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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example
would be:

15 DE Reg. 1728 - 1759 (06/01/12)

Refers to Volume 15, pages 1728 - 1759 of the Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2012.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.
When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING TIME

August 1 July 16       4:30 p.m.
September 1 August 15       4:30 p.m.
October 1 September 17       4:30 p.m.
November 1 October 15       4:30 p.m.
December 1 November 15       4:30 p.m.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF

Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor; Judi Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Jeffrey W. Hague,
Registrar of Regulations; Robert Lupo, Printer; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop Supervisor; Kathleen Morris,
Administrative Specialist I; Georgia Roman, Unit Operations Support Specialist; Victoria Schultes, Administrative
Specialist II; Don Sellers, Printer; Sarah Wootten, Joint Sunset Analyst; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative
Specialist II. Legislative Librarian; Sara Zimmerman.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119 an agency may promulgate a regulatory change as an Emergency under the following
conditions:

§ 10119. Emergency regulations.
If an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the adoption,

amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by § 10115, the following rules shall apply:
(1) The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that

it finds practicable;
(2) The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state, in writing, the reasons for the agency's

determination that such emergency action is necessary;
(3) The order effecting such action may be effective for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed

once for a period not exceeding 60 days;
(4) When such an order is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or authorized by this

chapter, the agency shall state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested
person for the reconsideration or revision thereof; and

(5) The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next issue of the
Register of Regulations. (60 Del. Laws, c. 585, § 1; 62 Del. Laws, c. 301, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 48, § 10.)
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)
16 DE Admin. Code 5000

PUBLIC NOTICE

Fair Hearing Practice and Procedures - Expedited Fair Hearings

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

This emergency regulation is being promulgated to amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) to
codify the existing expedited hearing process for managed care clients as required by federal regulations. This
emergency regulation adoption is necessary while the proposed rulemaking process is being completed because
current regulations do not reflect existing policy for an expedited fair hearing process for managed care clients as
required by 42 CFR §431.244(f)(2). Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid
and Medical Assistance (DMMA) finds that federal law for receipt of federal funds requires immediate adoption of
these rule revisions to ensure access to quality healthcare. The Department has determined that a threat to the
public welfare exists if it is not implemented without prior notice or hearing.

NATURE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT

Public entitlement programs, including Medicaid are secured by "due process procedures." That is, once public
entitlements are enacted into law, they are considered rights with safeguards to protect individuals. Grievances,
appeals, notices and fair hearings provide significant protections for Medicaid applicants and beneficiaries. When
an individual's application has been denied or a recipient's benefits have been or will be discontinued, reduced, or
suspended, the individual can appeal.

Federal regulations provide a 3 working-day timeframe for resolution of an expedited appeal (an appeal where
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a delay could seriously jeopardize the enrollee's life or health) and require States to have expedited fair hearings
for expedited appeals when the issue is the denial of authorization for a service. 

SUMMARY OF THE PROPOSED AMENDMENT

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed the Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance (DMMA) recently approved waiver amendment request submitted under the authority of Section 1115 of
the Social Security Act to include additional populations in a mandatory managed care program.  During the waiver
review process, DMMA became aware that certain federal due process requirements that the agency follows are
not reflected in the fair hearing regulations. These rules have long been in practice but have not heretofore been
expressly set forth in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM). 

DMMA is proposing this action as an Emergency Regulation as the most expedient way to reflect the appeals
procedures currently in use and to conform the descriptions of these procedures to federal requirements. 

The effects of these rules will be to reflect accurately the procedural safeguards described in the Code of
Federal Regulations. The following sections of the DSSM are amended to codify the existing expedited hearings
process for managed care clients as required by federal regulations:

DSSM 5000, Definitions
DSSM 5001, Providing an Opportunity for a Fair Hearing
DSSM 5300, Providing Adequate and Timely Notices
DSSM 5304.3, Presiding Over Medicaid DMMA Managed Care Hearings
DSSM 5312, Responding to Fair Hearing Requests
DSSM 5403, Providing Documents to Appellants; and,
DSSM 5500, Issuing Fair Hearing Decisions.

This emergency regulation is also published concurrently herein under "Proposed Regulations" to allow for
public comment.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that a compelling public interest exists which necessitates promulgation of an
emergency regulation and requests emergency approval of these rule amendments to codify the existing expedited
hearing process for managed care clients as required by federal regulations. The Department will receive,
consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration or revision thereof.  

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, to assure compliance with relevant Federal Medicaid rules, that the proposed
revisions to the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Fair Hearing Practice and Procedures,
specifically, Expedited Fair Hearings be adopted on an emergency basis without prior notice or hearing.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DMMA EMERGENCY ORDER REGULATION #12-26
REVISIONS:

5000 Definitions

Abandonment When the claimant fails without good cause, to appear (by himself or by authorized
representative) at his or her scheduled hearing.
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Adequate Notice A written notice that includes:
   1. A statement of what action the agency intends to take
   2. The reasons for the intended agency action
   3. The specific regulations supporting such action
   4. An explanation of the individual's right to request a State agency hearing
   5. The circumstances under which assistance is continued if a hearing is requested
   6. If the agency action is upheld, that such assistance must be repaid under title IV-A,
and must also be repaid under titles I, X, XIV or XVI (AABD) if the State plan provides for
recovery of such payments.

Advance Notice Period The 10 day period between the date a notice is mailed to the date a proposed action is
to take effect.  (Also called Timely Notice Period.)

Appellant Anyone who requests a hearing.  (Also called Claimant.)
Benefits Any kind of assistance, payments or benefits made by TANF, GA, Medicaid, Delaware

Healthy Children Program (DHCP), Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP),
Chronic Renal Disease Program (CRDP), Child Care, Refugee, Emergency Assistance
or Food Supplement programs.

Claimant Anyone who requests a hearing.  (Also called Appellant.)
DSS The Division of Social Services (or "the Division.")
DHSS The Department of Health and Social Services, including:

   1. The Division of Social Services (DSS), in connection with economic, medical, 
vocational or child care subsidy assistance
   2. The Division of Medicaid & and Medical Assistance (DMMA) or a managed care 
organization (MCO) under contract with DHSS to manage an operation of the Medicaid 
Program, in connection with medical assistance
   3. The Division of State Service Centers (DSSC) in connection with the Emergency 
Assistance Program
   4. The Division of Developmental Disabilities Services (DDDS) in connection with 
Medicaid Program services
   5. The Division of Public Health in connection with Medicaid Program services
   6. The Division of Services for the Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
(DSAAPD) in connection with Medicaid Program services

Expedited Fair Hearing An administrative hearing for Medicaid and DHCP which provides for a decision to be
issued within 3 working days from the receipt of the request for an appeal of a decision
to terminate, reduce, or suspend previously authorized services or a decision to deny or
limit a new service request where the standard decision time frame of 45 days could
seriously jeopardize the claimant’s life or health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain
maximum function.

Fair Hearing

Fair Hearing Summary

An administrative hearing held in accordance with the principles of due process which
include:
   1. Timely and adequate notice
   2. The right to confront and cross-examine adverse witnesses
   3. The opportunity to be heard orally
   4. The right to an impartial decision maker
   5. The opportunity to obtain counsel, represent him or herself, or use any other person
of his or her choice.

A document prepared by the agency stating the factual and legal reason(s) for the action
under appeal.  The purpose of the hearing summary is to state the position of the
agency/entity that initiated the action in order to provide the appellant with the necessary
information to prepare his or her case.
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Good Cause May include, but is not limited to the following:
   1. Death in the family
   2. Personal injury or illness
   3. Sudden and unexpected emergencies
   4. Failure to receive the hearing notice

Group Hearing A series of individual requests for a hearing consolidated into a single group hearing. A
group hearing is appropriate when the sole issue involved is one of State or federal law,
regulation, or policy. The policies governing hearings will be followed In all group
hearings. The individual appellant in a group hearing is permitted to present his or her
case or be represented by an authorized representative.

Hearing Decision The decision in a case appealed to the State hearing officer. The decision includes:
   1. The substance of what transpired at the hearing
   2. A summary of the case facts
   3. Supporting evidence
   4. Pertinent State or federal regulations
   5. The reason for the decision

In Food Supplement Program disqualification cases, the hearing decision must also
respond to reasoned arguments by the appellant.

EXAMPLE: At a Food Supplement Program Intentional Program Violation Hearing
involving a failure to report a change promptly, an appellant may argue that a failure to
report does not constitute "clear and convincing evidence" of intent to defraud. The
hearing officer's decision must respond to this argument.

Hearing Officer The individual responsible for conducting the hearing and issuing a final decision on
issues of fact and questions of law.

Hearing Record A verbatim transcript of all evidence and other material introduced at the hearing, the
hearing decision, and all other correspondence and documents which are admitted as
evidence or otherwise included for the hearing record by the hearing officer.

Hearing Summary A document prepared by the agency stating the factual and legal reason(s) for the action
under appeal. The purpose of the hearing summary is to state the position of the
agency/entity that initiated the action in order to provide the appellant with the necessary
information to prepare his or her case.

Hearsay Evidence Testimony about a statement made by a third party that is offered as fact without
personal knowledge

Individual Hearing A hearing in which an individual client disagrees with the action taken by the Department
on the facts of his or her case.

MCO A Managed Care Organization under contract with DHSS to administer the delivery of
medical services to recipients of Medicaid and CHIP through a network of participating
providers.

Party A party to a hearing is a person or an administrative agency or other entity who has
taken part in or is concerned with an action under appeal. A party may be composed of
one or more individuals.

Privilege Appellants may decline to present testimony or evidence at a fair hearing under claim of
privilege.  Privilege may include the privilege against self- incrimination or
communication to an attorney, a religious advisor, a physician, etc. 

Request for a Fair
Hearing

Any clear expression (oral or written) by the appellant or his authorized agent that the
individual wants to appeal a decision to a higher authority. Such request may be oral in
the case of actions taken under the Food Supplement Program.

Relevance Refers to evidence.  Evidence is relevant if an average person believes that the
evidence makes a significant fact more probable.
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5001 Providing an Opportunity for a Fair Hearing

7 CFR 273.15(f), 42 CFR 431.206, 45 CFR 205.10, 42 CFR 438.402, 42 CFR 457.1120

This policy applies to all applicants and recipients of DSS and DMMA for services provided directly by the
Agencies or through agreements with other State or contracted entities where the applicant or recipient claims that
he/she has been adversely impacted by a specific action taken by DSS or DMMA. This policy does not create any
new right of appeal outside DSS or DMMA, nor does it restrict an existing right to any other fair hearing process to
which the applicant or recipient may be entitled.

1. Staff Offer Clients an Opportunity to be Heard
An opportunity for a fair hearing will be provided, subject to the provisions of this section, to any
individual requesting a hearing who is dissatisfied with a decision of the Division of Social Services or
the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance.

The agency will promptly inform a claimant in writing if assistance is to be discontinued under any
circumstance pending a hearing decision.

2. Staff Inform Clients in Writing of Their Hearing Rights
Every applicant and recipient will be informed in writing of his or her right to a fair hearing as provided
under this section:
A. At the time of application
B. At the time of any action affecting the applicant’s or recipient’s claim
C. At the time a skilled nursing facility or a nursing facility notifies DSS or DMMA of a Medicaid
applicant’s or recipient’s potential transfer or discharge, which may adversely affect the applicant’s or
recipient’s Medicaid eligibility
D. At the time an individual receives an adverse determination by the State with regard to the
preadmission screening resident review PASRR requirements.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5300  Providing Adequate and Timely Notices 

45 CFR 205.10, 7 CFR 273.15(f), 42 CFR 431.210, 42 CFR 438.404, 42 CFR 457.340,  45 CFR 205.10

This policy applies to every applicant and recipient under any public assistance program administered by the
Division of Social Services (DSS) or the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA).

1. DSS and DMMA Provide Written Notice of Agency Actions
Written notice of an agency action will contain:
A. A statement of the client's right to a fair hearing as provided under this section.
B. The method by which he or she may request a fair hearing.
C. A statement that he or she may represent him/herself or that he or she may be represented by counsel

or by another person.
2. DSS and DMMA Take Action Only Under Certain Conditions

Remand To send back for further action.
Rule of Residuum Findings of fact must be supported by at least some evidence which is admissible in a

court of law.
Timely Notice Period The 10 day period between the date a notice is mailed to the date a proposed action is

to take effect.  (Also called Advance Notice Period.) 
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No action may be taken unless the following conditions are met:
A. Written notice is provided to the client that is "adequate."
An adequate notice is a written notice that includes 

1. A statement of what action the agency intends to take
2. The reasons for the intended agency action
3. The specific regulations supporting such action
4. Explanation of the individual's right to request a State agency hearing
5. The circumstances under which assistance is continued if a hearing is requested
6. If the agency action is upheld, that such assistance must be repaid

i. Must be repaid under Title IV-A
ii. Must be repaid under Titles I, X, XIV or XVI (AABD) if the State plan provides for recovery of

such payment
iii. May be repaid under Title XIX

B. Written notice is provided to the client that is "timely.” 
A timely notice is one that is mailed at least 10 days before the date of action

C. Each recipient is advised of his or her [potential] liability for repayment of benefits received while
awaiting a fair hearing if the agency's decision is upheld. 
Continue benefits if the hearing request form is unclear as to whether the recipient wants continued
benefits or not.  Provide continued benefits within 5 working days of the date the agency received the
household's request.

During the fair hearing period, the agency will adjust allotments to take into account reported changes
except for the factor(s) on which the hearing is based.

D. Each notice contains information needed for the claimant to determine from the notice alone, the
accuracy of the Division's action or intended action. 
All notices will:
Indicate the action or proposed action to be taken (i.e., approval, denial, reduction, or termination of
assistance);
a. Provide citation(s) to the regulation(s) supporting the action being taken;
b. Provide a detailed individualized explanation of the reason(s) for the action being taken which
includes, in terms understandable to the claimant:

i. An explanation of why the action is being taken, and
ii. An explanation of what the claimant was required by the regulation to do and why his or her
actions fail to meet this standard (if the action is being taken because of the claimant's failure to
perform an act required by a regulation)

c. Provide:
i. eExplanations of what income and/or resources the agency considers available to the
claimant 

Exception:  For TANF, notice is timely if mailed at least 5 days before the action
would become effective when DSS learns of facts indicating that assistance
should be discontinued, suspended, terminated, or reduced because of the
probable fraud of the recipient, and, where possible, such facts have been verified
through secondary sources.

Exception:  Food Supplement Program households do not have a right to a
continuation of benefits while waiting for the fair hearing when the recipient is
disputing a reduction, suspension or cancellation of benefits as a result of an order
issued by FNS.
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ii. tThe source or identity of these funds, 
iii. tThe calculations used by the agency, 
iv. tThe relevant eligibility limits and maximum benefit payment levels for a family or assistance
unit of the claimant's size.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5304.3 Presiding Over Medicaid DMMA Managed Care Hearings
42 CFR 438.408(f), 42 CFR 438.410
This policy applies to recipients enrolled in a managed care organization.

Recipients of medical services from the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance may appeal an
adverse decision of a Managed Care Organization (MCO) to the Division. The decision of the DSS
Hearing Officer is a final decision of the Department of Health and Social Services and is binding on
the MCO.
The MCO is responsible for the preparation of the hearing summary under §5312 of these rules and
the presentation of its case. The MCO is subject to the rules, practices, and procedures detailed
herein.
These rules do not prevent an MCO from offering conciliation services or a grievance hearing prior to
the fair hearing conducted by DSS.

1. Recipients Are Entitled to an Expedited Resolution in Cases of Emergency
The MCO is responsible for establishing and maintaining an expedited review process for appeals
when the MCO determines or the provider indicates that taking the time for standard resolution could
seriously jeopardize the claimant’s life or health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum
function.  The expedited review can be requested by the claimant or the provider on the claimant’s
behalf.
The MCO must issue an expedited resolution within 3 working days after receiving the appeal.
Expedited appeals must otherwise follow all other standard appeal requirements.
If the MCO denies a request for an expedited resolution of an appeal, it must:

i. resolve the appeal within the standard time frame of 45 days.
ii. make reasonable efforts to provide prompt oral notice of the denial and provide written notice
of the denial to the claimant within 2 calendar days.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5312 Responding to Fair Hearing Requests
45 CFR 205.10

This policy applies anytime anyone requests a fair hearing due to a decision made by the Division of Social
Services (DSS) or the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) for a program administered by DSS or
DMMA.

1. The Agency Prepares a Hearing Summary
Within 5 working days of receipt of a request for a fair hearing, the agency (or MCO or other
Contractor) will prepare a hearing summary and submit the summary to the Hearing Office.

2. Staff Ensure the Summary Contains Pertinent Information
The hearing summary will contain enough information for the appellant to prepare his or her case. The
summary must contain:
A. Identifying information - Give the client's name, the client's address, and the DCIS identification
number.

Exception:  For expedited hearings see DSSM 5304.3.
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B. Action taken – Indicate the basis of the client's appeal (rejection, reduction, closure, amount of
benefits, etc.)
C. Reason for action - Describe the specific action taken by the agency, as well as the factual basis
for its decision.
D. Has assistance continued? - Indicate whether or not the appellant's assistance was restored
because the appellant filed a request for a hearing within the timely notice period.
E. Policy basis - Cite the specific State [and federal] rules supporting the action taken.
F. Persons expected to testify - This section lists the names and addresses (if any) of persons that
the agency expects to call to testify.

3. The Hearing Office Notifies the Appellant
Upon receipt of the hearing summary, the Hearing Office will:
A. Set a prompt date for the hearing. 
B. Send a notice conforming to the requirements of §5311. The notice will include the hearing
summary.
C. Notify all parties, including witnesses, of the date, time, and place of the hearing. 

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5403 Providing Documents to Appellants
This policy applies anytime an appellant or his or her representative requests a fair hearing.

1. Appellants May Examine Case Records and Documents
Prior to the hearing, the appellant and his or her representative will have adequate opportunity to
examine all documents and records to be used by the State agency or its agent at the hearing. He or
she may also examine his or her case records.

2. Staff Must Provide Case Records in a Timely Manner
Staff must make case records available to the appellant within 5 working days of the request. If copies
of documents are requested for the hearing, they will be provided at no cost. For expedited resolution
requests, case records must be made available within 3 working days of the receipt of the appeal.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5500  Issuing Fair Hearing Decisions
7 CFR 273.15(c), (q); 42 CFR 431.244, 431.245; 45 CFR 205.10(16)

This policy applies to applicants and recipients of any public assistance program administered by the Division
of Social Services (DSS) or the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA).

1. Hearing Decisions Are Made Promptly
The Hearing Officer has sole authority to make hearing decisions. The Hearing Officer must take
prompt, definitive, and final administrative action within ninety (90) 90 days from the date the appeal is
filed. The decision must be in writing and must be sent to the appellant as soon as it is made.

Exception:  Staff must not release confidential information, such as
   1.  the names of individuals who have disclosed information about the household
without its knowledge 
    2. the nature or status of pending criminal prosecutions

Exception:  Food Supplement Program decisions must be made within 60 days from
the date the appeal is filed.
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2. Decisions Are Binding on the Department of Health and Social Services
3. Decisions Comply with Laws and Regulations

The Hearing Officer’s decision will comply with State and federal laws and regulations and are based
on the hearing record.

4. Decisions Must Contain Specific Information
The written decision will contain, at a minimum, the following information.
A. Information to enable a reader to understand how the decision was reached.
B. Supporting evidence 
C. Food Supplement Program cases will state whether benefits will be issued or terminated.
The decision contains:
A. 1.  A statement of the appellant's right to judicial review
B. 2.  The identity of the individual
C. 3.  A summary of evidence
D. 4.  Findings of fact
E. 5.  A discussion or analysis of facts and arguments presented at the hearing
F. 6.  A discussion of how the applicable rules apply to the facts in the case
G. 7.  The resulting conclusions
H. 8.  The hearing officer's decision and/or order
I. 9.  Applicable rules involved in reaching the decision

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
Surface Water Discharges Section

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60; (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

SECRETARY’S ORDER
Pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10119

Order No. 2012-W-0021

Regulations Governing the Discharges from the Application of Pesticides to Waters of the State

Re: Sixty- (60) day renewal to Order No. 2012-W-0006 enacting emergency regulations, Regulations
Governing the Discharges from the Application of Pesticides to Waters of the State

AUTHORITY AND FINDINGS

Secretary’s Order No. 2012-W-0006 was adopted in February 2012 to temporarily enact a new regulatory
requirement, Regulations Governing the Discharges from the Application of Pesticides to Waters of the State under
revision of 7 Del.C., Chapter 60, Section 9.0. This notification acts to renew Order No. 2012-W-0006 for an
additional 60 days after the initial 120-day effective period pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119 (3).

In 2009, the Court (National Cotton Council, et al. v. Environmental Protection Agency ([EPA]) vacated EPA's
2006 Final Rule on Aquatic Pesticides, which determined that National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System

Exception:  Expedited hearing decisions for medical assistance must be made within 3
working days from receipt of the appeal which meets the criteria for an expedited
appeal process. See Section 5304.3
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(NPDES) permits were not required for applications of pesticides to United States' (U.S.) waters. As a result of the
court's decision, discharges to waters of the U.S. from the application of pesticides will require NPDES permits
when the court's mandate takes effect. On March 28, 2011, the Court granted EPA's request for an extension to
allow more time for pesticide operators to obtain permits for pesticide discharges into U.S. waters from April 9,
2011, to October 31, 2011.

The State of Delaware has delegated authority from EPA for administration of the NPDES and issuance of the
State's own NPDES permits.  Delaware must, therefore, promulgate regulations to address the new NPDES
permitting requirement for the application of pesticides on or near water bodies of the state.

The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control’s (DNREC) Division of Water (DW) has been
working to draft regulations to address the new NPDES permitting requirements.  However, the required court date
of October 31, 2011, was not met by Delaware due to the time-intensive nature of the undertaking combined with
staff shortages/turnover in addition to EPA's final rule not having been completed prior to the October 31 deadline.
Development of the final regulation is currently underway; however, it is unlikely the final regulations will be
promulgated prior to the expiration of the emergency regulations.  Without the 60-day extension of the emergency
regulations, DNREC will be in violation of the federal requirements to have an NPDES program in place for the
application of aquatic pesticides in or near Delaware Waters.  The emergency regulations, Regulations Governing
the Discharges from the Application of Pesticides to Waters of the State, has allowed pesticide applicators to obtain
the required NPDES permits to apply aquatic pesticides from March-June where extension of such regulations will
allow for such coverage until September 2012.

Much of the aquatic pesticide spraying during this timeframe is concentrated on eliminating mosquito
populations, which pose a significant risk to human health and welfare due to their ability to transmit diseases and
other blood-borne vectors.  The best known mosquito-borne diseases are West Nile Virus, Malaria, and Yellow
Fever.  Others, such as Dengue Fever and Encephalitis, are common within America but not as well-known
throughout the general populous.  Historically, such diseases have been at very low levels as the result of our
Nation's progressive and intensive mosquito-control effort; however, for the first time in nearly 50 years, such
diseases have been documented in the U.S. mostly as a direct result of the declining vector control programs
combined with an increase in immigrants who transport such blood-borne diseases into the U.S. 

For this reason, it is vital to renew emergency regulations under Order No. 2012-W-0006 within Delaware to
not allow the lapse in Delaware's Mosquito Control Program offered through the DNREC's Division of Fish and
Wildlife. The DNREC's DW will continue to work with stakeholders toward completion of the full regulations through
the normal regulatory process with a target promulgation of September 2012.  Additionally, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§10119(4), DW will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person(s) for the reconsideration
or revision of this emergency order. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

This Secretary’s Order will renew the above-referenced order No. 2012-W-0006 and emergency regulations for
an additional 60 days after the initial 120-day effective period pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119.  This emergency order
shall take effect upon publication in the Delaware Register and shall remain in effect for 60 days from date of
publication.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the Regulations Governing the Discharges from the Application of Pesticides to
Waters of the State under the original Secretary’s Order No. 2012-W-0006 remain in effect for an additional 60
days pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119(3).

Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

7201 Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution

*Please Note: Due to the size of the Emergency regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/july2012/emergency/16 DE Reg 14 07-01-12.htm
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation.   The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
16 Delaware Code, Section 6604(1) (16 Del.C. §6604(1))

1 DE Admin. Code 701, 702, 703, 704, 705 & 706

PUBLIC NOTICE

701 Administration and Enforcement
702 Fire Protection in Building Construction

703 Installation, Operation, Maintenance, Testing and Sales of Signaling Systems, Fire Protection Systems 
and Fire Extinguishers

704 Hazardous Processes and Operations
705 General Fire Safety

706 Specific Occupancy Requirements

In accordance with procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. ch. 11, Subch. III and 29 Del.C., Ch. 101, the Delaware
State Fire Prevention Commission is proposing to adopt changes and updates to these regulations.

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will hold a public hearing at which members of the public may
present comments on the proposed regulations on August 21, 2012 at 10:00 a.m. in the Delaware State Fire
Prevention Chamber at the Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, DE 19904. Written
comments must be received on or before August 7, 2012. Members of the public may receive a copy of the
proposed regulations at no charge by United States Mail by writing Ms. Sherry Lambertson at the address of the
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission set forth above.

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulations, they are not being published here. A copy of the
regulations are available at:

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission Regulations 701 through 706
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 10005 (3 Del.C. §10005)
3 DE Admin. Code 501

PUBLIC NOTICE

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

The Delaware Harness Racing Commission, pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10005, proposes to change its Rule
6.2.2.1.10, 6.2.2.2 & 8.2.2.4. The Commission will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule changes on August
14, 2012. Written comments should be sent to Hugh J. Gallagher, Administrator of Harness Racing, Department of
Agriculture, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901. Written comments will be accepted for thirty (30) days
from the date of publication in the Register of Regulations on July 1, 2012.

The proposed changes are for the purpose of updating Rule 3 and reflect current policies, practices and
procedures. Copies are published online at the Register of Regulations website: http://regulations.delaware.gov/
services/current_issue.shtml

A copy is also available for inspection at the Harness Racing Commission office.

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

6.0 Types of Races
(Break in Continuity Within Section)

6.2.2 Conditions
6.2.2.1 Conditions may be based only on:

6.2.2.1.1 horses' money winnings in a specified number of previous races or during a specified
previous time;

6.2.2.1.2 horses' finishing positions in a specified number of previous races or during a
specified period of time;

6.2.2.1.3 age, provided that no horse that is 15 years of age or older shall be eligible to perform
in any race except in a matinee race;

6.2.2.1.4 sex;
6.2.2.1.5 number of starts during a specified period of time;
6.2.2.1.6 special qualifications for foreign horses that do not have a representative number of

starts in the United States or Canada;
6.2.2.1.7 horse’s race condition in a specified number of previous races or during a specified

period of time;
6.2.2.1.8 claiming price in a horse’s last one to three previous races;
6.2.2.1.9 Delaware-owned or bred races as specified in 3 Del.C. §10032; or
6.2.2.1.10 Delaware Owned or Bred Preferred.
6.2.2.1.101 any one or more combinations of the qualifications herein listed.

6.2.2.2 Conditions shall not be written in such a way that any horse is deprived of an opportunity
to race in a normal preference cycle. Where the word preference is used in a condition, it
shall not supersede date preference as provided in the rules except when written
Delaware Owned or Bred Preferred. Not more than three also eligible conditions shall be
used in writing the conditions for overnight events.
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6.2.2.3 The Commission may, upon application from the racing secretary, approve conditions
other than those listed above for special events.

6.2.2.4 In the event there are conflicting published conditions and neither one nor the other is
withdrawn by the Association, the one more favorable to the declarer shall govern.

6.2.2.5 For the purpose of eligibility, a racing season or racing year shall be the calendar year. All
races based on winnings will be programmed as Non-Winners of a multiple of $100 plus
$1 or Winners over a multiple of $100.  Additional conditions may be added. When
recording winnings, gross winnings shall be used and cents shall be disregarded. In the
case of a bonus, the present value of the bonus shall be credited to the horse as earnings
for the race or series of races for which it received the bonus.  It shall be the responsibility
of the organization offering the bonus to report the present value of the bonus to the
United States Trotting Association in a timely manner.

6.2.2.6 Records, time bars shall not be used as a condition of eligibility.
6.2.2.7 Horses must be eligible when declarations close subject to the provision that:

6.2.2.7.1 Wins and winnings on or after the closing date of declarations shall not be considered;
6.2.2.7.2 Age allowances and eligibility shall be  according to the age of the horse on the date

the race is contested.
6.2.2.7.3 In mixed races, trotting and pacing, a horse must be eligible under the conditions for

the gait at which it is stated in the declaration the horse will perform.
6.2.2.8 When conditions refer to previous performances, those performances shall only include

those in a purse race.  Each dash or heat shall be considered as a separate performance
for the purpose of condition races.

6.2.2.9 In overnight events, on a half mile racetrack there shall be no trailing horses.  On a bigger
racetrack there shall be no more than one trailing horse. At least eight feet per horse must
be provided the starters in the front tier.

6.2.2.10 The racing secretary may reject the declaration to an overnight event of any horse whose
past performance indicates that it would be below the competitive level of other horses
declared to that particular event.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

8.0 Veterinary Practices, Equine Health Medication
8.1 General Provisions

The purpose of this Rule is to protect the integrity of horse racing, to ensure the health and welfare of
race horses and to safeguard the interests of the public and the participants in racing.

8.2 Veterinary Practices
8.2.1 Veterinarians Under Authority of Chief DHRC Veterinarian

Veterinarians licensed by the Commission and practicing at any location under the jurisdiction of
the Commission are subject to these Rules, which shall be enforced under the authority of the
Chief DHRC Veterinarian and the State Steward.  Without limiting the authority of the Presiding
Judge to enforce these Rules, the Chief DHRC Veterinarian may recommend to the Presiding
Judge or the Commission the discipline which may be imposed upon a veterinarian who violates
the rules. 

8.2.2 Treatment Restrictions
8.2.2.1 Except as otherwise provided by this subsection, no person other than a veterinarian

licensed to practice veterinary medicine in this jurisdiction and licensed by the
Commission may administer a prescription or controlled medication, drug, chemical or
other substance (including any medication, drug, chemical or other substance by injection)
to a horse at any location under the jurisdiction of the Commission.
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8.2.2.2 This subsection does not apply to the administration of the following substances except in
approved quantitative levels, if any, present in post-race samples or as they may interfere
with post-race testing:

8.2.2.2.1 a recognized non-injectable nutritional supplement or other substance approved by
the official veterinarian;

8.2.2.2.2 a non-injectable substance on the direction or by prescription of a licensed
veterinarian; or

8.2.2.2.3 a non-injectable non-prescription medication or substance.
8.2.2.3 No person shall possess a hypodermic needle, syringe or injectable of any kind on

association premises, unless otherwise approved by the Commission.  At any location
under the jurisdiction of the Commission, veterinarians may use only one-time disposable
needles, and shall dispose of them in a manner approved by the Commission. If a person
has a medical condition which makes it necessary to have a syringe at any location under
the jurisdiction of the Commission, that person may request permission of the Board of
Judges and/or the Commission in writing, furnish a letter from a licensed physician
explaining why it is necessary for the person to possess a syringe, and must comply with
any conditions and restrictions set by the Board of Judges and/or the Commission.

8.2.2.4 Therapeutic Electronic Devices, Shockwave Therapy/Instruments
8.2.2.4.1 The use of Therapeutic Electronic Devices or shock wave therapy shall not be

permitted unless the following conditions are met:
8.2.2.4.1.1 No licensee is permitted to possess or to use Therapeutic Electronic Devices or

shock wave therapy machines/instruments on association premises.
8.2.2.4.1.2 Any horse treated with shock wave therapy shall not be permitted to race for a

minimum of ten (10) days following treatment (the day of treatment shall be
considered the first day in counting the number of days). Any horse treated with
Therapeutic Electronic Devices or shock wave therapy shall be placed on the
Commission Veterinarian’s list.

8.2.2.4.1.3 All Therapeutic Electronic Devices or shock wave therapy treatments must be
reported by the trainer of record to the official Commission veterinarian on the
prescribed form not later than the time prescribed by the official Commission
veterinarian.

8.2.2.4.2 A Trainer, Veterinarian, or other person, who has been found to have violated any of
the above provisions of this Rule shall be subject to appropriate disciplinary action by
the Judges and/or Commission.

8.2.2.4.3 Definitions: The following terms and words used in this Rule are defined as:
8.2.2.4.3.1 Therapeutic Electronic Devices shall mean any device that requires electricity or

battery power, including but not limited to: therapeutic ultrasound, therapeutic laser or
other similar devices. Shock Wave Therapy shall mean all Extracorporeal Shock
Wave Therapy or Radial Pulse Wave Therapy treatments and any other treatments
determined to pose similar risks by the Commission Veterinarian.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections are not being amended, they are not being published here. A
complete copy of the regulation is available at:

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 815

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

815 Health Examinations and Screening

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 815 Health Examinations and Screening

related to the 9th grade health examination. The amendments change the requirement for a 9th grade health
examination to be effective beginning with the 2013-2014 school year. The 9th grade health examination will be
strongly recommended in the 2012-2013 school year. The delay for required implementation is to provide
additional time for parents and guardians to be advised and to prepare for the new requirement. Districts and
charters schools have already embarked on communicating information to parents and guardians related to the
new 9th grade health examination. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before August 3, 2012 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of Education, at
401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901.  A copy of this regulation is available from the above address
or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards?  The amendments are related to the 9th grade health examination and not specifically related to the
state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The
amendments are related to the 9th grade health examination and not specifically related to students receiving an
equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The amendments continue to address the health and safety of students.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amendments
are related to the 9th grade health examination and not specifically related to students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amendments preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the
local board and school levels.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amendments do not place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or an additional mandate upon decision makers.  

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority does not change with the amendments.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendments are related to the 9th grade
health examination and consistent with other state policies.
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9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? The districts
and charter schools will need to notify parents and guardians of the 9th grade health examination provisions.

815 Health Examinations and Screening

1.0 Definitions
"Delaware School Health Examination Form" means the age appropriate form developed by the
Delaware Department of Education for documenting information from the parent, guardian or Relative
Caregiver and healthcare provider on the student's health status. 
"Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA) Pre-Participation Physical Evaluation"
means the form approved by the DIAA.
"Healthcare Provider" means a currently licensed physician, advanced practice nurse, nurse
practitioner, or physician's assistant.
"Health Examination or Health Evaluation" means the medical or nursing examination or evaluation
and assessment of the body by a healthcare provider to determine health status and conditions.

15 DE Reg. 838 (12/01/11)

2.0 Health Examinations
2.1 All public school students shall have two health examinations, as provided in this section, that have

been administered by a healthcare provider. The first health examination shall have been done within
the two years prior to entry into school. Beginning in school year 2012-2013, the second health
examination shall be required strongly recommended and not required for entering grade 9 students.
Beginning in school year 2013-2014, the second health examination shall be required for entering
grade 9 students. The required health examination and shall be done within the two years prior to entry
into grade 9. Within thirty calendar days after entry, new enterers and grade 9 students who have not
complied with the second health examination requirement shall have received the health examination
or shall have a documented appointment with a licensed health care provider for the health
examination. For purposes of this regulation only, students entering grades 10, 11 or 12 in the 2012 -
2013 2013-2014 school year shall not be required to have the second health examination or
evaluation.

2.1.1 The requirement for the health examination may be waived for students whose parent, guardian or
Relative Caregiver, or the student if 18 years or older, or an unaccompanied homeless youth (as
defined by 42 USC 11434a) presents a written declaration acknowledged before a notary public,
that because of individual religious beliefs, they reject the concept of health examinations.

2.1.2 Notwithstanding the above, a second health examination shall not be required if the first health
examination is within two years of entering Grade 9.

2.1.3 The Delaware School Health Examination Form or the DIAA Pre-Participation Physical Evaluation
form may be used as documentation of the health examination. In addition, a district or charter
school may accept a health examination or evaluation documentation on a form which includes, at
a minimum, health history, immunizations, results on medical testings and screenings, medical
diagnoses, prescribed medications and treatments, and healthcare plans.

2.1.4 The school nurse shall record all findings within the student’s electronic medical record (see 14 DE
Admin. Code 811) and maintain the original copy in the child’s medical file.

10 DE Reg. 1807 (06/01/07)
15 DE Reg. 838 (12/01/11)

Non regulatory note: See 14 DE Admin. Code 1008.3 and 14 DE Admin. Code 1009.3 for physical or health
examination requirements associated with participation in sports.
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3.0 Screening
3.1 Vision and Hearing Screening

3.1.1 Each public school student in kindergarten and in grades 2, 4, 7 and grades 9 or 10 shall receive a
vision and a hearing screening by January 15th of each school year.

3.1.1.1 In addition to the screening requirements in 2.1.1 3.1.1, screening shall also be provided
to new enterers, students referred by a teacher or an administrator, and students
considered for special education.

3.1.1.1.1 Driver education students shall have a vision screening within a year prior to their in
car driving hours.

3.1.2 The school nurse shall record the results within the student’s electronic medical record and shall
notify the parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver or the student if 18 years or older, or an
unaccompanied homeless youth (as defined by 42 USC 11434a) if the student has a suspected
problem.

3.2 Postural and Gait Screening
3.2.1 Each public school student in grades 5 through 9 shall receive a postural and gait screening by

December 15th.
3.2.2 The school nurse shall record the findings within the student’s electronic medical record (see 14

DE Admin. Code 811) and shall notify the parents, guardian or Relative Caregiver, or the student
if 18 years or older, or an unaccompanied homeless youth (as defined by 42 USC 11434a) if a
suspected deviation has been detected.

3.2.2.1 If a suspected deviation is detected, the school nurse shall refer the student for further
evaluation through an on site follow up evaluation or a referral to the student’s health care
provider.

3.3 Lead Screening
3.3.1 Children who enter school at kindergarten or at age 5 or prior, shall be required to provide

documentation of lead screening as per 16 Del.C. Ch. 26.
3.3.1.1 For children enrolling in kindergarten, documentation of lead screening shall be provided

within sixty (60) calendar days of the date of enrollment. Failure to provide the required
documentation shall result in the child's exclusion from school until the documentation is
provided.

3.3.1.2 Exemption from this requirement may be granted for religious exemptions, per 16 Del.C.
§2603.

3.3.1.3 The Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act, 16 Del.C., Ch. 26, requires all health care
providers to order lead screening for children at or around the age of 12 months of age.

3.3.2 The school nurse shall document the lead screening within the student’s electronic medical record.
See 14 DE Admin. Code 811.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF UNCLAIMED PROPERTY

Escheator of the State of Delaware
Statutory Authority, 12 Delaware Code, Section 1155 (12 Del.C. §1155)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Regulation on Practices and Procedures for Records Examinations by the State Escheator

Nature of Proceedings Synopsis of the Subject and Substance of the Proposed Regulation

In accordance with procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 11, Subch. III and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, the Department
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of Finance is proposing to adopt a regulation on practices and procedures for records examinations by the State
Escheator as described in 12 Del.C. §1155.  The proposed regulation sets forth the rules governing the historical
periods for which the State Escheator will examine historical records to determine whether the person whose
records are being examined has complied with any provision of 12 Del.C. Ch. 11.

Statutory Basis and Legal Authority to Act

12 Delaware Code, § 1154; 12 Delaware Code, § 1155; 12 Delaware Code, § 1208.

Other Regulations Affected

None.

How to Comment on the Proposed Regulation

Members of the public may receive a copy of the proposed regulation at no charge by United States Mail by
writing or calling Mr. Mark Udinski, Department of Finance, Escheator of the State of Delaware, Carvel State
Building, 820 North French Street, P.O. Box 8763, Wilmington, Delaware 19899-8763, phone (302) 577-8260, or
facsimile (302) 577-8565.  Members of the public may present written comments on the proposed regulation by
submitting such written comments to Mr. Mark Udinski at the address of the Delaware Department of Finance as
set forth above.  Written comments must be received on or before July 31, 2012.

Regulation on Practices and Procedures for Records Examinations by the State Escheator

1.0 Construction of Rules of Practice and Procedure
1.1 Unless otherwise provided, these Rules of Practice govern examinations of records of any person or

business association or organization to determine whether the person has complied with any provision
of 12 Del.C. Ch. 11.

