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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

6 DE Reg. 1541-1542 (06/01/03)

Refers to Volume 6, pages 1541-1542 of the 
Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2003.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an 
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or 
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text 
of such proposals, together with copies of the 
existing regulation being adopted, amended or 
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the 
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the 
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the 
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the 
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of 
the agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will 
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, 
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal 
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice 
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
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materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received;  (4)  The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6) 
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 15 4:30 P.M.

SEPTEMBER 1 AUGUST 15 4:30 P.M.

OCTOBER 1 SEPTEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor; 
Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative Specialist II.; 
Sandra F. Clark, Administrative Specialist II; 
Kathleen Morris, Unit Operations Support 
Specialist; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of 
Regulations; Victoria Schultes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative 
Librarian; Lisa Schieffert, Research Analyst; 
Judi Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Alice 
W. Stark, Legislative Attorney; Ted Segletes, 
Paralegal;  Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop 
Supervisor;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer;  Don 
Sellers, Printer.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
Part X Ambulance Regulations............................................................................................... 7 DE Reg.  1039 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

100  Board of Accountancy.................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.      7  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  494  (Final)

700  Board of Chiropractic..................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    36  (Final)
1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies................ 7  DE Reg. 1173 (Final)
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners....................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  697  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1167 (Final)
1700 Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council of the Delaware Board of Medical

 Practice........................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  384  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  761  (Final)

1900  Board of Nursing 7  DE Reg.  158  (Final)
2100  Board of Optometry...................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  545  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  912  (Final)
2500  Board of Pharmacy, ..................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  239  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  309  (Final)
7  DE Reg.  546  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  693 (Errata)
7  DE Reg.  914  (Final)

3.0, Pharmacy Requirements & 15.0 Automated Pharmacy Systems ............................ 7  DE Reg. 1237 (Prop.)
2700  Board of Professional Land Surveyors......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  385  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  918  (Final)
3600  Board of Professional Geologists................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  853  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1342 (Final)
3900  Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners.................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  854  (Prop.)
5300  Board of Massage and Bodywork................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    40  (Final)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Regulation Docket No. 50, Consideration of Rules, Standards and Indices to Ensure

Reliable Electrical Service by Electric Distribution Companies...................... ......    ..... 7  DE Reg.  243  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  762  (Final)

Regulation Docket No. 53, Regulations Governing Termination of Residential Electric
or Natural Gas Service by  Public Utilities for Non-Payment During Extreme
Seasonal Temperature Conditions................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  550  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  922  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Plant Pests ................................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1235(Emer.)
Poultry ................................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1038(Emer.)
Poultry, Order Rescinding Emergency Regulation 7  DE Reg. 1236(Emer.)
Poultry Disease Prevention Regulations........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1241(Prop.)
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations..................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  119  (Prop.

7  DE Reg.  497  (Final)
Nutrient Management Program

703  Mandatory Nutrient Management Plan Reporting Implementation Regulation............. 7  DE Reg.  160  (Final)
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Harness Racing Commission
Rules 3.0 Officials, 6.0 Types of Races and 8.0 Veterinary Practices, Equine

Health Medication........................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   861 (Prop.)
Rule 7.0, Rules of the Race, Sections 7.6.6.3 and 7.3.9......................................................... 7  DE Reg.    42  (Final)

Pesticides Section
Pesticide Regulations.............................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1056 (Prop.)

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
Rule 1.28, Meeting.................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  316  (Final)
Rule 3.02, Appointment of Stewards..................... ......  ................................................... 7  DE Reg.  316  (Final)
Rule 6.02,  Requirements for Owner's Registration............................................................... 7  DE Reg.  389  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  766  (Final)
Rule 13.05 Thirty Day Prohibition-Racing Claimed Horse .................................................. 7  DE Reg.  324  (Final)
Rule 13.12, Claiming Races................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  978  (Prop.)
Rule 15.1.3.1.13, Erythropietin (EPO)................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  978  (Prop.)
Rule 15.12, Intermittent Hypoxic Treatment by External Device.......................................... 7  DE Reg.  389  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  766  (Final)
Rule 19.01, Procedure Before Stewards................ ......   ........................................................ 7  DE Reg.  316  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101  Delaware Student Testing Program........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.    51  (Final)

7  DE Reg.  325  (Final)
103  School Accountability for Academic Performance 7  DE Reg.    57  (Final)

7  DE Reg. 1244 (Prop.)
104  Education Profiles for the Schools, Districts and the State.................................................... 7  DE Reg.    65  (Final)
106 Teacher Appraisal Process-Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II).................. 7  DE Reg. 1072 (Prop.)
107 Specialist Appraisal Process-Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)............... 7  DE Reg. 1072 (Prop.)
108 Administrator Appraisal Process-Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)....... 7  DE Reg. 1072 (Prop.)
215  Strategic Planning.................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    10  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  330  (Final)
220  Diversity................................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  554  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  887  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1177 (Final)

225  Prohibition of Discrimination................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  556  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  888  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1178 (Final)

230  Promotion Regulation............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  556  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  927  (Final)

235  Teacher of the Year................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  889  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1178 (Final)

240  Recruiting & Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas.................... 7  DE Reg.  703  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  994  (Final)

245  Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards Scholarship....................................................... 7  DE Reg.  707  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  998 (Final)

255  Definitions of Public School and Private School................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  254  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  618  (Final)

275  Charter Schools...................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  125  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  557  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  928  (Final)

505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas........................................................... 7  DE Reg.  982  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1344 (Final)

511  Credit Requirements for High School Graduation................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   891 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   982 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1344 (Final)

515  High School Diplomas and Certificate of Performance......................................................... 7  DE Reg.   891 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1344 (Final)

520  Options for Awarding Credit Toward High School Graduation 7  DE Reg.   891 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
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520  Options for Awarding Credit Toward High School Graduation............................................ 7  DE Reg. 1344 (Final)
608  Unsafe School Choice Option for Students in Persistently Dangerous Schools and for

Students Who Have Been Victims of a Violent Felony.......................................................... 7  DE Reg.    67  (Final)
610  Comprehensive School Discipline Program.......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    10  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  331  (Final)
612 (Formerly 876) Possession, Use or Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol ................................ 7  DE Reg.  403  (Prop.)

................................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  767  (Final)
615  School Attendance 7  DE Reg.  130  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  619  (Final)
707 Salary continuation: Operation Noble Eagle and Enduring Freedom..................................... 7  DE Reg.  708  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1000  (Final)
811  School Health Record Keeping Requirements,...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    68  (Final)
815  Physical Examinations and Screening .................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   68   (Final)
817 Administration of Medications and Treatments...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   68   (Final)
878  Guidelines for the School Districts to Comply with the Gun Free Schools Act.................... 7  DE Reg.   12   (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  333  (Final)
881  Releasing Students to Persons Other Than Their Parents or Legal Guardians...................... 7  DE Reg.  131  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  504  (Final)
901 Education of Homeless Children & Youth............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  254  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  620  (Final)
1025 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA)........................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)
1102 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production on March 1, 2002...... 7  DE Reg.  563  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  933  (Final)
1049 DIAA Definitions.................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)
1050 DIAA Sportsmanship............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)
1051 DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  406  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  770  (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1052 DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic Athletics................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1053 DIAA Waiver Procedure............................... ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1054 DIAA Investigative Procedure...................... ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1055 DIAA Appeal Procedure............................... ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1056 Recognition of Officials’ Associations................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1101 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production After March 1, 1998.. 7  DE Reg. 1123 (Prop.)
1105 School Transportation........................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1123 (Prop.)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
120  Required Inservice Training Activities For Delaware Public School Administrators,

Repeal Of ............................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  894  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1180 (Final)

301  General Regulations for Certification of Professional Public School Personnel................... 7  DE Reg.  161  (Final)
321  Certification Agriculture Teacher.................. ......   .............................................................. 7  DE Reg.  416  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
322  Certification Business Education Teacher............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  417  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
325  Certification English Teacher......................... ......  ............................................................... 7  DE Reg.  418  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
328  Certification Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive...................................................... 7  DE Reg.  418  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
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329  Certification Foreign Language Secondary........................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  419  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)

330  Certification Foreign Language Teacher Elementary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  420  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)

333  Certification Journalism Teacher, Repeal.............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  412  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  777  (Final)

335  Certification Mathematics Teacher........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  421  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)

337  Certification Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  422  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)

338  Certification Social Studies Teacher...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  423  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)

339  Certification Speech Teacher, Repeal.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  412  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  777  (Final)

341 Certification Trade and Industrial (T & I) Teacher .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1294 (Prop.)
342  Endorsement Trade and Industrial Teacher............................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  986  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1347 (Final)
343  Certification Art Teacher Comprehensive............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  424  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
344  Certification Art Teacher Elementary.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  424  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
345  Certification Art Teacher Secondary...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  425  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
346  Certification Heath Education Teacher.................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  425  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
348  Music Teacher Comprehensive.............................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  426  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
349  Music Teacher Elementary..................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  427  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
350  Certification Music Teacher Secondary................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  427  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
351  Certification Physical Education Teacher Comprehensive.................................................... 7  DE Reg.  428  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
352  Certification Physical Education TeacherElementary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  428  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
353  Certification Physical Education Teacher Secondary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  429  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
354  Certification Reading Specialist............. .......   ..................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   430 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
355  Certification Early Care and Education Teacher.................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   431 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
356  Certification Primary Teacher (Grades K-4).......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   432 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
357  Certification Middle Level Teacher (Grades 5-8).................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   433 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
358  Certification Bilingual Teacher (Spanish)Primary/middle Level.......................................... 7  DE Reg.   435 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
361  Certification Teacher Exceptional Children Special Education/Elementary......................... 7  DE Reg.   436 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
362  Certification Teacher Exceptional Children Special Education/Secondary........................... 7  DE Reg.   437 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
363  Certification Exceptional Children Teacher Gifted/Talented................................................. 7  DE Reg.   410 (Prop.)
364  Certification Interpreter Tutor for the Hearing Impaired....................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
365  Certification Resident Advisor............................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
373  Certification Coordinator, Cooperative Occupational/Vocational Education and/or Work-

Study Programs....................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1347 (Final)

374  Certification Counselor Career Guidance and Placement...................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
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374  Certification Counselor Career Guidance and Placement...................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1347 (Final)
375  Certification Counselor – Elementary School....................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   438 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
376  Certification Counselor – Secondary School......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   439 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
377  Certification Human Relations Specialists, Repeal............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   412 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   777 (Final)
378  Intern, Repeal......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   412 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   777 (Final)
382 Certification School Social Work Services..... ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1298 (Prop.)
383  Visiting Teacher..................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1347 (Final)
390 Delaware Licensure for Teachers Holding National Board for Professional Teaching

Standards Certification............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   585 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   955 (Final)

392  Middle Level Certification, Repeal........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   412 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   777 (Final)

605  Student Rights and Responsibilities....................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   187 (Final)
905  Federal Programs General Complaint Procedures................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   188 (Final)
1504  Delaware Performance Appraisal System for Administrators............................................. 7  DE Reg.     13 (Prop.)
1507 Professional Growth Salary Increments................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   709 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1001 (Prop.)
1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   712 (Prop.)
1510  Issuance of Initial License.................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   262 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   623 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   714 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1181 (Final)

1511  Issuance and Renewal of Continuing License...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   197 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   988 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1350 (Final)

1512  Issuance & Renewal of Advanced License.......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   585 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   956 (Final)

1514  Revocation of Licenses................................ ......  ............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   265 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   627 (Final)

1516  Standard Certificate.............................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   267 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   629 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   718 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1004 (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1300 (Prop.)

1526  Certification English to Speakers of Other Languages........................................................ 7  DE Reg.  440  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)

1530  Certification - Administrative - School Principal................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  190  (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1302 (Prop.)

1531  Certification - Administrative - School Leader I................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  190  (Final)
1532  Certification - Administrative - School Leader II................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  190  (Final)
1540  Certificate Science Teacher.................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  441  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
1541  Standard Certificate – Mathematics Teacher –Middle Level............................................... 7  DE Reg.  442  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
1542  Standard Certificate – Science Teacher –Middle Level....................................................... 7  DE Reg.  443  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
1547 (Formerly 347) Certification Library/Media Specialist 7  DE Reg.  258  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  632  (Final)
1556 Standard Certificate Primary Teacher........... ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1305 (Prop.)
1557 Standard Certificate Middle Level Teacher . ................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1307 (Prop.)
1563 Standard Certificate, Teacher of Gifted and Talented Students............................................ 7  DE Reg.  779  (Final)
1580 (Formerly 380)  Certification School Nurse......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  260  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  633  (Final)
1584 Permits, School, Classroom Aides and Autistic Residential Child Care Specialists 7  DE Reg.   720 (Prop.)
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1584 Permits, School, Classroom Aides and Autistic Residential Child Care Specialists............ 7  DE Reg. 1006 (Final)
1593  Delaware Professional Teaching Standards......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     75 (Final)

PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS BOARD
Rule 12, Binding Grievance Arbitration................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  397  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  823  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY
Lottery Regulations

Rule 30, Non-Discrimination on the Basis of Disability in Delaware Lottery Programs...... 7  DE Reg.  270  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  635  (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1010 (Final)

Video Lottery Regulations
Video Lottery, ........................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  587  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  958  (Final)
Video Lottery, Section 5.1, Technology Providers: Contracts; Requirements; Duties,

Section 7.15, Game Requirements................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  202  (Final)
Video Lottery, Section 5.0, Technology Providers: Contracts; Requirements; Duties,

Section 6.0, Agents: Duties, Section 7.0, Game Requirements....................................... 7  DE Reg.  206  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Adult Abuse Registry, Regulations Governing....................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    82  (Final)
Regulation 55.0, Neighborhood Homes for Persons with Developmental Disabilities.......... 7  DE Reg.  132  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  504  (Final)
Regulation 73.0, Training of Paid Feeding Assistants............................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1133 (Prop.)
Training of Paid Feeding Assistants, Regulations for............................................................. 7  DE Reg.  895  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1186 (Final)
Training & Qualifications for Nursing Assistants and  Certified Nursing Assistants, .......... 7  DE Reg. 1309 (Prop.)

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
108 Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program Regulations................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1134 (Prop.)
Home Health Agencies, Regulations for................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  724  (Prop.)
Pre-Hospital Advanced Care Directive Regulations.............................................................. 7  DE Reg.    85  (Final)
Public Drinking Water Systems, Regulations Governing....................................................... 7  DE Reg.    94  (Final)
Regulation for the Certification of Radiation Technologists/Technicians.............................. 7  DE Reg.  273  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  639  (Final)
Regulations Pertaining to the Testing of Newborn Infants for Metabolic, Hematologic and

Endocrinologic Disorders............................... ......  ................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1310 (Prop.)
Uniformed Controlled Substances Act, Rescheduling of Gamma Hydroxy Butyrate (GHB) 7  DE Reg.  608  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  960  (Final)
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Independent Therapist Provider for Physical Therapy and Related Services......................... 7  DE Reg.  745  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1011 (Final)

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Program and Title XIX Medicaid State Plan 7  DE Reg.  277  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  643  (Final)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 4.18, Client Cost Sharing for 
Pharmaceutical Services.................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    23  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  609  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  751  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  962  (Final)

Beds During Absence from Long-Term Care Facilities.................................................. 7  DE Reg.    28  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  781  (Final)

DSSM
1009, Procedures for Serving Non-English Speaking Clients................................................ 7 DE Reg.  898  (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1191 (Final)
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2027, Disqualification of Individuals Convicted of Drug Related Offenses ......................... 7 DE Reg.  299  (Prop.)
7 DE Reg.  647  (Final)

3001, Definitions.................................................................................................................... 7 DE Reg.  899  (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1191 (Final)

3006.3, TANF Employment and Training Activities.............................................................. 7  DE Reg.  899 (Prop.)
................................................................................................................................. 7 DE Reg. 1191 (Final)

3006.4, TANF Employment and Training Activities Which Constitute Participation Under
TANF .............................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  899 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1192 (Final)
3007,  TANF Supportive Services and Transitional Benefits................................................. 7  DE Reg.  900 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1192 (Final)
3007.1,  Child Care................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  900 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1192 (Final)
3007.2,  Fees, Repeal Of......................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  900 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1193 (Rep.)
3007.3,  CWEP Payments, Repeal Of.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  900 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1193 (Rep.)
3007.4, Accessories For Work Or Training, Repeal of................................................... ....... 7 DE Reg.  901 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1193 (Rep.)
3007.5, Remedial Medical, Repeal Of.................................................................................... 7 DE Reg.  901 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1193 (Rep.)
3011.1,  Employment and Training Requirements................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  901 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1194 (Final)
3011.2,  Sanctions for Failing to Comply With Requirements............................................... 7  DE Reg.  902 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1194 (Final)
3021,  Unrelated Children....................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  902  (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1194 (Final)
3028.1, Mandatory Composition of Assistance Units............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  902  (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1195 (Final)
3028.2, Optional Composition of Assistance Units................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  902 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1195 (Final)
3032.1.3,  Items/Services Covered......... .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  903 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1195 (Final)
4001, Family Budget Group................... .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  904 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg.  1197 (Final)
4001.1, Examples to Illustrate Rules Regarding Budget Groups........................................... 7  DE Reg.  904  (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1197 (Final)
4005.1, Child Support Payments TANF. .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  905 (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1197 (Final)
5100, Legal Base..................................... .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5304, Jurisdiction.................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5312, Responses to Hearing Requests.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5402, Hearings on Decisions.................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5403, Availability of Documents and Records....................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5405, Fair Hearing Procedures............................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
6103, Eligibility.............................................. ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1135 (Prop.)
7002.1, Cash Assistance Overpayments......... .................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  905  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1197 (Final)
9007.1, Citizenship and Alien Status...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    29  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   334 (Final)
9038, Verification Subsequent to Initial Certification............................................................ 7  DE Reg.     30 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
9056,  Earned Income............................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1136 (Prop.)
9057,  Unearned Income......................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1137 (Prop.)
9059,  Income Exclusions....................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1137 (Prop.)
9063.3, Income Averaging...................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     30 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1139 (Prop.)
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9079.1, Through 9079.7.......................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1140 (Prop.)
9081.3, Exempt Aliens............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   150 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   516 (Final)
9085, Reporting Changes........................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.     30 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   150 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   516 (Final)

9085.2, DSS Responsibilities: Actions on Changes............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
14300,  Citizenship and Alienage........................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   212 (Final)
14960, Cost Sharing................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   609 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   962 (Final)

15120.2, Financial Eligibility................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.     32 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   339 (Final)

15200, Transitional Medicaid/Initial Eligibility..................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     32 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   339 (Final)

Temporary Assistance For Needy Families Services to Move Families to Work 7  DE Reg.   905 (Prop.)
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program 7  DE Reg.  280  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  649  (Final)
7  DE Reg.  898  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1197 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
1213 Recognition of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table for use in Determining 

Minimum Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Benefits............................................. ....... 7  DE Reg.   444 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   783 (Final)

1310, Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable Settlement of Claims for
Health Care Services............................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   100 (Final)

1406, Third Party Administrators.......................... ......  ............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   300 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   668 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DIVISION OF SECURITIES

Delaware Securities Act, Sections 600, 601, 608, 700 and 610............................................. 7  DE Reg.   213 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Delaware Prevailing Wage Regulation.......................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   152 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   518 (Final)
Payroll Debit Cards........................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   906 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Aboveground Storage Tanks, Regs Governing ..................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1143 (Prop.)
Amendments to Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration For The Philadelphia-

Wilmington-Trenton Ozone Non-Attainment Area, Including A Revision of the Mid-
Course Review Schedule................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   907 (Prop.)

Chronic Violator Regulation................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1198 (Final)
Delaware 1999 Milestone Compliance Demonstration” For the 1-hour National Ambient

Air Quality Standard Of Ground-Level Ozone .............................................................. 7  DE Reg.   345 (Final)
Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration For The Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton

Ozone Non-Attainment Area Including A Revision of the 2005 Mobile Source
Emission Budgets Using MOBILE6............................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   353 (Final)

Green Energy Fund Program Regulation................................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1317 (Prop.)
Hazardous Waste, Regulations Governing............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   615 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1202 (Final)
Reg. No. 30, Title V State Operating Permit Program, Section 2 Definitions....................... 7  DE Reg.   446 (Final)
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Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories,
Subpart B......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.       6 (Errata)

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Horseshoe Crab Regs HC-1 thru HC-14................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   220 (Final)
Reg. No. 3503, Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Seasons; Methods of Take; Creel Limit;

Possession Limit. (Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 6)......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1205 (Final)
Reg. No. 3504, Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions (Formerly Tidal Finfish

Reg. 7)............................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1205 (Final)
Reg. No. 3507, Black Sea Bass Size Limits; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas ......................... 7  DE Reg. 1145 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 3511, Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons ........................ 7  DE Reg. 1145 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 3768, Oyster Harvest Quota.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1144 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 3772, Oyster Harvesting Seasons............................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1144 (Prop.)
Shellfish Regulation 3708....................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   308 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   785 (Final)
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3503, Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Season; Methods of

Take:  Creel Limit; Possession Limit 7  DE Reg.   909 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3504, Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions 7  DE Reg.   909 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3565, License Lotteries for Apprentices......................................... 7  DE Reg.   308 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   785 (Final)
DIVISION OF PARKS AND RECREATION

Delaware State Parks Rules & Regulations........... ......  ................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1327 (Prop.)
DIVISION OF SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION

Delaware Sediment and Stormwater Regulations ................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1147 (Prop.)
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Surface Water Discharges Section
Surface Water Quality Standards..................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   448 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1164 (Prop.)
Policy Regulation 45, Concerning Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program...................... 7  DE Reg.   524 (Final)

7  DE Reg.   756 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1017 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES
DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES

Child Protection Registry........................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   340 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   488 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   787 (Final)

Requirements For Day Care Centers...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   911 (Prop.)

MERIT EMPLOYEES RELATIONS BOARD
Rules and Regulations.................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   493 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   799 (Final)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Executive Order No. 44, Creating Principles for Responsible Industry in Delaware............. 7  DE Reg.   103
Executive Order No. 45, Amendment to Executive Order 20 Regarding State

Employees’ Charitable Campaign................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   104
Executive Order No. 46, The Delaware Homeland Security Council ................................... 7  DE Reg.   358
Executive Order No. 47, Establishing the Delaware P-20 Council ....................................... 7  DE Reg.   358
Executive Order No. 48, Amending Executive Order Number Eleven.......................... .......    7  DE Reg.   677
Executive Order No. 49, Creating The Community Notification Working Group   .............. 7  DE Reg.   677
Executive Order No. 50, Creating The Governor’s Commission On Community-Based

Alternatives For Individuals With Disabilities................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   678
Executive Order No. 51, Declaring December 26, 2003 a Holiday....................................... 7  DE Reg. 1022
Executive Order No. 52, Expanding Bidding Competition for State-Funded Purchases....... 7  DE Reg. 1022
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Executive Order No. 53, Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume Cap for
Calendar Year 2003 and Initial Suballocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume
Cap for Calendar Year 2004.................... .................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1213 

Appointments.......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  105
7  DE Reg.  360

Appointments.......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  831
7  DE Reg. 1208

HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION
Rule 10, Voluntary Termination and Dismissal & Rule 27, Reconsideration................................ 7  DE Reg.   34   (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  793  (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code,

 Section 6301, 7101(a) (3 Del.C. §6301, 7101(a))

POULTRY

ORDER RESCINDING EMERGENCY 
REGULATIONS

AND NOW this 5th day of April, the Secretary of 
Delaware’s Department of Agriculture, having discharged 
his duties and responsibilities under 3 Del.C. §§6301 and 
7101(a) to protect, prevent, suppress, control or eradicate 
dangerous, contagious, or infectious diseases within the 
poultry population of the State of Delaware, deems it proper 
to rescind  regulations 3.0, 4.0, or 5.0, that were adopted on 
an emergency basis on February 25, 2004 to combat the 
recent outbreak of avian influenza that had been detected on 
two farms within Delaware, effective April 5, 2004 the state. 

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Michael T. Scuse, Secretary
Delaware Department of Agriculture

Dated:  April 5, 2004

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/poultryah/index.htm
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text. 
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file 
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with 
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature 
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference 
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the 
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final 
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the 
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The 
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its 
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PRIVATE 

INVESTIGATORS AND PRIVATE SECURITY 
AGENCIES

24 DE Admin. Code 1300
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,

Section 1304(b)(3) (24 Del.C. §1304(b)(3))

Public Notice

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Examiners of 
Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies, in 
accordance with Del. Code Title 24 Chapter 13 proposes to 
amend Adopted Rule 5.0 – Uniform, Patches, Badges, Seals, 
Vehicular Markings.  This amendment will clarify the use of 
unmarked vehicles.  If you wish to view the complete Rule, 
contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-5991.  Any 
persons wishing to present views may submit them in 
writing, by May 31, 2004, to Delaware State Police, 
Detective Licensing, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE 19903.  The 
Board will hold its quarterly meeting Thursday, July 29, 
2004, 10:00am, at the Delaware State Police Headquarters 
Conference Room, 1441 North DuPont Highway in Dover, 
Delaware.

1.0 Firearm’s Policy
1.1 No person licensed under 24 Del.C. §1315 & §1317

shall carry a firearm unless that person has first passed an 
approved firearms course given by a Board approved 

certified firearms instructor, which shall include a minimum 
40 hour course of instruction.  Individuals licensed to carry a 
firearm must shoot a minimum of three (3) qualifying shoots 
per year, scheduled on at least two (2) separate days, with a 
recommended 90 days between scheduled shoots.  Of these 
three, there will be one (1) mandatory “low light” shoot. 
Simulation is permitted and it may be combined with a 
daylight shoot.

1.2 Firearms - approved type of weapons
1.2.1 9mm
1.2.2 .357
1.2.3 .38
1.2.4 .40

1.3 All weapons must be either a revolver or semi-
automatic and must be double-action or double-action only 
and must be maintained to factory specifications.

1.4 Under no circumstances will anyone be allowed to 
carry any type of shotgun or rifle or any type of weapon that 
is not described herein.

1.5 All individuals must qualify with the same type of 
weapon that he/she will carry.

1.6 All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).
1.7 The minimum passing score is 75%.
1.8 All licenses are valid for a period of five (5) years, 

subject to proof of compliance of Rule 1.0 by submission of 
shoot sheets by January 31st of each year for the previous 
calendar year.

Adopted 11/04/1994
See 3 DE Reg. 960 (1/1/00)
See 7 DE Reg.  (3/1/04)

2.0 Nightstick, Pr24, Mace, Peppergas and Handcuffs
To carry the above weapons/items a security guard must 
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have completed a training program on each and every 
weapon/item carried, taught by a certified instructor 
representing the manufacturer of the weapon/item.  Proof of 
these certifications must be provided to the Director of the 
Board of Examiners. Under no circumstances would a 
person be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item, 
unless first approved by the Director of the Board of 
Examiners.

Adopted 11/04/1994

3.0 Personnel Rosters and Job Assignments
3.1 Anyone licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall 

submit an alphabetical personnel roster and a job site list to 
the director of the Detective Licensing Section by the tenth 
of every month. Alphabetical personnel rosters shall include 
the full name, DOB, race, sec, expiration date, and position 
code of each individual in your employ.  For example:

Mark A. Smith 01/25/60W M 01/25/99 SG
Helen E. White 03/17/71B F 03/17/00 FA
John F. Henry 05/23/43B M 05/23/00 PI
James D. Williams12/03/40W M 06/30/99 MG
Frank G. Mongomery07/24/55BM 06/30/99 LH
Anne L. Murray 10/20/40W F 06/30/99 CO

SG Security Guard
FA Firearm’s
PI Private Investigator
MG Delaware Manager
LH License Holder
CO Corporate Officer

3.2 Job site lists shall include the name, address, 
location, and hours of coverage. For example:

The DuPont Industry
Barley Mill Road
2200 - 0600 Hours, Monday, Wednesday, and 

Friday
Adopted 11/04/1994
See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

4.0 Record Book; Right of Inspection
All persons licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch.13 shall keep 

and maintain at their place of business, at all times, a book 
that shall contain the names and positions of all employees 
along with the location that each employee is assigned to 
work.  This book shall contain all current personnel 
information and at all times shall be current and up-to-date to 
include the list of weapons/items each employee is qualified 
to carry, the certification dates, scores and the serial number 
of the weapon/item, if applicable.

Adopted 11/04/1994
See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

5.0 Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals, Vehicular 
Markings Amended 04/17/97

5.1 No person licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall 

wear or display any uniform, patch, or badge unless first 
approved by the Board of Examiners.  The use of “patrol” 
and/or “officer” on any type of uniform, patch, badge, seal, 
vehicular marking or any type of advertisement shall first be 
proceeded by the word “security”.  Under no circumstances 
shall a uniform, patch, badge, seal, vehicular marking, 
letterhead, business card or any type of advertisement 
contain the seal or crest of the State of Delaware, any state of 
the United States, the seal or crest of any county or local sub 
division, or any facsimile of the aforementioned seals or 
crests.

5.2 Advertisement and other forms of publications:
5.2.1 No letterhead, business card, 

advertisement, or other form of publication including but not 
limited to uniforms, patches, badges, seals, vehicular 
markings and similar items may be used or displayed unless 
first approved by the Board of Examiners.  No such items 
will be approved by the Board if the item will mislead the 
public by confusing the licensee and/or his/her employees 
with official law enforcement agencies and/or personnel.

5.2.2 All uniforms displaying a patch must 
contain an approved patch that is not generic in nature.  The 
patch must have the name of the agency printed on it.

5.2.3 Auxiliary lights on vehicles, used for 
patrol, shall be amber and/or clear only. Use of sirens is 
prohibited.

5.3. Vehicle Identification
5.3.1 No person or entity licensed under Title 

24, Chapter 13 of the Delaware Code shall utilize any 
vehicle in the course of activities covered by said Chapter 
13, unless the appearance of the vehicle, including any 
identifying marking, shall have been first approved by the 
Board of Examiners using the standards and criteria set forth 
in this Rule. 

5.3.2 The content of any vehicle marking shall 
be governed by the standards and criteria set forth in Rule 
5.1 above. 

5.3.3 No vehicle utilized for purposes covered 
by Title 24, Chapter 13 shall have an appearance that creates 
a reasonable likelihood of confusion with a police vehicle 
used by the Delaware State Police or a law enforcement 
agency of any state or governmental subdivision.  The Board 
of Examiners shall have discretion to review the appearance 
of vehicles, and to make comparisons with known law 
enforcement vehicles, in order to enforce this Rule.

5.3.4 In the event that a vehicle is not approved 
by the Board of Examiners pursuant to this Rule, the Board 
may indicate what changes to the vehicle appearance would 
be sufficient to satisfy the standard and criteria set forth 
above.

5.3.5 Auxiliary lights on vehicles, used for 
patrol, shall be amber and/or clear only.  Use of sirens is 
prohibited.

Adopted 11/04/1994
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See 3 DE Reg. 960 (1/1/00)

6.0 Qualified Manager
6.1 A qualified manager cannot be employed by more 

than one company at the same time.  For example; a person 
cannot serve as a qualified manager for two separate private 
security agencies and/or private investigative agencies.

6.2 A qualified license holder must be an owner/
partner/corporate officer of the agency requesting licensure.

Adopted 11/04/1994

7.0 Employment Notification
7.1 It shall be the responsibility of each person licensed 

as a security guard under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 to notify the 
Director of the Board of Examiners, in writing within 24 
hours, if such person is terminated or leaves one agency for 
employment with another or works for more than one 
security guard agency.  Under no circumstances will a 
security guard be permitted to be employed by more than 
two agencies at a time.  It is also the responsibility for each 
licensed security guard to advise his/her employer(s) of 
whom he/she is employed with (i.e. If a security guard is 
employed with two security guard agencies, both employers 
must be made aware of this fact as well as the Director of the 
Board of Examiners.)

7.2 Employers Responsibility
7.2.1 A licensed private security agency, after 

investigation, shall notify the Detective Licensing Office, in 
writing, of any terminated employees.  This information is to 
be included in the next monthly roster report following the 
termination.

7.2.2 A licensed private security agency shall 
report to the Detective Licensing Office, in writing, the 
following:

7.2.2.1 The name of any employee arrested;
7.2.2.2 The name of any employee admitted 

to any mental hospital ward, mental institution or sanitarium; 
or

7.2.2.3 The name of any employee disabled 
from carrying, owning, or possession a gun by action of 
federal or state statute and/or court order, including bond 
orders and protection from abuse orders.

Adopted 11/04/1994
See 4 DE Reg. 361 (8/1/00)

8.0 Criminal Offenses
In addition to those qualifications set forth in 24  Del.C. 

§1314, no person required to be licensed under this chapter 
shall be issued a license, if that person has been convicted of 
Assault III or Offensive Touching misdemeanor within the 
last three (3) years.

Adopted 11/04/1994

9.0 Private Investigators
9.1 A Private Investigator must not be a member or 

employee of any Law Enforcement Organization, as defined 
by the Council on Police Training.

9.2 At the time of processing, a Private Investigator 
must provide proof of employment by a licensed Private 
Investigative Agency with the Private Investigator 
application signed by the employer.  The identification card 
will bear the employer’s name.  Upon termination of 
employment, the identification card is no longer valid.  If 
seeking employment with another licensed agency, the 
Private Investigator must be re-licensed with the new 
employer and a new identification card will be issued as in 
the previous procedure.

9.3 A licensed Private Investigator may only be 
employed by one licensed private investigative agency at a 
time.

Adopted 11/04/1994

10.0 Licensing Fees
10.1 Class A License - Private Investigative Agency

10.1.1 In-State License Holder
10.1.1.1 Individual - No Employees - Not 

Corporation
10.1.1.1.1 $230
10.1.1.1.2 $5,000 Bond
10.1.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.1.1.2 Corporation - Has Employees

10.1.1.2.1 $345
10.1.1.2.2 $10,000 Bond
10.1.1.2.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.1.2 Out-of-State

10.1.2.1 License Holder - Individual and 
Corporation

10.1.2.1.1 $345
10.1.2.1.2 $10,000 Bond
10.1.2.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.1.2.2 Delaware Manager

10.1.2.2.1 $230
10.1.2.1.2 $5,000 Bond

10.2 Class B License - Private Security Agency
10.2.1 In-State License Holder

10.2.1.1 Individual - No Employees - Not 
Corporation

10.2.1.1.1 $230
10.2.1.1.2 $5,000 Bond
10.2.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.2.1.2 Corporation - Has Employees

10.2.1.2.1 $345
10.2.1.2.2 $10,000 Bond
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10.2.1.2.3 $1,000,000 Liability 
Insurance per occurrence

10.2.2 Out-of-State
10.2.2.1 License Holder - Individual and 

Corporation
10.2.2.1.1 $345
10.2.2.1.2 $10,000 Bond
10.2.2.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.2.2.2 Delaware Manager

10.2.2.2.1 $230
10.2.2.2.2 $5000 Bond

10.3 Class C License - Private Investigative & 
Private Security Agency

10.3.1 In-State License Holder
10.3.1.1 Individual - No Employees - Not 

Corporation
10.3.1.1.1 $345
10.3.1.1.2 $10,000 Bond
10.3.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.3.1.2 Corporation - Has Employees

10.3.1.2.1 $520
10.3.1.2.2 $15,000 Bond
10.3.1.2.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.3.2 Out-of-State

10.3.2.1 Individual and Corporation
10.3.2.1.1 License Holder

10.3.2.1.1.1 $520
10.3.2.1.1.2 $15,000 Bond
10.3.2.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.3.2.1.2 Delaware Manager

10.3.2.1.2.1 $345
10.3.2.1.2.2 $10,000 Bond

10.4 Class D License - Armored Car Agency 
License

10.4.1 License Holder
10.4.1.1 $345
10.4.1.2 Banking Commissioner License 

as required by 5 Del.C. §3203
10.4.1.3 $10,000 Bond
10.4.1.4 $1,000,000 Liability Insurance 

per occurrence.
10.4.2 Delaware Manager

10.4.2.1 $230
10.4.2.2 $5000 Bond

10.5
6 DE Reg. 637 (11/01/02)
7 DE Reg.  (03/01/04)

11.0 Use Of Animals
The use of animals is prohibited in the performance of 

private security activities.
Adopted 04/23/1998
See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10005 (3 Del.C. §10005)

The Harness Racing Commission proposes to enact a 
new rule, Rule 8.3.3.5-Erythropietin, to provide that a horse 
that tests positive for EPO antibodies may be declared unfit 
to race, and may not resume racing until the owner or trainer 
submits a negative test for EPO antibodies.

The Commission will accept written comments from 
May 1, 2004 until May 31, 2004.  Written comments should 
be sent to John Wayne, Administrator of Racing, Department 
of Agriculture, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, De 19901. 
A public hearing will be held at Harrington Raceway, 
Harrington, DE on June 1, 2004 at 10:15 a.m. 

Proposed Amendment to the Harness Racing 
Commission Rules 

8.3 Medications and Foreign Substances
Foreign substances shall mean all substances, 

except those which exist naturally in the untreated horse at 
normal physiological concentration, and shall include all 
narcotics, stimulants, depressants or other drugs or 
medications of any type.  Except as specifically permitted by 
these rules, no foreign substance shall be carried in the body 
of the horse at the time of the running of the race. Upon a 
finding of a violation of these medication and prohibited 
substances rules, the State Steward or other designee of the 
Commission shall consider the classification level of the 
violation as listed at the time of the violation by the Uniform 
Classification Guidelines of Foreign Substances as 
promulgated by the Association of Racing Commissioners 
International and shall consider all other relevant available 
evidence including but not limited to:  i) whether the 
violation created a risk of injury to the horse or driver;  ii) 
whether the violation undermined or corrupted the integrity 
of the sport of harness racing;  iii) whether the violation 
misled the wagering public and those desiring to claim the 
horse as to the condition and ability of the horse;  iv) whether 
the violation permitted the trainer or licensee to alter the 
performance of the horse or permitted the trainer or licensee 
to gain an advantage over other horses entered in the race; v) 
the amount of the purse involved in the race in which the 
violation occurred.  The State Steward may impose penalties 
and disciplinary measures consistent with the 
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recommendations contained in subsection 8.3.2 of this 
section. 

8.3.1 Uniform Classification Guidelines
The following outline describes the types of 

substances placed in each category.  This list shall be 
publicly posted in the offices of the Commission 
Veterinarian and the racing secretary.

8.3.1.1 Class 1
Opiates, opium derivatives, synthetic 

opiates, psychoactive drugs, amphetamines and U.S. Drug 
Enforcement Agency (DEA) scheduled I and II drugs.  Also 
found in this class are drugs which are potent stimulants of 
the nervous system.  Drugs in this class have no generally 
accepted medical use in the race horse and their 
pharmacological potential for altering the performance of a 
race is very high.

8.3.1.2 Class 2
Drugs in this category have a high 

potential for affecting the outcome of a race.  Most are not 
generally accepted as therapeutic agents in the race horse. 
Many are products intended to alter consciousness or the 
psychic state of humans, and have no approved or indicated 
use in the horse.  Some, such as injectable local anesthetics, 
have legitimate use in equine medicine, but should not be 
found in a race horse.  The following groups of drugs are in 
this class:

8.3.1.2.1 Opiate partial agonist, or 
agonist-antagonists;

8.3.1.2.2 Non-opiate psychotropic 
drugs, which may have stimulant, depressant, analgesic or 
neuroleptic effects;

8.3.1.2.3 Miscellaneous drugs which 
might have a stimulant effect on the central nervous system 
(CNS);

8.3.1.2.4 Drugs with prominent CNS 
depressant action;

8.3.1.2.5 Antidepressant and 
antipsychotic drugs, with or without prominent CNS 
stimulatory or depressant effects;

8.3.1.2.6 Muscle blocking drugs 
which have a direct neuromuscular blocking action;

8.3.1.2.7 Local anesthetics which have 
a reasonable potential for use as nerve blocking agents 
(except procaine); and

8.3.1.2.8 Snake venoms and other 
biologic substances which may be used as nerve blocking 
agents.

8.3.1.3 Class 3
Drugs in this class may or may not 

have an accepted therapeutic use in the horse.  Many are 
drugs that affect the cardiovascular, pulmonary and 
autonomic nervous systems.  They all have the potential of 
affecting the performance of a race horse.  The following 
groups of drugs are in this class:

8.3.1.3.1 Drugs affecting the 
autonomic nervous system which do not have prominent 
CNS effects, but which do have prominent cardiovascular or 
respiratory system effects (bronchodilators are included in 
this class);

8.3.1.3.2 A local anesthetic which has 
nerve blocking potential but also has a high potential for 
producing urine residue levels from a method of use not 
related to the anesthetic effect of the drug (procaine);

8.3.1.3.3 Miscellaneous drugs with 
mild sedative action, such as the sleep inducing 
antihistamines;

8.3.1.3.4 Primary vasodilating/
hypotensive agents; and

8.3.1.3.5 Potent diuretics affecting 
renal function and body fluid composition.

8.3.1.4 Class 4
This category is comprised primarily 

of therapeutic medications routinely used in race horses. 
These may influence performance, but generally have a 
more limited ability to do so.  Groups of drugs assigned to 
this category include the following:

8.3.1.4.1 Non-opiate drugs which 
have a mild central analgesic effect;

8.3.1.4.2 Drugs affecting the 
autonomic nervous system which do not have prominent 
CNS, cardiovascular or respiratory effects

8.3.1.4.2.1 Drugs used solely as 
topical vasoconstrictors or decongestants

8.3.1.4.2.2 Drugs used as 
gastrointestinal antispasmodics

8.3.1.4.2.3 Drugs used to void the 
urinary bladder

8.3.1.4.2.4 Drugs with a major 
effect on CNS vasculature or smooth muscle of visceral 
organs.

8.3.1.4.3 Antihistamines which do not 
have a significant CNS depressant effect (This does not 
include H1 blocking agents, which are listed in Class 5);

8.3.1.4.4 Mineralocorticoid drugs;
8.3.1.4.5 Skeletal muscle relaxants;
8.3.1.4.6 Anti-inflammatory 

drugs--those that may reduce pain as a consequence of their 
anti-inflammatory actions, which include:

8.3.1.4.6.1 Non-Steroidal 
Anti-Inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs)--aspirin-like drugs;

8.3.1.4.6.2 Corticosteroids 
(glucocorticoids); and

8.3.1.4.6.3 Miscellaneous 
anti-inflammatory agents.

8.3.1.4.7 Anabolic and/or androgenic 
steroids and other drugs;

8.3.1.4.8 Less potent diuretics;
8.3.1.4.9 Cardiac glycosides and 
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antiarrhythmics including:
8.3.1.4.9.1 Cardiac glycosides;
8.3.1.4.9.2 Antiarrhythmic agents 

(exclusive of lidocaine, bretylium and propanolol); and
8.3.1.4.9.3 Miscellaneous 

cardiotonic drugs.
8.3.1.4.10 Topical Anesthetics--agents 

not available in injectable formulations;
8.3.1.4.11 Antidiarrheal agents; and
8.3.1.4.12 Miscellaneous drugs 

including:
8.3.1.4.12.1 Expectorants with little 

or no other pharmacologic action;
8.3.1.4.12.2 Stomachics; and
8.3.1.4.12.3 Mucolytic agents.

8.3.1.5 Class 5
Drugs in this category are therapeutic 

medications for which concentration limits have been 
established as well as certain miscellaneous agents. 
Included specifically are agents which have very localized 
action only, such as anti-ulcer drugs and certain antiallergic 
drugs.  The anticoagulant drugs are also included.

8.3.2 Penalty Recommendations
The following penalties and disciplinary 

measures may be imposed for violations of these medication 
and prohibited substances rules:

8.3.2.1 Class 1- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of eighteen months and a minimum fine of $5,000, and a 
maximum fine up to the amount of the purse money for the 
race in which the infraction occurred, forfeiture of the purse 
money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.  

8.3.2.2 Class 2- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of nine months and a minimum fine of $3,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.3 Class 3- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of ninety days, and a minimum fine of $3,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.4 Class 4 - in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of thirty days, and a minimum fine of $2,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for the cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.5 Class 5 - Zero to 15 days suspension 
with a possible loss of purse and/or fine and assessment for 
the cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.6 In determining the appropriate penalty 

with respect to a medication rule violation, the State Steward 
or other designee of the Commission may use his discretion 
in the application of the foregoing penalty recommendations, 
and shall consult with the State Veterinarian, the 
Commission veterinarian and/or the Commission chemist to 
determine the seriousness of the laboratory finding or the 
medication violation.  Aggravating or mitigating 
circumstances in any case should be considered and greater 
or lesser penalties and/or disciplinary measures may be 
imposed than those set forth above.  Specifically, if the State 
Steward or other designee of the Commission determine that 
mitigating circumstances warrant imposition of a lesser 
penalty than the recommendations suggest, he may impose a 
lesser penalty.  If the State Steward or other designee of the 
Commission determines that aggravating circumstances 
require imposition of a greater penalty, however, he may 
only impose up to the maximum recommended penalty, and 
must refer the case to the Commission for its review, with a 
recommendation for specific action.  Without limitation, the 
presence of the following aggravating circumstances may 
warrant imposition of greater penalties than those 
recommended, up to and including a lifetime suspension:

8.3.2.6.1 Repeated violations of these 
medication and prohibited substances rules by the same 
trainer or with respect to the same horse;

8.3.2.6.2 Prior violations of similar 
rules in other racing jurisdictions by the same trainer or with 
respect to the same horse; or

8.3.2.6.3 Violations which endanger 
the life or health of the horse.

8.3.2.6.4 Violations that mislead the 
wagering public and those desiring to claim a horse as to the 
condition and ability of the horse;

8.3.2.6.5 Violations that undermine or 
corrupt the integrity of the sport of harness racing.

8.3.2.7 Any person whose license is 
reinstated after a prior violation involving class 1 or class 2 
drugs and who commits a subsequent violation within five 
years of the prior violation, shall absent extraordinary 
circumstances, be subject to a minimum revocation of 
license for five years, and a minimum fine in the amount of 
the purse money of the race in which the infraction occurred, 
along with any other penalty just and reasonable under the 
circumstances.

8.3.2.7.1 With respect to Class 1, 2 
and 3 drugs detect in a urine sample but not in a blood 
sample, and in addition to the foregoing factors, in 
determining the length of a suspension and/or the amount of 
a fine, or both, the State Steward or judges may take in 
consideration, without limitation, whether the drug has any 
equine therapeutic use, the time and method of 
administration, if determined, whether more than one foreign 
substance was detected in the sample, and any other 
appropriate aggravating or mitigating factors.
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8.3.2.8 Whenever a trainer is suspended more 
than once within a two-year period for a violation of this 
chapter regarding medication rules, any suspension imposed 
on the trainer for any such subsequent violation also shall 
apply to the horse involved in such violation. The State 
Steward or judges may impose a shorter suspension on the 
horse than on the trainer.

8.3.2.9 At the discretion of the State Steward 
or other designee of the Commission, a horse as to which an 
initial finding of a prohibited substance has bee made by the 
Commission chemist may be prohibited from racing pending 
a timely hearing; provided, however, that other horses 
registered under the care of the trainer of such a horse may, 
with the consent of the State Steward or other designee of the 
Commission be released to the care of another trainer, and 
may race.

8.3.3 Medication Restrictions
8.3.3.1 Drugs or medications in horses are 

permissible, provided:
8.3.3.1.1 the drug or medication is 

listed by the Association of Racing Commissioners 
International's Drug Testing and Quality Assurance 
Program; and

8.3.3.1.2 the maximum permissible 
urine or blood concentration of the drug or medication does 
not exceed the limit established in theses Rules or otherwise 
approved and published by the Commission.

8.3.3.2 Except as otherwise provided by this 
chapter, a person may not administer or cause to be 
administered by any means to a horse a prohibited drug, 
medication, chemical or other substance, including any 
restricted medication pursuant to this chapter during the 
24-hour period before post time for the race in which the 
horse is entered.  Such administration shall result in the 
horse being scratched from the race and may result in 
disciplinary actions being taken.

8.3.3.3 A finding by the official chemist of a 
prohibited drug, chemical or other substance in a test 
specimen of a horse is prima facie evidence that the 
prohibited drug, chemical or other substance was 
administered to the horse and, in the case of a post-race test, 
was present in the horse's body while it was participating in a 
race.  Prohibited substances include:

8.3.3.3.1 drugs or medications for 
which no acceptable levels have been established in these 
Rules or otherwise approved and published by the 
Commission.

8.3.3.3.2 therapeutic medications in 
excess of acceptable limits established in these rules or 
otherwise approved and published by the Commission.

8.3.3.3.3 Substances present in the 
horse in excess of levels at which such substances could 
occur naturally and such prohibited substances shall include 
a total carbon dioxide level of 37 mmol/L or serum in a 

submitted blood sample from a horse or 39 mmol/L if serum 
from a horse which has been administered furosemide in 
compliance with these rules, provided that a licensee has the 
right, pursuant to such procedures as may be established 
from time to time by the Commission, to attempt to prove 
that a horse has a naturally high carbon dioxide level in 
excess of the above-mentioned levels; and provided, further, 
that an excess total carbon dioxide level shall be penalized in 
accordance with the penalty recommendation applicable to a 
Class 2 substance.

8.3.3.3.4 substances foreign to a horse 
at levels that cause interference with testing procedures.  The 
detection of any such substance is a violation, regardless of 
the classification or definition of the substance or its 
properties under the Uniform Classification Guidelines for 
Foreign Substances.

8.3.3.4 The tubing, dosing or jugging of any 
horse for any reason within 24 hours prior to its scheduled 
race is prohibited unless administered for medical 
emergency purposes by a licensed veterinarian, in which 
case the horse shall be scratched.  The practice of 
administration of any substance via a naso-gastric tube or 
dose syringe into a horse's stomach within 24 hours prior to 
its scheduled race is considered a violation of these rules and 
subject to disciplinary action, which may include fine, 
suspension and revocation or license.

8.3.3.5 A finding by the official chemist that 
the antibody of erythropietin (EPO) was present in a post-
race test specimen of a horse shall be promptly reported in 
writing to the judges.  The judges shall notify the owner and 
trainer of the positive test result for EPO antibodies.  The 
judges shall notify the Commission Veterinarian of the name 
of the horse for placement on the Veterinarian's List, 
pursuant to Rule 8.6.1.1, if the positive test result indicates 
that the horse is unfit to race.  Any horse placed on the 
Veterinarian's List pursuant to this Rule shall not be 
permitted to enter a race until the owner or trainer, at their 
own expense, provides proof of a negative test result for 
EPO antibodies from a laboratory approved by the 
Commission, provided said test sample is obtained under 
collection procedures acceptable to the Commission or its 
designee under these Rules.

Notwithstanding any inconsistent 
provision of this Rules, a horse shall not be subject to 
disqualification from the race and from any share of the 
purse in the race and the trainer of the horse shall not be 
subject to application of trainer's responsibility based on the 
finding by the laboratory that the antibody of Erythropietin 
was present in the sample taken from that horse.

8.3.4 Medical Labeling
8.3.4.1 No person on association grounds 

where horses are lodged or kept, excluding licensed 
veterinarians, shall have in or upon association grounds 
which that person occupies or has the right to occupy, or in 
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that person's personal property or effects or vehicle in that 
person's care, custody or control, a drug, medication, 
chemical, foreign substance or other substance that is 
prohibited in a horse on a race day unless the product is 
labelled in accordance with this subsection.

8.3.4.2 Any drug or medication which is used 
or kept on association grounds and which, by federal or 
Delaware law, requires a prescription must have been validly 
prescribed by a duly licensed veterinarian, and in 
compliance with the applicable federal and state statutes. 
All such allowable medications must have a prescription 
label which is securely attached and clearly ascribed to show 
the following:

8.3.4.2.1 the name of the product;
8.3.4.2.2 the name, address and 

telephone number of the veterinarian prescribing or 
dispensing the product;

8.3.4.2.3 the name of each patient 
(horse) for whom the product is intended/prescribed;

8.3.4.2.4 the dose, dosage, duration of 
treatment and expiration date of the prescribed/dispensed 
product; and 

8.3.4.2.5 the name of the person 
(trainer) to whom the product was dispensed.

8.3.5 Furosemide (Lasix)
8.3.5.1 General

Furosemide (Lasix) may be administered 
intravenously to a horse on the grounds of the association at 
which it is entered to compete in a race.  Except under the 
instructions of the Commission Veterinarian for the purpose 
of removing a horse from the Steward's List or to facilitate 
the collection of a post-race urine sample, furosemide 
(Lasix) shall be permitted only after the Commission 
Veterinarian has placed the horse on the Bleeder List.

8.3.5.2 Method of Administration
Lasix shall be administered 

intravenously by a licensed practicing veterinarian, unless 
the Commission Veterinarian determines that a horse cannot 
receive an intravenous administration of Lasix and gives 
permission for an intramuscular administration; provided, 
however, that once Lasix is administered intramuscularly, 
the horse shall remain in a detention area under the 
supervision of a Commission representative until it races.

8.3.5.3 Dosage
Lasix shall be administered to horses 

on the Bleeder List only by a licensed practicing 
veterinarian, who will administer not more than 500 
milligrams nor less than 100 milligrams, subject to the 
following conditions:

8.3.5.3.1 If less than 500 milligrams is 
administered, and subsequent laboratory findings are 
inconsistent with such dosage or with the time of 
administration, then the trainer shall be subject to a fine or 
other disciplinary action;

8.3.5.3.2 Not more than 750 
milligrams may be administered if (1) the State veterinarian 
grants permission for a dosage greater than 500 milligrams, 
and (2) after the administration of such greater dosage, the 
horse remains in a detention area under the supervision of a 
Commission representative until it races; and

8.3.5.3.3 The dosage administered 
may not vary by more than 250 milligrams from race to race 
without the permission of the Commission Veterinarian.

8.3.5.4 Timing of Administration
Horses must be presented at the Lasix 

stall in the paddock, and the Lasix administered, not more 
than three hours and 30 minutes (3-1/2 hours) nor less than 
three hours (three hours) prior to post time of their respective 
races.  Failure to meet this time frame will result in 
scratching the horse, and the trainer may be fined.

8.3.5.5 Veterinary Charges
It is the responsibility of the owner or 

trainer, prior to the administration of the medication, to pay 
the licensed practicing veterinarian at the rate approved by 
the Commission.  No credit shall be given.

8.3.5.6 Restrictions
No one except a licensed practicing 

veterinarian shall possess equipment or any substance for 
injectable administration on the race track complex, and no 
horse is to receive furosemide (Lasix) in oral form.

8.3.5.7 Post-Race Quantification
8.3.5.7.1 As indicated by post-race 

quantification, a horse may not carry in its body at the time 
of the running of the race more than 100 nanograms of Lasix 
per milliliter of plasma in conjunction with a urine that has a 
specific gravity of less than 1.01, unless the dosage of Lasix:

8.3.5.7.1.1 Was administered 
intramuscularly as provided in 8.3.5.2; or

8.3.5.7.1.2 Exceeded 500 
milligrams as provided in 8.3.5.3.2.

8.3.5.7.2 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 100 nanograms of furosemide 
per milliliter of plasma in conjunction with a urine that has a 
specific gravity of 1.010 or lower, and provided that the 
dosage of furosemide was not administered intramuscularly 
as provided in 8.3.5.3.2 or exceeded 500 milligrams as 
provided in 8.3.5.3.2, then a penalty shall be imposed as 
follows:

8.3.5.7.2.1 If such overage is the 
first violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to a 
$250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.2 If such overage is the 
second violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to 
a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.3 If such overage is the 
third violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to a 
$1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss of purse.
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8.3.5.7.2.4 If in the opinion of the 
official chemist any such overage caused interference with 
testing procedures, then for each such overage a penalty of 
up to a $1,000 fine and a suspension of from 15 to 50 days 
may be imposed. 

8.3.5.8 Reports
8.3.5.8.1 The licensed practicing 

veterinarian who administers Lasix to a horse scheduled to 
race shall prepare a written certification indicating the time, 
dosage and method of administration.

8.3.5.8.2 The written certification 
shall be delivered to a Commission representative designated 
by the State Steward at least one (1) hour before the horse is 
scheduled to race.

8.3.5.8.3 The State Steward or judges 
shall order a horse scratched if the written certification is not 
received in a timely manner.

8.3.5.9 Bleeder List
8.3.5.9.1 The Commission 

Veterinarian shall maintain a Bleeder List of all horses which 
have demonstrated external evidence of exercise induced 
pulmonary hemorrhage (EIPH) or the existence of 
hemorrhage in the trachea post exercise upon:

8.3.5.9.1.1 visual examination 
wherein blood is noted in one or both nostrils either:

8.3.5.9.1.1.1 during a race;
8.3.5.9.1.1.2 immediately post-

race or post-exercise on track; or
8.3.5.9.1.1.3 within one hour 

post-race or post-exercise in paddock and/or stable area, 
confirmed by endoscopic examination; or

8.3.5.9.1.2 endoscopic 
examination, which may be requested by the owner or 
trainer who feels his or her horse is a bleeder.  Such 
endoscopic examination must be done by a practicing 
veterinarian, at the owner's or trainer's expense, and in the 
presence of the Commission Veterinarian or Lasix 
veterinarian.  Such an examination shall take place within 
one hour post-race or post-exercise; or

8.3.5.9.1.3 presentation to the 
Commission Veterinarian, at least 48 hours prior to racing, of 
a current Bleeder Certificate from an official veterinarian 
from any other jurisdiction, which show the date, place and 
method -- visual or endoscopy -- by which the horse was 
determined to have bled, or which attests that the horse is a 
known bleeder and receives bleeder medication in that 
jurisdiction, provided that such jurisdiction's criteria for the 
identification of bleeders are satisfactory to the Commission 
Veterinarian.

8.3.5.9.2 The confirmation of a 
bleeder horse must be certified in writing by the Commission 
Veterinarian or the Lasix veterinarian and entered on the 
Bleeder List. Copies of the certification shall be issued to the 
owner of the horse or the owner's designee upon request.  A 

copy of the bleeder certificate shall be attached to the horse's 
eligibility certificate.

8.3.5.9.3 Every confirmed bleeder, 
regardless of age, shall be placed on the Bleeder List, and 
Lasix must be administered to the horse in accordance with 
these rules prior to every race, including qualifying races, in 
which the horse starts.

8.3.5.9.4 A horse which bleeds based 
on the criteria set forth in 8.3.5.9.1 above shall be restricted 
from racing at any facility under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission, as follows:

8.3.5.9.4.1 1st time - 10 days;
8.3.5.9.4.2 2nd time - 30 days, 

provided that the horse must be added to or remain on the 
Bleeder List, and must complete a satisfactory qualifying 
race before resuming racing;

8.3.5.9.4.3 3rd time - 30 days, and 
the horse shall be added to the Steward's List, to be removed 
at the discretion of the Commission Veterinarian following a 
satisfactory qualifying race after the mandatory 30-day rest 
period; and

8.3.5.9.4.4 4th time - barred for life.
8.3.5.9.5 An owner or trainer must 

notify the Commission Veterinarian immediately of evidence 
that a horse is bleeding following exercise or racing.

8.3.5.9.6 A horse may be removed 
from the Bleeder List at the request of the owner or trainer, if 
the horse completes a 10-day rest period following such 
request, and then re-qualifies.

8.3.5.9.7 Any horse on the Bleeder 
List which races in a jurisdiction where it is not eligible for 
bleeder medication, whether such ineligibility is due to the 
fact that it does not qualify for bleeder medication in that 
jurisdiction or because bleeder medication is prohibited in 
that jurisdiction, shall automatically remain on the Bleeder 
List at the discretion of the owner or trainer, provided that 
such decision by the owner or trainer must be declared at the 
time of the first subsequent entry in Delaware, and the Lasix 
symbol in the program shall appropriately reflect that the 
horse did not receive Lasix its last time out.  Such an election 
by the owner or trainer shall not preclude the Commission 
Veterinarian, State Steward or Presiding Judge from 
requiring re-qualification whenever a horse on the Bleeder 
List races in another jurisdiction without bleeder medication, 
and the integrity of the Bleeder List may be questioned.

8.3.5.9.8 Any horse on the Bleeder 
List which races without Lasix in any jurisdiction which 
permits the use of Lasix shall automatically be removed 
from the Bleeder List. In order to be restored to the Bleeder 
List, the horse must demonstrate EIPH in accordance with 
the criteria set forth in subdivision 1 above.  If the horse does 
demonstrate EIPH and is restored to the Bleeder List, the 
horse shall be suspended from racing in accordance with the 
provisions of 8.3.6.4 above.
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8.3.5.9.9 The State Steward or 
Presiding Judge, in consultation with the State veterinarian, 
will rule on any questions relating to the Bleeder List.

8.3.5.10 Medication Program Entries
It is the responsibility of the trainer at the 

time of entry of a horse to provide the racing secretary with 
the bleeder medication status of the horse on the entry blank, 
and also to provide the Commission Veterinarian with a 
bleeder certificate, if the horse previously raced out-of-state 
on bleeder medication.

8.3.6 Phenylbutazone (Bute)
8.3.6.1 General

8.3.6.1.1 Phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone may be administered to horses three years 
of age and older in such dosage amount that the official test 
sample shall contain not more than 2.0 micrograms per 
milliliter of blood plasma. Phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone is not permissible at any level in horses 
two years of age and if phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone 
is present in any post-race sample from a two year old horse, 
said horse shall be disqualified, shall forfeit any purse 
money, and the trainer shall be subject to penalties including 
up to a $1,000 fine and up to a fifty day suspension.

8.3.6.1.2 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 2.0 but not more than 2.6 
micrograms per milliliter of blood plasma of phenylbutazone 
or oxyphenbutazone, then warnings shall be issued to the 
trainer.

8.3.6.1.3 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 2.6 micrograms per milliliter 
of blood plasma of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone, 
then a penalty shall be imposed as follows:

8.3.6.1.3.1 For an average between 
2.6 and less than 5.0 micrograms per milliliter:

8.3.6.1.3.1.1 If such overage is 
the first violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up 
to a $250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.2 If such overage is 
the second violation of this rule within a 12-month period: 
Up to a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.3 If such overage is 
the third violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up 
to a $1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss of 
purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.4 For an overage of 
5.0 micrograms or more per milliliter: Up to a $1,000 fine 
and up to a 5-day suspension and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.4 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race any quantity of phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone, and also carried in its body at the time of 
the running of the race any quantity of any other non-

steroidal anti-inflammatory drug, including but not limited 
to naproxen, flunixin and meclofenamic acid, then such 
presence of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone, shall 
constitute a violation of this rule and shall be subject to a 
penalty of up to a $1,000 fine and up to a 50-day suspension 
and loss of purse.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(e) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 106

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C.  §122(d)

106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware 
Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
New Regulations

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to adopt regulations 106 Teacher 
Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS II), 107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware 
Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) and 108 
Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II).  The development of these 
regulations by the Department of Education was mandated in 
14 Del.C. §1270(b).

These regulations shall be effective July 1, 2005 for all 
teachers, specialists and administrators.  However, for the 
teachers, specialists and administrators in those districts that 
are participating in the pilot of this process the effective date 
shall be July 1, 2004.  

These regulations will replace the three existing 
regulations for DPAS I, 110 Teachers and Specialists 
Appraisal Process, 112 Addendum to Teachers and 
Specialists Appraisal Process and 115 School Level 
Administrator Appraisal Process on July 1, 2005.  The new 
regulations 106, 107 and 108 have the added component of 
student achievement as one of the evaluation elements and 
108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System includes all administrators not just 
building level administrators.

These regulations are being re-advertised because of the 
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changes made to most sections of the regulations in response 
to comments made.  The regulations were previously 
advertised in the March 1, 2004 Volume 7, Issue 9 of the 
Register of Regulations.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulations help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The regulations are concerned with improving 
teacher, specialist and administrator quality which relates to 
student improvement.  This is the last piece of the 
accountability system.

2. Will the regulations help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? The regulations address a 
staff appraisal process, not equity issues for students.

3. Will the regulations help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The regulations 
address a staff appraisal process, not students’ health and 
safety.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The regulations address a staff 
appraisal process, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the regulations preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The regulations will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The regulations 
will require new training and different procedures for the 
evaluation of staff in Delaware schools.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subjects to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subjects to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulations be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The regulations 
will be consistent with and not an impediment to the 
implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulations? The Delaware Code requires 
that the Department of Education promulgate regulations for 
a performance appraisal system for teachers, specialists and 
administrators.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  The cost for these 

new regulations should not be more than the existing 
appraisal system.

106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 Teacher Appraisal Process shall be effective July 1, 
2005 for all teachers; however, for teachers in those districts 
which are participating in the pilot of this process the 
effective date shall be July 1, 2004.

1.1 For teachers participating in the pilot, any rating 
received on a Summative Evaluation conducted during the 
pilot period shall not be included in the determination of a 
pattern of ineffective teaching as defined in 7.0.

2.0 Definitions
“Announced Observation” shall consist of the Pre-

Observation Form and conference with the evaluator, an 
observation by the evaluator at an agreed upon date and 
time, and the associated formative conferences/reports.  The 
observation shall be of sufficient length, at least twenty (20) 
minutes, to analyze the lesson and assess performance.

“Board” shall mean a local board of education or 
charter school board of directors.

“Certified Evaluator” shall mean the individual, 
usually the supervisor of the teacher, who has successfully 
completed the evaluation training in accordance with 9.0.

“DPAS” shall mean the Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System in effect prior to July 1, 2005.

“Experienced Teacher” shall mean a teacher who 
holds valid and current Continuing or Advanced License, or 
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to 
August 1, 2003.

“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that a teacher 
and evaluator mutually develop in accordance with section 
8.0.

“Novice Teacher” shall mean a teacher who holds a 
valid and current Initial License.

“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the 
teacher understands the concepts of the component and the 
teacher’s performance in that component is acceptable.  

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be equivalent to the 
overall “Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on the 
Summative Evaluation.

“Summative Evaluation” shall be the rating process at 
the conclusion of the appraisal cycle.

“Technical Assistance Document” shall mean the 
manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 
procedures, evaluation criteria and other relevant documents 
that assist in the appraisal process.

“Unannounced Observation” shall consist of an 
observation by the evaluator at a date and time that has not 
been previously arranged and the associated formative 
conferences/reports. The observation shall be of sufficient 
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length, at least twenty (20) minutes, to analyze the lesson 
and assess performance.

“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean that 
the teacher does not understand the concepts of the 
component and the teacher’s performance in that component 
is not acceptable.

“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to 
the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

3.0 Appraisal Cycles
3.1 Experienced teachers who have earned a rating of 

“Effective” on their most recent Summative Evaluation shall 
receive a minimum of one (1) Announced Observation each 
year with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year 
period.  The minimum annual evaluation for an experienced 
teacher who has earned an effective rating, may be waived 
for the subsequent year but not for two (2) consecutive years. 
During the first full year of implementation, half of the 
experienced teachers in a building who received a rating of 
“Effective” or “Exemplary” on the most recent DPAS 
Performance Appraisal may have the annual Summative 
Evaluation waived.

3.2 Experienced teachers who have earned a rating of 
“Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most recent 
Summative Evaluation shall receive a minimum of one (1) 
Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  These teachers shall have an Improvement 
Plan which may require additional observations and other 
types of monitoring as outlined in the Technical Assistance 
Document.

3.3 Novice teachers shall receive a minimum of one (1) 
Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  Novice teachers who have earned a rating 
of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most 
recent Summative Evaluation shall have an Improvement 
Plan which may require additional observations or other 
types of monitoring as outlined in the Technical Assistance 
Document.

4.0 Technical Assistance Document
4.1 All districts and charter schools shall use the 

document entitled Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS) II Technical Assistance Document as developed by 
the Department of Education to assist in the implementation 
of the appraisal system.  The Technical Assistance 
Document shall be reviewed biannually by the State Board 
of Education.  Any recommendations for change shall be 
submitted to the Department of Education for consideration.

4.2 The Document shall contain, at a minimum, the 
following:

4.2.1 Specific details about each of the five (5) 

components listed in 5.1.
4.2.2 All forms or documents needed to 

complete the requirements of the appraisal process including 
Announced Observation, Unannounced Observation, 
Summative Evaluation, Improvement Plan and Challenge 
Form.

4.2.3 Specific procedures for observations, 
conferences, ratings, Summative Evaluation, Improvement 
Plan(s), and Challenges.

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following five (5) components shall be the 

basis upon which the performance of a teacher shall be 
evaluated by a certified evaluator:

5.1.1 Planning and Preparation
5.1.1.1 Reserved

5.1.2 Classroom Environment
5.1.2.1 Reserved

5.1.3 Instruction
5.1.3.1 Reserved

5.1.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.1.4.1 Reserved

5.1.5 Student Improvement
5.1.5.1 Reserved

5.2 Each of the five (5) components shall be weighted 
equally and assigned a rating of Satisfactory or 
Unsatisfactory on the Summative Evaluation.

5.2.1 Reserved
5.2.2 Reserved
5.2.3 Reserved
5.2.4 Reserved
5.2.5 Reserved

6.0 Summative Evaluation Ratings
6.1 The Summative Evaluation shall include ratings of 

Satisfactory or Unsatisfactory on each of the five (5) 
components pursuant to 5.0.

6.2 The Summative Evaluation shall also include one 
of three overall ratings: “Effective”, “Needs Improvement”, 
or “Ineffective”.

6.2.1 Effective shall mean that the teacher has 
received Satisfactory Component ratings in all five (5) 
components of the appraisal criteria.

6.2.2 Needs Improvement shall mean that the 
teacher has received at least three (3) Satisfactory 
Component ratings out of the five (5) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.2.1 A teacher who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available 
for the current group of students the teacher is instructing.

6.2.3 Ineffective shall mean that the teacher has 
received three (3) or more Unsatisfactory Component ratings 
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out of the five (5) components of the appraisal criteria.
6.2.3.1 A teacher who has received an 

unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available 
for the current group of students the teacher is instructing.

6.2.3.2 If the teacher’s overall Summative 
Evaluation rating is determined to be “Needs Improvement” 
for the third consecutive year, the rating shall be re-
categorized as Ineffective. 

7.0 A pattern of ineffective teaching shall be based on the 
most recent appraisal ratings of a teacher using the DPAS II 
process. Two consecutive ratings of Ineffective shall be 
deemed as a pattern of ineffective teaching.  The following 
appraisal ratings shall be determined to be a pattern of 
ineffective teaching:

8.0 Improvement Plan
8.1 An Improvement Plan shall be developed for a 

teacher who receives an overall rating of Needs 
Improvement or Ineffective on the Summative Evaluation or 
a rating of Unsatisfactory (Unsatisfactory Component 
Rating) on any component on the Summative Evaluation 
regardless of the overall rating.

8.1.1 An Improvement Plan shall also be 
developed if a teacher’s performance during an observed 
lesson is unsatisfactory.  This unsatisfactory performance 
shall be noted by the evaluator on the Formative Feedback 
form by typing “PERFORMANCE IS 
UNSATISFACTORY” and initialing the statement.

8.2 The Improvement Plan shall contain the following:
8.2.1 Identification of the specific deficiencies 

and recommended area(s) for growth;
8.2.2 Measurable goals for improving the 

deficiencies to satisfactory levels;
8.2.3 Specific professional development or 

activities to accomplish the goals;
8.2.4 Specific resources necessary to implement 

the plan, including but not limited to, opportunities for the 
teacher to work with curriculum specialist(s), subject-area 
specialist(s), instructional specialist(s) or others with 
relevant expertise;

8.2.5 Procedures and evidence that must be 

collected to determine that the goals of the plan were met;
8.2.6 Timeline for the plan, including 

intermediate check points to determine progress;
8.2.7 Procedures for determining satisfactory 

improvement.
8.3 The Improvement Plan shall be developed 

cooperatively by the teacher and evaluator.  If the plan 
cannot be cooperatively developed, the evaluator shall have 
the authority and responsibility to determine the plan as 
specified in 8.2 above.

8.4 The teacher shall be held accountable for the 
implementation and completion of the Improvement Plan.

8.5 Upon completion of the Improvement Plan, the 
teacher and evaluator shall sign the documentation that 
determines the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of 
the plan.

9.0 Evaluator Credentials
9.1 Evaluators shall have completed the DPAS II 

training as developed by the Department of Education. 
Evaluators shall receive a certificate of completion which is 
valid for five (5) years and is renewable upon completion of 
professional development focused on DPAS II as specified 
by the Department of Education.

9.2 The training for the certificate of completion shall 
include techniques of observation and conferencing, content 
and relationships of frameworks for teaching training and a 
thorough review of the Technical Assistance Document. 
Activities in which participants practice implementation of 
DPAS II procedures shall be included in the training.

9.3 The credentialing process shall be conducted by the 
Department of Education.

10.0 Challenge Process
10.1 A teacher may challenge any rating on the 

Summative Evaluation, either a Component Rating or the 
Overall Rating, or a teacher may challenge the conclusions 
of a lesson observation if the statement “PERFORMANCE 
IS UNSATISFACTORY” has been included on the 
Formative Feedback form by submitting additional 
information specific to the point of disagreement in writing 
within ten (10) working days of the date of the teacher’s 
receipt of the Summative Evaluation.  Such written response 
shall become part of the appraisal record and shall be 
attached to the Summative Evaluation.  All challenges 
together with the record shall be forwarded to the supervisor 
of the evaluator.

10.1.1 Within ten (10) working days of receiving 
the written challenge, the supervisor of the evaluator shall 
review the record which consists of the Pre-observation 
Form(s), the Formative Feedback Form(s), the Summative 
Evaluation and the written challenge, and issue a written 
decision. 

10.1.2 If the challenge is denied, the decision 

Ineffective Ineffective
Needs Improvement Ineffective Needs 

Improvement
Needs Improvement Needs Improvement Ineffective
Ineffective Needs Improvement Ineffective
Ineffective Needs Improvement Needs 

Improvement
Needs Improvement Ineffective Ineffective
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shall state the reasons for denial.
10.1.3 The decision of the supervisor of the 

evaluator shall be final.

107  Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 Specialist Appraisal Process shall be effective July 1, 
2005 for all specialists; however, for specialists in those 
districts which are participating in the pilot of this process 
the effective date shall be July 1, 2004.

1.1 For specialists participating in the pilot, any rating 
received on a Summative Evaluation conducted during the 
pilot period shall not be included in the determination of a 
pattern of ineffective practice as defined below.

1.2 Specialist shall mean a licensed and certificated 
staff person who is part of the school team and delivers 
professional services to students, teachers, staff and/or 
families. Specialists include but are not limited to guidance 
counselors, instructional support specialists, library media 
specialists, school psychologists, school nurses, student 
support specialists, and therapeutic services specialists.

2.0 Definitions
“Announced Observation” shall consist of the Pre-

Observation Form and conference with the evaluator, an 
observation by the evaluator at an agreed upon date and 
time, and the associated formative conferences/reports.  The 
observation for the specialist may be a collection of data 
over a specified period of time, up to four (4) weeks, or it 
may be an observation of sufficient length to gather 
appropriate data but not less than twenty (20) minutes.

“Board” shall mean a local board of education or a 
charter school board of directors.

“Certified Evaluator” shall mean the individual, 
usually the supervisor of the specialist, who has successfully 
completed the evaluation training in accordance with 9.0.

“DPAS” shall mean the Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System in effect prior to July 1, 2005.

“Experienced Specialist” is a specialist who holds a 
valid and current Continuing or Advanced License, or 
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to 
August 1, 2003 or holds a valid and current license from 
their respective licensure body.

“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that a specialist 
and evaluator mutually develop in accordance with section 
8.0.

“Novice Specialist” is a specialist who holds a valid 
and current Initial License or holds a valid and current 
license from their respective licensure body and has less than 
three (3) years of experience as a specialist.

“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the 
specialist understands the concepts of the component and the 
specialist’s performance in that component is acceptable.

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be equivalent to the 
overall “Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on the 
Summative Evaluation.

“Summative Evaluation” shall be the rating process at 
the conclusion of the appraisal cycle.

“Technical Assistance Document” shall mean the 
manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 
procedures, evaluation criteria and other relevant documents 
that assist in the appraisal process.

“Unannounced Observation” shall consist of an 
observation by the evaluator at a date and time that has not 
been previously arranged and the associated formative 
conferences/reports. The unannounced observation for the 
specialist may be an observation of sufficient length to 
gather appropriate data but not less than twenty (20) 
minutes.

“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean that 
the specialist does not understand the concepts of the 
component and the specialist’s performance in that 
component is not acceptable.

“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to 
the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

3.0 Appraisal Cycles
3.1 Experienced specialists who have earned a rating of 

“Effective” on their most recent Summative Evaluation shall 
receive a minimum of one (1) Announced Observation each 
year with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year 
period.  This minimum annual evaluation for an experienced 
specialist who has earned an effective rating may be waived 
for the subsequent year but not for two (2) consecutive years. 
During the first full year of implementation, half of the 
experienced specialists in a building who received a rating of 
“Effective” or “Exemplary” on the most recent DPAS 
Performance Appraisal Summative Evaluation may have the 
annual Summative Evaluation waived.

3.2 Experienced  specialists who have earned a rating 
of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most 
recent Summative Evaluation shall receive a minimum of 
one (1) Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  These specialists shall have an 
Improvement Plan which may require additional 
observations and other types of monitoring as outlined in the 
Technical Assistance Document.

3.3 Novice specialists shall receive a minimum of one 
(1) Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  Novice specialists who have earned a rating 
of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most 
recent Summative Evaluation shall have an Improvement 
Plan which may require additional observations or other 
types of monitoring as outlined in the Technical Assistance 
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Document.

4.0 Technical Assistance Document
4.1 All districts and charter schools shall use the 

document entitled Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS) II Technical Assistance Document as developed by 
the Department of Education to assist in the implementation 
of the appraisal system.  The Technical Assistance 
Document shall be reviewed biannually by the State Board 
of Education.  Any recommendations for change shall be 
submitted to the Department of Education for consideration.

4.2 The Document shall contain, at a minimum, the 
following:

4.2.1 Specific details about each of the five (5) 
components listed in 5.1.

4.2.2 All forms or documents needed to 
complete the requirements of the appraisal process including 
Announced Observation, Unannounced Observation, 
Summative Evaluation, Improvement Plan and Challenge 
Form.

4.2.3 Specific procedures for observations, 
conferences, ratings, Summative Evaluation, Improvement 
Plan(s), and Challenges.

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following five (5) components shall be the 

basis upon which the performance of a specialist shall be 
evaluated by a certified evaluator:

5.1.1 Planning and Preparation
5.1.1.1 Reserved

5.1.2 Professional Practice and Delivery of 
Service

5.1.2.1 Reserved
5.1.3 Professional Collaboration and 

Consultation
5.1.3.1 Reserved

5.1.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.1.4.1 Reserved

5.1.5 Student Improvement
5.1.5.1 Reserved

5.2 Each of the five (5) components shall be weighted 
equally and  assigned a rating of Satisfactory or 
Unsatisfactory on the Summative Evaluation.  

5.2.1 Reserved
5.2.2 Reserved
5.2.3 Reserved
5.2.4 Reserved
5.2.5 Reserved

6.0 Summative Evaluation Ratings
6.1 The Summative Evaluation shall include ratings of 

Satisfactory or Unsatisfactory on each of the five (5) 
components pursuant to 5.0.

6.2 The Summative Evaluation shall also include one 

of three overall ratings: “Effective”, “Needs Improvement” 
or “Ineffective”.

6.2.1 Effective shall mean that the specialist has 
received Satisfactory Component ratings in all five (5) 
components of the appraisal criteria.

6.2.2 Needs Improvement shall mean that the 
specialist has received at least three (3) Satisfactory 
Component ratings out of the five (5) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.2.1 A specialist who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available 
for the current group of students being served by the 
specialist.

6.2.3 Ineffective shall mean that the specialist 
has received three (3) or more Unsatisfactory Component 
ratings out of the five (5) components of the appraisal 
criteria.

6.2.3.1 A specialist who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available 
for the current group of students being served by the 
specialist.

6.2.3.2 If a specialist’s overall Summative 
Evaluation rating is determined to be “Needs Improvement” 
for the third consecutive year, the rating shall be re-
categorized as Ineffective.

7.0 A pattern of ineffective practice shall be based on the 
most recent appraisal ratings of a specialist using the DPAS 
II process.  Two consecutive ratings of Ineffective shall be 
deemed as a pattern of ineffective practice.  The following 
appraisal ratings shall be determined to be a pattern of 
ineffective practice:

8.0 Improvement Plan
8.1 An Improvement Plan shall be developed for a 

specialist who receives an overall rating of Needs 
Improvement or Ineffective on the Summative Evaluation or 
a rating of Unsatisfactory (Unsatisfactory Component 

Ineffective Ineffective
Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Needs Improvement Ineffective

Ineffective Needs Improvement Ineffective
Ineffective Needs Improvement Needs 

Improvement
Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Ineffective
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Rating) on any component on the Summative Evaluation 
regardless of the overall rating.

8.1.1 An Improvement Plan shall also be 
developed if a specialist’s performance during an 
observation is unsatisfactory.  This unsatisfactory 
performance shall be noted by the evaluator on the 
Formative Feedback form by typing “PERFORMANCE IS 
UNSATISFACTORY” and initialing the statement.

8.2 The Improvement Plan shall contain the following:
8.2.1 Identification of the specific deficiencies 

and recommended area(s) for growth;
8.2.2 Measurable goals for improving the 

deficiencies to satisfactory levels;
8.2.3 Specific professional development or 

activities to accomplish the goals;
8.2.4 Specific resources necessary to implement 

the plan, including but not limited to, opportunities for the 
specialist to work with curriculum specialist(s), subject-area 
specialist(s), instructional specialist(s) or others with 
relevant expertise;

8.2.5 Procedures and evidence that must be 
collected to determine that the goals of the plan were met;

8.2.6 Timeline for the plan, including 
intermediate check points to determine progress;

8.2.7 Procedures for determining satisfactory 
improvement.

8.3 The Improvement Plan shall be developed 
cooperatively by the specialist and evaluator.  If the plan 
cannot be cooperatively developed, the evaluator shall have 
the authority and responsibility to determine the plan as 
specified in 8.2 above.

8.4 The specialist shall be held accountable for the 
implementation and completion of the Improvement Plan.

8.5 Upon completion of the Improvement Plan, the 
specialist and evaluator shall sign the documentation that 
determines the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of 
the plan.

9.0 Evaluator Credentials
9.1 Evaluators shall have completed the DPAS II 

training as developed by the Department of Education. 
Evaluators shall receive a certificate of completion which is 
valid for five (5) years and is renewable upon completion of 
professional development focused on DPAS II as specified 
by the Department of Education.

9.2 The training for the certificate of completion shall 
include techniques for observation and conferencing, content 
and relationships of frameworks for practice and a thorough 
review of the Technical Assistance Document.  Activities in 
which participants practice implementation of DPAS II 
procedures shall be included in the training.

9.3 The credentialing process shall be conducted by the 
Department of Education.

10.0 Challenge Process
10.1 A specialist may challenge any rating on the 

Summative Evaluation, either a Component Rating or the 
Overall Rating, or a specialist may challenge the conclusions 
of an observation if the statement “PERFORMANCE IS 
UNSATISFACTORY” has been included on the Formative 
Feedback form by submitting additional information specific 
to the point of disagreement in writing within ten (10) 
working days of the date of the specialist’s receipt of the 
Summative Evaluation.  Such written response shall become 
part of the appraisal record and shall be attached to the 
Summative Evaluation.  All challenges together with the 
record  shall be forwarded to the supervisor of the evaluator.

10.1.1 Within ten (10) working days of receiving 
the written challenge, the supervisor of the evaluator shall 
review the record which consists of the Pre-observation 
Form(s) the Formative Feedback Form(s), the Summative 
Evaluation and the written challenge, and issue a written 
decision.

10.1.2 If the challenge is denied, the decision 
shall state the reasons for denial.

10.1.3 The decision of the supervisor of the 
evaluator shall be final.

108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware 
Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 Administrator Appraisal Process shall be effective July 
1, 2005 for all administrators; however, for administrators in 
those districts which are participating in the pilot of this 
process the effective date shall be July 1, 2004.

1.1 For administrators participating in the pilot, any 
rating received on a Summative Evaluation conducted 
during the pilot period shall not be included in the 
determination of a pattern of ineffective administration as 
defined in 7.0.

1.2 For purposes of this regulation, an administrator is 
a professional employee of a board in a supervisory capacity 
involving the oversight of an instructional program(s).

2.0 Definitions
“Board” shall mean the local board of education or 

charter school board of directors.
“Certified Evaluator" shall mean the individual, 

usually the supervisor of the administrator, who has 
successfully completed the evaluation training in accordance 
with 9.0.  A superintendent shall be evaluated by member(s) 
of the local school board of education who shall also have 
successfully completed the evaluation training in accordance 
with 9.0.

“DPAS" shall mean the Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System in effect prior to July 1, 2005.

“Experienced Administrator” shall mean an 
administrator who has three (3) or more years of service as 
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an administrator.
“Formative Process” shall consist of the Goal Setting 

Conference, self evaluation, a survey of staff that are 
supervised by the administrator, and formative conferences/
reports.

“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that an 
administrator and evaluator mutually develop in accordance 
with section 8.0.

“Inexperienced Administrator” shall mean an 
administrator who has less than three (3) years of service as 
an administrator.

“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the 
administrator understands the concepts of the component 
and the administrator’s performance in that component is 
acceptable.

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be equivalent to the 
overall “Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on the 
Summative Evaluation.

“Summative Evaluation” shall be the rating 
component at the conclusion of the appraisal cycle.

“Technical Assistance Document” shall mean the 
manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 
procedures, evaluation criteria and other relevant documents 
that assist in the appraisal process.

“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean  the 
administrator does not understand the concepts of the 
component and the administrator’s performance in that 
component is not acceptable.

“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to 
the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

3.0 Appraisal Cycles
3.1 Experienced administrators who have earned a 

rating of “Effective” on their most recent Summative 
Evaluation shall go through a minimum of one (1) Formative 
Process each year with a Summative Evaluation at the end of 
the one year period.  This minimum annual evaluation may 
be waived for the subsequent year but not for two (2) 
consecutive years.  During the first full year of 
implementation, half of the experienced  administrators in a 
building who received a rating of “Effective” or 
“Exemplary” on the most recent Summative Evaluation may 
have the annual Summative Evaluation waived.

3.2 Experienced administrators who have earned a 
rating of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their 
most recent Summative Evaluation shall go through a 
minimum of two (2) Formative Process(es) with a 
Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year period. 
These administrators shall have an Improvement Plan which 
may require an administrator to go through additional 
Formative Process(es) or other types of monitoring as 
outlined in the Technical Assistance Document.

3.3 Inexperienced administrators shall go through a 

minimum of two (2) Formative Process(es) with a 
Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year period. 
Inexperienced administrators who have earned a rating of 
“Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most recent 
Summative Evaluation shall have an Improvement Plan 
which may require an administrator go through additional 
Formative Process(es) or other types of monitoring as 
outlined in the Technical Assistance Document.

4.0 Technical Assistance Document
4.1 All districts and charter schools shall use the 

document entitled Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS) II Technical Assistance Document as developed by 
the Department of Education to assist in the implementation 
of the appraisal system.  The Technical Assistance 
Document shall be reviewed biannually by the State Board 
of Education.  Any recommendations for change shall be 
submitted to the Department of Education for consideration.

4.1.1 The Document shall contain at a minimum 
the following:

4.1.1.1 Specific details about each of the four 
(4) components pursuant to 5.0.

4.1.1.2 All forms or documents needed to 
complete the requirements of the appraisal process including 
the Formative Process, Summative Evaluation, Improvement 
Plan and Challenge Form.

4.1.1.3 Specific procedures for the Formative 
Process, conferences, ratings, Summative Evaluation, 
Improvement Plan(s), and Challenges.

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following four (4) components shall be the 

basis upon which the performance of an administrator shall 
be evaluated by a certified evaluator(s):

5.1.1 Assessment of Leader Standards
5.1.1.1 Reserved

5.1.2Assessment on Goals and Priorities
5.1.2.1 Reserved

5.1.3 Assessment on the School or District 
Improvement Plan

5.1.3.1 Reserved
5.1.4 Assessment on Measures of Student 

Improvement
5.1.4.1 Reserved

5.2 Each of the four (4) components shall be equally 
weighted and  assigned a rating of Satisfactory or 
Unsatisfactory on the Summative Evaluation.  

5.2.1 Reserved
5.2.2 Reserved
5.2.3 Reserved
5.2.4 Reserved

6.0 Summative Evaluation Ratings
6.1 The Summative Evaluation shall include ratings of 
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Satisfactory or Unsatisfactory on each of the four (4) 
components pursuant to 5.0.

6.2 The Summative Evaluation shall also include one 
of three overall ratings: “Effective”, “Needs Improvement” 
or “Ineffective”.

6.2.1 Effective shall mean that the administrator 
has received Satisfactory Component ratings in all four (4) 
components of the appraisal criteria.

6.2.2 Needs Improvement shall mean that the 
administrator has received one (1) Unsatisfactory 
Component rating out of the four (4) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.2.1 An administrator who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available.

6.2.3 Ineffective shall mean that the 
administrator has received two (2) or more Unsatisfactory 
Component ratings out of the four (4) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.3.1 An administrator who has received an 
unsatisfactory rating on the student improvement component 
may have their next Summative Evaluation delayed until the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) data is available.

6.2.3.2 If an administrator’s overall 
Summative Evaluation rating is determined to be “Needs 
Improvement” for the third consecutive year, the rating shall 
be re-categorized as Ineffective.

7.0 A pattern of ineffective administrative performance 
shall be based on the most recent appraisal ratings of an 
administrator using the DPAS II process.  Two consecutive 
ratings of Ineffective shall be deemed as a pattern of 
ineffective administration.  The following appraisal ratings 
shall be determined to be a pattern of ineffective 
administration:

8.0 Improvement Plan
8.1 An Improvement Plan shall be developed for an 

administrator who receives an overall rating of Needs 
Improvement or Ineffective on the Summative Evaluation or 

a rating of Unsatisfactory (Unsatisfactory Component 
Rating) on any component on the Summative Evaluation 
regardless of the overall rating.

8.1.1 An Improvement Plan shall also be 
developed if an administrator’s performance during the 
Formative Process is unsatisfactory.  This unsatisfactory 
performance shall be noted by the evaluator(s) on the 
Formative Feedback form by typing “PERFORMANCE IS 
UNSATISFACTORY” and initialing the statement.

8.2 The Improvement Plan shall contain the following:
8.2.1 Identification of the specific deficiencies 

and recommended area(s) for growth;
8.2.2 Measurable goals for improving the 

deficiencies to satisfactory levels;
8.2.3 Specific professional development or 

activities to accomplish the goals;
8.2.4 Specific resources necessary to implement 

the plan, including but not limited to, opportunities for the 
administrator to work with curriculum specialist(s) or other 
administrator(s) with relevant experience;

8.2.5 Procedures and evidence that must be 
collected to determine that the goals of the plan were met;

8.2.6 Timeline for the plan, including 
intermediate check points to determine progress;

8.2.7 Procedures for determining satisfactory 
improvement.

8.3 The Improvement Plan shall be developed 
cooperatively by the administrator and evaluator.  If the plan 
cannot be cooperatively developed, the evaluator shall have 
the authority and responsibility to determine the plan as 
specified in 8.2 above.

8.4 The administrator shall be held accountable for the 
implementation and completion of the Improvement Plan.

8.5 Upon completion of the Improvement Plan, the 
administrator and evaluator(s) shall sign the documentation 
that determines the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion 
of the plan.

9.0 Evaluator(s) Credentials
9.1 Evaluators shall have completed the DPAS II 

training as developed by the Department of Education. 
Evaluators shall receive a certificate of completion which is 
valid for five (5) years and is renewable upon completion of 
professional development focused on DPAS II as specified 
by the Department of Education.

9.2 The training for the certificate of completion shall 
include techniques for observation and conferencing, content 
and relationships of ISLLC standards, and a thorough review 
of the Technical Assistance Document.  Activities in which 
participants practice implementation of DPAS II procedures 
shall be included in the training.

9.3 The credentialing process shall be conducted by the 
Department of Education.

Ineffective Ineffective
Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Ineffective
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10.0 Challenge Process
10.1 An administrator may challenge any rating on 

the Summative Evaluation, either a Component Rating or the 
Overall Rating, or an administrator may challenge the 
conclusions of the Formative Process in the statement 
“PERFORMANCE IS UNSATISFACTORY” has been 
included on the Formative Feedback form by submitting 
additional information specific to the point of disagreement 
in writing within ten (10) working days of the date of 
administrator’s receipt of the Summative Evaluation.  Such 
written response shall become part of the appraisal record 
and shall be attached to the Summative Evaluation.  All 
challenges together with the record shall be forwarded to the 
supervisor of the evaluator.

10.1.1 Within ten (10) working days of receiving 
the written challenge, the supervisor of the evaluator shall 
review the record which consists of information from the 
Formative Process, the Summative Evaluation and the 
written challenge, and issue a written decision.

10.1.2 If the challenge is denied, the decision 
shall state the reasons for denial.

10.1.3 The decision of the supervisor of the 
evaluator shall be final.

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. §122(d)

805  The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control 
Program

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation 

805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program. 
The amendments change the requirement for school staff and 
new school enterers concerning the Mantoux tuberculin skin 
test.  

School staff continue to be required to have the 
Mantoux tuberculin skin test within 12 months of 
employment and be assessed; but every five years thereafter 
the assessment will be done via  the Department of 
Education TB Health Questionnaire for School Employees 
rather than a Mantoux TB skin test as previously required.

All new school enterers shall show proof of Mantoux 
tuberculin skin test results from a test administered within 
the past 12 months or the results of a TB risk assessment 
questionnaire which may be administered by the school 
nurse and the definition of “new school enterers” has been 
changed.

Procedures for volunteers 2.0 and positive reactors 4.0 

remain the same.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses TB testing not 
achievement standards.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? The amended regulation 
addresses TB testing not equity issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The amended 
regulation addresses TB testing which is a health and safety 
issue and the change from requiring a skin test to using a 
questionnaire is recommended by the Delaware Division of 
Public Health.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses TB testing not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
regulation will add the process of administering the 
questionnaire but will substantially reduce the amount of 
actual testing.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended 
regulation will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation? No, there is not a less 
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the 
regulation than amending the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no 
additional cost to the local school boards of compliance with 
the amended regulation.
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805  The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control 
Program

1.0 School Employees, Substitutes, Student Teachers, and 
Contract Employees - All school employees, substitutes, 
student teachers, and contract employees (including bus 
drivers) shall receive the Mantoux tuberculin skin test or 
show proof of being tested in the past 12 months during the 
first 15 working days of employment.

1.1 Present employees, substitutes, and contract 
employees shall show proof of Mantoux tuberculin skin test 
results to the district designee by October 15, every fifth year 
of employment.

1.2 Student teachers need not be retested if they move 
from district to district as part of their student teaching 
assignments.

2.0 Volunteers - Volunteers, those persons who give their 
time to help others for no monetary reward and who share 
the same air space with students and staff on a regularly 
scheduled basis, shall complete the Delaware Department of 
Education’s Health Questionnaire for Volunteers in Public 
Schools prior to their assignment. Should the volunteer 
answer affirmatively to any of the questions, he/she must 
provide proof of a Mantoux tuberculin skin test in the past 12 
months before beginning their assignment.

2.1 Volunteers shall complete the Delaware 
Department of Education’s Health Questionnaire for 
Volunteers in Public Schools every fifth year.

2.1.1The district designee(s) shall collect and 
monitor the volunteer questionnaires. These questionnaires 
will be stored in the School Nurse’s office in a confidential 
manner.

3.0 Students - All new school enterers shall show proof of a 
Mantoux tuberculin skin test results within the past 12 
months or follow the recommendations of the American 
Academy of Pediatrics (AAP).  Health Care Providers must 
send documentation of the decisions. Multi- puncture skin 
tests will not be accepted. A school enterer is defined as any 
child between the ages of one year and 21 years entering or 
being admitted to a Delaware school district for the first 
time, including but not limited to, foreign exchange students, 
immigrants, students from other states and territories, and 
children entering from nonpublic schools.

3.1 School nurses shall record the results of the 
Mantoux tuberculin skin test in the School Health Record.

3.2 Tuberculin skin test requirements may be waived 
for children whose parent(s) or guardian(s) present a 
notarized document that tuberculin skin testing is against 
their religious beliefs.

4.0 Positive Reactors
4.1 Positive reactors (those currently identified and 

those with a history) need verification from a Health Care 
Provider or Division of Public Health indicating:

4.1.1Skin test reaction recorded in millimeters.
4.1.2Current disease status, i.e. contagious or 

non-contagious.
4.1.3Current treatment, completion of preventive 

treatment for TB infection, or chemotherapy for TB disease.
4.1.4Date when the individual may return to their 

school assignment without posing a risk to the school 
setting.

4.2 If documentation of the test is available, the known 
positive reactor need not have this tuberculin skin test but 
provide the above information related to disease status and 
treatment.

4.1.1Verification from a Health Care Provider or 
Division of Public Health shall be required only once if 
treatment was completed successfully.

4.2 If documentation of the test is unavailable, the 
individual should be tested.   If the individual refuses to be 
skin tested again, the individual shall provide from a Health 
Care Provider or the Division of Public Health information 
related to disease status and treatment.

4.3 Updated information regarding disease status and 
treatment shall be provided to the district designee by 
October 15 every fifth year if treatment was previously 
contraindicated, incomplete or unknown.

See 1 DE Reg. 1971 (6/1/98)
See 3 DE Reg. 440 (9/1/99)

805  The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control 
Program

1.0 School Staff and Extended Services Personnel 
1.1 Definition 

“School Staff and Extended Services Personnel”
means all persons hired as full or part time employees in a 
public school who are receiving compensation to work 
directly with students and staff.  This includes, but is not 
limited to teachers, administrators, substitutes, contract 
employees, bus drivers and student teachers whether 
compensated or not.

1.2 Public school staff and extended services personnel 
shall provide the Mantoux tuberculin skin test results from a 
test administered within the past 12 months during the first 
15 working days of employment. 

1.2.1 Student teachers need not be retested if 
they move from district to district as part of their student 
teaching assignments.

1.3 Every fifth year, by October 15th, public school 
staff and extended services personnel shall complete the 
Department of Education TB Health Questionnaire for 
School Employees and the questionnaire responses shall be 
retained in the individual’s personnel file.

1.3.1 If a public school staff member or 
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extended services personnel staff member answers 
affirmatively to any of the questions, he/she shall provide 
proof of Mantoux tuberculin skin test results from a test 
administered in the past 6 months by October 30th.

2.0 Volunteers
2.1 Definition:

“Volunteers” mean those persons who give their 
time to help others for no monetary reward and who share 
the same air space with public school students and staff on a 
regularly scheduled basis.

2.2 Volunteers shall complete the Delaware 
Department of Education’s Health Questionnaire for 
Volunteers in Public Schools prior to their assignment and 
every fifth year thereafter.

2.2.1 If the volunteer answers affirmatively to 
any of the questions, he/she must provide proof of Mantoux 
tuberculin skin test results from a test administered in the 
past 12 months before beginning his/her assignment.

2.3 Each public school (s) shall collect and monitor 
these questionnaires and store them in the School Nurse’s 
office in a confidential manner.

3.0 Students
3.1 Definition:

"New School Enterer" means any child between the 
ages of one year and twenty one (21) years entering or being 
admitted to a Delaware public school for the first time, 
including but not limited to, foreign exchange students, 
immigrants, students from other states and territories, and 
children entering from nonpublic schools.  For purposes of 
this regulation, "new school enterer" shall also include any 
child who is re-enrolled in a Delaware public school 
following travel or residency of six months in a location or 
facility identified by the Delaware Division of Public Health 
as an area at risk for TB exposure. 

3.2 All new public school enterers shall show proof of 
Mantoux tuberculin skin test results from a test administered 
within the past 12 months or the results of a TB risk 
assessment questionnaire.

3.2.1 Health Care Providers must send 
documentation of the test results or the risk assessment. 
Multi-puncture skin test results will not be accepted. 

3.2.2 Public school nurses who are trained in the 
use of the Department of Education TB Risk Assessment 
Questionnaire for Students may administer the questionnaire 
to parents, guardians or Relative Caregivers or to a school 
enterer who has reached the statutory age of majority (18) if 
the new enterer is in compliance with the other public school 
entry requirements for a current physical examination and 
up-to-date immunizations.

3.2.3 Public school nurses shall record the 
findings of the Department of Education TB Risk Assessment 
Questionnaire for Students and/or the results of the Mantoux 

tuberculin skin test in the School Health Record.
3.2.4 Tuberculin skin test requirements may be 

waived for public school children whose parent(s) or 
guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver(s) or a school enterer who 
has reached the statutory age of majority (18) presents a 
notarized document that tuberculin skin testing is against 
their religious beliefs.

4.0 Positive Reactors
4.1 Definition:

“Positive Reactor” means an individual currently 
identified as having TB or an individual with a history of 
TB. 

4.2 Positive Reactors need verification from a Health 
Care Provider or the Division of Public Health indicating 
the:

4.2.1 Skin test reaction recorded in millimeters;
4.2.2 Current disease status, i.e. contagious or 

non-contagious;
4.2.3 Current treatment, completion of 

preventive treatment for TB infection, or chemotherapy for 
TB disease and;

4.2.4 Date when the individual may return to 
their school assignment without posing a risk to the school 
setting.

4.3 If documentation of the test is available, the known 
positive reactor need not have this tuberculin skin test but 
provide the information in 4.2.2 through 4.2.4 related to 
disease status and treatment.

4.3.1 Verification from a Health Care Provider 
or Division of Public Health shall be required only once if 
treatment was completed successfully.

4.3.2 If documentation of the test is unavailable, 
the individual should be re-tested or re-assessed.  If the 
individual refuses to be skin tested again, the individual shall 
provide from a Health Care Provider or the Division of 
Public Health information related to disease status and 
treatment.

4.4 In the event the positive reactor shows any signs or 
symptoms of active TB infection, he/she must be excluded 
from school until all required medical verification is 
received by the school.

4.5 Updated information regarding disease status and 
treatment shall be provided to the public school by October 
15 every fifth year if treatment was previously 
contraindicated, incomplete or unknown.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1396
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

 Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant
To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1501 Knowledge, Skills And Responsibility Based 
Supplements For Educators

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code §1501 Knowledge, Skills and Responsibility 
Based Salary Supplements for Educators.  This regulation 
includes the requirements for, and payment of, salary 
supplements established by 14 Del.C. §1305.  This 
regulation applies to the awarding of salary supplements as a 
percentage of the state portion of an educator’s annual salary 
for gaining knowledge and skills that lead to more effective 
instruction, for achieving certification from the National 
Board for Professional Teaching Standards, or from an 
equivalent program, and/or for accepting additional 
responsibility supplements that impact student achievement. 
It is necessary to amend this regulation to add requirements 
for reauthorization, replication and re-qualification of 
clusters and to set forth procedures for payment of salary 
increments to educators.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses student 
achievement through enhanced educator knowledge and 
skills.  The regulation requires that knowledge and skills 
lead to more effective instruction and that 
responsibility supplements impact student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation helps ensure that all educators have access to high 
quality opportunities to acquire knowledge and skills that 
lead to more effective instruction.  It does not address 
student equity.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The 
amended regulation addresses educator knowledge, skills, 
and responsibility based salary supplements, not students’ 
health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students' legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 

addresses educator knowledge, skills, and responsibility 
based salary supplements, not students’ legal rights.    

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board 
and school level?   The amended regulation  will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?   The 
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability 
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the 
same entity? The decision-making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests 
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with 
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the 
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with, 
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the amended regulation?  14 Del.C. requires 
that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?   The 
knowledge, skills, and responsibility based salary 
supplements are subject to an annual appropriation by the 
Legislature.  The Department of Education shall provide for 
funding the supplement provisions of this regulation in its 
annual budget.  There is no additional cost to local school 
boards for compliance with the regulation.

1501  Knowledge, Skills, and Responsibility Based Salary 
Supplements for Educators

1.0 Content:
1.1 The following requirements shall be met in order to 

receive the salary supplements established by 14 Del.C. 
§1305. This regulation shall apply to the awarding of salary 
supplements as a percentage of the state portion of an 
educator's annual salary paid in accordance with the 
provisions of 14 Del.C. §1305 for gaining knowledge and 
skills that lead to more effective instruction, for achieving 
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certification from the National Board for Professional 
Teaching Standards, or from an equivalent program, and for 
accepting additional responsibility assignments supplements 
that impact student achievement.  Supplements are available 
subject to an annual appropriation from the Legislature.

5 DE Reg.  2297 (6/1/02)

2.0  Definitions:
The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Approved Cluster" means a professional 
development cluster that meets the criteria specified in 3.1 of 
this Regulation and that has been designated approved by the 
Standards Board and the State Board as the basis for 
awarding a specific salary supplement.

"Delaware Administrator Standards" means 
standards for education administrators approved by the 
Secretary of Education Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education, as per 14 Del.C. 394 1594, Delaware 
Administrator Standards.

"Delaware Content Standards" means K-12 student 
curriculum content standards approved by the Secretary of 
Education and the State Board of Education, as per 14 Del.C.
§501, State Content Standards.

"Delaware Professional Teaching Standards" means 
standards of teaching for teachers approved by the Secretary 
of Education Standards Board and the State Board of 
Education, as per 14 Del.C. §393 1593, Delaware 
Professional Teaching Standards.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

"Educator" means an employee paid under 14 Del.C. 
§1305 a public school employee who holds a license issued 
under the provisions of 14 Del.C. Ch. 12, and includes 
teachers, specialists, and administrators, and as otherwise 
defined by the Standards Board and the State Board pursuant 
to 14 Del.C. §1203, but does not include substitute teachers.

"Hours of Engagement" means time spent in classes, 
seminars, workshops, collaborative work groups, learning 
communities, cohort, school, or district teams, and time 
engaged in research-based activities which result in the 
acquisition of knowledge and skills which lead to more 
effective instruction.

"Knowledge and Skills" means understandings and 
abilities that, when acquired by educators, lead to more 
effective instruction.

"NSDC Standards for Staff Development" means 
standards adopted by the National Staff Development 
Council for high quality staff and professional development.

"Professional Development Cluster" or "Cluster"
means a focused group of professional development 
activities that leads to measurable and observable knowledge 
and skills.

"Provider" means a local school district, charter 
school, college, educationally related organization, or 
professional organization that delivers professional 
development clusters approved by the Standards Board and 
the State Board to educators.

“Reauthorization of an Approved Cluster” means the 
process a provider uses to seek continued approval, after the 
initial five year approval period, of an approved cluster.

“Replication of Approved Clusters” means an 
approved cluster being delivered by a provider other than the 
developer of the cluster.

“Re-qualification of an Approved Cluster”means the 
process a provider uses to set forth the activities that an 
educator would engage in to qualify for an extension of 
five(5) additional years of  a salary supplement.

"Responsibilitiesy Assignments" means educators'
additional responsibility assignments for educators that are 
academic in nature and that impact student achievement. 
For purposes of this regulation and pPursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1305(o) Eextra curricular or non-instructional supervisory 
activities are specifically excluded from this definition
responsibility assignments under this regulation.

"Salary Supplement", when referring to knowledge, 
skills, and responsibility based supplements, means 
additional state salary, as described in 14 Del.C. §1305.

"Standards Board" means the Professional Standards 
Board of the State of Delaware established in response to 14
Del.C. §1205.

"State Board" means the State Board of Education of 
the State of Delaware established in response to 14 Del.C. 
§104.

3.0 Knowledge and Skills:
3.1 The Standards Board shall, on no less than an 

annual basis, submit to the State Board for approval, lists of 
proposed new professional development clusters in specific 
areas of knowledge and skills which shall serve as the basis 
for awarding salary supplements.

3.12 The criteria for evaluating professional 
development clusters designed to promote acquisition of 
knowledge and skills are based upon:

3.12.1 Delaware Professional Teaching Standards 
or Delaware Administrator Standards or their equivalent 
(i.e., national standards from educators' specialty-area 
organizations that complement the Delaware standards).

3.12.2 Delaware content standards or their 
equivalent (i.e., national standards from content-specialty 
groups, if there are no Delaware standards for the content 
area).

3.12.3 National Staff Development Council 
Standards for Staff Development (NSDC, 2001).

3.23 Clusters may include a combination of formal 
courses at graduate or undergraduate levels, and other 
research-based activities which conform to the NSDC 
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Standards for Staff Development. 
3.24 Clusters may be comprised of related segments 

which may be completed separately over a specified period 
of time, not to exceed 5 years, as included in the cluster 
design and approved by the Standards Board and the State 
Board.

3.25 Voluntary performance or assessment-based 
specialty certifications awarded for meeting standards 
established by national professional organizations shall be 
evaluated as proposed clusters in accordance with this 
regulation.

3.26 The specific percentage of salary assigned to 
each knowledge and skills supplement, provided that no 
supplement may be less than 2% nor more than 6% of an 
educator's base state salary, shall be submitted with the list of 
professional development clusters and specific areas of 
knowledge and skills.

3.56.1 A cluster qualifying an educator for a 
supplement of 2% shall consist of no less than 90 hours of 
engagement by the educator.

3.56.2 A cluster qualifying an educator for a 
supplement of 4% shall consist of no less than 180 hours of 
engagement by the educator.

3.56.3 A cluster qualifying an educator for a 
supplement of 6% shall consist of no less than 270 hours of 
engagement by the educator.

