevation contours, which are used as a
basis for determining the location of the Building Line. (See
Building Line definition.)

“Emergency” means the existence of beach
conditions unreasonably dangerous to persons or property.

“Excavation” means the process of digging out
material.

“Expansion” means the enlargement of a structure.
“Filling” means the process of depositing or

placing material to raise the level of a certain area.
“Foreshore” means the part of the shore lying

between the crest of the seaward berm (or upper limit of
wave action at high tide) and the ordinary low water mark,
that is ordinarily traversed by the uprush and backrush of the
waves as the tides rise and fall.

“Geology” means the relationship of the earth and
the materials of which it is composed, to the changes which
it has undergone, is undergoing, or is likely to undergo.

“Geomorphology” means the form and general
configuration of the earth's surface and the changes that take
place in the evolution of land forms.

“Groin” means a shore protection structure built
(usually perpendicular to the shoreline) to trap littoral drift or
retard erosion of the shore.

“Hydraulics” means the effects of water or other
fluids in motion.

“Jetty” means a structure extending into a body of
water, and designed to prevent shoaling of a channel by
littoral materials, and to direct and confine the stream or tidal
flow.

“Littoral Current” means a longshore current
generated by waves breaking at an acute angle to the
shoreline, and which moves generally parallel and adjacent
to the shoreline within the surf zone.

“Lowest Living Floor” the lowest portion of the
lowest horizontal support member of the lowest enclosed
space used for living purposes, which includes working,
sleeping, eating, cooking, recreation, or combination thereof.
A floor used only for storage shall not be considered a living
floor.

“Maintenance” means any work aimed at keeping
a structure in an efficient operating and usable condition.
Maintenance does not mean expansion or modification of a
structure. Maintenance does not mean changing the general
form or extent of the structure.

“Meteorology” means the atmosphere and its
phenomena especially as relating to weather.

“Modification” means a partial change in the form
of a structure.

“National Geodetic Vertical Datum (NGVD)”
means a fixed reference adopted by the U. S. Government as
a standard geodetic datum for vertical elevations.

“Parcel of Real Property” means a single lot, the
boundaries of which are set forth in a single deed or similar
document.

“Person” means any legal entity including
individual, firm, association, organization, partnership,
business trust, corporation, company, contractor, user,
operator, owner, or any State of local governmental agency
(except as noted in Section 2.3) or public district or any
officer or employee thereof.

“Primary Dune” means that dune which roughly
parallels the shoreline in a more or less continuous fashion
and is generally the first and largest dune encountered
moving landward from the shoreline.

“Public Beach” means any beach owned in fee
simple title by the Federal or State government or any
county, city, town or municipality; or any beach for which
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the State has obtained an easement or agreement for public
use.

“Regulation” unless stated otherwise, means the
Regulations Governing Beach Protection and the Use of
Beaches, promulgated pursuant to the Beach Preservation
Act of 1972 (7 Del.C. Ch. 68) and all amendments thereto.

“Repair” means the act of restoring a structure to
good condition after it has been damaged. Repair does not
mean expansion or modification of a structure.

“Revetment” means a facing of stone, concrete, or
similar material built to protect a shore, or shore structure
against erosion by wave action or currents.

“Roadway” means any improved (hot-mix
bituminous concrete or Portland cement concrete) public
roadway (maintained by any governmental agency for use by
the general public) in existence on the effective date of these
Regulations.

“Sand Fence” means a barrier made of posts, wires
and boards or synthetic materials including plastic, nylon
and polyester intended primarily to trap and collect wind-
blown sand, but which may also be used to channel human
and vehicular traffic.

“Seawall” means an upright structure separating
land and water areas, primarily designed to prevent erosion
and other damage to upland areas due to wave action. A
seawall is generally of heavier or more massive construction
than a bulkhead.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control.

“Shoreline” means the line of intersection of a
body of water with the land.

“Structure” means any building, pipeline, dock,
pier, wharf, boat ramp, groin, jetty, seawall, bulkhead,
revetment, or any other piece of work artificially built.

“Subdivide” means the lawful division of any
parcel of land into smaller parcels.

“Substantial Amount” means any amount, the
moving, alteration, or removal of which could significantly
increase danger of erosion, storm, damage or flooding.

“Substantial Change” means any alteration in the
existing characteristics of the beach, as determined by the
Secretary, that could significantly increase the danger of
erosion, storm damage or flooding and including the
moving, digging, or removal of beach material or the
erection of any permanent of semi-permanent structure.

2.0 Administrative Principles
2.1  Purpose, Application of Current and Earlier

Regulations. The primary purpose of these Regulations is to

enhance, protect, and preserve public and private beaches of
the State through a permit and letter of approval process.
These current Regulations shall not apply to any project for
which a valid letter of approval, permit, or extension of the
same has been issued by the Division prior to the effective
date of these Regulations. However, those provisions of the
Department's regulations that governed beach protection and
the use of beaches that were in effect prior to the effective
date of these current Regulations shall apply to the projects,
permits and letters of approval that were authorized or issued
before the effective date of these Regulations.

2.2 Approval Requirement
2.2.1No person shall commence or conduct

construction for which approval is required under these
Regulations (see 4.0) unless and until a letter of approval or
the proper permit has been issued.

2.3  Department Exemption
2.3.1The Department shall be subject to all the rules

and requirements of these Regulations, except that in the
performance of its erosion control duties pursuant to the
authority granted by the Beach Preservation Act of 1972
(Title 7, Del.C. Ch. 68), the Department shall be exempt
from the permit requirements of these Regulations. The
Department shall, however, still be subject to any substantive
standards and guidelines generally applicable to the
construction and placement of shore protection structures
and facilities.

2.4  Extensions for Letter of Approval or Permit
2.4.1These Regulations shall not apply to any

project for which a valid letter of approval, permit, or
extension of same has been issued by the Division, prior to
the effective date of these Regulations. After the effective
date of these Regulations no extension shall be granted for a
letter of approval or permit issued prior to the effective date
of these Regulations. Any letter of approval or permit which
was issued without specific time limits has become null and
void if construction has not been initiated within one year or
completed within two years from August 13, 1981.

2.4.2An extension to the time limits of a permit or
letter of approval that was issued after the effective date of
these Regulations may be granted by the Division. Before
any such extension may be granted, the person who was
issued the letter of approval or permit shall submit a written
request for the extension. The written request must be
received by the Division at least fifteen (15) days prior to the
expiration date of the letter of approval or permit and shall
contain a detailed explanation of why the extension is
necessary, and the date when the project will be completed.
In determining whether such an extension will be granted the
Division may consider the following: (1) whether reasonable
progress is being made toward completion of the project; and
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(2) any changes that may have occurred in state, federal and
local laws, regulations, rules, requirements or administrative
policy, which are contrary to aspects of the project that had
been originally approved by the Division. In lieu of an
extension of the time limits in a letter of approval or permit,
the Division may require a person to reapply for a letter of
approval or a permit if the Division determines that the facts
and circumstances relating to a previously approval project
require a re-evaluation by the Division.

2.5 Construction Setback Lines - Prior Approvals
2.5.1At those locations where dune reconstruction

has been approved by permit prior to the effective date of
these Regulations and a construction setback line mutually
agreed upon in writing between an owner/developer and the
Division to be the landward toe of the reconstructed dune,
that agreed upon line shall prevail over the current Building
Line for the purposes of initial construction of a structure
upon each affected parcel. Any subsequent additions to, or
replacements of, the initially approved structure shall be
subject to the Building Line as established pursuant to these
Regulations and the appropriate sections thereof. Regardless
of the developmental status of the parcels affected by this
Section, all construction activities shall be subject to the
Building Line upon its future re-establishment pursuant to
Section 2.13 of these Regulations.

2.6 Maintenance, Repairs, and Emergency Action
2.6.1 Except as otherwise provided in Section 2.6.2

and 2.6.3, any Person intending to commence any
maintenance or repair work on any structure located in part
or entirely seaward of the Building Line, shall apply in
writing to the Division for a letter of approval or a permit.
No person shall commence such maintenance or repair work
until after being issued a letter of approval or a permit by the
Division. (See also the provisions of 3.0 - Prohibited
Activities and 4.0 - Activities Requiring a Permit or Letter of
Approval from the Division).

2.6.2 The provisions of Section 2.6.1 shall not
apply where maintenance or repair work on a structure
located in part or entirely seaward of the Building Line is
undertaken pursuant to the following limitations or causes:

2.6.2.1 Where a building is involved, and the
location of the finished maintenance or repair work is at or
above the lowest living floor.

2.6.2.2  The maintenance or repair work is to
a structure, and is necessary because of damage being caused
to the structure by some means other than wave action, a
flood or erosion.

2.6.2.3  In the event of an extreme
emergency, or warning thereof, which may involve grave
and imminent danger of substantial property loss and/or
personal injuries (e.g., an impending coastal storm), a person

may perform work on a structure that is related to the
protection of persons and said structure. However, before a
person can commence any such emergency protection work,
the person owning the structure on which such work shall be
performed, or any agent thereof, shall contact the Division to
request approval to perform the emergency protection work.
The Division's approval or disapproval may be given to the
owner, or agent thereof, either orally or in writing. After the
emergency, or emergency warning period, the Division may
require the removal of any emergency protection work
performed pursuant to the provisions of this Section.

2.7 Restoration or Reconstruction After Destruction
2.7.1If a structure located seaward of the Building

Line is completely destroyed, no person shall undertake any
restoration or reconstruction of the destroyed structure
before the Division issues the person a permit or letter of
approval pursuant to the procedures set forth in 4.0 of these
Regulations.

2.8 Siting Requirements for Construction and
Reconstruction of Structures

2.8.1If a structure is to be either constructed or
reconstructed following the complete destruction of the
original structure, and such a structure does not have to be
located seaward of the Building Line in order to achieve its
intended purpose pursuant to Section 3.01 (a)(4) of these
Regulations, then such a structure shall be required to be
located entirely landward of the Building Line. However, if
the Division determines that there is inadequate space
available entirely landward of the Building Line for the
construction or reconstruction of a completely destroyed
structure, said constructed or
reconstructed structure shall be physically located as far
landward as possible on the parcel of real property in
question, taking into consideration all Federal, State and
local laws, rules, regulations, and zoning and building
ordinances.

2.9 Other Requirements and Approvals
2.9.1A person who is issued a permit or letter of

approval by the Division pursuant to these Regulations is not
exempted from obtaining any other permit or approval
required by Federal, State or local laws, rules, regulations,
and building and zoning ordinances.

2.10General Permit Considerations
2.10.1 The Division, in considering applications,

shall take into account the geology, geomorphology,
meteorology and hydraulics of the area. 

2.11Sole Jurisdiction
2.11.1 All structures, devices and facilities for the

enhancement, preservation or protection of beaches shall be
under the sole jurisdiction of the Department. None of these
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shall be changed in any way except as provided in these
Regulations.

2.12Building Line Format
2.12.1 The Building Line shall be shown on

topographic maps at a scale of one (1) inch equals fifty (50)
feet for all shoreline areas of Delaware Bay and the Atlantic
Ocean Coast from, and including, Pickering Beach to the
Delaware-Maryland line at Fenwick Island, where privately
owned structures, either existing or potential, may be
affected by the establishment of the Building Line. The
Building Line shall be shown as a series of straight lines
connected together at points whose locations are identified
by reference to the Delaware State Plane Coordinate System.
No point shall be located more than 500 feet from an
adjoining point.

2.13Building Line Re-established
2.13.1 When, in the opinion of the Secretary,

storms or other natural phenomena cause a substantial
permanent change in the seaward contour used to establish
the Building Line, the Division may, following public
hearing, re-establish the Building Line from information
provided by topographic
survey. 

2.14Re-establishment Effects on Lot Status
2.14.1 Re-establishment of the Building Line

may place parcels of land, lawfully subdivided after the
effective date of these Regulations, in a position of having
insufficient space to construct a structure landward of the
newly established Building Line. These parcels shall be
subject to the appropriate permit requirements of 4.0.

2.15Savings Clause
2.15.1 If any provision of these Regulations, or

the application of such provision to any person or
circumstances, is held invalid, the remainder of these
Regulations, and the application of such provision to persons
or circumstances other than those to which it shall have been
held invalid, shall not be affected.

3.0 Prohibited Activities
3.1 Construction Seaward of the Building Line

3.1.1No person shall commence the construction of
any structure, or portion thereof, seaward of the Building
Line on any parcel of real property, except where one or
more of the following conditions exist:

3.1.1.1 The Division has made a
determination during the permit application processing stage
that the size of the area of the parcel of real property located
landward of the Building Line is inadequate for construction
of the proposed structure or a portion thereof. However, the
Division's determination as to the adequacy of the area of the
parcel of land located landward of the Building Line, or as to

any modification or redesign shall not conflict with any
Federal, County or local laws, regulations, or planning,
zoning and building ordinances.

3.1.1.2 That the dimensions and location of
the structure, or portions thereof, as proposed and other
design aspects of the proposed construction project,
including, but not limited to, parking lots and landscaping,
cannot be modified or redesigned in order to have the final
structure or portion thereof located either less seaward or
completely landward of the Building Line. (See 5.0 Section
5.3.2 for further explanation of what the Division will
examine when a permit application is processed and whether
or not the proposed structure, or portion thereof, may have to
be modified or redesigned). However, the Division's
determination as to the adequacy of the area of the parcel of
land located landward of the Building Line, or as to any
modification or redesign shall not conflict with any Federal,
County or local laws, regulations or planning, zoning and
building ordinances. (Note that this exception shall not apply
if the provisions of 3.1.1 are applicable to the parcel of land
in issue.)

3.1.1.3 Whenever a deck is being constructed
along with a new building, and said deck is located at or
above the lowest living floor of the building, said deck is
also making use of the foundation of said building and said
deck shall not extend beyond the most seaward point of any
lawfully constructed building or deck of a similar nature that
is already existing on any immediately
adjacent parcel of real property located within the same
subdivision as the parcel of real property on which the
building or deck is proposed.

3.1.1.4 The Division has made a written
determination that the proposed structure, or a portion
thereof, must be located seaward of the Building Line on a
parcel of land in order that the intended purpose of the
structure, or a portion thereof, will be achieved. The
provisions of this Section and subsection may apply to the
following types of structures: pipelines, docks, piers,
wharves, boat ramps, and other harbor structures, as well as
other types of structures that have the purpose of protecting
the beach or shore, preventing beach erosion, and carrying
out the purposes of the Act and the Regulations. However,
for purposes of this Section and subsection, a building, patio,
deck, swimming pool, carport or similar type of structure
shall not be considered by the Division as being the type of
structure that must be located seaward of the Building Line
on a parcel of land in order to achieve the intended purpose
of the structure. The Division may require that these latter
types of structures, or portions thereof, be constructed
landward of the Building Line, or not constructed at all.
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3.1.2Except as provided in subsections 3.1.1.3 and
3.1.1.4 of these Regulations, no person shall construct any
structure, or portion thereof, on any parcel of real property,
or portion thereof, that is located seaward of the Building
Line whenever the following facts and circumstances exist:

3.1.2.1 The parcel of real property, or a
portion thereof, on which a proposed structure, or portion
thereof, would be constructed, was subdivided from a large
parcel of real property after August 13, 1981. In addition, at
the time said parcel of real property, or portion thereof, was
subdivided from a larger parcel of real property, construction
of a structure, or portion thereof, would not have been
approved by the Division because the size of the area
landward of the Building Line on the smaller subdivided
parcel of real property was inadequate. (See Section 2.14 and
4.0 of the Regulations.)

3.1.3The provisions of 3.0 of the Regulations have
provided for certain exceptions to the general prohibition
against construction seaward of the Building Line. However,
prior to the commencement of any construction of any
structure, or portion thereof, that is included within one or
more of the exceptions set forth in said 3.0, the owner of the
proposed structure or portion thereof shall apply to the
Division for a permit pursuant to the provision set forth in
Section 4.5 of the Regulations. The permit application will
be processed pursuant to procedures set forth in 5.0 of the
Regulations. 

3.2 Modification or Expansion of Structures Seaward
of the Building Line

3.2.1Before any person shall commence
construction of any modification or expansion pursuant to
the provisions of this Section, said person shall apply for and
be issued a letter of approval or a permit from the Division.

3.2.2 A person is prohibited from modifying or
expanding any structure, or portion thereof, seaward of the
Building Line, including those structures, or portions
thereof, that were (1) constructed prior to the effective date
of these Regulations, or (2) were constructed pursuant to the
provisions of Section 2.4 of these Regulations, unless one or
more of the following exceptions apply to the proposed
modification or expansion at issue:

3.2.2.1 The provisions of 3.1.1.4 should be
applied to the proposed modification or expansion because
the intended purpose of the structure, or portion thereof, that
is to be modified or expanded must be achieved. A permit
shall be required for work under this Section. See 4.0 of
these Regulations.

3.2.2.2 The modification or expansion
consists of only a deck located at or above the lowest living
floor of a building, and the modification or expansion makes
use of the foundation of said building that existed prior to

said modification or expansion. However, any deck or
portion thereof, that is modified or expanded pursuant to any
provision of this Section shall not extend beyond the most
seaward point of any lawfully constructed building or deck
of a similar nature that is already existing on any
immediately adjacent parcel of real property that is located
within the same subdivision as the parcel of real property on
which the modification or expansion is proposed. A letter of
approval shall be required for work under this Section. See
4.0 of these Regulations.

3.3 Other Activities
3.3.1The following activities are prohibited:

3.3.1.1 The operation of any motorized
vehicle or machine on, over or across the primary dune on
any State-owned beach except at those locations specified by
the Department for such use (see current State Parks Rules
and Regulations for additional rules);

3.3.1.2 Pedestrian traffic on, over or across
the primary dune on any State-owned beach except at those
locations specified by the Department for such use;

3.3.1.3 The alteration, moving or removal of
any facility, improvement or structure installed or
maintained by the Department for enhancement,
preservation or protection of any beach; and

3.3.1.4 The damaging, destruction or removal
of any trees, shrubbery, beachgrass or other vegetation
growing on any State-owned or maintained beach seaward of
the Building Line.

4.0 Activities Requiring a Permit or Letter of Approval 
from the Division

4.1 General Rule
4.1.1No permit shall be issued for any activity

prohibited by any provision of the Regulations. Procedures
for processing applications are set forth in 5.0 of the
Regulations.

4.2 Permit Application; Fee
4.2.1Any person applying for a permit pursuant to

the provisions of 4.0 of the Regulations must apply to the
Division on an application form provided by the Division.
Any person submitting a permit application form to the
Division pursuant to the provisions of 4.0 of the Regulations
shall at the same time submit an application fee of $150.00
for each permit application.

4.3 Construction of Beach Erosion Control or Shore
Protection Structures or Facilities Seaward of the Building
Line

4.3.1No person shall commence or conduct,
without a permit therefor from the Division, construction of
any structure or facility on any beach seaward of the
Building Line, the primary function of which is beach
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erosion control or shore protection including, but not limited
to, groins, jetties, seawalls, revetments, dikes, bulkheads,
and beach nourishment; except that ordinary dune
maintenance, as determined by the Division, including the
proper installation of sand fence and the planting and
fertilization of stabilizing vegetation, shall not require a
permit.

4.4 Construction of Pipelines or Harbor Works Seaward
of the Building Line

4.4.1No person shall commence or conduct without
a permit therefor from the Division, construction seaward of
the Building Line, or any pipeline, dock, pier, wharf, ramp or
other harbor work.

4.5 Construction of a Structure Seaward of the Building
Line; Permits; Exception for Beach Access Structures

4.5.1Except as provided pursuant to the provisions
of Sections 4.3, 4.4, or 4.5.3 of the Regulations, before any
person commences the construction of any structure, or
portion thereof, that would be located seaward of the
Building Line, said person must have been issued a permit
for the construction by the Division.

4.5.2Before any permit is issued by the Division
pursuant to Section 4.5.1 of the Regulations for the
construction of any structure, or portion thereof, seaward of
the Building Line, the person applying for the permit must
provide the Division with written documentation that the
proposed structure, or portion thereof, will be constructed in
accordance with Division requirements relating to location
and design criteria, which are intended to prevent or
minimize any damage to the beach, and also all the
provisions of the Act and the Regulations. 

4.5.3A person is not required to follow the
requirements of Section 4.5.1 or 4.5.2 if a person intends to
construct a structure, or portion thereof, that is going to be
used only for the purpose of providing pedestrian access to
and from the berm and foreshore across the dune zone.
However, before any person commences the construction for
such a beach access structure, or any portion thereof, that
would be located seaward of the Building Line, said person
must have been issued a letter of approval for the
construction by the Division. A person may receive said
letter of approval after applying to the Division on an
application form that shall be made available by the
Division. The Division shall process said application form
pursuant to the procedures set forth in the provisions of
Section 4.8 of the Regulations.

4.6 Other Activities Seaward of the Building Line
4.6.1No person shall commence or conduct any of

the following activities on any beach without a permit
therefor from the Division: the alteration, digging, mining,
moving, removal or deposition of any substantial amount of

beach or other materials, or the significant removal of
vegetation on any beach seaward of the Building Line which
may affect enhancement, preservation or protection of
beaches.

4.7 Mitigating Measures
4.7.1In rendering its decision on requests for

permits and letters of approval pursuant to these
Regulations, the Division shall make a determination
regarding the potential adverse effects of the proposed
structure or activity. If, in the opinion of the Division the
potential for damage to the beach seaward of the Building
Line is increased as a result of the proposed structure or
activity, the Division may require the applicant to take
mitigating measures (including, but not limited to beach
nourishment, dune construction, and/or dune maintenance)
to reduce such damage potential. When the Division requires
such mitigating measures, the applicant, his successors, heirs
and assigns, shall be required to maintain these measures for
the life of the structure or activity. Failure to comply with the
mitigating measures prescribed by the Division shall be
cause for removal of the structure or termination of the
activity and restoration of the beach, as nearly as possible, to
its original condition at the expense of those persons owning
the structure or conducting the activity, or for the Division to
take the necessary actions to bring the owner into
compliance and to place a lien on such property for all
reasonable costs and expenses incurred by the Division,
whichever action the Division deems most appropriate.

4.8 Construction Activities Landward of the Building
Line and Within the Beach Area

4.8.1No person shall commence or conduct
construction of any structure or the alteration, digging,
mining, moving, removal or disposition of any substantial
amount of beach or other materials landward of the Building
Line and within the beach area without a letter of approval
from the Division. To obtain the written approval, the
applicant shall furnish to the Division a completed
application on forms available from the Division.

4.8.2Upon receipt of an application for approval,
the Division shall consider the effect of the proposed project
on beach enhancement, preservation and protection. The
Division may undertake any investigation or activity it
deems necessary to carry out the purposes of this Act. If the
Division determines such a project may have a substantial
effect on beach enhancement, preservation and protection,
the applicant shall be directed to follow the procedures for
obtaining a permit applicable under 4.0. The Division shall
make a decision on the application that may include terms
and conditions which it determines will best implement the
purposes of the Act and these Regulations. The Division
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shall give written notice with reasons for the decision to the
applicant.

5.0 Procedures for Processing Permit Applications
5.1 The Division

5.1.1Applications shall be considered and permits
issued or denied by the Division in accordance with the
purposes and intent of the Act and these Regulations.

5.2 Notice
5.2.1Upon receipt of a permit application in proper

form, the Division shall advertise in a daily newspaper of
state-wide circulation and in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed:

5.2.1.1 That the application has been
received;

5.2.1.2  A brief description of the nature of
the application; and

5.2.1.3 That comments will be received for
15 calendar days by the Division regarding the application.

5.2.2The Division shall also mail notice of the
above to all adjacent property-owners as listed in the permit
application, and make the application available for public
inspection at the Dover office of the Division. A decision
shall not be rendered on any permit application until at least
20 calendar days after notice has been published and mailed
to adjacent property owners, and the application has been
made available for public inspection, in accordance with this
Section.

5.3 Specific Information to be Examined by the
Division; Investigatory Authority of the Division and Its
Agents; Authority of Division to Require Special Conditions
or Modifications

5.3.1In addition to the general categories of
information that are provided for pursuant to Section 2.10 of
the Regulations whenever the Division is deciding to issue a
Permit pursuant to the Regulations, the Division shall take
into consideration any relevant information relating to the
following:

5.3.1.1 Any comments received by the
Division;

5.3.1.2 The effect of the proposed construction
on shoreline recession, beach erosion, flooding, and
potential damage to the parcel of real property that is the
subject of the permit application, and potential damage to
any other parcel of real property, public lands, or personal
property;

5.3.1.3 The feasibility of alternative protection
from storm damage that may be available;

5.3.1.4 The historical average rate of shoreline
change for the general area nearby and including the parcel
of real property that is the subject of the permit application;

5.3.1.5 The design modifications which may
mitigate the impact of the proposed construction on the part
of the beach that is located seaward of the Building Line (see
Section 5.3 (b) below for further information); and

5.3.1.6 Any other factors or information that
the Division determines to be relevant to the subject matter
of the permit and carrying out the purposes and intent of the
Regulations and the Act.

5.3.2 In determining if the Division shall require
that the dimensions or location of a proposed structure, or
portion thereof, or other design aspects are to be modified or
redesigned pursuant to the provisions of Section 3.1.1.2, the
Division, in addition to what is required in Sections 2.10 and
5.3.1, shall balance the actual and potential hardships or
benefits that may be experienced by the person owning the
structure or portion thereof against the actual and potential
hardships or benefits that the State, the public and adjacent
landowners may experience. The Division while carrying
out the balancing test may take into consideration the
following factors:

5.3.2.1 The purposes and provisions of the
Act and the Regulations;

5.3.2.2 The likelihood and amount of actual,
or potential for, expenditures of federal and state revenues
for maintaining, repairing or restoring the parcel of real
property prior to construction, after construction and after
any natural disaster (e.g. storm);

5.3.2.3 The protection of the State, the public
and any adjacent landowners from actual and potential
financial and property loss;

5.3.2.4 The actual and potential financial or
personal losses to the owner of the structure or portion
thereof;

5.3.2.5 The feasibility of any modification or
redesign required by the Division, keep in mind any
increased or decreased costs, in achieving the purpose and
function of the structure or portion thereof as originally
planned;

5.3.2.6 Any design alternatives or
amendments to the original designs submitted to the
Division by the owner of the proposed structure or portion
thereof; and

5.3.2.7 Any other factor the Division
determines to be relevant.

5.3.3The Division or Department, and any agents
thereof, may do any of the following acts while attempting to
carry out the purposes and intent of the Regulations and the
Act, or while processing an application for a permit or
request for a letter of approval:
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 5, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS746
5.3.3.1 Make on-site inspections of any type
of structure, or portion thereof, or any real property regulated
by the provisions of the Regulations or the Act.

5.3.3.2 Communicate with any party to
discuss any matter relating to the Regulations or the Act.

5.3.3.3 Undertake formal or informal
investigations or activities as are necessary to carry out the
propose and intent of the Regulations and the Act.

5.3.4In addition to the provisions of Section 4.7 of
the Regulations, the Division may establish special permit
conditions, and/or require modification of any proposed
structure or activity in order to (1) prevent increased erosion
damage to the parcel of real property in issue, nearby parcels
or real property, or public lands, and/or (2) reduce public
expenditures for beach protection.

5.4 Decision
5.4.1The Division shall make a decision on the

application which it determines will best implement the
purposes of the Act and these Regulations. The Division
shall give written notice with reasons to the applicant, to
adjacent property owners as listed in the permit application
and to other
persons who have requested that they be notified of the
decision on that application.

6.0 Appeal From the Division's Decision
6.1 Activity Pending Appeal

6.1.1The applicant shall not commence any activity
regulated under 4.0 until such time as a final determination
has been rendered on the matter and the appeal period has
expired without an appeal having been taken, or, if appealed,
the appeal process has been exhausted.

6.2 Procedures
6.2.1Any person or persons, jointly or severally, or

any taxpayer, or any officer, department, board or bureau of
the state, aggrieved by any decision of the Division, many
appeal to the Secretary by giving written notice of appeal to
the Secretary, and to the applicant if other than the appellant.
Such notice shall be by certified or registered mail within
twenty (20) calendar days of the Division's decision, and
shall specify: (1) the interest of the appellant; (2) the basis of
the appeal; and (3) the specific law(s), regulation(s) or other
legal authority(ies) alleged to have been violated by the
Division's decision. A public hearing may be held on any
such appeal, upon request, whenever the Secretary deems the
hearing request meritorious. A request for a public hearing
shall be deemed meritorious when the appeal is not frivolous
and the notice of appeal exhibits a reasonable familiarity
with the Division's decision. The public hearing shall be
conducted as follows:

6.2.1.1 For any hearing on an application,
notification shall be served upon the applicant as summonses
are served or by registered or certified mail not less than
twenty (20) calendar days before the time of said hearing.
Notice shall also be published in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the activity is proposed
and in a daily newspaper of general circulation throughout
the State not less than twenty (20) calendar days before the
time of said hearing.

6.2.1.2 The appellant may appear personally
or be represented by counsel at the hearing and produce any
competent evidence in his behalf. The Secretary or his
authorized designee may administer oaths, examine
witnesses, and issue, in the name of the Department, notices
of hearings or subpoenas requiring the testimony of
witnesses and production of books, records or other
documents relevant to any matter involved in such hearing.

6.2.1.3 A verbatim transcript of testimony at
the hearing shall be prepared and shall, along with the
exhibits and other documents introduced by the Secretary or
other parties, constitute the record. The Secretary or his
authorized designee shall make findings of fact based on the
record. The Secretary shall then enter an order that will best
further the purposes of the Act and these Regulations, and
the order shall include reasons. The Secretary shall promptly
give written notice of the order to parties who participated in
the hearing.

7.0 Appeal From the Secretary's Decision
7.1 Appeal Procedure

7.1.1Any person or persons, jointly or severally, or
any taxpayer, or other officer, department, board or bureau of
the State, aggrieved by a final order of the Secretary may,
within thirty (30) calendar days, appeal to the Superior Court
as provided in 7 Del.C. §6803(g).

8.0 Cease and Desist Orders, Violations and Penalties
8.1  Cease and Desist Orders

8.1.1The Secretary shall have the power to issue a
cease and desist order to any person who violates any
provision of the Act or Regulations. Any such cease and
desist order shall expire (1) after thirty (30) days from the
date of its issuance, or (2) upon withdrawal of said order by
the Secretary, or (3) when the order is superseded by an
injunction, whichever occurs first.

8.2 Violations and Penalties
8.2.1Any person who violates any provision of the

Act, or Regulations, or violates a cease and desist order of
the Secretary, shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than
$5,000 or imprisoned for not more than two (2) years, or
both, and, in addition, shall reimburse the Department for its
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reasonable expenditures in remedying damage created.
8.3 Jurisdiction

8.3.3Justices of the Peace shall have original
jurisdiction to hear and determine violations under this
Section. 

9.0 Procedures for Adoption of Changes to the 
Regulations

9.1 Hearing
9.1.1The Secretary, or his authorized designee,

shall hold a public hearing on any changes to the Regulations
that he shall propose for adoption. For a hearing on the
proposed changes to the Regulations, notification shall be
published in a newspaper of general circulation in each
county of the State and in a daily newspaper of general
circulation throughout the State. Such notification shall
include (1) a brief description of the proposed changes to the
Regulations, (2) the time and place of the hearing, and (3)
the time and place where copies of the proposed changes
may be examined and/or obtained. Such notice shall also be
sent to any person who has requested notification from the
Department by providing their name and mailing address.

9.2 Decision
9.2.1Following the public hearing, the Secretary

may adopt, with or without modifications, the proposed
changes to the Regulations. This adoption shall be a final
order for purposes of 7.0.

1.0 Introductory Provisions
1.1 Purpose. The purpose of these Regulations is to

enhance, protect, and preserve public and private beaches of
the State, to mitigate beach erosion and to minimize storm
damage through a Permit and Letter of Approval process.
The beach provides the benefits of a unique recreational
area, storm protection and a natural buffer between the water
and upland areas. The guiding principle of these Regulations
is that construction activities be limited within the beach to
areas landward of the dune protection zone. These
Regulations prohibit certain activities and require Permits or
Letters of Approval for other activities within the beach area.

1.2 Sole Jurisdiction. Authority to enhance, preserve
and protect public and private beaches within the State is
vested solely in the Department.

1.3 Application of Current and Earlier Regulations.
Activities currently authorized by a Permit or Letter of
Approval will continue to be governed by the terms of the
Permit or Letter of Approval.

2.0. Definitions
As used in these Regulations, the following terms shall

have the meanings indicated below:

“Act” means the Beach Preservation Act, 7 Del.C.
Chapter 68 and amendments made thereto.

“Amenity” is a structure or man made element,
including but not limited to swimming pools, tennis courts,
patio furniture, that enhances the property's attractiveness
and or  increases the occupant's or user's satisfaction
although the feature is not essential to the property’s use.

“Base Flood Elevation” The elevation of the 1%
annual chance “One Hundred Year” flood, as determined by
the Federal Emergency Management Agency for use in the
National Flood Insurance Program.

“Beach” means that area from the Delaware/Maryland
line at Fenwick Island to the Old Marina Canal immediately
north of Pickering Beach, which extends from the mean high
water line of the Atlantic Ocean and Delaware Bay landward
1,000 feet and seaward 2,500 feet, respectively, and along
the perimeter of Rehoboth, Indian River, Little Assawoman
and Assawoman Bays (excluding tributaries) which extend
from the mean high water line landward 200 feet and
bayward 300 feet, respectively.
 “Beach Enhancement” means the process of
improving or increasing the recreational and/or protection
value of a beach.

“Beach Erosion” or ‘Erosion’ is the wearing away of a
beach by water or the elementsnatural forces such as wave
action and currents.

“Beach Nourishment” means the process of
replenishing a beach with material (usually sand) obtained
from another location by mechanical, hydraulic or other
means.

“Beach Preservation” or 'beach erosion control' or
'erosion control' is the protection and control of the beach
by the conduct and regulation of work and activities likely to
affect the physical condition of the beach or shore, and
includes, but is not limited to, erosion control, hurricane
protection, coastal flood control, shoreline and offshore
rehabilitation.

“Beach Protection” means the process of preventing
the decrease of recreational and/or storm protection values of
a beach.

“Beach Zone” means the area extending seaward from
the seaward toe of the primary dune (vegetation line) or
bulkhead line, as shown on the Department’s Coastal
Vulnerability Assessment Maps.

“Building” means any roofed and walled structure built
for temporary or permanent or semi-permanent use.

“Building Line” means a line generally paralleling the
coast, seaward of which construction of any kind shall be
prohibited without a Permit or Letter of Approval from the
Department.  The Building Line shall be set forth on maps
prepared by the Department with reference to the National
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Geodetic Vertical Datum, the Delaware State Plane
Coordinate System, and topographic surveys. Within the
corporate limits of Rehoboth Beach and Bethany Beach, in
commercial areas containing boardwalks and where no
natural dune exists, the Building Line shall be along the
westerly edge of the boardwalk.

“Bulkhead” means a vertical structure or partition built
parallel or nearly parallel to the shoreline, with return walls,
designed primarily to retain or prevent land from sliding and,
secondarily, to protect upland areas from beach erosion and
damage from wave action. A bulkhead is generally of lighter
construction thant a seawall.

“Construction” includes any work or activity which
that is likely to have a substantial changematerial physical
effect on existing coastal conditions or natural shore and
inlet processes.  Construction as used in these Regulations
shall also include reconstruction, restoration, repair,
alteration, replacement and placement if said terms are not
otherwise included for clarification.

“Department” means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control.

“Dune” means a mound, hill or ridge of windblown
sand, either bare or covered with vegetation, naturally or
artificially accumulated.

“Dune Crossover” means any structure or
improvement constructed or installed for the primary
purpose of obtaining or facilitating pedestrian or vehicular
access across the primary coastal dune.

“Erosion/Wave Zone” means the area extending
landward from the seaward toe of the primary dune or
bulkhead line to the landward limit of storm-induced erosion
as shown on the Department’s Coastal Vulnerability
Assessment Maps. This zone is characterized by dune
erosion, significant profile lowering, damaging waves and
high velocity flows.

“Expansion” means the enlargement of a structure, or
portion thereof, (see Structure definition).

“Flood Zone” means the area extending to the
landward limit of stillwater flooding or to the landward limit
of wave overtopping, whichever is more landward as shown
on the Department’s Coastal Vulnerability Assessment
Maps.

“Geology” means the relationship of the earth and the
materials of which it is composed, to the changes which it
has undergone, is undergoing, or is likely to undergo.

“Geomorphology” means the form and general
configuration of the earth's surface and the changes that take
place in the evolution of land forms.

“Groin” means a shore protection structure constructed
(usually perpendicular to the shoreline) to retard erosion of
an existing beach by trapping littoral drift.

“Lowest Living Floor” means the lowest portion of the
lowest horizontal support member of the lowest enclosed
space used for living purposes, which includes working,
sleeping, eating, cooking, or combination thereof.  A floor
used only for storage shall not be considered a living floor.

“Maintenance” means any work aimed at keeping a
structure in an efficient operating and usable condition.
Maintenance does not mean expansion or modification of a
structure. Maintenance does not mean changing the general
form or extension of the structure.

“Material Physical Effect” means, including but not
limited to, any alteration to the existing characteristics of the
beach that could significantly increase the danger of erosion,
storm damage or flooding and includes the moving, digging,
or removal of beach material or the erection of any
temporary or permanent structure.

“Modification” means a change in the form of a
structure.

“North American Vertical Datum (NAVD)” means a
fixed reference adopted by the U. S. Government as a
standard geodetic datum for vertical elevations.

“Parcel of Real Property” means any land owned by
one or more persons, the boundaries of which are set forth in
a single deed, series of deeds, or similar document.

“Person” means any individual, partnership,
corporation, association, institution, cooperative enterprise,
municipality, commission, political subdivision, or duly
established legal entity.

“Primary Dune” means that dune which roughly
parallels the shoreline in a more or less continuous fashion
and is generally the first and largest dune encountered
moving landward from the shoreline.

“Private Beach” means any beach which is not a public
beach as defined in the Act.

“Public Beach” means any beach owned in fee simple
by the Federal or State government or any county, city, town
or municipality; or any beach for which the State has
obtained an easement or agreement for public use.

“Regulations” unless stated otherwise, means the
Regulations Governing Beach Protection and the Use of
Beaches, promulgated pursuant to the Beach Preservation
Act, 7 Del.C. Chapter 68 and amendments made thereto.