1.2 For purposes of these rules: (1) any term in the singular includes the plural, and any term in the plural
includes the singular, if such use would be appropriate; and (2) any use of a masculine, feminine, or
neuter gender encompasses such other genders as would be appropriate.

2.0 Length of Examination Periods.
2.1 There is no provision of Delaware law that now limits the historical period for which the State Escheator

may examine records under 12 Del.C. §1155 to determine whether the person under examination has
complied with any provision of 12 Del.C. Ch. 11.

2.2 As a matter of policy, in previous examinations the State Escheator has not examined records created
before January 1, 1981 to determine whether the person under examination has complied with any
provision of 12 Del.C. Ch. 11.

2.3 As a part of a larger revenue stabilization initiative, the State Escheator has determined that in order to
encourage compliance with 12 Del.C. Ch. 11, the following starting periods for examinations will be
observed:

2.3.1 For all persons who are now the subject of a records examination under 12 Del.C. §1155, or who
become the subject of an examination before the effective date of this regulation, no records
created before January 1, 1986 will be included in the determination of compliance with the
provisions of 12 Del.C. Ch. 11, provided that the examination is completed by June 30, 2015.

2.3.2 For all persons who become the subject of examinations on or after the effective date of this
regulation, and for all other persons whose examinations are not completed by the close of
business on June 30, 2015, the State Escheator will continue his existing policy of examining
records created on or after January 1, 1981 to determine whether the person under examination
has complied with any provision of 12 Del.C. Ch. 11.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012



PROPOSED REGULATIONS24
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY
Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 4805 (29 Del.C. §4805)

PUBLIC NOTICE

204 Sports Lottery Rules and Regulations

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulations

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the regulation
The Delaware State Lottery will seek public comments on the issue of whether its current rules should be

amended. 10 DE Admin. Code 204 will be amended to establish rules for sports betting under new legislation
authorizing various changes. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before July 31, 2012 at the State Lottery Office, 1575 McKee Road, Suite 102, Dover, DE 19904. A copy of these
regulations is available from the above address.

C. Summary of Proposal
These amendments will update regulations. They will rewrite the section on licensing of agents to allow sports

betting to take place at retail establishments other than casinos. The amendments will substantially rewrite section
6 regarding the duties of agents and will substantially rewrite the licensing procedure of section 12. The
amendments will eliminate section 13 regarding self-excluded persons, as that section will not be applicable. 

204 Sports Lottery Rules and Regulations

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

204 Sports Lottery Rules and Regulations

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 1101 (16 Del.C. §1101)

PUBLIC NOTICE

3102 Long Term Care Transfer, Discharge and Readmission Procedures

The Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection (DLTCRP) is proposing a complete revision of the
previously proposed Regulation 3102 for the establishment of Long Term Care Transfer, Discharge and
Readmission Hearing Procedures.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Susan Del Pesco, Director, Division of
Long Term Care Residents Protection, 3 Mill Road, Suite 308, Wilmington, DE 19806 by Wednesday August 1,
2012. 
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The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGES

Background
DLTCRP has a statutory obligation to implement regulations governing impartial hearings on discharge

matters, 16 Del.C. Subchapter II, (18).

Summary of Proposal
This regulatory proposal implements regulations on the governance of impartial hearings on contested

discharges from long term care facilities.

Statutory Authority
16 Del.C. §1124, “Staff training; issuance of regulations.”
29 Del.C. §7971(d)(1) “Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection.”

3102 Long Term Care Transfer, Discharge and Readmission Procedures

1.0 Purpose
This regulation governs the impartial hearings on contested discharges from long term care facilities.

2.0 Definitions
“DHSS” means the Department of Health and Social Services
“Division” means the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection 
“Party” means the resident or resident’s representative and the facility. 
“Resident” means resident or patient.
“Transfer and discharge” includes movement of a resident to a bed outside of the licensed facility

whether that bed is in the same physical plant or not. Transfer and discharge does not refer to
movement of a resident to a bed within the same licensed facility

3.0 Transfer, discharge and readmission rights of residents in a certified skilled nursing facility or a 
certified nursing facility as defined in 42 CFR §483.5. See 42 CFR §483.12

3.1 Transfer and discharge requirements. The facility must permit each resident to remain in the facility,
and not transfer or discharge the resident from the facility unless—

3.1.1 The transfer or discharge is necessary for the resident's welfare and the resident's needs cannot
be met in the facility;

3.1.2 The transfer or discharge is appropriate because the resident's health has improved sufficiently so
the resident no longer needs the services provided by the facility;

3.1.3 The safety of individuals in the facility is endangered;
3.1.4 The health of individuals in the facility would otherwise be endangered;
3.1.5 The resident has failed, after reasonable and appropriate notice, to pay for (or to have paid under

Medicare or Medicaid) a stay at the facility. For a resident who becomes eligible for Medicaid after
admission to a facility, the facility may charge a resident only allowable charges under Medicaid; or

3.1.6 The facility ceases to operate.
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3.2 Documentation. When the facility transfers or discharges a resident under any of the circumstances
specified in paragraphs 3.1.1 through 3.1.5 of this section, the resident's clinical record must be
documented. The documentation must be made by;

3.2.1 The resident's physician when transfer or discharge is necessary under paragraph 3.1.1 or
paragraph 3.1.2 of this section; and

3.2.2 A physician when transfer or discharge is necessary under paragraph 3.1.4 of this section.
3.3 Notice before transfer. Before a facility transfers or discharges a resident, the facility must—

3.3.1 Notify the resident and, if known, a family member or legal representative of the resident of the
transfer or discharge and the reasons for the move in writing and in a language and manner they
understand.

3.3.2 Provide a copy of the notice to the Division, the State LTC ombudsman, and if applicable, the
agency responsible for the protection and advocacy of developmentally disabled individuals and/or
the agency responsible for the protection and advocacy of mentally ill individuals.

3.3.3 Record the reasons in the resident's clinical record; and
3.3.4 Include in the notice the items described in paragraph 3.5 of this section.

3.4 Timing of the notice.
3.4.1 Except as specified in paragraphs 3.4.2 and 3.8 of this section, the notice of transfer or discharge

required under paragraph 3.3 of this section must be made by the facility at least 30 days before
the resident is transferred or discharged.

3.4.2 Notice may be made as soon as practicable before transfer or discharge when:
3.4.2.1 The safety of individuals in the facility would be endangered under paragraph 3.1.3 of this

section;
3.4.2.2 The health of individuals in the facility would be endangered, under paragraph 3.1.4 of this

section;
3.4.2.3 The resident's health improves sufficiently to allow a more immediate transfer or

discharge, under paragraph 3.1.2 of this section;
3.4.2.4 An immediate transfer or discharge is required by the resident's urgent medical needs,

under paragraph 3.1.1 of this section.
3.5 Contents of the notice. The written notice specified in paragraph 3.3 of this section must include the

following:
3.5.1 The reason for transfer or discharge;
3.5.2 The effective date of transfer or discharge;
3.5.3 The location to which the resident is transferred or discharged;
3.5.4 A statement that the resident has the right to appeal the action to the State;
3.5.5 The name, address and telephone number of the State long term care ombudsman;
3.5.6 For nursing facility residents with developmental disabilities, the mailing address and telephone

number of the agency responsible for the protection and advocacy of developmentally disabled
individuals established under Part C of the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of
Rights Act; and

3.5.7 For nursing facility residents who are mentally ill, the mailing address and telephone number of the
agency responsible for the protection and advocacy of mentally ill individuals established under
the Protection and Advocacy for Mentally Ill Individuals Act.

3.6 Orientation for transfer or discharge. A facility must provide sufficient preparation and orientation to
residents to ensure safe and orderly transfer or discharge from the facility.

3.7 Notice in advance of facility closure. In the case of facility closure, the individual who is the
administrator of the facility must provide written notification prior to the impending closure to the
Secretary, the State LTC ombudsman, residents of the facility, and the legal representatives of the
residents or other responsible parties, as well as the plan for the transfer and adequate relocation of
the residents, as required at 42 CFR §483.75(r).
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3.8 Room changes in a composite distinct part. Room changes in a facility that is a composite distinct part
(as defined in 42 CFR §483.5(c)) must be limited to moves within the particular building in which the
resident resides, unless the resident voluntarily agrees to move to another of the composite distinct
part's locations.

3.9 Notice of bed-hold policy and readmission.
3.9.1 Notice before transfer. Before a nursing facility transfers a resident to a hospital or allows a

resident to go on therapeutic leave, the nursing facility must provide written information to the
resident and a family member or legal representative that specifies;

3.9.1.1 Notice of State bed-hold. The duration of the bed-hold policy under the State plan, if any
during which the resident is permitted to return and resume residence in the nursing
facility, See DHSS Long Term Care Institutional Provider Specific Policy Manual at Section
4.5; and

3.9.1.2 Facility policies. The nursing facility's policies regarding bed-hold periods, which must be
consistent with paragraph 3.9.3 of this section, permitting a resident to return.

3.9.2 Bed-hold notice upon transfer. At the time of transfer of a resident for hospitalization or therapeutic
leave, a nursing facility must provide to the resident and a family member or legal representative
written notice which explains the bed-hold policy described in paragraph 3.9.1.1 of this section.

3.9.3 Permitting resident to return to facility. A nursing facility must establish and follow a written policy
under which a resident, whose hospitalization or therapeutic leave exceeds the bed-hold period
under the State plan, is readmitted to the facility immediately upon the first availability of a bed in a
semi-private room if the resident:

3.9.3.1 Requires the services provided by the facility; and
3.9.3.2 Is eligible for Medicaid nursing facility services.

3.10 Readmission to a composite distinct part. When the nursing facility to which a resident is readmitted is
a composite distinct part (as defined in 42 CFR§483.5(c)), the resident must be permitted to return to
an available bed in the particular location of the composite distinct part in which he or she resided
previously. If a bed is not available in that location at the time of readmission, the resident must be
given the option to return to that location upon the first availability of a bed there.

4.0 Transfer, discharge and readmission rights of residents of a Nursing Facility and Similar Facility as 
defined in 16 Del.C. 1102(4). See 16 Del.C. 1121.

4.1 Transfer and discharge requirements. The facility must permit each resident to remain in the facility,
and not transfer or discharge the resident from the facility except for:

4.1.1 Medical needs which cannot be met in the facility;
4.1.2 The resident's own welfare;
4.1.3 The welfare of the other individuals in the facility;
4.1.4 Nonpayment of justified charges, after appropriate notice;
4.1.5 Termination of facility operation.

4.2 Documentation. When the facility transfers or discharges a resident under any of the circumstances
specified in paragraphs 4.1.1 or 4.1.2 of this section, the resident's clinical record must be
documented. The documentation must be made by:

4.2.1 The resident's physician when transfer or discharge is necessary under paragraph 4.1.1 or
paragraph 4.1.2 of this section; and

4.2.2 A physician when transfer or discharge is necessary under paragraph 4.1.3 of this section.
4.3 Notice before transfer. Before a facility transfers or discharges a resident, the facility must:

4.3.1 Notify the resident and, if known, a family member or legal representative, of the resident of the
transfer or discharge and the reasons for the move in writing and in a language and manner they
understand.

4.3.2 Record the reasons in the resident's clinical record; and
4.3.3 Include in the notice the items described in paragraph 4.5 of this section.
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4.4 Timing of the notice. (i) Except as specified in paragraphs 4.4.2 and 4.8 of this section, the notice of
transfer or discharge required under paragraph 4.3 of this section must be made by the facility at least
30 days before the resident is transferred or discharged.

4.4.2 Notice may be made as soon as practicable before or after transfer or discharge when:
4.4.2.1 The welfare of individuals in the facility would be endangered under paragraph 3.1.3 of this

section;
4.4.2.2 An immediate transfer or discharge is required by the resident's urgent medical needs,

under paragraph 3.1.1. of this section; or
4.5 Contents of the notice. The written notice specified in paragraph 3.3 of this section must include the

following:
4.5.1 The reason for transfer or discharge;
4.5.2 The effective date of transfer or discharge;
4.5.3 The location to which the resident is transferred or discharged;
4.5.4 A statement that the resident has the right to appeal the action to the State;
4.5.5 The name, address and telephone number of the State long term care ombudsman;
4.5.6 For nursing facility residents with developmental disabilities, the mailing address and telephone

number of the agency responsible for the protection and advocacy of developmentally disabled
individuals established under Part C of the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of
Rights Act; and

4.5.7 For nursing facility residents who are mentally ill, the mailing address and telephone number of the
agency responsible for the protection and advocacy of mentally ill individuals established under
the Protection and Advocacy for Mentally Ill Individuals Act.

4.6 Orientation for transfer or discharge. A facility must provide sufficient preparation and orientation to
residents to ensure safe and orderly transfer or discharge from the facility.

4.7 Notice in advance of facility closure. In the case of facility closure, the individual who is the
administrator of the facility must provide written notification prior to the impending closure to Division,
the State LTC ombudsman, residents of the facility, and the legal representatives of the residents or
other responsible parties, as well as the plan for the transfer and adequate relocation of the residents.

4.8 Room changes.
4.8.1 Room changes in a facility must be limited to moves within the particular building in which the

resident resides, unless the resident voluntarily agrees to move to another location.
4.8.2 The facility must give reasonable notice before the resident’s room or roommate is changed,

except in emergencies.
4.8.3 The facility shall endeavor to honor roommate requests whenever possible.

4.9 Notice of bed-hold policy and readmission:
4.9.1 Notice before transfer. When a nursing facility transfers a resident out of a facility to an acute care

facility it must provide written information to the resident and a family member or legal
representative that specifies that the facility must accept the patient or resident back into the
facility when the resident no longer needs acute care and there is space available in the facility. If
no space is available, the resident shall be accepted into the next available bed.

4.9.2 Permitting resident to return to facility. A nursing facility must establish and follow a written policy
for implementing its obligation to immediately offer the first available bed to a resident who is
entitled to be readmitted to the facility when acute care is no longer required.

5.0 Fair Hearing Practice and Procedures which pertain to grievances under either Section 3.0 or 4.0 of 
this regulation.

5.1 Right to hearing. An impartial hearing may be requested by a resident who believes a facility has
erroneously determined that he or she must be transferred or discharged.

5.1.1 The hearing request must:
5.1.1.1 Be in writing;
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5.1.1.2 Be received by the facility within 30 days from the date that the discharge notice is
received by the resident or the resident’s legal representative;

5.1.1.3 Be copied to the Division and the State LTC ombudsman.
5.2 DHSS may deny or dismiss a request for a hearing if:

5.2.1 The resident withdraws the request in writing; or
5.2.2 The resident or his or her legal representative fails to appear at a scheduled hearing without good

cause.
5.3 Impartial hearing must be conducted:

5.3.1 At a reasonable time, date and place;
5.3.2 After adequate written notice of the hearing;
5.3.3 By an impartial fact-finder who has not been directly involved in the initial determination of the

action in question;
5.3.4 If the hearing involves medical issues as the basis for the transfer or discharge and if the impartial

fact finder considers it necessary to have a medical assessment other than that of the facility
involved in making the transfer or discharge decision, such a medical assessment must be
obtained at State expense and made part of the record.

5.3.5 With appropriate translation services available to parties or witnesses as needed to be provided at
State expense.

5.4 Procedural rights. The parties must be given the opportunity to:
5.4.1 Examine at a reasonable time before the date of the hearing and during the hearing all documents

and records to be used by either party at the hearing;
5.4.2 Bring witnesses;
5.4.3 Establish all pertinent facts and circumstances;
5.4.4 Present an argument without undue interference; and
5.4.5 Question or refute any testimony or evidence, including the opportunity to confront and cross-

examine adverse witnesses.
5.5 Hearing decisions must be based exclusively on evidence introduced at the hearing.
5.6 The record must consist only of:

5.6.1 The transcript or recording of testimony and exhibits;
5.6.2 All papers and requests filed in the proceeding; and
5.6.3 The decision of the hearing officer.

5.7 The parties must have the access to the record at a convenient place and time in order to review or to
secure a transcript at the party’s expense.

5.8 The impartial decision must:
5.8.1 Summarize the facts; and
5.8.2 Identify the statutes and/or regulations pertinent to the decision
5.8.3 Specify the reasons for the decisions; and
5.8.4  Identify the supporting evidence and apply the relevant legal principles.

5.9 The impartial fact-finder must:
5.9.1 Notify the parties of the decision, in writing.
5.9.2 Notify the parties that this is the final decision of DHSS with the right to an appeal pursuant to the

Administrative Procedures Act, Title 29, Chapter 101.
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DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)
16 DE Admin. Code 5000, 5001, 5300, 5304, 5312, 5403 and 5500

PUBLIC NOTICE

Fair Hearing Practice and Procedures – Expedited Fair Hearings

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Division
of Social Services Manual regarding Fair Hearing Practice and Procedures specifically, Expedited Fair Hearings.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by July 31, 2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this proposal is to amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Fair
Hearing Practice and Procedures, specifically, Expedited Fair Hearings.

Statutory Authority
• 42 CFR Part 431, Subpart E, Fair Hearings for Applicants and Recipients
• 42 CFR Part §§435.911 - .920, Determination/Redetermination of Medicaid Eligibility
• 42 CFR Part 438, Subpart F, Grievance System
• 42 CFR §457.340, Application for and enrollment in a separate child health program
• 42 CFR §457.1120, State plan requirement; Description of review process

Background
Public entitlement programs, including Medicaid are secured by “due process procedures.” That is, once public

entitlements are enacted into law, they are considered rights with safeguards to protect individuals. Grievances,
appeals, notices and fair hearings provide significant protections for Medicaid applicants and beneficiaries. When
an individual’s application has been denied or a recipient’s benefits have been or will be discontinued, reduced, or
suspended, the individual can appeal.

Agency Appeals Process
Medicaid applicants and beneficiaries are entitled to adequate notice of state agency actions and a meaningful

opportunity for a hearing to review those decisions whenever their claim for benefits is denied or not acted upon
with reasonable promptness. This includes any action, or inaction, that affects either the person’s eligibility to be
enrolled in Medicaid or the person’s receipt of a particular medical service covered by the program. The
administrative agency hearings in the Medicaid appeals system are called “fair hearings.” 

MCO Appeals Process
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In addition to the state fair hearing process, Medicaid Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) must establish
both internal appeal procedures for enrollees to challenge the denial of coverage or payment for medical
assistance and a grievance process. 

Expedited Fair Hearings
Federal regulations provide a 3 working-day timeframe for resolution of an expedited appeal (an appeal where

a delay could seriously jeopardize the enrollee's life or health) and require States to have expedited fair hearings
for expedited appeals when the issue is the denial of authorization for a service.

Summary of Proposal
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed the Division of Medicaid and Medical

Assistance (DMMA) recently approved waiver amendment request submitted under the authority of Section 1115 of
the Social Security Act to include additional populations in a mandatory managed care program.  During the waiver
review process, DMMA became aware that certain federal due process requirements that the agency follows are
not reflected in the fair hearing regulations. These rules have long been in practice but have not heretofore been
expressly set forth in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM). 

DMMA is proposing this action as an Emergency Regulation as the most expedient way to reflect the appeals
procedures currently in use and to conform the descriptions of these procedures to federal requirements. 

The effects of these rules will be to reflect accurately the procedural safeguards described in the Code of
Federal Regulations. The following sections of the DSSM are amended to codify the existing expedited hearings
process for managed care clients as required by federal regulations:

DSSM 5000, Definitions
DSSM 5001, Providing an Opportunity for a Fair Hearing
DSSM 5300, Providing Adequate and Timely Notices
DSSM 5304.3, Presiding Over Medicaid DMMA Managed Care Hearings
DSSM 5312, Responding to Fair Hearing Requests
DSSM 5403, Providing Documents to Appellants; and,
DSSM 5500, Issuing Fair Hearing Decisions.
This proposed regulation is also published concurrently herein under “Emergency Regulations”.

Fiscal Impact Statement
The proposed revisions impose no increase in cost on the General Fund.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #12-27
REVISIONS:

5000 Definitions

Abandonment When the claimant fails without good cause, to appear (by himself or by authorized representative)
at his or her scheduled hearing.

Adequate Notice A written notice that includes:
   1. A statement of what action the agency intends to take
   2. The reasons for the intended agency action
   3. The specific regulations supporting such action
   4. An explanation of the individual's right to request a State agency hearing
   5. The circumstances under which assistance is continued if a hearing is requested
   6. If the agency action is upheld, that such assistance must be repaid under title IV-A, and must 
also be repaid under titles I, X, XIV or XVI (AABD) if the State plan provides for recovery of such 
payments.
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Advance Notice Period The 10 day period between the date a notice is mailed to the date a proposed action is to take
effect.  (Also called Timely Notice Period.)

Appellant Anyone who requests a hearing.  (Also called Claimant.)
Benefits Any kind of assistance, payments or benefits made by TANF, GA, Medicaid, Delaware Healthy

Children Program (DHCP), Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP), Chronic Renal
Disease Program (CRDP), Child Care, Refugee, Emergency Assistance or Food Supplement
programs.

Claimant Anyone who requests a hearing.  (Also called Appellant.)
DSS The Division of Social Services (or "the Division.")
DHSS The Department of Health and Social Services, including:

   1. The Division of Social Services (DSS), in connection with economic, medical, vocational or 
child care subsidy assistance
   2. The Division of Medicaid & and Medical Assistance (DMMA) or a managed care organization 
(MCO) under contract with DHSS to manage an operation of the Medicaid Program, in connection 
with medical assistance
   3. The Division of State Service Centers (DSSC) in connection with the Emergency Assistance 
Program
   4. The Division of Developmental Disabilities Services (DDDS) in connection with Medicaid 
Program services
   5. The Division of Public Health in connection with Medicaid Program services
   6. The Division of Services for the Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD) in 
connection with Medicaid Program services

Expedited Fair Hearing An administrative hearing for Medicaid and DHCP which provides for a decision to be issued within
3 working days from the receipt of the request for an appeal of a decision to terminate, reduce, or
suspend previously authorized services or a decision to deny or limit a new service request where
the standard decision time frame of 45 days could seriously jeopardize the claimant’s life or health
or ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum function.

Fair Hearing

Fair Hearing Summary

An administrative hearing held in accordance with the principles of due process which include:
   1. Timely and adequate notice
   2. The right to confront and cross-examine adverse witnesses
   3. The opportunity to be heard orally
   4. The right to an impartial decision maker
   5. The opportunity to obtain counsel, represent him or herself, or use any other person of his or
her choice.

A document prepared by the agency stating the factual and legal reason(s) for the action under
appeal.  The purpose of the hearing summary is to state the position of the agency/entity that
initiated the action in order to provide the appellant with the necessary information to prepare his or
her case.

Good Cause May include, but is not limited to the following:
   1. Death in the family
   2. Personal injury or illness
   3. Sudden and unexpected emergencies
   4. Failure to receive the hearing notice

Group Hearing A series of individual requests for a hearing consolidated into a single group hearing. A group
hearing is appropriate when the sole issue involved is one of State or federal law, regulation, or
policy. The policies governing hearings will be followed In all group hearings. The individual
appellant in a group hearing is permitted to present his or her case or be represented by an
authorized representative.
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5001 Providing an Opportunity for a Fair Hearing

7 CFR 273.15(f), 42 CFR 431.206, 45 CFR 205.10, 42 CFR 438.402, 42 CFR 457.1120

This policy applies to all applicants and recipients of DSS and DMMA for services provided directly by the
Agencies or through agreements with other State or contracted entities where the applicant or recipient claims that
he/she has been adversely impacted by a specific action taken by DSS or DMMA. This policy does not create any
new right of appeal outside DSS or DMMA, nor does it restrict an existing right to any other fair hearing process to
which the applicant or recipient may be entitled.

Hearing Decision The decision in a case appealed to the State hearing officer. The decision includes:
   1. The substance of what transpired at the hearing
   2. A summary of the case facts
   3. Supporting evidence
   4. Pertinent State or federal regulations
   5. The reason for the decision

In Food Supplement Program disqualification cases, the hearing decision must also respond to
reasoned arguments by the appellant.

EXAMPLE: At a Food Supplement Program Intentional Program Violation Hearing involving a
failure to report a change promptly, an appellant may argue that a failure to report does not
constitute "clear and convincing evidence" of intent to defraud. The hearing officer's decision must
respond to this argument.

Hearing Officer The individual responsible for conducting the hearing and issuing a final decision on issues of fact
and questions of law.

Hearing Record A verbatim transcript of all evidence and other material introduced at the hearing, the hearing
decision, and all other correspondence and documents which are admitted as evidence or
otherwise included for the hearing record by the hearing officer.

Hearing Summary A document prepared by the agency stating the factual and legal reason(s) for the action under
appeal. The purpose of the hearing summary is to state the position of the agency/entity that
initiated the action in order to provide the appellant with the necessary information to prepare his or
her case.

Hearsay Evidence Testimony about a statement made by a third party that is offered as fact without personal
knowledge

Individual Hearing A hearing in which an individual client disagrees with the action taken by the Department on the
facts of his or her case.

MCO A Managed Care Organization under contract with DHSS to administer the delivery of medical
services to recipients of Medicaid and CHIP through a network of participating providers.

Party A party to a hearing is a person or an administrative agency or other entity who has taken part in or
is concerned with an action under appeal. A party may be composed of one or more individuals.

Privilege Appellants may decline to present testimony or evidence at a fair hearing under claim of privilege.
 Privilege may include the privilege against self- incrimination or communication to an attorney, a
religious advisor, a physician, etc. 

Request for a Fair 
Hearing

Any clear expression (oral or written) by the appellant or his authorized agent that the individual
wants to appeal a decision to a higher authority. Such request may be oral in the case of actions
taken under the Food Supplement Program.

Relevance Refers to evidence.  Evidence is relevant if an average person believes that the evidence makes a
significant fact more probable.

Remand To send back for further action.
Rule of Residuum Findings of fact must be supported by at least some evidence which is admissible in a court of law.
Timely Notice Period The 10 day period between the date a notice is mailed to the date a proposed action is to take

effect.  (Also called Advance Notice Period.) 
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1. Staff Offer Clients an Opportunity to be Heard
An opportunity for a fair hearing will be provided, subject to the provisions of this section, to any
individual requesting a hearing who is dissatisfied with a decision of the Division of Social Services or
the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance.

The agency will promptly inform a claimant in writing if assistance is to be discontinued under any
circumstance pending a hearing decision.

2. Staff Inform Clients in Writing of Their Hearing Rights
Every applicant and recipient will be informed in writing of his or her right to a fair hearing as provided
under this section:
A. At the time of application
B. At the time of any action affecting the applicant’s or recipient’s claim
C. At the time a skilled nursing facility or a nursing facility notifies DSS or DMMA of a Medicaid
applicant’s or recipient’s potential transfer or discharge, which may adversely affect the applicant’s or
recipient’s Medicaid eligibility
D. At the time an individual receives an adverse determination by the State with regard to the
preadmission screening resident review PASRR requirements.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5300  Providing Adequate and Timely Notices 

45 CFR 205.10, 7 CFR 273.15(f), 42 CFR 431.210, 42 CFR 438.404, 42 CFR 457.340,  45 CFR 205.10

This policy applies to every applicant and recipient under any public assistance program administered by the
Division of Social Services (DSS) or the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA).

1. DSS and DMMA Provide Written Notice of Agency Actions
Written notice of an agency action will contain:
A. A statement of the client's right to a fair hearing as provided under this section.
B. The method by which he or she may request a fair hearing.
C. A statement that he or she may represent him/herself or that he or she may be represented by counsel

or by another person.
2. DSS and DMMA Take Action Only Under Certain Conditions

No action may be taken unless the following conditions are met:
A. Written notice is provided to the client that is "adequate."
An adequate notice is a written notice that includes 

1. A statement of what action the agency intends to take
2. The reasons for the intended agency action
3. The specific regulations supporting such action
4. Explanation of the individual's right to request a State agency hearing
5. The circumstances under which assistance is continued if a hearing is requested
6. If the agency action is upheld, that such assistance must be repaid

i. Must be repaid under Title IV-A
ii. Must be repaid under Titles I, X, XIV or XVI (AABD) if the State plan provides for recovery of

such payment
iii. May be repaid under Title XIX
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B. Written notice is provided to the client that is "timely.” 
A timely notice is one that is mailed at least 10 days before the date of action

C. Each recipient is advised of his or her [potential] liability for repayment of benefits received while
awaiting a fair hearing if the agency's decision is upheld. 
Continue benefits if the hearing request form is unclear as to whether the recipient wants continued
benefits or not.  Provide continued benefits within 5 working days of the date the agency received the
household's request.

During the fair hearing period, the agency will adjust allotments to take into account reported changes
except for the factor(s) on which the hearing is based.

D. Each notice contains information needed for the claimant to determine from the notice alone, the
accuracy of the Division's action or intended action. 
All notices will:
Indicate the action or proposed action to be taken (i.e., approval, denial, reduction, or termination of
assistance);
a. Provide citation(s) to the regulation(s) supporting the action being taken;
b. Provide a detailed individualized explanation of the reason(s) for the action being taken which
includes, in terms understandable to the claimant:

i. An explanation of why the action is being taken, and
ii. An explanation of what the claimant was required by the regulation to do and why his or her
actions fail to meet this standard (if the action is being taken because of the claimant's failure to
perform an act required by a regulation)

c. Provide:
i. eExplanations of what income and/or resources the agency considers available to the
claimant 
ii. tThe source or identity of these funds, 
iii. tThe calculations used by the agency, 
iv. tThe relevant eligibility limits and maximum benefit payment levels for a family or assistance
unit of the claimant's size.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5304.3 Presiding Over Medicaid DMMA Managed Care Hearings
42 CFR 438.408(f), 42 CFR 438.410
This policy applies to recipients enrolled in a managed care organization.

Recipients of medical services from the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance may appeal an
adverse decision of a Managed Care Organization (MCO) to the Division. The decision of the DSS
Hearing Officer is a final decision of the Department of Health and Social Services and is binding on
the MCO.

Exception:  For TANF, notice is timely if mailed at least 5 days before the action
would become effective when DSS learns of facts indicating that assistance
should be discontinued, suspended, terminated, or reduced because of the
probable fraud of the recipient, and, where possible, such facts have been verified
through secondary sources.

Exception:  Food Supplement Program households do not have a right to a
continuation of benefits while waiting for the fair hearing when the recipient is
disputing a reduction, suspension or cancellation of benefits as a result of an order
issued by FNS.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012



PROPOSED REGULATIONS36
The MCO is responsible for the preparation of the hearing summary under §5312 of these rules and
the presentation of its case. The MCO is subject to the rules, practices, and procedures detailed
herein.
These rules do not prevent an MCO from offering conciliation services or a grievance hearing prior to
the fair hearing conducted by DSS.

1. Recipients Are Entitled to an Expedited Resolution in Cases of Emergency
The MCO is responsible for establishing and maintaining an expedited review process for appeals
when the MCO determines or the provider indicates that taking the time for standard resolution could
seriously jeopardize the claimant’s life or health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum
function.  The expedited review can be requested by the claimant or the provider on the claimant’s
behalf.
The MCO must issue an expedited resolution within 3 working days after receiving the appeal.
Expedited appeals must otherwise follow all other standard appeal requirements.
If the MCO denies a request for an expedited resolution of an appeal, it must:

i. resolve the appeal within the standard time frame of 45 days.
ii. make reasonable efforts to provide prompt oral notice of the denial and provide written notice
of the denial to the claimant within 2 calendar days.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5312 Responding to Fair Hearing Requests
45 CFR 205.10

This policy applies anytime anyone requests a fair hearing due to a decision made by the Division of Social
Services (DSS) or the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) for a program administered by DSS or
DMMA.

1. The Agency Prepares a Hearing Summary
Within 5 working days of receipt of a request for a fair hearing, the agency (or MCO or other
Contractor) will prepare a hearing summary and submit the summary to the Hearing Office.

2. Staff Ensure the Summary Contains Pertinent Information
The hearing summary will contain enough information for the appellant to prepare his or her case. The
summary must contain:
A. Identifying information - Give the client's name, the client's address, and the DCIS identification
number.
B. Action taken – Indicate the basis of the client's appeal (rejection, reduction, closure, amount of
benefits, etc.)
C. Reason for action - Describe the specific action taken by the agency, as well as the factual basis
for its decision.
D. Has assistance continued? - Indicate whether or not the appellant's assistance was restored
because the appellant filed a request for a hearing within the timely notice period.
E. Policy basis - Cite the specific State [and federal] rules supporting the action taken.
F. Persons expected to testify - This section lists the names and addresses (if any) of persons that
the agency expects to call to testify.

3. The Hearing Office Notifies the Appellant
Upon receipt of the hearing summary, the Hearing Office will:
A. Set a prompt date for the hearing. 

Exception:  For expedited hearings see DSSM 5304.3.
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B. Send a notice conforming to the requirements of §5311. The notice will include the hearing
summary.
C. Notify all parties, including witnesses, of the date, time, and place of the hearing. 

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5403 Providing Documents to Appellants
This policy applies anytime an appellant or his or her representative requests a fair hearing.

1. Appellants May Examine Case Records and Documents
Prior to the hearing, the appellant and his or her representative will have adequate opportunity to
examine all documents and records to be used by the State agency or its agent at the hearing. He or
she may also examine his or her case records.

2. Staff Must Provide Case Records in a Timely Manner
Staff must make case records available to the appellant within 5 working days of the request. If copies
of documents are requested for the hearing, they will be provided at no cost. For expedited resolution
requests, case records must be made available within 3 working days of the receipt of the appeal.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5500  Issuing Fair Hearing Decisions
7 CFR 273.15(c), (q); 42 CFR 431.244, 431.245; 45 CFR 205.10(16)

This policy applies to applicants and recipients of any public assistance program administered by the Division
of Social Services (DSS) or the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA).

1. Hearing Decisions Are Made Promptly
The Hearing Officer has sole authority to make hearing decisions. The Hearing Officer must take
prompt, definitive, and final administrative action within ninety (90) 90 days from the date the appeal is
filed. The decision must be in writing and must be sent to the appellant as soon as it is made.

2. Decisions Are Binding on the Department of Health and Social Services
3. Decisions Comply with Laws and Regulations

The Hearing Officer’s decision will comply with State and federal laws and regulations and are based
on the hearing record.

4. Decisions Must Contain Specific Information
The written decision will contain, at a minimum, the following information.
A. Information to enable a reader to understand how the decision was reached.
B. Supporting evidence 
C. Food Supplement Program cases will state whether benefits will be issued or terminated.

Exception:  Staff must not release confidential information, such as
   1.  the names of individuals who have disclosed information about the household
without its knowledge 
    2. the nature or status of pending criminal prosecutions

Exception:  Food Supplement Program decisions must be made within 60 days from
the date the appeal is filed.

Exception:  Expedited hearing decisions for medical assistance must be made within 3
working days from receipt of the appeal which meets the criteria for an expedited
appeal process. See Section 5304.3
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The decision contains:
A. 1.  A statement of the appellant's right to judicial review
B. 2.  The identity of the individual
C. 3.  A summary of evidence
D. 4.  Findings of fact
E. 5.  A discussion or analysis of facts and arguments presented at the hearing
F. 6.  A discussion of how the applicable rules apply to the facts in the case
G. 7.  The resulting conclusions
H. 8.  The hearing officer's decision and/or order

I. 9.  Applicable rules involved in reaching the decision
14 DE Reg. 618 (01/01/11)
15 DE Reg. 86 (07/01/11)

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Nursing Facility Quality Assessment

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Title XIX
Medicaid State Plan regarding Nursing Facility Quality Assessment.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by July 31, 2012.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposed amends the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to implement a nursing facility quality assessment fee,
also known as a nursing facility provider tax, effective June 1, 2012.

Statutory Authority
• Social Security Act §1902(a)(13)(A), Public process for determination of rates of payment;
• 42 CFR §§433.55 through 433.74, Health Care-Related Taxes;
• 42 CFR §440, Subpart A, Definitions; 
• 42 CFR Part 447, Subpart C – Payment for Inpatient Hospital and Long-Term Care Facility Ser-

vices;
• 42 CFR §447.205, Public Notice of Changes in Statewide Methods and Standards for Setting Pay-

ment Rates
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Background
Congress passed the Medicaid Voluntary Contribution and Provider Specific Tax Amendments (P.L. 102-234)

in 1991, amending Section 1903(w) of the Social Security Act (42 USC §1396b(w)). Those laws were later revised
through the Tax Relief and Health Care Act of 2006 (P.L. 109-432). These laws, along with corresponding federal
regulations (42 CFR §§433.54 through 433.74), provide the authority and guidelines that states must follow in
order to fund a portion of the state share of Medicaid program costs by assessing/taxing health care providers or
services. The federal authority for health care-related taxes is the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS). 

Federal law permits states to collect revenues or “health care-related taxes” from nineteen (19) specified
classes of health care providers or services. Revenues collected from health care-related taxes can be used to
raise provider rates, fund other costs of the Medicaid program or be used for other non-Medicaid purposes, such
as depositing the funds into the state’s general treasury. States must meet strict federal requirements when
implementing health care-related taxes, including taxing all providers or services in a class (i.e., the tax cannot be
limited to Medicaid providers only) and applying a methodology that is similar for all providers or services in that
class (i.e., same rate or amount of tax is applied).

Health care-related taxes are fees, assessments or other mandatory payments related to:
(1) Health care items or services; 
(2) Provision of, or authority to provide, health care items or services; and,
(3) Payment for health care items or services. 
In order to be permissible under federal law, any provider tax enacted by a state must be (1) broad based, (2)

uniformly imposed and (3) cannot violate hold harmless provisions.

Summary of Proposal
Nursing facility services are a mandatory Medicaid state plan service. Delaware Medicaid’s reimbursement

policy establishes eight levels of care within nursing facilities based on patient acuity with up to three “add-ons” for
additional services required by nursing facility residents as determined by Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance (DMMA) nurses. Facility-specific per diem rates are computed annually based on annual facility cost
reports.  Because of potential budget shortfalls caused by the nation’s poor economy, nursing facility Medicaid
rates have been frozen since April 1, 2009 at the level they were as of December 31, 2008.

With approval of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) of a Title XIX State Plan amendment
that will be submitted before June 30, 2012, effective for services provided on or after June 1, 2012, DMMA intends
to modify reimbursement for nursing facility services provided under the Medicaid program by increasing the
nursing facility per diem amounts for each facility by an amount computed annually that will use proceeds of a
nursing facility provider tax to fund the state share of the increased per diem rates. The implementation of this
increase in per diem payments is contingent upon passage by the Delaware General Assembly of legislation that
defines the applicability of the Nursing Facility Quality Assessment provider tax.

In compliance with 42 CFR §447.205, Public Notice was published before the proposed effective date of the
change on May 30, 2012 in the News Journal and on May 31, 2012 in the Delaware State News. 

Fiscal Impact Statement
DMMA estimates that the proposed amendment to the Medicaid State Plan is expected to increase payments

to nursing facilities by approximately $29 million in State Fiscal Year 2013 but will require no increase in spending
from the General Fund because the state share of the increased claims will be funded by the proceeds of the
Nursing Facility Quality Assessment Fund currently under consideration by the Delaware General Assembly.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #12-28
REVISIONS:

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
Page 1

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
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STATE: DELAWARE
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES

PROSPECTIVE REIMBURSEMENT SYSTEM
FOR LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES

Payment Methodology for Rate Periods Beginning January 1, 2009:
A. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the following adjustments will apply to

reimbursement rates for all long term care facilities, except for state owned and operated facilities.
B. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2009, per diem rates for long term care facilities will be

adjusted to the rates that were in effect on December 31, 2008. However, if Delaware has in effect a
nursing facility quality assessment fee applicable to assessment periods beginning on June 1, 2012
and thereafter, the per diem rates for long term care facilities computed for the period ending
December 31, 2008 shall be increased by a Quality Assessment Rate Adjustment Amount as follows:
Except as excluded in section (c) below, each nursing facility’s rates shall be increased for dates of
service beginning on or after June 1, 2012 by a per day dollar amount equal to the sum of:

(a) a per day dollar amount equal to the per day dollar amount of the Nursing Facility Quality
Assessment Fee that will be owed for the upcoming rate year by each facility as specified in
Delaware Code Title 30, Chapter 65 section 6502 (b)  and (d), plus

(b) a per day dollar amount computed as follows:
Step 1. Obtain the total annual Medicaid patient days for all participating nursing facilities from the

Delaware Medicaid nursing facility cost reports for the fiscal year ending June 30 of the
previous year for each facility, excluding government-operated and pediatric nursing
facilities.  Sum the Medicaid patient days for each facility to compute the total aggregate
statewide Medicaid patient days.

