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INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF
REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an of-
ficial State publication established by authority of
69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of
each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regula-
tions that are proposed to be adopted, amended or
repealed and any emergency regulations promul-
gated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the
following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders

• Governor’s Appointments

• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text

• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices

• Other documents considered to be in the
public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

1:1 Del. R. 35 - 37 (July 1, 1997) refers to
Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 35 - 37 of the Delaware
Register issued on July 1, 1997.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested
parties may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full
text of such proposals, together with copies of
the existing regulation being adopted, amended
or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in
the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of
this title.  The notice shall describe the nature of
the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority
of the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing,
of the place to which and the final date by which
such views may be submitted; or if at a public
hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.
If a public hearing is to be held, such public
hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days
following publication of notice of the proposal
in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing
will be held on the proposal, notice of the time,
date, place and a summary of the nature of the
proposal shall also be published in at least 2
Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have
made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of i ts regulation-making
proceedings.

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$100.00  from January - December.  Single
copies are available at a cost of $9.00 per issue,
including postage.  For more information
contact the Division of Research at 302-739-
4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

The opportunity for public comment shall
be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of Regulations.
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CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE
DATES FOR THE DELAWARE

REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt
within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and
information submitted, together with summaries of
the evidence and information by subordinates, the
agency shall determine whether a regulation should
be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its
conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A
brief summary of the evidence and information
submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of
fact with respect to the evidence and information,
except where a rule of procedure is being adopted
or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation or to take no action and the
decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact
text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the
order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions
required by the law under which the agency has
authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a
quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than
10 days from the date the order adopting, amending
or repealing a regulation has been published in its
final form in the Register of Regulations, unless
such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an
emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action
in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be subject
to review until final agency action on the proposal
has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,
no judicial review of a regulation is available unless
a complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30
days of the day the agency order with respect to the
regulation was published in the Register of
Regulations.

INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING
   TIME

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 1 4:30 P.M.
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CUMUL ATIVE TABLES

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or
repealed in the preceding issues of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation
to that issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are
designated with (Prop.);  final regulations are designated with (Final);  Emergency regulations
are designated with (Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).

Attorney General’s Office
Opinion No. 97I-B01, FOIA Complaint against the Town of Laurel ..... 1:1 Del.R. 74
Opinion No. 97I-B02, FOIA Inquiry ......................................................... 1:1 Del.R. 75
Opinion No. 97I-B03, FOIA Complaint against Woodbridge

 School District ..................................................................................... 1:1 Del.R. 76
Opinion No. 97I-B04, Access to DELJIS ................................................. 1:1 Del.R. 77
Opinion No. 97I-B05, FOIA Complaint against the Town of Laurel ..... 1:1 Del.R. 79

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
1997 State Fire Prevention Regulations.................................................... 1:2 Del.R. 197 (Final)
Ambulance Service Regulations................................................................ 1:1 Del.R. 35 (Prop.)

Department of Administrative Services
Division of Professional Regulation

Board of Chiropractic ........................................................................... 1:1 Del.R. 45 (Final)
Board of Dental Examiners.................................................................. 1:5 Del.R. 543 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 852 (Final)
Board of Electrical Examiners 1:7 Del.R. 795 (Prop.)
Board of Examiners in Optometry ....................................................... 1:7 Del.R. 820 (Prop.)
Board of Examiners of Psychologists.................................................. 1:8 Del.R. 1009 (Prop.)
Board of Nursing, Advanced Practice Nurse...................................... 1:1 Del.R. 15 (Prop.)
Board of Nursing................................................................................... 1:2 Del.R. 146 (Final)
Board of Pharmacy ............................................................................... 1:4 Del.R. 428 (Prop.)
Board of Physical Therapy ................................................................... 1:2 Del.R. 101 (Prop.)

1:6  Del.R. 714 (Final)
Board of Veterinary Medicine ............................................................. 1:7 Del.R. 805 (Prop.)
Nursing Home Administrators ............................................................. 1:2 Del.R. 141 (Final)
Council on Real Estate Appraisers ...................................................... 1:8 Del.R. 1172 (Prop.)
Real Estate Commission....................................................................... 1:8 Del.R. 1015 (Prop.)
Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council ...................................... 1:8 Del.R. 1022 (Prop.)

Department of Agriculture
Aquaculture Regulations ............................................................................ 1:4 Del.R. 309 (Prop.)
Delaware Harness Racing Commission .................................................... 1:2 Del.R. 92 (Prop.)
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1:5 Del.R. 498 (Final)
1:5 Del.R. 541 (Prop.)

Whips & Blood Gases..........................................................................1:7 Del.R. 921 (Final)
Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission..........................................1:2 Del.R. 100 (Prop.)

1:3 Del.R. 248 (Prop.)
1:5 Del.R. 508 (Final)
1:6 Del.R. 649 (Prop.)
1:6 Del.R. 713 (Final)

Bleeder Program 1:8 Del.C. 1183 (Final)

Department of Education
Agriscience Education Framework............................................................1:2 Del.R.  154 (Final)
Delaware Administrator Standards............................................................1:6 Del.R. 650 (Prop.)

1:8 Del.R. 1184 (Final)
Delaware Teaching Standards....................................................................1:6 Del.R. 654 (Prop.)

1:8 Del.R. 1188 (Final)
Driver Education.........................................................................................1:5 Del.R. 559 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 964 (Final)
DSSAA Requirements................................................................................1:2 Del.R. 172 (Final)
Education of Homeless Children & Youth...............................................1:5 Del.R. 556 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 962 (Final)
Foreign Language Content Standards........................................................1:2 Del.R. 156 (Final)
Glossary of Terms, Manual for Certification of Professional

School Personnel...................................................................................1:2 Del.R. 158 (Final)
Guidelines for Approval of School Improvement Grants........................1:7 Del.R. 815 (Prop.)
High School Diploma & the Record of Performance...............................1:5 Del.R. 554 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 960 (Final)
Interscholastic Athletics.............................................................................1:4 Del.R. 361 (Prop.)

1:6 Del.R. 724 (Final)
Manual for Certification of Professional School Personnel....................1:2 Del.R. 163 (Final)
Membership in Fraternities & Sororities...................................................1:4 Del.R.  363 (Prop.)

1:6 Del.R. 723 (Final)
Regulations on School/Police Relations...................................................1:3 Del.R. 256 (Prop.)

1:5 Del.R. 510 (Final)
Repeal of certain parts of section V, Vocational Technical

Education Programs..............................................................................1:6 Del.R. 664 (Prop.)
1:8 Del.R. 1199 (Final)

Repeal of certain regulations concerning Student Activities...................1:4 Del.R. 365 (Prop.)
1:6 Del.R. 726 (Final)

Repeal of Minimum-Maximum Program Assignment, Experimentation
and Modification...................................................................................1:7 Del.R. 817 (Prop.)

Repeal of six Regulations that are in the Delaware Code........................1:7 Del.R. 817 (Prop.)
Repeal of Section B.1.a, Discipline Powers & Responsibilities

of Superintendents................................................................................1:3 Del.R. 263 (Prop.)
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1:5 Del.R. 517 (Final)

Repeal of three regulations.........................................................................1:8 Del.R. 1029 (Prop.)
Requirements for Vocational Technical Education Programs.................1:6 Del.R. 662 (Prop.)

1:8 Del.R. 1196 (Final)
Satellite School Agreements......................................................................1:2 Del.R. 170 (Final)
School Bus Regulations..............................................................................1:2 Del.R. 87 (Prop.)

1:5 Del.R. 473 (Final)
Smoking Regulations..................................................................................1:8 Del.R. 1029 (Prop.)
State Content Standards..............................................................................1:2 Del.R. 151 (Final)
Visual & Performing Arts Content Standards..........................................1:2 Del.R. 90 (Prop.)

1:6 Del.R. 729 (Final)
Visual & Performing Arts Graduation Requirements..............................1:2 Del.R. 88 (Prop.)

Department of Finance
Div. of Revenue, Delaware State Lottery Office,

Background Investigation Requirements for Lottery Employees.....1:8 Del.R. 1032 (Prop.)
Video Lottery Employee Organization and Lottery Employee

Regulations............................................................................................1:3 Del.R. 243 (Prop.)
1:8 Del.R. 1202 (Final)

Regulations dealing with Americans with Disabilities Act...............1:7 Del.R. 826 (Prop.)
Technical Information Memo. 97-6...........................................................1:6 Del.R. 712 (Prop.)
Technical Memo. 98-1, Check Boxes.......................................................1:8 Del.R. 1033 (Prop.)

Department of Health & Social Services
Adult Abuse Registry.................................................................................1:7 Del.R. 803 (Prop.)
Amendments to Medicaid Provider Manuals, General Policy Manual,

Long-Term Care Provider Manual, and others...................................1:8 Del.R. 1035 (Prop.)
Ambulance Provider Policy Manual, Criteria for Non-Emergency

Ambulance Transportation for Medicaid Clients in a
Nursing Facility....................................................................................1:4 Del.R. 394 (Prop.)

1:8 Del.R. 1214 (Final)
Assisted Living Agencies, Regulations for...............................................1:4 Del.R. 300 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 951 (Final)
DHS revision of Public Law 104-193, the Personal Responsibility

and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act, Se. 403, 8 USC 1613,
the 1993 Mickey Leland Childhood Hunger Relief Act, the Food,
Agriculture, Conservation and Trade Act Amendments of 1991
Public Law 104-203, Title 38, USC, and DSSM Sec. 4006 & 4012. 1:4 Del.R. 313 (Prop.)

Division of Public Health,
Licensing & Registration of Operators of Public Water

Supply Systems...............................................................................1:1 Del.R. 28 (Prop.)
1:7 Del.R. 932 (Final)

Plumbing Code Regulations.................................................................1:7 Del.R. 830 (Final)
Public Pools...........................................................................................1:2 Del.R. 174 (Final)
Trauma System Rules...........................................................................1:2 Del.R. 110 (Prop.)
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1:7 Del.R. 891 (Final)

Prehospital Trauma Triage Scheme, ALS & BLS (Errata)................1:3 Del.R. 213 (Prop.)
DMAP, Amendments to Medicaid Eligibility Policy Manual.................1:8 Del.R. 1058 (Prop.)
DMAP Sec. 410.15, Vehicles....................................................................1:4 Del.R. 368 (Prop.)

1:8 Del.R. 1211 (Final)
DMAP Sec. 420 Personal Needs Allowance............................................1:4 Del.R. 369 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 921 (Final)
1:8 Del.R. 1212 (Final)

DSSM Section 8000, A Better Chance Program......................................1:4 Del.R. 297 (Prop.)
Durable Medical Equipment Manual.........................................................1:5 Del.R. 563 (Prop.)

1:8 Del.R. 1213 (Final)
Inpatient Hospital Provider Manual..........................................................1:4 Del.R. 370 (Prop.)
Long-Term Care Provider Manual, Billing of Third Party Payer...........1:4 Del.R. 394 (Prop.)
Long-Term Care Provider Manual, Criteria for Non-Emergency

Ambulance Transportation for Medicaid Clients in a
Nursing Facility....................................................................................1:4 Del.R. 394 (Prop.)

Outpatient Hospital Provider Manual........................................................1:4 Del.R. 383 (Prop.)
Revision of Regulation of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program

Contained in DMAP Sec. 420..............................................................1:3 Del.R. 214 (Emer.)
1:7 Del.R. 858 (Final)

Revision of Regulation Contained in DSSM 8201...................................1:5 Del.R. 456 (Emer.)
1:6 Del.R. 711 (Prop.)

Revision of Regulation Contained in DSSM 8301.3...............................1:3 Del.R. 215 (Emer.)
Revision of Regulation DSSM 8205.2, 8304 & 8305..............................1:6 Del.R. 709 (Prop.)

Department of Justice, Delaware Securities Act.............................................1:8 Del.R. 1078 (Prop.)

Department of Labor
Div. of Employment & Training

Apprenticeship Programs.....................................................................1:1 Del.R. 21 (Prop.)
Governor’s Advisory Council on Apprenticeship & Training..........1:8 Del.R. 1116 (Prop.)

Div. of Industrial Affairs
Prevailing Wage Regulations...............................................................1:5 Del.R. 519 (Prop.)

1:8 Del.R. 1218 (Final)
Procedures of Equal Employment Review Board..............................1:5 Del.R. 537 (Prop.)

1:8 Del.R. 1215 (Final)
Special Employment Practices relating to Health Care & Child Care

Facilities & Adult Abuse Registry Check.....................................1:5 Del.R. 533 (Prop.)
1:8 Del.R. 1216 (Final)

Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Div. of Air & Waste Management, Air Quality Management Section,

NO
x
 Budget Program............................................................................1:5 Del.R. 564 (Prop.)

1:8 Del.R. 1220 (Final)
Regulation No. 2...................................................................................1:1 Del.R. 48 (Final)
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Reg. No. 20, Sec. No. 28, Standards for Performance for

Municipal Solid Waste Landfills.........................................................1:4 Del.R. 330 (Prop.)
Div. of Air & Waste Management

Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste...........................................1:3 Del.R. 278 (Final)
Transportation Conformity Regulation No. 32...................................1:8 Del.R. 1125 (Prop.)

Div. of Fish & Wildlife,
Atlantic Sturgeon Regulations.............................................................1:7 Del.R. 787 (Prop.)
Horseshoe Crab.....................................................................................1:7 Del.R. 807 (Prop.)
Shellfish Reg. No. S-41, Growing Areas Closed to Harvesting

Clams, Mussels & Oysters..............................................................1:4 Del.R. 354 (Prop.)
1:7 Del.R. 835 (Final)

Shellfish Regulation No. S-48. Conch Minimum Size Limits..........1:3 Del.R. 250 (Prop.)
1:7 Del.R. 835 (Final)

Shellfish Reg. No. 55, Crab Trotlines & S-56, Crab Traps...............1:4 Del.R.  354 (Prop.)
1:7 Del.R. 837 (Final)

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8............................................................1:3 Del.R. 270 (Final)
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 25 for Atlantic Shark...........................1:4 Del.R. 345 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 844 (Final)
1:8 Del.R. 1005 (Errata)

Div. of Water Resources, Regulations for Licensing Operators
of Wastewater Facilities.......................................................................1:4 Del.R. 323 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 924 (Final)
Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution...........................1:4 Del.R. 395 (Prop.)

Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families
Division of Family Services

Licensing Requirements for Residential Child Care Facilities
    and Day Treatment Programs..........................................................1:6 Del.R. 668 (Prop.)

Office of Child Care Licensing, Child Abuse Registry...........................1:7 Del.R. 801 (Prop.)

Department of State, Office of the State Bank Commissioner
Regulation No. 5.1101(f).0001, Election to be treated for tax purposes as a

“Subsidiary corporation” of a Delaware chartered banking organization or
trust company, national bank having its principal office in Delaware, or
out-of-state bank that operates a resulting branch in Delaware........1:3 Del.R.  219 (Prop.)

1:5 Del.R. 474 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0002, Instructions for preparation of Franchise

Tax Report.............................................................................................1:3 Del.R. 221 (Prop.)
1:5 Del.R. 476 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0003, Estimated Franchise Tax Report........1:3 Del.R. 224 (Prop.)
1:5 Del.R. 479 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0004, Final Franchise Tax Report................1:3 Del.R. 226 (Prop.)
maintaining branches in this State.......................................................1:3 Del.R. 228 (Prop.)

1:5 Del.R. 481 (Final)
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Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0005, Instructions for preparation of

Franchise Tax for Federal Savings Banks not headquartered in this
state but maintaining branches in this state 1:3 Del.R. 228 (Prop.)

1:5 Del.R. 483 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0006, Estimated Franchise Tax Report Federal

Savings Banks not headquartered in Delaware...................................1:3 Del.R. 231 (Prop.)
1:5 Del.R. 486 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0007, Final Franchise Tax Report Federal
Savings Banks not headquartered in Delaware...................................1:3 Del.R. 232 (Prop.)

1:5 Del.R. 487 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1101.etal.0008, Instructions for calculation of

Employment Tax Credits......................................................................1:3 Del.R. 233 (Prop.)
1:5 Del.R. 488 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0009, Instructions for preparation of
Franchise Tax for Resulting Branches in this state of out-of-state
banks......................................................................................................1:3 Del.R.  235 (Prop.)

1:5 Del.R. 490 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0010, Estimated Franchise Tax Report for

Resulting Branches in this state of out-of-state banks.......................1:3 Del.R. 239 (Prop.)
1:5 Del.R. 494 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1101etal.0011, Final Franchise Tax Report for Resulting
Branches in this state for out-of-state banks.......................................1:3 Del.R.  241 (Prop.)

1:5 Del.R. 496 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.131.0002, Procedures Governing the Creation &

Existence of an Interim Bank...............................................................1:5 Del.R. 592 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 5.2111(b).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume......1:7 Del.R. 812 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 5.2111/2210/2906.0006, Report of Delaware Assests... 1:7 Del.R. 815 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 5.2210(e).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume.......1:7 Del.R. 813 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 5.2318.0001, Report of Delaware Sale of Checks, Drafts,

and Money Orders Volume..................................................................1:7 Del.R. 813 (Prop.)

Regulation No. 5.2906(e).0003, Report of Delaware Loan Volume
Motor Vehicle Installment Contracts..................................................1:7 Del.R. 814 (Prop.)

Regulation No. 5.701/774.0001, Procedures for applications to form a
bank, bank & trust company or limited purpose trust company
pursuant to Chapter 7 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code.....................1:5 Del.R. 595 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 862 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.761.0017, Incidental Powers........................................1:5 Del.R. 597 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 865 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.770.0009, establishment of a branch office by a bank

or trust company...................................................................................1:5 Del.R. 598 (Prop.)
1:7 Del.R. 866 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.771.0005, Procedures governing applications to open
branch offices outside the State of Delaware......................................1:5 Del.R. 599 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 867 (Final)
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Regulation No. 5.795etal.0016, Merger with out-of-state banks............1:5 Del.R. 601 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 869 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.833.0004, Application by an out-of-state savings

institution, out-of-state savings & loan holding company or out-of-
state bank holding company to acquire a Delaware savings bank or
Delaware savings & loan holding company........................................1:5 Del.R. 602 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 870 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.844.0009, Application by an out-of-state bank holding

company to acquire a Delaware bank or bank holding company......1:5 Del.R. 605 (Prop.)
1:7 Del.R. 873 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.777.0002, Application for a certificate of public
convenience & advantage for a limited purpose trust company pursuant
to subchapter V of Chapter 7 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code.........1:5 Del.R. 609 (Prop.)

1:7 Del.R. 877 (Final)
Governor’s Office

Amendment to Executive Order No. 46....................................................1:3 Del.R. 279
Appointments & Nominations...................................................................1:1 Del.R. 68

1:2 Del.R. 200
1:3 Del.R. 281
1:4 Del.R. 438
1:5 Del.R. 623
1:6 Del.R. 740
1:7 Del.R. 970
1:8 Del.R. 1248

Executive Order No. 45, Employee & Labor - Management Relations
in State Government.............................................................................1:1 Del.R. 63

Executive Order No. 46, Governor’s Task Force on Violent Crime.......1:1 Del.R. 64
Amendment to Executive Order No. 46..............................................1:3 Del.R. 279

Executive Order No. 47, Executive Committee of the Workforce
Development Council...........................................................................1:1 Del.R. 65

Industrial Accident Board.................................................................................1:5 Del.R. 548 (Prop.)
1:7 Del.R. 938 (Final)

Proposed Amendments, Rules 8, 9, 30 & 31............................................ 1:8 Del.R. 1153 (Prop.)

Insurance Department, Regulation No. 75, Written Notice by Insurers of
Payment of Third Party Claims..................................................................1:5 Del.R.  591 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 47.......................................................................................1:8 Del.R.  1155 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 63.......................................................................................1:8 Del.R. 1160 (Prop.)

Public Service Commission
Regulation Docket No. 12, Notice of Investigation & Formulation of

Rules Concerning Pay Phone Services................................................1:1 Del.R. 5 (Prop.)
Regulation Docket No. 12, Investigation & Adoption of Rules to

Govern Payphone Services within the State of Delaware..................1:3 Del.R. 263 (Prop.)
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1:6 Del.R. 730 (Final)

Regulation Docket No. 47, Notice of Proposed Rule making Concerning
Intrastate Discounts for Schools & Libraries......................................1:1 Del.R.  9 (Prop.)

Regulation Docket No. 47, Notice of Proposed Rule making Concerning
Intrastate Discounts for Schools & Libraries......................................1:2 Del.R. 139 (Final)

Regulation Docket No. 47, Promulgation of Rules Regarding the Discounts
for Intrastate Telecommunications & Information Services Provided
to Schools & Libraries..........................................................................1:5 Del.R.  462 (Final)

State Personnel Commission
Merit Employee Relations Board Regulations.........................................1:3 Del.R. 274 (Final)

Violent Crimes Compensation Board..............................................................1:8 Del.R. 1161 (Prop.)
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THE FULL-TEXT  OF THE FOLLOWING  FINAL

REGULATIONS WERE NOT PUBLISHED IN THE

FEBRUARY ISSUE OF THE REGISTER.  THE ORDER

AND FINAL  REGULATIONS FOLLOW

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION  OF INDUSTRIAL  AFFAIRS

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,
Section 8503(7) (29 Del.C. §8503(7))

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

IN RE |  NATURE OF THE
ADOPTION OF |  PROCEEDINGS
REGULATIONS |  SUMMARY OF THE
REGARDING |  EVIDENCE FINDINGS
THE IMPLEMENTA- |  OF FACT, CONCLU-
TION OF 19 Del.C. 708 |  SIONS OF LAW
11 Del.C. 8563 &  564 |  DECISION TO ADOPT

ORDER

Nature of the Proceedings
1. Pursuant to notice in accordance with 29 Del. C. §

10115, the Department of Labor proposed Regulations to
provide guidance to employers and applicants regarding
the implementation of 19 Del. C. § 708, 11 Del. C. §8563 and
11 Del. C. §8564.

2. A public hearing was held on Monday, November
25, 1997, in Conference Room 049 of the Department of
Labor Office Building, 4425 North Market Street,
Wilmington, Delaware, the time and place designated to
receive written and oral comments.

3. As designated by the Secretary of Labor, Darrell
J. Minott, Karen Peterson, Director of the Division of
Industrial Affairs, was present to receive testimony and
evidence at the November 25, 1997 hearing in Wilmington,
Delaware.

Summary of the Evidence

Those individuals testifying at the November 25, 1997
hearing in Wilmington, Delaware, and a summary of said
testimony is as follows:

4.  Mr. Joseph Letnaunchyn, President and Chief
Executive Officer of the Delaware Healthcare Association,
provided general comments on the regulatory process and
comments on specific provisions of the regulations.  He
offered the following suggestions:

Regulation II A. (SERVICE LETTER) which defines
persons for whom the service letter must be obtained

should be changed.  He stated that the Regulation should
be modified to indicate that service letters must be obtained
only for persons seeking employment in a health care
facility or child care facility that affords direct access to
persons receiving care;

Regulation II A. (SERVICE LETTER) should be
modified to specify the minimal information which must be
included in the reference letter for a person seeking
employment who was not previously employed or was self-
employed.  Alternatively, Mr. Letnaunchyn proposed that
the Regulation specify that, “... the information contained
in a reference letter should be considered acceptable based
on the judgment of the designated representative of the
health care provider or day care facility that receives, and
relies on, such reference letter.”;

The Department of Labor should further clarify or
define the term “good faith” effort in Regulation III C. (1)
(a);

Regulation IV. B. 1 regarding the method of
contacting the Department of Children, Youth and Their
Families for the Child Abuse Registry Check is unclear
and should contain more specific information;

Regulation V. B. 1 regarding the method of
contacting the Ombudsman’s Office for the Adult Abuse
Registry Check is unclear and should contain more specific
information;

The Regulations should address the
responsibilit ies of temporary agencies that supply
employees to health care providers and day care facilities;
and,

The Regulations should clarify that health care
providers who operate any type of school-based programs
must comply with the State’s hiring practices and reporting
requirements for educational facilities and are not required
to comply with the provisions of Titles 11 and 19, as
specified in this legislation.

Mr. Letnaunchyn submitted a written copy of his
comments which was made a part of the record by Director
Peterson.  A copy of his submission is attached as Exhibit
“A”.

5. A written submission was received at the hearing
from Pauline D. Koch, Administrator, Office of Child Care
Licensing.  In her submission, Ms. Koch requested that
Regulation II. (DEFINITIONS) Section C. be changed from
“...the Department of Services for Children, Youth and their
Families” to “...the Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families.”  She further requested that
Regulation IV B. 1. b. be changed to, “The employer must
contact in writing the Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families.”

She further proposed that the t i t le of the
Department in Regulation IV. C. and VI. B. 2 be changed
from “...the Division of Children, Youth and Their Families”
to “...the Department of Services for Children, Youth and
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Their Families”.  A copy of Ms. Koch’s submission is
included as Exhibit “B”.

6. Prior to the hearing, a written submission was
received from Robert Stewart, Esquire, recommending
changes to the text, such as underlining all subheadings.
Mr. Stewart also proposed adding the words “ and fully
releasing the employer from liability for doing so” to
Regulation II. C. subsections 1. b. and 2.b.; Regulation IV.
B. subsection 1. a. and 2. b.; and Regulation V. B.
subsection 1. a and 2. b.  Mr. Stewart also suggested
numerous minor changes and additions to the wording of
the Regulations.  A copy of Mr. Stewart’s written
submission is attached as Exhibit “C”.

7. Director Peterson stated that the record would be
held open for a period of thirty (30) days following the
hearing in order to receive further written submissions.
No further written submissions were received.

Findings of Fact

Recommendations were given to the Secretary of
Labor fol lowing the public hearing process and
consideration of al l  oral testimony and writ ten
documentation received.  The Department of Labor’s
findings regarding the issues raised at the hearing are as
follows:

8.   The Department of Labor will correct the numbering
of the Regulations by re-numbering Regulation II.
(“SERVICE LETTER”) as Regulation III.

9. The proposal that Regulation III. A. be amended
for clarification is accepted..  The word “person” will be
changed to “person seeking employment (as defined in
Regulation I. A.)” in order to conform with the statute.

10. The proposal that Regulation III A. be changed
to add the words “... information contained in the letters of
reference should be considered acceptable based on the
judgment of the designated representative of the health
care provider or day care facility that receives, and relies
on, such reference letter.” is rejected.  Authority for this
language is not contained within the statute.

11. The proposal that the last sentence of Regulation
III C. 1. a. further clarify methods by which employers can
prove “good faith effort” is accepted.  The new last
sentence will read, “In order to prove that the service letter
form has been sent, an employer may send the form by fax,
Certified Mail or other means which provides proof of
mailing, faxing, delivery or receipt.”

12. The proposal to change Regulation IV. B. 1. and V.
B. 1. is accepted (in part) and rejected (in part).

Regulation IV. B. 1.c. will be changed to add the words
“in writing”.

The last sentence of Regulation V. A. will be
changed to “The Adult Abuse Registry check shall be
performed by the Department of Health and Social Services/

Division of Services for Aging and Adults With Physical
Disabilities.”

Regulation V. B. 1. b. will be changed to, “The
employer must contact the Department of Health and Social
Services/Division of Services for Aging and Adults With
Physical Disabilities.  The employer may contact that
Division by telephone.”

The Department of Labor has no authority or
jurisdiction to further define the methods of contacting or
receiving the Child Abuse Registry check or the Adult
Abuse Registry check.

13. The proposal to add language so that Regulation
III. A. and IV. A. conform with the statute regarding the
responsibility of temporary agencies to comply with these
sections is accepted.  In addition, the Department will add
the statutory language regarding temporary agencies to
Regulation III. C. 2. a.

14. The proposal that the Regulations clarify that
health care providers who operate any type of school-based
programs comply with the State’s hiring practices and
reporting requirements for educational facilities and are
not required to comply with the provisions of Titles 11 and
19, as specified in the legislation is rejected.  Authority for
this language is not contained in the statutes.

15. The proposals of Pauline D. Koch, Administrator,
Office of Child Care Licensing are accepted. These changes
involve corrections and a minor clarification.

16. Mr. Stewart’s proposal that the words “and fully
releasing the employer from liability from doing so” be
added to Regulations II. C. subsections 1. b.and  2.b.;
Regulation IV B. subsection 1. a. and 2. b.; and Regulation
V. B. subsection 1. a and 2. b. is rejected.  Authority for this
language is not contained in the statutes.

17. The proposal that the subheadings be underlined
is accepted.

18. In addition to those changes stated above, the
Department has made other minor changes to the text to
correct and/or clarify  the Regulations where necessary.
These changes appear in Regulation III. C. 1. subsections
b. and e.; Regulation III. C. 2. subsection b.;  Regulation III
C. 3. subsection a. and b.; Regulation VI. B. 2. and 3.;
Regulation VI. C. 1.; and Regulation VII. A. 3., 4. and 6.

19. The Department has changed the last sentence of
Regulation IX. to conform with the Administrative
Procedures Act, specifically 29 Del. C. §10118 (e).  That
section states, in part, that, “The effective date of an order
which adopts... a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting... a regulation has been
published in its final form in the Register of Regulations...”
The last sentence of Regulation IX. will state, “These
regulations shall take effect ten (10) days after the date of
publication in the State’s Register of Regulations.”



1271

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

ERRATA
Conclusions of Law

20.  The Department of Labor proposed Regulations
to provide guidance to employers and applicants regarding
the implementation of 19 Del. C. § 708, 11 Del. C. §§8563
and §8564 pursuant to its authority granted in 29 Del. C. §
8503.

Decision To Adopt

21.  It is the decision and order of the Department of
Labor that the Regulations as amended by the above
findings, a true and correct copy of which are attached
hereto as Exhibit “D”, are hereby ADOPTED.

SO ORDERED, this 9th day of January, 1998.
Darrell J. Minott, Secretary of Labor

DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL AFFAIRS

REGULATIONS

SPECIAL EMPLOYMENT PRACTICES RELATING TO
HEALTH CARE AND CHILD CARE FACILITIES (19 DEL.C.
§5708 and 11 DEL.C. §8563)

ADULT ABUSE REGISTRY CHECK (11 DEL.C. §8564)

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8503(7), the Department of Labor
hereby promulgates the following regulations to provide
guidance to employers and applicants regarding the
implementation of 19 Del.C.  §708, 11 Del.C. §8563 and 11
Del.C. §8564.

I. INTRODUCTION.

The General Assembly enacted two laws, “SPECIAL
EMPLOYMENT PRACTICES RELATING TO HEALTH
CARE AND CHILD CARE FACILITIES” (19 DEL.C. §708
and 11 DEL.C. §8563) and “ADULT ABUSE REGISTRY
CHECK” (11 DEL.C. §8564) in order to provide a degree of
protection for the “vulnerable” population in hospitals,
nursing homes, child care facilities and other institutions.
Together, the two laws require employers to obtain a
reference check, or “service letter”, and check two
registries to insure that they are not hiring individuals with
a past history of violent behavior in the workplace, or
individuals who have engaged in abuse or neglect to adults
or children in their care.

II. DEFINITIONS.

The words, terms and phrases used in these Regulations
shall have the meaning ascribed to them in this section,
except where the context clearly indicates a different
meaning.

A. “PERSON SEEKING EMPLOYMENT” means any
person applying for employment in a health care or child
care facility that affords direct access to persons receiving
care at such a facility, or a person applying for licensure to
operate a child care facility.

B. “HEALTH CARE FACILITY” means any custodial
or residential facility where health, nutritional, or personal
care is provided for persons, including nursing homes,
hospitals, home health care agencies, and adult day care
facilities.

C. “CHILD CARE FACILITY” means any child care
facility which is required to be licensed by the Department
of Services for Children, Youth, and their Families.

D. “DIRECT ACCESS” means the opportunity to have
personal contact with persons receiving care during the
course of one’s assigned duties.

III. SERVICE LETTER.

A. REQUIREMENTS.

No employer who operates a health care facility or
child care facil i ty shall hire any person [seeking
employment (as defined in Regulation I. A. above)] without
obtaining one or more service letter(s) for that person.  The
employer must obtain a service letter from the person’s
current or most recent previous employer.  In addition, if
the person seeking employment was employed in a health
care and/or child care facility within the past five (5) years,
the employer shall also obtain a service letter from such
employer(s).  If the person seeking employment has not
been previously employed, or was self-employed, then the
employer must require the person seeking employment to
provide letters of reference from two adults who are familiar
with the person, but are not relatives.

[Any temporary agency responsible for providing
temporary employees to a health care facility or a child
care facility, when such employees qualify as “persons
seeking employment” as defined in Section I. A of these
regulations, is considered an employer and is responsible
for complying with the requirements of this section.]

B. SERVICE LETTER FORM.

The required service letter shall be a form provided by
the Department of Labor, Office of Labor Law Enforcement.
The service letter form shall be signed by the current or
previous employer and shall be filled out by that employer.
The service letter form is a checklist requiring information
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about the type of work performed by the employee; the
duration of the employment; the nature of the employee’s
separation from employment; and information as to any
reasonably substantiated incidents involving violence,
threat of violence, abuse or neglect by the person seeking
employment.

C. DUTIES.
1. Duties of the hiring employer.

a. Service letter(s).  The employer must
obtain the required service letter(s) by sending a service
letter form to all of the current or previous employers named
by the person seeking employment.  The employer must
make a “good faith” attempt to locate the current or
previous employers and to obtain the service letter from
such employer(s).  In order to prove that the service letter
form has been sent, an employer may [send the form by
fax, Certified Mail or other means which provides proof of
mailing, transmission, delivery or receipt].

b. Full  release from person seeking
employment.  The employer must obtain a signed statement
from the person seeking employment wherein that person
authorizes a full release for the employer to obtain
information from the current and/or previous employer(s).

c. Complete disclosure of information from
person seeking employment.  The employer must obtain a
signed statement from the person seeking employment that
the information he/she has given on the application
represents a full and complete disclosure of information
about his/her current and previous employment, and that
all information contained in the employment application is
true and complete to the best of the knowledge and belief
of the person seeking employment.

d. Acknowledgment from person seeking
employment.  The employer must obtain a signed
acknowledgment from the person seeking employment that
he/she understands that failure to provide a full and
complete disclosure is a violation of the law.

e. Exigent circumstances.  When exigent
circumstances exist, and an employer covered by this law
must fill a position in order to maintain the required level
of service, the employer may hire a person seeking
employment on a conditional basis [pending the receipt of
the completed service letter(s) for that person.]  The
continued employment of that person, however, is
conditioned upon the receipt of the required service
letter(s).  In addition, the person hired [on a conditional
basis] must be informed in writing and  [shall]acknowledge,
[in writing],  that  his/her continued employment [ is
conditional and]is contingent upon the receipt of the
required service letter(s).

2. Duties of the person seeking employment.
a. Provision of necessary information.  The

person seeking employment must provide all of the

necessary information about his/her current or past
employers so that the service letter(s) can be obtained.  [If
the person seeking employment was employed by a
temporary agency, he or she shall list on the employment
application the temporary agency and all employers for
which he or she did temporary work pursuant to such
employment.]

b. Full  release.  The person seeking
employment must sign a statement wherein he/she
authorizes a full release for the employer to obtain
information from the current or previous employment.

c. Complete disclosure of information.  The
person seeking employment must provide complete and
full disclosure of information and must sign a statement in
which he/she attests that information given in his/her
application represents a full and complete disclosure of
information about his/her current or previous employer and
is true and correct to the best of his/her knowledge and
belief.

d. Acknowledgment.  The person seeking
employment must sign an acknowledgment that he/she
understands that failure to provide a full and complete
disclosure of employment information is a violation of the
law.

e. Acknowledgment when hired on a
conditional basis.  When the person seeking employment
is hired on a conditional basis, he/she must acknowledge
in writing that his/her employment is conditional and
contingent upon the receipt of the service letter(s).

3. Duties of the employer receiving the service
letter form.

a. Completion of service letter form.  The
employer must complete the service letter form, providing
complete and truthful information about the person named
on the service letter form.  The law, specifically 19 Del.  C.
§708(b)(10), provides that a person who discloses
information about a current or former employee is immune
from civil liability for such disclosure.

b. Return of the service letter form.  The
employer receiving the service letter form must complete it
and return the service letter to the hiring employer within
ten (10) business days from the date the request was
received.

IV. CHILD ABUSE REGISTRY CHECK.

A. REQUIREMENTS

No employer who operates a health care facility or
child care facility shall hire any person without requesting
and receiving the results of a Child Abuse Registry check
for that person.  The Child Abuse Registry check shall
relate to substantiated cases of child abuse or neglect
reported after August 1, 1994.  The results of the Child
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Abuse Registry check shall be obtained from the Child
Abuse Registry as established by 16 Del.C. §905.

[Any temporary agency responsible for providing
temporary employees to a health care facility or child care
facility , when such employees qualify as “persons seeking
employment” as defined in Section I.A. of these
Regulations, is considered an employer and is responsible
for complying with the requirements of this section.]

B. DUTIES.
1. Duties of the hiring employer.

a. Full  release from person seeking
employment.  The employer must obtain a signed statement
from the person seeking employment wherein that person
authorizes a full release for the employer to obtain the
information provided pursuant to the Child Abuse Registry
check.

b. Obtaining the Child Abuse Registry
check.  The employer must contact [in writing]  the Division
of Children, Youth, and Their Families to request and
receive the Child Abuse Registry check.

c. Exigent Circumstances.  When exigent
circumstances exist and an employer covered by this law
must fill a position in order to maintain the required level
of service, the employer may hire a person seeking
employment on a conditional basis after the employer has
requested a Child Abuse Registry check.  The continued
employment of that person, however, is conditioned upon
the receipt of the Child Abuse Registry check.  Any person
hired on a conditional basis must be informed in writing,
and must acknowledge in writing that his/her employment
is conditional and contingent upon the receipt of the Child
Abuse Registry check.

2. Duties of the person seeking employment.
a. Provision of necessary information.  The

person seeking employment must provide any and all
necessary information so that the Child Abuse Registry
check can be completed.

b. Full  Release.  The person seeking
employment must sign a statement wherein he/she
authorizes a full release for the employer to obtain the
information provided pursuant to the Child Abuse Registry
check.

c. Acknowledgment when hired on a
conditional basis.  When the person seeking employment
is hired on a conditional basis, he/she must acknowledge
in writing that his/her employment is conditional and
contingent upon the receipt of the Child Abuse Registry
check.

C. REGULATIONS AND PROCEDURES.

Specific Regulations and procedures for the Child
Abuse Registry check shall be promulgated by the Division
of Children, Youth, and Their Families.

V. ADULT ABUSE REGISTRY CHECK.

A. REQUIREMENTS.

No employer who operates a health care facility or
child care facility shall hire any person without requesting
and receiving an Adult Abuse Registry check for that
person.  The Adult Abuse Registry check shall relate to
substantiated cases of adult abuse or neglect.  The Adult
Abuse Registry check shall  be performed by the
Department of Health and Social Services/ Division of
Services for Aging and Adults With Physical Disabilities.

B. DUTIES.
1. Duties of the hiring employer,

a. Full  release from person seeking
employment.  The employer must obtain a signed statement
from the person seeking employment wherein that person
authorizes a full release for the employer to obtain the
information provided pursuant to the Adult Abuse
Registry check.

b. Obtaining the Adult Abuse Registry
check.  The employer must contact the Department of
Health and Social Services /Division of Services for Aging
and Adults With Physical Disabilitiesto request and receive
the Adult Abuse Registry check. The employer may contact
that Division by telephone.

c. Exigent circumstances.  When exigent
circumstances exist and an employer covered by this law
must fill a position in order to maintain the required level
of service, the employer may hire a person seeking
employment on a conditional basis after the employer has
requested an Adult Abuse Registry check.  The continued
employment of that person, however, is conditioned upon
receipt of the Adult Abuse Registry check.  Any person
hired on a conditional basis must be informed in writing,
and must acknowledge in writing that his/her employment
is conditional and contingent upon the receipt of the Adult
Abuse Registry check.

2. Duties of the person seeking employment.
a. Provision of all necessary information.

The person seeking employment must provide any and all
necessary information so that the Adult Abuse Registry
check can be completed.

b. Full  release.  The person seeking
employment must sign a statement wherein he/she
authorizes a full release for the employer to obtain the
information provided pursuant to the Adult Abuse
Registry check.

c. Acknowledgment when hired on a
conditional basis.  When the person seeking employment
is hired on a conditional basis, he/she must acknowledge
in writing that his/her employment is conditional and
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contingent upon the receipt of the Adult Abuse Registry
check.

C. REGULATIONS.

Specific Regulations and procedures relating to the
Adult Abuse Registry check shall be promulgated by the
Division of Health and Social Services.

VI. ENFORCEMENT.

A. COMPLAINT.

Any person may file a complaint with the Office of
Labor Law Enforcement alleging a violation of any
provision of these laws.  The complaint shall be in writing,
and shall set forth the specifics of any alleged violation.
The complaint shall be directed to the Administrator of
the Office of Labor Law Enforcement.

Upon receipt of the complaint, the Administrator of
the Office of Labor Law Enforcement will assign the
complaint to an investigator.

B. INVESTIGATION.

The Office of Labor Law Enforcement may serve
notice to the employer informing them of the complaint
and requiring proof of compliance with the provisions of
these laws.  Evidence that may be requested to establish
whether an employer has complied with the provisions
of these laws includes, but is not limited to, the following:

1. Service letter(s) for each employee hired
after January 1, 1998 (or proof that the employer has made
a good faith attempt to obtain such service letter(s)).

2. Verif ication from the Department of
Services Children, Youth and Their Families /Division of
Family Services that the employer has requested and/or
received the required check of the Child Abuse Registry
as required by 11 Del.C. §8563.

3. Verification from the Division of Services
for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities that the
employer has requested and/or received the required
check of the Adult Abuse Registry as required by 11 Del.C.
§8564.

4. Copies of al l  statements and
acknowledgments signed by the person seeking
employment.

5. Application forms, personnel records or any
other related documents.

C. Determination.
1. Upon completion of the investigation, the

Office of Labor Law Enforcement will determine whether
a violation has occurred.  The Office of Labor Law

Enforcement may issue a notice requiring corrective
action and may notify the Department of Services for
Children Youth and Their Families/Division of Family
Services and/or the Department of Health and Social
Services/Division of Services for Aging and Adults With
Physical Disabilities. Such notice will give a specified
date on which compliance is required.

2. Upon proof that corrective action has been
taken, the Office of Labor Law Enforcement may issue a
warning letter or may forward the matter to the Department
of Justice for further legal action.

VII. VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES.
A. Violations of the law shall include the following:

1. Failure by the hiring employer to obtain the
service letter(s) or make a good faith attempt to do so;

2. Failure by the hiring employer to obtain the
required statements and acknowledgments from the person
seeking employment;

3. Failure by the hiring employer to request and
receive the Child Abuse Registry check (Information about
this violation will be forwarded to the Department of
Services for Children Youth and Their Families/Division of
Family Services);

4. Failure by the hiring employer to request and
receive the Adult Abuse Registry check (Information about
this violation will be forwarded to the Department of Health
and Social Services/Division of Services for Aging and
Adults With Physical Disabilities);

5. Failure by the person seeking employment to
provide complete and full disclosure of all information
regarding current or previous employers;

6. Failure by the person seeking employment to
provide a full and complete disclosure of any information
necessary to obtain the Child Abuse Registry check and
the Adult Abuse Registry check (Information about this
violation will be forwarded to the appropriate agency);

7. Failure by the person seeking employment to
sign the required statements and acknowledgments;

8. Failure by the employer receiving a service
letter form to provide full and complete disclosure about
the person seeking employment;

9. Failure by the employer receiving a service
letter form to complete and return the service letter form.

B. PENALTIES.

Violations of any of the provisions of these laws may
result in civil penalties of not less than $1,000 nor more
than $5,000.

VIII. SEVERABILITY.

If any of the provisions of 19 Del.C. §708, 11 Del.C.
§8563, 11 Del.C. §8564, or these Regulations, or any portion
thereof or the application or method of implementation is
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THE FINAL  REGUL ATION  NO. 37 (“NO
X
 BUDGET

PROGRAM ” ) TH AT WAS PUBLISHED IN  THE FEBRUARY ISSUE

OF THE REGISTER DID NOT REFLECT  ALL  CHANGES TH AT

WERE MADE  AFTER THE REGUL ATION  WAS PROPOSED AND

WHEN IT  WAS ADOPTED.  THEREFORE , THE REGUL ATION  IS

REPUBLISHED IN  ITS ENTIRETY

DEPARTMENT OF N ATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMEN TAL

CONTROL
AIR QUALITY  M ANAGEMENT  SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60, (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No. 97-A-0044

Re:  Regulation No. 37 (“NO
x
 Budget Program”) of the

Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pol-
lution

Date of Issuance:  December 29, 1997

I. Background
On December 8, 1997, a public hearing

was held to receive comments on a proposed new Regula-
tion No. 37, which establishes a NO

x
 Budget Program for

Delaware. This regulation is necessary to implement a Sep-
tember 27, 1994 MOU among 11 states and the District
of Columbia which constitute the Ozone Transport Re-
gion.  In an effort to reduce summertime ozone concen-

trations, these states have committed to a regional pro-
gram to cap NO

x
 emissions and encourage trading of

emissions allowances on a regional basis in order to sub-
stantially reduce NO

x
 emissions and corresponding ozone

levels.   Each state was assigned a NO
x
 budget based on

1990 emission levels after extensive consultations among
regulatory agencies and affected sources throughout the
region.  A model rule was developed as of May 1, 1996,
which then formed the basis for this rulemaking.  Proper
notice of the hearing was provided as required by law.  In
addition, considerable efforts were made in the two
months leading up to this hearing to alert all potentially
affected sources of the requirements in this proposed
program, which has not changed since the 1994 MOU in
terms of NO

x
 reductions,  deadlines or the 1990 baseline.

Following the hearing on December 8, the record was left
open for three days to receive additional comments from
the regulated community.  Thereafter, AQM prepared a
detailed response document in draft form which was sub-
mitted to the Hearing Officer on December 17, 1997, in an
effort to expedite review of this matter.  A final version of
that response document was received on December 19,
1997, with no substantive changes from the draft, but with
corrections of typographical errors, etc., and formal ap-
proval of Division Management.

This regulation will affect fossil fuel fired boilers
or indirect heat exchangers with a max. rated heat input
capacity equal to or greater than 250 MMBTU/hr; and all
electric generating units with a rated output equal to or
greater than 15MW.

II . Findings
1. Proper notice of the hearing was provided

as required by law.
2. The AQM Response Document, dated

December 18, 1997, and submitted on December 19, 1997,
contains an accurate summary of comments in the record
along with reasoned responses and sound recommenda-
tions for action by the Secretary on proposed Regulation
No. 37.  While many of the comments from affected sources
have some merit, nevertheless AQM’s Response Docu-
ment provides a legally defensible record for this
rulemaking.

3. A Hearing Officer’s Report, dated Decem-
ber 22, 1997, which incorporates the Response Document
by reference, recommends promulgation of Regulation 37
after appropriate amendments are made, consistent with
AQM’s Response Document.

4. The changes to be made as referenced in
item 3 above, are not substantial and thus the agency does
not need to repropose the regulation change.

5. While supporting AQM’s positions on
all substantive issues raised by this rulemaking, neverthe-
less, the Hearing Officer suggested additional consulta-

held invalid, the remainder of the laws and these
Regulations shall not be affected by such holding and shall
remain in full force and effect.

IX. SUBSEQUENT MODIFICATION OF REGULATIONS.

The Secretary of Labor may, upon his/her own motion
or upon the written request of any member of the public
setting forth reasonable grounds therefore, revoke or
modify these regulations, after an opportunity has been
given to members of the public to present their views on
the proposed changes.  These regulations shall take effect
ten (10) days after publication in the State Register of
Regulations.

Darrell J. Minott, Secretary of Labor

Approved and adopted this 9th day of January, 1998.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/aqm_page/aqm_nets.htm
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tion with Department of Justice attorneys regarding the
burden of proof imposed on affected sources under §18.b
of the proposed regulation before any enforcement action
is undertaken.

III. Order
In view of the above findings, it is hereby ordered

that the proposed Regulation No. 37 of the Delaware Regu-
lations Governing the Control of Air Pollution be amended
to reflect those changes specified in AQM’s Response
Document and that the regulation be promulgated in ac-
cordance with the customary process as required by law.
It is understood that the provisions of § 18.b will not be
enforced until such time as further legal review has been
completed and necessary changes are made in that provi-
sion, if needed, to comply with due process requirements.
V. Reasons

This Regulation is based on a long-standing MOU
and Model Rule developed over several years in close
coordination with all regulatory agencies and affected
sources within the State Ozone Transport Region.  Its pro-
visions, therefore, come as no surprise to the parties in-
volved and are necessary to address serious concerns
about ground-level ozone in Delaware and throughout the
region, in furtherance of the policies and purposes of 7
Del. C. Chapter 60.

Signed: Christophe A.G. Tulou
Christophe A. G. Tulou, Secretary

NO
x
 Budget Program

Regulation No. 37
December 18, 1997

Section 1 - General Provisions

a. The purpose of this regulation is to implement Delaware’s
portion of the Ozone Transport Commission’s (OTC)
September 27, 1994 Memorandum of Understanding (MOU)
by establishing in the State of Delaware a NO

x
 Budget

Program.

b. A NO
x
 allowance is an authorization to emit NO

x
, valid

only for the purposes of meeting the requirements of this
regulation.

1. All applicable state and federal requirements remain
applicable.

2. A NO
x
 allowance does not constitute a security or

other form of property.

c. On or after May 1, 1999, the owner or operator of each
budget source shall, not later than December 31 of each
calendar year, hold a quantity of NO

x
 allowances in the

budget source’s current year NATS account that is equal

to or greater than the total NO
x
 emitted from that budget

source during the period May 1 through September 30 of
the subject year.

d.Allowance transfers between budget sources sharing a
common owner or operator and/or authorized account
representative are subject to all applicable requirements
of this regulation, including the allowance transfer
requirements identified in Section 11 of this regulation.

e. Offsets required for new or modified sources subject to
non-attainment new source review must be obtained in
accordance with Regulation 25 of Delaware’s “Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution” and Section 173 of
the Clean Air Act.  Allowances are not considered offsets
within the context of this regulation.

f. Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to limit the
authority of the Department to condition, limit, suspend,
or terminate any allowances or authorization to emit.

g. The Department shall maintain an up to date listing of
the NO

x
 sources subject to this regulation.

1. The listing shall identify the name of each NO
x
 budget

source and its annual allowance allocation, if any.
2. The Department shall submit a copy of the listing to

the NATS Administrator by January 1 of each year,
commencing in 1999.

Section 2 - Applicability

a. The NO
x
 Budget Program applies to any owner or

operator of a budget source where that source is located
in the State of Delaware.

b. Any person who owns, operates, leases, or controls a
stationary NO

x
 source in Delaware not subject to this

program, by definition, may choose to opt into the NO
x

Budget Program in accordance with the requirements of
Section 8 of this regulation.  Upon approval of the opt-in
application by the Department, the person shall be subject
to all terms and conditions of this regulation.

c. A general account may be established in accordance
with Section 7 of this regulation.  The person responsible
for the general account shall be responsible for meeting
the requirements for an Authorized Account
Representative and applicable account maintenance fees.

Section 3 - Definitions

For the purposes of this regulation, the following
definitions apply.  All terms not defined herein shall have
the meaning given them in the Clean Air Act and
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Regulation 1 of the State of Delaware “Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution”.

a.Account means the place in the NO
x
 Allowance Tracking

System where allowances held by a budget source
(compliance account), or allowances held by any person
(general account), are recorded.

b.Account number means the identification number
assigned by the NO

x
  Allowance Tracking System (NATS)

Administrator to a compliance or general account
pursuant to Section 10 of this regulation.

c. Administrator means the Administrator of the U.S. EPA.
The Administrator of the U.S. EPA or his designee(s) shall
manage and operate the NO

x
 Allowance Tracking System

and the NO
x
 Emissions Tracking System.

d.Allocate or Allocation means the assignment of
allowances to a budget source through this regulation;
and as recorded by the Administrator in a NO

x  
Allowance

Tracking System compliance account.

e.Allowance means the limited authorization to emit one
ton of  NO

x
 during a specified control period, or any

control period thereafter subject to the terms and
conditions for use of banked allowance as defined by
this regulation. All allowances shall be allocated,
transferred, or used as whole allowances. To determine
the number of whole allowances, the number of allowances
shall be rounded down for decimals less than 0.50 and
rounded up for decimals of 0.50 or greater.

f. Allowance deduction means the withdrawal of
allowances for permanent retirement by the NATS
Administrator from a NO

x
 Allowance Tracking System

account pursuant to Section 16 of this regulation.

g.Allowance transfer means the conveyance to another
account of one or more allowances from one
[person][account]  to another by whatever means, including
but not limited to purchase, trade, auction, or gift in
accordance with the procedures established in Section 11
of this regulation, effected by the submission of an
allowance transfer request to the NATS Administrator.

h.Alternative monitoring system means a system or
component of a system, designed to provide direct or
indirect data of mass emissions per time period, pollutant
concentrations, or volumetric flow as provided for in
Section 13 of this regulation.

i. Authorized Account Representative  (AAR) means the
responsible person who is authorized, in writing, to transfer

and otherwise manage allowances as well as certify reports
to the NATS and the NETS.

j. Banked Allowance means an allowance which is not
used to reconcile emissions in the designated year of
allocation but which is carried forward into the next year
and flagged in the compliance or general account as
“banked”.

k. Banking means the retention of unused allowances from
one control period  for use in a future control period.

l. Baseline  means, except for the purposes of Section 12(d)
(Early Reductions) of this regulation, the NO

x
 emission

inventory approved by the Ozone Transport Commission
on June 13, 1995, and revised thereafter, as the official 1990
baseline emissions of May 1 through September 30 for
purposes of the NO

x
 Budget Program.

m. Boiler means a unit which combusts fossil fuel to
produce steam or to heat water, or any other heat transfer
medium.

n.Budget or Emission Budget  means the numerical result
in tons per control period of NO

x
 emissions which results

from the application of the emission reduction requirement
of the OTC MOU dated September 27, 1994, and which is
the maximum amount of  NO

x
 emissions  which may be

released from the budget sources collectively during a
given control period.

o.Budget source means a fossil fuel fired boiler or indirect
heat exchanger with a maximum heat input capacity of
250 MMBTU/Hour, or more; and all electric generating
units with a generator nameplate capacity of 15 MW, or
greater.  (Although not a budget source by definition, any
person who applies to opt into the NO

x
 Budget Program

shall be considered a budget source and subject to
applicable program requirements upon approval of the
application for opt-in.)

p.Clean Air Act means the federal Clean Air Act  (42 U.S.C.
7401- 7626).

q.Compliance account means the account for a particular
budget source in the NO

x
 Allowance Tracking System, in

which are held current and/or future year allowances.

r. Continuous Emissions Monitoring System (CEMS)
means the equipment required by this regulation used to
sample, analyze, and measure which will provide a
permanent record of emissions expressed in pounds per
million British Thermal Units (Btu) and tons per day. The
following systems are component parts included in a



1278

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

ERRATA
continuous emissions monitoring system: nitrogen oxides
pollutant concentration monitor, diluent gas monitor
(oxygen or carbon dioxide), a data acquisition and handling
system, and flow monitoring systems (where appropriate).

s.Control period means  the period beginning May 1 of
each year and ending on September 30 of the same year,
inclusive.

t. Current year means the calendar year in which the action
takes place or for which an allocation is designated. For
example, an allowance allocated for use in 1999 which
goes unused and becomes a banked allowance on January
1, 2000 can be used in the “Current Year” 2000 subject to
the conditions for banked allowance use as stated in this
regulation.

u.Early Reduction Allowance means an allowance
credited for a NO

x
 emission reduction achieved during  the

control periods of either 1997 or 1998, or both.

v. Electric generating unit means any fossil fuel fired
combustion unit which provides electricity for sale or use.

w.Excess emissions means emissions of nitrogen oxides
reported by a budget source during a particular control
period, rounded to the nearest whole ton, which is greater
than the number of allowances which are available in that
budget source’s  NO

x
 Allowance Tracking System

compliance account on December 31 of the calendar year
for the subject NO

x
 control season.  For the purpose of

determining whole tons on excess emissions, the number
of tons of excess emissions shall be rounded down for
decimals less than 0.50 and rounded up for decimals of
0.50 or greater.

x. Existing budget source means a budget source that
operated at any time during the period beginning May 1,
1990 through September 30, 1990.

y. Fossil fuel means natural gas, petroleum, coal or any
form of solid, liquid or gaseous fuel derived wholly, or in
part, from such material.[This definition does not include
CO derived from any source.]

z. Fossil fuel fired means the combustion of fossil fuel or
any derivative of fossil fuel alone, or, if  in combination
with any other fuel, where fossil fuel comprises 51% or
greater of the annual heat input on a BTU basis.

aa. General Account means an account in the NATS that
is not a compliance account.

bb. Heat input means heat derived from the combustion

of any fuel in a budget source.  Heat input does not include
the heat derived from preheated combustion air,
recirculated flue gas, or exhaust from other sources.

cc. Indirect heat exchanger means combustion equipment
in which the flame and/or products of combustion are
separated from any contact with the principal material in
the process by metallic or refractory walls, which includes,
but is not limited to, steam boilers, vaporizers, melting pots,
heat exchangers, column reboilers, fractioning column feed
preheaters, reactor feed preheaters, and fuel-fired reactors
such as steam hydrocarbon reformer heaters and pyrolysis
heaters.

dd. Maximum heat input capacity means the ability of a
budget source to combust a stated maximum amount of
fuel on a steady state basis, as determined by the greater
of the physical design rating or the actual maximum
operating capacity of the budget source. Maximum heat
input capacity is expressed in millions of British Thermal
Units (MMBTU) per unit of time which is the product of
the gross caloric value of the fuel (expressed in MMBTU/
pound) multiplied by the fuel feed rate in the combustion
device (expressed in pounds of fuel/time).

ee. Nameplate capacity means the maximum electrical
generating output that a generator can sustain when not
restricted by seasonal or other deratings.

ff. New budget source means a NO
x
 source that is a budget

source, by definition, that did not operate between May 1,
1990 and September 30, 1990, inclusive.  A NO

x
 source,

that is a budget source by definition, that was constructed
prior to or during the period May 1, 1990 through
September 30, 1990, but did not operate during the period
May 1, 1990 through September 30, 1990, shall be treated
as a new budget source.

gg. NO
x
 Allowance Tracking System  (NATS)  means the

computerized system established and used  by the
Administrator to track the number of allowances held and
used by any person.

hh. NO
x
 Emissions Tracking System  (NETS) means the

computerized system established and used by the
Administrator to track and provide a permanent record of
NO

x
 emissions from each budget source.

ii. Non-Part 75 Budget Source means any budget source
not subject to the requirements for emissions monitoring
adopted pursuant to Regulation 36 of the State of Delaware
“Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution”.

jj. Off budget means not subject to this regulation.
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kk. Off budget source means any source of NO
x
 emissions

that is not included in the NO
x
 Budget Program as either a

budget source, by definition, or as an opt in source.

ll. Opt in  means to choose to voluntarily participate in the
NO

x
 Budget Program, and comply with the terms and

conditions of this regulation.

mm.Opt-in-baseline means the Department approved heat
input and/or NO

x
 emissions for use as a basis for

allowance allocation and deduction.

nn. OTC means the Ozone Transport Commission.

oo. OTC MOU means the Memorandum of Understanding
that was signed by representatives of eleven states and
the District of Columbia on September 27, 1994.

pp. OTR means the Ozone Transport Region as designated
by Section 184(a) of the Clean Air Act.

qq. Owner or Operator means any person who is an owner
or who operates, controls or supervises a budget source
and shall include, but not be limited to, any holding
company, utility system or plant manager of a budget
source.

rr.Quantifiable means a reliable and replicable basis for
calculating the amount of an emission reduction that is
acceptable to both the Department and to the Administrator
of the U.S.EPA.

ss. Part 75 Budget Source means any budget source
subject to the requirements for emissions monitoring
adopted pursuant to Regulation 36 of the State of Delaware
“Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution”.

tt. Real means a reduction in the rate of emissions,
quantified retrospectively, net of any consequential
increase in actual emissions due to shifting demand.

uu. Recorded with regard to an allowance transfer or
deduction means that an account  in the NATS has been
updated by the Administrator  with the particulars of an
allowance transfer or deduction.

vv. Regional NO
x
 budget means the maximum amount of

NO
x
 emissions which may be released from all budget

sources, collectively throughout the OTR, during a given
control period.

ww. Repowering, for the purpose of early reduction credit
means either:  1)  Qualifying Repowering Technology as

defined by 40 CFR, Part 72 or;  2)  the replacement of a
budget source by either a new combustion source or the
purchase of heat or power from the owner of a new
combustion source, provided that:  a)  The replacement
source (regardless of owner) is on the same, or contiguous
property as the budget source being replaced;  b)  The
replacement source has a maximum heat output rate that is
equal to or greater than the maximum heat output rate of
the budget source being replaced; or,  c)  The replacement
source has a power output rate that is equal to or greater
than  the power output rate of the combustion source being
replaced; and d) The replacement source incorporates
technology capable of controlling multiple combustion
pollutants simultaneously with improved fuel efficiency
and with significantly greater waste reduction relative to
the performance of technology in widespread commercial
use as of November 15, 1990.

xx. Submitted means sent to the appropriate authority
under the signature of the authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
representative. An official U.S. Postal Service postmark,
or electronic time stamp, shall establish the date of
submittal.

yy. Surplus means that, at the time the reduction was made,
the emission reduction was not required by Delaware’s
SIP, was not relied upon in an applicable attainment
demonstration, was not required by state or federal permit
or order, and was made enforceable in a permit that was
issued after the date of the OTC MOU (September 27, 1994).

zz. Use means, for purposes of emission reductions
moved off budget, that approval of the Department has
been obtained to apply the emission reduction at a source.

Section 4 - Allowance Allocation

a. This program establishes NO
x
 emission allowances for

each NO
x
 control period beginning May 1, 1999 through

the NO
x
 control period ending September 30, 2002.

Allowance allocation levels for each of these annual NO
x

control periods are based on actual May 1, 1990 to
September 30, 1990 actual NO

x
 mass emissions.

b. The NO
x
 Budget Program does not establish NO

x

emission allowances for any NO
x
 control period

subsequent to the year 2002 NO
x
 control period. NO

x

emission allowances for each NO
x
 control period

subsequent to the year 2002 NO
x
 control period will be

established through amendment of this regulation.

c. NO
x
 allowance allocations to budget sources may be

made only by the Department in accordance with Section
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4, Section 8, and Section 12 of this regulation.

d. Appendix A of this regulation identifies the budget
sources and identifies the number of allowances each
budget source is allocated. Allowance allocations to each
of the budget sources was determined as follows:

1. Unless otherwise noted in Appendix A of this
regulation, the document EPA-454/R-95-013, “1990 OTC
NO

x
 Baseline Emission Inventory” served as the basis for

determination of the number of OTC MOU Allowances
allocated to each existing budget source.

i. Each existing budget source’s OTC MOU Allowance
allocation for NO

x
 control periods during the period May

1, 1999 to September 30, 2002, inclusive, was identified in
the referenced document, Appendix B, Final OTC NO

x

Baseline Inventory, Delaware, Point-Segment Level Data,
Phase II Target (Point Level).

ii. The identified values were rounded to the nearest
whole allowance by rounding down for allowances less
than 0.5 and rounding up for decimals of 0.5 or greater.

2. Exceptional Circumstances Allowances, as granted by
the OTC and as identified in the document EPA-454/R-
95-013, “1990 OTC NO

x
 Baseline Emission Inventory” for

the existing budget sources, are identified in Appendix A.
These Exceptional Circumstance Allowances were adjusted
for the appropriate NO

x
 emission rate reduction requirement

prior  to inclusion in Appendix A.
3. The OTC allocated to the state of Delaware an

additional 86 allowances, referred to as reserve allowances,
prior to application of NO

x
 emission rate reduction

requirements, as its share of a total 10,000 ton reserve.
Application of OTC required emission reductions resulted
in a total of 35 Reserve Allowances available for distribution,
as identified in the document EPA-454/R-95-013, “1990 OTC
NO

x
 Baseline Emission Inventory”.
i. Each of the 28 existing budget sources identified in

Appendix A as the existing  budget sources were allocated
one (1) reserve allowance.

ii. One (1) additional reserve allowance was allocated
to each of the four organizations with existing budget
sources.  The additional reserve allowance for each of the
four organizations was added to the respective existing
budget source with the greatest heat input rating.

iii. The remaining three (3) reserve allowances shall
be held by the Department unused for the NO

x
 control

periods between May 1, 1999 and September 30, 2002.
iv. Reserve Allowances are applicable only for the

NO
x
 control periods during the period May 1, 1999 to

September 30, 2002, inclusive.  Reserve Allowances do not
exist for NO

x
 control periods subsequent to the year 2002.

4. The final NO
x
 allowance allocation for each of the 28

existing budget sources, for each of the NO
x
 control

periods during the period of May 1, 1999 and September
30, 2002, is the sum of the values determined in Sections

4(d)(1) - (3) and is identified in Appendix A.  For the existing
budget sources that were not identified in the document
“1990 OTC NO

x
 Baseline Emissions Inventory”, the final

allowance allocation includes an allowance allocation
determined in accordance with the procedures identified
in Section 4(f)(2)(i) - (ii) of this regulation.

5. Known operating NO
x
 sources, that are budget sources

by definition, that did not operate in the May 1, 1990 to
September 30, 1990 period are identified in Appendix A
with a final allowance allocation of zero (0) allowances.

e.Budget sources that receive a NO
x
 emission allowance

allocation and subsequently cease to operate shall
continue to receive allowances for each control period
unless the allowances are reduced under Section 4(g) of
this regulation or a request to reallocate allowances has
been approved in accordance with Section 11 of this
regulation.

f. Any NO
x
 source, that is a budget source by definition,

and that is not included in Attachment A of this regulation
and which operated at any time between May 1, 1990 and
September 30, 1990, inclusive, shall comply with the
requirements of this regulation prior to operating in any
NO

x
 control period.

1. The owner or operator shall submit to the Department
an application including, as a minimum, the following
information:

i. Identification of the source by plant name, address,
and plant combustion unit number or equipment
identification number.

ii. The name, address, telephone and facsimile number
of the authorized account representative and, if desired,
of an alternative authorized account representative.

iii. A list of the owners and operators of the source.
iv. A description of the source, including fuel type(s),

maximum rated heat input capacity and electrical output
rating where applicable.

v. Documentation of the May 1, 1990 - September 30,
1990 mass emissions (in tons), including:

A. Quantification of the mass emissions (in tons).
B. A description of the method used to determine

the NO
x
 emissions.

C.   Under no circumstances shall the emissions
exceed any applicable federal or state emission limit.

vi. Documentation of the May 1, 1990 - September
30, 1990 heat input (in MMBTU), including:

A. Quantification of the heat input (in MMBTU/
hr).

B.  A description of the method used to determine
the heat input.

C.The heat input shall be consistent with the
baseline control period NO

x
 mass emissions determined

in Section 4(f)(1)(v) of this regulation.
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vii. Determination of the May 1, 1990 - September 30,

1990 NO
x
 emission rate, consistent with the guidelines of

the “Procedures for Development of the OTC NO
x
 Baseline

Emission Inventory”, using the mass emissions identified
in Section 4(f)(1)(v) of this regulation and the heat input
identified in Section 4(f)(1)(vi) of this regulation.
. viii. An emission monitoring plan in accordance with
Section 13 of this regulation.

ix. A statement that the submitted information is
representative of the true emissions during the May 1, 1990
- September 30, 1990 and that the source was operated in
accordance with all applicable requirements during that
time.

x. The following statement: “I am authorized to make
this submission on behalf of the owners and operators of
the budget source for which this submission is made.  I
certify under penalty of law that I have personally
examined, and am familiar with, the statements and
information submitted in this document and all its
attachments.  Based on my inquiry of those individuals
with primary responsibility for obtaining the information,
I certify that the statements and information are to the
best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and
complete.  I am aware that there are significant penalties
for submitting false statements and information or
omitting required statements and information, including
the possibility of fine or imprisonment.”

xi. Signature of the authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
representative and date of signature.

2. For sources that notify the Department that they are
subject to this regulation within six months of the effective
date of this regulation, the Department shall allocate NO

x

emissions allowances to the source as follows:
i. For fossil fuel fired boilers and indirect heat

exchangers with a maximum heat input capacity of 250
MMBTU/hr or more,  allowance allocations shall be
determined as follows:

A. For sources located in New Castle and Kent
counties, allowance allocations shall be based on the
more stringent of the following:

1. The less stringent of:
a. The actual May 1, 1990 to September 30, 1990

mass emissions reduced by 65%; or,
b.The mass emissions resulting from the

multiplication of the actual May 1, 1990 to September 30,
1990 heat input by a NO

x
 emissions rate of 0.20 lb/MMBTU.

2. If an approved RACT emissions limit results in
emissions that are lower than the less stringent of the limits
calculated in Sections 4(f)(2)( i)(A)(1)( i)  and
4(f)(2)(i)(A)(1)(ii), then the RACT value shall be the
emissions limit for the  NO

x
 Budget Program.

B.For sources located in Sussex county, allowance
allocations shall be based on the more stringent of the

following:
1. The less stringent of:

a. The actual May 1, 1990 to September 30, 1990
mass emissions reduced by 55%; or,

b.The mass emissions resulting from the
multiplication of the actual May 1, 1990 to September 30,
1990 heat input by a NO

x
 emissions rate of 0.20 lb/MMBTU.

2. If an approved RACT emissions limit results in
emissions that are lower than the less stringent of the limits
calculated in Sections 4(f)(2)( i)(B)(1)( i)  and
4(f)(2)(i)(B)(1)(ii), then the RACT value shall be the
emissions limit for the  NO

x
 Budget Program.

ii. For electric generating units with a rated output of
15 MW or more that is not affected by Section 4(f)(2)(i) of
this regulation, allowance allocations shall equal the more
stringent of the May 1, 1990 to September 30, 1990 actual
emissions or that derived from the application of an
approved RACT limit to the actual May 1, 1990 to September
30 heat input value.

3. Within 60 days of receipt of the submittal, the
Department shall review the submittal and take the
following actions:

i. If the Department does not approve the submittal,
the authorized account representative identified in the
submittal shall be notified in writing of the finding and the
reason(s) for the finding.

ii. If the Department approves the submittal, the
Department shall:

A. Notify in writing the authorized account
representative identified in the submittal.

B.The Department shall notify the OTC of the
allowance al location and authorize the NATS
Administrator to open a compliance account for the
subject source.

4. Any subject source that does not noti fy the
Department within six months of the effective date of this
regulation or that can not quantify its May 1, 1990 -
September 30, 1990 emissions rate or heat input shall be
treated as a new budget source in accordance with Section
9 of this regulation.

5. Compliance with Section 4(f) of this regulation does
not imply compliance nor sanction noncompliance with
this regulation for prior NO

x
 control period operation.

g. If, after the effective date of this regulation, a budget
source reduces control period emissions and said emission
reductions are to be used by a source that is not a budget
source (i.e. the emissions are moved off budget), that
budget source shall request that the Department reduce
its current year and future year allocation.

1. The request shall be submitted to the Department not
later than the date that the request to use the emissions
reduction at the off budget source is submitted, and shall
include the following information, as a minimum:
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i. The compliance account number of the budget

source providing the emissions reduction.
ii. Identification of the NO

x
 source that is to use the

emissions reduction, including:
A. Name and mailing address of the source.
B.Name, mailing address, and telephone number of

a knowledgeable representative from that source.
iii. Identification of the calendar date for which the

reduction of current year and future year allocations is to
be effective, which shall not be later than the effective
date of the use of the emissions reduction.

iv. A statement documenting the physical changes
to the budget source or changes in the methods of
operating the budget source which resulted in the
reduction of NO

x
 emissions.

v. Quantification and justifying documentation of the
NO

x
 emissions reduction, including a description of the

methodology used to verify the emissions reduction.
vi. The quantity of current year and future year

allocations to be reduced, which is the portion of the
control period emissions reduction that is to move off
budget.

vii. Cert i f ication by the authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
representative including the following statement in
verbatim: “I am authorized to make this submission on
behalf of the owners or operators of the NO

x
 source and I

hereby certify under penalty of law, that I have personally
examined the foregoing and am familiar with the
information contained in this document and al l
attachments, and that based on my inquiry of those
individuals immediately responsible for obtaining the
information, I believe the information is true, accurate,
and complete.  I am aware that there are significant
penalties for submitting false information, including
possible fines and imprisonment.”

viii. Signature of the authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
representative of the budget source providing the
emissions reduction and the date of signature.

2. Within 30 days of receipt of the submittal, the
Department shall review the submittal and take the
following actions:

i. If the Department does not approve the request, the
authorized account representative identified on the
submittal shall be notified in writing of the finding and the
reason(s) for the finding.

ii. If the Department approves the request, the
Department shall notify in writing the authorized account
representative identified on the request and the following
provisions apply:

A. The Department shall authorize the NATS
Administrator to deduct from the compliance account of
the budget source providing the emissions reduction the

quantity of current year and future year allowances to be
reduced.

B.The deducted current year and future year
allowances shall be permanently retired from the NO

x

Budget Program.

Section 5 - Permits

a. Within 120 days of the effective date of this regulation,
the owner or operator of an existing budget source shall
request amendment of any applicable construction or
operating permit issued, or application for any permit
submitted, in accordance with the State of Delaware
“Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution”.  The
amendment request shall include the following:

1. A condition(s) that requires the establishment of a
compliance account in accordance with Section 6 of this
regulation.

2. A condition(s) that requires NO
x
 mass emission

monitoring during NO
x
 control periods in accordance with

Section 13 of this regulation.
3. A condition(s) that requires NO

x
 mass emission

reporting and other reporting requirements in accordance
with Section 15 of this regulation.

4. A condit ion(s) that requires end-of-season
compliance account reconciliation in accordance with
Section 16 of this regulation.

5. A condition(s) that requires compliance certification
in accordance with Section 17 of this regulation.

6. A condition(s) that prohibits the source from emitting
NO

x
 during each NO

x
 allowance control period in excess

of the amount of NO
x
 allowances held in the source’s

compliance account for the NO
x
 allowance control period

as of December 31 of the subject year.
7. A condit ion(s) that authorizes the transfer of

allowances for purposes of compliance with this regulation,
containing reference to  the source’s NATS compliance
account and the authorized account representative and
alternate authorized account representative, if any.

b. Permit revisions/amendments shall not be required for
changes in emissions that are authorized by allowances
held in the compliance account provided that any transfer
is in compliance with this regulation by December 31 of
each year, is in compliance with the authorization for
transfer contained in the permit, and does not affect any
other applicable state or federal requirement.

c. Permit revisions/amendments shall not be required for
changes in allowances held by the source which are
acquired or transferred in compliance with this regulation
and in compliance with the authorization for transfer in the
permit.
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d. Any equipment modification or change in operating
practices taken to meet the requirements of this program
shall be performed in accordance with all applicable state
and federal requirements.

Section 6 - Establishment of Compliance Accounts

a. The owner or operator of each existing budget source,
and each new budget source,  shall designate one
authorized account representative and, if desired, one
alternate authorized account representative for that
budget source.  The authorized account representative or
alternate authorized account representative shall submit
to the Department an “Account Cert i f icate of
Representation”.

1. For existing budget sources, initial designations shall
be submitted no more than 30 days following the effective
date of this regulation.

2. For new budget sources, initial designations shall be
submitted no less than 90 days prior to the first hour of
operation in a NO

x
 control period.

3. An authorized account representative or alternative
account representative may be replaced at any time with
the submittal of a new “Account Cert i f icate of
Representation”.  Notwithstanding any such change, all
submissions, actions, and inactions by the previous
authorized account representative or alternate authorized
account representative prior to the date and time the NATS
Administrator receives the superseding “Account
Certificate of Representation” shall be binding on the new
authorized account representative, on the new alternate
authorized account representative, and on the owners and
operators of the budget source.

4. Within 30 days following any change in owner or
operator, authorized account representative, or any
alternate authorized account representative,  the
authorized account representative or the alternate
authorized account representative shall submit a revision
to the “Account Certificate of Representation” amending
the outdated information.

b. The “Account Certificate of Representation” shall be
signed and dated by the authorized account representative
or the alternate authorized account representative for the
NO

x
 budget source and shall contain, as a minimum, the

following information:
1. Identification of the NO

x
 budget source by plant name,

address, and plant combustion unit number or equipment
identification number for which the certification of
representation is submitted.

2. The name, address, telephone and facsimile number
of the authorized account representative and alternate
authorized account representative, if applicable.

3. A list of the owners and operators of the NO
x
 budget

source.
4. A description of the source, including fuel type(s),

maximum heat input capacity, and electrical output rating
where applicable.

5. The following statement: “I am authorized to make
this submission on behalf of the owners and operators of
the budget source for which this submission is made.  I
certify under penalty of law that I have personally
examined,and am familiar with, the statements and
information submitted in this document and all its
attachments.  Based on my inquiry of those individuals
with primary responsibility for obtaining the information,
I certify that the statements and information are to the
best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and
complete.  I am aware that there are significant penalties
for submitting false statements and information or
omitting required statements and information, including
the possibility of fine or imprisonment.”

6. Signature of the authorized account representative
or alternate authorized account representative and date
of signature.

c. The Department shall review all submitted  “Account
Certificate of Representation” forms.  Within 30 days of
receipt of the “Account Certificate of Representation”, the
Department shall take one of the following actions:

1. If not approved by the Department, the Department
shall  noti fy in writ ing the authorized account
representative identified in the “Account Certificate of
Representation” of the reason(s) for disapproval.

2. If approved by the Department, the Department shall
forward the “Account Certificate of Representation” to the
NATS Administrator and authorize the NATS Administrator
to open a compliance account for the budget source.

d.Authorized account representative and alternate
authorized account representative designations or
changes become effective upon the logged date of receipt
of a completed “Account Certificate of Representation”
by the NATS Administrator.  The NATS Administrator shall
acknowledge receipt and the effective date of the
designation or changes by written correspondence to the
authorized account representative.

e. The alternate authorized account representative shall
have the same authority as the authorized account
representative.  Correspondence from the NATS
Administrator shall be directed to the authorized account
representative.

f. Only the authorized account representative or the
alternate authorized account representative may request
transfers of NO

x
 allowances in a NATS account.  The

authorized account representative shall be responsible
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for all transactions and reports submitted to the NATS.

Section 7 - Establishment of General Accounts

a. An authorized account representative and alternate
authorized account representative, if any, shall be
designated for each general account by the general
account owners.  Said representative shall  have
obligations similar to that of an authorized account
representative of a budget source.

b. Any person or group of persons may open a general
account in the NATS for the purpose of holding and
transferring allowances.  That person or group of persons
shall submit to the Department an application to open a
general account.  The general account application shall
include the following minimum information:

1. Organization or company name to be used for the
general account name listed in the NATS, and type of
organization (if applicable).

2. The name, address, telephone, and facsimile number
of the account’s authorized account representative and
alternate authorized account representative, if applicable.

3. A list of all persons subject to a binding agreement for
the authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative to represent their
ownership interest with respect to the allowances held in
the general account.

4. The following statement: “I certify that I was selected
under the terms of an agreement that is binding on all
persons who have an ownership interest with respect to
allowances held in the NO

x
 allowance tracking system

(NATS) account.  I certify that I have all necessary
authority to carry out my duties and responsibilities on
behalf of the persons with ownership interest and that
they shall be fully bound by my actions, inactions, or
submissions under this regulation.  I shall abide by my
fiduciary responsibilities assigned pursuant to the
binding agreement.  I am authorized to make this
submission on behalf of the persons with an ownership
interest for whom this submission is made.  I certify under
penalty of law that I have personally examined and am
familiar with the information submitted in this document
and all its attachments.  Based on my inquiry of those
individuals with primary responsibility for obtaining the
information, I certify that the information is to the best of
my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete.  I
am aware that there are significant penalties for
submitting false material information, or omitting material
information, including the possibi l i ty of f ine or
imprisonment for violations.”

5. Signature of the general account’s authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
representative and date of signature.

c. The Department shall review all submitted  general
account and revised general account applications.  Within
30 days of receipt  of the application, the Department shall
take one of the following actions:

1. If not approved by the Department, the Department
shall  noti fy in writ ing the authorized account
representative identif ied in the general account
application of the reason(s) for disapproval.

2. If approved by the Department, the Department shall
forward the general account application to the NATS
Administrator and authorize the NATS Administrator to
open/revise a general account in the organization or
company name identif ied in the general account
application.

d. No allowance transfer shall be recorded for a general
account until the NATS Administrator has established the
new account.

e. The authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative of an established
general account may transfer allowances at any time in
accordance with Section 11 of this regulation.

f. An authorized account representative or alternative
account representative of an existing general account may
be replaced by submitting to the Department a revised
general account application in accordance with Section
7(b) of this regulation.

g. The authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative of a general account
may apply to the Department to close the general account
as follows:

1. By submitting a copy of an allowance transfer request
to the NATS Administrator authorizing the  transfer of all
allowances held in the account to one or more other
accounts in the NATS and/or retiring allowances held in
the account.

2. By submitting to the Department, in writing, a request
to delete the general account from the NATS.  The request
shall be certified by the authorized account representative
or alternate authorized account representative.

3. Upon approval, the Department shall authorize the
NATS Administrator to close the general account and
confirm closure in writing to the general account’s
authorized account representative.

Section 8 - Opt In Provisions

Except as provided for in Section 4(g) of this regulation,
the owner or operator of any stationary source in the state
of Delaware that is not subject to the NO

x
 Budget Program
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by definition, may choose to opt into the NO

x
 Budget

Program as follows:

a. The owner or operator of a stationary source who
chooses to opt into the NO

x
 Budget Program shall submit

to the Department an opt-in application.  The opt-in
application shall include, as a minimum, the following
information:

1. Identification of the opt-in source by plant name,
address, and plant combustion unit number or equipment
identification number.

2. The name, address, telephone and facsimile number
of the authorized account representative and, if desired,
of an alternative authorized account representative.

3. A list of the owners and operators of the opt-in source.
4. A description of the opt-in source, including fuel

type(s), maximum rated heat input capacity and electrical
output rating where applicable.

5. Documentation of the opt-in-baseline control period
mass emissions (in tons).

i. The opt-in-baseline control period emissions shall
be the lower of the average of the mass emissions from the
immediately preceding two consecutive NO

x
 control

periods and the allowable emissions.
A. If the mass emissions from the preceding two

control periods are not representative of normal
operations, the Department may approve use of an
alternative two consecutive NO

x
 control periods within

the five years preceding the date of the opt-in application.
B.If the opt-in source does not have two

consecutive years of operation, the owner or operator
shall identify the lower of the permitted allowable NO

x

emissions and any  applicable Federal or State emission
limitation as the opt-in-baseline emissions.

ii. The documentation shall include:
A. Identification of the time period represented by

the emissions data.
B.Quantification of the opt-in-baseline control

period mass emissions (in tons).
C.A description of the method used to determine

the opt-in-baseline control period NO
x
 emissions.

6. Documentation of the opt-in-baseline NO
x
 control

period heat input (in MMBTU).
i. The opt-in-baseline control period heat input shall

be consistent with the opt-in-baseline control period NO
x

mass emissions determined in Section 8(a)(5) of this
regulation.

ii. The documentation shall include:
A. Quantification of the opt-in-baseline control

period heat input (in MMBTU/hr).
B.A description of the method used to determine

the opt-in-baseline control period heat input.
7. Determination of the opt-in-baseline NO

x
 emission

rate, consistent with the guidelines of the “Procedures for

Development of the OTC NO
x
 Baseline Emission

Inventory”, using the opt-in-baseline control period mass
emissions identified in Section 8(a)(5) of this regulation
and the opt-in-baseline NO

x
 control period heat input

identified in Section 8(a)(6) of this regulation.
8. An emission monitoring plan in accordance with

Section 13 of this regulation.
9. A statement that the source was operated in

accordance with all applicable requirements during the
control periods.

10. The following statement: “I am authorized to make
this submission on behalf of the owners and operators of
the budget source for which this submission is made.  I
certify under penalty of law that I have personally
examined, and am familiar with, the statements and
information submitted in this document and all its
attachments.  Based on my inquiry of those individuals
with primary responsibility for obtaining the information,
I certify that the statements and information are to the
best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and
complete.  I am aware that there are significant penalties
for submitting false statements and information or
omitting required statements and information, including
the possibility of fine or imprisonment.”

11. Signature of the authorized account representative
or alternate authorized account representative and date
of signature.

b. Within 60 days of receipt of any opt-in application, the
Department shall take the following actions:

1. The Department shall review the application for
completeness and accuracy and:

i. Verify that the monitoring methods used to determine
the opt-in-baseline control period NO

x
 mass emissions

and the opt-in-baseline NO
x
 control period heat input are

consistent with those described in Section 13 of this
regulation.

ii. Verify that the opt-in-baseline emissions were
calculated in accordance with the guidelines in the
“Procedures for Development of the OTC NO

x
 Baseline

Emission Inventory”.
2. If the Department disapproves the opt-in application,

the authorized account representative identified in the
opt-in application shall be notified in writing of the
determination and the reason(s) for the application not
being approved.

3. If the Department determines that the opt-in application
is acceptable, the Department shall request the OTC
Stationary/Area Source Committee to review the
application.  Within 30 days of receiving the OTC
Stationary/Area Source Committee comments, the
Department shall consider the comments and take the
following action:

i. If it is determined that the opt-in application does
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not properly justify opting the source into the NO

x
 Budget

Program, the Department shall notify the authorized
account representative in writing of the determination and
the reason(s) for the application not being accepted.

ii. If it is determined that the opt-in application justifies
opting the source into the NO

x
 Budget Program, the

Department shall  noti fy the  authorized account
representative in writing of that determination.

c. The Department shall assign an allowance allocation
to any owner or operator that has been approved by the
Department to opt into the NO

x
 Budget Program.

1. The allowance allocation for an opt-in source, that
is not considered a budget source by definition, shall be
equal to the more stringent of the opt-in-baseline control
period emissions or the allowable NO

x
 emissions from the

source.
2. The allowance allocation for an opt-in source that

has a maximum heat input rating of 250 MMBTU/hr shall
be determined as follows:

i. For sources located in New Castle and Kent
counties, allowance allocations shall be based on the
more stringent of the following:

A. The less stringent of:
1. The opt-in-baseline actual mass emissions

reduced by 65%; or,
2. The mass emissions result ing from the

multiplication of the actual opt-in-baseline heat input by a
NO

x
 emissions rate of 0.20 lb/MMBTU.

B.If any permitted NO
x
 emissions limit results in

emissions that are lower than the less stringent of the limits
calculated in Sections 8(c)(2)(i)(A)(1) and 8(c)(2)(i)(A)(2),
then the permitted emissions limit  shall be used to
determine the emissions limitation for the  NO

x
 Budget

Program.
ii.  For sources located in Sussex county, allowance

allocations shall be based on the more stringent of the
following:

A. The less stringent of:
1. The opt-in-baseline actual mass emissions

reduced by 55%; or,
2. The mass emissions result ing from the

multiplication of the actual opt-in-baseline heat input by a
NO

x
 emissions rate of 0.20 lb/MMBTU.

B.If any permitted NO
x
 emissions limit results in

emissions that are lower than the less stringent of the limits
calculated in Sections 8(c)(2)(ii)(A)(1) and 8(c)(2)(ii)(A)(2),
then the permitted emissions limit  shall be used to
determine the emissions limitation for the  NO

x
 Budget

Program.
3. If the owner or operator of an opt-in source is required

to obtain NO
x
 emissions offsets in accordance with

Regulation 25 of the State of Delaware “Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution”, the allowance

allocation calculated under Section 8(c)(1) or (2) of this
regulation shall be reduced by the portion of the control
period emission reduction that is associated with any
budget source.

4. The allowance allocation associated with the opt-in
source shall be added to Delaware’s NO

x
 budget prior to

allocation of allowances to the opt-in source.  This
regulation shall be revised to reflect changes in the number
of allowances in the NO

x
 Budget Program.

5. Under no circumstances shall the allocation of
allowances to a source which chooses to opt into the
program require adjustments to the allocation of
allowances to budget sources in the NO

x
 Budget Program.

d. Upon the approval of the opt-in application and
assignment of an allowance allocation, the Department
shall authorize the NATS Administrator to open a
compliance account for the opt-in source in accordance
with Section 10 of this regulation.

e. [Within 30 days of approval to opt into the NOx Budget
Program], any owner or operator approved to opt into
the NO

x
 Budget Program shall apply for a permit, or the

modification of applicable permits, in accordance with
Section 5 of this regulation.

f. Upon approval of the opt-in application and
establishment of the compliance account, the owner or
operator of the source shall be subject to all applicable
requirements of this regulation including the requirements
for allowance transfer or deduction, emissions monitoring,
record keeping, reporting, and penalties.

[1. A certification test notice and test protocol shall be
submitted to the Department no later than 90 days prior
to anticipated performance of the certification testing.

2. Certification testing shall be completed prior to
operation in the next NOx control period following
approval of the source to opt into the NOx Budget Program.

3. A certification test report meeting the requirements
of the OTC docment “NOx Budget Program Monitoring
Certification and Reporting Instructions” shall be
submitted to the Department no later than 45 days
following the performance of the certification testing.]

g. Any owner or operator approved to opt into the NO
x

Budget Program that did not have two consecutive years
of operation upon initial application and determined opt-
in-baseline emissions in accordance with Section
8(a)(5)(i)(B) of this regulation shall submit to the
Department a revised opt-in application.

1. The revised opt-in application shall be submitted no
more than 60 days following first completion of operation
in two consecutive NO

x
 control periods.

2. The revised opt-in application shall provide actual
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operating information, including NO

x
 mass emissions and

heat input, for each of the two NO
x
 control periods.

3. [Within 60 days of receipt on any revised opt-in
application], the Department shall review the revised opt-
in application.

i. If the Department does not approve the revised opt-
in application:

A. The Department shall notify the opt-in source’s
authorized account representative of the determination
in writing and indicate the reason(s) for the determination.

B.The opt-in source’s authorized account
representative shall resolve the Department’s comments
and an updated revised opt-in application shall be
submitted to the Department no more than 60 days from
the Department’s request.

C.Upon approval of any updated revised opt-in
application, the Department shall process the application
in accordance with Section 8(g)(3)(ii) of this regulation.

ii. If the Department is in concurrence with the revised
opt-in application, the following actions shall be taken:

A. The Department shall  request the OTC
Stationary/Area Source Committee to comment on the
revised opt-in application. [,and shall consider any
comments offered by the OTC Stationary/Area Source
Committee.] [Within 30 days of receiving the OTC
Stationary/Area Source Committee comments, the
Department shall consider the comments and take action
in accordance with Section 8(g)(ii)(B) or Section
8(g)(3)(ii)(C) of this regulation.]

B.If i t  is determined that the revised opt-in
application shall not be approved:

1. The Department shall notify the opt-in source’s
authorized account representative of the determination
in writing and indicate the reason(s) for the determination.

2. The opt-in source’s authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
representative shall resolve the Department’s comments
and an updated revised opt-in application shall be
submitted to the Department no more than 60 days from
the Department’s request.

3. Upon approval of any updated revised opt-in
application, the Department shall process the application
in accordance with Section 8(g)(3)(ii)(C) of this regulation.

