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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example
would be:

19 DE Reg. 1100 (06/01/16)

Refers to Volume 19, page 1100 of the Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2016.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation
may be reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING TIME

July 1 June 15       4:30 p.m.
August 1 July 15       4:30 p.m.
September 1 August 17       4:30 p.m.
October 1 September 15       4:30 p.m.
November 1 October 15       4:30 p.m.
December 1 November 16       4:30 p.m.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF

Mark Brainard, Joint Legislative Oversight Sunset Committee Analyst; Mark J. Cutrona, Director;
Deborah Gottschalk, Legislative Attorney; Robert Lupo, Graphics and Printing Technician IV; Colinda Marker,
Executive Assistant; Amanda McAtee, Joint Legislative Oversight Sunset Committee Analyst; Kathleen Morris,
Office Manager; Nathan Poore, Graphics and Printing Technician I; Joel Rudnick, Legislative Librarian; Erika
Schrader, Assistant Registrar of Regulations; Victoria Schultes, Administrative Specialist III; Don Sellers, Print
Shop Supervisor; Yvette W. Smallwood, Registrar of Regulations; Amy Tricarico, Administrative Specialist II;
Holly Wagner, Deputy Director; Cara Wilson, Legislative Attorney; Natalie White, Administrative Specialist III.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed in the
preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that issue of
the Register in which the regulation was published. Proposed regulations are designated with (Prop.); Final
regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations
that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE CRIMINAL JUSTICE INFORMATION SYSTEM
1301 Delaware Criminal Justice Information System Rules and Regulations.......... 23 DE Reg.  144 (Prop.)

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
710 Ambulance Service Regulations........................................................................ 23 DE Reg.  504 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Delaware Nutrient Management Commission

1201 Nutrient Management Certification Regulations........................................ 23 DE Reg.  601 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  851 (Final)

Harness Racing Commission
501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations...................................................... 23 DE Reg.  340 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   556 (Final)
Plant Industries Section

805 Rules and Regulations for Delaware Domestic Hemp Production Program 23 DE Reg. 494 (Emer.)
23 DE Reg. 704 (Emer.)

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations........................................... 23 DE Reg.  806 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Office of the Secretary

240 Recruiting and Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular
Areas........................................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  607 (Prop.)

251 Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA).................................. 23 DE Reg.  416 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  645 (Final)

258 Federal Programs General Complaint Procedures*.................................... 23 DE Reg.  343 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   557 (Final)

290 Approval of Educator Preparation Programs............................................... 23 DE Reg.  505 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   748 (Final)

292 Post Secondary Institutions and Degree Granting Institutions of Higher
Education..................................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  506 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  858 (Final)
410 Satellite cool Agreements............................................................................ 23 DE Reg.  708 (Prop.)
508 Multi-Tiered System of Support (MTSS)...................................................... 23 DE Reg.  613 (Prop.)
545 K to 12 School Counseling Programs.......................................................... 23 DE Reg.   299 (Final)
603 Compliance with the Gun Free Schools Act................................................ 23 DE Reg.  147 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   368 (Final)
605 Student Rights and Responsibilities............................................................ 23 DE Reg.  345 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   559 (Final)
609 District and School Based Intervention Services......................................... 23 DE Reg.   109 (Final)
611 Consortium Discipline Alternative Programs for Treatment of Severe

Discipline Problems..................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  149 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   370 (Final)

614 Uniform Definitions for Student Conduct Which May Result in Alternative
Placement or Expulsion............................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  507 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  751 (Final)
615 School Attendance...................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  347 (Prop.)
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624 School District/Charter School Policy Prohibiting Cyberbullying................ 23 DE Reg.  263 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  561 (Final)

705 Leave for Training Camp or Special Duty in the National Guard or the
Military Reserves of the United States........................................................ 23 DE Reg.   111 (Final)

714 Professional Employee Work Stoppage or Strike....................................... 23 DE Reg.  153 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   375 (Rep.)

718 Health Examinations for Employees of School Districts, Charter Schools,
and Alternative Programs............................................................................ 23 DE Reg.  265 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   447 (Rep.)
725 School Administrator Contracts and Agreements....................................... 23 DE Reg.  154 (Prop.)
734 Financial Responsibility Training for District School Board, Charter School

Board and Citizen Budget Oversight Committee Members......................... 23 DE Reg.  266 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  648 (Final)

735 Standardized Financial Reporting and Transparency................................. 23 DE Reg.  349 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   563 (Final)

742 Compensation of School District and Charter School Personnel Under
Federal Projects.......................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  351 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  565 (Final)
775 New Teacher Hiring Date Reporting........................................................... 23 DE Reg.  711 (Prop.)
804 Immunizations............................................................................................. 23 DE Reg.  713 (Prop.)
805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program.............................. 23 DE Reg.  269 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  448 (Final)
815 Health Examinations and Screening........................................................... 23 DE Reg.       6 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   208 (Final)
851 K to 12 Comprehensive Health Education Program................................... 23 DE Reg.  353 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  756 (Final)
877 Tobacco Policy............................................................................................ 23 DE Reg.  419 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  651 (Final)
881 Releasing Students to Persons Other Than Their Parent, Guardian or

Relative Caregiver....................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  356 (Prop.)
901 Education of Homeless Children and Youth............................................... 23 DE Reg.     33 (Final)
902 Gifted or Talented Education Plan.............................................................. 23 DE Reg.  273 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   568 (Final)
917 Accelerated Academic Programs............................................................... 23 DE Reg.   301 (Final)
920 Educational Programs for English Language Learners (ELLs)................... 23 DE Reg.  357 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   653 (Final)
922 Children with Disabilities Subpart A, Purposes and Definitions.................. 23 DE Reg.  617 (Prop.)
925 Children with Disabilities Subpart D, Evaluations, Eligibility Determination,

Individualized Education Programs............................................................. 23 DE Reg.  618 (Prop.)
930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound).......................................................... 23 DE Reg.  275 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   452 (Final)
1001 Participation in Extra Curricular Activities................................................. 23 DE Reg.   113 (Final)
1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA)............................... 23 DE Reg.   376 (Final)
1007 DIAA Sportsmanship................................................................................. 23 DE Reg.   114 (Final)
1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics................. 23 DE Reg.   122 (Final)
1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics.............................................. 23 DE Reg.   123 (Final)
1150 School Transportation............................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  361 (Prop.)
1206 Speech Language Pathologist Incentive Loan Program........................... 23 DE Reg.  513 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  860 (Final)
1207 Delaware Nursing Incentive Program....................................................... 23 DE Reg.  516 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  863 (Final)
Professional Standards Board

1501 Knowledge, Skills, and Responsibility Based Salary Supplements for
Educators.................................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  155 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   571 (Final)
1508 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification.......................... 23 DE Reg.  717 (Prop.)
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1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation..................................... 23 DE Reg.  719 (Prop.)
1510 Issuance of Initial License ........................................................................ 23 DE Reg.     38 (Final)
1511 Issuance and Renewal of Continuing License .......................................... 23 DE Reg.     40 (Final)
1513 Denial of Licenses and Permits................................................................. 23 DE Reg.   760 (Final)
1515 Hearing Procedures and Rules................................................................. 23 DE Reg.  764 (Final)
1516 Professional Standards Board Standing Committees................................ 23 DE Reg.   572 (Final)
1521 Elementary Teacher................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  421 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg. 601 (Errata)
23 DE Reg.  866 (Final)

1522 Elementary School Counselor................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  278 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  574 (Final)

1545 Secondary School Counselor.................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  285 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   576 (Final)

1549 Dance Teacher.......................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  162 (Prop.)
1558 Theater Teacher........................................................................................ 23 DE Reg.  167 (Prop.)
1563 Music Teacher........................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  173 (Prop.)
1571 Special Education Teacher of Students with Disabilities............................ 23 DE Reg.  808 (Prop.)
1572 Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented...................................... 23 DE Reg.  914 (Prop.)
1582 School Nurse............................................................................................. 23 DE Reg.  721 (Prop.)
1595 Certification Programs for Leaders in Education....................................... 23 DE Reg.  771 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF ELECTIONS
Office of the State Election Commissioner

101 Procedures for Addressing Post-Election Voting Machine Audit
Discrepancies.............................................................................................. 23 DE Reg.  727 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
Office of the State Lottery

204 Delaware Sports Lottery Rules and Regulations......................................... 23 DE Reg.     42 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Delaware Health Care Commission

Delaware Health Insurance Individual Market Stabilization Reinsurance
Program and Fund....................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  178 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   455 (Final)
Division of Developmental Disabilities Services

2103 Reportable Incident Management and Corrective Measures.................... 23 DE Reg.  182 (Prop.)
Division of Health Care Quality

3320 Intensive Behavioral Support and Educational Residence........................ 23 DE Reg.     43 (Final)
3325 Financial Capability Reporting................................................................... 23 DE Reg.     45 (Final)

23 DE Reg.  814 (Prop.)
3335 Office-Based Surgery................................................................................ 23 DE Reg.   125 (Final)
4404 Free Standing Emergency Centers........................................................... 23 DE Reg.       9 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  817 (Prop.)
4469 Personal Assistance Services Agencies................................................... 23 DE Reg.  818 (Prop.)

Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance
Acute Inpatient Hospital Readmission Claims.................................................... 23 DE Reg.  186 (Prop.)
Documentation of State Residency: DSSM 14110 and 14340........................... 23 DE Reg.    83 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   303 (Final)
DSSM 80000 - Authorization and Regulation of Medicaid/CHIP Accountable

Care Organizations...................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  428 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   659 (Final)

Medicaid Long Term Care Program - Community Spouse: DSSM 20910.......... 23 DE Reg.  526 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  871 (Final)

Over-the-Counter Drugs Without a Prescription................................................. 23 DE Reg.    10 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   211 (Final)
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PRTFs – Provision of EPSDT Services............................................................. 23 DE Reg.     46 (Final)
SSI Related Programs: DSSM 17000................................................................ 23 DE Reg.   127 (Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Adult Dental...................................................... 23 DE Reg.  523 (Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Drug Utilization Review (DUR)......................... 23 DE Reg.  184 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  427 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  657 (Final)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Excluded Earnings of Temporary Census
Workers....................................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  193 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  466 (Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Licensed Chemical Dependency Professionals

& Art Therapist............................................................................................ 23 DE Reg.  820 (Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Non-Emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT) 23 DE Reg.  519 (Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Prescribed Drugs - Obesity Drugs.................... 23 DE Reg.  191 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg. 464 (Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Telehealth Services Originating Site Fees........ 23 DE Reg.  188 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   461 (Final)
Title XXI Delaware Healthy Children Program State Plan - Children’s Health

Insurance Program (CHIP).......................................................................... 23 DE Reg.     51 (Final)
Title XXI Delaware Healthy Children’s Program State Plan - Health Services

Initiatives - Vision Services - School-Based Initiative.................................. 23 DE Reg.  528 (Prop.)
Division of Public Health

4107 Screening of Newborn Infants for Metabolic, Hematologic, Endocrinologic,
and Certain Structural Disorders................................................................. 23 DE Reg.  195 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  378 (Final)
4202 Control of Communicable and Other Disease Conditions........................ 23 DE Reg.  431 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  665 (Final)
4452 Clean Indoor Air Act.................................................................................. 23 DE Reg.    12 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  213 (Final)
4455 Delaware Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code.................. 23 DE Reg.  200 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  384 (Final)
4458 State of Delaware Food Code Regulations............................................... 23 DE Reg.  432 (Prop.)
4458A Cottage Food Regulations...................................................................... 23 DE Reg.     52 (Final)
4463 Licensing and Registration of Operators of Public Water Supply Systems 23 DE Reg.  729 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  928 (Final)
4465 Delaware Radiation Control Regulations.................................................. 23 DE Reg.    89 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   306 (Final)
23 DE Reg.  362 (Prop.)

4470 State of Delaware Medical Marijuana Code.............................................. 23 DE Reg.  433 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   667 (Final)

Division of Social Services
Case Processing Procedures - Burial Assistance & Fraudulent Receipt of

Benefits in Multiple States: DSSM 2020 and 2024...................................... 23 DE Reg.  827 (Prop.)
Child Care Subsidy Program Terms: DSSM 11002........................................... 23 DE Reg.  539 (Prop.)
Child Care Subsidy Program: DSSM 11006...................................................... 23 DE Reg.  624 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  878 (Final)
Determination of Child Care - Parents Under Age 18: DSSM 11003.9.4........... 23 DE Reg.  292 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   577 (Final)
Determining Special Needs and Income Eligibility for Child Care: DSSM 11003 23 DE Reg.  531 (Prop.)
DSS Application Process: DSSM 2000............................................................. 23 DE Reg.     53 (Final)
Income Reporting Requirements for Child Care: DSSM 11003......................... 23 DE Reg.     60 (Final)
POC - Determining and Reviewing Child Care: DSSM 11004.11...................... 23 DE Reg.    98 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   388 (Final)
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employment and Training

(SNAP E&T): DSSM 10001......................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  619 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  873 (Final)

TANF CMR School Attendance Requirement: DSSM 3012.............................. 23 DE Reg.    89 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   384 (Final)
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TANF and GA Eligibility - Excluded Income: DSSM 4006.................................. 23 DE Reg.    92 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   308 (Final)

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) - CMR: DSSM 3000............ 23 DE Reg.     63 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Office of the Commissioner

606 Proof of Automobile Insurance.................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  628 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  929 (Final)

802 Delaware Workplace Safety Regulation...................................................... 23 DE Reg.  434 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  676 (Final)

902 Prohibited Unfair Claim Settlement Practices.............................................. 23 DE Reg.  920 (Prop.)
903 Prompt Payment of Settled Claims [Formerly Regulation 81]..................... 23 DE Reg.  730 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  831 (Prop.)
1101 Listed Surplus Lines Carriers Intending to Establish an Office in Delaware 23 DE Reg.  102 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   310 (Final)
1313 Arbitration of Health Insurance Disputes Between Carriers and Providers 23 DE Reg.   312 (Final)
1319 Arbitration of Disputes Between Carriers and Primary Care and Chronic

Care Management Providers....................................................................... 23 DE Reg.   314 (Final)
23 DE Reg.  922 (Prop.)

1410 Reporting Medical Management Protocols for Insurance Coverage for
Serious Mental Illness and Drug And Alcohol Dependency......................... 23 DE Reg.   316 (Final)

1411 Registration of Pharmacy Benefits Managers........................................... 23 DE Reg.  834 (Prop.)
1801 Insurance Holding Company System Regulation With Reporting Forms

and Instructions............................................................................................ 23 DE Reg.   317 (Final)
2001 Insurance Premium Finance Companies.................................................. 23 DE Reg.   129 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Fraud and Consumer Protection Division

Rules Pursuant to the Delaware Securities Act.................................................. 23 DE Reg.  540 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  776 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Division of Unemployment Insurance

1201 Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board Regulations............................... 23 DE Reg. 802 (Emer.)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Division of Air Quality

1124 Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions..................................... 23 DE Reg.  438 (Prop.)
1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review................................................ 23 DE Reg.  201 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  579 (Final)
1150 Outer Continental Shelf Air Regulations.................................................... 23 DE Reg.  319 (Final)
1151 Prohibitions on Use of Certain Hydrofluorocarbons in Specific End-Uses. 23 DE Reg.  841 (Prop.)

Division of Climate, Coastal & Energy
2101 Regulations for State Energy Conservation Code..................................... 23 DE Reg.  363 (Prop.)

Division of Fish and Wildlife
3300 Non-Tidal Finfish: 3301 Definitions............................................................ 23 DE Reg.  543 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  882 (Final)
3502 Striped Bass Spawning Season and Area Restrictions............................. 23 DE Reg.  633 (Prop.)
3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Seasons; Methods of Take; Creel

Limit; Possession Limit................................................................................ 23 DE Reg. 705 (Emer.)
3504 Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exception........................................ 23 DE Reg. 705 (Emer.)
3505 Striped Bass Commercial Fishing Seasons; Quotas; Tagging and

Reporting Requirements.............................................................................. 23 DE Reg. 910 (Emer.)
3550 Cobia (Rachycentron canadum)................................................................ 23 DE Reg.  635 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  936 (Final)
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3723 Jonah Crab (Cancer Borealis).................................................................. 23 DE Reg.  217 (Final)
3755 Lobsters.................................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  217 (Final)

Division of Waste and Hazardous Substances
1351 Underground Storage Tank Systems........................................................ 23 DE Reg.  104 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  581 (Final)
Office of the Secretary

101 Regulations Governing Delaware’s Coastal Zone...................................... 23 DE Reg.   222 (Final)
23 DE Reg.   322 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Delaware Council on Police Training

801 Regulations of the Delaware Council on Police Training............................ 23 DE Reg.  637 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   939 (Final)

803 COPT Firearms Instructors Standards and Requirements......................... 23 DE Reg.  638 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  941 (Final)

Division of State Police
1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies 23 DE Reg.  440 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.   469 (Final)
2400 Board of Examiners of Constables........................................................... 23 DE Reg.   226 (Final)

23 DE Reg.  842 (Prop.)
5500 Bail Enforcement Agents.......................................................................... 23 DE Reg.    72 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES
Division of Family Services

201 Child Placing Agencies............................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  233 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Corporations

102 Business Entity Name Standards and Procedures..................................... 23 DE Reg.  105 (Prop.)
102 Business Entity Name Standards and Process.......................................... 23 DE Reg.  323 (Final)

Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs
901 Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program................................................... 23 DE Reg.  294 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  470 (Final)
Division of Professional Regulation

100 Board of Accountancy................................................................................. 23 DE Reg.  843 (Prop.)
1100 Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene..................................................... 23 DE Reg.  844 (Prop.)
1770 Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council............................................. 23 DE Reg.  366 (Prop.)
1900 Board of Nursing....................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.   130 (Final)

23 DE Reg.  296 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  682 (Final)

2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice.................................................. 23 DE Reg.  733 (Prop.)
2900 Real Estate Commission.......................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  442 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  738 (Prop.)
2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee....................................... 23 DE Reg.  443 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  777 (Final)
2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers........................................................... 23 DE Reg.  846 (Prop.)
3100 Board of Funeral Services........................................................................ 23 DE Reg.  742 (Prop.)
Controlled Substance Advisory Committee

Uniform Controlled Substance Act Regulations.......................................... 23 DE Reg.    16 (Prop.)
Office of the State Bank Commissioner

701 Procedures for Applications to Form a Bank, Bank and Trust Company or
Limited Purpose Trust Company Pursuant to Chapter 7 of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code........................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.    17 (Prop.)

1103 Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax........................................... 23 DE Reg.    21 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   236 (Final)

1110 Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax for Resulting Branches in
this State of Out-of-State Banks.................................................................. 23 DE Reg.    26 (Prop.)
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1110 Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax for Resulting Branches in
this State of Out-of-State Banks................................................................... 23 DE Reg.   241 (Final)

2301 Operating Regulation................................................................................ 23 DE Reg.   641(Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   885 (Final)

Public Service Commission
1001 Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Delaware Public Service

Commission................................................................................................. 23 DE Reg.  778 (Final)
3007 Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards..................................... 23 DE Reg.  444 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  888 (Final)
4001 Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services (Dockets 10

and 45)........................................................................................................ 23 DE Reg.  545 (Prop.)
4005 Regulations for the Implementation of the Telecommunications Technol-

ogy Investment Act (Docket 41)................................................................... 23 DE Reg. 552 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division of Planning

2309 Development Coordination Manual........................................................... 23 DE Reg.  203 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.   392 (Final)

2312 Regulations Governing the Practice and Procedure for Administering the
Transportation Infrastructure Investment Fund............................................ 23 DE Reg.  204 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  400 (Final)
Division of Transportation Solutions

2405 Oversize/Overweight Hauling Permit Policy and Procedures Manual....... 23 DE Reg.  107 (Prop.)
23 DE Reg.  326 (Final)

OFFICE OF THE STATE TREASURER
Division of Debt and Cash Management

1201 Statement of Objectives and Guidelines for the Investment of State
of Delaware Funds....................................................................................... 23 DE Reg.  297 (Prop.)

23 DE Reg.  584 (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
DELAWARE COUNCIL ON POLICE TRAINING

Statutory Authority: 11 Delaware Code, Sections 8402 & 8404(a)(14) (11 Del.C. §§8402, 
8404(a)(14))

1 DE Admin. Code 801

ERRATA

801 Regulations of the Delaware Council on Police Training

*Please Note: The final regulation for 801 Regulations of the Delaware Council on Police Training as published in
the May 1, 2020 issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations (23 DE Reg. 939) contained typographical errors in
subsections 15.24.1 and 15.24.2. The existing regulatory language should have appeared as plain text, however it
was inadvertently published as stricken text. The subsections are reprinted below with the error corrected.

801 Regulations of the Delaware Council on Police Training
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

16.0 15.0Basic Curriculum

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

15.24 Laws of Arrest, Laws of Evidence, and Search and Seizure - 40 Hours.

16.24.115.24.1This training covers the legal foundation of laws governing and limiting the police officer’s
authority in the areas of arrest. This treatment shall be afforded with respect to: (1) the laws of
arrest with or without warrants, arrest for misdemeanors and arrest for felonies, the elements of
probable cause, and the disposition of persons after lawfully arrested; (2) the law applicable to
criminal interrogation and resultant confessions under the 5th, 6th, and 14th Amendments of the
Federal Constitution and; (3) the application of constitutional safeguards to electronic surveillance,
chemical, and serological evidence.

16.24.215.24.2The purpose of this course is to acquaint the recruit with the rules and law of evidence
exercised in a court of law so that he/she may recognize what is legally admissible. He/she must
be able to differentiate between the various types of evidence and be familiar with the rules
concerning maintaining the chain of evidence. This course covers the laws of search and seizure
under the provisions of the 4th and 14th Amendments including the exclusionary rule and the
elements of a “reasonable” search and seizure of persons (a) incidental to arrest; (b) under a
search warrant; (c) with consent.

*Please Note: The full text of the final regulation is not being republished. Please see 23 DE Reg. 939 for
the final amendments to 801 Regulations of the Delaware Council on Police Training. A copy of the final
regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/may2020/final/23 DE Reg 939 05-01-20.htm

https://dshs.delaware.gov/
https://dshs.delaware.gov/
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/may2020/final/23 DE Reg 939 05-01-20.htm
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119 an agency may promulgate a regulatory change as an Emergency under the following
conditions:

§ 10119. Emergency regulations.
If an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the adoption,

amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by § 10115, the following rules shall apply:
(1) The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that

it finds practicable;
(2) The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state, in writing, the reasons for the agency's

determination that such emergency action is necessary;
(3) The order effecting such action may be effective for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed

once for a period not exceeding 60 days;
(4) When such an order is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or authorized by this

chapter, the agency shall state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested
person for the reconsideration or revision thereof; and

(5) The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next issue of the
Register of Regulations. (60 Del. Laws, c. 585, § 1; 62 Del. Laws, c. 301, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 48, § 10.)
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
DELAWARE NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 101(2) and (3); 29 Delaware Code, Sections 
8103(8) and 10119) (3 Del.C. §101(2) & (3) & 29 Del.C. §§8103(8) & 10119)

3 DE Admin. Code 1201

ORDER

1201 Nutrient Management Certification Regulations

WHEREAS, the Department of Agriculture (the “Department”) has been charged by the Delaware legislature
pursuant to 3 Del. C. § 101(2) & (3) with the power to devise and execute measures necessary for the development
of the agricultural interests of the State and to make and adopt rules for the government of the Department of
Agriculture; and

WHEREAS, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has determined that a novel coronavirus
(“COVID-19”) presents a serious public health threat, and on March 12, 2020 the Governor declared a State of
Emergency due to the public health threat of COVID-19, which the Governor has since modified (the “COVID-19
State of Emergency”); and

WHEREAS, many Delaware poultry growers recently experienced catastrophic poultry mortalities,
necessitating the implementation of a treatment system to adequately complete the composting of catastrophic
poultry mortalities intended for future land application; and

WHEREAS, to provide an adequate supply of grown chickens to the poultry processing plants during the
COVID-19 State of Emergency, Delaware poultry growers must be able to deviate from the State Technical
Standards pertaining to Temporary Field Staging, Animal Mortality Facility, and Manure Incorporation that are
incorporated by reference into the Delaware Nutrient Management Commission’s regulations at 3 Del. Admin. §
1201.3.0; and

WHEREAS, the Secretary finds that adoption of an emergency regulation to govern the deviation from the
State Technical Standards must occur on an emergency basis in order to properly protect the agricultural interests
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of the State during the COVID-19 State of Emergency; and 
WHEREAS, the Secretary will accept, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person for the

reconsideration or revision of this regulation by addressing the same to the attention of Delaware Nutrient
Management Commission, Department of Agriculture, 2320 South DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901; and 

WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of 29 Del. C. § 10119(3), this Order shall be effective for 120
days from the date of execution and may be renewed once for a period not exceeding 60 days; and

WHEREAS, a copy of this Order will be submitted to the Registrar for publication in the next issue of the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED this 13th day of May 2020 that the following “COVID-19 Emergency
Provisions for Nutrient Management Program” shall take effect immediately.

1.1 COVID-19 Emergency Provisions for Nutrient Management Program.

The prohibition under the Temporary Field Staging, Animal Mortality Facility, and Manure Incorporation
State Technical Standards against field staging or land applying uncured compost shall be suspended
so long as such movement complies with the following directives:

1.1.1. Site selection.

The area for stockpiling should be well-drained with no standing water. Delaware regulations
require that the specific field location of the poultry litter pile be used no more than once every two
years, be located on high ground, and adhere to the following setback requirements:

1.1.1.1 100 feet from any public road and any surface water; and

1.1.1.2 200 feet from any home not located on the property and any domestic well; and

1.1.1.3 300 feet from any public water supply well.

1.1.2 Pile construction.

Proper piling, covering, and securing of composted material will improve the composting process
and lessen the chances of odors, flies, and scavengers. Piles must adhere to the following
requirements:

1.1.2.1 The base of the pile should have a 4" to 6" base of carbon or dry litter, free of compost
material, that will serve to minimize leachate or seepage issues; and

1.1.2.2 The pile is to be conical in shape and should be no taller than 6' high with a base that
should be 12' to 14' wide; and

1.1.2.3 The pile is to be capped with manure or carbon to insulate composting heat and ensure
coverage of remaining tissue; and

1.1.2.4 The pile is to be covered with tarpaulin or compost fleece with the cover secured to
withstand weather. 

1.1.3 Maintenance

Compost material may be in a state of decomposition requiring more than a single composting
heat. As such, following the initial two-week heat, the pile may need to be mixed and reformed
onsite or in an adjacent pile according to the approved field staging regulations for manure.

1.1.4. Duration

Delaware regulations authorize temporary field staging to occur for up to 120 days, but
authorization for longer periods (up to 180 days) will be permitted on a case by case basis. This
will allow the compost material to be best utilized as a soil amendment. Any farmer or landowner
that is likely to have composting material field staged for a period longer than 120 days must
obtain written permission from the Delaware Department of Agriculture at least 5 days before the
expiration of the staging period. 

1.1.5 Mitigation of negative impacts

When moving partially composted material from the poultry house to field storage, careful site
selection should be made to mitigate negative impacts of odor, flies, scavengers and adverse
aesthetics near or in view of the pile.

1.1.6 Hauling of composted material without spillage.
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When moving partially composted material from the poultry house to field storage, material needs
to be hauled and delivered without spillage by covering loads to prevent manure loss.

APPROVED this 13th day of May 2020.

Michael T. Scuse
Secretary of Agriculture

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 1119C and 29 Delaware Code, Section 10119
(16 Del.C. §1119C & 29 Del.C. §10119)

16 DE Admin. Code 3201

SECRETARY'S ORDER

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119 to Paragraph 2(d) of the Governor's Eighth Modification 
of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public Health Threat, and 

pursuant 

3201 Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119 and pursuant to Paragraph 2(d) of the Governor’s Eighth
Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public Health Threat
(“Governor’s Emergency Declaration,”), the Department of Health and Social Services (“Department”) is adopting
emergency regulatory amendments to 16 Del. Admin. C. § 3201: Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities.
Additionally, 29 Del.C. §10119 authorizes the Department to adopt emergency regulations where an agency
determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the amendment of a regulation
with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C. §10115. Moreover, 16 Del.C. §1119C authorizes the Department to
adopt, amend, repeal, or issue regulations for long-term care facilities and services.

REASON FOR THE EMERGENCY ORDER

Rapid and widespread transmission of COVID-19 is of significant concern within congregate settings,
particularly within nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, rest (residential) facilities, and intermediate care
facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities.

Because asymptomatic or presymptomatic residents and staff might play an important role in transmission in
facilities, additional prevention measures merit consideration, including using testing to guide the use of
transmission-based precautions, isolation, and cohorting strategies.