Step 2. For each facility identified in Step #1, multiply the per day dollar amount of the Nursing
Facility Quality Assessment  Fee that will be owed per paragraph B. (a) above by each
facility times the number of Medicaid patient  days for each facility from Step #1. Sum the
dollar amounts for all facilities to compute the aggregate statewide total annual
assessment amount to be paid to the facilities.

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
Page 1a

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE: DELAWARE

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
PROSPECTIVE REIMBURSEMENT SYSTEM

FOR LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES

Step 3. Obtain the Total annual patient days and non-Medicare patient days for the fiscal year
specified in Step 1 from each of the facilities that will be subjected to the quality
assessment specified in paragraph (a) above for the upcoming State fiscal year for both
Medicaid and non-Medicaid nursing facilities licensed to operate in Delaware.

Step 4. For each facility identified in Step #3, multiply the per day dollar amount of the nursing
facility quality assessment fee that will be owed by each facility as specified in Delaware
Code Title 30, Chapter 65 section 6502 (b) and (d) times the number of non-Medicare
patient days for each facility from Step #3. Sum the dollar amounts for all facilities to
compute the statewide total aggregate annual dollar amount of the assessment. 

Step 5. Multiply the aggregate assessment computed in Step #4 by 0.9.
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Step 6. Determine the total computable funding amount using the assessment amount from Step 5
as the state share at the applicable FMAP (and any other allowable Federal match) for the
payment period. 

Step 7. Subtract the Medicaid portion of the assessment computed in Step #2 from the total
computable payment amount computed in step #6. 

Step 8. Divide the dollar amount computed in step #7, by the statewide aggregate patient days
from Step #1 to compute a per day dollar amount to be added to (a) above.

(c) The following Long Term Care nursing facilities are excluded from the quality assessment rate
adjustment amounts computed in (a) and (b) above:

• government-owned nursing facilities,
• facilities that exclusively serve children,
• facilities with no Medicaid patients,
• facilities that are subject to penalties under Delaware Code Title 30, Chapter 65 section 

6503 for dates of service in the months that penalties apply,
• facilities not located within the State of Delaware,
• all nursing facilities are excluded from this Quality Assessment Rate Adjustment Amount if 

the State of Delaware does not implement or if implemented, subsequently terminates, a 
nursing facility quality assessment fee

C. Future rate adjustments will be suspended until further notice.

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
Page 1b

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE:DELAWARE

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
PROSPECTIVE REIMBURSEMENT SYSTEM

FOR LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES

I. General Provisions 
A. Purpose 

This plan establishes a reimbursement system for long-term care facilities that complies with federal
requirements, including but not limited to: 
• Requirements of the Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1981 that nursing facility provider reimburse-

ments be reasonable and adequate to assure an efficient and economically operated facility. 
• The requirement that Medicaid payments in the aggregate do not exceed what would have been

paid by Medicare based on allowable cost principles. 
• Limitations on the revaluation of assets subsequent to a change of ownership since July 18,

1984. 
• Requirements of the Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1987 to establish one level of nursing care,

i.e., Nursing Facility Care, to eliminate the designation of Skilled and Intermediate Care, and to
provide sufficient staff to meet these requirements. 

• The requirement to employ only nurse aides who have successfully completed a training and
competency evaluation program or a competency evaluation program. 

B. Reimbursement Principles 
1. Providers of nursing facility care shall be reimbursed prospectively determined per diem rates

based on a patient based classification system.  Providers of ICF-MR and ICF-IMD services shall
be reimbursed prospectively determined per diem rates.
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DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

State Survey Agency State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Title XIX
Delaware Medicaid State Plan regarding State Survey Agency specifically, a change in the administrative authority
of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by July 31, 2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposed provides notice to the public that the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
intends to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding State Survey Agency, specifically, a change in the
administrative authority of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program.

Statutory Authority
• Social Security Act §1919(g)(1)(C), Survey and Certification Process
• Older Americans Act, Title VII
• 146th General Assembly, Senate Bill 102, An Act to Amend Title 16 of the Delaware Code Relating to the 

Long-Term Care Ombudsman

Background
The State Long-Term Care Ombudsman program was established by Title III of the Older Americans Act (OAA)

in 1978 as a demonstration program and was transferred to a new Title VII of the OAA (which also includes other
programs) in 1992. With enactment States are required to establish and operate an Office of the State Long-Term
Care Ombudsman, headed by the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman. The Ombudsman Program identifies,
investigates and resolves complaints made by or on behalf of residents of nursing, board and care and similar adult
care homes; addresses major issues which affect residents; works to educate residents, nursing home personnel
and the public about residents rights and other matters affecting residents; and performs other functions specified
in the Act to protect the health, safety, welfare and rights of residents.

Today, the Ombudsman Program exists in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Guam, under
the authorization of the Older Americans Act. Each state has an Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman,
headed by a full-time state ombudsman assisting residents and their families and providing a voice for those
unable to speak for themselves. 

Delaware’s Ombudsman Program has received Medicaid funding since 1990 and was previously administered
through the Delaware Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD). 
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Summary of Proposal
What Prompted the Change?
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) received authorization in State Fiscal Year 2011 Budget Bill to

consolidate the three (3) long-term care facilities, Delaware Hospital for the Chronically Ill (DHCI), Emily P. Bissell
Hospital (EPBH), and Governor Bacon Health Center (GBHC) into the Division of Services for Aging and Adults
with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD). The consolidation was implemented to improve access to services as the
needs of the residents of the three facilities are similar to the needs of DSAAPD’s overall target population. The
perception of a conflict of interest would have been created if the same Division Director supervised the three
facilities and supervised the Long Term Care Ombudsman Program (LTCOP), which is charged with monitoring
clients’ rights of the residents who live there. Federal regulations require the Ombudsman program be in a Division
separate from long-term care facilities.

Authorized by Senate Bill 102 (146th General Assembly) and signed into law by the Governor on July 13, 2011,
this change was not only to enhance crucial constituent services consistent with the Secretary’s focus on client
advocacy and protections and to elevate their visibility across the Department and State Government, but also to
address the possible perception of a conflict of interest which would exist if the program remained within the
DSAAPD, which now houses the long term care facilities. The effective date of the transition was January 1, 2011.

Summary of Proposed Amendment
As referenced above, the Medicaid State plan will be amended at General Program Administration, 4.40(d),

Survey & Certification Process to identify a change in the administrative authority over the State Long-Term Care
Ombudsman Program from the DSAAPD to the Office of the Secretary, Delaware Health and Social Services
(DHSS). DHSS is the designated single State agency responsible for the administration of Delaware Medicaid.

The provisions of this state plan amendment are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS).

Fiscal Impact Statement
This plan amendment imposes no increase in cost on the General Fund.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #12-29
REVISION:  

79u

Revision: HCFA-PM-92-3 (HSQB) OMB No.:
APRIL 1992

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State/Territory/ DELAWARE

Citation 4.4
0 Survey & Certification Process

Sections 1919(g)(1) thru (2)
and 1919(g)(4) thru (5) of the
Act; P.L. 100-203 
(Sec. 4212(a))

(a)

The State assures that the requirement of 1919(g)(1)(A) through (C)
and section 1919(g)(2) (A) through (E)(iii) of the Act which relate to
the survey and certificaion on non-State owned facilities based on the
requirements of section 1919(b), (c) and (d) os this Act are met.

1919(g)(1)(B) of the Act (b)
The State conducts periodic education programs for staff and
residents (and their representative). Attachment 4.40-A describes the
survey and certification education program.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012



PROPOSED REGULATIONS44
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Telemedicine

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Title XIX
Delaware Medicaid State Plan to allow for the use of a telemedicine delivery system for providers enrolled under
Delaware Medicaid.
    Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by July 31, 2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

1919(g)(1)(C) of the Act (c)

The State provides for a process for the receipt and timely review and
investigation of allegations of neglect and abuse and
misappropriation of resident property by a nurse aid of a resident in a
nursing facility or by another individual used by the facility.
Attachment 4.40-B describes the State’s process.

1919(g)(1)(C) of the Act (d)

The State agency responsible for surveys and certification of nursing
facilities or an agency delegated by the State survey agency conducst
the process for the receipt and timely review and investigation, of
allegations of neglect and abuse and misappropriation of resident
property. If not the State survey agency, what agency?  Ombudsman
- Division of Aging State Long Term Care Ombudsman -
Delaware Health and Social Services.

1919(g)(1)(C) of the Act (e)

The State assures that a nurse aide, found to have neglected or
abused a resident of Act misappropriated resident property in a
facility, is notified of the finding. the name and finding is placed on the
nurse aide registry.**

1919(g)(1)(C) of the Act (f)

The State notifies the appropriate licensure authority of any licensed
individual found to have neglected or abused a resident or
misappropriated resident property in a facility. Allegations are
investigated by the Delaware Attorney General’s Office. Results are
reported to the Delaware Board of Licensure and Discipline.
**The Delaware Attorney General’s Office sends reports of all
adjudicated Nurses Aides to the Delaware Office of Health Facilities
Licensing and Certification who notifies the Delaware Nurse Aide
Registry.
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SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposed provides notice to the public that the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
intends to amend the Title XIX State Plan to allow for the use of a telemedicine delivery system for providers
enrolled under Delaware Medicaid.

Statutory Authority
• 42 CFR Part 440, Services
• 42 CFR §410.78, Telehealth services

Background
For the purposes of Medicaid, telemedicine seeks to improve a patient’s health by permitting two-way, real time

interactive communication between the patient, and the physician or practitioner at the distant site. This electronic
communication means the use of interactive telecommunications equipment that includes, at a minimum, audio
and visual equipment. This definition is modeled on Medicare’s definition of telehealth services (42 CFR §410.78).

According to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the Medicaid program and the federal
Medicaid statute (Title XIX of the Social Security Act) does not recognize telemedicine as a distinct service. CMS
does note, however, that “telemedicine is viewed as a cost-effective alternative to the more traditional face-to-face
way of providing medical care” (e.g., face-to-face consultations or examinations between provider and patient) that
states can choose to cover under Medicaid and that there is “flexibility inherent in federal law to create innovative
payment methodologies for services that incorporate telemedicine technology.” 

States may seek a State Plan amendment to allow the use of telemedicine as a delivery system.

Summary of Proposal
The Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) proposes to amend the Medicaid State plan to allow

for Medicaid reimbursement for medically necessary telemedicine services, a mode of delivery of health care
services for covered services rendered to Medicaid eligible recipients by enrolled Delaware Medicaid providers. 

DMMA’s objectives in recognizing telemedicine-provided services include:
• Improved access to health care services and behavioral health services with no loss in quality, safety 

or access to existing medical services; and
• Improved access to medical subspecialties not widely available in a service area; and
• Improved recipient compliance with treatment plans; and
• Medical and behavioral health services rendered at an earlier stage of disease; and
• Improved health outcomes for patients; and
• Reduced Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) costs for covered services such as hospital-

izations and transportation.
The proposed plan amendment, when approved, would allow the following telemedicine services, including

delivery of consultation services, office visit evaluation and management services, individual psychotherapy
services, pharmacologic management, psychiatric diagnostic interview examinations, end stage renal disease
related services, and individual medical nutrition therapy via an interactive telecommunications system. For these
services, an interactive telecommunications system is considered to meet the requirements of a face-to-face
encounter.

The appropriate State plan pages will be amended and the appropriate DMAP provider manuals will be
updated with applicable coverage parameters and billing guidelines.

The provisions of this state plan amendment are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS).

Fiscal Impact Statement
• The fiscal impact of adding telemedicine cannot be estimated. 
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• The projected number of telemedicine-provided services cannot be determined at this time as the
actual number will depend on the number of Medicaid practitioners and beneficiaries who choose to
use the technology, as appropriate.

• The coverage and limitations for telemedicine-provided services will mirror the respective service
delivered face-to-face to eliminate the possibility of any financial impact on Medicaid.

• Providers who wish to deliver telemedicine-provided services will have to invest in the necessary
interactive telecommunications equipment.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATIONS #12-30
REVISION:

ATTACHMENT 3.1-A
Page 12

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE/TERRITORY: DELAWARE

LIMITATIONS ON AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL AND 
REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

27. TELEMEDICINE SERVICES
The Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) covers medically necessary health services furnished to

eligible DMAP members as specified in the Medicaid State Plan. To facilitate the ability of recipients to receive
medically necessary services, DMAP allows for the use of a telemedicine delivery system for providers enrolled
under Delaware Medicaid.

Telemedicine services under DMAP are subject to the specifications, conditions, and limitations set by the
State. Telemedicine is the practice of health care delivery by a practitioner who is located at a site, known as the
distant site, other than the site where the patient is located, known as the originating site, for the purposes of
consultation, evaluation, diagnosis, or recommendation of treatment. 

Providers rendering telemedicine must be able to use interactive telecommunications equipment that includes,
at a minimum, audio and video equipment permitting two-way, real time, interactive communication between the
recipient and the practitioner to provide and support care when distance separates participants who are in different
geographical locations. 

Telephone conversations, chart reviews, electronic mail messages, facsimile transmissions or internet services
for online medical evaluations are not considered telemedicine. 

All equipment required to provide telemedicine services is the responsibility of the providers. 

PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS 
In order to provide telemedicine under DMAP, providers at both the originating and distant site must be

enrolled with DMAP or have contractual agreements with the managed care organizations (MCOs) and must meet
all requirements for their discipline as specified in the Medicaid State Plan. 

In order for services delivered through telemedicine technology from DMAP or MCOs to be covered,
healthcare practitioners must:

• withhin their scope of practice;
• Be licensed (in Delaware, or the State in which the provider is located if exempted under Delaware 

State law to provide telemedicine services without a Delaware license) for the service for which they 
bill DMAP;

• Be enrolled with DMAP/MCOs;
• Be located within the continental United States.
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COVERED SERVICES
DMAP covers medically necessary telemedicine services and procedures covered under the Title XIX State

Plan for the diagnosis and treatment of an illness or injury as indicated by the eligible recipient’s condition. All
telemedicine services must be furnished within the limits of provider program policies and within the scope and
practice of the provider’s professional standards as described and outlined in DMAP Provider Manuals which can
be found at: http://www.dmap.state.de.us/downloads/manuals.html

NON-COVERED SERVICES
If a service is not covered in a face-to-face setting, it is not covered if provided through telemedicine. A service

provided through telemedicine is subject to the same program restrictions, limitations and coverage which exist for
the service when not provided through telemedicine.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 24

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE/TERRITORY:   DELAWARE

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES (Continued)

27. TELEMEDICINE SERVICES
Payment for services delivered at the distant site via telemedicine is made according to the standard Delaware

Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) payment methodology for the comparable in-person service and provider
type.

In addition to the payment for the actual service rendered, qualifying originating patient sites are reimbursed
98% of the Medicare rate for the facility fee for dates of services on or after July 1, 2012. 

Fee schedules for telemedicine-provided services are available on the DMAP website at:  http://
www.dmap.state.de.us/downloads. 

Except as otherwise noted in the Medicaid State Plan, State-developed fee schedule rates are the same for
both government and private providers.

Separate reimbursement is not made for the use of technological equipment and systems associated with a
telemedicine application to render the service.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512th)

16 DE Admin. Code 11003

PUBLIC NOTICE

Child Care Subsidy Program: Determining Technical Eligibility for Child Care

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend policies in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, Determining Technical Eligibility
for Child Care.
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Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North Dopant Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 by July 31, 2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposal described below amends policies in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, Determining Technical Eligibility for Child Care.

Statutory Authority
45 CFR §98.20, A child’s eligibility for child care services

Summary of Proposed Changes
DSSM 11003, Eligibility Requirements Determining Technical Eligibility for Child Care: The name of the section

is changed to more accurately indicate the content of the policy. This policy section is reformatted and clarifying
language is also provided to make the rules easier to understand and follow. Specifically, this regulatory action
adds the eligibility requirement that parents/caretakers must be Delaware residents. The applicable federal citation
is also added to the policy section.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #12-25
REVISION:

11003 Eligibility Requirements Determining Technical Eligibility for Child Care
45 CFR 98.20
PRWORA 401 and 402

DSS provides child care services to eligible Delaware families with a children) who resides in the home and
who is under the age of 13, or children 13 to under 19 who are physically or mentally incapable of caring for
themselves or are active with the Division of Family Services.

Under Title IV, Sections 401 and 402 of the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Act of 1996, the
Division is prohibited from using CCDBG and SSBG funds to pay for child care services for most persons who are
not U.S. citizens. At State option, the Division may choose to use State only funds to pay for child care services for
such persons. Certain aliens are exempt from this restriction for a period of five (5) years from the date of obtaining
status as either a refugee, a sy lee, or one whose deportation is being withheld. In addition, aliens admitted for
permanent residence who have worked forty (40) qualifying quarters and aliens and their spouses or unmarried
dependent children who are either honorably discharged veterans or on active military duty are exempt from this
restriction.

The Division will provide Child Care services for eligible families where there is at least one U.S. citizen or legal
alien in the family. If one member of the family is a U.S. citizen or legal alien and they meet both technical and
financial eligibility criteria Child Care Services can be provided. The Division will evaluate non-U.S. citizen cases
on an individual basis. 

Non-US citizens referred to the Child Care subsidy program through the Division of Family Services, due to a
protective need, are eligible to receive services regardless of their citizenship status.
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A family needs service when parents/ caretakers are required to be out of the home, or are reasonably
unavailable (may be in the home but cannot provide supervision, such as a parent works a third shift, is in the
home, but needs to rest), and no one else is available to provide supervision.

A. Parents/caretakers need service to:
1. accept employment,
2. keep employment,
3. participate in a training component, as part of one of the DSS Employment and Training programs,

leading to employment,
4. participate in an education component, as part of one of the DSS Employment and Training programs,
5. work and the other parent/caretaker or adult household member is chronically ill or incapacitated,
6. have someone care for the children because of a parent/caretaker special need.

 B. A children) needs service to:
1. provide for a special need (physical or emotional disabilities, behavior problems, or developmental

delays, etc.);
2. provide protective supervision in order to prevent abuse or neglect.

In addition to having an eligible child and a child care need, certain DSS Child Care programs require
parents/ caretakers to meet income limits. Under certain other Child Care programs, DSS guarantees child care.
These financial requirements along with other technical requirements help determine the parent/caretaker's child
care category. Categories relate to the funding sources used by DSS to pay for Child Care services. The following
sections discuss the technical requirements for child care services based on category and need.

This policy applies to applicants for and recipients of child care assistance.
1. Parents/Caretakers Must Meet Certain Criteria

To be technically eligible parents/caretakers must have a need that requires them to be out of the
home or reasonably unavailable to provide supervision (e.g., a medical condition, needing rest
because of working a third shift, etc.).

A. Parents/Caretakers must be Delaware residents
B. Parents/Caretakers need services to meet one of the following:

1. Accept or keep a job
2. Participate in a DSS Employment and Training program
3. Participate in the Transitional Work Program
4. Participate in job search 
5. Have a break in education/training
6. Prevent child abuse or neglect as referred by DFS
7. Provide care for the children) when the parents/caretakers have a special need

2. Children Must Meet Certain Criteria
Children may be eligible if they:

A. Live in the home and are under the age of 13
B. Live in the home and are age 13 to 18 and are physically or mentally incapable of caring for

themselves
C. Are active with and referred by the Division of Family Services

3. Non-Citizens May Qualify for Child Care
Non-citizens may qualify if both parents/caretakers meet technical and financial eligibility criteria and
they meet at least one of the following criteria.

A. At least one U.S. citizen or legal alien lives in the household
B. They are aliens admitted as permanent residents who have worked 40 qualifying quarters
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C. They, their spouses or unmarried dependent children are honorably discharged veterans or on
active military duty.
Qualified aliens may qualify for a period of five years from the date of:
A. Obtaining status as a refugee
B. Obtaining status as a a sy lee
C. Their deportation being withheld

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
Surface Water Discharges Section

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Section 6000 (7 Del.C. §6000)
7 DE Admin. Code 7201

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN #2010-25

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Regulations Governing Discharges from the Application of Pesticides to Waters of the State

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
The proposed regulatory revision of Section 9.0, General Permit Program, to add Subsection 9.8, Regulations

Governing the Discharges from the Application of Pesticides to Waters of the State, is being promulgated as a
result of the 2009 decision by the U.S. Sixth Circuit Court, whereby the Court determined that the application of
biological pesticides and chemical pesticides with residuals to waters regulated under the provisions of the federal
Clean Water Act must be regulated by a National Pollutant Discharge Elimination Program (NPDES) permit. Being
an NPDES-delegated state (except for federal facilities) the State of Delaware through DNREC is required to issue
its own NPDES permits and develop regulations that align with the federal Pesticide General Permit (PGP) issued
on October 31, 2011.

In order to allow aquatic pesticide application through the summer months of 2012, the Delaware Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) Division of Water issued emergency regulations, the
Emergency Regulations Governing the Discharges from the Application of Pesticides to Waters of the State, which
were effective March 1– August 31, 2012. The DNREC is authorized, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10119, to adopt
emergency regulations if an agency determines that an imminent peril to human health, safety, or welfare requires
adoption, amendment, or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C. §10115. Much of the
aquatic pesticide spraying during that timeframe was concentrated on eliminating mosquito populations, which are
a significant risk to human health and welfare due to their ability to transmit diseases and other blood-borne
vectors. 

The final Regulations Governing the Discharges from the Application of Pesticides to Waters of the State will
allow pesticide applicators to obtain the required permits coverage for applying aquatic pesticides, as required,
from this point forward.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
NA

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012

http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/wr/Pages/Default.aspx


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 51
Being an NPDES-delegated state (except for federal facilities), the State of Delaware through the Delaware
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) must issue its own NPDES permits for this
activity pursuant to 40 CFR §123 and 7 Del.C. Chapter 60.  In order to accommodate the potentially large universe
of operators, DNREC is issuing a general permit regulation based on the U.S. EPA’s Pesticides General Permit
(PGP) issued on October 31, 2011.

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
NA

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Public workshops were held in March, 2012, notifying the public about the emergency regulatory requirements.

These workshops were also held to obtain public comment/feedback toward development of the final regulations.  The
final regulation were subject to the requirements in 29 Del.C. §10115.  A public hearing is scheduled from 6:00 p.m.
- 8:00 p.m. on July 30, 2012, to be held at the DNREC Auditorium (R&R Building), 89 Kings Hwy., Dover, DE
19901.

7. PREPARED BY:
Beth Krumrine (5/30/12) 
Environmental Scientist IV
DNREC Surface Water Discharges Section
89 Kings Hwy.
Dover, DE 19901
302-739-9946
Beth.Krumrine@state.de.us

7201 Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

7201 Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 3606 (24 Del.C. §3606)
24 DE Admin. Code 3600

PUBLIC NOTICE

3600 Board of Registration of Geologists

The Delaware Board of Geologists (Board) pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3606 (a)(1) proposes to amend its rules and
regulations. The proposed revisions update the regulations by clarifying provisions related to lapsed and expired
licenses, adding online courses and web seminars to courses acceptable for continuing education in place of home
study, and updating the list of sponsored organizations that receive automatic approval of continuing education
programs offered to licensees to meet the continuing education requirements. The revisions also add
manslaughter to the list of crimes the Board has determined to be substantially related to the practice of geology.
Finally, the proposal corrects several grammatical errors. 
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The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on August 10, 2012 at 10:15 a.m., Second
floor conference room B, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover DE 19904. Written comments should be
sent to Sandra Wagner, Administrative Specialist, Delaware Board of Geologists, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Blvd., Dover DE 19904. The final date to receive written comments will be at the public hearing. 

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

3600 Board of Registration of Geologists

1.0 Definitions
“Board” shall mean the State Board of Geologists established in 24 Del. C., Ch. 36, §3603.
“Continuing Education Unit” shall mean one contact hour (60 minutes), subject to the Board’s review.
“Five Years of Experience” shall mean:

Experience acquired in geological work as described in the 24 Del.C., Ch. 36, §3602 (5) and (6)
and after completion of academic requirements as stated in §3608(a)(1). The Board may discount
experience obtained more than ten (10) years prior to the submission of an application. Part-time
experience will be granted proportional to full-time credit. Three (3) of the five (5) years of
experience must be in a position of responsible charge as defined below. 
Experience references must be provided by a person knowledgeable and having a background of
geological work.
The Board will only consider years of experience documented by references.

“Geologist” shall mean a person who is qualified to practice professional geology including
specialists in its various subdisciplines.
“Practice of Geology” shall mean any service or creative work, the adequate performance of which
requires geologic education, training and experience in the application of the principles, theories, laws
and body of knowledge encompassed in the science of geology. This may take the form of, but is not
limited to, consultation, research, investigation, evaluation, mapping, sampling, planning of geologic
projects and embracing such geological services or work in connection with any public or private
utilities, structures, roads, buildings, processes, works or projects. A person shall be construed to
practice geology, who by verbal claim, sign, advertisement or in any other way represents himself or
herself to be a geologist, or who holds himself or herself him/herself out as able to perform or who
does perform geologic services or work.
“Responsible Charge” shall mean the individual control and direction, by the use of initiative, skill
and individual judgment, of the practice of geology.

2.0 Procedures for Licensure
2.1 Application - Initial Licensure

An applicant who is applying for licensure as a geologist shall submit evidence showing that he/she
meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3608. The applicant must submit the following documentation:

2.1.1 An application for licensure, which shall include:
2.1.1.1 Academic credentials documented by official transcripts showing completion of an

educational program meeting the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3608(a)(1).
2.1.1.2 Any applicant holding a degree from a program outside the United States or its territories

must provide the Board with an educational credential evaluation from an agency
approved by the Board, demonstrating that their training and degree are equivalent to
domestic accredited programs. No application is considered complete until the
educational credential evaluation is received by the Board.

2.1.1.3 Five professional references on forms provided by the Board. The references must attest
that the Aapplicant has completed at least five (5) years of work experience in Ggeologic
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work satisfactory to the Board. A minimum of three (3) years of work experience must be
in a responsible position.

2.1.1.4 Evidence that the applicant has achieved the passing score on all parts of the written,
standardized examination administered by the National Association of State Boards of
Geology (ASBOG), or its successor.

2.1.1.5 Letters of good standing from all jurisdictions in which the applicant is licensed or
registered.

2.2 Application - By Reciprocity
An applicant who is applying for licensure as a geologist by reciprocity shall submit evidence showing
that he/she meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3609. The applicant must submit the following
documentation:

2.2.1 An application for licensure, which shall include:
2.2.1.1 Academic credentials documented by official transcripts showing completion of an

educational program meeting the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3608(a)(1).
2.2.1.2 Any applicant holding a degree from a program outside the United States or its territories

must provide the Board with an educational credential evaluation from an agency
approved by the Board, demonstrating that their training and degree are equivalent to
domestic accredited programs. No application is considered complete until the
educational credential evaluation is received by the Board.

2.2.1.3 Evidence that the applicant is currently licensed or certified in the jurisdiction from which
he/she is applying and the applicant has practiced for a minimum of two (2) years after
licensure in the jurisdiction from which he/she is applying including two (2) professional
references on forms provided by the Board. An applicant may not obtain reciprocity on a
lapsed or expired license or certification. The references must attest that the Applicant has
completed at least two (2) years of work experience in Ggeologic work satisfactory to the
Board. The required two years of Ggeologic work experience attested to by the referees
must have been performed in the jurisdiction from which the applicant is seeking
reciprocity.

2.2.1.4 Evidence that the applicant has achieved the passing score on all parts of the written,
standardized examination administered by the National Association of State Boards of
Geology (ASBOG), or its successor.

2.2.1.4.1 Applicants, who were originally licensed in another jurisdiction after June 17, 1998, will
be required to have a passing score (70%) on each part of the ASBOG examination.

2.2.1.5 Letters of good standing from all jurisdictions in which the applicant is licensed or
registered.

3.0 Stamp/Seal Requirements
3.1 The stamp or seal authorized by the Delaware State Board of Geologists shall be of the design shown

here and shall not be less than one and one-half (1 ½) inches in diameter.  It may be purchased by the
licensee from any convenient source.

3.2 All reports, drawings, maps, or similar technical submissions involving the practice of geology that
have been prepared, or reviewed and approved, by a licensed geologist and that will become a matter
of public record, or relied upon by any person, within this state for geological purposes, shall be
impressed with the stamp or seal.  The stamp or seal will indicate that the licensee has accepted
responsibility for the work.

3.3 Any licensee who affixes, or allows to be affixed, his/her seal or name to a document or report is
responsible for all work contained therein regardless of whether such work has been performed by the
geologist or a subordinate.

3.4 No person shall stamp or seal any plans, reports, specifications, plats or similar technical submissions
with the stamp or seal of a geologist or in any manner use the title “geologist,” unless such person is
duly licensed in compliance with 24 Del.C. Ch. 36.
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3.5 No person shall stamp or seal any plans, specifications, plats, reports, or a similar document with the
stamp or seal of a licensed geologist if his/her license has been suspended, revoked or has expired.

3.6 Computer files of reports, drawings or similar technical work involving the practice of geology and that
will become a matter of public record or relied upon by any person shall include the following
statement:
This submission is made in compliance with 24 Del.C., Ch. 36 by (name)___________, P.G., DE
license number ____ on this date _______________________.

4.0 Licensing Exemption
4.1 Any person who claims exemption from the provisions of 24 Del.C. Ch. 36 under §3617(a), shall be

entitled to such exemption so long as his/her remuneration from the practice of geology is solely
related to a teaching function.  If such remuneration is processed through his/her academic unit, it shall
be considered prima facie evidence of the fact that such work is related to his/her teaching.  Any
person claiming such exemption shall, in a conspicuous manner at the conclusion of any report or
study bearing his/ her name, include the statement:

“I hereby claim exemption from the requirements of 24 Del.C. Ch. 36 (Delaware Professional
Geologist Act) and am not subject to the provisions of that Act and the standards and regulations
adopted pursuant thereto.”

Such a disclaimer shall not be required on reports or studies submitted solely to refereed professional
journals for publications.
Any other geologic work, including consulting, not directly related to educational activities, shall not be
considered exempt.

5.0 Issuance and Renewal of License
5.1 Each license shall be renewed biennially.  The failure of the Board to notify a licensee of his/her

expiration date and subsequent renewals does not, in any way, relieve the licensee of the requirement
to renew his/her certificate pursuant to the Board’s regulations and 24 Del.C. Ch. 36.

5.2 Renewal may be effected by:
5.2.1 filing a renewal application prescribed by the Board and provided by the Division of Professional

Regulation. Beginning in 2006, license renewal may be accomplished online at
www.dpr.delaware.gov;

5.2.2 providing other information as may be required by the Board to ascertain the licensee’s good
standing;

5.2.3 attesting on the renewal application to the completing of continuing education as required by Rule
6.0;

5.2.4 payment of fees as determined by the Division of Professional Regulation.
5.3 Failure of a licensee to renew his/her license shall cause his/her license to expire lapse. A geologist

whose license has expired lapsed may renew his/her license within one year three (3) months after the
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expiration date upon fulfilling items 5.2.1 - 5.2.4 above, after providing a notarized letter certifying that
he/she has not practiced geology in Delaware while his/her license has expired been lapsed, and
paying the renewal fee and a late fee which shall be 50% of the renewal fee as determined by the
Division of Professional Regulation.

5.3.1 Late or lapsed license renewals shall be audited for satisfactory completion of the continuing
education requirements.

5.3.2 No geologist shall practice geology in the State of Delaware during the period of time that his/her
license is lapsed.

5.4 No geologist will be permitted to renew his/her license once the   period has expired. Failure of a
licensee to renew his/her lapsed license within the three (3) month period in item 5.3 above shall
cause his/her license to expire.

5.4.1 A geologist whose license has expired may re-apply under the same conditions that govern
applicants for new licensure under 24 Del.C. Ch. 36, and must provide a notarized letter certifying
that he/she has not practiced geology in Delaware while his/her license has been expired.

5.4.2 Reapplication for expired licenses shall be audited for satisfactory completion of the continuing
education requirements described below:

5.4.2.1 Expired status for one (1) year or less: 12 CE hours and will automatically be audited.
5.4.2.2 Expired status for more than one (1) year: 24 CE hours and will automatically be audited.

5.5 The former licensee may re-apply under the same conditions that govern applicants for licensure
under 24 Del.C. Ch. 36.

5.65 No geologist shall practice geology in the State of Delaware during the period of time that his/her
Delaware license has expired.

6.0 Continuing Education
6.1 The Board will require continuing education as a condition of license renewal. 

6.1.1 Proof of continuing education is satisfied with an attestation by the  licensee that he or she has
satisfied the Requirement of Rule 6.0.

6.1.2 Attestation may be completed electronically if the renewal is accomplished online.  In the
alternative, paper renewal documents that contain the attestation of completion may be submitted.

6.1.3 Licensees selected for random audit will be required to supplement the attestation with attendance
verification pursuant to Rule 6.3.

6.2 Licenses are renewed biennially (every two years on the even year) on September 30 (e.g. September
30, 2006, 2008). Continuing education (CE) reporting periods run concurrently with the biennial
licensing period.

6.3 Each licensed geologist shall complete, biennially, 24 units of continuing education as a condition of
license renewal.  The licensee is responsible for retaining all certificates and documentation of
participation in approved continuing education programs.  Upon request, such documentation shall be
made available to the Board for random post renewal audit and verification purposes.  A continuing
education unit is equivalent to one contact hour (60 minutes), subject to the Board’s review.  The
preparing of original lectures, seminars, or workshops in geology or related subjects shall be granted
one (1) contact hour for preparation for each contact hour of presentation.  Credit for preparation shall
be given for the first presentation only.

6.4 A candidate for renewal may be granted an extension of time in which to complete continuing
education hours upon a showing of hardship.  “Hardship” may include, but is not limited to, disability;
illness; extended absence from the jurisdiction; or exceptional family responsibilities. Requests for
hardship consideration must be submitted to the Board in writing prior to the end of the licensing period
for which it is made.

6.5 Continuing education shall be prorated for new licensees in the following manner:
6.5.1 If at the time of renewal, a licensee has been licensed for less than one (1) year, no continuing

education is required; if he/she has been licensed for more than one (1) year, but less than two (2)
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years, twelve (12) of the twenty-four (24) hours will be required; if he/she has been licensed for two
(2) years or more the full twenty-four (24) hours is required.

6.6 In his/her personal records, each licensee must keep proof of attendance for each activity for which the
licensee is requesting credit.  If the Board conducts an audit of a licensee’s CE records, the Board will
require the licensee to complete a CE log provided by the Board and submit the licensee’s
documentation of attendance to the CE event listed on the CE log.  Failure to submit proof of
attendance during an audit will result in loss of CE credit for that event.

6.7 Continuing education must be in a field related to Geology.  Approval will be at the discretion of  the
Board.  CEUs earned in excess of the required credits for the two- (2) year period may not be carried
over to the next biennial period.

6.8 Categories of Continuing Education & Maximum Credit Allowed:
6.8.1 Courses/Workshops – 24 CEUs Total

Academic – 24 CEUs
Professional Development – 24 CEUs
Documentation – Proof of Completion

6.8.2 Professional Activities – 12 CEUs Total
Meetings – 12 CEUs
Field Trips – 12 CEUs
Documentation – Proof of Attendance and Duration

6.8.3 Peer Reviewed Publications– 12 CEUs Total 
Composition – 12 CEUs
Review – 12 CEUs
Documentation – Proof of Participation

6.8.4 Presentations/Seminars – 12 CEUs Total
Presentation – 12 CEUs (1 hour prep time per hour presented)
Attendance – 12 CEUs
Documentation – Proof of Attendance and Duration

6.8.5 Research/Grants – 12 CEUs Total
Documentation – Proof of Submission

6.8.6 Specialty Certifications – 12 CEUs Total
Documentation – Proof of Completion

6.8.7 Home Study Courses Online courses and Web seminars – 12 CEUs Total
Documentation – Proof of Completion

6.8.8 Teaching – 12 CEUs Total
Documentation – Verification from Sponsoring Institution

6.8.9 Service on a Geological Professional Society, Geological Institution Board/Committee or
Geological State Board – 6 CEUs Total

Documentation – Proof of Appointment
6.8.10 Regulatory Based Activities – 12 CEUs Total

Certifications/Training – 12 CEUs Total
Documentation – Proof of Completion

6.8.11 For any of the above activities, when it is possible to claim credit in more than one category, the
licensee may claim credit for the same time period in only one category.

6.9 Automatic Approval for course work sponsored by the following Professional Societies:
6.9.1 American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
6.9.2 American Association of Stratigraphic Palynologists (AASP)
6.9.3 American Geological Geosciences Institute (AGI) 
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6.9.4 American Geophysical Union (AGU)
6.9.5 American Institute of Hydrology (AIH)
6.9.6 American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG)
6.9.7 American Rock Mechanics Association (AMRA)
6.9.8 American Water Resources Association (AWRA)
6.9.9 Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography (ASLO)
6.9.10 Association of American Geographers (AAG)
6.9.711 Association of American State Geologists (AASG)
6.9.812 Association of Earth Science Editors (AESE)
6.9.913 Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists (AEG)
6.9.1014Association of Ground Water Scientists & Engineers (AGWSE) 
6.9.1115Association of Women Geoscientists (AWG)
6.9.1216Clay Mineral Society (CMS)
6.9.1317Council for on Undergraduate Research-Geology Geosciences Div. (CUR)
6.9.18 Environmental and Engineering Geophysical Society (EEGS)
6.9.19 Friends of Mineralogy (FOM)
6.9.20 Geochemical Society (GS)
6.9.21 Geo-Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers (GI)
6.9.1422Geologic Society of America (GSA)
6.9.23 Geological Society of London (GSL)
6.9.1524Geoscience Information Society (GIS)
6.9.25 History of Earth Sciences Society (HESS)
6.9.26 International Medical Geology Association (IMGA)
6.9.1627International Association of Hydrogeologists/US National Committee (IAH)
6.9.28 Karst Waters Institute (KWI)
6.9.1729Mineralogical Society of America (MSA)
6.9.1830National Association of Black Geologists and Geophysicists (NABGG)
6.9.1931National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT)
6.9.2032National Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG)
6.9.33 National Cave and Karst Research Instititute (NCKRI)
6.9.2134National Earth Science Teachers Association (NESTA)
6.9.35 National Ground Water Association (NGWA)
6.9.2236National Speleological Society (NSS)
6.9.37 North American Commission on Stratigraphic Nomenclature (NACSN)
6.9.38 Paleobotanical Section of the Botanical Society of America (PSBSA)
6.9.2339Paleontological Research Institution (PRI)
6.9.2440Paleontological Society (PS)
6.9.41 Palynological Society (AASP)
6.9.42 Petroleum History Institute (PHI)
6.9.2543Seismological Society of America (SSA)
6.9.2644Society of Economic Geologists (SEG)
6.9.2745Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG)
6.9.2846Society of Independent Professional Earth Scientists (SIPES)
6.9.47 Society of Mineral Museum Professionals (SMMP)
6.9.2948Society for Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration, Inc. (SME)
6.9.3049Society for Organic Petrology (TSOP)
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6.9.3150Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM)
6.9.3251Society of Vertebrate Paleontology (SVP)
6.9.3352Soil Science Society of America (SSSA)
6.9.52 United States Permafrost Association (USPA)
6.9.3453Other professional or educational organizations as approved periodically by the Board.

6.10 Courses not pre-approved by the Board may be submitted for review and approval throughout the
biennial licensing period.
Note:  Since regulation 6.9 provides the list of sponsors that are automatically approved by the Board
for any course work used for Continuing Education units (CEU) towards the total of 24 CEUs in the
biennial license period, please note that regulation 6.10, allowing for pre-approval of courses for
CEUs, only pertains to courses NOT offered by a sponsor listed in the list provided in regulation 6.9.
Furthermore, one CEU = one Contact Hour.

