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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example
would be:

19 DE Reg. 1100 (06/01/16)

Refers to Volume 19, page 1100 of the Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2016.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation
may be reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed in
the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that issue of
the Register in which the regulation was published. Proposed regulations are designated with (Prop.); Final
regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations
that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203 and 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §§1203 & 
1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1517

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122(d)

1517 Paraeducator Permit

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), the Professional Standards Board ("Board"), acting in consultation and

cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments to 14 DE Admin.
Code 1517 Paraeducator Permit. The regulation concerns the requirements for a Paraeducator Permit. The
proposed amendments in this regulation include revising subsection 4.1.1.1, which concerns the requirements for
an applicant for an Instructional Paraeducator Permit to clarify that a secondary credential approved by a state can
also be used to qualify for a permit. Identical revisions are found in subsections 5.1.1 concerning the requirements
for a Service Paraeducator Permit, and in 7.3.1 and 7.4.1 concerning the application process. The proposed
amendments include grammatical and style changes to comply with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting
and Style Manual.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901
or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/
regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m. EST) on or before January 31, 2025. Any
person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a copy from the Department at the
Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/
https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/
https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/
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C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The education, knowledge, and skill requirements in Section 4.0 are designed to improve the quality of
the educator workforce, which will help to improve student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The education,
knowledge, and skill requirements in Section 4.0 are designed to improve the quality of the educator workforce,
which will help to ensure students in Delaware public schools receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation addresses a standard certificate for educators and is not designed to help ensure students'
health and safety is protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses a standard certificate for educators and is not designed to help ensure students' legal rights
are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.
The application requirements in Section 7.0 and 8.0 apply to individual applicants. 

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The Department implements the rules and regulations promulgated and adopted pursuant to 14
Del.C. Ch. 12 relating to the licensing and certification of educators.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, and in particular to state
educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language
arts, and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? There is not a
less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended regulation?
There is no expected cost to the state and to the local school boards of complying with this amended regulation.

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 490RFA 01-01-25.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 490 01-01-25.htm

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 490RFA 01-01-25.pdf
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 490 01-01-25.htm
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1220 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 

1205(b) & 1220)
14 DE Admin. Code 1554

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122(d)

1554 Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, the Professional Standards Board ("Board"), acting in

consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments
to 14 DE Admin. Code 1554 Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements
for a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The
proposed amendments in this regulation include revising Section 1.0 to specify that as of September 1, 2025 the
Department will no longer issue a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate, and moving
language from Section 9.0, into Section 2.0 and revising its title which concerns recognizing past certificates that
were issued by the Department. New language in Section 3.0 addresses the effective date of the proposed
amendments.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901
or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/
regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m. EST) on or before January 31, 2025. Any
person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a copy from the Department at the
Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The education, knowledge, and skill requirements in Section 4.0 are designed to improve the quality of
the educator workforce, which will help to improve student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The education,
knowledge, and skill requirements in Section 4.0 are designed to improve the quality of the educator workforce,
which will help to ensure students in Delaware public schools receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation addresses a standard certificate for educators and is not designed to help ensure students'
health and safety is protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses a standard certificate for educators and is not designed to help ensure students' legal rights
are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The Department implements the rules and regulations promulgated and adopted pursuant to 14

https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/
https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/
https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/
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Del.C. Ch. 12 relating to the licensing and certification of educators.
8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state

educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, and in particular to state
educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language
arts, and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? There is not a
less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended regulation?
There is no expected cost to the state and to the local school boards of complying with this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 492RFA 01-01-25.pdf

1554 Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard
Certificate pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). This Standard Certificate is required to teach family and
consumer sciences in grades 5 to 12 in a Delaware public school. Effective September 1, 2025, the
Delaware Department of Education no longer issues the Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher
Standard Certificate.  Applicants who want to become certified to teach family and consumer sciences
in grades 5 to 12 in a Delaware public school shall meet the requirements for the issuance of a Skilled
and Technical Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1559 Skilled
and Technical Sciences Teacher.

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning:
"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.
"Educator" means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. Ch. 12 to engage in the

practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public
schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Professional
Standards Board and approved by the State Board of Education. The term 'educator' does not include
substitute teachers.

"Employing Authority" means any entity which employs educators, and includes, but is not limited to,
school districts, charter schools, boards of directors, and management companies.

"Immorality" means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected of an
educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator's effectiveness by reason of the
educator's unfitness or otherwise.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

"Regionally Accredited" means educational accreditation by a regional accrediting agency that is
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a reliable authority concerning the quality of
education offered by the institutions of higher education it accredits, including Middle States
Commission on Higher Education.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students.

"Standards Board" means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 492RFA 01-01-25.pdf
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"Valid and Current License or Certificate" means a current full or permanent certificate or license as an
educator issued by another state or jurisdiction. This means the applicant is fully credentialed by
having met all of the requirements for full licensure or certification as an educator in another state or
jurisdiction and is in good standing in that state or jurisdiction. It does not include temporary,
emergency, conditional certificates of eligibility or expired certificates or licenses issued from another
state or jurisdiction.

3.0 Issuance of a Standard Certificate
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Family and Consumer Sciences

Teacher Standard Certificate to an applicant who:
3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or a Standard or Professional

Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 and meets the requirements
in Section 4.0 of this regulation; or

3.1.2 Has met the requirements for an educator's license in Delaware and presents proof of a Valid and
Current License or Certificate as a family and consumer sciences teacher issued by another state
or jurisdiction.

3.2 Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary herein, the Department shall not act on an application for
a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate if the applicant is under official
investigation by any national, state, or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or
certifications. The Department shall not act where the allegations include but are not limited to conduct
such as Immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty, or falsification
of credentials until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation's resolution.

4.0 Prescribed Education, Knowledge, and Skill Requirements
4.1 For an applicant who does not hold a content area Standard Certificate, the applicant shall have

satisfied the requirements in subsections 4.1.1 and 4.1.2.
4.1.1 The applicant shall have satisfied 1 of the following education requirements:

4.1.1.1 Earned a bachelor's degree from a Regionally Accredited college or university with a
minimum of 30 semester hours of coursework in family and consumer sciences from an
educator preparation program approved or recognized by the Council for the Accreditation
of Educator Preparation (CAEP) or a state where the state approval body employed the
appropriate standards; or

4.1.1.2 Satisfactorily completed an alternative routes for licensure or certification program to
teach family and consumer sciences as provided in 14 Del.C. §§1260 - 1266; or

4.1.1.3 Satisfactorily completed a Department-approved educator preparation program in family
and consumer sciences; or

4.1.1.4 If the applicant is applying for an Initial License after the applicant completed a minimum
of 91 days of successful long-term substitute teaching in a Delaware public school as
provided in subsection 4.1.3.1 of 14 DE Admin. Code 1510, earned a bachelor's degree
from a Regionally Accredited college or university in any content area and also
satisfactorily completed 15 college credits related to family and consumer sciences of
which at least 6 credits focus on pedagogy or an equivalent number of hours in
professional development with 1 credit equating to 15 hours taken either as part of a
degree program or in addition to a degree program from a Regionally Accredited college
or university or a professional development provider approved by the Department.

4.1.1.4.1 The applicant, in consultation with the applicant's Employing Authority, shall select the
15 credits or the equivalent number of hours in professional development subject to
the Department's approval.

4.1.1.4.2 If the applicant does not have an Employing Authority or is applying for a Standard
Certificate outside of the applicant's current spectrum of employment, the applicant
shall select the 15 credits or the equivalent number of hours in professional
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development in consultation with the Department and subject to the Department's
approval.

4.1.1.4.3 For the purpose of subsection 4.1.1.4, professional development means a
combination of focused, in-depth learning, practice, feedback, reflection, and expert
support experiences designed to change the participants' attitudes, insights, and
perspectives and ultimately results in improved professional practice.

4.1.1.4.4 Professional development hours may be approved if the applicant shows that the
activity meets all of the following criteria:

4.1.1.4.4.1 Relevant courses from a Regionally Accredited college or university in family and
consumer sciences are not available to the applicant online or in the applicant's
county of residence; and

4.1.1.4.4.2 The activity is grounded in research and current best practices as judged by the
Department's content specialist in family and consumer sciences; and

4.1.1.4.4.3 The activity is documented by the provider to provide knowledge and skills that are
required for the family and consumer sciences certification; and

4.1.1.4.4.4 The activity is part of a professional development program that includes knowledge
acquisition, skill mastery, descriptive feedback, and refinement of practice in the work
setting.

4.1.2 The applicant shall have achieved a minimum score of 153 on the Praxis Subject Assessment -
Family and Consumer Sciences (ETS Test Code # 5122). Notwithstanding the foregoing, if the
applicant did not achieve the minimum score, the applicant shall meet the requirements set forth in
14 DE Admin. Code 1519 Multiple Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge.

4.2 For an applicant who holds at least 1 content area Standard Certificate, the applicant shall have
achieved a minimum score on the examination as provided in subsection 4.1.2. Notwithstanding the
foregoing, if the applicant did not achieve the minimum score, the applicant shall meet the
requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1519 Multiple Measures for Demonstrating Content
Knowledge.

5.0 Application Requirements
5.1 If an applicant is applying for an Initial License, a Standard Certificate must be applied for

simultaneously with the application for the Initial License, and the applicant shall also provide all
required documentation for the License.

5.2 If the applicant is also applying for the issuance or renewal of an educator's license or paraeducator's
permit, the applicant must disclose the applicant's criminal conviction history upon application. Failure
to disclose a criminal conviction history is grounds for denial of the license or permit application as
specified in 14 Del.C. §1219 and it could delay the processing or result in the denial of the application
for a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate.

5.3 For an applicant who does not hold a content area Standard Certificate, the following documentation is
required with the application for a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate:

5.3.1 Official transcript from the applicant's Regionally Accredited college or university.
5.3.1.1 Electronic transcripts may be submitted by the Employing Authority or by the applicant's

Regionally Accredited college or university; or
5.3.1.2 Sealed paper transcripts may be submitted.
5.3.1.3 The Department will not accept copies of transcripts; and

5.3.2 Documents verifying successful completion of Department-approved professional development, if
applicable; and

5.3.3 Official score on the Praxis Subject Assessment as provided in subsection 4.1.2; and
5.3.4 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.4 For an applicant who holds at least 1 content area Standard Certificate, the following documentation is
required with the application for a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate:
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5.4.1 Official score on the Praxis Subject Assessment as provided in subsection 4.2; and
5.4.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.5 For an applicant who has met the requirements for licensure as an educator in Delaware and holds a
Valid and Current License or Certificate as a family and consumer sciences teacher issued by another
state or jurisdiction, the following documentation is required with the application for a Family and
Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate:

5.5.1 An official copy of the Valid and Current License or Certificate; and
5.5.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

6.0 Secretary of Education Review
6.1 The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of a local school district or charter school,

review credentials submitted in an application for a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant such a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise
does not meet the requirements for a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate but
whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter school.

6.1.1 For school districts, requests shall be approved by the superintendent of the school district.
6.1.2 For charter schools, requests concerning the head of school of the charter school shall be

approved by the charter school's board of directors and requests concerning all other applicants
shall be approved by the charter school's head of school.

7.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
7.1 A Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment

or employment status of the holder provided that the Educator's License remains current and valid.
7.2 A Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate is not subject to renewal.

8.0 Disciplinary Action
8.1 An Educator's Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate may be revoked,

suspended, or limited for cause as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 1514 Limitation, Suspension, and
Revocation of Licenses, Certificates, and Permits.

8.2 An Educator's Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate shall be revoked if the
Educator's Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or Standard or Professional Status Certificate is
revoked or the Educator made a materially false or misleading statement in the Educator's application
in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1222.

8.3 An Educator whose certificate is noticed for disciplinary action is entitled to a full and fair hearing
before the Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code
1515 Hearing Procedures and Rules.

9.0 Past Certificate Recognized
The Department shall recognize a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate
issued prior to the effective date of this regulation. An Educator holding such a Standard Certificate
shall be considered certified to teach family and consumer sciences.

10.0 Contact Information and Change of Name or Address
10.1 All applicants and Educators are required to update their contact information in DEEDS if their contact

information changes.
10.2 An Educator who legally changes the Educator's name and wishes to change the name on the Family

and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate shall provide a notarized copy of evidence of
the name change such as a marriage license or court action.
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10.3 An applicant or Educator whose mailing address, email address, or phone number changes shall
provide the Department with the new mailing address, email address, or phone number within 14
calendar days of the change.

2.0 Past Certificate Recognized
The Department shall recognize a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Standard Certificate
issued prior to September 1, 2025. An educator holding such a Standard Certificate shall be
considered certified to teach family and consumer sciences in grades 5 to 12 in a Delaware public
school.

3.0 Effective Date
This regulation shall be effective on September 1, 2025.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1220 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 

1205(b) & 1220)
14 DE Admin. Code 1572

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122(d)

1572 Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, the Professional Standards Board ("Board"), acting in

consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments
to 14 DE Admin. Code 1572 Teacher of Students Who are Gifted or Talented. The regulation concerns the
requirements for a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate in accordance with 14
Del.C. §1220. Amendments to this regulation include adding subsection 4.1.1.6 which outlines a pathway toward
achieving the Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate via the completion of Micro-
credentials. Additional proposed amendments include, in Section 2.0, revising the definition of "Regionally
Accredited" based on the changes the U.S. Department of Education made to its recognition of accrediting bodies,
amending the definition of the term "Employing Authority" to eliminate a redundant phrase, adding a definition of
Micro-credential; amending subsection 3.2 to eliminate a redundant phrase. The proposed amendments include
grammatical and style changes to comply with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901
or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/
regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m. EST) on or before January 31, 2025. Any
person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a copy from the Department at the
Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The education, knowledge, and skill requirements in Section 4.0 are designed to improve the quality of
the educator workforce, which will help to improve student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The education,

https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/
https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/
https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/
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knowledge, and skill requirements in Section 4.0 are designed to improve the quality of the educator workforce,
which will help to ensure students in Delaware public schools receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation addresses a standard certificate for educators and is not designed to help ensure students'
health and safety is protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation addresses a standard certificate for educators and is not designed to help ensure students' legal rights
are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level. By statute (14 Del.C. §1224), a school district or charter school may request that the
Secretary of Education review the credentials of an applicant who does not meet the requirements for a Teacher of
Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate but whose effectiveness is documented by the district or
school. The amended regulation does not change a school district or charter school's ability to submit such a
request. Section 6.0 is consistent with the statute.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.
The application requirements in Section 5.0 apply to individual applicants. In addition, the requirements in Section
10.0 apply to individual applicants and Educators.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The Department implements the rules and regulations promulgated and adopted pursuant to 14
Del.C. Ch. 12 relating to the licensure and certification of educators.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, and in particular to state
educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language
arts, and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? There is not a
less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended regulation?
There is no expected cost to the state and to the local school boards of complying with this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 497RFA 01-01-25.pdf

1572 Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented

1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented

Standard Certificate (Category) pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a).
1.1.1 This Certification The Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate is

required for an Educator who is assigned to teach in a program that is specific to students who
have been identified as gifted or talented as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 902 in Delaware
public schools.

1.1.2 This Certification The Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate is a
category Standard Certificate and does not certify an Educator to practice in a particular area or
teach a particular subject. A category Standard Certificate only establishes that an Educator has
met the prescribed education, knowledge, or skill to instruct a particular category of students. This
Certification is limited to the category of Gifted or Talented Students.

1.1.3 An Educator shall hold at least one 1 content area Standard Certificate.

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 497RFA 01-01-25.pdf
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2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning:

“15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or an equivalent
number of hours with one credit equating to 15 hours taken either as part of a degree program or in
addition to a degree program from a Regionally Accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the Department. College credit means undergraduate or graduate
level coursework and continuing education units (CEUs) completed at or through a Regionally
Accredited college or university or other Department-approved provider.

“Certification” means the issuance of a Standard Certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's
assignment or employment status.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.
“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. Ch. 12 to engage in the

practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public
schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Professional
Standards Board and approved by the State Board of Education. The term ‘educator’ does not include
substitute teachers.

"Employing Authority" means any entity which employs educators, and includes, but is not limited to,
school districts, charter schools, boards of directors, and management companies.

“Gifted or Talented Student” means the same as a “Gifted or Talented Student” as provided in 14 DE
Admin. Code 902 Gifted or Talented Education Plan.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected of an
educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of the
educator’s unfitness or otherwise.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of 30 semester hours of coursework in a particular content
area.

"Micro-credential" means evidence-based professional learning activities that are competency-based,
personalized, on-demand, and sharable.

"Passing Score" means a minimum score as established by the Standards Board, in consultation with the
Department, and with the approval of the State Board of Education.

"Professional Development" means a combination of focused, in-depth learning, practice, feedback,
reflection, and expert support experiences designed to change participants' attitudes, insights, and
perspectives and ultimately results in improved professional practice. Effective professional
development programs include ample opportunities for knowledge acquisition, skill mastery,
descriptive feedback, and refinement of practice in the work setting.

“Regionally Accredited” means educational accreditation by a regional accrediting agency that is
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a reliable authority concerning the quality of
education offered by the institutions of higher education it accredits, including Middle States
Commission on Higher Education institutional accreditation from an agency that was designated as a
regional accreditor before July 1, 2020, and is currently recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education
as a reliable indicator of the institution's educational quality.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.
“Valid and Current License or Certificate” means a current full or permanent certificate or license as an

educator issued by another state or jurisdiction. This means the educator applicant is fully credentialed
by having met all of the requirements for full licensure or certification as an educator in another state or
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jurisdiction. It does not include temporary, emergency, conditional certificates of eligibility or expired
certificates or licenses issued from another state or jurisdiction.

3.0 Issuance of a Standard Certificate
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Teacher of Students Who Are

Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate to an applicant who:
3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or a Standard or Professional

Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 and meets the requirements
set forth in Section 4.0 of this regulation; or

3.1.2 Has met the requirements for licensure an educator's license in Delaware and holds presents
proof of a Valid and Current License or Certificate in gifted or talented education or teaching gifted
students.

3.2 Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary herein, the Department shall not act on an application for
a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate if the applicant is under official
investigation by any national, state, or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or
certifications. The Department shall not act where the allegations include but are not limited to conduct
such as Immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty, or falsification
of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution.

4.0 Prescribed Education, Knowledge, and Skill Requirements
4.1 An applicant shall have satisfied the requirements in subsections 4.1.1 and 4.1.2.