“Repair” means the act of restoring a structure to good
condition after it has been damaged or deteriorated by any
cause.  Repair does not mean expansion or modification of a
structure.

“Revetment” means a non-vertical facing of stone,
concrete, or similar material built to protect a shore, or shore
structure against erosion by wave action or currents and
having a specific engineered design.
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“Sand Fence” means a barrier made of posts, wires and
wood slats (1/2" thick or less by 1-1/2" wide or less) or
synthetic materials including flexible plastic, nylon and
polyester intended primarily to trap and collect wind-blown
sand, but which may also be used to channel human and
vehicular traffic.

“Seawall” means an upright structure separating land
and water areas, primarily designed to prevent erosion and
other damage to upland areas due to wave action.  A seawall
is generally of heavier or more massive construction than a
bulkhead.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control.

“Shoreline” means the line of intersection of a body of
water with the land.

“Smallest Subsets of Lots” means smallest identifiable
set of lots that exist within a subdivision or community
separated by either dedicated public walkways, roads, or
subdivision boundaries. If there are no roads or walkways
separating sections within a subdivision, then the smallest
set of lots shall be limited to 7 lots.

“Structure” means any building, deck, walkway,
pipeline, dock, pier, wharf, boat ramp, groin, jetty, seawall,
bulkhead, revetment, or any other piece of work artificially
built or placed.

“Substantial Amount” means any amount of material,
the moving, alteration, or removal of which could
significantly increase danger of erosion, storm damage or
flooding.

“Substantial Damage” means damage of any origin
sustained by a structure whereby the cost of restoring the
structure to its before damaged condition would equal or
exceed 50 percent of the market value of the structure before
the damage occurred.

“Substantial Improvement” means any repair,
reconstruction, or improvement of a structure, the cost of
which equals or exceeds 50 percent of the market value of
the structure either before the improvement is started, or, if
the structure is damaged and is being restored, before the
damage occurred.

“Temporary Structure” means any portable and easily
removable non-habitable building, shed, ramp, steps or
walkway that can be easily removed from the site within a
short time frame using minimal equipment and/or man
power.

“Wave/Overwash Zone” means the area extending
from the landward limit of the Erosion/Wave Zone to a point
indicated by calculations and/or historic overwash
penetration as shown on the Department’s Coastal
Vulnerability Assessment Maps. This zone is characterized

by one or more of the following: damaging waves, high
velocity flows and deposition of overwash sediments.

3.0 Permit and Letter of Approval Application 
Procedures

3.1 General Rules
The Department shall consider and review all

Permit and Letter of Approval applications and they shall be
approved or denied in accordance with the Act and these
Regulations. No Permit or Letter of Approval shall be issued
for any activity prohibited by any provision of the Act or
these Regulations.

3.2 Application Fees
Any person applying for a Permit or Letter of

Approval pursuant to these Regulations must apply to the
Department on an application form provided by the
Department and shall, at the same time, submit the required
application fee.

3.3 Mitigating Measures
Applications for Permits and Letters of Approval

shall incorporate all reasonable means and methods to avoid
or minimize any adverse impacts of the proposed activity.
These measures shall be implemented at the applicant's
expense and may include actions that will (1) avoid or
minimize any adverse impacts of the proposal; (2) restore the
affected environment; or (3) compensate for the adverse
impacts by replacing or providing substitute resources.

In rendering its decision on requests for Permits and
Letters of Approval pursuant to these Regulations, the
Department shall makede a determination regarding the
potential adverse effects of the proposed structure or activity.
If, in the opinion of the Department, the potential for damage
to the beach [seaward of the building line] is increased as a
result of the proposed structure or activity, the Department
may require the applicant to take measures (including, but
not limited to beach nourishment, dune construction, and/or
dune maintenance) to reduce such damage potential. When
the Department requires such mitigating measures, the
permit applicant shall be required to maintain these measures
for the life of the structure or activity. Failure to comply with
the mitigating measures required by the Department shall be
cause for removal of the structure or termination of the
activity and restoration of the beach.

3.4 Procedures for Processing Permit Applications
Upon receipt of a Permit application in proper

form, the Department shall post a public notice stating: a)
that the application has been received; b) a brief description
of the nature of the application; and c) that Public comments
will be received for fifteen (15) days by the Department
regarding the application.
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The Department shall also mail notice to
immediately adjacent property owners listed in the Permit
application, and make the application available for public
inspectionat the Department's Dover office. A decision shall
not be rendered on any Permit application until at least
twenty (20) calendar days after notice has been published
and mailed to adjacent property owners, and the application
has been made available for public inspection, in accordance
with this section.

3.5 Specific Information to be Considered by the
Department

Whenever the Department is deciding whether to
issue a Permit or Letter of Approval or is determining if the
Department shall require that the dimensions or location of a
proposed structure, or portion thereof, or other design
aspects are to be modified or redesigned pursuant to these
Regulations, the Department may take into account the
geology, geomorphology, meteorology, and hydraulics of the
area in addition to any other relevant information including,
but not limited, to the following:

3.5.1 Any comments received by the
Department;

3.5.2 The Act and the Regulations;
3.5.3 The effect of the proposed construction on

shoreline recession, beach erosion, flooding, and potential
damage to the parcel of property that is the subject of the
Permit application; and potential damage to any other parcel
of real property, public lands, or personal property;

3.5.4 The feasibility of alternative protection
from storm damage that may be available;

3.5.5 The historical average rate of shoreline
change for the general area nearby
and including the parcel of real property that is the subject of
the Permit application;

3.5.6 Any design modifications which may
mitigate the impact of the proposed
construction;

3.5.7 The likelihood and amount of actual, or
potential for, expenditures of federal and state revenues for
maintaining, repairing or restoring the parcel of real property
prior to construction, after construction, and after any natural
disaster;

3.5.8 The protection of the state, the public and
any adjacent landowners from actual and potential financial
and property loss;

3.5.9 The feasibility of any modification or
redesign required by the Department, keeping in mind any
increased or decreased costs, in achieving the purpose and
function of the structure or portion thereof as originally
planned;

3.5.10 Any design alternatives or amendments to
the original design submitted to the Department by the
owner of the proposed structure or portion thereof; and

3.5.11 Any other factors or information that the
Department determines to be relevant to the subject matter of
the Permit.

3.6 Department Decision.
The Department shall make a decision on the

application that may include terms and conditions that it
determines will best implement the purposes of the Act and
these Regulations. The Department shall give written notice
with reasons for the decision to the applicant.

Upon receipt of an application for a Permit or Letter
of Approval, the Department shall consider the effect of the
proposed activity on beach enhancement, preservation and
protection. The Department may undertake any investigation
or activity it deems necessary to carry out the purposes of the
Act. If the Department determines a project may have a
substantial effect on beach enhancement, preservation and
protection, the applicant shall be directed to follow the
procedures for obtaining a Permit applicable under Section
6.0. The Department may require modification of any
proposed structure or activity in order to: prevent increased
erosion damage to the property at issue, nearby parcels of
property, or public lands; reduce public expenditures for
beach protection; or prevent or reduce storm debris damage.

3.7 Department Exemptions
The Department shall not be subject to the Permit

or Letter of Approval requirements of the Act and these
Regulations in the performance of its erosion control duties.
The Department will, however, be guided by substantive
standards generally applicable to the construction and
placement of shore protection structures and facilities.

3.8 Savings Clause
If any provision of these Regulations, or the

application of such provisions to any person or set of
circumstances is held invalid, the remainder of these
Regulations and the application of such provision to persons
or circumstances other than those held invalid, shall not be
affected.

3.9. Other Requirements and Approvals
A person who is issued a Permit or Letter of

Approval by the Department pursuant to these Regulations is
not exempted from obtaining any other Permit or approval
required by Federal, State or local laws, rules, Regulations,
and building and zoning ordinances.

4.0 Building Line
The Department's objective is to confine all construction

to the area completely landward of the Building Line. The
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Building Line is intended to separate the area acceptable for
construction and the area which is not.

4.1 Location of Building Line
The Building Line shall be shown on topographic

maps prepared by the Department with reference to the
North American Vertical Datum (NAVD), and the Delaware
State Plane Coordinate System for all shoreline areas of
Delaware Bay and the Atlantic Ocean coast of Delaware
from and including, Pickering Beach to the Delaware-
Maryland line at Fenwick Island. The Building Line shall be
shown as a series of straight lines connected together at
points whose locations are identified by reference to the
Delaware State Plane Coordinate System. No point shall be
located more than five hundred (500) feet from an adjoining
point. The Building Line designated on the maps shall be
conclusive for the purpose of the Act.

4.2 Building Line Re-Established
When the Secretary determines that storms or other

natural phenomena have caused a substantial permanent
change in the seaward contour used to establish the Building
Line, the Department may, re-establish the Building Line
from information provided by topographic survey. That
Building Line shall be established using the following
formula: 

4.2.1 Along beaches extending from the
Delaware/Maryland line to the tip of Cape Henlopen - 100
feet landward of the adjusted seaward most 9-foot elevation
contour above NAVD;

4.2.2 Along beaches extending from the tip of
Cape Henlopen to Rosemary Street at the southern most
limit of Primehook Beach - 100 feet landward of the adjusted
seaward most 6-foot elevation contour above NAVD;

4.2.3 Along beaches extending from Rosemary
Street at the southernmost limit of Primehook Beach to the
Old Marina Canal north of Pickering Beach - 75 feet
landward of the adjusted seaward most 6-foot elevation
contour above NAVD.

4.3 Mapped Areas without existing Building Line
When an applicant proposes to develop a parcel of

real property which does not currently have a Building Line
established, that line shall be established for the new
development using the formula outlined in Section 4.2
above. All construction in these areas must be located
landward of the Building Line.

5.0 Activities Entirely Landward of the Building Line
No person shall commence or conduct construction,

modification, repair, expansion, reconstruction, relocation or
maintenance of any structure entirely landward of the
Building Line in the area defined as beach or conduct the
alternation, digging, mining, moving, removal or deposition

of any substantial amount of beach materials, or the
significant removal of vegetation unless and until a Permit or
Letter of Approval has been issued.

5.1 Letter of Approval Requirements for Construction
Activities Entirely Landward of the Building Line

Before any Letter of Approval is issued by the
Department for the construction of any structure, or portion
thereof, in the area defined as beach and landward of the
Building Line, the person applying for the Letter of
Approval must provide the Department with written
documentation and plans indicating that the proposed
structure, or portion thereof, will be constructed in
accordance with the Act and these Regulations.

5.2 Application Determination
Upon receipt of an application for a Letter of

Approval proposing construction in the area defined as
beach but entirely landward of the Building Line, the
Department shall consider the effect of the proposed activity
on beach enhancement, preservation and protection. The
Department may undertake any investigation or activity it
deems necessary to carry out the purpose of the Act. If the
Department determines the proposed activity may have a
substantial effect on beach enhancement, preservation or
protection, the applicant shall be directed to follow the
procedures for obtaining a Permit in Section 6.0.

5.3 Maintenance, Repair and Relocation of Habitable
Structures

Any person intending to commence any
maintenance or repair work on a structure or planning to
relocate a structure located landward of the Building Line in
the area defined as beach, shall apply in writing to the
Department for a Letter of Approval, except as specified in
Section 5.4. No person shall commence maintenance or
repair work until after being issued a Letter of Approval by
the Department.

5.4 Maintenance and Repair Not Requiring a Permit or
Letter of Approval

A Letter of Approval is not required when
maintenance or repair work is undertaken on a lawfully
constructed structure located landward of the Building Line
in the area defined as beach and;

5.4.1 The location of the maintenance or repair
work is at or above the lowest living floor and within the
perimeter of the existing lawfully constructed structure and;

5.4.2 The maintenance or repair work consists
solely of non-structural work such as repainting,
replacement of shingles or siding or replacement of windows
and doors and any cleaning necessary to maintain the
structure.
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6.0 Activities Entirely or Partially Seaward of the 
Building Line

No person shall commence or conduct construction,
modification, repair, expansion, reconstruction, relocation or
maintenance of any structure seaward of the Building Line in
the area defined as beach or conduct the alteration, digging,
mining, moving, removal or deposition of any substantial
amount of beach materials, or the significant removal of
vegetation unless and until a Permit or Letter of Approval
has been issued.

6.1 Permit Requirements
6.1.1 Construction Seaward of the Building

Line. Before any Permit is issued by the Department for the
construction of any structure, or portion thereof, seaward of
the Building Line, the person applying for the Permit must
provide the Department with written documentation and
plans indicating that the proposed structure, or portion
thereof, will be constructed in accordance with the Act and
these Regulations.

6.1.2 Construction of any structure or portion
thereof, seaward of the Building Line on any parcel of real
property is prohibited unless,  the Department has made a
determination during the permit application review process
that:

6.1.2.1 A structure can be built on the
proposed parcel without posing an unacceptable risk to
human health or the environment, or the beach resource or
the physical safety of the property owner or others, and

6.1.2.2 The size of the area of the parcel of
real property located landward of the building line is
inadequate for construction of proposed structure or portion
thereof; and

6.1.2.3 The dimensions and location of the
structure, or portion thereof, and other design aspects of the
proposed construction project, including but not limited to,
entrance ways, parking lots and landscaping, cannot be
modified or redesigned in order to have the final structure or
portion thereof located either less seaward or completely
landward of the Building Line in accordance with the four-
step process outlined in sections 6.1.2.3.1 through 6.1.2.3.4.
A person is not required to follow the requirements of the
four-step process if they demonstrate through the submission
of a sealed survey of the lot, that all construction will be
located entirely landward of the Building Line. In this case,
the applicant must apply for a Letter of Approval as required
by Section 5.0.

6.1.2.3.1 All construction must begin
at the setback line established for the landward property
boundary by the county or town in which the property is
located.  Porches, decks and entrance ways are not permitted
along this wall of the building, except those which are

recessed into the exterior wall of the structure or alongside
the structure. Steps may extend into setbacks as long as
permissible by county and local regulations, and;

6.1.2.3.2 The structure must occupy
all of the area available between the side yard setbacks, and;

6.1.2.3.3 The square footage of the
foot print of the structure (living area only, not including
open porches and decks) shall not exceed the average square
footage that exists among adjacent structures within the
smallest subset of lots, and;

6.1.2.3.4 Seaward penetration over the
Building Line shall not exceed the average encroachment
that exists among adjacent structures within the smallest
subset of lots. Any decks constructed along with the
structure must meet the requirements of Section 6.1.8.

6.1.3 Other Structures
Construction proposed seaward of the Building

Line shall be free of non-essential portions of the dwelling
unless they are raised above Base Flood Elevation, are
within the perimeter of the building and supported by the
building foundation. Non-essential portions of the dwelling
include, but are not limited to, showers, decks, patios,
benches, garages, carports, vehicle ramps, basement areas,
retaining walls, landscaping structures, birdhouses, fences
(other than sand fence or lattice), steps, solid driveways and
parking areas, swimming pools, propane tanks, flag poles,
and other non-living space portions of the dwelling.

6.1.4 Maintenance, Repair and Relocation of
Structures

Any person intending to commence any
maintenance or repair work on any structure seaward of the
Building Line in the area defined as beach, shall apply in
writing to the Department for a Permit or a Letter of
Approval, except as specified in Section 6.1.6.  No person
shall commence maintenance or repair work until after being
issued a Permit or a Letter of Approval by the Department.

6.1.4.1 If the proposed maintenance or repair
is to an amenity located seaward of the Building Line, below
the first living floor and below Base Flood Elevation, the
Department shall require elevation of the amenity to a level
at or above Base Flood Elevation and relocation of the
structure as far landward as possible to facilitate growth of
the dune and to prevent loss of the amenity during storm
events. A Permit or Letter of Approval from the Department
is required for this maintenance or repair work.

6.1.4.2 In the event the proposed maintenance
or repair work involves raising or removing a structure from
its foundation and the structure is located seaward or
partially seaward of the Building Line, the Department shall
require relocation of the structure completely landward of
the Building Line or as far landward on the lot as possible.
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6.1.4.3 In the event the proposed maintenance
or repair work involves a substantial improvement and the
structure is located seaward or partially seaward of the
Building Line, the Department shall require relocation of the
structure completely landward of the Building Line or as far
landward on the lot as possible.

6.1.5. Restoration or Reconstruction after
Substantial Damage or Removal, Siting Requirements

6.1.5.1 If a structure in the area defined as
beach is substantially damaged or removed from its
foundation, no person shall undertake any restoration or
reconstruction of the substantially damaged or removed
structure before the Department issues the person a Permit or
Letter of Approval.

6.1.5.2 If a structure is to be either
constructed or reconstructed following substantial damage or
removal of the original structure, the structure must be
located entirely landward of the Building Line or as far
landward on the lot as possible. Siting requirements for
reconstruction of the substantially damaged or removed
structure will be determined based on the requirements of
Sections 5.0 and 6.0.

6.1.6 Maintenance and Repair Not Requiring a
Permit or Letter of Approval

A Permit or Letter of Approval is not
required when maintenance or repair work is undertaken on
a lawfully constructed structure located in the area defined as
beach and,

6.1.6.1  The location of the maintenance or
repair work is at or above the lowest living floor and is
within the perimeter of the existing lawfully constructed
structure and.

6.1.6.2 The maintenance or repair work
includes consists solely of  non-structural work such as
repainting, replacement of shingles or siding or replacement
of windows and doors and any cleaning necessary to
maintain the structure.

6.1.7 Modification or Expansion of Structures
6.1.7.1 Modification or expansion of an

existing structure, or portion thereof, seaward of the
Building Line, including those structures or portions thereof,
that were constructed prior to the Act and the Regulations is
prohibited unless one or more of the following apply to the
proposed modification or expansion and a Permit or Letter of
Approval has been issued by the Department:

6.1.7.1.1 The modification or
expansion consists of only a deck located at or above the
lowest living floor of a building, or above the Base Flood
Elevation, and the modification or expansion makes use of
the foundation of the building, (e.g., by cantilevering or knee
brace) that existed prior to the modification or expansion.

However, any deck or portion thereof, that is modified or
expanded pursuant to any provision of this Section shall not
extend beyond a point that is the average distance seaward of
the Building Line of existing lawfully constructed buildings
or decks of a similar nature that already exist on the parcel of
real property located within the smallest subset of lots,
within the same subdivision. Excavation or alteration of the
existing dune or vegetation is prohibited to accommodate the
construction of the deck. The area underneath the deck shall
remain open and free of obstruction.

6.1.7.1.2 The modification or
expansion of an existing structure is limited to the area
contained within the existing walls of the structure and is
limited to the area at or above the lowest living floor.

6.1.8 Decks
Whenever a deck is proposed for

construction along with a new building structure, and the
deck is proposed to be located at or above the lowest living
floor of the structurebuilding, or above Base Flood
Elevation, and the deck is proposing to make use of the
foundation of the structure (e.g. by cantilevering or knee
brace) the deck shall not extend beyond a point that is the
average distance seaward of the Building Line of existing
lawfully constructed bstructures uildings or decks that
already exist on the parcels of real property located within
the smallest subset of lots, within the same subdivision as the
parcel of real property on which the structure building or
deck is proposed. The area underneath the deck below Base
Flood Elevation shall remain open and free of all
obstructions.

6.1.9 Seasonal Structures
The placement of seasonal or otherwise

temporary structures seaward of the building line and
seaward of the dune on the dry beach may be allowed with a
Letter of Approval from the Department.  It must be
demonstrated by the applicant that the design and
deployment of the temporary structure can be done so that
the structure can be easily removed or otherwise relocated
landward of the building line in a short time frame.
Temporary structures must be removed from the site during
the off-season and in the case of the threat of a coastal storm.

6.1.10 Pedestrian Access Structures and Dune
Maintenance

Before any person commences the
construction or placement of a pedestrian dune crossover, or
any portion thereof, the person must have a Letter of
Approval.

6.1.10.1 A person is not required to obtain a
Permit or Letter of Approval if they are conducting ordinary
dune maintenance, as determined by the Department,
including the installation of sand fence and the planting of
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and fertilization of stabilizing vegetation. Mechanical
movement of sand requires a Permit or Letter of Approval
from the Department.

6.1.11 Erosion Control or Shore Protection
Structures

The use of walls to protect properties from
ocean forces is discouraged.  Maintenance of an adequately
wide beach and dune system is preferred. Construction of
any structure or facility having the primary function of beach
erosion control, shore protection, or property protection
including, but not limited to groins, jetties, seawalls,
revetments, dikes, bulkheads, or any pipeline, dock, pier,
wharf, ramp or other harbor work may be permitted if it is
demonstrated that all other means of beach erosion control,
shoreline protection or beach enhancement will not be
effective.

If a bulkhead, revetment or other
protective structure is damaged during a storm a permit must
be obtained from the Department to make repairs. If less
than 50 % of the original structure is sound and functional
and suitable for incorporation into reconstruction of the
structure, the alternatives to replacing the structure shall be
considered in the permit review process.

6.1.12     Beach Nourishment
Beach nourishment requires the issuance

of a Permit from the Department to assure proper design.

7.0 Prohibited Activities
7.1 No person shall:

7.1.1 Operate any type of motorized vehicle or
machine on or across the primary dune on any beach except
at locations approved or permitted by the Department;

7.1.2 Transport or store any type of boat across
or on the primary dune on any beach except at locations
approved or permitted by the Department;

7.1.3  Walk on or over or across the primary dune of
any state-owned beach except at locations approved or
permitted by the Department;

7.1.4  Alter, move or remove any structure, facility
or improvement installed or maintained by the Department;
or

7.1.5 Damage, destroy or remove any tree,
shrubbery, beach grass or other vegetation growing on any
State owned or maintained beach.

7.2 Construction of any structure or portion thereof,
seaward of the Building Line in a subdivision created after
the [effective date of these Regulations] is prohibited.

7.3 Construction of any structure, or portion thereof, on
any lot or parcel of real property that is located entirely
seaward of the Building Line that was not owned by the

applicant on the [effective date of these Regulations] is
prohibited.

7.4 Construction of any structure, or portion thereof, on
any lot or parcel of real property that is located entirely
seaward of the building line is prohibited when the lot or
parcel in question was created by subdivision of a larger
parcel into smaller parcels or lots  after August 13, 1981.

8.0 Construction Standards
“Previous storms have repeatedly shown the

vulnerability of certain types of construction, particularly
older, at-grade or inadequately elevated buildings close to
the shoreline....Recent coastal siting and construction
standards, through improved, still leave coastal development
vulnerable to damage or destruction during severe storms.
The potential consequences of not further improving coastal
siting and construction standards are great loss of residential
and commercial property, business interruption and job loss,
and of course, the threat to human life itself.1

Recognizing the above, the Department conducted a
Coastal Hazard Vulnerability Study  to 1) better define the
nature and extent of the coastal hazards along Delaware's
Atlantic Ocean and Delaware bay shorelines, 2) to map
coastal hazard zones reflecting present day shoreline
conditions, 3) to map future (30-year) hazard zone locations
along the Atlantic Ocean and Delaware Bay shorelines, and
4) to supplement existing building codes and regulations
with standards specifically tailored to the identified hazard
zones. Hazard zones that reflect local coastal morphology
and anticipated storm effects expected during northeasters
and hurricanes, including the 100-yr flood event (1% annual
chance of occurring) and a Category 3 hurricane, were
identified and mapped using April 1997, digital aerial
orthophotographs. These zones which include the Beach
Zone, the Erosion/Wave Zone, the Wave/Overwash Zone,
the Flood Zone, and the projection of those future hazard
zones into the future, are shown on base maps.  In order to
minimize future storm damage along Delaware's coastline,
the Department recommends and/or requires construction
standards in each of these zones.  Recommended standards
will be published separately in a supplemental document
titled Delaware's Recommended Coastal Construction
Standards. At a minimum, the Department will require the
following construction standards in the Beach, Erosion/
Wave Zone and the Wave Overwash Zone. Determination of
the zone a property is located in will be made by reviewing
the Department’s Coastal Vulnerability Assessment Maps

1. Coastal Vulnerability and Construction Standards Study,
September 17, 1997.
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mentioned above. If any portion of the structure is located in
the Beach Zone or Erosion Zone then the entire structure
must meet the requirements for the applicable zone.

8.1 Construction in the Beach Zone and Erosion Zone
and In Locations Seaward of the Building Line

8.1.1 Foundations
All new buildings shall be constructed on

a piling foundation, designed (by a registered professional
engineer or architect licensed in the State of Delaware) and
constructed to prevent floating, collapse or lateral
displacement of the building during design flood conditions.
Foundation design shall consider the effects of all flood,
wave, wind and other loads anticipated during design flood
conditions, and shall also consider the effects of the storm-
induced erosion and long term erosion.

Pile foundations tips shall be driven to a
minimum depth of -1i.0 ft. NAVD.

8.1.2 Floor Elevation Requirements
All new buildings and new construction

shall be elevated such that the bottom of the lowest structural
member is at or above the Base Flood Elevation.

8.1.3 Enclosures
The areas below Base Flood Elevation shall be

unenclosed or enclosed only with light weight open wood
lattice or screening. Storage areas and areas for building
access with wood floors must be elevated above Base Flood
Elevation and supported by the existing pile foundation.

8.1.4 Ground Level Surfaces
Seaward of the Building Line all

constructed ground level surfaces (e.g. parking areas and
driveways) shall be permeable materials consisting of fill,
crushedursed shell, gravel or driveway stone (1/2" or smaller
in circumference). Concrete, concrete pavers, asphalt or
other solid surfaces are prohibited.

8.1.5 Utilities
Wiring, plumbing, duct work and other

utility components shall be located above Base Flood
Elevation.  All utility connections servicing the elevated
building must be attached to the landward side of foundation
piles when possible

8.1.6 Decks
Decks constructed in a location seaward of

the Building Line must make usesure of the foundation of
the building (e.g. by cantilevering or knee brace), must meet
the requirements of Section 6.1.83.019a0936.1.8) of these
Regulations and shall be designed by a professional engineer
or architect.

8.1.7 Access stairs for buildings or decks
Stairs for accessing buildings or decks

shall be supported by the existing foundation of the
structure. Stairs for accessing decks shall be located within

the footprint of the deck or shall be located landward of the
deck. The steps shall descend in a landward direction.
Access due to special medical needs will be addressed on a
case by case basis.

8.1.8 Retaining Walls
Due to the potential for the redirection of

floodwaters onto other properties or into  structures as a
result of wave reflection off of the vertical wall, the
construction of retaining walls are not permitted in these
zones or in areas located seaward of the Building Line.

8.1.9 Pedestrian Dune Crossovers
Crossover widths will be set in the

application process and will vary depending upon the
amount of pedestrian use.  The break down will be as
follows:

8.1.9.1 Crossovers serving one or two family
residences

8.1.9.2 Crossovers serving 3-9 single family
residences

8.1.9.3 Crossovers serving 10 or more single
family residences

In new subdivisions, adjacent
property owners are required to share crossovers in order to
minimize damage to the dunes. Older subdivisions will be
required to share crossovers whenever possible and
practicable. Crossovers for persons with special needs will
be evaluated on a case by case basis.

8.2 Construction in the Wave/Overwash Zone and
Landward of the Building Line.

8.2.1 Foundations
All new buildings shall be constructed on

a piling foundation, designed (by a professional engineer or
architect licensed in the State of Delaware) and constructed
to prevent floatation, collapse or lateral displacement of the
building during design flood conditions. Foundation design
shall consider the effects of all flood, wave, wind and other
loads anticipated during design conditions, and shall
consider the effects of storm-induced erosion and long term
erosion.

Foundation pilings for structures within
this zone shall be at least 10.0 ft. below the lowest original
grade at the building site, or deeper as dictated by design
calculations.

8.2.2 Floor Elevation Requirements
All new buildings must be elevated such

that the bottom of the lowest horizontal structural member is
atr or above Base Flood Elevation.

8.2.3 Enclosures
The area below Base Flood Elevation shall be

unenclosed or enclosed only with light weight open wood
lattice, screening or breakaway walls. Enclosed areas shall
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be used only for parking, building access or storage and shall
not be used a habitable space. Breakaway walls shall include
openings that allow the automatic entry and exit of flood
waters.

8.2.4 Ground Level Surfaces
Landward of the Building Line all

constructed ground level surfaces (e.g., parking areas and
driveways) shall be designed to break free of the piling
foundation under design flood and erosion conditions.

8.2.5 Utilities
Wiring, plumbing, duct work and other

utility components shall be located at or above Base Flood
Elevation. All utility connections servicing the elevated
buildings must be attached to the landward side of
foundation piles when possible.

8.2.6 Porches and Decks
Foundation for porches and decks

constructed in a location landward of the Building Line shall
meet the same foundation requirements as the elevated
building.

9.0 Appeal from the Department’s Decision
9.1 Right of Appeal

Any person or persons, jointly or severally, or any
taxpayer, or any officer, department, board or bureau of state,
aggrieved by any decision of the Secretary, may appeal to
the Superior Court as provided in 7 Del.C. §6803(d).

10.0 Cease and Desist Orders and Penalties
10.1 Cease and Desist Orders

The Secretary shall have the power to issue a
cease and desist order to any person who violates the Act or
Regulations. Any such cease and desist order shall expire (1)
after thirty (30) days from the date of its issuance, or (2)
upon withdrawal of said Order by the Secretary, or (3) when
the order is superseded by an injunction, whichever occurs
first.

10.2 Penalties
Any person who violates any provision of the

Act, or Regulations, or violates a cease and desist order of
the Secretary, shall be liable for penalties pursuant to 7
Del.C. §6807.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  26 Delaware Code,
Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF NEW 
“ELECTRIC SERVICE RELIABILITY AND 

QUALITY STANDARDS” REGULATION BY THE 
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
CONSIDERATION OF RULES, |
STANDARDS, AND INDICES TO | PSC
ENSURE RELIABLE ELECTRICAL | REGULATION
SERVICE PSC BY ELECTRIC | DOCKET NO. 50
DISTRIBUTION COMPANIES |
(OPENED SEPTEMBER 26, 2000; |
REOPENED OCTOBER 11, 2005) |

By PSC Order No. 6298 (Nov. 4, 2003), the Public
Service Commission (“PSC”) adopted its “Electric Service
Reliability and  Quality Standards” regulation to govern the
operations of the two PSC-jurisdictional electric distribution
utilities, Delmarva Power and Light Company and the
Delaware Electric Cooperative, Inc. Those rules imposed
interim annual reporting requirements on the two electric
distribution utilities related to their baseline reliability
expenditures and also adopted interim electric service
reliability and quality benchmarks. These interim
requirements have governed during the period running from
2003 through 2005.

On October 11, 2005, by PSC Order No. 6745 (Oct. 11,
2005), the PSC proposed to supercede the prior interim
regulation with its new “Electric Service Reliability and
Quality Standards” (“ESR and QS”). As with the interim
rule, the new proposed ESR and QS regulation imposes
operational and reporting requirements related to reliability
on electric distribution utilities. In addition the new
regulation also includes a reporting requirement for electric
generation companies located in Delaware. The new
regulation changes some of the reliability standards
originally utilized in the interim regulation in light of actual
past experience under the Outage Management Systems used
during the tenure of the interim regulation. The new ESR
and QS regulation also includes provisions related to: (a)
expected responses for restoration of services after storms;
(b) public input into the preparation of planning studies; and
(c) the adoption of specific inspection and maintenance
requirements by distribution utilities. In addition, the new
ESR and QS would now impose certain reporting
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requirements on entities operating electric generation
facilities located in Delaware.  The PSC has the authority to
adopt the new ERS and QS rule under 26 Del.C. §§209(a),
1002(a)(1), and 1008.

You may review the proposed new ERS and QS
regulation and Order No. 6745 in the November 2005
edition of the Delaware Register of Regulation. You may
also review the Order and regulation at the PSC’s Internet
website located at www.state.de.us/delpsc. Written copies of
the proposed regulation are also available at the PSC’s Dover
office, at the address set forth below, at the cost of $0.25 per
page.

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 and 10115, the PSC now
solicits written suggestions, compilations of data, briefs,
comments, or other written documents concerning the
proposed new ERS and QS regulation. If you wish to submit
such written materials, you must file an original and ten
copies of such materials at the PSC office at the following
address:

Delaware Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, Delaware 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 50

If you able, you should also file an electronic copy of
such materials as an attachment to an Internet e-mail
message addressed to robert.howatt@state.de.us. You must
accompany your written materials with a document setting
forth your name, your organization (if any), address,
telephone and facsimile numbers, and Internet e-mail
address. You must file such materials with the PSC on or
before Monday, December 5, 2005.

In addition, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a) and 26 Del.C.
§10117, the PSC will conduct an initial public hearing on the
proposed new ESR and QS regulation on Wednesday,
December 21, 2005.  The hearing will be held at the
following location beginning at 10:00 a.m.:

Third Floor Conference Room
Carvel State Office Building
820 North French Street
Wilmington, Delaware

At the hearing, persons or entities can also present their
views concerning the proposed new ERS and QS regulation.
If you do not file written materials or do not intend to appear
at the public hearing but still wish to be included on the
participant list in this matter in order to be notified of further
proceedings, you must file a letter with the PSC requesting

to be included on the participant list. That letter must be filed
by Monday, December 5, 2005.

If you have questions or desire further information
about this matter, you can contact the PSC at 1-800-282-
8574 (Delaware only) or at (302) 739-4247 (text telephone
also). You can also address your inquiries by Internet e-mail
to robert.howatt@state.de.us. If you are disabled and need
assistance to review materials or participate, please contact
the PSC in order to make arrangements for such assistance.

ORDER NO. 6745

AND NOW, this 11th day of October, A.D., 2005;
WHEREAS, in PSC Order No. 6298 (Nov. 4, 2003),

the Commission adopted the Electric Service Reliability
Quality Regulation, which included interim benchmark
standards and directed in that Order that Staff develop and
propose a final regulation for implementation by January
2006;

AND WHEREAS, in compliance with that Order, on
November 19, 2004, Staff published a Notice of Intent to
establish a final regulation and scheduled several workshops
to discuss reliability issues, which were held between
December 2004 and April 2005;

AND WHEREAS, as a result of those workshops and
after consideration of all input from the various interested
parties, Staff revised the draft regulation and forwarded it to
all interested parties for informal review and comment;

AND WHEREAS, upon review of the comments of the
interested parties and after further meetings with both of
Delaware’s electric distribution companies, Delmarva Power
and Light Company and Delaware Electric Cooperative,
Inc., Staff produced a final revised draft of the regulation for
consideration by the Commission, a copy of which is
attached hereto as Exhibit “A;”

AND WHEREAS, it appears that there are differences
of opinion on the proposed content of the revised draft
regulation and the positions of various parties disagree with
Staff’s proposed changes, making it unlikely that a
settlement will be forthcoming on some of the key elements
of the draft regulation;

AND WHEREAS, the Commission believes that the
proposed revised regulation should be published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations providing public notice of
the revised rulemaking to develop a final regulation and
appoint a Hearing Examiner to oversee the effort.

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:
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1. That the Secretary is directed to send this Order
along with the proposed revised regulation to the Delaware
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the next issue of
the Delaware Register of Regulations.

2. That Ruth A. Price is designated as Hearing
Examiner in this matter pursuant to the terms and provisions
of 26 Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C. ch. 101 with the authority
to receive all written comments and/or testimony, briefs, or
other written materials concerning the proposed rules
submitted by the Commission Staff and shall organize,
classify, summarize, and make recommendations with
respect to such materials and proposed rules and regulations.
In addition, the Hearing Examiner may conduct such public
hearings, including evidentiary hearings, upon due public
notice as she deems required or advisable concerning the
proposed rules and regulations.

3. That James McC. Geddes, Esquire, continues as
Rate Counsel in this matter and participants are notified that
the cost of this proceeding will be assessed under the
provisions of 26 Del.C. §114(b)(1) and 26 Del.C.
§1012(c)(2).

4. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may
be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Dallas Winslow, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Norma J. Sherwood, Acting Secretary

E X H I B I T  “A”

Electric Service Reliability
and Quality Standards

JANUARY 2006
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Planning and Studies Report Section I
Annual Performance Report Section J
Major Event Report Section K
Prompt Restoration of Outages Section L
Penalties and Other Remedies Section M
Outage and Control Systems Section N
Reporting Specifications and Implementation Section O

A. Purpose and Scope
1) Reliable electric service is of great importance to

the Delaware Public Service Commission (“Commission”),
because it is an essential service to the citizens of Delaware.
This regulation, in support of 26 Del.C., §1002, sets forth
reliability standards and reporting requirements needed to
assure the continued reliability and quality of electric service
being delivered to Delaware customers and is applicable to
all Delaware Electric Distribution Companies (“EDCs”) and
Delaware Generation Companies.

2) Nothing in this regulation relieves any utility or
generation company from compliance with any requirement
set forth under any other regulation, statute or order. This
regulation is in addition to those required under PSC Docket
No. 58, Order No. 103, Regulations Governing Service
Supplied by Electrical Utilities.

3) Compliance with this regulation is a minimum
standard.  Compliance does not create a presumption of safe,
adequate and proper service. Each EDC needs to exercise
their professional judgment based on their systems and
service territories.  Nothing in this regulation relieves any
utility from the requirement to furnish safe, adequate and
proper service and to keep and maintain its property and
equipment in such condition as to enable it to do so. (26
Del.C., §209)

4) Each EDC shall maintain the reliability of its
distribution services and shall implement procedures to
require all electric suppliers to deliver energy to the EDC at
locations and in amounts which are adequate to meet each
electric supplier's obligations to its customers. (26 Del.C.,
§1008)

5) Each generation company operating in the state is
required to provide the Commission with an annual
assessment of their electric supply reliability as specified in
Section J.

6) This regulation requires the maintenance and
retention of reliability data and the reporting of reliability
objectives, planned actions and projects, programs, load
studies and actual resulting performance on an annual basis,
including major events as specified in section K.

7) EDCs are responsible for maintaining the reliability
of electric service to all their customers in the state of
Delaware. Pursuant to this requirement, EDCs may be
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subject to penalties as described in Section M or 26 Del.C.,
§1019.

8) EDCs are required to explore the use of proven
state of the art technology, to provide cost effective electric
service reliability improvements.

B. Definitions
The following words and terms, as used in these

regulations, shall have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Acceptable reliability level” is defined as the
maximum acceptable limit of the System Average
Interruption Frequency Index (“SAIFI”), the Customer
Average Interruption Duration Index (“CAIDI”) and the
Constrained Hours of Operation as specified in Section D.