3.67 Knowledge and skills which, once acquired, 
are expected to lead to more effective instruction for the 
duration of an educator's career are designated as permanent 
supplements.

3.78 Knowledge and skills related to new 
technologies, curriculum adoptions, and short-term 
strategies shall have a duration of five (5) years, and may be 
renewed by successfully completing renewal Educators may 
re-qualify for a cluster for an additional five (5) years by 
completing the activities set forth in accordance with cluster 
approval re-qualification procedures established by the 
Standards Board.

3.89 The provider will shall present an educator 
who satisfactorily completes an approved cluster with a 
certificate of completion to verify eligibility for a salary 
supplement.  The certificate shall certify the knowledge and 
skills acquired and demonstrated by the educator. The 
provider shall provide the Department with a list of 
educators who have satisfactorily completed an approved 
cluster

3.9 Annually, the Standards Board shall submit to 
the State Board for approval a list of all clusters proposed for 
continued approval, renewal, and non-renewal.

4.0 Responsibilities:
The Standards Board shall, on no less than an annual 

basis, submit to the State Board a list of specific 
responsibility assignments for approval as the basis for 

awarding responsibility salary supplements.
4.1 Responsibility assignments shall be:

4.1.1 Focused on school improvement issues 
that impact student achievement;

4.1.2 Supported by high quality, targeted 
professional development, and

4.1.3 Academic in nature.
4.2 In order to qualify for a responsibility assignment 

salary supplement, an educator shall have completed the 
state approved training program for the position, or, in the 
absence of a training program, shall meet the criteria set 
forth for the position, and shall provide state and district 
approved levels of service, participate in designated 
activities throughout the period of responsibility, and 
document the satisfactory fulfillment of the specified 
responsibility assignment.

5 DE Reg.  2297 (6/1/02)

4.0 Replication of Approved Clusters.
4.1 The developer of an approved cluster shall decide if 

a cluster can be replicated, and shall set forth the conditions, 
if any, under which the approved cluster may be offered by a 
provider other than the developer of the approved cluster. 
The Professional Development and Associated 
Compensation Committee shall review and approve 
applications for replication of a cluster, and shall forward 
approved applications for replication to the Standards Board 
for action.  The Standards Board shall forward approved 
applications for replication to the State Board for 
concurrence.

5.0 Approval of Professional Development Clusters and 
Responsibilities:

5.1 The Standards Board's standing committee on 
professional development and associated compensation shall 
provide the Standards Board with recommended lists of 
professional development clusters and responsibility 
assignments in accordance with this regulation. 

5.2 The Standards Board shall examine the proposed 
lists and previously approved lists of clusters to evaluate the 
system of professional development to determine its overall 
balance and accessibility. 

5.3 The lists of professional development clusters and 
responsibilities shall be forwarded to the State Board with a 
recommendation for approval.

5.0 Procedures for Re-qualification of a Cluster.
5.1 The cluster provider may submit a proposal for 

activities for re-qualification to update an individual 
educator’s skills and knowledge acquired in an approved 
cluster to the Professional Development and Associated 
Compensation Committee for review.  The Professional 
Development and Associated Compensation Committee may 
recommend to the Standards Board approval of activities for 
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re-qualification of a cluster for a period not to exceed five (5) 
years.  The Standards Board and the State Board shall review 
and approve all re-qualification requirements. 

5.2 The proposal for re-qualification activities of an 
approved cluster must include activities which are at least as 
rigorous as the original activities of the cluster and shall 
include, but are not limited to, the following:

5.2.1 The planned activities required to update 
the skills and knowledge acquired.

5.2.2 The number of hours of engagement the 
participant must participate in to be eligible for re-
qualification of a salary supplement.  The number of hours 
of engagement for the re-qualification of a cluster must be 
the same level as the original cluster, unless the provider 
submits re-qualification activities for a lesser percentage 
(i.e., a 4% cluster re-qualifies as a 2% cluster).

5.2.3 The specific skills and knowledge that will 
be updated or re-qualified and how such activities will 
directly impact students in the classroom.

5.3 All proposals for re-qualification activities must be 
reviewed by the Professional Development and Associated 
Compensation Committee, and approved by the Standards 
Board and the State Board.

6.0 Confirmation of Educators' Eligibility for Salary 
Supplements:

6.1 Knowledge and Skills:  The district or charter 
school shall notify educators annually, in writing, of the 
clusters it approves from the State Board approved list for 
knowledge and skills salary supplements.

6.2 Those clusters approved by districts or charter 
schools shall not require any additional prior approval.  After 
completing the entire cluster, an educator shall submit 
documentation to the local district of fulfilling the 
requirements of the cluster's design.

6.0 Procedures for Reauthorization of Approved 
Clusters.

6.1 A provider of a cluster may apply for 
reauthorization of a cluster by submitting an application for 
reauthorization to the Professional Development and 
Associated Compensation Committee, which shall review 
the application and, if appropriate, forward a 
recommendation to the Standards Board and the State Board 
for approval.  Reauthorization approval of a cluster shall be 
for a period of five (5) years.

6.2 Approval of a cluster is valid for five years, and 
may be reauthorized upon review and approval of an 
application for reauthorization from the provider.

6.3 Cluster developers shall, when applying for 
reauthorization, provide the Professional Development and 
Associated Compensation Committee with an evaluation of 
the effectiveness of a cluster in achieving the stated goals. 
The evaluation shall include evidence of a positive impact on 

educators’ skills and knowledge and student learning. 
Evaluation reports shall be submitted on the form provided 
by the Standards Board.

7.0 Payment of Salary Supplements:
[RESERVED]

7.0 Revocation of Approval of a Cluster.
7.1 Cluster applications are approved for a period of 

five years.  The Standards Board may, however, revoke the 
approval of a cluster at any time during the five year period 
of approval for good cause.  “Good cause” includes, but is 
not limited to:

7.1.1 Failure on the part of the provider to 
complete the delivery of a cluster; or

7.1.2 Failure of the provider to submit evidence 
of completers to DOE; or

7.1.3 Evidence, as supplied by participant 
evaluation and verified by the Professional Development and 
Associated Compensation Committee, of failure to provide 
content and activities as set forth in the approved 
application.

7.1.4 Other conduct which negatively impacts 
the ability of educators to gain new knowledge and skill, 
such as misrepresentation of the cluster content on the 
application.

8.0 Salary supplements paid to an educator shall not exceed 
15% of the state share of the educator's salary.

5 DE Reg.  2297 (6/1/02)

8.0 Responsibility Assignments.
8.1 The Standards Board shall, on no less than an 

annual basis, submit to the State Board a list of specific 
responsibility assignments for approval as the basis for 
awarding responsibility salary supplements.

8.2 Responsibility assignments shall be:
8.2.1 Focused on school improvement issues 

that impact student achievement;
8.2.2 Supported by high quality, targeted 

professional development, and
8.2.3 Academic in nature.

8.3 In order to qualify for a responsibility assignment 
salary supplement, an educator shall have completed the 
state approved training program for the position, or, in the 
absence of a training program, shall meet the criteria set 
forth for the position by the Standards Board or local district, 
charter school, or other employing authority, and shall 
provide state and district approved levels of service, 
participate in designated activities throughout the period of 
responsibility, and document the satisfactory fulfillment of 
the specified responsibility assignment.

8.4 Extra responsibility salary supplements may be 
renewed.
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9.0 Approval of Professional Development Clusters and 
Responsibilities:

9.1 The Standards Board=s Standing Committee on 
Professional Development and Associated Compensation 
shall provide the Standards Board with recommendations for 
approval of professional development clusters, reauthorized 
clusters, re-qualification activities, and responsibility 
assignments in accordance with this regulation. 

9.2 The Standards Board shall examine the proposed 
lists and previously approved lists of clusters to evaluate the 
system of professional development to determine its overall 
balance and accessibility. 

9.3 If approved by the Standards Board, the lists of 
professional development clusters, reauthorized clusters, re-
qualification requirements and responsibility assignments 
shall be forwarded to the State Board with a 
recommendation for approval.

9.4 Each district, charter school or other employing 
authority shall notify educators at least annually, in writing, 
of the clusters it disapproves from the State Board approved 
list of knowledge and skills clusters.

10.0 Educators’ Eligibility for Salary Supplements
10.1 Skills and Knowledge Salary Supplements.

10.1.1 The provider will present an educator who 
satisfactorily completes an approved cluster with a 
certificate of completion to verify eligibility for a salary 
supplement.  The certificate shall certify the knowledge and 
skills acquired and demonstrated by the educator.

10.1.2 After completing the entire cluster, the 
cluster provider shall submit documentation to the 
Department certifying that the educator fulfilled the 
requirements of the cluster=s design.

10.2 Responsibility Assignments:  An educator shall 
provide the local district, charter school or other employing 
authority with such information as may be required to enable 
the local district, charter school or other employing authority 
to verify that the educator has fulfilled the requirements of 
8.3 of this regulation.

11.0 Payment of Salary Supplements:
11.1 Salary Supplements for Clusters.

11.1.1 Salary supplements earned by educators 
who are paid in accordance with the provisions of 14 Del.C. 
§1305 as a result of completion of an approved knowledge 
and skills cluster shall be effective the first of the month 
following receipt by the Department of satisfactory 
completion of a cluster, and shall be paid as part of the 
educator’s salary for the duration of the time approved for 
the cluster by the Standards Board and the State Board.  No 
educator is entitled to payment for the same cluster more 
than once.

11.2 Salary Supplements for Extra Responsibility 
Assignments.

11.2.1 Salary supplements earned by educators 
who are paid in accordance with the provisions of 14 Del.C. 
§1305 as a result of fulfilling extra responsibility 
assignments shall be effective the first of the month 
following receipt by the Department of documentation from 
the school district, charter school, or other employing 
authority of satisfactory completion of the duties associated 
with the extra responsibility assignment, and shall be paid 
annually as a single payment or as an additional salary 
amount spread evenly across an educator’s contract period.

12.0 Salary supplements paid to an educator paid in 
accordance with the provisions of 14 Del.C. §1305  shall not 
exceed 15% of the State share of the educator=s salary.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Repeal Of Regulation

1505 Professional Growth Programs

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested
Repeal

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks 
the approval of the State Board of Education to repeal 14 DE 
Admin. Code §1505 Professional Growth Programs.   It is 
necessary to repeal this regulation as it is effective through 
June 30, 2004 only.  It will be replaced by regulation 1507 
Professional Growth Salary Increments, which addresses 
movement by educators on the salary schedule set forth in14 
Del.C. §1305.  

1505  Professional Growth Programs (Effective through 
6/30/04 only)

1.0 Content:
This regulation shall apply to professional growth 

programs for educators, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1305.
7 DE Reg.  161 (8/1/03)

2.0 Definitions:
The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

"Graduate level course" means any course to be used 
herein which is offered at a regionally accredited college or 
university that is considered graduate level at that institution.
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"Individual professional growth credits" means 
individual activities (i.e., projects, travel, and work 
experience) which contribute to the professional growth of 
the school employee in his/her assignment. 

"In-service credit" means credit offered by school 
districts, charter schools, Delaware educationally related 
organizations, the Department, or individual professional 
growth programs and approved by the state in-service 
committee.

7 DE Reg.  161 (8/1/03)

3.0 Credits.
3.1 Three (3) in-service credits will be allowed for each 

activity, for a maximum of nine (9) individual professional 
growth credits.  Individual professional growth credits must 
have the prior approval of the Department and the local 
employing school district superintendent or charter school 
principal.  A written evaluation report by the individual 
earning the credit shall be required at the conclusion of the 
activity.

3.2  Credit Calculation.
3.2.1 All credits must be expressed in terms of 

semester hours. College or university credits expressed in 
quarter hours and approved CEUs will be converted to 
semester hours by multiplying the number of quarter hours 
by two-thirds. In the case in-service credits, fifteen (15) 
clock hours of class time is considered the equivalent of one 
(1) credit. Credits earned for professional growth activities 
will be calculated in the same manner as in-service credits.

3.3 Acceptable Grades
3.3.1All grades for college-level credit submitted 

for a professional growth program must be a grade that earns 
a "C" or better from the granting institution. In the case of 
credits earned on a pass-fail basis, a grade of pass is 
acceptable.

3.4 Acceptable Credits
3.4.1Credits for the professional growth programs

 (B+15, B+30, M+15, M+30, M+45) shall be earned after the 
Bachelor's degree has been conferred. They may be 
graduate, undergraduate, or in-service. CEUs from 
regionally accredited colleges can also be used (1 CEU = 10 
clock hours = 2/3 semester hour)

3.4.2Up to nine (9) individual professional growth 
credits may be counted from the B+15 through the M+45.

3.4.3Undergraduate and graduate credits must be 
earned at regionally accredited institutions of higher 
learning. Any credits not counted toward a graduate degree 
shall be counted in the B+15, B+30, M+15, M+30, M+45 
programs.

3.4.4Undergraduate, in-service, and individual 
professional growth credits shall have the prior approval of 
the employing local district superintendent/designee before 
submission to the State Office of Certification. These credits 
shall be relevant and usable to the applying employee.

3.4.5For Trade and Industry teachers, a Bachelor's 
degree equivalent shall be two years of college and six years 
of work experience (14 Del.C. §1301).

3.5 Salary Increment.
3.5.1An applicant shall hold a Delaware Standard 

or Limited Standard license before a Professional Growth 
Program salary increment can be approved.

3.6 Admittance to Graduate School: Applicants for a 
professional growth program need not be admitted to a 
graduate school in order to have graduate level courses 
accepted for these programs.

3.7 Acceptable Professional Degrees
3.7.1Professional degrees earned in areas other than 

professional education will not be accepted for the 
professional growth program unless the degree is directly 
related to an area of specialty in which the individual is 
employed.

3.7.2To be counted for the professional growth 
program, a degree for any individual involved in instruction, 
curriculum, or the supervision of instruction must be a 
degree in professional education.

3.7.3Individual courses in any area may be 
considered for acceptance in the professional growth 
program upon receipt of a written rationale from the 
applicant with an endorsement by his/her local employing 
school district superintendent.

3.8  Usable Credits.
3.8.1All credits and programs to be accepted for the 

professional growth program/state supported salary 
increments shall be relevant and usable to the professional 
school employee and may be approved or disapproved by the 
local employing school district superintendent.

3.9 Excess Graduate Level Credits.
3.9.1Graduate level credits earned after a 

Bachelor's degree or before earning a Master's degree may 
be used in the B+15 and the B+30 professional growth 
programs so long as the same credit is used only one time. 
Credits earned in excess of those required for the Master's 
degree by the granting institution can be used in a M+15, 
M+30 and M+45 professional growth program.

3.10Effective Date of Salary Adjustment
3.10.1 The salary adjustment shall be made after 

the evaluation and approval of the candidate's application by 
the Office of Professional Accountability. The adjustment 
will be authorized to be made retroactive to the first of the 
month following the date certified by transcript, official 
grade slip, or approved in-service slip, as to when the 
program or credit was completed.

3.10.2 Retroactive salary adjustment may be by a 
single payment or by payments divided equally among all 
the pay periods remaining in a current fiscal year as may be 
determined by the district or state fiscal officers.

3.11Appeals Committee.
3.11.1 A committee shall be called to review and 
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make recommendations regarding an appeal that may result 
as these rules are administered. The committee shall include 
the following: one (1) representative from the professional 
organization which represents the applicant, one (1) staff 
member from the Department; and one (1) representative 
from the Chief School Officers organization.

3.12Application Procedures
3.12.1 The applicant shall secure the proper form 

from the local school district office, complete the form, and 
return it to his/her school district office for transmittal to the 
Office of Professional Accountability.

3.12.2 The applicant shall arrange for the 
appropriate authority or institution to provide verification, if 
needed, regarding graduate level of courses or any other 
information that might be needed to support his/her 
application for the professional growth program.

3.12.3 Application for evaluation shall not be 
submitted prior to the completion of the professional growth 
program.

3.13A salary increment for fiscal year 2004 (July 1 - 
June 30) based upon approval of the application must be 
received in the Office of Professional Accountability by June 
1. This cut-off date is necessary to allow adequate time for 
evaluation and notification to the district payroll office for 
salary adjustment.  No salary credit shall be retroactive into a 
prior fiscal year.

7 DE Reg.  161 (8/1/03)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant
To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation
 
A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested

New Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks 
the approval of the State Board of Education to adopt 14 DE 
Admin. Code §1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate 
Designation.  This regulation applies to designating new 
teachers who meet criteria developed by the Mid Atlantic 
Regional Teachers Project as Meritorious New Teacher 
Candidates.  This designation will be affixed to the new 
teacher’s Initial License, issued pursuant to 14 DE Admin. 
Code §1510.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the new regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 

standards?  The new regulation concerns educator licensure, 
not student achievement.

2. Will the new regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education?  The new regulation helps 
ensure that highly qualified educators are attracted to the 
field and rewarded for exhibiting outstanding achievement.

3. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all 
students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The 
new regulation addresses educator licensure, not students’ 
health and safety issues.

4. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all 
students' legal rights are respected? The new regulation 
addresses educator licensure, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the new regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board 
and school level?   The new regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the new regulation place unnecessary reporting 
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?   The new 
regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability 
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the 
same entity?   The decision-making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests 
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with 
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the 
State Board of Education.

8. Will the new regulation be consistent with and not 
an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The new regulation will be consistent with, and not 
an impediment to, the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the new regulation?  14 Del. C. requires that 
we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the new regulation?   There is no 
additional cost to local school boards for compliance with 
the regulation.

1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation

1.0 Content.
1.1   This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a 
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Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation to a 
candidate for an initial license who meets the criteria set 
forth by the Mid-Atlantic Regional Teachers Project., 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1210.

2.0 Definitions.
 2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation”
means a designation of excellence for new teachers which 
enables them to teach in Delaware, District of Columbia, 
Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Virginia.

“Met the Highest Standard” means achieved the 
highest grade or score awarded by the institution.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students”.

3.0 An applicant for an initial license who meets the 
requirements for an initial license and who also meets the 
criteria set forth by the Mid-Atlantic Regional Teachers 
Project shall have a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate 
Designation affixed to the Initial License, upon receipt of a 
recommendation from the candidate’s teacher preparation 
program that the candidate be awarded the designation of 
Meritorious New Teacher Candidate.

3.1 Criteria for the Meritorious New Teacher Candidate 
Designation are:

3.1.1 Verbal Skills:
3.1.1.1 Scores in the upper quartile of students 
nationally at the time the test was 
taken on the verbal portion of the SAT, ACT, or GRE.

3.1.2 Content Knowledge:
3.1.2.1 Elementary Education (Grades preK-

6):
3.1.2.1.1 A minimum 3.5 cumulative 

GPA in an undergraduate professional education program, or 
a minimum 3.7 cumulative GPA in a graduate professional 
education program; and

3.1.2.1.2 Scores in the upper quartile 
of students nationally at the time the test was taken in math, 
science, social studies, and English/language arts in the 
PRAXIS II Content Knowledge for Elementary Teachers test 
or Elementary Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and 
Assessment test.

3.1.2.2 Middle School Education (Grades 6 – 
8):

3.1.2.2.1 A minimum 3.5 cumulative 
GPA in an undergraduate academic major or a minimum 3.7 
cumulative GPA in a graduate program in the subject area in 
which a standard certificate is sought; and

3.1.2.2.2 Scores in the upper quartile 
of students nationally at the time the test was taken on the 
PRAXIS II test in the applicant’s specialty area.

3.1.2.3 Secondary Education (Grades 9 – 12):
3.1.2.3.1 A minimum 3.5 cumulative 

GPA in an  undergraduate academic major or a minimum 3.7 
cumulative GPA in a graduate program in the subject area in 
which a standard certificate is sought.

3.1.2.3.2 Scores in the upper quartile 
of students nationally at the time the test was taken on the 
PRAXIS II test in the applicant’s specialty area.

3.1.3 Professional Preparation and 
Recommendation:

3.1.3.1 Completion of a state-approved 
teacher preparation program, of traditional or alternative 
format, with a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA in an 
undergraduate professional studies program, or a minimum 
3.7 cumulative GPA in a graduate professional education 
program.

3.1.3.2 Completion of a minimum of 400 
hours of supervised clinical experience, of which at least 300 
hours are directed instructional student teaching.  Clinical 
experience may occur within any state-approved model, 
including total immersion experiences as teachers of record.

3.1.3.3 Met the highest standard of both the 
university supervisor and the cooperating teacher on the 
institution’s formal student teacher or immersion component 
of the required clinical experience.

3.1.3.4 Met the highest standard on the 
institution’s professional preparation assessment.

3.1.3.5 Received a recommendation by the 
teacher preparation program that the candidate be awarded 
the designation of Meritorious New Teacher Candidate.

4.0 Applicants for initial licensure and the Meritorious New 
Teacher Candidate Designation who completed teacher 
preparation in Delaware will be given expedited 
consideration of their application a by the Delaware 
Department of Education.

5.0 A Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation 
issued to a licensee from one of the participating
jurisdictions who has less than three (3) years of teaching 
experience, shall be honored by the Department.  The 
applicant shall be issued a Delaware Initial License pursuant 
to 14 DE Admin. Code §1510 with a Meritorious New 
Teacher Candidate Designation and any Delaware Standard
Certificate for which the candidate qualifies.

6.0 This designation shall be valid for the duration of the 
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individual’s Initial License.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant
To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1528 Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive
1529 Foreign Language Teacher Secondary

1533 Foreign Language Teacher Elementary
1537 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary

1558 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary/Middle Level
 
A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks 
the approval of the State Board of Education to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code §1528 Foreign Language Teacher 
Comprehensive; §1529 Foreign Language Teacher 
Secondary; §1533 Foreign Language Teacher Elementary; 
§1537 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary, and §1558, 
Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary/Middle. Level.  These 
regulations apply to the requirements for Standard 
Certificates for Foreign Language and Bilingual Teachers as 
established by 14 Del.C. §1220(a).  The amendments to 
these regulations are necessary to reflect the adoption of 
PRAXIS™ II qualifying scores for Delaware educators.  In 
addition, course requirements and requirements for 
acquisition of foreign languages by teachers were revised.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulations concern educator 
certification, not student achievement.  However, highly 
qualified teachers have a positive impact on student 
achievement.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulations helps ensure that all educators demonstrate high 
standards for the issuance of a standard certificate.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all 
students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The 
amended regulations address educator certification, not 
students’ health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all 
students' legal rights are respected?  The amended 
regulations address educator certification, not students’ legal 
rights.

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the 
local board and school level?   The amended regulations will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
makers at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?   The 
amended regulations will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability 
for addressing the subjects to be regulated be placed in the 
same entity? The decision-making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subjects to be regulated 
rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration 
with the Department of Education, and with the consent of 
the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulations be consistent with 
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulations will be consistent with, 
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the amended regulations?  14 Del.C. requires 
that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the amended regulations?   There 
is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance 
with the regulations.

1528  Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher 
Comprehensive

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

standard certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for 
Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive (Grades K-12).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
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issued.
"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued 

to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, 
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C.  §1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a standard certificate as a foreign language 
teacher comprehensive to an applicant who holds a valid 
Delaware initial, continuing, or advanced license; or 
standard or professional status certificate issued by the 
Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the 
following requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally-accredited 
college or university and, 

3.2 Professional Education
3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher 

education program in Elementary and Secondary Foreign 
Language Teaching in the language to be taught or,

3.2.2 A minimum of 27 semester hours to 
include Human Development, Methods of Teaching Foreign 
Language at the Elementary School Level, Methods of 
Teaching Foreign Language at the Secondary School Level
(methods courses to include second language acquisition), 
Identifying and Treating Exceptionalities, Effective 
Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education; Second 
Language Assessment and Testing; Curriculum and Material 
Design; and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.12.3 Major in the language to be taught, 

including at least one semester, one winter session, or one 
summer session of study in a country in which the foreign 
language is spoken natively* or,

3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher 
education program in the language to be taught, including at 
least one semester, one winter session, or one summer 
session of study in a country in which the foreign language is 
spoken natively* or,

3.3.32.4 A minimum of 30 semester hours above 
the intermediate level in the language to be taught, or 24 
semester hours above the intermediate level in the language 
to be taught if the teacher has earned 30 semester hours in 
another language, including at least one semester, one winter 
session, or one summer session of study in a country in 
which the foreign language is spoken natively* or,

3.32.5 Demonstrated fluency in the language to 
be taught as determined by passing scores on the PRAXIS II 
tests in that language, as adopted by the Standards Board and 
the State Board (when validated) and an Aadvanced Low 
Level plus score on the ACTFL Oral Proficiency Interview 
and verification of study (at least as extensive as that noted 
above) in a country or community in which the foreign 
language is spoken natively.*

* Persons not meeting the requirement for study 
abroad upon employment shall fulfill the requirement within 
three years. Through 3.3.4 an individual can meet the 
requirement for study abroad by demonstrating that he/she 
grew up and was educated in a country or an ethnic
community (such as a China Town or Spanish Harlem) 
where the target language is the dominant language.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 
only.  Applicants who apply for a standard certificate as a 
foreign language teacher - comprehensive after that date 
must comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. 
§1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1529 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher - 
Secondary

1.0 Content:
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

standard certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for 
Foreign Language Teacher - Secondary (required in grades 
9-12, and valid in grades 5-8 in a middle level school).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued 
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, 
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C.  §1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a standard certificate as a foreign language 
teacher - secondary to an applicant who holds a valid 
Delaware initial, continuing, or advanced license; or 
standard or professional status certificate issued by the 
Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the 
following requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from an regionally accredited 
college or university and, 

3.2 Professional Education
3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher 

education program in the language to be taught or,
3.2.2 A minimum of 24 semester hours to 
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include Human Development, Methods of Teaching Foreign 
Language, Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities, Effective 
Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, Second 
Language Assessment and Testing, Curriculum and Material 
Design; and

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.12.3 Major in the language to be taught, 

including at least one semester, one winter session, or one 
summer session of study in a country in which the foreign 
language is spoken natively*; or,

3.3.2Completion of an approved teacher education 
program in the language to be taught, including at least one 
semester, one winter session, or one summer session of study 
in a country in which the foreign language is spoken 
natively* or,

3.3.32.4 Minimum of up to 30 semester hours 
above the intermediate level for the language to be taught, or 
24 semester hours above the intermediate level in the 
language to be taught if the teacher holds 30 semester hours 
in another language, including at least one semester, one 
winter session, or one summer session of study in a country 
in which the foreign language is spoken natively* or,

3.3.42.5 Demonstrated fluency in the language to 
be taught as determined by passing scores on the PRAXIS II 
tests in that language, as adopted by the Standards Board and 
the State Board (when validated) and, an Aadvanced Low 
Level plus score on the ACTFL Oral Proficiency Interview 
and verification of study (at least as extensive as that noted 
above) in a country or community in which the foreign 
language is spoken natively.*

* Persons not meeting the requirement for study 
abroad upon employment shall fulfill the requirement within 
three years. Through 3.3.4, an individual can meet the 
requirement for study abroad by demonstrating that he/she 
grew up and was educated in a country or an ethnic
community (such as a China Town or Spanish Harlem) 
where the target language is the dominant language.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 
only.  Applicants who apply for a standard certificate as a 
foreign language teacher - secondary after that date must 
comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1533 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher - 
Elementary

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

standard certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.  §1220(a), for 
Foreign Language Teacher - Elementary (required in grades 
K-6, and valid in grades 7-8 in a middle level school).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued 
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, 
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a standard certificate as a foreign language 
teacher elementary to an applicant who holds a valid 
Delaware initial, continuing, or advanced license; or 
standard or professional status certificate issued by the 
Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the 
following requirements:

3.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally-accredited 
college or university and,

3.2 Professional Education
3.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher 

education program in Elementary Education/Foreign 
Language in the language to be taught; or,

3.2.2 Completion of an approved teacher 
education program in elementary education and,

3.2.2.1 A minimum of 6 semester hours in 
foreign language education to include Methods of Teaching 
Foreign Language at the Elementary School Level and 
Second Language Acquisition and,

3.2.2.2 Demonstrated knowledge of the 
culture in which the language is spoken natively including 
significant personal connection with that culture through life 
or work experience or appropriate course work in the 
culture; or and,

3.2.3 Completion of an approved secondary 
teacher education program in the language to be taught and,

3.2.3.1 A minimum of 6 semester hours in 
foreign language education to include Methods of Teaching 
Foreign Language at the Elementary School Level and 
Second Language acquisition and,

3.2.3.2 A minimum of 24 semester hours to 
include Child/Human Development, Methods of Teaching 
Foreign Language at the Elementary School Level including 
Second Language Acquisition, Identifying/Treating 
Exceptionalities, Effective Teaching Strategies, 
Multicultural Education, and,

3.3 Specific Teaching Field
3.3.1 Major in the language to be taught, 

including at least one semester, one winter session, or one 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1407
summer session of study in a country in which the foreign 
language is spoken natively* or,

3.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher 
education program in the language to be taught, including at 
least one semester, one winter session, or one summer 
session of study in a country in which the foreign language is 
spoken natively* or,

3.3.3 A minimum of 30 semester hours above 
the intermediate level in the language to be taught, or 24 
semester hours above the intermediate level in the language 
to be taught if the teacher has earned 30 semester hours in 
another language, including at least one semester, one winter 
session, or one summer session of study in a country in 
which the foreign language is spoken natively* or,

3.3.4 Demonstrated fluency in the language to 
be taught as determined by passing scores on the PRAXIS II 
tests in that language, as adopted by the Standards Board and 
the State Board, (when validated) and an Aadvanced Low 
Level plus score on the ACTFL Oral Proficiency Interview 
and verification of study (at least as extensive as that noted 
above) in a country or community in which the foreign 
language is spoken natively*.

*Persons not meeting the requirement for study 
abroad upon employment shall fulfill the requirement within 
three years. Through 3.3.4, an individual can meet the 
requirement for study abroad by demonstrating that he/she 
grew up and was educated in a community (such as a China 
Town or Spanish Harlem) where the target language is the 
dominant language.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 
only.  Applicants who apply for a standard certificate as a 
foreign language teacher - elementary after that date must 
comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del.C. §1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1537 Standard Certificate Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) 
Secondary

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

standard certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for 
Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) B Secondary.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 

issued.
"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued 

to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, 
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C.  §1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a standard certificate as a bilingual teacher 
(Spanish) - Secondary to an applicant who holds a valid 
Delaware initial, continuing, or advanced license; or 
standard or professional status certificate issued by the 
Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the 
following requirements:

3.1 A Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited 
college or university and completion of a teacher education 
program in Bilingual Education at the Secondary Level 
(grades 7-12) in the Language area of Spanish.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

4.0 If the candidate does not meet the requirements in 3.0 
the following shall apply:

4.1 Complete the required course work in a teacher 
education program at the secondary level (grades 7-12) in a 
content area such as Biology, English or Special Education 
plus the following:

4.1.1 Verification of language proficiency in 
Spanish as demonstrated by one of the two options below:

4.1.1.1 Completion of a minimum of 15 
semester hours from a regionally accredited college in the 
language area of Spanish. This course work shall be at or 
above the intermediate level; and demonstration of oral 
proficiency in the language area of Spanish by scoring 165 
on the PRAXIS II Test Module: Productive Language 
(0192); as adopted by the Standards Board and the State 
Board; or

4.1.1.2 Demonstration of content knowledge 
and oral proficiency in the language area of Spanish by 
meeting the appropriate qualifying scores on the PRAXIS II 
Tests, as adopted by the Standards Board and the State Board
Modules as follows: 159 on Spanish: Content and 
Knowledge (0191) and 165 on Spanish: Productive 
Language (0192); and

4.1.2 Demonstration of English speaking ability, 
when English is not the first language, by scoring 50 on the 
TOEFL: Test of Spoken English (TSE) and

4.1.3 In addition to 4.1.1 and 4.1.2 all 
candidates must meet the following requirements:

4.1.3.1 Completion of course work as 
indicated:

4.1.3.1.13 semester hours Methods of 
Teaching English as a Second Language; 

4.1.3.1.23 semester hours Second 
Language Testing;
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4.1.3.1.33 semester hours Remedial 
Reading (English); or 3 semester hours Remedial Reading 
(Spanish); and

4.1.3.2 Verification of knowledge of the 
Spanish culture as demonstrated by:

4.1.3.2.1A three (3) semester hour course 
in Spanish culture; or documentation of personal interaction 
with the target community via study abroad, work 
experience, formative experience, etc.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

5.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 
only.  Applicants who apply for a standard certificate as a 
bilingual teacher (Spanish) - Secondary after that date must 
comply with the requirements set forth in 14 Del C. §1516.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

1558 Standard Certificate Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) 
Primary/Middle Level 

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

standard certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C.  §1220(a), for 
Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary/Middle Level (K-8).

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued 
to certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, 
skill, and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a standard certificate as a bilingual teacher 
(Spanish) Primary/Middle to an applicant who holds a valid 
Delaware initial, continuing, or advanced license; or 
standard or professional status certificate issued by the 
Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the 
following requirements:

3.1 A Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited 
college or university and completion of a teacher education 
program in Elementary, Primary or Middle Level (grade 
configurations K-8) Bilingual Education in the Language 
Area of Spanish.

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

4.0 If the candidate does not meet the requirements in 3.0 
the following shall apply:

4.1 Complete the required course work in a teacher 
education program in Elementary, Primary or Middle Level 
(grade configurations K-8) Regular Education plus provide 
the following:

4.1.1 Verification of language proficiency in 
Spanish as demonstrated by one of the two options below:

4.1.1.1 Completion of a minimum of 15 
semester hours from a regionally accredited college in the 
language area of Spanish. This course work shall be at or 
above the intermediate level; and Demonstration of oral 
proficiency in the language area of Spanish by meeting the 
appropriate qualifying score on the PRAXIS II Tests, as 
adopted by the Standards Board and the State Board; scoring 
165 on the PRAXIS II Test Module: Productive Language 
(0192); or

4.1.1.2 Demonstration of content knowledge 
and oral proficiency in the language area of Spanish by 
meeting the appropriate qualifying scores on the PRAXIS II 
Test Modules as follows:

4.1.1.2.1159 on Spanish: Content and 
Knowledge (0191) and

4.1.1.2.2165 on Spanish: Productive 
Language (0192); and

4.1.24.1.2 Demonstration of English speaking 
ability, when English is not the first language, by scoring 50 
on the TOEFL: Test of Spoken English (TSE) and

4.1.3 In addition to 4.1.1 and 4.1.2 all 
candidates must meet the following requirements:

4.1.3.1 Completion of course work as 
indicated:

4.1.3.1.1 3 semester hours Methods of 
Teaching English as a Second Language;

4.1.3.1.2 3 semester hours Second 
Language Testing;

4.1.3.1.3 3 semester hours Remedial 
Reading (English); or

4.1.3.1.4 3 semester hours Remedial 
Reading (Spanish); and

4.1.3.2 Verification of knowledge of the 
Spanish culture as demonstrated by:

4.1.3.2.1 A three (3) semester hour 
course in Spanish culture; or

4.1.3.2.2 Documentation of personal 
interaction with the target community via study abroad, work 
experience, formative experience, etc.; and

7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

5.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 
only.  Applicants who apply for a standard certificate as a 
bilingual teacher (Spanish) primary/middle level after that 
date must comply with the requirements set forth in 14
Del.C. §1516.
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7 DE Reg.  775 (12/1/03)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
GAMING CONTROL BOARD

Statutory Authority:  28 Delaware Code,
Section 1122(a) and 29 Delaware Code,

Section 10115 (28 Del.C. §1122(a)
and 29 Del.C. §10115)

NOTICE

The Delaware Gaming Control Board proposes to 
amend its Bingo Regulations pursuant to 28 Del.C. §1122(a) 
and 29 Del.C. §10115.  The Board proposes to amend Bingo 
Regulation 2.3 to provide that all bingo applications, original 
and supplemental, shall be filed with the Board at least six 
weeks before the scheduled event.  The Board will accept 
written comments from May 1, 2004 through May 30, 2004. 
The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule 
amendments on June 3, 2004 at 12:00 p.m. at the Division of 
Professional Regulation, Cannon Building, Second Floor 
Conference Room, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 203, 
Dover, DE.  Written comments should be submitted to 
Sherry Clark, Division of Regulation, Cannon Building, 
Suite 203, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904-
2467.

401 Regulations Governing Bingo

1.0 Definitions
“Bingo”  A game of chance played for prizes with cards 

bearing numbers or other designations, five or more in one 
line, the holder covering numbers as objects similarly 
numbered are drawn from a receptacle and the game being 
won by the person who first covers a previously designated 
arrangement of numbers on such a-card.

“Bingo Statute”  The statutory law concerning bingo, 
as contained in 28 Delaware Code, Section 1101 et. seq.

“Board”  The Delaware Gaming Control Board.
“Color Coded”  A different color for each of the five 

letters of the word "BINGO."
“Cookie Jar Bingo”  A game of chance in which 

players pay a set fee into a cookie jar or other container and 
receive a number which entitles the player to entry into a 
later drawing for the total funds deposited by all other 
players in the cookie jar or container.

See 2 DE Reg. 1224
“Districts”  Those districts mentioned in Article II, 

917A of the Delaware Constitution.
“Equipment”  The receptacle and color coded 

numbered objects to be drawn from it, the master board upon 

which such objects are placed as drawn, the cards or sheets 
bearing numbers or other designations to be covered and the 
objects used to cover them, the boards or signs, however 
operated, used to announce or display the numbers or 
designations as they are drawn, public address systems, 
tables, chairs, and other articles essential to the operation, 
conduct and playing of bingo.

“Game”  The game of bingo.
“Instant Bingo”  A game of chance played with sealed 

or covered cards which must be opened in some fashion by 
the holder such that the cards reveal instantly whether the 
holder has won a prize.  This type of game includes but is not 
limited to games commonly known as “rip-offs” or “Nevada 
pull-tabs.”

See 2 DE Reg. 1224
“Member in Charge”  A bona fide, active member of 

the "Qualified Organization" in charge of, and primarily 
responsible for the conduct of the game on each occasion.

“Occasion”  A single gathering or session at which a 
series of successive bingo games (regular, special, or 
otherwise) is played, not to exceed forty (40) in number.

“Proceeds”  The gross income received from all 
activities engaged in or on occasion when bingo is played, 
less only, such actual expenses incurred as are authorized in 
the Bingo Statute and these Rules and Regulations.

“Qualified Organization”  A volunteer fire company, 
veterans organization, religious or charitable organization, or 
fraternal society that is operated in a manner so as to come 
within the provisions of Section 170 of the U.S. Secretary of 
the Treasury.

2.0 Applications For Bingo License.
2.1 original applications shall be filed upon:

2.1.1 the first application of an organization for 
a license;

2.1.2 after the first application and upon a 
subsequent change in the organization's charter or bylaws; or

2.1.3 in the event of a subsequent application 
after a prior refusal, suspension, or revocation by the Board.

2.2 Supplemental applications for bingo licenses shall 
be filed in all instances except those covered by the original 
application.  All promotional give-away events, as defined 
under 28 Del.C. §1139(h)(2), must be listed on an applicant's 
application for licensure, giving the dates of the promotional 
give-away events.  If the event is not listed on the 
application, no promotional give-away event can be 
conducted.

2.3 All original and supplemental applications shall be 
filed with the Secretary of the Board at least six (6) weeks 
prior to the date of the occasion.  All supplemental 
applications shall be filed fifteen (15) days prior to the first 
date of the occasion.

2.4 No applications (original or supplemental) shall be 
accepted unless the applicant, at the time of the filing, 
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attaches a check or money order for the full amount of the 
fees payable by law for each occasion requested.  In the 
event an application is refused by the Board, the application 
fees shall be refunded in full to the applicant.  There shall be 
a license fee of $15 for each occasion on which bingo is 
conducted under a license.

2.5 No application shall be received by the 
Commission unless it clearly shows that the applicant is 
located in and seeks to conduct the game in a district which 
has approved the licensing of bingo by referendum, and on 
premises owned or regularly leased by the applicant.  If the 
applicant desires to conduct games on premises specially 
leased for the occasion, a separate written request therefor 
(together with supporting reasons) shall accompany the 
application.  The Board reserves the right to accept or reject 
any application for the conduct of games on specially leased 
premises. Organization conducting a Function shall prepare 
and have available on the premises a list of all persons taking 
part in the management or operation of the Function.  Such 
list shall be maintained as part of the licensees, records of the 
Function and shall be made available to any member or 
agent of the Board or law enforcement officer.

See 2 DE Reg. 1224

3.0 Bingo Licenses
3.1 Upon receiving an application, the Board shall 

make an investigation of the merits of the application.  The 
Board shall consider the impact of the approval of any 
license application on existing licensees within the 
applicant's geographical location prior to granting any new 
license. The Board may deny an application if it concludes 
that approval of the application would be detrimental to 
existing licensees.

3.2 The Board may issue a license only after it 
determines that:

3.2.1 The applicant is duly qualified to conduct 
games under the State Constitution, statutes, and regulations.

3.2.2 The members of the applicant who intend 
to conduct the bingo games are bona fide active members of 
the applicant and are persons of good moral character and 
have never been convicted of a crime involving moral 
turpitude.

3.2.3 The bingo games are to be conducted in 
accordance with the provisions of the State Constitution, 
statutes, and regulations.

3.2.4 The proceeds are to be disposed of as 
provided in the State Constitution and statutes.

3.2.5 No salary, compensation or reward 
whatever will be paid or given to any member under whom 
the game is conducted.  If the findings and determinations of 
the Board are to the effect that the application is approved, 
the Secretary shall execute a license for the applicant.

3.3 The license shall be issued in triplicate.  The 
original thereof shall be transmitted to the applicant.  Two 

copies shall be retained by the Commission for its files.
3.4 If the findings and determinations of the 

Commission are to the effect that the application is denied, 
the Secretary shall so notify the applicant by certified mail of 
the reasons for denial, and shall refund any application fees 
submitted.

3.5 In the event of a request for an amendment of a 
license, the request shall be promptly submitted to the 
Commission in writing, and shall contain the name of the 
licensee, license number, and a concise statement of the 
reasons for requested amendment.  The Commission may 
grant or deny the request, in its discretion, and may require 
supporting proof from the licensee before making any 
determination.  The Commission may require the payment of 
an additional license fee before granting the request.  The 
licensee shall be notified of the Commission's action by 
appropriate communication, so that the licensee will not be 
unduly inconvenienced.

3.6 No license shall be effective for a period of more t 
an one year from the date it was issued.

3.7 No license shall be effective after the organization 
to which it was granted has become ineligible to conduct 
bingo under any provision of Article II, §17A of the 
Delaware Constitution.

3.8 No license shall be effective after the voters in any 
District designated in Article II, §17A of the Constitution 
have decided against bingo in a referendum held pursuant to 
that section and subchapter II of the Bingo Statute.

3.9 No bingo licensee licensed prior to July 14, 1998, 
shall conduct more than ten (10) bingo events in any 
calendar month and no bingo licensee licensed after the 
enactment of 71 Del. Laws, 444 (July 14, 1998) shall 
conduct more than one (1) bingo event per week.  A bingo 
licensee who was licensed prior to July,14, 1998 whose 
license lapses for six (6) months or more due to non-renewal 
or suspension or any other reason shall, upon licensing 
thereafter, be considered a licensee licensed after the 
enactment of 71 Del.  Laws 444 (July 14, 1998).

3.10 The license application shall contain a full and 
fair description of the prize and the appraised value of the 
prize.  In lieu of submitting an appraisal, the applicant or 
licensee may submit the full retail value of the prize.  In 
cases where the applicant or licensee purchases the prize 
from a third party, the Board may require that the applicant 
or licensee arrange for an independent appraisal of the value 
of the prize from a person licensed to render such appraisals, 
or if there is no person licensed to render such appraisals, 
from a person qualified to render such appraisals.

See 2 DE Reg. 1224
See 3 DE Reg. 1692
See 4 DE Reg. 334

4.0 Conduct of Bingo.
4.1 The officers of a licensee shall designate a bona 
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fide, active member to be in charge of and primarily 
responsible for the conduct of the game of chance on each 
occasion.  The member in charge shall supervise all activities 
on the occasions for which he is in charge and shall be 
responsible for the making of the required report thereof. 
The member in charge shall be familiar with the provisions 
of the Bingo Statute, and these rules and regulations.

4.2 The room where any game is being held, operated, 
or conducted, or where it is intended that any game shall be 
held, operated, or conducted, or where it is intended that any 
equipment be used, shall at all times be open to inspection by 
the appropriate law enforcement officers and agents of the 
District in which the premises are situated, and to the Board 
and its agents and employees.  Bingo games shall not be 
commenced prior to 1:30 p.m. and the operation of a 
function shall be limited to six hours.  Instant bingo is 
permitted during any event sponsored by the organization 
that is licensed to conduct it, regardless of the day or time.

4.3 No person under the age of eighteen (18) shall be 
permitted in any bingo game, the prize for which is money. 
No person under the age of 18 shall be permitted to 
participate in any instant bingo game.  No person under the 
age of sixteen (16) shall participate in any game of bingo nor 
shall such person conduct or assist in the conduct of the 
playing of any game of bingo, except that persons no 
younger than the age of fourteen (14) may act as waiters and 
waitresses in the handling of food or drinks at an occasion on 
which a licensee conducts bingo.

4.4 No organization licensed prior to enactment of 71
Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998), may hold, operate, or 
conduct bingo more often than ten (10) days in any calendar 
month.  No bingo licensee licensed after the enactment of 71
Del.  Laws 444 (July 14, 1998) shall conduct more than one 
bingo event per week.  A bingo licensee licensed prior to the 
enactment of 71 Del. Laws 444 (July 14, 1998), whose 
license lapses for six (6) months or more due to nonrenewal 
or suspension or any other reason shall, upon licensing 
thereafter, be considered a licensee licensed after the 
enactment of 71 Del.  Laws 444 (July 14, 1998).

4.5 The Board and its duly authorized agents and 
employees may examine the books and records of any 
licensee, so far as those books and records relate to any 
transaction connected with the holding, operating, and 
conducting of the game of bingo, and may examine any 
manager, officer, director, agent, member, employee, or 
assistant of the licensee under oath in relation to the conduct 
of the game of bingo.

4.6 (Deleted.)
4.7 No prize greater in an amount or value than $250 

shall be offered or given any single game and the aggregate 
amount or value of all prizes offered or given in all games 
played on a single occasion shall not exceed $1,000.  All 
winners shall be determined and all prizes shall be awarded 
in any game played on any occasion within the same 

calendar day as that upon which the game is played.  The 
value of any promotional giveaways, which shall be no more 
than $500 per annum to be distributed at an organizational 
anniversary date and no more than three (3) holiday dates per 
year, shall not be counted towards the dollar amounts 
described in this section.  However, a licensee may offer 
inducements, including but not limited to cookie-jar bingo 
games that do not exceed $500 per game per night, free 
refreshments, and free transportation of players to and from 
bingo events, to attract bingo players to the bingo event, 
provided that the fair market value of inducements is limited 
to 15% of the total amount of all other prizes offered or 
given during the bingo event.

4.7.1 Any amounts in any cookie-jar bingo 
games shall not be included in the limitations of this section 
or in any prize money limitations.  A bingo licensee may not 
have more than two $500 cookie jar bingo pots at any one 
time which are to be awarded to players.  The licensee must 
award the first cookie jar bingo pot before it may start a third 
cookie jar bingo pot. In the event that a licensee has a first 
cookie jar bingo pot of $500 and then accrues a second 
cookie jar bingo pot of $500, the licensee must award the 
first cookie jar pot to a player on the occasion at which the 
second cookie jar pot reaches the $500 limit.  On such 
occasion, if the first cookie jar pot is not awarded by the end 
of the occasion, the licensee shall conduct a final special 
bingo game of "full card" or "black out" bingo using a 
separate, single card, and the first $500 cookie jar shall be 
won by the player or players who first covers all spaces on 
their entire card.

4.8 Two or more organizations may not hold games of 
bingo at the same place on the same day.  Unless a bingo 
licensee has been licensed prior to the enactment of 71 Del. 
Laws 444 (July 14, 1998), only one licensed organization 
may hold bingo games in a licensed organization's building 
during any given week.

4.9 No alcoholic beverages shall be permitted in the 
room from the time the bingo hall opens until the conclusion 
of the last bingo game of the occasion.

4.10 All games shall be conducted with equipment 
that is owned absolutely by the licensee or that is leased for 
fees not in excess of those allowable under the Schedule of 
Rental for leasing of equipment on file with the Board. 
Equipment shall include playing cards.  If the licensee uses 
cards that are for more than one session of playing bingo, 
these cards should be identified as the property of the 
licensee.

4.11 All winners shall be determined and all prizes 
shall be awarded in any game played on any occasion within 
the same calendar day as that upon which the game is 
played.

4.12 When more than one player is found to be the 
winner on the call of the same number in the same game, the 
designated prize shall be divided equally as possible; and 
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when division is not possible, substitute prizes, whose 
aggregate value shall not exceed that of the designated prize, 
shall be awarded; but such substitute prizes shall be of equal 
value to each other.

4.13 The equipment used in the playing of bingo 
and the method of play shall be such that each card shall 
have an equal opportunity to be a winner.  The objects drawn 
shall be essentially equal as to size, shape, weight, and 
balance, and as to all other characteristics that may control 
their selection, and all shall be present in the receptacle 
before each game is begun.  All numbers shall be announced 
so as to be visible or audible to all players present.

4.14 The particular arrangement of numbers 
required to be covered in order to win the game shall be 
clearly described and announced to the players immediately 
before each game is begun.

4.15 No arrangement of numbers shall be required 
to be covered in order to win the game other than the 
following:

4.15.1 one unspecified horizontal row;
4.15.2 one unspecified vertical row;
4.15.3 one unspecified full diagonal row;
4.15.4 one unspecified row (horizontal, vertical, 

or diagonal);
4.15.5 Two or more of the foregoing, forming a 

specified arrangement;
4.15.6 The entire card;
4.15.7 Four corners;
4.15.8 Eight spaces surrounding the free space.

4.16 Within the limits contained in 28 Del.C. 
§1132(b), alternate prizes may be offered depending upon 
the number of calls within which bingo is reached, provided 
the application for the bingo license and the license so 
specify.

4.17 Any player shall be entitled to call for a 
verification of all numbers drawn at the time a winner is 
determined, and for a verification of the objects remaining in 
the receptacle and not yet drawn.  The verification shall be 
made in the immediate presence of the member designated to 
be in charge on the occasion, but if such member is also the 
announcer, then in the immediate presence of an officer of 
the licensee.

4.18 No licensee shall conduct more than forty (40) 
games on a single occasion.

4.19In the playing of bingo, no person who is not 
physically present in the room where the game is actually 
conducted shall be allowed to participate as a player in the 
game.

4.20 Within the limits contained in 28 Del.C. 
§1132(6), the prizes offered may be varied depending upon 
the number of people who attend the occasion, provided the 
application for bingo license and license so specify.  If a 
licensee avails itself of the provisions of this rule, it must 
announce at the beginning of each game the number of 

people present and the prizes to be awarded.
4.21 The entire proceeds of the games of bingo must 

be used solely for the promotion or achievement of the 
purposes of the licensee.

4.22 Any local rules adopted by the licensee that 
affect the conduct of the players or the awarding of prizes 
shall be prominently posted in at least four locations within 
the area where the bingo games are conducted.

4.23 The licensee shall be permitted to reserve seats 
within the area where the bingo games are conducted to 
provide for the special needs of handicapped persons, and 
the licensee shall ensure that the remaining seats are made 
available to the players on an equal basis.

4.24 A licensee may charge an admission fee to a 
game event in any room or area in which a game is to be 
conducted.  The admission fee shall entitle the game player 
(a) to a card enabling the player to participate without 
additional charge in all regular games to be played under the 
license at the event, or (b) to free refreshments.  The licensee 
may charge an additional fee to a game player for a single 
opportunity to participate in a special game to be played 
under license at the event.

4.25 No person shall conduct or assist in conducting 
any game except an active member of the organization to 
which the license is issued.

4.26 No item of expense shall be incurred or paid in 
connection with the conduct of the game except shall be 
incurred or paid in connection with the conduct of the game 
except such as are bona fide items of a reasonable amount 
for merchandise furnished or services rendered which are 
reasonably necessary for the conduct of the game.

See 2 DE Reg. 1224
See 2 DE Reg. 1761

5.0 Reports After Games
5.1 When no game is held on any date when a licensee 

is authorized to hold such game, a report to that effect shall 
nonetheless be filed with the Secretary of the Board.

5.2 If a licensee fails to file a report within the time 
required or if a report is not properly verified, or not fully, 
accurately, and truthfully completed, no further license shall 
be issued to it and any existing license shall be suspended 
until such time as the default has been corrected.

6.0 Suspension and Revocation of Licenses
6.1 Proceedings to suspend or to revoke a license shall 

be brought by notifying the licensee of the ground thereof 
and the date set forth for a hearing thereon.  The 
Commission may stop the operation of a game pending 
hearing, in which case the hearing must be held within five 
(5) days after such action.

6.2 When suspension or revocation proceedings are 
begun before the Commission, it shall hear the matter and 
make written findings in support of its decision.  The 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1413
licensee shall be informed of the decision and of the 
effective date of the suspension or revocation.

6.3 When a license is suspended or revoked, the 
licensee shall surrender up the license to the Board on or 
before that effective date set forth in the notice of decision. 
In no case shall any license be valid beyond the effective 
date of suspension or revocation, whether surrendered or not.

6.4 Upon finding of the violation of these rules and 
regulations or the Bingo Statute, such as would warrant the 
suspension or revocation of a license, the Board may in 
addition to any other penalties which may be imposed, 
declare the violator ineligible to conduct a game of bingo 
and to apply for a license under said law for a period not 
exceeding thirty (30) months thereafter.  Such declaration of 
the ineligibility may be extended to include, in addition to 
the violator, any of its subsidiary organizations, its parent 
organization and any other organization having a common 
parent organization or otherwise affiliated with the violator, 
when in the opinion of the Board, the circumstances of the 
violation warrant such action.

7.0 Severability
If any provision of these Regulations or the application 

of such provision to any person or circumstances shall be 
held invalid, the validity of the remainder of these 
Regulations and the applicability of such provisions to other 
persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby.

See 2 DE Reg. 1224

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS 
PROTECTION

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 3006A (16 Del.C. §3006A)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Regulations for Assisted Living Facilities

The Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS), 
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, has 
prepared proposed regulations to amend the current 
regulations pertaining to assisted living facilities.  These 
proposed regulations redefine the terms “Incident” and 
“Reportable Incident,” and clarify requirements for assisted 
living facilities to report incidents.  The proposed regulations 
also amend the current regulations by requiring emergency 
electrical generators in assisted living facilities. 
Additionally, the proposed regulations revise the prohibition 

barring an individual with a central line from an assisted 
living facility by creating an exception for subcutaneous 
venous ports.

 INVITATION FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Public hearings will be held as follows:

Wednesday, June 2, 2004, 9:00 AM 
Room 301, Main Building
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 North DuPont Highway
New Castle

Thursday, June 3, 2004, 10:00 AM
Department of Natural Resources &
Environmental Control Auditorium
89 Kings Highway
Dover

For clarification or directions, please call Gina 
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are also invited on these proposed 
regulations and should be sent to:

Katie McMillan
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

Written comments will be accepted until the conclusion 
of the June 3 public hearing.

Regulations for Assisted Living Facilities

SECTION 63.0 PURPOSE
The Department of Health and Social Services is issuing 

these regulations to promote and ensure the health, safety, 
and well-being of all residents of assisted living facilities. 
These regulations are also meant to ensure that service 
providers will be accountable to their residents and the 
Department, and to differentiate assisted living care from 
skilled nursing care.  The essential nature of assisted living is 
to offer living arrangements to medically stable persons who 
do not require skilled nursing services and supervision.  The 
regulations establish the minimal acceptable level of services 
for residents of assisted living facilities.

SECTION 63.1 AUTHORITY AND APPLICABILITY
These regulations are promulgated in accordance with 

16 Del.C. Chapter 11 and shall apply to any facility 
providing assisted living to elderly individuals or adults with 
disabilities.  The term “assisted living” shall not be used as 
part of the official name of any facility in this State unless 
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the facility has been so licensed by the Department of Health 
and Social Services.  

SECTION 63.2 GLOSSARY OF TERMS
63.201 Activities of Daily Living (“ADLs”) - Normal 

daily activities including but not limited to ambulating, 
transferring, range of motion, grooming, bathing, dressing, 
eating, and toileting.

63.202 Administration of Medication - The process 
whereby a single dose of a prescribed drug is given to a 
resident by an authorized licensed person, as described in 24
Del.C. §1902.

63.203 Assisted Living - A special combination of 
housing, supportive services, supervision, personalized 
assistance and health care designed to respond to the 
individual needs of those who need help with activities of 
daily living and/or instrumental activities of daily living.

63.204 Assisted Living Facility – A licensed entity 
that provides the services described in 63.203. 

63.205 Assistive Technology - Any item, piece of 
equipment or product system whether acquired 
commercially off the shelf, modified, or customized that is 
used to increase or improve functional capabilities of adults 
with disabilities.

63.206 Assistance With Self-Administration of 
Medication (“AWSAM”) - Help with medication provided 
by facility personnel who are not nurses or nurse 
practitioners but who have successfully completed a Board 
of Nursing-approved medication training program in 
accordance with the Delaware Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del.C.
Ch. 19, and applicable rules and regulations.  Help with 
medication includes holding the container, opening the 
container, and assisting the resident in taking the medication, 
other than by injection, following the directions of the 
original container, and documenting in the medication log 
that each medication has been taken by the residents.

63.207 Communicable Disease - An illness caused by 
a microorganism or its toxin characterized by spread from 
host to victim by air, contact, blood, or bodily fluids.

63.208 Contract – A legally binding written agreement 
between the facility and the resident which enumerates all 
charges for services, materials, and equipment, as well as 
non-financial obligations of both parties, as specified in 
these regulations.

63.209 Cuing - The act of guiding residents, verbally 
or by gestures, to facilitate memory and/or organize verbal 
and/or behavioral responses.

63.210 Department - Department of Health and Social 
Services.

63.211 Division - Division of Long Term Care 
Residents Protection.

63.212 Durable Medical Equipment - Equipment 
capable of withstanding repeated use, primarily and 
customarily used to serve a medical purpose, generally not 

useful to a person in the absence of an illness or injury, and 
needed to maintain the resident in the facility, e.g., 
wheelchairs, hospital beds, oxygen tanks.

63.213 Homelike - Having the qualities of a home, 
including privacy, comfortable surroundings supported by 
the use of residential building materials and furnishings, and 
the opportunity to modify one’s living area to suit one’s 
individual preferences, in accordance with the facility’s 
policies.  A homelike environment provides residents with 
an opportunity for self-expression and encourages 
interaction with community, family, and friends.

63.214 Hospice - An agency licensed by the State of 
Delaware that provides palliative and supportive medical 
and other health services to terminally ill residents and their 
families.

63.215 Incident - An occurrence or event, a record of 
which must be maintained in facility files, that results or 
might result in harm to a resident.  Incident includes alleged 
abuse, neglect, mistreatment and financial exploitation; 
incidents of unknown source which might be attributable to 
abuse, neglect or mistreatment; all deaths; falls; and errors or 
omissions in medication/treatment. which includes all 
reportable incidents and the additional occurrences or events 
listed in Section 63.1805 of these regulations. (Also see 
Reportable Incident, 63.222.)

63.216 Individual Living Unit - A separate dwelling 
area within an assisted living facility which has living and 
sleeping space for one or more residents, as prescribed in 
these regulations.

63.217 Instrumental Activities of Daily Living 
(“IADLs”) - Home management skills, such as shopping for 
food and personal items, preparing meals, or handling 
money.

63.218 Managed/Negotiated Risk Agreement – A 
signed document between the resident and the facility, and 
any other involved party, which describes mutually 
agreeable action balancing resident choice and independence 
with the health and safety of the resident or others.

63.219 Medication Log – A written document in 
which licensed personnel and unlicensed personnel who 
have completed AWSAM training record administration/ 
assistance with the resident’s medications.  The log shall list 
the resident’s name; date of birth; allergies; reason the 
medication is given; prescribing practitioner and phone 
number; special instructions; and the dosage, route(s), and 
time(s), for all medications received/taken with staff 
administration or staff assistance.  The log is signed/initialed 
by a staff member after each resident has received/taken the 
appropriate medication, or when the medication was not 
taken/given as prescribed.

63.220 Medication Management by an Adult Family 
Member/Support Person – Any help with prescription or 
non-prescription medication provided by an adult family 
member/support person, as identified in the resident’s 
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contract and service agreement.
63.221 Personal Care Supplies - Those supplies, often 

disposable, used by a resident, such as incontinence products 
and hygiene supplies.

63.222 Reportable Incident - An occurrence or event 
which must be reported at once immediately to the Division 
and for which there is reasonable cause to believe that a 
resident has been abused, neglected, mistreated or subjected 
to financial exploitation as those terms are defined in 16 Del. 
Code §1131.  Reportable incident also includes an incident 
of unknown source which might be attributable to abuse, 
neglect or mistreatment; all deaths; falls with injuries; and 
significant errors or omissions in medication/treatment 
which cause the resident discomfort or jeopardize the 
resident’s health and safety. an occurrence or event listed in 
Section 63.1807 of these regulations.  (Also see Incident, 
63.215.)

63.223 Representative - A person acting on behalf of 
the resident pursuant to Delaware law.

63.224 Resident - An individual 18 years old or older 
who lives in an assisted living facility.  Where appropriate in 
the context of these regulations, “resident” as used herein 
includes an authorized representative as defined in 63.223.

63.225 Resident Assessment - Evaluation of a 
resident’s physical, medical, and psychosocial status as 
documented in a Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI), by 
a registered nurse.

63.226 Resident Assistant – Any unlicensed direct 
caregiver who, under the supervision of the assisted living 
director or director of health services, assists the resident 
with personal needs and monitors the activities of the 
resident while on the premises to ensure his/her health, 
safety, and well-being.

63.227 Secretary - Secretary of the Department of 
Health and Social Services.

63.228 Service Agreement - A written document
developed with each resident which describes what services 
will be provided, who will provide the services, when the 
services will be provided, how the services will be provided, 
and, if applicable, the expected outcome.

63.229 Shared Responsibility - The concept that 
residents and assisted living facilities share responsibility for 
planning and decision-making affecting the resident.  

63.230 Significant Change - A major deterioration or 
improvement in a resident’s health status or ability to 
perform ADLs; a major alteration in behavior or mood 
resulting in ongoing problematic behavior or the elimination 
of that behavior on a sustained basis.  Significant change 
does not include ordinary, day-to-day fluctuations in health 
status, functioning, and behavior, or a short-term illness such 
as a cold, unless these fluctuations continue to recur, nor 
does it include deterioration that will normally resolve 
without further intervention.

63.231 Social Services - Services provided to assist 

residents in maintaining or improving their ability to manage 
their everyday physical, mental and psychosocial needs.

63.232 Third-Party Provider - Any party, including a 
family member, other than the assisted living facility which 
furnishes services/supplies to a resident.

63.233 Uniform Assessment Instrument (“UAI”) - A 
document setting forth standardized criteria developed by 
the Division to assess each resident’s functional, cognitive, 
physical, medical, and psychosocial needs and status.  The 
assisted living facility shall be required to use the UAI to 
evaluate each resident on both an initial and ongoing basis in 
accordance with these regulations.

SECTION 63.3 LICENSING REQUIREMENTS AND 
PROCEDURES

63.301 No entity shall hold itself out as being an 
assisted living facility unless such entity has been duly 
licensed under these regulations and in accordance with state 
law.  The Secretary or his/her designee shall issue a 
provisional or annual license for a specified number of beds.

63.302 Procedures for assisted living facility 
applications and for issuance, posting, and renewal of 
licenses shall be in accordance with 16 Del.C. Ch. 11, 
Subchapter I., Licensing By The State.

63.303 Inspections and monitoring shall be conducted 
in accordance with 16 Del.C. Ch. 11, Subchapter I., 
Licensing By The State.

63.304 Upon receipt of written notice of a violation of 
these regulations, the assisted living facility shall submit a 
written plan of action to correct deficiencies cited within 10 
working days or such other time period as may be required 
by the Department.  The plan of action shall address 
corrective actions to be taken and include all measures and 
completion dates to prevent their recurrence:  1)  how the 
corrective action will be accomplished for those residents 
found to have been affected by the deficient practice;  2) 
how the facility will identify other residents having the 
potential to be affected by the same deficient practice;  3) 
what measures will be put into place or systemic changes 
made to ensure that the deficient practice will not recur; and 
4) how the facility will monitor its corrective actions to 
ensure that the deficient practice is being corrected and will 
not recur, i.e., what program will be put into place to monitor 
the continued effectiveness of the systemic changes.

63.305 The Department may impose civil money 
penalties and/or other enforcement remedies in accordance 
with the procedures outlined in 16 Del.C., Chapter 11, 
Subchapter I., Licensing By The State.

63.306 The Department may suspend or revoke a 
license, or refuse to renew it, in accordance with 16 Del.C., 
Ch. 11, Subchapter I., Licensing By The State.

63.307 Separate licenses are required for agencies 
maintained in separate locations, even though operated 
under the same management.  A separate license is not 
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required for separate buildings maintained by the same 
management on the same grounds.  Under conditions of 
assignment or transfer of ownership, a new license shall be 
required. 

63.308 If a facility or part of a facility plans to close:
A. The assisted living facility shall notify 

representatives of the appropriate state agencies of the plan 
of closure at least 90 days before the planned closure.

B. The facility staff must notify each resident 
advising him/her of the action in progress at least 90 days 
before the planned closure.

C. The resident must be given the opportunity to 
designate a preference for a specific facility or for other 
arrangements.

D. The assisted living facility must arrange for the 
relocation to other facilities in the area in accordance with 
the residents’ preference, if possible.

E. Any applicant for admission to the assisted 
living facility shall be advised of the planned closure date.

F. All residents’ records and any medications 
must accompany the residents to their new residences.

63.309 The Department may adopt, amend or repeal 
regulations governing the operation of the agencies defined 
in 16 Del.C., Ch. 11, Subchapter I., Licensing By The State.

SECTION 63.4 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
63.401 All written information provided by the 

assisted living facility shall be accurate, precise, easily 
understood and readable by a resident, and in compliance 
with all applicable laws.

63.402 All records maintained by the assisted living 
facility shall at all times be open to inspection and copying 
by the authorized representatives of the Department, as well 
as other agencies as required by state and federal laws and 
regulations. Such records shall be made available in 
accordance with 16 Del.C., Ch. 11, Subchapter I., Licensing 
By The State.

63.403 The assisted living facility shall adopt internal 
written policies and procedures pursuant to these 
regulations.  No policies shall be adopted by the assisted 
living facility which are in conflict with these regulations.

63.404 The assisted living facility shall establish and 
adhere to written policies and procedures regarding the 
rights and responsibilities of residents, and these policies and 
procedures shall be made available to authorized 
representatives of the Department, facility staff, and 
residents.

63.405 The assisted living facility shall develop and 
adhere to policies and procedures to prevent residents with 
diagnosed memory impairment from wandering away from 
safe areas. However, residents may be permitted to wander 
safely within the perimeter of a secured unit.

63.406 The assisted living facility shall arrange for 
emergency transportation and care.

63.407 Inspection summaries and compliance history 
information shall be posted by the facility in accordance with 
16 Del.C., Chapter 11, Subchapter I., Licensing By The 
State.

63.408 An assisted living facility shall recognize the 
authority of a representative acting on the resident’s behalf 
pursuant to Delaware law, as long as such representative 
does not exceed his/her authority.  The facility shall request 
and keep on file any documents such as an advance 
directive, living will, do not resuscitate, and power(s) of 
attorney.

63.409 An assisted living facility shall not admit, 
provide services to, or permit the provision of services to 
individuals who, as established by the resident assessment:

A. Require care by a nurse that is more than 
intermittent or for more than a limited period of time;

B. Require skilled monitoring, testing, and 
aggressive adjustment of medications and treatments where 
there is the presence of, or reasonable potential of, an acute 
episode unless there is an RN to provide appropriate care;

C. Require monitoring of a chronic medical 
condition that is not essentially stabilized through available 
medications and treatments;

D. Are bedridden for more than 14 days;
E. Have developed stage three or four skin ulcers;
F. Require a ventilator;
G. Require treatment for a disease or condition 

which requires more than contact isolation;
H. Have an unstable tracheotomy or have a stable 

tracheotomy of less than 6 months’ duration;
I. Have an unstable peg tube;
J. Require an IV or central line;with an exception 

for a completely covered subcutaneously implanted venous 
port provided the assisted living facility meets the following 
standards:

1. Facility records shall include the type, 
purpose and site of the port, the insertion date, and the last 
date medication was administered or the port flushed.

2. The facility shall document the presence 
of the port on the Uniform Assessment Instrument, the 
service plan, interagency referrals and any facility reports,

3. The facility shall not permit the provision 
of care to the port or surrounding area, the administration of 
medication or the flushing of the port or the surgical removal 
of the port within the facility by facility staff, physicians or 
third party providers;

K. Wander such that the assisted living facility 
would be unable to provide adequate supervision and/or 
security arrangements;

L. Exhibit behaviors that present a threat to the 
health or safety of themselves or others, such that the 
assisted living facility would be unable to eliminate the 
threat either through immediate discharge or use of 
immediate appropriate treatment modalities with measurable 
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documented progress within 45 days; and 
M. Are socially inappropriate as determined by the 

assisted living facility such that the facility would be unable 
to manage the behavior after documented, reasonable efforts 
such as clinical assessments and counseling for a period of 
no more than 60 days.

63.410 The provisions of Section 63.409 above do not 
apply to residents under the care of a Hospice program 
licensed by the Department as long as the Hospice program 
provides written assurance that, in conjunction with care 
provided by the assisted living facility, all of the resident’s 
needs will be met without placing other residents at risk.

SECTION 63.5 RESIDENT WAIVERS
63.501 An assisted living facility may request a 

resident-specific waiver so that it may serve a current
resident who temporarily requires care otherwise excluded in
section 63.409. A waiver request shall contain 
documentation by a physician stating that the resident’s 
condition is expected to improve within 90 days. 

63.502 The facility shall provide interim needed 
services by appropriate health care professionals while any 
waiver request is pending.

63.503 The assisted living facility shall submit in 
writing a request for a waiver, which shall include the 
following information:

A. An explanation of why the assisted living 
facility is seeking the waiver, to include physician 
documentation and a service agreement which details how 
staff will provide care;

B. An explanation of why denial of the waiver 
will impose a substantial hardship for the resident;

C. An explanation of why the waiver will not 
adversely affect the resident for whom the waiver is sought 
or other residents; and

D. The duration of the waiver, not to exceed 90 
days for each incident or condition.

63.504 In evaluating a waiver request submitted under 
this regulation, the Department shall review the statements 
in the application and may:

A. Inspect the assisted living facility;
B. Confer with the Assisted Living Director or 

his/her designee;
C. Discuss the request with the resident to 

determine whether he/she believes a waiver is in his/her best 
interest; and/or

D. Review other waivers currently in place at the 
assisted living facility.

63.505 The Department shall issue a written decision 
on a waiver request submitted pursuant to these regulations 
within 5 business days of receipt of the request.  If the 
Department grants the waiver, the written decision shall 
include the waiver’s duration.  If the Department denies the 
waiver, the written decision shall explain the reason(s) for 

the denial.  The assisted living facility may submit a revised 
waiver request no later than five days after the receipt of the 
denial.  While the second waiver request is pending, the 
facility shall provide needed services by health care 
professionals as outlined in the second waiver request.  

63.506 If an assisted living facility violates any 
condition of a waiver, or if it appears to the Department that 
the health or safety of residents will be adversely affected by 
the continuation of a waiver, the Department may revoke it. 
The revocation may be appealed; however, discharge 
procedures in accordance with Regulation 906E. shall be 
commenced immediately.

SECTION 63.6 SPECIALIZED CARE FOR MEMORY 
IMPAIRMENT

63.601 Any assisted living facility which offers to 
provide specialized care for residents with memory 
impairment shall be required to disclose its policies and 
procedures which describe the form of care or treatment 
provided, in addition to that care and treatment required by 
the rules and regulations herein.

63.602 Said disclosure shall be made to the 
Department and to any person seeking specialized care for 
memory impairment in an assisted living facility.

63.603 The information disclosed shall explain the 
additional care that is provided in each of the following 
areas:

A. Philosophy: a written statement of the agency’s 
overall philosophy and mission which reflects the needs of 
residents affected by memory impairment;

B. Resident Population: a description of the 
resident population to be served; the service agreement and 
its implementation;

C. Pre-Admission, Admission & Discharge: the 
process and criteria for placement, transfer or discharge from 
this specialized care;

D. Assessment, Care Planning & Implementation: 
the process used for assessment and establishing and 
updating the service agreement and its implementation,

E. Staffing Plan & Training Policies: staffing 
plan, orientation, and regular in-service education for 
specialized care;

F. Physical Environment: the physical 
environment and design features, including security systems, 
appropriate to support the functioning of adults with memory 
impairment;

G. Resident Activities: the frequency and types of 
resident activities;

H. Family Role in Care: the family involvement 
and family support programs;

I. Psychosocial Services: the process for 
addressing the mental health, behavior management, and 
social functioning needs of the resident;

J. Nutrition/Hydration: the frequency and types 
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of nutrition and hydration services provided; and
K. Program Costs: the cost of care and any 

additional fees.
63.604 Any significant changes in the information 

provided by the assisted living facility shall be reported to 
the Department at the time the changes are made.

SECTION 63.7 MEDICATION MANAGEMENT 
63.701 An assisted living facility shall establish and 

adhere to written medication policies and procedures which 
shall address:

A. Obtaining and refilling medication;
B. Storing and controlling medication;
C. Disposing of medication; and
D. Administration of medication, self-

administration of medication, assistance with self-
administration of medication, and medication management 
by an adult family member/support person.

E. Provision for a quarterly pharmacy review 
which shall include:

1. Assisting the facility with the development 
and implementation of medication-related policies and 
procedures;

2. Physical inspection of the medication 
storage areas;

3. Review of each resident’s medication 
regimen with written reports noting any identified 
irregularities or areas of concern. 

63.702 Each assisted living facility shall have a drug 
reference guide, with a copyright date no older than 2 years, 
available and accessible for use by employees.

63.703 Medication stored by the assisted living facility 
shall be stored and controlled as follows:

A. Medication shall be stored in a locked 
container, cabinet, or area that is only accessible to 
authorized personnel;

B. Medication that is not in locked storage shall 
not be left unattended and shall not be accessible to 
unauthorized personnel;

C. Medication shall be stored in the original 
labeled container; 

D. A bathroom or laundry room shall not be used 
for medication storage; and

E. All expired or discontinued medication, 
including those of deceased residents, shall be disposed of 
according to the assisted living facility’s medication policies 
and procedures.

63.704 Residents who self-administer medication shall 
be provided with a locked container.

63.705 A separate medication log must be maintained 
for each resident documenting administration of medication 
by staff and staff assistance with self-administration.

63.706 Within 30 days after a resident’s admission and 
concurrent with all UAI-based assessments, the assisted 

living facility shall arrange for an on-site review by an RN of 
the resident’s medication regime if he or she self-administers 
medication.  The purpose of the on-site review is to assess 
the resident’s cognitive and physical ability to self-
administer medication or the need for assistance with or staff 
administration of medication.  

63.707 The assisted living facility shall ensure that the 
review required by section 63.706 is documented in the 
resident’s records, including any recommendations given by 
the reviewer.

63.708 Concurrently with all UAI-based assessments, 
the assisted living facility shall arrange for an on-site 
medication review by a registered nurse, for residents who 
need assistance with self-administration or staff 
administration of medication, to ensure that:

A. Medications are properly labeled, stored and 
maintained;

B. Each resident receives the medications that 
have been specifically prescribed in the manner that has been 
ordered;

C. The desired effect of each medication is 
achieved, and if not, that the appropriate authorized 
prescriber is so informed; 

D. Any undesired side effects, adverse drug 
reactions, and medication errors are identified and reported 
to the appropriate authorized prescriber; and

E. Any unresolved discrepancy of controlled 
substances shall be reported to the Delaware Office of 
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.

63.709 Records shall be kept on file at the facility for 
those who have completed the AWSAM course which is 
required by 24 Del. C., Chapter 19 for those who assist the 
residents with self-administration of medication.

63.710 Each assisted living facility shall complete an 
annual AWSAM report on the form provided by the Board of 
Nursing.  The report must be submitted pursuant to the 
Delaware Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del. C., Chapter 19.

SECTION 63.8 INFECTION CONTROL
63.801 The assisted living facility shall establish 

written procedures to be followed in the event that a resident 
with a communicable disease is admitted or an episode of 
communicable disease occurs.  It is the responsibility of the 
assisted living facility to see that:

A. The necessary precautions stated in the written 
procedures are followed; and

B. All rules of the Delaware Division of Public 
Health are followed so there is minimal danger of 
transmission to staff and residents.

63.802 Any resident found to have active tuberculosis 
in an infectious stage may not continue to reside in an 
assisted living facility.

63.803 A resident, when suspected or diagnosed as 
having a communicable disease, shall be placed on the 
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appropriate isolation or precaution as recommended for that 
disease by the Centers for Disease Control.  Those with a 
communicable disease which has been determined by the 
Director of the Division of Public Health to be a health 
hazard to visitors, staff, and other residents shall be placed 
on isolation care until they can be moved to an appropriate 
room or transferred.  

63.804 The admission or occurrence of a resident with 
a notifiable disease within an assisted living facility shall be 
reported to the County Public Health Administrator.  See 
Appendix A. 

63.805 The assisted living facility shall have on file 
results of tuberculin tests:  

1) performed annually for all employees and 
2) performed on all newly admitted residents. 

The tuberculin test to be used is the Mantoux test containing 
5 TU-PPD stabilized with Tween, injected intradermally, 
using a needle and syringe, usually on the volar surface of 
the forearm.  Persons found to have a significant reaction 
(defined as 10 mm of induration or greater) to tests shall be 
reported to the Division of Public Health and managed 
according to recommended medical practice.  A tuberculin 
test as specified, done within the twelve months prior to 
employment, or a chest x-ray showing no evidence of active 
tuberculosis shall satisfy this requirement for asymptomatic 
individuals.  A report of this skin test shall be kept on file.

63.806 The assisted living facility shall have on file 
evidence of annual vaccination against influenza for all 
residents, as recommended by the Immunization Practice 
Advisory Committee of the Centers for Disease Control, 
unless medically contraindicated.  All residents who refuse 
to be vaccinated against influenza must be fully informed by 
the facility of the health risks involved.  The reason for the 
refusal shall be documented in the resident’s medical record.

63.807 The assisted living facility shall have on file 
evidence of vaccination against pneumococcal pneumonia 
for all residents older than 65 years and as recommended by 
the Immunization Practice Advisory Committee of the 
Centers for Disease Control, unless medically 
contraindicated.  All residents who refuse to be vaccinated 
against pneumococcal pneumonia must be fully informed by 
the facility of the health risks involved.  The reason for the 
refusal shall be documented in the resident’s medical record.

63.808 The assisted living facility shall have policies 
and procedures for infection control as it pertains to staff, 
residents, and visitors.

63.809 All assisted living facility staff shall be 
required to use Standard Precautions. 

SECTION 63.9 RESIDENT APPLICATIONS AND 
CONTRACTS

63.901 The assisted living facility shall have a written 
application process and provide clear reasons in writing if an 
applicant is rejected.

63.902 The assisted living facility shall recommend 
review of the contract by an attorney or other representative 
chosen by the resident.

63.903 Prior to executing the contract, each assisted 
living facility shall provide to the prospective resident a 
complete statement enumerating all charges for services, 
materials and equipment which shall, or may be, furnished to 
the resident during the period of occupancy.

63.904 The resident shall sign a contract within 3 
business days after admission that:

A. Is a clear and complete reflection of 
commitments agreed to by the parties and the actual 
practices that will occur in the assisted living program;

B. Is accurate, precise, legible, and written in 
plain language; and

C. Conforms to all relevant state and local laws 
and regulations.

63.905 The assisted living facility shall retain the 
contract on-site and make it available for review by the 
Department or its designee.  The facility shall also provide a 
copy to the resident.

63.906 The contract or service agreement shall 
include, at a minimum, the following non-financial 
provisions:

A. A listing of basic and optional services 
provided by the assisted living facility including the 
availability of licensed nursing staff;

B. A listing of optional services that may be 
provided by third parties; 

C. A statement of the resident’s rights, as set forth 
in 16 Del.C. Chapter 11, Subchapter II and an explanation of 
the assisted living facility’s grievance procedures;

D. Occupancy provisions, including:
1. Policies regarding bed and room 

assignment, including the specific room and bed assigned to 
the resident at the time of admission;

2. Policies regarding residents modifying 
their living area;

3. Procedures to be followed when the 
assisted living facility temporarily or permanently changes 
the resident’s accommodation by:

a. Relocating the resident within the 
facility;

b. Making a change in roommate 
assignment; and

c. Increasing or decreasing the number 
of individuals occupying a room.

4. Procedures to be followed in transferring 
the resident to another facility;

5. Security procedures which the licensee 
shall implement to protect the resident and the resident’s 
property;

6. The staff’s right to enter a resident’s room;
7. The resident’s rights and obligations 
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concerning use of the facility, including common areas;
8. The assisted living facility’s policy in case 

of unavoidable or optional absences such as hospitalizations, 
recuperative stays in other settings, or vacation, and payment 
terms; 

9. Provisions for interim service in the event 
of an emergency; and

10. An acknowledgment that the resident has 
reviewed all assisted living facility rules, requirements, 
restrictions, or special conditions that the facility will impose 
on the resident.

E. Discharge/temporary absence policies and 
procedures, including:

1. Those actions, circumstances, or 
conditions that temporarily disqualify individuals from 
continued residence in the assisted living facility or may 
result in the resident’s discharge from the facility;

2. The procedures which the assisted living 
facility shall follow if it intends to discharge a resident and 
thereby terminate the contract, including a provision under 
which the assisted living facility shall give at least 30 days 
notice to the resident before the effective date of the 
discharge and termination of the contract, except in the case 
of a health emergency or substantial risk to the health and 
safety of the other residents or facility staff;

3. The procedures which the resident shall 
follow if the resident wishes to terminate the contract, 
including a provision that the resident, or appropriate 
representative, shall give at least 30 days notice to the 
assisted living facility before the effective date of the 
termination, except in the case of a health emergency; 

4. The procedures which the assisted living 
facility shall follow in helping the resident find an 
appropriate placement;

5. In a living unit in which more than one 
resident is the contracting party, the terms under which the 
contract may be modified in the event of one of the resident’s 
discharge or death, including the provisions for termination 
of the contract and appropriate refunds. 

F. Obligations of the facility and the resident as 
to:

1. Arranging for or overseeing medical care; 
and

2. Monitoring of the status of the resident.
G. The assisted living facility’s formal internal 

grievance process which shall protect residents from reprisal 
by the facility or its employees. 

H. An inventory of the resident’s personal 
belongings, if the resident so desires.

63.907 The contract shall include, at a minimum, the 
following financial provisions:

A. Party responsible for:
1. Handling the finances of the resident;
2. Purchasing or renting essential or desired 

equipment and supplies;
3. Arranging and contracting for services not 

covered by the contract;
4. Ascertaining the cost of and purchasing 

durable medical equipment; and
5. Disposing of the resident’s property upon 

discharge or death of the resident.
B. Rate structure and payment provisions 

including:
1. All rates to be charged to the resident, 

including, but not limited to:
a. Service packages;
b. Fee for service rates; and
c. Other ancillary charges.

2. Notification of the rate structure and the 
criteria to be used for imposing additional charges for the 
provision of additional services, if the resident’s service and 
care needs change;

3. Identification of the persons responsible 
for payment of all fees and charges and a clear indication of 
whether the person’s responsibility is or is not limited to the 
extent of the resident’s funds;

4. A provision which provides at least 60 
days notice of any rate increase, except if necessitated by a 
change in the resident’s medical condition;

5. Billing, payment, and credit policies, 
including the procedures that the assisted living facility will 
follow in the event the resident can no longer pay for 
services provided or for services or care needed by the 
resident; and

6. A description of any prepaid fees or 
charges and the terms governing refund of those fees or 
charges in the event of a resident’s discharge from the 
assisted living facility or termination of the contract.

63.908 The contract shall be amended by the parties to 
reflect any applicable increase or decrease in charges.

63.909 All notices to be provided pursuant to an 
assisted living contract shall be in writing and mailed or 
hand-delivered to the resident.

63.910 No contract shall be signed before a full 
assessment of the resident has been completed and a service 
agreement has been executed.  If a deposit is required prior 
to move-in, the deposit shall be fully refundable if the parties 
cannot agree on the services and fees upon completion of the 
assessment.

SECTION 63.10  RESIDENT ASSESSMENT
63.1001 Each assisted living facility shall use a 

Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) developed by the 
Division.  The UAI shall be used in conducting all resident 
assessments.

63.1002 A resident seeking entrance shall have an 
initial UAI-based resident assessment completed by a 
registered nurse (RN) acting on behalf of the assisted living 
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facility no more than 30 days prior to admission.  In all 
cases, the assessment shall be completed prior to admission. 
Such assessment shall be reviewed by an RN within 30 days 
after admission and, if appropriate, revised.  If the resident 
requires specialized medical, therapeutic, nursing services, 
or assistive technology, that component of the assessment 
must be performed by personnel qualified in that specialty 
area.  

63.1003 Within 30 days prior to admission, a 
prospective resident shall have a medical evaluation 
completed by a physician.

63.1004 The resident assessment shall be completed in 
conjunction with the resident.

63.1005 The UAI, developed by the Department, shall 
be used to update the resident assessment.  At a minimum, 
regular updates must occur 30 days after admission, annually 
and when there is a significant change in the resident’s 
condition. 

63.1006 If the needs of a resident exceed the care which 
the assisted living facility can provide and a waiver has not 
been requested, the facility shall assist the resident in making 
arrangements for an appropriate transfer within 30 days. 
While a transfer is pending, the assisted living facility shall 
coordinate the provision of services needed by the resident.

63.1007 The assisted living facility shall provide an 
instrument to assess interests, strengths, talents, skills and 
preferences of each resident within 30 days of admission to 
be used in activity planning.

SECTION 63.11  SERVICES
63.1101 The assisted living facility shall ensure that:

A. Three meals, snacks and prescribed food 
supplements are available during each 24-hour period, 7 
days per week;

B. Meals and snacks are varied, palatable, and of 
sufficient quality and quantity to meet the daily nutritional 
needs of each resident with specific attention given to the 
special dietary needs of each resident;

C. Food service complies with the Delaware Food 
Code; and

D. A resident who chooses not to follow 
prescribed dietary recommendations shall be provided 
documented counseling on potential adverse outcomes. 

63.1102 As part of the licensure approval and renewal 
process, an assisted living applicant or licensee shall submit 
at least a 4-week menu cycle with documentation by a 
dietician or nutritionist that the menus are nutritionally 
adequate.  Thereafter, menus are to be written at least one 
week in advance and maintained on file, as served, for two 
months.

63.1103 The assisted living facility shall ensure that the 
resident’s service agreement is being properly implemented. 

63.1104 In accordance with the service agreement, the 
assisted living facility shall provide or ensure the provision 

of all necessary personal services, including all activities of 
daily living, and shall ensure that personal care supplies are 
available.

63.1105 The assisted living facility shall ensure that 
laundry and housekeeping services are offered and that all 
areas of the facility are maintained in a clean and orderly 
condition.

63.1106 In accordance with the service agreement, the 
assisted living facility shall be responsible for facilitating 
access to appropriate health care and social services for the 
resident.

63.1107 The assisted living facility shall assess each 
resident and provide or arrange appropriate opportunities for 
social interaction and leisure activities which promote the 
physical and mental well-being of each resident, including 
facilitating access to spiritual activities consistent with the 
preferences and background of the resident.

SECTION 63.12 SERVICE AGREEMENTS
63.1201 A service agreement based on the needs 

identified in the UAI shall be completed prior to or no later 
than the day of admission.  The resident shall participate in 
the development of the agreement.  The resident and the 
facility shall sign the agreement and each shall receive a 
copy of the signed agreement.  All persons who sign the 
agreement must be able to comprehend and perform their 
obligations under the agreement.

63.1202 The service agreement or contract shall address 
the physical, medical, and psychosocial services that the 
resident requires as follows:

A. Assistance with activities of daily living and 
instrumental activities of daily living;

B. Services provided by licensed nurses; 
C. Food, nutrition, and hydration services;
D. Environmental services including 

housekeeping, laundry, safety, trash removal;
E. Psychosocial/emotional services including 

those related to memory impairment and other cognitive 
deficits;

F. Banking, record keeping, and personal 
spending services;

G. Transportation services;
H. Individual living unit furnishings;
I. Notification procedures when an incident 

occurs or there is a change in the health status of the resident;
J. Assistive technology and durable medical 

equipment;
K. Rehabilitation services;
L. Qualified interpreters for people who have a 

hearing impairment or do not speak English; and
M. Reasonable accommodations for persons with 

disabilities as defined by applicable state and federal law.
63.1203 The resident’s personal attending physician(s) 

shall be identified in the service agreement by name, 
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address, and telephone number.
63.1204 The facility shall be responsible for appropriate 

documentation in the service agreement for services 
provided or arranged by the facility.  

63.1205 The service agreement shall be developed and 
followed for each resident consistent with that person’s 
unique physical and psychosocial needs with recognition of 
his/her capabilities and preferences.

63.1206 The service agreement shall be reviewed when 
the needs of the resident have changed and, minimally, in 
conjunction with each UAI.  Within 10 days of such 
assessment, the resident and the assisted living facility shall 
execute a revised service agreement, if indicated.

63.1207 The service agreement shall be based on the 
concepts of shared responsibility and resident choice.  To 
participate fully in shared responsibility, residents shall be 
provided with clear and understandable information about 
the possible consequences of their decision-making.  If a 
resident’s preference or decision places the resident or others 
at risk or is likely to lead to adverse consequences, a 
managed/negotiated risk agreement section may be included 
in the service agreement.

63.1208 The following are criteria for a managed/ 
negotiated risk agreement:  

A. The risks are tolerable to all parties 
participating in the development of the managed/negotiated 
risk agreement;

B. Mutually agreeable action is negotiated to 
provide the greatest amount of resident autonomy with the 
least amount of risk; and

C. The resident living in the facility is capable of
making choices and decisions and understanding 
consequences.

63.1209 If a managed/negotiated risk agreement is 
made a part of the service agreement, it shall:

A. Clearly describe the problem, issue or service 
that is the subject of the managed/negotiated risk agreement;

B. Describe the choices available to the resident 
as well as the risks and benefits associated with each choice, 
the assisted living facility’s recommendations or desired 
outcome, and the resident’s desired preference;

C. Indicate the agreed-upon option;
D. Describe the agreed upon responsibilities of the 

assisted living facility, the resident, and any third parties;
E. Become a part of the service agreement, be 

signed separately by the resident, the assisted living facility, 
and any third party with obligations under the managed/ 
negotiated risk agreement that the third party is able to fully 
comprehend and perform; and

F. Include a time frame for review.
63.1210 The assisted living facility shall have sufficient 

staff to meet its responsibilities under the managed/
negotiated risk agreement.

63.1211 The assisted living facility shall not use 

managed/negotiated risk agreements to provide care to 
residents with needs beyond the capability of the facility.  A 
managed/negotiated risk agreement shall not be used to 
supersede any requirements of these regulations. 

63.1212 The assisted living facility shall make no 
attempt to use the managed/negotiated risk portion of the 
service agreement to abridge a resident’s rights or to avoid 
liability for harm caused to a resident by the negligence of 
the assisted living facility and any such abridgement or 
disclaimer shall be void.

SECTION 63.13  RESIDENT RIGHTS
63.1301 Assisted living facilities are required by 16 

Del.C. Chapter 11, Subchapter II, to comply with the 
provisions of the Rights of Patients covered therein.

63.1302 Each resident has the right of privacy in his/her 
room, including a door that locks, consistent with the safety 
needs of the resident.  

SECTION 63.14 QUALITY ASSURANCE
63.1401 The assisted living facility shall develop,

implement, and adhere to a documented, ongoing quality 
assurance program that includes an internal monitoring 
process that tracks performance and measures resident 
satisfaction.

63.1402 On at least a semi-annual basis, the assisted 
living facility shall survey each resident regarding his/her 
satisfaction with services provided.

A. The assisted living facility shall retain all 
surveys for at least two years which shall be reviewed during 
inspection.

B. The assisted living facility shall maintain 
documentation for at least one year which addresses what 
actions were taken as a result of the surveys.

SECTION 63.15  STAFFING
63.1501 As used herein “staff” includes permanent 

employees of the assisted living facility and independent 
contractors, including “temps.”

63.1502 A staff of persons sufficient in number and 
adequately trained, certified or licensed to meet the 
requirements of the residents shall be employed and shall 
comply with applicable state laws and regulations. 

63.1503 All direct care staff shall be familiar with the 
service agreement for each resident for whom they provide 
care. 

63.1504 Every assisted living facility shall have a 
Director.  Facilities licensed for 25 beds or more shall have a 
full-time Nursing Home Administrator.  Facilities licensed 
for 5 through 24 beds shall have a part-time Nursing Home 
Administrator on-site and on-duty at least 20 hours a week. 
If the assisted living facility is part of a continuing care 
retirement community (CCRC) or part of a campus under the 
same ownership, the CCRC or campus may operate under 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1423
one licensed Nursing Home Administrator.
63.1505 The Nursing Home Administrator shall comply 

with the provisions of 24 Del. C., Chapter 52, and the 
Board’s Rules and Regulations.

63.1506 The Director/Nursing Home Administrator 
shall have overall responsibility for managing the assisted 
living facility such that all requirements of state law and 
regulations are met.

63.1507 The Director of a facility for 4 beds or fewer 
shall meet one of the following criteria:

A. A baccalaureate degree in a health or social 
services field or business administration; or

B. An associates degree in a health or social 
services field or business administration and at least 2 years 
of full-time equivalent work experience in these disciplines; 
or

C. An RN with a combined total of 4 years full-
time equivalent education and related work experience; or 

D. At least 4 years full-time equivalent work 
experience as an LPN, or 5 years full-time equivalent work 
experience in a health or social services field or business 
administration.

63.1508 The Director of a Facility for 4 beds or fewer 
shall be on-site at least 8 hours a week.

63.1509 Each facility for 4 beds or fewer shall have a 
full-time, on-site house manager who shall at a minimum:

A. Possess a high school diploma or its 
equivalent; 

B. Be certified as a CNA with at least three years 
experience providing care  in a health care setting; 

C. Complete an orientation program in 
accordance with the CNA regulations; and

D. Receive, at a minimum, 12 hours of regular in-
service education annually, which may include but not be 
limited to the topics listed below:  

1. The health and psychosocial needs of the 
population being served;

2. The resident assessment process;
3. Use of service agreements;
4. Cuing, coaching, and monitoring residents 

who self-administer medications, with or without assistance;
5. Providing assistance with ambulation, 

personal hygiene, dressing, toileting, and feeding;
6. 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, pertaining to 

resident’s rights; reporting of abuse, neglect, mistreatment, 
and financial exploitation; and the Ombudsman Program;

7. Fire and life safety, and emergency 
disaster plans;

8. Infection control, including Standard
Precautions;

9. Basic food safety;
10. Basic first aid, CPR, and the Heimlich 

Maneuver; and
11. Hospice services.

63.1510 Assisted living facilities administering 
therapies and/or treatments shall have staff adequate in 
number and appropriately qualified and/or licensed.

63.1511 Every assisted living facility shall have a 
Director of Nursing who is a registered nurse.  Facilities 
licensed for 25 assisted living beds or more shall have a full-
time Director of Nursing.  Facilities licensed for 5 through 
24 assisted living beds shall have a part-time Director of 
Nursing on-site and on-duty at least 20 hours a week. The 
nursing director of a facility for 4 assisted living beds or 
fewer shall be on-site at least 8 hours a week.

63.1512 The Director of Nursing shall comply with the 
provisions of 24 Del.C. Ch. 19 and the rules and regulations 
of the Board of Nursing.

63.1513 The Director of Nursing shall have overall 
responsibility for the coordination, supervision and 
provision of the nursing department /services.

63.1514 Assisted living facility resident assistants shall, 
at a minimum:

A. Be at least 18 years old;
B. Participate in a facility-specific orientation 

program that covers the following topics:
1. Fire and life safety, and emergency 

disaster plans;
2. Infection control, including Standard 

Precautions;
3. Basic food safety;
4. Basic first aid and the Heimlich 

Maneuver;
5. Job responsibilities;
6. The health and psychosocial needs of the 

population being served;
7. The resident assessment process; and 
8. The use of service agreements;
9. 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, pertaining to 

residents’ rights; reporting of abuse, neglect, mistreatment, 
and financial exploitation; and the Ombudsman Program;

10. Hospice services.
C. Receive, at a minimum, 12 hours of regular in-

service education annually which may include but not be 
limited to the topics listed in 63.1514 B;

D. Receive training to competently assist in 
activities of daily living or provide documentation of such 
training, and

E. Complete a Delaware Board of Nursing-
approved AWSAM training course if assisting with self-
administration of medications.

63.1515 The assisted living facility shall have a staffing 
plan which shall specify supervisory responsibilities, 
including the person responsible in the Assisted Living 
Director’s absence.

63.1516 The assisted living facility shall maintain 
staffing records which document what personnel were on 
duty as well as specific hours worked for each day.
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63.1517 The assisted living facility shall maintain a 
copy of each employee’s signature and handwritten initials.

63.1518 The assisted living facility shall maintain 
records of each employee’s regular in-service education 
hours.

63.1519 The assisted living facility shall provide 
orientation training to all new staff.  

63.1520 Temporary agency staff placed in a facility in 
which they have not worked within the past 6 months shall 
undergo an orientation prior to beginning their first shift. 
The orientation shall cover the following topics:

A. Tour of the facility;
B. Fire and disaster plans;
C. Emergency equipment and supplies;
D. Communication and documentation 

requirements of the facility;
E. Process for reporting emergencies and change 

of condition; and
F. Review of current assigned resident issues/ 

needs.
63.1521 All personnel records for permanent 

employees, including employment applications, shall be 
maintained for a minimum of five years consistent with the 
assisted living facility policies and applicable state laws.

63.1522 At a minimum, every assisted living facility 
shall have an awake staff person on-site 24 hours per day 
who is qualified to administer or assist with self-
administration of medication (“AWSAM”) and who has 
knowledge of emergency procedures, basic first aid, CPR, 
and the Heimlich Maneuver.  

63.1523 Written policies and procedures shall be 
required and adhered to for any assisted living facility 
utilizing volunteers.

SECTION 63.16 ENVIRONMENT AND PHYSICAL 
PLANT

63.1601 Each assisted living facility shall comply with 
applicable federal, state and local laws including:

A. Rehabilitation Act, Section 504;
B. Fair Housing Act as amended; and
C. Americans with Disabilities Act.

63.1602 Assisted living facilities shall:
A. Be in good repair;
B. Be clean;
C. Have a hazard-free environment; and
D. Have an effective pest control program.

63.1603 Heating and cooling systems in common areas 
shall be maintained at a temperature between 71° F and 81° 
F.  A resident with an individual temperature-controlled 
residential room or unit may heat and cool to provide 
individual comfort.  

63.1604 Common areas shall be lighted to assure 
resident safety.

63.1605 For all new construction and conversions of 

assisted living facilities with more than 10 beds, there shall 
be at least 100 square feet of floor space, excluding alcoves, 
closets, and bathroom, for each resident in a private bedroom 
and at least 80 square feet of floor space for each resident 
sharing a bedroom.

A. Sharing of a bedroom shall be limited to 2 
residents;

B. Each facility shall have locked storage 
available for the resident’s valuables, in accordance with the 
facility’s policies;

C. Bedrooms and all bathrooms used by residents 
in assisted living facilities, except in specialized care units 
for memory impairment, shall be equipped with an intercom 
or other mechanical means of communication for resident 
emergencies.  For specialized care units for memory 
impairment, staff must be equipped to communicate resident 
emergencies immediately.

63.1606 Resident kitchens shall be available to 
residents either in their individual living unit or in an area 
readily accessible to each resident.  Residents shall have 
access to a microwave or stove/conventional oven, 
refrigerator, and sink.  The assisted living facility shall 
establish and adhere to policies and procedures to ensure that 
common kitchens are used and maintained in such a way as 
to provide:

A. A clean and sanitary environment;
B. Safe storage of food; and
C. A means to enable hand washing and sanitizing 

of dishes, utensils and food preparation equipment.
63.1607 Bathroom facilities shall be available to 

residents either in their individual living units or in an area 
readily accessible to each resident.  There shall be at least 1 
working toilet, sink, and tub/shower for every 4 residents.

63.1608 Hot water at resident bathing and hand-
washing facilities shall not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit.

63.1609 An assisted living facility shall have a 
functioning emergency generator adequate to supply power 
in the event that the normal electrical supply is interrupted. 
The required emergency generating system shall conform to 
NFPA 99 Life Safety Code and NFPA 101 Life Safety Code.

63.1610 The emergency generator shall supply power 
for the following:

A. Illumination of means of egress in stairs, 
facility vestibules, aisles, corridors and ramps leading to an 
exit.  Illumination shall not be less than
one foot candle.

B. Illumination of exit signs and exit directional 
signs.  Illumination shall not be less than one foot candle.

C. Fire detection, fire alarm and fire extinguishing 
systems.

D. Communication systems including telephones, 
public address system and nurse call or resident intercom 
system.

E. Lighting in dining and recreation areas to 
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provide illumination to exit ways.  Illumination shall not be 
less than 5 foot candles.

F. Elevator cab lighting, control, communication 
and signal systems including the capacity to operate the 
elevator to release passengers trapped between floors.

G. Task illumination and at least one electrical 
receptacle in each area listed below.  The cover plate on such 
receptacles shall have a distinctive color 
or marking.

1. Medication dispensing areas.
2. Direct care charting areas.
3. Resident rooms.
4. Kitchen.

H. Refrigeration units, kitchen hood and/or 
exhaust systems.

I. Sump pump.
J. Heating/air conditioning, sufficient to prevent 

resident distress, in corridors, common areas and any 
selected room(s) designated for 
congregate use during a power outage.

SECTION 63.17 FIRE SAFETY AND OTHER 
EMERGENCY PLANS

63.1701 The assisted living facility shall comply with 
all applicable state and local fire and building codes.  All 
applications for license or renewal of license shall include a 
letter certifying compliance by the Fire Marshal having 
jurisdiction.  Notification by the Fire Marshal of non-
compliance with the Rules and Regulations of the State Fire 
Prevention Commission shall be grounds for enforcement 
remedies in 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, Subchapter I, Licensing 
By The State.

63.1702 The assisted living facility shall:
A. Develop and implement through staff training 

and drills a plan for use in fire and other emergencies, which 
clearly outlines the procedures to be followed and the 
responsibilities designated to staff.

63.1703 Develop a plan for relocation and/or 
evacuation and continuous provision of services to residents 
in the event of permanent or temporary closure of the 
assisted living facility.  The evacuation plan shall be 
approved by the Fire Marshal having jurisdiction and shall 
include the evacuation route, which shall be conspicuously 
posted on each floor and in each unit.

63.1704 The assisted living facility shall promote staff 
knowledge of fire and other emergency safety by:

A. Orienting staff to the emergency plan and to 
individual responsibilities within 24 hours of the 
commencement of job duties;

B. Documenting completion of orientation in staff 
member’s personnel file with employee’s signature;

C. Conducting facility fire drills in accordance 
with State of Delaware Fire Prevention Regulations;

D. Conducting other facility emergency drills or 

training sessions on all shifts at least annually; and 
E. Maintaining records for two years of facility 

fire and other emergency drills/training sessions.
63.1705 The assisted living facility shall promote 

resident fire and other emergency safety by:
A. Orienting residents to the emergency plan 

within 24 hours of their admission into the assisted living 
facility;

B. Documenting the orientation such that it is 
signed and dated by the resident; and

C. Maintaining records identifying residents 
needing assistance for evacuation.  

SECTION 63.18  RECORDS AND REPORTS
63.1801 The assisted living facility shall be responsible 

for maintaining appropriate records for each resident.  These 
records shall document the implementation of the service 
agreement for each resident.

63.1802 Records shall be available, along with the 
equipment to read them if electronically maintained, at all 
times to legally authorized persons; otherwise such records 
shall be held confidential. 

63.1803 The assisted living facility resident clinical
records shall be retained for a minimum of 5 years following 
discharge before being destroyed.

63.1804 In cases in which facilities have created the 
option for an individual’s record to be maintained by 
computer, rather than hard copy, electronic signatures shall 
be acceptable.  In cases when such attestation is done on 
computer records, safeguards to prevent unauthorized access 
and reconstruction of information must be in place.  The 
following is an example of how such a system may be set up:

A. There is a written policy, at the assisted living 
facility, describing the attestation policy(ies) in force at the 
facility;

B. The computer has built-in safeguards to 
minimize the possibility of fraud;

C. Each person responsible for an attestation has 
an individualized identifier;

D. The date and time is recorded from the 
computer’s internal clock at the time of entry;

E. An entry is not to be changed after it has been 
recorded; and

F. The computer program controls what sections/ 
areas any individual can access/enter data based on the 
individual’s personal identifier.

63.1805 Incident reports, with adequate documentation, 
shall be completed for each incident. Records of incident 
reports shall be retained in facility files for the following:

A. All reportable incidents.
B. Falls without injury and falls with injuries that 

do not require transfer to an acute care facility or do not 
require reassessment of the resident.

C. Errors or omissions in treatment or medication.
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D. Injuries of unknown source.
E. Lost items, in accordance with facility policy, 

which are not subject to financial exploitation.  Adequate 
documentation shall consist of the name of the resident(s) 
involved; the date, time and place of the incident; a 
description of the incident; a list of other parties involved, 
including witnesses and any accused persons; the nature of 
any injuries; resident outcome; and follow-up action, 
including notification of the resident’s representative or 
family, attending physician and licensing or law enforcement 
authorities when appropriate.

63.1806 Incident reports shall be kept on file in the 
facility.  Reportable incidents shall be communicated 
reported immediately, which shall be within 8 hours of the 
occurrence of the incident, to the Division of Long Term 
Care Residents Protection, 3 Mill Road, Suite 308, 
Wilmington, DE 19806; telephone number: 1-877-453-0012; 
fax number: 1-877-264-8516. The immediate reporting of 
reportable incidents shall be by oral communication, for 
which a fax may be substituted, followed within 48 hours by 
a written report on a form provided by the Division.

63.1807 Reportable incidents include:
A. Abuse as defined in 16 Del.C. §1131.

1. Physical abuse.
a. Staff to resident with or without 

injury.
b. Resident to resident with or without 

injury.
c. Other (e.g., visitor, relative) to 

resident with or without injury.
 2. Sexual abuse.

a. Staff to resident sexual acts.
b. Resident to resident non-consensual 

sexual acts.
c. Other (e.g., visitor, relative) to 

resident non-consensual sexual acts.
3. Emotional abuse.

a. Staff to resident.
b. Resident to resident.
c. Other (e.g., visitor, relative) to 

resident.
B. Neglect as defined in 16 Del.C. §1131.
C. Mistreatment as defined in 16 Del.C. §1131.
D. Financial exploitation as defined in 16 Del.C.

§1131.
E. Resident elopement.

1. Any circumstance in which a resident’s 
whereabouts are unknown to staff and the resident suffers 
harm.

2. Any circumstance in which a cognitively 
impaired resident, whose whereabouts are unknown to staff, 
exits the facility.

3. Any circumstance in which a resident 
cannot be found inside or outside a 

facility and the police are summoned.
F. Death of a resident in a facility or within 5 days 

of transfer to an acute care facility.
G. Significant injuries.

1. Injury from an incident of unknown source 
in which the initial investigation concludes that there is 
reasonable suspicion that the injury was caused by abuse, 
neglect or mistreatment.

2. Injury from a fall which results in transfer 
to an acute care facility for treatment or evaluation or which 
requires periodic reassessment of the 
resident’s clinical status by facility professional staff for up 
to 48 hours.

3. Injury sustained while a resident is 
physically restrained.

4. Injury sustained by a resident dependent 
on staff for toileting, mobility, transfer and/or bathing.

5. Significant error or omission in 
medication/treatment, including drug 
diversion, which causes the resident discomfort , jeopardizes 
the resident’s health and safety or requires extensive 
monitoring for up to 48 hours.

6. A burn greater than first degree.
7. Choking resulting in transfer to an acute 

care facility.
8. Areas of contusions or lacerations which 

may be attributable to abuse or 
neglect.

9. Serious unusual and/or life-threatening 
injury.

H. Attempted suicide.
I. Poisoning.
J. Epidemic outbreak or quarantine.
K. Fire within a facility due to any cause.
L. Utility interruption lasting more than 8 hours in 

one or more major service including electricity, water 
supply, plumbing, heating or air conditioning, 
fire alarm, sprinkler system or telephone system.

M. Structural damage or unsafe structural 
conditions.

1. Structural damage to a facility due to 
natural disasters such as hurricanes, tornadoes, flooding or 
earthquakes.

2. Water damage which impacts resident 
health, safety or comfort.

SECTION 63.19 WAIVERS AND SEVERABILITY
63.1901 Waivers may be granted by the Division for 

good cause.
63.1902 Should any section, sentence, clause or phrase 

of these regulations be legally declared unconstitutional or 
invalid for any reason, the remainder of said regulations 
shall not be affected thereby.