4.1.1 An applicant shall have satisfied one 1 of the following education requirements:
4.1.1.1 Obtained and currently maintain an Exceptional Needs Specialist certificate in specialty

area of gifted and talented education from the National Board for Professional Teaching
Standards; or

4.1.1.2 Earned a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral degree from a Regionally Accredited college or
university with a Major or Its Equivalent minimum of 30 semester hours of coursework in
gifted or talented education, teaching gifted students, or special education with a gifted or
talented endorsement or specialization from an educator preparation program approved or
recognized by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE),
the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), (CAEP) or a state
where the state approval body employed the appropriate standards; or

4.1.1.3 Satisfactorily completed an alternative routes for licensure or certification program to
teach Gifted or Talented Students as provided in 14 Del.C. §§1260 – 1266; or

4.1.1.4 Satisfactorily completed a Department-approved educator preparation program in gifted or
talented education; or

4.1.1.5 Earned a bachelor’s degree from a Regionally Accredited college or university in any
content area and satisfactorily completed 15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional
Development with a focus in college credits related to gifted or talented education or in
students who are gifted or talented in the following areas or an equivalent number of hours
in professional development with 1 credit equating to 15 hours taken either as part of a
degree program or in addition to a degree program from a Regionally Accredited college
or university or a professional development provider approved by the Department:

4.1.1.5.1 Foundations of Giftedness, including Cultural and Socioeconomic Equity (3 credits);
4.1.1.5.2 Curriculum Design and Instructional Strategies for Gifted Students (3 credits);
4.1.1.5.3 Psychology of Gifted Students (3 credits);
4.1.1.5.4 Creative and Critical Thinking Skills (3 credits); and
4.1.1.5.5 Practicum or Internship (3 credits).
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4.1.1.6 Earned a bachelor's degree from a Regionally Accredited college or university in any
content area and satisfactorily completed 3 micro-credentials from the National
Association for Gifted Children in gifted education in the following areas:

4.1.1.6.1 Curriculum Compacting;
4.1.1.6.2 Identification; and
4.1.1.6.3 Social and Emotional Needs of Gifted Students.

4.1.2 The applicant shall have achieved a minimum score of 157 on the Praxis Subject Assessment –
Gifted Education (ETS Test Code # 5358) a Passing Score of 157.

5.0 Application Requirements
5.1 If an applicant is applying for an Initial License, a Standard Certificate must be applied for

simultaneously with application for an Initial License, and the applicant shall also provide all required
documentation for the License.

5.2 If the applicant is also applying for the issuance or renewal of an educator's license or paraeducator's
permit, the applicant must disclose the applicant's criminal conviction history upon application. Failure
to disclose a criminal conviction history is grounds for denial of the license or permit application as
specified in 14 Del.C. §1219 and it could delay the processing or result in the denial of the application
for a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate.

5.2 5.3 The following documentation is required with the application for a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted
or Talented Standard Certificate:

5.2.1 5.3.1Evidence of obtaining and maintaining an Exceptional Needs Specialist certificate in specialty
area of gifted and talented education from the National Board for Professional Teaching
Standards, if applicable; and

5.2.2 5.3.2Official transcript from the applicant’s Regionally Accredited college or university.
5.2.2.1 5.3.2.1Electronic transcripts may be submitted by the applicant’s Employing Authority or

Regionally Accredited college or university.
5.2.2.2 5.3.2.2Sealed paper transcripts may be submitted by the applicant, the applicant’s Employing

Authority, or the applicant’s Regionally Accredited college or university.
5.2.2.3 5.3.2.3The Department will not accept copies of transcripts; and

5.2.3 5.3.3Documents verifying successful completion of Department-approved Professional Development
or Micro-credentials, if applicable; and

5.2.4 An experience form, completed in full and signed by the applicant, if applicable; and
5.2.5 5.3.4Official score on the Praxis Subject Assessment as provided in subsection 4.1.2; and
5.2.6 5.3.5Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.3 5.4 For applicants who have met the requirements for licensure as an educator in Delaware and hold a
Valid and Current License or Certificate in gifted or talented education or teaching gifted students, the
following documentation is required in the application for a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or
Talented Standard Certificate:

5.3.1 5.4.1An official copy of the Valid and Current License or Certificate; and
5.3.2 5.4.2Additional documentation as required by the Department.

6.0 Secretary of Education Review
6.1 The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of a local school district or charter school,

review credentials submitted in an application for a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented
Standard Certificate on an individual basis and grant such a Standard Certificate to an applicant who
otherwise does not meet the requirements for a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented
Standard Certificate but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter
school.

6.2 The request shall be approved as provided in subsections 6.2.1 and 6.2.2.
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6.2.1 For school districts, requests shall be approved by the superintendent of the school district.
6.2.2 For charter schools, requests concerning the head of school of the charter school shall be

approved by the charter school's board of directors and requests concerning all other applicants
shall be approved by the charter school's head of school.

6.0 7.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
6.1 7.1 A Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the

assignment or employment status of the holder provided that the Educator’s License remains current
and valid.

6.2 7.2 A Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate is not subject to renewal.

7.0 8.0 Disciplinary Action
7.1 8.1 An Educator’s Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate may be limited,

suspended, or revoked for cause as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 1514 Limitation, Suspension,
and Revocation of Licenses, Certificates, and Permits.

7.2 8.2 An Educator’s Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate shall be revoked if
the Educator's Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or Professional Status Certificate is revoked or
the Educator made a materially false or misleading statement in the Educator’s application in
accordance with 14 Del.C. §1222.

7.3 8.3 An Educator whose certificate is noticed for disciplinary action is entitled to a full and fair hearing
before the Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code
1515 Hearing Procedures and Rules.

8.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of a local school district or charter school, review

credentials submitted in an application for a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate
on an individual basis and grant such a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate but whose effectiveness is
documented by the local school district or charter school.

9.0 Past Certificate Recognized
The Department shall recognize a Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted and Talented Standard Certificate or a

Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate issued by the Department prior to the
effective date of this regulation. An Educator holding such a Standard Certificate shall be considered certified to
instruct Gifted or Talented Students.

10.0 Contact Information and Change of Name or Address
10.1 All applicants and Educators are required to update their contact information in DEEDS if their contact

information changes.
10.2 An Educator who legally changes the Educator's name and wishes to change the name on the

Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented Standard Certificate shall provide a notarized copy of
evidence of the name change such as a marriage license or court action.

10.3 An applicant or Educator whose mailing address, email address, or phone number changes shall
provide the Department with the new mailing address, email address, or phone number within 14
calendar days of the change.
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DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR 
FAMILIES

DIVISION OF MANAGEMENT SUPPORT SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 9020 (29 Del.C. §9020)

9 DE Admin. Code 501

PUBLIC NOTICE

501 Procedures for Drug Testing Certain Employees

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §9020, the Department of Services for Children, Youth & Their Families (DSCYF) is required
to promulgate regulations regarding its procedures for drug testing certain employees. DSCYF is proposing to
amend Regulation 501 to remove outdated language and to clarify that the only DSCYF employees subject to the
random drug testing procedures are those with job duties involving a safety, security-sensitive or childcare position.

Comments will be accepted until 4:30pm on or before February 3, 2025 in written form via email to
Meredith.Seitz@delaware.gov or by U.S. mail to the following address:

Meredith Seitz, Chief of Staff
Department of Services for Children, Youth & Their Families
1825 Faulkland Road
Wilmington, DE 19805

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 503RFA 01-01-25.pdf

501 Procedures for Drug Testing Certain Employees

1.0 Authority
29 Del.C. §9020

2.0 Purpose
The purpose of this policy regulation is to affirm the commitment of the Department of Services for
Children, Youth and Their Families (DSCYF) to the protection of children/youth in our its care by
requiring all employees in a safety, security sensitive security-sensitive, or childcare position to
undergo testing for commonly abused controlled substances and to establish procedures for the
department's drug testing program in order to detect and deter the illegal use of  drugs by employees
prohibited substances.

3.0 Applicability
3.1 This policy regulation applies to all employees in a safety, security sensitive security-sensitive, or

childcare position including merit, merit exempt and casual/seasonals as defined by DSCYF policy.
Since all positions within the Department are considered safety, security sensitive or childcare
positions this policy is applicable to all employees. If there are any conflicts between this policy
regulation and the merit rules, as set forth in Merit Rule 1.2, the merit rules shall prevail unless
superseded by a collective bargaining agreement (CBA) in accordance with Merit Rule 1.3.

mailto:Meredith.Seitz@delaware.gov
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 503RFA 01-01-25.pdf
https://kids.delaware.gov/management-support-services/
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3.2 All employees will receive a copy of this policy and will sign and return the attached receipt to Human
Resources. This policy will act as an official notice for periodic drug testing. No other announcement
will be made.

4.0 Definitions
“Chain of custody”: the method of tracing each urine specimen to maintain control from initial collection to

final disposition.
“Collection sites”: the designated locations where employees present themselves to provide urine

specimens.
“Confirmation test”: an analytical procedure to identify the presence of a specific drug or metabolite,

which is independent of the initial test, performed on the same specimen and which uses a different
chemical principle from that of the initial test to ensure reliability and accuracy.

“Confirmed positive result”: the presence of a controlled substance in the pure form or its metabolites, at
or above the cutoff level, as identified in two consecutive tests on the same sample which employ
different test methods, and which is determined not to have been caused by an alternative medical
explanation.

“Contractor”: entity paid on a contractual basis to maintain a list of employees in the random testing pool,
select employees for random testing, collect specimens, conduct reasonable suspicion and incident
triggered testing, safeguard specimens, interpret results, notify DSCYF of positive tests and provide
training to supervisors regarding bases for reasonable suspicion testing.

“Employee”: any person receiving compensation as an employee of the DSCYF. "Employee" means any
person hired by DSCYF and receiving compensation for work performed for DSCYF.

“Employee Assistance Program (EAP)”: the state of delaware's employee assistance program that
provides services to a benefit covered employee who has tested positive for the use of prohibited
drugs.

“Employee testing number”: the employee id (EMPLID) number assigned to each employee by the
Payroll Human Resource Statewide Technology (PHRST) system.

“Incident Triggered Testing”: Any triggered testing” means any incident involving death or serious injury
to a DSCYF employee, DSCYF resident or client, loss or significant damage to department DSCYF
property, including any accident involving a motor vehicle transporting DSCYF clients or residents, or
the escape or runaway of a resident where the security sensitive an employee was involved in the
incident.

“Non-negative test result”: Test results that indicate a positive, diluted, adulterated, substituted or similar
result. All non-negative test results are reviewed by a Medical Review Officer (MRO).

"Prohibited substance" means drugs and other substances that may affect physical or mental capabilities
while working including marijuana, cocaine, alcohol, opiates, phencyclidine, and amphetamines.

“Random Testing”: Tests based upon an appropriate random sampling technique, with significant samples
of DSCYF employees in safety, security sensitive or childcare positions being selected on a periodic
basis with all such employees having an equal chance of being selected testing" means drug testing
based upon a random sampling technique of regulated employees. Random testing occurs periodically
with an equal chance of selection for all regulated employees.

“Reasonable Suspicion Testing”: Includes, but is not limited to, testing” means testing as a result of
observing the employee(s) employee either using, distributing, or possessing a drug prohibited
substance, displaying physical symptoms of being under the influence of a drug prohibited substance,
or finding drug prohibited substances or related paraphernalia in the workplace.

"Regulated employees" means any employee or prospective employee accepting job duties involving a
safety, security-sensitive, or childcare position. Regulated employees include staff who perform 1 or
more of the following duties in their role with DSCYF: carry firearms, administer medication, assess the
immediate safety of children including risk of suicide, homicide, or child abuse and neglect, regularly
transport children or their families or both as part of their job duties, have responsibility for the direct
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oversight and supervision of children in facilities and who assess the risk of youth to the safety of the
community.

5.0 Policy
5.1 The department is committed to maintaining a drug free environment through the use of a reasonable

suspicion, return to duty, and random drug testing program. The DSCYF personnel hold positions of
public trust and must not place themselves in a position where client safety may be compromised as a
result of an employee's drug use. Such misconduct conflicts with their duties, poses a risk to the safety
and security of residents, clients, other employees, and the public and jeopardizes the public's
confidence. DSCYF shall conduct its drug testing program in accordance with DSCYF policy.

5.2 All employees are subject to reasonable suspicion and incident-triggered drug testing as outlined in
DSCYF policy. Regulated employees included in DSCYF's safety-sensitive classification are subject to
random drug testing.

5.2 5.3 Employees on initial probation and casual/seasonal employees who have not satisfied the merit
comparable initial probation requirement will be terminated if they receive a positive test result without
recourse to the grievance procedure.

5.3 5.4 Casual/seasonal employees who have satisfied the merit comparable initial probation requirement
may enter into an accredited drug abuse assistance or rehabilitation program at their own expense.
Refer to section X. G. for returning to duty.

5.4 5.5 Employees who seek assistance, prior to being randomly selected for testing, may enter into an
accredited drug abuse assistance or rehabilitation program. The employee may not return to work until
they have complied with section X. G. the requirements for returning to duty as outlined in DSCYF
policy.

6.0 Procedures
6.1 Notice of testing:

6.1.1 Upon arrival at the worksite, selected employees will be given and acknowledge receipt of a Chain
of Custody form. The employee must report to a designated collection site and provide a sample
within twenty-four (24) hours of notification.

6.1.2 Employees notified to report must report for testing to the designated collection site. No requests
to be excused or rescheduled shall be granted. Any failure to report, refusal to be tested or refusal
to cooperate with the testing procedure will result in the removal from the workplace without pay
and will be considered as a positive result.

6.2 Random testing:
6.2.1 All employees are subject to random testing.
6.2.2 Selection is to be based on a computerized random selection of employee testing numbers, not

names.
6.2.3 Monthly, the drug testing contractor will randomly select EMPLIDs equivalent to 25% of the

random testing population per quarter. Because the selection process is random, some
employees may not be tested within a year, while others may be tested more than once.

6.3 Reasonable suspicion testing
6.3.1 In the event of reasonable suspicion, the facility head will contact human resources, who will make

a determination and contact the contractor if a decision is made to test.
6.4 Incident triggered testing

6.4.1 In the event of an incident triggered event, the facility head will contact human resources, who will
make a determination and contact the contractor if a decision is made to test.

6.5 Return to Duty Testing
6.5.1 Before any employee is allowed to return to duty, the employee must have a verified negative drug

screen performed by the Contractor.
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7.0 Specimen Collection Procedures
7.1 The State will have a federally certified collector who will be responsible for conducting all urine

collections.
7.2 Urine specimens will be collected in accordance with current Federal Department of Transportation

standards. Every effort will be made to assure the dignity and privacy of employees being tested.
7.3 If the Contractor determines that the employee is attempting to substitute or adulterate the specimen,

the Contractor shall document the fact and direct the employee to provide another specimen. Both
specimens shall be forwarded to the laboratory. Confirmation of a substituted or adulterated specimen
will be considered as a positive test result.

8.0 Laboratory Procedures
8.1 The laboratory will test for marijuana, cocaine, opiates, phencyclidine and amphetamines. The initial

procedure employed will be the Enzyme Multiplied Immunoassay Testing (EMIT) or similar federally
approved procedure. Cutoff levels will be consistent with current Federal Department of Transportation
standards, which are subject to change.

8.2 All positive specimens shall be confirmed using the Gas Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry (GC/
MS), which shall be conducted from the same specimen. 

8.3 The confirmation test results are reviewed and interpreted by a Medical Review Officer (MRO) before
they are reported to the employer. If the laboratory reports a non-negative result to the MRO, the MRO
contacts the employee and conducts an interview to determine if there is an alternative explanation for
the. If the employee provides appropriate documentation and the MRO determines that it is legitimate
explanation and/or medical documentation, the drug test result is reported as negative to the employer. 

8.4 The MRO will contact the DSCYF Designated Employer Representative (DER) within the Human
Resource Office. 

9.0 Preservation Procedures
Specimens determined to contain drugs will be preserved at the laboratory for a minimum of twelve
(12) months. Employees testing positive may, upon written request to Human Resources, arrange to
have their specimen retested. All costs, including lab fees and transportation shall be paid by the
employee requesting the retest.

10.0 Post Testing Procedures
10.1 If the lab results are negative, the sample shall be destroyed.
10.2 If the lab results are positive, the report will be forwarded to Human Resources by the MRO.
10.3 The Human Resource Office will then notify the appropriate Division Director or designee. They will, in

turn, notify the employee and immediately remove him/her from the workplace without pay.
10.4 The employee is then directed to participate in an accredited drug abuse assistance or rehabilitation

program. Refusal to do so may result in dismissal. All benefit covered employees will be referred to the
State’s EAP program for assistance in enrollment.

10.5 Once the employee makes contact with an accredited drug abuse assistance or rehabilitation program,
and provides documentation of same, the employee will be allowed to use accrued leave, rescheduled
holidays or compensatory time previously earned.

10.6 Before being allowed to return to duty, the employee must: 
10.6.1 Provide documentation to Human Resources showing that the drug abuse assistance or

rehabilitation program was successfully completed and the employee has been released to return
to work. “Successful completion” means the employee has achieved a drug-free state as
determined by the program counselor, and 

10.6.2 The employee will then be required to pass a “return to duty” drug test paid for by the DSCYF
before being cleared to return to work.
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10.7 Any employee who tests positive on a drug test for a second time within five (5) years from the date of
program completion will be terminated without the option to participate in a treatment program.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Board of Pharmacy
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 2506(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2506(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 2500

PUBLIC NOTICE

2500 Board of Pharmacy

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2506(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Pharmacy ("Board") has proposed revisions to its
regulation.

On June 1, 2024, proposed revisions to the regulation were published in the Delaware Register of Regulations,
Volume 27, Issue 12. The Board proposed to amend subsection 5.1.6, pertaining to compounding; a new Section
21.0 was added concerning work conditions for pharmacists; and a new Section 22.0 was added to set forth the
parameters where a pharmacist may decline to fill a prescription based on professional judgment.

A public hearing was held on June 26, 2024 before the Board. The Board deliberated on the evidence presented at
its meeting on August 21, 2024. Based on those deliberations, the Board has proposed further revisions to the
regulation. Therefore, the Board withdraws the proposed regulation published June 1, 2024, and submits a revised
proposed regulation attached as Exhibit A.