“ALM” means Active Load Management in accordance
with Article 1, Schedule 5.2 of PJM’s Reliability Assurance
Agreement (RAA).

“Availability” means the measure of time a generating
unit, transmission line, or other facility is capable of
providing service, whether or not it actually is in service.

“Beginning restoration” includes the essential or
required analysis of an interruption, the dispatching of an
individual or crew to an affected area, and their arrival at the
work site to begin the restoration process (normally inclusive
of dispatch and response times).

“Benchmark” means the standard service measure of
SAIFI, CAIDI and Constrained Hours of Operation as set
forth in this regulation.

“Capacity” means the rated continuous load-carrying
ability, expressed in megawatts (“MW”) or megavolt-
amperes (“MVA”) of generation, transmission, or other
electrical equipment.

“Capacity Emergency Transfer Objective
(‘CETO’)” means the amount of megawatt capacity that an
area or sub area must be able to import during localized
capacity emergency conditions such that the probability of
loss of load due to insufficient tie capability is not greater
than one day in 10 years.

“Capacity Emergency Transfer Limit (‘CETL’)”
means the amount of megawatts that can actually be
imported into the area or sub area during localized capacity
emergency conditions.

“Constrained hours of operation” means the hours of
electric system operation during which time there are limits,
transfer constraints or contingencies on the PJM DPL Zone
delivery system that require off-cost dispatch of generating
facilities.  Total constrained hours exclude offcost operations
attributable to generation or transmission forced outages,
generation or transmission construction or any unrelated
third party actions.

“Contingency” means the unexpected failure or outage
of a system component, such as a generator, transmission
line, circuit breaker, switch, or other electrical element. A
contingency may also include multiple components, which
are related by situations leading to simultaneous component
outages.

“Corrective action” means the maintenance, repair, or
replacement of an EDC’s utility system components and
structures to allow them to function at an acceptable level of
reliability.

“Corrective maintenance” means the unplanned
maintenance work required to restore delivery facilities to a
normal operating condition that allows them to function at an
acceptable level of reliability.

“Customer Average Interruption Duration Index
(‘CAIDI’)” represents the average time in minutes required
to restore service to those customers that experienced
sustained interruptions during the reporting period.  CAIDI
is defined as follows:

CAIDI =
Sum of all Sustained Customer Interruption

Durations per Reporting Period
Total Number of Sustained Customer Interruptions per 

Reporting Period

“Customers Experiencing Long Interruption
Durations8 (‘CELID8’)” represents the total number of
customers that have experienced a cumulative total of more
than eight hours of outages.

“Customers Experiencing Multiple Interruptions8
(‘CEMI8’)” is an index that represents the total number of
customers that have experienced nine or more interruptions
in a single year reporting period.

CEMI8 =
Total number of customers that experienced more than

eight (8) sustained interruptions
Total number of customers served

“Delivery Facilities” means the EDC’s physical plant
used to provide electric energy to Delaware retail customers,
normally inclusive of distribution and transmission facilities.

“Dispatch time” is the elapsed time between receipt of
a customer call and the dispatch of a service resource to
address the customer’s issue as tracked by an Outage
Management System.

“Distribution feeder” or “feeder” means a three-phase
set of conductors emanating from a substation circuit breaker
serving customers in a defined local distribution area. This
includes three-phase, two-phase and single-phase branches
that are normally isolated at all endpoints.
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"Distribution facilities" means electric facilities
located in Delaware that are owned by a public utility that
operate at voltages of 34,500 volts or below and that are used
to deliver electricity to customers, up through and including
the point of physical connection with electric facilities
owned by the customer.

“Electric Distribution Company” or “EDC” means a
public utility owning and/or operating transmission and/or
distribution facilities in this state.

“Electric distribution system” means that portion of
an electric system, that delivers electric energy from
transformation points on the transmission system to points of
connection at the customers’ premises.

“Electric service” means the supply, transmission, and
distribution of electric energy as provided by an electric
distribution company.

“Electric Supplier” means a person or entity certified
by the Commission that sells electricity to retail electric
customers utilizing the transmission and/or distribution
facilities of a nonaffiliated electric utility, as further specified
in 26 Del.C., §1001.

“Forced outage” means the removal from service
availability of a generating unit, transmission line, or other
facility for emergency reasons or a condition in which the
equipment is unavailable due to unanticipated failure.1 

“Forced outage rate” means the hours a generating
unit, transmission line, or other facility is removed from
service, divided by the sum of the hours it is removed from
service plus the total number of hours the facility was
connected to the electricity system expressed as a percent.2

Multiple momentary forced outages on the
same transmission line in the span of a single
minute shall be treated as a single forced outage
with the duration of one minute. When the
operation of a transmission circuit is restored
following a forced outage and the transmission
line remains operational for a period exceeding
one minute or more, followed by another
forced outage, then these should be counted as
two forced outages. Multiple forced outages
occurring as a result of a single event should be
handled as multiple forced outages only if
subsequent operation of the transmission line
between events exceeds one minute.  Otherwise

they shall be considered one continuous forced
outage.3

“Generation company” means a private or publicly
owned company that owns or leases, with right of
ownership, plant, equipment and facilities in the state of
Delaware, rated in excess of 25 MVA and capable of
supplying electric energy to the transmission and/or
distribution system.

“Interruption” means the loss of electric service to one
or more customers.  It is the result of one or more component
outages, depending on system configuration or other events.
See “outage” and “major event.”  The types of interruption
include momentary event, sustained and scheduled. 

“Interruption, duration” means the period (measured
in minutes) from the initiation of an interruption of electric
service to a customer until such service has been restored to
that customer.  An interruption may require step restoration
tracking to provide reliable index calculations.

“Interruption, momentary event” means an
interruption of electric service to one or more customers, of
which the duration is less than or equal to 5 minutes. This
definition includes all reclosing operations, which occur
within five minutes of the first interruption.  For example, if
a recloser or breaker operates two, three, or four times and
then holds within five minutes, the event shall be considered
one momentary event interruption.

“Interruption, scheduled” means an interruption of
electric service that results when one or more components
are deliberately taken out of service at a selected time,
usually for the purposes of preventative maintenance, repair
or construction. Scheduled interruptions, where attempts
have been made to notify customers in advance, shall not be
included in SAIFI, CAIDI, or Forced Outage measures.

“Interruption, sustained” means an interruption of
electric service to one or more customers that is not
classified as a momentary event interruption and which is
longer than five minutes in duration.

“Interrupting device” means a device, capable of
being reclosed, whose purpose includes interrupting fault
currents, isolating faulted components, disconnecting loads
and restoring service. These devices can be manual,
automatic, or motor operated. Examples include
transmission and distribution breakers, line reclosers, motor
operated switches, fuses or other devices.

“Major Event” means an event consistent with the
I.E.E.E.1366, Guide For Electric Power Distribution
Reliability Indices standard as approved and as may be

1. North American Electric Reliability Council – “Glos-
sary of Terms”, August 1996

2.  North American Electric Reliability Council – “Glos-
sary of Terms”, August 1996

3. Draft CAISO Transmission Control Agreement, Appen-
dix C, ISO Maintenance Standards
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revised. For purposes of this regulation, changes shall be
considered to be in effect beginning January 1 of the first
calendar year after the changed standard is adopted by the
I.E.E.E.  Major event interruptions shall be excluded from
the EDC’s SAIFI, CAIDI and Constrained Hours
measurements for comparison to reliability benchmarks.
Interruption data for major events shall be collected, and
reported according to the reporting requirements outlined in
Section K.

“Mid Atlantic Area Council (‘MAAC’) or Reliability
First Corporation” means a regional council of the North
American Electric Reliability Council (“NERC”), or
successor organization, that is responsible for Mid Atlantic
operational policies and reliability planning standards
applicable to PJM and local electric distribution company
members.

“North American Electric Reliability Council
(‘NERC’)” means the national organization responsible for
operational policies and reliability planning standards
applicable to national system operations and electric
distribution companies, or their successor organizations.

“Outage” means the state of a component when it is not
available to perform its intended function due to some event
directly associated with that component.  An outage may or
may not cause an interruption of electric service to
customers, depending on system configuration. 

“Outage Management System (‘OMS’)” means a
software operating system that provides database
information to effectively manage service interruptions and
minimize customer outage times.

“Pre-restructuring” refers to the five-year time frame
prior to Delaware’s adoption of 26 Del.C., Chapter 10,
Electric Utility Restructuring Statute (1995-1999).

“PJM Interconnection, L.L.C. (‘PJM’)” means the
Regional Transmission Organization or successor
organization that is responsible for wholesale energy markets
and the interstate transmission of energy throughout a multi-
state operating area that includes Delaware.

“Power quality” means the characteristics of electric
power received by the customer, with the exception of
sustained interruptions and momentary event interruptions.
Characteristics of electric power that detract from its quality
include waveform irregularities and voltage variations—
either prolonged or transient.  Power quality problems shall
include, but are not limited to, disturbances such as high or
low voltage, voltage spikes or transients, flicker and voltage
sags, surges and short-time overvoltages, as well as
harmonics and noise.

“Preventive maintenance” means the planned
maintenance, usually performed to preclude forced or

unplanned outages, and which allows delivery facilities to
continue functioning at an acceptable level of reliability.

“Reliability” means the degree of performance of the
elements of the bulk electric system that results in electricity
being delivered to customers within accepted standards and
in the amount desired.  Reliability may be measured by the
frequency, duration, and magnitude of adverse effects on the
electric supply.  Electric system reliability can be addressed
by considering two basic and functional aspects of the
electric system – Adequacy and Security.

Adequacy - The ability of the electric system to
supply the aggregate electrical demand and energy
requirements of customers at all times, taking into account
scheduled and reasonably expected unscheduled outages of
system elements.

Security - The ability of the electric system to
withstand sudden disturbances such as electric short circuits
or unanticipated loss of system elements.1

As applied to distribution facilities, reliability is further
described as the degree to which safe, proper and adequate
electric service is supplied to customers without interruption.

“Repair time” is the elapsed time from the arrival of
the service resource at the identified problem site to the
correction of the customer’s original concern as tracked by
the OMS.

“Response time” is the elapsed time from dispatch of
service resource to the arrival of the service resource at the
identified problem site as tracked by the OMS.

“Step restoration” means the restoration of service to
blocks of customers in an area until the entire area or circuit
is restored.

“Sum of all Sustained Customer Interruption
Durations” means the summation of the restoration time (in
minutes) for each event times the number of interrupted
customers for each step restoration of each interruption event
during the reporting period.

“Supervisory Control And Data Acquisition
(‘SCADA’)” is an electronic communication and control
system that provides electrical system operating information
and mechanisms to remotely control energy flows and
equipment.

“System Average Interruption Frequency Index
(‘SAIFI’)” represents the average frequency of sustained
interruptions per customer during the reporting period.
SAIFI is defined as:

SAIFI = Total Number of Sustained Customer Interruptions per Reporting Period
Total Number of Customers Served per Reporting Period

1. ERC definition - NERC’s Reliability Assessment 2001–
2010, dated October 16, 2001.
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“Total Number of Sustained Customer
Interruptions” means the sum of the number of interrupted
customers for each interruption event during the reporting
period.  Customers who experienced multiple interruptions
during the reporting period are counted for each interruption
event the customer experienced during the reporting period.

“Total Number of Customers Served” means the
number of customers provided with electric service by the
distribution facility for which a reliability index is being
calculated on the last day of the time period for which the
reliability index is being calculated.  This number should
exclude all street lighting (dusk-to-dawn lighting, municipal
street lighting, traffic lights) and sales to other electric
utilities.

"Transmission facilities" means electric facilities
located in Delaware and owned by a public utility that
operate at voltages above 34,500 volts and that are used to
transmit and deliver electricity to customers (including any
customers taking electric service under interruptible rate
schedules as of December 31, 1998) up through and
including the point of physical connection with electric
facilities owned by the customer.

C. Electric Service Reliability and Quality
1) Each EDC shall provide reliable electric service

that is consistent with pre-restructuring service levels as
identified in Section D. and complies with 26 Del.C., §1002.

2) Each EDC shall install, operate, and maintain its
delivery facilities in conformity with the requirements of the
National Electrical Safety Code and the operating policies
and standards of NERC, MAAC and PJM, or their successor
organizations.

3) Each EDC shall have targeted objectives, programs
and/or procedures and forecast load studies, designed to help
maintain the acceptable reliability level for its delivery
facilities and, where appropriate, to improve performance.

4) Each EDC, in accordance with Section I., shall
submit to the Commission, on or before March 31 of each
year, a Planning and Studies Report identifying its current
year’s annual objectives, planned actions and projects,
programs, and forecast studies that serve to maintain
reliability and quality of service at an acceptable reliability
level.

5) Each EDC, in accordance with Section J., shall
submit to the Commission, on or before April 30 of each
year, a Performance Report that assesses the achievement of
the previous year’s objectives, planned actions, projects and
programs, and assesses the relative accuracy of forecast
studies and previous years performance measures with
respect to benchmarks.

6) Each generation company in accordance with
Section J. shall submit to the Commission on or before April
30 of each year, a Performance Report that evaluates their
reliability of energy supply.

7) Each EDC shall ensure that distribution system
generation interconnection requirements are consistent with
the I.E.E.E. 1547 series, “Standard for Interconnecting
Distributed Resources with Electric Power Systems, as
currently approved and as may be revised.

8) Each EDC shall file and maintain with the
Commission a copy of the technical requirements for
distribution system generation interconnection.

D. Reliability and Quality Performance Benchmarks
1) The measurement of reliability and quality

performance shall be based on annual SAIFI, CAIDI and
Constrained Hours of Operation measures for each EDC.
SAIFI and CAIDI calculations shall include all Delaware
customer outages, excluding major events, and shall be
reported by its distribution, substation and transmission
components.  The Constrained Hours of Operations shall be
based on peninsula (DPL Zone) transmission system
contingency limitations that require the dispatch of off-cost
generation, excluding generation or transmission forced
outages, generation or transmission construction or any
unrelated third party actions.

2) Each EDC shall maintain their electric service
reliability and quality performance measures within the
benchmark standard of this Section D., paragraph 3).  SAIFI,
CAIDI and Constrained Hours of Operation performance
shall be measured each calendar year.  Annual SAIFI, CAIDI
and Hours of Constrained Operation performance equal to or
better than the acceptable reliability level meets the standard
of this regulation. When performance does not meet the
acceptable reliability level, further review and analysis are
required.  The EDC may be subject to penalties as defined in
Section M and subsequent corrective actions may be
required.

3) For the EDCs, the electric service reliability and
quality performance benchmarks are established as follows:

a) The system SAIFI benchmark standard, which
is based on pre-restructuring levels of performance and
adjusted to reflect a 1.75 standard deviation of data
variability and the transition to an OMS system shall be as
follows:

i) Delaware Electric Cooperative SAIFI
shall be 3.9 interruptions; and

ii) Delmarva Power SAIFI shall be 1.9
interruptions.

b) The system CAIDI benchmark, which is based
on pre-restructuring levels of performance and adjusted to
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reflect a 1.75 standard deviation of data variability and the
transition to an OMS system shall be as follows:

i) Delaware Electric Cooperative CAIDI
shall be 192 minutes; and

ii) Delmarva Power CAIDI shall be 157
minutes.

c) Based on the PEPCO/Conectiv merger
settlement, the Constrained Hours of Operation benchmark
standard shall be 600 hours for each EDC.

4) Each EDC shall track and report its annual
performance and three-year average performance against
benchmark standards in accordance with Section J.

5) Each EDC shall track and report its annual CEMI8
and CELID8 performance in accordance with Section J.

E. Reliability and Quality Performance Objectives 
1) Each EDC shall establish electric service reliability

and quality performance objectives for the forthcoming year.
Objectives shall include:

a. Anticipated performance measures designed to
maintain reliable electric distribution service with a
description of any planned actions to achieve target
objectives;

b. Anticipated performance measures designed to
maintain transmission circuits and power transformers with a
description of any planned actions to achieve target
objectives; and

c. Annual corrective, preventive and total
maintenance program hours and costs anticipated on
Delaware transmission circuits, distribution circuits and
substation equipment.

2) Performance objective measures shall be
established to support the maintenance of electric reliability
performance.  Performance objectives shall be representative
of expected performance, taking into consideration
anticipated new construction projects, power quality and
maintenance programs, planned actions and any resource or
time limitations.

F. Power Quality Program
1) Each EDC shall maintain a power quality program

with clearly stated objectives and procedures designed to
respond promptly to customer reports of power quality
concerns.

2) Each EDC shall consider power quality concerns in
the design, construction and maintenance of its transmission
and distribution power delivery system components to
mitigate, using reasonable measures, power quality
disturbances that adversely affect customers’ equipment.

3) Each EDC shall maintain records of customer
power quality concerns and EDC response. These records

shall be made available to the Commission Staff upon
request with 30 days notice.

G. Inspection and Maintenance Program
1) Each EDC shall have an inspection and

maintenance program designed to maintain delivery
facilities performance at an acceptable reliability level. The
program shall be based on industry codes, national electric
industry practices, manufacturer’s recommendations, sound
engineering judgment and past experience.

2) As a maintenance minimum, each EDC shall
inspect and maintain as necessary its power transformers,
circuit breakers, substation capacitor banks, automatic 3-
phase circuit switches and all 600 amp or larger manually
operated, gang transmission circuit tie switches at least once
every two (2) years.

3) As a maintenance minimum, each EDC shall
inspect all right-of-way vegetation at least once every four
(4) years and trim or maintain as necessary. Vegetation
management practices should be applied at least once every
four (4) years except where growth or other assessments
deem it unnecessary.

4) Each EDC shall maintain records of inspection and
maintenance activities. These records shall be made
available to Commission Staff upon request with 30 days
notice.

H. Delivery Facility Studies
1) Each EDC shall perform system load studies to

identify and examine potential distribution circuit overloads,
distribution substation and distribution substation supply
circuit single contingencies and all transmission system
single and double contingencies as specified by NERC,
MAAC, Reliability First Corp. and PJM or successor
requirements. Double contingency analysis should include
supply service contingencies that may cause overloads or
outages on the EDC’s system. Where NERC, MAAC,
Reliability First Corp or PJM requirements are not
applicable, the EDC shall at a minimum examine circuit and
equipment overloads under normal and single contingency
conditions at peak load, with and without ALM or other
demand response mechanisms. The EDC shall identify all
projects and/or corrective actions that are planned to mitigate
reliability loading issues identified in the study.

2) Delivery facility planning studies will be performed
annually under conditions specified by NERC, MAAC,
Reliability First Corp. and PJM or their successor
organization’s planning requirements, or as specified in H.,
1). Studies shall identify required projects and/or planned
corrective actions. For any study resulting in a thermal
overload or an out-of-range voltage level, the study shall be
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performed again after the implementation of Active Load
Management (ALM), system switching or reconfiguration.

3) Each EDC shall perform the electric delivery
facility system planning studies as described herein in the
fall of each year (year a) for the upcoming summer period
(year b) and for the summer period two years later (year c).
The planning studies will include all delivery facility
enhancements planned to be in-service during the applicable
summer peak and shall identify those delivery facilities that
are anticipated to be overloaded during the peak demand
period.

I. Planning and Studies Report
1) Prior to March 31 of each year, each EDC shall

convene a stakeholder meeting offering opportunity for
interested parties to discuss electric service reliability or
quality concerns within Delaware. Such meeting shall be
limited to discussion of publicly available information and at
a minimum be open to generation companies, electric
suppliers, municipals or other EDCs, PJM, state agencies
and wholesale/retail consumers. Each EDC shall consider
the resulting issues and include mitigation efforts in annual
plans as appropriate.

2) By March 31 of each year, each EDC shall submit a
reliability planning and studies report to the Commission for
review. The report will identify current reliability objectives,
load study results and planned actions, projects or programs
designed to maintain the electric service reliability and
quality of the delivery facilities.

3) The report shall include the following information:
a. Objective targets or goals in support of reliable

electric service and descriptions of planned actions to
achieve the objectives;

b. Delivery load study results as described in
Section H, to include at a minimum the information for both
year b and year c as specified in Section H, paragraph 3);

c. Description and estimated cost of capital
projects planned to mitigate loading or contingent conditions
identified in load studies or required to manage hours of
congestion;

d. The EDC’s power quality program and any
amendments as required in Section F;

e. The EDC’s inspection and maintenance
program, any amendments as required in Section G., and any
specific actions aimed at reducing outage causes;

f. Copies of all recent delivery facility planning
studies and network capability studies (including CETO and
CETL results) performed for any delivery facilities owned
by the utility; and

g. Summaries of any changes to reliability related
requirements, standards and procedures at PJM, MAAC,
First Reliability Corporation, NERC or the EDC.

h. Summary of any issues that resulted from the
EDC stakeholder meeting and any projects or planning
changes that may have been incorporated as a result of such
meeting.

J. Annual Performance Report
1) By April 30 of each year, each EDC shall submit an

annual Performance Report, summarizing the actual electric
service reliability results.  The report shall include the EDC’s
average three-year performance results, actual year-end
performance measure results and an assessment of the
results/effectiveness of the reliability objectives, planned
actions and projects, programs, and load studies in achieving
an acceptable reliability level.

2) Delivery facilities year-end performance measures,
as established in section D., paragraph 1), shall be reported
as follows:

a. SAIFI, and CAIDI measures:
i) Current year and three-year average

reflecting Delaware performance, classified by distribution,
substation and transmission components; and

ii) Current year for each feeder circuit
providing service to Delaware customers, regardless of state
origin.

b. Constrained hours of operation:
i) Current year and three-year average for

the EDC’s DPL Zone transmission system; and
ii) Current year for the EDC’s DPL Zone,

classified by cause.
3) The Performance Report shall identify 2% of

distribution feeders or 10 feeders, whichever is more,
serving at least one Delaware customer, that are identified by
the utility as having the poorest reliability. The EDC shall
identify the method used to determine the feeders with
poorest reliability and shall indicate any planned corrective
actions to improve feeder performance and target dates for
completion or explain why no action is required. The EDC
shall ensure that feeders, identified as having the poorest
reliability, shall not appear in any two consecutive
Performance Reports without initiated corrective action.

4) The Performance Report shall include annual
information that provides the Commission with the ability to
assess the EDC’s efforts to maintain reliable electric service
to all customers in the state of Delaware.  Such reporting
shall include the following items:

a. Current year expenditures, labor resource
hours, and progress measures for each capital and/or
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maintenance program designed to support the maintenance
of reliable electric service, to include:

i. Transmission vegetation maintenance;
ii. Transmission maintenance, excluding

vegetation, by total, preventive, and corrective categories;
iii. Transmission capital infrastructure

improvements;
iv. Distribution vegetation maintenance;
v, Distribution maintenance, excluding

vegetation, by total, preventive and corrective categories;
vi. Distribution capital infrastructure

improvements;
vii. Transmission and Distribution progress

per Section G., 2) & 3); and
viii. Any related process, practice or material

improvements.
b. Current year OMS data to include:

i. Number of outages by outage type;
ii. Number of outages by outage cause;
iii. Total number of customers at year end;
iv. Total number of customers that

experienced an outage; and
v. Total customer minutes of outage time.

c. Current year CELID8 and CEMI8 results,
exclusive of major events, including any efforts being made
to reduce the occurrences of multiple outages or long
duration outages.

d. Current year customer satisfaction or other
measures the EDC believes are indicative of reliability
performance.

5) The Performance Report shall include a summary
of each major event for which data was excluded, and an
assessment of the measurable impact on reported
performance measures.

6) In the event that an EDC’s reliability performance
measure does not meet an acceptable reliability level for the
calendar year, the Performance Report shall include the
following:

a. For not meeting SAIFI, an analysis of the
customer service interruption causes for all delivery facilities
that significantly contributed to not meeting the benchmark;

b. For not meeting CAIDI, an analysis of the
duration of service interruptions for all delivery facilities by
dispatch, response and repair times that significantly
contributed to not meeting the benchmark;

c. For not meeting Constrained Hours of
Operation, an analysis of significant constraints by cause;

d. A description of any corrective actions that are
planned by the EDC and the target dates by which the
corrective action shall be completed; and

e. If no corrective actions are planned, an
explanation shall be provided.

7) The Performance Report shall include copies of
current procedures identifying methods the EDC uses to
ensure the electric supplier delivery of energy to the EDC at
locations and in amounts which are adequate to meet each
electric supplier’s obligation to its customers.

8) The Performance Report shall include certification
by an officer of the EDC of the data and analysis and that
necessary projects, maintenance programs and other actions
are being performed and adequately funded by the Company
as addressed in its annual plans.

9) By April 30 of each year, each generation company
shall submit an annual Reliability Performance Report. The
performance report shall include the individual unit and
average station forced outage rates and any anticipated
changes that may impact the future adequacy of supply.
Each generation company shall also provide the Commission
with at least a one-year advanced notification of any planned
unit retirements, planned re-powerings or planned long-term
unit de-ratings.

K. Major Event Report
1) Each EDC shall notify the Commission of major

events as soon as practical, but not more than 36 hours after
the onset of a major event.  Initial notification is required
when more than 10% of an EDC’s customers experience a
sustained outage during a 24 hour period; however, I.E.E.E.
1366 standard shall apply to all performance calculations.

2) Each EDC is expected to restore 95% of all
customers experiencing a major event within three (3) days
and 100% within five (5) days.  Performance not meeting
this level will require further review, analysis and
explanation. The EDC may be subject to subsequent
corrective actions and penalties as permitted by 26 Del.C.
§1019.

3) The EDC shall, within 15 business days after the
end of a major event, submit a written report to the
Commission, which shall include the following:

a. The date and time when the EDC’s major event
control center opened and closed;

b. The total number of customers out-of-service
over the course of the major event in six hour increments;

c. The date and time when 95% of customers and
the last customer affected by a major event was restored;

d. The total number of trouble assignments
repaired, by facility classification (poles, miles of wire,
transformers);

e. The time at which the mutual aid and non-
company contractor crews were requested, arrived for duty
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and were released, and the mutual aid and non-contractor
response(s) to the request(s) for assistance; and

f. A timeline profile in six-hour increments of the
number of company line crews, mutual aid crews, non-
company contractor line and tree crews working on
restoration activities during the duration of the major event,
summarized by total number of line, bucket, trouble, and tree
types.

L. Prompt Restoration of Outages
1) Each EDC shall strive to restore service as quickly

and as safely as possible at all times EDCs shall begin the
restoration of service to an affected service area within two
hours of notification by two or more customers of any loss of
electric service.  In situations where it is not practical to
respond within two hours to a reported interruption (safety
reasons, inaccessibility, multiple simultaneous interruptions,
storms or other system emergencies), the EDC shall respond
as soon as the situation permits.

2) Each EDC shall monitor dispatch, response and
repair times for customer outages.  In the event that average
annual dispatch, response or repair performance times
exceed the EDC’s expected levels for the calendar year, the
EDC shall include the following in its annual performance
report.

a. An analysis of the factors which caused the
unexpected performance; and

b. A description of any corrective actions planned
by the EDC to meet expected performance levels.

3) Each EDC shall have outage response procedures
that place the highest priority on responding to emergency
situations for which prompt restoration is essential to public
safety. These procedures should include recognition of
priority requests that may come from police, fire, rescue,
authorized emergency service providers or public facility
operators.

M. Penalties and Other Remedies
1) Private or investor owned utilities and cooperatives,

operating in Delaware under the regulation of the
Commission, are subject to penalties and other remedial
actions in accordance with 26 Del.C., § 205(a), § 217, and §
1019. The Commission shall be responsible for assessing
any penalty under this section, consistent with Delaware law.
In determining if there should be a penalty for violation of a
reporting requirement or benchmark standard and, if so,
what the penalty amount should be, the Commission shall
consider the nature, circumstances, extent and gravity of the
violation including the degree of the EDC’s culpability and
history of prior violations and any good faith effort on the
part of the EDC in attempting to achieve compliance. Such

penalty shall not exceed $5,000 for each violation, with the
overall penalty not to exceed an amount reasonable and
appropriate for the violation (maximum of $600,000 per year
per reporting or standard violation). Each day of
noncompliance shall be treated as a separate violation. In the
case of an electric cooperative, in violation of a reporting
requirement or benchmark standard, the Commission shall
not assess any monetary penalty that would adversely impact
the financial stability of such an entity and any monetary
penalty that is assessed against an electric cooperative shall
not exceed $1,000 for each violation, which each day of
noncompliance shall be treated as a separate violation
(maximum of $60,000 per year per reporting or standard
violation). Nothing in this section relieves any private or
investor owned utility or cooperative from compliance or
penalties, that may be assessed due to non-compliance with
any requirement set forth under any other regulation, statute
or order.

2) An EDC shall be considered in violation of the
SAIFI, CAIDI or Constrained Hours of Operation
performance benchmark standard when the annual year-end
cumulative measure exceeds the benchmark standard. The
term of the violation shall extend for the period of time
during which the performance measure exceeded the
benchmark standard, except in the case of the non-
cumulative CAIDI measure, where such term of violation
shall extend for the period of time after which a rolling 12
month measure exceeds the benchmark standard.

3) Upon failure of any EDC to meet performance
benchmark standards, the EDC shall report monthly, or over
such other period of time that the Commission shall establish
by order, the latest performance indices, until such time as
performance meets the acceptable reliability level.

4) Each EDC not meeting performance benchmark
standards as required by Section D., shall inform its
customers, in writing, of the results and plans to improve
electric service reliability and quality by July 1 of the year
following any year in which its performance does not meet
an acceptable reliability level.

5) Each violation of any reporting rule or performance
standard of this regulation shall constitute a single, separate
and distinct violation for that particular day. Each day during
which a violation continues shall constitute an additional,
separate and distinct violation. Provided, however, that a
violation of a performance measure shall not be deemed to
be a violation per customer, whether affected or otherwise,
but shall constitute a single Delaware-wide violation for the
day.

6) Penalty assessments are payable as provided by
Delaware statute.
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N. Outage and Control Systems
1) Each EDC shall implement and maintain an Outage

Management System (OMS) and a Supervisory Control and
Data Acquisition System (SCADA) as described in this
section by January 1, 2007.

2) The OMS, at a minimum, shall consist of an outage
assessment software program, integrated with a geographic
information system that permits an EDC to effectively
manage outage events and restore customer service in a
timely manner.

3) The OMS should permit the EDC to:
a. Group customers who are out of service to the

most probable interrupting device that operated;
b. Associate customers with distribution

facilities;
c. Generate street maps indicating EDC outage

locations;
d. Improve the management of resources during a

storm;
e. Improve the accuracy of identifying the

number of customers without electric service;
f. Improve the ability to estimate expected

restoration times;
g. Accurately identify the number and when

customers were restored; and
h. Effectively support the dispatch of crews and/

or service personnel.
4) The SCADA system, at a minimum, shall consist of

a remote monitoring and operating ability for all major
substation equipment integral to maintaining the reliability
of the system.  The system will have the ability to:

a. Monitor and record critical system load data and
major equipment status;

b. Provide remote operational control over major
equipment; and

c. Incorporate generally accepted utility industry
safety and security standards.

O. Reporting Specifications and Implementation
1) Planning and Studies Reports, Performance Reports

and Major Event Reports provided under this regulation are
subject to annual review and audit by the Commission.  Each
EDC and generation company must maintain sufficient
records to permit a review and confirmation of material
contained in all required reports.

2) Reports shall be submitted as an original and 5
paper copies with one additional copy submitted
electronically to the Secretary, Delaware Public Service
Commission, with certification of authenticity by an officer
of the corporation.  The electronic copy may be posted on
the Delaware Public Service Commission’s Internet website.

3) Each EDC or generation company may request that
information, required under this regulation, be classified as
confidential, proprietary and/or privileged material. The
requesting party must attest that such information is not
subject to inspection by the public or other parties without
execution of an appropriate proprietary agreement. Each
party requesting such treatment of information is also
obligated to file one (1) additional electronic and paper copy
of the information, excluding the confidential or proprietary
information. The Commission, in accordance with Rule 11,
Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Delaware Public
Service Commission, effective May 10, 1999, will treat such
information as “confidential, not for public release” upon
receipt of a properly filed request. Any dispute over the
confidential treatment of information shall be resolved by
the Commission, designated Presiding Officer or Hearing
Examiner.

4) This regulation is effective January 1, 2006.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence
and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DELAWARE COUNCIL ON POLICE 
TRAINING

Statutory Authority: 11 Delaware Code,
Section §8404(a)(14) (11 Del.C. §8404(a)(14))

ORDER

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Chairman of the Council on Police Training
approves the proposed regulation as published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations on October 3, 2005.
Notices of the proposed regulation were published in The
News Journal and the Delaware State News on September 19
and 20, 2005, respectively, in the form attached hereto as
Exhibits A and B.  The notices invited written comments
(none were received).  The notices also invited the public to
attend a hearing on October 11, 2005 to comment on the
proposed regulation.  No members of the public attended the
hearing.

Findings of Facts

The Chairman finds that it is necessary to adopt the
regulation to promote public safety.

Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Chairman concludes that
it is necessary to adopt the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to
11 Delaware Code §8404(a)(14), the regulation attached
hereto as Exhibit C is hereby adopted.

Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit C, and said regulation
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Council on Police
Training.

Effective Date of Order

The action referred to above was taken on October 18,
2005.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED, this 18th day of October, 2005.
Richard Carmean, Chairman
Council on Police Training
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REVISIONS

II-14 Minimum Standards Firearm Qualification
Course Of Fire
50 Rounds/Daylight/Low-Light
Stage #1 3 Yard Line 2 RoundsTotal: 2 Rounds
The officer is to stand at the designated line and on the

command "Draw" his/her handgun with the strong hand.
Bringing the weapon eye level. Two rounds are to be fired.
This is done with the strong hand only - strong hand shooting
exercise. The weapon is to be returned to the holster.

Stage #2 3 Yard Line 2 RoundsTotal: 2 Rounds
The command "Back" will be given and the officer will

step to the rear one step. Upon the command "Fire", he/she
will fire two rounds into the target.

Stage #3 4 Yard Line 2 RoundsTotal: 2 Rounds
Same as the previous stage.
Stage #4 5 Yard Line 2 RoundsTotal: 8 Rounds
With this stage, the shooter begins with a holstered

weapon. On the command of either "right" or "left" the
shooter will move one step in the direction indicated, draw
and bringing the weapon to eye level, fire two rounds. The
weapon is to remain on target for the next three lateral
commands.

Night Shoot - add four more rounds to this stage.
Stage #5 7 Yard Line 2 RoundsTotal: 6 Rounds
Barricade, Kneeling, Strong-Side, and Strong-Hand

Drill

The shooters will kneel approximately three feet behind
a barricade. On the command "Draw" the weapon will be
brought up to eye level. From the safety of the barricade, the
sights will be aligned. On the command "Fire", the shooter
will quickly observe the target, check the sight alignment,
lean out, and fire two rounds. The shooter will then return to
concealment/cover. This procedure will be repeated two
more times for a total of six rounds fired. The barricade is
not to be used as support.

Night Shoot - add two more rounds to this stage.
Stage #6 7 Yard Line 2 RoundsTotal: 6 Rounds
Barricade, Kneeling, Off-Side, and Strong Hand Drill
The previous stage will be repeated from the off-side of

the barricade.
Night Shoot - add two more rounds to this stage.
Stage #7 15 Yard Line 3 RoundsTotal: 9

Rounds
The shooter begins this course of fire standing on the 15

yard line wit the weapon drawn. On the command "Move"
the shooter begins to advance on the target. A slow, smooth
step is suggested allowing the shooter to stay on target. On
the command "Fire" he/she will stop and fire three rounds.

The shooter will not begin moving again until the command
"Move" is given. This will be repeated tow more times for a
total of nine rounds fired. Any reloading or clearing of
malfunctions can be preformed behind cover by simply
stepping to the left and kneeling down.

Stage #8 25 Yard Line 9 RoundsTotal: 9
Rounds

Standing Strong Side 3 Rounds
Kneeling Strong Side 3 Rounds
Standing Off-Side - Strong Hand 3 Rounds
The shooter will fire from the above positions. This is

unsupported shooting. When the command "Fire" is given,
the shooter will begin. Any and all reloading shall be done
from behind the barricade as the weapon dictates.

Night Shoot - eliminate this stage.
Stage #9 4 Yard Line 6 RoundsTotal: 6 Rounds
Off-Hand, One Handed Shooting, and Reloading Drill

The weapon should be loaded with three rounds
with three additional rounds in another reloading device. The
officer will draw his/her weapon and transfer it to the
offhand. The strong-hand will be placed behind the back as if
it were incapacitated. On the command "Fire" the shooter
will fire three rounds. The weapon will then be emptied,
reloaded, and fired three additional times. The weapon will
then be unloaded. This is all done with use of only the off-
hand. The weapon will then be transferred back to the
strong-hand and re-holstered.

Night Shoot - add one more round to this stage.
This completes the Minimum Handgun Qualification

Course of Fire.
Total Rounds Expended: 50 Approximate Time: 25

minutes

II-14 Minimum Standards for Firearms Qualifications
A. Handguns (Day)

A minimum of three qualification shoots per year,
scheduled on at least two separate dates, with ninety days
between qualification dates.

Of the three dates, there will be one mandatory
“low light” qualification.  Simulation of “low light” is
permitted and the “low light” qualification may be combined
with a day shoot.

All training ammunition shall be comparable to
issued ammunition in performance.

Service ammunition will be collected annually and
replaced with new ammunition.  The collected ammunition
may be used for training and qualification.

A minimum of 150 rounds of ammunition will be
fired annually for proficiency training.  This ammunition
will not include the ammunition required for qualification
courses.
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A minimum score of 80% must be obtained to be
qualified with the approved handgun.  The method of
scoring and target selection will be determined by the
instructor.

All qualifications are to be completed with
authorized weapon and equipment (holster, speedloaders,
pouches, etc.).

Shooting will be conducted annually using the
flashlight for target illumination and identification.

YARD LINE COURSE OF FIRE  TOTAL ROUNDS

25/Greater Behind Cover 9
Two Different Positions

15 to 7 Advancing Towards Target 9

7 Centered Behind Barricade 12

5/Less Move Back 6

5/Less Lateral Movement 8

5/Less One Hand Reload 6
Strong/Weak Hand Only

TOTAL OF FIFTY ROUNDS

The instructor will determine at what distance, in
what manner, and how many rounds will be fired on each
command.