C.If it is determined that the revised opt-in shall be
approved, the following actions shall be taken:

1. If the initial allocation was lower than that
indicated in the revised application:

a. The Department shall revise the NO
x
 budget

to reflect the allocation determination identified in the
revised opt-in application.

b.The Department shall authorize the NATS
Administrator to revise the allocation to the subject
source’s compliance account.

c. The Department shall not authorize any

additional allowances to cover any shortfall in the two
opt-in-baseline NO

x
 control periods.  Any violation of a

permit condition or of this regulation may result in an
enforcement action.

2. If the initial allocation was higher than that
indicated in the revised application:

a. The Department shall revise the NO
x
 budget

to reflect the allocation determination identified in the
revised opt-in application.

b.The Department shall authorize the NATS
Administrator to revise the allocation to the subject
source’s compliance account.

c. The Department shall authorize the NATS
Administrator to deduct the excess allowances allocated
to the opt-in source, calculated as the difference between
the actual allocated allowances and the allowances
allocated on the basis of the revised opt-in application
for the years of operation in NO

x
 control periods.

h. Any owner or operator who chooses to opt into the
NO

x
 Budget Program can not opt-out of the program unless

NO
x
 emitting operations at the opt-in source have ceased,

and the allowance adjustment provisions of Section 8(i)
of this regulation apply.

i. Any owner or operator who chooses to opt into the
NO

x
 Budget Program and who subsequently chooses to

cease or curtail operations during any NO
x
 allowance

control period after opting-in shall be subject to an
allowance adjustment equivalent to the NO

x
 emissions

decrease that results from the shut down or curtailment.
1. The NETS Administrator shall compare actual heat

input data following each NO
x
 control period with the

opt-
in-baseline heat input for each opt-in source.

2. The NATS Administrator shall calculate and deduct
allowances equivalent to any decrease in the opt-in
source’s heat input below its opt-in-baseline heat input.
This deduction shall be calculated using the average of
the two most recent years heat input compared to the heat
input used in the opt-in-baseline calculation.

3. The NATS Administrator shall notify the NO
x
 budget

source’s authorized account representative and the
Department of any such deductions.

4. This adjustment affects only the current year
allocation and shall not effect the NO

x
 budget source’s

allocations for future years.
5. No deduction shall result from reducing NO

x
 emission

rates below the rate used in the opt-in allowance
calculation.

6. A source that is to be repowered or replaced can be
opted into the NO

x
 Budget Program without the shutdown/

curtailment deductions.  The heat input for the repowered
or replaced source can be substituted for the present
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year’s activity for the opt-in NO

x
  allowance adjustment

calculation.

j. For replacement sources, all sources under common
control in the State of Delaware to which production may
be shifted shall be opted-in together.

k. When an opt-in source undergoes reconstruction or
modification such that the source becomes a budget source
by definition:

1. The opt-in source’s authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
representative shall notify the Department within 30 days
of completion of the modification or reconstruction.

2. The Department shall  authorize the NATS
Administrator to deduct allowances equal to those
allocated to the opt-in source in the NO

x
 control period

for the calendar year in which the opt-in source becomes a
budget source by definition.

3. The Department shall  authorize the NATS
Administrator to deduct all allowances that were allocated
pursuant to Section 8(c) of this regulation to the opt-in
source, for all future years following the calendar year in
which the opt-in source becomes a budget source by
definition.  This regulation shall be revised to reflect
changes in the number of allowances in the NO

x
 Budget

Program.
4. The reconstructed or modified source shall be treated

as a new budget source in accordance with Section 9 of
this Regulation.

Section 9 - New Budget Source Provisions

a. NO
x
 allowances shall not be created for new NO

x
 sources

that are budget sources by definition.  The owner or
operator is responsible to acquire any required NO

x

allowances from the NATS.

b. The owner or operator of a new budget source shall
establish a compliance account and be in compliance  with
all applicable requirements of this regulation prior to the
commencement of operation in any NO

x
 control period.

New budget sources shall:
1. Request a [permit/] permit amendment[/revision] in

accordance with Section 5 of this regulation [no less than
90 days prior to operation in any NOx control period].

2. Submit a monitoring plan to the Department, in
accordance with Section 13 of this regulation, no later than
90 days prior to the anticipated performance of monitoring
system certification.

3. Install and operate an approved monitoring system(s)
to measure, record, and report hourly and cumulative NO

x

mass emissions.
4. [Submit to the Department a certification test notice

and protol no later than 90 days prior to the anticipated
performance of the certification testing.]

[4] [5]. Complete the monitoring system certification
prior to operation in any NO

x
 control period.

[6.  Submit to the Department a certification test report
meeting the requirements of the OTC document “NOx
Budget Program Monitoring Certification and Reporting
Instructions” no later than 45 days following the
performance of the certification testing.]

Section 10 - NO
x
 Allowance Tracking System (NATS)

a. The NO
x
 allowance tracking system is an electronic

recordkeeping and reporting system which is the official
database for all NO

x
 allowance deduction and transfer

within this program.  The NATS shall track:
1. The allowances allocated to each budget source.
2. The allowances held in each account.
3. The allowances deducted from each budget source

during each control period, as requested by a transfer
request submitted by the budget source’s authorized
account representative or alternate authorized account
representative in accordance with Section 16(b) of this
regulation.

4. Compliance accounts established for each budget
source to determine the compliance for the source,
including the following information:

i. The account number of the compliance account.
ii. The  name(s), address(es), and telephone number(s)

of the account owner (s).
iii. The name, address, and telephone number of the

authorized account representative and alternate
authorized account representative, as applicable.

iv. The name and street address of the associated
budget source, and the state in which the budget source is
located.

v. The number of allowances held in the account.
5. General accounts opened by individuals or entities,

upon request, which are not used to determine compliance,
including the following information:

i. The account number of the general account.
ii. The name(s), address(es) and telephone number(s)

of the account owner(s).
iii. The name, address, and telephone number of the

authorized account representative and alternate
authorized account representative, as applicable.

iv. The number of allowances held in the account.
6. Allowance transfers.
7. Deductions of allowances by the NATS Administrator

for compliance purposes, in accordance with Section 16(d)
of this regulation.

b. The NATS Administrator shall establish compliance and
general accounts when authorized to do so by the
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Department pursuant to Sections 6, 7, and 8 of this
regulation.

c. Each compliance account and general account shall
have a unique identification number and each allowance
shall be assigned a unique serial number.  Each allowance
serial number shall indicate the year of allocation.

Section 11 - Allowance Transfer

a.Allowances may be transferred at any time during any
year, not just the current year.

b. The transfer of allowances between budget sources in
different states for purposes of compliance is contingent
upon the adoption and implementation by those states of
[comparable and consistent] NO

x
 budget program

regulations, and their participation in the NATS.  [A
program is considered comparable and consistent if it is
approved by the EPA for incorporation in the subject states’
state implementation plan (SIP).]

c. Transfer requests shall be submitted to the NATS
Administrator on a form or electronic media, as directed
by the NATS Administrator, and shall include the following
information:

1. The account number of the originating account and
the acquiring account.

2. The name(s) and address(es) of the owner(s) of the
originating account and the acquiring account.

3. The serial number of each allowance being transferred.
4. The following statement from the authorized account

representative or alternate authorized account
representative of the originating account, in verbatim: “I
am authorized to make this submission on behalf of the
owners or operators of the budget source and I hereby
certify under penalty of law, that I have personally
examined the foregoing and am familiar with the
information contained in this document and al l
attachments, and that based on my inquiry of those
individuals immediately responsible for obtaining the
information, I believe the information is true, accurate,
and complete.  I am aware that there are significant
penalties for submitting false information, including
possible fines and imprisonment.”

5. Signature of the authorized account representative
or alternate authorized account representative of the
originating account and the date of signature.

d. The Authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative for the originating
account shall further provide a copy of the transfer request
to each owner or operator of the budget source.

e. Transfer requests shall be processed by the NATS
Administrator in order of receipt.

f. A transfer request shall be determined to be valid by the
NATS Administrator if:

1. Each allowance listed in the transfer request is held
by the originating account at the time the transfer is to be
recorded.

2. The acquiring party has an account in the NATS.
3. The transfer request has been certified by the person

named as authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative for the originating
account.

g. Transfer requests judged valid by the NATS Administrator
shall be completed and recorded in the NATS by deducting
the specified allowances from the originating account and
adding them to the acquiring account.

h. Transfer requests judged to be invalid by the NATS
Administrator shall be returned to the authorized account
representative indicated on the transfer request along with
documentation why the transfer request was judged to be
invalid.

i. The NATS Administrator shall provide notification of an
allowance transfer to the authorized account
representatives of the originating account, the authorized
account representative of the acquiring account, and the
Department, including the following information:

1. The effective date of transfer.
2. Identification of the originating account and acquiring

account by name as well as by account number.
3. The number of allowances transferred and their serial

numbers.

j. The authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative of a compliance
account or a general account may request that some or all
allocated allowances be transferred to another compliance
account or to a general account for the current year, any
future year, block of years, or for the duration of the
program.  The authorized account representative or
alternate authorized account representative of the
originating account shall submit a request for transfer that
states this intent to the NATS Administrator, and the
transfer request shall conform to the requirements of this
Section.  In addition, the request for transfer shall be
submitted to the Department with a letter requesting that
the budget be revised to reflect the change in allowance
allocations.

k. Upon request by the Department any authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
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representative shall make available to the Department
information regarding transaction cost and allowance
price.

Section 12 - Allowance Banking

a. The banking of allowances is permitted to allow
retention of unused allowances from one year to a future
year in either a compliance account or a general account.

b. Except for allowances created under Section 12(d) of
this regulation,  allowances not used under Section 16 of
this regulation shall be held in a compliance account or
general account and designated as “banked” allowances
by the NATS Administrator.

c. The use of banked allowances shall be restricted as
follows:

1. By March 1 of each year the NATS Administrator shall
divide the total number of banked allowances by the
regional NO

x
 budget.

i. If the total number of banked allowances in the
NATS is less than or equal to 10% of the regional NO

x

budget for the current year control period, all banked
allowances can be deducted in the current year on a 1-
for-1 basis.

ii. If the total number of banked allowances in the
NATS exceeds 10% of the regional NO

x
 budget for the

current year control period, budget sources shall be
notified by the NATS Administrator of the allowance ratio
which must be applied to banked allowance in each
compliance account and general account to determine
the number of allowances available for deduction in the
current year control period on a 1-for-1 basis and the
number of allowances available for deduction on a 2-for-1
basis.

2. Where a f inding has been made by the NATS
Administrator that banked allowances exceed 10% of the
current year regional NO

x
 budget, each NATS compliance

account and general account of banked allowances shall
be subject to the following banked allowance deduction
protocol:

i. A ratio shall be established according to the
following formula:

             0.10 x the regional NO
x
 Budget

the total number of banked allowances in the region

ii. The ratio calculated in Section 12(c)(2)(i) of this
regulation shall be applied to the banked allowances in
each account.  The resulting number is the number of
banked allowances in the account which can be used in
the current year control period on a 1-for-1 basis.  Banked

allowances in excess of this number, if used, shall be used
on a 2-for-1 basis.

d. The owner or operator of an existing budget source
may apply to the Department to receive early reduction
allowances for actual NO

x
 reductions occurring in 1997

and/or 1998.
1. No later than October 1, 1998, the authorized account

representative or alternate authorized account
representative from any budget source seeking early
reduction allowances shall submit to the Department an
application that includes, at a minimum, the following
information:

i. Identification of the budget source.
ii. Identification of the calendar time period for which

early reduction allowances are being sought (i.e. May 1 -
September 30, 1997, May 1 - September 30, 1998, or both).

iii. Identification of the baseline NO
x
 control period

emission limit (tons), which shall be the more stringent of
the following:

A. The level of control required by the OTC MOU;
B.The lower of the permitted allowable emissions

for the source and the allowable emissions identified in
the state implementation plan (SIP);

C.The actual emissions for the 1990 control period,
or;

D. The actual emissions for the average of two
representative year control periods within the first five
years of operation if the budget source did not commence
operation until after 1990.

iv. The baseline NO
x
 control period heat input

(MMBTU) corresponding to the baseline NO
x
 control

period emission limit (tons) determined in Section
12(d)(1)(iii) of this regulation.

v. The actual NO
x
 control period NO

x
 emissions (tons)

occurring in 1997 and/or 1998, as applicable.
vi. The actual NO

x
 control period heat input

(MMBTU) occurring in 1997 and/or 1998, as applicable.
vii. The calculated NO

x
 control period emissions rate

(lb/MMBTU), as determined using the control period NO
x

emissions identified in Section 12(d)(1)(v) of this
regulation multiplied by 2000 to obtain actual emissions in
pounds (lbs),  divided by the control period heat input
(MMBTU) identified in Section 12(d)(1)(vi) of this
regulation.

viii. The amount of NO
x
 emissions early reduction

allowances shall be calculated by subtracting the actual
control period NO

x
 emissions (in tons), identified in

Section 12(d)(1)(v)of this regulation, from the baseline NO
x

emissions limit (in tons) identified in Section 12(d)(1)(iii)
of this regulation.

ix. If the actual control period heat input, as
identified in Section 12(d)(1)(vi) of this regulation, is less
than the baseline NO

x
 control period heat input, as
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identified in Section 12(d)(1)(iv) of this regulation, the NO

x

emissions early reduction allowances determined in
Section 12(d)(1)(viii) of this regulation shall be corrected
as follows:

A. The actual control period heat input (MMBTU),
as identified in Section 12(d)(1)(vi) of this regulation, shall
be subtracted from the baseline NO

x
 control period heat

input (MMBTU), as identified in Section 12(d)(1)(iv) of
this regulation, to obtain the heat input correction.

B.The heat input correction (MMBTU) is multiplied
by the calculated NO

x
 control period emissions rate (lb/

MMBTU) determined in Section 12(d)(1)(vii) of this
regulation.  The resulting value is divided by 2000 to obtain
tons of NO

x
.

C.The corrected NO
x
 emissions early reduction

allowance is the result of subtracting the results of Section
12(d)(1)(ix)(B) of this regulation from the NO

x
 emissions

early reduction allowances calculated in Section
12(d)(1)(viii) of this regulation.

x. A statement indicating the budget source was
operating in accordance with all applicable requirements
during the applicable NO

x
 control period including:

A. Whether the monitoring plan that was
submitted in accordance with Section 13 of this regulation
was maintained to reflect the actual operation and
monitoring of the unit and contains all information
necessary to attribute monitored emissions to the budget
source.  If early reduction allowances are being sought
for a control period prior to the implementation of
monitoring in accordance with Section 13(a) of this
regulation, a monitoring plan prepared in accordance with
Section 13(a) of this regulation shall be submitted
describing the monitoring method in use during the control
period for which early reduction allowances are being
sought.

B.Whether all the emissions from the budget source
were monitored, or accounted for, throughout the NO

x

control period and reported.
C.Whether the information that formed the basis for

certification of the emissions monitoring plan has changed
affecting the certification of the monitoring.

D. If a change in the monitoring method is reported
under Section 12(d)(1)(x)(C) of this regulation, specify the
nature of the change, the reason for the change, when the
change occurred, and what method was used to determine
emissions during the period mandated by the change.

xi. A statement documenting the specific physical
changes to the budget source or changes in the methods
of operating the budget source which resulted in the
reduction of emissions.

xii. The following statement: “I certify under penalty
of law that I have personally  examined, and am familiar
with, the statements and information submitted in this
document and all its attachments.  Based on my inquiry of

those individuals with primary responsibi l i ty for
obtaining the information, I certify that the statements
and information are to the best of my knowledge and belief
true, accurate, and complete.  I am aware that there are
significant penalties for submitting false statements and
information or omitt ing required statements and
information, including the possibi l i ty of f ine or
imprisonment.”

xiii. Signature of the authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
representative and date of signature.

2. Early reduction allowance requests shall be reviewed
by the Department.

i. If the Department determines that the emissions
reductions were not enforceable, real, quantifiable, or
surplus, the Department shall notify the budget source’s
authorized account representative in writing, indicating
the reason(s) the request for early reduction allowances
is being denied.

ii. If the Department determines that the emissions
reductions are enforceable, real, quantifiable, and surplus:

A. The Department shall  request the OTC
Stationary/Area Source Committee to comment on the
generation of potential early reduction allowances.

B.The Department shall  consider the  OTC
Stationary/Area Source Committee comments and either:

1. Notify the budget source’s authorized account
representative in writing denying the request for early
reduction allowances and indicate the reason(s) for the
determination; or

2. Notify the budget source’s authorized account
representative in writing that the requested emissions
reduction allowances shall be added to the budget source’s
account; and

3. Authorize the NATS Administrator to add the
allowances to the budget source’s account as 1999
allowances.

3. Reductions associated with repowering of a budget
source are eligible for early reduction credit provided that
the permit for construction of the replacement source was
issued after the date of the OTC MOU (September 27, 1994),
and the budget source being replaced ceases operation in
1997 or 1998.

4. On or before May 1, 1999, the Department shall publish
a report which documents the applicable sources and the
number of early reduction credits awarded.

Section 13 - Emission Monitoring

a. NO
x
 emissions from each budget source shall be

monitored in accordance with this section and in
accordance with the requirements of the OTC documents
titled “Guidance for Implementation of Emissions
Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program”,
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dated January 28, 1997, and “NO

x
 Budget Program

Monitoring Certification and Reporting Instructions”, dated
July 3, 1997.  The provisions of these documents are hereby
adopted by reference.

b. Monitoring systems are subject to initial performance
testing  and periodic calibration, accuracy testing, and
quality assurance/quality control testing as specified in
the OTC document titled “Guidance for Implementation of
Emissions Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget

Program”.  If an owner or operator uses certified
monitoring systems under  Part 75 to meet the requirements
of this program and maintains and operates those
monitoring systems according to the requirements of Part
75, it is not necessary to re-perform initial certification tests
to ensure the accuracy of these components under the
NO

x
 Budget Program.

c. During a period when valid data is not being recorded
by devices approved for use to demonstrate compliance
with the requirements of this section, the owner or operator
shall provide substitute data in accordance with the
requirements of:

1. For Part 75 budget sources, the procedures of 40 CFR
Part 75, Subpart D, and Part 1 of the OTC documenttitled
“Guidance for Implementation of Emissions Monitoring
Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program”.

2. For non-Part 75 budget sources, the procedures of
Part 2 of the OTC document “Guidance for Implementation
of Emission Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget

Program” [except for those provisions in this document
that allow alternative methods or procedures. Any
alternative methods or procedures must be reviewed by
the Department and the EPA].

d. The owner or operator of a NO
x
 budget source shall

meet the following emissions monitoring deadlines:
1. All existing Part 75 NO

x
 budget sources not required

by the NO
x
 Budget Program to install additional monitoring

equipment, or required to only make software changes to
implement the additional requirements of this program, shall
meet the monitoring requirements of the NO

x
 Budget

Program as follows:
i. By meeting al l  current Part 75 monitoring

requirements during the NO
x
 control period during each

calendar year.
ii. By monitoring hourly and cumulative NO

x
 mass

emissions for the NO
x
 control period in each calendar year

starting in 1999 in accordance with the OTC documents
“Guidance for Implementation of Emissions Monitoring
Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program” and “NO

x

Budget Program Monitoring Certification and Reporting
Instructions”.

2. All existing Part 75 budget sources required to install

and cert i fy new monitoring systems to meet the
requirements of the NO

x
 Budget Program shall meet the

monitoring requirements of this program as follows:
i. By meeting al l  current Part 75 monitoring

requirements during the NO
x
 control period during each

calendar year.
ii. Monitoring systems required to be installed by the

NO
x
 Budget Program shall be installed and monitoring and

recording hourly mass emissions data on and after July 30,
1998.

iii. By monitoring hourly and cumulative NO
x
 mass

emissions using certified monitoring systems for each NO
x

control period each calendar year starting in 1999 in
accordance with the OTC documents “Guidance for
Implementation of Emissions Monitoring Requirements for
the NO

x
 Budget Program” and “NO

x
 Budget Program

Monitoring Certification and Reporting Instructions”.
3. All existing non-Part 75 budget sources shall meet

the monitoring requirements of the NO
x
 Budget Program

as follows:
i. Monitoring systems required to be installed by the

NO
x
 Budget Program shall be installed and monitoring and

recording hourly emissions data on July 30, 1998.
ii. By monitoring hourly and cumulative NO

x
 mass

emissions using certified monitoring systems for each NO
x

control period of each calendar year starting in 1999 in
accordance with the OTC documents “Guidance for
Implementation of Emissions Monitoring Requirements for
the NO

x
 Budget Program” and “NO

x
 Budget Program

Monitoring Certification and Reporting Instructions”.

e. The owner or operator of a budget source subject to 40
CFR Part 75 shall demonstrate compliance with this section
with a certified Part 75 monitoring system.

1. The authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative shall submit to the
Department a monitoring plan prepared in accordance with
40 CFR Part 75 and the additional requirements of the OTC
document “Guidance for the Implementation of Emission
Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program”

and the OTC document “NO
x
 Budget Program Monitoring

Certification and Reporting Instructions”.
i. All existing Part 75 budget sources not required to

install additional monitoring equipment shall submit to the
Department a complete hardcopy monitoring plan
containing monitoring plan changes and additions required
by the NO

x
 Budget Program no later than July 30, 1998.

These Part 75 budget sources  shall also submit to the
Department a complete electronic monitoring plan upon
request by the Department.

ii. For any Part 75 budget source required to install
and certify new monitoring systems, submit to the
Department a complete hardcopy monitoring plan
acceptable to the Department at least 45 days prior to the
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initiation of certification tests for the new system(s).  These
Part 75 budget sources  shall also submit to the Department
a complete electronic monitoring plan upon request by the
Department.

iii. For new budget sources under 40 CFR Part 75,
submit to the Department the NO

x
 Budget Program

information with the hardcopy Acid Rain Program
monitoring plan no later than 90 days prior to the projected
Acid Rain Program participation date.  These new Part 75
budget sources  shall also submit to the Department a
complete electronic monitoring plan upon request by the
Department.

2. The authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative shall  obtain
certificationof the NO

x
 emissions monitoring system in

accordance with 40 CFR Part 75 and the additional
requirements of the OTC document “Guidance for the
Implementation of Emission Monitoring Requirements for
the NO

x
 Budget Program” and the OTC document “NO

x

Budget Program Monitoring Certification and Reporting
Instructions”.

i. I f  the Part 75 budget source uses cert i f ied
monitoring systems under Part 75 to meet the requirements
of the NO

x
 Budget Program and maintains and operates

those monitoring systems according to the requirements
of Part 75, it is not necessary to re-perform initial
certification tests to ensure the accuracy of the monitoring
systems under the NO

x
 Budget Program.

A. Formula verifications must be performed to
demonstrate that the data acquisition system accurately
calculates and reports NO

x
 mass emissions (lb/hr) based

on hourly heat input (MMBTU/hr) and NO
x
 emission rate

(lb/MMBTU).
B.Formula verifications shall be submitted to the

Department no later than July 30, 1998.
ii. If it is necessary for the owner or operator of a Part

75 budget source to install and operate additional NO
x
 or

flow systems or fuel flow systems because of stack and
unit configuration, the owner or operator must certify the
monitoring systems using the procedures of 40 CFR Part
75.

A. Successful certification testing of the monitoring
system in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR Part
75 shall be completed no later than April 30, 1999.

B.A certification test notice and protocol shall be
submitted to the Department for approval no later than 90
days prior to the anticipated performance of the certification
testing.

C.A certification report meeting the requirements of
the OTC document “NO

x
 Budget Program Monitoring

Certification and Reporting Instructions” shall be submitted
to the Department no later than 45 days following the
performance of the certification testing.

3. If the Part 75 budget source has a flow monitor certified

under Part 75, NO
x
 emissions in pounds per hour shall be

determined using the Part 75 NO
x
 CEMS and the flow

monitor.  The NO
x
 emission rate in pounds per million BTU

shall be determined using the procedure in 40 CFR Part 75,
Appendix F, Section 3.  The hourly heat input shall be
determined by using the procedures in 40 CFR Part 75,
Appendix F, Section 5.  The NO

x
 emissions in pounds per

hour shall be determined by multiplying the NO
x
 emissions

rate (in pounds per million BTU) by the heat input rate (in
million BTU per hour).

4. If the Part 75 budget source does not have a certified
flow monitor, but does have a certified NO

x
 CEMS, the

NO
x
 emissions rate in pounds per hour shall be determined

by using the NO
x
 CEMS to determine the NO

x
 emission

rate in pounds per million BTU and the heat input shall be
determined by using the procedures in 40 CFR Part 75,
Appendix D.  The NO

x
 emissions rate (in pounds per hour)

shall be determined by multiplying the NO
x
 emissions rate

(in pounds per million BTU)  by the heat input rate (in
million BTU per hour).

5. If the Part 75 budget source uses the procedures in
40 CFR Part 75, Appendix E, to determine the NO

x
 emission

rate, the  NO
x
 emissions in pounds per hour shall be

determined by multiplying the NO
x
 emissions rate (in

pounds per million BTU) determined using the Appendix E
procedures times the heat input (in million BTU per hour)
determined using the procedures in 40 CFR Part 75,
Appendix D.

6. If the Part 75 budget source uses the procedures in
40 CFR Part 75, Subpart E, to determine NO

x
 emission rate,

the NO
x
 emissions in pounds per hour shall be determined

using the alternative monitoring method approved under
40 CFR Part 75, Subpart E, and the procedures contained
in the OTC document titled “Guidance for Implementation
of Emission Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget

Program”.
7. The relevant procedures of the OTC document

“Guidance for the Implementation of Emission Monitoring
Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program” shall be

employed for unusual or complicated stack configurations.

f. The owner or operator of a budget source not subject
to 40 CFR Part 75 shall seek the use of a NO

x
 monitoring

method to comply with this regulation as follows:
1. The authorized account representative or alternate

authorized account representative shall prepare and
submit to the Department for approval a hardcopy
monitoring plan for each NO

x
 budget source.  Upon request

by the Department, the authorized account representative
or alternate authorized account representative shall also
submit to the Department a complete electronic monitoring
plan. Sources subject to the program on July 1, 1998 shall
submit the complete monitoring plan no later than April
30, 1998.  Sources becoming subject to the budget
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program after July 1, 1998 must submit a complete
monitoring plan no later than 90 days prior to projected
initial participation date.  The monitoring plan shall be
prepared in accordance with the requirements of the OTC
documents “Guidance for the Implementation of the
Emission Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget

Program” and “NO
x
 Budget Program Monitoring and

Certification and Reporting Instructions”, and shall
contain the following information, as a minimum:

i. A description of the monitoring method to be used.
ii. A description of the major components of the

monitoring system including the manufacturer, serial
number of the component, the measurement span of the
component and documentation to demonstrate that the
measurement span of each component is appropriate to
measure all of the expected values.  This requirement
applies to all monitoring systems including NO

x
 CEMS

which have not been certified pursuant to 40 CFR Part 75.
iii. An estimate of the accuracy of the system and

documentation to demonstrate how the estimate of
accuracy was determined.  This requirement applies to all
monitoring systems that are not installed/being installed
in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 75.

iv. A description of the tests that will be used for
initial certification, initial quality assurance, periodic quality
assurance, and relative accuracy.

v. If the monitoring method of determining heat input
involves boiler efficiency testing, a description of the tests
to determine boiler efficiency.

vi. If the monitoring method uses fuel sampling, a
description of the test to be used in the fuel sampling
program.

vii. If the monitoring method utilizes a generic default
emission rate factor, the monitoring plan shall identify the
generic default emission rate factor and provide
documentation of the applicability of the generic default
emission rate factor to the non-Part 75 budget source.

viii. If the monitoring method utilizes a unit specific
default emission rate factor the monitoring plan shall
include the following:

A. All necessary information to support the
emission rate including:

1. Historical fuel use data and historical emissions
test data if previous testing has been performed prior to
May 1, 1997 to meet other state or federal requirements
and the testing was performed using Department approved
methods and protocols; or

2. If emissions testing is performed to determine
the emission rate, include a test protocol explaining the
test to be conducted.  All test performed on or after May 1,
1997 must meet the requirements of 40 CFR Part 75,
Appendix E, and the requirements of the OTC document
“Guidance for Implementation of Emission Monitoring
Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program”.

B.Procedures which will be utilized to demonstrate
that any control equipment in operation during the testing
to develop source specific emission factors, or during
development of load-based emission curves, are in use
when those emission factors are applied to estimate NO

x

emissions.
C.Alternative uncontrolled emission rates to be used

to estimate NO
x
 emissions during periods when control

equipment is not being used or is inoperable.
ix. If the monitoring method utilizes fuel flow meters

to determine heat input and said meters have not been
certified pursuant to 40 CFR Part 75, the monitoring plan
shall include a description of all components of the fuel
flow meter, the estimated accuracy of the fuel flow meter,
the most recent calibration of each of the components and
the original accuracy specifications from the manufacturer
of the fuel flow meter.

x. The submitted complete monitoring plan shall meet
all of the provisions of Part 2, Section II of the OTC
document “Guidance for the Implementation of the Emission
Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program”

and the OTC document “NO
x
 Budget Program Monitoring

Certification and Reporting Instructions”.
2. The authorized account representative or alternate

authorized account representative shall  obtain
certification of the NO

x
 emissions monitoring system in

accordance with the requirements of the OTC documents
“Guidance for the Implementation of the Emission
Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program”

and “NO
x
 Budget Program Monitoring Certification and

Reporting Instructions”.
i. The certification testing shall be successfully

completed no later than April 30, 1999.
ii. A certification test notice and protocol shall be

submitted to the Department no later than 90 days prior to
the anticipated performance of the certification testing.

iii. A certification report meeting the requirements of
the OTC document “NO

x
 Budget Program Monitoring

Certification and Reporting Instructions” shall be submitted
to the Department no later than 45 days following the
performance of the certification testing.

3. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget source
shall monitor NO

x
 emissions in accordance with one of the

following requirements:
i. Any non-Part 75 budget source that has a maximum

rated heat input capacity of 250 MMBTU/hr or greater
which is not a peaking unit as defined in 40 CFR 72.2, or
whose operating permit allows for the combustion of any
solid fossil fuel, or is required to install a NO

x
 CEMS for

the purposes of meeting either the requirements of 40 CFR
Part 60 or any other Department or Federal requirement,
shall install, certify, and operate a NO

x
 CEMS.  Any budget

source that has previously installed a NO
x
 CEMS for the

purposes of meeting either the requirements of 40 CFR
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Part 60 or any other Department or Federal requirement
shall certify and operate the NO

x
 CEMS.

A. The NO
x
 CEMS shall be used to measure stack

gas NO
x
 concentration and the NO

x
 emissions rate in lb/

MMBTU calculated in accordance with the procedures in
40 CFR Part 75, Appendix F.

B.Any non-Part 75 budget source utilizing a NO
x

CEMS shall meet the following requirements from the OTC
document “Guidance for the Implementation of Emission
Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program”:

1. Initial certification requirements identified in
Part 2, Section III.

2. Quality assurance requirements identified in Part
2, Section IV.

3. Re-certification requirements identified in Part
2, Section V.

ii. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source not required to install a NO

x
 CEMS in accordance

with Section 13(f)(3)(i) of this regulation may elect to install
a NO

x
 CEMS meeting the requirements of 40 CFR Part 75 or

Section 13(f)(3)(i) of this regulation.
iii. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget

source that is not required to have a NO
x
 CEMS may request

approval from the Department to use any of the following
methodologies to determine the NO

x
 emission rate:

A. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source may request the use of an alternative monitoring
methodology meeting the requirements of 40 CFR Part 75,
Subpart E.  The Department must approve the use of an
alternative monitoring system before such system is
operated to meet the requirements of the NO

x
 Budget

Program.  If the methodology must be incorporated into a
permit pursuant to Regulation 30 of Delaware’s
“Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution”, the
methodology must also be approved by the EPA.

B.The owner or operator of a boiler or combustion
turbine non-Part 75 budget source  may request the use
of the procedures contained in 40 CFR Part 75, Appendix
E, to measure the NO

x
 emission rate, in lb/MMBTU,

consistent with the requirements identified in Part 2 of the
OTC document “Guidance for the Implementation of
Emission Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget

Program.
C.The owner or operator of a combustion turbine

non-Part 75 budget source  may request the use of default
emission factors to determine NO

x
 emissions, in pounds

per MMBTU, as follows:
1. For oil-fired combustion turbines, the generic

default emission factor is 1.2 pounds of NO
x
 per MMBTU.

2. For gas-fired combustion turbines, the generic
default emission factor is 0.7 pound of NO

x
 per MMBTU.

3. The owner or operator of oil-fired and gas-fired
combustion turbines may perform testing, in accordance
with Department approved methods, to determine unit

specific maximum potential NO
x
 emission rates  in

accordance with the requirements of Part 2 of the OTC
document “Guidance for Implementation of Emission
Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program.”

D. The owner or operator of a boiler non-Part 75
budget source may request the use of default emission
factors to determine NO

x
 emissions, in pound per MMBTU,

as follows:
1. For oil-fired boilers, the generic default

emission factor is 2.0 pounds of NO
x
 per MMBTU.

2. For gas-fired boilers, the generic default
emission factor is 1.5 pound of NO

x
 per MMBTU.

3. The owner or operator of oil-fired and gas-fired
boilers may perform testing, in accordance with Department
approved methods, to determine unit specific maximum
potential NO

x
 emission rates in accordance with the

requirements of the OTC document “Guidance for
Implementation of Emission Monitoring Requirements for
the NO

x
 Budget Program.

4. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget source
may determine heat input in accordance with the following
guidelines:

i. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source using a  NO

x
 CEMS to measure NO

x
 emission rate

may elect to measure stack flow and diluent ( O
2
 or CO

2
)

concentration and use the procedures of 40 CFR Part 75,
Appendix F, to determine the hourly heat input.  For flow
monitoring systems, the non-Part 75 budget source must
meet all applicable requirements of 40 CFR Part 75.

ii. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source combusting only oil and/or natural gas may
determine hourly heat input rate by monitoring fuel flow
and conducting fuel sampling.

A. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source may monitor fuel flow by using fuel flow meter
systems certified under 40 CFR Part 75, Appendix D, or as
defined in Part 2, Section III of the OTC document
“Guidance for Implementation of Emissions Monitoring
Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program”.

B.The owner or operator of a  non-Part 75 budget
source combusting oil may perform oil sampling and testing
in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 75 or
Part 2, Section I(C)(2) of the OTC document “Guidance for
the Implementation of Emissions Monitoring Requirements
for the NO

x
 Budget Program”.

C.The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source combusting gas must determine the heating value
of the gas in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR
Part 75 or the methodologies approved in Part 2, Section
I(C)(2) of the OTC document “Guidance for the
Implementation of Emissions Monitoring Requirements for
the NO

x
 Budget Program”.

iii. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source electrical generating unit less than 25 megawatts
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rated capacity that combusts only oil or gas may petition
the Department to determine heat input by measuring fuel
used on a frequency of greater than one hour but no less
than weekly.

A. The fuel usage must be reported on an hourly
basis by apportioning the fuel based on electrical load in
accordance with the following formula:

     Hourly fuel usage = Hourly electrical load x   total fuel usage

              Total electrical load

B.The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source combusting oil may perform oil sampling and testing
in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 75 or
Part 2, Section I(C)(2) of the OTC document “Guidance for
the Implementation of Emissions Monitoring Requirements
for the NO

x
 Budget Program”.

C.The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source combusting gas must determine the heating value
of the gas in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR
Part 75 or the methodologies approved in Part 2, Section
I(C)(2) of the OTC document “Guidance for the
Implementation of Emissions Monitoring Requirements for
the NO

x
 Budget Program”.

iv. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source that combusts only oil and/or gas and has elected
to use a unit-specific or generic default NO

x
 emission rate,

may petition the Department to determine hourly heat input
based on fuel use measurements for a specified period that
is longer than one hour.

A. The petition must include a description of the
periodic measurement methodology, including an
assessment of its accuracy.

B.Each time period must begin on or after May 1
and conclude on or before September 30 of each calendar
year.

C.To determine hourly input, the owner or operator
shall apportion the long term fuel measurements to
operating hours during the control period.

D. Fuel sampling and analysis must conform to the
requirements of Part 2, Section I(C)(2) of the OTC document
“Guidance for Implementation of Emission Monitoring
Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program”.

v. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source that combusts any fuel other than oil or natural gas
may petition the Department to use an alternative method
of determining heat input, including:

A. Conducting fuel sampling and analysis and
monitoring fuel usage.

B.Using boiler eff iciency curves and other
monitored information such as boiler steam output.

C.Any other method approved by the Department
and which meets the requirements identified in Part 2,

Section I, of the OTC document “Guidance for the
Implementation of Emission Monitoring Requirements for
the NO

x
 Budget Program”.

vi. The owner or operator of a non-Part 75 budget
source may petition the Department to use a unit-specific
maximum hourly heat input based on the higher of the
manufacturer’s rated capacity or the highest observed
hourly heat input in the period beginning five years prior
to the program participation date.  The Department may
approve a lower maximum heat input if an owner or
operator demonstrates that the highest observed hourly
heat input in the last five years is not representative of the
unit’s current capabilities because modifications have been
made limiting its capacity permanently.

vii. Methods used for determination of heat input are
subject to both applicable initial and periodic relative
accuracy and quality assurance testing  requirements in
accordance with the following provisions of the OTC
document“Guidance for Implementation of Emissions
Monitoring Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program”:

A. Initial certification requirements identified in
Part 2, Section III.

B.Quality assurance requirements identified in Part
2, Section IV.

C.Re-certification requirements identified in Part 2,
Section V.

5. Once the NO
x
 emission rate in pounds per million BTU

has been determined in accordance with Section 13(f)(3)
of this regulation and the heat input rate in MMBTU per
hour has been determined in accordance with Section
13(f)(4) of this regulation, the two values shall be multiplied
together to result in NO

x
 emissions in pounds per hour

and reported to the NETS in accordance with Section 15 of
this regulation.

6. The relevant procedures of the OTC document
“Guidance for Implementation of Emission Monitoring
Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program” shall be

employed for unusual or complicated stack configurations.

Section 14 - Recordkeeping

The owner or operator of any budget source shall
maintain, for a period of at least five years, copies of all
measurements, tests, reports, data, and other information
required by this regulation.

Section 15 - Emissions Reporting

a. The Authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative for each budget source
shall submit to the NETS Administrator, electronically in a
format which meets the requirements of the EPA’s Electronic
Data Reporting (EDR) convention, emissions and operating
information [for the second and third calendar quarter of



1297

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

ERRATA
each year] in accordance with the OTC documents
“Guidance for the Implementation of Emission Monitoring
Requirements for the NO

x
 Budget Program” and “NO

x

Budget Program Monitoring Certification and Reporting
Instructions”.

1. All existing Part 75 budget sources not required to
install additional monitoring equipment shall meet the
reporting requirements of the NO

x
 Budget Program as

follows:
i. By meeting all current Part 75 reporting requirements

and reporting the additional unit identification information
as required by the NO

x
 Budget Program (100 and 500 level

records) beginning with submittal of the quarterly report
for the third calendar quarter of 1998.

ii. It is not necessary to submit hourly NO
x
 mass

emissions data in 1998.
iii. Beginning with the quarterly report for the second

quarter of 1999, report all Part 75 required information and
all additional information required by the NO

x
 Budget

Program including:
A. Additional unit identification information.
B.Hourly NO

x
 mass emissions in pounds per hour

based on reported hourly heat input and hourly NO
x

emission rate.
C.Cumulative NO

x
 control period NO

x
 mass

emissions in tons per NO
x
 control period.

D. Additional monitoring plan information related
to the NO

x
 Budget Program.

E. Certification status information as required by the
NO

x
 Budget Program.

2. Beginning with the quarterly report for the third
quarter of 1998, all Part 75 budget sources, that are required
to install and certify new monitoring systems to meet the
requirements of the NO

x
 Budget Program, shall meet the

reporting requirements of the NO
x
 Budget Program by

meeting all current Part 75 reporting requirements and the
additional reporting requirements of the NO

x
 Budget

Program including submittal of the following information:
i. Additional unit identification information.
ii. Hourly NO

x
 mass emissions in pounds per hour

based on reported hourly heat input and hourly NO
x

emission rate.
iii. Cumulative NO

x
 control period NO

x
 mass

emissions in tons per NO
x
 control period.

iv. Additional monitoring plan information related to
the NO

x
 Budget Program.

v. Certification status information as required by the
NO

x
 Budget Program.

3. All non-Part 75 budget sources shall meet the
reporting requirements of the NO

x
 Budget Program by

reporting all information required by the NO
x
 Budget

Program as well as reporting hourly and cumulative  NO
x

mass emissions beginning with the quarterly report for the
third quarter of 1998.

b. The authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative of a budget source
subject to 40 CFR Part 75 shall submit NO

x
 Budget Program

quarterly data to the U.S. EPA as part of the quarterly
reports submitted for the compliance with 40 CFR Part 75.

c. The authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative of a budget source not
subject to 40 CFR Part 75 shall submit NO

x
 budget program

quarterly data to the U.S. EPA as follows:
1. For non-Part 75 budget sources not utilizing NO

x

CEMS, submit two quarterly reports each year, one for the
second quarter and one for the third quarter.

2. For non-Part 75 budget sources using any NO
x
 CEMS

based measurement methodology, submit a complete
quarterly report for each quarter in the year.

3. The submission deadline is thirty days after the end
of the calendar quarter.  If the thirtieth day falls on a
weekend or federal holiday, the reporting deadline is
midnight of the first day following the holiday or weekend.

d. Should a budget source be permanently shutdown, the
authorized account representative or alternate authorized
account representative may submit a written request the
Department for an  exemption from the requirements of
Sections 13 and 14 of this regulation.  The shutdown
exemption request shall identify the budget source being
shutdown and the date of permanent shutdown.  Within
30 days of receipt of the shutdown exemption request, the
Department shall:

1. If the Department does not approve the shutdown
exemption request, the authorized account representative
shall be notified in writing, including the reason(s) for not
approving the request.

2. If the Department approves the shutdown exemption
request:

i. The authorized account representative shall be
notified in writing.
        ii. The Department shall notify the NETS Administrator
of the approved shutdown request.

Section 16 - End-of Season Reconciliation

a.Allowances may be used for compliance with this program
in a designated compliance year by being in a compliance
account as of December 31 of the subject year, or by being
identified in an allowance transfer request that is
submitted by December 31 of the subject year.

b. Each year during the period November 1 through
December 31, inclusive, the authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
representative shall request the NATS Administrator to
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deduct current year allowances from the compliance
account equivalent to the NO

x
 emissions from the budget

source in the most recent control period.  This request
shall  be submitted by the authorized account
representative or alternate authorized account
representative to the NATS Administrator by not later than
December 31.  This request shall identify the compliance
account of the budget source and  the serial number of
each of the allowances to be deducted.

1. Allowances allocated for the current NO
x
 control

period may be used without restriction.
2. Allowances allocated for future NO

x
 control periods

may not be used.
3. Allowances which were allocated for any preceding

NO
x
 control period which were banked may be used in the

current control period.  Banked allowance shall be
deducted against NO

x
 emissions in accordance with the

ratio of NO
x
 allowances to emissions as specified in

Section 12 of this regulation.

c. If the emissions from a budget source in the current
control period exceed the allowances held in that budget
source’s compliance account for that control period:

1. The budget source shall obtain additional allowances
by December 31 of the subject year so that the total number
of allowances in the compliance account meeting the
criteria of Section 16(b)(1) through (3) of this regulation,
including allowances identified in any allowance transfer
request properly submitted to the NATS Administrator by
December 31 of the subject year, equals or exceeds the
control period emissions of NO

x
 rounded to the nearest

whole ton.
2. If there is an insufficient number of NO

x
 allowances

available for NO
x
 allowance deduction, the source is out

of compliance with this regulation and subject to
enforcement action and penalties pursuant to Section 18
of this regulation.

d. If by the December 31 compliance deadline the
authorized account representative or alternate authorized
account representative either makes no NO

x
 allowance

deduction request, or a NO
x
 allowance deduction request

insufficient to meet the allowances required by the actual
emissions, a violation of this regulation may have occurred
and the NATS Administrator may deduct the necessary
number of NO

x
 allowances from the budget source’s

compliance account.  The NATS Administrator shall
provide written notice to the authorized account
representative that NO

x
 allowances were deducted from

the source’s account.

e. The authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative may notify the NATS
Administrator of any claim that the NATS Administrator

made an error in recording transfer information that was
submitted in accordance with Section 11 of this regulation,
provided that such claim of error notification is submitted
to the NATS Administrator by no later than 15 business
days following the date of the notification by the NATS
Administrator pursuant to actions taken in accordance
with Section 16(d) of this regulation.

1. Such claim of error notification shall be in writing and
shall include:

i. A description of the error alleged to have been made
by the NATS Administrator.

ii. A proposed correction of the alleged error.
iii. Any support ing documentation or other

information concerning the alleged error and proposed
corrective action.

iv. The following statement: “I certify under penalty
of law that I have personally  examined, and am familiar
with, the statements and information submitted in this
document and all its attachments.  Based on my inquiry of
those individuals with primary responsibi l i ty for
obtaining the information, I certify that the statements
and information are to the best of my knowledge and belief
true, accurate, and complete.  I am aware that there are
significant penalties for submitting false statements and
information or omitt ing required statements and
information, including the possibi l i ty of f ine or
imprisonment.”

v. Signature of the authorized account representative
or alternate authorized account representative and date
of signature.

2. The NATS Administrator, at the NATS Administrator’s
sole discretion based on the documentation provided, shall
determine what changes, if any, shall be made to the
account(s) subject to the alleged error.  Not later than 20
business days after receipt of a claim of error notification,
the NATS Administrator shall submit to the authorized
account representative and to the Department a written
response stating the determination made, any action taken
by the NATS Administrator, and the reason(s) for the
determination and actions.

3. The NATS Administrator may, without prior notice of
a claim of error and at the NATS Administrator’s sole
discretion, correct any errors in any account on the NATS
Administrator’s own motion.  The NATS Administrator
shall notify the authorized account representative and
the Department no later than 20 business days following
any such corrections.

Section 17 - Compliance Certification

a. For each NO
x
 allowance control period, the authorized

account representative or alternate authorized account
representative of each budget source shall submit to the
Department an annual compliance certification.
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b. The compliance certification shall be submitted no later
than December 31 of each year.

c. The compliance certification shall contain, at a minimum,
the following information:

1. Identification of the budget source, including the
budget source’s name and address, the name of the
authorized account representative and alternate
authorized account representative, if any, and the NATS
account number.

2. A statement indicating whether or not emissions data
was submitted to the NETS Administrator pursuant to
Section 15 of this regulation.

3. A statement indicating whether or not the budget
source held sufficient NO

x
 allowances, as determined in

Section 16 of this regulation, in its compliance account
for the NO

x
 allowance control period as of December 31

of the subject year, or by being identified in an allowance
transfer request that was submitted by December 31 of the
subject year, to equal or exceed the budget source’s actual
emissions as reported to the NETS Administrator for the
control period.

4. A statement of certification whether the monitoring
plan which governs the budget source was maintained to
reflect actual operation and monitoring of the budget source
and contains all information necessary to attribute
monitored emissions to the budget source.

5. A statement of certification that all emissions from the
budget source were accounted for, either through the
applicable monitoring or through application of the
appropriate missing data procedures.

6. A statement whether the facts that form the basis for
certification of each monitor or monitoring method
approved in accordance with Section 13 of this regulation
have changed.

7. If a change is required to be reported in accordance
with Section 17(c)(6) of this regulation, specify the nature
of the change, when the change occurred, and how the
budget source’s compliance status was determined
subsequent to the change, including what method was used
to determine emissions when a change mandated the need
for monitor re-certification.

8. The following statement in verbatim, “I certify under
penalty of law that I have personally examined, and am
familiar with, the statements and information submitted
in this document and all its attachments.  Based on my
inquiry of those individuals with primary responsibility
for obtaining the information, I certify that the statements
and information are to the best of my knowledge and belief
true, accurate, and complete.  I am aware that there are
significant penalties for submitting false statements and
information or omitt ing required statements and
information, including the possibi l i ty of f ines or

imprisonment.”
9. Signature of the budget source’s authorized account

representative or alternate authorized account
representative and the date of signature.

d. The Department may verify compliance by whatever
means necessary, including but not limited to:

1. Inspection of facility operating records.
2. Obtaining information on allowance deduction and

transfers from the NATS Administrator.
3. Obtaining information on emissions from the NETS

Administrator.
4. Testing emission monitoring devices.
5. Requiring the budget source to conduct emissions

testing using testing methods approved by the Department.

Section 18  - Failure to Meet Compliance Requirements

a. If the emissions from a budget source exceed allowances
held in the budget source’s compliance account for the
control period as of December 31 of the subject year, the
NATS Administrator shall deduct allowances from the
budget source’s compliance account for the next control
period at a rate of  three (3) allowances for every one (1)
ton of excess emissions.

1. The NATS Administrator shall provide written notice
to the budget source’s authorized account representative
that NO

x
 allowances were deducted from the budget

source’s account.
2. The authorized account representative or alternate

authorized account representative may notify the NATS
Administrator of any claim that the NATS Administrator
made an error in recording submitted transfer information
in accordance with Section 16(e) of this regulation.

b. In addition to NO
x
 allowance deduction penalties under

Section 18(a) of this regulation, the Department may enforce
the provisions of this regulation under 7 Del. C. Chapter
60.  For the purposes of determining the number of days of
violation, any excess emissions for the control period shall
presume that each day in the control period (153 days)
constitutes a day in violation unless the budget source
can demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the Department,
that a lesser number of days should be considered.

Section 19 - Program Audit

a. The Department shall conduct an audit of the NO
x
 Budget

Program prior to May 1, 2002, and at a minimum every three
years thereafter.  The audit shall include the following:

1. Confirmation of emissions reporting accuracy through
validation of NO

x
 allowance monitoring and data

acquisition systems at the budget source.
2.Examination of the extent to which banked
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allowances have, or have not, contributed to emissions
in excess of the budget for each control period covered
by the audit.

3. An analysis of the geographic distribution of
emissions as well as hourly and daily emission totals in
the context of ozone control.

4. An assessment of whether the program is providing
the level of emissions reductions anticipated and included
in the SIP.

b. The Department shall prepare a report on the results of
the audit.  The Department shall seek public input on the
conclusions contained in the audit report and provide for
a public notice, public comment period, and allow for the
request to hold a public hearing on the conclusions
contained in the report.

c. In addition to the Department audit, the Department may
seek a third party audit of the program.  Such an audit
could be implemented by the Department or could be
performed on a region-wide basis under the supervision of
the OTC.

d. Should an audit result in recommendations for program
revisions at the state level, the Department shall consider
the audit recommendations, in consultation with the OTC,
and if found necessary, propose the appropriate program
revisions as changes to current procedures or
modifications to this regulation.

Section 20 - Program Fees

The authorized account representative or alternate
authorized account representative of each compliance
account and each general account shall pay fees to the
Department consistent with the fee schedule established
from time to time by the Delaware General Assembly, should
a fee schedule be established.
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NOX BUDGET PROGRAM  ---  APPENDIX “A”

COMPANY FACILITY and OTC EXCEPTIONAL RESERVE              FINAL            SOURCE
PLANT POINT IDENTIFIED CIRCUMSTANCES ALLOWANCES     ALLOWANCES      TYPE

ALLOWANCES ALLOWANCES

DELMARVA
POWER Christiana Sub 001 6 -0- 1 7            Non-Part 75

Christiana Sub 002 6 -0- 1 7            Non-Part 75
Delaware City 002 1 -0- 1 2            Non-Part 75
Edge Moor 001 1 -0- 1 2            Non-Part 75
Edge Moor 002 2 4 1 -0- 1 2 4 2            Part 75
Edge Moor 003 3 4 5 -0- 1 3 4 6            Part 75
Edge Moor 004 6 2 1 28 1 6 5 0            Part 75
Hay Road 001 49 -0- 1 50            Non-Part 75
Hay Road 002 34 -0- 1 35            Non-Part 75
Hay Road 3* -0 - -0 - -0 - -0 -            Part 75
Indian River 001 3 4 0 -0- 1 3 4 1            Part 75
Indian River 002 3 9 7 -0- 1 3 9 8            Part 75
Indian River 003 834*** -0 - 1 8 3 5            Part 75
Indian River 004 1,652 -0- 2 1,654            Part 75
Indian River 10** -0 - -0 - 1 2            Non-Part 75
Madison Str. 001 -0- -0 - 1 1            Non-Part 75
West Sub 001 2 -0- 1 3            Non-Part 75

DFD Operating McKee Run 001 72*** -0 - 1 73            Non-Part 75
Services McKee Run 002 44*** -0 - 1 45            Non-Part 75

McKee Run 003 1 8 4 -0- 2 1 8 6            Part 75
VanSant 1* -0 - -0 - -0 - -0 -            Part 75

FIRST STATE Co-Gen 1** -0 - -0 - 2 2 0 3            Non-part 75

STAR Delaware City 006**** -0 - -0 - 1 94            Non-Part 75
ENTERPRISE Delaware City 019** 20 -0- 1 1 0 5            Non-Part 75

Delaware City 034 70 -0- 1 21            Non-Part 75
Delaware City 067 93 -0- 1 71            Non-Part 75
Delaware City 068 2 0 6 -0- 1 2 0 7            Non-Part 75
Delaware City 069 2 2 7 -0- 1 2 2 8            Non-Part 75
Delaware City 070 2 1 4 -0- 2 2 1 6            Non-Part 75
Delaware City 072    -0-                   -0-                           -0-                                 -0-                 Non-Part 75
Delaware City 074      117                          -0-                           1                                  118                 Non-Part 75
Delaware City 105      -0-                           -0-                          -0-                                 -0-                  Non-Part 75

TOTAL: 5,776 28 32 6,142

NOTES:   (*)  These Units did not start operation until after 1990.
   (**) Units operated in the 1990 NO

x
 control period but were not included in the “1990 OTC

Baseline Emissions Inventory”.
  (***) OTC MOU allowances corrected from “1990 OTC Baseline Emissions Inventory” due to use

of incorrect RACT factor.
                                 (****) OTC MOU allowances corrected from “1990 OTC Baseline Emissions Inventory” due to incor-
rect reporting of 1990 fuel use information.
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NO
X
 BUDGET PROGRAM APPENDIX “B”

COMPANY FACILITY 1990 BASELINE 1990 BASELINE 1990 BASELINE RACT
or  PLANT POINT HEAT INPUT NO

X
 EMISSIONS EMISSION RATE NO

X
 EMISSIONS

(106 BTU) (Tons) (lb/mmBTU) (Tons)

DELMARVA POWER Christiana Sub 001 16,245 5 .8 0.709 5 .8
Christiana Sub 002 15,447 5 .5 0.709 5 .5
Delaware City 002 1,612 0 .6 0.703 0 .6
Edge Moor 001 1,835 0 .7 0.708 0 .7
Edge Moor 002 2,409,836 655.8 0.545 648.1
Edge Moor 003 3,451,182 928.7 0.540 516.0
Edge Moor 004 6,213,944 1,436.8 0.463 1,147.3
Hay Road 001 938,341 49.0 0.105 49.0
Hay Road 002 631,111 33.6 0.106 33.6
Hay Road 3* -0 - -0 - -0 - -0 -
Indian River 001 1,816,612 755.6 0.828 755.6
Indian River 002 2,134,257 882.3 0.828 882.3
Indian River 003 4,521,301 1,853.7 0.819 762.1
Indian River 004 8,747,546 3,671.6 0.838 1,830.8
Indian River 10** -0 - -0 - -0 - -0 -
Madison Street 001 1,079 0 .4 0.706 0 .4
West Sub 001 6,105 2 .2 0.709 2 .2

DFD McKee Run 001 344,472 91.6 0.524 55.0
McKee Run 002 211,742 56.3 0.505 33.8
McKee Run 003 1,724,601 411.7 0.447 321.8
VanSant 1* -0 - -0 - -0 - -0 -

FIRST STATE Co-Gen 1** -0 - -0 - -0 - -0 -

STAR ENTERPRISE Delaware City 006** -0 - -0 - -0 - -0 -
Delaware City 019 318,601 20.1 0.126 20.1
Delaware City 034 1,100,470 69.5 0.126 69.5
Delaware City  067                    931,712                           229.0                               0.486                   116.5
Delaware City 068 1,820,133 588.5 0.647 345.8
Delaware City 069 2,002,309 647.4 0.647 440.5
Delaware City 070 1,888,905 610.7 0.647 368.3
Delaware City  072                  -0- -0 - -0 - -0 -
Delaware City 074 1,847,552 116.7 0.126 116.7
Delaware City 105                      -0-              -0-                                  -0-                        -0-

NOTES: Data as identified in “1990 OTC NO
X
 Baseline Emission Inventory”,

Final OTC NO
X
 Baseline Inventory, Point-Segment Level Data.

(*) These Units did not start operation until after 1990.
(** ) Indian River Point 10, First State Co-Gen 1, and Delaware City 006 were not included in the
Reference Document, but were operating in the 1990 NO

X
 control period.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the emergency regulation being promulgated.  Italic type
indicates new text.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119, if an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or
welfare requires the adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C.
§10115, then the following rules shall apply:  (1)  The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing
or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that it finds practicable;  (2)  The order adopting, amending or repealing
a regulation shall state in writing the reasons for the agency’s determination that such emergency action is necessary;
(3)  the order effecting such action may be effective for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed
once for a period not exceeding 60 days;  (4)  When such an order is issued without any of the public procedures
otherwise required or authorized by Chapter 101 of Title 29, the agency shall state as part of the order that it will
receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or revision thereof; and
(5)  The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next issue of the
Register of Regulations.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH &
SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  Public Law 104-193

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF REGULATION |
CONTAINED IN DSSM 9910 |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services has determined that a
threat to the public welfare exists if revision of regulations
contained in DSSM Section 9910 is not implemented without
prior notice or hearing.  Failure to do so would jeopardize the
agency from meeting the required mandatory participation
rates and thus threaten full federal funding for Delaware
under the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
program.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

• Replaces food stamp workfare penalties with the ABC
workfare program requirements and penalties.

• Allows the agency to use the food stamp allotment along

with the ABC benefit in determining the number of hours a
household is required to participate in workfare, which is a
work experience program in which participants work to earn
their benefits.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

9910 Simplified Food Stamp Program

DSS was approved by Food and Nutrition Service, under the
United States Department of Agriculture, to operate a
Simplified Food Stamp Program (SFSP).  The SFSP permits
a state to substitute certain TANF rules and procedures for
food stamp rules. Delaware’s SFSP has two components:

1. the alignment of ABC’s Self-Sufficiency sanctions
for Food Stamps; and

2. work for your welfare (workfare) program rules.

Households in which all members, or one or more members,
receive ABC may participate in the SFSP.  Non-Public
Assistance (NPA) households will not participate in the
SFSP.

The SFSP will follow all the regular food stamp rules for
determining eligibility and certifying households.  Under the
SFSP, there are four basic changes in the food stamps rules

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
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that will affect certain ABC households who receive food
stamps, as follows:

•  Replaces food stamp work exemptions with ABC
exemptions;

• Replaces current Employment and Training (E & T) and
job quit requirements and penalties with ABC requirements
and penalties; and

• Applies a food stamp sanction for parents who fail to
cooperate with school officials to ensure attendance for
children under 16; and

• Replaces food stamp workfare penalties with the ABC
workfare program requirements and penalties.

WORKFARE

WORK FOR YOUR WELFARE (WORKFARE) PROGRAM

Work for Your Welfare (workfare) is defined as a work
experience program in which participants work to earn their
benefits.  Workfare is a requirement for those ABC recipients
who are able to work but, for whatever reason, are not
working after receiving ABC benefits for 24 months.  Those
in workfare must participate for a predetermined number of
hours each week and complete 10 hours of job search
activities per week.

The number of hours required is based on the ABC grant and
the food stamp allotment divided by the minimum wage.
Each benefit will separately be divided by the minimum wage
($5.15/hour). The hours from each benefit will be totaled and
then divided by 4.33.  For every hour that a participant fails to
perform, the ABC check will first be reduced by $5.15.  If the
ABC grant reduces to zero, any workfare sanction amount
will be used to reduce the food stamp allotment.  The failure
to do job search will also result in a progressive 1/3 grant and
allotment reduction sanction.

One-parent households will be required to work the hours
determined by dividing the grant and food stamps by the
minimum wage.  The maximum participation hours is 25
hours per week and, in addition, each participant is required to
complete 10 hours of job search activities every week.  The
maximum required work hours for one-parent families will
increase to 30 hours per week for FFY 1999.

Two-parent households will be required to work the hours
determined by dividing the grant and food stamps by the
minimum wage.  The number of participation hours for the

two-parent family is 35 hours per week if they do not receive
child care and 55 hours per week if they do receive child care.
One parent may participate for the whole 35 hours, or both
parents may share.  If child care is provided, the 55 hours can
be shared by both parents with one parent  working at least a
minimum of 20 hours, such as 35/20 or 30/25. (10/45 is not
acceptable.)

The food stamp allotment will only be used as necessary to
require the one and two-parent households to work a
maximum of 25 or 35 hours per week.  The ABC benefits will
be reduced to zero before the food stamp is affected.  The food
stamp benefits will only be reduced according to the portion
of the allotment used in the calculation of the hours.  If the
food stamp allotment is reduced by $5.15 for each hour not
worked and the remaining benefit is less than $1, no benefit
will be issued.

Workfare households will not be double penalized for the
same violation.  Households that fail to work the required
number of hours, while meeting job search requirements, will
have their benefits reduced by $5.15 for each hour not
worked.  There is no noncompliance sanction applied for
failure to work the required number of hours.

Households that fail to work the required number of hours and
fail to complete the job search activities will have their
benefits reduced by $5.15 for each hour it fails to work.  The
household will also have the 1/3 grant/allotment reduction
sanction applied for failing to complete job search activities.

When calculating the number of hours, fractions will be
rounded down to the nearest quarter hour.  When calculating
the amount of the benefits to be removed, the exact amount is
subtracted from the grant or food stamp allotment.  The
remaining benefit is rounded down to the nearest dollar to
determine the amount of the benefit the household will
receive.

For the ABC grants, if the household fails to work at all, no
ABC benefit will be issued.  For the food stamp allotments,
only the portion of the allotment used to require the number of
hours of participation will be subtracted.

Until the DCIS system can automate the process for applying
the workfare sanction reduction and 1/3 reduction sanction,
staff will continue to do this manually.  In the manual process,
the worker first reduces the grant and allotment by the
workfare sanction and then applies any applicable 1/3
sanctions, plus other sanctions.  When automated, the system
will first apply any applicable 1/3 sanctions, plus other
sanctions, and then reduce the grant and allotment by the
workfare sanction amount.
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CALCULATION PROCESSES

To determine the hours of participation:

1. The pre-sanctioned ABC grant is divided by minimum
wage of $5.15, and the result is rounded down to the nearest
¼ hour.

2. The food stamp allotment is divided by minimum wage
of $5.15, and the result is rounded down to the nearest ¼ hour.

3. The two results (#1 and #2), added together, are the
monthly number of hours for which the family/household is
required to participate.

4. The monthly number of hours (#3) is divided by 4.33 to
get a weekly number of hours, rounded down to the nearest ¼
hour.

5. Compare the weekly number of hours (#4) to the
maximum required for a one or two-parent household.  Use
the lesser number for the weekly number of hours.

6. The weekly number of hours (#5) is divided by 5 to get
the daily participation requirement, rounded down to the
nearest ¼ hour.

7. Consult the yearly table for the number of days the
participant is required to do workfare.  Multiply that number
by the daily participation rate (#6) to determine the monthly
required participation rate.  (1998 table is attached to this
section.)

Manual determination of  the workfare sanction amount:

1. Subtract the actual hours of participation for a month
from the required hours for the same month.

2. Any amount greater than zero is multiplied by $5.15,
resulting in the workfare sanction amount.

3. Subtract the workfare sanction amount (#2) from the
ABC grant amount.

4. Subtract any 1/3 E& T/school attendance sanctions from
amount in #3 before subtracting any $68 or $50 sanctions.

5. If the subtraction of the workfare sanction amount
reduces the ABC benefit to zero and there is a remaining
amount, this amount will be subtracted from the food stamp
allotment after the application of any aligned sanctions.*

*Only the portion of the food stamp allotment used to
determine the participation hours can be subtracted from the

food stamp allotment.  (If there is a $100 workfare sanction
amount left over after the grant reduced to zero, but only $75
of the allotment was used to determine the hours of
participation, only $75 can be subtracted from the allotment.)

System automated determination of workfare sanction
amount:

1. Subtract the actual hours of participation for a month
from the required hours for the same month.

2. Any amount greater than zero is multiplied by $5.15,
resulting in the workfare sanction amount.

3. Subtract any 1/3 E& T/school attendance sanctions from
grant before subtracting any $68 or $50 sanctions.

4. Subtract the workfare sanction amount (#2) from the
post-sanctioned ABC grant amount (#3).

5. If the subtraction of the workfare sanction amount
reduces the ABC benefit to zero and there is a remaining
amount, this amount will be subtracted from the food stamp
allotment after the application of any aligned sanctions.*

*Only the portion of the food stamp allotment used to
determine the participation hours can be subtracted from the
food stamp allotment.  (If there is a $100 workfare sanction
amount leftover after the grant reduced to zero, but only $75
of the allotment was used to determine the hours of
participation, only $75 can be subtracted from the allotment.)

Examples of the Workfare Process:

1. One-parent family receives $338 in ABC benefits and a
$321 food stamp allotment.  $338 divided by $5.15 equals
65.5 hours.  $321 divided by $5.15 equals 62.25 hours.  The
total hours equal 127.75.  The 127.75 monthly number of
hours is divided by 4.33 to get a weekly number of 29.5 hours
per week.  The one-parent family is only required to work 25
hours per week, divided by 5 equals 5 hours per day.  There is
also a 10 hour per week job search activity requirement.  The
client will be doing workfare hours between March 12 and
April 11 which is 22 days.  22 days multiplied by 5 hours per
day equals 110 hours per month.

a) Parent only worked 88 hours for the month and
completed job search activities.  The 20 hours (110 - 88 = 22)
multiplied by $5.15 equals $113.30.  The $338 grant is
reduced by $114.  The household receives a $224 grant and
$321 in food stamps.

b) Parent only worked 88 hours for the month and
failed to complete the job search activities.  Manually, the
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grant is reduced by $114 and then the 1/3 grant/allotment
reduction is applied to the remaining grant and food stamps.
The grant reduces to $42 and the food stamps to $214.   When
automated,  the 1/3 sanction is first applied and then the grant
is reduced by $114.  The grant reduces to $111 and the food
stamps to $214.

c) Parent worked all the required hours but failed to
complete the job search activities.  The 1/3 grant/allotment
reduction is applied to each benefit.  The grant reduces to
$225 and food stamps to $214.

d) Parent only worked 28 hours.  80 hours multiplied
by $5.15 equals $422.25.  The grant of $338 is reduced to
zero.  The number of hours to apply to the food stamp benefit
is determined by subtracting the number of grant hours from
the total monthly hours the parent was required to work (110
- 65.5  = 44.5) 44.5 hours multiplied by $5.15 equals $229.18.
The $321 in food stamps is reduced by $229 which equals a
benefit of $92.

2. Two-parent family of six receives $544 in ABC benefits
and $534 in food stamps.  $544 divided by $5.15 equals 105.5
hours.  $534 divided by $5.15 equals 103.5 hours.  The
combined hours total 209.  209 divided by 4.33 equal 48.25
hours a week.  The family does not receive child care and is
only required to work 35 hours per week and 10 hours of job
search.  35 hours divided by 5 days equals 7 hours per day.
The family will be doing workfare hours between March 12
and April 11, which has 22 days.  Multiply 7 hours a day by 22
days which equals 154 hours for the month.

a) The family only works 100 hours, and completes the
job search activities.  154 hours minus 100 hours equal 54
hours not worked.  54 hours multiplied by $5.15 equals
$278.10.  The grant is reduced by $278 which leaves a grant
of $266.  The food stamps increase to $582 because the
reduction of the grant for failure to work is not a sanction.

b) The family works 50 hours, and fails to complete job
search activities.  104 hours multiplied by $5.15 equals
$535.60.  Manually, the grant is reduced to $8, and then a 1/
3 sanction is applied, making the grant $5.  A 1/3 sanction is
applied to the food stamps, which leaves a $388 benefit.
When automated, the 1/3 sanction is applied to the grant first,
followed by the reduction due to not working, reducing the
grant to zero. The monthly hours of 154 minus 105.5 grant
hours equals 48.5 hours to reduce the food stamps with.  The
food stamps are reduced by 1/3 to $356, then the $249.78
workfare reduction makes the benefit $106.

SUMMARY

• Household will work a pre-determined number of hours
in order to receive their ABC and Food Stamp benefits.

• Hours not worked will result in a reduction in benefits
based on the numbers of hours they failed to work.

• Failure to complete job search activities will result in 1/3
reduction sanctions.

• Food stamps are calculated using the post-sanctioned
grant before subtracting any sanctions or hours.

• Food stamp benefits are not sanctioned (Riverside) when
just the grant is reduced for not working and they have
completed the job search activities.

• Manual calculations require the reduction of hours to be
subtracted before any 1/3 reduction sanctions are applied.

• When automated, the 1/3 reduction sanctions (and any
other sanctions) will be applied before the reduction of hours.

• When the ABC grant reduces to zero and a workfare
sanction amount remains, the remainder, or a portion of the
remainder, is subtracted from the food stamp allotment.  Only
the portion of the food stamp allotment that was needed to
meet the required hours of participation can be subtracted.

FINDING OF FACT

The Department finds that these changes should be made in
the best interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.
The Department will receive, consider, and respond to
petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or
revision thereof.   Such petitions must be forwarded by March
31,1998 to the Director, Division of Social Services, P. O.
Box 906, New Castle, DE 19720.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed revision
to the regulation be adopted on an emergency basis, without
prior notice or hearing, and shall become effective
immediately.

to be signed by Feb. 27, 1998

GREGG C. SYLVESTER, MD
SECRETARY
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DEPARTEMENT OF HEALTH &
SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF REGULATIONS |
OF THE MEDICAID/MEDICAL |
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM |
CONTAINED IN THE EPSDT |
PROVIDER MANUAL |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services has determined
that a detriment to the public health and welfare exists if
revision of the policy contained in the Medicaid Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Provider
manual is not implemented without prior notice or hearing.
Failure to do so would tend to limit availability of dental
services for children, the provision of which are not only
Federally mandated but also appropriate and cost effective
as preventive medical care.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISION:

EPSDT Provider Specific Policy Manual

*Dental services will be reimbursed at 75% of the
providers usual and customary charge to private pay
patients a negotiated rate.

FINDING OF FACT

The Department finds that this change should be made
in the best interest of the general public of the State of
Delaware. The Department will receive, consider, and
respond to petitions by any interested person for the
reconsideration or revision thereof.

* Denotes modified regulation

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
revision to the regulation be adopted on an emergency
basis, without prior notice or hearing, and shall become
effective immediately.

February 6, 1998

Gregg C. Sylvester, MD, Secretary

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates
new text.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons
may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;
The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

DEPARTMENT OF
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION  OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

DELAWARE  BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL

COUNSELORS OF M ENTAL  HEALTH

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3007(a)(1) (24 Del.C. 3007(a)(1))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 3007(a)(1), the
Delaware Board of Professional Counselors of Mental
Health proposes to adopt new Rules and Regulations to
replace the existing Rules and Regulations.  The
regulations will define meetings and elections, licensure
by certification, licensure by reciprocity, licensure of
associate counselors of mental health, application and
fee, affidavit and time limit, renewal of licensure,
reactivation of licensure, return to active status, and
temporary suspension pending hearing.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules
and Regulations on April 3, 1998 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware.
The Board will receive and consider input, in writing,
from interested persons on the proposed rules and

regulations.  The final date for interested persons to
submit comments shall be at the above-scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed
regulations, or to make comments at the public hearing
should notify the Board’s Administrative Assistant Gayle
Franzolino by calling (302) 739-4522 Ext. 220, or writing
to the Delaware Board of Professional Counselors of
Mental Health, P. O. Box 1401, Cannon Building, Dover,
Delaware  19903.

STATE OF DELAWARE
BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS OF

MENTAL HEALTH
PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS

I. MEETINGS AND ELECTIONS

(1)  Meetings - Regular meetings of the Board shall be
held on a monthly basis as needed, at least in June and
December, at a time and  place designated by the Board.

(2)  Election of Officers - The Board shall elect
officers annually at the regular December meeting

II.  LICENSURE BY CERTIFICATION
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Applicants for LPCMH licensure by certification

shall fulfill the following requirements:

(1)  Certification - The applicant shall be certified by
NBCC as a National Certified Counselor  (NCC), by
ACMHC as a Certified Clinical Mental Health Counselor
(CCMHC), or by a certifying organization.

Certifying Organization - A certifying organization
shall be defined as a national mental health specialty
certifying organization acceptable to the Board.  This
shall include the National Board for Certified Counselors,
Inc. (NBCC), Academy of Clinical Mental Health
Counselors (ACMHC), formerly the National Academy
for Certified Clinical Mental Health Counselors
(NACCMHC), and other organizations that meet all of the
following criteria:

(a)  The organization shall be a national
professional mental health organization recognized as
setting national standards of clinical competency.

(b)  The organization shall require the applicant
to take a standardized examination designed to test his/her
understanding of the principles involved in the mental
health specialty for which he/she is being certified.
Certification shall be based upon the applicant’s attaining
the minimum passing score set by the organization.

(c)  The organization shall prescribe a code of
ethics substantially equivalent to that of the NBCC.

(d)  The organization shall require the minimum
of a master’s degree in the counseling or behavioral
science field.

This certification shall be verified by the “NBCC
Certification Form,” the “ACMHC Certification Form” or
the “Certifying Organization Certification Form,”
submitted directly to the Board by the certifying
organization.

(2)  Graduate Transcript - The applicant’s master’s
degree in a counseling or behavioral science field,
required by his/her certifying organization for  certification,
shall be documented by an official transcript submitted
directly to the Board by the accredited educational
institution granting the degree..

(3)  Clinical Experience - Clinical experience shall be
defined as the accumulation of hours spent providing
mental health counseling services in a professional mental
health counseling setting, including  face-to-face
interaction with clients and other matters directly related

to the treatment of clients.

Designated Objective Agent - A designated objective
agent shall be a professional colleague, supervisor or
other individual with personal knowledge of the extent of
the professional practice of the applicant, who certifies or
attests to such professional practice.  Under no
circumstances shall a spouse, former spouse, parent, step-
parent, grand-parent, child, step-child, sibling, aunt,
uncle, cousin or  in-law of the applicant be acceptable as a
designated objective agent.

Thirty (30) graduate semester hours or more attained
beyond the master’s degree, may be substituted for up to
1,600 hours of the required clinical experience, provided
that hours are clearly related to the field of counseling and
are acceptable to the Board.  Graduate credit hours shall
be verified by an official transcript submitted directly to
the Board by the accredited  educational institution at
which the course work was done.

Supervised clinical experience or post-master’s
degree alternative shall be verified by the “Professional
Experience Reference Form” or the “Verification of Self
Employment” form.

(4)  Supervised Clinical Experience - Supervised
clinical experience shall be the accumulation of hours
spent providing  mental health counseling services while
under the supervision of an approved clinical supervisor.
Supervised clinical experience acceptable to the Board
shall be defined as follows:

(a)  Supervised clinical experience shall consist
of 1,600 hours of clinical experience concurrent with 100
hours of clinical supervision over a period of no more than
four (4) years.

(b)  In no case shall the applicant have less than
1,600 hours of the required post- master’s degree
supervised professional clinical experience.

Clinical Supervision - Clinical supervision shall be
ongoing, regularly  scheduled meetings with a designated,
approved clinical supervisor for the purpose of oversight,
guidance and review of clinical practice.   Consultation
and/or informal case reviews are not acceptable as clinical
supervision. Clinical supervision may take place in
individual and/or group settings, defined as follows:

(a)  Individual Supervision - Individual
supervision shall consist of one-to-one, face-to-face
meetings between supervisor and supervisee.
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(b)  Group Supervision - Group supervision shall

consist of face-to-face meetings between supervisor and
no more than six (6) supervisees.

Supervisory Setting - No more than forty (40) hours
of group supervision shall be acceptable  toward the 100-
hour requirement.  The entire 100-hour requirement may
be fulfilled by individual supervision.

Supervision shall be verified by the “Clinical
Supervision Reference Form,” submitted directly to the
Board by the approved clinical supervisor .

III.  LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY

Applicants for LPCMH licensure by reciprocity (i.e.,
those requesting licensure based upon active licensure
status in another state) shall meet the following
requirements:

(1)  Proof of Licensure Status - The applicant shall
hold an active professional counseling license in good
standing from another state.  Verification of licensure
status shall be submitted directly to the Board by that state
on the “Verification of Licensure or Certification from
Another State” form.

(2)  Notarized Statement of Prior Licensing
Jurisdictions - The applicant shall submit a notarized
statement listing all licensing jurisdictions in which he/
she formerly practiced and a signed “Release of
Information” granting the Board permission to contact
said jurisdictions for verification of disciplinary history
and current status.

(3)  Determination of Equivalency - The applicant
shall submit a copy of the statute and rules of licensure
from the state issuing his/her license.  The burden of proof
is upon the applicant to demonstrate that the statute and
rules of the licensing state require him/her to meet all
educational, experience and supervision requirements set
forth in Title 24, Delaware Code, Chapter 30.  Based upon
the information presented, the Board shall make a
determination regarding equivalency of the requirements
of Title 24, Delaware Code, Chapter 30, and those of the
applicant’s licensing state.

(4)  Non-Equivalency LACMH Option - If the Board
determines that the requirements of the applicant’s
licensing state are not equivalent with regard only to the
required 1,600 hours of supervised experience, then the
applicant shall be eligible for licensure as a LACMH, in
which case he/she shall have four (4) years to obtain the
balance of the supervised experience required.  The

applicant shall be given full credit for such supervised
experience as was required for licensure in his/her
licensing state.  In such situation, the Board shall allow for
disruption in the requirements that the applicant’s
supervised experience be completed within a four (4) year
period.

IV.  LICENSURE OF ASSOCIATE COUNSELORS OF
MENTAL HEALTH

(1)  Written Plan - The applicant shall submit a
written plan for supervised professional experience,
written according to the “Licensed Associate Counselor
of Mental Health Guidelines for Written Plan for
Supervision,” and signed by the approved professional
supervisor.

V.  APPLICATION AND FEE, AFFIDAVIT AND TIME
LIMIT

When applying for licensure, the applicant shall
complete the following:

(1)  Application and Fee - The applicant shall submit
a completed “Application for Licensure,” accompanied
by a non-refundable application fee.

(2)  Affidavit - The applicant shall submit a signed,
notarized “Affidavit,” affirming that he/she has not
violated any rule or regulation set forth by the Delaware
Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health; and
that he/she has not been convicted of any felony or
misdemeanor involving dishonesty or for any offense.

(3)  Time Limit for Completion of Application - Any
application not completed within one (1) year shall be
considered null and void.

VI.  RENEWAL OF LICENSURE

(1)  Renewal Date - The  LPCMH  license shall  be
renewable biennially on September 30 of even-numbered
years, beginning with September 30, 1994.

(2)  Requirements for Renewal - Requirements for
licensure renewal are as follows:

(a)  Certification - The candidate for renewal
shall hold  current certification in good standing as of the
date of licensure renewal  in NBCC, ACMHC or other
certifying organization.  This certification shall be
verified by the appropriate “Verification of Certification
Form,” submitted directly to the Board by the certifying
organization.
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(b)  Continuing Education

[1]  Requirement - The candidate for renewal
shall have completed no less than forty (40) clock hours
of acceptable continuing education per two (2) year
licensure renewal period.  Continuing education
requirements for initial licensure periods of less than two
(2) years shall be prorated.

[2]  Acceptable  Continuing  Education -
Acceptable continuing education shall include the
following:

[a]  Continuing education hours approved
by a national mental health organization, such as NBCC,
ACMHC, APA, shall  be acceptable.  Other training
programs may apply for continuing education oriented
towards enhancement, knowledge and practice of
counseling.  Hours are to be documented by a certificate
signed by the presenter, or by designated official of the
sponsoring organization.

[b]  Academic course work, and
presentation of original papers providing training and
clinical supervision may be applied for up to twenty (20)
clock hours of the continuing education requirement.
These hours are to be documented by an official
transcript, syllabus, or a copy of the published paper
presented.

Under no circumstances, may there be
less than twenty (20) hours of face-to-face participation in
continuing education as outlined in [a] above.

[3]  Make-Up of Disallowed Hours - In the
event that the Board disallows certain continuing
education clock hours, the candidate for renewal shall
have  three (3) months after the licensure renewal date to
complete the balance of acceptable continuing education
hours required.

(c)  Verification - Verification of continuing
education hours shall be by the “Continuing Education
Form for Licensed Professional Mental Health
Counselors,” with appropriate documentation for each
item listed attached to the form.

(d)  Fees - The candidate for renewal shall make
payment of a renewal fee in an amount prescribed by the
Division of Professional Regulation for that licensure
renewal period.  A fifty percent (50%) late charge shall be
imposed upon any fee paid after the renewal date.

VII.  REACTIVATION OF LICENSURE

(1)  Reactivation  - An expired  license shall be
reactivated as follows:

(a)  Within Five (5) Years - An expired license
shall be reactivated within five (5) years following the
expiration date upon fulfillment of the following
requirements:

[1]  Written Request - Written request to the
Board requesting reactivation of licensure.

[2]  Certification - Current certification in
good standing, as of the date of the request for licensure
reactivation in NBCC, ACMHC or other certifying
organization.

[3]  Continuing Education - Completion of
forty (40) hours of acceptable continuing education,
obtained  within the  two (2) year period  prior to the
request for reactivating.

[4]  Fees - Payment of renewal fees for any
licensure renewal periods which have elapsed since
expiration of licensure, plus a late charge of fifty percent
(50%) of the most recent licensure renewal fee.

VIII.  RETURN TO ACTIVE STATUS

(1)  Return to Active Status - Return to active status
from inactive status shall be granted upon fulfillment of
the following requirements:

(a)  Written Request - Written request to the
Board requesting return to active status.

(b)  Certification - Current certification in good
standing, as of the date of the request for return to active
status, in NBCC, ACMHC or other certifying organization.

(c)  Continuing Education - Completion of forty
(40) hours of acceptable continuing education, obtained
within the two (2) year period prior to the request for
return to active status.

(d)  Fee - Payment of the current fee for licensure
renewal.  No late fee shall be assessed for return to active
status.

IX.  TEMPORARY SUSPENSION PENDING HEARING

No order temporarily suspending a practitioner’s
license shall be issued by the Board with less than twenty-
four (24) hours prior written or oral notice to the
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practitioner or the practitioner’s attorney, so that the
practitioner or the attorney may be heard in opposition to
the proposed suspension and unless at least four (4)
members of the Board vote in favor of such a temporary
suspension.

An order of temporary suspension pending a hearing
shall remain in effect for a period of time no longer than
sixty (60) days from the date of the issuance of said order,
unless the suspended practitioner requests a continuance
of the date for the convening of the hearing panel.  In such
event, the order of temporary suspension pending a
hearing shall remain in effect until the hearing panel has
convened and a decision rendered.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING  COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code,
Sections 10103 & 10128(m)(1)
(3 Del.C. 10103, 10128(m)(1))

The Commission proposed the enactment of Rule
13.18 pursuant to 3 Del.C. sections 10103 and
10128(m)(1), and 29 Del.C. section 10115.  The proposed
Rule 13.18 would prohibit a claimed horse from racing for
fourteen days after the claim unless there is good cause for
a shorter time period.  The proposed rule will be
considered by the Commision at its next regularly
scheduled meeting on April 16, 1998 at 10:00 a.m. at
Delaware Park, 777 Delaware Park Boulevard, Stanton,
Delaware.  Comments may be made at the Commission’s
meeting in person or by writing submissions.  Written
comments may be submitted in writing to the Commission
Office on or before 4:00 p.m. on April 16, 1998.

The Commission Office is located at 2320 South
DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901 and the phone
number is (302) 739-4811.

PROPOSED RULE

13.18  Prohibition on Racing Claimed Horse:

No horse claimed in a claiming race shall be raced for
a minimum period of fourteen days after the day of the
race unless the Racing Secretary and the Stewards
determine that good cause exists to allow the horse to race
within a shorter period, which is at least twelve days after
the day of the claiming race.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

THE FOLLOWING  SIXTEEN (16) PROPOSED REGULATIONS

WILL  BE PRESENTED TO THE STATE  BOARD OF EDUCATION

AT ITS MEETING  OF MARCH 19, 1998

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

ACCIDENT REPORTING

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation Accident Reporting found on page
125 in The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities
identifies when the school nurse must file an accident
report and how it should be done.  The amendment is
necessary in order to isolate the regulatory responsibilities
of the school nurse from the technical assistance and to
use the word ”must“ in the regulatory statements.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation deals with health and safety
issues and not curriculum issues.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation addresses the responsibilities of the
school nurse in reporting accidents and the amendment
clarifies the responsibilities.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/deptagri.htm
http://www.doe.state.de.us/docs/index_js.asp
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board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
and flexibility of decision makers at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

 The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on
the decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

  The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amendment will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of the students and the amendment clarifies the
responsibilities of the school nurse when reporting
accidents.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO
RESPONSIBILITIES

Accident Reporting

Records are important in emergency care programs.
Many days after an emergency, particularly an accident,
information about what happened, what was done to aid
the injured, and who did it, may be necessary to assist in
settlement of an insurance claim or to protect school
personnel against charges of negligence.

A summary of accidents which result in one-half or more
days absence from school or require a physician’s
attention or both should be reported immediately to the
administration, followed by a monthly summary.

Information on the monthly report to the district should
include:

Number of Accidents
Nature of Accident
Part of Body
Location where accident occurred
Activity person was engaged in

AS REVISED

Accident Reporting
The school nurse must make a written report of student
accidents to the school district in addition to entries on the
daily log in the following circumstances:

1. The school nurse has referred the student for medical
evaluation, regardless of whether the parent/guardian
followed through on that request.

2. OR, the student has missed more than one-half day
due to the accident.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

DAILY LOG

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation Daily Log found on page 93 in The
School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities mandates the
keeping of a daily log and identifies the types of
information that must be included.  The amendment is
necessary in order to require that the school nurse keep a
daily log and clearly state what information must be in the
log.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation deals with health and safety
issues and not curriculum issues.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
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receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation addresses the responsibilities of the
school nurse in maintaining the daily log and the
amendment clarifies those responsibilities.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
and flexibility of decision makers at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative responsibility or mandates on
the decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making and
accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amendment will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of students and the amendment clarifies the
responsibilities of the school nurse in maintaining the
Daily Log.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO
RESPONSIBILITIES

Daily Log

A daily log, see sample on page 95, must be kept listing all
students who enter the health room with complaints
involving illness or injury because:

(a) this is a documented record if any questions arise;
(b) it can be used in assembling illness and accident

incidence of the school population; and
(c) it is used to compile data for the end-of-the-year

report (see page 97).
It is recommended that the daily logs be stored for a length
of time determined by the school district.

AS REVISED

Daily Log

The school nurse must maintain a daily log which will
include at a minimum:

1. School Name
2. Three point date
3. Student’s first and last name
4. Time of arrival and departure
5. Presenting complaint
6. Nurse’s assessment and plan
7. Disposition (return to class, sent home, etc.)
8. Parent contact, if appropriate
9. Complete nurse’s signature

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

POLICY FOR SCHOOL DISTRICTS ON THE
POSSESSION, USE AND DISTRIBUTION OF DRUGS

AND ALCOHOL

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation Policy for School Districts on the
Possession, Use and Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol
found on pages 130 to 133 in The School Nurse, A Guide
to Responsibilities, and pages A-55 - A-60 in the
Handbook for K-12 Education defines key terms,
identifies the minimum number of elements that each
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local district must have in their local drug and alcohol
policies and defines the position of the Department of
Education.  The amendment is necessary to change the
wording of the first paragraph of section III to read as
follows:  “Each school district shall have a policy on file
and update it periodically.  The policy shall contain at a
minimum the following”.  The other change is to
substitute the Department of Education for the
Department of Public Instruction in the last paragraph
following section III.K.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amendment simply removes a first time due date
for having the drug policy to the Department of Education
and changes the name of the Department of Public
Instruction to the Department of Education.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The amendment simply corrects two sections as
indicated in response #1.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation addresses the health and safety of
students and the amendment simply corrects two sections
as indicated in response #1.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The regulation addresses students’ legal rights and
the amendment simply corrects two sections as indicated
in response #1.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
and flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on
decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the

same entity?
The amendment will retain the decision making

authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amendment will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of the students and the amendment simply corrects
two sections as indicated in response #1.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

Policy for School Districts on the Possession, Use or
Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol

I. The following policy on the possession, use, or
distribution of drugs and alcohol shall apply to all public
school districts.

A. The possession, use and/or distribution of
alcohol, a drug, a drug-like substance, a look-alike
substance and/or drug paraphernalia are wrong and
harmful to students and are prohibited within the school
environment.

B. Communications devices, such as, but not limited
to, mobile phones and electronic beepers, ordinarily have
no place in the school environment. These devices may be
allowed in school, according to individual school and/or
district codes of conduct.

C. Student lockers are the property of the school and
may be subjected to search at any time with or without
reasonable suspicion.

D. Student motor vehicle use to and in the school
environment is a privilege which may be extended by
school districts to students in exchange for their
cooperation in the maintenance of a safe school
atmosphere.  Reasonable suspicion of a student’s use,
possession or distribution of alcohol, a drug, a drug-like
substance, a look-alike substance or drug paraphernalia,
or of a student’s possession of an unauthorized electronic
beeper or other communication device in the school
environment, may result in the student being asked to
open an automobile in the school environment to permit
school authorities to look for such items.  Failure to open
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any part of the motor vehicle on the request of school
authorities may result in the police being called to conduct
a search, and will result in loss of the privilege to bring the
vehicle on campus.

E. Students of majority age, i.e. age 18 or older, are
responsible for their own actions.  All such students will
be treated as adults for purposes of reporting violations of
this policy and of the law to the police.  Such students shall
also be on notice that their parents and/or guardians will
be notified (if their address and/or telephone number is
known to the school) of the student’s actions in
accordance with this policy.

F. All alcohol, drugs, drug-like substances, look-
alike substances and/or drug paraphernalia found in a
student’s possession shall be turned over to the principal
or designee, and be made available, in the case of a
medical emergency, for identification.  All substances
shall be sealed and documented, and, in the case of
substances covered by 16 Del. C. ch 47, turned over to
police as potential evidence.

II. The following definitions shall apply to this policy
and will be used in all district policies.

A. “Alcohol” shall mean alcohol or any alcoholic
liquor capable of being consumed by a human being, as
defined in Section 101 of Title 4 of the Delaware Code,
including alcohol, spirits, wine and beer.

B. “Drug” shall mean any controlled substance or
counterfeit substance as defined in Section 4701 of Title
16 of the Delaware Code, including, for example, narcotic
drugs such as heroin or cocaine, amphetamines, anabolic
steroids, and marijuana, and shall include any prescription
substance which has been given to or prescribed for a
person other than the student in whose possession it is
found.