6.11 Audit. Each biennium, the Division of Professional Regulation shall select from the list of potential
renewal licensees a percentage, determined by the Board, which shall be selected by random method.
The Board may also audit based on complaints or charges against an individual license, relative to
compliance with continuing education requirements or based on a finding of past non-compliance
during prior audits.

6.12 Documentation and Audit by the Board. When a licensee whose name or number appears on the audit
list applies for renewal, the Board shall obtain documentation from the licensee showing detailed
accounting of the various CEU's claimed by the licensee. Licensees selected for random audit are
required to supplement the attestation with attendance verification. The Board shall attempt to verify
the CEUs shown on the documentation provided by the licensee. The Board shall then review the
documentation and verification. Upon completion of the review, the Board shall decide whether the
licensee's CEU's meet the requirements of these rules and regulations. The licensee shall sign and
seal all verification documentation with a Board approved seal.

6.13 Board Review. The Board shall review all documentation requested of any licensee shown on the audit
list. If the Board determines the licensee has met the requirements, the licensee's license shall remain
in effect. If the Board initially determines the licensee has not met the requirements, the licensee shall
be notified and a hearing may be held pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act. This hearing will
be conducted to determine if there are any extenuating circumstances justifying the apparent
noncompliance with these requirements. Unjustified noncompliance of these regulations shall be
considered misconduct in the practice of geology, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3612(a)(7). The minimum
penalty for unjustified noncompliance shall be a letter of reprimand and a $250.00 monetary penalty;
however, the Board may impose any of the additional penalties specified in 24 Del.C. §3612.

6.14 Noncompliance - Extenuating Circumstances. A licensee applying for renewal may request an
extension and be given up to an additional twelve (12) months to make up all outstanding required
CEUs providing he/she can show good cause why he/she was unable to comply with such
requirements at the same time he/she applies for renewal. The licensee must state the reason for such
extension along with whatever documentation he/she feels is relevant. The Board shall consider
requests such as extensive travel outside the United States, military service, extended illness of the
licensee or his/her immediate family, or a death in the immediate family of the licensee. The written
request for extension must accompany the renewal application. The Board shall issue an extension
when it determines that one or more of these criteria have been met or if circumstances beyond the
control of the licensee have rendered it impossible for the licensee to obtain the required CEU's. A
licensee who has successfully applied for an extension under this paragraph shall make up all
outstanding hours of continuing education within the extension period approved by the Board.

6.15 Appeal. Any licensee denied renewal pursuant to these rules and regulations may contest such ruling
by filing an appeal of the Board's final order pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act.

7.0 ASBOG Examination
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7.1 An applicant wishing to sit for any portion for the ASBOG examination required for a license as a
Geologist shall make application in writing, on forms provided by the Board.

7.1.1 An applicant wishing to sit for the ASBOG Fundamentals of Geology (FG) Exam may do so
provided they meet the minimum educational requirements set forth in 24 Del.C. §3608(a)(1). To
apply, the applicant must fill out the request to sit for the fundamentals application and submit their
transcripts [to date] to the Board for approval. Once taken, the applicants score will be held on file
indefinitely by ASBOG. 

7.1.2 An applicant wishing to sit for the ASBOG Practice of Geology (PG) Exam must have acquired five
(5) years of professional work experience as defined in Rule 1.0 and must submit a full application
for licensure to the Board for review. Approval to sit for the PG Exam will be dependaent upon the
applicant providing sufficient evidence, satisfactory, to the Board that he/she meets the
qualifications for licensure set forth in 24 Del.C. §3608.

7.2 An applicant for licensure must have satisfactorily passed each part of the ASBOG examination with a
scaled score of not less than 70%.

7.3 An applicant’s approval to sit for either part of the ASBOG exam shall be valid for a period not to
exceed two years.

8.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent or Impaired Professionals
8.1 If the report is received by the chairperson of the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately

notify the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate designee of the
report. If the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation receives the report, he/she shall
immediately notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's designate or
designates designee(s).

8.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that chairperson's designate or designates designee(s)
shall, within seven (7) days of receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and inform him/
her in writing of the report, provide the individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter the Voluntary Treatment Option.

8.3 In order for the individual to participate in the Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit
to a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a specified laboratory or health care
facility. This initial evaluation and screen shall take place within thirty (30) days following notification to
the professional by the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or designates
designee(s).

8.4 A regulated professional with chemical dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or alcohol
may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and continue to practice, subject to any limitations on
practice the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or designates designee(s)
or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate designee may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary, only if such action will not endanger the
public health, welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into an agreement with the
Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate designee and the chairperson of the
participating Board or that chairperson's designate designee for a treatment plan and progresses
satisfactorily in such treatment program and complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and Associations or other similar professional
groups with the approval of the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation and the chairperson
of the participating Board.

8.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates designee(s) or the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
designee in regard to the Voluntary Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for evaluations
and screens may disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or designates
designee(s) shall cause to be activated an immediate investigation and institution of disciplinary
proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in subsection 10.8 of this section.
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8.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a regulated professional to enter into an agreement
which includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:

8.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated professional be identified to the Board.
Treatment and evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies to assure an
unbiased assessment of the regulated professional's progress.

8.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the approved treatment program to report on the progress
of the regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating Board or to that chairperson's
designate or designates designee(s) or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate designee at such intervals as required by the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate or designates designee(s) or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate designee, and such person making such report will
not be liable when such reports are made in good faith and without malice.

8.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved treatment program.

8.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional to be personally responsible for all costs and charges
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment program(s). In addition, the
Division of Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated professional to
cover administrative costs associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee
imposed under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses incurred by
the Division of Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option.

8.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's chairperson or his/her designate or
designates designee(s) or designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation
or his/ her designate designee by the treating professional who shall be immune from any liability
for such reporting made in good faith and without malice.

8.6.6 Compliance by the regulated professional with any terms or restrictions placed on professional
practice as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment Option.

8.7 The regulated professional's records of participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not reflect
disciplinary action and shall not be considered public records open to public inspection. However, the
participating Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary sanction in any future matter in
which the regulated professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an issue.

8.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/her designate or designates designee(s) or the Director of
the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with the treating
professional at any time during the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a chemically
dependent or impaired professional if such action is deemed necessary to protect the public health,
welfare or safety.

8.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.

8.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an immediate
investigation and disciplinary proceedings as appropriate.

8.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this section in good faith and without malice shall be immune from
any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality
protected if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter.

8.12 Any regulated professional who complies with all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise specified in a participating Board's
rules and regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated professional shall
include the potential for disclosure and specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.
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9.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of geology:
9.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or

conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to
the practice of geology in the State of Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

9.1.1 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §606.
9.1.2 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §613.
9.1.3 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C. §615.
9.1.4 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first degree. 11 Del.C.  §634.
9.1.5 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C.  §635.
9.1.6 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
9.1.7 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632.
9.1.78 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C.  §771.
9.1.89 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §772.
9.1.910 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C.  §773.
9.1.101 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 Del.C.  §778.
9.1.112 Dangerous crime against a child. 11 Del.C.  §779.
9.1.123 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §783A.
9.1.134Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §826.
9.1.145 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §832.
9.1.156 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §836.
9.1.167 Identity theft.  11 Del.C. §854.
9.1.178 Forgery; felony.  11 Del.C.  §861.
9.1.189 Possession of forgery devices. 11 Del.C.  §862.
9.1.1920Tampering with public records in the first degree.  11 Del.C.  §876.
9.1.201 Offering a false instrument for filing. 11 Del.C.  §877.
9.1.212 Issuing a false certificate.  11 Del.C. §878.
9.1.223 Unlawful use of credit card; felony. 11 Del.C. §903.
9.1.234 Reencoder and scanning devices. 11 Del.C. §903A.
9.1.245 Criminal impersonation.  11 Del.C.  §907
9.1.256 Criminal impersonation, accident related.  11 Del.C.  §907A.
9.1.267 Criminal impersonation of a police officer.  11 Del.C.  §907B.
9.1.278 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C.  §1108.
9.1.289 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 11 Del.C.  §1109.
9.1.2930Bribery.  11 Del.C.  §1201.
9.1.301Receiving a bribe. 11 Del.C.  §1203.
9.1.312 Improper influence.  11 Del.C.  §1207.
9.1.323 Official misconduct. 11 Del.C.  §1211.
9.1.334 Profiteering.  11 Del.C.  §1212.
9.1.345 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C.  §1222.
9.1.356 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §1223.
9.1.367 Terroristic threatening of public officials or public servants.  11 Del.C.  §1240.
9.1.378 Bribing a witness.  11 Del.C. §1261.
9.1.389 Bribe receiving by a witness. 11 Del.C. §1262.
9.1.3940Tampering with a witness. 11 Del.C. §1263.
9.1.401 Bribing a juror.  11 Del.C.  §1264.
9.1.412 Bribe receiving by a juror. 11 Del.C. §1265.
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9.1.423 Tampering with physical evidence. 11 Del.C.  §1269.
9.1.434Escape after conviction; Class B felony.  11 Del.C.  §1253.
9.1.445 Assault in a detention facility; Class B felony. 11 Del.C.  §1254.
9.1.456 Hate Crimes; Class A or B felony. 11 Del.C.  §1304.
9.1.467 Adulteration; Class A felony. 11 Del.C.  §1339.
9.1.478 Possession of a deadly weapon during the commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1447.
9.1.489Possession of a firearm during the commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1447A.
9.1.4950Wearing body armor during the commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1449.
9.1.501 Organized crime and racketeering. 11 Del.C.  §1504.
9.1.512Victim or witness intimidation. 11 Del.C.  §§3532 & 3533.
9.1.523 Prohibited acts A [delivery/manufacture/possession with intent to deliver narcotics (death); Class

B.  16 Del.C. §4751.
9.1.534Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal drugs, methamphetamines, Lysergic Acid Diethylamide

(L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA). 16 Del.C. §47513A.
9.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of geology shall be deemed to include any crimes under

any federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county ordinance, that are substantially similar to the
crimes identified in this rule.

10.0 Code of Ethics
10.1 General Provisions:

10.1.1 A geologist shall be guided by the highest standards of ethics, honesty, integrity, fairness,
personal honor, and professional conduct.

10.1.2 A geologist shall not knowingly permit the publication or use of his/her work or name in association
with any unsound or illegitimate venture.

10.1.3 A geologist shall not give a professional opinion or make a report without being as completely
informed as might be reasonably expected considering the purpose for which the opinion or report
is desired. All assumptions on which the results of the report or opinion are based shall be set forth
in the report or opinion.

10.1.4 A geologist shall be as objective as possible in any opinion, report or other communication he/ she
makes which will be used to induce participation in a venture. He/she shall not make sensational,
exaggerated, or unwarranted statements. He/she shall not misrepresent data, omit relevant data,
or fail to mention the lack of data that might affect the results or conclusions of such opinion, report
or communication.

10.1.5 A geologist shall not falsely or maliciously attempt to injure the reputation or business of another
geologist.

10.1.6 A geologist shall freely give credit for work done by others. A geologist shall not knowingly accept
credit rightfully due to others or otherwise indulge in plagiarism in oral and written
communications.

10.1.7 A geologist, having knowledge of the unethical or incompetent practice of another geologist, shall
avoid association with that geologist in professional work. If a geologist acquires tangible evidence
of the unethical or incompetent practice of another geologist, he/she shall submit the evidence to
the Board.

10.1.8 A geologist shall not use the provisions of 24 Del.C., Ch. 36 or the Board's regulations to
maliciously prosecute, harass or otherwise burden another geologist with unfounded or false
charges.

10.1.9 A geologist shall endeavor to cooperate with others in the profession in encouraging the ethical
dissemination of geological knowledge especially when it is in the public interest.

10.1.10 A geologist shall not engage in conduct that involves fraud, dishonesty, deceit or
misrepresentation either directly or through the action of others.
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10.1.11 A geologist shall not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, creed, sex or national
origin.

10.1.12 A geologist shall not aid any person in the unauthorized practice of geology.
10.1.13 A geologist shall not practice geology in a jurisdiction where that practice would violate the

standards applicable to geologists in the jurisdiction.
10.2 Provisions Concerning Monetary Matters

10.2.1 A geologist having, or expecting to have, any interest in a project or property on which he/she
performs work, must make full disclosure of the interest to all parties concerned with the project or
property.

10.2.2 A geologist's fee shall be reasonable. The factors to be considered in determining the
reasonableness of a fee include the following:

10.2.2.1 the time and labor required, the novelty and difficulty of the work involved, and the skill
requisite to perform the service properly;

10.2.2.2 the likelihood, if apparent to the client or employer, that the acceptance of the particular
employment will preclude other employment of the geologist;

10.2.2.3 the fee customarily charged in the area for similar geological services;
10.2.2.4 the total value of the project and the results obtained;
10.2.2.5 the time limitations imposed by the client or by the circumstances;
10.2.2.6 the nature and length of the professional relationship with the client;
10.2.2.7 the experience, reputation, and ability of the geologist or geologists performing the

service; and
10.2.2.8 whether the fee is fixed or contingent.

10.2.3 When the geologist has not regularly performed services for the client, the basis or rate of the fee
shall be communicated to the client, preferably in writing, before or within a reasonable time after
commencing services.

10.2.4 A fee may be contingent on the outcome of a project for which geological services are rendered,
except for a project where a contingent fee is prohibited by law or professional ethics. A contingent
fee agreement shall be in writing and shall state the method by which the fee is to be determined.

10.2.5 A division of fee between geologist and other professionals who are not associated may be made
only if:

10.2.5.1 the division is in proportion to the services performed by each geologist or professional or,
by written agreement with the client. Each geologist or professional assumes joint
responsibility for the services performed;

10.2.5.2 the client is advised of and does not object to the participation of the geologist and/or other
professionals involved; and 

10.2.5.3 the total fee is reasonable.
10.2.6 A geologist shall not accept a concealed fee for referring an employer or client to a specialist or for

recommending geological services other than his/her own. A geologist who engages or advises a
client or employer to engage collateral services shall use his/her best judgement to ensure the
collateral services are used prudently and economically.

10.3 Provisions Concerning The Relationship With The Client
10.3.1 A geologist shall not undertake, or offer to undertake, any type of work with which he/she is not

familiar or competent by reason of lack of training or experience unless he/she makes full
disclosure of his/her lack of training or experience to the appropriate parties prior to undertaking
the work.

10.3.2 A geologist shall protect to the fullest extent the employer or client's interest, so far, as is
consistent with the public welfare and professional obligations and ethics.

10.3.3 A geologist who finds that an obligation to an employer or client conflicts with professional
obligations or ethics should have the objectionable conditions changed or terminate the services.
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10.3.4 A geologist shall not use either directly or indirectly any proprietary information which is developed
or acquired as a result of working for an employer or client in any way that conflicts with the
employer's or client's interest and without the consent of the employer or client.

10.3.5 A geologist who has worked or performed a service for any employer or client shall not use the
information peculiar to that employment and which is gained in such employment for his/her own
personal profit unless he/she is given written permission to do so or until the employer, client, or
their successor's interest in such information has changed in such a way that the information is
valueless to him/her or of no further interest to him/her.

10.3.6 A geologist shall not divulge confidential information. This does not relieve a licensed geologist
from the duty to report conditions required by law or regulation.

10.3.7 A geologist retained by a client shall not accept, without the client's consent, an engagement by
another if there is a possibility of a conflict between the interests of the two clients.

10.3.8 A geologist shall advise an employer or client to retain, and cooperate with, other experts and
specialists whenever the employer's or client's interests are best served by such services.

10.3.9 A geologist shall not terminate services to an employer or client when it will cause immediate
jeopardy to the employer's or client's interests. The geologist shall attempt to give due notice of
termination; however, the geologist may terminate services under any of the following
circumstances:

10.3.9.1 failure to receive compensation or good evidence indicating compensation will not be
received for services performed;

10.3.9.2 when continued employment will result in a violation of 24 Del.C., Ch. 36 or other illegality;
10.3.9.3 when continued employment will result in sickness or injury to the geologist or his/her

dependents.
10.3.10 A geologist shall not use or abuse drugs, narcotics, controlled substances, or illegal drugs without

a prescription from a licensed physician illegal drugs. A geologist shall also not abuse alcoholic
beverages, drugs, narcotics, or controlled substances with or without a prescription such that it
impairs his/ her ability to perform his/her work.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012



FINAL REGULATIONS 65

Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed bold
stricken through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time
allowed of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together
with summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 10005 (3 Del.C. §10005)
3 DE Admin. Code 501

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 3 Del.C. §10005, the Delaware Harness Racing Commission issues
this Order adopting proposed amendments to the Commission's Rules. Following notice and a public
hearing on June 12, 2012, the Commission makes the following findings and conclusions:

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE

1. The Commission posted public notice of the proposed amendments to DHRC Rule 3.5.1 in the May
1, 2012 Register of Regulations (Volume 15, Issue 11) and for two consecutive weeks in May, 2012 in The News
Journal and Delaware State News. The Commission proposed to update Rule 3.5.1 in its entirety after Rules
Committee review.

2. The Commission received no written comments. The Commission held a public hearing on June
12, 2012, in which no public comments were made.
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FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

3. The   public    was   given    notice    and    an   opportunity to   provide the Commission with
comments in writing and by testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendment to the
Commission's Rules.

4. After considering the rule change as proposed, the Commission hereby adopts the rule change
as proposed. The Commission believes that this rule change will allow the Delaware Harness Racing
Commission rule to more accurately reflect current policy and procedures.

5. The effective date of this Order will be ten (10) days from the publication of this Order in the Register
of Regulations on July 1, 2012.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 12th day of June, 2012.

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the  May
2012 issue of the Register at page 1532 (15 DE Reg. 1532). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

PLANT INDUSTRIES
Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 2402(b) (24 Del.C. §2402(b))

3 DE Admin. Code 801

ORDER

801 Regulations for Noxious Weed Control

Pursuant to the authority provided by 3 Del.C. §2402(b) (24 Del.C. §2402(b)) and 3 DE Admin. Code 801, the
Delaware Department of Agriculture (DDA) issues this Order adopting amendments to the 801 Noxious Weed
Control Regulations. Following public notice of the proposed regulation amendments, the DDA makes the following
findings and conclusions.

BACKGROUND AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

This Order considers the proposed Noxious Weed Control Regulations, and would add the following two
weeds to DDA's Noxious Weed List:  Amaranthus palmeri S. Watson, commonly known as "Palmer's Amaranth"
and Uruchloa texana Buckl., commonly known as "Texas Panicum.  Amaranthus palmeri (Palmer Amaranth) has
become an increasing problem in agricultural fields due to its high rate of seed production and development of
resistance to herbicides used in corn and soybean production. Uruchola texana (Texas Panicum) has become an
increasing problem in agricultural fields due to the seeds' ability to germinate throughout the growing season. With
this growth habit, an additional herbicide application or tillage is required for late season control.

The DDA published the proposed regulations in the May 1, 2012 Delaware Register of Regulations.  A press
release about the changes was widely distributed, and articles about the change appeared in The News Journal,

Beverly H. Steele, Chairwoman Larry Talley, Commissioner
Robert (Breezy) Brown, Commissioner Patt Wagner, Commissioner
George P. Staats, Commissioner
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Daily Times/Delaware Wave, Delaware State News and the Sussex Countian.  Stories were aired on WBOC 16
and WGMD 92.7 FM.  It also was picked up by the Associated Press, with a short AP item running in USA Today.
The public comment period remained open from May 1 to May 31, 2012.  No written public comments were
received.  A public hearing was not held.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

1.  The public was given notice and opportunity to provide the DDA with comments in writing concerning the
proposed regulation.

2. After considering the regulation amendments as proposed, the Department hereby adopts the regulations
(attached) as final.

3. The effective date of the Order will be ten (10) days from the publication of this Order in the Register of
Regulations on July 1, 2012.

So ordered as of June 8, 2012
Ed Kee, Secretary
Delaware Department of Agriculture

801 Regulations for Noxious Weed Control

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the  May
2012 issue of the Register at page 1533 (15 DE Reg. 1533). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

801 Regulations for Noxious Weed Control

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 294

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

294 Data Governance

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to adopt a new regulation 14 DE
Admin. Code 294 Data Governance.  This regulation was developed in consultation with a working group
designated by the members of the P-20 which includes representatives of the Interagency Resource Management
Committee. The regulation is adopted pursuant to legislation passed in the 146th General Assembly and
specifically 14 Del.C., §122(b)(24).  This regulation provides for the criteria and process for interagency data
governance and the conduction of evaluations, audits and studies. The Delaware P-20 Council Data Governance
Handbook, approved by the P-20 Council in January 2012 is a companion document to this regulation. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on May 4,
2012, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. Comments were received from Governor’s Advisory Council for
Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities generally supporting the regulation while
asking the Department to consider some observations. The first is related to the definition of “educational record”
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/july2012/final/16 DE Reg 66 07-01-12.htm
http://www.doe.k12.de.us/


FINAL REGULATIONS68
and whether the regulation would omit private elementary, secondary, post-secondary, and trade schools which do
not receive federal funds but may be subject to DOE regulation.  The Department believes the definition of
“educational record” applies to any education agency or institution.  The personally identifiable student information
that makes up the educational record is defined and guided by FERPA, the IDEA and similar federal and State
privacy and confidentiality laws. Commas have been added to the definition to clarify it.  The second observation is
related to conducting research. As written, the Department believes the concern expressed by Councils is
addressed. The regulation provides the mechanism for disclosure of personally identifiable information without
consent where it is permitted.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to adopt a new regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 294 Data Governance
pursuant to legislation passed in the 146th General Assembly and specifically 14 Del.C., §122(b)(24).  This
regulation was developed in consultation with a working group designated by the members of the P-20 which
includes representatives of the Interagency Resource Management Committee.  This regulation provides for the
criteria and process for interagency data governance and the conduction of evaluations, audits and studies. The
Delaware P-20 Council Data Governance Handbook, approved by the P-20 Council in January 2012 is a
companion document to this regulation. 

III. Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to adopt a new regulation 14 DE
Admin. Code 294 Data Governance.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 294 Data
Governance attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14
DE Admin. Code 294 Data Governance hereby adopted shall be in effect for a period of five years from the
effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 294 Data Governance adopted hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as
Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 294 Data Governance in the Administrative
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on June 21, 2012.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of June 2012.
Department of Education
Mark T. Murphy, Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of June 2012
State Board of Education
Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory Coverdale
Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.
G. Patrick Heffernan Randall L. Hughes
Barbara B. Rutt
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294 Data Governance

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to outline the criteria and process for interagency data governance
and the conduction of evaluation, audits and studies pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§121, 122 and 4111. 

2.0 Definitions
The words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:
"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.
"Educational Record" shall mean personally identifiable student information, maintained by an
education agency or institution, as defined by the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, 20
U.S.C. § 1232(g) and its implementing regulations at 34 CFR part 99, and the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. 1400 et seq. and its implementing regulations, and other
applicable federal and state privacy and confidentiality laws.
"Longitudinal Data System" means a structure and mechanism for the storage, description,
management and reporting of discrete data elements and bodies of information over time.
"Personally Identifiable Information" refers to information which, alone or in combination with other
information,  can be used to distinguish or trace an individual's identity and  shall include, but not be
limited to, the names and addresses of students, parents or other family members, and personal
identifiers such as social security or student numbers. 
"P-20 Council" means the council established by 14 Del.C., §107 to coordinate educational efforts of
publicly-funded programs from early care through higher education and to foster partnerships among
groups concerned with public education.
"Research Agenda" means a roster of research questions that require shared data elements and
subject to periodic review and revision. Research questions may reflect federal and state reporting
requirements or may be discretionary.

3.0 Longitudinal Data System Governance 
The Longitudinal Data System developed and administered by the Department is governed by the
Delaware P-20 Council Data Governance Handbook, initially approved by the P-20 Council on
January 10, 2012, and as may be amended from time to time.

4.0 Acquisition, Use and Disposal of Data 
4.1 The Department shall collect and maintain data, including Personally Identifiable Information, in

compliance with its rights and obligations under federal and state laws.
4.2 The Department shall provide data, including Personally Identifiable Information, to implement

applicable Research Agendas established by the P-20 Council.
4.3 When a Research Agenda is established by the P-20 Council which requires the use of Personally

Identifiable Information from data collected and maintained or to be collected and maintained by the
Department, a written agreement in the form prescribed by the Department shall be entered into.

4.3.1 If the Research Agenda is to conduct a study for or on behalf of school, school district or
postsecondary institutions it must be for the purpose of: improving instruction; developing,
validating, or administering predictive tests; or administering student aid programs.  In the case of
such a study, the written agreement shall, at a minimum, do the following:

4.3.1.1 Specify the purpose, scope and duration of the study and the information to be disclosed;
and

4.3.1.2 Require the organization to: use Personally Identifiable Information only to meet the
purpose(s) of the study; limit access to Personally Identifiable Information to those with
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legitimate interests; and destroy any Personally Identifiable Information upon completion
of the study and specify the time period in which the information must be destroyed.

4.3.2 If the Research Agenda is to conduct an audit or evaluation of a Federal or State supported
education program or to enforce or comply with Federal legal requirements that relate to those
education programs, as defined by the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, 20 U.S.C. §
1232(g) and its implementing regulations at 34 CFR part 99, the written agreement shall, at a
minimum, do the following:

4.3.2.1 Designate an authorized representative; and
4.3.2.2 Specify what Personally Identifiable Information will be disclosed and for what purpose,

which purpose shall be one allowable under the provisions of the Family Educational
Rights and Privacy Act, 20 U.S.C. § 1232(g) and its implementing regulations at 34 CFR
part 99; and

4.3.2.3 Describe the activity to make clear it falls within an allowable purpose; and
4.3.2.4 Require the authorized representative to destroy Personally Identifiable Information upon

completion of the evaluation and specify the time period in which the information must be
destroyed; and

4.3.2.5 Include policies and procedures to protect Personally Identifiable Information from further
disclosure and unauthorized use.

4.4 Any written agreement entered into under this regulation shall prohibit modification or amendment
except by written agreement duly executed by the parties to that agreement.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1597

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1597 Delaware Professional Teaching Standards

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and collaboration with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend regulation 14 DE Admin. Code 1597 Delaware
Professional Teaching Standards shall serve as the common principles and foundations of teaching practice for
Delaware public school educators in accordance with 14 Del.C. §§1201 and 1205 (b).  The standards outline what
educators should know and be able to do to ensure every K-12 student reaches the goal of being ready to enter
college or the workforce in today’s world.  Delaware Professional Teaching Standards would reflect the Council of
Chief State School Officers’ Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium Model Core Teaching
Standards.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations on
May 1, 2012.  The notice invited written comments, but none were received. 

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.
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III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto
as Exhibit “A” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “A”, and said regulation shall
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1597 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Professional Standards
Board.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 7th DAY OF JUNE, 2012

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of June, 2012.

Department of Education
Michael Murphy, Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of June, 2012
State Board of Education

1597 Delaware Professional Teaching Standards

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the  May
2012 issue of the Register at page 1536 (15 DE Reg. 1536). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1597 Delaware Professional Teaching Standards

Kathleen Thomas, Chair Lori Hudson
Michael Casson Chris Kenton
Joanne Christian David Kohan
Samtra Devard Jill Lewandowski
Stephanie DeWitt Wendy Murray
Marilyn Dollard Whitney Price
Karen Gordon Shelley Rouser
Cristy Greaves Jacque Wisnauskas

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory Coverdale
Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.
G. Patrick Heffernan Randall L. Hughes
Barbara B. Rutt
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Medicaid Eligibility Conditions and Requirements

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
initiated proceedings to amend existing rules in the Delaware Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to align Medicaid
eligibility conditions and requirements with current practice. The Department’s proceedings to amend its
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the May 2012 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the
public concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by May 31, 2012 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposed provides notice to the public that the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
intends to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to align Medicaid eligibility conditions and requirements with
current practice.

Statutory Authority
• Social Security Act §1115, Demonstration Projects
• Social Security Act §1931, Assuring Coverage for Certain Low-Income Families
• 42 CFR §435.222, Individuals under age 21 who meet the income and resource requirements of AFDC

Background
In determining eligibility for Medicaid, the Agency’s rules and regulations are governed by the Social Security

Act, applicable sections of the Code of Federal Regulations and, the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan.
Section 1902(r)(2) of the Social Security Act permits states to have more liberal policies than those of the old

AFDC program for resources and income allowances. Under the more liberal policies permitted by section
1902(r)(2), states may modify their Medicaid eligibility process to make more liberal the review of certain resource
and income elements in determining financial eligibility.
Summary of Proposal

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed the recently approved waiver amendment
request submitted under the authority of Section 1115 of the Social Security Act to include additional populations in
a mandatory managed care program.  During the waiver review process, CMS noted that certain pages in the Title
XIX Medicaid State Plan required updates.

The proposed modifications are intended to update the income standard used in eligibility determinations for
low income families with children under Section 1931 of the Social Security Act, and for children under age 21
under 42 CFR §435.222 for whom public agencies are assuming full or partial financial responsibility (e.g. foster
children). The income standard used in the eligibility determination is 75% of the Federal poverty level (FPL).

The rule has long been in practice but has not heretofore been expressly set forth in the Medicaid State plan in
Supplement 8a to Attachment 2.6-A, Page 1 and Supplement 12 to Attachment 2.6-A, Page 2. This amendment
clarifies requirements already in effect operationally.
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No one will lose eligibility as a result of this amendment. There is no change to the eligibility determination
process for these populations. Individuals who were qualifying for Medicaid before this amendment takes effect will
continue to qualify for Medicaid after this amendment takes effect. 

The provisions of this state plan amendment are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS).
Fiscal Impact Statement

Other than conforming state plan to current practice, this plan amendment imposes no increase in cost on the
General Fund.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) and the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations summarized below. The Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance (DMMA) has considered each comment and responds as follows.

The Summary of Proposal recites that the changes are being prompted by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) commentary noting that the existing sections contain outdated standards. DMMA
emphasizes that “(n)o one will lose eligibility as a result of this amendment.” At 1549. The GACEC and the SCPD
endorses the proposed changes since they are prompted by CMS and will revise outdated standards.

Agency Response:  DMMA thanks the Councils for their endorsement.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the May 2012 Register of Regulations should

be adopted.
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the Delaware Title XIX Medicaid State

Plan to align the Plan with current practice regarding Medicaid Eligibility Conditions and Requirements – 75% FPL
is adopted and shall be final effective July 10, 2012. 

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #12-31
REVISION:
*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the  May
2012 issue of the Register at page 1548 (15 DE Reg. 1548). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Medicaid Eligibility Conditions and Requirements

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, §122(3)c (16 Del.C., §122(3)c)

16 DE Admin. Code 4462

ORDER

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”) initiated proceedings to adopt the State of Delaware
Regulations Governing Public Drinking Water Systems.  The DHSS proceedings to adopt regulations were initiated
pursuant to 29 Del.C. 101 and authority as prescribed by 16 Del.C. §122(3)c.
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On April 1, 2012 (Volume 15, Issue 10), DHSS published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice of
proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. 10115.  It requested that written materials and suggestions from the
public concerning the proposed regulations be delivered to DHSS by April 30, 2012, or be presented at a public
hearing on April 25, 2012, after which time the DHSS would review information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed regulations.

Verbal comments were received during the public comment period and evaluated.  The results of that
evaluation are summarized in the accompanying “Summary of Evidence.”

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE

STATE OF DELAWARE REGULATIONS GOVERNING PUBLIC DRINKING WATER SYSTEMS

In accordance with Delaware Law, public notices regarding proposed Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) Regulations Governing Public Drinking Water Systems were published in the Delaware State
News, the News Journal and the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Written and verbal comments were received on the proposed regulations during the public comment period
(April 1, 2012 through April 30, 2012).  Entities offering comments included:

• Mr. Gene Dvornick, Town Manager for the Town of Georgetown
• Ms. Sharon Fillmann, Water Quality Manager, United Water Pennsylvania & Delaware
Public comments and the DHSS (Agency) responses are as follows:
Gene Dvornick, Town Manager for the Town of Georgetown
• The Town of Georgetown wishes to go on record that we are in full support of the reduction in the levels 

for tetrachloroethylene, vinyl chloride, and trichloroethylene.  We work with the Department of Public 
Health, Office of Drinking Water, in making sure that, when the standards drop for those water systems 
during the process of bringing the necessary requirements and improvements to their treatment to com-
ply, would be effective January 1st of 2015.  And we appreciate all the efforts on behalf of the Office of 
Drinking Water to work with us on that.

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.
United Water Delaware intends to submit the following comments in lieu of oral testimony at the Public

Hearing held April 25, 2012 to address the proposed State of Delaware Regulations Governing Public Drinking
Water Systems and amendments. 

Our comments and recommendations are below:
• A Table of Contents would facilitate location of specific drinking water regulations and requirements.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  The Office of Drinking Water

will produce a copy with the table of contents after these regulations are published as final.
• Section 2.0 Definitions
“Residual Disinfectant Concentration (C)” means the concentration of disinfectant measured in mg/L in a

representative sample of water.  For purposes of calculations disinfectant levels of <0.04 mg/L shall be considered
non-detectable.”

United Water appreciates the department’s numerical definition of < 0.04 mg/L as a non-detectable residual but
recommends that “for purposes of calculation” be removed from the definition as a non-detectable chlorine residual
in a water sample in the distribution system requires that an HPC sample and HPC analysis be conducted in
conjunction with a total coliform analysis per the Surface Water Treatment Rule (section 10.3.3 and 10.5.3); the
non-detectable chlorine residual has additional compliance implication not just in calculation.

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  The suggested change has
been accepted and added.

• Section 3.2.4 and 5.2.4
“Sanitary surveys must be performed by the Division or an agent approved by the Division.  The system is

responsible for ensuring the survey takes place.”
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United Water requests clarification/definition on the word “responsible” and the implied responsibility of the
public water system in meeting the sanitary survey requirements.  Is the system responsible to ensure the Division
completes a sanitary survey or responsible to assist the Division with the survey and for providing information and
data as/when requested?

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  Under the Safe Drinking
Water Act the water system is responsible to ensure that the Division completes the sanitary survey within the
proper time frame.  The water system is also responsible for providing information and data when requested.  

• Section 4.2 Public Notification
Section 4.2.1.1.1.3:  Reference to section 6.1.2.11which does not exist or is not the correct reference.

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment but respectfully disagrees.
The reference as identified is correct.  No change made.

Section 4.2.1.1.2.2:  Typographical error on 5th line, “les” should be “less”.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  The error has been

corrected.
• Section 4.3 Consumer Confidence Reports

4.3.3.3.1.4  Maximum Residual Disinfectant Level has no acronym listed; “MRDL” should be added.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  The acronym has been

added.
4.3.3.4.4.10  “Community water systems that detect TTHM above 0.080 mg/L….in accordance with section

6.2.3”.  Section 6.2.3 is likely an incorrect reference as it refers to BAT for Organic Chemicals.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  The reference as identified

is correct.  No change made.
• Section 5.0 Microbiological Requirements

5.2.1.1.4.2  Maintenance of a disinfect residual throughout the distribution system.  
United Water requests that ODW consider changing the “maintenance” residual to a “detectable” residual

to be consistent with SWTR requirements cited above.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment but respectfully disagrees.

No change is being made to this section.
5.4.3 Ground Water source microbial monitoring and analytical requirements

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  
5.4.3.1.2 Sampling Requirements
“…at least one ground water source sample from each…”  
United Water recommends that the sample analysis be specified here for clarity and ease of

understanding.  Such that it might read ““…at least one ground water source sample from each be collected and
analyzed for fecal indicator…”  Otherwise the reference for ground water source analysis is in section 5.4.3.3.1.

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  No change is being made to
this section because it copies the EPA regulatory language and the analytical methods are detailed in section
5.4.3.3.1 as noted by the commenter.

• Section 6.0  Inorganic and Organic Requirements
6.1.1.1 Table of PMCLs.  
United Water suggests that the old Arsenic MCL of 0.05 mg/L and the footnote be removed, if possible, and

that the table be updated with the current MCL of 0.010 mg/L.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  The recommended changes

have been made.
6.1.1.4 Arsenic
United Water suggests that the MCL of 0.05 be updated to the new MCL of 0.010 mg/L in sections

6.1.1.4.1 and 6.1.1.4.2 and the reference to ‘January 23, 2006’ be removed for clarity.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  The recommended changes

have been made.
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• 6.1.3.5  Monitoring for asbestos and IOCs
Reference to section 6.1.7, 6.1.8 and 6.1.11 appear to be incorrect references.  Likely these sections should

reference 6.1.4, 6.1.5 and 6.1.7 respectively.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  Section 6.1.3.5 does not

exist.  No change made.
• Sections 6.1.3 through 6.1.5
6.1.3 Fluoride – incorrect numerical formatting as 6.1.3 previously used IOC Monitoring Requirements.  This

section may be better numerically renumbered as 6.1.14.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment but respectfully disagrees.

No change is being made to this section.
6.1.4 Sodium- This section may be better numerically renumbered as 6.1.15.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment but respectfully disagrees.

No change is being made to this section.
6.1.5 Inorganic Compliance Determination- This section may be better numerically renumbered as 6.1.16.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment but respectfully disagrees.

No change is being made to this section.
6.1.5.1.1 PMCL analyses... typographical error as “hall” should be “shall”.

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  Change has been made.
6.1.5.1.5 If the result of analysis…exceeds the PMCL…supplier…shall report …and initiate three (3) additional

analyses at the same sampling point with one (1) month.  
United Water requests clarification and questions if this conflicts with section 6.1.5.7 (previously cited 2 pages

ahead of this section) which requires “systems which exceed the MCL…shall monitor quarterly…”
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  Section 6.1.5.1.5 has been

deleted.  This is an old section that has been superseded by more recent regulations.
• 6.1.7   Lead and Copper
6.1.7.3.3.2 Typographical error as “rig/loop” tests should be “ring/loop” tests.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  Correction has been made.
• 6.2.2.3   DBP sampling/monitoring requirements/and compliance determinations
Sections 6.2.2.3.6 and 6.2.2.3.7 reference subsections 6.2.3.5, 6.2.3.2, 6.2.3.3 and 6.2.3.4 which are

numerically incorrect and likely should be changed to 6.2.2.3.5, 6.2.2.3.2, 6.2.2.3.3 and 6.2.2.3.4.
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment but respectfully disagrees.

No change is being made to this section.
Section 6.2.2.3.9.5 “Demonstrate an active disinfectant residual throughout the distribution system at all times

during and after the modification.”
United Water requests definition or clarity and a numerical value for the word “active”.  For example, does

“active” refer to a detectable disinfectant residual of at least 0.04 mg/L?
Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  We have added the

numerical value to clarify the intent of this section.
• 8.4 Sampling, Analytical Requirements, and Compliance Determinations for Disinfectant Residuals, 

Disinfection Byproducts, and Disinfection Precursors   (Stage 1)
8.4.7.1.1 Monitoring Requirements for disinfection byproducts in table format appears to be redundant with

the Stage 1 DBP monitoring requirements of section 6.2.1.2 where DBP requirements are listed under Organic
Chemical Requirements.

United Water recommends that the Stage 1 DBPs remain in section 8.4 and be removed from section 6.2.1.2
for clarity.

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment but respectfully disagrees.
Section 6.2.1.2 indentifies the Maximum Contaminant Levels and no change is being made to this section.

• 8.4.8.1.1  Routine Monitoring for Disinfectant Residual
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Reference to disinfection residual sampling requirements in the distribution system refers to sections 5.0,
10.3.3 and 10.5.3 of the Surface Water Treatment Rule in reference to HPC analyses. 

United Water suggests that all of these sections contain the same language in reference to a non-detectable
chlorine residual, measured as less than 0.04 mg/L, for consistency.

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment but respectfully disagrees.
The Agency feels the current definitions are sufficient and no changes will be made to the referenced sections.

• 8.5.4 through 8.7.3.2.1   Disinfection Byproduct Precursors
Section 8.5.4 refers to section 8.7.3.1.4 regarding Step 1 TOC removal ratio of 1.00, however, section 8.7.3.2.1

refers to assigning a monthly value of 1.0 when calculating compliance under section 8.7.3.1.  Use of significant
figures should be consistent.

United Water requests that the number of significant figures in the sections above be consistent so the monthly
or quarterly compliance ratio should be either 1.00 or 1.0.