B. Low Light or Concealed Carry Standards Retiree
Concealed Carry Standards for H.R. 218.

This regulation sets forth the minimum
qualification standards for concealed weapon handguns for
active duty police officers and for retired law enforcement
officers who qualify under the Law Enforcement Officers
Safety Act of 2004 (H.R. 218).

These are minimum standards and shall not prevent
any police department from establishing more strict or
additional rules or regulations to qualify to conceal carry a
firearm on or off duty.

YARD LINE COURSE OF FIRE TOTAL ROUNDS

15 to 17 Advance Towards Target 9

7 Centered Kneeling Behind 16
Barricade

5/Less Lateral Movement 12

5/Less Move Back 6
5/Less One Hand Reload 7

Strong/Weak Hand Only

TOTAL OF FIFTY ROUNDS

The instructor will determine at what distance, in
what manner, and how many rounds are fired on each
command.

Active duty and retired law enforcement officers
must qualify a minimum of once annually and obtain a
minimum score of 80%.

If the weapon system or holster is different from
duty use, the officer must qualify a minimum of once
annually and obtain a minimum of 80% score.

C. Basic Patrol Long Gun
This basic patrol long gun course is not designed to

replace training relevant to specific weapons such as sniping
marksmanship and select fire weapons.  It will be incumbent
upon each police department to provide their respective
officers with specific recognized training to have those
officers certified.

Long guns include patrol level weapons designed to
be fired from the shoulder (e.g., patrol rifle/carbines,
shotguns).

Police departments using long guns will be required
to qualify three times a year.  A two-day course and one “low
light” course simulation of “low light” is permitted.  A
minimum of ninety days is required between the two-day
courses.  The “low light” course may be combined as part of
a one-day qualification course.

Service ammunition will be collected annually and
replaced with new ammunition.  The collected ammunition
may be used for training and qualification.

All training ammunition shall be comparable to
issued ammunition in performance.

Departments using long guns will fire a minimum
of twenty rounds of ammunition for proficiency training per
year.  This ammunition will not include the ammunition
required for qualification courses.

A minimum score of 80% must be obtained to be
qualified.  The method of scoring and what type of target
used will be determined by the instructor.

All qualifications are to be completed with
authorized weapons and ammunition.

Departments are required to qualify on each type of
ammunition that is issued.

YARD LINE COURSE OF FIRE TOTAL ROUNDS

3/Greater Two Different Positions 10
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Three Different Places
TOTAL OF TEN ROUNDS

The instructor will determine at what distance, in
what manner, and how many rounds are fired on each
command depending on the weapon and the capability of the
ammunition.

II-15 FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR RETRAINING
Firearms instructors certified by the Council on Police

Training shall receive approved updated instructors training
no less than every three years.

The Chief of Police shall provide documentation of the
required update training to the Administrator for inclusion in
the instructor's training records.

No Firearms instructor shall be employed by any police
agency for purposes of certifying personnel unless the
instructor has been approved by the Council on Police
Training.

II-15 Re-certification of Basic Firearms Instructors
An eight-hour firearms re-certification course will be

held annually and will cover, but not be limited to: legal
updates; use of force; and review of Council on Police
Training standards.

To maintain certification, firearms instructors must
attend a minimum of one re-certification course every three
years and complete sixteen hours of additional training in
firearms usage or complete sixteen hours of Academy-level
instruction, or a combination of training and instruction in
the same three-year period.

The head of the police department shall provide
documentation of the required updated training to the COPT
Administrator to include in the instructor’s training records.

No firearms instructor shall be employed by any police
department for purposes of certifying firearms instructors
unless the certifying instructor has been approved by the
Council on Police Training.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

Statutory Authority: 12 Delaware Code, 
Section 1154 (12 Del.C. §1154)

ORDER

Abandoned or Unclaimed Property Voluntary Disclosure 
Agreement and Audit Programs

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Department published Proposed Regulations for
Abandoned or Unclaimed Property Voluntary Disclosure
Agreement and Audit Programs in the May 1, 2005 edition
of the Delaware Register of Regulations. Publication in the
Delaware Register of Regulations also signified the start of a
30-day public comment period that began on the same date
and ended on May 31, 2005.

As a result of the aforementioned public outreach, the
following is a summary of the comments received related to
the Regulations:

Comments

The Department received an email with comments
from:

Walter Tuthill and Michael Houghton, attorneys with
Morris Nichols Arsht & Tunnell, in Delaware, that consist of
tightening up of the proposed language in certain places
along with some new concepts, such as in the Initial Holder
Contact section under the fifth bullet adding language to
include an executed power of attorney signed by the Holder
authorizing the representative to act on behalf of the Holder;
in the Processing the VDA section language under the first
bullet that 'acceptance shall be indicated by the State's
signing and returning a copy of the Form to the Holder';
between the second and third bullet language that the audit
report shall identify in detail the work performed, the
property types reviewed, any estimation techniques
employed, and a calculations showing the potential amount
of property due under the VDA; in the Auditing of Holders
section language at the end that 'at the request of a Holder
the State's third party auditor will enter into a confidentiality
agreement with the Holder before any of the Holder's
confidential records are produced'; in the Examination
section that the Holder be kept informed of the progress of
the audit and may contact the State directly to address issues
related to the audit and a review process occur subsequent to
the issuance of the final report.
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John Colson, an attorney with Alston & Bird in Georgia,
suggested that in the first bullet point under "Processing the
VDA," we substitute "subsequent" for "other" to make it
clear that there is no obligation to report or pay for years
prior to calendar year 1991, report year 1996.

Noel Hall, a principal with KPMG in California,
suggested that the State consider addressing the issue of the
amount of time allowed the Holder to assemble its' records
for an examination. As when a holder is facing a 20 year
examination period coupled with decentralized processes,
there is no defined reasonable period of time for the Holder
to assemble their records for the audit. 

James O. Santivañez, the Unclaimed Property Services
Leader with Ryan & Company in Georgia, that consisted of
tightening up of the proposed language in certain places
along with some new concepts such as in the Policy section
changes to the second, third and fourth bullet points; in the
Process section adding a sixth bullet point pertaining to
'Power of Attorney'; in the Processing the VDA section
tightening up language in the first bullet and adding a new
section between the third and fourth bullet pertaining to
extensions of time to file reports; in the Notification of Audit
section suggested language the official letter be sent
Certified Mail via the United States Postal Service; in the
Opening Conference section suggested interest be waived
for any periods the audit is unduly delayed by the third-party
auditors or the State; in the Examination section suggested
adding that all books and records transferred be considered
confidential and at the conclusion of the audit be returned to
the Holder and electronically stored data be removed from
the State's records; in the Third-Party Advocate section
suggested language pertaining to the authority of a
representative of a Holder; in the Final Report section
suggested the State refund any overpayments within thirty
days of the statement of findings; and add a final section,
'Dispute of Audit Findings' that the Holder may petition the
Director of Revenue for a hearing on that determination and
on the imposition of any interest or penalty resulting from
that determination not later than the 30th day after the date
the determination is made.

Findings of Fact

Based upon the comments received and summarized
above, the following changes were made to the Regulations:

A number of the comments were adopted and are
highlighted in the Final Regulation, whereas other comments
were weighed and not deemed to warrant adoption in the
Final Regulation.

Order and Effective Date

NOW THEREFORE, it is ordered that the proposed
regulations , as set forth in the attached copy, are adopted
and shall be final effective ten (10) days from the date this
Order is published in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 10th day of November 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF Finance
Richard Cordrey, Secretary of Finance
Approved this 10th day of November 2005

Abandoned or Unclaimed Property
Voluntary Disclosure Agreement Program

Policy:
The State of Delaware Division of Revenue is

committed to promoting Holder compliance.  In an effort to
accomplish this objective, a Voluntary Disclosure
Agreement (VDA) process is available to Holders who are
not presently in compliance but want to comply with the
Abandoned or Unclaimed Property Law.  The VDA program
allows Holders to come forward to report their abandoned
property liability for a limited reporting period.  The
agreement releases the Holder from all claims, demands,
interest, penalties, actions or causes of action related to all
property reported properly under the term of the VDA.

In our commitment to fairness in the administration of
Delaware’s Abandoned or Unclaimed Property Law, the
Division of Revenue will adhere to the following general
guidelines:

• Any Holder who wishes to comply with the
Delaware Abandoned or Unclaimed Property
Law may file a VDA.

• Holders, which includes any subsidiary and all
related entities, who have received an audit letter
or are currently under audit by the State of
Delaware may not file a VDA.

• The Holder shall complete a review of its books
and records and file reports beginning with
calendar year 1991, report year 1996, as well as
for all subsequent report years, and pay over all
abandoned property due the State of Delaware for
those years.

• The State of Delaware reserves the right for three
years to audit a VDA.  Interest and penalty may
be assessed pursuant to §1159 of the Abandoned
or Unclaimed Property Law on all abandoned
property due for all reporting years, if it is
determined that the property reported on a VDA
is materially under-reported.  In such a case, the
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VDA shall be and of no force or effect. The State
of Delaware reserves the right to fully audit the
Holder in such a circumstance.

Process:

Initial Holder Contact
The Holder or the Holder’s representative initiates the

process by sending a completed Form AP DE-1, Disclosure
and Notice of Intent to Voluntarily Comply with
Abandoned or Unclaimed Property Law, to the following
address:

Delaware Division of Revenue
Attn: Abandoned Property Audit Manager
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Fax: 302-577-8982

The following information must be provided:

• Completed Form AP DE-1, signed by the Holder
• Holder’s name and address
• List of all subsidiaries and all related entities

participating in VDA
• Federal Employer Identification Number for each

entity participating
• Holder representative’s contact information,

including an executed power of attorney signed
by the Holder authorizing the representative to
act on behalf of the Holder 

Processing the VDA
• Upon acceptance of the Form AP DE-1 by the

State of Delaware, the Holder shall complete a
review of its books and records and file reports
beginning with calendar year 1991, report year
1996, as well as for all subsequent report years
and pay all abandoned property due the State for
those years within six months from the date of the
acceptance of Form AP DE-1. Acceptance shall
be indicated by the State’s signing and returning a
copy of the Form to the Holder.

• After the review of its books and records, the
Holder is required to file a Form AP DE-2,
Voluntary Self Disclosure Agreement.  The
Form AP DE –2 must be signed and sent along
with the audit report outlining the Holder’s
potential liability.

• The audit report shall identify in detail the work
performed, the property types reviewed, any

estimation techniques employed, and a
calculations showing the potential amount of
property due under the VDA.

• The State reserves the right to assess interest on
any liability being reported under the VDA, if the
VDA has not been received or an extension has
not been granted within the six-month period.

• The State of Delaware will review the report
submitted by the Holder and either accept it and
request payment of their liability, or contact the
Holder for additional information  

General Information:
• The State of Delaware reserves the right to deny

or void the VDA if a Holder does not adhere to
the Program policies and procedures.

• The State of Delaware reserves the right to audit a
VDA for three years from the date that a Holder
has paid over property under a VDA.

• The VDA forms may not be altered without
written consent of the State.

For more information on abandoned property Voluntary
Disclosure Agreements, please contact Mark Udinski,
Abandoned Property Audit Manager at 302-577-8260 or
mark.udinski@state.de.us or write to:

Delaware Division of Revenue
Attn: Mark Udinski, Abandoned Property Audit 

Manager
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Fax: 302-577-8982

Abandoned or Unclaimed Property Audit Guidelines

Authority to Conduct Abandoned Property Audits:
Section 1155 of Title 12, Delaware Code provides the

State Escheator with the authority to examine the records of
any person or business association or organization to
determine whether the person has complied with any
provision of the Abandoned or Unclaimed Property Law of
Delaware.

Section 123 of House Bill 400 from the 140th General
Assembly of the State of Delaware originally granted the
Director of Revenue the authority, approved annually, to
enter into an agreement with organizations to identify
abandoned property to be escheated to the State by means of
audit or otherwise.
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Auditing of Holders:
As allowed by law, the State of Delaware will examine

selected Holders’ books and records for compliance with the
Abandoned Property Law.  The audit will be assigned to an
auditor in the Division of Revenue or to a third-party
auditing firm that the State has retained for such purposes. At
the request of a Holder the State’s third party auditor will
enter into a confidentiality agreement with the Holder in a
from approved by the State Escheator before any of the
Holder’s confidential records are produced.

Notification of Audit:
An official letter from the Abandoned Property Audit

Manager will be issued to Holders selected for audit.  The
letter will outline the State’s intention to examine the books
and records of the Holder (including subsidiary and related
entities) and identify the assigned auditor or third-party
auditing firm. Third-party auditors are not authorized to
engage in any examination or audit without prior written
consent from the State of Delaware Division of Revenue.
The issuance of an intent to audit letter terminates the
Holder’s ability to enter into a Voluntary Disclosure
Agreement (VDA).

Opening Conference:
Once an audit is assigned, an opening conference will be

scheduled with the auditor and representatives of the Holder.
During the opening conference, the auditor will:

• Advise the Holder of the reporting requirements
of the Delaware Abandoned or Unclaimed
Property Law,

• Identify the time period to be covered by the
examination,

• Schedule a time period for field work to be
commenced, and

• Request records and materials necessary to
initiate the audit.

The State expects the Holder’s cooperation and
anticipates that with the Holder’s cooperation the time to
complete a typical audit should not exceed twelve (12)
months.  If an audit lasts longer than 12-months, the
Abandoned Property Audit Manager will meet with the
Holder to facilitate completion of the audit.  Interest and
penalty may be assessed pursuant to §1159 of the
Abandoned or Unclaimed Property Law on all abandoned
property due for all reporting years under audit.

Examination:

The auditor may conduct the examination on-site or
remotely with the consent of the Holder if records are

available electronically or can be shipped.  On-site work
may last a few days to several weeks depending on the size
and complexity of the Holder the availability of records, and
the availability of holder personnel necessary to explain and
discuss the records.  During the examination, the auditor will
review all necessary books and records, interview key
personnel and review relevant policies and procedures
related to abandoned property.  During the examination, the
auditor may make subsequent requests to the Holder for
additional books and records as required to complete the
audit.

The Holder will be kept informed of the progress of the
audit and may contact the State directly to address issues or
related to the audit. At the end of the examination, the
auditor will present the preliminary findings to the Holder at
an exit conference.  These findings are not final.  The auditor
will allow the Holder reasonable time to complete required
research and gather more records to address matters raised in
the preliminary findings.

Third-Party Advocates:
Holders may retain third party advocates (Advocate) to

assist them in the audit process. The retention of an
Advocate is no basis to delay the commencement of the
State’s audit and the State will not delay the audit so that the
Advocate may conduct a review or it’s own audit of the
Holder’s books and records in advance of the State’s audit.
The State will cooperate with the Holder and its Advocate
and keep both of them apprised of the records requests,
interviews and the progress of the audit in general. It is
understood that the State will not audit or be limited to a
review of work papers, compilations or record summaries
prepared by the Holder or the Advocate but shall have access
to such of the Holder’s original books and records that are
necessary to ascertain the Holder’s compliance with the law.
The State shall direct all requests and communications
directly to the Holder and, if requested by the Holder, will
also direct copies to the Advocate.

Final Report:
At the close of the audit, the Holder will receive a

statement of findings letter from the Delaware’s Abandoned
Property Audit Manager.  This letter will outline the findings
of the audit and make a formal demand for the property
under question (if applicable).  The Holder has thirty (30)
days to directly remit to the State of Delaware any
abandoned property identified during the examination as
owed to the State of Delaware.
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General Information:
For more information on abandoned property audits,

please contact Mark Udinski, Audit Manager at 302-577-
8260 or mark.udinski@state.de.us or write to:

Delaware Division of Revenue
Attn: Mark Udinski, Abandoned Property Audit 

Manager
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Fax: 302-577-8982

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”)/
Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance (DMMA)
initiated proceedings to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan and the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) to
implement the Medicare Part D Prescription Drug Program.
The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section
512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the September 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by September 30, 2005 at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

Summary of Proposed Amendment

Statutory Authority
• The Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement

and Modernization Act of 2003 (MMA)
• Section 1935(a) of the Social Security Act

• 42 CFR Parts 400, 403, 411, 417 and 423

New Pre-Print State Plan Pages
• Attachment 2.2-A, Page 27
• Attachment 3.1.A.1, Page 1
• Attachment 3.1.A.1, Page 2
• Attachment 3.1.A.1, Page[s] 2a [and 2b[

Background
The Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement and

Modernization Act of 2003 (MMA) established the
Medicare Prescription Drug Program, also known as
Medicare Part D, making prescription drug coverage
available to individuals who are entitled to receive Medicare
benefits under Part A or Part B, beginning on January 1,
2006.

The MMA also established the Low-Income Subsidy
(LIS) to assist individuals who have low-income and
resources with payment of the premiums, deductibles, and
co-payments required under Part D, which began on July 1,
2005.

Effective January 1, 2006, Medicaid beneficiaries who
are entitled to receive Medicare benefits under Part A or Part
B will no longer receive their pharmacy benefits under the
State Medicaid Program, except for excluded drugs.  States
are required to submit State Plan Amendments that ensure
State Medicaid Program pharmacy benefits are consistent
with the requirements under Part D.

Given that Medicare is the primary payor with respect to
Part D drugs for full-benefit dual eligible individuals; states
will continue to receive Federal Financial Participation
(FFP) for the payment of the deductible and coinsurance for
Medicare Part A and Part B drugs.

Summary of Proposed Changes

State Plan Amendment (SPA)
States must amend their state plans to indicate

compliance with the provisions of the MMA. CMS
forwarded templates that may be used to amend the State’s
Medicaid Plan to reflect the provisions pertaining to LIS and
to the screen and enroll requirement and to Medicaid
outpatient drug coverage.

Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM)

Note:  [Bold, Bracketed Strikethrough] indicates changes
that are not being adopted at this time.  The Medicare Part D
changes are being adopted.

• [DSSM 14100.4, 14100.6, and 14800:  revised
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to state definitively that verifications must be
returned as requested or eligibility will be
denied or terminated. ]

• DSSM 14970 (new): language added to reflect
changes to Medicaid pharmacy benefits because
of Medicare Part D.

• [DSSM 16310: clarified section that describes
terminations of eligibility specific to the
poverty level groups.]

• [DSSM 30405: language added to reflect
changes related denial of application if
requested verification documentation is not
received by a due date.]

• DSSM Section 30000 (new - 30305, 30500.1,
30502.1, 30306): provides for changes to the
Delaware Prescription Assistance Program
(DPAP) because of Medicare Part D.  

• DSSM Section 50000 (new – 50100.4): provides
for changes to the Chronic Renal Disease
Program (CRDP) because of Medicare Part D.  

Summary of Comments Received With Agency Response 
and Explanation of Changes

The Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council
(DDDC) and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities
(SCPD) offered the following observations and
recommendation DMMA has considered each comment and
responds as follows:

DMMA recites that it relied on CMS-supplied templates
to guide development of the standards.  Although not
mentioned, the standards also implement Senate Bill No. 18
signed by the Governor on April 26, 2005.  Senate Bill No.
18 revamps the Delaware Prescription Drug Program
(DPAP) to ensure integration with the Medicare Part D
Program.

First, there is an obvious anomaly at pp. 320-321.
DMMA affirmatively indicates that it provides coverage for
drugs used for “anorexia” and “weight loss” and lists some
examples.  DMMA adopts final regulations the month of
September 2005, which eschew coverage of drugs for
“anorexia” and “weight loss”.  Compare 9 DE Reg. at 425,
Section 12.a.12.e.  Second, DMMA may wish to reconsider
the categorical exclusion for fluoride. Physician may
prescribe fluoride for beneficiaries with well water.
Children in homes with well water, in particular, are subject
to significant tooth degradation if not provided with fluoride
supplements.

Agency Response:  Perhaps, you may have
misinterpreted the documents.  Even though the preprint
pages suggest that states can exclude coverage of particular

therapies, DMMA has opted to cover both anorexia agents,
appetite stimulants and vitamins and minerals including
fluoride.  The only two categories that there are no
conditions of coverage is promotion of fertility and hair
growth.  As noted in DMMA Final Order Regulation #05-46,
published in the September 2005 Register, DMMA does
have criteria that need to be met to insure weight
maintenance medications are being used for medical care
and not for cosmetic purposes.  Regarding fluoride,
physicians may prescribe fluoride supplements for children
with well water.  That is the normal method of insuring the
children get fluoride.  Those products are covered.

Third, there are several provisions which direct denial of
application if DMMA does not receive requested verification
documentation by a due date.  The current regulation
generally “authorizes” denial but does not inexorably require
it:  Failure to provide requested documentation may result in
denial or termination of eligibility.  This discretionary
provision is replaced with a rigid substitute: Failure to
provide verifications by the due date given will result in a
finding of ineligibility.

DMMA workers should be accorded some discretion in
this context.  A beneficiary may have “good cause” for
missing a deadline (e.g. unexpected illness).  Moreover,
CMS regulations specifically authorize extensions based on
“unusual circumstances” (e.g. “(w)hen the agency cannot
reach a decision because the applicant or an examining
physician delays or fails to take a required action”). See
attached 42 CFR §435.911.  A “rigid” State regulation which
disallows such discretion would be contrary to the CMS
regulation.  We strongly recommend reconsideration of this
change.

Fourth, DMMA proposes deletion of the following
sentence in Section 16310:  Medicaid eligibility may not be
terminated until we determine that the individual is not
eligible under any other eligibility group.  This provision is a
time-honored consumer protection in the Medicaid program
and should be retained.  It also implements CMS policy
which requires an assessment of eligibility under all bases:

Q. How must the State proceed to consider all possible
avenues of eligibility before terminating (or denying)
eligibility?
A. The systems and processes used by the State must first
consider whether the individual continues to be eligible
under the current category of eligibility and, if not, explore
eligibility under other possible categories. The extent to
which and manner in which other possible categories must
be explored will depend on the circumstances of the case and
the information available to the State.
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Exhausting All Possible Avenues of Eligibility
The Medicaid program has numerous and sometimes

overlapping eligibility categories. For eligibility
redeterminations, States must have systems and processes in
place that explore and exhaust all possible avenues of
eligibility. These systems and processes must first consider
whether the individual continues to be eligible under the
current category of eligibility and, in the case of a negative
finding, explore eligibility under other possible eligibility
categories.

See attached CMS, Dear State Medicaid Director Policy
Letter (April 7, 2000), 
http://cms.hhs.gov/states/letters/smd40700.asp.

Agency Response: DMMA will not adopt, at this time,
designated sections of the proposed regulation. DMMA
plans to issue a final order regulation pending guidance from
CMS to address the public concerns of the comments
received and to conduct further analysis regarding DSSM
Sections 14100.4, 14100.6, 14800, 16310 and 30405.

Fifth, “;or” should be added at the end of Section
30201(d).

Agency Response:  Comment accepted, “; or” added.

Sixth, punctuation should be added to subparts of
Sections 30307 and 30307.1.

Agency Response:  Comment accepted, punctuation
added to Sections 30307 and 30307.1.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the September 2005 Register of Regulations should
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and
the Division of Social Services Manual regarding the
Medicare Part D Prescription Drug Program is adopted and
shall be final effective November 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, October 13, 2005

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-63a
NEW STATE PLAN PAGES:

Attachment 2.2-A
Page 27

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

STATE: DELAWARE

REQUIREMENTS RELATING TO DETERMINING 
ELIGIBILITY FOR MEDICARE PRESCRIPTION DRUG 

LOW-INCOME SUBSIDIES

Agency Citation (s) Groups Covered

1935(a) and 1902(a)(66) The agency provides for
making Medicare

42 CFR 423.774  prescription drug Low
and 423.904 Income Subsidy

determinations under Section
1935(a) of the Social
Security Act.
1. The agency makes
determinations of eligibility
for premium and cost
sharing subsidies under and
in accordance with section
1860D-14 of the Social
Security Act;
2. The agency provides for
informing the Secretary of
such determinations in cases
in which such eligibility is
established or redetermined;
3. The agency provides for
screening of individuals for
Medicare cost-sharing
described in Section
1905(p)(3) of the Act and
offering enrollment to
eligible individuals under the
State plan or under a waiver
of the State plan.

                   Attachment 3.1.A.1
                   Page 1

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

STATE: DELAWARE
MEDICAID PROGRAM: REQUIREMENTS RELATING 

TO COVERED OUTPATIENT DRUGS FOR THE 
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

Citation (s) Provision (s)
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1935(d)(1) Effective January 1, 2006,
the Medicaid agency will not
cover any Part D drug for
full-benefit dual eligible
individuals who are entitled
to receive Medicare benefits
under Part A or Part B. 

Attachment 3.1.A.1
Page 2

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

STATE: DELAWARE

MEDICAID PROGRAM: REQUIREMENTS RELATING 
TO PAYMENT FOR COVERED OUTPATIENT DRUGS 

FOR THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

Citation (s) Provision (s)

1927(d)(2) and 1935(d)(2) 1. The Medicaid agency
provides coverage for the
following excluded or
otherwise restricted drugs or
classes of drugs, or their
medical uses to all Medicaid
recipients, including full
benefit dual eligible
beneficiaries under the
Medicare Prescription Drug
Benefit –Part D.
; The following excluded
drugs are covered: 
; (a) agents when used for
anorexia, weight  loss,
weight gain (see specific
drug categories below)
� (b) agents when used to
promote fertility (see
specific drug categories
below)
� (c) agents when used for
cosmetic purposes or hair
growth (see specific drug
categories below)
; (d) agents when used for
the symptomatic relief 
cough and colds (see specific
drug categories below)
; (e) prescription vitamins

and mineral products, except
prenatal vitamins and
fluoride (see specific drug
categories below)
; (f) nonprescription drugs
(see specific drug categories
below)

Attachment 3.1.A.1
Page 2a

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

STATE: DELAWARE

MEDICAID PROGRAM: REQUIREMENTS RELATING 
TO PAYMENT FOR COVERED OUTPATIENT DRUGS 

FOR THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

Citation (s) Provision (s)

1927(d)(2) and 1935(d)(2) � (g) covered outpatient
drugs which the
manufacturer seeks to
require as a condition of sale
that associated tests or
monitoring services be 
purchased exclusively from
the manufacturer or its
designee (see specific drug
categories below)
; (h) barbiturates (see
specific drug categories
below)
;  (i) benzodiazepines (see
specific drug categories
below)
(The Medicaid agency lists
specific category of drugs
below)
(a) Agents when used for
anorexia, weight  loss,
weight gain:  Megestrol
Acetate, Somatropin, Lipase
Inhibitor. Products in these
categories require prior
authorization. 
(d) Agents when used for
the symptomatic relief
cough and colds:
Antihistamines, Antitussive,
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Decongestants, and
Expectorants.
(e) Prescription vitamins
and mineral products,
except prenatal vitamins and
fluoride: Single entity
vitamins, Multiple vitamins
w/minerals, Nicotinic acid,
Calcium salts, and Dialysis
replacement products.
(f) Nonprescription drugs:
Analgesic oral and rectal;
Heartburn; Antiflatulents;
Antidiarrheal;
Antinauseants; Cough &
Cold, oral; Cough & Cold,
topical; Contraceptives;
Diabetic supplies;
Hemantinics; Laxatives &
Stool Softeners; Lice Control
Preparations; Magnesium
Supplement, oral; Nasal
Preparations; Nicotine
Cessation Preparations;
Opthalmic Preparations;
Topical Anesthestics;
Topical Antibacterials;
Topical/Vaginal Fungicidals;
Vitamins & Minerals;
Digestive Enzymes; and,
Miscellaneous (Colloidal
Oatmeal Baths).
(h) Barbiturates: the
Division of  Medicaid &
Medical Assistance covers
all medications in these
therapeutic categories.
(i)  Benzodiazepines: the
Division of  Medicaid &
Medical Assistance covers
all medications in
thesetherapeutic categories.

__ No excluded drugs are covered.

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-63b
REVISIONS:

Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM)

[14100.4 Disposition Of Applications

The agency must include in each applicant's case
record facts to support the agency's decision on his
application.  The agency must dispose of each application
by a finding of eligibility or ineligibility, unless:

a) there is an entry in the case record that the
applicant voluntarily withdrew the application, and that
the agency sent a notice confirming his decision;

b) there is a supporting entry in the case record
that the applicant has died; or

c) there is a supporting entry in the case record
that the applicant cannot be located.

d) Certain factors of eligibility must be verified
according to specific eligibility groups.  If all information
requested is not received, DSS cannot determine or
redetermine eligibility.  This may result in denial of the
application or the termination of eligibility.  Verifications
received and/or provided may reveal a new eligibility
issue not previously realized and this may require
additional verifications.  Failure to provide additional
requested verifications may result in denial or
termination of eligibility.  all verification requested is not
received by the due date given to the applicant.   If all
verification requested is not received by the due date, an
eligibility determination cannot be made.  This will result
in denial of the application.  Verification that is received
and/or provided may reveal a new eligibility issue not
previously realized that requires additional verification.
If the additional verification requested is not received by
the due date given, this will result in denial of the
application.

All applicants will receive a notice of acceptance or
denial.]

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

[14100.6  Redetermination Of Eligibility
Eligibility for continued Medicaid coverage must be

redetermined at least annually. A redetermination is a re-
evaluation of a recipient's continued eligibility for
medical assistance.  In a redetermination, all eligibility
factors that are subject to change are re-examined to
ensure that the recipient continues to meet eligibility
requirements.  When a redetermination is due, the
recipient is required to complete and return a new DSS
application form renewal form and provide requested
verifications by the due date given.  Failure to complete
and return a DSS application form renewal form and the
requested verifications by the due date given will result
in termination of eligibility.  A redetermination is
complete when all eligibility factors that are subject to
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change are examined and a decision regarding continued
eligibility is reached.  Eligibility must be promptly
redetermined when information is received about
changes in a recipient's circumstances that may affect his
eligibility.  Some changes in circumstances can be
anticipated.  A redetermination of eligibility must be
made at the appropriate time based on those changes.
Examples are:  Social Security changes, receipt of child
support, return to work, etc.

Medicaid coverage should not terminate without a
specific determination of ineligibility. The individual may
be eligible under another category of Medicaid. For
example, when an individual loses eligibility because of
termination from cash assistance, such as SSI, we must
make a separate determination of Medicaid eligibility.
Medicaid must continue until the individual is found to
be ineligible.  The individual will be found ineligible
when a renewal form and the requested verifications are
not returned by the due date given.

Medical assistance will be terminated when DSS  or
DMMA is notified by the recipient that he or she no
longer wants coverage.]

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

[14800 Verifications
Generally, Certain factors of eligibility must be

verified according to specific eligibility groups.
Verification may be verbal or written and must be
obtained from an independent or collateral source.  In
order for verbal verification to be considered
documentation, the DSS case worker must record the
information obtained in the case record.

Documentation is the process of collecting written
information to substantiate factors required for
eligibility.  Documentation becomes part of the DSS case
record.  Documents must be date stamped.

If all information requested is not received, DSS
cannot determine or redetermine eligibility.  This may
result in denial of the application or the termination of
eligibility.

Verifications received and/or provided may reveal a
new eligibility issue not previously realized.  That may
require additional verifications.

Failure to provide requested documentation may
result in denial or termination of eligibility.

The applicant, recipient, or his or her representative
must provide verifications that are essential to the
eligibility determination.   Failure to provide
verifications by the due date given will result in a finding
of ineligibility.]

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

14970 Medicare Prescription Drug Program
The Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement and

Modernization Act of 2003 established the Medicare
Prescription Drug Program, also known as Medicare Part D,
making prescription drug coverage available to individuals
who are entitled to receive Medicare benefits under Part A or
Part B, beginning on January 1, 2006. Coverage for the
prescription drug benefit will be provided through private
prescription drug plans (PDPs), which will offer only
prescription drug coverage, or through Medicare Advantage
prescription drug plans (MA-PDs), which will offer
prescription drug coverage that is integrated with the health
care coverage they provide to Medicare beneficiaries under
Part C of Medicare.

Effective January 1, 2006, Medicaid beneficiaries who
are entitled to receive Medicare benefits under Part A or Part
B will no longer receive their pharmacy benefits under the
Medicaid Program, except for drugs that are excluded from
Part D. Any prescribed drug covered by Medicaid remains
subject to the Medicaid co-payment requirement.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

[16310 Termination of Eligibility
Medicaid eligibility may not be terminated until we

determine that the individual is not eligible under any
other eligibility group.  This section discusses
termination of eligibility under the poverty level related
groups of pregnant women, children, and adults.]

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

30000 Delaware Prescription Assistance Program
The 140th General Assembly amended Title 16,

Delaware Code, by adding Chapter 30B to enact the
Delaware Prescription Drug Payment Assistance Program.
The purpose of this act is to provide payment assistance for
prescription drugs and certain Medicare Part D costs to low-
income seniors and individuals with disabilities who are
ineligible for, or do not have, prescription drug benefits or
coverage through federal (excluding Medicare Part D
coverage), state, or private sources.

The program is administered by the Fiscal Agent under
contract with the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services.

The rules in this section set forth the eligibility
requirements for coverage under the Delaware Prescription
Assistance Program (DPAP). The DPAP is implemented
January 1, 2000, with benefits beginning January 14, 2000.
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30100 Definitions
Contractor:  the agent who is under contract with the

State to administer the DPAP.
Department:  the Department of Health and Social

Services or DHSS
Division:  the Division of Social Services or DSS the

Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance or DMMA
Low Income Subsidy (LIS): Assistance provided by the

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to pay
Medicare Part D costs for individuals with limited income
and resources.  The LIS will provide payment assistance
with the monthly premium, the yearly deductible, and the
coverage gap.   The LIS will also provide payment assistance
for co-payments after an individual with income below
135% of the Federal Poverty Level reaches a total of $5100
in drug expenses.

Medicare Part D: The Medicare Prescription Drug
Program established by the Medicare Prescription Drug,
Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003.

Medicare Part D costs: monthly premiums, yearly
deductible, and drug costs that fall into the Part D coverage
gap.

30200 General Application Information
The application for DPAP must be made in writing on

the prescribed DSS form.  This request for assistance can be
made by the applicant, guardian, or other individual acting
for the applicant with his knowledge and consent.  The
application filing date is the date the application is received
in either the Contractor's office or a DSS office.

DPAP will consider an application without regard to
race, color, age, sex, disability, religion, national origin, or
political belief as per Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of
1964.

Filing an application gives the applicant the right to
receive a written determination of eligibility and the right to
appeal the written determination.

30201 Disposition of Applications
The Contractor must include in each applicant’s case

record facts to support the Contractor's decision on his
application. The Contractor must dispose of each application
by a finding of eligibility or ineligibility, unless:

a) there is an entry in the case record that the applicant
voluntarily withdrew the application, and that the Contractor
sent a notice confirming his decision;

b) there is a supporting entry in the case record that the
applicant has died; or

c) there is a supporting entry in the case record that the
applicant cannot be located.

d) Certain factors of eligibility must be verified.  If all
information requested is not received, the Contractor cannot
determine or redetermine eligibility.  This may result in
denial of the application or the termination of eligibility.
Verifications received and/or provided may reveal a new
eligibility issue not previously realized and this may require
additional verifications. Failure to provide additional
requested verifications may result in denial or termination of
eligibility. all verification requested is not received by the
due date given to the applicant.   If all verification requested
is not received by the due date, an eligibility determination
cannot be made.  This will result in denial of the application.
Verification that is received and/or provided may reveal a 
new eligibility issue not previously realized that requires
additional verification. If the additional verification
requested is not received by the due date given, this will
result in denial of the application.

All applicants will receive a notice of acceptance or
denial.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

30305 Requirement to Enroll in Medicare Part D
An individual who is entitled to receive Medicare

benefits under Part A or Part B must enroll in Part D in order
to be eligible for DPAP.  The individual must provide proof
of Medicare Part D enrollment.

30306 Requirement to Apply for Low Income Susbsidy
(LIS)

An individual must apply for the LIS if potentially
eligible. The individual must provide a copy of the LIS
denial or approval notice.

30305 30307  No Other Prescription Drug Coverage
The individual must not have or must be ineligible for,

prescription drug benefits or coverage through federal
(excluding Medicare Part D coverage), state, or private
sources regardless of any annual limitations to the benefits.

The individual must not have or must be ineligible for:
(a) Medicaid prescription benefits
(b) prescription drug benefits through a Medicare

supplemental policy prescription drug benefits through a
third party payer

(c) the Nemours Health Clinic Pharmaceutical benefit
as defined on 1/1/99

30305.1 30307.1 Exceptions to No Other Prescription Drug
Coverage
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Individuals who are eligible for the following drug
benefits will not be excluded from eligibility for DPAP:

(a) individuals eligible for Medicaid as Family
Planning Only

(b) individuals covered under a specific disease state
insurance program, for example a policy that pays only for
cancer drugs

(c) individuals who are members of a discount drug
program in which the policy does not actually pay for the
drugs, for example American Association of Retired Persons
(AARP)

(d) individuals eligible for drug coverage through the
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation

(e) individuals eligible for drug coverage through the
Division of Substance Abuse, and Mental Health[.]

(f) individuals covered under Medicare Part D[.]

30306  30308  Inmate of a Public Institution
An individual who is an inmate of a public institution is

not eligible for DPAP.  
An individual is an inmate when serving time for a

criminal offense or confined involuntarily in State or Federal
prisons, jail, detention facilities, or other penal facilities. An
individual awaiting trial in a detention center is considered
an inmate of a public institution.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

[30405 Redetermination of Eligibility
A redetermination of eligibility must be completed

by June 30 December 31 of each year.  If an individual's
initial coverage begins in April, May, or June, October,
November, or December, a redetermination will not be
required until June December of the following year. A
redetermination is a re-evaluation of a recipient's
continued eligibility for DPAP coverage.  In a
redetermination, all eligibility factors that are subject to
change are re-examined to ensure that the recipient
continues to meet eligibility requirements.  When a
redetermination is due, the recipient is required to
complete and return a new DSS application form
renewal form and provide requested verifications by the
due date given.  Failure to complete and return a DSS
application form renewal form and provide requested
verifications by the due date given will result in
termination of eligibility.  A redetermination is complete
when all eligibility factors that are subject to change are
examined and a decision regarding continued eligibility
is reached.

DPAP coverage will be terminated when the
Contractor or DSS is notified by the recipient that he or
she no longer wants coverage.] 

30500.1 Benefits for Individuals with Medicare Part D
Coverage

DPAP will provide payment assistance for Medicare
Part D monthly premiums, yearly deductible, those drug
costs that fall into the Part D coverage gap, and drugs that
are excluded from Medicare Part D.