C. “Drug paraphernalia” shall mean all equipment,
products and materials as defined in Section 4701 of Title
16 of the Delaware Code, including, for example, roach
clips, miniature cocaine spoons and containers for
packaging drugs.

D. “Prescription drugs” shall mean any substance
obtained directly from or pursuant to a valid prescription
or order of a practitioner, as defined in 16 Del. C., sec.
4701 (24), while acting in the course of his or her
professional practice, and which is specifically intended
for the student in whose possession it is found.

E. “Drug-like substance” shall mean any
noncontrolled and/or nonprescription substance capable
of producing a change in behavior or altering a state of
mind or feeling, including, for example, some over-the-
counter cough medicines, certain types of glue, caffeine
pills.

F. “Nonprescription medication” shall mean any
over-the-counter medication; some of these medications

may be a “drug-like substance.”
G. “Look-alike substance” shall mean any

noncontrolled substance which is packaged so as to
appear to be, or about which a student makes an express or
implied representation that the substance is, a drug or a
noncontrolled substance capable of producing a change in
behavior or altering a state of mind or feeling.  See Del. C.,
sec. 4752A.

H. “Possess,” “possessing,” or “possession” shall
mean that a student has on the student’s person, in the
student’s belongings, or under the student’s reasonable
control by placement of and knowledge of the
whereabouts of, alcohol, a drug, a look-alike substance, a
drug-like substance or drug paraphernalia.

I. “Use” shall mean that a student is reasonably
known to have ingested, smoked or otherwise assimilated
alcohol, a drug or a drug-like substance, or is reasonably
found to be under the influence of such a substance.

J. “Distribute,” “distributing” or “distribution”
shall mean the transfer or attempted transfer of alcohol, a
drug, a look-alike substance, a drug-like substance, or
drug paraphernalia to any other person with or without the
exchange of money or other valuable consideration.

K. “School environment” shall mean within or on
school property, and/or at school sanctioned or supervised
activities, including, for example, on school grounds, on
school buses, at functions held on school grounds, at
extra-curricular activities held on and off school grounds,
on field trips and at functions held at the school in the
evening.

L. “Expulsion” shall mean exclusion from school
for a period determined by the local district not to exceed
180 school days.  The process for readmission shall be
determined by the local district. (State Board Approved
January 1991, Revised August 1991)

III. Each school district shall develop and submit to the
Department of Public Instruction by September 1, 1991,
for review and approval, policies and/or regulations
which shall include, as a minimum, the following:

Each school district shall have a policy on file and
update it periodically.  The policy shall include, as a
minimum the following:

A. A system of notification of each student and of
his/her parent at the beginning of the school year, and
whenever a student enters or re-enters the school during
the school year, of the state and district policies and
regulations.

B. A statement that it is anticipated that the state and
district policies shall apply to all students, except that with
respect to handicapped students, the federal law will be
followed, and a determination of whether the violation of
the alcohol and drug policy was due to the student’s
handicapping condition will be made prior to any
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discipline or change or placement in connection with the
policy.

C. A written policy which sets out procedures for
reporting incidents, how authorities and/or parents are to
be contacted, and how confidentiality is to be maintained.

D. A written policy on how evidence is to be kept,
stored and documented, so that the chain of custody is
clearly established prior to giving such evidence over to
the police.

E. A written policy on search and seizure.
F. A program of intervention and assistance, which

includes:
1. Having in each school building at least one

person to whom staff can refer students to receive initial
counseling and to obtain information on counseling/
treatment services available to the student, on the
student’s rights, if any, to those services, and on the
confidentiality which the student can expect.

2. A written statement, available to be given to
students or their parents, on what resources are available
in the school environment and in the community for
counseling and for drug and/or alcohol treatment.

3. A system which ensures that all staff
members are aware of resources in and referral procedures
within the school environment, and encourage students to
seek support and assistance.

4. A system which encourages or requires that a
student with alcohol or drug problems be assessed to
determine the extent of alcohol or drug involvement and
that the student receive the appropriate level of
counseling or treatment needed.

5. A policy of notification of the conditions
under which the district will provide or pay for alcohol
and/or drug counseling/treatment and/or testing, and the
extent to which the cost of such services must be borne by
the student.

G. A discipline policy which contains, at a
minimum, the following penalties for infractions of state
and district drug policies.

1. Use/Impairment:  For a first offense, if a
student is found to be only impaired and not in violation of
any other policies, he/she will be suspended for up to 10
days, or placed in an alternative school setting for up to 10
days, depending upon the degree of impairment, the
nature of the substance used, and other aggravating or
mitigating factors.  For a second or subsequent offense, a
student may be expelled or placed in an alternative school
setting for the rest of the school year.

2. Possession of alcohol, a drug, a drug-like
substance, and/or a look-alike substance, in an amount
typical for personal use, and/or drug paraphernalia:  For a
first offense, the student will be suspended for 5-10 days,
or placed in an alternative school setting for 5-10 days.
For a second or subsequent offense, a student may be

expelled for the rest of the school year.
3. Possession of a quantity of alcohol, a drug, a

drug-like substance, a look-alike substance and/or drug
paraphernalia in an amount which exceeds an amount
typical for personal use, and/or distribution of the above
named substances or paraphernalia:  the student will be
suspended for 10 days, or placed in an alternative school
setting for 10 days.  Depending on the nature of the
substance, the quantity of the substance and/or other
aggravating or mitigating factors, the student also may be
expelled.

H. A policy in cases involving a drug-like substance
or a look-alike substance for establishing that the student
intended to use, possess or distribute the substance as a
drug.

I. A policy which establishes how prescription and
non-prescription drugs shall be handled in the school
environment and when they will be  considered
unauthorized and subject to these state and local policies.

J. A policy which sets penalties for the unauthorized
possession of communication devices.

K. A policy which sets out the conditions for return
after expulsion for alcohol or drug infractions.

The plan shall include the designation of a district
committee composed of teachers, parents, school nurses,
and community leaders.  Any revisions in the local school
district policy will be submitted to the Department of
Public Instruction Education for review and approval.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

DELAWARE EMERGENCY TREATMENT CARD

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation the Delaware Emergency Treatment
Card is found on page 99 of The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.  The existing regulation is in the form of
a card that parents or guardians must fill out and sign and
a list of school emergency procedures attached to the card.
The amendment puts into regulation language that states
that the card must be used and what information must be
on the card.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
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1. Will the amendment help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues not curriculum issues.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation addresses health and safety issues and
the amendment simply puts in regulatory language the
requirement that the Emergency Card must be used and
what information must be included.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
and flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on
decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amendment will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

The regulation is in the form of a card and the
amendment puts the requirement into the form of a
regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO
RESPONSIBILITIES

DELAWARE EMERGENCY TREATMENT DATA
CARD

Student’s Name____________Birth Date________________School
District________________School ________________________
Grade____________Homeroom or Teacher ___________________
Home Address _________________Development _______________
Home Phone ______________
Mother/Guardian’s Name ___________________________
Father/Guardian’s Name ____________________________
Mother’s Place of Employment ______________________________
Phone _________________ Ext. _______
Father’s Place of Employment _______________________________
Phone _________________ Ext. _______
If parent/guardians cannot be reached, call:

1. _________________________________________________
Name Address Phone

2__________________________________________________
Name Address Phone

Family Physician __________________ Phone ______________
Family Dentist ________________________
Indicate student’s serious medical problems______________________
Student is allergic to: ( )  Penicillin ( )  Aspirin ( )  Other______
Medical Insurance:  Medicaid No. __________________
Other: ______________________________________

   Certificate No.  Group No.  Type

This information may be shared with school personnel on a ”need to
know“ basis.

   (Please turn card over for parent/guardian signature)    (over)

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -  - - - - - -

SCHOOL EMERGENCY PROCEDURES

Your schools have adopted the following procedures in
caring for child when he/she becomes sick or injured at
school:

In case of emergency and/or need of medical or
hospital care:

1. The school will call the home.  If there is no
answer,

2. The school will call the father’s, mother’s or
guardian’s place of employment.  If there is no answer,

3. The school will call the other telephone
number(s) listed and the physician.

4. If none  of the above answer, the school will
call an ambulance, if necessary, to transport the child to a
local medical facility.
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5. Based upon the medical judgment of the

attending physician, the child may be admitted to a local
medical facility.

6. The school will continue to call the parents,
guardians, or physician until one is reached.

If I cannot be reached and the school authorities have
followed the procedures described, I agree to assume all
expenses for moving and medically treating this student.  I
also hereby consent to any treatment, surgery, diagnostic
procedures or the administration of anesthesia which may
be carried out based on the medical judgment of the
attending physician.

Parent/GuardianSignature _______________________
 Date ___________________

AS REVISED

THE DELAWARE EMERGENCY TREATMENT
CARD

A Delaware Emergency Treatment Card must be on file
for every child in school grades K-12 and the card must
contain at a minimum, requests for the following
information: student’s name, birth date, school district,
school, grade, homeroom or teacher, home address, home
phone, mother/guardian’s name and/or father/guardian’s
name, their place of employment and work phone, two
other names, addresses and phone numbers for times
when the parent or guardian can not be reached, family
physician, name and phone, family dentist, name and
phone, student’s medical problems and allergies, the
students’ medical insurance and if possible the parent/
guardian’s signature.  This information may be shared on
a need to know basis.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

DELAWARE SCHOOL HEALTH RECORD CARD

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation on the Delaware School Health
Record Card found on page 22 in The School Nurse, A
Guide to Responsibilities defines the school nurse’s

responsibilities in keeping school health records.  The
amendment is necessary to eliminate the reference to a
”card“ since most record keeping will be done
electronically and to separate the regulatory aspects of the
policy from those that were included for technical
assistance purposes.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amendment addresses health and safety issues
and does not address curriculum issues.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation mandates that the school
nurse keep the school health record and defines
responsibilities as to the record keeping.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
and flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on
decision makers at the local board or school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
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policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will not be an impediment to
the implementation of other state education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary for the health and safety
of students and the amendment clarifies the record
keeping responsibilities of the school nurse.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO
RESPONSIBILITIES

Delaware School Health Record Card

General Directions

1. The “School Health Record” is confidential and must
be stored so that only duly authorized persons have access
to it.  The provisions of PL 93-380 must be observed.

2. A “School Health Record” card must be prepared for
each school child.

3. The card must be presented to physician when child is
examined.

4. When a child is promoted to another school in the
district or transfers to another school in or out of the state,
this card should accompany the other school records.

5. The card will serve a child as a health record for the
thirteen years of schooling.  The school nurse should use
the “Student Health History Update” to keep health record
current.

6. The “School Health Record” card is to remain in the
general school file or nurse’s file during the pupil’s
attendance in school.

7. Destroy any duplicate or partial health record after
entries have been transferred to the official card so that
there is only one correct and up-to-date card.

8. Data submitted by psychologist, hearing specialist, or
other health professionals should be entered on the card.

9. Record all tests, examinations, and conferences at the

time they occur.

10. Record any diseases, serious illnesses, major injuries,
or operations which occur during each year.

11. Frequent illnesses, absences, or visits to the health
room should be noted in the record with follow-up of such
cases.

12. Each school district is responsible for having the
“School Health Record” card printed.  (Revised 1972, see
pages 23 and 24.)  Cards may be purchased from the
Diamond Printing Company, 100 Rogers Road,
Wilmington, Delaware 19801.

13. For the disposition of the “School Health Record”
card, follow the procedures below:

a. No health or psychological data shall be filmed
with school academic records.

b. All student health records will be retained at the
school for two years after termination (graduation, drop-
out, transfer).

c. All health records will then be transferred to the
State Records Center which will retain the records for a
total of 25 years.

This action follows the recommendations of the State
School Health Advisory Committee and is being proposed
to the  Bureau of Archives and Records Management for
establishing a final retention as required by 27 Delaware
Code, Sec. 524.  For further information on the legal
procedure for disposing of these records, contact the
Bureau of Archives and Records Management (Gail
Ralph, Records Analyst) 739-5318.

AS REVISED

Delaware School Health Record

1. The “School Health Record” is confidential and must
be stored so that only duly authorized persons have access
to it.

2. A “School Health Record” must be prepared for each
school child.  When a child is promoted to another school
in the district or transfers to another school in or out of
state this must accompany the other school records.

3. The health record will serve for the duration of the
child’s schooling.  The school nurse must use the “Student
Health History Update” to keep health records current.

4. The “School Health Record” must remain in the
general school file or nurse’s file during the pupil’s
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attendance in school.  The school nurse must destroy any
duplicate or partial health record after entries have been
transferred to the official record so that there is only one
correct and up-to-date record.

5. No health or psychological data shall be filmed with
school academic records.

6. All student health records must be retained at the
school for two years after termination (graduation, drop-
out, transfer).

7. All health records must be transferred to the State
Records Center which will retain the records for a total of
25 years.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

HEARING SCREENING PROCEDURES

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation on Hearing Screening Procedures
found on pages 28 to 35 in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities lists the grade levels where hearing
screenings must occur, requires re-screenings and new
student screenings.  Notification of the parent or guardian
of the screening results and recording the results in the
school health record are also regulated.   The amendment
is necessary in order to isolate the regulatory
responsibilities of the school nurse from the technical
assistance information and to use the word ”must“ in the
regulatory statements.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation can have a positive effect on
student achievement.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

This regulation requires hearing screenings of
students at certain grade levels and the amendment
clarifies the responsibilities of the school nurse.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
or flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on
decision makers at the local board or school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

This amended regulation will not be an impediment to
the implementation of other state education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of students and the amendment clarifies the
regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO
RESPONSIBILITIES

Hearing Screening Procedures
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Purpose

To accomplish rapid and efficient identification of
hearing impairment in school-aged children.

Population to be Screened

All children in kindergarten or grade 1, 3, 5, 8, 11, any
child being considered for special education classes, and
all students new to the school system shall receive a
hearing screening each year.  Any child considered for a
special education placement must receive hearing
screening.

Equipment Needed

1. Pure tone audiometer calibrated annually to
ANSI 1969 standards.

2. Quiet testing area free from ambient noises such
as fans, typewriters, blowers, flushing toilets, band
rehearsals, gymnasiums, or playgrounds.

3. Test room should be of sufficient size to
accommodate the person conducting the screening and the
child.  In some cases it is helpful to have space that permits
the seating of 2 to 4 additional children so that they may
observe the test procedure.  Experience has shown that
rooms treated with acoustical tile, heavy drapes covering
windows, carpeting, and solid core doors help to eliminate
extraneous noise.  The room must be supplied with an
electrical outlet  (110V A.C.).

4. A table sufficient in size to accommodate the
audiometer and provide the evaluator with ample writing
space.  Seating for the tester and the child should be of
appropriate size.

5. Have appropriate forms ready:  class roster,
parent letter, clinic referral form.

Recommended Procedure
1. Screening will be performed only at the

following frequencies:  1000, 2000, and 4000 Hz.
2. Intensity level of screenings will be 20 dB at each

frequency.  (NOTE:  If there appears to be a fair amount of
extraneous noise, screening intensity level can be raised
to 25 dB for each frequency.)

3. Failure to respond at the recommended screening
level at any frequency in either ear constitutes failure.

4. All failures should be re-screened within the
same session.  This should be accomplished by removing
and re-positioning the earphones and carefully re-
instructing the child.

5. Should any child again fail the screening, a repeat
screen should be done within two (2) weeks of the initial
screening.

6. Any child failing the hearing screening will be

referred for appropriate follow-up and re-screened the
following year.

Follow-up Procedures
1. Record results on the school health card.
2. Notify parents that child has failed the hearing

screening and may have a hearing loss.  They should be
advised that they may elect to receive a diagnostic
audiological and otological (ear examination by an ENT
physician) through the Division of Public Health, or may
seek further examination and treatment, if necessary,
through the family physician or community ENT
physician.  (See sample Referral Form, page39.)

3. Should the parents elect services through the
Division of Public Health:

a. Contact the family physician to obtain
permission to refer child to the clinic.  Treatment services
are not involved in this referral.

b. New Castle County:  Referrals for Audiologic
and Otologic Services should be forwarded to the Medical
Center of Delaware ENT Clinic at the following location:
Wilmington Hospital, Speech and Hearing Department,
501 West 14th Street, Wilmington, DE  19801 (428-
2286).

c. Kent County:  Refer for audiology or A & O
Clinic services to:  Williams State Service Center,
Hearing Services, Route 13 and River Road, Dover, DE
19901 (739-5376).

d. Sussex County:  Refer for audiology or A &
O Clinic services to:  Sussex County Health Unit, Hearing
Services, 544 South Bedford Street, Georgetown, DE
19947 (856-5213).

4. Discuss suspected or known deviations with the
appropriate school personnel.

NOTE:    Nurses are urged to recheck the hearing of
children receiving private care within a reasonable period
of time or to check with the child or family on what care
was given so as to insure adequate follow-up of the
suspected hearing loss.

Approved by the State Board of Education on September
15, 1988.

AS REVISED

Hearing Screening

1. All children in kindergarten or grade 1, 3, 5, 8 and 11
or any child being considered for special education
classes, and all students new to the school system shall
receive a hearing screening by December 15th of the
current school year.
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2. All failures must be re-screened within the same
session.  This should be accomplished by removing and
re-positioning the earphones and carefully re-instructing
the child.

3. Should any child again fail the screening, a repeat
screen must be done within two (2) weeks of the initial
screening.

4. Any child failing the hearing screening must be
referred for appropriate follow-up and re-screened the
following year.

5. The school nurse must record the test results on the
School Health Record.

6. The school nurse must notify the parents/guardian
that the child has failed the hearing screening and may
have a hearing loss.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

POLICY FOR PROVIDING EDUCATION TO
STUDENTS WITH HIV INFECTION

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation Policy for Providing Education to
Students with HIV Infection found on page 81 in The
School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities and on pages
A-52 - A-53 in the Handbook for K-12 Education affirms
the rights of students in K-12 and adult education
programs with HIV infection to attend the public schools
of Delaware and affirms their right to privacy concerning
the existence of the infection.  The amendment is
necessary to remove the procedural references and focus
only on the regulatory sections.  Sections 2, 3, 4, and 8 are
removed and sections 5, 6, and 7 become 2, 3, and 4.  In
section 4, the words ”established by the State Department
of Public Instruction and Division of Public Health and
approved by the Delaware State Board of Education on
December 19, 1985“ and the last sentence ”These
procedures will be found in the School Nurse Handbook,
School Bus Drivers Handbook, Handbook for School
Food Services, and K-12 Handbook“ are removed.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

This amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues not curriculum issues.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The regulation was put in place to assure that students
and adults with HIV infection have full access to the
public education system and the amendment does not
change that intent.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation was put in place to ensure that student
health and safety is protected and the amendment does not
change that intent.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The regulation was put in place to protect student
health and safety as well as their legal rights and the
amendment does not change that intent.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
or flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on
decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amendment will not be an impediment to the
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implementation of other state education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

This regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of students and the amendment simply removes
procedural references from the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

Policy for Providing Education To Students with HIV
Infection

1. A student enrolled or entering a Delaware public
school/program, or in an adult or apprenticeship program,
with HIV infection shall be permitted to attend school
unless the student, in the opinion of his/her physician, is at
risk from communicable diseases (e.g. measles, chicken
pox) present in the school or has other medically related
problems.

2. Any conflict regarding attendance of the HIV
infected student by the school district will be reviewed on
a case by case basis by the State Advisory Panel appointed
by the State Department of Public Instruction and
consisting of the State Health Officer, State Epidemiologist,
a representative from the Medical Society of Delaware, a
representative from the State Department of Public
Instruction, a school nurse, and a school superintendent.
The local district will submit to the panel:  (a) evidence
that the student exhibits or manifests symptoms which
justify exclusion; (b) a current report from the students
personal physician.  If recommended by the student’s
physician, the student will remain in the school until a
determination is made by the panel.

3. The student shall be readmitted to the school or
program when the student’s physician verifies to the State
Advisory Panel that the condition for which removal
occurred has been corrected or has abated, and the Panel
determines the student can return to school.

4. The school nurse, in cooperation with the building
principal, shall function as:  (a) the liaison with the
student’s physician and the State Advisory Panel;  (b) the
advocate for the HIV infected student in the school (i.e.,
assist in problem resolution, answer questions);  (c) the
coordinator of services provided by other staff.

5. 2. A student entitled to a free public education
pursuant to 14 Del. C. ch. 2 and/or ch. 31, with HIV
infection who is removed for reasons stated in Paragraph

1, shall be provided with an appropriate alternative
education according to already established procedures.

6. 3. Dissemination of the knowledge that a student
has HIV infection is subject to State and Federal privacy
laws and regulations.

7. 4. Routine and standard procedures (i.e. universal
precautions) for handling all body fluids established by
the State Department of Public Instruction and Division of
Public Health and approved by the Delaware State Board
of Education on December 19, 1985 shall be utilized in
every school and program.  These procedures will be
found in the School Nurse Handbook, School Bus Drivers
Handbook, Handbook for School Food Services, and K-
12 Handbook.

8. Educational programs about HIV infection, mode of
transmission, care of body fluids, and good hand washing
techniques shall be offered to all school personnel.  The
Department of Public Instruction shall coordinate training
programs for school nurses and other designated
personnel who will be responsible for school district
programs.

Passed by the State Board of Education on May 17, 1990.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

IMMUNIZATION RULES OF THE STATE BOARD
OF EDUCATION

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation entitled Immunization Rules and
Regulations of the State Board of Education is found on
pages 71 and 72 in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities.  This regulation defines a school
“enterer” and lists all required immunizations students
must have.  The regulation defines “certification of
immunization” and “conditional school admission”.  It
also provides direction on how to deal with lost or
destroyed medical records and how to seek exemptions
from immunization.  The amendment is necessary to add a
new section B.1.d. which requires students to receive
three doses of Hepatitis B beginning in the 1999-2000
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school year with kindergarten and grade seven.  The
existing sections d. and e. become e. and f.  The
amendment also removes section H, Implementation,
which is no longer necessary because the previously
existing parts of the regulation have been implemented.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

This amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and not curriculum issues.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3 .Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

This regulation addresses the health and safety issue
of student immunizations and the amendment adds the
requirement of Hepatitis B immunizations to the current
list of immunizations.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
or flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on
decision makers at the local board or school level.  The
school nurse will have another immunization to record on
the school health record.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an

impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amendment will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other state education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of students and the amendment simply adds another
type of immunization to the existing program.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

Immunizations Rules and Regulations of the State Board
of Education

A. Definition of School Enterer
A school enterer is any child between the ages of two

months and 21 years entering or being admitted to a
Delaware school district for the first time, including but
not limited to, foreign exchange students, immigrants,
students from other states and territories and children
entering from non-public schools.

B. Immunization Requirements for School Admission
The following minimum immunizations will be

required for all school enterers:
1. Vaccine

a. Four or more doses of diphtheria, tetanus,
pertussis (DTP) or diphtheria, tetanus (DT) vaccine or a
combination of these vaccines with the following
exceptions:  (1) a child who received a fourth dose prior to
the fourth birthday must have a fifth dose;  (2) a child who
received the first dose of Td (adult) at or after age seven
may meet this requirement with only three doses of Td
(adult).

b. Four doses of oral polio vaccine (OPV) or
four doses of inactivated polio virus (IPV) or a
combination of these vaccines with the following
exception:  If the third primary dose of OPV or IPV is
administered on or after the fourth birth date, a fourth dose
is not required.

c. Two doses of measles vaccine.  The first dose
should be administered on or after the age of 12 months.
The second dose should be administered after the fourth
birthday.  The combination vaccines of measles, mumps,
rubella (MMR) can be used to meet this requirement.

d. Three doses of Hepatitis B vaccine beginning
in the 1999-2000 school year with kindergarten and grade
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seven.

d. e. One dose of rubella vaccine administered
after the age of 12 months.

e. f. One dose of mumps vaccine administered
after the age of 12 months.

2. Disease histories for measles, rubella and mumps
will not be accepted unless serologically confirmed.

3. A booster dose of Td (adult) is recommended at
ten year intervals for all students after the last DTP or DT
dose was administered.

C. Certification of Immunization
All parents or legal guardians of school enterers must

present a certificate specifying the month, day, and year
that the immunizations were administered by the
physician or public health agency.

(Passed by the State Board of Education on December 19,
1990.)

D. Admission
1. Notice

According to Delaware Code, Title 14, Section
131, Paragraph C, a principal or person in charge of a
school shall not permit a child to enter into school without
acceptable evidence of immunization.  The parent or legal
guardian shall be notified of this requirement in writing.
Within 14 calendar days after notification, evidence must
be presented to the school that the basic series of
immunizations has been initiated or has been completed.

2. Conditional
A school enterer may be conditionally admitted

to a Delaware school district by presenting a statement
from a physician or public health agency which specifies
that the school enterer:

a. has received at least one dose of DTP or DT
and

b. has received at least one dose of OPV or IPV
and

c. has received at least one dose of measles,
mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine.

d. Children entering school without
documentation for the first or second dose of measles
should be admitted after the first dose.  A second dose is
required between 30 and 90 days after the first dose.
(MMR can be used to meet this requirement.)

3. Denial
If the school enterer fails to complete the series of

required immunizations according to the Division of
Public Health’s recommended schedule, the parent or
legal guardian will be notified the child will be excluded.

E. Lost or Destroyed Medical Records
When an immunization record has been lost or

destroyed by the medical provider who administered the
vaccine, the parent must sign a written statement to this
effect and must obtain at least one dose of DTP or DT, one
dose of OPV or IPV and immunization against measles,
mumps and rubella.  Evidence that the vaccines were
administered must be presented to the superintendent or
designated person.  An exemption to this requirement
would be a statement from a physician demonstrating
serological evidence of immunity to measles, mumps or
rubella.

F. Exemption from Immunization
Exemption from this requirement may be granted in

accordance with Delaware Code, Title 14, Section 131.

G. Verification of School Records
The Division of Public Health shall have the right to

audit and verify school immunization records to
determine compliance with the law.

H. Implementation
Effective September 1, 1991 and thereafter, these

revised regulations will be enforced 12/19/90.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

GUIDELINES FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF
NONPRESCRIPTION DRUGS

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation Guidelines for Administration of
Nonprescription Drugs found on page 104 in The School
Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities identifies the
responsibilities of the school nurse in the administration
of nonprescription drugs.  The amendment is necessary in
order to isolate the regulatory responsibilities of the
school nurse from the technical assistance information
and to use the word ”must“ in the regulatory statements.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amendment deals with student health and safety
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issues not curriculum issues.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The amendment addresses health and safety issues for
all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation addresses the health and safety issue
of the administration of nonprescription drugs and the
amendment clarifies the responsibilities of the school
nurse in this area.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on
decision makers at the local board and school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amendment will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of the students and the amendment clarifies the
responsibilities of the school nurse in administering
nonprescription drugs.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO
RESPONSIBILITIES

Guidelines For Administration Of Nonprescription
Drugs

The following guidelines for administration of
nonprescription drugs were adopted by the State Board of
Education on May 20, 1982, and will become effective
September, 1982:

Whereas any medication prescribed by a physician
can be administered by the nurse, nonprescription drugs
can be administered by nurses in schools by following
guidelines below.

a. No medication is to be administered without
parental permission.

b. A careful history of any allergies, especially
to medications, must be noted on student’s school health
record.

c. A record that includes the date, time, dosage,
purpose must be kept.

d. Assess the particular complaint and symptoms
to determine if other measures can be used before
medication is administered.  See The School Nurse - A
Guide to Responsibilities, “Common First Aid Procedures
for Illness”, page 111.

e. Medical attention should be sought if
symptoms or conditions persist.

f. Medications may be considered for the
following:  dysmenorrhea, orthodontics discomfort,
follow-up of known medically treated injuries, general
malaise, severe allergic reactions, skin lesions.

g. Proper labeling of containers and proper
storage of medication is necessary.

h. Nurses must use restraint at all times in the
administration of nonprescription medications.

AS REVISED

Administration of Nonprescription Drugs

Medications prescribed by a physician can be administered
by the school nurse in the schools.  The school nurse must
do the following:

1. Assess the particular complaint and symptoms to
determine if other measures can be used before
medication is administered.  Medications may be
considered for the following: dysmenorrhea, orthodontics
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discomfort, follow up of known medically treated
injuries, general malaise, severe allergic reaction and skin
lesions.

2. Look for a record of all allergies, especially to
medications, on the student’s school health record.

3. Have the permission of the parent or guardian to
administer any medications.

4. Record the date, time and dosage of the medication.

5. Seek medical attention if the symptoms or conditions
persist.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

ADMINISTRATION OF NON-TRADITIONAL
REMEDIES

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

New Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to adopt a regulation entitled, Administration
of Nontraditional remedies.  The regulation is necessary
in order to help the school nurse deal with an increasing
number of requests to administer nontraditional remedies
as opposed to prescription and nonprescription
medications. Regulations are currently in place for the
administration of prescription and nonprescription
medications.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the regulation help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The regulation deals with student health and safety
issues not curriculum issues.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The regulation addresses health and safety issues for
all students.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’

health and safety are adequately protected?
The regulation addresses health and safety issues by

defining the responsibilities of the school nurse
concerning the administration of nontraditional remedies
in the school setting.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’
legal rights are respected?

The regulation addresses health and safety issues and
student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The regulation will preserve the authority and
flexibility of decision makers at the local board and school
level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The regulation will not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative responsibilities or mandates
on decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The regulation will maintain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The regulation will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

The regulation is necessary to define the
responsibilities of the school nurse when asked to
administer nontraditional remedies.  There are regulations
concerning the administration of prescription and
nonprescription medications but there is an increasing
number of requests for the administration of nontraditional
remedies.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?

The regulation does not add any additional costs.
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Administration of Non-Traditional Remedies

When a school nurse administers non-traditional remedies
to students in school the following conditions must exist:

1. The remedy is an over-the-counter commercially
prepared preparation that is age-appropriate for the
student.

2. The use of the remedy was requested in writing by the
parent/guardian.

3. The use of the remedy does not violate any standing
orders or protocols of the district.

4. The parent is made aware of the current standard of
practice.

5. The parent provides adequate information regarding
the remedy, its purpose, any toxicity or interactions,
proper dosage and storage, and any other instructions
necessary for the safe provision of the remedy.

6. The remedy is properly labeled with contents, dosage,
time and route of administration, the student’s name, the
date, and the name of the prescribing practitioner (if
prescribed).

7. A record that includes the date, time, dosage, and
purpose of the remedy is kept.

8. A careful history of allergies is maintained.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

ORTHOPEDIC SCREENING

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation on Orthopedic Screening found on
pages 51 and 52 in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities lists the grades when students must
receive orthopedic screenings both Phase I and Phase II
and requires the school nurse to record the information in
the school health record.  The amendment is necessary in
order to isolate the regulatory responsibilities from the

technical assistance information and to use the word
”must“ in the regulatory statements.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

This amended regulation can have a positive impact
on student achievement.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

This amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

This regulation requires students to have an
orthopedic screening at certain grade levels and under
certain conditions and the amendment clarifies the role of
the school nurse.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
or flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on
decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?
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This amended regulation will not be an impediment to

the implementation of other education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

This regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of students and the amendment clarifies the
regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO
RESPONSIBILITIES

Orthopedic Screening

Objective

To identify orthopedic or postural defects as early as
possible in order to obtain such remediation as indicated.

Those To Be Screened

All pupils in grades 4 through 9 will be screened
annually.  Screening will be the responsibility of the
physical education teacher and school nurse.  The school
nurse will be responsible for follow-up and general
supervision of the program.

Time Frames For Screening

Two phases constitute the screening.  Phase I is
performed by the school nurses and physical education
teachers by October 15; Phase II by physical therapists
under contract to the Alfred I. DuPont Institute.  Both
phases should be completed by January 31 in order to
permit adequate time for follow-up.  DPI will coordinate
the program through the office of the Supervisor of
School Health Services.

Procedures

1. Obtain class roster to use as work sheet and to
record results of screening.

2. Boys should be dressed only in shorts or
underpants; girls should wear shorts and short-sleeved
blouse that opens in the back.  This allows for adequate
examination of head, arms, back, legs, and feet.

3. Examination should be done in this sequence:
a. Child walks toward examiner, look for:

(1) Symmetry of the body.
(2) Abnormality of gait (limp, waddle, feet

turn in or out  excessively).
b. With child standing in front of examiner,

look for:
(1) Limitation of neck motion
(2) Limitation of arm motion
(3) Shoulder level
(4) Eye level
(5) Pelvic tilt
(6) Short leg
(7) Leg and foot abnormalities

c. With child standing sideways to examiner,
look for:

(1) Abnormalities of AP posture
d. With child standing with back to the

examiner, look for:
(1) Curvature of the spine or other

abnormalities
(a) Back straight
(b) Back bent in Adams position

e. Child walks away from examiner and gait is
checked again.

f. In addition to the above, such things as
allergies, suspicious moles, skin conditions, excessive
scarring from burns, and lop ears are noted and referred
for further treatment.

g. Pain is a cardinal sign for referral.
h. Check signs on special form provided.  (See

page 53)

Follow-Up - Phase I and Phase II

1. Record findings on “School Health Record”.  If a
suspected deviation is detected, complete one copy of
form on page 53 for Phase II.  Notify the district
coordinator of the number of students to be checked in
Phase II.

2. The coordinator will arrange for Phase II through
the Supervisor of Health Education Services, Department
of Public Instruction.

3. After Phase II, notify parents that suspected
deviation has been detected.  They should be advised that
they should seek further examination through the family
physician, Alfred I. DuPont Institute, or the Shriners
Hospital (1-800-281-4050).

4. Parents electing to seek private medical care:
a. Obtain name of physician and send one copy

of the special form with a cover letter.
b. Nurses are urged to check with the child or

family within a reasonable time on what care was given to
insure adequate follow-up.

c. Have parent sign authorization to release
information (page 55) for private physician, Alfred I.
DuPont Institute, and Shriners Hospital referrals.

5. Discuss suspected or known deviations with
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appropriate school personnel.

Note:  Some families may have to check with their
primary care physician before contacting
the Alfred I. DuPont Institute.

Reference Book
A good reference book for screening and therapeutic

exercises is Therapeutic Exercise, Williams, Marian and
Worthington, Catherine;  W.B. Sanders Company,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

AS REVISED
Orthopedic Screening

1. All pupils in grades 4 through 9 must be screened
annually.  The school nurse is responsible for follow-up
and general supervision of the program.  Two phases
constitute the screening.  Phase I is performed by the
school nurse and physical education teacher by October
15; Phase II by physical therapists. Both phases should be
completed by January 31 in order to permit adequate time
for follow-up.  The Department of Education will
coordinate the program through the office of the
Supervisor of School Health Services.

2. The school nurse must record the test findings on the
School Health Record and notify the parents/guardian that
a suspected deviation has been detected.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

PARENTAL REQUEST TO HAVE PRESCRIPTION
MEDICATIONS ADMINISTERED IN SCHOOLS

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation Parental Request to Have Prescription
Medications Administered in School found on page 105 b
in The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities
identifies the information that the school nurse must get
from the parent or guardian and the records that must be
kept.  The amendment is necessary in order to isolate the
regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse from the
technical assistance information and to use the word
”must“ in the regulatory statements.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation deals with health and safety
issues not curriculum issues.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation addresses the responsibilities of the
school nurse in administering prescription medications
and the amendment clarifies those responsibilities.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
and flexibility of decision makers at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative responsibilities or mandates
on the decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making and
accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amendment will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
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the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of students and the amendment clarifies the
responsibilities of the school nurse in the administration
of prescription medications.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO
RESPONSIBILITIES

Parental Request to Have Prescription Medications
Administered in School

If it is necessary for your child to receive medication
during the school day, please do the following:
•  Send the medication to school with a responsible
individual if you are unable to take it to school.
•  Send the medication in the original container
properly labeled with correct name, time, dose and date.
•  Count the tablets (unless the number of tablets is the
exact number on the label) or approximate amount of
liquid in the bottle.
•  Fill out the following information:

Date  ________________________________________
Student’s Name  _______________________________
Medication  ___________________________________
Dose  ____________________Time  _____________
Reason for Medication  __________________________
Allergies to any medications  _____________________
Number of tablets sent  __________________________
Amount of liquid  ______________________________
Parent/Guardian Signature  _______________________
Nurse’s Signature  ______________________________
Number of tablets/amount of liquid received _________

AS REVISED

Prescription Medications

Medications prescribed by a licensed healthcare provider
must be administered in school by the school nurse under
the following conditions:

1. Request received from the parent/guardian.

2. The medication is brought/sent to school in the
original container that is properly labeled with the
student’s name; the name of the medication; time; dosage;
how it is to be administered; the physician’s name; name

of pharmacy and phone number; and a current date of the
prescription.

3. Any allergies are noted.

4. All controlled substances are counted and reconciled
at least once a month and kept under double lock.

5. The daily log or special medication record shows the
student’s name, time, and date of administration.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

PHYSICAL EXAMINATIONS

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation on Physical Examinations found on
pages 15 and 16 in The School Nurse, A Guide to
Responsibilities requires that all students have a physical
examination before entering school, lists one exception
and requires school nurses to record all findings on the
school record.  The amendment is necessary in order to
isolate the regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse
from the technical assistance information and to use the
word “must” in the regulatory statements.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation can have a positive impact
on student achievement.

2. Will the amendment  help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation requires all students to have a physical
examination and the amendment clarifies the
responsibilities of the school nurse.
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4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all

students’ legal rights are respected?
The amended regulation addresses health and safety

issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
or flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on
decision makers at the local board or school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will not be an impediment to
the implementation of other state education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of students and the amendment clarifies the
regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO
RESPONSIBILITIES

Physical Examinations

Objectives

• To determine the pupil’s health status through a
comprehensive appraisal.

• To secure medical supervision and correction

when necessary.
• To indicate the extent to which the school

program should be modified if necessary to benefit the
pupil.

• To determine the pupil’s fitness to participate in
the school program.

Those To Be Examined

• All pupils upon entrance to the Delaware school
system in kindergarten or grade one must have had a
physical examination.  Examinations can be obtained at
the private physician’s office or at a Well Child Clinic.
The Delaware Pupil Medical Record form should be given
to the parent to take to the physician or clinic.  (See page
19)  All other new enterers should have a physical
examination form on file in health records.

• All students who participate in sports.  See
official Handbook of the Delaware Secondary School
Athletic Association.

• Those selected pupils whose health status
suggests further follow-up as a result of observations and/
or conferences by the teacher and school nurse.

• Children of Christian Scientist parents may
request exemption from physical exams by having their
parents obtain the proper form from the “Committee on
Publication for Delaware” which is responsible for such
matters.  The school should not furnish these forms.

Recommended Procedures

For districts that employ a physician*
• Screening tests such as vision and hearing should

be done prior to health examinations.
• Six to eight children should be examined per

hour--each should be seen  singly.

*Only a physician licensed to practice in Delaware is to be
used for school health services.  Any questions
concerning the status of a physician should be directed to
the Bureau of Professional Licensing, State Health
Building, Dover, Delaware.

• Child should be disrobed to trunks for boys, and
panties for girls.  (Capes may be provided for girls.)

• The disrobing and examining areas must permit
privacy, and be adequately heated, well lighted, and quiet.

For contractual services or for selected referrals to
local physicians

• Compile and make available to the physician all
information pertinent to the physical and emotional status
of the individual child.  This would include results of
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screening tests and observations of the teacher and school
nurse.

• Arrange for examination with physician.
• Follow through on recommendations.

Follow-Up

1. Record all findings on the School Health Record.
2. Notify parents of any disabilities or defects and,

where necessary, direct proper resource.
3. Discuss deviations that may have an influence on

the child’s progress in school with appropriate school
personnel.

Note: For further clarification regarding physical
education examinations, please refer to the Attorney
General’s Opinion of July 17, 1979 on page 127

AS REVISED

Physical Examinations

1. All pupils upon entrance to the Delaware school
system must have had a physical examination by a
licensed medical physician, nurse practitioner or
physician’s assistant.  The Physical Examination form can
be given to the parent or guardian if requested.  All other
new enterers must have a physical examination form on
file in their health records.

2. All students who participate in sports must have a
physical examination.

3. Those selected pupils whose health status suggests
further follow-up as a result of observations and/or
conferences by the teacher and school nurse must have a
physical examination.

4. Children of Christian Scientist parents may request
exemption from physical exams by having their parents
obtain the proper form from the “Committee on
Publication for Delaware” which is responsible for such
matters.  The school should not furnish these forms.

5. The school nurse must record all findings on the
School Health Record.

6. New enterers have ten school days to comply with the
regulation before being excluded from school.  A
documented appointment with a licensed provider as
stated above will defer exclusion.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

POLICY ON THE SCHOOL NURSE AND THE
HANDICAPPED CHILD AND POLICY FOR

PROVIDING CARE TO THE CHILD WITH SPECIAL
HEALTH NEEDS

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The policies entitled, Policy Statement on the School
Nurse and the Handicapped Child and Policy for
Providing Care to the Child with Special Needs are found
on pages 175 and 181 respectively in The School Nurse, A
Guide to Responsibilities.  These regulations list the
responsibilities of the school nurse as a member of the IEP
team and the requirements for ministering to the special
health needs of children.  The amendment is necessary in
order to combine the two policies into one policy entitled,
The School Nurse and the Child with Special Health
Needs.  The amended policy removes the technical
assistance language and includes only those areas that are
regulated and uses the word ”must“ in the regulatory
language.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The regulation deals with the role the school nurse
plays in helping the special needs child and the
amendment clarifies these responsibilities, hence there
can be a relationship to improved student achievement.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The regulation and the amendment do contribute to
ensuring equal access to the academic curriculum for
special education students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation deals with health and safety issues for
special needs students and the amendment clarifies the
responsibilities of the school nurse as they work with
these students.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
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students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
or flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative responsibilities or mandates
on decision makers at the local board or school level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amendment will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of the special education students and the
amendment clarifies the responsibilities of the school
nurse.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment will not add any additional costs.

FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO
RESPONSIBILITIES

Policy Statement on The School Nurse and Children
with Disabilities

The National Association of School Nurses, Inc. endorses
the philosophy by guaranteeing the availability of free,
appropriate public education for all children with
disabilities in the least restrictive environment.  Children

with disabilities may require additional educational
services as well as related health services.

The school nurse plans and implements those health
services which will contribute to the achievement of the
children with disabilities.

The school nurse, as a member of the evaluation team,
(1) assists in identifying candidates for placement in

a special program;
(2) conducts the initial health evaluation and parent

conference;
(3) assists in obtaining an indepth health and

developmental history and home environment assessment;
(4) provides and interprets all pertinent medical

information including results of recent physical
assessments;

(5) develops the individual health maintenance plan
with student/parent;

(6) provides the evaluation team with the health
component of the individual educational plan (IEP);

(7) periodically confers with the student, parent and
faculty to revise health maintenance plan;

(8) assists parent/student to use appropriate
community resources;

(9) follows up on medical recommendations and
reports to teachers and appropriate personnel;

(10)provides teacher/staff inservice regarding health
maintenance plan of student;

(11)provides and/or supervises nursing treatment and
specialized health procedures to allow the student to
remain in the least restrictive environment:

1. A written request shall be obtained from the
parent for the procedure.

2. A written authorization for the procedure
from the child’s physician must be on file.

3. Each change in the procedure request from
the parent or physician requires reauthorization.  All
procedures shall be reauthorized every six months.

4. A daily treatment log that includes child’s
name, date and time shall be kept on all medications and
treatment administered with any reactions or comments
noted.

(12)provides support to teachers and parents of
students who have specialized health care needs.

Policy for Providing Care to the Child with Special
Health Needs

In order for the school to provide care for the child
with special health needs during the regular school day,
the following general procedures shall be followed:

1. A written request shall be obtained from the



1336

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
parent for the procedure.

2. A written authorization for the procedure from
the child’s physician must be on file.

3. Each change in the procedure request from the
parent or physician requires reauthorization.  All
procedures shall be reauthorized every six months.

4. A daily treatment log that includes child’s name,
date and time shall be kept on all medications and
treatment administered with any reactions or comments
noted.

5. The procedures specified in the authorization
shall be performed by the school nurse or trained
personnel under the nurse’s supervision.  The procedures
should be performed in accordance with the “General
Guidelines and Procedures for Providing Care to the Child
with Special Health Needs.”

AS REVISED

The School Nurse and the Child with Special Health
Needs

The school nurse, as a member of the evaluation team
must:

•  Assist in identifying candidates for placement in a
special program.
•  Conduct the initial health evaluation and parent
conference.
•  Assist in obtaining an in-depth health and
developmental history and home environment assessment.
•  Provide and interpret all pertinent information
including results of recent physical assessments.
•  Develop the individual health maintenance plan with
the student/parent if possible.
•  Provide the evaluation team with the health
component of the individual education plan, IEP.
•  Periodically confer with the student, parent and
faculty to revise the health maintenance plan.
•  Follow up on medical recommendations and report
to teachers and appropriate personnel.
•  Provide and/or supervise nursing treatment and
specialized health procedures with the following
conditions:

1. A written request shall be obtained from the
parent for the procedure.

2. A written authorization for the procedure from
the child’s physician must be on file.

3. Each change in the procedure request from the
parent or physician requires reauthorization.  All
procedures shall be reauthorized every six months.

4. A daily treatment log that includes child’s name,

date and time shall be kept on all medications and
treatment administered with any reactions or comments
noted.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

THE SCHOOL HEALTH TUBERCULOSIS (TB)
CONTROL PROGRAM

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The regulation The School Health Tuberculosis (TB)
Control Program found on page 82 in The School Nurse,
A Guide to Responsibilities and on pages A-47 - A-50 of
the Handbook for K-12 Education requires all school
employees, substitutes, student teachers, contract
employees and volunteers in frequent contact with
students to receive the Mantoux tuberculin skin test or
show proof of being tested in the past 12 months during
the first fifteen days of employment.  All new school
enterers must also show proof of a Mantoux tuberculin
skin test given within the last 12 months or follow the
recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics
(AAP) 1997.  The school nurses must also record the
results in the school health record.  The amendment is
necessary in order to change the time span between the
administration of the Mantoux tuberculin skin test for
adults from every third year to every fifth year.  This
change was recommended by both the School Health
Advisory Committee and the Health Department.  The
other change is to remove the last sentence, which states,
“The above program will replace policies established by
the State Board of Education effective on September 1,
1995.” and to add the sentence “School nurses must
record the results of the Mantoux tuberculin skin test in
the school health record”.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation deals with student health and
safety issues not curriculum issues.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
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receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation addresses the health and safety issue
of administering the Tuberculosis Mantoux test and the
amendment changes the frequency for giving the test from
every three years to every five years.

4. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the amendment preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
or flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon the decision makers at the local board or school
level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amendment will not be an impediment to the
implementation of other education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of the students and the amendment simply changes
the time line between administrations of the test.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.

School Health Tuberculosis Control Program

Delaware State Board of Education
Policy for The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control

Program

1. All school employees, substitutes, student teachers,
contract employees (including bus drivers) and volunteers
who are in frequent contact with students will receive
Mantoux tuberculin skin test or show proof of being tested
in the past 12 months during the first 15 working days of
employment.  Known positive reactors need verification
from private physician or Division of Public Health
Clinics for:

a. skin test reaction recorded in millimeters
b. completion of preventive therapy for TB

infection or chemotherapy for TB disease

If documentation is available, the known positive
reactor need not have this tuberculin skin test.  When
documentation is unavailable, the employee should be
tested.  If documentation does not exist and the employee
refuses to be skin tested again, the employee shall be
asked to provide a statement in writing that he or she has
had a positive skin test result in the past, and that he/she
has been counseled about the signs and symptoms of
tuberculosis.

2. Present employees will be required to show proof of
Mantoux tuberculosis skin test to the district designee by
October 15 every third fifth year of employment.

3. Newly infected positive reactors will be referred to
the public health clinic or their private physicians for
further evaluation.  Known positive reactors who have
appropriate documentation and are asymptomatic are not
required to have another skin test or a chest x-ray.

4. All new school enterers must show proof of a
Mantoux tuberculin skin test within the past 12 months or
follow the recommendations of the American Academy of
Pediatrics (AAP) 1997.  Physicians must send
documentation of the decisions.  Multi-puncture skin tests
will not be acceptable.  A school enterer is any child
between the ages of one year and 21 years entering or
being admitted to a Delaware school district for the first
time, including but not limited to, foreign exchange
students, immigrants, students from other states and
territories, and children entering from non-public schools.
Known positive reactors need verification from their
private physician or Division of Public Health clinics for:

a. skin test reaction recorded in millimeters
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b. completion of preventive therapy for TB

infection or chemotherapy for TB disease

Tuberculin skin requirements may be waived for
children whose parent(s) or guardian(s) present a
notarized document (See attachment) that tuberculin skin
testing is against their religious beliefs.

School nurses must record the results of the Mantoux
tuberculin skin test in the health record.

The above program will replace previous policies
established by the State Board of Education effective
September 1, 1995.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

VISION SCREENING

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE
AMENDMENT

The regulation on Vision Screening found on pages
43 to 48 in The School Nurse, A Guide to Responsibilities
lists the grades where vision screening must occur as well
as requiring screenings for new students, special
education students and driver education students.
Requirements to notify parents or guardians and to enter
the results in the school health record are also included.
The amendment is necessary in order to isolate the
regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse from the
technical assistance information and to use the word
“must” in the regulatory statements.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amendment help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

This amended regulation can have a positive impact
on student achievement.

2. Will the amendment help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues for all students.

3. Will the amendment help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

This regulation requires students to have vision
screenings at certain grade levels and under certain
conditions and the amendment defines the responsibilities
of the school nurse.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses health and safety
issues and student legal rights are also respected.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level?

The amendment does not alter the necessary authority
or flexibility of decision making at the local board or
school level.

6. Will the amendment place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The amendment does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board or school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The amendment will retain the decision making
authority and accountability in the same entity.

8. Will the amendment be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will not be an impediment to
the implementation of other state education policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amendment?

The regulation is necessary to protect the health and
safety of students and the amendment clarifies the
regulatory responsibilities of the school nurse.

10. What is the cost to the state and local school
boards of compliance with the amendment?

The amendment does not add any additional costs.
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FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE, A GUIDE TO

RESPONSIBILITIES

Vision Screening

There has been much discussion in the last few years
concerning the use of the Snellen Chart as the only
screening device for testing visual acuity at twenty feet.
Theoretically, school screening has been done in the hope
that no child would be handicapped in his or her learning
process because of a visual problem.  Ironically, most
children referred by Snellen screening are near-sighted
(myopic) and statistically have higher grades than their
classmates.

If students wear corrective lenses, the screening should be
done with the lenses worn by the student.  Students
wearing corrective lenses in grades kindergarten through
fourth may be given only distance visual screening if so
desired by the vision screening administrator.

When students fail one or more tests on either instrument
or non-instrument screening, they should be rescreened.
If the screener still feels that the findings are questionable,
a conference with the student’s teacher should be called.
Low achieving students should probably be referred when
screening results are borderline.

Objectives

• To conserve vision by promoting eye health and
ascertaining visual activity.

• To secure care of visual defects.
• To promote eye health, safety, and professional

examinations for the education of the child.

Those To Be Screened

• Children in kindergarten or first grade and grades
3 or 4, 5, 8, 10, or 11.

• Any child being considered for a special
education class.

• All new entrants and teacher referrals.
• Driver education students.

Methods of Screening

• Non Instrument   (Recommended for K-3)
This is an alternative screening technique which

requires less cost outlay on the part of the school.  If
corrective lenses are usually worn by the student, all
testing should be done with the glasses in place.

1. Equipment Needed
a. Snellen or E Chart or set of plastic,

graduated, single E cards.
b. Plastic occluder

c. Plus 2.25 or 1.75 lens for hyperopia (small
frames for preschool through second grade or 1.75 with
larger frames for third grade and up)

d. Titmus Fly-Test--Polaroid glasses for depth
perception

e. Cover targets for near and distance and
Worth Dot flashlight and glasses (red-green) for muscle
balance.

f. Quiet room at least 20 feet in length with
adequate lighting facilities

(1) Illumination intensity chart of 10 to 30
foot candles evenly diffused over chart without glare

(2) General illumination not less than 1/5 of
chart illumination and nothing in the field of vision
brighter than the chart

2. Recommended Procedures
a. Visual Acuity

(1) Place the child at a mark exactly 20
feet or 10 feet from the chart with the eyes level with the
20/20 or 10/10 line.  If the child stands, the feet should be
on the 20 or 10 foot mark.  If the child is seated, the back
legs of the chair should be on the mark.

(2) Teach child to use the occluder card
to cover one eye while keeping both eyes open during test.
Expose one symbol such as the graduated E card at a time.
One person should hold the occluder in place for the
kindergarten or first grade child.

(3) If the child wears glasses, test first
with glasses, then without.

(4) Test the right eye first, then the left,
then both eyes.

(5) Begin with the 30 to 40 foot line and
proceed with test to include the 20 foot line.  With children
suspected of low vision, begin with the 200 foot line.

(6) Move promptly and rhythmically
from one symbol to another that is comfortable to the
child.  Reading 3 to 4 symbols is usually considered
evidence that the child sees the line satisfactorily.

(7) Observe thrusting head forward,
tilting head, eyes watering, frowning or scowling, closing
one eye during the test of both eyes together, and
excessive blinking.

(8) Do not permit the child to go on, but
record last line read correctly.  Record visual acuity in
order given for the right eye, left eye, for both eyes.
Numerator equals distance from the chart; denominator
represents the line read  (20/60 means 20 feet distance
over 60 foot line.)

(9) A second screening is recommended
on all children who fail the initial screening, i.e., vision of
20/30 or less in grade three and above.

b. Plus Lens  (Testing Hyperopia)
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(1) Use small framed (+2.25) glasses

for preschool through second grade or larger framed
(+1.75) glasses for third grade and up.  Place the plus lens
glasses on the child.

(2) Show the “20” size E at the 20 foot distance,
varying the positions, or ask the child to read the 20 foot
or 10 foot lines--depending on which you are using in the
regular screening.

(3) If a child is able to read with either
eye the 20/20 or 10/10 line through a 2.25 or 1.75 sphere,
he/she fails.

c. Muscle Tests
(1) Cover Test At Near

(a) Hold the test object about 14
inches from the child and instruct him/her to look at the
object.  Talk to him/her and ask questions about the object
so he/she won’t stare but will actually look at it.

(b) Cover the right eye with the
occluder.  Observe the left eye.

(c) If it does not move, cover the
left eye and observe the right eye.

(d) If either one does move out to
see the object, or in towards the nose to see the object, or
if it is unsteady, this is abnormal.  Record - (minus) for
failing, + (plus) for passing.

(e) Repeat as many times as it takes
to be sure of the result.

(2) Cover Test At Distance
(a) Place the test object 10 or 20

feet away.
(b) Instruct the child to look at the

test object.
(c) Proceed to test each eye as

above.  Record the test results.
(3) Worth Dot Test

(a) Place the glasses with red-green
lenses on the child.

(b) Illuminate the Worth Dot
flashlight and hold about 14 inches from the child.

(c) Ask the child to touch, with one
finger, the lights he/she sees.  (He/she may count them if
he/she is able to count).

(d) If he/she points out 4 (four)
lights, he/she passes the test.  Record + (plus).

(e) If he/she points out more or less
than 4 (four) he/she fails the test.  Record - (minus).

d. Stereoscopic or Depth Perception Test
(1) Titmus Fly Test

(a) Place the special glasses on the
child.

(b) Hold the picture of the fly
sixteen inches away, avoiding reflection on the shiny
surface.

(c) Have the child try to “pinch” the

fly’s wing using the thumb and forefinger.  (It may aid the
preschool age child to show him how to “pinch” before he
sees fly.)

(d) If the eyes are functioning
properly, the child will see the fly as a solid, three
dimensional object and the fingers will not touch the
picture.

(e) The child fails the test if his
fingers touch the picture, meaning that he sees it as an
ordinary, flat photograph.  Record the results, + (plus) for
passing, - (minus) for failing.

3. Screening Failure Criteria
a. Children with vision 20/40 or less at

kindergarten level, or repeated screening of 20/30 with
problems, such as visual complaints, learning problems in
grade 3 and above, or unequal screening results for two
years.

b. If a child is able to read the 20/20 or the
10/10 line with either eye through the plus sphere, he/she
should be referred.

4. Stereoscopic Instrument  (Better results are
obtained with children in grades 3 and up.)

a. Recommended Procedures  (Visual
acuity at distance and near, each eye)

(1) Follow instructions outlined by
maker of instrument.

(2) Screening failure criteria shall be:
(a) Children with vision 20/40 or

worse at kindergarten level, and 20/30 or worse thereafter
at far or near, each eye separately.

(b) Any child whose screening
results exceed instrument’s criteria for muscle balance at
distance or near.

5. Color Screening
a. Equipment Needed

(1) Ishihara or Hardy-Rand-Rittler
Pseudoisochromatic Plates are two tests which are
satisfactory for schools.

b. Recommended Procedures
(1) Color discrimination should be

given each child at least once during his/her school
experience.

(2) Follow instructions as outlined in
the tests.

Follow-Up

• Record test results on the School Health Card.
• Students under professional care need not be

referred, but should be followed to encourage continuity
of appropriate treatment.

• Notify parents that child has a suspected visual
problem.  (See “Sample”, page 49.)  They should be
advised to seek further examination from an



1341

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
ophthalmologist or optometrist, or if the family cannot
afford to have the child seen privately, a referral may be
made to the Optometric Clinic in the County Health Unit.
Criteria for clinic eligibility (Medicaid and others) may
change, so contact the clinic for directions.

• Discuss suspected or known deviations with
appropriate school personnel.

• Color deficiency is not correctable, but parents
and students should be made aware of such conditions.

Visually Impaired Students

• Medical assistance and educational services may
be received through the Division for the Visually
Impaired, 305 West  8th Street, Wilmington, Delaware
19801  (577-3333).

• Contact the office in your area.  The state number
is 571-3333.

AS REVISED

Vision Screening

1. All Children in kindergarten or grades 1, 3, 5, 8, and
11 must receive a vision screening by December 15th of
the current school year.

2. Students new to the school system, teacher referrals,
those students considered for special education placement
and driver education students must have a vision
screening.

3. The school nurse must record the results on the
School Record.

4. The school nurse must notify parents/guardians that
the child has a suspected visual problem.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION  OF REVENUE

OFFICE OF TH E STAT E L OTTERY

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,
Section 4805(a) (29 Del.C. 4805(a))

The Lottery proposes these rules pursuant to 29
Del.C. sections 4805(a) and 29 Del.C. section 10115.  The
proposed regulations are to ensure that the Delaware
Lottery is in compliance with the federal Americans with
Disabilities Act (”ADA“).  The proposed regulations will
provide for a procedure for inspection of the sites of all

lottery retailers to ensure a minimum standard of
accessibility required by federal law.

Comments may be submitted in writing to the Lottery
Office on or before 4:00 p.m. on March 31, 1998.  The
Lottery Office is located at 1575 McKee Road, Suite 102,
Dover, Delaware 19901 and the phone number is (302)
739-5291.  Comments should be addressed to the
attention of Vernon Kirk, Lottery Office.

BEFORE THE DELAWARE STATE LOTTERY
OFFICE

IN RE: PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS
ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. section 4805(a), the Delaware
State Lottery Office hereby issues this Order regarding
proposed amendments to the existing Lottery Regulations.
Following notice and a public hearing held on January 29,
1998, the Lottery Office makes the following findings and
conclusions:

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION
SUBMITTED

1. The Lottery Office posted public notice of the
proposed Amended Regulations in the Register of
Regulations and in the News-Journal and Delaware State
News.  The Lottery Office received no written comments
from the public concerning the proposed Regulations
prior to the public hearing.

2. The Lottery Office conducted a public hearing on
the proposed Amended Regulations on January 29, 1998.
Prior to the hearing, the Lottery Director Wayne Lemons
designated Vernon Kirk as the hearing officer.

3. At the public hearing, the Lottery received no
public comments.  Subsequent to the public hearing, the
Lottery received three sets of written comments about the
proposed regulations.  On January 29, 1998, the Lottery
received a letter from Laura Waterland, Esquire of the
Disabilities Law Program, Wilmington, DE. On January
30, 1998, the Lottery received a fax letter from Gerard I.
Landreth, Chief Administrator of the Architectural
Accessibility Board.  On the same day, the Lottery
received a faxed letter from Ronald Sibert, Chairperson of
the Governor’s Advisory Council For Exceptional
Citizens.

4. The written comments filed by the public
members (“the respondents”) address many of the same
issues about the proposed regulations.  This Order will

http://www.state.de.us/lottery/index.htm
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discuss the filed comments as a set.

5. The respondents stated that the purpose of the
Regulations in section 2 was too narrow.  The comments
suggested that the Lottery expand the stated purpose to
include reference to other applicable federal and state
statutes.

6. The respondents requested that sections 3, 4, and
5 be reorganized to specify the duties of current retailers
and new license applicants.  The comments also
recommended that extensions only be granted upon a
showing of good cause.

7. A great deal of the written comments concerned
the exemptions contained in paragraph 4. It was suggested
that the historic properties exemption be revised to mirror
the current language in the ADA, 28 CFR section
35.150(a)(2). The respondents also requested that the
landlord refusal exemption be modified to clarify that it
only applies during the current lease term of a licensee.
Finally, the respondents objected to the current form of
the exemption for undue hardship.  The comments
asserted that there must be a point where the Lottery as a
state agency will revoke a license for noncompliance,
regardless of the cost of needed modifications.  There was
also support for a financial burden exemption that
factored in available tax benefits for barrier removal. One
party asserted that a licensee should be required to obtain
three written estimates before the Lottery can approve any
exemption for financial hardship.  The respondents also
requested more explicit definition of alternative methods
of service such as curb service.

8. Several comments addressed the scope of the
complaint process contained in section 5 of the
Regulations.  The respondents requested that this section
be clarified to provide that the Lottery complaint process
was not an exclusive process for aggrieved parties.

FINDINGS OF FACT

9. The public was given notice and an opportunity
to provide the Lottery Office with comments in writing
and by oral testimony on the proposed Regulations.  The
written evidence received by the Lottery Office is
summarized in paragraphs #3-8.  The Lottery Office has
considered the written comments submitted to the
Lottery.

10. The Lottery received no comments regarding the
definitions in Section 1 of the Regulations.  The Lottery
will maintain this section as proposed.  The Lottery will
revise Section 2 to expand the overall purpose of the

Regulations to reference compliance with other applicable
federal, state, or local enactments.

11. The Lottery will accept the suggestion of the
respondents and reorganize sections 3, 4, and 5 of the
Regulations.  The reorganization will clarify the
procedures and requirements for current retailers and new
license applicants.  The Lottery will also accept the
proposal to revise section 5 to only allow the Director to
grant extensions upon the showing of good cause.

12. The Lottery will accept some of the comments
addressing the exemption process.  The Lottery will
reorganize the Regulations to list the permitted
exemptions in a new section 6. The historic properties
exemption will be revised to add language that tracks the
current applicable federal statute.  The Lottery does not
believe the landlord refusal exemption should be revised
as requested by the respondents.  The existing regulation
already provides that the exemption is only valid for the
retailer’s current lease term.  The Lottery also will keep
the undue hardship exemption in its proposed form.  The
Lottery based this exemption on a similar regulation
currently in use by the Oregon Lottery.  The Lottery’s
regulation attempts to comply with the ADA’s standard of
removal of readily achievable barriers and also factor in
the financial constraints of Lottery retailers.  The Lottery
also does not believe there is a need to require three
written estimates from retailers seeking an exemption
under this section.  The Lottery’s inspection report of the
facility will contain an estimate of the cost of removal of
any barriers.  The Director also has the discretion to
require sufficient written documentation from any retailer
seeking an undue financial hardship exemption.  The
Lottery does not find that the definitions for alternative
methods of service can be more detailed in the
Regulations.

13. The Lottery will revise the complaint process in a
new section 7 to clarify that the complaint process is not
exclusive for an aggrieved party.  The aggrieved party
may pursue other remedies available under state and
federal law.  The revised regulations also delete the
reference to “subchapter” and uses the term “regulation”
which clarifies the scope of the regulations.

14. The Lottery’s revisions to the proposed
Regulations are in response to the comments received by
the Agency.  The Lottery finds it advisable to reissue the
revised regulations as a set rather than attempt to adopt
parts of the regulations at this time in a piecemeal fashion.

CONCLUSIONS
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15. The proposed Regulations were promulgated by

the Lottery Office in accord with its statutory duties and
authority as set forth in 29 Del.C. section 4805(a).

16. The Lottery deems the proposed Regulations
necessary for the effective enforcement of 29 Del.C.
section 4805 and for the full and efficient performance of
the Lottery’s duties thereunder.  The Lottery concludes
that the revision and republication of the proposed
Regulations would be in the best interests of the citizens
of the State of Delaware and consonant with the dignity of
the State and the general welfare of the people under
section 4805(a).

17. The Lottery, therefore, will republish and accept
written comments on the revised Regulations pursuant to
29 Del.C. section 4805 and 29 Del.C. section 10118.  The
Lottery has considered the comments and suggestions
made by the witnesses at the public hearing.  A copy of the
revised Regulations is attached to this Order and
incorporated herein.

18. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the date of publication of this Order in the
Register of Regulations on March 1, 1998.

Vernon Kirk, Hearing Officer
Delaware State Lottery Office

It is So Ordered This 13th day of February, 1998.

Delaware Lottery Proposed Regulation

Non-Discrimination on the Basis of Disability in
Delaware Lottery Programs

(1) Definitions
a) “Accessible” means complying with the technical

requirements found in the ADA Accessibility Guidelines
(ADAAG).

b) “Accessible Route” means a continuous
unobstructed path connecting all accessible elements and
spaces of a building or facility. Interior accessible routes
may include corridors, floors, ramps, elevators, lifts, and
clear floor space at fixtures.  Exterior accessible routes
may include parking access aisles, curb ramps, crosswalks
at vehicular ways, walks, ramps, and lifts.

c) “ADA” means the Americans with Disabilities
Act (42 United States Code. §§12101-12213 and 47
United States Code §225 and §611).

d) “Director” means the Director of the State

Lottery Office.

e) “Entrance” means any access point to a building
or portion of a building or facility used for the purpose of
entering.  An entrance includes the approach walk the
vertical access leading to the entrance platform, the
entrance platform itself, vestibules if provided, the entry
door(s) or gate(s), and the hardware of the entry door(s) or
gate(s).

f) “Facility” means all or any portion of buildings,
structures, site improvements, complexes, equipment,
roads, walks, passageways, parking lots, or other real or
personal property located on a site.

g) “Lottery Program” means on-line and instant
games offered to the public through retailer licensees.

h) “Lottery” or “State Lottery Office” means the
lottery established by the Delaware State Lottery Law,
Chapter 348, Volume 59, of the Laws of Delaware.

i) “Lottery Retailer” or “Retailer” means a business
entity housed in a specific retail facility that is under
license with the Delaware Lottery to provide lottery
related services.

 j) “Inspection Report” means a completed survey
of the retailer or applicant facility that identifies barriers
to program accessibility, if any and suggest possible
solutions.

k) “Service Site” means an area within a lottery
retailer facility where a customer can purchase a lottery
related product.  This is usually the cashier’s station.

(2) Purpose

a) The Americans with Disabilities Act (P.L. 101-
336, U.S.C. §§ 12131-12134), known as the ADA,
prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in the
delivery of programs offered by entities of state or local
government.  The purpose of this regulation is to ensure
that the Delaware Lottery is in compliance with the ADA
by ensuring that people with disabilities have access to
Delaware Lottery programs.

b) In defining the scope or extent of any duty
imposed by these regulations including compliance with
the standard of accessibility defined in paragraph 3(b),
higher or more comprehensive obligations established by
otherwise applicable federal, state or local enactment may
be considered.
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(3) General Requirements

a) Prohibition of discrimination.  No lottery retailer
shall discriminate against any individual on the basis of a
disability in the full and equal enjoyment of lottery related
goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, or
accommodations of any lottery licensed facility.

b) Standard of accessibility.  Each Retailer is
required to meet a standard of accessibility that enables
people with disabilities, including those who use
wheelchairs, to enter the lottery licensed facility and
participate in the lottery program.  An accessible route
must be provided comprised of the following accessible
elements:

1) Parking if parking is provided to the general
public;

2) Exterior route connecting parking (or a
public way if no parking is provided) to an accessible
entrance;

3) Entrance;

4) Interior Route connecting the entrance to a
service site.

c) Each element shall meet the design standards set
forth in the ADA Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG)
published in the Federal Register on July 26, 1991.

(4) New License Applicants

a) License applicants.  The State Lottery Office
shall inspect the site of applicants for compliance with this
regulation prior to granting a license.  The State Lottery
Office will not grant a license to an applicant who is not in
compliance with this regulation.

b) Inspection reports.  The State Lottery Office,
prior to granting a license, shall provide lottery applicants
with an Inspection Report that shall identify barrier
removal actions, if any, necessary to provide program
accessibility.  The identified actions must be completed
prior to the granting of a license.

(5) Current Retailers

a) The State Lottery Office shall inspect the site of
each lottery retailer for compliance with this regulation.

b) Inspection reports . The State Lottery Office shall
provide to all current retailers an Inspection Report that
shall identify barrier removal actions necessary to provide

program accessibility.  The identified actions must be
competed within 90 days of receipt of the Inspection
Report.

c) Extensions.  The Director may grant an extension
of up to 90 days to allow a current retailer to complete
barrier removal actions identified in the Inspection
Report.

(i) Any request for an extension must be in
writing, and shall include specific reasons for an
extension and supporting documentation.

(ii) The Director shall grant an extension only
upon showing of good cause.

(6) Permitted exemptions

a) The following exemptions to the requirements of
this rule may be granted by the Director.  The Director
shall review the circumstances and supporting
documentation provided by the retailer to determine if the
retailer’s request for an exemption should be granted.  The
Director shall determine the type and scope of
documentation to be required for each exemption
classification.  All decisions made by the Director shall be
final; any retailer whose request for an exemption is
denied by the Director shall be required to satisfy the
requirements of this rule as a condition for maintaining its
eligibility for a Lottery retailer contract.

b) Historic properties.  To the extent a historic
building is exempt under federal law, and if barrier
removal would threaten or destroy the historic
significance of the structure, this rule shall not apply to a
qualified historic building or facility that is listed in or is
eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic
Places under the National Historic Preservation Act or is
designated as historic under State or Local law.

c) Legal impediment to barrier removal.  Any law,
act, ordinance, state regulation, ruling or decision which
prohibits the lottery retailer from removing a structural
impediment or from making a required improvement to
the facility may be the basis for an exemption to this rule.
A lottery retailer requesting an exemption for a legal
impediment will not be required to formally seek a zoning
variance to establish such impediment, but will be
required to document that they have applied for and have
been refused whatever permit(s) are necessary to remove
the identified barrier(s).

d) Landlord refusal.  An exemption may be granted
based on the refusal of a landlord to grant permission to a
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Lottery retailer to make structural improvements required
by the Lottery under this rule.  The exemption shall only
apply to the retailer’s current lease term.  To request such
an exemption, the retailer must submit documentation to
the Director that the retailer requested the Landlord’s
permission to make the required structural improvements,
that such request was denied by the landlord, and the
reasons for the denial.  In making a decision on the
exemption request the Director shall take into
consideration, but not be limited to,, the sufficiency of the
reasons provided by the landlord for denying the retailer’s
request.

e) Undue financial hardship.  A limited exemption
may be granted if a retailer can demonstrate that the cost
of removing a structural barrier or of making the required
structural modification(s) to the retailer’s facility is an
undo financial hardship in that the cost of making such a
change(s) exceeds 25% of the retailer’s compensation
from the Lottery for the prior calendar year (An
annualized sales figure based upon the retailer’s most
current 13-week sales period shall be used for those
retailer locations with less than a full year’s history of
sales.)  Under the terms of this limited exemption, a
retailer would be required to annually make those
improvements and modifications that can be financed
within an amount that is approximately equal to 25% of
the total compensation earned from the Lottery in the
prior calendar year.  This requirement would continue on
a year-to-year basis until all the improvements and
modifications required by this rule have been completed.
A retailer shall provide all supporting documentation
requested by the Director to substantiate the, cost
estimates of making the required improvements to the
retailer’s location.

f) Alternative methods.  Where an exemption is
granted in accordance with the provisions of this sub-
chapter, the lottery retailer shall make the lottery related
goods and services available through alternative methods.
Examples of alternative methods include, but are not
limited to:

1) Providing curb service;

2) Directing by signage to the nearest accessible
lottery retailer.

(7) Complaints Relating to Non-Accessibility

a) An aggrieved party may file an accessibility
complaint with the Lottery Director or designee for
review.  Complaints must be in writing and, where
possible, submitted on an ADA complaint form.  As soon

as practical, but not later than 30 days after the filing of a
complaint, each complaint will be investigated.  After the
completion of the investigation, if the agency determines
that the lottery retailer is not in compliance with this
regulation, a letter of non-compliance will be issued to the
lottery retailer with a copy to the complainant.  If the
lottery retailer is determined to be in compliance, a letter
so stating will be mailed to the retailer and complainant.
Regardless of whether a complaint has been filed, the
agency will issue a letter of noncompliance within 30 days
after the completion of an onsite inspection of the lottery
retailer facility if the agency determines that the lottery
retailer is not in compliance with this regulation.

b) If the letter of non-compliance shows deficiencies
in the accessibility of the retailer facility, the lottery
retailer shall submit a plan to the agency within 30 days of
the issuance of the letter of non-compliance. The plan
shall describe in detail how the lottery retailer will achieve
compliance with this regulation.  Compliance shall be
accomplished within 90 days of the letter of non-
compliance.  The Lottery may, upon request, grant the
lottery retailer additional time to submit the plan for good
cause.

c) Within 20 days of the submission of the plan to
the agency, the Lottery shall notify the lottery retailer of
the agency’s acceptance or rejection of the plan.  If the
plan is rejected, the notification shall contain the reasons
for rejection of the plan and the corrections needed to
make the plan acceptable to the Lottery.  If the retailer
agrees to make the required corrections, the Lottery shall
accept the plan as modified.

d) If a retailer fails to submit a plan within 30 days
of issuance of the letter of noncompliance and has not
requested an extension of time to submit a plan, the
Lottery may proceed to initiate termination proceedings.

e) If approved, the plan must be completely
implemented within 60 days of the agency’s notice of
approval.  The Lottery may, upon request, grant the
lottery retailer additional time for good cause.  Notice of
any extension will also be sent to the complainant, if
applicable.  Any such extension will commence
immediately upon expiration of the first 60 day period.

f) If the corrective action taken by the lottery
retailer corrects the deficiencies specified in the letter of
noncompliance as originally issued or as later revised or
reissued or if the onsite inspection of the lottery retailer
facility reveals compliance with this regulation, the
Lottery will issue a notice of compliance.  Until this notice
is issued, a complaint will be considered pending.



1346

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

PROPOSED REGULATIONS

g) Failure to make the identified modifications in
compliance with the accessibility standards and within the
required time period will result in the initiation of
proceedings to suspend or revoke the lottery license by the
agency.

h) A license will be suspended if the Lottery
determines that the lottery retailer has made significant
progress toward correcting deficiencies listed in the
compliance report, but has not completed implementation
of the approved compliance plan.  If the Lottery
determines that the lottery retailer has not made a good
faith effort to correct the deficiencies listed in the
compliance report, this inaction will result in the
revocation of the lottery license for that lottery licensed
facility.

i) While proceedings to suspend or revoke a lottery
retailer’s license are pending pursuant to this regulation,
and until a notice of compliance is issued pursuant to
subsection (c) of this section, the Lottery shall withhold
incentive payments from the lottery retailer.  In addition,
if a license is revoked pursuant to this regulation, and
incentive payments and other privileges have been
withheld from the affected retailer pending review of the
complaint, the lottery retailer forfeits any claim to such
incentive payments or other privileges.

(8) Request for Hearings

a) If the Lottery proposes the denial of an
application for a license or the suspension or revocation of
a lottery retailer’s license pursuant to this regulation, the
agency shall give the applicant or lottery retailer written
notice of the time and place of the administrative hearing
not later than 30 days before the date of the hearing.

b) All relevant rules of evidence and time limits
established in these rules shall apply to hearings
conducted under this regulation.

(9) Non-Exclusivity of Remedies

a) Remedies established by these regulations are not
intended to supplant, restrict or otherwise impair resort to
remedies otherwise available under law, including those
authorized by the ADA and Del. Code Ann., title 6, ch. 45
(1993).

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH &
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State’s Administrative Procedures
Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
with 42CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of
the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 505, the Delaware
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division
of Social Services / Medicaid Program is amending its home
health provider manual to include a federally mandated
provision that home health agencies must obtain surety bonds
to continue participating with Medicaid.

REVISION:

Surety Bonds

The Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (Public Law 105-33)
Section 4724(b)(1) requires all home health agencies enrolled
with Medicaid to obtain a surety bond.  The bond must be for
at least $50,000 or 15% of Medicaid’s payment to the home
health agency for the previous calendar year, whichever is
greater.

The home health agency must obtain the bond from surety
companies approved by the United States Department of the
Treasury.  A bond must name the home health agency as
“Principal”, Delaware Medicaid as “Obligee”, and the surety
company as “Surety”.

For Medicaid purposes, bonds must cover a full calendar
year.  Bonds must be renewed annually and a copy provided
to Medicaid no later than December 1st (30 days prior to the
beginning of each calendar year).

Comments, written suggestions, compilations of data,
testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning this
change must be received by mail no later than April 1, 1998,
at the Medicaid Administrative Office, Lewis Bldg., Herman
M. Holloway, Sr. Health & Social Services Campus, 1901 N.
DuPont Hwy., New Castle, DE  19720, attention Thelma
Mayer.  Materials filed thereafter will not be considered
except where good cause for lateness is demonstrated.  Copies
of all written submissions filed with the Medicaid office will

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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be available for public inspection in the Medicaid
Administrative Office at the address given above.  Please call
(302) 577-4880, extension 131, for an appointment if you
wish to review the materials.  Individuals with disabilities
who wish to participate in these proceedings, or review the
materials submitted, should contact the Division to discuss
auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate such review or
participation.  Such contact may be in person, in writing or by
telephone by using the Telecommunications Relay Service,
or otherwise.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH &
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  Public Law 104-193

PUBLIC NOTICE
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES / FOOD STAMP

PROGRAM

The Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Social
Services / Food Stamp Program is proposing to implement a
Simplified Food Stamp Program for households receiving A
Better Chance (ABC) benefits.  The regulations are contained
in Public Law 104-193, the Personal Responsibility and Work
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 and Division of
Social Services’ Manual section 9910.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

Under the Simplified Food Stamp Program, the Division will
substitute certain TANF rules and procedures for food stamp
rules.  The proposed changes in the food stamp rules are as
follows:

• Replaces food stamp work exemptions with ABC
exemptions;

• Replaces current Employment and Training (E & T) and
job quit requirements and penalties with ABC requirements
and penalties; and

• Applies a food stamp sanction for parent who fail to
cooperate with school officials to ensure attendance for
children under 16.

PROPOSED REGULATIONS:

9910 Simplified Food Stamp Program

DSS was approved by Food and Nutrition Service, under the
United States Department of Agriculture, to operate a
Simplified Food Stamp Program (SFSP).  The SFSP permits
a state to substitute certain TANF rules and procedures for
food stamp rules.  Delaware’s SFSP has two components:

1.  the alignment of ABC’s Self-Sufficiency sanctions for
Food Stamps; and

2.  work for your welfare (workfare) program rules.

Households in which all members, or one or more
members, receive ABC may participate in the SFSP.  Non-
Public Assistance (NPA) households will not participate in
the SFSP.

The SFSP will follow all the regular food stamp rules for
determining eligibility and certifying households.  Under the
SFSP, there are four basic changes in the food stamps rules
that will affect certain ABC households who receive food
stamps, as follows:

• Replaces food stamp work exemptions with ABC
exemptions;

• Replaces current Employment and Training (E & T)
and job quit requirements and penalties with ABC
requirements and penalties; and

• Applies a food stamp sanction for parents who fail to
cooperate with school officials to ensure attendance for
children under 16; and

• Replaces food stamp workfare penalties with the
ABC workfare program requirements and penalties.

ALIGNMENT OF SANCTIONS

REPLACE FOOD STAMP WORK EXEMPTIONS WITH ABC EXEMPTIONS

The ABC Self-Sufficiency Requirements include Employment
and Training rules, work-related activities, and school
attendance requirements.  All adult caretakers and other
adults in the assistance unit who are not exempt must
participate in Employment and Training related activities.
There are only two exemptions to this ABC requirement.  The
first exemption is a change from the regular food stamp E &
T exemption rules.  The two exemptions are:

a)  A parent caring for a child under 13 weeks of age; or

b)  An individual determined unemployable by a health
care professional.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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REPLACE CURRENT E & T AND JOB QUIT REQUIREMENTS AND

PENALTIES WITH ABC REQUIREMENTS AND PENALTIES

DSS will apply A Better Chance (ABC) Self-Sufficiency
Requirements and sanctions to food stamp households which
are also receiving ABC benefits. The Self-Sufficiency
Requirements have sanctions for non-compliance with E & T,
Work Activity, and parent cooperation to ensure school
attendance for children under age 16.

The ABC requirements are:

• All adults in the assistance unit who are not exempt
must participate in E & T activities.

• Adult members of the assistance unit must keep a job
unless they have good cause to quit.

• Adult members of the assistance unit must cooperate
with school officials to ensure school attendance for children
under the age of 16.

DSS will align the ABC and Food Stamp work-related
sanctioning processes for individuals receiving both ABC
and Food Stamps. Food Stamp recipients will be sanctioned
when parents fail to cooperate with officials to ensure ABC’s
School Attendance Requirement for children under age 16.

The ABC sanctions for noncompliance with Self-Sufficiency
requirements are:

• First offense - 1/3 reduction in benefits for 2 months
or compliance*, whichever is shorter;

• *If there is no compliance after 2 months, the
sanction goes to the 2nd level sanction.

• Second offense - 2/3 reduction in benefits for 2
months or compliance*, whichever is shorter; and

• *If there is no compliance after 2 months, the
sanction goes to the 3rd level sanction.

• Third offense - ABC benefits are lost permanently;
the household may reapply as a NPA household.

ABC job quit sanctions are:

• If a household member quits a job without good
cause and subsequently fails to comply with ABC’s job
search requirements, the household loses all benefits for 2
months or until the member complies with the requirement by
obtaining a job of equal or higher pay, whichever comes first.

• If a household member quits a job without good
cause but complies with ABC’s job search requirements, the
household will have a:

» 1/3 reduction in benefits for 2 months or until
the member complies with the requirement by obtaining a job

of equal or higher pay, whichever comes first;
» 2/3 reduction in benefits for 2 months or until

the member complies with the requirement by obtaining a job
of equal or higher pay, whichever comes first; and

» Third offense - ABC benefits are lost
permanently; the household may reapply as a NPA
household.

Food stamp recipients who are sanctioned under the
remaining ABC requirements in DSSM 3000 will be subject
to the Riverside rule.

Examples of the Aligned Sanction Process:

1. Parent fails to comply with an Employment and
Training requirement.  The family’s ABC grant is reduced by
1/3.  The food stamp allotment is determined by using the
post-sanctioned grant amount and then reduced by 1/3.  If the
parent still has not complied at the end of the two months, the
grant and food stamps have a 2/3 reduction in benefits.  If the
parent still has not complied at the end of the second two
months, both the ABC and food stamp benefits are closed.

2. An ABC client who already has two E&T sanctions
is assessed a third sanction for failure to cooperate with
officials to ensure the school attendance of her 13-year-old,
closing her ABC case permanently.  The food stamp case will
also close.  If the household reapplies for food stamps, the
household will be a non-public assistance case.  The
household may get food stamps under the regular Food Stamp
Program.  No E & T sanctions will carry over to the NPA case.

3. A family is only getting ABC benefits and has two E
& T sanctions.  The family starts receiving food stamps.  A
parent now has a third E & T sanction.  The ABC and food
stamp benefits are closed. If the household reapplies for food
stamps, the household will be a NPA case.  The household
may get food stamp under the regular Food Stamp Program.
No E & T sanctions will carry over to the NPA case.

4. A household receives only food stamps and has two
food stamp E&T  sanctions.  The household starts to receive
ABC.  The two FSE&T sanctions are cured and the mandatory
individual is placed in ABC E & T.  Later, there is a first non-
compliance with E & T.  The ABC grant is reduced by 1/3.
The food stamps will be calculated using the post-sanctioned
grant and applying the 1/3 reduction sanction.

5. The father of a family of five voluntarily quits a job
without good cause and refuses to comply with subsequent
job search requirements.  The ABC grant and food stamps
receive a full benefit reduction for two months or until the
father complies with job search or enters a job of equal or
higher pay.
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6. The father of a family of four voluntarily quits a job
without good cause and refused to comply with subsequent
job search requirements.  The ABC grant and food stamps
receive a full benefit reduction for two months or until the
father complies with job search or enters a job of equal or
higher pay.  Father starts job search activities after one month.
Benefits are restored with a 1/3 sanction for one month.

7. Parent fails to send 13 year old to school and keep
scheduled school conferences.  The ABC grant is reduced by
1/3.  The food stamp allotment is determined by using the
post-sanctioned grant amount and then reduced by 1/3.  If the
parent still has not complied at the end of the two months, the
grant and food stamps have a 2/3 reduction in benefits.  If the
parent still has not complied at the end of the second two
months, both the ABC and food stamp benefits are closed.  If
the household reapplies for food stamps, the household will
be a NPA case.  The household may get food stamp under the
regular Food Stamp Program.  No E & T sanctions will carry
over to the NPA case.

SUMMARY:

l The simplified food stamp program lowers the age at
which a child exempts a parent from work requirements to
under 13 weeks.

l Current food stamp E & T and job quit requirements
and penalties will follow the ABC E & T and job quit
requirements and penalties.

l Adult members of the ABC unit must cooperate with
school officials to ensure school attendance for children
under the age of 16.  The sanction for failure to cooperate with
this requirement will apply to the entire food stamp
household.

l ABC benefits closed for the third Self-Sufficiency
sanction remain closed until the end of the ABC waiver.

l Food stamp benefits closed for the third ABC Self-
Sufficiency sanction remain closed until the household
reapplies and is eligible as a NPA household for food stamps.

l The ABC E & T sanctions will not carry over to NPA
households certified under the regular food stamp program.

The Department finds that this change should be made in the
best interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.
The Department will receive, consider, and respond to
petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or
revision thereof.   Such petitions must be forwarded by March
31, 1998 to the Director, Division of Social Services, P. O.
Box 906, New Castle, DE 19720.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH &
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF PUBLIC  HEALTH

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Section 122(3)(h) (16 Del.C. 122(3)(h))

STATE OF DELAWARE RULES AND REGULATIONS
PERTAINING TO THE PRACTICE OF CERTIFIED

MIDWIFERY

SUMMARY

These regulations replace regulations previously adopted
April 17, 1978, and most recently amended May 15, 1985.
They are to be adopted in accordance with Chapter 1, Section
122 (3) h, Title 16, Delaware Code.  They will supersede all
previous regulations concerning Midwifery adopted by the
former Delaware State Board of Health.

The regulations establish and define conditions for the
certification of midwives in the State of Delaware.  Prior to its
elimination, the State Board of Health, certified all midwives
in Delaware.  It has been determined more efficient and cost
effective to certify midwives who are also advanced practice
certified nurse midwifes through the Delaware Board of
Nursing.  This will be done under the provisions of Title 24,
Chapter 19 of the Delaware Code, and Article VIII of the rules
and regulations of the Delaware Board of Nursing.  All
otherwise qualified midwives who are not advanced practice
certified nurse midwives will retain certification under the
Division of Public Health.  These regulations also update
certification requirements and standards of practice to
conform to national standards as outlined by the American
College of Nurse-Midwives.

NOTICE OF HEARING

The comment period for these regulations ends on March 31,
1998.  All comments may be addressed to Steven L. Blessing,
(302) 739-6638.  The mailing address is: c/o State EMS
Office, Blue Hen Corporate Center, Suite 4H, 655 Bay Rd.,
Dover, DE 19901.

A public hearing to discuss the proposed regulations will be
held on March 20, 1998 in Room 309 of the Jesse Cooper
Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover DE 19901.  The hearing
will start promptly at 1:30 PM.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

STATE OF DELAWARE
RULES AND REGULATIONS PERTAINING TO THE

PRACTICE OF CERTIFIED MIDWIFERY

These regulations replace Regulations previously adopted on
April 17, 1978; amended September 19, 1978, December 22,
1982, and May 15, 1985 by the Delaware State Board of
Health. These regulations are effective ten (10) days after
final publication in the State Register of Regulations, having
been adopted by the Secretary, Delaware Health and Social
Services, in conformance with Chapter 1, Section 122 (3)h,
Title 16, Delaware Code, and supersede regulations on
midwifery previously adopted by the Delaware State Board
of Health.

Section I - Purpose

The purpose of these Regulations is to establish and
define conditions under which individuals may be granted
permits to practice certified midwifery in the State of
Delaware.  The Department of Health and Social Services,
through the Division of Public Health, will recognize and
treat for all purposes as a permit to practice certified
midwifery, the licenses granted to advanced practice certified
nurse midwives under Title 24, Delaware Code, Chapter 19
and Article VIII of the Rules and Regulations of the Delaware
Board of Nursing.

Section II - Definitions

a.  Certified midwifery practice is the management of
women’s health care, focusing particularly on pregnancy,
childbirth, the postpartum period, care of the newborn, and
the family planning and gynecological needs of women,
including the prescription of appropriate medications and
devices within the defined scope of practice. The certified
midwife practices within a health care system that provides
for consultation, collaborative management or referral as
indicated by the health status of the client. Certified midwives
practice at the level and scope defined by the agency which
certified the midwife.

b.  Consultation is the process whereby a certified
midwife, who maintains primary management responsibility
for the woman’s care, seeks the advice or opinion of a
physician or another member of the health care team.

c.  Collaboration in the process whereby a certified
midwife and physician jointly manage the care of a woman or
newborn who has become medically, gynecologically or
obstetrically complicated.

d.  Referral is the process whereby the certified midwife

directs the client to a physician or another health care
professional for management of a particular problem or
aspect of the client’s care.

Section III - Qualifications

To receive a permit to practice certified midwifery in the
State of Delaware, applicants who are not licensed as advance
practice certified nurse midwives must demonstrate that they
have met the following qualifications:

1.  Possesses a valid certification by the American
College of Nurse-Midwives’ Certification Council, Inc.; has
completed a midwifery education program that has been
accredited by the ACNM’s Division of Accreditation; has
earned a baccalaureate degree; or has completed an
equivalent program of studies as determined by the
certification agency.

2.  Submits a sworn statement that he/she has not been
convicted of a felony; been professionally penalized or
convicted of substance addiction; had a professional
midwifery license suspended or revoked in this or another
state; been professionally penalized or convicted of fraud; is
physically and mentally capable of engaging in the practice of
midwifery; and

3.  Has established mechanisms for practice within the
health care system that provide for consultation, collaboration
or referral as indicated by the health care status of the client.

