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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

3 DE Reg. 737 - 742 (12/1/99)

Refers to Volume 3, pages 737 - 742 of the
Delaware Register issued on December 1, 1999.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-739-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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 3  DE Reg.  762 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7.2, Income Limits & Determination of Fees .................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  762 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7.7, Income Limits & Determination of Fees................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
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Air Quality Management Section
Delaware 1996 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan Emission

Inventory for VOC, Nox, and CO.................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  722 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  843 (Errata)

Delaware 1996 Milestone Demonstration for Kent and New Castle
Counties............................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  729 (Prop.)

Delaware On-Road Mobile Source Emissions Budgets for the Delaware, 
Phase II Attainment Demonstration................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  127 (Prop.)

Reg. No. 3, Ambient Air Quality Standards............................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  778 (Final)
Reg. No. 36, Acid Rain Program ............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  621 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  959 (Final)
Reg. No. 37, NOx Budget Program......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  376 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  779 (Final)
Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source

Categories, Subpart A....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    51 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  445 (Final)

Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source
Categories, Subpart N....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   59 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  445 (Final)
Reg. No. 39, NOx Budget Trading Program........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  129 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 40, Delaware’s National Low Emissions Vehicle Program...................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  532 (Final)
2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent & New Castle Counties................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    65 (Prop.)
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Waste Management Section
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  534 (Final)

Division of Fish & Wildlife
Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations, NT-2, Bag Limits & Seasons...................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  748 (Prop.)
Shellfish Regulations

S-52, Requirement for Collecting Horseshoe Crabs for Persons Under 16............ ....... 3  DE Reg.  622 (Prop.)
S-53, Number of Persons Accompanying a Person with a Valid Horseshoe

Crab Collecting Permit..................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  623 (Prop.)
S-54, Possession Limit of Horseshoe Crabs, Exceptions........................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  623 (Prop.)
S-55A, Horseshoe Crab Dredge Permit Lottery...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  652 (Final)
S-58, Horseshoe Crab Containment and Transportation Restrictions..................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  623 (Prop.)
S-61, Collecting Horseshoe Crabs at Night, Prohibited.......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  623 (Prop.)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 4,Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits
Season ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  737 (Prop.)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 6, Striped Bass Limits; Recreational Fishing
Seasons; Method of Take; Creel Limit; Possession Limit....................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  739 (Prop.)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 7, Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  739 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 10, Weakfish Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons............. ....... 3  DE Reg.  740 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 23, Black Sea Bass Size Limits; Trip Limits; Seasons;

Quotas ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  740 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 25, Atlantic Sharks..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  741 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 26, American Shad & Hickory Shad; Creel Limits................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  742 (Prop.)
Wildlife & Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  289 (Final)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-1,Definitions........................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  742 (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-4 Seasons, Diamondback Terrapin....................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  742 (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-6, Game Preserves................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  745 (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-14, Falconry......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  745 (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-15, Collection or Sale of Native Wildlife............................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  746 (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-16, Endangered Species....................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  747 (Prop.)

Division of Water Resources
Land Treatment of Wastes.............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  445 (Final)
Surface Water Quality Standards ................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  311 (Final)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for zinc in the

Red Clay Creek........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  163 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  806 (Final)

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for zinc in the
White Clay Creek.................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  164 (Prop.)

  3  DE Reg.  650 (Final)
Department of Public Safety

Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Rule 76, A Rule Governing Taxes Paid On Spirits......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  624 (Prop.)

Delaware State Police, Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private
Security Agents

Firearm’s Policy  3  DE Reg.  960 (Final)
Personnel Rosters & Job Assignments  3  DE Reg.  961 (Final)
Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals, Vehicular Markings  3  DE Reg.  961 (Final)
Use of Animals  3  DE Reg.  963 (Final)

Department of State
Office of the State Banking Commissioner

Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0002, Instructions for Preparation of 
Franchise Tax........................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  512 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  810 (Final)
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Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0005, Instructions for Preparation of 
Franchise Tax for Federal Savings Banks not Headquartered in this
 State but Maintaining Branches in this State.......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  515 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  812 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0009, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise
 Tax for Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks............................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  517 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  815 (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2112.0001, Mortgage Loan Brokers Operating Regulations............. ....... 3  DE Reg.  403 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  654 (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2111(a).0002, Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimum 

Requirements for Content of Books & Records...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  404 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  655 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2115.0003, Mortgage Loan Broker Regulations Itemized
Schedule of Charges................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  405 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  656 (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2113.0004, Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimum Disclosure