A public hearing will be held on February 19, 2025 at 9:30 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed
rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of Pharmacy, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above
address or at ruthm.dixon@delaware.gov.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the final date to receive written comments will be March 6, 2025. The
Board will deliberate on all of the public comments at its regularly scheduled meeting.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

Following publication of the Public Notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations on June 1, 2024, a public
hearing was held on June 26, 2024. The written comment period was held open for thirty days, and an additional
fifteen days following the public hearing. At the hearing, the Board accepted as evidence and marked the following
as the Board's Exhibits:
Board Exhibit 1: Affidavit of publication of the public hearing notice in the News Journal.
Board Exhibit 2: Affidavit of publication of the public hearing notice in the Delaware State News.
Board Exhibit 3: July 10, 2024 letter from Nichole Cover, Walgreens. 
Board Exhibit 4: July 9, 2025 letter from Deeb Eid, CVS Health supporting changes to subsection 5.1.6.2
exempting flavoring from the definition of "compounding."
Board Exhibit 5: Undated written comment from Julie Miro Wenger, Delaware Association of Chain Drug Stores.
Board Exhibit 6: July 11, 2024 letter from Robert Varipapa, MD and Richard Henderson, MD, Medical Society of
Delaware.
Board Exhibit 7: July 10, 2024 letter from Meredith Stewart Tweedie, Christiana Care.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

mailto:ruthm.dixon@delaware.gov
https://dpr.delaware.gov/
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1. The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments to the Board's regulation.

2. Nichole Cover of Walgreens requested revisions to subsection 21.1 to strike the prohibition against the
permit holder overriding the control of the pharmacist regarding appropriate working environments needed to
protect the health, safety and welfare of patients. Ms. Cover requested the addition of language that the permit
holder shall work in collaboration with the pharmacist to protect the public. Similarly, Ms. Cover requested that
subsections 21.2.1 and 21.2.4, which place responsibility on the permit holder for scheduling and training of staff,
be revised to add that both the permit holder and the pharmacist-in-charge are responsible for scheduling and
training staff. She further addressed subsection 21.3 which states that the permit holder shall not override the
control of the pharmacist on duty with respect to the safe administration of vaccines. Ms. Cover suggested the
addition of language that the pharmacist must first communicate with the immediate supervisor or the permit holder
prior to making a determination that vaccines cannot be administered safely. The Board declined to accept these
suggested revisions on the basis that the intent of proposed Section 21.0 is to ensure that the permit holder acts in
the best interests of patients and not solely in the best interests of the pharmacy. The Board noted that the permit
holder and the pharmacist-in-charge may work in collaboration, but that the ultimate responsibility for the overall
safety of the pharmacy rests with the permit holder. The Board found no basis to change the proposed regulation
pursuant to Ms. Cover's comments on these specific subsections.

3. Ms. Cover also addressed subsections 21.4 and 21.4.3 which concern the communication of staffing
concerns to the permit holder. Proposed subsection 21.4.3 provides that the pharmacist may report staffing issues
directly to the Board if warranted. Ms. Cover requested revision to state that the pharmacist must first communicate
concerns directly to the immediate supervisor or the permit holder. The Board declined to adopt this proposed
change on the basis that the pharmacist must have the option of communicating with the Board in a pressing or
emergency situation impacting patient care where the permit holder may not be adequately responsive to protect
the public. Ms. Cover similarly requested striking subsections 21.5.1 - 21.5.4 addressing the permit holder's
required response to pharmacist-reported staffing concerns which includes communicating corrective action to the
pharmacist. The Board again found that these subsections will serve to protect the public and removal will only
allow the permit holder to avoid responding to staffing concerns. However, the Board agreed to revise subsection
21.5.3, at Ms. Cover's request, to provide that the permit holder must have any response to pharmacist staffing
concerns available for inspection by a Board representative within 72 hours, rather than 48 hours, of the request.
The Board also agreed with Ms. Cover's suggestion as to subsection 21.4 which references use of a Board form for
making reports to the Board. Subsection 21.4 has been amended to permit written or electronic reports.

4. Ms. Cover in addition suggested striking 21.2.2 which requires that the permit holder provide "sufficient"
tools and equipment in the pharmacy on the basis that the term "sufficient" is subjective. Ms. Cover similarly
objected to subsection 21.2.6, which states that the permit holder must provide "adequate" time for the pharmacist
to complete professional duties and responsibilities, on the grounds that "adequate" is subjective. The Board
rejected the arguments as to the subjective nature of these terms. Whether conduct meets the requirements of
these subsections will present questions of fact for Board determination. However, in reviewing subsection 21.2.6,
the Board determined that revision was warranted for different reasons. The Board decided that the list of
"professional duties and responsibilities" was unnecessarily detailed and has revised this subsection accordingly
as set forth in Exhibit A.

5. Finally, Ms. Cover requested that the Board strike subsection 21.6 which provides that the permit holder
must ensure that there is at least 1 fully trained technician "immediately available in the facility." Ms. Cover stated
that the appropriate amount of staffing should be determined by the pharmacist. The Board disagreed on the basis
that the permit holder should be responsible for ensuring that the pharmacy is properly staffed in the interests of
public protection. However, the Board decided to revise subsection 21.6 on other grounds. Subsection 21.6 has
been amended in the interests of clarity to provide that the technician must be fully trained pursuant to subsection
19.1 and on the premises to assist the pharmacist. 

6. Ms. Miro Wenger first asserted that the Board failed to comply with 29 Del. C. § 10404A(a) which provides
that: "Any agency that proposes to adopt or amend any regulation under the Administrative Procedures Act, §
10101 et seq. of this title, that is substantially likely to impose additional costs or burdens upon individuals and/or
small businesses shall submit a regulatory impact statement to be published by the Registrar of Regulations." The
regulatory impact statement must include:

(3) An identification of the individuals and/or small businesses that would be subject to compliance under
the regulation;
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(4) A good-faith estimate by the agency of the potential cost of compliance for individuals and/or small
businesses, which at minimum shall include the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other
administrative costs required to comply with the proposed regulation; and

(5) A description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the
proposed regulation, to the extent such methods are not otherwise described herein.

29 Del.C. § 10404A(a). Section 10404A(b) provides for exemptions from the requirements listed above including:
"Regulations that define standards of conduct or qualifications of individuals applying for licensure or as licensed
professionals." 29 Del.C. § 10404A(b)(4). As set forth in the Board's Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Regulatory
Impact Statement, the proposed regulation, specifically Section 21.0, sets forth standards of conduct for pharmacy
permit holders, who are licensed by the Board. Therefore, the proposed regulation falls within the exemption set
forth in Section 10401A(b)(4). 

7. Ms. Miro Wenger further requested revisions to Section 21.0. First, she requested that subsection 21.1 be
amended to state that a permit holder's decision that is outside of policies and procedures shall not override the
control of the pharmacist. The Board rejected this requested revision on the basis that the referenced "policies and
procedures" are not identified and may vary from pharmacy to pharmacy. Ms. Miro Wenger also requested that the
Board strike the first sentence of subsection 21.2.1, which mandates that the permit holder ensure that sufficient
personnel are scheduled to work to prevent "fatigue, distraction, or other conditions which interfere with a
pharmacist's ability to practice with reasonable competence and safety." The Board rejected this requested change
on the basis that the language serves to protect the public. Ms. Miro Wenger also suggested revision to subsection
21.2.3 requiring a permit holder to avoid the introduction of productivity quotas. She argued that the language
impeded on free market principles. While the Board did not accept this rationale, the Board determined to use the
term "thresholds" rather than "quotas." Ms. Miro Wenger also offered comments on subsections 21.2.5.1, 21.2.5.3,
and 21.2.5.6, pertaining to breaks for pharmacists. The Board declined to accept these requested revisions on the
basis that the proposed language serves to protect the public by ensuring that pharmacists are afforded breaks
from practice. Finally, Ms. Miro Wenger requested revision to subsections 21.2.6, 21.3, 21.4 and 21.6. These
subsections were addressed by the Board in the context of Ms. Cover's comments. The Board has made certain
revisions, reflected in Exhibit A, and further amendment is not warranted.

8. Dr. Varipapa and Dr. Henderson requested revision to the last sentence of proposed Section 22.0 which sets
forth a pharmacist's right to refuse to fill a prescription based on professional judgment. The last sentence provides
that the pharmacist "shall attempt to discuss the decision with the practitioner." The requested change would
provide that the pharmacist "make every attempt to contact" the practitioner for a discussion prior to notifying the
patient that the prescription has been refused. The Board declined to make this requested change on the basis that
the proposed language gives the pharmacist the necessary authority to exercise professional judgment in the best
interests of patients.

9. Ms. Tweedie requested that the Board revise several subsections of proposed Section 21.0. First, she asked
that the Board clarify whether subsection 21.2.1, concerning staffing, applies to hospital pharmacies. The Board
found that the subsection is sufficiently clear, and the comment does not require revision. Ms. Tweedie also
requested clarification as to use of the term "sufficient" in subsection 21.2.4, a comment addressed and rejected by
the Board in Paragraph 4 herein. Ms. Tweedie further commented on subsection 21.2.5, pertaining to rest periods
and meal breaks, in light of Delaware labor laws. The Board found no need to revise the proposed language based
on Ms. Tweedie's comment. Ms. Tweedie objected to inclusion of "patient testing" in proposed subsection 21.2.6.
The Board decided to strike this language, as set forth in Paragraph 4 herein. Ms. Tweedie also requested an
amendment to proposed subsection 21.3, concerning the safe administration of vaccines, to add reference to
"biologicals, and injectable medications" to be consistent with existing Section 14.0. The Board agreed and made
this revision. Finally, Ms. Tweedie asked that proposed subsection 21.4.3 be amended to allow for anonymous
reports concerning staffing concerns. The Board concluded that this revision was not warranted.

10. At the hearing on June 26, 2024, Alison Panicola, Albertson's Pharmacy, addressed the Board to state
concerns regarding possible unintended consequences of proposed Section 21.0. Specifically, she requested
amendment to subsection 21.3 to state 1 immunizer on duty instead of 1 pharmacist, so that technicians can
continue to support the immunization process in the pharmacy. The Board declined to make this revision on the
basis that administration of immunizations requires the presence of a pharmacist. The Board did, however, revise
the subsection to state "certified immunizer pharmacist." For subsections 21.4 and 21.5 she offered the following
suggestion: strike these subsections to allow the permit holder to have policies and procedures in place to respond
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appropriately to staff members regarding ad-ditional staff support needs. The Board declined to make this
requested revision on the basis that the proposed language provides greater protection to the public. She further
commented that 21.6 lacked clarity regarding "fully trained" technician and "immediately available." The Board
addressed and rejected similar comments as set forth in Paragraph 4 herein.

11. Pursuant to 24 Del.C. § 2506(a)(1), the Board has the statutory authority to promulgate rules and
regulations. The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing and by
testimony on the proposed amendments to the Board's regulation. The Board considered both written comments
and testimony presented by various stakeholders. On the basis of public comment, the Board made certain
revisions to the proposed regulation. Therefore, the proposed regulation, published on June 1, 2024, is withdrawn.
The Board's proposed regulation is attached hereto as Exhibit A.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 507RFA 01-01-25.pdf

2500 Board of Pharmacy
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3.0 Pharmacy Requirements
3.1 Pharmacist in Charge

3.1.1 Application for permit to operate a pharmacy in the State of Delaware must be on a form approved
by the Board. The form shall include the statement to be signed by the pharmacist in charge, "I
understand that I am responsible for conducting and managing the prescription department in
compliance with applicable State and Federal laws."

3.1.2 The Board interprets the responsibilities of the Pharmacist-in-Charge to include, but not be limited
to the following:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)
3.1.2.4 Establish procedures within operation that maintain standard of practice as it relates to the

dispensing of pharmaceuticals and refusal to dispense pharmaceuticals based on the
religious, moral, or ethical beliefs of the dispensing pharmacist. These procedures shall
include for proper supervision of supportive personnel and delegation of authority to
another pharmacist when not on duty.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)
3.8 Technician Support. The pharmacy permit holder shall ensure that, at all times that the pharmacy

department is open for business, there shall be at least 1 fully trained technician immediately available
in the facility to assist in the pharmacy at the pharmacist's request. A schedule of technician support
shall be readily available to the pharmacists at all times.

3.9 3.8 A conspicuous sign with letters not less than 3/4 inches in height, reading “patients may request the lot
numbers and expiration dating for their dispensed medication at the time of prescription drop-off” or
words of similar import, must be posted in the front section of the operation or in front of the
prescription area, room or partitioned-off section where it can be seen by the public.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Dispensing
5.1 The practice of dispensing shall include, but not be limited to the following acts which shall be

performed only by a pharmacist, or a pharmacy intern or student participating in an approved College
of Pharmacy coordinated, practical experience program under the direct supervision of a pharmacist.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)
5.1.6 Compounding

5.1.6.1 Compounding is the responsibility of the pharmacist. All compounding must be in
compliance with FFDCA Section 503A and any regulations promulgated by FDA

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 507RFA 01-01-25.pdf
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concerning compounding pertaining to this section. The pharmacist may utilize the
assistance of a certified pharmacy technician, or a pharmacy technician who has
completed a Board-approved program for sterile compounding, under the direct
supervision of a pharmacist if:

5.1.6.1 5.1.6.1.1The formulation is developed by a pharmacist before proceeding with the
compounding.

5.1.6.2 5.1.6.1.2The compounding ingredients are checked by the pharmacist before proceeding with
the compounding.

5.1.6.3 5.1.6.1.3Every weight and measurement is checked by the pharmacist before proceeding with
the compounding.

5.1.6.4 5.1.6.1.4The finished product is checked by the pharmacist before dispensing.
5.1.6.5 5.1.6.1.5A log is maintained showing the identity of the person actually compounding the

medication and the identity of the pharmacist who has performed each of the checks
indicated above for each step of the procedure. If policies and procedures are in place
ensuring adequate checks by the pharmacist per regulation, the requirement for a log will
be waived.

5.1.6.2 The definition of "compounding" does not include the flavoring of conventionally
manufactured medications provided that the flavors used are inert, tested, and do not alter
a medication's concentration beyond USP's accepted level of variance.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

21.0 Pharmacy Working Conditions
21.1 A pharmacy permit holder shall protect the health, safety, and welfare of patients by consulting with the

pharmacist-in-charge or pharmacist on duty and other pharmacy staff to ensure patient care services
are safely provided in compliance with applicable standards of patient care. A permit holder's decision
shall not override the control of the pharmacist-in-charge or other pharmacist on duty regarding
appropriate working environments for all pharmacy personnel necessary to protect the health, safety,
and welfare of patients.

21.2 To provide a safe working environment in a pharmacy, a permit holder shall, at a minimum:
21.2.1 Ensure sufficient personnel are scheduled to work at all times in order to prevent fatigue,

distraction, or other conditions which interfere with a pharmacist's ability to practice with
reasonable competence and safety. Staffing levels shall not be solely based on prescription
volume but shall consider any other requirements of pharmacy staff during working hours.

21.2.2 Provide sufficient tools and equipment in good repair and minimize excessive distractions to
support a safe workflow for a pharmacist to practice with reasonable competence and safety to
address patient needs in a timely manner.

21.2.3 Avoid the introduction of external factors, such as productivity or production thresholds, or other
programs to the extent that they interfere with the pharmacist's ability to provide appropriate
professional services to the public.

21.2.4 Ensure staff are sufficiently trained to safely and adequately perform their assigned duties, ensure
staff demonstrate competency, and ensure that pharmacy technician trainees work closely with
pharmacists and pharmacy technicians with sufficient experience as determined by the
pharmacist-in-charge.

21.2.5 Provide appropriate opportunities for uninterrupted rest periods and meal breaks:
21.2.5.1 A pharmacist who works 6 continuous hours or longer per day shall be allowed to take, at

a minimum, 1 30-minute uninterrupted meal break and 1 15-minute break during that 6-
hour period.

21.2.5.2 If a pharmacist is required to work 12 continuous hours per day, at a minimum, the
pharmacist qualifies for an additional 15-minute break.
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21.2.5.3 A pharmacist who is entitled to take breaks shall not be required to work more than 5
continuous hours, excluding a 15-minute break, before being given the opportunity to take
a 30-minute uninterrupted meal break.

21.2.5.4 If the pharmacy has a private break room available, or if there is a private break room in
the establishment or business in which the pharmacy is located, a pharmacist who is
entitled to breaks must be given access to the private break room and allowed to spend
break time in that room.

21.2.5.5 A pharmacy may close when a pharmacist is on break based on the professional
judgment of the pharmacist on duty.

21.2.5.6 If a pharmacy does not close while the pharmacist is on break, the pharmacist must
ensure adequate security of drugs by taking their break within the prescription department
or on the premises. The pharmacist on duty must determine if pharmacy technicians or
pharmacy interns may continue to perform duties and if the pharmacist is able to provide
adequate supervision.

21.2.5.7 If the pharmacy remains open, only prescriptions verified by a pharmacist may be
dispensed while the pharmacist is on break. An offer to counsel any person filling a new
prescription must be offered pursuant to subsection 5.2. Persons who request to speak
with the pharmacist shall be told that the pharmacist is on break and that they may wait to
speak with the pharmacist.

21.2.6 Provide adequate time for a pharmacist to complete professional duties and responsibilities
required under Chapter 25 of Title 24 of the Delaware Code and the Board's rules and regulations.

21.2.7 Ensure that pharmacy technicians shall never perform duties otherwise restricted to a pharmacist.
21.3 A pharmacy permit holder shall not override the control of the pharmacist on duty regarding all aspects

of the practice of pharmacy, including the decision of the certified immunizer pharmacist not to
administer vaccines, biologicals, and injectable medications when 1 pharmacist is on duty and, in the
pharmacist's professional judgment, vaccines, biologicals, and injectable medications cannot be
administered safely.

21.4 Staffing requests or concerns shall be communicated by the pharmacist-in-charge or pharmacist on
duty to the permit holder in written or electronic format.

21.4.1 Signed staffing forms shall be provided to the immediate supervisor of the pharmacist-in-charge or
pharmacist on duty, with 1 copy maintained in the pharmacy for at least 3 years and available for
inspection upon request by a representative of the Board.

21.4.2 The pharmacist-in-charge or pharmacist on duty may report any staffing issues directly to the
Board if the pharmacist-in-charge of pharmacist on duty believes the situation warrants immediate
Board review.

21.4.3 Under no circumstances shall a good faith report of staffing concerns by the professional-in-
charge, pharmacist on duty, or notification of such issues by pharmacy personnel to the
professional-in-charge or pharmacist on duty result in workplace discipline against the reporting
staff member.