Section IV - Application

Any person, other than an advanced practice certified
nurse midwife licensed by the Board of Nursing, who wishes
to obtain a permit to practice certified midwifery shall make a
written application to the Division of Public Health. Such
application shall be accompanied by the necessary documents
demonstrating that the applicant possesses the qualifications
in Section III. If, after investigation of the application by the
Division of Public Health, it appears the applicant is qualified
to practice certified midwifery, a permit to practice midwifery
in the State of Delaware will be issued. Any person desiring to
obtain a license to practice midwifery as an advanced practice
certified nurse midwife shall make a written application to the
Delaware Board of Nursing, Division of Professional
Regulation.

Section V - Temporary Permits

Applicants who have completed the education
requirements for a permit, and who are scheduled to take the
ACNM Certification Council examination, may be granted a
temporary permit to practice certified midwifery until they
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take the exam. Temporary permit holders who do not pass the
next two consecutively scheduled exams will have their
permits revoked until such time as they pass the certification
exam.

Section VI - Maintenance of Permit

No person granted a permit under these regulations shall
engage in active practice of certified midwifery without
having an established mechanism for consultation,
collaboration and referral with a designated physician(s)
licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy in the State of
Delaware.  A certified midwife who practices without
establishing and maintaining such a mechanism will be
subject to automatic and immediate revocation of his/her
permit.

Section VII - Renewal of Permit

Any permit granted to practice certified midwifery in the
State of Delaware shall terminate annually on December 31.
The fee for such annual permit is $25.00. Said permit shall be
renewable annually with the filing of an application and
documentation setting forth continued qualifications as
specified in “1” through “3” of Section III.  Should said
permit not be renewed by January 31, the permit is considered
lapsed and the certified midwife shall apply according to
Section IV.

Section VIII - Exemptions

(a) Any person who, on September 19, 1978, held a valid
permit issued by the State Board of Health to practice
midwifery in the State of Delaware may be granted a permit to
practice midwifery even though that person does not meet the
qualification specified in item “1” of Section III of these
Rules and Regulations, providing such midwife must
continue to demonstrate to the Division of Public Health full
compliance with all other provisions of these Regulations and
any special conditions as set forth by the Division of Public
Health to assure the safe and competent practice of certified
midwifery.

Section IX - Complaints

Any person may make a complaint in writing to the
Division of Public Health concerning incompetence,
negligence, addiction to drugs and/or alcohol, physical or
mental impairment, misrepresentation, willful breach of
confidence, failure of a certified midwife to report a birth, or
failure to otherwise comply with these regulations.
Complaints about certified midwives shall be investigated by
the Division of Public Health or its designee and a
determination made as to the need for a hearing. In the event

a hearing is to be held, the midwife shall be notified by
certified mail at least twenty (20) days prior to the hearing as
to the time and place of the hearing and any allegations which
the Division intends to investigate. If such complaint is found
to be justified, the permit of the midwife against whom the
complaint has been lodged may, at the discretion of the
Division of Public Health, be revoked or suspended.

Section X - Illegal Practice

Any person who practices as a certified midwife as
defined in item “a” of Section II in the State of Delaware
without a permit issued by the Division of Public Health shall
be subject to a fine pursuant to 16 Del.C. 107.

Section XI - Effective Date

These Regulations shall become effective ten (10) days
after final publication in the State Register of Regulations and
shall replace Rules and Regulations Pertaining to the Practice
of Midwifery which were in effect until that date.

Section XII

Should any section, sentence, clause, or phase of these
Rules and Regulations be legally declared unconstitutional or
invalid for any reason, the remainder of said Rules and
Regulations shall not be affected thereby.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF FISH & W ILDLIFE

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 903(e)(2)(a) (7 Del.C. 903(e)(2)(a))

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 4 SUMMER

FLOUNDER SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
SEASONS

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:
The Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan has been
amended to require the recreational harvest be reduced to a
fishing mortality rate of F=.24.

Options to decrease Delaware’s recreational harvest

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/frames2.htm
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include:

1.)  Increase the minimum size limit from 14.5”to 15”
with a decrease in the creel limit from 10/day to 8/day; or

2.)  Maintain the minimum size limit of 14.5” and reduce
the creel limit from 10/day to 6/day with a seasonal closure to
reduce landings by 8% from the 1997 landings using the
average landing pattern in Delaware during 1992 through
1996.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
The Department must adopt one of the proposed options.

If not, Delaware may be found out of compliance with the
Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan and it’s summer
flounder fishery closed by the Secretary, United States
Department of Commerce.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

§903 (e)(2)(a), 7 Del. C.

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence and/or
request information by writing or visiting the Division of Fish
and Wildlife, Fisheries Section, 89 Kings Highway, Dover,
DE 19901 prior to 4:30 p.m. on March 31, 1998.  A public
hearing on these proposed amendments will be held in the
DNREC auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
p.m. on March 26, 1998.

7. PREPARED BY:

Charles A. Lesser,  302-739-3441, 1/20/98

PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO TIDAL FINFISH
REGULATION NO. 4 SUMMER FLOUNDER SIZE

LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS

Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 in subsection’s
(b) and (j) by striking the words  “Ten (10)” and substituting
in lieu thereof the words “eight (8)”;

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 in
subsection’s (c) and (d) by striking the words  “fourteen and
one-half (14.5)” and substitute in lieu thereof the words
“fifteen (15).”

OR

Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 in subsection’s

(b) and (j) by striking the words “ten (10)” and substituting in
lieu thereof the words  “six (6)”;

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 by
amending subsection (a) by striking it in its entirety and
substitute in lieu thereof the following:

“It shall be unlawful for any person to take and reduce to
possession  any summer flounder or to land any summer
flounder during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on April 1,
1998 and ending at midnight on April 21,  1998.

EXISTING TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 4

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 4.  SUMMER
FLOUNDER SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
SEASONS.

a) It shall be lawful for any person to take and reduce to
possession summer flounder from the tidal waters of this State
at any time except as otherwise set forth in this regulation.

b) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to
have in possession more than ten (10) summer flounder at or
between the place where said summer flounder were caught
and said recreational fisherman’s personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging.

c)  It shall be unlawful for any person, other than
qualified persons as set forth in paragraph (f) of this
regulation, to possess any summer flounder that measure less
than fourteen and one-half (14.5) inches between the tip of the
snout and the furthest tip of the tail.

d) It shall be unlawful for any person, other than a
licensed commercial finfisherman with a gill net permit,
while on board a vessel, to have in possession any part of a
summer flounder that measures less than fourteen and one-
half (14.5) inches between said part’s two most distant points
unless said person also has in possession the head, backbone
and tail intact from which said part was removed.

e) It shall be unlawful for any licensed commercial
finfisherman with a gill net permit to have in possession any
part of a summer flounder that measures less than fourteen
(14) inches between said part’s two most distant points unless
said person also has in possession the head, backbone and tail
intact from which said part was removed.

f) Notwithstanding the size limits and possession limits
in this regulation, a person may possess a summer flounder
that measures no less than fourteen (14) inches between the
tip of the snout and the furthest tip of the tail and a quantity of
summer flounder in excess of the possession limit set forth in
this regulation, provided said person has one of the following:

1) A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the date
said summer flounder  were received, the amount of said
summer flounder received and the name, address and
signature of the person who had landed said summer
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flounder;

2) A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish dealer
who obtained said summer flounder; or

3) A bill of lading while transporting fresh or frozen
summer flounder.

g) Notwithstanding the size limits in this regulation, a
person may possess a summer flounder that measures no less
than fourteen (14) inches between the tip of the snout and the
furthest tip of the tail, provided said person has one of the
following:

1) A valid commercial finfishing license and gill net
permit issued by the Department; or

2) A valid vessel permit issued by the Regional
director, NMFS, to fish  for and retain summer flounder in the
EEZ or a dealer permit issued by the Regional Director or
NMFS, as set forth in 50CFR, Part 625.

h) It shall be unlawful for any commercial finfisherman
to sell, trade and or barter or attempt to sell, trade and or barter
any summer flounder or part thereof that is landed in this State
by said commercial fisherman after a date when the de
minimis amount of commercial landings of summer flounder
is determined to have been landed in this State by the
Department.  The de minimis amount of summer flounder
shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota as set forth
in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan approved
by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.

i)   It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than
200 pounds of summer flounder in any one day in this State.

j)  It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been
issued a commercial foodfishing license and fishes for
summer flounder with any food fishing equipment other than
a gill net, to have in possession more than ten (10) summer
flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder
were caught and said person’s personal abode or temporary or
transient place of lodging.

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 10 WEAKFISH

SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

In order to remain in compliance with Amendment 3 to
the Weakfish Fishery Management Plan as approved by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, Delaware must
maintain a reduction in commercial effort of 34 days when
gill nets are not allowed in the water to catch weakfish during
the core fishing season.  The core fishing season is May 1-
June 30.  This amendment changes the 1997 dates to 1998

dates.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
The Department must adopt this proposed amendment.

If not, Delaware may be found out of compliance with the
Weakfish Fishery Management Plan, as amended, and it’s
weakfish fishery closed by the Secretary, United States
Department of Commerce.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

§903 (e)(2)(a), 7 Del. C.

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence and/

or request information by writing or visiting the Division of
Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE  19901 prior to 4:30 p.m. on March 31, 1998.  A
public hearing on this proposed amendment will be held in the
DNREC auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE  at 7:30
p.m. on March 26, 1998.

7. PREPARED BY:

Charles A. Lesser,  302-739-3441, 1/20/98

PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO TIDAL FINFISH
REGULATION NO. 10 WEAKFISH SIZE LIMITS;
POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS

Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 10 by striking
subsection (e) in its entirety and substitute in lieu thereof the
following:

“e)  It shall be unlawful for any person to fish with any
gill net in the Delaware Bay or Atlantic Ocean or to take and
reduce to possession any weakfish from the Delaware Bay or
the Atlantic Ocean with any fishing equipment other than a
hook and line during the following periods of time:

Beginning at 12:01 AM on May 1, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 10, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 15, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 17, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 22, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 24, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 29, 1998 and ending at
midnight on May 31, 1998;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 5, 1998 and ending at
midnight on June 7, 1998;



1354

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

PROPOSED REGULATIONS
beginning at 12:01 AM on June 12, 1998 and ending at

midnight on June 14, 1998;
beginning at 12:01 AM on June 19, 1998 and ending at

midnight on June 21, 1998;
and beginning at 12:01 AM on June 25, 1998 and ending

at midnight on June 30, 1998.”

EXISTING TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 10

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION 10.  WEAKFISH SIZE
LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS.

a) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess weakfish
Cynoscion regalis taken with a hook and line, that measure
less than thirteen (13) inches, total length.

b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to whom the
Department has issued a commercial food fishing license and
a food fishing equipment permit for hook and line to have
more than six (6) weakfish in possession during the period
beginning at 12:01 AM on May 1 and ending at midnight on
October 31 except on four specific days of the week as
indicated by the Department on said person’s food fishing
equipment permit for hook and line.

c)  It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been
issued a valid commercial food fishing license and a valid
food fishing equipment permit for equipment other than a
hook and line to possess weakfish, lawfully taken by use of
such permitted food fishing equipment, that measure less than
twelve (12) inches, total length.

d) It shall be unlawful for any person, except a person
with a valid commercial food fishing license, to have in
possession more than six (6) weakfish, not to include
weakfish in one’s personal abode or temporary or transient
place of lodging.  A person may have weakfish in possession
that measure no less than twelve (12) inches, total length, and
in excess of six (6) if said person has a valid bill-of-sale or
receipt for said weakfish that indicates the date said weakfish
were received, the number of said weakfish received and the
name, address and signature of the commercial food
fisherman who legally caught said weakfish or a bill-of-sale
or receipt from a person who is a licensed retailer and legally
obtained said weakfish for resale.

e)  It shall be unlawful for any person to fish with any gill
net in the Delaware Bay or Atlantic Ocean or to take and
reduce to possession any weakfish from the Delaware Bay or
the Atlantic Ocean with any fishing equipment other than a
hook and line during the following periods of time:

Beginning at 12:01 AM on May 3, 1997 and ending at
midnight on May 11, 1997;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 16, 1997 and ending at
midnight on May 18, 1997;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 23, 1997 and ending at
midnight on May 26, 1997;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 30, 1997 and ending at

midnight on  June 1, 1997;
beginning at 12:01 AM on June 6, 1997 and ending at

midnight on June 8, 1997;
beginning at 12:01 AM on June 13, 1997 and ending at

midnight on June 15, 1997;
and beginning at 12:01 AM on June 20, 1997 and ending

at midnight on June 28, 1997.
Beginning at 12:01 AM on May 1, 1998 and ending at

midnight on May 10, 1998;
beginning at 12:01 AM on May 15, 1998 and ending at

midnight on May 17, 1998;
beginning at 12:01 AM on May 22, 1998 and ending at

midnight on May 24, 1998;
beginning at 12:01 AM on May 29, 1998 and ending at

midnight on May 31, 1998;
beginning at 12:01 AM on June 5, 1998 and ending at

midnight on June 7, 1998;
beginning at 12:01 AM on June 12, 1998 and ending at

midnight on June 14, 1998;
beginning at 12:01 AM on June 19, 1998 and ending at

midnight on June 21, 1998;
and beginning at 12:01 AM on June 25, 1998 and ending

at midnight on June 30, 1998.”
f)  The Department shall indicate on a persons food

fishing equipment permit for hook and line four (4) specific
days of the week during the period May 1 through October 31,
selected by said person when applying for said permit, as to
when said permit is valid to take in excess of six (6)  weakfish
per day.  These four days of the week shall not be changed at
any time during the remainder of the calendar year.

g)  It shall be unlawful for any person with a food fishing
equipment permit for hook and line to possess more than six
(6) weakfish while on the same vessel with another person
who also has a food fishing equipment permit for hook and
line unless each person’s food fishing equipment permit for
hook and line specifies the same day of the week in question
for taking in excess of six (6) weakfish.

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.22 TAUTOG;

SIZE LIMITS

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

Implement a Tautog catch reduction strategy to reduce
fishing mortality to the interim target of F=0.24 as required in
the Tautog Fishery Management Plan.  The current F in
Delaware is 0.3961.  It must be reduced 40%.

Options to reduce fishing mortality to F=0.24 include:
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1.)  Reduce the creel limit from 10 per day to 6 per day

during July - April and 3 per day during May and June; or
2.)  Reduce the creel limit from 10 per day to 7 per day

during July - February and 3 per day during March - June; or
3.)  Maintain the existing creel limits and close fishing for

approximately 40 days during July and August.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
The Department must adopt one of the proposed options.

If not, Delaware may be found out of compliance with the
Tautog Fishery Management Plan and it’s tautog fishery
closed by the Secretary,  United States Department of
Commerce.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

§903 (e) (2) (a), 7 Delaware Code

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence and/

or request information by writing or visiting the Division of
Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE 19901 prior to 4:30 p.m. on March 31,  1998.  A
public hearing on these proposed amendments will be held in
the DNREC auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at
7:30 p.m. on March 26,  1998.

7. PREPARED BY:
Charles A. Lesser , 302-739-3441  1/20/98

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO TIDAL FINFISH
REGULATION NO.22
TAUTOG; SIZE LIMITS

Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No.22 by striking it in
its entirety and substitute in lieu thereof the following:

“TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.22 TAUTOG SIZE
LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS.

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any
tautog that measures less than fourteen (14) inches in total
length during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on July 1 and
ending at 12:00 on March 31, next ensuing.  (Note:  The
current minimum size limit of fifteen (15) inches would
remain in effect during April, May and June.)

(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than six (6) tautog during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m.
on July 1 and ending at 12:00 on April 30, next ensuing, at or
between the place where said tautog were caught and said
persons personal abode or temporary or transient place of

lodging.

OR

(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than seven (7) tautog during the period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on July 1 and ending at 12:00 midnight on the last day in
February, next ensuing, at or between the place where said
tautog were caught and said person’s personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging.

(c)  It shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than three (3) tautog during the  period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on May 1 and ending at 12:00 midnight on June 30, next
ensuing, at or between the place where said tautog were
caught and said persons personal abode or temporary
transient place of lodging.

OR

(c)  It shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than three (3) tautog during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m.
on March 1 and ending at 12:00 midnight on June 30, next
ensuing at or between the place where said tautog were caught
and said persons personal abode or temporary transient place
of lodging.

OR

Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No.22 by adding the
word; “SEASON” after the word “LIMITS” in the title.

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No.22 by
striking subsection (a) in its entirety and substitute in lieu
thereof the following:

“(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to take and reduce
to possession or to land any tautog during the period
beginning at 12:01 a.m. on July 23 and ending at midnight on
August 31.”

EXISTING TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.22

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.22 TAUTOG; SIZE
LIMITS.

(a)  Notwithstanding 7 Delaware Code. §929 (b) (7) it
shall be unlawful for any person to possess any tautog that
measures less that thirteen (13) inches in total length during
the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on January 1,  1997 and
ending at midnight on March 31,  1997 or during the period
beginning at 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 1997 and ending at
midnight on December 31,  1997.

(b)  Notwithstanding 7 Delaware Code §929 (b) (7) it
shall be unlawful for any person to possess any tautog that
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measures less than fourteen (14) inches in total length during
the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on January 1,  1998 and
ending at midnight on March 31,  1998 or during the period
beginning at 12:01 a.m. on July 1,  1998 and ending at
midnight on December 31,  1998 or during said periods in all
years thereafter.

Also in effect are §938, 7 Delaware Code and §939, 7
Delaware Code.

§938.  Creel limits on finfish; exceptions.
(a)  Unless otherwise provided in this chapter, or by

regulations promulgated by the Department, or permit issued
by the Division, a fisher shall not have in possession at or
between the place caught and the fisher’s personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging more finfish than
exceed the following numbers for the species listed:

10 for tautog (Tautoga onitis) or blackfish.

§939.  Fishing seasons; exception.
(a)  Notwithstanding §938 of this title, it shall be unlawful

for any person to possess or retain more than 3 tautog
(Tautoga onitis) during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on
April 1 through and including midnight on June 30 next
ensuing except that an individual who free dives without the
aid of an underwater mechanical breathing device may take
by spear and possess not more than 10 tautog per day during
this period.

Notwithstanding §929(b) (7) of this title, it shall be
unlawful to possess any tautog during the period beginning at
12:01 a.m. on April 1 through and including midnight on June
30, next ensuing, which measures less than 15 inches long in
total length.

(b)  Each tautog taken and retained in violation of the
provisions in subsection (a) of this section shall constitute a
separate violation.

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.23 BLACK SEA

BASS SIZE LIMIT

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

The Black Sea Bass Fisheries Management Plan has been
amended to require the recreational and commercial harvests
be reduced to a fishing mortality rate of F= 0.32.

Options to reduce Delaware’s recreational harvest
include:

1.)  Increase the minimum size limit from 9 inches to 10
inches with a seasonal closure of August 1-15; or

2.)  Increase the minimum size limit from 9 inches to 10
inches with a creel limit of 20 per day.

To reduce the commercial harvest, quarterly trip limits
will be required as follows:

First Quarter - 11,000 lbs.
Second Quarter - 7,000 lbs.
Third Quarter - 3,000 lbs.
Fourth Quarter - 4,000 lbs.

The commercial fishing for or landing of any black sea
bass in Delaware for commercial purposed will be prohibited
during the remainder of any quarter after a date when the
National Marine Fisheries Service determines that quarterly
quota has been landed.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
The Department must adopt one of the proposed options

for recreational fishing and the proposed option for
commercial fishing.  If not, Delaware may be found out of
compliance with the Black Sea Bass Fishery Management
Plan and it’s black sea bass fishery closed by the Secretary,
United States Department of Commerce.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

§903 (e) (2) (a), 7 Delaware Code

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence and/

or request information by writing or visiting the Division of
Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE 19901 prior to 4:30 p.m. on March 31,  1998.  A
public hearing on these proposed amendments will be held in
the DNREC auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at
7:30 p.m. on March 26, 1998.

7. PREPARED BY:
Charles A. Lesser , 302-739-3441 1/20/98

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO TIDAL FINFISH
REGULATION NO.23 BLACK SEA BASS SIZE LIMIT

Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No.23 by adding the
words “;SEASONS AND TRIP LIMITS” after the word
“LIMIT” in the title.

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No.23 in
subsection (a) by striking the words “nine (9)” as they appear
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therein and substitute in lieu thereof the words “ten (10)”.

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No.23 in
subsection (b) by striking subsection (b) in its entirety and
substitute in lieu thereof the following:

“(b)  It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to
take and reduce to possession any black sea bass or to land any
black sea bass during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on
August 1 and ending at midnight on August 15.”

OR

“(b)  It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to
have in possession more than twenty (20) black sea bass at or
between the place where said black sea bass were caught and
said recreational fisherman’s personal abode or temporary or
transient place of lodging.”

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No.23 by adding
a new subsection (c) to read as follows:

“(c)  It shall be unlawful for any person to possess on
board a vessel at any time or to land after one trip more than
the following quantities of black sea bass during the quarter
listed:

First Quarter (January, February and March) - 11,000
lbs.

Second Quarter (April, May and June) - 7,000 lbs.
Third Quarter (July, August and September) - 3,000 lbs.
Fourth Quarter (October, November and December) -

4,000 lbs.

A trip shall mean the time between a vessel leaving its
home port and the next time said vessel returns to any port in
Delaware.”

Further amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No.23 by adding
a new subsection (d) to read as follows:

“(d)  It shall be unlawful for any person to fish for black
sea bass for commercial purposes or to land any black sea bass
for commercial purposes during any quarter indicated in
subsection (c) after the date in said quarter that the National
Marine Fisheries Services determines that quarter’s quota has
been filled.”

EXISTING TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.23

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.23 BLACK SEA
BASS SIZE LIMIT

a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to have in
possession any black sea bass (Centropritis striata) that
measures less than nine (9) inches, total length.

b)  It shall be unlawful for any person who has been
issued a commercial food fishing license by the Department
to have in possession any black sea bass, after January 1,
1998, that measures less than ten (10) inches, total measure.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF FISH & WILDLIFE

ENFORCEMENT  SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 2114 (7 Del.C. 2114)

REGISTER NOTICE

1.  Title of the Regulations:  BOATING REGULATIONS

2.  Brief Synopsis of the Subject and Issue:  Pursuant to
§2114(a), 7 Del. C., no person shall operate a vessel on
the waters of this State unless such vessel is operated in
accordance with the rules and regulations of the Coast
Guard or the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control.  With the Department’s
regulations having gone without revision since 1975, they
have become almost obsolete and in need of significant
updating.  The proposed regulations will eliminate
confl icts with Coast Guard safety and equipment
requirements; reduce the likelihood of an injury or accident
when, for example, waterskiing, anchoring, or sitting on
the bow, gunwales, or stern; and improve the
administration of the State-maintained boat ramps and
parking lots.

3.  Possible Terms of the Agency Action:  The Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control may
reject or approve regulations governing vessels used on
the waters of this State.

4.  Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:  § 2114, 7
Del. C.

5.  Other Regulations that may be Affected by the Proposal:
None

6.  Notice of Public Comment:  Individuals may present
their opinions and evidence and/or request information by
writing or visiting the Division of Fish and Wildlife,
Enforcement Section, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
19901 prior to 4:30 PM on March 31, 1998.  A public
hearing on the proposed regulations will be held in the

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/enfwel.htm
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DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware
at 7:30 PM on Tuesday, March 24, 1998.

7.  Prepared by:  James H. Graybeal (302-739-3440)

Date:  02/10/98

BOATING REGULATIONS

BR-1. GENERAL

Section 1. Code of Federal Regulations.
These regulations reference provisions from the Code

of Federal Regulations (CFR), revised as of July 1, 1997,
and October 1, 1996, for U.S.C. Titles 33 and 46,
respectively.

Section 2. Application of Regulations.
Unless otherwise specified, these regulations shall

apply to all vessels used on the waters of the State.

BR-2. DEFINITIONS

For purposes of BR-3 through BR-12, the following
words and phrases shall have the meaning ascribed to them
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) “All-round light” shall mean a light showing an
unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of 360 degrees.

(2) “Boat” shall mean any vessel manufactured or used
primarily for non-commercial use; leased, rented, or
chartered to another for the latter’s non-commercial use; or
engaged in the carrying of 6 or fewer passengers.

(3) “Coast Guard approved” shall mean that the
equipment has been determined to be in compliance with
Coast Guard specifications and regulations relating to the
materials, construction and performance.

(4) “Commercial hybrid PFD” shall mean a hybrid PFD
approved for use on commercial vessels identified on the
PFD label.

(5) “Division” shall mean the Division of Fish and
Wildlife.

(6) “Enforcement officer” shall mean a sworn member
of a police force or other law-enforcement agency of this
State or of any county or municipality who is responsible
for the prevention and the detection of crime and the
enforcement of the laws of this State or other governmental
units within the State.

(7) “Especially hazardous condition” shall mean a
condition which endangers the life of a person on board a
vessel.

(8) “First aid” shall mean emergency care and treatment
of an injured person before definitive medical and surgical
management can be secured.

(9) “Grossly negligent” shall mean the intentional

failure to perform a manifest duty in reckless disregard of
the consequences as affecting the life or property of another;
such a gross want of care and regard for the rights of others
as to justify the presumption of willfulness and wantonness.

(10) “Issuing authority” shall mean a state where a
numbering system for vessels has been approved by the
Coast Guard or the Coast Guard where a numbering system
has not been approved.  Issuing authorities are listed in
Appendix A.

(11) “Licensing agent” shall mean a qualified person
authorized by the Division to register vessels pursuant to
§ 2113(d) of Title 23.

(12) “Masthead light” shall mean a white light placed
over the fore and aft centerline of a vessel showing an
unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of 225 degrees
and so fixed as to show the light from right ahead to 22.5
degrees abaft the beam on either side of the vessel, except
that on a vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in length
the masthead light shall be placed as nearly as practicable
to the fore and aft centerline of the vessel.

(13) “Motorboat” shall mean any vessel 65 feet in
length or less equipped with propulsion machinery,
including steam.

(14) “Motor vessel” shall mean any vessel more than
65 feet in length propelled by machinery other than steam.

(15) “Navigable channel” shall mean a channel plotted
on a National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
nautical chart or a channel marked with buoys, lights,
beacons, ranges, or other markers by the Coast Guard or
with Coast Guard approval.

(16) “Negligent” shall mean the omission to do
something which a reasonable person, guided by those
ordinary considerations which ordinarily regulate human
affairs, would do, or the doing of something which a
reasonable and prudent person would not do.

(17) “Open boat” shall mean a motorboat or motor
vessel with all engine and fuel tank compartments, and other
spaces to which explosive or flammable gases and vapors
from these compartments may flow, open to the atmosphere
and so arranged as to prevent the entrapment of such gases
and vapors within the vessel.

(18) “Operator” shall mean that person in control or in
charge of the vessel while the vessel is in use.

(19) “Owner” shall mean a person who claims lawful
possession of a vessel by virtue of legal title or equitable
interest therein which entitles him/her to such possession.

(20) “Passenger” shall mean every person carried on
board a vessel other than:

(a) The owner or the owner’s representative;
(b) The operator;
(c) Bona fide members of the crew engaged in the

business of the vessel who have contributed no
consideration for their carriage and who are paid for their
services; or

(d) Any guest on board a vessel which is being
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used exclusively for pleasure purposes who has not
contributed any consideration, directly or indirectly, for his/
her carriage.

(21) “Personal flotation device” shall mean a device
that is approved by the Commandant of the Coast Guard
pursuant to 46 CFR Part 160.

(22) “PFD” shall mean personal flotation device.
(23) “Racing shell”, “rowing scull”, “racing canoe” or

“racing kayak” shall mean a manually propelled vessel that
is recognized by national or international racing associations
for use in competitive racing and one in which all occupants
row, scull or paddle, with the exception of a coxswain, if
one is provided, and is not designed to carry and does not
carry any equipment not solely for competitive racing.

(24) “Recreational vessel” shall mean any vessel being
manufactured or operated primarily for pleasure; or leased,
rented, or chartered to another for the latter’s pleasure.  It
does not include a vessel engaged in the carrying of six or
fewer passengers.

(25) “Restricted visibility” shall mean any condition
in which visibility is restricted by fog, mist, falling snow,
heavy rainstorms, or any other similar causes.

(26) “Sidelights” shall mean a green light on the
starboard side and a red light on the port side each showing
an unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of 112.5 degrees
and so fixed as to show the light from right ahead to 22.5
degrees abaft the beam on its respective side.  On a vessel
of less than 20 meters (65.6 ft.) in length, the sidelights
may be combined in one lantern carried on the fore and aft
centerline of the vessel, except that on a vessel of less than
12 meters (39.4 ft.) in length the sidelights when combined
in one lantern shall be placed as nearly as practicable to the
fore and aft centerline of the vessel.

(27) “Slow-No-Wake” shall mean as slow as possible
without losing steerage way and so as to make the least
possible wake.  (This almost always means speeds of less
than 5 miles per hour.)

(28) “Special flashing light” shall mean a yellow light
flashing at regular intervals at a frequency of 50 to 70 flashes
per minute, placed as far forward and as nearly as practicable
on the fore and aft centerline of the tow and showing an
unbroken light over an arc of the horizon of not less than
180 degrees nor more than 225 degrees and so fixed as to
show the light from right ahead to abeam and no more than
22.5 degrees abaft the beam on either side of the vessel.

(29) “State of principal use” shall mean a state on whose
waters a vessel is used or to be used most during a calendar
year.  It shall mean this State if the vessel is to be used,
docked, or stowed on the waters of the State for over 60
consecutive days.

(30) “Sternlight” shall mean a white light placed as
nearly as practicable at the stern showing an unbroken light
over an arc of the horizon of 135 degrees and so fixed as to
show the light 67.5 degrees from right aft on each side of

the vessel.
(31) “Towing light” shall mean a yellow light having

the same characteristics as the sternlight.
(32) “Type I PFD” shall mean any Coast Guard

approved wearable device designed to turn most
unconscious wearers in the water from a face down position
to a vertical and slightly backward position.  The Type I
PFD has the greatest required buoyancy: the adult size
provides at least 22 pounds buoyancy and the child size
provides at least 11 pounds buoyancy.

(33) “Type II PFD” shall mean any Coast Guard
approved wearable device designed to turn some
unconscious wearers from a face-down position to a vertical
and slightly backward position. An adult size device
provides at least 152 pounds buoyancy, the medium child
size provides at least 11 pounds and the infant and small
child sizes provide at least 7 pounds buoyancy.

(34) “Type III PFD” shall mean any Coast Guard
approved wearable device designed to maintain conscious
wearers in a vertical and slightly backward position.  While
the Type III PFD has the same minimum buoyancy as the
Type II PFD, it has little or no turning ability.

(35) “Type IV PFD” shall mean any Coast Guard
approved device designed to be thrown to a person in the
water and grasped and held by such person until rescued.
It is not designed to be worn.  Type IV devices, which
include buoyant cushions, ring buoys and horseshoe buoys,
are designed to have at least 16.5 pounds buoyancy.

(36) “Type V PFD” is any Coast Guard approved
wearable device designed for a specific and restricted use.
The label on the PFD indicates the kinds of activities for
which the PFD may be used and whether there are
limitations on how it may be used.

(37) “Type V hybrid PFD” is any Coast Guard approved
wearable device designed to give additional buoyancy by
inflating an air chamber.  When inflated it turns the wearer
similar to the action provided by a Type I, II, or III PFD
(the type of performance is indicated on the label).  The
exact specification and performance of the PFD will vary
somewhat with each device.

(38) “Use” shall mean to operate, navigate or employ.
(39) “Water ski” or “water skiing” shall include all

forms of water skiing, skiing on an aquaplane, knee board
or other contrivances, parasailing or any activity where a
person is towed behind or alongside a boat.

BR-3. REGISTRATION, NUMBERING AND
MARKING OF VESSELS.

Section 1. Applicability.
This regulation shall apply to all vessels propelled by

any form of mechanical power, including electric trolling
motors, used or placed on the waters of the State, except
the following:
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(1) Foreign vessels temporarily using such waters;
(2) Military or public vessels of the United States,

except recreational-type public vessels;
(3) A vessel whose owner is a state or subdivision

thereof, other than this State, which is used principally for
governmental purposes, and which is clearly identifiable
as such;

(4) A vessel used exclusively as a ship’s lifeboat; and
(5) Vessels which have been issued valid marine

documents by the Coast Guard.

Section 2. Vessel Number Required.
(a) Except as provided in Section 3 of this regulation,

no person shall use or place on the waters of the State a
vessel to which this regulation applies unless:

(1) It has a number issued on a certificate of number
by this State; and

(2) The number is displayed as described in Section
8 of this regulation.

(b) This regulation shall not apply to a vessel for which
a valid temporary certificate has been issued to its owner
by the issuing authority in the state in which the vessel is
principally used.

Section 3. Reciprocity.
(a) When the state of principal use is a state other than

this State and the vessel is properly numbered by that state,
the vessel shall be deemed in compliance with the
numbering system requirements of this State in which it is
temporarily used.

(b) When this State becomes the state of principal use
for a vessel numbered by another state, the vessel’s current
number shall be recognized as valid for a period of 60
consecutive days before numbering is required by this State.

Section 4. Other Numbers and Letters Prohibited.
No person shall use a vessel to which this regulation

applies that has any letters or numbers that are not issued
by an issuing authority for that vessel on its forward half.

Section 5. Certificate of Number Required (Registration
Card).

(a) Except as provided in Section 3 of this regulation,
no person shall use a vessel to which this regulation applies
unless it has on board:

(1) A valid certificate of number or temporary
certificate for that vessel issued by this State; or

(2) For rental vessels described in subsection (b)
of this section, a copy of the lease or rental agreement,
signed by the owner or the owner’s authorized
representative and by the person leasing or renting the
vessel, that contains at least:

(a) The vessel number that appears on the
certificate of number; and

(b) The period of time for which the vessel is
leased or rented.

(b) The certificate of number for vessels less than 26
feet in length and leased or rented to another for the latter’s
non-commercial use for less than 24 hours may be retained
on shore by the vessel’s owner or representative at the place
from which the vessel departs or returns to the possession
of the owner or the owner’s representative.

Section 6. Inspection of Certificate.
Each person using a vessel to which this regulation

applies shall present the certificate of number, lease, or
rental agreement required by Section 5 of this regulation to
any enforcement officer for inspection at the officer’s
request.

Section 7. Location of Certificate of Number.
No person shall use a vessel to which this regulation

applies unless the certificate of number, lease, or rental
agreement required by Section 5 of this regulation is carried
on board in such a manner that it can be handed to a person
authorized under Section 6 of this regulation to inspect it.

Section 8. Numbers: Display; Size; Color.
(a) Each number required by Section 2 of this regulation

shall:
(1) Be painted on or permanently attached to each

side of the forward half of the vessel, except as allowed by
subsection (b) or required by subsection (c) of this section;

(2) Be in plain vertical block characters of not less
than 3 inches in height;

(3) Contrast with the color of the background and
be distinctly visible and legible;

(4) Have spaces or hyphens that are equal to the
width of a letter other than “I” or a number other than “1”
between the letter and number groupings (example: DL
5678 D or DL-5678-D); and

(5) Read from left to right.
(b) When a vessel is used by a manufacturer or by a

dealer for testing or demonstrating, the number may be
painted on or attached to removable plates that are
temporarily but firmly attached to each side of the forward
half of the vessel.

(c) On vessels so configured that a number on the hull
or superstructure would not be easily visible, the number
shall be painted on or attached to a backing plate that is
attached to the forward half of the vessel so that the number
is visible from each side of the vessel.

(d) Expired validation decals shall be removed and only
effective decals shall be displayed.

Section 9. Notification of Issuing Authority.
The person whose name appears as the owner of a vessel

on a certificate of number shall, within 15 days, notify the
Division of:
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(1) Any change in said person’s address;
(2) The theft or recovery of the vessel;
(3) The loss or destruction of a valid certificate of

number;
(4) The transfer of all or part of said person’s

interest in the vessel; and
(5) The destruction or abandonment of the vessel.

Section 10. Surrender of Certificate of Number.
The person whose name appears as the owner of a vessel

on a certificate of number shall surrender the certificate to
the Division or a licensing agent within 15 days after it
becomes invalid under subsections (b), (c), (d) or (e) of
Section 14 of this regulation.

Section 11. Removal of Number and Validation Decal.
The person whose name appears on a certificate of

number as the owner of a vessel shall remove the number
and validation sticker from the vessel when:

(1) The vessel is documented by the Coast Guard;
(2) The certificate of number is invalid under

Section 14(c) of this regulation; or
(3) This State is no longer the state of principal

use.

Section 12. Application for Certificate of Number.
Any person who is the owner of a vessel to which

Section 1 of this regulation applies may apply for a
certificate of number for that vessel by submitting the
following to the Division or the nearest licensing agent:

(1) The application prescribed by the Division;
(2) The fee required by § 2113(a) of Title 23; and
(3) Proof of ownership as required by Section 22

of this regulation.

Section 13. Duplicate Certificate of Number.
If a certificate of number is lost or destroyed, the person

whose name appears on the certificate as the owner may
apply for a duplicate certificate by submitting the following
to the Division:

(1) The application prescribed by the Division; and
(2) The fee required by § 2113(b) of Title 23.

Section 14. Validity of Certificate of Number.
(a) Except as provided in subsections (b), (c), (d) and

(e) of this section, a certificate of number is valid until the
date of expiration prescribed by this State.

(b) A certificate of number issued by this State is invalid
after the date upon which:

(1) The vessel is documented or required to be
documented;

(2) The person whose name appears on the
certificate of number as owner of the vessel transfers all of
his/her ownership in the vessel; or

(3) The vessel is destroyed or abandoned.
(c) A certificate of number issued by this State is invalid

if:
(1) The application for the certificate of number

contains a false or fraudulent statement; or
(2) The fees for the issuance of the certificate of

number are not paid.
(d) A certificate of number is invalid 60 days after the

day on which another state becomes the state of principal
use.

(e) A certificate of number is invalid when the person
whose name appears on the certificate involuntarily loses
his/her interest in the numbered vessel by legal process.

Section 15. Validation Stickers.
(a) No person shall use a vessel that has a number issued

by this State unless a validation sticker was issued with the
certificate of number and the sticker:

(1) Is displayed within 6 inches of the number; and
(2) Meets the requirements in subsections (b) and

(c) of this section.
(b) Validation stickers shall be approximately 3 inches

square.
(c) The year in which each validation sticker expires

shall be indicated by the colors, blue, international orange,
green, and red, in rotation beginning with green for stickers
that expired in 1975 (see Appendix B).

Section 16. Contents of Application for Certificate of
Number.

(a) Each application for a certificate of number shall
contain the following information:

(1) Name of each owner;
(2) Address of at least one owner, or the address

of the principle place of business of an owner that is not an
individual, including zip code;

(3) Mailing address, if different from the address
required by paragraph (a)(2) of this section;

(4) Date of birth of the owner;
(5) Citizenship of the owner;
(6) State in which vessel is or will be principally

used;
(7) The number previously issued by an issuing

authority for the vessel, if any;
(8) Expiration date of certificate of number issued

by the issuing authority;
(9) Official number assigned by the Coast Guard,

if applicable;
(10) Whether the application is for a new number,

renewal of a number, or transfer of ownership;
(11) Whether the vessel is used for pleasure, rent

or lease, dealer or manufacturer demonstration, commercial
passenger carrying, commercial fishing or other commercial
use;
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(12) Make of vessel or name of vessel builder, if

known;
(13) Year vessel was manufactured or built, or

model year, if known;
(14) Manufacturer’s hull identification number, if

any;
(15) Overall length of vessel;
(16) Whether the hull is wood, steel, aluminum,

fiberglass, plastic, or other;
(17) Type of vessel (open, cabin, house, etc.);
(18) Whether the propulsion is inboard, outboard,

inboard-outdrive, jet, or sail with auxiliary engine;
(19) Whether the fuel is gasoline, diesel, or other;
(20) Social security number, or, if that number is

not available, the owner’s driver’s license number (if the
owner is other than an individual, the owner’s taxpayer
identification number, social security number or driver’s
license number);

(21) The signature of the owner.
(b) An application made by a manufacturer or dealer

for a number that is to be temporarily affixed to a vessel for
demonstration or test purposes may omit items 13 through
20 of subsection (a) of this section.

Section 17. Contents of a Certificate of Number.
(a) Except as allowed in subsection (b) of this section,

each certificate of number shall contain the following
information:

(1) Number issued to the vessel;
(2) Expiration date of the certificate;
(3) State of principal use;
(4) Name of the owner;
(5) Address of the owner, including zip code;
(6) Whether the vessel is used for pleasure, rent or

lease, dealer or manufacturer demonstration, commercial
passenger carrying, commercial fishing or other commercial
use;

(7) Manufacturer’s hull identification number (or
the hull identification number issued by the Department),
if any;

(8) Make of vessel;
(9) Year vessel was manufactured;
(10) Overall length of vessel;
(11) Whether the vessel is an open boat, cabin

cruiser, houseboat, etc.;
(12) Whether the hull is wood, steel, aluminum,

fiberglass, plastic, or other;
(13) Whether the propulsion is inboard, outboard,

inboard-outdrive, jet, or sail with auxiliary engine;
(14) Whether the fuel is gasoline, diesel, or other;
(15) A quotation of the state regulations pertaining

to change of ownership or address, documentation, loss,
destruction, abandonment, theft or recovery of vessel,
carriage of the certificate of number on board when the

vessel is in use, rendering aid in a boat accident and
reporting of vessel casualties and accidents.

(b) A certificate of number issued to a manufacturer or
dealer to be used on a vessel for test or demonstration
purposes may omit items 7 through 14 of subsection (a) of
this section if the word “manufacturer” or “dealer” is plainly
marked on the certificate.

Section 18. Contents of Temporary Certificate.
A temporary certificate issued pending the issuance of

a certificate of number shall contain the following
information:

(1) Make of vessel;
(2) Length of vessel;
(3) Type of propulsion;
(4) State in which vessel is principally used;
(5) Name of owner;
(6) Address of owner, including zip code;
(7) Signature of owner;
(8) Date of issuance; and
(9) Notice to the owner that the temporary

certificate is invalid after 60 days from the date of issuance.

Section 19. Form of Number.
(a) Each number shall consist of the two capital letters

“DL” denoting this State as the issuing authority, followed
by:

(1) Not more than four numerals followed by not
more than two capital letters (example: DL 1234 BD); or

(2) Not more than three numerals followed by not
more than three capital letters (example:

DL 567 EFG).
(b) A number suffix shall not include the letters “I”,

“O” or “Q”, which may be mistaken for numerals.

Section 20. Size of Certificate of Number.
Each certificate of number shall be 2½ by 3½ inches.

Section 21. Terms and Conditions for Vessel Numbering.
Except for a recreational-type public vessel of the

United States, the State shall condition the issuance of a
certificate of number on title to, the original manufacturer’s
or importer’s statement or certificate of origin, copy of
notarized bill of sale or other proof of ownership of a vessel.

Section 22. Boat Registration Records.
(a) All valid records shall be filed alphabetically by

the last names of owners and numerically by “DL”
registration numbers;

(b) Invalid records shall be maintained for three years
at which time they shall be destroyed.

BR-4. CASUALTY REPORTING SYSTEM
REQUIREMENTS.
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Section 1. Administration.

The casualty reporting system of this State shall be
administered by the Boating Law Administrator who shall:

(1) Provide for the reporting of all casualties and
accidents required by Section 2 of this regulation;

(2) Receive reports of vessel casualties or accidents
prescribed by Section 3 of this regulation;

(3) Review accident and casualty reports to assure
accuracy and completeness of reporting; and

(4) Determine the cause of casualties and accidents
reported.

Section 2. Report of Casualty or Accident.
(a) The operator of a vessel shall submit the casualty

or accident report prescribed in 33 CFR § 173.57 to the
reporting authority prescribed in Section 4 of this regulation
when, as a result of an occurrence that involves the vessel
or its equipment:

(1) A person dies;
(2) A person loses consciousness or receives

medical treatment beyond first aid or is disabled for more
than 24 hours;

(3) Damage to the vessel and other property totals
more than $500.00; or

(4) A person disappears from the vessel under
circumstances that indicate death or injury.

(b) A report required by this section shall be made:
(1) Immediately if a person dies within 24 hours

of the occurrence;
(2) Immediately if a person loses consciousness or

receives medical treatment beyond first aid, or is disabled
for more than 24 hours or disappears from a vessel; and

(3) Within 5 days of the occurrence or death if an
earlier report is not required by this subsection.

(c) When the operator of a vessel cannot submit the
casualty or accident report required by subsection (a) of
this section, the owner shall submit the casualty or accident
report.

(d) The accident or casualty report completed by a Fish
and Wildlife Agent may be substituted to meet the
requirements of this section.

Section 3. Casualty or Accident Report.
Each report required by Section 2 of this regulation

shall be in writing, dated upon completion, and signed by
the person who prepared it and shall contain, if available,
the information about the casualty or accident required by
the Coast Guard pursuant to 33 CFR § 173.57.

Section 4. Where to Report.
The report required by Section 2 of this regulation shall

be submitted to the Boating Law Administrator, Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Division
of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware
19901.

Section 5. Immediate Notification of Death,
Disappearance or Physical Injury.

(a) When, as a result of an occurrence that involves a
vessel or its equipment, a person dies or disappears from a
vessel or sustains an injury requiring more than first aid,
the operator shall, without delay, by the quickest means
available, notify the Division of Fish and Wildlife
Enforcement Section, Telephone:  302-739-4580 or 1-800-
523-3336, of:

(1) The date, time, and exact location of the
occurrence;

(2) The name of each person who died,
disappeared, or sustained an injury;

(3) The number and name of the vessel; and
(4) The names and addresses of the owner and

operator.
(b) When the operator of a vessel cannot give the notice

required by subsection (a) of this section, at least one of the
persons on board shall notify the Division of Fish and
Wildlife Enforcement Section, Telephone: 302-739-4580
or 1-800-523-3336, or determine that the notice has been
given.

Section 6. Rendering of Assistance in Accidents.
(a) The operator of a vessel involved in an accident

shall:
(1) Render necessary assistance to each individual

affected to save that affected individual from danger caused
by the accident, so far as the operator can do so without
serious danger to the operator’s or individual’s vessel or to
individuals on board; and

(2) Give the operator’s name and address and
identification of the vessel to the operator or individual in
charge of any other vessel involved in the accident, to any
individual injured, and to the owner of any property
damaged.

(b) An individual complying with subsection (a) of this
section or gratuitously and in good faith rendering assistance
at the scene of a casualty without objection by an individual
assisted, is not liable for damages as a result of rendering
assistance or for an act or omission in providing or arranging
salvage, towage, medical treatment, or other assistance when
the individual acts as an ordinary, reasonable, and prudent
individual would have acted under the circumstances.

BR-5. WATER SKIING.

Section 1. Water Skiing.
(a) No person shall operate a vessel on any waters of

this State for purposes of towing a person on water skis
unless there is in such vessel a competent person, in addition
to the operator, in a position to observe the progress of the
person being towed.  The observer shall be considered
competent if he/she can, in fact, observe the person being
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towed and relay any signals from the person being towed
to the operator.  This subsection shall not apply to Class A
vessels operated by the person being towed and designed
to be incapable of carrying the operator in or on the vessel.

(b) No person shall engage in water skiing unless such
person is wearing a Type I, Type II, Type III or Type V
PFD.  This provision shall not apply to a performer engaged
in a professional exhibition or a person preparing to
participate or participating in an official regatta, boat race,
marine parade, tournament, or exhibition.

(c) No person shall engage in water skiing and no person
shall operate a vessel towing a person so engaged on any
waters of the State with a tow line that exceeds 75 feet.

(d) No person shall engage in water skiing and no
person shall operate a vessel towing a person so engaged
on any waters of the State on which water skiing is
prohibited.

(e) No person shall engage in water skiing and no person
shall operate a vessel towing a person so engaged between
sunset and sunrise.

(f) The operator of a vessel towing a water skier shall
comply with all laws and regulations as they pertain to the
individual’s class of vessel and shall maneuver the vessel
in a careful and prudent manner, so as not to interfere with
other vessels or obstruct any channel or normal shipping
lane, and maintain reasonable distance from persons and
property, so as not to endanger the life or property of any
person.

(g) No person shall engage in water skiing in such a
manner as to strike or threaten to strike any person, vessel
or property, and no person shall operate a vessel or
manipulate a tow line or other towing device in such a
manner as to cause a water skier to strike or threaten to
strike another person, vessel or property.

(h) No person shall engage in water skiing and no
person shall operate a vessel towing a person so engaged
within one hundred (100) feet of any person in the water, a
pier, dock, float, wharf, or vessel anchored or adrift, or in
any direction of boat launching ramps, both public and
private.

Section 2. Prohibited Water Skiing Areas.
Water skiing shall be prohibited in the following areas:

(1) The Rehoboth-Lewes Canal, in its entirety;
(2) The channel through Masseys Landing from

Buoy No. 12 off Bluff Point to Buoy No. 19A;
(3) The Assawoman Canal, in its entirety;
(4) The Indian River Inlet between Buoy No. 1 and

the Coast Guard Station;
(5) Roosevelt Inlet from 100 yards off  jetty

entrance to the Canal;
(6) White Creek south of Marker No. 9A; and
(7) Any designated public swimming areas unless

authorized by a special permit issued by the Department.

Section 3. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement Officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person to

willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or
direction of an enforcement officer invested by law with
authority to enforce this regulation.

BR-6. VESSEL SPEED.

Section 1. Safe Boat Speed.
(a) Every vessel shall at all times proceed at a safe speed

so that she can take proper and effective action to avoid
collision and be stopped within a distance appropriate to
the prevailing circumstances and conditions.

(b) The speed of all vessels on the waters of the State
shall be limited to a Slow-No-Wake speed when within 100
feet of:

(1) Any shoreline where “Slow-No-Wake” signs
have been erected by the Department;

(2) Floats;
(3) Docks;
(4) Launching ramps;
(5) Congested beaches;
(6) Swimmers; or
(7) Anchored, moored or drifting vessels.

(c) No person shall operate a vessel at a rate of speed
greater than is reasonable having regard to conditions and
circumstances such as the closeness of the shore and shore
installations, anchored or moored vessels in the vicinity,
width of the channel, and if applicable, vessel traffic and
water use.

Section 2. Responsibility of Operator.
The operator of any vessel on the waters of this State

shall be legally responsible for injuries, damages to life,
limb or property caused by his/her vessel or vessel wake.

Section 3. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement Officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person to

willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or
direction of an enforcement officer invested by law with
authority to enforce this regulation.

BR-7. NEGLIGENT AND GROSSLY NEGLIGENT
OPERATION OF A VESSEL.

Section 1. Negligent or Grossly Negligent Operation.
(a) No person shall operate any vessel on the waters of

the State in a negligent manner.
(b) No person shall operate any vessel on the waters of

the State in a grossly negligent manner.
(c) Depending upon the degree of negligence, the

following shall constitute a violation of subsection (a) or
(b) of this section:

(1) Failure to reduce speed in areas where boating
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is concentrated, endangering life, limb and/or property;

(2) Operating at excessive speed under storm
conditions, in fog or other low-visibility conditions;

(3) Operating at excessive speed when
maneuvering room is restricted by narrow channels or when
vision is obstructed by such things as jetties, land or other
vessels;

(4) Impeding the right-of-way of a stand-on or
privileged vessel so as to endanger risk of collision;

(5) Towing a water skier in a restricted area or
where an obstruction exists;

(6) Operating a vessel within swimming areas when
bathers are present;

(7) Operating a vessel in areas posted as closed to
vessels due to hazardous conditions;

(8) Operating a vessel through an area where a
regatta or marine parade is in progress in a way that could
present a hazard to participants or spectators and interfere
with the safe conduct of the event;

(9) Operating a vessel with any person sitting on
the bow, gunwales or stern with legs hanging over the side;

(10) Operating a vessel or use any water skis while
under the influence of alcohol, any narcotic drug,
barbiturate, marijuana or hallucinogen;

(11) Loading a vessel with passengers or cargo
beyond its safe carrying capacity;

(12) Operating a vessel with an engine of a higher
horsepower rating than the rating noted on the vessel’s
capacity plate or in the manufacturer’s specifications; and

(13) Other actions deemed by an enforcement
officer to be in violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this
regulation.

Section 2. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement Officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person to

willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or
direction of an enforcement officer invested by law with
authority to enforce this regulation.

BR-8. TERMINATION OF UNSAFE USE OF A
VESSEL.

Section 1. Especially Hazardous Conditions.
Especially hazardous conditions warranting termination

of voyage shall include, but not be limited to,:
(1) Insufficient life-saving devices;
(2) Insufficient fire-fighting devices;
(3) Overloaded;
(4) Failure to display required navigation lights;
(5) Fuel leakage (fuel system or engine);
(6) Fuel accumulation (other than fuel tank);
(7) Failure to meet ventilation requirements;
(8) Failure to meet backfire flame control

requirement;
(9) Excessive leakage or accumulation of water

in bilges;
(10) Deteriorated condition of vessel; or
(11) Any other condition deemed hazardous by an

enforcement officer.

Section 2. Enforcement.
(a) Enforcement officers shall, if a violation of this

regulation is observed, and in their judgment such a
deficiency creates an especially hazardous condition to the
occupants of the vessel, direct the operator to take specific
steps to correct the unsafe condition.

(b) Compliance by operator. - Immediate compliance
by the operator is required for safety purposes.  Failure to
comply with the directives of an enforcement officer shall
result in a citation under Section 3 of this regulation as well
as for the specific violation which created the unsafe
condition.

Section 3. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement Officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person to

willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or
direction of an enforcement officer invested by law with
authority to enforce this regulation.

BR-9. MINIMUM REQUIRED EQUIPMENT FOR
VESSELS USING STATE WATERS.

PART A - General.
Section 1. Applicability.

(a) This regulation does not apply to:
(1) Military or public vessels of the United States,

other than recreational-type public vessels; and
(2) A vessel used exclusively as a ship’s lifeboat.

(b) Part B of this regulation prescribes general
provisions applicable to all vessels covered by this
regulation.  Part C prescribes minimum required equipment
for recreational vessels used on the waters of the State.  Part
D prescribes minimum required equipment for vessels other
than recreational vessels that are not required to be
documented.

Section 2. Compliance with Coast Guard Regulations.
Pursuant to § 2114 of Title 23, every vessel shall be

provided with the equipment prescribed by Coast Guard
regulations, and any amendments or changes thereto, even
if such amendments or changes thereto have not been
enacted into law by this State or promulgated as regulations
by the Division.

PART B - Provisions Applicable to All Vessels Covered
by this Regulation.
Section 1. Fire-Extinguishing Equipment.

(a) All hand portable fire extinguishers, semiportable
fire extinguishing systems and fixed fire extinguishing
systems shall be Coast Guard approved pursuant to 46 CFR
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§ 25.30-5.

(b) All required hand portable fire extinguishers and
semiportable fire extinguishing systems shall be of the “B”
type; i.e., suitable for extinguishing fires involving
flammable liquids such as gasoline, oil, etc., where a
blanketing or smothering effect is essential.  The number
designations for size will start with “I” for the smallest to
“V” for the largest.  For the purpose of this regulation, only
sizes I through III will be considered.  Sizes I and II are
considered hand portable fire extinguishers and sizes III,
IV, and V are considered semiportable fire extinguishing
systems which shall be fitted with suitable hose and nozzle
or other practicable means so that all portions of the space
concerned may be covered.  Examples of size graduations
for some of the typical hand portable fire extinguishers and
semiportable fire extinguishing systems are set forth in the
following table:

  TYPE SIZE FOAM CO2 DRY CHEMICAL    H ALON
      (GALLONS)  (POUNDS)      (POUNDS)  (POUNDS)

 B   I  1¼   4  2 2½
 B  II  2½  15  10 10
 B  III  12  35  20  -

(d) All hand portable fire extinguishers and
semiportable fire extinguishing systems shall have
permanently attached thereto a metallic name plate giving
the name of the item, the rated capacity in gallons, quarts,
or pounds, the name and address of the person or firm for
whom approved, and the identifying mark of the actual
manufacturer.

(e) Vaporizing-liquid  type  fire  extinguishers
containing  carbon  tetrachloride or chlorobromomethane
or other toxic vaporing liquids are not acceptable as
equipment required by this part.

(f) Hand portable or semiportable extinguishers which
are required on their name plates to be protected from
freezing shall not be located where freezing temperatures
may be expected.

(g) The use of dry chemical, stored pressure, fire
extinguishers not fitted with pressure gauges or indicating
devices, manufactured prior to January 1, 1965, may be
permitted on motorboats and other vessels so long as such
extinguishers are maintained in good and serviceable
condition. The following maintenance and inspections are
required for such extinguishers:

(1) When the date on the inspection record tag on
the extinguisher shows that 6 months have elapsed since
last weight check ashore, then such extinguisher is no longer
accepted as meeting required maintenance conditions until
reweighed ashore and found to be in a serviceable condition
and within required weight conditions;

(2) If the weight of the container is 3 ounce less
than that stamped on the container, it shall be serviced;

(3) If the outer seal or seals (which indicate
tampering or use when broken) are not intact, an
enforcement officer may inspect such extinguisher to see
that the frangible disc in neck of  the container is intact;
and if such disc is not intact, the container shall be serviced;
and

(4) If there is evidence of damage, use, or leakage,
such as dry chemical powder observed in the nozzle or
elsewhere on the extinguisher, the container shall be
replaced with a new one and the container properly serviced
or the extinguisher replaced with another approved
extinguisher.

(h) Fire extinguishers shall be at all times kept in a
condition for immediate and effective use, and shall be so
placed as to be readily accessible.

Section 2. Backfire Flame Control.
(a) Applicability. - This section applies to every gasoline

engine installed in a motorboat or motor vessel after April
25, 1940, except outboard motors.

(b) Installations made before November 19, 1952, need
not meet the detailed requirements of this section and may
be continued in use as long as they are serviceable and in
good condition.  Replacements shall meet the applicable
requirements of this section.

(c) Installations consisting of backfire flame arrestors
or engine air and fuel induction systems bearing basic
Approval. Nos. 162.015 or 162.041 or engine air and fuel
induction systems bearing basic Approval Nos. 162.015 or
162.042, may be continued in use as long as they are
serviceable and in good condition.  New installations or
replacements shall meet the applicable requirements of this
section.

(d) No person may use a vessel to which this section
applies unless each engine is provided with an acceptable
means of backfire flame control.  The following are
acceptable means of backfire flame control:

(1) A backfire flame arrester complying with
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Standard J-1928
or Underwriters Laboratories (UL) Standard 1111 and
marked accordingly.  The flame arrestor shall be suitably
secured to the air intake with a flame tight connection;

(2) An engine air and fuel induction system which
provides adequate protection from propagation of backfire
flame to the atmosphere equivalent to that provided by an
approved  backfire flame arrester.  A gasoline engine
utilizing an air and fuel induction system, and operated
without an approved backfire flame arrester, shall either
include a reed valve assembly or be installed in accordance
with SAE Standard J-1928; and

(3) An arrangement of the carburetor or engine air
induction system that will disperse any flames caused by
engine backfire.  The flames must be dispersed to the
atmosphere outside the vessel in such a manner that the
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flames will not endanger the vessel, persons on board, or
nearby vessels and structures.  Flame dispersion may be
achieved by attachments to the carburetor or location of
the engine air induction system.  All attachments shall be
of metallic construction with flametight connections and
firmly secured to withstand vibration, shock, and engine
backfire.

(e) No person may use a vessel to which this section
applies unless the backfire flame arrester is serviceable and
in good condition.

Section 3. Ventilation.
(a) Applicability. - This section applies to motorboats,

motor vessels and boats used on the waters of the State and
subject to this regulation.

(b) No person shall operate a motorboat or motor vessel,
except an open boat, built after April 25, 1940, and before
August 1, 1980, which uses fuel having a flashpoint of 110°
F., or less, without every engine and fuel tank compartment
being equipped with a natural ventilation system.  A natural
ventilation system consists of:

(1) At least two ventilator ducts, fitted with cowls
or their equivalent, for the efficient removal of explosive
or flammable gases from the bilges of every engine and
fuel tank compartment;

(2) At least one exhaust duct installed so as to
extend from the open atmosphere to the lower portion of
the bilge and at least one intake duct that is installed to
extend to a point at least midway to the bilge or at least
below the level of the carburetor air intake; and

(3) The cowls shall be located and trimmed for
maximum effectiveness and in such a manner so as to
prevent displaced fumes from being recirculated.

(c) Boats built after July 31, 1978, shall be exempt from
the requirements of subsection (a) of this section for fuel
tank compartments that:

(1) Contain a permanently installed fuel tank if each
electrical component is ignition protected in accordance
with 33 CFR § 183.410(a); and

(2) Contain fuel tanks that vent to the outside of
the motorboat or motor vessel.

(d) Boats built after July 31, 1980, or which are in
compliance with the Coast Guard Ventilation Standard, a
manufacturer requirement (33 CFR §§ 183.610 and
183.620), shall be exempt from the requirements of
subsections (b) and (d) of this section.

(e) No person shall operate a boat after July 31, 1980,
that has a gasoline engine for electrical generation,
mechanical power or propulsion unless it is equipped with
an operable ventilation system that meets the requirements
of 33 CFR § 183.610(a), (b), (d), (e) and (f) and 183.6209(a).

(f) Boat owners shall maintain their boats’ ventilation
systems in good operating condition (regardless of the boat’s
date of manufacture).

Section 4. Whistles and Bells.
(a) A vessel of 12 meters (39.4 ft.) or more in length

shall be equipped with a whistle and a bell.  The whistle
and bell shall comply with the specifications in Annex III
to the Inland Navigation Rules (33 CFR Part 86).  The bell
may be replaced by other equipment having the same
respective sound characteristics, provided that manual
sounding of the prescribed signals shall always be possible.

(b) A vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in length
shall be equipped with a whistle or horn, or some other
sounding device capable of making an efficient sound
signal.

Section 5. Visual Distress Signals.
(a) Applicability. - This section applies to all boats

operated on the coastal waters of this State and those waters
connected directly to them (i.e., bays, sounds, harbors,
rivers, inlets, etc.) where any entrance exceeds 2 nautical
miles between opposite shorelines to the first point where
the largest distance between shorelines narrows to 2 miles.

(b) Prohibition. - Unless exempted by subsection (c)
of this section, no person may use a boat to which this
section applies unless visual distress signals, approved by
the Commandant of the Coast Guard under 46 CFR Part
160 or certified by the manufacturer under 46 CFR Parts
160 and 161, in the number required, are on board.  Devices
suitable for day use and devices suitable for night use, or
devices suitable for both day and night use, shall be carried.

(c) Exemptions. - The following boats shall be exempt
from the carriage requirements of subsection (b) of this
section between sunrise and sunset, but between sunset and
sunrise, visual distress signals suitable for night use, in the
number required, shall be on board:

(1) Boats less than 16 feet in length;
(2) Boats participating in organized events such

as races, regattas, or marine parades;
(3) Open sailboats less than 26 feet in length not

equipped with propulsion machinery; and
(4) Manually propelled boats.

(d) Launchers. - When a visual distress signal carried
to meet the requirements of this section requires a launcher
to activate, then a launcher approved by the Coast Guard
under 46 CFR -160.028 shall also be carried.  Launchers
manufactured before January 1, 1981, which do not have
approval numbers are acceptable for use with meteor or
parachute signals as long as they remain in serviceable
condition.

(e) Visual distress signals accepted. - Any of the
following signals when carried in the number required, can
be used to meet the requirements of this section:

(1) An electric distress light meeting the standards
of 46 CFR § 161.013.  One is required to meet the night
only requirement;

(2) An orange flag meeting the standards of 46 CFR
§ 160.072.  One is required to meet the day only
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requirement;

(3) Pyrotechnics meeting the standards noted in
the following table:

 APPROVAL NO.     DEVICE        MEETS REQUIRE-     NO. REQUIRED
  UNDER 46 CFR  DESCRIPTION MENTS FOR
  § 160.021 Hand-Held Red Flares1 Day and Night 3
  § 160.022 Floating Orange Smoke Day Only 3
  § 160.024 Parachute Red Flare2 Day and Night 3
  § 160.036 Hand-Held Rocket-

Propelled Parachute Day and Night 3
Red Flare

  § 160.037 Hand-Held Orange
  Smoke Day Only 3

  § 160.057 Floating Orange Smoke Day Only 3
  § 160.066 Red Aerial Pyrotechnic

Flare3 Day and Night 3

1 Must have manufacture date of October 1980 or later.
2 These signals require use in combination with a suitable
launching device.
3 These devices may be either meteor or parachute assisted
type.  some of these signals may require use in combination
with a suitable launching device.

(f) Any combination of signal devices selected from
the types noted in paragraphs (e)(1), (2) and (3) of this
section, when carried in the number required, may be used
to meet both day and night requirements.  (Examples: the
combination of two hand-held red flares, and one parachute
red flare meets both day and night requirements; and three
hand-held orange smoke with one electric distress light meet
both day and night requirements.)

(g) Stowage, serviceability, approval and marking. -
No person may use a boat unless the visual distress signals
required by this section are:

(1) Readily accessible;
(2) In serviceable condition and the service life of

the signal, if indicated by a date marked on the signal, has
not expired;

(3) Legibly marked with the approval number or
certification statement as specified in 46 CFR Parts 160
and 161; and

(4) In sufficient quantity as required by the Coast
Guard.

(h) Prohibited use. - No person in a boat shall display
a visual distress signal on waters to which this section
applies under any circumstance except a situation where
assistance is needed because of immediate or potential
danger to the persons on board.

PART C - Minimum Required Equipment for
Recreational-Type Vessels.
Section 1. Personal Flotation Devices.

(a) Except as provided in Section 2 of this part, no
person may use a recreational vessel unless at least one PFD
of the following types is on board for each person:

(1) Type I PFD;
(2) Type II PFD; or

(3) Type III PFD.
(b) No person may use a recreational vessel 16 feet or

more in length unless one Type IV PFD is on board in
addition to the total number of PFD’s required in subsection
(a) of this section.

(c) A Type V PFD may be carried in lieu of any PFD
required under subsections (a) and (b) of this section,
provided:

(1) The approval label on the Type V PFD indicates
that the device is approved:

(a) For the activity in which the vessel is being
used; or

(b) As a substitute for a PFD of the Type
required in the vessel in use;

(2) The PFD is used in accordance with any
requirements on the approval label; and

(3) The PFD is used in accordance with
requirements in its owner’s manual, if the approval label
makes reference to such a manual.

(d) A Type V hybrid PFD may satisfy the carriage
requirements provided it is worn except when the boat is
not underway or when the user is below deck.

Section 2. Exceptions.
(a) Canoes and kayaks 16 feet in length and over are

exempted from the requirements for carriage of the
additional Type IV PFD required under Section 1(b) of this
part.

(b) Racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes and
racing kayaks are exempted from the requirements for
carriage of any Type PFD required under Section 1 of this
part.

(c) Sailboards are exempted from the requirements for
carriage of any Type PFD required under Section 1 of this
part.

Section 3. Stowage, Condition, and Marking of PFDs.
(a) No person may use a recreational vessel unless each

Type I, II, or III PFD required by Section 1(a) of this part,
or equivalent Type allowed by Section 1(c) of this part, is
readily accessible.

(b) No person may use a recreational vessel unless each
Type IV PFD required by Section 1(c) of this part, or
equivalent Type allowed by Section 1(c) of this part, is
immediately available.

(c) No person may use a recreational vessel unless each
PFD required by Section 2(c) of this part or allowed by
Section 1(b) of this part is:

(1) In serviceable condition, as defined by 33 CFR
§ 175.23;

(2) Of an appropriate size and fit for the intended
wearer, as marked on the approval label; and

(3) Legibly marked with its Coast Guard approval
number, as specified in 46 CFR Part 160.
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Section 4. Fire-Extinguishing Equipment Required.

(a) Motorboats less than 26 feet in length with no fixed
fire extinguishing system installed in machinery spaces shall
carry at least one Type B-I approved hand portable fire
extinguisher.  When an approved fixed fire extinguishing
system is installed in machinery spaces, a portable
extinguisher is not required.  If the construction of the
motorboat does not permit the entrapment of explosive or
flammable gases or vapors, no fire extinguisher is required.

(b) Motorboats 26 feet to less than 40 feet in length
shall carry at least two Type B-I approved hand portable
fire extinguishers or at least one Type B-II approved
portable fire extinguisher.  When an approved fixed fire
extinguishing system is installed, one less Type B-I
extinguisher is required.

(c) Motorboats 40 feet to not more than 65 feet in length
shall carry at least three Type B-I approved hand portable
fire extinguishers or at least one Type B-I and one Type B-
II approved portable fire extinguisher.  When an approved
fixed fire extinguishing system is installed, one less Type
B-I extinguisher is required.

(d) Motorboats 65 feet and over used for recreational
purposes shall carry fire extinguishing equipment as
prescribed under Section 3(b) of Part D of this regulation.

(e) Motorboats are required to carry fire extinguishers
if any one of the following conditions exist:

(1) Inboard engines;
(2) Closed compartments and compartments under

seats wherein portable fuel tanks may be stored;
(3) Double bottoms not sealed to the hull or which

are not completely filled with flotation material;
(4) Closed living spaces;
(5) Closed stowage compartments in which

combustible or flammable materials are stowed; or
(6) Permanently installed fuel tanks.  (Fuel tanks

secured so they cannot be moved in case of fire or other
emergency are considered permanently installed.)

(f) Motorboats contracted for prior to November 19,
1952, shall meet the applicable provisions of this section
insofar as the number and general type of equipment is
concerned.  Existing items of equipment and installations
previously approved but not meeting the applicable
requirements for type approval may be continued in service
so long as they are in good condition.  All new installations
and replacements shall meet the requirements of this section.

PART D - Life-Saving Equipment for Commercial
Vessels not Documented.

Section 1. Applicability.
This part applies to each vessel to which this regulation

applies except:
(1) Vessels used for non-commercial use;
(2) Vessels leased, rented, or charted to another

for the latter’s non-commercial use; or
(3) Commercial vessels propelled by sail not

carrying passengers for hire; or
(4) Commercial barges not carrying passengers for

hire.

Section 2. Life Preservers and Other Life-Saving
Equipment Required.

(a) No person may operate a vessel to which Section 1
of this part applies unless it meets the requirements of this
section.

(b) Each vessel not carrying passengers for hire, less
than 40 feet in length, shall have at least one life preserver
(Type I PFD), buoyant vest (Type II PFD), or marine
buoyant device intended to be worn (Type III PFD), of a
suitable size for each person on board.  Kapok and fibrous
glass life preservers which do not have plastic-covered pad
inserts as required by 46 CFR §§ 160.062 and 160.005 are
not acceptable as equipment required by this subsection.

(c) Each vessel carrying passengers for hire and each
vessel 40 feet in length or longer not carrying passengers
for hire shall have at least one life preserver (Type I PFD)
of a suitable size for each person on board.  Kapok and
fibrous glass life preservers which do not have plastic-
covered pad inserts as required by 46 CFR §§ 160.062 and
160.005 are not acceptable as equipment required by this
subsection.

(d) In addition to the equipment required by subsection
(b) or (c) of this section, each vessel 26 feet in length or
longer shall have at least one Coast Guard approved ring
life buoy.

(e) Each vessel not carrying passengers for hire may
substitute an exposure suit (or immersion suit) for a life
preserver, buoyant vest, or marine buoyant device required
under subsection (b) or (c) of this section.  Each exposure
suit carried in accordance with this paragraph shall be Coast
Guard approved.

(f) On each vessel, regardless of length and regardless
of whether carrying passengers for hire, a commercial
hybrid PFD may be substituted for a life preserver, buoyant
vest, or marine buoyant device required under subsection
(b) or (c) of this section if it is:

(1) In the case of a Type V commercial hybrid PFD,
worn when the vessel is underway and the intended wearer
is not within an enclosed space;

(2) Used in accordance with the conditions marked
on the PFD and in the owner’s manual; and

(3) Labeled for use on uninspected commercial
vessels.

(g) The life-saving equipment required by this section
shall be legibly marked.

(h) The life-saving equipment designed to be worn
required in subsections (b), (c) and (e) of this section shall
be readily accessible.
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(i) The life-saving equipment designed to be thrown

required by subsection (d) of this section shall be
immediately available.

(j) The life-saving equipment required by this section
shall be in serviceable condition.

Section 3. Fire-Extinguishing Equipment Required.
(a) Motorboats.

(1) Motorboats less than 26 feet in length shall
abide by Section 4(a) of Part C of this regulation.

(2) Motorboats 26 feet in length to less than 40
feet in length shall abide by Section 4(b) of Part C of this
regulation.

(3) Motorboats 40 feet in length to less than 65
feet in length shall abide by Section 4(c) of Part C of this
regulation.

(b) Motor Vessels.
(1) Motor vessels less than 50 gross tonnage shall

carry one Type B-II approved hand portable fire
extinguisher.

(2) Motor vessels 50 and not over 100 gross
tonnage shall carry two Type B-II approved hand portable
fire extinguishers.

(3) Motor vessels 100 and not over 500 gross
tonnage shall carry three Type B-II approved hand portable
fire extinguishers.

(4) Motor vessels 500 but not over 1,000 gross
tonnage shall carry six Type B-II approved hand portable
fire extinguishers.

(5) Motor vessels over 1,000 gross tonnage shall
carry eight Type B-II approved hand portable fire
extinguishers.

(c) In addition to the hand portable fire extinguishers
required by subsection (b) of this section, the following fire-
extinguishing equipment shall be fitted in the machinery
space:

(1) One Type B-II hand portable fire extinguisher
shall be carried for each 1,000 B. H. P. of the main engines
or fraction thereof.  However, not more than six such
extinguishers need be carried.

(2) On motor vessels over 300 gross tons, either
one Type B-III semiportable fire-extinguishing system shall
be fitted, or alternatively, a fixed fire-extinguishing system
shall be fitted in the machinery space.

(d) Barges carrying passengers.
(1) Every barge 65 feet in length or less while

carrying passengers when towed or pushed  by a motorboat,
motor vessel or steam vessel shall be fitted with hand
portable fire extinguishers as required by this Section 4 of
Part C of this regulation, depending upon the length of the
barge.

(2) Every barge over 65 feet in length while
carrying passengers when towed or pushed by a motorboat,
motor vessel or steam vessel shall be fitted with hand

portable fire extinguishers as required by this section,
depending upon the gross tonnage of the barge.

Section 2. Obedience to orders by enforcement officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person to

willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or
direction of an enforcement officer invested by law with
authority to enforce this regulation.

BR-10. BOAT RAMPS AND PARKING LOTS
ADMINISTERED BY DIVISION.

Section 1. Applicability.
This regulation applies to boat ramps, parking lots and

seawalls or other mooring facilities administered by the
Division.

Section 2. Boat Ramps and Mooring Facilities.
(a) Whoever uses a boat ramp, seawall or other mooring

facility shall do so on a first-come, first-serve basis.
(b) No person shall leave a vessel unattended at any

seawall or other mooring facility. Disabled vessels shall
clear the area as soon as possible.

(c) No person shall use any seawall or other mooring
facility except for vessels loading and unloading and as a
holding area for vessels waiting to use boat ramps.

(d) No person shall moor or conduct repairs to a vessel
in any area which interferes with vessel traffic at a boat
ramp.  Ramp space shall be kept clear at all times for usage
of vessels being launched or recovered.

(e) Vessels left abandoned at any seawall or other
mooring facility or found adrift shall be removed at the
owner’s expense.  Vessels left unattended at any seawall or
other mooring facility in excess of 48 hours without
contacting the Division or a Fish and Wildlife Agent shall
be deemed abandoned.

Section 3. Parking Lots.
(a) No person shall park a vehicle or boat trailer in an

undesignated parking space.
(b) No person shall park, stop or stand a vehicle or

boat trailer in front of a boat ramp except in designated
areas.

(c) No person shall park a vehicle or boat trailer in such
a manner as to impede traffic.

(d) No person shall camp overnight in a parking lot.
(e) No person shall abandon a vehicle or boat trailer in

a parking lot.  If a vehicle or boat trailer is abandoned, it
will be removed at the owner’s expense.  Vehicles or boat
trailers left unattended in a parking lot for in excess of 48
hours without contacting the Division or a Fish and Wildlife
Agent shall be deemed abandoned.

(f) Operators of emergency vehicles shall have priority
over all other vehicles.  Vessel operators shall clear passage
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for emergency vehicles on their approach or when directed
by an enforcement officer.

Section 4. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement Officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person to

willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or
direction of an enforcement officer invested by law with
authority to enforce this regulation.

BR-11. NAVIGATION LIGHTS.

Section 1. Applicability.
(a) Except for vessels used by enforcement officers for

law enforcement purposes, this regulation applies to all
vessels used on the waters of this State.

(b) Vessels over 20 meters (65.6 ft.) in length and
vessels listed below shall display lights and exhibit shapes
in accordance with the International or Inland Navigation
Rules and Annexes (Commandant Instruction M16672.2C):

(1) Vessels towing, pushing, or being towed or
pushed;

(2) Vessels engaged in fishing;
(3) Vessels not under command;
(4) Vessels restricted in their ability to maneuver;
(5) Pilot vessels; or
(6) Air-cushion vessels.

Section 2. Visibility of lights.
(a) The lights required by this section shall have an

intensity so as to be visible at the following ranges:
(1) In a vessel of 12 meters (39.4 ft.) or more in

length but less than 50 meters (164 ft.) in length:
(a) a masthead light, 5 miles; except that where

the length of the vessel is less than 20 meters (65.6 ft.), 3
miles;

(b) a sidelight, 2 miles;
(c) a sternlight, 2 miles;
(d) a towing light, 2 miles;
(e) a white, red, green or yellow all-round light,

2 miles; and
(f) a special flashing light, 2 miles.

(2) In a vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in length:
(a) a masthead light, 2 miles;
(b) a sidelight, 1 mile;
(c) a sternlight, 2 miles;
(d) a towing light, 2 miles;
(e) a white, red, green or yellow all-round light,

2 miles; and
(f) a special flashing light, 2 miles.

Section 3. Prohibition.
(a) No person may use a vessel to which this regulation

applies without carrying and exhibiting the lights required
in Section 4 of this regulation and of the intensity required

in Section 2 of this regulation:
(1) When underway or at anchor;
(2) In all weathers from sunset to sunrise; and
(3) During times of restricted visibility.

(b) No person may use a vessel to which this regulation
applies which exhibits other lights which may be mistaken
for those required in Section 4 of this regulation during
such time as navigation lights are required.

(c) No person may use a vessel to which this regulation
applies unless it carries and exhibits the light or day shapes
required in the International or Inland Navigational Rules
and Annexes  (Commandant Instruction M16672.2C) for
vessels used under special circumstances defined therein.

Section 4. Navigation Lights Required.
(a) Power-driven vessels underway in international and

inland waters shall exhibit:
(1) A masthead light forward;
(2) A second masthead light abaft of and higher

than the forward one; except that in inland waters a vessel
of less than 50 meters (164 ft.) in length shall not be obliged
to exhibit such light but may do so;

(3) Sidelights; and
(4) A sternlight.

(b) Power-driven vessels underway in international
waters:

(1) Power-driven vessels of less than 12 meters
(39.4 ft.) in length may in lieu of the lights prescribed in
subsection (a) of this section exhibit an all-round white light
and sidelights;

(2) Power-driven vessels of less than 7 meters (23
ft.) in length whose maximum speed does not exceed 7 knots
may in lieu of the lights prescribed in subsection (a) of this
section exhibit an all-round white light and shall, if
practicable, also exhibit sidelights; and

(3) The masthead light or all-round white light on
a power-driven vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in
length may be displaced from the fore and aft centerline of
the vessel if centerline fitting is not practicable, provided
that the sidelights are combined in one lantern which shall
be carried on the fore and aft centerline of the vessel or
located as nearly as practicable in the same fore and aft line
as the masthead light or the all-round white light.

(c) Power-driven vessels underway in inland waters
shall exhibit the same light for vessels in subsection (a) of
this section except:

(1) A vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in
length may, in lieu of the lights prescribed in subsection
(a) of this section, exhibit an all-round white light and
sidelights.

(2) A vessel of less than 20 meters (65.6 ft.) in
length need not exhibit the masthead light forward of
amidships but shall exhibit it as far forward as practicable.

(d) Sailing vessels underway and vessels under oars in
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international and inland waters:

(1) A sailing vessel underway shall exhibit:
(a) Sidelights; and
(b) A sternlight;

(2) In a sailing vessel of less than 20 meters (65.6
ft.) in length, the lights prescribed in paragraph (d)(1) of
this section may be combined in one lantern carried at or
near the top of the mast where it can best be seen.

(3) A sailing vessel underway may, in addition to
the lights prescribed in paragraph (d)(1) of this section,
exhibit at or near the top of the mast, where they can best
be seen, two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper
being red and the lower being green, but these lights shall
not be exhibited in conjunction with the combined lantern
permitted in paragraph (d)(2) of this section.

(4) A sailing vessel of less than 7 meters (23 ft.) in
length shall, if practicable, exhibit the lights prescribed in
paragraph (d)(1) or (2) of this section, but if she does not,
she shall have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted
lantern showing a white light which shall be exhibited in
sufficient time to prevent collision.

(5) A vessel under oars may exhibit the lights
prescribed in this section for sailing vessels,  but if she does
not, she shall have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted
lantern showing a white light which shall be exhibited in
sufficient time to prevent collision.

(6) A vessel proceeding under sail when also being
propelled by machinery shall exhibit forward where it can
best be seen a conical shape, apex downward. When upon
inland waters, a vessel of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in
length is not required to exhibit this shape.

(e) Anchored vessels:
(1) International and Inland. - Vessels at

permanent moorings are not required to display an anchor
light.

(2) International and Inland. - A vessel of less than
50 meters (164 ft.) in length at anchor shall exhibit an all-
round white light where it can best be seen or:

(a) In the fore part, an all-round white light or
one ball; and

(b) At or near the stern and at a lower level
than the light prescribed in subparagraph (2)(a) of this
subsection, an all-round white light.

(3) Inland. - A vessel of less than 7 meters (23 ft.)
in length, when at anchor, not in or near a narrow channel,
fairway, anchorage, or where other vessels normally
navigate, shall not be required to exhibit the lights or shapes
prescribed in paragraph (d)(2) of this section.

Section 5. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement Officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person to

willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or
direction of an enforcement officer invested by law with
authority to enforce this regulation.

BR-12. ANCHORING AND OBSTRUCTING
NAVIGATION.

Section 1. Applicability.
This regulation applies to all vessels or other objects

used or placed on the waters of this State.

Section 2. Anchoring.
(a) No person shall anchor a vessel or other object in a

navigable channel or allow any equipment from an anchored
vessel to extend into the channel and subsequently interfere
with passage of any other vessel.

(b) No person shall anchor a vessel in such a manner
as to obstruct or otherwise obscure navigation aids.

(c) No person shall anchor a vessel or allow any
equipment from an anchored vessel to obstruct or otherwise
interfere with passage or any other vessel near:

(1) A boat launching facility;
(2) A marina entrance;
(3) The entrance to any canal or waterway;
(4) A permanent mooring facility; or
(5) A vessel docking facility.

(d) No person shall place any item or equipment in a
navigable channel so as to obstruct or otherwise impede or
interfere with the passage of a vessel.

Section 3. Obedience to Orders by Enforcement Officers.
It shall be a violation of this regulation for a person to

willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or
direction of an enforcement officer invested by law with
authority to enforce this regulation.

APPENDIX A
ISSUING AUTHORITIES

(a) The state is the issuing authority and reporting
authority in:

Alabama (AL) Montana (MT)
American Samoa (AS) Nebraska (NB)
Arizona (AZ) Nevada (NV)
Arkansas (AR) New Hampshire (NH)
California (CF) New Jersey (NJ)
Colorado (CL) New Mexico (NM)
Connecticut (CT) New York (NY)
Delaware (DL) North Carolina (NC)
District of Columbia (DC) North Dakota (ND)
Florida (FL) Ohio (OH)
Georgia (GA) Oklahoma (OK)
Guam (GM) Oregon (OR)
Hawaii (HA) Pennsylvania (PA)
Idaho (ID) Puerto Rico (PR)
Illinois (IL) Rhode Island (RI)
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Indiana (IN) South Carolina (SC)
Iowa (IA)  South Dakota (SD)
Kansas (KA)  Tennessee (TN)
Kentucky (KY)  Texas (TX)
Louisiana (LA)  Utah (UT)
Maine (ME) Vermont (VT)
Maryland (MD) Virginia (VA)
Massachusetts (MS) Virgin Islands (VI)
Michigan (MC) Washington (WN)
Minnesota (MN) West Virginia (WV)
Mississippi (MI)  Wisconsin (WS)
Missouri (MO) Wyoming (WY)

(b) The Coast Guard is the issuing authority and
reporting authority in:

Alaska (AK)

(c) The abbreviations following the names of the states
listed in the paragraphs (a) and (b) are the two capital letters
that must be used in the number format to denote the state
of principal use.

APPENDIX  B
ONE YEAR CYCLE

  COLOR YEAR ISSUED YEAR EXPIRES
Blue 1997 1997
Orange 1998 1998
Green 1999 1999
Red 2000 2000
Blue 2001 2001
Orange 2002 2002

TWO YEAR CYCLE

  COLOR YEAR ISSUED YEAR EXPIRES
Red 1996 1997
Blue 1997 1998
Orange 1998 1999
Green 1999 2000
Red 2000 2001
Blue 2001 2002

THREE YEAR CYCLE

  COLOR YEAR ISSUED YEAR EXPIRES
Green 1995 1997
Red 1996 1998
Blue 1997 1999
Orange 1998 2000
Green 1999 2001
Red 2000 2002

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF AIR & W ASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:

REGULATION 38 - EMISSION STANDARDS FOR
HAZARDOUS AIR POLLUTANTS FOR SOURCE
CATEGORIES

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

The Department is proposing to, through Regulation 38,
adopt the National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants for Source Categories found at 40 CFR Part 63
Subparts A and Q by reference.

Subpart A establishes the general compliance, notification,
testing, recordkeeping and reporting requirements common
to all of the National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants for Source Categories.  Subpart A will apply to any
owner or operator of a stationary source that is or will be
subject to any standard, limitation, prohibition or other
federal requirements established at 40 CFR Part 63 that is
adopted by the State of Delaware.

Subpart Q establishes the specific requirements applicable to
certain owners or operators of new or existing industrial
process cooling towers that operated with chromium-based
water treatment chemicals on or after September 8, 1994.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:  7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:  None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:

The public hearing on proposed Regulation 38 will be held on
Wednesday, April 8, 1998, beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the
Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway,

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/air_wste.htm
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Dover, DE.  For information concerning the hearing the
public should call Mr. Jim Snead at (302) 323-4542

7. PREPARED BY:

James R. Snead,  (302) 323-4542 , February 12, 1998

REGULATION NO. 38

EMISSION STANDARDS FOR HAZARDOUS
AIR POLLUTANTS FOR SOURCE CATEGORIES

2/3/98
OVERVIEW

Title III of the Clean Air Act Amendments of November
15, 1990 revised Section 112 of the 1970 Clean Air Act that
addressed hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) and changed the
way that  these pollutants were to be regulated.  Title III
identified the specific HAPs and established the regulatory
approach that the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA) would take to control their emissions from stationary
sources.

The EPA is initially required to promulgate emission
standards that are based on the  maximum achievable control
technology (MACT) for categories or subcategories of
sources according to a Congress-mandated schedule.  Within
eight years of promulgating these MACT-based standards,
the EPA is required to address the remaining or residual risk
by promulgating, if needed, standards necessary to provide an
ample margin of safety to protect public health or to prevent
an adverse environmental effect.  The initial MACT-based
regulations are at 40 CFR Part 63.

The Department is adopting these regulations in response
to 7 Del. C., Chapter 60.

2/3/98
Subpart A General Provisions

The provisions of Subpart A - General Provisions, of
Title 40, Part 63 of the Code of Federal Regulations, as set
forth in Vol. 59 of the Federal Register, page 12430 et seq,
dated March 16, 1994, as amended in Vol. 59, page 19453 et
seq, dated April 22, 1994; Vol. 59, page 62589 et seq, dated
December 6, 1994; Vol. 60, page 4963 et seq, dated January
25, 1995; Vol. 60, page 33122, dated June 27, 1995; Vol. 60,
page 45980 et seq, dated September 1, 1995; Vol. 61, page
25399 et seq, dated May 21, 1996; and Vol. 61, page 66227 et
seq, dated December 17, 1996,  are hereby adopted by
reference with the following changes:

(a) The provisions of Subpart A of this regulation
(Regulation 38) apply to owners or operators who are or may

be subject to a subsequent subpart(s) of this regulation, except
when otherwise specified in that subsequent subpart(s).

(b) Except as shown in Table A-1 of this subpart,
”Department“  shall replace each of the following:

(1) AAdministrator@;
(2) AAdministrator or by a State with an approved

permit program@;
(3) AAdministrator (or a State with an approved

permit program)@;
(4) AAdministrator (or the State with an approved

permit program)@;
(5) AAdministrator (or a State)@; and
(6) AAdministrator (or the State)@.

(c) Paragraph 63.1(b)(2) shall be replaced with the
following language: AIn addition to complying with the
provisions of this part, the owner or operator of any such
source may be required to obtain, revise or amend permits
issued to stationary sources by an authorized State air
pollution control agency or an operating permit by the
Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA) pursuant to title V of the Act (42 U.S.C. 7661). For
more information about obtaining permits, see Regulations 2,
25 and 30 of the State of Delaware ARegulations Governing
the Control of Air Pollution@ or part 70 of this chapter,
whichever is applicable.@

(d) The definition of Administrator found in Section
63.2 shall be replaced with the following language:
AAdministrator means the Administrator of the United States
Environmental Protection Agency.@

(e) The last sentence in the definition of Affected source
found in Section 63.2 shall be deleted.

(f) The definition of Department is added to list of
definitions found in Section 63.2 with the following
language: ADepartment means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control as defined in Title 29,
Delaware Code, Chapter 80, as amended.@

(g) The definition of Part 70 permit found in Section
63.2 shall be replaced with the following language: APart 70
permit means any permit issued, renewed, or revised pursuant
to Regulation 30 of the State of Delaware ARegulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution@ @.

(h) The definition of Permit Modification found in
Section 63.2 shall be replaced with the following language:
APermit modification means a change to a title V permit as
defined in regulations codified in this chapter to implement
title V of the Act (42 U.S.C. 7661) or Regulation 30 of the
State of Delaware ARegulations Governing the Control of Air
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Pollution@, whichever is applicable.@

(i) The definition of Permit Revision found in Section
63.2 shall be replaced with the following language: APermit
revision means any permit modification or administrative
permit amendment to a title V permit as defined in regulations
codified in this chapter to implement title V of the Act (42
U.S.C. 7661) or Regulation 30 of the State of Delaware
ARegulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution@,
whichever is applicable.@

(j) The Responsible Official definition (4) found in
Section 63.2 shall be replaced with the following language:  A
For affected sources (as defined in this part) applying for or
subject to a title V permit: Aresponsible official@ shall have the
same meaning as defined in Regulation 30 of the State of
Delaware ARegulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution@ or Federal title V regulations in this chapter (42
U.S.C. 7661), whichever is applicable.@

(k) Paragraph 63.4(a)(1)(ii) shall be replaced with the
following language: AAn extension of compliance granted
under this part by the Department; or@.

