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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

6 DE Reg. 1541-1542 (06/01/03)

Refers to Volume 6, pages 1541-1542 of the 
Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2003.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage. For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an 
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or 
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text 
of such proposals, together with copies of the 
existing regulation being adopted, amended or 
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the 
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the 
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the 
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the 
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of 
the agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be 
held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place 
and a summary of the nature of the proposal shall 
also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation. The notice shall 
also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
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materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received;  (4)  The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6) 
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS
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DATE           DATE        TIME

DECEMBER 1 NOVEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.
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Specialist II; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Rhonda McGuigan, Administrative 
Specialist I; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative 
Librarian; Lisa Schieffert, Research Analyst; 
Judi Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Alice 
W. Stark, Legislative Attorney; Ted Segletes, 
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Proposed Amendment to the Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive

Plan to Classify the Lower Delaware River as Special Protection Waters..................... .......8  DE Reg.   513  (Prop.)
Proposed Amendment to the Water Quality Regulations, WAter Code and Comprehensive

Plan to Establish Pollutant Minimization Plan Requirements for Point and Non-Point
Source Discharges of Toxic Pollutants Following Issuance of a TMDL by either the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency or a Member State, or an Assimilative Capacity
Determination by the Delaware River Basin Commission............................................. .......8  DE Reg.   515  (Prop.)

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
State Fire Prevention Regulations.......................................................................................... .......... 8  DE Reg.       6 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   416 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

1900 Board of Nursing........................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  377 (Prop.)
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, Rule 7.0, Crimes Substantially 

Related to the Practice of Occupational Therapy.................................................... 8  DE Reg.  518  (Prop.)
2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     16 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.   536 (Final)
2500 Board of Pharmacy, Rule 16.0, Crimes Substantially Related to the Practice of

Pharmacy................................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   517 (Prop.)
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners.................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   218 (Prop.)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork.................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   390 (Prop.)
Gaming Control Board, Bingo, Charitable Gambling and Raffles......................................... 8  DE Reg.   531 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Rule 8.3.3.5, Erythropietin............................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   329 (Final)
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations..................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   336 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101 Delaware Student Testing Program................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.     17 (Prop.)

  8  DE Reg.   425 (Final)
106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II).......... 8  DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

  8  DE Reg.   431 (Final)
107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance  Appraisal System (DPAS II)...... 8  DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   431 (Final)
108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)........ 8  DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   431 (Final)
260 General Appeal Procedure for the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the

United States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA  .................................................... 8  DE Reg.   221 (Prop.)
8  DE Reg.   537 (Final)

501 State Content Standards.......................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     36 (Prop.)
8  DE Reg.   445 (Final)

618 (Formerly Reg. 879) School Safety Audit.............................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   344 (Final)
620 (Formerly Reg. 880) School Crisis Response Plans............................................................... 8  DE Reg.   344 (Final)
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705 Training Camp and Special Duty in the
National Guard and/or Reserves............................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   396 (Prop.)

706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Service
in the Armed Forces................................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   397 (Prop.)

718 Health Examinations for School District Employees..................................................... 8  DE Reg.     37 (Prop.)
  8  DE Reg.   399 (Prop.)

742  Compensation of District Personnel Under Specific Project Proposals........................ .......    8  DE Reg.  520  (Prop.)
805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program................................................ 8  DE Reg.     38 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   400 (Prop.)
852 Child Nutrition........................................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   224 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.   540  (Final)
885 Safe Management and Disposal of Surplus Chemicals in the Delaware Public School

System ................................................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   345 (Final)
925 Children with Disabilities....................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   225 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.   402 (Prop.)
1105 School Transportation................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   237 (Final)

8  DE Reg.   541 (Final)
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
323 Certification Computer Science Teacher................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   247 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.   552  (Final)
331 (Transferred to 1566) Certification Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher........................ 8  DE Reg.   248 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.   553  (Final)
368 Certification School Psychologist................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     41 (Prop.)
1501 Knowledge, Skills And Responsibility Based Supplements For Educators................. 8  DE Reg.     73 (Final)
1502 Educator Mentoring.............................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   347 (Final)
1505 Professional Growth Programs..................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     78 (Final)
1509  Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation............................................................... 8  DE Reg.   446 (Final)
1528 Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive.................................................................. 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1529 Foreign Language Teacher Secondary.......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1533 Foreign Language Teacher Elementary........................................................................ 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1537 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary........................................................................ 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1554 Standard Certificate Reading Specialist................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   405 (Prop.)
1558 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary Middle Level..................................................... 8  DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1566 (Formerly Reg. 331) Standard Certificate Family & Consumer Sciences Teacher.............. 8  DE Reg.    553 (Final)
1577 (Formerly Reg. 368) Standard Certificate-School Psychologist  ......................................... 8  DE Reg.   448 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Assisted Living Facilities, Regulations for..................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     46 (Prop.)
      8  DE Reg.     85 (Final)

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Regulations Pertaining to the Testing of Newborn Infants for Metabolic, Hematologic

and Endocrinologic Disorders................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   100 (Final)
203 Cancer Treatment Program...................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   107 (Final)

8  DE Reg.  509 (Emer.)
463 Licensing and Registration of Operators of Public Water Supply Systems............. 8  DE Reg.     47 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   453 (Final)
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM)
5311 Notification of Time and Place of Hearing............................................................. 8  DE Reg.   351 (Final)

  8  DE Reg.  376 (Errata)
9026.1, Food Stamp Program.......................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  521  (Prop.)
9068.1 Certification Period Length......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   113 (Final)
20700.5-20700.5.8, Acquired Brain Injury Waiver Program.......................................... 8  DE Reg.   250 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.   555 (Final)
Child Care Subsidy Program: 11002.9 Definitions and Explanation Of Terms; 
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11004.4.1 Explanation of Certificates;  11006.4.2 Fee Paying Clients.................... 8  DE Reg.  407 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
301 Audited Financial Reports...................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   252 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.   557 (Final)
504 (Formerly Reg. No. 47) Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines 

Brokers and Consultants......................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   409 (Prop.)
606, (Formerly Reg. No. 31) Proof of Automobile Insurance............................................... 8  DE Reg.     55 (Prop.)
607, (Formerly Reg. No. 37) Defensive Driving Course Discount Automobiles

and Motorcycles...................................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     59 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.   460 (Final)

1404 Long-Term Care Insurance................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   257 (Prop.)
8  DE Reg.   562  (Final)

1501 Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards................................................. 8  DE Reg.     62 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.   465 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP & TRAINING

Section 106.5, Standards of Apprenticeship................................................................... 8  DE Reg.     65 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.   468 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Green Energy Fund Program Regulation............................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   114 (Final)
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT-AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Hazardous Waste, Regulations Governing............................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   352 (Final)
Reporting of a Discharge of a Pollutant or Air Contaminant......................................... 8  DE Reg.   126 (Final)
Solid Waste, Regulations Governing...................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   354  (Final)

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE
4.0 Seasons & 7.0 Deer........................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   355  (Final)
3308 (Formerly NT-7) Fish Stocking Practices...................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  374 (Emer.)

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
Design, Installation and Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment and Disposal
Systems, Regulations Governing............................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   283 (Prop.)
Surface Water Quality Standards.................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   154 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies................................ 8  DE Reg.   325 (Final)
Division of Highway Safety

Electronic Red Light Safety Program............................................................................. .......    8  DE Reg.  524  (Prop.)
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL AFFAIRS

Historic Preservation Tax Credit, Regulations Governing ............................................ 8  DE Reg.   194 (Final)
Human Relations Commission

1502 Fair Housing Regulation................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   591 (Final)
OFFICE OF THE STATE BANKING COMMISSIONER

708 (Formerly Reg. No. 5.770.0009) Establishment of a Branch Office by a Bank or 
Trust Company........................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.     68 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.   472 (Final)
714 Establishment of a Mobile Branch Office by a Bank or Trust Company................ 8  DE Reg.     68 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.   473 (Final)
1113 Election by a Subsidiary Corporation of a Banking Organization of Trust Company

to be Taxed in Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30.......................................... 8  DE Reg.     68 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.  474 (Final)
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ERRATA616
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

* PLEASE NOTE:  THIS FINAL REGULATION WAS 
ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED IN THE OCTOBER 2004 ISSUE OF 
THE REGISTER.  HOWEVER, DUE TO AN ERROR ON THE 
PART OF THE REGISTRAR’S OFFICE CERTAIN TEXT WAS 
INADVERTENTLY OMITTED.  THE CORRECT VERSION IS 
PUBLISHED BELOW.

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Socal Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding 
the Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver Program 
(ABIMWP). The Department’s proceedings to amend its 
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code 
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the August 2004 Delaware Register of Regulations, 
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public 
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by 
August 31, 2004 at which time the Department would 
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to 
the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

The Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver Program 
(ABIMWP) is a community-based services program funded 
by the Division of Social Services (DSS), Delaware Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP) and operated by the Division 
of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
(DSAAPD). It is targeted to individuals with acquired brain 
injury who meet Medicaid nursing facility admission 
criteria.

The proposed set forth the rules and regulations 
governing the administration of the ABIWP, and describe the 
types of services available under the program. The 
regulations being proposed would also define the eligibility 
criteria that must be met by applicants for the services and 
the scope of services available to eligible applicants.

The earliest [effective implementation] date for the 
ABIMWP is October 10, 2004.

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response 

And Explanation Of Change(s)

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) 
reviewed the proposed Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid 
Waiver Program (ABIMWP) regulation and offered the 
following summarized observations and recommendations:

First, DSS recites that the earliest effective date for the 
waiver is October 10, 2004. This is inconsistent with 
DSAAPD representations that the waiver was effective in 
the Spring of 2004. If DSAAPD enrolls anyone in the waiver 
prior to October 10, 2004, the proposed regulation might 
provide a basis for CMS denial of federal matching funds.

Agency Response:  October 10, 2004 is the proposed date of 
implementation.

Second, in Section 20700.5.1 3.b., SCPD recommended 
insertion of “at least” before “one”.  Otherwise, a participant 
would literally not qualify for the waiver program if the 
participant needed more than one waiver service apart from 
case management.

Agency Response: Inserted “at least” before “one”, as 
recommended.

Third, in Section 20700.5.3, the word “were” should be 
substituted for “was” in the first sentence for proper 
grammar (subjunctive mood).

Agency Response: Corrected the typographical error.

Fourth, in Section 20700.5.3, SCPD recommended 
insertion of the following second sentence: “This 
determination is made on an aggregate basis which considers 
all ABIMWP recipients.”  In response to a Council inquiry, 
DSAAPD clarified in a November 12, 2003 letter that the 
waiver is based on an aggregate, not individual, cost cap. 
The proposed regulation literally requires an individual cost 
assessment.

Agency Response: Inserted the second sentence, as 
recommended.

Fifth, Section 20700.5.7 (2nd paragraph), disallows an 
assisted living facility from providing services to an 
individual bedridden for seven consecutive days without a 
physician certification of safety. There is some tension 
between this provision and waiver provisions specifically 
authorizing respite care is an assisted living facility for 
individuals unable to care for themselves. Moreover, it 
would be logical, given the heading of “hospitalization or 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 5, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2004



ERRATA 617
illness”, to include a reference to respite are since a recipient 
unable to care for himself/herself could transfer to a nursing 
facility for up to twenty-nine days annually as part of the 
waiver program.

Agency Response: Revised the second paragraph to include 
a reference to the Assisted Living Facilities Regulations 
outlined in section 63.409.

Finally, the regulation states that, without physician 
certification after seven days, waiver services terminate. 
This would literally eliminate even case management and 
personal response system services and is therefore 
overbroad.

Agency Response: This was not the intent of DSS; therefore, 
the sentence is deleted.

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the August 2004 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
regarding the Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver 
Program (ABIMWP) is adopted and shall be final effective 
October 10, 2004.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS
9/15/04

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #04-20

NEW:

20700.5 Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver 
Program

The Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver Program 
(ABIMWP) is a home and community-based services 
program funded by the Division of Social Services (DSS), 
Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) and 
operated by the Division of Services for Aging and Adults 
with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD). It is targeted to 
individuals with acquired brain injury who meet Medicaid 
nursing facility admission criteria.

The earliest [effective implementation] date for the 
ABIMWP is October 10, 2004.

20700.5.1 Eligibility Criteria
To be eligible for the ABIMWP, an 

individual must:
1. be a Delaware resident
2. be between 18 and 64 years of age 

(persons who enter the waiver before age 65 may remain in 

the waiver after age 65)
3. meet the financial and medical criteria 

for the DSS Long Term Care Medicaid Program and meet 
nursing facility admission criteria.

Medical eligibility is determined by the 
Pre-Admission Screening Unit of DSAAPD.

Financial eligibility is determined by DSS.
Program eligibility is determined by 

DSAAPD. An individual must meet all of the following 
criteria:

a have an injury to the brain which is 
not hereditary or congenital (Acquired Brain Injury) 

b have a need of [at least] one waiver 
service, in addition to case management, on a monthly basis

c have a physical, cognitive and/or 
behavioral symptom of an acquired brain injury and 
currently reside in a nursing facility or is at risk for 
placement in a nursing facility

d have completed or would no longer 
benefit from intensive, inpatient, post-trauma or 
rehabilitation programs

e accept and maintain case management 
services

20700.5.2 Number of Recipients
There is a maximum number of recipients 

who may be served under the ABIMWP each fiscal year. 
The total unduplicated number of recipients served under the 
program cannot exceed the maximum number approved by 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). 
DSAAPD will monitor the number of individuals receiving 
ABIMWP services so the maximum number will not be 
exceeded.

20700.5.3 Cost Effective Requirement
In order for an applicant to be eligible for 

the ABIMWP, the applicant’s cost of care cannot exceed the 
cost of their care if the same applicant [was were] 
institutionalized. [This determination is made on an 
aggregate basis which considers all ABIMWP recipients.] 
An average monthly cost for institutionalized individuals is 
used to determine the amount that may be spent on 
ABIMWP recipients. A DSAAPD worker determines cost 
effectiveness.

20700.5.4 Approval
Upon approval, DSS will send a notice of 

approval to the applicant or the applicant’s  representative 
and the ABIMWP provider. The notice to the provider will 
include the effective date of Medicaid coverage, the patient 
pay amount, and the Medicaid identification number. 

20700.5.5 Post Eligibility Budgeting
See DSSM 20720 and 20995.1 for patient 

pay calculation.
For recipients residing in Assisted Living 

facilities, the personal needs allowance is equal to the 
current Adult Foster Care rate.   Collection of the patient pay 
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amount from the recipient or the recipient’s representative is 
the responsibility of the assisted living provider.

For recipients residing in community-
based settings, the personal needs allowance is equal to 
250% of the Federal SSI Benefit Rate.  Collection of the 
patient pay amount from the recipient or the recipient’s 
representative is the responsibility of the provider who is 
providing the most costly service.

20700.5.6 Days Appropriate for Billing
The waiver provider may not bill for any 

day that the recipient is absent from the program or facility 
for the entire day. The waiver provider may bill for services 
for any day that the recipient is present in the facility or 
program for any part of the day.

If the recipient resides in an assisted living 
facility, the waiver provider may not bill Medicaid for room 
and board.

20700.5.7 Hospitalization or Illness
Waiver services will terminate upon 

hospitalization. There are no Medicaid  bed hold days for 
hospitalization. DSS will redetermine eligibility for 
continued Medicaid coverage.  Waiver services may restart 
after hospital discharge as determined by DSAAPD staff.

[If the recipient is a resident of an 
assisted living facility, the waiver provider shall not 
provide services to a recipient that has been bedridden 
for seven (7) consecutive days unless a physician certifies 
that the individual’s needs may be safely met by the 
service agreement. If a physician certification is not 
obtained, waiver services will terminate and DSS will 
redetermine eligibility for continued Medicaid coverage.

If the recipient is a resident of an 
assisted living facility, the waiver provider shall not 
provide services to a recipient in accordance with the 
Delaware Regulations for Assisted Living Facilities 
outlined in section 63.409.]

20700.5.8 ABIMWP Services
Acquired brain injury waiver services will 

include the following:
Case Management
Personal Care
Respite Care
Adult Day Expanded Services
Specialized Medical Equipment and 

Supplies
Personal Emergency Response Systems 

(PERS)
Assisted Living Program
Behavioral and/or Cognitive Services
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new text. 
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file 
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with 
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The notice shall describe the nature 
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference 
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the 
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final 
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the 
proposal in the Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation. The 
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its 
regulation-making proceedings.
DELAWARE HOME RELOCATION 
AUTHORITY TRUST FUND

Statutory Authority:  25 Delaware Code,
Section 7012 (25 Del.C. §7012)

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation 
Authority (the “Authority”) will hold a public hearing to 
discuss proposed regulations relating to the administration of 
the Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund 
(“Trust Fund”) established pursuant to 25 Del.C. §7012. The 
Authority was established by the Delaware Legislature 
pursuant to 25 Del.C. §7011. The primary purpose of the 
Authority is to: (a) provide financial assistance to 
manufactured homeowners who are tenants in a 
manufactured home community where the community 
owner changes the use of land or converts the manufactured 
home community to a condominium or cooperative 
community; and (b) to provide financial assistance to 
manufactured home community owners for the removal and/
or disposal of non-relocatable or abandoned manufactured 
homes when there is a change in use or conversion. The 
Authority has set an initial $3.00 monthly assessment for 
deposit into the Trust Fund, effective April 1, 2004. Under 
the statute, one-half of the monthly assessment is the 
obligation of the Tenant of a rented lot and one-half of the 
assessment is the obligation of the Landlord. The monthly 
assessments collected by the Authority are deposited into the 
Trust Fund, and the Authority is responsible for 
administering this fund. To carry out its statutory 
responsibilities, the Authority has been directed to, among 

other things, establish procedures under which applicants for 
payment from the Authority may be approved and to set 
maximum benefits that may be payable to applicants under 
certain circumstances.

Pursuant to its statutory authority, the Authority is 
proposing for adoption a comprehensive set of regulations to 
be used for the administration of the Trust Fund. The 
proposed regulations published herein will, among other 
things:  (a) establish criteria for tenant benefits, including the 
maximum relocation payment available to a tenant for a 
single section home and a multi-section home and the 
maximum benefits available to a Tenant whose home has 
been determined to be non-relocatable; (b) criteria for 
Landlord benefits, including the maximum relocation 
benefits for manufactured homes that have been abandoned 
or determined to be non-relocatable; (c) application 
procedures to be followed by applicants for benefits; and (d) 
application review procedures.

The public hearing will be on Tuesday, November 30, 
2004 beginning at 3:30 p.m. and ending at 6:30 p.m. in the 
Richardson Conference Room located at the offices of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for 
review by contacting:

William A. Denman, Esquire
Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
116 W. Water Street
Dover, DE  19904
(302) 678-3262
Email: wdenman@pgslegal.com
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Anyone wishing to present oral comments at this 
hearing should contact Mr. William A. Denman at (302) 
678-3262 by November 22, 2004. Anyone wishing to submit 
written comments as a supplement to, or in lieu of oral 
testimony, should submit such comments by December 1, 
2004 to:

William A. Denman, Esquire
Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
116 W. Water Street
Dover, DE  19904
(302) 678-3262
Email: wdenman@pgslegal.com

201 Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Trust 
Fund Regulations

The Authority is granted authority to establish rules and 
regulations and establish criteria for the disbursement of 
benefits available to landlords and tenants under the 
provisions of 25 Del.C. §7011, et. seq. (the "Act"). The 
regulations set forth below establish criteria for benefits 
eligibility, pursuant to the statute, application procedures, 
application review procedures, and payment procedures.

1.0 Criteria for Tenant Benefits
1.1 Only “Tenants”, as defined under the Act, are 

entitled to benefits under the Act. A Tenant is defined to 
mean an owner of a manufactured home who has tenancy of 
a lot in a manufactured home community. A manufactured 
home community refers to a parcel of land where two or 
more lots are rented or offered for rent for the placement of 
manufactured homes. Notwithstanding anything stated 
herein to the contrary, a Tenant shall not be entitled to any of 
the benefits described herein unless all of the statutory 
requirements set forth in the Act have been met.

1.2 A Tenant is entitled to relocation benefits under the 
Act if the Tenant is required to move due to a change in use 
or conversion of the land in a manufactured home 
community. A Tenant is not entitled for compensation for 
relocation if:

1.2.1 the Landlord (at the Landlord’s expense) 
moves the Tenant’s manufactured home by mutual consent 
to another lot in the manufactured home community or to 
another manufactured home community; or

1.2.2 the Tenant is vacating the manufactured 
home community and so informed the Landlord before 
notice of the change in use was given by the Landlord; or (c) 
the Tenant abandons the manufactured home; or

1.2.3 the Tenant has failed to pay the Tenant’s 
share of the Relocation Trust Fund assessment during the 
course of his or her tenancy.

1.3 The maximum relocation payment available to a 
Tenant is $4,000.00 for a single section home or $8,000.00 

for a multi-section home.
1.4 If a Tenant is required to move due to a change in 

use and complies with the statutory requirements of 25
Del.C. §7013, the Tenant is entitled to payment from the 
Relocation Trust Fund of the lesser of:

1.4.1 the actual relocation expenses of moving 
the manufactured home and existing appurtenances to a new 
location within a 25 mile radius of the vacated manufactured 
home community, or

1.4.2 the maximum benefits available under 
Section 1.3.

1.5 Moving expenses which are eligible for 
reimbursement include the cost of taking down, moving and 
setting up the manufactured home in the new location.

1.6 In certain circumstances, a manufactured home may 
be considered non-relocatable. If, based upon the criteria 
described herein, a Tenant’s manufactured home is 
determined by the Authority to be non-relocatable, the 
Tenant may qualify for compensation to reimburse the 
Tenant for the value of the non-relocatable home subject to 
the limitations set forth in the Act.

1.7. Whether or not a home can or cannot be relocated 
will be determined by the Authority based upon the 
following criteria:

1.7.1 the availability of a replacement home site 
within a 25 mile radius of the vacated manufactured home 
community;

1.7.2 the feasibility of physical relocation, 
including the ability of taking down, moving and setting up 
the home in a new location without causing significant 
structural damage to the manufactured home in the process;

1.7.3 the appraised value of the manufactured 
home in comparison to the projected cost of relocating the 
manufactured home to a new location.

1.8 If the Authority determines that the Tenant’s 
manufactured home cannot be relocated, the Tenant shall 
obtain, at the Tenant’s expense, an appraisal prepared by a 
certified manufactured home appraiser for purposes of 
determining the fair market value of the home and any 
existing appurtenances. The appraisal shall exclude the value 
of the underlying land. The maximum benefits available to 
the Tenant under such circumstances shall be determined by 
the Board for a single section home and a multi-section 
home following the completion of an actuarial study to be 
performed under the direction of the Authority. Subject to 
the maximum limits, the amount of compensation that will 
be paid to the Tenant will be equal to the fair market value of 
the home based upon the appraisal.

1.9 To be eligible for compensation for a non-
relocatable home, in addition to the application provided for 
in Section 3 hereof, the Tenant must deliver to the Authority 
a current State of Delaware title to the home, duly endorsed 
by the owner or owners of record, with valid releases of all 
liens shown on the title, and a tax release.
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1.10 In lieu of the foregoing benefits, a Tenant may 
elect to abandon the manufactured home in the manufactured 
home community and collect from the Trust Fund, in lieu of 
any other benefits available under the Act, the sum of $1,500 
for a single section home or $2,500 for a multi-section home. 
To qualify for this payment, the Tenant must deliver to the 
Authority a current State of Delaware title to the 
manufactured home duly endorsed by the owner or owners 
of record, valid releases of all liens shown on the title, and a 
tax release.

2.0 Criteria for Landlord Benefits
2.1 If pursuant to the Act and these regulations, a 

manufactured home is determined to be non-relocatable or a 
Tenant abandons the home, upon application by the Landlord 
duly submitted to the Authority, a Landlord of a 
manufactured home community is entitled to receive from 
the Relocation Trust Fund payment in an amount determined 
by the Authority to be sufficient to remove and/or dispose of 
the manufactured home. The maximum relocation payment 
available to a Landlord is $4,000.00 for a single section 
home or $8,000.00 for a multi-section home. To qualify for 
this benefit, the Landlord must submit an application 
pursuant to the provisions of Section 3. Notwithstanding 
anything stated herein to the contrary, a Landlord shall not 
be entitled to any of the benefits described herein unless all 
of the statutory requirements set forth in the Act have been 
met.  

2.2 Upon receipt of the title documents from the Tenant 
for the manufactured home that is considered to be non-
relocatable or abandoned pursuant to the Act, the Authority 
will relinquish the title to the Landlord to facilitate the 
removal and/or disposal of the home from the manufactured 
home community. Within ten (10) calendar days after the 
removal and/or disposal of the manufactured home by the 
Landlord, the Landlord shall notify the Authority in writing 
of the amount of funds received by the Landlord, if any, from 
any subsequent sale or disposal of the manufactured home, 
and a copy of all documents relating to the removal and/or 
disposal shall be provided to the Authority, including 
documents relating to any expenses incurred by the Landlord 
in removing and/or disposing of the home.

2.3 Within thirty (30) days after receipt of the 
information and documents required under the Act and these 
regulations, the Authority shall cause a voucher to be issued 
to the Division of Revenue of the Department of Finance, 
directing the Division to issue a check in a designated 
amount to the Landlord which amount shall represent the 
amount determined by the Authority to be sufficient to cover 
the cost of the removal and/or disposal of the manufactured 
home, less any profit realized by the Landlord from the 
removal and/or disposal of the home, subject to the 
maximum relocation payment set forth in Section 2.1 hereof. 
 2.4 A Landlord shall not be entitled to any payment 

from the Trust Fund if the Landlord has failed to pay the 
Landlord’s share of the total Trust Fund assessment during 
the course of the tenancies relating to the manufactured 
home community or if the Landlord has failed to remit the 
Tenant’s share of said assessment.

3.0 Application Procedures
3.1 The Authority will provide application forms 

(Appendix A and Appendix B) on which applicants for 
benefits under the Act may apply for benefits.

3.2 In the case of an application for benefits under the 
Act by a Tenant, the application shall be in the form of 
Appendix A and shall contain the following information:

3.2.1 name of the Tenant;
3.2.2 mailing address of the Tenant;
3.2.3 telephone number of the Tenant;
3.2.4 manufactured home community park 

name and address;
3.2.5 space number for the manufactured home;
3.2.6 a description of the manufactured home, 

including its size, year, manufacturer, and whether the 
manufactured home is a single-wide or a double-wide;

3.2.7 a copy of the title or ownership documents 
relating to the manufactured home;

3.2.8 a copy of the notice of termination or non-
renewal of the Tenant’s rental agreement due to a change in 
use of land;

3.2.9 in the case of an application for relocation 
assistance, a copy of the contract between the Tenant and a 
licensed moving or towing contractor for the moving 
expenses for the home;

3.2.10 in the case of any requests for 
compensation for a manufactured home considered by the 
Tenant to be non-relocatable, a description of the facts which 
the Tenant relies upon in support of the Tenant’s contention 
that the manufactured home is in fact non-relocatable based 
upon the criteria provided for in the Act and these 
regulations, together with any and all documents relating to 
the purchase of the manufactured home and any 
improvements made to the manufactured home by the 
Tenant;

3.2.11 a certification by the Tenant that the 
Tenant has paid the Tenant’s share of the Trust Fund 
assessments during the course of the Tenant’s tenancy.

3.3 In the case of an application for benefits under the 
Act by a Landlord, the application shall be in the form of 
Appendix B and shall contain the following information:

3.3.1 the name of the Landlord;
3.3.2 the name of the manufactured home 

community;
3.3.3 the mailing address of the Landlord;
3.3.4 the telephone number of the Landlord and 

if the Landlord is not an individual, the name of the 
designated representative of the Landlord;
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3.3.5 a description of each manufactured home 
for which the Landlord is seeking financial assistance;

3.3.6 a copy of the notice of termination or non-
renewal of the rental agreement due to a change in use of 
land;

3.3.7 a contract with a licensed moving or 
towing contractor for the removal and/or disposal of the 
manufactured home;

3.3.8 an itemization of all expenses, other than 
the expenses reflected in the contract between the Landlord 
and the moving or towing contractor, together with 
associated documents, which the Landlord anticipates will 
be incurred in removing and/or disposing of the 
manufactured home from the manufactured home 
community;

3.3.9 a certification by the Landlord that the 
Landlord has paid the Landlord’s share of the total Trust 
Fund assessment during the course of the tenancies for the 
manufactured home community and has remitted to the 
Authority the Tenant’s share collected by the Landlord.

4.0 Assistance and Data Gathering
4.1 When requested, the Authority shall provide 

assistance to Landlords and Tenants in completing 
application forms.

4.2. The Authority’s staff may conduct on-site 
inspections and/or phone interviews with the applicants to 
acquire data necessary to enable the Authority to carry out its 
duties under the Act.

5.0 Application Review Procedures
5.1 The Authority has the power to approve 

applications pursuant to the Act.
5.2 The Authority or the Authority’s staff will review 

applications and determine whether or not the procedural 
requirements under the Act and these regulations have been 
met. The Authority shall not be required to render a decision 
on any application unless and until the Applicant has 
submitted a completed application prepared in accordance 
with the Act and these regulations, and the Authority shall 
have the right to reject any application that does not comply 
with the procedural requirements of the Act or these 
regulations.
  5.3 The Board of Directors of the Authority, or a 
committee of the Board designated to make such decisions 
(if authorized by the Board of Directors) shall endeavor to 
render a decision with respect to each application no later 
than thirty (30) days after receipt by the Authority of a 
completed application prepared in accordance with the Act 
and these regulations.

5.4 If the Authority approves an application, benefits 
available under the Act shall be made in the form of a 
voucher issued to the Division of Revenue of the Department 
of Finance, directing the Division to issue a check in a 

designated amount to the Applicant. Before any payment 
will be made by the Authority to the Applicant, the 
Applicant must provide the Authority with documentary 
evidence showing that the expenses for which the Applicant 
seeks reimbursement have been paid by the Applicant. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, if an Applicant can 
demonstrate that due to financial hardship the Applicant 
cannot make such payments in advance of the payment of 
any benefit available under the Act, the Authority may issue 
a two-party check made payable to the Applicant and the 
contractor. Under such circumstances, the original check will 
be mailed to the Applicant and a copy will be mailed to the 
contractor.  

5.5 If at the time the application is approved, the Trust 
Fund does not have sufficient monies to make a payment to 
an Applicant, the Authority shall issue a written promissory 
note to the Applicant for funds due and owing. Promissory 
Notes shall be redeemed in order of issuance of the notes as 
additional monies come into the Trust Fund.

5.6 If based upon the information submitted in a 
Tenant's completed application, the Authority determines 
that the Tenant's manufactured home cannot be relocated 
based upon the criteria set forth herein, the Tenant shall be 
directed to obtain, at the Tenant’s expense, an appraisal 
prepared by a certified manufactured home appraiser, for 
purposes of determining the fair market value of the home 
and any existing appurtenances as sited, exclusive of the 
value of the underlying land. Within thirty (30) days after 
receipt of the appraisal, the Authority shall advise the Tenant 
of the benefits that the Authority will pay to the Tenant for 
the non-relocatable home. Payment shall be made to the 
Tenant in the manner described herein, within ten (10) days 
after the Tenant provides the Authority with all the 
documents required, including the current title to the home. 
Upon receipt of the title, the Authority will relinquish the 
title to the Landlord to facilitate the removal and/or disposal 
of the home from the manufactured home community.

5.7 With respect to applications submitted by the 
Landlord for costs associated with the removal and/or 
disposal of non-relocatable or abandoned manufactured 
homes, within thirty (30) days after the receipt of the 
completed application and all necessary documents and 
information, including the documents described in Section 
5.4 hereof, the Authority shall determine the cost of 
removing and/or disposing of the manufactured home and 
shall (subject to the maximum limits set forth in Section 2.1 
hereof) issue payment for said amount to the Landlord, less 
any profit realized by the Landlord from the removal and/or 
disposal of the home.

5.8 If an Applicant disagrees with the Authority’s 
decision with respect to any application, the Applicant may 
petition the Authority to reconsider its decision by 
requesting an administrative review with the Authority no 
later than fourteen (14) calendar days after the Authority's 
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initial decision on the application.  The request:
5.8.1 must be in writing;
5.8.2 must be received by the Authority within 

the aforesaid fourteen (14) day period; and
5.8.3 must include reasons and documentation 

in support of the Applicant’s position.
5.9 After receipt of the Applicant’s letter, the Authority 

will schedule an administrative review of the application at a 
regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Directors of the 
Authority. Notice of the administrative review meeting will 
be sent to the Applicant at least seven (7) days in advance of 
the meeting. At the administrative review meeting, the 
Applicant shall present information or documentation to 
support the Applicant’s position. At the administrative 
review meeting, the Authority will render a decision and 
notify the Applicant of its decision and the reason for the 
Authority's decision. The decision of the Authority shall be 
final and conclusive.

6.0 Moving and Towing Contractors
6.1 It shall be the responsibility of the Tenant and/or 

Landlord to enter into a contract with a towing or moving 
company for purposes of relocating, removing and/or 
disposing of a manufactured home. The contractor must be 
duly licensed to engage in said business in Delaware. The 
Authority shall not be responsible for the performance of the 
contractor, or have any obligation to the contractor, financial 
or otherwise.

7.0 Certified Manufactured Home Appraisers
7.1 The Authority shall maintain a list of certified 

manufactured home appraisers who are authorized and 
qualified to appraise manufactured homes in Delaware.

7.2 The appraiser shall be an independent appraiser 
who is qualified to appraise manufactured homes in 
Delaware.

7.3 Any appraisal required under the Act shall include 
the certified manufactured home appraiser’s opinion as to 
the fair market value of the manufactured home as sited, and 
any existing appurtenances, but shall exclude the value of 
the underlying land. The appraisal shall take into 
consideration the replacement cost of the manufactured 
home, together with the age, physical condition and 
appearance of the home.

7.4 Any appraisal submitted by the appraiser shall 
include the appraiser’s professional qualifications, a 
summary of the salient facts and conclusions of the 
appraiser, a description of the manufactured home, its 
condition, and the appraiser’s analysis and conclusions.

7.5 The appraiser shall provide at least one original and 
three copies of each report to the Authority.

APPENDIX A

DELAWARE MANUFACTURED HOME 
RELOCATION AUTHORITY

TENANT APPLICATION FOR RELOCATION 
ASSISTANCE

I hereby request assistance from the Delaware 
Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund as set forth in 25
Del.C. §7012.  By signing this form, I certify that I am a 
tenant as defined in 25 Del.C. §7003(u) and that I have paid 
my share of the total Trust Fund assessment during the 
course of my tenancy. I understand that it is a class A 
misdemeanor for a tenant or a tenant's agent to file any 
notice, statement, or other document required hereunder 
which is false or contains a material misstatement of fact.

____________________________________________
(Signature of Tenant) (Date)

____________________________
(Social Security No.)

TENANTS NAME_______________________________
(Please Print)

PARK NAME __________________________________

UNIT 
ADDRESS:_____________________________________

Space No.

CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE: _________________________ 

Mailing Address if different from where unit is:
_______________________________________ 

PHONE NUMBER: _______________

SINGLE-WIDE___ DOUBLE-WIDE___

UNIT SIZE: _____YEAR: ________ 

MANUFACTURER: __________________

Please attach: (a) a copy of your title or a notarized 
document showing ownership; (b) a copy of the notice of 
termination or non-renewal of your rental agreement due to a 
change in use of land; (c) if you are seeking relocation 
expenses, you must submit a copy of your contract with a 
licensed moving or towing contractor for the moving 
expenses for your home; (d) if you believe that your home is 
non-relocatable, provide a brief description of the reason for 
your belief. (If the Authority determines that your home is in 
fact non-relocatable, you must obtain at your expense, an 
appraisal prepared by a certified manufactured home 
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appraiser. A list of qualified appraisers may be obtained by 
contacting the Authority). If you elect to abandon your 
home, please so note below. Under the Act, the maximum 
benefit payable to a Tenant who elects to abandon his or her 
home is $1,500.00 for a single section home and $2,500.00 
for a multi-section home.

Type of Benefits Applied For: (Check the Appropriate 
Benefit and Amount Requested)

A. Relocation Expenses of Moving Home____$ ____

B. Abandonment Payment______$ _____

C. Non-Relocatable Home Payment______$ _____

This form must be completed and returned along with 
the required documents to:

Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation
Authority

Dover, Delaware 19901

APPENDIX B

DELAWARE MANUFACTURED HOME 
RELOCATION AUTHORITY

 APPLICATION FOR REMOVAL AND DISPOSAL 
ASSISTANCE SUBMITTED BY

MANUFACTURED HOME COMMUNITY OWNER

The undersigned Applicant, a manufactured home 
community owner, hereby requests assistance from the 
Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund 
pursuant to 25 Del.C. §7014.  By signing this form, 
Applicant certifies that Applicant is the owner of a 
manufactured home community, as defined in 25 Del.C. 
§7003(l), and that Applicant has paid Applicant's share of 
the total Trust Fund assessment during to course of the 
tenancies and has remitted to the Authority the tenant's share 
as required by law. Applicant agrees that if Applicant 
realizes a profit from the removal and/or disposal of a home 
included in this Application, Applicant will notify the 
Authority in writing and will reimburse the Trust Fund for 
any profit gained by the Applicant pertaining to that home. 
Applicant understands that it is a class A misdemeanor for a 
landlord or a landlord's agent to file any notice, statement, or 
other document required under Section 7014 which is false 
or contains a material misstatement of fact.

__________________________________
(Signature of Landlord) (Date)

____________________________
   (Social Security or E.I. Number)

LANDLORD NAME______ _______________________
(Please Print)

PARK NAME __________________________________

PARK 
ADDRESS:____________________________________

Space No.

CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE: _________________________ 

Mailing Address if different from where park is located:
_______________________________________ 

PHONE NUMBER: _______________

Total Spaces in Park:_______

TOTAL HOMES LOCATED IN PARK: ______

DATE TERMINATION/NONRENEWAL NOTICE 
MAILED TO TENANTS: ___________

DATE RECLOCATION PLAN FILED WITH 
AUTHORITY: _______________________

Please attach: (a) a copy of the Relocation Plan and all 
quarterly updates to the Plan; (b) a copy of the notice of 
termination or non-renewal due to a change in use of land; 
(c) if you are seeking recovery of removal/disposal 
expenses, you must submit a copy of your contract with a 
licensed moving or towing contractor for the moving and 
disposal expenses for each home that is being removed or 
disposed of; (d) for each non-relocatable or abandoned home 
for which compensation is sought, complete the attached 
summary form and submit with this Application.

Total Removal/Disposal Expenses Claimed:$ ___________

This form must be completed and returned along with 
the required documents to:

Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation 
Authority
Dover, Delaware 19901

NON-RELOCATABLE OR ABANDONED HOME 
DESCRIPTION FORM

HOME OWNER INFORMATION CURRENT 
LOCATION OF MANUFACTURED HOME

Name: _________________________________

Address & Space Number:
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Address: _______________________________ 
City/State/Zip Code: ______________________ 
Phone Number: __________________________

DESCRIPTION OF HOME

Single or Multi-Wide: ___________________________
Size: ________________________________________
Manufacturer: _________________________________
Serial Number: ________________________________
Year Manufactured: _____________________________
HUD Label if any: ______________________________

Listing of Appurtenances attached to the home, including 
estimate of Size:
(Awnings, Skirting, Coolers or Air Conditioners, Sheds, 
Porches, Carport, etc.)
________________________________________________

DETAIL OF WORK TO BE PERFORMED AND 
CHARGES:
NOTE:  Must include all disassembly, transportation and 
disposal costs.

Contractor Information:
Name: _____________________________
Address: ___________________________

IF APPLICANT REALIZES A PROFIT FROM THE 
REMOVAL AND/OR DISPOSAL OF THE HOME, 
APPLICANT MUST REIMBURSE THE TRUST FUND 
FOR ANY PROFIT GAINED BY APPLICANT 
PERTAINING TO THAT HOME.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVIVCES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 205(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §205(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 200

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Landscape Architects is 
proposing to revise its rules and regulations pursuant to 24 
Del.C. Sec. 205(a)(1). The Board is proposing changes to the 
following Regulation:

Regulation 7.1.2 regarding the Definition and Scope of 
Continuing Education.

Continuing Education Hourly Requirements and 
Continuing Education Reporting and Documentation.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and 
Regulations on Thursday, December 9, 2004 at 9:00 a.m. in 
the Second Floor Conference Room “A” of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 
19904. If the number of persons desiring to testify at the 
Public Hearing is large, the amount of time allotted to each 
speaker will be limited.

The Board will receive and consider input in writing 
from any person on the proposed Rules and Regulations. 
Any written comments should be submitted to the Board in 
care of Sherry Clark at the above address. The final date to 
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled 
public hearing. Persons may view the proposed changes to 
the Regulations between the hours of 8:15 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., 
Monday through Friday, at the Board’s office at the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
19904. There will be a reasonable fee charged for copies of 
the proposed changes.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of 
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the 
date of the hearing.

200 Board of Landscape Architects

7.0 Continuing Education as a Condition of Biennial 
Renewal

7.1 General Statement: Each licensee shall be required 
to meet the continuing education requirements of these 
guidelines for professional development as a condition for 
license renewal. Continuing education obtained by a licensee 
should maintain, improve or expand skills and knowledge 
obtained prior to initial licensure, or develop new and 
relevant skills and knowledge.

  7.1.1 In order for a licensee to qualify for 
license renewal as a landscape architect in Delaware, the 
licensee must have completed 20 hours of continuing 
education acceptable to the Board within the previous two 
years, or be granted an extension by the Board for reasons of 
hardship. Such continuing education shall be obtained by 
active participation in courses, seminars, sessions, programs 
or self-directed activities approved by the Board.

7.1.1.1 For purposes of seminar or classroom 
continuing education, one hour of acceptable continuing 
education shall mean 60 minutes of instruction.

7.1.2 To be acceptable for credit toward this 
requirement, all courses, seminars, sessions, programs or 
self-directed activities shall be submitted to the Board. The 
Board shall recommend any course, seminar, session or 
program for continuing education credit that meets the 
criteria in sub-paragraph 7.1.2.1 below. All courses, 
seminars, sessions and programs are acceptable for 
continuing education credit if sponsored by organizations 
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listed in Rule 7.1.3. All other continuing education credits 
will be reviewed at the time of renewal. All self-directed 
activities for continuing education credit allowed by Rule 
7.6 must be pre-approved and submitted by the licensee 60 
days prior to the activity on the form provided in Rules 7.3 
and 7.4

7.1.2.1 Each course, seminar, session, 
program, or self-directed activity to be recommended for 
approval by the Board shall have a direct relationship to the 
practice of landscape architecture as defined in the Delaware 
Code and contain elements which will assist licensees to 
provide for the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of 
Delaware served by Delaware licensed landscape architects.

5 DE Reg. 446 (8/1/01)
7.1.3 Continuing Education courses offered or 

sponsored by the following organizations will be 
automatically deemed to qualify for continuing education 
credit:

7.1.3.1 American Society of Landscape 
Architects (National and local/chapter levels)

7.1.3.2 Council of Landscape Architectural 
Registration

7.1.4 Erroneous or false information attested to 
by the licensee shall constitute grounds for denial of license 
renewal.

7.2 Effective Date: The Board shall commence 
requiring continuing education as a condition of renewal of a 
license for the license year commencing on February 1, 
1995. The licensee shall be required to successfully 
complete twenty (20) hours of continuing education within 
the previous two calendar years (example: February 1, 1993 
through January 31, 1995).

7.3 For licensing periods beginning February 1, 2001 
and thereafter, documentation as required by Rule 7.4 of all 
continuing education hours must be submitted to the Board 
on or before November 1 of the year preceding the biennial 
renewal date of the licenses.  A license shall not be renewed 
until the Board has approved twenty (20) hours of continuing 
education classes as provided in Rule 7.1 or has granted an 
extension of time for reasons of hardship.

7.4 Reporting: The licensee shall submit a completed 
Verification of Continuing Education Form provided by the 
Division of Professional Regulation to the Board.

7.4.1 Each licensee must retain copies of all 
supporting materials documenting proof of continuing 
education compliance for submission to the Board upon 
request. Supporting materials include a syllabus, agenda, 
itinerary or brochure published by the sponsor of the activity 
and a document showing proof of attendance (i.e., 
certificate, a signed letter from the sponsor attesting to 
attendance, report of passing test score). The Board reserves 
its right to request additional information and/or 
documentation to verify continuing education compliance.

7.5 Hardship: The Board will consider any reasonable 

special request from individual licensees for continuing 
education credits and procedures. The Board may, in 
individual cases involving physical disability, illness, or 
extenuating circumstances, grant an extension, not to exceed 
two (2) years, of time within which continuing education 
requirements must be completed.  In cases of physical 
disability or illness, the Board reserves the right to require a 
letter from a physician attesting to the licensee’s physical 
condition. No extension of time shall be granted unless the 
licensee submits a written request to the Board prior to the 
expiration of the license.

7.6 Self-directed Activities: For renewal periods 
beginning February 1, 2001, the following rules regarding 
self-directed activity shall apply. The Board will have the 
authority to allow self-directed activities to fulfill the 
continuing education requirements of the licensees. 
However, these activities must result in a book draft, 
published article, delivered paper, workshop, symposium, or 
public address within the two (2) year reporting period. 
Self-directed activities must advance the practitioner’s 
knowledge of the field and be beyond the practitioner’s 
normal work duties. Instructors will not be granted CE credit 
for studies customarily associated with their usual university 
or college instruction teaching loads.

7.6.1 The Board may, upon request, review and 
approve credit for self-directed activities in a given biennial 
licensing period. A licensee must obtain pre-approval of the 
Board prior to undertaking the self-directed activity in order 
to assure continuing education credit for the activity. Any 
self-directed activity submitted for approval must include a 
written proposal outlining the scope of the activity, the 
number of continuing education hours requested, the 
anticipated completion date(s), the role of the licensee in the 
case of multiple participants and whether any part of the self-
directed activity has ever been previously approved or 
submitted for credit by the same licensee. Determination of 
credit will be made by the Board upon review of the 
completed final project.

7.7 Exemptions: New licensees by way of uniform 
national examination or by way of reciprocity shall be 
exempt from the continuing education requirements set forth 
herein for their first renewal period.

5 DE Reg. 446 (8/1/01)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Landscape 
Architects is available at:  http://www.state.de.us/
research/AdminCode/title24/200 Board of Landscape 
Architecture.shtml
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 706(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §706(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 700

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Chiropractic in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §706(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations as mandated by SB 229.  The proposal identifies 
crimes that are substantially related to the provision of 
chiropractic services.

A public hearing will be held on December 16, 2004 at 
8:45 a.m. in the second floor conference room B of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Chiropractic, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Board at the above 
address.  The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

700 Board of Chiropractic

9.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
chiropractic

9.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the 
attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or conceal or 
of solicitation to commit any of the following crimes, is 
deemed to be substantially related to the practice of 
chiropractic in the State of Delaware without regard to the 
place of conviction:

9.1.1 Manslaughter.  11 Del.C. §632.
9.1.2 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. § 634.
9.1.3 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C. § 

635.
9.1.4 Murder in the first degree.  11 Del.C. § 

636.
9.1.5 Rape in the second degree.  11 Del.C. § 

772.
9.1.6 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. § 773.
9.1.7 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 

Del.C. § 778.
9.1.8 Dangerous crime against a child.  11 

Del.C. § 779.
91.9 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C. § 

1108.
9.1.10 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 

11 Del.C. § 1109.
9.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 

chiropractic shall be deemed to include any crimes under any 
federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Chiropractic is 
available at:  http://www.state.de.us/research/
AdminCode/title24/700 Board of Chiropractic.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 1406(b)  (24 Del.C. §1406(b))

24 DE Admin. Code 1400

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §1406(b) has proposed changes 
to its rules and regulations as mandated by SB 229. The 
proposal identifies crimes that are substantially related to the 
work of an electrician.

A public hearing will be held at 9:00 a.m. on December 
1, 2004 in the Second Floor Conference Room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board 
Electrical Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon 
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to 
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners

17.0 Crimes substantially related to work of an 
electrician.

17.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or the solicitation to commit any of  the following 
crimes, is deemed to be a crime substantially related to the 
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work of an electrician in the State of Delaware without
regard to the place of conviction:

17.1.1 Reckless endangering in the first degree.
11 Del.C. §604

17.1.2 Assault in the second degree.11 Del.C.
§612

17.1.3 Assault in the first degree.11 Del.C. §613
17.1.4 Manslaughter.  11 Del.C. §632 
17.1.5 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second

degree. 11 Del.C. §633 
17.1.6 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first

degree. 11 Del.C. §634
17.1.7 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§635
17.1.8 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C..§636
17.1.9 Unlawful sexual contact in the second

degree. 11 Del.C.§768
17.1.10 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree.

11 Del.C.§ 769 
17.1.11 Rape in the fourth degree. 11Del.C.§770
17.1.12 Rape in the third degree. 11 Del.C.§771
17.1.13 Rape in the second degree. 11Del.C.§772
17.1.14 Rape in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §773 
17.1.15 Sexual extortion. 11 Del.C. §776 
17.1.16 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11

Del.C. §778 
17.1.17 Dangerous crimes against a child. 11

Del.C. §779
17.1.18 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11

Del.C. §783 
17.1.19 Kidnapping in the first degree.11 Del.C.

§783A
17.1.20 Arson in the second degree.11 Del.C.

§802
17.1.21 Arson in the first degree.11 Del.C. §803 
17.1.22 Criminal mischief. 11 Del.C. §811
17.1.23 Burglary in the third degree. 11 Del.C.

§824
17.1.24 Burglary in the second degree.11 Del.C.

§825
17.1.25 Burglary in the first degree.11 Del.C. §826
17.1.26 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§831
17.1.27 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§832
17.1.28 Theft of services. 11 Del.C. §845
17.1.29 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846
17.1.30 Identity theft. 11 Del.C. §854
17.1.31 Forgery. 11 Del.C. §861 
17.1.32 Unlawful use of credit card. 11 Del.C.

§903
17.1.33 Criminal impersonation of a police officer.

11 Del.C. §907B
17.1.34 Insurance fraud. 11 Del.C. §913

17.1.34 Home improvement fraud. 11 Del.C. §916
17.1.36 New home construction fraud. 11 Del.C.

§917 
17.1.37 Dealing in children.  11 Del.C. §1100 
17.1.38 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C.

§1108
17.1.39 Unlawful dealing in  child pornography. 11

Del.C. §1109 
17.1.40 Sexual solicitation of a child.11 Del.C.

§1112A
17.1.41 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§1222
17.1.42 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§1223
17.1.43 Aggravated harassment. 11 Del.C. §1312
17.1.44 Adulteration. 11 Del.C. §1339
17.1.45 Possession of a firearm during a felony. 11

Del.C. §1447
17.1.46 Theft of a firearm.11 Del.C. §1451
17.1.47 Organized crime and racketeering.

11Del.C. §1503 
17.1.48 Breaking and entering, etc. to place or

remove equipment 11 Del.C. §2410 
17.2 Crimes substantially related to the work of an

electrician shall be deemed to include any crimes under any
federal law,  state law, or  valid town, city or county
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Electrical
Examiners is available at:  http://www.state.de.us/
research/AdminCode/title24/1400 Board of Electrical
Examiners.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 1730(a)(12) (24 Del.C. §1730(a)(12))

24 DE Admin. Code 1700

PUBLIC NOTICE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. 1730(a)(12), the Delaware Board
of Medical Practice proposes to revise its Rules and
Regulations as mandated by Senate Bill 229.  The proposed
revision will add a new section that specifically identifies
those crimes which are substantially related to the practice of
medicine and the practice of licensed respiratory care and
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practice as a licensed physician's assistant.
A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rule and

Regulation on January 4, 2005 at 2:30 p.m. in the Second
Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building, 861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904.  The Board
will receive and consider input in writing from any person
concerning the proposed Rule and Regulation.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Gayle
Franzolino at the above address.  The final date to submit
written comments shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed
Rule and Regulation or to make comments at the public
hearing should notify Gayle Franzolino at the above address
or by calling her at (302) 744-4520.

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 74 Del. Laws c. 262, (Senate Bill No. 229 of
the 142 General Assembly, 2004, as amended), the Board
was directed to promulgate regulations specifically
identifying those crimes which are substantially related to
the practice of medicine and the practice of licensed
respiratory care and practice as a licensed physician’s
assistant.

PURPOSE

The Board of Medical Practice believes that the State of
Delaware has a compelling public policy interest in ensuring
that its licensed professionals not only have specified levels
of educational and professional competence but also possess
sufficient character and judgment necessary to practice
safely in their chosen fields and to do so in a manner which
will not undermine the community’s confidence in the
expertise and professionalism of the members of the
profession. Licensed professionals, particularly those in
health care related fields, often come into contact with
clients and patients and other members of the public at times
when they may be sick, infirmed or otherwise extremely
vulnerable to undue influence or other forms of misuse,
fraud and abuse. It is therefore critical that all reasonable
steps are taken to determine, to the extent possible, that the
regulation of such professionals takes into consideration not
only the individual’s technical competence but his or her
demonstrated propensity to behave in a way that does not
expose the client population to risk or diminish legitimate
expectations of honest and honorable behavior by such
licensed health care professionals.

1700 Board of Medical Practice

29.0 Crimes Substantially Related to the Practice of
Medicine and the Practice of Licensed Respiratory Care
and Practice as a Licensed Physician’s Assistant

The Board finds that for purposes of licensing,
renewal, reinstatement and discipline, the conviction of any
of the following crimes, or of the attempt to commit or a
conspiracy to commit or conceal the following crimes or
substantially similar crimes in another state or jurisdiction, is
deemed to be substantially related to the practice of
Medicine, Respiratory Care and Physician’s Assistants in the
State of Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

29.1 For the purposes of this section the following
definitions shall apply:

“Conviction”  means a verdict of guilty by whether
entered by a judge or jury, or a plea of guilty or a plea of nolo
contendere or other similar plea such as a “Robinson” or
“Alford” plea unless the individual has been discharged
under §4218 of Title 11 of the Delaware Code (probation
before judgment) or under §1024 of Title 10 (domestic
violence diversion program) or by §4764 of Title 16 (first
offenders controlled substances diversion program).

“Jurisdiction” Including all crimes prohibited by
or punishable under Title 18 of the United Stated Code
Annotated (U.S.C.A.) such as, but not limited to, Federal
Health Care offenses.