21.5 Permit holders shall review completed staffing reports and shall:
21.5.1 Respond to reporting staff member to acknowledge receipt of the staffing request or concern.
21.5.2 Resolve any issues listed in a timely manner to ensure a safe working environment for pharmacy

staff and appropriate medication access for patients.
21.5.3 Document any corrective action taken, steps taken towards corrective action as of the time of

inspection, or justification for inaction, which documentation shall be maintained on-site for at least
3 years and produced for inspection by a representative of the Board within 48 hours of the
request.

21.5.4 Communicate corrective action taken or justification for inaction to the professional-in-charge or
reporting pharmacist on duty.

21.6 Technician Support. The pharmacy permit holder shall ensure that, at all times that the pharmacy
department is open for business, there shall be at least 1 technician, who is fully trained pursuant to
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subsection 19.1, on the premises to assist in the pharmacy at the pharmacist's request. A schedule of
technician support shall be readily available to the pharmacists at all times.

22.0 Professional Judgment in Dispensing Drugs
The pharmacist shall have the right to refuse to fill a prescription if, in their professional judgment, the

prescription is outside the scope of practice of the practitioner; or if the pharmacist has sufficient reason to question
the validity of the prescription; or to protect the health and welfare of the patient. If necessary, the pharmacist shall
attempt to discuss the decision with the practitioner.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 507 01-01-25.htm

DIVISION OF SMALL BUSINESS
Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 8705A (29 Del.C. §8705A)

PUBLIC NOTICE

The STEM Talent Advancement and Retention ("STAR") Fund

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 29 Del.C. §8705A, the Division of Small Business ("Division") proposes to promulgate new
regulations regarding criteria and procedures governing the STEM Talent Advancement and Retention Fund.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other written materials concerning the proposed modifications should direct them to the
following address:

Business Finance Unit
Division of Small Business
99 Kings Highway
Dover, DE 19901

Comments may also be directed via electronic mail to business_finance@delaware.gov. Any written
submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed rules must be received by the above contact at
the Division of Small Business no later than 4 p.m. EST, January 31, 2025.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon the
Division's consideration of the written comments and any other written materials filed by the public.

Statutory Authority 29 Del.C. §8705A.
 29 Del.C. §8705A enables the Division of Small Business to establish and promulgate such rules and

regulations governing the administration and operation of the Division as may be deemed necessary by the
Director and which are not inconsistent with the laws of the State of Delaware.

Background

The STEM Talent Advancement and Retention Fund ("STAR Fund") was established pursuant to Section 37 of the
Fiscal Year 2025 Grants-in-Aid Act, S.B. 327 of the 152nd General Assembly, for the purpose of incentivizing,
retaining, and attracting graduates from an accredited post-secondary institution of higher education who are
employed or considering employment in Delaware in the STEM fields by providing awards for reimbursement of
their education loans. The STAR Fund will be administered by the Division of Small Business, a division within the
Department of State. 29 Del.C. §8703A.

mailto:business_finance@delaware.gov
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 507 01-01-25.htm
https://business.delaware.gov/
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*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 513RFA 01-01-25.pdf

The STEM Talent Advancement and Retention ("STAR") Fund

1.0 Statutory Authority and Enabling Legislation
The STAR Fund was established pursuant to Section 37 of the Fiscal Year 2025 Grants-in-Aid Act, Senate Bill

327 of the 152nd General Assembly, which directs the Division of Small Business (the "Division") to prescribe such
regulations as may be necessary to administer the STAR Fund.

2.0 Purpose and Intent
2.1 The purpose of the STAR Fund is to incentivize, retain, and attract graduates from an accredited post-

secondary institution of higher education who are employed or considering employment in Delaware in
the STEM fields by providing awards for reimbursement of their higher education loans.

2.2 This regulation contains procedures governing the process for applying to the Division for an award
under the STAR Fund and criteria for the Division's approval or disapproval of an application for an
award under the STAR Fund.

3.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, have the following meaning:

"Applicant" means any individual with an associate's, bachelor's, graduate, or post-graduate degree from
an accredited post-secondary institution of higher learning, with accompanying education loan
repayment expenses, who is employed or has an offer of employment as a full-time employee
(minimum of 35 hours per week) with a Delaware-based employer, filling a position located in the
State.

"Application" means an application made to the Division of Small Business on such form or forms,
together with all relevant attachments, and signed by the applicant.

"Award" means funding provided from the STAR Fund to applicants for the reimbursement of higher
education loans. 

"Awardee" means an applicant who has been selected by the Fund Committee to receive an award from
the STAR Fund.

"Award letter" means a letter from the Fund Committee notifying applicants who have been selected to
receive an award from the STAR Fund.

"Division" means the Division of Small Business created by § 8703A of Title 29 of the Delaware Code.
"Eligibility period" means a term of up to 4 consecutive service periods beginning on the date that an

awardee receives initial notice of an award from the STAR Fund and ending at the conclusion of the
fourth service period.

"Eligible expenses" means annual higher education loan repayment expenses, including principal,
interest, and fees (excluding late fees or other penalties for late payment).

"Fund Committee" means the group of individuals designated by the Delaware Division of Small Business
and the Delaware Center for Life Science Education and Training, including the Director of the
Delaware Division of Small Business and the Executive Director of the Delaware Center for Life
Science Education and Training, or their designees, to review applications and select awardees.

"Service Period" means 1 calendar year of education loan repayments.
"State" means the State of Delaware.

4.0 Eligibility

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 513RFA 01-01-25.pdf
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4.1 The applicant shall have graduated from an accredited post-secondary institution of higher learning
with an associate's, bachelor's, graduate, or post-graduate degree with accompanying education loan
repayment expenses.

4.2 The applicant shall be offered employment as a full-time employee (minimum of 35 hours per week)
with a Delaware-based employer filing a position located in this State throughout the eligibility period.
Employment must be in 1 or more of the following fields:

4.2.1 Life, natural, or environmental sciences;
4.2.2 Computer information or software technology;
4.2.3 Advanced mathematics or finance;
4.2.4 Engineering; or
4.2.5 Medical device technology.

4.3 Preference will be given to applicants who are permanent residents of the State or who attended an
institution of higher education located in the State when they incurred the eligible expenses.

5.0 Timeline
The Fund Committee shall complete its review of the applications within 60 days from the application deadline.

6.0 Application Process
6.1 The application will be available through an application portal located on the Delaware Center for Life

Science Education and Training's website. Every application that includes all required responses and
attachments will be reviewed and evaluated by the Fund Committee. All applicants will be notified of
the Fund Committee's decision upon the conclusion of the Fund Committee's review of all applications.

6.2 Applicants are required to submit the following documents in addition to the application:
6.2.1 Employer Endorsement Form.
6.2.2 Resume, including applicant's current position and current employer.
6.2.3 Transcripts from post-secondary educational institution. Transcripts do not need to be "official"

transcripts, but must include the college or university's name, student's name, course work and
grades, and GPA.

6.2.4 Twelve months of individual loan statements and proof of payment for the entire service period to
prove the applicant's minimum monthly payment amount for all lenders.

6.2.5 Documentation for each student loan account that includes the following information:
6.2.5.1 Account holder information (name, address, account number).
6.2.5.2 Loan provider information.
6.2.5.3 Loan terms and payment schedule, including minimum required payment amount.
6.2.5.4 Total loan amount and interest rate.
6.2.5.5 Evidence of other loan repayment programs, if applicable, including income based

repayment letters and employer-run program agreements.

7.0 Selection Process
7.1 Applications will be reviewed and evaluated by the Fund Committee, which shall consist of 5 members

chosen by the Delaware Division of Small Business and the Delaware Center for Life Science
Education and Training. The Director of the Delaware Division of Small Business and the Executive
Director of the Delaware Center for Life Science Education and Training, or their designees, must be
members of the Fund Committee.

7.2 The remaining 3 members of the Fund Committee shall be selected based on their knowledge and
expertise in STEM employment trends and STEM hiring needs in Delaware. The Fund Committee may
include representatives from STEM industries, a representative from a Delaware higher education
institution, and a representative from a workforce development organization.

7.3 The Fund Committee will review applications on a name-blind basis.
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7.4 Upon receipt of an application from an eligible applicant, the Fund Committee shall select applicants,
on a competitive basis, to receive an award for the service period for which the applicant is applying,
as follows:

7.4.1 A maximum award of $1,000 for an associate degree holder.
7.4.2 A maximum award of $4,000 for a bachelor's degree holder.
7.4.3 A maximum award of $6,000 for a graduate or post-graduate degree holder.

7.5 The Fund Committee shall email an award letter to each applicant selected for an award. The
applicant shall have 30 days from the date the award letter is emailed to accept the award by
countersigning the award letter and delivering an executed copy to the Division. An award shall be
deemed withdrawn if not timely accepted by an applicant.

7.6 In addition to the terms provided by subsections 7.4, 7.5, and 8.2 of this regulation, the award letter
shall require that the applicant:

7.6.1 Submit annual reports, in the form and on the dates as required, in order to confirm that the
applicant continues to meet all of the eligibility requirements contained in this regulation; and

7.6.2 Consent to the public disclosure of the receipt of any award, including disclosure of the applicant's:
7.6.2.1 Name;
7.6.2.2 Post-secondary institution of higher learning; and
7.6.2.3 Employer.

8.0 Annual Certification
8.1 Within 6 months after the end of each service period, awardees shall submit documentation certifying

the following information:
8.1.1 The amount of eligible expenses the awardee has actually incurred and paid.
8.1.2 That the awardee continues to meet the eligibility requirements throughout the service period.
8.1.3 That the award amount does not exceed the original student loan amount, plus any capitalized

interest, excluding any award previously received from the STAR Fund.
8.1.4 That the awardee is current on their student loan repayment obligations.

8.2 Awardee shall submit a notarized certification attesting to the truth and accuracy of the information
provided in response to subsections 8.1.1 through 8.1.4, in the form to be provided with the award
letter. The Division reserves the right to request additional documentation, in its sole discretion.

OFFICE OF THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSIONER
Statutory Authority: 4 Delaware Code, Section 304 (4 Del.C. §304)

PUBLIC NOTICE

507 Licensing Third-party Delivery of Alcoholic Beverages

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 4 Del.C. §304, the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner proposes to
establish a new regulation related to permitting and licensing third-party delivery of alcoholic beverages in the
State.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other written materials concerning the proposed regulations should direct them to the
following address:

Doug Denison
Deputy Commissioner
Office of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner

https://oabcc.delaware.gov/
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820 N. French St., 10th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801

Comments may also be directed via electronic mail to OABCCrulescomments@delaware.gov. Any written
submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed regulations must be received by the Delaware
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner no later than 4 p.m. EST, February 3, 2025.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon
consideration of the written comments and any other written materials filed by the public.

Background

The Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner ("Commissioner" or "Office") is authorized by the
General Assembly of the State of Delaware, to establish, by rules and regulations, an effective control of the
business of manufacture, sale, dispensation, distribution and importation of alcoholic liquors within and into the
State of Delaware, including the time, place and manner in which alcoholic liquors shall be sold and dispensed, not
inconsistent with Title 4 of the Delaware Code, known as the Delaware Liquor Control Act ("DLCA") or with any
other law of the State. The Commissioner is further authorized to adopt and promulgate rules and regulations not
inconsistent with Title 4 or of any other law of the State, and such rules and regulations shall have the force and
effect of law; provided, however that no such rule or regulation shall extend, modify or conflict with any law of this
State or the reasonable implications thereof; and provided further, however, that such rules and regulations, as
established by the Commissioner, shall focus primarily on public safety and the best interests of the consumer and
shall not unduly restrict competition within the alcoholic beverage industry.

Senate Bill 166, passed by the 152nd General Assembly and signed by the Governor in 2024, created a new
license type permitting persons or business entities that are registered to do business in this state to deliver
alcoholic beverages under certain circumstances if licensed by this Office. The bill did not authorize retail licensees
to deliver alcoholic beverages. Senate Bill 166 authorized the Commissioner to draft appropriate regulations
governing the new license. Proposed 4 DE Admin. Code 507 creates the requirements necessary for licensure.
Licensees, such as restaurants, taprooms and package stores may not, themselves deliver alcoholic beverages,
but instead must contract with a third party licensed by this Office that is authorized to deliver alcoholic beverages.
A Third-Party Delivery Licensee may not hold another liquor license in Delaware.

Summary of Proposal

 4 DE Admin. Code 507 is a new proposed regulation that sets forth criteria to permit and license third-party
delivery service of alcoholic beverages purchased by a customer in this State who is 21 years or older and not
intoxicated from an on-premise licensee also in this State as authorized by the Commissioner in accordance with
the Delaware Liquor Control Act. 4 Del.C. §512(a)(1).

Statutory Authority  4 Del.C. §304, 4 Del.C. §512(a)

4 Del.C. §304 enables the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner to adopt and promulgate rules
and regulations not inconsistent with Title 4 of the Delaware Code and all such rules and regulations shall have the
force and effect of law; provided, that no such rule or regulation shall extend, modify or conflict with any law of the
State of Delaware or the reasonable implications thereof. 

4 Del.C. §512(a) enables the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner to authorize a person or
entity to provide third-party delivery service to a customer in this State who is 21 years or older and not intoxicated
and purchases alcoholic liquors from an on-premise licensee in the State. 

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 516RFA 01-01-25.pdf

mailto:OABCCrulescomments@delaware.gov
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 516RFA 01-01-25.pdf
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500 Initial and Temporary Licensure

507 Licensing Third-party Delivery of Alcoholic Beverages

1.0 Purpose, Applicability and Findings
1.1 The purpose of this regulation is to establish procedures for the issuance of third-party delivery

licenses under 4 Del.C. §512(a).
1.2 Only on-premise licensees with a license identified in 4 Del.C. §512(a) may contract with third-party

delivery licensees to deliver alcoholic beverages to persons 21 years and older and not otherwise
intoxicated. On-premise licensees, licensed pursuant to 4 Del.C. §512(a), may not themselves deliver
alcoholic beverages to persons 21 years and older.

1.3 The Commissioner finds that certification cards issued by server training providers are revocable
permits under the Delaware Liquor Control Act, as licenses, and may be subject to administrative
sanctions, including suspension or revocation.

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, have the following meaning:
"Commissioner" means the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner.
"Delivery worker" means an independent contractor or payroll employee of a third-party delivery licensee

who performs alcohol-delivery services at the direction and control of that third-party delivery licensee.
"Fixed fee" means a pre-determined fee that is not dependent, directly or indirectly, on the sales, profits, or

revenues earned by the on-premise licensee.
"Office" means the Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner.
"On-premise licensee" means, for purposes of this regulation, a licensee licensed at all times to sell and

serve alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises where sold pursuant to 4 Del.C. §512(a)
that has entered into a written agreement with a third-party delivery licensee to deliver alcoholic
beverages.

"Third-party delivery licensee" or "TPDL" means a third-party delivery vendor with a license issued by
the Commissioner, authorizing it to arrange for the delivery of alcoholic beverages in original
containers and cocktails-to-go in containers securely closed, as further defined by this regulation to
customers on behalf of on-premise licensees.

"Third-party delivery vendor" or "TPDV" means an entity that arranges for delivery of food or beverages
or both to customers.

3.0 Procedure and Requirements for Licensure
3.1 A third-party delivery vendor or TPDV shall pay the $1,000 non-refundable application processing fee

and submit a completed application form to be licensed as a third-party delivery licensee or TPDL,
submit other documentation as required by the Commissioner, and submit the following:

3.1.1 Sample agreement between TPDV applicant and on-premise licensee that shall include, at a
minimum:

3.1.1.1 All fees, costs, commissions, and other forms of compensation; and
3.1.1.2 Responsibility for insurance and indemnity.

3.1.2 Sample agreement between TPDV applicant and delivery worker that shall include, at a minimum:
3.1.2.1 Delivery worker consent to background check; and
3.1.2.2 Delivery worker consent to maintain a valid driver's license and adequate vehicle

insurance coverage.
3.1.3 Detailed description of all forms of compensation (e.g., delivery fees, delivery worker tips, etc.)

from on-premise licensees and receiving customers, including routing or remitting payments.
3.1.4 Proposed server training program for delivery workers for review and approval by the

Commissioner.
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3.2 Any and all fees and other forms of compensation paid or anticipated to be paid to a TPDV by an on-
premise licensee must be disclosed during the license application process.

3.3 Once approved as a TPDL, all executed agreements with on-premise licensees who wish to have
alcoholic beverages delivered lawfully pursuant to 4 Del.C. §512(a) must be provided to the Office by
the TPDL within 10 business day of execution. Any future contracts with on-premise licensees entered
into after application approval shall also be filed with the Office by the TPDL within 10 business days of
execution.

3.4 All TPDLs shall verify delivery worker eligibility, including that:
3.4.1 Every delivery worker is 21 years or older, holds a valid driver's license and vehicle registration,

and has adequate vehicle insurance coverage;
3.4.2 All delivery workers undergo a criminal background check and driver history check by the TPDL or

a vendor designated by the TPDL to conduct background checks;
3.4.3 All delivery workers complete alcohol server training approved by this Office before delivering

alcoholic beverages. The alcohol server training must be renewed in accordance with the Office's
protocols.

3.5 Proof of general liability insurance with liquor liability endorsement. The TPDL must maintain sufficient
general liability insurance with a liquor liability endorsement, which endorsement shall provide
coverage for employees and independent contractors of the TPDL.

3.6 All records of delivery worker eligibility shall be maintained by the TPDV for 3 years.

4.0 Requirements for Delivery
4.1 Deliveries of alcoholic beverages are limited to 2 750-milliliter bottles of wine with each bottle limited to

750 milliliters, 6 servings of beer, and mixed cocktails which are made in the restaurant, brewpub,
tavern, taproom, or other entity with a valid on-premise license that has entered into a delivery
agreement with the TPDL. Canned, premixed cocktails are not permitted to be delivered. All alcoholic
beverages provided for delivery must be in sealed containers, securely closed, and in a container that
does not include a lid with sipping holes, pursuant to the Delaware Liquor Control Act and the
Commissioner's regulations.

4.1.1 TPDL must have a valid, executed written agreement with an on-premise licensee on file with this
Office before the TPDL may make any deliveries of alcoholic beverages.

4.1.2 TPDL must have a valid, executed written employment agreement with each delivery worker
before the delivery worker may make any deliveries of alcoholic beverages.