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment but respectfully disagrees.
The current language and values are consistent with the Code of Federal Regulations and no changes will be
made.

• 8.9  Stage 2 Disinfection Byproducts
Section 8.9.2 Routine Monitoring listed in 8.9.2.1.2
United Water requests clarification and flexibility on footnote 2 which refers to “dual sample sets every 90

days”.  United Water appreciates the purpose of defining a set sampling schedule for protecting public health;
however, we also understand that some water systems may have a limited number of personnel or even one
person that performs the sampling to meet these requirements.  We, therefore, recommend that the Division define
some appropriate time frame for quarterly sampling to allow sampling personnel to have vacation, sick time or to
assist with other high priority issues or emergencies.   We suggest something such as “approximately every 90
days” or “second week of the second month of the quarter” (as referenced in the EPA IDSE guidance) or “every 90
days +/- 2 days”.  The latter scenario would allow sampling on any day within a previously determined week per the
EPA IDSE guidance. 

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comment.  The language in the
referenced section is consistent with the Code of Federal Regulations and cannot be changed.  The Agency will
implement the rule in accordance with the EPA IDSE guidance and provide for a window for sampling rather than a
strict 90 day timeframe.

• General Comments and suggestion pertaining to the proposed State of Delaware Regulations 
Governing Public Drinking Water Systems and amendments:

Numerical formatting system is difficult to follow and to locate specific regulatory language.
The numerical numbering system should be addressed as some numerical sections are used more frequently

than once; and the system should be checked for accuracy of references for the proposed regulations in its entirety
and not just for the new proposed regulations (Stage 2, LT 2, GWR, LCR STR).  There are many references
throughout the proposed regulations that appear to be incorrect.

The format of the regulations for Stage 1 DBPs and Stage 2 DBPs (section 6.2.2.3 and 8.9) appears to be an
easier read with more clarity as sampling requirements, frequency of sampling, and compliance determinations are
shown in a logical procession.  The other regulations might be easier to track and understand if the format was
similar to that of the DBP regulation formats.

United Water is in full support of the Division of Public Health’s, Office of Drinking Water, adoption of the
proposed regulations:   LT 2 ESWTR, Stage 2 DBPR, GWR and the LCR STR.  

United Water supports the reduction of the MCLs for PCE, TCE and Vinyl Chloride; clarification of the
distribution non-detectable disinfectant level, and reporting of Action Level exceedances to the ODW as MCL
exceedances are reported.

United Water is in support of calculating compliance with the proposed reduced MCLs for PCE, TCE and Vinyl
Chloride after 4 consecutive quarters of sampling have been completed such that the effective date will be fourth
quarter 2013 calculated as a RAA.

Agency Response:  The Agency appreciates and acknowledges your comments.
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Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing Officer’s record.  The regulation has been approved by the
Delaware Attorney General’s office and the Cabinet Secretary of DHSS.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
Based on public comments received, non-substantive changes were made to the proposed regulations.

Additionally, minor technical amendments and some grammatical corrections were made to further clarify the
proposed regulations.  The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as set forth in the attached copy
should be adopted in the best interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed State of Delaware Regulations Governing Public Drinking
Water Systems are adopted and shall become effective July 11, 2012, after publication of the final regulation in the
Delaware Register of Regulations. 

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary

4462 Public Drinking Water Systems

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

4462 Public Drinking Water Systems

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

16 DE Admin. Code 11002.9

ORDER

Child Care Subsidy Program Definitions and Explanation of Terms

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to
amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically,
Definitions and Explanation of Terms. The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated
pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the May 2012 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the
public concerning the proposed regulations to be produced May 31, 2012 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposal described below amends policies in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, Definitions and Explanation of Terms.  

Statutory Authority
45 CFR Part 98, Child Care and Development Fund
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Background
The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) program is authorized by the Child Care and Development

Block Grant Act and Section 418 of the Social Security Act and assists low-income families in obtaining child care
so that they can work or attend training and/or education activities. The program also improves the quality of child
care and promotes coordination among early childhood development and afterschool programs.

Every two years, states and territories receiving CCDF funds must prepare and submit to the federal
government a CCDF state plan detailing how these funds will be allocated and expended (45 CFR Part 98).

Summary of Proposed Changes
Federal regulation at 45 CFR §98.44 provides that states must give priority for child care services to children

from very low income families. States have the flexibility to define “children in families with very low income”.
As a result of recent federal guidance, DSSM 11002.9, Definition and Explanation of Terms, is amended to add

a definition of “children from low income families” as required by the Administration of Children and Families (ACF).
During preparation of Delaware’s Child Care and Development Fund State Plan for 2012 - 2013, ACF required the
definition be placed in the State’s policy manual. 

DSSM 11002.9 is also being reformatted to alphabetize the definitions for clarity and ease of readability.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGE(S)

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) and the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations and recommendations summarized below. The Division of
Social Services (DSS) has considered each comment and responds as follows.

The Summary of Proposed Changes section recites that the rationale for the amendments is twofold: 1) federal
prompting to add a definition of “children in families with very low income”; and 2) the desire to reformat and
alphabetize the existing list of definitions.  The proposed regulation was published as 15 DE Reg. 1551 in the May
1, 2012 issue of the Register of Regulations. We have the following observations and recommendations.

First, the new definition of “children from low income families” is acceptable.  It adopts a “200% of the Federal
Poverty Limit” standard which mirrors the existing standard reflected in the definition of “income limit”.  

Agency Response: DSS acknowledges your concurrence.
Second, in the definition of “Child”, we recommend the following amendment: “...or are in need of protective

services.”
Agency Response: DSS agrees. The proposed amendment is indicated by bold, bracketed type.

Third, in the definition of “Child Care Category, 41", amend the example to read as follows: “(Example: One
child is a citizen and one is not.  The citizen child is a 41).”  This would then be identical to the superseded version.
At 1553.

Agency Response: DSS agrees. The proposed amendment is indicated by bold, bracketed type.
Fourth, in the definition of “Child Care Certificate”, second sentence, substitute “parents who wish” for “a parent

who wishes” since the following pronoun (“their”) is plural.  
Agency Response: DSS agrees. The proposed amendment is indicated by bold, bracketed type.

Fifth, in the definition of “Educational Program”, the semicolons are omitted and the word “or” is omitted after
Par. “4".  Compare the current definition.  At 1553-1554.

Agency Response: DSS agrees. The proposed amendment is indicated by bold, bracketed type.
Sixth, in the definition of “Physical or Mental Incapacity”, DSS deleted the term “dysfunctional”. Compare the

existing definition.  At 1555.  This conforms to Title 29 Del.C. §608 and merits endorsement. 
Agency Response: DSS apologizes. The term “dysfunctional” was inadvertently omitted and has been

reinstated.
The Councils endorse the proposed regulation subject to adopting the above technical corrections.  

Agency Response: DSS thanks the Councils for their endorsement.
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FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the May 2012 Register of Regulations should

be adopted.
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual

(DSSM) regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, Definitions and Explanation of Terms is adopted
and shall be final effective July 10, 2012.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #12-15
REVISION

11002.9  Definitions and Explanation of Terms
The following words and terms, when used in the context of these policies will, unless clearly indicated

otherwise, have the following meanings.
A. TANF - Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, a program established by Title IV-A of the Social

Security Act and authorized by Title 31 of the Delaware Code to provide benefits to needy children who are
deprived of parental support and care. While on TANF, families are eligible for child care only as long as they are
working or participating in a TANF Employment and Training activity (Categories 11 and 12).

B. Authorization - Form 618d is the parents/caretakers authority to receive subsidized child care services and
is the provider's authority to provide subsidized child care services to eligible parents/caretakers.  The
authorization informs providers how much care a parent is authorized to receive, what DSS will pay the provider,
and what parents/caretakers must pay as part of their fee.

C. Caregiver/Provider - The person(s), other than the parent/caretaker, whom DSS approves to provide child
care services or the approved place where care is provided.

D. Caretaker - The adult responsible for the primary support and guardianship of the child.  As used here, this
adult is someone other than the child's parent who acts in place of the parent.  If a caretaker is unrelated to the
child and has not been awarded custody by Family Court or guardianship, the caretaker is referred to the Division
of Family Services to make a determination to either approve the non-relative placement or remove the child.

E. CCDBG - Child Care and Development Block Grant.  45 CFR Parts 98 and 99 created by the Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 to provide federal funds without State match to:

1. provide child care to low income families,
2. enhance the quality and increase the supply of child care,
3. provide parents the ability to choose their provider, and
4. increase the availability of early childhood programs and before and after school services.
Under the Division's DCIS II Child Care Sub system, CCDBG is part of Categories 31 and 41.

F. CFR - Code of Federal Regulations.  These are the rules the Federal Government writes to implement
federal legislation. Once written and approved, they have the force of law.

G. CCMIS - Child Care Management Information System, the name used to describe the Division's payment
system for child care.

H. Child - A person under the age of 13, or children 13 through 18 years of age if they are physically or
mentally incapable of caring for themselves or in need of protective services.

I. Child Care Category - The DCIS II Child Care Sub system code for the child care funding source. Case
Managers choose category codes based on the parents/caretaker’s technical eligibility for service.  The codes are:

11 – Participants receiving TANF and not working, but participating in TANF E&T;
12 – Participants receiving TANF and working;
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012



FINAL REGULATIONS 81
21 --Participants receiving Food Benefits who are mandatory or voluntary participants in E&T and not
receiving TANF; 

31 - SSBG, CCDBG, and State funds: Income eligible participants. Participants who receive FS and are
not E&T mandatory or voluntary;

41 – A participant who is a qualified alien or U.S. citizen is coded as a category 41 when his or her
eligibility allows a non U.S. citizen or nonqualified alien to receive child care services. (Example: One child is a
citizen and one is not. The citizen child is a 41.)

51 – A participant is coded category 51 when s/ he is not a U.S. citizen or legal alien but receives Child
Care services due to a family member in category 41.

J. Child Care Certificate - A form issued to a parent/caretaker which allows a parent/caretaker to choose a
child care provider who does not have a contract with DSS.  A certificate is not an authorization for child care, but a
parent who wishes to select a non-contracted provider of their choice cannot get care unless the provider
completes one.

K. Child Care Parent Fee - The amount the parent/ caretaker must pay toward the cost of child care.  The fee
is based on the income of the parent(s) and children, or the child if the child lives with a caretaker, family size and
a percentage of the cost of care based on type of care requested.

L. Child Care Services - Those activities that assist eligible families in the arrangement of child care for their
children.

M. Child Care Centers - A place where licensed or license-exempt child care is provided on a regular basis for
periods of less than 24 hours a day to 12 or more children, who are unattended by a parent or guardian.

N. Child Care Type - Refers to the setting or place where child care is provided.  The four types of care are:
1. Center based (under DCIS II Child Care Sub system Site #17 or 18),
2. Large Family Home (under DCIS II Child Care Sub system Site #16),
3. Family Home (under DCIS II Child Care Sub system Site #15), and
4. In-Home (under DCIS II Child Care Sub system Site #19).

O. DCIS II - Delaware Client Information System, the automated client information system for the Department
of Health and Social Services.

P. Educational Program - A program of instruction to achieve:
1. a basic literacy level of 8.9;
2. instruction in English as a second language;
3. a GED, Adult Basic Education (ABE), or High School Diploma;
4. completion of approved special training or certificate courses; or
5. a post-secondary degree where the degree is part of an approved 
DSS Employment and Training program.
The above definition excludes the pursuit of a graduate degree or second four-year college degree. A

second associate’s degree may be attained if it leads to a bachelor’s degree. The completion of a second
associate’s degree can be authorized only if it has a significant chance of leading to employment.

Q. Employment - Either part-time or full time work for which the parent/caretaker receives wages equal to the
federal minimum wage or an equivalent. It also includes periods of up to three months of continued child care
services when parents/caretakers lose one job and need to search for another, or when one job ends and another
job has yet to start.

R. Family Size - The total number of persons whose needs and income are considered together. This will
always include the parent(s) (natural, legal, adoptive, step, and unmarried partners with a child in common) and all
their dependent children under 18 living in the home.
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S. Family Child Care Home - A private residence other than the child’s residence, where licensed care is
provided for one to six children who are not related to the caregiver.

T. TANF Child Care - The name of the child care program for TANF recipients who work or who are
participating in a TANF Employment and Training program. Under the DCIS II Child Care Sub system, this is
Category 11 and 12.

U. Food Benefit Employment and Training - The program by which certain unemployed mandatory and/ or
voluntary Food Benefit recipients participate in activities to gain skills or receive training to obtain regular, paid
employment.  Persons can receive child care if they need care to participate. This is referred to as Food Benefit
Employment & Training (FS E&T).  Under the Division's DCIS II Child Care Sub system, this is Category 21.

V. In-Home Care - Care provided for a child in the child's own home by either a relative or non-relative, other
than the parent/caretaker, where such care is exempt from licensing requirements. Care is limited to the child(ren)
residing in the household.  It also refers to situations where care is provided by a relative in the relative's own
home. This care is also exempt from licensing requirements and is also limited to the children of one household.

It also refers to situations where care is provided by a relative in the relative's own home. This care is also
exempt from licensing requirements.

W. Income - Any type of money payment that is of gain or benefit to a family. Examples of income include
wages, social security pensions, public assistance payments, child support, etc.

X. Income Eligible - A family is financially eligible to receive child care services based on the family's gross
income.  It also refers to child care programs under Category 31.

Y. Income Limit - The maximum amount of gross income a family can receive to remain financially eligible for
child care services.  Current income limit is 200 percent of the federal poverty level.

Z. Job Training/Training - A program which either establishes or enhances a person's job skills. Such training
either leads to employment or allows a person to maintain employment already obtained. Such training includes,
but is not limited to: Food Benefit Employment & Training (FB E&T) contracted programs, WIA sponsored training
programs, recognized school vocational programs, and on-the-job training programs.

AA. Large Family Child Care Home - A private residence other than the child’s residence, where licensed care
is provided for more than six but less than twelve children who are not related to the caregiver.

BB. Legal Care - Care which is either licensed or exempt from licensing requirements.
CC.Parent - The child's natural mother, natural legal father, adoptive mother or father, or step-parent.
DD.Parental Choice - The right of parents/caretakers to choose from a broad range of child care providers, the

type and location of child care.
EE. Protective Services - The supervision/ placement of a child by the Division of Family Services in order to

monitor and prevent situations of abuse or neglect.
FF. Physical or Mental Incapacity - A dysfunctional condition which disrupts the child's normal development

patterns during which the child cannot function without special care and supervision.  Such condition must be
verified by either a doctor or other professional with the competence to do so.

GG.Reimbursement Rates - The maximum dollar amount the State will pay for child care services.
HH.Relative - Grandparents, aunts, uncles, brothers, sisters, cousins, and any other relative as defined by

TANF policy, as they are related to the child.
II. Residing With - Living in the home of the parent or caretaker.
JJ. SSBG - Social Services Block Grant.  Under the DCIS II Child Care Sub system, this is Category 31 child

care.
KK. Seamless Services - To the extent permitted by applicable laws, a family is able to retain the same

provider regardless of the source of funding, and providers are able to provide services to children regardless of
the basis for the family's eligibility for assistance or the source of payment.
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LL. Self-Arranged Care - Child care which either parents or caretakers arrange on their own between
themselves and providers.  In this instance, the parents/caretakers choose to use a child care certificate, but the
provider does not accept the State reimbursement rate for child care services. DSS limits payment for self-
arranged care to its regular provider rates.  Parents/caretakers, in addition to any parent fee they pay, must also
pay the difference between DSS’ reimbursement rates and the providers’ charge.

MM.Self-Initiated - Clients who enter an education or training program on their own.  The education or training
program must be comparable to a Food Benefit Employment & Training (FB E&T) - TANF education or training
component.  Self-initiated clients must receive child care services if there is a child care need.

NN.Special Needs Child - A child under 19 years of age whose physical, emotional, or developmental needs
require special care.  Both the need and care must be verified by a doctor or other professional with the authority to
do so.

OO.Special Needs Parent/Caretaker - An adult, who because of a special need, is unable on his/her own to
care for children.  The need must be verified by a doctor or other professional with the competence to do so.

PP. Technical Eligibility - Parents/caretakers meet requirements, other than financial, to receive child care
services based on need and category.

QQ.Verification - Written or oral documentation, demonstrating either need for service or sources of income.
RR.Purchase of Care Plus (POC+) – Care option that allows providers to charge most DSS clients the

difference between the DSS reimbursement rate up to the provider’s private fee for service.  The provider receives
DSS rate, the DSS determined child care parent fee if applicable, and any additional provider-determined co-pay.

SS. Work Force Investment Act (WIA) - Federal Legislation that consolidates Employment and Training
programs and funding streams. This legislation embodies the One Stop Employment and Training Service system
under DOL. 

The following words and terms, when used in the context of these policies will, unless clearly indicated

otherwise, have the following meanings.
Authorization Form 618d or 626 is the parents/caretakers authority to receive subsidized child

care services and is the provider's authority to provide subsidized child care
services to eligible parents/caretakers. The authorization informs providers how
much care a parent is authorized to receive, what DSS will pay the provider, and
what parents/caretakers must pay as part of their fee.

Caregiver/Provider The person(s), other than the parent/caretaker, whom DSS approves to provide
child care services or the approved place where care is provided.

Caretaker The adult responsible for the primary support and guardianship of the child. As
used here, this adult is someone other than the child's parent who acts in place of
the parent. If a caretaker is unrelated to the child and has not been awarded
custody by Family Court or guardianship, the caretaker is referred to the Division
of Family Services to make a determination to either approve the non-relative
placement or remove the child.

CCDBG Child Care and Development Block Grant. 45 CFR Parts 98 and 99 created by the
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 to provide federal funds without state
match to:

1. Provide child care to low income families
2. Enhance the quality and increase the supply of child care
3. Provide parents the ability to choose their provider
4. Increase the availability of early childhood programs and before and after

school services. Under the Division's DCIS II Child Care Sub system,
CCDBG is part of Categories 31 and 41
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CFR Code of Federal Regulations. These are the rules the Federal Government writes
to implement federal legislation. Once written and approved, they have the force
of law.

CCMIS Child Care Management Information System, the name used to describe the
Division's payment system for child care.

Child A person under the age of 13, or children 13 through 18 years of age if they are
physically or mentally incapable of caring for themselves or [are] in need of
protective services.

Child Care Category The DCIS II Child Care Sub system code for the child care funding source. Case
Managers choose category codes based on the parents/caretaker’s technical
eligibility for service. The codes are:

11 - Participants receiving TANF and not working, but participating in TANF
E&T

12 - Participants receiving TANF and working
21 - Participants receiving Food Stamps Benefits who are mandatory or

voluntary participants in E&T and not receiving TANF
31 - SSBG, CCDBG, and State funds: Income eligible participants. Participants

who receive FS and are not E&T mandatory or voluntary
41 - A participant who is a qualified alien or U.S. citizen is coded as a category

41 when his or her eligibility allows a non U.S. citizen or non-qualified
alien to receive child care services. (Example: [One child is a citizen
and one is not a citizen child is a 41) One child is a citizen and
one is not. The citizen child is a 41.)]

51 - A participant is coded category 51 when s/he is not a U.S. citizen or legal
alien but receives Child Care services due to a family member in
category 41

Child Care Centers A place where licensed or license-exempt child care is provided on a regular basis
for periods of less than 24 hours a day to 12 or more children, who are unattended
by a parent or guardian.

Child Care Certificate A form issued to a parent/caretaker which allows a parent/caretaker to choose a
child care provider who does not have a contract with DSS. A certificate is not an
authorization for child care, but [a parent who wishes parents who wish] to
select a non-contracted provider of their choice cannot get care unless the
provider completes one.

Child Care Parent Fee The amount the parent/caretaker must pay toward the cost of child care. The fee is
based on the income of the parent(s) and children, or the child if the child lives
with a caretaker, family size and a percentage of the cost of care based on type of
care requested.

Child Care Services Those activities that assist eligible families in the arrangement of child care for
their children.

Child Care Type Refers to the setting or place where child care is provided. The four types of care
are:

1. Center based (under DCIS II Child Care Sub system Site #17 or 18)
2. Large Family Home (under DCIS II Child Care Sub system Site #16)
3. Family Home (under DCIS II Child Care Sub system Site #15)
4. In-Home (under DCIS II Child Care Sub system Site #19)

Children From Low
Income Families

Children in families whose income is less than 200% of the Federal Poverty Limit
(FPL).

DCIS II Delaware Client Information System, the automated client eligibility system for the
Department of Health and Social Services.
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Educational Program Educational Program - A program of instruction to achieve:
1. A basic literacy level of 8.9[;]
2. Instruction in English as a second language[;]
3. A GED, Adult Basic Education (ABE), or High School Diploma[;]
4. Completion of approved special training or certificate courses[;]
5. A post-secondary degree where the degree is part of an approved DSS

Employment and Training program.
 The above definition excludes the pursuit of a graduate degree or second four-
year college degree. A second associate’s degree may be attained if it leads to a
bachelor’s degree. The completion of a second associate's degree can be
authorized only if it has a significant chance of leading to employment.

Employment Employment - Either part-time or full time work for which the parent/caretaker
receives wages equal to minimum wage or an equivalent. It also includes periods
of up to three months of continued child care services when parents/caretakers
lose one job and need to search for another, or when one job ends and another
job has yet to start.

Family Child Care Home A private residence other than the child’s residence, where licensed care is
provided for one to six children who are not related to the caregiver.

Family Size The total number of persons whose needs and income are considered together.
This will always include the parent(s) (natural, legal, adoptive, step, and unmarried
partners with a child in common) and all their dependent children under 18 living in
the home.

Food Benefit Employment
and Training

The program by which certain unemployed mandatory and/or voluntary Food
Benefit recipients participate in activities to gain skills or receive training to obtain
regular, paid employment. Persons can receive child care if they need care to
participate. This is referred to as Food Benefit Employment & Training. Under the
Division's DCIS II Child Care Sub system, this is Category 21.

Income Any type of money payment that is of gain or benefit to a family. Examples of
income include wages, social security pensions, public assistance payments, child
support, etc.

Income Eligible A family is financially eligible to receive child care services based on the family's
gross income. It also refers to child care programs under Category 31.

Income Limit The maximum amount of gross income a family can receive to remain financially
eligible for child care services. Current income limit is 200 percent of the federal
poverty level.

In-Home Care Care provided for a child in the child's own home by either a relative or non-
relative, other than the parent/caretaker, where such care is exempt from licensing
requirements. Care is limited to the child(ren) residing in the household. It also
refers to situations where care is provided by a relative in the relative's own home.
This care is also exempt from licensing requirements and is also limited to the
children of one household.

Job Training/Training A program which either establishes or enhances a person's job skills. Such
training either leads to employment or allows a person to maintain employment
already obtained. Such training includes, but is not limited to: Food Benefit
Employment & Training (FB E&T) contracted programs; WIA sponsored training
programs, recognized school vocational programs, and on-the-job training
programs.

Large Family Child Care
Home

A private residence other than the child’s residence, where licensed care is
provided for more than six but less than twelve children who are not related to the
caregiver. 
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Legal Care Care which is either licensed or exempt from licensing requirements.

Parent The child's natural mother, natural legal father, adoptive mother or father, or step-
parent.

Parental Choice The right of parents/caretakers to choose from a broad range of child care
providers, the type and location of child care.

Physical or Mental
Incapacity

A [dysfunctional] condition which disrupts the child's normal development
patterns during which the child cannot function without special care and
supervision. Such condition must be verified by either a doctor or other
professional with the competence to do so.

Protective Services The supervision/placement of a child by the Division of Family Services in order to
monitor and prevent situations of abuse or neglect.

Purchase of Care Plus
(POC+)

Care option that allows providers to charge most DSS clients the difference
between the DSS reimbursement rate up to the provider's private fee for service.
The provider receives DSS rate, the DSS determined child care parent fee, if
applicable, and any additional provider-determined co-pay.

Reimbursement Rates The maximum dollar amount the State will pay for child care services.

Relative Grandparents, aunts, uncles, brothers, sisters, cousins, and any other relative as
defined by TANF policy, as they are related to the child.

Residing With Living in the home of the parent or caretaker.

Seamless Services To the extent permitted by applicable laws, a family is able to retain the same
provider regardless of the source of funding, and providers are able to provide
services to children regardless of the basis for the family's eligibility for assistance
or the source of payment.

Self-Arranged Care Child care which either parents or caretakers arrange on their own between
themselves and providers. In this instance, the parents/caretakers choose to use a
child care certificate, but the provider does not accept the State reimbursement
rate for child care services. DSS limits payment for self-arranged care to its
regular provider rates. Parents/caretakers, in addition to any parent fee they pay,
must also pay the difference between DSS' reimbursement rates and the
providers' charge.

Self-Initiated Clients who enter an education or training program on their own. The education or
training program must be comparable to a Food Benefit Employment & Training
(FB E&T) - TANF education or training component. Self-initiated clients must
receive child care services if there is a child care need.

Special Needs Child A child under 19 years of age whose physical, emotional, or developmental needs
require special care. Both the need and care must be verified by a doctor or other
professional with the authority to do so.

Special Needs Parent/
Caretaker

An adult, who because of a special need, is unable on his/her own to care for
children. The need must be verified by a doctor or other professional with the
authority to do so.

SSBG Social Services Block Grant. Under the DCIS II Child Care Sub system, this is
Category 31 child care.

TANF Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, a program established by Title IV-A of
the Social Security Act and authorized by Title 31 of the Delaware Code to provide
benefits to needy children who are deprived of parental support and care. While
on TANF, families are eligible for child care only as long as they are working or
participating in a TANF Employment and Training activity (Categories 11 and 12).

TANF Child Care The name of the child care program for TANF recipients who work or who are
participating in a TANF Employment and Training program. Under the DCIS II
Child Care Sub system, this is Category 11 and 12.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Section 311 and 29 Delaware Code, Section 10003(d)
(18 Del.C. §§311 and 29 Del.C. §10003(d))

ORDER

700 Policies and Procedures Regarding FOIA Requests

AND NOW, this 1st day of July, 2012, in accordance with 18 Del.C. §311 and  29 Del.C. §10003(d), for the
reasons stated below, this ORDER is adopted repealing the prior regulations (as shown by strike through) and
promulgating new regulations setting forth the Policies and Procedures regarding FOIA requests.

NATURE OF PROCEEDINGS

On October 20, 2011, the Governor of the State of Delaware signed Executive Order Number 31, directing
agencies to implement and promulgate Uniform Freedom of Information Act policies in substantial compliance with
the form attached to the Executive order.  In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(1) the Department of Insurance
is repealing its prior regulations governing the Policies and Procedures regarding FOIA requests.

The purpose of the new regulations is to prescribe procedures relating to the inspection and copying of public
records retained by the Department of Insurance pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 100, the Freedom of Information Act.
The regulations establish a reasonable fee structure for copying public records and streamlines procedures used
to disseminate this information.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUCSIONS OF LAW

1. The Department of Insurance has developed new procedures for responding to requests from the public
for information as set forth in 29 Del.C. Ch. 100, the Freedom of Information Act. These regulations are
substantially similar to the form attached to the Governor’s Executive Order. The regulations reflect these
procedures.

2. The Department of Insurance has statutory authority to promulgate regulations pursuant to 18 Del.C. §311
and 29 Del.C. §10003(d).

3. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(1), regulations describing an agency’s procedures for obtaining
information are exempted from the notice and public comment requirement of 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.

Technical Eligibility Parents/caretakers meet requirements, other than financial, to receive child care
services based on need and category.

Verification Written or oral documentation, demonstrating either need for service or sources of
income.

Work Force Investment
Act (WIA)

Federal Legislation that consolidates Employment and Training programs and
funding streams. This legislation embodies the One Stop Employment and
Training Service system under DOL.
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DECISION AND ORDER CONCERNING THE REGULATIONS

NOW THEREFORE, under the statutory authority and for the reasons set forth above, the Insurance
Commissioner of the State of Delaware does hereby ORDER that the regulations be, and they hereby are, adopted
and promulgated as set forth below. The effective date of this Order is ten days from the date of its publication in
the Delaware Register of Regulations, in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(g).

Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner
Delaware Department of Insurance

700 Policies and Procedures Regarding FOIA Requests

1.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Commissioner” means the Commissioner of the Delaware Insurance Department.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Insurance.
“FOIA” means The Freedom of Information Act as established pursuant to Chapter 100 of Title 29 of
the Delaware Code Annotated.
“FOIA Coordinator” is defined as an individual designated by a public body to accept and process
requests for public records under the act. The Commissioner shall designate the individual who shall
be the FOIA Coordinator. The FOI Coordinator may appoint Assistant FOIA Coordinators to accept
and process FOIA requests.
“Public record” is information of any kind, owned, made, used, retained received, produced,
composed, drafted or otherwise compiled or collected by the Department relating in any way to public
business, or in any way of public interest, or in any way related to public purposes, regardless of the
physical form or characteristic by which such information is stored, recorded or reproduced and not
protected from disclosure by law.
“Writing” is defined as “handwriting, typewriting, printing, photo stating, photographing, photocopying,
and every other means of recording, and includes letters, words, pictures, sounds, or symbols, or
combinations thereof, and papers, maps, magnetic or paper tapes, photographic films or prints,
microfilm, microfiche, magnetic or punched cards, discs, drums, or other means of recording or
retaining meaningful content.
“Written request” is defined as “a writing that asks for information, and includes a writing transmitted
by facsimile, electronic mail, or other electronic means.”

2.0 Purpose
The purpose of this Regulation is to set forth the policy and procedures for responding to requests
from the public for information as set forth in 29 Del.C. Chapter 100.

3.0 Records Request, Response Procedures and Access
3.1 All FOIA Requests shall be made in writing to the Department, addressed to: FOIA Coordinator,

Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. All FOIA Requests shall specifically
identify in writing the records sought for review in sufficient detail to enable the Department to locate
the records with reasonable effort. The Department shall provide reasonable assistance to the public
in identifying and locating records to which they are entitled access.
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3.2 The Department shall respond, in writing, within ten working days of the receipt of a FOIA Request.
Such response shall specify the name and telephone number of a contact person with respect to the
FOIA Request and shall state whether:

3.2.1 the Department will permit inspection of the public records;
3.2.2 the Department requires additional time beyond the 10 business days for circumstances to include

but not limited to, the request is for voluminous records, requires legal advice, for the public record
is in storage or archived. In the event the Department is unable to make the requested public
records available for inspection with the 10 business day period, the Department shall provide an
expected time at which they will be made available; or

3.2.3 if it does not permit such inspection, the reason or reasons for such refusal.
3.3 Prior to disclosure, records will be reviewed to ensure that those records or portions of records

deemed non-public pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10002(g) are removed. In reviewing the records, all
documents shall be considered public records unless subject to one of the exceptions set forth in 29
Del.C. §10002(g).

3.4 After receiving the response of the Department to a FOIA Request, the requesting party shall contact
the person specified in the written response thereto to schedule a mutually convenient date, time and
place for the inspection of the public records.

3.5 All FOIA Requests shall be coordinated by the FOIA Coordinator.
3.6 The Department shall provide reasonable access for reviewing public records during regular business

hours. The Department shall make the requested public records available unless the records or
portions of the records are determined to be excluded from the definition of a “public record” pursuant
to 29 Del.C. §10002(g).

4.0 Fees
4.1 Administrative Fees

4.1.1 Charges for administrative fees include:
4.1.1.1Staff time associated with processing FOIA Requests will include:

4.1.1.1.1Locating and reviewing files:
4.1.1.1.2Monitoring file reviews;
4.1.1.1.3Generating computer records (electronic or print-outs);
4.1.1.1.4Review of request by legal counsel
4.1.1.1.5Other work items as necessary per request.

4.1.2 Calculation of Administrative Charges:
4.1.2.1 Administrative charges will be billed to the requestor per quarter hour. These charges will be

billed at the current, hourly pay grade rate, plus benefits (pro-rated for quarter hours
increments) of the personnel performing the service. Administrative charges will be in
addition to any copying charges.

4.1.2.1 Appointment Rescheduling/Cancellation – Requestors who do not reschedule or cancel
appointments to view files at least one full business day in advance of the appointment
may be subject to the administrative charges incurred by the Department in preparing the
requested records. The Department shall prepare an itemized invoice of these charges
and mail to the requestor for payment.

4.2 Photocopying Fees – The following are charges for photocopies of public records made by
Department personnel:

4.2.1 Standard Sized, Black and White Copies.
4.2.1.1 The first 20 pages of standard sized, black and white copied material shall be provided free of

charge. The charge for copying standard sized, black and white public records for copies
over and above 20 shall be $0.25 per copied sheet. This charge applies to copies on the
following standard paper sizes:

4.2.1.1.18.5” x 11”
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4.2.1.1.28.5” x 14” and
4.2.1.1.311” x 17”

4.2.2 Oversized Copies/Printouts.
4.2.2.1 The charge for copying oversized public records shall be as follows:

4.2.2.1.118” x 22” $2.00 each
4.2.2.1.224” x 36” $3.00 each

4.2.3 Color Copies/Printouts
4.2.3.1 The charge for standard sized, color copies or color printouts shall be $1.00 per sheet. This

charge applies to copies on the following standard paper sizes:
4.2.3.1.18.5” x 11”
4.2.3.1.28.5” x 14 and
4.2.3.1.311” x 17”

4.2.4 Microfilm and /or Microfiche Printouts.
4.2.4.1 Microfilm and/or microfiche printouts, made by Department personnel on standard sized

paper, will be calculated at $0.50 per printed page.
4.3 Electronically Generated Records.

4.3.1 Charges for copying records maintained in an electronic format will be calculated by the material
costs involved in generating the copies (including, but not limited to: magnetic tape, diskette, or
compact disc costs) and administrative costs.

4.3.2 In the event that requests for records maintained in an electronic format can be electronically
mailed to the requestor, only the administrative charges in preparing the electronic records will be
charged.

4.4 Payment
4.4.1 Payment for copies and/or administrative charges will be due at the time copies are released to

the requestor.
4.4.2 The Department may require pre-payment of copying and administrative charges prior to mailing

copies of requested records.

5.0  Effective Date of this Regulation.
This Regulation will become effective 10 days after being published as a final regulation. Any and all
FOIA Requests currently in process at the time of adoption will be subject to this Regulation.

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this policy is to set forth the rules and procedures for responding to requests from the
public for Public Records under Title 29, Chapter 100 of the Delaware Code, the Freedom of
Information Act.
Department employees are reminded that all Public Records requested under FOIA shall be
considered open and subject to disclosure to the Requesting Party, and any Information therein may
be withheld only if a specific exception applies. Exceptions shall be construed in a manner that shall
further the accountability of the Department and to comply with the policy that the public shall have
reasonable access to Public Records.

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this Regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Commissioner” means the Delaware Insurance Commissioner.
“Department” means the Delaware Insurance Department.
“FOIA” means the Freedom of Information Act as established pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 100.
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“FOIA Coordinator” shall mean the person designated by the Commissioner to receive and process
FOIA Requests.
“FOIA Request” or “Request” means a request to inspect or copy Public Records pursuant to 29
Del.C. §10003 and in accordance with the policy hereunder.
“FOIA Request Form” means the form promulgated by the Office of the Attorney General, and
available on the Department’s home page, upon which requests for Public Records may be made.
“Non-Custodial Records” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 3.6.
“Public Record” shall have the meaning set forth in 29 Del.C. §10002.
“Requesting Party” shall mean the party filing a FOIA Request.

3.0 Records Request, Response Procedures and Access
3.1 Form of Request

3.1.1 All FOIA Requests shall be made in writing to the Department in person, by email, by fax, or online
in accordance with the provisions hereunder. FOIA Requests may be submitted using the FOIA
Request Form promulgated by the Office of the Attorney General; provided, however, that any
FOIA Request that otherwise conforms with the policy hereunder shall not be denied solely
because the request is not on the promulgated form. Copies of the FOIA Request Form may be
obtained from the Department’s website, or from the office or website of any state agency.

3.1.2 All requests shall adequately describe the records sought in sufficient detail to enable the
Department to locate such records with reasonable effort. The Requesting Party shall be as
specific as possible when requesting records. To assist the Department in locating the requested
records, the Department may request that the Requesting Party provide additional information
known to the Requesting Party, such the types of records, dates, parties to correspondence, and
subject matter of the requested records.

3.2 Method of Filing Request
3.2.1 FOIA Requests may be made by mail or in person to the FOIA Coordinator at FOIA Coordinator,

Department of Insurance, 841Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904, by email to
DOI_Legal@state.de.us, by fax at 302-739-5566; or via online request form, which may be found
on the Department’s home page at http://delawareinsurance.gov/.

3.3 FOI A Coordinator
3.3.1 The Commissioner shall designate a FOIA Coordinator, who shall serve as the point of contact for

FOIA Requests and coordinate the Department’s responses thereto. The FOIA Coordinator shall
be identified on the Department’s website. The FOIA Coordinator may designate other
Department employees to perform specific duties and functions hereunder.

3.3.2 The FOIA Coordinator and/or his or her designee, working in cooperation with other Department
employees and representatives, shall make every reasonable effort to assist the Requesting Party
in identifying the records being sought, and to assist the Department in locating and providing the
requested records. The FOIA Coordinator and/or his or her designee will also work to foster
cooperation between the Department and the Requesting Party. Without limitation, if a Requesting
Party initiates a FOIA Request that would more appropriately be directed to another agency, the
FOIA Coordinator shall promptly forward such request to the relevant agency and promptly notify
the Requesting Party that the request has been forwarded. The Department may close the initial
request upon receipt of a written confirmation from the FOIA Coordinator of the relevant agency
that the relevant agency has received such request. The Department shall provide the Requesting
Party with the name and phone number of the FOIA Coordinator of the relevant agency.

3.3.3 In addition to the foregoing responsibilities, beginning on January 1, 2012, the FOIA Coordinator
shall maintain a document tracking all FOIA Requests for the then-current calendar year. For each
FOIA Request, the document shall include, at a minimum: the Requesting Party’s contact
information; the date the Department received the Request; the Department’s response deadline
pursuant to §3.4; the date of the Department’s response pursuant to §3.4 (including the reasons
for any extension pursuant to §3.4.1); the names, contact information and dates of
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correspondence with individuals contacted in connection with requests pursuant to §§3.3.2, 3.5
and 3.6; the dates of review by the Department pursuant to §3.7 and the names of individuals who
conducted such reviews; whether documents were made available; the amount of copying and/or
administrative fees assessed; and the date of final disposition.

3.4 Department Response to Requests
3.4.1 The Department shall respond to a FOIA Request as soon as possible, but in any event within

fifteen (15) business days after the receipt thereof, either by providing access to the requested
records; denying access to the records or parts of them; or by advising that additional time is
needed because the request is for voluminous records, requires legal advice, or a record is in
storage or archived. If access cannot be provided within fifteen (15) business days, the
Department shall cite one of the reasons hereunder why more time is needed and provide a good-
faith estimate of how much additional time is required to fulfill the request.

3.4.2 If the Department denies a request in whole or in part, the Department’s response shall indicate
the reasons for the denial. The Department shall not be required to provide an index, or any other
compilation, as to each record or part of a record denied.

3.5 Requests for Email
3.5.1 Requests for email records shall be fulfilled by the Department from its own records, if doing so

can be accomplished by the Department with reasonable effort. If the Department determines that
it cannot fulfill all or any portion of such request, the Department shall promptly request that the
Department of Technology and Information (“DTI”) provide the email records to the Department.
Upon receipt from DTI, the Department may review the email records in accordance with § 3.7
hereunder.

3.5.2 Before requesting DTI to provide email records, the Department shall provide a written cost
estimate from DTI to the Requesting Party, listing all charges expected to be incurred by DTI in
retrieving such records. Upon receipt of the estimate, the Requesting Party may decide whether to
proceed with, cancel or modify the request.

3.6 Requests for Other Non-Custodial Records
3.6.1 If all or any portion of a FOIA Request seeks records controlled by the Department but that are

either not within its possession or cannot otherwise be fulfilled by the Department with reasonable
effort from records it possesses (collectively, the “Non-Custodial Records”), then the Department
shall promptly request that the relevant public body provide the Non-Custodial Records to the
Department. Prior to disclosure, records may be reviewed in accordance with §3.7 hereunder by
the Department, the public body fulfilling the request, or both. Without limitation, Non-Custodial
Records shall include budget data relating to the Department.