29.2 Any crime which involves the use of
physical force or violence toward or upon the person of
another and shall include by way of example and not of
limitation the following crimes set forth in Title 11 of the
Delaware Code Annotated: 

Assaults and Related Offenses
29.2.1 §601.  Offensive touching; 
29.2.2 §602.  Menacing;
29.2.3 §603.  Reckless endangering in the

second degree;
29.2.4 §604.  Reckless endangering in the

first degree;
29.2.5 §605.  Abuse of a pregnant female in

the second degree;
29.2.6 §606.  Abuse of a pregnant female in

the first degree;
29.2.7 §611.  Assault in the third degree; 
29.2.8 §612.  Assault in the second degree; 
29.2.9 §613.  Assault in the first degree; 
29.2.10 §614.  Assault on a sports official.
29.2.11 §615.  Assault by abuse or neglect; 
29.2.12 §621.  Terroristic threatening;
29.2.13 §625.  Unlawfully administering

drugs;
29.2.14 §626.  Unlawfully administering

controlled substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic
drugs; 

29.2.15 §627.  Prohibited acts as to substances
releasing vapors or fumes;

29.2.16 §628.  Vehicular assault in the second
degree; 

29.2.17 §629. Vehicular assault in the first
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degree; 
29.2.18 §630. Vehicular homicide in the

second degree; 
29.2.19 §630A. Vehicular homicide in the first

degree;
29.2.20 §631.  Criminally negligent homicide;
29.2.21 §632.  Manslaughter; 
29.2.22 §633.  Murder by abuse or neglect in

the second degree; 
29.2.23 §634.  Murder by abuse or neglect in

the first degree;
29.2.24 §635.  Murder in the second degree;
29.2.25 §636.  Murder in the first degree;
29.2.26 §645.  Promoting suicide.
Abortion and Related Offenses
29.2.27 §651.  Abortion;
29.2.28 §653.  Issuing abortional articles.
Sexual Offenses
29.2.29 §763.  Sexual harassment;
29.2.30 §764.  Indecent exposure in the

second degree;
29.2.31 §765.  Indecent exposure in the first

degree;
29.2.32 §766.  Incest; 
29.2.33 §767.   Unlawful sexual contact in the

third degree; 
29.2.34 §768.  Unlawful sexual contact in the

second degree; 
29.2.35 §769.  Unlawful sexual contact in the

first degree; 
29.2.36 §770.  Rape in the fourth degree;
29.2.37 §771.  Rape in the third degree; 
29.2.38 §772.  Rape in the second degree;
29.2.39 §773.  Rape in the first degree;
29.2.40 §776.  Sexual extortion;
29.2.41 §777.  Bestiality;
29.2.42 §778.  Continuous sexual abuse of a

child; 
29.2.43 §780.  Female genital mutilation.
Kidnapping and Related Offenses
29.2.44 §781.  Unlawful imprisonment in the

second degree;
29.2.45 §782.  Unlawful imprisonment in the

first degree; 
29.2.46 §783.  Kidnapping in the second

degree;
29.2.47 §783A.  Kidnapping in the first

degree;
29.2.48 §785.  Interference with custody;
Coercion
29.2.49 §791.  Acts constituting coercion;

29.3 Any crime which involves dishonesty or
false, fraudulent or aberrant behavior and shall include by
way of example and not of limitation the following crimes

listed in Title 11 of the Delaware Code Annotated:
Arson and Related Offenses
29.3.1 §801.  Arson in the third degree; 
29.3.2 §802.  Arson in the second degree;
29.3.3 §803.  Arson in the first degree;
29.3.4 §804.  Reckless burning or exploding;
29.3.5 §805.  Cross or religious symbol

burning;
Criminal Trespass and Burglary
29.3.6 §820.  Trespassing with intent to peer

or peep into a window or door of  another;
29.3.7 §821. Criminal trespass in the third

degree;
29.3.8 §822. Criminal trespass in the second

degree;
29.3.9 §823. Criminal trespass in the first

degree;
29.3.10 §824.  Burglary in the third degree;
29.3.11 §825.  Burglary in the second degree;
29.3.12 §826.  Burglary in the first degree;
29.3.13 §828.  Possession of burglar’s tools or

instruments facilitating theft;
Robbery
29.3.14 §831.  Robbery in the second degree;
29.3.15 §832.  Robbery in the first degree.
29.3.16 §835.  Carjacking in the second

degree;
29.3.17 §836.  Carjacking in the first degree;
Theft and Related Offenses
29.3.18 §840.  Shoplifting; class G felony;
29.3.19 §840A. Use of illegitimate retail sales

receipt or Universal Product Code Label.
29.3.20 §841.  Theft;
29.3.21 §842.  Theft; lost or mislaid property;

mistaken delivery.
29.3.22 §843.  Theft; false pretense.
29.3.23 §844.  Theft; false promise.
29.3.24 §845.  Theft of services.
29.3.25 §846.  Extortion;
29.3.26 §848.  Misapplication of property;
29.3.27 §849.  Theft of rented property;
29.3.28 §850.  Use, possession, manufacture,

distribution and sale of unlawful  telecommunication and
access devices.

29.3.29 §851.  Receiving stolen property;
29.3.30 §853.  Unauthorized use of a vehicle;
29.3.31 §854.  Identity theft;
29.3.32 §859.  Larceny of livestock;
29.3.33 §860.  Possession of shoplifter’s tools

or instruments facilitating theft;
Forgery and Related Offenses
29.3.34 §861.  Forgery; class F felony;
29.3.35 §862.  Possession of forgery devices;
Offenses Involving Falsification of Records
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29.3.36 §871.  Falsifying business records;
29.3.37 §872.  Falsifying business records;
29.3.38 §873.  Tampering with public records

in the second degree;
29.3.39 §876.  Tampering with public records

in the first degree;
29.3.40 §877. Offering a false instrument for

filing;
29.3.41 §878. Issuing a false certificate;
Bribery Not Involving Public Servants
29.3.42 §881. Bribery; 
29.3.43 §882. Bribe receiving; 
Frauds on Creditors
29.3.44 §891. Defrauding secured creditors;
29.3.45 §892. Fraud in insolvency;
29.3.46 §893. Interference with levied-upon

property;
Other Frauds and Cheats
29.3.47 §900. Issuing a bad check;
29.3.48 §903. Unlawful use of credit card;
29.3.49 §903A. Reencoder and scanning

devices;
29.3.50 §906. Deceptive business practices;
29.3.51 §907.  Criminal impersonation; 
29.3.52 §907A. Criminal impersonation,

accident related;
29.3.53 §907B. Criminal impersonation of a

police officer;
29.3.54 §908.  Unlawfully concealing a will;
29.3.55 §909. Securing execution of

documents by deception;
29.3.56 §910. Debt adjusting; 
29.3.57 §911. Fraudulent conveyance of

public lands;
29.3.58 §912.  Fraudulent receipt of public

lands;.
29.3.59 §913.  Insurance fraud;
29.3.60 §913A. Health care fraud;
29.3.61 §914. Use of consumer identification

information;
29.3.62 §915.  Use of credit card information;
29.3.63 §915A. Credit and debit card

transaction receipts; 
29.3.64 §916.  Home improvement fraud; 
29.3.65 §917. New home construction fraud;
Offenses Relating to Recorded Devices
29.3.66 §920. Transfer of recorded sounds; 
29.3.67 §921. Sale of transferred recorded

sounds;
29.3.68 §922. Improper labeling;
Computer Related Offenses
29.3.69 §932. Unauthorized access.
29.3.70 §933. Theft of computer services.
29.3.71 §934. Interruption of computer

services.
29.3.72 §935. Misuse of computer system

information.
29.3.73 §936. Destruction of computer

equipment.
29.3.74 §937. Unrequested or unauthorized

electronic mail or use of network or software to cause same.
29.3.75 §938. Failure to promptly cease

electronic communication upon request.
Offenses Relating to Marriage
29.3.76 §1001. Bigamy;
29.3.77 §1003. Bigamous marriage contracted

outside the State.
29.4 Any crime which involves misuse or abuse

of children or animals and shall include by way of example
and not of limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of
the Delaware Code Annotated:

Child Welfare; Sexual Offenses, Animal
Offenses

29.4.1 §1100. Dealing in children;
29.4.2 §1101. Abandonment of child;
29.4.3 §1102. Endangering the welfare of a

child;
29.4.4 §1105. Endangering the welfare of an

incompetent person;
29.4.5 §1106. Unlawfully dealing with a

child;
29.4.6 §1107. Endangering children;
29.4.7 §1108. Sexual exploitation of a child;
29.4.8 §1109. Unlawfully dealing in child

pornography;
29.4.9 §1111. Possession of child

pornography;
29.4.10 §1112. Sexual offenders; prohibitions

from school zones.
29.4.11 §1112A .Sexual solicitation of a child;
29.4.12 §1113. Criminal non-support and

aggravated criminal non-support.
29.4.13 §1114. Body-piercing; tattooing or

branding;
29.4.14 §1114A. Tongue-splitting;
29.4.15 §1116. Sale or distribution of tobacco

products to minors;
29.4.16 §1117. Notice;
29.4.17 §1119. Distribution of cigarettes

through vending machines;
29.4.18 §1120. Distribution of tobacco

products;
29.4.19 §1124. Purchase or receipt of tobacco

products by minor;
29.4.20 §1325. Cruelty to animals; 
29.4.21 §1325A. The unlawful trade in dog or

cat by-products;
29.4.22 §1326. Animals; fighting and baiting
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prohibited;
29.4.23 §1327. Maintaining a dangerous

animal;
29.5 Any crime which involves offenses against

the public order the commission of which may tend to bring
discredit upon the profession and which are thus
substantially related to one’s fitness to practice such
profession and shall include by way of example and not of
limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the
Delaware Code Annotated:

Bribery and Improper Influence
29.5.1 §1201. Bribery; 
29.5.2 §1203. Receiving a bribe;
29.5.3 §1205. Giving unlawful gratuities;
29.5.4 §1206. Receiving unlawful gratuities; 
29.5.5 §1207. Improper influence;
29.5.6 §1211. Official misconduct;
29.5.7 §1212. Profiteering.
Perjury and related offenses
29.5.8 §1221. Perjury in the third degree;
29.5.9 §1222. Perjury in the second degree; 
29.5.10 §1223. Perjury in the first degree;
29.5.11 §1233. Making a false written

statement; 
29.5.12 §1239. Wearing a disguise during the

commission of a felony;
29.5.13 §1240. Terroristic threatening of

public officials or public servants;
29.5.14 §1241. Refusing to aid a police

officer;
29.5.15 §1243. Obstructing fire-fighting

operations;
29.5.16 §1244. Hindering prosecution;
29.5.17 §1245. Falsely reporting an incident;
29.5.18 §1246. Compounding a crime;
29.5.19 §1248. Obstructing the control and

suppression of rabies;
29.5.20 §1249. Abetting the violation of

driver’s license restrictions;
29.5.21 §1250. Offenses against law-

enforcement animals;
29.5.22 §1251. Escape in the third degree;
29.5.23 §1252. Escape in the second degree;
29.5.24 §1253. Escape after conviction;
29.5.25 §1254. Assault in a detention facility;
29.5.26 §1257A. Use of an animal to avoid

capture;
29.5.27 §1259. Sexual relations in detention

facility;
29.5.28 §1260. Misuse of prisoner mail.
Offenses Relating to Judicial and Similar

Proceedings
29.5.29 §1261. Bribing a witness;
29.5.30 §1262. Bribe receiving by a witness; 

29.5.31 §1263. Tampering with a witness; 
29.5.32 §1263A.Interfering with child

witness.
29.5.33 §1264.   Bribing a juror; 
29.5.34 §1265.   Bribe receiving by a juror; 
29.5.35 §1266.   Tampering with a juror; 
29.5.36 §1267.   Misconduct by a juror; 
29.5.37 §1269.   Tampering with physical

evidence; 
29.5.38 §1271.   Criminal contempt;
29.5.39 §1271A.Criminal contempt of a

domestic violence protective order;
29.5.40 §1273.   Unlawful grand jury

disclosure.
29.6 Any crime which involves offenses against

a public health order and decency which may tend to bring
discredit upon the profession, specifically including the
below listed crimes from Title 11 of the Delaware Code
Annotated which evidence a lack of appropriate concern for
the safety and well being of another person or persons in
general or sufficiently flawed judgment to call into question
the individuals ability to make health care decisions or
advise upon health care related matters for other individuals.

Disorderly Conduct and Related Offenses
29.6.1 §1301.   Disorderly conduct;
29.6.2 §1302.   Riot;
29.6.3 §1304.   Hate crimes;
29.6.4 §1311.   Harassment; 
29.6.5 §1312.   Aggravated harassment; 
29.6.6 §1312A.Stalking; 
29.6.7 §1313.   Malicious interference with

emergency communications;
29.6.8 §1315.   Public intoxication;
29.6.9 §1316.   Registration of out-of-state

liquor agents;
29.6.10 §1320.   Loitering on property of a

state-supported school, college or university; 
29.6.11 §1321.   Loitering
29.6.12 §1322.   Criminal nuisance;
29.6.13 §1323.   Obstructing public passages; 
29.6.14 §1324.   Obstructing ingress to or

egress from public buildings;
29.6.15 §1331.   Desecration; 
29.6.16 §1332.   Abusing a corpse; 
29.6.17 §1333.   Trading in human remains

and associated funerary objects.
29.6.18 §1335.   Violation of privacy;
29.6.19 §1338.   Bombs, incendiary devices,

Molotov cocktails and explosive devices;
29.6.20 §1339.   Adulteration; 
29.6.21 §1340.   Desecration of burial place.
Offenses Involving Public Indecency
29.6.22 §1341.   Lewdness; 
29.6.23 §1342.   Prostitution; 
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29.6.24 §1343.   Patronizing a prostitute
prohibited.

29.6.25 §1351.   Promoting prostitution in the
third degree; 

29.6.26 §1352.   Promoting prostitution in the
second degree; 

29.6.27 §1353.   Promoting prostitution in the
first degree;

29.6.28 §1355.   Permitting prostitution;
Obscenity
29.6.29 §1361.   Obscenity; acts constituting;
29.6.30 §1365.   Obscene literature harmful to

minors;
29.6.31 §1366.   Outdoor motion picture

theatres;
Offenses Involving Gambling
29.6.32 §1403. Advancing gambling in the

first degree;
29.6.33 §1404. Providing premises for

gambling;
29.65.34§1405. Possessing a gambling device;

class A misdemeanor.
29.6.35 §1406. Being concerned in interest in

keeping any gambling device;
29.6.36 §1407.  Engaging in a crap game;
29.6.37 §1411. Unlawfully disseminating

gambling information.
29.7 Any crime which involves the illegal

possession or the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or other
addictive substances and those non-addictive substances
with a substantial capacity to impair reason or judgment and
shall include by way of example and not of limitation the
following crimes listed in Chapter 47 of Title 16 of the
Delaware Code Annotated:

29.7.1 §4751.   Prohibited acts A; 
29.7.2 §4752.   Prohibited acts B; 
29.7.3 §4752A.Unlawful delivery of

noncontrolled substance.
29.7.4 §4753.   Prohibited acts C.
29.7.5 §4753A.Trafficking in marijuana,

cocaine, illegal drugs, methamphetamines, L.S.D., or
designer drugs.

29.7.6 §4754.   Prohibited acts D; 
29.6.7 §4754A.Possession and delivery of

noncontrolled prescription drug.
29.7.8 §4755.   Prohibited acts E;
29.7.9 §4756.   Prohibited acts; 
29.7.10 §4757.   Hypodermic syringe or

needle; delivering or possessing; disposal; exceptions; 
29.7.11 §4758.   Keeping drugs in original

containers.
29.7.12 §4761.   Distribution to persons under

21 years of age; 
29.7.13 §4761A.Purchase of drugs from

minors; 
29.7.14 §4767. Distribution, delivery, or

possession of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of
school property; 

29.7.15 §4768. Distribution, delivery or
possession of controlled substance in or within 300 feet of
park, recreation area, church, synagogue or other place of
worship.

29.8 Any crime which involves the misuse or
illegal possession or sale of a deadly weapon or dangerous
instrument and shall include by way of example and not of
limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the
Delaware Code Annotated:

Offenses Involving Deadly Weapons and
Dangerous Instruments

29.8.1 §1442. Carrying a concealed deadly
weapon;

29.8.2 §1443. Carrying a concealed
dangerous instrument;

29.7.3 §1444. Possessing a destructive
weapon; 

29.8.4  §1445.   Unlawfully dealing with a
dangerous weapon;

29.8.5 §1446.   Unlawfully dealing with a
switchblade knife;

29.8.6 §1447.   Possession of a deadly
weapon during commission of a felony;

29.8.7 §1447A.Possession of a firearm
during commission of a felony;

29.8.8 §1448.   Possession and purchase of
deadly weapons by persons prohibited; 

29.8.9 §1448A.Criminal history record
checks for sales or firearms;

29.8.10 §1449. Wearing body armor during
commission of felony;

29.8.11 §1450.   Receiving a stolen firearm; 
29.8.12 §1451.   Theft of a firearm;
29.8.13 §1452. Unlawfully dealing with

knuckles-combination knife; 
29.8.14 §1453. Unlawfully dealing with

martial arts throwing star; 
29.8.15 §1454. Giving a firearm to person

prohibited; 
29.8.16 §1455. Engaging in a firearms

transaction on behalf of another;
29.8.17 §1456. Unlawfully permitting a minor

access to a firearm;
29.8.18 §1457. Possession of a weapon in a

Safe School and Recreation Zone;
29.8.19 §1458. Removing a firearm from the

possession of a law enforcement officer; 
29.8.20 §1459. Possession of a weapon with a

removed, obliterated or     altered serial number;
29.8.21 §1471. Prohibited acts.
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Offenses Involving Drug Paraphernalia
29.8.22 §4774. Penalties.
Offenses Involving Organized Crime and

Racketeering
29.8.23 §1504. Criminal Penalties for

Organized Crime & Racketeering
Offenses Involving Intimidation of Victims or

Witnesses
29.8.24 §3532. Acts of Intimidation: Class E

felony
29.8.25 §3533. Aggravated act of

intimidation, Class D felony
Other Crimes
29.8.26 Title 3 §1041. Willfully or

maliciously starting fires; Carelessly Starting Fires;
29.8.27 §1043. Setting fire to woodland;

Unseasonable Marsh Burning.
29.8.28 Title 4 §901. Offenses carrying

penalty of imprisonment for 3 to 6   months;
29.8.29 §902. Offenses carrying penalty of

fine of $500 to $1,000 or imprisonment of 3 to 6 months on
failure to pay fine;

29.8.30 §903.  Offenses carrying penalty of
fine of not more than $100 imprisonment for 1 month on
failure to pay fine;

29.8.31 §904.   Offenses concerning certain
persons;

29.8.32 §905. Unlicensed manufacture of
alcoholic liquor; Possession of still, apparatus, mash, etc., by
unlicensed person;

29.8.33  §906.  Transportation or shipment;
29.8.34 §907. Interference with officer or

inspector;
29.8.35 §908. Failure of licensee to file report;
29.8.36 §909.   Violation of rules respecting

liquor taxes.
29.8.37 Title 7 §1717. Unauthorized acts

against a service guide or seeing eye dog.
29.8.38 Title 11 §2403. Manufacture,

possession or sale of intercepting device;
29.8.39 §2410. Breaking and entering, etc. to

place or remove equipment;
29.8.40 §2412. Obstruction, impediment or

prevention of interception;
29.8.41 §2422. Divulging contents of

communications;
29.8.42 §3532. Act of intimidation;
29.8.43 §3533. Aggravated act of

intimidation;
29.8.44 §3534. Attempt to intimidate;
29.8.45 §8523. Penalties [for violation of

reporting provision re: SBI];
29.8.46 §8562. Penalties [for failure of child-

care provider to obtain information required under §8561 or

for those providing     false information]
29.8.47 §8572. Penalties [for providing false

information when seeking employment in a public school]
29.8.48 §9016. Filing false claim [under

Victims’ Compensation Fund].
29.8.49 Title 12 §210.  Alteration, theft or

destruction of Will.
29.8.50 Title 16 §1136.Abuse or neglect of a

patient or resident of a nursing facility.
29.8.51 Title 21 §2118A.Unlawful possession

or manufacture of proof of  insurance;
29.8.52 §2133. Penalties; jurisdiction of

justices of the peace.
29.8.53 §2315.  False statements;
29.8.54 §2316.  Altering or forging certificate

of title, manufacturer’s certificate of origin, registration
sticker or vehicle I identification plate;

29.8.55 §2620.  False statements; incorrect or
incomplete information;

29.8.56 §2703.  License to operate a
motorcycle, motorbike, etc.;

29.8.57 §2710.  Issuance of a Level 1
Learner’s Permit and Class D operator’s license to persons
under 18 years of age; 

29.8.58 §2722.  Restricted licenses based on
driver’s physical limitations;

29.8.59 §2751.  Unlawful application for or
use of license or identification card;

29.8.60 §2752.  False statements;
29.8.61 §2756.  Driving vehicle while license

is suspended or revoked; penalty;
29.8.62 §2760.  Duplication, reproduction,

altering, or counterfeiting of driver’s licenses or
identification cards.

29.8.63 Title 23 §2302. Operation of a vessel
or boat while under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/
or drugs;

29.8.64 §2305. Penalties; jurisdiction.
29.8.65 Title 24  §903.   Sale to persons under

21 or intoxicated persons.
29.8.66 Title 29 §3107.  Motor vehicle safety-

responsibility; False statements;
29.8.67 §4175A.Reckless driving;
29.8.68 §4177.   Driving a vehicle while under

the influence or with a prohibited alcohol content; evidence;
arrests; and     penalties.

29.8.69 §4177M.Operating a commercial
motor vehicle with a prohibited blood alcohol concentration
or while impaired by drugs;

29.8.70 §4183 Parking areas for vehicles
being used by persons with disabilities;

29.8.71 §4198J.  Bicycling on highways under
influence of drugs or alcohol;

29.8.72 §4198O. Operation of electric
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personal assistive mobility devices (EPAMD);
29.8.73 §4201.   Duty of driver involved in

accident resulting in property damage or injury;
29.8.74 §4202.   Duty of driver involved in

accident resulting in injury or death to any person;
29.8.75 §4203.  Duty to report accidents;

evidence;
29.8.76 §4204.  Report of damaged vehicles;

cars involved in fatal accidents;
29.8.77 §4604.  Possession of motor vehicle

master keys, manipulative keys, key-cutting devices, lock
picks or lock picking devices and hot wires;

29.8.78 §6420.   Odometers penalties;
29.8.79 §6702. Driving vehicle without

consent of owner;
29.8.80 §6704. Receiving or transferring

stolen vehicle;
29.8.81 §6705. Removed, falsified or

unauthorized identification number on vehicle, bicycle or
engine; removed or affixed license/registration plate with
intent to misrepresent identity;

29.8.82 §6707.   Penalty;
29.8.83 §6709.   Removal of warranty or

certification stickers; vehicle identification plates;
confidential vehicle identification numbers;

29.8.84 §6710. Unlawful possession of
assigned titles, assigned registration cards, vehicle
identification plates and warranty stickers.

29.8.85 Title 30 §571. Attempt to evade or
defeat tax;

29.8.86 §572. Failure to collect or pay over
tax;

29.8.87 §573. Failure to file return, supply
information or pay tax;

29.8.88 §574. Fraud and false statements;
29.8.89 §576. Misdemeanors.
29.8.90 Title 31 §1007. Fraudulent acts

penalties;
29.8.91 §3913. Welfare violations [knowing

or reckless abuse of an infirm adult]
29.9 Any crime which is a violation of Title 24,

Chapter 17 (Delaware Medical Practices Act) as it may be
amended from time to time or of any other statute which
requires the reporting of a medical situation or condition to
state, federal or local authorities or a crime which constitutes
a violation of the Medical Practice Act of the state in which
the conviction occurred or in which the physician is licensed.

29.10 The Board reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to modify this regulation as and if it becomes
necessary to either add or delete crimes including such
additions as may be required on an emergency basis under
29 Del. C. §10119 to address imminent peril to the public
health, safety or welfare.  The Board also specifically
reserves the jurisdiction to review any crime committed by

an applicant for licensure as a physician and to determine
whether to waive the disqualification under 24 Del.C.
§1720(d).

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Medical
Practice is available at:  http://www.state.de.us/research/
AdminCode/title24/1700 Board of Medical
Practice.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE
RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTICE

ADVISORY COUNCIL
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 1770B(e) (24 Del.C. §1770B(e)(5))
24 DE Admin. Code 1770

PUBLIC NOTICE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch.
101 and 24 Del.C. §1770B(e)(5), the Respiratory Care
Practice Advisory Council of the Delaware Board of
Medical Practice proposes to revise its Rules and
Regulations. The proposed revisions will delete a subsection
regarding the accumulation of continuing education and add
a new section to address and regulate the administration of
sedation and analgesia by Respiratory Care Practitioners.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on January 18, 2005 at 1:00 p.m. in the Second
Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building, 861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. The
Council will receive and consider input in writing from any
person concerning the proposed Rules and Regulations. Any
written comments should be submitted to the Council in care
of Gayle Franzolino at the above address. The final date to
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing. Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the
public hearing should notify Gayle Franzolino at the above
address or by calling her at (302) 744-4520.

1770 Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council

8.0 Continuing Education
8.1 Contact Hours Required for Renewal

8.1.1 The respiratory care practitioner shall be
required to complete (20) twenty contact hours biennially
and to retain all certificates and other documented evidence
of participation in an approved/accredited continuing
education program for a period of at least (3) three years.
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Upon request, such documentation shall be made available
to the Council for random audit and verification purposes.
All contact hours must be completed at least sixty (60) days
prior to the end of the renewal year. 

8.1.2 Contact hours shall be prorated for new
licensees in accordance with the following schedule:

Two years remaining in the licensing 
cycle requires - 20 hours

One year remaining in the licensing 
cycle requires  - 10 hours

Less than one year remaining in the 
licensing cycle - exempt

8.2 Exemptions
8.2.1 A licensee who because of a physical or

mental illness during the license period could not complete
the continuing education requirement may apply through the
Council to the Board of Medical Practice for a waiver.  A
waiver would provide for an extension of time or exemption
from some or all of the continuing education requirements
for one (1) renewal period. Should the illness extend beyond
one (1) renewal period, a new request must be submitted.

8.2.2 A request for a waiver must be submitted
sixty (60) days prior to the license renewal date.

8.3 Criteria for Qualification of Continuing Education
Program Offerings

The following criteria are given to guide respiratory
care practitioners in selecting an appropriate activity/
program and to guide the provider in planning and
implementing continuing education activities/programs.
The overriding consideration in determining whether a
specific activity/program  qualifies as acceptable continuing
education shall be that it is a planned program of learning
which contributes directly to the professional competence of
the respiratory care practitioner.

8.3.1 Definition of Contact Hours
8.3.1.1 Fifty consecutive minutes of

academic course work, correspondence course, or seminar/
workshop shall be equivalent to one (1) contact hour. A
fraction of a contact hour may be computed by dividing the
minutes of an activity by 50 and expressed as a decimal.

8.3.1.2 Recredentialing examination for
certified respiratory therapy technician, (CRTT), and
registered respiratory therapist, (RRT),  shall be equivalent
to five (5) contact hours.

8.3.1.3 Successful completion of advanced
specialty exams administered by the National Board for
Respiratory Care, (NBRC), shall be equal to five (5) contact
hours for each exam.

8.3.1.4 One (1) semester hour shall be equal
to fifteen (15) contact hours.

8.3.1.5 One (1) quarter hour shall be equal to
ten (10) contact hours.

8.3.1.6 Two (2) hours (120 minutes) of
clinical educational experience shall be equal to one (1)

contact hour.
8.3.1.7 Fifty (50) consecutive minutes of

presentation of lectures, seminars or workshops in
respiratory care or health care subjects shall be equivalent to
one (1) contact hour.

8.3.1.8 Preparing original lectures, seminars,
or workshops in respiratory care or health care subjects shall
be granted no more than two (2) contact hours for each
contact hour of presentation.

8.3.1.9 Performing clinical or laboratory
research in health care shall be reviewed and may be granted
an appropriate number of contact hour(s) at the Council’s
discretion.

8.3.2 Learner Objectives
8.3.2.1 Objectives shall be written and be the

basis for determining
content, learning experience, teaching methodologies, and
evaluation.

8.3.2.2 Objectives shall be specific,
attainable, measurable, and describe expected outcomes for
the learner.

8.3.3 Subject Matter
Appropriate subject matter for continuing

education shall include the following:
8.3.3.1 Respiratory care science and practice

and other scientific topics related thereto
8.3.3.2 Respiratory care education
8.3.3.3 Research in respiratory care and

health care
8.3.3.4 Management, administration and

supervision in health care delivery
8.3.3.5 Social, economic, political, legal

aspects of health care
8.3.3.6 Teaching health care and consumer

health education
8.3.3.7 Professional requirements for a

formal respiratory care program or a related field beyond
those that were completed for the issuance of the original
license

8.3.4 Description
Subject matter shall be described in outline

form and shall include learner objectives, content, time
allotment, teaching methods, faculty, and evaluation format.

8.3.5 Types of Activities/Programs
8.3.5.1 An academic course shall be an

activity that is approved and presented by an accredited post-
secondary educational institution which carries academic
credit. The course may be within the framework of a
curriculum that leads to an academic degree in respiratory
care beyond that required for the original license, or relevant
to respiratory care, or any course that shall be necessary to a
respiratory care practitioner’s professional growth and
development.

8.3.5.2 A correspondence course contains the
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following elements:
8.3.5.2.1 developed by a professional

group, such s an education corporation or professional
association.

8.3.5.2.2 follows a logical sequence.
 8.3.5.2.3 involves the learner by

requiring active response to module materials and provides
feedback.

8.3.5.2.4 contains a test to indicate
progress and to verify completion of module.

8.3.5.2.5 supplies a bibliography for
continued study.

8.3.5.3 A workshop contains the following
elements:

8.3.5.3.1 developed by a
knowledgeable individual or group in the subject matter.

8.3.5.3.2 follows a logical sequence.
8.3.5.3.3 involves the learner by

requiring active response, demonstration and feedback.
8.3.5.3.4 requires hands-on

experience.
8.3.5.3.5 supplies a bibliography for

continued study.
8.3.5.4 Advanced and specialty examinations

offered by the NBRC or other examinations as approved by
the Council including:

Recredential exam
Pediatric/perinatal specialty exam
Pulmonary function credentialing exams
Advanced practitioner exam

8.3.5.5 Course preparation
8.3.5.6 Clinical education experience must

be:
8.3.5.6.1 Planned and supervised.
8.3.5.6.2 Extended beyond the basic

level of preparation of the individual who is licensed.
8.3.5.6.3 Based on a planned program

of study.
8.3.5.6.4 Instructed and supervised by

individual(s) who possess the appropriate credentials related
to the discipline being taught.

8.3.5.6.5 Conducted in a clinical
setting.

8.4 Educational Providers
8.4.1 Continuing education contact hours

awarded for activities/programs approved by the following
are appropriate for fulfilling the continuing education
requirements pursuant to these regulations:

American Association for Respiratory Care.
American Medical Association under

Physician Category I.
American Thoracic Society 
American Association of Cardiovascular and

Pulmonary Rehabilitation

      American Heart Association
American Nurses Association
American College of Chest Physicians
American Society of Anesthesiologists
American Sleep Disorders Association
Other professional or educational organizations

as approved periodically by the Council.
8.5 Accumulation of Continuing Education

8.5.1 When a licensee applies for license
renewal, a minimum of twenty (20) contact hours in
activities that update skills and knowledge levels in
respiratory care theory, practice and science is required. The
total of twenty (20) contact hours per renewal period shall
include the following categories:

4 DE Reg. 694 (10/1/00)
      8.5.1.1 A minimum of 12 contact hours of
continuing education required for renewal must be acquired
in a field related to the science and practice of respiratory
care as set forth in Subsection  8.3.3, Subject Matter, 8.3.3.1,
8.3.3.2, or 8.3.3.3.

8.5.1.2 The remaining 8 contact hours of the
continuing education required for renewal may be selected
from Subsection 8.3.3, Subject Matter.

8.5.2 Contact hours, accumulated through
preparation for, presentation of, or participation in activities/
programs as defined are limited to application in meeting the
required number of contact hours per renewal period as
follows:

8.5.2.1 Presentation of respiratory care
education programs, including preparation time, to a
maximum of four contact hours.

8.5.2.2 Presentation of a new respiratory care
curriculum, including preparation, to a respiratory care
education program, to a maximum of four contact hours.

8.5.2.3 Preparation and publication of
respiratory care theory, practice or science, to a maximum of
four contact hours.

8.5.2.4 Research projects in health care,
respiratory care theory, practice or science, to a maximum of
four contact hours.

8.5.2.5 Infection control programs from
facility or agency to a maximum of one contact hour.

8.5.2.6 Presentation or participation in review
or recertification in American Heart Association or Red
Cross provider or instructor programs, such as Advanced
Cardiac Life Support, Basic Life Support, Pediatric
Advanced Life Support, or CPR, to a maximum of two
contact hours per program.

8.5.2.7 Academic course work, related to
health care or health care administration, to a maximum of
four contact hours.

8.6 Review/Approval of Continuing Education Contact
Hours

8.6.1 The Council may review the
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documentation of any respiratory care practitioner’s
continuing education.

8.6.2 The Council may determine whether the
activity/program documentation submitted meets all criteria
for continuing education as specified in these regulations.

8.6.3 Any continuing education not meeting all
provisions of these rules shall be rejected in part or in whole
by the Council.

8.6.4 Any incomplete or inaccurate
documentation of continuing education may be rejected in
part or in whole by the Council. 

8.6.5 Any continuing education that is rejected
must be replaced by acceptable continuing education within
a reasonable period of time established by the Council. This
continuing education will not be counted towards the next
renewal period.

8.6.6 Each license not renewed in accordance
with this section shall expire, but may within a period of
three years thereafter be reinstated upon payment of all fees
as set by the Division of Professional Regulation of the State
of Delaware.

8.6.7 An applicant wishing to reinstate an
expired license shall provide documentation establishing
completion of the required 20 hours of continuing education
during the two-year period preceding the application for
renewal.

4 DE Reg. 694 (10/1/00)

12.0 Sedation and analgesia regulations:
Moderate Sedation – A drug-induced depression of

consciousness during which patients respond purposefully to
verbal commands, either alone or accompanied by light
tactile stimulation.  No interventions are required to maintain
a patent airway and spontaneous ventilation is adequate.
Cardiovascular function is maintained.

Direct Supervision – The physician will be present
during the initial and continued administration of moderate
sedation and will interpret monitoring.

12.1 Certain recognized and accepted respiratory
care procedures may involve the administration of sedative
and analgesic medications by Respiratory Care Practitioners
and the monitoring of patients who have received such
medications. Such procedures include, but are not limited to:

12.1.1 Bronchoscopy
12.1.2 Intubation 
12.1.3 Administration of anesthetic agents during

mechanical ventilation 
12.2 In the process of providing respiratory care,

Respiratory Care Practitioners, under the direct supervision
of a physician with clinical privileges to administer moderate
sedation, may administer sedative and analgesic medications
to induce moderate sedation, pursuant to the order of a
licensed physician, who is licensed and credentialed to
prescribe and administer the particular medication(s). The

route of administration shall be appropriate to the procedure.
12.3 Any administration and monitoring by a

Respiratory Care Practitioner of a sedative or analgesic
which may induce moderate sedation must be:

12.3.1 In accordance with the current version of
the “Practice Guidelines for Sedation and Analgesia by Non-
Anesthesiologist” published by the American Society of
Anesthesiologists as the same may from time to time be
amended, AND,

12.3.2 Undertaken only by Respiratory Care
Practitioners who have successfully completed a formal
educational experience and periodic competency assessment
in the administration of sedatives, and analgesics. Such
training and education shall be expressly approved for
facilities accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting
body approved by federal regulations in which the procedure
is being performed. Such training shall include:

12.3.2.1 Competency assessment for licensed
Respiratory Care Practitioners administering sedation and
analgesic:

12.3.2.1.1 Successfully complete a
formal dysrhythmia or EKG module or course, or the
institution’s approved dysrhythmia competency course.

12.3.2.1.2 Successfully complete a
medication pharmacology competency specific to sedation
and analgesic.

12.3.2.1.3 Current Basic Cardiac Life
Support certification.

12.3.2.1.4 Completion of a department
specific competency related to sedation and analgesic
provided by facilities accredited by a nationally recognized
accrediting body approved by federal regulations.

12.3.2.1.5 Successful completion of the
relevant Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) or
Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) or Neonatal
Resuscitation   Program (NRP) course every two (2) years.

12.3.3 These periodic competencies require
approval in writing by the department medical director or by
another Delaware licensed physician who is in a position to
assess the individual’s qualifications. The Respiratory Care
Practitioner must maintain his or her records of completion
of the formal education and periodic competence
certification for a period of three (3) years.

12.4 Respiratory Care Practitioners shall not
administer sedative or analgesic substances in the home care
environment

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Respiratory Care
Practice Advisory Council is available at:  http://
www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title24/1770
Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council.shtml
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PLUMBING EXAMINERS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code
 Section 1805(b) (24 Del.C. §1805(b))

24 DE Admin. Code 1800

PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Plumbing Examiners in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §1805(b) has proposed changes to its rules 
and regulations as mandated by SB 229. The proposal 
identified crimes that are substantially related to plumbing 
services.

A public hearing will be held at 9:00 a.m. on December 
14, 2004 in the Second Floor Conference Room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board 
Plumbing Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon 
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to 
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

1800 Board of Plumbing Examiners

8.0 Crimes substantially related to plumbing services.
8.1  Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of 

the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of the solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be a crime substantially related to 
plumbing services or in the State of Delaware without regard 
to the place of conviction:

8.1.1 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 
11 Del.C.  §604

8.1.2 Assault in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 
§612

8.1.3 Assault in the first degree.  11 Del.C. 
§613

8.1.4 Manslaughter.  11 Del.C. §632
8.1.5 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree.  11 Del.C. §633
8.1.6 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. §634
8.1.7 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§635
8.1.8 Murder in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §636
8.1.9 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree.  11 Del.C.  §768

8.1.10 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 
11 Del.C.  §769

8.1.11 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770
8.1.12 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C.  §771
8.1.13 Rape in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§772
8.1.14 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773
8.1.15 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C.  §776
8.1.16 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 

Del.C.  §778
8.1.17 Kidnapping in the second degree.  11 

Del.C. §783
8.1.18 Kidnapping in the first degree.  11 Del.C. 

§783A
8.1.19 Arson in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§802
8.1.20 Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C.  §803
8.1.21 Criminal mischief.  11 Del.C.  §811
8.1.22 Burglary in the third degree.  11 Del.C. 

§824
8.1.23 Burglary in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§825
8.1.24 Burglary in the first degree.  11 Del.C. 

§826
8.1.25 Robbery in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§831
8.1.26 Robbery in the first degree.  11 Del.C. 

§832
8.1.27 Theft; lost or mislaid property; mistaken 

delivery. 11 Del.C.  §842
8.1.28 Theft; false pretense.  11 Del.C.  §843
8.1.29 Theft, false promise.  11 Del.C. §844
8.1.30 Theft of services.  11 Del.C.  §845
8.1.31 Extortion.  11 Del.C. §846
8.1.32 Identity theft.  11 Del.C.  §854
8.1.33 Forgery.  11 Del.C. §861
8.1.34 Falsifying business records.  11 Del.C. 

§871
8.1.35 Unlawful use of credit card.  11 Del.C. 

§903
8.1.36 Reencoder and scanning devices.  11 

Del.C. §903A
8.1.37 Insurance fraud.  11 Del.C.  §913
8.1.38 Home improvement fraud.  11 Del.C. 

§916
8.1.39 New home construction fraud.  11 Del.C. 

§ 917
8.1.40 Dealing in children.  11 Del.C. §1100
8.1.41 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C. 

§1108
8.1.42 Sexual solicitation of a child.  11 Del.C. 

§1112A
8.1.43 Perjury in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§1222
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8.1.44 Perjury in the first degree.  11 Del.C. 
§1223

8.1.45 Aggravated harassment.  11 Del.C. §1312
8.1.46 Possession of a deadly weapon during 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1447
8.1.47 Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1447A
8.1.48 Breaking and entering, etc., to place or 

remove equipment.  11 Del.C.  §2410 
8.2 Crimes substantially related to plumbing services 

shall be deemed to include any crimes under any federal law, 
state law, or  valid town, city or county ordinance, that are 
substantially similar to the crimes identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Plumbing 
Examiners is available at:  http://www.state.de.us/
research/AdminCode/title24/1800 Board of Plumbing 
Examiners.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 2104(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §2104(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 2100

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Optometry in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §2104(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations as mandated by SB 229. The proposal identifies 
crimes that are substantially related to the provision of 
optometric services.

A public hearing will be held on December 16, 2004 at 
6:45 p.m. in the Second Floor Conference Room B of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Optometry, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Board at the above 
address. The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

2100 Board of Optometry

14.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
optometry:

14.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice 
of optometry in the State of Delaware without regard to the 
place of conviction:

14.1.1 Aggravated menacing.  11 Del.C. § 602 
(b)

14.1.2 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 
11 Del.C. § 604

14.1.3 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 
degree. 11 Del.C.  § 605.   

14.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 
degree. 11 Del.C. § 606.

14.1.5 Assault in the third degree.  11 Del. C § 
611.

14.1.6 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C. § 
612

14.1.7 Assault in the first degree.  11 Del.C. § 
613.

14.1.8 Abuse of a sports official; felony.  11 
Del.C. § 614.

14.1.9 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C. § 
615.

14.1.10 Terroristic threatening; felony.  11 Del.C.
§ 621.

14.1.11 Unlawfully administering drugs.  11 
Del.C. § 625.

14.1.12 Unlawfully administering controlled 
substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11 
Del.C. §626

14.1.13 Vehicular assault in the first degree. 11 
Del.C. § 629.

14.1.14 Vehicular homicide in the second degree. 
11 Del.C. § 630.

14.1.15 Vehicular homicide in the first degree. 11 
Del.C. § 630A.

14.1.16 Criminally negligent homicide.  11 Del.C.
§ 631.

14.1.17 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. § 632.
14.1.18 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. § 633
14.1.19 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. § 634.
14.1.20 Murder in the second degree; class A 

felony.  11 Del.C. § 635.
14.1.21 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. § 

636.
14.1.22 Promoting suicide. 11 Del.C. § 645.
14.1.23 Abortion.  11 Del.C. § 651.
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14.1.24 Incest.  11 Del.C. § 766.
14.1.25 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. § 768.
14.1.26 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. § 769.
14.1.26 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. § 

770.
14.1.27 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. § 771.
14.1.28 Rape in the second degree.  11 Del.C. § 

772.
14.1.29 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. § 773.
14.1.30 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. § 776.
14.1.31 Bestiality.  11 Del.C. § 777.
14.1.32 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 

Del.C. § 778.
14.1.33 Dangerous crime against a child.  11 

Del.C. § 779.
14.1.34 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. § 

780.
14.1.35 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. § 782.
14.1.36 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 

Del.C. § 783.
14.1.37 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C. § 

783A.
14.1.38 Arson in the third degree.  11 Del.C. § 

801.
14.1.39 Arson in the second degree.  11 Del.C. § 

802.
14.1.40 Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803.
14.1.41 Criminal mischief.  11 Del.C. § 811.
14.1.42 Burglary in the third degree.  11 Del.C. § 

824.
14.1.43 Burglary in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§ 825.
14.1.44 Burglary in the first degree.  11 Del.C. § 

826.
14.1.45 Possession of burglar’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft. 11 Del.C. § 828.
14.1.46 Robbery in the second degree.  11 Del.C. § 

831.
14.1.47 Robbery in the first degree.  11 Del.C. § 

832.
14.1.48 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§835.
14.1.49 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§836.
14.1.50 Shoplifting; felony.  11 Del.C. § 840.
14.1.51 Use of illegimate retail sales receipt or 

Universal Product Code Label; felony.  11 Del.C. § 840A.
14.1.52 Extortion. 11 Del.C. § 846.
14.1.53 Use, possession, manufacture, distribution 

and sale of unlawful telecommunication and access devices; 
felony.  11 Del.C. §850.

14.1.54 Receiving stolen property; felony.  11 
Del.C. § 851

14.1.55 Identity theft.  11 Del.C. § 854.
14.1.56   Possession of shoplifters tools or instruments 
facilitating theft. 11 Del.C. § 860.

14.1.57 Forgery; felony; misdemeanor  11 Del.C.
§ 861.

14.1.58 Possession of forgery devices.  11 Del.C. § 
862.

14.1.59 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C. § 
871.

14.1.60 Tampering with public records in the 
second degree  11 Del.C. §873.

14.1.61 Tampering with public records in the first 
degree.  11 Del.C. § 876.

14.1.62 Offering a false instrument for filing.  11 
Del.C. § 877.

14.1.63 Issuing a false certificate.  11 Del.C. § 
878.

14.1.64 Issuing a bad check; felony.  11 Del.C. § 
900.

14.1.65 Unlawful use of credit card; felony.  11 
Del.C. §903.

14.1.66 Reencoder and scanning devices.  11 
Del.C. § 903A.

14.1.67 Deceptive business practices.  11 Del.C. § 
906.

14.1.68 Criminal impersonation. 11 Del.C. § 907.
14.1.69 Criminal impersonation, accident related. 

11 Del.C. § 907A.
14.1.70 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C. § 907B.
14.1.71 Securing execution of documents by 

deception. 11 Del.C. § 909.
14.1.72 Fraudulent conveyance of public lands. 11 

Del.C. § 911.
14.1.73 Fraudulent receipt of public lands.  11 

Del.C. § 912.
14.1.74 Insurance fraud.  11 Del.C. § 913.
14.1.75 Health care fraud.  11 Del.C. § 913A.
14.1.76 Use of consumer identification 

information. 11 Del.C. § 914.
14.1.77 Home improvement fraud.  11 Del.C. § 

916.
14.1.78 New home construction fraud.  11 Del.C.

§ 917.
14.1.79 Unauthorized access.  11 Del.C. § 932.
14.1.80 Theft of computer services.  11 Del.C. § 

933.
14.1.81 Interruption of computer services.  11 

Del.C. § 934.
14.1.82 Misuse of computer system information. 

11 Del.C. § 935.
14.1.83 Destruction of computer equipment.  11 
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Del.C. § 936.
14.1.84 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C. § 1100.
14.1.85 Abandonment of child.  11 Del.C. § 1101.
14.1.86 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11 

Del.C. §1102.
14.1.87 Endangering the welfare of an 

incompetent person.  11 Del.C. § 1105.
14.1.88 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C. § 

1108.
14.1.89 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 

11 Del.C. § 1109.
14.1.90 Possession of child pornography. 11 

Del.C. § 1111.
14.1.91 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school 

zones.  11 Del.C. § 1112.
14.1.92 Sexual solicitation of a child.  11 Del.C. § 

1112A
14.1.93 Bribery.  11 Del.C. § 1201
14.1.94 Receiving a bribe; class E felony.  11 

Del.C. § 1203.
14.1.95 Improper influence. 11 Del.C. § 1207.
14.1.96 Official misconduct. 11 Del.C. §1211.
14.1.97 Perjury in the second degree.  11 Del.C. § 

1222.
14.1.98 Perjury in the first degree.  11 Del.C. § 

1223.
14.1.99 Making a false written statement.  11 

Del.C. § 1233.
14.1.100 Wearing a disguise during the 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. § 239.
14.1.101 Terroristic threatening of public 

officials or public servants. 11 Del.C. § 1240.
14.1.102 Hindering prosecution.  11 Del.C. § 

1244.
14.1.103 Falsely reporting an incident.  11 

Del.C. § 1245.
14.1.104 Abetting the violation of driver’s 

license restrictions.  11 Del.C. § 1249.
14.1.105 Offenses against law-enforcement 

animals. Felony  11 Del.C. § 1250.
14.1.106 Escape in the second degree.  11 

Del.C. § 1252.
14.1.107 Escape after conviction.  11 Del.C. § 

1253.
14.1.108 Assault in a detention facility.  11 

Del.C. § 1254.
14.1.109 Promoting prison contraband; felony; 

misdemeanor.  11 Del.C. § 1256.
14.1.110 Use of an animal to avoid capture; 

felony  11 Del.C. § 1257A.
14.1.111 Misuse of prisoner mail; felony.  11 

Del.C. § 1260.
14.1.112 Bribing a witness.  11 Del.C. § 1261.
14.1.113 Bribe receiving by a witness.  11 

Del.C. § 1262.
14.1.114 Tampering with a witness.  11 Del.C.

§ 1263.
14.1.115 Interfering with child witness.  11 

Del.C. § 1263A.
14.1.116 Bribing a juror.  11 Del.C. § 1264.
14.1.117 Bribe receiving by a juror.  11 Del.C.

§ 1265.
14.1.118 Tampering with a juror.  11 Del.C. § 

1266.
14.1.119 Misconduct by a juror.  11 Del.C. § 

1267.
14.1.120 Tampering with physical evidence. 

11 Del.C. § 1269.
14.1.121 Riot.  11 Del.C. § 1302.
14.1.122 Hate crimes; misdemeanor; felony. 11 

Del.C. §1304.
14.1.123 Aggravated harassment.  11 Del.C. § 

1312.
14.1.124 Stalking.  11 Del.C. § 1312A.
14.1.125 Cruelty to animals; felony.  11 Del.C.

§ 1325.
14.1.126 Animals; fighting and baiting 

prohibited; felony.  11 Del.C. § 1326.
14.1.127 Maintaining a dangerous animal; 

felony.  11 Del.C. § 1327.
14.1.128 Abusing a corpse.  11 Del.C. § 1332.
14.1.129 Trading in human remains and 

associated funerary objects.  11 Del.C. §1333.
14.1.129 Violation of privacy; misdemeanor; 

felony.  11 Del.C. § 1335.
14.1.130 Bombs, incendiary devices, Molotov 

cocktails and explosive devices. 11 Del.C. § 1338.
14.1.131 Adulteration.  11 Del.C. § 1339.
14.1.132 Prostitution.  11 Del.C. § 1342.
14.1.133 Patronizing a prostitute prohibited.  11 

Del.C. § 1343.
14.1.134 Promoting prostitution in the third 

degree.  11 Del.C. § 1351.
14.1.135 Promoting prostitution in the second 

degree.  11 Del.C. § 1352.
14.1.136 Promoting prostitution in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. § 1353.
14.1.137 Permitting prostitution.  11 Del.C. § 

1355.
14.1.138 Carrying a concealed deadly weapon. 

11 Del.C. § 1442.
14.1.139 Carrying a concealed dangerous 

instrument.  11 Del.C. § 1443.
14.1.140 Possessing a destructive weapon.  11 

Del.C. § 1444.
14.1.141 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous 

weapon.  11 Del.C. § 1445.
14.1.142 Possession of a deadly weapon during 
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commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. § 1447.
14.1.143 Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. § 1447A.
14.1.144 Possession and purchase of deadly 

weapons by persons prohibited.  11 Del.C. § 1448.
14.1.145 Criminal history record checks for 

sales of firearms; felony.  11 Del.C. § 1448A.
14.1.146 Wearing body armor during 

commission of felony.  11 Del.C. §1449.
14.1.147 Receiving a stolen firearm.  11 Del.C.

§ 1450.
14.1.148 Theft of a firearm.  11 Del.C. § 1451.
14.1.149 Giving a firearm to person prohibited. 

11 Del.C. § 1454.
14.1.150 Engaging in a firearms transaction on 

behalf of another.   11 Del.C. § 1455.
14.1.151 Unlawfully permitting a minor access 

to a firearm. 11 Del.C. § 1456.
14.1.152 Possession of a weapon in a Safe 

School and Recreation Zone.  11 Del.C. § 1457.
14.1.153 Removing a firearm from the 

possession of a law enforcement officer.  11 Del.C. § 1458.
14.1.154 Possession of a weapon with a 

removed, obliterated or altered serial number.  11 Del.C. § 
1459.

14.1.155 Prohibited acts. cheating devices(a)-
(e), second or subsequent offense.  11 Del.C. § 1471.

14.1.156 Organized Crime and Racketeering. 
11 Del.C. § 1504.

14.1.157 Victim or Witness Intimidation  11 
Del.C. § 3532 & 3533.

14.1.158 Abuse, neglect, mistreatment or 
financial exploitation of residents or patients 16 Del.C. § 
1136(a), (b) and (c). 

14.1.159 Prohibited acts A under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. § 4751(a), (b) and 
(c).

14.1.160 Prohibited acts B under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. § 4752(a) and (b).

14.1.161 Unlawful delivery of noncontrolled 
substance. 16 Del.C. § 4752A.

14.1.162 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, 
illegal drugs,   methamphetamines,Lysergic Acid 
Diethylamide (L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-
methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA). 16 Del.C. § 
4753A (a)(1)-(9).

14.1.163 Possession and delivery of 
noncontrolled prescription drug. 16 Del.C. § 4754A.

14.1.164 Prohibited acts E under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.    16 Del.C. §  4755.(a)(1) and 
(2)

14.1.165 Prohibited acts under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. § 4756(a)(1)-(5) and 
(b).

14.1.166 Hypodermic syringe or needle; 
delivering or possessing;  disposal; 16 Del.C. § 4757.

14.1.167 Keeping drugs in original containers. 
16 Del.C. §  4758.

14.1.168 Distribution to persons under 21 years 
of age.  16 Del.C. §  4761.

14.1.169 Purchase of drugs from minors.  16 
Del.C. § 4761A

14.1.170 Distribution, delivery, or possession 
of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property; 
penalties; defenses.  16 Del.C. §  4767

14.1.171 Distribution, delivery or possession of 
controlled substance in or within 300 feet of park, recreation 
area, church, synagogue or other place of worship.  16 
Del.C. §  4768

14.1.172 Drug paraphernalia.  16 Del.C. § 4771 
(a) and (b).

14.1.173 Possession, manufacture and sale, 
delivery to a minor and advertising of drug paraphernalia. 
16 Del.C. § 4774(a), (b),(c) (d)

14.1.174 Operation of a vessel or boat while 
under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or drugs; third 
and fourth offenses.  23 Del.C. § 2302(a) and § 2305 (3) and 
(4).

14.1.175 Attempt to evade or defeat tax. 30 
Del.C. § 571.

14.1.176 Failure to collect or pay over tax.  30 
Del.C. § 572.

14.1.177 Failure to file return, supply 
information or pay tax.  30 Del.C. § 573.

14.1.178 Fraud and false statements.  30 Del.C.
§ 574.

14.1.179 Obtaining benefit under false 
representation. 31 Del.C. § 1003.

14.1.180 Reports, statements and documents. 
31 Del.C. § 1004(1), (2), (3), (4), (5)

14.1.181 Kickback schemes and solicitations. 
31 Del.C. § 1005.

14.1.182 Conversion of payment.  31 Del.C. § 
1006.

14.1.183 Unlawful possession or manufacture 
of proof of insurance.  21 Del.C. § 2118A.

14.1.184 Temporary registration violations 
related to providing false information.  21 Del.C.  § 2133(a) 
(1)-(3).

14.1.185 False statements.  21 Del.C. § 2315.
14.1.186 Altering or forging certificate of title, 

manufacturer’s certificate of origin, registration card, vehicle 
warranty or certification sticker or vehicle identification 
plate.  21 Del.C. § 2316.

14.1.187 False statements; incorrect or 
incomplete information.  21 Del.C. § 2620.

14.1.188 License to operate a motorcycle, 
motorbike, etc.  21 Del.C. § 2703.
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14.1.189 Issuance of a Level 1 Learner’s 
Permit and Class D operator’s license to persons under 18 
years of age.  21 Del.C. § 2710.

14.1.190 Unlawful application for or use of 
license or identification   card.  21 Del.C. § 2751.

14.1.191 False statements.  21 Del.C. § 2752.
14.1.192 Driving vehicle while license is 

suspended or revoked.  21 Del.C. § 2756.
14.1.193 Duplication, reproduction, altering, or 

counterfeiting of driver’s licenses or identification cards.  21 
Del.C. § 2760(a) and (b).

14.1.194 Driving after judgment prohibited.  21 
Del.C. § 2810.

14.1.195 False statements.  21 Del.C. § 3107.
14.1.196 Driving a vehicle while under the 

influence or with a prohibited alcohol content.  21 Del.C. § 
4177 (3) and (4).

14.1.197 Duty of driver involved in accident 
resulting in injury or death to any person.   21 Del.C. § 4202.

14.1.198 Duty to report accidents; evidence. 21 
Del.C. § 4203.

14.1.199 Possession of motor vehicle master 
keys, manipulative keys, key-cutting devices, lock picks or 
lock picking devices and hot wires.  21 Del.C. § 4604(a).

14.1.200 Tampering with vehicle.  21 Del.C. § 
6703.

14.1.201 Receiving or transferring stolen 
vehicle.  21 Del.C. § 6704.

14.1.202 Removed, falsified or unauthorized 
identification number on vehicle, bicycle or engine; removed 
or affixed license/registration plate with intent to 
misrepresent identity.  21 Del.C. § 6705(a)-(e).

14.1.203 Possession of blank title; blank 
registration card;  vehicle identification plate; warranty 
sticker and registration card.  21 Del.C. § 6708(a) and (b).

14.1.204 Removal of warranty or certification 
stickers; vehicle identification plates; confidential vehicle 
identification numbers. 21 Del.C. § 6709(a).

14.1.205 Unlawful possession of assigned 
titles, assigned registration cards, vehicle identification 
plates and warranty stickers.  21 Del.C.  § 6710(a).

14.1.206 Offenses [involving meat and poultry 
inspection including  bribery or attempted bribery or 
assaulting or impeding any person in the performance of his 
duties] (felony)   3 Del.C. § 871

14.1.207 Fraudulent Written Statements  3 
Del.C. § 10049

14.1.208 Fraudulent Certificate of Registration 
or Eligibility Documents 3 Del.C. § 10050

14.1.209 Prohibited trade practices against 
infirm or elderly] 6 Del.C. § 2581

14.1.210 Auto Repair Fraud victimizing the 
infirm or elderly  6 Del.C. § 4909A

14.1.211 Possession or use of false weights. 6 

Del.C. § 5134
14.1.212 Violations of the Securities Act 6 

Del.C. § 7322
14.1.213 Unauthorized Acts against a Service 

Guide or Seeing Eye Dog 7 Del.C. § 1717
14.1.214 Interception of Communications 

Generally; Divulging Contents of Communications 11 
Del.C. § 2402

14.1.215 Manufacture, Possession or Sale of 
Intercepting Device.  11 Del.C.§ 2403

14.1.216 Breaking and Entering, Etc. to Place 
or Remove Equipment 11 Del.C. § 2410

14.1.217 Obstruction, Impediment or 
Prevention of Interception.  11 Del.C. § 2412

14.1.218 Obtaining, Altering or Preventing 
Authorized Access.   11 Del.C. § 2421

14.1.219 Divulging Contents of 
Communications.  11 Del.C. § 2422

14.1.220 Installation and Use Generally [of pen 
trace and trap and trace devices]. 11 Del.C. § 2431

14.1.221 Aggravated Act of Intimidation.  11 
Del.C. § 3533

14.1.223 Attempt to Intimidate. 11 Del.C.§ 
3534

14.1.224 Disclosure of Expunged Records. 11 
Del.C. § 4374

14.1.225 Violation of reporting provisions re: 
SBI.  11 Del.C. § 8523

14.1.226 Failure of child-care provider to 
obtain information required under § 8561 or for those 
providing false information. 11 Del.C. § 8562

14.1.227 Providing false information when 
seeking employment in a public school.  11 Del.C. § 8572

14.1.228 Filing False Claim [under Victims’ 
Compensation Fund].  11 Del.C. § 9016

14.1.229 Alteration, Theft or Destruction of 
Will. 12 Del.C. § 210

14.1.230 Violation of reporting requirements 
involving abuse under § 903. 16 Del.C. § 914

14.1.231 Coercion or intimidation involving 
health-care decisions and falsification, destruction of a 
document to create a false impression that measures to 
prolong life have been authorized. 16 Del.C. § 2513(a) and 
(b).