The ability to test large numbers of residents and staff may significantly decrease transmission of COVID-19
within facilities.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

It is hereby ordered, that 16 Del. Admin. C. § 3201: Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities,
specifically, lines 2.21, 5.5.9, 8.3.1 and Section 6.11, which expand definitions, documentation, emergency
preparedness, and testing requirements, is temporarily modified as shown by underline as follows:

2.21 Vendor – Any individual who is not employed by the facility but provides direct services to one or more
facility resident. 
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5.5.9 Results of COVID-19 testing 
6.11 Specific Requirements for COVID-19 

6.11.1 Residents
6.11.1.1 All residents should be tested upon identification of another resident with symptoms

consistent with COVID-19, or if facility staff have tested positive for COVID-19.
6.11.1.2 All other resident testing should be consistent with Division of Public Health guidance for

the duration of the public health emergency.
6.11.1.3 All testing and test results must be documented in the resident medical record.
6.11.1.4 Facilities must report all resident testing and test results, to the Delaware Division of

Public Health.
6.11.2 Staff, vendors and volunteers

6.11.2.1 All staff, vendors and volunteers who have not previously tested positive for COVID-19
must receive a baseline COVID-19 test within 2 weeks of the effective date of this regulation.

6.11.2.2 All new staff, vendors and volunteers who cannot provide proof of previous positive testing
must be tested prior to their start date.

6.11.2.3 All staff, vendors and volunteers who test negative must be retested consistent with
Division of Public Health guidance for the duration of the public health emergency.

6.11.2.4 Facilities must report all staff, vendor and volunteer testing and test results, to the
Delaware Division of Public Health.

6.11.2.5 Facilities must follow recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Division of Public Health regarding the provision of
care or services to residents by staff, vendor or volunteer found to be positive for COVID-19 in an infectious stage.

6.11.2.6 Facilities shall amend their policies and procedures for communicable disease to include:
6.11.2.6.1 Work exclusion and return to work protocols for staff tested positive for COVID-19
6.11.2.6.2 Staff refusals to participate in COVID-19 testing
6.11.2.6.3 Staff refusals to authorize release of their testing results to the nursing facility
6.11.2.6.4 Procedures to obtain staff authorizations for release of laboratory test results to the

facility so as to inform infection control and prevention strategies
6.11.2.6.5 Plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands should a COVID-19 outbreak

occur.
8.3.1 The all-hazard emergency plan must include plans to address staffing shortages and facility

demands.

This Emergency Order shall take effect on June 1, 2020 and shall remain in effect for 120 days. At the
expiration of 120 days, the Department may choose to renew this Emergency Order once for a period not
exceeding 60 days, consistent with 29 Del.C. §10119(3).

PETITION FOR RECOMMENDATIONS

The Department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person for recommendations
or revisions of this Order. Petitions should be presented to the Division of Health Care Quality, 3 Mill Road, Suite
308, Wilmington, DE 19806, by email to Yrene.Waldron@Delaware.gov, or by fax to 302-421-7401.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this 26th day of May, 2020, that the above referenced amendment to 16 Del. Admin. C. §
3201: Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities, a copy of which is hereby attached, is adopted, pursuant to
the Governor’s Emergency Declaration, 16 Del.C. §1119C, and 29 Del.C. §10119, as referenced above, and
supported by the evidence contained herein.

Kara Odom Walker, MD, MPH, MSHS

Secretary
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*Please Note: Due to the size of the regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation is
available at:

3201 Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities

DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 1119C and 29 Delaware Code, Section 10119
(16 Del.C. §1119C & 29 Del.C. §10119)

16 DE Admin. Code 3225

SECRETARY'S ORDER

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119, and pursuant to Paragraph 2(d) of the Governor's 
Eighth Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public 

Health Threat 

3225 Assisted Living Facilities

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119 and pursuant to Paragraph 2(d) of the Governor’s Eighth
Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public Health Threat
(“Governor’s Emergency Declaration,”), the Department of Health and Social Services (“Department”) is adopting
emergency regulatory amendments to 16 Del. Admin. C. 3225: Assisted Living Facilities. Additionally, 29 Del.C.
§10119 authorizes the Department to adopt emergency regulations where an agency determines that an imminent
peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the amendment of a regulation with less than the notice
required by 29 Del.C. §10115. Moreover, 16 Del.C. §1119C authorizes the Department to adopt, amend, repeal, or
issue regulations for long-term care facilities and services.

REASON FOR THE EMERGENCY ORDER

Rapid and widespread transmission of COVID-19 is of significant concern within congregate settings,
particularly within nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, rest (residential) facilities, and intermediate care
facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities.

Because asymptomatic or presymptomatic residents and staff might play an important role in transmission in
facilities, additional prevention measures merit consideration, including using testing to guide the use of
transmission-based precautions, isolation, and cohorting strategies.

The ability to test large numbers of residents and staff may significantly decrease transmission of COVID-19
within facilities.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

It is hereby ordered, that 16 Del. Admin. C. § 3225: Assisted Living Facilities, specifically, line 18.3.1 and
Sections 3.0 and 9.8 which expand definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness, and testing
requirements, is temporarily modified as shown by underline as follows:

“Vendor” – Any individual who is not employed by the facility but provides direct services to one or more
facility residents.

9.8 Specific Requirements for COVID-19: 
9.8.1 Residents

9.8.1.1 All residents should be tested upon identification of another resident with symptoms consistent
with COVID-19, or if facility staff have tested positive for COVID-19.
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9.8.1.2 All other resident testing should be consistent with Division of Public Health guidance for the
duration of the public health emergency.

9.8.1.3 All testing and test results must be documented in the resident medical record.
9.8.1.4 Facilities must report all resident testing and test results, to the Delaware Division of Public

Health.
9.8.2 Staff, vendors and volunteers

9.8.2.1 All staff, vendors and volunteers who have not previously tested positive for COVID-19 must
receive a baseline COVID-19 test within 2 weeks of the effective date of this regulation.

9.8.2.2 All new staff, vendors and volunteers who cannot provide proof of previous positive testing
must be tested prior to their start date.

9.8.2.3 All staff, vendors and volunteers who test negative must be retested consistent with Division of
Public Health guidance for the duration of the public health emergency.

9.8.2.4 Facilities must report all staff, vendor and volunteer testing and test results, to the Delaware
Division of Public Health.

9.8.2.5 Facilities must follow recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention of
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Division of Public Health regarding the provision of
care or services to residents by staff, vendor or volunteer found to be positive for COVID-19 in an infectious stage.

9.8.2.6 Facilities shall amend their policies and procedures to include:
9.8.2.6.1 Work exclusion and return to work protocols for staff tested positive for COVID-19
9.8.2.6.2 Staff refusals to participate in COVID-19 testing
9.8.2.6.3 Staff refusals to authorize release of their testing results to the facility
9.8.2.6.4 Procedures to obtain staff authorizations for release of laboratory test results to the

facility so as to inform infection control and prevention strategies
9.8.2.6.5 Plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands should a COVID-19 outbreak

occur.

18.3.1 The all-hazard emergency plan must include plans to address staffing shortages and facility
demands.

This Emergency Order shall take effect on June 1, 2020 and shall remain in effect for 120 days. At the
expiration of 120 days, the Department may choose to renew this Emergency Order once for a period not
exceeding 60 days, consistent with 29 Del.C. §10119(3).

PETITION FOR RECOMMENDATIONS

The Department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person for recommendations
or revisions of this Order. Petitions should be presented to the Division of Health Care Quality, 3 Mill Road, Suite
308, Wilmington, DE 19806, by email to Yrene.Waldron@Delaware.gov, or by fax to 302-421-7401.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this 26th day of May, 2020, that the above referenced amendment to 16 Del. Admin. C. §
3225: Assisted Living Facilities, a copy of which is hereby attached, is adopted, pursuant to the Governor’s
Emergency Declaration, 16 Del.C. §1119C, and 29 Del.C. §10119, as referenced above, and supported by the
evidence contained herein.

Kara Odom Walker, MD, MPH, MSHS

Secretary

*Please Note: Due to the size of the regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation is
available at:

3225 Assisted Living Facilities
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DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 1119C and 29 Delaware Code, Section 10119
(16 Del.C. §1119C & 29 Del.C. §10119)

16 DE Admin. Code 3230

SECRETARY'S ORDER

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119, and pursuant to Paragraph 2(d) of the Governor's 
Eighth Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public 

Health Threat 

3230 Rest (Residential) Home Regulations

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119 and pursuant to Paragraph 2(d) of the Governor’s Eighth
Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public Health Threat
(“Governor’s Emergency Declaration,”), the Department of Health and Social Services (“Department”) is adopting
emergency regulatory amendments to 16 Del. Admin. C. § 3230: Rest (Residential) Home Regulations.
Additionally, 29 Del.C. §10119 authorizes the Department to adopt emergency regulations where an agency
determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the amendment of a regulation
with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C. §10115. Moreover, 16 Del.C. §1119C authorizes the Department to
adopt, amend, repeal, or issue regulations for long-term care facilities and services.

REASON FOR THE EMERGENCY ORDER

Rapid and widespread transmission of COVID-19 is of significant concern within congregate settings,
particularly within nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, rest (residential) facilities, and intermediate care
facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities.

Because asymptomatic or presymptomatic residents and staff might play an important role in transmission in
facilities, additional prevention measures merit consideration, including using testing to guide the use of
transmission-based precautions, isolation, and cohorting strategies.

The ability to test large numbers of residents and staff may significantly decrease transmission of COVID-19
within facilities.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

It is hereby ordered, that 16 DE Admin Code 3230: Rest (Residential) Home Regulations, specifically, line
6.3.1 and Sections 2.0 and 9.3 which expand definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness, and testing
requirements, is temporarily modified as shown by underline as follows:

“Vendor” means any individual who is not employed by the facility but provides direct services to one or more
facility residents.

6.3.1 The all-hazard emergency plan must include plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands.
9.3 Specific Requirements for COVID-19

9.3.1 Residents
9.3.1.1 All residents should be tested upon identification of another resident with symptoms

consistent with COVID-19, or if facility staff have tested positive for COVID-19.
9.3.1.2 All other resident testing should be consistent with Division of Public Health guidance for

the duration of the public health emergency.
9.3.1.3 All testing and test results must be documented in the resident medical record.
9.3.1.4 Facilities must report all resident testing and test results, to the Delaware Division of

Public Health. 9.3.2Staff, vendors and volunteers
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9.3.2.1 All staff, vendors and volunteers who have not previously tested positive for COVID-19
must receive a baseline COVID-19 test within 2 weeks of the effective date of this regulation.

9.3.2.2 All new staff, vendors and volunteers who cannot provide proof of previous positive testing
must be tested prior to their start date.

9.3.2.3 All staff, vendors and volunteers who test negative must be retested consistent with
Division of Public Health guidance for the duration of the public health emergency.

9.3.2.4 Facilities must report all staff, vendor and volunteer testing and test results, to the
Delaware Division of Public Health.

9.3.2.5 Facilities must follow recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Division of Public Health regarding the provision of
care or services to residents by staff, vendor or volunteer found to be positive for COVID-19 in an infectious stage.

9.3.2.6 Facilities shall amend their policies and procedures for communicable disease to include:
9.3.2.6.1 Work exclusion and return to work protocols for staff tested positive for COVID-19
9.3.2.6.2 Staff refusals to participate in COVID-19 testing
9.3.2.6.3 Staff refusals to authorize release of their testing results to the facility
9.3.2.6.4 Procedures to obtain staff authorizations for release of laboratory test results to the

facility so as to inform infection control and prevention strategies
9.3.2.6.5 Plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands should a COVID-19 outbreak

occur.

This Emergency Order shall take effect on June 1, 2020 and shall remain in effect for 120 days. At the
expiration of 120 days, the Department may choose to renew this Emergency Order once for a period not
exceeding 60 days, consistent with 29 Del.C. §10119(3).

PETITION FOR RECOMMENDATIONS

The Department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person for recommendations
or revisions of this Order. Petitions should be presented to the Division of Health Care Quality, 3 Mill Road, Suite
308, Wilmington, DE 19806, by email to Yrene.Waldron@Delaware.gov, or by fax to 302-421-7401.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this 26th day of May, 2020, that the above referenced amendment to 16 Del. Admin. C. §
3230: Rest (Residential) Home Regulations, a copy of which is hereby attached, is adopted, pursuant to the
Governor’s Emergency Declaration, 16 Del.C. §1119C, and 29 Del.C. §10119, as referenced above, and supported
by the evidence contained herein.

Kara Odom Walker, MD, MPH, MSHS

Secretary

*Please Note: Due to the size of the regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation is
available at:

3230 Rest (Residential) Home Regulations
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, Sections 3122 and 3317(a) and 29 Delaware Code, 
Section 10119(5) (19 Del.C. §§3122 & 3317(a) & 29 Del.C. §10119(5))

19 DE Admin. Code 1202

ORDER

EMERGENCY REGULATION AMENDING SECTION 5.0 OF THE UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE 
REGULATIONS RELATING TO EMPLOYERS NOTIFYING EMPLOYEES OF UNEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS AT 

TIME OF UNEMPLOYMENT 

1202 Unemployment Insurance Regulations

WHEREAS, the Delaware Department of Labor (the “Department”) has been charged by the Delaware
legislature pursuant to 19 Del.C. §§ 3122 and 3317(a) with the power to make regulations necessary for the
internal administration of the Department and to make and adopt regulations for making claims for unemployment
insurance benefits; and

WHEREAS, the Secretary of the Delaware Department of Labor has designated the authority to make
regulations related to the Division of Unemployment Insurance to the Director of the Division of Unemployment
Insurance; and 

WHEREAS, on March 12, 2020, Governor Carney declared a State of Emergency and thereafter enacted
modifications that shut down portions of the State’s economy in response to the Coronavirus public health
emergency, which lead to a substantial increase in the volume of initial claims for unemployment benefits; and 

WHEREAS, the federal government responded to the public health emergency and the economic impact on
the unemployment system by enacting the Families First Coronavirus Relief Act (“FFCRA”), in part to assist the
Division of Unemployment Insurance with responding to the substantial increase in claims; and

WHEREAS, the FFCRA conditioned the funding to be provided to the State on the State requiring employers to
notify employees upon separation of their rights to unemployment insurance benefits, as well as how to apply for
those benefits; and 

WHEREAS, the Division of Unemployment Insurance has developed a proposed revised regulation (the
“Proposed Revised Regulation”) for publication in the Register of Regulations to establish procedures for
employers in the State of Delaware to notify employees how to file a claim for unemployment benefits when they
become unemployed, but the Proposed Revised Regulation will take some time to be finally enacted; and

WHEREAS, the Director of the Division of Unemployment Insurance finds that adoption of an emergency
regulation to require employers to notify employees of how to file a claim for unemployment benefits when they
become unemployed must occur on an emergency basis, as it is a requirement for federal funding to the State
under the FFCRA and is necessary to be able to properly process and pay the incredible volume of claims for
unemployment insurance and to protect the economic interests of the unemployed citizens of this State during the
Coronavirus pandemic and the State of Emergency, until such time as the Proposed Revised Regulation becomes
effective; and

WHEREAS, in the interest of protecting the unemployed public and ensuring the Division of Unemployment
Insurance can properly process the high volume of claims and provide benefits in a timely manner during this
economic and public health crisis, the Division of Unemployment Insurance finds that adoption of this regulation
must occur on an emergency basis because the economic impact of this public health and economic crisis
presents an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare of the public; and

WHEREAS, the Director of the Division of Unemployment Insurance will accept, consider and respond to
petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or revision of this regulation by mail to: Director of the
Division of Unemployment Insurance, Darryl Scott, Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance, P.O. Box 9950,
Wilmington, DE 19809-0950, or by email to: Darryl.Scott@delaware.gov; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of 29 Del.C. § 10119(3), this Order shall be effective for 120
days from the date of execution and may be renewed once for a period not exceeding 60 days; and
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WHEREAS, a copy of this Order will be submitted to the Registrar for publication in the next issue of the
Delaware Register of Regulations. 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the following “Regulation 5.0 of 19 DE Admin. Code 1202 -
Unemployment Insurance Regulations” shall take effect immediately.

1. Regulation 5.0 of the Delaware Unemployment Insurance Regulations entitled “Posting of Placards” is
amended as follows:

5.0  Posting of Placards and Notice to Employee Required in all Separations
5.1 Every employer subject to the provisions of Part III Title 19, Delaware Code, shall post and

maintain printed notices to his employees informing them that he is covered by Part III, Title 19,
Delaware Code, and has been so registered by the Delaware Division of Unemployment
Insurance. Such notices shall be in the form prescribed by the Delaware Division of
Unemployment Insurance (Form UC-6), of such design and in such numbers as prescribed by the
Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance, and shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the
plant, shop, office, room, or place where employees are employed and where they may readily be
seen by them. No such notice shall be posted by any person, employing unit, or employer who has
not complied with the provisions of Part III, Title 19, Delaware Code, and to whom an
unemployment insurance account number has not been assigned by the Delaware Division of
Unemployment Insurance, or who, in accordance with the provisions of the Delaware Code, has
ceased to be an employer as defined in the Delaware Code.

5.2 Each employer shall deliver to each employee separated from its employ (permanently, for an
indefinite period or for an expected duration of 7 days or more) at the time of such separation, or,
if in person delivery is impossible or impracticable, shall mail to such employee's last known
address, within 24 hours, a copy of Form UC-300, which shall instruct such former employee how
to file a claim for unemployment benefits and how to contact the Delaware Division of
Unemployment Insurance with questions about unemployment benefits.

2. In accordance with the provisions of 29 Del.C. § 10119(3), this Emergency Order shall be effective for 120
days from the date of execution. At the end of 120 days, the Division of Unemployment Insurance may choose to
renew this Emergency Order once for a period not exceeding 60 days, consistent with 29 Del. C. § 10119(3).

IT IS SO ORDERED this 14th day of May, 2020.

Darryl Scott
Director, Division of Unemployment Insurance
Department of Labor

1202 Unemployment Insurance Regulations
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Posting of Placards and Notice to Employee Required in all Separations

5.1 Every employer subject to the provisions of Part III Title 19, Delaware Code, shall post and maintain
printed notices to his employees informing them that he is covered by Part III, Title 19, Delaware
Code, and has been so registered by the Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance. Such
notices shall be in the form prescribed by the Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance (Form
UC-6), of such design and in such numbers as prescribed by the Delaware Division of Unemployment
Insurance, and shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the plant, shop, office, room, or place where
employees are employed and where they may readily be seen by them. No such notice shall be
posted by any person, employing unit, or employer who has not complied with the provisions of Part III,
Title 19, Delaware Code, and to whom an unemployment insurance account number has not been
assigned by the Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance, or who, in accordance with the
provisions of the Delaware Code, has ceased to be an employer as defined in the Delaware Code.
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5.2 Each employer shall deliver to each employee separated from its employ (permanently, for an
indefinite period or for an expected duration of 7 days or more) at the time of such separation, or, if in
person delivery is impossible or impracticable, shall mail to such employee's last known address,
within 24 hours, a copy of Form UC-300, which shall instruct such former employee how to file a claim
for unemployment benefits and how to contact the Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance with
questions about unemployment benefits.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1202 Unemployment Insurance Regulations

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

3300 BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 3306(a)(1) and 29 Delaware Code, Section 
10119 (24 Del.C. §3306(a)(1) & 29 Del.C. §10119)

24 DE Admin. Code 3300

ORDER

3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine

WHEREAS, the Board of Veterinary Medicine (the “Board”) has been charged by the Delaware legislature
pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3301 to protect the general public from unsafe practices with respect to the practice of
veterinary medicine; and

WHEREAS, subsection 3.1.15 of the Board’s rules and regulations prohibits a veterinarian from “[p]rescribing
medication without examining the animal(s) within a period of one year”; and

WHEREAS, in light of the current State of Emergency in Delaware related to COVID-19, in-person visits to a
veterinarian should not be required for a medication renewal needed for an animal’s heath; and

WHEREAS, for the safety of animals, the examination requirement should not be open-ended; and
WHEREAS, amending subsection 3.1.15 to state “within a period of eighteen months” will serve to protect both

the clients and their animals; and
WHEREAS, the Board finds that adoption of an emergency regulation to govern the prescribing of medications

must occur on an emergency basis to avoid imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare; and
WHEREAS, consistent with the requirements of 29 Del.C. §10119(4), the Board will accept, consider and

respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or revision of this regulation by addressing the
same to the attention of Monique Pruitt, the Board of Veterinary Medicine, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware 19904; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of 29 Del.C. §10119(3), this Emergency Order shall be effective
for 120 days from the date of execution and may be renewed once for a period not exceeding 60 days; and

WHEREAS, a copy of this Emergency Order will be submitted to the Registrar for publication in the next issue
of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

NOW, the Rules and Regulations of the Board of Veterinary Medicine, attached hereto as Exhibit A, shall take
effect immediately.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 28th day of April 2020 by the Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine.

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

/s/ Danielle Downs, D.V.M., President /s/ Alanna Mallory, L.V.T.

/s/ Lisa Garrison, L.V.T., Vice President /s/ Mary Jo Verdery

/s/ Craig Stonesifer, D.V.M. Bruce Cavanaugh (Absent)

/s/ Erin Whaley, D.V.M.
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3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3.0 Unprofessional Conduct for Veterinarians

(24 Del.C. §3313(a)(1))

3.1 Unprofessional conduct in the practice of veterinary medicine shall include, but not be limited to, the
following;

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

3.1.15 Prescribing medication without examining the animal(s) within a period of one year eighteen
months.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) and 29 Delaware Code, Section 7528
(14 Del.C. §122(b) & 29 Del.C. §7528)

14 DE Admin. Code 401

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

401 Major Capital Improvement Programs

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(b) and 29 Del.C. §7528, the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE

Admin. Code 401 Major Capital Improvement Programs. This amendment is needed to provide clarity to local
school districts regarding the Major Capital Improvement Program and individual major capital improvement
projects, and to edit the regulation to comply with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before July 3, 2020 to Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal
Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901 or email to DOEregulations.comment@doe.k12.de.us. A copy of this
regulation may be viewed online at the Registrar of Regulation’s website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/
current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the Department of Education, located at the address listed above.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation does not specifically address the improvement of student achievement as
measured against state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
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regulation will help ensure all students receive an equitable education.
3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation will help ensure all students’ health and safety are adequately protected.
4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended

regulation continues to help ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected.
5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local

board and school level? The amended regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The amended regulation does not change the decision making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is no less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no material costs to implementing this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 976RFA 06-01-20.pdf

401 Major Capital Improvement Programs Program

1.0 Purpose and Definitions

1.1 The Major Capital Improvement Programs are Program consists of one or more construction projects
having a cost of $750,000 or more.

1.1.1 The Secretary of Education may annually review the current cost per square foot for construction
and make necessary adjustments as required.

1.1.2 Projects Multiple projects may be considered together to form a single Major Capital Improvement
Project Program project. However, the The consolidation of major capital Major Capital
Improvement Program projects should be for one location.

1.1.3 All Major Capital Improvement Program projects shall use standard bid and contract documents as
developed by the Office of Management and Budget, Division of Facilities Management.

1.1.3.1 Districts Local school districts may enhance the standard bid and contract documents with
additional contractual or project specific requirements as long as the enhancements do
not diminish and are not in conflict with the provisions of the standard documents.

1.1.3.2 The Department of Education, in consultation with the Office of Management and Budget,
Division of Facilities Management shall approve any modifications or changes to the
provisions of the standard bid and contract documents before a local school district may
use or enhance the modified documents.

1.2 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, have the following meaning unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

“Certificate of Necessity”: A means a document issued by the Department of Education which
certifies that a construction project is necessary and sets the scope and cost limits for that project. The
Certificate of Necessity authorizes the local school district to hold a referendum for the Major Capital
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Improvement Program identified and authorizes the school district to sell bonds to pay the local portion
in the event of a successful referendum identified, if required.

“Certificate of Occupancy”: A means a document issued by a local code enforcement official/office
official or office attesting that a Facility meets building codes and is fit for human occupancy.

“Change Orders”: Documents means documents that change the construction contract and are
negotiated between the owner and contractor in order to correct design omissions, address
unforeseen circumstances which arise during the construction process, and improve upon designs
based on project progress.

“Completion of Construction” means the local school district, with the concurrence of the architect,
accepts the facility as complete, meaning that all punch list items are resolved, release of liens has
been received, and funds held in retainage have been released.

“Design Development Plans”: Design means documents that denote mechanical functions,
placement of windows and doors, pedestrian traffic circulation both interior and exterior, utilities,
service areas and structure. Design development documents Development Plans are at a 40% to 60%
completion stage.

“Educational Specifications”: A document means documents which explains explain how the
educational spaces relate to the educational programs as well as the requirements of an educational
Facility to house and implement the educational philosophy and institutional program.

“Facility”: Long lived means a long-lived capital assets to include asset including, but not limited to to,
school buildings; athletic buildings; athletic fields and appurtenances; playgrounds; maintenance,
operations and storage structures; office buildings and all other buildings and capital assets
associated with the operation and management of a local school district or school system.

“Final Construction Plans”: Plans means documents that show the complete Facility design including
mechanical, electrical, water, sewer, site plans, storm water conveyance and structural systems,
complete bid documents and specifications.

“Schematic Design Plans”: Documents means documents that present a proposed Facility in its
earliest stages denoting the approximate size and relationship of areas to each other. Detailed utilities
or mechanical functions are not typically shown at this stage.

“Signed and Sealed Plans”: Plans means design documents that have the architect's and/or or
engineer's professional seal and signature affixed.

2.0  Certificates of Necessity

2.1 Districts Local school districts shall submit local school board approved projects to the Department of
Education by August 31 of each fiscal year in order to be considered for a Certificate of Necessity and
capital funding in the following fiscal year.

2.2 The Certificate of Necessity shall be quoted in the advertisement for the referendum.

2.3 Projects proposing the construction of a new Facility or for an addition to an existing Facility shall be
issued a separate Certificate of Necessity. Funds issued for the construction of a new Facility or for an
addition to an existing Facility shall not be transferred between projects or to projects in a separate
Certificate of Necessity.

2.4 Additions and renovations to existing Facilities that are done in connection with other renovations may
be issued a single Certificate of Necessity. However, when such a multiple project Certificate of
Necessity is issued, it shall identify each Facility in the program and describe the work to be done at
that Facility including the dollar amount state and local share of the total cost for that work. Funds may
be transferred between projects issued under the same Certificate of Necessity in accordance with
Section 8.0 below of this regulation.

2.5 The Department of Education will complete and forward the Certificate of Necessity to the local school
district superintendent for his/her that superintendent’s signature.

2.6 A copy of the final Certificate of Necessity will be returned to the local school district within ten (10)
working days following final approval by the Department of Education.
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3.0 Procedures for Approval of a Site for School Construction

3.1 Local school districts shall notify the Department of Education by letter to schedule a site review when
they propose to purchase a site for school purposes; or when they propose to use a currently owned
site for school purposes; or when they propose to obtain a site through donation, gift or condemnation.

3.23.1 The local school board shall forward all prospective sites to the Office of State Planning Coordination
for consideration and comment through the Planning Land use Use Service (PLUS) review process. 

3.2 Local school districts shall notify the Department of Education in writing to schedule a site review when
they propose to purchase a site for school purposes; when they propose to use a currently owned site
for school purposes; or when they propose to obtain a site through donation, gift or condemnation.
Depending on the outcome of the PLUS review process, the Department of Education may conduct a
site review.

3.3 The acquisition of lands for school construction shall comply with 29 Del.C. §7525.

4.0 Approval of Educational Specifications, Schematic Design Plans, Design Development Plans, and 
Construction Drawings

4.1 Educational Specifications shall be approved by the local school board and forwarded to the
Department of Education for informational purposes. The Department of Education may provide
comments on Educational Specifications at its discretion.

4.2 All Schematic Design Plans, Design Development Plans and Final Construction Drawings shall be
approved by the local school board and the Department of Education. The Department of Education
requires one (1) set of each, including a signed and sealed Final Construction Drawings and
specifications.

4.3 The local school district must involve all applicable State, Local and Municipal state, local and
municipal regulatory agencies in reviewing Final Construction Drawings prior to before the start of
construction. Copies of all applicable State, Local and Municipal state, local and municipal agency
approvals shall be maintained in the local school district construction files. Required State state
agency approvals include but may not be limited to: are noted in the State of Delaware School
Construction Technical Assistance Manual, which is available on the Department of Education’s
website.

4.3.1 Fire Marshal to review the plans for fire safety.

4.3.2 Division of Public Health for swimming pools, and kitchens and cafeterias.

4.3.3 Division of Facilities Management for compliance with building codes.

4.3.4 Department of Transportation for review of the Site Plan showing entrances and exits as well as
required transportation infrastructure improvements.

4.3.5 Architectural Accessibility Board to ensure that the building environment is safely accessible to,
and usable by all persons.

4.3.6 Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control for wastewater, storm water
management and erosion control.

4.4 Exemptions: Major Capitol Projects Capital Improvement Program projects that do not include
structural changes or wall modifications such as, but not limited to, window replacement, HVAC,
electrical or plumbing infrastructure upgrades do not require submission of construction specifications
or plans to the Department of Education.