See 6 DE Reg. 525 (10/1/02)
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APPENDIX A
Notifiable Diseases

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (S)
Anthrax (T)
Botulism (T)
Brucellosis
Campylobacteriosis
Chancroid (S)
Chlamydia trachomatis infections (S) g
Cholera
Cryptosporidiosis
Cyclosporidiosis
Diphtheria (T)
E. Coli 0157:H7 infection (T)
Encephalitis
Ehrlichiosis
Foodborne Disease Outbreaks (T)
Giardiasis
Gonococcal infections (S)
Granuloma Inguinale (S)
Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy)
Hantavirus infection (T)
Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS)
Hepatitis A (T)
Hepatitis B (S)
Hepatitis C & unspecified
Herpes (congenital) (S)
Herpes (genital) (N)
Histoplasmosis
Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) (N)
Human papillomavirus (genital warts) (N)
Influenza (N)
Lead Poisoning
Legionnaires Disease
Leptospirosis
Lyme Disease
Lymphogranuloma Venereum (S)
Malaria
Measles (T)
Meningitis (all types other than meningoccal)
Meningococcal infections (all types) (T)
Mumps (T)
Pelvic Inflammatory Disease (resulting from onococcal

and/or chlamydial infections) (S)
Pertussis (T)
Plague (T)
Poliomyelitis (T)
Psittacosis
Rabies (man, animal) (T)
Reye’s Syndrome
Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever
Rubella (T)
Rubella (congenital)(T)

Salmonellosis
Shigellosis
Smallpox (T)
Streptococcal disease (invasive group A)
Streptococcal toxic shock syndrome (STSS)
Syphilis (S)
Syphilis (congenital) (T)
Tetanus
Toxic Shock Syndrome
Trichinosis
Tuberculosis
Tularemia
Typhoid Fever (T)
Vaccine Adverse Reactions
Varicella
Waterborne Disease Outbreaks (T)
Yellow Fever (T)

Also, any unusual disease and adverse reaction to 
vaccine

County Health Offices:
New Castle County 995-8632
Kent County 739-5305
Sussex County 856-5355

(T) report by rapid means
(N) report in number only when so requested
For all diseases not marked by (T) or (N):
(S) – sexually transmitted disease, report required in 1 day

Others – report required in 2 days
See 6 DE Reg. 525 (10/1/02)

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,

Section 133(16 Del.C. §133)

Nature of the Proceedings

Pursuant to 16 Delaware Code, Section 133, the 
Department of Health and Social Services is proposing 
“Cancer Treatment Program Regulations” that will establish 
medical insurance coverage for Delawareans for treatment of 
cancer.  The program will serve Delawareans who are 
diagnosed with cancer, have no health insurance and meet 
certain financial eligibility criteria as established within 
these regulations.

Notice of Public Hearing

The Center of Health Information Management and 
Disease Prevention, Division of Public Health, Department 
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of Health and Social Services will hold a public hearing to 
discuss the proposed Cancer Treatment Program 
Regulations.  The public hearing will be held on May 21, 
2004 at 9:30 a.m., in the Third Floor Conference Room of 
the Jesse Cooper Building, Federal and Water Streets, Dover, 
Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for 
review by calling the following location:

The Center of Health Information Management and 
Disease Prevention

Jesse Cooper Building
Federal and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware
Telephone: (302) 744-4544

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at 
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700 
by May 20, 2004.  Anyone wishing to submit written 
comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral testimony 
should submit such comments by May 31, 2004 to:

David P. Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

203 Cancer Treatment Program

1.0 Purpose
The Cancer Treatment Program (CTP) is a program of 

Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS), Division of 
Public Health (DPH) intended to provide medical insurance 
coverage to Delawareans for the treatment of cancer.  The 
program serves Delawareans who have no health insurance.

2.0 Availability Of Funds
2.1 Benefits will be available to enrollees provided that 

funds for this program are made available to DHSS.  
2.2 In the event that funds are not available, DHSS will 

notify enrollees and providers.

3.0 General Application Information
3.1 The application must be made in writing on the 

prescribed CTP form.  An individual, agency, institution, 
guardian or other individual acting can make this request for 
assistance for the applicant with his knowledge and consent. 
The CTP will consider an application without regard to race, 
color, age, sex, handicap, religion, national origin or political 
belief as per State and Federal law.

3.2 Each individual applying for the CTP is requested, 
but not required, to furnish his or her Social Security 
Number.  

3.3 Filing an application gives the applicant the right to 
receive a written determination of eligibility and the right to 

appeal the written determination.

4.0 Technical Eligibility 
4.1 The following are required to receive benefits under 

this program.  The applicant must:
4.1.1 Need treatment for cancer in the opinion 

of the applicant’s licensed physician of record.  Cancer 
treatment will not include routine monitoring for pre-
cancerous conditions, or monitoring for recurrence during or 
after remission.

4.1.2 Be a Delaware resident.
4.1.3 Have been a Delaware resident at the time 

cancer was diagnosed.
4.1.4 Have no health insurance.  

4.1.4.1 Examples of health insurance include 
comprehensive, major medical and catastrophic plans, 
Medicare, and Medicaid.

4.1.4.2 Excepted are the following types of 
insurance plans, which do not exclude eligibility for the 
CTP: dental, vision, dismemberment, drug, mental health, 
nursing home, blood bank, workman’s compensation, 
accident, family planning, the Delaware Prescription 
Assistance Program, the Delaware Chronic Renal Disease 
program, and non-citizen medical coverage.

4.1.4.3 The CTP is the payer of last resort and 
will only provide benefits to the extent that they are not 
covered by the plans listed in 4.1.4.2.

4.1.5 Be over the age of 18 years.
4.1.6 Be diagnosed with any cancer on or after 

July 1, 2004, or be receiving benefits for the treatment of 
colorectal cancer through the Division of Public Health’s 
Screening for Life program on June 30, 2004.

4.2 An inmate of a public institution shall be eligible 
for the CTP, provided that the benefits of the CTP are not 
otherwise provided in full or in part. 

4.2.1 For the purposes of the CTP, the 
definitions of public institution and inmate shall be the same 
as used by the Delaware Medicaid program.

4.3 The Medical Assistance Card is the instrument used 
to verify an individual’s eligibility for benefits.  Prior to 
rendering services, medical providers are required to verify 
client eligibility using the client’s identification number by 
accessing one of the Electronic Verification Systems (EVS) 
options.  Instructions for accessing EVS are described in the 
EVS section of the billing manual.

5.0 Financial Eligibility
5.1 To be eligible for the CTP the applicant must have 

countable household income that is less than 500% of the 
Federal Poverty Level (FPL).

5.2 Income is any type of money payment that is of 
gain or benefit to an individual.  Income is either counted or 
excluded for the eligibility determination.

5.3 Countable income includes but is not limited to:
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5.3.1 Social Security benefits – as paid after 
deduction for Medicare premium

5.3.2 Pension – as paid
5.3.3 Veterans Administration Pension – as paid
5.3.4 U.S. Railroad Retirement Benefits – as 

paid
5.3.5 Wages – net amount after deductions for 

taxes and FICA Senior Community Service Employment – 
net amount after deductions for taxes and FICA

5.3.6 Interest/Dividends – gross amount
5.3.7 Capital Gains – gross amount from capital 

gains on stocks, mutual funds, bonds.
5.3.8 Credit Life or Credit Disability Insurance 

Payments – as paid
5.3.9 Alimony – as paid
5.3.10 Rental Income from entire dwelling – 

gross rent paid minus standard deduction of 20% for 
expenses

5.3.11 Roomer/Boarder Income – gross room/
board paid minus standard deduction of 10% for expenses

5.3.12 Self Employment – countable income as 
reported to Internal Revenue Service (IRS)

5.3.13 Unemployment Compensation - as paid
5.4 Excluded income includes but is not limited to:

5.4.1 Annuity payments
5.4.2 Individual Retirement Account (IRA) 

distributions
5.4.3 Payments from reverse mortgages
5.4.4 Capital gains from the sale of principal 

place of residence
5.4.5 Conversion or sale of a resource (i.e. 

cashing a certificate of deposit)
5.4.6 Income tax refunds 
5.4.7 Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)
5.4.8 Vendor payments (bills paid directly to a 

third party on behalf of the individual)
5.4.9 Government rent/housing subsidy paid 

directly to individual (i.e. HUD utility allowance)
5.4.10 Loan payments received by individual
5.4.11 Proceeds of a loan
5.4.12 Foster care payments made on behalf of 

foster children living in the home
5.4.13 Retired Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP)
5.4.14 Veterans Administration Aid and 

Attendance payments
5.4.15 Victim Compensation payments
5.4.16 German reparation payments
5.4.17 Agent Orange settlement payments
5.4.18 Radiation Exposure Compensation Trust 

Fund payments
5.4.19 Japanese-American, Japanese-Canadian, 

and Aleutian restitution payments
5.4.20 Payments from long term care insurance 

or for inpatient care paid directly to the individual

5.5 Determination of the household income will be 
based on the family budget group, which is the total number 
of persons whose income is budgeted together.  This will 
always include the following:

5.5.1 Married couples if they live together.
5.5.2 Unmarried couples who live together as 

husband and wife.
5.5.3 Couples will be considered as living 

together as husband and wife if:
5.5.3.1 They say they are married, even if the 

marriage cannot be verified.
5.5.3.2 They are recognized as husband and 

wife in the community.
5.5.3.3 One partner uses the other's last name.
5.5.3.4 They state they intend to marry.
5.5.3.5 They jointly hold resources.

5.6 In households that include a caretaker, the 
caretaker's children and other children that are the caretaker's 
responsibility, the caretaker's income and those of his/her 
children are always budgeted together.  The income of any 
other children in the home will be considered separately.  In 
these situations, the separate budget groups can be combined 
to form a single family budget group only when the 
following conditions are met:

5.6.1 CTP benefits would be denied to any of 
the recipients by maintaining separate budget groups.

5.6.2 The caretaker chooses to have his/her 
income and those of his/her children considered with the 
income of any other people in the home.

6.0 Residency
6.1 A Delaware resident is an individual who lives in 

Delaware with the intention to remain permanently or for an 
indefinite period, or where the individual is living and has 
entered into a job commitment, or seeking employment 
whether or not currently employed.

6.2 Factors that may be taken into account when 
determining residency are variables such as the applicant’s 
age, location of dwellings and addresses, location of work, 
institutional status, and ability to express intent.

6.3 Eligibility:
6.3.1 Will not be denied to an otherwise 

qualified resident of the State because the individual's 
residence is not maintained permanently or at a fixed 
address. 

6.3.2 Will not be denied because of a durational 
residence requirement.

6.3.3 Will not be denied to an institutionalized 
individual because the individual did not establish residence 
in the community prior to admission to an institution.

6.3.4 Will not be terminated due to temporary 
absence from the State, if the person intends to return when 
the purpose of the absence has been accomplished.

6.4 When a State or agency of the State, including an 
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entity recognized under State law as being under contract 
with the State, arranges for an individual to be placed in an 
institution in another State, the State arranging that 
placement is the individual's State of residence.

7.0 Verification of eligibility information
7.1 The CTP may verify information related to 

eligibility.  Verification may be verbal or written and may be 
obtained from an independent or collateral source.

7.2 Documentation shall be date stamped and become 
part of the CTP case record.

7.3 Verifications received and/or provided may reveal a 
new eligibility issue not previously realized.  Additional 
verifications may be required.

7.4 Failure to provide requested documentation may 
result in denial or termination of eligibility.

8.0 Disposition of applications
8.1 The CTP will dispose of each application by a 

finding of eligibility or ineligibility, unless:
8.1.1 There is an entry in the case record that the 

applicant voluntarily withdrew the application, and that the 
CTP sent a notice confirming the applicant’s decision;

8.1.2 There is a supporting entry in the case 
record that the applicant is deceased; or

8.1.3 There is a supporting entry in the case 
record that the applicant cannot be located.

9.0 Changes in circumstances and personal information
9.1 Enrollees are responsible for notifying the CTP of 

all changes in his circumstances that could potentially affect 
eligibility for the CTP.   Failure to do so may result in 
overpayments being processed and legal action taken to 
recover funds expended on his/her behalf during periods of 
ineligibility.

9.2 Enrollees are responsible for notifying the CTP of 
changes in the enrollee’s name, address and telephone 
number.

10.0 Termination of eligibility
10.1 Eligibility terminates:

10.1.1 When the enrollee attains other medical 
insurance, including Medicare, Medicaid, and the Medicaid 
Breast and Cervical Cancer treatment program.

10.1.2 When the enrollee is no longer receiving 
treatment for cancer as defined in 4.1.1.

10.1.3 When the enrollee no longer meets the 
technical or financial eligibility requirements.  

10.1.4 12 months after the date of cancer 
diagnosis

10.2 If eligibility is terminated, it may only be 
renewed for an individual who is diagnosed with another 
cancer for which coverage has not been previously provided.

11.0 Coverage and benefits
11.1 Coverage is limited to the treatment of cancer 

as defined by DHSS.
11.2 There is no managed care enrollment.
11.3 Benefits will be paid at rates equivalent to 

Medicaid under a fee for service basis. If a Medicaid rate 
does not exist for the service provided, the CTP will 
determine a fair rate.

11.4 Benefits will only be paid when the provider of 
the cancer treatment services is a Delaware Medicaid 
Assistance Provider.

11.5 Benefits for patients enrolled prior to 
September 1, 2004 (or whatever date is established by DHSS 
as having an operational benefits management information 
system), may not be paid until after that date.

11.6 The CTP is the payer of last resort and will 
only provide benefits to the extent that they are not otherwise 
covered by another insurance plan.

11.7 Eligibility may be retroactive to the day of 
diagnosis provided that the application is filed within one 
year of that day.  In such circumstances, covered services 
will only be provided for the time period that the applicant is 
determined to have been eligible for the CTP.

11.8 In no case will eligibility be retroactive to a 
time period prior to July 1, 2004, except if the enrollee was 
receiving benefits for the treatment of colorectal cancer 
through the Division of Public Health’s Screening for Life 
program on June 30, 2004.  If this exception occurs, 
eligibility will be retroactive only to the date the enrollee 
was receiving benefits for colorectal cancer treatment 
through the Screening for Life program.

12.0 Cancer treatment services which are not covered
12.1 The cost of nursing home or long-term care 

institutionalization is not covered. (The cost of cancer 
treatment services within a nursing home or long term care 
institution is a covered benefit.)

12.2 Services not related to the treatment of cancer 
as determined by DHSS are not covered.

12.3 Cancer treatment services for which the 
enrollee is eligible to receive by other health plans as listed 
in 4.1.4.2 are not covered.

13.0 Changes in program services
13.1 When changes in program services require 

adjustments of CTP benefits, the CTP will notify enrollees 
who have provided an accurate and current name, and 
address or telephone number.

14.0 Confidentiality
14.1 The CTP will maintain the confidentiality of 

application, claim, and related records as required by law.
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15.0 Review of CTP decisions
15.1 Any individual who is dissatisfied with a CTP 

decision may request a review of that decision.
15.2 Such request must be received by the CTP in 

writing within 30 days of the date of the decision in question.
15.3 The CTP will issue the results of its review in 

writing.  The review will be final and not subject to further 
appeal.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Section 512, Delaware Health and Social 
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid/
Medical Assistance Program is proposing to amend the 
policy of the Food Stamp Program in the Division of Social 
Services Manual (DSSM).
 Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720 by May 31, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Change

Citations

7 CFR 273.10(f) – Certification Periods
7 CFR 273.12(a)(1)(vii) – Household Responsibility to 
Report

In October 2003, DSS expanded simplified reporting to 
all households except households where all members are 
elderly or disabled without earned income.  Simplified 
reporting means those household only have to report when 
their monthly gross income exceeds 130% of the Federal 
Poverty Level (FPL) for the household size.  Households are 
given that amount when they are approved.  Households 

subject to simplified reporting must have a certification 
period of six-months.  Households, where all members are 
elderly or disabled without earned income, can be given a 
12-month certification period.  These households are called 
change reporters and must report changes when the 
household becomes aware of the change. To support 
simplified reporting, which has helped lower our food stamp 
error rate, the DCIS system was programmed to give 
households based on their circumstances either a six or 
twelve month certification period.  Policy under 9068 is 
being changed to reflect that change.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-09

REVISIONS:

9068.1  Certification Period Length
DSS will assign the longest certification period possible

according to each household’s circumstances.
Households should be assigned certification periods of 

at least 6 months, unless the household’s circumstances are 
unstable or the household contains an ABAWD.

Households with unstable circumstances, such as 
households with zero net income, and households with an 
ABAWD member should be assigned shorter certification 
periods but not less than 3 months.

Only assign 1-2 month certification periods when it 
appears likely that the household will become ineligible for 
food stamps in the near future.

Households subject to change reporting where all 
members are elderly or disabled and have no earned income 
will be assigned a 12-month certification period.

Households subject to simplified reporting will be 
assigned a 6-month certification period.  A shorter 
certification period of no less than 4 months can be assigned 
on a case-by-case basis if the household’s circumstances 
warrant it.

2 DE Reg. 2271 (6/1/1999)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE
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1. Title Of The Regulations: 
Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste

(DRGSW)

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:

The Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control (DNREC), Solid and Hazardous 
Waste Management Branch (SHWMB), is proposing to 
make changes to Delaware’s Regulations Governing Solid 
Waste.  To receive input from those potentially affected by 
the proposed changes, a workshop was conducted on 
November 12, 2003.   After reviewing comments and input 
received at the workshop, the SHWMB is proposing the 
following amendments to DRGSW:

General:
• Reinsert previously deleted Table of Contents at the 

beginning of the regulations.

Section 3: Definitions
• Add new definition for “Gross Vehicle Weight 

Rating.”

Section 4: Permit Requirements and Administrative 
Procedures

•  Clarify language in section 4.A.2 stating that costs 
of publishing public notices for a permit application 
shall be borne by the applicant;

• Revise time frame in section 4.A.6 for renewing an 
expiring permit;

• Amend section 4.E.1 regarding requirements for 
submitting Transfer Station Applications;

•  Move section 4.E.3 regarding transfer station 
closure to Section 10.F;

•  Amend language in section 4.G for transporter 
permit application procedures.

Section 5: Sanitary Landfills 
• Amend section 5.I.2.c regarding daily cover at a 

sanitary landfill;

Section 6: Industrial Landfills
•  Add language in section 6.I.5 prohibiting 

acceptance of hazardous waste at an industrial 
landfill.

Section 7: Transporters
•  Add language in section 7.A prohibiting permitted 

transporters from using agents or subcontractors 
who do not hold permits for transporting solid 
waste.

•  Delete sections 7.B.8 and 7.C.7 regarding sub-
leases and sub-contractors.

Section 9: Resource Recovery Facilities
•   Correct an internal reference in Section 9.E.2.b.

Section 10: Transfer Stations 
•  Revise wording in section 10.A.2.b for material 

recovery facilities.
•  Amend section 10.A.2 by adding an exemption 

from transfer station permit requirements for 
temporary debris and collection sites established as 
a result of a natural or man-made disaster.

•  Insert and amend transfer station closure 
requirements moved from section 4 to section 
10.F.2.

Section 11: Special Wastes Management: Part 1 – 
Infectious Waste

•  Amend language in section 11.A.1 to clarify who 
must obtain infections waste Infectious Waste 
Identification Numbers.

• In section 11.C revise certain infectious waste 
definitions, and add new definition for Large 
Quantity Generator of infectious waste.

 
3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action: 

None

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
Amendments to DRGSW are proposed and amended in 

accordance with the provisions found at 7 Delaware Code, 
Chapter 60.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:

None

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
A public hearing on the proposed amendments to 

DRGSW will be held on Tuesday, June 8, 2004, 6:00 p.m. to 
9:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89 
Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  A downloadable version of the 
proposed amendments may be obtained by visiting 
DNREC’s Division of Air and Waste Management Website 
at:
 http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/dnrec2000/Divisions/AWM/
hw/indexsw.htm and clicking on “Proposed Amendments to 
the Solid Waste Regulations.”  A hardcopy version may also 
be obtained by contacting the Solid and Hazardous Waste 
Management Branch at (302) 739-3689.

7. Prepared By:
Donald K. Short, Environmental Scientist, Solid and 

Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-3689
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REGULATIONS GOVERNING SOLID WASTE

SECTION 1: DECLARATION OF INTENT
The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control finds and declares that improper 
solid waste handling and disposal practices may result in 
environmental damage, including substantial degradation of 
the surface and ground water and waste of valuable land and 
other resources, and may constitute a continuing hazard to 
the health and welfare of the people of the State.  The 
Department further finds that the utilization of solid waste 
handling and disposal facilities which are properly located, 
designed, operated, and monitored will minimize 
environmental damage and protect public health and 
welfare. 

It is the intent of the Department to require that solid 
waste handling and disposal be conducted in a manner and 
under conditions which will eliminate the dangerous and 
deleterious effects of improper solid waste handling and 
disposal upon the environment and upon human health, 
safety, and welfare.  

The purposes of these regulations are:
1. To encourage, in all appropriate ways, 

recycling, reuse, and reclamation processes, and
2. To implement the provisions of 7 Del.C. Ch. 

60, which directs the Department to put into effect a program 
for improved solid waste storage, collection, transportation, 
processing, transfer, and disposal by providing that such 
activities may henceforth be conducted only in an 
environmentally acceptable manner pursuant to a permit 
obtained from the Department.  

SECTION 2: SCOPE AND APPLICABILITY

A. AUTHORITY
1. These regulations are enacted pursuant to 7 Del.C.

Ch. 60.
2. These regulations shall be known as "Regulations 

Governing Solid Waste" and shall repeal the "Delaware 
Solid Waste Disposal Regulation".

B. APPLICABILITY
1. These regulations apply to any person using land or 

allowing the use of land for the purposes of storage, 
collection, processing, transfer, or disposal of solid waste; 
and to any person transporting solid waste in or through the 
State of Delaware. The following shall be subject to the 
provisions of these regulations:

a. Sanitary landfills 
b. Industrial landfills
c. Resource recovery facilities
d. Transfer stations
e. Special wastes handling
f. Transportation of solid waste

g. Storage of solid waste
2. These regulations do not apply to those agricultural 

wastes that are subject to regulations promulgated by the 
Division of Water Resources.

3. For the purposes of these regulations, all wastes 
defined herein and that are subject to regulations 
promulgated by the Division of Water Resources shall not be 
regulated as solid wastes.

4. These regulations do not apply to any waste which 
meets the criteria of hazardous waste as described in the 
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

C. EXEMPTIONS
The following activities are exempted from these 

regulations:
1. Disposal or land application on a farm of the 

agricultural wastes that are generated on the farm or result 
from the operation of the farm. The disposal or land 
application must be conducted in a manner that is in 
compliance with all federal, state, and local regulatory 
requirements and that does not threaten human health or the 
environment.

2. Composting, on a private property, the leaves, 
grass clippings, and other vegetation originating on the 
property.  

3. Disposal of clean fill.
4. Creation of brush piles on the property on 

which the material was generated.
5. The use of vegetative matter and untreated 

ground wood products to construct berms on the property on 
which the materials were generated.  (Notification must be 
made to the Department prior to commencing this activity.)

D. COMPLIANCE
1. Existing facilities

All existing facilities must comply with the 
provisions of these regulations with the following 
exceptions:

a. Closed facilities or closed portions of facilities 
will not be required to disturb or replace their cap or cover 
system for the purpose of coming into compliance with these 
regulations.

b. Facilities currently operating under a permit 
which does not require a liner and/or a leachate detection 
system will not be required to install a liner or leachate 
detection system in closed or currently active areas for the 
purpose of coming into compliance with these regulations.
 2. New facilities and expansions of existing facilities

All new facilities and all expansions of existing 
facilities shall comply with the provisions of these 
regulations.

E. COMPOSTING AND RECYCLING APPROVALS
Composting Approvals
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Other than individual household composting, all 
other composting operations must obtain written approval 
from the Department prior to commencing a composting 
operation. To obtain an approval, a person must submit the 
following information to the Department:

a. A written plan of operation demonstrating 
to the Department that the requestor of the approval and the 
person responsible for operating the composting facility 
understand and will apply the principles and proper methods 
of composting. The plan of operation must also demonstrate 
that the composting facility will be operated in a manner that 
will not pose a threat to human health and the environment; 
and

A written statement explaining how the 
applicant intends to use the compost.

Recycling Approvals
Recycling solid waste into specific market 

applications requires written approval prior to commencing 
this activity.  To obtain an approval, a person must submit 
the following information to the Department:

A written plan of operation describing the types and 
quantities of materials that will be accepted at the facility, 
the processing methods and equipment that will be used, and 
the products that will be produced, and

Documentation demonstrating the existence of a market 
or markets for the product(s).

F. Other Applicable Requirements. Nothing in these 
regulations shall be construed as relieving an owner or 
operator of a facility from the obligation of complying with 
any other laws, regulations, orders, or requirements which 
may be applicable.

SECTION 3: DEFINITIONS

The following words, phrases, and terms as used in 
these regulations have the meanings given below:     

“100 YEAR FLOOD” means a flood that has a one 
percent or greater chance of recurring in any given year or a 
flood of a magnitude equaled or exceeded once in 100 years 
on the average over a significantly long period. 

"ACTION LEAKAGE RATE" means the quantity of 
liquid collected from a leak detection system of a double 
liner system over a specified period of time which, when 
exceeded, requires certain actions to be taken as described in 
the Action Leakage Rate response plan approved by the 
Department.

"ACTIVE LIFE" means the period of operation 
beginning with the initial receipt of solid waste and ending at 
the completion of closure activities.

"ACTIVE PORTION" means that portion of a facility 
that presently has an operating permit issued by the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control. 

"AGRICULTURAL WASTE" means carcasses of 
poultry or livestock, crop residue, or animal excrement. 

"AQUIFER" means a geologic formation, group of 
formations, or part of a formation capable of yielding a 
significant amount of ground water to wells, springs or 
surface water.

"ASTM" means the American Society for Testing and 
Materials. 

"AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE" means the 
person responsible for the overall operation of a facility or an 
operational unit (i.e., part of a facility), e.g., the plant 
manager, landfill manager, superintendent, or person of 
equivalent responsibility.  

"BOTTOM ASH" means the residue remaining in the 
bottom of the combustion chamber of an incinerator after the 
combustion of fuel or waste.

"BUFFER ZONE" means those onsite areas adjacent to 
the facility property line which shall be left undeveloped 
during the active life as well as the inactive life of the 
facility.

"BULKY WASTE" means items whose large size or 
weight precludes or complicates their handling by normal 
collection, processing, or disposal methods.  

"CAP" or "CAPPING SYSTEM" means the material 
used to cover the top and sides of a sanitary or industrial 
landfill when fill operations cease.  

"CELL" means a discrete engineered area that is 
designed for the disposal of solid waste and that is a subpart 
of a landfill.

"CERTIFICATION" means a statement of 
professional opinion based upon knowledge and belief. 

"CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations.
"CLAY", as a soil separate, means the mineral soil 

particles less than 0.002 mm in diameter.  As a soil textured 
class, "CLAY" means soil material that is 40% or more clay, 
less than 45% sand, and less than 40% silt. Clay used as a 
liner or cap should be classifiable as a CL or CH (Unified 
Soil Classification System) with a liquid limit between 30 
and 60, should place above the A-line on the plasticity chart, 
and should have a minimum plastic index of 15. A clay liner 
should have a cation exchange capacity greater than 15 meq/
100 grams and be in the neutral pH range. 

"CLEAN FILL" means a non-water-soluble, non-
decomposable, environmentally inert solid such as rock, soil, 
gravel, concrete, broken glass, and/or clay or ceramic 
products.

"CLOSED PORTION" means that portion of a facility 
which an owner or operator has closed in accordance with 
the approved facility closure plan and all other applicable 
closure requirements.

“CLOSURE" means the cessation of operation of a 
facility or a portion thereof and the act of securing such a 
facility so that it will pose no significant threat to human 
health or the environment. 
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"CLOSURE PLAN" means written reports and 
engineering plans detailing those actions that will be taken 
by the owner or operator of a facility to effect proper closure 
of that facility or a portion thereof.  

"COMMERCIAL WASTE" means solid waste 
generated by stores, offices, restaurants, warehouses, and 
other non-manufacturing, non-processing activities. 

"COMPOST" means a product of composting that has 
been stabilized to a humus-like product, is free of pathogens 
at an infectious level and of viable plant seeds, that does not 
attract insects or vectors, can be handled and stored without 
nuisance, and is beneficial to the growth of plants. 

"COMPOSTING" means the biological decomposition 
and stabilization of organic material, under conditions that 
allow development of thermophilic temperatures as a result 
of biologically produced heat, to produce a final product that 
is stable, free of pathogens and viable plant seeds, and can be 
beneficially applied to the land.

"COMPOSTING FACILITY" means a facility where 
organic material is processed using composting technology 
which may include but is not limited to physical turning, 
windrowing, in vessel composting, or other mechanical 
handling of organic material.  

"CONFINED AQUIFER" means an aquifer containing 
ground water which is everywhere at a pressure greater than 
atmospheric pressure and from which water in a well will 
rise to a level above the top of the aquifer.  A confined 
aquifer is overlain by material of distinctly lower 
permeability ("confining bed") than the aquifer.

"CONTAMINANT" means any substance that enters 
the environment at a concentration that has the potential to 
endanger human health or degrade the environment.

"CONTROLLING SLOPES" means slopes on those 
areas of a liner that have a direct influence on the maximum 
leachate head, or slopes that are perpendicular to the 
collection laterals. 

"DAILY COVER" means a layer of compacted earth, 
or other suitable material as approved by the Department, 
used to enclose a volume of solid waste each working day.

"DEPARTMENT" means The Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control.

"DIKE" means an embankment or ridge of either 
natural or man-made materials used to prevent or to control 
the movement of solids, liquids, or other materials.  

"DISCHARGE" means the accidental or intentional 
spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting, emptying, or 
dumping of a substance into or onto any land, water, or air.  

"DISPOSAL" means the discharge, deposit, injection, 
dumping, spilling, leaking, or placing of any solid waste into 
or upon any land or water.

"DISPOSAL FACILITY" means any facility or 
portion of a facility at which solid waste is intended to be 
and/or is intentionally placed into or onto any land and at 
which solid waste will remain after closure has taken place.

"DOUBLE LINER SYSTEM" means a liner system 
consisting of two liners with a leachate detection and 
collection system in between. 

"DRY WASTE" (formerly called "INERT SOLID 
WASTE") means wastes including, but not limited to, 
plastics, rubber, lumber, trees, stumps, vegetative matter, 
asphalt pavement, asphaltic products incidental to 
construction/demolition debris, or other materials which 
have reduced potential for environmental degradation and 
leachate production.  

"ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT" means a 
detailed and comprehensive description of the condition of 
all environmental parameters as they exist at and around the 
site of a proposed action prior to implementation of the 
proposed action. This description is used as a baseline for 
assessing the environmental impacts of a proposed action.

"ENVIRONMENTALLY UNSOUND" means 
characterized by any condition, resulting from the methods 
of operation or design of a facility, which impairs the quality 
of the environment when compared to the surrounding 
background environment or any appropriate promulgated 
federal, state, county or municipal standard.

"EXISTING FACILITY" means a facility which was 
in operation or for which construction had commenced on or 
before the date of enactment of these regulations, provided 
that the facility was being constructed or operated pursuant 
to all permits and/or approvals required by the Department at 
the time of enactment. A facility has commenced 
construction if either: 

(i) an onsite physical construction program has 
begun and is moving toward completion within a reasonable 
time; or

(ii) the owner or operator has entered into 
contractual obligations - which cannot be cancelled or 
modified without substantial loss - for physical construction 
to be completed within a reasonable time.  

"EXPANSION" means the process of increasing the 
areal dimensions, vertical elevations, or slopes beyond the 
original approved limits of the facility.

"FACILITY" means all contiguous land, and structures, 
other appurtenances, and improvements on the land, used in 
resource recovery and/or the treatment, handling, 
composting, storage, or disposal of solid waste. A facility 
may consist of several operational units (e.g., one or more 
landfills, cells, incinerators, compactors, or combinations 
thereof).   

"FINAL COVER" means the material used to cover the 
top and sides of a landfill cell when fill operations cease.

"FLOOD PLAIN" means the lowland and relatively 
flat areas adjoining inland and coastal waters, that are 
inundated by the 100YEAR FLOOD.

"FLY ASH" means a powdery residue resulting from 
the combustion of fuel or waste and captured by air pollution 
control equipment prior to exiting the smokestack.  
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"FREE LIQUIDS" means liquids which readily 
separate from the solid portion of a waste under ambient 
temperature and pressure, using any or all of the following 
tests:  EPA Paint Filter Test; EPA Plate Test; EPA Gravity 
Test.

"GARBAGE" means any putrescible solid and 
semisolid animal and/or vegetable wastes resulting from the 
production, handling, preparation, cooking, serving or 
consumption of food or food materials.   

"GENERATION" means the act or process of 
producing solid waste.  

"GENERATOR" means the producer or the source of 
the solid waste.  

"GEOMEMBRANE" means a prefabricated 
continuous sheet of flexible polymeric or geosynthetic 
material.

“GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT RATING (GVWR)”
or gross vehicle weight means the value specified by the 
manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single vehicle.

"GROUND WATER" means any water naturally found 
under the surface of the earth.  

"HAZARDOUS WASTE" means a solid waste, or 
combination of solid wastes, which because of its quantity, 
concentration, or physical, chemical, or infectious 
characteristics may cause or significantly contribute to an 
increase in mortality or an increase in serious irreversible, or 
incapacitating irreversible, illness, or pose a substantial 
present or potential hazard to human health or the 
environment when improperly treated, stored, transported, or 
disposed of, or otherwise managed. Without limitation, 
included within this definition are those hazardous wastes 
described in Sections 261.31, 261.32, and 261.33 of the 
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste. 

"HOUSEHOLD WASTE" means any solid waste 
derived from households (including single and multiple 
residences, hotels and motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, 
crew quarters, campgrounds, picnic grounds, and day-use 
recreation areas).

"HYDRAULIC CONDUCTIVITY" means the 
capacity to transmit water. It is expressed as the volume of 
water that will move in a unit of time under a unit hydraulic 
gradient through a unit area.

"IMPERMEABLE" means having a hydraulic 
conductivity equal to or less than 1 x 10-7 cm/sec as 
determined by field and laboratory permeability tests made 
according to standard test methods which may be correlated 
with soil densification as determined by compaction test. 

"INDUSTRIAL LANDFILL" means a land site at 
which industrial waste is deposited on or into the land as fill 
for the purpose of permanent disposal, except that it will not 
include any facility that has been approved for the disposal 
of hazardous waste under the Delaware Regulations 
Governing Hazardous Waste.

"INDUSTRIAL WASTE" means any water-borne 
liquid, gaseous, solid, or other waste substance or a 
combination thereof resulting from any process of industry, 
manufacturing, trade or business, or from the development 
of any agricultural or natural resource.

"INFECTIOUS WASTE": see Section 11, Part 1.C for 
definitions pertaining to infectious waste.

"INSTITUTIONAL WASTE" means solid waste that 
is generated by institutional enterprises such as social, 
charitable, educational, and government services and that is 
similar in nature to household waste.

"INTERMEDIATE COVER" means a layer of 
compacted earth, or other suitable material as approved by 
the Department, applied to a partially completed landfill.

"LANDFILL" means a natural topographic depression 
and/or man-made excavation and/or diked area, formed 
primarily of earthen materials, which has been lined with 
man-made and/or natural materials or remains unlined and 
which is designed to hold an accumulation of solid wastes.

"LEACHATE" means liquid that has passed through, 
contacted, or emerged from solid waste and contains 
dissolved, suspended, or miscible materials, chemicals, and 
microbial waste products removed from the solid waste.

"LIFT" means a completed series of compacted layers 
within a cell.

"LINER" means a continuous layer of impermeable 
material beneath and on the sides of a landfill or landfill cell. 

"LIQUID WASTE" means a waste that contains less 
than 20 percent solids or releases free liquids.

"LOCAL AGENCY" means any special district, 
authority, municipality, county, or any other political 
subdivision.

"MATERIALS RECOVERY FACILITY" means a 
facility at which materials, other than source separated 
materials, are recovered from solid waste for recycling or for 
use as an energy source.

"MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE" means household 
waste and solid waste that is generated by commercial, 
institutional, and industrial sources and is similar in nature to 
household waste. 

"MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE ASH" means the ash 
resulting from the combustion of municipal solid waste in a 
thermal recovery facility. 

"NEW SANITARY LANDFILL CELL" means any 
municipal solid waste landfill unit which has not received 
waste prior to the effective date of these regulations. 
"SANITARY LANDFILL CELL" has the same meaning as 
"MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE LANDFILL UNIT" in the 
RCRA Subtitle D (40 CFR Part 258) Regulations. 

"NEW SOLID WASTE FACILITY" means a facility 
which was not in operation or for which construction had not 
commenced on or before the date of enactment of these 
regulations.

"ONSITE" means on the same or geographically 
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contiguous property which may be divided by public or 
private right-of-way.  Noncontiguous properties owned by 
the same person but connected by a right-of-way which the 
owner controls and to which the public does not have access 
are also considered onsite property. 

"OPEN BURNING" means the combustion of solid 
waste without:

(1) Control of combustion air to maintain adequate 
temperature for efficient combustion, 

(2) Containment of the combustion reaction in an 
enclosed device to provide sufficient residence time and 
mixing for complete combustion, and 

(3) Control of the emission of the combustion 
products.

"OPERATOR" means the person responsible for the 
overall operation of a solid waste facility.

"OWNER" means the person who owns a facility or 
any part of a facility.  

"PERMITTEE" means a person holding a permit 
issued by the Department pursuant to this regulation.

"PERSON" means any individual, trust, firm, joint 
stock company, federal agency, partnership, corporation 
(including a government corporation), association, state, 
municipality, commission, political subdivision of a state, 
any interstate body, company, society, or any organization of 
any form.

"PERSONNEL" or "FACILITY PERSONNEL" 
means all persons who work at, or oversee the operations of, 
a solid waste facility, and whose actions or failure to act may 
result in noncompliance with the requirements of the 
Delaware Solid Waste Regulations or other regulations 
under the jurisdiction of the State of Delaware. 

"POSTCLOSURE CARE" means maintenance and 
long-term monitoring of, and financial responsibility for, a 
closed facility.

"RECHARGE AREA" means that portion of a 
drainage basin in which the net saturated flow of ground 
water is directed away from the water table.

"RECYCLABLE MATERIAL" means a solid waste 
that exhibits the potential to be used repeatedly in place of a 
virgin material.

"RECYCLING" means the process by which 
recyclable materials, which would otherwise be disposed of 
as solid waste, are returned to the economic mainstream in 
the form of raw materials or products.

"REFUSE" means any putrescible or nonputrescible 
solid waste, except human excreta, but including garbage, 
rubbish, ashes, street cleanings, dead animals, offal and solid 
agricultural, commercial, industrial, hazardous and 
institutional wastes, and construction wastes. 

"REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE": see Section 11, 
Part 1.C for definitions pertaining to REGULATED 
MEDICAL / INFECTIOUS WASTE.

"RESOURCE RECOVERY" means the process by 

which materials, excluding those under control of the 
Nuclear Regulatory Commission, which still have useful 
physical or chemical properties after serving a specific 
purpose are reused or recycled for the same or another 
purpose, including use as an energy source.

"RESOURCE RECOVERY FACILITY" means a 
facility that is either a MATERIALS RECOVERY 
FACILITY or a THERMAL RECOVERY FACILITY.

"RUBBISH" means any nonputrescible solid waste, 
excluding ashes, such as cardboard, paper, plastic, metal or 
glass food containers, rags, waste metal, yard clippings, 
small pieces of wood, excelsior, rubber, leather, crockery, 
and other waste materials.  

"RUNOFF" means any precipitation that drains over 
land from any part of a facility.  

"RUNON" means any precipitation that drains over 
land onto any part of a facility.  

"SALVAGING" means the controlled removal of solid 
waste from any facility for reuse of the waste material.

“SANITARY LANDFILL" means a land site at which 
solid waste is deposited on or into the land as fill for the 
purpose of permanent disposal, except that it will not include 
any facility that has been approved for the disposal of 
hazardous waste under the Delaware Regulations Governing 
Hazardous Waste.  

"SANITARY LANDFILL CELL BOUNDARY" 
means a vertical surface located at the hydraulically 
downgradient limit of the cell.  This vertical surface extends 
down into the uppermost aquifer. "Sanitary Landfill Cell 
Boundary" has the same meaning as "Waste Management 
Unit Boundary" in the RCRA Subtitle D (40 CFR Part 258) 
Regulations. "Sanitary Landfill" has the same meaning as 
"MSWLF" in the RCRA Subtitle D (40 CFR Part 258) 
Regulations.

"SATURATED ZONE" means that part of the earth's 
crust in which all the voids are filled with water.

"SCAVENGING" means the uncontrolled and/or 
unauthorized removal of solid waste from any facility.

"SECRETARY" means the Secretary of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control or his or her duly authorized designee.  

"SETBACK" means the area between the actual 
disposal area and the property line which can be used for 
construction of environmental control systems such as runoff 
diversion ditches, monitoring wells, or scales.

"SITE" means the area of land or water within the 
property boundaries of a facility where one or more solid 
waste treatment, resource recovery, recycling, storage or 
disposal areas are located.  

"SLUDGE" means any solid, semisolid, or liquid waste 
generated from a municipal, commercial, or industrial 
wastewater treatment plant, water supply treatment plant, or 
air pollution control facility exclusive of the treated effluent 
from a wastewater treatment plant.
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"SOLID WASTE" means any garbage, refuse, rubbish, 
sludge from a waste treatment plant, water supply treatment 
plant or air pollution control facility and other discarded 
material, including solid, liquid, semisolid or contained 
gaseous material resulting from industrial, commercial, 
mining and agricultural operations, and from community 
activities, but does not include solid or dissolved material in 
domestic sewage, or solid or dissolved material in irrigation 
return flows or industrial discharges which are point sources 
subject to permits under 7 Del.C. Ch. 60, as amended, or 
source, special nuclear, or by-product material as defined by 
the Atomic Energy Act of l954, as amended.

"SOURCE SEPARATED" means divided into its 
separate recyclable components at the point of generation.

"SPECIAL SOLID WASTES" means those wastes that 
require extraordinary management. They include but are not 
limited to abandoned automobiles, white goods, used tires, 
waste oil, sludges, dead animals, agricultural and industrial 
wastes, infectious waste, municipal ash, septic tank 
pumpings, and sewage residues. 

"STORAGE" means the holding of solid waste for a 
temporary period, at the end of which time the solid waste is 
treated, disposed of, or stored elsewhere. 

"SUBBASE" means the supporting soil layers beneath a 
liner. 

"SURFACE WATER" means water occurring generally 
on the surface of the earth.   

"THERMAL RECOVERY FACILITY" means a 
facility designed to thermally break down solid waste and to 
recover energy from the solid waste.

"TOPSOIL" means the friable dark upper portion of a 
soil profile that contains mineral substances and organic 
material in varying degrees of decomposition and is capable 
of supporting vegetation.

"TRANSFER STATION" means any facility where 
quantities of solid waste delivered by vehicle are 
consolidated or aggregated for subsequent transfer by 
vehicle for processing, recycling, or disposal.

"TRANSPORTATION" means the movement of solid 
waste by air, rail, water, over the roadway, or on the ground. 

"TRANSPORTER" means any person engaged in the 
transportation of solid waste.

"TREATMENT" means the process of altering the 
physical, chemical, or biological condition of the waste to 
prevent pollution of water, air, or soil or to render the waste 
safe for transport, disposal, or reuse. 

"UNCONFINED AQUIFER" means an aquifer in 
which the upper surface of the zone of saturation is at 
atmospheric pressure.

"UPPERMOST AQUIFER" means the geologic 
formation nearest the natural ground surface that is an 
aquifer, as well as, lower aquifers that are hydraulically 
interconnected with this aquifer within the facility's property 
boundary. 

"VARIANCE" means a permitted deviation from an 
established rule or regulation, or plan, or standard or 
procedure, as provided in 7 Del.C. Ch. 60.  

"VECTOR" means a carrier organism that is capable of 
transmitting a pathogen from one organism to another.

"VEHICLE" means a motorized means of transporting 
something. "Vehicle" includes both the motorized unit and 
all containerized units of a conveyance attached thereto.  

"WATER TABLE" means that surface in a ground 
water body at which the water pressure is atmospheric.  It is 
defined by the levels at which water stands in wells that 
penetrate the water body just far enough to hold standing 
water.

“WELL" means any excavation that is drilled, cored, 
bored, washed, driven, dug, jetted or otherwise constructed 
when the intended use of such excavation is for the location, 
testing, acquisition or artificial recharge of underground 
water, and where the depth is greater than the diameter or 
width. 

"WORKING FACE" means that portion of a landfill 
where waste is discharged, spread and compacted prior to 
placement of daily cover.

SECTION 4: PERMIT REQUIREMENTS AND 
ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
1. Permit required

a. No person shall engage in the construction, 
operation, material alteration, or closure of a solid waste 
facility, unless exempted from these regulations under 
Section 2.C, without first having obtained a permit from the 
Department.

b. No person that is subject to the requirements of 
Section 7.B or 7.C of these regulations shall transport solid 
waste in or through the State of Delaware without first 
having obtained an appropriate solid waste transporter's 
permit from the Department.

c. Permittees shall abide by the conditions of their 
permit issued by the Department.

2. Public notice; hearing 
Within 60 days after receipt of a completed 

application and all other required information, the 
Department will give public notice and the opportunity for a 
public hearing as provided in 7 Del.C. Ch. 60. The cost of 
the advertisement may shall be borne by the applicant. A 15 
day comment period will follow the publication date of each 
public notice. If no meritorious adverse public comments are 
received during this period, and the Secretary does not deem 
a public hearing to be in the best interest of the State, the 
Department will enter into the permit approval/denial phase. 
If a meritorious request for a hearing is received during the 
comment period, or if the Secretary deems a hearing to be in 
the best interest of the State, a public hearing will be held as 
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provided in 7 Del.C. §6004 and 6006.
3. Approval/denial

The Department shall act upon an application for a 
permit within 60 days after the close of the public notice 
comment period or upon receipt of the hearing officer's 
report if a hearing was required.  When a final determination 
is made on an application, the Department shall issue a 
permit or send a letter of denial to the applicant explaining 
the reasons for the denial.

4. Suspension, revocation of permit
   A permit may be revoked or suspended for 
violation of any condition of the permit or any requirement 
of this regulation, after notice and opportunity for hearing in 
accordance with 7 Del.C. Ch. 60.

5. Duration of permit
A permit will be issued for a specific duration 

which will be determined by the Department.
a. Solid waste facility operating permits 

(landfills, resource recovery facilities, transfer stations, 
incinerators) shall not be issued for periods greater than 10 
years. 

b. Post-closure permits shall be valid and 
enforceable throughout the entire post-closure period. 

6. Permit renewal
Any person wishing to renew an existing permit 

that is to expire shall, not less than 90 180 days prior to the 
expiration date of that the existing permit, submit to the 
Department, a permit renewal application form, with all 
supporting documentation and appropriate fees as required 
by these regulations  provided by the Department.

In the event that the permittee submits a timely 
application, (i.e., not less than 90 180 days prior to the 
expiration date of the existing permit expiration date)
application for permit renewal, and the Department, through 
no fault of the permittee, is unable to make a final 
determination on the application before the expiration date 
of the current existing permit, the Department may, at its 
discretion, grant an extension of the that permit. If the 
Department issues an extension, all conditions of the permit, 
and all modifications previously requested by the 
Department, will remain in effect, for a period of time which 
will be determined by the Department.

7. Modification of permit 
A permittee may request modifications to a permit. 

All such requests must be submitted in writing to the 
Department.

The Department may initiate modification of a 
permit if it finds that the existing permit conditions either are 
not adequate or are not necessary to protect human health 
and the environment.

Public notice and opportunity for hearing in 
accordance with paragraph A.2 of this Section shall be 
accomplished for all major modifications proposed for the 
permit.  In the event a hearing is requested or deemed 

necessary by the Secretary, only the permit conditions 
subject to the modification shall be reopened for public 
comment.

Public notice shall not be required for minor 
modifications to the permit. Minor modifications are those 
which if granted would not result in any increased impact or 
risk to the environment or to the public health.  Minor 
modifications include but are not limited to:

Changes in operation or design which are not 
related to pollution control devices or procedures.

Improvements to approved pollution control 
devices or procedures.

Administrative changes.
A change in monitoring or reporting frequency.
The correction of typographical errors.

8. Transfer of permit
The new owner must submit to the Department a written 
request for the transfer of a permit at least 90 days prior to 
the date of the proposed transfer. The transfer request must 
include the following submissions: 

All of the information requested in 7 Del.C. Ch. 79.
A revised solid waste facility or transporter permit 

application, as appropriate.
A written agreement between the new and existing 

owner containing a specific date upon which the transfer of 
the permit will occur. 

A demonstration that the new owner has satisfied 
any financial assurance requirements imposed by these 
regulations.  For additional information on financial 
assurance requirements see section 4.A.11 of these 
regulations.

Once the aforementioned requirements have been 
submitted and are considered complete to the Department’s 
satisfaction, the Department will give public notice and the 
opportunity for a public hearing as provided in 7 Del.C. Ch. 
60. For additional information on the public notice 
procedure see Section 4.A.2 of these regulations.  

When a final determination is made on the permit 
transfer request, the Department shall issue a revised permit 
or send a letter of denial explaining the reasons that a revised 
permit could not be issued. 

9. Enforcement
a. The Department reserves the right to inspect 

any site, or any vehicle intended for use in the transportation 
of solid waste, before issuing a solid waste permit for the site 
or the transporter.

b. The Department may, at any reasonable time, 
enter any permitted solid waste facility or inspect any 
vehicle being used in the transportation of solid waste in 
order to verify compliance with the permit and these 
regulations.

c. The Department may require such reports, 
interviews, tests or other information necessary for the 
evaluation of permit applications and the verification of 
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compliance with the permit and these regulations. 
d. Any person using land, or allowing the use of 

land, for the storage, processing, or disposal of solid waste 
who violates a requirement of this regulation shall be subject 
to the provisions of Sections 6005, 6013, 6018, and 6025(c) 
of 7 Del.C. Ch. 60.

10. Replacement of Contaminated Water Supplies
If the Department determines, based on information 

obtained by or submitted to the Department or the Division 
of Public Health, that any drinking water supply well has 
become contaminated as a result of the construction or 
operation of a solid waste facility, the owner or operator of 
the facility will be required to construct and maintain, at his 
or her expense, a permanent alternative water supply of 
comparable quantity and quality to the source before it was 
contaminated. Such a determination will be subject to the 
review procedures contained in 7 Del.C. Ch. 60.

11. Financial Assurance Criteria
a. Applicability and effective date

The requirements of this section apply to 
owners and operators of all solid waste facilities, except 
owners or operators who are State or Federal Government 
entities whose debts and liabilities are the debts and 
liabilities of the State or the United States.

b. Financial Assurance for Closure, Post-Closure 
Care, and Corrective Action

(1) The owner or operator of a solid waste 
facility must provide assurance that the financial costs 
associated with closure, post-closure care, and corrective 
action can be met throughout the life of the facility until 
released from these requirements by the Department after 
demonstrating successful completion of compliance with the 
requirements for each of these activities. 

(2)  The mechanisms used to demonstrate 
financial assurance under this section must ensure that the 
funds necessary to meet the costs of closure, post-closure 
care, and corrective action for known releases will be 
available whenever they are needed.  Owners or operators 
must choose from the options specified in paragraphs (a) 
through (i) of this section, and comply with any conditions 
noted therein.  

(a) Trust Fund
Condition 1:  The trustee must be an 

entity which has the authority to act as a trustee and whose 
trust operations are regulated and examined by a Federal or 
State of Delaware agency.

Condition 2:  The trust agreement 
shall be worded as prescribed by the Department.

Condition 3:  The owner or operator 
shall submit the receipt from the trustee for the initial 
payment into the trust fund as well as the originally signed 
duplicate of the trust agreement for Department approval 
prior to receiving solid waste, or in the case of an existing 
facility, prior to the cancellation of the existing financial 

assurance mechanism.
Condition 4:  Pay-in periods and 

amounts for all solid waste facilities shall be in accordance 
with those specified in 40 CFR Part 258.74, subsections 
(a)(2),(a)(3), (a)(4) and (a)(6) or otherwise acceptable to the 
Department.

Condition 5: Schedule A, attached to 
the trust agreement, shall list the facility name and address 
and the current cost estimate. Schedule A must relate the 
trust agreement to the specific facility and obligation(s) 
being assured and shall be updated at least annually to 
account for inflation or other increases to the cost estimate. 
Costs reflected in Schedule A shall not be reduced without 
the written consent of the Department.

Condition 6:  Schedule B, attached to 
the trust agreement, shall list the property or money that the 
fund consists of initially.  Property must consist of cash or 
securities acceptable to the trustee.  Other property (e.g., real 
estate) is not an acceptable payment into the trust fund.

Condition 7:  Exhibit A, attached to 
the trust agreement, shall list the persons designated by the 
Grantor to sign orders, requests, and instructions to the 
trustee.

Condition 8:  Annual valuation. 
Annually, the trustee shall furnish to the Department and to 
the owner or operator, a statement confirming the value of 
the trust fund. Any securities in the trust fund shall be valued 
at market value as of no more than 60 days prior to the date 
the statement is submitted to the Department. If possible, the 
statement should be submitted during the month that 
Schedule A is adjusted annually. 

Condition 9:  The trustee shall make 
payments from the fund only as the Department directs to 
provide for the payment for the costs of corrective action, 
closure, and/or post-closure care.

Condition 10: After beginning 
closure, post-closure care, or corrective action, an owner or 
operator or other person authorized in accordance with 
Condition 7 may request reimbursements for partial 
expenditures by submitting itemized bills to the Secretary. 
The owner or operator may request reimbursements for 
partial closure, post-closure care, or corrective action only if 
sufficient funds are remaining in the trust fund to cover the 
maximum costs of completing the activities for which the 
trust agreement was established. Within 60 days after 
receiving bills for reimbursable closure, post-closure care, or 
corrective action activities, the Secretary will instruct the 
trustee to make reimbursements in those amounts as the 
Secretary specifies in writing. Reimbursements will be 
allowed only if the Secretary determines that the partial or 
final expenditures are in accordance with the approved 
closure, post closure care, or corrective action plan or are 
otherwise justified. If the Secretary has reason to believe that 
the maximum cost of closure over the remaining life of the 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1441
facility will be significantly greater than the value of the trust 
fund, he/she may withhold reimbursements of such amounts 
as he/she deems prudent. If the Secretary does not instruct 
the trustee to make such reimbursements, he/she will provide 
the owner or operator with a detailed written statement of 
reasons.

Condition 11:  Amendments.  The 
trust agreement may be amended by an instrument in writing 
executed by the grantor, the trustee, and the Department, or 
by the trustee and the Department if the grantor ceases to 
exist.

Condition 12:  Irrevocability and 
termination.  Subject to Condition 11, the trust agreement 
shall be irrevocable and shall continue until terminated at the 
written agreement of the grantor, the trustee, and the 
Department, or by the trustee and the Department if the 
grantor ceases to exist.

(b.) Surety Bond for Payment or 
Performance

Condition 1:  At a minimum, the 
surety company issuing the bond must be listed in Circular 
570 of the U.S. Department of Treasury as qualified in the 
state where the bond was executed.

Condition 2:  The surety’s 
underwriting limit must be at least as great as the amount of 
the surety bond.

Condition 3: The surety bond shall be 
worded as prescribed by the Department.

Condition 4:  The owner or operator 
shall submit the bond and standby trust fund for Department 
approval prior to receiving solid waste, or in the case of an 
existing facility, prior to the cancellation of the existing 
financial assurance mechanism. 

Condition 5: Standby trust fund. The 
owner or operator must establish a standby trust fund, and 
the standby trust fund must meet the requirements of these 
regulations except that initial and annual payments are not 
required. Updates of Schedule A, and annual valuation 
reporting will not be required until payment is made into the 
trust fund. Payments made under the terms of the surety 
bond shall be deposited by the issuing institution directly 
into the standby trust fund. 

Condition 6:  The payment surety 
bond may not be used for corrective actions.

Condition 7:  Under the terms of the 
bond, the surety may cancel the bond by sending notice of 
cancellation to the Secretary of the Department, to the Solid 
and Hazardous Waste Management Branch, and to the owner 
and operator at least 120 days in advance of cancellation. If 
the Surety cancels the bond, the owner or operator must 
obtain alternate financial assurance. The Department may 
draw on the surety bond if the owner or operator has not 
provided alternative financial assurance within 90 days after 
receipt by the Solid Waste Management Branch of a notice 

of cancellation from the surety.
Condition 8: The owner or operator 

may cancel the surety bond if the Department provides its 
written consent to do so.  The Department will provide such 
written consent when the owner substitutes alternate 
financial assurance as specified in these regulations or the 
bonded activity has been completed in accordance with these 
regulations.

Condition 9:  The surety shall become 
liable on the bond when the owner or operator has failed to 
fulfill the closure, post-closure care or corrective action 
activities as required. Upon notification by the Department 
that the owner or operator has failed to perform closure or 
post-closure care guaranteed by a payment bond, the surety 
shall place funds in the amount guaranteed for the facility 
into the standby trust fund.  Upon notification that the owner 
or operator has failed to perform closure, post-closure care, 
or corrective action as guaranteed by a performance bond, 
the surety shall either perform the activities guaranteed by 
the bond or place funds in the amount guaranteed for the 
facility into the standby trust fund.

(c.) Letter of Credit
Condition 1:  The issuing financial 

institution must be an entity which has the authority to issue 
letters of credit and whose letter of credit operations are 
regulated and examined by a Federal or State of Delaware 
agency.

Condition 2: The letter of credit shall 
be worded as prescribed by the Department.

Condition 3:  Accompanying letter. 
The owner or operator shall also submit an accompanying 
letter referring to the letter of credit by number and listing 
the following information: complete name and address of 
facility, issuing institution and date, and amount and purpose 
of funds assured. 

Condition 4:  The owner or operator 
shall submit the letter of credit and accompanying letter for 
Department approval prior to receiving solid waste, or in the 
case of an existing facility, prior to the cancellation of the 
existing financial assurance mechanism. 

Condition 5:  The letter of credit must 
be irrevocable and issued for a period of at least one year. 
The letter of credit must provide that the expiration date will 
be automatically extended for a period of at least one year 
unless, at least 120 days before the current expiration date, 
the issuing institution notifies the Secretary of the 
Department, the Solid and Hazardous Waste Management 
Branch, and the owner or operator of a decision not to extend 
the expiration date.

Condition 6:  Once the issuing 
financial institution notifies the Solid and Hazardous Waste 
Management Branch of its intent not to extend the Letter of 
Credit, the owner or operator must, within 90 days, provide 
alternate financial assurance.  The Department may draw on 
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the letter of credit if the owner or operator has not provided 
alternative financial assurance within 90 days. 

Condition 7: Following a 
determination by the Secretary of the Department that the 
owner or operator has failed to perform closure, post-closure 
care, or corrective action when required to do so, the 
Department may draw on the letter of credit.

(d.) Insurance
Condition 1:  The insurer must be 

licensed to transact the business of insurance in one or more 
states or be eligible to provide insurance as an excess or 
surplus lines insurer in one or more states.

Condition 2: Captive insurance 
companies and risk retention groups can not be used to 
satisfy the requirements of this section.

Condition 3: Insurance is not an 
allowable mechanism for demonstrating financial 
responsibility for corrective action. 

Condition 4:  The policy must 
guarantee that the funds will be available whenever needed 
and that the insurer will be responsible for paying out funds 
to authorized persons.

Condition 5:  The policy must allow 
assignment to a successor owner or operator. Assignment 
may be conditional upon consent of the insurer provided that 
such consent is not unreasonably refused.

Condition 6:  The policy must provide 
that the insurer may not cancel, terminate or fail to renew the 
policy except for failure to pay the premium. The automatic 
renewal of the policy must, at a minimum, provide the 
insured with the option of renewal at the face amount of the 
expiring policy.

Condition 7:  If the owner or operator 
fails to pay the premium, the insurer may cancel the policy 
by sending notice of cancellation by certified mail to the 
Secretary of the Department, to the Solid and Hazardous 
Waste Management Branch, and to the owner or operator of 
the facility, at least 120 days in advance of the cancellation 
and date of expiration.  Cancellation, termination, or failure 
to renew may not occur and the policy will remain in full 
force and effect in the event that on or before the date of 
expiration, the Secretary of the Department deems the 
facility abandoned; or the permit is terminated or revoked or 
a new permit is denied; or closure is ordered by the Secretary 
of the Department, or a U.S. District Court or other court of 
competent jurisdiction; or the owner or operator is named as 
debtor in a voluntary or involuntary proceeding under Title 
11 (Bankruptcy) USC; or the premium due is paid.

Condition 8: Prior to requesting 
reimbursement from the insurer, owners or operators shall 
submit justification and documentation of the reimbursable 
expenses to the Department for its consent.

Condition 9:  A copy of the policy 
shall be submitted to the Department for its approval prior to 

receiving solid waste, or in the case of an existing facility, 
prior to the cancellation of the existing financial assurance 
mechanism. 

(e) Local Government Financial Test and 
Guarantee

Condition 1:  Financial tests and 
guarantees shall not be used for assuring  funds for post-
closure periods or corrective actions. 

Condition 2: Guarantees shall be 
worded as specified by the Department.

Condition 3: A local government is 
not eligible to assure its obligations by this mechanism if it: 
is currently in default of any outstanding general obligation 
bonds; or has any general obligation bonds rated lower than 
Baa as issued by Moody’s or BBB as issued by Standard and 
Poor’s; or operated at a deficit equal to five percent or more 
of total annual revenue in each of the past two fiscal years; or 
received an adverse opinion, disclaimer of opinion, or other 
qualified opinion from the independent certified public 
accountant (or appropriate state agency) auditing its 
financial statement, and the Department deems the reason 
for the qualification as significant.

Condition 4: Bond Rating/Financial 
Ratio Alternatives. The local government must meet one of 
the following two financial tests:  a) If the local government 
has outstanding, rated, general obligation bonds that are not 
secured by insurance, a letter of credit, or other collateral or 
guarantee, it must have a current rating of Aaa, Aa, A, or 
Baa, as issued by Moody’s, or AAA, AA, A, or BBB as 
issued by Standard and Poor’s on all such general obligation 
bonds; or b) Based upon the most recently audited annual 
financial statement, a ratio of cash plus marketable securities 
to total expenditures greater than or equal to 0.05, and a ratio 
of annual debt service to total expenditures less than or equal 
to 0.20.  

Condition 5:  The total costs being 
assured through a financial test must not exceed 43 percent 
of the local government’s total annual revenue.  If the local 
government assures other environmental obligations through 
financial tests; including those associated with UIC facilities 
under 40 CFR 144.62, underground storage tank facilities 
under 40 CFR Part 280, PCB storage facilities under 40 CFR 
Part 761, and hazardous waste treatment, storage, and 
disposal facilities under 40 CFR Parts 264 and 265; it must 
add those costs to the closure costs it seeks to assure under 
this mechanism.

Condition 6:  Public Notice. The local 
government shall place a reference to the closure costs 
assured through the financial test into its next comprehensive 
annual financial report (CAFR).

Condition 7: Accountant's Opinion. A 
Certified Public Accountant’s opinion of the local 
government's financial statements for the most recent fiscal 
year must also be included in the initial financial assurance 
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package and annually no later than 90 days after the close of 
the local government’s fiscal year.  The opinion must be 
unqualified and demonstrate that the local government has 
prepared its financial statements in accordance with the 
requirements of the General Accounting Standards Board 
Statement 18.

Condition 8: Chief Financial Officer 
letter.  The Chief Financial Officer must include a letter 
demonstrating that the local government has complied with 
Conditions 3, 4, 5, and 6.  The CFO letter shall be submitted 
to the Department as part of the initial financial assurance 
package and annually no later than 90 days after the close of 
the local government’s fiscal year.

Condition 9: If, at the end of any 
fiscal year, the local government fails to meet the financial 
test criteria required by conditions 3, 4, or 5, then the local 
government shall send, within 90 days, by certified mail, 
notice to the Secretary of the Department and to the Solid 
and Hazardous Waste Management Branch, that they intend 
to provide alternate financial assurance as required by these 
regulations. The local government shall, within 210 days 
following the close of the fiscal year, obtain alternative 
financial assurance that meets the requirements of these 
regulations. 

Condition 10:  The guarantee, 
approved by the Department, must be effective prior to the 
initial receipt of waste or in the case of an existing facility, 
prior to the cancellation of the existing financial assurance 
mechanism.

Condition 11:  The guarantee shall 
remain in force unless the local government sends notice of 
cancellation by certified mail to the Secretary of the 
Department and to the Solid and Hazardous Waste 
Management Branch.  Such notice shall be given at least 120 
days in advance of the cancellation. Within 90 days of 
receipt of this notice of cancellation by the Solid and 
Hazardous Waste Management Branch, the local 
government shall provide alternative financial assurance 
acceptable to the Department. 

(f) Corporate Financial Test and 
Guarantee

Condition 1:  Financial tests and 
guarantees shall not be used for assuring funds for post-
closure periods or corrective actions.

Condition 2: Guarantees shall be 
worded as prescribed by the Department. 

Condition 3:  A resolution agreeing to 
the terms and conditions of the guarantee and signed by the 
guarantor’s board of directors shall be attached to the 
guarantee. 

Condition 4: The guarantor must be 
the direct or higher tier parent company of the owner or 
operator, or a firm whose parent corporation is also the 
parent corporation of the owner or operator.

Condition 5:  Minimum size 
requirement. The guarantor must have a tangible net worth 
equal to the sum of the costs they seek to assure through a 
financial test, plus $10 million. The costs that the guarantor 
seeks to assure are equal to the current cost estimates for 
closure, post-closure care, corrective action, and any other 
environmental obligation assured by a financial test and/or 
corporate guarantee by the guarantor (including other 
landfills or solid waste facilities; PCB storage facilities; 
underground storage tanks; hazardous waste treatment, 
storage, disposal facilities; or underground injection control 
program facilities).

Condition 6:  Bond Rating/Financial 
Ratio Alternatives. Guarantors must meet one of the 
following three financial tests:

a) A most recent bond rating no 
lower than Baa as issued by Moody’s or BBB as issued by 
Standard and Poor’s.

b) A leverage ratio of less than 
1.5 based on the ratio of total liabilities to tangible net worth.

c) A profitability ratio of greater 
than 0.10 based on the sum of the net income plus 
depreciation, depletion and amortization, minus $10 million, 
to total liabilities.

Condition 7:  Domestic Assets 
Requirement. Guarantors must have assets in the United 
States at least equal to the costs they seek to assure through a 
financial test (costs include those reported for Condition 5).

Condition 8:  Chief Financial Officer 
letter.  The Chief Financial Officer must include a letter 
demonstrating that the guarantor has complied with 
Conditions 4, 5, 6, and 7.  The CFO letter shall be submitted 
to the Department as part of the initial financial assurance 
package and annually no later than 90 days after the close of 
the guarantor's fiscal year.

Condition 9: Accountant's Opinion. A 
Certified Public Accountant’s opinion of the guarantor's 
financial statements for the most recent fiscal year must also 
be included in the initial financial assurance package and 
annually no later than 90 days after the close of the 
guarantor’s fiscal year. The opinion must be unqualified (not 
modified by conditions or reservations) and demonstrate that 
the firm has prepared its financial statements in accordance 
with generally accepted accounting principals for 
corporations.

Condition 10:  Special Report.  In the 
event that the CFO does not use financial test figures directly 
form the annual statements provided to the Securities and 
Exchange Commission, then a special report from an 
independent accountant shall be required.  In the report, the 
Certified Public Accountant must confirm that the data used 
in the CFO letter was appropriately derived from the audited, 
year-end financial statements. 

Condition 11:  Incapacity. The 
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guarantor shall notify the Secretary of the Department and 
the Solid and Hazardous Waste Management Branch by 
certified mail of the commencement of a voluntary or 
involuntary proceeding under Title 11 Bankruptcy, USC, 
naming the guarantor, owner or operator of the facility as 
debtor, within 10 days after commencement of the 
proceeding.

Condition 12:  If, at the end of any 
fiscal year, the guarantor fails to meet the financial test 
criteria required by conditions 5, 6, or 7, then the guarantor 
shall send, within 90 days, by certified mail, notice to the 
Secretary of the Department, to the Solid and Hazardous 
Waste Management Branch, and to the owner or operator, 
that guarantor intends to provide alternate financial 
assurance as required by these regulations. Within 120 days 
of such fiscal year, the guarantor shall establish such 
financial assurance unless the owner or operator has done so.

Condition 13:  Within 30 days of 
being notified by the Department that a determination has 
been made that the guarantor no longer meets the 
requirements stated in Conditions 5, 6, or 7, the guarantor 
shall establish alternate financial assurance in accordance 
with these regulations. 

Condition 14:  The guarantee, 
approved by the Department, must be effective prior to the 
initial receipt of waste or in the case of an existing facility, 
prior to the cancellation of the existing financial assurance 
mechanism.

(g) Department-Approved Mechanism.
(h) State Assumption of Responsibility.

Use of Multiple Financial 
Mechanisms (any combination of the options listed above).

The language of the financial 
assurance mechanisms listed in this section must satisfy the 
following criteria:

(a) They must ensure that the 
amount of funds assured is sufficient to cover the costs of 
closure, post-closure care, and corrective action for known 
releases when needed.

(b) They must ensure that funds 
will be available in a timely fashion when needed.

(c) They must be obtained by 
the owner or operator by the effective date of these 
requirements or prior to the initial receipt of solid waste, 
whichever is later, in the case of closure and post-closure 
care, and no later than 120 days after the corrective action 
remedy has been selected, until the owner or operator is 
released from the financial assurance requirements. 

(3) They must be legally valid, binding, and 
enforceable under State law. 

(4) Upon request by the Department, the 
applicant or permittee shall provide a third party review of 
the financial assurance documents submitted.  The third 
party review must certify to the Department that the financial 

assurance documents as submitted by the applicant or 
permittee meet the requirements of Section 4.A.11.b(2) of 
these regulations, and be sealed and signed by a Certified 
Public Accountant duly registered in Delaware, or other 
professional acceptable to the Department.  

(5) The application shall not be deemed 
complete until and unless the applicant has complied with 
Section 4.A.11.b(4) of these regulations as specified above. 

c. Cost Estimate for Closure
(1) The owner or operator must submit to the 

Department a detailed written estimate, in current dollars, of 
the cost of closing the facility that is consistent with the 
closure plan developed in accordance with the closure 
requirements for that type of facility. The estimate must 
equal the maximum cost of closure at any time during the 
active life of the facility. The owner or operator shall also 
notify the Secretary in writing that the estimate has been 
placed in the records to be maintained at the facility.  

(2) Until final closure of the facility, the 
owner or operator must annually adjust the closure cost 
estimate for inflation, facility expansions, and any other 
applicable requirements which impact the cost of closure. 

(3) The owner or operator must increase the 
cost estimate and the amount of financial assurance provided 
for closure if changes to the closure plan or facility 
conditions increase the maximum cost of closure at any time 
during the remaining active life.

(4) The Department may approve reduction in 
the amount of financial assurance provided for closure if the 
latest cost estimate is significantly less than the maximum 
cost of the current closure plan.  The owner or operator must 
submit to the Secretary in writing the justification for the 
reduction of the closure cost estimate and the amount of 
financial assurance. Any changes in the amount of financial 
assurance must also be placed in the records to be 
maintained at the facility.

d. Cost Estimate for Post-Closure Care
(1) The owner or operator of a solid waste 

facility for which post-closure care is required must 
demonstrate financial assurance for the cost of thirty (30) 
years of post-closure care.  The owner or operator must 
submit to the Department a detailed written estimate, in 
current dollars, of the cost of hiring a third party to conduct 
post-closure care for the solid waste facility in compliance 
with the post-closure plan.  This estimate must be based on 
the most expensive costs of post-closure care during the 
post-closure care period. The owner or operator must also 
notify the Department in writing that the estimate has been 
placed in the records to be maintained at the facility.

(2) During the active life of the solid waste 
facility and during the post-closure care period, the owner or 
operator must annually adjust the post-closure cost estimate 
for inflation and other applicable factors.

(3) The owner or operator must increase the 
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post-closure care cost estimate and the amount of financial 
assurance provided if changes in the post-closure plan or 
solid waste facility conditions increase the maximum costs 
of post-closure care.

(4) The Secretary may approve the reduction 
of the post-closure cost estimate and the amount of financial 
assurance provided if the latest cost estimate is significantly 
less than the maximum costs of post-closure care remaining 
over the post-closure care period.  The owner or operator 
must submit to the Secretary in writing the justification for 
the reduction of the post-closure cost estimate.  Any changes 
in the amount of financial assurance must also be placed in 
the records to be maintained at the facility.

e. Cost Estimate for Corrective Action
(1) An owner or operator of a solid waste 

facility required to undertake a corrective action program 
must submit to the Secretary in writing a detailed written 
estimate, in current dollars, of the cost of hiring a third party 
to perform the corrective action. The corrective action cost 
estimate must account for the total costs of corrective action 
activities as described in the corrective action plan for the 
entire corrective action period.  The owner or operator must 
also notify the Secretary that the cost estimate has been 
placed in the records to be maintained at the facility.

(2) The owner or operator must annually 
adjust the estimate for inflation and any other applicable 
factors until the corrective action program is completed.

(3) The owner or operator must increase the 
corrective action cost estimate and the amount of financial 
assurance provided if changes in the corrective action 
program or facility conditions increase the maximum costs 
of corrective action.

(4) The Secretary may approve reduction of 
the amount of the corrective action cost estimate and the 
amount of financial assurance provided if the cost estimate 
exceeds the maximum remaining costs of corrective action. 
The owner or operator must submit to the Secretary in 
writing the justification for the reduction of the corrective 
action cost estimate. The owner or operator must also notify 
the Secretary in writing that the amended amount of 
financial assurance has been placed in the records to be 
maintained at the facility. 

B. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR SANITARY 
AND INDUSTRIAL LANDFILLS 

1. Application
Any person desiring to construct or operate a 

sanitary or industrial landfill or cell must submit a letter of 
intent to the Department.  The letter should indicate the 
projected design and usage of the proposed facility.  The 
letter of intent shall be followed by the submission, by the 
applicant, of the following additional information:

a. A Solid Waste Management Facility 
Application, provided by the Department. All information 

provided by the applicant is certified to be true, accurate, and 
complete by the applicant’s signature on the provided 
application.

b. Proof of ownership of the property. If the 
applicant does not own the property, a copy of the lease 
agreement and the owner's permission to conduct the 
proposed activity on the property must also be submitted. 

c. A plan of operation
This shall include the following:
(1) A narrative description of the type of 

facility and of the solid waste handling and disposal 
procedures to be used,

A narrative explaining the methods and 
schedule for operation, modification, use, and maintenance 
of the various components of the facility,

A description of the proposed monitoring 
methods,

A description of the proposed methods for 
controlling noise, litter, odors, insects, and rodents, and

A contingency plan to be implemented in 
case of emergency (e.g., a fire, explosion, or spill that 
threatens public health and safety or the environment).

d. An engineering report
This report shall be prepared and signed by a 

Professional Engineer registered in Delaware and shall 
include the following:

(1) Descriptions and specifications of all 
proposed design features,

A description of the proposed installation 
methods and procedures,

A schedule of events for construction of 
the facility,

Proposed design capacity in both tons and 
cubic yards per day, and projected life expectancy of the 
facility,

A construction quality assurance plan.
A schedule of events for construction of 

the facility,
Proposed design capacity in both tons and 

cubic yards per day, and projected life expectancy of the 
facility.

A construction quality assurance plan.
e. A hydrogeological assessment

A hydrogeological investigation must be 
performed at the proposed site and approved by the 
Department before a construction permit will be issued. 
This investigation shall include a series of test borings and 
wells, constructed to a depth and in a number sufficient to 
identify: 

(1) The occurrence and characteristics of the 
unconfined and first confined aquifers,

(2) Ground water flow directions,
(3) Ambient ground water quality,
(4) Potential pathways of contaminants to 
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points of ground water discharge,
(5) Approximate ground water flow rates and 

travel times from the facility to points of discharge 
(including wells and/or surface water).

In addition, delineation of the anticipated 
maximum elevation of the seasonal high water table shall be 
provided.

This investigation and report shall be 
signed by a Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.  

f. An environmental assessment
An environmental assessment shall be 

performed to provide a detailed analysis of the potential 
impact of the proposed facility on the environment.  Factors 
to be considered include:

Air quality
Water quality
Stream flow
Fish and wildlife
Plants
Threatened or endangered species
Water uses
Land use
Aesthetics 
Traffic
Public health and safety
Cultural, recreational, and natural areas
Historic sites
Social and economic factors.

If the applicant or the Department determines 
that the proposed facility may cause a threat to human health 
or the environment, the applicant must provide a written 
explanation of how he or she plans to mitigate the potential 
harm.

g. Topographical and site location maps
This shall include a topographical map or series of 

maps on a scale satisfactory to the Department but in no case 
less than one inch equal to 400 feet, showing topographic 
elevations surveyed with reference to mean sea level, and 
any necessary narrative descriptions, including but not 
limited to the following:

(1) The legal boundaries of the property as 
determined by a survey performed by a registered surveyor; 
the names of the present owners of the proposed site and of 
all adjacent lands; and a description of all title, deed, or 
usage restrictions affecting the proposed permit area.

(2) The boundaries of the facility over the 
estimated total life of the proposed operation, including the 
boundaries of land that will be affected in each sequence of 
disposal activity.

(3) The boundaries of land where solid waste 
will be stored at any time over the estimated total life of the 
proposed operation.

(4) The locations and names of all water 
supply wells or surface water intakes within 1/4 mile of the 

disposal site boundaries.
(5) Proof that all applicable zoning approvals 

and all appropriate federal, state, and local environmental 
permits have been obtained.

(6) Closure plan as described in Section 5.J.3 
or 6.J.3, as appropriate.

(7) Proof of financial responsibility for 
closure and post-closure care, as described in Section 4.A.11.

(8) Proof that the facility meets the siting 
criteria required by Section 5.A. or 6.A.

(9) Any other related reports, data, maps, or 
information that the Department requires.     

h. Construction and Operation
1. The applicant shall not commence construction 

of the landfill or cell until the Department has issued the 
solid waste permit required by these regulations.

2. After construction has been completed and 
prior to the placement of solid waste, the permittee shall 
submit a final report for the Department’s approval. The 
final report shall certify that the construction of the landfill 
or cell was completed in accordance with the engineering 
report to include the Construction Quality Assurance Plan, 
construction and material specifications, and design 
drawings. The final report shall be certified correct by the 
construction quality assurance engineer, who must be a 
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware.  The permittee 
shall not place solid waste into the newly constructed landfill 
or cell until the Department has provided its written 
notification that the construction and the final report meet 
the requirements of the permit and the Delaware Regulations 
Governing Solid Waste.

3. Closure 
a. Any person wishing to modify their 

current permit to allow closure of a facility or part thereof 
must submit the following to the Department at least 180 
days prior to the projected date when wastes will no longer 
be accepted:

(1) Notification of intent to close,
(2) Closure plan as described in Section 

5.J.3 or 6.J.3, as appropriate,
(3) Post-closure care plan describing how 

the requirements of Section 5.K or 6.K (as appropriate) will 
be met.

(4) If the Department determines that the 
closure plan and supporting documents are sufficient to 
ensure closure, it will modify the permit to allow closure to 
be performed. The owner or operator of the landfill shall not 
commence closure of the landfill or cell without first 
obtaining the necessary permit modifications.

(5) After closure has been completed, the 
permittee shall submit a final report for the Department’s 
approval. The final report shall certify that the closure of the 
landfill or cell was completed in accordance with the closure 
plan to include the Construction Quality Assurance Plan, 
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construction and material specifications, and design 
drawings. The final report shall be certified correct by the 
construction quality assurance engineer, who must be a 
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware. The landfill or 
cell shall not be considered closed until the Department has 
provided its written notification that the closure has been 
accomplished in accordance with the solid waste permit and 
these regulations. 

(6) Facilities entering the Post-closure 
period will be issued a post-closure permit based upon the 
approved post-closure plan, monitoring requirements, gas 
and leachate control, maintenance, and corrective actions (if 
required). 

C. THIS PARAGRAPH RESERVED

D. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR RESOURCE 
RECOVERY FACILITIES

1. Application
Any person desiring to construct or operate a 

resource recovery facility must submit a letter of intent to the 
Department.  The letter should indicate the projected design 
and usage of the proposed facility.  The letter of intent shall 
be followed by the submission, by the applicant, of the 
following additional information:

A Solid Waste Management Facility Application, 
provided by the Department. All information provided by 
the applicant is certified to be true, accurate, and complete 
by the applicant’s signature on the provided application.

Proof of ownership of the property.  If the applicant 
does not own the property, a copy of the lease agreement and 
the owner's permission to conduct the proposed activity on 
the property must also be submitted.

2. A plan of operation
This shall include the following:

A narrative description of the type of facility 
and of the solid waste handling and disposal procedures to be 
used.

A narrative explaining the methods and 
schedule for operation, modification, use, and maintenance 
of the various components of the facility.  This shall include 
a description of the procedures for facility start up and for 
scheduled and unscheduled shut down operations.

A description of the solid wastes that will be 
accepted at the facility, the manner in which recyclable 
components will be removed from the solid waste stream, 
the markets for these recyclable materials, and the proposed 
disposition of the nonrecyclable components and residuals.

A description of the proposed monitoring 
methods.

A description of the measures that will be used 
to ensure that unauthorized and unwanted solid wastes are 
prevented from entering the facility.

A description of the personnel training 

program, including training that will be provided to ensure 
compliance with Sections 9.D.2.e and 9.D.2.g of these 
regulations.

A description of the proposed methods for 
controlling noise, litter, odors, insects, rodents, dust, fires, 
and explosions.

A detailed contingency plan to be implemented 
in case of an emergency such as a spill, accident, or 
explosion.

d. An engineering report
This report shall be prepared and signed by a 

Professional Engineer registered in Delaware and shall 
include the following:

A drawing or drawings showing the complete 
layout of the proposed facility.

Mass and energy balances, including 
calculations and pertinent facts relating to the development 
of these balances.

Descriptions and specifications of all proposed 
design features that the engineer has provided to the owner 
of the facility.

A description of the proposed installation 
methods and procedures.

A plan for third party quality assurance for the 
construction and installation of components of the facility 
that will be used in the processing, handling, and/or 
monitoring of solid waste. 

A schedule of events for construction of the 
facility.

Proposed design capacity per day, and life 
expectancy of the facility.

A description of potential safety hazards and 
methods of control.

An analysis of the concept of the facility's 
expansion at a later date, if and when deemed necessary by 
the Department.

An identification of possible ground water and 
surface water discharges.

e. A recycling analysis
This analysis shall consist of the following:
(1) Identification of available and potential 

markets for recovered recyclables.
(2) An evaluation of the impact that 

alternative source separation/recyclables recovery programs 
could have on the facility. If a thermal recovery facility is the 
subject of the application, this shall include an engineering 
analysis of the BTU value of the solid waste before and after 
recyclables recovery for the proposed life of the project to 
determine if increases in recycling activities will necessitate 
changes in facility size and capacity.

f. A plan for sampling, analysis, and disposition 
of the ash generated by the facility (for thermal recovery 
facilities only). The plan shall include a strategy for ash 
testing during the test burn phase of construction. Testing 
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shall be in accordance with Delaware's Regulations 
Governing Hazardous Waste or other testing protocol 
acceptable to the Department. The plan also shall include a 
proposal for treatment and/or disposal of the ash. The 
proposed methods for treatment and/or disposal shall 
conform to all applicable state and federal regulations.

g. A hydrogeological assessment, if deemed 
necessary by the Department

A hydrogeological investigation of the 
proposed site may be required before the Department will 
issue a permit. The report resulting from this investigation 
shall be signed by a Professional Geologist registered in 
Delaware.

h. An environmental assessment
The environmental assessment shall provide a 

detailed analysis of the potential impact of the proposed 
facility on the environment.  Factors to be considered 
include, but are not necessarily limited to:  

Air quality
  Water quality
  Water uses 
  Land use
  Soil quality

Traffic
  Public health and safety
  Cultural, recreational, and natural areas
  Social and economic factors.

If the applicant or the Department determines 
that the proposed facility may cause a threat to human health 
or the environment, the applicant must provide a written 
explanation of how he or she plans to mitigate the potential 
harm.

i. Topographical and site location maps
This shall include a topographical map or 

series of maps on a scale satisfactory to the Department but 
in no case less than one inch equal to 400 feet, showing 
topographic elevations surveyed with reference to mean sea 
level, and any necessary narrative descriptions, including but 
not limited to the following:

The legal boundaries of the property as 
determined by a survey performed by a registered surveyor; 
the names of the present owners of the proposed site and of 
all adjacent lands; and a description of all title, deed, or 
usage restrictions and all easements affecting the proposed 
permit area.

The boundaries of land where solid waste will 
be stored at any time over the estimated total life of the 
proposed operation.

The locations and names of all water supply 
wells or surface water intakes within 1/4 mile of the site 
boundaries.

j. Proof that all applicable zoning approvals have 
been obtained and application has been made for all 
appropriate federal, state, and local environmental permits.

A conceptual closure plan.  This shall address 
the items listed in Section 9.E.3 to the extent possible at the 
time of initial permit application and shall be revised and 
updated as necessary to reflect changes in plans that will 
affect the cost of closure.

Proof of financial responsibility for closure, as 
described in Section 4.A.11.b. 

Proof that the facility meets the siting criteria 
required by Section 9.B.

Any other related reports, data, maps, or 
information that the Department requires.

2. Construction and operation
The applicant shall not commence construction of a 

new resource recovery facility or operate an existing 
resource recovery facility until the applicant has received a 
permit from the Department in accordance with these 
regulations.

After the construction of a new resource recovery 
facility has been completed, and prior to the receipt of solid 
waste or materials for processing, the permittee shall submit 
a final report for the Department’s approval.  The final report 
shall certify that the construction of the resource recovery 
facility was completed in accordance with the engineering 
report to include the quality assurance plan, construction and 
material specifications and design drawings. The final report 
shall be certified correct by the third-party quality assurance 
engineer, who must be a Professional Engineer registered in 
Delaware. The permittee shall not commence operations, 
store or receive solid waste or materials to be processed until 
the Department has provided its written notification that the 
construction and the final report meet the requirements of the 
permit and the Delaware Regulations Governing Solid 
Waste.

3. Closure
Any person desiring to close a resource recovery 

facility shall, at least 180 days before the date on which the 
facility will stop accepting solid waste, submit the following 
to the Department:

a. Written notification of intent to close. 
b. Updated closure plan.
c. Closure schedule
d. An evaluation of the impact that closing the 

facility will have on the flow of solid waste in the region 
serviced by the facility, and a plan for minimizing any 
disruption in the flow.

If the Department approves the closure plan 
and closure schedule, it will modify the facility's permit to 
allow closure to take place.

E. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR TRANSFER 
STATIONS

1. Application
Any person desiring to construct or operate a 

transfer station must submit a letter of intent to the 
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Department.  For proposed facilities, Tthe letter should 
indicate shall narrate the projected design and usage of the 
proposed facility; provide a tentative schedule for 
construction and startup, and summarize the applicant’s 
experience and training with transfer station operations.  For 
existing facilities, the letter shall state the reason for the 
application submittal and include a narration about design, 
usage, and schedule only if new construction is proposed. 
The letter of intent shall be followed by the submission, by 
the applicant, of the following additional information After 
submitting the Letter of Intent, the applicant shall submit the 
following:

a. A Solid Waste Management Facility 
Application, provided by the Department.  All information 
provided by the applicant is certified to be true, accurate, and 
complete by the applicant’s signature on the provided 
application.

b. Proof of ownership of the property. If the 
applicant does not own the property, a copy of the lease 
agreement and the owner's permission to conduct the 
proposed activity on the property must be submitted.

c. A plan of operation
This shall include The applicant shall submit a 

plan of operation in a format that includes a dated title page 
(title, name/location of facility, author, permittee name), a 
table of contents, numbered pages, labeled chapters and 
subsections, and numbered paragraphs.  Content of the plan 
shall include the following:

1. A narrative description of the type of 
facility and of the solid waste handling procedures to be 
used.

2. A narrative explaining the methods and 
schedule for operation, modification, use, and maintenance 
of the various components of the facility.

3. A description of the proposed methods for 
controlling noise, litter, odors, insects, rodents, dust, 
leachate, and facility washdown water.

4. A description of the methods that will be 
used to prevent unauthorized wastes from entering the 
facility.

5. A contingency plan to be implemented in 
case of emergency (e.g., a fire, explosion, or spill that 
threatens public health and safety or the environment.)    

d. An engineering report
This report shall be prepared and signed by a 

Professional Engineer registered in Delaware and shall 
include the following:

Descriptions, plans, and specifications of all 
proposed design features.

A description of the proposed installation 
methods and procedures.

A schedule of events for construction of the 
facility.

Proposed design capacity in both tons and 

cubic yards per day.
e. A hydrogeological assessment, if deemed 

necessary by the Department.
1. A hydrogeological investigation of the 

proposed site may be required before the Department will 
issue a permit.  This investigation shall include a series of 
test borings and wells, constructed to a depth and in a 
number sufficient to identify:

a. The occurrence and characteristics of 
the water table aquifer.

2. Ground water flow directions.
3. Ambient ground water quality.
4. Potential pathways of contaminants to 

points of ground water discharge.
This investigation and report shall be 

signed by a Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.
f. An environmental assessment.

The environmental assessment shall provide a 
detailed analysis of the potential impact of the proposed 
facility on the environment. Factors to be considered 
include:

Air quality
Water quality
Water uses 
Land use
Soil quality
Traffic
Public health and safety
Cultural, recreational, and natural areas
Historic sites
Social and economic factors.

If the applicant or the Department determines 
that the proposed facility may cause a threat to human health 
or the environment, the applicant must provide a written 
explanation of how he or she plans to mitigate the potential 
harm.

g. Topographical and site maps
This shall include a topographical map or 

series of maps on a scale satisfactory to the Department but 
in no case less than one inch equal to 400 feet, showing 
topographic elevations surveyed with reference to mean sea 
level, and any necessary narrative descriptions, including but 
not limited to the following:

1. The legal boundaries of the property as 
determined by a survey performed by a surveyor registered 
in Delaware; the names of the present owners of the 
proposed site and of all adjacent lands; and a description of 
all title, deed, or usage restrictions and all easements 
affecting the proposed permit area.

2. The boundaries of land where solid waste 
will be stored at any time over the estimated total life of the 
proposed operation.

3. The locations and names of all water 
supply wells or surface water intakes within 1/4 mile of the 
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handling site boundaries.
h. Proof that all applicable zoning approvals have 

been obtained and that application has been made for all 
other appropriate federal, state, and local environmental 
permits.

i. A conceptual closure plan. This shall address 
the items listed in Section 10.F.3 to the extent possible at the 
time of initial permit application and shall be revised and 
updated as necessary to reflect changes in plans that will 
affect the cost of closure.

j. Proof of financial responsibility for closure, as 
described in Section 4.A.11.b.

k. Proof that the facility meets the siting criteria 
required by Section 10.B.

1. Any other related reports, data, maps, or 
information that the Department reasonably requires. 

2. Construction and operation
a. The applicant shall not commence 

construction of a new transfer station or operate an existing 
transfer station until the applicant has received a permit from 
the Department in accordance with these regulations.

b. After the construction of a new 
transfer station has been completed, and prior to the receipt 
of solid waste, the permittee shall submit a final report for 
the Department’s approval. The final report shall certify that 
the construction of the transfer station was completed in 
accordance with the permit requirements. The final report 
shall be certified correct by a Professional Engineer 
registered in Delaware. The permittee shall not commence 
operations, store or receive solid waste until the Department 
has provided its written notification that the construction and 
the final report meet the requirements of the permit and the 
Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste.

3. Closure
Any person desiring to close a transfer 

station shall, at least 60 days before the date on which the 
facility will stop accepting waste, submit the following to the 
Department:

a. Written notification of intent to close.
b. Updated closure plan. 
c. Closure schedule.
If the Department approves the closure 

plan and closure schedule, it will modify the facility's permit 
to allow closure to take place.

F. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR FACILITY 
FOR INFECTIOUS WASTE MANAGEMENT

1. Application
Any person desiring to construct or operate an 

infectious waste management facility must submit a letter of 
intent to the Department. The letter should indicate the 
projected design and usage of the proposed facility. The 
letter of intent shall be followed by submission, by the 
applicant, of the following additional information:

a. A Solid Waste Management Facility 
Application, provided by the Department.  All information 
provided by the applicant is certified to be true, accurate, and 
complete by the applicant’s signature on the provided 
application.

b. Proof of ownership of the property. If the 
applicant does not own the property, a copy of the lease 
agreement and the owner's permission to conduct the 
proposed activity on the property must also be submitted.

c. A plan of operation
1. This plan shall include the following:

a. The source(s) of the infectious waste 
(generator names and locations);

b. A description of the origin and 
content of the waste, its containerization and the expected 
volume and frequency of waste disposal at the facility;

c. A description of the facility where the 
waste will be rendered non-infectious, including the name 
and the exact location of the facility;

d. A narrative explaining the methods 
and schedule for operation, modification, use, and 
maintenance of the various components of the facility;

e. A description of the processing 
methods to be used for each type of waste, including 
schematic drawings (e.g., blueprints, etc.);

f. A description showing that the facility 
has developed a validation program which demonstrates the 
effectiveness of the treatment method by performing an 
Initial Efficacy Test and Periodic Verification Test(s).

g. A description of the measures that 
will be used to ensure that unauthorized and unwanted 
wastes are prevented from entering the facility;

h. A description of the containers to be 
used for the storage during the collection and during the 
movement within the facility, including the total length of 
time of storage;

i. A description of the alternatives to be 
used if the processing equipment is inoperable, and the 
procedures to be used for the management of the waste if it 
cannot be promptly processed;

j. A description of the handling and 
safety measures that will be employed for each type of 
waste, including personal protection and safety as well as 
modifications to the operational safety plan that are required;

k. A description of the proposed 
methods for controlling noise, litter, odors, vectors, dust, 
fires, and explosions;

l. A contingency plan to be 
implemented in case of emergency.

m. In addition, if the proposed facility is 
an incinerator, the Plan of Operation shall include a plan for 
sampling, analysis, and disposition of the ash generated in 
the incinerator. The plan shall include a strategy for ash 
testing during the test burn phase of construction. Testing 
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shall be in accordance with Delaware's Regulations 
Governing Hazardous Waste. The plan also shall include a 
strategy for treating and/or disposing of the ash if it is found 
to exhibit hazardous waste characteristics. A sanitary landfill 
in Delaware will not be considered an acceptable disposal 
facility for ash that exhibits hazardous waste characteristics.

d. An engineering report
1. This report shall be prepared and signed 

by a Professional Engineer registered in Delaware and shall 
include the following:

2. Descriptions and specifications of all 
proposed design features.

3. A description of the proposed installation 
methods and construction procedures.

4. A schedule of events for construction of 
the facility, if deemed necessary by the Department.

5. Proposed design capacity in both tons and 
cubic yards per day, and life expectancy of the facility.

6. Materials and energy balance of the 
facility.

e. A hydrogeological assessment, if deemed 
necessary by the Department.

A hydrogeological investigation may be 
required at the proposed site and approved by the 
Department before a construction permit will be issued. This 
investigation shall include a series of test borings and wells, 
constructed to a depth and in a number sufficient to identify:

(1) The occurrence and characteristics of 
the unconfined and first confined aquifers,

(2) Ground water flow directions,
(3) Ambient ground water quality,
(4) Potential pathways of contaminants to 

points of ground water discharge.
In addition, an evaluation shall be made of the 

elevation of the seasonal high water table.
This investigation and report shall be signed by 

a Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.  
f. An environmental assessment

An environmental assessment shall be 
performed to provide a detailed analysis of the potential 
impact of the proposed facility on the environment.  Factors 
to be considered include:

Air quality
Water quality

    Stream flow
     Fish and wildlife
     Plants
     Threatened or endangered species

Water uses
    Land use
     Aesthetics

Traffic
Public health and safety
Cultural, recreational, and natural areas

Historic sites
Social and economic factors.
If the applicant or the Department 

determines that the proposed facility may cause a threat to 
human health or the environment, the applicant must provide 
a written explanation of how he or she plans to mitigate the 
potential harm.

g. Topographical and site location maps, if 
deemed necessary by the Department.

This shall include a topographical map or 
series of maps on a scale satisfactory to the Department but 
in no case less than one inch equal to 400 feet, showing 
topographic elevations surveyed with reference to mean sea 
level, and any necessary narrative descriptions, including but 
not limited to the following:

1. The legal boundaries of the property as 
determined by a survey performed by a registered surveyor; 
the names of the present owners of the proposed site and of 
all adjacent lands; and a description of all title, deed, or 
usage restrictions affecting the proposed permit area.

2. The boundaries of the facility over the 
estimated total life of the proposed operation, including the 
boundaries of land that will be affected in each sequence of 
disposal activity.

3. The boundaries of land where solid waste 
will be stored at any time over the estimated total life of the 
proposed operation.

4. The locations and names of all water 
supply wells or surface water intakes within 1/4 mile of the 
disposal site boundaries.

5. Proof that all applicable zoning approvals 
and all appropriate federal, state, and local environmental 
permits have been obtained.

6. Closure plan that conforms with Section 
11.H., as appropriate.

7. Proof of financial responsibility for 
closure as described in Section 4.A.11,b and d.

8. Proof that the facility meets the siting 
criteria required by Section 11, Part 1,B.

9. Any other related reports, data, maps, or 
information that the Department requires.     

2. Construction and operation
The applicant shall not commence construction of a 

new infectious waste facility or operate an existing 
infectious waste facility until the applicant has received a 
permit from the Department in accordance with these 
regulations.

After the construction of a new infectious waste 
facility has been completed, and prior to the receipt of solid 
waste or materials for processing, the permittee shall submit 
a final report for the Department's approval.  The final report 
shall certify that the construction of the facility was 
completed in accordance with the engineering report. The 
permittee shall not commence operations or store or receive 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1452
solid waste or materials to be processed until the Department 
has provided its written notification that the construction and 
the final report meet the requirements of the permit and the 
Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste.

3. Closure 
Any person wishing to close an infectious waste 

facility must submit the following to the Department:
a. Notification of intent to close. 
b. A detailed plan for closing the facility so as to 

achieve the objectives described in Section 11 Part 1,J. 
c. If the Department approves the closure plan, it 

will modify the facility's permit to allow closure to take 
place.

G. APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR SOLID 
WASTE TRANSPORTERS

Any person required to obtain a permit to transport solid 
waste must submit a completed application to the 
Department. The application shall be on a form prescribed 
by the Department and shall be accompanied by all 
applicable supporting documentation and the appropriate 
application fees as required by these regulations. All 
information provided by the applicant shall be is certified to 
be true, accurate, and complete by the applicant’s signature 
on the provided application.

Prior to Public Notice of proposed changes to these 
Regulations which would affect holders of transporter 
permits, the Department shall attempt, by reasonable means, 
to individually notify transporter permit holders of such 
proposed changes and of the date of the upcoming Public 
Hearing.

SECTION 5:  SANITARY LANDFILLS

(NOTE:  This section applies only to landfills that accept 
household waste.)

A. SITING
1. Sanitary landfill facilities shall be located only in 

areas where the potential for degradation of the quality of air, 
land, and water is minimal.

2. All sanitary landfill facilities shall be constructed to 
at least minimum design requirements as contained in 
Section 5.B. More stringent designs will be required where 
deemed necessary by the Department for the protection of 
ground water resources.

3. The owner or operator of any proposed sanitary 
landfill within a 5mile radius of any airport runway must 
notify the airport and the Federal Aviation Administration 
(and provide proof of notification to the Department). 

4. No new cell of a sanitary landfill shall be located:
a. Within the 100-year flood plain as delineated 

by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.
b. In an area that may cause or contribute to the 

degradation of any state or federally regulated wetlands 
unless the owner or operator can demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the appropriate wetlands regulatory agency 
that:

(1) there is no impact to any regulated 
wetlands on the site, or

(2) any impact will be mitigated as required.
c. Within one mile of any state or federal wildlife 

refuge, wildlife area, or park, unless specifically exempted 
from this requirement by the Department.

d. Within 10,000 feet of any airport runway 
currently used by turbojet aircraft or 5,000 feet of any airport 
runway currently used by piston-type aircraft, unless a 
waiver is granted by the Federal Aviation Administration.  

e. So as to be in conflict with any locally adopted 
land use plan or zoning requirement.

f. Within the wellhead protection area of a public 
water supply well or well field or a formally designated 
aquifer resource protection area. 

g. Within 200 feet of a fault that has had 
displacement during Holocene time (unless it can be 
demonstrated that a lesser setback distance would prevent 
damage to the structural integrity of the landfill unit and be 
protective of human health and the environment.) 

h. Within a seismic impact zone unless it can be 
demonstrated that all containment structures, including 
liners, leachate collection systems and surface water control 
systems, are designed to resist the maximum horizontal 
acceleration in lithified earth material for the site.

For the purposes of this section:
(1) Seismic impact zone means an area with a 

ten percent or greater probability that the maximum 
horizontal acceleration in lithified earth material, expressed 
as a percentage of the earth's gravitational pull (g), will 
exceed 0.10g in 250 years.

(2) Maximum horizontal acceleration in 
lithified earth material means the maximum expected 
horizontal acceleration depicted on a seismic hazard map, 
with a 90 percent or greater probability that the acceleration 
will not be exceeded in 250 years, or the maximum expected 
horizontal acceleration based on a site-specific seismic risk 
assessment. 

(3) Lithified earth material means all rock, 
including all naturally occurring and naturally formed 
aggregates or masses of minerals or small particles of older 
rock that formed by crystallization of magma or by 
induration of loose sediments.  This term does not include 
man-made materials, such as fill, concrete and asphalt or 
unconsolidated earth materials, soil or regolith lying at or 
near the earth surface.

i. In unstable areas, unless engineering measures 
have been incorporated in the design to insure the integrity 
of the structural components of the waste facility (including 
liners, leachate collection systems, run-on/runoff control, 
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capping and anything affecting the containment and/or 
possible release of contaminants.) Unstable areas include 
those of (1) poor foundation conditions (possible 
subsidence), (2) susceptibility to mass movement or (3) 
Karst terrane.

j. In areas where valuable aquifers would be 
threatened by contaminant releases, unless viable 
alternatives have been dismissed and stringent design 
measures have been incorporated to minimize the possibility 
and magnitude of releases.

k. Within 200 feet of the facility property 
boundary unless otherwise approved by the Department.

B. DESIGN
1. General

Sanitary landfills shall be planned and designed by 
a Professional Engineer registered in Delaware.  Planning 
and design of these facilities shall be consistent with the 
declared purpose and intent and in accordance with the 
provisions of this regulation and based on empirically 
derived data and state of the art technology. 

2. Minimum design requirements
a. All sanitary landfills shall be designed to 

minimize contaminant releases and to prevent significant 
adverse impacts on human health or the environment and to 
achieve the following performance standards: 

(1) Ensure that the contaminant 
concentrations do not prevent appropriate use of the ground 
water in the uppermost aquifer at the relevant point of 
compliance (examples are water supply, potability, stream 
flow maintenance, etc., as appropriate).  

(a) The point of compliance shall be 
specified by the Department and shall be no more than 150 
meters from the landfill cell boundary and shall be located 
on property owned by the owner of the landfill.

(b) In determining the relevant point of 
compliance, the Department shall consider at least the 
following factors:

(i) The hydrogeologic characteristics 
of the landfill and surrounding land;
  (ii) The volume and physical and 
chemical characteristics of the leachate;

(iii) The quantity, quality, availability 
and direction of flow of ground water;
 (iv) The proximity and withdrawal 
rate of ground water users;

(v) The availability of alternate 
drinking water supplies;

(vi) The existing quality of ground 
water, including other sources of contamination and their 
cumulative impacts on ground water, and whether the 
ground water is currently used or reasonably expected to be 
used for drinking water;

(vii)Public health, safety and welfare 

effects; and
(viii) Practical capability of the 

landfill owner or operator.
(2) Ensure that surface water quality standards 

will not be violated (except within designated mixing zones) 
as a result of contaminant discharges from the landfill.   

All sanitary landfills shall be designed to 
have:

(1) A liner and internal leachate 
collection system which meet the requirements of Sections 
5.C. and 5.D. of these regulations respectively,

(2) A setback area, including a buffer 
zone with appropriate screening,

(3) A gas control system that meets 
the requirements of Section 5.E.,

(4) A surface water management 
system that meets the requirements of Section 5.F.,

(5) A ground water monitoring 
system that meets the requirements of Section 5.G., and

(6) A capping system that meets the 
requirements of Section 5.H.

C. LINER
1. General provisions

a. An impermeable liner shall be provided at 
every sanitary landfill to restrict the migration of leachate 
from the landfill and to prevent contamination of the 
underlying ground water.  

b. The Department reserves the right to set a more 
stringent liner requirement when it determines that a 
composite liner is not sufficient to protect human health and 
the environment.

c. The bottom of the liner (or the secondary liner, 
in a double liner system) shall be at least five (5) feet above 
the seasonal high water table as measured in the uppermost 
aquifer beneath the landfill.  This 5-foot requirement may be 
reduced for a more stringent liner system design which 
provides enhanced protection of ground water.

d. All liners shall be prepared, constructed, and 
installed in accordance with a quality assurance plan 
included in the engineering report [Section 4.B.1.a (4)] and 
approved by the Department.  For synthetic liners, the plan 
shall incorporate the manufacturer's recommendations.

e. Qualifications of the construction quality 
assurance staff (CQA) and the geosynthetics installer, 
including master seamers, on-site supervisor, and 
construction quality control (CQC) personnel, shall meet the 
requirements of the approved Quality Assurance plan and be 
submitted to the Department for review prior to their 
performing these duties on site.

f. All conformance and destructive samples taken 
as part of the construction quality assurance plan shall be 
tested at an independent laboratory which is accredited by 
the Geosynthetics Institute’s Laboratory Accreditation 
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Program (by applicable test method) or other accreditation 
program acceptable to the Department.

2. Liner characteristics
a. Composite liner

A composite liner must have, as a minimum:   
(1)  A primary (upper) liner which meets the 

following:  
(a) Is at least 45 mils thick.
(b) Is constructed of materials that have 

appropriate chemical properties and sufficient strength and 
thickness to prevent failure due to physical contact with the 
leachate to which it is exposed, climatic conditions, the 
stresses of installation, and the stresses of daily operation.

(c) Is made of synthetic material that 
meets minimum requirements of the National Sanitation 
Foundation's publication, "Standard Number 54-1993, 
Flexible Membrane Liners" for membrane materials covered 
by this standard, or of other materials of equal or better 
performance as approved by the Department.

(d) Is chemically resistant to the waste 
and leachate managed at the facility. The EPA Test Method 
9090 shall be performed using a solid waste leachate (a 
synthetic leachate mix approved by the Department may be 
substituted if existing leachate is not available).  The 
specified physical parameters shall be tested before and after 
liner exposure. Any significant change in test properties 
shall be considered to be indicative of incompatibility.

(e) Is compounded from first quality 
virgin materials. No reground or reprocessed materials 
containing encapsulated scrim shall be used in the 
manufacturing of the liner.

(f) Is free of pinholes, blisters, holes, and 
contaminants, which include, but are not limited to, wood, 
paper, metal and nondispersed ingredients.

(2) A secondary (lower) liner composed of:
Compacted clay at least two feet thick 

with a hydraulic conductivity no greater than 1 x 10-7 cm/
sec, or

An equivalent material or 
combination of materials acceptable to the Department.

b. Natural liner 
Use of natural material for liners is restricted to 

those areas where: 
(a) Underlying ground water is not used 

and is not reasonably expected to be used for water supplies, 
and 

(b) The landfill subbase is subject to 
compaction and settlement such that a synthetic membrane 
would not be feasible.   

(2) A natural liner must meet the following 
requirements as a minimum:

(a) It shall consist of compacted clay or 
equivalent material having a hydraulic conductivity no 

greater than 1 x 10-7 cm/sec.  
(b) The material shall be at least five (5) 

feet thick, and thicker if necessary to prevent any leachate 
from migrating through the liner at any time during the 
active life and through the postclosure care period of the 
facility.  

(c) The material proposed for use shall be 
tested by ASTM or equivalent methods for the following:

Grain size
 Classification

Compaction       
Specific gravity
Hydraulic conductivity
Porosity
pH
Cation exchange capacity
Pinhole test (if required)
Mineralogy (if required)
All data shall be submitted to the 

Department prior to construction.
(d) Testing of the saturated hydraulic 

conductivity and the effect of leachate on soil hydraulic 
conductivity shall be performed in accordance with test 
methods described in “Test Methods for Evaluating Solid 
Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods”, EPA Publication SW-
846 [Third Edition (November 1986), as amended by 
Updates I (dated July 1992), II (dated September 1994), IIA 
(dated August 1993), IIB (dated January 1995), III (dated 
December 1996), and IIIA (dated April 1998)], or other tests
approved in writing by the Department.