14.1.232 Violations related to the  sale, 
purchase, receipt, possession, transportation, use, safety and 
control of explosive materials other than 16 Del.C. § 7103. 
16 Del.C. § 7112

14.1.233 Operation of a Vessel or Boat while 
under the Influence of Intoxicating Liquor and/or Drugs  23 
Del.C. § 2302 (3) and (4)

14.1.234 License Requirements.  24 Del.C. § 
901

14.1.235 Sale to Persons under 21 or 
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Intoxicated Persons.  24 Del.C. §903
14.1.236 Failure to make Reports of Persons 

who are Subject to Loss of Consciousness   24 Del.C. § 1763
14.1.237 [Interference] Relating to the Blind 

and “Seeing Eye Dogs” 31 Del.C. § 2117
14.1.238 Abuse, neglect, exploitation or 

mistreatment of infirm adult.  31 Del.C. § 3913(a), (b) and 
(c).

14.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
optometry shall be deemed to include any crimes under any 
federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Optometry is 
available at:  http://www.state.de.us/research/
AdminCode/title24/2100 Board of Optometry.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3306(a)  (24 Del.C. §3306(a))

24 DE Admin. Code 3300

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §3306(a) has proposed changes 
to its rules and regulations as mandated by SB 229. The 
proposed regulations have identified crimes that are 
substantially related to the provision of veterinary medicine.

A public hearing will be held at 1:00 PM on December 
14, 2004 in the Second Floor Conference Room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Veterinary Medicine, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon 
Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE  19904.  Persons wishing to 
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine

11.0 Crimes substantially related to the provision of 
Veterinary Medicine

11.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit the following crimes, is 
deemed to be a crime substantially related to the provision of 
Veterinary Medicine in the State of Delaware without regard 
to the place of conviction:

11.1.1 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 
11 Del.C. §604

11.1.2. Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 
degree.  11 Del.C. §605

11.1.3 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 
degree.  11 Del.C. §606

11.1.4 Assault in the second degree.  11 Del.C.
§612

11.1.5 Assault in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §613
11.1.6 Terroristic threatening.  11 Del.C. §621 

Felony
11.1.7 Unlawfully administering drugs.  11 

Del.C. §625
11.1.8 Unlawfully administering controlled 

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs.  11 
Del.C. §626

11.1.9 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 
degree.  11 Del.C. §633

11.1.10 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 
degree.  11 Del.C. §634

11.1.11 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C.
§635

11.1.12 Murder in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §636
11.1.13 Incest.  11 Del.C. §766
11.1.14 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11Del.C.§769
11.1.15 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770
11.1.16 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §771
11.1.17 Rape in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§772
11.1.18 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773
11.1.19 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. §776
11.1.20 Bestiality.  11 Del.C. §777
11.1.21 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 

Del.C. §778
11.1.22 Dangerous crime against a child.  11 

Del.C.. §779
11.1.23 Female genital mutilation.  11 Del.C. §780
11.1.24 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 

11 Del.C.  §782
11.1.25 Kidnapping in the second degree.  11 

Del.C.  §783
11.1.26 Kidnapping in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§783A
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11.1.27 Dealing in children.  11 Del.C.  §1100
11.1.28 Endangering the welfare of a child.  11 

Del.C.  §1102
11.1.29 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1108
11.1.30 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 

11 Del.C.  §1109
11.1.31 Possession of child pornography.  11 

Del.C. §1111
11.1.32 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school 

zones.  11 Del.C.  §1112
11.1.33 Sexual solicitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1112A
11.1.34 Obstructing the control and suppression of 

rabies.  11 Del.C.  §1248
11.1.35 Offenses against law-enforcement 

animals.  11 Del.C. §1250
11.1.36 Use of an animal to avoid capture.  11 

Del.C.  §1257A (Felony)
11.1.37 Hate crimes.  11 Del.C. §1304 (Felony)
11.1.38 Cruelty to animals.  11 Del.C.  §1325
11.1.39 The unlawful trade in dog or cat by-

products.  11 Del.C.  §1325A
11.1.40 Animals; fighting and baiting prohibited. 

11 Del.C.  §1326
11.1.41 Maintaining a dangerous animal.  11 

Del.C.  §1327
11.1.42 Abusing a corpse.  11 Del.C.  §1332
11.1.43 Promoting prostitution in the second 

degree.  11 Del.C.  §1352
11.1.44 Promoting prostitution n the first degree. 

11 Del.C.  §1353
11.1.45 Possession of a weapon in a Safe School 

and Recreation Zone.  11 Del.C.  §1457 (Felony)
11.1.46 Violations.  16 Del.C. §1136
11.1.47 Prohibited acts A; penalties.  16 Del.C.

§4751
11.1.48 Prohibited acts B; penalties.  16 Del.C.

§4752
11.1.49 Unlawful delivery of noncontrolled 

substance.  16 Del.C.  §4752A
11.1.50 Prohibited acts C; penalties.  16 Del.C.

§4753
11.1.51 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal 

drugs, methamphetamines, Lysergic Acid Diethylamide 
(L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3, 4 
methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA).  16 Del.C.
§4753A

11.1.52 Prohibited acts D; penalties.  16 Del.C.
§4754

11.1.53 Possession and delivery of noncontrolled 
prescription drug.  16 Del.C.  §4754A

11.1.54 Distribution to persons under 21 years of 
age; penalties.  16 Del.C.  §4761

11.1.55 Purchase of drugs for minors; penalties. 
16 Del.C. §4761A

11.1.56 Distribution, delivery, or possession of 
controlled substance within 1,000   feet of school property; 
penalties; defenses.  16 Del.C. §4767

11.1.57 Distribution, delivery or possession of 
controlled substance in or within  300 feet of park, recreation 
area, church, synagogue or other place of worship; penalties; 
defenses.  16 Del.C.  §4768

11.1.58 Unauthorized Acts against a Service 
Guide or Seeing Eye Dog (class D   felony).  7 Del.C.  §1717 

11.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
Veterinary Medicine shall be deemed to include any crimes 
under any federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Veterinary 
Medicine is available at:  http://www.state.de.us/
research/AdminCode/title24/3300 Board of Veterinary 
Medicine.shtml

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  26 Delaware Code,

Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))

ORDER NO. 6486

PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 54

AND NOW, this 5th day of October, 2004;
WHEREAS, on July 6, 2004, new legislation was 

enacted by the Delaware General Assembly, found at 74
Delaware Laws, Chapter 317, which granted the Delaware 
Public Service Commission (the “Commission”) jurisdiction 
to regulate Wastewater Utilities having more than fifty 
customers (hereinafter collectively “Wastewater Utilities”), 
including the jurisdiction to grant and revoke Certificates of 
Public Convenience and Necessity (“CPCN”); and 

WHEAREAS, under 74 Delaware Laws, Chapter 317, 
any person or entity in the business of a Wastewater Utility 
as of June 7, 2004, and subject to the supervision and 
regulation of the Commission under the new legislation, is 
required to file with the Commission a schedule of its rates 
in effect as of June 7, 2004 within 120 days of enactment of 
the new legislation in such form as the Commission may 
require; and

WHEREAS, under the new legislation the rates of 
Wastewater Utilities are deemed in effect on a temporary 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 5, MONDAY NOVEMBER 1, 2004

http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/index.html


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 647
basis and applications for initial rate changes must be filed 
with the Commission within 180 days of enactment of the 
legislation; and 

WHEREAS, in preparation for the implementation of 
this new jurisdiction over Wastewater Utilities, the 
Commission deems it appropriate, advisable, and in the 
public interest to promulgate regulations intended to govern 
certain practices and procedures before the Commission 
relating to such Wastewater Utilities; and

WHEREAS, the Commission has considered proposed 
regulations governing Wastewater Utilities prepared by the 
Commission’s Staff; now, therefore,

IT IS SO ORDERED:
1. Pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a), and 29 Del.C.

§§10111 et seq., the Commission promulgates proposed 
Regulations Governing Wastewater Utilities Subject to the 
Jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission 
(“Regulations”).

2. The Secretary of the Commission shall 
transmit to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the 
Delaware Register the notice and the proposed Regulations 
attached hereto as Exhibits “A” and “B” respectively.

3. The Secretary of the Commission shall cause 
the notice attached hereto as Exhibit “A” to be published in 
The News Journal and Delaware State News newspapers on 
or before Tuesday, October 12, 2004.

4. The Secretary of the Commission shall cause 
the notice attached hereto as Exhibit “A” to be sent by U.S. 
mail to all Wastewater Utilities currently operating under a 
CPCN in Delaware and all persons who have made timely 
written requests for advance notice of the Commission’s 
regulation-making proceedings.

5. William F. O’Brien is designated the Hearing 
Examiner for this matter pursuant to 26 Del.C. §502 and 29
Del.C. Ch. 101, and is authorized to organize, classify, and 
summarize all materials, evidence, and testimony filed in 
this docket, to conduct the public hearing contemplated 
under the attached notice, and to make proposed findings 
and recommendations to the Commission concerning Staff’s 
proposed regulations on the basis of the materials, evidence, 
and testimony submitted. Hearing Examiner O’Brien is 
specifically authorized, in his discretion, to solicit additional 
comment and to conduct, on due notice, such public 
hearing(s) as may be required to develop further materials 
and evidence concerning any later submitted proposed 
regulations or amendments thereto. Francis J. Murphy, 
Esquire, is designated Staff Counsel for this matter. The 
public utilities regulated by the Commission are notified that 
they may be charged for the cost of this proceeding under 26
Del.C. §114.

6. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and 
authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may 
be deemed necessary or proper.  

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Donald J. Puglisi, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner

ATTEST: Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

E X H I B I T  “A”

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF
REGULATIONS CONCERNING THE 

IMPLEMENTATION
 OF 74 DELAWARE LAWS, CHAPTER 317 (2004) 

GRANTING THE DELAWARE PUBLIC
SERVICE COMMISSION THE JURISDICTION 

TO REGULATE WASTEWATER UTILITIES,
INCLUDING THE JURISDICTION TO GRANT

AND REVOKE CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC
CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY FOR 

WASTEWATER UTILITES
(OPENED OCTOBER 5, 2004)

PSC REGULATIONS DOCKET NO. 54
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware General Assembly has enacted legislation 
which granted the Delaware Public Service Commission (the 
“Commission”) jurisdiction over wastewater utilities serving 
fifty or more customers in the aggregate. The legislation also 
made applications by such wastewater utilities for a 
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (“CPCN”) 
subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission.  The new law 
is found at 74 Delaware Laws, Ch. 317. In the past, 
wastewater utilities filed applications for CPCNs with the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control (“DNREC”). The new legislation became effective 
on July 6, 2004.  

In connection with the exercise of jurisdiction over 
wastewater utilities, the Commission is promulgating 
proposed new regulations to govern wastewater utilities. The 
first regulation contains definitions of terms used in the 
regulations.  The second addresses the scope of the 
regulations themselves, which are intended to govern certain 
practices and procedures before the Commission relating to 
wastewater utilities.

Two regulations set forth requirements for an 
application for a CPCN, including requirements for a new 
wastewater utility that has never before been awarded a 
CPCN.  A related regulation addresses the review, by the 
Commission’s Staff, of a new CPCN application for 
compliance with statutes, applicable Rules of the 
Commission, and the regulations. A second related 
regulation requires the Commission Staff to cooperate with 
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DNREC, the Department of Public Health, and other 
interested state, local and federal authorities, when an 
application for a CPCN is under review.

Two of the regulations address the notice to be given 
landowners in the proposed service territory covered by a 
wastewater utility’s CPCN application, and the time limits 
within which affected landowners must object to the CPCN, 
and/or request a public hearing.  One of the regulations 
governing notice contains a proposed statement to the 
landowners that would have to be included in the notice sent 
by a wastewater utility applying for a CPCN.

One of the new regulations is designed to govern 
proceedings to suspend or revoke a CPCN, and identifies the 
factors that must be present for the Commission to make a 
finding of good cause to suspend or revoke a CPCN. The 
same regulation confirms that such proceedings before the 
Commission must be conducted in accordance with 
applicable provisions of the Delaware Administrative 
Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. Ch. 101, Subchapter III.  

The final regulation relates to municipalities, 
government agencies, and wastewater authorities and 
districts that engage in or desire to engage in the business of 
a wastewater utility.  
The Commission has authority to promulgate the regulations 
pursuant to 26 Del.C. § 209 (a), 29 Del.C. § 10111 et seq., 
and 74 Delaware Laws, Ch. 317.

The Commission hereby solicits written comments, 
suggestions, and compilations of data, briefs, or other 
written materials concerning the proposed regulations.  Ten 
(10) copies of such materials shall be filed with the 
Commission at its office located at 861 Silver Lake 
Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware, 
19904. All such materials shall be filed with the 
Commission on or before November 30, 2004.  Persons 
who wish to participate in the proceedings but who do not 
wish to file written materials are asked to send a letter 
informing the Commission of their intention to participate on 
or before November 30, 2004.

In addition, the Commission will conduct at least one 
public hearing concerning the proposed regulations on 
December 8, 2004, beginning at 10:00 AM. The hearing will 
continue on December 9, 2004 at 10:00 AM, if necessary. 
The public hearing will be held at the Commission’s Dover 
office, located at the address set forth in the preceding 
paragraph. Interested persons may present comments, 
evidence, testimony, and other materials at that public 
hearing.

The regulations and the materials submitted in 
connection therewith will be available for public inspection 
and copying at the Commission’s Dover office during 
normal business hours. The fee for copying is $0.25 per 
page. The regulations may also be reviewed, by appointment 
during normal business hours, at the office of the Division of 
the Public Advocate located at the Carvel State Office 

Building, 4th Floor, 820 North French Street, Wilmington, 
Delaware 19801 and will also be available for review on the 
Commission’s website:  www.state.de.us/delpsc.

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to 
participate in these proceedings should contact the 
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed 
to facilitate such review or participation. Such contact may 
be in person, by writing, by telephone, or otherwise. The 
Commission’s toll-free telephone number (in Delaware) is 
(800) 282-8574. Any person with questions may also contact 
the Commission Staff at (302) 739-4247 or by Text 
Telephone at (302) 739-4333. Inquiries can also be sent by 
Internet e-mail to knickerson@state.de.us.

E X H I B I T   “B”

REGULATIONS CONCERNING THE 
JURISDICTION OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE 
COMMISSION TO GRANT AND REVOKE 

CERTIFICATES OF PUBLIC CONVENIENCE AND 
NECESSITY TO PROVIDE WASTEWATER 

SERVICES

1.0 Definitions
1.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, should have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Commission” means the Delaware Public Service 
Commission.

“CPCN” means a Certificate of Public Convenience 
and Necessity.

“DNREC” means the Delaware Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control.

“DPA” means the Division of the Public Advocate.
“DPH” means the Division of Public Health of the 

Delaware Department of Health and Social Services
“Staff” means the Staff of the Delaware Public Service 

Commission.
“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware 

Public Service Commission.

2.0 Scope and Authority
2.1 This regulation governs the process by which non-

governmental wastewater utilities serving, or planning to 
serve, fifty or more customers (in the aggregate) apply for 
and are granted a CPCN to provide wastewater services. 
This regulation also contains procedures for municipalities, 
governmental agencies, and wastewater authorities and 
districts, to notify the Commission of its service territory and 
planned service extensions.

2.2 Authority for these regulations is granted by 26 
Del.C. §203D.

2.3 Proceedings before the Commission for wastewater 
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utilities shall be conducted in accordance with the 
procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, Subchapter III, 
including any proceedings where the Commission finds that 
an applicant is unwilling or unable to provide safe, adequate, 
and reliable wastewater service to existing customers, or is 
currently subject to such a Commission finding under 26 
Del.C. §203D(e).

3.0 Application for a Certificate of Public Convenience 
and Necessity

3.1 An application for a CPCN to begin the business of 
a wastewater utility, or to extend or expand the business or 
operations of an existing wastewater utility, shall be made in 
writing and filed with the Commission.  The application 
shall include all information and supporting documentation 
required by statute, the Rules of Practice and Procedure of 
the Commission, and these regulations, and shall not be 
considered complete until all such information and 
supporting documentation has been filed with the 
Commission.  At the time of filing, the application shall:

3.1.1 Contain a statement explaining the 
reason(s) why the Commission should grant the CPCN, and 
include citations to all statutory and regulatory authority 
upon which the application is based, or upon which the 
applicant relies to support the application.

3.1.2 A statement identifying any significant 
element of the application that, to the applicant's knowledge, 
represents a departure from prior decisions of the 
Commission.

3.1.3 State the name, address, telephone 
number, and e-mail address (if any) of the individual to be 
notified if Staff determines there are deficiencies in the 
application.

3.1.4 For applications submitted under 26 
Del.C. §203D(d)(2), contain the supporting documentation 
required by 26 Del.C. §203D, that all landowners of the 
proposed territory have been notified of the application by 
certified mail.

3.1.5 A complete list of county tax map parcel 
number(s), and the corresponding names and mailing 
addresses of the property owners, for the area covered by the 
application.

3.1.6 Copies of the tax map or maps with the 
proposed service territory clearly marked.

3.1.7 A check made out to the Delaware Public 
Service Commission as specified in Title 26.

3.2 If an application for a CPCN involves a wastewater 
utility project or service that requires the review, approval or 
authorization of any other state, local or federal regulatory 
body, including DNREC, the application to the Commission 
shall so state, and include the following:

3.2.1 A statement of the current status of such 
application or applications.

3.2.2 If a determination has been made with 

respect to such application by the other regulatory body or 
bodies, the applicant shall include a copy of any permit, 
order, certificate, or other document issued by the regulatory 
body; and,

3.2.3 If a determination is made by the other 
regulatory body or bodies with respect to such application 
after the filing of the CPCN application with the 
Commission, but prior to its determination, a copy of any 
permit, order, certificate or other document issued by the 
regulatory body or bodies shall be filed with the Commission 
within six working days of receipt.

3.3 If not presently on file with the Commission, an 
applicant for a CPCN shall provide the following with the 
CPCN application:

3.3.1 A corporate history including dates of 
incorporation, subsequent acquisitions and/or mergers;

3.3.2 A complete description of all relationships 
between the applicant and its parent, subsidiaries, and 
affiliates, and a chart or charts that depict the inter-company 
relationships;

3.3.3 A map or maps identifying all areas, 
including towns, cities, counties, or other government 
subdivisions to which service is currently provided; 

3.3.4 Annual reports to stockholders for the 
applicant, its subsidiaries, and its parent for the last two 
years; 

3.3.5 The applicant's audited financial 
statements, 10K's, and all proxy material for the last two 
years;

3.3.6 Any report or document submitted by the 
applicant within the preceding twelve months to any state or 
federal authorities in any proceeding where an issue has been 
raised regarding the applicant's failure to comply with any 
statute, regulation, rule, or order related to the provision of 
safe, adequate and reliable wastewater services to its existing 
customers; and

3.3.7 Evidence of comprehensive general 
liability insurance.

3.3.8 Supporting documentation not filed with 
the application shall be made available upon request for Staff 
review

3.4 An applicant for a CPCN that proposes to extend 
services into the service territory of a municipality, 
government agency or wastewater authority or district must 
submit written documentation that such entity has been 
informed of and has approved such an expansion by the 
applicant.

3.5 During the course of the Staff investigation of an 
application, the Commission may require an applicant to 
furnish additional information specifically related to the 
statutory standards for Commission review and 
consideration and pertaining to the financial viability of the 
applicant.

3.6 An applicant for a CPCN shall submit one original 
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and 10 copies of the application and shall include three 
copies of applicable maps.

4.0 Additional Requirements for a CPCN Application 
Filed by a New Wastewater Utility

4.1 Except for municipalities, governmental agencies 
and wastewater authorities and districts, and wastewater 
utilities serving or to serve fewer than 50 customers in the 
aggregate, any new wastewater utility that has not previously 
been awarded a CPCN in Delaware and that will begin 
operations or connect its 50th customer after June 7, 2004, 
must submit the following information with its CPCN 
application:

4.1.1 Evidence that it possesses the financial, 
operational, and managerial capacity to comply with all 
federal, state and local wastewater requirements, by 
maintaining capacity sufficient to meet existing and 
reasonably anticipated future peak daily and monthly 
demands;

4.1.2 A certified copy of the applicant's 
certificate of incorporation or business license if not 
presently on file with the Commission;

4.1.3 Details of plant as to type, capacity, cost, 
status of plant construction, construction schedule, and 
estimated number of customers to be served; and

4.1.4 A map showing the location and size, in 
acres or square feet, of the proposed territory, and the 
composition, diameter, length, and location of pipes to be 
initially installed.

4.2 Any existing wastewater utility that did not obtain a 
CPCN from the Commission by December 3, 2004 as 
required by 26 Del.C. §203D(a)(2), must comply with the 
requirements set forth in Section 4.1 of these rules.

5.0 Review of Application; Deficiencies in the 
Application

5.1 The Staff shall review all CPCN applications for 
compliance with applicable statutes and these regulations. 
The Staff will, within twenty-one days after the date of 
filing, specifically identify any deficiencies in the 
application, and promptly notify the applicant of the alleged 
deficiencies.  

5.2 The applicant shall have thirty days from the date of 
the receipt of the notice of the deficiencies in the application 
to file a corrected or supplemental application. The 
Commission may, in its discretion, extend the period to cure 
deficiencies in the application for an additional thirty days.

5.3 Only upon the applicant's filing of a corrected or 
supplemental application correcting the deficiencies shall 
such application be deemed completed and filed with the 
Commission for purposes of the time limits for action by the 
Commission under 26 Del.C. §203D(g)(1).  In the event the 
alleged deficiencies are not cured within the time provided 
hereunder, Staff may move the Commission to reject the 

utility's application for non-compliance with these 
regulations.

5.4 Nothing in this regulation shall prevent an applicant 
from filing an application in draft form for Staff's informal 
review and comment without prejudice. Such informal 
review and comment shall not be unreasonably withheld by 
Staff; nor shall this regulation affect or delay the filing date 
of applications that comply with applicable statutes and 
these regulations, or whose non-compliance is deemed 
minor or immaterial by the Commission or its Staff.

6.0 Filing of Application with DNREC and DPH; 
Coordination and Cooperation

6.1 An applicant for a CPCN shall file an identical copy 
of the application and its supporting documentation with 
DNREC and DPH within three days of filing the same with 
the Commission. 

6.2 Staff shall send a written request to DNREC and 
DPH soliciting written comment as to whether it is aware of 
any matters indicating that the applicant has been unwilling 
or unable to provide safe, adequate and reliable wastewater 
services to existing customers.

6.3 Staff shall coordinate and cooperate with DNREC 
and DPH during the process of reviewing an application for 
a CPCN.  Staff shall also coordinate and cooperate with the 
DPA and other interested state, local, and federal authorities.

7.0 Provision of Notice to all Landowners, Governing 
County and Adjacent Towns and/or Cities of the 
Proposed Territory

7.1 Pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. 
§203D(d)(2), prior to filing the application with the 
Commission, the applicant shall provide written notice of the 
anticipated filing of the application to all landowners of the 
proposed territory.

7.2 Such written notice shall be sent to all landowners 
of the proposed territory not more than sixty days and not 
less than thirty days prior to the filing of the application, and 
must include, at a minimum, the following statement:

“Pursuant to 26 Delaware Code, Section 203D(d)(2), 
an application for a Certificate of Public Convenience 
and Necessity (CPCN) will be submitted to the 
Delaware Public Service Commission on or about {enter 
date of intended submission}.  Your property has been 
included within an area {enter name of your 
organization} intends to serve with public wastewater 
and we are required to inform you of certain 
information.  The area to be served is {provide a 
shorthand description of the service area}.  If you agree 
to the inclusion of your property in the proposed service 
area, no action on your part is required.  Inclusion of 
your property in a CPCN area does not obligate you to 
connect immediately to our system; however, should 
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your existing system fail and public wastewater services 
are deemed to be legally and publicly available, you 
may then be required to connect.”

“Under Delaware law, the Public Service Commission 
cannot grant a CPCN to {enter name of your 
organization} if a majority of the landowners in the 
proposed wastewater service area object to the issuance 
of the CPCN.  If you object to the issuance of a CPCN 
for the proposed area that includes your property, you 
must notify the Commission, in writing, within sixty 
days of your receipt of this notice or within thirty days 
of the filing of the completed application for a CPCN, 
whichever is greater.”

“You may also request a public hearing on this matter. 
The purpose of the public hearing will be to demonstrate 
why it would not be in the public interest for the 
Commission to grant {enter name of your organization} 
a CPCN to provide wastewater services to the proposed 
area.   A request for a public hearing must be made in 
writing to the Commission within sixty days of your 
receipt of this notice or within thirty days of the filing of 
the completed application for a CPCN, whichever is 
greater.”

“Written notice of your decision to object to the issuance 
of the CPCN or your written request for a public 
hearing, should be sent to the Secretary of the Delaware 
Public Service Commission at the address shown below. 
Any written notice sent to the Commission must include 
the description of the service area referred to above, 
your tax parcel identification number, and the name of 
the applicant so the Commission will be able to identify 
the CPCN application to which your notice is related.  

Secretary
Delaware Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite100
Dover, Delaware 19904

 “Questions regarding objections or public hearings may 
be directed to: {enter the name or title, and the address 
and telephone number of the Commission's contact 
person(s)}.”

8.0 Landowners Who Object or Request a Public 
Hearing; Time Limits; Extension of Time

8.1 In proceedings involving an application submitted 
under 26 Del.C. §203D(d)(2), any landowner whose 
property, or any part thereof, is located within the proposed 
territory to be served may object to the issuance of the CPCN 

or request a public hearing.  The applicant shall inform the 
Commission of the name and address of any landowner who 
notifies the applicant of their objection to the issuance of the 
CPCN or who requests a public hearing.  Any written notice 
received from a landowner shall be filed with the 
Commission.

8.2 The Commission shall maintain records identifying 
any landowner who has provided written notice of their 
objection to the issuance of the CPCN or who has requested 
a public hearing.  Such records shall be made available to the 
applicant. 

8.3 Written notice from a landowner either objecting to 
the issuance of the CPCN or requesting a public hearing 
must be filed with the Commission within sixty days from 
the date of the landowner's receipt of a written notice from 
the wastewater utility that complies with Section 7.0 of these 
rules, or within thirty days of the filing of the completed 
application, whichever period is greater.

8.4 The Commission may, in the exercise of its 
discretion, extend the time to object or to request a public 
hearing even though the period in which to do so has 
expired.

9.0 Suspension or Revocation of CPCN for Good Cause
9.1 Pursuant to the provisions of 26 Del.C. § 203D(j), 

the Commission may suspend or revoke a CPCN, or a 
portion thereof, for good cause. Good cause shall consist of:

9.1.1 A finding made by the Commission of 
material noncompliance by the holder of the certificate with 
any provisions of Titles 7, 16 or 26 dealing with the 
provision of wastewater services to customers, or any order 
or rule of the Commission relating to the same; or,

9.1.2 A finding by the Commission that the 
wastewater utility has failed in a material manner to provide 
adequate or safe wastewater service to customers as 
evidenced by inadequate customer service, insufficient 
investment in, or inadequate operation of, the system or 
otherwise; and, 

9.1.3 A finding by the Commission that, to the 
extent practicable, service to customers will remain 
uninterrupted under an alternative wastewater utility or a 
designated third party capable of providing adequate 
wastewater service; and,

9.1.4. A finding by the Commission that to the 
extent practicable, any financial consequences to customers 
served by the utility subject to a revocation are appropriately 
mitigated. (74 Del. Laws, Ch. 317, §6.)

9.2 In addition to the factors described in Section 9.1 
above, the Commission may consider one or more of the 
following factors in determining whether to suspend or 
revoke a CPCN: 

9.2.1 Fraud, dishonesty, misrepresentation, self-
dealing, managerial dereliction, or gross mismanagement on 
the part of the wastewater utility; or
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9.2.2 Criminal conduct on the part of the 
wastewater utility; or

9.2.3 Actual, threatened or impending 
insolvency of the wastewater utility; or

9.2.4 Persistent, serious, substantial violations 
of statutes or regulations governing the wastewater utility in 
addition to any finding of non-compliance required by 
Section 9.1.1 above; or 

9.2.5 Failure or inability on the part of the 
wastewater utility to comply with an order of any other 
federal, state or local regulatory body after the wastewater 
utility has been notified of its non-compliance and given an 
opportunity to achieve compliance; or

9.2.6 Such other factors as the Commission 
deems relevant to the determination to suspend or revoke a 
CPCN.

9.3 Proceedings before the Commission to suspend or 
revoke a CPCN for good cause shall be conducted in 
accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 
101, Subchapter III.

9.4 The Commission will not suspend or revoke a 
CPCN for good cause without first affording the wastewater 
utility a reasonable opportunity to correct the conditions that 
are alleged to constitute the grounds for the suspension or 
revocation of the CPCN, unless the Commission finds that 
the conduct of a wastewater utility poses an imminent threat 
to the health and safety of its customers, to the general public 
or to the environment.

10.0 Abandonment, Sale of Utility, and Transfer of 
CPCN

10.1 A utility seeking to abandon service, sell, or 
transfer a CPCN shall file an application with the 
Commission and must receive Commission approval prior to 
such abandonment, sale, or transfer.

10.2 Any entity acquiring a CPCN from the 
divesting utility must submit a CPCN application and 
receive Commission approval as specified in these 
regulations.

11.0 Municipalities, Governmental Agencies, and 
Wastewater Authorities and Districts

11.1 As provided for in 26 Del.C. §203D(b), 
municipalities, governmental agencies, and wastewater 
authorities and districts engaging in or desiring to engage in 
the business of a wastewater utility are not required to obtain 
a CPCN from the Commission for any existing or new 
service territory, or expansion of an existing territory.

11.2 These entities shall provide to the Commission 
a description of any existing service territory for wastewater 
service no later than October 4, 2004, and shall promptly 
give notice and a description of any extension of wastewater 
territory or new wastewater service territory to the 
Commission.

11.3 A municipality, governmental agency or 
wastewater authority or districts shall not extend service in 
areas where the Commission has granted a CPCN to another 
wastewater utility without receiving the approval of the 
Commission.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code,

Section 10103 (3 Del.C.  §10103)

PUBLIC NOTICE

 The Thoroughbred Racing Commission proposes to 
enact a new Rule, Rule 11.14.6, to provide for a 
recommended $1,000 fine for owners or trainers who scratch 
their  horses in Delaware in order to race in another 
jurisdiction.  The Commission also proposes to amend Rule 
19.3.2 to raise the appeal bond from $250 to $400 to cover 
increased costs associated with court reporter fees.  The 
Commission will hold a public hearing on these proposed 
changes on January 11, 2005 at 10:15 a.m. at the Delaware 
Department of Agriculture, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, 
Dover, DE  19901.  The Commission will accept written 
comments on the proposed rules until January 10, 2005. 
Written comments should be sent to John Wayne, 
Administrator of Racing.

Proposed Rule Amendments of the Delaware 
Thoroughbred Racing Commission

11.0  Entries, Subscriptions, Delegations
11.1 Entering Required:

11.1.1 No horse shall be qualified to start in any 
race unless such horse has been and continues to be duly 
entered therein.  Entries or subscriptions for any horse, or the 
transfer of same, may be refused or cancelled by the 
Licensee without notice or reason given therefor.

11.2 Procedure for Making Entries:
11.2.1 It shall be the absolute responsibility of the 

Trainer to report bleeders from other jurisdictions to the 
Commission's Veterinarian or Stewards on official forms 
from that State prior to entry.

11.2.2 All entries, subscriptions, declarations and 
scratches shall be lodged with the Racing Secretary and shall 
not be considered as having been made until received by the 
Racing Secretary who shall maintain a record of time of 
receipt of same.

11.2.3 Every entry must be in the name of such 
horse's registered Owner, as completely disclosed and 
registered with the Racing Secretary under these Rules and 
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made by the Owner, Trainer or a person deputized by such 
Owner or Trainer.

11.2.4 Every entry must be in writing, or by 
telegraph promptly confirmed in writing, except that an 
entry may be made by telephone to the Racing Secretary but 
must be confirmed in writing should the Stewards, the 
Racing Secretary or an assistant to the Racing Secretary so 
request.

11.2.5 Every entry shall clearly designate the 
horse so entered. When entered for the first time during a 
meeting, every horse shall be designated by name, age color, 
sex, sire, dam and broodmare sire, as reflected by such 
horse's registration certificate.

11.2.6 No horse may race unless correctly 
identified to the satisfaction of the Stewards as being the 
horse duly entered;

11.2.7 In establishing the identity of a horse, 
responsibility shall be borne by any person attempting to 
identify such horse as well as the Owner of such horse, all 
such persons being subject to appropriate disciplinary action 
for incorrect identification.

11.2.8 At the time of entering a horse, the Trainer 
of such horse or his representative, must declare to the 
Racing Secretary or his representative, whether the horse 
will race on any medication permitted by these Rules and 
shall not deviate from such declaration.

11.2.9 Within the discretion of the Stewards, a list 
of horses so declared to race on medication may, in whole or 
in part, be announced, released for publication or otherwise 
made public without liability for the accuracy thereof.

11.2.10 In order to claim an apprentice allowance 
at the time of entry, an Apprentice Jockey must be 
designated by name.

11.2.11  No alteration may be made in any entry 
after the closing of entries, except that an error may be 
corrected.

11.2.12  No horse may be entered in two races to 
be run on the same day.

11.3 Limitation as to Spouses:
Repealed 1/6/92.

11.4 Mutuel Entries:
11.4.1 All horses entered in the same race and 

owned wholly or in part by the same owner or spouse thereof 
shall be joined as a mutuel entry and a single betting interest. 
Horses shall be regarded as having a common owner when 
an owner of one horse, either as an individual or as a 
licensed member of a partnership or as a licensed 
shareholder of a corporation, has an ownership interest in 
another horse, either as an individual or as a licensed 
shareholder of a partnership or as a licensed shareholder of a 
corporation.  No trainer of any horse shall have any 
ownership interest in any other horse in the same race unless 
such horses are coupled as a single wagering interest.

11.4.2 No owner shall have more than one horse 

start in a trifecta or twin-trifecta race. No mutuel entry shall 
start in a trifecta or twin-trifecta race. However, the Stewards 
may, in their discretion, permit mutuel entries to start in 
stakes races and simulcast races when there is trifecta 
wagering.

11.4.3 Except with the permission of the 
Stewards, no more than two horses having such common ties 
through ownership as to require them to be joined as a 
mutuel entry may be entered in a purse race. When making 
such double entry, a preference for one of the horses may be 
made.

11.4.4 In no case may two horses having 
common ties through ownership start in a purse race to the 
exclusion of a single interest.

Revised:  6/19/92
11.5 Subscriptions:

11.5.1 Nominations to or entry of a horse in a 
stakes race is a subscription.  Any subscriber to a stakes race 
may transfer or declare such subscription prior to closing.

11.5.1.1  Joint subscription and entries may be 
made by any one of the joint Owners of a horse and each 
such Owner shall be jointly and severally liable for all 
payments due thereon.

11.5.1.2  Death of a horse or a mistake in its 
entry, when such horse is eligible, does not release the 
subscriber or transferee from liability for all stakes fees due 
thereon.  No fees paid in connection with a subscription to a 
stakes race that is run shall be refunded.

11.5.1.3  Death of a nominator or original 
subscriber to a stakes race shall not render void any 
subscription, entry or right of entry thereunder; all rights, 
privileges and obligations shall attach to the successor 
Owner, including the legal representatives of the decedent.

11.5.1.4  When a horse is sold privately, sold at 
public auction or claimed, stakes engagements for such 
horse shall be transferred automatically with such horse to its 
new Owner, except that if such horse is transferred to a 
person whose registration is suspended or otherwise 
unqualified to race or enter such horse, then subscriptions 
shall be void as of the date of such transfer.

Rule 11.4 Rev. July 1977
Rule 11.4 Rev. July 1978

11.5.1.5 All stakes fees paid toward a stakes 
race shall be allocated to the winner thereof unless otherwise 
provided by the conditions for such stakes race.  In the event 
a stakes race is not run for any reason, all such subscription 
fees paid shall be refunded.

11.6 Closings:
11.6.1 Entries for purse races and subscriptions to 

stakes races shall close at the time designated by the 
Licensee in the previously published conditions for such 
races.  If a race is not split, no entry, subscription or 
declaration shall be accepted after such closing time, except 
that in the event of an emergency or if a purse race fails to 
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fill, then the Racing Secretary may, with the approval of a 
Steward, extend such closing time.

11.6.2 If the hour of closing is not specified for 
stakes races, then subscriptions and declarations therefor 
may be accepted until midnight of the day of closing, 
provided they are received in time for compliance with every 
other condition of such race.

11.6.3 Entries which have closed shall be 
compiled without delay by the Racing Secretary and, along 
with declarations, be posted.

11.7 Number of Starters in a Race:
11.7.1  The maximum number of starters in any 

race shall be limited to the number of starting positions 
afforded by the Licensee's starting gate and such extensions 
thereof as can be positioned across the width of the track at 
the starting point for such race.  Such maximum number of 
starters shall be further limited by the number of horses 
which, in the opinion of the Stewards, considering the safety 
of the horses and riders and the distance from the start of the 
first turn, can be afforded a fair and equal start.

11.7.2  If any purse race in the printed condition 
book fails to fill, then the Licensee may cancel or declare off 
such race.

11.8 Split or Divided Races:
11.8.1 In the event a race is cancelled or declared 

off, the Licensee may split any race programmed for the 
same day and which may previously have been closed.

11.8.2 When a purse race is split, forming two or 
more separate races, the Racing Secretary shall give notice 
thereof not less than 15 minutes before such races are closed 
so as to grant time for the making of additional entries to 
such split races.

11.8.3 Division of entries upon the splitting of 
any race shall be made in accordance with the conditions 
under which entries and subscriptions therefor were made 
and in the absence of specific prohibition by such conditions:

11.8.3.1 Horses originally joined as a mutuel 
entry shall, to the greatest extent possible, be placed in 
different divisions of a split race;

11.8.3.2 Division of other entries in any split 
race may be made according to age, sex or weight, except 
that such entries not so divided shall be divided by lot so as 
to provide a number of betting interests as nearly equal as 
possible for each division of such split race.

11.9 Post Positions:
11.9.1 Post positions for all races shall be 

determined by lot drawn in the presence of those making the 
entries for such race.  Post positions in split races also shall 
be redetermined by lot in the presence of those making the 
entries for such split race.  The Racing Secretary shall assign 
pari-mutuel numbers for each starter to conform with the 
post position drawn, except when a race includes two or 
more horses joined as a single betting interest.

11.10 Also Eligible List:

11.10.1  If the number of entries for a purse race 
exceeds the number of horses permitted to start in such race, 
then the names of as many as six (6) additional horses may 
be drawn as provided in Rule 11.9. The names drawn shall 
be posted, in the order they were drawn, as "also eligible" to 
start.

11.10.2 After any horses have been excused from a 
purse race at scratch time, the starting and post position of 
such horses as needed from the also-eligible list shall be 
determined by the order in which they appear on the entry 
sheet.

Revised:  10/26/95
11.10.3  Any Owner or Trainer of any horse on the 

also-eligible list who does not wish to start such horse in 
such race shall so notify the Racing Secretary prior to scratch 
time for such race and such horse shall forfeit any preference 
to which it may have been entitled.

11.10.4  Where entries are closed two racing days 
prior to the running of a race, any horse on an also-eligible 
list, which has also been drawn into a race as a starter for the 
succeeding day, shall not be given an opportunity to be 
drawn into the earlier race for which he had been listed as 
also-eligible.

11.11 Preferred List; Stars:
11.11.1 The Racing Secretary shall maintain a list 

of horses which were entered but denied an opportunity to 
race because eliminated from a race programmed in the 
printed condition book either by overfilling or failure to fill. 
Horses so eliminated shall be awarded a preference "star" for 
each such elimination.  As to drawing in from the also-
eligible list to subsequent races of similar distance and 
similar conditions, such horses shall be given preference 
over horses with fewer number or no preference stars.

11.11.2  No preference shall be given a horse 
otherwise entitled thereto for a race if such horse is also 
entered for a race on the succeeding day.

11.11.3  No preference shall be given a horse 
otherwise entitled thereto for a race unless preference is 
claimed at the time of entry by indicating same on the entry 
with the word "preferred".

11.12 Arrears:
11.12.1  No horse may be entered or raced if the 

Owner thereof is in arrears as to any stakes fees due by such 
Owner, or is indebted in any sum to Licensee, except with 
the approval of the Racing Secretary.  (Also, see Rule 6.11).

11.13 Declarations:
11.13.1  Withdrawal of a horse from a race before 

closing thereof by the Owner or Trainer or person deputized 
by either, such being known as a "declaration', shall be made 
in the same manner as to form, time and procedure as 
provided for the making of entries.  Declarations and 
scratches are irrevocable. No declaration fee shall be 
required by any Licensee.

11.14 Scratches:
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11.14.1  Withdrawal of a horse from a race after 
closing thereof by the Owner or Trainer or person deputized 
by either, such being known as a "scratch", shall be 
permitted only under the following conditions:

11.14.1.1 A horse may be scratched from a 
stakes race for any reason at any time up until 45 minutes 
before post time for that race.

11.14.1.2 No horse may be scratched from a 
purse race without approval of the Stewards and unless such 
intention to scratch has been filed in writing with the Racing 
Secretary or his assistant at or before the time conspicuously 
posted as "scratch time".  Scratch of one horse coupled in a 
mutuel entry in a purse race must be made at or before the 
posted scratch time, unless permission is granted by the 
Stewards to allow both horses to remain in the race until a 
later appointed scratch time therefor.

11.14.1.3  In purse races, horses that are 
physically disabled or sick shall be permitted to be scratched 
first.  Horses that are not physically disabled or sick may be 
scratched only with the permission and in the manner 
prescribed by the Stewards.

11.14.1.4 Entry of any horse which has 
been scratched or excused from starting by the Stewards 
because of a physical disability or sickness shall not be 
accepted until the expiration of three calendar days after 
such horse was scratched or excused.

11.14.1.5 The Stewards will review all 
cases in which a horse is entered to run at a licensed track in 
Delaware, while appearing in the entries in another racing 
jurisdiction, during the five day entry period for Delaware. 
It shall be a violation of these Rules for a licensee to scratch 
a horse entered to race in Delaware in order for said horse to 
race in another jurisdiction within the five day entry period. 
Violations of this Rule, absent mitigating circumstances, will 
be subject to fines of not less than $1,000 and no more than 
$2,500.  This rule shall not pertain to Handicap and Stake 
races. 

4 DE Reg. 179 (7/1/00)

19.0 Hearings, Reviews and Appeals
19.1 Procedure Before Stewards:

19.1.1 Before holding any Stewards' hearing 
provided for under these Rules, notice in writing must be 
given to any party charged with a violation, other than a 
routine riding offense occurring in a race, unless such notice 
is waived in writing by the person charged.

19.1.2 The notice required by the preceding 
subsection shall include:

19.1.2.1 Identification of the specific Rule or 
Rules involved, the infraction for which he is charged and a 
brief statement of the facts supporting such charge.

19.1.2.2  The time and place of hearing.
19.1.2.3 The statement that the party charged 

may be represented by legal counsel or by a representative of 

any racing trade organization of which he is a member.
19.1.3 All Stewards' hearings shall be closed and 

the Stewards shall cause no public announcement to be made 
concerning a matter under investigation until the conclusion 
of the hearing and the party charged has been notified of the 
decision.

19.1.4 The hearing shall be conducted by no less 
than two of the Stewards in such a manner as to ascertain and 
determine the substantial rights of the parties involved and 
shall not be bound by technical rules of procedure and 
evidence. In emergencies during the live racing meet or 
during periods when there is no live racing, a hearing may be 
conducted by only one Steward.

7 DE Reg. 316 (9/1/03)
19.1.5 All testimony at such hearings shall be 

given under oath.  A record shall be made of the hearing, 
either by use of a tape recorder or by court reporter's 
transcript, or otherwise, if funds for such are made available 
from any source. The Stewards will not be required to 
receive testimony under oath in cases where their ruling is 
based upon a review of the video tapes of a race.

19.1.6 If, at the conclusion of their hearing, the 
Stewards find that a Rule has been violated, they promptly 
shall issue a written ruling which sets forth the name of 
every person charged with a violation, the Rule violated, 
their finding as to the violation of such Rule and the penalty 
affixed.  Copies of such rulings shall be delivered to each 
party in interest and to the Commission and the Licensee, 
and posted in the Racing Secretary's office.

19.2 Review and Appeal:
19.2.1 Any party who is penalized by any order 

or ruling of the Stewards may apply to the Commission for a 
review of such Stewards' order or ruling.

19.3 Application for Review:
19.3.1 An application to the Commission for the 

review of a Steward's order or ruling must be made within 
forty-eight (48) hours after such order or ruling is issued by 
written or oral notice and shall:

19.3.1.1 Be in writing and addressed to the 
Commission's Administrator of Racing, accompanied by a 
filing fee of $250 plus an additional fee of $150 to cover the 
cost of the court reporter's attendance.  The Commission, for 
just cause, may refund the $250 portion of the filing fee.  In 
no event shall the advance payment of the court reporter's fee 
be refunded;

19.3.1.2 Contain the signature of the applicant 
and the address to which notices may be mailed to applicant;

19.3.1.3 Set forth the order or ruling requested 
to be reviewed and the date thereof;

19.3.1.4  Succinctly set forth the reasons for 
making such application;

19.3.1.5  Request a hearing;
19.3.1.6  Briefly set forth the relief sought; and
19.3.1.7 Provide assurance to the Commission 
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that all expenses occasioned by the appeal will be borne by 
the applicant; and

19.3.1.8 Contain a sworn, notarized statement 
that the applicant has a good faith belief that the appeal is 
meritorious and is not taken merely to delay the penalty 
imposed by the stewards.

19.4 Disposition of Review Application:
19.4.1 After consideration of any such 

application for review, the Commission may grant the 
application, defer it or reject it.  The applicant shall be 
advised of the Commission's disposition of his application 
for review.

19.5 Commission Hearing:
19.5.1 If the Commission grants any such 

application for review, before holding any hearing thereon, it 
shall:

19.5.1.1 Give written notice forthwith to the 
applicant and all other necessary parties personally or by 
mail, including:

19.5.1.1.1 Time and place of such hearing 
as designated by the Commission Chairman, but such time 
shall not be less than five (5) days and no more than thirty 
(30) days after service of notice unless at the request of a 
party and in order to provide a fair hearing.

19.5.1.1.2  Except to applicant, a copy of 
the application for review.

19.5.2 The Commission may request the 
Attorney General to appoint a special prosecutor to carry the 
burden of proof showing a Rule violation if the matter 
involves a Rule violation and requires a proceeding of an 
adversary nature, such prosecutor being an attorney who has 
had no prior participation in the matter on review.

19.5.3 The Commission may request the 
Attorney General, or a member of his staff other than the 
special prosecutor, to serve as law officer for the 
Commission to assist the presiding officer in rendering 
decisions of a judicial nature.

19.5.4 The Commission shall permit all parties 
that so desire to be represented by counsel and, to the extent 
it deems necessary or appropriate, shall permit all parties to 
respond and present evidence and argument on all issues 
involved.

19.5.5 The Commission may issue, under the 
hand of its Chairman and the seal of the Commission, 
subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and the production 
of books, papers and documents, before the Commission, 
and may administer oaths or affirmations to the witnesses 
whenever, in the judgment of the Commission, it may be 
necessary for the effectual discharge of its duties.

19.5.6 If any person refuses to obey any 
subpoena or to testify or produce any books, papers or 
documents, then any Commissioner may apply to the 
Superior Court of the county in which he or the Commission 
may be sitting and, thereupon, the Court shall issue its 

subpoena requiring the person to appear and to testify or 
produce any books, papers or documents.

19.5.7 Whoever fails to obey or refuses to obey a 
subpoena of the Superior Court shall be guilty of contempt 
of court and shall be punished accordingly.

19.5.8 False swearing on the part of any witness 
shall be deemed perjury and shall be punished as such.

19.5.9 All tape recordings or stenographic 
recordings taken and transcriptions made of the hearing or 
any part thereof shall be paid for by such parties as request 
that such a tape or stenographic record be made of the 
hearing, except that additional transcripts thereof shall be 
paid for by the person desiring such copies.

19.5.10 The Commission may exclude evidence 
that is irrelevant, immaterial or unduly repetitious and may 
admit evidence that would be inadmissible under the Civil 
Rules of Procedure but is evidence of the type commonly 
relied upon by reasonably prudent men in the conduct of 
their affairs.

19.5.11 All or part of the evidence may be received 
in written form if the interest of the appearing parties will not 
be substantially prejudiced thereby.

19.5.12 The Commission may take official notice 
of technical facts or customs or procedures common to 
racing.

19.5.13 The Commission may make an informal 
disposition of the matter by stipulation, agreed settlement, 
consent order or default.

19.5.14 Upon conclusion of the hearing, the 
Commission shall take the matter under advisement, shall 
render a decision as promptly as possible and shall issue a 
ruling in final adjudication of the matter.  Such ruling shall 
set forth the name of every person charged with a Rule 
violation; the Rule number and pertinent parts of the Rule 
alleged to have been violated; a separate statement of 
reasons for the decision; and penalties fixed by the 
Commission, if any.  Copies of such ruling shall be delivered 
to each party in interest, posted in the Racing Secretary's 
office of the Licensee where the matter arose and forwarded 
to the national office of the National Association of State 
Racing Commissioners.

19.5.15 The Commission, for just cause, may 
refund the filing fee to the applicant.

Added:  9/27/94
19.6 Continuances:

19.6.1 All applications for a continuance of a 
scheduled hearing shall be in writing, shall set forth the 
reasons therefor and shall be filed with the Commission's 
Administrator of Racing after giving notice of such 
application by mail or otherwise to all parties or their 
attorneys, including counsel for the stewards. The 
Commission will not consider any continuance request from 
counsel for an appellant unless counsel has filed a written 
entry of appearance with the Commission.  For attorneys 
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who are not members of the Delaware bar, those attorneys 
must comply with the provisions of Delaware Supreme 
Court Rule 72 for admission pro hac vice before the 
Commission. The Commission will not consider any 
continuance request from attorneys who are not members of 
the Delaware bar unless and until that attorney has been 
formally admitted under Delaware Supreme Court Rule 72 
as the attorney of record for the appellant. 

19.6.2 When application is made for continuance 
of a cause because of the illness of an applicant, witness or 
counsel, such application shall be accompanied by a medical 
certificate attesting to such illness and inability.

19.6.3 An application for continuance of any 
hearing must be received by the Commission at least ninety-
six (96) hours prior to the time fixed for the hearing. An 
application received by the Commission within the 96-hour 
period will not be granted except for extraordinary reasons. 
The Commission will not consider any request for a 
continuance absent evidence of good cause for the request. 
A failure by an appellant to take reasonable action to retain 
counsel shall not be considered good cause for a 
continuance.

19.6.4 If the Commission approves the 
application for continuance, it shall, concurrently with such 
postponement, set a date for the continued hearing.

3 DE Reg. 1541 (5/1/00)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Thoroughbred Racing 
Commission are available from the Registrar’s Office.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d)  (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 610

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

610 Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems Component 
(14 Del.C. §1604 of Chapter 16 Comprehensive School 
Discipline Improvement Program August 1998)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Repeal Existing Regulation and Replace with New 

Regulations

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to repeal 14 DE 

Admin. Code 610 Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems 

Component (14 Del.C. §1604 of Chapter 16 Comprehensive 
School Discipline Improvement Program August 1998) and 
replace it with two separate regulations (14 DE Admin. 
Code 609 District and School Based Intervention Services 
and 14 DE Admin. Code 611 Consortium Discipline 
Alternative Programs for Treatment of Severe Discipline 
Problems). The new regulations 609 and 611 streamline and 
clarify the requirements for each type of program, School 
Based Programs and Alternative Program Sites.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulations help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards? The regulations address alternative programs for 
discipline purposes which should have a positive effect on 
student achievement.

2. Will the regulations help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? The regulations are designed 
to ensure that all students receive an equitable education 
even if they are assigned to an alternative program for 
discipline purposes.

3. Will the regulations help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected? Health and safety 
are part of the design of the alternative programs for 
discipline purposes.

4. Will the regulations help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected? The alternative programs help 
assure that students’ rights are respected.

5. Will the regulations preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level? The regulations will preserve the 
same authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level as the existing regulation does.

6. Will the regulations place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels? The regulations 
will not place any additional or any unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulations be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies? The regulations 
will be consistent with and not an impediment to the 
implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 5, MONDAY NOVEMBER 1, 2004

http://www.doe.state.de.us/


PROPOSED REGULATIONS658
9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulations? There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the regulations.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulations? There may be 
some additional costs associated with the development of 
alternative programs for discipline purposes but this was true 
before under the existing regulation.

610 Treatment of Sever Discipline problems Component 
(14 Del.C. Section 1604 of Chapter 16 Comprehensive 
School Discipline Improvement Program August 1998

1.0 Population to be Served: Except as otherwise provided 
herein, all students who are expelled by a local school 
district or are in danger of being expelled shall be placed in 
the alternative program unless the student is expelled for an 
offense equivalent to a violation of one of the following: 11 
Del.C. §613 (Assault in the First Degree); or 11 Del.C. 
§1457 (Possession of a Weapon in a Safe School and 
Recreation Zone); or 11 Del.C. §802 (Arson in the Second 
Degree); or 11 Del.C. §803 (Arson in the First Degree); or 
11 Del.C. §771 (Unlawful Sexual Penetration in the Second 
Degree); or 11 Del.C. §772 (Unlawful Sexual Penetration in 
the First Degree); or 11 Del.C. §773 (Unlawful Sexual 
Intercourse in the Third Degree); or 11 Del.C. §774 
(Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in the Second Degree); or 11 
Del.C. §775 (Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in the First 
Degree); or 16 Del.C. §4753A (Trafficking Marijuana, 
Cocaine, Illegal Drugs or Methamphetamine).

2.0 Non-referral of Students: In any case in which an 
expelled student is not referred to an alternative program, the 
decision of the local school district to expel shall state with 
specificity the reason for non-referral and the evidence in 
support thereof.

3.0 Informing the Legal Guardian: Districts shall inform the 
legal guardian of students for whom expulsion is being 
considered or who are expelled of the alternative education 
options that are then currently available to the students. 
These options shall include but not be limited to the 
alternative program, GED programs, James H. Groves High 
School and others.

4.0 Age/Grade Level to be Served: Eligible students shall 
be primarily those who are enrolled in grades 6 through 12, 
however students in lower grades may also be served 
through these funds.

5.0 Placement in Alternative Programs: Each district shall 
establish an Alternative Placement Team to review each case 
and prescribe the appropriate placement for each student. 
The Placement Team, in concert with the Alternative 

Program staff, shall design an Individual Service Plan (ISP) 
for each student that will include educational goals, 
behavioral goals, and services needed by both the student 
and his/her family. The ISP shall include a tentative re-entry/
transition plan. The Alternative Placement Team shall be 
composed of a representative of the Alternative Program 
staff; a district level coordinator who will be designated by 
the superintendent; the building level principal, assistant 
principal or other person as appropriate; student’s custodial 
adult; guidance counselor and/or school social worker; 
representatives from DSCYF such as Youth Rehabilitation 
Service or other worker with whom the family is involved as 
appropriate. Other school, alternative program, or agency 
personnel may be invited as needed and determined by the 
Placement Team. Students who are being placed in the 
Alternative Program as a transition from DSCYF facilities 
will have an ISP developed in concert with the DSCYF 
facility team, the Alternative Placement Team, and the 
student’s custodial adult. If students from either a school 
district or DSCYF facility are students with disabilities, 
appropriate special education staff shall be included in 
placement considerations. The Alternative Placement Team 
and the IEP Team may be the same.