5.0 Notification, Start and Completion of Construction, and Certificate of Occupancy

5.1 The local school district shall submit to the Department of Education and the Office of Management
and Budget a construction schedule, showing start dates, intermediate stages and final completion
dates.

5.2 The local school district shall notify the Department of Education, Office of Management and Budget
and Insurance Coverage Office at the completion of the construction, which is defined as when the
school district, with the concurrence of the architect, accepts the Facility as complete. Completion
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means that the following have occurred: punch-list items are resolved, release of liens has been
received and funds held in retainage have been released.

5.3 The local school district shall record capital assets (buildings) in accordance with the State of Delaware
Budget and Accounting Manual which requires capital assets (buildings) to be recorded when the
asset is ready for its intended use State of Delaware Budget and Accounting Manual. As an example,
the capital asset (building) should be recorded when it has received an occupancy certificate or the
building is ready for its intended use.

5.4 The local school district shall notify the Department of Education, Division of Accounting, State Auditor,
and Office of Management and Budget upon approval of Occupancy occupancy.

5.5 Local school districts shall submit to the Department of Education a copy of the electronic autocad files
in a format approved by the Department of Education. Electronic autocad files shall be submitted no
later than 30 thirty (30) calendar days after the completion of any major renovation, addition to an
existing Facility, new school or replacement school.

6.0 Purchase Orders

All purchase orders for any Major Capitol Capital Improvement Project Program projects shall be
approved by both the Department of Education and Office of Management and Budget prior to before
submission to the Division of Accounting.

7.0 Change Orders

7.1 All Change Orders must be agreed upon by the architect, local school district and contractor, and shall
be forwarded to the Department of Education.

7.1.1 Submission of a Change Order must include the following documents:

7.1.1.1 A completed purchase order as applicable and in accordance with following the local
school board approved change order approval and authorization process and procedure;

7.1.1.2 local Local school board of education minutes identifying and approving the changes;

7.1.1.3 completed and in accordance with the local school board approved change order approval
and authorization process and procedure AIA American Institute of Architects (AIA)
document G701-Change Order Form, Form; and

7.1.1.4 correspondence Correspondence which gives a breakdown in materials mark-up
materials, mark-up, and other expenses.

8.0 Percentage of Funds Transferable Between Projects within a Certificate of Necessity

8.1 School Local school districts may request the transfer of funds between projects during the bidding
and construction process in writing to the Department of Education. Acceptability of the transfer of
funds will meet the following criteria:

8.1.1 No project may have any portion of its funding moved to another project without the approval of the
Secretary of the Department of Education, the Director of the Office of Management and Budget
and the Controller General.

8.1.2 No project may have any funding added to its initial funding without the approval of the Secretary
of the Department of Education, the Director of the Office of Management and Budget and the
Controller General.

8.1.3 No transfer of funds shall be executed between projects authorized through and by separate
Certificates of Necessity.

9.0 Educational Technology

All school facilities being constructed or renovated under the Major Capital Improvement Program
shall include wiring for technology that meets the current Department of Technology and Information
Wiring Standards Standards, and is appropriate to the grade level and educational requirements of the
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Facility type, such as high school, administration, etc. The cost of such wiring shall be borne by project
funds when no other technology funds are available.

10.0 Playground Construction: Construction

Effective July 1, 2010, all All playgrounds constructed or renovated pursuant to a major capital
improvement Major Capital Improvement Program project shall comply with the most current editions
of: of the American Society of Testing Materials (ASTM) Designation F-1487 and the Consumer
Products Safety Commission (CPSC) Publication Number 325.

11.0 Administration of the New School

An administrator of a new school may be hired for up to one (1) year prior to student occupancy to
organize and hire staff. The State state portion of salary and benefits may be paid from Major Capital
Improvement Programs Program funding.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) and 29 Delaware Code, Section 7528
(14 Del.C. §122(b) & 29 Del.C. §7528)

14 DE Admin. Code 405

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

405 Minor Capital Improvement Programs

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(b) and 29 Del.C. §7528, the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE

Admin. Code 405 Minor Capital Improvement Programs. This amendment is needed to provide clarity to local
school districts regarding the Minor Capital Improvement Program and individual minor capital improvement
projects, and to edit the regulation to comply with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before July 3, 2020 to Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal
Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901 or email to DOEregulations.comment@doe.k12.de.us. A copy of this
regulation may be viewed online at the Registrar of Regulation’s website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/
current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the Department of Education, located at the address listed above.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation does not specifically address the improvement of student achievement as
measured against state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation will help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The amended regulation will help ensure all students’ health and safety are adequately protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and
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school level.
6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates

upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The amended regulation does not change the decision making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is no less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no material costs to implementing this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 981RFA 06-01-20.pdf

405 Minor Capital Improvement Programs Program

1.0 Minor Capital Improvement Program Purpose

1.1 The Minor Capital Improvement (MCI) Program is a program which provides for the planned and
programmed maintenance and repair of the school plant. The program's primary purpose is to keep
real property assets in their original condition of completeness and efficiency on a scheduled basis. It
is not for increasing the plant inventory or changing its composition. Minor Capital Improvement
projects cost less than $750,000 unless the project is for roof repair. The MCI program shall be
reviewed annually by the school district and should be comprised of work necessary for good
maintenance practice.

1.2 Minor Capital Improvement Purchase Orders shall be reviewed and approved by both the Department
of Education and the Office of Management and Budget prior to submission to the Division of
Accounting. (One copy of the approved purchase order should be retained by the district for their
information and record.)

1.3 Use of Funds: The following areas are authorized for the expenditure of MCI funds: maintenance,
repairs, modernization, inspections, testing, maintenance agreements and service contracts related to:
roofs, heating systems, ventilation and air conditioning systems, plumbing and water systems,
electrical systems, windows, doors, floors, ceilings, masonry, structural built in equipment, painting, fire
suppression and life safety systems, security systems installation and maintenance, school grounds,
athletic facilities and playgrounds, office equipment used for instructional purposes only and
renovations, alterations and modernizations that do not require major structural changes.

1.4 Exclusions: Funds allocated for a specific project shall be used only for that project. Program funds
may not be used for the following: movable equipment other than office equipment used for
instructional purposes that is transported from one location to another, routine janitorial supplies, new
construction that increases the area of a building or extends any of its component systems, site
improvements that add to or extend the existing roadways or sidewalks, surfacing a non-surfaced area
for parking, completing major construction projects or specific items omitted or deleted from major
construction projects or floor space allocated according to formula and used otherwise.

1.5 Invoices: Invoices shall be approved by both the Department of Education and the Office of
Management and Budget prior to submission to the Division of Accounting for processing. Payments
may be made as the project progresses or after work has been completed and accepted, as warranted
by the nature and scope of the individual project(s).

The Minor Capital Improvement Program's primary purpose is to keep real property assets in their original
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 23, ISSUE 12, MONDAY, JUNE 1, 2020

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 981RFA 06-01-20.pdf


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 983
condition of completeness and efficiency on a scheduled basis. It is not for increasing the plant inventory or
changing its composition. Minor Capital Improvement Program projects cost less than $750,000 unless the project
is for roof repair. The Minor Capital Improvement Program shall be reviewed annually by the school district and
should be comprised of work necessary for good maintenance practice.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, have the following meaning unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

“Career Technical Program Equipment” means either a movable or fixed unit but not a built-in unit. In
addition, the equipment shall retain its original shape and appearance with use, be nonexpendable,
and represent an investment which makes it feasible and advisable to capitalize and not lose its
identity through incorporation into a different or more complex unit. Computers and computer
peripheral equipment may be purchased using Minor Capital Improvement Vocational Education
Equipment Replacement Funds provided such equipment purchased with such funds is used in a
vocational education setting for the service life of said equipment.

“Minor Capital Improvement Program” means a program which provides for the planned and
programmed maintenance and repair of the school plant.

3.0 Use of Funds

3.1 The expenditure of Minor Capital Improvement Program funds are authorized for the following areas,
including but not limited to: maintenance and maintenance equipment, repairs, inspections, testing,
maintenance agreements and service contracts related to: roofs, heating systems, ventilation and air
conditioning systems, plumbing and water systems, electrical systems, windows, doors, floors,
ceilings, masonry, structural built-in equipment, painting, fire suppression and life safety systems,
security systems installation and maintenance, school grounds, athletic facilities and playgrounds, as
well as renovations, alterations and modernizations that do not require major structural changes.
Maintenance equipment may include specialized vehicles for maintaining buildings and grounds and
attachments or accessories for general purpose vehicles where the attachments or accessories are for
maintenance of buildings and grounds.

3.2 Funds allocated for a specific project shall be used only for that project. Program funds may not be
used for the following: motorized vehicles not identified in subsection 3.1, routine janitorial supplies,
new construction that increases the area of a building or extends any of its component systems, site
improvements that add to or extend the existing roadways or sidewalks, surfacing a non-surfaced area
for parking, completing major construction projects or specific items omitted or deleted from major
construction projects or floor space allocated according to formula and used otherwise.

4.0 Invoices

Invoices shall be approved by the Department of Education and the Office of Management and Budget before
submission to the Division of Accounting for processing. Payments may be made as the project progresses or after
work has been completed and accepted, as warranted by the nature and scope of the individual project or projects.

2.05.0 Career Technical Program Equipment Replacement Requests

2.15.1 Replacement of Career Technical Program Equipment may be accomplished using MCI Minor Capital
Improvement Vocational Education Replacement funds Funds.

2.2 Career Technical Program Equipment is defined as either a movable or fixed unit but not a built in unit.
In addition, the equipment shall retain its original shape and appearance with use, be nonexpendable,
and represent an investment which makes it feasible and advisable to capitalize and not lose its
identity through incorporation into a different or more complex unit. Computers and computer
peripheral equipment may be purchased using MCI Vocational Education Equipment Replacement
Funds provided such equipment purchased with such funds is used in a vocational education setting
for the service life of said equipment.
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2.2.15.2 In order to To replace Career Technical Program Equipment, the equipment must have a unit
cost of $500 or more, be obsolete or more than five (5) years old, and be purchased with state,
state and local or local funds.

2.35.3 Funds shall be allocated based on the percentage of a district's Vocational Division II Units to the total
of such units of all participating districts. This percentage is applied to the total funds available in a
given year for Career Technical Program Equipment. Allocations for technical school districts do not
require a local match.

3.06.0 Purchase Orders

6.1 Minor Capital Improvement Program project purchase orders shall be reviewed and approved by the
Department of Education and the Office of Management and Budget before submission to the Division
of Accounting.

6.2 Funds may be expended as long as the appropriation is active and continuing as authorized through
legislation, usually a three (3) year period. Appropriations may be accumulated over those three (3)
years and expended for a major replacement when a sufficient balance is attained. Funds unexpended
when the appropriation expires shall revert to the State state unless properly continued through
legislation, and in accordance with legislation and Office of Management and Budget requirements.

4.0 Cost Limitations

The maximum cost of a MCI project is $750,000 except roof repairs and replacements which are not
cost limited. Non-roof projects exceeding the ceiling shall be requested through the Major Capital
request process.

5.07.0 Temporary Employees

Workers may be hired under the MCI Minor Capital Improvement Program provided they are
temporary hires and directly involved in the planning, constructing, or record maintenance of the
construction project.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Chapter 29 (14 Del.C. Ch. 29)
14 DE Admin. Code 1150

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. §122(d) & Chapter 29

1150 School Transportation

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Chapter 29, the Delaware Department of Education (“Department”) intends to amend 14

DE Admin. Code 1150 School Transportation. This regulation is being amended to clarify safety procedures and
protocols for school bus drivers, aides and supervisors; to align with federal requirements per the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration’s Entry Level Driver Training; to align with requirements for commercial licensed
drivers per the Commercial Driver’s License Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse; and to make grammatical and style
corrections per the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual. On November 1, 2019, the above
amendments were published. In response to comments received, subsection 12.10 was amended to clarify that
transportation benefits are based upon the pupil’s individual need as specified in a 504 Plan or Individualized
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Education Program (IEP).   Such change is substantive under 29 Del. C. § 10118(c). Therefore, at this time the
Department reproposes 14 DE Admin. Code 1150 School Transportation which includes the original amendments
and the revised subsection 12.10. In accordance with 14 Del.C. §2901(a), the Department sought the advice of the
Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles regarding the amendments to subsections 3.1.20, 3.1.24, 10.6, 10.8.1,
10.11.1, 10.19, 10.22, 10.25, and 12.11.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business (4:30
p.m.) on or before July 3, 2020 to the Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review,
401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901 or email to DOEregulations.comment@doe.k12.de.us. A copy
of this regulation may be viewed online at the Registrar of Regulation's website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/
services/current_issue.shtml or obtained at the Department of Education’s Office of the Secretary, located at the
address above.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation does not specifically address the improvement of student achievement as
measured against state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation will help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The amended regulation does help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected by
ensuring bus drivers are properly adhering to school transportation training requirements and laws.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all student’s legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulations does not change the decision making at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision-makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The amended regulation does not change the decision making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendment is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is no less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no material costs to implementing this amended regulation.

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 984RFA 06-01-20.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1150 School Transportation
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203 and 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §§1203 and 
1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1521

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1521 Elementary Teacher

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), the Professional Standards Board, acting in consultation and

cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments to 14 DE Admin.
Code 1521 Elementary Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for an Elementary Teacher Standard
Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220.

The proposed amendments include striking subsection 4.1.1.5 because the option to earn a degree in any
content area and complete 15 credits or the equivalent in professional development in the area of the certificate
does not apply to elementary teachers as they provide instruction in core content areas (14 Del.C. §1210(a)(1)). In
addition, the proposed additional language in subsection 4.1.2.2 aligns with the date through which the
assessment (ETS Test Code #7801) will be offered by ETS and the proposed amendment to subsection 4.1.2.4.3
is to strike an erroneous reference to ETS Test Code #7815. Other proposed amendments include clarifying
changes in Section 1.0; striking two defined terms from Section 2.0 because the terms do not appear elsewhere in
the regulation as a result of striking subsection 4.1.1.5; clarifying changes and removing the reference to
Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation, which was through a reciprocal licensing agreement with other
states that no longer exists, in Section 3.0; and clarifying changes in Sections 4.0, 5.0, 6.0, 7.0, and 9.0.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before August 3, 2020 to the Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901 or to DOEregulations.comment@doe.k12.de.us. A copy of this
regulation may be viewed online at the Registrar of Regulation's website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/
current_issue.shtml or obtained at the Department of Education's Office of the Secretary, located at the address
above.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation will help to improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation will help ensure that all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation addresses a standard certificate for educators, not students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses a standard certificate for educators, not students' legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
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the same entity? The Department implements the rules and regulations promulgated and adopted pursuant to 14
Del.C. Ch. 12 relating to licensure and certification of educators.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, and in particular to state
educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language
arts, and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? There is not a
less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted regulation?
There is no expected cost to the state and to the local school boards of complying with this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 986RFA 06-01-20.pdf

1521 Elementary Teacher

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, an Elementary Teacher Standard
Certificate pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for Elementary Teacher. This Certification is required for
grades K to 6.

1.1.1 Notwithstanding subsection 1.1, the Early Childhood Teacher Certification Standard Certification
may be used for K to grade 2 in lieu of this Certification.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Certification" means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's
assignment or employment status.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.

"Educator" means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. Ch. 12 to engage in
the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware
public schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the
Professional Standards Board and approved by the State Board of Education. The term 'educator'
does not include substitute teachers.

"Employing Authority" means any entity which employs educators, and includes, but is not limited to,
school districts, charter schools, boards of directors, and management companies.

"Fifteen (15) Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development" means college credits or an
equivalent number of hours with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours taken either as part of a
degree program or in addition to a degree program from a regionally accredited college or university or
a professional development provider approved by the Department. College credit means
undergraduate or graduate level coursework and continuing education units (CEUs) completed at or
through a regionally accredited college or university or other Department-approved provider.

"Immorality" means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected of
an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator's effectiveness by reason of his or her
unfitness or otherwise.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.
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"Major or Its Equivalent" means a minimum of thirty (30) 30 semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

"Passing Score" means a minimum score as established by the Professional Standards Board, in
consultation with the Department, and with the approval of the State Board of Education.

"Professional Development" means a combination of focused, in-depth learning, practice, feedback,
reflection, and expert support experiences designed to change participants' attitudes, insights, and/or
perspectives; and ultimately results in improved professional practice. Effective professional
development programs include ample opportunities for knowledge acquisition, skill mastery,
descriptive feedback, and refinement of practice in the work setting.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students.

"Standards Board" means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

"Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State" means a current full or permanent
certificate or license issued by another state or jurisdiction. This means the educator is fully
credentialed by having met all of the requirements for full licensure or certification in another state or
jurisdiction. It does not include temporary, emergency, conditional certificates of eligibility or expired
certificates or licenses issued from another state or jurisdiction.

3.0 Issuance of a Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue an Elementary Teacher Standard
Certificate to an Educator who:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License, or a or a Standard or Professional
Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 and meets the requirements
set forth in Section 4.0 of this regulation; or

3.1.2 Has met the requirements for licensure and holds a Valid and Current License or Certificate from
Another State in elementary education; or education.

3.1.3 Has met the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203.

3.2 Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary herein, the Department shall not act on an application for
Certification an Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate if the applicant is under official investigation
by any national, state, or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications. The
Department shall not act where the alleged conduct involves allegations of allegations include but are
not limited to conduct such as Immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty,
disloyalty, or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation's
resolution.

4.0 Prescribed Education, Knowledge, and Skill Requirements

4.1 For an applicant who is applying for his or her first Standard Certificate does not hold a content area
Standard Certificate, the applicant shall have satisfied the requirements in subsections 4.1.1 and 4.1.2.

4.1.1 The applicant shall have:

4.1.1.1 Obtained and currently maintain an Early Childhood/Generalist certificate from the
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards; or

4.1.1.2 Completed Earned a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university
with a Major or Its Equivalent in elementary education from an educator preparation
program approved or recognized by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher
Education (NCATE), the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), or
a state where the state approval body employed the appropriate standards; or

4.1.1.3 Satisfactorily completed an alternative routes for licensure or certification program to
teach grades K to 6 as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 1507 14 Del.C. §§1260 - 1266; or
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4.1.1.4 Satisfactorily completed a Department-approved educator preparation program in
elementary education; or education.

4.1.1.5 Completed a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any
content area and satisfactory completion of fifteen (15) credits or the equivalent in
Department-approved Professional Development related to elementary education of
which at least six (6) credits must focus on pedagogy.

4.1.1.5.1 The applicant, in consultation with the applicant's Employing Authority, shall select the
Fifteen (15) Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development subject to the
Department's approval.

4.1.1.5.2 If the applicant does not have an Employing Authority or is applying for a Standard
Certificate outside of the applicant's current spectrum of employment, the applicant
shall select the Fifteen (15) Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development in
consultation with the Department and subject to the Department's approval.

4.1.2 The applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on one of the following examinations:

4.1.2.1 On the Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (ETS Test
Code # 5001), the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the following
subtests:

4.1.2.1.1 Reading and Language Arts Subtest (ETS Test Code # 5002) a Passing Score of 157;
and

4.1.2.1.2 Mathematics Subtest (ETS Test Code # 5003) a Passing Score of 157; and

4.1.2.1.3 Social Studies Subtest (ETS Test Code # 5004) a Passing Score of 155; and

4.1.2.1.4 Science Subtest (ETS Test Code # 5005) a Passing Score of 159; or

4.1.2.2 On the Praxis Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching (ETS Test Code #
7801), the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the following
subtests prior to August 31, 2020:

4.1.2.2.1 Reading and Language Arts CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7802) a Passing Score of
156; and

4.1.2.2.2 Mathematics CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7803) a Passing Score of 143; and

4.1.2.2.3 Science CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7804) a Passing Score of 144; and

4.1.2.2.4 Social Studies Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7805) a Passing Score of 155; or

4.1.2.3 On the Praxis Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching (ETS Test Code #
7811), the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the following
subtests:

4.1.2.3.1 Reading and Language Arts CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7812) a Passing Score of
156; and

4.1.2.3.2 Mathematics CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7813) a Passing Score of 143; and

4.1.2.3.3 Science CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7814) a Passing Score of 144; and

4.1.2.3.4 Social Studies CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7815) a Passing Score of 153; or

4.1.2.4 The applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the following subtests:

4.1.2.4.1 Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Reading Language Arts Subtest
(ETS Test Code # 5002) a Passing Score of 157 or Praxis Elementary Education:
Content Knowledge for Teaching Reading and Language Arts CKT Subtest (ETS Test
Code # 7802 or 7812) a Passing Score of 156; and

4.1.2.4.2 Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Mathematics Subtest (ETS Test
Code # 5003) a Passing Score of 157 or Praxis Elementary Education: Content
Knowledge for Teaching Mathematics CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7803 or 7813) a
Passing Score of 143; and

4.1.2.4.3 Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Social Studies Subtest (ETS Test
Code # 5004) a Passing Score of 155 or Praxis Elementary Education: Content
Knowledge for Teaching Social Studies Subtest (ETS Test Code #7805 or 7815) a
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Passing Score of 155 or Social Studies CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7815) a
Passing Score of 153; and

4.1.2.4.4 Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Science Subtest (ETS Test Code
# 5005) a Passing Score of 159 or Praxis Elementary Education: Content Knowledge
for Teaching Science CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7804 or 7814) a Passing Score
of 144.

4.2 For an applicant who is applying for his or her second or subsequent holds at least one content area
Standard Certificate, the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on one of the following
examinations: an examination as provided in subsection 4.1.2.

4.2.1 On the Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (ETS Test Code #
5001), the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the subtests as provided in
subsection 4.1.2.1; or

4.2.2 On the Praxis Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching (ETS Test Code # 7801),
the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the subtests as provided in
subsection 4.1.2.2; or

4.2.3 On the Praxis Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching (ETS Test Code # 7811),
the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the subtests as provided in
subsection 4.1.2.3; or

4.2.4 The applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the subtests as provided in
subsection 4.1.2.4.

5.0 Application Requirements

5.1 If an applicant is applying for an Initial License, a Standard Certificate must be applied for
simultaneously with the application for an the Initial License, and the applicant shall also provide all
required documentation for the License.

5.2 For applicants who are applying for their first an applicant who does not hold a content area Standard
Certificate, the following documentation is required with the application for an Elementary Teacher
Standard Certificate:

5.2.1 Evidence of obtaining and maintaining an Early Childhood/Generalist certificate from the National
Board for Professional Teaching Standards, if applicable; and

5.2.2 Official transcript from the applicant's regionally accredited Regionally Accredited college or
university.

5.2.2.1 Electronic transcripts may be submitted by the Employing Authority or by the applicant's
regionally accredited Regionally Accredited college or university; or

5.2.2.2 Sealed paper transcripts may be submitted.

5.2.2.3 The Department will not accept copies of transcripts; and

5.2.3 If applicable, documents verifying successful completion of Professional Development; and

5.2.4 5.2.3 Official scores on the Praxis Subject Assessment or Praxis Elementary Education: Content
Knowledge for Teaching as provided in subsection 4.1.2; and

5.2.5 If applicable, an experience form must be completed in full and signed by the applicant; and

5.2.6 5.2.4 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.3 For applicants who are applying for their second or subsequent an applicant who holds at least one
content area Standard Certificate, the following documentation is required in the application for a
Standard Certificate for Elementary Teacher an Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate:

5.3.1 Official scores on the Praxis Subject Assessment or Praxis Elementary Education: Content
Knowledge for Teaching as provided in subsection 4.2; and

5.3.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.4 For applicants who have met the requirements for licensure and hold a Valid and Current License or
Certificate from Another State in elementary education, the following documentation is required in the
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 23, ISSUE 12, MONDAY, JUNE 1, 2020



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 991
application for a Standard Certificate for Elementary Teacher an Elementary Teacher Standard
Certificate:

5.4.1 An official copy of the valid and current educator license or certificate from another state or
professional license. Valid and Current License or Certificate; and

5.4.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

6.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate

6.1 A Standard Certificate for Elementary Teacher An Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate is valid
regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder provided that the Educator's License
remains current and valid.

6.2 A Standard Certificate for Elementary Teacher An Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate is not
subject to renewal.

7.0 Revocation of a Standard Certificate Disciplinary Action

7.1 An Educator's Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate may be revoked, suspended, or limited for
cause as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 1514 Limitation, Suspension, and Revocation of Licenses,
Certificates, and Permits.

7.2 An Educator's Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate shall be revoked in the event if the Educator's
Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or Standard or Professional Status Certificate is revoked or
the Educator made a materially false or misleading statement in the Educator's Standard Certificate
application in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1222.

7.2 7.3 An Educator whose Standard Certificate certificate is noticed for revocation disciplinary action is
entitled to a full and fair hearing before the Standards Board.

7.2.1 Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the 14 DE Admin. Code 1515 Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

8.0 Secretary of Education Review

The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of a local school district or charter school, review
credentials submitted in an application for an Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate on an individual basis and
grant such a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the requirements for an Elementary
Teacher Standard Certificate but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter school.

9.0 Past Certificate Recognized

The Department shall recognize an Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate that was issued by the
Department prior to the effective date of this regulation. An educator holding such a Standard Certificate issued by
the Department before the effective date of this regulation shall be considered certified as an elementary teacher to
teach elementary education.
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203 and 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §§1203 & 
1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1573

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1573 Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), the Professional Standards Board, acting in consultation and

cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments to 14 DE Admin.
Code 1573 Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities. The regulation
concerns the requirements for a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities
Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed amendments include adding clarifying
language regarding category certificates in Section 1.0; adding defined terms to Section 2.0; clarifying the
requirements for issuing a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities
Standard Certificate in Section 3.0; specifying the education, knowledge, and skill requirements for obtaining a
Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate in Section 4.0;
specifying the application requirements in Section 5.0; adding Section 6.0, which concerns the validity of a Teacher
of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate; adding Section 7.0,
which concerns disciplinary actions; adding Section 8.0, which concerns requests for the Secretary of Education to
review standard certificate applications; and adding Section 9.0, which concerns recognizing past certificates.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before August 3, 2020 to the Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901 or to DOEregulations.comment@doe.k12.de.us. A copy of this
regulation may be viewed online at the Registrar of Regulation's website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/
current_issue.shtml or obtained at the Department of Education's Office of the Secretary, located at the address
above.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation will help to improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation will help ensure that all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation addresses a standard certificate for educators, not students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses a standard certificate for educators, not students' legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The Department implements the rules and regulations promulgated and adopted pursuant to 14
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Del.C. Ch. 12 relating to licensure and certification of educators.
8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state

educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, and in particular to state
educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language
arts, and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? There is not a
less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the adopted regulation?
There is no expected cost to the state and to the local school boards of complying with this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 992RFA 06-01-20.pdf

1573 Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, a Teacher of Students with
Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1220(a), for a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities.
Eighteen (18) months from the effective date of this regulation, this certification shall be required for all
educators within the Delaware public school system whose primary assignment is teaching children
with autism or children with severe intellectual disabilities and for educators teaching in an Approved
Program.

1.1.1 This Certification is required for an Educator whose primary assignment is teaching students with
Autism or Severe Intellectual Disabilities in an Approved Program or in Delaware public schools.

1.1.2 This Certification is a category Standard Certificate and does not certify an Educator to practice in
a particular area or teach a particular subject. A category Standard Certificate only establishes that
an educator has met the prescribed education, knowledge, or skill to instruct a particular category
of students. This Certification is limited to the category of students with Autism or Severe
Intellectual Disabilities.

1.1.3 An Educator shall hold at least one content area Standard Certificate.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

2.0 Definitions

2.1 The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

2.2 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development" means college credits or an equivalent
number of hours with one credit equating to 15 hours taken either as part of a degree program or in
addition to a degree program from a Regionally Accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the Department. College credit means undergraduate or graduate
level coursework and continuing education units (CEUs) completed at or through a Regionally
Accredited college or university or other Department-approved provider.

“Approved Program”   means a program encompassing or within a public school designated by the
Department and the State Board of Education as a component of the Delaware Autism Program.
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“Autism” shall have the same meaning as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 922, §3.0 Section 3.0 and
14 DE Admin. Code 925, §6.6 subsection 6.6.

"Certification" means the issuance of a Standard Certificate, which may occur regardless of a
recipient's assignment or employment status.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.

"Educator" means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. Ch. 12 to engage in
the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware
public schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the
Professional Standards Board and approved by the State Board of Education. The term 'educator'
does not include substitute teachers.

"Employing Authority" means any entity which employs educators, and includes, but is not limited to,
school districts, charter schools, boards of directors, and management companies.

"Immorality" means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected of
an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator's effectiveness by reason of the
educator's unfitness or otherwise.

“Intellectual Disability” shall have the same meaning as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 922, §3.0
Section 3.0 and 14 DE Admin. Code 925, §6.12 subsection 6.12.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

"Major or Its Equivalent" means a minimum of 30 semester hours of coursework in a particular
content area.