(e) If onsite soils are to be used as a 
natural liner, the uppermost five (5) feet of soil shall be 
excavated and recompacted to ensure homogeneity of the 
liner, provided, however, that with respect to dredge spoil 
soils, the excavation and recompaction requirement shall not 
apply if the applicant can demonstrate that the dredge spoil 
soils have acceptable characteristics as indicated above.

c. Double liner system
(1) A double liner system shall meet the 

following requirements:
(a) It shall consist of two single liners 

separated by a drainage layer containing a leak detection 
system.

(b) The primary (upper) liner shall be a 
synthetic liner which is at least 30 mils thick and which 
meets the requirements of Section 5.C.2.a(1)(b)-(f). 

(c) The secondary (lower) liner may be 
either synthetic or natural.  If synthetic, it must be at least 30 
mils thick and must meet the requirements of Section 
5.C.2.a(1)(b)(f). If natural, it must meet the requirements of 
Section 5.C.2.b.

(d) The drainage layer separating the two 
liners shall consist of at least 12 inches of soil having a 
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hydraulic conductivity greater than 1 x 10-2 cm/sec based on 
laboratory and field testing.

Alternate material may be used for the 
drainage layer with prior written approval of the 
Department. 

(e) The leak detection system shall be 
capable of detecting and intercepting liquid within the 
drainage layer and conveying the liquid to a collection sump 
or monitoring point where the quantity of flow can be 
measured and the liquid can be sampled.  The operator or 
designer shall calculate the Action Leakage Rate. The 
proposed Action Leakage Rate and a response plan if the 
Action Leakage Rate is exceeded shall be submitted to the 
Department as part of the application package.  The system 
shall be designed to operate without clogging through the 
postclosure care period of the facility.

(f) The upper synthetic liner membrane 
shall be underlain by either a geosynthetic clay or 2 feet of 
natural material with a permeability no greater than 10-7 cm/
sec. 

Alternate liner designs may be used with 
prior written approval of the Department.

(2) A double liner system will be required 
where landfills are underlain by aquifers which are 
reasonably expected sources of water supply and/or capable 
of significant contaminant transport to adjacent surface 
waters. 

3. Liner construction 
a. Construction/installation of composite liner

(1) At least 15 working days prior to 
installation of the liner, the owner or operator shall notify the 
Department of the installation date.

(2) The liner shall be installed upon a subbase 
which meets the following requirements:

(a) It shall be capable of supporting the 
loads and withstanding the stresses that will be imposed on it 
through the active life and postclosure care period of the 
facility and of resisting the pressure gradient above and 
below the liner caused by settlement, compression, or uplift.

(b) It shall have a smooth surface that is 
free of all rocks, stones, roots, sharp objects, or debris of any 
kind.
  (c) It shall be certified in writing by the 
liner installer as an acceptable subbase for the liner. Written 
certification of acceptability shall be submitted to the 
Department prior to installation of the liner. However, 
submittal of written acceptance may proceed incrementally 
according to installation schedule.   

(3) The minimum post-loading slopes of the 
liner shall either be:  

(a) two (2) percent on controlling slopes 
and one-half (0.5) percent on remaining slopes, OR

the controlling and remaining slopes shall 

be designed to prevent the head on the liner, excluding sump 
areas, from exceeding a depth of twelve (12) inches 
including post settlement conditions.

(4) The landfill shall be designed to minimize 
penetrations through the liner.  If a penetration is essential, a 
liquid-tight seal must be accomplished between the 
penetrating structure and the synthetic membrane. 
Compaction of areas adjacent to the penetrating structure 
shall be to the same density as the surrounding soil to 
minimize differential settlement.  Sharp edges on the 
penetrating structure must not come in contact with the 
synthetic material.
 (5) Bridging or stressed conditions in the liner 
shall be avoided with proper slack allowances for shrinkage 
of the liner during installation and before the placement of a 
protective soil layer.

(6) Synthetic liners shall have factory and 
field seams that equal or exceed the strength requirements 
defined by the National Sanitation Foundation's "Standard 
Number 54-1993" for that liner material. All seams must be 
visually inspected and tested along their entire length for 
seam continuity using suitable nondestructive techniques. 
Seams shall also be tested for strength, at a frequency 
specified in the quality assurance plan. In addition, field 
seams shall meet the following requirements:

(a) Field seaming shall provide a dry 
sealing surface.

(b) Seaming shall not be done when wind 
conditions prevail.

(c) Seams shall be made and bonded in 
accordance with the supplier's recommended procedures.  

(7) Proper equipment shall be used in placing 
drainage material over the synthetic liner to avoid stress.

(8) The synthetic membrane shall be protected 
from the waste by at least two (2) feet of drainage material 
incorporating the leachate collection system.

(9) The synthetic membrane must be underlain 
by a secondary liner as described in Section 5.C.2.a(2).

b. Construction of natural liner
(1) All lenses, cracks, channels, root holes, or 

other structural non-uniformities that can increase the 
saturated hydraulic conductivity above 1 x 10-7 cm/sec shall 
be removed.

(2) Natural liners shall be constructed in lifts 
not exceeding six (6) inches after compaction to maximize 
the effectiveness of the compaction throughout the lift 
thickness.  Each lift shall be properly interfaced by 
scarification between lifts to ensure the bonding. 

(3) Clods shall be broken up and the material 
shall be homogenized before compaction of each lift using 
mixing devices such as pug mills or rotary tillers.  
 (4) The maximum slope of the sidewalls shall 
not be so great as to preclude effective compaction.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1456
c. Construction/installation of double liner
(1) The secondary liner shall be constructed in 

accordance with Section 5.C.3.b (if it is a natural liner) or 
Section 5.C.3.a.(1)(7) (if it is synthetic).

(2) The primary liner shall be constructed in 
accordance with Section 5.C.3.a.(1) and (3)(8).

D. LEACHATE COLLECTION, TREATMENT, 
DISPOSAL, AND MONITORING

1. General provisions
a. All sanitary landfills shall be designed and 

constructed to include a leachate collection system, a 
leachate treatment and disposal system, and a leachate 
monitoring system.

b. The leachate systems shall be constructed, 
installed, and maintained in accordance with a 
Departmentapproved quality assurance plan.

c. The owner or operator shall keep and maintain 
documentation for the quality assurance procedures through 
the postclosure care period of the facility.

2. Leachate collection
a. Minimum design specifications

(1) The leachate collection system shall be 
designed to operate without clogging through the postclosure 
care period of the facility.

(2) All elements of the system (pipes, sumps, 
pumps, etc.) shall be sized according to water balance 
calculations and shall be capable of handling peak flows.

(3) Collection pipes shall be sized and spaced 
to efficiently remove leachate from the bottom of the waste 
and the side walls of the cell.  The capacity of the mains shall 
be at least equal to the sum of the capacities of the laterals.

(4) The pipes shall be designed to withstand 
the weight, stresses, and disturbances from the overlying 
wastes, waste cover materials, equipment operation, and 
vehicular traffic.

(5) The collection pipes shall be designed to 
drain by gravity to a sump system.  Sumps must function 
automatically and shall contain a conveyance system for the 
removal of leachate. 
 (6) Manholes or cleanout risers shall be 
located along the perimeter of the leachate collection system. 
The number and spacing of the manholes shall be sufficient 
to insure proper maintenance of the system by water jet 
flushing or an equivalent method.

(7) Innovative leachate collection systems 
incorporating alternative designs may be used, after approval 
by the Department, if they are shown to be equivalent to or 
more effective than the specified design.

(8) The leachate collection system must be 
designed to prevent the leachate head on the liner from 
exceeding a depth of 12 inches.

b. Construction standards
(1) The leachate collection system shall be 

installed immediately above an impermeable liner and at the 
bottom of a drainage layer.  The drainage layer shall be at 
least 12 inches thick with a hydraulic conductivity not less 
than 1 x 10-2 cm/sec and a minimum controlling slope of two 
(2) percent.

(2) Alternate materials may be used for the 
drainage layer with prior written approval of the 
Department.

The following tests shall be performed on 
the soil proposed for use in the drainage layer, and all data 
shall be submitted to the Department prior to construction of 
the drainage layer. These tests shall be performed in 
accordance with current ASTM, AASHTO, or equivalent 
methods:

Classification
Porosity
Relative density or compaction
Specific gravity
Hydraulic conductivity

(3) The leachate collection system and 
manholes or cleanout risers shall be constructed of materials 
that can withstand the chemical attack that results from 
leachates.

c. Operational procedures 
(1) The leachate collection system shall 

operate automatically, whenever leachate is present in the 
sump, to remove accumulated leachate. 

(2) Inspections shall be conducted weekly to 
verify proper functioning of the leachate collection system 
and to detect the presence of leachate in the removal sump.  

The owner or operator shall keep records 
on the system to provide sufficient information that the 
leachate collection system is functional and operating 
properly.  The amount of leachate collected from each cell 
shall be recorded on a weekly basis.
 (3) Collection lines shall be cleaned according 
to a Departmentapproved scheduled maintenance program 
and more frequently if required.

3. Leachate treatment and disposal
The permittee must maintain all necessary permits 

and approvals for leachate storage and discharge activities.
a. The leachate treatment and disposal system 

shall be designed in accordance with one of the following 
options:

(1) Complete treatment onsite with or without 
direct discharge to surface water,

(2) Pretreatment onsite with discharge to an 
offsite treatment works for final treatment,

(3) Storage onsite with discharge to an offsite 
treatment works for complete treatment,

(4) Direct discharge to an offsite treatment 
works, or

(5) Pretreatment on site with discharge on site.
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b. Leachate storage prior to treatment shall be 
within tanks constructed and installed in accordance with the 
following standards:

(1) The tank shall be placed above ground.
(2) The storage tank shall be designed in 

accordance with American Petroleum Institute (API), 
Underwriters Laboratory (UL), or an equivalent standard 
appropriate to the material being used, and shall be 
constructed of or lined with material which has a 
demonstrated chemical resistance to the leachate.

(3) The storage tank area shall have a liner 
capable of preventing any leachate which may escape from 
the tank from coming into contact with the underlying soil.

(4) The storage tank area shall be surrounded 
by a berm, and the bermed area shall have a capacity at least 
ten percent greater than the capacity of the tank.
 (5) All storage tanks shall be equipped with a 
venting system.

(6) All storage tanks shall be equipped with a 
high liquid level alarm or warning device.  The alarm system 
shall be wired to the location where assistance will be 
available to respond to the emergency.
   c. Onsite complete treatment or pretreatment 
facilities shall be designed and constructed in accordance 
with the following:

(1) The onsite treatment unit shall be designed 
based on the results of a treatability study, the results of the 
operations of a pilot plant, or written information 
documenting the performance of an equivalent leachate 
treatment system.

(2) Onsite treatment units shall be designed 
and constructed by staging of the units to allow for online 
modification of the treatment system to account for 
variability of the leachate quality and quantity.

d. For all leachate discharges planned for publicly 
owned treatment works (POTW), the owner or operator of 
the landfill shall notify the receiving POTW of intent to 
discharge leachate into the collection system and shall 
provide the POTW with analysis of the leachate as required 
by the POTW. 

e. All leachate treatment and disposal systems 
shall be designed and constructed to control odors.

f. Residuals from the onsite treatment and 
disposal systems shall be sampled and analyzed for 
hazardous waste characteristics in accordance with the 
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

g. Recirculation of leachate may be allowed, 
subject to approval by the Department, to accelerate 
decomposition of the waste.  At new facilities and 
expansions of existing facilities, recirculation will be 
allowed only in areas constructed with a composite liner 
system or a double liner system.  The method of 
recirculation at all facilities must be approved by the 
Department in advance and annually so long as the 

recirculation continues. Records of leachate collected and 
recirculated must be kept and reported and any resultant 
problems reported to the Department and remedied as soon 
as practicable and included in the annual report.

4. Leachate monitoring
a. The leachate monitoring system shall be 

capable of measuring the quantity of the flow and sampling 
the leachate from each landfill cell.  The volume of leachate 
collected from each cell shall be determined at least monthly 
and reported quarterly.

b. Leachate monitoring shall be performed 
according to a Departmentapproved plan which includes 
quality control and quality assurance procedures.

c. In addition to the requirement in Section 
5.D.4.b above, samples of leachate shall be collected and 
analyzed from each waste cell as follows: 

(1) monthly, during the active life of a cell, and 
at an interval specified by the Department after closure of the 
cell, for the following parameters:

pH
Alkalinity (Alk)
Chemical Oxygen Demand (COD)
Biochemical Oxygen Demand (BOD)
Total Organic Carbon (TOC)
Specific Conductance (SpC)
Total Dissolved Solids (TDS)
Total Iron (Fe)
Total Manganese (Mn)
Chloride (C1)
Nitrate (NO3-N), Nitrate (NO2-N), and 

Ammonia (NH3-N)
Sulfate (SO4), and

(2) at an interval specified by the Department 
for additional parameters specified by the Department.

d. Leachate monitoring results shall be submitted 
to the Department as part of the annual monitoring report or 
more frequently as directed by the Department.

e. For a double liner system, if the Action 
Leakage Rate of the leak detection system is exceeded, the 
owner or operator of the landfill shall notify the Department 
within five (5) working days. The owner or operator shall 
also sample and analyze the liquid in the leak detection 
system for the same parameters listed in Section 5.D.4.c.(1) 
and any additional parameters as required by the 
Department.

E. GAS CONTROL
1. General provisions

a. Gas control system shall be installed at all 
sanitary landfills.

b. The gas control system shall be designed and 
constructed to:

(1) Evacuate gas from within the waste to 
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prevent the accumulation of gas on-site or off-site.
(2) Prevent and control damage to vegetation.
(3) Prevent odors from the facility being 

detectable at the facility property line in sufficient quantities 
to cause or create a condition of air pollution.

c. The concentration of landfill gas in facility 
structures (except gas recovery system components) and at 
the facility boundary shall not exceed 25% of the Lower 
Explosive Limit (LEL).

2. Design and construction standards
a. The owner or operator of a sanitary landfill 

shall consider both active and passive gas control systems 
and shall provide an evaluation of the proposed system for 
Department approval.

b. The owner or operator shall perform an 
analysis to establish the required spacing of gas control vents 
to provide an effective system.

c. The gas control system shall be designed to 
evacuate gas from all levels within the waste.

d. The system shall not interfere with or cause 
failure of the liner or leachate systems.

3. Monitoring
a. A sufficient number of gas monitoring wells 

shall be installed to evaluate gas production rates in the 
landfill.  

b. The owner or operator shall sample the gas 
monitoring wells at least quarterly and provide analytical 
results [as required by conditions specified in the facility 
permit] as part of the annual report.

c. At sanitary landfills utilizing natural liners, gas 
monitoring probes must be installed in the soil outside the 
lined area to evaluate any lateral migration of landfill gas.

d. Emissions from active and passive gas control 
systems may require a permit from the Air Resources 
Section of the Division of Air and Waste Management.

4. Response Actions
a. If methane gas levels exceeding the limits 

specified in Section 5.E.1.c are detected, the owner or 
operator must:

(1) Immediately take all necessary steps to 
ensure protection of human health and notify the 
Department.

(2) Within seven days of detection, place in 
the operating record the methane gas levels detected and a 
description of the steps taken to protect human health.

(3) Within 60 days of detection, implement a 
remediation plan for the methane gas releases, place a copy 
of the plan in the operating record, and notify the 
Department that the plan has been implemented.  The plan 
shall describe the nature and extent of the problem and the 
proposed remedy.

b. For purposes of this section, lower explosive 
limit means the lowest percent by volume of a mixture of 
explosive gases in air that will propagate a flame at 25 

degrees C and atmospheric pressure. 

F. SURFACE WATER MANAGEMENT
1. General provision

An owner or operator of a sanitary landfill shall 
design, construct, and maintain a surface water management 
system to:

a. Prevent erosion of the waste and cover,
  b. Prevent the collection of standing water, and

c. Minimize surface water runoff onto and into 
the waste.

2. Design requirements
An owner or operator of a sanitary landfill shall 

include:
a. A run-on control system to prevent flow onto 

the active portion of the landfill during the peak discharge 
from a 24hour, 25year storm. 

b. A runoff control system from the active portion 
of the landfill to collect and control at least the water volume 
resulting from a 24hour, 25year storm. The system shall be 
designed to include: 

(1) Detention basins to provide temporary 
storage of the expected runoff from the design storm with 
sufficient reserve capacity to contain accumulated 
precipitation and sediment prior to discharge.    

(2) Diversion structures designed to prevent 
runoff generated within the active areas from moving off site 
of the lined areas.  

3. Channeling of runoff
a. Runoff from the active areas within the active 

cell(s) must be channeled to the leachate treatment and 
disposal system.

Runoff from the unused portion of the active 
cell(s) that has not been in contact with waste shall be 
channeled to the detention basins or other approved 
sedimentation control devices.

Until vegetative cover has been established, 
runoff from closed cells will be directed to the detention 
basins or other approved sedimentation control devices. 

4. Discharge
Discharge from the detention basins shall be in 

compliance with all applicable federal and state regulations.  

G. GROUND WATER MONITORING AND 
CORRECTIVE ACTION

1. General provision
Owners or operators of all sanitary landfill facilities 

shall install maintain and operate a ground water monitoring 
program to evaluate facility impact upon ground water 
quality. 

2. Design and construction of monitoring system 
a. The ground water monitoring system shall be 

designed by, constructed under the direction of, and attested 
to by, a Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.
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b. The system shall consist of a sufficient number 
of wells, installed at appropriate locations and depths, to 
define the ground water flow system and shall be developed 
in accordance with Departmental requirements to yield 
ground water samples that are representative of the aquifer 
water quality, both unaffected by (background) and 
potentially impacted by downgradient contaminant leakage 
from the facility. The downgradient monitor wells (which 
are points of compliance for ground water performance 
standards) must be no further than 150 meters from the edge 
of the sanitary landfill cell, and on the waste facility 
property. 

c. The number, spacing, location, depth, and 
screened interval of the monitoring wells shall be approved 
by the Department prior to installation.
 d. All monitoring wells shall be constructed in 
accordance with the Regulations Governing the Construction 
of Water Wells and any subsequently approved guidelines. 
Variation from the existing guidelines must be approved by 
the Department in writing prior to construction. 

e. Monitoring of surface water, into which ground 
water flowing from beneath the landfill discharges, may also 
be required as part of the ground water monitoring program. 
Parameter analysis may include all those required for the 
ground water sampling plus any additional parameters or 
tests the Department deems necessary. 

3. Ground water sampling and analyses
a. The owner or operator shall submit a ground 

water sampling plan to the Department at the time of permit 
application.  The sampling plan must include procedures and 
techniques for:

(1) Sample collection, preservation, and 
transport
 (a) Samples will be collected at low flow 
rates (<1 l/min) to minimize turbidity of the samples.
 (b) Samples will be field filtered only 
when turbidity exceeds 10 NTU. Repeated sampling of any 
well where turbidity exceeds 10 NTU is not permitted 
without Department approval.  Approval will only be 
granted in cases where turbidity cannot be controlled by 
careful well construction, development and sampling.

(2) Analytical procedures and quality 
assurance, and

(3) Chain of custody control 
b. Sample parameters

(1) Water levels will be measured prior to 
sample collection

(2) Ground water samples will be analyzed for 
the following list of parameters:

pH
Alkalinity (Alk)
Chemical Oxygen Demand (COD)
Total Organic Carbon (TOC)
Specific Conductance (SpC)

Total Dissolved Solids (TDS)
Iron (Fe)
Manganese (Mn)
Chloride (C1)
Nitrate (NO3-N)  and Ammonia (NH3-N) 
Sulfate (SO4)
Dissolved Oxygen (DO)
OxidationReduction Potential (ORP) or 

Eh
The parameters listed in Table I when 

requested by the Department.
Any additional parameters specified by the 

Department. 
The Department may delete the requirement 

for any constituents where appropriate.  Such deletions will 
be based on:

(a) The results of leachate monitoring 
(constituent is not a significant constituent of the leachate),

Local geochemical considerations 
(immobility in subsurface), and

Other relevant factors.
(3) Test methods used to determine the parameters of 
Section 5.G.3.b.(2) shall be those described in "Test Methods 
for Evaluating Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods", 
EPA Publication SW-846 [Third Edition (November 1986), 
as amended by Updates I (dated July 1992), II (dated 
September 1994), IIA (dated August 1993), IIB (dated 
January 1995), III (dated December 1996), and IIIA (dated 
April 1998)], or other tests approved in writing by the 
Department.

c. Monitoring frequency will be at least 
semiannual.  An alternate frequency may be specified by the 
Department based on consideration of the following 
conditions:

(1) Lithology of the aquifer and unsaturated 
zone,

(2) Hydraulic conductivity of the aquifer and 
unsaturated zone,

(3) Ground water flow rates,
(4) Distance and travel time between the 

waste unit(s) and the downgradient monitor wells and 
possible points of exposure to any landfillderived 
contaminants in wells or receiving surface waters, and 

(5) Resource value of the aquifer.
d. The Department may observe the ground water 
sampling conducted by the permittee or his/her designee and 
may request split samples for analysis.

4.  Data evaluation
a. The owner or operator must establish the 

background quality for each sampling parameter or 
constituent.  The background quality is that which would be 
expected with no impact by contaminant releases from the 
waste cells.
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Table 1

b. The owner or operator must specify in the 
operating record the methods to be used for statistical 
evaluation of the monitoring data.  These may include:

(1) A tolerance or prediction interval 
procedure in which a range for each constituent is 
established from the distribution of the background data and 
the level of each constituent in each compliance 
(downgradient) monitor well is compared to the upper 
tolerance or prediction limit, 

(2) A control chart approach that plots 
concentrations of each constituent versus the background 
range, or

(3) Any other statistical method chosen to 
meet the following requirements and approved by the 
Department:

(a) Appropriate in distribution and 
number of available data to meet the requirements of the 
statistical test chosen;

(b) Capable of limiting individual 
constituent comparisons to Type I error levels less than 0.01 
or multiple constituent comparisons to Type I error levels 
less than 0.05, for each testing period.  (This requirement 
does not apply to tolerance intervals, prediction intervals, or 
control charts.)

(c.) If necessary, the statistical analysis 
method shall include procedures to control or correct for 
seasonal and spatial variability as well as temporal 
correlation in the data.

(d.) The owner or operator must determine 
whether or not there is a statistically significant increase over 
background values for each parameter or constituent 
required in the monitoring program by comparisons using 
the chosen method of evaluation.  This evaluation must be 
performed within a reasonable period of sampling and 
analysis  normally within 30 days of obtaining sampling 
results.

(e.) If any statistically significant increase 
occurs, the permittee must:

(1) notify the Department and place 
the result in the operating record within 14 days, and 

(2) assess the probable accuracy and 
possible risk associated with the finding in the annual report.  

(f.) Performance standards will be 
established at each site which are intended to provide 
adequate protection for human health and the environment. 
The performance standards may be proposed by the 
permittee, but must be approved by the Department, and 
shall be incorporated in the facility permit.  In general, 

Antimony trans-1,4-Dichloro-2-butene  
Arsenic 1,1-Dichloroethane; Ethylidene 

chloride 
Barium 1,2-Dichloroethane; Ethylene 

dichloride 
Beryllium 1,1-Dichloroethylene; 1,1-

Dichloroethene 
Cadmium cis-1,2-Dichloroethylene; cis-

1,2-Dichloroethene
Chromium trans-1,2-Dichloroethylene  
Cobalt 1,2-Dichloropropane  
Copper cis-1,3-Dichloropropene  
Lead trans-1,3-Dichloropropene  
Nickel Ethylbenzene  
Selenium 2-Hexanone; Methyl butyl 

ketone  
Silver Methyl bromide; 

Bromomethane   
Thallium Methyl chloride; 

Chloromethane  
Vanadium Methylene bromide; 

Dibromomethane 
Zinc Methylene chloride; 

Dichloromethane 
Acetone Methyl ethyl ketone; MEK  
Acrylonitrile Methyl iodide; Iodomethane  
Benzene 4-Methyl-2-pentanone; Methyl 

isobutyl ketone
Bromochloromethane Styrene  
Bromodichloromethane 1,1,1,2-Tetrachloroethane  
Bromoform; 
Tribromomethane 

1,1,2,2-Tetrachloroethane  

Carbon disulfide Tetrachloroethylene; 
Tetrachloroethene 

Carbon tetrachloride Toluene  
Chlorobenzene 1,1,1-Trichloroethane; 

Methylchloroform 
Chloroethane; Ethyl 
chloride 

1,1,2-Trichloroethane  

Chloroform; 
Trichloromethane 

Trichloroethylene  

Dibromochloromethane;C
hlorodibromomethane 

Trichlorofluoromethane; CFC-
11  

1,2-Dibromo-3-
chloropropane; DBCP 

1,2,3-Trichloropropane  

1,2-Dibromoethane; 
Ethylene dibromide; EDB

Vinyl acetate  

o-Dichlorobenzenze; 1,2-
Dichlorobenzene 

Vinyl chloride  

p-Dichlorobenzenze; 1,4-
Dichlorobenzene 

Xylenes  
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performance standards will be the maximum contaminant 
levels (MCLs) for public drinking water. However, the 
Department may specify performance levels which are more 
stringent to protect adjacent surface water (and prevent 
violation of surface water quality standards) or less stringent 
(where ground water at the site will not threaten existing or 
reasonably expected sources of drinking water or cause 
violation of surface water quality standards) as appropriate. 

(g.) The points of compliance at which 
performance standards must be met must be no more than 
150 meters from the edge of the furthest downgradient waste 
cell and must be on the waste management facility property.  

 (h.) If any release of contaminants from 
the landfill to the groundwater is detected, either by 
exceedance of background concentrations or violation of a 
performance standard in the downgradient wells (points of 
compliance), the owner or operator must:

(1) Notify the Department and place 
the result in the operating record within 14 days,

(2) Resample to confirm the result 
and/or demonstrate that the result was an error or that the 
increase was due to a source other than the permitted waste 
facility within 90 days,

(3) Notify the Department of the 
result of confirmation within 14 days of availability of the 
result, and

(4) If a release is confirmed, perform 
an assessment of corrective measure as described in Section 
5.G.6.

5. Reporting
a. The owner or operator will compile and 

evaluate all ground water data within a reasonable period of 
time following sampling and analysis. A tabulation of water 
elevations and quality will be submitted to the Department 
within 60 days of each sampling event. Reports of any 
statistically significant increases in downgradient wells or 
violation of performance standards in wells or streams must 
be reported to the Department within 14 days as noted 
above.  

b. An annual monitoring report must be submitted 
by the permittee to the Department which includes the 
following:  

(1) Maps showing the locations of sampling 
points, water elevations, and ground water flow directions 
and approximate rates for each sampling period; 

(2) Tabulation of all ground water levels and 
elevations, leachate volumes collected and treated and 
leachate and water quality data;

(3) Presentation of statistical results and 
graphs depicting water quality parameter concentrations 
with time;

(4) Identification of any statistically 
significant increases in compliance wells and/or exceedances 
of performance standards;  

(5) Confirmation results and conclusions 
related to the accuracy of these results and/or reasonable 
explanation for the results;

(6) Recommendations for any changes in the 
monitoring program including changes in the number, 
location of sampling points, sampling frequency, parameters 
or procedures;

(7) An evaluation of the significance of the 
results including whether they indicate a contaminant release 
has occurred and any recommendations for corrective 
measures, if appropriate.

c. In addition to paper copies of reports, the 
Department may require all or part of any required report to 
be submitted on machine-readable media in a format 
mutually acceptable to the Department and the permittee. 
With the approval of the Department, reports submitted on 
machine-readable media may be substituted for paper 
reports.

6. Assessment of Corrective Measures
a. An assessment (reassessment) of corrective 

measures by the owner or operator is required (within 90 
days) of confirmation of a contaminant release or an 
exceedance of a performance standard. The owner or 
operator must perform this assessment which must include:  

(1) Identification of the nature and extent of 
the release (which may require construction and sampling of 
additional wells, analysis for additional constituents 
including those required for leachate, geophysical surveys 
and/or other measures);  

(2) Reassessment of contaminant fate and 
potential contaminant receptors (wells and/or receiving 
streams);  

(3) Evaluation of feasible corrective measures 
to:

(a) Prevent exposure to potentially 
harmful levels of contaminants  (exceeding performance 
standards);

(b) Reduce, minimize or prevent further 
contaminant releases;

(c) Reduce, minimize or prevent the 
offsite migration of contaminants. 

(4) The implementability (and time to 
implement) and costs of the feasible alternatives;

(5) Recommendations for remedial action.
  b. The owner or operator must present the results 

of the corrective measures assessment, including a proposed 
remedy, (with a schedule for initiation and completion) for 
public comment at a public meeting. 

7. Selection of Remedy
a. Based on the results of the corrective measures 

assessment and public meeting, the owner/operator will 
select a remedial action.

b. Remedies must:
(1) Be protective of human health and the 
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environment; 
(2) Control source(s) of contaminant releases 

so as to reduce or eliminate (to the maximum extent 
practicable), further releases of contaminants that pose a 
threat to human health or the environment;

(3) Comply with the site performance 
standards at the points of compliance (to the extent feasible); 
and

(4) Comply with standards for the 
management of wastes. 

c. The Department may determine that 
remediation of a contaminant release is not necessary if the 
permittee can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 
Department (or the Department certifies that it is satisfied) 
that the ground water is not currently or reasonably expected 
to be a source of drinking water, will not migrate so as to 
threaten a source of drinking water or will not cause 
violation of surface water quality standards, (i.e., does not 
represent a significant threat to human health or the 
environment).
 8. Implementation of Corrective Action

a. Based on the schedule established under 
Section 5.G.6.b. for initiation of remedial activities, the 
owner or operator must: 

(1) Implement the corrective action remedy;
(2) Take any interim measures necessary to 

ensure protection of human health and the environment 
(such as replacement of contaminated or imminently 
threatened water supplies); and

(3) Perform ground water and/or surface 
water monitoring to demonstrate the effectiveness of the 
remedy including whether or not compliance is achieved 
with the performance standards. 

b. If the owner or operator determines, based on 
information obtained after implementation of the remedy has 
begun or other information that compliance with remediation 
objectives (including achievement of performance 
standards) cannot be practically achieved with the remedy 
selected, the owner or operator must notify the Department 
and request authorization to proceed with another feasible 
method consistent with the overall objective of the remedy.

c. If the permittee determines that compliance 
with remedial action objectives (Section 5.G.7) cannot be 
practically achieved, the permittee must notify the 
Department and implement alternate methods to control 
exposure of humans or the environment to residual 
contamination and implement alternative control measures.

d. Remedies selected shall be considered 
complete when:

(1) All actions required to implement the 
remedy have been achieved; and 

(2) The ground water protection standards or 
alternate requirements agreed upon have been achieved for a 
period of three years or alternate period approved by the 

Department.
e. Upon completion of the remedy, the owner or 

operator must notify the Department that a certification of 
the remedy has been completed in compliance with the 
requirement and placed in the operating records. This 
certification must be signed by a Professional Geologist 
registered in Delaware. 

f. Upon completion of the remedy, the owner or 
operator will continue ground water monitoring as required 
by provisions of Section 5.G.3 and approved by the 
Department. 

H. CAPPING SYSTEM 
1. Requirement for a capping system

a. Upon closure of the landfill or landfill cell the 
permittee shall install a capping system that will control the 
emission of gas, promote the establishment of vegetative 
cover, and minimize infiltration and percolation of water 
into, and prevent erosion of, the waste throughout the 
postclosure care period.

b. The capping system shall be in place 180 days 
following final waste disposal activity unless the Department 
approves a longer period of time. 

c. The capping system shall extend beyond the 
edge of the lined area.

d. The proposed design of the capping system 
must be approved by the Department prior to installation.

2. Composition of the capping system
 The capping system shall consist of at least the 
following components:

a. A final grading layer on the waste, consisting 
of at least twelve inches of soil, to attain the final slope and 
provide a stable base for subsequent system components. 
Daily and intermediate cover may be used for this purpose.

b. A low permeability layer to minimize 
infiltration, that has a permeability less than or equal to the 
permeability of any bottom liner system or natural subsoils 
present.  This infiltration control layer must consist of at 
least the following:  
 (1) A 30 mil synthetic geomembrane 
underlain by a geotextile, or

(2) 24 inches of fine textured soil with a 
hydraulic conductivity no greater than 1 x 10-7 cm/sec.

If the landfill has a synthetic liner system, it 
must have a synthetic infiltration control layer. Alternative 
materials that achieve an equivalent performance may be 
used for the infiltration control layer with prior written 
approval of the Department.

c. A final cover to provide plant rooting and 
prevent erosion consisting of:

(1) Eighteen (18) inches of soil to provide 
rooting depth and moisture for plant growth; and

(2) Six (6) inches of topsoil or other material 
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approved by the Department to support the proposed 
vegetation; or

(3) A suitable layer of alternative material or 
combination thereof to assure adequate rooting and moisture 
retention to support the proposed vegetation.

The permittee shall propose a suitable 
vegetation dependent upon the quality and characteristics of 
the topsoil and compatible with the intended final use of the 
facility. Maintenance schedules and application rates for 
fertilizer and mulch shall also be submitted for approval.

3. Final slopes
a. The grades of the final slope shall be 

constructed in accordance with the following minimum 
standards:  

(1) The final grade of the top slope, after 
allowing for settlement and subsidence, shall be designed to 
promote runoff;

(2) The final grades of the side slopes shall be, 
at a maximum, three horizontal to one vertical (3:1).

b. The top and side slopes shall be maintained to 
prevent erosion of the capping system and to insure complete 
vegetation cover. 

I. LANDFILL OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE 
STANDARDS

1. General
a. Sanitary landfills shall be operated so as to 

create an aesthetically desirable environment and to prevent 
degradation of land, air, surface water, or ground water.

b. Sanitary landfills shall be maintained and 
operated to conform with the approved Plan of Operation.

2.  Details of operation and maintenance  
a. Spreading and compacting

The working face shall be confined to the 
smallest practical area, as is consistent with the proper 
operation of trucks and equipment.  

The waste shall be spread in layers and 
compacted by repeated passes of the compacting equipment 
to obtain the degree of compaction specified in the Solid 
Waste permit.

b. Lift depth
The lift depth shall not exceed the limit 

specified in the Solid Waste permit.
 c. Cover

(1) Daily cover:  A layer of suitable cover 
material shall be placed over all solid waste by the end of 
each working day.  This layer shall be of such depth that 
when compacted it produces a cover layer at least six inches 
in depth.  

(2) Intermediate cover:  Any area that receives 
daily cover and is not expected to receive either additional 
solid waste or a capping system within six months shall 
receive intermediate cover consisting of at least six inches of 
suitable compacted cover material (in addition to the daily 

cover).  Intermediate cover may be required more frequently 
if deemed necessary by the Department.

(3) Cover material:  The soil used as daily and 
intermediate cover material shall be of such character that it 
can be compacted to minimize percolation of water through 
the cover, does not crack excessively when dry, and is free of 
putrescible materials and large objects.

(4) Alternate cover materials:  The 
Department may approve the use of other materials as daily 
and intermediate cover if they can be shown to be at least as 
effective as the required depths of compacted soil at 
preventing migration of the waste and controlling flies, 
rodents, and fires.

(1) Daily cover shall be placed over all solid 
waste by the end of the working day or, at more frequent 
intervals if necessary.

(a) Daily cover shall control odors, 
disease vector breeding, animal attraction, blowing litter, 
scavenging, and reduce the potential for fires. 

(b) Daily cover shall consist of six inches 
of earthen material or an alternate material or thickness 
approved by the Department in accordance with Section 
5.I.2.c.(4) of these regulations.

(c) The daily cover layer which remains 
in place under waste shall not preclude leachate flow 
downwards towards the leachate collection system.

(d) Exposed daily cover which remains in 
place for more than two days shall be inspected at least
weekly and shall be maintained as necessary to control 
odors, disease vector breeding, animal attraction, blowing 
litter, scavenging, and fires.

(2) Intermediate cover shall be placed over 
any area that received daily cover and did not receive 
additional solid waste within 180 days.  Intermediate cover 
may be required more or less frequently if deemed necessary 
by the Department.

(a) Intermediate cover shall control odors, 
disease vector breeding, animal attraction, blowing litter, 
scavenging, and reduce the potential for fires. Intermediate 
cover shall prevent leachate from entering storm water 
management systems or surface waters. 

(b) Intermediate cover shall consist of 12 
inches of earthen material, which may include daily cover. 
Intermediate cover consisting of alternate materials or 
thickness may be used as approved by the Department in 
accordance with Section 5.I.2.c.(4) of these regulations.

(c) Intermediate cover placement and 
maintenance shall be consistent with the operations plan and 
leachate control design of the landfill. If the intermediate 
cover has been placed to reduce infiltration of water into the 
landfill, it must be removed or otherwise modified to allow 
leachate to move downwards towards the leachate collection 
system prior to placement of additional solid waste. 

(d) Intermediate cover shall be inspected 
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at least weekly and shall be maintained as necessary to 
control odors, disease vector breeding, animal attraction, 
blowing litter, scavenging, fires, and to prevent leachate 
from entering storm water management systems or surface 
waters.

(3) Daily or intermediate cover shall not 
contain putrescible materials or large objects. 

(4) Alternate cover materials.  The 
Department may approve alternate materials or material 
thickness as daily and intermediate cover once the owner or 
operator:

(a) provides written request to the 
Department, demonstrating that the material and supporting 
operations meet the performance criteria for daily and 
intermediate covers specified in these regulations without 
presenting an increased threat to human health or the 
environment. 

(b) prescribes in the operations plan, any 
unique requirements for placement, maintenance, and 
inspection of the alternate material and for any additional 
conditions, equipment, or staff required.

d. Control of nuisances and hazards
 (1) Odor:  The operation of the landfill shall 
not result in odors associated with solid waste being detected 
off site. 

(2) Litter:  The scattering of refuse and 
windblown litter shall be controlled by the use of portable 
fences, natural barriers, or other suitable methods.  No refuse 
or litter shall be allowed to migrate off site.  

(3) Vectors, dust, fires:  The operation of the 
landfill shall be conducted in a manner which eliminates to 
the extent possible insect and rodent breeding, dust 
problems, and fires. 

e. Bulky waste
Adequate provision shall be made for the 

handling and compaction of bulky wastes when such wastes 
are not excluded from the site.  Tires in quantities greater 
than ten per truckload shall be sliced or shredded before 
being landfilled.

f. Special solid wastes
The permittee may make provision for the 

limited disposal of specified special solid wastes.  Disposal 
of these wastes shall be conducted pursuant to a plan 
submitted to and approved by the Department.                          
   g. Access 

Access roads to the point of waste discharge 
shall be designed, constructed, and maintained so that traffic 
will flow smoothly and will not be interrupted by inclement 
weather.

Access to the site shall be limited to those 
times when an attendant is on duty and to those persons 
authorized to use the site for the disposal of solid waste. This 
section shall not be construed to limit right of entry pursuant 
to 7 Del.C. 6024.

Access to the site by unauthorized persons 
shall be prevented by the use of barriers, fences and gates, or 
other suitable means.

h. Salvaging
Salvage operations shall be so organized that 

they will not interfere with the proper disposal of any solid 
waste.  No salvage operation shall be allowed which creates 
unsightliness, nuisances, health hazards, or potential safety 
hazards. 

i. Personnel
Sufficient numbers and types of personnel shall 

be available at the site to insure capability for operation in 
accordance with these regulations.  
  j. Equipment

Adequate numbers and types of equipment 
commensurate with the size of the operation shall be 
available at the site to insure operation of the landfill in 
accordance with the provisions of these regulations and the 
plan of operation. Substitute equipment shall be obtained 
when maintenance or breakdown renders normal operating 
equipment inoperative for more than 24 hours.  All refuse 
moving equipment shall be cleaned routinely and maintained 
according to the manufacturer's recommendations.

k. Employee health and safety 
Employees at the site shall work under all 

appropriate health and safety guidelines established by the 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration.
 The owner or operator of the landfill shall 
provide suitable shelter, sanitary facilities, and safe drinking 
water for personnel at the site.

A reliable telephone or radio communication 
system shall be provided for site personnel.

First aid equipment shall be available at the 
site.

l. Procedures for excluding the receipt of 
hazardous waste

(a) Owners or operators of all sanitary landfill 
cells must implement a program at the facility for detecting 
and preventing the disposal of regulated hazardous wastes 
and polychlorinated biphenyls (PCB) wastes. This program 
must include, at a minimum:

(1) Random inspections of incoming 
loads unless the owner or operator takes other steps to ensure 
that incoming loads do not contain regulated hazardous 
wastes or PCB wastes;

(2) Records of any inspections;
(3) Training of facility personnel to 

recognize regulated hazardous waste and PCB wastes; and 
(4) Notification of the Department if a 

regulated hazardous waste or PCB waste is discovered at the 
facility. 

3. Recordkeeping
The following information must be recorded, as it 

becomes available, and retained by the owner or operator of 
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any new or existing sanitary landfill until the end of the 
postclosure care period of the landfill:

a. Records demonstrating that liners, leachate 
control systems, gas control systems, cap-ping systems, and 
all monitoring systems are constructed or installed in 
accordance with the design criteria required in Section 5, 
Subsections C, D, E, F, G, and H.

b. Monitoring, testing, or analytical data where 
required by Section 5, Subsections D, E, F, G, and H.

c. Volume and/or weight of wastes received 
quarterly.

d. Types of waste received quarterly (industrial 
waste, asbestoscontaining waste, and other wastes which 
require Department approval prior to being landfilled).

e. Location of any monofilled waste.
  f. Any additional records specified by the 
Department.

4. Reporting 
The permittee shall submit to the Department on an 

annual basis a report summarizing facility operations for the 
preceding calendar year.  The report shall describe and 
summarize all solid waste disposal, environmental 
monitoring, and construction activities conducted within the 
year covered by the report.  The report shall include, but not 
necessarily be limited to, the following:

a. The volume or tonnage of solid waste 
landfilled at the facility;

b. The estimated remaining capacity of the 
facility, in both tonnage and years;

c. The volumes (or tonnages) and types of 
specified special solid wastes landfilled at the facility;

d. Leachate quantity and quality data as required 
in Section 5.D.4, and specified in the Solid Waste permit;

e. Gas monitoring data as required in Section 
5.E.3, and specified in the Solid Waste permit;

f. An updated estimate of the cost of closure and 
postclosure care of the facility, as required in Section 5.J.3.d;

g. Any intentional or accidental deviations from 
the approved Plan of Operation, and any unusual situations 
encountered during the year;

h. All construction or corrective work conducted 
on the site in accordance with approved plans or to achieve 
compliance with these regulations.

The permittee must also submit any additional 
reports specified in the Solid Waste permit.

5. Prohibitions
a. The owner or operator of a sanitary landfill 

shall not knowingly accept for disposal any hazardous waste.
b. Open burning of any solid waste is prohibited 

within the active portion of the sanitary landfill.         
 c. Sanitary landfills are prohibited from accepting 
bulk or noncontainerized liquid waste unless the waste is a 
household waste other than septic waste.  

d.  Scavenging is prohibited on any landfill site.  

J. CLOSURE
1.  General

The owner or operator of a sanitary landfill must 
close the completed landfill or landfill cell in a manner that:

a. Minimizes the need for further maintenance, 
and 
    b. Minimizes the postclosure escape of solid 
waste constituents, leachate, and landfill gases to the surface 
water, ground water, or atmosphere.

2.   Required submittals; notification
a. An owner or operator of a new sanitary landfill 

must submit a conceptual closure plan for the facility at the 
time of initial permit application.  

b. At least 180 days prior to the projected date 
when wastes will no longer be accepted at the landfill or cell, 
the landfill owner or operator shall submit to the Department 
written notification of intent to close the facility or cell, a 
closure plan, and a closure schedule.

c. If the Department determines that the closure 
plan and closure schedule are sufficient to ensure closure in 
accordance with the performance standards described in 
Section 5.J.1, it will modify the solid waste permit to allow 
closure to take place.

d. The owner or operator shall not commence 
closure activities before receiving the necessary 
modifications to the solid waste permit.
 e. A copy of the closure plan must be maintained 
at the facility or at some other location designated by the 
owner or operator through the postclosure care period of the 
facility.

3. Closure plan contents
 Closure plans for sanitary landfills must include, as 
a minimum, the following:

a. A description of the methods, procedures, and 
processes that will be used to close a landfill and each 
individual cell thereof in accordance with the closure 
performance standard in Section 5.J.1.

b. A description of the capping system required 
under Section 5.H.  This shall include a description of the 
system design, the type of material to be used, and a 
discussion of how the capping system will achieve the 
objectives of Section 5.J.1, above.

c. A description of other activities necessary to 
satisfy the closure performance standard including, but not 
limited to, the removal or disposal of all nonlandfilled 
wastes located on site (e.g., wastes from landfill runoff 
collection ponds).

d. An estimate of the cost of closing the facility or 
cell and of the cost of postclosure monitoring and 
maintenance throughout the postclosure care period. These 
estimates shall be updated yearly and submitted to the 
Department as part of the annual report described in Section 
5.I.4.

e. A plan for postclosure care of the facility 
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sufficient to ensure that the standards described in Section 
5.J.1 will be met.  This will include:

(1) A description of the monitoring and 
maintenance activities required and the frequency at which 
these activities will be performed.

(2) The name, address, and telephone number 
of the person or office to contact about the facility during the 
postclosure period.

(3) A description of the planned uses of the 
property during the postclosure period.

A plan for control and/or recovery of 
landfill gases.

A closure construction quality assurance 
plan.

4. Minimum closure requirements 
a. The permittee shall notify the Department at 

least 30 working days prior to commencing closure 
activities. The Department shall inspect the site, and the 
permittee shall perform any corrective work which the 
Department deems necessary.
  b. Finished portions of the landfill shall receive a 
capping system which meets the requirements of Section 
5.H.

c. Finished portions of the landfill shall be 
planted with appropriate vegetation to promote stabilization 
of the cover.  

d. The closure shall be carried out in accordance 
with the approved closure plan and according to the 
approved closure schedule. Any significant deviations from 
the plan or the schedule must be approved by the Department 
prior to being initiated.

e. Upon closure of an entire landfill, all 
nonlandfilled wastes located on site shall be removed or 
disposed of in a manner approved by the Department.

f. After closure of the facility, the site shall be 
returned to an acceptable appearance consistent with the 
surrounding area and the intended use of the land.

g. When closure is completed, the owner or 
operator shall submit a final report for the Department’s 
approval.  The final report shall certify that the closure of the 
landfill or cell was completed in accordance with the closure 
plan to include the construction quality assurance plan, 
construction and material specifications, and design 
drawings.  The final report shall be certified correct by the 
construction quality assurance engineer, who must be a 
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware.  The landfill 
or cell will not be considered closed until the Department has 
provided its written notification that the closure construction 
and the final report meet the requirements of the solid waste 
permit and these regulations. 

The Department will inspect the cell or facility 
and will either:

(1) Issue a letter of approval to certify that the 
site has been closed in accordance with the solid waste 

permit, the closure plan, and all applicable regulations; or
Determine that the site is not in 

compliance with the solid waste permit, the closure plan, or 
applicable regulations; identify the areas of deficiency; and 
require the owner or operator to take the necessary actions to 
bring the site into compliance.

h. Facilities entering the post-closure period will 
be issued a post-closure permit based upon the approved 
post-closure plan, monitoring requirements, gas and leachate 
control, maintenance, and corrective actions (if required).

K. POSTCLOSURE CARE
1. General

a. The owner or operator of a sanitary landfill 
must continue postclosure care for 30 years after the 
completion of closure.  

b. At any time during the postclosure care period 
the Department may remove one or more of the postclosure 
care requirements described in Section 5.K.2 below if it 
determines that the requirement(s) is/are no longer necessary 
for the protection of human health and the environment. 
    c. At any time after the first five years of the 
postclosure care period, the Department may reduce the 
length of the postclosure care period or terminate postclosure 
care if it determines that such care is no longer necessary.

d. Prior to the time that the postclosure care 
period is due to expire, the Department may extend the 
postclosure care period if it determines that the extended 
period is necessary to protect human health and the 
environment.

e. If at any time during the postclosure care 
period there is evidence of a contaminant release from the 
landfill that presents a significant threat to human health or 
the environment, action to mitigate the threat will be 
required of the owner or operator of the facility.

2. Minimum postclosure care requirements
Postclosure care shall be in accordance with the 

post-closure permit and must consist of at least the 
following:

a. Maintaining the integrity and effectiveness of 
the capping system, including making repairs as necessary to 
correct the effects of settling, subsidence, erosion, or other 
events, and preventing runon and runoff from eroding or 
otherwise damaging the cap.

b. Reseeding the cover if insufficient vegetation 
exists to stabilize the surface.  

c. Maintaining and operating the leachate 
collection and treatment systems until the Department 
determines that the leachate no longer poses a threat to 
human health or the environment. The permittee shall submit 
leachate quantity and quality data to the Department for 
those parameters and at such frequencies as specified by the 
Department.

d. Maintaining and operating the ground water 
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monitoring system in accordance with Section 5.G. The 
permittee shall submit ground water quality data as specified 
by the Department.

e. Maintaining and monitoring the gas control 
and/or recovery system in accordance with Section 5.E and 
the closure plan.  The permittee shall submit gas data as 
specified by the Department.

f. Maintaining and monitoring the surface water 
management system in accordance with Section 5.F.
 3. Prohibitions
  a. Standing water shall not be allowed on the 
closed landfill.
 b. Open burning shall not be allowed on the 
closed landfill.

c. Unless approved in advance by the 
Department, no activity shall be conducted on a closed 
landfill.
      d. Access to the closed landfill shall be limited to 
those persons who are engaging in activities which are 
compatible with the intended postclosure use of the site.

4. Postclosure land use
  The owner or operator shall implement the 
postclosure land use plan approved by the Department.

5. Notice in Deed to Property
a. The owner of the property on which a sanitary 

landfill is located must record a notation on the deed to the 
facility property, or some other instrument that is normally 
examined during title search, that will in perpetuity notify 
any potential purchaser of the property:

(1) The land has been used as a solid waste 
disposal site, and

The use of the land is restricted under this 
regulation. 

b. Included with the notation shall be a map or 
description clearly specifying the area that was used for 
disposal.

SECTION 6: INDUSTRIAL LANDFILLS

(NOTE: This section applies to those landfills that dispose of 
only industrial and/or dry waste.)

A. SITING
1. Industrial landfill facilities shall be located only in 

areas where the potential for degradation of the quality of air, 
land, and water is minimal.

2. All industrial landfill facilities shall be constructed 
to at least minimum design requirements as contained in 
Section 6.B.  More stringent designs will be required where 
deemed necessary by the Department for the protection of 
ground water resources.

3. No new cell of an industrial landfill shall be located 
in an area such that solid waste would at any time be 
deposited:

a. Within the 100 year flood plain. 
b. In an area that may cause or contribute to the 

degradation of any state or federally regulated wetlands 
unless the owner or operator can demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the appropriate wetlands regulatory agency 
that:

there is no impact to any regulated wetlands on 
the site, or any impact will be mitigated as required.

c. Within one mile of any state or federal wildlife 
refuge, wildlife area, or park, unless specifically exempted 
from this requirement by the Department.

d. So as to be in conflict with any locally adopted 
land use plan or zoning requirement.
 e. Within the wellhead protection area of a public 
water supply well or well field.

In areas where valuable aquifers would be 
threatened by contaminant releases, unless viable 
alternatives have been dismissed and stringent design 
measures have been incorporated to minimize the possibility 
and magnitude of releases.

Within 200 feet of the facility boundary unless 
otherwise approved by the Department.

In an area that is environmentally unique or 
valuable.

B. DESIGN
1. General

Industrial landfills shall be planned and designed by 
professional engineers registered in Delaware.  Planning and 
design of these facilities shall be consistent with this 
regulation and based on empirically derived data and state of 
the art technology. 

2. Minimum design requirements
All industrial landfills shall be designed to include 

at least the following:
a. A setback area, including a buffer zone with 

appropriate screening, if deemed necessary by the 
Department. 

b. A liner that meets the requirements of Section 
6.C.

c. Leachate collection, treatment and disposal, 
and monitoring systems that meet the requirements of 
Section 6.D.

d. A gas control system, if deemed necessary by 
the Department.  This system shall meet the requirements of 
Section 6.E.

e. A surface water management system that meets 
the requirements of Section 6.F.

f. A ground water monitoring system that meets 
the requirements of Section 6.G.

g. A capping system that meets the requirements 
of Section 6.H.
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C. LINER
1. General provisions

a. An impermeable liner shall be provided at all 
industrial landfills to restrict the migration of leachate from 
the landfill and to prevent contamination of the underlying 
ground water.  

b. The Department reserves the right to set a more 
stringent liner requirement when it determines that a 
composite liner is not sufficient to protect human health and 
the environment.

c. The bottom of the liner (of the secondary liner, 
in a double liner system) shall be at least five (5) feet above 
the seasonal high water table, as measured in the uppermost 
aquifer beneath the landfill.  This 5-foot requirement may be 
reduced by the Department if a more stringent liner system is 
used. 

d. All liners shall be prepared, constructed, and 
installed in accordance with a quality assurance plan 
included in the engineering report [(Section 4.B.1.a (4)] and 
approved by the Department.  For synthetic liners, the plan 
shall incorporate the manufacturer's recommendations.

Qualifications of the construction quality 
assurance staff (CQA) and the geosynthetics installer, 
including master seamers, on-site supervisor, and 
construction quality control (CQC) personnel, shall be 
submitted to the Department for review prior to their 
performing these duties on site.

All conformance and destructive samples taken 
as part of the construction quality assurance plan shall be 
tested at an independent laboratory which is accredited by 
the Geosynthetics Institute’s Laboratory Accreditation 
Program (by applicable test method) or other accreditation 
program acceptable to the Department.

2. Liner characteristics
 a. Composite liner

A composite liner must have, as a minimum:
(1) A primary (upper) liner which meets the 

following:
(a) Is at least 45 mils thick.
(b) Is constructed of materials that have 

appropriate chemical properties and sufficient strength and 
thickness to prevent failure due to physical contact with the 
leachate to which it is exposed, climatic conditions, the 
stresses of installation, and the stresses of daily operation. 

(c) Is made of synthetic material that 
meets minimum requirements of the National Sanitation 
Foundation's publication, "Standard Number 54-1993, 
Flexible Membrane Liners" for membrane materials covered 
by this standard, or of other materials of equal or better 
performance as approved by the Department.

(d) Is chemically resistant to the waste 
and leachate managed at the facility.  The EPA Test Method 
9090 shall be performed using a solid waste leachate (a 
synthetic leachate mix approved by the Department may be 

substituted if existing leachate is not available). The 
specified physical parameters shall be tested before and after 
liner exposure. Any significant change in test properties 
shall be considered to be indicative of incompatibility.
 (e) Is compounded from first quality 
virgin materials. No reground or reprocessed materials 
containing encapsulated scrim shall be used in the 
manufacturing of the liner.

(f) Is free of pinholes, blisters, holes, and 
contaminants, which include, but are not limited to, wood, 
paper, metal and nondispersed ingredients.

(2) A secondary (lower) liner composed of:
Compacted clay at least two feet thick 

with a hydraulic conductivity no greater than 1 x 10-7 cm/
sec, or

An equivalent material acceptable to the 
Department.

b. Natural liner
Use of natural material for liners is restricted to 

those areas where: 
(a) Underlying ground water is not used 

and is not reasonably expected to be used for water supplies, 
and 

(b) The landfill subbase is subject to 
compaction and settlement such that a synthetic membrane 
would not be feasible.

(2) A natural liner must meet the following 
requirements as a minimum:

(a) It shall consist of compacted clay or 
equivalent material having a hydraulic conductivity no 
greater than 1 x 10-7 cm/sec.  

(b) The material shall be at least five (5) 
feet thick, and thicker if necessary to prevent any leachate 
from migrating through the liner at any time during the 
active life and through the postclosure care period of the 
facility.  

(c) The material proposed for use shall be 
tested by ASTM or equivalent methods for the following:

Grain size
Classification
Compaction
Specific gravity
Hydraulic conductivity
Porosity
pH
Cation exchange capacity
Pinhole test (if required)
Mineralogy (if required)

All data shall be submitted to the 
Department prior to construction.

(d) Testing of the saturated hydraulic 
conductivity and the effect of leachate on soil hydraulic 
conductivity shall be performed in accordance with test 
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methods described in “Test Methods for Evaluating Solid 
Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods”, EPA Publication SW-
846 [Third Edition (November 1986), as amended by 
Updates I (dated July 1992), II (dated September 1994), IIA 
(dated August 1993), IIB (dated January 1995), III (dated 
December 1996), and IIIA (dated April 1998)], or other tests 
approved in writing by the Department.

(e) If onsite soils are to be used as a 
natural liner, the uppermost five (5) feet of soil shall be 
excavated and recompacted to ensure homogeneity of the 
liner, provided, however, that with respect to dredge spoil 
soils, the excavation and recompaction requirement shall not 
apply if the applicant can demonstrate that the dredge spoil 
soils have acceptable characteristics as indicated above.

c. Double liner system
A double liner system shall meet the following 

requirements:
 (1) It shall consist of two single liners 
separated by a drainage layer containing a leak detection 
system.

(2) The primary (top) liner shall be a synthetic 
liner which is at least 30 mils thick and which meets the 
requirements of Section 6.C.2.a.(1)(b) - (f).

(3) The secondary (bottom) liner may be 
either synthetic or natural. If synthetic, it must be at least 30 
mils thick and must meet the requirements of Section 6.C.2.a 
(1)(b) - (f).  If natural, it must meet the requirements of 
Section 6.C.2.b.              

(4) The drainage layer separating the two 
liners shall consist of at least 12 inches of soil having a 
hydraulic conductivity greater than 1 x 10-2 cm/sec based on 
laboratory and field testing.

Alternate material may be used for the 
drainage layer with prior written approval of the 
Department.

The leak detection system shall be capable 
of detecting and intercepting liquid within the drainage layer 
and conveying the liquid to a collection sump or monitoring 
point where the quantity of flow can be measured and the 
liquid can be sampled. The operator or designer shall 
calculate the Action Leakage Rate.  The proposed Action 
Leakage Rate and a response plan if the Action Leakage 
Rate is exceeded shall be submitted to the Department for 
approval before construction of the liner is permitted. The 
system shall be designed to operate without clogging 
through the postclosure care period of the facility.

The upper synthetic liner membrane shall 
be underlain by either a geosynthetic clay or 2feet of natural 
material with a permeability no greater than 10-7 cm/sec.
Alternate liner designs may be used with prior written 
approval of the Department.

3. Liner construction 
  a. Construction/installation of composite liner

(1) At least 15 working days prior to 
installation of the liner, the owner or operator shall notify the 
Department of the installation date.

(2) The liner shall be installed upon a subbase 
which meets the following requirements: 

(a) It shall be capable of supporting the 
loads and withstanding the stresses that will be imposed on it 
through the active life and postclosure care period of the 
facility and of resisting the pressure gradient above and 
below the liner caused by settlement, compression, or uplift.

(b) It shall have a smooth surface that is 
free of all rocks, stones, roots, sharp objects, or debris of any 
kind.

It shall be certified in writing by the 
liner installer as an acceptable subbase for the liner. Written 
certification of acceptability shall be submitted to the 
Department prior to installation of the liner. However, 
submittal of written acceptance may proceed incrementally 
according to installation schedule.

(3) The minimum post-loading slopes of the 
liner shall either be:

two (2) percent on controlling slopes and 
one-half (0.5) percent on remaining slopes, OR

the controlling and remaining slopes shall 
be designed to prevent the head on the liner, excluding sump 
areas, from exceeding a depth of twelve (12) inches 
including post settlement conditions.

(4) The landfill shall be designed to minimize 
penetrations through the liner.  If a penetration is essential, a 
liquidtight seal must be accomplished between the 
penetrating structure and the synthetic membrane. 
Compaction of areas adjacent to the penetrating structure 
shall be to the same density as the surrounding soil to 
minimize differential settlement.  Sharp edges on the 
penetrating structure must not come in contact with the 
synthetic material.

(5) Bridging or stressed conditions in the liner 
shall be avoided with proper slack allowances for shrinkage 
of the liner during installation and before the placement of a 
protective soil layer.

(6) Synthetic liners shall have factory and 
field seams that equal or exceed the strength requirements 
defined by the National Sanitation Foundation's "Standard 
Number 54-1993" for that liner material. All seams must be 
visually inspected and tested along their entire length for 
seam continuity using suitable nondestructive techniques. 
Seams shall also be tested for strength, at a frequency 
specified in the quality assurance plan. In addition, field 
seams shall meet the following requirements:

(a) Field seaming shall provide a dry 
sealing surface.

(b) Seaming shall not be done when wind 
conditions prevail.

(c) Seams shall be made and bonded in 
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accordance with the supplier's recommended procedures.  
(7) Proper equipment shall be used in placing 

drainage material over the synthetic liner to avoid stress.
(8) The synthetic membrane shall be protected 

from the waste by at least two (2) feet of drainage material 
incorporating the leachate collection system.

(9) The synthetic membrane must be 
underlain by a secondary liner as described in Section 
6.C.2.a(2).

b. Construction of natural liner
(1) All lenses, cracks, channels, root holes, or 

other structural nonuniformities that can increase the 
saturated hydraulic conductivity above 1 x 10-7 cm/sec shall 
be removed.

(2) Natural liners shall be constructed in lifts 
not exceeding six (6) inches after compaction to maximize 
the effectiveness of the compaction throughout the lift 
thickness.  Each lift shall be properly interfaced by 
scarification between lifts to ensure the bonding. 

(3) Clods shall be broken up and the material 
shall be homogenized before compaction of each lift using 
mixing devices such as pug mills or rotary tillers.  

(4) The maximum slope of the sidewalls shall 
not be so great as to preclude effective compaction.
 c. Construction/installation of double liner

(1) The secondary liner shall be constructed in 
accordance with Section 6.C.3.b (if it is a natural liner) or 
Section 6.C.3.a.(1)(7) (if it is synthetic).

(2) The primary liner shall be constructed in 
accordance with Section 6.C.3.a.(1) and (3)(8).

D. LEACHATE COLLECTION, TREATMENT, 
DISPOSAL, AND MONITORING

1. General provisions
a. All industrial landfills shall be designed and 

constructed to include a leachate collection system, a 
leachate treatment and disposal system, and a leachate 
monitoring system.

b. The leachate systems shall be constructed, 
installed, and maintained in accordance with the 
Departmentapproved quality assurance plan.

c. The owner or operator shall keep and maintain 
documentation for the quality assurance procedures through 
the postclosure care period of the facility. 

2. Leachate collection
a. Minimum design specifications

(1) The leachate collection system shall be 
designed to operate without clogging through the postclosure 
care period of the facility.

(2) All elements of the system (pipes, sumps, 
pumps, etc.) shall be sized according to water balance 
calculations and shall be capable of handling peak flows.

(3) Collection pipes shall be sized and spaced 

to efficiently remove leachate from the bottom of the waste 
and the side walls of the cell.  The capacity of the mains shall 
be at least equal to the sum of the capacities of the laterals.

(4) The pipes shall be designed to withstand 
the weight, stresses, and disturbances from the overlying 
wastes, waste cover materials, equipment operation, and 
vehicular traffic.

(5) The collection pipes shall be designed to 
drain by gravity to a sump system.  Sumps must function 
automatically and shall contain a conveyance system for the 
removal of leachate. 

(6) Manholes or cleanout risers shall be 
located along the perimeter of the leachate collection system. 
The number and spacing of the manholes shall be sufficient 
to insure proper maintenance of the system by water jet 
flushing or an equivalent method.

(7) Innovative leachate collection systems 
incorporating alternative designs may be used, after approval 
by the Department, if they are shown to be equivalent to or 
more effective than the specified design.

(8) The leachate collection system must be 
designed to prevent the leachate head on the liner from 
exceeding a depth of 12 inches.

b. Construction standards
(1) The leachate collection system shall be 

installed immediately above an impermeable liner and at the 
bottom of a drainage layer.  The drainage layer shall be at 
least 12 inches thick with a hydraulic conductivity not less 
than 1x10-2 cm/sec and a minimum post-loading controlling 
slope of two (2) percent.

Alternate materials may be used for the 
drainage layer, with prior written approval of the 
Department.

(2) The following tests shall be performed on 
the soil proposed for use in the drainage layer, and all data 
shall be submitted to the Department prior to construction of 
the drainage layer. These tests shall be performed in 
accordance with current ASTM, AASHTO, or equivalent 
methods.

Classification
Porosity
Relative density or compaction
Specific gravity
Hydraulic conductivity

(3) The leachate collection system and 
manholes or cleanout risers shall be constructed of materials 
that can withstand the chemical attack that results from 
leachates.

c. Operational procedures 
(1) The leachate collection system shall 

operate automatically whenever leachate is present in the 
sump to remove accumulated leachate. 

(2) Inspections shall be conducted weekly to 
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verify proper functioning of the leachate collection system 
and to detect the presence of leachate in the removal sump. 
The owner or operator shall keep records on the system to 
provide sufficient information that the leachate collection 
system is functional and operating properly. The amount of 
leachate collected from each cell shall be recorded on a 
weekly basis.
 (3) Collection lines shall be cleaned according 
to a Departmentapproved scheduled maintenance program 
and more frequently if required.

3. Leachate treatment and disposal
 a. The leachate treatment and disposal system 
shall be designed in accordance with one of the following 
options:

(1) Complete treatment onsite with or without 
direct discharge to surface water

(2) Pretreatment onsite with discharge to an 
offsite treatment works for final treatment 

(3) Storage onsite with discharge to an offsite 
treatment works for complete treatment

(4) Direct discharge to an offsite treatment 
works

(5) Pretreatment on site with discharge on site.
The permittee must maintain all necessary 

permits and approvals for leachate storage and discharge 
activities.

b. Leachate storage prior to treatment shall be 
within tanks constructed and installed in accordance with the 
following standards: 

(1) The tank shall be placed above ground.
(2) The storage tank shall be designed in 

accordance with American Petroleum Institute (API), 
Underwriters Laboratory (UL), or an equivalent standard 
appropriate to the material being used, and shall be 
constructed of or lined with material which has a 
demonstrated chemical resistance to the leachate.

(3) The storage tank area shall have a liner 
capable of preventing any leachate which may escape from 
the tank from coming into contact with the underlying soil.

(4) The storage tank area shall be surrounded 
by a berm, and the bermed area shall have a capacity at least 
ten percent greater than the capacity of the tank.

(5) All storage tanks shall be equipped with a 
venting system.

(6) All storage tanks shall be equipped with a 
high liquid level alarm or warning device.  The alarm system 
shall be wired to the location where assistance will be 
available to respond to the emergency.

c. Onsite complete treatment or pretreatment 
facilities shall be designed and constructed in accordance 
with the following:

(1) Onsite treatment units shall be designed 
based on the results of a treatability study, the results of the 
operations of a pilot plant, or written information 

documenting the performance of an equivalent leachate 
treatment system.

(2) Onsite treatment units shall be designed 
and constructed by staging of the units to allow for online 
modification of the treatment system to account for 
variability of the leachate quality and quantity.

d. For all leachate discharges planned for publicly 
owned treatment works (POTW), the owner or operator of 
the landfill shall notify the receiving POTW of intent to 
discharge leachate into the collection system and shall 
provide the POTW with analysis of the leachate as required 
by the POTW. 

e. All leachate treatment and disposal systems 
shall be designed and constructed to control odors.
 f. Residuals from the onsite treatment and 
disposal systems shall be sampled and analyzed for 
hazardous waste characteristics in accordance with 
Delaware's Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

g. Recirculation of leachate may be allowed, 
subject to approval by the Department, to accelerate 
decomposition of the waste.  Recirculation will be allowed 
only in areas constructed with a composite liner system or a 
double liner system. The method of recirculation must be 
approved by the Department in advance and annually so long 
as the recirculation continues.  Records of leachate collected 
and recirculated must be kept and reported and any resultant 
problems reported to the Department and remedied as soon 
as practicable and included in the annual report.  

4. Leachate monitoring
a. The leachate monitoring system shall be 

capable of measuring the quantity of the flow and sampling 
the leachate from each landfill cell.  The volume of leachate 
collected from each cell shall be determined at least monthly 
and reported quarterly.

b. Leachate monitoring of the influent and 
effluent of the treatment and disposal system shall be 
performed according to a Departmentapproved plan which 
includes quality control and quality assurance procedures.

c. Samples of leachate effluent and influent shall 
be analyzed as specified by the Department. The parameters 
to be analyzed will depend on the characteristics of the 
waste. 

d. Leachate monitoring results shall be submitted 
to the Department as required.

e. For a double liner system, if the Action 
Leakage Rate of the leak detection system is exceeded, the 
owner or operator of the landfill shall notify the Department 
within five (5) working days.  The owner or operator shall 
also sample and analyze the liquid in the leak detection 
system for parameters required by the Department.

E. GAS CONTROL
l. General provisions

a. Gas control systems shall be installed at 
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industrial landfills where the materials landfilled would be 
expected to produce gas through biological activity or 
reaction. 

b. The gas control system shall be designed and 
constructed to:

(1) Evacuate gas from within the waste to 
prevent the accumulation of gas onsite or offsite,

(2) Prevent and control damage to vegetation,
(3) Prevent odors from the facility being 

detectable at the facility property line in sufficient quantities 
to cause or create a condition of air pollution.
 c. The concentration of landfill gas in facility 
structures (except gas recovery system components) and at 
the facility boundary shall not exceed 25% of the lower 
explosive limit.

2. Design and construction standards
a. The owner or operator of an industrial landfill 

shall consider both active and passive gas control systems 
and shall provide an evaluation of the proposed system for 
Department approval.

b. The owner or operator shall perform an 
analysis to establish the required spacing of gas control vents 
to provide an effective system. 

c. The gas control system shall be designed to 
evacuate gas from all levels within the waste.

d. The system shall not interfere with or cause 
failure of the liner or leachate systems.
 3. Monitoring

a. A sufficient number of gas monitoring wells 
shall be installed to evaluate gas production rates in the 
landfill.  

b. The owner or operator shall sample the gas 
monitoring wells and provide analytical results as required 
by conditions specified in the facility permit.

c. At landfills utilizing natural liners, gas 
monitoring probes must be installed in the soil outside the 
lined area to evaluate any lateral migration of landfill gas.

d. Emissions from active and passive gas control 
systems may require a permit from the Air Resources 
Section of the Division of Air and Waste Management.

F. SURFACE WATER MANAGEMENT
1. General provision

An owner or operator of an industrial landfill shall 
design, construct, and maintain a surface water management 
system to:

a. Prevent erosion of the waste and cover,
b. Prevent the collection of standing water, and
c. Minimize surface water runoff onto and into 

the waste.
2. Design requirements

a. The surface water management system shall be 
designed to control, at a minimum, the runoff from the 
discharge of a 2-hour, 10-year storm.

b. The system shall be designed to include:
 (1) Detention basins to provide temporary 
storage of the expected runoff from the design storm with 
sufficient reserve capacity to contain accumulated 
precipitation and sediment prior to discharge.    
 (2) Diversion structures designed to prevent 
runoff generated within the active cells from moving off site 
of the lined areas.  
 3. Channeling of runoff

a. Runoff from the active cell(s) must be 
channeled to the leachate treatment and disposal system.  

b. Runoff from closed cells will be directed to the 
detention basins or other approved sedimentation control 
systems.  

4. Discharge
Discharge from the detention basins shall be in 

compliance with all applicable federal and state regulations.

G. GROUND WATER MONITORING AND 
CORRECTIVE ACTION

1. General provision
  Owners or operators of all industrial landfill 
facilities shall maintain and operate a ground water 
monitoring program to evaluate facility impact upon ground 
water quality.                            

2. Design and construction of monitoring system 
a. The ground water monitoring system shall be 

designed by a Professional Geologist registered in Delaware.
 b. The system shall consist of a sufficient number 
of wells, installed at appropriate locations and depths, to 
define the ground water flow system and shall be developed 
in accordance with Departmental requirements to yield 
ground water samples that are representative of the aquifer 
water quality.

c. The number, spacing, location, depth, and 
screened interval of the monitoring wells shall be approved 
by the Department prior to installation.

d. All monitoring wells shall be constructed in 
accordance with the Regulations Governing the Construction 
of Water Wells and any subsequently approved guidelines. 
Variation from the existing guidelines must be approved by 
the Department in writing prior to construction. 

3. Ground water sampling  
a. The permittee shall submit a ground water 

sampling plan to the Department at the time of permit 
application.  The sampling plan must include procedures and 
techniques for:

(1) Sample collection, preservation, and 
transport:

Samples will be collected at low flow 
rates (<1 l/min) to minimize turbidity of the samples.

Samples will be field filtered only 
when turbidity exceeds 10 NTU. Repeated sampling of any 
well where turbidity exceeds 10 NTU is not permitted 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1473
without Department approval.  Approval will only be 
granted in cases where turbidity cannot be controlled by 
careful well construction, development and sampling.

(2) Analytical procedures and quality 
assurance, and

(3) Chain of custody control.
b. Sample constituents

(1) The parameters to be analyzed shall 
depend upon the characteristics of the waste and shall be 
specified by the Department.       

(2) Test methods used to determine the 
parameters of Section 6.G.3.b(1) shall be those described in 
"Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, Physical/
Chemical Methods", EPA Publication Number SW-846, 
[Third Edition (November 1986), as amended by Updates I 
(dated July 1992), II (dated September 1994), IIA (dated 
August 1993), IIB (dated January 1995), III (dated 
December 1996), and IIIA (dated April 1998)], or other tests 
approved in writing by the Department. 

c. The Department may observe, and may request 
advance notice of, the ground water sampling conducted by 
the permittee or his/her designee and may request split 
samples for analysis.

d. If the Department determines that the ground 
water monitoring data indicate that ground water 
contamination has occurred, a remedial action program may 
be required.  

4. Reporting
a. All ground water, leachate, and gas monitoring 

shall be conducted on a schedule to be determined by the 
Department and the results submitted within 60 days of 
sampling. 

b. An annual hydrogeologic report will be 
prepared which shall include: 

(1) Tabulation of all leachate flow and quality 
and ground water quality data from current and preceding 
years,

(2) Graphical presentation of leachate flow 
and quality and ground water quality data from current and 
preceding years as required in the operating permit,

(3) Maps showing ground water flow patterns 
at each time of ground water sampling,

(4) A discussion of the ground water 
monitoring results, and

(5) Recommendations for future monitoring.
5.  Assessment of Corrective Measures

a. An assessment (reassessment) of corrective 
measures by the owner or operator is required (within 90 
days) of confirmation of a contaminant release or an 
exceedance of a performance standard. The owner or 
operator must perform this assessment which must include:  

(1) Identification of the nature and extent of 
the release (which may require construction and sampling of 
additional wells, analysis for additional constituents 

including those required for leachate, geophysical surveys 
and/or other measures);  

(2) Reassessment of contaminant fate and 
potential contaminant receptors (wells and/or receiving 
streams);  

(3) Evaluation of feasible corrective measures 
to:

(a) Prevent exposure to potentially 
harmful levels of contaminants (exceeding performance 
standards);

(b) Reduce, minimize or prevent further 
contaminant releases; and

(c) Reduce, minimize or prevent the 
offsite migration of contaminants. 

(4) The implementability (and time to 
implement) and costs of the feasible alternatives; and

(5) Recommendations for remedial action.
b. The owner or operator must present the results 

of the corrective measures assessment, including a proposed 
remedy, (with a schedule for initiation and completion) for 
public comment at a public meeting.

6. Selection of Remedy
a. Based on the results of the corrective measures 

assessment and public meeting, the owner/operator will 
select a remedial action.

b. Remedies must:
(1) Be protective of human health and the 

environment; 
(2) Control source(s) of contaminant releases 

so as to reduce or eliminate (to the maximum extent 
practicable) further releases of contaminants that pose a 
threat to human health or the environment;

(3) Comply with the site performance 
standards at the points of compliance (to the extent feasible); 
and

(4) Comply with standards for the 
management of wastes. 

c. The Department may determine that 
remediation of a contaminant release is not necessary if the 
permittee can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 
Department (or the Department certifies that it is satisfied) 
that the ground water is not currently or reasonably expected 
to be a source of drinking water, will not migrate so as to 
threaten a source of drinking water or will not cause 
violation of surface water quality standards (i.e. does not 
represent a significant threat to human health or the 
environment).

7. Implementation of Corrective Action
a. Based on the schedule established under 

Section 6.G.5.b. for initiation and remediation of remedial 
activities, the owner or operator  must: 

(1) Implement the corrective action remedy;
(2) Take any interim measures necessary to 

ensure protection of human health and the environment 
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(such as replacement of contaminated or imminently 
threatened water supplies); and

(3) Perform ground water and/or surface 
water monitoring to demonstrate the effectiveness of the 
remedy including whether or not compliance is achieved 
with the performance standards. 

b. If the owner or operator determines, based on 
information obtained after implementation of the remedy has 
begun or other information that compliance with remediation 
objectives (including achievement of performance 
standards) cannot be practically achieved with the remedy 
selected, the owner or operator must notify the Department 
and request authorization to proceed with another feasible 
method consistent with the overall objective of the remedy.

c. If the permittee determines that compliance 
with remedial action objectives (Section 6.G.7) cannot be 
practically achieved, the permittee must notify the 
Department and implement alternate methods to control 
exposure of humans or the environment to residual 
contamination and implement alternative control measures.

d. Remedies selected shall be considered 
complete when:

(1) All actions required to implement the 
remedy have been achieved; and 

(2) The ground water protection standards or 
alternate requirements agreed upon have been achieved for a 
period of three years or alternate period approved by the 
Department.

e. Upon completion of the remedy, the owner or 
operator must notify the Department that a certification of 
the remedy has been completed in compliance with the 
requirement and placed in the operating records. This 
certification must be signed by a Professional Geologist 
registered in Delaware. 

f. Upon completion of the remedy, the owner or 
operator will continue ground water monitoring as required 
by provisions of Section 6.G.3 and approved by the 
Department. 

H. CAPPING SYSTEM 
1. Requirement for a capping system

a. Upon closure of the landfill or landfill cell the 
permittee shall install a capping system that will control the 
emission of gas (if applicable), promote the establishment of 
vegetative cover, and minimize infiltration and percolation 
of water into, and prevent erosion of, the waste throughout 
the postclosure care period.

b. The capping system shall be in place 180 days 
following final waste disposal activity. 

c. The capping system shall extend beyond the 
edge of the lined area.

2. Composition of the capping system
The capping system shall consist of at least the 

following components:

a. A final grading layer on the waste, consisting 
of at least six (6) inches of soil, to attain the final slope and 
provide a stable base for subsequent system components. 
Daily and intermediate cover may be used for this purpose.

b. An impermeable layer, consisting of at least:
(1) A 30 mil geomembrane underlain by a 

geotextile, or
(2) 24 inches of clay at a hydraulic 

conductivity of 1 x 10-7 cm/sec or depth of equivalent 
material having a hydraulic conductivity less than 1 x 10-7

cm/sec, such depth to be determined based on the hydraulic 
conductivity of 24 inches of clay at a hydraulic conductivity 
of 1 x 10-7 cm/sec.

Alternative materials may be used for the 
impermeable layer with prior written approval of the 
Department.

c. A final cover consisting of:
 (1) Eighteen (18) inches of soil to provide 
rooting depth and moisture for plant growth, and

(2) Six (6) inches of topsoil or other material 
approved by the Department to support the proposed 
vegetation; or

(3) A suitable layer of alternative material or 
combination thereof to assure adequate rooting and moisture 
retention to support the proposed vegetation.

The permittee shall propose a suitable 
vegetation dependent upon the quality and characteristics of 
the topsoil and compatible with the intended final use of the 
facility. Maintenance schedules and application rates for 
fertilizer and mulch shall also be submitted for approval.

3. Final slopes
a. The grades of the final slope shall be 

constructed in accordance with the following minimum 
standards:    

(1) The final grade of the top slope, after 
allowing for settlement and subsidence, shall be designed to 
promote runoff;

(2) The final grades of the side slopes shall be, 
at a maximum, three horizontal to one vertical (3:1).

b. The top and side slopes shall be maintained to 
prevent erosion of the capping system and to insure complete 
vegetation cover. 

I. LANDFILL OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE 
STANDARDS

1. General
a. Industrial landfills shall be operated so as to 

create an aesthetically desirable environment and to preclude 
degradation of land, air, surface water, or ground water.

b. Industrial landfills shall be maintained and 
operated to conform with the approved Plan of Operation.

2. Details of operation and maintenance 
a. Spreading and compacting
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The working face shall be confined to the 
smallest practical area, as is consistent with the proper 
operation of trucks and equipment.  

The waste shall be spread in layers and 
compacted by repeated passes of the compacting equipment 
to obtain the degree of compaction specified in the Solid 
Waste permit.

b. Cover
Approved cover material shall be applied at a 

frequency and thickness specified by the Department.
c. Control of nuisances and hazards

Odor:  The operation of the landfill shall not 
result in odors associated with solid waste being detected off 
site. 

Litter:  The scattering of refuse and windblown 
litter shall be controlled by the use of portable fences, natural 
barriers, or other suitable methods.  No refuse or litter shall 
be allowed to migrate off site.  

Dust, fires:  The landfill shall be operated in a 
manner which eliminates, to the extent possible, dust 
problems and fires. 

d. Access 
Access to the site shall be limited to those 

persons authorized to use the site for the disposal of solid 
waste and to those hours when an attendant is on duty. This 
section shall not be construed to limit right of entry pursuant 
to 7 Del.C. 6024.

Access to the site by unauthorized persons 
shall be prevented by the use of barriers, fences and gates, or 
other suitable means.

e. Salvaging     
Salvage operations shall be so organized that 

they will not interfere with the proper disposal of any solid 
waste.  No salvage operation shall be allowed which creates 
unsightliness, nuisances, health hazards, or potential safety 
hazards. 

f. Personnel
Sufficient numbers and types of personnel shall 

be available at the site to insure capability for operation in 
accordance with these regulations.  

g. Equipment
Adequate numbers and types of equipment 

commensurate with the size of the operation shall be 
available at the site to insure operation of the landfill in 
accordance with the provisions of these regulations and the 
plan of operation. Waste handling equipment shall be 
cleaned routinely and maintained in accordance with the 
manufacturer's recommendations.

h. Employee health and safety 
Employees at the site shall work under all 

appropriate health and safety guidelines established by the 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. 

The owner or operator of the landfill shall 
provide suitable shelter, sanitary facilities, and safe drinking 

water for personnel at the site.
A reliable telephone or radio communication 

system shall be provided for site personnel.
First aid equipment shall be available at the 

site.
3. Recordkeeping

The following information must be recorded, as it 
becomes available, and retained by the owner or operator of 
any new or existing industrial landfill until the end of the 
postclosure care period of the landfill:

a. Records demonstrating that liners, leachate 
control systems, cover, capping system, and all monitoring 
systems are constructed or installed in accordance with the 
design criteria required in Section 6, Subsections C, D, E, F, 
G, and H,

b. Monitoring, testing, or analytical data where 
required by Section 6, Subsections D, E, F, G, and H,
 c. Volume and/or weight of wastes received

d. Any additional records specified by the 
Department.

4. Reporting 
The permittee shall submit to the Department on an 

annual basis a report summarizing facility operations for the 
preceding calendar year.  The report shall describe and 
summarize all solid waste disposal, environmental 
monitoring, and construction activities conducted within the 
year covered by the report. The report shall include, but not 
necessarily be limited to, the following:

The volume or tonnage of solid waste 
landfilled at the facility,

The estimated remaining capacity of the 
facility, in both tonnage and years,

Leachate quantity and quality data as required 
in Section 6.D.4, and in the Solid Waste permit,

Gas monitoring data as required in Section 
6.E.3, and in the Solid Waste permit,

An updated estimate of the cost of closure and 
postclosure care for the facility, as required in Section 
6.J.3.d,

Any intentional or accidental deviations from 
the approved Plan of Operation, and any unusual situations 
encountered during the year,

All construction or corrective work conducted 
on the site in accordance with approved plans or to achieve 
compliance with these regulations.

The permittee must also submit any additional 
reports specified in the Solid Waste permit.

In addition to paper copies of reports, the 
Department may require all or part of any required report to 
be submitted on machine-readable media in a format 
mutually acceptable to the Department and the permittee. 
With approval of the Department, reports submitted on 
machine-readable media may be substituted for paper 
reports.
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5. Prohibitions
a. The owner or operator of an industrial landfill 

shall not knowingly accept for disposal any hazardous waste.
ab. Open burning of any solid waste is prohibited 

within the active portion of the landfill.         
bc. Scavenging is prohibited on any landfill site.  
cd. No wastes other than those specified in the 

permit may be disposed of at the facility.

J. CLOSURE
1. General

The owner or operator of an industrial landfill must 
close the completed landfill or landfill cell in a manner that:

a. Minimizes the need for further maintenance, 
and 

b. Minimizes the postclosure escape of solid 
waste constituents, leachate, and landfill gases to the surface 
water, ground water, or atmosphere.

2. Required submittals; notification
a. An owner or operator of a new industrial 

landfill must submit a conceptual closure plan for the facility 
at the time of initial (i.e., construction) permit application.  

b. At least 180 days prior to the projected date 
when wastes will no longer be accepted at the landfill or cell, 
the landfill owner or operator shall submit to the Department 
written notification of intent to close the facility or cell, a 
closure plan, and a closure schedule.

c. If the Department determines that the closure 
plan and closure schedule are sufficient to ensure closure in 
accordance with the performance standards described in 
Section 6.J.1, it will modify the solid waste permit to allow 
closure to take place.
 d. The owner or operator shall not commence 
closure activities before receiving the necessary 
modifications to the solid waste permit.

e. A copy of the closure plan must be maintained 
at the facility or at some other location designated by the 
owner or operator through the postclosure care period of the 
facility.

3. Closure plan contents
The closure plan for an industrial landfill or cell 

must include, as a minimum, the following:
a. A description of the methods, procedures, and 

processes that will be used to close a landfill and each 
individual cell thereof in accordance with the closure 
performance standard in Section 6.J.1.

b. A description of the capping system required 
under Section 6.H.  This shall include a description of the 
system design, the type of cover to be used, and a discussion 
of how the capping system will achieve the objectives of 
Section 6.J.1.

c. A description of other activities necessary to 
satisfy the closure performance standard, including, but not 
limited to, the removal or disposal of all nonlandfilled 

wastes located on site (e.g., wastes from landfill runoff 
collection ponds).

d. An estimate of the cost of closing the facility or 
cell and of the cost of postclosure monitoring and 
maintenance throughout the postclosure care period. These 
estimates shall be updated yearly and submitted to the 
Department as part of the annual report described in Section 
6.I.4. 

e. A plan for postclosure care of the facility 
sufficient to ensure that the standards described in Section 
J.1 will be met.  This will include:

(1) A description of the monitoring and 
maintenance activities required and the frequency at which 
these activities will be performed.
 (2) The name, address, and telephone number 
of the person or office to contact about the facility during the 
postclosure period.

(3) A description of the planned uses of the 
property during the postclosure period.

f. A plan for control and/or recovery of landfill 
gases, if appropriate.

A topographical map of the site showing the 
proposed post-closure elevation with reference to mean sea 
level.

A closure construction quality assurance plan.
4. Minimum closure requirements

a. The permittee shall notify the Department at 
least 30 working days prior to commencing closure 
activities. The Department shall inspect the site, and the 
permittee shall perform any corrective work which the 
Department deems necessary.  

b. Finished portions of the landfill shall receive a 
capping system which meets the requirements of Section 
6.H.

c. Finished portions of the landfill shall be 
planted with appropriate vegetation to promote stabilization 
of the cover.  

d. The closure shall be carried out in accordance 
with the approved closure plan and according to the 
approved closure schedule. Any significant deviations from 
the plan or the schedule must be approved by the Department 
prior to being initiated. 

e. Upon closure of an entire landfill, all 
nonlandfilled wastes located on site shall be removed or 
disposed of in a manner approved by the Department.  

f. After closure of the facility, the site shall be 
returned to an acceptable appearance consistent with the 
surrounding area and the intended use of the land.

g. When closure of the landfill or landfill cell is 
completed, the owner or operator shall submit a final report 
for the Department’s approval.  The final report shall certify 
that the closure of the landfill or cell was completed in 
accordance with the closure plan to include the construction 
quality assurance plan, construction and material 
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specifications, and design drawings. The final report shall be 
certified correct by the construction quality assurance 
engineer, who must be a Professional Engineer registered in 
Delaware. The landfill or cell will not be considered closed 
until the Department has provided its written notification 
that the closure construction and the final report meet the 
requirements of the solid waste permit and these regulations. 
The Department will inspect the cell or facility and will 
either:

(1) Issue a letter of approval to certify that the 
site has been closed in accordance with the solid waste 
permit, the closure plan, and all applicable regulations; or

Determine that the site is not in 
compliance with the solid waste permit, the closure plan, or 
applicable regulations; identify the areas of deficiency; and 
require the owner or operator to take the necessary actions to 
bring the site into compliance.

h. Facilities entering the post-closure period will 
be issued a post-closure permit based upon the approved 
post-closure plan, monitoring requirements, gas and leachate 
control, maintenance and corrective actions (if required).

K. POSTCLOSURE CARE
1. General

a. The owner or operator of an industrial landfill 
must continue postclosure care for 30 years after the 
completion of closure.  

b. At any time during the postclosure care period 
the Department may remove one or more of the postclosure 
care requirements described in Section 6, Subsection K.2 
below if it determines that the requirement(s) is/are no 
longer necessary for the protection of human health and the 
environment.

c. At any time after the first five years of the 
postclosure care period, the Department may reduce the 
length of the postclosure care period or terminate postclosure 
care if it determines that such care is no longer necessary.

d. Prior to the time that the postclosure care 
period is due to expire, the Department may extend the 
postclosure care period if it determines that the extended 
period is necessary to protect human health and the 
environment.

e. If at any time during the postclosure care 
period there is evidence of a contaminant release from the 
landfill that presents a significant threat to human health or 
the environment, action to mitigate the threat will be 
required of the owner or operator of the facility. 

2. Minimum postclosure care requirements
Postclosure care shall be in accordance with the 

post-closure permit and shall consist of at least the 
following:

a. Maintaining the integrity and effectiveness of 
the capping system, including making repairs as necessary to 
correct the effects of settling, subsidence, erosion, or other 

events, and preventing runon and runoff from eroding or 
otherwise damaging the cap.

b. Reseeding the cover if insufficient vegetation 
exists to stabilize the surface.  

c. Maintaining and operating the leachate 
collection and treatment systems until the Department 
determines that the leachate no longer poses a threat to 
human health or the environment.  The permittee shall 
submit leachate quantity and quality data to the Department 
for those parameters and at such frequencies as specified by 
the Department.

d. Maintaining and operating the ground water 
monitoring system in accordance with Section 6.G.  The 
permittee shall submit ground water quality data as specified 
by the Department.

e. Maintaining and monitoring the gas control 
system in accordance with Section 6.E and the closure plan. 
The permittee shall submit gas data as specified by the 
Department.

f. Maintaining and monitoring the surface water 
management system in accordance with Section 6.F. 

 3. Prohibitions
  a. Standing water shall not be allowed on the 
closed landfill.

b. Open burning shall not be allowed on the 
closed landfill.

c. Unless approved in advance by the 
Department, no activity shall be conducted on a closed 
landfill which will disturb the integrity of the capping 
system, liner, containment system, or monitoring systems.

d. Access to the closed landfill shall be limited to 
those persons who are engaging in activities which are 
compatible with the intended postclosure use of the site.

4. Postclosure land use
The owner or operator shall implement the 

postclosure land use plan approved by the Department.
5. Notice in Deed to Property

a. The owner of the property on which an 
industrial landfill is located must record a notation on the 
deed to the facility property, or some other instrument that is 
normally examined during title search, that will in perpetuity 
notify any potential purchaser of the property:

(1) The land has been used as a solid waste 
disposal site, and

(2) The use of land is restricted under this 
regulation.

b. Included with the notation shall be a map or 
description clearly specifying the area that was used for 
disposal.

SECTION 7: TRANSPORTERS

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS (applicable to all persons 
transporting solid waste in Delaware)
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1. No person shall transport solid waste, without first 
having obtained a permit from the Department, unless 
specifically exempted by these Regulations. Refer to Section 
4 of these Regulations, PERMIT REQUIREMENTS AND 
ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES.

2. Any vehicle used to transport solid waste shall be 
so constructed or loaded as to prevent its contents from 
dropping, sifting, leaking, or otherwise escaping therefrom, 
in accordance with 21 Del.C. 4371

3. The transporter will be responsible for all costs of 
cleaning up a discharge of solid waste from the vehicle.

4. Compliance with these regulations does not release 
a transporter from the obligation of complying with any 
other applicable laws, regulations or ordinances. 

Additional waste transporter regulations may apply 
to transporters of special wastes, e.g. infectious waste.  Refer 
to Section 11 of these Regulations, SPECIAL WASTES 
MANAGEMENT. 

5. Each vehicle used to transport solid waste and 
required to have a transporter’s permit must carry a copy of 
the permit in the vehicle. The permit must be presented upon 
request to any law enforcement officer or any representative 
of the Department. 

6. Applications to renew an existing solid waste 
transporter permit must be received 90 days prior to the 
expiration date of the current permit. Refer to Section 4.A.6 
of these Regulations, PERMITTING.

76. A written request to transfer a permit must be 
received 90 days prior to the date of the proposed transfer. 
For permit transfer procedures, refer to Section 4.A.8 of 
these Regulations, PERMITTING.

7. Permitted solid waste transporters shall not use 
agents or subcontractors who do not hold permits for 
transporting solid waste.

B. PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO 
TRANSPORTERS (EXCEPT FOR TRANSPORTERS 
OF ONLY DRY WASTE) REQUIRED TO HAVE A 
SOLID WASTE TRANSPORTER’S PERMIT 

1. Applicability
Section 7.B applies to all transportation activities in 

Delaware except the following:
a. Transportation of source separated materials 

for reuse or recycling, provided that the materials remain 
separate throughout the journey and are not recombined for 
transport. 

b. Transportation of household waste generated in 
a Delaware residence and transported by the generator of the 
household waste. 

c. On-site transportation of solid waste (i.e., the 
point of generation and the point of treatment or disposal are 
on the same site and the vehicle transporting the solid waste 
will not at any time leave the site).

d. Transportation of solid waste in a vehicle 

having a gross vehicle weight less than or equal of 26,000 
(twenty-six thousand) pounds.  (This exclusion shall not 
apply to the transportation of infectious waste or waste 
containing asbestos.) For information concerning infectious 
waste vehicle requirements, refer to Section 11 of these 
Regulations SPECIAL WASTES MANAGEMENT, Part 1, - 
Infectious Waste.

e. Transportation of dry waste only (this activity 
is subject to the provisions of Subsection 7.C).  

f. Transportation of solid waste generated on a 
farm in Delaware and transported by the generator of the 
waste (this exclusion shall not apply to the transportation of 
infectious waste, petroleum-hydrocarbon contaminated soils, 
or waste containing asbestos).

2. Instruction and Training
All drivers of solid waste transportation vehicles, 

and all of the transporter’s employees who may handle solid 
waste subject to these regulations, shall receive instruction in 
how to perform transportation duties in a way that ensures 
compliance with all applicable regulations and requirements. 
The instruction shall include, but not necessarily be limited 
to, the following:

a. Knowledge of current DOT Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations. 

b. Safe vehicle operations to avoid creating 
hazards to human health, safety, welfare, or the environment. 

c. Knowledge of proper handling procedures for 
the type of solid waste being transported. 

d. Familiarity with the approved accidental 
discharge containment plan. 

e. Familiarity with the conditions of the solid 
waste transporter’s permit. 

It shall be the responsibility of the transporter 
to ensure that all drivers and other employees that may 
handle solid waste receive instruction as described above as 
frequently as necessary to maintain a level of knowledge that 
will ensure safe operation of the vehicle during 
transportation of the solid waste and proper management of 
an accidental discharge. A description of the driver training 
program shall be included with the permit application.

3. Vehicle Requirements
a. All vehicles used in the transportation of solid 

waste shall be operated and maintained so as to be in 
compliance with all state and federal regulations and not 
present a hazard to human health or the environment through 
unsafe vehicle conditions. The permittee is responsible for 
the operation and maintenance of all vehicles including 
leased vehicles operated under his/her permit. 

b. All vehicles must carry safety and emergency 
equipment in accordance with applicable DOT regulations to 
ensure protection of the public and the environment. 

c. All vehicles must carry spill containment 
materials appropriate to the type of solid waste being 
transported. 
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d. Each vehicle engaged in the transportation of 
solid waste must be fully enclosed or covered to prevent the 
discharge or release of solid waste to the environment. 

e. The transporter’s name shall be prominently 
displayed on both sides of the vehicle in figures at least three 
inches high and of a color that contrasts with the color of the 
vehicle. 

f. The transporters’ permit number shall be 
prominently displayed on both sides and the rear of the 
vehicle in figures at least three inches high and of a color that 
contrasts with the color of the vehicle.  
Proof of Financial Responsibility

4. Proof of financial responsibility for sudden and 
accidental discharges shall be maintained by the transporter. 
This financial responsibility may be established by any one 
or a combination of the following:

a. Automobile liability insurance
(1) For-hire carriers in interstate commerce 

shall at all times maintain insurance coverage that is in 
compliance with 49 CFR Part 387 and shall submit a 
Certificate of Insurance with MCS-90 endorsement 
demonstrating compliance with this regulation. 

(2) Transporters who transport bulk liquid or 
bulk gaseous industrial waste, shall at all times maintain 
commercial automobile liability insurance with a combined 
single limit of at least $750,000 with MCS-90 endorsement 
and shall submit a Certificate of Insurance with MCS-90 
endorsement demonstrating compliance with this regulation.  

(3) Transporters who transport infectious 
waste in interstate commerce shall at all times maintain 
commercial automobile liability insurance with a combined 
single limit of at least $1,000,000 with MCS-90 
endorsement. Transporters who transport infectious waste in 
intrastate commerce shall at all times maintain commercial 
automobile liability insurance with a combined single limit 
of at least $750,000 with MCS-90 endorsement. Infectious 
waste transporters shall submit a Certificate of Insurance 
with MCS-90 endorsement demonstrating compliance with 
this regulation.

(4) All other carriers shall at all times 
maintain commercial automobile liability insurance with a 
combined single limit of at least $350,000 and shall submit a 
Certificate of Insurance demonstrating compliance with this 
regulation.

b. Self insurance equal to or exceeding the above 
automobile liability insurance limits, and approved by the 
Department. 

c. Other proof of financial responsibility 
approved by the Department. 

5. Management of Accidental Discharges
a. All applicants for a permit to transport solid 

waste shall submit to the Department a plan for the 
prevention, control, and cleanup of accidental discharges of 
the solid waste. No permit will be issued to a transporter 

until such a plan has been submitted to and approved by the 
Department.  

b. A copy of the plan shall be maintained in each 
vehicle engaged in the transportation of solid waste.  

c. All accidental discharges of solid waste from a 
vehicle shall be immediately and completely remediated.  If 
the solid waste cannot be immediately and completely 
remediated, or if it has the potential to cause damage to the 
environment or to public health, the discharge shall be 
immediately reported to the Department. (Accidental 
discharges of infectious waste are regulated under Section 
11, Part 1)

d. The transporter will be responsible for all costs 
of remediating a discharge of solid waste from the vehicle.  

6. Recordkeeping
The following records must be retained by the 

transporter for at least three years: 
a. The solid waste transporter’s permit. 
b. Documentation of the training provided to 

drivers. 
c. Insurance documents sufficient to demonstrate 

compliance with Section 7.B.4 of these regulations. 
d. Records of spills or releases of solid waste that 

exceed five (5) pounds or one (1) cubic foot that occur 
during the transportation of solid waste in Delaware, and 
descriptions of the remedial actions taken.  

e. The transporter’s annual report required under 
Section 7.B.7.

7. Reporting and Documentation
a. Each transporter that picks up and/or deposits 

solid waste in Delaware shall submit an annual report on a 
form provided by the Department, summarizing information 
from the preceding calendar year. This report shall be 
submitted to the Department by April 1 of the year following 
the year covered by the report. The information contained in 
the report shall include, but not be limited to, the following:  

(1) Types and weights of solid waste 
transported in, into, or out of the state. 

(2) Actual amounts of solid waste by weight 
and type delivered to each destination when transported to or 
from facilities equipped with truck scales. Amounts may be 
estimated only when truck scales are not available during the 
waste transportation process. 

b. Any vehicle transporting solid waste through 
Delaware shall carry documentation indicating the state in 
which the solid waste was picked up, the date on which it 
was picked up, and the state in which it will be deposited. 

8. Sub-leases and sub-contractors
Sub-leased, and sub-contracted vehicles may 

be included in a transporter permit, under the following 
conditions:

a. The vehicles are listed on the permit 
application or subsequent amendments, with owner and 
operator of the vehicle identified. 
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b. The permittee certifies in writing that 
all information provided in the application or subsequent 
amendments are applicable to the sub-leased and sub-
contracted vehicles, including but not limited to, driver 
training, vehicle requirements, proof of financial 
responsibility, management of accidental discharges, 
recordkeeping, and reporting and documentation.  

c. The permittee certifies that the sub-
leased or sub-contracted vehicles will comply with all permit 
conditions. 

d. Subcontractors shall carry a copy of 
the transporter permit that they are authorized to transport 
under, and a copy of the completed subcontractor form as 
prescribed by the Department, in the vehicle and must 
present proof to any law enforcement officer or 
representative of the Department upon request. 

e. Transporters with denied Delaware 
Solid Waste Transporter Permits may not be listed as a 
subcontractor or sub-lease for a period of one year after their 
denial date.

C. PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO 
TRANSPORTERS OF ONLY DRY WASTE 
REQUIRED TO HAVE A SOLID WASTE 
TRANSPORTERS PERMIT

1. General
No transporter granted a permit to transport only 

dry waste under the requirements of this Subsection (7.C.) 
shall transport any solid waste other than dry waste, as 
defined in these Regulations, without meeting the additional 
requirements for transporting such other solid waste 
contained in these Regulations. 

2. Applicability
The remainder of this Subsection (7.C) applies to 

all transportation activities involving only dry waste in 
Delaware except the following:

a. Transportation of dry waste by a solid waste 
transporter permittee having a permit issued under 
Subsection 7.B of these Regulations. 

b. Transportation of source separated materials 
for reuse or recycling, provided that the materials remain 
separate throughout the journey and are not recombined for 
transport. 

c. Transportation of dry waste generated in a 
Delaware residence and transported by the generator of the 
dry waste.  

d. On-site transportation of dry waste (i.e., the 
point of generation and the point of treatment or disposal are 
on the same site and the vehicle transporting the dry waste 
will not at any time leave the site).  

e. Transportation of dry waste in a vehicle having 
a gross vehicle weight less than or equal to 26,000 (twenty-
six thousand) pounds.  (This exclusion shall not apply to the 
transportation of infectious waste or of waste containing 

asbestos.) For information concerning infectious waste 
vehicle requirements, refer to Section 11 of these 
Regulations, SPECIAL WASTES MANAGEMENT, Part 1 
– Infectious Waste.

3. Vehicle Requirements
a. The transporter’s name shall be prominently 

displayed on both sides of the vehicle in figures at least three 
inches high and of a color that contrasts with the color of the 
vehicle.  

b. The transporter’s permit number shall be 
prominently displayed on both sides and the rear of the 
vehicle in figures at least three inches high and of a color that 
contrasts with the color of the vehicle.  

4. Proof of Financial Responsibility
Proof of financial responsibility for sudden and 

accidental discharges shall be maintained by the transporter. 
This financial responsibility may be established by any one 
or a combination of the following:

a. Automobile liability insurance
(1) For-hire carriers in interstate commerce 

shall at all times maintain insurance coverage that is in 
compliance with 49 CFR Part 387 and shall submit a 
Certificate of Insurance with MCS-90 endorsement 
demonstrating compliance with this regulation. 

(2) Transporters who transport bulk liquid or 
bulk gaseous industrial waste, shall at all times maintain 
commercial automobile liability insurance with a combined 
single limit of at least $750,000 with MCS-90 endorsement 
and shall submit a Certificate of Insurance with MCS-90 
endorsement demonstrating compliance with this regulation.  

(3) Transporters who transport infectious 
waste in interstate commerce shall at all times maintain 
commercial automobile liability insurance with a combined 
single limit of at least $1,000,000 with MCS-90 
endorsement. Transporters who transport infectious waste in 
intrastate commerce shall at all times maintain commercial 
automobile liability insurance with a combined single limit 
of at least $750,000 with MCS-90 endorsement. Infectious 
waste transporters shall submit a Certificate of Insurance 
with MCS-90 endorsement demonstrating compliance with 
this regulation.

(4) All other carriers shall at all times 
maintain commercial automobile liability insurance with a 
combined single limit of at least $350,000 and shall submit a 
Certificate of Insurance demonstrating compliance with this 
regulation. 

b. Self insurance equal to or exceeding the above 
automobile liability insurance limits, and approved by the 
Department. 

c. Other proof of financial responsibility 
approved by the Department. 

5. Recordkeeping
The following records must be retained by the 

transporter for at least three years:
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a. The dry waste transporter’s permit. 
b. The transporter’s Annual Report required 

under Section 7.C.5.
6. Reporting and Documentation

a. Each transporter that picks up and/or deposits 
dry waste in Delaware shall submit an annual report on a 
form provided by the Department, summarizing information 
from the preceding calendar year. This report shall be 
submitted to the Department by April 1 of the following year 
covered by the report. The information contained in the 
report shall include, but not be limited to, the following:  

(1) The weights of dry waste transported in, 
into, or out of the state during the year. 

(2) Actual amounts of solid waste by weight 
and type delivered to each destination when transported to or 
from facilities equipped with truck scales. Amounts may be 
estimated only when truck scales are not available during the 
waste transportation process.  

b. Any vehicle transporting dry waste through 
Delaware shall carry documentation indicating the state in 
which the dry waste was picked up, the date on which it was 
picked up, and the state in which it will be deposited. 

7. Sub-lease and sub-contractors
Sub-leased and sub-contracted vehicles may be 

included in a transporter permit, under the following 
conditions:

a. The vehicles are listed on the permit 
application or subsequent amendments, with owner and 
operator of the vehicle identified.  

b. The permittee certifies in writing that all 
information provided in the application or subsequent 
amendments are applicable to the sub-leased and sub-
contracted vehicles, including but not limited to, driver 
training, vehicle requirements, proof of financial 
responsibility, management of accidental discharges, 
recordkeeping, and reporting and documentation.  

c. The permittee certifies that the sub-leased or 
sub-contracted vehicles will comply with all permit 
conditions.  

d. Subcontractors shall carry a copy of the 
transporter permit that they are authorized to transport under, 
and a copy of the completed subcontractor form as 
prescribed by the Department, and must present proof to any 
law enforcement officer or representative of the Department 
upon request.

e. Transporters with denied Delaware Solid 
Waste Transporter Permits may not be listed as a 
subcontractor or sub-lease for a period of one year after their 
denial date.

SECTION 8: RESERVED

SECTION 9: RESOURCE RECOVERY 
FACILITIES

A. APPLICABILITY
This section applies to:

1. Materials recovery facilities, and 
2. Thermal recovery facilities.

B. SITING
1. Resource recovery facilities shall be located only in 

areas where the potential for degradation of the quality of air, 
land, and water is minimal.

2. No new resource recovery facility shall be located 
in an area such that solid waste would at any time be 
handled:

a. Within the 100 year flood plain.
b. Within any state or federal wetland.
c. Within 1000 feet of any state or federal wildlife 

refuge, wildlife area, or park.
d. So as to be in conflict with any locally adopted 

land use plan or zoning requirement.
In addition, any facility that processes 

municipal solid waste shall not be located within 10,000 feet 
of any airport currently used by turbojet aircraft or 5,000 feet 
of any airport runway currently used by pistontype aircraft, 
unless a waiver is granted by the Federal Aviation 
Administration.

C. DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION
1. Applicants wishing to construct and operate 

resource recovery facilities will be encouraged to design the 
facilities so that they are capable of removing and recycling 
those materials for which recycling is currently technically 
and economically feasible. The design should allow for 
future alteration or upgrading to accomplish removal of 
additional materials as recycling of these materials becomes 
feasible.  

2. The plans and specifications for a proposed 
resource recovery facility shall be prepared and certified by a 
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware and shall be 
submitted as a part of the Solid Waste Management Facility 
permit application. 

3. Construction and installation activities for new 
facilities shall be carried out in accordance with a thirdparty 
quality assurance plan approved by the Department. 
Expansions or alterations of existing facilities shall be 
carried out in accordance with an approved third-party 
quality assurance plan if deemed necessary by the 
Department.

4. Minimum design requirements
a. All new resource recovery facilities shall be 

designed to include the following features, as a minimum:
(1) A setback area with appropriate screening.
(2) A means to detect explosion potential and 
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equipment designed to minimize the impact of explosion (if 
the solid waste to be handled and the equipment to be used 
have the potential of causing explosion).

(3) A means for maintaining quality control of 
recovered materials.

(4) Storage capacity for a minimum of three 
days of storage (at maximum anticipated loading rates) of 
incoming solid waste, facility process solid waste residues 
and effluents, and recovered materials.  The storage areas 
must be within enclosed structures if deemed necessary by 
the Department.