6.0 September 30 Enrollment Count: A student enrolled in 
an Alternative Program may be counted in the regular school 
enrollment count. If enrolled the previous year in a special 
education program in the reporting school, the student may 
continue to be reported for the same level of special 
education service as was received the previous year. If 
enrolled the previous year in a vocational program in the 
reporting school, the student may be reported as enrolled in 
the next vocational course in the program series.

7.0 Alternative Program Setting: The Alternative Program 
setting shall be apart from the regular school setting, 
however, a part of a school building may be used for these 
programs so long as the students do not interact with the 
regular school population or use any school facility at the 
same time as the regular school population. Use of other 
agency facilities (Boys and Girls Club, YMCA, YWCA, 
etc.) is encouraged. Settings shall meet safety regulations for 
student occupancy as outlined in Delaware Code.

8.0 Alternative Program Design: The Alternative Program 
shall include an educational program designed to maintain 
and improve skills at least in core academic areas such as 
English/language arts, mathematics, science, and social 
studies that will allow students to re-enter the regular school 
program with a reasonable chance and expectation for 
success. Every effort shall be made to provide courses 
comparable to the regular school setting for each student. 
Opportunities for academic acceleration will also be 
provided. The academic program should focus on applied 
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learning activities that encourage students’ active 
participation in the learning process as opposed to work 
sheets and other “seat oriented” drill exercises. Credit for 
work accomplished in the Alternative Program setting shall 
be automatically transferred to the regular school. Included 
in the academic core studies should be study skills, test 
taking strategies, and academic confidence building. 
Counseling and other services shall be delivered on-site for 
students.

9.0 Staffing: Instructional staff shall include at least two 
certified teachers in the major academic subject areas who 
can provide the lead for academic instruction and at least two 
instructional/service aides. Priority should be given to hiring 
staff who are qualified to teach special education.

10.0 Students With Disabilities: Notwithstanding any of 
the provisions to the contrary, students with disabilities shall 
be served pursuant to the provisions of Regulation 925, 
Children with Disabilities. 

See 2 DE Reg. 374 (9/1/98)
See 7 DE Reg. 330 (9/1/03)

609  District and School Based Intervention Services

1.0 Each school district shall provide services for students 
whose behavior disrupts the classroom setting and creates 
distractions that impede the learning process, but who are 
not eligible for placement in an alternative program pursuant 
to 14 DE Admin. Code 611.  School districts may offer such 
services based on the identified needs of the district and its 
individual schools, subject to the requirements of this 
regulation.

2.0 Application for Funding:
Any school district requesting an incentive or 

supplemental grant to provide intervention services shall 
apply for such funds using the LEA Consolidated 
Application process provided by the Department of 
Education.

2.1 Any incentive or supplemental grant approved as 
part of the LEA Consolidated Application process shall be in 
the amount appropriated for that purpose by law.

3.0 Student Population to be Served:
Services funded under this regulation may be provided 

to any student in grades K-12, subject to the terms of the 
district’s approved LEA Consolidated Application. 
Notwithstanding any of the provisions to the contrary, 
students with disabilities shall be served pursuant to the 
provisions in 14 DE Admin. Code 925.

4.0 School Based Intervention Programs:
If a district, through its LEA Consolidated Application, 

provides a School Based Intervention Program as part of the 
services provided to disruptive students, such Program shall 
meet the following requirements:

4.1 A School Based Intervention Program shall include 
both short term and long term intervention strategies.  Such 
strategies may include character education, short or long 
term counseling to improve behavior which impacts 
academic performance, and methods to identify the need to 
refer students for additional services either within the district 
or to other agencies.  The Program shall also include support 
services to provide a smooth transition for students who are 
returning to their regular school from a Consortium 
Discipline Alternative Program or from a Department of 
Services to Children, Youth and their Families (DSCYF) 
setting.

4.2 The decision to place a student in the School Based 
Intervention Program shall be made by the student’s 
Intervention Team.  The Intervention Team shall include the 
building principal or assistant principal, school nurse, 
counselor, social worker (if the student receives social work 
services), and a teacher familiar with the student. Other 
individuals, including parents, guardians or Relative 
Caregivers, may be invited as appropriate. 

4.3 When placing a student with disabilities in a School 
Based Intervention Program, the Intervention Team and a 
student’s IEP team may be the same as long as the 
membership of the IEP team meets the requirements of 14 
DE Admin. Code 925.  

5.0 Evaluation of Services:
Any local school district receiving a grant pursuant to 

this regulation shall submit an annual evaluation report on 
the effectiveness of its District and School Based 
Intervention Services.  Such report shall be submitted as part 
of the LEA Consolidated Application process.

611 Consortium Discipline Alternative Programs for 
Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems

1.0 Eligible Students:
Except as otherwise provided in this regulation, any 

student who is expelled by a local school district, who is 
subject to expulsion or who otherwise seriously violates the 
district discipline code shall be eligible for placement at a 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Program site.

1.1 Local school districts may place a student at a 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Program site only if the 
district board:

1.1.1 Has expelled the student for a violation of 
the district’s discipline code; or

1.1.2 Determines that the student has engaged in 
conduct that permits the board to expel the student; or

1.1.3 Determines that the student has exhibited 
such severe discipline problems that expulsion is imminent.
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1.2 School districts may place a student in a 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Program site for 
classroom or school environment disruptions only if:

1.2.1 Such disruptions are chronic and 
repetitive; and 

1.2.2 The student has participated in all 
available School Based Intervention Programs pursuant to 
14 DE Admin. Code 609 and continues to routinely and 
seriously disrupt the classroom and impede the learning of 
other students.

2.0 Ineligible students:
Any student expelled or suspended pending expulsion 

for behavior equivalent to a violation of the following is not 
eligible for, and may not be placed at a Consortium 
Discipline Alternative Program site.

2.1 11 Del.C. §613 Assault in the First Degree; class C 
felony; or

2.2 11 Del.C. §1457 Possession of a Weapon in a Safe 
School and Recreation Zone;
class D, E, or F: class A or B misdemeanor; or

2.3 11 Del.C. §802 Arson in the Second Degree 
affirmative defense; class D felony; or

2.4 11 Del.C. §803 Arson in the first degree; class C 
felony; or

2.5 11 Del.C. §770 Rape in the fourth degree; class C 
felony; or

2.6 11 Del.C. §771 Rape in the third degree; class B 
felony; or

2.7 11 Del.C. §772 Rape in the second degree class B 
felony; or

2.8 11 Del.C. §773 Rape in the first degree class A 
felony; or

2.9 16 Del.C. §4753A Trafficking in marijuana, 
cocaine, illegal drugs, methamphetamine, LSD, or designed 
drugs or 

2.10 Any behavior equivalent to or greater than the 
offenses in 2.1 through 2.9.

3.0 Written Decision:
When a school board expels a student but determines 

the student shall not be placed at a Consortium Discipline 
Alternative Program under subsections 2.1.1 to 2.1.10 of this 
regulation, the school district’s written decision shall address 
with specificity the reason for non-placement and the 
evidence in support thereof. Such decisions shall be reported 
to the Delaware Department of Education’s Office of School 
Climate and Discipline within five working days.

4.0 Informing the Parents, Guardians, Relative 
Caregiver or Students (if the Student is Age 18 or Older):

Districts shall inform the parents, guardians, Relative 
Caregiver or students (if the student is age 18 or older) of the 
alternative education options that are then currently available 

to them if the students have been expelled or expulsion is 
being considered.  These options may include, but are not be 
limited to, the Consortium Discipline Alternative Program, a 
GED Program, James H. Groves High School and continued 
special education and related services for children with 
disabilities as determined by the student’s individual 
eligibility for participation in such programs. A student’s 
eligibility for such alternative education options is 
determined by the requirements of such programs. 

5.0 Grade Level to be Served:
Eligible students in the Consortium Discipline 

Alternative Program shall be primarily those who are 
enrolled in grades 6 through 12, however students in the 
lower grades may also be served through Alternative 
Program funds.

6.0 Placement at Consortium Discipline Alternative 
Program Sites

6.1 Each district shall establish an Alternative 
Placement Team to review each case and prescribe the 
appropriate placement for students. The Placement Team, in 
concert with the Consortium Discipline Alternative Program 
staff, shall design an Individual Service Plan (ISP) for each 
student that will include educational goals, behavioral goals, 
and services needed by both students and their families. The 
ISP shall include a tentative transition plan.  

6.1.1 The Alternative Placement Team shall be 
composed of a representative of the Consortium Discipline 
Alternative Program staff; a district level coordinator who 
will be designated by the superintendent; the building level 
principal, assistant principal or other person as appropriate; 
the student’s custodial adult; guidance counselor or school 
social worker; and a representative from the Department of 
Services for Children Youth and Their Families (DSCYF) 
with knowledge of the student’s and family’s needs as 
appropriate.  Other individuals may be invited as determined 
by the placement team.  

6.1.1.1 Students who are being placed at a 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Program site as a 
transition from DSCYF facilities shall have an ISP 
developed in concert with the DSCYF facility team, the 
Alternative Placement Team, and the student’s custodial 
adult. 

6.1.2 If students from either a school district or 
DSCYF facility are children with disabilities, appropriate 
special education staff shall be included in placement 
considerations.  The Alternative Placement Team and the 
Individual Education Program (IEP) Team may be the same 
so long as the membership of the IEP Team meets the 
requirements of 14 DE Admin. Code 925.

7.0 September 30 Enrollment Count 
7.1 Students enrolled at a Consortium Discipline 
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Alternative Programs site shall be counted in the enrollment 
of the sending school.  

7.2 Students shall be reported for the level of special 
education service as defined by the current IEP.

7.3 If a student was enrolled the previous year in a 
vocational program in the reporting school, the students shall 
be reported as enrolled in the next vocational course in the 
program series.

8.0 Consortium Discipline Alternative Program Setting
8.1 The Consortium Discipline Alternative Program 

setting shall be apart from the regular school setting, 
however, a part of a school building may be used for these 
programs if the students do not interact with the regular 
school population or use any school facility at the same time 
as the regular school population.

8.1.1 Use of other agency facilities (Boys and 
Girls Club, YMCA, YWCA, etc.) is encouraged. 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Program settings shall 
meet all applicable health and safety laws and regulations for 
student occupancy.

9.0 Consortium Discipline Alternative Program Design
9.1 The Consortium Discipline Alternative Program 

shall include an educational program designed to maintain 
and improve skills aligned to the Delaware State Content 
Standards that will allow students to re-enter the regular 
school program with a reasonable chance and expectation for 
success.  Opportunities for academic acceleration shall also 
be provided.  

9.1.1 The academic program shall include 
applied learning activities that encourage students’ active 
participation in the learning process as opposed to work 
sheets and other “seat oriented” drill exercises.  Study skills, 
test taking strategies for academic confidence building, and 
Character Education shall be integrated with the Delaware 
State Content Standards.

9.1.1.1 Credit for work accomplished in the 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Program setting shall be 
automatically transferred to the sending school.

9.1.2 All students enrolled in Consortium 
Discipline Alternative Programs shall participate in the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP).

10.0 Staffing
Instructional staff shall include educators who are 

licensed and certified in the content areas of English 
language arts, mathematics, science and social studies. 

11.0 Children With Disabilities
Notwithstanding any of the provisions to the contrary, 

children with disabilities shall be served pursuant to the 
provisions of 14 DE Admin. Code 925.

12.0 The Department of Education shall annually 
evaluate the effectiveness of the Consortium Discipline 
Alternative Programs using criteria that includes student 
demographic data, types of interventions employed, and 
prior versus subsequent behavioral and academic patterns, 
parent involvement, agency involvement and recidivism. 

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

851 K-12 Comprehensive Health Education Program

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Re-authorization of Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to re-authorize 14 DE Admin. 
Code 851, K-12 Comprehensive Health Education Program. 
The regulation is due for review under the five year cycle 
prescribed by statute.  Some changes may need to be made, 
but a task force is currently studying issues related to this 
regulation and their work will not be completed by the time 
action is due on the regulation.  Changes will be considered 
following their report and in the meantime the regulation is 
recommended for reauthorization.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the re-authorized regulation help improve 

student achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  Research is indicating a strong connection 
between good health and student achievement.

2. Will the re-authorized regulation help ensure that 
all students receive an equitable education? The re-
authorized regulation addresses health issues not equity 
issues.

3. Will the re-authorized regulation help to ensure that 
all students’ health and safety are adequately protected? 
The re-authorized regulation addresses health issues.

4. Will the re-authorized regulation ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected? The re-authorized 
regulation addresses health issues not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the re-authorized regulation preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level? The re-authorized regulation 
will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of 
decision making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the re-authorized regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
re-authorized regulation will not place any unnecessary 
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reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity? The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the re-authorized regulation be consistent with 
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies? The re-authorized regulation will be consistent with 
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.  

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the re-authorized regulation?  There is no less 
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the re-
authorized regulation.  

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the re-authorized regulation? 
There is no additional cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the re-authorized regulation.   

851 K-12 Comprehensive Health Education Program

1.0 Each school district shall have a sequential, skill-based 
K-12 Comprehensive Health Education Program that 
establishes a foundation of understanding the relationship 
between personal behavior and health and shall include at a 
minimum the following:

1.1 Identification of a district level person to coordinate 
the district program and a coordinator in each building to 
assure compliance at the building level.

1.2 Appointment of persons such as teachers, parents, 
school nurses, community leaders, guidance counselors, law 
enforcement officers and others with expertise in the areas of 
health, family life and safe and drug free schools and 
communities to serve as members of the District 
Consolidated Application Planning Committee.

1.3 The use of the state content standards for health 
education for grades K-12 inclusive of the core concepts: 
alcohol and other drugs, injury prevention, nutrition, 
physical activity, family life and sexuality, tobacco, 
emotional health, personal and consumer health and 
community and environmental health with minimum hours 
of instruction as follows:

1.3.1 In grades K-4, a minimum of thirty (30) 
hours in each grade of comprehensive health education and 
family life education of which ten (10) hours, in each grade, 
must address drug/alcohol education.

1.3.2 In grades 5 and 6, a minimum of thirty-
five (35) hours in each grade of comprehensive health 
education and family life education of which fifteen (15) 
hours, in each grade, must address drug/alcohol education.

1.3.3 In grades 7 and 8, separate from other 
subject areas, a minimum of sixty (60) hours of 
comprehensive health education of which fifteen (15) hours, 
in each grade, must address drug/alcohol education.  If all of 
the 60 hours are provided in one year at grade 7 or 8, an 
additional fifteen hours of drug/alcohol education must be 
provided in the other grade.

1.3.4 In grades 9-12, one-half (1/2) credit of 
comprehensive health education is required for graduation of 
which fifteen (15) hours of this 1/2 credit course must 
address drug/alcohol education. This 1/2 credit course may 
be provided in the 9th, 10th, 11th or 12th grade.  In each of 
the remaining three grades, fifteen (15) hours of drug/ 
alcohol education must be provided for all students.

1.4 Inclusion of a comprehensive sexuality education 
and an HIV prevention program that stresses the benefits of 
abstinence from high-risk behaviors.

1.5 Inclusion of the core concepts of nutrition and 
family life and sexuality implemented through family and 
consumer science/home economics courses.

1.6 An annual staff development plan that describes the 
use of effective instructional methods as demonstrated in 
sound research in the core concepts and skills inclusive of 
accessing information, self-management, analyzing internal 
and external influences, interpersonal communication, 
decision making and goal setting and advocacy.

1.7 A description of the method(s) used to implement 
and evaluate the effectiveness of the program which shall be 
reported every three years as part of the Quality Review for 
Ensuring School and Student Success.

3 DE Reg. 1073 (2/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS 
PROTECTION

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Section 3006A (16 Del.C. §3006A)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Regulations for Training and Qualifications for Nursing 
Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants

The Department of Health and Social Services, Division 
of Long Term Care Residents Protection, has drafted 
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proposed regulations pertaining to training and qualifications 
of nursing assistants and certified nursing assistants. These 
proposed regulations clarify and amend certain eligibility 
criteria for certification as a certified nursing assistant.

These proposed regulations also clarify the 
responsibility of federally certified nursing facilities to pay 
the costs of training nursing assistants in accordance with 
federal regulations at 42 CFR §483.152. The proposed 
regulations pertaining to payment of the costs of training 
nursing assistants have been the subject of previous public 
hearings and have been revised in response to comments 
received at the public hearings. A discussion of the 
comments received at those public hearings which were not 
incorporated into the proposed regulations will appear with 
the final order when the proposed regulations are published 
as final regulations.  

Invitation For Public Comment

Public hearings will be held as follows:

Tuesday, November 30, 2004, 9:00 AM 
Room 301, Main Building, Herman Holloway Campus
1901 North DuPont Highway, New Castle

Thursday, December 2, 2004, 10:00 AM
Department of Natural Resources & Environmental

Control Auditorium
89 Kings Highway, Dover

For clarification or directions, please call Gina 
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are invited on these proposed 
regulations and should be sent to:

Elise MacEwen, RN
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection

Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

Written comments will be accepted until the conclusion 
of the December 2 public hearing. 

69 Regulations for Training and Qualifications for 
Nursing Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants

Section 69.200 – General Training Requirements And 
Competency Test

Each Nursing Assistant/Certified Nursing Assistant 
employed by any nursing facility either as contract/agency or 
facility staff shall be required to meet the following:

69.201 An individual shall complete a nursing 
assistant training course approved by the Department on the 

recommendation of the CNA Training Curriculum 
Committee.  The Committee shall consist of individuals with 
experience in the knowledge and skills required of CNAs.

69.202 Nursing Assistants are required to pass a 
competency test provided by the Department or by a 
contractor approved by the Department.

69.203 Nursing Assistants shall take the competency 
test within 30 days of completion of an approved program or 
when the nearest testing location is available to the nursing 
assistant, whichever is later.  Nursing assistants who fail to 
obtain a passing score may repeat the test two additional 
times, but must obtain certification within 90 days of 
program completion.  Nursing assistants who fail to obtain a 
passing score after testing three times must repeat the CNA 
training program before retaking the test, or they cannot 
continue to work as a nursing assistant.

69.204 A Certified Nursing Assistant must perform at 
least 64 hours of nursing related services in a health care 
setting for pay under the supervision of a licensed nurse  or 
physician during each 24-month certification period in order 
to qualify for recertification. A certified nursing assistant 
who does not perform at least 64 hours of nursing related 
services in a certification period must complete and pass a 
new training course and competency test, or competency 
test.

69.205 A Certified Nursing Assistant trained and 
certified outside the State of Delaware in a program that 
equals or exceeds the federal nurse aide training program 
requirements in the Code of Federal Regulations § 483.152 
cannot work in Delaware without a Delaware certificate. 
Delaware certification is required prior to being employed as 
a CNA. The Department will grant reciprocity if the 
following conditions are met: 

A. The CNA must have a current certificate from 
the jurisdiction where he or she currently practices, except 
that candidates from the State of Maryland must hold a 
current Geriatric Nursing Assistant certificate.

B. The CNA must have 3 months of full-time 
experience as a CNA performing nursing related services for 
pay under the supervision of a licensed nurse or physician, or 
have completed a training and competency evaluation 
program with the number of hours at least equal to that 
required by the State of Delaware.

C. The CNA must be in good standing in the 
jurisdiction where he/she is currently certified.

69.206 Employees hired as Nursing Assistants/
Certified Nursing Assistants who are currently enrolled in an 
RN or LPN nursing program and have satisfactorily 
completed a Fundamentals/Basic Nursing course with a 
clinical component will be deemed to meet the training 
requirements.  These individuals will be approved to take the 
competency test upon submission of a letter from their 
school of nursing attesting to current enrollment status and 
satisfactory course completion as described.
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69.207 Individuals who have graduated from an RN or 
LPN program within 24 months prior to application for 
certification are deemed qualified to meet the Department’s 
nurse aide training and competency evaluation program 
requirements and are eligible for certification upon 
submission of a sealed copy of their diploma.  Individuals 
who have graduated from an RN or LPN program more than 
24 months prior to application for certification are deemed 
qualified to meet the Department’s nurse aide training 
program requirements and are eligible to take the 
competency test upon submission of a sealed copy of their 
diploma.

69.208 An individual who has satisfactorily completed 
a military nursing assistant training course or hospital-based 
nursing assistant training course of at least 150 hours with a 
curriculum comparable to the curriculum content of Section 
69.303 of these regulations and who has performed nursing 
related services within 24 months prior to application for 
certification is deemed qualified to meet the Department’s 
nurse aide training program requirements and is eligible to 
take the competency test upon submission of documentation 
of course completion.

69.2089 For the purpose of calculating minimum 
staffing levels, any individual who has completed all of the 
classroom training and half of the clinical training in a 
facility sponsored training program may be considered as a 
member of such facility’s staff while undergoing the last 
37.5 hours of clinical training at such facility.

69.209 A nursing assistant who is employed by, or 
who has received an offer of employment from, a facility on 
the date on which the aide begins a nurse aide training and 
competency evaluation program may not be charged for any 
portion of the program including tuition, initial and any 
subsequent testing and fees for textbooks or other required 
course materials.

69.210 If a certified nursing assistant who is not 
employed, or does not have an offer to be employed as a 
nurse aide becomes employed by, or receives an offer of 
employment from, a facility not later than 12 months after 
completing a nurse aide training and competency evaluation 
program, the facility shall reimburse all personally incurred 
costs in completing the program.  Such costs include tuition, 
initial and any subsequent testing and fees for textbooks or 
other required course materials.  Such costs are payable upon 
completion by the CNA of a six month period of 
employment including the orientation period.

69.211 The facility shall be required to notify the 
Department upon reimbursement to a CNA of personally 
incurred costs of the nurse aide training and competency 
evaluation program for the purpose of inclusion in the CNA 
registry database.  Facilities may contact the Department to 
verify the reimbursement status of any CNA seeking such 
reimbursement.

69.210 A nursing assistant who is employed by, or 

who has received an offer of employment from, a federally 
certified nursing facility on the date on which the aide begins 
a nurse aide training and competency evaluation program 
may not be charged for any portion of the program including 
tuition, any tests taken and fees for textbooks or other 
required course materials.

69.211 If a Certified Nursing Assistant who is not 
employed, or does not have an offer to be employed as a 
nurse aide becomes employed by, or receives an offer of 
employment from, a federally certified nursing facility not 
later than 12 months after completing a nurse aide training 
and competency evaluation program, the federally certified 
nursing facility shall reimburse all documented personally 
incurred costs in completing the program. Facilities shall 
accept as documentation canceled checks, paid receipts, 
written verification from a training program or other written 
evidence which reasonably establishes the CNA’s personally 
incurred costs.  Such costs include tuition, tests taken and 
fees for textbooks or other required course materials.  Such 
costs shall be reimbursed in equal quarterly payments with 
full reimbursement to coincide with the CNA’s completion 
of one year of employment including the orientation period.

69.212 Any nursing facility which reimburses a 
Certified Nursing Assistant for documented  personally 
incurred costs of a nurse aide training and competency 
evaluation program shall notify the Division of Long Term 
Care Residents Protection of such reimbursement.  Notice of 
such reimbursement shall be entered in the CNA Registry 
database and information regarding such reimbursement 
shall be available to facilities upon request.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C.  §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

MEDICAID/MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAMS
Client Cost Sharing for Pharmaceutical Services

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the 
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, 
Section 512, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / 
Division of Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance 
Program is proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State 
Plan and the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) to 
establish the provisions relating to imposing and collecting 
co-payments for pharmaceutical services from Medicaid/
Medical Assistance clients.
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Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by November 30, 
2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF THE PHARMACY SERVICES CO-
PAYMENT POLICY

Title of Notice

Medicaid/Medical Assistance Client Cost Sharing 

Overview

42 USC 1396a(a)(14) permits state Medicaid programs 
to require certain clients to share some of the costs of 
Medicaid by imposing enrollment fees, premiums, 
deductibles, coinsurance, co-payments, or similar cost 
sharing charges. The Delaware Medicaid/Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP) exercises this option to impose 
a co-payment for prescription drugs for Medicaid clients. 
Having elected to impose this co-payment, DMAP must 
comply with the specific provisions of 42 U.S.C. 1396o, 42 
CFR §§447.15, 447.21, 447.53, 447.54, 447.55 and, 447.57.

Summary of Pharmacy Services Co-Payment Policy

This notice is being given to provide information of 
public interest with respect to the intent of DSS to amend the 
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) and to submit 
to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 
an amendment to the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to 
establish and implement co-payments for pharmacy services. 
The following provisions of this amendment shall be 
implemented on January 10, 2005:

• All clients, other than those specifically excluded, 
are liable for sharing the cost of Medicaid covered 
prescription drugs.  Medicaid clients are required to 
pay a specific pharmacy co-pay amount for each 
initial and refilled prescription and over-the-counter 
drug filled at a pharmacy participating in the 
Medicaid program.

• In accordance with 42 CFR §447.54, the pharmacy 
co-pay amount is based on the Medicaid fee for the 
drug being dispensed.  The co-pay amounts 

imposed are as follows:  
Medicaid Fee Co-Pay Amount
$10.00 or less $  .50
$10.01-$25.00 $1.00
$25.01-$50.00 $2.00
$50.01 or more $3.00

• Cumulative Maximum [42 CFR §447.54(d)].  Not 
applicable, there is no maximum.

• In accordance with Social Security Act §1916 and 
42 CFR §447.53, co-payments are not imposed 
upon categorically needy individuals for the 
following:

• Services furnished to individuals under 21 
years of age;

• Services furnished to pregnant women; 
including postpartum care;

• Services furnished to any individual who 
is an inpatient in a hospital, long-term care 
facility, or other medical institution;

• Emergency services;
• Family Planning services and supplies; 

and,
• Services furnished to individuals receiving 

hospice care.
• The pharmacy will be advised via the Point-of-Sale 

System regarding the client's liability for the drug 
co-pay and the amount of the co-pay. When a client 
advises a pharmacy of an inability to pay the 
applicable co-pay amount at the time the 
prescription is filled, the pharmacy cannot refuse to 
fill the prescription and must dispense the drug as 
prescribed [42 CFR §447.53(e)].

• The client will remain liable for reimbursement of 
the co-pay amount and will be responsible for 
paying the pharmacy when financially able.

• Medicaid will not pay the co-pay amount to the 
pharmacy where a client declares an inability to 
pay. Provider payment will continue to be that sum 
which is the Medicaid fee minus the applicable 
client co-pay amount.

The proposed amendment applies to Medicaid clients 
and shall be implemented on January 10, 2005. 

The proposed cost sharing requirements are subject to 
approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS)
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DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-22a

Page 54

Revision: OMB No.: 0938-

State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation 4.18 Recipient Cost Sharing and
42 CFR 447.51 Similar Charges
 through 447.58 (a) Unless a waiver under 42 CFR

431.55(g) applies deductibles,
coinsurance rates, and co
payments do not exceed the
maximum allowable charges
under 42 CFR 447.54.

1916 (a) and (b) (b) Except as specified in items 4.18
of the Act (b) (4), (5) and (6) below, with

respect to individuals covered as
categorically needy or as
qualified Medicare beneficiaries
(as defined in section 1905 (p) (1)
of the Act) under the plan:
(1) No enrollment fee, premium,

or similar charge is imposed
under the plan.

(2) No deductible, coinsurance,
co-payment, or similar
charge is imposed under the
plan for the following:
(i) Services to individuals

under age 18, or under--
Age 19
Age 20
Age 21

Reasonable categories
of individuals who are
age 18 or older, but
under age 21, to whom
charges apply are listed
below, if applicable.

(ii) Services to pregnant
women related to the
pregnancy or any other
medical condition that
may complicate the
pregnancy.

Page 55

Revision: OMB No.: 0938-
State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation 4.18 (b) (2) (Continued)

42 CFR 447.51 (iii) All services
through furnished to pregnant
447.58 women.

F Not applicable.
Charges apply for
services to pregnant
women unrelated to
the pregnancy.

(iv) Services furnished to
any individual who is an
inpatient in a hospital,
long-term care facility,
or other medical
institution, if the
individual is required, as
a condition of receiving
services in the
institution, to spend for
medical care costs all
but a minimal amount of
his or her income
required for personal
needs.

(v) Emergency services if
the services meet the
requirements in 42 CFR
447.53 (b) (4).

(vi) Family planning
services and supplies
furnished to individuals
of childbearing age.

(vii) Services furnished
by a health maintenance
organization in which
the individual is
enrolled.

1916 of the Act, (viii) Services furnished
P.L. 99-272, to an individual
(Section 9505) receiving hospice care,

as defined in section
1905 (o) of the Act.

X
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Page 56

Revision: OMB No.: 0938-

State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation 4.18(b)    (Continued)

42 CFR 447.51 (3) Unless a waiver under
through 42 CFR 431.55 (g)
447.48 applies, nominal deductible,

coinsurance, co-payment, or
similar charges are imposed
for services that are not
excluded from such charges
under item (b) (2) above.

Not applicable.  No such
charges are imposed.

(i) For any service, no more
than one type of charge
is imposed.

(ii) Charges apply to
Fservices furnished to the

following age groups:

18 or older
19 or older
20 or older
21 or older

Charges apply to
services furnished
to the following
reasonable
categories of
individuals listed
below who are 18
years of age or
older but under age
21.

Page 56a

Revision: OMB No.: 0938-

State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation 4.18 (b) (3)   (Continued)

42 CFR 447.51 (iii) For the categorically
through 447.58 needy and qualified 

Medicare beneficiaries,
ATTACHMENT 4.18-
A specifies the:

A. Service(s) for
which a charge(s) is
applied;

B. Nature of the charge
 imposed on each 
service;

C. Amount(s) of and
basis for
determining the
charge(s);

D. Method used to
collect the
charge(s);

E. Basis for
determining
whether an
individual is unable
to pay the charge
and the means by
which such an
individual is
identified to 
providers;

F. Procedures for 
implementing and 
enforcing the 
exclusions from 
cost sharing 
contained in 42 
CFR 447.53 (b);and

G. Cumulative 
maximum that 
applies to all 
deductible, 
coinsurance or co-
payment charges
imposed on a 
specified time 
period.

F Not applicable.
There is no 
maximum.

X

X

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 5, MONDAY NOVEMBER 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS668

Page 56b

Revision: OMB No.: 0938-

State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation
1916 (c) of 4.18 (b) (4) F A monthly premium is
the Act imposed on pregnant

women and infants who
are covered under
section 1902 (a)(10)(A)
(ii) (IX) of the Act and
whose income equals or
exceeds 150 percent of
the Federal poverty level
applicable to a family of
the size involved.  The
requirements of section
1916 (c) of the Act are
met ATTACHMENT
 4.18-D specifies the
method the State uses
for determining the
premium and the criteria
for determining what
constitutes undue
hardship for waiving
payment of premiums
by recipients.

1902 (a) (52) 4.18 (b) (5)  F For families
and 1925 (b) receiving extended
of the Act benefits during a second

6-month period section
1925 of the Act, a
monthly premium is
imposed in accordance
with sections 1925 (b)
(4) and (5) of the Act.

1916 (d) of      4.18 (b) (6)    F A monthly premium,
the Act set on a sliding

scale, imposed on
qualified disabled and
working individuals
who are covered under
section 1902 (a) (10) (E)
(ii) of the Act and whose
income exceeds 150
percent (but does not
exceed 200 percent) of
the Federal poverty level
applicable to a family of
the size involved.
The requirements of
section 1916 (d) of the
Act are met. 
ATTACHMENT4.18-E
Specifies the methods
and standards the State
uses for determining the
premium.
DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-22b

NEW STATE PLAN PAGE
Revision:  ATTACHMENT 4.18-A

Page 1
OMB NO.:  093-0193

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE:  DELAWARE

A. The following charges are imposed on the categorically needy for services other than those provided under section 1905
(1) through (5) and (7) of the Act:

Service

Type of Charge
Amount and Basis for Determination

Deductible Coinsurance Co-payment

Pharmacy -0- -0- X This co-pay is effective January 10, 2005 and is based on the 
nominal ranges specified in 42 CFR 447.54(a)(3), based on the 
State fee for the service.
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NEW STATE PLAN PAGE
Revision: ATTACHMENT 4.18-A

Page 2
OMB NO.:  093-0193

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE:  DELAWARE

B.  The method used to collect cost sharing charges for categorically needy individuals:
F Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from individuals.
F The agency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for services and collects the cost sharing charges from
     individuals.

C. The basis for determining whether an individual is unable to pay the charge, and the means by which such an individual
        is identified to providers, is described below:

The Pharmacy (Pharmacist) Provider will be advised via the Point-of-Sale System regarding the client's liability for the
drug co-pay and the amount of the co-pay. When a client advises a pharmacy of an inability to pay the applicable co-pay
amount at the time the prescription is filled, the pharmacy cannot refuse to fill the prescription and must dispense the drug
as prescribed.

The client will remain liable for reimbursement of the co-pay amount and will be responsible for paying the pharmacy
when financially able. Medicaid will not pay the co-pay amount to the pharmacy where a client declares an inability to
pay. Provider payment will continue to be that sum which is the Medicaid fee minus the applicable client co-pay amount.

NEW STATE PLAN PAGE
Revision: ATTACHMENT 4.18-A

  Page 3
   OMB NO.:  093-0193

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE:  DELAWARE

D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions from cost sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.53 (b) are
described below:

Exclusions from cost sharing requirements are programmed into the Medicaid Management Information System and the
Point-of-Sale (POS) System.

Pharmacy Providers have been informed about applicable service and amount; and, the prohibition of service denial if
client is unable to meet the co-pay amount by the following methods:  (1) provider manuals, which are distributed to all
providers; and (2) provider newsletters.

Co-payment requirements are set forth in provider manuals, which are distributed, to all providers. The billing instructions
are updated and transmitted to providers via the Provider Newsletter. These instructions have been incorporated in the
billing instruction section of the provider manuals, which are given to all providers.

E. Cumulative maximums on charges:
F State policy does not provide maximums.
F Cumulative maximums have been established as described below:
X

X
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DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-22c

Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM)

14960 Cost Sharing

Section 1902(a)(14) of the Social Security Act permits states 
to require certain recipients to share some of the costs of 
Medicaid by imposing upon them such payments as 
enrollment fees, premiums, deductibles, coinsurance, co-
payments, or similar cost sharing charges.

14960.1 Co-Payment Requirement

Effective January 10, 2005, a nominal co-payment will be 
imposed for generic and brand name prescription drugs as 
well as over-the-counter drugs prescribed by a practitioner.

The co-payment is based upon the cost of the drug as 
follows:

The co-payment is imposed for each drug that is prescribed 
and dispensed.

14960.2 Exclusions from Co-payment Requirement

The following individuals and services are excluded from 
the co-payment requirement:

a. individuals under age 21
b. pregnant women, including the postpartum period
c. individuals eligible under the long term care nursing
d. facility group or the acute care hospital group
e. emergency services
f. family planning services and supplies
h. hospice services

14960.3 Inability to Pay

The pharmacy provider may not refuse to dispense the 
prescription(s) subject to the co-payment requirement 
because of the individual's inability to pay the co-payment 
amount.  When a recipient indicates that he or she is unable 
to meet the co-payment requirement, the pharmacy provider 
must dispense the prescription(s) as written. Medicaid 
reimbursement for the prescription(s) will be the Medicaid 
fee minus the applicable co-payment amount.

The recipient remains liable for the co-payment amount and 
is responsible for paying the pharmacy when financially 
able. The pharmacy provider is permitted to pursue 
reimbursement of the co-payment amount from the recipient.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C.  §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families Welfare Reform Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O. 
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by November 
30, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

1) DSSM 3003 Non-Time Limited Program – Children’s 
Program

• In accordance with the Trademark Agreement, 
replaced previous program name with Delaware’s 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Welfare 
Reform Program, where applicable.

• Adds language that states if a family is placed in the 
TANF Children’s Program because the parent or 
caretaker is caring for a disabled family member, 
DSS will obtain a statement or have the DSS 
Medical Certification form completed by a medical 
professional to verify that the person is needed in 
the home to care for the disabled family member.

Medicaid Payment for the Drug Co-payment
$10.00 or less $.50
$10.01 to $25.00 $1.00
$25.01 to $50.00 $2.00
$50.01 or more $3.00
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2) DSSM 3031 Work for Your Welfare

• Adds language that states to be exempt from 
Workfare, TANF recipients who are employed need 
to be earning at least the equivalent of minimum 
wage at twenty hours per week.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-21

3003  Non-Time Limited Program - Children's Program

DELAWARE'S A BETTER CHANCE TEMPORARY 
ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES WELFARE 
REFORM PROGRAM creates a non-time-limited program 
for certain families, referred to as the Children's Program. 
Families with the following status will receive benefits in the 
Children's Program:

• Families that the agency has determined are 
unemployable and unable to achieve self-
sufficiency, either because a parent is too physically 
or mentally disabled to work in an unsubsidized 
work setting or because the parent is needed in the 
home to care for a child or another adult disabled to 
that extent; or

• Families headed by a non-needy, non-parent 
caretaker; or

• Families where the agency has determined that the 
adult caretaker is temporarily unemployable.  Based 
on medical information, DSS will set the duration 
of the unemployability.  The caretaker has the 
responsibility to request an extension and provide 
proof of  continuing unemployability.  Otherwise, 
DSS will consider the caretaker employable and 
transfer the family to the time-limited program.

• Families in which the adult files a claim or has a 
claim being adjudicated for SSI or disability 
insurance under OASDI.  (In this case, the family 
must sign an agreement to repay cash benefits 
received under the Children's Program from the 
proceeds of the first SSI/DI check received. 
However, the Division will require this only as long 
as the SSI/DI benefit includes retroactive payments 
for a period when the family received benefits 
under the Children's Program. The amount repaid 
will not exceed the amount of the retroactive SSI/
DI benefit.)

In cases for which the family is placed in the Children’s 
program because the parent (or other caretaker relative) is 
caring for a disabled family member, DSS will obtain a 
statement from a medical professional or have the DSS 
Medical Certification form completed by a medical 
professional to verify that the person is needed in the home 

to care for the disabled family member.
CONTRACT OF MUTUAL RESPONSIBILITY 

requirements and sanctions for non-compliance apply to 
families in the Children's Program.

3031 Work For Your Welfare

All two-parent households, who are without 
employment, must enter a Work For Your Welfare activity to 
qualify for benefits.  Single adult recipients, who reach their 
22nd month of benefit and are without employment, and all 
eligible applicants on or after 01/01/2000, must enter a Work 
For Your Welfare activity to qualify for benefits. 
Additionally, all TANF recipients who are employed must 
earn at least the equivalent of minimum wage at twenty 
hours per week will be considered mandatory for Work for 
Your Welfare. Work for Your Welfare is defined as a work 
experience program in which participants work to earn their 
benefits. In addition, DSS requires each participant to 
complete 10 hours of job search activity per week. The 
failure to complete job search as required will result in a 
progressive 1/3 sanction. For two parent households, one 
parent must participate in the work for your welfare program 
in order to earn benefits. The second parent, unless exempt, 
must also participate in required employment related 
activities as defined by DSS and the DSS contractor.

Currently DSS operates the work for your welfare 
program under contract with a work for your welfare 
services provider. The provider assumes responsibility for 
the assessment, placement and monitoring of all work for 
your welfare participants in unsalaried work assignments. 
The work assignments are with public or nonprofit 
organizations. In return for their services, participants earn 
the amount of the benefit they are eligible to receive.

Work for your welfare is not preferable to participants 
obtaining unsubsidized employment.  Though the work for 
your welfare assignment should be a safe assignment, it 
should not be more attractive than unsubsidized 
employment.

DSS is to ensure that no participants placed in work for 
welfare activities displace regular paid employees of any of 
the organizations providing the placements.

Since placements are not voluntary, DSS expects 
participants to accept assignments unless the assignment 
represents an unreasonable health and safety risk (e.g., the 
participant has a health condition, which would be 
aggravated by the assignment).

Participants cannot appeal their assignments to work for 
your welfare work sites
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311 and 2304 
(18 Del.C. §§311 and 2304))

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H. 
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING 
will be held on Thursday, December 2, 2004, at 10:00 a.m. in 
the Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware 
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware. The hearing is to consider amending Regulation 
1501 (formerly Regulation 41) relating to Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards.

The purpose for amending Regulation 1501 is to adopt 
the changes to the model regulation approved by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners as of 
September 8, 2004, changes to guaranteed insurability and 
miscellaneous style and semantic changes.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 19 
Del.C. § 311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited 
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or 
may be presented orally at the Hearing. Written comments, 
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed 
change to the regulation must be received by the Department 
of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday December 
1, 2004, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney 
General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of 
Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, 
telephone 302.739.4251.

DUE TO THE LENGTH OF THE REGULATION THE FULL 
TEXT IS NOT BEING PUBLISHED. THE REGULATION IS 
AVAILABLE FROM THE REGISTRAR OR ONLINE.

Regulation 1501 Medicare Supplement Insurance 
Minimum Standards (PDF Version)

Regulation 1501 Medicare Supplement Insurance 
Minimum Standards (HTML Version)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code, 

Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN #:  2004 - 11

1. Title of the Regulation: 
Regulation No. 43 – Not To Exceed Heavy Duty 

California Engine Standards

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance And Issues:
The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) 

allows Delaware and all states to submit to the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) a SIP revision 
which adopts engine standards after, and only after, the State 
of California has adopted those standards.  The purpose of 
this action is to adopt the Heavy Duty Diesel (HDD) portion 
of the federal Rule on 2007 and later Heavy Duty Engines in 
order to preserve the emission reduction benefits of that 
federal Rule should EPA delay, diminish or perhaps even 
delete their adopted Rule. This action could best be 
described as a “backstop” action that would only become 
necessary and in effect on 2007 and later model year HDDs, 
should EPA take any of the three options described above. 
This action will be an additional section to existing 
Regulation No. 43, which is a similar “backstop” regulation 
on strictly model year 2005 and 2006 HHDs. The standards 
for 2007 and later HDDs is more stringent than on pre-2007 
HDDs.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
None.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
7 Del.C. Ch. 60, Environmental Control

5. Other Regulations that may be Affected by the 
Proposal:  

None.

6. Notice of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on December 1, 2004 

beginning at 6:00 PM in the Pricilla Building, 156 South 
State Street, Dover, Delaware.

7. Prepared by:
Philip Wheeler, (302) 323-4542, October 8, 2004
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AMENDMENTS TO: Regulation Number 43
“Not To Exceed California Heavy Duty Diesel Engine 

Standards”

TO BE RENAMED TO: “Heavy Duty Diesel Engine 
Standards”

Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control

Division of Air and Waste Management
Air Quality Management Section

Dover, Delaware

November 2004 

Proposed Amendments to Regulation No. 43

Regulation Number 43 is hereby re-named from “Not 
To Exceed California Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Standards” 
to “Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Standards”.  This was 
necessitated due to the addition of later model years than 
those subject to the existing regulation.

Section 1.0 of this proposal contains the entirety of 
existing Regulation Number 43, and only reformatted to 
current Delaware Register of Regulations standards, which 
also required providing a name for the section.  No wording 
changes were made that would affect the regulatory 
authority of the existing regulation.  A title for the section 
was added to reflect the applicable model years within the 
overall scope of Heavy Duty Diesel Standards, and the 
addition of the words “section” and “sub-section”, consistent 
with the aforementioned formatting standards, were also 
made to make the section read properly.  The new parent 
Department of the Division of Motor Vehicles was also 
corrected from Public Safety to Transportation, which was 
effective in July, 2003.

Section 2.0 of this proposal contains totally new 
wording, and is both the reason and the substance of the 
regulation amendment.

The entire revised and supplemented Regulation 
Number 43 follows:

Regulation No. 43
Not To Exceed California Heavy Duty Diesel Engine 

Standards Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Standards

1.0 On Road Heavy Duty Diesel Requirements for 
Model Years 2005 and 2006

1.1 Applicability
These rules apply to heavy-duty diesel engines 

produced for the 2005 and 2006 model years, and to new 
motor vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) 
of greater than 14,000 pounds containing such engines that 
are sold, leased, offered for sale or lease, imported, 

delivered, rented acquired, or received in the State of 
Delaware. 

1.2 Definitions
The following definitions are applicable to this 

section:
“Department” means The Delaware Department of 

Natural Resources and Environmental Control. 
“Division” means The Delaware Division of Motor 

Vehicles of the Delaware Department of Public Safety
Transportation.

“Emergency vehicle” means any publicly owned 
and operated ambulance, lifeguard, or lifesaving equipment 
or any privately owned or operated to operate in response to 
emergency calls. Any publicly owned vehicle operated by 
the following persons, agencies, or organizations: (1) Any 
federal, state, or local agency, department, or district 
employing peace officers for use by those officers in the 
performance of their duties. (2) Any forestry or fire 
department of any public agency or fire department Any 
vehicle owned by the state, or any bridge and highway 
district, and equipped and used either for fighting fires, or 
towing or servicing other vehicles, caring for injured 
persons, or repairing damaged lighting or electrical 
equipment. Any state-owned vehicle used in responding to 
emergency fire, rescue or communications calls and operated 
either by the Delaware Emergency Management Agency or 
by any public agency or industrial fire department to which 
the Delaware Emergency Management Agency has assigned 
the vehicle. Any vehicle owned or operated by any 
department or agency of the United States government when 
the vehicle is used in responding to emergency fire, 
ambulance, or lifesaving calls or is actively engaged in law 
enforcement work. Any vehicle for which an authorized 
emergency vehicle permit has been issued by the 
Superintendent of the Delaware State Police.  

“Executive Order” means a document issued by the 
California Air Resources Board (CARB) certifying that a 
specified engine family or model year vehicle has met all 
applicable Title 13 CCR requirements for certification and 
sale in California.

“Heavy-duty diesel engine” means a diesel engine 
that is used to propel a motor vehicle with a Gross Vehicle 
Weight Rating of 14,001 pounds or greater.

“Heavy-duty motor vehicle” means a motor vehicle 
with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 14,001 pounds or 
greater.

“Model year” means the manufacturer's annual 
production period which includes January 1 of a calendar 
year or, if the manufacturer has no annual production period, 
the calendar year. In the case of any vehicle manufactured in 
two or more stages, the time of manufacture shall be the date 
of completion of the chassis.

“New motor vehicle” means a motor vehicle, the 
equitable or legal title to which has never been transferred to 
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an ultimate purchaser 
“New motor vehicle engine” means a new engine 

in a motor vehicle.
“Ultimate purchaser” means, with respect to any 

new motor vehicle or new motor vehicle engine, the first 
person who in good faith purchases a new motor vehicle or 
new motor vehicle engine for purposes other than resale.  

“Ultra-small volume manufacturer” means any 
manufacturer with Delaware sales less than or equal to 300 
new passenger cars, light-duty trucks, medium-duty 
vehicles, heavy-duty vehicles, and heavy-duty engines per 
model year based on the average number of vehicles and 
engines sold by the manufacturer in the previous three 
consecutive model years.

“Urban bus” means a passenger-carrying vehicle 
powered by a heavy heavy-duty diesel engine, or of a type 
normally powered by a heavy heavy-duty diesel engine, with 
a load capacity of fifteen (15) or more passengers and 
intended primarily for intra-city operation, i.e., within the 
confines of a city or greater metropolitan area.  Urban bus 
operation is characterized by short rides and frequent stops. 
To facilitate this type of operation, more than one set of 
quick-operating entrance and exit doors would normally be 
installed.  Since fares are usually paid in cash or token, rather 
than purchased in advance in the form of tickets, urban buses 
would normally have equipment installed for the collection 
of fares.  Urban buses are also typically characterized by the 
absence of equipment and facilities for long distance travel, 
e.g., restrooms, large luggage compartments, and facilities 
for stowing carry-on luggage.

1.3 Severability
Each sub-section of this section shall be deemed 

severable.  If any section of this regulation is held to be 
invalid, the remainder shall continue in full force and effect. 

1.4 Reporting Requirements
All manufacturers of 2005 and 2006 model year 

heavy-duty diesel vehicles with a MGVWR of 14,001 
pounds or greater shall provide certification that the engine 
used in the manufacturer’s vehicle comply with the 
applicable exhaust emissions standards under Title 13, 
Section 1956.8 of the California Code of Regulations, and 
shall be consistent with the Executive Order issued by 
CARB for the appropriate engine family or model year.  This 
certification shall be sent to the Department thirty (30) days 
prior to the date of the first vehicle being potentially 
available for sale.

1.5 Dealer Compliance
No person who is a resident of this state, or who 

operates an established place of business within this state, 
shall sell, lease, rent, import, deliver, lease, purchase, 
acquire, or receive in the State of Delaware, or offer for sale, 
lease, or rental in this state (or attempt or assist in any such 
prohibited action) any of the following types of motor 
vehicles or engines that are intended primarily for use or for 

registration in the State of Delaware, unless the manufacturer 
has certified on the Certificate of Origin that the engine in 
the vehicle complies with Title 13, Section 1956.8 of the 
California Code of Regulations last amended on July 25, 
2001 or complies with other documentation approved and 
provided by the Department: 

1.5.1 A 2005 or 2006 model year heavy-duty 
diesel engine;

1.5.2 A new motor vehicle equipped with a 
2005 or 2006 model year heavy-duty diesel engine; or 

1.5.3 A motor vehicle with a new 2005 or 2006
model year heavy-duty diesel engine. 

1.6 Exemptions and Technology Review
Notwithstanding sub-section 1.4, the requirements 

of this section shall not apply to: 
1.6.1 A model year 2005 or 2006 heavy-duty 

diesel engine manufactured by an ultra-small volume 
manufacturer or intended for use in an urban bus; 

1.6.2 An engine if, following a technology 
review, the California Air Resources Board determines that 
it is inappropriate to require compliance for heavy-duty 
diesel engines of that particular model year and engine 
family; 

1.6.3 A vehicle acquired by a resident of this 
state for the purpose of replacing a vehicle registered to such 
resident which was damaged or became inoperative beyond 
reasonable repair or was stolen while out of this state; 
provided that such replacement vehicle is acquired out of 
state at the time the previously owned vehicle was either 
damaged or became inoperative or was stolen; 

1.6.4 A vehicle transferred by inheritance, or by 
a decree of divorce, dissolution, or legal separation entered 
by a court of competent jurisdiction; 

1.6.5 A motor vehicle having a certificate of 
conformity issued pursuant to the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 
§7401 et seq.) and originally registered in another state by a 
resident of that state who subsequently establishes residence 
in this state and who, upon registration of the vehicle in this 
state provides satisfactory evidence to the Division of the 
previous residence and registration; 

1.6.6 An emergency vehicle; 
1.6.7 A military tactical vehicle or equipment; 

or 
1.6.8 Any other vehicles exempted by the 

California Health and Safety Code, section 43656 as of 
March 20, 2001.

1.7 Manufacturer Compliance with California Orders 
and Voluntary Recalls

1.7.1 Any order or enforcement action taken by 
the California Air Resources Board to correct 
noncompliance with any heavy-duty diesel engine 
requirements adopted by such Board on December 8, 2000 
shall be applicable to all such engines and motor vehicles 
subject to this regulation, sold, leased, or rented, offered for 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 5, MONDAY NOVEMBER 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 675
sale, lease, or rental, or registered in Delaware, except where 
the manufacturer demonstrates to the Department 
satisfaction, within 21 days of issuance of such CARB 
action, that this action is not applicable to such engines or 
vehicles in Delaware.

1.7.2 Any voluntary or influenced emission-
related recall campaign initiated by any manufacturer 
pursuant to Title 13, sections 2113 through 2121 of the 
California Code of Regulations shall extend to all applicable 
engines and motor vehicles subject to this regulation, sold, 
leased, or rented, offered for sale, lease, or rental, or 
registered in Delaware, except where the manufacturer 
demonstrates to the Department’s  satisfaction, within 21 
days of approval of the campaign by the CARB, that this 
campaign is not applicable to such engines or vehicles in 
Delaware. 

1.8 Adoption and Incorporation by Reference of 
California Rules

The Department hereby adopts and incorporates by 
reference the exhaust emission standards (and associated 
performance test procedures) for model year 2005 and 2006 
heavy-duty diesel engines adopted by the California Air 
Resources Board on December 8, 2000, and any future 
amendments to these provisions that the CARB may 
promulgate  These standards are found in section 1956.8 of 
Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations, which 
incorporates by reference the test procedures for determining 
compliance with the standards. 

1.9 Requirements for Vehicle Registration and 
Transactions

1.9.1 No new motor vehicle equipped with a 
2005 or 2006 model year heavy-duty diesel engine may be 
registered with the Division unless the applicant provides a 
copy of the Certificate of Origin which complies with sub-
section 1.5 of this regulation or the Department provides 
notification to the Division that all vehicles from a specific 
manufacturer are in compliance with sub-section 1.5 of this 
regulation or other documentation approved by the 
Department.

1.9.2 No person who is a resident of this state, or 
who operates an established place of business within this 
state, shall sell, lease, rent, import, deliver, lease, purchase, 
acquire, or receive in this state, or offer for sale, lease, or 
rental in this state (or attempt or assist in any such prohibited 
action) any of the following types of motor vehicles or 
engines that are intended primarily for use or for registration 
in this state, unless the manufacturer of the engine has 
received such an Certificate of Origin complies with the 
standards adopted in sub-section  1.4 of this regulation or the 
manufacturer provides other Department approved 
documents certifying compliance with Title 13, Section 
1956.8 of the California Code of Regulations, last amended 
July 25, 2001:

1.9.2.1 A 2005 or 2006;

1.9.2.2 A new motor vehicle equipped with a 
2005 or 2006 model year heavy-duty diesel engine; or 

1.9.2.3 A motor vehicle with a new 2005 or 
2006 model year heavy-duty diesel engine. 

1.10 Exemptions and Technology Review
Notwithstanding sub-section 1.8, the requirements 

of this section shall not apply to:
1.10.1 A model year 2005 or 2006 heavy-duty 

diesel engine manufactured by an ultra-small volume 
manufacturer or intended for use in an urban bus;

1.10.2 An engine if, following a technology 
review, the CARB determines, and is subsequently approved 
by the Department, that it is inappropriate to require 
compliance for heavy-duty diesel engines of that particular 
model year and engine family;

1.10.3 A vehicle acquired by a resident of this 
state for the purpose of replacing a vehicle registered to such 
resident which was damaged or became inoperative beyond 
reasonable repair or was stolen while out of this state; 
provided that such replacement vehicle is acquired out of 
state at the time the previously owned vehicle was either 
damaged or became inoperative or was stolen;

1.10.4 A vehicle transferred by inheritance, or by 
a decree of divorce, dissolution, or legal separation entered 
by a court of competent jurisdiction; 

1.10.5 A motor vehicle having a certificate of 
conformity issued pursuant to the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 
§7401 et seq.) and originally registered in another state by a 
resident of that state who subsequently establishes residence 
in this state and who, upon registration of the vehicle in this 
state provides satisfactory evidence to the Division of the 
previous residence and registration; 

1.10.6 An emergency vehicle; 
1.10.7 A military tactical vehicle or equipment; 

or 
1.10.8 Any other vehicles exempted by the 

California Health and Safety Code, section 43656 as of 
March 20, 2001. 

1.11 Manufacturer Compliance with California 
Orders and Voluntary Recalls

1.11.1 Any order or enforcement action taken by 
the CARB to correct noncompliance with any heavy-duty 
diesel engine requirements adopted by such Board on 
December 8, 2000 shall be applicable to all such engines and 
motor vehicles subject to this regulation, sold, leased, or 
rented, offered for sale, lease, or rental, or registered in State 
of Delaware, except where the manufacturer demonstrates to 
the Department’s satisfaction, within 21 days of issuance of 
such CARB action, that this action is not applicable to such 
engines or vehicles in Delaware. 

1.11.2 Any voluntary or influenced emission-
related recall campaign initiated by any manufacturer 
pursuant to Title 13, sections 2113 through 2121 of the 
California Code of Regulations shall extend to all applicable 
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engines and motor vehicles subject to this regulation: 
1.11.2.1 Sold, leased, or rented,  
1.11.2.2 Offered for sale, lease, or rental, or  
1.11.2.3 Registered in Delaware, except where 

the manufacturer demonstrates to the Department’s 
satisfaction, within 21 days of approval of the campaign by 
the CARB, that this campaign is not applicable to such 
engines or vehicles in Delaware. 

2.0 On Road Heavy Duty Diesel Requirements for 
Model Year 2007 and Later

2.1 Applicability
Except as specifically provided in sub-section 2.2, 

this section applies to all heavy-duty diesel vehicles sold, 
leased or registered for use in Delaware where; 

2.1.1 Such vehicle is equipped with a 2007 
Model Year or later diesel engine, and 

2.1.2 The engine family for the installed engine 
was first certified by CARB at least two years after the 
effective date of this section.