"Professional Development" means a combination of focused, in-depth learning, practice, feedback,
reflection, and expert support experiences designed to change participants' attitudes, insights, and
perspectives and ultimately results in improved professional practice. Effective professional
development programs include ample opportunities for knowledge acquisition, skill mastery,
descriptive feedback, and refinement of practice in the work setting.

"Regionally Accredited" means educational accreditation by a regional accrediting agency that is
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a reliable authority concerning the quality of
education offered by the institutions of higher education it accredits, including Middle States
Commission on Higher Education.

“Severe Intellectual Disability” shall have the same meaning as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code
922, §3.0 and 14 DE Admin. Code 925, §6.12 subsection 6.12.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students.

"Standards Board" means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

"Valid and Current License or Certificate" means a current full or permanent certificate or license
issued by another state or jurisdiction. This means the educator is fully credentialed by having met all
of the requirements for full licensure or certification in another state or jurisdiction. It does not include
temporary, emergency, conditional certificates of eligibility or expired certificates or licenses issued
from another state or jurisdiction. 

3.0 Issuance of a Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Teacher of Students with Autism
or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate as a Teacher of Students with
Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities to an educator applicant who has met the
following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; License or a Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and, and meets
the requirements set forth in Section 4.0 of this regulation; or
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3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including
any subsequent amendment or revision thereto; and, Has met the requirements for licensure and
holds a Valid and Current License or Certificate in teaching students with Autism or Severe
Intellectual Disabilities.

3.1.3 Has satisfied the additional requirements in this regulation.

3.2 Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary herein, the Department shall not act on an application for
a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate
if the applicant is under official investigation by any national, state, or local authority with the power to
issue educator licenses or certifications. The Department shall not act where the allegations include
but are not limited to conduct such as Immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of
duty, disloyalty, or falsification of credentials until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation's
resolution.

4.0 Additional Requirements Prescribed Education, Knowledge, and Skill Requirements

4.1 An educator shall also have satisfied at least one (1) of the following additional education
requirements:

4.1.1 Graduating with a bachelor’s or a master’s degree, with a major in special education and with a
concentration in autism and severe intellectual disabilities, from an NCATE specialty organization
recognized educator preparation program or from a state approved educator preparation program,
offered by a regionally accredited college or university. The state approval body shall employ the
appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standard; or

4.1.2 Graduating with a bachelor’s or master’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university
with a major in special education; and

4.1.2.1 Completion of a minimum of fifteen (15) credits from a regionally accredited college or
university or their equivalent in professional development as approved by the Department,
with a focus in autism and severe intellectual disabilities in the following content areas: 

4.1.2.1.1 Introduction to Autism and Severe Intellectual Disabilities (three credits);

4.1.2.1.2 Methods of Instruction in Academic Standards and Functional Skills (three credits);

4.1.2.1.3 Functional Communication Training (three credits);

4.1.2.1.4 Applied Behavior Analysis for Educators (three credits); and

4.1.2.1.5 Competency-Based Practicum in Behaviorally Based Teaching Techniques (three
credits)

4.1 An applicant shall have satisfied one of the following education requirements: 

4.1.1 Obtained and currently maintain an Exceptional Needs Specialist certificate in the specialty area of
Mild/Moderate Disabilities or Severe and Multiple Disabilities from the National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards; or

4.1.2 Earned a bachelor's or master's degree from a Regionally Accredited college or university with a
Major or Its Equivalent in special education with a concentration in autism and severe intellectual
disabilities from an educator preparation program approved or recognized by the National Council
for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), the Council for the Accreditation of Educator
Preparation (CAEP), or a state where the state approval body employed the appropriate
standards; or

4.1.3 Satisfactorily completed an alternative routes for licensure or certification program to teach
students with autism and severe intellectual disabilities as provided in 14 Del.C. §§1260 - 1266; or

4.1.4 Satisfactorily completed a Department-approved educator preparation program to teach students
with autism and severe intellectual disabilities; or

4.1.5 Earned a bachelor's or master's degree from a Regionally Accredited college or university with a
Major or its Equivalent in special education and satisfactorily completed 15 Credits or the
Equivalent in Professional Development with a focus in Autism and Severe Intellectual Disabilities
in the following areas:
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4.1.5.1 Introduction to Autism and Severe Intellectual Disabilities (three credits);

4.1.5.2 Methods of Instruction in Academic Standards and Functional Skills (three credits);

4.1.5.3 Functional Communication Training (three credits);

4.1.5.4 Applied Behavior Analysis for Educators (three credits); and

4.1.5.5 Competency-Based Practicum in Behaviorally Based Teaching Techniques (three credits);
or

4.1.6 Currently hold a Special Education Teacher of Students with Disabilities Standard Certificate (14
DE Admin. Code 1571) and satisfactorily completed 15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional
Development with a focus in teaching students with Autism and Severe Intellectual Disabilities in
the areas provided in subsections 4.1.5.1 through 4.1.5.5.

5.0 Application Requirements 

5.1 If an applicant is applying for an Initial License, a Standard Certificate must be applied for
simultaneously with the application for the Initial License, and the applicant shall also provide all
required documentation for the License.

5.2 The following documentation is required with the application for a Teacher of Students with Autism or
Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate:

5.2.1 Evidence of obtaining and maintaining an Exceptional Needs Specialist certificate from the
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, if applicable; and

5.2.2 Official transcript from the applicant's Regionally Accredited college or university.

5.2.2.1 Electronic transcripts may be submitted by the applicant's Employing Authority or
Regionally Accredited college or university; or

5.2.2.2 Sealed paper transcripts may be submitted by the applicant, the applicant's Employing
Authority, or the applicant's Regionally Accredited college or university.

5.2.2.3 The Department will not accept copies of transcripts; and

5.2.3 Evidence of completing the 15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development as provided
in subsections 4.1.5 and 4.1.6, if applicable; and

5.2.4 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.3 For applicants who have met the requirements for licensure and hold a Valid and Current License or
Certificate in teaching students with Autism or Severe Intellectual Disabilities, the following
documentation is required in the application for a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with
Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate:

5.3.1 An official copy of the Valid and Current License or Certificate; and

5.3.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

6.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate 

6.1 A Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate
is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder provided that the Educator's
License remains current and valid.

6.2 A Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate
is not subject to renewal.

7.0 Disciplinary Action

7.1 An Educator's Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities
Standard Certificate may be revoked, suspended, or limited for cause as provided in 14 DE Admin.
Code 1514 Limitation, Suspension, and Revocation of Licenses, Certificates, and Permits.

7.2 An Educator's Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities
Standard Certificate shall be revoked if the Educator's Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or
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Standard or Professional Status Certificate is revoked or the Educator made a materially false or
misleading statement in the Educator's application in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1222.

7.3 An Educator whose certificate is noticed for disciplinary action is entitled to a full and fair hearing
before the Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code
1515 Hearing Procedures and Rules.

8.0 Secretary of Education Review

The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of a local school district or charter school,
review credentials submitted in an application for a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with
Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate on an individual basis and grant such a Standard
Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the requirements for a Teacher of Students
with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate but whose
effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter school.

5.09.0 Past Certification Certificate Recognized

5.19.1 The Department shall recognize a Standard Teacher of the Autistic Child or Professional Status
Certificate issued by the Department between January 1, 1982 and August 31, 2005, if otherwise valid.
A teacher An Educator holding a Standard Teacher of the Autistic Child or a Professional Status
Certificate issued between January 1, 1982 and August 31, 2005 shall be considered certified to teach
classes for children with autism or severe intellectual disabilities instruct students with Autism or
Severe Intellectual Disabilities.

5.29.2 The Department shall recognize a Standard Certificate Teacher of Students with Autism or Students
with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate issued by the Department between September
1, 2005 and prior to the effective date of this regulation. A teacher An Educator holding such a
Standard Certificate Teacher of Students with Autism or Severe Disabilities issued between October 1,
2005 and the effective date of this regulation shall be considered certified to teach classes for children
with autism or severe intellectual disabilities instruct students with Autism or Severe Intellectual
Disabilities.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 311 and 2312 (18 Del.C. §§311 & 2312)
18 DE Admin. Code 902

PUBLIC NOTICE

902 Prohibited Unfair Claim Settlement Practices

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Re-proposal of amendments to Regulation 902 - Prohibited Unfair Claim Settlement Practices [Formerly

Regulation 26].

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
In the May 1, 2020 edition of the Register of Regulations, the Department published a proposal to update and

clarify requirements concerning prohibited unfair claim settlement practices that are set forth in Regulation 902
(see 23 DE Reg. 920 (05/01/2020)). In that proposal, the Department proposed adding new subsection 3.1.14,
which included a failure to promptly settle a claim as required under Regulation 903 as an unfair claim settlement
practice. The Department also took the opportunity of the proposal to make grammatical and formatting edits
throughout the regulation.

Upon further review, the Department has determined not to proceed with proposed new subsection 3.1.14 and
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is hereby withdrawing that proposal, as violations of Regulation 903 are already a defined unfair claims settlement
practice.

Instead, the Department proposes to add new subsection 3.2, which would specifically provide that three
instances of an insurer's commission of a prohibited claim settlement practice within a 36 month period, as listed in
subsection 1.2.1 (to be recodified at subsection 3.1), shall give rise to a rebuttable presumption that the insurer is in
violation of this regulation and 18 Del.C. §2304(16)f. The Department is again taking the opportunity of this re-
proposal to make grammatical and formatting edits throughout the regulation.

The Delaware Code authority for the regulation is 18 Del.C. §§311 and 2312.

C. Notice and Public Comment
The Department has determined to hold a virtual public hearing on the proposed amendments to Regulation

902 on Monday, June 22, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. The hearing will be facilitated through WebEx at https://
stateofdelaware.webex.com/stateofdelaware/j.php?MTID=mdc3082cf09b007a81f58a8a9886c92a1 meeting
number (access code): 712 562 634 and meeting password: wsES2uneP24.

Holding a virtual public meeting is specifically permitted by Paragraph 5 of the Declaration of a State of
Emergency for the State of Delaware due to a Public Health Threat issued by Governor John Carney on March 12,
2020 and extended without modification on April 10, 2020 and May 8, 2020. 

The proposed amendments appear below and may also be viewed at the Department of Insurance website at
http://insurance.delaware.gov/information/proposedregs/.

Any person may file written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other materials
concerning the proposed amendments to the regulation. Any written submission in response to this notice and
relevant to the proposed amendments must be received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m.

EST, the 7th day of July 2020. Any such requests and any questions concerning connecting to the public hearing
should be directed to:

Leslie W. Ledogar, Regulatory Specialist

Delaware Department of Insurance

ATTN: Docket 4259-2020

1351 West North Street, Suite 101

Dover, DE 19904

(302) 674-7379

Email:  Leslie.Ledogar@delaware.gov

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 997RFA 06-01-20.pdf

902 Prohibited Unfair Claim Settlement Practices [Formerly Regulation 26]

Claim Settlement Practices Which, When Committed Or Performed with Such Frequency as to Indicate a General 
Business Practice, Are Prohibited

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to set forth unfair claim settlement practices which, when committed or
performed with such frequency as to indicate a general business practice, are prohibited.

2.0 Authority

This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner pursuant to the authority granted by 18 Del.C. §§311 and
2312, and promulgated in accordance with the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.

1.0 3.0 Authority for Regulation; Basis for Regulation Prohibited Unfair Claims Settlement Practices
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1.1 18 Del.C. §314 authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to "...make reasonable rules and regulations
necessary for or as an aid to the administration or effectuation of any provision of this title."

1.2 18 Del.C. Ch. 23 entitled "Unfair Business Practices in the Insurance Business," 18 Del.C. §2304(16)
Unfair Claim Settlement Practices; 18 Del.C. §2304(17) Failure to Maintain Complaint Handling
Procedures; and 18 Del.C. §2304(18) Misrepresentation in Insurance Applications, provide the basis
for this regulation.

1.2.1 3.1 The Following Claim Settlement Practices When Committed or Performed following unfair claim
settlement practices when committed or performed with such Frequency frequency as to Indicate a
General Practice are Prohibited indicate a general business practice are prohibited:

1.2.1.1 3.1.1 Misrepresenting pertinent facts or insurance policy provisions relating to coverage at
issue.

1.2.1.2 3.1.2 Failing to acknowledge and respond within 15 working days, upon receipt by the insurer,
to communications with respect to claims by insureds arising under insurance policies.

1.2.1.3 3.1.3 Failing to implement prompt investigation of claims arising under insurance policies within
10 working days upon receipt of the notice of loss by the insurer.

1.2.1.4 3.1.4 Refusing to pay claims without conducting an investigation based upon all available
information when the notice of loss received by the insurer indicates that such an investigation is
necessary to properly determine such a denial of payment.

1.2.1.5 3.1.5 Failing to affirm or deny coverage or a claim or advise the person presenting the claim, in
writing, or other proper legal manner, of the reason for the inability to do so, within 30 days after
proof of loss statements have been received by the insurer.

1.2.1.6 3.1.6 Not attempting in good faith to effectuate prompt, fair and equitable settlement of claims in
which liability has become clear.

1.2.1.7 3.1.7 Compelling insureds to institute litigation to recover amounts due under an insurance
policy by offering substantially less than the amounts which they might be entitled to under normal
fair claims evaluations.

1.2.1.8 3.1.8 Attempting to settle a claim for less than the amount to which a reasonable man would
have believed he was entitled by reference to written or printed advertising material accompanying
or made part of an application.

1.2.1.9 3.1.9 Attempting to settle claims on the basis of an application which was altered without notice
to, or knowledge of the insured.

1.2.1.10 3.1.10 Making claims payments to insured or beneficiaries not accompanied by a statement
setting forth the coverage under which the payment has been made.

1.2.1.11 3.1.11 Delaying the investigation or payment of claims by requiring an insured, claimant, or the
physician of either to submit a preliminary claim report and then requiring the subsequent
submission of a formal proof of loss form, both of which submissions contain substantially the
same information, unless the formal proof of loss is required by law, prevailing rules, or the policy.

1.2.1.12 3.1.12Failing to promptly settle claims, where liability has become clear, under one portion of the
insurance policy coverage in order to influence settlements under other portions of the insurance
policy coverage.

1.2.1.13 3.1.13 Failing when requested to promptly provide an explanation of the basis in the insurance
policy in relation to facts or applicable law for denial of a claim or for the offer of a compromise
settlement. Such explanation may be made verbally but when given, must be documented in the
claims file.

3.2 Within a 36-month period, three instances of an insurer's commission of a prohibited unfair claim
settlement practice, as set forth in subsection 3.1 of this regulation, shall give rise to a rebuttable
presumption that the insurer is in violation of this regulation and 18 Del.C. §2304(16)f.

2.0 4.0 Violations; Penalties
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2.1 Failure to comply will subject the violators to the provisions of 18 Del.C. §1732 (c)(2) and 18 Del.C.
§2307(a) 18 Del.C. §§1712, 2307(a) and 2308, which deals deal with hearings, license revocation,
suspension or fine for non-compliance of any regulation.

3.0 5.0 Severability

If any provision of this Regulation shall be held invalid, the remainder of the Regulation shall not be
affected thereby.

4.0 6.0 Effective Date

This Regulation shall become became effective August 1, 1977. The amendments to this Regulation
shall become effective ten (10) days after publication of the final order adopting the amendments.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, Sections 3122 and 3317(a) (19 Del.C. §§3122 & 
3317(a))

19 DE Admin. Code 1202

PUBLIC NOTICE

1202 Unemployment Insurance Regulations

The Delaware Department of Labor, Division of Unemployment Insurance proposes this revised regulation in
accordance with Sections 3122 and 3317(a) of Title 19 of the Delaware Code to establish procedures for
employers to provide notice to claimants at the time the individual becomes unemployed of their rights to file an
unemployment claim.

The Delaware Department of Labor, Division of Unemployment Insurance solicits written comments from the
public concerning the proposed revised regulation. Any such comments should be submitted to the Director of the
Division of Unemployment Insurance, Darryl Scott, by mail to: Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance, P.O.
Box 9950, Wilmington, DE 19809-0950, or by email to: Darryl.Scott@delaware.gov. Written comments must be
received by Mr. Scott on or before July 1, 2020 to be considered prior to the adoption of the proposed revised
regulation. Copies of the proposed revised regulation are available upon request.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 1000RFA 06-01-20.pdf

1202 Unemployment Insurance Regulations

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Posting of Placards and Notice to Employee Required in all Separations

5.1 Every employer subject to the provisions of Part III Title 19, Delaware Code, shall post and maintain
printed notices to his employees informing them that he is covered by Part III, Title 19, Delaware
Code, and has been so registered by the Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance. Such
notices shall be in the form prescribed by the Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance (Form
UC-6), of such design and in such numbers as prescribed by the Delaware Division of Unemployment
Insurance, and shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the plant, shop, office, room, or place where
employees are employed and where they may readily be seen by them. No such notice shall be
posted by any person, employing unit, or employer who has not complied with the provisions of Part III,
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Title 19, Delaware Code, and to whom an unemployment insurance account number has not been
assigned by the Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance, or who, in accordance with the
provisions of the Delaware Code, has ceased to be an employer as defined in the Delaware Code.

5.2 Each employer shall deliver to each employee separated from its employ (permanently, for an
indefinite period or for an expected duration of 7 days or more) at the time of such separation, or, if in
person delivery is impossible or impracticable, shall mail to such employee's last known address,
within 24 hours, a copy of Form UC-300, which shall instruct such former employee how to file a claim
for unemployment benefits and how to contact the Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance with
questions about unemployment benefits.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1202 Unemployment Insurance Regulations

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 901(b), (c) and (d); 903(a) and (b); 903(e)(2)a.4; 
and 903(e)(2)b.3, 4 and 6) (7 Del.C. §§901(b), (c) and (d); 903(a) & (b); 903(e)(2)a.4; & 

903(e)(2)b.3, 4 & 6)
7 DE Admin. Code 3503 & 3504

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN # 2020-04

Hearing Docket No.: 2020-R-F-015

3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Seasons; Methods of Take; Creel Limit; Possession Limit
3504 Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Amend 7 DE Admin. Code 3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Seasons; Methods of Take; Creel Limit;

Possession Limit and 7 DE Admin. Code 3504 Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions.

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
The mandatory provisions of the Atlantic States Fisheries Commission’s (ASMFC’s) Addendum VI to

Amendment 6 to the Atlantic Striped Bass Interstate Fishery Management Plan require a coastwide 18% reduction
in striped bass removals (landings + discard mortality). The ASMFC adopted specific, prescribed coastwide
management measures to meet the required 18% reduction, but these measures are not preferred for Delaware.
Delaware developed two management options that were approved by the ASMFC that, if implemented by the
Department, would be equivalent to the specific coastwide management measures in Addendum VI. The first
option results in a 1.8% reduction in commercial removals and a 20.4% reduction in recreational removals. The
second option results in an 18% reduction in commercial removals and an 18.18% reduction in recreational
removals.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
N/A

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
7 Del.C. §901 (b), (c) & (d); §903 (a) & (b); §903 (e)(2)a.4; §903 (e)(2)b.3, 4 & 6
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5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
N/A

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The hearing record on the proposed changes to 7 DE Admin. Code 3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing

Seasons; Methods of Take; Creel Limit; Possession Limit and 7 DE Admin. Code 3504 Striped Bass Possession
Size Limit; Exceptions opens June 1, 2020 (Hearing Docket No. 2020-R-F-015). Individuals may submit comments
regarding the proposed new regulation to the Hearing Officer via the online comment form at https://
dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/public-hearings/comment-form/, via email to DNRECHearingComments@delaware.gov,
or via USPS to Theresa Newman, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE, 19901. Public
comments will be received until close of business July 10, 2020.

A virtual public hearing on the proposed amendment will be held on Thursday, June 25, 2020 beginning at 6:00
PM. For additional information on this proposed regulatory promulgation, visit https://de.gov/dnrechearings. Please
note that live comments will not be accepted during the virtual hearing.

7. PREPARED BY:
John H. Clark
Email:  John.Clark@delaware.gov
Ph: (302)739-9914

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 1001RFA 06-01-20.pdf

3500 Tidal Finfish
Bass (Striped Bass; Black Sea Bass)

3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Seasons; Methods of Take; Creel Limit; Possession Limit.

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 It is lawful for any person to take and reduce to possession striped bass from the tidal waters of this
State at any time except as otherwise set forth in this regulation or in Tidal Finfish Regulations 3502
and 3504.

2.0 It is unlawful for any recreational fisherman to take or attempt to take any striped bass from the tidal
waters of this State with any fishing equipment other than a hook and line or a spear while said
recreational fisherman using the spear is underwater. Recreational gill net permittees are not
authorized to take and reduce to possession any striped bass in gill nets.

3.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it is unlawful for any recreational fisherman to take and reduce to
possession more than two (2) one striped bass per day (a day being 24 hours) from the tidal waters of
this State. Any striped bass taken from the tidal waters of this State that is not immediately returned,
without unnecessary injury, to the same waters from which it was taken, is deemed taken and reduced
to possession for purposes of this subsection.

4.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it is unlawful for any recreational fisherman to have in possession more
than two (2) one striped bass at or between the place said striped bass was taken and said
fisherman's personal abode or temporary or transient place of lodging.

5.0 Notwithstanding 7 Del.C. §943, which only relates to commercial fishermen, it is lawful for a
recreational fisherman to possess striped bass that have not been tagged, unless otherwise
prohibited.

3504 Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions.

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 Notwithstanding, the provisions of 7 Del.C. §929(b)(1), it is unlawful for any recreational fisherman to
take and reduce to possession any striped bass that measures less than twenty-eight (28) 28 inches in
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total length or any striped bass that measures greater than thirty-seven (37) or equal to [TBD from
Table] inches in total length but less than forty-four (44) inches in total length, except that a
recreational hook and line fisherman may only take two (2) one striped bass measuring not less than
twenty (20) 20 inches in total length and not greater than twenty-five (25) 25 inches in total length from
the Delaware River, Delaware Bay, or their tributaries during the months of July and August.

Table. Legal recreational striped bass lengths options in
proposed amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code §3504 (1.0).

2.0 Notwithstanding, the provisions of 7 Del.C. §929(b)(1), it is unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any striped bass that measure less than twenty-eight (28)
28 inches in total length from the tidal waters of this State except that commercial gill net fishermen
may take striped bass measuring no less than twenty (20) 20 inches in total length from the tidal
waters of the Delaware River and Delaware Bay or their tributaries during the period from February 15
through May 31 or from the tidal waters of the Nanticoke River or its tributaries during the period from
February 15 through the month of March 31.

3.0 It is unlawful for any person to possess a striped bass except in accordance with Section 1.0 or 2.0 of
this section or unless said striped bass is in one or more of the following categories:

3.1 It has affixed a valid strap tag issued by the Department to a commercial food fisherman and was
legally taken and tagged by said commercial food fisherman; or

3.2 It was legally landed in another state for commercial purposes and has affixed a valid tag issued
by said state's marine fishery authority; or

3.3 It entered Delaware packed or contained for shipment, either fresh or frozen, and accompanied by
a bill-of-lading with a destination to a state other than Delaware; or

3.4 It was legally taken and reduced to possession in another state for noncommercial purposes by
the person in possession of said striped bass and there is affixed to either the striped bass or the
container in which the striped bass is contained a tag that depicts the name and address of the
person landing said striped bass and the date, location, and state in which said striped bass was
landed; or

3.5 It is the product of a legal aquaculture operation and the person in possession has a written bill of
sale or receipt for said striped bass.

4.0 It is unlawful for any commercial finfisherman to possess any striped bass for which the total length
has been altered in any way prior to selling, trading or bartering said striped bass.

5.0 The words "land" and "landed" shall mean to put or cause to go on shore from a vessel.

6.0 The words “take and reduce to possession” shall mean the removal of any striped bass from Delaware
waters with the intent to keep or harvest the striped bass.

7.0 It is unlawful for a commercial finfisherman authorized to fish during Delaware's commercial striped
bass fishery to land any striped bass that measures less than twenty (20) 20 inches in total length.

Option
Minimum Length 

(inches)
Length not to be equaled 

or exceeded (inches)

1 28 35

2 28 38
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1900 BOARD OF NURSING

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Sections 1904(c) and 1934(a)(1) (24 Del.C. 1904(c) & 
1934(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 1900

PUBLIC NOTICE

1900 Board of Nursing

The Delaware Board of Nursing, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1904(c) and 1934(a)(1), proposes to revise its
regulations to update its regulations pertaining to APRN Education Programs in Delaware. There are currently no
regulations setting forth the requirements or guidelines for such programs, so the Board is proposing new
regulations to do so. The proposed changes also strike redundant or unnecessary regulations or make changes to
comply with current law and practice.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation changes on July 8, 2020 at 9:00 a.m., Second
Floor Conference Room A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments should be
sent to Dr. Pamela Zickafoose, Executive Director of the Delaware Board of Nursing, Cannon Building, 861 Silver
Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments will be accepted until July 23, 2020 pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§10118(a).

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 1004RFA 06-01-20.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1900 Board of Nursing

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 315(d) (26 Del.C. §315(d))

PUBLIC NOTICE

8003 Natural Gas Service Reliability and System Planning Standards

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Public Service Commission ("Commission") proposes to issue regulations governing distribution
system planning for natural gas public utilities.

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION OF THE 
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION STAFF AND 
DELAWARE DIVISION OF THE PUBLIC 
ADVOCATE TO ESTABLISH A REGULATION 
FOR DISTRIBUTION SYSTEM INVESTMENT 
PLANS FOR DELAWARE ELECTRIC AND 
NATURAL GAS UTILITIES (Filed July 2, 2018)

PSC DOCKET NO. 18-0935
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You can review the proposed regulations in the June 1, 2020 Delaware Register of Regulations. You can also
review the Order and the proposed regulations in the Commission's electronic filing system DelaFile at http://
delafile.delaware.gov/ and for docket number input 18-0935. If you wish to obtain written copies of the Order and
proposed regulations, please contact the Commission at (302) 736-7500. Copies in excess of the first 20 pages are
$0.10 per page. Payment is expected at the time of copying (if you wish the copies to be mailed) or at the time the
copies are retrieve (if you wish to retrieve them in person).

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), written comments on the proposed regulations will be accepted until
Wednesday, July 1, 2020. They can be filed electronically in DelaFile at http://delafile.delaware.gov/ by
completing the Public Comment form located under Public Links. Written comments can also be mailed to Matthew
Hartigan, Public Service Commission, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 100, Dover, DE 19904, or emailed to him
at matthew.hartigan@delaware.gov with the subject line "Docket No. 18-0935".

ORDER NO. 9570

AND NOW, this 22nd day of April 2020, the Delaware Public Service Commission determines and Orders as
follows:

WHEREAS, On June 14, 2018, Governor John Carney signed into law Senate Substitute No. 1 for Senate Bill
80, which established a Distribution System Improvement Charge ("DSIC") for electric and natural gas companies
in Delaware. While the bill was making its way through the General Assembly, the Commission Staff ("Staff"), the
Delaware Division of the Public Advocate ("DPA"), and Delmarva Power & Light Company ("Delmarva") executed a
Memorandum of Understanding ("MOU") on April 14, 2018 providing that:

Delmarva Power, the Public Advocate and Commission Staff agree to work together to develop a
proposal to submit to the Commission concerning enhanced distribution system planning.
Delmarva, DPA and Staff will work in good faith to provide recommendations and to submit any
proposals for review and approval to the Commission by September 1, 2019. The first meeting will
take place by July 31, 2018. In addition, by no later than March 31, 2019, Delmarva, DPA and Staff
will provide the Commission with an update on their progress; and

WHEREAS, on May 1, 2018, Chesapeake Utilities Corporation ("Chesapeake") agreed to participate in the
meetings among Delmarva, the DPA and Staff; and

WHEREAS, on July 2, 2018, Staff and the DPA jointly filed a petition requesting the Commission to open a
docket to examine electric and natural gas utilities' distribution infrastructure spending and establish regulations for
distribution system planning to apply to all electric, natural gas, and Class A water utilities; and

WHEREAS, in Order No. 9242 (July 10, 2018), the Commission directed Staff to commence duly noticed
working group meetings for interested electric and natural gas utility stakeholders (including Delmarva and

Chesapeake)1 and to provide recommendations and proposed regulations for the Commission's review and
approval by September 1, 2019; and

WHEREAS, on August 13, 2019, the DPA filed an unopposed motion to extend the deadline for submitting
proposed electric distribution planning regulations to October 22, 2019, and the deadline for submitting proposed
natural gas distribution planning regulations to the date of the Commission's second meeting in January 2020; and

WHEREAS, the Commission granted the requested extensions in Order No. 9444 dated August 20, 2019; and
WHEREAS, on December 17, 2019, the DPA filed an unopposed motion with the Commission to extend the

deadline for submitting natural gas distribution planning regulations to the Commission from January 2020 to April
22, 2020, in which the DPA represented that Staff, Delmarva, and Chesapeake had met since August 20, 2019 to
discuss Chesapeake's and Delmarva's natural gas distribution planning and proposed regulations regarding
distribution planning, but that the parties would not be able to propose natural gas distribution planning regulations

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION OF THE 
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION STAFF AND 
DELAWARE DIVISION OF THE PUBLIC 
ADVOCATE TO ESTABLISH A REGULATION 
FOR DISTRIBUTION SYSTEM INVESTMENT 
PLANS FOR DELAWARE ELECTRIC AND 
NATURAL GAS UTILITIES (Filed July 2, 2018)

PSC DOCKET NO. 18-0935
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to the Commission by the January 2020 deadline; and
WHEREAS, the Commission granted an extension for submitting proposed natural gas distribution planning

regulations to April 22, 2020 in Order No. 9529 dated January 8, 2020; and
WHEREAS, on April 13, 2020, Staff and the DPA filed a Motion Seeking Approval to Publish Natural Gas

Distribution Planning Regulations (the "Motion"), in which they represented that the discussions among them and
the natural gas utilities had reached an impasse, and requested the Commission to approve the publication of
proposed natural gas distribution planning regulations in the Delaware Register of Regulations; and

WHEREAS, at its regularly scheduled meeting on April 22, 2020, the Commission considered the Motion and
heard from representatives of Staff, the DPA, and the natural gas utilities; and

WHEREAS, the Commission conducted its deliberations on the Motion in open session; 

NOW, THEREFORE, BY THE AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF NO FEWER THAN THREE 
COMMISSIONERS, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. The Motion is GRANTED.
2. That the proposed regulations attached hereto as Exhibit A are approved for publication.
3. That pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 and 10115(a), the Commission Secretary shall transmit to the Registrar

of Regulations for publication in the June 2020 Register of Regulations a copy of this order and the proposed
regulations.