(l) Paragraph 63.5(b)(3) shall be replaced with the
following language: AAfter the effective date of any relevant
standard promulgated by the Administrator under this part,
whether or not an approved permit program is effective in the
State in which an affected source is (or would be) located, no
person may construct a new major affected source or
reconstruct a major affected source subject to such standard,
or reconstruct a source such that the source becomes a major
affected source subject to the standard, without obtaining
written approval, in advance, from the Department in
accordance with the procedures specified in paragraphs (d)
and (e) of this section.@

(m) The last sentence in paragraphs 63.5(b)(4) and
63.9(b)(5) shall be replaced with the following language:
AThe application for approval of construction or reconstruction
required in Sec. 63.5(b)(3) may be used to fulfill the
notification requirements of this paragraph.@

(n) The first sentence in paragraph 63.5(d)(1)(i) shall be
replaced with the following language: AAn owner or operator
who is subject to the requirements of paragraph (b)(3) of this
section shall submit to the Department an application for
approval of the construction of a new major affected source,
the reconstruction of a major affected source, or the
reconstruction of a source such that the source becomes a
major affected source subject to the standard.@

(o) Paragraph 63.5(e)(5)(i) shall be replaced with the
following language: A Relieve an owner or operator of legal

responsibility for compliance with any applicable provisions
of this part or with any other applicable Federal, State, or local
requirement, including, but not limited to the requirement to
obtain construction permits under Regulation 2 or 25 of the
State of Delaware ARegulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution@, before commencing construction or reconstruction;
or@.

(p) Paragraphs 63.5(e)(5)(ii), 63.7(c)(3)(iii)(B) and
63.8(e)(3)(vi)(B) shall be replaced with the following
language: APrevent the Administrator from implementing or
enforcing this part or taking any other action under the Act or
Department from implementing or enforcing this regulation
or taking any other action under 7 Del. C., Chapter 60.@

(q) Paragraph 63.6(g)(2) shall be replaced with the
following language: AAn owner or operator requesting
permission under this paragraph shall, unless otherwise
specified in an applicable subpart, submit to the
Administrator and Department a proposed test plan or the
results of testing and monitoring in accordance with Sec. 63.7
and Sec. 63.8, a description of the procedures followed in
testing or monitoring, and a description of pertinent
conditions during testing or monitoring. Any testing or
monitoring conducted to request permission to use an
alternative nonopacity emission standard shall be appropriately
quality assured and quality controlled, as specified in Sec.
63.7 and Sec. 63.8.@

(r) Paragraph 63.6(h)(9)(i) shall be replaced with the
following language: AIf the Department finds under
paragraph (h)(8) of this section that an affected source is in
compliance with all relevant standards for which initial
performance tests were conducted under Sec. 63.7, but during
the time such performance tests were conducted fails to meet
any relevant opacity emission standard, the owner or operator
of such source may petition the Administrator (with copy to
the Department) to make appropriate adjustment to the
opacity emission standard for the affected source. Until the
Administrator notifies the owner or operator of the
appropriate adjustment, the relevant opacity  emission
standard remains applicable.@

(s) Paragraph 63.6(i)(4)(i)(A) shall be replaced with the
following language: AThe owner or operator of an existing
source who is unable to comply with a relevant standard es-
tablished under this part pursuant to section 112(d) of the Act
may request that the Department grant an extension allowing
the source up to 1 additional year to comply with the stan-
dard, if such additional period is necessary for the installa-
tion of controls. An additional extension of up to 3 years may
be added for mining waste operations, if the 1-year extension
of compliance is insufficient to dry and cover mining waste
in order to reduce emissions of any hazardous air pollutant.
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The owner or operator of an affected source who has requested
an extension of compliance under this paragraph and who is
otherwise required to obtain a title V permit shall apply for
such permit or apply to have the source’s title V permit re-
vised to incorporate the conditions of the extension of com-
pliance. The conditions of an extension of compliance granted
under this paragraph will be incorporated into the affected
source’s title V permit according to the provisions of Regula-
tion 30 of the State of Delaware ARegulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution” or Federal title V regulations in this
chapter (42 U.S.C. 7661), whichever are applicable.”

(t) Paragraph 63.6(i)(16) shall be replaced with the
following language: AThe granting of an extension under this
section shall not abrogate the Administrator=s authority under
section 114 of the Act or Department=s authority under 7 Del.
C., Chapter 60.@

(u) Paragraph 63.7(a)(3) shall be replaced with the
following language: AThe Administrator or Department may
require an owner or operator to conduct performance tests at
the affected source at any other time when the action is
authorized by section 114 of the Act or by Regulation 17 of
the State of Delaware ARegulations Governing the Control of
Air Pollutants@, respectively.@

(v) Paragraph 63.7(b)(2) shall be replaced with the
following language: AIn the event the owner or operator is
unable to conduct the performance test on the date specified
in the notification requirement specified in paragraph (b)(1)
of this section, due to unforeseeable circumstances beyond
his or her control, the owner or operator shall notify the
Department within 5 days prior to the scheduled performance
test date and specify the date when the performance test is
rescheduled. This notification of delay in conducting the
performance test shall not relieve the owner or operator of
legal responsibility for compliance with any other applicable
provisions of this part or with any other applicable Federal,
State, or local requirement, nor will it prevent the
Administrator from implementing or enforcing this part or
taking any other action under the Act or Department from
implementing or enforcing this regulation or taking any other
action under 7 Del. C., Chapter 60.@

(w) Paragraph 63.7(c)(3)(ii)(B) shall be replaced with
the following language: AIf the owner or operator intends to
demonstrate compliance by using an alternative to any test
method specified in the relevant standard, the owner or
operator shall refrain from conducting the performance test
until the Department approves the site-specific test plan (if
review of the site-specific test plan is requested) following the
Administrator=s approval of the use of the alternative method.
If the  Department does not approve the site-specific test plan
(if review is requested) within 30 days before the test is

scheduled to begin, the performance test dates specified in
paragraph (a) of this section may be extended such that the
owner or operator shall conduct the performance test within
60 calendar days after the Department approves the site-
specific test plan. Notwithstanding the requirements in the
preceding two sentences, the owner or operator may proceed
to conduct the performance test as required in this section
(without the Department=s prior approval of the site-specific
test plan) if he/she subsequently chooses to use the specified
testing and monitoring methods instead of an alternative.@

(x) Paragraph 63.7(e)(2) shall be replaced with the
following language: APerformance tests shall be conducted
and data shall be reduced in accordance with the test methods
and procedures set forth in this section, in each relevant
standard, and, if required, in applicable appendices of parts
51, 60, 61, and 63 of this chapter unless —

(i)  The Department specifies or approves, in
specific cases, the use of a test method with minor changes in
methodology; or

(ii)  The Administrator approves the use of an
alternative test method, the results of which the Administrator
has determined to be adequate for indicating whether a
specific affected source is in compliance; or

(iii)  The Department approves shorter sampling
times and smaller sample volumes when necessitated by
process variables or other factors; or

(iv)  The Department waives the requirement for
performance tests because the owner or operator of an
affected source has demonstrated by other means to the
Department’s satisfaction that the affected source is in
compliance with the relevant standard.@

(y) Paragraph 63.7(e)(4) shall be replaced with the
following language: ANothing in paragraphs (e)(1) through
(e)(3) of this section shall be construed to abrogate the
Administrator’s authority to require testing under section 114
of the Act or Department=s authority under Regulation 17 of
the State of Delaware ARegulations Governing the Control of
Air Pollution@.@

(z) Paragraph 63.7(f)(2)(iii) shall be replaced with the
following language:  ASubmits the results of the Method 301
validation process to the Administrator (with copy to the
Department) along with the notification of intention and the
justification for not using the specified test method. The
owner or operator may submit the information required in this
paragraph well in advance of the deadline specified in
paragraph (f)(2)(i) of this section to ensure a timely review by
the Administrator in order to meet the performance test date
specified in this section or the relevant standard.@

(aa) Paragraph 63.7(f)(3) shall be replaced with the
following language: AThe Administrator will determine
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whether the owner or operator’s validation of the proposed
alternative test method is adequate when the Administrator
approves or disapproves the use of the alternative test method
required under paragraph (c) of this section. If the
Administrator finds reasonable grounds to dispute the results
obtained by the Method 301 validation process, the
Administrator may require the use of a test method specified
in a relevant standard.@

(bb)Paragraphs 63.8(b)(1) shall be replaced with the
following language: AMonitoring shall be conducted as set
forth in this section and the relevant standard(s) unless —

(i)  The Department specifies or approves the use of
minor changes in methodology for the specified monitoring
requirements and procedures; or

(ii)  The Administrator approves the use of
alternatives to any monitoring requirements or procedures.

(iii)  Owners or operators with flares subject to Sec.
63.11(b) are not subject to the requirements of this section
unless otherwise specified in the relevant standard.@

(cc) Paragraph 63.8(e)(1) shall be replaced with the
following language: AWhen required by a relevant standard,
and at any other time the Administrator may require under
section 114 of the Act or Department may require under
Regulation 17 of the State of Delaware ARegulations
Governing the Control of Air Pollution@, the owner or
operator of an affected source being monitored shall conduct
a performance evaluation of the CMS. Such performance
evaluation shall be conducted according to the applicable
specifications and procedures described in this section or in
the relevant standard.@

(dd)Paragraph 63.8(e)(3)(v)(B) shall be replaced with
the following language: AIf the owner or operator intends to
demonstrate compliance by using an alternative to a
monitoring method specified in the relevant standard, the
owner or operator shall refrain from conducting the
performance evaluation until the Department approves the
site-specific performance evaluation test plan (if requested)
once the Administrator approves the use of the alternative
method. If the Administrator does not approve the use of the
alternative method within 30 days before the performance
evaluation is scheduled to begin, the performance evaluation
deadlines specified in paragraph (e)(4) of this section may be
extended such that the owner or operator shall conduct the
performance evaluation within 60 calendar days after the
Department approves the site-specific performance evaluation
test plan. Notwithstanding the requirements in the preceding
two sentences, the owner or operator may proceed to conduct
the performance evaluation as required in this section
(without the Department=s prior approval of the site-specific
performance evaluation test plan) if he/she subsequently
chooses to use the specified monitoring method(s) instead of

an alternative.@

(ee) Paragraph 63.8(f)(4)(i) shall be replaced with the
following language: AAn owner or operator who wishes to use
an alternative monitoring method shall submit an application
to the Administrator (with copy to the Department) as
described in paragraph (f)(4)(ii) of this section, below. The
application may be submitted at any time provided that the
monitoring method is not used to demonstrate compliance
with a relevant standard or other requirement. If the
alternative monitoring method is to be used to demonstrate
compliance with a relevant standard, the application shall be
submitted not later than with the site-specific test plan
required in Sec. 63.7(c) (if requested) or with the site-specific
performance evaluation plan (if requested) or at least 60 days
before the performance evaluation is scheduled to begin.@

(ff) Paragraph 63.8(f)(6)(i) shall be replaced with the
following language: AAn alternative to the test method for
determining relative accuracy is available for affected
sources with emission rates demonstrated to be less than 50
percent of the relevant standard. The owner or operator of an
affected source may petition the Administrator (with copy to
the Department) under paragraph (f)(6)(ii) of this section to
substitute the relative accuracy test in section 7 of
Performance Specification 2 with the procedures in section
10 if the results of a performance test conducted according to
the requirements in Sec. 63.7, or other tests performed
following the criteria in Sec. 63.7, demonstrate that the
emission rate of the pollutant of interest in the units of the
relevant standard is less than 50 percent of the relevant
standard. For affected sources subject to emission limitations
expressed as control efficiency levels, the owner or operator
may petition the Administrator (with copy to the Department)
to substitute the relative accuracy test with the procedures in
section 10 of Performance Specification 2 if the control
device exhaust emission rate is less than 50 percent of the
level needed to meet the control efficiency requirement. The
alternative procedures do not apply if the CEMS is used
continuously to determine compliance with the relevant
standard.@

(gg)Paragraph 63.9(b)(4) shall be replaced with the
following language: AThe owner or operator of a new or
reconstructed major affected source, or of a source that has
been reconstructed such that the source becomes a major
affected source, that has an initial startup after the effective
date of a relevant standard under this part and for which an
application for approval of construction or reconstruction is
required under Sec. 63.5(d) shall provide the following
information in writing to the Department:@

(hh)Paragraph 63.9(b)(4)(i) shall be replaced with the
following language: AA notification of intention to construct a
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new major affected source, reconstruct a major affected
source, or reconstruct a source such that the source becomes
a major affected source with the application for approval of
construction or reconstruction as specified in Sec.
63.5(d)(1)(i);@

(ii) Paragraph 63.10(b)(3) shall be replaced with the
following language: AIf an owner or operator determines that
his or her stationary source that emits (or has the potential to
emit, without considering controls) one or more hazardous air
pollutants is not subject to a relevant standard or other
requirement established under this part, the owner or operator
shall keep a record of the applicability determination on site at
the source for the life of the source or until the source changes
its operations to become an affected source, whichever comes
first. The record of the applicability determination shall
include an analysis (or other information) that demonstrates
why the owner or operator believes the source is unaffected
(e.g., because the source is an area source). The analysis (or
other information) shall be sufficiently detailed to allow the
Department to make a finding about the source’s applicability
status with regard to the relevant standard or other
requirement. If relevant, the analysis shall be performed in
accordance with requirements established in subparts of this
part for this purpose for particular categories of stationary
sources. If relevant, the analysis should be performed in
accordance with EPA guidance materials published to assist
sources in making applicability determinations under section
112, if any.@

(jj) Paragraph 63.10(f)(6) shall be replaced with the
following language: AApproval of any waiver granted under
this section shall not abrogate the Administrator=s authority
under the Act or Department=s authority under 7 Del. C.,
Chapter 60 or in any way prohibit the Department from later
canceling the waiver. The cancellation will be made only after
notice is given to the owner or operator of the affected
source.@

(kk)Paragraph 63.15(b)(3) shall be added with the
following language:  A(3)  Any information provided to or
otherwise obtained by the Department shall be made
available to the public unless it is determined to be
confidential under 7 Del. C., Chapter 60, Section 6014 or 29
Del. C., Chapter 100, Section 10002(d).@

* PLEASE SEE TABLE  A-1 OF SUBPART A AT THE END OF THE

REGULATION .

2/3/98
Subpart Q Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants
for Industrial Process Cooling Towers

The provisions of Subpart Q - National Emission

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants  for Industrial Process
Cooling Towers, of Title 40, Part 63 of the Code of Federal
Regulations, as set forth in Vol. 59, page 46350 et seq, dated
September 8, 1994, are hereby adopted by reference with the
following changes:

(a) Except as shown in Table Q-1 of this subpart,
ADepartment@ shall replace AAdministrator@.

(b) The Responsible Official definition (4) found in
Section 63.401 shall be replaced with the following language:
A For affected sources (as defined in this part) applying for or
subject to a title V permit: Aresponsible official@ shall have the
same meaning as defined in Regulation 30 of the State of
Delaware ARegulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution@ or Federal title V regulations in this chapter (42
U.S.C. 7661), whichever is applicable.@

(c) The opening paragraph of Section 63.404 shall be
replaced with the following language:  ANo routine
monitoring, sampling, or analysis is required. In accordance
with section 114 of the Act, the Administrator can require
cooling water sample analysis of an IPCT if there is
information to indicate that the IPCT is not in compliance
with the requirements of Sec. 63.402 of this subpart. In
accordance with Regulation 17 of the State of Delaware
ARegulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution@, the
Department can require cooling water sample analysis of an
IPCT to indicate that the IPCT is not in compliance with the
requirements of Sec. 63.402 of this subpart. If cooling water
sample analysis is required:@

(d) Table 1 of Subpart Q, which is being adopted by
reference, is modified by the following additions or deletions:

(1) Paragraph 63.9(i) is added in the listing of
General Provisions that are applicable to Subpart Q;

(2) Subparagraph 63.9(b)(6) is deleted from
the listing of General Provisions that are not applicable to
Subpart Q; and

(3) Item 63.10(b)(2)(xiii) is added in the listing
of General Provisions that are not applicable to Subpart Q.

AAdministrator@ Comment

Reference means
AAdministrator@

63.401
AResponsible official@ Yes In definition (3)

63.404 Yes As replaced
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DEPARTMENT OF

TRANSPORTATION
AERONAUTICS

Stautory Authority:  2 Delaware Code,
Section 601 - 603 (2 Del.C. 601 - 603)

NOTICE OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS

The Department of Transportation proposes to adopt
new regulations to implement Amendments to Titles 2, 9, and
30 of the Delaware Code Relating to Aeronautics and County
Building Codes.  The regulations include the Delaware
Airport Licensing Regulation and the Delaware Airport
Obstruction Regulation.

Delaware Airport Licensing Regulation Synopsis:

The purpose of this regulation is to implement the State
of Delaware Airport Licensing Program authorized by State
law, pursuant to Chapter 1, Title 2, Sections 162 and 163,
Delaware Code, as amended, in order to provide for a safe
statewide aviation program and to provide for the safety of the
states’ citizens.  This Regulation sets forth the policies,
criteria, and procedures for the inspection, licensing, and the
revocation of licenses for public use airports or heliports
within the State of Delaware.

This Regulation lists the aviation facilities eligible for
licensure and the associated terms of eligibility.  It describes
the licensing process, including the criteria of minimum
insurance requirements and displaced threshold requirements;
the annual inspection program; and the licensing requirements
for new airports or private use airports desiring public use
status.  Conditions for granting temporary waivers are
outlined, along with the license revocation process.

Delaware Airport Obstruction Regulation Synopsis:

The purpose of this regulation is to implement Part 1,
Title 2 of the Delaware Code, Sections 601-603 and related
sections of Title 9 of the Delaware Code, specifically Sections
3005, 4407 and 6302, as amended, for the identification,
permitting or removal of objects or structures located within
statutorily defined boundaries and which may be a hazard to
aviation or which constitute an “obstruction to air
navigation,” as that term is defined in the Regulation.  This
Regulation is derived from the legislation and provides the
means of enforcement and the penalties imposed for failure to
comply with the legislative requirements.

It has long been recognized that airports have unique
needs for operational safety that interact with surrounding

land uses.  In particular, the need for runway approaches that
are clear of obstructions has long been the target of the
Federal Aviation Administration.  Numerous federal projects
are undertaken each year to remove dangerous obstructions
from land either within an airport’s control or adjacent to the
airport.  The primary concern in this process is the safety of
aircraft flight operations and the welfare of persons and real
property on the ground.  The Delaware Code authorizes the
Department through its Office of Aeronautics to require a
review of building permit applications.  This review shall
result in either an approval or disapproval of building permits
for any structure that constitutes an obstruction to air
navigation.

The Delaware Code also authorizes the Department to
remove potentially hazardous existing obstructions in the
approach areas to airport runways after compensating the
owners of the obstructions.  The process for removing
existing obstructions is described in this regulation and
entails the identification and preliminary ranking and costing
of each eligible obstruction to air navigation, as defined in this
regulation.  Input shall be solicited from airport owners and
operators.  An Advisory Committee, appointed by the
Department for the review and final ranking of each eligible
obstruction, shall meet and consider the preliminary rankings.
Based upon the recommendation of the Committee and after
a public hearing, funds allocated by the Legislature for
obstruction removal shall be directed toward individual
projects on a statewide basis.

Interested parties may present their views on either of
these Regulations at a public hearing scheduled for March 26,
1998 from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. to be held at:

Central and North Conference Room
DelDOT Administration Building
Route 113, Across from Blue Hen Mall
Dover, Delaware 19903

The opportunity for public comment to these written
regulations shall be held open through April 6th, 1998.
Written comments may be sent to:

Tricia Faust, Senior Planner
DelDOT Administration Building
Route 113, Across from Blue Hen Mall
Dover, Delaware 19903

DELAWARE AIRPORT LICENSING REGULATION

SECTION 1. PURPOSE

The purpose of this regulation is to implement the State
of Delaware Airport Licensing Program authorized by State

http://www.state.de.us/deldot/index.htm
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law, pursuant to Chapter 1, Title 2, Sections 162 and 163,
Delaware Code, as amended, in order to provide for a safe
statewide aviation program and to provide for the safety of the
states’ citizens.  This Regulation sets forth the purpose,
policies, criteria, and procedures for the inspection, licensing,
and the revocation of licenses for public use airports or
heliports within the State of Delaware.  The pertinent sections
of the Delaware Code are:

1.  Chapter I, Title 2, Section 162 which states that:

“The Department, through the Office of Aeronautics may
approve and license airports and helicopter landing sites, or
other air navigation facilities, in accordance with regulations
it adopts pertaining to such approval and licensure.  Licenses
granted under this section shall be renewed annually in
conjunction with the Federal Aviation Administration
sponsored airport survey program.”

2.  Chapter 1, Title 2, Section 163 which states that:

“The Department, through the Office of Aeronautics, may
suspend or revoke any certificate of approval or license issued
by it when it determines that an airport, restricted landing
area, or other navigation facility is not being maintained or
used in accordance with the provisions of this chapter and the
rules and regulations lawfully promulgated by it pursuant
thereto.”

Aviation safety is of paramount importance in Delaware
and depends in great measure upon flight safety and the
availability of airports in the State, both of which are
regulated by the FAA with the assistance of the Delaware
Office of Aeronautics.

Safety standards are an integral part of the licensing
program for Delaware Airports.  Annual airport inspections
conducted in conjunction with the FAA Form 5010 Airport
Master Record Review for licensing can identify existing and
potential safety problems and recommend mitigation
measures.  Inspections are a necessary and integral part of the
licensing process and shall be performed by or at the direction
of the Office of Aeronautics.

SECTION 2: DEFINITIONS

The following definitions shall apply for the Airport
Licensing Regulation:

1.   “Airport” : means any area of land or water which is
designated by the FAA for the landing and takeoff of aircraft,
and all appurtenant areas used or suitable for airport
buildings, other airport facilities and all appurtenant rights-
of-way.  For purpose of these Regulations, ”Airport“ shall

include all navigational facilities as defined herein.

2.  “Airport Approach Area” : the area in and around an
airport or heliport, as defined by Federal Aviation
Regulations (FAR) Part 77 - Objects Affecting Navigable
Airspace.  The approach surfaces associated with the airport
approach area are longitudinally centered on the extended
runway centerline and extend outward and upward.  These
surfaces can differ by type of airport and runway
characteristic and therefore must be determined using
specific FAR Part 77 criteria.

3.  “Annual License Renewal”: means once in each
calendar year.

4.   “Displaced Threshold”: The threshold of a runway
is the beginning of that portion of the runway available and
suitable for the landing of airplanes.  A displaced threshold is
one that is located at a point on the runway other than at the
runway end.  It is an artificial threshold for a runway which
shortens the landing length of the runway in the direction of
the displacement.  The portion of runway behind a displaced
threshold may be available for takeoffs in either direction and
landings from the opposite direction.

5.  “Hazard to Air Navigation” :   Hazards to Air
Navigation are severe obstructions to air navigation,
classified as such by an FAA study under FAR Part 77.

6.   “Heliport” : means any helicopter landing area or any
area of land or water which is designated by the FAA for the
landing and takeoff of helicopters, and all appurtenant areas
used or suitable for heliport buildings other heliport facilities
and all appurtenant rights-of-way.

7.   “Licensing Criteria” : the parameters defined in this
regulation that are used to determine whether or not an airport
is to be licensed.

8.  “Obstruction to Air Navigation” : any penetration of
approach or transitional surfaces by an object or structure at
an airport or heliport, as defined by FAR Part 77.  Other
objects or structures can be obstructions to air navigation
outside the immediate vicinity of an airport if they encroach
on navigable airspace as defined by FAR Part 77.

9.  “Office of Aeronautics” : Subdivision of the
Department of Transportation that is responsible for aviation
matters.

10.  “Temporary Waiver” : an intentional relinquishing
of a known right or claim for a specific period of time, after
careful consideration of all relevant factors.
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11.   “Transitional Surface” : the area in and around an

airport or heliport, as defined by FAR Part 77.  The
transitional surfaces extend outward and upward at right
angles to the runway centerline and the runway centerline
extended.

SECTION 3. LICENSING AND GRANDFATHER
RIGHTS

Each public use airport or heliport operated in Delaware
shall be licensed, operated, and maintained in accordance
with this Licensing Program, as described herein this
Regulation.  Under previous legislation, grandfather rights
for airport licenses extended to airports and restricted landing
areas which were being operated on or before April 24, 1945.
Under the new legislation, no grandfather rights are given or
implied.  Thus, each public use airport or heliport is subject to
the licensing regulation adopted by the Department.

SECTION 4: AVIATION FACILITIES

Under the new law, all public-use airports and heliports
shall be licensed to operate in Delaware.  Existing public-use
airports and heliports, as of the date of adoption of this
Licensing Regulation are the following:

• Chandelle Estates
• Delaware Airpark
• Henderson Airport
• Jenkins Airport
• Laurel Airport
• New Castle County Airport
• Smyrna Airport
• Summit Airport
• Sussex County Airport
• Chorman Airport
• DelDOT Helipad

SECTION 5: LICENSING PROCESS

The licensing process, as envisioned in this Regulation,
requires that the Department inspect each existing public-use
airport in the State by a representative of the Office of
Aeronautics.  All existing public-use airports shall
automatically be included in the process.  The inspections
shall be conducted using the methods described in this
section.  Successful completion of the licensing process shall
result in the issuance of an operating license for an airport.
New public-use airports shall request a license in writing from
the Delaware Department of Transportation, Office of
Aeronautics.  To adequately describe these steps, this section
consists of the following: licensing criteria, annual licensing
program, and new airport licensing process.  Each of these
steps is described below:

1.  License Criteria:  The Department hereby
incorporates by reference FAR Part 77;  FAA Advisory
Circular 150/5300-13, Airport Design; and such other
federal or state regulations as may be referred to herein.
Licensing criteria have been developed for two specific areas
of airport or heliport facility operation.  The first involves the
requirement of each public use airport to obtain and carry
minimum levels of liability and property insurance.  The
second involves the requirement for displaced thresholds at
runways obstructed by existing roadways, railways, or
navigable waterways.  In order for a public use airport or
heliport to be licensed in Delaware, it shall comply with all
standards and regulations pertinent to these two areas.

1) Minimum Insurance Requirements:  As a part of
this new regulation, it is required that public use airports carry
a minimum of one million dollars ($1,000,000) in liability
insurance covering bodily injury and property damage
liability in any one accident, along with fifty-thousand dollars
($50,000) coverage for property damage for each accident.
Certificates of insurance, issued by an insurance company
licensed to write such insurance in the State of Delaware, shall
be filed annually with the Department of Transportation,
Office of Aeronautics, as a part of the licensing procedure.
The Department shall be notified of any insurance coverage
lapses at public use airports in Delaware.

2) Displaced Threshold Requirements: Delaware
public use airports and heliports should be physically suitable
for aviation, in accordance with the aviation purpose intended
and operated in a safe manner.  Runways that are obstructed,
as defined in FAR Part 77, either by highways, railways, or
navigable waterways shall have the thresholds of the
impacted runways displaced by the appropriate distance.  A
displaced threshold has been defined as an artificial threshold
for a runway which shortens the landing length of the runway
in the direction of the displacement.  The portion of runway
behind a displaced threshold may be available for takeoffs in
either direction and landings from the opposite direction.  The
displacement is caused by the need to provide clearance over
an obstruction to air navigation, based upon an imaginary
approach slope, which is defined in FAR Part 77.

For a public roadway, a clearance of 15 vertical
feet is needed; for an Interstate Highway a clearance of 17
vertical feet is needed; for a railway, a clearance of 23 vertical
feet is required; and for a navigable waterway, a clearance
equal to the highest mobile craft to transverse the waterway is
needed.  For example, if the imaginary surface has a 20:1
slope, a 15 vertical foot clearance at the end of a runway will
require 300 linear feet of displacement.

Appropriate displacement markings shall be
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painted on paved surfaces in accordance with FAA guidelines
and shall be installed as in-ground flush markers on turf strips.
The airport owner shall be responsible for marking
displacements on affected runways.

2.   Annual Licensing Program: Each of the airports
listed in Section 4 of this Regulation are subject to annual
licensure by DelDOT through the Office of Aeronautics.  To
carry out this program, the Office of Aeronautics shall
implement the following steps:

1) Inspections:  Beginning in 1998, the Office of
Aeronautics shall conduct annual on-site inspections of each
public-use airport in Delaware, in accordance with the criteria
set forth in this Regulation.  Existing public-use airports need
not apply for a new license, but shall automatically be
included in the licensing process.  Inspections of each airport
shall be conducted by personnel from the Office of
Aeronautics.  The Office of Aeronautics reserves the right to
conduct inspections at its convenience and is not limited in the
number of inspections that it may conduct at an airport during
any one year period.

2) Inspection Period:  While the inspections for
licensure do not need to be conducted within an exact 12
month period, they do have to occur at least once in each
calendar year.

3) Validity Period:  Licenses issued during 1998 will
be valid until December 31, 1999; in subsequent years,
licenses issued will be valid until the end of the following
calendar year.

3.  New Airports:  In the event that a new public use
airport is developed, or a private use airport desires to become
a public use facility, the airport owner shall submit a request
for a license in writing to the Office of Aeronautics, along
with a copy of the FAA airspace approval for the airport.
Within 30 days of the receipt of the written request, the Office
of Aeronautics shall inspect the facility using criteria
specified in this Regulation.  From that inspection, the Office
shall either issue a license or cite the conditions requiring
correction before a license can be issued.

SECTION 6: TEMPORARY WAIVERS

The licensing process should be one that encourages
safety while at the same time does not place an undo burden
upon the existing public use airports or heliports in the State.
If a violation of this regulation occurs, the airport or heliport
in question may attempt to rectify the situation, but in doing
so, may require additional time to comply.

In cases where the correction of a regulation violation

requires more than 10 days, a temporary waiver may be issued
by the Office of Aeronautics permitting the delay.  The
temporary waiver shall specify a definite time period for
correction of the condition.  The process for issuing a
temporary waiver is as follows:

1.  Violation Cited:  In the event that an airport cannot
show proof of insurance, or has not displaced a threshold
subject to the requirements of this regulation, the Delaware
Department of Transportation, through its Office of
Aeronautics shall cite the airport for the violation.  In the
citation, the airport owner shall have 10 days to correct the
violation.

2.  Waiver Request: If the cited airport owner believes
that there are mitigating circumstances that prevent
compliance with these regulations within the 10 day period,
he or she may request a waiver in writing from the
Department through its Office of Aeronautics.  The waiver
request should state the mitigating circumstances and the
timeframe requested for compliance.

3.  Waiver Terms: The Department may grant a waiver
to the requesting airport owner/operator after consideration
of the mitigating circumstances preventing compliance and
the time needed to comply.  The waiver issued by the
Department through its Office of Aeronautics shall state the
timeframe for compliance.

4.  Waiver Implementation: The Office of Aeronautics
shall approve or disapprove the request for waiver within the
10 day normal compliance period.  The decision shall be
delivered in writing to the airport owner requesting the
waiver.  If the waiver is granted, the temporary nature of the
waiver shall require that the Office of Aeronautics revisit the
airport at the end of the temporary extension of the
compliance period to determine if the airport is in
compliance.  If the airport is in compliance, a license shall be
issued.  If the airport is not in compliance, Section 7 of this
regulation shall be implemented.

SECTION 7: LICENSE REVOCATION

Under certain circumstances, the license to operate a
public use airport or heliport in Delaware can be revoked.
Revocation of the license for a public use airport or heliport
shall result in either: 1) the immediate closure of the airport or
heliport, or 2) the change in designation from public use to
private use airport or heliport.  The circumstances leading to
revocation are listed below.

1. Refusal or Failure to Comply with this Regulation:
If a public use airport or heliport operator refuses or fails to
comply with the terms and conditions of licensure contained
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in this regulation, that airport or heliport is subject to license
revocation.  Conditions of licensure include:

• Displacement of a runway threshold when
obstructed by highways, railways, or waterways.

• Valid insurance coverage in the amounts and types
stated in this regulation.

2.  License Revocation: Airport licenses are to be
revoked upon reaching the following trigger points:

• Upon the 11th day after a citation was given to an
airport owner, given that no temporary waiver was requested
by that airport owner.

• Upon the expiration of temporary waivers.

3.  Airport Closure/Private Use Designation: No
public use airport shall operate in Delaware without a license
issued by the Department.  Therefore, after license
revocation, an airport shall either close or be redesignated as
private use on FAA airspace sectional maps.

APPENDIX A
License Inspection Form

1. Airport Name:________________________________
2. Inspector:_______________      Date:________________

Displaced Threshold Requirements

3. If yes, which runway(s) are impacted:_______________
Sketch below:

4. Discussed with Airport Manager?___________________
5. Timeframefor correction?________________________

6. Waiver required/issued? (If yes, please attach)________

Insurance Certificate:

Requested   Supplied (attach copy of certificate)

Comments:
_____________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________

DELAWARE AIRPORT OBSTRUCTION

REGULATION

SECTION 1. PURPOSE

The purpose of this regulation is to implement Part 1,
Title 2 of the Delaware Code, Sections 601-603 and related
sections of Title 9 of the Delaware Code, specifically Sections
3005, 4407 and 6302, as amended, applicable to the three
counties respectively; for the identification, permitting or
removal of objects or structures located within statutorily
defined boundaries and which may be a hazard to aviation or
which constitute an ”obstruction to air navigation,“ as that
term is defined herein and is hereinafter generically referred
to as ”obstruction“ (see Appendix A for Federal Aviation
Regulations Part 77 Obstruction Standards).  This regulation
is derived from the legislation and provides the means of
enforcement and the penalties imposed for failure to comply
with the legislative requirements.

It has long been recognized that airports have unique
needs for operational safety that interact with surrounding
land uses.  In particular, the need for runway approaches that
are clear of  obstructions has long been the target of the
Federal Aviation Administration.  Numerous federal projects
are undertaken each year to remove dangerous obstructions
from land either within an airport’s control or adjacent to the
airport.

The primary concern in this process is the safety of
aircraft flight operations and the welfare of persons and real
property on the ground.  The Delaware Code authorizes the
Department through its Office of Aeronautics to require a
review of building permit applications.  This review shall
result in either an approval or disapproval of building permits
for any structure that constitutes an obstruction to air
navigation.

The Delaware Code also authorizes the Department  to
remove potentially hazardous existing obstructions in the
approach areas to airport runways after compensating the
owners of the obstructions.  The process for removing
existing obstructions is described in this regulation and
entails the identification and preliminary ranking and costing
of each eligible obstruction to air navigation, as defined in this
regulation.  Input shall be solicited from airport owners and
operators.  An Advisory Committee, appointed by the
Department for the review and final ranking of each eligible
obstruction, shall meet and consider the preliminary rankings.
Based upon the recommendation of the Committee and after
a public hearing, funds allocated by the Legislature for
obstruction removal shall be directed toward individual
projects on a statewide basis.

SECTION 2: DEFINITIONS
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The following definitions shall apply for the Airport
Obstruction Regulation:

1.   “Airport” : means any area of land or water which is
designated for the landing and takeoff of aircraft, and all
appurtenant areas used or suitable for airport buildings, other
airport facilities and all appurtenant rights-of-way.  For
purpose of this regulation, ”Airport“ shall include all
navigational facilities as defined herein.

2.  “Airport Approach Area” : the area in and around an
airport or heliport, as defined by Federal Aviation
Regulations (FAR) Part 77 - Objects Affecting Navigable
Airspace.  The approach surfaces associated with the airport
approach area are longitudinally centered on the extended
runway centerline and extend outward and upward.  These
surfaces can differ by type of airport and runway
characteristic and therefore must be determined using
specific FAR Part 77 criteria.

3.   “Displaced Threshold”: The threshold of a runway
is the beginning of that portion of the runway available and
suitable for the landing of airplanes.  A displaced threshold is
one that is located at a point on the runway other than at the
runway end.  It is an artificial threshold for a runway which
shortens the landing length of the runway in the direction of
the displacement.  The portion of runway behind a displaced
threshold may be available for takeoffs in either direction and
landings from the opposite direction.

4.  “Hazard to Air Navigation” : Hazards to Air
Navigation are severe obstructions to air navigation,
classified as such by an FAA study under FAR Part 77.

5.   “Heliport” : means any helicopter landing area or any
area of land or water which is designated by the FAA for the
landing and takeoff of helicopters, and all appurtenant areas
used or suitable for heliport buildings other heliport facilities
and all appurtenant rights-of-way.

6.  “Imaginary Surface” : is a two dimensional plane
stretching upward and outward from an airport.  These
surfaces are defined by FAR Part 77 criteria for approach
surfaces, transitional surfaces, and other applicable surfaces.

7.   “Licensing Criteria” : the parameters defined in this
regulation that are used to determine whether or not an airport
is to be licensed.

8.  “Notice to Airmen (NOTAM)” : a notice concerning
the establishment, condition, or change in any component,
facility, service, or procedure of, or hazard in the National
Airspace System, the timely knowledge of which is essential

to personnel concerned with flight operations.

9.  “Obstruction to Air Navigation” : any penetration of
approach or transitional surfaces by an object or structure at
an airport or heliport, as defined by FAR Part 77.  Other
objects or structures can be obstructions to air navigation
outside the immediate vicinity of an airport if they encroach
on navigable airspace as defined by FAR Part 77.

10.   “Office of Aeronautics” : Subdivision of the
Department of Transportation that is responsible for aviation
matters.

11.   “Transitional Surface” : the area in and around an
airport or heliport, as defined by FAR Part 77.  The
transitional surfaces extend outward and upward at right
angles to the runway centerline and the runway centerline
extended.

12.  “Transport Airport” : Airports that accommodate
business jets as a regular part of their operational fleet mix.
These airports have runways that are at least 5,000' long and
75' wide.

13.  “Turf Airport” : Airports that have no paved
runways.

14.  “Utility Airport” : Airports with paved runways that
are smaller than Transport Airports.

SECTION 3. AIRPORTS IMPACTED

The Delaware Code indicates that all public use airports
are covered by the obstruction removal program.  By
definition, a public use airport can be either publicly or
privately owned, but it must be open to the public for use and
be so designated on aeronautical charts.  Existing public-use
airports and heliports, subject to this Obstruction Regulation
as of the date of adoption of this Regulation are the following:

Airport Role
• Chandelle Estates   Utility
• Delaware Airpark   Utility
• Dover Air Force Base   Transport
• Henderson Airport   Turf
• Jenkins Airport   Turf
• Laurel Airport   Turf
• New Castle County Airport   Transport
• Smyrna Airport   Turf
• Summit Airport   Utility
• Sussex County Airport   Transport
• Chorman Airport   Utility
• DelDOT Helipad   Heliport

SECTION 4. BUILDING PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
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In accordance with 2 Del C. 602, a Building Permit may
be issued by the county or municipality having land use
jurisdiction in which the construction or alteration of facilities
defined below are located, only after review and approval by
the Delaware Office of Aeronautics.

1.  Building Permit Requirement:  Such Building
Permit is required for the construction, erection, placement or
alteration of any smokestack, tree, silo, flagpole, elevated
tank, power line, or radio or television tower antenna,
building, structure or other improvement to real property
which meets any of the following conditions described in
Subsection 2.

2.  Notification:  The Delaware Office of Aeronautics
shall be notified by each county or municipality, having land
use jurisdiction of any proposed construction that may create
an obstruction to air navigation as defined herein. The formal
notification process is activated through the existing building
permit processes in effect in each such county or
municipality; specifically: 9 Del. C. 3005 for New Castle
County, 9 Del. C. 4407 for Kent County, 9 Del.C. 6302 for
Sussex County and the respective municipal codes. These
notices shall provide a basis for evaluating the effects of the
construction or alteration of any object that may pose a hazard
to air navigation.  As defined, these objects can be natural
growth, terrain, or permanent or temporary construction or
alteration of any structure (including appurtenances) by a
change in its height or other dimensions.

1) Conditions for Notice: In addition to the
foregoing listed obstructions, the Delaware Office of
Aeronautics shall be notified and shall approve prior to
issuance of a Building Permit any facility which meets the
following description and/or conditions:

• Any construction or alteration of more than 200
feet in height above the ground level at its site;

• Any construction or alteration of greater height
than an imaginary surface extending outward and upward at
one of the following slopes:

- 100 to 1 for a horizontal distance of 20,000
feet from the nearest point of the nearest runway of each
public use airport with at least one runway more than 3,200
feet in length,

- 50 to 1 for a horizontal distance of 10,000
feet from the nearest point of the nearest runway of each
public use airport with its longest runway no more than 3,200
feet in length,

- 100 to 1 within a trapezoidal shape
beginning at the end of a runway of any public use airport, at
an initial width of 50 feet, and extending outward for a
distance of 20,000 feet to a width of 3,000 feet at its ending
point.

2) Maps:  To assist the Counties in determining
when the notice requirement is activated, the Delaware Office
of Aeronautics shall distribute maps to each County agency
responsible for issuing Building Permits.  These maps shall
detail the notice areas, including all corresponding imaginary
surfaces around public use airports, as defined above.

3)   Notice Period: Required notices shall be
submitted to the Office of Aeronautics with the Building
Permit applications at least 30 days before the date the
proposed construction or alteration is to begin.

4).  Emergencies:  In the case of an emergency
involving essential public services, public health, or public
safety, that requires immediate construction or alteration, the
30 day requirement may be waived by the Office of
Aeronautics, and the notice may be sent by telephone, fax, or
other expeditious means, with appropriate forms submitted
within 5 days.

5)  Information Requirements:  Notices shall be filed
with the Office of Aeronautics on forms provided by said
Office to the Counties (see Appendix B).  These forms shall
require the following minimum information:

• Exact location and dimensions of the proposed
structure or object to be constructed or altered.

• Planned height above ground level of the
structure or object at its highest point, including elevations.

• Site plan of the construction or alteration.

SECTION 5. TEMPORARY OBSTRUCTIONS

Should circumstances develop that cause the erection of
temporary obstructions to air navigation which do not require
a Building Permit, the Delaware Office of Aeronautics shall
be informed through the normal notification process (as
described in Section 4) of the temporary obstruction.

1.  Temporary Obstructions:  Temporary obstructions
may occur in response to emergency conditions or life-
threatening situations.  For example, a crane may be brought
in to remove wreckage in the approach areas of Delaware
airports.

2.  Approvals:  Approvals for temporary obstructions
(see Section 6) shall be obtained from the Delaware Office of
Aeronautics.

3.  Notams:  The airport impacted by a temporary
obstruction shall be responsible for filing the Notice to
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Airmen (NOTAM) describing the obstruction and its likely
duration.  To file a NOTAM, the airport operator must report
information essential to personnel concerned with flight
operations to the nearest Federal Aviation Administration
Flight Service Station.  In this case, notice must be given
concerning the location and duration of the temporary
obstruction.

SECTION 6. BUILDING PERMIT PROCESS

As stated in the law, a Building Permit, issued by the
County or municipality having land use jurisdiction, shall
first be reviewed by the Delaware Office of Aeronautics if it
meets the description and/or conditions set forth in Section 4
of this regulation.  Such Building Permit for the construction
or alteration of each object or structure shall not be issued by
the issuing authority until such time as the Office of
Aeronautics has approved the application.

The process of review for a Building Permit application
as it pertains to any obstruction or potential obstruction
impacting aviation shall be as follows:

1.  Initial Review:  Appropriate County and local
municipalities responsible for zoning shall conduct the initial
review of the Building Permit application.  Using the maps
provided by the Office of Aeronautics, the agencies shall
make a determination whether or not the proposed building or
structure invokes the notice requirements listed above.  If the
proposed structure exceeds the height of the imaginary
surfaces around a particular airport, the application, with the
completed notice form, shall be referred to the Office of
Aeronautics for review.

2.  Office of Aeronautics Evaluation:  Once the
Building Permit and completed notice form reach the Office
of Aeronautics, an evaluation of the impact on air safety shall
be conducted.  If, in the opinion of the Office of Aeronautics,
the proposed building or structure poses an obstruction to air
navigation, or if, in the opinion of the Office of Aeronautics,
the proposed building or structure unduly limits the planned
development of an airport in question, that permit shall be
denied.

3.  Criteria:  Criteria used in the evaluation process shall
include FAR, Part 77, and approved airport master plans and
the current State Aviation System Plan.  FAR Part 77 criteria
should focus on the imaginary surfaces for approach areas
and transitional or lateral boundaries.  The master plans and
system planning information should examine future airport
plans for development, and incorporate those plans into
potential future FAR Part 77 surfaces.

4.  Approval:  If the Office of Aeronautics, finds that no

obstruction to air navigation results from the proposed
structure and that the development does not limit the
operation or development of an airport in question, the
Building Permit shall be approved.  The Office of
Aeronautics shall approve or reject the Building Permit
application within 30 days of receipt.  If the Building Permit
is requested under emergency conditions involving essential
public services, public health, or public safety, that require
immediate construction or alteration, the Office of
Aeronautics may expedite the review and approval or
disapproval process as soon thereafter as practical.

SECTION 7. REMOVAL OF EXISTING
OBSTRUCTIONS

The Delaware Code at 2 Del.C. Chapter 6 provides the
legal authority for removal of aviation obstructions.
Obstructions to air navigation decrease operational safety
margins at airports.  For this reason, the Delaware Code
provides DelDOT, through the Office of Aeronautics, the
authority to identify and remove obstructions located in
approach areas to public use airports.

The overview to the obstruction removal process was
described briefly in Section 1.  As stated, the process entails
the identification and preliminary ranking and costing of each
eligible obstruction to air navigation, as defined in this
regulation.  Input shall be solicited from airport owners and
operators.  An Advisory Committee, appointed by the
Department for the review and final ranking of each eligible
obstruction, shall meet and consider the preliminary rankings.
Based upon the recommendation of the Committee, funds
allocated by the Legislature for obstruction removal shall be
directed toward individual projects on a statewide basis.

To carry out this program the following process shall be
observed:

1.  Inventory:  The Office of Aeronautics shall be
responsible for the development of a Statewide obstruction
inventory at each public use airport.  This inventory shall be
conducted periodically, but not less than every 24 months,
and shall be carried out in conjunction with the airport owner
input.  The inventory shall document the existence of
obstructions to air navigation as defined in FAR Part 77 in the
approach areas at each public use airport.  This inventory shall
be updated, as needed, to properly identify obstructions and
shall be maintained at the Office of Aeronautics.  As part of
the process, the cost to remove each obstruction shall be
estimated.

2.  Preliminary Priority Ranking: A preliminary
priority ranking system shall be used to rank the obstructions.
This priority system shall consider the following items:
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• Severity of the obstruction
• Accident history at the associated airport
• Role of the airport in the State system
• Cost to remove the obstruction
• Activity levels at the candidate airports

3.  Deed Restriction: The next step in the process
involves the protection of State resources and the elimination
of projects that are not considered important by airport
owners.  In order to protect State resources, any cumulative
State funding for obstruction removal, on or off of an airport,
that totals more than $10,000 will require a commitment by
the airport owner (in the form of a deed restriction) to
maintain the airport a public use facility for not less than 10
years from the date that cumulative State expenditures exceed
$10,000.  Failure by the airport owner to agree to incorporate
this deed restriction into the airport deed shall be grounds for
DelDOT to disqualify the airport from the obstruction
removal program for that obstruction.  If the airport owner
agrees to the deed restriction and the airport is converted to
another use during the 10 year time period, the grant funds
shall be reimbursed to the State upon closure, sale, or
reclassification (to private use) of the facility, on a graduated
scale as follows:

Years Used As Airport % Grant Reimbursed
Prior to Conversion to to State
 Other Use

1-5 100%
6   80%
7   60%
8   40%
9   20%
10     0%

The State reserves the right to remove a hazard to air
navigation, as determined by an FAA airspace study, even if
the airport sponsor does not agree to the deed restriction.

4.  Advisory Committee: An Advisory Committee shall
be appointed by the Department to review the preliminary
ranking of obstruction removal projects.  Projects over
$10,000 that an airport owner will not include in a deed
restriction shall be removed from consideration by the
Advisory Committee.  The Office of Aeronautics shall
provide the following:

• The preliminary ranking from the priority ranking
model; and,

• The comments and rankings of the airport owners
and operators.

The Advisory Committee shall meet and rank each of the
obstruction removal projects and present a final list of
rankings to the Department.  This final list shall be published
and a public hearing shall be conducted.

5.  Implementation Process:  Once the ranking has been
adopted by the Department, an implementation process will
be initiated by DelDOT using the following criteria:

• Available Funding
• Deed Restriction
• Existing Easements
• Airport Owner Cost Sharing

SECTION 8. PENALTIES

In accordance with Delaware law, 2 Del.C. 603, whoever
constructs, erects, places or alters any obstruction, as that
term is used in this Regulation, without first obtaining a
Building Permit as required by 2 Del. C. Chapter 6,  shall upon
being found liable in a civil proceeding brought by the
Department, be fined an amount not exceeding One
Thousand ($1,000) Dollars.  Each day’s continuation of a
violation of this section shall be deemed a separate and
distinct offense, all of which may be brought together in a
single action.

SECTION 9. JURISDICTION AND APPEALS

The Department may enforce the provisions of this
regulation by the filing of a complaint in a court of
appropriate jurisdiction, including a complaint for injunctive
relief.

APPENDIX A:

FAR Part 77 Obstruction Standards
Subpart C

Obstructions shall be identified through assessments of
each public use airport.  Criteria to identify obstructions are
outlined in FAR Part 77, Subpart C - Obstruction Standards,
as follows:

Subpart C - Obstruction Standards

77.21 Scope.

(a)  This subpart establishes standards for determining
obstructions to air navigation.  It applies to existing and
proposed manmade objects, objects of natural growth, and
terrain. The standards apply to the use of navigable airspace
by aircraft and to existing air navigation facilities, such as an
air navigation aid, airport, Federal airway, instrument
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approach or departure procedure, or approved off -airway
route.  Additionally, they apply to a planned facility or use, or
a change in an existing facility or use, if a proposal therefor is
on file with the Federal Aviation Administration or an
appropriate military service on the date the notice required by
§ 77.13 (a) is filed.

(b) At those airports having defined runways with specially
prepared hard surfaces, the primary surface for each such
runway extends 200 feet beyond each end of the runway.  At
those airports having defined strips or pathways that, are used
regularly for the taking off and landing of aircraft and have
been designated by appropriate authority as runways, but do
not have specially prepared hard surfaces, each end of the
primary surface for each such runway shall coincide with the
corresponding end of the runway.  At those airports,
excluding seaplane bases, having a defined landing and
takeoff area with no defined pathways for the landing and
taking off of aircraft, a determination shall be made as to
which portions of the landing and takeoff area are regularly
used as landing and takeoff pathways.  Those pathways so
determined shall be considered runways and an appropriate
primary surface as defined in § 77.25(c) will be considered as
being longitudinally centered on each runway so determined,
and each end of that primary surface shall coincide with the
corresponding end of that runway.

(c) The standards in this subpart apply to the effect of
construction or alteration proposals upon an airport if, at the
time of filing of the notice required by § 77.13 (a), that airport
is -

(1) Available for public use and is listed in the Airport
Directory of the current Airman Information Manual or in
either the Alaska or Pacific Airman’s Guide and Chart
Supplement; or,

(2)  A planned or proposed airport or an airport under
construction, that is the subject of a notice or proposal on file
with the Federal Aviation Administration, and, except for
military airports, it is clearly indicated that that airport will be
available for public use; or,

(3)  An airport that is operated by an armed force of the
United States.

(d) [Deleted]

77.23 Standards for determining obstructions.

(a) An existing object, including a mobile object, is, and a
future object would be, an obstruction to air navigation if it is
of greater height than any of the following heights or surfaces:

(1) A height of 500 feet above ground level at the site of
the object.

(2) A height that is 200 feet above ground level or above
the established airport elevation, whichever is higher, within

3 nautical miles of the established reference point of an
airport, excluding heliports, with its longest runway more
than 3,200 feet in actual length, and that height increases in
the proportion of 100 feet, for each additional nautical mile of
distance from the airport up to a maximum of 500 feet.

(3) A height within a terminal obstacle clearance area,
including in initial approach segment, a departure area, and a
circling approach area, which would result in the vertical
distance between any point on the object and an established
minimum instrument flight altitude within that area or
segment to be less than the required obstacle clearance.

(4)  A height within an en route obstacle clearance area,
including turn and termination areas, of a Federal airway or
approved off-airway route, that would increase the
minimum obstacle clearance altitude.

(5)  The surface of a takeoff and landing area of an airport
or any imaginary surface established under §§ 77.25, 77.28,
or 77.29.  However, no part of the takeoff or landing area itself
will be considered an obstruction.

(b) Except for traverse ways on or near an airport with an
operative ground traffic control service, furnished by an air
traffic control tower or by the airport management and
coordinated with the air traffic control service, the standards
of paragraph (a) of this section apply to traverse ways used or
to be used for the passage of mobile objects only after the
heights of these traverse ways are increased by:

(1) Seventeen feet for an Interstate Highway that is part
of the National System of Military and Interstate Highways
where overcrossings are designed for a minimum of 17 feet
vertical distance.

(2) Fifteen feet for any other public roadway.
(3) Ten feet or the height of the highest mobile object that

would normally traverse the road, whichever is greater, for a
private road.

(4)  Twenty-three feet for railroad.
(5)    For a waterway or any other traverse way not

previously mentioned, an amount equal to the height of the
highest mobile object that would normally traverse it.

77.25 Civil airport imaginary surfaces.

The following civil airport imaginary surfaces are established
with relation to the airport and to each runway.  The size of
each such imaginary surface is based on the category of each
runway according to the type of approach available or
planned for that runway.  The slope and dimensions of the
approach surface applied to each end of a runway are
determined by the most precise approach existing or planned
for that runway end.

(a) Horizontal surface - a horizontal plane 150 feet above the
established airport elevation, the perimeter of which is
constructed by swinging arcs of specified radii from the
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center of each end of the primary surface of each runway of
each airport and connecting the adjacent arcs by lines tangent
to those arcs. The radius of each arc is:

(1)  5,000 feet for all runways designated as utility or
visual;

(2) 10,000 feet for all other runways.

The radius of the arc specified for each end of a runway will
have the same arithmetical value.  That value will be the
highest determined for either end of the runway.  When a
5,000-foot arc is encompassed by tangents connecting two
adjacent 10,000-foot arcs, the 5,000-foot arc shall be
disregarded on the construction of the perimeter of the
horizontal surface.

(b) Conical surface - a surface extending outward and upward
from the periphery of the horizontal surface at a slope of 20 to
1 for a horizontal distance of 4,000 feet.

(c) Primary surface - a surface longitudinally centered on a
runway.  When the runway has a specially prepared hard
surface, the primary surface extends 200 feet beyond each
end of that runway; but when the runway has no specially
prepared hard surface, or planned hard surface, the primary
surface ends at each end of that runway.  The elevation of any
point on the primary surface is the same as the elevation of the
nearest point on the runway centerline.  The width of the
primary surface is:

(1) 250 feet for utility runways having only visual
approaches.

(2) 500 feet for utility runways having nonprecision
instrument approaches.

(3) For other than utility runways the width is:
(i) 500 feet for visual runways having only visual

approaches.
(ii) 500 feet for nonprecision instrument runways

having visibility minimums greater than three-fourths statute
mile.

(iii) 1,000 feet for a nonprecision instrument
runway having nonprecision instrument approach with
visibility minimums as low as three-fourths of a statute mile,
and for precision instrument runways.

The width of the primary surface of a runway will be that
width prescribed in this section for the most precise approach
existing or planned for either end of that runway.

(d) Approach surface - a surface longitudinally centered on
the extended runway centerline and extending outward and
upward from each end of the primary surface.  An approach
surface is applied to each end of each runway based upon the
type of approach available or planned for that runway end.

(1) The inner edge of the approach surface is the same
width as the primary surface and it expands uniformly to a

width of:
(i) 1,250 feet for that end of a utility runway with

only visual approaches;
(ii) 1,500 feet for that end of a runway other than a

utility runway with only visual approaches;
(iii) 2,000 feet for that end of a utility runway with a

nonprecision instrument approach;
(iv) 3,500 feet for that end of it nonprecision

instrument runway other than utility, having visibility
minimums greater than three--fourths of a statute mile;

(v) 4,000 feet for that end of a nonprecision
instrument runway, other than utility, having a nonprecision
instrument approach with visibility minimums as low as
three-fourths statute mile; and

(vi) 16,000 feet for precision instrument runways.
(2) The approach surface extends for a horizontal

distance of:
(i) 5,000 feet at a slope of 20 to 1 for all utility and

visual runways;
(ii) 10,000 feet at a slope of 34 to 1 for all

nonprecision instrument runways other than utility; and,
(iii) 10,000 feet at a slope of 50 to 1 with an

additional 40,000 feet at a slope of 40 to 1 for all  precision
instrument runways.

(3) The outer width of an approach surface to an end of a
runway will be that width prescribed in this subsection for the
most precise approach existing or planned for that runway
end.

(e) Transitional surface - these surfaces extend outward and
upward at right angles to the runway centerline and the
runway center-line extended at a slope of 7 to 1 from the sides
of the primary surface and from the sides of the approach
surfaces.  Transitional surfaces for those portions of the
precision approach surface which project through and beyond
the limits of the conical surface, extend a distance of 5,000
feet measured horizontally from the edge of the approach
surface and at right angles to the runway centerline.

Imaginary surfaces in the airport approach areas are
defined above and would be used to identify obstructions to
air navigation at airports and heliports in Delaware that are
eligible for removal under the law.  By definition,
penetrations of these imaginary surfaces by objects are
obstructions to air navigation.

* PLEASE SEE DIAGRAM  ISOMETRIC  VIEW  OF SECTION A - A AT

THE END OF THE REGULATION
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APPENDIX B:

PROPOSED CONSTRUCTION/ALTERATION
IN AIRPORT ZONES

NOTIFICATION FORM

The Delaware Code, Part 1, Title 2, Sections 601-603
specifies where construction/alterations can be done in and
around airports.  The Office of Aeronautics has been tasked to
insure new construction or changes to existing structures
conform to the legislative mandate.  As such, the Office of
Aeronautics shall be notified of any proposed construction
that may create an obstruction to air navigation.  The primary
concern in this process is the safety of aircraft flight
operations and the welfare of persons and real property on the
ground.

Notice requirements shall incorporate the following areas
and/or conditions:

• Any construction or alteration of more than 200 feet
in height above the ground level at its site;

• Any construction or alteration of greater height than
an imaginary surface extending outward and upward at one of
the following slopes:

- 100 to 1 for a horizontal distance of 20,000 feet
from the nearest point of the nearest runway of each public
use airport with at least one runway more than 3,200 feet in
length.

- 50 to 1 for a horizontal distance of 10,000 feet
from the nearest point of the nearest runway of each public
use airport with its longest runway no more than 3,200 feet in
length.

- 100 to 1 within a trapezoidal shape beginning at
the end of a runway of any public use airport, at an initial
width of 50 feet, and extending outward for a distance of
20,000 feet to a width of 3,000 feet at its ending point.

- Federal Aviation Regulations, Part 77, also
apply.

The following information must be submitted to the Office of
Aeronautics with the Building Permit application at least 30
days before the date the proposed construction or alteration is
to begin if said construction/alteration falls within any of the
above stated conditions. Each County has been provided
maps showing the areas in question around each airport.  The
Office of Aeronautics shall approve or reject based on the
above criteria.

REQUIRED INFORMATION TO BE PROVIDED TO
THE OFFICE OF AERONAUTICS:

Exact Location *__________________________________

Distance from Runway: * ___________________________

Height above ground of highest point after construction
(attach site plan): *_________________________________

Height above sea level: *_____________________________

DATE RECEIVED:________________

APPROVE_______    DISAPPROVE_______

SIGNED:__________________________________________
Office of Aeronautics

DATE SIGNED:___________

* The Delaware Department of Transportation is not
responsible for the accuracy of the provided information.  It is
the responsibility of the provider to supply accurate
information for evaluation.  In addition, site plans and other
material given to DelDOT as a part of this application process
will not be returned.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates
new text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is striken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed striken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published
in the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the
evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended
or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and
information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except
where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take
no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact
text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other
findings or conclusions required by the law under which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least
a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of
Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122 (14 Del.C. 122)

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER
REPEAL OF REGULATIONS WHICH ARE DELAWARE

CODE

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The following six regulations found in the Handbook for
K-12 Education are recommended for repeal.  These
regulations are simply a restatement of the Delaware Code.
Although they have provided helpful technical assistance to
the user of the Handbook for K-12 Education, they are in the
Code and do not have to be regulated by the Department of
Education.  These regulations include the following:  I.B.2,
page A-2, Lawful Authority of Teachers and Pupils, I.D.1.a.,
pages A-4 to A-6, School Admission Policies, I.D.5, pages
A-8 to A-9, Reading of the First Amendment of the United
States Constitution, I.D.6, page A-9, Period of Silence,

I.D.7, page A-9, Salute to the Flag and Pledge of Allegiance and
I.G.1, pages A-18 to A-21, Pupil Units.  Notice of the proposed
repeal of these regulations was published in the News Journal
and the Delaware State News on January 12, 1998, in the form
attached as Exhibit A.  No comments were received regarding
the proposed repeal of these regulations.

II. FINDINGS OF FACT

These regulations are already in Delaware Code and do not
need to be further regulated as Department of Education
regulations.  This action will serve to clarify the differences
between what is Code and what are Department of Education
Regulations.

III.  DECISION TO REPEAL REGULATION(S)

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it
is necessary to repeal these regulations.

IV.  DECISION TO REPEAL REGULATONS

The text of the regulations repealed hereby shall be in the
form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations shall be
removed from the Handbook for K-12 Education, Section I.

http://www.dart.dpi.state.de.us/
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V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Sec. 122 in open session at
the State Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on February
19, 1998.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 19th day of February, 1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts
Secretary of Education

Consented to this 19th day of February, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

REPEAL OF SIX REGULATIONS THAT ARE IN THE
DELAWARE CODE

The following six regulations found in the Handbook for
K-12 Education are recommended for repeal.  These
regulations are simply a restatement of the Delaware Code.
Although they have provided helpful technical assistance to
the user of the Handbook for K-12 Education, they are in the
Code and do not have to be regulated by the Department of
Education.  These regulations include the following:  I.B.2,
page A-2, Lawful Authority of Teachers and Pupils, I.D.1,a.b,
pages A-4 to A-6, School Admission Policies, I.D.5, Pages
A-8 to A-9, Reading of the First Amendment of the United
States Constitution, I.D.6, Page A-9, Period of Silence, I.D.7,
page A-9, Salute to the Flag and Pledge of Allegiance and I.G
1, pages A-18 to A-21, Pupil Units.

1. Handbook for K-12 Education - Page A-2

2. LAWFUL AUTHORITY OF TEACHERS AND
PUPILS

Every teacher and administrator in the public
schools of this state shall have the right to exercise the same
authority as to control behavior and discipline over any pupil
during any school activity, as the parents or guardians may
exercise over such pupil.  The above authority may include
corporal punishment where deemed necessary.  Where

corporal punishment is deemed necessary, it may be
administered by any public school teacher or administrator in
accordance with district board of education policy.  14 Del.
C. §701.

2. Handbook for K-12 Education - Pages A-4 to A-6

1. SCHOOL ADMISSION POLICIES
a. Compulsory Attendance Requirements;

Evaluation of Readiness
(1)Except as otherwise set forth in this

Section, every person in the State having control of a child
between 5 years of age and 16 years of age shall send such
child to a free public school, in the district of residence of the
parents, except as determined in accordance with Chapter 6
of this Title, and shall send the child to such school each day
of the minimum school term of 180 days.  For purposes of
this Section, a child shall be considered 5 years of age if he
or she celebrates his or her fifth birthday according to the
following schedule:

1993-94 school year fifth birthday on or before
November 30, 1993

1994-95 school year fifth birthday on or before
October 31, 1994

1995-96 school year fifth birthday on or before
September 30, 1995

1996-97 school year fifth birthday on or before
August 31, 1996

Subsequent school years fifth birthday on or before
August 31 of the
respective year

Local school authorities may grant exceptions
to the above schedule for entry into school if they determine
that such exception is in the best interest of the child.

(2) The following provisions shall be applicable
to the administration of subsection (1) of this section in
regard to compulsory attendance in the kindergarten for a
child age 5 years:

(a) If a child is a resident of the State at the
time of his or her eligibility for admission to the kindergarten
at age 5, the parents, guardian or legal custodian of that child
may request that school authorities evaluate the child’s
readiness for attendance and may request a delay of 1 year in
that attendance.  However, admission to first grade will be
authorized only after school authorities evaluate the child’s
readiness for attendance.

(b) If a child was not a resident of the State
at the time of his or her eligibility for admission to the
kindergarten at age 5, the parents, guardian or legal custodian
of that child may request that school authorities evaluate the
child’s readiness for attendance and on the basis of that
evaluation authorize admission to grade 1.
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Reference:  24 Del. Laws, c. 121, §1; Code
1915, §2313; 32 Del. Laws, c. 160, §41; Code 1935, §2685;
14 Del. C. 1953, §2702; 49 Del. Laws, c. 403, §§1-3; 57 Del.
Laws, c. 112; 60 Del. Laws, c. 449, §3; 63 Del. Laws, c. 290,
§2; 64 Del. Laws, c. 315, §§6, 7; 69 Del. Laws, c. 28, §2.

b. In accordance with Subpart I.E., Eligibility
and Subpart I.F., Programs and Placement as contained in the
Administrative Manual:  Programs for Exceptional Children,
Adopted 3/87, and Title 14 and 31 of the Delaware Code,
programs may be provided for exceptional children who are
between the ages of 4 and 20, inclusive (14 Del. C. §3101);
and for children who are visually impaired, hearing impaired,
deaf/blind, and autistic from birth through age 20, inclusive
(31 Del. C. §2501 and §2503, 14 Del. C. §1703).

(1)Three year olds with disabilities will
continue to be eligible for services under Part b. as of their
third birthday.  (Subject to the flexibility agreed to under the
Part H Interagency Agreement)  Entry dates for four year olds
with disabilities have always been tied to the entry date for
kindergarten.  Therefore, over the next three years entry into
four year old programs will be realigned along with those for
five year old kindergarten entry.  This means:

• 1994-95 school year fourth birthday on or
before September 30, 1994

• 1995-96 school year fourth birthday on or before
August 31, 1995

• Subsequent school yearsfourth birthday on or before
August 31 of the respective
year

Districts should follow the same phase-in schedules as
established for kindergarten (five year old) students.
According to the law, local education agencies may grant
exceptions to the schedule if such an exception is in the best
interest of the child.  The IEP process also allows
considerable latitude to design programs to meet the
individual needs of children.  Districts should rely on the IEP
process to make appropriate decisions for children who fall
in the phase-in months.

Children with disabilities covered under the birth
mandate programs (Autism, Deaf/Blind, Hearing Impairment)
are not affected by this change except as it affects age
appropriate placements and entry into kindergarten
programs.

(2) Gifted or talented children who have
become four years of age on or before September 1 may be
admitted for educational placement at the beginning of the
school year in September at the discretion of the local
district.  If applicable in a district,

(a) application must be made to
the superintendent of the district in which the child resides.

Such application must be completed before April 1
whereupon arrangement will be made for testing of the child
applicant.

(b) the child must be identified as
gifted or talented according to the procedures contained in
the Program Standards for Gifted and Talented Education in
the State of Delaware, June 1986.

3. Handbook for K-12 Education - Pages A-8 to A-9

5. READING OF FIRST AMENDMENT OF THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

At the commencement of the first period of
study on the first day of school of each school year in all
public schools of the State of Delaware, the First Amendment
of the Constitution of the United States of America shall be
read or recited by the teacher in charge of such period to the
students therein assembled.  14 Del. C. §4101.

The First Amendment of the U. S. Constitution
(adopted 1791) Freedom of Religion, Speech, Press,
Assembly, and Petition reads as follows:

Congress shall make no law respecting an
establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise
therefore; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press;
or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to
petition the government for a redress of grievances.

4. Handbook for K-12 Education - Page A-9

6. PERIOD OF SILENCE
During the initial period of study on each school day

all students in the public schools in Delaware may be granted
a brief period of silence, not to exceed two minutes in
duration, to be used according to the dictates of the individual
conscience of each student.  During that period of silence no
other activities shall take place.  14 Del. C. §4101A(b). (State
Board Approved August 1985)

5. Handbook for K-12 Education - Page A-9

7. SALUTE TO THE FLAG AND PLEDGE OF
ALLEGIANCE

a. In the opening exercises of every free
public school each morning, the teachers and pupils
assembled shall salute and pledge allegiance to the American
flag as follows:  “I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United
States of America and to the Republic for which it stands, one
Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.”
14 Del. C. §4105.

b. An Attorney General’s opinion (9/26/74,
#113) ruled that any attempt to require participation in flag
salute by teachers or students violates their rights to free
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speech and is therefore unconstitutional.

6. Handbook for K-12 Education - Pages A-18 to A-21

1. PUPIL UNITS
a. “Units” or “unit of pupils” is defined

according to this schedule of number of pupils for
elementary schools:

Beginning July 1, 1984

Grades 1 - 3 19 students per unit
Grades 4 - 6 20 students per unit

In grades 7 through 12, the unit, except for the
vocational-technical unit, is defined as 20 pupils.  A major
fraction shall be considered a unit and shall be considered any
fraction greater than one-half of the total number of pupils
authorized per unit for a given year.  (See Page E-7 for
computing the Vocational-Technical unit).

In the case of kindergarten, “unit” or “unit of pupils”
is defined as 40 pupils (as of July 1980).

Kindergarten pupils may be enrolled for one-half
school days in groups approximating one-half the unit
authorized, thus providing that each “unit” represents two
instructional groups within the unit authorized.  A major
fraction shall be considered a unit and shall consist of any
fraction greater than one-half of the unit authorized.

The State Board of Education shall make
uniform rules relative to the administration of kindergarten in
the public school districts of the State in accordance with this
Title.

b. Number of Units in a School District
The number of units to be used in determining

state financial support in each school district shall be
calculated by the State Board of Education each year in
accordance with the procedures specified in this section.

(1) The number of units shall be calculated
based upon the total enrollment of pupils in each school
district as of the last school day of September.  The number
of units so determined shall be known as the “actual unit
count.”

(2) The actual unit count as determined in
subdivision (1) of this section shall be categorized:
kindergarten, elementary (grades 1-6), secondary (grades 7-
12), net vocational (vocational units less the vocational
deduct), and special education, in accordance with the
definitions contained in this Title.  Each of these categories
of units in each school district shall be multiplied by 93%.

The product of this multiplication for each
category shall be known as the “guaranteed unit count.”

(3) The Department of Education shall
annually (after September 30) certify and report the number
of units required by §1710 of this Title, by certifying for each
category of unit specified in subdivision (2) of this section

whichever is the greater of the following:
(a) the actual unit count for the current

school year; or
(b) the guaranteed unit count calculated for

the preceding year.

The implementation of this subdivision shall be
subject to a specific annual appropriation in the annual
Appropriations Act.  In the event that no appropriation is
made, the State Board of Education shall certify and report
the actual count.

(4) A school district which experiences an
enrollment growth during the school year, but after the actual
unit count has been certified and reported, may at its option
participate in an “optional unit count” on the first school day
of January.  The “optional unit count” shall be the nearest
whole number computed by multiplying the total actual unit
count, as specified in subdivision (1) of this section, by one
less than the ratio of the total district enrollment on the first
school day in January to the total district enrollment on the
last school day in September.

(5) The Department of Education shall
annually (after January 1) certify and report the “optional unit
count” to the State Budget Commission.  School districts
shall qualify only for the following state financial support for
each unit generated by the optional unit count:

(a) A Division I allocation for a teacher
paid in accordance with §1305 of this Title for a period of 92
days, or a Division I allocation for two class aides paid in
accordance with §1324 of this Title for a period of 92 days.

(b) The state-paid other employment
costs, for a teacher or two aides, specified in 29 Del. C.
§6340.

(c) One-half the Division II appropriation
per unit specified in the annual Appropriations Act.

The implementation of this subdivision shall be
subject to a specific annual appropriation in the annual
Appropriations Act.

c. Unit of Pupils For Exceptional Children
In the cases of exceptional children the

following conditions for the calculations of the number of
units shall prevail:

(1)Classes for the educable mentally
handicapped, one unit for fifteen children;

(2)Classes for the trainable mentally
handicapped and severely mentally handicapped, one unit for
six children;

(3)Classes for students with serious
emotional disturbances, one unit for ten children;

(4)Classes for the partially sighted, one
unit for ten children, except that even though the pupil count
may be less than otherwise required by this chapter, there
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shall be a minimum of one class for the partially sighted in
each county;

(5)Classes for the physically impaired,
one unit for six children;

(6)Classes for autistic children, one unit
for four children;

(7)When classes for the blind are
established as approved by the State Board of Education and
the Delaware Commission for the Blind, the unit for classes
for the blind shall be eight;

(8)When classes for the deaf/blind are
established as approved by the State Board of Education, the
unit for these classes shall be four;

(9)For those children in the classification
designated as having “learning disabilities” the unit shall be
eight;

(10) For a person identified as an
“intensive learning center pupil” and assigned to an intensive
learning center approved by the State Board of Education, the
unit shall be 8.6; and

(11) A major fraction shall be
considered a unit and shall consist of any fraction greater than
one-half.  The number of children mentioned in these
paragraphs shall not be counted in any other calculation of
units.  14 Del. C. §1703.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122 (14 Del.C. 122)

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

GUIDELINES FOR THE APPROVAL OF SCHOOL
IMPROVEMENT GRANTS

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Guidelines for Approval of School Improvement
Grants are being recommended for adoption as regulation.
The Delaware Code directs the Department of Education
to adopt guidelines for the approval of school
improvement grants.  The Del. C., Title 14, Chapter 8,
Section 807, requires that when the principal of an
eligible school submits a request for a school
improvement grant the request should include the
information identified in the Guidelines for Approval of
School Improvement Grants as adopted by the Department
of Education.  Notice of the proposed regulations was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State

News on January 12, 1998, in the form hereto attached
as Exhibit A.  The notice invited written comments and
none were received.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary finds that this regulation is necessary
because the Delaware Code directed the Department to
adopt such Guidelines.

III.  DECISION TO ADOPT REGULATIONS

For the foregoing reason, the Secretary concludes
that the proposed regulation is necessary to meet the
requirements of the Delaware Code.  Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del. C., Section 122, and Chapter 8, Section 806,
the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby
adopted.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del. C., Section
122(e), the regulation hereby adopted shall be in effect
for a period of five years from the effective date of this
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation adopted hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation
shall be cited in the Handbook for K-12 Education.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE ORDER

The actions herein above referred to were taken by
the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, and
Chapter 8, Section 806, in open session at the State
Board’s regularly scheduled meeting on February 19,
1998. The effective date of this Order shall be ten days
from the date this order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 19th day of February,
1998.

Dr. Iris T. Metts
Secretary of Education

Consented to this 19th day of February, 1998.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage

http://www.dart.dpi.state.de.us/
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evaluation of the school improvement plan required by
Delaware Code, Title 14, Chapter 8, Section 808 is
completed and the results of such are included in the
school’s application.

Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

Guidelines for Approval of School Improvement
Grants

A school that has an approved shared decision-making
transition plan as specified in Delaware Code, Title 14,
Chapter 8, Section 806, may apply for a school
improvement implementation grant.  To apply for a grant,
the principal of the eligible school should submit a letter
of request to the Office of the Secretary of Education,
Delaware Department of Education, P. O. Box 1402,
Townsend Building, Dover, DE 19903.  Requests should
include the following information:

1. Evidence that the local board of education has adopted
the school’s transition plan; and

2. The school improvement plan containing the
following components:

·  Comprehensive school improvement goals tied
to state and local academic performance standards and
strategies to achieve these and other goals identified by
the school, including staff development and parental
involvement;

·  A description of the rationale for the proposed
governance structure, stating how and why the governance
process should improve decision-making and support
continuous improvement in teaching and student learning;

·  Evidence of review by the broader school
community with agreement that the school improvement
plan is consistent with the school district plan and
evidence that the local board of education has formally
adopted the school’s improvement plan;

·  A proposed budget that explains the use of
resources allocated to the school to support strategies
for achieving the school improvement goals;

·  The structural changes or procedures for
providing the necessary time and skill-building to support
shared decision-making and continuous improvement in
teaching and student learning;

·  The assessment and evaluation process that the
school will use to measure its progress toward achieving
its stated goals;

·  A proposed timeline for phasing-in the school
improvement plan; and

·  A proposed budget for the use of the school
improvement grant.

A school with an approved application shall be eligible
for a school improvement grant for the following (3) years
as provided in the annual appropriations act.  Subsequent
applications may be made only after the review and

DEPARTMENT OF HEA LTH &
SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Section 122(c)(3) (16 Del.C. 122(c)(3))

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF FOOD STAMP |
REGULATIONS |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services has advertised
for public comment the proposed revision of certain Food
Stamp regulations contained in Public Law 104-193,
Section 403, 8 USC 1613, the Mickey Leland Childhood
Hunger Relief Act, the Food, Agriculture, Conservation,
and Trade Act Amendments of 1991, Public Law 104-204,
Title 38, USC, and DSSM Sections 4006 and 4012.

NATURE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS:

4006 Excluded Income

The following kinds of income are disregarded in
determining financial eligibility and grant amounts in AFDC
and GA:

·  The value of USDA donated foods.
·  The value of food stamps.
·  Foster care payments made on behalf of foster

children residing in the home.
·  Payments made directly to a third party on behalf

of a recipient.

EXAMPLE: A friend pays a recipient’s electric bill.
The payment is made directly to the electric company.  This
payment is not considered as income to the assistance unit.

·  Earnings received by children under the
Summer Youth Program of the Job Training Partnership
Act of 1982 for a period not to exceed six (6) months.

·  A cash payment made to the AFDC unit
responsible for household bills by a non-unit member for
his or her share of the common household expenses.

·  Any bona fide loan including loans for current

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dhss.htm
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living expenses.  The following criteria must be met to
ensure that the loan is bona fide:

1.   Written agreement between the client and the
individual or establishment engaged in he business of
making loans to repay the money within a specified time.

2.  If the loan is obtained from an individual or
establishment not normally engaged in the business of
making loans, obtain one of the following:

a. Borrower ’s acknowledgement of
obligation to repay; or

b. Borrower’s expressed intent to repay
either by pledging real or personal property or anticipated
income; or

c. A written statement detailing borrower’s
plans to repay the loan when future anticipated income is
received.

Money received in the form of a non-recurring lump sum
payment is excluded as a resource in the month received
and counted as a resource in subsequent months, unless
specifically excluded from consideration as a resource by
other federal law or regulations.

4012 Lump Sums

A period of ineligibility results when a member of an
AFDC assistance unit receives non-recurring lump sum
income that exceeds the State standard of need after
deducting applicable disregards.  To determine the number
of months the period of ineligibility  covers:

1. Add the lump sum plus other income budgeted in
the month the lump sum was received; and

2. Divide the sum by the State standard of need for
the family size.  (The family size includes all persons
whose needs are taken into account in determining
eligibility and the amount of the grant.)

Income left from the calculation is income in the first
month following the period of ineligibility.  Ineligibility
begins the month the lump sum is received.  Assistance
paid to the unit in the month the lump sum is received is an
overpayment and must be recovered.  Examples of lump
sums include, but are not limited to, gifts, lottery winnings,
inheritances, and personal injury claims.  Income tax
refunds are exempt from the lump sum provisions and are
treated as available resources.

EXAMPLE: An AFDC family of four receives a
$2,000 lump sum on May 25th. The family has $150 of
budgetable income in the month that the lump sum is
received.

$2,000    lump sum
  +150    other income
$2,150    total income

$2,150 divided by $407 (AFDC standard for
four people) = five with $28 remaining.

This family is ineligible for five months.  May
is the first month of ineligibility caused by receipt of a
lump sum.  A $257 overpayment exists for May.  The
remaining $28 will be budgeted as unearned income in the
month following the period of ineligibility.

The family applies in October and the family
has no income.

$407  Standard of need for a family of four
 -28  Remaining income from the lump sum
$379  Maximum grant for October

4012.1 Lump sums - shortening the period of ineligibility

The period of ineligibility that results from receipt
of lump sum income can be shortened if:

1. The applicable standard of need is increased
by agency policy.  To determine the remaining period of
ineligibility, subtract the amount that equals the original
standard of need multiplied by the number of months
completed in the period of ineligibility from the total lump
sum.

Divide the remainder by the increased
standard.

EXAMPLE: Total lump sum         $1,500
Original Standard        $265
Increased Standard       $270

Number of months completed - 4

$265 x 4 = $1060    $1,500 - $1060 = $440
$440 divided by $270 = 1 with $170 remainder

The remaining period of ineligibility is one
(1) months; $170 is counted as unearned income in the
first month following the period of ineligibility.

2) The lump sum is paid to a child and held in an
irrevocable trust established by a court of law until the child
is 18.  In this case no period of ineligibility is established.

NOTE: A trust established after the lump
sum is received by the individual is treated as a lump sum.

3) The lump sum is used to pay for medical
expenses of a member of the assistance unit.  To qualify
medical expenses must be:
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a. expenses that are covered by Medicaid,

or
b. expenses for psychiatric treatment

These expenses are used to offset the amount
of the lump sum.  Verification that the expenses were
incurred and paid is required.

4012.2 Lump sum ineligibility and new unit members

A person who is not a member of the unit when
the lump sum is received, but later lives in the home with
the ineligible family, is not affected by the period of
ineligibility.  This person may receive assistance if
otherwise eligible.

EXAMPLE: A woman and three of her
children receive AFDC.  In June they receive lump sum
income and are found ineligible for 12 months.  In August,
the woman gives birth to a child.  This child is determined
eligible for AFDC and can receive payments.  The mother
is made payee for the grant.

To determine the grant amount for the new
member, first determine the standard of need for the
disqualified family.  Deduct this standard from the
household’s gross income.  The remainder applies as
unearned income to the needs of the new member.  In the
above example if the family’s income is  $500, the child
will receive a monthly grant of $108.

$500  -  gross income
-407  -  AFDC standard of need
$ 93  -  Income applied to the new member’s needs

$201  -  standard of need
 -93  -  income
$108  -  grant

4012.3 Personal injury settlements and lump sums

When a client has been injured due to the
negligence of a third party and has received medical
assistance under Title XIX (Medicaid) as a result of that
injury, Title XIX has a prior claim on any settlement that is
made for medical care costs.

When a settlement has been made, any amount not
subject to a prior claim by Title XIX will be treated as a
lump sum.  (See DSSM Section 4012.)

9020.4 Exceptions from notice
Do not provide individual notices of adverse

action when:

1) The State initiates a mass change (see DSSM

9806);

2) The Division determines, based on reliable
information, that all members of a household have died
or that the household has moved from the project area; or
DSS mail has been returned by the post office indicating
no known forwarding address;

9030.1  Citizens and Qualified Aliens
The following residents of the United States are

eligible to participate in the Food Stamp Program without
limitations based on their citizenship/alienage status:

4.        Aliens residing in the U.S. before August 22,
1996, who are lawfully admitted for permanent residence
and who have worked 40 qualifying quarters of coverage
under Title II of the Social Security Act. Beginning
January 1, 1997, any quarter in which the alien received
any Federal means-tested benefits does not count as a
qualifying quarter.

Note:   For aliens entering the U.S. on or
after August 22, 1996:

Aliens who are lawfully admitted to the U. S. for
legal permanent residence on or after August 22, 1996,
cannot participate in the Food Stamp Program for five
years even if they have or can be credited with 40  quarters
of coverage.

9210.2 Obtaining SSN’s for Food Stamp Household
Members

If the household is unable to provide proof of
application for a SSN for a newborn, the household must
provide the SSN or proof of application at its next
recertification or within 6 months following the month
the baby is born, whichever is later.  If the household is
unable to provide a SSN or proof of application at its next
recertification within 6 months following the baby’s birth,
DSS shall determine if the good cause provisions of
DSSM 9210.4 apply.

9314.5  Special procedures for expediting service
2) Social Security Numbers - Those household

members unable to provide the required SSN’s or who do
not have one prior to the second ful l  month of
participation will be allowed to continue to participate
only if they satisfy the good cause requirements with
respect to SSN’s specified in DSSM 9210, except that
households with a newborn may have up to six months
following the month the baby was born to provide an SSN
or proof of application for the newborn.

9404 Resources Excluded For Food Stamp
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Purposes

In determining the resources of a household, only the
following will be excluded:

2. Household goods, personal effects, the cash
value of life insurance policies, one burial plot per
household member, and the value of one bona fide funeral
agreement per household member, provided that the
agreement does not exceed $1,500 in equity value.  If the
equity value of the funeral agreement exceeds $1,500,
the value above $1,500 is counted as a resource.  The
cash value of pension plans or funds will be excluded,
except that Keogh plans which involve no contractual
relationship with individuals who are not household
members and individual retirement accounts (IRA’s) will
not be excluded.

19. Allowances paid to children of Vietnam
veterans who are born with spina bifida are excluded from
income and resources for food stamp purposes. (P.L. 104-
204).  These monthly allowances ($200, $700, or $1,200)
are based on the degree of disability suffered by the child.

9503 Earned Income

6. Educational assistance which has a work
requirement (such as work study, assistantship or
fellowship with a work requirement) in excess of the
amount excluded under DSSM 9506).

9504 Unearned Income

Unearned income includes, but is not limited to:

4. Scholarships, education grants, deferred payment
loans for educational benefits, veteran’s educational
benefits and the like, other than educational assistance
with a work requirement, in excess of amount excluded.

9506 Income Exclusions

C. Educational assistance, including grants,
scholarships, fellowships, work study, educational loans
on which payment is deferred, veterans’ educational
benefits and the like.

To be excluded, the educational assistance listed
above must be:

A. Awarded to a household member enrolled at
a:

1. Recognized insti tut ion of post-
secondary education,

2. School for the handicapped,
3. Vocational education program,

4. Vocational or technical school, or
5. Program that provides for obtaining a

secondary school diploma or the equivalent;

Means any public or private educational
institution which normally requires a high school diploma
or equivalency certificate for enrollment or admits
persons who are beyond the age of compulsory school
attendance for that State.  The institution must be
authorized to provide an educational program beyond
secondary education or provides a program of training to
prepare students for gainful employment, including
correspondence schools at that level.

B. Used for or identified (earmarked) by the
institution, school, program, or other grantor for the
following allowable expenses:

1. Tuition,
2. Mandatory school fees, including the

rental or purchase of any equipment, material, and supplies
related to the pursuit of the course of study involved,

3. Books,
4. Supplies,
5. Transportation,
6. Miscellaneous personal expenses, other

than the normal living expenses of room and board, of
the student incidental to attending a school, institution,
or program,

7. Dependent care (amounts excluded
cannot be excluded under the income dependent care
deduction under DSSM 9507), and

8. Origination fees and insurance
premiums on educational loans.

Exclusions based on use for the allowable
expenses listed above must be incurred or anticipated for
the period the educational income is intended to cover
regardless of when the educational income is actually
received.  If a student uses other income sources to pay
for allowable educational expenses in months before the
educational income is received, the exclusions to cover
the expenses shall be allowed when the educational
income is received.  When the amounts used for allowable
expenses are more than amounts earmarked by the
institution, school,  program or other grantor, an
exclusion shall be allowed for amounts used over the
earmarked amounts.  Exclusions based on use shall be
subtracted from unearned educational income first when
possible, and the remainder, if any, shall be excluded from
earned educational income.

An individual’s total educational income
exclusions cannot exceed that individual’s total
educational income received.
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D. All loans, including loans from private individuals

as well as commercial institutions, other than educational
loans on which repayment is deferred. Educational loans
on which repayment is deferred shall be excluded
according to DSSM 9506 C.  A loan on which repayment
must begin within 60 days after receipt of the loan shall
not be considered a deferred repayment loan.

E. No portion of any educational assistance that is
provided for normal living expenses (room and board)
shall be considered a reimbursement excludable under
this section.

24. Allowances paid to children of Vietnam veterans
who are born with spina bifida are excluded from income
and resources for food stamp purposes  (P.L.104-204).
These monthly allowances ($200, $700, or $1,200) are
based on the degree of disability suffered by the child.

9507 Income Deductions

Standard Utility Allowances (SUA)

There are two standard utility allowances.  The basic
SUA is for households that pay for costs for a major
utility, such as electricity or cooking fuels, which includes
cooling costs but not heat costs.  The heat SUA is for
households with heating costs.  Households eligible to
use a SUA are required to use the appropriate standard
utility allowance when they have costs for a major utility
or heating.

The two annualized standard utility allowances are as
follows:

· Basic SUA is $164 per month.
· Heat SUA is $239 per month.

9615 Certification Periods

Households eligible for the child support deduction
shall have the following certification periods:

Households with no record of regular child support
payments or payments of arrearages shall be certified for
no more than 3 months.

Households with a record of regular child support
payments or payments of arrearages shall be certified for
no more than six months.

9709 Failure to comply with another assistance
program’s requirements

Do not increase food stamp benefits when a
household’s benefits received under another means-tested
Feedral, State, or local welfare or public assistance

program (such as but not limited to ABC, GA, or SSI)
have been decreased (reduced, suspended, or terminated)
due to an intentional failure to comply with a requirement
of the program that imposed the benefit decrease.  This
does not apply to food stamp work sanctions under DSSM
9203.

FINDING OF FACT

It was determined that no written materials or
suggestions had been received from any individual or the
public.  The Department finds these changes should be
made in the best interest of the general public of the State
of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
revisions to the regulations are adopted and shall become
effective 10 days after publication in the Register of
Regulations.

1-21-98

GREGG C. SYLVESTER, MD
SECRETARY

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SERVICES FOR AGING AND ADULTS

WITH  PHYSICAL  DISABILITIES

Statutory Authority:  11 Delaware Code,
Section 8564(e) (11Del.C. 8564(e))

Order of Rule Adoption

Statutory Authority:  11 Delaware Code, Section 8564
(11 Del. C. 8564)

Before Delaware Health and Social Services Regarding
Rules for the Adult Abuse Registry

Pursuant  to 11 Delaware Code, Section 8564, Delaware
Health and Social Services hereby issues this order
promulgating rules for the Adult Abuse Registry.  Following
notice and public hearings held on January 21 and 22, 1998,
on the proposed rules, the Department makes the following
findings and conclusion:

Summary of Evidence and Information
Proposed Regulations describing the use of the adult

abuse registry and administrative hearing procedures were
proposed by Delaware Health and Social Services.  An

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dsaapd/doahome.htm
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announcement of public hearing was made in the Delaware
Register of Regulations,  Volume 1, Issue 7, on Thursday
January 1, 1998.  Public Hearings were held on January 21,
1998 at Buena Vista, New Castle, DE and on January 22, 1998
at the Milford State Service Center, Milford, DE.  The report
of the hearing officer has been received by the Secretary. One
oral comment and one written comment were received.

Findings of Fact
The proposed regulations were properly advertised as

required by Delaware Code.  The public was afforded an
opportunity to ask questions and make oral written comment.
The public is supportive of adopting this regulation.  There
was no opposition.  The written comment received from the
Governors Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens to
include a reasonable timeframe within which the criminal
record check must be conducted has been addressed through
agency policy.

Conclusions
The proposed rules were promulgated by the Department

in accord with its statutory duties and authority as set forth in
11 Delaware Code, Section 8564.

The Department has received and considered public
comment.

These rules are hereby adopted with an effective date of
March 10, 1998.