Requirements .......................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  406 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  657 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2111(b).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  406 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  657 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2213.0002, Licensed Lenders Minimum Requirements for
Content of Books & Records................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  407 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  658 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2218/2231.0003, Licensed Lenders Regulations Itemized

Schedule of Charges................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  408 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  659 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2210(e).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  411 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  662 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2318.0001, Report of Delaware Sale of Checks, Drafts &
Money Orders Volume............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  411 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  662 (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance

Companies Minimum Requirements for Content of Books & Records.................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  412 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  663 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2906(e).0002, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies
 Operating Regulations............................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  413 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  664 (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2906(e).0003, Report of Delaware Loan Volume Motor

Vehicle Installment Contracts.................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  414 (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  665 (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.3404/3409.0001, Preneed Funeral Contracts Regulations 
Governing Revocable & Irrevocable Trust Agreements......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  415 (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  666 (Final)

Department of Transportation
Statewide Access Management Policy & Statewide Classification Maps............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  916 (Prop.)
Subdivision Streets, Mobility Friendly Design Standards .................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  624 (Prop.)

Governor’s Office
Executive Order No. 61, Declaration of Drought Warning;  Extending Voluntary

Water Conservation Measures; and Other Related Items............................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  453
Executive Order No. 62, Proclamation of State of Emergency Due to Drought

Emergency; Issuing an Emergency Order Imposing Mandatory
Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  454
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Executive Order No. 63, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62 Regarding the
State of Emergency due to Drought Emergency............................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  546

Executive Order No. 64, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62, as Amended
by Executive Order No. 63, Regarding the State of Emergency due to Drought
Emergency ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  546

Executive Order No. 65, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62, as Amended by 
Executive Order No. 63 and Executive Order No. 64;  Regarding the State of 
Emergency due to Drought Emergency.......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  547

Executive Order No. 66, Termination of State of Emergency Due to Drought; 
Repeal of  Mandatory Water Conservation Measures; Declaration of Drought
Warning; Extending Voluntary Water Conservation Measures; and Other
Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  550

Executive Order No. 67, Proclamation of State of Emergency Due to Hurricane ................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  667
Executive Order No. 68, Termination of Drought Warning and Other

Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  667
Executive Order No. 69, Amendment to Executive Order No.27 as Amended

by Executive Order No. 56 Regarding  the Creation of the Violence
Against Women Act Implementation Committee........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  668

Executive Order No. 70, Amendment to Executive Order No. 27 Regarding the
Violence Against Women Act Implementation Committee............................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  964

Executive Order No. 71, Creating the Governor’s Building and Trade Council................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  964
Appointments & Nominations............................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  111

 3  DE Reg.  341
 3  DE Reg.  457
 3  DE Reg.  552
 3  DE Reg.  669
 3  DE Reg.  820
 3  DE Reg.  966

Public Service Commission
Reg. Docket No. 49, Creation of a Competitive Market for Retail Electric

Supply Service................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  538 (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 105(1) (24 Del.C. 105(1))

*PLEASE NOTE: THE MEETING TIME FOR THE PUBLIC

HEARING REGARDING THE PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY RULES AND REGULATIONS WAS

OMITTED FROM THE MEETING NOTICE PUBLISHED IN THE

JANUARY 1, 2000 REGISTER (3 DE REG 850 (1/1/00)). 
THE BOARD WILL MEET ON WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY

23, 2000 AT 9:00 A.M. IN THE SECOND FLOOR

CONFERENCE ROOM A OF THE CANNON BUILDING, 861
SILVER LAKE BOULEVARD, DOVER, DELAWARE, 19904.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 105(1), the Delaware
Board of Accountancy proposes to revise its rules and
regulations.  Please note that the following rules and
regulations are a total rewriting and reordering of existing
regulations, and will supersede and replace any previously
adopted rules and regulations of the Board.  Substantive
changes to the regulations include changes in definitions of
full and part time employment as it relates to the statutory
experience requirement; deletion of provisions pertaining to
matters governed by other Acts and Statutes (e.g.
disciplinary hearings); establishes application requirements;
requires demonstration of good character and education
requirements prior to approval to sit for examination;
clarifies statutory requirements and required documentation
for permits to practice certified public accountancy and for
certificate reciprocity; establishes reporting requirements
and clarifies substantive requirements for continuing
education credits; and establishes procedural rules pertaining
to hearings before the Board.  In addition, material which
unnecessarily duplicates the statutes or other rules and
regulations has been stricken.  The rules and regulations
have been entirely re-ordered and re-numbered.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Wednesday, February 23, 2000 at 9:00 a.m.
in the Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware,
19904.  The Board will receive and consider input in writing
from any person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.
Any written comments should be submitted to the Board in
care of Mary Paskey at the above address.  The final date to
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the
public hearing should notify Mary Paskey at the above