3.6.2 Before requesting any Non-Custodial Records, the Department shall provide a written cost
estimate to the Requesting Party, listing all charges expected to be incurred in retrieving such
records. Upon receipt of the estimate, the Requesting Party may decide whether to proceed with,
cancel or modify the request.

3.7 Review by Department
3.7.1 Prior to disclosure, records may be reviewed by the Department to ensure that those records or

portions of records deemed non-public may be removed pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10002(g) or any
other applicable provision of law. In reviewing the records, all documents shall be considered
Public Records unless subject to one of the exceptions set forth in 29 Del.C. §10002(g) or any
other applicable provision of law. Nothing herein shall prohibit the Department from disclosing or
permitting access to Public Records if the Department determines to disclose such records, except
where such disclosure or access is otherwise prohibited by law or regulation.

3.8 Hours of Review 
3.8.1 The Department shall provide reasonable access for reviewing Public Records during regular

business hours.
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4.0 Fees
4.1 Photocopying Fees

4.1.1 In instances in which paper records are provided to the Requesting Party, photocopying fees shall
be as follows:

4.1.1.1 Standard Sized, Black and White Copies: The first 20 pages of standard sized, black and
white copied material shall be provided free of charge. The charge for copying standard
sized, black and white Public Records for copies over and above 20 shall be $0.10 per
sheet (i.e., $0.10 for a single-sided sheet, $0.20 for a double-sided sheet). This charge
applies to copies on the following standard paper sizes: 8.5” x 11”; 8.5” x 14”; and 11” x
17”.

4.1.1.2 Oversized Copies/Printouts: The charge for copying oversized Public Records shall be as
follows:
18” x 22”: $2.00 per sheet
24” x 36”: $3.00 per sheet
Documents larger than 24” x 36”: $1.00 per square foot

4.1.1.3 Color Copies/Printouts: An additional charge of $1.00 per sheet will be assessed for all
color copies or printouts for standard sized copies (8.5” x 11”; 8.5” x 14”; and 11” x 17”),
and $1.50 per sheet for larger copies.

4.2 Administrative Fees
4.2.1 Administrative fees shall be levied for requests requiring more than one hour of staff time to

process. Charges for administrative fees may include staff time associated with processing FOIA
Requests, including, without limitation, (a) identifying records; (b) monitoring file reviews; and (c)
generating computer records (electronic or print-outs). Administrative fees shall not include any
cost associated with the Department’s legal review of whether any portion of the requested
records is exempt from FOIA. The Department shall make every effort to ensure that
administrative fees are minimized, and may only assess such charges as shall be reasonably
required to process FOIA Requests. In connection therewith, the Department shall minimize the
use of non-administrative personnel in processing FOIA Requests, to the extent possible.

4.2.2 Prior to fulfilling any request that would require a Requesting Party to incur administrative fees, the
Department shall provide a written cost estimate of such fees to the Requesting Party, listing all
charges expected to be incurred in retrieving such records. Upon receipt of the estimate, the
Requesting Party may decide whether to proceed with, cancel or modify the request.

4.2.3 Administrative fees will be billed to the Requesting Party per quarter hour. These charges will be
billed at the current hourly pay grade (pro-rated for quarter hour increments) of the lowest-paid
employee capable of performing the service. Administrative fees will be in addition to any other
charges incurred under this Section 4, including copying fees.

4.2.4 When multiple FOIA Requests are submitted by or on behalf of a Requesting Party in an effort to
avoid incurring administrative charges, the Department may in its discretion aggregate staff time
for all such requests when computing fees hereunder.

4.3 Microfilm and/or Microfiche Printouts: The first 20 pages of standard sized, black and white material
copied from microfilm and/or microfiche shall be provided free of charge. The charge for microfilm and/
or microfiche printouts over and above 20 shall be $0.15 per sheet.

4.4 Electronically Generated Records: Charges for copying records maintained in an electronic format will
be calculated by the material costs involved in generating the copies (including but not limited to DVD,
CD, or other electronic storage costs) and administrative costs.

4.5 Payment
4.5.1 The Department may require all fees to be paid prior to any service being performed hereunder.
4.5.2 The Department may require pre-payment of all fees prior to fulfillment of any request for records

hereunder.
4.6 Appointment Rescheduling or Cancellation: Requesting Parties who do not reschedule or cancel

appointments to view files at least one full business day in advance of the appointment may be subject
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to the charges incurred by the Department in preparing the requested records. The Department shall
prepare an itemized invoice of these charges and provide the same to the Requesting Party for
payment.

5.0 Applicability
To the extent any provision in this policy conflicts with any other law or regulation, such law or
regulation shall control, and the conflicting provision herein is expressly superseded.

6.0 Effective Date
This Regulation will become effective 10 days after being published as a final regulation. Any and all
FOIA Requests currently in process at the time of adoption will be subject to this Regulation.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60; (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No.:   2012-F-0018
3552 Spanish Mackerel Size Limit and Creel Limit

Date of Issuance:  June 8, 2012
Effective Date of the Amendment: July 11, 2012

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”) the following findings, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking proceeding.

Background and Procedural History

This Order considers proposed regulatory amendments to Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 3552
regarding Spanish mackerel.  The Department’s Division of Fish and Wildlife commenced the regulatory
development process with Start Action Notice 2012-02.  The Department published the proposed amendments in
the March 1, 2012 Delaware Register of Regulations and held a public hearing on April 19, 2012. The
Department’s presiding hearing officer, Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated May 10, 2012
(Report). The Report recommends certain findings, as well as the adoption of the proposed regulation
amendments as attached to the Report as Appendix A.  

Findings and Discussion

I find that the proposed regulation amendments are well-supported by the record developed by the
Department, and adopt the Report to the extent it is consistent with this Order.   The Department’s experts in the
Division of Fish and Wildlife developed the record and drafted the proposed regulation. It should be noted that at
no time during this promulgation process did the Department receive public comment, nor were any members of
the public in attendance at the public hearing of April 19, 2012, as discussed in the Report.

With the adoption of these regulatory amendments to Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 3552 as final,
Delaware will be consistent with the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission Omnibus Amendment to the
Interstate Fisheries Management Plans for Spanish Mackerel and Spotted Sea Trout, and will bring the plans under
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the authority of the Atlantic Coastal Fisheries Cooperative Management Act of 1993, providing for more efficient
and effective management and changes to management for the future.

In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are entered:
1.) The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to issue an Order adopting these proposed

Amendments as final;
2.)  The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed regulatory amendments to this

regulation, and provided the public with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed amendments,
including at a public hearing; 

3.) The Department held a public hearing on the proposed amendments to this regulation on April 19, 2012, in
order to consider public comments before making any final decision, and has considered all relevant and timely
public comment received;

4.) The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its recommended record and the recommended
amendments to this regulation, as set forth in Appendix A, are adopted to provide additional reasons and findings
for this Order;  

5.) Promulgation of these regulatory amendments to Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 3552 would
enable Delaware to remain in compliance and consistent with the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
Omnibus Amendment to the Interstate Fisheries Management Plans for Spanish mackerel and Spotted Sea Trout,
which will bring the plans under the authority of the Atlantic Coastal Fisheries Cooperative Management Act of
1993; 

6.) With regard to the proposed amendments to Delaware’s regulations concerning Spanish mackerel, the
restrictions for 2012 would establish (1) a 12” fork length (FL) or 14” total length (TL) minimum size limit; (2) the
creel limit at fifteen (i.e., fifteen fish per day); and (3) requiring that all Spanish mackerel be landed with head and
fins intact.  Additionally, Delaware must establish for its commercial fishery a 12” fork length (FL) or 14” total length
(TL) minimum size limit and a trip limit (per vessel, per day) of 3,500 pounds;

7.) The recommended amendments to this regulation do not result in any substantive change from the
proposed amendments as originally published in the March 1, 2012, Delaware Register of Regulations; 

8.)  The recommended amendments to this regulation satisfy the aforementioned federal requirements with
regard to Delaware’s management of Spanish mackerel, and thus will provide for more efficient and effective
management and changes to management for the future;

9.) The Department shall submit this Order approving the final amendments to this regulation to the Delaware
Register of Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the law and
regulation require and the Department determines is appropriate. 

Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

3552 Spanish Mackerel Size Limit and Creel Limit Possession Requirements.
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for any person to possess any Spanish mackerel,
(Scomberomorus maculatus), that measure less than fourteen (14) inches total length.

2.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for any recreational finfisherman to have in
possession more than ten (10) fifteen (15) Spanish mackerel at or between the place caught and his/
her personal abode or temporary or transient place of lodging.

3.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for any recreational finfisherman to possess any
Spanish mackerel at or between the place caught and his/her personal abode or temporary or
transient place of lodging without the head and fins intact.

4.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for any commercial finfisherman to possess or land
more than 3,500 pounds of Spanish mackerel per vessel, per day.

5.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for any commercial finfisherman to possess any
Spanish mackerel without the head and fins intact prior to selling, trading or bartering said Spanish
mackerel.
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Sections 706(a)(1) and (10) 
(24 Del.C. §706(a)(1) and (10))

24 DE Admin. Code 700

ORDER

700 Board of Chiropractic

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(4) and 24 Del.C. §706(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Chiropractic issues this
Order adopting the below amendment to the Board's Rules to correct a technical error in the previously published
rule. Specifically, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(4), regulation 2.2.1 of the Board of Chiropractic must be
changed without prior publication as it incorrectly states the amount of pro-rated continuing education required of
new licensees depending on their licensure date. This was the result of a scrivener's error prior to submission for
publication that must be corrected. 

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE

1. Rule 2.2.1 now states:

2.2 New Licensee Exception:
2.2.1 At the time of the initial license renewal, some individuals will have been licensed for less than two

(2) years. For these individuals only, the continuing education hours will be pro-rated based on
when the license was issued.

2.2.1.1 If the new license was issued during the first year of the renewal period, July 1 - December 31
of the odd year, the licensee must complete 24 CE hours.

2.2.1.2 If the new license was issued during the first year of the renewal period, January 1 - June 30 of
the even year, the licensee must complete 18 CE hours.

2.2.1.3 If the new license was issued during the second year of the renewal period, July 1 - December
31 of the even year, the licensee must complete 12 CE hours.

2.2.1.4 If the new license was issued during the second year of the renewal period, January 1 - June
30 of the odd year, the licensee must complete 24 CE hours.

2. The Board proposed the following change to its regulations (additions are underlined, removals are stricken
through):

2.2 New Licensee Exception: 

2.2.1 At the time of the initial license renewal, some individuals will have been licensed for less than two
(2) years. For these individuals only, the continuing education hours will be pro-rated based on
when the license was issued.

2.2.1.1 If the new license was issued during the first year of the renewal period, July 1 - December 31
of the odd even year, the licensee must complete 24 CE hours.

2.2.1.2 If the new license was issued during the first year of the renewal period, January 1 - June 30 of
the even odd year, the licensee must complete 18 CE hours.

2.2.1.3 If the new license was issued during the second year of the renewal period, July 1 - December
31 of the even odd year, the licensee must complete 12 CE hours.
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2.2.1.4 If the new license was issued during the second year of the renewal period, January 1 - June
30 of the odd even year, the licensee must complete 24 0 CE hours.

The effective date of this Order will be ten (10) days from the publication of this Order in the Register of
Regulations on July 1, 2012. 

IT IS SO ORDERED this 14th day of June, 2012.
Arthur Travis, D.C., President

700 Board of Chiropractic

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections are not being amended, they are not being published here. A
complete copy of the final regulation is available at:

700 Board of Chiropractic

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 1775(a)(c) and

29 Delaware Code, Section 10113(b)
(24 Del.C. §1775(c) & 29 Del.C. §10113(b))

24 DE. Admin. Code 1770
1770 Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council

ORDER

The Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council (Council) has determined that a technical clarification is
needed to Regulation 8.1.5 with regard to the proration of continuing education for new licensees. The Council with
the approval of the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline (Board) is amending the regulation to provide
explanatory language that informs new licensees with more than one year but less than two years remaining in the
licensure cycle that all ten (10) of the required contact hours must be taken in traditional programs as defined in
Regulation 8.1.1. In addition, six (6) of the ten (10) contact hours must be in a field related to the science and
practice of respiratory care. The remaining four (4) contact hours may be in elective courses. These technical
corrections conform the ten (10) hours to the category ratios required for other licensees. The Council and Board
are amending the regulation with the new language shown in underline as follows:

8.1.5 Contact hours shall be prorated for new licensees in accordance with the following schedule:
Two years remaining in the licensing cycle requires - 20 hours
One year remaining in the licensing cycle requires- 10 hours

(Note: All ten (10) contact hours must be taken in traditional programs as defined in Regulation 8.1.1. Six (6) of
the ten (10) must be in a field of related to the science and practice of respiratory care. The four (4) remaining
may be taken in any category.)

Less than one year remaining in the licensing cycle- exempt

Summary of the Evidence 

None required.
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Findings of Fact

The Council and Board finds that the clarification is a technical clarification only and does not substantively
change the regulation or requirements of licensees. This regulation is exempted from the procedures for notice and
public comment set forth in 29 Del.C. ch 100 pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10113(a)(b)(4) and (5). 

Text and Citation

The text and citation for Regulation 8.1.5 is as shown in underline above.

Decision and Effective Date

The Council and Board hereby adopt the Regulation 8.1.5 as amended effective 10 days following publication
of this Order in the Register of Regulations.

Recommendation

It is the recommendation of the undersigned members of the Council to the Board that the Board approve
these technical changes to the Rules and Regulations of the Council. 

Respectfully submitted this 9th day of May, 2012:

ORDER

The Board has considered the recommendation of Council and approves the technical amendment to
Regulation 8.1.5.

SO ORDERED this 5th day of June, 2012.

BOARD OF MEDICAL LICENSURE AND DISCIPLINE

1770 Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

8.0 Continuing Education
8.1 Contact Hours Required for Renewal

Thomas Blackson, RRT, Vice Chairperson Christina Cipolla, RRT
Joel M. Brown, II, RRT Joseph M. Parise, D.O., Physician Council Member
Juanita Bernard, RRT

Stephen Cooper, M.D., President Raymond Moore, Public Member
Gregory Adams, M.D., Vice-President Joseph Parise, D.O.
Garrett H. Colmorgen, M.D. Karyl Rattay, M.D.
Thomas Desperito, M.D. Anthony M. Policastro, M.D.
George Brown, Public Member Vonda Calhoun, Public Member
Vincent Lobo, D.O. Malvine Richard, Ed.D., Public Member
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8.1.1 The respiratory care practitioner shall be required to complete twenty (20) contact hours of
continuing education biennially. At least ten (10) of the required twenty (20) contact hours shall be
from traditional programs attended either in person or remotely by the use of telecommunication
technology that allows the attendee to interact with and ask questions of the presenter during the
presentation. The remaining ten (10) hours may be obtained in non-traditional programs in which
the participant learns the material at their own pace and place of choosing and demonstrates their
mastery of the course content by examination in order to earn contact hours or by participating in
the activities described in rules 8.3.1.8 or 8.3.1.9 below.

8.1.2 Proof of continuing education is satisfied with an attestation by the licensee that he or she has
satisfied the Requirements of Rule 8.0.

8.1.3 Attestation may be completed electronically if the renewal is accomplished online. In the
alternative, paper renewal documents that contain the attestation of completion may be submitted. 

8.1.3 Licensees selected for random audit will be required to supplement the attendance verification
pursuant to Rule 8.1.4.

8.1.4 The respiratory care practitioner shall retain all certificates and other documented evidence of
participation in an approved/accredited continuing education program for a period of at least (3)
three years. Upon request, such documentation shall be made available to the Council for random
audit and verification purposes.

8.1.5 Contact hours shall be prorated for new licensees in accordance with the following schedule:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections are not being amended, they are not being published here. A
complete copy of the final regulation is available at:

1770 Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
Real Estate Commission

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 2906(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 2900

2900 Real Estate Commission

ORDER

After due notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was
held on May 10, 2012 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Real Estate Commission (“the Commission”) to
receive comments regarding proposed amendments to the Commission’s Rules and Regulations. The Commission
has proposed revisions to Rule 13.0, pertaining to continuing education requirements. Specifically, pursuant to the
revisions, 21 hours of continuing education will be required for each licensure renewal period. Currently, the
Commission requires 15 hours. The revised rules state that the required hours must be taken in specified subject

Two years remaining in the licensing cycle requires - 20 hours
One year remaining in the licensing cycle requires - 10 hours
(Note: All ten (10) contact hours must be taken in traditional programs as defined in
Regulation 8.1.1. Six (6) of the ten (10) must be in a field of related to the science and
practice of respiratory care. The four (4) remaining may be taken in any category.)
Less than one year remaining in the licensing cycle - exempt
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/july2012/final/16 DE Reg 97 07-01-12.htm
http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/index.shtml


FINAL REGULATIONS100
matters, or modules. In addition, new licensees, other than licensees already licensed in another state, will be
required to take 12 hours of continuing education relevant to the skills required for new practitioners. Those 12
hours will be applied to the required 21 hours and pro-rated accordingly.  The Commission also proposes revisions
to certain rules addressing administrative issues.

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10115, notice of the proposed amendments to the
Rules and Regulations was published on April 1, 2012 in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 15, Issue
10 at 15 DE Reg. 1449.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Commission received written and verbal comments at the public hearing on May 10, 2012.  The following
notices, written comments and documents were admitted as exhibits and made part of the record:

Exhibit 1: May 4, 2012 letter from Trina Joyner, President, Sussex County Association of Realtors, concerning
proposed Rule 13.0.  Ms. Joyner commented that the proposed amendments, requiring 21 hours of continuing
education, do not consider licensees with significant experience and education.  She expressed concern about the
monitoring of compliance with the requirements for new licensees.

Exhibit 2:  May 10, 2012 letter from Todd Stonesifer, President, Delaware Association of Realtors, supporting
the proposed amendments to the Rules and Regulations.

Exhibit 3:  News Journal Affidavit of Publication.
Exhibits 4 and 5:  Delaware State News Affidavits of Publication.
Exhibit 6:  Letter from Carol Burns, President, Kent County Association of Realtors, supporting the changes to

the education requirements for licensees.
Exhibit 7:  May 8, 2012 letter from Thomas J. Hanna, Vice President, Harvey Hanna & Associates, requesting

that the Commission delay action on proposed expansion of continuing education requirements, commenting that
there is insufficient information warranting more education and stating that there is an economic cost to requiring a
40% increase in continuing education requirements.

Exhibit 8:  May 10, 2012 letter from Dick Brogan supporting the proposed changes to the Rules and
Regulations.

The following individuals provided verbal comment at the public hearing:
The first witness to address the Commission was Doug Doyle.  Mr. Doyle has been licensed since 1995 and is

the current chair of the Education Committee.  He has served on the Education Committee for two years.  Mr.
Doyle testified that, two years ago, the Education Committee began to discuss increasing standards for education,
including both pre-licensing and continuing education.  There had been no changes to the education system for
years and improvement was needed.  The Education Committee’s proposed changes were approved by the
Commission and represented a huge improvement over the existing system.  Mr. Doyle added that the real estate
profession has changed dramatically over the years and the proposed changes will act to protect the public and
ensure standards of competence in the delivery of services to the public.  Mr. Doyle also explained that the course
approval process will not change with the new modules.  

The next witness to address the Commission was Kevin Gilligan, who has been a licensed broker in Delaware
for 10 years.  Mr. Gilligan testified that the emphasis should be placed on the quality and content of continuing
education rather than the quantity of hours.  Mr. Gilligan stated that he opposed increasing the required hours from
15 to 21.

Todd Stonesifer, the President of the Delaware Association of Realtors, addressed the Commission by offering
his support to the proposed changes to the Rules and Regulations.  Mr. Stonesifer has been licensed for 12 years.
Mr. Stonesifer testified that the education requirements have changed very little but the industry has changed
greatly and licensees need to stay on top of those changes.  The problem now is that continuing education classes
are repetitive and boring.  The new modules will allow licensees to pick and choose their courses with the result
that they will start to enjoy continuing education.  Mr. Stonesifer asked the Commission to implement the proposed
changes to protect the public and improve the competence of licensees.
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Tim Riale next addressed the Commission.  Mr. Riale is a licensed broker.  He testified that the proposed
changes to the Rules and Regulations will benefit the public.  The results of previous continuing education audits
demonstrated a need to adjust the continuing education requirements.  

Shirley Kalvinsky addressed the Commission.  She has been licensed for 35 years and an instructor for more
than 30 years.  Ms. Kalvinsky offered her support for the increase in continuing education hours and the new
modules.  Feedback regarding continuing education classes showed a need for change.  Ms. Kalvinsky testified
that the modules offer variety and flexibility with no time parameters or canned outlines.  The modules do not
involve specialized training but offer general topics.  

Bill Lucks was the next witness to address the Commission.  Mr. Lucks has two licenses in Delaware.  He
testified that he supports the changes to the continuing education requirements. The changes address both
content and quality.  The increased hours and the modules will ensure that licensees understand the applicable
rules and how to conduct themselves.  Mr. Lucks commented that these changes are needed given the rapid
changes in the real estate industry.

Carol Burns, President of the Kent County Association of Realtors, addressed the Commission.  Ms. Burns
testified that the Kent County Association of Realtors fully supports the proposed changes to the continuing
education requirements.  She commented that the changes will increase licensee knowledge and professionalism
and improve standards in the delivery of services to the public.

Greg Ellis, the President of the Commercial Industrial Realty Council of Delaware, addressed the Commission.
He testified that he offered his comments on behalf of CIRS and on his own behalf.  Mr. Ellis stated that while he
applauded efforts to improve continuing education, he did not think that the proposed modules would have the
intended result.  The basic concepts in the modules have been taught repeatedly.  The existing concepts need to
be improved to make sure licensees understand what they are being taught.  Increased continuing education hours
won’t fix the problem.  Mr. Ellis testified that the industry needs to be more professional, and the modules won’t
help get the basic concepts across to licensees.

Dan Lesher addressed the Commission, stating that, like Mr. Ellis, he is from the Commercial Industrial Realty
Council of Delaware.  The proposed changes represent a 40% increase in continuing education hours.  Real estate
salespeople operate as small businessmen and the increase in hours will lead to increased costs.  Increasing the
hours won’t necessarily result in a smarter industry.  The modules will present less flexibility and less elective
continuing education courses.  Mr. Lesher testified that he reviewed Commission minutes and found no information
showing a connection between the amount of continuing education hours and problems with Delaware licensees.
He does not believe that the change will result in a smarter industry.  The change will result in a 40% increase in
income for instructors.

The next witness to address the Commission was Gene Millman, who testified that he is in favor of the
proposed changes.  He served on the subcommittee which addressed the continuing education issue.  He has
been in the real estate business for 27 years and an instructor for 21 years for the Delaware Association of
Realtors.  Mr. Millman stated that he found that agents with many years in the business don’t understand changes
in the law.  Mr.  Millman supported the increase in hours and changes in education content.  He stated that the
modules will allow for the incorporation of contemporary issues in continuing education.

Dick Brogan, who has been a licensee since 1994 and a broker since 2001, addressed the Commission.  Mr.
Brogan offered his support for the proposed changes.  He testified that the changes focus on quality and the actual
number of hours is not important.  The Commission needs to continue with increasing continuing education
requirements.

Donna Klimowicz next addressed the Commission.  She is an associate broker who has been licensed since
1980.  When she was first licensed, there were no continuing education requirements.  Ms. Klimowicz testified that
she is on the Commission’s Education Committee and the Education Committee of the Delaware Association of
Realtors.  Ms. Klimowicz testified that the real estate industry is changing, including advances in technology, and
the public is knowledgeable.  The consumer is the priority and increased continuing education is needed for
licensees.  Many agents are inept and need the additional education.  The Education Committee worked hard on
the changes.  Ms. Klimowicz stated that the proposed changes will give flexibility in terms of courses and increased
quality.  The public will benefit from these revisions to the continuing education requirements.

William Lower addressed the Commission.  Mr. Lower is with a commercial redevelopment firm in Wilmington.
He asked the Commission to delay immediate action on the proposed revisions on the basis that there has been
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insufficient information communicated to licensees regarding the increase in hours.  The changes will result in a
diminished curriculum and increased cost.  Given the current market, the changes will put a burden on licensees.
Mr. Lower suggested that the Commission postpone its decision until there is a greater consensus. 

Danielle Benson addressed the Commission.  She is a broker and has been licensed for 17 years.  She serves
on the Education Committee and commented that the discussion regarding the modules involved a great deal of
time, effort and differing opinions.  The modules present a great format to start with.  Working in management, she
has been surprised by the actions of certain licensees.  The public would be reluctant to work with these people.
The revised education standards will increase professionalism with the result that the entire profession will be
improved.

Rob Burton next addressed the Commission.  He offered that there are two problems with the proposed
revisions.  Currently, there is no requirement at the end of a course that the course participant demonstrate
knowledge.  The courses “stink” and present information in a way that is not grasped by many people.  Increasing
the continuing education hours will be like throwing money at the problem with no understanding of what the
problem is.  Mr. Burton testified that the problem is that brokers are not doing their jobs.  Brokers need to provide
oversight, guidance and instruction.  Requiring more continuing education classes, without requiring attendees to
demonstrate their knowledge, is wrong.  Attendees should be required to pass a test at the end of the course to
show if they are being taught.  Brokers vary in terms of how they educate their agents.  In terms of requiring extra
hours, Mr. Burton stated that in his view 15 hours are sufficient, if licensees are required to show their knowledge at
the end of a course.  Without this requirement, a licensee can just sit through a course and do nothing, and the
certificate means nothing.

The next individual to address the Commission was Joe Hill, a Rehoboth Beach broker who has been licensed
for 42 years.  Mr. Hill offered his view that the problem with continuing education lies with instructors who are not
doing their jobs.  The Commission should overhaul the process and require that instructors be qualified first and
then increase the hours.  Mr. Hill pointed out that, in real estate schools, teachers must be certified.

Joe Wells addressed the Commission. Mr. Wells, a realtor and appraiser, testified that the focus should be on
improving the quality of continuing education.  An added burden for him is the fact that he needs 28 hours of
continuing education to maintain his appraiser’s license.  Mr. Wells testified that that the real estate and appraisal
professions are inter-related and the Commission should be more liberal in the approval of appraisal courses for
elective credits.  As a person who is dual licensed, under the proposed continuing education requirements, he
would need to obtain almost 50 hours of continuing education, which would create a burden for him.

Tom Burns next addressed the Commission.  He testified that with changes in the real estate industry, there
were concerns regarding the quality of continuing education offerings and a perceived need to improve teaching
methods.  The proposed modules are imperfect, but will expose the licensee to all aspects of real estate.  The
modules provide maximum flexibility and will ensure that courses are not redundant.  The Education Committee
also recommended revisions to the course evaluation forms, which will lead to higher quality instructors.  Currently,
the broker course is the same course every two years.  With the proposed revisions, this will change.  The modules
will lead to quality instruction and exposure to current issues in the profession.  Mr. Burns concluded that he
strongly supported the recommended revisions to the Rules.
Shirley Kalvinsky again addressed the Commission by testifying that she wanted to clarify an issue presented in
earlier public comment.  The modules will include a test feature at the end of each course.  She also spoke in favor
of the required courses for new licensees.  

Kathy Sperl-Bell addressed the Commission.  She testified that currently there is a national debate about
changes in the real estate industry.  There is a need to improve professionalism in the real estate business.  She
noted that currently, in pre-licensing courses, there is a focus on teaching to the test, which involves materials
unrelated to become a broker.  Ms. Sperl-Bell commented that certain brokers are not ensuring that their agents
are up to par.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

The Commission considered the written and verbal comments provided at the public hearing.  
The Commission deliberated on the public comment for and against the amendments to the Rules and

Regulations.  In particular, the Commission considered the public comment that the increase in continuing
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012



FINAL REGULATIONS 103
education hours was not warranted, would pose a hardship to licensees, and result in financial benefit to
instructors. The majority of the Commissioners, with two members dissenting, voted to approve the proposed
changes.  The Commission found that the purpose of the licensing law is to improve licensee competence,
enhance standards, and thus safeguard the interests of the public.  The real estate business is changing rapidly.
Licensees should be highly knowledgeable about their profession, and the new continuing education modules will
address important current issues in the profession, including risk management.  Continuing education is essential
to ensure ongoing competence of licensees, and the increased hours will enhance licensees’ skills and
professionalism.  

The Commission delegated to the Education Committee the task of developing improved continuing education
standards.  The process involved in developing the new standards was lengthy and thorough.  Discussions were
held in public meetings and input was sought from all parties.  As evidenced by the written comment and testimony
presented at the hearing, the proposed revisions had extensive support, including support from Delaware
professional associations.

The Commission finds that the proposed amendments to the Rules and Regulations pertaining to continuing
education requirements will serve to enhance the skills and competence of licensees and in this way protect the
interests of the public, consistent with the mandate of 24 Del.C. §2900.

The Law

The Commission’s rulemaking authority is provided by 24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1).

Decision and Effective Date

The Commission hereby adopts the proposed amendments to the Rules and Regulations as effective 10 days
following publication of this Order in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the revised Rules and Regulations remains as published in the Delaware Register of Regulations,
Volume 15, Issue 10 on April 1, 2012, without modification.  

SO ORDERED this 14th day of June 2012.

DELAWARE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

2900 Real Estate Commission

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
April 2012 issue of the Register at page 1441 (15 DE Reg. 1441). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

2900 Real Estate Commission

Andrew Staton, Professional Member, Chairperson Michael Harrington, Sr., Professional Member, 
Secretary

Christopher J. Whitfield, Professional Member, 
Vice-Chairperson (Dissenting)

Joseph McCann

Ricky H. Allamong, Professional Member Patricia O’Brien, Public Member
James C. Brannon, Jr., Public Member Vincent M. White, Professional Member
Gilbert Emory, Public Member (Dissenting)
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
Real Estate Commission Education Committee

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 2906(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 2925

2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee

ORDER

After due notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was
held on May 10, 2012 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Real Estate Commission (“the Commission”) to
receive comments regarding proposed amendments to the Commission’s Guidelines for Fulfilling the Delaware
Real Estate Education Requirements.  The Commission has proposed extensive revisions to the Guidelines. The
Guidelines have been amended to include information previously contained only in an “Appendix” posted on the
Commission’s website. The amendments ensure that pre-licensing and continuing education standards are
properly and fully set forth in rules promulgated and adopted by the Commission. The amended Guidelines explain
new continuing education standards, which will be set forth in further detail in the Commission’s rules and
regulations. Specifically, pursuant to the proposed revisions, continuing education offerings must fall into one of
seven different modules, or, for new licensees, one of four different modules. In a new Rule 11.0, procedures are
detailed for addressing course providers who receive negative evaluations from course attendees. This new Rule
is intended to ensure quality in the provision of education to prospective and current licensees.

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10115, notice of the proposed amendments to the
Rules and Regulations was published on April 1, 2012 in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 15, Issue
10 at 15 DE Reg. 1455.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Commission received written comment at the public hearing on May 10, 2012. There was no verbal
comment.

The following notices, written comments and documents were admitted as exhibits and made part of the
record:

Exhibit 1: News Journal Affidavit of Publication.
Exhibit 2: Delaware State News Affidavit of Publication.
Exhibit 3: May 4, 2012 letter from Trina Joyner, President, Sussex County Association of Realtors. Ms. Joyner

noted several concerns regarding the proposed revisions. Among other items, Ms. Joyner commented that Rule
3.4.1 does not reference “broker associate,” the rules include no definition of “school,” and the rules reference
“Department of Public Instruction,” which does not exist.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

The Commission considered the written comment provided at the public hearing. There was no verbal
comment.

The Commission found that the proposed amendments serve the best interests of licensees and the public.
With the revisions, all information pertaining to pre-licensing education and continuing education will be included in
one set of rules, promulgated and adopted by the Commission. Further, the new Rule 11.0 addresses course
providers who receive negative evaluations from course attendees. The outlined procedures will serve to ensure
quality in the provision of continuing education.

With respect to the letter from Ms. Joyner, Exhibit 3, the Commission voted to refer her comments for
discussion in subcommittee.
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The Law

The Commission’s rulemaking authority is provided by 24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1).

Decision and Effective Date

The Commission hereby adopts the proposed amendments to the Guidelines as effective 10 days following
publication of this Order in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the revised Guidelines remains as published in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 15,
Issue 10 on April 1, 2012, without modification. 

SO ORDERED this 14th day of June 2012.

DELAWARE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee Guidelines

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
April 2012 issue of the Register at page 1455 (15 DE Reg. 1455). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

2925 Real Estate Commission Education Guidelines

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 3006(1) (24 Del.C. §3006(1))

24 DE. Admin. Code 3000

ORDER

3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 24 Del.C. §3006 (A)(1), the Delaware Board of Professional Counselors of
Mental Health and Chemical Dependency issues this Order adopting proposed amendments to the Board's  Rules.
Following notice and a public hearing on April 25, 2012, the Board makes the following findings and conclusions:

Andrew Staton, Professional Member, Chairperson Michael Harrington, Sr., Professional Member, 
Secretary

Christopher J. Whitfield, Professional Member, 
Vice-Chairperson

Joseph McCann

Ricky H. Allamong, Professional Member Patricia O’Brien, Public Member
James C. Brannon, Jr., Public Member Vincent M. White, Professional Member
Gilbert Emory, Public Member
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Summary of the Evidence

1. The Board posted public notice of the proposed amendments in the March 1, 2012 Register of Regulations
and in the Delaware News Journal and Delaware State News. The Board proposed to rework its regulations to
better clarify the license requirements of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Associate Counselors of
Mental Health.

2. The Board received no written comments during the month of March 2012. The Board held a public
hearing on April 25, 2012 and received no public comments.

3. The Board proposed to add language to clarify the experience needed for licensure as a Professional
Counselor of Mental Health and Associate Counselors of Mental Health.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

4. The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments to the Board's Rules. No public comment was
received and therefore no further revision of the rules need be considered.

5. There being no public comment to consider, the Board hereby adopts the regulation changes as originally
published on March 1, 2012.

The effective date of this Order will be ten (10) days from the publication of this Order in the Register of
Regulations on July 1, 2012.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 23rd day of May, 2012, by the Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency
Professionals of the State of Delaware.

3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
March 2012 issue of the Register at page 1294 (15 DE Reg. 1294). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3100 Board of Funeral Services

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 3105(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §3105(a)(1))
24 DE. Admin. Code 3100

ORDER

3100 Board of Funeral Services

Lisa Ritchie, President Tracey Frazier, LCDP
Daniel Cherneski, Vice President Tracy Hansen, LMFT
Ruth Banta, Public Member Julius Mullen, Ph.D., LPCMH
Daniel Cooper, LPCMH William Northery, Ph.D., LMFT
Robert Doyle III, Public Member Elizabeth Vassas, Public Member
Greg Drevno, LPCMH
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/july2012/final/16 DE Reg 105 07-01-12.htm
http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/funeralservices/index.shtml


FINAL REGULATIONS 107
Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 24 Del.C. §3105(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Funeral Services issues this
Order adopting proposed amendments to the Board’s Rules.  Following notice and a public hearing on March 27,
2012, the Board makes the following findings and conclusions:

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE

1. The Board posted public notice of the proposed amendments in the March 1, 2012 Register of Regulations
and in the Delaware News Journal and Delaware State News.  Affidavits of publication in these two periodicals was
accepted collectively as Board’s Exhibit 1.  The Board proposed to clarify the Board’s objective at 24 Del.C. §3100
of protecting the general public from unsafe practices and from occupational practices which tend to reduce
competition or fix the price of services rendered by establishing minimum standards for advertising funeral services
in the State of Delaware.

2. The Board received no written comments during the thirty day comment period.  The Board held a public
hearing on March 27, 2012 and received no public comments.

3. The Board proposed to add a new regulation, Regulation 12, as follows:
12.0 Standards for Advertising by Funeral Directors.

The Purpose of these standards is to protect the general public and to prohibit false, misleading,
untrue or deceptive advertising practices by licensees.

12.1 Definitions
12.1.1 “Advertise,” “advertising,” or “promotional medium” means the use of printed media, radio,

television, billboards, the internet, stationary, contracts, price lists, calendars, fans, novelty items, or any other
advertising method or medium.

12.1.2 For the purposes of this rule, “funeral establishment” means any licensed place used in the care
and preparation of human remains for funeral services.

12.2 General Rule
12.2.1 A licensee may not make or cause to be made an inaccurate or deceptive statement,

representation, guaranty, warranty, testimonial or endorsement through advertising or promotional medium.
12.2.2 A licensee shall be accountable under this regulation if the licensee uses an agent or partnership

to implement actions prohibited by this regulation.
12.2.3 A licensee who violates these regulations regarding advertising may be guilty of consumer fraud,

deception, restraint of completion, or price fixing and may be disciplined pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3112(a)(5) and
subjected to the disciplinary sanctions set forth in 24 Del.C. §3114.

12.3 Prohibitions
12.3.1 A licensee shall not use, publish or disseminate any false, misleading, untrue or deceptive

advertising in any manner.
12.3.2 The contents of any advertising shall include the name of the funeral establishment, its address

and its business phone number.
12.3.3 An advertisement shall not contain any representations that the licensee is willing to provide

services which are illegal under the laws or regulations of the State of Delaware or the United States.
12.3.4 A licensee shall not engage in solicitation from a dying individual or the relatives of a dying

individual other than through general advertising.
12.3.5 Any mention of fees in an advertisement shall disclose any relevant variables that would affect

that fee so that the statement can not be misunderstood or deceptive to the general public.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

4. The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing or by
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments to the Board’s Rules.  No public comment was
received and therefore no further revision of the rules need be considered. 
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5. There being no public comment to consider, the Board hereby adopts the regulation changes as originally
published on March 1, 2012.

The effective date of this Order will be ten (10) days from the publication of this Order in the Register of
Regulations on June 1, 2012.  

IT IS SO ORDERED this   ______ day of May, 2012.

3100 Board of Funeral Services

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
March 2012 issue of the Register at page 1300 (15 DE Reg. 1300). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

3100 Board of Funeral Services
 

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 3906(a)(1), (24 Del.C. §3906(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 3900

ORDER

3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners

After due notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was
held on June 18, 2012 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners ("the
Board") to receive comments regarding proposed amendments to the Board's Rules and Regulations.  The Board
proposes revisions to Rule 4.0, which sets forth the requirements for professional supervision pursuant to 24
Del.C. §3907(a)(1).  Rule 4.3 is amended to require that the 1,600 hours of supervision shall occur in not less than
one year, and must include at least 100 hours of one-to-one, face-to-face supervision.  This revision shall apply to
supervision commencing after the effective date of the rule. 

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10115, notice of the proposed amendments to the
Rules and Regulations was published on May 1, 2012 in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 15, Issue
11 at 15 DE Reg. 1579.  

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

There was no written comment presented at the June 18, 2012 hearing.  John Shuford testified that he was
glad to see an official statement from the Board pertaining to supervision. This statement would make it clear to
applicants what is expected for supervision.

The following notices were admitted as exhibits and made part of the record:
Exhibit 1:  News Journal Affidavit of Publication.
Exhibit 2:  Delaware State News Affidavit of Publication.

Timothy Ballas Marceline W. Knox
M.C. Byrd Danna Levy
Chad Chandler William Torbert
Harry Fletcher Robert O. Wright
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Findings of Fact and Conclusions

There was no written comment presented.  The Board considered the public comment presented.
The Board found that the new rule will provide greater clarity and guidance to applicants with respect to the

supervision requirements for licensure.  Further, the new rule will ensure that applicants have received adequate
supervision and training with the goal of licensing competent professionals who will be able to protect the interests
of the public.  Adoption of the Rules and Regulations as proposed will therefore further the Board's mandate, as set
forth in 24 Del.C. §3901:

"The primary objective of the Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners, to which all other objectives and
purposes are secondary, is to protect the general public (specifically those persons who are direct recipients of
services regulated by this chapter) through the effective control and regulation of the practice of clinical social work;
the licensure, control and regulation of persons who practice clinical social work within Delaware, from unsafe
practices, and from occupational practices which tend to reduce competition or fix the price of services rendered.
The secondary objectives of the Board are to maintain minimum standards of practitioner competency, and to
maintain certain standards in the delivery of services to the public."