Gregg C. Sylvester, MD
Secretary
Delaware Health and Social Services

February 15, 1998

DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE ADULT ABUSE

REGISTRY

Section 1: Definitions
(A) ”Adult Abuse“  means:

(1) Physical abuse including the intentional and
unnecessary infliction of pain or injury to an infirm adult or
the threat thereof.  This includes, but is not limited to, hitting,
kicking, pinching, slapping, pulling hair, or any sexual
contact, or the threat of any of the above acts.

(2) Emotional abuse including, but not limited to:
(a) Ridiculing or demeaning an infirm adult.
(b) Making derogatory remarks to an infirm

adult.
(c) Cursing directed towards an infirm adult.
(d) Threatening retaliation, directly or

indirectly

(3) Mistreatment including the inappropriate use
of medications, isolation or physical or chemical restraints
on or of an infirm adult.

(4) Neglect including:
(a) Intentional lack of attention to physical

needs of the infirm adult including, but not limited to,
toileting, bathing, meals and safety.

(b) Intentional failure to report health problems
or changes in health problems or changes in health condition
of an infirm adult to an immediate supervisor, doctor or
nurse.

(c) Intentional failure to carry out a prescribed
treatment plan for an infirm adult.

(5) Misappropriation of property including the
theft of money or property from the infirm adult, use of
money or property without permission of the infirm adult or
guardian,  and mishandling of money or property belonging to
the infirm adult.

(B) ”Substantiated Abuse“ means that, weighing the
facts and circumstances, a reasonable person has concluded
that more likely than not the identified individual has
committed adult abuse.

(C) ”Person Seeking Employment“ means any person
applying for employment in a health care facility or child care
facility that affords direct access to persons receiving care at
such a facility, or a person applying for licensure to operate
a child care facility.

(D) ”Health Care Facility“ means any custodial or
residential facility where health, nutritional or personal care
is provided for infirm adults, including nursing homes,
hospitals, home health care agencies, and adult day care
facilities.

(E) ”Child Care Facility“ means any child care facility
which is required to be licensed by the Department of
Services for Children, Youth and Their Families.

(F) ”direct access“ means the opportunity to have
personal contact with persons receiving care during the
course of one’s assigned duties.

(G) ”Infirm adult“ means any person 18 years of age or
over who is physically or mentally impaired, either
permanently or temporarily.

(H) ”proposed concern“ refers to a temporary
classification used until the final determination is made.

(I) ”Department“ means the Department of Health and
Social Services.
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Section 2: Use of Registry

(A) No employer who operates a health care facility or
child care facility shall hire any person seeking employment
without requesting and receiving an Adult Abuse Registry
check for such person.

(1) Any employer who is required to request an
Adult Abuse Registry check shall obtain a statement signed by
the person seeking employment wherein the person
authorizes a full release for the employer to obtain the
information provided pursuant to such a check.

(2) The employer shall call the Adult Abuse
Registry, provide the name and social security number of the
person seeking employment, and will be informed of any
information contained in the registry.

(B) When exigent circumstances exist which require an
employer to fill a position in order to maintain the required
or desired level of service, the employer may hire a person
seeking employment on a conditional basis after the
employer has requested an Adult Abuse Registry check.

(1) The employment of the person shall be
conditional and contingent upon receipt of the Adult Abuse
Registry check by the employer.

(2) The person shall be informed in writing, and
shall acknowledge in writing, that his or her employment is
conditional, and contingent upon receipt of the Adult Abuse
Registry check.

Section 3: Investigation of Adult Abuse.

(A) The Department shall investigate any individual
against whom an allegation of adult abuse has been made.

(B) If the investigator determines preliminarily that the
facts and circumstances conclude that more likely than not
the individual has committed abuse or neglect, the
individual’s name shall be placed on the Adult Abuse Registry
with a finding of ”Proposed Concern“.

Section 4: Administrative Hearings

(A) Individuals against whom an allegation is
preliminarily substantiated shall be notified in writing of the
intent to place their name on the Adult Abuse Registry with a
finding of ”Substantiated Abuse“ and shall be offered a right
to an administrative hearing.  Information contained in the
finding of substantiated abuse shall consist of:

(1) The date of the incident
(2) The type of facility where the incident occurred
(3) A brief description of the incident
(4) Length of time the finding remains on the Abuse

Registry

(B) Individuals must request in writing an administrative
hearing within 30 days of the date of the notice that a finding
of abuse has been preliminarily substantiated.

(C) Individuals who fail to request an administrative
hearing within 30 days shall have their name and information
regarding the incident changed from a finding of ”Proposed
Concern“ to a finding of  ”Substantiated Abuse“ on the Adult
Abuse Registry 30 days after the date of the notice.

(D) Individuals who have entered a plea or who have been
convicted by a court of law of adult abuse, shall not have the
right to an administrative hearing.  Their name and
information regarding the incident shall be entered directly
to the Adult Abuse Registry.

(E) The Department shall make a scheduling decision
within 10 days of  receipt of a request for an administrative
hearing by an individual who has received notice of a
preliminary finding of substantiated abuse.

(1) An individual requesting an administrative
hearing shall be entitled to a statement describing the
incident, the date and location of the incident, and the name of
the victim.

(2) The individual shall be afforded an opportunity
to appear with or without an attorney, submit documentary
evidence, present witnesses, and question any witness the
Department presents.

(3) If, at the conclusion of the hearing, the hearing
officer concludes that, weighing the facts and circumstances,
more likely than not, the identified individual has committed
adult abuse, a notice of ”substantiation“ shall be placed on the
registry.

(4) The hearing officer shall render a written
decision and will notify the individual and the Office of the
Ombudsman of the decision.  The notice will specify the
reasons for the decision and, if the finding is substantiated,
the length of time the finding of substantiated abuse shall
remain on the registry.

(5) The decision of the hearing officer is final.

Section 5: Length of time on the Abuse Registry

The length of time on the Abuse Registry shall be no less
than five years and may be permanent.  The length of time shall
be based on the actual injury or risk of injury to the infirm
adult and whether there exists a pattern of adult abuse.  Not
withstanding the above, the length of time on the registry may
be less than five years if there is evidence of mitigating
circumstances indicating that adult abuse by the individual
was a singular event and not likely to reoccur.
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Section 6: Registry of Nurse Aides

The names of registrants with findings of abuse, neglect,
or misappropriation entered on the Registry of Nurse Aides
created pursuant to 42 CFR § 483 shall be entered into the
Adult Abuse Registry with a finding of substantiated abuse.
The finding shall remain on the Adult Abuse Registry for so
long as the finding remains on the Registry of Nurse Aides.
There shall be no right of appeal for findings entered on the
Adult Abuse Registry under this section.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Section 311 & Chapter 24
(18 Del.C. 311 & Chapter 24)

BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF:

THE ADOPTION OF PROPOSED | Docket No. 97-39
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE |
REGULATION NUMBER 75 |

FINAL ORDER AND DECISION

WHEREAS, on November 1, 1997, the Department
caused to have published in the Register of Regulations a
proposal to adopt Regulation 75; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with 29 Del. C. Chapter 101
and 18 Del. C. § 5003, a hearing was held before a hearing
officer, Fred A. Townsend, III, Deputy Insurance
Commissioner, on December 1, 1997; and

WHEREAS, the hearing officer issued his Proposed
Order and Recommendations on February 2, 1998; and

WHEREAS, the findings of fact and conclusions of law
contained in the Proposed Order appear well reasoned and
amply supported by the summary of evidence contained
therein; and

WHEREAS, the hearing officer made only two non-
substantive changes to the form of the proposed Regulation
as noticed in the Register;

NOW THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED, the summary of
evidence, findings of fact and conclusions of law contained in
the hearing officer’s Proposed Order and Recommendations
(attached hereto as exhibit ”A“), are incorporated by
reference and adopted herein in their entirety.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that Regulation 75 be
adopted in the form affixed to the hearing officer’s Proposed
Order and Recommendation, and as attached hereto as exhibit
”B“.

For the reasons set forth above, Regulation 75 is herein
adopted, effective March 15, 1998.

SO ORDERED this 9th  day of February, 1998.

Donna Lee H. Williams
Insurance Commissioner

BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF:

THE ADOPTION OF PROPOSED | Docket No. 97-39
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE |
REGULATION NUMBER 75 |

PROPOSED ORDER AND RECOMMENDATIONS

Regulation 75 (proposed) would require an insurance
company, making a payment to a third party claimant, to send
notification to that third party claimant when the payment is
transmitted to the claimant’s attorney or other representative.
The purpose of this regulation is to help prevent mishandling
of funds by the claimant’s representative.

On November 1, 1997, the regulation was published in
the Register of Regulations in accordance with 29 Del. C.
chapters 11 and 101.  Also in accordance with 29 Del. C.
chapter 101, a hearing was held on December 1, 1997 before
this hearing officer, and the record left open for an additional
10 days for the submission of additional exhibits by
interested parties.  The following is my Proposed Order and
Recommendations regarding the adoption of Regulation 75
in the form attached hereto as Exhibit ”A“.

Present at the hearing on December 1st was W. Laird
Stabler, Esquire, of Potter, Anderson & Corroon,
representing the State Farm Insurance Companies and the
American Alliance of Insurers.  Also present was Beverly
Sisson, on behalf of BHM Insurance Services.

I.  Summary of the Evidence

The evidence in this matter consists of the oral testimony
of Mr. Stabler, as well as five written exhibits submitted by
interested parties.

1. Mr. Stabler testified that both of his clients were
unopposed to third party notification generally.  He
expressed their desire that the notice requirement be
satisfied by sending a copy of the transmittal letter to the
claimant that accompanies the payment forwarded to the
claimants’ legal representative.  Mr. Stabler further testified
that State Farm had concerns over the statutory authority
underpinning the regulation.  State Farm separately submitted
a letter to the Department authored by its in-house counsel,
John Ashenfelter (admitted into the record as Exhibit 1).  This

http://www.state.de.us/govern/elecoffl/inscom.htm
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the attorney makes these statements when in fact he intends
to divert settlement payments for his own use, he has made a
material misrepresentation and has done so with the intent to
defraud.  A hypothetical fact pattern will illustrate the point:
An attorney retained by a third party claimant begins
negotiating an insurance  claim.  He convinces his client that
the claim is worth $100,000.00, all the while knowing the
claim is worth substantially more.  The attorney convinces the
insurer to settle the claim for $500,000.00 and the payment
is forwarded to him.  The attorney then forwards $100,000.00
to his client and keeps the remainder.  This attorney has
misrepresented his client’s position regarding settlement to
the insurer, and has further misrepresented his own status as
acting in the best interest of his client.  These facts are
material to the claim and the misrepresentation was
performed with the intent to defraud.  I find that the attorney’s
knowledge of the insurer’s duty to independently notify the
claimant of the settlement amount would deter such
misconduct.Concerns stemming from direct communication
with the third party claimant appear to spring from Delaware
Rule of Professional Conduct 4.2.  These concerns are
misplaced.  Rule 4.2 provides as follows:

In representing a client, a lawyer shall not
communicate about the subject of the representation
with a party the lawyer knows to be represented by a
lawyer in the matter, unless the lawyer has the consent
of the other lawyer or is authorized by law to do so.

Regulation 75 does not direct lawyers to communicate with
other lawyer’s clients, rather it directs insurance companies
to communicate with the lawyer’s client.  In recognition of
this fact, the parenthetical “(including the insurer’s
attorney)” should be removed from Section 4, and has been
removed from Exhibit “A”.  The notice required by
Regulation 75 is not the kind of communication that would
typically come from an insurance company’s counsel and is
in every case a communication beneficial to the lawyer’s
client.  To the extent the notice did come from the insurer’s
attorney, the attorney’s actions would be protected by the
provision of the last phrase of Rule 4.2 stating that a
communication is not violative of the rule where required by
law, as it would be in the case of Regulation 75.  No further
change addressing this issue is needed in the text of the
regulation.

Section 5 of the regulation prescribes the minimum
information that the notice must include.  In the interests of
minimizing the burden imposed on insurers, the suggestion
that a carbon copy of the transmittal letter serve as the
notification is reasonable so long as the transmittal contains
all of the required information.  This change is reflected in
additional language made part of Section 5.

III.  Recommendation

letter mirrored the comments made by Mr. Stabler regarding
the statutory authority of the regulation and the use of what is
termed a ”carbon copy“ of the transmittal letter, and went on
to suggest additional language that might allay concerns from
the trial bar that the notification would constitute an
impermissible communication with a lawyer’s client.

2. The Professional Insurance Agents Association
submitted a letter (admitted into the record as Exhibit 2)
generally in support of  the proposed regulation.  However,
the PIAA questioned whether the regulation would be
interpreted to apply to insurance agents who distribute
insurance funds to third parties.

3. Victor F. Battaglia, Esquire, as chairman of the
Professional Guidance Committee of the Delaware Bar
Association, submitted a number of letters in support of the
regulation (admitted into the record as Exhibits 3, 4, and 5).
In these exhibits, Mr. Battaglia expresses his concern over
the continuing incidence of the mishandling of client funds by
legal representatives, and cites this regulation as an effective
deterrent to such abuse.  Mr. Battaglia noted the existence of
similar regulations in New York and New Jersey, as well as
legislation in Connecticut in support of the need for such
regulation in Delaware.  Mr. Battaglia also proposed language
intended to address concerns of the trial bar regarding third
party communications with individuals represented by
counsel.

II.  Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

Based upon the evidence received in this matter, I find
that the mishandling or diverting of funds disbursed by
insurance companies is a legitimate concern.  I further find
for the following reasons that the proposed regulation, with
two non-substantive revisions, will address these concerns, is
properly supported by the Insurance Code, imposes very
minimal burdens upon insurance carriers and violates no
prohibition against communications with individuals
represented by counsel.

The statutory basis underpinning this regulation is
sufficient.  A ”fraudulent insurance act“ is defined in 18 Del.
C. § 2407(a)(2) as, inter alia:

 for any person to knowingly, by act or omission, with
intent to injure, defraud or deceive  present any oral or
written statement to an insurer in support of a claim
for payment pursuant to an insurance policy,
containing false or misleading information concerning
any fact material to such claim.

An attorney acting on behalf of a third party claimant makes
oral or written statements to the insurer as part of settlement
negotiations that accompany virtually every such claim.
Implicitly or explicitly, the attorney represents to the
insurance carrier that he is acting on behalf of the claimant.  If
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For the above reasons, it is recommended the Insurance
Commissioner adopt Regulation 75 in the form attached.

SO RECOMMENDED, this 2nd  day of February, 1998.

Fred A. Townsend III
Deputy Insurance Commissioner

REGULATION NUMBER 75 (PROPOSED)
WRITTEN NOTICE BY INSURERS OF PAYMENT OF

THIRD PARTY CLAIMS

Sections:

1. Authority
2. Purpose
3. Scope
4. Requirement of Notice
5. Contents of Notice
6. Causes of Action and Defenses
7. Effective Date

Section 1. Authority

This regulation is adopted by the Insurance Commissioner
pursuant to 18 Del.C. § 311 and 18 Del.C. Chapter 24. It is
promulgated in accordance with 29 Del.C. Chapter 101.

Section 2. Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to protect the third party
claimant from misuse or mishandling of funds payable under
a liability or casualty insurance contract, when those funds
are disbursed to the third party claimant’s attorney,
accountant, agent or other representative.

Section 3. Scope

This regulation will apply to all insurers who make
payment in excess of $5,000.00 to third party claimants
under casualty or liability insurance contracts.

Section 4. Requirement of Notice

Upon payment in excess of $5,000.00 in settlement of or
upon judgment on any third party liability or casualty claim
and where the claimant is a natural person, the insurer or its
representative [(including the insurer’s attorney)]shall
mail to the third party claimant written notice of payment at
the same time such payment is made to the third party’s
attorney, accountant, agent or other representative.

Section 5. Contents of Notice

The written notice referred to in Section 4 above shall be
mailed to the claimant by regular mail at the claimant’s last
known address, and shall include at least the following
information:

1) The amount of the payment;
2) The party or parties to whom the instrument is made

payable;
3) The party to whom the instrument was forwarded;

and
4)  The address of the party to whom the instrument was

forwarded.

[A copy of the transmittal letter forwarded by the
insurer to the party receiving the payment may be used
as the form of notice to the third party claimant so long
as the transmittal letter includes all of the information
specified in paragraphs 1) through 4) above.]

Section 6. Causes of Action and Defenses

Nothing in Sections 4 and 5 above shall create a cause of
action for any person or entity, other than the Delaware
Insurance Commissioner, against an insurer or its
representative based upon a failure to serve such notice, or
defective service of such notice. Nothing in Sections 4 and 5
above shall establish a defense for any party to any cause of
action based upon a failure by the insurer or its representative
to serve such notice, or by the defective service of such
notice.

Section 7. Effective Date

This regulation shall become effective March 15, 1998.

Donna Lee H. Williams
Insurance Commissioner
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The migratory shorebirds that stage on the shores of

the Delaware Bay are of national significance.  Their
numbers are alleged to be declining and there is a
legitimate concern for their demise.  However, many
other migratory bird populations also are alleged to be
declining due to a variety of known and unknown factors.
No evidence was submitted for the record which
correlates the numbers of shorebirds relative to the
numbers of spawning horseshoe crabs.

No evidence was submitted for the record that
documents the relative decline or reason for the decline
of shorebirds staging on the shores of Delaware Bay.  No
evidence was submitted for the record that documents
what quantity of horseshoe crabs or their eggs upon which
shorebirds feed is required to sustain a given number of
shorebirds.

No evidence was submitted for the record that
documents the need for additional horseshoe crabs in the
local eel and conch fisheries.

Much of the testimony urged a conservative approach
to managing the horseshoe crab fishery in lieu of a fishery
management plan for horseshoe crabs.  Likewise, much
of the testimony urged the Division to do nothing to
change the horseshoe crab fishery.

CONCLUSION

The horseshoe crab fishery should not be expanded,
it should be restricted to a more traditional  level of
participation and harvest that meet the needs of local
conch and eel pot fishermen.  Until a horseshoe crab
fishery management plan is adopted by the Atlantic States
Marine Fisheries Commission, additional regulations are
required to control the harvest of horseshoe crabs.

Future consideration should be given to authorizing
the collecting of horseshoe crabs by conch fishermen for
use in their own pots in this State.  Consideration also
should be given to authorizing a limited number of
horseshoe crabs to be harvested by dredge, by commercial
eel and conch fishermen and the use of larger vehicles
and trailers by traditional seafood dealers to efficiently
transport horseshoe crabs.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this 11th day of February, 1998
that Shellfish Regulations and Amendments thereto for
S-51, S-54, S-55, S-56, S-57, S- 58, S-59 and S-60,
copies of which are attached hereto, are adopted pursuant
to 7 Del. C., § 2701 and are supported by the Department’s

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF FISH & W ILDLIFE

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code, Sections
2701, 1902 (7 Del.C. §1902, 2701)

ORDER

SUMMAR Y OF THE EVIDENCE AND
INFORMA TION

Pursuant to due notice, 1:7 Del. R. 807-811 (January
1,  1998), the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposed to enact shellfish
regulations to define the criteria for eligibility for a
horseshoe crab collecting permit; control the times and
areas where horseshoe crabs may be harvested; limit the
number of horseshoe crabs that may be dredged in one
day; define the equipment that may be used to store and/
or transport horseshoe crabs and require monthly
reporting of the harvest of horseshoe crabs.  The
Department’s goal is to allow a sufficient harvest of
horseshoe crabs to sustain the local need for bait in the
eel and conch pot fisheries without adversely affecting
migratory shorebirds or the supply of horseshoe crabs
available to the pharmaceutical industry.

A public hearing was held on January 26, 1998 in
Dover, Delaware in front of  Charles A. Lesser, Fisheries
Administrator for the Department and the Department’s
designee to receive testimony and evidence.  His report
is attached and part of this order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The harvest of horseshoe crabs in Delaware was
documented as having increased significantly since 1991.
Fishery independent trawl surveys document the catch of
horseshoe crabs per unit of effort is a declining trend,
indicating the horseshoe crab fishery may be fully
exploited.

The demand for horseshoe crabs as bait in the eel
fishery has not increased significantly.  However, the
demand for horseshoe crabs in the conch pot fishery has
increased significantly and may continue to increase.  To
meet this increased demand and the resulting economic
incentives of the horseshoe crab beach collecting fishery,
the number of horseshoe crab collecting permits issued
by the Department has increased significantly since 1991.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/main1.htm
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findings on the evidence and testimony received.  This
Order shall become effective on April 1, 1998.

Christophe A.G. Tulou, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control

Be it adopted by the Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control the following amendments to
Shellfish Regulations No. S-51 and S-54 and new
Shellfish Regulations No. S-55, S-56, S-57, S-58, S-59
and S-60.

S - 51 SEASONS AND AREA CLOSED TO
COLLECTING AND DREDGING TAKING HORSESHOE
CRABS

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
dredge horseshoe crabs from any state or federal land
owned in fee simple or water within one thousand (1000)
feet, measured perpendicularly from the mean low
waterline, during the period beginning at 12:01 am on
May 1 and continuing through midnight, June 7, except
authorized persons may collect horseshoe crabs on
Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from State owned
lands to the east of State Road 89.  Provided, however, any
person that has been issued a valid scientific collecting
permit may collect horseshoe crabs at any time in any area
as specified in the permit.

(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to dredge
horseshoe crabs except from one’s own leased shellfish
grounds or with permission from the owner of leased
shellfish grounds in an area of Delaware Bay within the
boundaries that delineate leasable shellfish grounds and
described as follows:

Starting at a point on the “East Line” in Delaware at
Loran-C coordinates 27314.50/42894.25 and continuing
due east to a point at Loran-C coordinates 27294.08/
42895.60 and then 27270.80/42852.83 and then
continuing southwest to a point at Loran-C coordinates
27279.67/42837.42 and then continuing west southwest
to a point at Loran-C coordinates 27281.31/42803.48
and then continuing west to a point at Loran-C coordinates
27280.75/42795.50 and then in a northerly direction on
a line 1000 feet offshore, coterminous with the existing
shoreline to the point of beginning on the “East Line”.

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
dredge or attempt to collect or dredge horseshoe crabs
from any state or federal lands owned in fee simple or the
tidal waters of this state [channelward of the mean low
water line]during a period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on
May 1 and continuing through midnight, June 30, [next
ensuing]except that [authorized] persons [with valid
horseshoe crab collecting permits and eel licensees
and their alternates] may collect horseshoe crabs on

Tuesdays and Thursdays from state owned lands to the east
of state road No. 89 (Port Mahon Road).

(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
attempt to collect, any horseshoe crabs from any lands not
owned by the state or federal government during the
period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on May 1 and continuing
through midnight, June 30, [next ensuing] except that
[authorized] persons [with valid horseshoe crab
collecting permits and eel licenses and their
alternates] may collect horseshoe crabs on Mondays,
Wednesdays and Fridays.

S-54 POSSESSION LIMIT OF HORSESHOE CRABS,
EXCEPTIONS

(a)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful
for any person to possess more than six (6) horseshoe
crabs, except a person with a validated receipt from a
person with a valid horseshoe crab commercial collecting
or dredge permit for the number of horseshoe crabs in
said person’s possession.  A receipt shall contain the
name, address and signature of the supplier, the date and
the number of horseshoe crabs obtained.

(b)  Any person who has been issued a valid
commercial eel fishing license by the Department is
exempt from the possession limit of six (6) horseshoe
crabs, provided said commercial eel fishing licensee has
submitted an annual report of his/her previous year’s
harvest of horseshoe crabs to the Department on forms
provided by the Department.  Said exemption also applies
to a commercial eel fisherman’s alternate while the
alternate is in the presence of the commercial eel
fisherman.  Any person who has been issued a commercial
eel fishing license (and such person’s alternate while in
the presence of the licensee) may collect or dredge
horseshoe crabs without a horseshoe crab commercial
collecting or dredge permit, provided all horseshoe crabs
taken are for personal, non-commercial use, as bait for
the licensee’s eel pots fished in this State.

(b) Any person who has been issued a valid
commercial eel fishing license by the Department or  [his
said person’s] alternate while in the presence of the
licensee, is exempt from the possession limit of six (6)
horseshoe crabs, provided said commercial eel fishing
licensee has [submitted filed]  all required reports of
his[/her]  and his[/her]  alternate’s previous months
harvest of horseshoe crabs [to with]  the Department on
forms provided by the Department [in accordance with
S-57].  Any person who has been issued a commercial eel
fishing license and said person’s alternate while in the
presence of the licensee, may collect horseshoe crabs by
hand without a horseshoe crab commercial collecting
[permit]  provided all horseshoe crabs taken are for
personal, non-commercial use, as bait for the licensee’s
eel pots fished in this state.
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S-55 HORESESHOE CRAB DREDGING RESTRICTIONS

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to dredge
horseshoe crabs[in the area in Delaware Bay
designated as leased Shellfish grounds] except [from
on] one’s own leased shellfish grounds or with
permission from the owner of leased shellfish
grounds.[ in an area of Delaware Bay The area in
Delaware Bay designated as leased shellfish grounds
is] within the boundaries that delineate leasable shellfish
grounds and is described as follows:   Starting at a point on
the “East Line” in Delaware at Loran-C coordinates
27314.50/42894.25 and continuing due east to a point at
Loran-C coordinates 27294.08/42895.60 and then
27270.80/42852.83 and then continuing southwest to a
point at Loran-C coordinates 27279.67/42837.42 and
then continuing west southwest to a point at Loran-C
coordinates 27281.31/42803.48 and then continuing
west to a point at Loran-C coordinates 27280.75/
42795.50 and then in a northerly direction on a line 1000’
offshore, coterminous with the existing shoreline to the
point of beginning on the “East Line.”

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person, who [uses
dredges to take horseshoe crabs  operates a vessel and
has on board said vessel a dredge of any kind,] to have
on board [or]  to land more than 1500 horseshoe crabs
during any 24 hour period beginning at 12:01 a.m. and
continuing through midnight [next ensuing].

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person, [with a dredge
of any kind on board a vessel who operates a vessel and
has on board said vessel a dredge of any kind, to have
or to ] possess on board said vessel any horseshoe crabs
at any time during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on
May 1 and continuing through midnight, June 30 [next
ensuing].

S-56 HORSESHOE CRAB SANCTUARIES
(a) All state and federal lands owned in fee simple are

horseshoe crab sanctuaries during the period beginning at
12:01 a.m. on May 1 through midnight June 30.

(b)  Any private land owner(s) may register [his or ]
their land with the Department to be designated as a
horseshoe crab sanctuary [for a period to be specified
by the land owner(s)].

(c)  It shall be unlawful to collect any horseshoe crabs
at any time from a horseshoe crab sanctuary [except as
provided in S-51(a)].

S - 57 HORSESHOE CRAB REPORTING
REQUIREMENTS

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person who has been
issued a [a scientific permit, a beach clean up permit,
a] horseshoe crab dredge permit, a horseshoe crab
commercial collecting  permit or a [person who has
been issued a] commercial eel pot license [and collects

horseshoe crabs for his/her personal use as bait  if
used to collect horseshoe crabs for personal, non-
commercial use] to not file a monthly report [of his/her
harvest of horseshoe crabs] with the Department [on
forms provided by the Department] on or before the
10th day of the next month.  Monthly reports on
horseshoe crabs shall be filed for each month whether
horseshoe crabs are dredged or collected or not dredged
or collected, [and inlcude the harvest by any person or
persons authorized by S-54 and S-52 to assist with the
collection of horseshoe crabs.].  Said forms shall
require the reporting of the date, location, sex and number
of horseshoe crabs dredged or collected.

(b)  Any person who fails to file a completed monthly
report with the Department on horseshoe crabs
[collected or dredged on the form], on or before the
10th day of the following month shall have his[/her
horseshoe crab dredge permit, horseshoe crab
commercial collecting] permit or authority to collect
horseshoe crabs as a commercial eel fisherman,
suspended until such time that all delinquent reports are
received by the Department.

S - 58 HORSESHOE CRAB CONTAINMENT AND
TRANSPORTATION RESTRICTIONS

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to put, place,
contain or cause to be contained any horseshoe crabs in
any enclosure, container or facility, other than cold
storage or a freezer, that contains more than 300 cubic
feet of storage space.

(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to transport or
cause to be transported any horseshoe crab in any vehicle
or trailer that contains more than 300 cubic feet of
storage space.

“S-59 HORSESHOE CRAB COMMERCIAL
COLLECTING PERMIT ELIGIBILITY AND RENEWAL
REQUIREMENTS

(a)  The Department may only issue a horseshoe crab
commercial collecting permit to a person who makes
application for such a permit in calendar year 1998, and
who, prior to July 1, 1997, had applied for and secured
from the Department at least 2 valid horseshoe crab
commercial collecting permits.  Any person holding a
horseshoe crab commercial collecting permit [in 1998]
may apply for renewal of their horseshoe crab
commercial collecting permit by April 1.  Failure of any
person holding a horseshoe crab commercial collecting
permit to apply for renewal of their horseshoe crab
commercial collecting permit by April 1, will limit their
eligibility to obtain a horseshoe crab commercial
collecting permit to the lottery process of subsection (b).

(b)  When the total number of horseshoe crab
commercial collecting permits drops to 45 or below, as
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of April 2 of any year, the Department may schedule a
lottery to take place prior to April 30 of that year to allow
the total number of horseshoe crab commercial
collecting permits to increase to 50.”

[S-60 PROHIBITIONS; SALE OF HORSESHOE
CRABS

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person who
collects or dredges horseshoe crabs, except a person
with a valid horseshoe crab commercial collecting
permit or a person with a valid horseshoe crab dredge
permit, to sell, trade and/or barter or to attempt to
sell, trade and /or barter any horseshoe crab.]

persons who had made timely written requests to the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.  The Notice
included, among other things, a summary of the proposed
new regulations, invited interested persons to submit
written comments to the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner on or before February 4, 1998, and stated
that the proposed new regulations were available for
inspection at the Office of the State Bank Commissioner,
that copies were available upon request, and that a public
hearing would be held on February 4, 1998 at 10:00 a.m.
in the Second Floor Cabinet Room in the Townsend
Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware 19901.

2. Three written comments were received on or
before February 4, 1998.  With regard to proposed
regulation 5.2318.0001, a representative of Western
Union Financial Services, Inc. and Integrated Payments
Systems, Inc. wrote that it would be “unduly burdensome
to require l icensees to be responsible for hotel
recommendations and travel directions on a prospective
basis.”  With regard to proposed regulations
5.2111(b).0005 and 5.2210(e).0005, a representative of
the Delaware State Mortgage Brokers Association wrote
to suggest changing the loan volume reporting dates from
July 15th to July 31st, and from January 15th to January
31st.  The third written comment was withdrawn when its
author learned that the proposed new regulations would
not apply to banks.

3. A public hearing was held on February 4, 1998 at
10:00 a.m. regarding the proposed new regulations
5.2111(b).0005, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001,
5.2906(e).0003 and 5.2111/2210/2906.0006.  The State
Bank Commissioner, the Deputy Bank Commissioner for
Supervisory Affairs, the Administrator of Non-Depository
Institutions and Compliance for the Office of the State
Bank Commissioner, three representatives of the
Delaware State Mortgage Brokers Association, a
representative of the Delaware Mortgage Bankers
Association and the Court Reporter attended the hearing.
No other person attended the hearing.  The State Bank
Commissioner, the Deputy Bank Commissioner for
Supervisory Affairs and the Administrator of Non-
Depository Institutions and Compliance for the Office
of the State Bank Commissioner summarized the
proposed new regulations for the record.  The three
representatives of the Delaware State Mortgage Brokers
Association presented their written comment described
above, explaining that the loan volume reporting dates
should be extended because more time was needed to
compile the required information, and also asked
questions about the relationship between licensing and
the report ing of Delaware assets under proposed
regulation 5.2111/2210/2906.0006, and the required
amounts of licensee surety bonds and the reporting of

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
OFFICE OF THE STATE BANKING  COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority:  5 Delaware Code,
Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. 121(b))

ORDER ADOPTING NEW REGULATIONS
5.2111(b).0005, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001,
5.2906(e).0003 AND 5.2111/2210/2906.0006

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 5th day of February,
1998, that new regulations 5.2111(b).0005,
5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e).0003 and
5.2111/2210/2906.0006 are adopted as regulations of the
State Bank Commissioner.  Copies of new regulations
5.2111(b).0005, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001,
5.2906(e).0003 and 5.2111/2210/2906.0006 are attached
hereto and incorporated herein by reference.  The
ef fective date of new regulations 5.2111(b).0005,
5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e).0003 and
5.2111/2210/2906.0006 is March 12, 1998.  New
regulations 5.2111(b).0005, 5.2210(e).0005,
5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e).0003 and 5.2111/2210/
2906.0006 are issued by the State Bank Commissioner
in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code.

New regulations 5.2111(b).0005, 5.2210(e).0005,
5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e).0003 and 5.2111/2210/
2906.0006 are adopted pursuant to the requirements of
Chapters 11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as
follows:

1. Notice and the text of proposed new regulations
5.2111(b).0005, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001,
5.2906(e).0003 and 5.2111/2210/2906.0006 were
published in the January 1, 1998 issue of the Delaware
Register of Regulations.  The Notice also was published
in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
January 12, 1998, and mailed on or before that date to all

http://www.state.de.us/bank/index.htm
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Delaware loan volume under proposed regulation
5.2111(b).0005 and 5.2210(e).0005.  The State Bank
Commissioner and the Administrator of Non-Depository
Institutions and Compliance for the Office of the State
Bank Commissioner responded to these comments.  The
Delaware Mortgage Bankers Association stated through
its representative that it had no objection to the proposed
regulations.  No other comments were made or received
at the hearing on the proposed new regulations.

4. After review and consideration, the State Bank
Commissioner concluded that it would be appropriate to
extend the reporting dates in proposed new regulations
5.2111(b).0005, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001 and
5.2906(e).0003 to allow more time to compile the
required information.  In addition, the State Bank
Commissioner concluded that it would be appropriate to
delete from those proposed regulations the requirements
relating to hotel recommendations and travel directions.
Finally, the State Bank Commissioner concluded that the
remaining questions asked at the hearing did not require
any other changes to the proposed regulations.

5. Therefore, the State Bank Commissioner decided
to modify proposed new regulations 5.2111(b).0005,
5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001 and 5.2906(e).0003 by
changing the reporting dates in each of those regulations
from July 15 to July 31 and from January 15 to January
31, as suggested, and by deleting the provisions relating
to hotel recommendations and travel directions.  The State
Bank Commissioner determined that those changes were
“not substantive” within the meaning of Section 10118(c)
of Title 29 of the Delaware Code.  Accordingly, the State
Bank Commissioner decided to adopt new regulations
5.2111(b).0005, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001 and
5.2906(e).0003, as modif ied.  The State Bank
Commissioner decided to adopt new regulation 5.2111/
2210/2906.0006 as proposed.

Timothy R. McTaggart
State Bank Commissioner

Regulation No. 5.2111(b).0005
Effective Date:  March 12, 1998

Report of Delaware Loan Volume
(Chapter 21, Title 5 of the Delaware Code)

This report shall be completed by all institutions
licensed under Chapter 21, Title 5 of the Delaware Code and
submitted to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner
twice each year.  The first report is due on or before July [15
31]and must contain figures from January 1 through June 30
of the current year.  The second report is due on or before
January [15 31]and must contain figures from January 1
through December 31 of the previous year.  In the event that
you fail to provide this information in the period

requested, you will be in violation of this regulation.
Additionally, an examination will be scheduled, and staff
allocated, without respect to the volume of your
Delaware business.  This may result in additional
examination costs to you.

Licensees with multiple licensed locations, whose loan files
are serviced at a consolidated, centralized location, may file
a consolidated report.  Otherwise, a separate report must be
submitted for each licensed location

1. Name of Licensee:
2. Is this a consolidated report? Yes       No
3. License No.:

(If consolidated, list all license numbers):
4. List the address where the loan files are maintained:

[You will be billed for examiner time (including travel).
Therefore, you may reduce your costs by providing
complete, reliable and convenient directions that
minimize travel time.  If your records are maintained out
of state and you have not previously provided this office
with directions to the location identified above where
your loan files are maintained, please provide us with
directions.  Provide directions for the nearest airport (if
air transportation is appropriate) and/or driving
directions, and a map of the area to which your
directions refer.  Please provide a name, telephone
number and address of the nearest hotel providing safe
and convenient accommodations, and include directions
to the hotel as well as to your office.  In addition, please
provide the name, title, and telephone number of the
person responsible for these directions, if that person is
different from the examination contact referenced in
item 5, below:]

5. Examination contact person’s name, title, phone number
and fax number:

6. Please report the Delaware business conducted (number
of loans) in each of the following categories:

Loans Placed, per agreement:
Total Dollar Value:
Loans Rescinded:
Applications Denied:

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this report is
true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.
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 Date   Signature   Title

  Printed Name  Phone Number

Regulation No.:  5.2210(e).0005
Effective Date:  March 12, 1998

Report of Delaware Loan Volume
(Chapter 22, Title 5 of the Delaware Code)

This report shall be completed by all institutions licensed
under Chapter 22, Title 5 of the Delaware Code and submitted
to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner twice each
year.  The first report is due on or before July [15 31]and must
contain figures from January 1 through June 30 of the current
year.  The second report is due on or before January [15
31]and must contain figures from January 1 through
December 31 of the previous year. In the event that you fail
to provide this information in the period requested, you
will be in violation of this regulation.  Additionally, an
examination will be scheduled, and staff allocated,
without respect to the volume of your Delaware
business.  This may result in additional examination
costs to you.

Licensees with multiple licensed locations, whose loan files
are maintained at a consolidated, centralized location, may
file a consolidated report.  Otherwise, a separate report must
be submitted for each licensed location.

1. Name of Licensee:

2. Is this a consolidated report? Yes  No

3. License No.: (If consolidated, list all license
numbers):
4. List the address where the loan files are maintained:

[You will be billed for examiner time (including travel).
Therefore, you may reduce your costs by providing
complete, reliable and convenient directions that
minimize travel time.  If your records are maintained out
of state and you have not previously provided this office
with directions to the location identified above where
your loan files are maintained, please provide us with
directions.  Provide directions for the nearest airport (if
air transportation is appropriate) and/or driving
directions, and a map of the area to which your
directions refer.  Please provide a name, telephone
number and address of the nearest hotel providing safe
and convenient accommodations, and include directions

to the hotel as well as to your office.  In addition, please
provide the name, title, and telephone number of the
person responsible for these directions, if that person is
different from the examination contact referenced in
item 5, below:]

5. Examination contact person’s name, title, phone number
and fax number:

6. Please report the Delaware business conducted (number
of loans) in each of the following categories:

Loans Executed:
Total Dollar Value:
Loans Paid-Off at Maturity:
Loans Paid Off Prior to Maturity:
Applications Denied:
Loans in Litigation:
Credit Life Insurance Claims:
Credit A & H Insurance Claims:

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this report is
true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

  Date Signature Title

Printed Name  Phone Number

Regulation No.:  5.2318.0001
Effective Date:  March 12, 1998

Report of Delaware Sale of Checks, Drafts
and Money Orders Volume

(Chapter 23, Title 5 of the Delaware Code)

This report shall be completed by all institutions licensed
under Chapter 23, Title 5 of the Delaware Code and submitted
to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner twice each
year.  The first report is due on or before July [15 31]and must
contain figures from January 1 through June 30 of the current
year .  The second report is due on or before January [15
31]and must contain figures from January 1 through
December 31 of the previous year.

In the event that you fail to provide this information in
the period requested, you will be in violation of this
regulation.  Additionally, an examination will be
scheduled, and staff allocated, without respect to the
volume of your Delaware business.  This may result in
additional examination costs to you.
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1. Name of Licensee:
2. License No.:
3. List the address where the books and records are
maintained:

[You will be billed for examiner time (including
travel).  Therefore, you may reduce your costs by
providing complete, reliable and convenient directions
that minimize travel time.  If your records are
maintained out of state and you have not previously
provided this office with directions to the location
identified above where your loan files are maintained,
please provide us with directions.  Provide directions
for the nearest airport (if air transportation is
appropriate) and/or driving directions, and a map of the
area to which your directions refer.  Please provide a
name, telephone number and address of the nearest hotel
providing safe and convenient accommodations, and
include directions to the hotel as well as to your office.
In addition, please provide the name, title, and telephone
number of the person responsible for these directions, if
that person is different from the examination contact
referenced in item 4, below:]

4. Examination contact person’s name, title, phone number
and fax number:

5. Please report the Delaware business conducted in each
of the following categories:

Number of travelers checks/cheques sales:
Total dollar value:
Number of money order sales:
Total dollar value:
Number of times funds were transmitted:
Total dollar value of funds transmitted:

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this report is
true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

  Date Signature   Title

Printed Name   Phone Number

Regulation No.:  5.2906(e).0003
Effective Date:  March 12, 1998

Report of Delaware Loan Volume
Motor Vehicle Installment Contracts

(Chapter 29, Title 5 of the Delaware Code)

This report shall be completed by all institutions licensed
under Chapter 29, Title 5 of the Delaware Code and submitted
to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner twice each
year.  The first report is due on or before July 15 and must
contain figures from January 1 through June 30 of the current
year.  The second report is due on or before January 15 and
must contain figures from January 1 through December 31 of
the previous year.  In the event that you fail to provide this
information in the period requested, you will be in
violation of this regulation.  Additionally, an examination
will be scheduled, and staff allocated, without respect to
the volume of your Delaware business.  This may result
in additional examination costs to you.
Licensees with multiple licensed locations, whose retail
installment contract files are maintained at a consolidated,
centralized location, may file a consolidated report.
Otherwise, a separate report must be submitted for each
licensed location

1. Name of Licensee:
2. Is this a consolidated report? Yes No
3. License No.: (If consolidated, list all license
numbers):
4. List the address where the retail installment contract
files are maintained:

[You will be billed for examiner time (including travel).
Therefore, you may reduce your costs by providing
complete, reliable and convenient directions that
minimize travel time.  If your records are maintained out
of state and you have not previously provided this office
with directions to the location identified above where
your loan files are maintained, please provide us with
directions.  Provide directions for the nearest airport (if
air transportation is appropriate) and/or driving
directions, and a map of the area to which your
directions refer.  Please provide a name, telephone
number and address of the nearest hotel providing safe
and convenient accommodations, and include directions
to the hotel as well as to your office.  In addition, please
provide the name, title, and telephone number of the
person responsible for these directions, if that person is
different from the examination contact referenced in
item 5, below:]

5. Examination contact person’s name, title, phone number
and fax number:

6. Please report the Delaware business conducted (number
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of contracts) in each of the following categories:

Contracts Executed:
Total Dollar Value:
Contracts Paid-Off at Maturity:
Contracts Paid Off Prior to Maturity:
Applications Denied:
Contracts in Litigation:
Credit Life Insurance Claims:
Credit A & H Insurance Claims:

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this report is
true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

 Date Signature Title

Printed Name Phone Number

Regulation No.: 5.2111/2210/2906.0006
Effective Date:  March 12, 1998

REPORT OF DELAWARE ASSETS

This report shall be completed annually by all
institutions licensed under Chapters 21, 22, and 29, Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.  This report must be received by the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner no later than April 1st
of each year.  The figure reported should reflect
DELAWARE  assets only (including the value of any
Delaware loans or contracts in your portfolio, any funds
deposited in Delaware, and any fixed assets located in
Delaware or any other assets allocated to the Delaware
operations).

1.  Name of Licensee:
2.  Address of Principal License:

3.  To whom should we mail the supervisory assessment
invoice?  Please provide name, title, complete mailing
address, telephone number (include area code and extension
numbers, if applicable) and fax numbers:

4.  Total DELAWARE assets as of December 31st of the
immediately previous year:
      $

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this report
is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Date Signature Title

Printed Name                               Phone Number

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
DEVELOPMENT OF |  PSC REGULATION
RULES AND REGULATIONS |  DOCKET NO. 46
TO GOVERN THE PROVISION |  TRACK ONE
OF TELEPHONE NUMBER |
PORTABILITY BY |
TELECOMMUNICATIONS |
LOCAL EXCHANGE CARRIERS |
OPENED SEPTEMBER 24, 1996) |

ORDER NO. 4715

AND NOW, this 3rd day of February, 1998, the
Commission, finds, determines, and orders the following:

1. Number portability is the ability of a user of a
telecommunications service to retain, at the same location,
existing telephone numbers without impairment of service
quality when the user switches from one telecommunications
carrier to another.  47 U.S.C. §153(30).  By PSC Order No.
4308 (Sept. 30, 1996), the Commission opened this two
track docket.  In the first track, the Commission sought to
formulate and adopt rules and regulations to govern the
provision of number portability on an interim, or transitional,
basis until a long-term database method for number
portability is deployed.1  Under the directives of the Federal
Communications Commission, such long term data-base
method (operated on a region-wide basis) will be
implemented for requested switches in the Wilmington
metropolitan area by the end of 1998.  In other areas of the
State, the long-term method will be available, after January 1,
1999, six months after a specific request is made to the local
exchange carrier.  47 C.F.R. §52.23; App. to Part 52, Phase V.

2. The Commission designated a Hearing Examiner to
conduct proceedings to allow input from interested parties
concerning the rules for interim number portability (”INP“)
to be proposed by the Commission Staff.  Thereafter, Staff
proposed a set of rules to govern INP, including a cost
recovery mechanism, and the Hearing Examiner held a public
hearing on such proposed rules on August 16, 1997.  On
November 14, 1997, the Hearing Examiner filed his report,
recommending the adoption of  Staff’s proposed rules, as
modified in Staff’s post-hearing brief.

3. All but one of the parties that had participated in the
hearing filed exceptions to the Report.  AT&T
Communications of Delaware, Inc. (“AT&T”), urged
rejection of the portion of the rules which make Remote Call
Forwarding (“RCF”) the presumptive method of providing
transitional portability and which relegate carriers to
negotiating or petitioning the Commission to obtain
portability by other methods.  AT&T asserted that other
methods, including two route indexing methods - Route

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/pubservc/delpsc.htm
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Indexing-Portability Hub and Directory Number-Route
Indexing (“DN-RI”) - are currently technically feasible
methods and should be included as interim options under the
INP rules.  Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc. (“BA“-Del”)
concurred with adopting RCF as the presumptive INP method
but objected to the cost recovery mechanism set forth in the
proposed rules.  BA-Del argued that the proposed mechanism
would result in BA-Del bearing almost all of the costs of
providing INP through the RCF method and hence the
mechanism was neither competitively neutral nor substantially
fair.  BA-Del urged that the carriers and customers enjoying
the benefits of portability should bear the costs of paying for
the interim method.  Alternatively, BA-Del suggested that the
costs of INP should be allocated in proportion to each
carrier’s retail communication services revenues in
Delaware.  Conectiv Communications, Inc. (“Conectiv”) did
not except to the Hearing Examiner’s Report.  Finally,
MCImetro Access Transmission Services, Inc. (“MCI”) also
excepted to the use of RCF as the presumptive methodology,
arguing that other technically feasible methods currently
existed.  In addition, MCI contended that the cost recovery
mechanism in the proposed Rules should be altered to a
scheme under which every carrier would absorb its own costs
of deploying the various INP methods.

4. The Commission reviewed and considered the
Report of the Hearing Examiner, together with exceptions of
the parties thereto, at its regular public session held
December 17, 1997.  During the course of the Commission’s
deliberations, BA-Del indicated that it would make DN-RI
available to requesting carriers as a technically feasible
means of provisioning INP in Delaware.2  After deliberation,
the Commission has determined to adopt the findings and
recommendations as set forth in the Report of the Hearing
Examiner except that, based on BA-Del’s revised position
concerning DN-RI, the Commission departs from the Report
with respect to the technical feasibility of this INP
methodology.

5. The INP rules proposed by Staff and recommended
by the Hearing Examiner do not specify a cost allocation
methodology expressly intended to be applicable to recovery
of costs incurred through provisioning INP through
technically feasible means other than RCF, such as DN-RI.
Consequently, the Commission will adopt the INP rules as
drafted but will impose an additional requirement that in the
event a requesting carrier petitions the Commission for an
Order under Rule 2.5 of the INP Rules requiring the local
exchange carrier (“LEC”) to provide interim number
portability by a technically feasible method other than RCF
for the reason that the carrier and the LEC are unable to agree
to a mutually agreeable and appropriate allocation of the cost
of provisioning INP through such other technically feasible
method, then Staff shall recommend to the Commission an
appropriate cost allocation methodology for the INP method
requested and shall further recommend whether, and to what

extent, the INP Rules should be modified to include such cost
allocation methodology.3

6. The Commission chooses this course in light of the
closing nature of the window when the INP rules will likely
govern number portability.  A long term data-base method is
now scheduled to be deployed in the Wilmington area by the
end of 1998 and might be available, upon request, in other
portions of the State soon thereafter.  The Commission could
remand this matter for further revisions to include other
technically feasible INP methods and cost recovery
mechanisms for such other methods.  However, given the
procedural requirements for notice and hearing which would
surround such amendments, the revised form of rules might
not return to the Commission for review until the expected
deployment of the long-term data-base method.  In this hiatus,
no rules to govern INP would be in place.  Instead, by adopting
the proposed rules now, but also outlining an expeditious,
focused procedure if any carrier seeks to have INP
implemented through DN-RI or other technically feasible
methods, the Commission can have rules in place and still
provide relief to any carrier who has a genuine demand for
INP deployed through DN-RI or some other technically
feasible method.4  Finally, the Commission does not believe
that the alteration made here, setting forth a prompt process
for implementing INP under other methods, so changes the
substantive content of the rules to require publication and
comment under 29 Del. C. §10118(c).  The alternative
procedure for implementing other forms of INP simply sets
forth a procedure consistent with the provisions of Proposed
Rules 2.4 and 2.5.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED:
1. That the Commission hereby adopts the Report of

the Hearing Examiner, attached to the original hereof as
Exhibit “A,” including the summary of the evidence and
information submitted and findings of fact contained in said
Report, except, that in view of Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc.’s,
statement to the Commission, the Commission finds that
Directory Numbering - Route Indexing (“DN-RI”) is a
technically feasible means of provisioning interim number
portability in Delaware.

2. That the Commission adopts the “Rules Governing
the Deployment of Interim Number Portability Measures in
the State of Delaware” (“INP Rules”) attached to the original
hereof as Exhibit “B.”

3. That, in the event a requesting carrier petitions the
Commission for an Order under Rule 2.5 of the INP Rules
requiring the local exchange carrier (“LEC”) to provide
interim number portability by a technically feasible method
other than Remote Call Forwarding (“RCF”) for the reason
that the carrier and the LEC are unable to agree to a mutually
agreeable and appropriate allocation of the cost of
provisioning INP through such technically feasible method,
then the Commission Staff shall recommend to the
Commission an appropriate cost allocation methodology for
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the INP method requested and shall further recommend
whether, and to what extent, the INP Rules should be modified
to include such cost allocation methodology.

4. That the Secretary of the Commission shall cause a
copy of this Order, the attached Report of the Hearing
Examiner, and the adopted Rules to be delivered to the
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware
Register of Regulations at the earliest possible
date.

5. That, pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10118(e), the INP
Rules, adopted herein, shall be effective ten (10) days after
publication of this Order in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

6. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may be
deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

/s/  Robert J. McMahon, Chairman
/s/  Joshua M. Twilley, Vice Chairman
/s/  Arnetta McRae, Commissioner
/s/  John R. McClelland, Commissioner

ATTEST:
/s/  Linda A. Mills, Secretary

EXHIBIT  ”A“

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
DEVELOPMENT OF |  PSC REGULATION
RULES AND REGULATIONS |  DOCKET NO. 46
TO GOVERN THE PROVISION |  TRACK ONE
OF TELEPHONE NUMBER |
PORTABILITY BY |
TELECOMMUNICATIONS |
LOCAL EXCHANGE CARRIERS |
OPENED SEPTEMBER 24, 1996) |

REPORT OF THE HEARING EXAMINER

DATED:  NOVEMBER 14, 1997

WILLIAM F. O’BRIEN
HEARING EXAMINER
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BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE |
DEVELOPMENT OF |  PSC REGULATION
RULES AND REGULATIONS |  DOCKET NO. 46
TO GOVERN THE PROVISION |  TRACK ONE
OF TELEPHONE NUMBER |
PORTABILITY BY |
TELECOMMUNICATIONS |
LOCAL EXCHANGE CARRIERS |
OPENED SEPTEMBER 24, 1996) |

REPORT OF THE HEARING EXAMINER

William F. O’Brien, duly appointed Hearing Examiner in
this Docket pursuant to 26 Del. C. §502 and 29 Del. C. Ch.
101, by Commission Order No. 4308, dated September 24,
1996, reports to the Commission as follows:

I. APPEARANCES
On behalf of the Public Service Commission Staff :
MORRIS, JAMES, HITCHENS & WILLIAMS
BY: BARBARA MacDONALD, ESQUIRE

On behalf of the Participants:

Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc.:
DUANE, MORRIS & HECKSCHER
BY: WILLIAM E. MANNING, ESQUIRE

The Division of the Public Advocate:
PATRICIA A. STOWELL, The Public Advocate

AT&T Communications of Delaware, Inc.:
KARLYN D. STANLY, ESQUIRE and
SAUL, EWING, REMICK & SAUL
BY: WENDIE C. STABLER, ESQUIRE and SCOTT

JENSEN, ESQUIRE

Conectiv Communications, Inc.:
PAMELA DAVIS, ESQUIRE, Conectiv Communications,

Inc.
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MCImetro Access Transmission Services, Inc.:
CARVILLE COLLINS, ESQUIRE

II. BACKGROUND

1.  By PSC Order No. 4308, dated September 24, 1996,
the Commission initiated this docket to consider the
formulation and adoption of rules and regulations for the
provision of number portability.5  Number portability is the
ability of a user of a telecommunications service to retain, at
the same location, existing telephone numbers without
impairment of service quality when switching from one
telecommunications carrier to another.  Order No. 4308
created a ”two-track“ process under which the Commission
will consider rules for the provision of interim number
portability in Track One and will consider long-term number
portability rules in Track Two.  This report comprises my
recommendations with respect to the issues raised in Track
One.

2.  By a notice of proposed rulemaking published on
September 30 and October 1, 1996, and by notifying the PSC
Regulation Docket No. 45 participants, the Commission
solicited comments concerning both Track One and Track
Two rules.  In accordance with the schedule for Track One set
out in the notice, on October 30, 1996, Bell Atlantic-
Delaware, Inc. (“BA-Del”), AT&T Communications of
Delaware, Inc. (“AT&T”), Delmarva Power & Light Company
(“DP&L”), 6 MCImetro Access Transmission Services, Inc.
(“MCI”), MFS Intelenet of Delaware, Inc. (“MFS”), and the
Division of the Public Advocate (“DPA”), each submitted
comments.7

3.  After obtaining two extensions, Staff filed its
proposed rules on January 24, 1997.  (Exh. 9.)8  On March 5,
1997, Staff submitted a revised draft of its proposed rules.
(Exh. 10.)  On March 27, 1997, Conectiv Communications,
Inc. (”CCI“), MCI, TelePort Communications Group
(”TCG“) together with its affiliate Eastern TeleLogic
Corporation (”ETC“)9, AT&T, and BA-Del submitted
comments concerning Staff’s proposed rules.10  (Exhs. 7, 16,
20, 4, and 18, respectively.)

4.  On May 8, 1997, Staff filed its Second Revised
Proposed Rules (”Proposed Rules“) together with comments
supporting its acceptance of certain modifications
recommended by the participants in their March 27
comments.  (Exh. 11.)  Staff’s Proposed Rules are attached
hereto as Exhibit “A”.

5.  At a telephone conference conducted on May 14,
1997, the Hearing Examiner scheduled a June 16, 1997
public evidentiary hearing in order to: (1) receive public
comment; (2) allow participants to move their written
comments into the record; and (3) allow participants to
present testimony regarding the technical feasibility of
certain INP methods proposed by AT&T in its comments.  On

June 4, 1997, AT&T, Staff, the DPA, and BA-Del pre-filed
written testimony.  (Exhs. 2, 8, 12, and 14, respectively.)11

6.  Due to a conflict with another PSC
telecommunications docket, on June 13, 1997, Staff
requested and was granted a postponement of the evidentiary
portion of the hearing scheduled for June 16.  The Hearing
Examiner opened the hearing as scheduled to take public
comment.  No members of the public attended or otherwise
participated in the proceeding.  (Tr. at 60.)

7.  The evidentiary hearing was continued on August 7,
1997.  The participants moved their written comments into
the record.  The following witnesses testified: Penn Pfautz,
AT&T Principal Technical Staff Member, John C. Citrolo,
PSC Economist, Scott J. Rafferty, DPA consultant, and
Donald D. Albert, BA-Del Network Operations and
Engineering Director.  At the conclusion of the August 7
evidentiary hearing, the record consisted of twenty (20)
exhibits and a 251-page verbatim transcript.

8.  Staff, BA-Del, AT&T, and the DPA submitted post-
hearing briefs on September 10, 1997.12  In its brief, AT&T
referred to and attached an excerpt from a transcript from an
August 5, 1997 Pennsylvania proceeding, which was not part
of the record in this proceeding.  BA-Del objected to the use
of the transcript and was granted an opportunity to respond.
On September 30, 1997, BA-Del submitted comments from
Mr. Albert responding to the transcript.  I have considered
Staff’s recommendations and all of the participants’
comments, testimony, and briefs.  Based thereon, I submit for
the Commission’s consideration the recommendations set
forth in this Report.

III. SUMMARY OF RECORD AND DISCUSSION

9.  The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter
under 26 Del. C. § 703(4), which authorizes the Commission
to undertake proceedings that may be required by the
Telecommunications Act of 199613 (the “Act”), and under 26
Del. C. § 209, which authorizes the Commission to fix ”just
and reasonable“ regulations to be followed by any public
utility.

10.  Section 251(b)(2) of the Act imposes on all
telecommunications carriers:

The duty to provide, to the extent technically feasible,
number portability in accordance with requirements
prescribed by the [Federal Communications]
Commission [(“FCC”)].

On July 2, 1996, the FCC released its telephone number
portability order14 (“TNP Order”) governing
telecommunications carriers’ obligations to provide number
portability on both an interim and long-term basis.  The TNP
Order requires BA-Del to deploy long-term number
portability (“LNP”) in the Wilmington, Delaware
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Metropolitan Statistical Area (“MSA”) in the fourth quarter
of 1998.15  Beginning January 1, 1999, BA-Del must make
LNP available in the rest of the state within six months after
receiving a request for it from another telecommunications
carrier.16  (Staff at 1.)

11.  The Commission opened this regulation docket to
consider the adoption of rules for the provision of interim
number portability (“INP”) and long-term number portability
(“LNP”) and any attendant cost allocation and recovery
mechanisms consistent with the Act and the TNP Order.  With
respect to LNP (Track Two), the Commission declined to
adopt rules, elected to not ”opt-out“ of the FCC’s regional
database system, and left the docket open for the possibility
of further proceedings upon the FCC’s issuance of its cost
recovery order.  (PSC Order No. 4521, dated June 17, 1997.)

12.  Regarding INP, Staff submitted its initial set of
proposed rules in January and a revised draft in March of this
year.  (Exhs. 9 and 10.)  The participants then submitted
comments on the proposed rules.  Staff submitted its final
proposal in May, which incorporated several of the
participants’ recommendations.  Staff also provided
responsive comments that addressed, in detail, each of the
recommendations of the participants and explained why Staff
adopted some and rejected others.17  (Exh. 11 at 3-11.)

13.  The primary purpose of the August 7, 1997
evidentiary hearing was to receive evidence concerning the
only significant factual matter at issue between the parties:
whether two INP methods advocated by AT&T, Route
Indexing - Portability Hub (“RI-PH”) and Directory Number-
Route Index (“DN-RI”), are ”technically feasible“ and,
therefore, eligible for inclusion in Staff’s Proposed Rules as
mandatory INP methods.  In addition to this factual issue, the
participants briefed the policy and/or legal issues relating to
Staff’s proposed mechanism for allocating and recovering
the costs of providing INP.

A. Technically Feasible Methods of Providing Interim
Number Portability

14.  The FCC’s regulations provide that:

All [local exchange carriers] shall provide transitional
[INP] measures which may consist of Remote Call
Forwarding (RCF), Flexible Direct Inward Dialing
(DID) or any other comparable and technically
feasible method as soon as reasonably possible upon
receipt of a specific request from another
telecommunications carrier, until such time as the
LEC implements a long-term database method for
number portability.

47 CFR § 52.7.  No participant has recommended Flexible
Direct Inward Dialing (“DID”)18 because it is technologically
obsolete or because Remote Call Forwarding (“RCF”)19, in

practice, is the preferable method of the two. (AT&T-Initial
at 4;  BA-Del-Initial at 2.)

15.  Staff’s Proposed Rules direct local exchange
carriers (“LECs”) to use Remote Call Forwarding (“RCF”) to
provide number portability during the interim period unless:
(1) another technically feasible method is mutually agreed
upon; or (2) the Commission, upon petition or upon its own
motion, requires the LEC to provide INP by another
technically feasible method.  (Proposed Rules 2.2, 2.4, 2.5.)
Under a Commission proceeding to determine the technical
feasibility of a requested INP method, the LEC bears the
burden of proving that any requested method is technically
infeasible.

16.  AT&T recommends that for customers with a small
number of lines INP should be provided through RCF.
(AT&T-Initial at 5.)  For larger customers, AT&T urges that
other methods are more appropriate and proposes that the
Commission mandate the provision of route indexing-
portability hub (“RI-PH”)20 and directory number-route
indexing (“DN-RI“)21  (collectively, ”route indexing
methods“).  AT&T identified several RCF deficiencies
including degradation of key features, premature exhaustion
of switch capacity, and area code and number exhaustion.
(AT&T at 10-12.)  Further, according to AT&T, RCF
precludes service to large customers who utilize extension
numbers.

17.  AT&T argues that without changes to incorporate
route indexing methods, the Rules will contravene the Act and
the TNP Order because route indexing is technically feasible
and therefore must be available to new entrants.  (Id. at 3.)
AT&T asserts that the route indexing methods employ switch
technology routinely used by BA-Del and that such methods
have already been recognized as technically feasible in more
than half of the jurisdictions in the country.  (Id.)  AT&T
Witness Pfautz testified that DN-RI and RI-PH are software
driven, do not require any significant investment, and are
based on the route indexing capability already in use to
provide DID service to customers operating through a PBX.
(Id. at 6; Exh. 2 at 9; Tr. at 125.)

18.  According to AT&T, the Proposed Rules create a
disincentive for BA-Del to negotiate with competing LECs
for the provision of more desirable INP methods.  As a result,
the Rules will “seriously and unnecessarily impede
competition.”  (Id. at 4; Exh. 2 at 4.)  AT&T concludes that the
Proposed Rules relegate all Delaware customers to ”what
may be an inferior form of INP for their needs,“ and, thus,
AT&T recommends that the Commission revise the Rules to
reflect the technical feasibility and desirability of DN-RI and
RI-PH.

19.  BA-Del asserts that Bell Atlantic offers RCF, DID
and Full NXX Code Migration (Local Exchange Routing
Guide or “LERG”) through over 4,300 INP arrangements
with carriers throughout its region.  (BA-Del at 2.)   BA-Del
Witness Albert testified that no carriers have experienced
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any problems in providing service to their end users using
these three methods.  (Id., Exh. 14 at 3.)  Concerning AT&T’s
criticisms of RCF, BA-Del asserts that there is no risk of
number exhaustion until 2010, there is efficient use of the
access tandem because direct office trunking is also used, and
there is no loss of features.  (BA-Del at 3.)

20.  BA-Del asserts that RI-PH is not technically feasible
and not currently available anywhere in the country because
of its adverse impact on the integrity of the network and on
certain services.  (Id. at 4.)  Mr. Albert testified that the effect
of RI-PH in Delaware is heightened by the fact that Delaware
(and portions of Pennsylvania) are served by one access
tandem, which currently is operating at over 80% of capacity.
(Id. at 5.)  BA-Del also contends that RI-PH would
compromise reliability because AT&T would be controlling
the loads placed on the single access tandem.  If RI-PH caused
loads to materialize quickly, service degradation such as
blocked calls and network outages could occur, affecting all
customers served by the switch.22   Finally, Mr. Albert
testified that RI-PH would cost over $100,000 in software
development to support ordering, provisioning, maintenance
and billing.  (Id. at 6, Tr. at 196-203.)

21.  As for DN-RI, Mr. Albert testified that Bell Atlantic-
New Jersey (“BA-NJ”) and AT&T are currently testing,
pursuant to an agreement, the technical feasibility of DN-RI
as an INP method.  (BA-Del at 6, Tr. at 193-195.)  Encouraged
by the testing to date, Mr. Albert predicted that BA-Del
eventually will make a DN-RI service offering.  However, Mr.
Albert also predicted that AT&T and BA-Del will not agree to
the costs or cost recovery of DN-RI.  Consequently, the cost
allocation and recovery provisions of the Proposed Rules,
which only contemplate RCF, would have to be amended to
accommodate the DN-RI technology, according to BA-Del.
(BA-Del at 6-7.)

22.  The DPA supports Staff’s proposal regarding RCF as
the presumptive method of providing INP.  (DPA at 1.)  The
DPA also suggests that when a new carrier obtains a majority
of the lines in use within an exchange code, the entire code
should transfer to the new carrier and the customers from that
code remaining with BA-Del should be ported back to BA-
Del.  In addition, the DPA recommends that when BA-Del and
a competing carrier agree to an alternative INP method, the
competing carrier should bear all additional cost.  (Id.)

23.  Staff takes no position on the technical feasibility of
DN-RI and RI-PH.  (Staff at 5.)  Staff argues that AT&T’s
proposed modifications are neither necessary nor advisable.
According to Staff, § 52.7  (see & 14, supra) does not require
state commissions to predetermine the technical feasibility
of RCF alternatives and mandate their deployment before any
carrier makes a request for them.  Instead, it provides that the
first step in the process will be a ”specific request from
another telecommunications carrier“.  (Id.; quoting § 52.7.)
Staff asserts that its Proposed Rules are consistent with
§ 52.7 as they allow for a specific request for an alternative

INP method, followed by negotiations, followed by a
Commission proceeding, if necessary.

24.  Staff agrees with BA-Del that the cost allocation
provisions of its Proposed Rules only apply to RCF.  (Id. at 6;
citing Proposed Rules 3, 4 and 5.)  Staff notes that AT&T has
not proposed necessary modifications to Staff’s cost
allocation rules and that further study would be required
before Staff could propose a modification.  Staff argues that
further study would unnecessarily delay adoption of any INP
Rules.  (Id.)

25.  Staff also notes that AT&T will not confirm whether
it even intends to enter the Delaware local exchange market
during the period that the interim rules will be in effect.  (Id.
at 6; Tr. at 111.)  In light of AT&T’s status as the only docket
participant that contends that RCF is inadequate, Staff
recommends that the Commission consider AT&T’s lack of
commitment to enter the Delaware market in evaluating the
Proposed Rules.

26.  I agree with Staff that its Proposed Rules 2.2 through
2.5 concerning INP methods are consistent with the Act and
the TNP Order, and are otherwise reasonable.  In addition, I
share Staff’s concern regarding the delay that would result
from modifying the cost allocation rules to accommodate the
route indexing methods, especially when considered in light
of AT&T’s reluctance to commit to entering the Delaware
market during the interim time period.  For these reasons, I
recommend that the Commission not make a finding as to
whether DN-RI and RI-PH are technically feasible at this
time and decline AT&T’s recommendation to modify the
Proposed Rules.

27.  If the Commission deems it appropriate to make a
finding on the issue, then I recommend that it conclude that
the record does not support a finding of technical feasibility.
Neither BA-Del nor AT&T offered hard evidence (e.g.,
results from local testing) to support their positions.  AT&T
relied on disputed accounts of actions in other jurisdictions
and on conclusory statements regarding the ease of
implementing the route indexing methods.  (Exh. 2 at 10-11;
AT&T at 4; BA-Del at 4.)  BA-Del presented its network
engineer, Mr. Albert, who is responsible for the day-to-day
operation of the local network as it relates to co-carrier
arrangements.23  (Exh. 14 at 1.)  Mr. Albert offered credible,
detailed testimony regarding the potential for system
degradation and regarding the substantial amount of time that
would be required to put the systems into place that are
necessary to implement and administer RI-PH.  (Id. at 8-11,
Tr. at 215.)  The time required for implementation is relevant
in this case, since the effective period for the rules is limited
by long-term number portability.

28.  Mr. Albert testified that BA-Del will provide RI-DN
in Delaware if the New Jersey testing is successful and the
operational issues can be resolved.  (Exh. 14 at 7.)  Regarding
the target date for completion of the tests, Mr. Albert
testified that AT&T and BA-Del are “hoofing through in the
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ASAP mode.”  (Tr. at 218.)  Before the Commission finds that
RI-DN is technically feasible, it should consider the results
of the New Jersey testing.  If the testing is not completed
before AT&T makes a specific request for RI-DN, the
Commission may consider any allegations by AT&T that BA-
Del has delayed the testing procedure in order to avoid a
finding of feasibility.

29.  For the above reasons, if the Commission deems it
necessary to make a finding on technical feasibility, I
recommend that it conclude that the record does not support
a finding of technical feasibility.

B. Cost Allocation and Recovery Mechanism

30.  Staff’s Proposed Rules provide that each providing
carrier absorb its own cost of providing INP through RCF
until its total costs exceed the lesser of $50,000 or 1/10th of
1% of its gross annual intrastate revenues.  Thereafter, the
providing carrier may begin recovering a portion of its costs
from the requesting carrier in proportion to the requesting
carrier’s market share, calculated on the basis of wireline
access lines.24  The providing carrier may also recover an
assessment from resellers of local exchange service and
purchasers of unbundled network elements in proportion to
the competing carrier’s market share, but is limited to 25% of
the providing carrier’s costs of providing INP through RCF.
(Proposed Rules, Sections 3, 4.)

31.  The Proposed Rules set forth “proxy” determinants
which the carriers may use in calculating costs for purposes
of the threshold level.  In addition, after the threshold has been
surpassed, such “proxies” may be used for calculating the
rates to be charged to the other carriers, pending any final
determination of the actual costs for providing RCF-based
INP.  The rules provide that once the providing carrier begins
making assessments to other carriers, the providing carrier,
or any of the carriers being charged, may make an appropriate
filing to begin a proceeding to determine the providing
carrier’s actual costs.  At the end of such proceeding, a true-
up procedure is available to reconcile the proxy-based
threshold calculations and assessments with the actual costs
determined.  According to Staff, the proxy determinants were
used to avoid protracted proceedings in this docket which
might delay the availability of INP.  (Exh. 10 at 2.)

32.  Staff emphasizes that its Proposed Rules will be
effective for a relatively brief period of time, approximately
one year in the Wilmington MSA and sometime over 18
months in the rest of the state (depending on when another
carrier requests LNP from BA-Del.)  (Staff at 4.)
Consequently, Staff argues that the Commission should
adopt rules which may be implemented quickly and simply,
rather than strive for the level of detail and precision which
might be desirable if the rules were intended to apply
permanently.

The Threshold

33.  BA-Del recommends that the Commission
eliminate the threshold requirement.25  (BA-Del at 7.)  BA-
Del asserts that most numbers will be ported by BA-Del to its
new competitors and, thus, BA-Del will incur most of the
costs of INP.  BA-Del argues that requiring it to foot the bill
while its competitors pay nothing until the costs reach
$50,000 is discriminatory and confiscatory.  BA-Del argues
that it may be prudent, from a cost/benefit standpoint, to
condition a proceeding to test the accuracy of the cost
proxies on the petitioner’s claim that it has incurred more
than $50,000 in costs.  However, BA-Del urges that the
providing carrier should be able to recover its first dollar of
costs regardless of whether any such cost proceeding is ever
held.  In other words, any threshold should apply to cost
determination rather than cost recovery.  According to BA-
Del, since the only expense of seeking repayment of costs is
the expense of sending an invoice and is borne by the carrier,
the decision to bill below the $50,000 threshold should be
left to the carrier.  (Id. at 7-8.)

34.  Staff defends its threshold by referring to the FCC’s
discussion of competitive neutrality of INP cost recovery in
its TNP Order:  (Exh. 11 at 3-5.)  For example, the FCC
asserts that:

the incremental payment by the new entrant if it wins
a customer would have to be close to zero, to
approximate the incremental number portability cost
borne by the incumbent LEC if it retains the customer.

(TNP Order at & 133.)  Staff also notes that the FCC permits,
as competitively neutral, “a mechanism that requires each
carrier to pay for its own costs of currently available number
portability measures.”  (Exh. 11 at 4; citing TNP Order at
& 136.)  Staff interprets this provision to authorize
commissions to require each LEC to bear all the costs it
incurs in providing INP to competing carriers.26  Thus, Staff
reasons, since the Proposed Rules are more favorable to the
incumbent LEC than one approach expressly authorized by
the FCC, the threshold mechanism should not be considered
unduly burdensome.

35.   Based on the record, I believe that the threshold
component of the Proposed Rules is reasonable.  Staff
selected the threshold, in part, because “the expense to both
the carriers and the Commission attendant to determining
actual costs and supervising a ‘competitively neutral’
recovery mechanism might well exceed the actual costs to be
recovered.”  (Exh. 10 at 2; emphasis added.)  Thus, Staff was
not only concerned about the LECs’ costs and the costs of the
determination of actual INP costs but was also concerned
about the costs to the Commission of supervising the
mechanism while it operates below the threshold.  The
“supervisory” costs to the Commission may include the
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expense of proceedings necessary to resolve INP billing
disputes between carriers.  With the threshold in place, such
disputes should at least be postponed and, if no LECs meet the
threshold prior to the implementation of long-term number
portability, such disputes may be avoided altogether.

36.  I also agree with Staff that the threshold is set at a
level that will not place the providing carrier at a disadvantage
in competing for local exchange customers.  (Exh. 10 at 2.)
I note that the elimination of the threshold would save the
incumbent LEC an amount much less than $50,000, since
under the Proposed Rules, the providing LEC may only
recover its costs in proportion to the competing carrier’s
market share, as measured by its access lines relative to all
access lines.   While the incumbent LEC is operating under its
threshold, its competitors will garnish relatively few access
lines and, thus, recovery would be substantially limited.

Allocation Based on Market Share

37.  BA-Del asserts that costs should be allocated among
all carriers in proportion to their retail telecommunications
service revenues in Delaware, not access lines.  (BA-Del at
8.)  According to BA-Del, basing the allocation on access
lines guarantees that BA-Del will shoulder essentially all of
the costs.  BA-Del asserts that competing carriers will target
relatively few access lines -- those that belong to the most
lucrative customers.  Therefore, while a competing carrier
may win a small number of access lines and thus pay little
toward INP, it may realize substantial revenues.  As such, BA-
Del argues that revenues from services sold to end-users is a
better measure of market share and should be used to allocate
costs.  (BA-Del at 9.)

38.  The TNP Order identifies several cost allocation
methods that satisfy its competitive neutrality requirement.
(TNP Order at & 136.)  Included in these methods are cost
allocations based on: (1) a carrier’s number of active lines
relative to the total number of active lines in a service area;
and (2) a carrier’s gross telecommunications revenues net of
charges to other carriers.  Staff selected access lines as the
measurement rather than revenues because access lines
provide a better match for the cost of providing service.  (Exh.
11 at 9.)  BA-Del argues that market share bears no
relationship to the cost of providing service and thus the
selection of a particular measurement of market share should
not consider cost of service .  (BA-Del at 9.)

39.  The FCC included a carrier’s relative number of
access lines as a market share measurement for cost
allocation that meets its competitive neutrality standard.
Further, Staff believes that such an allocation carries the
additional benefit of bearing some relationship to the cost of
porting numbers.  Since Staff’s proposed measurement of
market share is supported in the record and is consistent with
the TNP Order, I recommend that the Commission find it
reasonable.

Recovery From Long-Distance Providers

40.  BA-Del also recommends that the Proposed Rules
be modified to include interexchange carriers, in their
capacity of long-distance providers, as liable for INP costs.
(Id. at 10.)  BA-Del notes that § 251(e)(2) of the Act requires
that the cost of INP be borne by ”all telecommunications
providers.“  The DPA supports the Proposed Rules on this
point and agrees that no costs should be assessed against
long-distance carriers.  (DPA at 2.)  Staff argues, and I agree,
that INP is a service provided by one local exchange provider
to another and the Proposed Rules appropriately allow LECs
to recover costs from other carriers participating in the
Delaware local exchange market.

C. Other Issues

41.  The DPA asserts that the Commission should not
permit BA-Del to recover INP costs from its ratepayers.
(DPA at 2-3.)  The DPA argues that INP costs are a
foreseeable cost change and, thus, pursuant to the
Telecommunications Technology and Investment Act
(“TTIA”), may not be recovered from ratepayers.  INP cost
recovery from ratepayers will become an issue if BA-Del
ever files a rate application under the TTIA and attempts to
recover such costs.  I recommend that the Commission defer
the issue until then.

42.  The DPA recommends a modification to the
Proposed Rules to clarify the threshold provision, which
refers to “$50,000 or one tenth of one percent of the local
exchange carrier’s gross annual intrastate revenues.”  The
DPA asserts that “intrastate revenues” should exclude sales
of non-regulated services, of non-telephone utility services
(e.g., electricity) and of intrastate toll service.  (Id. at 3.)  Staff
generally accepts the DPA’s suggestion and recommends
that the Commission modify Rule 3.3(b) to add after the word
”revenues“ the phrase ”arising from its telecommunications
operations.“  I agree that this modification helps to clarify the
Rule in question and I recommend its adoption.

IV. RECOMMENDATIONS

43.  The Proposed Rules, while arguably not perfect,
strike a balance between the various competing interests
during the relatively short effective period for INP rules and
enables the participants to implement INP quickly and
simply.  (Staff at 4.)  In summary, and for the reasons stated
above, I recommend that the Commission adopt the Proposed
Rules, as modified in Staff’s post-hearing brief, as ”just and
reasonable“ and consistent with the Act and the TNP Order.
Consistent with 29 Del. C. § 10118(b), the effective date for
the INP Rules should be thirty (30) days after the date of the
Order adopting the rules.
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Respectfully submitted,

/s/ William F. O’Brien
William F. O’Brien, Hearing Examiner

Dated: November 14, 1997

E X H I B I T  “B”

Rules Governing the Deployment of Interim Number
Portability Measures in the State of Delaware

Section 1: Definitions

1.1 Interim Number Portability - the provisioning of number
portability during the interim period by currently technically
feasible methods.

1.2 Interim Period - the interim period shall begin on the date
a local exchange carrier receives a request for deployment of
interim number portability and ends on the date the local
exchange carrier deploys number portability using a long-
term database method under 47 C.F.R. � 52.3.

1.3 Local Exchange Carrier - a person that is engaged in the
provision of telephone exchange service or exchange access
service.  For the purposes of this set of rules, such term does
not include a person insofar as such person  is engaged in the
provision of a commercial mobile radio service under 47
U.S.C. � 332(c).

1.4 Number Portability -  the ability of users of
telecommunications services to retain, at the same location,
existing telecommunications numbers without impairment
of quality, reliability, or convenience when switching from
one telecommunications carrier to another.

1.5 Per Cent Market Share - represents a telecommunications
carrier’s share in the local exchange telecommunications
market.  For ”wireline“ telecommunications carriers, market
share is calculated by dividing that telecommunications
carrier’s total number of active  ”wireline“ access lines by the
total number of active ”wireline“ access lines in the State of
Delaware.  For commercial mobile radio service
telecommunications carriers, market share is calculated by
dividing the sum of the telecommunications carrier’ total
number of active  ”wireline“ access lines and active telephone
numbers by the total number of active ”wireline“ access lines
in the State of Delaware.

1.6 Remote Call Forwarding (RCF) - a method whereby a
call to a telephone number in one exchange is automatically
redirected by the telecommunications carrier’s end office
equipment to another telephone number in the same or

different exchange on the same or different carrier’s
network.

1.7 Telecommunications - the transmission, between or
among points specified by the user, of information of the
user’s choosing without change in the form or content of the
information as sent and received.

1.8 Telecommunications Carrier - a provider of
telecommunications services, except that such term does not
include aggregators of telecommunications services, as
defined in 47 U.S.C. � 226(a)(2).

1.9 Telecommunications Service - the offering of
telecommunications for a fee directly to the public, or such
classes of users as to be effectively available directly to the
public, regardless of the facilities used.

1.10 The Commission - the Delaware Public Service
Commission.

Section 2: Deployment of Interim Number Portability

2.1 During the interim period, all local exchange carriers
shall provide interim number portability as soon as
reasonably possible upon receipt of a specific request from
another telecommunications carrier.

2.2 Except as the carriers may agree or the Commission may
otherwise order under Rules 2.4 and 2.5, all local exchange
carriers shall provide interim number portability during the
interim period using Remote Call Forwarding.

2.3 The Commission may waive the requirements of Rules
2.1 and 2.2 for a local exchange carrier which demonstrates
that Remote Call Forwarding is not a technically feasible
method for interim number portability for that local
exchange carrier.

2.4 A local exchange carrier may agree to provide interim
number portability to a telecommunications carrier utilizing
technically feasible methods other than Remote Call
Forwarding on mutually agreeable terms, conditions, and
charges.  A local exchange carrier providing interim number
portability under such an agreement shall offer such non-RCF
interim number portability methods to other
telecommunications carriers upon the same terms,
conditions, and charges.

2.5 Upon petition or upon its own motion, the Commission
may require that a local exchange carrier provide interim
number portability by a technically feasible method other
than Remote Call Forwarding or by a combination of
technically feasible methods.  The providing carrier shall
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bear the burden of proving that any requested method is
technically infeasible.

2.6 Prices for interim number portability shall be set at a
level that takes into account the relative inferior quality of the
service provided, its interim nature, and the necessity for the
development of a competitive market for local exchange
services.

COMMENTS: These rules adopt Remote Call Forwarding
as the presumptive method for providing number
portability during the interim period, now expected to end
by late 1998.  Staff believes that RCF is a presently
technically feasible means.  At the same time, Staff
acknowledges that RCF, as a method for number
portability, has limitations including: (1) its failure to
support several custom local area signaling services and
other vertical features; (2) the possible degradation of
transmission quality; (3) the existence of limits on the
number of calls to customers of the same competing service
provider that can be handled at any one time; and (4) the
need to allocate access charges derived from interexchange
carriers between the  provisioning local exchange carrier
and the recipient end-user carrier.  Staff also
acknowledges the disagreement among the participants in
Regulation Docket 46 as to the viability of RCF for large
volume end-user customers.  Because of these limitations,
this section allows carriers to negotiate and agree to other
methods for providing portability.  The section also allows
the Commission, acting upon request or on its own
initiative, to explore ordering other methods of portability
if circumstances warrant.  If carriers do agree to provide
interim portability by other non-RCF methods, the local
exchange carrier must offer the same methods to other
similarly-situated requesting carriers.

Section 3: Cost Recovery Mechanism for Interim Number
Portability

Costs

3.1 The mechanisms for the recovery of interim number
portability costs set forth in these Rules take into account the
relative inferior quality of the methods used for portability,
the interim nature of the methods, and the need to develop a
competitive market for local exchange services.

3.2 For purposes of the cost recovery mechanism in these
Rules, the recoverable costs for providing RCF interim
number portability shall be:

(i) the Total Element Run Incremental Cost
through (“TELRIC”) of providing interim number portability
through RCF, as determined by the Commission under Rule

4.1 or in some other proceeding;

or

(ii) (in the absence of a determination of TELRIC
costs), the following proxies:

Non-Recurring Proxy Costs             Recurring Proxy Costs

$ 5.10 Service Order Charge Per Order    $2.33 Per Number Per
Month for 0 to 10
Call Paths

$18.76 Installation Charge, Per Number   $0.40 Per Number Per
(Not applicable if RCF is installed Month for Each

with an unbundled loop) Additional Path.

COMMENTS: The first portion of this section provides a
calculation of the costs for providing RCF interim number
portability, to be used both for calculating the threshold
set out below and for the subsequent cost assessments
against carriers, if implemented.  The rules provide that if
the Commission should, either under these Rules or in
another proceeding (such as a generic docket or a
Statement of Generally Available Terms and Conditions),
determine the actual costs for providing RCF number
portability, then those actual costs should be used to
measure the breach of the threshold and the amounts of
recoveries from the other chargeable carriers.  However,
until such a determination is made, the section provides
proxy costs to be adopted for threshold and assessment
purposes.  The recurring cost proxies have been derived
from cost  materials submitted by Bell Atlantic-Delaware,
Inc. in response to Staff data requests in Regulation Docket
No. 46.  The non-recurring proxy costs are based on the
results of arbitration concerning service order costs in
PSC Docket No. 96-204.

Threshold for Cost Assessment and Recovery

3.3 During the interim period, a local exchange carrier may
not recover the costs of providing RCF interim number
portability under these Rules from other telecommunications
carriers until the local exchange carrier’s total costs of
providing  interim number portability (as defined in Rules 3.2
and 3.2.1) exceed the lesser of:

(a) $50,000; or
(b) one tenth of one percent of the local exchange

carrier’s gross annual intrastate revenues.

Post-Threshold Cost Recovery

3.4 If a local exchange carrier’s costs of providing RCF
number portability during the interim period exceeds the
amounts set forth in Rule 3.3, then the local exchange carrier
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may thereafter recover a cost assessment from each
telecommunications carrier that has, or will, request interim
number portability.

3.5 The cost assessment that the local exchange carrier may
recover under rule 3.4 from the requesting
telecommunications carrier shall be:

The cost (as defined in Rule 3.2) of providing RCF
interim number portability to the requesting carrier

times

The requesting telecommunications carrier’s market
share as defined in Rule 1.5.

3.6 At the time a local exchange carrier begins to recover the
cost assessment from a requesting telecommunications
carrier under Rules 3.4 and 3.5, the local exchange carrier
may also recover a cost assessment for RCF interim number
portability from: (1) those telecommunications carriers that
provide end-user wireline access predominantly (over
seventy-five percent) by means of the resale of services
purchased from that local exchange carrier or (2) those
telecommunications carriers that purchase unbundled
network elements from the local exchange carrier.

3.7 The cost assessment that the local exchange carrier may
recover from each telecommunications carrier described in
Rule 3.6 shall be:

.25 (the local exchange carrier’s aggregate costs (as
defined in Rule 3.2) for providing RCF interim
number portability to all telecommunications
carriers during the period)

times

The market share, as defined by Rule 1.5,  of the
telecommunications carrier providing end-user
wireline access by resale or by purchase of unbundled
network elements less any direct payment made under
Rule 3.5 except that the amount cannot be less than
zero.

COMMENTS: This portion of the section creates a cost
threshold of the lesser of $50,000 or one  tenth of one
percent of the local exchange carrier’s intrastate
revenues.  That threshold must be breached before the
local exchange carrier may choose to impose cost
assessment on other carriers for RCF interim number
portability.  If, during the interim period, the costs of RCF
number portability to a particular local exchange carrier
never exceed the threshold, the costs may not be recovered.

Staff adopts the threshold formulation because the
threshold amounts appear to be de minimis in relation to
a exchange carrier’s gross annual intrastate revenue and
any attempt to collect portability costs below such level
may result in administrative expenses greater than the
amount of costs incurred.

If the cost threshold is breached by a local exchange
carrier, that carrier may choose, but is not obligated, to
recover its post-threshold RCF portability costs from other
carriers, on a “going forward” basis.  Staff anticipates that
a carrier’s decision to undertake, or forego, cost
assessments may be guided by the anticipated post-
threshold costs and the anticipated time remaining in the
interim period.  If a local exchange carrier decides to
impose the cost assessments, it can do so against two
categories of carriers.  First, it can charge an amount of its
on-going costs to the carrier requesting a ported number.
That assessment is set at the proportion of the cost (actual
or proxy) relative to the requesting carrier’s market share.
At the same time, the local exchange carrier may also
assess costs against carriers reselling the local exchange
carrier’s retail services or purchasing unbundled network
elements.  The amount to be paid by carriers in this second
category is based on one-quarter of the local exchange
carrier’s total RCF number portability costs with each
such carrier paying a portion relative to its market share.
Staff recognizes that resellers and purchasers of network
elements do not,  or may not, request number portability.
However, the rules allow such carriers to be  assessed for
interim number portability costs in order to make the
recovery mechanism ”competitively neutral“ between the
requesting carriers, the local exchange carrier, and other
carriers.  In addition, in an attempt to maintain equity
between requesting carriers (who may be assessed costs
based upon their market share of the costs for the numbers
they request) and the resellers and purchasers of elements
(who may be assessed based on total portability costs), the
rules provide that the assessment for the latter carriers is
based only on one-quarter of the total costs.

Staff acknowledges that the recovery mechanism does
not perfectly allocate the costs of RCF interim portability
among all telecommunications  carriers.  Instead, the
recovery mechanism is intended to provide a substantially
fair, broader-based recovery mechanism which can be
implemented without continued Commission oversight.
The rules attempt to allow recovery from carriers who deal
directly with the local exchange carrier.

Section 4: Opportunity for Determination of Actual Costs
for Providing Interim Portability

4.1 If at the time a local exchange carrier begins to recover
cost assessments under Rules 3.4 through 3.7 the
Commission has not determined the actual costs for
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providing RCF interim number portability, the local
exchange carrier or any telecommunications carrier from
whom recovery is sought may petition the Commission to
conduct a proceeding to determine the actual costs of
providing RCF interim number portability.

4.2 Upon such a petition, the Commission shall determine
the TELRIC costs of providing RCF interim number
portability.

4.3 Until the time the Commission determines the TELRIC
costs of providing RCF interim number portability, the local
exchange carrier may impose cost assessments using the
proxy cost set forth in Rule 3.2.  Such assessments may be
subject to later reconciliation as set forth in these Rules.

COMMENTS: As noted earlier, the rules premise the
threshold and any later assessments for RCF interim
number portability on actual cost determinations made in
a Commission proceeding or the use of proxies.  If at the
time the threshold is breached and the local exchange
carrier begins to impose cost assessments the commission
has not entered any order setting TELRIC RCF number
portability costs, this section allows the local exchange
carrier or any charged carrier to request that the
Commission determine actual costs in a proceeding.  Until
such TELRIC costs are determined, the assessments may
still be based upon the proxies, but subject to the later true-
up procedure described in Section 5.  Again, if all carriers
are satisfied with continued use of the proxies during the
remainder of the interim period, the Commission need not
undertake a proceeding to determine TELRIC costs.

Section 5:   True-up Upon Determination of Actual Costs

5.1 After a Commission determination of actual costs for
providing RCF interim number portability, the Commission,
on its own motion or upon the petition of a telecommunications
carrier, may order a reconciliation or true-up of the cost
recovery mechanism set forth in these Rules.

5.2 In the reconciliation or true-up process, the determined
TELRIC costs shall be used to calculate the costs for
purposes of the threshold under Rule 3.3 and to make
adjustments to all cost assessments previously recovered by
the local exchange carrier under Rules 3.4 through 3.7.  The
reconciliation shall apply to the entire interim period.

5.3 Payments of adjusted amounts due under the
reconciliation shall be recovered through a method agreed
upon by the carriers.  If no agreement can be reached, any
carrier may petition the Commission to determine a
reconciliation recovery method.

COMMENTS: This section creates a true-up mechanism to
adjust the amounts calculated by use of the proxies with the
TELRIC costs, once determined.  Under the process, once
actual costs have been determined, the threshold can be re-
calculated and any costs incurred and assessed thereafter
reconciled.  When the assessments using TELRIC costs
exceed the amounts collected by use of the proxy costs, the
additional assessments may be collected from the
previously assessed carriers.  Conversely, if the TELRIC
costs are below the amounts collected using the proxy
costs, the assessed carriers may recover the excess
payments.  The over- and under-recoveries are both net of
the threshold amount set forth in Rule 3.3.