4. That the Commission Secretary shall publish, in the manner described below, the Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking attached as Exhibit B. Such notice shall be published in the News Journal, the Delaware State News,
and the Cape Gazette by June 1, 2020. The notice shall also be sent to the Delaware Registrar of Regulations for
publication on June 1, 2020 in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

5. That pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§ 10115(a) and 10116, the Commission allows persons or entities to submit
written comments on or before Wednesday, July 1, 2020.

6. That the Commission reserves jurisdiction and authority to enter such further orders as may be deemed
necessary or proper.
_________________

  1The Commission did not require the Class A water utilities to participate in the working group meetings for
purposes of drafting distribution planning regulations.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 1004aRFA 06-01-20.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

8003 Natural Gas Service Reliability and System Planning Standards

Dallas Winslow, Chairman

Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner

Manubhai C. Karia, Commissioner

ATTEST: Donna Nickerson, Secretary
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 23, ISSUE 12, MONDAY, JUNE 1, 2020

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 1004a 06-01-20.htm
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 1004aRFA 06-01-20.pdf


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1007
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 8404(8); (29 Del.C. §8404(8))
2 DE Admin. Code 2404

PUBLIC NOTICE

2404 Delaware Traffic Calming Design Manual

Pursuant to the authority provided by 29 Del. C. §8404(8), the Delaware Department of Transportation
(DelDOT), adopted the 2404 Delaware Traffic Calming Design Manual. 

The Department, through its Division of Transportation Solutions (“DelDOT”), seeks to repeal Section 2404 of
Title 2 of the Delaware Administrative Code. The regulation covers the design and study guidelines for traffic
calming devices/applications by the Department of Transportation. Based on current operating procedures, this
regulation is no longer necessary and can be repealed.

Public Comment Period

DelDOT will take written comments on these proposed general revisions to Section 2404 of Title 2, Delaware
Administrative Code, from June 1, 2020 through July 1, 2020. The public may submit their comments to:

Peter Haag, Chief of Traffic Engineering, Traffic Engineering Section

(peter.haag@delaware.gov) or in writing to his attention,

Delaware Department of Transportation

169 Brick Store Landing Road

Smyrna, DE 19977

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/23 DE Reg 1007RFA 06-01-20.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

Delaware Traffic Calming Design Manual

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/proposed/DETCM.pdf

(Adobe Acrobat Reader required)
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued. [Bracketed bold stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published
in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all
written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries
of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be
adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief summary of
the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and
information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or repealed; (5) The
effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which the agency has
authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from
the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register
of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Chapter 11 (14 Del.C. Ch. 11)
14 DE Admin. Code 240

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

240 Recruiting and Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch. 11, the Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to
repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 240 Recruiting and Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas.
The Department has reviewed the regulation in order to comply with 29 Del.C. §10407 which requires regulations
to be reviewed on a recurring basis every four years and concluded that the regulation should be repealed as the
content of this regulation is covered in other Department regulations and this regulation is no longer needed.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
February 1, 2020, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". No comments were received.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 240 Recruiting and Training of
Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas in order to be in compliance with 29 Del.C. §10407 which
requires regulations to be reviewed on a recurring basis every four years and concluded that the regulation should
be repealed as the content of this regulation is covered in other Department regulations and this regulation is no
longer needed.
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FINAL REGULATIONS 1009
III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 240
Recruiting and Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§122, 14 DE Admin. Code 240 Recruiting and Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas
attached hereto as Exhibit "B" is hereby repealed. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin.
Code 240 Recruiting and Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas hereby repealed shall be
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 240 Recruiting and Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular
Areas in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "B" is hereby repealed.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on April 23, 2020.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 23th day of April 2020.

Department of Education
Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 23th day of April 2020

State Board of Education

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

240 Recruiting and Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas

The programs shall be administered in accordance with 14 Del.C. Ch. 11, and the following rules and
regulations pursuant to the appropriation of funds in the annual Budget Bill.

1.0 Designation of Critical Curricular Areas

Annually, on a date not later than the July meeting of the State Board of Education, the Secretary of Education
shall present a recommendation to the State Board on the Critical Curricular Areas to be addressed during that
fiscal year. This recommendation will be based upon supply and demand information obtained from local school
districts and from state and national sources.

2.0 Allocation of Funds

Annually, on a date not later than the July meeting of the State Board of Education, the Secretary of Education
shall present a recommendation to the State Board of Education on the preliminary allocation of funds among the
five programs authorized by Chapter 11. Final allocations will be based upon the total appropriation for that fiscal
year and the number of eligible applicants for the five programs.

/s/ Whitney Townsend Sweeney, President /s/ Nina Lou Bunting

/s/ Audrey J. Noble, Ph.D., Vice President /s/ Wali W. Rushdan, II

/s/ Candace Fifer /s/ Provey Powell, Jr.

/s/ Vincent Lofink
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3.0 Applications

All applicants for funds under any of the five programs shall be required to complete an application on a form
prescribed by the Department of Education and shall be required to provide whatever information and documents
the Department determines are necessary for the effective and efficient management of the programs.

4.0 Academic Year Institute

The Academic Year Institute is an ongoing program specifically designed to meet certification requirements in
the critical areas of teacher shortage as determined by the  Department of Education.  This is a part time program
which shall be offered during the regular school year.  Participants will register for a maximum of three semester
hours of graduate or undergraduate college courses per semester. The Institute will be sponsored by the
Department of Education and will be located at the University of Delaware and/or Delaware State University.

4.1 Eligibility

4.1.1 The candidate shall be employed as a teacher in the public schools of Delaware or in another
State agency offering secondary education programs.

4.1.2 The candidate shall submit a completed application and other documentation and information by
the specified closing date for application.

4.1.3 The candidate shall express an intent to enroll in a course or courses which will lead to certification
in one or more of the critical curricular areas.

4.2 Financial Aid

4.2.1 Academic Year Institute participants shall receive full support for tuition, textbooks, laboratory fees
and mileage for approved courses.

4.2.2 Depending upon the institution and the course or courses in which the participant is enrolled, the
Department of Education shall either make direct payment to the institution for tuition and
laboratory fees or will reimburse the participant for costs upon receipt of proper documentation of
the participant's expenses.

4.2.3 The Department of Education shall reimburse the participant for expenditures for textbooks and
mileage upon receipt of a completed personal reimbursement form.

4.3 Selection Procedures

4.3.1 Participants shall be selected competitively from the eligible applicants for the program within the
limits of the funds authorized for the program.

4.3.2 An application review panel, composed of Department of Education staff members, shall meet
twice each year after the close of the application period for each semester to review applications
and select participants.

5.0 Summer Inservice Program (Summer Institute)

The Summer Institute Program is a summer program specifically designed to meet certification requirements in
the critical areas of teacher shortage as determined by the Department of Education. The program will be offered
during a six week period in the summer beginning not later than the last week in June. Participants shall register for
a minimum of six semester hours of graduate and undergraduate credit in a specifically designed program focused
on building skills and knowledge in the critical curricular areas. The Summer Institute, modeled after the National
Science Foundation format, shall be sponsored by the Department of Education and will be located at the
University of Delaware and/or Delaware State University.

5.1 Eligibility

5.1.1 The candidate shall be employed as a teacher in the public schools of Delaware or in another
State agency offering secondary education programs.

5.1.2 The candidate shall not be currently certifiable in the critical curricular area being addressed by the
Summer Institute for which application is made.

5.1.3 The candidate shall submit a completed application and other required information and
documentation by the closing date for application.
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5.1.4 The candidate shall express an interest and intent to pursue certification in one or more of the
critical curricular areas for which he or she is not currently certifiable.

5.1.5 The candidate shall submit a letter of recommendation from the Superintendent or an appropriate
supervisor of the candidate's school district or agency.

5.2 Financial Aid

5.2.1 Summer Institute participants shall receive full support for tuition, textbooks, and laboratory fees.
Depending on the institution and the program in which the participant is enrolled, the  Department
of Education shall either make direct payment to the institution for these costs or shall reimburse
the participant upon receipt of proper documentation of the participant's expenses.

5.2.2 The participants shall also receive a stipend as determined by the Department of Education. This
stipend shall be paid by the Department of Education to the participant upon receipt of notification
from the institution that the participant successfully completed all courses taken with a minimum
grade of "C".

5.3 Selection Procedures

5.3.1 Participants shall be selected competitively from the eligible applicants for the program within the
limits of the funds authorized for the program.

5.3.2 An application review panel, composed of Department of Education staff members, shall meet
annually after the close of the application period to review applications and select participants.

6.0 Program For Persons From Other Professions Who Will Prepare To Teach

This program is designed to provide financial assistance to persons from other professions who possess the
training and skills to teach in the critical curricular areas of teacher shortage as determined by the Department of
Education but who lack the professional education courses required to qualify for a standard certificate.
Participants shall be permitted to enroll in the institution of higher education of their choice and shall be reimbursed
for the tuition costs, within limits specified below, for up to six semester hours of credit per semester.

6.1 Eligibility

6.1.1 The candidate shall be a resident of the State of Delaware.

6.1.2 The candidate shall have a graduate or undergraduate degree from an accredited institution of
higher education in a field related to one or more of the critical curriculum areas.

6.1.3 The candidate shall first submit official transcripts to the Department of Education for evaluation.

6.1.4 Candidates who lack no more than six semester credits of coursework from meeting the content
area requirements in one or more of the critical curriculum areas shall be invited to apply for
participation in the program.

6.1.5 The candidate shall submit a completed application form and must express an interest and intent
to pursue certification.

6.1.6 The candidate shall submit a plan outlining educational plans, including a timeline, to complete the
professional education courses needed to obtain certification.

6.2 Financial Aid

6.2.1 The participant shall receive financial support for tuition costs for up to six semester hours of credit
per semester.

6.2.2 The participant may receive assistance for a maximum of thirty semester credits of professional
education courses but must update his or her application and receive approval in advance each
semester.

6.2.3 The participant shall be reimbursed for tuition costs in an amount not greater than the tuition
charged a Delaware resident by the University of Delaware for a course or courses of equal credit
value.

6.2.4 The Department of Education shall reimburse the participant upon receipt of proper
documentation of the participant's expenses and upon receipt of notification from the institution
that the participant successfully completed the courses for which reimbursement is requested with
a minimum grade of "C".
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6.3 Selection Procedures

6.3.1 An application review panel, composed of Department of Education staff members shall meet on
an as needed basis to review applications and select participants.

6.3.2 Participants shall be selected from eligible applicants on a first come basis, except that applicants
approved for one semester will be given preference in future semesters until they complete their
educational requirements, use their total eligibility, or are unsuccessful in achieving the minimum
grade of "C" in approved courses.

6.3.3 Participants shall be limited and the approval process will be terminated when authorized funds for
this program in any fiscal year have been allocated.

7.0 Teacher Scholarship Loan Programs

The Teacher Scholarship Loan Program is designed to meet certification requirements in the critical areas of
teacher shortage as determined by the Department of Education. This is a full time program offered during the
regular school year. As a minimum, participants shall register for the number of semester hours required of a full
time student.

7.1 Eligibility

7.1.1 The candidate shall have taught in a Delaware public school for at least one year prior to the year
in which the scholarship is to be used.

7.1.2 The candidate shall be employed as a teacher in a Delaware public school and/or must be a
resident of the State of Delaware at the time of application.

7.1.3 The candidate shall express an interest and intent to pursue certification in one or more of the
critical curricular areas identified by the Department of Education.

7.1.4 The candidate shall hold a standard Delaware teaching certificate but must not be currently
certifiable in the critical curricular area specified in 7.1.3 above.

7.1.5 The candidate shall submit a completed application and other documentation and information by
the specified closing date for application.

7.1.6 The candidate shall, if currently employed, have prior approval from his or her employing local
district board of education.

7.1.7 The candidate shall be accepted into an approved program in an institution of higher education
leading to certification in the critical curriculum area specified in 7.1.3 above.

7.2 Financial Aid

7.2.1 Teacher Scholarship Loan Program participant shall receive a scholarship in an amount equal to
the salary he or she would receive for service as a teacher, as specified in 14 Del.C. Ch. 13.

7.2.2 A participant, who was employed by a Delaware public school district in the year prior to receipt of
the scholarship and who is on leave of absence during the year of the scholarship, shall continue
to receive all State supported employee benefits through a grant from the Department of
Education to the employing district. (Such participants shall be considered to be on sabbatical
leave and for purposes of salary increments and pension eligibility and computation, a year of
leave shall be considered a year of experience as provided in 14 Del.C.  §1325(9).

7.2.3 A participant may receive a local salary supplement and local employee benefits if the employing
district elects to provide them at the expense of the employing district.

7.2.4 A district shall also be eligible to receive an interest free loan, in an amount to be determined by
the Department of Education, which the participant may use to defray the cost of tuition and books.
The actual amount of the loan will be dependent upon estimated costs of these two items and
other financial resources available to the participant.

7.2.5 Participants receiving a loan shall execute a promissory note, in the amount of the loan, to the
State Treasurer. This note will be forgiven at the rate of one third of the loan for each of three
years of teaching in a Delaware public school after completion of the study authorized. In any year
the teacher fails to meet the teaching obligation, the loan shall be due and payable for the unpaid
balance plus interest specified in the note.
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7.3 Selection Procedures

7.3.1 Participants shall be selected competitively from the eligible applicants for the program within the
limits of the funds authorized for the program.

7.3.2 The applicant review panel, composed of Department of Education staff members, shall meet
once each year at the close of the application period to review applications.

8.0 Student Loan Program

The Student Loan Program is for Delaware residents who are accepted into an institution of higher learning to
be trained as a teacher in the critical area of teacher shortage as determined by the Department of Education. A
student selected for the program may attend any accredited college or university in the United States where the
appropriate training will result in certification as a teacher for a critical area of teacher shortage as determined by
the Department of Education.

8.1 Eligibility

8.1.1 The candidate shall have been a Delaware resident for a period of one year at the time of
application.

8.1.2 The candidate shall have Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) scores of 500 verbal and 500
quantitative.  Candidates already in a college or university program must be maintaining a "C"
average or better in courses in the critical curriculum areas.

8.1.3 The candidate shall have been admitted to an accredited college or university program directed
toward certification in a critical curricular area as determined by the Department of Education.

8.1.4 The candidate shall submit a completed application and other documentation and information by
the specified date for application.

8.2 Financial Aid

8.2.1 Student Loan Program participants shall receive a loan, the amount to be determined by the
Department of Education, for one year's study, less scholarship aid available from other sources.

8.2.2 The loan may be renewed from year to year through a four year training program.

8.2.3 Participants in the Student Loan Program shall execute a promissory note, in the amount of the
loan, to the State Treasurer. The entire note will be forgiven on the basis of two years of teaching
in a Delaware public school in a critical curriculum area for each year of loan granted.

8.2.4 Each year of the loan will be interest free to those who meet the two year teaching obligation for
each year of loan granted.

8.2.5 In the event that the participant does not graduate, does not continue to study in the critical
curriculum area, or does not meet the teaching obligation, the entire loan, with interest specified by
the State Treasurer, shall be due and payable.  Payment of the note and interest shall be in
accordance with the time schedule specified in the note.

8.2.5.1 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1108(b) an exception may be made to 8.2.5 of this regulation in
that the loan may be forgiven by the Secretary of Education if it is determined that the
recipient is unable to meet his or her payment obligation because of total and permanent
disability or death. For purposes of this regulation, total and permanent disability shall
mean the loan recipient is unable to work and earn money because of an injury or illness
that is expected to continue indefinitely or result in death. In order to qualify for this
exception the loan recipient must provide documentation that has been completed, signed
and certified by a licensed doctor of medicine or doctor of osteopathy with the following
information:

“I certify, in my best professional judgment, the loan recipient _____  is unable to work and earn
money because of an injury or illness that is expected to continue indefinitely or result in death. I
understand that any recipient able currently or in the future to work and earn money, even on a lim-
ited basis, is not considered to have a Total or Permanent Disability.
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I am a (check one) ___ doctor of medicine ___ doctor of osteopathy legally authorized to practice
in the state of ___________ and my professional license number issued by that state is
________________.
__________________ _________________ _________
Physician’s signature     Name (printed)     Date
_________________________________
Address City, State, Zip
(___)________________________”

Telephone

In the case of death, a surviving family member must provide a certified copy of the death certificate.

8.3 Selection Procedures

8.3.1 Participants shall be selected competitively from the eligible applicants for the program within the
limits of the funds authorized for the program.

8.3.2 The applicant review panel, composed of Department of Education staff members, shall meet
twice each year at the close of the application period for each semester to review applications.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 2005 (14 Del.C. §2005)
14 DE Admin. Code 410

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

410 Satellite School Agreements

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §2005, the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 410 Satellite

School Agreements. The Department has reviewed the regulation to comply with 29 Del.C. §10407, which requires
regulations to be reviewed on a recurring basis every four years, and concluded that the regulation needs to be
updated to only make grammatical or other corrections per the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style
Manual.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and Delaware State News on March 1,
2020, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No comments were received for the proposed regulation.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS
The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 410 Satellite School Agreements in

order to comply with 29 Del.C. §10407, which requires regulations to be reviewed on a recurring basis every four
years, and concluded that the regulation needs to be updated to only make grammatical or other corrections per
the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 410

Satellite School Agreements. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 410 Satellite School
Agreements attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14
DE Admin. Code 410 Satellite School Agreements hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years
from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 410 Satellite School Agreements amended hereby shall be in the form

attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 410 Satellite School
Agreements in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.
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V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §2005 on May 11,

2020. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 11th day of May 2020.

Department of Education
Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 11th day of May 2020

410 Satellite School Agreements

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to outline the process for the establishment of a satellite school as
allowable in 14 Del.C. §2005.

2.0 Definitions

"Charter School school" shall mean means a school established pursuant to Chapter 5 of Title 14 of
the Delaware Code.

“Charter School Satellite School Agreement school satellite school agreement” shall mean
means the contract between a Charter School charter school and the private sector or governmental
employer for the operation of a Satellite School satellite school. The agreement form shall be in a
format established and approved by the Department. The contract shall, at a minimum, be consistent
with the provisions of 14 Del.C. Chapter 5 and 14 Del.C. §2005. A Charter School charter school
authorized by a Local School District local school district shall only establish a Satellite School satellite
school arrangement within the authorizer's school district boundaries.

"Department" shall mean means the Delaware Department of Education.

"Local School District Satellite School Agreement school district satellite school agreement"
shall mean means the contract between the Local School District local school district and the private
sector or governmental employer for the operation of a Satellite School satellite school that has been
approved by the local school district board of education. The Local School District local school district
shall be responsible for the development of the agreement form. A local school district shall only
establish a Satellite School satellite school arrangement within the school district's boundaries.

"Local School District school district" shall mean means mean a reorganized school district or
vocational technical school district established pursuant to 14 Del.C. Chapter 10.

"Satellite School school" shall mean means a public school that operates in physical facilities leased
from, donated by or located on property that is owned or leased by a private sector or governmental
employer which is not the school district or charter school operating the satellite school.

3.0 Charter School Application for Approval Process

3.1 A Charter School seeking approval for the operation of a Satellite School shall make the application to
the Office of the Secretary, Department of Education. The Charter School shall provide to the Office of
the Secretary a copy of the proposed Charter School Satellite School Agreement and any additional
information required pursuant to this regulation. An application for the establishment of a Satellite
School by a Charter School shall be considered a major modification of the existing charter and shall
follow the procedures as outlined in 14 DE Admin. Code 275, Section 9.0. Provided further, the
Charter School shall, at a minimum, meet the following requirements:
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3.1.1 The Satellite School facilities shall be subject to the same health and safety codes and building
codes, in accordance with the local code enforcement entity, as required by other public school
facilities; and

3.1.2 The enrollment preferences shall be consistent with 14 Del.C. §506(b) and with any additional
considerations as prescribed in 14 Del.C. §2005(c).

3.2 Upon receipt of the documentation in subsection 3.1 of this regulation, the Department shall cause a
review of the plans or inspection of the proposed facilities to be conducted by appropriate Department
staff to determine the adequacy of the facilities for the intended educational purpose.

3.3 Approval by the Department shall require the assent of both the Secretary of Education and the State
Board of Education. The decision shall be considered final and not subject to appeal.

4.0 School District Application for Approval Process

4.1 A Local School District seeking approval for the operation of a Satellite School shall make the
application to the Office of the Secretary, Delaware Department of Education. The Local School District
shall provide to the Office of the Secretary a copy of the Local School District Satellite School
Agreement that has been first approved by the local school board and any additional information
required pursuant to this regulation. Provided further, the Local School District Satellite School
Agreement criteria shall, at a minimum, meet the following requirements:

4.1.1 The Satellite School facilities shall be subject to the same health and safety codes and building
codes, in accordance with the local code enforcement entity, as required by other public school
facilities; and

4.1.2 The enrollment considerations shall be consistent with 14 Del.C. §2005(c).

4.2 Upon receipt of the documentation in subsection 4.1 of this regulation, the Department shall cause a
review of the plans or inspection of the proposed facilities to be conducted by appropriate Department
staff to determine the adequacy of the facilities for the intended educational purpose.

4.3 Approval by the Department shall require the assent of the Secretary of Education. The decision shall
be considered final and not subject to appeal.

5.0 Compliance with State Risk Management

5.1 The Charter School shall provide evidence that the types and limits of insurance coverage the Charter
School plans to obtain for operation of a Satellite School are adequate and consistent with 14 Del.C.
Chapter 5.

5.2 The Local School District shall confer with the State Risk Manager regarding any liabilities that they
and their employees may be subject to and shall provide appropriate protection and coverage for
same.

6.0 Certificates of Occupancy or Occupancy Permits

6.1 Certificates of Occupancy or Occupancy Permits shall be obtained from the appropriate jurisdictional
authorities prior to occupancy of the facilities by the Satellite School. The Satellite School facilities
shall be subject to the same periodic inspections for health and safety as other public schools.
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Chapter 27 (14 Del.C. Ch. 27)
14 DE Admin. Code 615

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

615 School Attendance

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch. 27, the Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to

amend 14 DE Admin. Code 615 School Attendance. This regulation concerns school attendance for students in
grades K through 12. This regulation is being reviewed in compliance with 29 Del.C. §10407 which requires
regulations to be reviewed on a recurring basis every four years. It is also being amended to include charter
schools.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
November 1, 2019, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". No comments were received.
 
II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 615 School Attendance in order to be
in compliance with 29 Del.C. §10407 which requires regulations to be reviewed on a recurring basis every four
years. It is also being amended to include charter schools.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 615

School Attendance. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 615 School Attendance attached
hereto as Exhibit "B" is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 615
School Attendance hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order
as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 615 School Attendance amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto

as Exhibit "B", and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 615 School Attendance in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on April 23, 2020.

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 23th day of April 2020.

Department of Education
Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 23th day of April 2020

State Board of Education

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

/s/ Whitney Townsend Sweeney, President /s/ Nina Lou Bunting

/s/ Audrey J. Noble, Ph.D., Vice President /s/ Wali W. Rushdan, II

/s/ Candace Fifer /s/ Provey Powell, Jr.

/s/ Vincent Lofink
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615 School Attendance

1.0 Required Attendance Policy

1.1 Each school district and charter school shall have an attendance policy that is in accordance with the
requirements of the Delaware Code complies with 14 Del.C. Ch. 27 and which defines and describes
the district's or charter school’s rules concerning attendance for students K to 12. 

2.0 Distribution of Attendance Policy

2.1 Each district or charter school shall distribute and explain these policies to every student at the
beginning of each school year.

2.2 Each district or charter school shall distribute and explain these policies to each student enrolling or re
enrolling during the school year.

2.3 Each district or charter school shall post the attendance policy on its website and notify a parent,
guardian or Relative Caregiver relative caregiver of each student in writing where this policy can be
accessed. A hard copy shall be provided to a parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver relative caregiver
upon request.

3.0 Reporting Requirements and Timelines

3.1 Each public school district or charter school shall have an electronic copy of its current attendance
policy on file with the Department of Education.

3.2 Each public school district or charter school shall provide an electronic copy of any revised attendance
policy within ninety (90) days of such revision(s) regardless of whether said revisions were made as a
result of changes to Federal federal, state or local law, regulations, guidance or policies.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1725 (14 Del.C. §1725)
14 DE Admin. Code 775

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

775 New Teacher Hiring Data Reporting

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b) and 1725, the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

775 New Teacher Hiring Data Reporting. The Department has reviewed the regulation in order to comply with 29
Del.C. §10407 which requires regulations to be reviewed on a recurring basis every four years and notes that the
regulation content is current and that only changes were made to comply with the Delaware Administrative Code
Drafting and Style Manual. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and Delaware State News on March 1,
2020, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No comments were received for the proposed regulation.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS
The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 775 New Teacher Hiring Data

Reporting in order to comply with 29 Del.C. §10407 which requires regulations to be reviewed on a recurring basis
every four years and notes that the regulation content is current and that only changes were made to comply with
the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 775

New Teacher Hiring Data Reporting. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 775 New
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Teacher Hiring Data Reporting attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14
Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 775 New Teacher Hiring Data Reporting hereby amended shall be in effect
for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 775 New Teacher Hiring Data Reporting amended hereby shall be in the form

attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 775 New Teacher Hiring
Data Reporting in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b) and 1725 on

May 11, 2020. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 11th day of May 2020.

Department of Education
Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 11th day of May 2020

775 New Teacher Hiring Data Reporting

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to outline the criteria and process related to new teacher hiring data collection
and reporting by school districts as required by 14 Del.C. §1725 and align such with annual reporting done within
the Teacher and Leader Effectiveness Branch Educator Support Team of the Department of Education.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly states otherwise:

"Contract Offer Date offer date" shall mean means the date an authorized agent or representative of
the district notifies the successful candidate of the intent to hire.

"District" shall mean means a reorganized school district or vocational technical school district
established pursuant to Chapter 10 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.

"Hard to Staff Position staff position" means a position for which school districts have the fewest
qualified applicants.

"New Teacher Hiring Date" shall mean, for purposes of this regulation, the Contract Offer Date as
defined herein.

"Position Availability Date availability date" shall mean means the date the district Human
Resources Office knows the available position is released for a new full-time teacher hire.

"Position Type type" shall mean means the appropriate instructional level of the teacher or whether
the teacher is in a Hard to Staff Position.

3.0 New Teacher Hiring Data Report

3.1 On or before December 1st of each year, each District shall annually submit an Educator Hiring
Practices and Needs Report to the Department in a format approved by the Department that includes,
but is not limited to, Contract Offer Date, Position Availability Date, Position Type, number of positions
available and filled, information on Hard To Staff Positions, information on recruitment and selection
processes, and information on staffing practices during the most recent hiring season(s) season.
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3.2 The Department may also require each District to enter such information on an ongoing basis into an
electronic statewide information system. The Department shall review and provide information on
educator hiring practices and needs, including hiring activity related to the "estimated unit count"
estimated unit count as that term is defined pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1704, in the annual Delaware
Talent Practices Report (Report). 