(5) Tipping floors, sorting pads, and solid 
waste storage areas constructed of material capable of 
withstanding heavy vehicle usage and of reducing and 
controlling runoff.

(6) A completely enclosed unloading area, if 
deemed necessary by the Department.

(7) Adequate floor drains graded to facilitate 
washdown and to prevent standing water.  Drains shall 
discharge to a sanitary sewer system, holding tank, or 
appropriate treatment facility.

(8) Surface water and erosion controls. 
(9) An auxiliary power system sized to enable 

emergency shut down of the facility to occur without causing 
irreparable damage to the equipment. 

(10) Control mechanisms to minimize and 
contain accidental spillage of reagents, lubricants, or other 
liquids used as well as residues generated.

(11) A fire detection and protection system 
capable of detecting, controlling, and extinguishing any fires 
that may occur as a result of facility operation.

(12) A fence or other security system that will 
prevent access to the site by unauthorized persons.

(13) A means for weighing or measuring all 
incoming solid waste, all recyclable materials recovered 
from the waste, and all residues generated at the facility.

D. OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE 
STANDARDS

1. All new and existing resource recovery facilities 
shall comply with this section.

General
a. Facilities shall be operated in a manner that 

will preclude degradation of land, air, surface water, or 
ground water.

b. All facilities shall be operated and maintained 
to conform with the approved Plan of Operation submitted at 
the time of permit application and approved by the 
Department.

2. Details of operation and maintenance
a. Unloading of solid waste
Unloading of solid waste shall take place only at 

clearly marked unloading areas. 
b. Storage and handling

(1) External storage of solid waste containing 
garbage is prohibited.  No solid waste shall be stored in such 
a manner that the storage area or the solid waste becomes a 
nuisance or endangers human health or the environment.

(2) All solid waste passing through the facility 
must ultimately be recycled or be disposed of at a solid waste 
facility authorized to accept that type of solid waste.

(3) Solid waste delivered to the facility shall 
be processed within the time limit specified by the 
Department.

(4) Nonputrescible recyclable materials may 
be stored for up to 30 days. The storage period may be 
increased, with written approval of the Department, if all of 
the following conditions are met:

(a) there is a demonstrated need to do so 
(e.g., a market agreement with terms of receipt based on 
greater than 30 day intervals or volumes that may take longer 
than 30 days to acquire);

(b) there is sufficient Department 
approved storage area; 

(c) an inventory methodology is used to 
ensure that the recyclables do not remain on the site for 
longer than the specified time period; and

(d) the inventory methodology is 
provided to and approved by the Department before storage 
begins.

c. Control of nuisances and hazards
Litter:  The permittee shall provide for routine 

maintenance and general cleanliness of the entire site, as 
well as litter removal along roads approaching the site. 

Air Pollution:  The operation of the facility 
shall comply with 7 Del.C. Ch. 60, and with the Regulations 
Governing the Control of Air Pollution.

Vectors: The permittee shall implement a 
vector control plan to prevent the establishment of habitats 
for nuisance organisms (e.g., flies, maggots, roaches, 
rodents, and similar vermin) and to mitigate nuisances and 
hazards to human health and the environment.

Fire:  Equipment shall be available on site to 
control fires, and arrangements shall be made with the local 
fire protection agency to provide immediate services when 
needed.

If deemed necessary by the Department, a 
separate area shall be provided for temporary placement of 
hot loads received at the facility.  The hot load area shall be 
located away from trees, bushes, and structures, and loads 
shall be extinguished immediately upon unloading.

 d. Access
Access roads to the point of solid waste 

discharge shall be designed, constructed, and maintained so 
that traffic will flow smoothly and will not be interrupted by 
inclement weather.

Access to the site shall be limited to those 
times when an attendant is on duty and to those persons 
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authorized to deliver solid waste to the site.  This section 
shall not be construed to limit right of pursuant to 7 Del.C. 
6024.

e. Personnel
Sufficient types and numbers of trained 

personnel shall be available at the site to insure capability for 
operation in accordance with these regulations.

The facility shall be operated under the close 
supervision of an individual who is thoroughly familiar with 
the requirements and operational procedures of the facility 
and is experienced in matters of solid waste management.  

All thermal recovery facilities shall be operated 
under the direct supervision of an individual who has 
successfully completed a training course on use of the 
specific equipment installed at the facility.

f. Health and safety
Employees at the site shall work under all 

appropriate health and safety guidelines established by the 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

First aid equipment shall be available at the 
site.

g. Equipment
Adequate numbers and types of equipment 

commensurate with the size of the operation shall be 
available at the site to insure operation of the facility in 
accordance with the provisions of these regulations and the 
plan of operation.  All solid waste handling equipment shall 
be cleaned routinely and maintained according to the 
manufacturer's recommendations.

All processing equipment shall be operated by 
persons thoroughly trained in the proper operation of the 
equipment and shall be maintained in good working order.

h. Disposal of process residues and of solid waste 
that cannot be processed by the facility

(1) Unless specified otherwise in writing by 
the Department, all residues generated by the operation of a 
facility shall, within three days of generation, be disposed of, 
used, or treated in a manner that is consistent with state and 
federal regulations.  

(2) Unless specified otherwise in writing by 
the Department, all solid waste that is delivered to the 
facility but that cannot be processed at the facility shall, 
within three days of receipt, be removed from the facility for 
disposal, use, or treatment in a manner that is consistent with 
state and federal regulations.

3. Recordkeeping
The following information must be recorded in a 

timely manner and the records retained by the owner or 
operator for at least three years: 

a. Types and weight or volume of solid waste 
received.

b. Weight or volume of each material 
recycled or marketed.

c. A record of the commercial solid waste 

haulers (company name, address, and telephone number) 
using the facility, and the type and weight or volume of solid 
waste delivered by each hauler to the facility each day.

d. Process monitoring data.
e. Characterization testing of recyclable 

materials.
f. Weight or volume of unprocessable solid 

wastes and of process residues, and location of ultimate 
disposal of these materials.

g. Characterization testing of process 
residues to determine the quality for possible marketing or 
BTU value.

h. A record of fires, spills, and uncontrolled 
releases that occur at the facility, and of hot loads received.

i. Documentation of training provided to 
employees.

j. Fire and safety inspections.
k. Major equipment maintenance.
l. Any additional records specified by the 

Department.
4. Reporting

a. The permittee shall submit to the Department 
on an annual basis a report summarizing facility operations 
for the preceding calendar year. The report shall be on a form 
prescribed by the Department and shall describe and 
summarize all solid waste processing, environmental 
monitoring, and construction activities conducted within the 
year covered by the report.  The report shall include, but not 
necessarily be limited to, the following:

(1) Types and weight or volume of solid waste 
received.

(2) Weight or volume of each material 
recycled or marketed, and identification of the markets.

(3) Weight or volume of unprocessable solid 
wastes and of process residues, and location of ultimate 
disposal of these materials. 

(4) A complete list of commercial haulers that 
delivered solid waste to the facility during the year.

(5) A discussion of the feasibility of recycling 
materials that are currently being received at the facility but 
are not being recycled.

(6) Descriptions of any intentional or 
accidental deviations from the approved Plan of Operation. 

(7) Descriptions of all construction or 
corrective work conducted on the site in accordance with 
approved plans or to achieve compliance with these 
regulations.

(8) Results of characterization testing of 
recyclable materials and process residues.

(9) Any additional information specified by 
the Department.

b. The permittee shall immediately notify the 
Department if any of the following occurs:

(1) A shut down that results in solid waste 
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being diverted from the facility.
(2) A fire. 
(3) A spill or nonpermitted release.

E. CLOSURE
1. General

When a resource recovery facility ceases accepting 
solid waste, all of the solid waste on site shall be removed 
and the facility shall be closed in a manner that will 
eliminate the need for further maintenance at the site.

2. Required submittals; notification
a. An owner or operator of a resource recovery 

facility must submit a conceptual closure plan at the time of 
initial application for a Solid Waste Management Facility 
Permit.

b. At least 180 days prior to the projected date 
when solid waste will no longer be accepted at the facility, 
the owner or operator shall submit to the Department all of 
the items listed in Section 4.D.1.b 4.D.3.  Closure activities 
shall not commence until the Department has:

given public notice regarding the closure 
activity and the opportunity for a public hearing as provided 
in 7 Del.C. Ch. 60,

approved in writing an updated closure 
plan and closure schedule. 

For additional information on the public notice 
procedure see section 4.A.2 of these regulations.

c. A copy of the closure plan must be maintained 
at the facility or at some other location designated by the 
owner or operator until closure has been completed.

3. Closure plan contents
The closure plan for a resource recovery facility 

must include, as a minimum, the following:
a. A description of the methods, procedures, and 

processes that will be used to close the facility, including 
provisions that will be made for the proper disposal of all 
solid waste that is on the site when operations cease.

b. An estimate of the cost of closing the facility. 
This estimate shall be updated yearly and submitted to the 
Department as a part of the annual report described in 
Section 9.D.4.

c. A description of the planned postclosure use of 
the property.

4. Minimum closure requirements 
a. Closure shall be carried out in accordance with 

the approved closure plan.
b. Closure must be complete within one year after 

the date on which the Department issued the approved 
closure plan and closure schedule.

c. When closure is completed, the owner or 
operator must submit to the Department certification by a 
Professional Engineer registered in Delaware that the facility 
has been closed in accordance with the specifications in the 
approved closure plan.

d. When closure has been completed to the 
satisfaction of the Department, the Department will issue a 
letter indicating that closure has occurred in accordance with 
the closure plan.

e. After closure has been completed, the 
Department may require that the permittee conduct 
monitoring and/or maintenance activities at the site to 
prevent or detect and mitigate any adverse environmental or 
health impacts. 

SECTION 10: TRANSFER STATIONS

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
1. Applicability

a. This section applies to all solid waste transfer 
stations in Delaware. Additional requirements may apply to 
transfer stations handling special solid wastes, such as 
infectious waste.

b. Compliance with these regulations does not 
release the owner or operator of a transfer station from the 
obligation of complying with any other applicable laws, 
regulations, or ordinances.

2. Exclusions
The following types of facilities are not considered 

to be transfer stations:
a. Facilities that accept only source separated 

materials for the purpose of recycling those materials.
b. Facilitles permitted as Mmaterials recovery 

facilities.
c. Small load collection areas located at permitted 

landfill sites.
d. Individual dumpsters used for waste generated 

on site (e.g., at shopping centers, apartment complexes or 
commercial establishments).

e. Compaction equipment being used exclusively 
for solid waste generated on site (e.g., in office or apartment 
complexes, industrial facilities, or shopping centers).

f. Temporary debris collection and reduction sites 
established by Delaware Emergency Management Authority 
(DEMA) as the result of a natural or man-made disaster 
event.  The exclusion shall apply provided the sites are 
established in accordance with the applicable DEMA Debris 
Management Plan, and meet the substantive requirements of 
this section.  The exclusion shall last no longer than ninety 
(90) days from the start of accumulation of wastes at the 
temporary debris collection and reduction site.  A written 
record shall be required to document accumulation of debris 
at each site.

B. SITING
1. Transfer stations shall be located only in areas 

where the potential for degradation of the quality of air, land, 
and water is minimal. 

2. Transfer stations shall be located adjacent to access 
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roads capable of withstanding anticipated load limits.
3. No new transfer station shall be located in an area 

such that solid waste would at any time be handled:           
a. Within the 100-year flood plain.
b. Within any state or federal wetland.
c. So as to be in conflict with any locally adopted 

land use plan or zoning requirement.

C. DESIGN
1. General

The plans and specifications for a proposed transfer 
station shall be prepared and certified by a Professional 
Engineer registered in Delaware and shall be submitted as a 
part of the transfer station permit application.

2. Minimum design requirements
All transfer stations shall be designed to include at 

least the following:
a. A leachate collection and disposal system as 

described in Section 10.D.
b. A means for weighing or measuring all solid 

waste handled at the facility.
c. Tipping and loading areas contained within 

structures capable of preventing the development of 
nuisance conditions (e.g., odors, litter, dust, rodents, insects) 
if these areas will be within 300 feet of a commercial, 
institutional, or residential structure that is designed for 
human occupancy and that is in existence at the time of 
initial permit application.  If tipping and loading areas will 
not be within 300 feet of a structure designed for human 
occupancy, the permittee shall evaluate the impact to the 
surrounding area of handling the solid waste in a 
nonenclosed facility. In addition, the permittee shall evaluate 
the need for exhaust systems in enclosed areas and shall 
install such systems if necessary for the protection of human 
health.

d. A means to prevent vehicles from backing into 
the pit while unloading.

e. Onsite roads designed to accommodate 
projected traffic flow in a safe and efficient manner.

f. Separate access for passenger vehicles, if both 
commercial and passenger vehicles are using the facility.

g. A fence or other security system that will 
prevent access to the site by unauthorized persons.

D. LEACHATE COLLECTION AND DISPOSAL
1. All transfer stations shall be designed and 

constructed to include a leachate collection and disposal 
system that will prevent leachate (including wastewater 
generated during normal operation such as washout and 
cleaning of equipment, trucks, and floors) from 
contaminating the soil, surface water, or ground water.

2. The leachate collection and disposal system must 
be approved in advance by the Department and shall consist 
of one, or a combination, of the following:

a. Tipping, loading, and unloading areas 
constructed of impervious material and equipped with drains 
connected to either:

(1) a sanitary sewer system, or
(2) a corrosionresistant holding tank.
If the tipping, loading, and unloading areas are 

not enclosed, the piping and drains to the sewer system or 
holding tank shall be sized to handle, at a minimum, the 
runoff that would result from a 2-hour 10-year storm.

b. Containers and compaction units constructed 
of durable impervious material and equipped with covers 
that will minimize the entrance of precipitation.

Alternate designs may be used with prior 
written approval of the Department if the applicant can show 
that they will prevent leachate from contaminating the soil, 
surface water, and ground water.

E. OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE 
STANDARDS

1. General
a. Transfer stations shall be operated in a manner 

that will preclude degradation of land, air, surface water, or 
ground water.

b. Transfer stations shall be maintained and 
operated to conform with the Plan of Operation submitted at 
the time of permit application and approved by the 
Department.

2. Details of operation and maintenance     
a. Storage of solid waste

Solid waste shall not remain at the transfer 
station for more than 72 hours without the written approval 
of the Department.  Any solid waste that is to be kept at the 
site overnight shall be stored in an impervious enclosed 
structure. 

b. Disposition of solid waste leaving the facility 
All solid waste accepted at the transfer station 

must, upon leaving the transfer station, be delivered to a 
processing or disposal facility authorized by the Department 
(or by the appropriate environmental agency, if outside of 
Delaware) to accept that type of waste.

c. Control of nuisances and hazards
Litter

The permittee shall provide for routine 
maintenance and general cleanliness of the entire site, as 
well as litter removal along roads approaching the site if 
accumulations of litter along the approach roads are clearly 
the result of the operation of the transfer station.

Vectors
The permittee shall implement a vector 

control plan to prevent the establishment of habitats for 
nuisance organisms (e.g., flies, maggots, roaches, rodents, 
and similar vermin) and to mitigate nuisances and hazards to 
human health and the environment. 

Air Pollution
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The operation of the transfer station shall 
comply with 7 Del.C. Ch. 60 and the Regulations Governing 
the Control of Air Pollution.

Fire
Equipment shall be available on site to 

control fires, and arrangements shall be made with the local 
fire protection agency to provide immediate services when 
needed. 

If deemed necessary by the Department, a 
separate area shall be provided for temporary placement of 
hot loads received at the facility.  The hot load area shall be 
located away from trees, bushes, and structures, and loads 
shall be extinguished immediately upon unloading. 

d. Access
Access to the site shall be limited to those 

times when an attendant is on duty and to those persons 
authorized to use the site for the disposal of solid waste. 
This section shall not be construed to limit right of entry 
pursuant to 7 Del.C. 6024. 

e. Personnel 
Sufficient numbers and types of personnel shall 

be available at the site to insure capability for operation in 
accordance with these regulations.     

f. Health and safety
Employees at the site shall work under all 

appropriate health and safety guidelines established by the 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. 

First aid equipment shall be available at the 
site. 

g. Equipment
Adequate numbers and types of equipment 

commensurate with the size of the operation shall be 
available at the site to insure operation of the facility in 
accordance with the provisions of these regulations and the 
plan of operation. All waste handling equipment shall be 
cleaned routinely and maintained according to the 
manufacturer's recommendations.

3. Recordkeeping
The following information must be recorded in a 

timely manner and the records retained by the owner or 
operator for at least three years:

a. A record of the solid waste commercial 
haulers (company name, address, and telephone number) 
using the facility and the type and weight or volume of solid 
waste delivered by each hauler to the transfer station each 
day.

b. A record of the type and weight or volume 
of solid waste delivered from the transfer station to its final 
destination each day.

c. A record of fires, spills, and uncontrolled 
releases that occur at the facility, and of hot loads received. 

d. Fire and safety inspections. 
e. Major equipment maintenance. 

          f. Destination of the solid waste. 

4. Reporting
a. The permittee shall submit to the Department 

on an annual basis a report summarizing facility operations 
for the preceding calendar year.  The due date for this annual 
report will be specified in the facility's permit.  The report 
shall be on a form acceptable to the Department and shall 
describe and summarize all environmental monitoring and 
construction activities conducted within the year covered by 
the report. The report shall include, but not necessarily be 
limited to, the following:  

(1) Type and weight or volume of waste 
received. 
 (2) A complete list of commercial haulers that 
hauled waste to or from the facility during the year covered 
by the report.

(3) Destination of the solid waste and the type 
and weight or volume of waste delivered to the destination.

(4) Descriptions of any intentional or 
accidental deviations from the approved Plan of Operation.

(5) Descriptions of all construction or 
corrective work conducted on the site in accordance with 
approved plans or to achieve compliance with these 
regulations. 

(6) An updated estimate of the cost of closing 
the facility.

(7) Any additional information specified by 
the Department. 

b. The owner or operator shall notify the 
Department immediately if either of the following occurs:

(1) A fire that requires the services of a fire 
protection agency.

(2) A spill or uncontrolled release that may 
endanger human health or the environment.

5. Prohibitions
a. No liquids, other than those used to disinfect, 

to suppress dust, or to absorb or cover odors from the solid 
waste, shall be added to the solid waste.

b. Open burning is prohibited on any transfer 
station site.

c. Scavenging is prohibited at any transfer 
station.

F. CESSATION AND CLOSURE 
1. General

When a transfer station ceases accepting solid 
waste, all of the waste on site shall be removed and the 
facility shall be closed in a manner that will eliminate the 
need for further maintenance at the site.

2. Required submittals; notification
a. An owner or operator of a new transfer station 

must submit a conceptual closure plan at the time of initial 
permit application.  Any person desiring to close a transfer 
station shall, at least 90 days before the date on which the 
facility will stop accepting waste, submit the following to the 
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Department:
(1) Written notification of intent to close
(2) Updated closure plan, and
(3) Closure schedule.

b. At least 60 90 days prior to the date when 
waste will no longer be accepted at the facility, the owner or 
operator shall submit to the Department all of the items listed 
in Section 4.E.1.b 10.F.2.a. Closure activities shall not 
commence until the Department has:

(1) certified in writing that the closure plan 
and schedule are complete in accordance with the 
requirements of these regulations;

(2) given public notice regarding the closure 
activity and the opportunity for a public hearing as provided 
in 7 Del.C. Ch. 60, approved in writing an updated closure 
plan and closure schedule. 

(3) For additional information on the public 
notice procedure see section 4.A.2 of these regulations.

(4) if a hearing has been requested, considered 
any comments received concerning the closure plan;

(5) modified the permit to allow closure to 
take place.

For additional information on the public 
notice procedure see section 4.A.2 of these regulations.

c. A copy of the approved closure plan must be 
maintained at the facility or at some other location 
designated by the owner or operator until closure has been 
completed.

3. Closure plan contents
The closure plan for a transfer station must include, 

as a minimum, the following:
a. A description of the methods, procedures, and 

processes that will be used to close the transfer station, 
including provisions that will be made for the proper 
disposal of all waste that is on the site when operations 
cease.

b. An estimate of the cost of closing the facility. 
This estimate shall be updated yearly and submitted to the 
Department as a part of the annual report described in 
Section 10.E.4.a (6).

c. A plan for postclosure care of the facility if 
such care would be necessary to protect human health and 
the environment.

d. A description of the planned postclosure use of 
the property.

(e) A copy of the approved closure plan must be 
maintained at the facility or at some other location 
designated by the owner or operator until closure has been 
completed.

4. Minimum closure requirements 
a. Closure shall be carried out in accordance with 

the approved closure plan and the modified permit.
b. Closure must be complete within six months 

after the date on which the Department issued the approved 

closure plan and closure schedule.
c. When closure has been completed to the 

satisfaction of the Department, the Department will issue a 
letter indicating that closure has occurred in accordance with 
the closure plan.

d. After closure has been completed, the 
Department may require that the permittee conduct 
monitoring and/or maintenance activities at the site to 
prevent or detect and mitigate any adverse environmental or 
health impacts. 

SECTION 11: SPECIAL WASTES MANAGEMENT

PART 1 Infectious Waste

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
1. All generators of infectious waste shall obtain an 

Infectious Waste Identification Number by registering with 
the Department for each site or location that generates 
infectious waste.  When more than one person (i.e., 
physicians with separate medical practices) is located in the 
same building, each individual business entity shall be 
considered a separate generator for purpose of these 
regulations.  Registration shall be submitted on a form 
provided by the Department.

2. No person shall engage in the construction, 
operation, material alteration, or closure of a facility to be 
used in the treatment, storage, or disposal of infectious 
wastes, unless specifically exempted from the regulations 
within Section 2.C., without first having obtained the proper 
permits from the Department.  

3. All infectious waste must be packaged in 
accordance with these regulations.

B. SITING  
1. Infectious waste treatment facilities shall be located 

only in areas where the potential for degradation of the 
quality of air, land, and water is minimal.

2. Infectious waste treatment facilities shall be located 
adjacent to access roads capable of withstanding anticipated 
load limits. 

3. No new infectious waste treatment facility shall be 
located in an area such that solid waste would at any time be 
handled:

a. Within the 100 year flood plain.
b. Within any state or federal wetland. 
c. So as to be in conflict with any locally adopted 

land use plan or zoning requirement.

C. DEFINITIONS
In addition to the definitions in Section 3 of these 

regulations, Tthe following definitions are specific to the 
management of infectious waste as used in this part.  For 
general definitions relating to other types of solid waste and 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1488
the management of solid waste, refer to Section 3 of these 
regulations.

"6-LOG REDUCTION" means a 6 decade reduction or 
a millionth (.000001) survival probability in a microbial 
population, i.e., a 99.9999% reduction. 

"ATCC" means American Type Culture Collection.
"AUTOCLAVE TAPE" means tape that demonstrates 

an evidentiary visible physical change when subjected to 
temperatures that will provide evidence of sterilization of 
materials during treatment in an autoclave or similar device.

"CFU" means colony-forming unit.
"CHALLENGE LOADS" means an infectious waste 

load that has been constructed by composition (i.e., organic 
content, moisture content, or other physical or chemical 
composition).

"CLASS 4 ETIOLOGIC AGENT" means a 
pathogenic agent that is extremely hazardous to laboratory 
personnel or that may cause serious epidemic disease. Class 
4 etiologic agents include the following viral agents:

• Alastrim, Smallpox, Monkey pox, and Whitepox 
(when used for transmission or animal inoculation 
experiments).

• Hemorrhagic fever agents (including Crimean 
hemorrhagic fever (Congo), Junin, and Machupo 
viruses, and others not yet defined). 

• Herpesvirus simiae (Monkey B virus)
• Lassa virus
• Marburg virus
• Tick-borne encephalitis virus complex (including 

Absettarov, Hanzalova, HYPR, Kumlinge, Russian 
spring-summer encephalitis, Kyasanur forest 
disease, Omsk hemorrhagic fever and Central 
European encephalitis viruses)

• Venezuelan equine encephalitis virus (epidemic 
strains, when used for transmission or animal 
inoculation experiments)

• Yellow fever virus (wild, when used for 
transmission or animal inoculation experiments)

"CONTAINER" means any portable enclosure in 
which a material is stored, managed or transported.

"CONTAMINATION" means the degradation of 
naturally occurring water, air or soil quality either directly or 
indirectly as a result of the transfer of diseased organisms, 
blood or other matter that may contain disease organisms 
from one material or object to another.

"ETIOLOGIC AGENTS": see "INFECTIOUS 
SUBSTANCE" 

"GENERATOR" means hospital, in or out patient 
clinics, laboratories, medical offices, dental offices, nursing 
homes, and inpatient residential facilities serving persons 
with diseases which may be transmitted through contact with 
infectious waste as well as veterinary facilities and research 
laboratories operating within the State of Delaware. any 
person whose act or process produces infectious waste as 

defined in these regulations, or whose act first causes an 
infectious waste to become subject to regulation.  The 
universe of infectious waste generators includes, but is not 
limited to,  hospitals, physicians’ offices, dental offices, 
veterinary practices, funeral homes, research or medical 
laboratories, and nursing homes.

"INCINERATOR" means any enclosed device used to 
destroy waste material by using controlled flame 
combustion.

"INDICATOR MICROORGANISM SPORES" 
means those microorganism spores listed in Appendix A, 
Table B of Section 11, Part 1.

"INFECTIOUS SUBSTANCE" (formerly called 
"ETIOLOGIC AGENTS") means a viable microorganism, 
or its toxin, which causes or may cause disease in humans or 
animals, and includes any agent that causes or may cause 
severe, disabling, or fatal disease.  The terms infectious 
substance and etiologic agent are synonymous.

"INFECTIOUS WASTE" means those solid wastes 
which may cause human disease and may reasonably be 
suspected of harboring human pathogenic organisms, or may 
pose a substantial present or potential hazard to human 
health or the environment when improperly treated, stored, 
transported, disposed of or otherwise managed.  Types of 
solid wastes designated as infectious include but are not 
necessarily limited to the following:

1. Biological wastes: 
a. Biological liquid wastes means blood and 

blood products, excretions, exudates, secretions, suctionings 
and other body fluids including liquid wastes from renal 
dialysis. 

b. Pathological wastes means all human 
tissues and anatomical remains, including human fetal 
remains, which emanate from surgery, obstetrical 
procedures, autopsy, and laboratory procedures. 

c. Cultures and stocks of etiologic agents 
and associated biological wastes means, but is not limited 
to, specimen cultures, cultures and stocks of infectious 
substances, and wastes from production of biologicals and 
serums. 

d. Laboratory wastes means those wastes 
which have come in contact with pathogenic organisms or 
blood or body fluids.   Such wastes include, but are not 
limited to, disposable materials, culture dishes, devices used 
to transfer, inoculate and mix cultures, paper and cloth which 
has come in contact with specimens or cultures which have 
not been sterilized or rendered noninfectious; or laboratory 
wastes, including cultures of infectious substances, which 
pose a substantial threat to health due to their volume and 
virulence. 

e. Animal tissue, bedding and other waste
from animals known or suspected to be infected with a 
pathogen which also causes human disease, provided that 
prevailing evidence indicates that such tissue, bedding or 
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other waste may act as a vehicle of transmission to humans.  
f. Human dialysis waste materials

including blood lines and dialysate membranes. 
2. Sharps means any discarded article that may 

cause puncture or cuts.  Such wastes include, but are not 
limited to, needles, intravenous (IV) tubing with needles 
attached, scalpel blades, glassware and syringes that have 
been removed from their original sterile containers.  For the 
purpose of these regulations, only sharps from human or 
animal health care facilities, human or animal research 
facilities or human or animal pharmaceutical manufacturing 
facilities shall be regulated as sharps.

3. Discarded Biologicals means serums and 
vaccines produced by pharmaceutical companies for human 
or veterinary use.  These products may be discarded because 
of a bad manufacturing lot (i.e., offspecification material that 
does not pass quality control or that is recalled), outdating or 
removal of the product from the market or other reasons. 
Because of the possible presence of infectious substances in 
these products, the discarded material constitutes infectious 
waste. 

4. Isolation Wastes means discarded materials 
contaminated with blood, excretions, exudates and/or 
secretions from humans who are isolated to protect others 
from highly communicable diseases (those diseases 
identified as caused by Class 4 etiologic agents).

5. Other infectious wastes means any residue or 
contaminated soil, water, or other debris resulting from the 
cleanup of a spill of any infectious waste. 

"LARGE INCINERATOR" means an incinerator 
which has a capacity of greater than 1000 pounds per hour.

“LARGE QUANTITY GENERATOR” means 
generators of infectious waste who generate 50 pounds or 
more of infectious waste per month.

"LOG KILL" (L) means the difference between the 
logarithms of viable test microorganisms or indicator 
microorganism spores before and after treatment. 

"MANIFEST" means a tracking document designed to 
record the movement of solid waste from the generator 
through its trip with a transporter to an approved offsite 
treatment or disposal facility.

"NONINFECTIOUS" means a state in which 
potentially harmful microorganisms are absent, free of 
pathogens.

"RED BAG" means an impermeable, 3-mil 
polyethylene bag or equivalent, red in color, for the 
collection, storage, and transport of infectious or regulated 
medical waste, which meets the following minimum 
performance requirements:

1. Appearance: opaque, red. Each bag must carry 
the words "INFECTIOUS WASTE" or "REGULATED 
MEDICAL WASTE" or "BIOHAZARD" in one-inch 
(minimum) letters and carry the Biological Hazard Symbol.

2. Dart Impact, F50: 100 grams minimum.

3. Elmendorf Tear: 380 grams minimum (any 
direction).

4. Heavy metals: 100 ppm maximum combined 
total.

"REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE" means 
"INFECTIOUS WASTE".

"SHIPMENT" means that waste which is conveyed by 
a transporter between a generator and a designated facility or 
a subsequent transporter.

"SMALL INCINERATOR" means an incinerator 
which has a capacity equal to or less than 1000 pounds per 
hour.

"SMALL QUANTITY GENERATOR" means a 
private practice physician, dentist, veterinarian and any other 
generator of infectious waste in which three or fewer 
professionals are in the practice and generates less than 50 
pounds per month; or a generator who can demonstrate that 
their facility generates less than 50 pounds per month of 
infectious waste generators of infectious waste who generate 
less than 50 pounds of infectious waste per month.

"STORAGE AREA" means an area designated for the 
holding of waste for a temporary period, at the end of which 
time the waste is treated, disposed of, or stored elsewhere.

"TEST MICROORGANISMS" means those 
microorganisms listed in Appendix A, Table B of Section 11, 
Part 1. 

D. EXEMPTIONS
1. The following solid wastes are not to be managed 

as infectious wastes:
1. Soiled diapers and feminine hygiene items 

produced by a person not known to have an infectious 
disease; 

2. Wastes contaminated only with organisms 
which are not pathogenic to humans, and which are managed 
in accordance with all applicable regulations of the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture and the Delaware Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services and all other regulations 
governing this type of waste stream;

3. Food wastes which are pathogenic to humans 
only through direct ingestion;

4. Any infectious waste contaminated by, 
coincinerated with, or mixed with hazardous, radioactive or 
toxic waste becomes a hazardous, radioactive or toxic waste 
and shall then be managed under the appropriate regulations 
governing those waste types (7 Del.C. Ch. 63, 7 Del.C. Ch. 
80 and any applicable federal regulations);

5. Waste consisting of human anatomical 
remains, including human fetal remains, managed by a 
licensed funeral director;

6. Bed linen, instruments, equipment and other 
reusable items are not wastes until they are discarded. This 
part and these regulations apply only to wastes. The 
regulations do not include the sterilization for disinfection of 
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items that are reused for their original purpose. Therefore, 
the method of sterilization or disinfection of items prior to 
reuse is not limited. When reusable items are no longer 
serviceable and are discarded, they become wastes and 
subject to these regulations at that time and must be 
sterilized by steam, incinerated, or otherwise rendered 
noninfectious;

7. Waste generated by Delaware households;
8. Ash from incineration of infectious waste once 

the incineration process has been completed;
9. Residues from treatment and destruction 

processes of infectious waste once the waste has been both 
treated and destroyed;

10. Samples of infectious waste transported off-
site by EPA or State-designated enforcement personnel for 
enforcement purposes are excepted from the requirements of 
this part during the enforcement proceeding; and

11. Biological liquid wastes which are directly 
discharged into a permitted wastewater treatment system.

12. Generators of infectious waste who produce 
less than 50 pounds per month are considered to be Small 
Quantity Generators.

2. It is the responsibility of the Small Quantity 
Generator to arrange for proper waste disposal. A Small 
Quantity Generator shall contract the services of a permitted 
transporter of infectious waste, or render the waste non-
infectious and non-recognizable using a process or 
equipment approved by the Department, prior to disposal.

3. Requirements to submit manifest tracking 
documents shall apply to either the Small Quantity 
Generator or the transporter contracted by the generator for 
disposal of the infectious waste.

4. Small Quantity Generators are exempt from the 
storage time requirements in Section H.5.c of this part as 
long as not more than 50 pounds of infectious waste are 
stored and so long as storage is protective of human health 
and the environment.

5. Small Quantity Generators are exempt from the 
requirement to file an annual report to the Department. 
However, they are responsible for maintaining records of 
infectious waste disposal for a period of at least three years. 
Documentation shall include:

a. A description of how the waste was rendered 
non-infectious and non-recognizable, and

b. Copies of receipts or manifests for wastes 
managed by a permitted transporter of infectious waste.

F. PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
1. All application requirements found in Section 4.A.2 

through 4.A.11 shall be performed unless specifically 
exempted within this part of the regulations. 

2. Any person required to have a permit for activities 
that will occur in the management of infectious waste shall 
apply for a permit in accordance with Section 4.F. of these 

regulations and the appropriate sections of the Delaware 
Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution.  No 
activity shall occur prior to receipt of all permits required by 
the Department.

3. A new or revised operation plan for treatment, 
storage and/or disposal of infectious waste shall be 
submitted to the Department whenever there is an increase of 
more than 15 percent over a three calendar month average in 
the maximum quantity of infectious waste receiving 
treatment, storage or disposal per month by the facility or 
when changes are otherwise made in an existing operation 
plan.

G. PROHIBITIONS
Infectious waste may not be disposed at a sanitary 

landfill unless the waste has been rendered noninfectious and 
nonrecognizable. (In the case of extracted teeth, sterilization 
followed by landfilling would be acceptable).

Compactors, grinders or similar devices may not be 
used by a generator to reduce the volume of infectious waste 
until after the waste has been rendered noninfectious, or 
unless the device is part of an approved treatment process 
which renders the waste noninfectious.

Infectious wastes shall not be sent to a recycling facility.
Waste consisting of human anatomical remains, 

including human fetal remains, may not be disposed of at 
sanitary landfills.  The remains must be incinerated, 
cremated or interred in accordance with 24 Del.C. Ch. 31.

Transchutes shall not be used to transfer infectious 
waste between locations where it is contained.  

H. PACKAGING, LABELING, AND STORAGE 
REQUIREMENTS

1. Responsibility for packaging and labeling.
The generator of infectious waste shall not submit 

for transport, storage, treatment or disposal any waste which 
is not packaged in accord with this part. As a bag or other 
container becomes full, it must be immediately sealed, 
packaged, labeled and managed as described in this part. 
Contractors or other agents may provide services to the 
generator, including packaging and labeling of infectious 
waste; however, no contract or other relationship shall 
relieve the generator of the responsibility for packaging and 
labeling the infectious waste as required by these 
regulations.

2. Packaging Requirements
All infectious waste shall be packaged as follows:
a. Infectious wastes, other than sharps:

(1) Waste shall be contained in two (one bag 
inside the other) RED BAGS. The bags shall be individually 
tied or sealed. As a bag or other container becomes full, it 
must be immediately sealed, packaged, labeled and managed 
as described in this part.
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(2) All bags containing infectious waste shall 
be red in color.  Waste contained in red bags shall be 
considered infectious waste and managed as infectious 
waste.  

(3) Bags shall be sealed by lapping the 
gathered open end and binding with tape or closing device 
such that no liquid can leak.
 (4) In addition to the plastic bag containers 
described in this section, all infectious wastes must be 
enclosed in a double-walled corrugated fiberboard box or 
equivalent rigid container before it is transported beyond the 
site of generation.

b. Sharps
Sharps shall be contained in leakproof, rigid, 

punctureresistant containers that are tightly lidded.  As soon 
as the first sharp is placed in an empty container, the 
container shall be labeled with the word "SHARPS", and the 
Biological Hazard Symbol.

3. Labeling requirements.  
All infectious waste shall be labeled immediately 

after packaging.  A label shall be securely attached to the 
outer layer of packaging and be clearly legible.  The label 
may be a tag securely affixed to the package.  Indelible ink 
shall be used to complete the information on the labels, and 
the labels shall be at least three inches by five inches in size.  

a. The following information shall be included on 
label one:

(1) The name, address and business telephone 
number of the generator,

(2) "Infectious" or "Regulated Medical 
Waste" in large print,

(3) "Pathological Waste," if pathological 
waste is included in the contents, and

(4) The name, address and business telephone 
number of the hauler or other persons to whose control the 
infectious waste will be transferred.

b. The following shall be included on label two: 
the Biological Hazard Symbol.  The label shall be not less 
than three by five inches.

4. Infectious substances
All infectious substances that are transported must 

be packaged as described in 49 CFR 173.196, October 1, 
1996, Edition, even when that transport is wholly within the 
boundaries of the State.

5. Storage of infectious waste     
a. Infectious waste shall be contained in a manner 

that:
(1) Affords protection from vectors, rain and 

wind,
(2) Prevents the spread of infectious agents,
(3) Does not provide a breeding place or food 

source for insects or rodents, and
(4) Prevents the leakage of waste from the 

storage bag or container.

b. Infectious waste shall be placed in separate 
containers from other waste at the point of origin in the 
producing facility.

c. Infectious waste may not be stored at the waste 
producing facility for more than the following periods of 
time:

(1) Up to fourteen days at room temperature 
(18 to 28 degrees Celsius, 65 to 82 degrees Fahrenheit) or up 
to 45 days in a refrigerator (2 to 7 degrees Celsius, 36 to 44 
degrees Fahrenheit) for all types of infectious waste, so long 
as it does not produce conditions that are offensive or 
harmful to facility personnel or the public welfare.

(2) Ninety days in a freezer (20 to 18 degrees 
Celsius, 4 to 1 degrees Fahrenheit) not used for food or 
patient related items.

Exemption.  Sharps which are disposed in 
a container specifically designed for sharps and which is 
sealed so as to prevent leaks when it is full, are exempt from 
the time limit on storage.

A container used for the storage of infectious 
waste may not be reused unless one of the following applies:

(1) It has been decontaminated utilizing a 
Department-approved decontamination procedure; or
 (2) The surface of the container has been 
protected from direct contact with infectious waste.

e. Reusable containers for infectious waste shall 
be thoroughly washed and decontaminated by a method 
approved by the Department of Health and Social Services 
or the Department each time they are emptied, unless the 
surfaces of the containers have been completely protected 
from contamination by disposable liners, bags or other 
devices removed with the waste. Approved methods of 
decontamination include, but are not limited to, agitation to 
remove visible soil combined with one of the following 
procedures:

(1) All parts of the container shall come in 
contact with hot water of at least 82 degrees C (180 degrees 
F) for a minimum of 15 seconds.

(2) All parts of the container shall come in 
contact with chemical sanitizer by rinsing with or immersion 
in one of the following for a minimum of 3 minutes:

(a) Hypochlorite solution (500 ppm 
available chlorine),

(b) Phenolic solution (500 ppm active 
agent),

(c) Iodophor solution (100 ppm available 
iodine), or

(d) Quaternary ammonium solution (400 
ppm active agent).

(3) Reusable pails, drums, dumpsters or bins 
used for containment of infectious waste shall not be used 
for containment of waste to be disposed of as noninfectious 
waste or for other purposes except after being 
decontaminated by procedures as described in this 
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paragraph.
f. Containment of infectious waste shall be in an 

area separate from other wastes. Areas used for the 
containment of infectious waste shall be secured so as to 
deny access to unauthorized persons and shall be marked 
with prominent warning signs and the biohazard symbol on, 
or adjacent to, the exterior of entry doors, gates or lids. 
Wording of warning signs shall be in English, "CAUTION - 
INFECTIOUS WASTE STORAGE AREA - 
UNAUTHORIZED PERSONS KEEP OUT".  Warning 
signs shall be readily legible during daylight from a distance 
of at least 25 feet.

I. MANAGEMENT OF SPILLS 
Spill containment and cleanup kit. All infectious waste 

management facilities are required to keep a small 
containment and cleanup kit within one hundred feet of any 
area where infectious wastes are managed.  The facility shall 
maintain and implement a plan that provides the means of 
decontamination of any person having had bodily contact 
with infectious waste while transporting the waste to the 
treatment or disposal site or while handling or disposing of 
the waste at the site.

J. CLOSURE REQUIREMENT
When a facility that has been used for infectious waste 

management is to cease operations involving infectious 
wastes, it shall be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected. All 
waste shall be disposed of in accord with these regulations, 
and items of equipment shall be disinfected.  (Note:  Due to 
the variability in the type of infectious waste facilities, the 
Department will specify individual closure requirements in 
the permit issued to the facility.)

K. METHODS OF TREATMENT AND DISPOSAL
All treatment of infectious waste must utilize a method 

that will render the waste noninfectious.
All pathological waste must be incinerated, cremated or 

interred in accordance with 24 Del. C., Chapter 31.  Other 
disposal methods are not acceptable for this type of waste. 
This requirement does not prohibit the disposal of certain 
specified wastes in a permitted wastewater treatment system 
(see Section D.11 of this part). 

L. RECORDKEEPING AND REPORTING 
REQUIREMENTS

All waste management or treatment facilities that 
manage infectious waste shall maintain, for a period of three 
years, the following records and assure that they are accurate 
and current: 

1. A list containing the names of all individuals 
responsible for the management of infection control for the 
facility, their address, their phone numbers and the periods 
covering their assignment of this duty.

2. The date, persons involved and short 
description of events in each spill of infectious wastes.

3. A notebook or file containing the policies and 
procedures of the facilities for dealing with infectious 
wastes. 

4. A log of all special training received by 
persons involved in the management of infectious waste.

5. A log of infectious waste generated at the site 
or received from offsite, including the amount, the date of 
generation, receipt dates, and the date of shipment.  

6. Anyone that sterilizes or incinerates infectious 
waste shall maintain a log indicating the method of 
monitoring the waste as well as a verification that it has been 
rendered noninfectious. 

7. The operator of a facility that incinerates 
infectious waste shall submit to the Department, at least 
annually during the life of the facility, a chemical analysis of 
composite samples of the ash residue.   Parameters that are to 
be monitored will be specified in the permit. 

8. Each generator of infectious waste shall submit 
an annual report on a form provided by the Department, 
summarizing the information from all manifests completed 
during the preceding calendar year. This report shall be 
submitted to the Department within ninety days after the end 
of the calendar year. The information contained in the report 
shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

a. A description of infectious waste 
generated and transported off site for treatment and disposal;

b. The total weight of infectious waste 
generated and transported off site for treatment and disposal;

c. The names and addresses of persons 
engaged by the generator to transport infectious waste off 
site;

d. The names and locations of the infectious 
waste management facilities with which the generator 
contracted for the treatment and/or disposal of infectious 
waste.

9. Each transporter of infectious waste shall 
submit an annual report on a form provided by the 
Department, summarizing the information from all manifests 
completed during the preceding calendar year.  This report 
shall be submitted to the Department by April 1 of the year 
following the year covered by the report.  The information 
contained in the report shall include, but not be limited to the 
following:

a. A description of infectious waste 
transported off site for treatment and disposal;

b. The total weight of infectious waste 
transported off site for treatment and disposal;

c. The names and addresses of generators 
contracting with the transporter to transport infectious waste 
off site.

The names and locations of the infectious 
waste management facilities where the transporter deposited 
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the infectious waste for treatment and /or disposal.

M. EVIDENCE OF EFFECTIVENESS OF 
TREATMENT 

1. Treatment of infectious waste must be conducted in 
a manner which:

a. Eliminates the infectious potential of the waste. 
A treatment process eliminates the infectious potential of 
infectious waste if the owner or operator of a treatment unit 
demonstrates that an Initial Efficacy Test and Periodic 
Verification Test(s) have been completed successfully.  

(1) Successful completion of an Initial 
Efficacy Test is demonstrated by a 6-log reduction/kill of test 
microorganisms.  For a thermal unit that maintains the 
integrity of container, a 6-log kill of indicator microorganism 
spores may be used as an alternative test. 

(2) Successful completion of a Periodic 
Verification Test is demonstrated by:

(a) a 6-log kill of test microorganisms or 
indicator microorganism spores as provided in Subsection 
11, Part 1, L.1.a; or

(b) a minimum 3-log kill of indicator 
microorganism spores that have been correlated with a 6-log 
kill of test microorganism; or

(c) an alternate method submitted to and 
approved by the Department.

b. Disposes treatment residues in accordance with 
these regulations.

c. Provides for quality assurance programs that 
must include, at a minimum, a written plan that:

(1) Designates responsibility to personnel.
(2) Describes parameters that must be 

monitored to insure effectiveness of the treatment process.
(3) Identifies monitoring devices.
(4) Ensures that monitoring devices are 

operating properly. 
(5) Establishes appropriate ranges for 

operating parameters.
(6) Identifies person(s) who shall collect and 

organize data for inclusion in operating records.
(7) Identifies person(s) who shall evaluate any 

discrepancies or problems.
(8) Identifies person(s) who shall propose 

actions to correct problems identified, and
(9) Identifies person(s) who shall assess 

actions taken and document improvement.
d. Provides for periodic biological testing, where 

appropriate, that demonstrates proper treatment of the waste.
e. Provides for assurances that clearly 

demonstrate that infectious waste has been properly treated; 
and

f. Is in compliance with all federal, state and 
local laws and regulations pertaining to environmental 
protection.

2. Initial  Efficacy Test
a. The manufacturer, owner, or operator of a treatment 

unit shall conduct an Initial Efficacy Test, pursuant to 
Appendix A of this Section, for each model prior to its 
operation.  If significant mechanical changes are made to a 
treatment unit, the Initial Efficacy Test must be repeated. 
The treatment units are considered to be the same model if 
they:

(1) Are manufactured by same company, 
(2) Have the same company name, and
(3) Have no significant mechanical changes.

b. The Initial Efficacy Test shall be conducted using 
option 1, 2 or 3 as described in Appendix A of this Section, 
using the challenge loads listed in Table C of Appendix A, or 
by an equivalent procedure that meets the requirements of 
the Initial Efficacy Test and has been approved by the 
Department.  If any of the challenge loads fails the Initial 
Efficacy Test, the operating conditions must be revised and 
the Initial Efficacy Test must be repeated for all challenge 
loads. The Initial Efficacy Test must also meet the 
requirements of this Section.

c. Composition of challenge loads
(1) For treatment units designed to treat all types 

of infectious wastes, all three types of challenge loads must 
be used in conducting the Initial Efficacy Test. The three (3) 
types of challenge loads represent infectious waste with a 
high moisture content, low moisture content and high 
organic content.  The quantity of each challenge load must 
equal 100% of the maximum capacity of the treatment unit.

Each challenge load must consist of a 
minimum 5% (by weight) of each of the following 
categories: blood/broth cultures, fibers, metals, sharps, 
plastics, pathological waste, glass, non-woven fibers, and 
bottles of liquids. Table C of Appendix A contains the 
moisture and organic content requirements that must be met 
in each type of challenge load.

(2) For treatment units designed to treat select 
categories of infectious waste (e.g., sharps treatment unit), 
modification in the composition of the challenge load(s) may 
be used if approved by the Department in writing.

d. The Initial Efficacy Test must be conducted under 
the same operating conditions under which the treatment unit 
operates on a day-to-day basis.  The feed rate for the 
treatment unit must remain constant throughout the Initial 
Efficacy Test. This feed rate must never be exceeded during 
the operation of the treatment unit.

e. The Initial Efficacy Test must be performed so that:
Each container of the test microorganisms and/or 

indicator microorganism spores is placed in the load to 
simulate the worst case scenario (i. e., that part of load that is 
the most difficult to treat).  For example, the worst case 
scenario for an autoclave would be to place the container(s) 
of test microorganisms and/or indicator microorganism 
spores within a sharps container that must in turn be 
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deposited in a plastic biohazard bag that is then located 
centrally within the challenge loads.

Test microorganisms and/or indicator 
microorganisms must be cultured and enumerated in 
accordance with instructions provided by the supplier of 
micro-organisms and Standard Methods for the Examination 
of Water and Wastewater.

f. A Document of Initial Efficacy Test must be 
retained in the treatment facility, and made available during 
normal business hours for inspection and photocopying by 
an authorized representative of the Department. The 
Document of Initial Efficacy Test must include at the 
minimum:

(1) A detailed description of the test procedures 
used, including all test data generated, with descriptions of 
data handling, and interpretation of final test results.

(2) A detailed description and verification of the 
operating parameters (e.g., temperature, pressure, retention 
times, chemical concentrations, irradiation dose, and feed 
rates).

(3) A description of quality assurance/quality 
control procedures and practices for the culture, storage and 
preparation of test and/or indicator microorganisms 
(including, but not limited to, organism history, source, stock 
culture maintenance, and enumeration procedures).  The 
purity of the test microorganisms and/or indicator 
microorganism spores must be certified by a commercial or 
clinical laboratory.
3. Periodic Verification Test(s)

a. The effectiveness of the treatment unit shall be 
verified by conducting Periodic Verification Test(s) which 
must be carried out in accordance with this Subsection.

b. Periodic Verification Test(s) must be conducted 
quarterly or more frequently if required by the permit or 
recommended by the manufacturer.

c. The manufacturer, owner, or operator of a treatment 
unit must perform Periodic Verification Test(s) that satisfy at 
least one (1) of the following:

Passing the Initial Efficacy Test by using option 1, 2 
or 3 of appendix A of this part (whichever is applicable). 
The three challenge loads described in Appendix A, Table C, 
do not need to be used.  The test microorganism or indicator 
micro-organisms must be placed in a representative load in 
accordance with Subsection 11, Part 1, L.2.e.(1).  For 
example, an autoclave may use option 3 (e.g., demonstrate at 
a minimum the destruction of one million Bacillus 
stearothermophilus spores) to meet the Periodic Verification 
Test requirement.  In the case of an incinerator a stainless 
steel pipe with threaded ends and removable caps lined with 
ceramic insulation may be used to contain a glass culture vial 
with a Bacillus subtilis spores strip.  The pipe with the spore 
strips may be placed in the load of infectious waste for the 
Periodic Verification Test.  After the treatment, the pipe with 
the spore strips may be recovered and the spores may be 

cultured to assess whether, at a minimum, one million spores 
have been destroyed to meet the Periodic Verification Test(s) 
requirement.

(2) Correlating the log kill (L) of the test 
microorganisms in the Initial Efficacy Test to an equivalent 
log kill (T) of indicator microorganism spores in accordance 
with Appendix B. The equivalent log kill (T) of indicator 
microorganism spores must be used for all subsequent 
Periodic Verification Tests.  The correlation must be done 
with three challenge loads identified in Table C of Appendix 
A (See Subsection 11, Part 1, L.3.d below for further 
requirements).

(3) Submitting to and obtaining written approval 
by the Department for a procedure that is equivalent to 
Subsection 11, Part 1, L.3.c.(1) and (2). Examples of 
alternatives include, but are not limited to, use of another 
indicator microorganism, or measurement of disinfectant 
concentrations in the treated residue.  For incinerators only, 
an example of an alternative is visually inspecting the ash 
from each load of treated infectious waste to ensure that all 
infectious waste within the load is completely combusted. 
The approval of an alternative by the Department may 
require more frequent testing and/or monitoring of the 
treatment unit.

d. If correlation is being used for the Periodic 
Verification Test, (i.e., the correlation of log kill (L) of the 
test microorganisms with equivalent log kill (T) of the 
indicator microorganism spores) the following procedures 
apply:

(1) At a minimum, an initial population of one 
million indicator microorganism spores per gram of waste 
solids in each challenge load must be used.

(2) The fraction of surviving indicator 
microorganism spores that correlates to a log kill (L) of six 
(6) for each test microorganism must be used for future 
Periodic Verification Test(s).  [For example, if a log kill (L) 
of four (4) for the indicator microorganism spores per gram 
of waste solids is achieved during this demonstration, then a 
population of 10,000 of indicator microorganism spores 
must be used in future Periodic Verification Test(s).] 
Challenge loads described in Appendix A, Table C, do not 
need to be used.  The test microorganism or indicator 
microorganism spores must be placed in a representative 
load in accordance with Subsection 11, Part 1, L.2.e.(1).

(3) An equivalent log kill (T) of at least three (3) 
for the indicator microorganism spores must be achieved to 
ensure that all test microorganisms are destroyed.

(4) Test microorganisms and/or indicator 
microorganism spores must be cultured and enumerated in 
accordance with instructions provided by the supplier of the 
microorganisms and Standard Methods for the Examination 
of Water and Wastewater.

The Periodic Verification Test and Initial 
Efficacy Test may be run concurrently to verify the 
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correlation.
e. If a load of infectious waste fails a Periodic 

Verification Test, the Periodic Verification Test(s) must be 
repeated. The operator shall implement the quality assurance 
program and contact the manufacturer. If applicable, identify 
and correct the exact problem(s) until the unit can eliminate 
the infectious potential of the infectious waste. If the 
operating parameters are altered another Initial Efficacy Test 
must be performed to demonstrate the effectiveness of the 
unit and, if applicable, another Periodic Verification Test 
correlation, pursuant to Subsection 11, Part 1, L.3.c must be 
repeated. Loads of infectious waste that were processed prior 
to receiving the results showing a failure of Periodic 
Verification Test are considered treated. A second Periodic 
Verification Test must be run immediately after the first 
Periodic Verification Test indicates failure.  The second 
Periodic Verification Test is to determine whether or not the 
treatment unit is eliminating the infectious potential of the 
waste.  After the second Periodic Verification Test shows a 
failure of the treatment unit, any waste processed after the 
first detection of failure is considered infectious waste and 
must be managed accordingly. 

f. Results of the Periodic Verification Test(s) must be 
received, verified and made available for inspection by the 
Department within 2 weeks of when the test was conducted. 
When a Periodic Verification Test is used to confirm the 
failure of a treatment unit, the results of the Periodic 
Verification Test(s) must be made available in accordance 
with the requirements of subsection h below.

g. A Document of Correlating Periodic Verification 
Demonstration must be prepared by and retained for at least 
three (3) years at the treatment facility during normal 
business hours for inspection by the Department. The 
Document of Periodic Verification Demonstration must 
include, at a minimum:

(1) A detailed description of the test procedures 
used and the correlation between the log kill (L) of the test 
microorganisms and the equivalent log kill (T) of the 
indicator microorganism spores. An evaluation of the test 
results must include all test data generated, a description of 
data handling, and a presentation and interpretation of test 
results.

(2) A detailed description and verification of the 
operating parameters (e. g., temperature, pressure, retention 
times, chemical concentrations, irradiation dose, and feed 
rates).

(3) A description of quality assurance/quality 
control procedures and practices for the culture, storage and 
preparation of test and/or indicator microorganisms 
(including, but not limited to, organism history, source, stock 
culture maintenance, and enumeration procedures).  The 
purity of the test microorganisms and/or indicator 
microorganism spores must be certified by a commercial or 
clinical laboratory.

h. Records of Periodic Verification Test(s) must be 
prepared and retained for at least three (3) years at the 
treatment facility, and made available at the treatment 
facility during normal business hours for inspection by the 
Department. These records will include, at the minimum:

(1) The date(s) on which the Periodic Verification 
Test(s) were performed.

(2) Operating parameters (e.g., temperature, 
pressure, retention times, chemical concentrations, 
irradiation dose and feed rates).

(3) Test protocols.
(4) Evaluation of test results.
(5) The name(s), date, signature(s) and title(s) of 

Person(s) conducting the Periodic Verification Test(s).
Periodic Verification Test(s) must be conducted 

under the same operating conditions under which the 
treatment unit operates on day-to-day basis. The feed rate for 
the treatment unit is the maximum feed rate at which the unit 
operates on day-to-day basis. The feed rate must remain 
constant throughout the Periodic Verification Test(s). This 
feed rate must never be exceeded during the operation of the 
treatment unit.

N. TRANSPORTATION
All transporters of infectious waste must be in 

compliance with all applicable federal and state regulations 
and codes. No person shall transport solid waste, including 
infectious waste, without first having obtained a permit from 
the Department, unless specifically exempted by these 
Regulations. Refer to Section 7 of these Regulations.

O. TRANSPORTERS.
1. Temperature Control and Storage Period

The transporter must deliver infectious waste to a 
disposal facility within 15 days from collection from the 
generation facility.

a. Infectious waste shall be transported in a 
manner that:

(1) Affords protection from vectors, rain and 
wind,

(2) Prevents the spread of infectious agents,
(3) Does not provide a breeding place or food 

source for vectors, and
(4) Prevents leakage of waste from the storage 

bags or other containers.
b. Infectious waste shall be transported to offsite 

processing or disposal facilities in a manner consistent with 
these regulations.

c. Motor Vehicles for transporting infectious 
waste shall be noncompaction type vehicles.

Surfaces of vehicles that have been in direct 
physical contact with infectious waste, because of a leak in a 
container or because of some other reason, shall be 
decontaminated as soon as possible after unloading. 
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Surfaces of vehicles that have not been in direct physical 
contact with infectious waste shall be decontaminated 
weekly.

2. Packaging, Labeling and Placards
a. No person shall transport or receive for 

transport any infectious waste that is not packaged and 
labeled in accord with these regulations.

b. Any vehicle holding infectious waste in 
transport shall have a warning sign in bold letters, a 
minimum of 4 inches in height and in a color that contrasts 
the color of the vehicle, that indicates the cargo is infectious 
waste.

c. Vehicle access door labeling:
(1) Transporters in interstate commerce must 

comply with one of the following labeling options:
(a) The access doors to the cargo area of 

the vehicle must meet the requirement for intrastate 
transporters of infectious waste, as described in Section 
N.2.c.(2) of this part; or

The access doors to the cargo area of the 
vehicle must comply with the labeling requirements of the 
state of origin of the infectious waste or the labeling 
requirements of the state of destination of the infectious 
waste. Examples of the labeling must be submitted to and 
approved by the Department prior to transport of the 
infectious waste through Delaware.

(2) Transporters in intrastate commerce:  The 
access doors to the cargo area of the vehicle must bear a sign 
with the words INFECTIOUS WASTE in bold, four inch 
letters.  Such sign must be easily readable from a distance of 
25 feet. The access doors to the cargo area of the vehicle 
must additionally bear a sign with the universal biological 
hazard symbol with minimum symbol dimension of six 
inches, and with the word BIOHAZARD in bold letters at 
least one inch in height.  The symbol must be easily 
recognizable from a distance of 25 feet. 

3. Management of Spills of Infectious Waste
Spill containment and cleanup kit.

a. All infectious waste transportation 
vehicles are required to keep within the vehicle the 
containment and cleanup kit specified in the permit.  The 
vehicle shall be equipped with a written plan, approved by 
the Department, that provides the means of decontamination 
of a release of infectious waste while transporting the waste 
to the treatment or disposal site or while handling the waste 
at the site.  The driver shall be trained by the employer to 
implement this plan.

b. As required in 7 Del.C. Ch. 60, the 
Department is to be notified immediately of all spills.

4. Loading and Unloading
Persons manually loading or unloading containers 

of infectious waste on or from transport vehicles shall wear 
protective gloves or clothing, as appropriate.

P. STERILIZATION
1. Application

The requirements of this part apply to all persons 
that steam sterilize infectious waste.

2. Performance Standards
All persons that steam sterilize infectious waste 

shall maintain the following level of operational 
performance at all times: 

a. Operational temperature and detention.
Whenever infectious wastes are treated in a 

steam sterilizer, all the waste shall be subjected to a 
temperature of not less than 250 degrees Fahrenheit for 90 
minutes at 15 pounds per square inch of gauge pressure or 
not less than 272 degrees Fahrenheit for 45 minutes at 27 
pounds per square inch of gauge pressure. Other 
combinations of operational temperatures, pressure and time 
may be used if the installed equipment has been proved to 
achieve a reliable and complete kill of all microorganisms in 
waste at capacity.  Complete and thorough testing shall be 
fully documented, including tests of the capacity of kill B. 
stearothermophilus.

b. Operational controls and records.
(1) Each package of waste to be steam 

sterilized shall have autoclave tape attached that will indicate 
if the sterilization temperature has been reached and waste 
will not be considered satisfactorily sterilized if the indicator 
fails to indicate that the temperature was reached during the 
process.

(2) Steam sterilization units shall be evaluated 
for effectiveness with spores of B. stearothermophilus no 
less than once every 40 hours of operation or once per 
month, whichever is more often.

(3) A log shall be kept at each sterilization 
unit that is complete for the proceeding three-year period. 
The log shall record the date, time, temperature, pressure, 
type of waste, type of container(s), closure on container(s), 
pattern of loading, water content, operator of each usage; the 
type and approximate amount of waste treated; the post-
sterilization reading of the temperature sensitive tape; the 
dates and results of calibration; and the results of 
effectiveness testing with B. stearothermophilus.

(4) Infectious waste shall not be compacted or 
subjected to violent mechanical stress before sterilization; 
however, after it is fully sterilized it may be compacted in a 
closed container.

3. Compliance with Other Parts of these Regulations
In general, sterilizer facilities shall comply with all 

other parts of these regulations. The site of the sterilizer 
facility is a storage facility and must comply with those 
regulations. Spills or the opening in an emergency of any 
infectious waste package, shall comply with the regulations 
pertaining to spills.

4. OffSite Operations
Any person who operates offsite facilities for the 
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sterilization of infectious waste shall operate those facilities 
in compliance with a plan approved by the Department. The 
plan shall address in detail practices, procedures and 
precautions in the unloading, preparation and sterilizer 
loading of the waste.

Q. MANIFEST REQUIREMENTS
1. A generator of infectious waste shall complete a 

manifest before shipping, or causing the shipment of, 
infectious waste off site.  The manifest shall consist of a 
multicopy form provided by the Department or equivalent 
approved in writing by the Department.

2. No person shall accept custody of infectious waste 
unless the waste is packaged in accordance with the 
requirements of Section H of this part and is accompanied by 
a properly completed manifest which complies with the 
requirements of Section P of this part. Upon accepting 
custody of infectious waste, the transporter shall sign and 
date the manifest. After the manifest has been signed and 
dated by both the generator and the transporter, the generator 
shall retain one copy of the form.  The transporter shall keep 
the remaining four copies until the waste is delivered to the 
infectious waste facility.

3. The operator of an infectious waste management 
facility may accept custody of infectious waste only if the 
waste is accompanied by a manifest which complies with the 
requirements of Section P of this part.  Upon accepting the 
waste, the operator of the infectious waste management 
facility shall sign and date the manifest, give one copy to the 
transporter, and keep the remaining three copies.  The 
operator shall:

a. Sign and date the remaining three copies of the 
manifest certifying that the waste will be treated and/or 
handled in accordance with all applicable regulations and 
facility permits.

When multiple consignments are received and 
disposed as a batch, a cover letter with a list of manifest 
numbers, date received, date rendered non-infectious, 
certification of disposal, signature and date may be 
substituted for individual certification on each manifest.  The 
cover letter must be mailed to the State with manifests 
attached.  The generator copy of these manifests may use a 
date and signature stamp in lieu of original signature.

b. Send one copy of the manifest to the generator 
no later than fifteen calendar days from the date on which the 
waste was treated or disposed of;

c. Send one copy of the manifest to the 
Department; and

d. Keep the remaining copy.
4. Any generator of infectious waste who does not 

receive a copy of the manifest signed by the operator of the 
infectious waste management facility within fifteen calendar 
days of the date of shipment shall immediately contact the 
transporter and the facility to determine the status of the 

shipment.  If, within twenty days of the date of shipment, the 
generator still has not received a signed copy of the manifest 
from the infectious waste management facility, the generator 
shall notify the Department in writing. The notification shall 
include a legible copy of the manifest as signed by the 
generator and transporter, a description of the efforts made 
by the generator to locate the shipment, and the results of 
those efforts.

5. Copies of the manifest shall be retained by all 
parties for at least three years.

a. The manufacturer, owner, or operator of an 
infectious waste treatment unit must carry out an Initial 
Efficacy Test by using Option 1, 2, or, 3 below, as 
appropriate for the type of unit, or other procedures, if 
approved in advance by the Department. 

1. Option 1 
This option consists of two (2) Phases:
a. Phase 1:  Determining the dilution of 

each test microorganism from the treatment unit for each 
challenge load (Types A through C) identified in Table C of 
this Appendix. 

(1) Prepare and sterilize by 
autoclaving two (2) challenge loads of Type A as identified 
in Table C.  Reserve one challenge load for Phase 2.

(2) Process each test microorganism 
in separate runs through the treatment unit. Prior to each run, 
determine the number of viable test microorganisms in each 
container, in accordance with applicable manufacturer's 
recommendations and Standard Methods for the 
Examination of Water and Wastewater.

(3) Process each challenge load 
within thirty (30) minutes after introducing the container of 
test microorganism into the treatment unit.  The container of 
test microorganisms and the challenge loads must be 
processed together without the physical and/or chemical 
agents designed to kill the test microorganisms.  For 
example, in treatment units that use chemical disinfectant(s), 
an equal volume of liquid (e.g., sterile saline solution (0.9%, 
volume/volume), phosphate buffer solution, or tap water) 
must be substituted in place of the chemical disinfectant(s).

(4) Obtain at least five (5) 
representative grab samples from the processed residue of 
each challenge load in accordance with Test Methods for 
Evaluating Solid Waste Physical/Chemical Methods (SW-
846). The number of viable test microorganisms in each grab 
sample must be determined in accordance with applicable 
manufacturer's recommendations and Standard Methods for 
the Examination of Water and Wastewater.

(5) Calculate the effect of dilution for 
the treatment unit as follows:

SA = Log N0A - LogN1A: where Log N1A ³ 6
where: SA is the log of the 

number of viable test microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste 
solids) that were not recovered after processing challenge 
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load Type A.
N0A is the number of viable test 

microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) introduced into 
the treatment unit for challenge load Type A.
 N1A is the number of viable test 
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) remaining in 
the processed residue for challenge load Type A.

If Log N1A is less than 6, then 
the number of viable test microorganisms introduced into the 
treatment unit must be increased and steps (1) through (6) in 
Phase 1 must be repeated until LogN1A is ³ 6. N0A is the 
inoculum size for challenge load Type A in Phase 2 below.

(6) Repeat steps (1) through (5) in 
Phase 1 for challenge loads of infectious waste for Type B 
and C identified in Table C of this Appendix to determine the 
effect of dilution (SB and SC respectively).

b. Phase 2:  Determining the log kill of 
each test microorganism in each challenge load (Type A 
through C) identified in Table C of this Appendix.

(1) Using the inoculum size (N0A) 
determined in Phase 1 above, repeat Phase 1 steps (1) 
through (5) under the same operating parameters, except that 
the physical and/or chemical agents designed to kill the test 
microorganisms must be used.

(2) Calculate the effectiveness of the 
treatment unit by subtracting the log of viable cells after the 
treatment from the log of the viable cells introduced into the 
treatment unit as inoculum, as follows:

LA = Log N0A - SA - Log N2A ³ 6
where: LA is the log kill of the 

test microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) after 
treatment in the challenge load Type A.

N0A is the number of viable test 
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) introduced into 
the treatment unit as the inoculum for challenge load Type A 
as determined in Phase 1 above.
 SA is the log of the number of 
viable test microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) that 
were not recovered after processing challenge load Type A 
in Phase 1 above.

N2A is the log of the number of 
viable test microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) 
remaining in the treated residue for challenge load Type A.

(3) Repeat steps (1) and (2) in Phase 2 for 
challenge loads Types B and C identified in Table C of this 
Appendix to determine the effectiveness of the treatment 
unit (LB and LC respectively).

2. Option 2:
a. Place one microbiological indicator 

assay containing one of the test microorganisms at numbers 
greater than one million in a sealed container that remains 
intact during the treatment.  The inside diameter of the 
container must be no larger than required to contain the 

assay vial(s). The vial(s) must contain the test 
microorganisms.

b. Place the container of test 
microorganisms within a Type A challenge load as identified 
in Table C of this Appendix.

c. Process the load.
d. Calculate the effectiveness of the 

treatment unit by subtracting the log of viable cells after 
treatment from log of viable cells introduced into the 
treatment unit as inoculum, as follows:

LA = Log N0 - Log N2A³ 6
where: LA is the log kill of the 

test microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) after 
treatment in the challenge load Type A.

N0 is the number of viable test 
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) introduced into 
the treatment unit as the inoculum.
 N2A is the log of the number of 
viable test microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) 
remaining in the treated residue for challenge load Type A.

e. Repeat steps a through d in this option 
for challenge loads Types B and C identified in Table C of 
this Appendix to determine the effectiveness of the treatment 
unit (LB and LC respectively).

3. Option 3:
a. Place one microbiological indicator 

assay containing at least one million spores of one of the 
indicator microorganisms listed in Table B of this Appendix, 
in a sealed container that remains intact during treatment. 
The inside diameter of the container must be no larger than 
required to contain the assay vial(s). 

b. Place the container of the indicator 
microorganisms within a Type A challenge load as identified 
in Table C of this Appendix.

c. Process the load.
d. Calculate the effectiveness of the 

treatment unit by subtracting the log of viable cells after 
treatment from log of viable cells introduced into the 
treatment unit as inoculum, as follows:

LA = Log N0 - Log N2A³6
where: LA is the log kill of the test 

microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) after treatment 
in challenge load Type A.

N0 is the number of viable indicator 
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) introduced into 
the treatment unit as the inoculum.

N2A is the log of the number of viable 
test microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) remaining 
in the treated residue for challenge load Type A.

e. Repeat steps a through d in this option 
for challenge loads Types B and C identified in Table C of 
this Appendix to determine the effectiveness of the treatment 
unit (LB and LC, respectively).
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APPENDIX A: TABLES

TABLE A: Test Microorganisms

a. Staphylococcus aureus (ATCC 6538)
b. Pseudomonas aeruginosa  (ATCC 15442)
c. Candida albicans (ATCC 18804)  
d. Trichophyton mentagrophytes (ATCC 9533)
e. MS-2 Bacteriophage (ATCC 15597-B1)
f. Mycobacterium smegmatis (ATCC 14468)

TABLE B: Indicator Microorganisms
a. Bacillus subtilis (ATCC 19659)
b. Bacillus stearothermophilus (ATCC 7953)
c. Bacillus pumilus (ATCC 27142)

TABLE C: Challenge Loads
This Table identifies the three types of challenge loads 

of infectious waste that must be used as a part of Initial 
Efficacy Test and Periodic Verification Test(s).

COMPOSITION OF CHALLENGE LOADS 
% (w/w)

Type A   B  C

Moisture £5   ³50  -----

Organic ----   ----  ³70
Sec.  11, Part 1, App. B SPECIAL WASTES 
MANAGEMENT

APPENDIX B

Correlating Periodic Verification Procedures 
1. Use a certified microbiological indicator assay 

containing the test microorganisms and indicator 
microorganism spores.

2. Place the test microorganisms and indicator 
microorganism spores into sealed containers that remain 
intact during treatment.

3. Place a container of the test microorganisms and 
indicator microorganism spores in each challenge load (as 
described in Appendix A, Table C) to simulate the worst 
case scenario (i.e., that part of load that is the most difficult 
to treat). For example, the worst case scenario for an 
autoclave would be to place the container of test 
microorganisms and indicator microorganism spores within 
a sharp container that must in turn be deposited in a plastic 
biohazard bag that is then located centrally within the 
treatment unit. 

4. Determine the effectiveness of the treatment unit by 
calculating the log kill (L) of the test microorganisms in 
accordance with Option 2 of Appendix A.  The equivalent 

kill (T) of the indicator microorganism spores is calculated 
by subtracting the log of viable cells after treatment from the 
log of viable cells introduced into the treatment unit as 
inoculum as follows:

TA = Log N0 - Log N2A³ 3
where: TA is the equivalent log kill of the viable 

indicator microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) after 
treatment in the challenge load Type A.

N0 is the number of viable indicator microorganism 
spores (CFU/gram of waste solids) introduced into the 
treatment unit as the inoculum (³6).

N2A is the number of viable indicator 
microorganisms (CFU/gram of waste solids) remaining after 
treatment in challenge load Type A.

5. Repeat steps 1 through 4 for challenge loads Types 
B and C identified in Table C of Appendix A to determine 
the correlation between the log kill of the test 
microorganisms and equivalent kill of the indicator 
microorganism spores (LB and LC, respectively). 

SECTION 11:  SPECIAL WASTES MANAGEMENT

Part 2 - Municipal Solid Waste Ash

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
1. Municipal solid waste (MSW) ash is considered a 

hazardous waste, as defined in the Delaware Regulations 
Governing Hazardous Waste (DRGHW), unless the 
generator of the ash can demonstrate that the ash is not a 
hazardous waste.  In order to make such a demonstration, the 
owner or operator of the generating facility must show that 
the ash does not exhibit the Toxicity Characteristic (TC) as 
described in DRGHW, §261.24.  Any person desiring to 
make such a demonstration shall develop and implement a 
sampling and analysis plan designed to provide reliable 
information on the chemical properties of the ash.  The plan 
shall be submitted to the Solid and Hazardous Waste 
Management Branch as a part of the facility's application for 
a Solid Waste Facility permit.  The facility will not be 
permitted to operate until the Department has approved the 
plan. 

2. The sampling and analysis plan shall include the 
following:

a. A detailed description of the sampling protocol 
(how and where samples will be collected, how many 
samples will be collected, how samples will be composited, 
how samples will be handled and stored, etc.) 

b. A description of the analyses that will be 
performed on the samples. 

c. A description of the procedures that will be 
used to ensure the quality of the sampling and analysis data.  

3. The owner or operator of a facility in Delaware 
desiring to process MSW ash generated in another state must 
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first receive written approval from the Department to accept 
MSW ash from that generator.  To receive such an approval a 
person must:

a. Demonstrate, to the Department's satisfaction, 
that the ash does not exceed the levels specified in the TC; 
and 

b. Develop, and receive Department approval of, 
a plan for sampling and analysis of the incoming MSW ash. 

B. SAMPLING
1. This subsection describes the minimum amount of 

sampling that the Department deems appropriate for MSW 
ash generated by facilities that meet the following two 
assumptions:

a. The waste feed prior to incineration is not 
segregated by type of generator, and 

b. The ash generated is not separated by size 
during storage or disposal. 

If either of these two assumptions is not valid, then 
a facility-specific sampling and analysis program shall be 
designed by knowledgeable personnel and shall be 
implemented after receiving Department approval.  

2. The sampling strategy shall be sufficient to enable 
the facility owner or operator to assess the properties of the 
ash and to ascertain its variability over time. 

3. The sampling strategy shall provide for 
reassessment of the ash at least quarterly, in accordance with 
a Department-approved schedule.  In determining how often 
to recharacterize the ash, the generator shall consider all 
facility-specific and external factors that could cause the ash 
properties to vary.  These factors include:

a. Changes in the composition of the waste (e.g., 
new types of industries moving into the area, institution of 
recycling programs in the collection area, seasonal changes 
affecting population or waste composition).  

b. Changes in plant design (e.g., addition of dry 
scrubber, addition of quench tank).

c. Significant changes in plant operating 
conditions (e.g., increase in combustion time or temperature, 
change in lime utilization rate).

4. The sampling strategy shall include the following 
steps:

a. Determine the most convenient location for 
sampling.  In situations where the sampling can be 
conducted either from transport vehicles or from the waste 
conveyance device, the Department recommends sampling 
from the transport vehicle (i.e. dump truck, barge).
 b. Construct a sampling device (trough, bucket, 
shovel, thief, etc.) to be used to gather a grab sample of the 
entire depth of the hopper, pile, or truck load, or the entire 
width of the belt conveyor, drag chain flight, or vibrating 
conveyor. ASTM standards for sampling unconsolidated 
waste materials from trucks may be used for guidance if the 
ash is to be sampled from trucks. 

c. If a conveyor is to be the sample location, 
collect the entire width of the conveyor at a fixed point each 
hour for eight (8) hours.  If trucks are to be sampled, 
randomly select eight trucks to sample during the eight-hour 
period.  In certain situations, where fewer than eight 
truckloads are generated, a different schedule may be 
necessary (e.g., less than one truck per hour). Composite all 
samples for the period into an eight-hour composite. 
Containerize, label, and set aside for further processing. 

d. Collect a second eight-hour composite during 
the course of the work day. The second composite should be 
collected during a different shift from the first composite. 

e. For an initial waste characterization, collect 
samples each day for a minimum of one week's operation 
(i.e., fourteen composite samples).  

C. ANALYSIS
1. Each composite sample shall be tested, using 

Method 1311 [Toxicity Characteristic Leaching Procedure 
(TCLP)], and the results analyzed, to determine whether the 
ash passes or fails the TC as defined in the DRGHW, 
§261.24.

2. All testing shall be performed following the 
specific procedures described in "Test Methods for 
Evaluating Solid Waste" (SW-846). 

3. The testing shall be performed by an independent 
laboratory. 

4. In lieu of TCLP, testing for total concentration of 
constituents (i.e., the contaminants listed in DRGHW, 
§261.24, Table 1) may be performed.  If no constituent is 
present at a concentration exceeding the TC regulatory limit, 
the waste may be considered non-hazardous.  However, if 
the concentration of any constituent exceeds the TC 
regulatory limit, TCLP must be performed to determine 
whether the waste is hazardous.

5. If it has been demonstrated that none of the organic 
constituents listed in DRGHW, §261.24, Table 1, is present 
in the ash at a detectable level, the ash need not be routinely 
tested for the organics. 

D. QUALITY ASSURANCE AND QUALITY 
CONTROL

The sampling and analysis plan shall include:
1. A detailed description of the steps that will be taken 

to ensure quality control, and 
2. A provision for appointing a knowledgeable person 

to oversee the sampling and analysis program to ensure that 
all procedures are followed. 

E. DATA EVALUATION
The following approach shall be used in evaluating the 

data to determine whether the ash passes or fails the TC (see 
SW-846, Chapter Nine, Tables 9-1 and 9-2 for statistical 
formulas to use in making the calculations):
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1. Determine the mean TC concentration (x) of the 
fourteen eight-hour composite samples for each regulated 
analyte (equation 2a of Table 9-1).  

2. Determine the standard deviation(s) of the data 
employed to calculate the mean (i.e., the individual 
composite results) (equation 3a and 4 of Table 9-1). 

3. Determine the upper bound of the 90 percent (one-
sided) confidence interval for the mean for each analyte 
(equation 6 of Table 9-1).  

If the upper bound of the interval is below the applicable 
regulatory threshold for all analytes listed in DRGHW, 
§261.24, then the waste passes the TC. If the upper bound of 
the interval is above the applicable regulatory threshold for 
any analyte listed in DRGHW, §261.24, then the waste fails 
the TC.

SECTION 12:  SEVERABILITY

If any provision of these regulations, or the application 
of any provision of these regulations to any person or 
circumstance, is held invalid, the application of such 
provision to other persons or circumstances, and the 
remainder of these regulations, shall not be affected thereby.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND 

CULTURAL AFFAIRS
Statutory Authority:  30 Delaware Code,
Section 1815(b), (30 Del.C. §1815(b))

NOTICE

Title: Amendments to Regulations Governing the 
Historic Preservation Tax Credit.

Brief Synopsis:
Chapter 18 Subchapter II of Title 30 containing the 

Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act was enacted by the 
General Assembly in 2001 and amended in 2002. Final 
program regulations were adopted in July, 2002 (6 DE Reg. 
108 (7/1/02). Chapter 18 Subchapter II of Title 30 was 
amended again in 2003 to provide credits for a resident 
curator program. The purpose of these proposed 
amendments to the regulations is to implement the code 
revisions of 2003. The proposed amendments modify 
sections of the regulations (§1.0, §3.3, §3.16, §3.16.2, §3.17, 
§8.0) as they may apply to the resident curator program. The 
Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act is designed to promote 
community revitalization and redevelopment through the 
rehabilitation of historic property by providing tax credits for 
expenditures made to rehabilitate any certified historic 

property. 

Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
Title 30 Delaware Code Chapter 18 Subchapter II 

Section 1815(b), (as amended)

Other Regulations that may be Affected by the Proposal:
The State Bank Commissioner and the Division of 

Revenue will adopt regulations or issue guidelines for tax 
elements of the Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act.

Notice of Public Comment:
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C. 

Chapter 101, the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs 
proposes to amend rules and regulations pursuant to its 
authority under 30 Del.C. §1815(b). The Division will 
receive and consider input from any person in writing on the 
proposed Rules and Regulations. Any written comments 
should be submitted to the Division in care of Daniel R. 
Griffith, Director, Division of Historical and Cultural 
Affairs, 21 The Green, Ste. B, Dover, DE 19901. The final 
date to submit written comments is June 1, 2004. Anyone 
wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed amendments to the
Rules and Regulations should notify Daniel R. Griffith at the 
above address or call 302-739-5685. This notice will be 
published in two newspapers of general circulation.

Prepared by:
Daniel R. Griffith, Director
302-739-5685
April 10, 2004

Proposed Amendments to the Regulations Governing the 
Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act:

1.0 Scope
A person or business entity that owns and rehabilitates a 

certified historic property may receive a credit against 
personal Delaware State income tax or bank franchise tax 
liabilities according to procedures and criteria established in 
these regulations and those that may be promulgated by the 
Division of Revenue or the State Bank Commissioner. Any 
person eligible for credits under this Chapter may transfer, 
sell or assign any or all unused credits, except a person 
engaged in a resident curator relationship.

See 6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

2.0 Statutory Authority
These regulations are created pursuant to Chapter 18, 

Subchapter II of Title 30 Delaware Code (as amended) 
which authorizes the Division of Historical and Cultural 
Affairs to promulgate regulations for implementation of the 
provisions of this subchapter (except tax-related procedures) 
including, but not limited to, setting of fees and development 
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of standards for the rehabilitation of eligible historic 
properties. The subchapter further authorizes the Division of 
Historical and Cultural Affairs to promulgate the application 
and forms governing participation in the certification 
program.

See 6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

3.0 Definitions
3.1 “Act” means Chapter 18, Subchapter II of Title 30 

Delaware Code, as amended.
3.2 “Application” means the Delaware Historic 

Preservation Tax Credit application that shall consist of three 
parts, as follows: the Request for Certification of Historic 
Property (Part 1); the Request for Certification of 
Rehabilitation (Part 2); and the Request for Certification of 
Completion (Part 3).

3.3 “Certified historic property” or “qualified 
property” shall mean a property located within the State of 
Delaware that is:

3.3.1 individually listed in the National Register 
of Historic Places; or

3.3.2 located in a historic district listed in the 
National Register of Historic Places, and certified by the 
United States Secretary of the Interior as contributing to the 
historic significance of that district; or

3.3.3 individually designated as a historic 
property by local ordinance and certified by the Delaware 
State Historic Preservation Office as meeting the criteria for 
inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places; or

3.3.4 located in a historic district set apart or 
registered by a local government, certified by the Delaware 
State Historic Preservation Office as contributing to the 
historic significance of such area, and certified by the 
Delaware State Historic Preservation Office as meeting the 
criteria for inclusion in the National Register.

3.4 "Certification of Completion", "Completion 
Certificate" or "Certificate" shall mean the certificate 
issued by the Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer 
attesting that certified rehabilitation has been completed and 
that the documentation of qualified expenditures and project 
plans that would be required in order to qualify for tax 
credits under Section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code 
(whether or not such project would be eligible for such 
federal tax credit) has been obtained.

3.5 “Certified rehabilitation” shall mean that 
rehabilitation of a certified historic structure that has been 
certified by the Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer 
as a substantial rehabilitation, and is in conformance with the 
Standards of the Secretary of the Interior for Rehabilitation 
(36 CRF, part 67) or such other standards as the Delaware 
State Historic Preservation Office shall from time to time 
adopt.

3.6 “Credit award” shall mean the amount of 
qualified expenditures as determined by the State Office as 

part of the Part 2 approval multiplied by the appropriate 
amount as determined in Section 1813 of Chapter 18, 
Subchapter II of Title 30 Delaware Code, (as amended).

3.7 “Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer”
shall mean the person designated and appointed in 
accordance with 16 USC Sec. 470a(b)(1)(a), as amended.

3.8 “Federal tax credit” shall mean the Federal 
Rehabilitation Tax Credit as defined in the United States Tax 
Code, Title 26, Subtitle A, Chapter 1, Subchapter A, Part IV, 
Subpart E, Section 47.

3.9 “Fiscal Year” shall mean the State’s fiscal year.
3.10 “National Register of Historic Places” or 

“National Register” shall mean the National Register of 
districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects significant 
in American history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, 
and culture that the United States Secretary of the Interior is 
authorized to expand and maintain pursuant to Section 
101(a)(1) of the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, 
as amended.

3.11 "Office" or "State Office" shall mean the 
Delaware State Historic Preservation Office.

3.12 "Owner-occupied historic property" shall 
mean any certified historic property, or any portion thereof, 
which is owned by a taxpayer and is being used, or within a 
reasonable period will be used, by such taxpayer as the 
taxpayer's principal residence. “Reasonable period” shall 
mean within six months of the issuance of the Certification 
of Completion. The State Office, in its sole discretion, may 
offer one extension, not to exceed three months, for cause. 
Such property may consist of part of a multiple dwelling or 
multiple purpose building or series of buildings, including a 
cooperative or condominium. If only a portion of a building 
is used as the principal residence, only those qualified 
expenditures that are properly allocable to such portion shall 
be eligible under this subchapter. 

3.13 "Person" shall include any individual; any 
form of company or corporation which is lawful within the 
State of Delaware (including limited liability companies and 
S corporations), whether or not for profit; any form of 
partnership which is lawful within the State of Delaware 
(including limited liability partnerships), whether or not for 
profit; any trust or estate, and any lawful joint venture. 
"Person" shall also include any governmental entity, 
pass-through entity, or person under a lease contract for five 
years or longer.

3.14 "Property" shall mean real estate, and shall 
include any building or structure, including multiple-unit 
structures.

3.15 “Qualified expenditure” shall mean any 
amount properly expended by a person for the certified 
rehabilitation of a certified historic property, but shall not 
include: 

3.15.1 acquisition of real property, or acquiring 
an interest in real property;
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3.15.2 any addition to an existing structure, 
except where the combined square footage of all additions is 
twenty percent or less than the total square footage of the 
historic portion of the property; and each such addition is 
approved by the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Officer, pursuant to federal guidelines, as:

3.15.2.1 preserving the character-defining 
features of the certified historic property,

3.15.2.2 adequately differentiating the new 
construction from the existing structure, and 

3.15.2.3 complying with requirements 
regarding safety and accessibility in a manner reasonably 
designed to minimize any adverse impact on the certified 
historic property;

3.15.3 paving or landscaping costs which exceed 
ten percent (10%) of the total qualified expenditures;

3.15.4 sales and marketing costs; or
3.15.5 expenditures not properly charged to a 

capital account, including, in the case of owner occupied 
property, expenditures that would not properly be charged to 
a capital account where the owner using such property is a 
trade or business. 

3.16 “Resident Curator” shall mean a person who 
has entered into a contractual agreement with the owner of a 
qualified property in which the person agrees to pay for full 
restoration of the owner’s qualifying property in exchange 
for a life tenancy in the property without remunerative 
compensation to the owner for the life tenancy.

3.16 7 “Substantial rehabilitation” or “full 
restoration” shall mean rehabilitation of a certified historic 
property for which the qualified expenditures, during the 
twenty-four month period selected by the taxpayer and 
ending with or within the taxable year, exceed:

3.167.1 for income-producing property, and 
non-income producing property other than owner-occupied 
historic property, the current standard required by Section 
47(c)(I)(C) of the Internal Revenue Code; and

3.167.2 for owner-occupied historic property or 
property under contract with a resident curator, five thousand 
dollars ($5,000).

3.178 “Taxpayer” shall  include any ‘person’ as 
defined in this section, and shall include any individual or 
corporation taxable under Title 5, or taxable under either 
Chapter 11 or Chapter 19 of Title 30  

See 6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

4.0 Procedures for Certification of Historic Property
4.1 A taxpayer may request that a property in a 

National Register listed or locally designated historic district 
be certified by the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Officer as a certified historic property by filing the Part 1 
application with the State Office.  The Part 1 application 
shall be filed on standard forms available from the State 
Office.  An incomplete application will not be processed 

until all required application information has been received. 
The State Office will notify the taxpayer of the additional 
information needed to undertake or complete the review.

4.2 The Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer 
shall determine whether the property for which a complete 
Part 1 application is received meets the definition of certified 
historic property and shall notify the taxpayer of the 
decision.

4.3 Taxpayers of properties individually listed in the 
National Register do not need to submit a Part 1 application. 
The name of the historic property and its date of listing in the 
National Register must be provided in the Part 2 application.

See 6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

5.0 Procedures for Certification of Rehabilitation
5.1 A taxpayer may request a determination by the 

Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer that a proposed 
substantial rehabilitation plan meets the criteria for 
certification by filing a Part 2 application with the State 
Office. The Part 2 application shall be filed on standard 
forms available from the State Office.  

5.2 A taxpayer must submit Part 1 of the application 
prior to, or with, Part 2. Part 2 of the application will not be 
processed until an adequately documented and approved Part 
1 application, where required as outlined in Section 4.0 of 
these regulations, is on file.

5.3 An incomplete application will not be processed 
until all required application information has been received. 
Where adequate documentation is not provided, the State 
Office will notify the taxpayer of the additional information 
needed to undertake or complete review. 

5.4 The Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer 
shall determine whether the proposed substantial 
rehabilitation for which a complete application is received 
under Section 5.1 of this regulation meets the definition of a 
certified rehabilitation and shall send the taxpayer notice of 
the determination and of the credit award. The State Office 
may require modifications to the plan in order to meet the 
definition of a certified rehabilitation.

5.5 The Part 2 application must provide cost estimates 
of qualified expenditures prepared by a licensed architect, 
engineer, or contractor or a certified construction cost 
estimator for the proposed rehabilitation. This information 
will be used to determine the credit award for approved Part 
2 applications. 

5.6 The amount of tax credit applied against the 
qualified expenditures in accordance with Section 1813 of 
Title 30 Delaware Code (as amended) shall represent the 
"credit award."

5.7 Credits will be awarded in chronological order 
based upon the date and time on which each application 
receives Part 2 approval from the State Office.

5.8 In the alternative, the Delaware State Historic 
Preservation Officer may certify a rehabilitation plan and 
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issue a Part 2 approval to any taxpayer who has obtained a 
Part 1 and Part 2 certification from the federal government 
pursuant to 36 CFR 67, where applicable. Under this 
provision, taxpayers must file the State of Delaware Part 2 
cover form containing the information required under 
section 5.5 of these regulations.

5.9 All taxpayers must begin construction on the 
approved Part 2 plan within one year of receiving the Part 2 
approval. Taxpayers, having received Part 2 approval, must 
notify the State Office in writing of the start date of the 
rehabilitation work. If construction on the rehabilitation plan 
is not substantially commenced and is being diligently 
pursued within this time period, the taxpayer will forfeit the 
awarded credits, and the credits awarded to such taxpayer 
will become available for award to other taxpayers. 
Substantially commenced and diligently pursued means that 
at a minimum twenty-five percent (25%) of the estimated 
rehabilitation costs must have been expended. The State 
Office reserves the right to obtain documentation from the 
applicant supporting the expenditure. 

5.10 The project may be inspected by the Delaware 
State Historic Preservation Officer or his/her designated 
representative to determine if the work is consistent with the 
approved Part 2 plan or the project has substantially 
commenced and is being diligently pursued.

See 6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

6.0 Procedures for Certification of Completion
6.1 Upon completion of a certified rehabilitation, the 

taxpayer must submit a Part 3 application, with required 
documentation, to the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Office. The completed project may be inspected by the 
Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer or his/her 
designated representative to determine if the work meets the 
definition of a certified rehabilitation.

6.2 Upon approval by the State Office that the 
completed rehabilitation meets the definition of a certified 
rehabilitation, the State Office shall submit the 
documentation to the Division of Revenue or the State Bank 
Commissioner, as appropriate,  and request a determination 
of the value of the tax credit.

6.3 Upon receipt of the certification of the value of the 
tax credit associated with the Certificate of Completion by 
the Division of Revenue or the State Bank Commissioner, 
the Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer shall issue a 
Certificate of Completion to the taxpayer.

6.4 In no event shall the credit claimed by a taxpayer 
exceed the approved Part 2 credit award.   

See 6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

7.0 Fees for Processing Rehabilitation Certification 
Request

7.1 The fee for review of rehabilitation work for 
projects where the qualified expenditures are over $100,000 

is $250 for each separate application. The fee from a single 
taxpayer for multiple projects submitted at the same time 
shall not exceed $2,500. Final action will not be taken on any 
application until the appropriate remittance is received. No 
fee will be charged for rehabilitation projects where the 
qualified expenditures are under $100,000.

7.2 The fee, where applicable, must be submitted with 
the Part 3 application. All checks shall be made payable to 
the State of Delaware.

See 6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

8.0 Resident Curator Program
8.1 Curatorship property is subject to periodic 

inspection by the State Office during the tax years in which 
the credit is applicable.

8.2 Improvements to curatorship property must be 
completed within five years from the date of execution of the 
contract between the owner and the resident curator.

8.3 Curatorship property may not be used for 
commercial purposes.

89.0 Administrative Review
89.1 A taxpayer whose application has been 

disapproved by the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Officer under these regulations may file a written request for 
review with the Secretary of State or the Secretary’s 
designee within 60 days after the notice of disapproval is 
sent.

89.2 The Secretary of State or the Secretary’s 
designee shall review the request within 60 days after receipt 
of the request. If the Secretary of State or the Secretary’s 
designee determines that the application filed meets the 
standards set forth in these regulations the application shall 
be considered approved. If the Secretary of State or 
Secretary’s designee determines that the application filed 
does not meet the standards set forth in these regulations, the 
application shall be disapproved. The Secretary of State or 
Secretary’s designee shall promptly notify the taxpayer of 
the Secretary’s determination.

89.3 A taxpayer whose application has been 
disapproved by the Secretary of State may appeal that action 
in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 
Del.C. §10101 et. seq.

89.4 An appellant who has exhausted all 
administrative remedies shall be entitled to judicial review in 
accordance with Subchapter V of the Administrative 
Procedures Act.

See 6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)
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HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  6 Delaware Code,

Section 4616 (6 Del.C. §4616)

NOTICE

The State Human Relations Commission  in accordance 
with 6 Del.C. §4616 has proposed changes to  rules and 
regulations relating to  fair housing.  The proposed rules 
clarify the procedures and the role of the Division of Human 
Relations in the administrative investigation and conciliation 
of complaints filed under the Delaware Fair Hosing Act.
Other rules added are  similar to the federal regulations 
applicable to the federal Fair Housing Act.  For example, if 
there is no answer is filed in response to a formal charge of 
discrimination by the Division, the factual allegations are 
deemed admitted.   Regulations have been added that apply 
to housing for older persons.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed changes 
on June 10, 2004 at 7:30 p.m. at Delaware State University, 
MBNA Building, Second Floor, Room 2004, Route 13, 
Dover, DE .   The Commission will receive and consider 
input from any person on the proposed Regulation. Written 
comment can be submitted at any time prior to the hearing to 
Sheryl Paquette, Division of Human Relations, 805 River 
Road, Dover DE 19901.  In addition to publication in the 
Register of Regulations, copies of the proposed regulations 
can be obtained Sheryl Paquett, Division of Human 
Relations by calling her at (302)739-4567. Notice of the 
hearing and the nature of the proposal are also published in 
two Delaware newspapers of general circulation.

Proposed Regulations
1502 Fair Housing Regulations

Introduction
Pursuant to the authority granted to the Human 

Relations Commission under Title 6, Chapter 46, Section 
4616 of the Delaware Fair Housing Act, and in accordance 
with the applicable requirements of The Administrative 
Procedures Act, the Human Relations Commission has 
adopted these rules and regulations to carry out the Delaware 
Fair Housing Act (The Act).

These regulations shall govern individual cases over 
which the Human Relations Commission and the Office 
Division of Human Relations have jurisdiction pursuant to 
Chapter 46, Title 6 of the Delaware Code.

These procedural regulations are intended to carry out 
the Delaware Fair Housing Act prohibiting unlawful 
discrimination in housing, and to enable the Commission to 
achieve equal or greater protection, thereby allowing 
eligibility for certain Federal funding necessary to carry out 
this function as a substantially equivalent agency.

These new Regulations shall apply to Fair Housing 
causes of action occurring under the Delaware Fair Housing 
Act on or after September 1, 1992.

These rules and regulations are specific to the 
processing of complaints of unlawful housing discrimination 
under the Delaware Fair Housing Act. The Commission 
believes these rules and regulations are necessary to ensure 
the appropriate administration of the Fair Housing Act and in 
order that the commission will be regarded as a substantially 
equivalent agency.

1.0 Definitions
1.1 The following terms used in these regulations shall 

have the same definition as defined in the Delaware Fair 
Housing Act, Section 4602:

Age
Aggrieved persons
Chairperson
Commission
Complainant
Conciliation
Conciliation Agreement
Court
Covered Multifamily Dwellings
Discriminatory Housing Practice
Dwelling
Familial Status
Family
Handicap or Disability
Housing For Older Persons
Marital Status
Panel
Panel Chair
Person
Residential Real Estate - Related Transaction
Respondent
To Rent
To Sell or sale
Special Administration Fund

1.2 As used in these Rules and Regulations, the 
following terms are defined:

“Act” means The Delaware Fair Housing Act as 
amended from time to time, Chapter 46, Title 6 of the 
Delaware Code.

“Commissioner” means a person duly serving as a 
member of the Commission.

“Charging Party” means the same as 
"Complainant" (including in some instances the 
Commission).

“Creed” means any system of beliefs guiding or 
directing a person's behavior and actions including, but not 
limited to, an organized religion, sect, or philosophical 
society.

“Director” means the administrator and head of the 
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Office of Human Relations or person duly authorized to act 
as such.

“National Origin” means the native country of an 
individual or his ancestor(s).

“Office” means any one of the places of business of 
the Office of Human Relations.

“Party” means the Complainant(s) or 
Respondent(s).

“Religion” means a particular system of faith and 
worship recognized and practiced by a particular church, 
sect or denomination or other group of people.

“Sex” means the basis of being male or female.
“Staff” means a person employed by the Office of 

Human Relations of the State of Delaware.
“Verified” means that the person signing the 

complaint or answer has sworn or affirmed that the 
statements of facts in the document are true.

2.0 Commencement of Proceedings Filing a Complaint 
(Formerly Rules 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6)

2.1 Any aggrieved person or the Commission itself 
may file a written complaint. Minors may be represented by 
a parent or guardian or responsible adult for the purpose of 
bringing an action.

2.2 The Commission may initiate an investigation 
regarding compliance with applicable law whether or not a 
complaint is filed. Such investigations may be initiated by 
written statement showing justification signed by the 
Commission Chair or such person as may be authorized by 
the Commission in accordance with applicable provisions of 
law. To the extent practicable, procedures in these 
Regulations shall apply to Commission-initiated 
investigations.

2.3 A complaint shall be filed at any one of the places 
of business of the Office Division of Human Relations.

2.4 Complaints made filed with the Commission 
through its Offices The Division of Human Relations shall 
be in writing and deemed to be filed when received at the 
office in substantially completed form as required. A 
complaint referred to the Commission or Office the Division
of Human Relations by a federal agency shall be deemed to 
be filed on the date it was taken or filed with such agency.

2.5 Form of Complaint
2.5.1 All complaints may should be filed on a 

Complaint Form provided by the Office.
2.5.2 All complaints shall include the following 

data: 
2.5.2.1 Full name and address of 

Complainant(s).
2.5.2.2 Full name and address of Respondent 

(s), if known, identifying whether each Respondent is an 
individual, partnership, corporation, etc.

2.5.2.3 The alleged discriminatory housing 
practice(s). --A concise statement of the facts thereof.

2.5.2.4 The date (s) of the alleged 
discriminatory practice (s) and whether the practice(s) is/are 
of a continuing nature together with the duration of such 
continuing practice(s).

2.5.2.5 The signature of Complainant or his/
her attorney at law, or his/her representative authorized by 
written certification, or, in the case of a minor, a parent or 
guardian., guardian, or responsible adult on behalf of such 
minor, unless otherwise required by law. Such signature shall 
be notarized as a verified complaint. The Office Division of 
Human Relations shall provide such notarial service without 
charge for persons coming into the office.

2.6 Complainants and Respondents must keep the 
Office Division of Human Relations informed of their 
current addresses and telephone numbers.

3.0 Answer to Complaint of Respondent Role (Formerly 
Rule 7) 

A copy of Aany written answer of Respondent shall be 
verified and filed with the Commission within 20 days of 
receiving the complaint with proof of service showing a 
copy has been served on the Complainant.

4.0 Initiating Action on Investigation of the Complaint 
(Formerly Rules 8, 9, 10 and 11)

4.1 Investigation of complaints shall be conducted by 
Staff the Division and commenced within 30 days after filing 
the complaint, and may include: interviews, questionnaires, 
fact finding conferences, search of records, the conduct of
tests, identification of witnesses, development of statistics, 
other studies of alleged practices and patterns, or other work 
to gather relevant evidence. Such work shall be subject to the 
approval of the Director.

4.2 Within thirty (30) days after a complaint is filed, 
staff shall prepare questionnaires to be answered by the 
parties. Questions may be suggested by. the parties for 
inclusion in such questionnaires. The answer to such 
questionnaires shall be submitted in writing to staff within 
10 business days after service of the questionnaire. Each 
party shall receive a copy of every other party’s response to 
questionaires.

4.3 Staff shall The Division may schedule an informal 
fact-finding conference to be held with the Complainant and 
Respondent within thirty (30) days of the date the complaint 
is filed, unless it is impractical to do so.

4.4 Investigation of a complaint shall proceed with all 
possible dispatch according to the time limits set forth in the 
Act, to aid conciliation, to determine if reasonable cause 
exists to issue a charge and to prepare the case for hearing or 
Court.

4.5 At the end of each investigation, the Commission
Division shall prepare a final investigative report containing 
that information set forth in Section 4610 (b)(5) of The Act.
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5.0 Conciliation and Agreement (Formerly Rules 12, 13, 
14 and 15)

5.1 The opportunity to conciliate or settle a case is 
available at any stage of the complaint process and may 
include a no-fault settlement opportunity prior to the onset of 
the investigation offer; the Complainant shall be advised of 
the opportunity so notified when a complaint is filed and the 
Respondent when a complaint is served.

5.2 Conciliation shall be initiated upon request of 
Complainant or Respondent or recommendation of the 
Division  Staff or the  Panel assigned to the case.  Statements 
made in the course of conciliation can be disclosed only as 
provided under the Act.

5.3 An employee of the Division may serve as 
conciliator. A Commissioner, who is not assigned to the 
hearing Panel  other than one of the Commissioners later 
appointed as members of the hearing panel, may, in the 
discretion of the Chairperson be appointed by the 
Chairperson to serve as conciliator. , or a staff person may 
serve as conciliator.

5.4 Any agreement achieved by conciliation shall be set 
forth in writing and shall specify the appropriate relief 
agreed upon by the parties. The following may be included:

5.4.1 binding arbitration to resolve the dispute; 
payment of damages;

5.4.2 compensation or other monetary relief;
5.4.3 payments made to the Special 

Administration Fund of the Human Relations Commission 
under Chapter 30, Title 31 of the Delaware Code;

5.4.4 monitoring of future activities;
5.4.5 affirmative action measures; and/or other 

means to ensure future compliance, such as the 
implementation of Rental Guidelines in housing cases;

5.4.6 closing or terminating the case; and
5.4.7 any other relief agreed upon by the parties 

that will further the purposes of the Act.
5.5 A conciliation agreement shall become effective 

when signed by all parties, the Panel Chair if a Panel has 
been appointed, and the Commission Chair or his or her 
designee.

5.6 Written and executed copies of such agreements 
shall be given to all parties. and notice thereof promptly sent 
to the Panel if a Panel has been appointed. Conciliation 
agreements shall be made public publicly available unless 
the complainant and respondent otherwise agree and the 
Commission determines that disclosure is not required to 
further the purposes of the Act.

5.7 Failure to comply with Conciliation Agreements 
shall be pursued enforced according to the Act.

6.0 Charge (Formerly Rules 16 and 17)
6.1 Except in the case of complaints initiated by the 

Commission, the Director of the Office of Human Relations 
or a staff person designated by the Director shall make a 

determination as to whether or not reasonable cause exists to 
believe that a discriminatory choosing practice has occurred 
or is about to occur and issue a change or dismiss the 
complaint pursuant to Section 4610(f).

6.2 Although the time for conciliation specified by 
Section 4610(b)(1) of the Act ends with the filing of a charge 
or dismissal, under Section 4612(e), staff may still make 
efforts to settle the case before a final order is issued.

7.0 Case Closing Prior to Hearing 6.0 Administrative 
Closure (Formerly Rules 18, 19, and 20)

7.1 6.1 A case shall be considered to have been closed 
or can be voluntarily terminated upon withdrawal of 
complaint by Complainant in writing with or without 
prejudice prior to answer prior to a response by the 
Respondent. Such withdrawal shall be in writing. However, 
after answer a response is filed by Respondent, a complaint 
may be withdrawn with or without prejudice only with he 
consent of the Respondent or with approval by the 
Chairperson or his or her designee to preserve the public 
interest.

7.2 6.2 A case may be closed by the Division  for lack 
of activity in the case for more than one (1) year ninety (90) 
days,  failure of Complainant to cooperate, or loss of contact 
with the Complainant. Application shall be made in writing 
by Staff to Panel or if no Panel has been appointed then to 
the Director or Chairperson, stating the reason for the 
proposed closing.

7.3 A case may be closed for failure of Complainant to 
cooperate upon application of Staff to the Panel or if no 
Panel has been appointed, then to the Director or 
Chairperson.

7.4 A case may be closed for loss of contact with the 
Complainants where all reasonable efforts to locate same 
have been exhausted, upon written application by the Panel 
or by the Staff to the Panel, or if no Panel has been 
appointed, then to the Director or Chairperson.

7.5 6.3 All notices of case closing shall be served on 
all parties at the last addresses they provided to the Division
and shall include a statement of the option to re-file the 
complaint as provided under the Act within the applicable 
statute of limitations.  of the right to appeal, to have the case 
reopened for good cause shown to the Panel, or if no Panel 
has been appointed, then to the Director or Chairperson.

7.0 Charge and Answer
7.1 Except in the case of complaints initiated by the 

Commission, the Director or his or her designee shall make a 
determination as to whether or not reasonable cause exists to 
believe that a discriminatory housing practice has occurred 
or is about to occur and issue a charge on behalf of the 
aggrieved person or dismiss the complaint pursuant to 
Section 4610(f).

7.2 The time for conciliation specified by Section 
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4610(b)(1) of the Act ends with the filing of a charge or a 
dismissal under Section 4610(f)(1)(2).  Any subsequent 
settlement negotiations are conducted between the 
Respondent, or his or her attorney, and the Deputy Attorney 
general assigned to represent the Division.

7.3 The charge shall consist of a short and plain 
statement of the facts that support a finding of reasonable 
cause by the  Division and shall be served on the Respondent 
and the aggrieved person. The charge shall be based on the 
final investigative report and need not be limited to the facts 
alleged in the complaint.

7.4 An aggrieved person may intervene as a party in the 
proceeding with written notice to the Division and the 
Respondent.

7.5 Within 20 days after service of the charge, a 
Respondent shall file an answer with the Division.

7.6 Failure to file an answer to the charge shall be 
deemed an admission by the Respondent of all matters of 
fact recited therein and may result in the entry of a default 
decision by the Commission.

7.7 Any party may elect in writing to proceed for 
judicial determination rather that the administrative hearing 
before the Commission  by notifying the Division within 20 
days of receiving the charge. If an election for judicial 
determination is made, the Respondent is not required to file 
an answer to the charge with the Division. The subsequent 
proceeding are subject to the rules of the Court.

8.0 Appointment of Panel (Formerly Rule 21 and 22)
8.1 In the absence of an election to proceed with 

judicial determination  in a Civil Action pursuant to Section 
4612 of the Act, the Commission Chair or designee shall 
promptly appoint a panel of three (3) Commissioners, one of 
whom shall be designated as the Panel Chair.

8.2 The Panel shall have all the powers of the 
Commission with respect to matters before it.

9.0 Expedited Discovery after a Charge is Filed
(Formerly Rules 23, 24, 25, 26 and 27)

9.1 Staff shall cause interrogatories and/or requests for 
production of documents to be issued and depositions to be 
taken upon request of any party; After a charge is filed by the 
Division, parties may obtain discovery by depositions, 
written interrogatories, production of documents or things, 
and requests for admission.  The expense of such discovery 
shall be borne by the party requesting the discovery.

9.2 Pursuant to the Fair Housing Act, Sections 4612(d) 
and (e), discovery in A administrative proceedings shall be 
conducted as expeditiously as possible consistent with the 
need of all parties to obtain relevant evidence and the 
statutory requirement that a hearing be scheduled within 120 
days following the issuance of the charge unless 
impracticable.