Section 6: Distribution of Access Charges Paid by
Interexchange Carriers

6.1 During the interim period, the local exchange carrier
providing RCF interim number portability shall collect the
interexchange carrier (“IXC”) access revenue in the process
of forwarding an interexchange carrier’s telecommunications
call to an end-user of a second telecommunications carrier.

6.2 The local exchange carrier collecting the access revenue
under Rule 6.1 shall distribute the collected relevant revenue
to compensate the second carrier for revenue lost due to the
use of RCF interim number portability.  The relevant access
revenue shall be distributed as follows:

- the approximation of “terminating IXC minutes of
use (‘MOUs’) over ported numbers,”  to which the
revenue distribution would apply, shall be determined
by applying the ratio of terminating IXC access
MOUs/ total (local and toll) terminating MOUs to the
actual measured total terminating interim number
portability MOUs

- the rate adjustment amount, over which the
”terminating IXC minutes of use (‘MOUs’) over
ported numbers“ would apply, shall be calculated as
follows:

rate adjustment = total IXC exchange access rate
charged by the collecting carrier pursuant to its tariffs
minus the meet point billing for the collecting carrier
(if applicable) minus local reciprocal compensation
rate of the second carrier (if applicable)

COMMENTS: This section sets up method for dividing the
interexchange access charges when the interexchange
carrier’s communication is ported by RCF to another
carrier’s network.  The provisions of the section set up a
formula to approximate the number of terminating access
minutes of use that were routed by RCF interim number
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portability to end-users on the second carrier’s network.
The section also defines an adjusted access rate to reflect
monies that might be due to the porting carrier from a meet
point billing arrangement and reciprocal compensation
from local traffic.  The first carrier will subtract those per
minute arrangements from its tariffed access rate, multiply
by the number calculated under the “terminating IXC
minutes of use (‘MOU’) over ported numbers” formula,
and distribute that amount to the second carrier.

Section 7:  Miscellaneous

7.1 These rules shall govern during the interim period.

7.2 All telecommunications carriers shall provide all
information deemed necessary by the Commission and the
Commission Staff to assist in the administration of these
rules in any proceeding thereunder.

7.3 The Commission reserves the right to waive the
application of these Rules or to make such amendments as
may appear necessary or appropriate in accordance with the
provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C.
ch. 101.

1 See 47 C.F.R. ‘’ 52.27, 52.29 (transitional number
portability measures)

2 The Hearing Examiner, based on the record existing before
him, which included BA-Del’s evidence and arguments
against finding DN-RI to be technically feasible, had
recommended that the Commission not find DN-RI to be a
technically feasible method of providing INP in Delaware.

3 By the affirmative vote of Chairman McMahon, Vice
Chairman Twilley, and Commissioner McClelland, with
Commissioners McRae and Puglisi absent.

4 The Commission does note that Conectiv, which is now
offering local exchange service in this State, did not file
exceptions to the proposed rules nor the Hearing Examiner’s
Report.

5 In so doing, the Commission removed the number
portability issues from PSC Regulation Docket No. 45,
which is the Commission’s rulemaking docket relating to
competitive entry into the telecommunications local
exchange service market, and which has since been
completed.

6 By letter dated March 26, 1997, DP&L requested that its
participation in this docket be replaced by that of Conectiv
Communications, Inc., a wholly-owned subsidiary of DP&L.

7 References to the October 30, 1996 initial comments will
be cited as “([Participant]-Initial at __.)”

8 Unless otherwise noted, references to the exhibits
introduced and entered into the record of the August 7, 1997
hearing will be cited as “(Exh. __ at __.)”

9 By letter dated April 15, 1997, ETC informed the
Commission that it had been acquired by Teleport
Communications Group Inc. (“TCG”) and requested certain
changes to the service list.

10 References to the March 27, 1997 comments will be cited
as “([Participant]-2nd at __.)”

11 Staff also submitted a public, non-proprietary version of its
pre-filed testimony identified as “Exh. 8A.”

12 References to the September 10, 1997 post-hearing briefs
will be cited as “([Participant] at __.)”

13 Pub. L. No. 104-104, 110 Stat. 56; 47 U.S.C. 251 et seq.

14 In the Matter of Telephone Number Portability, First
Report and Order and Further Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking, CC Docket 95-116, FCC 96-286, July 2, 1996
(hereinafter ”TNP Order“).

15 47 CFR, Part 52, Appendix A.

16 47 CFR 52.3(c).

17 Staff responded to the DPA’s recommendations in its post-
hearing brief because the DPA did not file its second round of
comments until June, when pre-filed testimony was due.
(Staff at 7-11.)

18 DID is a non-database telephone number portability method
whereby telephone calls to numbers that have been ported are
transferred over a dedicated facility to the new service
provider’s switch.  (TNP Order, App. E at   11.)

19 RCF is a non-database telephone number portability
method whereby calls are redirected to telephone numbers
that have been transferred by placing what is, in essence, a
second telephone call to the new network location.   (TNP
Order, App. E at   10.)

20 RI-PH is a non-database method of number portability
which requires the call to be routed to the LEC switch
corresponding to the NXX code of the dialed number.  The
LEC switch inserts a 1XX prefix onto the front of the
telephone number.  This 1XX code identifies the competitive
service provider to which the call will be routed.  This ten to
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thirteen digit number (telephone number with the 1XX
prefix) is transmitted to the LEC tandem switch to which the
competitive exchange provider is connected.  The tandem
switch strips the 1XX prefix from the dialed number, and
routes the call to the competitive exchange provider’s switch,
from where the routing of the call is terminated.  (TNP Order,
App. E at n. 668.)

21 DN-RI is a non-database method of number portability that
first routes incoming calls to the switch to which the NPA-
XXX code originally was assigned, then routes ported calls to
the new service, either through a direct trunk or by attaching
a temporary ”pseudo NPA“ to the number and using a tandem,
depending on the availability. (TNP Order, App. E at   12.)

22 While challenging BA-Del’s claim that RI-PH compromises
service reliability, AT&T has offered to switch to DN-RI “in
those instances where the use of RI-PH will push outage risk
levels too high.”  (AT&T at 9.)

23 I understand that AT&T is at a disadvantage in producing
supporting evidence for its position since it does not, at this
time, own and operate the local network.  However, if AT&T
chooses to enter the Delaware local exchange market during
the interim period and it requests the route indexing methods,
it will hold the presumption of feasibility from the Proposed
Rules, if adopted.  Moreover, AT&T may be armed with the
results from the BA-NJ DN-RI tests to support its position.

24 For CMRS providers, the calculation is based on the
number of active telephone numbers.

25 The DPA apparently agrees with BA-Del that the threshold
should be eliminated.  The DPA asserts that “Staff has not
provided any evidence that this provision will reduce
administrative costs.”  (DPA at 3.)  The DPA also expresses
concern regarding the recovery of the initial set-up costs of
INP.  However, as explained by Staff, the RCF set-up costs are
not included in the threshold and must be absorbed by all
participating carriers.  (Staff at 10.)  The only INP costs that
are counted against the threshold, and are eventually
recoverable under the Proposed Rules, are the costs of
providing INP via RCF.

26 No participant challenged Staff’s interpretation of this
clause.
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STATE OF DELAWARE

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FORTY-NINE

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE

RE: REALLOCATION OF STATE PRIVATE
ACTIVITY BOND VOLUME CAP FOR
CALENDAR YEAR 1997 AND INITIAL
SUBALLOCATION OF STATE PRIVATE
ACTIVITY BOND VOLUME CAP FOR
CALENDAR YEAR 1998

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5091, the State’s
private activity bond volume cap (‘Volume Cap’) for
1997 under §103 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986
(the “Code”) has been allocated among various state and
local government issuers; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Executive Order Number
Forty-Four, $75,000,000 of the Volume Cap for 1997
which had been allocated to the State of Delaware was
further suballocated between the Delaware Economic
Development Authority and the Delaware State Housing
Authority; and

WHEREAS, the allocation of Volume Cap in
Executive Order Number Forty-Four is subject to
modification by further Executive Order; and

WHEREAS, the State’s Volume Cap for 1997 and
1998 is allocated among the various State and local
government issuers by 29 Del.  C. §5091 (a); and

WHEREAS, New Castle County has reassigned
$26,250,000 of its unallocated Volume Cap for 1997 to
the State of Delaware; and

WHEREAS, Kent County has reassigned $15,000,000
of its unallocated Volume Cap for 1997 to the State of
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, Sussex County has reassigned
$10,600,000 of its unallocated Volume Cap for 1997 to
the State of Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the City of Wilmington has reassigned
$12,500,000 of its unallocated Volume Cap for 1997 to
the State of Delaware: and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.  C. §5091 (b), the
State’s $75,000,000 Volume Cap for 1998 is to be
suballocated by the Governor among the Delaware State
Housing Authority, the Delaware Economic Development
Authority and other governmental issuers within the

State; and
WHEREAS, the Secretary of Finance recommends (i)

that of the $64,350,000 unallocated Volume Cap for 1997
reassigned to the State of Delaware by other issuers,
$16,235,000 be suballocated to the Delaware Economic
Development Authority for projects financed during 1997
and $48,115,000 be suballocated to the Delaware State
Housing Authority for carry forward for use in future
years and (ii) that the State’s $75,000,000 Volume Cap for
1998 be allocated equally between the Delaware State
Housing Authority and the Delaware Economic
Development Authority; and

WHEREAS, the Chairperson of the Delaware
Economic Development Authority and the Chairperson of
the Delaware State Housing Authority concur in the
recommendations of the Secretary of Finance.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The $64,350,000 of unallocated Volume Cap for
1997 that has been reassigned by other issuers to the State
of Delaware is hereby reassigned as follows: $16,235,000
to the Delaware Economic Development Authority for
projects financed during 1997 and $48,115,000 to the
Delaware State Housing Authority for carry forward use
(in addition to the $37,500,000 previously suballocated to
the Delaware State Housing Authority for 1997 under
Executive Order Forty-Four).

2. The $75,000,000 allocation to the State of
Delaware of the 1998 Volume Cap is hereby suballocated
$37,500,000 to the Delaware State Housing Authority and
$37,500,000 to the Delaware Economic Development
Authority.

3. The aforesaid suballocations have been made
with due regard to actions taken by other persons in
reliance upon previous suballocations to bond issuers.

Approved this 23 day of December, 1997
Thomas R. Carper
Governor

Attest:
Edward J. Freel
Secretary of State

http://www.state.de.us/govern/governor/introgov.htm
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STATE OF DELAWARE

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FIFTY

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE

RE: ESTABLISHING THE EDUCATION SALARY
SCHEDULE IMPROVEMENT COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware is fortunate to
have thousands of dedicated Delaware teachers and
principals who have devoted their careers to educating our
children; and

WHEREAS, the State recognizes that the professional
development of these educators is essential to education
reform; and

WHEREAS, the State has greatly increased
professional development funding during the last five
years to help educators improve their skills, knowledge,
and performance and to bring the State’s academic
standards to life in the classroom; and

WHEREAS, the State’s salary schedule for educators
is designed to provide financial rewards to educators who
obtain genuinely relevant graduate-level degrees and
credits; and

WHEREAS, the premise of this large investment is
that teachers who obtain graduate degrees and credits will
perform better in the classroom; and

WHEREAS, this premise is a good one if backed by
requirements that the graduate degrees and graduate
credits obtained be rigorous and be relevant to improving
classroom performance.  Unfortunately, the system has
not been backed by such requirements.  The salary
schedule provides compensation for graduate degrees
which are not relevant to the professional’s school duties,
and -- despite the clear language of the law to the contrary
-- the schedule has been administered in such a manner as
to permit salary credit for in-service credits which do not
involve graduate level work; and

WHEREAS, the salary schedule should therefore be
reformed so that it rewards only genuinely relevant
graduate level training, and so that it rewards national
teacher certification and the pursuit of graduate level
career specialty certificates; and

WHEREAS, the salary schedule should also be
reformed so as to provide for a longer work year for new
teachers so as to address the shortage of time for staff and

curriculum development activities.  Fair compensation for
the extra days worked must be provided; and

WHEREAS, the state should develop a recertification
process to ensure that teachers and other professionals
continue to pursue high-quality continuing training; and

WHEREAS, such a recertification process should not
be overly bureaucratic or burdensome; and

WHEREAS, ideally, professionals who obtain salary
scale credit for continuing education under a reformed
salary schedule should thereby satisfy any continuing
education requirements of the State’s certification system
and they should not be subject to additional continuing
education requirements; and

WHEREAS, any reform of the salary schedule should
improve Delaware’s ability to recruit the brightest new
teachers; and

WHEREAS, any reform of the salary schedule should
guarantee that current employees retain all their current
rights under the existing schedule but also provide
enhanced incentives for current employees to pursue
high-quality, classroom-relevant training and to devote
additional days to staff and curriculum development
activities; and

WHEREAS, affected stakeholders -- particularly
teachers -- should have an opportunity to participate in the
consideration of improvements to the salary schedule; and

WHEREAS, a committee with strong teacher
organization representation should be formed to consider
improvements and seek input from affected stakeholders;
and

WHEREAS, the committee’s consideration of
improvements in the salary schedule should be designed
to produce an improved schedule for implementation for
starting teachers in the 1999-2000 school year; and

WHEREAS, to that end, the committee shall consider
as a focal point for reform the improved salary schedule
outlined in Exhibit A to this Order.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The Education Salary Schedule Improvement
Committee shall be created and shall consist of the
following members: five members appointed by the
Governor, one of whom shall be Chairperson; the
President of the Delaware State Education Association
(“DSEA”), or her designee; the Executive Director of the
DSEA, or his designee; the Chairpersons of the Joint
Finance Committee, or their respective designees; the
Chairperson of the Professional Standards Council, or her
designee; and the President of the Delaware Chief School
Officers Association, or her designee.

2. The Committee shall consider reforms to the
State’s salary schedule for education professionals so as



1434

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

GOVERNOR’S EXECUTIVE ORDERS
to : 1) ensure that the schedule provides positive salary
incentives for relevant and rigorous graduate level
continuing education and ensure that the schedule does
not provide incentives for continuing education which is
not of such relevance and quality; 2) address the need for
more time for teachers to participate in staff and
curriculum development activities by paying teachers
more in exchange for more days worked; 3) provide
Delaware teachers with competitive starting salaries and
the opportunity to be rewarded for pursuing national
certification, relevant graduate degrees, and career
certificate specialties and for undertaking leadership roles
which require additional hours of work; and 4) provide a
sound basis for implementing an efficient recertification
process to guarantee the continued professional
development of all school professionals. The
recommendations for improvement shall guarantee that
current teachers and administrators may elect to continue
to be compensated under the existing salary schedule or to
opt-in voluntarily to any new salary schedule under
procedures which are fiscally responsible.  The
Committee shall also make recommendations to improve
the incentives for current teachers to pursue high-quality
training, and the ability of school districts to direct staff to
relevant training.  The Committee shall also address
whether teachers and administrators should be paid off of
the same salary schedule.

3. The Committee shall seek input from affected
stakeholders including local school boards, teachers,
principals, other school administrators, and parent
organizations.

4. The Committee shall present its recommendations,
including a fiscal note and implementing legislation, to
improve the State’s education salary schedule to me on
October 15, 1998 so that such recommendations for
change can be considered for inclusion in the proposed
budget for fiscal year 2000 to be presented to the General
Assembly in January, 1999.

5. The Department of Education and the State
Budget Office shall provide staff assistance to the
Committee.

Approved this 20 day of January, 1998

Thomas R. Carper
Governor

Attest:
Edward J. Freel
Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FIFTY-ONE

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE

RE: ESTABLISHMENT OF RECOMMENDATIONS
ON THE COIN DESIGN FOR THE DELAWARE
QUARTER DOLLAR COMMEMORATIVE
COIN

WHEREAS, the United States Congress approved
and the President signed Public Law 105-124, the “Fifty
States Commemorative Coin Program Act” (the “Act”) to
“honor the unique Federal republic of 50 states that
comprise the United States” and “to promote the diffusion
of knowledge among the youth of the United States about
the individual states, their history and geography, and the
rich diversity of the national heritage”; and

WHEREAS, five state quarter dollars will be issued
every year beginning in 1999 in the order in which the
States ratified the Constitution or were admitted into the
Union; and

WHEREAS, Delaware was the first state to ratify the
Constitution of the United States; and

WHEREAS, Delaware will be among the first five
states which coins will commemorate; and

WHEREAS, under the Act, the Governor of the State
of Delaware is responsible for establishing a selection
process and submitting coin concepts which are
emblematic of the State of Delaware to the Citizens
Commemorative Coin Advisory Committee and the Fine
Arts Commission of the United States for consideration,
with final approval by the Secretary of the Treasury.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, THOMAS R. CARPER, by
the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby declare and order that:

1. Delaware residents are hereby encouraged to
submit design concepts for consideration.

2. The Delaware Arts Council is hereby assigned
the responsibility for submitting coin concepts to the
Governor.

3. The Council shall solicit and receive coin
concepts from Delaware residents for consideration.
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4. The Council shall review such coin design

concepts and recommend five concepts for submission to
the Governor.  During this process, the Council shall:

(a) Give highest consideration to concepts
which promote Delaware’s rich heritage and recognize
Delaware’s historical significance as the “First State” of
our nation; and

(b) Abide by the federal design concept
standards provided for in the Act, which are outlined in
Attachment A to this Order; and

(c) Abide by the state design concept standards
provided for in the Act, which are outlined in Attachment
B to this Order; and

(d) Meet no later than February 28, 1998 to
review the coin design concepts submitted to it; and

(e) Consult with Delaware historians, Delaware
art and design experts, members of the Delaware Heritage
Commission, the Delaware Historical Society, Delaware
coin experts, and Delaware residents in its review of the
coin design concepts; and

(f) Recommend five coin design concepts to me
no later than February 28, 1998.

Approved this 2nd day of February, 1998
Thomas R. Carper
Governor

Attest:
Edward J. Freel
Secretary of State

Attachment A

FIFTY STATES COMMEMORATIVE COIN
PROGRAM

Design Concept Parameters

Legislation
Public Law 105-124  provides for designs to be submitted
in accordance with the design selection and approval
process developed by the Treasury Secretary in the sole
discretion of the Secretary.  The law further requires that,
“because it is important that the Nation’s coinage and
currency bear dignified designs of which the citizens of
the United States can be proud, the Secretary shall not
select any frivolous or inappropriate design’’ and “no
head and shoulders portrait or bust of any person, living or
dead, and no portrait of a living person may be included in
the design.”

Criteria
Designs shall maintain a dignity befitting the Nation’s
coinage.

Designs shall have broad appeal to the citizens of the State
and avoid controversial subjects or symbols that are likely
to offend.

Suitable subject matter for design concepts include State
landmarks (natural and manmade), landscapes, historically
significant buildings, symbols of State resources or
industries, official State flora and fauna, State icons (e.g.,
Texas Lone Star, Wyoming bronco, etc.), and outlines of
the State.

State flags and State seals are not considered suitable for
designs.

No inscriptions should be included in the State design
concept.

Consistent with the authorizing legislation, the State are
encouraged to submit concepts that promote the diffusion
of knowledge among the youth of the United States about
the State, its history and geography, and the rich diversity
of out national heritage.

Priority consideration will be given to designs and
concepts that are enduring representations of the State.
Coins have a commercial lifespan of at least 30 years and
are collected for generations.

Inappropriate design concepts include, but are not limited
to the following: logos or depictions of specific
commercial, private, educational, civic, religious, sports,
or other organizations whose membership or ownership is
not universal.

Concepts or background materials submitted to the Mint
which are covered by copyright, trademark, or other rights
(such as privacy and publicity rights) must include a
release acceptable to the Mint from the rights owner that
allows the concept or materials to be used on the coin, in
marketing and promotional materials, and on the Mint’s
website for unlimited worldwide distribution without
charge or restriction.

Attachment B

Delaware guidelines
Fifty States Commemorative Coin Program

Eligibility :
Delaware residents of all ages are encouraged to

submit coin concepts.
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Criteria :

Each coin concept must be accompanied by a written
description, no longer than 100 words in length, which
describes the reasons for consideration of the concept; and
the name, address, and daytime telephone number of the
individual who submitted the coin concept.

Individuals may submit only one coin concept.
Coin Concepts must be submitted on paper no larger

than 12" X 24".
No slides, film, transparencies, or 3-dimensional

designs or photography will be accepted.
Coin concepts must meet the federal design concept

parameters.

Deadline:
Coin Concepts must actually be received by 4:30 p.m.

on February 24, 1998.  Concepts post-marked that date but
not received will not be accepted.

No late entries will be accepted.

Contact:
Coin Concepts should be submitted to:

Eva Hays
Secretary of State’s Office
State of Delaware
401 Federal Street, Suite 3
Dover, DE 19901



1437

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

GOVERNOR’S APPOINTMENTS

BOARD/COMMISSION
OFFICE APPOINTEE

TERM OF
OFFICE

Board of Directors of the Mr. Marvin P. Thomas Pleasure of the
  Riverfront  Development  Governor
  Corporation

Council on Hispanic Affairs Ms. Maria Madera 01/15/01
Ms. Elba Quiles 01/15/01
Mr. Antonio A. Valdes 01/15/01

Delaware Commission for Ms. Kathryn Montgomery, Chairperson   Pleasure of the
       Women                                                                   Governor

Ms. Geraldine Lewis-Loper 03/29/98

Department of Health and           Dr. Gregg C. Sylvester, Secretary Pleasure of the
  Social Services                                                                                             Governor

Governor’s Task Force on Ms. Beth Anderson 01/15/01
  School Libraries Dr. Kathleen Berhalter 01/15/01

Ms. Jacqueline S. Harris 01/15/01
Ms. Catherine W. Wojewodzki 01/15/01

Juvenile Justice Advisory Mr. Justin Galloway Pleasure of the
  Group   Governor

Ms. Jennifer Hollis Pleasure of the
  Governor
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THE FOLLOWING OPINIONS WERE ON

FILE AS OF FEBRUARY 15, 1998

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB06

March 17,1997

Ms. Kathy Slaney
Ms. Marie E. Page

403 Sharon Court
Middletown, DE 19709

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Appoquinimink School District

Dear Ms. Slaney and Ms. Paige:

Pursuant to 29 Del.C.  Section 10005, we have
consolidated the various complaints you made to this
Office alleging that the Appoquiminink School District
(“School District”) violated the Freedom of Information
Act, 29 Del.C Sections 10001-10005 (“FOIA”), by not
allowing you reasonable access to public records.  This
letter is our written determination addressing those
complaints.

Since you have made several FOIA requests to
the School District in recent months, a complete
procedural history is in order.

By letter dated September 30, 1996, you
requested information from the School Board about
parental involvement programs.  You alleged that the
School District received state and federal grant monies
but “never instituted” those programs.

By letter dated October 7, 1996, the School
District informed you that “we will respond in a timely
manner,” but due to other pressing school business, they
could not respond within the seven days you had
requested.  The School District did reply to your request
for information by letter dated October 17, 1996.
Apparently, you had not yet received that response when
you wrote your letter dated October 18, 1996 to the
Department of Public Instruction, lodging a “formal
complaint and request for investigation concerning the
federal and state funding of the Appoquinimink School
District.”

By letter dated October 26, 1996 to the School
District, you made a FOIA request for an accounting of
various state and federal education grants.  Specifically,

you asked for an accounting of “finding allocations
received and expenditures encumbered on those funds”
including: the names of persons who received those funds;
the dates they received them; the funds allocated to them;
dates, costs and names associated with services
performed; dates, costs of materials purchased, and by
whom; travel expenditures; capital outlays; and indirect
costs.  In your letter of complaint to this Office dated
November 12, 1996, you alleged that the School District
had not complied with your FOIA request.

On October 29, 1996, the School Board wrote to
you stating: “Attached are the reports that you requested
by your October 26, 1996 letter.... [T]he reports are quite
detailed and could be hard to follow.  I’ve included a list
of object codes and of transaction codes that should be of
some help to you.  My offer inviting both of you for
further explanation or to review any paper documentation
still stands.” By letter dated December 3, 1996, our Office
determined that “the School District has already complied
with your request for accounting information.  To the
extent it has not, there is an outstanding offer ‘to review
any paper documentation.’ Accordingly we do not find
any FOIA violation with respect to the production of
public records requested by you from the School District.”

As to your allegations of financial improprieties
by the School Board, we stated in our December 3 letter
that we “are referring those matters to the State Auditor’s
Office for possible investigation. We understand that you
have asked the Department of Public Instruction to
investigate your concerns as well.”

By letter dated December 2, 1996, you made
another FOIA request to the School District for
documents relating to the Minker Construction arbitration
award.  By letter dated December 3, 1996, the School
Board responded to that request, enclosing eleven
documents.  Superintendent Marchio also invited you,
after reviewing the information, to contact him “if there is
any other information that can be of benefit to you.”

By separate letter dated December 2, 1996, you
also asked the School District for copies of approved
program budgets and final reports for eight state and
federal education grants.1  In response to your other FOIA
request of that same day, the School Board had stated that
the “request for information will take a few days longer to
assemble.”

Your second FOIA complaint letter, dated
December 16, 1996, was received by this Office on
December 20, 1996.  In that letter you state that,
“[r]egardless of Mr. Marchio’s statements,” you “are of
the opinion that the information we requested has not been
forthcoming.  We have only received sporadic
documentation, and none is detailed enough to address

http://www.state.de.us/govern/elecoffl/attgen/agoffice.htm
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any of our concerns regarding exact expenditures of the
allocated grant money.” Specifically, you mentioned the
“names of persons who received funding” as part of the
information you had requested but not received.

By letter dated December 20, 1996, our Office
asked the School Board to respond to that FOIA
complaint.  The School Board had already closed for the
Christmas holidays, but our Office received a voice-mail
from Superintendent Marchio, letting us know that he
would respond to our letter as soon as possible after the
schools re-opened on January 2, 1997.

By letter dated January 3, 1997, the School Board
enclosed a copy of its letter dated December 3, 1996 (with
attached documents) responding to your FOIA request of
December 2 regarding the Minker Construction arbitration.
The School Board also enclosed a copy of its letter dated
December 17, 1996 (with attached documents) responding
to your second FOIA request of December 2 regarding the
grants.  The School Board confirmed that you had met
with school officials on two occasions (November I and
December 2) to go over your requests for public records.

We received another letter from you dated
January 9, 1997 enclosing a copy of a transcript of a
meeting between you and school officials on November 1,
1996, and alleging that school officials have violated
federal law by “supplanting” grant funds for education.
Again, as we informed you in our letter of December 3,
1996, those allegations of financial improprieties are
outside the jurisdiction of this Office.

By letter dated February 19, 1997, we asked the
School District to clarify the existence of budgets and
final reports for the eight education grants that were the
subject of your December 2 FOIA request.  By letter dated
February 24, 1997, we received the School Board’s
response, confirming that final reports are completed and
available for inspection and copying for all of the federal
grants (Title I, Title H, Title IV, Title VI, Perkins, Goals
2000, and the federal portion of the Carnegie Grant).
Quarterly reports submitted to the Department of Public
Instruction regarding the Curriculum Development Grant
are also available for inspection and copying.  According
to the School District, it is not required to report on the
state-funds portion of the Carnegie Grant.  In its letter to
you dated January 3, 1997 enclosing budgets for the eight
grants, the School neglected to include a copy of the fiscal
year 1996 budget for the Carnegie Grant.  The School
District has informed us that this budget is available for
your inspection and copying.

Your December 3 request for public records
relating to the Minker Construction arbitration was
honored by the School District.  Your most recent FOIA
complaint does not specifically mention that request, and
we assume that your remaining FOIA concerns are about

access to public records for the eight state and federal
education grants that were the subject of your first FOIA
complaint to this Office.

You have received at least some of the documents
responsive to your FOIA requests under cover of letters
dated October 29 and December 17, 1996 from the School
District.  The issue, therefore, is whether the School
District has made available all public records relating to
the state and federal education grants which are
responsive to your FOIA requests and not exempt from
disclosure.

According to a transcript of the October 22, 1996
School Board meeting (Appendix ‘F” to your original
letter of complaint), financial information regarding such
grants is maintained in a computerized State accounting
system.  The State assigns an appropriation code to each
separate grant, and each grant has its own separate
account.  The School District puts information such as
monies received and monies spent in the computer
system.  It then receives periodic computer generated
accounting reports from the State.  The School Board
keeps copies of all of the original paper documents (for
example, purchase orders).  The School Board also has
computer terminals that can access the State main frame to
obtain a print-out, for example, of all expenditures made
pursuant to a particular grant and all appropriations.

FOIA defines “public record” as “information of
any kind, owned, made, used, retrieved, received,
produced, composed, drafted or otherwise compiled or
collected, by any public body, relating in any way to
public business, or in any way of public interest, or in any
way related to public purposes, regardless of the physical
form or characteristic by which such information is
stored, recorded or reproduced.” 29 Del.C.  Section
10002(d).  Like the federal Freedom of Information Act,
this expansive definition “makes no distinction between
records maintained in manual and computer storage
systems.... It is thus clear that computer-stored records,
whether stored in the central processing unit, on magnetic
tape or in some other form, are still ‘records’ for purposes
of FOIA.”  Yaeger v. Drug Enforcement Administration,
678 F.2d 315, 321 (D.C. Cir. 1982).

FOIA, however, “does not require a public body
to create public records that do not exist,” nor does it
require a public body to compile the requested data from
“other public records that may exist.” Att’y Gen Op., 96-
IB28 (Aug. 8, 1996).  Accordingly, a public agency is not
required to produce computerized data in a special format
requested by a citizen.  It is not “necessary for a computer
operator to create new records through a ‘computer run,’
i.e., a search of the online database, accomplished by
entering the [requesting party’s] search criteria.” Gabriels
v. Curiale, App.  Div., 628 N.Y.S.2d 882 (1995).  Nor does
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FOIA obligate an agency to “develop a program to
accomplish this task for the purpose of complying with
[the FOIA] request.” a FOIA requires public bodies, such
as the School District, to provide “reasonable access” to
public records for inspection and copying. 29 D-d.  C.
Section 10003(a).  The act does not define “reasonable
access,” but this Office has construed that term to require
the requesting party to describe the documents sought
with sufficient specificity to allow the public body to
locate the records with reasonable diligence.  See Att’y
Gen.  Op, No. 95-IB24 (Aug. 7, 1995).

Like the federal Freedom of Information Act and
the public records laws in many other states, the Delaware
FOIA does not contain an exception to disclosure for
requests deemed by a public agency to be burdensome.
The issue of whether a request sufficiently describes the
public records sought, so that they can be located with
reasonable effort, is distinct from whether there might be
an administrative burden involved.  Every public records
act “contemplates there will be some burden in complying
with a records request. . . .”  State Board of Equalization v.
Superior Court, 10 Cal.App 4th 1177, 1190 n. 14 (1993).
If a request for public records sufficiently identifies the
documents sought, “the burden imposed on the agency is
irrelevant.” State of Hawaii Organization of Police
Officers v. Society of Professional Journalists, Haw.
Supr., 927 P.2d 386,403 (1996).  A public agency may
have a legitimate ground not to comply with a freedom of
information act request if the request is so vague that the
agency “does not know what plaintiff wishes to see or
where to locate it.” Sean v. Gottschalk,  502 F.2d 122,
125-26 (4th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 904 (1976).
But it is not grounds for withholding disclosure to cite
“the sheer bulk of the material to which access is sought
and the accompanying expense and inconvenience of
making it available for inspection.....”  Id.

With regard to your December 2, 1996 FOIA
request, we find that the School Board substantially
complied with your request by sending you copies of the
budgets and reports (that exist) relating to the state and
federal grants under cover of letter dated December 17,
1996.  It came to light during our factfinding that some of
the reports provided to you did not cover the full life of the
particular grant, but the School Board has confirmed that
final reports for all of the federal grants are available for
inspection and copying, as well as the budget for the
Carnegie grant.

We find that your requests for access to public
records regarding the grants are reasonably specific.  We
further find that, with regard to your October 26, 1996
FOIA request, the School Board has not afforded you
reasonable access to all public records relating to the
grants.  In particular, the record shows that there are hard-

copy documents (such as travel vouchers, purchase
orders, expense accounts) evidencing how grant monies
were spent, which have not been provided to you.  That
information forms, in part, the basis for weekly and
monthly computer-generated reports for each grant,
which has its own unique accounting code.

Those computer-generated reports (as distinct
from the final reports for each grant) are “public records”
for purposes of FOIA and are not exempt from disclosure.
In addition, any hardcopy documents which form the
basis of those reports are also disclosable public records.
The School Board has suggested that the volume of these
public records is quite large, and to produce them would
be a great administrative burden.2  But that is not a valid
reason, under FOIA, for not producing all of the public
records requested by you.

The School Board is entitled to a reasonable
amount of time to make these public records available for
inspection and copying.  See Att’y Gen. Op. 91-I003 (Feb.
1, 1991) (time to respond to a FOIA request for public
documents must be “reasonable,” which depends on such
factors as the need to search for and collect the requested
records, and the volume of the records).  We think it
appropriate that they be made available for inspection and
copying within sixty days of the date of this letter.  We
emphasize again that the School Board is not required to
compile any lists of information contained in public
records, or to answer questions in a format requested by
the complainants.  Moreover, if any record “is in active
use,” the School District can “so inform the citizen and
make an appointment for said citizen to examine such
records as expediently as they may be made available.” 29
Del. C.  Section 10003(a).  If the School District has
already promulgated a rule or regulation, it can charge a
reasonable fee “for copying of such records.” Id. Section
10003(b).

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:

Michael J. Rich, Esquire
State Solicitor
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STATE OF DELAWARE

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION

NO. 97-IB07

March 26, 1997

Ms. Sharon Beegle
127 Brierley Lane
Bear, DE 19701

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Colonial School District

Dear Ms. Beegle:

This letter responds to your facsimile of February
26, 1997 to the Attorney General’s Office alleging that the
Colonial School District (“School District”’) violated the
Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. Sections 10001-
10005 (“FOIA”), by not providing you with information
you had requested.

By letter dated February 26, 1997, we asked the
School District to respond to your complaint.  By letter
dated March 6, 1997, we received the School District’s
response.

In four letters dated January 21, 1997 to Mr.
Monroe Gerhart, you asked for various information in
accordance with Section 10003 of FOIA.  Title 29 Del.  C.
Section 10003(a) provides that “[a]ll public records shall
be open to inspection and copying by any citizen of the
State during regular business hours by the custodian of the
records for the appropriate public body.” FOIA does not
require a public body, such as the School District, to
provide information in the form of answers to questions
from a citizen.  Nor does FOIA require a public body to
compile information from public records in the fonn of a
list or other format requested by a citizen.  See Att’y Gen.
Op.  No. 96-IB28 (Aug. 8, 1996).  The School District’s
responses to you and to this Office reflect this general
statement of law.

Of the eleven separate requests for information
you made in your four letters of January 2 1, 1997, only
two asked to inspect or copy documents.  The first was
“the voter list for the recent December referendum.” The
School District’s response was that no such list existed,
“because the District did not formulate a list of those
individuals.  However, we do have records of individual
participation that could be made available upon request
and scheduling with our office for you to go through, . .  .”
Under FOIA, a public body is not required to create a
public record that does not exist.  See Att’y Gen. Op. No.
96-IB28 (Aug. 28, 1996).  To the extent that the

information you seek is contained in public records other
than in the list form you requested, the School District has
offered to make those records available to you.

The second document you asked to see was “a
copy of the state law and the BOE policy on how these
funds [generated from “non-tax” sources] are to be
accounted for and utilized.” The School District states that
it does not know what you mean by “BOE” policy.  We are
not sure either.  In any event, the School District’s
response was that a copy of any state law “would be more
appropriately sent to the Legislature,” and also is
available in “a public library.” Official codifications, such
as state laws and federal regulations, are not within the
purview of the public records law, even if the School
District might have copies of those laws or regulations in
its files.  “Not every document which comes into the
possession or custody of a public official is a public
record.  It is the nature and purpose of the document, not
the place where it is kept, which determines its status.”
Linder v. Eckard, Iowa Supr., 152 N.W.2d 833, 835
(1967).

Of your nine remaining requests for information,
the School Board chose to provide you with all or part of
the information you asked for regarding: percentage raise
on salaries of administrators; employee benefits; legal
expenditures; amount of money spent on a referendum;
and income from facility rental and athletic events.  In
response to your question where you could find copies of
state laws and federal regulations regarding accounting
and utilization of “non-tax” sources of income, the School
District referred you to the State legislature and the public
library.

Of the four remaining requests for information,
the School Board responded as follows:

List of all administrators supplied with a car, make model
and year, monthly expense for leasing, source of payment
(School District or State) - The School Board states that it
cannot respond to this request for information because the
Board does not lease any vehicles and “[a]ll vehicles have
multiple users and none are exclusively used by a single
individual.”

Names and positions of employees issued a cellular phone
and their monthly expenses; number of beepers issued to
administrators -- The School District does not “issue”
cellular phones or beepers.  Some cellular phones are
owned by the District and the District pays for all business
related calls; some phones are owned by employees, and
the District reimburses them for business related calls.
“Similarly, some beepers are owned by the District, but
some employees own and use beepers for District
business.”
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List of income generated by vending machines and
student pictures -- The School District does not have this
information, because it “is not involved in the operation of
[either].  These monies are handled through individual
organizations such as clubs, faculty and staff organizations,
and parent organizations.”

You also asked whether “it is true that the [School
District] recently purchased 2 new plumbing trucks at a
cost of over $32,000,00 each.  Please explain any
exaggerations.” The School District denied that it had
purchased two plumbing trucks at that price, and contends
that any further response to your question is not required
under FOIA.

Based on your complaint and its attached
documents, and the School Board’s response, we do not
find that the School Board has committed a violation of
the public records requirements of FOIA, 29 Del.C.
Section 10003.  Most of your questions and requests for
information would call upon the School District to
compile lists and extract information from other
documents, which FOIA does not require the School
District to do.  To the extent the School District decided to
provide you with some of the information you requested,
it did so voluntarily, and FOIA is not a basis for
compelling more complete or responsive answers.

Of course, if the information you have asked for
is contained in public records of the School District, then
you can direct a reasonably specific request to the School
District to inspect and copy those records, provided that
they are not privileged or otherwise exempt from
disclosure under FOIA.  We point this out because the
information you seek regarding automobiles, cellular
phones and beepers may very well be contained in
documents which the School Board has.  Under FOIA, the
School Board may be required to produce those
documents to you for inspection and copying, since they
involve the expenditure of public funds.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:

Michael J. Rich, Esquire
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB08

April 10, 1997

Mr. Clarence J. Barker
P.O. Box 2
Milton, DE 19968

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Sussex County

Dear Mr. Barker:

This letter is our written determination in
response to your complaint alleging that Sussex County
(the “County”) violated the Freedom of Information Act,
29 Del.C.  Sections 10001- 10005 (“FOIA”), by not
providing you with documents you requested.

On March 6, 1997, you faxed us a copy of a letter
dated February 24, 1997 which you had sent to the
County.  By letter dated March 13, we asked the County to
respond to your complaint.  By letter dated March 21,
1997, we received the County’s response.

You asked the County for “a copy of the official
complete billing submitted by Delmarva Paving to
whomever it was sent for the paving of our road.” The
County’s response was “that no document exists in the
files of Sussex County, Delaware, or within its control
which would provide Mr. Barker with the information he
requests concerning the billing of Delmarva Paving.” The
County further explained:

Delmarva Paving was the subcontractor of R.E. Pierson
Construction Co., Inc. and Pierson’s bid was based upon a
unit price of per foot of pipe laid which included also the
repair and restoration of all roads and surface areas
disturbed by it under the terms of that subcontract.

Thus, repaving is integrated into the bid of Pierson, is only
incidental to the whole project and there are no billings
from Delmarva Paving that specifically address paving of
the road at Pine Valley.

FOIA requires public bodies to make available
for inspection and copying to any citizen of the State of
Delaware “[a]ll public records.” 29 Del.C. Section
10003(a).  A “public record” includes any document
“owned, made, used, retained, received, produced,
composed, drafted or otherwise compiled or collected” by
a public body “relating in any way to public business, or in
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any way of public interest, or in any way related to public
purposes.......” Id.  Section 10002(d).

The County’s attorney has attested that it did not
receive any bills from Delmarva Paving: or the Pine Road
paving project.  The County had a contract with R.E.,
Pierson Construction Company (“Pierson”) for general
contracting work.  The bills submitted by Pierson to the
County subsumed the costs of the subcontracting work
done by Delmarva Paving, and therefore the public
records of the County do not contain the information you
seek.

Although Pierson might have documents showing
the amounts billed by Delmarva Paving as a subcontractor,
FOIA cannot be used to compel production of documents
in the possession of a private contractor.  “[T]he mere act
of contracting with a public body to construct a public
improvement does not mean that the private contractor” is
subject to the public records law.  L.E. Harold v. Orange
County, Fla.  App., 668 So.2d 1010, 1011 (1996).  Thus,
when a general contractor contracts out some of the work
for a state agency, the general contractor’s “private
negotiations with its subcontractors” are not “a proper
subject of public scrutiny.  Simply because a government
agency contracts with a private corporation, the affairs of
the corporation do not become the affairs of the
government.” KMEG Television, Inc. v. Iowa State Board
of Regents, Iowa Supr., 440 N.W.2d 382, 385 (1989).

In KMEG Television, the state university
contracted with Rasmussen Communications to create a
sports network.  Rasmussen then subcontracted some of
the work to local television stations.  A television station
which unsuccessfully bid then sued under the state
freedom of information law seeking to compel the
university and the general contractor to produce all bid
documents submitted for subcontracting work.  The Iowa
Supreme Court found that the bid proposals “are not now,
nor have they ever been, in the possession of the
University.  Rasmussen, a private corporation, solicited
bids and oversaw the bidding procedure as part of its
contractual obligation to create a sports network.  The
records, if any, kept in connection with that endeavor have
not been shared with the University.” 440 N.W.2d at 385.

In Durham Herald Co. v. North Carolina Low-
Level Radioactive Waste Management Authority, N.C.
App., 430 So.2d 441, cert. denied, 435 S.E.2d 334 (1993),
the state court of appeals held that records made and kept
by contractors and subcontractors of a state agency, but
not actually received by the state agency, were not public
records requiring disclosure under North Carolina’s
public records law.  A private contractor is not “[a]n
agency of North Carolina government or its subdivisions,”
and the contractor’s records are not “made or received
pursuant to law or ordinance in connection with the

transaction of public business.” 430 So.2d at 444.
Similarly, Pierson is not an agency of the State of

Delaware or its subdivisions.  The records of its billing
with a subcontractor like Delmarva Paving therefore are
not subject to disclosure under FOIA.

There may be instances where records of a
private contractor are required to be provided to a state
agency by the express terms of a public contract.  See L.E.
Harold, supra (private contractor required to breakout
bids of minority and women subcontractors to ensure
compliance with local procurement laws).  Or the state
agency may have an exclusive ownership right to
documents produced by a contractor, in which case the
agency can compel their production, even if they are not
in the agency’s physical possession.  See Pathmanathan v.
State Cloud University, Minn.  App. 461 N.W.2d 726
(1990).  Neither of those exceptions appears to apply in
this case.

Based on your complaint and the County’s
response, we have determined that the County did not
violate FOIA.  The billing records you requested are not in
the actual or constructive possession or control of the
County but rather of a private contractor, which is not
subject to the public records provisions of FOIA.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

Approved:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB09

April 21, 1997

Carol Ellis, Director
Division of Professional Regulation
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 203
Dover, Delaware 19901

Dear Ms. Ellis:

You have requested the opinion of this office on
the question of the status of a public member of the Board
of Medical Practice to continue to hold office as a Board
member.

You indicate that a presently serving public
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Board member has a son who is completing his medical
education in New Jersey.  The son is presently a surgical
resident in New Jersey and holds a permit from that state
authorizing the holder of such permit to engage in the
practice of medicine or podiatry in the second year of a
graduate medical education program in medicine or
podiatry.

Your question is prompted because of the
provision of 24 Del.  C §1710(b) which concerns the
qualifications for public members of the Board of Medical
Practice and which provides for five public members of
the Board and then provides in pertinent part:

Said public members shall not be or ever have been
licensed in any healthrelated field, shall not be a
member of the immediate family of someone
licensed in any health-related field, shall not be
employed by a company engaged in a directly
health-related business, and shall not have a
material financial interest in the providing of goods
and services to persons engaged in the practice of
medicine. (Emphasis added).

A son or daughter would be viewed as a member
of the “immediate family” for purposes of determining the
qualifications for public members of the Board of Medical
Practice.  In Delaware, children, either natural or adopted,
are viewed as a “close relative” for purposes of judging
the conduct of state officers and employees. 29 Del.C §
5804(l).

As to the issue of whether a permit to practice in
New Jersey equates with being “licensed in any health-
related field,” the fact that New Jersey may distinguish
between a “license” to practice medicine and a more
limited “permit’ to practice medicine which is given to
medical students while in the second year or beyond of a
graduate medical education program in medicine or
podiatry in the State of New Jersey should not be viewed
as controlling in any deterniination of eligibility for
public Board member status in Delaware.  Even if the New
Jersey permit is viewed as only a restricted or limited
authority to practice medicine, it is, nevertheless a
“license” within the context of the Delaware Code.  The
equivalent authority in Delaware for the New Jersey
“permit” to practice medicine would be the granting of a
certificate to practice medicine under 24 Del.C.
§1725(a)(2) in what is commonly referred to as an
“institutional license.”

The term “licensed” in the statute is not expressly
limited to licensure “within the State of Delaware,” and
given the purpose of the restriction, which is obviously to
insure that public members not be connected to or
associated with the health care industry, any such limited

construction of the term ‘licensed” would be strained,
overly restrictive, and inappropriate.

Assuming that the present situation is one which
would disqualify an individual from initial appointment to
the Board, the question becomes one of the status of an
individual, presumably properly appointed, who
subsequently comes under such a disqualification.  Stated
differently, does the occurrence of the disqualifying event
necessarily or automatically result in the removal of the
public member from the office or is further action
required?  The answer to this question for this Board is
that the disqualifying event does not automatically effect
the removal of the Board member nor, for that matter,
does it mean that his acts done under the color of authority
can be challenged.  See Commonwealth of Kentucky cc
rel.  Breckinridge v. Winstead, et al., 430 S.W.2d 647
(1968).

The individual in such circumstances is viewed
as at least a de facto officer.  A de facto officer is one
whose title to an office is not good in law but who is in fact
in the unobstructed possession of his office and is
discharging its duties in fun view of the public in such
manner and under such circumstances as not to present the
appearance of being an intruder or usurper. State v. Pack,
Del.  Super., 188 A.2d 524 (1963).

The fact that the Board member may have been
validly appointed and -that the disability has occurred
subsequent to a valid appointment is not material in this
situation since the statute specifies the prohibition in
terms that a public member may not be nor ever have been
. . . (emphasis added).  Therefore, under the statute as it
presently exists, when any of the prohibited conditions
occur, the public member becomes ineligible to be a
public member, and while such a Board member would
serve as a de facto officer until ousted, once the right of
such officer to serve is questioned, the probable result
seems clear that service as a public board member must
terminate unless the disability can be removed.  State v.
Pack, supra.

Members of the Board of Medical Practice are
appointed by and subject to removal for cause from office
by the Governor who may also fill vacancies on the Board.
24 Del.C. § 1710(g).

When a duly appointed Board member becomes
disqualified from further service because of the
occurrence of a limiting event and does not otherwise
vacate the office, the appointing authority has cause to
effect the removal of the individual who is no longer
qualified and provide for his or her replacement by filling
the resultant vacancy.

Should you have additional questions concerning
this matter, please do not hesitate to let us know.
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Very truly yours,
Michael M. Tischer
Deputy Attorney General

Malcolm S. Cobin
Assistant State Solicitor

Approved:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB10

April 28, 1997

The Honorable Thomas P. Eichler
Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families
1825 Faulkland Road
Wilmington, DE 19805

RE: 31 Del.C. § 309 - Criminal History Information
Relating to Child Care Personnel and Foster and Adoptive
Parents

Dear Secretary Eichler:
You have asked whether those child care

personnel exempted from the criminal history record
check requirement under 31 Del.  C. § 309 continue under
that exemption when they transfer to another position,
move laterally or are promoted.  By way of this informal
opinion we answer as follows:

The exemption of 31 Del.  C. § 309(c) provides:

“[a]ll prospective child care personnel are covered
by the provisions of this section as well as current
child care personnel who have been providing said
child care for a period of less than one (1) year...”

The effective date of this section was September 1, 1990,
thereby exempting child care personnel employed on or
before September 1, 1989 from the requirements of a
criminal history record check. 67 Del.  Laws c 409 § 2.
The phrase “said child care” makes the exemption of
§309(c) subject to more than one possible reading.  The
first is that child care personnel hired on or before
September 1, 1989 remain exempt so long as they are
continuously employed in any child care position.  The
second interpretation is that child care personnel remain

exempt so long as they continue to hold the exact position
held as of September 1, 1989.  Stated differently, child
care personnel employed on or before September 1, 1989
would remain exempt from criminal history record checks
until they transferred, moved laterally or were promoted
to another child care position.  As the statute is reasonably
susceptible of dfferent interpretations, it is ambiguous.
Coastal Barge Corp. v. Coastal Zone Industrial Control
Board, Del.  Supr., 492 A.2d 1242 (1985).  Where a statute
is ambiguous, the intent of the legislature must be
examined.  Mosley v. Bank of Delaware , Del.  Supr., 372
A.2d 178 (1977).

The synopsis of a piece of legislation is often
helpful in determining legislative purpose together with
reviewing the statue in is entirety.  Synopsis language for
this legislation states in part:

“[T]his Act requires certain individuals who
currently provide child care to submit the
necessary information in order for the Delaware
State Police and the Department of Services for
Children, Youth and Their Families to conduct a
criminal history record investigation to determine
a person’s suitability to provide child care
services.” 67 Del.  Laws C. 409

Suitability is to be determined using criteria and
information “reasonably related to the prevention of child
abuse.” 31 Del.  C. § 309(h)(1).  The Department of
Services for Children, Youth and Their Families
(hereinafter “Department”) which is to make the
determination of “suitability,” is broadly mandated to “...
protect and safeguard the well-being of children...” 29
Del.  C. § 9001 (a).  These provisions, the placement of the
criminal history record requirements in the Delaware
Code chapter entitled “Child Welfare” and the assignment
of responsibility to the Department combine to support a
clear legislative intent to protect the health, safety and
welfare of Delaware children.

In view of the legislative intent of 31 Del. C.
§309, it is our opinion that the General Assembly
anticipated that movement from one child care personnel
position to another, whether resulting from a transfer,
lateral move or promotion, would require that an
employee who was exempt at the time § 309 became
effective should submit to the criminal history record
check process.  The statutory purpose of § 309 is to protect
Delaware children who come within the purview, care
and/or custody of the Department.  To that end, it is only
appropriate that any child care personnel changing
positions within the child care field, just as any new
employee, comply with the criminal history record check,
review provisions and determination of suitability.
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If we can be of further assistance, or if you have

any questions, please do not hesitate to call us.

Very truly yours,
Janice R. Tigani
Deputy Attorney General

Marsha Kramarck
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB11

May 20, 1997

Senator Patricia M. Blevins,
209 Linden Avenue
Elsmere
Wilmington, DE 19805

Representative Stephanie A. Ulbrich
1018 Summit View Drive
Newark, DE 19713

RE: Effect of Pending Criminal Charges On the
Licensing of Veterinarians

Dear Senator Blevins, and Representative Ulbrich:

At the Sunset Committee hearing for the Board of
Veterinary Practice (“Board”) on March 10, 1997, the
Board inquired whether legislation was necessary to
authorize it to deny a license to a veterinarian from
another state who has any pending criminal charge.  At
your request as Co-Chairs of the Sunset Committee, the
Attorney General’s Office submits this opinion.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Can a person be denied a professional license
on the ground that there is a pending criminal
charge against that person at the time of application
for licensure?

2. Does a licensing board have authority to
withhold the issuance of a license while a criminal

charge is pending, and then grant or deny the
license depending on the disposition of the
criminal charge?

3 Can a licensing board suspend or revoke a
license on the basis of a pending criminal charge
that has not resulted in a conviction?

Conclusion

Based on the foregoing legal authorities, we
conclude that the Board can deny an application for a
license if it determines that a criminal indictment against
the applicant shows lack of good moral character
necessary for the safe practice of veterinary medicine.  If
a license has already been issued, the Board can
temporarily suspend the privilege of practicing veterinary
medicine in order to protect the public safety, but the
licensee has a right to a prompt post-suspension hearing.
If the licensee is ultimately convicted of a felony or other
public offense involving moral turpitude, then the Board
has statutory authority to suspend or revoke a license for
that reason.

SUMMARY OF OPINION

The Board’s enabling statute authorizes it to deny
a license if the applicant does not demonstrate good moral
character.  A pending criminal charge can reflect on moral
character.  If the pending criminal charge does not have
any bearing on the applicant’s fitness to practice
veterinary medicine, then denial could violate the
applicant’s substantive due process right to practice his or
her profession.

The Board of Veterinary Medicine does not have
authority to withhold issuance of a license pending the
outcome of a criminal charge.  If an applicant insists on a
decision one way or the other, the Board must decide on
the merits without delay.  The applicant, however, may
agree to voluntarily withdraw the application or ask the
Board to withhold its decision until the criminal charge is
resolved.

The Board has the inherent authority to
temporarily suspend the license of a veterinarian who has
been criminally charged for conduct that could threaten
the public safety.  Due process requires the Board to
provide a prompt post-suspension hearing, but the Board
does not have to stay its administrative proceeding
pending the outcome of the criminal case.  Granting a
licensee’s request for a stay may be appropriate, in the
Board’s discretion, to ensure fundamental fairness.

1 . A State May Condition The Grant Or Denial Of A
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Professional License On Any Ground Reasonably Related
To The Practice Of That Profession.

Section 3308(a) of Title 24 of the Delaware Code
provides: “Any person desiring a license to practice
veterinary medicine in this State shall make written
application to the Board.  The application shall show that
the applicant is a citizen of the United States or an
applicant for citizenship, a graduate of a veterinary
school, a person of good moral character, and such other
information and proof as the Board may from time to time
require by rule.” Section 3309 further provides that “if a
disciplinary proceeding or unresolved complaint is
pending” before a licensing body in another state, “the
applicant shall not be licensed until the proceeding or
complaint has been resolved.”

If the Board finds that an applicant is not
qualified, it “shall immediately notify the applicant in
writing of such finding and the grounds therefor.  An
applicant found unqualified may require a hearing on the
question of his qualification. . .” 24 Del.  C. Section
3308(b).  Section 3314 provides that “in the case of a
person whose application for a license is denied,” such
hearing shall be held within ten days “after receipt by the
Board of a written request for a hearing.”

The Board does not have authority to create
substantive qualifications for license applicants in
addition to those set forth in Section 3308(a).  See Kramer
v. State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, La.
App., 55 So.2d 93, 94 (1951) (“nowhere in the act does the
Legislature grant unto the Board the authority to
prescribe” the “qualifications to be met by applicants
prior to their application for the examination”).  The
statute authorizes the Board by rule to specify only the
“information and proof” necessary to meet the statutory
requirements for licensure.

Three of the statutory conditions for a license
(citizenship, required school degree, disciplinary
proceedings in another state) are objective.  The third
condition - “good moral character” - is subjective giving
the Board discretionary authority to determine whether an
applicant meets that condition.

“[A] person’s right to engage in any lawful occupation is
subservient to the legitimate right and duty of the state to
protect the health, safety, and welfare of its citizens
through the valid exercise of its police power.  All
occupational licensing emanates from this authority.  For
the greater good of the public at large, a state, under its
police power, is free to place certain restrictions upon
those who wish to enter or practice a particular
occupation.” Linkus v. Maryland State Board of
Heating,Ventilation, Air-Conditioning & Refrigeration
Contractors, Md. Spec. App., 1997 WL 96599, at p. 4

(Feb. 28, 1997) (citation omitted).
A statutory requirement of “good moral

character” is common in state business, professional, and
occupational license schemes.  “Generally, the Legislature
has authorized particular boards, after considering the
factors enumerated in the relevant empowering statute, to
exercise discretion and consider the general character of
the applicant.” Linkus, 1997 WL 96599, at p. II.  For
example, a licensing board can “consider prior criminal
convictions as evidence of moral character......” Id. See
Yirenkyi  v. District of Columbia Hackers’ License
Appeal Board, D.C. App., 520 A-2d 328, 331 (1987)
(whatever the term “good moral character” may mean in
other contexts, “it surely excludes from consideration for
a license any person, such as petitioner, who has been
twice convicted of an offense [carrying a pistol without a
license] against the public safety”).

“The broad authority of the state to place
restrictions upon those who wish to pursue an occupation
is not without limitations however.  In order to prevent
arbitrary and capricious use of this power, due process and
equal protection require that any regulation of a business
must bear a reasonable and rational relationship to the
state’s objective.” Linkus, 1997 WL 96599, at p. 4.

In Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners of the
State of New Mexico, 353 U.S. 232 (1957), the United
States Supreme Court held that a state cannot exclude a
person from any “occupation in a manner or for reasons
that contravene the Due Process Clause or the Equal
Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.” 353
U.S. at 238.  In Schware, the applicant for the state bar was
fully qualified to take the written examination, but was
denied the opportunity because of several previous arrests
for civil disobedience, none of which resulted in a
conviction.  The Supreme Court held that denial on that
ground violated substantive due process because it was
arbitrary.  “The mere fact that a man has been arrested has
very little, if any, probative value in showing that he has
engaged in any misconduct.  An arrest shows nothing
more than that someone probably suspected the person
apprehended of an offense.” 353 U.S. at 241 (footnote
omitted).  “Arrest, by itself, is not considered competent
evidence either at a criminal or civil trial to prove that a
person did certain prohibited acts.” 353 U.S. at 241 n.6
(citing Wigmore on Evidence Section 980a).

In contrast, in Emery v. City of New Orleans, La.
App., 473 So.2d 877 (1985), the state court upheld the
city’s denial of a liquor license to an applicant who had
“several recent arrests and pending charges for possession
of narcotics and stolen property.” 473 So.2d at 878.  The
court found that the nature of those charges had “a real and
substantial relationship to promotion of orderly and legal
distribution of intoxicating beverages.... The requirement
of good character and reputation for alcoholic beverage
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outlet managers is reasonable and not arbitrary, and we
defer to the municipality’s broad discretion in setting the
standard and in determining whether it is met by an
applicant who has an arrest record.” Id. at 880-81 (citation
omitted).

In Schware, the applicant for the state bar
examination was arrested but “released without formal
charges being filed against him.  He was never indicted
nor convicted for any offense in connection with these
arrests.” 353 U.S. at 241.  In Emery, the applicant for a
liquor license had not only been arrested but also charged
with possession of narcotics and stolen property.  There is
a qualitative difference between arrest and indictment for
purposes of denying a license.  Although an indictment
does not have “evidentiary value,” it is far “from being a
mere allegation,” and “constitutes a finding by a grand
jury that a basis exists for subjecting the accused to a
trial,” with “intermediate restraints upon his freedom. . . .”
Trap Rock Industries, Inc. v. Kohl, N.J. Supr., 284 A.2d
161, 169 (1971), cert. denied, 405 U.S. 1065 (1972).

The court of appeals in Emory rejected the
constitutional challenge to the licensing statute’s
requirement of good moral character as void for
vagueness.  “The required qualification of good character
and reputation provides an ascertainable standard.  ‘Good
moral character’ is a statutory prerequisite for countless
occupations, professions, and positions of civic
responsibility.  The term is widely accepted and
understood as a concise and meaningful description of an
attribute of a desirable citizen.” 473 So.2d at 881.  To
require the legislature to define all possible criteria for
accepting or rejecting license applicants “...would
undoubtedly have ended in a cumbersome, wordy
enactment which could have added nothing to the inherent
meaning of the words themselves and might well have
detracted from their efficient and effective application.”
Id. (quoting United States v. Mississippi, 229 F. Supp. 925
(S.D.. Miss. 1964)).3

Whether the Board can deny a license based on a
criminal indictment depends upon the nature of the
charge.  If the charge has no bearing on the applicant’s
fitness to practice veterinary medicine, then a reviewing
court could find that denial of the license application was
arbitrary and capricious.  Charges involving a controlled
substance would most likely relate to the applicant’s
professional fitness (especially in a profession where
prescription privileges attach to the license); a pending
criminal charge for a traffic offense probably would not.
See Mules v. Maryland Racing Commission, Md. Spec.
App., 353 A-2d 664 (1976).

Legislation expressly authorizing the Board to
deny a license based on a criminal indictment would
diminish the chance of successful judicial challenge to the
denial of a license application since the Board would not

be exercising unfettered discretion in determining that the
indictment indicated bad moral character.  But even a
legislative provision would have to bear some rational
relationship to the fitness to practice veterinary medicine
in the State of Delaware.  “Numerous decisions have held
a statute can constitutionally bar a person from practicing
a lawful profession only for reasons relating to his fitness
or competence to practice that profession.... The authority
to deny ... a professional license does not contemplate an
identical standard of probity should apply to the different
professionals with their different duties, responsibilities
and degree of contact with the public.” Thorpe v. Board of
Examiners in Veterinary Medicine, Cal.  App., 104
Cal.App.3d 111, 163 Cal.Rptr. 3 82, 3 84 (1980)
(smuggling of controlled substance directly related to
fitness to practice veterinary medicine).  Thus, in
Yirenkyi the municipal ordinance only barred licensure
on the basis of indictment for certain crimes which might
put the public safety of passengers at risk, given that cab
drivers “pursue their employment without supervision
and maintain direct and personal contact with the general
public.” 520 A-2d at 331.

In the context of an application for a professional
license, the requirements of due process are at a minimum.
“[A] protected right in a professional license comes into
existence only after a license has been obtained.  An
applicant for a license has merely an expectation of
obtaining a property interest.  Such an expectation is not
afforded the same protection under the Fourteenth
Amendment as is the property right itself.”  Walton v.
Board of Examiners of Psychologists , Del.  Super., 1991
VVL 35716, at p. 4 (Feb. 21, 1991) (Barron, J.).
Accordingly, there is no constitutional due process right
to a hearing when a state board decides to deny an
application for a license.  By statute, however, “in the case
of a person whose application for a license [to practice
veterinary medicine] is denied,” the applicant has a right
to a hearing within “10 days after receipt by the Board of
a written request for a hearing.” 29 Del.  C. Section
3314(a).

2. The Board Can Withhold The Issuance Of A
License Only So Long As It Is Examining The Statutory
Criteria For A License.

Section 3308(b) of Title 24 of the Delaware Code
provides: “If the Board determines that the applicant
possesses the proper qualifications, it shall admit the
applicant to the next examination, or, if the applicant is
eligible for a license without ammination under Section
3310 of this title, the Board may forthwith grant him a
license.” (Emphasis added.)

In Kelley v. Delaware Alcoholic Beverage
Control Commission, Del.  Supr., 423 A-2d 507 (1980)
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(O’Hara, J.), the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission
imposed a moratorium on new liquor licenses because of
a recent court decision calling into question the legality of
Delaware’s licensing scheme.  The Superior Court
granted a petition for writ of mandamus to compel the
Commission to act on a pending application.  The powers
of the Commission were limited to those expressly given
in Title 4 of the Delaware Code, and “cannot be extended
beyond a strict construction thereof except with the
approval of the General Assembly.”  423 A.2d at 5 1 0
(quoting 59 Del.  Laws c. 107, s. 68).  The Commission
conceded that it did not have express authority not to rule
on a license application, but argued that such power was
“implicit” in its “broad grant” of licensing authority.  Id.
The Superior Court rejected that argument.  “[T]here is
nothing in Title 4 expressly indicating that the
Commission has discretion to consider some such
applications but to refuse to consider or act on others.”

In Stone and Edwards Insurance Agency v.  Inc.
v. Department of Insurance, Pa. Cmwlth., 636 A.2d 293,
aff’d, Pa.  Supr., 648 A.2d 304 (1994), the Pennsylvania
Commonwealth Court also granted a writ of mandamus to
compel action on a license application.  Under the
Pennsylvania statutory scheme, if the Insurance
Department “is satisfied as to the applicant’s worthiness
and all other requirements are met, it must grant a
license.”  Conversely, “if it is not satisfied that the
applicant is worthy, the [Department] will deny the
application.” 636 A.2d at 302 n.27. But once the
Department concluded its investigation of the applicants’
alleged violations of the state insurance laws, “there is no
adequate remedy for [the license applicants] other than
mandamus because the Department’s refusal to take final
action of the applications precludes any appeal.  The
Insurance Department Act places a duty on the
Department to either grant or deny applications consistent
with its processing, and while the Department does have
discretion in the outcome of the determination, it does not
have the discretion to refuse to process Petitioners’
applications.” 636 A.2d at 304.

The Board’s enabling statute (Title 24, Chapter
33) does not give the Board authority to withhold the
issuance of a license during the pendency of a criminal
charge, or for any other reason.  Indeed, the statute
provides that if the statutory criteria are met, the Board
‘shall’ grant the application “forthwith.” If there is a
pending criminal charge, then the Board can exercise its
discretion to deny the license application, but it must
decide one way or the other, if the applicant insists on his
or her right to a hearing.  Of course, the applicant can ask
the Board to defer its decision until the outcome of the
criminal case, and thereby waive any right to seek a writ of
mandamus.  Alternatively, the applicant may voluntarily

elect, with the Board’s consent, to withdraw the
application without proudice and with the ability to refile
after the disposition of the criminal charge.

3 . The Board Cannot Suspend Or Revoke A License
Solely On The Basis Of A Criminal Charge Unrelated To
The Practice Of Veterinary Medicine.

Title 24, Section 3313 of the Delaware Code sets
forth fourteen statutory grounds for suspending or
revoking a veterinary license, including: “(5) Conviction
of a felony or other public offense involving moral
turpitude;” and “(14) Unprofessional conduct as defined
in regulations adopted by the Board.” It is our
understanding that the Board has not adopted any
regulations defining “unprofessional conduct” for
purposes of suspending or revoking a license.

In State Board of Medical Examiners v. Weiner,
N.J. App., 172 A.2d 661 (1961), the State
Board of Medical Examiners temporarily suspended a
doctor’s license to practice medicine pending the outcome
of a criminal indictment for manslaughter.  Citing the
Supreme Court’s decision in Schware, the New Jersey
court observed that “the right to follow one’s chosen
profession is a fundamental element of citizenship and
one cannot be prevented from practicing except for valid
reasons arrived at in orderly and fair fashion.” 172 A-2d at
675.  “Implicit in the licensing philosophy, of course, and
expressly provided in such regulatory legislation, is the
power to revoke or suspend the license when the behavior
of the licensee is found to be inconsistent with criteria
which are stated with reasonable clarity and certainty and
are arguably reflective of the State’s interest in
preservation of the public health and welfare.” Id. The
Board did not have express statutory authority to suspend
a license pending criminal charges, but the Board had
statutory authority to suspend or revoke a license for
conviction of a crime involving morale turpitude.  The
Board argued, therefore, that it had “‘incidental authority,
to do that which is ‘fairly and reasonably necessary or
appropriate’ to implementation of the function expressly
authorized by law.” Id. at 676.

The court agreed in principle that “[s]uch a power
may be implied from the Board’s overall suspension and
revocation authority.  Among the considerations
persuasive of such a view are the ever-present need for
immediate and preventative action” to prevent the
licensee from endangering “the public welfare prior to or
during the pendency of charges and prior to actual hearing
and disposition.” Id. The court, however, held that this
implied power could not be invoked on the basis of a
criminal charge unrelated to the practice of medicine.
Although the crime of manslaughter was “a serious
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offense against the peace and dignity” of the state, it had
“no direct connection with the physical capacity or
professional methods of the practitioner in a way that
would warrant summary measures in order to shield the
public health.” 172 A-2d at 678, 679.

“[W]ith respect to licenses to engage in a
business or activity, it is generally said to be implicit that
a suspension may be ordered pending investigation when
the public interest so requires.”  Trap Rock Industries, Inc.
v. Kohl, N.J. Supr., 284 A.2d 161, 169 (1971), cert.
denied, 405 U.S. 1065 (1972) (citing K. Davis,
Administrative Law Treatise Section 7.08, at pp. 438-444
(1958), 1970 Supp.  Section 7.08, at pp. 331-33)).  The
courts in other states have also held that a regulatory
agency can suspend a license to protect the public safety
pending the outcome of criminal proceedings, so long as
the alleged criminal conduct involved the fitness to hold a
license.  See, e.g,. City of Indianapolis v. Tabak, Ind.
App., 441 N.E.2d 494 (1982) (second-hand goods
dealer’s license temporarily suspended pending criminal
charges of receiving stolen property); Karanja v. Perales,
Supr.  Ct., 535 N.Y.S.2d 892 (1988) (health care provider
may be suspended “when an accusatory instrument has
been filed which charges a felony related to medical
care”).  The state, however, must offer the licensee “an
opportunity to explain away the criminal charges to
obviate the temporary suspension.” Trap Rock, 284 A.2d
at 171.

The Board of Veteterinary Medicine probably
has the inherent authority to temporarily suspend a license
if the licensee is the subject of a pending criminal charge
that relates to his or her fitness to practice veterinary
medicine.  Due process requires that the licensee be given
a prompt postsuspension hearing, and the statute requires
a hearing within ten days if the licensee requests.

At that juncture, the Board must balance the need
to protect the public safety by a continued suspension
until the criminal charge is resolved, against the right of
the accused to due process and the right to earn a living.
See Barry v. Barchi, 443 U.S. 55, 66 (1979). (once a
temporary suspension has been imposed, the licensee’s
“interest in a speedy resolution of the controversy
becomes paramount”).  Continued suspension is not
justified merely on the basis of an outstanding indictment.
Nor does the Board sit to decide the merits of the criminal
charge.  Indeed, the Board most likely will “know nothing
at all about the [criminal] case,” and “there stands
between the licensee and conviction (and hence final
determination of the revocability of his license) a
presumption of innocence which must be overcome by
evidence demonstrating his guilt beyond a reasonable
doubt.” Weiner, 172 A-2d at 678.  The purpose of a
hearing is to allow the licensee an opportunity to explain
the criminal charges and to demonstrate that continued

temporary suspension is not necessary to protect the
public safety.  Of course, if the licensee is ultimately
convicted of a felony or public offense involving moral
turpitude, then the Board will have statutory grounds to
revoke or suspend a license for a fixed period of time.

Where there are criminal proceedings pending,
licensees have argued that a parallel administrative
proceeding will violate their Fifth Amendment right
against self-incrimination.  The United States Supreme
Court has rejected that argument because the licensee can
still invoke his Fifth Amendment right not to testify in the
administrative proceeding.  “It would stultify enforcement
of federal law to require a governmental agency such as
the [Food and Drug Administration] invariably to choose
either to forgo recommendation of a criminal prosecution
once it seeks civil relief, or to defer civil proceedings
pending the ultimate outcome of a criminal trial.”  United
States v. Kordel, 397 U.S. 1, 11 (1970).

A licensee’s Fifth Amendment rights, however,
might be violated if an agency’s rules would compel the
licensee’s testimony or if his “failure to testify will be held
a ground for disbarment or forfeiture of office.” DeVita v.
Sills, 422 F.2d 1172, 1177 (3d Cir. 1979).  But there is no
constitutional infirmity if the licensee “can, if he wants,
assert the privilege in the disciplinary proceeding.  He has
no constitutional right to be relieved of the burden of that
choice.” 422 F.2d at 1180.

The courts in Delaware have followed Kordel
and DeVita.  The constitutional right against self-
incrimination is not violated if a parallel civil proceeding
goes forward at the same time as a criminal proceeding,
even though the defendant in a criminal case may “be put
to the difficult choice of having to assert the privilege in a
related civil case.” Insurance Co. of North America v.
Steigler, Del.  Super., 300 A-2d 16, 18 (1972) (O’Hara,
J.).

Although not a violation of the Fifth Amendment,
an administrative proceeding to suspend or revoke a
license may still violate due process and fundamental
notions of fairness if criminal charges are also pending
against the licensee.  In Silver v. McCamey, 221 F.2d 873
(D.C. Cir. 1955), a licensed taxicab operator was arrested
and charged with two counts of rape.  While the criminal
charges were still pending, the Board of Revocation and
Review of Hackers’ Identification Licenses ordered him
to show cause why his license should not be revoked
because he was unfit to operate a public vehicle.  The D.C.
Circuit held that “due process is not observed if an
accused person is subjected, without his consent, to an
administrative hearing on a serious criminal charge that is
pending against him.  His necessary defense in the
administrative hearing may disclose his evidence long in
advance of his criminal trial and prejudice his defense in
that trial.” 221 F.2d at 874-75.  But “nothing prevents the
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Board, while a criminal charge is pending, from holding a
hearing and taking action on the question whether,
because it is pending, a license should be temporarily
suspended [to protect the public].” Since temporary
suspension of a license does not involve “a finding of guilt
or a permanent loss of employment, the hearing involved
... need not require disclosure of defenses to the criminal
charge.  Accordingly, temporary suspension of a license,
unlike revocation, pending a serious criminal charge,
need not be inconsistent with due process.” Id. at 875.

If the license hearing goes forward while the
criminal charge is still unresolved, the Board runs the risk
of having its action challenged on constitutional grounds.
Although discretionary, the Board should consider
staying its proceeding until the criminal case is over.
“Undoubtedly there are cases in which a court in the
exercise of its discretion should stay . . . a civil action
pending the disposition of a criminal case.” De Vita, 422
F.2d at 1181 (citing United States v. Kordel, supra).

In Moss v. State Personnel Commission, 1987
WL 16715 (Del.  Supr., July 30, 1987) (Stiftel, Pres.  J.),
the State fired an employee for conduct that also gave rise
to criminal charges for rape.  The State Personnel
Commission denied a request for a continuance of an
administrative hearing until after the criminal charges
were resolved.  On appeal, the Superior Court held that the
Commission abused its discretion in denying the request
for a continuance.  “[T]he fact that a criminal trial was in
the offing is not sufficient reason for a civil trial
continuance even though there could be some possible
prejudice to plaintiff.” 1987 WL 16715, at p. 2. But since
the criminal charges were scheduled for trial in the near
future, caution and fairness militated in favor of a stay of
the administrative action.  This was particularly true
because the employee had already been terminated, and
there was no threat to the safety of other employees at the
workplace.

Very truly yours
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor
May 20, 1997

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB12

May 20, 1997

Carol Ellis, Director
Division of Professional Regulation
Cannon Building, Suite 203
P.O. Box 1401
Dover, Delaware 19903

Re:       Twenty-four Del. C. § 3519(e) - Exemption from
Licensure

Dear Ms. Ellis:
You have asked whether unlicensed psychologists

on the staff of the University of Delaware Center for
Counseling and Student Development (“Counseling
Center”) are exempt from licensure for the 6 year period
under 24 Del.C. §3519(e).  For the reasons stated below,
we believe that they are.

The second paragraph of 24 Del. C. § 3519(e)
was introduced as House Amendment No. I to Senate Bill
No. 61 and was enacted as part of 70 Del.  Laws Ch. 57 in
1995.  The second paragraph provides:

“Notwithstanding any contrary provisions in this
chapter, any person who is a full-time faculty
member in a nationally accredited doctoral level
clinical training program in the State, and who is
actively pursuing licensure under this chapter for a
period not to exceed 6 years, may participate in and
may supervise matriculated graduate students in
activities defined as the practice of psychology
within the context of such programs; and may
conduct any research and teaching activities
related to the activities of such program.”

There are, therefore, three requirements for a
person to be exempted pursuant to § 3519(e).  First, the
person must be a “full-time faculty member.” Second,
said faculty member must be in a “nationally accredited
doctoral level clinical training program in the State.”
Third, the person must be “actively pursuing licensure
under this chapter for a period not to exceed 6 years.” We
understand from your letter that the two parts of this
statute which are at issue when applying it to the
Counseling Center are whether the staff at the Counseling
Center are “full-time faculty members” and whether the
Counseling Center conducts a “nationally accredited
doctoral level clinical training program training program
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in the State.”4

In letters to the Board of Examiners of
Psychologists (“Board”) dated September 30, 1996 and
January 23, 1997, John B. Bishop, Ph.D., Assistant Vice
President for Student Life, states that the persons
employed as psychologists in the Counseling Center are
full-time faculty members according to the Constitution
and By-laws of the University of Delaware.  He attaches to
those letters sections of the University Constitution.
Section I of that Constitution provides that “full-time
professional members ... in the Center for Counseling and
Student Development” are part of the University faculty
with full voting membership in the University Faculty.  It
appears that the Board’s concern is that these persons may
not actually be engaging in instructional activity full-
time.  We do not read § 3519(e) as requiring that.  It
merely requires that the person be a “full-time faculty
member”.  The University defines the psychologists in the
Counseling Center as full-time faculty members by its
Constitution and there is nothing in § 3519(e) to suggest
that the General Assembly meant anything other than one
who is so designated by the institution of higher learning.

Second, Dr. Bishop has stated that the
Counseling Center runs an internship program that is
accredited by the American Psychological Association
(“APA”).  We understand that this internship program, or
another similar APA accredited program, is a requirement
for receiving a doctoral degree in psychology for most
accredited programs and, therefore, part of the program
matriculated graduate students must complete to receive
their doctoral degree.  Therefore, this internship program
is a “nationally accredited doctoral level clinical training
program in the State” in that it is both nationally
accredited by the recognized accrediting association as
well as being a clinical training program at the doctoral
level since it is part of the course of study needed to be
completed in order to achieve the doctorate degree in
psychology.

We are aware that some of the Board’s concern is
based on the fact that House Amendment No. 1, which
contains the language at issue here, was negotiated late in
the session and had in mind the faculty members in the
Department of Psychology of University of Delaware and
not the Counseling Center.  However, as shown above, the
clear language of the statute leads to only one result.  A
fundamental rule of statutory construction is “to ascertain
and give affect to the intent of the legislature.” Coastal
Barge Corp v. Coastal Zone Industrial Control Board, Del.
Supr., 492 A.2d 1242 (1985) “[I]f the statute as a whole is
unambiguous, there is no reasonable doubt as to the
meaning of the words used and the Court’s role is then
limited to an application of the literal meaning of the
words.” Id. at 1246.  We believe the language is clear and

there is no need to resort to other methods of statutory
construction.  Additionally, the Synopsis of House
Amendment No. 1 to Senate Bill No. 61 supports our
conclusion.  The Synopsis states in part:

“This Amendment permits the continuation
without interruption of well-qualified clinical
programs which provide valuable training for
doctoral psychology degree candidates, and a
valuable public service.  It allows post graduate
program faculty members, who must spend time
researching, teaching, and supervising students,
additional time to comply with psychologist
licensure requirements...”

In summary, we find that the language of the
second paragraph of 24 Del.  C. § 3519(e) is clear and
unambiguous.  Nothing in the language suggests that it
was intended to apply only to the Department of
Psychology and not to programs such as the Counseling
Center.5

If you have any further questions, please do not
hesitate to contact us.

Very truly yours,
Malcolm S. Cobin
Assistant State Solicitor

Approved
Michael J. Rich, State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB13

June 2, 1997

Mr. Richard H. Anthony
P.O. Box 653
Lewes, DE 19958

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
City of Lewes

Dear Mr. Anthony:

This letter is our written determination in
response to your complaint alleging that the City of Lewes
(the “City”) violated the Freedom of Information Act, 29
Del.C.  Sections 10001 - 10005 (“FOIA”) by not giving
the required notice of meetings where public business was
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discussed.

Your letter of complaint dated February 22, 1997
was received by this Office on February 28, 1997.  By
letter dated March 10, 1997, we asked for the City’s
response to your allegations that the City had violated the
open meeting requirements of FOIA.  Although your
complaint also alleged a violation of the public notice
provisions of the Code of Lewes, we did not ask the City
to respond to those allegations since they involved matters
outside the jurisdiction of the Attorney General’s Office.

In your letter, you alleged that the City had
violated FOIA in two ways: first, by holding meetings of
the Personnel Policy Review Committee during the last
two years without notice to the public; and second, by
holding a meeting of the Mayor and three council
members on January 27, 1997 to discuss matters of public
business, again without notice to the public.  By letter
dated March 24, 1997 we received a response from the
City’s attorney, denying that the City had committed any
FOIA violations.

By letter dated April 28, 1997, we asked the City
for additional documents and information,
which we received on May 2, 1997.

Concerning the first issue, the City Council, at a
regularly scheduled meeting on April 10, 1995, appointed
an “in house” committee to review personnel policy
issues, and to advise and make recommendations to the
whole City Council.  That committee, which came to be
known as the Personnel Policy Review Committee (the
“Committee”), first met on May 23, 1995.  Since then, the
Committee has met sixteen more times, most recently on
March 13, 1997.  According to the City’s attorney, “[e]ach
meeting was noticed with an agenda at least seven days
prior to the meeting.” Enclosed with the City’s letter
response were copies of the three-line notices for each of
the meetings of the Committee.  The City’s attorney also
states that each of those meetings was tape-recorded, and
the tapes “are available for review pursuant to an
appropriate request under Section 10003 of Title 29 of the
Delaware Code.”

Concerning the second  issue, the City
acknowledges that in January 1997 “the Mayor and
Councilpersons each received an invitation from the
Historic Lewes Business Conunittee of the Lewes
Chamber of Commerce inviting each “to attend a
workshop with our group at St. Peter’s Parish Hall on
Monday, January 27, 1997, at 7:30 p.m.” The invitation
listed “areas we feel need to be addressed,” including:
police coverage, Park and recreation proposals, uneven
pavement and sink holes, parking, transient boats, street
cleaning, and Christmas lights.”

The only notice of this meeting was in the
January 1997 newsletter of the Chamber of Commerce,

which stated: “The committee has also requested a
meeting with City of Lewes officials to discuss a number
of issues that businesses in the historic district have with
the City.  The meeting is scheduled for Monday, January
27 at 7:30 p.m. at St. Peter’s Hall.” That notice was also
listed in the Chamber of Commerce and Visitor Bureau’s
calendar of events.

The Mayor and   three members of the City
Council attended the meeting on January 2, 1997. The
City, however, contends that “[t]here was no action taken
at this public forum.  The Mayor and members of Council
did not discuss between themselves any matter of public
business but rather heard discussion by the Chamber of
Commerce and the Lewes Business Committee.”

Summary of the Law

Section 10004 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code
provides that “[e]very meeting of all public bodies shall
be open to the public” except as authorized by statute for
executive session.  Section 10004(e)(2) further provides:
“All public bodies shall give public notice of their regular
meetings and of their intent to hold an executive session
closed to the public, at least 7 days in advance thereof The
notice shall include the agenda, if such has been
determined at the time, and the dates, times and places of
such meetings; . . . .” Section 10004(e)(4) requires that
notice “shall include, but not be limited to, conspicuous
posting of said notice at the principal place of the public
body holding the meeting .......”

Section 10004(f) requires every public body to
“maintain minutes of all meetings, including executive
sessions, conducted pursuant to this section, and shall
make such minutes available for public inspection and
copying as a public record.  Such minutes shall include a
record of those members present and a record, by
individual members (except where the public body is a
town assembly where all citizens are entitled to vote), of
each vote taken and action agreed upon.”

The Committee is a “public body” for purposes of
FOIA.  FOIA defines a public body to include any
“committee, ad hoc committee, special committee,
advisory board and committee, [or] subcommittee, . . .
appointed by any body or public official [which] ... is
impliedly or specifically charged by any other public
official, body, or agency to advise or to make reports,
investigations or recommendations.” 29 Del.C.  Section
10002(a).  The City does not dispute that the Committee
was appointed by a public official (the Mayor) to give
advice and to make recommendations to a public body
(the City Council).

Discussion and Findings



1454

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINIONS

For each of the seventeen meetings of the
Committee, the City posted a notice stating the date, time,
and place of the meeting.  None of those notices, however,
included an agenda, as required by Section 10004(e)(2).
FOIA defines an agenda to include, at the very least, “a
general statement of the major issues expected to be
discussed at a public meeting, as well as a statement of
intent to hold an executive session and the specific ground
or grounds therefor . . . .” 29 Del.C. Section 10003(f).  See
Ianni v. Department of Elections of New Castle County,
Del.  Ch., 1986 WL 9610 (Aug. 29, 1986) (Allen, C.)
(agenda was insufficient “to alert the public” as to the
matters the public body would consider).

Furthermore, the City admits in its response that
“[n]o formal written minutes” were maintained of any of
those meetings of the Committee.  Rather, the meetings
were tape-recorded.  This Office has previously
determined that, even where a public body has taped a
meeting, FOIA still requires that minutes be prepared so
that they are readily available for public inspection.  See
Att’y Gen. Op. 96-IB25 (July 22,1996).

We find that the City committed two separate
violations of FOIA: (1) failure to post agenda for meetings
of the Committee, in violation of Section 10004(e)(2); and
(2) failure to maintain minutes of those meetings, in
violation of Section 10004 (f).  We now turn to the issue of
notice of the January 27, 1997 meeting between members
of the City Council and the Chamber of Commerce.

The application of the open meeting law to joint
meetings of different bodies does not lend itself to bright
lines.  On the one hand, there is no “reason why a joint
discussion meeting of several public bodies with respect
to matters of mutual public concern should not be as fully
subject to [FOIA] as is a discussion of a single body with
respect to matters of public concern.” Allen-Deane Corp.
v. Township of Bedminster, N.J. App., 379 A.2d 265, 268
(1977).  On the other hand, the public policies behind the
act may not be implicated where a joint meeting is
“informational” only and “not for the purpose of official
action.” Woodbury Daily Times Co. v. Gloucester County
Sewerage Authority, N.J. App., 386 A.2d 445 (1978)
(meeting between local authority and state department of
environmental protection).

The issue turns on whether members of a public
body attending such a joint meeting are there simply to
listen and learn, or whether they actively participate in the
discussion or resolution of any issues of public concern.
Even though the members may not vote on anything at the
joint meeting, the same issues may be raised at a later
meeting of the single public body.  That creates at least the
appearance that decisions affecting the public are being
crystallized out of the public view, and the public vote is

only a “ceremonial acceptance.” Levy v. Board of
Education of Cape Henlopen School District, Del.  Ch.,
1990 WL 154147, at p.7 (Oct. 1, 1990) (Chandler, V.C.).
“[R]arely could there be any purpose to a nonpublic pre-
meeting conference except to conduct some part of the
decisional process behind closed doors, . . . [A] sunshine
statute, being for the benefit of the public, should be
construed so as to frustrate all such evasive devices.” Id.

The City suggests that the meeting attended by
the Mayor and three council members was not subject to
FOIA because the meeting was called by the Chamber of
Commerce.  This Office has previously determined that it
is irrelevant who sponsors such a meeting.  “[A] meeting
as defined in Section 10002(e) does not cease to be a
meeting because the Council gathers as a result of an
invitation of another public official or body.  If the
‘gathering’ is ‘for the purpose of discussing public
business,’ it would be within the scope of [FOIA],
regardless of [who] initiated the breakfast.” Att’y
Gen. Op. 94-103 6 (Dec. 15, 1994).

The subjects of discussion at the January 27,
1997 meeting of the Chamber of Commerce were clearly
“public business.” FOIA defines “public business’ to
mean “any matter over which the public body has
supervision, control, jurisdiction or advisory power.” 29
Del.C.  Section 10002(b).  The purpose of the Chamber of
Commerce meeting was “not merely for academic
discussion” on matters “which would have no effect upon
the City.” The News-Journal Co. v. McLaughlin, Del.
Ch., 377 A.2d 358, 361 (1977) (Brown, V.C.). Rather, the
matters discussed at the meeting --paving, parking, parks,
and police -- are “matters over which City Council clearly
had control, supervision and jurisdiction.” Id. See Code of
Lewes, City Charter, Section 19(i) (charge and
supervision of streets, parks, and other administrative
affairs of the city); Section 24 (police force).

The City also contends that the January 27, 1997
meeting was not subject to FOIA because the City
representatives took “no action.” In McLaughlin, the
Chancery Court distinguished the Pennsylvania open
meeting statute, which applied only “to meetings where
‘formal action’ was taken.  Our law is not so limited.
Rather, it applies to meetings called to discuss public
business as well as to meetings called to take action on
public business.” 377 A.2d at 362.

In Levy, supra, the Chancery Court again
rejected the notion that FOIA applied only to meetings
where a public body intended to take “formal action”, but
did not apply where a school board held a “workshop” at
a local restaurant.  Under that interpretation, “there would
be no remedy to deter Board members from privately
meeting for discussion, investigation or deliberation
about public business as long as the Board reached no
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formal decision at that private meeting.” 1990 WL
154147, at p. 6. FOIA “recognizes that policy decisions by
public entities cannot realistically be understood as
isolated instances of collective choice, but are best
understood as a decisional process based on inquiry,
deliberation and consensus building.  Because informal
gatherings or workshops are part of the decision-making
process they too must be conducted openly.” Id.

The City contends that the public had notice of
the Chamber of Commerce meeting through the
Chamber’s newsletter and calendar of events.  FOIA,
however, requires that notice of public meetings “shall”
include “conspicuous posting of said notice at the
principal office of the public body holding the meeting.”
29 D&J.  Q. Section 10004(e)(4) (emphasis added).  In
Att’y Gen. Op. 96-IB26 (July 25, 1996), Us Office
determined that the county did not satisfy the notice
provisions of FOIA, when it gave notice of a meeting in
the county administrator’s report.  The purpose of
requiring conspicuous posting of notice at the public
body’s principal office “is to ensure that no member of the
public will have to search out to discover public
meetings.” Id.

We do not find, however, on the basis of this
record, that the City violated the notice requirements of
FOIA in connection with the January 27, 1997 meeting
attended by the Mayor and three members of the City
Council.  The Chamber of Commerce is not a public body,
and therefore is not required by FOIA to maintain minutes
of its meetings.  The City’s counsel has also represented
that “the City is unaware of any minutes, notes or any
other documents memorializing or relating to what was
discussed at the January 27, 1997, meeting.” We have
reviewed the minutes of the general and special meetings
of the City Council through March 24, 1997, and it does
not appear that any matters of public business that were
discussed at the Chamber of Commerce meeting in
January were also the subject of any formal action at a
later Council meeting.  On the basis of this record, we
accept the City’s representations that the Council
members attended the Chamber of Commerce meeting to
obtain information only, and that they did not actively
participate in discussions of public business that were
later the subject of formal action by the City Council at
one of its own meetings.

The City is cautioned, however, that attendance
by members of the Council at meetings like the one with
the Chamber of Commerce may trigger the requirements
of FOIA.  To make certain that their attendance is merely
to listen and learn, it behooves Council members to take
notes or otherwise memorialize the proceedings, in case
there is a question raised in the future about the
applicability of FOIA.  When in doubt, all that the Council

need do is to give notice of the attendance by members at
a meeting sponsored by another body, the date, place and
time of that meeting, and the subjects to be discussed.
Such notice requires only a modicum of time and effort,
and will help save the City from any FOIA scrutiny.

As for remediation, since the meetings of the
Committee were tape-recorded and have been preserved,
the City is directed to prepare minutes of all of the
meetings to date, and to prepare minutes for all meetings
that might be held in the future.