4.2 Deliveries are prohibited to the following locations:
4.2.1 State-operated facility;
4.2.2 Correction and prison facilities;
4.2.3 Hospital;
4.2.4 Locker mailbox;
4.2.5 Post office box;
4.2.6 Package shipping or storage facility;
4.2.7 Retail licensee licensed by this Office;
4.2.8 All schools, including public, private, and charter schools through and including the 12th grade;
4.2.9 Undergraduate housing at an institution of higher learning;
4.2.10 Vacant home or building;
4.2.11 Locations where alcoholic beverages are otherwise prohibited, such as places of public

accommodation, public beaches, etc.; and
4.2.12 Outside of the State of Delaware.

4.3 Process for delivery
4.3.1 TPDL must transmit delivery-related information to delivery workers in real-time and alert them

that an order contains an age-restricted alcoholic beverage.
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4.3.2 Delivery workers must have a copy of the invoice or bill of sale stating the name and address of
the receiving customer and the type, brand, and quantity of each alcoholic beverage being
delivered. Each package of alcoholic beverages must be clearly marked in 26-point legible type or
larger, "CONTAINS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES; AGE VERIFICATION REQUIRED."

4.3.3 Delivery workers must verify that receiving customers are of legal age and are not visibly
intoxicated before delivering alcoholic beverages. At a minimum, this includes electronic
verification of a customer's identification as well as verbal and observable verification, i.e.,
"multifactor" verification.

4.3.4 Delivery workers must obtain the signature (electronic or paper) or "finger scan" of the receiving
customer before handing over possession of the alcoholic beverages.

4.3.5 Delivery workers must refuse delivery to the customer and return the alcoholic beverage to the on-
premise licensee if:

4.3.5.1 The receiving customer is underage or intoxicated;
4.3.5.2 The customer refuses to sign for delivery or to provide a valid and current I.D.;
4.3.5.3 The third-party delivery licensee or its delivery worker doubts the authenticity of the

customer's ID;
4.3.5.4 There is reason to suspect the customer is accepting delivery on behalf of an underage

person; or
4.3.5.5 Other valid reason as determined by the third-party delivery licensee.

4.3.6 Delivery workers are prohibited from:
4.3.6.1 Collecting payment for the alcoholic beverage from the receiving customer;
4.3.6.2 Subcontracting or delegating to another person the delivery of alcoholic beverages;
4.3.6.3 Delivering alcoholic beverages to prohibited locations identified in subsection 4.2 of this

regulation;
4.3.6.4 Leaving alcoholic beverages unattended or storing alcoholic beverages overnight under

any circumstances;
4.3.6.5 Delivering alcoholic beverages not identified in an invoice from the on-premise licensee

who is the merchant of record for the delivery; and
4.3.6.6 Engaging in no-contact deliveries without face-to-face interaction with the receiving

customer.
4.3.7 The TPDL shall ensure all deliveries by its delivery workers occur only during the hours of

operation of the on-premise licensee with whom it has contracted to deliver alcoholic beverages.
4.4 The third-party delivery licensee may receive a fixed fee as defined in Section 2.0 of this regulation for

its delivery services.
4.5 The third-party delivery licensee does not have any retail sales privileges and therefore cannot charge

a commission or receive a percentage of the proceeds from the sale of alcoholic beverages.
4.5.1 The on-premise licensee must retain control of all aspects of alcoholic beverage commerce,

including product selection, pricing, and collecting the sales proceeds.
4.5.2 The Commissioner, upon request, may approve the third-party delivery licensees and on-premise

licensees to use an integrated third-party payment processing platform (e.g., Stripe.com,
Square.com or other platform) to aggregate their charges and bifurcate and remit the proceeds as
appropriate (i.e., on-premise licensee is promptly remitted payment for sale of alcohol and third-
party delivery licensee is remitted the fixed fee for the delivery of alcohol). The portion of the
payment attributable to the alcoholic beverage purchase must be promptly remitted by the
payment processing platform directly to the on-premise licensee, defined to mean the remittance
would take place within 24 to 48 hours of the sales transaction.

4.6 The TPDL is prohibited from:
4.6.1 Selling or reselling alcoholic beverages; and
4.6.2 Setting the prices of alcoholic beverages or determining which beverages are available for

delivery.
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5.0 Recordkeeping Requirements
5.1 TPDLs shall retain electronic records of each delivery for 3 years from the date of delivery and make

available to the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement or DATE upon request for the purpose of
investigating and enforcing the Delaware Liquor Control Act and all of its corresponding regulations.
The record of each delivery shall include the following:

5.1.1 On-premise licensee's name and address;
5.1.2 Name of customer who placed the order and the date, time and method of the order;
5.1.3 Name of delivery worker and the date, time and address of the delivery; and
5.1.4 Type, brand, and quantity of each alcoholic beverage delivered.

5.2 The TPDL shall retain electronic records of every on-premise licensee agreement for 3 years and
make them available to DATE upon request for the purpose of investigating and enforcing the
Delaware Liquor Control Act and all of its corresponding regulations.

5.3 The TPDL shall retain an electronic record of all delivery workers by name and address, and eligibility
records for 3 years, and make them available to DATE upon request for the purpose of investigating
and enforcing the Delaware Liquor Control Act and all of its corresponding regulations.

5.4 DATE may also request a copy of a delivery worker's server training certificate at any time.
5.5 The TPDL shall store electronic records in a manner that allows for retrieval and production of

requested records within 10 business days of receiving a request for records by DATE, unless a
variance to subsection 5.5 of this regulation has been requested for good cause shown and approved.

6.0 Administrative Procedures
6.1 DATE agents have the authority to administratively cite any TPDL or delivery worker for violating

provisions of the Delaware Liquor Control Act or Commissioner regulations. The TPDL will also be
held administratively liable for the violative actions or omissions of its delivery workers if those actions
or omissions are contrary to the conditions of license issuance, the Delaware Liquor Control Act, or the
Commissioner's regulations.

6.2 A certified server trained delivery worker who violates the Liquor Control Act or Commissioner
regulations shall be notified of the alleged violation by the investigating agent as promptly as is
possible.

6.2.1 A Notice of Violation will be mailed "Return Receipt Requested" to the delivery worker. The
delivery worker shall have 10 working days after receipt of the notice to request a hearing by the
Commissioner.

6.2.2 Should a delivery worker fail to request a hearing after receiving notice in conformity with 29
Del.C. §10122, the delivery worker shall be assessed by the DATE the sanction listed in
subsection 6.3 of this regulation which may then be ratified by the Commissioner at the next
regularly scheduled meeting.

6.2.3 If a delivery worker timely requests a hearing before the Commissioner pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§10125, the delivery worker shall be placed on the next available agenda before the
Commissioner and shall retain the rights set forth in 29 Del.C. §10122.

6.3 Sanctions
6.3.1 In addition to the Commissioner's power and authority to cancel or suspend a license, or impose a

fine, or both against a licensee, including a TPDL, if the Commissioner finds that a delivery worker
has violated the Delaware Liquor Control Act or Commissioner regulations, the Commissioner
may, in addition to the power to impose a fine, suspending or canceling the TPDL's license,
impose any or all of the sanctions in subsections 6.3.1.1-6.3.1.2:

6.3.1.1 Require that delivery workers re-take the mandatory server training program; or
6.3.1.2 Suspend or cancel the server training certification of the delivery worker for a period

determined by the Commissioner.
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6.3.2 Suspension or cancellation of the server training certification of a delivery worker shall preclude
that person from employment as a delivery worker pursuant to this regulation. Any TPDL
employing a delivery worker whose server training certification has been suspended or canceled
may be subject to administrative sanctions pursuant to 4 Del.C. Ch. 12.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 209(a)(1) (26 Del.C. §209(a)(1))

26 DE Admin. Code 3002 

PUBLIC NOTICE

3002 Regulations Governing Termination of Residential Electric or Natural Gas Service by Public Utilities 
for Non-Payment During Extreme Seasonal Temperature Conditions

PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 53
Opened: April 15, 2003 (PSC Order No. 6148)

Re-Opened: November 20, 2024 (PSC Order No. 10561)

The Delaware Public Service Commission ("Commission" or "PSC"), pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a)(1),
proposes to amend its regulations governing termination of residential electric or natural gas service by public
utilities for non-payment during extreme seasonal temperature conditions as promulgated 26 DE Admin. Code
3002. In summary, the Commission proposes to lower the Heat Index metric used during the Cooling Season and
eliminate the requirement that a utility attempt to make personal contact at a customer's premises prior to
disconnection.

A copy of the proposed regulations is being published in the January 2025 issue of the Delaware Register of
Regulations, and is also available in the PSC's electronic filing system, Delafile, located at http://
delafile.delaware.gov/ (Docket No. "Reg. 53"). If you wish to obtain written copies of the implementing Order and
proposed regulations, please contact the PSC at (302) 736-7500. Copies in excess of the first twenty (20) pages
are $0.25 per page. Payment is expected prior to copying (if you wish the copies to be mailed) or at the time the
copies are retrieved (if you retrieve them in person).

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other
written materials concerning the proposed regulations should be submitted via e-mail to PSC@delaware.gov with
the subject line "Regulation 3002 - PSC Docket No. 53" or mailed to: Crystal Beenick, Public Service Commission,
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 100, Dover, DE 19904. 

The Commission will hold a public hearing on the proposed regulations on January 29, 2025, at 1:00 p.m. at
the hearing room located at 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 100, Dover, DE 19904. To be considered at the January
29, 2025 hearing, written comments must be submitted on or before January 22, 2025. Pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§10118(a), written comments will be accepted after the hearing until February 13, 2025.

On or after February 13, 2025, following review of any public comments, the Commission will determine
whether to amend its regulations by adopting the proposed amendments or make additional changes.

If adopted by the Commission, the amendments shall take effect ten days after being published as final in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 522RFA 01-01-25.pdf

3002 Regulations Governing Termination of Residential Electric or Natural Gas Service by Public Utilities 
for Non-Payment During Extreme Seasonal Temperature Conditions

PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 53
(Opened: Opened: April 15, 2003 (PSC Order No. 6148)

http://delafile.delaware.gov/
http://delafile.delaware.gov/
mailto:PSC@delaware.gov
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/proposed/28 DE Reg 522RFA 01-01-25.pdf
https://depsc.delaware.gov/
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Re-Opened: November 20, 2024 (PSC Order No. 10561)

1.0 General
1.1 Authority

These regulations are Authority. This regulation is adopted pursuant to the authority granted to the
Public Service Commission under 26 Del.C. §209(a) and 29 Del.C. §101.

1.2 Application and Purpose
These regulations establish Purpose. This regulation establishes uniform procedures which must be
followed prior to termination of service for non-payment during the heating or cooling season and apply
to all covered utilities. The purpose of these regulations this regulation is to protect public health,
safety, and property by taking reasonable steps to insure ensure that an individual has the opportunity
to act to avoid termination of certain utility services for non-payment during the heating or cooling
season without imposing substantial additional cost on other utility customers. Notwithstanding
anything stated in these regulations this regulation to the contrary, the provisions of these regulations
this regulation do not apply during the cooling season to a customer of a natural gas utility, unless the
natural gas utility provides natural gas service for space cooling to the customer's dwelling unit.

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meanings:

“Cooling Season” season” means that portion of the calendar year extending from June 1 through
September 30.

“Covered Utility” utility” means any utility regulated by the Public Service Commission of Delaware that
supplies electric or natural gas service to a dwelling unit.

“Dwelling Unit” unit” means one 1 or more rooms arranged for the use of one 1 or more individuals as a
single housekeeping unit, with cooking, living, sanitary, and sleeping facilities.

“Heat Index” index” means a measure utilized by the National Weather Service of the apparent
temperature (how hot it feels) when relative humidity is added to the actual air temperature.

“Heating Season” season” means that portion of the calendar year extending from November 15 to
March 31.

“Personal Contact” means a face-to-face meeting between the customer or responsible occupant of the
premises served and an employee of the covered utility who is authorized to receive payment and
issue a receipt or make other arrangements for payment.

“Written Notice” means notice in writing, mailed by written or oral communication via telephone, e-mail,
or First Class mail to the person who is being given notice, using the current billing address as shown
on the records of the utility.

3.0 Prohibitions
3.1 Written and Verbal Notice

3.1. 3.1.1Notwithstanding any tariff provision or contract provision to the contrary, no covered utility shall
terminate service to a dwelling unit during the heating or cooling season for non-payment of a past
due bill or bills, unless at least fourteen (14) 14 calendar days prior to such termination, written
notice is given to the customer. The notice shall state the fact of impending termination, the date
on or after which such termination will occur, and the steps which may be taken to avoid such
termination. In addition, during the heating season, the covered utility shall make at least two (2) 2
documented attempts on separate days to contact the customer by telephone prior to actual
termination of service. One such telephone contact attempt shall be after 6:00 P.M. During the
cooling season, the covered utility shall make at least one (1) 1 documented attempt to contact the
customer by telephone prior to actual termination of service.
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3.1.2 During the heating season only, in those situations where the billing address is different from the
location at which the service is being provided, the advance written notice required by §3.1.1
subsection 3.1.1 must also be given to the occupant of the premises being served.

3.2 Content of Notice Notice. 
The written and verbal notice required by §3.1.1 subsection 3.1.1 shall, at a minimum, include
notification of the following:

3.2.1 The date on or after which termination of service will occur unless some satisfactory arrangement
is made for the payment of the undisputed delinquent bill or bills, which date shall be no less than
fourteen (14) 14 calendar days from the mailing of written notice.

3.2.2 That if there is a good faith dispute concerning the unpaid bill or bills, termination of service will not
take place pending determination of the dispute, provided the utility is notified of the existence of
the dispute prior to actual termination. In this regard, the utility must also give the name or names
of the persons or office authorized to receive notification of the existence of the dispute and
empowered to resolve such disputes, together with the telephone number and address at which
such persons or office can be contacted and notified of the existence of a dispute. No covered
utility shall be required to delay termination of service pending resolution of a disputed bill or bills
where the undisputed portion of the bill or bills would otherwise justify termination of service or
where the customer does not agree to pay current undisputed bills as they become due and to
eliminate undisputed arrearages by installment payments. Service will not be reconnected after
termination for non-payment on the grounds that a good faith dispute exists unless and until
arrangements satisfactory to the covered utility have been made for payment in the event the
dispute is resolved in favor of the utility.

3.2.3 That if the customer is unable to pay the full amount of the undisputed bill or bills, termination of
service may be avoided by entering into an initial installment agreement with the utility whereby
the customer will agree to pay current bills as they become due and eliminate, by monthly
installment payments, the undisputed arrearage over a period of not less than that during which
the unpaid bills were incurred with interest on the unpaid balance at the next billing date. If the
customer violates the initial installment agreement, the limitation on the minimum duration of the
initial installment agreement shall not apply to any subsequent installment agreement. The interest
rate shall be set forth in the approved tariff of the covered utility. The name, address, and
telephone number of the utility employees or office empowered to enter into installment
arrangements on behalf of the covered utility must be provided to the customer.

3.2.4 That if the customer is unable to pay the undisputed bill or bills in full, or to enter into a satisfactory
reasonable installment arrangement, there are charitable or governmental organizations or
agencies that may be able to assist customers who are so situated and that the customer should
immediately contact such organizations. The written notice required by §3.1.1 subsection 3.1.1
shall contain either a list of those organizations who have notified the covered utility that they may
be able to assist customers, or the name and telephone number of an organization that the
customer can contact to obtain such information.

3.2.5 That if any occupant of the dwelling unit is so ill that termination of the utility service would
adversely affect health or recovery, which fact has been certified by a statement from any licensed
Delaware physician or any accredited Christian Science practitioner, when such the required
certification is received by the covered utility or its employee, termination of service is prohibited by
Delaware Law (26 Del.C. §117(d)).

3.3 Final Contact Prior to Termination
The employee of the utility who is to disconnect service shall make a reasonable good faith attempt to
make personal contact at the premises to be disconnected.  If personal contact is made, the employee
shall:

3.3.1 Identify himself or herself to the customer or some responsible person then upon the premises and
shall announce the purpose of his or her presence.

3.3.2 Identify and record the name of the person contacted.
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3.3.3 Accept payment of all amounts tendered which are necessary to avert disconnection and issue a
receipt for such payment. If the form of payment is unacceptable to the utility, the employee can
make other payment arrangements with the customer.

3.3.4 Record and report to his or her supervisor any statements disputing the accuracy of the utility's
findings concerning the cause for termination of service.

3.3.5 Record and report to his or her supervisor statements or other information concerning the
existence of any condition on the premises which would result in a medical emergency if service
were terminated.

3.3.6 Receive written certification from a duly licensed Delaware physician or accredited Christian
Science practitioner that a named occupant of the dwelling unit is so ill that termination of service
will adversely affect the occupant’s health or recovery. Upon receipt of such certification, the utility
shall not disconnect service.

4.0 Third Party Notice
4.1 Non-Mandatory Third Party Notice Notice.

All covered utilities shall inform all of their customers of the availability of any third party notification
program offered by the utility, whereby the customer can designate, in writing, a third person to receive
notice of past due bills and written notice of termination of service. The third party so designated must
indicate, in writing, willingness to receive such notice and shall not be held, in any way, liable to the
utility by reason of acceptance of third party status.

4.2 Termination Notice Without Third Party Notice Program Program.
No covered utility without a third party notice program, shall terminate service to a dwelling unit during
the heating or cooling season without first having given the written notice required by §3.1 subsection
3.1 and, in addition, having made actual contact on a face-to-face basis with an occupant over the age
of 15 years of such the dwelling unit, giving the minimum notice set forth in §3.3 subsection 3.3.

4.3 Information Concerning Third Party Notice Notice.
If a covered utility adopts such a this type of program, the utility shall take appropriate steps to see that
all customers are aware of the existence of the third party notice program.

5.0 Termination Of Service To Multiple Occupancy Dwelling Units Served Through A Master Meter
5.1 Prohibition Prohibition.

Notwithstanding any tariff provision or contract provision to the contrary, no covered utility shall
terminate service during the heating or cooling season to any apartment complex, trailer park, or other
grouping of individual residential dwelling units to which service is provided directly or indirectly
through a master meter without individual meters, unless such utility has provided the notice required
in §§ subsections 5.2 and 5.3.

5.2 Notice to Owner Owner.
A written notice pursuant to § subsection 5.1 shall be sent by First Class mail not less than fourteen
(14) 14 calendar days prior to the scheduled date of termination for non-payment to the owner of the
premises affected or in lieu thereof, to the person, firm, or corporation to whom or which the last
preceding bill has been rendered or from whom or which the covered utility has received payment. The
content of such notice shall, at minimum, include the notification required by § subsection 3.2. 