3.3 The Delaware Talent Practices Report is to be provided no later than March 31st of the following year.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 131 (14 Del.C. §131)
14 DE Admin. Code 804

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

804 Immunizations

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §131, the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 804

Immunizations. The provision related to alternative dosages or immunization schedules has been removed at the
request of the Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health (DPH). DPH does not approve
alternative dosages or immunization schedules. Any exemptions or adjustment to immunizations because an
immunization is medically contraindicated fall under the medical exemptions that continue to be in place. Other
minor changes were made to bring the regulation into compliance with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting
and Style Manual.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and Delaware State News on March 1,
2020, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No comments were received for the proposed regulation.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS
The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 804 Immunizations because the

provision related to alternative dosages or immunization schedules has been removed at the request of the
Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health (DPH). DPH does not approve alternative
dosages or immunization schedules. Any exemptions or adjustment to immunizations because an immunization is
medically contraindicated fall under the medical exemptions that continue to be in place. Other minor changes
were made to bring the regulation into compliance with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style
Manual.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 804

Immunizations. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 804 Immunizations attached hereto
as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 804
Immunizations hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 804 Immunizations amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as

Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 804 Immunizations in the Administrative
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122 and 131 on May

11, 2020. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.
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IT IS SO ORDERED the 11th day of May 2020.

Department of Education
Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 11th day of May 2020

804 Immunizations

1.0 Purpose

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to Title 14 Del.C. [Ch. 1,] §131 which states that, that “the
Department (of Education) shall from time to time, with advice from Division of Public Health (DPH),
adopt and promulgate rules and regulations to establish an immunization program to protect pupils
enrolled in public schools from certain diseases.”

2.0 Definitions

"Affidavit of Religious Belief religious belief" means, pursuant to 14 Del.C. [Ch. 1,] §131(a)(6), the
statement to request exemption from immunizations based on individual religious beliefs.

“Approved Vaccine vaccine” means a vaccine, vaccine combination, formulation, or schedule which
has been reviewed and accepted by the Division of Public Health (DPH) based upon Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Recommended Immunization Schedule.

"School Enterer enterer" means any child between birth and twenty (20) years inclusive entering or
being admitted to a Delaware public school district or public school for the first time, including but not
limited to, foreign exchange students, immigrants, students from other states and territories and
children entering from nonpublic schools.

“Secondary School school” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a school with a grade or age
configuration including any of the following: grade 9, grade 10, grade 11, or grade 12.

3.0 Minimum Immunizations Required for All School Enterers

3.1 All School Enterers shall have immunizations given up to four days prior to the minimum interval or
age and shall include:

3.1.1 Four or more doses of diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (DTaP, DTP, or other Approved Vaccine).
Notwithstanding this requirement:

3.1.1.1 A child who received a fourth dose prior to his or her fourth birthday shall have a fifth dose;

3.1.1.2 A child who received the first dose of diphtheria and tetanus containing vaccine as adult
Td vaccine at or after age seven may meet this requirement with only three doses of Td or
Approved Vaccine.

3.1.1.3 A booster dose of Tdap (adult) is strongly recommended by DPH for all students at age
11-12 years (preferred) or through 18 years and required as per subsections 4.1 and 4.1.1
below.

3.1.2 Three or more doses of inactivated polio virus vaccine (IPV), oral polio vaccine (OPV), or an
Approved Vaccine. Notwithstanding this requirement:

3.1.2.1 A child who received a third dose prior to his or her fourth birthday shall have a fourth
dose.

3.1.3 Two doses of measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) Approved Vaccine. The first dose should be
administered on or after the age of 12 months. The second dose should be administered after the
fourth birthday.

3.1.3.1 Disease histories for measles, rubella and mumps shall not be accepted unless
serologically confirmed.

3.1.4 Three doses of Hepatitis B vaccine.
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3.1.4.1 For children 11 to 15 years old age, two doses of an Approved Vaccine may be used.

3.1.4.2 Titers are not acceptable in lieu of completing the vaccine series and a disease history for
Hepatitis B shall not be accepted unless serologically confirmed.

3.1.5 Two doses of Varicella Approved Vaccine. Students who entered during or prior to the 2008-2009
school year are required to have one dose. By the 2020-2021 school year all students must have
two doses. DPH strongly recommends two doses for all students regardless of date of school
entry.

3.1.5.1 The first dose should be administered on or after the age of twelve (12) months and the
second at kindergarten entry into a Delaware public school.

3.1.5.2 A written disease history, provided by the health care provider, will be accepted in lieu of
the Varicella vaccination.

3.1.6 Two doses of meningococcal vaccine are strongly recommended by DPH, with an initial dose at
ages 11-12 and a booster at ages 16-18, and required as 16-18 per subsections 4.1 and 4.1.2
below.

3.2 Children who enter school prior to age four (4) shall follow current Delaware Division of Public Health
recommendations.

4.0 Minimum Immunizations for Secondary School Students

4.1 Beginning in school year 2016-2017 entering grade 9 Entering Secondary School students shall show
proof of immunizations. One Secondary School grade shall be added each year thereafter.

4.1.1 An adolescent booster dose of Tdap or other Approved Vaccine administered at age 11-12
(preferred) or prior to entry to Grade 9.

4.1.2 One dose of meningococcal Approved Vaccine.

4.2 Schools will coordinate with the Division of Public Health to assure services to non-compliant
Secondary School students.

(Non-regulatory guidance: Please refer to 14 DE Admin. Code 815 Health Examinations and Screenings for
health examinations required for entering grade 9 students.)

5.0 Documentation of Immunization

5.1 The parent, legal guardian, Relative Caregiver relative caregiver, or a School Enterer who has reached
the statutory age of majority (18) shall present documentation specifying the month, day, and year that
the immunizations were administered by a licensed health care practitioner.

5.2 According to 14 Del.C. §131, a principal or person in charge of a school shall not permit a child to enter
into school without acceptable evidence of immunization. The parent, legal guardian, Relative
Caregiver relative caregiver, or a School Enterer who has reached the statutory age of majority (18)
shall be notified of this requirement in writing. Within 14 calendar days after notification, evidence must
be presented to the school that the basic series of immunizations has been initiated or has been
completed.

5.3 A School Enterer may be conditionally admitted to a Delaware school district by presenting a
statement from a licensed health care practitioner who specifies that the School Enterer has received
at least:

5.3.1 One dose of DTaP, or DTP, or DT, or Approved Vaccine; and

5.3.2 One dose of IPV or OPV, or Approved Vaccine; and

5.3.3 One dose of measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) Approved Vaccine; and

5.3.4 The first dose of the Hepatitis B series; and

5.3.5 One dose of Varicella vaccine. vaccine; and

5.3.6 One dose of meningococcal vaccine, if entering a Secondary School according to subsections 4.1
and 4.1.2.

5.4 School districts and charter schools shall ensure that policies concerning immunization, guardianship
and birth certificates do not create barriers to the school enrollment of homeless children and youth. To
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that end, school districts shall assist homeless children and youth in meeting the immunization
requirements.

5.5 In accordance with the provisions of 14 Del.C. Ch. 1, Subchapter III-A Interstate Compact on
Education For Children of Military Families (MIC3) and its enabling regulation, a School Enterer or
Secondary School student who is subject to MIC3 shall be allowed thirty (30) calendar days from the
date of enrollment or within such time as is reasonably determined under the rules promulgated by the
Interstate Commission, to obtain or to initiate a series of immunizations required by this regulation.

5.6 If the School Enterer or Secondary School student fails to complete the series of required
immunizations, the parent, legal guardian, Relative Caregiver relative caregiver, or student who has
reached the statutory age of majority (18) shall be notified that the School Enterer or Secondary
School student will be excluded according to 14 Del.C. §131.

6.0 Lost or Destroyed Immunization Record

When a student’s immunization record has been lost or destroyed by the medical provider who
administered the vaccine, the parent, legal guardian, Relative Caregiver relative caregiver, School
Enterer who has reached the statutory age of majority (18), or the school nurse shall sign a written
statement to this effect and must obtain at least one dose of each of the immunizations as identified in
subsection 5.3. Evidence that the vaccines were administered shall be presented to the district
superintendent or charter school chief administrative officer or his or her designee.

7.0 Exemption from Immunization

7.1 Exemption from this requirement may be granted in accordance with 14 Del.C. §131 and this
regulation which permits approved medical and notarized religious exemptions.

7.1.1 Medical exemptions shall be considered based on a written statement from a physician, i.e.,
medical doctor or doctor of osteopathy, stating that immunization is medically contraindicated.

7.1.1.1 The Delaware Division of Public Health shall review and determine approval.

7.1.2 Religious exemptions shall be approved upon receipt of a notarized Affidavit of Religious Belief,
and the school shall offer information regarding the benefits of immunization and the risks of not
being fully immunized.

7.1.3 Upon approval of a medical or religious exemption, the school shall inform the parent, legal
guardian, Relative Caregiver relative caregiver, or a School Enterer who has reached the statutory
age of majority (18), that the student shall be temporarily excluded from school in the event the
Division of Public Health declares an outbreak of a vaccine preventable disease or determines the
student has had or is at risk of having an exposure to a vaccine preventable disease. The Division
of Public Health shall determine when the student may return to school.

 7.1.3.1 During a temporary exclusion, the school and parent, legal guardian or Relative Caregiver
relative caregiver shall assist the student with keeping up with school work. No academic
penalty shall be assessed provided the student completes assignments.

7.2 Alternative dosages or immunization schedules may be accepted with the written approval of the
Delaware Division of Public Health.

8.0 Verification of School Records

The Delaware Division of Public Health shall have the right to audit and verify school immunization
records to determine compliance with the law.

9.0 Documentation

9.1 School nurses shall record and maintain documentation of each student's immunization status.

9.2 Each student's immunization record shall be included in the Delaware Immunization Registry.
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(b)(15) and 303 (14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) & 
303)

14 DE Admin. Code 1006

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA)

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) and 303, the Delaware Department of Education (“Department”) is
amending 14 DE Admin. Code 1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA). The Delaware
Interscholastic Athletic Association (“DIAA”) is a unit of the Department. Under the provisions of 29 Del.C.
§10113(b)(2), subsection 3.2 is being amended and subsection 4.5 is being added. The subsections provide rules
of practice and procedure concerning the DIAA Board of Directors' committees and executive director.

The amendments are exempt from the requirement of public notice and comment and are adopted informally in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(2). 

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation provide rules of practice and
procedures concerning the DIAA Board of Directors' committees and executive director. Accordingly, the
Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic
Association (DIAA).

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA). Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) and
303, 14 DE Admin. Code 1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA) attached hereto as Exhibit “A”
is hereby amended.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA) adopted hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “A,” and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1006
Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA) in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 15th day of May, 2020.

Department of Education
Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA)
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 23, ISSUE 12, MONDAY, JUNE 1, 2020

https://www.doe.k12.de.us/Page/11
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/final/23 DE Reg 1024 06-01-20.htm


FINAL REGULATIONS 1025
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1250 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 
1205(b), & 1250)

14 DE Admin. Code 1508

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1508 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of
Education ("Department"), seeks to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 1508 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and
Certification pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1250. In 1986, the General Assembly established a
special institute to provide a program for college graduates to become certified to teach in Delaware public
schools. Currently, the program does not exist. As a result, the regulation is being repealed. 

Notice of the proposed repeal of the regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on March 1, 2020.
The Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed repeal. 

On April 2, 2020, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1508 Special
Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification for repeal by the Department subject to the State Board of
Education's approval.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Department finds that the special institute established by the General Assembly to provide a program for
college graduates to become certified to teach in Delaware public schools does not exist. Accordingly, the
Department finds that it is appropriate to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 1508 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure
and Certification.

III. DECISION TO REPEAL THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 1508
Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification subject to the State Board of Education's approval.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1250, 14 DE Admin. Code 1508 Special Institute for
Teacher Licensure and Certification attached hereto as Exhibit "A" is hereby repealed.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1508 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification repealed hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "A," and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1508
Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the
Department.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 23rd day of April, 2020.

Department of Education
Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education
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Approved this 23rd day of April, 2020.

State Board of Education

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

1508 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification

1.0 Content

This regulation shall apply to the Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification, pursuant to 14
Del.C. §§1250 through 1252.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.

“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under chapter 12 of 14 Del.C. to
engage in the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in
Delaware public schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by
the Standards Board and approved by the State Board, but does not include substitute teachers.

“Emergency Certificate” means a certificate issued to an educator who holds a valid Delaware Initial,
Continuing, or Advanced License, but lacks necessary skills and knowledge to meet certification
requirements in a specific content area.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures knowledge in a
specific content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Examination of General Knowledge” means a standardized test which measures general
knowledge and essential skills in mathematics or quantitative and verbal skills, including reading and
writing, such as PRAXIS™I and which, for the purposes of this regulation, means a pre-professional
skills test.

“Initial License” means the first license issued to an educator that allows an educator to work in a
position requiring a license in a Delaware public school.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means no fewer than thirty (30) credit hours in a content area.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to verify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.

3.0 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification

3.1 One or more of Delaware’s teacher training institutions may establish a Special Institute for Teacher
Licensure and Certification to provide a program for college graduates without a license and/or
certificate to become licensed and certified to teach in Delaware public schools. Tuition may not be
charged to participants.

/s/ Whitney Townsend Sweeney, President /s/ Vincent Lofink

/s/ Audrey J. Noble, Ph.D., Vice President /s/ Provey Powell, Jr.

/s/ Nina Lou Bunting /s/ Wali W. Rushdan, II

/s/ Candace Fifer
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3.2 Candidates for admission to a Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification shall:

3.2.1 Hold a bachelor’s degree in a field other than Education from a regionally accredited college or
university, with a major or its equivalent in a content area that has designated as a critical needs
area by the Department.

3.2.2 Have a grade point index in the major field of the bachelor’s degree which is two-tenths of a point
higher than the grade point index required for students entering regular teacher education
programs at the teacher education institution(s).

3.2.3 Pass an examination of general knowledge, such as PRAXIS™ I, or provide an acceptable
alternative to the PRAXIS™ I test scores, as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1510.

3.2.4 Must agree to teach at least one (1) year in a Delaware public school for each year funding was
received. Such service must be completed within five (5) years of successful completion of the
Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification program.

3.2.4.1 Failure to meet the requirement set forth in 3.2.4 above shall result in the individual within
sixty (60) days arranging for repayment of a sum equivalent to the tuition which would
have been paid for the coursework leading to licensure and certification; or

3.2.4.2 An individual may also satisfy the requirement set forth in 3.2.4 above by providing a
notarized statement, accompanied by evidence of unsuccessful applications, that the
individual has made a good faith effort to seek employment in at least five (5) Delaware
public school districts, but has been unable to secure a teaching position in any of those
districts.

3.2.4.3 An individual whose license and certificate have been revoked for cause  prior to fulfilling
the service set forth in 3.2.4 shall, within sixty (60) days, arrange for repayment of their
remaining obligation.

4.0 Format of the Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification

4.1 A Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification in a secondary content area which
corresponds to the major field of study in the bachelor’s degree program shall consist of:

4.1.1 One (1) summer of courses in the Special Institute;

4.1.2 One (1) semester of student teaching or one (1) year of supervised, full-time teaching experience
in a Delaware public school; and

4.1.3 Additional coursework as set forth by the teacher training institution which constitutes the program
of study leading to initial licensure and certification.

4.2 A Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification in elementary or special education shall
consist of:

4.2.1 Two (2) summers of courses, one (1) immediately before and one (1)after a student teaching
experience or one year of full-time teaching experience;

4.2.2 One (1) semester of student teaching or one (1) year of supervised, full-time teaching experience
in a Delaware public school; and

4.2.3 Additional coursework as set forth by the teacher training institution which constitutes a program of
study leading to initial licensure and certification.

5.0 Examination of Content Knowledge

Prior to completion of the Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, participants must successfully pass
the appropriate examination of content knowledge, such as the PRAXIS™ II examination, if applicable and
available.

6.0 Licensure and Certification of Special Institute Participants

6.1 The Department shall issue an Initial License of no more than three (3) years duration conditioned on
continued enrollment in the Special Institute and an Emergency Certificate to an individual employed
to complete the one (1) year of full-time teaching experience in lieu of student teaching.
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6.2 Upon successful completion of the Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification program,
an individual shall be issued an Initial License valid for the balance of the three (3) year term, and a
Standard Certificate.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203 and 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §§1203 & 
1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1509

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of
Education ("Department"), seeks to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate
Designation pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203 and 14 Del.C. §1205(b). In 2005, Delaware participated in the
Meritorious New Teacher Candidate program, which was a reciprocal licensing agreement with other states in the
region through the Mid-Atlantic Regional Teachers Project. The agreement no longer exists. As a result, the
regulation is being repealed. 

Notice of the proposed repeal of the regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on March 1, 2020.
The Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed repeal.

On April 2, 2020, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 1509 Meritorious New Teacher
Candidate Designation for repeal by the Department subject to the State Board of Education's approval. 

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Department finds that the reciprocal licensing agreement through the Mid-Atlantic Regional Teachers
Project that concerned the Meritorious New Teacher Candidate program is no longer in existence. Accordingly, the
Department finds that it is appropriate to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate
Designation.

III. DECISION TO REPEAL THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 1509
Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation subject to the State Board of Education's approval. Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), 14 DE Admin. Code 1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate
Designation attached hereto as Exhibit "A" is hereby repealed.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation repealed hereby shall
be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "A," and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1509
Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 23rd day of April, 2020.
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Department of Education
Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 23rd day of April, 2020.

State Board of Education

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation

1.0 Content

This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation to a candidate
for an Initial License who meets the criteria set forth by the Mid Atlantic Regional Teachers Project, pursuant to 14
Del.C. §1210.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation” means a designation of excellence for new
teachers which enables them to teach in Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey,
Pennsylvania, and Virginia.

“Met the Highest Standard” means achieved the highest grade or score awarded by the institution.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students”.

3.0 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Requirements

3.1 An applicant for an Initial License who meets the requirements for an Initial License and who also
meets the criteria set forth by the Mid Atlantic Regional Teachers Project shall have a Meritorious New
Teacher Candidate Designation affixed to the Initial License, upon receipt of a recommendation from
the candidate’s teacher preparation program that the candidate be awarded the designation of
Meritorious New Teacher Candidate.

3.2 Criteria for the Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation are:

3.2.1 Verbal Skills

3.2.1.1 Scores in the upper quartile of students nationally at the time the test was taken on the
verbal portion of the SAT, ACT, or GRE.

3.2.2 Content Knowledge

3.2.2.1 Elementary Education (Grades pre K to 6):

3.2.2.1.1 A minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA in an undergraduate professional education program,
or a minimum 3.7 cumulative GPA in a graduate professional education program; and

/s/ Whitney Townsend Sweeney, President /s/ Vincent Lofink

/s/ Audrey J. Noble, Ph.D., Vice President /s/ Provey Powell, Jr.

/s/ Nina Lou Bunting /s/ Wali W. Rushdan, II

/s/ Candace Fifer
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3.2.2.1.2 Scores in the upper quartile of students nationally at the time the test was taken in
math, science, social studies, and English language arts in the PRAXIS II Content
Knowledge for Elementary Teachers test or Elementary Education: Curriculum,
Instruction, and Assessment test.

3.2.2.2 Middle School Education (Grades 6 to 8):

3.2.12.2.1 A minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA in an undergraduate academic major or a minimum
3.7 cumulative GPA in a graduate program in the subject area in which a standard
certificate is sought; and

3.2.2.2.2 Scores in the upper quartile of students nationally at the time the test was taken on the
PRAXIS II test in the applicant’s specialty area.

3.2.2.3 Secondary Education (Grades 9 to 12):

3.2.2.3.1 A minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA in an undergraduate academic major or a minimum
3.7 cumulative GPA in a graduate program in the subject area in which a standard
certificate is sought.

3.2.2.3.2 Scores in the upper quartile of students nationally at the time the test was taken on the
PRAXIS II test in the applicant’s specialty area.

3.2.3 Professional Preparation and Recommendation:

3.2.3.1 Completion of a state approved teacher preparation program, of traditional or alternative
format, with a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA in an undergraduate professional studies
program, or a minimum 3.7 cumulative GPA in a graduate professional education
program.

3.2.3.2 Completion of a minimum of 400 hours of supervised clinical experience, of which at least
300 hours are directed instructional student teaching. Clinical experience may occur within
any state approved model, including total immersion experiences as teachers of record.

3.2.3.3 Met the highest standard of both the university supervisor and the cooperating teacher on
the institution’s formal student teacher or immersion component of the required clinical
experience.

3.2.3.4 Met the highest standard on the institution’s professional preparation assessment.

3.2.3.5 Received a recommendation by the teacher preparation program that the candidate be
awarded the designation of Meritorious New Teacher Candidate.

4.0 Expedited Application

Applicants for initial licensure and the Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation who completed teacher
preparation in Delaware will be given expedited consideration of their application by the Delaware Department of
Education.

5.0 License from Other Jurisdiction Honored

A Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation issued to a licensee from one of the participating
jurisdictions who has less than three (3) years of teaching experience, shall be honored by the Department. The
applicant shall be issued a Delaware Initial License pursuant to 14 DE Admin. Code §1510 with a Meritorious New
Teacher Candidate Designation and any Delaware Standard Certificate for which the candidate qualifies.

6.0 Validation

This designation shall be valid for the duration of the individual’s initial license
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203 and 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §§1203 & 
1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1582

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1582 School Nurse

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), the Professional Standards Board, acting in consultation and
cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments to 14 DE Admin.
Code 1582 School Nurse. The regulation concerns the requirements for a School Nurse Standard Certificate
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed amendments include adding defined terms to Section 2.0; clarifying
the requirements for issuing a School Nurse Standard Certificate in Section 3.0; specifying the education,
knowledge, and skill requirements for obtaining a School Nurse Standard Certificate in Section 4.0; adding
reciprocity requirements in Section 5.0; specifying the application requirements in Section 6.0; adding Section 7.0,
which concerns the validity of a School Nurse Standard Certification; specifying the requirements for retaining a
School Nurse Standard Certificate in Section 8.0; adding Section 9.0, which concerns disciplinary actions; adding
Section 10.0, which concerns requests for the Secretary of Education to review standard certificate applications;
and adding Section 11.0, which concerns recognizing past certification.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on March 1, 2020. The
Professional Standards Board received a written submittal from Megan Fioravanti, RN, NCSN, the National
Association of School Nurses ("NASN") Delaware Director, concerning the proposed amendments to the
regulation. Ms. Fioravanti commented that NASN's position is that "every school-aged child should have access to
a registered professional school nurse, who has a minimum of a bachelor's degree in nursing from an accredited
college or university, and is licensed as a registered nurse through a board of nursing." She further commented that
"[b]accalaureate nursing education develops competencies in leadership, critical thinking, quality improvement,
and systems thinking. It also assures education in nursing theory and clinical experience in community settings."

On April 2, 2020, the Professional Standards Board considered Ms. Fioravanti's written submittal. The
proposed amendments do not change the existing requirement that an applicant who is not licensed or certified as
a school nurse in another state or jurisdiction hold a bachelor's degree in nursing ("BSN"). The proposed
amendments would require that an applicant who is licensed or certified as a school nurse in another state or
jurisdiction hold a BSN. The Professional Standards Board determined that further changes in response to Ms.
Fioravanti's written submittal were not necessary and voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1582 School Nurse, in
the form that was published, for adoption by the Department subject to the State Board of Education's approval.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation do not change the existing requirement
that applicants who are not licensed or certified school nurses in other states or jurisdictions hold a BSN and would
add the requirement that applicants who are licensed or certified school nurses in other states or jurisdictions hold
a BSN. Thus, further changes in response to the Ms. Fioravanti's written submittal are not necessary. In addition,
the Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C. Ch.
12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1582 School
Nurse.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
1582 School Nurse subject to the State Board of Education's approval. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203
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and 1205(b), 14 DE Admin. Code 1582 School Nurse attached hereto as Exhibit "A" is hereby amended.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1582 School Nurse adopted hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as
Exhibit "A," and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1582 School Nurse in the Administrative
Code of Regulations for the Department.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 23rd day of April, 2020.
Department of Education

Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 23rd day of April, 2020.

State Board of Education

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

1582 School Nurse
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

8.0 Requirements Related to the Retention of a School Nurse Certificate

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.2 If an Educator fails to meet any [of] the requirements related to retaining a School Nurse Standard
Certificate, the Educator shall immediately notify the Department in writing.

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the March 2020 issue of the Register at page 721 (23 DE Reg. 721). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1582 School Nurse

/s/ Whitney Townsend Sweeney, President /s/ Vincent Lofink

/s/ Audrey J. Noble, Ph.D., Vice President /s/ Provey Powell, Jr.

/s/ Nina Lou Bunting /s/ Wali W. Rushdan, II

/s/ Candace Fifer
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 122(3)x. (16 Del.C. §122(3)x.)
16 DE Admin. Code 4469

ORDER

IN THE MATTER OF: ))
)

ADOPTION OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE )
REGULATIONS GOVERNING PERSONAL 
ASSISTANCE SERVICES AGENCIES

4469 Personal Assistance Services Agencies

Nature of The Proceedings
Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”) initiated proceedings to adopt the State of Delaware

Regulations Governing Personal Assistance Services Agencies. The DHSS proceedings to adopt regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed by 16 Delaware Code, Section
122 (3)(x).

On April 1, 2020 (Volume 23, Issue 10), DHSS published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice of
proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. § 10115. It requested that written materials and suggestions from the
public concerning the proposed regulations be delivered to DHSS by May 1, 2020, after which time the DHSS
would review information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed regulations.

Written comments were received during the public comment period and evaluated. The results of that
evaluation are summarized in the accompanying “Summary of Evidence.”

Summary
Effective June 1, 2020, DHSS/Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ) is publishing the final regulations

governing Personal Assistance Services Agencies.

Background
As more services are being provided in the home and community setting, it is necessary to clearly define the

scope of services offered by a personal assistance services agency, which is a non-medical model of care. In
addition, the "Share the Care Act" (Senate Bill 27), signed by the Governor on June 13, 2019, enables an individual
employed by a personal assistance services agency to administer medications to an adult consumer who resides
in the individual’s own home if all requirements are met. 

Subsequently, the DHCQ published the amendments to the regulations governing Personal Assistance
Services Agencies and held them out for public comment per Delaware law. The amendments updated and
clarified the regulatory requirements to ensure consumers receive safe and quality care/services from personal
assistance services agencies. In addition, the proposed regulations contained new language to implement the
"Share the Care Act" (Senate Bill 27) which permits an individual employed by a personal assistance services
agency to administer medications to an adult consumer who resides in the individual’s own home if all
requirements are met.

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE
In accordance with Delaware Law, public notices regarding proposed Department of Health and Social

Services (DHSS) Regulations Governing Personal Assistance Services Agencies were published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations. Written comments were received on the proposed regulations during the public comment
period (April 1, 2020 through May 1, 2020).

Public comments and the DHSS (Department) responses are as follows:
Deborah Joseph, PASA Program Director, CHEER, Inc.
Comment:
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4.4.2.6.5.1 The physical examination must have been completed within three (3) months prior to employment/
referral: If a new employee applicant can only be provided a physical 1x annually by their insurance company, this
may cause un-do hardship having to get another physical to comply with time frame of 3 months prior to
employment/referral. Would the Department consider within a certain calendar date range?

Response: Thank you for your comments. This is a current requirement with no proposed changes. The
Department will take this comment under consideration for the next set of revisions.

Comment:
4.6 A direct care worker that has successfully completed a Department approved administration of medications

training program may administer medication to a consumer if all other requirements specified in these regulations
are met. Will the Department provide a list of approved training programs? If direct care workers successfully
complete training and conduct their activities in accordance with that training, would there be any consideration of
waivers or limitations on liability.

Response: Thank you for your comments. As of the final publication of these regulations, there are no
approved programs for administration of medication training. Liability is addressed already under 24 Del. C.
1921(g) and the regulations will remain as written.

Comment:
“Personal Assistance Services Agency” is an agency that employs or contracts with direct care workers to

provide personal assistance services to consumers primarily in his/her place of residence. means any business
entity or subdivision thereof, whether public or private, proprietary or not-for-profit, which refers direct care workers
to provide personal assistance services to individuals primarily in their home or private residence. Referral instead
of employed? The direct care worker would be independent? Deleted verbiage was “employs or contracts”. Yet, the
definition of a “DCW” states employed or contracted. What safeguards would be in place to insure that only
qualified persons are referred to individuals and how would that be enforced. Further would the referring agency
have any responsibility / liability for damage that may result from a referral they provide/Does the referring
organization have any responsibility to insure compliance with applicable regulations?

Response: Thank you for your comments. The definition of a personal assistance services agency was
revised to reflect the language found in 16 Del. C. §122 (3)(x). The revision of this definition does not change the
requirements of the direct care workers. All personal assistance services agencies are required to comply with the
onboarding and regular requirements (e.g., criminal background check, drug testing, physical examination,
orientation, competencies) for all direct care workers whether the direct care worker is an employee, contractor, or
referral.

Comment:
5.4.2 For consumers who are not able to delegate services/tasks due to impaired cognitive function, services/

tasks Personal assistance services shall be limited by the following. Has this changed to any consumer regardless
of impairment or not? Bathing and Dressing not listed. If so, how would that work with PC contracts?

Response: Thank you for your comments. For all consumers, the services specified under 5.4.2, the personal
assistance services agency can only provide as specified. Personal assistance services are limited to individual
assistance with/or supervision of activities of daily living, which includes bathing and grooming. The personal
assistance services agencies must not contract to provide any services beyond their scope of practice. The
regulations will remain as written.