2.2 Exemptions
Notwithstanding sub-section 2.1, the requirements 

set forth in this section do not apply to:
2.2.1 A heavy-duty diesel engine intended for 

use in an urban bus;
2.2.2 A heavy-duty diesel engine of a model 

year and engine family for which CARB has determined, 
based upon its technology review, that compliance with its 
heavy-duty diesel engine standards is not required;

2.2.3 A vehicle acquired outside of Delaware by 
a resident of Delaware for the purpose of replacing a vehicle 
registered to the resident which, while out of Delaware, was 
stolen, or was damaged, or became inoperative, beyond 
reasonable repair; provided that such replacement vehicle is 
acquired within a reasonable amount of time following the 
time the previously owned vehicle was either stolen, 
damaged, or became inoperative;

2.2.4 A vehicle transferred by inheritance, or by 
a decree of divorce, dissolution, or legal separation entered 
by a court of competent jurisdiction;

2.2.5 An emergency vehicle; or
2.2.6 A military tactical vehicle or equipment.

2.3 Definitions
For the purpose of this section, the following definitions 
apply:

“CARB” means the California Air Resources 
Board, as set out in section 39003, California Health and 
Safety Code. (1999)

“The terms certification; diesel-cycle; emergency 
vehicle; engine family; heavy-duty vehicle; heavy-duty 
diesel engine; medium duty vehicle; military tactical 
vehicles and equipment; model year; urban bus; and 
ultimate purchaser” each shall have the meaning set out in 
Title 13, California Code of Regulations (“CCR”) and 

section 165 of the California Vehicle Code.  
“Division” means The Delaware Division of Motor 

Vehicles of the Delaware Department of Transportation.
“Emergency vehicle” means any publicly owned 

and operated ambulance, lifeguard, or lifesaving equipment 
or any privately owned or operated to operate in response to 
emergency calls. Any publicly owned vehicle operated by 
the following persons, agencies, or organizations: (1) Any 
federal, state, or local agency, department, or district 
employing peace officers for use by those officers in the 
performance of their duties. (2) Any forestry or fire 
department of any public agency or fire department Any 
vehicle owned by the state, or any bridge and highway 
district, and equipped and used either for fighting fires, or 
towing or servicing other vehicles, caring for injured 
persons, or repairing damaged lighting or electrical 
equipment. Any state-owned vehicle used in responding to 
emergency fire, rescue or communications calls and operated 
either by the Delaware Emergency Management Agency or 
by any public agency or industrial fire department to which 
the Delaware Emergency Management Agency has assigned 
the vehicle. Any vehicle owned or operated by any 
department or agency of the United States government when 
the vehicle is used in responding to emergency fire, 
ambulance, or lifesaving calls or is actively engaged in law 
enforcement work. Any vehicle for which an authorized 
emergency vehicle permit has been issued by the 
Superintendent of the Delaware State Police.

“Heavy-duty diesel engine” means a diesel engine 
that is used to propel a motor vehicle with a Gross Vehicle 
Weight Rating of 14,001 pounds or greater.  

“Heavy-duty motor vehicle” means a motor vehicle 
with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 14,001 pounds or 
greater

“Lease” means any commercial transaction 
recognized under the laws of this State as a means of 
creating a right to use a good and includes renting.  It also 
includes offering to rent or lease.

“Model year” means the manufacturer's annual 
production period which includes January 1 of a calendar 
year or, if the manufacturer has no annual production period, 
the calendar year. In the case of any vehicle manufactured in 
two or more stages, the time of manufacture shall be the date 
of completion of the chassis.

“Sell” means any commercial transaction 
recognized under the laws of this State as a means of 
transferring ownership of a good and includes barter.  It also 
includes offering for sale.

“Urban bus” means a passenger-carrying vehicle 
powered by a heavy heavy-duty diesel engine, or of a type 
normally powered by a heavy heavy-duty diesel engine, with 
a load capacity of fifteen (15) or more passengers and 
intended primarily for intra-city operation, i.e., within the 
confines of a city or greater metropolitan area.  Urban bus 
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operation is characterized by short rides and frequent stops. 
To facilitate this type of operation, more than one set of 
quick-operating entrance and exit doors would normally be 
installed.  Since fares are usually paid in cash or token, rather 
than purchased in advance in the form of tickets, urban buses 
would normally have equipment installed for the collection 
of fares.  Urban buses are also typically characterized by the 
absence of equipment and facilities for long distance travel, 
e.g., restrooms, large luggage compartments, and facilities 
for stowing carry-on luggage.

2.4 Prohibition Against Sale or Registration of 
Noncomplying Vehicles

No person shall sell, lease or register a heavy-duty 
vehicle for use in Delaware if: 

2.4.1 Such vehicle is equipped with a 2007 
Model Year or later diesel engine, and 

2.4.2 The engine family for the installed engine 
was first certified by CARB at least two years after the 
effective date of this section, unless the heavy-duty engine 
installed in such vehicle has been certified by CARB as 
meeting all requirements of Title 13, CCR, section 1956.8, 
and the test procedures incorporated by reference therein that 
apply to Model Year 2007 and subsequent engines.  

2.5 Recall of Vehicles
If, for any reason, the manufacturer of any vehicle 

or engine subject to this Section conducts a recall, whether 
required or voluntary, or a service campaign in any other 
state that involves any emissions-related component or 
element of design that is incorporated in vehicles sold, 
leased or registered in Delaware, such manufacturer shall 
notify the Division no later than five days after initiating 
such recall or service campaign and, unless the Division 
determines that the recall or service campaign is 
unwarranted given the facts of the matter, shall conduct such 
recall or service campaign on vehicles registered in 
Delaware in accordance with a schedule determined by the 
Division.

2.6 Prohibition Against Sale or Registration of 
Recalled Vehicles

2.7 No person shall sell, lease or register a heavy-duty 
vehicle subject to the requirements of this section if such 
vehicle has been the subject of an emissions-related recall, 
unless the vehicle has been corrected in accordance with a 
recall plan pursuant to this section.

2.8 Prohibition Against Stockpiling
The purchase of engines or vehicles in excess of 

normal business needs for the purpose of evading the 
requirements of this section shall be unlawful.  No heavy-
duty vehicle that is manufactured after January 1, 2007, may 
be sold, leased or registered in Delaware unless it contains 
an engine certified by CARB as meeting all requirements of 
Title 13, CCR, section 1956.8 that apply to Model Year 2007 
and subsequent engines.

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
TANK MANAGEMENT BRANCH

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 74A (7 Del.C. Ch. 74A)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title of the Regulations:
Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
Senate Substitute No. 1 for Senate Bill No. 344 

amended several sections of Title 7, Chapter 74A, The 
Jeffrey Davis Aboveground Storage Tank Act which 
required subsequent changes in the Delaware Regulations 
Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks. Other changes were 
made to add clarification to the existing Regulations.

Proposed changes include:
Part A, §1.2.2. – added Part A, §6 to correct omission in 

original Regulations.
Part A, §1.2.3. – added Part A, §6 to correct omission in 

original Regulations.
Part A, §1.2.3.3. – added Part A, §10 to comply with 

new signage requirements.
Part A, §1.2.4. –reworded to show what parts of the 

Regulations Hazardous Waste ASTs are not subject to.
Part A, §2

Change-In-Service – additional changes in service 
added

Closure – deleted as it is not used in the 
Regulations

Permanent Change in Contents – definition added
Permanent Closure in Place or Permanently Closed 

in Place or Permanently Closing in Place or Permanently 
Closed – definition added

Relocation or Relocating or Relocated – definition 
added

Removal or Removing or Removed – definition 
added

Upgrade – definition added
Part A, § 4.1.2. – Added Permanent Change in Contents

(from regulated substance to unregulated substance) as 
situation whereby registration of an AST would no longer be 
required.

Part A, §4.3.2. – Capitalized defined terms.
Part A, §4.3.3. – Capitalized defined terms.
Part A, §4.4.2.5. – Capitalized defined terms.
Part A, §4.5.4. – Capitalized defined terms.
Part A, §4.6.1. – Capitalized defined terms.
Part A, §4.6.2. – Capitalized defined terms.
Part A, §7.1.1. – Deadline for preparation of Release 

Preparedness Plan added.
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Part A, §8.1.6.5 – Capitalized defined terms.
Part A, §10 – Section added to require labeling of ASTs 

per SS1 for SB344.
Part B, §1.1. – The requirements for relocated ASTs 

stipulate that the relocated AST must meet New AST 
requirements therefore AST relocations has been added to 
the section for New ASTs.

Part B, §1.1. – AST relocations added to New AST 
section.

Part B, §1.3 – Notification requirement for Relocated 
AST added to mirror notification requirements for New 
ASTs.

Part B, §1.3.2. -  Requirement for Relocated AST plans 
to be corrected to meet New ASTs requirements added to 
mirror requirements for New ASTs.

Part B, §1.4. - Requirement for Relocated AST approval 
letters to be posted added to mirror posting requirement for 
New ASTs.

Part B, §1.9. – Clarification added for construction 
permit fees.  Construction Permit Fees apply only to New 
ASTs, not those being Relocated.

Part B, §9.1.7. - Capitalized defined terms.
Part B, §10.1. – Additional Referenced Standards added 

to include Shop-Fabricated ASTs.
Part B, §10.2. – Clarifications added and a requirement 

that the Department be notified and a formal approval letter 
be issued before Relocation of an AST added.

Part B, §11.1.5. - Capitalized defined terms.
Part B, §11.1.6. - Capitalized defined terms.
Part B, §11.2.1. - Capitalized defined terms.
Part B, §11.3. – This section was added to address ASTs 

that were built prior to the Regulations and are converting 
from storage of a non-Regulated Substance to storage of a 
Regulated Substance.  Requirements include notification to 
the DNREC; internal cleaning and inspection; inspection to 
determine if the AST is structurally sound and Upgrading of 
piping.

Part B, §11.4. - This section was added to address ASTs 
that were built after the Regulations and are converting from 
storage of a non-Regulated Substance to storage of a 
Regulated Substance.  Requirements include notification to 
the DNREC; internal cleaning and inspection; inspection to 
determine if the AST is structurally sound; API 570 testing 
and Upgrading of piping; and Upgrading of the AST to meet 
New AST standards as applicable.

Part B, §13.1.2. – Added clarification that the 
Department does not require notification for ASTs that are 
Out-of-Service for scheduled inspection or maintenance. 

Part B, §13.1.3.2.- Deleted prescriptive requirement that 
manways on out-of-service ASTs be bolted and that valves 
be capped.  

Part B, §13.1.3.3. – A requirement that documentation 
of the proper disposal of sludge, solids and residual 
Regulated Substances be retained has been added.

Part B, §13.1.4. – The site assessment requirement for 
ASTs that have been Out of Service for over 3 years was 
originally only in Part B, §14.  It is reiterated here for 
clarification and remains in Part B, §14 also.

Part B, §14 – Relocations has been added to this section 
to address situations where a tank is removed from one area 
and relocated to another.  

Part B, §14.1.1. – The notification requirement has been 
deleted as it is detailed in the Notification section in Part A.

Part B, §14.1.1. – Relocation  and Conversion of an AST
have been added to this section to clarify situations where 
contamination may be detected.

Part B, §14.2. - Relocation  and Conversion of an AST
have been added to this section to clarify situations when a 
site assessment is required.

Part B, §14.2.1.2. - Capitalized defined terms.
Part B, §14.2.1.3. - Relocation  and Conversion of an 

AST have been added to this section to clarify situations 
when a site assessment is required.

Part B, §14.2.6. - Relocation  and Conversion of an AST 
have been added to this sub-section to be consistent within 
all subsections of §14.

Part B, §15 – This section has been added to clarify the 
requirements when Removing an AST.

Part B, §16 - This section has been added to clarify the 
requirements when Permanently Closing an AST.

Part B, §17 - This section has been added to clarify the 
requirements when a Permanent Change in Contents of an 
AST occurs.

Part C, §1.1.2. – Added “or monthly” to accommodate 
months with 31 days.

Part C, §1.1.2.1 – Added “monthly” to accommodate 
months with 31 days.

Part C, §1.1.2.2. – Added “monthly” to accommodate 
months with 31 days.

Part C, §2.2.1. – Changed 30 days to 31 days to 
accommodate months with 31 days.

Part C, §3.1.1. – Changed 90 days to 93 days to 
accommodate months with 31 days.

Part C, §4.1.2. – Capitalized defined term.
Part C, §4.1.6. - Added “monthly” to accommodate 

months with 31 days.
Part C, §5.2.1. – Changed “every 60 days” to “no less 

frequently than every sixty-three (63) days” to accommodate 
months with 31 days.

Part C, §6.2.1. - Changed 30 days to 31 days to 
accommodate months with 31 days.

Part C, 8.1.5. - Changed 30 days to 31 days to 
accommodate months with 31 days.

Part D, § 3. – The aggregate storage capacity categories 
for the amount and scope of Financial Responsibility have 
been changed to more effectively represent the breakdown of 
AST ownership in Delaware.
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3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
Title 7, Del.C. Ch. 74A, The Jeffrey Davis 

Aboveground Storage Tank Act and Senate Substitute No. 1 
for Senate Bill No. 344.

5. Other Regulations that may be Affected by the 
Proposal:

None known.

6. Notice of Public Comment:
A Public Hearing will be held November 22, 2004 at 

6:00pm at the DNREC, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE 
office.

7. Prepared by:  
Jill Williams Hall ,  302-395-2500, October 7, 2004

DUE TO THE LENGTH OF THE REGULATION THE FULL 
TEXT IS NOT BEING PUBLISHED. THE REGULATION IS 
AVAILABLE FROM THE REGISTRAR OR ONLINE.

Aboveground Storage Tank (PDF Version)
Aboveground Storage Tank (HTML Version)

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Chapter 60 & 74A (7 Del.C. Ch. 60 & 74A)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title of the Regulations:
Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
When the Delaware Regulations Governing 

Aboveground Storage Tanks became effective on June 11, 
2004 an overlap between the Regulations Governing 
Aboveground Storage Tanks and the Regulations Governing 
the Control of Water Pollution was created.

The definition of “Aboveground Storage Tank” as stated 
in Title 7, Del.C. Ch. 74A and the Regulations Governing 
Aboveground Storage Tanks and the definition of “Bulk 
storage facility” in the Delaware Regulations Governing the 
Control of Water Pollution encompass the same set of 
aboveground storage tanks.  The definition of “Bulk storage 
facility” is being amended to remove from the Regulations 
Governing the Control of Water Pollution those 
aboveground storage tanks that are included by definition in 
the Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:

Title 7, Chapter 74A and Title 7, Chapter 60

5. Other Regulations that may be Affected by the 
Proposal:

The Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage 
Tanks.

6. Notice of Public Comment:
A Public Hearing will be held November 22, 2004 at 

6:00pm at the DNREC, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE 
office.

7. Prepared by:  
Jill Williams Hall,  302-395-2500, Date  October 7, 

2004

Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution

2.0 Definitions
As used in these regulations, the following terms shall 

be defined as outlined herein.
2.01 "Act" means the Clean Water Act (formerly 

referred to as the Federal Water Pollution Control Act 
Amendments of 1972); Pub. L. 92-500, as amended by Pub. 
L. 95-217, Pub. L. 95-576, Pub. L. 96-483, Pub. L. 97-117, 
Pub. L. 100-4 (Water Quality Act of 1987), Pub. L. 100-688, 
Pub. L. 100-581, Pub. L. 102-580, Pub. L. 102-240; 33 
U.S.C. 1251 et seq.

2.02 "Activity" means construction, or operation, 
or use of any facility, property, or device.

2.03 "Agricultural commodity" means any 
agricultural product, including but not limited to plants and 
animals and plant and animal products grown, raised or 
produced within the State for use as food, feed, seed, or any 
aesthetic, industrial or chemurgic purpose.

2.04 "Animal feeding operation" means a lot or 
facility, together with any associated treatment works or 
waste management systems, where both of the following 
conditions are met:  1.  Animals have been, are, or will be 
stabled or confined or kept and fed or maintained for a total 
of 45 days or more in any 12-month period; and 2. Crops, 
vegetation, forage growth, or post-harvest residues are not 
sustained over any portion of the lot or facility.  Two or more 
animal feeding operations under common ownership are a 
single animal feeding operation if they adjoin each other, or 
if they use a common area or system for the disposal of 
wastes.

2.05 "Animal waste management system" means 
a combination of conservation practices and management 
measures for the handling, storage, treatment and 
management of any or all of the following for use on 
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cropland and pastureland:  animal wastes, manures, 
composted dead animals or process wastewater from any 
animal feeding operation.

2.06 "Agricultural wastes" means any waste 
material generated from any agricultural practice including, 
but not limited to, farming, irrigation, manure or fertilizer 
spreading, aquaculture, aquatic animal production, livestock 
and dairy operations.  Agricultural wastes may include 
animal manure, crop residues, dead animals and any 
agricultural chemicals, fertilizers and pesticides which may 
find their way into surface and subsurface water.

2.07 "Antidegradation Statement" means any 
provision or policy that has as its basis the prevention of 
deterioration of water quality or designated uses.

2.08 "Applicable effluent standards and 
limitations" means all State, interstate and Federal 
standards and limitations to which a discharge or related 
activity, including the use or disposal of sludge, is subject 
under the Law or the Act including effluent limitations, 
water quality standards, standards of performance, toxic 
effluent standards and prohibitions, best management 
practices, and pretreatment standards under Sections 301, 
302, 303, 304, 306, 307, 308, 403 and 405 of the Act.

2.09 "Aquaculture facility" means any water 
system and associated infrastructure constructed or utilized 
to contain, hold and/or produce cultured aquatic stock.

2.10 "Aquaculture project" means a defined area 
of State waters which is managed for the maintenance or 
production of harvestable freshwater, estuarine or marine 
plants or animals, using discharges of pollutants into such 
defined area.

2.11 "Aquatic animal production facility" means 
any hatchery, fish farm, or similar system or facility and any 
associated infrastructure constructed or utilized to contain, 
hold and/or produce cultured aquatic animal stock.

2.12 "Approved POTW Pretreatment Program"
or "Program" or "POTW Pretreatment Program" means a 
program administered by a POTW which has been approved 
by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

2.13 "As-built plans" means any set of engineering 
drawings delineating the specific permitted facility as 
actually installed or constructed.

2.14 "Average daily loading" means the total 
discharge by weight during a calendar month divided by the 
number of days in the month that the production or 
commercial facility was operating.  Where less than daily 
sampling is required, the daily average discharge shall be 
determined by the summation of all the measured daily 
discharges by weight divided by the number of days during 
the calendar month when the measurements were made.

2.15 "Average monthly discharge" or "daily 
average discharge" is the arithmetic mean of all daily 
discharges during a calendar month, calculated as the sum of 
all daily discharges sampled and/or measured during the 

month divided by the number of daily discharges sampled or 
measured during such month. 

2.16 "Average monthly effluent limitation" or 
"daily average effluent limitation" means the highest 
allowable average of daily discharges over a calendar month.

2.17 "Best management practices" or "BMP's"
means schedules of activities, prohibitions of practices, 
maintenance procedures and other management practices or 
measures to prevent or reduce the discharge of pollutants. 
BMP's include but are not limited to:  structural and 
nonstructural controls; treatment requirements; operating 
procedures and practices or leaks, sludge or waste disposal, 
or drainage from raw material storage.  BMPs can be applied 
before, during and after pollution generating activities to 
reduce or eliminate the introduction of pollutants into 
receiving waters. 

2.18 "Biological toxicity testing" refers to the 
measurement of physiological responses of organisms and/or 
their systems to environmentally induced conditions.

2.19 "Biosolids" refers to the biomass or biological 
sludge generated or produced by biological wastewater 
treatment processes.

2.20 "Board" means the Environmental Appeals 
Board.

2.21 "Bulk storage facility" means any facility 
used for the express purpose of storage of 40,000 or more 
gallons of any hazardous material, petroleum product or 
liquid waste but shall not include Aboveground Storage 
Tanks as defined in 7 Del.C., Chapter 74A and the Delaware 
Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks.

2.22 "Bulk transfer facility" means any facility 
used for the express purpose of transfer of 20,000 gallons per 
day or more of any hazardous material, petroleum product, 
or liquid waste to or from any carrier such as, but not limited 
to, ships, barges, trains or trucks.

2.23 "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of 
wastes from any portion of a treatment facility.

2.24 "Certification" means the issuance of a 
written statement or document as required under §401 of the 
Act that any discharge into State waters will comply with the 
applicable provisions of §§301, 302, 303, 306 and 307 of the 
Act.

2.25 "Cold water aquatic animals" include, but 
are not limited to, the Salmonidae family of fish, e.g., trout 
and salmon.

2.26 "Composite sample" means a combination of 
individual samples obtained at specified intervals over a 
given time period, generally 24 hours.

In collecting a composite sample of a discharge 
other than a discharge of storm water or storm runoff (a non-
storm water discharge), either:  a) the volume of each 
individual sample is proportional to the discharge flow rate 
or b) the sampling interval is proportional to the discharge 
flow rate and the volume of each individual sample is 
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constant.  For a continuous non-storm water discharge, a 
minimum of 24 individual grab samples shall be collected 
and combined to constitute a 24 hour composite sample.  For 
intermittent non-storm water discharges 4 hours or more in 
duration, the number of individual grab samples collected 
and combined to constitute a composite sample shall at a 
minimum be equal to the duration of the discharge in hours 
but not less than 12.  For intermittent non-storm water
discharges of less than 4 hours, the minimum number of 
individual grab samples collected and combined to constitute 
a composite sample shall be equal to the duration of the 
discharge in hours times 3 but not less than 3 samples.

2.27 "Concentrated animal feeding operation" or 
"CAFO" means an animal feeding operation, feedlot or 
animal production facility that meets the criteria in Appendix 
B to 40 CFR Part 122 or which is designated as such by the 
Secretary in accordance with 40 CFR 122.23(c).

2.28 "Concentrated aquatic animal production 
facility” means a hatchery, fish farm, or other facility which 
contains, grows, or holds:

(1) Cold water fish species or other cold water 
aquatic animals in ponds, raceways, or other similar 
structures which discharge at least 30 days per year, but does 
not include:

(i) Facilities which produce less than 9,090 
harvest weight kilograms (approximately 20,000 pounds) of 
aquatic animals per year; and 

(ii) Facilities which feed less than 2,272 
kilograms (approximately 5,000 pounds) of food during the 
calendar month of maximum feeding.

(2) Warm water fish species or other warm water 
aquatic animals in ponds, raceways or other similar 
structures which discharge at least 30 days per year, but does 
not include:

(i) Closed ponds which discharge only during 
periods of excess runoff; or

(ii) Facilities which produce less than 45,454 
harvest weight kilograms (approximately 100,000 pounds) 
of aquatic animals per year.

2.29 "Conservation practices and management 
measures" means the basic components of a conservation 
waste management plan which apply the principles of 
agricultural engineering, economics, research, animal 
science and crop and soil sciences, as appropriate, to 
maximize the economic value of wastes, to minimize 
discharges of pollutants associated with and to minimize any 
environmental damage resulting from the activity.

2.30 "Conservation waste management plan"
means a written document that outlines the site-specific 
conservation and management measures to be implemented 
and followed on the farm.

2.31 "Construction" means any placement, 
assembly, building or installation of equipment or facilities.

2.32 "Continuous discharge" means a discharge 

which occurs without interruption, except for infrequent 
shutdowns for maintenance, process changes, or other 
similar activities throughout the operating hours of the 
facility.

2.33 "Daily discharge" means the total discharge 
measured during a calendar day or any 24-hour period that 
reasonably represents the calendar day for sampling 
purposes.  For pollutants with limitations expressed in units 
of mass, the daily discharge is calculated as the total mass of 
a pollutant discharged over a calendar day or the equivalent 
24-hour period.  For pollutants with limitations expressed in 
other units of measurement, the daily discharge is calculated 
as the average measurement of the pollutant over a calendar 
day or the equivalent 24-hour period.

2.34 "Daily maximum effluent limitation" is the 
highest total mass of a pollutant allowed to be discharged 
during a calendar day or, in the case of a pollutant limited in 
terms other than mass, the highest average concentration or 
other measurement of the pollutant specified during the 
calendar day, or any 24-hour period that reasonably 
represents the calendar day for sampling purposes.

2.35 "Degradation" means any adverse change in 
water quality or designated uses.

2.36 "Department" means the State of Delaware 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control.

2.37 "Designated project area" means the portion 
of State waters within which an owner plans to confine the 
cultivated species using a method or plan or operation which 
is expected to ensure that the aquaculture crop will enjoy 
increased growth attributable to the discharge of pollutants 
and be harvested within a defined geographic area.

2.38 "Designated uses" means the categories of 
surface water uses as defined in the water quality standards.

2.39 "Direct discharge" means the "discharge of a 
pollutant".

2.40 "Direct Responsible Charge" or "DRC" 
means on-location accountability for, and on-location 
performance of, active daily operation (including Technical 
Supervision, Administrative Supervision, or Maintenance 
Supervision) for a wastewater facility, an operating shift of a 
system or a facility, or a major segment of a system or 
facility.

2.41 "Discharge" for the purposes of these 
regulations when used without qualification means the 
discharge of a pollutant.

2.42 "Discharge of a pollutant" means any 
addition of any pollutant, or combination of pollutants, to 
state waters or the contiguous zone, or the ocean, from any 
source or activity other than a vessel or other floating craft 
when being used as a means of transportation and in 
compliance with Section 312 of the Act.

This definition includes additions of pollutants into 
State waters from:
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(i) Surface runoff that is collected or channeled by 
man;

(ii) Discharges through pipes, sewers, or other 
conveyances which do not lead to a treatment works; and

(iii) Discharges through pipes, sewers, or other 
conveyances, leading into a treatment works other than a 
publicly owned treatment works (POTW).

2.43 "Domestic wastewater" means the liquid and 
water-borne human and/or household type wastes derived 
from residential, industrial, institutional or commercial 
sources.

2.44 "Draft permit" means the document prepared 
under Section 6.12 of these regulations which incorporates 
the Secretary's tentative determinations with respect to any 
NPDES permit application or any request to modify, revoke 
and reissue or terminate a NPDES permit.  The term, "draft 
permit", includes a notice of intent to deny a permit and a 
notice of intent to terminate a permit, as outlined in Section 
6.52 of these regulations.  The denial of a request to modify, 
to revoke and reissue or to terminate a permit is not a "draft 
permit", however.

2.45 "Effluent limitations" means any restriction 
imposed by the Secretary on the quantity, discharge rate and 
concentration of a pollutant discharged from a point source 
to State waters.  Effluent limitations include, but are not 
limited to, standards of performance for new sources, best 
management practices or BMPs, effluent standards, 
discharge prohibitions, "zero discharge" standards and ocean 
discharge criteria.

2.46 "Environmental Protection Agency"
("EPA") means the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency.

2.47 "Existing source" means any source which is 
not a new source or a new discharger.

2.48 "Existing uses" means any use of State waters 
which has occurred, or which likely has occurred, or which
the water quality at any time has been satisfactory to support, 
on or after November 28, 1975.

2.49 "Facility" means any building, any structure, 
any complex of buildings or structures, or any process, 
production equipment or machinery, which makes it possible 
for an activity to be conducted.

2.50 "Facility plan" means a report which the 
owner of a treatment works submits to the Department that 
consists of those necessary plans and studies directly relating 
to the construction of proposed sewage treatment facilities or 
additions to existing sewage treatment facilities where 
additional treatment capacity is proposed.

2.51 "Feasible alternatives" are those alternatives 
that are available and capable of being carried out after 
taking into consideration cost, existing technology, and 
logistics in light of overall project purposes.

2.52 "Feedlot" means a confined animal feeding 
operation or a poultry growing operation for meat, milk or 

egg production, or for stabling, in pens or houses wherein the 
animals or poultry are fed at the place of confinement and 
crop or forage growth is not sustained in the area of 
confinement.

2.53 "Filtration" means a mechanical or physical 
straining process whose principal action is the removal of 
undissolved matter and shall include, but not be limited to, 
the following:  diatomaceous earth filter, microstrainer, sand, 
dual and multi-media beds, or other processes capable of 
equivalent treatment.

2.54 "General NPDES permit" means an 
authorization granted to a category of point source 
discharges pursuant to Section 9 of these regulations.

2.55 "Grab sample" is an individual sample 
collected in less than 15 minutes.

2.56 "Groundwater" means any water naturally 
found under the surface of the earth.

2.57 "Hazardous material" means any element or 
compound which when discharged onto land or into surface 
or groundwater, presents an imminent and substantial danger 
to public health and welfare, aquatic organisms, including 
but not limited to, fish, shellfish, terrestrial life, shorelines 
and beaches.

2.58 "Indirect discharge" means the discharge or 
introduction of pollutants from any nondomestic source into 
a municipal or publicly-owned treatment works.

2.59 "Industrial User" - means any industry, 
manufacturer or business whose liquid waste is discharged to 
a municipal or publicly owned treatment works; an industrial 
user is also an indirect discharger.

2.60 "Industrial wastes" means any liquid, 
gaseous, solid or other wastes or a combination thereof 
resulting from any process of industry, manufacture, trade or 
business, or from the development of any natural resource.

2.61 "Intake pollutant" means an amount of a 
pollutant that is present in State waters (including 
groundwater) at the time it is withdrawn from such waters by 
the discharger or other facility supplying the discharger with 
intake water.  "Intake water" means the water used by a 
facility generally for cooling or process-related purposes 
from any source:  surface water, groundwater, commercial 
purveyor or other sources.

2.62 "Interstate agency" means an agency of two 
or more States established by or pursuant to an agreement or 
compact approved by the Congress, or any other agency of 
two or more States, having substantial powers or duties 
pertaining to the control of pollution as determined and 
approved by EPA under the Act.

2.63 "Law" means Title 7, Delaware Code Chapter 
60.

2.64 "Liquid waste" means any sewage, industrial 
waste or other wastes or any combination thereof which may 
potentially alter the chemical, physical, biological or 
radiological integrity of surface and/or groundwater from its 
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natural state.  The term, "liquid waste", does not mean storm 
runoff or storm water.

2.65 "Load" or "loading" means an amount of 
matter or thermal energy that is introduced into a receiving 
water; as a verb, "load or loading" means to introduce matter 
or thermal energy into a receiving water.  Loading may be 
either man-caused (pollutant loading) or natural (natural 
background loading).

2.66 "Load allocation" or "LA" means the portion 
of a receiving water’s loading capacity that is attributed 
either to one of its existing or future nonpoint sources of 
pollution or to natural background sources.  Load allocations 
are best estimates of the loading, which may range from 
reasonably accurate estimates to gross allotments, depending 
upon the availability of data and appropriate techniques for 
predicting the loading.  Wherever possible, natural and 
nonpoint source loads should be distinguished.

2.67 "Loading capacity" means the greatest 
amount of loading that a water can receive without violating 
water quality standards.

2.68 "Log sorting and log storage facilities"
means facilities whose discharges result from the holding of 
unprocessed wood, i.e., logs or roundwood with bark or after 
removal of bark in self-contained bodies of water (mill 
ponds or log ponds) or stored on land where water is applied 
intentionally on the logs (wet decking).

2.69 "Maximum instantaneous concentration" or
"MIC" is the highest allowable measured concentration of a 
pollutant, obtained by analyzing a grab sample of the 
discharge.

2.70 "Medical wastes" means isolation wastes; 
infectious agents; human blood and blood products; 
pathological wastes; sharps; body parts; contaminated 
bedding; surgical wastes and potentially contaminated 
laboratory wastes; dialysis wastes and other disposable 
medical equipment and material.

2.71 "Method Detection Limit" or "MDL" means 
the lowest concentration of a substance which can be 
measured with 99 percent confidence that the analyte 
concentration is greater than zero and is determined from 
analysis of a sample in a given matrix containing the analyte.

2.72 "Minimum analytical level" or "MAL"
means the lowest concentration of a substance that can be 
quantified within specified limits of interlaboratory precision 
and accuracy under routine laboratory operating conditions 
in the matrix of concern.  When there is insufficient 
interlaboratory study data, the "MAL" may be determined 
through the use of a multiplier of 5 to 10 times the method 
detection level or "MDL". 

2.73 "Mitigation" means the following sequence: 
(a) avoiding the impact altogether by not taking a certain 
action or part of an action, (b) minimizing impacts by 
limiting the magnitude of the action to the minimum 
necessary to effectuate the project need, and (c) in those 

cases where impacts cannot be avoided or where 
minimization has occurred, compensating for the affected 
resource.

2.74 "Municipality" means a city, town, county, 
district, association, or other political subdivision created by 
or pursuant to State law and having jurisdiction over disposal 
of sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes, or a designated 
and approved management agency under Section 208 of the 
Act.

2.75 "NPDES" ("National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System") means the national program for 
issuing, modifying, revoking and reissuing, terminating, 
monitoring, and enforcing permits for the discharge of any 
pollutant or combination of pollutants and imposing and 
enforcing pretreatment and sludge requirements pursuant to 
Sections 307, 402, 318, and 405 of the Act.

2.76 "NPDES application" means the forms 
recognized nationally, duly promulgated by EPA pursuant to 
the Act, including any modifications to such forms required 
by the Secretary, for application for a NPDES permit.

2.77 "NPDES Discharge Monitoring Report" 
("DMR") means any EPA approved form, used to 
summarize and report the results of the permittee's self-
monitoring activities.

2.78 "NPDES form" means any issued NPDES 
permit and any uniform national form developed for use in 
the NPDES program, including any addition to such form 
required by the Secretary, and prescribed in regulations 
promulgated by EPA including the NPDES application and 
the NPDES Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) forms.

2.79 "NPDES permit" means any permit 
authorizing the potential or actual point source discharge of 
pollutants to State waters, under prescribed conditions, 
pursuant to Section 6 of these regulations.

2.80 "National Pretreatment Standard" or
"Pretreatment Standard" means any regulation containing 
pollutant discharge limits promulgated by the EPA in 
accordance with Section 307 (b) and (c) of the Act, which 
applies to industrial users.

2.81 "New discharger" means any building, 
structure, facility or installation:

(i) Which prior to August 13, 1979, had not 
discharged pollutants;

(ii) Which had never received a final effective 
NPDES permit for discharges at that site;

(iii) From which there is or may be a new or 
additional discharge of pollutants;

(iv) Which is an indirect discharger that 
commences a discharge to State waters; and

(v) Which does not fall within the definition of 
"new source".

2.82 "New source" means any building, structure, 
facility or installation from which there is or may be a 
discharge of pollutants, the construction of which 
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commences:
(i) After promulgation of standards of 

performance under Section 306 of the Act which are 
applicable to such source; or

(ii) After proposal of standards of performance 
under Section 306 of the Act which are applicable to such 
source, but only if the standards are promulgated within 120 
days of their proposal.

2.83 "Non-contact cooling water" is that which is 
contained within a leak-free system, i.e. has no contact with 
any gas, liquid or solid other than the container used for 
transport.

2.84 "Normal corrosion" refers to the 
electrochemical reaction that results in the dissolution or 
removal of metal from a solid metal surface.  For specific 
applications considered by the Department, normal 
corrosion rates shall be as published by the National 
Association of Corrosion Engineers (Reference:  Corrosion 
Data Survey - Metals Section, National Association of 
Corrosion Engineers, 1985, as updated through August 29, 
2000, or, for applications not specifically addressed in the 
above reference, such other reliable data.

2.85 "Normal erosion" is the progressive loss of 
original material from a solid surface due to mechanical 
interaction between that surface and a fluid, a multi-
component fluid or an impinging liquid or solid particle. 
(Reference:  Standard Practice for Liquid Impingement 
Erosion Testing, ASTM Designation G73-82, 1987; or other 
authoritative source for materials or conditions not covered 
by the referenced standard.)

2.86 "Nuisance condition" is any condition that, as 
a result of pollutant addition to a surface water, causes 
unreasonable interference with the designated uses of the 
waters or the uses of the adjoining land areas.

2.87 "Nutrient management plan" means a plan 
or program to manage the amount, placement, timing and 
application of nutrients in order to reduce nutrient loss or 
runoff and to maintain the productivity of soil when growing 
agricultural commodities and turfgrass.

2.88 "Nutrient removal" means any method of 
treatment specifically designed to remove nutrients 
including, but not limited to, phosphorus, nitrogen or carbon.

2.89 "Nutrients" means nitrogen, nitrate, 
phosphorus, organic matter, and any other elements 
necessary for or helpful to plant growth.

2.90 "Operations and Maintenance Manual"
means a written document setting forth a step by step 
procedure for operating and maintaining the treatment 
facility.

2.91 "Operator" means any person employed or 
appointed by any owner, and who is designated by such 
owner to be the person controlling the operations of the 
treatment works, including direct actions, decisions or 
evaluations which affect the quality of the discharge, and 

whose duties include testing or evaluation to control 
treatment works operations.

2.92 "Other wastes" means decayed wood, 
sawdust, shavings, bark, sand, lime, garbage, refuse, cinders, 
ashes, offal, tar, oil, chemicals, and all other substances, 
except industrial wastes and sewage, which may cause 
pollution in any State waters.

2.93 "Owner" means the State or any of its 
political subdivisions, including, but not limited to, sewer or 
sanitation district commissioners and authorities; any public 
or private institution, corporation, association, firm or 
company organized or existing under the laws of this or any 
other state or country; or any person or group of persons 
acting individually or as a group, and shall include any 
permittee under a NPDES permit.  For the purposes of this 
regulation, "owner" shall also mean any responsible 
corporate officer so designated in the permit application. 
"Owner" may also mean an industrial user as identified or 
controlled by the requirements of Section 6, Part VII. 

2.94 "Permit" means the authorization, license or 
equivalent control document issued by the Secretary or his 
duly authorized representative to implement the 
requirements of these regulations.

2.95 "Permittee" means any person to whom a 
permit has been issued by the Secretary.

2.96 "Person" means any individual, trust, firm, 
corporation (including a government corporation), 
partnership, association, institution, enterprise, federal 
agency, state, municipality, commission, agency, political 
subdivision of a state or any interstate body, or an agent or 
employee thereof.

2.97 "Pipeline" means any pipe or system of pipes 
including, but not limited to, pump stations and other 
appurtenances utilized for the conveyance of any liquid, gas 
or solid.

2.98 "Point source" means any discernible, 
confined and discrete conveyance, including but not limited 
to any pipe, ditch, channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete 
fissure, container, rolling stock, concentrated animal feeding 
operation, landfill leachate collection system, vessel or other 
floating craft, from which pollutants are or may be 
discharged.  This term does not include return flows from 
irrigated agriculture or agricultural storm water runoff.  

2.99 "Pollutant" means any substance, radioactive 
material, or waste heat which causes or contributes to, or 
may cause or contribute to, pollution. The term includes 
dredged spoil and other dredged materials, fill material, solid 
waste, incinerator residue, filter backwash, sewage, garbage, 
sewage sludge, munitions, chemical wastes, biological 
materials, radioactive materials, heat, wrecked or discarded 
equipment, rock, sand, cellar dirt, hydrocarbons, oil, product 
chemicals, and industrial, municipal, agricultural and other 
wastes discharged into water.

The term, "pollutant", does not mean:  "sewage 
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from vessels" within the meaning of Section 312 of the Act; 
or water, gas, or other material that is injected into a well to 
facilitate production of oil or gas, or water derived in 
association with oil or gas production and disposed of in a 
well, if the well used either to facilitate production or for 
disposal purposes is approved by the Secretary, and if the 
Secretary determines that such injection or disposal will not 
result in the degradation of ground or surface water 
resources.  This definition encompasses drinking water 
contaminants that are regulated under Section 1412 of the 
Safe Drinking Water Act and may be discharged to State 
waters that are source waters of one or more public water 
systems.  For public water systems served by surface water, 
source water is any water reaching the intake.

2.100 "Pollution" or "Water Pollution" means 
man-made or human-induced alteration of the physical, 
chemical, biological or radiological properties of any state 
waters as will create or is likely to create a nuisance or 
render such waters:

(i) Harmful or detrimental or injurious to the 
public health, safety, or welfare, or to the health of animals, 
fish, or aquatic life;

(ii) Unsuitable, with reasonable treatment, for use 
as present or possible future sources of public water supply; 
or

(iii) Unsuitable for recreational, commercial, 
industrial, agricultural, or other reasonable uses;

For the purposes of these regulations, the following 
are "water pollution":

(A) An alteration of the physical, chemical, or 
biological properties of State waters or a discharge of 
sewage, industrial wastes, other wastes or materials to State 
waters by any person which by itself is not sufficient to 
cause water pollution but which in combination with such 
alteration or discharge to State waters by other persons is 
sufficient to cause water pollution,

(B) The discharge of untreated sewage by any 
person into State waters, and

(C) The discharge of any pollutant, 
contaminant or substance that causes or contributes to the 
contravention of water quality standards duly established by 
the Secretary.

2.101 "Pollution Control Strategy" or "PCS"
means a plan that specifies the necessary polluant load 
reductions and actions that must be taken through voluntary 
and regulatory means to ensure the resultant pollutant 
loadings are less than or equal to the "total maximum daily 
load" or "TMDL" for a given waterbody.  Pollution trading 
between different sources of pollution, geographic targeting 
and pollution prevention may all be considered as part of a 
"Pollution Control Strategy" or "PCS".

2.102 "Pollution prevention" means any practice 
which results in a lesser quantity of emissions released or 
discharged prior to out-of-process recycling, treatment or 

control, as measured on a per-unit-of-production basis.
2.103 "Ponds" means all natural and/or man-made 

lakes or other bodies of water fed directly by springs, 
groundwater, tidal or non-tidal streams.

2.104 "Pretreatment" means the reduction or 
elimination of pollutants, or altering the nature of the 
pollutants prior to discharging or otherwise introducing such 
pollutants to a treatment works.  The reduction or alteration 
can be obtained by physical, chemical or biological 
processes, process changes or by other means.

2.105 "Pretreatment program" means the legal, 
technical and administrative framework for effectively 
controlling the introduction of pollutants into a publicly 
owned treatment works (POTW).

2.106 "Pretreatment requirement" means any 
substantive or procedural condition, obligation or 
requirement related to pretreatment, other than a national 
pretreatment standard, imposed on any industrial user.

2.107 "Pretreatment standard" means any 
pollutant discharge limitation promulgated by the EPA in 
accordance with §307(b) and (c) of the Act, or by the 
Secretary, which applies to industrial users.  This term 
includes the prohibitions and discharge limitations outlined 
in Section 6.71 of these regulations.

2.108 "Process wastewater" means any water 
which, during manufacturing or processing, comes into 
direct contact with or results from the production or use of 
any raw material, intermediate product, finished product, 
byproduct, or waste product.

2.109 "Professional engineer" means a person who 
has been duly registered as a Professional Engineer by the 
Council of the Delaware Association of Professional 
Engineers.

2.110 "Public Hearing" means any fact-finding 
proceeding pursuant to §6006 of the Law, held by the 
Secretary to afford interested persons an opportunity to 
submit factual data or evidence, views, and arguments to the 
Secretary.

2.111 "Publicly owned treatment works" 
("POTW") means a treatment works as defined herein, 
which is owned by the State or a municipality, city, town, 
county, district or other public body created by or pursuant to 
the laws of the State, including any sewers, pipes or other 
conveyances that connect to such treatment works.

2.112 "Radioactive Material" means those 
radioactive materials not encompassed in the definitions of 
source, byproduct or special nuclear materials in the Atomic 
Energy Act of 1954, as amended through August 29, 2000.

2.113 "Residues" or "residuals" means the solids, 
sludges, and precipitates separated from or created by the 
unit processes of a treatment works.

2.114 "Rock crushing and gravel washing 
facilities" means facilities which process crushed and 
broken stone, gravel and riprap.
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2.115 "Schedule of compliance" means a listing of 
necessary measures with target dates, including an 
enforceable sequence of interim requirements, actions or 
operations, leading to compliance with an effluent limitation, 
other limitation or requirement, prohibition, regulation, 
performance standard, or water quality standard.

2.116 "Secondary treatment" means any 
combination of unit processes that will consistently remove 
85% or more of the organic and suspended material in 
domestic sewage and produce an effluent of sufficient 
quality to satisfy the requirements of Section 7 of these 
regulations.

2.117 "Secretary" means the Secretary of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control or his duly authorized designee.

2.118 "Severe property damage" means substantial 
physical damage to property, damage to the treatment 
facilities which would cause them to become inoperable, or 
substantial and permanent loss of natural resources which 
can reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a 
bypass.  Severe property damage does not mean economic 
loss caused by delays in production.

2.119 "Sewage" means the water-carried human or 
animal wastes from septic tanks, water closets, residences, 
buildings, industrial establishments or other places together 
with such groundwater infiltration, subsurface water, storm 
inflow, admixture of industrial wastes, or other wastes as 
may be present.

2.120 "Sewage from vessels" means human body 
wastes and the wastes from toilets and other receptacles 
intended to receive or retain body wastes that are discharged 
from vessels and regulated under Section 312 of the Act.

2.121 "Sewage sludge" means any solid, semi-solid 
or liquid residue removed during the treatment of municipal 
wastewater or domestic sewage, including but not limited to, 
solids removed during primary, secondary or advanced 
wastewater treatment, scum, septage, portable toilet 
pumpings and sewage sludge products.

2.122 "Significant industrial user" means that 
(industrial user) which reasonably has the potential to 
adversely affect a POTW's operation; that which reasonably 
has the potential for violating any pretreatment standard or 
requirement; that which discharges an average of 25,000 
gallons per day or more of process wastewater to a POTW; 
that which discharges process wastewater in such an amount 
or strength that constitutes 5 percent or more of the average 
dry weather hydraulic or organic capacity of the POTW; that 
which is designated as such by the POTW; that which is 
subject to federal categorical pretreatment standards as 
outlined in 40 CFR 403.6 and 40 CFR Chapter I, Subchapter 
N.

2.123 "Silvicultural point source" means any 
discernible, confined, and discrete conveyance related to 
rock crushing, gravel washing, log sorting, or log storage 

facilities which are operated in connection with silvicultural 
activities and from which pollutants are discharged into State 
waters.

2.124 "Site" means the land or water area where any 
"facility or activity" is physically located or conducted, 
including adjacent land used in connection with the facility 
or activity.

2.125 "Sludge" means the accumulated semi-liquid 
suspension, settled solids, or dried residue of these solids 
removed by any surface water or groundwater treatment 
facility or any liquid waste treatment facility or works, 
whether or not such solids have undergone treatment.

2.126 "Source" means any building, structure, 
facility, installation or establishment from which there is or 
may be a discharge of pollutants.

2.127 "State" means the State of Delaware.
2.128 "State waters" or "Waters of the State"

means all water, on the surface and under the ground, wholly 
or partially within, or bordering the State, or within its 
jurisdiction including but not limited to:

(a) Waters which are subject to the ebb and flow of 
the tide including, but not limited to, estuaries, bays and the 
Atlantic Ocean;

(b) All interstate waters, including interstate 
wetlands;

(c) All other waters of the State, such as lakes, 
rivers, streams (including intermittent and ephemeral 
streams), drainage ditches, tax ditches, creeks, mudflats, 
sandflats, wetlands, sloughs, or natural or impounded ponds;

(d) All impoundments of waters otherwise defined 
as waters of the State under this definition;

(e) Wetlands adjacent to waters (other than waters 
that are themselves wetlands) identified in (a)-(d).

Waste and stormwater treatment systems including, 
but not limited to, treatment ponds or lagoons designed to 
meet the requirements of the Act (other than cooling ponds 
which otherwise meet the requirements of subsection (1) of 
this definition) are not "State waters" or "Waters of the 
State". 

2.129 "Stream" means the natural watercourse 
flowing in a defined bed or channel with bank and sides 
having permanent sources of supply, uniform or interrupted, 
temporarily diminished or suspended, but usually containing 
running water.

2.130 "Surface water" means water occurring 
generally on the surface of the earth.

2.131 "Technology-based" generally refers to those 
requirements or limitations, established by these regulations 
or in accordance with §301 of the Act, that reflect the 
achievable performance or pollutant removal capability of 
the technology, treatment process or equipment employed.

2.132 "Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL"
means the amount of a given pollutant that may be discharged 
to a waterbody from point, nonpoint and natural background 
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sources and still allow attainment or maintenance of the 
applicable narrative and numerical water quality standards.  A 
"TMDL" is the sum of the individual wasteload allocations or 
WLAs for point sources and load allocations or LAs for 
nonpoint sources of pollution and natural background.  A 
“TMDL” may include a reasonable margin of safety (MOS) to 
account for uncertainties regarding the relationship between 
mass loading and resulting water quality.  In simplistic terms, a 
"TMDL" attempts to match the strength, location and timing 
of pollution sources within a watershed with the inherent 
ability of the receiving water to assimilate the pollutant 
without adverse impact.

2.133 "Toxic Pollutant" means any pollutant listed 
as toxic in Delaware's Surface Water Quality Standards. 

2.134 "Treatment works" means any devices and 
systems used in the storage, treatment, recycling, and/or 
reclamation of sewage or industrial wastes, or necessary to 
recycle or reuse water, including intercepting sewers, outfall 
sewers, sewage collection systems, pumping, power, and 
other equipment, and their appurtenances, extension, 
improvement, remodeling, additions, and alterations thereof; 
and any works, including land that will be an integral part of 
the treatment process or is used for ultimate disposal of 
residues resulting from such treatment; however, "treatment 
facilities" shall include only those mechanical devices 
necessary for the transmission and treatment of wastes (e.g., 
unit treatment processes and pump stations).

2.135 "Upset" means an exceptional incident in 
which there is unintentional and temporary noncompliance 
with technology-based permit effluent limitations because of 
factors beyond the reasonable control of the permittee.  The 
basis for specific effluent limitations can be found in the fact 
sheet, as provided for in Section 6.18.  An upset does not 
include noncompliance to the extent caused by operational 
error, improperly designed treatment facilities, inadequate 
treatment facilities, lack of preventive maintenance, or 
careless or improper operation.

2.136 "Variance" means a permitted deviation from 
an established rule, regulation, plan, standard or procedure. 
With respect to the NPDES program, it means any 
mechanism or provision under Sections 301 or 316 of the 
Act, or in the applicable effluent limitation guidelines which 
allow modification to or waivers of the effluent limitation 
requirements or time deadlines of the Act.  This includes 
provisions which allow the establishment of alternative 
limitations based on fundamentally different factors, the 
establishment of alternative discharge limitations, treatment 
requirements or control measures pursuant to Sections 
301(c), 301(g), 301(h) or 316(a) of the Act, or extensions of 
compliance deadlines pursuant to Sections 301(i) or 301(k) 
of the Act, where appropriate.

2.137 "Warm water aquatic animals" include, but 
are not limited to, the Ameiuride, Centrarchidae, and 
Cyprinidae families of fish, e.g., respectively catfish, 

sunfish, and minnows.
2.138 "Wasteload allocation" or "WLA" means the 

portion of a receiving water’s loading capacity that is 
allocated to one of its existing or future point sources of 
pollution. WLAs constitute a type of water quality-based 
effluent limitation.

2.139 "Water quality" means the physical, chemical 
and biological characteristics of water with respect to its 
suitability for a particular use.

2.140 "Water quality-based" generally refers to 
those requirements or limitations designed to achieve a given 
water quality objective, e.g. compliance with any applicable 
water quality standard, without regard to treatment 
technology.

2.141 "Water quality criterion" is an element of 
water quality standards, expressed as constituent 
concentrations, levels, or narrative statements, representing a 
quality of water that supports a particular designated use.

2.142 "Water quality standard" means any rule or 
limit established by the Secretary which consists of a 
designated use or uses for waters of the State and the water 
quality criteria for such waters based upon such designated 
uses.

2.143 "Wetlands" are those areas that are inundated 
or saturated by surface or groundwater at a frequency and 
duration sufficient to support, and that under normal 
circumstances do support, a prevalence of vegetation 
typically adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. 
Wetlands generally include swamps, marshes, bogs and 
similar areas.  Wetland areas are as delineated under and 
through 7 Del.C. Chapter 66 and the "Corps of Engineers 
Wetlands Delineation Manual", dated January, 1987.

2.144 "Wetlands creation" means the 
establishment, through human intervention, of wetlands at a 
site where wetlands did not historically exist.

2.145 "Wetlands enhancement" means the net 
increase, through human intervention, of wetland function or 
value within an existing wetland.

2.146 "Wetlands restoration" means the 
reestablishment, through human intervention, of wetlands at 
a site where wetlands historically existed but were 
subsequently lost.

2.147 "Whole effluent toxicity" means the 
aggregate toxic effect of an effluent or discharge measured 
directly by a toxicity test.

2.148 "Work plan" means a list of all necessary 
actions and corresponding time schedule which is included in 
the facility plan or operations and needs review to ensure that 
an owner's sewage system maintains effluent limits.
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DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Little 
Assawoman Bay Watershed, Delaware

1.0 Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues
The Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control (DNREC) is proposing to adopt 
Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation for 
nitrogen and for phosphorous for the Little Assawoman Bay 
Watershed.   A TMDL sets limit on the amount of a pollutant 
that can be discharged into a waterbody and still protect 
water quality.  TMDLs are composed of three components, 
including Waste Load Allocations (WLAs) for point source 
discharges, Load Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, 
and a Margin of Safety (MOS).

2.0 Possible Terms of the Agency Action
Following adoption of the proposed Total Maximum 

Daily Load for the Little Assawoman Bay, DNREC will 
develop a Pollution Control Strategy (PCS) to achieve the 
necessary load reductions. The PCS will identify specific 
pollution reduction activities and timeframes and will be 
developed in concert with the Inland Bays Tributary Action 
Team, other stakeholders, and the public.

3.0 Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act
The authority to develop a TMDL is provided by Title 7 

of the Delaware Code, Chapter 60, and Section 303(d) of 
the Federal Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 et. seq., as 
amended.

4.0 Other Legislation That May be Impacted
None

5.0 Notice of Public Comment
A public hearing will be held on Tuesday, November 30, 

2004, at 3:00 p.m., at Bethany Beach Town Hall, 214 
Garfield Parkway, Bethany Beach, Delaware.  The hearing 
record will remain open until 5:00 p.m., November 30, 2004. 
Please bring written comments to the hearing or send them to 
Lisa A. Vest, DNREC, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE, 
19901; facsimile: (302) 739- 6242.  For planning purposes, 
those individuals wishing to make oral comments at the 
public hearing are requested to notify Marianne Brady, 
(302)-739-4590; facsimile: (302) 739-6140; email: 
(marianne.brady@state.de.us) by 4:30 p.m., November 29, 
2004.

Additional information and supporting technical 

documents may be obtained by contacting Hassan Mirsajadi, 
Watershed Assessment Section, Division of Water 
Resources, Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, 820 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 
820, Dover, DE 19904-2464, (302) 739-4590, facsimile: 
(302) 739-6140, email: (hassan.mirsajadi@state.de.us)

6.0 Prepared By:
Hassan Mirsajadi, Watershed Assessment Branch, 739-

4590

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Little 
Assawoman Bay Watershed, Delaware

1.0 Introduction and Background
1.1 Intensive water quality monitoring performed by 

the State of Delaware, the federal government, various 
university and private researchers, and citizen monitoring 
groups has shown that surface waters of the Inland Bays 
Watershed including the Little Assawoman Bay are highly 
enriched with the nutrients nitrogen and phosphorous. 
Although nutrients are essential elements for both plants and 
animals, their presence in excessive amounts cause 
undesirable conditions.  Symptoms of nutrient enrichment in 
the Inland Bays have included excessive macroalgae growth 
(sea lettuce and other species), phytoplankton blooms (some 
potentially toxic), large daily swings in dissolved oxygen 
levels, loss of Submerged Aquatic Vegetation (SAV), and 
fish kills.   These symptoms threaten the future of the Inland 
Bays - very significant natural, ecological, and recreational 
resources of the State - and may result in adverse impacts to 
the local and State economies through reduced tourism, a 
decline in property values, and lost revenues.  Hence, 
excessive nutrients pose a significant threat to the health and 
well being of people, other animals, and plants living within 
the watershed.

1.2 A reduction in the amount of nitrogen and 
phosphorous reaching the Inland Bays is necessary to 
reverse the undesirable effects.  These nutrients enter the 
Bays and its tributaries and ponds from several sources 
including point sources, nonpoint sources, and from the 
atmosphere.   Point sources of nutrients are end-of-pipe 
discharges coming from municipal and industrial wastewater 
treatment plants and other industrial uses.  Nonpoint sources 
of nutrients include runoff from agricultural and urban areas, 
seepage from septic tanks, and ground water discharges. 
Atmospheric deposition comes from both local and regional 
sources, such as motor vehicle exhausts and emissions from 
power plants that burn fossil fuels.  

1.3 Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act 
(CWA) requires States to develop a list (303(d) List) of 
waterbodies for which existing pollution control activities 
are not sufficient to attain applicable water quality standards 
and to develop Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for 
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pollutants or stressors causing the impacts.   A TMDL sets a 
limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into 
a waterbody and still protect water quality.  TMDLs are 
composed of three components, including Waste Load 
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load 
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of 
Safety (MOS).  