5.3 Notice to Occupants
5.3.1 The covered utility shall, at least ten (10) 10 calendar days prior to termination for non-payment,

provide notice to the occupants, which notice shall state the intended date of termination of
service, the amount due for such the service, and the procedure by which any tenant or public
agency may make or guarantee such payment, and thereby avoid termination of service.

5.3.2 Such notice Notice to occupants shall either be mailed by first class mail to the "occupant" of each
dwelling unit in the building complex to which service is proposed to be terminated or posted in a
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conspicuous place or places at each building subject to termination, including common areas
accessible to the utility.

5.4 Notice to State Agencies Agencies.
Not less than fourteen (14) 14 calendar days prior to termination of service to a multiple occupancy
dwelling unit, the covered utility shall provide written notice of its intention to so terminate to the Public
Service Commission of the State of Delaware, and to the Division of the Public Advocate.

6.0 Prohibition On Termination During Extreme Seasonal Temperature Conditions
6.1 Conditions of Termination

6.1.1 6.1 Conditions of Termination: Heating Season Season.
Under no circumstances may a covered utility terminate service for non-payment to a dwelling unit
on a day when the National Weather Service reports that the 8:00 A.M. temperature measured at
a location in the State of Delaware that is within fifty (50) 50 miles of the subject dwelling unit is
thirty-two degrees Fahrenheit (32oF) 32oF or below on the morning of the date when said the
service is scheduled for termination.

6.1.2 6.2 Conditions of Termination: Cooling Season Season.
Under no circumstances may a covered utility terminate service for non-payment to a dwelling unit
on a day when the 8:00 A.M. National Weather Service forecast contains a special weather
statement or other information predicting that the Heat Index heat index measured at a location in
the State of Delaware that is within fifty (50) 50 miles of the subject dwelling unit may equal or
exceed one-hundred five degrees Fahrenheit (105oF) 105oF on the date when said the service is
scheduled for termination.

6.2 Deferred Termination
Where termination of service, otherwise authorized, has been deferred by virtue of § 6.1, notice of
such fact shall be left at the subject dwelling unit on the date on which termination was to be effected,
notifying the occupant that unless proper payment arrangements are made, service will be terminated
thereafter on a day when § 6.1 does not apply. If the termination of service involves an apartment
complex, trailer park, or other grouping of individual residential dwelling units to which service is
provided directly or indirectly through a master meter without individual meters, the notice required by
this section shall be deemed sufficient if the notice is given in accordance with § 5.3.

7.0 Penalty And Burden Of Proof
7.1 Penalty Penalty.

Any covered utility determined, after hearing, to have terminated service for non-payment to a dwelling
unit or multiple occupancy dwelling unit in violation of these regulations this regulation, may be fined
an amount equal to twice the amount of arrearage for which service was terminated, or such a lesser
amount as deemed appropriate after full consideration of the circumstances. The fine which may be
imposed shall not exceed the sum of $1,000 for each day during which the termination is in violation of
these regulations this regulation.

7.2 Burden of Proof Proof.
The burden of proof of compliance with these regulations this regulation shall be upon the covered
utility at any proceeding instituted by formal written complaint to or upon motion of the Public Service
Commission of Delaware. The Commission specifically reserves the right to randomly select
termination cases and require the covered utility to appear before the Commission at a duly noticed
hearing and establish compliance with these regulations this regulation.
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 505 and 511 (14 Del.C. §§505 & 511)
14 DE Admin. Code 275

ORDER

275 Charter Schools

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§505 and 511, the Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 275. The regulation has been updated to ensure that charter
schools can add or modify enrollment preferences that are prompted by an act of the General Assembly
through a minor modification instead of a major modification for a period of two years from the effective date of
the act.

This regulation was originally published October 1, 2024. No public comments have been received. 

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§505 and 511, the Secretary of Education finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE
Admin. Code 275. The regulation has been updated to ensure that charter schools can add or modify
enrollment preferences that are prompted by an act of the General Assembly through a minor modification
instead of a major modification for a period of two years from the effective date of the act.

III. ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT ON ACHIEVEMENT OF THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS
REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO CLIMATE CHANGE

Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued. [Bracketed bold stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

https://education.delaware.gov/
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The Secretary of Education has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and
has determined that any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation is not practical.

IV. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 275.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§505 and 511, 14 DE Admin. Code 275 attached hereto as Exhibit "A" is hereby
amended. Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del.C. § 122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 275 hereby amended shall be in
effect for a period of four years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

V. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 275 amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "A", and
said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 275 Charter Schools in the Administrative Code of
Regulations for the Department of Education. 

VI. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Registrar of
Regulations. 

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of November, 2024

Department of Education 
Mark A. Holodick, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of November, 2024.

State Board of Education

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2024 issue of the Register at page 254 (28 DE Reg. 254). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 527 01-01-25.htm

/s/ Shawn Brittingham, President /s/ Rajalakshmi Lodhavia
/s/ Deborah Stevens, Vice President /s/ Rev. Provey Powell, Jr.
(Absent) Meredith L. Griffin, Jr.
(Absent) Harvey Kenton, Jr.

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 527 01-01-25.htm
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1220 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 

1205(b), & 1220)
14 DE Admin. Code 1519

ORDER

1519 Multiple Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, the Professional Standards Board, acting in consultation

and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments to 14 DE
Admin. Code 1519 Multiple Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge. The regulation sets forth alternative
means of demonstrating content knowledge for applicants of certain content area Standard Certificates who do not
achieve the minimum score specified in the regulation for the Standard Certificate sought. The proposed
amendments in this regulation include revising Sections 1.0 and 4.0 to be consistent with changes that were made
to the regulations concerning Standard Certificates; amending the definition of "Regionally Accredited" in Section
2.0; and adding subsection 3.5, which concerns the Elementary Dual Language Immersion Teacher Standard
Certificate (14 DE Admin. Code 1568).

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on November 1, 2024. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed regulation.

II. ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT ON ACHIEVEMENT OF THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS 
REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO CLIMATE CHANGE

The Secretary of Education has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and
has determined that any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation is not practical. 

III. FINDINGS OF FACTS
On December 5, 2024, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1519 Multiple

Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the
Department subject to the State Board of Education's approval. 

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1519 Multiple
Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge.

IV. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1519 Multiple Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge subject to the State Board of Education's approval.
On December 12, 2024, the State Board of Education approved amending 14 DE Admin. Code 1519 Multiple
Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, 14
DE Admin. Code 1519 Multiple Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge, attached hereto as Exhibit A, is
hereby amended.

V. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1519 Multiple Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge amended

hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code
1519 Multiple Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the
Department.

VI. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Register of

https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/
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Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 12th day of December, 2024.

Department of Education
Mark A. Holodick, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 12th day of December, 2024.

State Board of Education

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2024 issue of the Register at page 346 (28 DE Reg. 346). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 529 01-01-25.htm

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1220 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 

1205(b), & 1220)
14 DE Admin. Code 1521

ORDER

1521 Elementary Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, the Professional Standards Board ("Board"), acting in

consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments
to 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Elementary Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for an Elementary
Teacher Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed amendments include revising the
definitions of "Employing Authority" and "Regionally Accredited" in Section 2.0; eliminating a redundant phrase in
subsection 3.2; revising the examinations in Section 4.0; and amending subsections 5.3.3 and 5.4.1.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on November 1, 2024. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed regulation.

II. ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT ON ACHIEVEMENT OF THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS 
REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO CLIMATE CHANGE

The Secretary of Education has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and
has determined that any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation is not practical. 

III. FINDINGS OF FACTS
On December 5, 2024, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1521

Elementary Teacher, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the Department subject to the State
Board of Education's approval. 

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student

/s/ Shawn Brittingham, President /s/ Harvey Kenton, Jr.
/s/ Deborah Stevens, Vice President /s/ Rajalakshmi Lodhavia
/s/ Meredith L. Griffin, Jr. /s/ Rev. Provey Powell, Jr.

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 529 01-01-25.htm
https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/
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performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1521
Elementary Teacher.

IV. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1521 Elementary Teacher subject to the State Board of Education's approval. On December 12, 2024, the State
Board of Education approved amending 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Elementary Teacher. Therefore, pursuant to 14
Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Elementary Teacher, attached hereto as Exhibit A, is
hereby amended.

V. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Elementary Teacher amended hereby shall be in the form attached

hereto as Exhibit A and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Elementary Teacher in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

VI. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Register of

Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 12th day of December, 2024.

Department of Education
Mark A. Holodick, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 12th day of December, 2024.

State Board of Education

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2024 issue of the Register at page 348 (28 DE Reg. 348). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 530 01-01-25.htm

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1220 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 

1205(b), & 1220)
14 DE Admin. Code 1540

ORDER

1540 Secondary English Language Arts Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, the Professional Standards Board ("Board"), acting in

consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments
to 14 DE Admin. Code 1540 Secondary English Language Arts Teacher. The regulation concerns the

/s/ Shawn Brittingham, President /s/ Harvey Kenton, Jr.
/s/ Deborah Stevens, Vice President /s/ Rajalakshmi Lodhavia
/s/ Meredith L. Griffin, Jr. /s/ Rev. Provey Powell, Jr.

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 530 01-01-25.htm
https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/
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requirements for a Secondary English Language Arts Teacher Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C.
§1220. The proposed amendments in this regulation include revising subsection 4.1.1.5, which concerns the
requirements for an applicant who has completed a minimum of 91 days of successful long-term substitute
teaching in a Delaware public school, and striking subsection 5.3.3. The revisions to subsection 4.1.1.5 and striking
subsection 5.3.3 were prompted by HB 315 w/ HA 2 of the 151st General Assembly, which was signed into law on
August 4, 2022. In addition, in Section 2.0, the term "Employing Authority" has been revised to eliminate a
redundant phrase and the definition of "Regionally Accredited" has been revised based on the changes the U.S.
Department of Education made to its recognition of accrediting bodies. Also, subsection 3.2 has been revised to
eliminate a redundant phrase and subsection 6.2 has been added.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on October 1, 2024. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed regulation.

II. ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT ON ACHIEVEMENT OF THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS
 EMISSIONS REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO CLIMATE CHANGE

The Secretary of Education has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and
has determined that any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation is not practical.

III. FINDINGS OF FACTS
On November 7, 2024, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1540

Secondary English Language Arts Teacher, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the
Department subject to the State Board of Education's approval.

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1540
Secondary English Language Arts Teacher.

IV. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1540 Secondary English Language Arts Teacher subject to the State Board of Education's approval. On November
21, 2024, the State Board of Education approved amending 14 DE Admin. Code 1540 Secondary English
Language Arts Teacher. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, 14 DE Admin. Code 1540
Secondary English Language Arts Teacher, attached hereto as Exhibit A, is hereby amended.

V. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1540 Secondary English Language Arts Teacher amended hereby shall be in

the form attached hereto as Exhibit A and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1540 Secondary
English Language Arts Teacher in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

VI. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Register of

Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of November, 2024.

Department of Education
Mark A. Holodick, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of November, 2024.

State Board of Education
/s/ Shawn Brittingham, President /s/ Rajalakshmi Lodhavia
/s/ Deborah Stevens, Vice President /s/ Rev. Provey Powell, Jr.
(Absent) Meredith L. Griffin, Jr.



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 28, ISSUE 7, WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 1, 2025

533

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2024 issue of the Register at page 261 (28 DE Reg. 261). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 531 01-01-25.htm

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1220 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 

1205(b), & 1220)
14 DE Admin. Code 1542

ORDER

1542 Secondary Mathematics Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, the Professional Standards Board ("Board"), acting in

consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments
to 14 DE Admin. Code 1542 Secondary Mathematics Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for a
Secondary Mathematics Teacher Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed
amendments in this regulation include revising subsection 4.1.1.5, which concerns the requirements for an
applicant who has completed a minimum of 91 days of successful long-term substitute teaching in a Delaware
public school, and striking subsection 5.3.3. The revisions to subsection 4.1.1.5 and striking subsection 5.3.3 were
prompted by HB 315 w/ HA 2 of the 151st General Assembly, which was signed into law on August 4, 2022. In
addition, in Section 2.0, the term "Employing Authority" has been revised to eliminate a redundant phrase and the
definition of "Regionally Accredited" has been revised based on the changes the U.S. Department of Education
made to its recognition of accrediting bodies. Also, subsection 3.2 has been revised to eliminate a redundant
phrase and subsection 6.2 has been added.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on October 1, 2024. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed regulation.

II. ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT ON ACHIEVEMENT OF THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS
 EMISSIONS REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO CLIMATE CHANGE

The Secretary of Education has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and
has determined that any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation is not practical. 

III. FINDINGS OF FACTS
On November 7, 2024, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1542

Secondary Mathematics Teacher, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the Department subject
to the State Board of Education's approval. 

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1542
Secondary Mathematics Teacher.

IV. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1542 Secondary Mathematics Teacher subject to the State Board of Education's approval. On November 21, 2024,
the State Board of Education approved amending 14 DE Admin. Code 1542 Secondary Mathematics Teacher.

(Absent) Harvey Kenton, Jr.

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 531 01-01-25.htm
https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/


FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 28, ISSUE 7, WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 1, 2025

534

Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, 14 DE Admin. Code 1542 Secondary Mathematics
Teacher, attached hereto as Exhibit A, is hereby amended.

V. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1542 Secondary Mathematics Teacher amended hereby shall be in the form

attached hereto as Exhibit A and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1542 Secondary
Mathematics Teacher in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

VI. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Register of

Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of November, 2024.

Department of Education
Mark A. Holodick, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of November, 2024.

State Board of Education

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2024 issue of the Register at page 263 (28 DE Reg. 263). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 533 01-01-25.htm

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1220 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 

1205(b), & 1220)
14 DE Admin. Code 1543

ORDER

1543 Secondary Science Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, the Professional Standards Board ("Board"), acting in

consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments
to 14 DE Admin. Code 1543 Secondary Science Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for a
Secondary Science Teacher Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed amendments
in this regulation include revising subsection 4.1.1.5, which concerns the requirements for an applicant who has
completed a minimum of 91 days of successful long-term substitute teaching in a Delaware public school, and
striking subsection 5.3.3. The revisions to subsection 4.1.1.5 and striking subsection 5.3.3 were prompted by HB
315 w/ HA 2 of the 151st General Assembly, which was signed into law on August 4, 2022. In addition, in Section
2.0, the term "Employing Authority" has been revised to eliminate a redundant phrase and the definition of

/s/ Shawn Brittingham, President /s/ Rajalakshmi Lodhavia
/s/ Deborah Stevens, Vice President /s/ Rev. Provey Powell, Jr.
(Absent) Meredith L. Griffin, Jr.
(Absent) Harvey Kenton, Jr.

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 533 01-01-25.htm
https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/
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"Regionally Accredited" has been revised based on the changes the U.S. Department of Education made to its
recognition of accrediting bodies. Also, subsection 3.2 has been revised to eliminate a redundant phrase and
subsection 6.2 has been added.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on October 1, 2024. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed regulation.

II. ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT ON ACHIEVEMENT OF THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS
EMISSIONS REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO CLIMATE CHANGE

The Secretary of Education has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and
has determined that any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation is not practical. 

III. FINDINGS OF FACTS
On November 7, 2024, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1543

Secondary Science Teacher, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the Department subject to
the State Board of Education's approval. 

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1543
Secondary Science Teacher.

IV. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1543 Secondary Science Teacher subject to the State Board of Education's approval. On November 21, 2024, the
State Board of Education approved amending 14 DE Admin. Code 1543 Secondary Science Teacher. Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, 14 DE Admin. Code 1543 Secondary Science Teacher,
attached hereto as Exhibit A, is hereby amended.

V. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1543 Secondary Science Teacher amended hereby shall be in the form

attached hereto as Exhibit A and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1543 Secondary Science
Teacher in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

VI. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Register of

Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of November, 2024.

Department of Education
Mark A. Holodick, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of November, 2024.

State Board of Education

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2024 issue of the Register at page 264 (28 DE Reg. 264). Therefore, the final regulation is not being

/s/ Shawn Brittingham, President /s/ Rajalakshmi Lodhavia
/s/ Deborah Stevens, Vice President /s/ Rev. Provey Powell, Jr.
(Absent) Meredith L. Griffin, Jr.
(Absent) Harvey Kenton, Jr.
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republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 534 01-01-25.htm

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1220 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 

1205(b), & 1220)
14 DE Admin. Code 1544

ORDER

1544 Secondary Social Studies Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, the Professional Standards Board ("Board"), acting in

consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments
to 14 DE Admin. Code 1544 Secondary Social Studies Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for a
Secondary Social Studies Teacher Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed
amendments in this regulation include revising subsection 4.1.1.5, which concerns the requirements for an
applicant who has completed a minimum of 91 days of successful long-term substitute teaching in a Delaware
public school, and striking subsection 5.3.3. The revisions to subsection 4.1.1.5 and striking subsection 5.3.3 were
prompted by HB 315 w/ HA 2 of the 151st General Assembly, which was signed into law on August 4, 2022. In
addition, in Section 2.0, the term "Employing Authority" has been revised to eliminate a redundant phrase and the
definition of "Regionally Accredited" has been revised based on the changes the U.S. Department of Education
made to its recognition of accrediting bodies. Also, subsection 3.2 has been revised to eliminate a redundant
phrase, subsection 4.1.2 has been revised to add the Praxis Subject Assessment - Social Studies (ETS Test Code
#5581), and subsection 6.2 has been added.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on October 1, 2024. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed regulation.

II. ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT ON ACHIEVEMENT OF THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS
EMISSIONS REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO CLIMATE CHANGE

The Secretary of Education has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and
has determined that any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation is not practical. 

III. FINDINGS OF FACTS
On November 7, 2024, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1544

Secondary Social Studies Teacher, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the Department
subject to the State Board of Education's approval. 

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1544
Secondary Social Studies Teacher.

IV. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1544 Secondary Social Studies Teacher subject to the State Board of Education's approval. On November 21,
2024, the State Board of Education approved amending 14 DE Admin. Code 1544 Secondary Social Studies
Teacher. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, 14 DE Admin. Code 1544 Secondary
Social Studies Teacher, attached hereto as Exhibit A, is hereby amended.

V. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1544 Secondary Social Studies Teacher amended hereby shall be in the form

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 534 01-01-25.htm
https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/
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attached hereto as Exhibit A and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1544 Secondary Social
Studies Teacher in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

VI. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Register of

Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of November, 2024.