Medicare Part D coverage will be primary to payment
assistance under DPAP.

30501 Limitations on Benefits
Payment assistance to each eligible individual shall not
exceed $2,500.00 per State fiscal benefit year.  Individuals
will receive a notice when 75% of the $2,500.00 cap has
been expended.

30502.1 Co-payment Requirement for Individuals with
Medicare Part D Coverage

There is a co-payment of $5.00 or 25% of the cost of the
prescription (whichever is greater) during the Part D
deductible and coverage gap and for drugs that are excluded
from Part D.  DPAP will not provide payment assistance for
Medicare Part D co-payments.  When the individual receives
a prescription drug that is covered under Medicare Part D,
the individual is responsible for the Medicare Part D co-
payment.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

50100 Services Provided by CRDP
Services provided by the CRDP can consist of payment

for medications, nutritional supplements, and transportation.
Services provided by the CRDP can consist of payment for
medications, nutritional supplements, transportation, and
payment of Medicare Part D costs. Electronic Data Systems
(EDS) is the CRDP's fiscal [intermediary agent].  They are
responsible for processing all eligible CRDP claims.

50100.1 Medications
The CRDP has the ability to fund prescription

medications, over-the-counter medications (OTC's) or both.
Services covered include generic and brand name
prescription drugs that have been approved as safe and
effective by the Federal Food and Drug Administration as
well as cost effective over-the-counter drugs prescribed by a
practitioner.  Prescription drugs covered under CRDP are
restricted to products manufactured by pharmaceutical
companies that agree to provide manufacturer rebates.
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Reimbursement for medications will be made only for
clients authorized by the CRDP.  A client's eligibility for the
medication benefit is based upon the outcome of their
medical and financial assessment.

Prescription medications potentially will be funded if
prescribed by a physician for eligible clients.  Refills may be
authorized in compliance with appropriate pharmacy laws. 

Reimbursements for OTC products for eligible clients
are those, which the physician/practitioner has provided
written or verbal authorization to the pharmacist.  These
products must be for the client's personal use only.  There
will be no reimbursement for OTC products that are not
prescribed by a physician/practitioner.  Supplies such as
mouthwash, toothpaste, shampoo, etc. will not be
reimbursed.

At point of sale, the pharmacist will determine
electronically if CRDP will fund the requested product.  In
order for the pharmacy to receive CRDP payment, they must
have a Delaware Medicaid provider number.

Note:  All third party resources must be used before
CRDP funds are utilized.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

50100.4 Medicare Part D Costs
The Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement and

Modernization Act of 2003 (MMA) established the
Medicare Prescription Drug Program, also known as
Medicare Part D, making prescription drug coverage
available to individuals who are entitled to receive Medicare
benefits under Part A or Part B, beginning on January 1,
2006.

The MMA provides for a Low Income Subsidy (LIS)
for individuals with limited income and resources.   The LIS
is assistance provided by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services to pay Medicare Part D costs for eligible
individuals.  The LIS will provide payment assistance with
the monthly premium, the yearly deductible, and the
coverage gap.  The LIS will also provide payment assistance
for co-payments after an individual with income below
135% of the Federal Poverty Level reaches a total of $5100
in drug expenses.

The CRDP will provide coverage for Medicare Part D
costs including monthly premiums, yearly deductible, drug
costs that fall into the Part D coverage gap, and co-payments.
If an individual is eligible for the LIS, this assistance will be
primary to CRDP assistance.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

50200 Services Not Provided by CRDP

The CRDP will not pay health insurance premiums
(except Medicare Part D premiums); nor will the program
pay for medical, hospital, or ancillary services, medical
supplies, or transportation not directly related to the care of
End State Renal Disease (ESRD).

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

50500 Technical Eligibility
Only persons who are residents of the State of Delaware

shall be eligible for services.  Additionally, the individual
must be an U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien.

An individual who is entitled to receive Medicare
benefits under Part A or Part B must enroll in Part D in order
to be eligible for CRDP.  The individual must provide proof
of Medicare Part D enrollment.  Exception:  Medicare
eligible individuals who have creditable coverage are not
required to enroll in Part D as a condition of eligibility.
Coverage is creditable if the actuarial value of the coverage
equals or exceeds the actuarial value of the standard
prescription drug coverage under Part D.

An individual must apply for the LIS if potentially
eligible.   The individual must provide a copy of the LIS
denial or approval notice.

Individuals may be found eligible for CRDP pending
their Medicare Part D enrollment and application for LIS for
a period of no longer than 90 days from the date of
application for CRDP.  Current recipients will be notified
about the Medicare Part D enrollment requirement and the
LIS requirement. They will be given a deadline date by
which they must meet this requirement.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan Inpatient Hospital Services

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”)/
Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan
regarding the  payment methodology for inpatient hospital
services. The Department’s proceedings to amend its
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regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the September 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by September 30, 2005 at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Title of Regulation
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates

– Inpatient Hospital Care

Statutory Authority
42 CFR Part 447, Subpart C – Payment for Inpatient

Hospital and Long-Term Care Facility Services

Amending the Following State Plan Pages
Attachment 4.19-A, Pages 1 and 3

Summary of Proposal
This regulatory action proposes to amend the

reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospitals with two
(2) changes regarding the: 1) reimbursement cycle and, 2)
interim outlier payment methodology.

Reimbursement Cycle
Effective July 1, 2006, the proposed amendment would

revise state plan language changing the reimbursement cycle
for hospital payments from a twelve (12) month period to a
fifteen (15) month period.

Interim Outlier Payment Methodology
Effective January 1, 2006, the proposed amendment

revises the methodology for determining payment for high
cost outliers. An interim payment will be made for that
inpatient stay when the client’s charges have reached twenty-
five (25) times the general discharge rate of that facility, or
when the client’s stay is greater than sixty (60) days.
Additional interim payments will be made when either of the
outlier conditions for an interim payment is met again.

Summary of Comments Received With Agency Response

The Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council
(DDDC) and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities
(SCPD) offered the following summarized observations.
DMMA has considered each comment and responds as
follows:

First, DMMA includes the following “incomplete”
standard on rates:  The implementation year rates will be
updated in FY96 using published TEFRA inflation indices.
Rates will be rebased using fiscal year 1994 claims and cost
report data for implementation in State FY97, and every
three years thereafter.  Literally, this revised standard does
not address post FY97 rates and is therefore ostensibly
incomplete.  Perhaps, DMMA inadvertently omitted a
provision indicating that a rate adjustment would be made on
July 1, 2006 and every 15-month period thereafter.  Second,
the interim reimbursement standards for “high-cost outliers”
are apparently more favorable to hospitals authorizing
interim payments for patients who either have a stay longer
than 60 days or have charges 25 times the general discharge
rate of the facility. We endorse the concept of the regulations
subject to DMMA review of the “incomplete” provision.

Agency Response: In response to the written comments,
the inflationary adjustment period would be effective July 1,
2006 for a 15-month period and every 15 months thereafter.
This is the only change that is being proposed that is
inconsistent with the current rate calculation process.  Your
comment is correct that the “high-cost outliers” will be able
to be reimbursed during the hospital stay as long as the
qualifying conditions are met.  No change to the state plan
amendment will be made because of this comment.  DMMA
appreciates their endorsement.

DHA
While the regulation proposes to amend the hospital

reimbursement cycle and the interim outlier payment
methodology, our concerns focuses on the proposal to
change the “…reimbursement cycle from a twelve (12)
month period to a fifteen (15) month period”…which would
become effective on July 1, 2006.

One issue that requires clarification is which patient
population is covered under this proposal.  The language is
unclear whether this change is intended to impact payments
to hospitals for services provided to Medicaid recipients
covered under the Medicaid fee-for-service program or those
covered under the State’s Medicaid managed care programs,
or both.  Although, this question was raised at the September
14th meeting of the Medical Care Advisory Committee, we
have never received a clarification on this issue.
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Our understanding of this provision is that the Medicaid
program is proposing to amend the State Plan “to move to a
fifteen (15) month reimbursement cycle…”. However, it
appears this practice was actually implemented more than
three years ago.  This conclusion is based on our review of
the hospital rate letters that have been sent to acute care
hospitals for the past three years.  When questions were
raised by hospitals about the payment update delay, the
response from personnel in the Medicaid Office was that the
delay is “due to the State’s fiscal restraints”.

Based on this information, it appears that the State has
passed on another portion of its financial shortfalls to all
non-profit acute care hospitals for the past three fiscal years
and is seeking to continue this practice in the years ahead.

Therefore, we strongly oppose this section of the
proposed regulation, and suggest that the annual acute care
hospital payment updates return to a twelve (12) month
update cycle in order to comply with the current language in
the State Plan.  The twelve (12) month payment update cycle
should be effective as of July 1, 2006, and should remain in
place in the years ahead.

Agency Response:  DMMA acknowledges and has
considered the commenter’s concerns but declines the
suggestion.  The Department plans to proceed with the
amendment, as these changes are necessary.  No change to
the state plan amendment will be made because of this
comment.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the September 2005 Register of Regulations should
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan
regarding the payment methodology for inpatient hospital
services is adopted and shall be final effective November 10,
2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, October 13, 2005

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-62
REVISIONS:

Attachment 4.19-A
Page 1

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

STATE OF DELAWARE

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING 
PAYMENT RATES – INPATIENT HOSPITAL CARE

Reimbursement Principle

Effective for discharges on or after July 1, 1994, the
Delaware Medicaid Program will reimburse all acute care
hospitals at prospective per discharge rates.

The prospective rates are set by accommodation type.
Reimbursement rates have been set for two accommodation
types: general services and nursery services. For each of
these accommodation types, there are three components to
the payment: operating payment per discharge, capital
payment per discharge and medical education payment per
discharge.

Rate Setting Method – Operating Payment

The base year is the Delaware hospitals’ 1992 fiscal
year.  The operating payment per discharge for the base year
was calculated by applying a cost-to-charge ratio to allowed
charges from the Medicaid claims data.  This allowed cost
value was then divided by the total charges to obtain the
operating payment per discharge.

The cost-to-charge ratio was identified from FY92
hospital cost reports; the categories of cost included in the
cost-to-charge ratio are those related to routine services
(including hospital-based physicians’ costs and malpractice
costs) and ancillary services.

The allowed charge data was taken from the FY92
Medicaid claims data for Delaware hospitals.  Medicaid
allowable hospital-specific charges associated with inpatient
revenue codes appropriate to the accommodation type were
identified.  The hospital-specific cost-to-charge ratio was
applied to the allowed charges to obtain hospital-specific
allowed costs for the accommodation type.

Effective July 1, 2006, the fiscal year/period for the
reimbursement of Medicaid hospital services will be based
on a fifteen month period.  A rate adjustment will be made
on July 1, 2006 and for every fifteen month period thereafter.

The total hospital-specific allowed costs for the
accommodation type were then divided by the total number
of discharges on the claims date for the accommodation type
to obtain the hospital-specific operating payment per
discharge in the base year.

(Break In Continuity of Sections)

Attachment 4.19-A
Page 3
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING 
PAYMENT RATES – INPATIENT HOSPITAL CARE 

(Continued)

Rate Setting Methods - Development of Implementation
Year Operating Rates, Updates and Rebasing (Continued)

The implementation year rates will be updated in FY96
using published TEFRA inflation indices.  Rates will be
rebased using fiscal year 1994 claims and cost report data for
implementation in State FY97, and every three years
thereafter.

Other Related Inpatient Reimbursement Policies

Outliers - High cost outliers will be identified when the cost
of the discharge exceeds the threshold of three times the
hospital operating rate per discharge. Outlier cases will be
reimbursed at the discharge rate plus 79 percent of the
difference between the outlier threshold and the total cost of
the case.  Costs of the case will be determined by applying
the hospital-specific cost to charge ratio to the allowed
charges reported on the claim for discharge.

For certain high cost cases, providers may request an interim
payment, that is, a payment prior to the discharge of the
patient when the discharge is not likely to occur in the near
future.  Cases that are approved by the State for
reimbursement on an interim payment basis must meet all of
the following conditions: (1) length of stay over one year,
and (2) over one million dollars in costs as determined in the
paragraph above, and (3) attempts to find non-acute care
placements have proven unsuccessful and are documented to
the State's satisfaction.  Interim payment cases will be
subject to the same outlier payment calculations as described
in the paragraph above and reimbursed at the outlier amount
less a 5% discount. Interim payments that are renewed must
meet all of the following conditions: (1) an additional length
of stay over one year (2) an additional one million dollars in
costs as determined in the paragraph above and (3) continued
attempts to find non-acute care placements have proven
unsuccessful and are documented to the State's satisfaction.
Any interim payment cases that are renewed will also be
subject to the same outlier payment calculations as described
in the paragraph above and reimbursed at the outlier amount
less a 5% discount.

Effective January 1, 2006, any provider with a high cost
client case (outlier) will receive an interim payment; that is,
a payment prior to the discharge of that patient when the
charge amount reaches the designated level.  An interim

payment will be made for that inpatient stay when the
client’s charges have reached twenty-five (25) times the
general discharge rate of that facility, or when the client’s
stay is greater than sixty (60) days.  Additional interim
payments will be made when either of the outlier conditions
for an interim payment is met again.  The interim payment
amount is based on the current reimbursement methodology
used to pay outliers.  Upon the discharge of the client, the
facility will receive the balance of the payment that would
have been paid if the case were paid in full at the time of
discharge.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,

Section 122(3)c & 7906
(16 Del.C. §122)(3)c, §7906)
16 DE Admin. Code 4469

ORDER

Adoption of the State of Delaware Regulations 
Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”)
initiated proceedings to adopt State of Delaware Regulations
Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code. The DHSS
proceedings to adopt regulations were initiated pursuant to
29 Delaware Code Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed
by 16 Delaware Code, Sections 122(3)c and 7906.

On September 1, 2005 (Volume 9, Issue 3), DHSS
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice
of proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10115. It requested that written materials and
suggestions from the public concerning the proposed
regulations be delivered to DHSS by September 30, 2005, or
be presented at a public hearing on September 21, 2005, after
which time DHSS would review information, factual
evidence and public comment to the said proposed
regulations.

Verbal comments were received during the public
hearing and evaluated. The results of that evaluation are
summarized in the accompanying “Summary of Evidence.”
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Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as
set forth in the attached copy should be adopted in the best
interest of the general public of the State of Delaware. The
proposed regulations include minor modifications from
those published in the September 1, 2005, Register of
Regulations, based on comments received during the public
comment period.  These modifications are deemed not to be
substantive in nature.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
State of Delaware Regulations Governing a Detailed
Plumbing Code are adopted and shall become effective
November 10, 2005, after publication of the final regulation
in the Delaware Register of Regulations. 

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, October 13, 2005

Summary of Evidence

A public hearing was held on September 21, 2005, at
10:00 a.m. in the Third Floor Conference Room of the Jesse
Cooper Building located on Federal and Water Streets,
Dover, Delaware before David P. Walton, Hearing Officer.
The purpose of the hearing was to discuss the proposed
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS)
Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code.
Announcements regarding the public hearing were published
in the Delaware State News, the News Journal and the
Delaware Register of Regulations in accordance with
Delaware Law.  Raymond Davidson, Unit Manager for
Environmental Health Field Services, Health Systems
Protection Section, Division of Public Health (DPH) made
the agency’s presentation. Comments were offered at the
public hearing, however no written comments were received
on proposed Regulations during the public comment period.
The public comment period was September 1 through
September 30, 2005.  Entities represented at the hearing
included:

• Office of Food Protection, Division of Public
Health

• Environmental Health Field Unit, Division of
Public Health

• Sussex Tech Adult Education (Instructor/Master
Plumber)

Public comments and the DHSS (Agency) responses are
as follows:

Deleting the requirement for a 3” main vent stack
(Section 111.17 old regulation) goes against County Code
requirement of a 3” main vent stack for sewer hookup.

The new regulation (Section 2.19) specifies that the stack
shall be not less than 2” in diameter.

Agency Response: After careful review of the
appropriate sections of the Regulations Governing a
Detailed Plumbing Code, the Agency has determined that
this requirement is not in conflict with Sussex County Code.
Section 2.19 specifies the minimum diameter (2”) of the
main vent stack and does allow for a larger diameter main
vent stack (3”). Additionally, the 2003 International
Plumbing Code (IPC), allows for a larger diameter main vent
stack as stated in Section 903.1, which calls for “at least one
stack the size of which is not less than one-half of the
required size of the building drain.”

Section 2.18 states that the top of standpipes used in
a clothes washer application shall be at least 42”
(1066mm) above the finished floor. This puts the
standpipe and washer box above the new low profile
front load washers.  Consumers also run countertops
above these low profile washers and prefer to have the
standpipe and washer box below that counter.  Please
consider deleting this Delaware specific requirement.

Agency Response: After careful review of the
appropriate sections of the Regulations Governing a
Detailed Plumbing Code, the Agency has decided to delete
Section 2.18, thus deleting the Delaware requirement that
clothes washer standpipes be a minimum of 42” in height.
Section 802.4 of the 2003 IPC will be adopted as is, calls for
standpipes to be a minimum of 18” and a maximum of 42” in
height. The Agency has determined that this clothes washer
standpipe height range (18-42”) is acceptable and will
accommodate those desiring to install low profile clothes
washers.

In addition to amendments noted above, minor format
corrections were made to the regulation.

The public comment period was open from September
1, 2005 to September 30, 2005.

Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing
Officer’s record. The regulation has been approved by the
Delaware Attorney General’s office and the Cabinet
Secretary of DHSS.

STATE OF DELAWARE
REGULATIONS GOVERNING A DETAILED 

PLUMBING CODE
2000 International Plumbing Code

These regulations were adopted April 17, 1978,
effective August 1, 1978; amended December 19,1983,
effective February 1, 1984; amended April 26, 1991;
amended February 19, 1992; amended May 11, 1995;
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amended January 11, 1998; amended May 11, 2001 by the
Secretary, Delaware Health and Social Services, in
conformance within Chapter 79, Section 7906 and Chapter
1, Section 122(3)(e), Title 16, Delaware Code, and
supersedes regulations previously adopted by the Delaware
State Board of Health and the Secretary, Delaware Health
and Social Services. These Regulations shall be effective
May 11, 2001.

SECTION 110.0 - ADOPTION: 
That certain document entitled, “The International

Plumbing Code/2000” is made a part hereof and the
supplements therein include, identified as “Section 111.0.,
Additions, Deletions, Amendments and Clarifications,” are
hereby adopted as the “State of Delaware Regulations
Governing A Detailed Plumbing Code.”  NOTE: The
Amendments have been numbered to identify specific
changes in the International Plumbing Code/2000.

SECTION 111.0 - ADDITIONS, DELETIONS,
AMENDMENTS, and CLARIFICATIONS:

SECTION 111.1- TITLE - SECTION 101.1: is amended to
read as follows:

These Regulations shall be known as the “State of
Delaware Regulations Governing A Detailed Plumbing
Code hereinafter referred to as ‘this Code”.

SECTION 111.2 – SCOPE - SECTION - 101.2: is amended
to delete the last sentence.

SECTION 111.3 - EXISTING INSTALLATIONS -
SECTION - 102.2: is amended to read as follows:

The legal use and occupancy of any structure existing
on July 1, 2000, or for which it had been heretofore
approved, may be continued without change except as may
be specifically covered in this Code or deemed necessary by
the Deputy Code Official(s) for the general safety and
welfare of the occupants and the public.

Exception:
Except that upon change of permit holder in facilities

and operations regulated by the Delaware Division of Public
Health such systems shall comply with the requirements of
this Code and applicable regulations promulgated and
standards established by the Delaware Division of Public
Health.

SECTION 111.4 DUTIES AND POWERS OF THE CODE
OFFICIAL AND PLUMBING INSPECTORS - SECTION
104.1:  is amended to add the following sentence: 

For the purpose of this document “Code Official” refers
to the Secretary, Delaware Health and Social Services, or
their designee.  “Plumbing Inspectors” shall have such duties
and powers as are enumerated in Title 16, Delaware Code,
Section 7907 and shall have the authority of a Deputy Code
Official as referenced in Section 103.3 of this Code.

SECTION 111.5 UNLAWFUL ACTS - SECTION 108.1:
is amended to read:

It shall be unlawful for any person to work as a licensed
plumber in the State of Delaware unless such person has
received a license from the Delaware Department of
Administrative Services, Division of Professional
Regulation, showing that said person has been duly licensed
as a plumber, except as provided by 24 Delaware Code 1813,
and has a permit issued by the Division of Public Health.

Exception
The homeowner of a single-family residence occupied,

or to be occupied by him/her, and not for sale, rent or lease,
may perform plumbing work only on such residence itself,
and/or auxiliary structures, and in compliance with a permit
issued by the Division of Public Health, or applicable
authority, and in compliance with all provisions of these
regulations. 

SECTION 111.6 - VIOLATION AND PENALTIES -
SECTION 108.4: is amended to read:

Any person who shall violate any provisions of this
Code, or shall fail to comply with the requirements thereof,
or who shall install plumbing work in violation of an
approved plan or directive of the Code Official or the Deputy
Code Official(s), or of a permit or certificate issued under the
provisions of this Code, shall be subject to penalties as
provided by Chapter 79, Title 16, Delaware Code.

SECTION 111.7 – STOP WORK ORDERS - SECTION
108.5: is amended by deleting the language “shall be liable
to a fine of not less than [AMOUNT] dollars or more than
[AMOUNT]” and by adding:

shall be subject to penalties as provided by Chapter 79,
Title 16, Delaware Code.

SECTION 111.8 - GENERAL DEFINITIONS - SECTION
202:  is amended by adding the following definitions:

“Licensed Plumber:  The term “Licensed Plumber”
shall mean a person who has complied with the provisions of
the Division of Professional Regulation and the Board of
Plumbing Examiners, and has further met the certification,
testing, bonding, and licensing requirements of the
jurisdiction in which he/she plans to engage in the business
of plumbing.  The Licensed Plumber shall be recognized as
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being responsible for all work performed under a plumbing
permit issued by the Division of Public Health.

“Supervision of Work: For the purposes of these
regulations, supervision of work shall be defined as work
completed under the permit of a licensed plumber while
employed by the licensed plumber, or the same firm,
partnership, corporation, or owners of the company as the
licensed plumber.”

SECTION – 111.9 SEWER DEPTH - SECTION 305.6.1: is
deleted in its entirety.

SECTION – 111.10 REQUIRED TESTS - SECTION 312.1:
is amended by adding the following sentence at the end
thereof:

In lieu of the presence of the deputy code official
witnessing the test, the Licensed Plumber may certify in
writing upon a prescribed form, that the plumbing system
piping is in accordance with Section 312 of the regulations.  

SECTION 111.11 - ACCESSIBLE PLUMBING
FACILITIES - SECTION 404.1:  is amended by the
following:

All regulations pertaining to handicapped facilities in
the International Plumbing Code will be governed by the
most recent edition of the “American National Standards
Institute (ANSI). 

SECTION 111.12 – INSTALLATION - SECTION 502.1:  is
amended by adding the  following sentence at the end
thereof:

The first 12 inches of both hot and cold water lines shall
be thermally rated for the maximum water temperature
produced by the hot water heater.

SECTION 111.13 – SAFETY DEVICES - SECTION
504.6.2:  is amended by deleting the existing language and
adding the following:

The discharge valve shall be equipped with an approved
heat transfer fitting or metallic pipe.

SECTION 111.14 - TABLE 605.4 & 605.5: are amended by
deleting the letters “M” and “WM” from copper tubing.

SECTION 111.15 – MATERIALS, JOINTS AND
CONNECTIONS - SECTION 605.16.2:  is amended by the
adding the following sentence at the end thereof:

The use of all purpose glue is prohibited. 

SECTION 111.16 - STANDPIPES - SECTION 802.4: is
amended by adding the following sentence at the end
thereof:

The top of standpipes shall be 42 inches (1066mm)
above the finished floor.

SECTION 111.17 - MAIN VENT REQUIRED-
SECTION 903.1: is deleted in its entirety and following is
inserted in lieu of:

Every sanitary drainage system receiving the discharge
of a sanitary fixture shall have a main vent three (3) inches in
diameter.

SECTION 111.18 - PROCEDURES FOR LICENSE:
Every person desiring to register as a plumber engaged

in the business of plumbing in the State of Delaware shall
file an application with the Division of Professional
Regulation, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904.  

SECTION 111.19 - VARIANCES: is amended by adding the
following to read as follows:

Upon receipt of written application for a variance, the
Deputy Code Official may:

(a) From time to time recommend granting written
permission to vary from particular provisions set forth in this
Regulation, when the extent of the variation is clearly
specified and it is documented to the Secretary, Health and
Social Services, or his/her appointed designee’s satisfaction
that: 

(1) Such variation is necessary to obtain a
beneficial use of an existing facility, and:

(2) The variation is necessary to prevent a practical
difficulty or unnecessary hardship; and

(3) Appropriate alternative measures have been
taken to protect the health and safety of the public and assure
that the purpose of the provisions from which the variation is
sought will be observed.

(b) Within thirty (30) business days of the receipt of a
written application for a variance, the Deputy Code Official
shall recommend either granting the variance, or denying the
variance or will request further information from the
applicant.

(c) If the applicant has been denied a variance upon the
recommendation of the Deputy Code Official, the applicant
may appeal the decision by filing a written Notice of Appeal
to the Secretary, Health and Social Services, or his/her
designee, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 637, Dover,
Delaware 19903.
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SECTION 111.20 – AIR ADMITTANCE VALVES –
SECTION 917.1: is amended by adding the following
sentence at the end of paragraph 917.1:

Air admittance valves must be approved by the Deputy
Code Official prior to use or installation.

SECTION 111.21 – COMPUTERIZED VENT DESIGN -
SECTION 919: is deleted in its entirety. 

SECTION 111.22 –  INTERCEPTORS AND
SEPARATORS – SECTION 1003.3.4: is amended by adding
the following to the end:

,or, be otherwise approved by the Code Official.

SECTION 111.23 – FUEL PIPING – SECTION  1201: is
deleted in its entirety.

SECTION 111.24 – SPECIAL PIPING AND STORAGE
SYSTEMS – SECTIONS 1202 - 1203: is deleted in its
entirety and replaced with the following:

PLUMBING REQUIREMENTS
IN FOOD ESTABLISHMENT KITCHENS

I. HANDSINK
A. This fixture, when located in food preparation, food

dispensing, beverage dispensing (including bar service area),
food storage and warewashing areas, must be certified or
classified under an approved industry standard for food
equipment, such as the National Sanitation Foundation
(NSF) International, Environmental Testing Lab (ETL),
Underwriter's Laboratory (UL) for Sanitation, Baking
Industry Sanitation Standards Committee (BISSC), or
equivalent. 

B. A separate, single-compartment handwashing sink
is REQUIRED in food preparation, food dispensing, and
warewashing areas;  and in, or immediately adjacent to,
toilet rooms.  Handsinks shall be installed within 25 travel
feet within a direct line access of each primary work 
location.

C. A minimum hot water temperature of 110× F,
delivered through a mixing valve or combination faucet, is
REQUIRED.

D. If installed, self-closing, slow-closing, or metering
faucets shall provide a flow of water for at least 15 seconds
without the need to reactivate the faucet.

E. A handwashing sink may not be used for any other
purpose.

F. An indirect drainline connection is not required.
G. Connection to a grease trap is not required.

II. FOOD PREPARATION SINK
A. Any sink in which food is washed or thawed under

running water must be certified or classified under an
approved industry standard for food equipment, such as NSF
International, ETL, UL for Sanitation, BISSC, or equivalent.

B. A food preparation sink may not be used for
disposal of mop water or similar liquid wastes.

C. An indirect drainline connection through an air-gap
is REQUIRED.

D. Connection to properly sized grease trap is
REQUIRED.

III. SERVICE SINK  (for use as janitorial sink, utility sink
or mop sink)

A. Wherever practical, install this fixture outside of the
food preparation, food dispensing, food storage and
warewashing areas.

B. This fixture, when located in food preparation, food
dispensing, food storage and warewashing areas, must be
certified or classified under an approved industry standard
for food equipment, such as NSF International, ETL, UL for
Sanitation, BISSC, or equivalent. 

C. A minimum of one service sink or receptor is
REQUIRED on each floor level of food operations.  This
fixture may be a sink or a curbed receptor.

D.  An indirect drainline connection is not required.
E. Connection to a grease trap not required.

IV. WAREWASHING SINK
A. This fixture must be certified or classified under an

approved industry standard for food equipment, such as NSF
International, ETL, UL for Sanitation or equivalent. 

B. A sink of at least three separate compartments shall
be provided for manually washing, rinsing and sanitizing
equipment and utensils.  Each sink compartment shall be
large enough to accommodate the immersion of the largest
equipment item or utensil.

C. A warewashing sink may not be used for
handwashing or disposal of liquid wastes.

D. An indirect drainline connection is not required,
unless this fixture is used for food preparation.  (See
paragraph IV.F. below for alternative use provision.)

E. Connection to a properly sized grease trap is
REQUIRED.

F. Provision for alternative use of warewashing sink:
** If the warewashing sink will be used for washing

or thawing food, a separate drainline connection from each
sink compartment through an air-gap into a floor sink is
REQUIRED.  The installation of a properly sized grease trap
downstream of the floor sink is REQUIRED.  The
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alternative use of a warewashing sink for food preparation
requires prior approval from the Division of Public Health.

V. PRE-WASH SINK
A. This fixture must be certified or classified under an

approved industry standard for food equipment, such as NSF
International, ETL, UL for Sanitation or equivalent.

B. An indirect drainline connection is not required.
C. Connection to a properly sized grease trap is

REQUIRED.
D. If a food waste grinder is installed on this fixture,

the grease trap must be designed and rated for such
application, or a solids interceptor is required upstream of
the grease trap.

VI. MECHANICAL WAREWASHER
A. This equipment must be certified or classified under

an approved industry standard for food equipment, such as
NSF International, ETL, UL for Sanitation or equivalent. 

B. An indirect drainline connection through an air-gap
is REQUIRED.

(See paragraph VI.D below for alternative
installation provision.)

C. Connection to a grease trap is NOT APPROVED,
as elevated water temperatures, higher pressures and
detergents have the capability of holding grease in
suspension, which may then pass through and reduce the
efficiency of the grease trap. 

D. Provision for alternative installation of mechanical
warewasher:

If approved by the Division of Public Health, a
direct drainline connection may be installed if the machine
wastewater outlet is located within five feet (5 ft) of a
properly trapped vented floor drain and the machine outlet is
connected to the inlet side of the same properly vented floor
drain trap.

VII. GREASE TRAP
A. Grease trap must be sized in accordance with PDI

standard G101.
B. Grease trap connection to all fixtures that discharge

grease-laden waste, includingwarewashing sinks, food prep
sinks, pre-wash sinks for warewashing equipment, woks and
other cooking equipment is REQUIRED.

In kitchens where trench drains or trough drains
receive liquid waste from cooking equipment such as kettles
or skillets, an indirect drainline connection from the
equipment to a properly sized grease trap is REQUIRED.

C. Provision for alternative use of warewashing sink:
** If the warewashing sink will be used for washing

or thawing food, a separate drainline connection from each

sink compartment through an air-gap into a floor sink is
REQUIRED.  The installation of a properly sized grease trap
downstream of the floor sink is REQUIRED.  The
alternative use of a warewashing sink for food preparation
requires prior approval from the Division of Public Health.

PROCEDURE FOR SIZING A GREASE TRAP TO A
SPECIFIC FIXTURE

1.  Determine the liquid volume of the fixture in cubic
inches draining to the grease trap.

2.  Determine the liquid capacity of the fixture in
gallons.

3.  Determine the actual drainage load (75% of fixture
capacity).

4. Determine the unit flow rate minimum for drainage
period of 2 minutes.

Determine the unit liquid holding capacity
minimum (40% of fixture capacity).

5. Select a unit corresponding to minimum unit flow
rate and liquid holding capacity.

EXAMPLE OF SIZING FOR GREASE TRAP
SELECTION

Select a grease trap to receive drainage from a three
compartment warewashing sink with bowl dimensions of
18” W x 24” L x 12” D

1.  Volume= 18in x 24in x 12in=  5184 cubic inches
2.  Capacity=  Volume (cu in) / 231 (cu in/gal)     =

5184 / 231  =   22.4 gal
3.  Drainage load = 22.4 gal x 0.75 = 16.8 x 3

compartments=  50.4, or approx. 50 gal
4.  Unit flow rate minimum=50 gal / 2 min= 25    gpm
     Unit liquid holding capacity minimum = 67.3 x 0.40 

= 26.9 gals
5.  Select a grease trap with a minimum flow rate equal

to or greater than 25 gpm
     The selected trap also must have a minimum liquid

holding capacity of 26.9 gal.  

VIII.WATER HEATER - Hot Water Supply Requirements
A. The water heater shall be sized to provide hot water

as required to supply both the daily requirements and the
hourly peak demands of the facility.   The daily and hourly
demand is based on the type of equipment and number of
fixtures consuming hot water as required for food
operations.

B. The total hot water availability in gallons per hour
(gph) from a water heater is the sum of the unit storage
capacity plus the recovery rate at a 100°F rise.
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IX. UTILITY SERVICE INSTALLATION
A. Utility service lines inccluding gas, plumbing and

electrical shall be installed inside walls, above ceilings and
below floors whenever structurally practical and in
accordance with applicablecode requirements.

B. If lines are run in front of walls, lines shall be
installed with stand-off brackets or other secure mounting
method, such that a minimum clearance of one inch (1”)
exists between line and wall.

C. Exposed horizontal utility service lines may not be
installed on the floor.

X. BACKFLOW PREVENTION
A. The air gap between the water supply inlet and the

flood rim level of the plumbing fixture, food-  or non-food
equipment shall be at least twice the diameter of the water
supply inlet and not less than one inch ( 1” ).

B. A backflow or back siphonage prevention device
installed on a water supply system shall meet American
Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) series 1000
standards.

C. An air-gap or a backflow or back siphonage
prevention device is required at water service connections on
warewashing machines, steamers, and other food equipment.

D. Hose Connections, Sillcocks, hose bibbs, wall
hydrants and other openings with a hose connection shall be
protected by an atmospheric type or pressure type vacuum
breaker, or a permanently attached hose connection vacuum
breaker.

E. Beverage DispensersA double check valve with
intermediate atmospheric vent conforming to ASSE 1012 is
required on the water supply connection.  A dual check valve
conforming to ASSE 1032 is required on the beverage
dispensing equipment.

F. No direct connection may exist between the sewage
system and any drain originating from equipment in which
food is placed.

G. Equipment and fixtures utilized for the storage,
preparation and handling of food shall discharge through an
indirect waste pipe by means of an air gap.
XI. JOINT SEALING

A.  Joints formed where fixtures come in contact with
walls or floors shall be sealed with an approved sealant to
form a watertight joint against the mounting surface.

B. Where installation does not allow access for
cleaning, fixtures shall be sealed to walls or adjoining
equipment.  Where not structurally practical, a minimum gap
of one inch ( 1” ) shall exist between the fixture and walls or
adjoining equipment.

SECTION 111.25 – APPENDIX F: is deleted in its entirety.

Section 111.26 - APPENDIX G: is deleted in its entirety.

4469 Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code

1.0 Adoption and Effective Date
That certain document entitled, “The International

Plumbing Code 2003 ” is made a part hereof and the
supplements therein include, identified as “Section 2.0.
Additions, Deletions, Amendments and Clarifications,” are
hereby adopted as the “State of Delaware Regulations
Governing A Detailed Plumbing Code. These regulations
shall be effective [November 10, 2005].

2.0 Additions, Deletions, Amendments and
Clarifications

2.1 Section 101.1 Title is deleted and replaced with the
following:  These Regulations shall be known as the "State
of Delaware Regulations Governing A Detailed Plumbing
Code hereinafter referred to as 'this Code".

2.2 Section 101.2 Scope is deleted and replaced by the
following: The provisions of this code shall apply to the
erection, installation, alteration, repair, relocation,
replacement, addition to, use or maintenance of plumbing
systems within this jurisdiction.

2.3 Section 102.2 Existing installations is deleted and
replaced by the following: The legal use and occupancy of
any structure existing on the effective date of this Code, or
for which it had been heretofore approved, may be continued
without change except as may be specifically covered in this
Code or deemed necessary by the Deputy Code Official(s)
for the general safety and welfare of the occupants and the
public.

Exception: Except that upon change of permit
holder in facilities and operations regulated by the Delaware
Division of Public Health such systems shall comply with
the requirements of this Code and applicable regulations
promulgated and standards established by the Delaware
Division of Public Health.

2.4 Section 104.1 General is deleted and replaced by
the following:  For the purpose of this document "Code
Official" refers to the Secretary, Delaware Health and Social
Services, or their designee. "Plumbing Inspectors" shall have
such duties and powers as are enumerated in Title 16,
Delaware Code. Section 7907 and shall have the authority
of a Deputy Code Official as referenced in Section 103.3 of
this Code.

2.5 Section 108.1 Unlawful acts is deleted and replaced
by the following:  It shall be unlawful for any person to work
as a licensed plumber in the State of Delaware unless such
person has received a license from the Delaware Department
of Administrative Services, Division of Professional
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Regulation, showing that said person has been duly licensed
as a plumber, except as provided by 24 Delaware Code
1813, and has a permit issued by the Division of Public
Health.

Exception: The homeowner of a single-family
residence occupied, or to be occupied by him/her and not for
sale, rent or lease, may perform plumbing work only on such
residence itself, and/or auxiliary structures, and in
compliance with a permit issued by the Division of Public
Health, or applicable authority, and in compliance with all
provisions of these regulations.

2.6 Section 108.4 Violation penalties is deleted and
replaced by the following:  Any person who shall violate any
provisions of this Code, or shall fail to comply with the
requirements thereof, or who shall install plumbing work in
violation of an approved plan or directive of the Code
Official or the Deputy Code Official(s), or of a permit or
certificate issued under the provisions of this Code, shall be
subject to penalties as provided by Chapter 79, Title 16,
Delaware Code.

2.7 Section 108.5 Stop work orders is amended by
deleting the language "shall be liable to a fine not less than
[AMOUNT] dollars or more than [AMOUNT] dollars and
replacing it with:  shall be subject to penalties as provided by
Chapters 1 and 79, Title 16, Delaware Code.