1.4 The Delaware Department of Natural Resources 
and Environmental Control (DNREC) listed the Little 
Assawoman Bay and several tributaries and ponds of the 
Inland Bays on the State’s  303(d) Lists and proposes the 
following Total Maximum Daily Loads regulation for 
nitrogen and phosphorous.

2.0 Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation 
for the Little Assawoman Bay, Delaware

Article 1. The nonpoint source nitrogen load in the Little 
Assawoman Bay Watershed shall be reduced by 40 percent. 
For the 3-year period of 1998 through 2000, this would 
result in reduction of total nitrogen load in the Watershed 
from 594 pounds per day to 357 pounds per day.

Article 2. The nonpoint source phosphorous load in the 
Little Assawoman Bay Watershed shall be reduced by 40 
percent.  For the 3-year period of 1998 through 2000, this 
would result in reduction of total phosphorous load in the 
Watershed from 49 pounds per day to 30 pounds per day.

Article 3. Implementation of this TMDL Regulation shall 
be achieved through development and implementation of a 
Pollution Control Strategy.  The Strategy will be developed 
by DNREC in concert with the Inland Bays Tributary Action 
Team, other stakeholders, and the public.

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY
BAIL ENFORCEMENT AGENTS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 5404(a) (24 Del.C. §5404(a))

PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Safety 
and Homeland Security, Division of State Police, in 
accordance with 24 Del C Section 5404(a) proposes to 
amend Adopted Rule 1.0 - Licensing.  This amendment will 
clarify items and fees that a Bail Enforcement Agent will 
receive when applying or renewing.  If you wish to view the 
complete Rule, contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-
5991.  Any persons wishing to present views may submit 

them in writing, by November 8, 2004, to Delaware State 
Police, Detective Licensing, P.O. BOX 430, DOVER, DE, 
19903.

Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents

Preamble
These Rules & Regulations are promulgated pursuant to 

24 Del.C. §5504(a) and the Secretary of Public Safety 
delegates his regulatory authority granted by Chapter 55 to 
the Division of State Police.

1.0 Licensing
1.1 Any individual applying for a bail enforcement 

agent ID card under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 must meet and 
maintain the following qualifications:

1.1.1 Must not be convicted of any felony; and
1.1.2 Must not have been convicted, within the 

last seven (7) years, of any two (2) of the following 
misdemeanors:  theft, drug offenses, offensive touching, or 
assault III; and

1.1.3 Must not have been convicted of any 
charge or been involved in any conduct that may impair the 
performance of the bail enforcement agent and endanger 
public safety as determined by the Detective Licensing 
Section and

1.1.4 Must not have been, as a juvenile, 
adjudicated as delinquent for conduct which, if committed 
by an adult, would constitute a felony, unless and until that 
person has reached their 25th birthday.

1.2 An individual bail enforcement agent ID card will 
not be issued if there is a pending charge as listed in Section 
1.1.1 or a pending charge as listed in Section 1.1.2 for an 
applicant with one (1) conviction of specified misdemeanor 
listed in Section 1.1.2.

1.3 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for 
an ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must also meet the 
following qualifications:

1.3.1 Must be at least 21 years of age; and
1.3.2 Must complete the training qualifications 

set forth in Section 6.0; and
1.3.3 If carrying a weapon, must meet and 

maintain the qualifications set forth in Section 4.0.
1.4 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for 

an ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must submit the 
following for approval:

1.4.1 A fee of $25 $75 for a four (4) year ID 
card which shall expire and be renewable on the 4th

anniversary date of the birth of the applicant next following 
the date of its issuance unless the birth date is February 29, 
in which event the license shall expire and be renewable on 
February 28 every 4th year; and

1.4.2 Any and all applications required by the 
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Detective Licensing Section; and
1.4.3 Submit two (2) sets of fingerprints for a 

Delaware (CHRI) and Federal (FBI) criminal history record 
check.  The Director of the State Bureau of Identification 
(SBI) determines the fee for this process.  This subsection 
1.4.3 does not apply to the renewal of ID cards, unless 
required by the Director of Detective Licensing.

1.5 The ID cards are the property of the Delaware State 
Police and must be returned to the Detective Licensing 
Section upon expiration of the ID card or at the request of the 
Detective Licensing Section.

1.6 A bail enforcement agent that has been issued an ID 
card by the Detective Licensing Section shall be required to 
have such card in their possession while in the performance 
of his or her duties.

1.7 A bail enforcement agent must not be a member or 
employee of any Delaware Law Enforcement Organization, 
as defined by the Council on Police Training, or a member or 
employee of a law enforcement organization of any other 
local, state or federal jurisdiction.

1.8 There will be no reciprocity with any other state 
regarding the issuing of an ID card to a bail enforcement 
agent.

1.9 A fee of $50 shall be for the renewal of the ID card 
and license, which shall be valid for another four (4) years.

7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)

2.0 Badges, Patches, Advertisements
2.1 No individual licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 shall 

use any type of uniform or other clothing items displaying 
logos, badges, patches, or any other type of writing without 
first being approved by the Detective Licensing Section. 
Under no circumstances shall any item contain the seal or 
crest of the State of Delaware, any state of the United States, 
the seal or crest of any county or local sub division, or any 
facsimile of the aforementioned seals or crests.

2.2 All advertisements or other forms of publication, 
subsequent to their use, are subject to review by the 
Detective Licensing Section for potential misrepresentation. 
If the Detective Licensing Section does not approve the 
advertisement or publication, it will forward its concerns to 
the licensee. Failure to correct the advertisement or 
publication will be considered a violation of these Rules & 
Regulations.

2.3 The use of auxiliary lights, sirens, or any markings 
on vehicles is prohibited.

3.0 Use Of Animals
3.1 The use of animals is prohibited in the performance 

of any bail enforcement agent activity.

4.0 Firearms Policy
4.1 No person shall carry a firearm under this chapter 

unless the individual first completed and passed an approved 

40-hour firearm course, instructed by a certified firearm 
instructor, recognized by the Detective Licensing Section.

4.2 All persons licensed to carry a firearm under this 
chapter must be re-certified yearly, by an instructor as 
described in Section 4.1, by shooting a minimum of three (3) 
qualifying shoots a year.  The shoots must be scheduled on at 
least two (2) separate days, with a recommended 90 days 
between scheduled shoots.  Of the three (3) shoots, there will 
be one mandatory “low light” shoot. Simulation is permitted 
and it may be combined with a daylight shoot. All 
individuals must qualify with the same type of weapon that 
he/she will carry.  The minimum passing score is 75%.

4.2.1  All renewal shoot sheets must be submitted 
by January 31st of each year for the previous calendar year.

4.3 All handguns must be either a revolver or semi-
automatic and be maintained to factory specifications.  Only 
the handguns with the following calibers are permitted:

4.3.1 9mm
4.3.2 .357
4.3.3 .38
4.3.4 .40
4.4.5 .45

4.4 All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).
4.5 Any person requesting to carry any shotgun, rifle, 

any type of weapon or apprehension device must first 
provide proof of training to the Detective Licensing Section 
for approval.

5.0 Nightstick, PR24, Mace, Peppergas, Chemical Spray, 
And Handcuffs

5.1 To carry the above weapons/items a bail 
enforcement agent must have completed training by a 
Detective Licensing Section apporved insturctor, on each 
and every weapon/item carried.  Proof of training, and any 
renewal training, must be provided to the Detective 
Licensing Section.  Under no circumstances would a person 
be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item, unless 
first approved by the Detective Licensing Section.

7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)

6.0 Training
6.1 All bail enforcement agents licensed under Title 24 

Chapter 55 must complete training in the following courses: 
Constitution/Bill of Rights, Laws of Arrest, Laws of Search 
& Seizure of Persons Wanted, Police Jurisdiction, Use of 
Deadly Force, and the Rules & Regulations of Bounty 
Hunters/Bail Enforcement Agents.

6.2 The training must be completed prior to obtaining a 
license.

7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)

7.0 Notification Of Apprehensions
7.1 All bail enforcement agents licensed under 24 

Del.C. Ch. 55 are required to notify the police emergency 
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911 dispatch center (i.e., Recom, Kentcom, Suscom) of the 
appropriate police agency in which the apprehension will be 
attempted.

8.0 Notification Of Arrest
8.1  Anyone licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 shall, 

excluding weekends and State holidays, notify the Detective 
Licensing Section within five (5) days of being arrested for a 
misdemeanor or felony crime.  Failure to do so may result in 
the suspension or revocation of any individual.

9.0 Suspensions And Revocations
9.1 The Detective Licensing Section shall have the 

power to suspend or revoke any individual, licensed under 
24 Del.C. Ch. 55, that violates the Chapter or the 
promulgated Rules & Regulations.

9.2 The Detective Licensing Section may suspend or 
revoke any individual, licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55, that 
has been arrested and that arrest could result in the 
conviction of any misdemeanor or felony as described in 
Section 1.0.

9.3 Anyone whose license has been suspended, 
revoked, rejected, or denied is entitled to a hearing before the 
Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security.

9.3.1Anyone requesting a hearing shall notify the 
Detective Licensing Section, in writing, within 30 days from 
the suspension, revocation, rejection, or denial and the 
hearing shall be scheduled at the earliest possible time.

5 DE Reg. 1523 (1/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text 
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold 
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language 
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in 
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials, 
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and 
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and 
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2) 
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being 
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, 
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the 
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations, 
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK
Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §5305(1)

24 DE Admin. Code 5305(1)

ORDER

The State Board of Massage and Bodywork held a 
public hearing after due notice to consider changes to its 
Rules and Regulations which was published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations in 8 DE Reg. 390 (9/01/04) and in 
two Delaware newspapers or general circulation. The Board 
considered the proposed changed at its regular meeting 
following the public hearing. 
 

Summary Of The Evidence And Information

There was no written comment.  Verbal comment is 
summarized below. 

Lora Bryner asked the Board whether the modalities in 
Rule 1.5 require a license since they are within the 25% 
category.

Findings Of Fact Based On The Evidence And 
Information 

The items in the 25% category are not regulated by the 
Board. The Board finds that the changes proposed clarify the 
statutory requirements and facilitate the implementation of 
its provisions.

Decision

The Board hereby adopts the proposed changes to the 
Rules and Regulations this 7th day of October, 2004.

Text,  Citation And Effective Date

The text of the new provisions remain as published in 
the Register of Regulations in  8 DE Reg. 390 (9/01/04) and 
shall be effective 10 days following publication of this 
Decision in the Register of Regulations.

STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK
Vivian Cebrick, President 
Daniel Stokes, Vice President
Phyllis Mikell 
Suzie Stehle
Clayton Yocum
Mary Jo Verdery 
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5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork

1.0 Definitions and General Definitions
1.1 The term "500 hours of supervised in-class study" 

as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5308(a)(1) shall mean that an 
instructor has controlled and reviewed the applicant's 
education on the premises of a school or approved program 
of massage or bodywork therapy, and can document that the 
applicant has successfully completed a curriculum that is 
substantially the same as referenced in 24 Del.C. 
§5308(a)(1) and which includes hands-on technique and 
contraindications as they relate to massage and bodywork. 
More than one school or approved program of massage or 
bodywork therapy may be attended in order to accumulate 
the total 500 hour requirement.

1.2 The term a "100 300 - hour course of supervised in-
class study of massage" as referenced in 24 Del.C. 
§5309(a)(1) shall mean that an instructor has controlled and 
reviewed the applicant's education on the premises of a 
school or approved program of massage or bodywork 
therapy, and can document that the applicant has 
successfully completed a 100 300 hour course which 
includes hands-on technique and theory, and anatomy, 
physiology, and contraindications as they relate to massage 
and bodywork no less than sixty hours of anatomy and 
physiology, one hundred-forty hours of theory and technique 
and one hundred hours of elective courses in the field of 
massage therapy as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5309(a)(1).

1.2.1 The 100 300 hour course must be a unified 
introductory training program in massage and bodywork, 
including training in the subjects set forth in Rule 1.2 1.4. 
The entire 100 300 hour course must be taken at one school 
or approved program. The Board may, upon request, waive 
the “single school” requirement for good cause or hardship, 
such as the closure of a school.

1.3 The term a “200 hour course of supervised in-class 
study of massage" as referenced in 24 Del.C. §5309(b) shall 
mean that an instructor has controlled and reviewed the 
applicant's education on the premises of a school or 
approved program of massage or bodywork therapy, and can 
document that the applicant has successfully completed a 
200 hour course which includes no less than fifty hours of 
anatomy and physiology, one hundred-ten hours of theory 
and technique, twenty- five hours of ethics, law, and 
contraindications and fifteen hours of elective courses in the 
field of massage therapy as referenced in 24 Del.C.
§5309(b).

1.3 4 The “practice of massage and bodywork” 
includes, but is not limited to, the following modalities:

Acupressure 
Chair Massage
Craniosacral Therapy
Deep Tissue Massage Therapy 
Healing Touch 

Joint Mobilization
Lymph Drainage Therapy
Manual Lymphatic Drainage
Massage Therapy 
Myofascial Release Therapy 
Neuromuscular Therapy
Orthobionomy
Process Acupressure
Reflexology
Rolfing
Shiatsu
Swedish Massage Therapy
Trager
Visceral Manipulation

1.4 5 The practice of the following modalities does 
not constitute the “practice of massage and bodywork”:

Alexander Technique
Aroma therapy
Feldenkrais 
Hellerwork
Polarity Therapy
Reiki
Shamanic Techniques
Therapeutic Touch

3 DE Reg. 1516 (5/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)

2.0 Filing of Application for Licensure as Massage/
Bodywork Therapist

2.1 A person seeking licensure as a massage/bodywork 
therapist must submit a completed application on a form 
prescribed by the Board to the Board office at the Division of 
Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware. Each application 
must be accompanied by (1) a copy of a current certificate 
from a State certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
program as required by 24 Del.C. §5308(3); and (2) payment 
of the application fee established by the Division of 
Professional Regulation pursuant to 24 Del.C.  §5311.

2.2 In addition to the application and materials 
described in 2.1 of this Rule, an applicant for licensure as a 
massage/bodywork therapist shall have (1) each school or 
approved program of massage or bodywork where the 
applicant completed the hours of study required by 24 Del.C. 
§5308(a)(1) submit to the Board an official transcript or 
official documentation showing dates and total hours 
attended and a description of the curriculum completed; and 
(2) Assessment Systems, Incorporated or its predecessor, 
submit to the Board verification of the applicant's score on 
the written examination described in Rule 3.0 herein.

2.3 The Board shall not consider an application for 
licensure as a massage/bodywork therapist until all items 
specified in 2.1 and 2.2 of  this Rule are submitted to the 
Board's office.

2.3.1 The Board may, in its discretion, approve 
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applications contingent on receipt of necessary 
documentation. If the required documentation is not received 
within 120 days from the date when the application is first 
reviewed by the Board, the Board will propose to deny the 
application.

2.3.2 If an application is complete in terms of 
required documents, but the candidate has not responded to a 
Board request for further information, explanation or 
clarification within 120 days of the Board’s request, the 
Board will vote on the application as it stands.

2.4 Renewal. Applicants for renewal of a massage/
bodywork therapist license shall submit a completed renewal 
form, renewal fee, proof of continuing education pursuant to 
Rule 6 7.0 and a copy of a current certificate from a State 
certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation program. License 
holders shall be required to maintain current CPR 
certification throughout the biennial licensure period.

4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)

3.0 Examination
The Board designates the National Certification 

Examination administered by the National Certification 
Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork 
("NCBTMB") as the written examination to be taken by all 
persons applying for licensure as a massage/bodywork 
therapist. The Board will accept as a passing score on the 
exam the passing score established by the NCBTMB.

4.0 Application for Certification as Massage Technician
4.1 A person seeking certification as a massage 

technician must submit a completed application on a form 
prescribed by the Board to the Board office at the Division of 
Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware. Each application 
must be accompanied by (1) a copy of current certificate 
from a State certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
program as required by 24 Del.C. §5309(a)(2); and (2) 
payment of the application fee established by the Division of 
Professional Regulation pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5311.

4.2 In addition to the application and materials 
described in 4.1 of this Rule, an applicant for certification as 
a massage technician shall have the school or approved 
program of massage or bodywork therapy where the 
applicant completed the hours or study required by 24 Del.C. 
§5309(a)(1) submit to the Board an official transcript or 
official documentation showing dates and total hours 
attended and a description of the curriculum completed.

4.2.1 An applicant for a temporary massage 
technician certification, in addition to the application and 
materials described in 4.1 of this Rule, shall have the school 
or approved program of massage or bodywork therapy where 
the applicant completed the hours or study required by 24 
Del.C. §5309(b) submit to the Board an official transcript or 
official documentation showing dates and total hours 
attended and a description of the curriculum completed.

4.3 The Board shall not consider an application for 
certification as a massage technician until all items specified 
in 4.1 and 4.2 of  this Rule are submitted to the Board's 
office.

4.3.1 The Board may, in its discretion, approve 
applications contingent on receipt of necessary 
documentation. If the required documentation is not received 
within 120 days from the date when the application is first 
reviewed by the Board, the Board will propose to deny the 
application.

4.3.2 If an application is complete in terms of 
required documents, but the candidate has not responded to a 
Board request for further information, explanation or 
clarification within 120 days of the Board’s request, the 
Board will vote on the application as it stands.

4.4 Renewal. Applicants for renewal of a massage 
technician certificate shall submit a completed renewal form, 
renewal fee, proof of continuing education pursuant to Rule 
6.0 7.0 and a copy of a current certificate from a State 
certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation program. Certificate 
holders shall be required to maintain current CPR 
certification throughout the biennial licensure period. 
Temporary massage technician certificates are valid for no 
more than one (1) year and may not be renewed or reissued 
pursuant to the provision of 24 Del.C. §5309(b).

3 DE Reg. 1516 (5/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)

5.0 Expired License or Certificate
An expired license as a massage/bodywork therapist or 

expired certificate as a massage technician, excluding 
temporary massage technician certificates, may be reinstated 
within one (1) year after expiration upon application and 
payment of the renewal fee plus a late fee as set by the 
Division of Professional Regulation, and submission of 
documentation demonstrating compliance with the 
continuing education requirements of Rule 7.0.

5 DE Reg. 827 (10/01/01)

6.0 Inactive Status
6.1 A licensee asking to have his or her license placed 

on inactive status must notify the Board of his/her intention 
to do so in writing prior to the expiration of his/her current 
license. Holders of temporary massage technician 
certificates are not eligible for inactive status.

6.2 A licensee on inactive status seeking to re-enter 
practice must notify the Board in writing of his/her intention, 
pay the appropriate fee, and provide the Board with 
documentation demonstrating compliance with the 
continuing education hours required by Rule 7.0.

6 7.0 Continuing Education
6 7.1 Hours required. For license or certification 

periods beginning September 1, 20004 and thereafter, each 
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massage/bodywork therapist shall complete twenty-four (24) 
hours of acceptable Board approved continuing education 
during each biennial licensing period, except as otherwise 
provided in these Rules and Regulations. Each massage 
technician shall complete twelve (12) hours of acceptable 
continuing education during each biennial licensing period, 
except as otherwise provided in these Rules and Regulations. 
Completion of the required continuing education is a 
condition of renewing a license or certificate.  Hours earned 
in a biennial licensing period in excess of those required for 
renewal may not be credited towards the hours required for 
renewal in any other licensing period.

6 7.1.1 Calculation of Hours. For academic course 
work, correspondence courses or seminar/workshop 
instruction, one (1) hour of acceptable continuing education 
shall mean 50 minutes of actual instruction. One (1) 
academic semester hour shall be equivalent to fifteen (15) 
continuing education hours; one (1) academic quarter hour 
shall be equivalent to ten (10) continuing education hours.

6 7.1.2 If during a licensing period an individual 
certified by the Board as a massage technician is issued a 
license as a massage and bodywork therapist, the continuing 
education requirement for that licensing period is as follows:

6 7.1.2.1 If the license is issued more than 
twelve (12) months prior to the next renewal date, the 
licensee shall complete twenty-four (24) hours of acceptable 
continuing education during the licensing period.

6 7.1.2.2 If the license is issued less than 
twelve (12) months prior to the next renewal date, the 
licensee shall complete twelve (12) hours of acceptable 
continuing education during the licensing period.

6 7.2 Proration.  Candidates for renewal who were 
first licensed or certified twelve (12) months or less before 
the date of renewal are exempt from the continuing 
education requirement for the period in which they were first 
licensed or certified.

6 7.3 Content.
6 7.3.1 Except as provided in Rule 67.3.2, 

continuing education hours must contribute to the 
professional competency of the massage/bodywork therapist 
or massage technician within modalities constituting the 
practice of massage and bodywork. Continuing education 
hours must maintain, improve or expand skills and 
knowledge obtained prior to licensure or certification, or 
develop new and relevant skills and knowledge. For each 
biennial licensing period, massage therapists must complete 
at least eighteen of the required twenty-four hours of 
continuing education hours in supervised in-class hands-on 
study of the “practice of massage and bodywork” as defined 
in Rule 1.34. For each biennial licensing period, massage 
technicians must complete at least nine of the required 
twelve hours of continuing education hours in supervised 
in-class hands-on study of the “practice of massage and 
bodywork” as defined in Rule 1.34.

6 7.3.2 For each biennial licensing period, 
massage therapists may complete (but are not required to 
complete) up to six hours of the required twenty-four hours 
of continuing education hours in any combination of the 
areas and methods listed in Rules 67.3.2.1 through 67.3.2.5. 
In each biennial licensing period, massage technicians may 
complete (but are not required to complete) up to three hours 
of the required twelve hours of continuing education hours in 
any combination of the areas and methods listed in Rules 6
7.3.2.1 through 6.3.2.5 7.3.2.6.

6 7.3.2.1 Courses in modalities such as are 
listed in Rule 1.45, which are modalities other than in the 
practice of massage and bodywork

6 7.3.2.2 Personal growth and 
self-improvement courses

6 7.3.2.3 Business Management Courses
6 7.3.2.4 Courses taught by 

correspondence or mail
6 7.3.2.5 Courses taught by video, 

teleconferencing, video conferencing or computer.
6 7.3.2.6 Courses in anatomy or 

physiology
6 7.4 Board approval. 

6.4.1 “Acceptable continuing education” shall 
include any continuing education programs meeting the 
requirements of Rule 6.3 and offered or approved by the 
following organizations:

6 7.4.1.1 NCBTMB
6 7.4.1.2 American Massage Therapy 

Association
6 7.4.1.3 Association of Oriental 

Bodywork Therapists of America
6 7.4.1.4 Association of Bodywork and 

Massage Practitioners
6 7.4.1.5 Delaware Nurses Association

6.4.2 7.4.1 Other All continuing education must 
be pre-approved by the Board. cContinuing education 
programs or providers may must apply for pre-approval of 
continuing education hours by submitting a written request 
to the Board which includes the program agenda, syllabus 
and time spent on each topic, the names and resumes of the 
presenters and the number of hours for which approval is 
requested. The Board reserves the right to approve less than 
the number of hours requested.

6.4.3 7.4.2 Self-directed activity: The Board may, 
upon request, review and approve credit for self-directed 
activities, including, but not limited to, teaching, research, 
preparation and/or presentation of professional papers and 
articles. A licensee must obtain pre-approval of the Board 
prior to undertaking the self-directed activity in order to 
assure continuing education credit for the activity. Any self-
directed activity submitted for approval must include a 
written proposal outlining the scope of the activity, the 
number of continuing education hours requested, the 
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anticipated completion date(s), the role of the licensee in the 
case of multiple participants (e.g. research) and whether any 
part of the self-directed activity has ever been previously 
approved or submitted for credit by the same licensee. 

6.4.4 7.4.3 The Board may award additional 
continuing education credits, on an hour for hour basis, to 
continuing education instructors for the first-time 
preparation and presentation of an approved continuing 
education course for other practitioners, to a maximum of 6 
additional hours. (e.g. an instructor presenting a 8 hour 
course for the first time may receive up to 6 additional credit 
hours for preparation of the course). This provision remains 
subject to the  limitations of Rule 6 7.3.2.

6 7.5 Reporting.
6 7.5.1 For license or certification periods 

beginning September 1, 20004 and thereafter, each candidate 
for renewal shall submit a summary of  their continuing 
education hours, along with any supporting documentation 
requested by the Board, to the Board on or before May 31 of 
the year the license or certification expires. No license or 
certification shall be renewed until the Board has approved 
the required continuing education hours or granted an 
extension of time for reasons of hardship. The Board’s 
approval of a candidate’s continuing education hours in a 
particular modality does not constitute approval of the 
candidate’s competence in, or practice of, that modality.

6 7.5.2 If a continuing education program has 
already been approved by the Board, the candidate for 
renewal must demonstrate, at the Board’s request, the actual 
completion of the continuing education hours by giving the 
Board a letter, certificate or other acceptable proof of 
attendance provided by the program sponsor.

6 5.3 If a continuing education program has not 
already been approved by the Board, the candidate for 
renewal must give the Board, at the Board’s request, all of 
the materials required in Rule 67.4.2 and demonstrate the 
actual completion of the continuing education hours by 
giving the Board a letter, certificate or other acceptable proof 
of attendance provided by the program sponsor.

6 7.6 Hardship. A candidate for renewal may be 
granted an extension of time in which to complete 
continuing education hours upon a showing of unusual 
hardship.  “Hardship” may include, but is not limited to, 
disability, illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction and 
exceptional family responsibilities. Requests for hardship 
consideration must be submitted to the Board in writing prior 
to the end of the licensing or certification period for which it 
is made. If the Board does not have sufficient time to 
consider and approve a request for hardship extension prior 
to the expiration of the license, the license will lapse upon 
the expiration date and be reinstated upon completion of 
continuing education pursuant to the hardship exception. 
The licensee may not practice until reinstatement of the 
license.

7.7 Continuing Education Requirements for 
Reinstatement of a Lapsed License. Unless extended by the 
Board for hardship as defined in Rule 7.6, and subject to the 
one (1) year limitation set forth in Rule 5.0, a massage 
therapist applying for reinstatement of a lapsed license must 
provide to the Board adequate proof of the satisfactory 
completion of twenty-four (24) hours of Board approved 
continuing education within the immediately preceding two 
(2) year period prior to the date of application for 
reinstatement. A massage technician applying for 
reinstatement of a lapsed license must provide to the Board 
adequate proof of the satisfactory completion of twelve (12) 
hours of Board approved continuing education within the 
immediately preceding two (2) year period prior to the date 
of application for reinstatement. Continuing education hours 
required for reinstatement of a lapsed license may not be 
credited towards the hours required for renewal in any other 
licensing period.

7.7.1 A massage therapist who has let his/her 
license lapse for more than one (1) year and is ineligible for 
reinstatement and therefore required to submit a new 
application shall not be permitted to circumvent continuing 
educations requirements. The massage therapist must 
provide to the Board adequate proof of the satisfactory 
completion of twenty-four (24) hours of Board approved 
continuing education within the immediately preceding two 
(2) year period prior to the date of the new application. A 
massage technician who has let his/her license lapse for 
more than one (1) year and is ineligible for reinstatement and 
therefore required to submit a new application shall not be 
permitted to circumvent continuing education requirements. 
The massage technician must provide to the Board adequate 
proof of the satisfactory completion of twelve (12) hours of 
Board approved continuing education within the 
immediately preceding two (2) year period prior to the date 
of the new application. Continuing education hours required 
to be filed with a new application may not be credited 
towards the hours required for renewal in any other licensing 
period.

7.8 Continuing Education Requirements for Licensees 
Returning from Inactive Status. Unless extended by the 
Board for hardship as defined in Rule 7.6, a massage 
therapist returning from inactive status must provide notice 
to the Board as set forth in Rule 6.2 and must provide to the 
Board adequate proof of the satisfactory completion of 
twenty-four (24) hours of Board approved continuing 
education within the immediately preceding two (2) year 
period prior to the date of the notice to return to active. A 
massage technician returning from inactive status must 
provide notice to the Board as set forth in Rule 6.2 and must 
provide to the Board adequate proof of the satisfactory 
completion of twelve (12) hours of Board approved 
continuing education within the immediately preceding two 
(2) year period prior to the date of the notice to return to 
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active status. Continuing education hours required to return 
to active status may not be credited towards the hours 
required for renewal in any other licensing period.

3 DE Reg. 1516 (5/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1245 (2/1/01)
4 DE Reg. 1944 (6/1/01)
5 DE Reg. 1409 (1/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 40 (7/1/03)

7 8.0 Scope of Practice
Licensed massage/bodywork therapist and certified 

massage technicians shall perform only the massage and 
bodywork activities and techniques for which they have been 
trained as stated in their certificates, diplomas or transcripts 
from the school or program of massage therapy where 
trained.

8 9.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically 
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

8 9.1 If the report is received by the chairperson of 
the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately 
notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her 
designate of the report. If the Director of Professional 
Regulation receives the report, he/she shall immediately 
notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that 
chairperson's designate or designates.

8 9.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that 
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of 
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and 
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the 
individual written information describing the Voluntary 
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter 
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

8 9.3 In order for the individual to participate in the 
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to 
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a 
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial 
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days 
following notification to the professional by the participating 
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).

8 9.4 A regulated professional with chemical 
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or 
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and 
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice 
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in 
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary, 
only if such action will not endanger the public health, 
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into 
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or 
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating 
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan 
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and 

complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment 
programs may be operated by professional Committees and 
Associations or other similar professional groups with the 
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the 
chairperson of the participating Board.

8 9.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the participating 
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or 
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional 
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary 
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for 
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated 
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment 
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that 
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be 
activated an immediate investigation and institution of 
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in 
subsection (h) of this section.

8 9.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a 
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which 
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:

8 9.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a 
treatment program approved by the participating Board. 
Board approval shall not require that the regulated 
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and 
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies 
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated 
professional's progress.

8 9.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the 
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the 
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating 
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to 
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or 
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the 
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such 
person making such report will not be liable when such 
reports are made in good faith and without malice.

8 9.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in 
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any 
treatment information from anyone within the approved 
treatment program.

8 9.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional 
to be personally responsible for all costs and charges 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and 
treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of 
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the 
regulated professional to cover administrative costs 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount 
of the fee imposed under this subparagraph shall 
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to 
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the 
proportional expenses incurred by the Division of 
Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board 
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in addition to the administrative costs associated with the 
Voluntary Treatment Option.

8 9.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional 
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment 
program shall be reported to the participating Board's 
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the 
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/ 
her designate by the treating professional who shall be 
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good 
faith and without malice.

8 9.6.6 Compliance by the regulated professional 
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice 
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment 
Option.

8 9.7 The regulated professional's records of 
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not 
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public 
records open to public inspection. However, the participating 
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary 
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated 
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an 
issue.

8 9.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/her 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in 
consultation with the treating professional at any time during 
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a 
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action 
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or 
safety.

8 9.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated 
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon 
completion of the program.

8 9.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to 
comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the 
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional 
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and 
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be 
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary 
proceedings as appropriate.

8 9.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this 
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune 
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from 
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected 
if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter.

8 9.12 Any regulated professional who complies with 
all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment 
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless 
otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and 
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with 
the regulated professional shall include the potential for 
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may 
be disclosed.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10005 (3 Del.C. §10005)

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10113(b) and 3 Del.C. §10027, 
the Delaware Harness Racing Commission (“the 
Commission”) hereby issues this Order adopting a new 
Commission Rule 8.8; and,

Whereas, the General Assembly passed House Bill No. 
282, 74 Del. Laws c. 236 (2004) which amended 28 Del.C. 
§706 and was signed by Governor Ruth Ann Minner on May 
17, 2004; and,

Whereas, the enactment of House Bill No. 282 requires 
the Commission to amend its Regulations to conform to the 
provisions of the new law amending 28 Del.C. §706; and,

Whereas, the amendment to the Commission 
Regulations is required to make them consistent with a 
change in basic law and does not otherwise alter the 
substance of the regulations and is therefore exempt, under 
29 Del.C. §10113(b)(5), from the standard notice and 
publication requirements;  

IT IS SO ORDERED this 19th day of October, 2004:

1. The Commission finds that the new Rule 8.8 on 
Prohibited Substances Protests and Testing tracks the 
provisions of the amended version of 28 Del.C. §706. The 
new Rule 8.8.1 provides the procedure and requirements for 
Prohibited Substances Protests and requests for a "super 
test." Rule 8.8.2 provides the requirements and procedure for 
routine post race testing.

2. The Commission after consideration and discussion 
has adopted the amendment adopting Rule 8.8. A copy of the 
adopted Rule 8.8 is attached as Exhibit #1 and incorporated 
herein.

3. This Order is effective immediately and the 
Commission will be submitted to the Register of Regulations
for publication.

Beth Steele, Chair
Robert Everett, Commissioner 
Mary Ann Lambertson, Commissioner 
George Staats, Commissioner
Kenneth Williamson, Commissioner

8.8 Prohibited Substances Protests; Testing
8.8.1 Protest-Request for Super Test

8.8.1.1 If a licensed owner, trainer, driver, or 
claimant has a reasonable belief that a competing or claimed 
horse has, or may have an unfair competitive advantage due 
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to a violation of the Commission Rules, that owner, trainer, 
driver, or claimant may file a "Prohibited Substances 
Protest" with the Commission.

8.8.1.2 A "Prohibited Substances Protest" 
empowers the owner, trainer, driver, or claimant to request 
that any horse or horses he or she competes against or claims 
in a specified race have a blood and urine sample collected 
and then tested at an official Association of Racing 
Commissioners International (ARCI) approved laboratory of 
his or her choice. The designated laboratory shall employ 
state-of-the-art testing methods when testing these protested 
samples, which shall include, but not be limited to, Enzyme-
Linked Immunosorbent Assay (ELISA), Thin Layer 
Chromatography (TLC), Gas Chromatography Mass 
Spectrometry (GCM-S), Liquid Chromatography Mass 
Spectrometry (LCMSMS), and Total Carbon Dioxide 
(TCO2) tests.

8.8.1.3 The owner, trainer, driver, or claimant 
must file a verbal protest with either the starter or paddock 
judge before the race has been made official. The starter or 
paddock judge must notify the Presiding Judge immediately, 
who shall order a veterinary assistant to escort and remain 
with the horse in accordance with established policy for 
obtaining a blood and urine sample. Within fifteen (15) 
minutes after the official sign has been posted for the race in 
which the protested horse competed, the protesting party 
shall file a written protest with the paddock judge and post a 
deposit of $1,000 which shall be used to offset the following 
costs:

8.8.1.3.1 The collection of sufficient blood 
and urine samples, including the costs of the State veterinary 
assistant and State veterinarian and all necessary collection 
apparatus;

8.8.1.3.2 The packing of and transportation 
of these samples by bonded courier to the selected 
laboratory; and

8.8.1.3.3 All costs incurred by the state-of-
the-art testing methods employed by the ARCI laboratory.

8.8.1.4 In the event the costs exceed the $1,000 
deposit, the protesting party shall be required to post 
additional monies to cover such costs.

8.8.1.5 The owner and/or trainer of the protested 
horse shall have the right to be present during the collection, 
packaging and shipping of these test samples.

8.8.1.6 Upon completion of all testing, the 
laboratory shall notify the Commission of the results.  The 
Commission shall immediately notify the trainer of the 
protested horse as well as the protesting party of these test 
results.

8.8.1.7 If the test results substantiate a violation of 
the Commission rules in effect on the date of the race, the 
trainer of the tested horse shall be afforded the same rights 
every trainer receives when charged with any rules violation. 
This shall include the right to request a split sample test at a 

designated ARCI laboratory that has agreed to accept split 
samples from the Commission.

8.8.1.8 Penalties shall be assessed in accordance 
with the Commission penalty recommendations for a 
violation of the rules in effect on the date of the race.  In no 
case, however, shall the penalty imposed for a medication 
violation be less than a $500 fine. If the test results 
substantiate the presence of antibodies to erythropoietin 
(EPO), darbepoietin, or any EPO analogues, in addition to 
any DHRC penalties, the horse shall immediately be placed 
on the Steward's List and shall not be permitted to enter a 
race until the horse tests negative for the presence of EPO, 
darbepoietin, or any EPO analogue antibody(ies) previously 
detected. All testing must be performed by the DHRC 
official lab.

8.8.1.9 If the test results substantiate a violation of 
the Commission rules in effect on the date of the race, a 
successful claimant may void the claim in accordance with 
Commission Rules.

8.8.1.10 Any monies remaining from the 
protest deposit after costs shall be returned to the protesting 
party even if a violation of the Commission Rules is not 
detected. If a violation is detected, costs shall be assessed 
against the trainer of the protested horse and the Commission 
shall reimburse the protesting party upon receipt thereof.

8.8.1.11 The owner, trainer, driver, or claimant 
who files a Prohibited Substances Protest pursuant to this 
Section shall be immune from civil liability for filing the 
protest.

8.8.2 Routine Post Race Testing
8.8.2.1 Routine Post Race Testing shall include 

but not be limited to screening for antibodies to 
erythropoietin (EPO), darbepoietin, or any EPO analogues.

8.8.2.2 Any claimed horse not otherwise selected 
for testing by the racing officials shall be tested if requested 
by the claimant at the time the claim form is submitted in 
accordance with the Commission Rules.

8.8.2.3 The successful claimant shall have the 
right to void the claim should the forensic analysis be 
positive for any prohibited substance, illegal level of a 
permitted medication, or presence of antibodies to 
erythropoietin (EPO), darbepoietin, or any EPO analogues. 

8.8.2.4 If the test results substantiate the presence 
of antibodies to erythropoietin (EPO), darbepoietin, or any 
EPO analogues, in addition to assessing penalties in 
accordance with the DHRC rules, the horse shall 
immediately be placed on the steward's list and shall not be 
permitted to enter a race until the horse tests negative for the 
presence of EPO, darbepoietin, or any EPO analogue 
antibody(ies) previously detected  and said horse is removed 
from the Steward's List. All testing must be performed by the 
DHRC official lab.

8.8.3 This Rule enacts the provisions of  74 Del. 
Laws c. 236 (2004) which amended 28 Del.C. § 706 in its 
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entirety, and this Rule shall apply in the event these 
provisions conflict with or are otherwise inconsistent with 
any other Commission Rule.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(e)  (14 Del.C. §122(e))
14 DE Admin. Code 705

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

705 Training Camp and Special Duty in the National 
Guard and/or Reserves

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 705 Training Camp and Special Duty in the 
National Guard and/or Reserves in order to clarify the 
language and to better reflect the intent of the statute 
including changing the title of the regulation. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on  August 17, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No 
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 705 in order to clarify the language and to 
better reflect the intent of the statute including changing the 
title of the regulation. 

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 705. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch.13, 14 DE Admin. 
Code 705 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 705 hereby amended shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 705 amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 705 Leave 
for Training Camp or Special Duty in the National Guard or 
the Military Reserves of the United States in the 

Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch. 13 on October 4, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 4th day of October 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

705  Training Camp and Special Duty in the National 
Guard and/or Reserves

1.0 Leave for Training Camp and Special Duty in the 
National Guard and/or Reserves

1.1 Any permanent and full-time employee who is a 
member of the National Guard or any reserve component of 
the Armed Forces of the United States and who is ordered to 
attend training camp or to perform special duty not in excess 
of fifteen (15) days in any calendar year shall be allowed 
leave with pay for attending such training sessions or 
performing such special duty. Leave for teachers shall apply 
only if the training is with the individual's unit.

1.2 Such military training or special duty leaves shall 
not be deducted from vacation leave or in any other way 
result in loss of privileges or compensation to said employee.

1.3 Employees called to temporary military training or 
special duty shall file a request for military leave with the 
secretary of the local board at least two weeks prior to their 
leave, along with a copy of the official orders summoning 
them to military service.

(See 29 Del.C. §5105 Leave of Absence for Military 
Service, Pension Right; Terms of Successor Appointees)

See 3 DE Reg. 631 (11/1/99)

705 Leave for Training Camp or Special Duty in the 
National Guard or the Military Reserves of the United 

States

1.0 Any permanent and full time employee shall be excused 
from work with pay to attend training camp or special duty 
on orders as a member of the military reserves of the United 
States or the National Guard, not to exceed fifteen (15) days 
or the equivalent hours as required by the Delaware Code, on 
a prorated basis in any calendar year. 

1.1 Such training or special duty leave shall not be 
deducted from their annual leave or in any other way result 
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in loss of privileges or compensation to said employee.
1.2 Any permanent or full time employee shall file a 

request for military leave with their employer at least two 
weeks prior to their leave, along with a copy of their official 
orders.

(Non-regulatory Note: See 29 Del.C. §5105 Leave of 
Absence for Military Service, Pension Right; Terms of 
Successor Appointees)

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

706 Credit for Experience for Full-Time Service in the 
Armed Forces

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 706 Credit for Experience for Full Time 
Service in the Armed Forces in order to clarify the language 
and to better reflect the intent of the statute including 
changing the title of the regulation.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on August 17, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No 
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 706 in order to clarify the language and to 
better reflect the intent of the statute including changing the 
title of the regulation.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 706. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch.13, 14 DE Admin. 
Code attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code  706 hereby amended shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 706 amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 706 Credit 
for Experience for Full-Time Active Duty Service in the 
Armed Services of the United States in the Administrative 

Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch.13 on October 4, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 4th day of October  2004.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Service in the 
Armed Forces

1.0 Credit for Experience for service in the armed forces 
shall count for full time active duty, not in excess of six (6) 
years in the Armed Services of the United States, provided 
that the individual became a teacher, principal, 
superintendent, or other administrative employee in 
Delaware within five (5) years after completion of a tour of 
duty or within five (5) years after his completion of a course 
of professional or vocational training, if such course was 
begun within five (5) years after completion of a tour of 
duty. Included in the six (6) years will be any instruction in 
Military Science given during years of enlistment.

1.1 Credit for service in the armed forces shall be 
calculated as follows: One year of experience shall be 
allowed for each year of service. For purposes of this 
section, 183 days in any calendar year shall constitute one 
year of experience, but not more than 1 year of experience 
may be credited for any 1 calendar year, except that a 
combined total of 91 days of service and employment in any 
of the positions identified above during any one school year 
will count as a year of experience.

(See 14 Del.C. §§1312(a) and 1327 Leave of Absence for 
Persons in Military Service).

706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Active Duty 
Service in the Armed Forces of the United States

1.0 Credit for Experience for full time active duty service, 
not in excess of six (6) years in the armed services of the 
United States, shall be granted provided the individual 
became a teacher, principal, superintendent, or other 
employee in a Delaware public school:

1.1 Within five (5) years after completion of a tour of 
duty; or 

1.2 Within five (5) years after completion of a course of 
professional or vocational training, if such course was begun 
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within five (5) years after completion of the individual’s tour 
of duty.

2.0 Any instruction in Military Science given during years 
of enlistment shall be included in the six (6) years in the 
armed services of the United States.

3.0 Credit for service in the armed forces of the United 
States shall be calculated as follows:

3.1 One year of experience shall be allowed for each 
creditable year of full time active duty service.

3.2 In the case of a teacher, principal, superintendent or 
other administrative employee a combined total of ninety 
one (91) days of service and employment in any of these 
positions during any one school year will count as a year of 
experience.  

3.3 No more than one (1) year of experience may be 
credited for any one (1) calendar year.

(Non-regulatory Note: See 14 Del.C. §1312(a) and §1327 
Leave of Absence for Persons in Military Service).

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

718 Health Examinations for School District Employees

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

 The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 718 Health Examinations for School District 
Employees in order to change the reference in the title and in 
1.0 to all employees of school districts, charter schools and 
alternative programs instead of school district employees. 
This regulation was previously advertised in the July 1, 
2004, Volume 8, Issue 1 of the Register of Regulations 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on August 17, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No 
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 718 in order to change the reference in the 
title and in 1.0 to all employees of school districts, charter 
schools and alternative programs instead of school district 
employees.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 718. 

Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
718 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 718 hereby amended shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 718 amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 718 Health 
Examinations for Employees of School Districts, Charter 
Schools, and Alternative Programs in the Administrative 
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on October 4, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 4th day of October 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

718 Health Examinations for School District Employees

1.0 At initial employment in a school district, all employees 
shall file, together with other employment credentials, a 
physician's certification that he or she is free from any 
medical condition which would prevent the applicant from 
performing the essential functions of the applicant’s job and 
which cannot be remedied through reasonable 
accommodations.

718 Health Examinations for Employees of School 
Districts, Charter Schools, and Alternative Programs

1.0 At initial employment, all employees of school districts, 
charter schools and alternative programs shall provide a 
physician's certification that he or she is free from any 
medical condition which would prevent the applicant from 
performing the essential functions of the applicant’s job and 
which cannot be remedied through reasonable 
accommodations.  The physician’s certification, along with 
any other medical information, shall be retained in the 
individual’s personnel file.

Non regulatory note: See 14 Admin. Code 805 The School 
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Health Tuberculosis Control Program for TB screening and 
testing. Also, see 21 Del.C. §2708 and 14 DE Admin. Code
1105 for requirements for school bus drivers.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311 & 1718 (18 Del.C. §§ 311, 1718)

ORDER

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, 
Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants

A public hearing was held on October 5, 2004 to receive 
comments on amendments to Regulation 504 relating to 
continuing education for licensed producers and adjusters. 
By my order of September 28, 2004, Gregory D. Sacco was 
appointed hearing officer to receive comments and 
testimony on the proposed amendments to the regulation. 
Public notice of the hearings and publication of proposed 
Regulation 504 in the Register of Regulations and two 
newspapers of general circulation was in conformity with 
Delaware law. Six persons attended the public hearing. 
Three written comments were received by the Department as 
a result of the public notice for comment.

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

 Eugene T. Reed, Jr., the director of Consumer Services 
and Licensing for the Department described the proposed 
changes and recommended their adoption as proposed.  The 
specific changes that Mr. Reed addressed were:

•  The provisions of section 3 that allow electronic 
submissions, reciprocal agreements relating to 
continuing education with the NAIC, and course 
approval expirations. Providers will now be 
responsible for submitting a course roster of 
attendees. The ability of Delaware to participate 
in reciprocal crediting of CE credits with other 
NAIC member states provided the course meets 
the course approval standards established under 
this regulation. 

•  Section 7 allows the use of electronic reporting. 
The provisions of section 8 that increase the con-
tinuing education requirement for Producers to 
twenty-four (24) credit hours based on NAIC 
adopted uniform standards, four (4) of which 
must be in ethics. The section also requires at 
least three (3) hours of training for those licensees 
who solicit long term care policies. This section 

increases the continuing education requirement 
for Adjusters, Public Adjusters, and Fraternal 
Producers to twelve (12) credit hours, four (4) of 
which must be in ethics.  Limited Lines Producers 
and non-resident Adjusters’ continuing education 
requirements have been eliminated. It will be the 
responsibility of the non-resident to meet their 
home state requirements. This is a requirement 
for states under GLBA for Producers.

•  Section 10 increases the number of council mem-
bers from four to five members for life/health and 
property/casualty and increases the number of 
claims professionals on the council from one to 
four.

Deputy Attorney General Michael J. Rich noted several 
non-substantive changes to the regulation that were not 
published but were desirable and appropriate. The first was 
to recommend that the phrase “the last day of February” be 
used in section 2.6 instead of the number “28.”  The second 
was to recognize that a phrase was missing from the 
published version of the proposed changes in section 9.1. 
The phrase “shall be subject to an administrative penalty up 
to” has to be inserted after the words “8.5 of this regulation” 
in section 9.1. The third was to note that minor grammatical 
changes were needed to sections 2.9, 8.4, 9.2 and 10.3.

Carl W. Hill, of the National Association of Insurance 
and financial Advisors—Delaware (NAIFA-DE), noted his 
organization’s support for the proposed changes.

Cheryl Smith suggested that section 3.2.5 be amended 
to allow for a partial credit for self-study providers under 
certain circumstances. It was noted that the Department had 
recommended the case-by-case review for partial credit 
requests under section 3.2.5 rather than a specific non-
reviewable allowance as a policy matter. The Department 
recommended against any change to the proposed language.

The Insurance Agents & Brokers of Delaware submitted 
written comments that supported adoption of the changes 
and which addressed the following items:  an incorrect 
reference to section 9.3 instead of 8.3 in section 4.1.2; the 
missing phrase from section 9.1 and the failure to use the 
term “authorized representative” in the regulation even 
though it is included in the definitions.  

Findings Of Fact

The purpose for a public hearing on a proposed 
regulatory change is to determine the necessity for the 
change and whether the language proposed to effect that 
change needs to be changed or modified for purposes of 
clarity or efficiency. There were no objections to the 
adoption of the proposed changes to the regulation.  I find 
that the proposed grammatical and semantic changes are 
describable for purposes of clarity and do not require 
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republication and rehearing under the provisions of 29 
Del.C. §10113.  I find that the addition of the phrase “the last 
day of February” be used in section 2.6 instead of the 
number “28.” And the phrase “shall be subject to an 
administrative penalty up to” in section 9.1 are not 
substantive and do not require republication and rehearing 
under the provisions of 29 Del.C §10113. I find that the 
Department’s recommendation not to change its current 
policy concerning the issuance of partial credit for courses 
except on a case by case basis under section 3.2.5 is 
consistent with its regulatory functions and does not violate 
any applicable law or the purpose and intent of the 
regulation.

I find that the term “authorized representative,” 
although not used in the regulation, was intended to allow an 
entity sponsor or provider to identify the person who would 
act on its behalf and serve as a contact person whom the 
Department could work with as needed for regulatory 
compliance.

Decision

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§311 and 1718, 
and the record in this docket, I adopt the FINAL REPORT 
AND RECOMMENDATION OF THE HEARING 
OFFICER dated October 11, 2004 and order that Regulation 
504 be amended as provided for in the notice published in 
the Delaware Register of Regulations 8 DE Reg. 409 (9/1/
04) as modified by the changes to sections 2.6, 2.9, 8.4, 9.1, 
9.2 and 10.3 and the amendment to the definition of 
authorized representative.

I order that the proposed change shall become effective 
on November 15, 2004.

Donna Lee H. Williams, Insurance Commissioner
October 12, 2004

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, 
Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants

1.0 Statutory Authority and Purpose
This Regulation is established and promulgated 

pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§314, 1726 1718 and 29 Del.C.
Ch.101.  

2.0 Purpose
The purpose of this Regulation is to establish 

requirements for insurance education and ethics for resident
insurance adjusters, public adjusters, producers, agents, 
brokers, surplus lines brokers and for standards for education 
providers and instructors in order to ensure a high level of 
professionalism for the benefit of Delaware consumers.
 

32.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:

"Administrative record" means any document relating 
to course approval, course offerings, attendance, course 
completions or credits, and any other records required to be 
kept by the Delaware Insurance Code, and any rule or order 
of the Department.

"Audit" means Insurance Department activity to 
monitor the offering of courses or examinations, including 
visits to classrooms, test sites, and administrative offices 
where documentation of individual attendance and 
completion records and documentation of instructor 
credentials is maintained. Audit may include re-evaluating 
approved classroom course outlines, and self-study 
programs and distance learning programs based on current 
guidelines.

"Authorized representative" [or “provider 
representative”]means the person designated by the entity 
as responsible for the timely filing of all required 
Department forms and documentation for courses and for the 
maintenance of necessary administrative records including 
but not limited to classes held, examinations monitored, 
instructor qualifications, and attendance records.  [Where 
this regulation provides for an act by an entity sponsor or 
provider, such act shall be performed by an authorized 
representative.]

“Commissioner” means the Insurance Commissioner 
of the State of Delaware and/or such designee appointed by 
the Commissioner.

"Completion" when used in the context of:
• Self-Study, means a passing grade of 70% or 

better on the examination.
• Class, means attendance for the full amount 

of time approved for each course.
• Seminar means attendance for the full 

amount of time assigned for each workshop or break-
out session selected.

"Compliance date" means the [28th last] day of 
February of the continuing education reporting period for 
which resident licensee continuing education or non-resident 
renewal is required. Each license biennium shall commence 
on March 1st and end February 28th of the odd year period 
for non-residents and the even year for residents even 
numbered years. Each biennial license shall commence on 
March 1st and end [on the last day of] February [28th] of 
even numbered years. 

"Contact person" means the person at the entity level 
with authority to transact business for the entity; through 
contracts, licenses, or other means, usually as the owner or 
corporate officer, and who designates the school official to 
represent the entity.

"Continuously licensed" means an uninterrupted 
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license without lapse due to suspension, revocation, 
voluntary surrender, cancellation or non-renewal for a period 
of 12 months or greater.

"Course" shall means any class, self-study, or seminar 
or distance learning course for insurance producers, surplus 
lines brokers, adjuster and public adjustor licensees or other 
insurance professionals that producers, surplus lines brokers, 
adjuster and public adjustor licensees or other insurance 
professionals that has been approved by the Department for 
the purpose of complying with continuing education 
requirements.

"Credit hour (CEUs)” means one (1) unit of credit 
based on a classroom hour or approved hour of credit for a 
seminar or self-study program.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of 
Insurance.

"Disciplinary action" means administrative action that 
has been taken against an individual or entity as a licensee or 
approved course provider, instructor, or school official for 
which probation, suspension, or revocation of any license 
(issued by this or any other state, country, or territory) or 
approved status has been ordered or consented to or for 
which a fine has been entered for a wrongdoing against a 
consumer or a licensee.

“Distance learning” or “Distance education” means 
instructional delivery that does not constrain the student to 
be physically present in the same location as the instructor. 
Distance education includes but is not limited to: audio, 
instructional television, videotape, teleconferencing, audio/
video conferencing, and computer conferencing, web based 
instruction, traditional self-study course(s) including CDs 
and DVDs as supplied materials and  any other planned 
learning that normally occurs in a different place from 
teaching and as a result requires special techniques of course 
design, special instructional techniques, special methods of 
communication by electronic and other technology, as well 
as special organizational and administrative arrangements 
approved by the Department.

"Entity sponsor" or “sponsor” means a natural 
person, firm, institution, partnership, company, corporation, 
or association offering, sponsoring, or providing courses 
approved by the Department in eligible continuing education 
subjects.

"Ethics credits" means the study of fiduciary 
responsibility, commingling of funds, payment and 
acceptance of commissions, unfair claims practices, 
professionalism, policy replacement consideration, handling 
or supervising the affairs or funds of another, and conflicts of 
interest and matters that deal with individual character and 
personal characteristics such as honesty, integrity and 
professionalism in the insurance industry.

"Hour" means sixty (60) minutes of class or seminar 
time, of which at least fifty (50) minutes must be instruction, 
with a maximum of ten minutes of break per hour all of 

which must be accounted for on the agenda or syllabus. For 
self-study courses, "hour" means fifty (50) sixty (60) 
minutes of time including reading and studying which would 
be necessary to successfully complete the final examination 
(actual exam time not included).  

"Initially Licensed" means the first insurance license 
issued an individual by this Department authorizing the 
transaction of insurance business in this state to which the 
continuing education requirement applies.

"Recognized association" means an insurance industry 
association established for at least 5 years.

"School official" means the person designated by the 
entity as responsible for the timely filing of all required 
Department forms and documentation for courses and for the 
maintenance of necessary administrative records including 
but not limited to classes held, examinations monitored, 
instructor qualifications, and attendance records.

"Syllabus" means an agenda showing the schedule of 
how a continuing education course is to be presented 
including time allotment to subject matter and including any 
meals and break times.

2 DE Reg. 122 (7/1/98)

43.0 Course Providers
43.1 Provider Approval. A provider who sponsors a 

continuing education course must be approved by the 
Commissioner Department and shall be operated by, 
including but not limited to, an authorized insurance 
company, a recognized insurance agents’ association, an 
insurance trade association, a self-insurance fund, a non-
profit educational institute, national provider, a member of a 
state Bar Association, an independent program of 
instruction, or an institution of higher learning. Application 
for entity approval shall be concurrent with application for 
course approval and shall be submitted on written forms or 
in an electronic format approved prescribed by the 
Commissioner Department. The Department may approve of 
or participate in reciprocal agreements relating to continuing 
education with the NAIC and/or its members.  In assessing a 
provider’s application for approval, the Commissioner
Department may consider, among other factors, whether the 
management of a provider, including officers, directors, or 
any other person who directly or indirectly controls the 
operation of the provider, fails to possess and demonstrate 
the competence, fitness and reputation deemed necessary to 
serve the provider in such position.

43.2 General Requirements and Responsibilities.
43.2.1 Providers shall maintain the records of 

each individual completing a course for three (3)4 years 
from the date of completion and shall send the Department a 
roster of those in attendance within thirty (30) days of the 
course completion date on forms or in electronic format 
prescribed by the Department upon request of the 
Commissioner submit a course roster list of course attendees 
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which includes all information available on Form CE-4.
43.2.2 Providers shall notify the Producer Agent 

and Agency Licensing Education Section, within thirty (30) 
days of a change in their mailing address or administrative 
office address.