address or by calling (302) 739-4522, extension 207.
This notice will be published in two newspapers of

general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

In the Matter Of: |
|

Revision of the Regulations |
Of the Medicaid/medical |
Assistance Program |

Nature of the Proceedings:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services ("Department") initiated proceedings to update
policies related to Durable Medical Equipment, General
Policy, Practitioner and Pharmacy provider policies.  The
Department's proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the November 1999 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by November 30, 1999, at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the November 1999 Register of Regulations should
be adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective February 10, 2000.

Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary

December 14, 1999

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual

Enteral Nutrition Therapy Supplies

Enteral Nutrition

“Enteral nutrition is considered reasonable and necessary for
a patient with a functioning gastrointestinal tract who, due to
pathology to or non-function of the structures that normally
permit food to reach the digestive tract, cannot maintain
weight and strength commensurate with his or her general
condition.  Enteral nutrition may be given by nasogastric,
jejunostomy, or gastrostomy tubes, and can be provided
safely and effectively in the home by nonprofessional
persons who have undergone special training”. (Medicare’s
National Level II Codes, 1999) is the administration into the
gastro-intestinal tract of calories, nitrogen and/or other
nutrients to achieve tissue synthesis and anabolism for
patients requiring medically prescribed defined formula and
liquid diets.  The DMAP covers enteral nutrition therapy
supplies when the patient has a malfunctioning or non-
functioning gastro-intestinal tract, or medical condition
where oral feeding is contraindicated.  Patients who can
obtain nutrition orally will not be approved for these
supplies, with the following exceptions:

• Individuals with birth defects, cerebral palsy, cystic
fibrosis, metabolic diseases, or other medical
conditions which prevent them from obtaining
sufficient nutrition from a normal diet.

• pregnant women with phenylketonuria (PKU).
• failure to thrive documentation must be attached

that details the diagnosis of failure to thrive.

When submitting a request for enteral nutrition the
DME provider is required to complete and attach a
Certification for Food Supplementation Form to the CMN.
This form must clearly document the relationship between
the medical diagnosis and the need for the enteral therapy.  A
copy of this form may be found in APPENDIX C.  It is not
necessary for the practitioner to sign the Food Supplement
Form.

The DMAP will reimburse for no more than a one
month supply of enteral nutrients and enteral supplies for
any one billing period.

If more than one nutrient in the same class is prescribed
for the same period of service, these items must be combined
on one line when billing.  Failure to combine the items will
result in a denial of the additional claims as duplicates.

The attending practitioner must certify the need for
enteral therapy supplies at least every six months.  In
addition, any changes in prescription will require
authorization with medical documentation of the need for
change.

Parenteral Nutritional Therapy Supplies

“Daily parenteral nutrition is considered reasonable and
necessary for a patient with severe pathology of the
alimentary tract which does not allow absorption of
sufficient nutrients to maintain weight and strength
commensurate with the patient’s general condition”.
(Medicare’s National Level II Codes, 1999)

Total parenteral nutrition (TPN) is considered
reasonable and necessary for a patient when the oral route is
unavailable owing to surgery or obstruction, when oral
intake is inadequate, and when peripheral infusion of
nutrients cannot meet the patient’s needs.

Total parenteral nutrition (TPN) is the intravenous
administration of sterile preparation of calories, nitrogens
and/or other nutrients used in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation,
or treatment of disease to achieve tissue synthesis and
anabolism.  The DMAP covers parenteral (infusion)
nutritional therapy supplies for patients with conditions that
cannot be managed with oral therapy and who do not need
the supportive services of an in-patient setting Items
requiring a prescription (federal legend drugs) must be billed
by a pharmacy provider using a National Drug Code (NDC).

When submitting a request for parenteral nutrition
supplies the DME provider is required to complete the CMN
utilizing appropriate Local Codes used for Infusion Therapy
Supplies in Appendix A.  The DME provider is also required
to attach the physician’s care plan to the CMN.  Items that
require a prescription (federal legend drugs) must be billed
by a pharmacy provider using a National Drug Code (NDC).