Department of Education
Mark A. Holodick, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of November, 2024.

State Board of Education

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2024 issue of the Register at page 266 (28 DE Reg. 266). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 536 01-01-25.htm

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1220 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 

1205(b), & 1220)
14 DE Admin. Code 1550

ORDER

1550 Agriscience Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, the Professional Standards Board ("Board"), acting in

consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments
to 14 DE Admin. Code 1550 Agriscience Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for an Agriscience
Teacher Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed amendments in this regulation
include revising subsection 4.1.1.4, which concerns the requirements for an applicant who has completed a
minimum of 91 days of successful long-term substitute teaching in a Delaware public school, and striking
subsection 5.3.2. The revisions to subsection 4.1.1.4 and striking subsection 5.3.2 were prompted by HB 315 w/
HA 2 of the 151st General Assembly, which was signed into law on August 4, 2022. In addition, in Section 2.0, the
term "Employing Authority" has been revised to eliminate a redundant phrase and the definition of "Regionally
Accredited" has been revised based on the changes the U.S. Department of Education made to its recognition of
accrediting bodies. Also, subsection 3.2 has been revised to eliminate a redundant phrase and subsection 6.2 has
been added.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on October 1, 2024. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed regulation.

/s/ Shawn Brittingham, President /s/ Rajalakshmi Lodhavia
/s/ Deborah Stevens, Vice President /s/ Rev. Provey Powell, Jr.
(Absent) Meredith L. Griffin, Jr.
(Absent) Harvey Kenton, Jr.

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 536 01-01-25.htm
https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/
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II. ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT ON ACHIEVEMENT OF THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS 
REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO CLIMATE CHANGE

The Secretary of Education has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and
has determined that any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation is not practical. 

III. FINDINGS OF FACTS
On November 7, 2024, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1550

Agriscience Teacher, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the Department subject to the State
Board of Education's approval. 

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1550
Agriscience Teacher.

IV. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1550 Agriscience Teacher subject to the State Board of Education's approval. On November 21, 2024, the State
Board of Education approved amending 14 DE Admin. Code 1550 Agriscience Teacher. Therefore, pursuant to 14
Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, 14 DE Admin. Code 1550 Agriscience Teacher, attached hereto as Exhibit A,
is hereby amended.

V. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1550 Agriscience Teacher amended hereby shall be in the form attached

hereto as Exhibit A and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1550 Agriscience Teacher in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

VI. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Register of

Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of November, 2024.

Department of Education
Mark A. Holodick, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of November, 2024.

State Board of Education

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2024 issue of the Register at page 268 (28 DE Reg. 268). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 537 01-01-25.htm

/s/ Shawn Brittingham, President /s/ Rajalakshmi Lodhavia
/s/ Deborah Stevens, Vice President /s/ Rev. Provey Powell, Jr.
(Absent) Meredith L. Griffin, Jr.
(Absent) Harvey Kenton, Jr.

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 537 01-01-25.htm
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1220 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 

1205(b), & 1220)
14 DE Admin. Code 1565

ORDER

1565 World Language Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, the Professional Standards Board ("Board"), acting in

consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments
to 14 DE Admin. Code 1565 World Language Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for a World
Language Teacher Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed amendments in this
regulation include revising subsection 4.1.1.5, which concerns the requirements for an applicant who has
completed a minimum of 91 days of successful long-term substitute teaching in a Delaware public school, and
striking subsection 5.3.3. The revisions to subsection 4.1.1.5 and striking subsection 5.3.3 were prompted by HB
315 w/ HA 2 of the 151st General Assembly, which was signed into law on August 4, 2022. Additional proposed
amendments include, in Section 2.0, revising the definition of "Regionally Accredited" based on the changes the
U.S. Department of Education made to its recognition of accrediting bodies and the term "Employing Authority" to
eliminate a redundant phrase; amending subsection 3.2 to eliminate a redundant phrase; adding the Japanese:
World Language Praxis Subject Assessment to subsection 4.1.2.1.6; adding the Oral Proficiency Interview -
Computer (OPIc) assessment to subsection 4.1.2.2.1 and Section 5.0; and adding subsection 4.1.2.3, which
concerns the World Language - American Sign Language Standard Certificate.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on November 1, 2024. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed regulation.

II. ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT ON ACHIEVEMENT OF THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS
EMISSIONS REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO CLIMATE CHANGE

The Secretary of Education has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and
has determined that any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation is not practical. 

III. FINDINGS OF FACTS
On December 5, 2024, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1565 World

Language Teacher, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the Department subject to the State
Board of Education's approval. 

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1565 World
Language Teacher.

IV. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1565 World Language Teacher subject to the State Board of Education's approval. On December 12, 2024, the
State Board of Education approved amending 14 DE Admin. Code 1565 World Language Teacher. Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1220, 14 DE Admin. Code 1565 World Language Teacher, attached
hereto as Exhibit A, is hereby amended.

V. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1565 World Language Teacher amended hereby shall be in the form attached

hereto as Exhibit A and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1565 World Language Teacher in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

https://education.delaware.gov/educators/psb/
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VI. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Register of

Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 12th day of December, 2024.

Department of Education
Mark A. Holodick, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 12th day of December, 2024.

State Board of Education

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2024 issue of the Register at page 352 (28 DE Reg. 352). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 539 01-01-25.htm

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Cellular and Gene Therapy

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan Attachment 4.19-B pages 14 and 14a regarding Cellular and
Gene Therapy, specifically, to change pricing logic for clotting factors and specialty medications to control cost. The
Department's proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Del.C. §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10115 in the
November 2024 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by December 2, 2024, at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL
The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding Cellular
and Gene Therapy. 

Background
The CGT Access Model was developed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in response to

/s/ Shawn Brittingham, President /s/ Rajalakshmi Lodhavia
/s/ Deborah Stevens, Vice President /s/ Rev. Provey Powell, Jr.
/s/ Meredith L. Griffin, Jr.
/s/ Harvey Kenton, Jr.

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 539 01-01-25.htm
https://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/index.html
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President Biden's Executive Order 14087 and aims to improve the lives of people with Medicaid living with rare and
severe diseases by increasing access to potentially transformative treatments. Cellular and gene therapies are a
rapidly growing class of one-time treatments, many of which are developed to treat rare and severe diseases, such
as sickle cell disease. They can correct underlying causes of a disease, address symptoms, and halt disease
progression. However, the high cost of these treatments makes it difficult for state Medicaid agencies to pay for
them. Initially, the model will focus on access to gene therapy treatments for people living with sickle cell disease, a
genetic blood disorder that disproportionately affects African Americans. This will change pricing logic for clotting
factors and specialty medications to control cost in these 2 high price drug categories. 

Statutory Authority
• Executive Order 14087
• CMS Rule 2434-F

Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to update the definition of an outpatient drug and participate in the CGT Access
model with CMS.

Summary of Proposed Changes
Effective July 1, 2025, the DHSS/DMMA proposes to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to change pricing logic
for clotting factors and specialty medications to control cost.

Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social
Security Act and 42 CFR 440.386 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code, DHSS/DMMA gave public notice and provided an open comment period for 30 days to allow all
stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed regulation. Comments were to have been received by
4:30 p.m. on December 2, 2024.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Review and Approval
The provisions of this state plan amendment (SPA) are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS). The draft SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after submittal to CMS
based upon public comment and/or CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to significant change.

Provider Manuals and Communications Update
Also, there may be additional provider manuals that may require updates as a result of these changes. The
applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy Specific Manuals and/or Delaware
Medical Assistance Portal will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are
issued, as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing
guidelines or instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to
distribute new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding DMAP updates.
DMAP updates are available on the Delaware Medical Assistance Portal website: https://
medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider

Fiscal Impact Statement
There is no anticipated fiscal impact.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response and Explanation of Changes

Comment: There were comments supporting the proposed changes.

Agency response: DMMA appreciates the support.

DMMA is pleased to provide the opportunity to receive public comments and greatly appreciates the thoughtful
input given by:

https://medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider
https://medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider
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• State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD)
• Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC)

IMPACT ON THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO
CLIMATE CHANGE:

The DMMA Division Director has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del. C. §10118(b)(3) and has
determined that if promulgated, the regulation would have a de minimis impact on the State's resiliency to climate
change because neither implementation nor compliance with the regulation would reasonably involve the increase
in greenhouse gas emissions.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the November 2024 Register of Regulations

should be adopted. 
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan

regarding Cellular and Gene Therapy, specifically, to change pricing logic for clotting factors and specialty
medications to control cost and shall be final effective January 11, 2025.

12/10/2024  |  4:36 PM EST
Date of Signature

Josette D. Manning Esq., Secretary, DHSS

                                                                                                              Attachment 4.19-B
Page 14

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE/TERRITORY: DELAWARE

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES --
OTHER TYPES OF CARE 

REIMBURSEMENT FOR PHARMACEUTICALS

Overview
The Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) will reimburse pharmaceuticals using the lower of:
• The usual and customary (U & C) charge to the general public for the product,
1. All prescribed drugs, devices, and supplies, including DMAP covered non-legend and legend products that are
prescribed by an authorized prescriber, DMAP will reimburse using the following hierarchy methodology. National
Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC); if no NADAC,
National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC),
2. Delaware Maximum Allowable Cost (DMAC), (DMAC). (Delaware Medicaid and Medical Assistance MAC)
includes all types of medication, including specialty and hemophilia products). If no NADAC or DMAC.
Actual Acquisition Cost (AAC).
3. Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC),

• WAC for legend
• WAC minus 2% for non-legend

4. The usual and customary charge submitted by the provider if it is lower.
5. Federal Supply Schedule purchased drugs will be reimbursed at the provider's actual acquisition cost.
6. Drugs acquired at Nominal Price (outside of 340B or Fee for Service) will be reimbursed at the provider's
acquisition cost.
7. Long-term care pharmacy providers supplying covered drugs to participants in long-term care facilities shall be
reimbursed as outlined in items 1-6 above in this section.
8. Drugs not distributed by a retail community pharmacy and distributed primarily through a Specialty Pharmacy,
or the mail (such as specialty drugs) will be reimbursed as outlined in items 1-6 above in this section. DMAC is
market based and includes all drug types.
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9. Clotting factors from Specialty Pharmacy, Hemophilia Treatment Centers (HTC) will be reimbursed as outlined
in items 1-6 in this section. DMAC is market based and includes all types of drugs.
10. Physician Administered Drugs (PAD) will be reimbursed as outlined in items 1-6 above in this section. DMAC is
market based and includes all types of drugs.
11. Investigational Drugs that are prior authorized by DMAP will be reimbursed at AAC.

Medications listed on the High Investment Medication list are carved out of managed care and paid for by DMAP.
All other services provided for the patient are the responsibility of the MCO. The High Investment Medication list is
available on the DMMA pharmacy portal as www.medicaid.dhss.Delaware.gov.

Delaware will pay for High Investment list medications by using the lesser of methodology:
1) Actual Acquisition Cost
2) Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC)
3) ASP + 6 % if available
4) Billed Charges

DMAP will meet the reimbursement of FUL defined drugs in the aggregate by reviewing that the NADAC does not
exceed the FUL levels.

Methodology for establishing AAC is provided in the table on page Attachment 4.19-B Page 14a.

Attachment 4.19-B
Page 14 cont.

Entities that purchase Section 340B of the Public Health Service Act products must request to use these drugs for
all DMAP patients, including Medicaid fee-for-service patients and for patients whose care is covered by Medicaid
Managed Care Organizations.

Professional Dispensing Fee
There is one-time professional fee per thirty (30)-day period unless the class of drugs is routinely prescribed for a
limited number of days.

Definitions
Delaware Maximum Allowable Cost (DMAC) - a maximum price set for reimbursement:

• When a single source product has Average Selling Prices provided by the manufacturer that indicates the
WAC is exaggerated,

• When the NADAC does not reflect the most current cost of a multiple source drug, or
• If a single provider agrees to a special price.

                                                                                                              Attachment 4.19-B
                                                                                                                           Page 14a

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE/TERRITORY: DELAWARE

TN No. SPA # 17-002 24-0014

Supersedes

TN No.SPA # 16-001 17-002

Approval Date June 2, 2017

Effective Date January 1, 2017 [June July]1,
2025
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES --
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

REIMBURSEMENT FOR PHARMACEUTICALS

Reimbursement Policy:
The lower of Usual and Customary or Actual Acquisition Cost (AAC) for Drug Reimbursement is derived using the
methodology in the table below.

Category Ingredient Cost
Professional 
Dispensing 

Fee

Brand Drug NADAC $10

Generic Drug NADAC $10

Drugs Without NADAC

WAC for legend and WAC-2% for non-
legend; or a Delaware Maximum 

Allowable Cost (DMAC), whichever is 
lower.

$10

340B Purchased Drug
AAC for dispensed drugs $10

AAC for physician administered drugs $0

Contract 340B Pharmacy

Drugs acquired through the Federal 
340B Drug Pricing Program and 

dispensed by 340B contract 
pharmacies are not covered.

N/A

Drugs purchased by 340B entities enrolled with DMMA
as utilizing public health service products, which based
on specific conditions, must purchase drugs outside of
the 340B inventory when that drug is not available or
eligible for 340B purchase.

NADAC $10

Federal Supply Schedule AAC $10

Drugs Acquired at Nominal Price AAC $10

Specialty Drugs-Mailed AAC (Invoice price) NADAC, DMAC or 
AAC, whichever is lower $27

Drug Not Dispensed by Retail Pharmacy NADAC, DMAC or WAC, whichever is 
lower. $10

Physician Administered Drugs

AAC based on invoice price if
maximum unit cost is greater than or
equal to $50. For drugs where the
maximum cost is less than $50, the
cost will be based on invoice price or
the Medicare fee schedule. 
NADAC, DMAC, WAC, whichever is
lower. Medications below $50, the cost
will be based on the invoice price or
the Medicare fee schedule.

N/A

Clotting Factor AAC (Invoice Price) DMAC or AAC, 
whichever is lower $27



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 28, ISSUE 7, WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 1, 2025

545

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

16 DE Admin. Code 20000

ORDER

Personal Needs Allowance

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and Delaware Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
Personal Needs Allowance, specifically, to modify the personal needs allowance amount for individuals residing in
long term care facilities. The Department's proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29
Del.C. §10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Del.C. §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10115 in the
November 2024 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by December 2, 2024, at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL
The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and Delaware
Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Personal Needs Allowance. 

Background
State Plan provisions require the Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) to provide a personal needs
allowance (PNA) to Medicaid recipients residing in long-term care facilities. This PNA is intended to provide for
clothing and other personal needs. The current PNA is $50/month for individuals and $100/month for married
couples and was set in 2016. Delaware Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) recognizes that the cost-of-
living has increased since 2016 and proposes to increase the PNA to offset some of the increased costs of
personal needs for recipients. The new PNA will be $75/month for individuals and $150/month for married couples.

Statutory Authority
• §1902(a)(50), (q) of the Social Security Act
• §1924(d)(1) of the Social Security Act
• 42 CFR §435.725
• 42 CFR §435.733 

Investigational Drugs (when prior authorized; as a
general rule
not covered products) AAC $10

Cellular and Gene Therapy Medication List AAC or ASP + 6%, whichever is lower. N/A

TN No. SPA 23-0003 24-0014

Supersedes

TN No. # 17-002 23-0003

Approval Date December 19, 2023

Effective Date July 1, 2023 [June July] 1, 2025

https://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/index.html
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• 42 CFR §435.832

Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to amend the current personal needs allowance.

Summary of Proposed Changes
Effective January 1, 2025, the DHSS/DMMA proposes to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and the DSSM to
modify the personal needs allowance amount for individuals residing in long term care facilities.

Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social
Security Act and 42 CFR 440.386 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code, DHSS/DMMA gave public notice and provided an open comment period for 30 days to allow all
stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed regulation. Comments were to have been received by
4:30 p.m. on December 2, 2024.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Review and Approval
The provisions of this state plan amendment (SPA) are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS). The draft SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after submittal to CMS
based upon public comment and/or CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to significant change.

Provider Manuals and Communications Update
Also, there may be additional provider manuals that may require updates as a result of these changes. The
applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy Specific Manuals and/or Delaware
Medical Assistance Portal will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are
issued, as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing
guidelines or instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to
distribute new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding DMAP updates.
DMAP updates are available on the Delaware Medical Assistance Portal website: https://
medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider

Fiscal Impact Statementt

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response and Explanation of Changes

Comment: There were comments regarding the Personal Needs amount being higher. 

Agency response: DMMA thanks the Councils for their comments, however, no change will be made. 

DMMA is pleased to provide the opportunity to receive public comments and greatly appreciates the thoughtful
input given by:
• State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) 
• Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) 

IMPACT ON THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO
CLIMATE CHANGE:

Federal Fiscal Year [2024
2025]

Federal Fiscal Year [2025
2026]

General (State) funds $278,116 $285,600

Federal funds $419,793 $425,556

https://medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider
https://medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider
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The DMMA Division Director has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del. C. §10118(b)(3) and has
determined that if promulgated, the regulation would have a de minimis impact on the State's resiliency to climate
change because neither implementation nor compliance with the regulation would reasonably involve the increase
in greenhouse gas emissions.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the November 2024 Register of Regulations

should be adopted. 
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and

Delaware Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Personal Needs Allowance, specifically, to modify the
personal needs allowance amount for individuals residing in long term care facilities and shall be final effective
January 11, 2025.

12/10/2024  | 8:26 PM EST
Date of Signature

Josette D. Manning Esq., Secretary, DHSS

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2024 issue of the Register at page 364 (28 DE Reg. 364). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 545 01-01-25.htm

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Medicaid Recovery Audit Contractor’s (RAC) Program

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding Recovery Audit Contractor's (RAC) Program,
specifically, to request an extension of the exception from participation in the RAC Program. The Department's
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10114 and its authority as prescribed by
31 Del.C. §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10115 in the
November 2024 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by December 2, 2024, at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL
The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding RAC
Program. 

Background
Under Section 1902(a)(42)(B)(i) of the Act, states and territories are required to establish programs to contract with
one or more Medicaid Recovery Audit Contractors (RACs) to identify underpayments and overpayments, as well
as recouping overpayments, under the Medicaid State Plan and any Medicaid State Plan Waivers. This applies to
all services for which payment is made to any entity under such plan or waiver. States must establish these
programs in a manner consistent with State law and generally in the same way as the Secretary contracts with

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 545 01-01-25.htm
https://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/index.html
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contingency fee contractors for the Medicare RAC program.