9.3 The parties shall try to agree on procedures for 

discovery. Where the parties cannot agree, disputes shall be 
presented in writing to staff, and the dispute shall be resolved 
by written decision of a Commissioner, appointed by the 
Chairperson, who will not be assigned to the hearing Panel, 
or to the Director, who shall resolve the dispute according to 
the intent of the Fair Housing Act and fairness to both 
parties. The person making the decision shall make a written 
record of the decision and the reasons therefor.

9.4 Discovery need not be formal. made with the 
customary formalities of Superior Court or the Court of 
Chancery. For example, the parties need not have a 
professional stenographer for transcription of depositions, so 
long as a record is made in some fashion such as an audio or 
video tape.  by a professional or non-professional. Each 
party Parties shall be entitled to a copy of the record, in 
whatever form, at their own expense.

9.5 Any party may serve on any other party a request to 
produce and permit the party making the request, or 
someone acting on that party's behalf to inspect and copy or 
photograph, any designated documents or photographs 
which constitute or contain evidence relating to any matter 
which is relevant to the subject matter involved in the 
pending hearing and not otherwise privileged and which are 
in the possession, custody or control of the party upon whom 
the request is served. Nevertheless, requests for production 
shall not be unduly burdensome upon the parties.

9.6 Production of documents shall be made to the 
requesting party within twenty (20) days after a written 
request is served upon the party, with a copy filed with the 
Commission. If the parties cannot agree as to production of 
documents, the party submitting the request may request the 
Commission to resolve the dispute according to Rule 9.1 
(Formerly Rule 23).

9.7 Each party shall be provided with copies of the 
other parties responses to staff questionnaires. If an 
interrogatory was not covered by the staff questionnaire, any 
party may request staff to supplement the questionnaire with 
additional questions. Disputes as to this shall be resolved
according to section 9.1 (Formerly Rule 23).

10.0 Pre-hearing Production (Formerly Rules 28 & 
29)

10.1 Copies or photographs of all exhibits, except 
exhibits intended solely for impeachment, must be delivered 
to the Commission Office at the office of the Division where 
the complaint was filed and to all parties at least ten (10) 
business days prior to the hearing. The hearing panel shall 
consider such exhibits without formal proof unless the 
parties and the Commission have been notified at least five 
(5) business days prior to the hearing that an adverse party 
intends to raise an issue concerning the authenticity of the 
exhibit.

10.1.1 The Panel may refuse to receive into 
evidence any exhibit, a copy or photographs of which has 
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not been delivered to the Commission and to an adverse 
party as provided herein. After commencement of the 
hearing, the Panel, in its discretion, may view or inspect 
exhibits or the locus location involved in a case. in the 
presence of the parties and/or their attorneys or outside the 
presence of the parties or their attorneys.

10.1.2 Exhibits submitted at Panel Hearings are 
to be kept by the Commission during the passage of time for 
judicial review under Section 4612(i) or until all relevant 
proceedings have been concluded, whichever is later. When 
such time has passed, the exhibits shall be returned to their 
proper owner or destroyed.

10.2 A written list of witnesses a party intends to 
call during a Panel Hearing, must be delivered to the 
Commission and all parties at least ten (10)  twenty-one (21)
days prior to the hearing.

10.2.1 The Commission Panel may refuse to 
receive into evidence any testimony of a witness which who
has not been named on the witness list.

10.2.2 A party requesting that a witness be 
subpoenaed to appear shall provide the address where 
service can be made as required under Rule 11.5.  A witness 
is required to appear only if a subpoena has been issued.

11.0 Hearings (Formerly Rules 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 & 
35)

11.1 The purpose of a hearing is to receive 
evidence, determine facts, and, after deliberation, render an 
adjudication in accordance with applicable law.

11.2 The date, time, place and subject matter to be 
heard shall be included in the notice of hearing sent to all 
parties, the Panel and the Attorney General's representative, 
as well as such other information as is required by the 
Administrative Procedures Act. Notice of the hearing shall 
be sent to the parties pursuant to  the Administrative 
Procedures Act.

11.3 No fewer than three Commissioners shall 
constitute a quorum for all Commission Panel hearings. In 
the absence of any duly appointed Panel member for any 
reason whatsoever, the Commission Chair or his or her
designee shall be empowered to make a substitution without 
notice to the parties, provided the hearing has not yet begun.

11.4 The hearing shall be held in the C county in 
which the discriminatory housing practice is alleged to have 
occurred or is to be about to occur.

11.5 A subpoena shall be issued upon written 
request by any party to a proceeding, the Staff, or the Panel. 
Such request shall be submitted by a party within a 
reasonable time in advance of the hearing or deposition. 
Witnesses and documents requested must be clearly 
described in writing and include addresses for service. The 
consequence of failure to request a subpoena in timely 
fashion shall be at the discretion of the Panel.

11.5.1 Subpoenas may be served by the Division 

or a person  Staff, a Commissioner, or by any other person 
who is not a party and is not less than 18 years of age or 
older who is not a Respondent or aggrieved person in the 
proceeding. A return of service of each subpoena shall be 
promptly filed at the appropriate Office.

11.5.2 Where a person fails or neglects to attend 
and  testify or to  produce records or other evidence in 
obedience to a subpoena or other lawful order, the 
Commission may petition the Superior Court for an order 
requiring the person to appear to produce evidence or give 
testimony.  Failure to obey such order is punishable by the 
Court as contempt.

11.6 The hearing shall be conducted by the 
Commission Panel Chair in a setting designed to put the 
parties at ease.  The parties  Individuals  may be represented 
by counsel. A corporate entity must be represented by an 
attorney admitted to practice in Delaware.  Every hearing 
shall be recorded by electronic instrument or court reporter.

11.6.1 All parties or their counsel shall be given 
the opportunity to make a brief opening statement prior to 
the introduction of any evidence in the case. The purpose of 
opening statements shall be to clarify the positions of the 
parties and the issues being presented for determination. 
Testimony shall be under oath or affirmation administered 
by the Panel Chair or a notary public.

11.6.2 All information and facts available
evidence shall be presented in by sworn testimony and 
exhibits documentary evidence presented at the hearing. 
Staff shall be required to attend the hearing in order to assist 
in the proceedings, or, where appropriate, to be a witness.
The Panel Chair shall have full authority to control the 
procedure of a hearing, including, but not limited to the 
authority to call and examine witnesses, admit or exclude 
evidence, and rule upon all motions and objections subject to 
the following:

11.6.2.1 Formal rules of evidence need not be 
strictly followed.

11.6.2.2 The right of cross e Examination shall 
be preserved and may be conducted by the parties, or a duly 
authorized a party who represents himself or herself, an 
attorney admitted to practice in Delaware who represents a 
party,  attorney-at-law or the Commission Panel.

11.6.2.3 Testimony from any other person may 
be allowed at the discretion of the Commission Panel.

11.6.2.3 Witnesses may be sequestered at the 
discretion of the Commission Panel, upon the request of the 
party(s).

11.6.2.4 Evidence on behalf of the 
Complainant should ordinarily be introduced first, to be 
followed by the Respondent, then allowing rebuttal, if any.

11.6.2.5 The Panel may continue a hearing 
from day to day or adjourn it to a later date or to a different 
place by so announcing at the Hearing or by appropriate 
notice to all parties.
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11.6.2.6 Following presentation of the 
evidence an opportunity shall be given to each party to make 
a closing statement.

11.6.2.7 The Panel may re-call the parties for 
further testimony if it is unable to reach a decision.

11.7 A written transcript shall be prepared, if and as 
required, on the written request of any party to the matter, 
provided that such party pays for the cost of preparing the 
transcript. Staff The Division shall coordinate this process 
under State contract. Such recordings and transcripts shall be 
preserved with the official file record of a case.

12.0 Decision and Orders (Formerly Rules 36, 37 & 
38)

12.1 Deliberations of the Panel are non-public.  The 
case decision may be rendered immediately following the 
Hearing or the Panel may reserve its decision to a later date 
and so advise the parties. Decisions shall be by majority vote 
of the Panel. The Attorney General's representative may be 
invited to be present while the Panel reaches a decision.

12.2 A copy of the Final Order shall be delivered by 
hand or  mailed by Certified Mail, Return Receipt 
Requested, or Hand Delivery or by regular first class mail to 
the parties' last known address. In addition each party shall 
be notified of the right to seek reconsideration by the Panel.

12.3 Any party within ten (10)  five (5) business 
days after mailing of the Final order may apply to the Panel 
for reconsideration briefly and distinctly stating the grounds 
therefor. Such application for reconsider must show service 
on the opposing party.  

Within ten (10)  five (5) business days after 
service of such motion, the opposing party may serve and 
file a brief answer to each ground asserted in the motion.
Any such application or answer should be submitted in five 
(5) copies. The Panel shall promptly convene in person or by 
teleconference to consider such motion for reconsideration. 
The filing of such application shall not extend the time for 
judicial review under Section 4612(i).

13.0 Recovery of Attorney’s Fees, Costs,  and 
Expenses

13.1 Any party seeking to recover attorney’s fees, 
costs, and expenses  shall file a motion and affidavit 
detailing the time spent and fees incurred no later than the 
close of any hearing held before the Panel.

13.2 A motion filed by a Respondent shall state with 
particularity the improper purpose that would permit 
recovery of attorney’s fees, costs,  and expenses as provided 
pursuant to 6 Del. C. Section 4615.

13.0 14.0 Miscellaneous Provision (Formerly Rules 39, 
40, 41, 42, 43 & 44)

13.1 14.1 Time.
14.1.113.1.1 In computing any period of time 

prescribed or allowed by these Rules, by order of court, or by 
statute, the day of the act, event or default after which the 
designated period of time begins to run shall not be included. 
The last day of the period so computed shall be included, 
unless it is a Saturday or Sunday, or other legal holiday, or 
other day on which the office Division of Human Relations 
is closed, in which event the period shall run until the end of 
the next day on which the Office Division  is open. As used 
in this rule, "legal holidays" shall be those days provided by 
statute or appointed by the Governor or the Chief Justice of 
the State of Delaware.

14.1.213.1.2 When by these rules or by a notice 
given thereunder or by order of court an act is required or 
allowed to be done at or within a specified time, the 
Commission or Director for cause shown may at any time in 
its discretion

14.1.2.113.1.2.1 with or without motion or 
notice order the period enlarged if request therefore is made 
before the expiration of the period originally prescribed or as 
extended by a previous order or

14.1.2.213.1.2.2 upon motion made after the 
expiration of specified period permit the act to be done 
where the failure to act was the result of excusable neglect.

14.1.3 13.1.3 Whenever a party has the right to 
or is required to do some act or take some proceeding within 
a prescribed period after being served and service is by mail, 
3 days shall be added to the prescribed period.

14.213.2 Service. Unless otherwise specifically 
required by the Acts or these regulations, service of 
complaints, answers, other pleadings, charges, motions, 
requests or notices shall be made according to this rule.

14.2.113.2.1 For the initial complaint and any 
pleading which brings in a new party, service shall be 
sufficient if made according to Superior Court Civil Rule 
4(f), Rule 4(h) for service under Title 10, Section 3104, or by 
certified mail, return receipt requested with the return receipt 
card signed by (1) the person to be served, (2) a person living 
with or working in the office of the person to be served, or 
(3) an agent authorized by appointment or by law to receive 
service of process.

14.2.213.2.2 Once jurisdiction over a party has 
been established, service may be by certified mail, return 
receipt requested, or by hand delivery or mail pursuant to 
Superior Court Civil Rule 5(b), as then in effect, or by some 
other means of notice generally recognized in the 
community with some confirmation of the notice having 
been sent such as by regular first class mail to the parties' last 
known address as evidenced by a certificate of mailing, by 
an express mail service with a receipt showing the notice 
was delivered to the express mail company, or by telecopier 
or fax with confirmation of transmission from the sender's 
machine.
14.3 13.3 These regulations shall be liberally construed to 
accomplish the purpose of the applicable laws.
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14.413.4 These regulations shall be reviewed 
periodically by the Commission or its designee and the 
Director of the Office Division of Human Relations. Any 
recommendations for change shall be submitted in writing to 
the Commission for consideration at a regularly scheduled 
meeting.

14.513.5 The Administrative Procedures Act 
(Chapter 101 of Title 29) shall provide the method by which 
these regulations may be amended.

14.613.6 Copies of these regulations shall be 
available during regular office hours at the office Division of 
Human Relations or, upon request, by mail. A fee 
established by appropriate authority may be charged. A copy 
of the rules and regulations is also available at : http://
www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/General/Frame.htm

15.0 Regulations related to Housing for Older 
Persons.

15.1 Housing for persons age 62 or older.
15.1.1 Housing that is designated for persons age 

62 or older must be solely occupied by persons age 62 or 
older.

15.1.2 No person under age 62 may move into a 
unit designated for persons age 62 or older even if it is also 
occupied by a person who is qualified by age.  For example, 
if a person age 65 who lives  in a  unit designated for persons 
age 62 or older  marries a person age 60, the person age 60 
does  not qualify to live in the unit.

15.1.3 Units occupied by persons under age 62 
who are employees of the housing facility are not considered 
in determining whether housing qualifies as housing for 
persons age 62 or older.

15.1.4 Units occupied by persons under age 62 
who are  necessary to provide a reasonable accommodation 
to residents with disabilities are not considered in 
determining whether housing qualifies as housing for 
persons age 62 or older.

15.2 Housing for persons age 55 or  older.
15.2.1 Housing qualifies under this section as 

long as at least 80% of the units are occupied by at least one 
person age 55 or older.

15.2.1.1 In computing whether the 80% 
occupancy test is met, unoccupied units are not included in 
the calculation.

15.2.1.2 Units occupied by persons under age 
55, who are employees of the housing facility are not 
considered in determining whether housing qualifies as 
housing for persons age 55 or older.

15.2.1.3 Units occupied by persons under age 
55 who are  necessary to provide a reasonable 
accommodation to residents with disabilities are not 
considered in determining whether housing qualifies as 
housing for persons age 55 or older.

15.2.1.4 A unit that is temporarily vacant is 

deemed to be occupied by a person 55 or older if,  within the 
preceding 12 months, the unit was occupied by a person 55  
or older who intends to periodically return.

15.2.1.5 Owners or managers must maintain 
records demonstrating that at least 80% of the units are 
occupied by at least one person age 55 or older. These 
records shall include biennial  surveys made to confirm the 
ages of occupants by  reliable documentation, such as 
drivers’ licenses, passports, etc. Surveys shall be made 
available to the Division for inspection if a complaint of 
discrimination is filed.

15.2.2 To qualify under this section, a facility or 
community must publish and adhere to policies and 
procedures that demonstrate the intent of the owner to 
maintain housing for persons age 55 or older. The 
publication must be available for inspection at the 
management office during regular business hours.

15.2.3 To qualify under this section, a facility or 
community must have significant facilities and services 
designed to meet the physical or social needs of older 
persons.   These can include periodic seminars, clubs, social 
activities, field trips, transportation, a local bus stop, 
homemaker or health services,  maintenance, clubhouse, 
exercise equipment, recreation area, newsletters,  etc. The 
Division will maintain a list of suggestions  available for the 
convenience of providers of housing for persons 55 or older. 
The list is not all-inclusive.

15.3 Provisions under the Act regarding familial 
status and age are not applicable to qualified housing for 
older persons.

15.4 A child  under 18 years of age may be a 
temporary resident in a unit of housing for older persons if 
the child’s parent, guardian, or person acting as a parent, 
with whom the child just resided, is unable to care for the 
child by reason of death, serious injury or serious illness.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text 
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold 
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language 
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in 
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials, 
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and 
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and 
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2) 
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being 
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, 
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the 
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations, 
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10005 (3 Del.C. §10005)

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 3 Del.C. §10005, the 
Delaware Harness Racing Commission issues this Order 
adopting proposed amendments to the Commission’s Rules. 
Following notice and a public hearing on February 25, 2004, 
the Commission makes the following findings and 
conclusions:

Summary Of Evidence

1. The Commission posted public notice of the 
proposed amendments in the January 1, 2004 Register of 
Regulations and for two consecutive weeks in the Delaware 
Capital Review and Delaware State News.  The proposed 
amendments to the Commission’s Rules are as follows:

1) Amend Rule 3.1.1.14 to provide for the 
appointment of a Bleeder Medication Veterinarian, and 
delete the current reference to Lasix Veterinarian; 

2) Amend Rule 3.13 to change the name of the 
Rule to "Commission Veterinarian."  Amend Rules 3.13.1, 
3.13.2, 3.13.2.3, 3.13.2.6, 3.13.2.8, and 3.13.3 to refer to 
"Commission Veterinarian" instead of the current reference 
to "State Veterinarian";  

3) Amend Rule 3.14 to change the name of the 
Rule to "Bleeder Medication Veterinarian."  Amend Rule 
3.14.1 to refer to "Bleeder Medication Veterinarian" instead 
of the current reference to "Lasix Veterinarian."  Amend 
Rule 3.14.1.1 to refer to "Commission Veterinarian" instead 
of the current reference to "State Veterinarian."  Amend Rule 
3.14.1.6 to provide that the duties of the Bleeder Medication 
Veterinarian include administration of furosemide (salix) and 
aminocaproic acid in accord with Commission Rule 8.3.5. 
Amend Rule 3.14.2 to change the wording to "Commission 
Veterinarian" from the current reference to "State 
Veterinarian";

4) Amend Rule 6.3.3.13 to provide that postrace 
samples can be taken from claimed horses.  Further amend 
Rule 6.3.3.13 to provide that a claimant has the right to void 
a claim if a postrace blood sample from a horse exhibits a 
positive response to the EPO antibody test;

5) Amend Rule 8.3.5 to change the title of the 
Rule to delete the reference to "Lasix" and substitute the 
words "(Salix) and Aminocaproic Acid (Amicar)";   

6) Amend Rule 8.3.5.1 to provide that furosemide 
(salix) or furosemide with aminocaproic acid may be 
administered to a horse on the grounds of the association, 
and provide, that said administration may only be permitted 
after the Commission Veterinarian has placed the horse on 
the Bleeder List or to facilitate collection of a urine sample;  

7) Amend Rule 8.3.5.2 to provide that furosemide 
or furosemide with aminocaproic acid shall be administered 
intravenously by the Bleeder Medication Veterinarian unless 
otherwise determined by that veterinarian.  Further amend 
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Rule 8.3.5.2 to provide that permission for an intramuscular 
administration must be given by the Presiding Judge or 
designee;

8) Amend Rule 8.3.5.3 to provide that 
Aminocaproic Acid shall be administered by the Bleeder 
Medication Veterinarian to horses on the Bleeder Medication 
List of not more than 7.5 grams and not less than 2.5 grams 
intravenously, and that Furosemide shall also only be 
administered to horses on the Bleeder List by the Bleeder 
Medication Veterinarian.  Further amend Rule 8.3.5.3 by 
deleting Rule 8.3.5.3.1, and renumbering the remaining parts 
of the Rule;

9) Amend Rule 8.3.5.4 to provide the time for 
horses to be present in assigned stalls in the paddock for 
Aminocaproic Acid treatment.  Further amend Rule 8.3.5.4 
to change the word "Lasix" to "Furosemide";

10) Amend Rule 8.3.5.5 to provide that payment is 
to be made to the Bleeder Medication Veterinarian for 
administration of medication; 

11) Amend Rule 8.3.5.6 to delete the word "lasix";
12) Amend Rule 8.3.5.7 to provide that a horse 

may be disqualified for failing to declare or report the use of 
aminocaproic acid, and may be disqualified for the absence 
of bleeder medication after declaring the use of bleeder 
medication;  and further amend Rule 8.3.5.7.1 to delete the 
word "Lasix" and insert the word "Furosemide"; and further 
amend Rule 8.3.5.7.1.2 and 8.3.5.7.2 to correct renumbering 
of Rules and to make a grammatical change in the wording 
of the specific gravity level;  

13) Amend Rule 8.3.5.8 to provide that the Bleeder 
Medication Veterinarian is responsible for written 
certifications of administrations of Aminocaproic Acid or 
Furosemide or Furosemide with Aminocaproic Acid;

14) Amend Rule 8.3.5.9 to delete the reference in 
Rule 8.3.5.9.1 to "Commission Veterinarian" and insert 
"Bleeder Medication Veterinarian";  further amend Rules 
8.3.5.9.1.2 and 8.3.5.9.2 to delete the reference to "Lasix 
veterinarian";  further amend Rule 8.3.5.9.3 to add that 
Furosemide or Furosemide with Aminocaproic Acid if 
applicable must be administered to horses on the Bleeder 
List.  Amend Rule 8.3.5.9.6 to provide the procedure to 
discontinue the use of Aminocaproic Acid in a horse. 
Amend Rule 8.3.5.9.7 to delete the word "Lasix" and add 
"Furosemide and Aminocaproic Acid" in reference to 
program symbols to indicate whether a horse from another 
jurisdiction did not race with Furosemide or Furosemide 
with Aminocaproic Acid in its last start.  Amend Rule 
8.3.5.9.8 to delete the word "Lasix" and add "Furosemide or 
Furosemide with Aminocaproic Acid" and to renumber rule 
sections referenced in the rule.  

2. The Commission held a public hearing on February 
25, 2004.  At the public hearing, the Commission received 
sworn testimony from Charles B. Lockhart, Vice-President 
of Dover Downs, Salvatore DiMario, Executive Director of 

DSOA, James Boese, General Manager of Harrington 
Raceway, and Dr. Jay Baldwin, Bleeder Medication 
Veterinarian.

3. Charles Lockhart asked whether, under the 
proposed amendment to Rule 6.3.3.13, a horseman could 
request a blood sample alone and not a urine sample, and 
who would pay for the test.  Mr. Lockhart did not believe the 
rule as drafted addressed the issue of payment.  Currently, 
the track pays for drug testing costs.  Mr. Lockhart stated that 
horsemen should be responsible for the testing, not the track. 
He further questioned how a claim would be voided and a 
horse returned if a horse tested positive for EPO.  Mr. 
Lockhart also inquired how long an individual has to return 
the horse.  Mr. Lockhart also stated that permitting Amicar 
would be liberalizing the medication rules which was not in 
the best interest of the industry.  He did not believe the 
Commission should endorse the change to the Amicar rule.  

4. Salvatore DiMario, stated that the proposed Amicar 
rule changes were the product of a working committee and 
that everyone had input.  Dr. Peters, the Commission 
Veterinarian, was a member of the group and had input on 
the proposed rule changes.  On the proposed amendment to 
Rule 6.3.3.13, Mr. DiMario supported the amendment and 
believed the Commission should adopt it even if not 
complete.  He stated that the EPO rule should be used 
because when a horse with EPO crashes, it is rendered 
unable to race for months.  Mr. DiMario stated that he is 
unsure of what to expect with regard to testing.  The cost of 
the test is about $110 which should be the responsibility of 
the racetrack.  Mr. DiMario believed the Commission should 
get a breakdown of the cost and study the issue before 
changing the rule on payment.

5. Jim Boese stated that Harrington Raceway objects 
to having to pay for a test that should be paid for by the 
claimant.

6. Dr. Baldwin stated that Amicar is not a 
performance-enhancing drug but rather is a medication used 
to help prevent pulmonary hemorrhage and bleeding.

Findings Of Fact And Conclusions

7. The public was given notice and an opportunity to 
provide the Commission with comments in writing and by 
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments 
to the Commission’s Rules.  The Commission received no 
written comments on the proposed amendments.

8. The comments at the public hearing were split in 
regard to the Commission's proposed Amicar rules and EPO 
claiming rule.  With regard to the proposed Amicar rule 
changes, the public testimony indicated that a working 
committee was formed to study the issue of Amicar as a race 
day medication.  The working committee consisted at least 
in part of of Salvatore DiMario, Charles Lockhart, Dr. 
Peters, and John Wayne, Administrator of Racing.  This 
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committee submitted a detailed proposal, which involved 
proposed amendments to Rule 3.1, 3.13, 3.13.2, 3.13.3, 3.14, 
8.3.5.  Some of the proposed changes to these rules are 
stylistic changes involving revised titles and terminology. 
The difference of opinion centers on the proposed changes to 
Rule 8.3.5 which provides the rule for administration of 
Amicar on race day.  The Commission finds based on the 
testimony of Dr. Baldwin that Amicar is not a performance-
enhancing drug.  The Commission further finds based on Dr. 
Baldwin's testimony that the proposed Amicar rule would be 
beneficial to prevent pulmonary hemorrhage and bleeding in 
horses.  The Commission also finds based on the testimony 
of Mr. DiMario that the rule would be beneficial to 
horsemen.  The Commission also notes that the 
Thoroughbred Racing Commission has adopted a similar 
rule, Thoroughbred Commission Rule 15.01.2, in the 
November 1, 2002 Register of Regulations (Vol. 6, Issue 5). 
The Commission concludes from the evidence that the 
proposed amendments to permit the use of Amicar as a race 
day medication are necessary for the effective regulation of 
harness racing in the public interest under 3 Del. C. §10005. 
The Commission also concludes that the Amicar rule 
amendments are consistent with the general purpose of the 
Commission's Veterinary Practices, Equine Health & 
Medication Rules, Rule 8.1, "to protect the integrity of horse 
racing, to ensure the health and welfare of racehorses and to 
safeguard the interests of the public and the participants in 
racing."  The Commission concludes that the proposed 
amendments to Rules 3.1, 3.13, and 8.3.5 should be adopted 
as proposed.

9. The public comments were also divided on whether 
the Commission should adopt the proposed amendment to 
Rule 6.3.3.13.  The amendment to Rule 6.3.3.13 would 
permit a person claiming a horse to request a post-race test 
on the claimed horse to test for the presence of prohibited 
substances and to test for a positive response to the 
erythropoietin (EPO) antibody test.  The comments from Mr. 
DiMario were in favor of the rule amendment.  Both Mr. 
Lockhart and Mr. Boese opposed the rule amendment if the 
racetracks were going to have to pay for the cost of the 
testing. The Commission does find that the use of EPO is 
extremely dangerous to the horses as detailed in the 
testimony of Mr. DiMario.  The rule as proposed would 
permit a person who has claimed a horse to void that claim in 
the event there was proof that a horse had exhibited a 
positive response to the EPO antibody test.  The 
Commission concludes that the proposed rule would be a 
useful step in attempting to discourage the use of EPO in 
harness racing.  The Commission notes that both New York 
and Ontario have already adopted a similar rule in 2003. 
New York Racing Commission Rule 4109.7; Ontario Racing 
Commission Rule 6.48.6.

10. The Commission does recognize that there was 
discussion about what party would be responsible for the 

payment of the testing requested by a claimant.  The 
Commission notes that the proposed amendment to Rule 
6.3.3.13 does not change the language of the rule regarding 
the right of a claimant to request a test on a claimed horse.  It 
was not the intent of the proposed rule to change the existing 
practice and the proposed rule does not amend that language 
in the Rule.  While there was some uncertainty on this issue 
at the public hearing, the Commission does not believe this 
issue should prevent the adoption of a necessary rule.  The 
Commission does note that Rule 6.3.3.13 provides that the 
claimant may request testing "in accordance with these 
rules."  Under Rule 8.4.1.2, the judges do have the authority 
to order random or extra testing on any horse on the 
association grounds.  Furthermore, under Rule 3.2.2.5, the 
judges have the authority to interpret the Commission Rules 
and decide all questions of racing not specifically covered by 
the rules.  There is statutory authority, 3 Del.C. §10029(g), 
requiring the racetracks to reimburse the Commission for the 
costs of Commission ordered testing but this section does not 
specifically apply to testing due to a request of a claimant. 
The Commission does find under Rule 3.2.2.5 that the 
judges do have the authority to require the claimant to bear 
the cost of testing that he or she requests pursuant to Rule 
6.3.3.13. 

11. The Commission finds that the proposed 
amendments to the Rules are necessary for the agency to 
achieve its statutory duty to effectively regulate harness 
racing in the public interest under 3 Del.C. §10005.  

12. The Commission does conclude that a minor 
technical and non-substantive revision to Rule 3.14.1 as 
proposed is necessary.  Rule 3.14.1.1 is amended to delete 
the phrase “State Veterinarian” and insert the correct term 
“Commission Veterinarian.”  The original submission by the 
Commission proposed this change which appears to have not 
been published in the proposed Regulations in the Register 
of Regulations.  In any event, the Commission finds this is a 
non-substantive amendment under 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(4).

13. The effective date of this Order will be ten (10) 
days from the publication of this Order in the Register of 
Regulations on May 1, 2004.  A copy of the enacted Rule 
amendments is attached as Exhibit #1 to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of March, 2004.

Beth Steele, Chair
Robert Everett, Commissioner
Mary Ann Lambertson, Commissioner
George Staats, Commissioner
Kenny Williamson, Commissioner

3.0 Officials
3.1 General Provisions

3.1.1 Racing Officials
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Officials at a race meeting may include the 
following, as determined by the Commission:

3.1.1.1 State Steward;
3.1.1.2 Board of judges;
3.1.1.3 racing secretary;
3.1.1.4 paddock judge;
3.1.1.5 horse identifier and equipment 

checker;
3.1.1.6 clerk of the course;
3.1.1.7 official starter;
3.1.1.8 official charter;
3.1.1.9 official timer;
3.1.1.10 photo finish technician;
3.1.1.11 patrol judge;
3.1.1.12 program director;
3.1.1.13 [State Commission] veterinarian;
3.1.1.14 LASIX Bleeder Medication

veterinarian;
3.1.1.15 Investigator; and
3.1.1.16 Administrator of Racing
3.1.1.17 any other person designated by the 

Commission.
3.1.2 Eligibility 

To qualify as a racing official the 
appointee must be licensed by the Commission after a 
determination that he/she:

3.1.2.1 is of good moral character and 
reputation;

3.1.2.2 is experienced in and/or 
knowledgeable of harness racing;

3.1.2.3 is familiar with the duties to which he/
she is appointed and with the Commission's rules and 
regulations;

3.1.2.4 possesses the mental and physical 
capacity to perform his/her duties; and

3.1.2.5 is not under suspension or ejection by 
the U.S.T.A., the C.T.A. or any racing jurisdiction.

3.1.3 Approval and Licensing
The Commission, in its sole discretion, 

may determine the eligibility of a racing official and, in its 
sole discretion, may approve or disapprove any such official 
for licensing.

3.1.4 Prohibited Practices
Racing officials and their assistants shall 

not engage in any of the following activities while serving in 
an official capacity at a race meeting:

3.1.4.1 participate in the sale or purchase, or 
own any horse racing at the meeting;

3.1.4.2 sell or solicit horse insurance on any 
horse racing at the meeting;

3.1.4.3 be licensed in any other capacity 
without permission of the Commission;

3.1.4.4 wager on the outcome of any live or 
simulcast race;

3.1.4.5 refuse to take a breath analyzer test or 
submit to a blood or urine sample when directed by the 
Commission or its designee; or

3.1.4.6 perform their official duties on any 
day during which any horse entered in any live race at the 
association grounds is owned or trained, in whole or in part, 
directly or indirectly, or is driven by any parent, child or 
sibling of such official, or participate in the draw for any 
such race; provided, however, that a parent, child or sibling 
of an official acting solely as a groom for such a horse shall 
not be deemed to pose a conflict of interest for the official; 
provided further, that should any such conflict described 
above arise, the official will immediately notify the State 
Steward; and provided, further, that should repeated such 
conflicts interfere with the official's performance of his/her 
normal duties, or with any other official's performance of 
his/her official duties, then the Commission shall appoint 
another person to replace the official with the familial 
conflict.

3.1.5 Report of Violations
Racing officials and their assistants shall 

report immediately to the State Steward or judges every 
observed violation of these rules and of the laws of this 
jurisdiction governing racing.

3.1.6 Complaints Against Officials
Any formal complaint against a racing 

official other than a judge shall be made to the State Steward 
or Presiding Judge in writing and signed by the complainant. 
All such complaints shall be reported to the Commission by 
the State Steward or Presiding Judge, as appropriate, 
together with a report of the action taken or the 
recommendation of the State Steward or Presiding Judge. 
Formal complaints against the State Steward or any judge 
shall be made in writing to the Commission and signed by 
the complainant.

3.1.7 Appointment
3.1.7.1 A person shall not be appointed to 

more than one racing official position at a meeting unless 
specifically approved by the Commission.  No person shall 
be appointed to or hold any such office or position who holds 
any official relation to any person, association, or 
corporation engaged in or conducting harness racing within 
this State. No Commissioner, racing official, steward, or 
judge whose duty is to insure that the rules and regulations of 
the Commission are complied with shall bet on the outcome 
of any race regulated by the Commission or have any 
financial or pecuniary interest in the outcome of any race 
regulated by the Commission. All employees appointed 
under 3 Del.C. §10007(a-c) shall serve at the pleasure of the 
Commission and are to be paid a reasonable compensation.

3.1.7.2 The Commission shall appoint or 
approve the State Steward and judges at each harness race 
meeting. The Commission may appoint such officials on an 
annual basis. In addition to any minimum qualifications 
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promulgated by the Commission, all applicants for the 
position of Steward must be certified by a national 
organization approved by the Commission. An applicant for 
the position of steward or race judge must also have been 
previously employed as a steward, patrol judge, clerk of 
scales or other racing official at a harness racing meeting for 
a period of not less than forty-five days during three of the 
last five years, or have at least five years of experience as a 
licensed driver who has also served not less than one year as 
a licensed racing official at a harness racing meeting or have 
ten years of experience as a licensed harness racing trainer 
who has served not less than one year as a licensed racing 
official at a harness racing meeting.

3.1.7.3 The Commission may appoint such 
officers, clerks, stenographers, inspectors, racing officials, 
veterinarians, and such other employees as it deems 
necessary, consistent with the purposes of 3 Del.C. Chapter 
100.

3.1.8 Appointment of Substitute State Steward/
Judge

Should any State Steward or any judge be 
absent at race time, the State Steward, or, in his/her absence 
the remaining judge(s) shall appoint a deputy for the State 
Steward or judge(s). If a deputy State Steward or judge is 
appointed, the Commission shall be notified immediately by 
the State Steward or remaining judges.

3.2 State Steward/Judges
3.2.1 General Authority

3.2.1.1 The State Steward and judges for each 
meeting shall be responsible to the Commission for the 
conduct of the race meeting in accordance with the laws of 
this jurisdiction and these rules.

3.2.1.2 The State Steward and judges shall 
enforce these rules and the racing laws of the State of 
Delaware.

3.2.1.3 The State Steward's authority includes 
supervision of all racing officials, licensed personnel, other 
persons responsible for the conduct of racing and patrons, as 
necessary to ensure compliance with these rules.

3.2.1.4 The State Steward and Presiding 
Judge shall have authority to resolve conflicts or disputes 
related to racing and to discipline violators in accordance 
with the provisions of these rules.

3.2.1.5 The State Steward and judges have 
the authority to interpret the rules and to decide all questions 
of racing not specifically covered by the rules.

3.2.1.6 The State Steward shall be a 
representative of the Commission at all race meetings which 
the Commission may direct such State Steward to attend. 
The State Steward shall be the senior officer at such 
meetings and, subject to the control and direction of the 
Commission, shall have general supervision over the racing 
officials, medication program and drug-testing officials, and 
all other employees and appointees of the Commission 

employed at such race meet or meetings.  The State Steward 
shall, subject to the general control of the Commission, 
monitor the conduct of the racing and the pari-mutuel 
department, and supervise the testing of horses and drivers. 
The State Steward at all times shall have access to all parts of 
the association grounds, including the racecourse, physical 
plant and grounds.  Upon instruction from the Commission, 
the State Steward shall conduct hearings and investigations, 
and report his findings to the Commission. The State 
Steward shall act for the Commission in all matters requiring 
its attention, to receive from all persons having knowledge 
thereof information required by the Commission and to 
perform all other duties for the compliance of the rules and 
regulations of the Commission and the laws of the State of 
Delaware.

3.2.2 Period of Authority
The State Steward's and judges' period of 

authority shall commence five (5) business days prior to the 
beginning of each race meeting and shall terminate with 
completion of their official business pertaining to the 
meeting.

3.2.3 Disciplinary Action
3.2.3.1 The State Steward and judges shall 

take notice of alleged misconduct or rule violations and 
initiate investigations into the matters.

3.2.3.2 The State Steward and judges shall 
have authority to charge any licensee for a violation of these 
rules, to conduct hearings and to impose disciplinary action 
in accordance with these rules.

3.2.3.3 The State Steward and judges may 
compel the attendance of witnesses and the submission of 
documents or potential evidence related to any investigation 
or hearing.

3.2.3.4 The State Steward and judges may at 
any time inspect license documents, registration papers and 
other documents related to racing.

3.2.3.5 The State Steward and judges have 
the power to administer oaths and examine witnesses.

3.2.3.6 The State Steward and judges may 
consult with the [State Commission] Veterinarian to 
determine the nature and seriousness of a laboratory finding 
or an alleged medication violation.

3.2.3.7 The State Steward and judges may 
impose, but are not limited to, any of the following penalties 
on a licensee for a violation of these rules:

3.2.3.7.1 issue a reprimand;
3.2.3.7.2 assess a fine;
3.2.3.7.3 require forfeiture or 

redistribution of purse or award, when specified by 
applicable rules;

3.2.3.7.4 place a licensee on 
probation;

3.2.3.7.5 suspend a license or racing 
privileges;
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3.2.3.7.6 revoke a license;
3.2.3.7.7 exclude from grounds under 

the jurisdiction of the Commission; or
3.2.3.7.8 any relief deemed 

appropriate.
3.2.3.8 The State Steward and judges may 

take any appropriate actions against any horse for a violation 
or attempted violation of these rules.

3.2.3.9 The State Steward and judges may 
suspend a license; or they may impose a fine in accordance 
with these Rules for each violation; or they may suspend and 
fine; or they may order that a person be ineligible for 
licensing.

3.2.3.10 A State Steward's or judges' ruling 
shall not prevent the Commission from imposing a more or 
less severe penalty. 

3.2.3.11 The State Steward or judges may refer 
any matter to the Commission and may include 
recommendations for disposition.  The absence of a State 
Steward's or judges' referral shall not preclude Commission 
action in any matter. 

3.2.3.12 Purses, prizes, awards, and trophies 
shall be redistributed if the State Steward or judges or 
Commission order a change in the official order of finish.

3.2.3.13 All fines imposed by the State 
Steward or judges shall be paid to the Commission within 
ten (10) days after the ruling is issued, unless otherwise 
ordered.

3.2.4 Protests, Objections and Complaints
The State Steward or judges shall 

investigate promptly and render a decision in every protest 
made to them.  They shall maintain a record of all protests. 
The State Steward or judges shall file daily with the 
Commission a copy of each protest, objection or complaint 
and any related ruling.  All protests must be in writing and 
lodged with the State Steward or judges not later than forty-
eight (48) hours after the race in question.

3.2.5 Judges' Presence
A board of judges shall be present in the 

judges' stand during the contesting of each race.
3.2.6 Order of Finish for Pari-Mutuel Wagering

3.2.6.1 The judges shall determine the official 
order of finish for each race in accordance with the rules of 
the race (see Rule 7.0). 

3.2.6.2 The decision of the judges as to the 
official order of finish, including the disqualification of a 
horse or horses as a result of any event occurring during the 
contesting of the race, shall be final for purposes of 
distribution of the pari-mutuel wagering pool.

3.2.7 Cancel Wagering
The State Steward or judges have the 

authority to cancel wagering and order refunds where 
applicable on an individual betting interest or on an entire 
race and also have the authority to cancel a pari-mutuel pool 

for a race or races, if such action is necessary to protect the 
integrity of pari-mutuel wagering.

3.2.8 Steward's List
3.2.8.1 The judges shall maintain a Steward's 

List of the horses which are ineligible to be entered in a race.
3.2.8.2 A horse that is unfit to race because it 

is dangerous, unmanageable or unable to show a 
performance to qualify for races at the meeting, scratched as 
a result of a high blood gas test, or otherwise unfit to race at 
the meeting may be placed on the Steward's List by the 
Presiding Judge and declarations and/or entries on the horse 
shall be refused.  The owner or trainer shall be notified of 
such action and the reason shall be clearly stated.  When any 
horse is placed on the Steward's List, the clerk of the course 
shall make a note on the eligibility certificate of such horse, 
showing the date the horse was put on the Steward's List the 
reason and the date of removal if the horse has been 
removed.

3.2.8.3 All horses scratched by a veterinarian 
for either lameness or sickness will be put on the Steward's 
List and can not race for seven (7) days from the date of the 
scratched race. Entries will be accepted during this seven (7) 
day period for a race to be contested after the seventh day.

3.2.8.3.1 Veterinarians may put a 
horse on the Steward’s List for sickness or lameness for 
more than seven (7) if necessary.  In that instance, the horse 
may not race until proscribed number of days has expired. 
Entries will be accepted during this period for a race to be 
contested after the proscribed number of days has expired.

3.2.8.4 No Presiding Judge or other official at 
a fair meeting shall have the power to remove from the 
Steward's List and accept as an entry any horse which has 
been placed on a Steward's List and not subsequently 
removed therefrom for the reason that he/she is dangerous or 
an unmanageable horse.  Such meetings may refuse 
declarations and/or entries on any horse that has been placed 
on the Steward's List and has not been removed therefrom.

3.2.8.5 No horse shall be admitted to any 
racetrack facilities in this jurisdiction without having had a 
negative official test for equine infectious anemia within 
twelve (12) months.

3.2.8.6 The judges may put any horse on the 
Steward's List for performance when such horse shows a 
reversal of form or does not race near its own capabilities. 
Such horse shall qualify in a time comparable to its known 
capabilities from one to three times, at the discretion of the 
judges, before being allowed to start.

3.2.8.7 Any horse put on the Steward's List as 
unmanageable or dangerous must qualify in a satisfactory 
manner for the judges at least two times.

3.2.8.8 The judges may put any horse on the 
Steward's List for being noncompetitive or unfit to race at 
the meeting.

3.2.8.9 The judges may place a horse on the 
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Steward's List when there exists a question as to the exact 
identification, ownership or management of said horse.

3.2.8.10 A horse which has been placed on the 
Steward's List because of questions as to the exact 
identification or ownership of said horse, may be removed 
from the Steward's List when, in the opinion of the judges, 
proof of exact identification and/or ownership has been 
established.

3.2.8.11 A horse may not be released from the 
Steward's List without the permission of the judges.

3.2.9 List of Nerved Horses
The judges shall maintain a list of nerved 

horses which are on association grounds and shall make the 
list available for inspection by other licensees participating 
in the race meeting.

3.3 Racing Secretary
3.3.1 General Authority

The racing secretary is responsible for 
setting the conditions for each race of the race meeting, 
regulating the nomination of entries and determining the 
amounts of purses and to whom they are due. The racing 
secretary shall check and verify the eligibility of all horses 
entered.

3.3.2 Eligibility Certificates
The racing secretary is responsible for 

receiving and safeguarding the eligibility certificates of all 
horses competing at the track or stabled on association 
grounds.

3.3.3 Race Information
The racing secretary shall be familiar with 

the age, class and competitive ability of all horses racing at 
the meeting.

3.3.4  Classifications
The racing secretary shall classify horses 

in accordance with these rules and list horses in the 
categories in which they qualify.

3.3.5 Listing of Horses
The racing secretary shall:

3.3.5.1 examine all entry forms and 
declarations to verify information as set forth therein; and

3.3.5.2 select the horses to start and the also 
eligible horses from the declarations in accordance with 
these rules.

3.3.5.3 provide the listing of horses in the 
daily program.

3.3.6 Nominations and Declarations
The racing secretary shall examine 

nominations and declarations and early closing events, late 
closing events and stakes events to verify the eligibility of all 
declarations and nominations and compile lists thereof for 
publication.

3.3.7 Conditions
The racing secretary shall establish the 

conditions and eligibility for entering races and cause them 

to be published to owners, trainers and the Commission and 
be posted in the racing secretary's office.

3.3.8 Posting of Entries
Upon completion of the draw each day, the 

racing secretary shall post a list of entries in a conspicuous 
location in his/her office and make the list available to the 
media.

3.3.9 Stakes and Entrance Money Records
The racing secretary shall be caretaker of 

the permanent records of all stakes and shall verify that all 
entrance monies due are paid not later than one hour prior to 
post time, regardless of whether the horse actually starts.

3.3.10 Winnings
3.3.10.1 For the purpose of establishing 

conditions, winnings shall be considered to include all 
monies and prizes won up to the time of the start of a race. 

3.3.10.2 Winnings during the year shall be 
calculated by the racing secretary from the preceding 
January 1.

3.3.11 Cancellation of a Race
In case of unfavorable weather or other 

unavoidable cause, associations, upon notifying of the State 
Steward may postpone or cancel races. 

3.4 Paddock Judge
3.4.1 General Authority

Under the direction and supervision of the 
Presiding Judge, the Paddock Judge shall have complete 
charge of all paddock activities, including but not limited to:

3.4.1.1 Ensuring that all horses entered in a 
heat or dash are on the racetrack at the time designated by 
the Presiding Judge to be formed in a parade line; that such 
horses are attended by their drivers unless specifically 
excused by the Paddock Judge; that all horses in heat or race 
parade from the paddock upon the track and before the 
grandstand not later than five (5) minutes before Post Time; 
and that drivers not engage in conversation during the post 
parade.  A horse failing to parade without being excused by 
the Paddock Judge may be scratched from the race or its 
driver or trainer may be penalized;

3.4.1.2 Supervising the Identifier and 
Equipment Checker;

3.4.1.3 Supervising the paddock gate 
operators;

3.4.1.4 Ensuring that all horses are in the 
paddock at the time prescribed by the Presiding Judge, but in 
any event not less than one hour but not more than two hours 
prior to post time of the race in which the horse is to 
compete.  Except for warm-up trips, no horse shall leave the 
paddock until called to the post;

3.4.1.5 Maintaining a proper check-in and 
check-out of horses and drivers. No driver, trainer, owner-
trainer or groom once admitted to the paddock or receiving 
barn shall leave the same other than to warm up said horse 
until such race, or races, for which he was admitted is 
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contested; provided, however, that in the event of an 
emergency, trainers or grooms may leave the paddock but 
only with the permission of the Paddock Judge, in which 
case the Paddock Judge shall maintain a written record 
thereof, which shall be delivered to the Presiding Judge.  No 
person except an owner who has another horse racing in a 
later race, or an official, shall return to the paddock until all 
races of that program have been completed;

3.4.1.6 Directing the activities of the paddock 
blacksmith;

3.4.1.7 Ensuring that only properly 
authorized persons are permitted in the paddock, to wit:

3.4.1.7.1 Owners of horses competing 
on the date of the race and whose horses are in the paddock;

3.4.1.7.2 Trainers of horses competing 
on the date of the race and whose horses are in the paddock;

3.4.1.7.3 Drivers of horses competing 
on the date of the race and whose horses are in the paddock;

3.4.1.7.4 Grooms of horses competing 
on the date of the race and whose horses are in the paddock;

3.4.1.7.5 Officials whose duties 
require their presence in the paddock or receiving barn; and

3.4.1.7.6 Such other persons as are 
authorized by the Commission; Provided, that no more than 
two members of a registered stable, other than the driver, 
shall be entitled to admission to the paddock on any racing 
day, except by permission of the Presiding or Paddock 
Judge, or written approval by the Commission;

3.4.1.7.7 Notifying the Presiding 
Judge of any change in racing equipment or shoes before the 
race;

3.4.1.7.8 Inspecting and supervising 
the maintenance of all emergency equipment kept in the 
paddock;

3.4.1.7.9 Notifying the judges of the 
reason for any horse returning to the paddock after having 
entered the track for the post parade and before the start of 
the race;

3.4.1.7.10 Supervising and maintaining 
the cleanliness of the paddock; and

3.4.1.7.11 Supervising the conduct of 
all persons in the paddock.

3.4.2 Report to the Presiding Judge
The Paddock Judge shall:

3.4.2.1 Immediately notify the Presiding 
Judge of anything that could in any way change, delay or 
otherwise affect the racing program; and

3.4.2.2 Report to the Presiding Judge any 
observed cruelty to a horse; and

3.4.2.3 Any other violations of these rules.
3.5 Horse Identifier & Equipment Checker

3.5.1 General Authority
The Horse Identifier & Equipment 

Checker shall be present for each race.  The duties of the 

Identifier & Equipment Checker are:
3.5.1.1 Maintain a listing of all equipment 

worn, including shoes, and the tattoo or freeze brand number 
for each horse racing at the meeting;

3.5.1.2 Each time a horse races, identify the 
horse by checking the lip tattoo or freeze brand; and

3.5.1.3 Compare the type and condition of 
equipment actually being used by each horse for each race 
with the approved equipment listed; and

3.5.2 Report Violations
The Horse Identifier & Equipment 

Checker shall report to the Paddock Judge immediately any 
discrepancies or faulty equipment discovered by the 
investigations specified in this Rule, which findings are to be 
reported immediately to the Presiding Judge.  The Presiding 
Judge's ruling in these matters is final.

3.6 Clerk of the Course
3.6.1 General Authority

The clerk of the course shall be 
responsible for keeping and verifying the judges' book and 
eligibility certificates provided by the U.S.T.A./C.T.A. and 
recording therein all required information and:

3.6.1.1 names and addresses of owners;
3.6.1.2 the standard symbols for medications, 

where applicable;
3.6.1.3 notations of placings, 

disqualifications and claimed horses;
3.6.1.4 notations of scratched or ruled out 

horses;
3.6.1.5 returning the eligibility certificate to 

the horse's owner or the owner's representative after the race, 
when requested;

3.6.1.6 notifying owners and drivers of 
penalties assessed by the officials;

3.6.1.7 assisting in drawing post positions, if 
requested; and 

3.6.1.8 maintaining the Steward's List.
3.7 Official Starter

3.7.1 General Authority
3.7.1.1 The starter is responsible to provide a 

fair start for each race.
3.7.1.2 The starter shall be an employee or 

contractor of the association.
3.7.1.3 An assistant starter may be employed 

or contracted if deemed necessary by the association.
3.7.1.4 The starter shall ensure that the 

starter, the starter's assistant(s) and driver are cognizant of 
and capable of performing all required emergency 
procedures.

3.7.2 Report Violations
The official starter shall report violations 

of these rules occurring at the start of a race to the judges.
3.7.3 Disciplinary Action

The official starter shall have authority to 
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assess fines and to suspend the license of drivers for any 
violation of these rules from the formation of the parade until 
the word "Go" is given.

3.7.4 Starter's List
The official starter or the starter's assistant 

shall school horses as may be necessary and shall prepare a 
list of horses not qualified to start, which shall be delivered 
to the judges and entered on the Steward's List. The 
Steward's List shall be posted in the racing secretary's office 
with the list of horses not qualified to start.

3.8 Official Charter
3.8.1 General Authority

The official charter is responsible for 
providing a complete and accurate chart of each race. An 
accurate chart shall include the following:

3.8.1.1 horse's name;
3.8.1.2 driver's name;
3.8.1.3 date and place of the race;
3.8.1.4 track size, if other than a half-mile 

track;
3.8.1.5 track condition and temperature;
3.8.1.6 type of race (trot or pace);
3.8.1.7 classification of race;
3.8.1.8 distance;
3.8.1.9 fractional times of the leading horse, 

including the race time;
3.8.1.10 post position, position at the 1/

4-mile, the 1/2-mile and the 3/4-mile poles and at the head of 
the stretch with lengths behind the leader and finish position 
with lengths behind the winner;

3.8.1.11 official order of finish;
3.8.1.12 individual time of each horse;
3.8.1.13 closing dollar odds (with favorite 

designated by an asterisk);
3.8.1.14 the standard symbols for breaks, 

park outs free legged pacers, and hobbled trotters where 
applicable;

3.8.1.15 the standard symbols for 
medications, where applicable;

3.8.1.16 in claiming races, the price for 
which the horse is entered to be claimed less allowances for 
age and sex;

3.8.1.17 names of the horses placed first, 
second and third by the State Steward and judges; and

3.8.1.18 notations of placings, 
disqualifications and claimed horses.

3.9 Official Timer
3.9.1 General Authority

The official timer shall accurately record 
the time elapsed between the start and finish of each race.

3.9.2 Timing Procedure
The time shall be recorded from the instant 

that the first horse leaves the point from which the distance is 
measured until the first horse reaches the finish line.

3.9.3 Timing Races
3.9.3.1 In every race, the time of each heat 

shall be accurately recorded by two timers or an approved 
electrical timing device, in which case, there shall be one 
timer.

3.9.3.2 Times of heats shall be recorded in 
minutes, seconds and fifths of a second.

3.9.3.3 Immediately following each heat, the 
elapsed time of the heat shall be publicly announced and/or 
posted on the totalisator board.

3.9.3.4 No unofficial timing shall be 
announced, posted or entered into the official record.

3.9.4 Error in Reported Time
3.9.4.1 In circumstances involving an error in 

timing, no time shall be announced, posted or recorded for 
that heat.

3.9.4.2 In any case of alleged error regarding 
a horse's official time, the time in question shall not be 
changed to favor the horse or its owner, except upon the 
sworn statement of the judges and official timers who 
officiated in the race.

3.10 Photo Finish Technician
3.11 Patrol Judge

3.11.1 General Authority
The Patrol Judge(s), when utilized, is 

responsible for observing the race and reporting information 
concerning the race to the judges.  If the track's video replay 
system is deemed adequate by the Commission, use of patrol 
judges is optional.

3.12 Program Director
3.12.1 General Authority 

The program director is responsible for 
furnishing the public complete and accurate past 
performance information.

3.13 State Commission Veterinarian
3.13.1 General Authority

The State Commission Veterinarian shall:
3.13.1.1 be appointed by the Commission;
3.13.1.2 be a graduate veterinarian and be 

licensed to practice in the State of Delaware;
3.13.1.3 recommend to the judges any 

horse deemed unsafe to be raced, or a horse that it would be 
inhumane to allow to race;

3.13.1.4 place horses on the Veterinarian's 
List, when necessary, and remove horses from the 
Veterinarian's List;

3.13.1.5 place horses on the Bleeder List 
and remove horses from the Bleeder List;

3.13.1.6 maintain a continuing health and 
racing soundness record of each horse given a racing 
soundness inspection;

3.13.1.7 supervise the taking of all 
specimens for testing according to procedures approved by 
the Commission;
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3.13.1.8 provide proper safeguards in the 
handling of all laboratory specimens to prevent tampering, 
confusion or contamination;

3.13.1.9 report to the Commission the 
names of all horses humanely destroyed or which otherwise 
expire at the meeting and the reasons therefore;

3.13.1.10 maintain all required records of 
postmortem examinations performed on horses which have 
died on association grounds;

3.13.1.11 refrain from directly treating or 
prescribing for any horse scheduled to participate during his/
her term of appointment at any recognized meeting except in 
cases of emergency, accident or injury;

3.13.1.12 refuse employment or payment, 
directly or indirectly, from any owner or trainer of a horse 
racing or intending to race in this jurisdiction while 
employed as the official veterinarian for the Commission;

3.13.1.13 review and make 
recommendations regarding Commission license 
applications of practicing veterinarians;

3.13.1.14 cooperate with practicing 
veterinarians and other regulatory agencies to take measures 
to control communicable and/or reportable equine diseases;

3.13.1.15 periodically review all horse 
papers under the jurisdiction of the Commission to ensure 
that all required test and health certificates are current and 
properly filed in accordance with these rules; and

3.13.1.16 be authorized to humanely 
destroy any horse deemed to be so seriously injured that it is 
in the best interests of the horse to so act.

3.13.2 Racing Responsibilities
With respect to the conduct of each race, 

and each race meeting authorized by the Commission, the 
State Commission Veterinarian shall:

3.13.2.1 be available to the racing 
secretary and/or State Steward or Presiding Judge prior to 
scratch time each racing day at a time designated by the State 
Steward or Presiding Judge, to inspect any horses and report 
on their condition as may be requested by the State Steward 
or by the judges;

3.13.2.2 inspect any horse when there is a 
question as to the physical condition of such horse;

3.13.2.3 recommend scratching a horse to 
the judges if, in the opinion of the State Commission
Veterinarian, the horse is physically incapable of exerting its 
best effort to win;

3.13.2.4 inspect any horse which appears 
in physical distress during the race or at the finish of the 
race; and shall report such horse together with his/her 
opinion as to the cause of the distress to the judges;

3.13.2.5 refrain from directly treating or 
prescribing for any horse scheduled to participate during his/
her term of appointment at any recognized meeting except in 
cases of emergency, accident or injury;

3.13.2.6 refuse employment or payment, 
directly or indirectly, from any owner or trainer of a horse 
racing or intending to race in the State of Delaware while 
employed as the State Commission Veterinarian;

3.13.2.7 conduct soundness inspections on 
horses participating in races at the meeting;

3.13.2.8 place horses on or remove them 
from the State Commission Veterinarian's List.

3.13.3 State Commission Veterinarian's List
The State Commission Veterinarian shall 

maintain a list of all horses which he or she has determined 
to be unfit to compete in a race due to physical distress, 
unsoundness, infirmity or medical condition.

3.14 Lasix Bleeder Medication Veterinarian
3.14.1 General Authority

The Lasix Bleeder Medication
veterinarian shall:

3.14.1.1 Be subject to the supervision of 
the [State Veterinarian Commission Veterinarian];

3.14.1.2 Be a graduate veterinarian and be 
licensed to practice in the State of Delaware;

3.14.1.3 Report to the State Lasix stall at 
least one- half hour before the first Lasix horse is due for 
Lasix injection (i.e., four and one-half hours before post 
time);

3.14.1.4 Record the name of the horse and 
the time that the Lasix is administered, and denote "IV" or 
"IM", as appropriate;

3.14.1.5 Report to the Paddock Judge any 
horse that fails to show, or is late to the State Lasix stall;

3.14.1.6 Administer Lasix Furosemide 
(Salix) to each horse on the Bleeder list, and administer 
Aminiocaproic Acid in accordance with Rule 8.3.6 8.3.5 of 
these Rules;

3.14.1.7 Collect fees for each injection at 
the time of administration; credit shall not be given at any 
time;

3.14.1.8 Turn in the list of horses and 
times of administration to the Paddock Judge prior to leaving 
each race day; and

3.14.1.9 Report any unusual findings to 
the Paddock Judge without delay.

3.14.2 Bleeder List
The Lasix Bleeder Medication Lasix 

veterinarian cannot place horses on the Bleeder List; the 
State Commission Veterinarian is the only person authorized 
to place horses on the Bleeder List.

3.15 Investigator
3.15.1 The Commission may appoint a racing 

inspector or investigator for each harness racing meet.  Such 
racing inspector shall perform all duties prescribed by the 
Commission consistent with the purposes of this  chapter. 
Such racing inspector shall have full and free access to the 
books, records, and papers pertaining to the pari-mutuel 
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system of wagering and to the enclosure or space where the 
pari-mutuel system is conducted at any harness racing 
meeting to which he shall be assigned for the purpose of 
ascertaining whether the holder of such permit is operating 
in compliance with the Commission’s rules and regulations. 
The racing inspector shall investigate whether such rules and 
regulations promulgated by the commission are being 
violated at such harness race track or enclosure by any 
licensee, patron, or other person.  Upon discovering any such 
violation, the racing inspector shall immediately report his or 
her findings in writing and under oath to the Commission or 
its designee as it may deem fitting and proper.  The racing 
inspector shall devote his full time to the duties of his office 
and shall not hold any other position or employment, except 
for performance of similar duties for the Thoroughbred 
Racing Commission. 

3.15.2 Subject to the approval of the 
Commission, and under the direction of the Administrator of 
Racing, the Investigator may be delegated one or more of the 
following responsibilities:

3.15.2.1 Supervising the licensing 
function of the Commission, including performing 
background checks and fingerprinting applicants for 
licensure, and facilitating the Commission’s participation in 
a uniform, multi-jurisdictional, reciprocal licensing scheme;

3.15.2.2 Consulting with track security 
and with law enforcement agencies both within and outside 
of Delaware;

3.15.2.3 Supervising the human and 
equine drug-testing programs provided for in these Rules;

3.15.2.4 Conducting vehicle and stall 
searches;

3.15.2.5 Intelligence gathering and 
dissemination;

3.15.2.6 Responding to patron complaints 
regarding the integrity of racing; and

3.15.2.7 Where appropriate, presenting 
complaints to the Commission for disposition, including 
complaints seeking disciplinary action against licensees of 
the Commission.

3.16 Administrator of Racing
The Commission may employ an 

Administrator of Racing who shall perform all duties 
prescribed by the Commission consistent with the purposes 
of this rule.  The Administrator of Racing shall devote his 
full time to the duties of the office and shall not hold any 
other office or employment, except that he can perform the 
same duties as Administrator of Racing for the 
Thoroughbred Racing Commission.   The Administrator of 
Racing shall be the representative for the Commission at all 
meetings of the Commission and shall keep a  complete 
record of its proceedings and preserve, at its general office, 
all books, maps, documents, and papers entrusted to its care. 
He shall be the executive officer of the Commission and 

shall be responsible for keeping all Commission records and 
carrying out the rules and orders of the Commission.  The 
Commission may appoint the Administrator of Racing to act 
as a hearing  officer to hear appeals from administrative 
decisions of the steward or racing judges.

3.17 Any Other Person Designated by the 
Commission

The Commission may create additional racing 
official positions, as needed.  Persons selected for these 
positions shall be considered racing officials and shall be 
subject to the general eligibility requirements outlined in 
Rule 3.1.1 of this chapter.

See 1 DE Reg. 504 (11/01/97))
See 2 DE Reg. 1240 (01/01/99)
See 2 DE Reg. 1764 (04/01/99)
See 4 DE Reg 336 (8/1/00)
See 5 DE Reg. 832 (10/1/01)

6.0 Types of Races
6.1 Types of Races Permitted

In presenting a program of racing, the racing 
secretary shall use exclusively the following types of races:

6.1.1 Overnight events which include:
6.1.1.1 Conditioned races;
6.1.1.2 Claiming races;
6.1.1.3 Preferred, invitational, handicap, open 

or free-for-all races;
6.1.1.4 Schooling races; and
6.1.1.5 Matinee races

6.1.2 Added money events which include:
6.1.2.1 Stakes;
6.1.2.2 Futurities;
6.1.2.3 Early closing events; and
6.1.2.4 Late closing events

6.1.3 Match races
6.1.4 Qualifying Races (See Rule 7.0 --"Rules 

of the Race")
6.1.5 Delaware-owned or bred races as specified 

in 3 Del.C. §10032
6.2 Overnight Events

6.2.1 General Provisions
6.2.1.1 For the purpose of this rule, overnight 

events shall include conditioned, claiming, preferred, 
invitational, handicap, open, free-for-all, schooling or 
matinee races or a combination thereof.

6.2.1.2 At extended meetings, condition 
sheets must be available to participants at least 18 hours 
prior to closing declarations to any race program contained 
therein. At other meetings, conditions must be posted and 
available to participants at least 18 hours prior to closing 
declarations.

6.2.1.3 A fair and reasonable racing 
opportunity shall be afforded both trotters and pacers in 
reasonable proportion from those available and qualified to 
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race.
6.2.1.4 Substitute races may be provided for 

each race program and shall be so designated in condition 
books sheets. A substitute race may be used when a regularly 
scheduled race fails to fill.

6.2.1.5 Regularly scheduled races or 
substitute races may be divided where necessary to fill a 
program of racing, or may be divided and carried over to a 
subsequent racing program, subject to the following:

6.2.1.5.1 No such divisions shall be 
used in the place of regularly scheduled races which fill.

6.2.1.5.2 Where races are divided in 
order to fill a program, starters for each division must be 
determined by lot after preference has been applied, unless 
the conditions provide for divisions based upon age, 
performance, earnings or sex may be determined by the 
racing secretary.

6.2.1.5.3 However, where necessary to 
fill a card, not more than three races per day may be divided 
into not more than three divisions after preference has been 
applied. The divisions may be selected by the racing 
secretary.  For all other overnight races that are divided, the 
division must be by lot unless the conditions provide for a 
division based on performance, earnings or sex.

6.2.2 Conditions
6.2.2.1 Conditions may be based only on:

6.2.2.1.1 horses' money winnings in a 
specified number of previous races or during a specified 
previous time;

6.2.2.1.2 horses' finishing positions in 
a specified number of previous races or during a specified 
period of time;

6.2.2.1.3 age, provided that no horse 
that is 15 years of age or older shall be eligible to perform in 
any race except in a matinee race;

6.2.2.1.4 sex;
6.2.2.1.5 number of starts during a 

specified period of time;
6.2.2.1.6 special qualifications for 

foreign horses that do not have a representative number of 
starts in the United States or Canada;

6.2.2.1.7 the exclusion of schooling 
races; or

6.2.2.1.8 Delaware-owned or bred 
races as specified in 3 Del.C. §10032; or

6.2.2.1.9 any one or more 
combinations of the qualifications herein listed.

6.2.2.2 Conditions shall not be written in such 
a way that any horse is deprived of an opportunity to race in 
a normal preference cycle. Where the word preference is 
used in a condition, it shall not supersede date preference as 
provided in the rules. Not more than three also eligible 
conditions shall be used in writing the conditions for 
overnight events.

6.2.2.3 The Commission may, upon 
application from the racing secretary, approve conditions 
other than those listed above for special events.

6.2.2.4 In the event there are conflicting 
published conditions and neither one nor the other is 
withdrawn by the association, the one more favorable to the 
declarer shall govern.

6.2.2.5 For the purpose of eligibility, a racing 
season or racing year shall be the calendar year. All races 
based on winnings will be programmed as Non-Winners of a 
multiple of $100 plus $1 or Winners over a multiple of $100. 
Additional conditions may be added. When recording 
winnings, gross winnings shall be used and cents shall be 
disregarded.  In the case of a bonus, the present value of the 
bonus shall be credited to the horse as earnings for the race 
or series of races for which it received the bonus.  It shall be 
the responsibility of the organization offering the bonus to 
report the present value of the bonus to the United States 
Trotting Association in a timely manner.

6.2.2.6 Records, time bars shall not be used 
as a condition of eligibility.

6.2.2.7 Horses must be eligible when 
declarations close subject to the provision that:

6.2.2.7.1 Wins and winnings on or 
after the closing date of declarations shall not be considered;

6.2.2.7.2 Age allowances shall be 
given according to the age of the horse on the date the race is 
contested.

6.2.2.7.3 In mixed races, trotting and 
pacing, a horse must be eligible under the conditions for the 
gait at which it is stated in the declaration the horse will 
perform.

6.2.2.8 When conditions refer to previous 
performances, those performances shall only include those 
in a purse race. Each dash or heat shall be considered as a 
separate performance for the purpose of condition races.

6.2.2.9 In overnight events, on a half mile 
racetrack there shall be no trailing horses.  On a bigger 
racetrack there shall be no more than one trailing horse. At 
least eight feet per horse must be provided the starters in the 
front tier.

6.2.2.10 The racing secretary may reject 
the declaration to an overnight event of any horse whose past 
performance indicates that it would be below the competitive 
level of other horses declared to that particular event.

6.3 Claiming Races
6.3.1 General Provisions

6.3.1.1 Claiming Procedure and 
Determination of Claiming Price. -- The trainer or 
authorized agent entering a horse in a claiming race warrants 
that he/she has authorization from the registered owner(s) to 
enter said horse in a claiming race for the designated 
amount.  In the event of a claim, the owner(s) or authorized 
agent shall submit a signed registration to the State Steward 
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or Presiding Judge prior to receiving proceeds from the 
claim and the registration shall be immediately forwarded to 
the U.S.T.A. registrar for transfer.

6.3.1.2 Except for the lowest claiming price 
offered at each meeting, conditions and allowances in 
claiming races may be based only on age and sex.  Whenever 
possible, claiming races shall be written to separate horses 
five years old and up from young horses and to separate 
males from females.  If sexes are mixed, mares shall be 
given a price allowance; provided, however, that there shall 
be no price allowance given to a spayed mare racing in a 
claiming race.

6.3.1.3 Registration certificate in current 
ownership, together with the application for transfer thereon 
duly endorsed by all registered owners, must be filed in the 
office of the racing secretary for all horses claimed within a 
reasonable time after the race from which the horse was 
claimed.

6.3.1.4 The price allowances that govern for 
claiming races must be approved by the Commission. 
Claiming prices recorded on past performance lines in the 
daily race program and on eligibility certificates shall not 
include allowances.

6.3.1.5 The claiming price, including any 
allowances, of each horse shall be printed on the official 
program adjacent to the horse's program number and claims 
shall be for the amount designated, subject to correction if 
printed in error.

6.3.1.6 In handicap claiming races, in the 
event of an also eligible horse moving into the race, the also 
eligible horse shall take the place of the horse that it replaces 
provided that the handicap is the same.  In the event the 
handicap is different, the also eligible horse shall take the 
position on the outside of horses with a similar handicap, 
except when the horse that is scratched is a trailing horse, in 
which case the also eligible horse shall take the trailing 
position, regardless of its handicap. In handicap claiming 
races with one trailer, the trailer shall be determined as the 
fourth best post position.

6.3.1.7 To be eligible to be claimed a horse 
must start in the event in which it has been declared to race, 
except as provided in 6.3.1.8 of this subsection.

6.3.1.8 The successful claimant of a horse 
programmed to start may, at his option, acquire ownership of 
a claimed horse, even though such claimed horse was 
scratched and did not start in the claiming race from which it 
was scratched.  The successful claimant must exercise his/
her option by 9:00 a.m. of the next day following the 
claiming race to which the horse was programmed and 
scratched.  Upon notification that the successful claimant has 
exercised his/her option, the owner shall present the horse 
for inspection, and the claim shall not be final until the 
successful claimant has had the opportunity to inspect the 
horse.  No horse may be claimed from a claiming race unless 

the race is contested. 
6.3.1.9 Any licensed owner or the authorized 

agent of such person who holds a current valid Commission 
license may claim any horse or any person who has properly 
applied for and been granted a claiming certificate shall be 
permitted to claim any horse. Any person or authorized 
agent eligible to claim a horse shall be allowed access to the 
grounds of the association, excluding the paddock, in order 
to effect a claim at the designated place of making claims 
and to take possession of the horse claimed.

6.3.1.10 Claiming certificates are valid on 
day of issue and expire at the end of the race meeting for 
which it was granted. These certificates may be applied for 
at the office designated by the association prior to post time 
on any day of racing.

6.3.1.11 There shall be no change of 
ownership or trainer once a horse is programmed.

6.3.2 Prohibitions on Claims
6.3.2.1 A person shall not claim directly or 

indirectly his/her own horse or a horse trained or driven by 
him/her or cause such horse to be claimed directly or 
indirectly for his/her own account.

6.3.2.2 A person shall not directly or 
indirectly offer, or directly or indirectly enter into an 
agreement, to claim or not to claim or directly or indirectly 
attempt to prevent another person from claiming any horse in 
a claiming race.

6.3.2.3 A person shall not have more than one 
claim on any one horse in any claiming race.

6.3.2.4 A person shall not directly or 
indirectly conspire to protect a horse from being claimed by 
arranging another person to lodge claims, a procedure 
known as protection claims.

6.3.2.5 No qualified owner or his agent shall 
claim a horse for another person.

6.3.2.6 No person shall enter in a claiming 
race a horse against which there is a mortgage, bill or sale, or 
lien of any kind, unless the written consent of the holder 
thereof shall be filed with the Clerk of the Course of the 
association conducting such claiming race.

6.3.2.7 Any mare which has been bred shall 
not be declared into a claiming race for at least 30 days 
following the last breeding of the mare, and thereafter such a 
mare may only be declared into a claiming race after a 
veterinarian has pronounced the mare not to be in foal.  Any 
mare pronounced in foal shall not be declared into a claiming 
race.  Where a mare is claimed out of a claiming race and 
subsequently proves to be in foal from a breeding which 
occurred prior to the race from which she was claimed, the 
claim may be voided by the judges at the option of the 
successful claimant provided the mare is subjected to a 
pregnancy examination within 18 days of the date of the 
claim, and is found pregnant as a result of that pregnancy 
examination.  A successful claimant seeking to void the 
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claim must file a petition to void said claim with the judges 
within 10 days after this pregnancy examination and shall 
thereafter be heard by the judges after due notice of the 
hearing to the parties concerned.

6.3.2.8 No person shall claim more than one 
horse in a race either alone, in a partnership, corporation or 
other legal entity.

6.3.2.9 If a horse is claimed, no right, title or 
interest therein shall be sold or transferred except in a 
claiming race for a period of thirty (30) days following the 
date of the claiming.

6.3.3 Claiming Procedure
6.3.3.1 A person desiring to claim a horse 

must have the required amount of money, in the form of cash 
or certified check, on deposit with the association at the time 
the completed claim form is deposited.  Such deposit also 
may be made by wire transfer prior to 2:00 p.m. on the day 
of the claiming race.

6.3.3.2 The claimant shall provide all 
information required on the claim form provided by the 
association.

6.3.3.3 The claim form shall be completed 
and signed by the claimant prior to placing it in an envelope 
provided for this purpose by the association and approved by 
the Commission. The claimant shall seal the envelope and 
identify on the outside the date, time of day, race number and 
track name only.

6.3.3.4 The envelope shall be delivered to the 
designated area, or licensed delegate, at least fifteen (15) 
minutes before post time of the race from which the claim is 
being made. That person shall certify on the outside of the 
envelope the time it was received, the current license status 
of the claimant and whether credit in the required amount 
has been established.

6.3.3.5 It shall be the responsibility of the 
association to ensure that all such claim envelopes are 
delivered unopened or otherwise undisturbed to the judges 
prior to the race from which the claim is being made.  The 
association shall provide for an agent who shall, 
immediately after closing, deliver the claim to the judges' 
stand.

6.3.3.6 The claim shall be opened and the 
claims, if any, examined by the judges prior to the start of the 
race.  The association's auditor, or his/her agent, shall be 
prepared to state whether the claimant has on deposit, the 
amount equivalent to the specified claiming price and any 
other required fees and taxes.

6.3.3.7 The judges shall disallow any claim 
made on a form or in a manner which fails to comply with all 
requirements of this rule.

6.3.3.8 Documentation supporting all claims 
for horses, whether successful or unsuccessful, shall include 
details of the method of payment either by way of a 
photostatic copy of the check presented, or written detailed 

information to include the name of the claimant, the bank, 
branch, account number and drawer of any checks or details 
of any other method of payment. This documentation is to be 
kept on file at race tracks for three (3) years and is to be 
produced to the Commission for inspection at any time 
during the period.

6.3.3.9 When a claim has been lodged it is 
irrevocable, unless otherwise provided for in these rules.

6.3.3.10 In the event more than one claim 
is submitted for the same horse, the successful claimant shall 
be determined by lot by the judges, and all unsuccessful 
claims involved in the decision by lot shall, at that time, 
become null and void, notwithstanding any future 
disposition of such claim.

6.3.3.11 Upon determining that a claim is 
valid, the judges shall notify the paddock judge of the name 
of the horse claimed, the name of the claimant and the name 
of the person to whom the horse is to be delivered. Also, the 
judges shall cause a public announcement to be made.

6.3.3.12 Every horse entered in a claiming 
race shall race for the account of the owner who declared it 
in the event, but title to a claimed horse shall be vested in the 
successful claimant from the time the horse is deemed to 
have started, and the successful claimant shall become the 
owner of the horse, whether it be alive or dead, or sound or 
unsound, or injured during or after the race. If a horse is 
claimed out of a heat or dash of an event having multiple 
heats or dashes, the judges shall scratch the horse from any 
subsequent heat or dash of the event.

6.3.3.13 A post-race urinalysis test may be 
taken from any horse claimed out of a claiming race.  The 
trainer of the horse at the time of entry for the race from 
which the horse was claimed shall be responsible for the 
claimed horse until the post-race urine sample is collected. 
Any claimed horse not otherwise selected for testing by the 
State Steward or judges shall be tested  if requested by the 
claimant at the time the claim form is submitted in 
accordance with these rules.  The successful claimant shall 
have the right to void the claim should the forensic analysis 
be positive for any prohibited substance or an illegal level of 
a permitted medication, or if a blood sample exhibits a 
positive response to the erythropoietin (EPO) antibody test.
The horse's halter must accompany the horse. Altering or 
removing the horse's shoes will be considered a violation, 
and, until the Commission chemist issues a report on his 
forensic analysis of the samples taken from the horse, the 
claimed horse shall not be permitted to be entered to race.

6.3.3.14 Any person who refuses to 
deliver a horse legally claimed out of a claiming race shall be 
suspended, together with the horse, until delivery is made.

6.3.3.15 A claimed horse shall not be 
eligible to start in any race in the name or interest of the 
owner of the horse at the time of entry for the race from 
which the horse was claimed for thirty (30) days, unless 
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reclaimed out of another claiming race. Nor shall such horse 
remain in or be returned to the same stable or care or 
management of the first owner or out of another claiming 
race.  Further, such horse shall be required to continue to 
race the track where claimed for a period of 60 days or the 
balance of the current racing meet, whichever comes first, 
unless released by the Racing Secretary.

6.3.3.16 The claiming price shall be paid 
to the owner of the horse at the time entry for the race from 
which the horse was claimed only when the judges are 
satisfied that the successful claim is valid and the registration 
and eligibility certificates have been received by the racing 
secretary for transfer to the new owner.

6.3.3.17 The judges shall rule a claim 
invalid:

6.3.3.17.1 at the option of the claimant 
if the official racing chemist reports a positive test on a horse 
that was claimed, provided such option is exercised within 
48 hours following notification to the claimant of the 
positive test by the judges;

6.3.3.17.2 if the horse has been found 
ineligible to the event from which it was claimed, regardless 
of the position of the claimant.

6.3.3.18 Mares and fillies who are in foal 
are ineligible to claiming races.  Upon receipt of the horse, if 
a claimant determines within 48 hours that a claimed filly or 
mare is in foal, he/she may, at their option, return the horse 
to the owner of the horse at the time of entry for the race 
from which the horse was claimed.

6.3.3.19 When the judges rule that a claim 
is invalid and the horse is returned to the owner of the horse 
at the time of entry for the race in which the invalid claim 
was made:

6.3.3.19.1 the amount of the claiming 
price and any other required fees and/or taxes shall be repaid 
to the claimant;

6.3.3.19.2 any purse monies earned 
subsequent to the date of the claim and before the date on 
which the claim is ruled invalid shall be the property of the 
claimant; and

6.3.3.19.3 the claimant shall be 
responsible for any reasonable costs incurred through the 
care, training or racing of the horse while it was in his/her 
possession.

6.4 Added Money Events
6.4.1 General Provisions

6.4.1.1 For the purpose of this rule, added 
money events include stakes, futurities, early closing events 
and late closing events.

6.4.1.2 All sponsors and presenters of added 
money events must comply with the rules and must submit to 
the Commission the conditions and other information 
pertaining to such events.

6.4.1.3 Any conditions contrary to the 

provisions of any of these rules are prohibited.
6.4.2 Conditions

Conditions for added money events must 
specify:

6.4.2.1 which horses are eligible to be 
nominated;

6.4.2.2 the amount to be added to the purse by 
the sponsor or presenter, should the amount be known at the 
time;

6.4.2.3 the dates and amounts of nomination, 
sustaining and starting payments;

6.4.2.4 whether the event will be raced in 
divisions or conducted in elimination heats, and;

6.4.2.5 the distribution of the purse, in 
percent, to the money winners in each heat or dash, and the 
distribution should the number of starters be less than the 
number of premiums advertised; and

6.4.2.6 whether also eligible horses may be 
carded prior to the running heats or legs of added money 
events.

6.4.3 Requirements of Sponsors/Presenters
6.4.3.1 Sponsors or presenters of stakes, 

futurities or early closing events shall provide a list of 
nominations to each nominator or owner and to the 
associations concerned within sixty (60) days after the date 
on which nominations close, other than for nominations 
payable prior to January 1st of a horse's two-year-old year.

6.4.3.2 In the case of nominations for 
futurities payable during the foaling year, such lists must be 
forwarded out prior to October 15th of that year and, in the 
case of nominations payable in the yearling year, such lists 
must be forwarded out not later than September 1 of that 
year.

6.4.3.3 Sponsors or presenters of stakes, 
futurities or early closing events shall also provide a list of 
horses remaining eligible to each owner of an eligible within 
45 days after the date on which sustaining payments are 
payable. All lists shall include a resume of the current 
financial status of the event.

6.4.3.4 The Commission may require the 
sponsor or presenter to file with the Commission a surety 
bond in the amount of the fund to ensure faithful 
performance of the conditions, including a guarantee that the 
event will be raced as advertised and all funds will be 
segregated and all premiums paid. Commission consent 
must be obtained to transfer or change the date of the event, 
or to alter the conditions. In any instance where a sponsor or 
presenter furnishes the Commission with substantial 
evidence of financial responsibility satisfactory to the 
Commission, such evidence may be accepted in lieu of a 
surety bond.

6.4.4 Nominations, Fees and Purses
6.4.4.1 All nominations to added money 

events must be made in accordance with the conditions.
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6.4.4.2 Dates for added money event 
nominations payments are:

6.4.4.2.1 Stakes: The date for closing 
of nominations on yearlings shall be May 15th. The date 
foreclosing of nominations to all other stakes shall fall on the 
fifteenth day of a month.

6.4.4.2.2 Futurity: The date for closing 
of nominations shall be July 15th of the year of foaling.

6.4.4.2.3 Early Closing Events: The 
date for closing of nominations shall fall on the first or 
fifteenth day of a month. Nominations on two-year-olds 
shall not be taken prior to February 15th.

6.4.4.2.4 Late Closing Events: The 
date for closing of nominations shall be at the discretion of 
the sponsor or presenter.

6.4.4.3 Dates for added money event 
sustaining payments are:

6.4.4.3.1 Stakes and Futurities: 
Sustaining payments shall fall on the fifteenth day of a 
month. No stake or futurity sustaining fee shall become due 
prior to (Month) 15th of the year in which the horses 
nominated become two years of age.

6.4.4.3.2 Early and Late Closing 
Events: Sustaining payments shall fall on the first or 
fifteenth day of a month.

6.4.4.4 The starting fee shall become due 
when a horse is properly declared to start and shall be 
payable in accordance with the conditions of the added 
money event. Once a horse has been properly declared to 
start, the starting fee shall be forfeited, whether or not the 
horse starts. Should payment not be made thirty (30) minutes 
before the post time of the event, the horse may be scratched 
and the payment shall become a liability of the owner who 
shall, together with the horse or horses, be suspended until 
payment is made in full, providing the association notifies 
the Commission within thirty (30) days after the starting 
date.

6.4.4.5 Failure to make any payment required 
by the conditions constitutes an automatic withdrawal from 
the event.

6.4.4.6 Conditions that will eliminate horses 
nominated to an event, or add horses that have not been 
nominated to an event by reason of performance of such 
horses at an earlier meeting, are invalid. Early and late 
closing events shall have not more than two also eligible 
conditions.

6.4.4.7 The date and place where early and 
late closing events will be raced must be announced before 
nominations are taken. The date and place where stakes and 
futurities will be raced must be announced as soon as 
determined but, in any event, such announcement must be 
made no later than March 30th of the year in which the event 
is to be raced.

6.4.4.8 Deductions may not be made from 

nomination, sustaining and starting payments or from the 
advertised purse for clerical or any other expenses.

6.4.4.9 Every nomination shall constitute an 
agreement by the person making the nomination and the 
horse shall be subject to these rules. All disputes and 
questions arising out of such nomination shall be submitted 
to the Commission, whose decision shall be final.

6.4.4.10 Nominations and sustaining 
payments must be received by the sponsor or presenter not 
later than the hour of closing, except those made by mail 
must bear a postmark placed thereon not later than the hour 
of closing. In the event the hour of closing falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the hour of closing shall 
be extended to the same hour of the next business day.  The 
hour of closing shall be midnight of the due date.

6.4.4.11 If conditions require a minimum 
number of nominations and the event does not fill, the 
Commission and each nominator shall be notified within 
twenty (20) days of the closing of nominations and a refund 
of nomination fees shall accompany such notice to 
nominators.

6.4.4.12 If conditions for early or late 
closing events allow transfer for change of gait, such transfer 
shall be to the lowest class the horse is eligible to at the 
adopted gait, eligibility to be determined at the time of 
closing nominations. The race to which the transfer may be 
made must be the one nearest the date of the event originally 
nominated to. Two-year-olds, three-year-olds, or 
four-year-olds, nominated in classes for their age, may only 
transfer to classes for the same age group at the adopted gait 
to the race nearest the date of the event they were originally 
nominated to, and entry fees to be adjusted.

6.4.4.13 A nominator is required to 
guarantee the identity and eligibility of nominations, and if 
this information is given incorrectly he or she may be fined, 
suspended, or expelled and the horse declared ineligible. If 
any purse money was obtained by an ineligible horse, the 
monies shall be forfeited and redistributed among those 
justly entitled to the same.

6.4.4.14 Early or late closing events must 
be contested if six or more betting interests are declared to 
start. If less horses are declared to start than required, the 
race may be declared off, in which case the total of 
nominations, sustaining and starting payments received shall 
be divided equally to the horses declared to start. Such 
distribution shall not be credited as purse winnings.

6.4.4.15 Stakes or futurities must be 
contested if one or more horses are declared to start. In the 
event only one horse, or only horses in the same interest 
start, it constitutes a walk-over. In the event no declarations 
are made, the total of nomination and sustaining payments 
shall be divided equally to the horses remaining eligible after 
payment to the last sustaining payment, but such distribution 
shall not be credited as purse winnings.
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6.4.4.16 Associations shall provide stable 
space for each horse declared on the day before, the day of 
and the day following the race.

6.4.4.17 The maximum size of fields 
permitted in any added money event shall be no more than 
one trailer unless otherwise approved by the Commission.

6.4.4.18 An association may elect to go 
with less than the number of trailers specified in subdivision 
17 above.

6.4.4.19 In the event more horses are 
declared to start than allowed in one field, the race will be 
conducted in divisions or eliminations, as specified in the 
conditions.

6.4.4.20 In early closing races, late closing 
races and overnight races requiring entry fees, all monies 
paid in by the nominators in excess of 85 percent of the 
advertised purse shall be added to the advertised purse and 
the total shall then be considered to be the minimum purse. 
If the race is split and raced in divisions, the provisions of 
subdivision 21 below shall apply. Provided further that 
where overnight races are split and raced in eliminations 
rather than divisions, all starting fees payable under the 
provisions of this rule shall be added to the advertised purse.

6.4.4.21 Where a race other than a stake or 
futurity is divided, each division must race for at least 75 
percent of the advertised purse.

6.4.4.22 In added money events 
conducted in eliminations, starters shall be divided by lot. 
Unless conditions provide otherwise, sixty percent of the 
total purse will be divided equally among the elimination 
heats. The final heat will be contested for 40 percent of the 
total purse. Unless the conditions provide otherwise, all 
elimination heats and the final heat must be raced on the 
same day. If the conditions provide otherwise, elimination 
heats must be contested not more than six days, excluding 
Sundays, prior to the date of the final heat. The winner of the 
final heat shall be the winner of the race.

6.4.4.23 The number of horses allowed to 
qualify for the final heat of an event conducted in 
elimination heats shall not exceed the maximum number 
permitted to start in accordance with the rules.  In any 
elimination dash where there are horses unable to finish due 
to an accident and there are fewer horses finishing than 
would normally qualify for the final, the additional horses 
qualifying for the final shall be drawn by lot from among 
those unoffending horses not finishing.

6.4.4.24 The judges' decisions in arriving 
at the official order of finish of elimination heats on the same 
program shall be final and irrevocable and not subject to 
appeal or protest.

6.4.4.25 Unless the conditions for the 
added money event provide otherwise the judges shall draw 
by lot the post positions for the final heat in elimination 
events, i.e. they shall draw positions to determine which of 

the two elimination heat winners shall have the pole, and 
which the second position; which of the two horses that were 
second shall start in the third position, and which in the 
fourth, etc.  

6.4.4.26 In a two-in-three race, a horse 
must win two heats to win a race and there shall be 10 
percent set aside for the race winner. Unless conditions state 
otherwise, the purse shall be divided and awarded according 
to the finish in each of the first two or three heats, as the case 
may be. If the number of advertised premiums exceeds the 
number of finishers, the excess premiums shall go to the 
winner of the heat. The fourth heat, when required, shall be 
raced for 10 percent of the purse set aside for the race 
winner. In the event there are three separate heat or dash 
winners and they alone come back in order to determine the 
race winner, they will take post positions according to the 
order of their finish in the previous heat.  In a two-year-old 
race, if there are two heat winners and they have made a 
dead heat in the third heat, the race shall be declared finished 
and the one standing best in the summary shall be awarded 
the 10 percent. If the two heat winners make a dead heat and 
stand the same in the summary, the 10 percent shall be 
divided equally among them.

6.5 Cancellation of a Race
In case of cancellation of races, see Rule 7.3 

--"Postponement and Cancellation."
6.6 Delaware Owned or Bred Races

6.6.1 Persons licensed to conduct harness horse 
racing meets under title 3, chapter 100, may offer non-stakes 
races limited to horses wholly owned by Delaware residents 
or sired by Delaware stallions.

6.6.2 For purposes of this rule, a Delaware bred 
horse shall be defined as one sired by a Delaware stallion 
who stood in Delaware during the entire breeding season in 
which it sired a Delaware bred horse or a horse whose dam 
was a wholly-owned Delaware mare at the time of breeding 
as shown on the horse's United State Trotting Association 
registration or  eligibility papers. The breeding season means 
that period of time beginning February 1 and ending August 
1 of each year.

6.6.3 All horses to be entered in Delaware 
owned or bred races must first be registered and approved by 
the Commission or its designee.  The Commission may 
establish a date upon which a horse must be wholly-owned 
by a Delaware resident(s) to be eligible to be nominated, 
entered, or raced as Delaware-owned.  In the case of a 
corporation seeking to enter a horse in a Delaware-owned or 
bred event as a Delaware-owned entry, all owners, officers, 
shareholders, and directors must meet the requirements for a 
Delaware resident specified below.  In the case of an 
association or other entity seeking to enter a horse in a 
Delaware owned or bred event as a Delaware-owned entry, 
all owners must meet the requirements for a Delaware 
resident specified below. Leased horses are ineligible as 
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Delaware owned entries unless both the lessor and the lessee 
are Delaware residents as set forth in this Rule and 3 Del.C.
section 10032.

6.6.4 The following actions shall be prohibited 
for Delaware-owned races and such horses shall be deemed 
ineligible to be nominated, entered, or raced as Delaware-
owned horses:

6.6.4.1 Payment of the purchase price over 
time beyond the date of registration;

6.6.4.2 Payment of the purchase price 
through earnings beyond the date of registration;

6.6.4.3 Payment of the purchase price with a 
loan, other than from a commercial lender regulated in 
Delaware and balance due beyond the date of registration;

6.6.4.4 Any management fees, agent fees, 
consulting fees, or any other form of compensation to non-
residents of Delaware, except industry standard training and 
driving fees; or

6.6.4.5 Leasing a horse to a non-resident of 
Delaware.

6.6.5 The Commission or its designee shall 
determine all questions about a person's eligibility to 
participate in Delaware-owned races.  In determining 
whether a person is a Delaware Resident, the term "resident" 
shall mean the place where an individual has his or her 
permanent home, at which that person remains when not 
called elsewhere for labor or other special or temporary 
purposes, and to which that person returns in seasons of 
repose.  The term "residence" shall mean a place a person 
voluntarily fixed as a permanent habitation with an intent to 
remain in such place for the indefinite future.

6.6.6 The Commission or its designee may 
review and subpoena any information which is deemed 
relevant to determine a person's residence, including but not 
limited to, the following:

6.6.6.1 Where the person lives and has been 
living;

6.6.6.2 The location of the person's sources of 
income;

6.6.6.3 The address used by the person for 
payment of taxes, including federal, state and property taxes;

6.6.6.4 The state in which the person's 
personal automobiles are registered;

6.6.6.5 The state issuing the person's driver's 
license;

6.6.6.6 The state in which the person is 
registered to vote;

6.6.6.7 Ownership of property in Delaware or 
outside of Delaware;

6.6.6.8 The residence used for U.S.T.A. 
membership and U.S.T.A. registration of a horse, whichever 
is applicable;

6.6.6.9 The residence claimed by a person on 
a loan application or other similar document;

6.6.6.10 Membership in civic, community, 
and other organizations in Delaware and elsewhere.

6.6.6.11 None of these factors when 
considered alone shall be dispositive, except that a person 
must have resided in the State of Delaware in the preceding 
calendar year for a minimum of one hundred and eighty 
three (183) days.  Consideration of all of these factors 
together, as well as a person's expressed intention, shall be 
considered in arriving at a determination. The burden shall 
be on the applicant to prove Delaware residency and 
eligibility for Delaware-owned or bred races.  The 
Commission may promulgate by regulation any other 
relevant requirements necessary to ensure that the licensee is 
a Delaware resident.  In the event of disputes about a 
person's eligibility to enter a Delaware-owned or bred race, 
the Commission shall resolve all disputes and that decision 
shall be final.

6.6.7 Each owner and trainer, or the authorized 
agent of an owner or trainer, or the nominator (collectively, 
the "entrant"), is required to disclose the true and entire 
ownership of each horse with the Commission or its 
designee, and to disclose any changes in the owners of the 
registered horse to the Commission or its designee.  All 
licensees and racing officials shall immediately report any 
questions concerning the ownership status of a horse to the 
Commission racing officials, and the Commission racing 
officials may place such a horse on the steward's or judge's 
list.  A horse placed on the steward's or judge's list shall be 
ineligible to start in a race until questions concerning the 
ownership status of the horse are answered to the satisfaction 
of the Commission or the Commission's designee, and the 
horse is removed from the steward or judge's list.

6.6.8 If the Commission, or the Commission's 
designee, finds a lack of sufficient evidence of ownership 
status, residency, or other information required for eligibility, 
prior to a race, the Commission or the Commission's 
designee, may order the entrant's horse scratched from the 
race or ineligible to participate.

6.6.9 After a race, the Commission or the 
Commission's designee, may upon reasonable suspicion, 
withhold purse money pending an inquiry into ownership 
status, residency, or other information required to determine 
eligibility.  If the purse money is ultimately forfeited because 
of a ruling by the Commission or the Commission's 
designee, the purse money shall be redistributed per order of 
the Commission or the Commission's designee.

6.6.10 If purse money has been paid prior to 
reasonable suspicion, the Commission or the Commission's 
designee may conduct an inquiry and make a determination 
as to eligibility. If the Commission or the Commission's 
designee determines there has been a violation of ownership 
status, residency, or other information required for eligibility, 
it shall order the purse money returned and redistributed per 
order of the Commission or the Commission's designee.
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6.6.11 Anyone who willfully provides incorrect 
or untruthful information to the Commission or its designee 
pertaining to the ownership of a Delaware-owned or bred 
horse, or who attempts to enter a horse restricted to 
Delaware-owned entry who is determined not to be a 
Delaware resident, or who commits any other fraudulent act 
in connection with the entry or registration of a Delaware-
owned or bred horse, in addition to other penalties imposed 
by law, shall be subject to mandatory revocation of licensing 
privileges in the State of Delaware for a period to be 
determined by the Commission in its discretion except that 
absent extraordinary circumstances, the Commission shall 
impose a minimum revocation period of two years and a 
minimum fine of $5,000 from the date of the violation of 
these rules or the decision of the Commission, whichever 
occurs later.

6.6.12 Any person whose license is suspended or 
revoked under subsection (k) of this rule shall be required to 
apply for reinstatement of licensure and the burden shall be 
on the applicant to demonstrate that his or her licensure will 
not reflect adversely on the honesty and integrity of harness 
racing or interfere with the orderly conduct of a race 
meeting.  Any person whose license is reinstated under this 
subsection shall be subject to a two year probationary period, 
and may no participate in any Delaware-owned or bred race 
during this probationary period.  Any further violations of 
this section by the licensee during the period of probationary 
licensure shall, absent extraordinary circumstances, result in 
the Commission imposing revocation of all licensure 
privileges for a five year period along with any other penalty 
the Commission deems reasonable and just.

6.6.13 Any suspension imposed by the 
Commission under this rule shall not be subject to the stay 
provisions in 29 Del.C. §10144.

See 1 DE Reg. 503 (1/1/97)
See 2 DE Reg.1241 (1/1/99)
See 2 DE Reg. 1765 (4/1/99)
See 3 DE Reg. 432 (9/1/99)
See 3 DE Reg 1520 (5/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg. 1123 (1/1/01)
See 4 DE Reg 1652 (4/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg. 1691 (3/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 862 (1/1/03)

8.0 Veterinary Practices, Equine Health Medication
8.1 General Provisions

The purpose of this Rule is to protect the integrity 
of horse racing, to ensure the health and welfare of race 
horses and to safeguard the interests of the public and the 
participants in racing. 

8.2 Veterinary Practices
8.2.1 Veterinarians Under Authority of 

Commission Veterinarian
Veterinarians licensed by the Commission 

and practicing at any location under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission are subject to these Rules, which shall be 
enforced under the authority of the Commission Veterinarian 
and the State Steward.  Without limiting the authority of the 
State Steward to enforce these Rules, the Commission 
Veterinarian may recommend to the State Steward or the 
Commission the discipline which may be imposed upon a 
veterinarian who violates the rules. 

8.2.2 Treatment Restrictions
8.2.2.1 Except as otherwise provided by this 

subsection, no person other than a veterinarian licensed to 
practice veterinary medicine in this jurisdiction and licensed 
by the Commission may administer a prescription or 
controlled medication, drug, chemical or other substance 
(including any medication, drug, chemical or other substance 
by injection) to a horse at any location under the jurisdiction 
of the Commission.

8.2.2.2 This subsection does not apply to the 
administration of the following substances except in 
approved quantitative levels, if any, present in post-race 
samples or as they may interfere with post-race testing:

8.2.2.2.1 a recognized non-injectable 
nutritional supplement or other substance approved by the 
official veterinarian;

8.2.2.2.2 a non-injectable substance 
on the direction or by prescription of a licensed veterinarian; 
or

8.2.2.2.3 a non-injectable 
non-prescription medication or substance.

8.2.2.3 No person shall possess a hypodermic 
needle, syringe or injectable of any kind on association 
premises, unless otherwise approved by the Commission.  At 
any location under the jurisdiction of the Commission, 
veterinarians may use only one-time disposable needles, and 
shall dispose of them in a manner approved by the 
Commission.  If a person has a medical condition which 
makes it necessary to have a syringe at any location under 
the jurisdiction of the Commission, that person may request 
permission of the State Steward, judges and/or the 
Commission in writing, furnish a letter from a licensed 
physician explaining why it is necessary for the person to 
possess a syringe, and must comply with any conditions and 
restrictions set by the State Steward, judges and/or the 
Commission.

8.3 Medications and Foreign Substances
Foreign substances shall mean all substances, 

except those which exist naturally in the untreated horse at 
normal physiological concentration, and shall include all 
narcotics, stimulants, depressants or other drugs or 
medications of any type.  Except as specifically permitted by 
these rules, no foreign substance shall be carried in the body 
of the horse at the time of the running of the race. Upon a 
finding of a violation of these medication and prohibited 
substances rules, the State Steward or other designee of the 
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Commission shall consider the classification level of the 
violation as listed at the time of the violation by the Uniform 
Classification Guidelines of Foreign Substances as 
promulgated by the Association of Racing Commissioners 
International and shall consider all other relevant available 
evidence including but not limited to:  i) whether the 
violation created a risk of injury to the horse or driver;  ii) 
whether the violation undermined or corrupted the integrity 
of the sport of harness racing;  iii) whether the violation 
misled the wagering public and those desiring to claim the 
horse as to the condition and ability of the horse;  iv) whether 
the violation permitted the trainer or licensee to alter the 
performance of the horse or permitted the trainer or licensee 
to gain an advantage over other horses entered in the race; v) 
the amount of the purse involved in the race in which the 
violation occurred.  The State Steward may impose penalties 
and disciplinary measures consistent with the 
recommendations contained in subsection 8.3.2 of this 
section. 

8.3.1 Uniform Classification Guidelines
The following outline describes the types 

of substances placed in each category.  This list shall be 
publicly posted in the offices of the Commission 
Veterinarian and the racing secretary.

8.3.1.1 Class 1
Opiates, opium derivatives, synthetic 

opiates, psychoactive drugs, amphetamines and U.S. Drug 
Enforcement Agency (DEA) scheduled I and II drugs.  Also 
found in this class are drugs which are potent stimulants of 
the nervous system.  Drugs in this class have no generally 
accepted medical use in the race horse and their 
pharmacological potential for altering the performance of a 
race is very high.

8.3.1.2 Class 2
Drugs in this category have a high 

potential for affecting the outcome of a race.  Most are not 
generally accepted as therapeutic agents in the race horse. 
Many are products intended to alter consciousness or the 
psychic state of humans, and have no approved or indicated 
use in the horse.  Some, such as injectable local anesthetics, 
have legitimate use in equine medicine, but should not be 
found in a race horse.  The following groups of drugs are in 
this class:

8.3.1.2.1 Opiate partial agonist, or 
agonist-antagonists;

8.3.1.2.2 Non-opiate psychotropic 
drugs, which may have stimulant, depressant, analgesic or 
neuroleptic effects;

8.3.1.2.3 Miscellaneous drugs which 
might have a stimulant effect on the central nervous system 
(CNS);

8.3.1.2.4 Drugs with prominent CNS 
depressant action;

8.3.1.2.5 Antidepressant and 

antipsychotic drugs, with or without prominent CNS 
stimulatory or depressant effects;

8.3.1.2.6 Muscle blocking drugs 
which have a direct neuromuscular blocking action;

8.3.1.2.7 Local anesthetics which have 
a reasonable potential for use as nerve blocking agents 
(except procaine); and

8.3.1.2.8 Snake venoms and other 
biologic substances which may be used as nerve blocking 
agents.

8.3.1.3 Class 3
Drugs in this class may or may not 

have an accepted therapeutic use in the horse.  Many are 
drugs that affect the cardiovascular, pulmonary and 
autonomic nervous systems.  They all have the potential of 
affecting the performance of a race horse.  The following 
groups of drugs are in this class:

8.3.1.3.1 Drugs affecting the 
autonomic nervous system which do not have prominent 
CNS effects, but which do have prominent cardiovascular or 
respiratory system effects (bronchodilators are included in 
this class);

8.3.1.3.2 A local anesthetic which has 
nerve blocking potential but also has a high potential for 
producing urine residue levels from a method of use not 
related to the anesthetic effect of the drug (procaine);

8.3.1.3.3 Miscellaneous drugs with 
mild sedative action, such as the sleep inducing 
antihistamines;

8.3.1.3.4 Primary vasodilating/
hypotensive agents; and

8.3.1.3.5 Potent diuretics affecting 
renal function and body fluid composition.

8.3.1.4 Class 4
This category is comprised primarily 

of therapeutic medications routinely used in race horses. 
These may influence performance, but generally have a 
more limited ability to do so.  Groups of drugs assigned to 
this category include the following:

8.3.1.4.1 Non-opiate drugs which 
have a mild central analgesic effect;

8.3.1.4.2 Drugs affecting the 
autonomic nervous system which do not have prominent 
CNS, cardiovascular or respiratory effects

8.3.1.4.2.1 Drugs used solely as 
topical vasoconstrictors or decongestants

8.3.1.4.2.2 Drugs used as 
gastrointestinal antispasmodics

8.3.1.4.2.3 Drugs used to void the 
urinary bladder

8.3.1.4.2.4 Drugs with a major 
effect on CNS vasculature or smooth muscle of visceral 
organs.

8.3.1.4.3 Antihistamines which do not 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS1532
have a significant CNS depressant effect (This does not 
include H1 blocking agents, which are listed in Class 5);

8.3.1.4.4 Mineralocorticoid drugs;
8.3.1.4.5 Skeletal muscle relaxants;
8.3.1.4.6 Anti-inflammatory 

drugs--those that may reduce pain as a consequence of their 
anti-inflammatory actions, which include:

8.3.1.4.6.1 Non-Steroidal 
Anti-Inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs)--aspirin-like drugs;

8.3.1.4.6.2 Corticosteroids 
(glucocorticoids); and

8.3.1.4.6.3 Miscellaneous 
anti-inflammatory agents.

8.3.1.4.7 Anabolic and/or androgenic 
steroids and other drugs;

8.3.1.4.8 Less potent diuretics;
8.3.1.4.9 Cardiac glycosides and 

antiarrhythmics including:
8.3.1.4.9.1 Cardiac glycosides;
8.3.1.4.9.2 Antiarrhythmic agents 

(exclusive of lidocaine, bretylium and propanolol); and
8.3.1.4.9.3 Miscellaneous 

cardiotonic drugs.
8.3.1.4.10 Topical Anesthetics--agents 

not available in injectable formulations;
8.3.1.4.11 Antidiarrheal agents; and
8.3.1.4.12 Miscellaneous drugs 

including:
8.3.1.4.12.1 Expectorants with little 

or no other pharmacologic action;
8.3.1.4.12.2 Stomachics; and
8.3.1.4.12.3 Mucolytic agents.

8.3.1.5 Class 5
Drugs in this category are therapeutic 

medications for which concentration limits have been 
established as well as certain miscellaneous agents. 
Included specifically are agents which have very localized 
action only, such as anti-ulcer drugs and certain antiallergic 
drugs.  The anticoagulant drugs are also included.

8.3.2 Penalty Recommendations
The following penalties and disciplinary 

measures may be imposed for violations of these medication 
and prohibited substances rules:

8.3.2.1 Class 1- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of eighteen months and a minimum fine of $5,000, and a 
maximum fine up to the amount of the purse money for the 
race in which the infraction occurred, forfeiture of the purse 
money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.  

8.3.2.2 Class 2- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of nine months and a minimum fine of $3,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 

purse money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.
8.3.2.3 Class 3- in the absence of 

extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of ninety days, and a minimum fine of $3,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.4 Class 4 - in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of thirty days, and a minimum fine of $2,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for the cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.5 Class 5 - Zero to 15 days suspension 
with a possible loss of purse and/or fine and assessment for 
the cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.6 In determining the appropriate penalty 
with respect to a medication rule violation, the State Steward 
or other designee of the Commission may use his discretion 
in the application of the foregoing penalty recommendations, 
and shall consult with the [State Veterinarian,] the 
Commission veterinarian and/or the Commission chemist to 
determine the seriousness of the laboratory finding or the 
medication violation.  Aggravating or mitigating 
circumstances in any case should be considered and greater 
or lesser penalties and/or disciplinary measures may be 
imposed than those set forth above.  Specifically, if the State 
Steward or other designee of the Commission determine that 
mitigating circumstances warrant imposition of a lesser 
penalty than the recommendations suggest, he may impose a 
lesser penalty.  If the State Steward or other designee of the 
Commission determines that aggravating circumstances 
require imposition of a greater penalty, however, he may 
only impose up to the maximum recommended penalty, and 
must refer the case to the Commission for its review, with a 
recommendation for specific action.  Without limitation, the 
presence of the following aggravating circumstances may 
warrant imposition of greater penalties than those 
recommended, up to and including a lifetime suspension:

8.3.2.6.1 Repeated violations of these 
medication and prohibited substances rules by the same 
trainer or with respect to the same horse;

8.3.2.6.2 Prior violations of similar 
rules in other racing jurisdictions by the same trainer or with 
respect to the same horse; or

8.3.2.6.3 Violations which endanger 
the life or health of the horse.

8.3.2.6.4 Violations that mislead the 
wagering public and those desiring to claim a horse as to the 
condition and ability of the horse;

8.3.2.6.5 Violations that undermine or 
corrupt the integrity of the sport of harness racing.

8.3.2.7 Any person whose license is 
reinstated after a prior violation involving class 1 or class 2 
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drugs and who commits a subsequent violation within five 
years of the prior violation, shall absent extraordinary 
circumstances, be subject to a minimum revocation of 
license for five years, and a minimum fine in the amount of 
the purse money of the race in which the infraction occurred, 
along with any other penalty just and reasonable under the 
circumstances.

8.3.2.7.1 With respect to Class 1, 2 
and 3 drugs detect in a urine sample but not in a blood 
sample, and in addition to the foregoing factors, in 
determining the length of a suspension and/or the amount of 
a fine, or both, the State Steward or judges may take in 
consideration, without limitation, whether the drug has any 
equine therapeutic use, the time and method of 
administration, if determined, whether more than one foreign 
substance was detected in the sample, and any other 
appropriate aggravating or mitigating factors.

8.3.2.8 Whenever a trainer is suspended more 
than once within a two-year period for a violation of this 
chapter regarding medication rules, any suspension imposed 
on the trainer for any such subsequent violation also shall 
apply to the horse involved in such violation. The State 
Steward or judges may impose a shorter suspension on the 
horse than on the trainer.

8.3.2.9 At the discretion of the State Steward 
or other designee of the Commission, a horse as to which an 
initial finding of a prohibited substance has bee made by the 
Commission chemist may be prohibited from racing pending 
a timely hearing; provided, however, that other horses 
registered under the care of the trainer of such a horse may, 
with the consent of the State Steward or other designee of the 
Commission be released to the care of another trainer, and 
may race.

8.3.3 Medication Restrictions
8.3.3.1 Drugs or medications in horses are 

permissible, provided:
8.3.3.1.1 the drug or medication is 

listed by the Association of Racing Commissioners 
International's Drug Testing and Quality Assurance 
Program; and

8.3.3.1.2 the maximum permissible 
urine or blood concentration of the drug or medication does 
not exceed the limit established in theses Rules or otherwise 
approved and published by the Commission.