2.8 Section 109 Means of Appeal is deleted in its
entirety

2.9 Section 202 General Definitions is amended by
adding the following definitions:

Licensed Plumber.  The term "Licensed Plumber"
shall mean a person who has complied with the provisions of
the Division of Professional Regulation and the Board of
Plumbing Examiners, and has further met the certification,
testing, bonding, and licensing requirements of the
jurisdiction in which he/she plans to engage in the business
of plumbing.  The Licensed Plumber shall be recognized as
being responsible for all work performed under a plumbing
permit issued by the Division of Public Health.

Supervision of Work.  For the purposes of these
regulations, supervision of work shall be defined as work
completed under the permit of a licensed plumber while
employed by the licensed plumber, or the same firm,
partnership, corporation, or owners of the company as the
licensed plumber.

2.10 Section 305.6.1 Sewer depth is deleted in its
entirety

2.11 Section 312.1 Required tests is amended by
adding the following sentence at the end thereof:  In lieu of
the presence of the deputy code official witnessing the test,
the Licensed Plumber may certify in writing upon a
prescribed form, that the plumbing system piping is in

accordance with Section 312 of the regulations.  This shall
be applicable between November 1 and April 1.

2.12 Section 404 Accessible Plumbing Fixtures,
Where required is deleted and replaced by the following: All
regulations pertaining to handicapped facilities in the
International Plumbing Code will be governed by the most
recent edition of the "American National Standards Institute
(ANSI).

2.13 Section 502.1 Installation, General is amended
by adding the following sentence at the end thereof: The first
12 inches of both hot and cold water lines shall be thermally
rated for maximum water temperature produced by the hot
water heater.

2.14 Section 504.6.2 Safety Devices, Materials is
deleted and replaced by the following: The discharge valve
shall be equipped with an approved heat transfer fitting or
metallic pipe.

2.15 Section 504.7 Required Pan is amended by
adding the following:

Exception: Tankless Hot Water Heaters shall not
require a drain pan.

2.16 Tables 605.4 and 605.5 are amended by
deleting the letters "M" and "WM" from copper tubing.

2.17 Section 605.16.2 Solvent cementing is
amended by adding the following sentence at the end
thereof: The use of all purpose glue is prohibited.

[2.18 Section 802.4 Standpipes is amended by
adding thee following sentence at the end thereof: The
top of the standpipes shall be 42 inches (1066mm) above
the finished floor.]

2.[1918] Section 903.1 Stack required is amended
by adding the following sentence at the end thereof: The
stack shall be no less than 2" in diameter.

2.[2019] Section 912.1 Type of fixtures is amended
by deleting the last sentence.

2.[2120] Section 917.1 Air Admittance Valves,
General is amended by adding the following sentence at the
end thereof: Air admittance valves shall be approved by the
Deputy Code Official prior to use or installation.

2.[2221] Section 919 Computerized Vent Design is
deleted in its entirety.

2.[2322] Section 1003.3.4 Grease trap and grease
interceptors is amended by deleting the "." as it appears at
the end and it with the following: , or be otherwise approved
by the Code Official.

2.[2423] Chapter 12 Special Piping and Storage
Systems is deleted in its entirety.

2.24 Plan Review and Approval Plumbing
Requirements for Food Establishment Premises

2.24.1 General  All plumbing shall be installed by
a licensed plumber under a valid, current plumbing permit in
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accordance with the "State of Delaware Regulations
Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code."

2.24.2 Water Supply and Sewage Disposal
Facilities served by a public water supply and sewage
systems do not require further evaluation.  Private wells
must comply with chemical and bacteriological standards; a
satisfactory analysis is required before an operating permit
may be issued.  Individual sewage disposal systems require
the approval of the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control prior to operating the food
establishment.

2.24.3 Backflow Prevention
2.24.3.1 Air gap, supply:  An air gap

between the water supply and the flood rim level of the
plumbing fixture, equipment, or nonfood equipment shall be
at least twice the diameter of the water supply inlet and may
not be less than 1 inch (DE Food Code, §5.202.13).

2.24.3.2 Air gap, drainage:  No direct
connection may exist between the sewage system and any
drain originating from equipment in which food is placed
(DE Food Code, §5-402.11).  Equipment and fixtures
utilized for the storage, preparation and handling of food
shall discharge through an indirect waste pipe by means of
an air gap (IPC2003, §802.1.1).

2.24.3.3 Floor drains:  Floor drains
located within walk-in refrigerators or freezers in food
establishments shall be indirectly connected to the sanitary
drainage system by means of an air gap (IPC2003, §802.1.2).

2.24.3.4 Backflow prevention device:  A
backflow or backsiphonage prevention device shall meet
American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) standards
for construction, installation, maintenance, inspection, and
testing for that specific application and type of device (DE
Food Code, §5-202.14).

2.24.3.5 Plumbing fixtures:  The supply
lines or fittings for every plumbing fixture shall be installed
so as to prevent backflow (IPC2003, §608.2).

2.24.3.6 Devices, appliances:  All devices
that connect to the water supply shall be provided with
protection against backflow (IPC2003, §608.3). This
includes devices used for food preparation and processing,
steamers, the storage of ice or food, warewashing machines,
and other food service equipment.

2.24.3.7 Hose Connections:  Sillcocks,
hose bibbs, wall hydrants and other openings with a hose
connection shall be protected by an atmospheric-type or
pressure-type vacuum breaker or a permanently attached
hose connection vacuum breaker. Exceptions: water heater
drain valve, clothes washing machine (IPC2003,
§608.15.4.2).

2.24.3.8 Beverage Dispensers:  The water
supply connection to carbonated beverage dispensers shall
be protected against backflow by a backflow preventer
conforming to ASSE 1022 or by an air gap. The backflow
preventer device and the piping downstream therefrom shall
not be affected by carbon dioxide gas (IPC2003, §608.16.1).

2.24.4 Utility Service Installation
2.24.4.1 Utility lines including gas,

plumbing and electrical shall be installed inside walls, above
ceilings or below floors whenever structurally practical, and
in accordance with applicable code requirements.

2.24.4.2 If lines are run in front of walls,
lines shall be installed with stand-off brackets or other secure
mounting method, such that a minimum clearance of one
inch (1") exists between line and wall.

2.24.4.3 Exposed horizontal utility
service, including water supply and drain lines, may not be
installed on the floor.

2.24.5 Joint Sealing  Joints formed by fixtures in
contact with walls or floors shall be sealed with an approved
sealant. Where installation does not allow access for
cleaning, fixtures shall be sealed to walls or adjoining
equipment.  Where not structurally practical, a minimum gap
of one inch (1") shall exist between the fixture and walls or
adjoining equipment.

2.24.6 Toilet Facilities
2.24.6.1 At least 1 toilet and not fewer

than the toilets required by law shall be provided.  If
authorized by law and urinals are substituted for toilets, the
substitution shall be done as specified in law (DE Food
Code, §5-203.12).

2.24.6.2 A handwashing facility shall be
located in, or immediately adjacent to, toilet rooms (DE
Food Code, §5-204.11).

2.24.6.3 A toilet room shall be completely
enclosed and provided with a tight-fitting and self-closing
door (DE Food Code, §6-202.14).

2.24.6.4 Toilet rooms shall be
conveniently located and accessible to employees during all
hours of operation (DE Food Code, §6-402-11).

Note:  State of Delaware Regulations
Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code adopts International
Plumbing Code 2003 (IPC2003).  Applicable excerpts are
listed below.

2.24.6.5  IPC2003 Table 403.1 Minimum
Number of Plumbing Facilities The fixtures shown are based
on one fixture being the minimum required for the number of
persons indicated or any fraction of the number of persons
indicated.  The number of occupants shall be determined by
the building code.

Occupancy: Assembly, Restaurants
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Water Closets: Male: 1 per   75
Female: 1 per   75

Lavatories: 1 per 200
Drinking Fountains: 1 per 500
Others:    1 service sink

2.24.6.6 IPC2003, Section 403.5 Location
of Employee Toilet Facilities In Mercantile And Assembly
Occupancies. Employees shall be provided with toilet
facilities in building and tenant spaces utilized as restaurants.
The employees' facilities shall be either separate facilities or
combined employee and public customer facilities. The
required toilet facilities shall be located not more than one
story above or below the employee's regular work area and
the path of travel to such facilities, in other than covered
malls, shall not exceed a distance of 500 feet.  The path of
travel to required facilities in covered malls shall not exceed
a distance of 300 feet.

Exception:  Employee toilet
facilities shall not be required in tenant spaces where the
travel distance from the main entrance of the tenant space to
a central toilet area does not exceed 300 feet and such central
toilet facilities are located not more than one story above or
below the tenant space.

2.24.6.7 IPC2003, Section 403.6 Public
Facilities.  Customers, patrons, and visitors shall be provided
with public toilet facilities in structures and tenant spaces
intended for public utilization.  Public toilet facilities shall
be located not more than one story above or below the space
required to be provided with public toilet facilities and the
path of travel to such facilities shall not exceed a distance of
500 feet.

2.24.6.8 IPC2003, Section 403.2  Separate
Facilities. Where plumbing fixtures are required, separate
facilities shall be provided for each sex.

Exceptions: ...Separate employee
facilities (for each sex) shall not be required in occupancies
in which 15 or less people are employed. Separate facilities
(for each sex) shall not be required in structures or tenant
spaces with a total occupant load, including both employees
and customers, of 15 or less.

2.24.7 Sinks  All sinks shall be supplied with hot
and cold running water under pressure.

2.24.7.1 Splashguard Dividers:  Where
less than 18 inches lateral separation exists between sinks
and adjacent fixtures, food contact surfaces or open storage
shelving, a splashguard divider constructed of a material
which is durable, easily cleanable, non-toxic and impervious
to moisture shall be installed; such divider may be wall-
attached or fixture-attached, and shall extend outward to the
leading edge of the sink and extend vertically a minimum of
18 inches above the level plane of the sink bowl.

2.24.7.2 Handwashing sinks:  These
fixtures, when located in food preparation, food dispensing,
beverage dispensing (including bar service area), food
storage and warewashing areas, must be certified or
classified under an approved industry standard for food
equipment, such as NSF International, ETL Sanitation, UL
for Sanitation, BISSC, or equivalent.

2.24.7.2.1 A separate, single-
compartment handwashing sink is REQUIRED in food
preparation, food dispensing, and warewashing areas; and in,
or immediately adjacent to, toilet rooms.  Handsinks shall be
installed within 25 travel feet within a direct line access of
each primary work location.  Hand soap, paper towels and a
trash receptacle must be kept at these sinks.

2.24.7.2.2 A minimum hot water
temperature of 100 F, delivered through a mixing valve or
combination faucet, is REQUIRED.

2.24.7.2.3 If installed, self-closing,
slow-closing, or metering faucets shall provide a flow of
water for at least 15 seconds without the need to reactivate
the faucet.

2.24.7.2.4 A handwashing sink may not
be used for any other purpose.

2.24.7.2.5 An indirect drainline
connection is not required.  Connection to a grease trap is not
required.

2.24.7.3 Food preparation sink(s):  Any
sink in which food is washed or thawed under running water
as part of the food preparation process must be certified or
classified under an approved industry standard for food
equipment, such as NSF International, ETL Sanitation, UL
for Sanitation, BISSC, or equivalent.

2.24.7.3.1 A food preparation sink may
not be used for disposal of mop water or liquid wastes.

2.24.7.3.2 An indirect drainline
connection through an air-gap is REQUIRED.

2.24.7.3.3 Connection to properly sized
grease trap is REQUIRED.

2.24.7.3.4 If a food preparation sink has
two or more compartments, a separate wasteline connection
from each sink compartment through an air gap into a floor
sink is REQUIRED.

2.24.7.4  Warewashing sink:  This fixture must
be certified or classified under an approved industry standard
for food equipment, such as NSF International, ETL
Sanitation, UL for Sanitation, BISSC, or equivalent.

2.24.7.4.1 A sink of at least three
separate compartments with coved corners and integral
drainboards at each end shall be provided for manually
washing, rinsing and sanitizing equipment and utensils. Each
sink compartment shall be large enough to accommodate the
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immersion of the largest equipment item or utensil.  A
chemical test kit that matches the type of sanitizing agent in
use is required in the warewashing area.

2.24.7.4.2 A warewashing sink may not
be used for handwashing or disposal of liquid wastes.

2.24.7.4.3 Connection to a properly
sized grease trap is REQUIRED.

2.24.7.4.4 An indirect drainline
connection is not required, unless this fixture is used for food
preparation. (See paragraph (3)(e) below for alternative use
provision.)

2.24.7.4.5 Alternative use provision for
warewashing sink:  If the warewashing sink will be used for
washing or thawing food, a separate wasteline connection
from each sink compartment through an air-gap into a floor
sink is REQUIRED.  The installation of a properly sized
grease trap downstream of the floor sink is REQUIRED.
Alternative use of a warewashing sink for food preparation
requires prior approval from the Division of Public Health.

2.24.7.5  Service sink:  (for use as janitorial
sink, utility sink or mop sink)

2.24.7.5.1 Wherever practical, install
this fixture outside of the food preparation, food dispensing,
food storage and warewashing areas.

2.24.7.5.2 This fixture, when located in
food preparation, food dispensing, food storage and
warewashing areas, must be certified or classified under an
approved industry standard for food equipment, such as NSF
International, ETL Sanitation, UL for Sanitation, BISSC, or
equivalent. 

2.24.7.5.3 A minimum of one service
sink or receptor is REQUIRED on each floor level of food
operations.  This fixture may be a sink or a curbed receptor.

2.24.7.5.4 The dual use of a utility sink
as a handwashing sink is not approved in new construction,
conversion of a structure to a food establishment, nor
remodeling of an existing facility.

2.24.7.5.5 An indirect drainline
connection is not required.

2.24.7.5.6 Connection to a grease trap
not required.

2.24.7.6 Prewash sink:  This fixture must
be certified or classified under an approved industry standard
for food equipment, such as NSF International, ETL
Sanitation, UL for Sanitation, BISSC, or equivalent. 

2.24.7.6.1 An indirect drainline
connection is not required.

2.24.7.6.2 Connection to a properly
sized grease trap is REQUIRED.

2.24.7.6.3 If a food waste grinder is
installed on this fixture, the grease trap must be designed and

rated for such application, or a solids interceptor is required
upstream of the grease trap.

2.24.8 Mechanical Warewasher: This equipment
item must be certified or classified under an approved
industry standard for food equipment, such as NSF
International, ETL Sanitation, UL for Sanitation, or
equivalent.

2.24.8.1 A warewashing machine, using
hot water or a chemical rinse to sanitize, may be installed.
Large cookware which does not fit into the machine must be
sanitized in a three compartment sink.  Facilities without a
three compartment sink whose warewashers are found
functioning improperly may be directed to temporarily close
until the machine is repaired.  If a chemical sanitizing agent
is used, a test kit that matches the chemical sanitizing agent
is required.

2.24.8.2 Connection to a grease trap is
NOT APPROVED due to high temperature, pressure and
detergents. 

2.24.8.3 An indirect drainline connection
through an air-gap is REQUIRED. (See paragraph 2.24.8.4
below for alternative installation provision.)

2.24.8.4 Alternative installation provision
for mechanical warewasher:  If approved by the Division of
Public Health, a direct drainline connection may be installed
if the machine wastewater outlet is located within five feet of
a properly trapped vented floor drain and the machine outlet
is connected to the inlet side of the same properly vented
floor drain trap.

2.24.9 Grease trap:  The grease trap must be sized
in accordance with PDI standard G101.

2.24.9.1 Connection to a properly sized
grease trap is REQUIRED for all fixtures that discharge
grease-laden waste, e.g. warewashing sinks, food prep sinks,
pre-wash sinks for warewashers, woks, and other cooking
equipment.

2.24.9.2 Alternative use provision for
warewashing sink:  If the warewashing sink will be used for
washing or thawing food, a separate wasteline connection
from each sink compartment through an air-gap into a floor
sink is REQUIRED.  The installation of a properly sized
grease trap downstream of the floor sink is REQUIRED.
Alternative use of a warewashing sink for food preparation
requires prior approval from the Division of Public Health.

PROCEDURE FOR SIZING A GREASE TRAP TO A 
SPECIFIC FIXTURE

1.  Determine the liquid volume of the fixture in cubic
inches (cu in) draining to the grease trap.

2.  Determine the liquid capacity of the fixture in gallons
(gal).
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3.  Determine the actual drainage load (75% of fixture
capacity).

4.  Determine the unit flow rate minimum for drainage
period of 2 minutes.

Determine the unit liquid holding capacity minimum
(40% of fixture capacity).

5.  Select a unit corresponding to minimum unit flow
rate and liquid holding capacity.

EXAMPLE OF SIZING FOR GREASE TRAP 
SELECTION

Select a grease trap for a three compartment warewashing 
sink with bowl dimensions of 18" W x 24" L x 12" D
1. Volume = (18in x 24in x 2in) x 3 cmpts = (5,184 cu

in) x 3 = 15,552 cubic inches
2. Capacity = Volume (cu in)/231(cu in/gal) = 15,552/

231 = 67.3 gallons
3. Drainage load = 67.3 gal x 0.75 = 50.4, or approx.

50 gallons
4. Unit flow rate minimum = 50 gallons/2 minutes =

25 gallons per minute (gpm)
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Bold column at far right applies PDI G101 formula to calculate minimum required grease trap flow rate in 
gallons per minute (gpm). 

         

Width (in) Length (in) 
Depth 

(in)  Volume (cuin) 
Volume 

(gal) No of cmpts Total vol (gal)
Working vol 

(75%) 
Min Flow 

Rate (gpm)

W L D W x L x D = Vc
Vc / 231 = 

Vg #C Vg x #C = Vtg
Vtg x 0.75 = 

Vw 
Vw / 2min = 

MFR 
         

16.0 19.0 10.5 3192 13.8 1 13.8 10 5 
     2 27.6 21 10 
     3 41.5 31 16 
         

16.0 19.0 13.5 4104 17.8 1 17.8 13 7 
     2 35.5 27 13 
     3 53.3 40 20 
         

16.0 20.0 14.0 4480 19.4 1 19.4 15 7 
     2 38.8 29 15 
     3 58.2 44 22 
         

18.0 20.0 14.0 5040 21.8 1 21.8 16 8 
     2 43.6 33 16 
     3 65.5 49 25 
         

18.0 24.0 12.0 5184 22.4 1 22.4 17 8 
     2 44.9 34 17 
     3 67.3 50 25 
         

20.0 20.0 16.0 6400 27.7 1 27.7 21 10 
     2 55.4 42 21 
     3 83.1 62 31 
         

22.0 24.0 16.0 8448 36.6 1 36.6 27 14 
     2 73.1 55 27 
     3 109.7 82 41 
         

24.0 24.0 16.0 9216 39.9 1 39.9 30 15 
     2 79.8 60 30 
     3 119.7 90 45 
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Unit liquid holding capacity minimum = 67.3 x
0.40 = 26.9 gallons

5. Select a grease trap with a minimum flow rate equal
to or greater than 25 gpm

The selected trap also must have a minimum liquid
holding capacity of 26.9 gal.

GREASE TRAP SIZING FOR TYPICAL SINK 
INSTALLATIONS

2.24.10 Water heater: - Hot Water Supply
2.24.10.1 The water heater shall be sized to

provide hot water as required to supply both the continuous
requirements and the hourly peak demands of the facility.
The continuous and hourly demands are based on the type of
equipment and number of fixtures consuming hot water as
required for food operations.

2.24.10.2 The total hot water availability in
gallons per hour (gph) from a water heater is the sum of the
unit storage capacity plus the recovery rate at a 100 F rise.

2.24.10.3 A fuel-fired (gas or oil) water
heater in a food establishment shall have a minimum storage
capacity of thirty (30) gallons; an electric water heater shall
have a minimum storage capacity of forty (40) gallons.
Storage capacities larger than the minimum shall be
required, based on the type of equipment and number of
fixtures consuming hot water.

2.25 Appendix F Structural Safety is deleted in its
entirety

2.26 Appendix G Vacuum Drainage System is
deleted in its entirety

2.27 Procedures for License
Every person desiring to register as a plumber

engaged in the business of plumbing in the State of Delaware
shall file an application with the Division of Professional
Regulation, 861 Silver Lake Blvd. Dover, DE 19904.

2.28 Variances
Upon receipt of written application for a

variance, the Deputy Code Official may:
2.28.1 From time to time recommend granting

written permission to vary from particular provisions set
forth in this Regulation, when the extent of the variation is
clearly specified and it is documented to the Secretary,
Health and Social Services, or his/her appointed designee's
satisfaction that: 

2.28.1.1 Such variation is necessary to
obtain a beneficial use of an existing facility, and:

2.28.1.2 The variation is necessary to
prevent a practical difficulty or unnecessary hardship; and

2.28.1.3 Appropriate alternative measures
have been taken to protect the health and safety of the public

and assure that the purpose of the provisions from which the
variation is sought will be observed.

2.28.2 Within thirty (30) business days of the
receipt of a written application for a variance, the Deputy
Code Official shall recommend either granting the variance,
or denying the variance or will request further information
from the applicant.

2.28.3 If the applicant has been denied a variance
upon the recommendation of the Deputy Code Official, the
applicant may appeal the decision by filing a written Notice
of Appeal to the Secretary, Health and Social Services, or
his/her designee, Division of Public Health, 417 Federal
Street, Dover, Delaware 19901.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
Employment and Training

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”)/
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
changes to Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families (TANF) Employment and Training policies. The
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section
512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the September 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by September 30, 2005 at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Senate Bill 101, effective July 2, 1999, allows
participants in Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for Needy
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Families (TANF) program to engage in secondary education,
post-secondary education, and vocational training as part of
the work activity requirement. The participants in this
program must be enrolled as full-time students, must be
students in good standing, and will be required to have a
combination of credit hours and work hours equaling at least
20 hours per week while they are in school. Participants
must attend accredited or approved programs and will
receive the same support services while in school, such as
child care and transportation, as do other TANF participants.
By enabling TANF participants to pursue secondary
education, post-secondary education, and vocational
training, Delaware will create a workforce that is more
financially stable and less likely to need public assistance
again, while at the same time increasing its tax revenue as
these same people earn higher wages. This is a correction to
the previously published policy, which increased the
minimum combination of credit hours and work to 25 hours.

Summary of Comments Received With Agency Response

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD)
offered the following observation summarized below.  DSS
has considered the comment and responds as follows:

The legislation S.B. 101, required participants to have a
combination of credit hours and work hours aggregating at
least 20 hours per week.  However, the current regulation
erroneously contains a 25-hour standard.  DSS corrects that
reference, and a reference to S.B. 101, through this proposed
regulation.  SCPD endorses the proposed regulation since it
conforms to the legislation and favors TANF participants.

Agency Response:  Thank you for the endorsement.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the September 2005 Register of Regulations should
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
regarding changes to Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for
Needy Families (TANF) Employment and Training policies
required by Senate Bill 101, effective July 2, 1999 are
adopted and shall be final effective November 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, October 13, 2005

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-61
REVISIONS:

3006.6 Senate Bill 101- 1997 1999 and Employment &
Training Activities

Under Senate Bill 101- 1997  1999, persons who must
participate in Delaware's Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families Program, can qualify for participation purposes if
they are engaged in secondary education, post-secondary
education up to the baccalaureate level, adult basic education
or vocational training. Participants must meet the following
Senate Bill 101-1997 1999 requirements in order to meet
participation rates.    

(a) Persons who qualify for assistance under
Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
program shall be eligible to participate in adult basic
education, secondary education, post-secondary education
up to the baccalaureate level, adult basic education or
vocational training as an approved work activity provided
each of the following requirements are met:

1. The person does not hold a baccalaureate
degree.

2. The secondary, post-secondary education
up to the baccalaureate level or vocational training is
pursued through an accredited or approved school program.

3. The person is enrolled with enough credit
hours to have full-time student status and is in good standing
as it relates to attendance and achievement as defined by the
program the person is attending.

4. If the person attending school would
otherwise be subject to a work requirement in order to
receive assistance under TANF, the combination of credit
hours and work hours shall equal at least 25 20 hours per
week while the program is in session. This work requirement
may be met through work-study, internships, externships, or
through work as a research assistant. If possible, during
scheduled breaks, the work requirement will be the same as
for other program participants, with work experience related
to the field of study. However, if the student is enrolled full-
time for the next semester and work activity placement
cannot be arranged for the duration of the break in classes, it
may be excused.

For every 1 credit hour, count 1.5 hours of
study as part of the fulfillment of the required work
participation hours. Therefore, if a persons full-time status is
12 credit hours count the 12 hours plus an additional 18
hours (12 x 1.5=18) for a total of 30 hours of weekly
participation.

(b) Loans, scholarships, grants and work-study
received by the recipient to   pay for tuition and materials are
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excluded in determination of eligibility for assistance under
TANF or the amount of assistance received by the recipient.

(c) The Department of Health and Social Services
shall advise all persons of this section at application
interviews and, at a minimum, at each recertification
appointment.

(d) Persons attending education and training
programs under this section shall receive support services,
such as assistance with transportation and child care, while
they attend the educational or vocational training program on
the same basis as support services are provided other persons
who are receiving assistance under TANF.

(e) If program completion will occur within one
semester or quarter after the time limit expires, an extension
may be granted for that semester or quarter.

(f) Persons sanctioned while attending educational
or vocational programs shall be afforded the same due
process as provided other persons under TANF.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Food Stamp Policy

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”)/
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
the Food Stamp Program.  The Department’s proceedings to
amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29
Delaware Code Section 10113 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

Nature of the Exempt Regulation

Citation
• 2 Del.C. §10113

Summary of Proposed Changes

The purpose of this amendment is to update Food Stamp
policy so that it is consistent with the policies regarding the
implementation of Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT).  DSS
is not changing existing policies or procedures, but

clarifying the DSSM to reflect current practices.  The several
housekeeping changes for clarification and process purposes
include removing language, correcting grammatical and
typographical errors.

For example:
• Under DSSM 9016.2, Obtaining Food Stamps

Benefits clarifies that Food Stamp identification
cards are not required for EBT.

• Under DSSM 9039.1, Thirty-Day Processing
clarifies the process that ensures the client has the
opportunity to participate by the 30th day after the
application date.

• Under DSSM 9041.1, Processing Standards
revises the issuance procedures due to EBT.

• Under DSSM 9063.1, Anticipating Income
revises the language to correct grammatical and
typographical errors.

• Under DSSM 9078.1, Residents of Drug/
Alcoholic Treatment and Rehabilitation
Programs removes the reference to DSSM 9016
and inserts policy reference language that the
authorized representative must be employed by
the treatment facility.

• Under DSSM 9079.1, Replacing Food Benefits
Issued by Electronic Benefit Transfer removes
the word “below” and inserts the policy reference
number.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that these changes are exempt
from the procedural requirements of the Administrative
Procedures Act (Title 29 Chapter 101).

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
revision regarding housekeeping changes to the policies of
the Food Stamp Program be adopted informally as an
exempt regulation and shall become effective November 10,
2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, October 13, 2005 

DSS EXEMPT REGULATION #05-59
REVISIONS:

9016.2 Obtaining Food Stamps Benefits
An authorized representative may be designated to

obtain benefits. Encourage households to name an
authorized representative for obtaining benefits in case of
illness or other circumstances, which might prevent the
household from obtaining their benefits. The name of the
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authorized representative must be recorded in the
household’s case record and and on the food stamp
identification (ID) card in DCIS.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

9039.1 Thirty-Day Processing
Provide eligible households that complete the initial

application process an opportunity to participate as soon as
possible, but no later than 30 calendar days following the
date the application was filed except for residents of public
institutions who apply jointly for SSI and food stamp
benefits prior to release from the institution per DSSM 9015.
Provide eligible households that complete the initial
application process an opportunity to participate as soon as
possible, but no later than 30 calendar days following the
date the application was filed.  The following exception
applies for residents of public institutions who apply jointly
for SSI and food stamp benefits prior to release from the
institution per DSSM 9015.  For residents of public
institutions who apply for food stamps prior to their release
from the institution, provide an opportunity to participate as
soon as possible, but not later than 30 calendar days from the
date of release of the applicant from the institution.

The 30 day period begins on the day following the date
of the application (do not include the date of application in
the thirty (30) days).

Action (computer input) must take place on or before
the 30th 26th day for mailed EBT cards. Do not delay due to
weekends or holidays. If work cannot be completed by the
30th 26th day, the worker issues a pending notice (Form 340)
on the 30th 26th day. If the 30th 26th day falls on a weekend
or holiday, action must take place on the last preceding day.
Action must take place on the 27th, 28th, or 29th day for those
clients picking up their EBT cards at a card issuance site.
This ensures the client can have access to their benefits by
the 30th day.

Instances of computer error, such as computer down
time, will still be considered errors by FNS, but worker will
document the reason in the case record.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

9041.1 Processing Standards
For households entitled to expedited service, benefits

must be available to the recipient not later than the seventh
calendar day following the date an application was filed. For
a resident of a public institution who applies for benefits
prior to his/her release from the institution in accordance
with DSSM 9015 and who is entitled to expedited service,

the filing date is the date of release of the applicant from the
institution. There are no exceptions to these requirements for
weekends or holidays.

The table below shows filing days, the respective days
by which the data must be system- entered, and the day the
benefits are mailed, and the day the benefits are received by
made available to the household.

When an applicant comes in and is found eligible for
expedited services, but they do not want the benefits because
of anticipated changes (a move or new household members),
we are required to issue the household expedited benefits.
The only way we cannot expedite is when identity has not
been verified or the household fails to file a completed
application.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

9063.1 Anticipating Income
Take into account the income already received by the

household during the certification period and any anticipated
income, which the household and the Division are
reasonably certain will be received during the remainder of
the certification period. Income is not to be counted at all if it
is uncertain what amount is to be received or when it is to be
received.

As an example of uncertain income, a household
anticipating income from a new source, such as a new job or
recently applied for public assistance benefits may be
uncertain as to the timing and amount of the initial payment.
Do not anticipate this income unless there is reasonable
certainty concerning the month in which the payment will be
received and in what amount. If the exact amount of the
income is not known, that portion of it which can be

Day Client
Applied

Last Day to
Enter into
DCIS

Day Benefits
Mailed

Day Client
Must Receive
Benefits

Monday Thursday Friday Monday
Tuesday Friday Monday Tuesday
Wednesday Monday Tuesday Wednesday
Thursday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday
Friday Wednesday Thursday Friday

Day of Application Last Day to Confirm
in DCIS

Day Benefits Made
Available

Monday Thursday Friday
Tuesday Friday Monday
Wednesday Monday Tuesday
Thursday Tuesday Wednesday
Friday Wednesday Thursday
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anticipated with reasonable certainty will be considered as
income. In cases where the receipt of income is reasonably
certain but the monthly amount may fluctuate, the household
may elect to income average income may be averaged.
Households are to be advised to report all changes in gross
monthly income as required in DSSM 9085. Impending
receipt of an a TANF, RCA or GA grant will be considered
reasonably certain only when all technical and financial
eligibility factors have been satisfied and a decision of
eligibility has been reached.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

9078.1 Residents of Drug/Alcoholic Treatment and
Rehabilitation Programs

Narcotics addicts or alcoholics who regularly participate
in publicly operated or private non- profit drug or alcoholic
treatment and rehabilitation programs on a resident basis
may voluntarily apply for the Food Stamp Program.

Resident addicts and alcoholics and their children, will
have their eligibility determined as one household. Certify
residents of addict/alcoholic treatment centers by using the
same provisions that apply to all other applicant households
except that certification must be accomplished through an
authorized representative per DSSM 9016 who is employed
by the program.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

9079.1 Replacing Food Benefits Issued by Electronic
Benefits Transfer (EBT)

Food stamp benefits issued by EBT can only be
replaced under two conditions:

• Unauthorized use of the account based on the
conditions listed below under DSSM 9079.2; and

• Food purchased with food stamp benefits that
was destroyed in a household misfortune or
disaster.

The primary payee (cardholder) is responsible for the
security and safeguarding of the EBT card and Personal
Identification Number (PIN), including the careful selection
of authorized representatives.

9079.2 Unauthorized Use of the Account
The reason DSS issues food stamp benefits by EBT is to

minimize the loss and theft of client benefits.
DSS will replace benefits issued by EBT due to the

unauthorized use of the account only if the loss occurred:
• after a report of a lost or stolen EBT card is made

to the e-Funds Customer Support number at 1-
800-526-9099;

• because of DSS local office card/PIN issuance
error; or

• because of an unlawful or other erroneous action
on the part of DSS or the EBT contractor.

DSS will not replace food stamp benefits withdrawn
from an EBT account before a report of a lost or stolen EBT
card is made to the e-Funds Customer Support Unit.

DSS will replace food stamp benefits withdrawn from
an EBT account after a report of a lost or stolen EBT card is
made to the e-Funds Customer Support Unit. Before a
replacement is issued, DSS will verify the time/date of the
report to e-Funds and the time/date of the loss of benefits.
DSS will not replace EBT issued benefits that were misused
by an authorized representative.

A household member, or authorized representative,
must sign and return to the food stamp office an Affidavit for
Replacement of EBT Food Benefits. The affidavit will attest
to the loss and must be made within ten days of the report of
the loss. If the household does not sign and return the
affidavit within ten days of the report of the loss DSS will
deny the request for replacement of benefits.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Organizational Structure and Description of the Division 
of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”)/
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan
regarding the organizational structure and description of the
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA).
The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10113 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section
512.

Nature of the Exempt Regulation

Citations:
• 42 CFR §431.11, Organization for

Administration
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• 29 Del.C. §10111, Organization regulations;
rules of procedure 

• 29 Del.C. §10113, Adoption of Regulations;
exemptions

Amending the Following Title XIX Medicaid State Plan 
Pages:

• Pages 2 and 7;
• Attachment 1.2-A and Attachment 1.2-A, Page 1;
• Attachment 1.2-B and Attachment 1.2-B, Page 1;
• Attachment 1.2-C; and,
• Attachment 1.2-D (new page).

Background

Historically, Medicaid has not had stand-alone
divisional status; it had been part of the Division of Social
Services. The Delaware Legislature approved the Delaware
Health and Social Services’ reorganization plan as part of the
State Fiscal Year 2006 Budget (House Bill No. 300).
Effective July 1, 2005, this reorganization involved
separating Medicaid and other medical assistance programs
from the Division of Social Services (DSS) and created a
new Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance
(DMMA). The DMMA is responsible for managing
Medicaid as well as the other medical assistance programs
that had been administered by DSS. Program and policy
development for Medicaid, the Delaware Healthy Children
Program (DHCP), the Delaware Prescription Assistance
Program (DPAP), the Non-Citizen Healthcare Program, and
the Chronic Renal Disease Program resides in DMMA.
Responsibility for medical and financial eligibility for
Medicaid Long Term Care programs reside in DMMA. The
Nursing Facility Reimbursement unit and the nurses who
approve Private Duty Nursing and PPEC services for
children reside in DMMA. It is important to note that the
Medicaid Long Term Care financial eligibility staff continue
to determine eligibility for Food Stamps for their recipients.

Other units that support the medical assistance
programs, such as SURs, TPL/ER, Quality Management,
Managed Care and Diamond State Partners staff, resides in
DMMA. Responsibility for Medicaid eligibility associated
with Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) and
other poverty-related groups remains in DSS.  DSS
continues to administer Food Stamps, Temporary Assistance
for Needy Families (TANF), General Assistance and Child
Care.

Summary of Proposed Amendment

The agency submitted an amendment to the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) on September 19,
2005 to update the organizational charts in the Title XIX
Medicaid State Plan.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that these changes are exempt
from the procedural requirements of the Administrative
Procedures Act (Title 29 Chapter 101).

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
revision regarding the organizational structure and
description of the Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance (DMMA) be adopted informally as an exempt
regulation and shall become effective November 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, October 13, 2005

DMMA EXEMPT REGULATION #05-58a
REVISION:

Page 2
STATE:  DELAWARE

Citation 1.1 Designation and Authority
42 CFR 431.10
AT-79-29 (a) Department of Delaware Health 

and Social Services is the single 
State agency designated to 
administer or supervise the 
administration of the Medicaid 
program under title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. (All 
references in this plan to “the 
Medicaid agency” mean the 
agency named in this paragraph.)

ATTACHMENT 1.1-A is a 
certification signed by the State 
Attorney General identifying the 
single State agency and citing the 
legal authority under which it 
administers or supervises 
administration of the program.
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DMMA EXEMPT REGULATION #05-58b

Page 7
Revision: HCFA-AT-80-38 (BPP)
May 22, 1980

STATE:  DELAWARE

Citation 1.2 Organization for Administration
42 CFR 431.11
AT-79-29 (a) ATTACHMENT 1.2-A contains a 

description of the organization and 
functions of the Medicaid Agency and 
an organization chart of the agency.

(b)  Within the State agency, the 
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
PROGRAM DIVISION OF 
MEDICAID & MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE has been 
designated as the medical 
assistance unit.
ATTACHMENT 1.2-B contains a 
description of  the organization 
and functions of the medical 
assistance unit and an 
organization chart of the unit.

(c) ATTACHMENT 1.2-C contains a 
description of the kinds and 
numbers of professional medical 
personnel and supporting staff 
used in the administration of the 
plan and their responsibilities.

(d) Eligibility determinations are 
made by State or local staff of an 
agency other than the agency 
named in paragraph 1.1(a).  
ATTACHMENT 1.2-D contains a 
description of the staff designated 
to make such determinations and 
the functions they will perform.

⌧ Not applicable.  Only staff of
the agency named in paragraph 
1.1(a) make such determinations.

DMMA EXEMPT REGULATION #05-58c

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

STATE OF DELAWARE

Attachment 1.2-A

Organization and Function of the State Agency

The Department Of Delaware Health and Social
Services (DHSS) is the single State agency for the
administration of Medicaid.  The Medical Assistance Unit
Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance (DMMA)
within the Division of Social Services (DSS) DHSS has
direct responsibility for administering the Medicaid
program.

The Director of DSS DMMA reports to the Secretary of
DHSS.  The Director of the Medical Assistance Program,
who is also the Deputy Director of DSS, reports to the
Director of DSS.

DMMA EXEMPT REGULATION #05-58d

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

STATE OF DELAWARE

Attachment 1.2-B

Organization and Function of the Medical Assistance 
Unit

The Medical Assistance Unit Division of Medicaid &
Medical Assistance (DMMA) is a separate unit Division
under the Director of the Division of Social Services
Secretary of Department of Delaware Health and Social
Services.