Section 1902(a)(42)(B)(i) of the Act specifies that States shall establish programs under which they contract with
Medicaid RACs subject to such exceptions or requirements as the Secretary may require for purposes of a
particular State. This provision enables the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to vary the
Medicaid RAC program requirements. For example, CMS may exempt a State from the requirement to pay
Medicaid RACs on a contingent basis for collecting overpayments when State law expressly prohibits contingency
fee contracting. However, another fee structure could be required under any such exception (e.g., a flat fee
arrangement).

Statutory Authority
• §1902(a)(42)(b) of the Social Security Act
• The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148, Section 6411, Expansion of the RAC

Program
• 42 CFR §455 Subpart A
• 42 CFR §455 Subpart F

Purpose
The purpose of this regulation to amend the RAC requirements.

Summary of Proposed Changes
Effective October 1, 2024, the DHSS/DMMA proposes to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to request an
extension of the exception from participation in the RAC program.

Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social
Security Act and 42 CFR 440.386 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code, DHSS/DMMA gave public notice and provided an open comment period for 30 days to allow all
stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed regulation. Comments were to have been received by
4:30 p.m. on December 2, 2024.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Review and Approval
The provisions of this state plan amendment (SPA) are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS). The draft SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after submittal to CMS
based upon public comment and/or CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to significant change.

Provider Manuals and Communications Update
Also, there may be additional provider manuals that may require updates as a result of these changes. The
applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy Specific Manuals and/or Delaware
Medical Assistance Portal will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are
issued, as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing
guidelines or instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to
distribute new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding DMAP updates.
DMAP updates are available on the Delaware Medical Assistance Portal website: https://
medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider

Fiscal Impact Statement
There is no anticipated fiscal impact.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response and Explanation of Changes

There were no public comments received. 

IMPACT ON THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO

https://medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider
https://medicaid.dhss.delaware.gov/provider
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CLIMATE CHANGE:

The DMMA Division Director has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del. C. §10118(b)(3) and has
determined that if promulgated, the regulation would have a de minimis impact on the State's resiliency to climate
change because neither implementation nor compliance with the regulation would reasonably involve the increase
in greenhouse gas emissions.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the November 2024 Register of Regulations

should be adopted. 
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend Title XIX Medicaid State Plan

regarding RAC Program, specifically, to request an extension of the exception from participation in the RAC
program and shall be final effective January 11, 2025.

12/12/2024  |  2:27 PM EST
Date of Signature

Josette D. Manning Esq., Secretary, DHSS

Medicaid Recovery Audit Contractor’s (RAC) Program

*Please Note: Due to formatting of certain amendments to the regulation, they are not being published
here. Copies of the document is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/36a page Amended.pdf

OFFICE OF THE STATE TREASURER
CASH MANAGEMENT POLICY BOARD

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 2716 (29 Del.C. §2716)
1 DE Admin. Code 1201

ORDER

1201 Statement of Objectives and Guidelines for the Investment of State of Delaware Funds

The Cash Management Policy Board (the "Board") hereby adopts and issues this ORDER promulgating a
revised regulation for the deposit and investments of State funds (the "Regulation").

I. BACKGROUND

The Board is authorized by statute to establish policies (a) for the investment of all money belonging to the
State or on deposit from its political subdivisions, except money deposited in any State Pension Fund or the State
Deferred Compensation Program, and (b) to determine the terms, conditions, and other matters relating to those
investments, including the designation of permissible investments. See 29 Del.C. §2716(a). The Board previously
promulgated regulatory guidelines that, among other things, govern the deposit of State funds in demand deposit
accounts and the purchase and sale of securities by the State's investment managers. See 1 DE Admin. Code
1201. 

The Board, upon the recommendations of its investment subcommittee, has proposed changes to the existing
regulatory guidelines. The proposed amendments will: (a) increase to 30% the allowable investment limits for
private placement securities (Rule 144A securities) held in liquidity accounts; (b) increase to 2.5 years the average
life limit on asset-backed securities held in reserve accounts; and (c) increase the maximum maturity for any
investment of State funds held in reserve accounts to eleven years from the date of settlement. The Board, after a
public meeting on September 11, 2024, and by unanimous vote, approved the Regulation for proposal under
Delaware's Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101 (the "APA").

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/36a page Amended.pdf
https://treasurer.delaware.gov/cash-management-policy-board/
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In accordance with the APA, the Board caused notice and a copy of the Regulation to be published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations, Vol. 28, Issue 5. The Board accepted public comments from November 1, 2024
through November 30, 2024. No comments were received relating to the proposed changes. The Regulation is
approved as originally proposed.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Board, for the reasons discussed in detail at, and reflected in the minutes of, the Board meetings
convened on September 11, 2024, finds that the Regulation, as proposed, is necessary and appropriate to ensure
the safe deposit and prudent investment of State funds. In addition, the Board has reviewed the proposed
Regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and has determined that any assessment of the impact of the
Regulation on the State's resiliency to climate change is not practical.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Board concludes that it is appropriate to amend 1 DE Admin. Code 1201 as
proposed in the November 2, 2024 Register of Regulations.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 1 DE Admin. Code 1201, as amended hereby, shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A
and shall be cited as 1 DE Admin. Code 1201, Objectives and Guidelines for the Investment of State of Delaware
Funds.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days after the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 5th day of December 2024.

Cash Management Policy Board

/s/ Warren C. Engle, Chair
/s/ Manubhai C. Karia, Chair, Investment Subcommittee
/s/ Stephen Marvin, Vice Chair, Investment Subcommittee
/s/ Tarrie Miller, Chair, Banking Subcommittee
/s/ Leyland Sylver, Vice Chair, Banking Subcommittee 
/s/ Colleen C. Davis, State Treasurer, Member
/s/ Richard J. Geisenberger, Secretary, Department of Finance, Member
/s/ Ruth Ann Miller, Controller General, Member

Members not voting: Jeffrey Bullock, Secretary, Department of State (absent)

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2024 issue of the Register at page 377 (28 DE Reg. 377). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 549 01-01-25.htm

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/january2025/final/28 DE Reg 549 01-01-25.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS

Traffic Engineering Section
Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, Section 4505(d)(1) (21 Del.C. §4505(d)(1))

NOTICE

Senate Bill 89 as amended by Senate Amendment 1 - Four Seasons Parkway (N140800)

November 18, 2024

Yvette Smallwood
Registrar of Regulations
411 Legislative Avenue
Dover, DE 19901

Ms. Smallwood, 

The Delaware General Assembly introduced Senate Bill 89 as amended by Senate Amendment 1 on March 18,
2021. The legislation which relates to traffic control devices for size and weight of vehicles and loads was
subsequently signed by Governor Carney on June 30, 2021. 

The legislation, which amends §4505 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code, provides as follows:

§4505. Traffic control devices.

(d)(1) The Secretary of the Department shall submit an order issued under subsection (c) of this section to
the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Register of Regulations. The Secretary shall also publish
the order on the Department's website with other similar orders.

In accordance with 21 Del. C. §4505(d)(1), Notice is hereby given by Delaware Department of Transportation,
Traffic Engineering Section, as approved and ordered by the Secretary of the Department of Transportation
pursuant to 21 Del. C. §4505(c), for the following permanent traffic control device for the safe movement of traffic in
the area:

"No Trucks Over 2 Axles Except Local Services" on Four Seasons Parkway (N140800) between Old
Baltimore Pike (N26) and DE896 South College Avenue (N387).

Please accept this notification by the Delaware Department of Transportation in order to publish the information in
the Register of Regulations.

Thank you, 
Peter Haag
Chief of Traffic Engineering

https://deldot.gov/
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DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS
Traffic Engineering Section

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, Section 4505(d)(1) (21 Del.C. §4505(d)(1))

NOTICE

 Senate Bill 89 as amended by Senate Amendment 1 - Pencader Village and Winsome Commons 
Subdivisions

November 18, 2024

Yvette Smallwood
Registrar of Regulations
411 Legislative Avenue
Dover, DE 19901

Ms. Smallwood, 

The Delaware General Assembly introduced Senate Bill 89 as amended by Senate Amendment 1 on March 18,
2021. The legislation which relates to traffic control devices for size and weight of vehicles and loads was
subsequently signed by Governor Carney on June 30, 2021. 

The legislation, which amends §4505 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code, provides as follows:

§4505. Traffic control devices.

(d)(1) The Secretary of the Department shall submit an order issued under subsection (c) of this section
to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Register of Regulations. The Secretary shall also
publish the order on the Department's website with other similar orders.

In accordance with 21 Del. C. §4505(d)(1), Notice is hereby given by Delaware Department of Transportation,
Traffic Engineering Section, as approved and ordered by the Secretary of the Department of Transportation
pursuant to 21 Del. C. §4505(c), for the following permanent traffic control device for the safe movement of traffic in
the area:

"No Trucks Over 2 Axles Except Local Services" on all local streets in the Pencader Village and Winsome
Commons Subdivisions

Please accept this notification by the Delaware Department of Transportation in order to publish the information in
the Register of Regulations.

Thank you, 
Peter Haag
Chief of Traffic Engineering

https://deldot.gov/
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DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS
Traffic Engineering Section

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, Section 4505(d)(1) (21 Del.C. §4505(d)(1))

NOTICE

Senate Bill 89 as amended by Senate Amendment 1 - South Bedford Street (S431)

November 20, 2024

Yvette Smallwood
Registrar of Regulations
411 Legislative Avenue
Dover, DE 19901

Ms. Smallwood, 

The Delaware General Assembly introduced Senate Bill 89 as amended by Senate Amendment 1 on March 18,
2021. The legislation which relates to traffic control devices for size and weight of vehicles and loads was
subsequently signed by Governor Carney on June 30, 2021. 

The legislation, which amends §4505 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code, provides as follows:

§4505. Traffic control devices.

(d)(1) The Secretary of the Department shall submit an order issued under subsection (c) of this section to
the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Register of Regulations. The Secretary shall also publish
the order on the Department's website with other similar orders.

In accordance with 21 Del. C. §4505(d)(1), Notice is hereby given by Delaware Department of Transportation,
Traffic Engineering Section, as approved and ordered by the Secretary of the Department of Transportation
pursuant to 21 Del. C. §4505(c), for the following permanent traffic control device for the safe movement of traffic in
the area:

"No Trucks Over 2 Axles Except Local Services" on South Bedford Street (S431) between the Georgetown
traffic

circle (W. Market Street (S28) and E. Market Street (S18)/North Bedford Street (S18)) and US 113 DuPont
Boulevard (S113).

Please accept this notification by the Delaware Department of Transportation in order to publish the information in
the Register of Regulations.

Thank you, 
Peter Haag
Chief of Traffic Engineering

https://deldot.gov/
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware River Basin Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, February 5, 2025, commencing
at 1:30 p.m. The public hearing will be conducted remotely. The draft docket decisions and draft resolutions that
will be subjects of the public hearing, along with details about the remote platform and how to attend, will be posted
on the Commission's website, https://www.drbc.gov, at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing date.

The Commission's quarterly business meeting will be held on Wednesday, March 12, 2025, commencing at 10:30
a.m. The business meeting also will be held remotely. An agenda, along with details about the remote platform and
how to attend, will be posted on the Commission's website, https://www.drbc.gov, at least ten (10) days prior to the
meeting date.

For additional information, including links to live streams of these events, please visit the DRBC website at https://
www.drbc.gov or contact Patricia Hausler at patricia.hausler@drbc.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education meets monthly, generally at 5:00pm on the third Thursday of the month. These
meetings are open to the public. The Board rotates locations of regular meetings among the three counties.

The State Board of Education provides information about meeting dates and times, materials, minutes, and
audio recordings on its website: 
https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/state-board-of-education/sbe-monthly-meetings/

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR 
FAMILIES

DIVISION OF MANAGEMENT SUPPORT SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

501 Procedures for Drug Testing Certain Employees

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §9020, the Department of Services for Children, Youth & Their Families (DSCYF) is required
to promulgate regulations regarding its procedures for drug testing certain employees. DSCYF is proposing to
amend Regulation 501 to remove outdated language and to clarify that the only DSCYF employees subject to the
random drug testing procedures are those with job duties involving a safety, security-sensitive or childcare position.

Comments will be accepted until 4:30pm on or before February 3, 2025 in written form via email to
Meredith.Seitz@delaware.gov or by U.S. mail to the following address:

Meredith Seitz, Chief of Staff
Department of Services for Children, Youth & Their Families
1825 Faulkland Road
Wilmington, DE 19805

https://www.drbc.gov
https://www.drbc.gov
https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/state-board-of-education/sbe-monthly-meetings/
https://www.drbc.gov
https://www.drbc.gov
mailto:patricia.hausler@drbc.gov
mailto:Meredith.Seitz@delaware.gov
https://www.nj.gov/drbc/
https://education.delaware.gov/
https://kids.delaware.gov/management-support-services/
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

PUBLIC NOTICE
2500 Board of Pharmacy

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2506(a)(1), the Delaware Board of Pharmacy ("Board") has proposed revisions to its
regulation.

On June 1, 2024, proposed revisions to the regulation were published in the Delaware Register of Regulations,
Volume 27, Issue 12. The Board proposed to amend subsection 5.1.6, pertaining to compounding; a new Section
21.0 was added concerning work conditions for pharmacists; and a new Section 22.0 was added to set forth the
parameters where a pharmacist may decline to fill a prescription based on professional judgment.

A public hearing was held on June 26, 2024 before the Board. The Board deliberated on the evidence presented at
its meeting on August 21, 2024. Based on those deliberations, the Board has proposed further revisions to the
regulation. Therefore, the Board withdraws the proposed regulation published June 1, 2024, and submits a revised
proposed regulation attached as Exhibit A.

A public hearing will be held on February 19, 2025 at 9:30 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed
rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of Pharmacy, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above
address or at ruthm.dixon@delaware.gov.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the final date to receive written comments will be March 6, 2025. The
Board will deliberate on all of the public comments at its regularly scheduled meeting.

DIVISION OF SMALL BUSINESS
PUBLIC NOTICE

The STEM Talent Advancement and Retention ("STAR") Fund

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 29 Del.C. §8705A, the Division of Small Business ("Division") proposes to promulgate new
regulations regarding criteria and procedures governing the STEM Talent Advancement and Retention Fund.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other written materials concerning the proposed modifications should direct them to the
following address:

Business Finance Unit
Division of Small Business
99 Kings Highway
Dover, DE 19901

Comments may also be directed via electronic mail to business_finance@delaware.gov. Any written
submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed rules must be received by the above contact at
the Division of Small Business no later than 4 p.m. EST, January 31, 2025.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon the
Division's consideration of the written comments and any other written materials filed by the public.

Statutory Authority 29 Del.C. §8705A.
 29 Del.C. §8705A enables the Division of Small Business to establish and promulgate such rules and

regulations governing the administration and operation of the Division as may be deemed necessary by the

mailto:business_finance@delaware.gov
mailto:ruthm.dixon@delaware.gov
https://dpr.delaware.gov/
https://business.delaware.gov/
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Director and which are not inconsistent with the laws of the State of Delaware.

Background

The STEM Talent Advancement and Retention Fund ("STAR Fund") was established pursuant to Section 37 of the
Fiscal Year 2025 Grants-in-Aid Act, S.B. 327 of the 152nd General Assembly, for the purpose of incentivizing,
retaining, and attracting graduates from an accredited post-secondary institution of higher education who are
employed or considering employment in Delaware in the STEM fields by providing awards for reimbursement of
their education loans. The STAR Fund will be administered by the Division of Small Business, a division within the
Department of State. 29 Del.C. §8703A.

OFFICE OF THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSIONER
PUBLIC NOTICE

507 Licensing Third-party Delivery of Alcoholic Beverages

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 4 Del.C. §304, the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner proposes to
establish a new regulation related to permitting and licensing third-party delivery of alcoholic beverages in the
State.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other written materials concerning the proposed regulations should direct them to the
following address:

Doug Denison
Deputy Commissioner
Office of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner
820 N. French St., 10th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801

Comments may also be directed via electronic mail to OABCCrulescomments@delaware.gov. Any written
submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed regulations must be received by the Delaware
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner no later than 4 p.m. EST, February 3, 2025.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon
consideration of the written comments and any other written materials filed by the public.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

3002 Regulations Governing Termination of Residential Electric or Natural Gas Service by Public Utilities 
for Non-Payment During Extreme Seasonal Temperature Conditions

PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 53
Opened: April 15, 2003 (PSC Order No. 6148)

Re-Opened: November 20, 2024 (PSC Order No. 10561)

The Delaware Public Service Commission ("Commission" or "PSC"), pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a)(1),
proposes to amend its regulations governing termination of residential electric or natural gas service by public
utilities for non-payment during extreme seasonal temperature conditions as promulgated 26 DE Admin. Code
3002. In summary, the Commission proposes to lower the Heat Index metric used during the Cooling Season and
eliminate the requirement that a utility attempt to make personal contact at a customer's premises prior to
disconnection.

A copy of the proposed regulations is being published in the January 2025 issue of the Delaware Register of

mailto:OABCCrulescomments@delaware.gov
https://oabcc.delaware.gov/
https://depsc.delaware.gov/
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Regulations, and is also available in the PSC's electronic filing system, Delafile, located at http://
delafile.delaware.gov/ (Docket No. "Reg. 53"). If you wish to obtain written copies of the implementing Order and
proposed regulations, please contact the PSC at (302) 736-7500. Copies in excess of the first twenty (20) pages
are $0.25 per page. Payment is expected prior to copying (if you wish the copies to be mailed) or at the time the
copies are retrieved (if you retrieve them in person).

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other
written materials concerning the proposed regulations should be submitted via e-mail to PSC@delaware.gov with
the subject line "Regulation 3002 - PSC Docket No. 53" or mailed to: Crystal Beenick, Public Service Commission,
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 100, Dover, DE 19904. 

The Commission will hold a public hearing on the proposed regulations on January 29, 2025, at 1:00 p.m. at
the hearing room located at 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 100, Dover, DE 19904. To be considered at the January
29, 2025 hearing, written comments must be submitted on or before January 22, 2025. Pursuant to 29 Del.C.
§10118(a), written comments will be accepted after the hearing until February 13, 2025.

On or after February 13, 2025, following review of any public comments, the Commission will determine
whether to amend its regulations by adopting the proposed amendments or make additional changes.

If adopted by the Commission, the amendments shall take effect ten days after being published as final in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

http://delafile.delaware.gov/
http://delafile.delaware.gov/
mailto:PSC@delaware.gov
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