The Law

The Board's rulemaking authority is provided by 24 Del.C. §3906(a)(1).

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the proposed amendments to the Rules and Regulations as effective 10 days
following publication of this Order in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the revised Rules and Regulations remains as published in the Delaware Register of Regulations,
Volume 15, Issue 11 on May 1, 2012, without modification.  

SO ORDERED this 18th day of June 2012.

DELAWARE BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS
Fran Franklin, Professional Member, President
Rochelle Mason, Professional Member, Vice President
Sandra Bisgood, Public Member, Secretary
Philip Thompson, Professional Member
Yen-Anh Gibson, Public Member 
Kyla Teed, Public Member 

3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners

* Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the May
2012 issue of the Register at page 1279 (15 DE Reg. 1579). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners
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re
of
STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER THIRTY-FIVE

RE: Reauthorizing The Establishment Of A Special Fund To Assist Delaware National Guard Members
Or Delaware-Based Reservists Who Suffer Serious Financial Hardship

WHEREAS, in recent years, the United States of America has deployed its armed forces throughout the world
to fight terrorism, provide domestic emergency services, and protect the lives and property of its citizens; and

WHEREAS, members of the Delaware National Guard and members of other Reserve Components (Army,
Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard) who live within Delaware or whose units are stationed in Delawa
contribute to the fight against terrorism, provide vital emergency services, and protect the lives and property 
citizens of the United States and other countries; and

WHEREAS, many individuals and organizations in our State desire to extend financial aid and assistance to
ameliorate the hardships of Delaware National Guard members and Reserve members stationed in Delaware and
their immediate family members and dependents; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Military Affairs, Joint Force Headquarters, Delaware, Commanded by the
Adjutant General of the State of Delaware, has been directed by the Department of Defense of the United States to
plan, organize, and manage the Defense Family Assistance and Wellness Program for all Guard and Reserve
personnel within the State of Delaware; and

WHEREAS, in furtherance of that mission, the Delaware National Guard and Reserve Emergency Assistance
Fund (hereinafter, the "DNGREAF") has, since its founding in 1991, served the needs of Delaware National Guard
members and Reserve members from Delaware-based units and their dependents with assistance to help address
some of the financial and personal sacrifices undertaken by those men and women in defense of our country while
on active duty; and

WHEREAS, the sacrifices and hardships of calls to active duty can be felt by the men and women of the
Delaware National Guard and Reserves well after their deployments have ended, and our collective responsibility
as Delawareans and Americans to those who serve on our behalf continues beyond the end of deployments, and,
to that end, so should the assistance our community provides through the DNGREAF to these brave men and
women continue when needed; and 

WHEREAS, it remains the policy of the State of Delaware to minimize the hardships arising from service or
membership in the Delaware National Guard or Delaware-based Reservists,

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JACK A. MARKELL, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby DECLARE and ORDER that: 

1. The Adjutant General of the State of Delaware is authorized and directed to continue and maintain the
Delaware National Guard and Reserve Emergency Assistance Fund. The DNGREAF shall be maintained as a
separate fund, separate from the General Fund or any special fund of the State.

2. Under rules and regulations developed and prescribed by the Adjutant General, the DNGREAF shall:
a. Receive, collect, and accept donations of money from whatever source or origin for the benefit of:

(i) Members of the National Guard or Reserves whose units are based within the State of Delaware;
and

(ii) The dependents or immediate family members of any persons described in the subparagraph
above.

b. Disburse and pay to eligible persons (as defined in subparagraph (a)) such funds as may be
necessary and appropriate to alleviate serious financial hardship (as determined by the board of directors of the
DNGREAF).

c. Be managed in accordance with policies and procedures established by the Adjutant General of the
State of Delaware. These procedures shall ensure sound management of funds deposited in the DNGREAF, and
equitable distribution of those funds to eligible persons. These procedures shall specify periodic reports to be
submitted to the Governor on the activities of the DNGREAF.

d. The Adjutant General of the State of Delaware has the authority to allow exceptions to the eligibility
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criteria and disburse funds to non-eligible individuals subject to a favorable majority vote by the DNGREAF board
of directors.

3. The DNGREAF shall not pledge, encumber, or obligate in any way the credit of the State of Delaware.
4. All funds collected and managed through the DNGREAF pursuant to Executive Order No. 92, issued

November 14, 2006, shall be included in the DNGREAF created by this Order and subject to distribution under the
terms of this Order.

5. Executive Order No. 92, issued by Governor Ruth Ann Minner and dated November 14, 2006, is hereby
rescinded. Executive Order Nos. 89 and 105, issued by Governor Michael N. Castle, are hereby rescinded.

APPROVED this 1st day of June, 2012

Jack A. Markell,
Governor

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER THIRTY-SIX

TO: Heads Of All State Departments And Agencies

RE: Review and Reform of State Agency Regulations

WHEREAS, as Governor, I am committed to growing Delaware’s economy, expanding economic opportunity
for all Delawareans, and making State government more efficient and effective; and

WHEREAS, although State agency regulations are often necessary for the effective functioning of State
government and the protection of public health, safety and the environment, we must strive to ensure that such
regulations do not impose unnecessary burdens upon our residents, businesses and other organizations; and

WHEREAS, establishing a mechanism for the periodic review of existing regulations will help ensure that our
State regulations continue to serve the original purpose for which they were adopted, and will provide a process by
which improvements can be made to our regulatory framework; and

WHEREAS, citizens are often in the best position to identify outdated, duplicative or overly burdensome
regulations and any review of Delaware’s existing regulatory regime must include a meaningful opportunity for
public input from residents, business owners, employees, and other concerned citizens; and

WHEREAS, in order to be efficient with taxpayer dollars, the process for periodic review should be focused on
and targeted at those regulations that have not been subject to review for at least three years for which substantive
concerns exist; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate for such a review to focus on older, well-established regulations because (1) such
regulations are more likely to be outdated or otherwise no longer justified by present realities; and (2) a focus on
such regulations will allow state agencies to consider the real-world effects of regulations in light of economic,
technological and other changes; and

WHEREAS, to reduce impediments to economic growth and improve the efficiency of state government, it is
appropriate for State agencies to conduct a periodic, focused and targeted review of areas in which existing
regulations may be reduced or streamlined – while reaffirming their commitment to enacting new regulations that
are reasonable and that comply with all applicable laws, including the Regulatory Flexibility Act.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JACK A. MARKELL, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby DECLARE and ORDER, on this, the 14th day of June, 2012, that: 

1. Each Department and Agency within the Executive Branch that is subject to the Administrative
Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10111 et seq. (“APA”) (each, an “Agency”) shall conduct, in accordance
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with the procedures set forth below, a periodic review of regulations promulgated by such Agency to
determine whether any such regulations should be modified or eliminated.

2. In accordance with the schedule set forth in Exhibit A (the “Public Input Period”), all Agencies shall
solicit input from the business community, non-profit community and the general public to identify
regulations promulgated by such Agency three years ago or more for possible modification or
elimination. In connection with the Public Input Period, each Agency shall conduct at least one public
hearing in each county, notice of which shall be provided by such Agency in accordance with the APA.
In addition, notwithstanding the date of any public hearing hereunder, each Agency shall accept written
submissions through the final day of the Public Input Period.

3. If an Agency receives a comment or submission during the Public Input Period that would be more
appropriately directed to another Agency, board or commission, the Agency receiving such comment
or submission shall ensure that it is delivered to the appropriate party in a timely manner.

4. At the conclusion of the applicable Public Input Period, each Agency shall evaluate the comments,
proposals and recommendations received and submit revisions (i.e., regulations to be eliminated or
modified) to the Register of Regulations. All proposed revisions, including proposals to eliminate
regulations, shall be conducted in accordance with the APA.

5. No later than one (1) year from the date of this Executive Order, the Governor’s Office shall submit a
report to General Assembly detailing the regulations eliminated or modified pursuant to this process
established herein.

6. The regulatory review process described herein shall re-commence on a recurring basis no later than
three (3) years from the submission to the General Assembly of the report described in paragraph (5)
herein.

APPROVED this 14th day of June, 2012

EXHIBIT A
PUBLIC INPUT PERIODS –

SCHEDULE FOR EXECUTIVE BRANCH AGENCIES

In accordance with the schedule below, each Executive Branch Agency shall solicit input from the business
community, non-profit community and the general public to identify regulations adopted three years ago or more to
be reviewed by the Agency for possible modification or elimination (the “Public Input Period”). As set forth in
paragraph (2) of this Executive Order, each Agency shall conduct at least one public hearing in each county in
accordance with the APA, and shall also accept written submissions.

If an Agency determines that the number or complexity of its regulations requires a longer review period, such
Agency may commence its Public Input Period prior to its corresponding starting date below. However, such
Agency shall in all events comply with the notice provisions of the APA, and in no event may the Public Input Period
be extended beyond the Agency’s corresponding final date below.

AGENCY PUBLIC INPUT PERIOD
Agriculture July 1, 2012 – October 1, 2012
Children, Youth & Their Families (DSCYF) July 1, 2012 – October 1, 2012
Economic Development (DEDO) July 1, 2012 – October 1, 2012
Education July 1, 2012 – October 1, 2012
Finance July 1, 2012 – October 1, 2012
Health & Social Services (DHSS) September 1, 2012 – December 1, 2012
Housing (DSHA) September 1, 2012 – December 1, 2012
Labor September 1, 2012 – December 1, 2012
Management & Budget (OMB) September 1, 2012 – December 1, 2012
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Jack A. Markell,
Governor

Natural Resources & Environmental Control 
(DNREC)

December 1, 2012 – March 1, 2013

Safety and Homeland Security (DSHS) December 1, 2012 – March 1, 2013
State December 1, 2012 – March 1, 2013
Technology & Information (DTI) December 1, 2012 – March 1, 2013
Transportation (DelDOT) December 1, 2012 – March 1, 2013
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR  QUALITY
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
State Implementation Plan (SIP) Revision to address the Clean Air Act Section 110 Infrastructure Elements for

the 2008 Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS)

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC), Division of Air Quality (DAQ) is

proposing to revise the SIP to address the implementation, maintenance, and enforcement of the 2008 8-hour
Ozone NAAQS. 

On March 27, 2008, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) promulgated a new NAAQS for the pollutant
ozone.  The level of the NAAQS was lowered from 0.08 parts per million (ppm) to 0.075 ppm, based on 8-hour
average concentrations.  Pursuant to sections 110(a)(1) and 110(a)(2) of the Clean Air Act (CAA), each State is
required to submit to EPA a SIP to provide for the implementation, maintenance, and enforcement of a newly
promulgated or revised NAAQS.  This SIP fulfills this requirement relative to the 2008 ozone NAAQS.

The SIP document consists of a determination and certification that Delaware has reviewed its SIP and
determined that all elements required in CAA § 110(a)(2) for the 0.075 ppm ozone NAAQS have been met through
earlier SIP submissions in connection with previous ozone standards, dated December 13, 2007, and September
16, 2009.  In addition, a more detailed demonstration detailing how Delaware complies with the requirements of
110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) of the CAA is included.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL: 
None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Statements and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at a public hearing to be held on

Thursday, August 2, 2012 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building Auditorium, 89
Kings Hwy, Dover, DE 19901.  Interested parties may submit comments in writing to:  Ron Amirikian, DNREC
Division of Air Quality, 655 S. Bay RD, Suite 5N, Dover, DE 19901.

7. PREPARED BY:
Ronald A. Amirikian        (302) 739-9402        ronald.amirikian@state.de.us        June 15, 2012

Implementation, Maintenance, And Enforcement of National Ambient Air Quality Standards
Revision to State Implementation Plan for Ozone

June 12, 2012

1.0 Introduction and Background
A State Implementation Plan (“SIP”) is a state plan that identifies how that state will attain and maintain
air quality that conforms to each primary and secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standard
(”NAAQS”).  The SIP is a complex, fluid document containing regulations, source-specific
requirements, and non-regulatory items such as plans and emission inventories.
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Delaware’s initial SIP was approved by the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) on May 31,
1972.  Since this initial approval the Delaware SIP has been revised numerous times to address air
quality non-attainment and maintenance issues. The revisions consisted of updated plans and
inventories, and new and revised regulatory control requirements.  Delaware’s SIP is compiled at 40
C.F.R. Part 52 Subpart I.
Clean Air Act (CAA) § 110(a)(1) and (2) requires states to submit to the EPA SIP revisions that provide
for the implementation, maintenance, and enforcement of any new or revised NAAQS within three
years following the promulgation of such NAAQS.  On March 27, 2008, EPA promulgated a new
NAAQS for the pollutant ozone.  The level of the NAAQS was lowered from 0.08 parts per million
(ppm) to 0.075 ppm, based on 8-hour average concentrations.4  

“Delaware has reviewed its SIP and determined that all elements required in CAA § 110(a)(2)
for the 0.075 ppm ozone NAAQS have been met through earlier SIP submissions in
connection with previous ozone standards.  Discussion of each CAA § 110(a)(2) element was
specifically addressed in formal submittals to the EPA dated December 13, 2007, and
September 16, 2009.  These prior submittals addressed the § 110(a)(2) requirements for the
1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS, and Delaware believes that no changes are needed for Delaware
to implement and enforce the revised 2008 ozone NAAQS.  This letter confirms and certifies
that Delaware’s current SIP is adequate to address all applicable CAA§ 110(a)(2)
requirements for the 0.075 ppm ozone NAAQS.”

This January 17, 2012 letter was based on an October 2, 2007 EPA document, “Guidance on SIP
Elements Required Under Sections 110(a)(1) and (2) for the 1997 8-hour Ozone and PM2.5 National
Ambient Air Quality Standards.”  On March 29, 2012 the EPA returned Delaware’s January 17, 2012
letter as incomplete for two reasons.  First, EPA noted that Delaware’s submittal did not include
documentation to show that it had gone through the notice and hearing requirements of 40 CFR Part
51, Appendix V. 5   Second, EPA indicated that the submittal was incomplete regarding a “negative
declaration”6 related to 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) because “EPA would expect a demonstration that contains
information supporting a claim that a state does not significantly contribute or interfere with
maintenance of the 2008 ozone NAAQS in other states.”  This letter is incorporated here as
Attachment B.
This document is a revision to Delaware’s SIP.  The purpose of this SIP revision is to address the two
EPA comments identified above:  1) that Delaware must provide for public notice pursuant to 40 CFR
Part 51, Appendix V, and 2) that EPA would expect a demonstration that contains information
supporting a claim that a state does not significantly contribute or interfere with maintenance of the
2008 ozone NAAQS in other states.
Delaware is making this submission in absence of any published EPA guidance and is therefore
relying on existing guidance and past practices as well as what Delaware believes to be a rational
approach. Delaware encourages EPA to use this document as a template when formulating its
guidance and require other states to submit similar analysis.

2.0 Certification that all CAA § 110(a)(2) Elements Have Been Met

4.  73 FR 16436, March 27, 2008.  National Ambient Air Quality Standards for Ozone, Final Rule
5.  EPA has apparently abandoned their 2007 guidance, and is now requiring all submissions, including those

where the current SIP is reviewed and certified as being adequate without change, be subject to the SIP revi-
sion requirements of 40 CFR Part 51, Appendix V.

6.  The term “negative declaration” is a term the EPA used in their March 29, 2012 letter.  Delaware agrees that
under no circumstances is a negative declaration appropriate relative to 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I).  For clarity, Dela-
ware has, and is, basing its confirmation and certification that it has complied with 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) on the ade-
quate provisions in its SIP.
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Delaware has reviewed its SIP and determined that all elements required in CAA § 110(a)(2) for the
0.075 ppm ozone NAAQS have been met through earlier SIP submissions in connection with previous
ozone standards.  Discussion of each CAA § 110(a)(2) element was specifically addressed in formal
submittals to the EPA dated December 13, 2007, and September 16, 2009.  These prior submittals
addressed the § 110(a)(2) requirements for the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS, and Delaware believes
that no changes are needed for Delaware to implement and enforce the revised 2008 ozone NAAQS.
Those documents are incorporated here again and submitted as attachments C and D.  This SIP
revision confirms and certifies that Delaware’s current SIP is adequate to address all applicable CAA§
110(a)(2) requirements for the 0.075 ppm ozone NAAQS.

3.0 Demonstration of Adequate Provisions in SIP (CAA § 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I))
Delaware has been non-attainment for the pollutant ozone since a standard was first established in 1971.

Over the past 40 years Delaware has learned that transport is very significant relative to ozone, and that the only
way to reduce ozone concentrations is to reduce the volatile organic compound (VOC) and nitrogen oxides (NOx)
emissions that are causing them.  Over the last twenty years Delaware has adopted and implemented SIP
provisions that cover all VOC and NOx emitting sources and source categories, and all such emissions in
Delaware are now well controlled.  These SIP provisions have eliminated Delaware’s significant contribution to
both its own unhealthy air quality, and the air quality of all downwind areas.7

CAA § 110(a)(2)(D) requires Delaware’s SIP to “Contain adequate provisions – (i) prohibiting, consistent  with
the  provisions of this title, any source or other type of emissions activity within the State from emitting any air
pollutant in amounts which will - (I) contribute significantly to non-attainment in, or interfere with maintenance by,
any other State with respect to any such national primary or secondary ambient air quality standard, or (II) interfere
with measures required to be included in the applicable implementation plan for any other State under part C to
prevent significant deterioration of air quality or to protect visibility, (ii) insuring compliance with the applicable
requirements of sections 126  and 115  (relating to interstate and international pollution abatement).”

Based on EPA’s Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) modeling,8 the provisions in Delaware’s SIP were
demonstrated by the EPA to be adequate provisions that satisfy CAA § 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) relative to the 0.08ppm
ozone NAAQS. This SIP revision demonstrates that these same provisions in Delaware’s SIP also satisfy CAA §
110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) for the 0.075 ppm ozone NAAQS.  This demonstration was specifically requested by the EPA in
its March 29, 2012 letter.

3.1 Delaware’s SIP includes measures that cover its entire emissions inventory
A periodic emissions inventory (PEI) is a comprehensive emissions inventory that quantifies the VOC
and NOx emission from every source or other type emitting activity within a State.  PEIs are developed
every three years, and 2008 is the year of Delaware’s most current (PEI).  Delaware’s PEI
encompasses all emissions that could violate CAA § 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) with respect to the ozone
NAAQS.
Year 2008 NOx emissions and VOC emissions were sorted from highest to lowest, and are
summarized in Chart 1 and Chart 2.  Many of Delaware’s VOC and NOx control measures were not
fully in effect in 2008.  In order to demonstrate the effectiveness of Delaware’s control measures Chart
1 and Chart 2 also include corresponding 2014 projected NOx and VOC emissions from EPAs Cross
State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) 2014 base case modeling inventory.9 
Table 3-1 below details VOC and NOx emissions from Delaware’s 2008 PEI and EPA’s 2014 base
case CSAPR inventory.  Included in Table 3-1 is every Delaware stationary source/source category
that emitted equal to or greater than 25 tons per year (TPY) of either VOC or NOx, and that made up
the top 99% of Delaware’s VOC and NOx inventory.  Table 3-1 is generally sorted from the largest
Delaware source/source category, to the smallest, based on the 2008 PEI.  For each source or source
category in Table 3-1 the current applicable Delaware control measures are discussed, along with any
identified additional measures that could be adopted into Delaware’s SIP.

7.  Delaware’s air quality remains unhealthy because other upwind States have not done the same.
8.  76 FR 48208, August 8, 2011. The Cross-State Air Pollution Rule, Final Rule
9.  ftp://ftp.epa.gov/EmisInventory/2005v4_2/2014emis/
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Chart 3-1:  Delaware 2008 PEI vs CSAPR 2014 NOx Emissions

Chart 3-2:  Delaware 2008 PEI vs CSAPR 2014 VOC Emissions

Table 3-1

FACILITY NAME 
/ Source 
Category

2008 DE 
Periodic 
Emission 
Inventory

2014 CSAPR 
Base Case 
Inventory

Description of Control Measures 
in Delaware's SIP

Potential Additional Control 
Measures

NOx  
(TPY)

VOC 
(TPY)

NOx  
(TPY)

VOC 
(TPY)
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On-Road Mobile 

41% of 2008 NOx 
Inventory

27% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

18206 7322 13959 6744 

New vehicles must meet California
vehicle emission standards (CA
LEV 2) under 7 DE Admin. Code
1140.

New and existing vehicles must be
maintained under Delaware’s
vehicle Inspection and
Maintenance program, 7 DE
Admin. Code 1126 and 1131.

Extended idling of heavy duty
vehicles is prohibited under 7 DE
Admin Code 1145.

Overall on-road mobile emissions
are capped in each of Delaware’s
three counties by ozone SIP
budgets, which are managed
under 7 DE Admin. Code 1132,
transportation conformity.

Delaware has no authority under
the CAA to further regulate
tailpipe emissions.
The next level of control would be
to upgrade Sussex County’s
Basic I/M program to the Low
Enhanced I/M program that is
implemented in Kent and New
Castle County.  Delaware
estimates this could reduce NOx
emission by up to 292 TPY and
VOC by up to 255 TPY, at a cost
of 5,317 $/ton.
Aside from I/M program upgrades,
all other identified measures are
in the form of transportation
control measures (TCMs), which
generally gain small incremental
reductions (i.e., on the order of
tons per year, not hundreds of
tons per year), and that have a $/
ton cost of $50,000 to over $1
million.

Off-Road Mobile 
(non-road, 
commercial 

marine, aircraft, 
locomotive)

23% of 2008 NOx 
Inventory

27% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

10518 7268 10177 4738

These categories are subject to
applicable federal measures only.

Delaware has limited authority
under the CAA to regulate off-
road mobile sources.  
Delaware, as part of the Ozone
Transport Commission (OTC), is
currently evaluating the feasibility
of an off-road anti-idling
regulation.  
Other potential measures include
programs such as lawn-mower
trade-in programs which generally
gain small incremental reductions
(i.e., on the order of tenths of a
ton to several tons per year), and
that have a $/ton cost of $50,000
to over $1 million.
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NRG Indian River
Power Plant

15% of 2008 NOx
Inventory

6579 40 0a 0.3

Emissions are from four coal fired
electric generating units (EGUs).  

Each of the four units installed low
NOx burners under 7 DE Admin
Code 1112 (NOx RACT).  

Units 1-3 are required to shutdown
by consent order. 
Unit 2 was shutdown 5/2010
Unit 1 was shutdown 5/2011
Unit 3 is required to be shutdown in
12/2013, and in the interim has
been controlled by installation of an
SNCR system to supplement the
existing low-NOx burners.

Unit 4 has installed SCR
technology and is subject to a NOx
limitation of 0.1 lb/mmBTU, 24-
hour average, under 7 DE Admin
Code 1146, and an associated
consent order.  

Unit 4 will be the only remaining
coal fired unit in Delaware upon full
implementation of the control
measures currently being
implemented.

Pipeline natural gas is not
available as a generation fuel at
this facility, and none of the units
have natural gas firing capability
in their current configuration.
• As Units 1 and 2 have

already been shut down,
there are no actions that
could be taken to further
reduce the NOx emissions
from these two units.

• With regards to Indian River
Unit 3, SCR is the only
commercially available
technology capable of
attaining additional NOx
emission rate reductions
beyond the capabilities of the
currently installed NOx
reduction technologies (low-
NOx burners and SNCR).
However, the amount of time
involved in the engineering,
procurement, installation, and
startup of an SCR system for
Unit 3 would exceed the time
available before the
scheduled shutdown of the
unit (18 month through
December 2013). Therefore
there are no additional NOx
emission rate controls
available to reduce the NOx
emissions rate from this unit
between the current date and
the unit’s scheduled
shutdown.

An SCR system has already been
installed on Unit 4 that, in
conjunction with its existing low-
NOx burners and turbo-furnace
design, has allowed Unit to
demonstrate compliance with the
unit’s 0.1 lb/MMBTU, 24-hour
average NOx emissions rate limit.
No commercially available NOx
emission controls have been
demonstrated to achieve NOx
emission rate reductions beyond
those achievable utilizing SCR.
Therefore there are no additional
NOx emissions rate reduction
capabilities available for this unit.
Delaware concludes that there
are no additional economically
and technologically feasible
means of reducing the NOx
emissions rate from these units.
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Delaware City 
Refinery

6% of 2008 NOx 
Inventory

2% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

2525 597 2367 b 665

The Delaware City Refinery is a
petroleum refinery.   

NOx emissions are controlled
under 7 DE Admin Code 1112
(NOx RACT), and also under a
NOx cap/PAL established pursuant
to Section 2.0 of 7 DE Admin Code
1142 and 1125.  The NOx cap
began in 2011 at 2,525 TPY (i.e.,
actual 2008 emission levels), and
decreases to 1,650 TPY beginning
2015. 

VOC emissions are subject to 7 DE
Admin Code 1124 (VOC RACT).  In
addition, numerous sources at the
facility are subject to emission
limits established under 7 DE
Admin. Code 1125 (LAER plus
offsets).

.

Delaware’s March 15, 2011 SIP
revision, “Demonstration that
Amendments to Section 2.0 of 7
DE Admin Code 1142, Control of
NOx Emissions from Industrial
Boilers and Process Heaters at
Petroleum Refineries Do not
Interfere with Any Applicable
Requirement of the Clean Air Act”
provides a detailed discussion of
the facility-wide NOx cap.
The following information
demonstrates the stringency of
the facility-wide NOx cap:
Thirteen of the refineries industrial
boilers were subject to the EPA
NOx SIP Call, which was
implemented in Delaware under 7
DE Admin Code 1139.  
The initial 2,525 NOx cap is
significantly less than annualized
NOx SIP Call capc, 3,333, which
indicates that implementation of
RACT and NSR at the refinery
have resulted in the
implementation of NOx controls at
the refinery.  
The 1,650 TPY NOx cap
represents a 35% reduction
beyond RACT limits (i.e., actual
2008 levels), and more than an
additional 50% reduction below
NOx SIP Call levels.  In addition,
all future growth at the refinery
must occur under this NOx cap.  
Delaware concludes that it is not
feasible to lower the NOx cap at
this time, and that NOx emission
cannot be significantly reduced
from the refinery in the context of
this SIP.  In addition, no additional
VOC reduction measures have
been identified.
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Commercial/
Consumer 
Products

9% of 2008 VOC  
Inventory

0 2345 0 2531

Commercial and consumer
products are defined as non-
industrial products used around the
home, office, institution, or similar
settings.  Included are hundreds of
individual products, including
personal care products (SCC
2460100000), household products
(SCC 2460200000), automotive
aftermarket products (SCC
2460400000), coatings and related
products (SCC 2460500000),
adhesives and sealants (SCC
2460600000), Federal Insecticide,
Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act
(FIFRA) related products (SCC
2460800000), and other
miscellaneous products (SCC
2460900000).  The VOCs in these
products may act either as the
carriers for the active product
ingredients or as the active
ingredients themselves.  

This category has undergone three
rounds of regulation in Delaware.
First under a 1998 National Rule
(63 FR 48819), then under a more
stringent 2002 Delaware regulation
(Section 2.0 of 7 DE Admin. Code
1141) which was based on a OTC
model rule, and finally, under an
update to Section 2.0 of 7 DE
Admin. Code 1141 which was
based on a 2006 revised OTC
model rule, and which had a 2009
compliance date.

Delaware’s SIP currently contains
the most stringent provisions
feasible at this point (i.e., those of
the most recent OTC model rule
adopted by any state).  d

Delaware does not have the
authority to directly regulate
manufacturers outside of the
boundaries of the State of
Delaware.  Because of this, the
only means available to Delaware
to regulate emission in this
category is to regulate the
allowable VOC content of
products sold in Delaware.  

Delaware represents a very small
market share to these
manufacturers and any attempt by
Delaware to further reduce
allowable VOC content on our
own would result in the
manufacturers not selling in
Delaware, rather than  having the
desired effect of reformulation to
lower VOC emitting products.  In
other words, Delaware’s market
share alone is not large enough
for manufacturers to justify the
expense of reformulating their
products.  Separate from a
national or regional rule, it is not
feasible for Delaware to regulate
this category further. e
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Commercial/
Institutional/

Residential Fuel 
Combustion (Area 
Source Category)

5% of 2008 NOx 
Inventory

2113 95 2109 105

The commercial/institutional fuel
combustion category includes
small boilers, furnaces, heaters,
and other heating units too small to
be considered point sources. The
commercial/institutional sector
includes wholesale and retail
businesses; health institutions;
social and educational institutions;
and federal, state, and local
governments (i.e., prisons, office
buildings) and are defined by SIC
codes 50-99. The fuel types
included in this source category
are coal (SCC 2103002000),
distillate oil (SCC 2103004000),
residual oil (SCC 2103005000),
natural gas (SCC 2103006000),
and liquefied petroleum gas (LPG)
(SCC 2103007000). Uses of
natural gas and LPG in this sector
include space heating, water
heating, and cooking. Uses of
distillate oil and kerosene include
space and water heating.

Emissions in this category are from
many small units throughout the
State, where facility-wide VOC and
NOx emissions are generally less 5
TPY and 25 TPY, respectively (i.e.,
those not covered in the point
source inventory).  
7 DE Admin Code 1112 requires
the control of NOx emissions from
fuel burning equipment. Under
1112, units with maximum rated
heat input capacities equal to or
larger than 50 MMBtu/hr must be
controlled by installation of either
low excess air and low NOx burner
technology or flue gas recirculation
technology.  Units between 15 and
50 MMBtu/hr must receive an
annual tune up performed by
qualified personnel to minimize
NOx emissions.  Most commercial/
institutional combustion units are
subject to the annual tune-up
requirements, or are less than
15MMBtu/hr and are exempt from
the requirements of 1112.

Additional control measures for
this category are possible.  7 DE
Admin. Code 1112 could be
revised to achieve some
additional NOx reductions:

• 1112 could be revised such
that it is applicable to
combustion units at facilities
with the potential to emit less
than major thresholds; and
the low-end exemption of
1112 could be revised from
15MMBTU/hr to 5MMBTU/hr.
Covered units would be
predominately small units
subject to annual tune-ups,
and a NOx reduction of about
5% from each subject unit.
Conservatively assuming that
all emissions in this category
would be impacted by the
new requirement, this
measure is estimated to have
the potential to reduce 2012
NOx emissions by up to 60
TPY, at a cost of over
$36,701/ton.

• 1112 could be revised to
require boilers in the 25
MMBTU/hr – 50 MMBTU/hr
size range to install either low
excess air and low NOx
burner technology or flue gas
recirculation technology.
This would reduce NOx by up
to 50% for each subject unit.
Conservatively assuming that
all emissions in this category
would be impacted, this
measure has the potential to
reduce 2012 NOx emissions
by up to 600 TPY, at a cost of
more than $30,577/ton.

Other measures could likely be
identified at similar reductions and
cost effectiveness.   
Given the high control costs, and
the large number of very small
sources in this category, this
category is best regulated through
turnover of equipment.f   
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Calpine - Edge 
Moor (Conectiv)

4% of 2008 NOx 
Inventory

1980 31 752 16

This facility is a power plant that
consists of three gas/oil fired
EGUs. (i.e., 86 MW, 174 MW, and
450 MW).

NOx emissions are regulated
under 7 DE Admin Code 1112
(NOx RACT), and 7 DE Admin
Code 1146 (NOx, SO2 and Hg
BACT).  

1146 requirements are phased in
between 2009 and 2012.  1146
includes both a unit specific annual
NOx cap, and a 0.125 lb/MMBTU
emission limitation, demonstrated
on a rolling 24-hour average basis. 

All units complied with 1112
through the installation of low NOx
burners.  As a result of Delaware’s
7 DE Admin Code 1146 and a
related Consent Decree, Calpine’s
(formerly Conectiv) Edge Moor
Electric Generating Station was
required to take actions that have
significantly reduced the NOx
emissions rate from the electric
generating units at that site. Units 3
and 4 have both been modified
with additional NOx emissions
controls:  low-NOx burners,
overfire air, and SNCR.  Unit 5’s
primary fuel is residual fuel oil, and
incorporates low-NOx burners,
overfire air, and SNCR for NOx
emissions rate reduction.  As of
January 1, 2012, each unit has a
NOx emissions rate limit of 0.125
lb/MMBTU, calculated on a rolling
24-hr basis. Each of these units in
2011 had an average annual NOx
emissions rate of less than 0.1 lb/
MMBTU.

Note that implementation of
regulation 1146  is not reflected in
the 2008 inventory, but appears to
be reflected in the EPA CSAPR
2014 inventory.  

SCR is the most effective
commercially available NOx
emissions control technology
available for a gas/oil fired steam
generating units such as these at
the Calpine-Edge Moor facility.
Additional control is possible by
replacing the existing SNCR
technology with SCR technology
on each of the three EGUs 

• Unit 3:  .The estimated
incremental cost of reducing
the NOx emission rate lower
than the unit’s 2011 annual
average value (assuming a
10 year life, using the 2011
annual heat input, and using
a 0.04 lb/MMBTU attainable
NOx emissions rate
basement) is $26,348 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduced. This would reduce
mass emissions by 32% (37
TPY based on actual 2011
data).

Unit 4:  The estimated
incremental cost of reducing
the NOx emission rate lower
than the unit’s 2011 annual
average value (assuming a 10
year life, using the 2011
annual heat input, and using a
0.04 lb/MMBTU attainable
NOx emissions rate
basement) is $10,145 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduced. This would reduce
mass emissions by 57% (80
TPY based on actual 2011
data).

• Unit 5: The estimated
incremental cost of reducing
the NOx emission rate lower
than the unit’s 2011 annual
average value (assuming a
10 year life, using the 2011
annual heat input, and using
a 0.04 lb/MMBTU attainable
NOx emissions rate
basement) is $37,277 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduced. This would reduce
mass emissions by 57% (50
TPY based on actual 2011
data).
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OSG Ship 
Management 

6% of 2008 VOC  
Inventory

0 1522 0 1939

Lightering emissions are controlled
by vapor balancing under Section
46 of 7 DE Admin. Code 1124.
Emission limitations are phased in
between 2008 and 2012.  In 2012
and beyond, lightering emissions
are capped (i.e., all crude oil
lightering emissions plus growth) at
43% of actual 2005 levels. 

Lightering restricted on ozone
action days.

Vapor balance required on all
transfers capable of vapor
balancing.

Feasible control technology was
determined to be limited to vapor
balance due to operation in the
marine environment.  

Additional controls beyond vapor
balancing are not feasible.  

Residential Wood 
Combustion

4% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

88 948 73 2243 g

Delaware does not regulate this
category in its SIP.

Given Delaware's climate this
activity generally occurs outside
the ozone season, so additional
control beyond the federal NSPS
is not warranted.

Invista

2% of 2008 NOx 
Inventory

941 26 18 26

The Invista-Seaford facility 
includes two steam boilers.

The first is a 94 MMBTU/hr 
package boiler firing pipeline 
natural gas or #2 fuel oil, utilizes 
flue gas recirculation for NOx 
control in compliance with 7 DE 
Admin Code 1112 and operates 
in compliance with its permitted 
NOx mass emissions limit of 39 
tons/year and a permitted NOx 
emissions rate of 0.10 lb/MMBTU 
when firing natural gas and 0.11 
lb/MMBTU when firing #2 fuel oil.

The second is a 220 MMBTU/hr 
boiler firing pipeline natural gas 
or #2 fuel oil, utilizes layered 
NOx reduction technologies to 
meet the requirements of 7 DE 
Admin Code 1112 and 40 CFR 
Part 60 Subpart Db. The NOx 
reduction technologies utilized on 
this boiler are low NOx burners, 
flue gas recirculation, and 
SCR.…. with a permitted NOx 
mass emissions limit of 118 tons 
per year firing #2 fuel oil and 12 
tons per year firing natural gas, 
and a permitted NOx emissions 
rate of 0.20 lb/MMBTU 
calculated on a 30 day rolling 
average

For the 94 MMBTU/hr package 
boiler, SCR is the most effective 
commercially available NOx 
reduction technology applicable 
to oil/gas fired boilers. The 
estimated incremental cost of 
reducing NOx emissions rate 
below the permitted NOx 
emissions rate of 0.10 lb/
MMBTU (assuming 10 year life, 
permitted NOx annual mass 
emissions limit of 39 tons/year, 
permitted NOx emissions rate of 
0.10 lb/MMBTU, and using a 
0.04 lb/MMBTU attainable NOx 
emissions rate basement) is 
$10,900 per ton of NOx 
reduced.

For the 220 MMBTU/hr boiler 
SCR is the most effective NOx 
reduction technology applicable 
to oil/gas fired boilers. As this 
unit already incorporates SCR 
technology, there are no more 
effective NOx reduction 
technologies commercially 
available to further reduce the 
NOx emissions rate from this 
boiler
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Architectural and 
Industrial 

Maintenance 
(AIM) Coatings 
(Area Source 

Category) 

3% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

0 938 0 1006

Architectural surface coating
operations consist of applying a
thin layer of coating such as paint,
paint primer, varnish, or lacquer to
architectural surfaces, and the use
of solvents as thinners and for
cleanup. Surface coatings include
either a water-based or solvent-
based liquid carrier that generally
evaporates in the curing process.
Architectural surface coatings are
applied to protect the substrate
and/or to increase the aesthetic
value of a structure.

Industrial maintenance coatings
include primers, sealers,
undercoats, and intermediate and
topcoats formulated for and
applied to substrates in industrial,
commercial, coastal, or institutional
situations that are exposed to
extreme environmental and
physical conditions. These
conditions include immersion in
water, chemical solutions and
corrosives, and exposures to high
temperatures.

AIM coatings are regulated under
Section 1 of 7 DE Admin. Code
1141.  This regulation is based on
an Ozone Transport Commission
(OTC) model rule (which was
based on California regulations),
and which is much more stringent
than the current federal rule.  The
compliance date of this regulation
was 1/1/2005.

Delaware’s SIP currently contains
the most stringent provisions
feasible at this point (i.e., those of
the most recent OTC model rule
adopted by any state)h.  

Delaware does not have the
authority to directly regulate
manufacturers outside of the
boundaries of the State of
Delaware.  Because of this, the
only means available to Delaware
to regulate emission in this
category is to regulate the
allowable VOC content of
products sold in Delaware.  

Delaware represents a very small
market share to these
manufacturers and any attempt by
Delaware to further reduce
allowable VOC content on our
own would result in the
manufacturers not selling in
Delaware, rather than  having the
desired effect of reformulation to
lower VOC emitting products.  In
other words, Delaware’s market
share alone is not large enough
for manufacturers to justify the
expense of reformulating their
products.  Separate from a
national or regional rule, it is not
feasible for Delaware to regulate
this category further. 

Land application 
of Ag. Herbicides/

pesticides

3% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

0 853 0 343i

None. Regulation of this category is not
feasible by the State of Delaware.

The only identified potential
control measure for this source
category is to reduce the VOC
content of the herbicide/pesticide.
Delaware does not command
sufficient market share for this to
be feasible.  This category is best
regulated by the EPA under a
national rule.
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Gasoline 
Marketing - 

Portable Fuel 
Containers

3% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

0 712 0 224

Portable fuel containers are
regulated nationally by the EPA
under 40 CFR Part 59, Subpart F.

No control measures to further
reduce emission from this
category have been identified.

Graphic Arts 
(Area Source 

Category)

2% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

0    575 0    559

Printing operations are a source
of VOC emissions due to the
volatile organic content of inks
and thinners used in the industry.
It is estimated that, on average,
half of the graphic arts
establishments are in-house
printing services in non-printing
industries. The remaining
establishments are located at
businesses whose main function
is printing or graphic arts. Large
printing operations with VOC
emissions of 10 TPY or more are
included in the point source
inventory.

All sources with maximum
theoretical emissions equal to or
greater than 7.7 TPY are subject
to the CTG based requirements in
Section 37 of 7 DE Admin Code
1124 (VOC RACT). 

Offset lithographic and letterpress
emission sources with maximum
theoretical emissions equal to or
greater than 15 pounds per day
are subject to the CTG based
requirements in Section 47 of 7
DE Admin Code 1124 (VOC
RACT).