The DMAP will reimburse for no more than a one
month supply of parenteral therapy supplies for any one
billing period.

The attending practitioner must certify the need for
parenteral therapy supplies at least every 6 months.  In
addition, any changes in prescription will require
authorization with medical documentation of the need for
change.

Oral Nutrition
Oral nutrition is considered reasonable and necessary

for a patient who requires supplementation of their daily
protein and caloric intake.

Patients who can adequately obtain nutrition orally will
not be approved for nutrition therapy with the following
exceptions:

• Pregnant women with phenylketonuria (PKU).
• Failure to thrive - documentation must be attached

that details the diagnosis of failure to thrive.
• Individuals with birth defects, cerebral palsy, cystic

fibrosis, metabolic diseases, or other medical
conditions that prevent them from obtaining
sufficient nutrition from a normal diet.
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When submitting a request for oral nutrition the DME
provider is required to complete and attach a Certification
for Food Supplementation Form to the CMN. In addition, a
physician’s letter of medical necessity and prescription for a
specific formula that includes calories per day are required
when requesting authorization for oral nutritional
supplement.  The letter must document the primary
diagnosis and any other related medical conditions that
prevent the individual from obtaining sufficient nutrition
from a normal diet and must include the following, as
appropriate:

• Physical findings: Height, Weight and Ideal Body
Weight or Body Mass Index.  Explanation of weight
loss with specific dates and measurements.  Other
physical examination findings.

• Significant laboratory data (for example, Serum
Albumin)

• Discussion of any risk factors found related to
undernutrition in any of the following areas:
clinical features, eating habits, living environment,
functional status, mental/cognitive status

• Explanation of previous related treatment measures
with results

Intravenous Drug Therapy Supplies
Intravenous drug therapy is the administration of sterile

preparations of medications and fluids.  The DMAP covers
intravenous drug therapy supplies when deemed medically
necessary by the attending practitioner.  The DME provider
is required to complete the CMN utilizing appropriate Local
Codes Used For Infusion Therapy Supplies in Appendix A.
Items requiring a prescription (federal legend drugs) must be
billed by a pharmacy provider using a National Drug Code
(NDC).

General Policy Manual

Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP)
The Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP)

provides payment assistance for prescription drugs to
Delaware’s low-income senior and disabled citizens who are
ineligible for, or do not have, prescription drug benefits or
coverage through federal, state, or private sources.  The
program is administered by the fiscal agent under contract
with the State.

To be eligible for this program a person must:
• be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien;
• have income that is less than 200% of the Federal

Poverty Level (FPL) or have prescription drug
expenses that exceed 40% of his or her annual
income;

• be a resident of the State of Delaware;
• be ineligible for Medicaid prescription benefits;

• be ineligible for Nemours Health Clinic
Pharmaceutical benefit;

• be ineligible for and/or not receiving a prescription
drug benefit through a Medicare supplemental
policy or any other third party payer prescription
benefit; and

• be an individual aged 65 or over or be an individual
between the ages 19 and 64 who is otherwise
eligible for benefits under Title II of the Social
Security Act.

Prescription drugs covered under the Program are
restricted to medically necessary products manufactured by
pharmaceutical companies that agree to provide
manufacturer rebates.  Policy and guidelines will follow the
existing DMAP limitations.  Services covered are generic
and brand name FDA-approved and other legal prescription
drugs, as well as cost effective over-the-counter drugs
prescribed by a physician.  Necessary diabetic supplies not
covered by Medicare will also be covered.

Payment assistance shall not exceed $2,500 per State
fiscal year to assist each eligible person in the purchase of
prescription drugs. There will be a co-payment of $5 or 25%
of the cost of the prescription, whichever is greater.  The
pharmacy will collect the co-payment before the prescription
is dispensed.

Services Requiring Prior Authorization

Pharmaceuticals
Certain pharmaceuticals require prior authorization.  For

further information refer to the Pharmacy or Practitioner
Provider Specific Policy Manual.

Categorically Eligible

Who is Eligible

The following individuals/families may be eligible for
Medicaid in Delaware as categorically eligible if they meet
certain low income and resource requirements:

• Anyone who gets a benefit from Aid to Families
with Dependent Children (AFDC), Aid to the
Unemployed (AU), Supplemental Security Income
(SSI) or State Supplemental Payments (SSP).