43.2.3 Course providers will provide each 
licensee successfully completing their program a Certificate 
of Completion /Course report form CE-4 in accordance with 
section 8.4. It must contain, at a minimum:

4.2.3.1 Licensee’s name
4.2.3.2 Social Security Number
4.2.3.3 Title of the educational activity
4.2.3.4 Delaware course number 
4.2.3.5 Delaware sponsor number
4.2.3.6 Number of CEUs earned
4.2.3.7 Authorized signature of school 

official
for attendees’ records only after successful completion 

of the entire approved education course/activity. Entity 
Sponsors are required to distribute a Certificate of 
Completion to each licensee successfully completing the 
educational activity within thirty (30) calendar days.

43.2.4 Course providers shall obtain the 
Commissioner Department’s approval for each course 
offered.  No prior approval shall be required for any course 
offered through any NAIC sponsored reciprocal agreement 
but course credit under this regulation shall only be allowed 
for those subjects eligible for course credit in Delaware.  A 
Course Report Form CE-4 shall be completed and 
distributed to the licensee only after completion of the entire 
course. Entity Sponsors are required to distribute course 
report forms to each licensee successfully completing the 
educational activity within fifteen (15) calendar days.

43.2.5 No partial credit may be granted for any 
course unless an emergency arises. In case of an emergency, 
a written explanation shall be provided to the Commissioner
Department upon request.

43.2.6 Self-study courses shall contain an exam 
that shall be graded by the sponsor or an approved third 
party. No credit shall be given for a failing grade.

43.2.7 One Continuing Education Credit shall 
consist of fifty (50) minutes of qualifying classroom 
instruction.

43.2.8 Course Providers are responsible for the 
actions of their school officials, instructors, speakers and 
monitors.

43.2.9 Entity sponsors and instructors shall 
conduct themselves in a professional manner and may not 
misrepresent any course material or other information.

43.2.10 Educational activities are approved for a 
term of 3 years unless requested by the Commissioner to be 
resubmitted for approval.  Course approvals, once granted by 
the Department, shall remain valid until modified or 
terminated by the entity sponsor or Department.  Any 

changes or modifications to one or more courses by an entity 
sponsor shall not be valid until submitted to and approved by 
the Department in writing.  All courses approved for credit 
as of November 1, 2004 shall not be subject to re-approval 
under the provisions of this section.

43.2.11 No activity may be advertised as having 
been approved until the sponsor receives written notification 
from the Department. The use of "approval pending" is 
acceptable advertising.

45.0 Instructors
45.1 An entity sponsor shall certify to the 

Department that tThe  instructor shall possess one or more of 
the following qualifications:

45.1.1 A minimum of 3 years working experience 
in the subject matter being taught.

45.1.2 An approved professional designation in 
accordance with Section 9.3 from a recognized association.

451.3 A degree from an accredited school in the 
subject matter being taught.

45.1.4 Special expertise, such as employment 
with a governmental entity; or a documented history of 
research or study in the area.

45.1.5 An instructor who is a licensee shall 
receive two times the same number of continuing education 
credits granted to participants. The instructor may not 
receive additional credit for teaching the same course more 
than once in a biennium reporting period.

45.1.6 Instructors shawill have the authority and 
responsibility to deny credit to anyone who disrupts the class 
or is inattentive. Based on the course provider’s policies, 
refunds may be given. It will be a violation of this regulation 
for an instructor or school official to knowingly allow during 
the class, the activities of sleeping, reading of books, 
newspapers, or other non-course materials, use of a cellular 
phone, or to allow absence from class other than authorized 
breaks. Penalties will be assessed against participant, 
instructor, and school, as provided in this regulation. 
Approval of a course will constitute approval of submitted 
instructors. Course submissions must include a narrative 
biography of each instructor.

56.0 Commissioner Department’s Action upon 
Violation or Non-conformity by Course Provider or 
Instructor

If the Commissioner Department determines that a 
course provider or instructor has violated any provisions of 
this regulation, the Commissioner Department may 
withdraw approval of the entity sponsor or instructor or may 
order a monetary penalty or refund of course fees to 
licensees who attended the course, or both. The 
Commissioner Department may also refuse to approve 
courses conducted by specific sponsors or instructors if the 
Commissioner Department determines that past offerings by 
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those entity sponsors or instructors have not been in 
compliance with insurance education laws, rules and 
regulations. The Commissioner Department or his/her 
designee(s) may perform course provider audits on all 
educational activity proposed to be available to licensees of 
this State. 
67.0 Appeals

67.1 Appeals shall be conducted in accordance with 
the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C.
Ch.101 and 18 Del.C. §§ 323-28. 

67.2 Providers may appeal to the Commissioner or 
Commissioner’s designee, from any adverse decision on 
their request concerning continuing education activity. 
Appeals shall be in writing and minimally contain:

67.2.1 A synopsis of the issue,
67.2.2 The basis for the appeal,
67.2.3 The name, address, and telephone number 

of a contact person,
67.2.4 A copy of the original course submission 

and supporting documents, and
67.2.5 A copy of any correspondence from the 

Continuing Education Advisory Council or the Insurance 
Department.

78.0 Required Forms.
7.1 Requests for entity sponsor approval shall be made 

to the Department on such forms as shall be authorized by 
the Department.

7.2 Requests for entity sponsor course approval shall be 
made to the Department on such forms as shall be authorized 
by the Department.

Course Providers shall apply for registration, course 
submission, repeat course submission and licensee 
certificate of completion (Delaware Course Report Form) on 
forms prescribed and approved by the Commissioner. The 
following forms apply unless or until revised by the 
Commissioner:

8.1 Request for entity sponsor approval shall be made 
on Department Form CE-1 (Attachment 1).

8.2 Request for entity sponsor course approval shall be 
made on Department Form CE-2 (Attachment 2).

8.3 Course providers shall submit a Form CE-3 to the 
Department not less than 7 days prior to the offering of any 
course that was previously approved by the Department for 
an unspecified date or is to be repeated. (Form CE-3 
Attachment 3)

8.4 Form CE-4 Course Report Form. Form CE-4 
contents may be submitted in an alternative format so long as 
prior approval is obtained.

8.5 Continuing Education Course Evaluation Form CE-
5. The Department may request licensees to complete course 
evaluation forms as a means of auditing a course and entity 
sponsor.

89.0 Licensee’s Responsibility.
89.1 Each licensee shall retain each original course 

completion certificate/course report form(s) CE-4 for a 
period of 3 years. The certificate of completion Form CE-4
may be required in the event of a discrepancy between the 
licensee’s records and the Department’s records. Each 
licensee may be subjected to a Department audit of 
continuing education requirements. Failure to comply with a 
Department audit may result in suspension of a licensee’s 
license. Each licensee will have thirty (30) days to produce 
such records upon request or audit by the Department
Pursuant to section 8.5, the Department may require a 
licensee to complete a course evaluation form.

89.2 General Requirements. Resident licensees and 
producers not otherwise exempted shall earn, at a minimum, 
the number of education credits described below.

89.2.1 Resident licensees required to fulfill 
continuing education requirements shall complete twenty-
four (240) credit hours of Department approved education 
subjects, four (4) of which shall be in ethics subjects during 
each biennium reporting period.  If the resident producer 
holds a health license and solicits long term care policies, as 
part of his/her biennial requirement, the producer must 
complete at least three (3) hours of training in Delaware long 
term care insurance that consists of product knowledge, 
laws, rules and regulations.

89.2.2 Resident adjusters, public adjusters 
Limited Representatives, Adjusters and Fraternal Agents 
shall be required to fulfill twelveten (120) credit hours of 
Department approved education subjects, four (4) of which 
shall be in ethics subjects during each biennium reporting 
period.

89.2.3 Resident licensees subject to this 
regulation shall file with the Department a copy of their 
completed course report forms. Course report form CE-4(s) 
must be received on or before March 20th following the 
preceding biennium compliance date. Failure to timely file 
will result in notice of suspension and fines under section 
10.0 of this regulation. 9.2.4 Resident licensees will receive 
a continuing education transcript at least ninety (90) days 
prior to the end of a license biennium by mail or by 
electronic access as the Department deems appropriate.  The 
licensee is responsible for reviewing the transcript for 
accuracy. To dispute the Department’s accounting, the 
licensee must submit a written exception thereto prior to the 
biennium deadline (February 28th of even years) and include 
a copy of the providers course completion certificate course 
report form CE-4.

89.2.45 The maximum number of carryover credits 
shall not exceed five (5)10 credits in a biennium reporting 
period. Carryover shall not apply to ethics credit 
requirements. Credits in excess of the mandatory 
requirements set forth in section 8.2.1 may be applied to the 
licensee’s general course requirements for those in excess of 
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the March 1, 1997 through February 28, 1998 Continuing 
Education period. Thereafter, the maximum number of 
carryover credits shall not exceed 5 credits in a biennium 
reporting period. Carryover shall not apply to ethics credit 
requirements. Ethics credits in excess of the mandatory 
requirement may apply to non-ethics credit requirements.

9.2.6 Fulfillment of continuing education 
requirements includes completion of approved subject 
matter and ethics requirements during the biennium. 

9.2.7 No continuing education requirement shall 
apply to newly licensed individuals during the biennium in 
which such individuals are licensed. A total of 5 credits in 
excess of 20 credits earned may apply to carryover during 
the newly licensed biennium period.

89.3 Automatic credit. For experience aAn 
individual continuously licensed for twenty-five (25) years 
or longer prior to the start of a biennium reporting period 
and/or who for holdsing a professional designation shall 
receive an automatic credit of twelveen (120) credits in each 
biennium. The Department shall maintain a list of approved 
professional designations Approved professional 
designations are the AAI, CEBS, CLU, CPCU, ChFC, 
FLMI, CFP, FSPA, CIC and RHU. Automatic credits may 
not be applied to satisfy the mandatory continuing education 
courses set forth in section 8.2.1 ethics credit requirements.

89.4 License reinstatement after suspension, or
revocation or cancellation. All resident and nonresident 
licensees whose licenses were canceled, suspended or 
revoked for a period of twelve (12) months or more shall 
first complete all licensing requirements under 18 Del.C.
§170621 including the retaking of [all] exams for [the all]
lines of authority under which the individual proposes to 
transact insurance.  Any licensee who is reinstated under the 
provisions of this subsection shall not be entitled to the 
waiver provided for in section 8.2.5.

89.5 Extension of time. For good cause shown, the 
Department Commissioner may grant an extension of time 
during which the requirements imposed by this regulation 
may be completed. The extension shall not exceed twelve 
(12) months. The extension will not alter the requirements or 
due date of the succeeding biennium period. "Good cause" 
includes disability, natural disaster, or other extenuating 
circumstances. Each request for extension of time shall be in 
writing from the licensee and shall include details and any 
documentation to support the request. Each request must be 
received by the CommissionerDepartment no less than thirty 
(30) days before the expiration of the biennium period. 

89.6 Waiver of Continuing Education 
Requirements. The requirements of this regulation may be 
waived in writing by the Department Commissioner for good 
cause shown. "Good cause" includes long-term illness or 
incapacity, serving full-time in the armed forces of the 
United States of America on active duty outside of the state 
of Delaware, and any other emergency situations deemed 

appropriate by the Department Commissioner. Request for 
waivers of continuing education requirements shall be made 
in writing and shall be submitted to the Department
Commissioner no later than thirty (30) days prior to the end 
of the biennium for which such waiver is requested. Those 
individuals serving full time in the armed forces of the 
United States of America on active duty outside of the State 
of Delaware shall notify the Department upon their return by 
supplying a copy of their activation orders as part of their 
application for a waiver.  Any waiver granted pursuant to 
this regulation shall be valid only for the biennium for which 
waiver application was made.

89.7 Sixty (60) days prior to the start of each 
biennium, the Department shall prepare and publish a list of 
those lines of insurance for which the producers are exempt 
from the requirements of section 8. Exemptions to 
continuing education requirements:

9.7.1 Agents licensed for the lines of title 
insurance or travel accident and baggage insurance.

9.7.2 Interim Agents.
89.8 Resident adjusters licensed for the lines of 

Fidelity and Surety and/or Marine and Transportation are 
exempt from the provisions of section 8.2.2 of this 
regulation. Nonresident adjusters and public adjusters must 
meet the license requirements of their home state. 
Nonresident Agent, Broker, Consultant responsibilities.

9.8.1 Nonresident licensees shall file a home state 
letter of certification not more than ninety (90) days old 
when received by the Commissioner, which provides 
evidence of license status and compliance with continuing 
education requirements in his or her state of residence. The 
filing requirement for nonresidents shall be on odd years 
with a deadline date of February 28th every odd year 
beginning in year 1999.

9.8.2 The Department will send renewal notices to 
all nonresident licensees at least ninety (90) days before the 
end of the biennium. Nonresidents may request a thirty (30) 
day extension to file for renewal provided it is in writing to 
the Commissioner at least thirty (30) days prior to the 
biennium deadline and shall provide evidence of seeking a 
home state letter of certification.

9.8.3 Nonresidents who fail to provide 
certification from home state under this regulation shall be 
subjected to the same penalties as a resident agent under this 
regulation pursuant to section 10.0.

9.9 Nonresident Adjusters responsibilities.
9.9.1 Nonresidents receiving a license in 

Delaware - no requirements for the biennium in which they 
are licensed.

9.9.2 Nonresident adjusters who must meet 
continuing education requirements established by the 
insurance department in their home state shall file a home 
state letter of certification not more than ninety (90) days old 
when received by the Commissioner, which provides 
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evidence of license status and compliance with continuing 
education requirements in his or her state of residence. The 
filing requirement for nonresidents shall be on odd years. 
The first biennium for which nonresidents shall meet 
continuing education requirement begins on March 1, 1999 
and ends February 28, 2001.

9.9.3 Nonresidents who are not required to 
complete continuing education requirements in their home 
state are subject to the same continuing education 
requirements that a resident adjuster must complete in 
accordance with section 9.2.2 of this regulation.

9.9.4 Exemptions to Adjuster Continuing 
Education Requirements. Resident adjusters licensed for the 
lines of Fidelity and Surety and/or Marine and 
Transportation are exempt from the provisions of section 
9.2.2 of this regulation. Nonresident adjusters licensed for 
the lines of Fidelity and Surety and/or Marine and 
Transportation shall file a home state letter of certification 
not more than ninety (90) days old when received by the 
Commissioner, which provides evidence of license status. 
The filing requirement for nonresidents shall be on odd 
years. The first biennium for which nonresidents shall meet 
continuing education requirements begins on March 1, 1999 
and ends February 28, 2001.

910.0 Penalty for Noncompliance.
910.1 Pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§334, 17132, and 

171834, any licensee who fails to complete the minimum 
requirements of this regulation, and who has not been 
granted an extension of time to comply under section 89.5 of 
this regulation [shall be suject to an administrative 
penalty up to] and including a $2000.00 fine and suspension 
of license(s) for one year. Submission of false or fraudulent 
information shall result in an administrative penalty up to 
and including a $15,000.00 fine and permanent revocation of 
license.

910.2 Any appointment(s) of such licensee 
suspended for failure to comply with this regulation shall 
likewise be suspended by operation of law. Upon 
satisfactory completion of education requirements in arrears 
and payment of any administrative fine imposed within a 
period of twelve (12) months, all license(s) and 
appointments shall be reinstated unless or until the insurer 
notifies the Department Commissioner and licensee in 
writing of the insurer’s intent to terminate such appointment. 
If suspension is for a period of twelve (12) months or greater, 
the licensee is subject[ed] to compl[yingiance] with 18 
Del.C. §170621 including the retaking of [all] examinations 
for [all] line(s) of authority for which the individual licensee 
seeks a license that the individual proposes to transact 
insurance.

910.3 The Commissioner may, by Order based upon 
a reasonable belief that a violation of Title 18 occurred,
require any individual licensed under 18 Del.C. Ch. 17 based 

upon reasonable belief that a violation of Title 18 occurred,
to complete in addition to biennium insurance education 
requirements, approved continuing education course work to 
ensure the maintenance and improvement of a licensee’s 
insurance skills and knowledge.

101.0 Continuing Education Advisory Council 
10.1 The Council shall consist of fourteenten (104) 

licensees drawn from the professional organizations and the 
insurance industry in the State, 5 from the life and health 
field,  and 5 from the property and casualty field and four (4) 
from the claims settlement field.

101.21 One of the primary responsibilities of the 
Council shall be to review applications for course approvals 
and make recommendations to the Department
Commissioner regarding acceptance/ rejection and the 
number of CEUs to be granted if accepted.

101.32 The Council shall also advise the Department
Commissioner on matters of concern as they arise and [be 
the provide] liaison between the Department and the 
professional organizations.

101.43 Members shall serve a term of 2 years. Any 
member may be reappointed for successive terms. The 
committee shall meet every 2 months on the third Tuesday of 
the month or additionally as required. The members of the 
committee shall serve without pay and shall not be 
reimbursed for any expenses.

101.54 The Department’s decision with respect to any 
Entity Sponsor submission shall be final. All previously 
approved continuing education courses at the time this 
regulation becomes effective shall resubmit for approval 
within twelve months of the effective date of this regulation. 
Such courses must be resubmitted for approval within twelve 
(12) months of the effective date of this regulation.

11.5 The final decision on each Entity Sponsor 
submission shall be the Commissioner’s.

121.0 Separability
12.1 If any provision of this Regulation shall be held 

invalid, the remainder of the Regulation shall not be affected 
thereby.

132.0 Effective Date
13.1 This Regulation shall become effective March 

1, 1998 and shall remain in effect until rescinded. Prior to the 
aforementioned date the provisions of Regulation 504 
(Formerly Regulation 47) as last amended in 1987 shall 
remain in effect. The amendments to this Regulation shall 
become effective November 15, 2004. Any matters that are 
not merely procedural in nature arising prior to November 
15, 2004 shall be governed by the provisions of the prior 
version of this regulation in effect at the time the matter 
arose.
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March 1, 1985
Amended June 6, 1986
Amended March 24, 1987 
Amended March 1, 1998
Amended _____, 2004

PUBLIC INTEGRITY COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,

Section 5809(6) (29 Del.C. §5809(6))

Rules adopted by the Delaware State Public Integrity 
Commission pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5809(6), State 

Employees, Officers and Officials Code of Conduct.

I. STRUCTURE OF COMMISSION
(A) Chairperson.   Pursuant to 29 Del.C.. §5808(c) of 

the Code of Conduct, the Commission shall elect from 
among its membership, a Chairperson to serve at the 
pleasure of the membership. The Chairperson shall preside 
at meetings of the Commission.

(B) Vice-Chairpersons.   The Commission shall elect 
from among its membership a two Vice-Chairpersons to 
serve at the pleasure of the membership.  The A Vice-
Chairperson shall preside at meetings of the Commission in 
the absence of the Chairperson.

(C) The Administrative Assistant shall attend 
Commission meetings and hearings, shall take minutes of 
meetings and transcribe testimony at hearings in the absence 
of a court reporter.  The Administrative Assistant shall 
maintain the books, records, and files of the Commission in 
the Commission’s principal office, or at such other location 
as the Commission shall so designate.  The Administrative 
Assistant shall carry out the duties and responsibilities 
required by the job description as assigned by the 
Commission and/or Legal Counsel.

(D) The Commission Counsel, legal representative, 
shall perform the duties delegated by 29 Del.C. §5808A and 
shall supervise the daily operations of the Commission 
Office.

(E) Principal Office of the Commission shall be 
located at the Margaret O’Neill Bldg., Dover, and all 
complaints, responses, correspondence, and other documents 
relating to the Commission business shall be filed at or 
mailed to the principal office whose address is:

Delaware State Public Integrity Commission
Margaret O’Neill Bldg.,  Suite 3, Rm. 211
410 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901

II. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS
(A). Commission Meetings

(1) Place of Meetings - The Commission shall 
meet to conduct its business at its principal office in Dover, 
but may meet, hold hearings, and exercise its powers and 
duties, at any other place in the state.

(2) Notice - The Chairperson, or in the 
Chairperson=s absence, the Vice-Chairperson, shall fix the 
time and place for all meetings and hearings of the 
Commission by directing the Administrative Assistant to 
send written notice thereof together with the agenda by first 
class mail to each Commission member at the address  listed 
with the Administrative Assistant.

(3) Quorum - Four (4) members of the 
Commission shall constitute quorum at meetings and 
hearings and a majority vote of Commission members 
present shall be required to take action on matters before the 
Commission; provided, however, at least four (4) members 
of the Commission shall be required to vote “affirmative” on 
all disciplinary hearings and orders that would impose 
sanctions.

(4) Executive Session - Commission meetings 
may be held in executive session when permitted by law.

(B) Examination of Commission Files - Records - 
Subject to the confidentiality requirements of the Code of 
Conduct, the files and records of the Commission may be 
examined by any member of the public in the following 
manner.

(1) A request must be made in writing, during 
regular business hours, to the Administrative Assistant on a 
form provided for that purpose.

(2) The Administrative Assistant first shall 
determine whether or not the material in the requested file or 
record is subject to the confidentiality provisions of the Code 
of Conduct. If the Administrative Assistant is unable to 
make this determination, the request will be referred to the 
Commission’s Legal Counsel. If the material in the 
requested file or record is found not to be subject to the 
confidentiality provisions of the Code of Conduct, the 
person requesting such examination will do so only in the 
Office of the Public Integrity Commission during regular 
business hours.  No file material or records subject to the 
confidentiality provisions of the Code of Conduct shall be 
given to or examined by anyone not authorized to do so.

(3) Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10003, a copying cost 
of fifty cents ($.50) per page shall be levied as a charge for 
copying such records. 

(C) Subpoenas shall be on forms similar to subpoenas 
used by the Delaware Superior Court and shall bear the 
signature or facsimile signature of the Chairperson. Such 
forms will be available in the Commission’s principal office. 
Subpoenas shall be served by U.S. Mail or in the same 
manner as subpoenas are served in the Delaware Superior 
Court to all parties involved in the matter before the Public 
Integrity Commission.

(D) Sub-Committees consisting of no more than three 
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(3) Commission members may be designated by the 
Chairperson, or a Vice-Chairperson in the Chairperson’s 
absence, to perform non-binding general administrative 
matters of the Commission, including, but not limited to, the 
drafting of reports to the State Legislature as required by the 
Code of Conduct.

III. INVESTIGATIONS
If there is filed with the Commission a sworn complaint 

by any person alleging violation of the Code of Conduct, the 
following rules shall apply:

(A) The Commission shall meet and review the 
Complaint to determine whether the Complaint is frivolous 
or fails to state a violation. If the Commission determines 
that the Complaint states a violation, then the Commission 
shall:

(1) Set the matter down for hearing; or
(2) Refer the matter to the Commission’s Legal 

Counsel  for investigation; or
(3)  Retain the Attorney General or Special 

Counsel to investigate the matter if the investigation cannot 
be performed by the Commission’s Legal Counsel  where 
recusal is deemed necessary.

(B) Referred Matters - When the Commission  refers 
matters for investigation  to the Attorney General or Special 
Counsel, as the case may be, it shall be by letter requesting 
that the matter be thoroughly investigated and concluded as 
promptly as practicable.

(C) Report of Investigation - Commission’s Legal 
Counsel,  the Attorney General, or the Special Counsel, as 
the case may be, shall report the results of such investigation 
to the Commission by:

(1) Filing a Complaint with the Commission if 
there is reason to believe that a violation has occurred; or

(2) Filing a report with the Commission if there is 
reason to believe that no violation has occurred stating the 
reasons for such conclusion.

(D) Commission Action Following Investigation - If, 
following such investigation, a Complaint is filed by 
Commission Counsel, the Attorney General, or Special 
Counsel, as the case may be, the Commission will, after 
notice, set the matter down for hearing and the Complaint 
shall be prosecuted by Commission Counsel, the Attorney 
General, or Special Counsel, as the case may be.  If 
following such investigation, no Complaint is filed, the 
Commission may dismiss the matter or take such other 
action as it deems necessary and as provided by the Code of 
Conduct.

(E) The Commission, upon receiving information that 
violations of the Code of Conduct may have occurred, may 
upon its own initiative, if it finds good cause therefor, refer 
the matter for investigation in accordance with the 
provisions set forth in this section relating to investigations.

IV. HEARINGS AND DECISIONS
If a sworn, written complaint is filed with the 

Commission and the Commission determines that it should 
be scheduled for a hearing, the following Rules shall apply:

(A) Prosecuting Attorney - The Commission Counsel 
shall be the Prosecutor, except where the Attorney General 
or Special Counsel has been retained under 29 Del.C.
§5808A (5),  in which case the Attorney General or Special 
Counsel may be the Prosecutor. It shall be the duty of the 
Prosecutor to ensure that all pertinent evidence is placed in 
the record for the Commission’s consideration. The 
prosecutorial functions shall be performed by personnel who 
are not serving as Legal Counsel to the Commission.

(B) Respondent - The person charged in the Complaint 
with violating the Code of Conduct shall be referred to 
herein as Respondent.  Respondent is entitled to retain legal 
counsel.

(C) The Complaint:
(1) shall be served on Respondent; and
(2) shall specifically identify each portion of the 

Code of Conduct Respondent is alleged to have violated and 
facts upon which each alleged violation is based.

(D) Service-Response to Complaint - Service upon 
Respondent shall be made by personal service by any person 
authorized by the Commission or by registered or certified 
mail sent to the last known dwelling place and/or work place 
of Respondent.  Within twenty (20) days after service of the 
Complaint on Respondent, Respondent shall serve on the 
Prosecutor and file with the State Public Integrity 
Commission a written Response. 

(E) Scheduling Hearing - Transcript - After the 
Response is served and filed, the Commission shall schedule 
a hearing.  A transcript of the hearing shall be made and 
retained subject to the confidentiality requirements of the 
Code of Conduct.

(F) Inspection and Copying - The Respondent shall be 
permitted to inspect and copy documents or other tangible 
objects which will be used as evidence against Respondent.

(G) Exculpatory Information - If the Commission 
Counsel  or the Commission at any time receives any 
exculpatory information respecting an alleged violation, 
such information shall promptly be made available to the 
Respondent.

(H) Subpoenas - The Prosecutor and Respondent may 
apply to the Commission for the issuance of subpoenas for 
the appearance of witnesses and for the production of 
documents.  The subpoenas will be issued if the testimony or 
documents are relative, not cumulative, and if the 
applications have been made with reasonable promptness.

(I) Pre-Hearing Conference - A pre-hearing 
conference may be held with the Chairperson or the 
Chairperson’s  designee and the parties to discuss ways of 
expediting the hearing and ensuring the fairness of the 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 5, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS712
hearing.  Among the items that may be covered at such a pre-
hearing conference are:

(1) the identity of the witnesses each party intends 
to call at the hearing and the subject matter of their expected 
testimony;

(2) the identification of documents and other 
tangible evidence each party intends to introduce at the 
hearing and whether or not there will be objection to the 
introduction; and

(3) stipulations of facts and the avoidance of 
unnecessary proof and cumulative evidence.

(J) Evidence offered by the parties shall be admitted if 
it has probative value unless the Commission determines that 
the evidence is privileged or inadmissible for some other 
reason.  The Commission may exclude evidence which is not 
relevant or which is cumulative.

(K) Burden of Proof - The burden of proving 
violations of the Code of Conduct is on the Prosecutor and 
such violations must be proven by clear and convincing 
evidence.

(L) Order of Proceedings at the hearing shall be as 
follows:

(1) The Chairperson or the Chairperson’s designee 
shall open and preside at the hearing.

(2) An opening statement by the Prosecutor.
(3) An opening statement by the Respondent.
(4) Witnesses and other evidence by the 

Prosecutor.
(5) Witnesses and other evidence by Respondent.
(6) Rebuttal witnesses and other evidence by the 

Prosecutor, if appropriate.
(7) Witnesses may be cross-examined by the 

opposing party. Redirect examination and recross-
examination may be permitted in the Commission’s 
discretion.  Commission members may also question 
witnesses.

(8) Closing argument by the Prosecutor.
(9) Closing argument by Respondent.
(10) Rebuttal closing argument by the Prosecutor, if 

appropriate.
M. Post Hearing Briefs and Oral Argument may be 

required in the discretion of the Commission.
N. Quorum - Number Required to Sanction  - Four 

(4) members of the Commission constitute a quorum and 
sanctions may be imposed only by the affirmative action of 
at least four (4) members.  29 Del.C. '5808(d).

O. Decisions after hearing by the Commission shall be 
rendered in writing as promptly as reasonably possible. 
Decisions shall set forth (a) findings of fact based on the 
evidence, (b) conclusions of law as to whether Respondent 
has violated the Code of Conduct and (c) what sanctions the 
Commission is imposing if violations of the Code of 
Conduct are found.  Commission members, if any, who 
disagree with the Decision of the Commission may file 

dissenting opinions.
P. Motion for Reconsideration may be served and 

filed by either party within ten (10) days after the filing of 
the Commission’s Decision.  The motion shall briefly and 
succinctly state the ground on which the motion is based. 
Within ten (10) days after service of the motion, the 
opposing party may serve and file a brief and succinct 
response to each ground asserted in the motion. The 
Commission will determine from the motion and response 
whether reconsideration will be granted and, if so, what 
procedure will be followed for reconsideration.

Q. Confidentiality - Complaints, Hearings, and 
Decisions of the Commission shall be confidential to the 
extent required by 29 Del.C. §5810(h).

R. Time Limitations set forth in these Rules may for 
good cause shown, be extended or shortened in the 
discretion of the Commission.

S. Disqualification - Members of the Commission 
may disqualify themselves from participating in any hearing 
upon submission in writing and under oath of an affidavit by 
the Commission member or by the Prosecutor, or by 
Respondent setting forth the reason for the disqualification. 
The decision by the member of the Commission concerning 
disqualification can be overturned by a vote of at least four 
(4) members of the Commission.

VI. REQUESTS FOR WAIVERS AND ADVISORY 
OPINIONS

(A) 29 Del.C. §5805 deals with “Prohibitions relating 
to conflicts of interest” and 29 Del.C. §5806 deals with 
“Code of Conduct.” The State Public Integrity Commission 
may, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5807, grant Waivers and 
Advisory Opinions concerning the prohibitions of §§5805 
and 5806 pursuant to the following procedures:

(1) Applications to be in Writing - The 
individuals or State agency seeking a Waiver or Advisory 
Opinion shall apply in writing to the Commission setting 
forth in detail the applicable parts of §§5805 and/or 5806 
involved and the specific reasons a Waiver or Advisory 
Opinion is warranted or required.

(2) Quorum - Majority Vote - Four (4) members 
of the Commission constitute a quorum under 29 Del.C.. 
§5808(c).  A vote of a majority of the Commission members 
present at a meeting is required for a Waiver or an Advisory 
Opinion.

(3) Standards for Waiver - A Waiver may be 
granted only if the Commission determines in writing that 
the prohibitions in the parts of §§5805 and/or 5806 in issue 
are not necessary under the circumstances to achieve the 
public purposes of the Code of Conduct or if enforcing the 
prohibitions under the circumstances would result in undue 
hardship to the employee, state official, or honorary state 
official and state agency.  29 Del.C. §5807(a).

(4) Advisory Opinions are also to be in writing.
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(5) Attendance at Meeting - Decisions Without 
Attendance - Prior to reaching its decision on the 
Application for a Waiver or an Advisory Opinion, the 
Commission may require the applicant and others with 
pertinent knowledge of the facts necessary for the 
Commission to reach a decision to attend a meeting of the 
Commission and testify. The Commission may in its 
discretion require that the testimony be under oath.  The 
Commission may in a clear case grant or deny a Waiver or 
issue an Advisory Opinion based on the written application 
without requiring the attendance at a meeting of the 
applicant or others.

(6) Reliance - Any person who acts in good faith 
reliance upon any Waiver Decision or Advisory Opinion of 
the Commission shall not be subject to discipline or other 
sanction under the Code of Conduct with respect to the 
matters covered by the Waiver Decision or Advisory 
Opinion, provided there was a full disclosure to the 
Commission of all material facts necessary for the Decision.

(7) Confidentiality - Any application for a Waiver 
or Advisory Opinion, any proceedings and any decisions 
with respect thereto shall be maintained confidential by the 
Commission provided that:

(a) Public disclosure shall be made by the 
Commission upon the written request of the applicant.

(b) The Commission may make such public 
disclosure as it determines is required in connection with the 
prosecution of any violation of the Code of Conduct.

(c) The Commission shall report to 
appropriate federal and state authorities substantial evidence 
of any criminal violation which may come to its attention.

(d) In the event that a Waiver is issued, the 
decision of the Commission and the record of all 
proceedings relating thereto shall be open to public 
inspection.

Adopted by the State Public Integrity Commission: April 6, 
1993
Effective Date:    May 7, 1993 
Revised: December 8, 1995 to comport with the law by the 
State Public Integrity Commission.
Revised August 19, 2004 to comport with the law by the 
State Public Integrity Commission.
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER
EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FIFTY-NINE

RE: Implementing The Strategies For State Policies 
And Spending

WHEREAS, Delaware has a well-deserved reputation 
as an ideal place to live, work, raise a family, and enjoy 
recreational activities; and

WHEREAS, Delaware’s natural resources, solid 
economy, opportunities for personal business success, and 
overall quality of life are projected to attract almost 190,000 
new residents by the year 2020; and

WHEREAS, Delawareans are concerned that the 
"quality of place" in our State is threatened by sprawl, traffic 
congestion, loss of farmlands and open space, and 
diminished air and water quality; and 

WHEREAS, the protection of public health and welfare 
requires a more efficient planning of growth and 
development throughout Delaware; and

WHEREAS, haphazard sprawl and unplanned growth 
create an inefficient demand for public infrastructure and 
facilities that all Delaware taxpayers must finance, no matter 
where they live; and 

WHEREAS, the Livable Delaware Agenda, as outlined 
in Executive Order 14, includes a set of principles for 
creating a more Livable Delaware; and

WHEREAS, those principles are to invest taxpayer 
dollars effectively while slowing sprawl, to preserve 
farmland and open space, to encourage infill and 
redevelopment that avoids the development of greenfields, 
to facilitate attractive and affordable housing, and to 
preserve Delaware’s quality of life through sustainable 
development; and 

WHEREAS, all state agencies must provide leadership 
and set positive examples with policies, programs and 
expenditures that are aligned to the principles of Livable 
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the Cabinet Committee on State Planning 
Issues, in consultation with the Governor's Advisory Council 
on Planning Coordination, has undertaken an extensive 
process of analyzing long-term growth trends, soliciting 
public comment, coordinating with State and local 
government agencies, and considering the impacts of 
expected growth throughout the State over the next five 
years; and 

WHEREAS, on June 3, 2004, the Cabinet Committee 
on State Planning Issues approved an updated set of 
Strategies for State Policies and Spending to ensure efficient, 
rational and cost-effective investment in necessary 

infrastructure; 

NOW, THEREFORE I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by 
the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of 
Delaware, hereby declare and order on this 23rd day of 
September 2004:

1. The Office of State Planning Coordination 
shall publish, both in printed form and on-line, the updated 
Strategies for State Policies and Spending document and 
maps, including geospatial data (with full metadata) 
representing the various investment level areas 
recommended in the Strategies document; and

2. As explained more fully in the published 
Strategies document, the Green Infrastructure 
recommendations approved on December 8, 2003 by the 
Governor's Advisory Council on Planning Coordination are 
to be considered as a part of the Strategies; and

3. All state departments and agencies shall, no 
later than December 31, 2004, submit to the Office of State 
Planning Coordination an update of the Livable Delaware 
Implementation Plans developed pursuant to Executive 
Order 14; and

4. All state departments and agencies shall use the 
Strategies document and maps as a guide to making all 
decisions on policy, infrastructure and other investments, 
and resource management; and

5. The State Budget Office shall use the 
Strategies document and maps as a guide in developing and 
reviewing state department and agency spending plans; and

6. The Strategies document and maps shall be 
made available to all county and municipal government 
agencies for use in all planning-related endeavors, including, 
but not limited to, comprehensive plan development and 
strategic planning; and

7. The Strategies document and maps shall be 
used in the Preliminary Land Use Service (PLUS) process as 
a tool for helping developers, land-owners, and local 
governments create efficient, rational and smart-growth 
development options in those areas most ready to receive 
and serve new development; and

8. The Office of State Planning Coordination 
shall, in conjunction with the Cabinet Committee on State 
Planning Issues and the Governor's Advisory Council on 
Planning Coordination, plan and carry out an update of the 
Strategies document and maps within five years of the 
effective date of this order.

Ruth Ann Minner, Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor
Secretary of State
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Board of Cosmetology & Barbering Mr. Jerome N. Stanley, Jr. 8/5/2006

Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Ms. Carolyn R. Cotter 9/27/2007
Administrators

Board of Medical Practice Ray A. Blackwell, M.D. 9/27/2007
Mr. Michael G. Green 9/27/2007
Karl W. McIntosh, M.D. 9/27/2007

Board of Nursing Lucille C. Gambardella, M.D. 9/27/2007
Mr. David C. Mangler 9/27/2007
Ms. Cheryl T. Richter 9/27/2007
Ms. Irene A. Washabau 9/27/2007

Board of Speech/Language Pathologists, Ms. Regina A. Bilton 9/27/2007
Audiologists, and Hearing Aid Dispensers

Board of Veterinary Medicine Ms. Kathy M. Davison 2/8/2005

Children’s Trust Fund Board of Directors Mr. Michael Arrington 9/13/2007

Committee on Disposition of Unmarked Ms. Karen Rosenberg 9/27/2005
Human Burials

Council of Delaware Association of Mr. Vincent G. Robertson 9/27/2008
Professional Engineers

Council on Manufactured Housing Mr. Jay A. Estep 9/27/2006
Ms. Roberta J. Hemmerich 9/27/2006
Ms. Heather L. Howell 9/27/2006
Mr. Richard E. Maly 9/27/2006
Mr. William J. Reed 9/27/2006
Ms. Brenda R. Styers 9/27/2006

Council on Transportation, Chair Mr. Weston E. Nellius 9/27/2007

Delaware Compensation Commission Mr. Scott A. Green 9/13/2010

Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Mr. Kenneth I. Fuchs 6/30/2010
Authority

Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, Ms. Debra M. Killeen 7/17/2010
Commissioner
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Family Court in and for Kent County, The Honorable William J. Walls, Jr. 9/21/2016
Associate Judge

Greater Wilmington Convention and Visitors Mr. Ernest J. Camoirano 6/30/2006
Bureau

Mr. Ronald Kosh 6/30/2005
Ms. Cheryl Przelomski 6/30/2006

Infant Mortality Task Force Mr. Joseph M. Letnaunchyn Pleasure of the
Governor

Reverend John F. Holden Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Mark Meister, Sr. Pleasure of the
Governor

John Stephano, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Nancy Wilson Pleasure of the
Governor

Juvenile Justice Advisory Group, Chair Mr. Michael Arrington Pleasure of the
Governor

Juvenile Justice Advisory Group Timothy Brandau, Ph.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Brian F. Gimlet Pleasure of the
Governor

Edward W. Goate, Ed.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Mary Frances Haney Pleasure of the
Governor

Wilma Mishoe, Ed.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Patrick S. Pugh Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Beverly Williams Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. David T. Woods Pleasure of the
Governor

State Committee of Dietetics/Nutritionists Ms. Sharon B. Collison 9/28/2007
Ms. Marjorie D. Ressler 9/28/2007

State Examining Board of Physical Therapists Ms. Kristen C. Whiteman 9/28/2007
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
State Fire Prevention Commission Mr. Willard R. Betts, Jr. 9/16/2010
Mr. Kenneth H. McMahon 9/16/2010
Mr. Marvin C. Sharp 9/21/2005

Sussex County Vocational-Technical School Mr. Patrick J. Cooper 11/15/2006
Board of Education

Tourism Advisory Board Mr. Michael Schwartz 9/28/2007
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch.60)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title Of The Regulations:
DELAWARE 2002 MILESTONE COMPLIANCE 

DEMONSTRATION FOR KENT AND NEW CASTLE 
COUNTIES: Demonstrating Adequate Progress toward 
Attainment of the 1-Hour National Ambient Air Quality 
Standard for Ground-Level Ozone.

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:

The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) 
require Delaware to submit to the US Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) a State Implementation Plan (SIP) 
revision for each of the milestone years (1996, 1999, 2002, 
and 2005) to demonstrate that the actual emissions of 
volatile organic compounds (VOC) and/or oxides of nitrogen 
(NOx) in Kent and New Castle Counties do not exceed the 
required emission targets specified in Delaware's Rate-of-
Progress Plans.  The document presented herein is for the 
milestone year of 2002, and thus termed as Delaware's 2002 
Milestone Compliance Demonstration. The document 
analyzes VOC and NOx emission data in 2002 and 
concludes that Delaware’s 2002 milestone for complying 
with the CAAA’s VOC and NOx emission reduction 
requirements has been successfully met.

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
None.

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
7 Del.C. Ch. 60, Environmental Control.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:

None.

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on December 1, 2004, 

beginning at 6:00 pm, in AQM Conference Room, Priscilla 
Building, 156 South State Street, Dover, DE 19901.

7. Prepared By:
Frank F. Gao, Project Leader, (302) 323-4542, October 

12, 2004.

Proposal
DELAWARE 2002 MILESTONE COMPLIANCE 

DEMONSTRATION FOR KENT AND NEW CASTLE 
COUNTIES

Demonstrating Adequate Progress toward Attainment of 
the 1-Hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard for 

Ground-Level Ozone

Submitted to US Environmental Protection Agency
By Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control

November 2004

Acronym List

AQM Air Quality Management Section of DNREC 
CAAA Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 
CMSA Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area 
CO Carbon Monoxide 
DAWM Division of Air and Waste Management of

DNREC
DNREC Delaware Department of Natural Resources

and Environmental Control
EID Emission Inventory Development
EPA United States Environmental Protection

Agency
FMVCP Federal Motor Vehicle Control Program 
I/M Inspection and Maintenance 
LEV Low Emission Vehicle
MCD Milestone Compliance Demonstration
NAA Nonattainment Area
NAAQS National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
NLEV National Low Emission Vehicle
NOx Oxides of Nitrogen 
OAQPS- Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards

of EPA
OTAG Ozone Transport Assessment Group
OTC Ozone Transport Commission
OTR Ozone Transport Region
PCP Planning and Community Protection Branch of

DNREC
PEI Periodic Emission Inventory
RACT Reasonably Available Control Technology 
RPP Rate-of-Progress Plan 
RVP Reid Vapor Pressure 
SCC Source Classification Code 
SIC Standard Industrial Classification 
SIP State Implementation Plan 
TPD Tons per day
TPY Tons per year
VOC Volatile Organic Compound 
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Summary

Under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 
(CAAA), Kent and New Castle Counties in Delaware are 
classified as severe nonattainment areas with respect to the 
1-hour ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
(NAAQS). This document addresses Delaware’s 2002 
milestone year compliance demonstration regarding progress 
toward attainment of the 1-hour ozone NAAQS.

Under Sections 182(b)(1) and 182(d) of CAAA, 
Delaware is required (1) by 1996 to achieve a 15% reduction 
in emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from its 
1990 level in the two nonattainment counties, (2) by 1999 to 
achieve an additional 9% reduction in emissions of either 
VOCs or oxides of nitrogen (NOx) from the 1990 levels, and 
(3) by 2002 to achieve a second additional 9% reduction in 
emissions of either VOCs or NOx from the 1990 levels. 
Under these requirements, the 2002 target levels of VOC and 
NOx emissions for the two nonattainment counties in 
Delaware have been determined to be 101.54 tons per day 
(TPD) and 143.12 TPD, respectively. To achieve these 
emissions targets, Delaware implemented numerous control 
measures over a large variety of VOC and NOx emission 
sources from 1990 to 2002. Delaware’s 2002 emission 
inventory, which has been recently compiled, shows that the 
2002 inventoried VOC and NOx emissions in Kent and New 
Castle Counties are 78.12 TPD and 144.49 TPD, 
respectively. These inventoried VOC and NOx emissions, 
when combined together and expressed as an equivalent 
VOC emission, are significantly lower than the required 
2002 targets levels. Thus, Delaware demonstrates herein that 
its 2002 milestone for complying with the CAAA’s VOC and 
NOx emission reduction requirements has been successfully 
met.

1.0 Introduction
1.1 Background

The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) 
set forth National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) 
for the ground-level ozone. High levels of ground level 
ozone will harm the respiratory system and cause breathing 
problems, throat irritation, coughing, chest pains, and greater 
susceptibility to respiratory infection. Children, the elderly 
and individuals with respiratory diseases are especially 
vulnerable to the threat of ozone. Even healthy individuals 
can be harmed if they attempt strenuous activity on days 
with high ozone levels. High levels of ozone also cause 
serious damage to forests and agricultural crops, resulting in 
economic losses to logging and farming operations. 
Currently, there are two national standards for the ground-
level ozone, i.e., the 1-hour standard (0.12 ppm) and the 8-
hour standard (0.08 ppm). This document addresses issues 
relevant to the 1-hour standard only.

The CAAA classifies five nonattainment areas 

(NAA) that exceed the 1-hour ozone NAAQS based on the 
severity of the pollution problem. In the order of increasing 
severity, they are marginal, moderate, serious, severe, and 
extreme. According to Section 181 of CAAA, attainment 
dates for individual areas depend on their nonattainment 
designations. The Philadelphia Consolidated Metropolitan 
Statistical Area (CMSA) is classified as a severe 
nonattainment area (Figure 1), which has an attainment date 
of 2005. As shown in Figure 1, Kent and New Castle 
Counties in Delaware fall within the Philadelphia CMSA. 
Thus, these two counties are subject to all requirements set 
forth for the severe ozone nonattainment class. All 
discussions and data presented in this document apply only 
to Kent and New Castle Counties.

Generally, the ground level ozone is not directly 
emitted to the atmosphere, but is formed in the lower 
atmosphere by photochemical reactions mainly between 
volatile organic compounds (VOC) and nitrogen oxides 
(NOx) in the presence of sunlight. Thus, VOC and NOx are 
defined as ozone precursors. In order to reduce ozone 
concentration in the ambient air, the CAAA requires all 
ozone nonattainment areas to achieve specific reductions in 
anthropogenic VOC emissions and/or NOx emissions over 
several specified periods of years until the ozone standard is 
attained. This requirement for periodic emission reductions 
is termed as “rate of progress” toward the attainment of the 
1-hour ozone standard (Reference 1).

Under Section 182(d) of CAAA, Delaware is 
required to develop and submit a State Implementation Plans 
(SIP) revision to the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency  (EPA) for each of the milestone years of 1996, 
1999, 2002 and 2005.  In these plans, Delaware has to show 
that, by adopting and implementing adequate control 
measures, it can achieve adequate rate-of-progress 
reductions in VOC and/or NOx emissions for its severe 
ozone nonattainment area, i.e., Kent and New Castle 
Counties. Since these state implementation plans construct 
the path of Delaware’s rate of progress toward the attainment 
of the ozone standard, they are termed as Delaware’s Rate-
of-Progress Plans (RPPs).

Under Section 182(a) of the CAAA, Delaware is 
required to develop comprehensive emission inventories of 
ozone precursors for 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002 and 2005 to 
monitor actual VOC and NOx emissions from its 
nonattainment areas along  the  path  of  rate of progress. 
These emission  inventories  are  termed  as  Delaware’s 
periodic  emission  inventories  (PEIs). Under Sections 
182(a) and 182(g) of the CAAA, Delaware is required to use 
these periodic emission inventories (except the 1993 PEI) to 
demonstrate whether Delaware meets the required emission 
reductions as specified in its rate-of-progress plans in 
individual milestone years. This demonstrating process is 
termed as milestone compliance demonstration (Reference 
1).
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This document demonstrates Delaware 2002 
milestone year compliance with adequate progress in 
emission reductions toward attainment of the 1-hour ozone 
NAAQS as required by the CAAA. The document is 
hereafter referred to as “Delaware 2002 Milestone 
Compliance Demonstration.”

Figure 1.  Philadelphia Consolidated Metropolitan 
Statistical Area (CMSA) Nonattainment Area.1

1.2 Responsibilities
The agency with direct responsibility for preparing 

and submitting this document is Delaware Department of 
Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC), 
Division of Air and Waste Management (DAWM), Air 
Quality Management Section (AQM), under the direction of 
Ali Mirzakhalili, Program Administrator. The working 
responsibility for Delaware’s air quality management 
planning falls within the Planning and Community 
Protection (PCP) Branch of AQM Section, under the 
management of Raymond H. Malenfant, Program Manager 
and Ronald A. Amirikian, Planning Supervisor.  Frank F. 

Gao, Environmental Engineer of Airshed Evaluation and 
Planning Program in the PCP Branch, is the project leader 
and principal author of this document. Questions or 
comments regarding this document should be addressed to F. 
Gao, (302)323-4542, AQM, 715 Grantham Lane, New 
Castle, DE 19720, or be e-mailed to Frank.Gao@state.de.us. 

2.0 Delaware State Implementation Plans
2.1 Delaware 1990 Base Year Emission Inventory

Section 182(a)(1) of CAAA requires each state with 
ozone nonattainment areas to develop a comprehensive 1990 
emission inventory for ozone precursors for its 
nonattainment areas. The emission inventory must be 
submitted as a state implementation plan (SIP) revision to 
EPA for approval.  This 1990 base year emission inventory is 
used as the basis for a state to develop its rate-of-progress 
plans and control strategies toward attainment of the 1-hour 
ozone standard. Delaware’s 1990 base year emission 
inventory was submitted to the EPA in May 1994, and 
approved by EPA in March 1996 (Reference 2).

The 1990 Base Year Inventory is categorized by 
five source sectors, i.e., point, stationary area, off-road 
mobile, on-road mobile and biogenic source sectors.  Since 
volatile organic compounds (VOC), nitrogen oxides (NOx) 
and carbon monoxide (CO) are precursors for ground level 
ozone formation, their emissions from these source sectors 
in 1990 are inventoried and reported in the 1990 Base Year 
Inventory. Because the contribution of CO to ozone 
formation is insignificant, the CO component of the 1990 
Base Year Inventory is not included in Delaware's rate-of-
progress planning for attainment of ozone standard.  A 
summary of VOC and NOx emissions by county in the 1990 
Base Year Inventory is presented in Table 1. The unit of 
emissions reported in Table 1 is tons per day (TPD) in the 
peak ozone season. The peak ozone season in Delaware is 
defined as from June 1 through August 31.

 Table 1. Summary of VOC and NOx Emissions (in TPD) 
in 1990 Base Year Inventory*

* Data obtained from Delaware 1990 Base Year Emission 
Inventory (Reference 2).

2.2 Delaware Rate-of-Progress Plans and Milestone 
Year Emission Targets

1. This map is adopted from Major CO, NO2 and VOC 
Sources in the 25-Mile Boundary Around Ozone 
Nonattainment Areas, Volume 1: Classified Ozone 
Nonattainment Area, EPA/4-92-005a, U.S. Environment 
Protection Agency, Office of Air Quality Planning and 
Standards, Office of Air and Radiation, Research Triangle 
Park , NC, February, 1992.

1990 Base 
Year

            Kent       New Castle Total NAA

All Source 
Sectors

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Total 
Emissions

65.23 25.84 131.30 137.00 196.53 162.85
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Under Sections 182(b)(1) and 182(d), Delaware is 

required to develop a rate-of-progress plan (as a SIP 
revision) for the period from 1990 to 1996. This plan must 
describe how Delaware could achieve an actual VOC 
emission reduction of at least 15% of its 1990 VOC emission 
level, and thus is termed as Delaware 1996 Rate-of-Progress 
Plan (RPP) or 15% RPP (Reference 3). The year of 1996 is 
defined as the first milestone year toward attainment of the 
1-hour ozone standard.

In addition to the 15% VOC emission reduction, 
Section 182(d) of CAAA requires Delaware to submit three 
post-1996 rate-of-progress plans that will lead to VOC and/
or NOx emission reductions of at least 3% per year between 
1996 and 2005. These three post-1996 plans are: the 1999 
RPP covering a 3-year period from 1997 to 1999, the 2002 
RPP covering the period from 2000 to 2002, and the 2005 
RPP covering the period from 2003 and 2005. Based on the 
3% per year emission reduction requirements, these three 
RPPs set forth Delaware’s VOC and NOx emission targets in 
their corresponding milestone years of 1999, 2002 and 2005. 

The required rate-of-progress reductions in VOC 
and/or NOx emissions in each rate-of-progress plan are 
estimated from the 1990 baseline level. For this purpose, the 
1990 base year emissions in Table 1 must be adjusted to (1) 
include only anthropogenic and photochemically reactive 
emissions, and (2) exclude emission reductions from control 
measures promulgated prior to the 1990 CAA Amendments 
(Reference 1). After these adjustments, the required VOC 
and/or NOx emission reductions can be estimated, and then 
the VOC and/or NOx emission targets of each milestone 
year can be calculated. A summary of VOC and /or NOx 
emission targets for individual milestone years are presented 
in Table 2. Details of how to conduct base-year inventory 
adjustments and how to estimate emission reductions and 
emission targets can be found in References 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 
and 7.

Table 2. Delaware VOC and/or NOx Emission Targets 
for Individual Milestone Years

2.3 Control Measures and Expected VOC/NOx 
Emissions in 2002 RPP

To meet the 2002 VOC and NOx emission targets, 
Delaware proposed numerous control measures in its 2002 
RPP. These control measures include federal mandatory 

rules and Delaware state regulations to be promulgated prior 
to the peak ozone season of 2002. These rules and 
regulations cover a large variety of VOC and NOx emission 
sources in all anthropogenic source sectors. A list of the 
control measures, along with their implementation dates, is 
given in Table 3. Detailed descriptions of individual rules 
and regulations can be found in Delaware 2002 RPP, as 
amended in December 2000 (Reference 5), and Delaware 
Regulations Governing Control of Air Pollution (Reference 
8).

Table 3.  Control Measures Proposed in Delaware’s 2002 
RPP

Emission 1996 1999 2002 2005
Targets 
(TPD)

Milestone 
Year

Milestone 
Year

Milestone 
Year

Milestone 
Year

VOC 115.82 110.21 101.54 95.41
NOx * 148.96 143.12 135.37

*NOx reduction was not required 
for the 1996 milestone year.

Control Measures 
and Regulations Creditability Emission Effective

  Controlled Date

Point Source Controls    
RACT "Catch-Ups" in 
Kent County:    
     Solvent Metal 
Cleaning Creditable VOC 31-May-95
     Surface Coating of 
Metal Furniture Creditable VOC 31-May-95
     Leaks from 
Synthetic Organic 
Chemical, Creditable VOC 31-May-95
        Polymer, and 
Resin Manufact. 
Equip.    
New RACT 
Regulations:    
     Bulk Gas. Marine 
Tank Vessel Loading 
Facil. Creditable 31-Dec-95
     SOCMI Reactor 
Proc. and Distillation 
Operat. Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96
     Batch Processing 
Operations Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96

     Offset Lithography      Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96

     Aerospace Coatings Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96
     Industrial Cleaning 
Solvents Creditable VOC 29-Nov-94

     Non-CTG RACT   Creditable  VOC 31-May-95
     Delaware NOx 
RACT   Creditable  NOx 31-May-95
Regional NOx Control 
OTC MOU Creditable NOx 01-May-99
Federal Benzene 
Waste Rule Creditable VOC Spring 1995

Sanitary Landfills Creditable VOC 09-Oct-93
Irreversible Process 
Changes Creditable VOC 01-Jan-96
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In the 2002 RPP, Delaware projected 2002 VOC 
and NOx emissions in the peak ozone season assuming all 
control measures listed in Table 3 were implemented as 
expected. The projections are termed as "control strategy 
projections" and conducted following the methods and 
procedures specified in relevant EPA guidance documents 
(References 9, 10 and 11). In the projection calculations, 

factors such as growth, control efficiency, rule effectiveness, 
and rule penetration, are considered and incorporated 
whenever appropriate for point sources, stationary area 
sources and non-road mobile sources. Emission projections 
for on-road mobile sources were conducted using EPA's 
MOBILE5a software. Details of the control strategy 
projections are presented in the 2002 RPP, as amended in 
December 2000 (Reference 5). A summary of the 2002 VOC 
and NOx control strategy emission projections is given in 
Table 4.  

Table 4.  Delaware 2002 Control Strategy Projections for 
VOC and NOx Emissions (TPD)

As shown in Table 4, the total VOC and NOx 
emissions projected for 2002 in Delaware’s nonattainment 
area (i.e., Kent and New Castle Counties) are 101.54 TPD 
and 142.08 TPD, respectively.  The VOC projection is equal 
to the emission target, while the NOx projection is lower 
than the target (143.12 TPD). Therefore, the 2002 RPP 
concludes that its proposed control measures are adequate 
and enough for Delaware to meet CAAA’s rate-of-progress 
requirements on VOC and NOx emission reductions in the 
milestone year of 2002.