Kyle Hodges, Policy Director, State Council for Persons with Disabilities
Comment:
As laid out in subsection 5.4.3 of the proposed regulations, the administration of medication must be

authorized by “a responsible caregiver with appropriate capacity.” SCPD recommends that language be added
consistent with the following: “Verify that recipients of services have appropriate capacity to make decisions so
caregivers cannot override such decisions by persons with appropriate capacity.”

Response: Thank you for your comments. 24 Del. C. 1921(a)(15) and 16 Del. Admin. C. 5.4.1 specifically
refer to recipients who are competent and thus drive their medication administration. We will take your suggestion
under advisement for future updates should this point need clarification in the future.

Beth Copeland, MSN, CSA, Director, Griswold Home Care
Comment:
I would like to respond by saying that I am enthusiastically in favor of implementing the "Share the Care Act"

(Senate Bill 27) which permits an individual employed by a personal assistance services agency to administer
medications to an adult consumer who resides in the individual’s own home if all requirements are met.
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Response: Thank you for your comments.
Wendy Strauss, Executive Director, and Ann Fisher, Chairperson, Governor’s Advisory Council for

Exceptional Citizens (GACEC)
Comment:
Council endorses the proposed amendments as they implement existing law and add additional protections for

consumers in the form of requiring providers to implement grievance procedures and disaster preparedness plans.
Response: Thank you for your comments.
Collan B. Rosier, Director of Government Affairs, Maxim Healthcare Services
Comment:
1.1– “Director” Definition. We request the Office of Health Facilities Licensing and Certification provide

additional definition or clarification regarding what constitutes “two (2) years healthcare supervisory experience” for
the Director. We also question whether this requirement is necessary as it may restrict entrants and potentially
serves as a barrier to entry to the PASA-licensed field for strong candidates who are otherwise qualified. It would
also increase labor and employment costs for new entrants into the PASA program.

Response: Thank you for your comments. The definition of “Director” was revised to ensure the provision and
supervision of safe quality services to vulnerable populations that are served by personal assistance services
agencies. “Healthcare supervisory experience” would include the supervision of any individuals providing
healthcare in a variety of settings including, but not limited to, in a long-term care facility, acute care facility or a
home care setting. The Division of Health Care Quality, Office of Health Facilities Licensing and Certification
worked in conjunction with the Delaware Association of Home and Community Care to revise this definition. The
definition shall remain as proposed in the April Register.

Comment:
3.14 General Requirement of Compliance with Laws & Codes. We recommend amending the proposed

addition of this section to state “The agency shall be in compliance with federal, state and local laws and codes
relevant to the PASA licensure and the services provided.” We are looking for more specificity in terms of the
federal, state, and local laws and regulations with which PASAs must comply in order to properly adhere to them,
provide applicable education to our office staff and caregivers, and to develop the appropriate policies and
procedures and other guidance documents to ensure full compliance. 

4.6 – Medication Administration Training Program. We would like the Office of Health Facilities Licensing and
Certification to clarify in the regulation or through appropriate sub-regulatory guidance what is meant by “a
Department approved administration of medications training program.” Does this indicate a training program that is
created and operated by the State and which providers must utilize or may providers submit their own internal
caregiver training programs on medication administration to the State for review and approval?

Response: Thank you for your comments. Personal assistance services agencies are responsible for
maintaining compliance with applicable rules and regulations. The Department does not develop programs for
administration of medication training; however, the Department is responsible for approving such programs.
Personal assistance services agencies can create a program and submit the program to the Department for
review. Approval is contingent upon review and inclusion of all necessary components. 

Statutory Authority
16 Del.C. §122(3)(x) 

Purpose
The purpose of these proposed amendments is to update and clarify the regulatory requirements to ensure

consumers receive safe and quality care/services from personal assistance services agencies.
In addition, the proposed regulations contained new language to implement the “Share the Care Act” (Senate

Bill 27), which permits an individual employed by a personal assistance services agency to administer medications
to an adult consumer who resides in the individual’s own home if all requirements are met.

Fiscal Impact
Not applicable.

Findings of Fact:
There were no changes made to the regulations based on the comments received and detailed in the
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“Summary of Evidence.” The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as set forth in the attached copy,
should be adopted in the best interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed State of Delaware Regulations Governing Personal
Assistance Services Agencies is adopted and shall become effective June 11, 2020, after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations. 

 5/15/2020
Date             Kara Odom Walker, MD, MPH, MSHS

Secretary, DHSS

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
April 2020 issue of the Register at page 818 (23 DE Reg. 818). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

4469 Personal Assistance Services Agencies

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF CLIMATE, COASTAL, & ENERGY

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 and 16 Delaware Code, Section 7602 (7 
Del.C. Ch. 60 & 16 Del.C. §7602)

7 DE Admin. Code 2101

Secretary’s Order No: 2020-CCE-0014

RE: Proposed Regulation Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 2101: Regulations for State Energy 
Conservation Code

Date of Issuance: April 28, 2020
Effective Date: June 11, 2020

2101 Regulations for State Energy Conservation Code

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
("Department" or "DNREC") pursuant to 7 Del.C. §§6006 and 6010, and all other relevant statutory authority, the
following findings of fact based on the record, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the Secretary in
the above-referenced regulatory proceeding.

Background, Procedural History and Findings of Fact

This Order relates to 7 DE Admin. Code 2101: Regulations for State Energy Conservation Code
(“Amendments”). Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §7602, Delaware’s Energy Conservation Code Act, the Department
proposes to adopt the most recent and/or highest available version of the International Energy Conservation Code
(“IECC”), and the latest American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers/Illuminating
Engineering Society of North America (“ASHRAE”) energy standard, as determined by the Department on a
triennial basis. In addition, the regulations set out procedures for certification of compliance with these codes and
standards to be utilized by the respective local governments.

In 2014, the Department adopted the 2012 IECC with Delaware-specific amendments for the home building
industry, due to the substantial variety and number of changes present in the 2012 IECC, relative to the 2009
IECC. At that time, the Department recognized that the Delaware building industry would have to significantly
adapt many of its residential building, design, and construction practices following the 2012 IECC adoption. The
Delaware-specific amendments to the 2012 IECC were intended to give builders additional time to learn the more
stringent energy efficiency requirements, and to adapt their construction techniques and materials, while taking a
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conservative approach to reduce the risk of updating the code with negative impacts on housing prices (despite the
overall cost-effectiveness of the 2012 code, in its entirety). While the 2012 IECC was adopted, these amendments
were not intended to be permanent modifications to the code in every code cycle.

In accordance with 16 Del.C. §7602, Delaware’s Energy Conservation Code Act, the Department convened
the triennial review of the available energy conservation codes in March 2017, with the Delaware Energy Code
Coalition (“Coalition”).  The Department’s Division of Climate, Coastal, and Energy (“DCCE”) and the Coalition met
over a 2-year period and evaluated the impacts of adopting the 2015 or 2018 IECC standards, in addition to the
90.1-2013 or 90.1-2016 ASHRAE standards. During this time the DCCE and Coalition collected input from
stakeholders who offered opinions, proposed revisions, and identified potential impacts to the updated versions of
the available energy codes. The Coalition and stakeholders specifically expressed concerns with the residential
provisions (particularly the more stringent air leakage limits). To address the concerns of the Coalition and
stakeholders and provide technical support, the Department sought technical assistance from the U.S. Department
of Energy’s Pacific Northwest National Lab, Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships, and Optimal Energy, Inc.

A technical analysis of the 2018 IECC residential requirements, conducted by a consultant, estimated a 40%
reduction in air leakage associated with adopting the 2018 IECC energy conservation code. The 2012 IECC (as
amended) limits air leakage to 5 Air Changes per Hour (“ACH”), while the 2018 IECC reduces the limit to 3 ACH.
The air sealing requirements set forth in the 2018 IECC, specifically reducing the ACH limit from 5 to 3 ACH, will
increase construction costs by $150-$225 per home, but will result in energy savings of $68 per year. Through this
annual savings, it will take approximately three years to recoup the initial investment of $150-$225.

The Department has reviewed the energy savings, construction costs, and payback period associated with the
more stringent air sealing requirements in the 2018 IECC and ASHRAE 90.1-2016 model codes and expects a
modest increased cost with the implementation of the aforementioned energy codes; however, the increased cost
will be offset by the benefits accrued to the building owners and occupants over the life of the home.

The Department finds that adopting the 2018 IECC and ASHRAE 90.1-2016 energy conservation codes, in
their entirety, will increase building sector energy efficiency, bring energy cost savings for building owners and
occupants, increase occupant comfort, and reduce emissions in Delaware. With consideration of the stakeholders’
concerns, the Department acknowledges that there will be transitional change between the 2012 IECC (as
amended) and the 2018 IECC and the Department’s DCCE is prepared to provide training.

Following promulgation of these regulations, the Department’s DCCE will provide training to the local code
enforcement officials, builders, and design professionals. A transition period of 6 months shall allow stakeholders
to adapt to the 2018 IECC and ASHRAE 90.1-2016 energy conservation codes, in addition to the training that will
be offered. Specifically, the Department will provide training on practical compliance strategies for new building
requirements, construction and design strategies for air sealing smaller homes, hot water pipe insulation and
heating, ventilating, and air conditioning duct design, the new Energy Rating Index compliance pathway, and other
topics as needed, to transition to the new codes. 

The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to the formal promulgation of
these proposed Amendments, pursuant to 16 Del.C. §7602.

The Department published its initial proposed regulation Amendments in the November 1, 2019 Delaware
Register of Regulations. Thereafter, the public hearing regarding this matter was held on December 3, 2019. There
were nine (9) members of the public in attendance with five (5) comments provided at the public hearing. Pursuant
to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the hearing record remained open for receipt of additional written comment for 15 days
following the public hearing. The hearing record formally closed for comment in this matter at close of business on
December 18, 2019, with a total of 23 comments received by the Department during the phase of this formal
promulgation.

It should be noted that all notification and noticing requirements concerning this matter were met by the
Department. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law.

Hearing Officer Theresa Newman prepared her Report dated March 20, 2020 (“Report”), which expressly
incorporated the Department’s proposed Amendments into the hearing record generated in this matter. The Report
documents the proper completion of the required regulatory amendment process, establishes the record, and
recommends the adoption of the proposed Amendments as attached to the Report as Appendix “A.” 

Reasons and Conclusions

Based on the record developed by the Department’s experts in the Division of Climate, Coastal, and Energy,
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and established by the Hearing Officer’s Report, I find that the proposed regulatory Amendments to 7 DE Admin.
Code 2101: Regulations for State Energy Conservation Code, are well-supported. I further find that the
Department’s experts fully developed the record to support adoption of these Amendments. Therefore, the
recommendations of the Hearing Officer are hereby adopted, and I direct that the proposed Amendments be
promulgated as final.

The following reasons and conclusions are entered:
1. The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to this proposed regulatory

promulgation, pursuant to 16 Del.C. §7602;
2.The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority, pursuant to 7 Del.C. Chapter 60, to issue an

Order adopting these proposed Amendments as final;
3. The Department provided adequate public notice of the initial proposed Amendments and all proceedings

in a manner required by the law and regulations, and provided the public with an adequate opportunity to comment
on the same, including at the time of the public hearing held on December 3, 2019, and during the 15 days
subsequent to the hearing (through December 18, 2019), before making any final decision;

4. Promulgation of the proposed Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 2101, Regulations for State Energy
Conservation Code, will enable the Department to adopt by reference the 2018 IECC and ASHRAE 90.1-2016 in
their entirety, pursuant to 16 Del.C. §7602, Delaware's Energy Conservation Code Act; 

5. The Department has reviewed the proposed Amendments in the light of the Regulatory Flexibility Act,
consistent with 29 Del.C. Ch. 104, and believes the same to be lawful, feasible and desirable, and the
recommendations as proposed should be applicable to all Delaware citizens equally;

6. The Department’s proposed regulatory Amendments, as initially published in the November 1, 2019
Delaware Register of Regulations, and as set forth in Appendix “A” hereto, are adequately supported, are not
arbitrary or capricious, and are consistent with the applicable laws and regulations. Consequently, they should be
approved as final regulatory Amendments, which shall go into effect ten days after their publication in the next
available issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations; and

7. The Department shall submit the proposed Amendments as final regulatory amendments to the Delaware
Register of Regulations for publication in its next available issue and provide such other notice as the law and
regulation require, and the Department determines is appropriate.

Shawn M. Garvin
Secretary

2101 Regulations for State Energy Conservation Code

1.0 Purpose and Statutory Authority

1.1 The purpose of these regulations is to provide the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control’s determination of the most recent and/or highest available version of the
International Energy Conservation Code and the latest ASHRAE/IESNA standard. The goal of
establishing these regulations is to provide a statewide building energy conservation code.

1.2 These regulations provide rules of practice and procedures for certification of compliance with these
codes and standards to be utilized by the respective local governments.

1.3 Delaware Code Title 16 Section 7602 16 Del.C. §7602 provides the authority for adopting Delaware
Energy Conservation the State Energy Conservation Code. These regulations are promulgated under
the authority of 16 Del.C. §7602.

2.0 Definitions

For purposes of these regulations, the following words and phrases shall have the meanings set forth
below.

“ASHRAE” means the ANSI/ASHRAE/IES Standard 90.1 90.1-2016: Energy Standard for Buildings
except Low-Rise Residential Buildings published by the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating
and Air-Conditioning Engineers, Inc.
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“Department” means the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, the Division of
Energy and Climate Climate, Coastal, & Energy or the Delaware Energy Office, as appropriate.

“DET verifier” means a certified Duct and Envelope Tightness verifier. A certified DET verifier shall be
a certified Home Energy Rating Systems (HERS) rater, or be a certified Home Performance with
ENERGY STAR contractor, or be a Building Performance Institute (BPI) Heating Professional to
perform duct tightness testing or a BPI Building Analyst or Envelope Professional to perform building
tightness testing, or successfully complete a course that is approved by the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control.

“IECC” means the 2018 International Energy Conservation Code published by the International Code
Council, Inc.

3.0 Incorporation by Reference

3.1 The 2012 2018 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), published by the International Code
Council, Inc., is hereby adopted and incorporated by reference with revisions as the Delaware
Residential Building Energy Conservation Code and is an enforceable part of the Delaware Building
Codes. The revisions to the 2012 IECC code are stated in Section 4.0 of these regulations.

3.2 The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers Standards (ASHRAE)
90.1-20102016: Energy Standard for Buildings except Low-Rise Residential Buildings and Commercial
Provisions the commercial provisions of the 2012 2018 International Energy Conservation Code are
hereby adopted and incorporated by reference in their entirety as the Delaware Commercial Building
Energy Conservation Code and is an enforceable part of the Delaware Building Codes.

4.0 Revisions to the 2012 IECC

4.1 The following additions, insertions, deletions, and other changes are hereby made to the 2012
International Energy Conservation Code.

4.1.1 R403.2.2 amend to add: Supply duct tightness shall be verified by either of the following:

1. Post-construction test: Total leakage less than or equal to 6 cfm (169.9/min) per square feet (9.29
m2) of conditioned floor area when tested at the pressure differential of 0.1 inches w.g. (25
Pa)….

2. Rough-in test: Total leakage less than or equal to 6 cfm (169.9/min) per square feet (9.29 m2)
of conditioned floor area when tested at the pressure differential of 0.1 inches w.g. (25 Pa)
(remainder unchanged – If the air handler is not installed…. 4 cfm…)

4.1.2 R403.4.2: amend list to:

1. Piping larger than 3/4 inch nominal diameter.

2. Piping serving more than one dwelling unit.

3. Piping located outside the conditioned space.

4. Piping from the water heater to a distribution manifold.

5. Piping located under a floor slab.

6. Buried piping.

7. Supply and return piping in recirculation systems 

Delete Table R403.4.2 without substitution.

4.1.3 R402.4.1.2:

Exception: A building or dwelling unit with 2,000 ft2 or less of conditioned floor area (CFA) may satisfy
R402.4.1.2 if it:

(1) is tested to have an air leakage rate no greater than:

5 ACH-50 for homes with < 1,500 ft2 of CFA, or

4 ACH-50 for homes with 1,500 – 2,000 ft2 of CFA.)

4.1.4 R403.2.3 Building framing cavities shall not be used as ducts or plenums.
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Exception: Returns run exclusively through conditioned space.

4.1.5 R403.5 The building shall be provided with ventilation that meets the requirements of the
International Residential Code (IRC) or International Mechanical Code (IMC), as applicable, or
with other approved means of ventilation. Outdoor air intakes shall have automatic or gravity
dampers that close when the ventilation system is not operating. Required ventilation rates shall
also include adequate provisions for fuel-fired appliance, stove and fireplace makeup air supply;
kitchen, bath, clothes dryer, and central vacuum exhausts; and other makeup air system supplies
and/or exhausts as required in either the IRC or IMC.

(remainder of section unchanged)

5.04.0 Implementation and Enforcement

5.14.1 All buildings must meet all requirements of the applicable referenced code six months after date of
promulgation.

5.24.2 All projects may utilize the new applicable reference codes at any time after the date of promulgation,
provided such choice is stated on the construction documents.

4.3 Procedures for certification of compliance and standards to be utilized by respective local
governments are those specified in the IECC at Chapter 1 (“Scope and Administration”) and in the
ASHRAE at Chapter 4 (“Administration and Enforcement”) as enforceable parts of the Delaware
Building Codes pursuant to subsections 3.1 and 3.2 herein.

6.05.0 Certified duct and envelope tightness (DET) verifier.

Testing for duct and building envelope tightness shall be conducted by a certified DET verifier.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 901(b), (c) and (d); 903(a), (b), (e)(2)a.4 and 
(e)(2)b.3, 4 and 6 (7 Del.C. §§901(b), (c) & (d); 903(a), (b), (e)(2)a.4 & (e)(2)b.3, 4 & 6)

7 DE Admin. Code 3502

Secretary’s Order No: 2020-F-0013

RE: Approving Final Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 3502: Striped Bass Spawning Season and Area 
Restrictions 

Date of Issuance: April 27, 2020
Effective Date: June 11, 2020

Bass (Striped Bass; Black Sea Bass)
3502 Striped Bass Spawning Season and Area Restrictions

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
("Department" or "DNREC") pursuant to 7 Del.C. §§6006 and 6010, and all other relevant statutory authority, the
following findings of fact based on the record, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the Secretary in
the above-referenced regulatory proceeding.

Background, Procedural History and Findings of Fact

This Order relates to 7 DE Admin. Code 3502: Striped Bass Spawning Season and Area Restrictions
(“Amendments”). The Department proposes revisions to expand the current allowable area where fixed gill nets
can be used by opening approximately 1.75 nautical miles (linear) of the Delaware River during the months of
January through May. More specifically, this Amendment will adjust the lower boundary of the exclusion area
northward (upstream) to the southern shore of Appoquinimink River mouth at latitude 39˚26’51.00”N and longitude
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75˚34’46.00”W.
This action is being taken by the Department to expand the current allowable area where fixed gill nets can be

used to facilitate Striped Bass capture more efficiently and to maintain minimal interactions between gill net
recreational anglers and commercial anglers. The seasonal fixed gill net exclusion area is currently extended from
Liston Point (Delaware River) northward. This exclusion area was originally defined to prohibit fixed gill netting of
Striped Bass in an effort to reduce potential recreational and commercial angler interactions (not by reason of the
biological concern for Striped Bass.) 

In 2018, the Delaware quota allocation for Striped Bass led to a quota overage in the commercial fisheries.
Pursuant to 7 DE Admin. Code 3505, the 2019 Striped Bass quota was then reduced, due to the previous year’s
overage that occurred. Contrary to the 2018 quota overage, several of the commercial gill net anglers, specifically
those who fish the Delaware River, did not catch their quota in 2018. These commercial anglers felt that the
reduced Striped Bass quota set forth for 2019 was unfair, given that the Delaware River allowable area (permitted
for fixed gill netting of Striped Bass), did not allow these anglers to meet their quota.

On July 24, 2018, the commercial anglers proposed adjustments to the current seasonal fixed gill net exclusion
area in the Delaware River at the monthly Tidal Finfish Advisory Council (“Advisory Council”) meeting. The
commercial anglers proposed adjustments to expand the allowable area with efforts to efficiently catch Striped
Bass using fixed gill netting. Over a series of 3 meetings, the Advisory Council (comprised of an equal number of
commercial and recreational anglers), considered adjustments to the aforementioned excluded area to allow fixed
gill netting of Striped Bass. A member of the Advisory Council worked with the Enforcement Section of the Division
of Fish and Wildlife to ensure boating safety protocols of the proposed allowable area were met to reduce potential
interactions with recreational anglers and commercial boats. 

As previously stated, the current seasonal fixed gill net exclusion area extends from Liston Point (Delaware
River) northward. The Division of Fish and Wildlife’s Enforcement Section and the Advisory Council found that
opening 1.75 nautical miles (linear) of the Delaware River to fixed gill net fishing during the months of January
through May will reduce angler interactions in this area. During the months in late winter and early spring, this area
is known to not be highly trafficked by recreational boaters, thus, the Department expects there to be a low risk of
potential interactions between recreational anglers and commercial boats. This area also allows commercial
anglers the opportunity to catch Striped Bass more efficiently using fixed gill nets. Moreover, the expansion of the
commercial quota allocation area may reduce drift net and recreational angling interactions further north of the
river. This proposed area was then endorsed by the Advisory Council on September 25, 2019, with a unanimous
motion to promulgate the Amendments, herein.

Pursuant to the Atlantic Coastal Fisheries Cooperative Management Act of 1993, this proposed action is
consistent with the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s Interstate Fishery Management Plan for the
Striped Bass, its amendments and addenda. Under the FMP, Delaware has the authority to establish its own
commercial fishermen annual commercial quota. The Department expects the Striped Bass landings will be
unaffected by this Amendment, as the commercial Striped Bass fishery is managed through, and limited by, an
annual commercial quota with mandatory harvester and weigh station tagging and reporting. The quota-based
management allows the commercial anglers to only take a set amount of Striped Bass per year, and when the
quota is met, the fishery is closed.

The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to the formal promulgation of
these proposed Amendments, pursuant to 7 Del. C. §§901 (b), (c) & (d), 903 (a) & (b), 903 (e)(2)a.4, 903 (e)(2)b.3,
4 & 6. The Department published its initial proposed regulation Amendments in the February 1, 2020 Delaware
Register of Regulations. Thereafter, the public hearing regarding this matter was held on February 26, 2020. There
were 9 members of the public in attendance at the public hearing, with 7 verbal comments given at the public
hearing.

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the hearing record (“Record”) remained open for receipt of additional written
comment for 15 days following the public hearing. The Record formally closed for comment in this matter at close
of business on March 12, 2020, with one additional comment received by the Department for the formal
promulgation.

It should be noted that all notification and noticing requirements concerning this matter were met by the
Department.  Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law.

Subsequent to the close of the Record, and at the request of presiding Hearing Officer Theresa Newman, the
Department’s Division of Fish and Wildlife staff prepared a Technical Response Memorandum (“TRM”). The TRM
responds to the comments received by the Department in this matter and provides a thorough discussion with
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regard to concerns of the impact on the Striped Bass population, the interactions between recreational anglers and
gill nets, and discarded dead Striped Bass, due to anchor netting.

The Department’s experts in the Division of Fish and Wildlife have concluded that the Delaware River accounts
for less than 5% of Delaware’s annual Striped Bass landings and it is unlikely that there will be a large shift of
anchor nets to the allowable area in the Delaware River. The Department expects that the interactions of anglers
with anchored gill nets may differ, compared to those with drift nets. As current gill net effort in the Delaware River
is limited to drift nets by regulation, this Amendment is expected to lead drift netters to anchor netting (which is a
more efficient style of catching fish). The Division of Fish and Wildlife have also found that few Striped Bass are
currently discarded, thus the allowable fixed gill netting expended in the Delaware River is expected to not cause a
substantial increase in the number of dead discarded Striped Bass and shall have no effect on the population.

Following the receipt of the Department’s TRM as noted above, the Hearing Officer prepared her Hearing
Officer’s Report dated March 25, 2020 (“Report”), which expressly incorporated both the Department’s proposed
Amendments and the TRM into the Record generated in this matter. The Report documents the proper completion
of the required regulatory amendment process, establishes the Record, and recommends the adoption of the
proposed Amendments as attached to the Report as Appendix “A.” 

Reasons and Conclusions

Based on the Record developed by the Department’s experts in the Division of Fish and Wildlife, and
established by the Hearing Officer’s Report, I find that the proposed regulatory Amendments are well-supported. I
further find that the Department’s experts fully developed the record to support adoption of these Amendments.
Therefore, the recommendations of the Hearing Officer are hereby adopted, and I direct that the proposed
Amendments be promulgated as final.

The following reasons and conclusions are entered:
1. The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to this proposed regulatory

promulgation, pursuant to 7 Del. C. §§901 (b), (c) & (d), 903 (a) & (b), 903 (e)(2)a.4, 903 (e)(2)b.3, 4 & 6;
2. The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority, pursuant to 7 Del.C. Chapter 60, to issue an

Order adopting these proposed Amendments as final;
3. The Department provided adequate public notice of the initial proposed Amendments and all proceedings

in a manner required by the law and regulations, and provided the public with an adequate opportunity to comment
on the same, including at the time of the public hearing held on February 26, 2020, and during the 15 days
subsequent to the hearing (through March 12, 2020), before making any final decision;

4. Promulgation of the proposed Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 3502: Striped Bass Spawning Season
and Area Restrictions, will enable the Department to expand the current allowable area where fixed gill nets can be
used by opening approximately 1.75 nautical miles (linear) of the Delaware River to fixed gill net fishing during the
months of January through May. More specifically, this Amendment will adjust the lower boundary of the exclusion
area northward (upstream) to the southern shore of Appoquinimink River mouth at latitude 39˚26’51.00”N and
longitude 75˚34’46.00”W;

5. The Department has reviewed the proposed Amendments in light of the Regulatory Flexibility Act,
consistent with 29 Del.C. Ch. 104, and has selected Exemption “B1,” as this regulation is not substantially likely to
impose additional cost or burdens upon individuals and/or small businesses;

6. The Department’s proposed regulatory Amendments, as initially published in the February 1, 2020
Delaware Register of Regulations, and as set forth in Appendix “A” hereto, are adequately supported, are not
arbitrary or capricious, and are consistent with the applicable laws and regulations. Consequently, they should be
approved as final regulatory Amendments, which shall go into effect ten days after their publication in the next
available issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations; and

7. The Department shall submit the proposed Amendments as final regulatory amendments to the Delaware
Register of Regulations for publication in its next available issue and provide such other notice as the law and
regulation require, and the Department determines is appropriate.

Shawn M. Garvin
Secretary
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3500 Tidal Finfish
Bass (Striped Bass; Black Sea Bass)

3502 Striped Bass Spawning Season and Area Restrictions.

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 The spawning season for striped bass (Morone saxatilis) in Delaware shall begin at 12:01 A.M. on
April 1 and continue through midnight on May 31 of each calendar year.

2.0 It is unlawful for any person to take and retain any striped bass during the striped bass spawning
season from the Nanticoke River or its tributaries, the Delaware River and its tributaries to the north of
a line extending due east beginning at and including the south jetty at the mouth of the C & D Canal, or
the C & D Canal or its tributaries.

3.0 It is unlawful for any person to fish a fixed gill net in the Nanticoke River or its tributaries or the C & D
Canal or its tributaries during the striped bass spawning season.

4.0 It is unlawful for any person to fish during the striped bass spawning season in the Nanticoke River or
its tributaries or the C & D Canal or its tributaries with a drift gill net of multi- or mono-filament twine
larger than 0.28 millimeters in diameter (size #69) or a stretched mesh size larger than five and one-
half (5 1/2) inches.

5.0 It is unlawful for any person to fish any fixed gill net in the Delaware River north of a line beginning at
Liston Point (River Mile 48.06) the southern shore of Appoquinimink River at latitude 39˚26’51.00”N
and longitude 75˚34’46.00”W and continuing due east to the boundary with New Jersey during
January, February, March, April or May.

6.0 It is unlawful for any person to fish during the striped bass spawning season defined in 3502 section
Section 1.0 and in the areas defined in 3502 section Section 2.0 with natural bait using any hook other
than a non-offset circle hook when said hook measures greater than three-eighths (3/8s) (3/8) inches
as measured from the point of the hook to the shank of the hook.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Section 903(e)(2)a.1 (7 Del.C. §903(e)(2)a.1)
7 DE Admin. Code 3516

Secretary’s Order No.: 2020-F-0015
RE: Approving Final Regulation, pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1,

to Amend 7 DE Admin. Code 3516: Bluefish

Date of Issuance: May 13, 2020
Effective Date: May 15, 2020

3516 Bluefish Possession Limits

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”), and pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, and all other relevant statutory authority, the
following findings of fact, based on the reasons and conclusions set forth herein, are entered as an order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced regulatory amendment.