The unit DMMA consists of management, professional,
technical, clerical and medical personnel, and includes a
Medicaid Director, program administrators, and support
personnel.  The Unit DMMA has responsibility for all
Medicaid services in the State.

Medicaid claims processing is contracted out to a Fiscal
Agent.  There are Medicaid Eligibility Determination Units
in each of the counties of the State, which carry out functions
related to long-term care and non-grant medical assistance.
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D elaw are H ealth  &  Socia l Services 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

      
 

 
V incent P . M econ i  
V incent P . M econi, Secretary  

V incent P . M econi 
Secretary   

_____________________ 
 

K arryl M cM anus  
D eputy  Secretary   

P -255-9040      F -255-4429

D IV ISIO N  O F M A N A G E M E N T  
SE R V IC E S (D M S) 

V alencia  L . (Lynn) B eaty  
D irector  

P -255-9000                 F -255-4482

D IV ISIO N  O F PU B L IC  
H E A L T H  (D PH ) 

Ja im e “G us” R ivera , M .D .  
D irector 

P -744-4701                 F -739-6659

D IV ISIO N  O F SO C IA L  
SE R V IC E S (D SS) 

E la ine  A rchange lo  
D irector 

P -255-9668                F -255-4433 

D IV ISIO N  O F SU B ST A N C E  
A B U SE  &  M E N T A L  H E A L T H  

(D SA M H )  
R enata  J. H enry  

D irector  
P -255-9398               F -255-4427  

D IV ISIO N  O F SE R V IC E S  FO R  
A G IN G  &  A D U L T S W IT H  
PH Y SIC A L  D ISA B IL IT IE S 

(D SA A P D ) 
A llan  Zaback  

D irector  
P - 255-9390               F -255-4445  

D IV ISIO N  O F C H IL D  SU PPO R T  
E N FO R C E M E N T  (D C SE ) 

C harles E . H ayw ard   
D irector  

P -326-6200                F -326-6246  

D IV ISIO N  O F D E V E L O P M E N T A L  
D ISA B IL IT IE S  SE R V IC E S (D D S) 

M arianne S m ith   
D irecto r  

P -744-9600                      F -744-9632  

D IV ISIO N  O F L O N G  T E R M  C A R E  
R E SID E N T S PR O T E C T IO N  

(D L T C R P) 
C aro l H . E llis   

D irecto r 
P - 577-6661                     F -577-6672  

O FFIC E  O F  T H E  C H IE F  
M E D IC A L  E X A M IN E R  (O C M E ) 

R ichard  T . C a lle ry, M .D . 
D irecto r 

P -577-3420                       F -577-3416  

D IV ISIO N  FO R  T H E  V ISU A L L Y  
IM PA IR E D  (D V I) 

C indy Love ll  
D irecto r  

P -255-9810                       F -255-4441  

D IV ISIO N  O F ST A T E  SE R V IC E  
C E N T E R S (D SSC ) 

G loria  U pshur 
D irecto r  

P - 255-9672                     F -255-4465  

D IV ISIO N  O F M E D IC A ID  
M E D IC A L  A SSIST A N C E  

(D M M A ) 
H arry H ill 
D irecto r 

P - 255-9626 F-255-4425
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DMMA EXEMPT REGULATION #05-58e
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 

SECURITY ACT

STATE OF DELAWARE

Attachment 1.2-D

Description of Staff Designated to Make Eligibility 
Determinations

The Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance
(DMMA) is responsible for managing Medicaid as well as
the other medical assistance programs. Program and policy
development for Medicaid, the Delaware Healthy Children
Program (DHCP), the Delaware Prescription Assistance
Program (DPAP), the Non-Citizen Health care Program, and
the Chronic Renal Disease Program (CRDP) resides in
DMMA.  Responsibility for medical and financial eligibility
for Medicaid Long Term Care (LTC) programs resides in
DMMA.

Responsibility for Medicaid eligibility associated with
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) and other
poverty-related groups remains in DSS.

The Social Security Administration (SSA) is
responsible for making eligibility determinations for
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) for Aged, Blind or
Disabled recipients.  DMMA is responsible for issuing a
Medicaid Identification Card to the SSI recipient.  Medicaid
eligibility information for SSI recipients is transmitted
through the State Data Exchange (SDX) System.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING

Council on Apprenticeship and Training
      Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, 

Section  202(a)  (19 Del.C. §202(a))

ORDER

A public hearing was held on September 27, 2005 to
receive public comments relating to  proposed changes to
Regulation 4.0 – Eligibility and Procedure for State
Registration; Regulation 6.0 – Standards of Apprenticeship;
and Regulation 13.0 – Program Registration Denial. The
members of Council present recommended that the Secretary
of Labor adopt the proposal as it was published in the
Register of Regulations, Vol. 9, Issue 2  (August 1, 2005).

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted
No written or verbal comment was received.

Recommended Findings of Fact With Respect to the 
Evidence and Information

The Council is persuaded that these changes are
consistent with the current administration of the program.
Furthermore, the change to Regulation 13.0 provides more
information regarding grounds for Program Registration
Denial and the procedure for reapplication following denial.

Recommendation

The proposed changes are respectfully submitted to the
Secretary of Labor for consideration with a recommendation
for adoption this 27th day of September, 2005.

COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP AND
TRAINING 

Robert Buccini, Chairman Patricia Creedon
Dale Derrickson Andrew S. Nowell
R. Joseph Johnson David G. Kitto

Decision and Effective Date

Having reviewed and considered the record and
recommendations of members of the Council on
Apprenticeship and Training, the proposed changes to
Regulations 4.0, 6.0, and 13.0 are hereby adopted and made
effective 10 days following publication of the final
regulation in the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text appears in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 9,
Issue 2 (August 1, 2005). 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Thomas B. Sharp, Secretary of Labor

Rules and Regulations
Division of Employment and Training Apprenticeship 

Programs

106 Apprenticeship and Training Regulations

1.0 Purpose and Scope
(Formerly 106.1)
1.1 Section 204, Chapter 2, Title 19, Delaware Code

authorizes and directs the Department of Labor to formulate
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regulations to promote the furtherance of labor standards
necessary to safeguard the welfare of Apprentices and to
extend the applications of such standards by requiring their
inclusion in apprenticeship contracts.

1.2 The purpose of this chapter is to set forth labor
standards to safeguard the welfare of Apprentices and to
extend the application of such standards by prescribing
policies and procedures concerning the registration of
acceptable Apprenticeship Programs with the Delaware
Department of Labor.

1.3 These labor standards and procedures cover the
Registration and Cancellation of Apprenticeship Agreements
and of Apprenticeship Programs; and matters relating
thereto. Any questions [and/or] to request a copy of
Delaware's Prevailing Wage Regulations regarding the
employment of apprentices on state-funded construction
projects must be referred to:

Delaware Department of Labor
Office of Labor Law Enforcement
4425 North Market Street
Wilmington, DE   19802
(302) 761-8200

2.0 Declaration of Policy
(Formerly 106.1)
2.1 It is declared to be the policy of this State to:

2.1.1 encourage the development of an
apprenticeship and training system through the voluntary
cooperation of management and workers and interested State
agencies and in cooperation with other states and the federal
government;

2.1.2 provide for the establishment and
furtherance of Standards of Apprenticeship and Training to
safeguard the welfare of Apprentices and trainees;

 2.1.3 aid in providing maximum opportunities
for unemployed and employed persons to improve and
modernize their work skills; and

2.14 contribute to a healthy economy by aiding
in the development and maintenance of a skilled labor force
sufficient in numbers and quality to meet the expanding
needs of industry and to attract new industry.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

3.0 Definitions
(Formerly 106.2)
3.1 As used in this part:

"Administrator" refers to the Administrator of the
Office of Apprenticeship and Training for the State
Department of Labor.

"Agreement" refers to a written agreement
between an Apprentice and either his/her employer or an

Apprenticeship Committee acting as agent for the Employer
which contains the terms and conditions of the employment
and training of the Apprentice.

"Apprentice" refers to a person at least sixteen
years of age who is engaged in learning a recognized skilled
trade through actual work experience under the supervision
of a Journey person. This person must enter into a written
Apprenticeship Indenture Agreement with a registered
apprenticeship sponsor. The training must be supplemented
with properly coordinated studies of related technical
instruction. All hours worked by a registered apprentice,
while in the employ of the apprentice's sponsor, shall be
considered apprenticeship hours to be counted toward wage
progression increments and completion of his/ her on-the-job
training hours as set forth in the Apprenticeship Indenture
Agreement.

“Apprenticeship Standards" refers to the
document which embodies the procedure for the selection
and the training of apprentices, setting forth the terms of the
training, including wages, hours, conditions of employment,
training on the job, and related instruction.  The duties and
responsibilities of the Sponsor, including administrative
procedures, are set forth in their company's policies.

"BAT" refers to the U.S. Department of Labor,
Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training.

"Cancellation" refers to the deregistration of a
Program or the Termination of an Agreement.

"Committee" refers to those persons designated by
the Sponsor to act on its behalf in the administration of the
Apprenticeship Program.  A Committee may be "joint" i.e.,
it is composed of an equal number of representatives of the
employer(s) and of the employee(s) represented by a bona
fide collective bargaining agent(s)  and has been established
to conduct, operate or administer a Program and enter into
Agreements with Apprentices. A Committee may be
"unilateral" or "non-joint" and shall mean a Program
Sponsor in which a bona fide collective bargaining agent is
not a participant.

"Council" refers to the  Governor's Advisory
Council On Apprenticeship and Training.

"Delaware Resident Contractor" includes any
general contractor, prime contractor, construction manager,
subcontractor or other type of construction contractor who
regularly maintains a place of business in Delaware.
Regularly maintaining a place of business in Delaware does
not include site trailers, temporary structures associated with
one contract or set of related contracts, nor the holding, nor
the maintaining of a post office box within this State.  The
specific intention of this definition is to maintain consistency
with Title 30, Delaware Code, section 2501(3) "Resident
Contractor".
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"Director" refers to the Director of the Division of
Employment and Training.

"Division" refers to the Division of Employment
and Training, Department of Labor, state of Delaware.

“Employer" refers to any person or organization
employing an Apprentice, whether or not such person or
organization is a party to an Apprenticeship Agreement.

"Journey person" refers to a worker who is fully
qualified as a skilled worker in a given craft or trade.

"On-site Visit" refers to a visit from a
representative of the State of Delaware, Department of
Labor, Division of Employment and Training to the office
and/or the actual field job-site of the Sponsor, for the
purposes of inspecting and/or monitoring the progress and
training of the Registered Apprentice.  This monitoring may
include but is not limited to  interviewing the Apprentice and
the auditing of pertinent documents relative to the
maintenance and enforcement of the terms of the
Apprenticeship Agreement.

"Program" refers to an executed apprenticeship
plan which contains all terms and conditions for the
qualifications, recruitment, selection, employment and
training of Apprentices, including such matters as the
requirements for a written Apprenticeship Agreement.

"Registrant or Sponsor" refers to any person,
association, committee or organization in whose name or
title the Program is (or is to be) registered or approved
regardless of whether or not such entity is an Employer.  To
be eligible, the Registrant or Sponsor must be a "Delaware
Resident Contractor" or hold and maintain a "Delaware
Resident Business License". The Registrant or Sponsor must
hold and maintain a permanent place of business, not to
include site trailers or other facilities serving only one
contract or related set of contracts.  To be eligible to be a
Registrant or Sponsor, Employer/Business, association,
committee or organization must have the training program
and an adequate number of Journey persons to meet the ratio
requirements as stated for that particular apprenticeable
occupation.

"Registration" refers to the acceptance and
recording of an Apprenticeship Program by the Delaware
Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship and Training,
as meeting the basic standards and requirements of the
Division for approval of such Program.  Approval is
evidenced by a Certificate or other written indicia
documentation. Registration also refers to the acceptance
and recording of Apprenticeship Agreements thereof, by the
Delaware Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship
and Training, as evidence of the participation of the
Apprentice in a particular Registered apprenticeship
Program.

"Related Instruction" refers to a formal and
systematic form of instruction designed to provide the
Apprentice with knowledge of the theoretical and technical
subjects related to his/her trade.

"Secretary" refers to the Secretary of Labor.
"State" refers to the State of Delaware.
"Supervisory Inspection" shall mean the same as

"ON SITE VISIT".
3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

4.0 Eligibility and Procedure for State Registration
(Formerly 106.3)
4.1 No Program or Agreement shall be eligible for

State Registration unless it is in conformity with the
requirements of this chapter, and the training is in an
apprenticeable occupation having the characteristics set forth
in section 5.0 herein.

4.2 Apprentices must be individually registered under a
Registered Program with the State of Delaware, Department
of Labor, Division of Employment and Training. Such
registration shall be effected by filing copies of each
Agreement with the State effective when the completed
agreement is submitted to and signed by the Administrator.
Sponsors registered with states other than the State of
Delaware shall not be construed as being registered for State
of Delaware Apprenticeship Program Registration purposes.

4.3 The State must be properly notified through the
Department of Labor, Division of Employment & Training,
Office of Apprenticeship & Training of cancellation,
suspension or termination of any Agreements, (with cause
for same) and of apprenticeship completions.  The State will
attempt, where applicable, to verify the cause of
apprenticeship termination.
 4.4 Approved Programs shall be accorded Registration,
evidenced by a Certificate of Registration.  The Certificate
of Registration for an approved Program will be made in the
name of the Program Sponsor and must be renewed every
four (4) years.

4.5 Any modification(s) or change(s) to registered
standards shall be promptly submitted to the State through
the appropriate office no later than thirty (30) days and, if
approved, shall be recorded and acknowledged as an
amendment to such standards.

4.6 The request for registration and all documents and
data required by this chapter shall be submitted in triplicate.
Individual Agreements shall be submitted to the State
Apprenticeship and Training Office for Registration no later
than thirty (30) calendar days after the trainee has started
work in the registered Program.  Agreements submitted after
said time shall be considered a violation of the rules and
regulations and will not be honored.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 5, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2005



FINAL REGULATIONS 809
4.7 4.6 Under a Program proposed for Registration by
an Employer or Employer's Association, where the
standards, collective bargaining agreement or other
instrument provides for participation by a union in any way
in the operation of the Program, and such participation is
exercised, written acknowledgment of a union agreement or
"no objection" to the Registration is required.  Where no
such participation is evidenced and practiced, the Employer
shall simultaneously furnish to the union a copy of its
Program application.  In addition, upon receipt of the
application for the Program, the State shall promptly send by
certified mail to such local union another copy of the
Program application and together with a notice that union
comments will be accepted for thirty (30) days after the date
of the agency transmittal.

4.8 4.7 Where the employees to be trained have no
collective bargaining agent, a program plan may be proposed
for Registration by an Employer or groups of Employers.

4.9 4.8 A Sponsor may register Programs in one or
more occupations simultaneously or individually with the
provision that the Program Sponsor shall, within sixty (60)
days of Registration, be actively training Apprentices on-
the-job and related study must begin within twelve (12)
months for each occupation for which Registration is
granted.  At no time shall an individual Apprentice be
employed in more than one (1) occupation, nor signed to
more than one (1) Apprenticeship Agreement at any given
time.

4.10 4.9 Each occupation for which a Program Sponsor
holds Registration shall be subject to Cancellation if no
active training of Apprentices on the job has occurred within
a consecutive one hundred eighty (180) day period or if no
Related Instruction has begun within a twelve (12) month
period from the date of Registration or in any twelve (12)
month period during the duration of that Agreement.

4.11 4.10 Each Sponsor of a Program shall submit to
an on-site inspection or supervisory visit and shall make all
documents pertaining to the Registered Program available to
appropriate representatives of the Apprenticeship and
Training Office or designated service personnel upon
request.

4.12 4.11 Each Sponsor shall be so routinely
examined, by the Office of Apprenticeship and Training,  at
least annually, but not more than every six (6) months, unless
a specific violation is suspected or a specific document is
being investigated.

4.13 4.12 The Sponsor shall notify the State
Registration Agency of termination or lay-off from
employment of a Registered Apprentice or of the completion
of the terms of the Apprenticeship Agreement within thirty
(30) calendar days of such occurrence.

4.14 4.13 The Sponsor shall notify the State of
failure to obtain and register the Apprentice in an approved
course of Related Instruction as stated and detailed on the
Apprenticeship Agreement within (30) calendar days of such
occurrence.

4.15 4.14 It shall be the responsibility of the Sponsor
to monitor the progress and attendance of the Apprentice in
all phases of training such as, but not limited to, on-the-job
and/or Related Training.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

5.0 Criteria for Apprenticeable Occupations
(Formerly 106.4)
5.1 An Apprenticeable occupation is a skilled trade

which possesses all of the following characteristics:
5.1.1 It is customarily learned in a practical way

through training and work on the job.
5.1.2 It is clearly identified and commonly

recognized throughout the industry, or recognized with a
positive view towards changing technology or approved by
the Delaware Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship
& Training.

5.1.3 It involves manual, technical or
mechanical skills and knowledge which require a minimum
of two thousand (2,000) hours of on-the-job training, not
including the time spent in Related Instruction.

5.1.4 It customarily requires Related Instruction
to supplement the on-the-job training.

5.1.5 It involves the development of skills
sufficiently broad enough to be applicable in similar
occupations throughout the industry, rather than a restricted
application to the products or services of any one company.

6.0 Standards of Apprenticeship
(Formerly 106.5)
6.1 The following standards are prescribed for a

Program.
6.1.1 The Program must include an organized,

written plan delineating the terms and conditions of
employment. The training and supervision of one or more
Apprentices in an apprenticeable occupation must become
the responsibility of the Sponsor who has undertaken to
carry out the Apprentice's training program.

6.2 The standards must contain provisions concerning
the following:

6.2.1 The employment and training of the
Apprentice in a skilled occupation;

6.2.2 an equal opportunity pledge stating the
recruitment, selection, employment and training of
Apprentices during their apprenticeships shall be without
discrimination based on: race, color, religion, national origin
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or sex.  When applicable, an affirmative action plan in
accordance with the State's requirements for federal
purposes must be instituted;

6.2.3 the existence of a term of apprenticeship,
not less than one year or two thousand (2,000) hours
consistent with training requirements as established by
industry practice;

6.2.4 an outline of the work processes in which
the Apprentice will receive supervised work experience and
on-the-job training, and the allocation of the approximate
time to be spent in each major process;

6.2.5 provision for organized related and
supplemental instruction in technical subjects related to the
trade.  A minimum of one hundred forty-four (144) hours for
each year of apprenticeship is required.  Such instruction
may be given in a classroom, through trade, industrial or
approved correspondence courses of equivalent value or in
other forms approved by the State Department of Labor,
Office of Apprenticeship and Training;

6.2.6 a progressively increasing schedule of
wage rates to be paid the Apprentice, consistent with the
skill acquired which shall be expressed in percentages of the
established Journey person’s hourly wage;

6.2.7 Minimum Wage Progression for 1 through
7 year Apprentice Program as follows:

6.2.7.1 1 to 7 year programs
6.2.7.2 starting pay must be at least minimum

wage
6.2.7.3 final period must be at least 85%

1 YEAR [OR] 2,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 85%

2 YEAR [OR] 4,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 51%
3rd 1,000 hours: 63%
4th 1,000 hours: 85%

3 YEAR [OR] 6,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 48%
3rd 1,000 hours: 57%
4th 1,000 hours: 65%
5th 1,000 hours: 74%
6th 1,000 hours: 85%

4 YEAR [OR] 8,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 46%

3rd 1,000 hours: 53%
4th 1,000 hours: 59%
5th 1,000 hours: 65%
6th 1,000 hours: 71%
7th 1,000 hours: 78%
8th 1,000 hours: 85%

5 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 45%
3rd 1,000 hours: 50%
4th 1,000 hours: 55%
5th 1,000 hours: 60%
6th 1,000 hours: 65%
7th 1,000 hours: 70%
8th 1,000 hours: 74%
9th 1,000 hours: 79%
10th 1,000 hours: 85%

6 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 44%
3rd 1,000 hours: 48%
4th 1,000 hours: 52%
5th 1,000 hours: 56%
6th 1,000 hours: 60%
7th 1,000 hours: 64%
8th 1,000 hours: 68%
9th 1,000 hours: 72%
10th 1,000 hours: 76%

    11th 1,000 hours: 81%
    12th 1,000 hours: 85%
7 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP

PROGRAM:
1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 43%
3rd 1,000 hours: 47%
4th 1,000 hours: 50%
5th 1,000 hours: 54%
6th 1,000 hours: 57%
7th 1,000 hours: 61%
8th 1,000 hours: 64%
9th 1,000 hours: 68%
10th 1,000 hours: 71%
11th 1,000 hours: 74%
12th 1,000 hours: 78%
13th 1,000 hours: 81%
14th 1,000 hours: 85%
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6.2.8 that the entry Apprentice wage rate shall
not be less than the minimum prescribed by State statute or
by the Fair Labor Standards Act, where applicable;

6.2.9.1 In no case other than sickness or
injury on the part of the Apprentice, shall a Sponsor hold
back an Apprentice's progression more than one period or
wage increment without the written consent of the
Administrator;

6.2.9 That the established Journeyperson's
hourly rate applicable among all participating Employers be
stated in dollars and cents. No Apprentice shall receive an
hourly rate less than the percentage for the period in which
he/she is serving applied to the established Journeyperson's
rate unless the Sponsor has documented the reason for same
in the individual Apprentice's progress report and has
explained the reason for said action to the Apprentice and
Registration Agency.

6.2.10 That the established Journeyperson's rate
provided for by the Standards be reviewed and/or adjusted
annually.  Sponsors of Programs shall be required to give
proof that all employees used in determining ratios of
Apprentices to Journeypersons shall be receiving wages at
least in the amount set for Journeypersons in their individual
program standards, or are qualified to perform as Journey
persons and must be paid at least the minimum
journeyperson rate; 

6.2.11 That the minimum hourly Apprentice
wage rate paid during the last period of apprenticeship not be
less than eighty-five (85) percent of the established
Journeyperson wage rate. Wages covered by a collective
bargaining agreement takes precedent over this section.
However, wages may not be below the State's required
minimum progression.

6.3 The Program must include a periodic review and
evaluation of the Apprentice's progress in job performance
and related instruction, and the maintenance of appropriate
progress records.

6.4 The ratio of Apprentices to Journeypersons should
be consistent with proper supervision, training and
continuity of employment or applicable provisions in
collective bargaining agreements.
  6.4.1 The ratio of Apprentices to
Journeypersons shall be one Apprentice up to each five (5)
Journeypersons employed by the prospective Sponsor unless
a different ratio based on an industry standard is contained in
the signed Standards of Apprenticeship Agreement. 

6.4.2 The following have been recognized to be
the industry standard for the listed trades:

Ratio of Apprentice Journeypersons*
1 up to 4 Sheet Metal Worker
1 up to 4 Insulation Worker

1 up to 4 Asbestos Worker
1 up to 3 Industrial Maintenance Mechanic
1 up to 3 Plumbers/Pipefitters
1 up to 3 Electrician
1 up to 3 Precision Instrument Repairers
1 up to 3 Glaziers
1 up to 2 Roofers
1 up to 1 Sprinkler Fitters

* The ratio has no effect until the second apprentice
is registered.  Only one Journeyperson is necessary in any
trade for the first Apprentice.

6.4.3 Exceptions.
6.4.3.1 If a collective bargaining agreement

stipulates a ratio of Apprentices to Journeyperson, it shall
prevail provided the Bargaining Ration is not lower than the
State standard.

6.4.3.2 A deviation from the established
standard may be granted by the Administrator upon written
request after considering the needs of the plant and/or trade
with consideration for growth, the availability of relevant
training, and the opportunity for employment of skilled
workers following the completion of their training.  Such
exception shall last no more than one year but may be
renewed upon written request.

5 DE Reg. 204 (7/1/2001)
6.5 At least forty (40) percent of all Apprentices

registered must complete training.  Apprentices who
voluntarily terminate their apprenticeships or employment
shall not be counted in reference to this section.  Programs
with fewer than five (5) Apprentices shall not be required to
comply with this part.

6.6 6.5 A probationary period shall be in relation to the
full apprenticeship term with full credit toward completion
of apprenticeship.

6.7 6.6 Adequate and safe equipment facilities for
training and supervision and safety training for Apprentices
on the job and in Related Instruction are required.

6.8 6.7 The required minimum qualifications for
persons entering an Apprentice Program as defined in
Section 3.1 must be met.

6.9 6.8 Apprentices must sign an Agreement. The
Agreement shall directly, or by reference, incorporate the
standards of the Program as part of the Agreement.

6.10 6.9 Advance standing or credit up to 25% OJT
hours of the particular trade term in question for previously
acquired experience, training skills, or aptitude for all
applicants equally, with commensurate wages for any
accorded progression step may be granted.  The granting of a
greater amount of credit shall be set at the discretion of the
Administrator based on supportive documentation submitted
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 5, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2005



FINAL REGULATIONS812
by the Sponsor.  In no case shall more than one half of the
particular trade term in question be granted unless the time in
question has been spent in any state or federally registered
program.

6.10 When a registered apprentice is no longer
employed by a Sponsor, the Sponsor shall determine the time
and training earned during his or her employment and send
notice of such progress to the Apprenticeship and Training
Section of the Delaware Department of Labor and to the
apprentice in writing.

6.11 Transfer of Employer's training obligation
through the sponsoring Committee if one exists and as
warranted, to another Employer with consent of the
Apprentice and the Committee or Program Sponsors, with
full credit to the Apprentice for satisfactory time and training
earned, may be afforded with written notice to, and approval
of, the Registration Agency.

6.12 These Standards shall contain a statement of
assurance of qualified training personnel.

6.13 There will be recognition for successful
completion of apprenticeship evidenced by an appropriate
certificate.

6.14 These Standards shall contain proper
identification of the Registration Agency, being the
Department of Labor, Division of Employment & Training,
Office of Apprenticeship & Training.

6.15 There will be a provision for the Registration,
Cancellation and Deregistration of the Program, and a
requirement for the prompt submission of any modification
or amendment thereto.

6.16 There will be provisions for Registration of
Agreements, modifications and amendments, notice to the
Division of persons who have successfully completed
Programs, and notice of Cancellations, suspensions and
terminations of Agreements an causes therefore. 

6.17 There will be a provision giving authority for
the termination of an Agreement during the probationary
period by either party without stated cause.

6.18 There will be provisions for not less than five
(5) days notice to Apprentices of any proposed adverse
action and cause therefore with stated opportunity to
Apprentices during such period for corrective action.

6.19 There will be provisions for a grievance
procedure, and the name and address of the appropriate
authority under the program to receive, process and make
disposition of complaints.

6.20 There will be provisions for recording and
maintaining all records concerning apprenticeships as may
be required by the State or Federal law.

6.21 There will be provisions for a participating
Employer's Agreement.

6.22 There will be funding formula providing for
the equitable participation of each participating Employer in
funding of a group Program where applicable.

6.23 All Apprenticeship Standards must contain
articles necessary to comply with federal laws, regulations
and rules pertaining to apprenticeship.

6.24 Programs and Standards of Employers and
unions in other than the building and construction industry
which jointly form a sponsoring entity on a multi-state basis
and are registered pursuant to all requirements of this part by
any recognized State apprenticeship agency shall be
accorded Registration of approval reciprocity by the
Delaware Department of Labor if such reciprocity is
requested by the sponsoring entity.  However, reciprocity
will not be granted in the Building and Construction industry
based on Title 29 CFR 29 Section 12(b) unless a
"memorandum of understanding" has been signed by an
individual state and the state of Delaware.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

7.0 Apprenticeship Agreement
(Formerly 106.6)
7.1 The Apprenticeship Agreement shall contain:

7.1.1 the names and signatures of the
contracting parties (Apprentice and the program Sponsor or
Employer), and the signature of a parent or guardian if the
Apprentice is a minor;

7.1.2 the date of birth of the Apprentice;
7.1.3 the name and address of the program

Sponsor and the Registrant;
7.1.4 the Apprentice's social security number; 
7.1.5 a statement of the trade or craft which the

Apprentice is to be taught, and the beginning date and term
(duration) of apprenticeship;

7.1.6 the number of hours to be spent by the
Apprentice in work on the job;

7.1.7 the number of hours to be spent in Related
and Supplemental Instruction is recommended to be not less
than one hundred forty-four (144) hours per year;

7.1.8 provisions relating to a specific period of
probation during which the Apprenticeship Agreement may
be terminated by either party to the Agreement upon written
notice to the Registrant;

7.1.9 provisions that, after the probationary
period, the Agreement may be suspended, canceled or
terminated for cause, with due notice to the Apprentice and a
reasonable opportunity for corrective action, and with
written notice to the Apprentice and the Registrant of the
final action taken;

7.1.10 a reference incorporating, as part of the
Agreement, the standards of the Apprenticeship Program as
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it exists on the date of the Agreement or as it may be
amended during the period of the Agreement;

7.1.11 a statement that the Apprentice will be
accorded equal opportunity in all phases of apprenticeship
employment and training without discrimination based on
race, color, religion, national origin, marital status, or sex, or
disability;

7.1.12 a statement that, if an Employer is unable
to fulfill his obligation under his Agreement, the Agreement
may, with consent of the Apprentice and Committee, if one
exists, be transferred to another Employer under a
Registered Program with written notice of the transfer to the
Registrant, and with full credit to the Apprentice for
satisfactory time and training earned;

7.1.13 the name and address of the appropriate
authority, if any, designated under the program to receive,
process and make disposition of controversies or differences
which cannot be adjusted locally or resolved in accordance
with the established trade procedure or applicable collective
bargaining provisions;

7.1.14 a statement setting forth a schedule of
work processes in the trade or industry in which the
Apprentice is to be trained and the approximate time to be
spent at each process;

7.1.15 a statement of the graduated scale of
wages to be paid the Apprentice and whether or not the
required school time shall be compensated;

7.1.16 a statement that in the event the
Registration of the Program has been Canceled or revoked,
the Apprentice will be notified within fifteen (15) days of the
event.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

8.0 Complaints
(Formerly 106.7)
8.1 Any controversy or difference arising under an

Agreement which cannot be resolved locally, or which is not
covered by a collective bargaining agreement, may be
submitted by an Apprentice or his/her authorized
representative to the State Registration Agency for review.
Matters covered by a collective bargaining agreement,
however, shall be submitted and processed in accordance
with the procedures therein provided.

8.2 The complaint shall be in writing, signed by the
complainant, and submitted by the Apprentice or his/her
authorized representative within sixty (60) days of receipt of
local decision.  The complaint shall set forth the specific
problem, including all relevant facts and circumstances.
Copies of all pertinent documents and correspondence shall
accompany the complaint.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

9.0 Related Instruction Requirement 
(Formerly 106.8)
9.1 Regulations concerning Apprentices "attendance

and tardiness" policy for related instruction.
9.1.1 A registered Apprentice who misses seven

(7) classes while enrolled in a related studies program at any
of the vocational schools in the three (3) counties of the State
of Delaware will be dropped from school.  This will result in
their Apprenticeship Agreement being terminated by their
Sponsor and/or State Registration Agency.

9.1.2 An absence will result when an Apprentice
either arrives late or leaves early three (3) times. However,
School District Officials may bring to the Administrator's
attention, individual cases that may have experienced
extenuating circumstances.  With the Administrator's
approval, such individuals may be granted exemption from
this attendance policy.

9.1.3 Courses of fewer sessions will be prorated.
Instructors will inform Apprentices of allowable absences.

9.1.4 If you are a Registered Apprentice who is
enrolled through a trade union, trade society or any other
organization that stipulates attendance rules more stringent
than the above, then you are required to follow those
regulations.

9.1.5 Related Instruction that is delivered
through a state approved "in-house program",
correspondence courses or other systems of equivalent value
will require the Apprentice to produce a document detailing
satisfactory participation and completion.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

10.0 Deregistration by State Registered Program
(Formerly 106.9)
10.1 It is the policy of this State to discourage

violations of the law or these rules and regulations by
limiting or revoking the privilege to operate programs when
Sponsors demonstrate an indifference to these requirements.

10.2 Where it appears to the Administrator that a
program is not being operated in accordance with federal or
state law or these  rules and regulations, the Administrator
shall so notify the Sponsor in writing stating  the deficiency
and providing a period for corrective action not to exceed 10
days.  Such notice shall be sent by certified mail, return
receipt requested. The Sponsor shall respond in writing  to
the letter within 10 days of receipt.

10.3 If the Sponsor fails to correct a deficiency after
notice by the Administrator under 10.2, deregistration
proceedings will  be undertaken.

10.3.1 Voluntary deregistration is available to a
Sponsor upon written request to the Administrator.  Within
fifteen (15) working days of the effective date of
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deregistration demonstrated by the acknowledgment of  the
Administrator, the Sponsor must notify all Apprentices of
such deregistration, the effective date, and that the
deregistration automatically deprives the apprentice of his/
her individual registration.

10.3.2 Involuntary deregistration is initiated by
the Administrator as follows:

10.3.2.1 If the Sponsor fails to respond to
the notice of deficiency, the Administrator shall advise the
Sponsor by certified mail, return receipt requested,  that the
program will be recommended for deregistration unless
within 10 days the Sponsor requests a hearing.

10.3.2.2 If the response by the Sponsor to
the notice is insufficient to correct the deficiency,  the
Administrator shall so advise the sponsor by certified mail,
return receipt requested.  Said letter shall advise the Sponsor
that the program will be recommended for deregistration
unless within 10 days the Sponsor requests a hearing.

10.3.2.3 If no hearing is timely requested,
the Administrator will recommend deregistration to the
Secretary. The decision of the Secretary is final and no
further appeal is provided.  The sponsor will be notified of
the effective date of deregistration.  In addition, a decision of
deregistration and its effective date will be mailed to all
Apprentices registered in the program.

10.3.2.4 All recommendations for
involuntary deregistration as a result of violations of the
Rules and Regulations  will include a recommended period
of deregistration of up to three (3) years.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)
4 DE Reg. 1852 (5/1/01)

11.0 Hearings on Deregistration
(Formerly 106.10)
11.1 A deregistration hearing will be scheduled

before the Council on Apprenticeship and Training within 45
days of receipt of a timely request by the Sponsor.

11.2 Notice shall be in accord with the provisions of
the Administrative Procedures Act.

11.3 Each party shall have the right to present
evidence, to be represented by counsel, and to cross-examine
witnesses.

11.4 A record from which a verbatim transcript can
be prepared shall be made of the hearing.  A party may
request a transcript at his or her expense.

11.5 At the conclusion of the hearing, the Council
will determine, by a majority of the quorum, its
recommendation to the Secretary.

11.6 The Council shall submit its recommended
findings of fact, conclusions of law, and decision to the

Secretary.  Said recommendations may be authenticated by
the chairperson.

11.7 The decision of the Secretary is final and no
further appeal is provided.  The decision will by sent by
certified mail  to the Sponsor.  In addition, a decision of
deregistration and its effective date will be mailed to all
Apprentices registered in the program.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)
4 DE Reg. 1852 (5/1/01)

12.0 Reinstatement of Program Registration
(Formerly 106.11)
12.1 Program deregistered pursuant to this chapter

may be reinstated upon presentation of adequate evidence
that the Program is operating in accordance with this chapter.
Such evidence shall be presented to the Apprenticeship and
Training Council, which shall make a recommendation
based on said evidence, past records and any other data
deemed appropriate.  After such presentation, the Council
shall make a recommendation to the Secretary as to whether
the Program should be reinstated.  The Secretary's decision
shall be final and binding.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

13.0 Program Registration Denial
(Formerly 106.12)
13.1 Grounds for denial of program registration

include, but are not limited to, violations of apprenticeship
standards or of federal or state labor laws in any state by the
applicant.

13.1 13.2 Any proposed Sponsor may, within fifteen
(15) working days, request a hearing before the
Apprenticeship and Training Council.  If the proposed
Sponsor requests a hearing, the Administrator shall advise
the chairman of the Council, who shall convene the Council,
for a hearing for the purpose of making a determination on
the basis of the record and proposed findings of the Office of
Apprenticeship & Training.  This determination shall be
subject to review and approval by the Secretary, whose
decision shall be final and binding.

13.3 An applicant who has been denied registration
of a program may reapply by demonstrating to the Council at
a hearing that the deficiencies that led to the denial of
registration have been remedied and the program will
operate in accordance with all applicable laws and rules in a
manner that safeguards the welfare of the apprentices.  The
Council will make a recommendation to the Secretary,
whose decision shall be final and binding.
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14.0 Amendment to the Regulations in this Part
(Formerly 106.13)
14.1 The Secretary may, at any time upon his/her

own motion or upon written request of any interested person
setting forth reasonable grounds therefore, and after
opportunity has been given to interested persons to present
their views, amend or revoke any of the terms of the
regulations contained in this part.

3 DE Reg. 641 (11/1/99)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1900 Board of Nursing
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 1906(1) (24 Del.C. §1906(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 1900

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on October
12, 2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of
Nursing to receive comments regarding proposed
amendments to Regulations 9.2.2.1.1 and 9.2.2.2.2.  The
proposal provides that nurses will be able to attest to the
completion of the required number of contact hours by
approved providers, rather than documenting the date,
program name, provider and number of contact hours. The
proposed regulation was published in the Register of
Regulations, Vol. 9, Issue 2, on August 1, 2005.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written comments were received.  No members of
the public attended the hearing.

Findings of Fact With Respect to the Evidence and 
Information Submitted

There was no public comment received at the public
hearing concerning the proposed amendments to the
regulations. The Board finds that the amendments to the
regulations are necessary to clarify that nurses may attest
rather than document completion of continuing education
contact hours in connection with renewal and reinstatement
of their licenses.  The rule does not change the requirement
for the licensee to maintain documentation of their
continuing education in the event of audit.

The Law

The Board’s rulemaking authority is provided by 24
Del.C. §1906 (1).

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulations
9.2.2.1.1 and 9.2.2.2.2 to be effective 10 days following
publication of this order in the Register of Regulations.

Text And Citation

The text of the revised rules remains as published in
Register of Regulations, Vol. 9, Issue 2, August 1, 2005,
without any changes.

SO ORDERED this 12th day of October, 2005.