2.4 Delaware 1993, 1996, 1999 and 2002 Periodic 
Emission Inventories

Under Section 182(a) of the CAAA, Delaware is 
required to compile comprehensive periodic emission 
inventories of ozone precursors for 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002 
and 2005. The emission data in these periodic inventories are 
either reported directly by individual sources (e.g., point 
sources such as industrial facilities), or calculated from the 
subject year activity data obtained from relevant sources or 
other agencies (e.g., area sources). These periodic emission 
inventories cover all sources included in the Delaware 1990 
Base Year Emission Inventory.  Delaware submitted to EPA 
its 1993 periodic emission inventory (PEI) in January 1998, 
its 1996 EPI in November 1999, its 1999 PEI in June 2002, 
and its 2002 PEI in June 2004. Emissions in these periodic 
emission inventories are reported in tons per year (TPY) and 
in tons per day (TPD) in the peak ozone season. Details of 
how Delaware compiled these periodical emission 
inventories are described in References 12 through 15. For 
the purpose of demonstrating milestone year compliance, a 
summary of VOC and NOx emissions (in the unit of TPD) in 
the 1996 PEI, 1999 PEI and 2002 PEI is presented in Table 
5.

Stationary Area 
Source Controls    
RACT "Catch-Ups" in 
Kent County:    
     Solvent Metal 
Cleaning Creditable VOC 31-May-95

     Cutback Asphalt                         Creditable   VOC 31-May-95
New RACT 
Regulations:    
Stage I Vapor 
Recovery-Gas. 
Dispensing Facil. Creditable VOC 15-Nov-94

     Emulsified Asphalt Creditable VOC 31-May-95
     Motor Vehicle 
Refinishing Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96

     Offset Lithography Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96

     Aerospace Coatings                       Creditable  VOC 01-Apr-96
     Stage II Vapor 
Recovery Creditable VOC 15-Nov-94

     Open Burning Creditable VOC, NOx 08-Feb-95
Off-Road Mobile 
Source Controls    

Reformulated Fuel Creditable VOC 01-Jan-95
New Emission 
Standards  
     Spark Ignition 
Engines Creditable VOC, NOx

Court-
Ordered

     Compression 
Ignition Engines Creditable VOC, NOx

Court-
Ordered

     Marine Engines Creditable VOC
Court-

Ordered

     Locomotives Creditable NOx 31-Dec-01
On-Road Mobile 
Source Controls    

FMVCP and RVP Noncreditable VOC, NOx Pre-1990
Tier I Vehicle 
Emissions Standards Creditable VOC, NOx

Model Yr 
1994

Basic I/M for Kent 
County Creditable VOC, NOx 01-Jan-91
ATP and Pressure Test 
for Kent County Creditable VOC, NOx 01-Jan-95
ATP and Pressure Test 
for New Castle 
County Creditable VOC, NOx 01-Jan-95

Reformulated Fuel Creditable VOC 01-Jan-95

LEV Program Creditable VOC, NOx 01-Nov-99

2002 RPP             Kent       New Castle Total NAA

All Source 
Sector

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Emission 
Projections

20.53 24.01 81.01 118.07 101.54 142.08
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Table 5. Summary of Delaware's 1996, 1999 and 2002 
Periodic Emission Inventories (TPD)

2.4 Delaware 1996 and 1999 Milestone Compliance 
Demonstration

As mentioned earlier, under Sections 182(d) of 
CAAA, Delaware was required (1) to achieve in 1996 an 
actual VOC emission reduction of at least 15% from its 1990 
VOC emission level, (2) to achieve in 1999 an additional 9% 
VOC and/or NOx emission reductions from the 1990 base 
year VOC or NOx emission levels. To demonstrate 
achieving these emission reduction goals, Delaware 
developed its 1996 milestone compliance demonstration 
(MCD) document in February 2000, and its 1999 MCD 
document in June 2003. A summary of the 1996 MCD is 
presented in Table 6, and a summary of the 1999 MCD is 
presented in Table 7.

Table 6. Delaware 1996 Milestone Compliance 
Demonstration Results*

*Data obtained from Reference 16. ** % = (1996 PEI – 1996 
Target)/1996 Target.

Table 7. Delaware 1999 Milestone Compliance 
Demonstration Results*

*Data obtained from Reference 17. ** % = (1999 PEI – 1999 
Target)/1999 Target.

As indicated in Table 6, the 1996 PEI VOC 
emission was 12.0% lower than the 1996 VOC emission 
target required by CAAA. As indicated in Table 7, the 1999 
PEI VOC and NOx emissions were 19.5% and 21.0% lower 
than the required 1999 VOC and NOx emission targets, 

respectively. Therefore, for these two milestone years (i.e., 
1996 and 1999), Delaware demonstrated that its VOC and/or 
NOx emissions were fully in compliance with the emission 
reduction requirements set forth by CAAA.

3.0 Delaware 2002 Milestone Compliance 
Demonstration

In the 2002 RPP, Delaware determined that the 2002 
targets of VOC and NOx emissions for its nonattainment 
area (i.e., Kent and New Castle Counties) were 101.54 TPD 
and 143.12 TPD, respectively, in the peak ozone season 
(Table 2). In the recently compiled 2002 PEI, Delaware has 
shown that the actual total VOC and NOx emissions in 2002 
are 78.12 TPD and 144.49 TPD, respectively, in the peak 
ozone season (Table 5).  A comparison of the 2002 emission 
targets and the 2002 PEI emissions is presented in Table 8. 
As indicated in Table 8, the VOC emission in the 2002 PEI is 
23.42 TPD lower than the target level, while the NOx 
emission in the 2002 PEI is 1.37 TPD higher than the 2002 
target

 Table 8. Comparison of 2002 Emission Targets and 2002 
Inventoried Emissions.

The 1990 baseline emission levels for VOC and NOx, as 
adjusted to 2002, are 133.15 TPD and 158.40 TPD, 
respectively (Reference 5). Thus, the VOC-to-NOx 
substitution ratio is 133.15:158.40 = 1:1.19. Using this ratio, 
the equivalent VOC emission for the over-target 1.37 TPD 
NOx emission can be calculated to be 1.37/1.19 = 1.15 TPD. 
Subtracting this number from the 23.42 TPD under-target 
VOC emission gives 23.42 – 1.15 = 22.27 TPD. In other 
words, the 2002 overall or net emission, expressed as an 
equivalent VOC emission, is 22.27 TPD lower than the 2002 
emission target. Therefore, Delaware has demonstrated 
herein that its 2002 emissions are in compliance with the 
emission reduction requirements set forth by CAAA.

4.0 References
1.  Guidance on the Relationship between the 15 

Percent Rate-of-Progress Plans and Other Provisions of the 
Clean Air Act, EPA-452/R-93-007, Office of Air Quality 
Planning and Standards, U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, May 1993.

2.  The 1990 Base Year Ozone SIP Emissions Inventory 
for VOC, CO, and NOx.  Air Quality Management Section, 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 

 1996 PEI 1999 PEI 2002 PEI

All Source 
Sectors

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Total 
Emissions

101.87 121.55 88.69 117.68 78.12 144.49

 
1996 

Required 1996 PEI PEI vs. Target**
Emission 

(TPD)
Emission 

Target
Actual 

Emission
Lower(-)/
Higher(+)

VOC 115.81 101.87 -12.0%

 1999 Required 1999 PEI PEI vs. Target**
Emission 

(TPD)
Emission 

Target
Actual 

Emission
Lower(-)/
Higher(+)

VOC 110.21 88.69 -19.5%
NOx 148.96 117.68 -21.0%

 2002 Required 2002 PEI Difference
Emission 

(TPD)
Emission 

Target
Actual 

Emission
(PEI - 

Target)
VOC 101.54 78.12 -23.42
NOx 143.12 144.49 +1.37
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7.  Guidance on the Post-1996 Rate-of-Progress Plan 
and the Attainment Demonstration, Ozone/Carbon 
Monoxide Branch, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, Research 
Triangle Park, North Carolina, 27711, February 18, 1994.
8.  Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution. Air 
Quality Management Section, Division of Air and Waste 
Management, Delaware Department of Natural Resources 
and Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware.

9. Procedures for Preparing Emissions Projections. 
EPA-450/4-91-019, Office of Air Quality Planning and 
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12. The 1993 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan 
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13. The 1996 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan 
Emission Inventory for VOC, NOx, and CO. Air Quality 
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Emission Inventory for VOC, NOx, and CO. Air Quality 
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15. The 2002 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan 

Emission Inventory for VOC, NOx, and CO. Air Quality 
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Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, June 2004.

16. Delaware 1996 Milestone Demonstration for Kent 
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DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch.60)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title Of The Regulations:
AMENDMENTS TO DELAWARE PHASE II 

ATTAINMENT DEMONSTRATION FOR THE 
PHILADELPHIA-WILMINGTON-TRENTON OZONE 
NON-ATTAINMENT AREA: Mid-Course Review on 
Progress toward Attainment of the 1-Hour Ozone National 
Ambient Air Quality Standard.

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:

The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) 
require Delaware to submit to the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) a State Implementation Plan (SIP) 
revision to demonstrate its capability of attaining the 1-hour 
National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for the 
ground-level ozone in Kent and New Castle Counties by 
2005. This SIP revision, termed the Phase II Attainment 
Demonstration, was initially submitted to the EPA in May 
1998, and amended in October 1998, January 2000, 
December 2000, October 2001, and June 2003.

The document presented herein amends Delaware’s 
Phase II Attainment Demonstration SIP revision again. The 
document analyzes emission trends of VOC and NOx and 
ambient air quality data regarding ground level ozone. The 
document concludes that (1) Delaware’s current control 
strategies are adequate toward attainting the 1-hour ozone 
standard  by 2005 and, (2) those control strategies have 
ensured a beginning of an adequate progress toward 
attaining of the 8-hour ozone standard.
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3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
None.

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
7 Del.Ch., Chapter 60, Environmental Control.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:  

None.

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on December 1, 2004, 

beginning at 6:00 p.m., in AQM Conference Room, Priscilla 
Building, 156 South State Street, Dover, DE 19901.

7.   Prepared By:
Frank F. Gao, Project Leader, (302) 323-4542, October 

12, 2004.

Proposal
DELAWARE PHASE II ATTAINMENT 

DEMONSTRATION FOR THE PHILADELPHIA-
WILMINGTON-TRENTON OZONE NON-

ATTAINMENT AREA
Mid-Course Review on Progress toward Attainment of 

the 1-Hour Ozone National Ambient Air Quality 
Standard

Delaware Department Of Natural Resources And 
Environmental Control Dover, Delaware

November 2004

Acronym List

AQM Air Quality Management Section of DNREC
CAAA Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 
CMSA Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area
CO Carbon Monoxide 
DAWM Division of Air and Waste Management of

DNREC
DNREC Delaware Department of Natural Resources

and Environmental Control
EPA United States Environmental Protection

Agency 
FMVCP Federal Motor Vehicle Control Program
I/M Inspection and Maintenance
LEV Low Emission Vehicle
MCD Milestone Compliance Demonstration
MCR Mid-Course Review
NAA Nonattainment Area
NAAQS National Ambient Air Quality Standard
NLEV National Low Emission Vehicle
NOx Oxides of Nitrogen 

OAQPS Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards
of EPA

OTAG Ozone Transport Assessment Group
OTC Ozone Transport Commission
OTR Ozone Transport Region
PCP Planning and Community Protection Branch of

DNREC
PEI Periodic Emission Inventory
RACT Reasonably Available Control Technology
RPP Rate-of-Progress Plan 
RVP Reid Vapor Pressure 
SIP State Implementation Plan
TPD Tons per day
TPY Tons per year
VOC Volatile Organic Compound

Summary

This document fulfills Delaware’s commitments to 
conduct a mid-course review (MCR), by December 31, 
2004, to assess adequacy of its emission control measures 
and progress toward attainment of the 1-hour ozone National 
Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS).

Under the requirements of sections 182(b)(1) and 
182(d) of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) 
regarding the 1-hour ozone NAAQS, Delaware has 
implemented and committed to implement a comprehensive 
list of control measures to reduce emissions of volatile 
organic compounds (VOC) and oxides of nitrogen (NOx) in 
its two severe nonattainment counties, i.e., Kent and New 
Castle Counties. Those measures include federal and state 
rules and controls that cover a large variety of emission 
sources, including point, area, on-road mobile and off-road 
mobile sources. This document show that (1) Delaware’s 
control measures have produced significant and consistent 
VOC and NOx emission reductions since 1990, (2) as a 
result of those emission reductions, the ambient air quality 
regarding ozone has been significantly improved toward 
attainment of the 1-hour ozone standard in 2005, and (3) 
therefore, Delaware’s current control framework is adequate 
and no additional controls will be needed before EPA 
revokes the 1-hour ozone standard in June of 2005. 
However, it must be noted that ozone and ozone precursor 
transport continues to negatively impact Delaware’s air 
quality, and that EPA should cause such transport to be 
mitigated prior to Delaware’s 8-hour ozone attainment date 
of 2010.

1.0 Introduction 
1.1 Background

Under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 
(CAAA), Kent and New Castle Counties in Delaware are 
classified as severe nonattainment areas with respect to the 
1-hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) 
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for ground-level ozone (Reference 1). The CAAA requires 
Delaware to submit to the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) a State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision to 
demonstrate that the 1-hour ozone standard will be attained 
by 2005 in these two counties with necessary and adequate 
control measures to reduce emissions of volatile organic 
compounds (VOC) and oxides of nitrogen (NOx). That SIP 
revision, entitled “Delaware Phase II Attainment 
Demonstration for Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton Ozone 
Nonattainment Area,” was originally submitted to EPA in 
May 1998, and amended in October 1998, January 2000, 
December 2000, October 2001, and June 2003 (Reference 
2).

In order to settle a complaint filed by six 
environmental groups in U.S. District Court, EPA required, 
as a condition of approval of the Phase II Attainment 
Demonstration SIP of each state in the Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Trenton non-attainment area, that a mid-course 
review (MCR) be conducted to evaluate the progress being 
made toward attainment of the 1-hour ozone standard 
(Reference 3). The results of the MCR were required to be 
submitted to EPA by December 31, 2003, and would be used 
to determine if any additional controls would be necessary to 
ensure the attainment by 2005.  Pursuant to this EPA 
requirement, Delaware committed in its January 2000 SIP 
revision to perform an MCR by December 31, 2003.  This 
MCR requirement was also imposed on other states with 
severe non-attainment areas with respect to the 1-hour ozone 
standard.

Following the above, an order of the U.S. Court of 
Appeals for D.C. Circuit delayed the implementation of 
EPA’s NOx Transport SIP Call from 2003 to 2004. The NOx 
Transport SIP Call is a significant part of the overall 1-hour 
ozone attainment strategy.  In response to this court order, 
EPA allowed states to revise the MCR due date to a date 
after May 31, 2004. The later MCR date is believed to better 
serve the MCR purpose (i.e., to enable states to evaluate the 
adequacy of their attainment strategy, and to facilitate 
initiation of additional control measures if necessary). Many 
states affected by the NOx SIP Call emission reductions, 
including those in the Ozone Transport Region (OTR), have 
revised their commitment to conduct and submit the MCR 
on a schedule later than May 31, 2004 (Reference 4).  In its 
June 2003 amendments to the Phase II Attainment 
demonstration SIP revision, Delaware also changed its 
original MCR completion date from December 31, 2003 to 
December 31, 2004.

This document fulfills Delaware’s commitments in 
its January 2002 and June 2003 amendments to the Phase II 
Attainment Demonstration SIP revision to conduct a MCR 
by December 31, 2004.

1.2  Responsibilities
The agency with direct responsibility for preparing 

and submitting this document is Delaware Department of 

Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC), 
Division of Air and Waste Management (DAWM), Air 
Quality Management Section (AQM), under the direction of 
Ali Mirzakhalili, Program Administrator. The working 
responsibility for Delaware’s air quality management 
planning falls within the Planning and Community 
Protection (PCP) Branch of AQM Section, under the 
management of Raymond H. Malenfant, Program Manager 
and Ronald A. Amirikian, Planning Supervisor.  Frank F. 
Gao, Environmental Engineer in the Airshed Evaluation and 
Planning Program in the PCP Branch, is the project leader 
and principal author of this document. Questions or 
comments regarding this document should be addressed to F. 
Gao, (302)323-4542, AQM, 715 Grantham Lane, New 
Castle, DE 19720, or be e-mailed to Frank.Gao@state.de.us. 

2.0 Emission Reduction Requirements and Control 
Strategies

2.1  Rate-of-Progress Requirements 
In order for the severe nonattainment areas (NAA) 

to attain the 1-hour ozone standard by 2005, Sections 
182(b)(1) and 182(d) set forth the following specific rate-or-
progress emission reduction requirements: (1) to achieve by 
1996 an actual VOC emission reduction of at least 15% of its 
1990 VOC emission level, and (2) to achieve an additional 
3% per year VOC and/or NOx emission reductions from the 
1990 emission levels between 1997 and 2005.

Delaware developed its 1990 Base Year Emission 
Inventory in May 1994, and approved by EPA in March 
1996 (Reference 5). This 1990 base year emission inventory 
is used as the basis for Delaware to develop its rate-of-
progress plans and control strategies toward attainment of 
the 1-hour ozone standard in 2005. A summary of VOC and 
NOx emissions from all anthropogenic sources in Kent and 
New Castle Counties in the 1990 Base Year Inventory is 
presented in Table 1.

Table 1. Summary of VOC and NOx Emissions (in TPD) 
in 1990 Base Year Inventory*

*Data obtained from Delaware 1990 Base Year Emission 
Inventory (Reference 5).

To meet the rate-of-progress emission reduction 
requirements, Delaware has developed the following four 
rate-of-progress plans (RPP) for its two severe 
nonattainment counties (i.e., Kent and New Castle 

1990 Base Year             Kent      New Castle Total NAA

Anthropogenic 
Source

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Total 
Emissions 
(TPD)

32.59 25.84 113.26 137.00 145.84 162.85
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Counties): the 1996 RPP, the 1999 RPP, the 2002 RPP and 
the 2005 RPP. The 1996 RPP specifies Delaware’s control 
strategies to achieve the required 15% VOC emission 
reduction. The 1999 RPP, the 2002 RPP and the 2005 RPP 
describe Delaware’s emission control strategies to achieve 
an additional 9% VOC and/or NOx reductions in the 3-year 
periods of 1997-1999, 2000-2002, and 2003-2005, 
respectively. By meeting the rate-of-progress emission 
reduction requirements, these RPPs set forth VOC and/or 
NOx emission targets for 1996, 1999, 2002, and 2005, which 
are defined as rate-of-progress milestone years. A summary 
of VOC and /or NOx emission targets for individual 
milestone years are presented in Table 2. Details of how to 
estimate emission reductions and emission targets can be 
found in References 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11.

 Table 2. Delaware VOC and/or NOx Emission Targets 
for Individual Milestone Years. 

*NOx reduction was not required for the 1996 milestone 
year.

As mentioned above, from 1990 base year to 2005 
attainment year, Delaware is required to achieve a total of 
42% emission reduction from the 1990 base year level, in 
which 15% reduction must be obtained from VOC emissions 
between 1990 and 1996. To achieve this 42% emission 
reduction goal by 2005, Delaware has implemented and/or 
proposed numerous control measures. These control 
measures include federal mandatory rules and Delaware 
state regulations being promulgated prior to the peak ozone 
season of 2005.   These rules and regulations cover a large 
variety of VOC and NOx emission sources in all 
anthropogenic source sectors in Kent and New Castle 
Counties. A list of the control measures, along with their 
implementation dates, is given in Table 3. Detailed 
descriptions of individual rules and regulations can be found 
in Delaware 2005 RPP (Reference 10), and Delaware 
Regulations Governing Control of Air Pollution (Reference 
12).  

Table 3. Control Measures for VOC and NOx Emissions 
in 2005 RPP.

Emission 1996 1999 2002 2005
Targets 
(TPD)

Milestone 
Year

Milestone 
Year

Milestone 
Year

Milestone 
Year

VOC 115.82 110.21 101.54 95.41
NOx * 148.96 143.12 135.37

Control Measures and 
Regulations Creditability Emission Effective

  Controlled Date

Point Source Controls    
RACT "Catch-Ups" in 
Kent County:    

     Solvent Metal Cleaning Creditable VOC
31-May-

95
     Surface Coating of 
Metal Furniture Creditable VOC

31-May-
95

     Leaks from Synthetic 
Organic Chemical, Creditable VOC

31-May-
95

        Polymer, and Resin 
Manufact. Equip.    

New RACT Regulations:    
     Bulk Gas. Marine Tank 
Vessel Loading Facil. Creditable VOC

31-Dec-
95

     SOCMI Reactor Proc. 
and Distillation Operat. Creditable VOC

01-Apr-
96

     Batch Processing 
Operations Creditable VOC

01-Apr-
96

     Offset Lithography      Creditable VOC
01-Apr-

96

     Aerospace Coatings Creditable VOC
01-Apr-

96
     Industrial Cleaning 
Solvents Creditable VOC

29-Nov-
94

     Non-CTG RACT   Creditable  VOC
31-May-

95

     Delaware NOx RACT   Creditable  NOx
31-May-

95
Regional Control: Federal 
NOx SIP Call Creditable NOx

01-Jun-
04

Federal Benzene Waste 
Rule Creditable VOC

Spring 
1995

Sanitary Landfills Creditable VOC
09-Oct-

93
Irreversible Process 
Changes Creditable VOC

01-Jan-
96

Stationary Area Source 
Controls    
RACT "Catch-Ups" in 
Kent County:    

     Solvent Metal Cleaning Creditable VOC
31-May-

95

     Cutback Asphalt                         Creditable   VOC
31-May-

95

New RACT Regulations:    
     Stage I Vapor 
Recovery-Gas. 
Dispensing Facil. Creditable VOC

15-Nov-
94

     Emulsified Asphalt Creditable VOC
31-May-

95
     Motor Vehicle 
Refinishing Creditable VOC

01-Apr-
96

     Offset Lithography Creditable VOC
01-Apr-

96

     Aerospace Coatings                       Creditable  VOC
01-Apr-

96
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2.2 Attainment Demonstration Requirements on Emission 
Reductions

As mentioned earlier, Delaware submitted to EPA 
its original Phase II Attainment Demonstration SIP revision 
for the Delaware part of the Philadelphia-Wilmington-
Trenton Ozone Nonattainment Area in 1998, and amended it 
several times thereafter. In this Phase II Attainment 
Demonstration SIP revision, Delaware uses results from 
comprehensive photochemical models, which incorporate all 
emission control measures in Table 3, to demonstrate 
Delaware’s capability of attaining the 1-hour ozone standard 
in 2005. In December 1999, however, EPA decided that 
VOC and NOx emission reductions from all control 
measures being contained in all involved states’ 2005 RPPs 
would not be enough to guarantee the entire Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Trenton Ozone Nonattainment Area to attain 
the 1-hour ozone standard in 2005, and therefore the states in 
this entire nonattainment area must implement additional 

emission controls to offset the emission reduction shortfalls 
(Reference 13).

To meet EPA’s requirements regarding the emission 
reduction shortfalls, Delaware, along with other states in the 
Ozone Transport Region (OTR), developed some new or 
more stringent controls or rules to achieve additional VOC 
and NOx emission reductions.  Delaware submitted to EPA 
in October 2001 its amendments to the Phase II Attainment 
Demonstration SIP revision, which specified those 
promulgated rules to achieve these additional emission 
reductions (Reference 13). A summary of these rules is 
presented in Table 4.

Table 4. Additional Controls and Rules to Address 
Emission Reduction Shortfalls.

3.0 Demonstration of Adequate Progress toward 
Attainment

3.1 Emission Trends from 1990 to 2002
Under Section 182(a) of the CAAA, Delaware is 

required to compile comprehensive periodic emission 
inventories of ozone precursors for 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002 
and 2005. These periodic emission inventories cover all 
sources included in Delaware’s 1990 Base Year Emission 
Inventory and serve to monitor the overall effectiveness of 
control measures specified in individual rate-of-progress 
plans as described in the previous section. Delaware 
submitted to EPA its 1993 periodic emission inventory (PEI) 
in January 1998, its 1996 EPI in November 1999, its 1999 
PEI in June 2002, and its 2002 PEI in June 2004. For the 
purpose of demonstrating emission trends, a summary of 
VOC and NOx emissions (in the unit of TPD) in the 1993 
PEI, 1996 PEI, 1999 PEI and 2002 PEI is presented in Table 
5.

     Stage II Vapor 
Recovery Creditable VOC

15-Nov-
94

Delaware Open Burning 
Rule Creditable VOC, NOx

08-Feb-
95

Off-Road Mobile Source 
Controls    

Reformulated Fuel Creditable VOC
01-Jan-

95

New Emission Standards  

     Spark Ignition Engines Creditable VOC, NOx
Court-

Ordered
     Compression Ignition 
Engines Creditable VOC, NOx

Court-
Ordered

     Marine Engines Creditable VOC
Court-

Ordered

     Locomotives Creditable NOx
31-Dec-

01
On-Road Mobile Source 
Controls    

FMVCP and RVP Noncreditable VOC, NOx Pre-1990
Tier I Vehicle Emissions 
Standards Creditable VOC, NOx

Model Yr 
1994

Basic I/M for Kent 
County Creditable VOC, NOx

01-Jan-
91

ATP and Pressure Test for 
Kent County Creditable VOC, NOx

01-Jan-
95

ATP and Pressure Test for 
New Castle County Creditable VOC, NOx

01-Jan-
95

Reformulated Fuel Phase 
II Creditable VOC

01-Jan-
95

LEV Program Creditable VOC, NOx
01-Nov-

99
Heavy Duty Diesel 
Engines Creditable VOC, NOx

Model Yr 
2004

Tier II Emissions 
Standards and Low Sulfur 
Fuel Creditable VOC, NOx

01-Jan-
04

Control Measures and 
Regulations Creditability Emission Effective
   Addressing 
"Shortfalls"  Controlled Date
Control of NOx 
Emissions from 
Industrial Boilers Creditable NOx

1-May-
05

Consumer Products Creditable VOC
1-May-

05

Portable Fuel Containers Creditable VOC
1-May-

05
Architect. & Industrial 
Maintenance Coatings Creditable VOC

1-May-
05

Mobile Equipment 
Repair and Refinishing Creditable VOC

1-May-
05

Solvent Cleaning and 
Drying Creditable VOC

1-May-
05
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 Table 5. Summary of Delaware 1993, 1996, 1999 and 
2002 Emission Inventories.

Comparison of the emission targets in Table 2 and 
the PEI emissions in Table 5 indicates that (1) VOC 
emissions in Delaware’s two nonattainment counties are well 
below the targets since 1996, and in 2002 the PEI VOC 
emission is 23.42 TPD below the target, (2) NOx emission is 
below the 1999 target (the first year when the NOx target is 
required), but exceeds the 2002 target by 1.37 TPD. It should 
be pointed out that this over-target NOx emission of 1.37 
TPD is equivalent to a VOC emission of 1.15 TPD, as 
explained in Delaware’s 2002 Milestone Compliance 
Demonstration document (Reference 14).  In other words, 
the overall or net emission in 2002, if expressed as a VOC 
equivalent emission, is still 22.27 TPD (i.e., 23.42 – 1.15 = 
22.27) below the required target. Therefore, it can be 
concluded that, with all controls and rules in Delaware’s 
RPPs being implemented, the overall VOC and NOx 
emission trend from 1990 to 2002 in Delaware’s NAA is 
dramatically decreasing and well below the milestone year 
emission targets required by CAAA.

At the present time (i.e., when this MCR document 
is being developed), a comparison of the 2005 actual 
emissions with the 2005 RPP emission targets is not possible 
because the 2005 emission inventory is not available. 
However, Delaware believes that with additional controls 
and rules being implemented in the 2003-2005 period, such 
as the Federal NOx Transport SIP Call and those specified in 
Delaware’s Phase II Shortfalls SIP, the decreasing VOC/
NOx emission trends in Delaware will continue and be well 
below the 2005 emission targets under the 1-hour ozone 
standard.

3.2 Monitored Ambient Ozone Data under the 1-Hour 
Standard

As pointed out in the previous subsection, the 
overall VOC and NOx emissions in Delaware’s NAA has 
been continuously decreasing since 1990 due to timely 
implementation of  effective control measures over a large 
variety of emission sources. As a result, the ambient air 
quality in Delaware regarding ozone has been continuously 
improved since 1996, the first rate-of-progress milestone 
year.

The improvement in ozone ambient air quality in 
Delaware’s NAA can be demonstrated by changes in the 
number of exceedances of the 1-hour ozone standard. A 
summary of the monitored exceedances since 1997 is 
presented in Table 6 (the 1996 data were missed). Table 6 

indicates that, by the attainment definition of the CAAA, 
Kent County has been in attainment of the 1-hour ozone 
standard since 2002. For New Castle County, there has been 
only one extra exceedance that keeps it in the nonattainment 
status since 2002. 

Table 6. Delaware NAA’s 1-Hour Ozone Standard 
Exceedances after 1996.

* The 1996 data were missed.

The improvement in ozone air quality can be also seen 
from the design value data. A summary of the 1-hour ozone 
design values for the two nonattainment counties after 1996 
is present in Table 7. The design values are based on the 
ambient ozone concentrations monitored in the 1996-2004 
period. These monitored data indicate that the 1-hour ozone 
design value in Kent County has been below the 1-hour 
ozone standard in the past three 3-year periods. The 1-hour 
ozone design value in New Castle County has been slightly 
above the 1-hour ozone standard, but below the truncation 
margin (i.e., 0.124 ppm), in the past two 3-year periods. 
According to CAAA’s attainment/nonattainment designation 
standards and procedures, both Kent and New Castle 
Counties could be currently given an attainment status.

Table 7. Delaware NAA’s 1-Hour Ozone Design Values 
(ppm).

* The 1996 data were missed.

In summary, the ambient ozone data in Table 6 and 
7 have shown that Delaware’s NAA has maintained a 
consistent and adequate progress toward attainment of the 1-
hour ozone standard in 2005.  With some upcoming controls 
and rules, especially the Federal NOx SIP Call, it can be 
reasonably assumed that this adequate progress will continue 
into 2005 toward the attainment goal of the 1-hour ozone 
standard. However, it should noted that while Delaware is on 
track to attain compliance with the 1-hour ozone standard, 
and that Delaware is now moving forward with additional 
reductions to meet the 8-hour ozone standard, significant 
negative impact from upwind states will prevent Delaware 
from attainment of the 8-hour ozone standard by 2010. The 
EPA must mitigate this impact prior to Delaware’s 2010 8-

All Source 1993 PEI 1996 PEI 1999 PEI 2002 PEI

Total VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Emissions 135.80 172.80 101.87 121.55 88.69 117.68 78.12 144.49

County 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004

Kent * 1 3 1 2 1 0 1 0
New 
Castle * 4 3 4 1 0 3 1 0

County
1996-

98
1997- 

99
199820

00
199920

01
2000-

02
2001-

03
2002-

04

Kent * 0.124 0.126 0.126 0.117 0.117 0.112
New 
Castle * 0.141 0.132 0.130 0.133 0.122 0.122
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hour ozone attainment date.
3.3 Monitored Ambient Ozone Data under the 8-Hour 

Standard
In April 2004, all three Delaware counties were 

designated as moderate nonattainment areas under the 8-
hour ozone standard (Reference 15). In its final rule for 
implementing the 8-hour ozone standard, EPA indicates that 
states can use the mid-course-reviews to ensure that progress 
is being made consistent with needs for the 8-hour NAAQS 
(Reference 16).  To this end, a summary of the 8-hour ozone 
design values for Delaware’s three counties is presented in 
Table 8.

Table 8. Delaware NAA’s 8-Hour Ozone Design Values 
(ppm).

From Table 8, it can bee seen that the 8-hour ozone 
design values in all three counties exhibit a clear decreasing 
trend toward attaining the 8-hour standard. This trend is in 
fact in parallel to the 1-hour ozone design value trend 
exhibited in Table 7. This fact indicates that the control 
measures being implemented under the 1-hour ozone 
standard, and being reviewed in this document (Table 3 and 
Table 4), have already initiated a progress that is consistent 
with the needs toward attaining the 8-hour ozone standard. 

3.4 Summary and Concluding Remarks
3.4.1 Since 1996, Delaware has implemented 

numerous control measures over a large variety of VOC and 
NOx emission sources to meet the CAAA requirements for 
attaining the 1-hour ozone standard.  Those control measures 
have led to consistent and significant VOC and NOx 
emission reductions.

3.4.2 Since 1996, as a result of the above 
emission reductions, Delaware’s ambient air quality 
regarding the 1-hour ozone standard has been continuously 
improved, and the progress toward attaining the 1-hour 
ozone standard appears to be adequate.

3.4.3 The control measures under the 1-hour 
ozone standard have ensured a beginning of adequate 
progress toward attaining of the 8-hour ozone standard. 
However, to maintain this progress and ensure attainment of 
the 8-hour ozone standard, additional control measures are 
needed in Delaware, and the EPA must cause both the ozone 
and ozone precursor transport into Delaware, to be mitigated 
from upwind states before the attainment year of 2010.

3.4.4 The analyses in this document shows that 

Delaware’s control framework, including control measures 
being implemented and those promulgated but not yet in 
effect, is adequate under the CAAA requirements toward 
attaining the 1-hour ozone standard, and provide an adequate 
basis for the transition to planning for attainment of the 8-
hour ozone standard.
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DELAWARE HOME RELOCATION 
AUTHORITY TRUST FUND

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation 
Authority (the “Authority”) will hold a public hearing to 
discuss proposed regulations relating to the administration of 
the Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund 
(“Trust Fund”) established pursuant to 25 Del.C. §7012. The 
Authority was established by the Delaware Legislature 
pursuant to 25 Del.C. §7011. The primary purpose of the 
Authority is to:  (a) provide financial assistance to 
manufactured homeowners who are tenants in a 
manufactured home community where the community 
owner changes the use of land or converts the manufactured 
home community to a condominium or cooperative 
community; and (b) to provide financial assistance to 
manufactured home community owners for the removal and/
or disposal of non-relocatable or abandoned manufactured 
homes when there is a change in use or conversion. The 
Authority has set an initial $3.00 monthly assessment for 
deposit into the Trust Fund, effective April 1, 2004.  Under 
the statute, one-half of the monthly assessment is the 
obligation of the Tenant of a rented lot and one-half of the 
assessment is the obligation of the Landlord. The monthly 
assessments collected by the Authority are deposited into the 
Trust Fund, and the Authority is responsible for 
administering this fund. To carry out its statutory 
responsibilities, the Authority has been directed to, among 
other things, establish procedures under which applicants for 
payment from the Authority may be approved and to set 
maximum benefits that may be payable to applicants under 
certain circumstances.

Pursuant to its statutory authority, the Authority is 
proposing for adoption a comprehensive set of regulations to 
be used for the administration of the Trust Fund. The 
proposed regulations published herein will, among other 
things:  (a) establish criteria for tenant benefits, including the 
maximum relocation payment available to a tenant for a 
single section home and a multi-section home and the 
maximum benefits available to a Tenant whose home has 
been determined to be non-relocatable; (b) criteria for 
Landlord benefits, including the maximum relocation 
benefits for manufactured homes that have been abandoned 
or determined to be non-relocatable; (c) application 
procedures to be followed by applicants for benefits; and (d) 
application review procedures.

The public hearing will be on Tuesday, November 30, 
2004 beginning at 3:30 p.m. and ending at 6:30 p.m. in the 
Richardson Conference Room located at the offices of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for 
review by contacting:

William A. Denman, Esquire
Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
116 W. Water Street
Dover, DE  19904
(302) 678-3262
Email: wdenman@pgslegal.com

Anyone wishing to present oral comments at this 
hearing should contact Mr. William A. Denman at (302) 
678-3262 by November 22, 2004. Anyone wishing to submit 
written comments as a supplement to, or in lieu of oral 
testimony, should submit such comments by December 1, 
2004 to:

William A. Denman, Esquire
Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
116 W. Water Street
Dover, DE  19904
(302) 678-3262
Email: wdenman@pgslegal.com

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Landscape Architects is 
proposing to revise its rules and regulations pursuant to 24 
Del.C. §205(a)(1).  The Board is proposing changes to the 
following Regulation:

Regulation 7.1.2 regarding the Definition and Scope of 
Continuing Education.

Continuing Education Hourly Requirements and 
Continuing Education Reporting and Documentation.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and 
Regulations on Thursday, December 9, 2004 at 9:00 a.m. in 
the Second Floor Conference Room “A” of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 
19904.  If the number of persons desiring to testify at the 
Public Hearing is large, the amount of time allotted to each 
speaker will be limited.

The Board will receive and consider input in writing 
from any person on the proposed Rules and Regulations. 
Any written comments should be submitted to the Board in 
care of Sherry Clark at the above address. The final date to 
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled 
public hearing.  Persons may view the proposed changes to 
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the Regulations between the hours of 8:15 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., 
Monday through Friday, at the Board’s office at the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
19904. There will be a reasonable fee charged for copies of 
the proposed changes.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of 
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the 
date of the hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Chiropractic in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §706(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations as mandated by SB 229.  The proposal identifies 
crimes that are substantially related to the provision of 
chiropractic services.

A public hearing will be held on December 16, 2004 at 
8:45 a.m. in the Second Floor Conference Room B of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Chiropractic, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Board at the above 
address. The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §1406(b) has proposed changes 
to its rules and regulations as mandated by SB 229. The 
proposal identifies crimes that are substantially related to the 
work of an electrician.

A public hearing will be held at 9:00 a.m. on December 
1, 2004 in the Second Floor Conference Room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board 
Electrical Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon 

Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to 
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE

PUBLIC NOTICE

Pursuant to 74 Del. Laws. c.262, (Senate Bill No. 229 of 
the 142 General Assembly, 2004, as amended), the Board 
was directed to promulgate regulations specifically 
identifying those crimes which are substantially related to 
the practice of medicine and the practice of licensed 
respiratory care and practice as a licensed physician’s 
assistant.

The Board of Medical Practice believes that the State of 
Delaware has a compelling public policy interest in ensuring 
that its licensed professionals not only have specified levels 
of educational and professional competence but also possess 
sufficient character and judgment necessary to practice 
safely in their chosen fields and to do so in a manner which 
will not undermine the community’s confidence in the 
expertise and professionalism of the members of the 
profession. Licensed professionals, particularly those in 
health care related fields, often come into contact with 
clients and patients and other members of the public at times 
when they may be sick, infirmed or otherwise extremely 
vulnerable to undue influence or other forms of misuse, 
fraud and abuse. It is therefore critical that all reasonable 
steps are taken to determine, to the extent possible, that the 
regulation of such professionals takes into consideration not 
only the individual’s technical competence but his or her 
demonstrated propensity to behave in a way that does not 
expose the client population to risk or diminish legitimate 
expectations of honest and honorable behavior by such 
licensed health care professionals.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE RESPIRATORY 

CARE PRACTICE ADVISORY COUNCIL
PUBLIC NOTICE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 
101 and 24 Del.C. §1770B(e)(5), the Respiratory Care 
Practice Advisory Council of the Delaware Board of 
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Medical Practice proposes to revise its Rules and 
Regulations.  The proposed revisions will delete a subsection 
regarding the accumulation of continuing education and add 
a new section to address and regulate the administration of 
sedation and analgesia by Respiratory Care Practitioners.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and 
Regulations on January 18, 2005 at 1:00 p.m. in the Second 
Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building, 861 
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904.  The 
Council will receive and consider input in writing from any 
person concerning the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any 
written comments should be submitted to the Council in care 
of Gayle Franzolino at the above address.  The final date to 
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled 
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the 
proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the 
public hearing should notify Gayle Franzolino at the above 
address or by calling her at (302) 744-4520.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PLUMBING EXAMINERS

PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Plumbing Examiners in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §1805(b) has proposed changes to its rules 
and regulations as mandated by SB 229. The proposal 
identified crimes that are substantially related to plumbing 
services.

A public hearing will be held at 9:00 a.m. on December 
14, 2004 in the Second Floor Conference Room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board 
Plumbing Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon 
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to 
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Optometry in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §2104(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules and 

regulations as mandated by SB 229.  The proposal identifies 
crimes that are substantially related to the provision of 
optometric services.

A public hearing will be held on December 16, 2004 at 
6:45 p.m. in the second floor conference room B of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Optometry, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Board at the above 
address.  The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §3306(a) has proposed changes 
to its rules and regulations as mandated by SB 229. The 
proposed regulations have identified crimes that are 
substantially related to the provision of veterinary medicine.

A public hearing will be held at 1:00 PM on December 
14, 2004 in the Second Floor Conference Room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Veterinary Medicine, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon 
Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE  19904.  Persons wishing to 
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware General Assembly has enacted legislation 
which granted the Delaware Public Service Commission (the 
“Commission”) jurisdiction over wastewater utilities serving 
fifty or more customers in the aggregate. The legislation also 
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made applications by such wastewater utilities for a 
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (“CPCN”) 
subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission.  The new law 
is found at 74 Delaware Laws, Ch. 317. In the past, 
wastewater utilities filed applications for CPCNs with the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control (“DNREC”). The new legislation became effective 
on July 6, 2004.  

In connection with the exercise of jurisdiction over 
wastewater utilities, the Commission is promulgating 
proposed new regulations to govern wastewater utilities. The 
first regulation contains definitions of terms used in the 
regulations. The second addresses the scope of the 
regulations themselves, which are intended to govern certain 
practices and procedures before the Commission relating to 
wastewater utilities.

Two regulations set forth requirements for an 
application for a CPCN, including requirements for a new 
wastewater utility that has never before been awarded a 
CPCN.  A related regulation addresses the review, by the 
Commission’s Staff, of a new CPCN application for 
compliance with statutes, applicable Rules of the 
Commission, and the regulations. A second related 
regulation requires the Commission Staff to cooperate with 
DNREC, the Department of Public Health, and other 
interested state, local and federal authorities, when an 
application for a CPCN is under review.

Two of the regulations address the notice to be given 
landowners in the proposed service territory covered by a 
wastewater utility’s CPCN application, and the time limits 
within which affected landowners must object to the CPCN, 
and/or request a public hearing.  One of the regulations 
governing notice contains a proposed statement to the 
landowners that would have to be included in the notice sent 
by a wastewater utility applying for a CPCN.

One of the new regulations is designed to govern 
proceedings to suspend or revoke a CPCN, and identifies the 
factors that must be present for the Commission to make a 
finding of good cause to suspend or revoke a CPCN.  The 
same regulation confirms that such proceedings before the 
Commission must be conducted in accordance with 
applicable provisions of the Delaware Administrative 
Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. Ch. 101, Subchapter III.  

The final regulation relates to municipalities, 
government agencies, and wastewater authorities and 
districts that engage in or desire to engage in the business of 
a wastewater utility.  
The Commission has authority to promulgate the regulations 
pursuant to 26 Del. C. § 209 (a), 29 Del. C. § 10111 et seq., 
and 74 Delaware Laws, Ch. 317.

The Commission hereby solicits written comments, 
suggestions, and compilations of data, briefs, or other 
written materials concerning the proposed regulations.  Ten 
(10) copies of such materials shall be filed with the 

Commission at its office located at 861 Silver Lake 
Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware, 
19904.  All such materials shall be filed with the 
Commission on or before November 30, 2004.  Persons 
who wish to participate in the proceedings but who do not 
wish to file written materials are asked to send a letter 
informing the Commission of their intention to participate on 
or before November 30, 2004.

In addition, the Commission will conduct at least one 
public hearing concerning the proposed regulations on 
December 8, 2004, beginning at 10:00 AM.  The hearing 
will continue on December 9, 2004 at 10:00 AM, if 
necessary. The public hearing will be held at the 
Commission’s Dover office, located at the address set forth 
in the preceding paragraph. Interested persons may present 
comments, evidence, testimony, and other materials at that 
public hearing. 

The regulations and the materials submitted in 
connection therewith will be available for public inspection 
and copying at the Commission’s Dover office during 
normal business hours.  The fee for copying is $0.25 per 
page. The regulations may also be reviewed, by appointment 
during normal business hours, at the office of the Division of 
the Public Advocate located at the Carvel State Office 
Building, 4th Floor, 820 North French Street, Wilmington, 
Delaware 19801 and will also be available for review on the 
Commission’s website:  www.state.de.us/delpsc.  

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to 
participate in these proceedings should contact the 
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed 
to facilitate such review or participation. Such contact may 
be in person, by writing, by telephone, or otherwise.  The 
Commission’s toll-free telephone number (in Delaware) is 
(800) 282-8574.  Any person with questions may also 
contact the Commission Staff at (302) 739-4247 or by Text 
Telephone at (302) 739-4333. Inquiries can also be sent by 
Internet e-mail to knickerson@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

PUBLIC NOTICE

 The Thoroughbred Racing Commission proposes to 
enact a new Rule, Rule 11.14.6, to provide for a 
recommended $1,000 fine for owners or trainers who scratch 
their  horses in Delaware in order to race in another 
jurisdiction.  The Commission also proposes to amend Rule 
19.3.2 to raise the appeal bond from $250 to $400 to cover 
increased costs associated with court reporter fees. The 
Commission will hold a public hearing on these proposed 
changes on January 11, 2005 at 10:15 a.m. at the Delaware 
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Department of Agriculture, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, 
Dover, DE  19901. The Commission will accept written 
comments on the proposed rules until January 10, 2005. 
Written comments should be sent to John Wayne, 
Administrator of Racing.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly 
meeting on Thursday, November 18, 2004 at 1:00 p.m. in the 
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS 
PROTECTION

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Department of Health and Social Services, Division 
of Long Term Care Residents Protection, has drafted 
proposed regulations pertaining to training and qualifications 
of nursing assistants and certified nursing assistants.  These 
proposed regulations clarify and amend certain eligibility 
criteria for certification as a certified nursing assistant.

These proposed regulations also clarify the 
responsibility of federally certified nursing facilities to pay 
the costs of training nursing assistants in accordance with 
federal regulations at 42 CFR §483.152. The proposed 
regulations pertaining to payment of the costs of training 
nursing assistants have been the subject of previous public 
hearings and have been revised in response to comments 
received at the public hearings. A discussion of the 
comments received at those public hearings which were not 
incorporated into the proposed regulations will appear with 
the final order when the proposed regulations are published 
as final regulations.  

Invitation For Public Comment

Public hearings will be held as follows:

Tuesday, November 30, 2004, 9:00 AM 
Room 301, Main Building, Herman Holloway Campus
1901 North DuPont Highway, New Castle

Thursday, December 2, 2004, 10:00 AM
Department of Natural Resources & Environmental

Control Auditorium

89 Kings Highway, Dover

For clarification or directions, please call Gina 
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are invited on these proposed 
regulations and should be sent to:

Elise MacEwen, RN
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection

Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

Written comments will be accepted until the conclusion 
of the December 2 public hearing. 

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families Welfare Reform Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O. 
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by November 
30, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
PUBLIC NOTICE

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H. 
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING 
will be held on Thursday, December 2, 2004, at 10:00 a.m. in 
the Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware 
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
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Delaware. The hearing is to consider amending Regulation 
1501 (formerly Regulation 41) relating to Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards.

The purpose for amending Regulation 1501 is to adopt 
the changes to the model regulation approved by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners as of 
September 8, 2004, changes to guaranteed insurability and 
miscellaneous style and semantic changes.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 19 
Del.C. § 311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited 
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or 
may be presented orally at the Hearing. Written comments, 
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed 
change to the regulation must be received by the Department 
of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday December 
1, 2004, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney 
General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of 
Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, 
telephone 302.739.4251. 

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION
PUBLIC NOTICE

Title of the Regulation: 
Regulation No. 43 – Not To Exceed Heavy Duty 

California Engine Standards

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance And Issues:
The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) 

allows Delaware and all states to submit to the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) a SIP revision 
which adopts engine standards after, and only after, the State 
of California has adopted those standards.  The purpose of 
this action is to adopt the Heavy Duty Diesel (HDD) portion 
of the federal Rule on 2007 and later Heavy Duty Engines in 
order to preserve the emission reduction benefits of that 
federal Rule should EPA delay, diminish or perhaps even 
delete their adopted Rule. This action could best be 
described as a “backstop” action that would only become 
necessary and in effect on 2007 and later model year HDDs, 
should EPA take any of the three options described above. 
This action will be an additional section to existing 
Regulation No. 43, which is a similar “backstop” regulation 
on strictly model year 2005 and 2006 HHDs.  The standards 

for 2007 and later HDDs is more stringent than on pre-2007 
HDDs.

Notice of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on December 1, 2004 

beginning at 6:00 PM in the Priscilla Building, 156 South 
State Street, Dover, Delaware.

Prepared by:
Philip Wheeler, (302) 323-4542, October 8, 2004

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
TANK MANAGEMENT BRANCH

PUBLIC NOTICE

Title of the Regulations:
Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
Senate Substitute No. 1 for Senate Bill No. 344 

amended several sections of Title 7, Chapter 74A, The 
Jeffrey Davis Aboveground Storage Tank Act which 
required subsequent changes in the Delaware Regulations 
Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks. Other changes were 
made to add clarification to the existing Regulations.

Notice of Public Comment:
A Public Hearing will be held November 22, 2004 at 

6:00 p.m. at the DNREC, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, 
DE office.

Prepared by:  
Jill Williams Hall ,  302-395-2500, October 7, 2004

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Title of the Regulations:
Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
When the Delaware Regulations Governing 

Aboveground Storage Tanks became effective on June 11, 
2004 an overlap between the Regulations Governing 
Aboveground Storage Tanks and the Regulations Governing 
the Control of Water Pollution was created.

The definition of “Aboveground Storage Tank” as stated 
in Title 7, Del.C. Ch. 74A and the Regulations Governing 
Aboveground Storage Tanks and the definition of “Bulk 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 5, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2004

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/Water/Water.htm


CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING NOTICES738
storage facility” in the Delaware Regulations Governing the 
Control of Water Pollution encompass the same set of 
aboveground storage tanks.  The definition of “Bulk storage 
facility” is being amended to remove from the Regulations 
Governing the Control of Water Pollution those 
aboveground storage tanks that are included by definition in 
the Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks.

Notice of Public Comment:
A Public Hearing will be held November 22, 2004 at 

6:00pm at the DNREC, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE 
office.

Prepared by:  
Jill Williams Hall,  302-395-2500, Date  October 7, 

2004

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Little 
Assawoman Bay Watershed, Delaware

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues
The Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control (DNREC) is proposing to adopt 
Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation for 
nitrogen and for phosphorous for the Little Assawoman Bay 
Watershed.   A TMDL sets limit on the amount of a pollutant 
that can be discharged into a waterbody and still protect 
water quality.  TMDLs are composed of three components, 
including Waste Load Allocations (WLAs) for point source 
discharges, Load Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, 
and a Margin of Safety (MOS).

Notice of Public Comment
A public hearing will be held on Tuesday, November 30, 

2004, at 3:00 p.m., at Bethany Beach Town Hall, 214 
Garfield Parkway, Bethany Beach, Delaware.  The hearing 
record will remain open until 5:00 p.m., November 30, 2004. 
Please bring written comments to the hearing or send them to 
Lisa A. Vest, DNREC, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE, 
19901; facsimile: (302) 739- 6242.  For planning purposes, 
those individuals wishing to make oral comments at the 
public hearing are requested to notify Marianne Brady, 
(302)-739-4590; facsimile: (302) 739-6140; email: 
(marianne.brady@state.de.us) by 4:30 p.m., November 29, 
2004.

Additional information and supporting technical 
documents may be obtained by contacting Hassan Mirsajadi, 
Watershed Assessment Section, Division of Water 
Resources, Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control, 820 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 
820, Dover, DE 19904-2464, (302) 739-4590, facsimile: 
(302) 739-6140, email: (hassan.mirsajadi@state.de.us)

6.0 Prepared By:
Hassan Mirsajadi, Watershed Assessment Branch, 739-

4590

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
REGISTER NOTICE

Title Of The Regulations:
DELAWARE 2002 MILESTONE COMPLIANCE 

DEMONSTRATION FOR KENT AND NEW CASTLE 
COUNTIES: Demonstrating Adequate Progress toward 
Attainment of the 1-Hour National Ambient Air Quality 
Standard for Ground-Level Ozone.

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) 

require Delaware to submit to the US Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) a State Implementation Plan (SIP) 
revision for each of the milestone years (1996, 1999, 2002, 
and 2005) to demonstrate that the actual emissions of 
volatile organic compounds (VOC) and/or oxides of nitrogen 
(NOx) in Kent and New Castle Counties do not exceed the 
required emission targets specified in Delaware's Rate-of-
Progress Plans.  The document presented herein is for the 
milestone year of 2002, and thus termed as Delaware's 2002 
Milestone Compliance Demonstration. The document 
analyzes VOC and NOx emission data in 2002 and 
concludes that Delaware’s 2002 milestone for complying 
with the CAAA’s VOC and NOx emission reduction 
requirements has been successfully met.

Notice Of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on December 1, 2004, 

beginning at 6:00 pm, in AQM Conference Room, Priscilla 
Building, 156 South State Street, Dover, DE 19901.

Prepared By:
Frank F. Gao, Project Leader, (302) 323-4542, October 

12, 2004.
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DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
REGISTER NOTICE

Title Of The Regulations:
AMENDMENTS TO DELAWARE PHASE II 

ATTAINMENT DEMONSTRATION FOR THE 
PHILADELPHIA-WILMINGTON-TRENTON OZONE 
NON-ATTAINMENT AREA: Mid-Course Review on 
Progress toward Attainment of the 1-Hour Ozone National 
Ambient Air Quality Standard.

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) 

require Delaware to submit to the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) a State Implementation Plan (SIP) 
revision to demonstrate its capability of attaining the 1-hour 
National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for the 
ground-level ozone in Kent and New Castle Counties by 
2005. This SIP revision, termed the Phase II Attainment 
Demonstration, was initially submitted to the EPA in May 
1998, and amended in October 1998, January 2000, 
December 2000, October 2001, and June 2003.

The document presented herein amends Delaware’s 
Phase II Attainment Demonstration SIP revision again. The 
document analyzes emission trends of VOC and NOx and 
ambient air quality data regarding ground level ozone. The 
document concludes that (1) Delaware’s current control 
strategies are adequate toward attainting the 1-hour ozone 
standard  by 2005 and, (2) those control strategies have 
ensured a beginning of an adequate progress toward 
attaining of the 8-hour ozone standard.

Notice Of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on December 1, 2004, 

beginning at 6:00 p.m., in AQM Conference Room, Priscilla 
Building, 156 South State Street, Dover, DE 19901.

Prepared By:
Frank F. Gao, Project Leader, (302) 323-4542, October 

12, 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY
BAIL ENFORCEMENT AGENTS

PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Safety 
and Homeland Security, Division of State Police, in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §5404(a) proposes to amend 

Adopted Rule 1.0 - Licensing.  This amendment will clarify 
items and fees that a Bail Enforcement Agent will receive 
when applying or renewing.  If you wish to view the 
complete Rule, contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-
5991.  Any persons wishing to present views may submit 
them in writing, by November 8, 2004, to Delaware State 
Police, Detective Licensing, P.O. BOX 430, DOVER, DE, 
19903.

ELECTRONIC RED LIGHT SAFETY PROGRAM
Public Notice Of Rescheduled Public Hearing

Notice is hereby given that the Secretary of the 
Department of Safety and Homeland Security, formerly the 
Secretary of the Department of Public Safety, in accordance 
with 21 Del.C.§ 4101(d) and 73 Del. Laws, c. 350, sec. 92 
intends to promulgate regulations.

These regulations will regulate the administration of the 
Electronic Red Light Safety Program in unincorporated 
areas of the State of Delaware. The Electronic Red Light 
Safety Program through the use of traffic light signal 
monitoring systems will impose monetary liability on 
owners or operators of motor vehicles for failure to comply 
with traffic light signals.

These regulations were published in the October issue 
(8 DE Reg. 524 (10/1/04)) of the Register of Regulations. 
The public hearing originally scheduled for November 1, 
2004, has been rescheduled for Monday, November 22, 
2004,  at 1:00 P. M. in the second floor main conference 
room (rm. 205) of the Safety and Homeland Security 
Building, 303 Transportation Circle, Dover, DE. The 
Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security will receive and 
consider input in writing from any person on the proposed 
regulations.  Any written comments should be submitted to 
the Department of Safety and Homeland Security, in care of 
William G. Bush, IV, at P.O. Box 818, Dover, DE 19903-
0818 on or before November 22, 2004. Anyone wishing to 
obtain a copy of the proposed regulations may do so by 
sending a written request to the Department of Safety and 
Homeland Security, P.O. Box 818, Dover, DE 19903-0818 or 
may obtain a copy in room 220 of the Safety and Homeland 
Security Building, 303 Transportation Circle, Dover, DE. 
This notice will be published in two newspapers of general 
circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the date of 
the hearing.
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