8.3.3.2 Except as otherwise provided by this 
chapter, a person may not administer or cause to be 
administered by any means to a horse a prohibited drug, 
medication, chemical or other substance, including any 
restricted medication pursuant to this chapter during the 
24-hour period before post time for the race in which the 
horse is entered.  Such administration shall result in the 
horse being scratched from the race and may result in 
disciplinary actions being taken.

8.3.3.3 A finding by the official chemist of a 

prohibited drug, chemical or other substance in a test 
specimen of a horse is prima facie evidence that the 
prohibited drug, chemical or other substance was 
administered to the horse and, in the case of a post-race test, 
was present in the horse's body while it was participating in a 
race.  Prohibited substances include:

8.3.3.3.1 drugs or medications for 
which no acceptable levels have been established in these 
Rules or otherwise approved and published by the 
Commission.

8.3.3.3.2 therapeutic medications in 
excess of acceptable limits established in these rules or 
otherwise approved and published by the Commission.

8.3.3.3.3 Substances present in the 
horse in excess of levels at which such substances could 
occur naturally and such prohibited substances shall include 
a total carbon dioxide level of 37 mmol/L or serum in a 
submitted blood sample from a horse or 39 mmol/L if serum 
from a horse which has been administered furosemide in 
compliance with these rules, provided that a licensee has the 
right, pursuant to such procedures as may be established 
from time to time by the Commission, to attempt to prove 
that a horse has a naturally high carbon dioxide level in 
excess of the above-mentioned levels; and provided, further, 
that an excess total carbon dioxide level shall be penalized in 
accordance with the penalty recommendation applicable to a 
Class 2 substance.

8.3.3.3.4 substances foreign to a horse 
at levels that cause interference with testing procedures.  The 
detection of any such substance is a violation, regardless of 
the classification or definition of the substance or its 
properties under the Uniform Classification Guidelines for 
Foreign Substances.

8.3.3.4 The tubing, dosing or jugging of any 
horse for any reason within 24 hours prior to its scheduled 
race is prohibited unless administered for medical 
emergency purposes by a licensed veterinarian, in which 
case the horse shall be scratched.  The practice of 
administration of any substance via a naso-gastric tube or 
dose syringe into a horse's stomach within 24 hours prior to 
its scheduled race is considered a violation of these rules and 
subject to disciplinary action, which may include fine, 
suspension and revocation or license.

8.3.4 Medical Labeling
8.3.4.1 No person on association grounds 

where horses are lodged or kept, excluding licensed 
veterinarians, shall have in or upon association grounds 
which that person occupies or has the right to occupy, or in 
that person's personal property or effects or vehicle in that 
person's care, custody or control, a drug, medication, 
chemical, foreign substance or other substance that is 
prohibited in a horse on a race day unless the product is 
labelled in accordance with this subsection.

8.3.4.2 Any drug or medication which is used 
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or kept on association grounds and which, by federal or 
Delaware law, requires a prescription must have been validly 
prescribed by a duly licensed veterinarian, and in 
compliance with the applicable federal and state statutes. 
All such allowable medications must have a prescription 
label which is securely attached and clearly ascribed to show 
the following:

8.3.4.2.1 the name of the product;
8.3.4.2.2 the name, address and 

telephone number of the veterinarian prescribing or 
dispensing the product;

8.3.4.2.3 the name of each patient 
(horse) for whom the product is intended/prescribed;

8.3.4.2.4 the dose, dosage, duration of 
treatment and expiration date of the prescribed/dispensed 
product; and 

8.3.4.2.5 the name of the person 
(trainer) to whom the product was dispensed.

8.3.5 Furosemide (Lasix) (Salix) and 
Aminiocaproic Acid (Amicar)

8.3.5.1 General
Furosemide (Lasix) (Salix) and 

Aminiocaproic Acid (Amicar) may be administered 
intravenously to a horse on the grounds of the association at 
which it is entered to compete in a race.  Except under the 
instructions of the Commission Veterinarian for the purpose 
of removing a horse from the Steward's List or to facilitate 
the collection of a post-race urine sample, Furosemide 
(Lasix) or Furosemide with Aminiocaproic Acid shall be 
permitted only after the Commission Veterinarian has placed 
the horse on the Bleeder List or to facilitate the collection of 
a post-race urine sample.

8.3.5.2 Method of Administration
(Lasix) Furosemide or Furosemide 

with Aminocaproic Acid shall be administered intravenously 
by a the licensed practicing Bleeder Medication
Veterinarian, unless the Commission Veterinarian he/she
determines that a horse cannot receive an intravenous 
administration of (Lasix) Furosemide or Furosemide with 
Aminocaproic Acid. and gives pPermission for an 
intramuscular administration must be authorized by the 
Presiding Judge or his/her representative; provided, 
however, that once (Lasix) Furosemide or Furosemide with 
Aminocaproic Acid is administered intramuscularly, the 
horse shall remain in a detention area under the supervision 
of a Commission representative until it races.

8.3.5.3 Dosage
Lasix Aminocaproic Acid shall be 

administered to a horse on the Bleeder List only by the 
licensed Bleeder Medication Veterinarian, who will 
administer not more than 7.5 grams or less than 2.5 grams 
intravenously. Furosemide shall be administered to horses on 
the Bleeder List only by a the licensed practicing Bleeder 
Medication Veterinarian, who will administer not more than 

500 milligrams nor less than 100 milligrams, subject to the 
following conditions:

8.3.5.3.1 If less than 500 milligrams is 
administered, and subsequent laboratory findings are 
inconsistent with such dosage or with the time of 
administration, then the trainer shall be subject to a fine or 
other disciplinary action;

8.3.5.3.2 Not more than 750 
milligrams may be administered if (1) the State Commission
Veterinarian grants permission for a dosage greater than 500 
milligrams, and (2) after the administration of such greater 
dosage, the horse remains in a detention area under the 
supervision of a Commission representative until it races; 
and

8.3.5.3.32 The dosage administered 
may not vary by more than 250 milligrams from race to race 
without the permission of the Commission Veterinarian.

8.3.5.4 Timing of Administration
Horses must be presented at their assigned 

stalls in the paddock for Aminocaproic Acid treatment. 
Aminocaproic Acid will be administered not more than 90 
minutes (1 1/2 hours) and not less than 60 minutes (1 hour) 
prior to post time of their respective races and must be 
treated prior to going on the track the first time.  Failure to 
meet this time frame will result in scratching the horse and 
the trainer may be fined. Horses must be presented at the 
Lasix Furosemide stall in the paddock, and the Lasix
Furosemide administered, not more than three hours and 30 
minutes (3-1/2 hours) nor less than three hours (three hours) 
prior to post time of their respective races.  Failure to meet 
this time frame will result in scratching the horse, and the 
trainer may be fined.

8.3.5.5 Veterinary Charges
It is the responsibility of the owner or 

trainer, prior to the administration of the medication, to pay 
the licensed practicing Bleeder Medication Veterinarian at 
the rate approved by the Commission.  No credit shall be 
given without approval of the Bleeder Medication 
Veterinarian.

8.3.5.6 Restrictions
No one except a licensed practicing 

veterinarian shall possess equipment or any substance for 
injectable administration on the race track complex, and no 
horse is to receive furosemide (Lasix) in oral form.

8.3.5.7 Post-Race Quantification
The presence of Aminocaproic Acid 

in a horse following the running of the race in which it was 
not declared or reported, may result in the disqualification of 
the horse or other sanctions being imposed upon the trainer 
and the administering veterinarian.

Conversely, the absence of a bleeder 
medication following the running of a race, which was 
declared and reported may result in the disqualification of 
the horse and other sanctions being imposed upon the trainer 
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and the bleeder Medication Veterinarian
8.3.5.7.1 As indicated by post-race 

quantification, a horse may not carry in its body at the time 
of the running of the race more than 100 nanograms of Lasix
Furosemide per milliliter of plasma in conjunction with a 
urine that has a specific gravity of less than 1.01, unless the 
dosage of Lasix Furosemide:

8.3.5.7.1.1 Was administered 
intramuscularly as provided in 8.3.5.2; or

8.3.5.7.1.2 Exceeded 500 
milligrams as provided in 8.3.5.3.2 1.

8.3.5.7.2 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 100 nanograms of furosemide 
per milliliter of plasma in conjunction with a urine that has a 
specific gravity of 1.010 or lower less than 1.01, and 
provided that the dosage of furosemide was not administered 
intramuscularly as provided in 8.3.5.3.2 8.3.5.2 or exceeded 
500 milligrams as provided in 8.3.5.3.2 1, then a penalty 
shall be imposed as follows:

8.3.5.7.2.1 If such overage is the 
first violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to a 
$250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.2 If such overage is the 
second violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to 
a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.3 If such overage is the 
third violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to a 
$1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.4 If in the opinion of the 
official chemist any such overage caused interference with 
testing procedures, then for each such overage a penalty of 
up to a $1,000 fine and a suspension of from 15 to 50 days 
may be imposed. 

8.3.5.8 Reports
8.3.5.8.1 The licensed practicing

Bleeder Medication Veterinarian who administers Lasix
Aminocaproic Acid or Furosemide or Furosemide with 
Aminocaproic Acid to a horse scheduled to race shall 
prepare a written certification indicating the time, dosage 
and method of administration.

8.3.5.8.2 The written certification 
shall be delivered to a Commission representative designated 
by the State Steward Judges at least within one (1) hour of 
the last scheduled race for that day before the horse is 
scheduled to race.

8.3.5.8.3  The State Steward or judges 
shall order a horse scratched if the written certification is not 
received in a timely manner.

8.3.5.9 Bleeder List
8.3.5.9.1 The Commission  Bleeder 

Medication Veterinarian shall maintain a Bleeder List of all 
horses which have demonstrated external evidence of 
exercise induced pulmonary hemorrhage (EIPH) or the 

existence of hemorrhage in the trachea post exercise upon:
8.3.5.9.1.1 visual examination 

wherein blood is noted in one or both nostrils either:
8.3.5.9.1.1.1 during a race;
8.3.5.9.1.1.2 immediately post-

race or post-exercise on track; or
8.3.5.9.1.1.3 within one hour 

post-race or post-exercise in paddock and/or stable area, 
confirmed by endoscopic examination; or

8.3.5.9.1.2 endoscopic 
examination, which may be requested by the owner or 
trainer who feels his or her horse is a bleeder.  Such 
endoscopic examination must be done by a practicing 
veterinarian, at the owner's or trainer's expense, and in the 
presence of the Commission Veterinarian or Lasix 
veterinarian.  Such an examination shall take place within 
one hour post-race or post-exercise; or

8.3.5.9.1.3 presentation to the 
Commission Veterinarian, at least 48 hours prior to racing, of 
a current Bleeder Certificate from an official veterinarian 
from any other jurisdiction, which show the date, place and 
method -- visual or endoscopy -- by which the horse was 
determined to have bled, or which attests that the horse is a 
known bleeder and receives bleeder medication in that 
jurisdiction, provided that such jurisdiction's criteria for the 
identification of bleeders are satisfactory to the Commission 
Veterinarian.

8.3.5.9.2 The confirmation of a 
bleeder horse must be certified in writing by the Commission 
Veterinarian or the Lasix veterinarian and entered on the 
Bleeder List. Copies of the certification shall be issued to the 
owner of the horse or the owner's designee upon request.  A 
copy of the bleeder certificate shall be attached to the horse's 
eligibility certificate.

8.3.5.9.3 Every confirmed bleeder, 
regardless of age, shall be placed on the Bleeder List, and 
Lasix furosemide or Furosemide with Aminocaproic Acid, if 
applicable must be administered to the horse in accordance 
with these rules prior to every race, including qualifying 
races, in which the horse starts.

8.3.5.9.4 A horse which bleeds based 
on the criteria set forth in 8.3.5.9.1 above shall be restricted 
from racing at any facility under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission, as follows:

8.3.5.9.4.1 1st time - 10 days;
8.3.5.9.4.2 2nd time - 30 days, 

provided that the horse must be added to or remain on the 
Bleeder List, and must complete a satisfactory qualifying 
race before resuming racing;

8.3.5.9.4.3 3rd time - 30 days, and 
the horse shall be added to the Steward's List, to be removed 
at the discretion of the Commission Veterinarian following a 
satisfactory qualifying race after the mandatory 30-day rest 
period; and
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8.3.5.9.4.4 4th time - barred for life.
8.3.5.9.5 An owner or trainer must 

notify the Commission Veterinarian immediately of evidence 
that a horse is bleeding following exercise or racing.

8.3.5.9.6 A horse may be removed 
from the Bleeder List at the request of the owner or trainer, if 
the horse completes a 10-day rest period following such 
request, and then re-qualifies.  A horse may discontinue the 
use of Aminocaproic Acid without a ten (10) day rest period 
or having to reliquary provided the horse was on 
Aminocaproic Acid for thirty (34) days or more.  In addition, 
once a horse discontinues the use of Aminocaproic Acid, it is 
prohibited from using said medication for ninety (90) days 
from the date of its last administration for Aminocaproic 
Acid.

8.3.5.9.7 Any horse on the Bleeder 
List which races in a jurisdiction where it is not eligible for 
bleeder medication, whether such ineligibility is due to the 
fact that it does not qualify for bleeder medication in that 
jurisdiction or because bleeder medication is prohibited in 
that jurisdiction, shall automatically remain on the Bleeder 
List at the discretion of the owner or trainer, provided that 
such decision by the owner or trainer must be declared at the 
time of the first subsequent entry in Delaware, and the Lasix
Furosemide and Aminocaproic Acid symbols in the program 
shall appropriately reflect that the horse did not receive 
Lasix Furosemide or Furosemide with Aminocaproic Acid
its last time out.  Such an election by the owner or trainer 
shall not preclude the Commission Veterinarian, State 
Steward or Presiding Judge from requiring re-qualification 
whenever a horse on the Bleeder List races in another 
jurisdiction without bleeder medication, and the integrity of 
the Bleeder List may be questioned.

8.3.5.9.8 Any horse on the Bleeder 
List which races without Lasix Furosemide or Furosemide 
with Aminocaproic Acid in any jurisdiction which permits 
the use of Lasix Furosemide or Furosemide with 
Aminocaproic Acid shall automatically be removed from the 
Bleeder List. In order to be restored to the Bleeder List, the 
horse must demonstrate EIPH in accordance with the criteria 
set forth in subdivision 1 8.3.5.9.1 above.  If the horse does 
demonstrate EIPH and is restored to the Bleeder List, the 
horse shall be suspended from racing in accordance with the 
provisions of 8.3.6.4 8.3.5.9.4 above.

8.3.5.9.9 The State Steward or 
Presiding Judge, in consultation with the [State
Commission] Veterinarian, will rule on any questions 
relating to the Bleeder List.

8.3.5.10 Medication Program Entries
It is the responsibility of the 

trainer at the time of entry of a horse to provide the racing 
secretary with the bleeder medication status of the horse on 
the entry blank, and also to provide the Commission 
Veterinarian with a bleeder certificate, if the horse 

previously raced out-of-state on bleeder medication.
8.3.6 Phenylbutazone (Bute)

8.3.6.1 General
8.3.6.1.1 Phenylbutazone or 

oxyphenbutazone may be administered to horses three years 
of age and older in such dosage amount that the official test 
sample shall contain not more than 2.0 micrograms per 
milliliter of blood plasma.  Phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone is not permissible at any level in horses 
two years of age and if phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone 
is present in any post-race sample from a two year old horse, 
said horse shall be disqualified, shall forfeit any purse 
money, and the trainer shall be subject to penalties including 
up to a $1,000 fine and up to a fifty day suspension.

8.3.6.1.2 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 2.0 but not more than 2.6 
micrograms per milliliter of blood plasma of phenylbutazone 
or oxyphenbutazone, then warnings shall be issued to the 
trainer.

8.3.6.1.3 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 2.6 micrograms per milliliter 
of blood plasma of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone, 
then a penalty shall be imposed as follows:

8.3.6.1.3.1 For an average between 
2.6 and less than 5.0 micrograms per milliliter:

8.3.6.1.3.1.1 If such overage is 
the first violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up 
to a $250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.2 If such overage is 
the second violation of this rule within a 12-month period: 
Up to a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.3 If such overage is 
the third violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up 
to a $1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss of 
purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.4 For an overage of 
5.0 micrograms or more per milliliter: Up to a $1,000 fine 
and up to a 5-day suspension and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.4 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race any quantity of phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone, and also carried in its body at the time of 
the running of the race any quantity of any other non-
steroidal anti-inflammatory drug, including but not limited 
to naproxen, flunixin and meclofenamic acid, then such 
presence of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone, shall 
constitute a violation of this rule and shall be subject to a 
penalty of up to a $1,000 fine and up to a 50-day suspension 
and loss of purse.

8.4 Testing
8.4.1 Reporting to the Test Barn

8.4.1.1 Horses shall be selected for post-
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racing testing according to the following protocol:
8.4.1.1.1 At least one horse in each 

race, selected by the judges from among the horses finishing 
in the first four positions in each race, shall be tested. 

8.4.1.1.2 Horses selected for testing 
shall be taken to the Test Barn or Test Stall to have a blood, 
urine and/or other specimen sample taken at the direction of 
the State Veterinarian.

8.4.1.2 Random or extra testing, including 
pre-race testing, may be required by the State Steward or 
judges, or by the Commission, at any time on any horse on 
association grounds.

8.4.1.3 Unless otherwise directed by the State 
Steward, judges or the Commission Veterinarian, a horse that 
is selected for testing must be taken directly to the Test Barn.

8.4.2 Sample Collection
8.4.2.1 Sample collection shall be done in 

accordance with the RCI Drug Testing and Quality 
Assurance Program External Chain of Custody Guidelines, 
or other guidelines and instructions provided by the 
Commission Veterinarian.

8.4.2.2 The Commission veterinarian shall 
determine a minimum sample requirement for the primary 
testing laboratory.  A primary testing laboratory must be 
approved by the Commission.

8.4.3 Procedure for Taking Specimens
8.4.3.1 Horses from which specimens are to 

be drawn shall be taken to the detention area at the 
prescribed time and remain there until released by the 
Commission Veterinarian.  Only the owner, trainer, groom, 
or hot walker of horses to be tested shall be admitted to the 
detention area without permission of the Commission 
Veterinarian.

8.4.3.2 Stable equipment other than 
equipment necessary for washing and cooling out a horse 
shall be prohibited in the detention area.

8.4.3.2.1 Buckets and water shall be 
furnished by the Commission Veterinarian.

8.4.3.2.2 If a body brace is to be used, 
it shall be supplied by the responsible trainer and 
administered only with the permission and in the presence of 
the Commission Veterinarian.

8.4.3.2.3 A licensed veterinarian shall 
attend a horse in the detention area only in the presence of 
the Commission Veterinarian.

8.4.3.3 One of the following persons shall be 
present and witness the taking of the specimen from a horse 
and so signify in writing:

8.4.3.3.1 The owner;
8.4.3.3.2 The responsible trainer who, 

in the case of a claimed horse, shall be the person in whose 
name the horse raced; or

8.4.3.3.3 A stable representative 
designated by such owner or trainer.

8.4.3.4
8.4.3.4.1 All urine containers shall be 

supplied by the Commission laboratory and shall be sealed 
with the laboratory security seal which shall not be broken, 
except in the presence of the witness as provided by 
(subsection (3)) subsection 8.4.3.3 of this section.

8.4.3.4.2 Blood  vacutainers will also 
be supplied by the Commission laboratory in sealed 
packages as received from the manufacturer.

8.4.3.5 Samples taken from a horse, by the 
Commission Veterinarian or his assistant at the detention 
barn, shall be collected and in double containers and 
designated as the “primary” and “secondary” samples.

8.4.3.5.1 These samples shall be 
sealed with tamper-proof tape and bear a portion of the 
multiple part “identification tag” that has identical printed 
numbers only.  The other portion of the tag bearing the same 
printed identification number shall be detached in the 
presence of the witness.

8.4.3.5.2 The Commission 
Veterinarian shall:

8.4.3.5.2.1 Identify the horse from 
which the specimen was taken.

8.4.3.5.2.2 Document the race and 
day, verified by the witness; and

8.4.3.5.2.3 Place the detached 
portions of the identification tags in a sealed envelope for 
delivery only to the stewards.

8.4.3.5.3 After both portions of 
samples have been identified in accordance with this section, 
the “ primary” sample shall be delivered to the official 
chemist designated by the Commission.

8.4.3.5.4 The  “secondary”  sample 
shall remain in the custody of the Commission Veterinarian 
at the detention area and urine samples shall be frozen and 
blood samples refrigerated in a locked refrigerator/freezer.

8.4.3.5.5 The Commission 
Veterinarian shall take every precaution to ensure that 
neither the Commission chemist nor any member of the 
laboratory staff shall know the identity of the horse from 
which a specimen was taken prior to the completion of all 
testing.

8.4.3.5.6 When the Commission 
chemist has reported that the “primary” sample delivered 
contains no prohibited drug, the “secondary” sample shall be 
properly disposed.

8.4.3.5.7 If after a horse remains a 
reasonable time in the detention area and a specimen can not 
be taken from the horse, the Commission Veterinarian may 
permit the horse to be returned to its barn and usual 
surroundings for the taking of a specimen under the 
supervision of the Commission Veterinarian.

8.4.3.5.8 If one hundred (100) 
milliliters (ml.) or less of urine is obtained, it will not be 
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split, but will be considered the “primary”  sample and will 
be tested as other “primary” samples.

8.4.3.5.9 Two (2) blood samples shall 
be collected in twenty (20) milliliters vacutainers, one for the 
“primary” and one for the “secondary” sample.

8.4.3.5.10 In the event of an initial 
finding of a prohibited substance or in violation of these 
Rules and Regulations, the Commission chemist shall notify 
the Commission, both orally and in writing, and an oral or 
written notice shall be issued by the Commission to the 
owner and trainer or other responsible person no more than 
twenty-four (24) hours after the receipt of the initial finding, 
unless extenuating circumstances require a longer period, in 
which case the Commission shall provide notice as soon as 
possible in order to allow for testing of the “secondary” 
sample; provided, however, that with respect to a finding of 
a prohibited level of total carbon dioxide in a blood sample, 
there shall be no right to testing of the “secondary sample” 
unless such finding initially is made at the racetrack on the 
same day that the tested horse raced, and in every such 
circumstance a “secondary sample” shall be transported to 
the Commission laboratory on an anonymous basis for 
confirmatory testing.

8.4.3.5.10.1 If  testing of the 
“secondary”  sample is desired, the owner, trainer, or other 
responsible person shall so notify the Commission in writing 
within 48 hours after notification of the initial positive test or 
within a reasonable period of time established by the 
Commission after consultation with the Commission 
chemist.  The reasonable period is to be calculated to insure 
the integrity of the sample and the preservation of the alleged 
illegal substance.

8.4.3.5.10.2 Testing of the 
“secondary” samples shall be performed at a referee 
laboratory selected by representatives of the owner, trainer, 
or other responsible person from a list of not less than two 
(2) laboratories approved by the Commission.

8.4.3.5.11 The Commission shall bear 
the responsibility of preparing and shipping the sample, and 
the cost of preparation, shipping, and testing at the referee 
laboratory shall be assumed by the person requesting the 
testing, whether it be the owner, trainer, or other person 
charged.

8.4.3.5.11.1 A Commission 
representative and the owner, trainer, or other responsible 
person or a representative of the persons notified under these 
Rules and Regulations may be present at the time of the 
opening, repackaging, and testing of the “secondary” sample 
to ensure its identity and that the testing is satisfactorily 
performed.

8.4.3.5.11.2 The referee laboratory 
shall be informed of the initial findings of the Commission 
chemist prior to making the test.

8.4.3.5.11.3 If the finding of the 

referee laboratory is proven to be of sufficient reliability and 
does not confirm the finding of the initial test performed by 
the Commission chemist and in the absence of other 
independent proof of the administration of a prohibited drug 
of the horse in question, it shall be concluded that there is 
insubstantial evidence upon which to charge anyone with a 
violation.

8.4.3.5.12 The Commission 
Veterinarian shall be responsible for safeguarding all 
specimens while in his possession and shall cause the 
specimens to be delivered only to the Commission chemist 
as soon as possible after sealing, in a manner so as not to 
reveal the identity of a horse from which the sample was 
taken.

8.4.3.5.13 If an Act of God, power 
failure, accident, strike or other action beyond the control of 
the Commission occurs, the results of the primary official 
test shall be accepted as prima facie evidence.

8.5 Trainer Responsibility
The purpose of this subsection is to identify 

responsibilities of the trainer that pertain specifically to the 
health and well-being of horses in his/her care.

8.5.1 The trainer is responsible for the condition 
of horses entered in an official workout or race and is 
responsible for the presence of any prohibited drug, 
medication or other substance, including permitted 
medication in excess of the maximum allowable level, in 
such horses. A positive test for a prohibited drug, medication 
or substance, including permitted medication in excess of the 
maximum allowable level, as reported by a 
Commission-approved laboratory, is prima facie evidence of 
a violation of this rule.  In the absence of substantial 
evidence to the contrary, the trainer shall be responsible. 
Whenever a trainer of a horse names a substitute trainer for 
program purposes due to his or her inability to be in 
attendance with the horse on the day of the race, or for any 
other reason, both trainers shall be responsible for the 
condition of the horse should the horse test positive; 
provided further that, except as otherwise provided herein, 
the trainer of record (programmed trainer) shall be any 
individual who receives any compensation for training the 
horse.

8.5.2 A trainer shall prevent the administration 
of any drug or medication or other foreign substance that 
may cause a violation of these rules.

8.5.3 A trainer whose horse has been claimed 
remains responsible for any violation of rules regarding that 
horse's participation in the race in which the horse is 
claimed.

8.5.4 The trainer is responsible for:
8.5.4.1 maintaining the assigned stable area 

in a clean, neat and sanitary condition at all times;
8.5.4.2 using the services of those 

veterinarians licensed by the Commission to attend horses 
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that are on association grounds;
8.5.5 Additionally, with respect to horses in his/

her care or custody, the trainer is responsible for:
8.5.5.1 the proper identity, custody, care, 

health, condition and safety of horses;
8.5.5.2 ensuring that at the time of arrival at 

locations under the jurisdiction of the Commission a valid 
health certificate and a valid negative Equine Infectious 
Anemia (EIA) test certificate accompany each horse and 
which, where applicable, shall be filed with the racing 
secretary;

8.5.5.3 having each horse in his/her care that 
is racing, or is stabled on association grounds, tested for 
Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) in accordance with state 
law and for filing evidence of such negative test results with 
the racing secretary;

8.5.5.4 using the services of those 
veterinarians licensed by the Commission to attend horses 
that are on association grounds;

8.5.5.5 immediately reporting the alteration 
of the sex of a horse to the clerk of the course, the United 
States Trotting Association and the racing secretary;

8.5.5.6 promptly reporting to the racing 
secretary and the Commission Veterinarian when a posterior 
digital neurectomy (heel nerving) has been performed and 
ensuring that such fact is designated on its certificate of 
registration;

8.5.5.7 promptly notifying the Commission 
Veterinarian of any reportable disease and any unusual 
incidence of a communicable illness in any horse in his/her 
charge;

8.5.5.8 promptly reporting the serious injury 
and/or death of any horse at locations under the jurisdiction 
of the Commission to the State Stewards and judges, the 
Commission Veterinarian, and the United States Trotting 
Association;

8.5.5.9 maintaining a knowledge of the 
medication record and status;

8.5.5.10 immediately reporting to the 
State Steward, judges and the Commission Veterinarian 
knowledge or reason to believe, that there has been any 
administration of a prohibited medication, drug or substance;

8.5.5.11 ensuring the fitness to perform 
creditably at the distance entered;

8.5.5.12 ensuring that every horse he/she 
has entered to race is present at its assigned stall for a 
pre-race soundness inspection as prescribed in this chapter;

8.5.5.13 ensuring proper bandages, 
equipment and shoes;

8.5.5.14 presence in the paddock at least 
one hour before post time or at a time otherwise appointed 
before the race in which the horse is entered;

8.5.5.15 personally attending in the 
paddock and supervising the harnessing thereof, unless 

excused by the Paddock Judge; 
8.5.5.16 attending the collection of a urine 

or blood sample or delegating a licensed employee or the 
owner to do so; and

8.5.5.17 immediately reporting to the 
State Steward or other Commission designee, or to the State 
Veterinarian or Commission Veterinarian if the State Steward 
or other Commission designee is unavailable, the death of 
any horse drawn in to start in a race in this jurisdiction 
provided that the death occurred within 60 days of the date 
of the draw.

8.6 Physical Inspection of Horses
8.6.1 Veterinarian's List

8.6.1.1 The Commission Veterinarian shall 
maintain a list of all horses which are determined to be unfit 
to compete in a race due to physical distress, unsoundness, 
infirmity or medical condition.

8.6.1.2 A horse may be removed from the 
Veterinarian's List when, in the opinion of the Commission 
Veterinarian, the horse has satisfactorily recovered the 
capability of competing in a race.

8.6.2 Postmortem Examination
8.6.2.1 The Commission may conduct a 

postmortem examination of any horse that is injured in this 
jurisdiction while in training or in competition and that 
subsequently expires or is destroyed.  In proceeding with a 
postmortem examination the Commission or its designee 
shall coordinate with the trainer and/or owner to determine 
and address any insurance requirements.

8.6.2.2 The Commission may conduct a 
postmortem examination of any horse that expires while 
housed on association grounds or at recognized training 
facilities within this jurisdiction.  Trainers and owners shall 
be required to comply with such action as a condition of 
licensure.

8.6.2.3 The Commission may take possession 
of the horse upon death for postmortem examination.  The 
Commission may submit blood, urine, other bodily fluid 
specimens or other tissue specimens collected during a 
postmortem examination for testing by the 
Commission-selected laboratory or its designee.  Upon 
completion of the postmortem examination, the carcass may 
be returned to the owner or disposed of at the owner's option.

8.6.2.4 The presence of a prohibited 
substance in a horse, found by the official laboratory or its 
designee in a bodily fluid specimen collected during the 
postmortem examination of a horse, which breaks down 
during a race constitutes a violation of these rules.

8.6.2.5 The cost of Commission-ordered 
postmortem examinations, testing and disposal shall be 
borne by the Commission.

8.7 Prohibited Practices
8.7.1 The following conduct shall be prohibited 

for all licensees:
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8.7.1.1 The possession and/or use of a drug 
substance, or medication, specified below for which a 
recognized analytical method has not been developed to 
detect and confirm the administration of such substance 
including but not limited to erythropoietin, darbepoietin, and 
perfluorcarbon emulsions; or the use of which may endanger 
the health and welfare of the horse or endanger the safety of 
the driver; or the use of which may adversely affect the 
integrity of racing.

8.7.1.2 The possession and/or use of a drug, 
substance, or medication that has not been approved by the 
United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for use 
in the United States.

See 1 DE Reg. 505 (11/01/97)
See 1 DE Reg. 923 (1/1/98)
See 3 DE Reg 1520 (5/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg. 6 (7/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg 336 (8/1/00)
See 5 DE Reg. 832 (10/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg. 1691 (3/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 862 (1/1/03)

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code,

Section 10103 (3 Del.C. §10103)

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 3 Del.C. §10103, the 
Delaware Thoroughbred  Racing Commission issues this 
Order adopting proposed amendments to the Commission’s 
Rules.  Following notice and a public hearing on March 23, 
2004, the Commission makes the following findings and 
conclusions:

Summary Of Evidence

1. The Commission posted public notice of the 
proposed amendments in the February 1, 2004 Register of 
Regulations and for two consecutive weeks in the Delaware 
Capital Review and Delaware State News.  The proposed 
amendments to the Commission’s Rules are as follows: 
1)amend Rule 13.12 to allow for post-race tests from horses 
in claiming races and to allow a claimant to request a post-
race test on a claimed horse, with the right to void the claim 
if the test is positive for a prohibited substance, illegal 
medication or EPO antibody test;  2)enact Rule 15.1.3.1.13 
to provide that a horse that tests positive for EPO antibodies 
may be declared unfit to race, and may not resume racing 
until the owner or trainer submits a negative test for EPO 
antibodies.

2. The Commission held a public hearing on March 

23, 2004.  At the public hearing, the Commission received 
sworn testimony from Dr. Maylin of Cornell University.

3. Dr. Maylin testified that he is the Director of the 
Cornell University equine drug testing laboratory, which 
does all the testing for the New York Racing Association 
(NYRA).  Dr. Maylin testified that Erythropoietin (EPO) is a 
major problem in horse racing.  EPO is a hormone produced 
by the kidney when oxygen levels are low which stimulates 
red blood cell production and enhances athletic performance. 
EPO has been used for at least ten years in horses.  EPO 
causes severe anemia and death in horses and has been 
classified as a banned substance at many racetracks across 
the country.  Dr. Maylin explained that the EPO gene has 
been cloned and produced Epogen-Amgen, Procrit-Ortho, 
and Eprex-Cilog Ag.  Dr. Maylin stated that almost all of the 
research work involving EPO deals with antibody 
characterization.  The EPO antibody is not specific.  When 
EPO is given to a horse, it only stays in the horse's system 
for a short period of time.  A vial of EPO is not a single 
entity and is hard to identify; it is an array , not a single 
compound.  Conventional analytical techniques cannot be 
used to identify EPO because it has a large molecular weight 
which circulates at low concentration.  New York has used 
an antibody-antigen reaction test.  Animals react to an 
injected foreign protein to produce antibodies against them. 
With EPO, there usually must be at least three shots to cause 
an antibody response.  The antibodies can stay with a horse 
for three to four months.  In New York, the Racing 
Commissions have decided to treat the horse with EPO as 
unfit to race and placed on either the vet's list or the 
steward's list.  The trainer has been taken out of the equation. 
The New York Commissions, before enacting a rule, tested 
37,000 horses and 403 had significant antibody test results. 
Since enactment of a formal rule, New York has taken 8,000 
samples and had only four positive tests for EPO.  The EPO 
Rules in New York, along with the antibody testing, have 
been successful in eliminating EPO.  New York has worked 
closely with Ontario in taking steps to address the EPO 
problem.  Under the New York rules, a horse that tests for a 
high EPO antibody level is placed on the steward's list until 
there is proof of a negative EPO test.  Dr. Maylin uses an 
ELISA formula for the EPO antibody test with a cutoff 
value.  A tier of 1:800 has been demonstrated to only 
identify horses that have been administered EPO or D-EPO. 
Dr. Maylin opined that the antibody test is a highly specific 
test and is an effective means for regulating EPO use.  Dr. 
Maylin indicated that EPO can stay in a horse's system for a 
long period of time.  Dr. Maylin did recommend testing of 
claimed horses.

4. In response to questions, Dr. Maylin stated that the 
antibody test tests for a level that is ten times higher than the 
normal level of antibodies in order to call a positive.  Dr. 
Maylin was confidant that the antibody test could distinguish 
between normal level of antibodies and an administered 
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level of EPO.  Dr. Maylin stated that a horse must be given 
multiple doses of EPO in order to start producing the red 
blood cells.  Once antibodies are present, even a tiny dose of 
EPO will increase antibody production.  Dr. Maylin testified 
that EPO use can cause a horse to become severely anemic 
and "crash" and cause that horse to be unfit to ever race 
again.   The New York testing has found the use of EPO to be 
higher in standardbred horses.  Dr. Maylin stated that 
standardbred horses are more tolerant of drugs while 
thoroughbreds tend to be more delicate.

Findings Of Fact And Conclusions

5. The public was given notice and an opportunity to 
provide the Commission with comments in writing and by 
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments 
to the Commission’s Rules.  The Commission received no 
written comments on the proposed amendments.

6. The Commission finds that the testimony of Dr. 
Maylin supports adoption of the proposed amendments to 
the Commission's Rules.  Dr. Maylin's testimony 
demonstrates that EPO is harmful and extremely dangerous 
to horses and its use can cause severe anemia and death.  The 
use of EPO in horses can also cause a horse to "crash" once 
the horse is taken off of EPO and can make the horse unfit to 
ever race again.  The Commission finds that the testing 
method described by Dr. Maylin is a reliable, accepted 
testing method currently in use in both New York and 
Ontario.  The antibody testing method is an accurate method 
to detect horses with high antibody levels from EPO use and 
these horses can be distinguished from horses with 
antibodies at a normal level.

7. The Commission finds that the New York Racing 
Commissions have achieved exceptional results in reducing 
or eliminating the use of EPO in racing.  The Commission 
notes that its proposed rules are closely modeled after the 
New York rules.    New York Racing Commission Rules 
4043.6 and 4038.18.  The Commission also finds that testing 
of a claimed horse for EPO should be permitted by a 
claimant, at the expense of the claimant.

8. The Commission concludes that the proposed rules 
are necessary to effectively regulate and prohibit the use of 
EPO in thoroughbred racing.  The Commission concludes 
that the proposed rules are necessary to protect the safety of 
the participants and horses and to ensure the integrity of 
racing.  The Commission concludes that the proposed 
amendments to Commission Rules 13.12 and 15.1.3.1.13 
should be adopted so that this agency can achieve its duty to 
effectively regulate thoroughbred racing under 3 Del.C.
§10103.

9. The effective date of this Order will be ten (10) 
days from the publication of this Order in the Register of 
Regulations on May 1, 2004.  

IT IS SO ORDERED this 26th day of March, 2004.

Bernard Daney, Chairman
Duncan Patterson, Commissioner
H. James Decker, Commissioner
Edward Stegmeier, Commissioner
Carolyn Wilson. Commissioner

13.0 Claiming Races
13.1 Owners Entitled:

13.1.1 In claiming races, any horse is subject to 
claim for its entered price by any Owner in good standing, 
who has horses stabled on the Licensee’s grounds, and who 
has started a horse at the race meeting at which the claim is 
made.

13.1.2 An Owner may claim out of the race in 
which he first starts a horse.  Owners shipping in from other 
stable areas who have a horse claimed shall be allowed one 
claim to replace the horse lost via claiming.

13.1.3 A new Owner, i.e., an individual, 
partnership, corporation or any other authorized racing 
interest who has not held an Owner’s license in any racing 
jurisdiction during the prior year, is eligible to claim by 
obtaining an “Open Claiming License” from the 
Commission.

13.1.4 In order to obtain an open claiming license 
and file an open claim, an individual must comply with the 
following procedures:

13.1.4.1 Depositing an amount no less 
than the minimum claiming price of the intended claim at 
that meet with the Horsemen’s Bookkeeper.  Such amount 
shall remain on account until a claim is in fact made.  In the 
event of withdrawal of such fund, any license issued 
hereunder shall be automatically revoked and terminated.

13.1.4.2 Securing an Owner or authorized 
racing interest license by the Commission.  Such license will 
be conditioned upon the making of a claim and shall be 
revoked if no such claim is, in fact, made within thirty (30) 
racing days after issuance or if the deposit above required is 
withdrawn prior to completion of a claim.

13.1.4.3 Naming a Trainer licensed by the 
Commission who will represent him once said claim is 
made.

13.2 Claim by Agent:
13.2.1 A claim may be made by an authorized 

agent, but an agent may claim only for the account of those 
for whom he is authorized and registered as agent and the 
name of the authorized agent, as well as the name of the 
Owner for whom the claim is being made, shall appear on 
the claim slip.

13.3 Claiming Own Horse Prohibited:
13.3.1 No person shall claim his own horse or 

cause his own horse to be claimed, directly or indirectly, for 
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his own account.  No claimed horse shall remain in the same 
stable or under the care or management of the Owner or 
Trainer from whom claimed.

13.4 Limits on claims:
13.4.1 No person shall claim more than one horse 

from any one race.  No authorized agent, although 
representing several Owners, shall submit more than one 
claim for any race.  When a stable consists of horses owned 
by more than one person, trained by the same Trainer, not 
more than one claim may be entered on behalf of such stable 
in any one race.  An Owner who races in a partnership may 
not claim except in the interest of the partnership, unless he 
has also started a horse in his own individual interest.  An 
owner who races in a partnership may claim in his or her 
individual interest if the individual has started a horse in the 
partnership.  The individual must also have an account with 
the horsemen's bookkeeper that is separate from the 
partnership account.

13.5 Twenty Day Prohibition -- Sale of Claimed 
Horse:

13.5.1 A claimed horse shall not run for twenty 
days after being claimed in a race in which the determining 
eligibility price is less than twenty-five percent more than 
the price for which the horse was claimed.  The day claimed 
shall not count but the following calendar day shall be the 
first day, and the horse shall be entitled to enter whenever 
necessary so that it may start on the twenty-first calendar day 
following the claim.  This provision shall not apply to starter 
handicaps, allowance and starter allowance races.

13.6 Thirty Day Prohibition -- Sale of Claimed 
Horse:

13.6.1 No horse claimed in a claiming race shall 
be sold or transferred, wholly or in part, to anyone within 
thirty (30) days after the day it was claimed, except in 
another claiming race.  No claimed horse shall race 
elsewhere until sixty (60) calendar days after the date on 
which it was claimed or until after the close of the meeting at 
which it was claimed, whichever comes first.  The day 
claimed shall not count, but the following calendar day shall 
be the first day and the horse shall be entitled to enter 
elsewhere whenever necessary so the horse may start on the 
61st calendar day following the claim.  The Stewards shall 
have the authority to waive this rule upon application, so as 
to allow a claimed horse to race in a stakes race.  The 
Stewards may also permit a horse claimed in a steeplechase 
or hurdle race to race elsewhere in a steeplechase or hurdle 
race after the close of the steeplechase program, if such a 
program ends before the close of the meeting at which it is 
claimed.

Revised:  7/16/86
13.7 Form of Claim:

13.7.1 Each claim shall be made in writing on a 
form and in an envelope supplied by Licensee.  Both form 
and envelope must be filled out completely and must be 

accurate in every detail.
13.8 Procedure for Claim:

13.8.1 Claims must be deposited in the claim box 
at least ten (10) minutes before post time of the race from 
which the claim is being made.  No money or its equivalent 
shall be put in the claim box.  For a claim to be valid, the 
claimant must have, at the time of filing the claim, a credit 
balance in his account with the Horsemen's Bookkeeper of 
not less than the amount of the claim.

Revised:  8/15/95
13.9 Stewards' Duties:

13.9.1 The Stewards, or their designated 
representatives, shall open the claim envelopes for each race 
as soon as the horses leave the paddock en route to the post. 
They shall thereafter check with the Horsemen's Bookkeeper 
to ascertain whether the proper credit balance has been 
established with the Licensee and with the Racing Secretary 
as to whether the claimant has claiming privileges at 
Licensee's meeting.

13.10 Conflicting claims:
13.10.1  If more than one valid claim is filed for 

the same horse, title to the horse shall be determined by lot 
under the supervision of the Stewards or their designated 
representative.

13.11 Delivery of Claimed Horse:
13.11.1  Any horse that has been claimed shall, 

after the race has been run, be taken to the paddock for 
delivery to the claimant, who must present written 
authorization for the claim from the Racing Secretary.  No 
person shall refuse to deliver to the person legally entitled 
thereto a horse claimed out of a claiming race and, until 
delivery is made, the horse in question shall be disqualified 
from further racing.

13.12 Nature and Effect of a Claim:
13.12.1 Claims are irrevocable except as 

otherwise provided for in these Rules.  Title to a claimed 
horse shall be vested in the successful claimant from the time 
the said horse is a starter and said claimant shall then become 
the Owner of the horse, whether it be alive or dead, sound or 
unsound, or injured, during the race or after it.  A claimed 
horse shall run in the interest of and for the account of the 
Owner from whom claimed.

13.12.2 A post-race test may be taken from 
any horse claimed out of a claiming race.  The trainer of the 
horse at the time of entry for the race from which the horse 
was claimed shall be responsible for the claimed horse until 
the post-race sample is collected.  Any claimed horse not 
otherwise selected for testing by the stewards shall be tested 
if requested by the claimant at the time the claim form is 
submitted in accordance with these Rules.  The successful 
claimant shall have the right to void the claim should the 
forensic analysis be positive for any prohibited substance, an 
illegal level of a permitted medication, or if a blood sample 
exhibits a positive response to the Erythropoietin (EPO) 
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antibody test.
13.13 Prohibited Practices:

13.13.1  No person shall offer or enter into an 
agreement to claim or not to claim or to attempt to prevent 
another person from claiming any horse in a claiming race. 
No person shall attempt, by intimidation, to prevent anyone 
from running a horse in any claiming race.  No Owner or 
Trainer shall make an agreement with another Owner or 
Trainer for the protection of each other's horses in a claiming 
race.

13.14 Invalidation of Claim:
13.14.1  Claims which are not made in keeping 

with the Rules shall be void.  The Stewards may, at any time 
in their discretion, require any person filing a claim to 
furnish an affidavit in writing that he is claiming in 
accordance with these Rules.  The Stewards shall be the 
judges of the validity of the claim and, if they feel that a 
"starter" was nominated for the purpose of making its Owner 
eligible to claim, they may invalidate the claim.

13.15 Necessity to Record Lien:
13.15.1  Any person holding a lien of any kind 

against a horse entered in a claiming race must record the 
same with the Racing Secretary and/or Horsemen's 
Bookkeeper at least thirty (30) minutes before post time for 
that race.  If none is so recorded, it shall be conclusively 
assumed, for claiming purposes, that none exists.

13.16 Claiming Privileges -- Eliminated Stable:
13.16.1  If a person's stable shall be eliminated 

with thirty (30) racing days or less remaining in the current 
racing season, and such person is unable to replace the 
horse(s) lost via a claim by the end of the racing season, such 
person may apply to the Stewards for an additional thirty 
(30) racing days of eligibility to claim in the new race 
meeting as long as the person owns no other horses at the 
start of the next race meeting. Should a stable at a meeting be 
eliminated by sale or removal from the grounds, the right to 
claim is void.  After claiming a horse under the conditions of 
this Rule, the Owner shall be required to reinstate his 
eligibility to claim pursuant to these Rules before being 
eligible to make another claim.

See 6 DE Reg. 1205 (3/1/03)
13.17 Claim Embraces Horse's Prior Engagements:

13.17.1  The engagements of a claimed horse pass 
automatically with the horse to the claimant.

13.18 Caveat Emptor:
13.18.1  Notwithstanding any designation of sex or 

age appearing on the racing program or in any racing 
publication, the claimant of a horse shall be solely 
responsible for determining the age or sex of the horse 
claimed.

13.19 Racing Claimed Horse: Repealed
See 1 DE Reg. 713 (12/1/97)
See 2 DE Reg. 373 (9/1/98)
See 2 DE Reg. 2043 (5/1/99)

See 5 DE Reg. 849 (10/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg. 1710 (3/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 1205 (3/1/03)
See 7 DE Reg. 316 (9/1/03)

15.0 Medication; Testing Procedures
15.1 Prohibition and Control of Medication:

  15.1.1 It shall be the intent of these Rules to 
protect the integrity of horse racing, to guard the health of 
the horse and to safeguard the interests of the public and the 
racing participants through the prohibition or control of all 
drugs and medications or substances foreign to the natural 
horse.  In this context:

15.1.1.1 No horse participating in a race 
shall carry in its body any substance foreign to the natural 
horse, except as hereinafter provided.

15.1.1.2 No foreign substance shall be 
administered to a horse (entered to race) by injection, oral 
administration, rectal infusion or suppository, or by 
inhalation within twenty-four (24) hours prior to the 
scheduled post time for the first race, except as hereinafter 
provided.

15.1.1.3 No person other than a 
veterinarian shall have in his possession any equipment for 
hypodermic injection, any substance for hypodermic 
administration or any foreign substance which can be 
administered internally to a horse by any route, except for an 
existing condition as prescribed by a veterinarian.

15.1.1.4 Notwithstanding the provisions 
of Rule 15.1.1.3 above, any person may have in his 
possession within a race track enclosure, any chemical or 
biological substance for use on his own person, provided 
that, if such chemical substance is prohibited from being 
dispensed by any Federal law or law of this State without a 
prescription, he is in possession of documentary evidence 
that a valid prescription for such chemical or biological 
substance has been issued to him.

15.1.1.5 Notwithstanding the provisions 
of Rule 15.1.1.3 above, any person may have in his 
possession within any race track enclosure, any hypodermic 
syringe or needle for the purpose of administering a 
chemical or biological substance to himself, provided that he 
has notified the Stewards:  (1) of his possession of such 
device; (2) of the size of such device; and (3) of the chemical 
substance to be administered by such device and has 
obtained written permission for possession and use from the 
Stewards.

15.1.2 Definitions:
  The following terms and words used in 

these Rules are defined as:
15.1.2.1 Hypodermic Injection shall mean 

any injection into or under the skin or mucous, including 
intradermal injection, subcutaneous injection, submucosal 
injection, intramuscular injection, intravenous injection and 
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intraocular (intraconjunctival) injection.
15.1.2.2 Foreign Substances shall mean 

all substances except those which exist naturally in the 
untreated horse at normal physiological concentration, and 
shall also include substances foreign to a horse at levels that 
cause interference with testing procedures.

15.1.2.3 Veterinarian shall mean a 
veterinary practitioner authorized to practice at the race 
track.

15.1.2.4 Horse includes all horses 
registered for racing under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission and for the purposes of these Rules shall mean 
stallion, colt, gelding, ridgling, filly or mare.

15.1.2.5 Chemist shall mean the 
Commission's chemist.

15.1.2.6 Test Sample shall mean any body 
substance including, but not limited to, blood or urine taken 
from a horse under the supervision of the Commission's 
Veterinarian and in such manner as prescribed by the 
Commission for the purpose of analysis.

15.1.2.7 Race Day shall mean the 24-hour 
period prior to the scheduled post time for the first race.

15.1.3  Foreign Substances:
15.1.3.1  No horse participating in a race 

shall carry in its body any foreign substance except as 
provided in Rule 15.1.3.1.3:

15.1.3.1.1  A finding by the chemist that a 
foreign substance is present in the test sample shall be prima 
facie evidence that such foreign substance was administered 
and carried in the body of the horse while participating in a 
race.  Such a finding shall also be taken as prima facie 
evidence that the Trainer and agents responsible for the care 
or custody of the horse has/have been negligent in the 
handling or care of the horse.

15.1.3.1.2  A finding by the chemist of a 
foreign substance or an approved substance used in violation 
of Rule 15.1 in any test sample of a horse participating in a 
race shall result in the horse being disqualified from purse 
money or other awards, except for purposes of pari-mutuel 
wagering which shall in no way be affected.

15.1.3.1.3 A foreign substance of accepted 
therapeutic value may be administered as prescribed by a 
Veterinarian when test levels and guidelines for its use have 
been established by the Veterinary-Chemist Advisory 
Committee of the National Association of State Racing 
Commissioners and approved by the Commission. 
Aminocaproic acid may be present in a horse's body while it 
is participating in a race, subject to all the provisions of these 
Rules.

15.1.3.1.4 The only approved non-
steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) that may be 
present in a horse's body while it is participating in a race is 
phenylbutazone/oxyphenobutazone in the level stated in 
15.1.3.1.5 or 15.1.3.1.6.  The presence of any other NSAID 

at any test level is forbidden.
Revised:  1/6/92.

15.1.3.1.5 The test level of 
phenylbutazone under this Rule shall not be in excess of two 
point five (2.5) micrograms (mcg) per milliliter (ml) of 
plasma without penalties in the following format:

Micrograms per milliliter Penalties

0 to 2.5 No action
2.6 to 4.9 First Offense-$250.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9  Second Offense within

365 days $500.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9 Third Offense within

365 days $500.00
fine and/or Suspension
and/or Loss of Purse

5.0 and Over Fine, Suspension, Loss
of Purse

15.1.3.1.6 The test level for 
oxphenobutazone under this Rule shall not be in excess of 
two (2) micrograms (mcg) per milliliter (ml) of plasma.

Micrograms per milliliter Penalties

0 to 2.5 No action
2.6 to 4.9 First Offense-$250.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9  Second Offense within

365 days $500.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9 Third Offense within

365 days $500.00
fine and/or Suspension
and/or Loss of Purse

5.0 and Over Fine, Suspension, Loss
of Purse

15.1.3.1.7 No bleeder medication 
otherwise permissible under this Rule may be administered 
to a horse within one hour of the scheduled post time of the 
horse's race.  The administration of salix to a horse on race 
day will be governed by Rule 15.2.

15.1.3.1.8  If a horse is to receive one or 
more bleeder medications, aminocaproic acid and/or salix, 
the trainer shall declare said use at the time of entry.  

15.1.3.1.9  A veterinarian administering 
bleeder medications shall report the administration of such 
medications on the same form that is used to report the 
administration of salix.

15.1.3.1.10  The race program shall denote 
what medication(s) have been administered to a horse in the 
race and the past performance lines in the program, if any, 
shall denote any medications administered to said horse in 
those races.
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15.1.3.1.11 Any horse running on 
permissible bleeder medication under these Rules shall 
remain on the medication for a period of not less than sixty 
(60) days before being permitted to race without the 
permissible bleeder medication.

15.1.3.1.12 The detection of permissible 
bleeder medications (salix and/or aminocaproic acid) in a 
horse following the running of a race which was not declared 
or reported to the Stewards, may result in the disqualification 
of the horse and other disciplinary action imposed upon the 
trainer and administering veterinarian.  Conversely, the 
absence of bleeder medication following the running of a 
race in which was declared and reported by a trainer and/or 
veterinarian, may result in the disqualification of the horse 
and other disciplinary action imposed upon the trainer and 
administering veterinarian.

15.1.3.1.13 Erythropietin (EPO)
A finding by the official 

chemist that the antibody of Erythropietin (EPO) was present 
in a post-race test specimen of a horse shall be promptly 
reported in writing to the Stewards.  The Stewards shall 
notify the owner and trainer of the positive test result for 
Erythropietin antibodies.  The Stewards shall notify the 
Commission Veterinarian of the name of the horse for 
placement on the Veterinarian's List, pursuant to Rule 5.32, 
if the positive test result indicates that the horse is unfit to 
race.  Any horse placed on the Veterinarian's List pursuant to 
this Rule shall not be permitted to enter a race until the 
owner or trainer, at their own expense, provides proof of a 
negative test result for EPO antibodies from a laboratory 
approved by the Commission provided said test sample is 
obtained under collection procedures acceptable to the 
Commission or its designee under these Rules.

Notwithstanding any 
inconsistent provision of these Rules, a horse shall not be 
subject to disqualification from the race and from any share 
of the purse in the race and the trainer of the horse shall not 
be subject to application of trainer's responsibility based on 
the finding by the laboratory that the antibody of 
Erythropoietin was present in the sample taken from that 
horse.

* PLEASE NOTE:  AS THE REST OF THE REGULATIONS 
WERE NOT AMENDED, THEY ARE NOT BEING PUBLISHED.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(e) (14 Del.C. §122(e))
14 DE Admin. Code 106

Regulatory Implementing Order

1101  Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies 
Placed in Production After March 1, 1998 (terminology 

and school bus types are described in the National 
Standards for School Transportation 1995)

I. Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 
State Board of Education to re-authorize regulation 1101 
Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in 
Production After March 1, 1998 (terminology and school 
bus types are described in the National Standards for School 
Transportation 1995).  The five year review cycle requires 
that it must be acted on again.  The regulation is still needed 
until the buses placed in production after March 1, 1998, that 
are referenced in the standards, are no longer operating in the 
school system.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on February 23, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No 
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to re-authorize 
this regulation in order provide standards for school buses 
that are still in use.

III. Decision to Re-authorize the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to re-authorize the regulation.  Therefore, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch. 29, the regulation attached hereto 
as Exhibit “B” is hereby re-authorized.  Pursuant to the 
provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby re-
authorized shall be in effect for a period of five years from 
the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. 
below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation re-authorized hereby shall be 
in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1101 in 
the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department 
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of Education.

V. Effective Date Of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on April 15, 2004.  The 
effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the 
date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 15th day of April 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 15th day of April 2004

State Board of Education
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation 
as originally proposed and published in the March 2004 
issue of the Register at page 1123 (7 DE Reg. 1123). 
Therefore, the final regulation is not being republished. 
Please refer to the March 2004 issue of the Register or 
contact the Department of Education.

Regulatory Implementing Order

1105 School Transportation

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 
State Board of Education to amend regulation 1105 School 
Transportation in order to add “Emergency Days as forgiven 
by the Department of Education with the consent of the State 
Board of Education” to section 13.6 items, 13.6.1 through 
13.6.4 and to clarify the language.  This section addresses 
reimbursement contracts and allowances for school districts 
and contractors.  Section 13.6 has been corrected to reflect 
that the Department of Education with the consent of the 
State Board of Education forgives the emergency days.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 

News Journal and the Delaware State News on February 23, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  Comments 
were received from the Governor’s Advisory Council on 
Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with 
Disabilities but they did not address the amendments being 
considered and in addition the concerns that were expressed 
about the regulation largely reflect the statutory provisions.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation in order to add “Emergency Days as forgiven by 
the Department of Education” to section 13.6 items, 13.6.1 
through 13.6.4 and to clarify the language.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch.29, the regulation attached hereto 
as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision 
of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall 
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date 
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in 
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation 
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1105 in the 
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch. 29 on April 15, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 15th day of April 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 15th day of April, 2004

State Board of Education
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
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Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1105  School Transportation

1.0 Responsibilities of Local Superintendents:
Local District Superintendents or their designees shall 

assume the following responsibilities concerning the 
transportation of students:

1.1 Implement state school transportation regulations. 
Local school disciplinary policies shall include pupil 
behavior and discipline on the school bus.

1.2 Define and coordinate changes to school 
transportation operations impacting local district budget 
allocations with the Department of Education.

1.3 Provide resource material and encourage teachers 
to include instruction in passenger safety in the school 
curriculum.

1.4 Provide for close and continuous supervision of the 
unloading and loading zones on or near the school plant, and 
of the emergency drills.

1.5 Provide supervision for those students whose bus 
schedules require them to arrive at school before classes 
begin and remain after classes terminate.

1.6 Promote public understanding of, and support for 
the district‘s school transportation program.

1.7 Assume prime responsibility for student conduct.

2.0 Conditions for School Bus Contractors
School Bus Contractors shall agree to the following 

conditions in their contracts:
2.1 Follow all applicable federal, state, and local school 

bus regulations and policies.
2.2 Communicate effectively with the district 

transportation supervisor.
2.3 Dismiss a school bus driver when it can be shown 

that the driver is not satisfactorily performing driver tasks. 
District transportation supervisors may restrict a driver from 
operating in their school district.

2.4 Pay drivers and aides and provide substitute drivers 
and aides.

3.0 Responsibilities of School Bus Drivers
Local school districts shall have a policy concerning the 

responsibilities of school bus drivers which, at a minimum, 
includes the following:

3.1 A statement that the school bus driver is in full 
charge of the bus and pupils, has the authority of a classroom 
teacher and is responsible for the health, safety, and welfare 
of each passenger.

3.2 Statements listing the following specific 
responsibilities of the bus driver:

3.2.1 Operate the school bus in a safe and 

efficient manner.
3.2.2 Conduct pre-trip and post-trip checks on 

the vehicle.
3.2.3 Establish and maintain rapport with 

passengers.
3.2.4 Maintain discipline among passengers.
3.2.5 Meet emergency situations effectively.
3.2.6 Communicate effectively with district and 

school staff.
3.2.7 Maintain effective contact with the public.
3.2.8 Complete reports as required by the state 

or school district.
3.2.9 Complete required training programs 

satisfactorily.
3.2.10 Refrain from using profane or indecent 

language or tobacco while on duty.
3.2.11 Dress appropriately.
3.2.12 Pickup and drop-off students at designated 

stops.
3.2.13 Submit to periodic random drug and 

alcohol testing and be subject to actions specified in the 
Delaware Code and in federal requirements.

3.2.14 Report suspected cases of child abuse to 
the school principal or designated official.

3.2.15 Notify the district transportation 
supervisor of any school bus accident.

3.3 A statement requiring a report of a physical 
examination on forms designated by the Department of 
Education.

4.0 Qualifications and Responsibilities of School Bus 
Aides

4.1 Qualifications for School Bus Aides include the 
following and shall apply to all new applicants and for any 
person whose employment as an aide has lapsed for a period 
of over one year.

4.1.1 Be at least 18 years of age.
4.1.2 Be fingerprinted to allow a criminal 

history check at both state and federal level. and meet the 
same requirements (pre-licensing) specified for school bus 
drivers in the Delaware Code.

4.1.3 File with the district transportation 
supervisor a notarized affidavit (the same as the school bus 
driver affidavit) attesting to acceptable criminal history 
pending an official state and federal criminal record report.

4.1.4 Submit to the federal drug and alcohol 
testing procedures established for school bus drivers. 

4.2 Local school districts shall have a policy 
concerning school bus aides which, at a minimum, lists the 
following responsibilities:

4.2.1 Assist in loading and unloading of 
students, including lift operation.

4.2.2 Ensure that students and equipment are 
properly strapped in seats.  Adjust, fasten, and release 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS1548
restraint devices for students and equipment, as required. 
Monitor overall safety of students and equipment.

4.2.3 Ensure that all students remain seated at 
all times.

4.2.4 Assist the driver during unusual traffic 
conditions; act as a lookout if necessary when bus must be 
backed.

4.2.5 Assist the driver in the enforcement of all 
state and school district bus safety regulations.

4.2.6 Perform record keeping tasks related to 
student attendance and bus assignment.

4.2.7 Monitor and report student misbehavior 
according to established procedure.

4.2.8 Assist the driver in keeping the interior of 
the bus clean.

4.2.9 Assist students with disabilities with 
personal needs associated with their disabilities.

4.2.10 Assist in bus evacuation drills.
4.2.11 Work cooperatively with all school 

personnel and parents.
4.2.12 Perform other duties as assigned by the 

district transportation supervisor or designee.

5.0 Student Conduct on School Buses:
School Districts shall have a policy concerning the 

behavior of students on school buses that shall, at a 
minimum, contain the following rules which if not followed 
may result in the suspension of bus riding privileges.

5.1 Obey the driver promptly, and be courteous to the 
driver and to fellow students. Students are to conduct 
themselves while on the bus in such a way that it will not 
distract the driver from the job of driving.

5.2 Be at their bus stop on time for pickup.
5.3 Wait for the bus on the sidewalk or shoulder, not the 

roadway.
5.4 Keep a safe distance from the bus while it is in 

motion.
5.5 Enter the bus without crowding or disturbing others 

and occupy their seats immediately.
5.6 Get on or off the bus only when it is stopped.
5.7 Remain seated and facing forward.  No student 

shall occupy a position in the driver area in front of a 
stanchion, barrier, or white floor line that may distract the 
driver’s attention or interfere with the driver’s vision.

5.8 Stay out of the driver’s seat.  Also, unnecessary 
conversation with the driver is prohibited while the bus is in 
motion.

5.9 Follow highway safety practices in accordance with 
the Motor Vehicle Laws of the State of Delaware and walk 
on the side of the road facing traffic when going to or from 
the bus or bus stop along the highway.  Before crossing the 
road to board the bus or after being discharged from the bus 
cross only upon an audible clearance signal from the driver.

5.10 Do not cross the road until it is clear of all 

traffic or that traffic has come to a complete stop and then 
walk in front of the bus far enough to be seen by the driver at 
all times.

5.11 Observe classroom conduct when on the bus.
5.12 Do not call out to passers-by or open the bus 

windows without permission from the driver, nor extend 
head or arms out of the windows.

5.13 Do not leave the bus without the driver’s 
consent, except on arrival at their regular bus stop or at 
school.

5.14 Keep the bus clean, sanitary, and orderly and 
not damage or abuse the equipment.

5.15 Do not smoke, use profanity or eat or drink on 
the bus.

5.16 Do not throw articles of any kind in, out, or 
around the bus.

5.17 Other forms of misconduct that will not be 
tolerated are acts such as, but not limited to, indecent 
exposure, obscene gestures, spitting, and others that may be 
addressed in the school code of conduct.

6.0 Procedures for Operating Buses:
Each school district shall adopt the following 

procedures for the operation of their school buses:
6.1 No person other than a pupil, teacher, school 

official, aide or substitute driver shall be permitted to ride on 
a school bus while transporting pupils.  Exceptions may be 
made for parents involved in Department of Education 
educational programs that provide for transportation and 
others approved by the district transportation supervisor.

6.2 The driver shall maintain a schedule in the bus and 
shall at all times adhere to it. Drivers shall not be required to 
wait for pupils unless they can be seen making an effort to 
reach the bus stop.

6.3 The driver shall maintain discipline on the bus, and 
shall report cases of disobedience or misconduct to the 
proper school officials.  No pupils may be discharged from 
the bus for disciplinary reasons except at the home or school. 
The principal or designated school official shall be notified 
of such action immediately. Any change to the action taken 
by the driver or any further disciplinary action to be taken is 
the responsibility of the principal or designated school 
official.

See 3 DE Reg. 942 (1/1/00)
6.4 Pupils shall have definite places to get on and leave 

the bus, and should not be allowed to leave the bus at any 
place other than the regular stop without written permission 
from their parents, and approval by the principal or 
designated school official, except in cases of emergency. 
Districts may adopt a more restrictive policy.

6.5 Buses shall be brought to a full stop before pupils 
are allowed to get on or off.  Pupils are not permitted to ride 
outside or in any hazardous location in the bus including the 
area ahead of the stanchions, barriers, or white floor line 
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designating the driver-area.
6.6 Buses shall not stop near the crest of hills, on 

curves, or on upgrades or downgrades of severe inclination. 
When stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging 
pupils, the bus shall always be stopped on the right side of 
the road and as far off the paved or main traveled portion of 
the highway as the condition of the shoulder permits.

6.7 Pupils who must cross the road to board the bus or 
after leaving the bus shall cross at a distance in front of the 
bus and beyond the crossing control arms so as to be clearly 
seen by the driver and only upon an audible clearance by the 
driver.  The driver shall attempt to signal pupils to cross by 
instructions through the external speaker of the public 
address system.

6.8 All loading and unloading of pupils shall be made 
from the service door.  The rear exit door is not to be used 
except in cases of emergency or emergency drills.  No object 
shall be placed in the bus that restricts the passage to the 
emergency door or other exits.

6.9 No one but the driver shall occupy the driver’s seat. 
Pupils shall remain behind the white floor line.

6.10 Seats may be assigned to pupils by the driver, 
subject to the approval of a school official.

6.11 The doors of the bus shall be kept closed while 
the bus is in motion, and pupils shall not put their head or 
arms out of open windows.

6.12 When the bus is stopped on school grounds, 
students are aboard, and the motor is running, the 
transmission shall be in neutral (clutch disengaged) and the 
parking brake set. While on school grounds, drivers shall not 
leave their seat while the motor is running or leave the key in 
the ignition switch.

6.13 Fuel tanks shall not be filled while the engine 
is running or while pupils are in the bus.

6.14 Weapons of any kind are not permitted on a 
school bus.

6.15 Animals are not permitted on school buses; 
however, a service animal is permitted if a physician certifies 
that it is required.

6.16 A school bus shall not be used for hauling 
anything that would make it objectionable for school use or 
unsafe for passengers.

6.17 Band instruments, shop projects and other 
school projects shall not be permitted on the bus if they 
interfere with the driver or other passengers.  The aisle, exits, 
and driver’s vision shall not be blocked.

6.18 Bus stops on roadways with three or more 
lanes (with oncoming traffic) must be made on the right side 
of the road.  Students shall not be required to cross more than 
two lanes of traffic when entering or leaving the bus.

6.19 Headlights or daytime running lights shall be 
on at all times when the bus is in motion.

6.20 On the bus route every effort should be made to 
load children before turn-arounds are made and unload them 

after the turn-around is made.
6.21 Backing of school buses is prohibited, except 

in unusual circumstances:
6.21.1 A school bus shall not be driven 

backwards on school grounds unless an adult is posted to 
guard the rear of the bus.

6.21.2 When backing is unavoidable extreme 
caution must be exercised by the bus operator and an outside 
observer should be used if possible.

7.0 Accident Reports:
All drivers or contractors shall complete accident 

reports and submit them to the district person in charge of 
transportation in order to assure accurate information 
pertaining to school bus accidents.

7.1 The following information shall be included on all 
school bus accident reports and be maintained in the district 
transportation files:

7.1.1 A description, preferably using diagrams, 
of the damage to each vehicle in addition to estimates of 
damage costs.

7.1.2 A description of all personal injuries.
7.1.3 A list of passengers and witnesses.
7.1.4 Name, address and telephone number of 

the driver.
See 3 DE Reg. 942 (1/1/00)

7.1.5 Follow-up information, such as the actual 
cost of repairs, should be added to the accident report 
wherever it is filed; i.e., in federal, state or local offices, so 
that the record of the accident is complete.  Other pertinent 
information relating to the accident that should be added 
later, if the information is readily available, includes:

• Disposition of any litigation.
• Disposition of any summonses.
• Net effects of all personal injuries sustained, 

including medical care given, physician’s fees, 
hospital expenses, etc.

• Amount of property damage other than to 
vehicles involved.

• Any corrective actions taken against the school 
bus driver, e.g., training, suspension, or 
dismissal.

• A summation of the driver’s total accident 
record so that each completed report form will 
contain a listing of the total number of accidents 
that the driver has had.

8.0 Transportation Benefits:
  Transportation benefits shall be provided for pupils in 
grades K-6 whose legal residences are one (1) mile or more 
from the public schools to which they would normally be 
assigned by the district administrations and for pupils in 
grades 7-12 whose legal residences are two (2) miles or more 
from the public schools to which they would normally be 
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assigned by the district administrations.
8.1 For the purpose of these regulations, the “legal 

residence” of the pupil is deemed to be the legal residence of 
the parent(s), legal guardian(s), or caregiver as described in 
14 Del.C. §202(e)(3).  Daycare facilities may be designated 
as a pupil’s residence for pickup and drop off.

8.2 To determine pupil eligibility for transportation 
benefits, measurement shall be by the most direct route 
provided by a public road or public walkway.  The 
measurement shall be from the nearest point where a private 
road or walkway connects the legal residence of the pupil 
with the nearest public entrance of the school building to 
which the pupil is normally assigned by the school district 
administration.

8.3 All school bus routes shall be measured from the 
first pick-up point to the respective schools served in the 
approved sequence, and then by the most direct route back to 
the first pick-up point.

8.4 Additional bus routes required after the opening of 
school shall be approved by the Department of Education 
and supported by evidence of need to include:  enrollment 
number changes, descriptions of existing routes in the area 
of proposed additional service, the run times, and actual 
loads.  A description of the proposed route shall also 
accompany the request.

8.5 Transportation for eligible pupils may be provided 
from locations other than their legal residence provided that:

8.5.1 Such pickup and discharge points as 
approved by the district administration are in excess of the 
relevant one and two mile limits from the school to be 
attended, and such transportation to be provided will be to 
the public school to which the pupil is assigned by the 
district administration.

8.5.2 Such transportation to be provided be on 
the same bus and/or route to and from the school attended by 
the pupil (i.e. each student is entitled to one seat on one bus) 
except that permission may be granted on a year-by-year 
basis by the district administration for eligible pupils to ride 
other buses if seats are available and does not create 
additional expense to the State.

8.5.3 The limitation pertaining to “same bus and 
route” indicated above is not applicable to pupils attending 
vocational-technical schools or kindergartens operating one-
half day sessions.

8.6 A spur to a bus route (where a bus leaves a main 
route) shall not be scheduled unless the one-way distance is 
greater than ½ mile.  Requests for exception due to a unique 
traffic hazard from a parent must be in writing, approved by 
the local school board, and submitted through the Chairman 
of the Unique Hazard Committee for review.

8.7 Students otherwise ineligible to ride a bus may ride 
if a physician certifies that a student is unable or should not 
walk from home to school and return.

9.0 Bus Capacities:
Bus capacities for children in grades K-6 shall be 

established by the manufacturer on the basis of 13 inches per 
child, and for Grades7-12 secondary pupils the capacity shall 
be established on the basis of 15 inches per child.  A mixture 
of the criteria will be used to plan loads when pupils come 
from both of the above groups.  Actual bus loads may not 
exceed this guidance.  Standees shall not be permitted under 
normal circumstances; however, exceptions may be made in 
emergency situations on a temporary basis.

10.0 Loading and Unloading:
Each school shall have a loading and unloading dock or 

area, rather than load or discharge passengers onto the street. 
On school grounds all other traffic is prohibited in the 
loading and unloading area during school bus loading/
unloading operations.

11.0 Unique Hazards:
Unique hazards are considered to be conditions or 

situations that expose the pedestrian to rare or uncommon 
traffic dangers.  This definition is not intended to include 
hazards representative of situations which may exist 
throughout the State.

11.1 Procedures for handling Unique Hazards 
requests.

11.1.1 When the request for relief originates with 
parents of pupils affected or vested officials, such as State 
and local police representatives, Safety Council 
representatives, and legislators, it shall be presented in 
writing to the local school authorities.

11.1.1.1 The local school administration shall 
make every effort to resolve problems identified by the 
parents, vested officials, or by the local district staff.

11.1.1.2 If the problem cannot be resolved by 
the local school administration, the request shall be 
forwarded to the local board of education for appropriate 
action.  If the local board of education has explored all of the 
local alternatives to resolve the problem without success, a 
request by board action shall be made to the Chairman of the 
Unique Hazards Committee (Education Associate for School 
Transportation).

11.2 The request to the Unique Hazards Committee 
must include:

11.2.1 The original request from the parents, 
vested officials, or the district staff.

11.2.2 A statement of the specific hazard and area 
involved including maps showing the specific location, 
points of concern and schools attended.

11.2.3 Number and grades of children involved.
11.2.4 School schedule and the time children 

would normally be walking to and from school in the area of 
concern.

11.2.5 List any actions to resolve the problem 
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taken by the local school administration.
11.2.6 List any actions to resolve the problem 

taken by the local board of education.
11.2.7 List any actions to resolve the problem 

taken by the town, the city or county.
11.3 The Unique Hazards Committee will process 

the request and report its findings and recommendations to 
the Department of Education for their consideration and 
action.  A copy of the report will also be forwarded to the 
local board of education involved.

11.4 The Unique Hazards Committee consists of 
representatives from the Department of Transportation; the 
New Castle County Crossing Guard Division; Delaware 
Safety Council; Traffic Control Section, the Delaware State 
Police; and the Department of Education Associate for 
School Transportation (Chairman).

11.5 Unique Hazards Committee Recommendations 
Appeal Process

11.5.1 Appeals to the Unique Hazards Committee 
recommendations approved by the State Department of 
Education must be in writing and from the local board of 
education.

11.5.2 The local school board shall, before 
making an appeal, make every effort to resolve the problem. 
If, in the opinion of the local board of education, 
reconsideration is needed by the Unique Hazards 
Committee, the appeal, along with pertinent information, 
should be forwarded to the Chairman of the Unique Hazards 
Committee.

11.5.3 The Unique Hazards Committee will 
submit to the State Department of Education its 
recommendations regarding the appeal for reconsideration 
by the local board of education.  A copy of the report will 
also be forwarded to the local board of education involved.

12.0 Contingency Plans:
Each school district shall have contingency plans for 

inclement weather, accidents, bomb threats, hostages, civil 
emergencies, natural disasters, and facility failures 
(environmental/water, etc.).  These plans shall be developed 
in cooperation with all those whose services would be 
required in the event of various types of emergencies.  The 
school transportation supervisor, school administrators, 
teachers, drivers, maintenance and service personnel, 
students, and others shall be instructed in the procedure to be 
followed in the event of the contingencies provided for in the 
plans.

13.0 Reimbursements for School Bus Ownership and 
or Contracts:

School buses may be either state owned/district 
operated or contracted.

13.1 Reimbursements for buses operated by the 
district shall be on the basis of the formula for district 

operated buses unless otherwise approved by the Department 
of Education.

13.1.1 Drivers employed by the district shall be 
paid on the regular payroll of the district.  When drivers are 
employed in a dual capacity there shall be strict accounting 
for salary division.

13.2 Reimbursement for buses operated on contract 
shall be on the basis of the approved formula or of a bid if 
the amount should be less.

13.2.1 Contractors shall be paid regularly at the 
end of the month.  The total contract shall be paid in ten (10) 
installments, with the first payment at the end of September.

13.3 Any transportation costs caused by grade 
reorganizations and/or pupil re-assignments during the 
school term after October 1, other than the occupancy of a 
new school building, shall be at the expense of the local 
school district unless approved by the Department of 
Education.

13.4 Bills unpaid from Transportation funding lines 
that have not been encumbered as of June 30, shall be the 
responsibility of the local school district.

13.5 Reimbursement to the local school district for 
contracts or for district-owned or leased buses shall be made 
on the basis of a Department of Education formula approved 
by the State Board of Education.  This formula shall take 
into consideration school bus cost and depreciation, fixed 
charges, operations, maintenance, driver and aide wages. 
Reimbursement shall be made only for transportation of 
eligible pupils and exceptions approved by the Department 
of Education and the State Board of Education.

13.6 Reimbursement Contract allowances for buses 
when there are Emergency Days (forgiven by the 
Department of Education [with the consent of the State 
Board of Education]), Specially Declared Holidays or 
Strikes by Teachers.

13.6.1 School bus contractors and school districts 
shall be paid the normal rate of pay as provided for in their 
contract, less the allowance for operation including  fuel, oil, 
tires, and maintenance and administration.  Driver (including 
layover allowance) and aide allowances shall be paid.

13.6.2 Contractors School bus contractors and 
school districts with buses assigned to midday kindergarten 
or vocational-technical trips shall be reimbursed for the 
amount of the driver’s allowance plus the administrative 
allowance paid the normal rate of pay as provided for in their 
contract, less the allowance for fuel.

13.6.3 School districts operating district-owned, 
leased, or lease-purchase buses shall be reimbursed based on 
the formula for district reimbursement, less the allowance 
for operation which includes fuel, oil, tires, and 
maintenance. The additional mileage allowance for 
contractor and school district buses will not include fuel and 
maintenance allowances.

13.6.4 Districts with buses assigned to midday 
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kindergarten or vocational-technical trips shall be 
reimbursed for the amount of the driver’s allowance plus the 
administrative allowance.

13.6.5 4 The Delmar School District shall be 
reimbursed on the basis of the additional days necessary to 
operate as a result of the agreement with the Wicomico 
County Board of Education for the Delmar, Maryland 
elementary schools.

14.0 Transportation Formulas for Public School 
Districts Operating District, Lease, or Lease Purchase 
Buses.

Items which are not on this list must be approved by the 
State Department of Education.  Any purchase, commitment, 
or obligation exceeding the transportation allocation to the 
district is the responsibility of the district.

14.1 The following items may be used for the 
purpose of providing pupil transportation in accordance with 
the regulations of the Department of Education.

14.1.1 Advertising including equipment, routes, 
supplies, and employees.

14.1.2 Communication systems including two-
way radios, cellular phones, and AM-FM radio.

14.1.3 Fuel including gasoline, diesel, propane, 
kerosene, storage tanks, pumps, additives, and oil.

14.1.4 Leasing/rental including tools, equipment, 
storage facilities, buses, garage space, and office space.

14.1.5 Office supplies and materials including 
computer hardware, computer software, data processing, 
maps, postage, printing, subscription, and measuring 
devices.

14.1.6 Safety materials including audio-visual 
aids, restraining vests, belts, safety awards, pins, patches, 
certificates, wheelchair ramps, wheelchair retainers, 
printing, handout materials, pamphlets, training materials, 
subscriptions, and bus seats.

14.1.7 Salary/wages including attendants (aide) 
as approved by the Department of Education when required 
in a student’s IEP, dispatchers, drivers, maintenance helpers, 
mechanics, mechanics helpers, office workers, secretarial, 
substitute drivers, supervisory (other than State supported 
supervisor or manager), and State provided employee 
benefits.

14.1.8 Shop facilities including heat, electric, 
water, sewer, security, fences, lights, locks, guards, bus 
storage, janitorial supplies, brushes, mops, buckets, soap, 
tools, maintenance vehicles, grease, service vehicles, and 
work uniforms for maintenance staff.

14.1.9 Sidewalks including construction of 
sidewalks, footbridges, etc. that would be offset in reduced 
busing costs in 5 years or less, with prior approval of 
Supervisors of Transportation and School Plant Planning.

14.2 Special 01-60 state funds are provided to 
school districts for training supplies.  This account may also 

be used for reimbursements for state provided equipment 
and services.

14.3 Examples of Programs Excluded from State 
Reimbursement:

14.3.1 Extracurricular Field trips
14.3.2 Transportation of pupils from one school 

to another for special programs (e.g., music festivals, 
Christmas programs, etc.)

14.3.3 Transportation of pupils to and from 
athletic contests, practices, tutoring, band events, etc.

14.3.4 Post-secondary classes
14.3.5 Federal programs
14.3.6 Alternative school transportation when not 

using a shuttle concept that is as efficient as a shuttle 
concept.

14.3.7 Choice school transportation outside of the 
school district or outside of the attendance area of school that 
the bus normally serves.

14.3.8 Charter school transportation outside of 
the school district.

15.0 Transportation Allowances for Individuals:
Requests for transportation allowances shall be made in 

writing to the Department of Education by districts with 
justification.  This information is necessary in order for the 
Department to determine a pupil’s eligibility.  The 
responsibility for establishing a claim for transportation 
allowances rests upon the district and claimant.

15.1 All requests shall be signed by the parent or 
guardian and certified by the superintendent, principal or the 
principal teacher of the school to be attended.  In case of a 
car pool, only the driver shall be paid.

15.2 Payments or reimbursements for transportation 
by private means shall be on the following basis:

15.2.1 When adequate public services is 
available, the public service rates shall be used.

15.2.2 When public service is not available and it 
is necessary to provide transportation by private conveyance, 
the allowance shall be calculated at the prevailing state rate 
per mile for the distance from the home to the school or 
school bus and return twice a day, or for the actual distance 
traveled.

15.2.3 Districts shall maintain a monthly record 
of mileage traveled on a form provided by the Department of 
Education.

15.2.4 Any exception or variation must be 
approved by the Department of Education.

16.0 Cost Records:
Cost Records shall include the following costs directly 

attributable to the transportation of eligible students on 
district school buses:

16.1 Total expenditures by funding code.
16.2 Wages of the Drivers.
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16.3 Bus maintenance costs (expenditure for all bus 
supplies, repairs and routine service).

16.4 Cost of accidents, including bus repairs.
16.5 Indirect costs (all those costs not included in 

above categories and all costs associated with those who 
supervise the school transportation operation).

17.0 Bus Replacement Schedules:
The time begins for a new bus when it is placed in 

service.  A bus shall have the required mileage prior to the 
start of the school year.  Once a bus is placed in service for 
the school year, it will not be replaced unless it is unable to 
continue service due to mechanical failure.

17.1 The following age and mileage requirements 
apply:

17.1.1 12th year must be replaced ( it may then be 
used as a spare); or

17.1.2 150,000 miles no matter age of bus; or
17.1.3 7 years plus 100,000 miles; or
17.1.4 may be replaced after 10 years.

17.2 Contractors shall be reimbursed for their 
eligible school buses for the annual allowances permitted by 
the Formula.  New (unused) buses placed in service in a year 
following their manufacture shall begin their 7 years of 
capital allowances with the rate specified for the year of 
manufacture and continue in year increments until 
completed.

17.3 School buses purchased with state-allocated 
transportation funds may be used by the school districts for 
purposes other than transportation of pupils to and from 
school.  This type of use shall be at the district’s expense and 
shall occur only during a time when the bus is not making its 
normal school run.

In accordance with the Attorney General’s opinion 
of June 18, 1974, regarding the use of buses purchased from 
State-allocated transportation funds for purposes other than 
the regular transportation of pupils to and from school, the 
provisions of Title 14, Section 1056, School Property, Use, 
Control and Management, shall apply.

18.0 School Bus Inspections:
The Delaware Motor Vehicle Division has two periods 

of time when all school bus owners shall have their buses 
inspected each year, once during January or February and the 
second yearly inspection during June, July, or August.

19.0 Transportation for Students with Disabilities:
Transportation or a reimbursement for transportation 

expenses actually incurred shall be provided by the State for 
eligible persons with disabilities by the most economically 
feasible means compatible with the person’s disability 
subject to the limitations in the following regulations:

19.1 When the legal residence of a person receiving 
tuition assistance for private placement is within sixty (60) 

miles (one way) of the school or institution to be attended, 
the person shall be eligible for round trip reimbursement for 
transportation on a daily basis at the per mile rate allowed by 
the Internal Revenue Service for business use of a private 
vehicle, or for transportation at State expense which may be 
provided in lieu of the per mile reimbursement. (Round trip 
mileage is considered to be from the person’s legal residence 
to the school or institution and return twice a day, or for 
actual mileage traveled, whichever is less.)

19.2 When the legal residence of a person receiving 
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of sixty 
(60) miles (one way) but less than one hundred (100) miles 
(one way) from the school or institution to be attended, the 
person shall be eligible for round trip transportation 
reimbursement at the per mile rate allowed by the Internal 
Revenue Service for business use of a private vehicle, or for 
transportation at State expense which may be provided in 
lieu of the per mile reimbursement on a weekly basis and on 
such other occasions as may be required when the school is 
not in session due to scheduled vacations or holidays of the 
school or institution.  (Round trip mileage is considered to be 
from the person’s legal residence to the school or institution 
and return twice a week.  The weekly basis is to be 
determined by the calendar of the school or institution to be 
attended.)

19.3 When the legal residence of a person receiving 
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of one 
hundred (100) miles (one way) of the school or institution to 
be attended, the person shall be eligible for round trip 
reimbursement on the basis of one round trip per year from 
the person’s legal residence to the school or institution and 
return, and at such other times when care and maintenance of 
the person is unavailable due to the closing of the residential 
facility provided in conjunction with the school or 
institution.  (Round trip is considered to be from the person’s 
legal residence to the school or institution to be attended and 
from the school or institution to the legal residence of the 
person on an annual basis or at such times as indicated 
above.)

19.4 Reimbursement shall be computed on the per 
mile rate allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for 
business use of a private vehicle from the legal residence to 
the point of embarkation and return to the legal residence 
and for the actual fares based on the most economical means 
of transportation from the point of embarkation to the school 
or institution to be attended; the return trip shall be computed 
on the same basis.

19.5 Transportation at State expense may be 
provided from the legal residence to the point of 
embarkation in lieu of the per mile reimbursement when it is 
determined by the local district to be more economically 
feasible.

19.6 The local district of residence shall be 
responsible for payment of all such transportation 
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reimbursement when it is determined by the local district to 
be more economically feasible.

19.7 All requests for payment shall be made by the 
parent or legal guardian or other person who has control of 
the child to the transportation supervisor responsible for 
transportation in the district of residence at a time 
determined by the district but prior to June 5 of any year.

19.8 When reimbursements are made they shall be 
based on required documentation to support such payment.

19.9 The legal residence for the purpose of these 
regulations is defined as the residence of the parent, legal 
guardian or other persons in the state having control of the 
child with disabilities and with whom the child actually 
resides.

19.10 School Transportation Aides:  With the 
approval of the Department of Education, a state funded 
school bus aide may be provided on school buses serving 
special schools/programs for children with disabilities.

See 3 DE Reg. 1548 (5/1/00)

20.0 Transportation for Alternative Programs:
Costs for transportation shall be paid by the state from 

funds appropriated for student transportation if 
transportation is provided by extending already existing 
routes.  Shuttle services that extend existing routes will be 
allowed.  Additional routes established to transport students 
to and from the Alternative Programs or other special 
transportation designs will not be paid by the state from the 
school transportation appropriation and shall be included in 
the Alternative Program budget and be paid from the state 
allocation for alternative programs and/or the districts 30% 
share.  Planning committees for these programs shall include 
the transportation supervisors who will be providing 
services.  In addition, those supervisors must coordinate 
planning with and submit their transportation plans to the 
Education Associate for School Transportation at the 
Department of Education.

21.0 Drugs and Alcohol Testing
21.1 Content:

21.1.1 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §2910, this 
regulation shall apply to the contracting for a program of 
drug and alcohol testing services necessary to enable public 
school districts, charter schools, and any person or entity that 
contracts with a school district or charter school to provide 
transportation for State public school students, to comply 
with such drug and alcohol testing requirements applicable 
to Delaware public school bus drivers as are now, or may 
hereafter be, imposed by federal law.

21.1.2 School bus aides shall be subject to the 
same federal and state drug and alcohol testing requirements 
as school bus drivers.  They shall use non-DOT forms, and 
the employer shall follow the same procedures set forth 
herein.

21.2 Definitions:  The following words and terms, 
when used in this regulation, shall have the following 
meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Alcohol” means the intoxicating agent in beverage 
alcohol, ethyl alcohol or other low molecular exercising 
weight alcohols, including methyl or isopropyl alcohol.

“CDL” means a commercial drivers license issued 
pursuant to 21 Del.C. Chapter 26.

“Department”means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“DOT” means the United States Department of 
Transportation.

“Drug”means the controlled substances for which 
tests are required under the provisions of 49 U.S.C. 49 
§31306 CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40, and include 
marijuana, cocaine, amphetamines, phencyclidine (PCP), 
and opiates.

“Employer” means school bus contractors or 
school districts and charter schools when they directly 
employ school bus drivers..

“Negative result” means a verified negative drug 
test result or an alcohol test result lower than the Federal 
standard as defined by the provisions of 49 U.S.C. §31306, 
49 CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40.

“Positive result” means a verified positive, 
adulterated, or substituted drug test result, an alcohol test 
result equal to or greater than the Federal standard or a 
refusal to take a drug or alcohol test as defined by the 
provisions of 49 U.S.C. §31306, 49 CFR Part 382 and 49 
CFR Part 40.

21.3 Federal Regulations: Employers shall comply 
with the drug and alcohol testing regulations 
 issued by the Secretary of Transportation of the United 
States pursuant to 49 U.S.C. ' 31306 and located at 49 CFR 
Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40.
 21.4 Drug and Alcohol testing program 
requirements:

21.4.1 The employer shall:
  21.4.1.1 Be responsible for compliance 

with all federal and state regulations;
  21.4.1.2 Maintain drug and alcohol testing 

records for their school bus drivers and aides.
21.4.1.2.1 Documentation of drug and 

alcohol testing results shall flow directly from the 
Consortium/Third Party Administrator Medical Review 
Officer (C/TPA/MRO), as defined by the provisions of 49 
CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40, to the employer.  Copies 
of positive results shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.

21.4.1.2.2 Documentation of results 
shall be addressed to the individual, or employer, and the 
transportation supervisors for the school district, charter 
school or Department so as to ensure confidentiality.
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21.4.2 The Department shall:
 21.4.2.1 Bid the contract for the drug and 

alcohol testing program;
 21.4.2.2 Monitor the drug and alcohol 

testing program;
21.4.3 Any school bus driver or aide who is not in 

compliance with federal and state drug and alcohol testing 
requirements shall not perform driver or aide duties until 
they have satisfied the federal and state requirements.

21.4.3.1 Any school bus driver or aide who has 
a positive drug or alcohol test result shall comply with DOT 
regulations regarding a Substance Abuse Professional (SAP) 
evaluation, treatment and return-to-duty testing before 
another pre-employment test is allowed.

21.4.3.2 An employer who hires a school bus 
driver or aide who has previously failed a drug or alcohol 
test shall ensure that all follow-up drug and/or alcohol 
testing recommended by the SAP evaluation is implemented.

21.5 Pre-employment Testing
21.5.1 School bus drivers with no CDL and aides 

with no prior experience must have a negative pre-
employment drug test, and the employer must receive a 
negative result before the prospective employee can operate 
a school bus or serve as an aide.

21.5.2 Bus drivers with a CDL and school bus 
aides with past experience shall follow DOT rules and 
regulations to determine the necessity for pre-employment 
drug testing.

21.5.3 Employers shall provide Federal Drug 
Testing Custody and Control (CCF) forms to new school bus 
drivers and non-DOT forms to school bus aides who shall 
take the forms to the appropriate collection facility where the 
driver or aide shall be administered a drug test.  Forms shall 
note the employer and school district or charter school.

21.5.4 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.

21.5.5 Positive results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.  Copies of positive results 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and the Department for accounting 
and audit purposes.

21.5.6 Employers shall notify prospective school 
bus drivers and aides in writing of a positive result.  Copies 
of this letter shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for 
the school district or charter school and the Department. 

21.6 Random Testing
21.6.1 Employers shall provide the C/TPA/MRO 

a quarterly list of eligible drivers and aides to be drug and 
alcohol tested no later than one week before the testing 
quarter.  The list shall note the primary school district or 
charter school of the drivers and aides.  Copies of the lists 
shall be provided to the school district or charter school 
transportation supervisors.

21.6.2 The C/TPA/MRO shall send the employer 

lists of drivers and aides to be tested by the end of the first 
week of the quarter.  

21.6.3 Employers shall provide CCF and alcohol 
testing forms to the drivers and aides who shall take the 
forms and go immediately to the appropriate collection 
facility where the driver or aide shall be administered a drug 
test or a drug and alcohol test.  Forms shall note the 
employer and the school district or charter school.

21.6.4 Employers shall complete the required 
random tests before the end of the calendar quarter.

21.6.5 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO  to the employer.

21.6.6 Notification of positive results shall be 
forwarded from the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.  Copies of 
the positive results forms shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.

21.6.7 Employers shall notify school bus drivers 
and aides in writing of a positive result. Copies of this letter 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and Department.

21.7 Post-Accident and Reasonable Suspicion 
Testing

21.7.1 Employers shall provide CCF and alcohol 
testing forms to the school bus drivers and aides who shall 
take the forms and go immediately to the appropriate 
collection facility where the driver or aide shall be 
administered a drug and/or alcohol test.  Forms shall note the 
employer and school district and charter school.

21.7.2 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.

21.7.3 Notification of positive results shall be 
forwarded from the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.  Copies of 
the positive result form shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.  

21.7.4 Employers shall notify school bus drivers 
and aides in writing of a positive result. Copies of this letter 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and the Department. 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM). The 
proposed changes amends the policy of the Relative 
Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional Resource Program as 
it relates to time limitations. The Department’s proceedings 
to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 
Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed 
by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the March 2004 Delaware Register of Regulations, 
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public 
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by 
March 31, 2004 at which time the Department would receive 
information, factual evidence and public comment to the 
said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary Of Proposed Regulation

DSSM 6103 is being amended to permit non-parent 
caregivers more time to access this service; specifically, 
changing the timeframe from 90 to 180 days.

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response 

DSS thanks the Governor’s Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) and the State Council for 
Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) for their endorsement of 
the proposed revision to expand the scope of eligible 
caretakers who are eligible for support services.  

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the March 2004 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the policy of the Relative Caregivers’ 
(Non-Parent) Transitional Resource Program is adopted and 
shall be final effective May 10, 2004.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 4/13/04 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #04-11

REVISIONS:

6103  Eligibility
Applicants must meet the following eight criteria to 

receive assistance from the Relative Caregivers’ (Non-
Parent) Transitional Resource Program:

1. Relationship-The child is living with a relative 
within the 5th degree of relationship (DSSM 3004).

2. Age-The child is less than 18 years of age.
3. Residence-Applicants must reside in Delaware to 

be eligible for benefits. Persons including the homeless 
(those with no fixed address or not living in a permanent 
dwelling) who currently live in Delaware and plan to stay, 
regardless of the length of time they have been here, meet 
the residency requirement.

4. Time Limitation-The child has been living in 
caregiver('s) home less than or equal to 90 180 days. 

5. Income - The income of the caregiver cannot 
exceed 200% of the Federal Poverty Level based on the 
household size.  The caregiver's household includes the 
caregiver and his/her children.  The income of the child 
moving in with the caregiver and any siblings (or half-
siblings) who also reside in the home is not counted.

6. Resources-Eligibility will be determined without 
regard to the child or caregiver('s)  resources.

7. Citizenship-The child is a citizen or lawfully 
admitted alien.

8. Need-The child’s need is for one or more of the 
covered services.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates 
to the Food Stamp Program. The Department’s proceedings 
to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 
Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed 
by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the March 2004 Delaware Register of Regulations, 
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requiring written materials and suggestions from the public 
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by 
March 31, 2004 at which time the Department would receive 
information, factual evidence and public comment to the 
said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

• Excludes educational income (financial assistance) 
for food stamp purposes. 

• Removes the reference to PAN (Program of Assis-
tance Nutrition) income which is no longer counted 
for food stamp purposes per federal rules.

Citations

• Farm Bill Section 4102 (Simplified Definition of 
Income) allows a State the option to exclude certain 
types of income that are not counted under the 
State’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) cash assistance or Medicaid programs. 
Under this provision, States are allowed to exclude: 
educational assistance not counted under Medicaid; 
State complementary assistance not counted under 
section 1931 of Medicaid; and any type of income 
not counted under section 1931 of Medicaid or 
TANF.

• The Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) issued 
Administrative Notice 04-2003: Guidance on the 
Treatment of Nutritional Assistance Program 
(NAP) Benefit. Under the new guidance, States will 
no longer count NAP benefits from Puerto Rico 
when determining eligibility and benefits.

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response 

DSS thanks the State Council for Persons with 
Disabilities (SCPD) for the following endorsement:  SCPD 
endorses the concept of the amendments since they provide 
an incentive to attend school and facilitates Food Stamp 
eligibility for persons who receive financial aid to attend 
school.  This supports implementation of the Ticket-to-Work 
program and TANF. 

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the March 2004 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the Food Stamp Program is adopted and 
shall be final effective May 10, 2004.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 4/13/04 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATIONS #04-12

REVISIONS:

9056  Earned Income

[273.9(b)(1)]
Earned income includes:

1. All wages and salaries for services performed as an 
employee, including money withheld from an employee's 
earnings to pay certain expenses such as child care or 
medical expenses as a vendor payment to a third party, and

 2. The gross income from a self-employment 
enterprise, including the total gain from the sale of any 
capital goods or equipment related to the business, excluding 
the costs of doing business as provided in DSSM 9074. 
Consider ownership of rental property a self- employment 
enterprise; however, income derived from the rental property 
will be considered earned income only if a member of the 
household is actively engaged in the management of the 
property at least an average of 20 hours a week.  Payments 
from a roomer/boarder, except foster care boarders, or 
roomer only will also be considered self-employment 
income and need not meet the 20-hour rule.

3. Training allowances from vocational and 
rehabilitative programs recognized by Federal, State, or local 
governments, to the extent that they are not reimbursements. 
Training allowances under WIA, other than earnings as 
specified in #5 of this Section are excluded from 
consideration as income.

4. Payments under Title I (VISTA, etc.) of the 
Domestic Volunteer Service Act of 1973 (P.L. 93-113).

5. Earnings to individuals who are participating in on-
the-job training programs under Section 204(b)(1)(C) or 
section 264(c)(1)(A) of the Workforce Investment Act 
(WIA).  This provision does not apply to household 
members under 19 years of age who are under the parental 
control of another adult member, regardless of school 
attendance and/or enrollment.  Earnings include monies paid 
under WIA and monies paid by the employer.

6. Educational assistance which has a work 
requirement (such as work study, assistantship or fellowship 
with a work requirement) in excess of the amount excluded 
under DSSM 9059.

9057  Unearned Income

[273.9(b)(2)]
Unearned income includes, but is not limited to:

1. Assistance payments from Federal or federally 
aided public assistance programs, such as Supplemental 
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Security Income (SSI) or Delaware's Temporary Assistance 
To Needy Families Program (TANF), Refugee Cash 
Assistance (RCA), General Assistance (GA) programs or 
other assistance programs based on need.

2. Annuities, pensions, retirement, veteran's benefits, 
disability benefits, workman's compensation, unemployment 
compensation, social security, strike benefits, foster care 
payments for children or for adults who are considered 
members of the household, gross income minus the cost of 
doing business derived from rental property in which a 
household member is not actively engaged in the 
management of the property at least 20 hours a week.

3. Support or alimony payment made directly to the 
household from non-household members.

4. Scholarships, education grants, deferred payment 
loans for educational benefits, veteran's educational benefits 
and the like, other than educational assistance with a work 
requirement, in excess of amount excluded. Payments from 
Government-sponsored programs, dividends, interest, 
royalties, and all other direct money payments from any 
source which can be construed to be a gain or benefit.

A lottery winner that receives a set amount each 
year will have those winnings counted as unearned income. 
The income shall be averaged over a 12-month period of 
time.

For example, a household receives $24,000 each 
November from a lottery win. The $24,000 is averaged over 
a 12-month period and $2,000 counted on a monthly basis.

Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) payments are not 
to be treated as income.  [See DSSM 9059 (H) ].

6. 5. Monies which are withdrawn or dividends 
which are or could be received by a household from trust 
funds considered to be excludable resources under DSSM 
9049 (8). Such trust withdrawals will be considered income 
in the month received, unless otherwise exempt under the 
provisions of DSSM 9059.  Dividends which the household 
has the option of either receiving as income or reinvesting in 
the trust are to be considered as income in the month they 
become available to the household unless otherwise exempt 
under the provisions of DSSM 9059 .

7. 6. For a household containing a sponsored alien, 
the income of the sponsor and the sponsor’s spouse must be 
deemed in accordance with DSSM 9081.2.

8. 7. The earned or unearned income of an 
individual disqualified from the household for intentional 
Program violation, in accordance with DSSM 2023 will 
continue to be attributed in their entirety, to the remaining 
household members.  However, the earned or unearned 
income of individuals disqualified from households for 
failing to comply with the requirement to provide an SSN in 
accordance with DSSM 9012 , or for being an ineligible 
alien in accordance with DSSM 9007 , will continue to be 
counted as income, less a prorata share for the individual.

Procedures for calculating a prorata share are 

described in DSSM 9076 .
9. PAN income - Puerto Rico gives cash instead of 

food stamp coupons.  The income counts as unearned 
income when households apply for food stamps and received 
PAN funds from Puerto Rico in the same month.  PAN 
means Programa De Asistencia Nutricional.

10. 8. State and local energy assistance is counted as 
income. Delaware does not have state or local energy 
assistance programs.

9059  Income Exclusions

[273.9(c)]
Only the following items will be excluded from household 
income and no other income will be excluded:

A. Any gain or benefit which is not in the form of 
money payable directly to the household.

This includes in-kind benefits and certain vendor 
payments.  In-kind benefits are those for which no monetary 
payment is made on behalf of the household and includes 
meals, clothing, housing, or produce from a garden.  A 
vendor payment is a money payment made on behalf of a 
household by a person or organization outside of the 
household directly to either the household's creditors or to a 
person or organization providing a service to the household.  

Payments made to a third party on behalf of the 
household are included or excluded as income as follows:

1. Department of Housing and Urban 
Development (HUD) vendor payments.  Rent or mortgage 
payments made to landlords or mortgages by HUD are 
excluded.

2. Educational assistance vendor payments. 
Educational assistance provided to a third party on behalf of 
the household for living expenses shall be treated the same 
as educational assistance directly to the household.

3. 2. Vendor payments that are reimbursements. 
Reimbursements made in the form of vendor payments are 
excluded on the same basis as reimbursements paid directly 
to the household as described in DSSM 9059 E .

4. 3. Other third party payments.  Other third 
party payments shall be handled as follows:  Moneys legally 
obligated and otherwise payable to the household which are 
diverted by the provider of the payment to a third party for a 
household expense shall be counted as income and not 
excluded.  If the person or organization makes a payment to 
a third party on behalf of a household using funds that are 
not owed to the household, the payment shall be excluded 
from income. The following are examples of third party 
payments:

a) A friend or relative uses his or her own 
money to pay the household's rent directly to the landlord. 
This vendor payment shall be excluded.

b) A household member earns wages. 
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However, the wages are garnished or diverted by the 
employer and paid to a third party for a household expense, 
such as rent.  This vendor payment is counted as income. 
However, if the employer pays a household's rent directly to 
the landlord in addition to paying the household its regular 
wages, the rent payment shall be excluded from income. 
Similarly, if the employer provides housing to an employee 
in addition to wages, the value of the housing shall not be 
counted as income.

c) A household receives court-ordered 
monthly support payments in the amount of $400.  Later, 
$200 is diverted by the provider and paid directly to a 
creditor for a household expense.  The payment is counted as 
income.

Money deducted or diverted from a court-
ordered support or alimony payment to a third party for a 
household's expense shall be included as income because the 
payment is taken from money that is owed to the household. 
However, payments specified by a court order or other 
legally binding agreement to go directly to a third party 
rather than the household are excluded from income because 
they are not otherwise payable to the household.

Examples of court-ordered payments:
a) A court awards support payments in 

the amount of $400 a month and in addition orders $200 to 
be paid directly to a bank for repayment of a loan.  The $400 
payment is counted as income and the $200 payment is 
excluded from income.

b) A civil service retiree is entitled to a 
retirement payment of $800 a month.  However, $400 is 
diverted to his ex-wife by court order for child support.  This 
is similar to a wage garnishment.  Since the retirement 
benefits are legally obligated and otherwise payable to the 
retiree's household, the $800 is budgeted for food stamp 
purposes.

Support payments not required by a court 
order or other legally binding agreement (including 
payments in excess of the amount specified in a court order 
or written agreement) which are paid to a third party on the 
household's behalf shall be excluded from income.

5. 4. Payments made by the Division or by 
another government agency to a child care institution to 
provide day care for a household member are also excluded 
as vendor payments.

6. 5. All or part of a public assistance grant 
which would normally be provided in a money payment but 
which is diverted to a protective payee will be considered 
income to the household.

7. 6. Emergency Assistance payments will be 
excluded if they are made directly to a third party for a 
household expense.  This rule applies even if the household 
has the option of receiving a direct cash payment.

8. 7. Under some pay/benefit plans, an 
employee may choose to have the employer withhold from 

the employee's earnings money to pay certain expenses such 
as child care and medical expenses as a vendor payment to a 
third party when the expenses are incurred.  The amount is 
counted as earned income when withheld because the money 
is legally obligated and otherwise payable to the employee at 
that time.

9. 8. Some companies make credits available to 
employees to use to buy health insurance, annual leave, sick 
leave or life insurance.  The employee cannot elect to receive 
a cash payment and loses the credits if not used.  The amount 
shows up on the pay stub when used.  These flexible benefits 
are not counted as income because they are not legally 
obligated and otherwise payable to the employee as 
earnings.

Some companies give employees "points" as 
incentive to arrive to work on time, work so many weeks 
without taking leave, etc.  These points have a monetary 
value that appears on the pay stub and the points are subject 
to taxes.  The employee can only redeem the points for 
commodities or goods from a catalog provided by the 
employer; they cannot convert the points to cash.  These 
points are excluded from income because the funds are not 
otherwise payable to the household.

B. Any income in the certification period which is 
received too infrequently or irregularly to be reasonably 
anticipated, but not in excess of $30 a quarter.

C. Educational assistance, including grants, 
scholarships, fellowships, work study, educational loans on 
which payment is deferred, veterans’ educational benefits 
and the like  Grants, Loans and Scholarships - Do not count 
educational financial assistance received from school grants, 
scholarships, vocational rehabilitation payments, Job 
Training Partnership Act payments, educational loans, and 
other loans that are expected to be repaid as income. 
Exclude any other financial assistance received that is 
intended for books, tuition, or other self-sufficiency 
expenses.  

To be excluded, the educational assistance listed 
above must be:

A. Awarded to a household member enrolled at a:
1. Recognized institution of post-secondary 

education,* 
2. School for the handicapped,
3. Vocational education program,
4. Vocational or technical school, or 
5. Program that provides for obtaining a 

secondary school diploma or the equivalent;
*   Means any public or private educational 

institution which normally requires a high school diploma or 
equivalency certificate for enrollment or admits persons who 
are beyond the age of compulsory school attendance for that 
State.  The institution must be authorized to provide an 
educational program beyond secondary education or 
provides a program of training to prepare students for gainful 
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employment, including correspondence schools at that level. 
B. Used for or identified (earmarked) by the 

institution, school, program, or other grantor for the 
following allowable expenses:

1. Tuition,
2. Mandatory school fees, including the 

rental or purchase of any equipment, material, and supplies 
related to the pursuit of the course of study involved,

3. Books,
4. Supplies,
5. Transportation,
6. Miscellaneous personal expenses, other 

than the normal living expenses of room and board, of the 
student incidental to attending a school, institution, or 
program,

7. Dependent care (amounts excluded cannot 
be excluded under the income dependent care deduction 
under DSSM 9060 ), and 

8. Origination fees and insurance premiums 
on educational loans.

Exclusions based on use for the allowable 
expenses listed above must be incurred or anticipated for the 
period the educational income is intended to cover regardless 
of when the educational income is actually received.  If a 
student uses other income sources to pay for allowable 
educational expenses in months before the educational 
income is received, the exclusions to cover the expenses 
shall be allowed when the educational income is received. 
When the amounts used for allowable expenses are more 
than amounts earmarked by the institution, school,  program 
or other grantor, an exclusion shall be allowed for amounts 
used over the earmarked amounts.  Exclusions based on use 
shall be subtracted from unearned educational income first 
when possible, and the remainder, if any, shall be excluded 
from earned educational income.

An individual's total educational income 
exclusions cannot exceed that individual's total educational 
income received. 

 D. All loans, including loans from private 
individuals as well as commercial institutions.  , other than 
educational loans on which repayment is deferred. 
Educational loans on which repayment is deferred shall be 
excluded according to DSSM 9059 C .  A loan on which 
repayment must begin within 60 days after receipt of the 
loan shall not be considered a deferred repayment loan.  