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
Lucille Gambardella, RN, Ph.D, President,
Dr. Pamela Zickafoose, RN, Ed.D, Vice-President
Wanda Cohee, LPN, LPN Member
Robert Draine, Public Member
Joyce Edwards, Public Member
Carolyn E. Hill, RN, RN Member
Martha Hopkins, Public Member
Margaret Ingram, LPN, LPN Member
Robert Lawson, Public Member
David Mangler, RN, MS, RN Member
Diana Padula, LPN, LPN Member
Cheryl Richter, CRNA, MSN, RN Member
Dr. James Vanderwall, Public Member
Rebecca D. Walker, RN, RN Member
Irene Washabau, LPN, LPN Member

EXHIBIT A

9.0 Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Mandatory
Continuing Education

9.1 Definitions
9.1.1 The following words and terms, when

used in this regulation, should have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

"Approved Method" means a planned
educational experience, as described in 9.3.

"Approved Provider" means an entity that is
one of the following:

A nationally accredited provider of
nursing related continuing education; or
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An organization or agency that is approved
as a provider or has programs that are approved by a
nationally accredited approver of nursing related continuing
education; or

A Board of Nursing approved school of
nursing; or

A staff development department within a
licensed health care agency; or an accredited educational
institution; or

An entity approved by the Delaware Board
of Nursing, pursuant to 9.4 and 9.5, if not meeting any other
criteria.

"Audit" means 
The verification of completion of

continuing education requirements for a minimum of 1% of
the total number of licenses issued during a specified time
period. (Refer to 9.6) or

The verification of adherence to
continuing education approved provider requirements during
a specified time period. Providers may be audited as the
Board determines. (Refer to 9.7) 

"Biennium" means the two year period of
licensure beginning in an odd numbered year and ending in
the next odd numbered year for the Registered Nurse and the
two year period of licensure beginning in an even-numbered
year and ending in the next even numbered year for the
Licensed Practical Nurse.

"Contact Hour" means one contact hour
equals a minimum of 50 minutes. One half contact hour
equals a minimum of 25 minutes.

"Continuing Education" means those
professional experiences designed to enrich the nurse's
contribution to health care and for the purpose of protecting
the public health, safety, and welfare.

"Orientation" means the means by which
nurses are introduced to the philosophy, goals, policies,
procedures, role expectations, physical facilities and special
services in a specific work setting. Orientation programs do
not meet the continuing education requirements of these
rules.

9.2 Continuing Education Licensure Renewal
Requirements

9.2.1 Board Authority
9.2.1.1 The Board derives its authority under

24 Del.C. §1906(19), to create continuing education
requirements as a prerequisite to obtaining a current license
and to establish an audit system to assure compliance. This
requirement is in addition to the practice requirement as
stated in 6.5.

9.2.1.1.1 During each biennium, each
Registered Nurse must earn 30 contact hours and each

Licensed Practical Nurse must earn 24 hours, to be credited
to that biennium.

9.2.1.1.1.1 Units of measurement
for continuing education shall be: no less than .5 contact
hours and be as follows:

9.2.1.1.1.1.1 50 Minutes = 1
Contact Hour 

9.2.1.1.1.1.2 25 Minutes = .5
Contact Hour

9.2.1.1.1.1.3 1 Academic
Semester Hour (Credit) = 5 Contact Hours

9.2.1.1.1.1.4 1 C.M.E.  = 1.2
Contact Hours

9.2.1.1.1.1.5 Certification/
recertification (excluding preacquired skills and knowledge)
= 20 Contact Hours (Only During the Biennium Awarded)

9.2.2 Requirements
9.2.2.1 Renewal 

9.2.2.1.1 To obtain a Registered Nurse
or Licensed Practical Nurse license for the next biennium
period, the licensee shall submit, along with the renewal
application and fee, a completed report on a form furnished
by the Board office, documenting attesting to the completion
of all continuing education requirements for that biennium.

9.2.2.2 Reinstatement
9.2.2.2.2 To obtain a Registered Nurse

or Licensed Practical Nurse license through reinstatement,
the applicant shall submit, along with the reinstatement
application and fee, a completed report on a form provided
by the Board office, documenting attesting to the completion
of all continuing education requirements for the past two
years.

9.2.2.3 Reinstatement/Endorsement
9.2.2.3.1 A Registered Nurse who has

endorsed into Delaware during a biennium or whose license
was reactivated or reinstated during a biennium must earn 15
contact hours if more than a full calendar year remains in the
biennium to obtain a Registered Nurse license for the next
biennium period.   A Licensed Practical Nurse must earn 12
contact hours if more than a full calendar year remains in the
biennium to obtain a Licensed Practical Nurse license for the
next biennium period.

9.2.3 The required hours shall be completed in
the period for which the license was issued. Contact hours
from a previous licensure period will not count nor may
credits be accumulated for use in a future licensing period.

9.2.4 To be approved for continuing education
credit, offerings shall meet the qualifications of appropriate
subject matter as specified in these Rules and Regulations. 
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9.2.5 The licensee shall retain all original
certificates or transcripts to verify completion of each
continuing education offering and award of contact hours.

9.2.6 Exceptions
9.2.6.1 Those persons licensed by

examination within a biennial renewal period are exempt
from continuing education requirements for that biennium.

9.2.6.2 A licensee who has had a physical or
mental illness during the license period can apply to the
Board of Nursing for a waiver. A waiver would provide for
an extension of time or exemption from some or all of the
continuing education requirements for one renewal period.
Should the illness extend beyond one renewal period, a new
request must be submitted.

9.2.6.3 A request for a waiver will be
reviewed and acted upon within 90 days of receipt.

9.3 Approved Methods to Earn Contact Hours
9.3.1 Academic Studies

9.3.1.1 A course offered by an accredited
school, university or college for which college credit has
been awarded and/or for which class attendance is necessary.
May include successful completion of challenge
examinations.

9.3.2 Authoring an Article, Book Chapter, or
Independent Study

9.3.2.1 The article, book chapter, or
independent study (See 9.3.6) must be related to nursing.
Proof of acceptance from the editor or the published work
will document achievement of this type of continuing
education. A maximum of five contact hours of continuing
education may be earned per biennium by this method.
Letters to the editor or opinion statements will not be
recognized.

9.3.3 Certification/Recertification
9.3.3.1 A process by which a

nongovernmental agency or association certifies that an
individual licensed to practice as an Advanced Practice
Nurse, a Registered Nurse, or a Licensed Practical Nurse has
met certain predetermined standards specified for specialty
practice. National certification or recertification equals 20
contact hours awarded during the biennium. A certification/
recertification document indicating the date of recognition
must be available. When recertification requirements include
more than 20 contact hours, the additional contact hours can
be applied toward the total of 30 contact hours for R.N. or 24
contact hours for L.P.N. licensure.

9.3.4 Conference
9.3.4.1 A meeting that brings together

participants for one or more days to discuss the latest
developments and activities from individuals with special
expertise in the subject matter of the conference.

9.3.5 Extension Studies
9.3.5.1 A course given through an accredited

school, college or university for which academic credit may
or may not be awarded and for which class attendance is not
necessary.

9.3.6 Independent Study
9.3.6.1 An educational activity designed for

completion by learners, independently, at the learner's own
pace and at a time of the learner's choice.

9.3.6.1.1 Examples: Articles in
journals, videocassette programs, computer programs for
which there is a test of knowledge and a certificate awarded
upon completion.

9.3.7 Inservice Education
9.3.7.1 Activities intended to help nurses

acquire, maintain, and/or increase the level of competence in
fulfilling his or her assigned responsibilities, specific to the
expectations of the employer. Planned inservices must be a
minimum of 25 minutes. Mandatory education, such as CPR,
infection control, fire, safety, and facility specific policies
and practices, is not recognized as continuing education.

9.3.8 Presentation
9.3.8.1 Educational presentations, excluding

preparation time, made to other health professionals that are
not required by an individual’s job description. The presenter
must submit program brochures, course syllabi or letter from
the provider identifying the participation of the presenter.
Contact hours shall be equal to the actual presentation time.
A maximum of five contact hours of continuing education
may be earned per biennium by this method.

9.3.9 Research Project
9.3.9.1 The research project must have been

done during the biennium. The licensee must submit an
abstract as evidence of being one of the recognized
researchers. A maximum of five contact hours of continuing
education may be earned per biennium by this method.

9.3.10 Symposium or Seminar
9.3.10.1 A meeting of groups of

participants to explore, in depth, a pre-selected, thoroughly
researched topic. The emphasis is on discussion and a free
exchange of ideas and experiences.

9.3.11 Workshop
9.3.11.1 A meeting that offers

opportunities for persons with common interest or problems
to meet with specialists to consider new knowledge and
practices and to experience working on specific relevant
tasks.

9.3.12 Any method not on this approved list will
require that a written petition justifying the request be
submitted to the Board of Nursing.
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9.3.12.1 The Board may consider the request at
its next regularly scheduled Board meeting if received at
least two weeks before the meeting. If less than two weeks,
the request will be processed at the following meeting.

9.4 Continuing Education - Provider
9.4.1 Board Authority

9.4.1.1 The Board derives its authority under
24 Del.C. Ch. 19, to create requirements for becoming an
approved provider and maintaining that status. The Board
also has the authority to develop an auditing mechanism to
verify compliance with criteria for approved providers.

9.4.2 Criteria for approved providers
9.4.2.1 The approved providers shall produce

evidence of their capability to adhere to criteria indicative of
quality continuing education for nurses. Each provider
approved under 9.1, will be assigned a provider number by
the Board and shall provide an annual statement of
compliance with these criteria.

9.4.3 Subject matter criteria. The provider will
ensure that:

9.4.3.1 The subject matter is specifically
designed to meet the objectives, the stated level and learning
needs of the participants.

9.4.3.2 The content is planned, logically
sequenced and reflects input from experts in the subject
matter.

9.4.3.3 The subject matter reflects the
professional educational needs of the learner in order to meet
the health care needs of the consumer.

9.4.4 Criteria related to the operation of an
approved continuing education providership. The provider
shall:

9.4.4.1 Have a consistent, identifiable
authority who has overall responsibility for the operation of
the providership and execution of its offerings.

9.4.4.2 Have an organizational structure and
training objectives.

9.4.4.3 Develop course descriptions,
objectives, and learning outcomes.

9.4.4.4 Assign contact hours according to a
uniform measure of credit and not award contact hours for
less than 25 minutes.

9.4.4.5 Establish dates and times for
programs.

9.4.4.6 Plan and structure programs with
teaching and learning methodologies that include a statement
of   purpose and measurable educational objectives.

9.4.4.7 Use faculty who have academic
preparation and/or experience in the subject matter.

9.4.4.8 Use evaluation processes or tools that
provide participants an opportunity to evaluate in writing the

learning experience, the instructional methods, facilities, and
resources.

9.4.4.9 Award the contact hours and be
responsible for assurance that all criteria in this chapter are
met, when co-providing.

9.4.4.10 Notify the Board within 30 days
of changes in the administrative authority, the address of the
provider, and its ability to meet the criteria.

9.4.5 Criteria related to record maintenance and
continuing education programs. The provider shall:

9.4.5.1 Maintain records on persons awarded
contact hours for a minimum of six years from their date of
program completion. The records shall include the name of
licensee, contact hours awarded, social security number,
title, and dates of offerings.

9.4.5.2 Provide for secure storage and
retrieval of individual attendance and information regarding
each offering.

9.4.5.3 Furnish each participant with an
individual record of completion that displays the following
on the front of the certificate: participant's name, provider
name and number, contact hours awarded, starting and
ending dates of the offering, subject matter and a reminder to
the participant to retain the certificate for the period of
licensure.

9.5 Board Approval Process for Providers from 9.1.
9.5.1 An application will be sent to a potential

provider upon request. Upon submission of a non-refundable
fee, the required materials and a determination of the
Delaware Board of Nursing that the materials fulfill the
criteria for providers as specified in these Rules and
Regulations, initial approval will be granted for up to three
years.

9.5.2 The following materials and information
must accompany an application:

9.5.2.1 A description of the administrative
authority of the potential provider;

9.5.2.2 The job description of the person who
is administratively responsible for provider activities;

9.5.2.3 The continuing education philosophy
purpose and goals;

9.5.2.4 Organizational   charts defining lines
of authority and communication in relation to continuing
education;

9.5.2.5 Plan for faculty selection;
9.5.2.6 Evidence of nursing participation in

program planning and/or administration;
9.5.2.7 A record system and a procedure to

ensure confidentiality and safe storage;
9.5.2.8 The criteria used to plan and

implement continuing education activities;
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9.5.2.9 The criteria used to verify attendance;
9.5.2.10 A procedure that ensures the

participant who successfully completes an educational
activity will receive a document displaying an attendance
record, number of contact hours awarded, provider name and
number, title of presentation, and the date and location for
each offering;

9.5.2.11 Registration procedure(s);
9.5.2.12 A plan for evaluation, including:

9.5.2.12.1 A procedure for participant
evaluation that includes assessment of the instruction,
resources and facilities, and

9.5.2.12.2 A system for the follow up of
suggestions for improvement;

9.5.2.13 Documents from two typical
sample course offerings including:

9.5.2.13.1 A narrative of the planning
of the offerings including evidence of nursing participation;

9.5.2.13.2 A sample brochure or other
form of advertising;

9.5.2.13.3 Course content, i.e., topical
course outline, objectives;

9.5.2.13.4 Teaching-learning
methodologies and supportive materials;

9.5.2.13.5 Bibliography; and
9.5.2.13.6 A sample participant

evaluation form.
9.5.3 The Executive Director will review the

completed application upon receipt.
9.5.3.1 The review is based on the criteria as

specified in these Rules and Regulations.
9.5.3.2 If the Executive Director finds the

application incomplete, the applicant will be notified and
have two opportunities to submit revised applications.

9.5.3.3 If the application does not meet
established criteria within three reviews, the Executive
Director may recommend that the Board deny it.

9.5.3.4 When the application meets all
requirements as set forth for providers in these Rules and
Regulations, the Executive Director shall recommend
approval to the Board.

9.5.3.5 The Board may approve for up to
three years, or elect not to approve.

9.5.3.6 The provider will be notified of the
Board of Nursing's decision in writing within two weeks.

9.5.3.7 A provider number will be assigned at
the time of approval and issued within three weeks. This
number must be used in all correspondence with the Board.
This number will be published on a list of approved
providers.

9.5.3.8 An application that has been denied
provider status by the Board may be re-submitted one year
after the denial date.

9.5.4 Complaints against providers.
9.5.4.1 Provider approval may be rescinded at

any time during the approved period for noncompliance with
approved provider requirements or for complaints that the
Board determines indicate the program does not meet
criteria.

9.5.4.2 Providers may appeal a decision by
requesting a hearing before the Board.

9.6 Audit of Licensees
9.6.1 The Board will randomly and on an

individual basis select licensees for audit two months prior to
renewal in any biennium. The Board shall notify the
licensees that their records are to be audited for compliance
with the continuing education requirements.

9.6.1.1 Upon receipt of such notice, the
licensee must submit verification of compliance for the
period of licensure being audited. Verification materials
which may be requested include proof of attendance,
academic transcripts, certificates showing number of contact
hours awarded, and documentation of compliance with
exceptions.

9.6.1.2 The licensee must submit
documentation within three weeks of receipt of notice.

9.6.1.3 The Board shall notify the licensee of
the results of the audit immediately following the Board
meeting at which the audits are reviewed.

9.6.1.4 An unsatisfactory audit shall result in
Board action.

9.6.1.5 Failure to notify the Board of a
change in mailing address will not absolve the licensee from
audit requirements.

9.6.1.6 Fulfillment of the audit requirements
must be completed prior to license renewal.

9.7 Audit of Providers
9.7.1 The Board may select approved providers

for audit. Upon selection, the Board shall:
9.7.1.1 Notify the approved providers that

their records are to be audited for compliance with
continuing education requirements;

9.7.1.2 Be provided with records that
document compliance with the Rules and Regulations for
providers; and

9.7.1.3 Conduct a site visit as necessary.
9.8 Disciplinary Proceedings; Appeal

9.8.1 Failure to comply with continuing
education requirements will result in action under Section
1922 of the Nurse Practice Act and the license will be
considered lapsed.
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9.8.2 Application for reinstatement of a lapsed
license must be filed with a completed continuing education
document form and the fee paid before practice can
continue.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Nursing is
available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/nursing/index.shtml
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GOVERNOR’S EXECUTIVE ORDERS
STATE OF DELAWARE

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-TWO

RE: Declaring a State of Emergency Due to 
Hurricane Katrina and its Aftermath 

WHEREAS, Hurricane Katrina has caused
considerable human suffering and extensive damage in the
states of Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to authority granted by Chapter
31, Title 20 of the Delaware Code, Delaware has entered into
reciprocal aid agreements with each of the affected states,
including the Emergency Management Assistance Compact,
codified in Chapter 34, Title 20 of the Delaware Code; and

WHEREAS, a significant number of citizens living in
Alabama, Florida, Louisiana and Mississippi have been
displaced and require short and long-term recovery
assistance; and

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware has offered to
coordinate housing, health and other services to aid persons
displaced by Hurricane Katrina; and 

WHEREAS, at the direction of the Federal Emergency
Management Agency, individuals and families displaced by
Hurricane Katrina may be relocated to Delaware in order to
meet their recovery needs; and 

WHEREAS, in addition to displaced persons who may
be relocated to the State of Delaware through a government-
organized process, a number of individuals and families
displaced by Hurricane Katrina have relocated, or will
relocate, to Delaware and surrounding areas, and such
persons may need critical recovery assistance; and 

WHEREAS, many State and local agencies, as well as
private non-profit organizations in Delaware are working
together to address the needs of these displaced citizens; and 

WHEREAS, in order to coordinate responses with the
federal authorities and to ensure that federal resources will
be available to assist displaced persons to the maximum
extent possible, the Federal Emergency Management
Agency has recommended that states involved with recovery
efforts for displaced persons implement emergency
management practices to arrange response and recovery
efforts in aid of such displaced persons; and 

WHEREAS, as a result of this crisis and pursuant to the
authority vested in the Governor by virtue of Chapter 31,
Title 20 of the Delaware Code, as amended, it is necessary to
promulgate reasonable orders to protect the public health,
safety and welfare,

NOW THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State
of Delaware do hereby declare and proclaim a State of
Emergency for the entire State of Delaware, effective August
29, 2005. By virtue of this State of Emergency, I direct and
authorize that:

1. All resources of the State of Delaware shall be
made available to assist in the reception and care of evacuees
from the affected states.

2. The Delaware Emergency Management
Agency shall work in cooperation with the President of the
United States, the Federal Emergency Management Agency,
State and local agencies, and private non-profit organizations
to coordinate activities to provide for the needs of evacuated
citizens from the affected states. 

APPROVED: September 20, 2005

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-THREE

RE: Establishing a Delaware Healthy Mother and 
Infant Consortium

WHEREAS, the infant mortality rate is generally
accepted as an indicator of the health of a community; and

WHEREAS, the Perinatal Board has worked in
partnership with the Delaware Department of Health and
Social Services, other state agencies and the private sector
over the years to reduce the infant mortality rate; and

WHEREAS, in recent years, the infant mortality rate in
Delaware has risen to among the worst in the nation; and
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WHEREAS, the infant mortality rate among black
citizens of the State has been consistently 2 to 3 times as
high as the rate among white citizens; and

WHEREAS, the Infant Mortality Task Force
recommended the establishment of the Delaware Healthy
Mother and Infant Consortium to succeed the Perinatal
Board and further recommended that the Consortium be
given sufficient resources to effectively carry out its charge;
and

WHEREAS, based on the Infant Mortality Task Force
recommendations, resources have been allocated and are
available to effectuate improvements in infant mortality in
the Fiscal Year 2006 Budget Act, 

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State
of Delaware, do hereby declare and order the following:

1. The Delaware Healthy Mother and Infant
Consortium (“Consortium”) is hereby established and shall
coordinate efforts to prevent infant mortality and improve
the health of women of childbearing age and infants in the
State of Delaware.

2. The Consortium’s initial priorities and agenda
shall be the recommendations contained in the report entitled
Reducing Infant Mortality in Delaware Recommendations of
the Infant Mortality Task Force, released in May 2005, or its
successor.

3. The Consortium will:
a. Provide advice and support to state

agencies, hospitals and health care practitioners regarding
their roles in reducing infant mortality and improving the
health of women of childbearing age and infants.

b. Facilitate collaborative partnerships
among public health agencies, hospitals, health care
practitioners and all other interested agencies and
organizations to carry out recommended infant mortality
improvement strategies.

c. Recommend standards of care to ensure
healthy women of childbearing age and infants.

d. Coordinate efforts to address health
disparities related to the health of women of childbearing age
and infants.

e. Oversee development and implementation
of research activities to better understand causes of infant
mortality.

f. Coordinate efforts to prevent conditions
and behaviors that lead to unhealthy women of childbearing
age and infants.

g. Meet semi-annually with the Secretary of
Health and Social Services to review progress, priorities, and
barriers related to the Consortiumís purpose.

h. Recommend legislation and regulations
that will enhance the health of women of childbearing age
and infants.

i. On an annual basis issue a report to the
Governor on the status of the health of women of
childbearing age and infants and progress in implementing
recommendations of the Infant Mortality Task Force.

4. The Consortiumís permanent membership shall be
as follows:

a. Two (2) representatives of the Delaware House
of Representatives and two (2) representatives of the
Delaware State Senate (one selected by each caucus);

b. One (1) representative of the Governor’s
office;

c. The Secretary of the Department of Health and
Social Services or the Secretary’s designee; and

d. The Secretary of the Department of Children,
Youth and Their Families or the Secretaryís designee; and

e. Fifteen (15) additional members approved by
the Governor who shall represent the medical, social service
and professional communities as well as the general public. 

5. The Consortiumís permanent members may enact
procedures to appoint additional persons to the Consortium.
The Consortium, by rule and regulation, shall establish
categories of membership, specify voting rights for each
category, designate the number needed for a quorum to
transact business, provide for election of officers, and adopt
such procedures as are necessary to carry out the business of
the Consortium.

6. Appointees to the Consortium shall serve at the
pleasure of the individual or entity that appointed them.

7. The Consortium shall have a chair and a vice chair,
to be designated from among permanent members by the
Governor and who shall serve as president and vice-
president at the pleasure of the Governor. Staff support for
the Consortium shall be provided by the Delaware Division
of Public Health.

8. Executive Order Number 27, issued by Governor
Carper on November 1, 1995, is hereby rescinded.

APPROVED: September 20, 2005

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State
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GOVERNOR’S EXECUTIVE ORDERS
STATE OF DELAWARE

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-FOUR

RE: Directing the Delaware Emergency Management
Agency to Organize Volunteers for Response
Efforts Involving Hurricane Rita and Its
Aftermath

WHEREAS, in 1996, Delaware became a party to the
Emergency Management Assistance Compact (“EMAC”),
codified at Title 20 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 34, an
interstate compact that provides for mutual assistance
between requesting states in managing gubernatorial-
declared emergencies or disasters; and

WHEREAS, as a result of Hurricane Rita and its
aftermath, emergency assistance has been requested of the
State of Delaware through the EMAC; and

WHEREAS, in order to facilitate the deployment of
professional volunteers and certain State employees who
will provide services in affected states that request assistance
in accordance with EMAC and other applicable provisions
of Delaware law, and to invoke the emergency powers of the
Governor, an executive order is appropriate,

NOW THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State
of Delaware, including without limitation such powers as are
available under Title 20 of the Delaware Code, do hereby
declare and order as follows:

1. I authorize and direct the Delaware Emergency
Management Agency during this emergency period, to
engage, deploy and coordinate available professional
volunteers and certain State employees to states affected by
Hurricane Rita that request assistance under the EMAC, and/
or other applicable provisions of Delaware law.

2. I further authorize and direct that volunteers
coordinated and deployed by the Delaware Emergency
Management Agency pursuant to this Order shall be deemed
officers of the State of Delaware under the EMAC or other
applicable provisions of Delaware law, and shall enjoy all
privileges and immunities available to officials and
employees of this State while deployed by the Delaware
Emergency Management Agency. Nothing in this Order is
intended to or will prevent the application of any other

immunity or liability exemption otherwise available to such
volunteers as provided for by any applicable law.

APPROVED: September 29, 2005

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-FIVE

RE: Establishing the Governor’s Mentoring
Initiative

WHEREAS, Delaware’s youth can benefit from
positive adult relationships in their lives to enhance their
academic and personal growth; and

WHEREAS, mentoring is a proven and effective means
of supporting the positive development of youth; and

WHEREAS, young people who are mentored perform
better academically, show increased self-esteem and positive
decision making, report better relationships with friends,
parents, teachers, and their communities; and

WHEREAS, in a recent survey of mentoring
relationships, youth with mentors were shown to be: 46
percent less likely to begin using illegal drugs, 27 percent
less likely to begin using alcohol, 52 percent less likely to
skip school, 37 percent less likely to skip a class, more
confident of their performance in schoolwork, one-third less
likely to hit someone, and better able to get along with their
families; and

WHEREAS, a recent survey of Delaware schools
demonstrated that 17,000 youth could benefit from a
mentoring relationship; and

WHEREAS, Delaware’s employees can positively
impact the State of Delaware by mentoring a child each
week; and

WHEREAS, on January 10, 2002, I recognized the
Delaware Mentoring Council (the “Council”) and formally
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established the Council as the group to coordinate statewide
mentoring efforts for Delaware’s youth; and

WHEREAS, the Council has recommended that the
State of Delaware adopt an initiative to encourage State
employees to mentor school aged youth,

NOW THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State
of Delaware, hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The Governor’s Mentoring Initiative is established.
The purpose of this initiative is to encourage State
employees to volunteer as mentors to school-aged youth in
their communities, and to facilitate such service through use
of flexible employee schedules.

2. All State agencies are encouraged to permit their
employees, wherever operationally feasible, to use flexible
schedules to participate in such mentoring programs as are
registered with the Council, including without limitation Big
Brothers/Big Sisters, HOSTS and Creative Mentoring.

3. All agencies shall ensure that flexible schedules do
not increase the State’s obligations to make overtime pay. To
the extent practicable, agencies shall ensure that flexed leave
time can be combined with an employee’s lunch hour, or can
be used at the beginning or end of an employee’s work day,
in order to maximize the employee’s time spent mentoring.
Any volunteer time in excess of the flexed schedule must be
performed during the employee’s personal time.

4. In all cases, the eligibility for an employee to utilize
flexible schedules for mentoring shall be subject to written
approval by the employee’s supervisor or agency head.
Employees whose work requirements or work history, in the
discretion of the agency head, make them unsuitable for
flexible scheduling shall not be eligible to participate.

5. Any cost associated with mentoring, including
transportation, fingerprinting or background checks, shall be
paid by the individual volunteer or by the organization for
which the individual is volunteering.

6. The Delaware Mentoring Council shall be
responsible for overseeing and implementing the Governor’s
Mentoring Initiative. The Human Resources Management
Section of the Office of Management and Budget shall
cooperate with the Council in developing and implementing
procedures to fairly enable as many employees as possible to
participate in the initiative. With the assistance of the Office
of Management and Budget, the Council shall develop forms
for interested employees to participate in the initiative, and
develop outreach efforts to encourage youth mentoring by
State employees. The Council shall also develop a list of
registered mentoring organizations eligible for participation
in the Initiative. Information on the Governor’s Mentoring
Initiative, as developed and approved by the Council, shall
be included on the State’s web-site.

APPROVED: September 30, 2005

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware River Basin Commission ("Commission"
or "DRBC") will hold a public hearing to receive comments
on proposed amendments to the Commission's Basin
Regulations - Water Supply Charges and Comprehensive
Plan concerning certificates of entitlement. No changes in
the substance or administration of the rule are proposed. The
purpose of the proposed amendments is to clarify the
language of the rule to conform to the Commission's past
decisions and current practices in order to provide better
notice to users as to how the Commission is implementing its
entitlements program and to avoid future controversy.

The public hearing on the proposed rule change will be
held on Wednesday, December 7, 2005 at approximately
2:30 P.M. as part of the Commission's regularly scheduled
business meeting. The time is approximate because the
Commission will conduct hearings on several dockets
(project approvals) beforehand, beginning at approximately
1:30 P.M. The hearing will continue until all those who wish
to testify are afforded an opportunity to do so. In the event
that all those who wish to testify cannot be heard on
December 7, the hearing will be continued at a date, time and
location to be announced by the Commission Chair that day.
Persons wishing to testify at the hearing are asked to register
in advance with the Commission Secretary by phoning
609-883-9500, extension 224. Written comments will be
accepted through Tuesday, January 10, 2006.

The public hearing will be held in the Goddard Room at
the Commission's office building, located at 25 State Police
Drive in West Trenton, New Jersey. Directions to the
Commission's office building are posted on the
Commission's website, http://www.drbc.net. Written
comments should be addressed to the Commission Secretary
as follows: by email to paula.schmitt@drbc.state.nj.us; by
fax to the Commission Secretary - 609-883-9522; by U.S.
Mail to the Commission Secretary, DRBC, P.O. Box 7360,
West Trenton, NJ 08628-0360; or by overnight mail to the
Commission Secretary, DRBC, 25 State Police Drive, West
Trenton, NJ 08628-0360.

The full text of the proposed amendment and the text of
the current regulation are posted on the Commission's
website, http://www.drbc.net. Please contact Commission
Secretary Pamela Bush at 609-883-9500 ext. 203 with
questions about the proposed rule or the rulemaking process.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly
meeting on Thursday, November 17, 2005 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and
Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) related to the Estate Recovery
Program. Additionally, this action is technical in nature to
allow for updated state plan pre print pages. This technical
amendment to clarify the plan has no budget impact.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906,
New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by November 30, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is
proposing to amend the policy of the Food Stamp Program in
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates
to changes in Federal rules.
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Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 by November 30, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW
DENN hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING will
be held on TUESDAY NOVEMBER 29, 2005 at 2:00 p.m.
in the Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware. The hearing is to receive public comment in
Docket No. 2005-153, proposed Regulation 1214 relating to
Senior Protection In Annuity Transactions. The purpose
for proposing Regulation 1214 is to set forth standards and
procedures for recommendations to senior consumers that
result in a transaction involving annuity products so that the
insurance needs and financial objectives of senior consumers
at the time of the transaction are appropriately addressed.

The text of the proposed amendments is reproduced 
in the November 2005 edition of the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.  The text can also be viewed at the Delaware 
Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://
www.state.de.us/inscom/departments/documents/
ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 18
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or
may be presented orally at the hearing. Written comments,
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed
change to the regulation must be received by the Department
of Insurance no later than 2:00 p.m., Friday, December 2,
2005, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, or sent by fax to
302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us. If you
are disabled and might need assistance in this matter, please
contact Julia Blevins at 302.739.4251 ext.111 or
Julia.Blevins@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues
The Department is proposing to amend the Accidental

Release Prevention Regulation to include 1999, 2000 and
2004 amendments made by the Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) to the Accidental Release Prevention
Requirements contained in federal rule 40 CFR Part 68.  The
Department believes these amendments are already in effect
for regulated Delaware facilities and that this amendment
will have no impact on them. In addition, several minor
changes and corrections are proposed for the ‘Additional
Delaware Accidental Release Prevention Provisions’
contained in Section 6.0 of the Regulation.  Specifically this
includes minor changes to the Delaware only lists and
simplifying Delaware risk management plan submission
requirements. Again, the Department believes these
corrections and changes will have no impact on Delaware
only regulated facilities. In summary, the purpose of this
proposed amendment is a correction to the Delaware
regulation; bringing it into agreement with the most recent
federal rule changes.

Notice of Public Comment
Interested parties may submit comments in writing to:

Jay Brabson, Emergency Prevention and Response Branch,
715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720, and/or
statements and testimony may be presented either orally or
in writing at the public hearing to be held on Monday,
December 5, 2005 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC
auditorium at the Richardson and Robbins Building, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE. The public comment period for
this proposed amendment will extend through December 15,
2005.

Prepared By
Jay Brabson   (302) 323-4542  October 14, 2005

DIVISION OF SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues
These Proposed Regulations are revisions to existing

regulations that have been in effect since 1983. The proposed
revisions will increase the effectiveness of the Coastal
Construction Program and improve its protection of the
beach and dune system. They will also reduce ambiguity
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within the regulations and limit the amount and type of
construction permitted seaward of the Building Line.
Redrawing of the Building Line, incorporation of changes to
the Beach Preservation Act and the addition of new
construction standards for waterfront buildings will all result
in less damages to structures and improvements to the
natural dune and beach resource.

While this regulatory action is intended to modify
currently existing regulations, it was not possible, or
preferable, to show additions as underlines, or deletions as
strikeouts – as is normally required. This is because the
redraft of the regulations was so extensive and the new
numbering so drastically different than the previous
regulations, that to be comprehensible to the reader, we
opted to abandon the normal strike out and underline
protocol and instead provide the reader with an index of new
provisions with old section numbers and a compilation of
major changes to the overall regulation.

Notice of Public Comment
A Public Hearing has been scheduled for December 14th

at 6:00 p.m., in the DNREC Auditorium

Prepared By:
Maria Sadler   302-739-9921  9/26/05

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

NOTICE OF RESCHEDULED PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists in
accordance with 24 Del.C. §3506(a)(1) has proposed
changes to Regulation 6.0 of the Board’s rules and
regulations regarding Evaluation of Credentials.
Specifically, the proposal amends regulation 6.1 and the
subsections therein to conform to the American
Psychological Association requirements for accreditation.
The full text of the proposed regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations, Vol. 9, Issue 3, on September 1,
2005.

The public hearing originally scheduled for October 3,
2005 at 9:30 a.m. has been rescheduled to November 14,
2005 at 9:30 a.m. The public hearing will be held in the
second floor conference room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where
members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone wishing
to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may
obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of Examiners of
Psychologists, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building,

Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit
written comments may forward these to the Board at the
above address. The final date to receive written comments
will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF MENTAL HEALTH AND CHEMICAL 

DEPENDENCY PROFESSIONALS
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Board of Mental Health and Chemical
Dependency Professionals in accordance with 24 Del.C.
§3006(a)(1) has proposed changes to Regulation 5.0 in order
to make the regulation consistent with the mandate of Senate
229 enacted by the 142nd General Assembly. The proposal
strikes regulation 5.2.4 as currently written with references
to felony convictions and replaces it with language that
requires  an applicant to submit an affidavit stating that the
applicant has not been convicted of and has no pending
criminal charge(s) relating to any crime that is substantially
related to the provision of mental health counseling and
chemical dependency counseling. The proposal also amends
the rule where applicable to include references to chemical
dependency professionals. The proposed regulation also
changes the name of the Board in applicable sections to
conform to the Board’s new title resulting from House Bill
215 as amended by House Amendment No. 1 and Senate
Amendment No.1 enacted by the 143rd General Assembly
adding licensed marriage and family therapists to those
professionals regulated by the Board. The full text of the
proposed regulation was published in the Register of
Regulations, Vol. 9, Issue 2, on August 1, 2005.  

The public hearing originally scheduled for September
27, 2005 at 2:00 p.m. has been rescheduled to November 29,
2005 at 2:30 p.m. in the second floor conference room A of
the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals, 861
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE
19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may
forward these to the Board at the above address. The final
date to receive written comments will be at the public
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulation at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

By PSC Order No. 6298 (Nov. 4, 2003), the Public
Service Commission (“PSC”) adopted its “Electric Service
Reliability and  Quality Standards” regulation to govern the
operations of the two PSC-jurisdictional electric distribution
utilities, Delmarva Power and Light Company and the
Delaware Electric Cooperative, Inc. Those rules imposed
interim annual reporting requirements on the two electric
distribution utilities related to their baseline reliability
expenditures and also adopted interim electric service
reliability and quality benchmarks. These interim
requirements have governed during the period running from
2003 through 2005.

On October 11, 2005, by PSC Order No. 6745 (Oct. 11,
2005), the PSC proposed to supercede the prior interim
regulation with its new “Electric Service Reliability and
Quality Standards” (“ESR and QS”). As with the interim
rule, the new proposed ESR and QS regulation imposes
operational and reporting requirements related to reliability
on electric distribution utilities. In addition the new
regulation also includes a reporting requirement for electric
generation companies located in Delaware. The new
regulation changes some of the reliability standards
originally utilized in the interim regulation in light of actual
past experience under the Outage Management Systems used
during the tenure of the interim regulation. The new ESR
and QS regulation also includes provisions related to: (a)
expected responses for restoration of services after storms;
(b) public input into the preparation of planning studies; and
(c) the adoption of specific inspection and maintenance
requirements by distribution utilities. In addition, the new
ESR and QS would now impose certain reporting
requirements on entities operating electric generation
facilities located in Delaware.  The PSC has the authority to
adopt the new ERS and QS rule under 26 Del.C. §§209(a),
1002(a)(1), and 1008.

You may review the proposed new ERS and QS
regulation and Order No. 6745 in the November 2005
edition of the Delaware Register of Regulation. You may
also review the Order and regulation at the PSC’s Internet
website located at www.state.de.us/delpsc. Written copies of
the proposed regulation are also available at the PSC’s Dover
office, at the address set forth below, at the cost of $0.25 per
page.

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 and 10115, the PSC now
solicits written suggestions, compilations of data, briefs,
comments, or other written documents concerning the
proposed new ERS and QS regulation. If you wish to submit
such written materials, you must file an original and ten
copies of such materials at the PSC office at the following
address:

Delaware Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, Delaware 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 50

If you able, you should also file an electronic copy of
such materials as an attachment to an Internet e-mail
message addressed to robert.howatt@state.de.us. You must
accompany your written materials with a document setting
forth your name, your organization (if any), address,
telephone and facsimile numbers, and Internet e-mail
address. You must file such materials with the PSC on or
before Monday, December 5, 2005.

In addition, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a) and 26 Del.C.
§10117, the PSC will conduct an initial public hearing on the
proposed new ESR and QS regulation on Wednesday,
December 21, 2005. The hearing will be held at the
following location beginning at 10:00 a.m.:

Third Floor Conference Room
Carvel State Office Building
820 North French Street
Wilmington, Delaware

At the hearing, persons or entities can also present their
views concerning the proposed new ERS and QS regulation.
If you do not file written materials or do not intend to appear
at the public hearing but still wish to be included on the
participant list in this matter in order to be notified of further
proceedings, you must file a letter with the PSC requesting
to be included on the participant list. That letter must be filed
by Monday, December 5, 2005.

If you have questions or desire further information
about this matter, you can contact the PSC at 1-800-282-
8574 (Delaware only) or at (302) 739-4247 (text telephone
also). You can also address your inquiries by Internet e-mail
to robert.howatt@state.de.us. If you are disabled and need
assistance to review materials or participate, please contact
the PSC in order to make arrangements for such assistance.
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