Notwithstanding 29 Del.C. Ch. 101 (which sets forth the standardized procedures whereby a state agency shall
promulgate regulations), the Department also has the statutory authority under 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1 to
promulgate certain regulations in order to adopt a specified management measure for finfish, subject to 7 Del.C.
Ch. 9, Finfishing in Tidal Waters, by the issuance of a Secretary’s Order. The Department is allowed to follow this
abbreviated regulatory promulgation process only in instances where the management measures are specified by,
and ensures compliance or maintains consistency with, a fisheries management plan or rule established by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, the Atlantic Coastal Fisheries Cooperative Management Act, the
Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council, or the National Marine Fisheries Service.
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Whenever the Department promulgates a regulation pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, it shall also (1)
publish on its website a public notice with a copy of the Secretary’s Order and final regulation that implements the
specific management measure; and (2) file the Secretary’s Order and regulation that implements the specified
management measure in the next available issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The final regulation
becomes effective 48 hours after the Department has published the aforementioned public notice on its website, as
mandated by 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.2.

Background and Findings of Fact

This order amends 7 DE Admin. Code 3516: Bluefish to reduce fishing mortality on Bluefish by adopting
specified management measures approved and mandated by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s
(“ASMFC”) Bluefish Management Board to remain compliant with the Interstate Fishery Management Plan for
Bluefish. Specifically, this order adopts new possession limits for Bluefish for the recreational fishery.

The 2019 Bluefish operational stock assessment and peer review conducted by the Northeast Regional Stock
Assessment Workshop found that Bluefish are being overfished (and thus the current population is below its
minimum acceptable level), but are not experiencing overfishing (so that current mortality due to fishing is below its
maximum acceptable level). The ASMFC and Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council, which jointly manage
Bluefish under Amendment 1 to the Fishery Management Plan for the Bluefish Fishery (1998), approved an
acceptable biological catch limit of 16.28 million pounds for the 2020 fishing season, an approximate 25%
decrease from 2019 levels, in response to the findings of the 2019 Bluefish operational stock assessment.

The specified management measures adopted for the recreational fishery are a coastwide 3-fish daily bag limit
for private anglers and shore-based anglers, and a 5-fish daily bag limit for anglers on for-hire charter or head
boats. 

The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to promulgation of the proposed
amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 3516: Bluefish, pursuant to 7 Del. C. §§901 (c & d) and 903(e)(2)a.1. The
specific management measures are required by ASMFC Bluefish Management Board action taken on December
11, 2019. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

In accordance with 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.2, this order shall take effect 48 hours following publication of public
notice of the Secretary’s Order and regulation on the Department’s website. The Secretary’s Order and finalized
regulation will further be filed in the next issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this 13th day of May, 2020 that the above referenced amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code
3516: Bluefish, a copy of which is hereby attached, are adopted pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, and are
supported by the evidence contained herein.

Shawn M. Garvin
Secretary

3500 Tidal Finfish
Bluefish

3516 Bluefish Possession Limits.

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to have in possession
more than ten (10) five (5) bluefish (Pomatomus saltatrix) if fishing from a charter or headboat or three
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(3) if fishing from any other vessel or from shore at or between the place caught and his/her personal
abode or temporary or transient place of lodging) lodging.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Sections 209 and 703(3) (26 Del.C. §§209 and 703(3))
26 DE Admin. Code 4001

ORDER

4001 Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services (Dockets 10 and 45)

ORDER NO. 9580

AND NOW, this 22nd day of April 2020, the Delaware Public Service Commission ("Commission") determines
and orders the following:

WHEREAS, on April 17, 2019, the Governor of the State of Delaware signed into law Senate Bill No. 18 (82
Del. Laws ch. 11) ("SB 18"), which, among other things, amended Title 26 of the Delaware Code by removing
certain statutory requirements for Commission-regulated telecommunications service providers that are no longer
consistent with recent decisions of the Federal Communications Commission, including significant changes to the
Telecommunications Technology Investment Act ("TTIA") (See 26 Del.C. §§ 215, 704-707); and

WHEREAS, in part, SB 18 amends: (1) §215(h) to permit telecommunications carriers to undergo transfers of
control and to issue securities without Commission approval; and (2) the TTIA to narrow the definition of "Basic
Services" to only switched access services and to allow carriers to change their rates for Basic Services without
Commission approval; and 

WHEREAS, on December 5, 2019, by Order No. 9506, the Commission re-opened the captioned dockets and
proposed to revise its telecommunications rules to reflect the SB 18 amendments and to otherwise clarify and
simplify its regulations by: (1) amending its Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services, codified at 26
Del. Admin. C. § 4001 ("§ 4001") (i.e.; Regulation Docket Nos. 10 and 45); (2) moving the remaining TTIA
requirements (as amended by SB 18) from 26 Del. Admin. C. § 4005 ("§ 4005") to § 4001; and (3) repealing its
Regulations for the Implementation of the Telecommunications Technology Investment Act, codified at § 4005
(Regulation Docket No. 41); and

WHEREAS, by Order No. 9506, the Commission set the hearing date on the proposed changes for the regular
meeting it had scheduled for February 26, 2020, and directed the Commission Secretary to cause notice of the
proposed changes and the hearing date in The News Journal and Delaware State News newspapers and in the

IN THE MATTER OF THE RULES FOR THE 
PROVISION OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS 
SERVICES
(REG. DKT 10 OPENED MAY 1, 1984; REG. DKT 
45 OPENED NOVEMBER 21, 1995; JOINTLY 
REOPENED NOVEMBER 17, 1998; JULY 24, 
2001; AUGUST 9, 2005; NOVEMBER 5, 2013; 
MAY 13, 2014; AUGUST 19, 2014 AND 
DECEMBER 5, 2019

PSC REGULATION DOCKET 
NOS. 10 AND 45

IN THE MATTER OF THE REGULATIONS FOR 
THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY 
INVESTMENT ACT
(OPENED JULY 20, 1993; REOPENED 
DECEMBER 5, 2019)

PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 41
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Delaware Register of Regulations; and
WHEREAS, in late December 2019, the Commission cancelled its February 26, 2020 meeting and, therefore,

by Order No. 9532 (Jan. 8, 2020), set a new hearing date on the proposed changes for March 18, 2020, and
directed the Commission Secretary to publish notice of the new hearing date in the February 1, 2020 edition of the
Register of Regulations and in The News Journal and Delaware State News newspapers on January 23, 2020; and

WHEREAS, the proposed regulations appeared the January 1, 2020 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations and the new hearing date appeared in the February 1, 2020 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with 29 Del.C. § 10118(a), which requires the opportunity for public written
comment to be extended for a minimum of 15 days after the final public hearing on a proposed regulation, the
Commission included in the form of notice a time period for written public comment ending on April 3, 2020; and 

WHEREAS, on February 4, 2020, Verizon Delaware LLC ("Verizon") submitted written comments supporting
the proposed changes as consistent with the SB 18 and as appropriately clarifying and reorganizing the structure
of the rules to correspond with their more limited scope; and

WHEREAS, on March 18, 2020, the Commission conducted a duly-noticed hearing on the proposed changes
during which: (1) Staff witness Lisa Driggins testified that the proposed amendments comply with the changes
made by SB 18 and adoption thereof would be in the public interest; (2) Douglas Smith, Verizon's Vice President,
State Government Affairs, stated that Verizon fully supports the proposed amendments, noting they are consistent
with existing law; and (3) the Commission voted to adopt the proposed amendments to the regulations on the
condition that no public comments were filed by the April 3, 2020 deadline objecting to the proposed amendments;
and

WHEREAS, other than Verizon, no person filed comments by the April 3, 2020 deadline for public written
comment; and

WHEREAS, the Commission is also making several non-substantive numbering and formatting changes to the
Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services, consistent with the Delaware Administrative Code
Drafting and Style Manual, September 2014 Edition;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED BY THE AFFIRMATIVE
VOTE OF NOT FEWER THAN THREE COMMISSIONERS:

1. That pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§ 209 and 703(3), the Commission hereby amends its Rules for the Provision
of Telecommunications Services (i.e.; 26 Del. Admin. C. § 4001) as proposed herein and repeals its Regulations
for the Implementation of the Telecommunications Technology Investment Act (i.e.; 26 Del. Admin. C. § 4005).
Marked-up versions of the regulations are attached as Exhibits “A” and “B”. 

2. That pursuant to 29 Del. C. § 10118(e), the Secretary of the Commission shall transmit a copy of this
Order, including Exhibits “A” and “B” to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the June 1, 2020 edition of
the Delaware Register of Regulations. An exact copy of the regulations, as amended, shall be published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations as the Commission’s official regulation as defined in 29 Del. C. § 1132.

3. That the effective date of the changes to the regulations shall be the later of June 11, 2020, or ten days
after publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

4. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further orders in this matter as
may be deemed necessary or proper by Order of the Commission.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

Dallas Winslow, Chairman /s/ Kim Drexler, Commissioner

Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner /s/ Harold B. Gray, Commissioner

Manubhai C. Karia, Commissioner

ATTEST: Donna Nickerson, Secretary
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4001 Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services (Dockets 10 and 45)

Docket 10 The Sale, Resale and Other Provisions of Intrastate

Telecommunications Services

Docket 45 Regulations For The Facilitation of Competitive Entry into the

Telecommunications Local Exchange Service Market

Effective: [[TBD]]December 10, 2001 [June 11, 2020]

PART A [PART A]

CERTIFICATION AND REGULATION OF CARRIERS

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3.0 Application With Other Rules or Regulations

[3.1] Rules of Practice and [Procedure Procedure.] The practice and procedure governing any
proceedings required or authorized by these Rules shall be as set forth by the Commission’s Rules of
Practice and Procedure adopted in PSC Docket No. 99-9, by Order No. 5057 (April 6, 1999) as the
same may be hereafter from time to time amended. See 1001 General Regulations.

4.0 Certification

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

4.5 Initial Tariffs or Price Lists.

[4.5.1] An applicant shall file proposed initial rates, prices, rules, regulations, terms and conditions of
service for switched access services. Any revisions to this tariff must be filed with the Commission.
An applicant may need not file tariffs or price lists for other services or provide a website link to its
tariff or price list which the Commission will post on its website.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

19.0 Customer Protection

19.1 Procedures To Be Followed By The Customer.

[19.1.1] A customer who believes his or her Carrier or Carriers have been changed, without the customer’s
authorization, and/or that the customer has been billed for charges not authorized by the
customer, should first attempt to resolve the matter with the Carrier or Carriers responsible for the
unauthorized changes and/or charges. If the customer is not satisfied with the resolution offered
by the Carrier, the customer may file a complaint with the Commission.

19.2 Procedures To Be Followed By Carriers.

[19.2.1] A Carrier who is informed by a customer that the customer believes the Carrier has caused or
allowed a change in the customer’s Carrier without the customer’s authorization, or that the Carrier
has caused or allowed the customer to be billed for charges not authorized by the customer shall
attempt to resolve the complaint promptly and in good faith. If the customer and Carrier are not
able to resolve the complaint, then the Carrier shall inform the customer orally or in writing of the
right to file a complaint with the Commission and shall provide the customer with the Commission’s
address and telephone number.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

19.4 Refund and Penalties.

[19.4.1] In the event the Commission determines that a Carrier has caused a customer’s Carrier for a
service to be changed without the customer’s authorization obtained in exact compliance with
these Rules, or has caused the customer to be billed for charges imposed without exact
compliance with these Rules, then the Commission shall require the Carrier to promptly refund or
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void to the customer any charges the Carrier has caused to be billed as a result of the
unauthorized change or charge, and/or any other remedies available for violation of these Rules
as allowed by law. 26 Del.C. §924(c). The Commission’s remedies are in addition to those
required under 47 C.F.R. § 64.1170 to the extent the FCC’s remedies have not provided a refund
or credit to the subscriber in the amount of 100% of all charges the Carrier caused to be billed as a
result of the unauthorized change or charge.

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the January 2020 issue of the Register at page 545 (23 DE Reg. 545). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

4001 Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services (Dockets 10 and 45)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Sections 209 and 703(3) (26 Del.C. §§209 and 703(3))
26 DE Admin. Code 4005

ORDER

4005 Regulations for the Implementation of the Telecommunications Technology Investment Act (Docket 
41)

ORDER NO. 9580

AND NOW, this 22nd day of April 2020, the Delaware Public Service Commission ("Commission") determines
and orders the following:

WHEREAS, on April 17, 2019, the Governor of the State of Delaware signed into law Senate Bill No. 18 (82
Del. Laws ch. 11) ("SB 18"), which, among other things, amended Title 26 of the Delaware Code by removing
certain statutory requirements for Commission-regulated telecommunications service providers that are no longer
consistent with recent decisions of the Federal Communications Commission, including significant changes to the
Telecommunications Technology Investment Act ("TTIA") (See 26 Del.C. §§ 215, 704-707); and

WHEREAS, in part, SB 18 amends: (1) §215(h) to permit telecommunications carriers to undergo transfers of
control and to issue securities without Commission approval; and (2) the TTIA to narrow the definition of "Basic
Services" to only switched access services and to allow carriers to change their rates for Basic Services without
Commission approval; and 

IN THE MATTER OF THE RULES FOR THE 
PROVISION OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS 
SERVICES
(REG. DKT 10 OPENED MAY 1, 1984; REG. DKT 
45 OPENED NOVEMBER 21, 1995; JOINTLY 
REOPENED NOVEMBER 17, 1998; JULY 24, 
2001; AUGUST 9, 2005; NOVEMBER 5, 2013; 
MAY 13, 2014; AUGUST 19, 2014 AND 
DECEMBER 5, 2019

PSC REGULATION DOCKET 
NOS. 10 AND 45

IN THE MATTER OF THE REGULATIONS FOR 
THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY 
INVESTMENT ACT
(OPENED JULY 20, 1993; REOPENED 
DECEMBER 5, 2019)

PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 41
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 23, ISSUE 12, MONDAY, JUNE 1, 2020

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/june2020/final/23 DE Reg 1045 06-01-20.htm
https://depsc.delaware.gov/


FINAL REGULATIONS 1049
WHEREAS, on December 5, 2019, by Order No. 9506, the Commission re-opened the captioned dockets and
proposed to revise its telecommunications rules to reflect the SB 18 amendments and to otherwise clarify and
simplify its regulations by: (1) amending its Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services, codified at 26
Del. Admin. C. § 4001 ("§ 4001") (i.e.; Regulation Docket Nos. 10 and 45); (2) moving the remaining TTIA
requirements (as amended by SB 18) from 26 Del. Admin. C. § 4005 ("§ 4005") to § 4001; and (3) repealing its
Regulations for the Implementation of the Telecommunications Technology Investment Act, codified at § 4005
(Regulation Docket No. 41); and

WHEREAS, by Order No. 9506, the Commission set the hearing date on the proposed changes for the regular
meeting it had scheduled for February 26, 2020, and directed the Commission Secretary to cause notice of the
proposed changes and the hearing date in The News Journal and Delaware State News newspapers and in the
Delaware Register of Regulations; and

WHEREAS, in late December 2019, the Commission cancelled its February 26, 2020 meeting and, therefore,
by Order No. 9532 (Jan. 8, 2020), set a new hearing date on the proposed changes for March 18, 2020, and
directed the Commission Secretary to publish notice of the new hearing date in the February 1, 2020 edition of the
Register of Regulations and in The News Journal and Delaware State News newspapers on January 23, 2020; and

WHEREAS, the proposed regulations appeared the January 1, 2020 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations and the new hearing date appeared in the February 1, 2020 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with 29 Del.C. § 10118(a), which requires the opportunity for public written
comment to be extended for a minimum of 15 days after the final public hearing on a proposed regulation, the
Commission included in the form of notice a time period for written public comment ending on April 3, 2020; and 

WHEREAS, on February 4, 2020, Verizon Delaware LLC ("Verizon") submitted written comments supporting
the proposed changes as consistent with the SB 18 and as appropriately clarifying and reorganizing the structure
of the rules to correspond with their more limited scope; and

WHEREAS, on March 18, 2020, the Commission conducted a duly-noticed hearing on the proposed changes
during which: (1) Staff witness Lisa Driggins testified that the proposed amendments comply with the changes
made by SB 18 and adoption thereof would be in the public interest; (2) Douglas Smith, Verizon's Vice President,
State Government Affairs, stated that Verizon fully supports the proposed amendments, noting they are consistent
with existing law; and (3) the Commission voted to adopt the proposed amendments to the regulations on the
condition that no public comments were filed by the April 3, 2020 deadline objecting to the proposed amendments;
and

WHEREAS, other than Verizon, no person filed comments by the April 3, 2020 deadline for public written
comment; and

WHEREAS, the Commission is also making several non-substantive numbering and formatting changes to the
Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services, consistent with the Delaware Administrative Code
Drafting and Style Manual, September 2014 Edition;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED BY THE AFFIRMATIVE
VOTE OF NOT FEWER THAN THREE COMMISSIONERS:

1. That pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§ 209 and 703(3), the Commission hereby amends its Rules for the Provision
of Telecommunications Services (i.e.; 26 Del. Admin. C. § 4001) as proposed herein and repeals its Regulations
for the Implementation of the Telecommunications Technology Investment Act (i.e.; 26 Del. Admin. C. § 4005).
Marked-up versions of the regulations are attached as Exhibits “A” and “B”. 

2. That pursuant to 29 Del. C. § 10118(e), the Secretary of the Commission shall transmit a copy of this
Order, including Exhibits “A” and “B” to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the June 1, 2020 edition of
the Delaware Register of Regulations. An exact copy of the regulations, as amended, shall be published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations as the Commission’s official regulation as defined in 29 Del. C. § 1132.

3. That the effective date of the changes to the regulations shall be the later of June 11, 2020, or ten days
after publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

4. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further orders in this matter as
may be deemed necessary or proper by Order of the Commission.
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BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

4005 Regulations for the Implementation of the Telecommunications Technology Investment Act (Docket 
41)

Repealed, effective [[TBD] June 11, 2020]

1.0 Applicability.

These rules shall apply only to telecommunications service providers that elect, pursuant to Section
704 of Subchapter VII of Title 26 of the Delaware Code Annotated, hereinafter, the "Act", to have rates and prices
governed by the Telecommunications Technology Investment Act ("TTIA").

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the January 2020 issue of the Register at page 552 (23 DE Reg. 552). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

4005 Regulations for the Implementation of the Telecommunications Technology Investment Act

Dallas Winslow, Chairman /s/ Kim Drexler, Commissioner

Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner /s/ Harold B. Gray, Commissioner

Manubhai C. Karia, Commissioner

ATTEST: Donna Nickerson, Secretary
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

100 BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 105(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §105(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 100

PUBLIC NOTICE

100 Board of Accountancy

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §105(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Accountancy has proposed revisions to its rules and
regulations. The rules are designed to implement the revised Accountancy statute.

A public hearing was originally scheduled for May 20, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room B
of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. The original Register notice was published
on April 1, 2020 in Volume 23, Issue 10 of the Register beginning at page 843. The May 20 public hearing could not
go forward due to the lack of publication of required newspaper notices. A rescheduled public hearing will occur at
the Board’s meeting on July 15, 2020, where members of the public can offer comments on the proposed
amendments to the rules and regulations. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations
may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of Accountancy, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904.
Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above address.

Written comments will be accepted until July 30, 2020 in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a).

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

2000 BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTICE

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 2006(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2006(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 2000

PUBLIC NOTICE

2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2006(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Occupational Therapy Practice has proposed
revisions to its rules and regulations. The rules pertaining to supervision for occupational therapy assistants are
proposed to be amended. The Board is also taking the opportunity of this proposal to make grammatical and
formatting edits throughout the regulation.
    A public hearing was originally scheduled for May 6, 2020 at 4:30 p.m. in the second floor conference room A of
the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. The original Register notice was published on
March 1, 2020 in Volume 23, Issue 9 of the Register beginning at page 733. The May 6 public hearing could not go
forward due to the lack of publication of required newspaper notices. A rescheduled public hearing will occur at the
Board’s meeting on July 8, 2020, where members of the public can offer comments on the proposed amendments
to the rules and regulations. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a
copy from the Delaware Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above address in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a). Written public comments will be accepted until July 23, 2020.

https://sos.delaware.gov/
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION 
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware River Basin Commission held a public hearing on Wednesday, May 13, 2020 beginning at 1:30
p.m. In light of COVID-19 mitigation measures in effect for DRBC member states, the Commission conducted the
public hearing by telephone rather than at the Commission’s office building in West Trenton, New Jersey as
previously posted. Please check the Commission’s website, www.drbc.gov, on or after April 30, 2020 for details
regarding the resolutions and draft docket decisions that were the subjects of the public hearing.

The Commission’s quarterly business meeting will be held on Wednesday, June 10, 2020, beginning at 10:30
a.m. Although the Commission has reserved the West Trenton Volunteer Fire Company facility at 40 West Upper
Ferry Road, Ewing, NJ 08628 for this meeting, COVID-19 mitigation measures then in effect may compel the
Commission to conduct the meeting remotely. Please check the Commission’s website, www.drbc.gov, on or after
May 27, 2020 to learn whether the meeting format will be in-person or remote, and if the latter, how to attend.

For additional information, please visit the DRBC website at www.drbc.gov or contact Denise McHugh at
denise.mchugh@drbc.gov or Patricia Hausler at patricia.hausler@drbc.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on June 18, 2020 at a location to be determined.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

PUBLIC NOTICE
902 Prohibited Unfair Claim Settlement Practices

In the May 1, 2020 edition of the Register of Regulations, the Department published a proposal to update and
clarify requirements concerning prohibited unfair claim settlement practices that are set forth in Regulation 902
(see 23 DE Reg. 920 (05/01/2020)). In that proposal, the Department proposed adding new subsection 3.1.14,
which included a failure to promptly settle a claim as required under Regulation 903 as an unfair claim settlement
practice. The Department also took the opportunity of the proposal to make grammatical and formatting edits
throughout the regulation.

Upon further review, the Department has determined not to proceed with proposed new subsection 3.1.14 and
is hereby withdrawing that proposal, as violations of Regulation 903 are already a defined unfair claims settlement
practice.

Instead, the Department proposes to add new subsection 3.2, which would specifically provide that three
instances of an insurer's commission of a prohibited claim settlement practice within a 36 month period, as listed in
subsection 1.2.1 (to be recodified at subsection 3.1), shall give rise to a rebuttable presumption that the insurer is
in violation of this regulation and 18 Del.C. §2304(16)f. The Department is again taking the opportunity of this re-
proposal to make grammatical and formatting edits throughout the regulation.

The Delaware Code authority for the regulation is 18 Del.C. §§311 and 2312.
The Department has determined to hold a virtual public hearing on the proposed amendments to Regulation

902 on Monday, June 22, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. The hearing will be facilitated through WebEx at https://
stateofdelaware.webex.com/stateofdelaware/j.php?MTID=mdc3082cf09b007a81f58a8a9886c92a1 meeting
number (access code): 712 562 634 and meeting password: wsES2uneP24.

Holding a virtual public meeting is specifically permitted by Paragraph 5 of the Declaration of a State of
Emergency for the State of Delaware due to a Public Health Threat issued by Governor John Carney on March 12,
2020 and extended without modification on April 10, 2020 and May 8, 2020. 

The proposed amendments appear below and may also be viewed at the Department of Insurance website at
http://insurance.delaware.gov/information/proposedregs/.

Any person may file written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other materials
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concerning the proposed amendments to the regulation. Any written submission in response to this notice and
relevant to the proposed amendments must be received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m.

EST, the 7th day of July 2020. Any such requests and any questions concerning connecting to the public hearing
should be directed to:

Leslie W. Ledogar, Regulatory Specialist

Delaware Department of Insurance

ATTN: Docket 4259-2020

1351 West North Street, Suite 101

Dover, DE 19904

(302) 674-7379

Email:  Leslie.Ledogar@delaware.gov

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
DIVISION OF UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE 

PUBLIC NOTICE
1202 Unemployment Insurance Regulations

The Delaware Department of Labor, Division of Unemployment Insurance proposes this revised regulation in
accordance with Sections 3122 and 3317(a) of Title 19 of the Delaware Code to establish procedures for
employers to provide notice to claimants at the time the individual becomes unemployed of their rights to file an
unemployment claim.

The Delaware Department of Labor, Division of Unemployment Insurance solicits written comments from the
public concerning the proposed revised regulation. Any such comments should be submitted to the Director of the
Division of Unemployment Insurance, Darryl Scott, by mail to: Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance, P.O.
Box 9950, Wilmington, DE 19809-0950, or by email to: Darryl.Scott@delaware.gov. Written comments must be
received by Mr. Scott on or before July 1, 2020 to be considered prior to the adoption of the proposed revised
regulation. Copies of the proposed revised regulation are available upon request.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
PUBLIC NOTICE

3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Seasons; Methods of Take; Creel Limit; Possession Limit 
3504 Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions

The mandatory provisions of the Atlantic States Fisheries Commission’s (ASMFC’s) Addendum VI to
Amendment 6 to the Atlantic Striped Bass Interstate Fishery Management Plan require a coastwide 18% reduction
in striped bass removals (landings + discard mortality). The ASMFC adopted specific, prescribed coastwide
management measures to meet the required 18% reduction, but these measures are not preferred for Delaware.
Delaware developed two management options that were approved by the ASMFC that, if implemented by the
Department, would be equivalent to the specific coastwide management measures in Addendum VI. The first
option results in a 1.8% reduction in commercial removals and a 20.4% reduction in recreational removals. The
second option results in an 18% reduction in commercial removals and an 18.18% reduction in recreational
removals.

The hearing record on the proposed changes to 7 DE Admin. Code 3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing
Seasons; Methods of Take; Creel Limit; Possession Limit and 7 DE Admin. Code 3504 Striped Bass Possession
Size Limit; Exceptions opens June 1, 2020 (Hearing Docket No. 2020-R-F-015). Individuals may submit comments
regarding the proposed new regulation to the Hearing Officer via the online comment form at https://
dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/public-hearings/comment-form/, via email to DNRECHearingComments@delaware.gov,
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or via USPS to Theresa Newman, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE, 19901. Public
comments will be received until close of business July 10, 2020.

A virtual public hearing on the proposed amendment will be held on Thursday, June 25, 2020 beginning at 6:00
PM. For additional information on this proposed regulatory promulgation, visit https://de.gov/dnrechearings. Please
note that live comments will not be accepted during the virtual hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION 

1900 BOARD OF NURSING
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Nursing, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1904(c) and 1934(a)(1), proposes to revise its
regulations to update its regulations pertaining to APRN Education Programs in Delaware. There are currently no
regulations setting forth the requirements or guidelines for such programs, so the Board is proposing new
regulations to do so. The proposed changes also strike redundant or unnecessary regulations or make changes to
comply with current law and practice.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation changes on July 8, 2020 at 9:00 a.m., Second
Floor Conference Room A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments should be
sent to Dr. Pamela Zickafoose, Executive Director of the Delaware Board of Nursing, Cannon Building, 861 Silver
Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments will be accepted until July 23, 2020 pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§10118(a).

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

PUBLIC NOTICE
8003 Natural Gas Service Reliability and System Planning Standards

The Delaware Public Service Commission ("Commission") proposes to issue regulations governing distribution
system planning for natural gas public utilities.

You can review the proposed regulations in the June 1, 2020 Delaware Register of Regulations. You can also
review the Order and the proposed regulations in the Commission's electronic filing system DelaFile at http://
delafile.delaware.gov/ and for docket number input 18-0935. If you wish to obtain written copies of the Order and
proposed regulations, please contact the Commission at (302) 736-7500. Copies in excess of the first 20 pages
are $0.10 per page. Payment is expected at the time of copying (if you wish the copies to be mailed) or at the time
the copies are retrieve (if you wish to retrieve them in person).

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), written comments on the proposed regulations will be accepted until
Wednesday, July 1, 2020. They can be filed electronically in DelaFile at http://delafile.delaware.gov/ by
completing the Public Comment form located under Public Links. Written comments can also be mailed to Matthew
Hartigan, Public Service Commission, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 100, Dover, DE 19904, or emailed to him
at matthew.hartigan@delaware.gov with the subject line "Docket No. 18-0935".

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS 

PUBLIC NOTICE
2404 Delaware Traffic Calming Design Manual

Pursuant to the authority provided by 29 Del. C. §8404(8), the Delaware Department of Transportation
(DelDOT), adopted the 2404 Delaware Traffic Calming Design Manual. 

The Department, through its Division of Transportation Solutions (“DelDOT”), seeks to repeal Section 2404 of
Title 2 of the Delaware Administrative Code. The regulation covers the design and study guidelines for traffic
calming devices/applications by the Department of Transportation. Based on current operating procedures, this
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 23, ISSUE 12, MONDAY, JUNE 1, 2020
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regulation is no longer necessary and can be repealed.
DelDOT will take written comments on these proposed general revisions to Section 2404 of Title 2, Delaware

Administrative Code, from June 1, 2020 through July 1, 2020. The public may submit their comments to:

Peter Haag, Chief of Traffic Engineering, Traffic Engineering Section

(peter.haag@delaware.gov) or in writing to his attention,

Delaware Department of Transportation

169 Brick Store Landing Road

Smyrna, DE 19977
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