The most serious violation resulting from the
complaint is the failure to provide the public with agenda
for the seventeen meetings of the Committee.  Those
meetings have been held over the course of the last two
years.  The City Council has charged the Committee with
an important fimction: to review the City’s personnel
policies and make recommendations to the Council,
presumably for the Council to take action.  Such action
could have considerable impact, not only on City
employees, but also on the citizens at large, who rely on
the City for a variety of services.  By failing to notify the
public of the subject matter of its meetings, the Committee
could very well have deprived the citizenry of an
opportunity to monitor and influence issues of important
public policy, before they became crystallized for
approval by the City Council.

We find that the failure to post agenda involved
“substantial public rights” and was not merely a
“technical” violation.  Ianni, 1986 WL 961 0, at p. 6. As a
practical matter, the City cannot recreate two years of
history by re-noticing and holding seventeen meetings of
the Committee.  To the extent that the City Council may
have acted on advice or recommendations formulated by
the Committee at one of those meetings, however, the
action(s) by the Council may be subject to invalidation.

We note in particular that the minutes of the July
10, 1995 meeting of the Council state: “Due to his
absence, Council person Sheehan read a memo from
Deputy Mayor Pratt regarding the direction that the
Personnel Policy Review Committee is taking.  The memo
states that a new organizational chart has been prepared,
and requests Council’s approval of same.  Council person
Sheehan noted the changes that were made to the
organizational chart.  City Solicitor Tempe Steen stated
that the committee is requesting direction from Council as
to how they want the committee to go with revisions, or
are they to just review the policy and procedures.  After
some discussion, Mayor Smith recommended, by
common consensus, that the committee proceed with
changes.”

In at least one instance, therefore, the Committee
made a formal recommendation to the Council for its
approval, a clear violation of FOIA since the Committee
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had met to discuss the issue without the required public
notice.  The minutes also suggest that the Committee
made other recommendations to the Council, as a result of
discussions at meetings of the Committee.

To remedy these FOIA violations, we direct that
the City notice a special meeting to discuss any formal
report or recommendation that has been made by the
Committee since its inception, and to give proper notice of
that special meeting to the public so that interested
citizens can attend and comment.  At that time, after “full
public discussion,” Beebe Medical Center v. Certificate of
Need Appeals Board, Del.  Supr., 1995 V& 465318, at p.
6 (June 30, 1995) (Terry, J.), the Council can publicly vote
to implement any recommendations of the Committee.

If the City will agree, in writing, to hold such a
special meeting within thirty (30) days of the date of this
letter, then our Office will be willing to forego filing suit
in the Chancery Court to seek invalidation of any actions
taken by the Council upon the advice and recommendation
of the Committee.

Very truly yours
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

Approved:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB14

July 29, 1997

VIA HAND-DELIVERY

Richard G. Elliott, Jr., Esquire
Richards, Layton & Finger
One Rodney Square
P.O. Box 551
Wilmington, DE 19899

Re: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Red Clay Consolidated School District Board of
Education

Dear Mr. Elliott:

Pursuant to 29 Del.C.  Section 10005(e), the
Department of Justice makes the following written

determination whether a violation of the Freedom of
Information Act (“FOIA”) has occurred.

On June 18, 1997, we received your letter of
complaint.  By letter dated June 20, 1997, we asked the
Red Clay Consolidated School District Board of
Education (“Red Clay”) to respond within ten days to your
allegations that Red Clay violated the public records and
open meeting requirements of FOIA.  We granted Red
Clay’s request for an extension of time to respond to your
complaint until July II, 1997.  We then provided you with
a further opportunity to respond in writing, and received
your supplemental response on July 14, 1997.

On July 15, 1997, we asked Red Clay’s counsel to
provide us with a copy of the minutes of the executive
session on June 2, 1997 for our in camera review.  We
received the minutes on July 16, 1997.  Based on the
complaint (and documents attached), Red Clay’s
response, your reply, and our review of the minutes, we
make the following written determination.

A.      Public Records
Section 10003(a) of FOIA provides: “All public

records shall be open to inspection and copying by any
citizen of the State during regular business hours by the
custodian of the records for the appropriate public body.”
29 Del. C. Section 10003(a).  Section 10003(a) further
provides that “all citizens shall have” [r]easonable access
to and facilities for copying of these records ... If the
record is in active use or in storage and, therefore, not
available at the time a citizen requests access, the
custodian shall so inform the citizen and make an
appointment for said citizen to examine such records as
expediently as they may be made available.”

The complaint alleges three violations of the
public records law: (1) Red Clay did not provide a copy of
an amended contract with the Montessori School at a
public meeting on June 2, 1997; (2) Red Clay required The
News Journal to make a written request to Red Clay’s
counsel before providing access to other public records
requested on June 3, 1997; and (3) Red Clay withheld the
minutes of the executive session held on June 2, 1997.
Since the third issue may turn on the interpretation and
application of the open meeting law, we will address it
subsequent to our discussion of whether Red Clay went
into executive session for a purpose authorized by statute.

1.     The Montessori School Contract
The complaint states that at 4:30 p.m. at the June

2, 1997 meeting “a reporter for the News Journal
requested access to an amended contract between the Red
Clay Consolidated School District and the Montessori
Community School, Inc. relative to a charter application
that was being voted on by the Board at that meeting.....”.
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The complaint first states that “[s]uch access was denied,”
but then states that “access was provided after a vote on
the contract had been taken.” The News Journal contends
that the document “should have been provided before the
vote.”

In its response, Red Clay states that the contract
“was promptly provided to its reporter at the very meeting
at which access was sought...... “ Red Clay also contends
that the document requested “was in ‘active use’ until the
voting on it was complete, within the meaning of Section
10003 (a).” We do not have to decide whether the
document was in “active use” for purposes of FOIA since
we find that Red Clay did not deny The News Journal
access to this public record.

FOIA requires that citizens have “reasonable
access’ to inspect and copy public records, but does not
define “reasonable access.” In construing that term, this
Office has made previous reference to the federal
Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. Sections 550-559,
which generally requires a ten-day response to requests
for public records.  See 5 U.S.C. Section 552(a)(6)(A)(i).
The federal law only requires the agency to “respond” to
the request, that is, to make a decision whether it will or
will not comply (as opposed to actually producing the
documents requested).  If there are “unusual
circumstances,” the federal agency may have longer to
respond.  Section 552(a)(6)(B).

A public body in Delaware “should, within ten
(10) days after the receipt of a definitive request, issue a
written determination to the requester stating which of the
requested records will, and which will not, be released and
the reasons for any denial of a request.” Att’y Gen.
911003 (Feb. 1, 1991).  This time may be extended for
good reason, for example: “(1) When there is a need to
search for and collect the requested records from field
facilities or-other establishments that are separate from
the office processing the request; (2) When there is a need
to search for, collect, and examine a voluminous amount
of separate and distinct records which are demanded in a
single request; or (3) When there is a need for
consultation, which shall be conducted with all
practicable speed, with another agency or with agency
counsel.” Id. The touchstone to the public access analysis
is the modifier “reasonable,” which is tested under the
circumstances of the particular case. See Att’y Gen. Op.
94-IO30 (Oct. 19, 1994) (unreasonable for the town not to
comply with a request for public records for ten weeks).

The News Journal admits that it received a copy
of the contract it requested at the very meeting during
which it requested the document.  We do not construe the
“reasonable access” requirement of FOIA to mean that a
public body must provide access, on short-notice demand,
at any time or place.  The FOIA Declaration of Policy

states that citizens should have “easy access” to public
records. 29 Del.C. Section 10001.  It does not say that they
must have instantaneous access.

Of course, there may be circumstances where a
public body should give priority to requests for public
records.  “Courts have been sensitive to the context of
FOIA requests and to the plaintiff’s need for the
information, and they have expected that the administrative
procedures would take these needs into account.” Mayock
v. M, 714 F. Supp. 1558, 1567 (N.D. Cal. 1989) (public
records needed to defend against imminent deportation).
The News Journal apparently wanted to see a copy of the
amended contract to better observe the discussion at the
meeting on June 2. But we do not find that the
circumstances were so compelling as to require Red Clay
to provide a copy of the contract upon first demand at an
open public meeting, especially since Red Clay provided
The News Journal with a copy of the contract before the
meeting concluded.

2.      Minutes of School Board Meetings
On June 3, 1997, a reporter for The News Journal

made a telephone request for minutes of certain meetings
of the Red Clay School Board.  The attorney for the
School Board asked that the request be put in writing “so
that there would be no mistake as to the documents
requested” and “to avoid any misunderstanding that could
occur.” The News Journal takes the position that FOIA
does not require requests for public records to be made in
writing.

FOIA is silent as to whether a public body can
require a citizen to make a written request to inspect and
copy public records before honoring the request.  It is
within the discretion of the public body to honor a verbal
request for public documents. See Att’y Gen. Op. 96-IB 1
3 (May 6, 1996) (“a public agency can certainly respond
to a request by telephone”).  But if a public body chooses
to require that the request be made in writing, or that such
writing be directed to its counsel, then that, in itself, does
not amount to a violation of the public records law.

In Brent v. Paquette, N.H. Supr., 567 A.2d 976
(1989), a citizen sued alleging that he was denied access to
public records by the school superintendent, who required
that he make an appointment first.  The citizen argued that
the New Hampshire law guaranteed him the right to
inspect public records during regular business hours at the
premises of the public body, and therefore he had a right
to see any public document upon demand.  The New
Hampshire Supreme Court did not agree.  “[A]n
appointment does not prevent a citizen from inspecting
public records,” but only assures “the ‘smooth and
efficient functioning of the bureaucracy in providing
public information.’” 567 A.2d at 980.  “While ... citizens
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are entitled to inspect public records during business
hours and at business offices, [the statute] does not
indicate that citizens have the unfettered right to review
the records in any quantity and wherever kept
immediately upon demand.” 567 A.2d at 981.  The court
also rejected the citizen’s argument that any restriction on
access to public records was contrary to the purpose of the
statute and the public’s right to know.

[R]equiring citizens to arrange a mutually
convenient time to examine public records
perpetuates the underlying purpose of the statute ...
‘to ensure ... the greatest possible public access to
the actions, discussions, and records of all public
bodies . . . .’ [C]alling ahead to arrange a time to
review particular documents assures citizens that
they will be able to examine the records soon after
they arrive at the office, and that they will not be
told either to wait an indeterminate amount of time
for someone to help them, or to come back later
when the office is not so busy.  Likewise, our
public offices will be able to function more
smoothly and efficiently if the keepers of the
records can plan their days around pre-arranged
appointments, and not be forced to interrupt their
work whenever a citizen “drops by” to inspect a
public record.

567 A.2d at 981-82.
Requiring a written request does not burden a

citizen’s right of reasonable access to public records any
more than the appointment requirement in Brent.  Further,
there is little, if any, additional burden in requiring that
the request be addressed to the public body’s counsel, as
opposed to the custodian of the records.  The News
Journal complains that this can result in unreasonable
delay since Red Clay’s counsel is in Philadelphia.  In this
age of facsimile and computers and law firms with
multiple branch offices, we think this concern is de
minimis.  In any event, referring the records request to
counsel did not result in unreasonable access since the
response from Red Clay’s counsel was made within 48
hours of The News Journal’s request.

B. The Executive Session
1.  Purpose
FOIA requires that “[e]very meeting of all public

bodies shall be open to the public except those closed
pursuant to subsections (b), (c), (d) and (g) of this
section.” 29 Del.C.  Section 10004(a).  Subsection (b)
authorizes a public body to go into executive session for
nine purposes.  One of those purposes is for: “Strategy
sessions, including those involving legal advice or

opinion from an attorney-at-law, with respect to
collective bargaining or pending or potential litigation,
but only when an open meeting would have an adverse
effect on the bargaining or litigation position of the public
body;...... 29 Del. C. Section 10004(b)(4).

Red Clay states that it went into executive session
to meet with its attorneys to discuss a possible lawsuit
over the Montessori School charter.  According to Red
Clay, “the Board was threatened with litigation by
opponents of the [sic] Phil Cloutier [sic], State Legislator,
and others, who vowed to sue Red Clay if it approved a
pending Montessori charter school application.  The
Board therefore called the executive session to evaluate
the potential litigation and to determine Red Clay’s
alternatives to avoid litigation on that issue.  Legal
counsel to the Board was present, and without revealing
the advice rendered, which is attorney-client privileged,
Red Clay was concerned what its alternatives would be in
approving the application, disapproving the application,
or offering a modification which potentially could avoid
litigation.  Alternatively, Red Clay was interested in the
soundness of its litigation position.”

A public body bears the “burden of proving that
its action was justified when the propriety of an executive
session is challenged.” Common Cause of Delaware v.
Red Clay Consolidated School District Board of
Education, Del.  Ch., 1995 WL 733401, at p. 4 (Dec. 5,
1995) (Balick, V.C.) (citing 29 Del.C. Section 10005).
Unlike the Chancery Court in Common Cause, we do not
have the benefit of depositions of School Board members
as to what was discussed at the executive session on June
2, 1997.  We have reviewed the one-page minutes of the
executive session, which indicate that two attorneys for
Red Clay were present at the executive session and that
legal matters were discussed.  Counsel for Red Clay has
confirmed that the executive session on June 2, 1997 was
not tape-recorded.

In Common Cause, Vice Chancellor Balick
observed that “[t]here is a practical reason” to keep more
detailed minutes of executive session in the event there is
litigation and the purpose of the executive session is
challenged. 1995 WL 733401, at p. 4. But FOIA “neither
says that the  subjects discussed must be summarized nor
attempts to define how specific such a summary should
be. Although plaintiffs are undoubtedly correct that a
more detailed contemporaneous record of the subjects
discussed would make it easier to confirm that a public
body has kept within prescribed limits on executive
sessions, I cannot conclude that there is a clearly implied
statutory requirement to summarize the subjects discussed
with any degree of specificity in the minutes of executive
sessions.” 1995 WL 733401, at p. 4.

In Common Cause, there was no dispute that
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litigation (the federal desegregation lawsuit) was
pending.  The issue was whether the subjects discussed in
executive session would have an adverse effect on Red
Clay’s position in that litigation.  FOIA, however, also
authorizes a public body to go into executive session to
receive legal advice from an attorney with respect to
“potential” litigation, if “an open meeting would have an
adverse effect on the bargaining or litigation position of
the public body; . . . .” 29 Del.C. Section 10004(b)(4).

In Common Cause, the Chancery Court found
that an open meeting would have an adverse effect on the
Board’s litigation position in the desegregation case.  “At
the time of the April meeting, Red Clay was seeking the
State Board’s support of the open enrollment plan and was
trying to meet the deadline for filing a motion to modify
the federal court’s decree... The public was intensely
interested and deeply divided on open enrollment and
unitary status.  The issues in question required the Board
to consider proposed changes and arguable problems in
the plan.  The Board could reasonably conclude that open
discussion of those issues would have an adverse effect on
the Board’s pending motion seeking court approval of the
plan.” 1995 WL 733401, at p. 2.

The Montessori School charter was the subject of
extensive coverage in the local media.  See, e.g. The News
Journal, May 19,1997 (“Red Clay Eyes Montessori”);
May 21, 1997 (“Montessori Approval Looks Likely”);
May 22, 1997 (“Red Clay Debates Montessori School”);
May 23, 1997 (“Montessori Approval Raises Money
Issues”).  The article that appeared on May 23 noted that
critics “question whether tuition-based preschool programs
are legal in a charter school,” and that Representative
Philip D. Cloutier (R-Heatherbrooke) was planning “to
ask the state attorney general’s office to rule on the issue.”
In a News Journal article on June 2, 1997, the headline
reported that the Montessori charter “Plan May Break
Delaware Law.” Representative Cloutier was quoted:
“Red Clay is trying to find some means to accomplish
what the statute says they can’t do ... They are desperately
trying to find a way to salvage a good idea, but it just
happens to be illegal.”

At the public meeting on June 2, there was
“overwhelming opposition from about 50 community
residents and staffers who shouted and railed against the
proposal.” The News Journal, June 3, 1997.  The public
was obviously interested and divided on the issue of a
charter school.  Critics claimed that the proposal would
violate state law by charging tuition.  Under these
circumstances, we find that Red Clay could reasonably
conclude that open discussion with its attorneys of the
legal issues surrounding the charter application would
have an adverse effect on the Board’s position in potential
litigation challenging the legality of the charter school.

2.     Minutes of Executive Session
FOIA exempts from disclosure “minutes or

portions thereof, and any public records pertaining to
executive sessions conducted pursuant to this section......”
29 Del.C.  Section 10004(f).  In Chemical Industry
Council Inc. v. State Coastal Zone Industrial Control
Board, Del.  Ch., 1994 WL 274295 (May 19,1994)
(Jacobs, V.C.), the Board invoked this exemption to
withhold tape recordings of an executive session in which
the Board discussed (though not exclusively) potential
litigation.  Vice Chancellor Jacobs emphasized that this
exemption applied only “so long as public disclosure
would defeat the lawful purpose for the executive
session” (quoting Section 10004(f)), and ordered the
Board to produce the tapes after redacting “those portions
that specifically concern the Board’s litigation strategies.”
1994 WL 274295, at p. 13.

In reviewing the minutes of the executive session
on June 2, 1997, we do not find that disclosure “would
defeat the lawful purpose for the executive session” by
revealing any details about Red Clay’s litigation strategy
or the advice received from counsel.  Accordingly, we
direct Red Clay to produce to The News Journal the
minutes of that executive session.

The News Journal also contends that on other
occasions Red Clay has “made improper use of the
litigation exception to hold executive sessions (particularly
as to charter school applications), when no legitimate
threat of litigation exists......” Attached to the complaint
are copies of the notices for meetings on April 16, May 19,
and May 21, 1997, which state that the Board will hold an
executive session concerning “charter school applications”
or “the Montessori charter application.”

Again, we are limited in our ability to know what
was actually discussed at those meetings bcause of the
lack of specificity in the minutes.  Controversy
surrounding charter schools, however, has continued
since the General Assembly enacted the Charter School
Act of 1995. See 1995 Del.
Laws ch. 179 (approved July 10, 1995).  This controversy
was particularly intense in the months leading up to the
approval of the Montessori School charter application by
Red Clay on May 22, 1997.  Accordingly, we find that Red
Clay reasonably invoked the potential litigation exception
for executive session at the April and May meetings.

C.     Procedure For Going Into Executive Session
The public notice of the June 2, 1997 meeting of

tie Red Clay School Board stated that the Board “will meet
on Monday, June 2, 1997 at 3:00 p.m. This meeting, the
executive session, will be held at the administrative
offices building, 1400 Washington Street, Wilmington.
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The public meeting will take place at Warner Elementary
School, 820 West 19th Street, at approximately 4:30 p.m.”

The News Journal contends that “[n]o public
notice was given that the Board intended to convene a
public meeting on June 2, 1997, for the purpose of
conducting a vote on whether to hold an executive
session, as is required under 29 Del.C. Sections 10004(c)
and (e)(2)....” As such, the Notice was drafted in such a
way as to discourage or thwart public attendance at the
Board’s meeting at 3:00 p.m. on June 2, 1997.  The Notice
ftuther reflects the fact that the Board had pre-determined
its intention to hold an executive session at 3:00 p.m. on
June 2, 1997, thereby obviating any utility or significance
of holding a public meeting and vote on the subject.”

Red Clay responds that a quorum of the School
Board “convened in public session at three p.m. and
immediately moved to go into an executive session.  Once
the motion was made and seconded and a vote taken, the
Board went into executive session, where it remained
until the conclusion of that meeting.” As for the notice of
executive session, Red Clay explains that “[t]he Board’s
notices of meetings are worded so as to put the public on
notice that the Board intends to hold an executive session
immediately after the public meeting is convened, so that
the public does not wait outside the doors for an hour,
hour and one-half, or two hours, while the executive
session is completed.  The Board’s notice is required to,
and did, notify the public of its intent to go into an
executive session.”

Section 10004(e)(2) of FOIA requires all public
bodies to give “public notice of their regular meetings and
of their intent to hold an executive session closed to the
public, at least 7 days in advance thereof.  The notice shall
include ... the dates, times and places of such meetings; . .
. .” Section 10004(c) provides that “[t]he vote on the
question of holding an executive session shall take place
at a meeting of the public body which shall be open to the
public, and the results of the vote shall be made public and
shall be recorded in the minutes.”

The News Journal questions whether Red Clay
gave adequate notice of the executive session since the
notice suggested that the public was only invited to a later
meeting of the School Board at a different location.  But
there is no evidence that any member of the public was
denied the right to attend the meeting at 3:00 p.m. to watch
the Board vote in public to go into executive session.

In Att’y Gen. Op. 94-1008 (Feb. 25, 1994), a city
council moved to “adjourn” a public meeting in order to
go into executive session.  This Office found no violation
of the open meeting law because nothing in the complaint
“indicates either explicitly or implicitly that members of
the public were somehow misled by this order of business
into leaving the regular meeting so that the Council could

somehow meet secretly to conduct its business.”
Similarly, we find nothing in The News Journal’s
complaint to show that citizens did not attend the start of
the 3:00 p.m. meeting because they were misled by the
public notice posted for the meeting.

Nevertheless, we see some potential for public
confusion under the format currently used by Red Clay for
giving notice of its meetings, particularly in holding the
executive session at a different location from the portion
of the meeting open to the public.  In the future, Red Clay
should make it clear that a single public meeting open to
the public will be held, and that during the meeting the
Board may vote to go into executive session for a reason
permitted by statute.  Likewise, the notice should be clear
as to the location of the meeting (or parts thereof) so that
citizens can then choose whether to watch the public vote
on going into executive session, or to arrive later at a
different location after the executive session is concluded.

The News Journal asks this Office “for an
opinion that, as a result of the Board’s above detailed
violations of FOIA, all actions taken by the Board (as set
forth herein) are null and void.” At most, the notices for
the June 2 meeting might have technically violated the act.
Under these circumstances, we think it inappropriate to
declare invalid any action taken by Red Clay at the June 2
meeting.

The remedy of invalidation “is a serious sanction
and ought not to be employed unless substantial public
rights have been affected and the circumstances permit
the crafting of a specific remedy that protects other
legitimate public interests.” Ianni v. Department of
Elections of New Castle County, Del. Ch., 1986 WL
9610,at p.7 (Aug.29,1986) (Allen, C.). We do not believe
that “substantial public rights” were impaired as a result
of Red Clay’s form of notice of the executive session on
June 2, 1997.  Following the executive session, there was
considerable discussion and debate in the portion of the
meeting open to the public, and the Board members
unanimously agreed to locate the Montessori School at
Shortlidge Elementary School.  We find the circumstances
similar to those in Beebe Medical Center v. Certificate of
Need Appeals Board, Del.  Super., 1995 WL 465318 (June
30, 1995) (Terry, J.), affd, Del.  Supr., 1996 WL 69799
(Jan. 29, 1996), where the court held: “[T]his is a case
where there was ample input from the applicants and the
public; where there was a full public discussion; and
where any violation of the FOIA was de minimis when
taken in context with the entire process.” 1995 WL
465318, at p. 6.

In any event, the issue of whether to void an
action taken in violation of the open meeting law is now
moot.  As reported in The News Journal on July 17, 1997,
the contract proposal between the Montessori School and
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Red Clay “has fallen apart,” and ... [t1he proposal
approved by the [school] board is now null”’ (quoting
William E. Manning, President of the Red Clay School
Board).

The remedial action we have directed is
prospective only, to address the potential for violating the
notice requirements of FOIA that exists in the form of
notice used by Red Clay for its meetings.  Other public
bodies that use the same or similar form of notice are
cautioned that they could be subject to heightened
scrutiny under FOIA if they do not clarify their notices
along the lines recommended by this Office.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we determine that Red
Clay did not violate the public records requirements of
FOIA by: (1) producing a copy of the amended contract
with the Montessori School after the vote but at the public
meeting on June 2, 1997; (2) requiring that a FOIA request
made on June 3 by telephone be in writing and directed to
Red Clay’s counsel.  We find that the minutes of the
executive session on June 2 are not exempted from
disclosure, and must be produced.

We further find that Red Clay went into executive
session for a purpose authorized by statute: to discuss
potential litigation with its counsel when an open meeting
would have an adverse effect on the Board’s litigation
position.  The notices used by Red Clay to give the public
notice of its meetings, however, are potentially
misleading.  Red Clay is directed to revise its form of
notice in time for its next regularly scheduled meeting to
make it clear that there is a single public meeting at a
single location, during which meeting the Board may vote
to hold an executive session as the first item on the
agenda.  In that way, the public can choose whether to
attend the beginning of the meeting to watch the vote on
going into executive session, to make sure that it complies
with the requirements of FOIA.

W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:

Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB15

August 22, 1997

Mr. David Burke
66 West Fairfield Drive
Dover, DE 19910

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Caesar Rodney School District

Dear Mr. Burke:
By letter dated June 30, 1997 (received by this

Office on July 8, 1997), you alleged that the Caesar
Rodney School District (“the School District’) had
violated the Delaware Freedom of Information Act, 29
Del.  C. Sections 10001-10005 (“FOIA”), by not allowing
you to inspect and copy public records.

By letter dated July 10, 1997, we asked the
School District for their response to your complaint.  By
letter dated July 16, 1997, the School District responded
claiming that FOIA does “not apply to the National Honor
Society.  Thus, the District does not believe that the rights
of Mr. Burke have been violated.”

By letter dated July 23, 1997, our Office posed
additional questions to the School District regarding
funding for the local chapter of the National Honor
Society, and the location of and access to records of the
local chapter.  At the School District’s request, we granted
an extension of time until August 7, 1997 to respond to
those questions.

By letter dated August 7, 1997, the School District
confirmed the following information:

1. The local chapter of the National Honor
Society does not receive any State funds. Like
coaches and sponsors of other extra-curricular
programs, faculty sponsors of the chapter receive
stipends paid by local School District funds,
estimated at $588 for the 1996-97 school year.  In
addition, the School District used $622 in local
funds that year to purchase awards for members of
the local chapter.  All other monies used to support
the local chapter were student-generated ($4,035.45
in the 1996-97 school year).

2. The records of the local chapter are
maintained in the private files of the faculty
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sponsor either at school or at home.  The records
are not maintained in the School District Office, or
in the files of individual students, and the School
District does not have access to those records.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Section 10003(a) of FOIA provides:, “All public
records shall be open to inspection and copying by any
citizen of the State during regular business hours by the
custodian of the records for the appropriate public body.”
29 Del.  C. Section 10003(a).  A “public body” is defined
to include any “association, group, panel, council or other
entity or body established by an act of the General
Assembly of the State, or established by any body
established by the General Assembly of the State, or
appointed by any body or public official of the State or
otherwise empowered by any state governmental entity,
which: (1) Is supported in whole or part by any public
funds; . . . .” Id. Section 10002(a) “Public funds” are
defined as “those funds derived from the State or any
political subdivision of the State.” 29 Del.  C. Section
10002(c).

OPINION

The School District “is unquestionably a public
body.” New Castle County-Vocational Technical
Education Association v. Board of Education of New
Castle County Vocational Technical School District, Del.
Ch., 1978 WL 4637, at p. 2 (Sept. 25, 1978) (Brown,
V.C.). The local chapter of the National Honor Society,
however, is not a “body established by, appointed by,” or
“otherwise empowered by” the School District. 29 Del.  C.
Section 10002(a).  Under the Constitution of the National
Honor Society, local chapters are part of a larger national
organization under the sponsorship and supervision of the
National Association of Secondary School Principals
(NASSP).  Control is vested in the National Council,
which consists of seven members appointed by the Board
of Directors of NASSP.

The local chapter of the National Honor Society
at Caesar Rodney is a purely voluntary organization.  It is
not accountable to the School District, and it does not
implement any School District policy.  Any records
generated by the local chapter are privately maintained by
the faculty sponsors, and are not placed in a student’s file.
According to recommended National Honor Society
practice, working papers are discarded shortly after
induction.

In Becky v. Butte-Silver Bow School District,
Mont. Supr., 906 P.2d 193 (1995), the Montana Supreme
Court held that the state public records act did not apply to

the local chapter of the National Honor Society.  “The
National Honor Society is an honorary organization
sponsored by the National Association of Secondary
School Principals to recognize outstanding high school
students.  It is a nonmandatory organization in which
students are selected for membership by high school
faculty who voluntarily evaluate the students based upon
their academic achievements, leadership abilities,
character, and service to their school.” 4906 P.2d at 194.
Participation by both students and faculty “is voluntary,”
and records of the local chapter “are not maintained by the
school.” Id. Documents relating to the selection process
“are generated by an independent nongovernmental
organization for the purpose of determining membership
in that organization.  The documents do not record an act
or acts of the School District.  They do not contain
information regarding school matters or the duties of
School District Employees.” 906 P.2d at 197.  Accordingly,
the records of the local chapter of the National Honor
Society “contain no information which would make them
‘documents of public bodies,’” as defined by Montana
law.

Although there are some differences between the
public records acts in Montana and Delaware, we find the
similarities more compelling, especially in light of the
overall purpose of the Delaware FOIA.  Access to public
records is intended to give citizens the opportunity “to
monitor the decisions that are made by [public] officials in
formulating and executing public policy.” 29 Del.  C.
Section 10001.  Faculty members, acting voluntarily as
sponsors for the local chapter of the National Honor
Society, are not acting in their capacity as public officials,
nor are they engaged in executing public policy.

While it is true that the School District provides
some funding to the local chapter and allows it to use
school facilities, we do not believe that those facts
transform a self-directed and voluntary organization into
a public body for purposes of FOIA.  See Irwin Memorial
v. American National Red Cross, 640 F.2d 1051 (D.C. Cir.
1981); (Red Cross was not a public agency for purposes of
the federal FOIA, because it was not subject to substantial
federal control and supervision and received minimal
federal funding); Connecticut Humane Society v.
Freedom of Information Commission, Conn.  Super.,
1990 WL 283966 (June 14, 1990) (state freedom of
information law does not apply to the Humane Society).

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we determine that the
School District has not violated the public records
requirements of FOIA.
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Very truly yours,

W. Michael
Deputy Attorney General
APPROVED

Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB16

August 25, 1997

Carol Ellis, Director
Division of Professional Regulation
Cannon Building, Suite 203
P.O. Box 1401
Dover, Delaware 19903

Re:     Twenty-four Del.C. § 3520

Dear Ms. Ellis:
You requested our opinion of whether 24 Del. C.

§ 3520 is a criminal statute enforceable only through
criminal prosecution by this Office or whether it may be
enforced by the Board of Examiners of Psychologists.
You have further asked, if our answer is that it is a
criminal statute which may only be enforced by criminal
prosection through this office, whether the Board contact
acts merely in an advisory capacity or whether the Board
must approve the decision of the Deputy Attorney General
to proceed against the unlicensed person or not.  For the
reasons stated below, we conclude that 24 Del. C. § 3520
is a criminal statute, the prosecution of which is within the
constitutional and statutory authority and responsibility
of the Attorney General and, although the input of the
professionals on the Board may be helpful in advising the
Attorney General regarding professional issues, the
decision of whether to prosecute the matter or not is to be
determined solely by the Attorney General.

Twenty-four Del. C. § 3520 provides:

“A person not currently licensed as a psychologist,
or registered as a psychological assistant, under
this chapter, when guilty of engaging in the
practice of psychology, or of acting as psychological
assistant or using in connection with the

practitioner’s own name, or otherwise assuming or
using any title or description conveying, or tending
to convey the impression that the practitioner is
qualified to practice psychology, or to act as a
psychological assistant, such offender shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor.  Upon the first offense,
the practitioner shall be fined not less than $500 no
more than $1,000 for each offense; and in addition,
may be imprisoned for not more than one year.  For
a second or subsequent conviction, the fine shall be
not less than $1,000 nor more than $2,000 for each
offense.  Superior Court shall have jurisdiction
over all violations of this chapter.”

This section. clearly states that the offense shall
constitute a “misdemeanor.” Misdemeanors are
classifications of crimes and are defined in the Delaware
Criminal Code at I I Del.  C. § 4202 as either Class A
misdemeanors, Class B misdemeanors, or unclassified
misdemeanors.  Subsection (b) of that section specifically
states “Any offense defined by statute which is not
specifically designated a felony, a Class A misdemeanor,
Class B misdemeanor or a violation shall be an
unclassified misdemeanor.” Therefore, 24 Del.  C. § 3520
is an unclassified misdemeanor defining a criminal
offense.  Pursuant to 29 Del.  C. § 2504(6) the Attorney
General has charge of all criminal proceedings.  The
question of whether a criminal charge will be brought is
solely within the authority and responsibility of the
Attorney General.  Having said this, it is often useful for
the Attorney General to have the advice of the
professional board that is charged with regulating the
profession.  However, the ultimate decision whether a
charge should be brought, subject to the requirement for
an indictment, rests with the Attorney General.

Should you have any questions, please do not
hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,
Malcolm S. Cobin
Assistant State Solicitor

Approved:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor
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August 28, 1997

Jeffrey M. Weiner, Esquire
1332 King Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
City of New Castle

Dear Mr. Weiner:
By letter dated July 21, 1997, you alleged, on

behalf of Wilmington Fraternal Order of Police Lodge # 1,
that the Council of the City of New Castle (“the City’) had
violated the open meeting requirements of the Delaware
Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del. C. Sections 10001-
10005 (-FOIA-), by holding meetings without giving
notice to the public.

By letter dated July 31, 1997, we asked the City to
respond to your complaint.  By letter dated August 6, 1997
(received by this Office on August 1 1), the City
responded, enclosing copies of the notices of seven
meetings held in July and August, 1997.  The City denies
that these were meetings of the City Council, but rather
were meetings of the City’s Public Safety Review
Committee, only one of whose three members is also a
member of the Council.

By letter dated August 14, 1997, you clarified
your allegations of FOIA violations by the City.  You
allege that the City failed to give notice of a meeting of the
Public Safety Review Committee on July 17, 1997
(although you do not contend that the City failed to give
notice of other meetings that same week) to interview
police officers.  You also allege that “the Notices posted
by City Council did not set forth any agenda nor specific
issues to be addressed.”

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

FOIA requires that “[a]ll public bodies shall give
public notice of their regular meetings and of their intent
to hold an executive session closed to the public, at least 7
days in advance thereof.  The notice shall include the
agenda, if such has been determined at the time, and the
dates, times and place of such meetings; 29 Del.  C.
Section 10004(e)(2).  FOIA, however, provides that “the
agenda shall be subject to change to include additional
items arising at executive sessions of the deletion of items
including executive sessions which arise at the time of the

public body’s meeting.” Id.
FOIA defines “agenda” to “include but is not

limited to a general statement of the major issues expected
to be discussed at a public meeting, as well as a statement
of intent to hold an executive session and the specific
ground or grounds therefor under subsection (b) of
Section 10004 if this title.” 29 Del. C. Section 10002(f).

FOIA defines a “public body” to include, among
other things, any “committee” established by “any body
established by the General Assembly of the State” or
“appointed by any body.”

OPINION

The City does not dispute that the Public Safety
Review Committee is a “public body” for purposes of the
open meeting requirements of FOIA.

On July 9, 1997, the City posted notices stating
that the “New Castle City Public Safety Review
Committee will meet at the following times, with
members of the City Public Safety Department and will be
followed by an Executive Session pursuant to Section
10004(b)(9) unless the respective Officer requests that
(his/her) interview be open to the public as provided in
Section 1004)(b)(9).” The notice listed various times for
these meetings on July 14, 15, 16, and 18, 1997.

With respect to the meetings on July 14 and 15,
the City did not give notice at least seven days in advance
as required by FOIA.  Although FOIA permits notice of a
special or rescheduled meeting to be posted 24 hours prior
to the meeting, see 29 Del. C. Section 10004(e)(3), there is
nothing in the City’s response to the complaint indicating
that the meetings scheduled for the week of July 14 were
a special or rescheduled meeting, that is, “one to be held
less than 7 days after the scheduling decision is made.” Id.

Furthermore, the notices for all the meetings
scheduled for the week of July 14 do not contain the
required agenda.  Although FOIA allows a public body to
add or delete items from the posted agenda if they arise at
the public meeting, the Public Safety Review Committee
knew in advance the matters that would be discussed in its
meetings scheduled for the week of July 14.

In Ianni v. Department of Elections of New
Castle County, Del.  Ch., 1986 WL 9610 (Aug. 29, 1986)
(Allen, C.), the county posted a one-page notice stating
that the Department of Elections would meet to consider
the “primary election.” At the meeting, the Department
voted to open fewer polling stations in New Castle County
in the primary elections.  Chancellor Allen held that the
notice of the agenda was insufficient “to alert the public to
the fact that the (Department] would consider and act
upon a proposal to consolidate election districts for the
purpose of the primary election.  While the statute
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requires only a ‘general statement’ of the subject to be
addressed by the public body, when an agency knows that
an important specific aspect of a general subject is to be
dealt with, it satisfies neither the spirit nor the letter of the
Freedom of Information Act to state the subject in such
broad generalities as to fail to draw the public’s attention
to the fact that specific important subject will be treated.
In this instance, all that would have been required to
satisfy this element of the statute would have been a
statement that ‘election district consolidation’ or
‘location of polling places’ was to be treated.” 1986 WL
9610, at p. 5.

The City suggests that the agenda for the
meetings noticed for the week of July 14, 1997 is implicit
in the notice since Public Safety Review Committee
oversees police matters and the notice stated that the
Committee would go into executive session pursuant to
Section 10004(b)(9) of FOIA (the exception to discuss
personnel matters).  This Office, however, has previously
determined that merely giving notice that a specific
committee of a public body will meet does not satisfy the
agenda requirement of FOIA because that does not
sufficiently alert the public as to the major issues expected
to be discussed at a public meeting.  See Att’y Gen.  Op.
97-IB13 (June 2, 1997).

In your letter dated August 14, 1997, you also
allege that the meeting noticed for July 16, 1997 was in
fact held on July 17, so that the City failed to give any
notice to the public of the meeting on July 17.  From your
letter, it appears that there was a last-minute scheduling
conflict with one of the police interviews, which was re-
scheduled for the convenience of the parties.  Although a
technical violation of FOIA, we do not find that it requires
any remediation.  Police interviews were ongoing all
week, and any member of the public who was attending
could have easily ascertained the schedule change.  The
affected police officers obviously were aware of the
change.

We also find that the failure to post notice seven
days in advance of the meetings on July 14 and July 15
was a technical violation of FOIA that does not warrant
the remedy of re-noticing the meetings held on those
dates.  While we do not condone any deviation from the
letter of the law, there is no evidence that the City acted in
bad faith, or that any member of the public who wished to
attend the meetings of those dates was deprived of the
opportunity because he or she did not have timely notice.

The lack of any agenda in the notices is more
troubling.  We find that the City violated the notice
requirements of FOIA by not including a general
statement of the major issues to be discussed at the
meetings the week of July 14 sufficient to alert the public
as to matters of public concern.  We do not believe,

however, that remediation is necessary, especially since
the public would not have been able to observe most of the
meetings held the week on July 14 while the Public Safety
Review Committee was in executive session.  Moreover,
there is no evidence to suggest that the City Council took
any action based on the interviews of police officers the
week of July 14.  To require the Public Safety Review
Committee to re-notice its meetings and interview again
the same police officers would not serve to further the
purposes of FOIA.

We caution the City, however, that in the future it
must comply with all requirements of the open meeting
law.  Specifically, the City must give notice at least seven
days in advance of meetings of the City Council or any of
its committees, unless FOIA authorizes a shorter time.  In
addition, the City must include in all notices of public
meetings an agenda that will include a general statement
of the major issues expected to be discussed at the
meeting.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we determine that the
City violated the open meeting requirements of FOIA by:
(1) failing to give the public notice at least seven days in
advance of the July 14 and July 15, 1997 meetings of the
Public Safety Review Committee; and (2) failing to
include an agenda in the notices of the meetings for July
14, 15, 16, and 18, 1997.  The City is directed to strictly
comply with the notice requirements of FOIA in the
future.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman

APPROVED:
Michiel J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB18

September 2, 1997

Mr. Handley J. Orr
Chief of Police
Bridgeville Police Department
302 Market Street
Bridgeville, DE 19933
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RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Town of Bridgeville

Dear Mr. Orr:
By letter dated July 15, 1997 (received by this

Office on July 17, 1997), you alleged that the Town of
Bridgeville (“the Town”) had violated the Delaware
Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.  C. Sections 10001-
10005 (“FOIA”), by not posting notice of a meeting on
June 30, 1997 at least seven days prior to the meeting.

By letter dated July 28, 1997, we asked the Town
for its response to your complaint By letter dated August
7, 1997, the Town’s attorney responded claiming that
FOIA only required 24 hours’ notice for the meeting on
June 30.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Section 10004(e)(2) of FOIA provides that “[a]ll
public bodies shall give public notice of their regular
meetings and of their intent to hold an executive session
closed to the public, at least 7 days in advance.” 29 Del.C.
Section 10004(e)(2).

For a “special or rescheduled meeting,” however,
FOIA only requires that the public body give notice “as
soon as reasonably possible, but in any event no later than
24 hours before such meeting.  A special or rescheduled
meeting shall be defined as one to be held less than 7 days
after the scheduling decision is made.  The public notice
of a special or rescheduled meeting shall include an
explanation as to why the notice required by paragraph (1)
of this subsection [seven days] could not be given.” 29
Del.  C. Section 10004(e)(3).

OPINION

By letter dated June 25, 1997, Chief Orr wrote to
Charles R. Singman, Town Commissioner, in response to
a letter dated June 18, 1997 from Mr. Singman.  Chief Orr
alleged in his letter that the Town had “violated the
policeman’s bill of rights,” and stated that he was going to
“contact Attorney General M. Jane Brady to conduct a
proper investigation.” Chief Orr copied his letter to,
among others, Attorney General Brady.

According to the Town’s attorney, Chief Orr’s
letter prompted the Town to hold a special meeting on
June 30, 1997.  Notice of the special meeting and the
agenda were posted on June 27, 1997 at approximately
3:45 p.m. at the Town Hall and the Bridgeville Library.
The agenda stated that the Town Commissioners would go
into executive session to discuss a “personnel” matter.
The minutes of the special meeting state that the
Commissioners “held an executive session on police

department personnel and a letter [Commissioner
Singman] received June 25, 1997.” After the executive
session, the Commissioners voted to direct the Town
Attorney “to write a letter to the Attorney General of the
State of Delaware requesting any investigation the Chief
of Police may request of her.”

The only FOIA issue raised in your complaint is
the timeliness of the posting of the notice of the June 30,
1997 meeting.  For purposes of the notice provisions of
FOIA, this was a “special” meeting since it was held “less
than 7 days after the scheduling decision was made.” 29
Del. C. Section 10004(e)(3).  The decision to schedule the
meeting was made after Mr. Singinan received Chief
Orr’s letter dated June 25, 1997, and the meeting was held
five days later.

In its response to your complaint, the Town
suggests that the meeting on June 30, 1997 was an
“emergency” meeting for which notice is not required.
See 29 Del.  C. Section 10004(e)(1) (“This subsection
concerning notice of meetings shall not apply to any
emergency meeting which is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health or safety.”). We
do not believe that the circumstances surrounding the
dispute between Mr. Singman and Chief Orr so threatened
the public peace, health or safety as to obviate the notice
requirements of FOIA. Compare Markowski v. City of
Marlin, Tex.  App., 940 S.W.2d 724 (1997) (emergency
meeting to meet with the city’s attorney to discuss lawsuit
filed by the fire chief who had been suspended without
pay the day before).

Section 10004(e)(3) requires that the notice of a
special meeting “shall include an explanation as to why
the notice required by paragraph (1) of this subsection
[seven days’ notice] could not be given.” ‘The notice of
the special meeting posted by the Town on June 27, 1997
did not provide such an explanation.

In Att’y Gen.  Op., 94-1037 (July 26, 1994), a
school district posted notice of a special meeting to
discuss student assignments five days prior to the
meeting.  This Office found that the notice failed “to
provide any explanation whatsoever concerning the
reason why the normal seven day notice could not be
given.” We determined “that the District failed to comply
with the provisions of the Act concerning the required
contents of a public notice announcing a special meeting.”
As a remedy, this Office asked the school district to re-
notice its special meeting and “explain to the public its
intention to formally ratify its previous action.”

Accordingly, we find that the Town violated
FOIA by failing to explain in the notice of the June 30,
1997 special meeting why seven-days’ notice could not be
given.  Under the circumstances, however, we do not
believe that any remedial action is necessary in order to
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accomplish the purposes of FOIA.

The principal purpose of the June 30, 1997
special meeting was to meet in executive session to
discuss the dispute with the Police Chief.  As a result of
that meeting, the Town Attorney wrote a letter dated July
3, 1997 to the Attorney General stating: “I have been
asked by the Commissioners of Bridgeville to inform you
that they met on Monday morning in Executive Session,
reviewed [Chief Orr’s June 25] letter, and have directed
me to write to you confirming that they likewise seek to
have an investigation conducted by your office.”

After an exchange of correspondence seeking
further factual information, Eugene M. Hall, the Director
of the Fraud and Consumer Protection Division of the
Delaware Department of Justice, wrote a letter dated July
24, 1997 to the Town’s attorney.  Mr. Hall observed that
although the Attorney General had been copied on Chief
Orr’s June 25 letter, “Chief Orr never sent a letter of
complaint to the Attorney General.  Based upon your
letter, there is apparently nothing for the Department of
Justice to investigate, and the Department of Justice is
closing its interest in this matter.  Hopefully, the
underlying conflict has been or will be resolved.”

Under these circumstances, it would serve not
serve any purpose to require the Town to re-notice its
special meeting to consider whether to ask for an
investigation by the Attorney General’s Office because
this Office has already decided not to investigate.  The
FOIA issue, as it relates to the notice of the executive
session, is now moot.  The Town is cautioned that in the
future there must be an appropriate explanation in the
notice of any special or rescheduled meeting explaining
why the normal seven-days’ notice could not be given.
See, eg., Att’y.  Gen.  Op. 97IB02 (Feb. 12, 1997) (“it is
our opinion that it is a sufficient explanation to state that
an earlier notice was not possible because legal opinions
had not been obtained from the City Solicitor and the
Attorney General prior to the posting of the notice”).

More troubling is the fact that at the special
meeting on June 30, 1997 the Town discussed several
items of new business.  Specifically, the Commissioners
discussed: (1) the EDU’s for Gateway Plaza; and (2) a
clause in the Town Code pertaining to a tax exemption for
new business.  Although we can appreciate that the Town
was trying to use the time already scheduled for the police
personnel matter to take up other business, there does not
appear to be any reason why these new items of business
could not have been discussed at a regularly-scheduled
meeting with the normal seven-days’ notice.  We believe
that it is the better practice, consistent with the purposes of
FOIA, to limit the discussion at an emergency or special
meeting of a public body solely to those issues which
justify deviating from the seven-day notice rule.

In order to remediate this violation of FOIA, we
direct the Town to re-notice for a regularly scheduled
meeting the non-personnel matters that were discussed on
June 30, 1997 to allow the public the opportunity to have
input on those matters and to ratify the previous
discussion of those matters by the Town Commissioners.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we determine. that the
Town violated the notice requirements of FOIA in posting
the notice of the special meeting on June 30, 1997 three
days before the meeting without explaining in the notice
the reason why it could not have been posted sooner.
Since the action taken by the Town Commissioners during
the executive session portion of that meeting is now moot,
no remediation is,necessary.  We direct the Town,
however, to re-notice and ratify the non-personnel matters
discussed at the meeting on June 30, 1997.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman

Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB19

October 20, 1997

Mr. Gregory S. Layton
Milford Chronicle
P.O. Box 297
Milford, DE 19963

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Milford City Council

Dear Mr. Layton:
In your letter dated September 5, 1997 (received

by this Office on September 8) you alleged that the
Milford City Council (“the Council”) had violated the
Delaware Freedom of Information Act, 29 Dd.  C Sections
10001-10005 (“FOIA”), in connection with two meetings
on August 11 and 21, 1997.  Specifically, you allege that
the agenda posted for those meetings did not indicate that
the Council might go into executive session and the
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reason(s) therefor, and that the Council did not vote in
public to go into executive session.  Your letter also
suggests that the Council may have gone into executive
session for a purpose other than authorized by law.

By letter dated September 9, 1997, we asked
the.Council to respond to your complaint.  By letter dated
September 26, 1997 (received by this Office on
September 29), the Council responded through its
attorney, admitting “that the executive sessions were not
held in full compliance with the Act.” He further stated:
“No votes were taken at the executive sessions.  The City
regrets any inconvenience and concern caused to the
public and the press and intends to proceed in full
compliance with [FOIA] at all future meetings.”

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

FOIA requires that “[a]ll public bodies shall give
public notice of their regular meetings and of their intent
to hold an executive session closed to the public, at least 7
days in advance thereof.” 29 Dd.  C. Section 10004(e)(2).
The agenda must include not only “a general statement of
the major issues to be discussed at a public meeting,” but
also “a statement of intent to hold an executive session
and the specific ground or grounds therefor under
subsection (b) of Section 10004 of this title.” 29 D&I. -C.
Section 10002(f).  Section 10004(b) sets forth nine
authorized grounds for a public body to go into executive
session.

In order to go into executive session, there must
be an “affirmative vote of a majority of members present
at a meeting of the public body.  The vote on the question
of holding an executive session shall take place at a
meeting of the public body which shall be open to the
public, and the results of the vote shall be made public and
shall be recorded in the minutes.” 29 D-d.  C. Section
10004(c).

OPINION

Under FOIA, “to convene in executive session,
the public body must satisfy several requirements”: (1)
publicly announce the purpose of the closed meetings in
advance; (2) approve holding such a session by a majority
vote; (3) limit the agenda of the closed session to public
business that falls within one of the purposes allowed for
such meetings; and (4) prepare minutes of any closed
session.  Leyy v. Board d Education of Cape Henlopen
School District, Del.  Ch. 1990 WL 154147, at p.3 (Oct. 1,
1990) (Chandler, V.C.).

The Council does not dispute that it failed to
comply with any of these requirements with respect to the
meetings held on August 1 1 and 21, 1997.  In particular,

the agenda stated only that there would be a “Special
Meeting - Perdue/David Bates,” but did not inform the
public that the Council intended to go into executive
session.  The Council did not vote in public to go into
executive session, nor were minutes of the executive
session maintained.  Because of these violations of FOIA,
any action taken by the Council at those meetings is
voidable.  See 29 Del.C. Section 10005(a).

To remedy these violations of FOIA, we direct
the Council to re-notice the matters that were the subject
of discussion at those two meetings for another meeting
open to the public.  This should be done in strict
compliance with the requirements of FOIA, both with
respect to the specifics of public notice, and the mechanics
of going into executive session.  A majority of the Council
must vote in public to go into executive session.
Additionally, the purpose for which the Council goes into
executive session must be one permitted under FOIA.
After the Council votes to go into executive session, the
public may be excused, but the public may return after the
executive session is over to observe any further
proceedings of the Council which are not within a
statutory exception for executive session.  The Council is
reminded it must also prepare minutes of the executive
session so that, if necessary, it can be ascertained at a later
date whether the Council stayed within the confines of the
subject(s) authorized by FOIA for executive session.

The Council is cautioned that it must strictly
comply with the requirements of the open meeting laws in
the future.  A lack of knowledge of the requirements of the
law will not suffice to defend against a complaint of
failure to comply with FOIA.  If the Council is unsure
about any particular legal requirement, it “can have its
attorney on hand to advise it.” Levy, 1990 WL 154147, at
p. 9.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we determine. that the
Council violated the open requirements of FOIA in the
notice and conduct of the meetings on August 1 1 and 21,
1997.  The Council is directed to hold those meetings
anew in full compliance with FOIA, and to strictly comply
with the requirements of FOIA in the future.

Yours very truly,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor
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October 20, 1997

Mr. N. Dean Dey
59 Edgewater Drive
Lewes, DE 19958

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Cape Henlopen School District

Dear Mr. Dey:
On September 15, 1997, we received your letter

alleging that the Cape Henlopen School District (the
“School District”) had violated the Delaware Freedom of
Information Act, 29 D&I.  C. Sections 10001-10005
(“FOIA”), by holding a meeting on September 11, 1997
without giving proper notice to the public.  Specifically,
you allege that the agenda posted did not disclose that the
School District might vote at that meeting to spend public
monies for new locally-funded teaching positions.

By letter dated September 16, 1997, we asked the
School District to respond to your complaint.  By letter
dated September 23, 1997 (received by this Office on
September 24), the School District responded, enclosing
copies of the agenda for the meeting and the written
minutes.  The School District denies that it violated FOIA
since the act provides that an agenda shall be subject to
change, and a public body can add items to the agenda that
arise during a meeting.  According to the School District,
“[T]he issue of whether the Board should hire additional
teachers to reduce class size arose at the meeting” on
September 11, 1997.  The discussion started with
concerns about class size.  The issue then arose about
adding teachers to reduce class sizes.  “At that point, the
public discussion continued ultimately resulting in the
adoption of a motion to hire locally funded teachers.”

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

FOIA requires that “[a]ll public bodies shall give
public notice of their regular meetings and of their intent
to hold an executive session closed to the public, at least 7
days in advance thereof.  The notice shall include the
agenda, if such has been determined at the time, and the
dates, times and place of such meetings; 29 D&J. -C.
Section 10004(e)(2).  FOIA, however, provides that “the
agenda shall be subject to change to include additional
items including executive sessions or the deletion of items
including executive sessions which arise at the time of the

public body’s meeting.” Id.
FOIA defines “agenda” to “include but is not

limited to a general statement of the major issues expected
to be discussed at a public meeting, as well as a statement
of intent to hold an executive session and the specific
ground or grounds therefor under subsection (b) of
Section 10004 if this title.” 29 D&J. -C.  Section 10002(f).

OPINION

In Ianni v. Department of Elections of New
Castle County, Del.  Ch., C.A. No. 8590, 1986 VYL 9610
(Aug. 29, 1986) (Allen, C.), the county posted a one-page
notice stating that the Department of Elections would
meet to consider the “primary election.” At the meeting,
the Department voted to open fewer polling stations in
New Castle County in the primary elections.  Chancellor
Allen held that the notice of-the agenda was insufficient
“to alert the public to the fact that the [Department] would
consider and act upon a proposal to consolidate election
districts for the purpose of the primary election.  While the
statute requires only a ‘general statement’ of the subject to
be addressed by the public body, when an agency knows
that an important specific aspect of a general subject is to
be dealt with, it satisfies neither the spirit nor the letter of
the Freedom of Information Act to state the subject in such
broad generalities as to fail to draw the public’s attention
to the fact that specific important subject will be treated.
In this instance, all that would have been required to
satisfy this element of the statute would have been a
statement that ‘election district consolidation’ or
‘location of polling places’ was to be treated.” Ianni, 1986
WL 9610, at p. 5.

The School District suggests that the issue of
using local monies to fund new teaching positions was
within the agenda item, “Class Sizes and Enrollment. “We
do not think that this general item satisfies the Ianni test by
alerting the public that a significant amount of public
monies might be spent on new teachers.  The issue, then,
is whether the School Board could add this new item to the
agenda after the start of the meeting on September 11,
1997.

As this Office has previously determined, “FOIA
does not limit the ability to.make changes to the agenda to
cases where the agenda specifically states that it is subject
to change.” Att’y Gen.  Op. 95-EB35 (Nov. 2, 1995).  A
public body has discretion to determine the agenda for any
public meeting and to make additions, corrections or
deletions, if necessary, at the next regularly scheduled
meeting when the minutes are adopted. See Att’y Gen,
Op- 94-1023 (June 21, 1994).

If a public body knows that an item of public
interest will be addressed at a meeting, then it cannot
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claim, in good faith, that the issue arose at the time of the
public body’s meeting in order to circumvent the notice
requirements of FOIA.  On the other hand, discussion of
noticed items can often segue into related public issues,
and FOIA provides flexibility to address that situation.

As the School District explains, the discussion at
the September 11, 1997 meeting about class sizes and
enrollment continued “so that numbers could be discussed
in relation to this issue.  At that point, the public
discussion continued ultimately resulting in the adoption
of a motion to hire locally funded teachers” in order to
reduce class size.

An agenda serves the important function of
notifying the public of the matters which will be discussed
and possibly voted on at a meeting, so that members of the
public can decide whether to attend the meeting and voice
their ideas or concerns.  It is not always possible, however,
to anticipate every permutation of every issue contemplated
for discussion, and FOIA permits a public body to add
items to the agenda if they arise at the meeting and are
reasonably related to items that were noticed in the
agenda.  At some point, the issues may so far depart from
the issues noticed on the agenda that they are better
reserved for the next meeting of the public body so that the
public will have adequate notice.

The meeting on September 11, 1997 was attended
by a number of parents and teachers, including the
complainant, who voiced his objection to the decision to
use local monies to fund new teaching positions.  We do
not find that the public was misled by the agenda for the
September 11, 1997 meeting or that any interested person
did not attend because he was not fully aware what might
be discussed.  Furthermore, we find that the discussion of
class sizes and enrollment naturally evolved into a
discussion of whether more teachers might be necessary
and, if so, how to fund their salaries.  The School Board
added the funding issue to the agenda during the course of
the meeting, consistent with Section 10004(e)(2) of
FOIA.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we determine that the
School District did not violate the public notice and
agenda requirements of FOIA in connection with the
September 11, 1997 meeting.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman, Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:
Michael J. Rich, State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB21

October 28, 1997

Mr. William G. Burke, Sr.
Administrative Director
W. Howard G. Sholl, Jr.
Deputy Administrative Director
Department of Elections for New Castle County
820 N. French Street

Wilmington, DE 19801

Re:       Mailing of Absentee Ballots

Dear Gentlemen:

Fifteen Del. C. § 5505 provides that the
Department of Elections shall mail an absentee ballot to
an elector and that such mailing shall be made “not more
than. 60 nor less than 3 days prior to a general or special
election.” The Department of Elections asks whether the
election day is counted as the third day for purposes of this
statute.  By way of example, the Department asks whether,
where election day is Saturday, the Department must mail
absentee ballots through the previous Wednesday.  We
answer this inquiry in the affirmative.  Using the example
of the Department of Elections, we conclude that the
Department must mail absentee ballots through the close
of business on Wednesday for a Saturday election.

There are no cases directly on point on this issue
in Delaware and case law from other jurisdictions is not
strictly consistent.  However, the majority view is th at the
general rule for the computation of time applies, unless
there is evidence of contrary legislative intent.  Under the
general rule, the first day of the time period in question is
excluded and the day on which an act is to be performed is
included.  The words “at least,” “not less than,” and “prior
to” are most commonly found not to evidence a legislative
intent to alter the general rule for the computation of time.
Barron v. Green N. J. Super., 80 A.2d 586, 587 (1951) (“at
least 40 days prior to any other municipal election”); State
v. Appling,  Or.  Supr., 355 P.2d 760, 761 (1960) (“not less
than 70 days before the * * * general election!’); Harris v.
Latta, N.C. Supr., 259 S. E. 2d 239, 240 (1975) (“at least
sixty (60) days prior to March 5, 1976").  To the contrary
is State v. Beermann, Neb.  Supr., 523 N.W. 2d 518, 522
(1994), which held that the words “prior to” require the
exclusion of the terminal date.



1471

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 1, ISSUE 9, SUNDAY, MARCH 1, 1998

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINIONS
While we acknowledge the Nebraska case, we

believe that the law in Delaware is the majority view,
which would count the day of the election as the third day
prior to the election.

The operative words of 15 DeL C § 5505 are
“prior to.” No Delaware court has interpreted exactly
those words.  However, the Delaware Supreme Court has
ruled that the words “at least” within a statute that reads
“at least fifteen days notice” do not change the general
rule that the first day should be excluded but the day on
which the act to be done should be included.  Santow v.
Ullman, Del.  Supr., 166 A.2d 135, 137-138 (1960).  In
reaching this decision, the Supreme Court of Delaware
relied upon decisions from New Jersey that ruled that the
words “at least forty days prior to” (emphasis added) do
not change the ordinary rule for the computation of time.
Li. at 138, citing Barron v. Green, N.J. Super., 80 A.2d
586 (195 1).  In reaching our conclusion that the date of
the election is counted as the third day for the computation
of time for purposes of 15 DeL C. § 5505, we rely upon
other principles of law, as well.

In past elections, the Department of Elections for
New Castle County has consistently.. counted election
day as the third day for purposes of 15 DeL C. § 5505.  The
other county Departments of Elections have as well: Our
conclusion that this is the correct interpretation of Section
5505 both continues the past administrative practice and
promotes consistency among election procedures.
Moreover, when the minor administrative burden of
mailing absentee ballots for an additional day is weighed
against the fiindamental right to vote, we believe that the
scales tip heavily in favor of our conclusion that the
election day itself is the third day for purposes of 15 DeL
C § 5505.

We trust that this resolves all of the issues raised
by the Departments opinion request.  Please do not
hesitate to contact us if we can be of further assistance.

Very truly yours,
Malcolm S. Cobin
Assistant State Solicitor

A. Ann Woolfolk
Deputy Attorney General

Approved:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB22

November 24, 1997

Jeffrey M. Weiner, Esquire
1332 King Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
City of Wilmington

Dear Mr. Weiner:
This letter is our written determination in

response to your complaint alleging that the City of
Wilmington (the “City”) violated the Freedom of
Information Act, 29 Del.C. Sections 1000110005
(“FOIA”).

Your letter of complaint dated October 4, 1997
was received by this Office on October 8, 1997.  By letter
dated October 9, 1997, we asked for the City’s response
within ten days to your allegations that the City had
violated the open meeting requirements of FOIA.  By
letter dated October 17, 1997, the City asked for a five-
day extension of time, which we granted.

In your letter, you alleged that the City had
violated FOIA in two ways: first, by holding meetings of
the Residency Review Board without notice to the public;
and second, by failing to maintain minutess of those
meetings.

By letter dated October 24, 1997, we received a
response from the City Solicitor.  By letter dated October
28, 1997, we asked the City for additional information and
documents relating to the FOIA complaint.  By letter
dated October 3 0, 1997, the City provided us with that
information.  The City confirmed that the first meeting of
the Residency Review Board was held on December 23,
1996.  The City also stated “that public notice of the
meetings and agenda were not posted for the five meetings
of the Board.”

Summary of the Law

Section 10004 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code
provides that “[e]very meeting of all public bodies shall
be open to the public” except as authorized by statute for
executive session.  A “public body” is defined to include
any “board, commission, department, agency, committee,
ad hoc committee, special committee, temporary
committee, advisory board and committee, [or]
subcommittee” appointed by any body which is
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“impliedly or specifically charged” by another public
body “to advise or to make reports, investigations or
recommendations.” 29 Del.C. Section 10002(a).

Section 10004(e)(2) provides: “All public bodies
shall give public notice of their regular meetings and of
their intent to hold an executive session closed to the
public, at least 7 days in advance thereof.  The notice shall
include the agenda, if such has been determined at the
time, and the dates, times and places of such meetings; . .
. .” Section 10004(e)(4) requires that notice “shall
include, but not be limited to, conspicuous posting of said
notice at the principal place of the public body holding the
meeting...”.

Section 10004(t) requires every public body to
“maintain minutes of all meetings, including executive
sessions, conducted pursuant to this section, and shall
make such minutes available for public inspection and
copying as a public record.  Such minutes shall include a
record of those members present and a record, by
individual members (except where the public body is a
town assembly where all citizens are entitled to vote), of
each vote taken and action agreed upon.”

The City does not dispute that the Residency
Review Board is a “public body” for purposes of FOIA.
The Board was appointed by a public body (the City
Council) to oversee the administration and enforcement
of the law requiring City employees to be Wilmington
residents.

Discussion and Findings

On March 2, 1995, the City Council enacted an
ordinance to amend Chapter 2 of the City Code of 1993 to
create a Residency Review Board “to review any matters
of residency requirement administration and enforcement
that may arise.” The Residency Review Board consists of
the City Solicitor, the Director of Personnel, and
Administrative Assistant to the Mayor, and two residents
of the City “who shall not be City employees, who shall be
qualified electors of the City and who shall be appointed
by the Mayor” and “confirmed by resolution approved by
sa majority of all
members of Council.”

The City Council did not approve the
appointments of all of the members of the Residency
Review Board until August 15, 1996.  The Board held its
first meeting on December 23, 1996.  Subsequent
meetings were held on January 14, March 6, May 13, and
September 9, 1997.

In its response to your FOIA complaint, the City
provided us with copies of the minutes for those five
meetings of the Residency Review Board.  Your concern
that the City violated FOIA by failing “to maintain

minutes of all meetings” therefore is unfounded.
The City has confirmed “that public notice of the

meetings and agenda were not posted for the five meetings
and notified Board members.” The City contends,
however, that “regarding the five meetings in question, no
policies and procedures were adopted, and no individual
case was discussed or decided.  Therefore, while there
may have been an unintentional failure to provide public
notice in the past, to date no formal action has been taken
by the Board.”

The Chancery Court has rejected the notion that
the open meetings requirements of FOIA apply only “to
meetings where ‘formal action’ was taken.  Our law is not
so limited.  Rather it applies to meetings called to discuss
public business as well as to meetings called to take action
on public business.” The News-Joumal Co. v. McLaupMin,
Del.  Ch., 377 A.2d 358, 362 (1977) (Brown, V.C.). This
is because the purpose of the “sunshine laws is to prevent
at nonpublic meetings the crystallization of secret
decisions to a point just short of ceremonial acceptance,
that rarely could there be any purpose to a nonpublic pre-
meeting conference except to conduct some part of the
decisional process behind closed doors, and that a
sunshine statute, being for the benefit of the public,
should be construed so as to frustrate all such evasive
devices.” Id.

Clearly, the Residency Review Board discussed
matters of public business at its five meetings.  Among
other things, the Board discussed: the legal definition of
“residency”; the need for more vigorous enforcement;
cur-rent problem situations; the criteria for determining
whether a City employee is a resident; procedures for
determining the residency of current and new City
employees; and actual steps to enforce the residency
requirement.  The City residency requirement is a matter
of widespread public concern.  In fact, a bill to abolish the
residency requirement was introduced, but not passed, in
the last session of the General Assembly.  Despite a keen
public interest in this issue, the City did not give the public
any notice that the Board was meeting, and thus give the
public an opportunity to attend the meetings and
participate in the political process.

It is irrelevant whether the Board has yet to take
any “formal” action concerning the application and
enforcement of the residency law.  In Leyy v. Board of
Education of Cape Henlopen School District, Del.  Ch.,
1990 WL 154147 (Oct. 1, 1990) (Chandler, V.C.), the
Chancery Court held that FOIA applied to school board
“workshops,” even where no formal action was taken.
Under any other interpretation, “there would be no
remedy to deter Board members from privately meeting
for discussion, investigation or deliberation about public
business as long as the Board reached no formal decision
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at that private meeting.” 1990 WL 15417, at p. 6. FOIA
“recognizes that policy decisions by public entities cannot
realistically be understood as isolated instances of
collective choice, but are best understood as a decisional
process based on inquiry, deliberation and consensus
building.  Because informal gatherings or workshops are
part of the decision-making process they too must be
conducted openly.” Id.

We find that the City violated the open meeting
requirements of FOIA by failing to post notices and
agenda for the five meetings of the Residency Review
Board.  The City Council has charged the Board with an
important function: to set the standards and create
procedures for enforcement of the City’s residency law,
and to make final decisions regarding the administration
and enforcement of the requirements of that law.  The
Board’s activities therefore could have
considerable impact on individual City employees.

Failure to post notices and agenda before the
Board’s meetings involved “substantial public rights” and
was not merely a “technical” violation.” Ianni v.
Department of Elections of New Castle County, Del.  Ch.,
1986 WL 961 0, at p. 6 (Aug. 29, 1986) (Allen, C.). To
remedy these violations of the open meeting law, we
direct the Residency Review Board to notice a special
meeting within thirty days of the date of this letter.  At that
special meeting, the Board should discuss, at least in
summary form, the principal matters discussed at its
previous five meetings, and to give proper notice of that
special meeting to the public so that interested citizens can
attend and comment.  At that time, after “full public
discussion,” Beebe Medical Center v. Certificate of Need
Appeals Board, Del.  Super., 1995 WL 465318, at p. 6
(June 30, 1995) (Terry, J.), the Board can publicly vote to
adopt or ratify any actions previously taken.

The City is put on notice that the open meeting
requirements of FOIA will be strictly construed and
enforced by this Office.  Any future failure by the
Residency Review Board to comply with FOIA could be
determined to be evidence of a wilful pattern of FOIA
violations.

Conclusion

Based on the complaint, the City’s written
responses, and the documents and other information
provided to us, we determine that the City’s Residency
Review Board violated the open meeting requirements of
FOIA by failing to post notices and agenda for five of its
meetings.  We determine that the Board maintained
minutes of each of those meetings, and therefore did not
violate Section 10004(f) of FOIA.  The City is directed to
take the remedial steps outlined above.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

Approved:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 97-IB23

December 23, 1997

Mr. Milton F. Morozowich
R.D. 2, Box 166
Bridgeville, DE 19933

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Woodbridge School District

Dear Mr. Morozowich:
This letter is our written determination in

response to your complaints alleging that the Woodbridge
School District (the “School District”) violated the
Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.  C. Sections 1000 I-
10005 C’FOIA”).  All three letters of complaint were
received by this Office on November 5, 1997.

Your first letter, dated October 25, 1997, alleged
that the minutes of the executive session held by the
School District on October 7, 1997 were “vague and non-
specific” and the meeting should have been tape-
recorded.  Your second letter, dated October 29, 1997,
alleged that the School District noticed an “emergency”
meeting on June 4, 1997 to discuss the assistant
superintendent’s employment contract, but in fact
discussed other personnel issues such as salary increases
for all administrative staff.  Your third letter, dated
October 30, 1997, alleges that the School District
purportedly met in executive session on October 21, 1997
to discuss personnel matters, but in fact discussed matters
not authorized by statute to be closed to the public.

By letter dated November 6, 1997, we asked the
School District to respond to your three complaints within
ten days.  The School District asked for, and we granted,
a ten-day extension of time to respond.  By letter dated
November 24, 1997, we received the School District’s
response, denying any violations of FOIA.

This Office declines to make any written
determination regarding the meeting on June 4, 1997.
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There is a 60-day statute of limitations for any citizen to
challenge in court a meeting allegedly held in violation of
FOIA.  See 29 Del.C. Section 10005(a).  While this Office
is not bound by that statute of limitations when it
investigates FOIA complaints, this Office has declined in
the past to investigate matters which were not brought to
our attention in a timely fashion.  See Att’y Gen. 012. 93-
1006 (Mar. 5, 1993): Att’v Gen.  Or). 93-1028 (Sept. 21,
1993).  While we have discretion to determine when a
complaint is timely, we conclude that the delay of almost
six months in this case warrants the conclusion that your
complaint was not timely filed.

FOIA does not require a public body to tape-
record its meetings or executive sessions.  The statute only
requires that “[e]ach public body shall maintain minutes
of all meetings, including executive sessions, conducted
pursuant to this section, and shall make such minutes
available for public inspection and copying as a public
record.” 29 Del.  C. Section 10004(f).  This Office has
previously determined that the statutory duty to maintain
written minutes of public meetings does not require a
public body to tape-record the meeting.  See Att’y Gen.
Op. 94-1023 (June 21, 1994). Moreover, the minutes of
executive sessions need only include “a record of those
members present and a record by individual members
(except where the public body is a town assembly where
all citizens are entitled to vote) of each vote taken and
action agreed upon.” 29 Del.  C. Section 10004(f).  But
F01A “neither says that the subjects discussed must be
summarized nor attempts to define how specific such
summary should be.... I cannot conclude that there is a
clear implied statutory requirement to summarize the
subjects discussed with any degree of specificity in the
minutes of executive sessions.” Common Cause of
Delaware v. Red Clu Consolidated School District Board
of Education, Del.  Ch., C.A. No. 13798, 1995 WL
733401, at p. 4 (Dec. 5, 1995)
(Balick, V.C.).

We do not find that the School District violated
FOIA in connection with its October 7, 1997 meeting.
The School District prepared written minutes of the
executive sessions convened during that meeting.  The
minutes contain all of the information required by statute.

With regard to the October 21, 1997 meeting, the
agenda for that meeting had a line item for “Executive
Session - Personnel.” This Office has previously
determined that “it is not necessary to identify the
personnel in convening an executive session to constitute
personnel matters.” Att’y Gen. Op. 96-IB27 (Aug. 1,
1996) (citation omitted).  At the meeting, you reiterated a
concern you had previously raised with the Superintendent
regarding the size of your son’s classes and his request for
transfer.  The Superintendent decided that it would be best

to take that matter up in executive session along with other
personnel matters.  The legal question, then, is whether
your son’s request for transfer concerned the “names,
competency and abilities of individual employees or
students,” the discussion of which FOIA authorizes in
executive session. 29 Del.  C. Section 10004(b)(9). We
conclude that your son’s transfer request falls within the
personnel exception for executive session.  A transfer
request based on large class size necessarily requires the
School District to consider the competency and abilities
of the individual student involved, as well as the
respective competency and abilities of the current teacher
and the proposed teacher.

Conclusion

Based on your complaint, the School District’s
response, and the documents provided to us, we determine
that the School District did not commit any violation of
FOIA in connection with the October 7 and October 21,
1997 meetings.  We decline to make any determination
regarding the June 4, 1997 meeting because the complaint
was untimely.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

Approved:
Malcolm S. Cobin
Assistant State Solicitor
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN

COMMISSION

Amendments to the Delaware River Basin Commission’s
Ground Water Protected Area Regulations for Southeastern

Pennsylvania

AGENCY :  Delaware River Basin Commission.

ACTION :  Final rule.

SUMMARY : At its January 28, 1998 business meeting, the
Delaware River Basin Commission amended its Ground
Water Protected Area Regulations for Southeastern
Pennsylvania by the establishment of numerical withdrawal
limits for subbasins in the Protected Area.

EFFECTIVE DATE :  January 28, 1998.

ADDRESSES:  Copies of the Commission’s Ground Water
Protected Area Regulations for Southeastern Pennsylvania
are available from the Delaware River Basin Commission,
P.O. Box 7360, West Trenton, New Jersey 08628.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT :  Susan M.
Weisman, Commission Secretary, Delaware River Basin
Commission, (609) 883-9500 ext. 203.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION :  On June 24, 1997
the Commission held a public hearing on proposed
amendments to its Ground Water Protected Area Regulations
for Southeastern Pennsylvania as noticed in the Federal
Register issues of May 9, 1997 and June 18, 1997; the
Pennsylvania Bulletin issues of June 7, 1997 and June 21,
1997; the New Jersey Register of June 2, 1997; and the New
York State Register of May 21, 1997.  The Commission has
considered the extensive testimony and comments from
interested parties and has revised the proposed amendments
in response to those comments.  A ”Response Document on
Proposed Amendments to the Southeastern Pennsylvania
Ground Water Protected Area Regulations“ is available upon
request to Ms. Weisman at the number provided above.

The Commission’s Ground Water Protected Area Regula-
tions for Southeastern Pennsylvania are hereby amended as
follows:

1.  Section 6 is hereby amended by the addition of new
subsections h. through m., to read as follows:

h. Dockets and protected area permits may be issued
for a duration of up to ten years and shall specify the
maximum total withdrawals that must not be exceeded during

any consecutive 30-day period. Such maximum total
withdrawals shall be based on demands projected to occur
during the duration of the docket or protected area permit.

i. Ground water withdrawal limits shall be defined for
subbasins in accordance with the provisions of (1) or (2). The
limits for specific subbasins are set forth in (3).

(1)  Baseflow frequency analyses shall be con-
ducted for all subbasins in the Southeastern Pennsylvania
Ground Water Protected Area. The analyses shall determine
the 1-year-in-25 average annual baseflow rate. The 1-year-in-
25 average annual baseflow rate shall serve as the maximum
withdrawal limit for net annual ground water withdrawals for
subbasins. If net annual ground water withdrawals exceed 75
percent of this rate for a subbasin, such a subbasin shall be
deemed “potentially stressed.” The Commission shall
maintain a current list of net annual ground water withdrawals
for all subbasins. “Net” annual ground water withdrawals
includes total ground water withdrawals less total water
returned to the ground water system of the same subbasin.

(2) Upon application by the appropriate govern-
mental body or bodies, the withdrawal limits criteria set forth
in (1) may be revised by the Commission to provide
additional protection for any subbasin identified in (3) with
streams or stream segments designated by the Common-
wealth of Pennsylvania as either “high quality” or
“exceptional value,” or “wild,” or “scenic,” or “pastoral,” or
to correspond with more stringent requirements in integrated
resource plans adopted and implemented by all municipalities
within a subbasin identified in (3). Integrated resource plans
shall be developed according to sound principles of
hydrology.  Such plans shall at a minimum assess water
resources and existing uses of water; estimate future water
demands and resource requirements; evaluate supply-side
and demand-side alternatives to meet water withdrawal
needs; assess options for wastewater discharge to subsurface
formations and streams; consider stormwater and floodplain
management; assess the capacity of the subbasin to meet
present and future demands for withdrawal and nonwithdrawal
uses such as instream flows; identify potential conflicts and
problems; incorporate public participation; and outline plans
and programs including land use ordinances to resolve
conflicts and meet needs.  Integrated resource plans shall be
adopted and implemented by all municipalities within a
subbasin and incorporated into each municipality’s
Comprehensive Plan.

(3) The potentially stressed levels and withdrawal
limits for all delineated basins and subbasins are set forth
below:
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Neshaminy Creek Basin

Subbasin Potentially Withdrawal
Stressed Limit
(mgy) (mgy)

West Branch Neshaminy 1054 1405
Pine Run 596  795
North Branch Neshaminy 853 1131
Main Stem Doylestown 710 946
Main Stem Warwick 889 1185
Little Neshaminy Warrington 505 673
Park Creek 582 776
Little Neshaminy Warminster 1016 1355
Mill Creek 1174 1565
Main Stem Northampton 596  794
Newtown Creek 298 397
Core Creek 494 658
Ironworks Creek 326 434
Main Stem Lower Neshaminy  3026 4034

Subject to public notice and hearing, this section may be
updated or revised based upon the following: the completion
of baseflow frequency analyses for the remaining subbasins
within the Protected area; new and evolving information on
hydrology and streamflow and ground water monitoring; or
in accordance with (2).

j.  Upon its determination that a subbasin is potentially
stressed, the Commission shall notify all ground water users
in the subbasin withdrawing 10,000 gallons per day or more
during any 30-day period of its determination. If any such
users have not obtained a docket or protected area permit
from the Commission, they shall be required to apply to the
Commission within 60 days of notification.

k.  In potentially stressed subbasins, dockets and
protected area permit applications for new or expanded
ground water withdrawals must include one or more
programs to mitigate the adverse impacts of the new or
expanded ground water withdrawal. The eligible programs
are noted below. If the remainder of the application and the
program(s) submitted are acceptable, the withdrawal may be
approved by the Commission for an initial three-year period.
The applicant shall implement the program(s) immediately
upon Commission approval. If after the three-year period the
program(s) is deemed successful by the Commission, the
docket or permit duration may be extended for up to 10 years.
The project sponsor shall be required to continue the
program(s) for the duration of the docket or permit.

(1)  A conjunctive use program that demonstrates
the applicant’s capability to obtain at least 15 percent of its
average annual system usage from a reliable surface water

supply. An acceptable program shall include either reservoir
storage or an interconnection with a surface water supplier
and an agreement or contract to purchase water from the
supplier for the duration of the docket or permit.

(2)  A water conservation program that exceeds the
requirements of Section 7. For existing water utilities, the
program shall reduce average annual per capita water usage
by at least five percent. All conservation programs shall
include water conservation pricing, either inclining block
rates, seasonal rates, or excess-use surcharges, and plumbing
fixture rebate or retrofit components. For self-supplied users,
the program shall include water efficient technologies such as
recycling, reuse, xeriscaping, drip or micro irrigation, or other
innovative technology approved by the Commission.

(3)  A program to monitor and control ground water
infiltration to the receiving sewer system. The program must
quantify ground water infiltration to the system and document
reductions in infiltration. The program should include such
measures as leakage surveys of sewer mains, metering of
sewer flows in mains and interceptors, analysis of sewer
system flows to quantify infiltration, and remedial measures
such as repair of leaks and joints, main lining, and main
replacement.

(4)  An artificial recharge or spray irrigation
program that demonstrates a return of at least 60 percent of the
total new or expanded annual withdrawal to the same ground
water basin and aquifer system from which it is withdrawn.
The program shall not impair ground water quality.

(5)  An alternative program approved by the
Commission to mitigate the adverse impacts of the new or
expanded ground water withdrawal.

l.  The durations of all existing dockets and protected area
permits may be extended by the Commission for an additional
five years if the docket or permit holder successfully
implements either option k(1) or k(2). If the docket or permit
holder successfully implements both options, the docket or
permit may be extended for an additional ten years. The
Executive Director shall notify all docket and permit holders
potentially affected by this resolution of their right to file an
application to determine their eligibility for extension.

m.  It is the policy of the Commission to prevent, to the
extent reasonably possible, net annual ground water
withdrawals from exceeding the maximum withdrawal limit.
An application for a proposed new or expanded ground water
withdrawal that would result in net annual ground water
withdrawals exceeding the maximum withdrawal limit
established in paragraph i (3) shall set forth the applicant’s
proposal for complying with the Commission’s policy, with
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such supporting documentation as may be required by the
Executive Director. Notification of the application shall be
given to all affected existing water users who may also submit
comments or recommendations for consideration by the
Commission on the pending application. In taking action
upon the application, the Commission shall give consider-
ation to the submissions from the applicant and affected water
users. If the Commission determines that it is in the public
interest to do so, it may reduce the total of proposed and
existing ground water withdrawals within a subbasin to a
level at or below the withdrawal limit. Unless otherwise
determined by the Commission, docket and permit holders
shall share equitably in such reductions.

2.  This resolution shall become effective immediately.

Delaware River Basin Compact, 75 Stat. 688.

Susan M. Weisman
Secretary
January 30, 1998
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DEPARTMENT OF
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION  OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

DELAWARE  BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL

COUNSELORS OF M ENTAL  HEALTH

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 3007(a)(1), the
Delaware Board of Professional Counselors of Mental
Health proposes to adopt new Rules and Regulations to
replace the existing Rules and Regulations.  The
regulations will define meetings and elections, licensure
by certification, licensure by reciprocity, licensure of
associate counselors of mental health, application and fee,
affidavit and time limit, renewal of licensure, reactivation
of licensure, return to active status, and temporary
suspension pending hearing.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules
and Regulations on April 3, 1998 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware.
The Board will receive and consider input, in writing,
from interested persons on the proposed rules and
regulations.  The final date for interested persons to
submit comments shall be at the above-scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed
regulations, or to make comments at the public hearing
should notify the Board’s Administrative Assistant Gayle
Franzolino by calling (302) 739-4522 Ext. 220, or writing
to the Delaware Board of Professional Counselors of
Mental Health, P. O. Box 1401, Cannon Building, Dover,
Delaware  19903

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING  COMMISSION

The Commission proposed the enactment of Rule
13.18 pursuant to 3 Del.C. sections 10103 and
10128(m)(1), and 29 Del.C. section 10115.  The proposed
Rule 13.18 would prohibit a claimed horse from racing for
fourteen days after the claim unless there is good cause for
a shorter time period.  The proposed rule will be
considered by the Commision at its next regularly
scheduled meeting on April 16, 1998 at 10:00 a.m. at
Delaware Park, 777 Delaware Park Boulevard, Stanton,
Delaware.  Comments may be made at the Commission’s
meeting in person or by writing submissions.  Written
comments may be submitted in writing to the Commission
Office on or before 4:00 p.m. on April 16, 1998.

The Commission Office is located at 2320 South
DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901 and the phone
number is (302) 739-4811.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold a special
meeting on  Monday, March 9, at 2:00 p.m.  The purpose
of the meeting is to discuss the Accountability Plan.

The Board will hold its regular monthly meeting on
Thursday, March 19, at 11:00 a.m.  A portion of the
meeting will deal with the Accountability Plan.

The April meeting of the State Board of Education
will be held on Thursday, April 16, at 2:00 p.m.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION  OF REVENUE

OFFICE OF THE STATE  L OTTERY

The Lottery proposes these rules pursuant to 29
Del.C. sections 4805(a) and 29 Del.C. section 10115.  The
proposed regulations are to ensure that the Delaware
Lottery is in compliance with the federal Americans with
Disabilities Act (”ADA“).  The proposed regulations will
provide for a procedure for inspection of the sites of all
lottery retailers to ensure a minimum standard of
accessibility required by federal law.

Comments may be submitted in writing to the Lottery
Office on or before 4:00 p.m. on March 31, 1998.  The
Lottery Office is located at 1575 McKee Road, Suite 102,
Dover, Delaware 19901 and the phone number is (302)
739-5291.  Comments should be addressed to the
attention of Vernon Kirk, Lottery Office.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH &
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION  OF SOCIAL  SERVICES

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State’s Administrative Procedures
Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
with 42CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of
the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 505, the Delaware
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division
of Social Services / Medicaid Program is amending its home

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/deptagri.htm
http://www.doe.state.de.us/docs/index_js.asp
http://www.state.de.us/lottery/index.htm
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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health provider manual to include a federally mandated
provision that home health agencies must obtain surety bonds
to continue participating with Medicaid.

Comments, written suggestions, compilations of data,
testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning this
change must be received by mail no later than April 1, 1998,
at the Medicaid Administrative Office, Lewis Bldg., Herman
M. Holloway, Sr. Health & Social Services Campus, 1901 N.
DuPont Hwy., New Castle, DE  19720, attention Thelma
Mayer.  Materials filed thereafter will not be considered
except where good cause for lateness is demonstrated.  Copies
of all written submissions filed with the Medicaid office will
be available for public inspection in the Medicaid
Administrative Office at the address given above.  Please call
(302) 577-4880, extension 131, for an appointment if you
wish to review the materials.  Individuals with disabilities
who wish to participate in these proceedings, or review the
materials submitted, should contact the Division to discuss
auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate such review or
participation.  Such contact may be in person, in writing or by
telephone by using the Telecommunications Relay Service,
or otherwise.

PUBLIC NOTICE
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES / FOOD STAMP

PROGRAM

The Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Social
Services / Food Stamp Program is proposing to implement a
Simplified Food Stamp Program for households receiving A
Better Chance (ABC) benefits.  The regulations are contained
in Public Law 104-193, the Personal Responsibility and Work
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 and Division of
Social Services’ Manual section 9910.

The Department finds that this changes should be made
in the best interest of the general public of the State of
Delaware. The Department will receive, consider, and
respond to petitions by any interested person for the
reconsideration or revision thereof.   Such petitions must be
forwarded by March 31, 1998 to the Director, Division of
Social Services, P. O. Box 906, New Castle, DE 19720.

STATE OF DELAWARE RULES AND REGULATIONS
PERTAINING TO THE PRACTICE OF CERTIFIED

MIDWIFERY

SUMMARY

These regulations replace regulations previously adopted
April 17, 1978, and most recently amended May 15, 1985.
They are to be adopted in accordance with Chapter 1, Section
122 (3) h, Title 16, Delaware Code.  They will supersede all

previous regulations concerning Midwifery adopted by the
former Delaware State Board of Health.

The regulations establish and define conditions for the
certification of midwives in the State of Delaware.  Prior to its
elimination, the State Board of Health, certified all midwives
in Delaware.  It has been determined more efficient and cost
effective to certify midwives who are also advanced practice
certified nurse midwifes through the Delaware Board of
Nursing.  This will be done under the provisions of Title 24,
Chapter 19 of the Delaware Code, and Article VIII of the rules
and regulations of the Delaware Board of Nursing.  All
otherwise qualified midwives who are not advanced practice
certified nurse midwives will retain certification under the
Division of Public Health.  These regulations also update
certification requirements and standards of practice to
conform to national standards as outlined by the American
College of Nurse-Midwives.

NOTICE OF HEARING

The comment period for these regulations ends on March 31,
1998.  All comments may be addressed to Steven L. Blessing,
(302) 739-6638.  The mailing address is: c/o State EMS
Office, Blue Hen Corporate Center, Suite 4H, 655 Bay Rd.,
Dover, DE 19901.

A public hearing to discuss the proposed regulations will be
held on March 20, 1998 in Room 309 of the Jesse Cooper
Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover DE 19901.  The hearing
will start promptly at 1:30 PM.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF FISH & W ILDLIFE

REGISTER NOTICE

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 4 SUMMER
FLOUNDER SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
SEASONS

Individuals may present their opinions and evidence and/
or request information by writing or visiting the Division of
Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE 19901 prior to 4:30 p.m. on March 31, 1998.  A
public hearing on these proposed amendments will be held in
the DNREC auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at
7:30 p.m. on March 26, 1998.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/frames2.htm
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TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 10 WEAKFISH

SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS

Individuals may present their opinions and evidence and/
or request information by writing or visiting the Division of
Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE  19901 prior to 4:30 p.m. on March 31, 1998.  A
public hearing on this proposed amendment will be held in the
DNREC auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE  at 7:30
p.m. on March 26, 1998.

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.22 TAUTOG;
SIZE LIMITS

Individuals may present their opinions and evidence and/
or request information by writing or visiting the Division of
Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE 19901 prior to 4:30 p.m. on March 31,  1998.  A
public hearing on these proposed amendments will be held in
the DNREC auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at
7:30 p.m. on March 26,  1998.

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO.23 BLACK SEA
BASS SIZE LIMIT

Individuals may present their opinions and evidence and/or
request information by writing or visiting the Division of Fish
and Wildlife, Fisheries Section, 89 Kings Highway, Dover,
DE 19901 prior to 4:30 p.m. on March 31,  1998.  A public
hearing on these proposed amendments will be held in the
DNREC auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
p.m. on March 26, 1998.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF FISH & W ILDLIFE

ENFORCEMENT  SECTION

BOATING REGULATIONS

 Individuals may present their opinions and evidence and/
or request information by writing or visiting the Division
of Fish and Wildlife, Enforcement Section, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE  19901 prior to 4:30 PM on March
31, 1998.  A public hearing on the proposed regulations
will be held in the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, Delaware at 7:30 PM on Tuesday, March
24, 1998.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL

CONTROL
DIVISION  OF AIR & W ASTE MANAGEMENT

REGULATION 38 - EMISSION STANDARDS FOR
HAZARDOUS AIR POLLUTANTS FOR SOURCE
CATEGORIES

The public hearing on proposed Regulation 38 will be held on
Wednesday, April 8, 1998, beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the
Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE.  For information concerning the hearing the
public should call Mr. Jim Snead at (302) 323-4542

DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION

AERONAUTICS

The Department of Transportation proposes to adopt
new regulations to implement Amendments to Titles 2, 9, and
30 of the Delaware Code Relating to Aeronautics and County
Building Codes.  The regulations include the Delaware
Airport Licensing Regulation and the Delaware Airport
Obstruction Regulation.

Interested parties may present their views on either of
these Regulations at a public hearing scheduled for March 26,
1998 from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. to be held at:

Central and North Conference Room
DelDOT Administration Building
Route 113, Across from Blue Hen Mall
Dover, Delaware 19903

The opportunity for public comment to these written
regulations shall be held open through April 6th, 1998.
Written comments may be sent to:

Tricia Faust, Senior Planner
DelDOT Administration Building
Route 113, Across from Blue Hen Mall
Dover, Delaware 19903

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN
COMMISSION

The Commission will meet on March 25, 1998 in
West Trenton, contact Susan M. Weisman at
(609)883-9500 ext. 203, for more information.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/frames2.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/air_wste.htm
http://www.state.de.us/deldot/index.htm
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