9063.3  Income Averaging

[273.10(c)(3)]

Income may be averaged when the household has 
fluctuating income.  When averaging income, use the 
household's anticipation of monthly income fluctuations 
over the certification period.  Averages are recalculated at 

recertification and when changes in income are reported.  
Conversion of income received weekly or biweekly 

according to DSSM 9063.2 is not averaging income.
Households which, by contract or by self-employment, 

derive their annual income in a period of time shorter than 
one (1) year will have that income averaged over a 12-month 
period, provided the income from the contract is not received 
on an hourly or piecework basis.  These households may 
include school employees, share croppers, farmers and other 
self-employed households.  However, these provisions do 
not apply to migrant or seasonal farm workers.  The 
procedures for averaging self-employed income are 
described in DSSM 9075 .  Contract income which is not the 
household's annual income and is not paid on an hourly or 
piecework basis shall be prorated over the period the income 
is intended to cover.

For food stamp purposes, a contract employee is one 
that has an agreement with an employer to work a certain 
length of time or perform a specific job.  It may be either a 
written contract or an implied contract.  Acceptable 
verification would be a statement from the employer or a 
written document, such as a copy of the contract or 
agreement, that shows the terms of employment.

The following shows an example of contract and hourly 
work:

A teacher's aid works 10 months of the year for 
$9.16 per hour and 6 hours per day.  She does not sign a 
"contract" but it is implied that she will be "rehired" for the 
following school year.  She will be considered a contract 
employee whose income must be annualized.

An employee who is paid hourly is one that is paid 
based on the number of hours he works when there is no 
established work schedule such as a handyman who does 
odd jobs around the school.

Earned and unearned educational income, after 
allowable exclusions, shall be averaged over the period 
which it is intended to cover.  Income shall be counted either 
in the month it is received, or in the month the household 
anticipates receiving it or receiving the first installment 
payment, although it is still prorated over the period it is 
intended to cover.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
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the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM). The 
proposed changes amends the policy of the Food Stamp 
Program as it relates to Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT). 
The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were 
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and 
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the March 2004 Delaware Register of Regulations, 
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public 
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by 
March 31, 2004 at which time the Department would receive 
information, factual evidence and public comment to the 
said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary Of Proposed Regulations

1. The proposed regulation reflects the change from 
coupons to Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) in regards to 
the replacement of benefits policy.

2. Replacement of food stamp benefits issued via EBT 
is restricted to:

• Food purchased with benefits and destroyed in 
a disaster or misfortune;

• Unauthorized access to benefits after the client 
has reported a lost or stolen EBT card to e-
Funds; and

• Unauthorized access to benefits due to agency 
or vendor error.

3. DSS will not replace food stamp benefits 
withdrawn from an EBT account:

• Before the client reports the EBT card lost or 
stolen to the e-Funds Customer Support Unit; 
or 

• Due to misuse by an authorized representative.

Citations

7 CFR §274.6, Replacement Issuances to Households
7 CFR §274.12, EBT Issuance System Approval Standards

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response 

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) 
provided the following observations summarized below:

First, it is unclear if the “affidavit for replacement” 
discussed in §9079.4 applies only to unauthorized use as 
defined in §9079.2 or also applies to food within the purview 
of §9079.3.  The last sentence in §9079.2 requires 
submission of the affidavit for unauthorized use.  There is no 
corollary provision in §9079.3, implying that the affidavit is 
not required for lost food.  However, the location of §9079.4 
(following both §§ 9079.2 and 9079.3) implies that the 

affidavit applies to losses under both sections.  DSS should 
clarify whether the affidavit applies to both §§ 9079.2 and 
9079.3 or only to §9079.2.

Agency Response: Affidavit for replacement applies to 
both unauthorized use and household misfortune.  The 
affidavit actually has a check block for each type of 
replacement.  For clarification, the paragraph at the end of 
9079.2 is added to the end of the paragraph at 9079.3.

Second, the reference to “unauthorized use” in §§9079.1 
and 9079.2 is too narrow.  For example, §9079.2 
contemplates replacement based on “loss” or “theft”.  If a 
beneficiary loses the card, or it is mutilated (e.g. by pet or 
washer or dryer heat), SCPD assumes DSS enjoys some 
discretion to replace it.  The current coupon-based 
regulations authorized replacement of “mutilated” coupons. 
However, the narrow heading of “unauthorized use” does not 
cover such situations.

Agency Response: “Unauthorized Use” is narrow 
because DSS can only replace benefits when the loss 
occurred:  1) after a report of a lost or stolen EBT card is 
made to the e-Funds Customer Support number at 1-800-
526-9099; or 2) because of DSS local office card/PIN 
issuance error; or 3) because of an unlawful or other 
erroneous action on the part of DSS or the EBT contractor.

Also, there are no more mutilated coupons.  The 
benefits are in an account.  If the client’s card is mutilated by 
going through the washer or being chewed up by a dog, the 
benefits are still in the account.  There is no loss of benefits. 
The household just gets a replacement card – not a 
replacement of benefits.

Third, the regulations contemplate return of the affidavit 
for replacement within a short time frame.  Since a Notary 
would be required to endorse the affidavit, this could prove a 
hardship for persons who are home bound (e.g. due to 
disability).  Other hardships for individuals with disabilities 
include possible cost associated with Notaries and readily 
accessible Notaries (e.g. due to transportation issues).  DSS 
may wish to consider how such a beneficiary would comply. 
Perhaps DSS could include a “deferral for cause” provision 
or other alternate means for compliance.

Agency Response: The ten day time frame for returning 
an affidavit is a federal requirement.  For food stamp 
affidavits, DSS does not require a Notary to endorse it.  The 
household just signs the affidavit themselves.  Affidavits can 
be mailed to the client or the household can come into the 
office to sign.  

Fourth, the Division may wish to consider expanding 
the conditions in which food is destroyed based on 
“misfortune” to include “dispossession of the premises 
through eviction”.

Agency Response: Household misfortune can include 
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any number of conditions.  DSS policy does not list them all. 
DSS will replace food loss due to eviction of home if the 
household was not allowed to take their food with them.  For 
example, when the residents of an Elsmere apartment 
complex were immediately evicted due to mold in the 
basements, DSS replaced the destroyed food. When DSS 
staff have questions about a household misfortune they 
contact the policy unit to determine if the request for 
replacement is allowed.

Additional comments were received from Roger Waters, 
DSS Hearing Officer.  His suggested changes are intended to 
make the language of the rules simpler and easier to 
understand.  As a result of the suggestions, DSS made non-
substantive grammatical and clarifying language changes 
throughout the regulation indicated by [bracketed bold type].

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the March 2004 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the Food Stamp Program regarding 
Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) is adopted and shall be 
final effective May 10, 2004.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 4/13/04 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #04-10

REVISIONS:

9079.1  Replacing Coupons
We will replace an issuance to a household when the 

household reports that:
· Its coupons were not received in the mail or were 

stolen from the mail,  were destroyed in a 
household misfortune, or were improperly 
manufactured or mutilated; or

· Food purchased with food stamps was destroyed in 
a household misfortune.

We will not provide a replacement issuance to a household 
when:

· The coupons are lost, stolen, or misplaced after 
receipt;

• The coupons are totally destroyed after receipt in 
other than a disaster or misfortune; 

• Coupons sent by registered or certified mail are 
signed for by anyone residing with or visiting the 
household; or

• The household or its authorized representative has 
not signed the Affidavit Form 324.  Whenever an 

affidavit is signed by an authorized representative, 
use this format:

"________________________" for "_______________"
 (authorized representative)    (household head)

Where FNS has issued a disaster declaration and the 
household is eligible for disaster food stamp benefits, the 
household cannot receive both the disaster allotment and a 
replacement allotment for a misfortune.

In order for a replacement to be considered non-
countable, the replacement must not result in a loss to the 
Program.

9079.2  Replacement Restrictions
Provide a replacement issuance only if a household 

timely reports a loss orally or in writing and signs a Form 
324 (affidavit) if the original benefit (coupons) has not been 
returned to DSS at the time of the request for replacement. 
A report is considered timely if it is made within the 
following timeframes:

For Monthly Benefits:
•· From the mailing date until the end of the month

Example:  May’s monthly benefit is mailed on 5/6.  The 
household has until 5/31 to report non-receipt.  If the report 
is made on 5/31, the household has until 6/10 to sign an 
affidavit in the office or return a signed affidavit to DSS.

For Daily Benefits (Initial, Expedited, Supplemental, 
Restoration, or Replacement):

•· For benefits issued from the 1st of the month 
through the 20th of the month, until the end of the 
month.

Example:  Benefit is mailed on 4/10.  The household has 
until 4/30 to report non-receipt.  If the report is made on 4/
30, the household has until 5/10 to sign an affidavit in the 
office or return a signed affidavit to DSS.

•· For benefits issued from the 21st through the 30/
31st of the month, until the end of the next month.

Example:  Benefit is mailed on 9/25.  The household has 
until 10/31 to report non-receipt.  If the report is made on 10/
31, the household has until 11/10 to sign an affidavit in the 
office or return a signed affidavit to DSS.

Limit the number of replacement issuances a household 
may receive as follows:

•· Limit replacement issuances to a total of two (2) 
countable replacements in six (6) months for:

•· coupons not received in, or stolen from the mail.

Limit replacement issuances per household to two (2) 
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countable replacements in six (6) months for coupons 
reported as destroyed in a household misfortune.  This limit 
is in addition to the above limits.

Do not limit the number of replacements for coupons 
which were improperly manufactured or mutilated or food 
purchased with food stamp benefits which was destroyed in 
a household misfortune.

A replacement issuance is not considered a countable 
replacement if:

• The original or replacement benefit is returned or 
otherwise recouped by the Division, or

• The replacement is being issued due to an Agency 
issuance error.

Provide replacement issuances in the amount of the loss 
to the household, up to a maximum of one month's 
allotment, unless the issuance includes restored benefits 
which are to be replaced up to their full value.

9079.3  Household Statement of Non-Receipt (Affidavits)
Prior to issuing a replacement, obtain from a household 

member a signed statement attesting to the household's loss 
(Form 324).  Do not require an affidavit if:

• The reason for the replacement is that the coupons 
were improperly manufactured, or mutilated; or

• The original issuance has already been returned.

The affidavit may be mailed to DSS if the household 
member is unable to come into the office because of age, 
disability, or distance from the office and is unable to appoint 
an authorized representative.

If the affidavit is not received by DSS within ten (10) 
days of the date of the report, do not issue a replacement.  If 
the tenth day falls on a weekend or holiday, and the 
statement is received the day after the weekend or holiday, 
consider the statement timely received.

Retain a copy of the affidavit in the case record.

9079.4  Time Limits for Making Replacements
Provide replacement issuances to households within ten 

(10) days after report of non-delivery or loss, or within two 
(2) working days of receiving the signed household 
statement required in DSSM 9079.3 , whichever date is later. 
Delay replacement of mutilated coupons until a 
determination of the value of the coupons can be made in 
accordance with DSSM 9079.6 .

If the household has already been issued the maximum 
allowable number of countable replacements, delay 
subsequent replacements until DMS has verified that the 
original issuance was returned.  Due to the time it takes for 
benefits to return, it may not be known at the time of the 
replacement request whether prior replacements are 
countable replacements, and, therefore, whether the 

household has reached its limit.  In such cases, restore the 
allotment when DMS verifies that the limit on countable 
replacements has not been reached.

After a household has been issued the maximum 
allowable number of countable replacements, continue to 
allow the household to sign affidavits (Form 324) for 
subsequent replacements.  However, the replacements will 
not be issued until DMS verifies that the original issuance 
was returned.

For example, a client received replacement coupons for 
the months of January and March.  In June, the client reports 
non-receipt of June's coupons.

• Client signs an affidavit.
• Staff sends affidavit to DMS Payments Office.
• DMS investigates the replacement request.
• DMS replaces the coupons in August only after 

verifying the original benefit had returned.

Deny or delay replacement issuances in cases in which 
available documentation indicates that the household's 
request for replacement appears to be fraudulent.

Inform the household of its right to a fair hearing to 
contest the denial or delay of a replacement issuance.  Do not 
make replacement while the denial or delay is being 
appealed.

9079.5  Replacing Issuances Lost in the Mail or Stolen Prior 
to Receipt by the Household

1) Determine if the coupons were:
• Validly issued,
• Actually mailed and if sufficient time has 

elapsed for delivery, or
• If it was returned in the mail.

2) Determine, to the extent possible, the validity of the 
request for a replacement. This includes determining 
whether the original benefit has been returned to DMS.

3) Issue a replacement if the household is eligible.
 4) Take other action, such as correcting the address in 

DCIS, as warranted.

9079.6  Replacing Issuances After Receipt by the Household
Upon receiving a request for replacement of an issuance 

reported as destroyed after receipt by the household, 
determine if the benefit was validly issued.  Comply with all 
applicable provisions in DSSM 9079.2 - 9079.4, as well as 
following procedures for each type of replacement.

1) Prior to replacing destroyed coupons, or destroyed 
food that was purchased with food stamp benefits, determine 
that the destruction occurred in a household misfortune or 
disaster, such as, but not limited to, a fire or flood.  Verify 
such occurrences through a collateral contact, 
documentation from a community agency including, but not 
limited to, the fire department or the Red Cross, or a home 
visit.  Provide replacements of coupons, and/or food in the 
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actual amount of the loss, but not exceeding one month's 
allotment, unless the issuance includes restored benefits, 
which are to be replaced at full value.

2) Households cannot receive a replacement for 
coupons lost or stolen after receipt.

3. Provide replacements for improperly manufactured 
or mutilated coupons as follows:

Replace coupons received by a household and 
subsequently mutilated or found to be improperly 
manufactured in the amount of the loss to the household. 
Replace mutilated coupons when three- fifths of a coupon is 
presented by the household.  Examine the improperly 
manufactured or mutilated coupon to determine the validity 
of the claim and the amount of coupons to be replaced.

If the value of the improperly manufactured or mutilated 
coupons can be determined, replace the unusable coupons in 
a dollar-for-dollar exchange.  If the value of the improperly 
manufactured or mutilated coupons cannot be determined, 
cancel the coupons by writing "cancelled" across the face of 
the coupons.  Request that DMS forward the coupons to FNS 
for a determination of the value by the U.S. Bureau of 
Engraving and Printing.

To replace these improperly manufactured or mutilated 
coupons, send the coupons and a completed Form FNS-135 
(Affidavit of Return or Exchange of Food Coupons) to DMS 
Payments Office.

9079.7  Delivery of Coupons
After the first report of non-receipt of a mailed benefit, 

or when circumstances exist that indicate that the household 
may not receive its coupons through the mail, benefits must 
be sent to the over-the-counter issuance sites.

The requirement for a household to pick up its coupons 
and the length of time for which we require the household to 
pick up its benefits are not adverse actions under §5304 and 
there is no jurisdiction for a fair hearing over these 
requirements.

9079.1  Replacing Food Benefits Issued [via by]
Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT)

Food stamp benefits issued [via by] EBT can only be 
replaced under two conditions:

• Unauthorized use of the account based on the 
conditions listed below; and

• Food purchased with food stamp benefits that was 
destroyed in a household misfortune or disaster.

The primary payee (cardholder) [has the sole 
responsibility is responsible] for the security and 
safeguarding of the EBT card and PIN, including the careful 
selection of authorized representatives.

9079.2  Unauthorized use of the account.
The [issuance of reason DSS issues] food stamp 

benefits [via by] EBT is [designed] to minimize the loss and 
theft of client benefits.  [DSS will rarely be liable for 
replacement benefits due to loss of benefits from an EBT 
account.]

DSS will replace benefits issued [via by] EBT due to 
the unauthorized use of the account only if the loss occurred:

[1.] after [the client reports the a report of a lost 
or stolen] EBT card [lost or stolen is made] to the e-Funds 
Customer Support number at 1-800-526-9099;

[2.] because of DSS local office card/PIN issuance 
error; or

[3.] because of an unlawful or other erroneous 
action on the part of DSS or the EBT contractor.

DSS will not replace food stamp benefits withdrawn 
from an EBT account before [the client reports the EBT 
card lost or stolen a report of a lost or stolen EBT card is 
made] to the e-Funds Customer Support Unit.

DSS will replace food stamp benefits withdrawn from 
an EBT account after [the client reports the EBT card lost 
or stolen a report of a lost or stolen EBT card is made] to 
the e-Funds Customer Support Unit.  Before [issuing the 
replacement a replacement is issued, DSS will verify,] the 
time/date of the report to e-funds and the time/date of the 
loss of benefits [ must be verified].

DSS will not replace EBT issued benefits that were 
misused by an authorized representative.

A household member, or authorized representative, 
must sign and return to the food stamp office [the an]
Affidavit for Replacement of EBT Food Benefits[.  The 
affidavit will attest attesting] to the loss [and must be 
made] within ten days of the report of the loss.  [Failure to
If the household does not] sign and return the affidavit 
within ten days of the report of the loss [may result in a 
denial of the replacement request DSS will deny the 
request for replacement of benefits].

9079.3 Food [purchased with food stamp benefits that 
was destroyed after it was purchased with food stamp 
benefits].

[We may issue replacement of DSS will replace] food 
benefits [used] for food [that was] destroyed in a household 
misfortune or disaster. 

The household may be entitled to a replacement of the 
actual value of the loss [which cannot exceed the allotment 
issued for one month not to exceed the amount of the 
household’s monthly allotment at the time of the loss].

The household must report the household misfortune or 
disaster [to DSS] within ten days of the loss.

DSS [must will] verify the [fact of the] household’s 
misfortune or disaster.  Disasters can include fire, floods, or 
hurricanes.  Household misfortunes can include a breakdown 
in the refrigerator or freezer or the loss of electricity causing 
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food to spoil.
[Verification of In verifying] a household’s misfortune 

or disaster [can include DSS will accept] statements from 
community agencies, the Red Cross, fire departments, home 
visits, or other acceptable collateral contact.

There is no limit on the number of times a household 
may receive replacement of food destroyed in a household 
misfortune or disaster.

If a household is eligible for emergency benefits under a 
disaster program, the household cannot receive both the 
emergency benefits and replacement benefits for the same 
time period.

Replacements of destroyed food cannot be used to offset 
food stamp overpayment claims.

[A household member, or authorized representative, 
must sign and return to the food stamp office an 
Affidavit for Replacement of EBT Food Benefits.  The 
affidavit will attest to the loss and must be made within 
ten days of the report of the loss.  If the household does 
not sign and return the affidavit within ten days of the 
report of the loss DSS will deny the request for 
replacement of benefits.]

9079.4  Affidavit for Replacement of EBT Food Benefits
A household member, or authorized representative, 

must sign [the an] Affidavit for Replacement of EBT Food 
Benefits attesting to the loss [and submit the affidavit to 
DSS] within ten days of the report of the loss.

The household will not receive a replacement if the 
affidavit is not received by DSS within ten days of the report 
of the loss.

If the tenth day falls on a weekend or holiday, DSS will 
consider the affidavit as received timely if [it is] received on 
the next business day.

DSS will provide replacement benefits within ten days 
of the reported loss or within two working days of receiving 
the affidavit, whichever is later.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title Of The Regulations:
DNREC Freedom of Information Act Regulations

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:

These regulations were originally promulgated in 

February, 2001.  In 2002, numbering changes were made to 
29 Del.C. §10002 pursuant to laws passed by the General 
Assembly.  These FOIA regulations make reference to some of 
the sections of the Delaware Code that have been changed, 
requiring a change in citations contained in the regulations. 
Only the citations have changed in this regulation. No other 
substantive changes have been made.

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
N/A

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
Renumbering changes brought about by changes in the 

Delaware Code is allowable by action of the State Registrar 
of Regulations as an administrative matter under 29 Del.C.
§1134.  No further public notice, public hearing or other 
administrative actions are warranted or required. 
Publication of these corrected regulations is at the request of 
DNREC in order to completely and accurately inform the 
public concerning regulatory changes.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:

N/A

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
This is an administrative matter.  No public comment is 

required.

7. Prepared By:
Phil Cherry, DNREC Registrar of Regulations 739-4403
3/23/04

Freedom of Information Act (“FOIA”) Regulation
Promulgated Pursuant to 29 Del. C. Chapter 100

Effective Date:  February 12, 2001
Amended with Numbering Changes: March 5, 2004

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to prescribe procedures 

relating to the inspection and copying of public records 
retained by the Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control (“the Department”) pursuant to 29 
Del.C. Ch. 100, the Freedom of Information Act  (“FOIA”). 
It is the Department’s goal in establishing this regulation to 
maximize the amount of information available to the public, 
establish a reasonable fee structure for copying public 
records, and to streamline procedures used to disseminate 
this information.

This regulation applies to the Department in dealing 
with requests from the public for information as set forth in 
the Freedom of Information Act.  This regulation does not 
apply to the Department in its normal course of business 
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with Federal, State, or local agencies, nor to private parties 
(corporate or individual) with whom the Department is 
conducting business (permit, contractual agreement, 
licenses, etc.), provided the public records are germane to 
the business being conducted.  Requests made pursuant to 
the Hazardous Waste Disclosure Regulation (“HWDR”) 
shall remain independent of this regulation in order to 
maintain EPA authorization for the Hazardous Waste 
program.

A new and integral part of the FOIA regulation is a 
procedure outlined to address the confidential treatment of 
information submitted to the Department.  It is important to 
understand that this confidentiality procedure is a necessary 
part of the FOIA regulation in that any information 
submitted to the Department is subject to public review 
unless deemed to be confidential by the Secretary in 
accordance with the criteria and procedures established in 
this regulation.

It is the intent of the Department, as well as the State of 
Delaware, that public business be performed in an open and 
public manner so that the citizens will have the opportunity 
to be advised of the performance of Department officials and 
of their decisions.  In accordance with Delaware’s FOIA 
laws, the public has the right to “reasonable access” to public 
records.  FOIA provides that it shall be the responsibility of 
the public body to establish rules and regulations regarding 
access to public records as well as fees charged for copying 
of such records.  All requests for information made pursuant 
to FOIA, shall be processed in the manner prescribed below.

2.0 Definitions
“Requestor” shall mean any individual, organization or 

business that submits a request for information under the 
Delaware Freedom of Information Act.

“Confidential information” means information 
determined by the Secretary to constitute a trade secret, or 
commercial or financial information which is of a 
confidential nature.

“Department” means the Department of Natural 
Resources & Environmental Control.

“Responsible Official” means:
For a Corporation: A President, Vice-President, 

Secretary, or Treasurer of the corporation or any other person 
who performs similar policy or decision making functions 
for the corporation, or a duly authorized representative of 
such person approved in advance by the Department 
including a successor in interest to one of these persons if the 
Department is notified in writing of the substitution of the 
party.

For a Partnership or Sole Proprietorship: A general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively, or the delegation of 
authority to a representative approved in advance by the 
Department including a successor in interest to one of these 
persons if the Department is notified in writing of the 

substitution of the party.
For a Municipality, State, Federal, or other public 

agency: Either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official including a successor in interest to one of 
these persons if the Department is notified in writing of the 
substitution of the party.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Department of 
Natural Resources & Environmental Control or the 
Secretary’s designee.

“Trade Secret” means a formula, pattern, device or 
compilation of information which may be used to obtain 
competitive advantage over others.

3.0 Availability of Records
3.1 Access

3.1.1 The Department will provide reasonable 
access and facilities for reviewing public records during 
regular business hours.

3.1.2 The Department shall make all requested 
records available for review by requestor unless such records 
or portions of records are determined by the Secretary to be 
confidential in accordance with Section 6 of this regulation 
or otherwise exempted from disclosure as records deemed 
non-public pursuant to 29 Del.C.  [§10002(g) §10002(d)].

3.1.3 The Department reserves the right to deny 
any request in part or in full which does not comply with the 
Form of Request procedures pursuant to Section 4.1 of this 
regulation and/or the provisions of the Freedom of 
Information Act, as amended.

3.2 Department Records Review
3.2.1 Prior to disclosure, records will be 

reviewed to insure that those records or portions of records 
deemed non-public are removed.

3.2.2 Upon request, the Department will provide 
a log of records which may have been deemed non-public. 
The log will include the following information:

3.2.2.1 The document’s author,
3.2.2.2 The addressee,
3.2.2.3 The date of the document,
3.2.2.4 The title of the document or a brief 

explanation of the document’s contents, and
3.2.2.5 The statutory exemption.

3.2.3 The types of records deemed non-public 
are as contained in 29 Del.C. [§10002(g) §10002(d)].

3.2.4 Departmental regulations, brochures, 
pamphlets, informational bulletins, and other such 
information are not subject to this regulation.

4.0 Record Request and Response Procedures
4.1 Form of Request

4.1.1 Requests for access to records shall be 
made in writing and shall adequately describe the records 
sought in sufficient detail to enable the Department to locate 
the records with reasonable effort.  The Department shall 
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make every reasonable effort to assist the requestor in 
identifying the record being sought.  The request may be 
denied in part or in full and returned to the requestor for the 
following reasons:

4.1.1.1 The request does not adequately 
describe the records;

4.1.1.2 The request requires the Department 
to perform research or to assemble information that has not 
been compiled; or

4.1.1.3 Reasons set forth in Section 3.1.c. or 
as addressed in other areas of this regulation not specified 
here.

4.2 Department Response to Requests
4.2.1 The Department shall make every 

reasonable effort to determine within twenty (20) business 
days after the receipt of a request whether it can fulfill the 
request.  The actual disclosure of records shall follow 
promptly thereafter.

4.2.2 If the Department denies a request in 
whole or in part, the Department shall indicate to the 
requestor the reasons for the denial.

4.3 Reproduction of Records
4.3.1 The copying of any requested public 

records may be performed by Department personnel and 
may be provided to the requestor as follows:

 4.3.1.1 If 25 pages or less are requested to be 
copied, the Department may, if time and personnel are 
available, make the copies at the time of the review.  If 
personnel are not available, the Department may arrange to 
copy and mail the records to the requestor.  In the alternative, 
the requestor may elect to pick up copies during regular 
business hours and submit payment at that time.

  4.3.1.2 If over 25 pages are requested to be 
copied the Department may arrange to copy and mail the 
records to the requestor.  In the alternative, the requestor may 
elect to pick up copies during regular business hours and 
submit payment at that time.

4.3.1.3 If over 250 pages are requested to be 
copied, the requestor may be required to bring in both copier 
and personnel to make the desired copies.

4.3.1.4 Fragmentation of requests, in order to 
circumvent the 250 page limit, shall not be allowed.

4.3.1.5 The Department shall have discretion 
based on circumstances involved to make decisions 
regarding copying.

5.0 Fees
5.1 Administrative Fees:

5.1.1 Charges for administrative fees include:
5.1.1.1 Staff time associated with processing 

FOIA requests; 
5.1.1.2 Locating and reviewing files; 
5.1.1.3 Monitoring file reviews;
5.1.1.4 Generating computer records 

(electronic or print-outs); and
  Preparing logs of records deemed non-public.

5.1.2 Calculation of Administrative Charges: 
Administrative charges will be calculated as follows:

5.1.2.1 Administrative charges will be billed 
to the requestor per quarter hour.  These charges will be 
billed at the current, hourly paygrade rate (pro-rated for 
quarter hour increments) of the personnel performing the 
service.  Administrative charges will be in addition to any 
copying charges.

5.1.2.2 Appointment Rescheduling/
Cancellation – Requestors that do not  reschedule or cancel 
appointments to view files at least one full business day in 
advance of the appointment may be subject to the 
administrative charges incurred by the Department in 
preparing the requested records.  The Department will 
prepare an itemized invoice of these charges and mail to the 
requestor for payment.

5.2 Photocopying Fees - The following are charges for 
photocopies of public records made by Department 
personnel:

5.2.1 Standard Sized, Black and White Copies
The charge for copying standard sized, 

black and white public records shall be $0.10 per printed 
page (i.e. single-sided copies are $0.10 and double-sided 
copies are $0.20).  This charge applies to copies on the 
following standard paper sizes:

5.2.1.1 8.5" x 11";
5.2.1.2 8.5" x 14"; and
5.2.1.3 11" x 17"

5.2.2 Oversized Copies/Printouts
The charge for copying oversized public 

records (including, but not limited to:  blueprints, 
engineering drawings, GIS print-outs, and maps) shall be as 
follows:

5.2.2.1  24" x 26"- $2.00 each;
5.2.2.2 24" x 36" - $3.00 each;
5.2.2.3 30" x 42" - $5.00 each; and
5.2.2.4 all copies larger than 30" x 42" shall 

be calculated at the rate of $0.60 per square foot.
5.2.3 Color Copies/Printouts

The charge for color copies or color 
printouts shall be as follows:

5.2.3.1 8.5" x 11" - $1.00 per page;
5.2.3.2 8.5" x 14" - $1.50 per page;
5.2.3.3 11" x 17" -  $2.00 per page; and
5.2.3.4 all color copies larger than 11" x 17" 

(including, but not limited to: blueprints, engineering 
drawings, photographic imagery, GIS print-outs, and maps) 
shall be calculated at the rate of $2.50 per square foot.

5.2.4 Microfilm and/or Microfiche Printouts
Microfilm and/or microfiche printouts, 

made by Department personnel on standard sized paper, will 
be calculated at $0.15 per printed page.
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5.2.5 Electronically Generated Records
Charges for copying records maintained in 

an electronic format will be calculated by the material costs 
involved in generating the copies (including, but not limited 
to:  magnetic tape, diskette, or compact disc costs) and 
administrative costs.

5.2.5.1 In the event that requests for records 
maintained in an electronic format can be electronically 
mailed to the requestor, only the administrative charges in 
preparing the electronic records will be charged.

5.2.6 Other Copying Fees
The Department, at its discretion, may arrange to have 
records copied by an outside contractor if the Department 
does not have the resources or equipment to copy such 
records. In this instance, the requestor will be liable for 
payment of these costs.

5.3 Exemptions
5.3.1 The administrative charge shall be waived 

for individuals making a FOIA request to the Department 
who are not deriving income or other forms of compensation 
from the use of the information obtained through the FOIA 
request.  To qualify for this exemption, individuals must 
provide a signed affidavit accompanying the FOIA request, 
stating that they are not deriving income or other forms of 
compensation from the use of information obtained through 
FOIA.

5.3.2 The administrative charge shall be waived 
for not-for-profit organizations working in the public interest 
on the condition that such organizations provide, along with 
their FOIA request, proof of tax-exempt status and a signed 
affidavit from an officer or the governing body of the 
organization which indicates that the requestor is authorized 
to request the information on behalf of the organization.

5.3.3 Individuals and not-for-profit 
organizations that qualify under 5.3.a or 5.3.b shall also be 
granted a waiver for copying fees of $25.00 or less.  For 
those requests exceeding $25.00 in copying fees, charges 
will be assessed pursuant to Section 5.2 of this regulation.

5.4 Payment
5.4.1 Payment for copies and/or administrative 

charges will be due at the time copies are released to the 
requestor. The Department reserves the right to refuse to 
make copies for requestors who have outstanding balances.

5.4.2 The Department may require pre-payment 
of copying and administrative charges prior to mailing 
copies of requested records and/or in preparing logs of 
records deemed non-public.

5.4.3 Department personnel will maintain a 
receipt register and, upon request, provide the requestor with 
a receipt when payment is received.

6.0 Requests for Confidentiality
A person may request that certain records or portions of 

records submitted to the Department be held confidential. 

Certain information may be determined confidential if its 
disclosure could potentially cause substantial competitive 
harm to the person or business from whom the information 
was obtained.

The following section sets forth procedures and criteria 
by which the Department will determine confidentiality of 
records or portions of records.

6.1 Procedure
6.1.1 In order for the Department to make a 

determination that information submitted is of a confidential 
nature, and therefore to be afforded confidential status, a 
request must be made in writing to the Secretary at the time 
the record is submitted.  The request shall provide 
substantiation for the allegation that the information should 
be treated as confidential. The request shall contain the 
following information:

6.1.1.1 The measures taken to guard against 
undesired disclosure of the information to others;

6.1.1.2 The extent to which the information 
has been disclosed to others, and the precautions taken in 
connection therewith;

6.1.1.3 Whether disclosure of the information 
would be likely to result in substantial harmful effects on 
their competitive position, and if so, what those harmful 
effects would be, why the effects should be viewed as 
substantial, and an explanation of how the disclosure would 
cause such harmful effects; and

6.1.1.4 Verification that significant effort or 
money has been expended in developing the information.

6.1.2 The following information shall be 
submitted:

6.1.2.1 Two public versions of the entire 
package of information that is submitted for determination, 
with alleged confidential information redacted (this version 
will be made available for public review). The public 
versions shall correspond page for page with the confidential 
versions, with the confidential portions having been 
redacted;

6.1.2.2 Two confidential versions of the 
entire package of information that is submitted for 
determination, that includes the alleged confidential 
information (this version will be used internally for technical 
review); and

6.1.2.3 Certification through a separate, 
notarized affidavit that the information is either trade secret, 
or commercial/financial information that is of a confidential 
nature. The affidavit will be signed by the Responsible 
Official.

6.1.3 The burden lies with the party asserting 
the claim of confidentiality. A unilateral assertion that a 
record is confidential is insufficient evidence to support the 
Secretary in making a determination of confidentiality 
pursuant to this privilege.

6.1.4 After a final determination of 
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confidentiality has been issued by the Secretary, any further 
submissions containing the same confidential information 
shall be deemed to be confidential based on the prior 
determination if the Department determines that:

6.1.4.1 The Responsible Official notified the 
Department in writing contemporaneously with the later 
submission that the later submission contains information 
previously determined to be confidential; and

6.1.4.2 The later submission identifies with 
particularity the prior confidentiality determination; and

6.1.4.3 The notice to the Department met the 
requirements of Section 6.1.b. above relating to submission 
of multiple and redacted copies, and included the required 
affidavit of the Responsible Official; and

6.1.4.4 The later representations of 
confidentiality are sufficient to meet the requirements for a 
confidentiality determination.

6.2 Criteria
6.2.1 The Secretary may determine that the 

information submitted is entitled to confidential treatment if 
all of the following criteria are met:

6.2.1.1 Reasonable measures to protect the 
confidentiality of the information and an intention to 
continue to take such measures have been satisfactorily 
shown;

6.2.1.2 The information is not, and has not 
been, reasonably obtainable by other persons (other than 
governmental bodies) by use of legitimate means (other than 
court enforced order) without prior consent;

6.2.1.3 No statute specifically requires 
disclosure of the information;

6.2.1.4 A satisfactory showing has been made 
that disclosure of the information is likely to cause 
substantial harm to their competitive position; and

6.2.1.5 Verification that significant effort or 
money has been expended in developing the information.

6.3 Final Determination
The Secretary will make a final determination as to 

whether the information shall be considered public or 
confidential based upon a review of the information 
submitted pursuant to this Section.  The person making the 
confidentiality request will be notified in writing of the 
Secretary’s determination.

6.3.1 If the Secretary determines that disclosure 
of the information would violate 29 Del.C. [§10002(g)(2) 
§10002(d)(2)], the information will be deemed confidential 
until such time as the basis for a determination of 
confidentiality changes.  It is the responsibility of the person 
who requested that the information be given confidential 
status to notify the Department in writing of such changes.

6.3.2 If the Secretary finds that the information 
is not entitled to confidential treatment, the information will 
be considered public.

6.4 Defense of Secretary’s Determination

6.4.1 Verification of Information
There will be instances in which the Secretary may 

be unable to verify the accuracy of the information submitted 
for determinations of confidentiality.  The Secretary relies 
heavily upon the information furnished by the affected party 
in order to make a reasonable determination of 
confidentiality.

6.4.2 Information Determined Confidential
If the Secretary makes a confidentiality 

determination that certain information is entitled to 
confidential treatment, and the Department is sued by a 
requestor for disclosure of that information, the Department 
will:

6.4.2.1 Notify each affected party of the suit;
6.4.2.2 Call upon each affected party to 

furnish assistance where necessary in preparation of the 
Department’s defense; and

6.4.2.3 Defend the final confidentiality 
determination, but expect the affected party to cooperate to 
the fullest extent possible in the defense.

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 79 (7 Del.C. Ch. 79)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title Of The Regulations:
DNREC Chronic Violator Regulations

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:

These regulations were originally promulgated in March, 
2004.  In July, 2003, during the adoption process for the 
regulations, numbering changes were made to 7 Del.C. 6013
pursuant to laws passed by the General Assembly.  These 
Chronic Violator regulations make reference to some of the 
sections of the Delaware Code that have been changed, 
requiring a change in citations contained in the regulations. 
Only the citations have changed in this regulation.  No other 
substantive changes have been made.

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
N/A

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
Renumbering changes brought about by changes in the 

Delaware Code is allowable by action of the State Registrar 
of Regulations as an administrative matter under 29 Del.C.
§1134.  No further public notice, public hearing or other 
administrative actions are warranted or required. 
Publication of these corrected regulations is at the request of 
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DNREC in order to completely and accurately inform the 
public concerning regulatory changes.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:  

N/A

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
This is an administrative matter.  No public comment is 

required.

7. Prepared By:
Phil Cherry, DNREC Registrar of Regulations 739-4403
3/23/04

Chronic Violator Regulation

1.0 Authority
1.1 These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the 

authority granted to the Secretary by 7 Del.C. Chapter 79.

2.0 Applicability 
2.1. The Chronic Violator regulations are administered 

by the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control pursuant to 7 Del.C. Chapter 79.

2.2. These regulations apply to the following DNREC 
Regulatory Programs adopted under Title 7:  Chapters 40, 
60, 62, 63, 66, 70, 72, 74, 77, 78, and 91 and Title 16 
Chapters 63 and 78: 

2.2.1 Erosion and Sedimentation Control  (7 
Del.C. Chapter 40) Control of erosion of sedimentation at 
construction sites and other land disturbing activities.

2.2.2 Stormwater Management (7 Del.C.
Chapter 60) -- Under the NPDES program for storm water 
from facilities and hard surfaces.

2.2.3 Solid Waste (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- 
Landfill permitting, transportation of solid waste, and illegal 
dumping of solid waste.

2.2.4 Water Discharges (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- 
NPDES program, all point source discharges into waters of 
the State.

2.2.5 Air Emissions (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- All 
point source emissions to air, including mobile and 
stationary sources.

2.2.6 Marinas (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) - All boat 
docking facilities, marinas, and vessel pumpout stations.

2.2.7 Scrap Tires (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- 
Storage requirements for scrap tires.

2.2.8 Beverage Containers (7 Del.C. Chapter 
60) -- Bottle Bill, requires stores to take returnable 
containers and pay the refund.

2.2.9 Ocean Dumping (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- 
Prohibits the disposal of solid wastes in the ocean and other 
waters of the State.

2.2.10 Water Supply (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) - 
Permitting of water supply wells.

2.2.11 On-Site Wastewater (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) 
-- Permitting of on-site wastewater treatment systems.

2.2.12 Debris Pits (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- 
Remediation of debris disposal areas.

2.2.13 Labeling of Plastic Products (7 Del.C.
Chapter 60) -- Requires that all plastic containers sold in 
Delaware contain the triangle enclosed code number of the 
type of plastic the container is made of.

2.2.14 Oil Pollution Liability (7 Del.C. Chapter 
62) -- Prohibits the discharge of oil to the water or land.

2.2.15 Hazardous Waste (7 Del.C. Chapter 63) -- 
Regulates the generation, storage, transportation, treatment 
and disposal of hazardous waste.

2.2.16 Coastal Zone (7 Del.C. Chapter 70) -- 
Control of the location, extent, and type of industrial 
development in Delaware's coastal areas.

2.2.17 Underground Storage Tanks (7 Del.C.
Chapter 74) -- Controls the storage of petroleum products in 
underground storage tanks.

2.2.18 Aboveground Storage Tanks (7 Del.C.
Chapter 74A)-- Controls the storage of petroleum products 
and hazardous substances in aboveground storage tanks.

2.2.19 Extremely Hazardous Substances (7 
Del.C. Chapter 77) -- Prevention of sudden releases of 
extremely hazardous substances and the generation of 
pressure waves and thermal exposures beyond the property 
boundaries of the facility where they occur and the 
catastrophic health consequences caused by short-term 
exposures to such accidental releases.

2.2.20 Pollution Prevention (7 Del.C. Chapter 
78) -Establish a program to demonstrate and facilitate the 
potential for pollution prevention and waste minimization 
through technical assistance, education, and outreach.

2.2.21 Hazardous Substances Cleanup (7 Del.C.
Chapter 91) -- State Superfund program.

2.2.22 Emergency Planning/Community Right-
to-Know --(16 Del.C. Chapter 63) -- Requires the report of 
hazardous materials meeting specific threshold requirements 
stored at facilities for the purpose of emergency response 
and community right-to-know.

2.2.23 Asbestos (16 Del.C. Chapter 78) -- 
Regulates the practice of asbestos containment, removal, 
transportation, storage and disposal.

2.2.24 Wetlands (7 Del.C. Chapter 66) -- 
Protection of tidal wetlands.

2.2.25 Subaqueous Lands (7 Del.C. Chapter 72) -
- Control of activities in state-owned subaqueous lands.

3.0 Definitions
The following definitions shall have the meaning 

ascribed for the purposes of enforcing Chapter 79 and this 
Regulation only:
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3.1 "Chronic Violator" means a facility or regulated 
party that is unable to maintain compliance or has engaged in 
a pattern of willful neglect or disregard with respect to the 
State's environmental permits, laws, or regulations as 
administered by the Department. 

3.2 "Days" means calendar days.
3.3 "Facility" means any site or structure regulated by 

the Department or subject to the provisions contained in the 
laws listed under Section 2.2 of this regulation.

3.4 "Department" means the Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control.

3.5 "Person" means any individual, trust, firm, joint 
stock company, federal agency, partnership, corporation 
(including a government corporation or authority), limited 
liability company, association, state, municipality, 
commission, political subdivision of a state or any interstate 
body.

3.6 "Public Meeting" means a forum to receive oral 
and written comments and other supporting materials from 
the public and the facility or regulated party as part of the 
administrative record.

3.7 "Regulated Party" means any person regulated by 
the Department or subject to the provisions contained in the 
laws listed under Section 2.2 of this regulation.

3.8 "Secretary" means the Secretary of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control or the Secretary's duly authorized designee.

4.0 Criteria 
In determining if a facility or regulated party is a 

chronic violator, the Secretary shall apply the following 
criteria with respect to the State's environmental permits, 
laws or regulations as administered by the Department:

4.1 Inability to maintain compliance; or
4.2 Engaged in a pattern of willful neglect; or
4.3 Engaged in a pattern of disregard.
A facility or regulated party need only meet one of these 

criteria in order to be designated a chronic violator.

5.0 Initiation of Review
5.1 At the Secretary's discretion, he/she may initiate a 

review of any facility or regulated party at any time to 
determine if the facility is a chronic violator.

5.2 The Secretary shall review a facility or regulated 
party to determine if it is a chronic violator if one of the 
following conditions apply in a time frame not to exceed 5 
years:

5.2.1 Three (3) or more of any combination of 
administrative orders, civil judicial actions, court orders, 
negotiated settlements, and criminal convictions (excluding 
convictions pursuant to 7 Del.C. §6013(c) §6013(h)) at the 
same facility regardless of owner; or

5.2.2 Three (3) or more of any combination of 
administrative orders, civil judicial actions, court orders, 

negotiated settlements, and criminal convictions (excluding 
convictions pursuant to 7 Del.C. §6013(c) §6013(h)) under 
the same Department regulatory program, as defined in 
Section B, against the same person at different locations.

6.0 Notification of Review
6.1 The Secretary shall issue a Notice of Chronic 

Violator Review to the facility or regulated party within ten 
(10) days of the Secretary's decision to conduct a review.  

6.2 Within ten (10) days after the facility or regulated 
party has received the written notice, the Department shall 
publish a public notice stating that a review has commenced, 
identifying the facility or regulated party being reviewed, 
describing the reason why the review was initiated, and 
requesting public and facility or regulated party comments 
within sixty (60) days. 

6.3 Any comments received by the Department shall be 
made available to the facility or regulated party and the 
public, within three (3) working days of receipt. A hard copy 
version of comments will be stored in the Department's 
facility file.

6.4 The Department shall issue a written notice of the 
status of the review to the facility or regulated party and to 
the public every six months from the date of the Public 
Notice.  If, during said review, new violations come to the 
attention of the Department the Secretary may consider the 
new violations and allow a further comment period by the 
facility, regulated party, or the public.

7.0 Factors to be Considered When Conducting Review
The Secretary may consider any relevant factors when 

deciding whether a facility or regulated party meets one or 
more of the chronic violator criteria. In conducting his/her 
review, the Secretary shall consider all relevant and reliable 
information available or submitted to the Department from 
all sources. Factors that must be considered are:

7.1 The nature and extent of the harm caused or 
threatened.

7.2 The impact on the integrity of regulatory programs.
7.3 Duration of noncompliance.
7.4 Number of violations of a similar nature.
7.5 Total number of violations of all types.
7.6 Economic benefit attributable to violations.
7.7 Relationship/relevance of violations to activity for 

which permit is sought.
7.8 Whether any or all of the violations were willful or 

grossly negligent.
7.9 The extent of deviation from the permit, order or 

other requirement.
7.10 The demonstrated attitude of new owners/ 

managers (if ownership and/or management has changed at 
the facility). 

7.11 Actions taken or not taken to prevent, mitigate 
or respond to harm caused or threatened by the violation.
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7.12 Whether any or all of the violations were self-
reported within 15 consecutive days after the date of 
discovery.

All of these factors need not apply in order for a facility 
or regulated party to be considered a chronic violator.

8.0 Violations to be Considered When Conducting 
Review

The Secretary may consider any violations when 
conducting his/her review. The types of violations that shall 
be considered by the Secretary shall include, but not be 
limited to:

8.1 Violations that cause or genuinely threaten harm to 
the environment or to public health or safety.

8.2 Violations resulting in criminal convictions.
8.3 Tampering with monitoring or sampling equipment 

or interfering with samples or analytical results.
8.4 Filing false reports or inaccurate or misleading 

information.
8.5 Failing to maintain or use required pollution control 

equipment, structures or practices.
8.6 Repeatedly failing to submit required reports of 

regulated activity such as Discharge Monitoring Reports.
8.7 Repeatedly conducting a regulated activity without 

a required permit or authorization.

9.0 Secretary's Determination
In making a determination, the Secretary shall consider 

all relevant and reliable information available or submitted 
to the Department from all sources.  The Secretary shall 
consider the following when determining if a facility or 
regulated party meets one or more of the chronic violator 
criteria in Section 4.0: 

9.1 Relevant factors per Section 7.0;
9.2 Violations per Section 8.0; 
9.3 Public comments received per Section 6.0; and
9.4 Comments from the facility or regulated party per 

Section 6.0.

10.0 Notification of Determination
10.1. The Secretary shall issue a Notice of Chronic 

Violator Determination to the facility or regulated party once 
a determination has been made. The notice will describe in 
detail the basis for the Secretary's determination. If the 
facility or regulated party is determined to be a Chronic 
Violator, the notice will also describe the penalties, limits, 
requirements or restrictions being imposed in accordance 
with Section 11.0 and the requirements to be met in order to 
petition for removal of the Chronic Violator designation. 

10.2 Once the facility or regulated party has 
received the Notice of Chronic Violator Determination, the 
Department shall publish, within ten (10) days, a public 
notice announcing the determination and describing the basis 
for the Secretary's determination, and information on how to 

obtain the full Determination document. If the facility or 
regulated party is determined to be a Chronic Violator, the 
Public Notice will also summarize the penalties, limits, 
requirements or restrictions being imposed.

10.3 Persons or facilities determined by the 
Secretary to be chronic violators shall be provided due 
process under 7 Del.C. § 6008 and § 6009.

11.0 Penalties and Requirements
11.1 The Secretary may impose limits, requirements 

or restrictions on a facility or regulated party determined to 
be a chronic violator by virtue of the exercise of his/her 
authority over such facility or regulated party through 
permitting provisions or enforcement actions.  Such limits, 
requirements or restrictions may include, but not be limited 
to:

11.1.1 denying permit applications or modifying, 
suspending or revoking operating permits, 

11.1.2 imposing a schedule of compliance;
11.1.3 requiring capital improvements and 

associated performance standards;
11.1.4 specifying the requirements for 

development and implementation of a system for managing 
environmental performance and compliance; or

11.1.5 instituting a requirement for the facility or 
regulated party to submit an annual environmental 
performance statement. Such a statement shall include, but 
not be limited to:

11.1.5.1 a description of the facility.
11.1.5.2 a listing of environmental permits 

held by the facility.
11.1.5.3 emissions and discharges from the 

facility.
11.1.5.4 disclosure of environmental violations 

of enforcement actions taken against the facility during the 
previous year.

11.1.5.5 a description of any pollution 
prevention or waste reduction activities undertaken at the 
facility during the previous year and the results of those 
activities.

11.1.5.6 plans to achieve compliance with all 
applicable laws, regulations or permits.

11.2 The Secretary may reject any permit 
application or revoke any permit upon a finding that the 
applicant has been determined by the Secretary to be a 
chronic violator.

11.3 Notwithstanding other applicable enforcement 
provisions contained in relevant sections of Chapters 
covered by 7 Del.C. § 7901(b), the Secretary is authorized to 
impose an administrative penalty of up to $10,000 per day 
for each violation against any person that is determined to be 
a chronic violator in accordance with the provisions of 7 Del. 
C. § 7904(a).  The person's right to contest or appeal the 
assessment of a penalty authorized under this Section shall 
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be in accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Delaware Code under which the violation and enforcement 
action is being taken.

12.0 Chronic Violator Delisting 
12.1 Any person determined to be a Chronic 

Violator may petition the Secretary to have the Chronic 
Violator designation removed once it has met the limits, 
requirements, or restrictions of the Notice of Chronic 
Violator Determination.  The petition must include the 
following information, as appropriate:

12.1.1 demonstration of compliance with the 
limits, requirements, or restrictions of the Notice of Chronic 
Violator Determination through an audit conducted by an 
independent third party if required by the Secretary;

12.1.2 description of actions taken to prevent 
violations of the kind that led to the notice; and

12.1.3 description of other violations that have 
occurred since the notice and how they were addressed.

12.2 Upon receipt of the petition, the Department 
shall issue a public notice announcing the petition and 
requesting public comments within 90 days.

12.3 Within 30 days of receipt of the petition, the 
Department will notify the facility or regulated party of the 
administrative completeness of the petition or its 
deficiencies.

12.4 Upon a meritorious request for a public 
meeting, as defined in Section C.6. of this Regulation, 
received within a reasonable time as stated in the Public 
Notice, the Secretary shall conduct a public meeting to 
review and receive additional comments on the petition.

12.5 The Department shall have 90 days from the 
date the petition is determined to be administratively 
complete to conduct applicable inspections of the facility 
and/or the regulated party's record to confirm the petition's 
statements. 

12.6 The Secretary will then have an additional 
sixty (60) days to review the petition, the inspection reports, 
audit reports if required, and public comments and issue a 
decision to the facility or regulated party that the Chronic 
Violator Status has been withdrawn or will be continued.

12.7 When the petition is granted or denied, the 
Secretary will issue a letter to the facility or regulated party, 
and the Department will issue a public notice indicating the 
Chronic Violator's status.

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 

Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE

Secretary’s Order No.:  2004-A-0017

Date of Issuance:   April 2, 2004
Effective Date of the Amendment:  May 11, 2004

I. Background

On Thursday, October 23, 2003, a public hearing was 
held in the Priscilla Building Conference Room of DNREC 
in Dover to receive comment on AQM’s proposed revision 
to Delaware’s Regulation 30 (Title V State Operating Permit 
Program), Section 2, regarding the definition of a “major 
source” of air pollution.  This amendment would change the 
definition of “major source” by removing the phrase “but 
only with respect to those air pollutants that have been 
regulated for that category” from the Regulation No. 30 
(Title V) definition of major source, as it applies to these 
federal standards.  This would require all fugitive emissions 
to be included in major source determinations for sources 
subject to federal New Source Performance Standards 
(NSPS) or the National Emissions Standards for Hazardous 
Air Pollutants Standards (NESHAPs), not just the pollutants 
regulated by the particular NSPS or NESHAP.  

The Department believes this action to be necessary 
because the current definition is less stringent than the 
corresponding provisions of 40 CFR Part 70, which went 
into effect on November 27, 2001.  This change will make 
this aspect of Regulation No. 30 consistent with the federal 
rule.  Likely affected members of the public would be 
facilities currently not subject to Regulation No. 30 that are 
subject to NSPSs or NESHAPs and that emit fugitive 
emissions.  These sources may become subject to the 
requirements of Regulation No. 30 as a result of this 
amendment.

No one from the public attended this public hearing, 
however, there were written comments received by the 
Department prior to the close of the public record regarding 
this proposed revision.  Following the close of the record 
with respect to this matter, the Air Quality Management 
section prepared a detailed Response Document for the 
Hearing Officer dated December 3, 2003.  Proper notice of 
the hearing was provided as required by law.

After the hearing, the Department performed an 
evaluation of the evidence entered into the record in this 
matter.  Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared her report 
and recommendation in the form of a Hearing Officer’s 
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Report to the Secretary dated March 10, 2004, and that 
Report is expressly incorporated herein by reference.

II. Findings and Conclusions

On the basis of the record developed in this matter, it 
appears that AQM has provided a sound basis for the 
proposed review to Regulation No. 30, Section 2, with 
respect to the definition of a “major source”, and has given 
careful and serious consideration to the written comments 
provided by both Mid-Atlantic Environmental Law Center 
and the Delaware State Chamber Environmental Committee 
– Air Subcommittee - with respect to this issue.  

III. Order

It is hereby ordered that AQM’s proposed adoption of 
Regulation 30, Section 2, with respect to the Department’s 
definition of “major source” be made, and that the proposed 
Regulation be promulgated in final form, in accordance with 
the customary and established rule-making procedure 
required by law.

IV.  Reasons

The revision to  Regulation 30, Section 2, will allow the 
State of Delaware’s definition of “major source” consistent 
with the federal rule, and will ultimately assist the 
Department in furtherance of the policy and purposes of 7 
Del. C., Ch. 60.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

REGULATION NO. 30
TITLE V

STATE OPERATING PERMIT PROGRAM

Section 2. DEFINITIONS
xx/xx/03

* * *

Major source - means any stationary source (or any 
group of stationary sources that are located on one or more 
contiguous or adjacent properties, and are under common 
control of the same person (or persons under common 
control)) belonging to a single major industrial grouping and 
that are described in paragraph (1), (2), or (3) of this 
definition. For the purposes of defining "major source," a 
stationary source or group of stationary sources shall be 
considered part of a single industrial grouping if all of the 
pollutant emitting activities at such source or group of 
sources on contiguous or adjacent properties belong to the 
same Major Group (i.e., all have the same two-digit code) as 

described in the Standard Industrial Classification Manual, 
1987.

(1) A major source under section 112 (Hazardous 
Air Pollutants) of the Act, defined as:

(i) For pollutants other than radionuclides, 
any stationary source or group of stationary sources located 
within a contiguous area and under common control that 
emits or has the potential to emit, in the aggregate, 10 tons 
per year ("tpy") or more of any hazardous air pollutant which 
has been listed pursuant to section 112(b) (Hazardous Air 
Pollutants - List of Pollutants) of the Act, 25 tpy or more of 
any combination of such hazardous air pollutants, or such 
lesser quantity as the Administrator may establish by rule.

Notwithstanding the preceding sentence, 
emissions from any oil or gas exploration or production well 
(with its associated equipment) and emissions from any 
pipeline compressor or pump station shall not be aggregated 
with emissions from other similar units, whether or not such 
units are in a contiguous area or under common control, to 
determine whether such units or stations are major sources; 
or

(ii) For radionuclides, "major source" shall 
have the meaning specified by the Administrator by rule.

(2) A major stationary source of air pollutants, as 
defined in section 302 (Title III - General Definitions) of the 
Act, that directly emits or has the potential to emit, 100 tpy or 
more of any air pollutant (including any major source of 
fugitive emissions of any such pollutant, as determined by 
rule by the Administrator). The fugitive emissions of a 
stationary source shall not be considered in determining 
whether it is a major stationary source for the purposes of 
section 302(j) (Title III –General Definitions) of the Act, 
unless the source belongs to one of the following categories 
of stationary sources:

(i) Coal cleaning plants (with thermal 
dryers);

(ii) Kraft pulp mills;
(iii) Portland cement plants;
(iv) Primary zinc smelters;
(v) Iron and steel mills;
(vi) Primary aluminum ore reduction 

plants;
(vii) Primary copper smelters;
(viii) Municipal incinerators capable of 

charging more than 250 tons of refuse per day;
(ix) Hydroflouric, sulfuric, or nitric acid 

plants;
(x) Petroleum refineries;
(xi) Lime plants;
(xii) Phosphate rock processing plants;
(xiii) Coke oven batteries;
(xiv) Sulfur recovery plants;
(xv) Carbon black plants (furnace 

process);
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(xvi) Primary lead smelters;
(xvii) Fuel conversion plants;
(xviii) Sintering plants;
(xix) Secondary metal production plants;
(xx) Chemical process plants;
(xxi) Fossil-fuel boilers (or combination 

thereof) totaling more than 250 million British thermal units 
per hour heat input;

(xxii) Petroleum storage and transfer units 
with a total storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels;

(xxiii) Taconite ore processing plants;
(xxiv) Glass fiber processing plants;
(xxv) Charcoal production plants;
(xxvi) Fossil-fuel-fired steam electric plants 

of more than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat 
input; or

(xxvii) All other stationary source categories 
regulated by a standard promulgated under section 111 
(Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources) or 
section 112 (Hazardous Air Pollutants) of the Act, but only 
with respect to those air pollutants that have been regulated 
for that category.

(3) A major stationary source as defined in Part D 
(Plan Requirements for Nonattainment Areas) of Title I (Air 
Pollution Prevention and Control) of the Act, including:

(i) For ozone nonattainment areas, sources 
with the potential to emit 100 tpy or more of volatile organic 
compounds or oxides of nitrogen in areas classified as 
"marginal" or "moderate," 50 tpy or more in areas classified 
as "serious," 25 tpy or more in areas classified as "severe," 
and 10 tpy or more in areas classified as "extreme"; except 
that the references in this paragraph to 100, 50, 25, and 10 
tpy of nitrogen oxides shall not apply with respect to any 
source for which the Administrator has made a finding, 
under section 182(f) (1) (2) (Plan Submissions and 
Requirements -NO x Requirements) of the Act, that 
requirements under section 182(f) of the Act do not apply;

(ii) For ozone transport regions established 
pursuant to section 184 (Control of Interstate Ozone Air 
Pollution) of the Act, sources with the potential to emit 50 
tpy or more of volatile organic compounds;

(iii) For carbon monoxide nonattainment areas:
(A) that are classified as "serious", and
(B) in which stationary sources contribute 

significantly to carbon monoxide levels as determined under 
rules issued by the Administrator, sources with the potential 
to emit 50 tpy or more of carbon monoxide; and

(iv) For particulate matter (PM 10) 
nonattainment areas classified as "serious", sources with the 
potential to emit 70 tpy or more of PM 10.

(4) For purposes of this regulation, a research and 
development operation may be treated as a separate source 
from other stationary sources that are located on a 
contiguous or adjacent property and under common control 

only if that operation belongs to a different major group as 
described in the Standard Industrial Classification Manual, 
1987.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 6010, (7 Del.C. §6010)

Order No. 2004-F-0019

Summary Of Evidence And Information

Pursuant to due notice 7, issue 9 DE REG pages 1143-
1145 (3/1/04), The Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control proposes to amend Tidal Finfish 
Regulation Nos. 3511 and 3507 pertaining to summer 
flounder and black sea bass respectively.  For summer 
flounder eight options were proposed to restrain the 
recreational harvest to conform to the harvest cap of 139,000 
fish imposed on Delaware for the 2004 fishing season by the 
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s (ASMFC) 
regional fisheries management plan.  The proposed 
regulation for black sea bass would adjust the current season 
closure to permit the fishery to remain open through the 
Labor Day weekend in order to provide anglers the 
opportunity to catch black sea bass during the holiday.  The 
proposed adjusted closed season begins on September 8 and 
ends on September 21 and would last fourteen days.  In 
addition the season will again close on December 1 and 
remain closed until the end of the calendar year.

The options presented for summer flounder and the 
changes associated with the black sea bass regulations are 
necessary for Delaware to remain in compliance with the 
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s fishery 
management plan provisions for these species and all of the 
options presented have been pre-judged to be in compliance 
with the mandatory provisions of this fishery management 
plan.

A public hearing was held on the proposed amendments 
to Regulations 3511 and 3507 on March 25, 2004. 
Comments were taken on the eight options for summer 
flounder and the proposed change in the season dates for 
black sea bass.  Written testimony was received and included 
into the record.

Finding Of Fact

• There was no opposition to the proposed adjust-
ment of the black sea bass closed season.  One per-
son spoke in support of the change and thanked the 
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Department for adjusting the season to accommo-
date the Labor Day weekend.

• Among the eight people who spoke on the record at 
the public hearing, seven supported summer floun-
der option 7 or status quo.  The underling justifica-
tion for their support of option 7 focused on 
concerns that by adding additional fish to the creel 
limit, the harvest cap could be exceeded thus 
requiring more stringent management measurers in 
2005.  The majority of the speakers were opposed 
to any closed season and they wanted to try to avoid 
an overage in 2004 that may require a closed season 
in 2005 as part of a more restrictive approach to 
restrain the recreational harvest of summer floun-
der.

• Two written comments were received for the 
record.  One written comment endorsed option 7. 
Justification for this position was based on concerns 
that more fishing effort is anticipated in 2005 than 
occurred in 2004 because weather conditions are 
likely to be more favorable for fishing this year than 
last year.  In addition, it was noted that restrictions 
on harvesting other species have increased, and this 
may in fact shift effort to summer flounder, espe-
cially in September, when the black sea bass and 
tautog fisheries will be closed.  The respondent 
noted that any increase in effort could result in sig-
nificantly higher catch estimates for summer floun-
der in 2004.  The second comment supported a 16 
inch minimum size, 3 fish creel and open season 
from May 15 to September 15.

• One of the seven speakers who endorsed option 7 
also suggested that option 8 would be acceptable to 
him.  In fact this individual indicated that he may 
consult with members of the Recreational Fishing 
Alliance and formulate written comments that 
would endorse either option 7 or 8.

• One person supported only option 8 and indicated 
that the risk should be minimal regarding any over-
age of the harvest cap that would be associated with 
an increase in the creel limit.  This person also sup-
ported a mid-season closure of the fishery as a 
means of restraining the harvest.

Conclusions

I have reached the following conclusions:

• Delaware and the surrounding states are required to 
restrain the recreational harvest of summer flounder 
to a harvest cap level that is calculated individually 
for each state.  This cap is predicated on state land-
ings of recreationally caught summer flounder in 
1998 and consequently all states have different 

caps.  The individual state harvest cap is a compli-
ance requirement in the ASMFC summer flounder 
FMP.  In order to avoid any action by ASMFC, 
which under a worse case scenario could result in a 
Federal moratorium on fishing for summer flounder 
in Delaware, it will be necessary to require manage-
ment measurers in 2004 that have in the past proven 
to restrain the harvest.

• Information presented at the public hearing by the 
Department indicates that in 2001 under a restric-
tive management program of 17.5 inch minimum 
size and 4 fish creel limit the estimated harvest was 
143,000 fish.  This estimated harvest exceeds the 
harvest cap in place for 2004 (139,000 fish) and 
consequently suggests that even these measures 
may not be restrictive enough to restrain the fishery 
in 2004 if fish are available in substantial numbers 
in Delaware waters and fishing effort increases.

• The overwhelming majority of people who attended 
the public hearing and commented on the record 
supported option 7 which is more restrictive than 
option 8 and theoretically should prove more effec-
tive in restraining the harvest.

• Delaware’s minimum size limit for summer floun-
der should remain at 17.5 inches and the creel limit 
should remain at 4 fish for the 2004 fishing season.

• The current regulation for black sea bas should be 
amended to permit harvesting during the 2004 
Labor Day weekend holiday.  As such the closed 
season should occur between September 8 and Sep-
tember 22 and December 1 and December 31, 2004.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered this 5th day in April in the year 2004 
that an amendment to Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 3507, 
copies of which are attached hereto, is adopted pursuant to 7 
Del.C. § 903(e)(2)(a) and is supported by the Departments 
findings of evidence and testimony received.  This Order 
shall become effective on May 11, 2004.

John A. Hughes, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources 
and Environmental Control

3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Landing Permits; 
Qualifying Criteria; Seasons; Quotas (Formerly Tidal 
Finfish Reg.  23)

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial person to 
have in possession any black sea bass (Centropristis striata) 
that measures less than eleven (11) inches, total length.
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2.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational person to 
have in possession any black sea bass that measures less than 
twelve (12) inches total length.

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial fisherman 
to land, to sell, trade and or barter any black sea bass in 
Delaware unless authorized by a black sea bass landing 
permit issued by the Department.  The black sea bass landing 
permit shall be presumed to transfer with the vessel 
whenever it is bought, sold, or otherwise transferred, unless 
there is a written agreement, signed by the transferor/seller 
and transferee/buyer, or other credible written evidence, 
verifying that the transferor/seller is retaining the vessel’s 
fishing and permit history for purposes of replacing the 
vessel.

4.0 The black sea bass pot fishery and the black sea 
bass commercial hook and line fishery shall be considered 
separate black sea bass fisheries.  The total pounds allocated 
to each fishery by the Department shall be as follows: 96 
percent of the State’s commercial quota, as determined by 
the ASMFC, for the pot fishery; 4 percent for the 
commercial hook and line fishery.  

5.0 The Department may only issue a black sea bass 
landing permit for the pot fishery to a person who is the 
owner of a vessel permitted by the National Marine Fisheries 
Service in accordance with 50 CFR §§ 648.4 and who had 
applied for and secured from the Department a commercial 
food fishing license and has a reported landing history in 
either the federal or state reporting systems of landing by pot 
at least 10,000 pounds of black sea bass during the period 
1994 through 2001.  Those individuals that have landing 
history only in the federal data base must have possessed a 
state commercial food fishing license for at least one year 
during the time from 1994 through 2001.

6.0 The Department may only issue a black sea bass 
landing permit for the commercial hook and line fishery to a 
person who has applied for and secured from the Department 
a commercial food fishing license and a fishing equipment 
permit for hook and line and submitted landings reports in 
either the federal or state landing report systems for black 
sea bass harvested by hook and line during at least one year 
between  1994 and 2001.

7.0 Any overage of the State's commercial quota will 
be subtracted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 
Commission from the next year's commercial quota.

Any overage of an individual’s allocation will be 
subtracted from that individual's allocation the next year and 
distributed to those individuals in the appropriate fishery that 
did not exceed their quota.

8.0 Each participant in a black sea bass fishery shall be 
assigned a equal share of the total pounds of black sea bass 
allotted by the Department for   that particular fishery.  A 
share shall be determined by dividing the number of pre-
registered participants in one of the two recognized fisheries 
into the total pounds of black sea bass allotted to the fishery 

by the Department.  In order to pre-register an individual 
must indicate their intent in writing to participate in this 
fishery by 4:30 PM on a date no later than 15 days after this 
regulation is signed by the Secretary of the Department.

9.0 It shall be unlawful for a commercial food 
fisherman to transfer quota allocation shares of black sea 
bass to another commercial food fishermen.

10.0 Each commercial food fishermen participating 
in a black sea bass fishery shall report to the Department, via 
the interactive voice phone reporting system operated by the 
Department, each days landings in pounds at least one hour 
after packing out their harvest.

11.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational 
fisherman to have in possession more than 25 black sea bass 
at or between the place where said black sea bass were 
caught and said recreational fisherman’s personal abode or 
temporary or transient place of lodging.

12.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational 
fisherman to take and reduce to possession or to land black 
sea bass during the periods beginning at 12:01 AM on 
September 2 8, 20034 and ending at midnight on September 
15 21, 20034 and beginning at 12:01 AM on December 1, 
20034 and ending at midnight on December 31, 20034.

See 1 DE Reg.1767 (5/1/98)
See 2 DE Reg 1900 (4/1/99)
See 3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg 1665 (4/1/01)
See 4 DE Reg 1859 (5/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg 2142 (5/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 348 (9/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

3511 Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession 
Limits;  (Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 4)

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman 
to have in possession more than four (4) [four (4)] summer 
flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder 
were caught and said recreational fisherman's personal abode 
or temporary or transient place of lodging. [(Note:  creel 
limit to be determined in combination with seasonal 
closure and size limit.)]

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, other than 
qualified persons as set forth in section 4.0 of this regulation, 
to possess any summer flounder that measure less than 
seventeen and one-half (17.5) [seventeen and one half 
(17.5)] inches between the tip of the snout and the furthest 
tip of the tail. [(Note: size limit to be determined in 
combination with seasonal closure and creel limit.)]

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any person while on board a 
vessel, to have in possession any part of a summer flounder 
that measures less than seventeen and one-half (17.5)
[seventeen and one half (17.5)] inches between said part's 
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two most distant points unless said person also has in 
possession the head, backbone and tail intact from which 
said part was removed. [(Note:  size limit to be determined 
in combination with seasonal closure and creel limit.)]

4.0 Notwithstanding the size limits and possession 
limits in this regulation, a person may possess a summer 
flounder that measures no less than fourteen (14) inches 
between the tip of the snout and the furthest tip of the tail and 
a quantity of summer flounder in excess of the possession 
limit set forth in this regulation, provided said person has 
one of the following:

4.1 A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the 
date said summer flounder were received, the amount of said 
summer flounder received and the name, address and 
signature of the person who had landed said summer 
flounder;

4.2 A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish 
dealer who obtained said summer flounder; or

4.3 A bill of lading while transporting fresh or 
frozen summer flounder.

4.4 A valid commercial food fishing license and a 
food fishing equipment permit for gill nets.

5.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial 
finfisherman to sell, trade and or barter  or attempt to sell, 
trade and or barter any summer flounder or part thereof that 
is landed in this State by said commercial fisherman after a 
date when the de minimis amount of commercial landings of 
summer flounder is determined to have been landed in this 
State by the Department.  The de minimis amount of summer 
flounder shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota 
as set forth in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management 
Plan approved by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 
Commission. 

6.0 It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than 
200 pounds of summer flounder in any one day in this State.

7.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been 
issued a commercial food fishing license and fishes for 
summer flounder with any food fishing equipment other than 
a gill net, to have in possession more than four (4) [four (4)] 
summer flounder at or between the place where said summer 
flounder were caught and said person's personal abode or 
temporary or transient place of lodging. [(Note:  size limit to 
be determined in combination with seasonal closure and 
creel limit.)]

[Note:  Proposed options for seasonal closures 
associated with creel limits and minimum size limits to 
restrict the recreational summer flounder harvest in 
Delaware in 2004.]

[Opening Final Number of    Bag    Minimum
Option Day Day    Open Days    Limit    Size
1 01-Jan 31-Jul 212 7 16”
2 01-Jan 06-Aug 218 5 16.5”

3 01-Jan 23-Aug 235 5 17”
4 25-May 02-Aug 70 7 16”
5 25-May 09-Aug 77 5 16.5”
6 25-May 27-Aug 95 5 17”
7 01-Jan 31-Dec 365 4 17.5”
8 01-Jan 31-Dec 365 6 17.5”]

See 1 DE Reg 1767 (5/1/98)
See 2 DE Reg 1900 (4/1/99)
See 3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg 1552 (3/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg   462 (8/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg. 2142 (5/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 6010, (7 Del.C. §6010)

Order No.  2004-F-0020

Summary Of Evidence And Information

Pursuant to due notice 7, issue 9 DE REG 1144 – 1145 
(3/1/04), The Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control proposed amendments to oyster 
harvesting regulations to cover the harvest season and the 
harvestable amount of oysters.  The amendments will permit 
the Department to set an annual quota for the direct market 
oyster fishery from the state owned natural beds and 
establish a season for the direct market oyster fishery.

A public hearing was held on March 23, 2004 to take 
comments on Shellfish Regulations 3768 Oyster Harvest 
Quota and 3772 Oyster Harvesting Seasons.  Verbal 
comments were received at the hearing and no written 
comments were submitted for the record.

Finding Of Fact

• One person testified that they supported the Depart-
ment’s authority to set an oyster quota and season 
annually.  This person encouraged the Department 
to make these decisions as early in the calendar year 
as possible in order to facilitate business arrange-
ments associated with marketing the oyster catches. 
In addition the suggested season and quota pre-
sented by the Department for 2004 was supported 
by this individual.

• One individual wanted the oyster season to overlap 
two calendar years in order to permit harvesting in 
all months that contain “R’s”.  Based on this request 
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it would be necessary to formulate multi-year quo-
tas during the quota setting process.

• One person was opposed to any harvesting during 
the spring prior to the spawning season.  This per-
son supported the Department’s efforts to set an 
annual oyster quota and establish an annual oyster 
fishing season.

• The final person to testify supported the Depart-
ment’s objectives regarding setting annual oyster 
quotas and seasons because he wanted to see these 
issues addressed earlier in the calendar year in order 
to give harvesters more flexibility in planning their 
annual fishing program.

Conclusions

Based on the verbal testimony received, I have reached 
the following conclusions:

• Language in proposed regulation 3772 (Oyster Har-
vest Season) needs to be changed in order to pro-
vide the Department with a process that is less 
cumbersome and time consuming than the current 
administrative procedures format that has been used 
in the past for setting the oyster harvest season.  A 
more streamlined process, that does not require a 
formal annual public hearing, will enable the 
Department to either hold a public workshop or uti-
lize the Shellfish Advisory Council meeting process 
to derive public input on an annual harvest season. 
As such, it is reasonable to expect that the Depart-
ment could finalize arrangements for a harvest sea-
son in January or February, thus accommodating 
the requests of oyster industry members who testi-
fied at the public hearing.

• Language in proposed regulation 3768 (Oyster Har-
vest Quota) needs to be changed in order to provide 
the Department the flexibility to establish an annual 
quota based on conditions on the oyster beds early 
in the calendar year so that harvesters can formulate 
business marketing programs early in the year that 
will maximize economic return on their harvests. 
The changes proposed in this regulation will enable 
the Department to hold a public workshop or utilize 
the Shellfish Advisory Council process to provide 
input on an annual quota proposed by the Depart-
ment.  These approaches will not require a public 
hearing and consequently the time consuming 
administrative procedures process will be short-
ened.  The proposed change to this regulation will 
address the concerns communicated by some mem-
bers of the state’s oyster fishery pertaining to time-
liness in the Department’s annual oyster quota 
setting process.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this _______ day of April, in the 
year 2004, that amendments to Shellfish Regulation Nos. 
3768 and 3772, copies of which are attached hereto, are 
adopted pursuant to § 1902, 7 Del.C. and § 2106, 7 Del.C. 
and are supported by the Department’s findings of fact from 
the evidence and testimony received.  This order shall be 
effective May 10, 2004.

John A. Hughes, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources 
and Environmental Control

Final Amendments to Shellfish Regulation Pertaining To 
Oysters

3768 Oyster Harvest Quota
1.0  The oyster harvest quota for the 2003 season is 

11,640 bushels.  The oyster harvest quota for the direct 
market fishery from the state owned natural beds will be 
established annually by the Department.

See 5 DE Reg. 2140 (5/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 1356 (4/1/03)

3772 Oyster Harvesting Seasons
1.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or to 

attempt to harvest oysters from the State’s natural oyster 
beds except during the seasons beginning at sunrise on May 
12, 2003 and ending at sunset on June 28, 2003 and 
beginning sunrise on September 1, 2003 and ending at sunset 
on December 31, 2003.  It shall be unlawful for any person 
to harvest or to attempt to harvest oysters from the State’s 
natural oyster beds except during a season that will be 
established by the Department.

See 5 DE Reg. 2140 (5/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 1356 (4/1/03)
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Board of Accountancy Ms. Diane Marky 4/5/2007

Board of Cosmetology and Barbering Ms. Veronica L. Hopkins 4/5/2007
Ms. Jennifer R. Reed 4/5/2007

Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators Mr. Alonzo R. Kieffer 4/5/2007

Board of Examiners in Optometry Ms. Ruth Banta 4/5/2007

Board of Massage and Bodywork Ms. Barbara A. Uniatowski 4/5/2007

Board of Medical Practice Galicano F. Inguito, Jr., M.D. 4/5/2007
Francis A. Marro, M.D. 4/5/2007
Roberto Villasenor, M.D. 4/5/2007

Board of Nursing Mr. Robert G. Draine 4/5/2007
Mr.  James H. Green 4/5/2007

Board of Pharmacy Mr. Angelo J. Chiari 7/1/2006

Community Involvement Advisory Council The Honorable Bethany Hall-Long, Ph.D., R.N.4/5/2007
Ms. Pamela Meitner 4/5/2007
Ms. La Vaida J. Owens-White 4/5/2007
Mr. Harold L. Truxon 4/5/2007

Community Notification Working Group Mr. James Apostolico Pleasure of the
Governor

Lewis L. Atkinson, Ed.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. William G. Bush, IV Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Carl Danberg Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Karen De Ramso Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Janice Mink Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Marc D. Richman Pleasure of the
Governor

Council on Housing Mr. Christopher W. White 4/5/2007

Council on Transportation Ms. Barbara Y. Washam 4/5/2007

Delaware Cancer Consortium Mr. William Bowser Pleasure of the
Governor

Christopher Frantz, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Delaware Cancer Consortium Stephen S. Grubbs, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Patricia P. Hoge, Ph.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Meg. Maley Pleasure of the
Governor

Julio Navarro, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Nicholas J. Petrelli, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware Commission for Women Ms. Sharon M. McDowell 4/5/2007
Ms. Marjorie D. Ressler 4/5/2007

Delaware Nursing Home Residents Quality Mr. Walter E. Ferris, Jr. 4/5/2007
Assurance Commission

Delaware State Arts Council Mr. Steven Boyden 4/5/2007

Diamond State Port Corporation Mr. Michael A. Begatto, Director, Board of 3/18/2007
Directors

Mr. Leonard W. Quill, Director, Board of 3/18/2007
Directors

Mr. Gerard L. Esposito, Board of Directors 3/18/2007

Governor’s Council on  Hispanic Affairs Ms. Nancy Bastidas 4/5/2007
Ms. Maria M. Matos 4/5/2007
Jaime H. Rivera, Ph.D. 4/5/2007

Greater Wilmington Convention and Vistors Bureau Mr. Ernest J. Camoirano 5/14/2004
Ms. Laura Scanlan 1/28/2007
Mr. David Z. Tuttleman 1/28/2007
Mr. Ferdinand Wieland 1/28/2007

Interagency Coordinating Council Mr. Dennis L. Rubino 4/5/2007

Interagency Council on Adult Literacy Ms. Ruth Campbell Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Carmen Knox Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Anne E. C. Norman Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Nancy J. Shields Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Hazel J. Showell Pleasure of the
Governor

Frances Tracy-Mumford, Ed.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Judicial Nominating Commission Mr. Grover Brown 4/5/2007
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Judicial Nominating Commission Mr. Irwin G. Burton 4/5/2007
Ms. Norma Lee Derrickson 4/5/2007
Ms. Elizabeth McGeever 4/5/2007

Statewide Independent Living Council Ms. Claire McDonough 2/17/2007

Statewide Labor Management Committee Mr. Eugene A. Hanks Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Thomas Ridgley Pleasure of the
Governor

Sussex County Ms. Thelma Monroe, Clerk of the Peace To serve a term to
expire when a 
successor shall be
duly qualified

Tax Appeals Board Ms. Joanne M. Winters 3/18/2007

Tourism Advisory Board Ms. Linda M. Graham 4/5/2007
Mr. Leroy Klein 4/5/2007
Mr. Xavier A. Teixido 3/23/2007
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

GENERAL NOTICE

Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) 
Caseload Reduction Credit Report

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Section 512, Delaware Health and Social 
Services/Division of Social Services (DHSS/DSS) initiated 
proceedings to provide information of public interest with 
respect to the TANF Caseload Reduction Credit Report for 
fiscal year 2004. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning this notice must submit same to Sharon 
L. Summers, Policy and Program Implementation Unit, 
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, 
Delaware 19720-0906 by May 30, 2004.  

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Provisions

Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) 
Caseload Reduction Credit Report 

Section 407(b)(3) of the Social Security Act (the ACT) 
requires a reduction of the State's required participation rate 
for a fiscal year by the number of percentage points that the 
average monthly number of families receiving assistance in 
the State in the immediately preceding fiscal year is less than 
the average monthly number of families that received 
assistance in the State in fiscal year (FY) 1995. 

The statute prohibits this reduction from including any 
caseload declines due to requirements of Federal law or due 
to differences in State eligibility criteria. This reduction in 
the participation rate is termed the TANF Caseload 
Reduction Credit. 

To receive a caseload reduction credit, a State must 
complete Form ACF-202, the Caseload Reduction Report, in 
accordance with the regulations at 45 CFR 261.40 et seq. 
The FY 2004 report provides the information needed to 
calculate a caseload reduction credit (FY 2004 vs. FY 1995), 
and thus determine the participation standard the State must 
meet for the fiscal year. Form ACF-202 and Attachment 1 to 

Form ACF-202 are available upon request via mail or fax.

ACF-202 TANF Caseload Reduction Credit Report

• Part I - Implementation of All Eligibility Changes 
Made by the State Since FY 1995

• Part II - Application Denials and Case Closures, By 
Reason

• Part III - Description of the Methodology Used to 
Calculate the Caseload Reduction Estimates 
(Attachment 1 to Form ACF-202)

• Part IV- Certification

Delaware TANF Caseload Reduction Credit Report for 
FY 2004

Attachment 1 to Form ACF-202

Part III—Description of the Methodology Used to 
Calculate the Caseload Reduction Estimates 

A. Actual Caseload Reduction and Adjustment for 
Excess MOE Funds

• Taking into account the pro rata reduction in the 
FY2003 caseload due to excess MOE spending, 
Delaware’s average monthly TANF caseload 
declined by 37.3 percent between FY 1995 and FY 
2003.  This caseload reduction number includes 
child-only cases, as instructed in ACF guidance.

• The following table shows how the pro rata 
reduction for excess MOE was calculated.

– Because Delaware served its two-parent 
caseload under a separate state program in FY 
2003, and because the State met its all-family 
work participation rate requirement in FY 
2003, the relevant spending floor is 75 percent 
of the basic MOE amount.

– The pro rata reduction takes into account the 

Delaware AFDC/TANF Caseload for FY 95 and FY 03
FY 1995 monthly average caseload 10,775
FY 2002 monthly average caseload, actual
(= 5,613 TANF + 112 SSP families)

5,735

FY 2003 monthly average caseload, adjusted 
for excess MOE spending

5,034

Caseload decline, FY1995 to FY 2003 (not 
including the effect of eligibility changes)

5,741

Sources:  FY1995 and FY2003 TANF caseloads from ACF/
OPRE; SSP caseload from DE DSS
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use of federal TANF funds.  The pro rata 
reduction is calculated as the State excess 
MOE divided by the average cost per case, 
where cost is the sum of State and federal 
TANF funds.

– The end result is a pro rata reduction of 
700cases.  This number is subtracted above 
from the actual FY 2003 monthly average 
caseload to yield the adjusted FY2003 caseload 
of 5,741.

B. Changes Required by Federal Law
1. Parents/caretakers must work after 24 months 

of assistance or when job-ready

• The estimated impact of this federal policy on 
Delaware’s caseload is 0, because the State’s 
“work for your welfare” requirement 
effectively supplants the federal policy.  The 
caseload impact of the State policy is described 
below in Section C.5.

2. Teen parents must live in adult-supervised 
settings to receive assistance

• The estimated impact of this federal policy 
since FY 1995 is 0, because the policy has been 

codified in the State manual for many years 
prior to FY 1995.

3. A State must deny assistance for 10 years to a 
person found to have fraudulently misrepresented 
residence in order to obtain assistance in more than one 
State

• For fraudulently misrepresenting residence, 
Delaware removes the adult’s needs from the 
grant, but allows children to receive assistance. 
Although the policy denies individuals rather 
than cases, it is possible that a case could be 
denied if removing an adult’s needs reduces the 
payment standard for a case so that it is no 
longer greater than countable income. 
Delaware’s automated TANF eligibility system 
is currently unable to identify such instances, if 
any exist.

4. A State must deny assistance for fugitive felons, 
probation violators, or parole violators

• For fugitive felons, probation violators, and 
parole violators, Delaware removes the adult’s 
needs from the grant, but allows children to 
receive assistance.  Although the policy denies 
individuals rather than cases, it is possible that 
a case could be denied if removing an adult’s 
needs reduces the payment standard for a case 
so that it is no longer greater than countable 
income.  Delaware’s automated TANF 
eligibility system is currently unable to identify 
such instances, if any exist.

5. A State must deny assistance for certain 
individuals convicted of drug-related felonies

• For persons convicted of drug-related felonies, 
Delaware removes the person’s needs from the 
grant, but allows children to receive assistance. 
Although the policy denies individuals rather 
than cases, it is possible that a case could be 
denied if removing an adult’s needs reduces the 
payment standard for a case so that it is no 
longer greater than countable income. 
Delaware’s automated TANF eligibility system 
is currently unable to identify such instances, if 
any exist.

6. Non-qualified aliens are ineligible for Federal 
TANF assistance

• The total number of cases denied as non-

Pro Rata Reduction for Excess MOE
(a) DE FY1994 

spending
$29,028,092

(b) MOE (75% of 
(a))

$21,771,069

(c) DE FY2003 
MOE spending

$28,670,088

(d) Federal TANF 
block grant 
funds spent in 
FY2003

$27,814,701

(e) Total TANF 
spending for 
FY2003

$56,484,789 = (c) + (d)

(f) Average 
spending per 
case

$9,850 = (e) / FY2003 caseload
= (e)/ (5,613 TANF + 
122 SSP)

(g)
Excess MOE 
for FY2003

$6,899,019
= (c) - (b)

(h)
Cases funded 
by excess MOE 700 = (g) / (f)
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 11, SATURDAY, MAY 1, 2004



GENERAL NOTICES1585
qualified aliens since the federal policy took 
effect is 135.  This includes denials in FY1998, 
FY1999, FY2000, FY2001 FY2002 and 
FY2003.

• The count of denied non-qualified aliens was 
adjusted to account for the fact that some of 
these cases would have left TANF for other 
reasons (e.g., due to employment or marriage) 
before or during FY2003 if they had not been 
denied as non-qualified aliens.  See Section D 
for a description of this adjustment.

C. State-Implemented Changes

1. Fill-the-Gap Budgeting for Earnings

• The average monthly number of cases in 
FY2003 that were subject to fill-the-gap 
budgeting for earnings is 783.  This number is 
based on a monthly query to the Delaware 
Client Information System (DCIS) on all open 
cases with earnings.  Cases were counted as 
subject to fill-the-gap budgeting for earnings in 
a month only if earnings minus applicable 
disregards were above the payment standard 
for the relevant family size.

2. Increased Resource Limit

• The average monthly number of cases open in 
FY2003 because of the increased resource 
limits is 281.  This number is based on a count 
of the number of cases open in a month whose 
assets—cash plus vehicle—were above the 
previous limits and below the current limit.

• Some cases were subject to both the increased 
resource limit and fill-the-gap budgeting for 
earnings.  To avoid such double-counting, the 
number of cases open because of the increased 
resource limit—281—excludes cases that were 
also open due to fill-the-gap budgeting.

3. Sanctions for Noncompliance with Contract of 
Mutual Responsibility (CMR) Provisions

• The average monthly number of cases closed in 
FY2003 because of CMR sanctions is 617. 
This number is based on monthly cumulative 
counts of cases closed due to CMR sanctions 
for FY 1996 through September 2003.

• The CMR sanction is a graduated fiscal 
sanction.  Sanctions for noncompliance are 
initially $50 and increase by $50 every month 
until there is compliance, or until the sanction 

amount exceeds the grant amount.  Cases are 
counted as closed due to CMR sanctions only 
when the sanction amount exceeds the grant 
amount.

• The CMR count was adjusted to account for 
the fact that some of these cases would have 
left TANF for other reasons (e.g., due to 
employment or marriage) before or during 
FY2003 if they had not been closed due to 
CMR sanctions.  See Section D for a 
description of this adjustment.

4. Sanctions for Noncompliance with Employment 
and Training Requirements

• The average monthly number of cases closed in 
FY 2003 because of noncompliance with 
employment and training (E&T) requirements 
is 732.

• The sanction for noncompliance with E&T 
requirements is a 1/3 reduction of the grant 
amount for the first occurrence, a 2/3 reduction 
for the second occurrence, and permanent case 
closure for the third occurrence.  Cases are 
counted as closed due to E&T sanctions only 
for the third occurrence.

• Because the E&T level 3 sanction is 
permanent, the number of cases closed due to 
E&T sanctions as of the beginning of FY2003 
is a cumulative count of all cases closed prior 
to FY2003.  To this number we add the average 
monthly number of cases closed due to E&T 
sanctions during FY2003.

• The E&T sanction count was adjusted to 
account for the fact that some of these cases 
would have left TANF for other reasons (e.g., 
due to employment or marriage) before or 
during FY2003 if they had not been closed due 
to E&T sanctions.  See Section D for a 
description of this adjustment.

5. Work for Your Welfare Requirement

• The average monthly number of cases closed in 
FY 2003 because of noncompliance with the 
“Work for Your Welfare” work requirement is 
1,265.

• The workfare count was adjusted to account for 
the fact that some of these cases would have 
left TANF for other reasons (e.g., due to 
employment or marriage) before or during 
FY2003 if they had not been closed due to 
noncompliance with the workfare requirement. 
See Section D for a description of this 
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adjustment.

6. Time Limit

• Prior to January 2000, Delaware limited receipt 
of Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 
(TANF) –for families in the Time Limited 
Program–to 48 cumulative months, subject to 
compliance with Contract of Mutual 
Responsibility and Work for Your Welfare 
requirements.

• Effective January 1, 2000 the time limit for 
receipt of TANF cash benefits is 36 cumulative 
months.  Individuals found eligible for TANF 
prior to January 1, 2000 will still have a 48 
month time limit even if they reapply for 
benefits after January 1, 2000.

• Thirty one (31) cases reached the four-year 
time limit during FY 2003.  Four (4) cases had 
reached the newer three-year time limit by the 
end of FY 2003.

D. Impacts of Eligibility Changes:   Adjusting for Cases 
that Would Have Left TANF for Other Reasons

• As noted in ACF’s guidance for submitting 
caseload reduction credit information, “a State 
may adjust its estimate of the impact of a 
change over time to account for likely caseload 
decline that would have occurred due to other 
factors, such as earnings, not associated with 
any eligibility change.” A given cohort of 
TANF cases will leave TANF over time, even 
absent sanctions and time limits.  Most 
research shows a monotonic decline over time 
in the rate of TANF receipt for a given cohort, 
even when recidivism is accounted for.

• We estimated the rate at which cases would 
have left over time in the absence of eligibility 
changes using TANF receipt rates for the 
control group from the random assignment 
evaluation of the State’s ABC program.  The 
control group is close to an ideal counterfactual 
because control group members were not 
subject to the eligibility changes. In addition, 
the control group receipt rates are measured 
taking into account recidivism.

• More specifically, we used TANF receipt rates 
for control group cases that were ongoing at the 
point of random assignment, because cases that 
are sanctioned off or reach the time limit are 
ongoing cases at the time they are sanctioned or 
reach the time limit.  Using TANF receipt rates 
for ongoing control group cases is more 

conservative than using TANF receipt rates for 
all control group cases, because exit rates are 
lower for ongoing cases.

• The TANF receipt rates for ongoing control 
group cases show that:

– On average over the first year since 
random assignment, 5.1 percent of cases left 
TANF;

– On average over the two years since 
random assignment, 7.1 percent of cases left 
TANF;

– On average over the three years since 
random assignment, 15.4 percent of cases left 
TANF;

– On average over the four years since 
random assignment, 43.3 percent of cases left 
TANF;

– On average over the five years since 
random assignment, 63.3 percent of cases left 
TANF; 

– On average over the six years since 
random assignment, 79.0 percent of cases left 
TANF; and

– On average over the seven years since 
random assignment, 88.7 percent of cases left 
TANF.

• These net exit rates were applied to the counts 
of cases that closed due to eligibility changes to 
get the adjusted number of cases closed due to 
eligibility changes.  For example, the average 
monthly number of cases closed due to CMR 
sanctions in FY1998 was 489.  Using the 
control group net exit rates, we assume that 
63.3 percent of these cases would have left for 
other reasons by the end of FY2003, so the 
adjusted number of cases closed due to CMR 
sanctions in FY 1998 was 179, which is 489*(1 
- .633).  A similar adjustment was made to 
cases closed due to sanctions during other 
years.

• This approach has two limitations.  First, 
ongoing control group cases became subject to 
welfare reform policies on average during 
follow-up quarter 6 or 7.  Even so, few or no 
control group cases would have reached the 
“work for your welfare” two-year time limit 
before another eight quarters, meaning follow-
up quarters 14 or 15.  The second limitation is 
that, at this point follow-up data are available 
only through quarter 10.  Consequently, net exit 
rates were extrapolated for quarters 11 through 
20, because the adjustment requires exit rates 
for five full years.
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State _Delaware____________ Fiscal Year 2004 
PART I – Implementation of All Eligibility Changes Made by the State Since FY 1995

# Eligibility Change Implementation Date Estimated Impact on 
Caseload Since Change 
(positive or negative impact)

Changes Required by Federal Law
1 Parents/caretakers must work after 24 months of 

assistance
 March 1997   0

2 Teen parents must live in adult-supervised settings Prior  to FY 1995   0
3 Deny assistance for 10 years for fraudulently 

misrepresenting residence to obtain assistance in more 
than one State

 March 1997   0

4 Deny assistance for fugitive felons, probation violators, 
or parole violators

 March 1997   0

5 Deny assistance for certain individuals convicted of 
drug-related felonies

 March 1997   0

6 Deny assistance to non-qualified aliens  March 1997 -88
State-Implemented Changes 
Changes Related to Income and Resources
1 Fill-the-gap budgeting for earnings  October 1995  +783
2 Increased resource limit  October 1995  +281

Changes Related to Categorical or Demographic Eligibility 
Factors

None.

Changes Related to Behavioral Requirements
3 Contract of Mutual Responsibility sanctions  October 1995   -617
4 Sanctions for noncompliance with employment and 

training requirements
 October 1995   -732

Changes Due to Full-Family Sanctions

Other Eligibility Changes 
5 Work for your welfare requirement October 1995  -1,265
6 Time limit October 1995   -62

Estimated Total Net Impact on the Caseload of All Eligibility 
Changes

  -1,718

Total Prior Year Caseload  5,735
Estimated Caseload Reduction Credit   37.3 percent (includes adjustment for 

excess MOE)
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State ___Delaware___________                                                                                Fiscal Year _2004______
PART II – Application Denials and Case Closures, By Reason

Fiscal Year 19951 Fiscal Year  2003

Reason for Application Denials Number Percentage Number Percentage
Failure to comply with procedural 
requirements

18 31.6 2,324 26.4

Income exceeds standards 15 26.3 3,702 42.0
Application withdrawn 14 24.6 0 0.0
No eligible child 0 0 1,619   18.4
Resources exceed limits 6 10.5 323 3.7
Not deprived of support or care 1 1.8 0 0.0
Ineligible alien 1 1.8 135 1.5
Other 2 3.5 712 8.1
1 Delaware’s FY 1995 denial  and 

closure numbers are based on the 

State’s quality control sample
Total Application Denials 57 100.1 8,816 100.0

Reasons for Case Closures Number Percentage Number Percentage
Failure to comply with procedural 
requirements

60 46.5 1,393 15.3

Earnings exceed standard of need 29 22.5 1,293 14.2
Voluntary withdrawal/recipient initiative 16 12.4 2,585 28.4
No longer eligible child 10 7.8 3,001 33.0
Moved or cannot locate 8 6.2 764 8.4
No longer deprived of support or care 3 2.3 0 0.0
Support increased from person inside or 
outside home

0 0 5 0.0

Resources exceed limits 0 0 65 0.7
Other cash income 2 1.6 0 0.0
Failure to comply with JOBS program 
requirements

0 0 0 0.0

Other 1 0.8 3 0

Total Case Closures 129 100.1 9,108 100.0

State ___Delaware___________                                                                                                               Fiscal Year _2004______
Part III – Description of the Methodology Used to Calculate the Caseload Reduction Estimates
(attach supporting data to this form)
   See attachment.
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State __Delaware__________ Fiscal Year _2004_____

PART IV -- Certification

I certify that we have provided the public an appropriate 
opportunity to comment on the estimates and methodology 
used to complete this report and considered those comments 
in completing it.  Further, I certify that this report 
incorporates all reductions in the caseload resulting from 
State eligibility changes and changes in Federal 
requirements since Fiscal Year 1995.  (A summary of public 
comments is attached.)

___________________________________________
(signature)

________________________________________
(name)

________________________________________
(title)
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PRIVATE 

INVESTIGATORS AND PRIVATE SECURITY 
AGENCIES

Public Notice

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Examiners of 
Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies, in 
accordance with Del. Code Title 24 Chapter 13 proposes to 
amend Adopted Rule 5.0 – Uniform, Patches, Badges, Seals, 
Vehicular Markings.  This amendment will clarify the use of 
unmarked vehicles.  If you wish to view the complete Rule, 
contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-5991.  Any 
persons wishing to present views may submit them in 
writing, by May 31, 2004, to Delaware State Police, 
Detective Licensing, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE 19903.  The 
Board will hold its quarterly meeting Thursday, July 29, 
2004, 10:00am, at the Delaware State Police Headquarters 
Conference Room, 1441 North DuPont Highway in Dover, 
Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

The Harness Racing Commission proposes to enact a 
new rule, Rule 8.3.3.5-Erythropietin, to provide that a horse 
that tests positive for EPO antibodies may be declared unfit 
to race, and may not resume racing until the owner or trainer 
submits a negative test for EPO antibodies.

The Commission will accept written comments from 
May 1, 2004 until May 31, 2004.  Written comments should 
be sent to John Wayne, Administrator of Racing, Department 
of Agriculture, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, De 19901. 
A public hearing will be held at Harrington Raceway, 
Harrington, DE on June 1, 2004 at 10:15 a.m. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly 
meeting on Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 1:00 p.m. in the 
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
GAMING CONTROL BOARD

NOTICE

The Delaware Gaming Control Board proposes to 
amend its Bingo Regulations pursuant to 28 Del.C. §1122(a) 
and 29 Del.C. §10115.  The Board proposes to amend Bingo 
Regulation 2.3 to provide that all bingo applications, original 
and supplemental, shall be filed with the Board at least six 
weeks before the scheduled event.  The Board will accept 
written comments from May 1, 2004 through May 30, 2004. 
The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule 
amendments on June 3, 2004 at 12:00 p.m. at the Division of 
Professional Regulation, Cannon Building, Second Floor 
Conference Room, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 203, 
Dover, DE.  Written comments should be submitted to 
Sherry Clark, Division of Regulation, Cannon Building, 
Suite 203, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS 
PROTECTION

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS), 
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, has 
prepared proposed regulations to amend the current 
regulations pertaining to assisted living facilities.  These 
proposed regulations redefine the terms “Incident” and 
“Reportable Incident,” and clarify requirements for assisted 
living facilities to report incidents.  The proposed regulations 
also amend the current regulations by requiring emergency 
electrical generators in assisted living facilities. 
Additionally, the proposed regulations revise the prohibition 
barring an individual with a central line from an assisted 
living facility by creating an exception for subcutaneous 
venous ports.

 INVITATION FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Public hearings will be held as follows:

Wednesday, June 2, 2004, 9:00 AM 
Room 301, Main Building
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 North DuPont Highway
New Castle

Thursday, June 3, 2004, 10:00 AM
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Department of Natural Resources &
Environmental Control Auditorium
89 Kings Highway
Dover

For clarification or directions, please call Gina 
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are also invited on these proposed 
regulations and should be sent to:

Katie McMillan
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

Written comments will be accepted until the conclusion 
of the June 3 public hearing.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Nature of the Proceedings

Pursuant to 16 Delaware Code, Section 133, the 
Department of Health and Social Services is proposing 
“Cancer Treatment Program Regulations” that will establish 
medical insurance coverage for Delawareans for treatment of 
cancer.  The program will serve Delawareans who are 
diagnosed with cancer, have no health insurance and meet 
certain financial eligibility criteria as established within 
these regulations.

Notice of Public Hearing

The Center of Health Information Management and 
Disease Prevention, Division of Public Health, Department 
of Health and Social Services will hold a public hearing to 
discuss the proposed Cancer Treatment Program 
Regulations.  The public hearing will be held on May 21, 
2004 at 9:30 a.m., in the Third Floor Conference Room of 
the Jesse Cooper Building, Federal and Water Streets, Dover, 
Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for 
review by calling the following location:

The Center of Health Information Management and 
Disease Prevention

Jesse Cooper Building
Federal and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware
Telephone: (302) 744-4544

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at 
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700 
by May 20, 2004.  Anyone wishing to submit written 

comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral testimony 
should submit such comments by May 31, 2004 to:

David P. Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Section 512, Delaware Health and Social 
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid/
Medical Assistance Program is proposing to amend the 
policy of the Food Stamp Program in the Division of Social 
Services Manual (DSSM).
 Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720 by May 31, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

REGISTER NOTICE

Title Of The Regulations:
Green Energy Fund Regulations

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
These regulations were originally proposed in the April 

2004 issue of the Register, however, due to a scheduling 
problem, the hearing previously scheduled for April 27 has 
been postponed until Wednesday, May 12, 2004, beginning 
at 6:00 P.M. in the conference room of the Delaware Energy 
Office located at 146 South Governors Avenue, Dover, DE.
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Notice Of Public Comment:
The rescheduled public hearing will be held Wednesday, 

May 12, 2004, beginning at 6:00 P.M. in the conference 
room of the Delaware Energy Office located at 146 South 
Governors Avenue, Dover, DE.

The proposed modification to the regulation may be 
inspected at the Department’s Energy Office located at 146 
South Governors Avenue, Dover, DE. The proposed 
modification was published in the April Issue of the 
Delaware Register of Regulations.  For additional 
information or any appointments to inspect the proposed 
modification to the regulation, please contact Charlie 
Smisson in Dover at (302) 739-1530.

Interested parties may submit comments in writing on 
this proposed modification to Charlie Smisson and/or 
statements and testimony may be presented either orally or 
in writing at the public hearing. It is requested that those 
interested in presenting statements at the public hearing 
register in advance by mail and that written statements and 
comments be addressed to:

Charlie Smisson
DNREC – Delaware Energy Office
146 South Governors Avenue
Dover, DE 19901

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

REGISTER NOTICE

Title Of The Regulations: 
Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste

(DRGSW)

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
The Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control (DNREC), Solid and Hazardous 
Waste Management Branch (SHWMB), is proposing to 
make changes to Delaware’s Regulations Governing Solid 
Waste.  To receive input from those potentially affected by 
the proposed changes, a workshop was conducted on 
November 12, 2003.   After reviewing comments and input 
received at the workshop, the SHWMB is proposing the 
amendments to DRGSW:

Notice Of Public Comment:
A public hearing on the proposed amendments to 

DRGSW will be held on Tuesday, June 8, 2004, 6:00 p.m. to 
9:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89 
Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  A downloadable version of the 
proposed amendments may be obtained by visiting 

DNREC’s Division of Air and Waste Management Website 
at:
 http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/dnrec2000/Divisions/AWM/
hw/indexsw.htm and clicking on “Proposed Amendments to 
the Solid Waste Regulations.”  A hardcopy version may also 
be obtained by contacting the Solid and Hazardous Waste 
Management Branch at (302) 739-3689.

Prepared By:
Donald K. Short, Environmental Scientist, Solid and 

Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-3689

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND 

CULTURAL AFFAIRS
NOTICE

Title: Amendments to Regulations Governing the 
Historic Preservation Tax Credit.

Brief Synopsis:
Chapter 18 Subchapter II of Title 30 containing the 

Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act was enacted by the 
General Assembly in 2001 and amended in 2002. Final 
program regulations were adopted in July, 2002 (6 DE Reg. 
108 (7/1/02). Chapter 18 Subchapter II of Title 30 was 
amended again in 2003 to provide credits for a resident 
curator program. The purpose of these proposed 
amendments to the regulations is to implement the code 
revisions of 2003. The proposed amendments modify 
sections of the regulations (§1.0, §3.3, §3.16, §3.16.2, §3.17, 
§8.0) as they may apply to the resident curator program. The 
Historic Preservation Tax Credit Act is designed to promote 
community revitalization and redevelopment through the 
rehabilitation of historic property by providing tax credits for 
expenditures made to rehabilitate any certified historic 
property. 

Notice of Public Comment:
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C. 

Chapter 101, the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs 
proposes to amend rules and regulations pursuant to its 
authority under 30 Del.C. §1815(b). The Division will 
receive and consider input from any person in writing on the 
proposed Rules and Regulations. Any written comments 
should be submitted to the Division in care of Daniel R. 
Griffith, Director, Division of Historical and Cultural 
Affairs, 21 The Green, Ste. B, Dover, DE 19901. The final 
date to submit written comments is June 1, 2004. Anyone 
wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed amendments to the
Rules and Regulations should notify Daniel R. Griffith at the 
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above address or call 302-739-5685. This notice will be 
published in two newspapers of general circulation.

Prepared by:
Daniel R. Griffith, Director
302-739-5685
April 10, 2004

HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION
NOTICE

The State Human Relations Commission  in accordance 
with 6 Del.C. §4616 has proposed changes to  rules and 
regulations relating to  fair housing.  The proposed rules 
clarify the procedures and the role of the Division of Human 
Relations in the administrative investigation and conciliation 
of complaints filed under the Delaware Fair Hosing Act.
Other rules added are  similar to the federal regulations 
applicable to the federal Fair Housing Act.  For example, if 
there is no answer is filed in response to a formal charge of 
discrimination by the Division, the factual allegations are 
deemed admitted.   Regulations have been added that apply 
to housing for older persons.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed changes 
on June 10, 2004 at 7:30 p.m. at Delaware State University, 
MBNA Building, Second Floor, Room 2004, Route 13, 
Dover, DE .   The Commission will receive and consider 
input from any person on the proposed Regulation. Written 
comment can be submitted at any time prior to the hearing to 
Sheryl Paquette, Division of Human Relations, 805 River 
Road, Dover DE 19901.  In addition to publication in the 
Register of Regulations, copies of the proposed regulations 
can be obtained Sheryl Paquett, Division of Human 
Relations by calling her at (302)739-4567. Notice of the 
hearing and the nature of the proposal are also published in 
two Delaware newspapers of general circulation.
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SUBSCRIBE TO THE OFFICIAL 
SOURCE OF COMPLETE 
INFORMATION ON DELAWARE 
STATE REGULATIONS

THE 
DELAWARE 
REGISTER 

OF 
REGULATIONS

A single-source document for regulatory 
information, including proposed and adopted text 
of state regulations, all emergency  regulations, 
Governors Executive Orders and Appointments, 
Attorney General Opinions, General Notices and 
notices of public hearings and open meetings of state agencies.   

PUBLISHED MONTHLY - $135.00 PER YEAR

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
YES, PLEASE ENTER MY SUBSCRIPTION FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER AT $135/YEAR.
You will be billed upon receipt of your order.   Subscription period runs from January to December. Mid-
year subscriptions will be prorated at $11 per issue. Back issues are available at $12 per issue. Subscription 
fees are non refundable. 

NAME ________________________________ADDRESS ___________________________________

ORGANIZATION _______________________         CITY _______________________________________

PHONE _______________       STATE ___________   ZIP _____________    EMAIL __________________

Please clip and return to: REGISTRAR OF REGULATIONS
    LEGISLATIVE HALL, DOVER, DELAWARE 19903 

FAX: 302-739-3895
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Visit The Delaware General 
Assembly On The Web! 

  The General Assembly Website features:
• Current legislative information
• Information on both the Senate and House of Representatives
• Access to the Delaware Code
• Access to the Delaware Register of Regulations
• Information on the legislative process
• Various reports and publications

The General Assembly Website is located at:
http://www.legis.state.de.us
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LEGISLATIVE BILL SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES
Order Form  (please print or type)

NAME ________________________________  ADDRESS __________________________________

ORGANIZATION _______________________     CITY _________________   FAX ______________

PHONE _____________      STATE ___________   ZIP _____________    EMAIL ________________

Please check the specific service(s) to which you wish to subscribe :

                    SERVICES                                                                                                       ANNUAL COST
One copy of all legislation introduced:

_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $110.00
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $850.00

One copy of all legislation signed by the Governor:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $215.00

One copy of House and Senate calendars:
_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $110.00
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $850.00

One copy of all Governor’s Advisories:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $30.00

Daily Legislative Agendas and weekly Standing Committee Notices:
_ Via Fax  -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $135.00

* Subscribers who choose to pick up their materials at Legislative Hall are requested to do so at least once a week, due to 
limited on-site file space.  Thank you.

If you have any questions about our subscription services, please contact the Division of Research by dialing, toll-free, (800) 
282-8545 (in  state) or via E-Mail at jeffrey.hague@state.de.us.  Please dial (302) 744-4114 if you are calling from outside 
Delaware.

Please return this order form to the Division of Research at P.O. Box 1401, Legislative Hall, Dover, Delaware, 19903, or fax it 
to (302) 739-3895 as soon as possible.  (Don’t forget to make a copy for your own files).  You will be billed upon our receipt 
of your order. Your service(s) will begin, promptly, when payment is received and the General Assembly convenes.  Thank 
you for using the Subscription Services of the Division of Research.
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ACCESS THE DELAWARE CODE 
ON-LINE! 

• Up-to-date version of the Code reflecting recent legislative 
enactments
• Comprehensive full text search capabilities.

Visit the Delaware Code On-Line at:

http://www.delcode.state.de.us/
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