Delaware’s SIP currently
contains the most stringent
identified provisions feasible at
this point (i.e., those of the most
recent EPA CTGs).  
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Retail Gasoline
Marketing –
• Stage I Vapor

Recovery 
• Stage II

Vapor
Recovery 

• Tank
Breathing 

• Trucks in
Transit

0 525 0 633

Stage I emissions (i.e., tank truck
refilling of storage tanks) are
controlled by vapor balancing
under Section 26 of 7 DE Admin.
Code 1124 (VOC RACT).

Stage II emissions (i.e., refueling of
vehicles) are controlled by vapor
balancing under Section 36 of 7
DE Admin. Code 1124 (VOC
RACT).

Gasoline tank breathing emissions
are subject to annual leak testing
and permitting requirements under
Section 36 of 7 DE Admin. Code
1124 (VOC RACT)
Gasoline tank truck emissions are
subject to annual leak testing and
permitting requirements under
Section 27 of 7 DE Admin. Code
1124 (VOC RACT).

No control measures to further
reduce emission from Tank
Breathing, and trucks in transit
have been identified.

Additional reductions could be
achieved by revising Stage I and
Stage II requirements to California
EVR requirements.  This could
reduce Delaware VOC emissions
by up to 400 TPY, at a cost of
$7,640/ton.

Industrial 
Adhesives (Area 
Source Category)

2% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

0 461 0 0 j

Regulated under Section 4.0 of 7
DE Admin. Code 1141.  1141 is
much more stringent than the most
recent EPA CTG, and has broader
coverage than the CTG (i.e., it
covers field applied roofing
adhesives and sealants not
covered by the CTG).  These
requirements took effect on 5/1/
2009.

Delaware’s SIP represents the
current level of technology for this
source category. 

Additional regulation of this
category is not feasible at this
time.

NRG Energy 
Center Dover 358 2 293 2

Emissions are from one
cogeneration unit, and two
combustion turbines.  

All units are subject to RACT under
7 DE Admin Code 1112 (NOx
RACT), and PTE limits under 7 DE
Admin. Code 1125.  The
combustion turbines are subject to
NSPS under 7 DE Admin Code
1120 and 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart
GG.  

The owner operator has applied
for a permit to repower the
existing coal fired cogeneration
boiler with a heat recovery boiler
and convert one combustion
turbine to combined cycle
operation.  When the first
combustion turbine is converted
to combined cycle, the unit will be
subject to NSPS under 7 DE
Admin Code 1120 and 40 CFR
Part 60 Subpart Db.  

The owner operator has
requested a permit NOx
emissions limit of 2.5 ppmvd for
the repowered, combined cycle
unit.

Additional controls are not
feasible.
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Auto body 
Refinishing

1% of 2008 VOC  
Inventory

0 320 0 141

Auto refinishing is the repairing of
worn or damaged automobiles,
light trucks, and other vehicles, and
refers to any coating applications
that occur subsequent to those at
original equipment manufacturer
(OEM) assembly plants (i.e.,
coating of new cars is not included
in this category). The majority of
these operations occur at small
body shops that repair and refinish
automobiles. This category covers
solvent emissions from the
refinishing of automobiles,
including paint solvents, thinning
solvents, and solvents used for
surface preparation and cleanup.

Autobody refinishing is regulated
under Section 11 of 7 DE Admin
Code 1124.  This source category
has undergone three rounds of
regulation in Delaware since 1990
(i.e., 1st CTG RACT, then OTC
Model Rule 1 in 2002, and now
OTC Model Rule 2 which had a
compliance date of 1/1/2012).  

Note that implementation of
Delaware’s 1/1/2012 regulation is
not reflected in the 2008 inventory,
but appears to be reflected in the
EPA CSAPR 2014 inventory.  

Delaware’s SIP represents the
current level of technology for this
source category.

Gasoline 
Marketing - CMV 

Evaporation 
Losses

0 309 0 496

Not regulated beyond any
applicable federal measures.

No control measures to reduce
emission from this category have
been identified.
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Degreasing (Area 
Source Category) 

1% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

0 308 0
1174k

Solvent cleaning is the process of
using organic solvents to remove
grease, fats, oils, wax or soil from
various metal, glass, or plastic
items. Non-aqueous solvents such
as petroleum distillates, chlorinated
hydrocarbons, ketones, and
alcohols have been used
historically; however, the use of
aqueous cleaning systems for
some applications has recently
gained acceptance. 
The types of equipment used in
this method are categorized as
cold cleaners, open top vapor
degreasers, or conveyorized
degreasers. 

Degreasing is regulated under
Section 33 of 7 DE Admin. Code
1124.  This category has
undergone two rounds of
regulation in Delaware (i.e., 1st
CTG RACT, then OTC Model Rule
1 in 2002).  This category is
regulated much more stringently
than required by the CTG.

A new OTC model rule was
approved at the May 2012 OTC
spring meeting.  No state has yet
adopted this rule.  Delaware is
evaluating for adoption as it may
have the potential to further
reduce VOC emissions from this
category in the future.   

Chrysler 
(DaimlerChrysler) 

1% of 2008 VOC  
Inventory  

34 260 0 0

This facility was an automobile
assembly plant.

NOx and VOC emissions were
subject to 7 DE Admin Code 1112
(NOx RACT) and 1124 (VOC
RACT), and the facility was
covered under a VOC/NOx PAL
issued pursuant to 7 DE Admin
Code 1125.  

This facility is now shutdown.

This facility is now shut-down.

Evraz Claymont 
Steel

190 67 133 74

This facility is a 500,000 TPY steel
plate manufacture, with the main
emission source being an electric
arc furnace.  

NOx emissions from the EAF are
limited by proper operation of the
EAF (SIP approved alternate NOx
RACT).  VOC emissions are
exempted from RACT.

NOx emissions from the reheat
furnace limited to 0.25 lb/mmbtu
under 7 DE Admin Code 1112
(alternate NOx RACT).  

No control measures to further
reduce NOx or VOC emissions
from an EAF have been identified.
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Calpine - Hay 
Road (Conectiv)

1% of 2008 NOx 
Inventory

202 11 467 18

This facility is a power plant that
consists of six combined cycle gas
fired (oil backup) EGUs.

Units 1-3 are subject to 7 DE
Admin Code 1112 (NOx RACT)
limits of 25 to 88 ppm, 1-hour
average, depending on fuel and
firing mode.  Units 5-7 are subject
to 7 DE Admin. Code 1112, plus
they are controlled by SCR as
required by 7 DE Admin. Code
1125 (NOx LAER plus offsets).

SCR is the most effective
commercially available NOx
emission control technology
commercially available for
combustion turbine and combined
cycle electric generating units
such as those installed at Hay
Road.  

Hay Road units 5, 6 and 7 already
incorporate SCR.  

It is technically feasible to retrofit
SCR on the Hay Road units 1, 2,
and 3 that do not presently
incorporate SCR.  Assuming a 10-
year life and using the 2011
annual heat input, it is estimated
that the incremental cost of
reducing NOx for Hay Road units
1, 2, and 3 collectively is
approximately $8,800 per
incremental ton of NOx reduced.
This would reduce NOx mass
emissions by approximately 72%
.(354 TPY based on actual 2011
data).

Industrial Surface 
Coatings (Area 

Source Category)

(1% of 2008 VOC 
Inventory

0 201 0 375l

This source category is covered
under Section 1 of 7 DE Admin.
Code 1141 and several section of
CTG based 7 DE Admin. Code
1124.

 

Delaware’s SIP represents the
current level of technology for this
source category. 
Additional regulation of this
category is not feasible at this
time. 

Sunoco 83 94 108 49

This facility was subject to 7 DE
Admin. Code 1112 (NOx RACT)
and 1124 (VOC RACT).  It was
subject to beyond-RACT NOx
control under Section 1 of 7 DE
Admin. Code 1142.  

The facility is now shutdown.

Gasoline 
Marketing – 
Airports and 

Marinas
0 175 0 61

Stage I emissions are controlled by
vapor balancing under Section 26
of 7 DE Admin. Code 1124 (VOC
RACT).

No control measures to further
reduce emission from this
category have been identified.
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DuPont 
Experimental 

Station

156 6 184 11

NOx emissions are substantially
from four oil fired 96 mmBTU/hr
boilers.  

Each boiler is equipped with low
NOx burner and low excess air
technology under 7 DE Admin
Code 1112 (NOx RACT).

SNCR and SCR are technically
feasible post-combustion NOx
reduction technologies applicable
to oil fired boilers.  

• The estimated cost
effectiveness for retrofit of
SNCR on these boilers
ranges from $2,070 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to $7,270 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to achieve an
overall reduction of 40% in
NOx emissions.  

• The estimated cost
effectiveness for retrofit of
SCR on these boilers
ranges from $5,290 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to $6,925 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to achieve an
overall reduction of 70% in
NOx emissions.

DuPont - Edge 
Moor 32 100 35 116

NOx emissions are from small (<50
mmBTU/hr) combustion units,
which are subject to annual tune-
up requirements to minimize NOx
under 7 DE Admin Code 1112
(NOx RACT).  

VOC emissions are subject to an
81% reduction under Section 50 of
7 DE Admin Code 1124 (VOC
RACT).

No control measures to further
reduce emission from this facility
have been identified.

General Motors 25 83 56 64

This facility was an automobile
assembly plant.

This facility was subject to 7 DE
Admin. Code 1112 (NOx RACT)
and 1124 (VOC RACT).  

The facility is now shut down.

Dover Air Force 
Base

39 31 48 67

This facility is a U.S. Air Force
Base.  

VOC emissions from the facility
have been reduce by more than
81% since 1990 under 
7 DE Admin Code 1124 (VOC
RACT).  NOx emissions are
primarily from four gas fired central
heat plant boilers, which are
controlled by low NOx burners
installed pursuant to 7 DE Admin.
Code 1112 (NOx RACT).

No feasible control measures to
further reduce emission from this
facility have been identified.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012



GENERAL NOTICES132
Formosa Plastics 25 42 34 58

This is a plastics material and resin
manufacturing facility.

NOx emissions are from a 30 and a
40 mmBTU/hr boiler, subject to
annual tune-up requirements to
minimize NOx emissions under 7
DE Admin Code 1112 (NOx
RACT). 

VOC emissions are from various
storage tanks and reactors that are
controlled by primary and
secondary thermal oxidizers, with
scrubbers under 7 DE Admin Code
1124 (VOC RACT) and federal
NESHAP requirements.

SNCR and SCR are technically
feasible post-combustion NOx
reduction technologies applicable
to oil and gas fired boilers.  

• The estimated cost
effectiveness for retrofit of
SNCR on these boilers
ranges from $5,540 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to $19,450 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to achieve an
overall reduction of 40% in
NOx emissions.  

• The estimated cost
effectiveness for retrofit of
SCR on these boilers
ranges from $12,100 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to $15,900 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to achieve an
overall reduction of  80% in
NOx emissions. 

No control measures to further
reduce VOC  emissions from this
facility have been identified

DSWA Southern 
Landfill

38 28 8 13

Landfill emissions are controlled by
a gas collection system and flare
pursuant to 40 CFR Part 62,
Subpart I and Part 63, Subpart
AAA.

No control measures to further
reduce emission from this facility
have been identified.
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Croda 49 10 2 12

NOx emissions are from a
75mmbtu/hr and a 115mmbtu/hr
boiler, both equipped with low NOx
burners/low excess air technology
pursuant to 7 DE Admin. Code
1112 (NOx RACT).  In addition,
NOx from this facility are covered
under a NSR PAL.

SNCR and SCR are technically
feasible post-combustion NOx
reduction technologies applicable
to gas and oil fired boilers.  

• The estimated cost
effectiveness for retrofit of
SNCR on these boilers
ranges from $69,200 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to $104,000 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to achieve an
overall reduction of 40% in
NOx emissions.  

• The estimated cost
effectiveness for retrofit of
SCR on these boilers
ranges from $374,300 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to $557,000 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to achieve an
overall reduction of 70% in
NOx emissions.

Given that these units are already
controlled, and that emissions are
projected to be low in the future,
additional control beyond RACT is
not warranted in the context of
CAA 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I).    

Prescribed Fires 16 35 5 51

Open burning is restricted under 7
DE Admin. Code 1113.  

The limited burning allowed under
1113 is substantially limited to
outside the ozone season.
Additional controls are not
feasible.  

Traffic Markings 
(Area Source 

Category)
48 0 100 m

Section 1 of 7 DE Admin. Code
1141

This category is currently
regulated at the level of
demonstrated technology.
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DuPont - 
Chestnut Run

45 2 51 3

48 mmbtu/hr boiler subject to
annual tune-up to minimize NOx
emission under 7 DE Admin Code
1112 (NOx RACT).  96 mmbtu/hr
boiler equipped with low NOx
burner and low excess air
technology under 7 DE Admin
Code 1112 (NOx RACT).  Vapor
degreaser and other VOC
emission points subject to 7 DE
Admin Code 1124 (VOC RACT).

SNCR and SCR are technically
feasible post-combustion NOx
reduction technologies applicable
to oil fired boilers.  

• The estimated cost
effectiveness for retrofit of
SNCR on these boilers
ranges from $3220 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to $7330 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to achieve an
overall reduction of 40% in
NOx emissions.  

• The estimated cost
effectiveness for retrofit of
SCR on these boilers
ranges from $10,550 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to $15,580 per
incremental ton of NOx
reduction to achieve an
overall reduction of 70% in
NOx emissions.

Given that these units are already
controlled, and that emissions are
projected to be low in the future,
additional control beyond RACT is
not warranted in the context of
CAA 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I).    

Printpack 2 42 6 104

The emissions from the facility are
from seven flexographic printing
presses, a photopolymer plate
making system, and automatic
parts washer, and a waste solvent
tank.  

Emissions are controlled by a
regenerative thermal oxidizer
operated pursuant to 7 DE Admin.
Code 1124 (VOC RACT).

No control measures to further
reduce emission from this facility
have been identified.
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City of Dover - 
McKee Run

33 0 0 n 0

This facility is a power plant that
consists of three gas/oil fired
EGUs.

These three units are controlled
with low NOx burners installed
pursuant to 7 DE Admin. Code
1112 (NOx RACT), with Unit 3 (the
largest unit) also being controlled
with overfire air.  These units each
have permit required short term
NOx emission rate limits with a 24-
hr averaging period, and
collectively have a 24-hour mass
emission limit. 

As a result of 7 DE Admin. Code
1146, all  three McKee Run units
were converted from residual oil
primary fuel to natural gas primary
fuel with No. 2 oil backup.  

SCR is the most effective
commercially available NOx
reduction technology
commercially available for oil and
gas fired electric generating unit
boilers such as the three units at
McKee Run.  For Unit 1 the
estimated cost effectiveness is
$126,600 per incremental ton of
NOx reduction, for Unit 2 the
estimated cost effectiveness is
$150,100 per incremental ton of
NOx reduction, and for Unit 3 the
estimated cost effectiveness is
$38,900 per incremental ton of
NOx reduction.  For each of these
units, the retrofit of SCR would be
expected to achieve an 80%
reduction in NOx emissions (28
TPY based on actual 2011 data).

SNCR is another commercially
available, technically feasible
retrofit NOx reduction technology
for oil and gas fired boilers such
as the three units at the McKee
Run facility.  For Unit 1 the
estimated cost effectiveness is
$76,500 per incremental ton of
NOx reduction, for Unit 2 the
estimated cost effectiveness is
$92,800 per incremental ton of
NOx reduction, and for Unit 3 the
estimated cost effectiveness is
$24,900 per incremental ton of
NOx reduction.  For each of the
three units, the retrofit of SNCR
would be expected to achieve a
40% reduction in NOx emissions
(15 TPY based on actual 2011
data).

Delaware City 
Terminal

0 33 0 26
VOC emissions are regulated
under 7 DE Admin Code 1124
(VOC RACT).

No feasible control measures to
further reduce emission from this
source have been identified.

Mountaire Farms - 
Millsboro

33 0 15 0.35
7 DE Admin. Code 1112 (NOx
RACT)

No control measures to further
reduce emission from this facility
have been identified.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 1, SUNDAY, JULY 1, 2012



GENERAL NOTICES136
Commercial 
Cooking (Area 

Source Category)
0 32 0 30

Not regulated in Delaware’s SIP. The only identified VOC controls
in place with regards to
commercial cooking are those
affecting chain-driven
charbroilers.  Delaware estimates
emissions from chain-driven
charbroilers to be less than 5% its
total commercial cooking VOC,
i.e. a maximum of 1 tpy of
controllable VOCs.   A report by
the Bay Area Air Quality
Management District (April, 2007)
says that costs for controls would
be $5,193/ton of VOC reduced.

FMC 30 1 0.003 0.042

NOx emissions from two 25
mmBTU/hr boilers and three small
spray dryers.   Annual tune-ups to
minimize NOx emissions on all
NOx emitting units is required by 7
DE Admin. Code 1112 (NOx
RACT).

No control measures to further
reduce emission from this facility
have been identified.

Hirsh Industries 1 26 2 24

Subject to Section 19 of 7 DE
Admin. Code 1124, which is based
on the most recent EPA CTG.

No control measures to further
reduce emission from this facility
have been identified.

DSWA Cherry 
Island Landfill 1 24 4 57

Landfill emissions are controlled by
a gas collection system and flare
pursuant to 40 CFR Part 62,
Subpart I and Part 63, Subpart
AAA.

No control measures to further
reduce emission from this facility
have been identified.

Total - 
categories 

covering all 2008 
PEI sources that 
emit more than 
25 TPY of either 

VOC or NOx, and 
which total the 
top 99% of DE's 

overall 2008 
Anthropogenic 

Emissions

44342 26550 30906 24899
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The information in the Table 3-1 above demonstrates that Delaware’s SIP includes measures that
cover all non-trivial NOx and VOC sources in the State. 

3.2 Implementation of the measures in Delaware’s SIP have been effective, and have resulted in
significant emissions reductions.

Total - all other 
150+ 2008 PEI 

facilities and 
source categories 

not included 
above

418 347 823 1692

Many of these small sources are
also controlled under the adequate
measures in Delaware's SIP.  

This includes small sources
covered by CTG and non-CTG
RACT.  

This also includes many
combustion turbines and diesel
generators with very low TPY
emissions, but with very high TPD
emissions on days conducive to
ozone formation.  These units are
regulated under 7 DE Admin. Code
1144 and 1148.  Control of all units
with significant emissions on days
conducive to the formation of
ozone is critical to compliance with
CAA 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I).

Total 
Anthropogenic 

Emissions (TPY)
44760 26897 31729 26591

a.  Emissions from this facility are low, but are anticipated to generally be greater than zero.
b.  Note that the 2014 CSAPR projection is inflated because it exceeds the allowable refinery NOx CAP.
c.  The referenced SIP revision includes a demonstration that the refinery emissions are uniform across the year,

and regulation on a TPY basis and not on an ozone season basis is acceptable.  Based on this the 1139 bud-
gets were annualized by multiplying by 12/5.

d.  The OTC commissioners approved an updated consumer products model rule in May 2012.  Delaware plans
to propose an update to its regulations based on this model rule in the future

e.  Note that the OTR states are currently considering an update to their model rule.  This is based on CARB
2006 amendments, plus potential increased benefit by adding paint thinner and multi-purpose solvents, and
has the potential to reduce Delaware VOC emissions by 365 TPY.  

f.  Note that section 4.0 of 7 DE Admin. Code 1125 requires BACT for any new source that emits greater than 5
TPY of NOx.  

g.   Delaware cannot explain why this emission is projected to be so high in CSAPR inventories.  2014 emissions should 
remain on-par with 2008 levels.
h.  An update AIM model rule was approved by the OTC on June 3, 2010, which has not yet been adopted by any

state.  Delaware plans to propose an update to its regulations based on this model rule in the future.
i.  Delaware cannot explain why this emission is projected to be so low in CSAPR inventories.  2014 emissions

should remain on-par with 2008 levels.
j.  Section 5 of 7 DE Admin. Code 1141 reduces VOC emission from this category by about 50%.  It is not clear

where the emissions from this category are reflected in the CSAPR inventory.
k.   Delaware cannot explain why this emission is projected to be so high in CSAPR inventories.  2014 emissions

should remain on-par with 2008 levels.
l.  Because of 7 DE Admin Code 1141 and CTG based updates to 7 DE Admin Code 1124 that took effect post-

2008, we would expect 2014 emissions to be lower than 2008 emissions for this category.
m.  Delaware cannot explain why this emission is projected to increase in the CSAPR inventory.  2014 emissions

should remain on-par with 2008 levels
n.  Emissions from this facility are expected to be very low, but to generally be greater than zero.
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Delaware’s adjusted10 1990 base year SIP inventory emissions totaled 82,718 TPY, and 95,203 TPY
for VOC and NOx, respectively.  Delaware’s 2005 PEI demonstrates that emissions were reduced to
30,626 TPY, and 45,250 TPY for VOC and NOx, respectively11.  This reduction (i.e., a 63% reduction
in VOC and 52% reduction in NOx) was largely attributable to Delaware’s implementation of 7 DE
Admin. Code 1125 (NSR), 7 DE Admin. Code 1112 (NOx RACT), and 7 DE Admin. Code 1124 (VOC
RACT), 7 DE Admin. Code 1126 and 1136 (vehicle I/M) control measures. 

Table 3-2

While Delaware attained compliance with the 1-hour ozone NAAQS in 2005, it remained non-
attainment for the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS.  Between 2005 and 2009 Delaware adopted stringent
control requirements applicable to its largest sources (e.g., EGUs, large ICI boilers, lightering). These
control requirements generally incorporated phased-in compliance dates:  a 2009 date to aid in
attainment of the 1997 8-hour ozone NAAQS by the statutory deadline, and a later date, generally
2012/13, which was 1) looking forward to EPA finalization of a new 8-hour ozone NAAQS that was
protective of public health12, and 2) that resulted in each source/source category being well controlled.
During this time period Delaware also updated its VOC RACT requirements and adopted regional
measures to reduce emission from large area source categories (e.g., AIM, Consumer Products, etc.).

EPA’s CSAPR projections give an indication of the effectiveness of Delaware’s current SIP measures
once fully implemented (i.e., after 2013).  EPA developed base case projection inventories for 2012
and 2014 as part of the CSAPR.  The 2014 CSAPR inventory is detailed in Table 3-1,and both 2012
and 2014 13 CSAPR inventories are summarized in Table 3-3 below.

Table 3-3

10. Delaware’s actual 1990 base year SIP inventory emissions totaled 52,493 TPY, and 77,281 TPY for VOC and
NOx, respectively.  To enable direct comparison to Delaware’s 2005 PEI the on-road and non-road categories
were adjusted using EPAs MOBILE6.2 and 2004 non-road models. 

11.  These reductions were made to reduce ozone concentrations under the 1-hour ozone standard.  Delaware
attained the 1-hour ozone NAAQS in 2005.

1990 PEI 2005 PEI
NOx 95203 45250
VOC 82718 30626

12.  EPA abandoned this effort
13.  ftp://ftp.epa.gov/EmisInventory/2005v4_2/2014emis/

  
  

2012 CSAPR 2014 CSAPR 
NOx VOC NOx VOC 

EGU 2639 75 1701 40 
Non-EGU 3975 3858 3675 3861 
Nonpoint 2255 11201 2194 11115 
Nonroad 10365 5165 10177 4526 
Onroad 16294 7599 13959 6744 

Fires 23 305 23 305
Total 35549 28204 31729 26591 
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For 2014 EPA projects Delaware’s overall emissions to be 26,591 TPY and 31,729 TPY for VOC and
NOx, respectively.  This represents a 13% reduction in state-wide VOC emissions, and a 30%
reduction in state-wide NOx emissions since 2005; and a 68% reduction in VOC and a 67% reduction
in NOx emission levels since 1990. 
This inventory analysis is summarized in Chart 3-3 below.

Chart 3-3

This data clearly demonstrates that Delaware’s current SIP measures are very effective at reducing
emissions that contribute to ozone formation.  By extension, Delaware’s SIP measurers have reduced
the impact of Delaware emissions on the attainment and maintenance of air quality standards in both
Delaware and downwind states.  

3.3 Cost Effectiveness of the measures in Delaware’s SIP
The large emission reductions discussed in Section 3.2 above have required a correspondingly large
economic investment by Delaware.14  Table 3-4 below provides estimates of the cost to achieve the
significant emission reductions discussed above:

14.
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Table 3-4

Delaware evaluated EPA’s final report “Direct Cost Estimates for the Clean Air Act Second Section 812
Prospective Analysis,” dated February 2011.  This report estimates costs of “local controls” by each
U.S. State.  Delaware adjusted this cost data to account for state size by dividing by population from

Regulation (7 DE 
Admin. Code) Pollutant Estimated Cost Effectiveness 

1112 (NOx RACT) NOx $400 - $12,300 per ton 
1124 (VOC RACT) VOC $3,000 - $29,000 per ton 
1126 (Vehicle I/M) VOC, NOx $1,000 - $5,000 per ton 
1136 (Vehicle I/M) VOC, NOx $1,000 - $5,000 per ton 

1125 (non-
attainment NSR) VOC, NOx $39,700 to $150,000 per ton 
1142, Section 2.0 
(NOx emissions 
from Petroleum 

Refineries) NOx $10,000 - $150,000 per ton 
1141, Section 1.0 

(AIM) VOC $6,400 per ton 
1141, Section 2.0 

(Consumer 
Products) VOC $800 per ton 

1144 (Stationary 
Generators) NOx $23,000 - $90,000 1 

1146 (EGU Multi-
Pollutant 

Regulation) NOx $1,200 - $5000 per ton2 
1148 (Combustion 

Turbines) NOx $63,000 - $78,000 per ton 24 
 

 

 

                                                           
1 The $/ton cost is very high because the subject units have low TPY emissions.  These units 
were regulated not because they are high TPY emitters, but rather because they have high daily 
emissions.  For example, a unit that emits 10 tons all on  a day conducive to ozone formation, 
and a unit that emits 3,650 TPY, 10 tons each day, both contribute the same to ozone NAAQS 
attainment/maintenance problems.    
  
2 7 DE Admin. Code 1146 is a multi-pollutant regulation that covers NOx, SO2 and Hg.  This cost 
is for the NOx pollutant only. 
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the 2010 census.  Table 3-5 below compares the 2010 per capita cost invested in local controls by
Delaware to the CSAPR covered states. 

Table 3-5

This indicates that Delaware has incurred a local control cost beyond most of the CSAPR covered
states to comply with the CAA. 

3.4 Measures in Delaware’s SIP that cover EGUs
The EPA has defined emissions that contribute significantly under CAA § 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) in various
ways, all of which have substantially limited such emissions to EGUs. In the NOx SIP Call and CAIR
EPA’s methodology defined significant contribution as those emissions that could be removed with the

 State $ local controls/person 
New Jersey 231.71 
New York 169.77 
Texas 136.90 
Delaware 128.29 
Maryland 87.73 
West Virginia 63.90 
Pennsylvania 63.15 
Illinois 61.18 
Indiana 40.12 
Wisconsin 36.43 
Michigan 22.82 
Ohio 20.94 
Alabama 14.62 
Tennessee 10.87 
Missouri 5.84 
North Carolina 4.32 
Kentucky 3.85 
Georgia 3.69 
Virginia 2.64 
Arkansas 0 
Iowa 0 
Kansas 0 
Minnesota 0 
Florida 0 
Louisiana 0 
Mississippi 0 
Nebraska 0 
Oklahoma 0 
South Carolina 0 
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use of ‘‘highly cost effective’’ EGU controls.  Under CSAPR, EPA determined that the emissions
contributing significantly to nonattainment or interfere with maintenance were those that could be
removed with $500/ton cost on EGUs, based on an analysis that accounted for both cost and air
quality improvement.  Under any definition, EGU’s in Delaware are well controlled, and looking solely
at EGUs Delaware has satisfied 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I).  
Delaware has measures in its SIP that control each of its EGUs (i.e., 7 DE Admin. Code 1112, 1146,
and 1148).  Pertinent characteristics of these measures are that they apply on a stack-by-stack basis
(i.e., trading is not allowed), they require compliance on a short-term basis (i.e., generally a 24-hour or
shorter rolling average), and they require controls on all EGUs, including those with high daily
emissions despite having small annual mass emissions (e.g., peaking units).  In addition, Delaware
has measures in its SIP to prevent smaller stationary reciprocating engine driven generators from
operating as EGUs without controls (i.e., 7 DE Admin. Code 1144).  Additional detail on Delaware’s
current EGU control measures is presented in the SIP revisions associated with the adoption of 7 DE
Admin. Code 1112, 1144, 1146 and 1148.  
Table 3-1 and the inventory analysis in Section 3.2 above summarize the current level of control on
Delaware EGUs.  EPA’s CSAPR base case inventories and CAIR budgets also demonstrate the
effectiveness of the EGU measures in Delaware’s SIP.  

• Between 2012 and 2014 Delaware’s EGU emissions are projected to decrease from 2,639 TPY (7.4% of
Delaware’s overall 2012 CSAPR NOx inventory) to 1,701 TPY (5.4% of Delaware’s overall 2014 CSAPR NOx
inventory).  For comparison, prior to implementation of Delaware’s EGU SIP measures (i.e., prior to 1990)
Delaware’s EGU emissions were 24,878 TPY (32% of Delaware’s overall 1990 NOx inventory). This
represents a 93% reduction in NOx emissions from this sector.

• Under CAIR Delaware’s annual 2015 NOx EGU budget was 3,472 tons, and Delaware’s ozone season EGU
budget was 1,855 tons.  EPA’s 2014 projection indicates that Delaware’s annual EGU emissions are about
50% of the corresponding 2015 CAIR budget – in fact, Delaware’s annual EGU emissions (i.e., 12-months) are
less than its 2015 CAIR ozone season budget (5-months).15

Table 3-1 indicates that Delaware could achieve, in the aggregate, an additional estimated 549 TPY
reduction in NOx from installing additional EGU controls.

• At about $8,800 /ton DE could reduce NOx emissions by 354 TPY 
• At $10,000/ton by an additional 80 TPY
• At over $25,000/ton, by an additional 115 TPY

This high cost of additional EGU control is consistent with the EPA CSAPR analysis.  Under CSAPR
EPA determined that no additional EGU reductions would be achieved in Delaware for cost up to
$2,500/ton.  In CSAPR the EPA evaluated ozone season and annual EGU NOx emissions at pollution
control marginal costs per ton of reductions ranging from $0 to $2,500/ton, for 2012 and 2014
scenarios.  In all cases Delaware NOx emissions increased with cost.  This indicates that controls are
being added to EGUs outside of Delaware as cost increases, which would increase the capacity factor
of Delaware units by making them more competitive. Additional reductions will not be realized from
Delaware EGU’s until the control cost exceeds about $8,800/ton, at which time gas fired combined
cycle units in Delaware would install SCR.
Delaware concludes that because the cost is very high, the potential air quality benefit is low (i.e., the
potential to further reduce significant mass emissions from Delaware’s EGUs is low), and because
each of Delaware’s EGUs are already well controlled, these additional reductions beyond Delaware’s
current SIP measures are not feasible in the context of this SIP, and are not required under
110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I).

3.5 Measures in Delaware’s SIP that cover non-EGUs
CAA § 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) covers a scope broader than EGUs. CAA § 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) requires a SIP to
“Contain adequate provisions prohibiting…any source or other type of emissions activity…from
emitting any air pollutant in amounts which will contribute significantly…” Ozone and ozone precursors

15.  This does not imply that CAIR budgets are an adequate measure of compliance with CAA 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I);
rather it is an indication that Delaware’s EGU SIP measures effectively control emissions.
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are transported and can contribute to ozone concentrations in downwind areas regardless of their
source.   To satisfy 110(a)(2)(D) a SIP must contain provisions that cover VOC and NOx emissions
from any source or other type of activity within the state.  A state has not satisfied 110(a)(2)(D) until 1)
the total emissions from the state no longer impact any other nonattainment/maintenance area by
more than 1% of the NAAQS, or 2) there are adequate provisions in the SIP that cover all sources or
other type of activities in the State.  If there are any sources not regulated, then 110(a)(2)(D) has not
been satisfied.
Section 3.1 above demonstrates that Delaware has measures in its SIP that cover all non-trivial VOC
and NOx emitting activities.  Section 3.2 above demonstrates that these measures are effective.  In
Table 3-1 Delaware has identified non-EGU measures that could achieve, in the aggregate, an
additional estimated 1,125 TPY reduction in NOx and a 655 TPY reduction in VOC.  These establish
the level of control currently in effect in Delaware.

• At about $5,000/ton DE could reduce NOx emissions by about 375 TPY and VOC by 255 TPY
• At $10,000/ton DE could reduce NOx by an additional 50 TPY and VOC by an additional 400 TPY
• At over $10,000/ton, DE could reduce NOx by an additional 700 TPY

The analysis in Section 3.2 above shows that DE has reduced emissions by 56,127 TPY VOC and
63,474 TPY NOx between 1990 and 2014.  These potential additional reductions make up about 1% of
the VOC reductions, and less than 2% of the NOx reductions already made by Delaware’s SIP
measures.  Delaware concludes that because the cost is very high, the potential air quality benefit is
low (i.e., the potential to reduce significant mass emission is low), and because each of these sources/
source categories are already well-controlled, these additional reductions beyond Delaware’s current
SIP measures are not feasible in the context of this SIP, and are not required under 110(a)(20(D)(i)(I).  

4.0 Conclusion
This SIP revision demonstrates 1) that the Delaware SIP contains measures that cover every non-trivial VOC

and NOx emitting source and source category in the State, and 2) that implementation of these measures has
resulted in significant emission reductions in Delaware.  Delaware concludes that the Delaware emissions that
would significantly contribute to nonattainment and maintenance in downwind areas are those VOC and NOx
emissions that are reduced by the following adequate measures in Delaware’s SIP:
• Centralized Vehicle Inspections and Maintenance (I/M) requirements to include testing of older, high emitting

vehicles, to significantly reduce on-road mobile emissions (7 DE Admin. Code 1126 and 1136)
• Stringent Reasonable Available Control Technology (RACT) on all major nitrogen oxides (NOx) and volatile

organic compound (VOC) stationary sources, which establishes a baseline level of control and achieves large,
cost effective reductions (7 DE Admin. Code 1112 and 1125)

• Best Available Control Technology (BACT) has been required on all existing coal and residual oil fired EGUs,
and large industrial boilers, which ensure the largest emitters are well controlled (7 DE Admin. Code 1142 and
1146)

• BACT on all sources with high daily emissions, despite low annual emissions, which ensure all emissions on
ozone days are controlled (7 DE Admin. Code 1144 and 1148).

• Adoption of regional measures to reduce emission from large non-point source categories that have been
recommended by the Ozone Transport Commission (7 DE Admin. Code 1141, Sections 1, 2 and 4)

• Major and minor new source review, with minor source thresholds set at 5 tpy for ozone precursor emission,
which ensures new units are well-controlled (7 DE Admin. Code 1125)

Additional opportunities for controlling emissions are either outside of our regulatory authority,
impractical as a Delaware only initiative or carry an additional incremental cost in excess of $5,000 per
ton. We are recommending this cost threshold to the EPA as criteria for evaluating all transport SIPs.
Additional control measures from Delaware are not required under CAA § 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I).  
In the unlikely event that nonattainment or maintenance problems remain in downwind states impacted
by Delaware once all states comply with CAA § 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I), then the EPA should respond at that
time with a SIP call under CAA § 110(k).  
This and prior SIP revisions demonstrate that Delaware’s SIP adequately addresses the requirements
of CAA § 110(a)(2) for the 2008 ozone NAAQS.
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION

The Delaware River Basin Commission will hold a public hearing and business meeting on Wednesday, July
11, 2012 beginning at 11:00 a.m. at the Commission's office building, 25 State Police Drive, West Trenton, New
Jersey. For more information visit the DRBC web site at www.drbc.net or contact Pamela M. Bush, Esq.,
Commission Secretary and Assistant General Counsel, at 609 883-9500 extension 203.

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

In accordance with procedures set forth in 29 Del.C. ch. 11, Subch. III and 29 Del.C., ch. 101, the Delaware
State Fire Prevention Commission is proposing to adopt changes and updates to current regulations 701, 702, 703,
704, 705 and 706.

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will hold a public hearing at which members of the public may
present comments on the proposed regulations on August 21, 2012 at 10:00 a.m. in the Delaware State Fire
Prevention Chamber at the Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, DE 19904. Written
comments must be received on or before August 7, 2012. Members of the public may receive a copy of the
proposed regulations at no charge by United States Mail by writing Ms. Sherry Lambertson at the address of the
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission set forth above.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Harness Racing Commission, pursuant to 3 Del. C. §10005, proposes to change its Rule
6.2.2.1.10, 6.2.2.2 & 8.2.2.4. The Commission will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule changes on August
14, 2012. Written comments should be sent to Hugh J. Gallagher, Administrator of Harness Racing, Department of
Agriculture, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901. Written comments will be accepted for thirty (30) days
from the date of publication in the Register of Regulations on July 1, 2012.

The proposed changes are for the purpose of updating Rule 3 and reflect current policies, practices and
procedures. Copies are published online at the Register of Regulations website: http://regulations.delaware.gov/
services/current_issue.shtml

A copy is also available for inspection at the Harness Racing Commission office.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday, July 19, 2012 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY

204 Sports Lottery Rules and Regulations
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware State Lottery will seek public comments on the issue of whether its current rules should be
amended. 10 DE Admin. Code 204 will be amended to establish rules for sports betting under new legislation
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authorizing various changes. 
Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or

before July 31, 2012 at the State Lottery Office, 1575 McKee Road, Suite 102, Dover, DE 19904. A copy of these
regulations is available from the above address.

These amendments will update regulations. They will rewrite the section on licensing of agents to allow sports
betting to take place at retail establishments other than casinos. The amendments will substantially rewrite section
6 regarding the duties of agents and will substantially rewrite the licensing procedure of section 12. The amend-
ments will eliminate section 13 regarding self-excluded persons, as that section will not be applicable. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

3102 Long Term Care Transfer, Discharge and Readmission Procedures
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection (DLTCRP) is proposing a complete revision of the
previously proposed Regulation 3102 for the establishment of Long Term Care Transfer, Discharge and
Readmission Hearing Procedures.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Susan Del Pesco, Director, Division of
Long Term Care Residents Protection, 3 Mill Road, Suite 308, Wilmington, DE 19806 by Wednesday August 1,
2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Fair Hearing Practice and Procedures – Expedited Fair Hearings

PUBLIC NOTICE

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Division
of Social Services Manual regarding Fair Hearing Practice and Procedures specifically, Expedited Fair Hearings.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by July 31, 2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Nursing Facility Quality Assessment

PUBLIC NOTICE

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Title XIX
Medicaid State Plan regarding Nursing Facility Quality Assessment.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
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materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by July 31, 2012.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
State Survey Agency – State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program – Notice of Change in Administrative 

Authority
PUBLIC NOTICE

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Title XIX
Delaware Medicaid State Plan regarding State Survey Agency specifically, a change in the administrative authority
of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by July 31, 2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Telemedicine

PUBLIC NOTICE

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Title XIX
Delaware Medicaid State Plan to allow for the use of a telemedicine delivery system for providers enrolled under
Delaware Medicaid.
    Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by July 31, 2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Child Care Subsidy Program

Determining Technical Eligibility for Child Care
PUBLIC NOTICE

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend policies in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, Determining Technical Eligibility
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for Child Care.
Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written

materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 by July 31, 2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3600 BOARD OF REGISTRATION OF GEOLOGISTS

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Geologists (Board) pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3606 (a)(1) proposes to amend its rules and
regulations. The proposed revisions update the regulations by clarifying provisions related to lapsed and expired
licenses, adding online courses and web seminars to courses acceptable for continuing education in place of home
study, and updating the list of sponsored organizations that receive automatic approval of continuing education
programs offered to licensees to meet the continuing education requirements. The revisions also add
manslaughter to the list of crimes the Board has determined to be substantially related to the practice of geology.
Finally, the proposal corrects several grammatical errors. 

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on August 10, 2012 at 10:15 a.m., Second
floor conference room B, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover DE 19904. Written comments should be
sent to Sandra Wagner, Administrative Specialist, Delaware Board of Geologists, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Blvd., Dover DE 19904. The final date to receive written comments will be at the public hearing. 

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.
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