• People needing nursing facility care whether living
in a medical facility or at home and receiving
waiver services for the mentally retarded, the
elderly/disabled, or persons with HIV/AIDS, or
persons eligible for the Assisted Living Medicaid
Waiver Program.
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Practitioner Provider Manual

Pharmacy Services

Prior Authorization Requirements for Medications

Medications may be prior authorized if one of the following
issues is present:

• medical necessity is lacking or is not clearly
evident;

• potential for diversions, misuse and abuse;
• high cost of care relative to similar therapies;
• experimental use opportunity; and
• drug classes where the potential for not keeping

within the policy guidelines of the DMAP are
identified.

The pharmacy provider or the practitioner can initiate
the request for prior authorization.  Requests will be
evaluated within one business day by Medicaid’s pharmacy
consultant or medical director.  If required, one 2 hour
emergency supply can be dispensed until a decision is made.

The Drug Utilization Review Board will make decisions
regarding the medications that will require prior
authorization and the criteria to be used.  Prior authorization
will be based on duration of therapy, quantity, or a
combination of both depending on the medication requested.
Refer to Appendix M for specific criteria for prior
authorization.

Drug Rebate Programs
For the Medicaid (Title XIX) population including the

Diamond State Health Plan (DSHP) managed care eligibles,
prescription drugs are restricted to medically necessary
products manufactured by pharmaceutical companies that
agree to provide manufacturer rebates under the HCFA
rebate agreement.

For the Delaware Health Children Program (DHCP), the
Chronic Renal Care Program, the State Program for Non-
Qualified, Non-Citizens, and the Delaware Prescription
Assistance program, prescription drugs are restricted to
medically necessary products manufactured by
pharmaceutical companies that agree to participate in the
State Rebate Program.

Pharmacy Manual

III. LIMITATIONS

Drug Rebate Programs
For the Medicaid (Title XIX) population including the

Diamond State Health Plan (DSHP) managed care eligibles,
prescription drugs are restricted to medically necessary

products manufactured by pharmaceutical companies that
agree to provide manufacturer rebates under the HCFA
rebate agreement.

For the Delaware Health Children Program (DHCP), the
Chronic Renal Care Program, the State Program for Non-
Qualified, Non-Citizens, and the Delaware Prescription
Assistance program, prescription drugs are restricted to
medically necessary products manufactured by
pharmaceutical companies that agree to participate in the
State Rebate Program.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 1406(a)(1) (24 Del.C. 1406(a)(1))

The Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners in
accordance with 24 Del. C. Section 1406(a)(1) has proposed
a comprehensive revision of its rules and regulations to
implement the statutory revision that became effective July
20, 1999.  The changes in part  include new requirements for
insurance coverage, a provision for an inactive license,
requirements for continuing education, timetables for
qualifications of employees of inspection agencies,
clarification of licensure exceptions, proof required to
substantiate required experience, reciprocity procedures,
and a program for impaired professionals.

A public hearing will be held at 9:00 a.m. on March 7,
2000 in the second for conference room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Electrical Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons to submit
written comments may forward these comments to the Board
at the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

 The Board will consider promulgating the proposed

regulations  at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
conclusion of the public hearing

*  PLEASE NOTE:  THE PROPOSED REGULATIONS ARE A

COMPLETE REWRITE OF THE EXISTING RULES &
REGULATIONS, THEREFORE BOTH SETS ARE PRESENTED IN

THEIR ENTIRETY.

EXISTING RULES & REGULATIONS
ADOPTED 7/12/73

The State Board of Electrical Examiners does hereby
adopt the provisions of the current National Electrical Code,
plus the amendments thereto to date.  County and city codes
applicable as the official rules and requirements for
performance of electrical work in the State of Delaware, plus
any amendments or additions to the following rules which
the Board may adopt from time to time.

Rule 1. Registration required to engage in the electrical
business:

No person shall hold himself out to the public as
engaged in the business of installing, repairing, maintaining
or erecting any kind of electrical wiring conduits, machinery,
appliances, motors, fixtures, signs, electrically operated
heating equipment, airconditioners, elevators or any other
electrically operated apparatus, or device in or about any
premises in the State of Delaware without having first
obtained a Certificate of Registration as required by, or
having otherwise complied with, these regulations; other
than specifically exempted by Section 1.432, 1 through 8.
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Rule 2. Applications:
Applications may be procured in person or by mail from

the office of the State Board of Electrical Examiners, each
weekday during office hours except Saturdays, Sundays or
legal holidays. Applications must be made in the name of the
individual, not the company, for one of the following
registrations:

"Master Electrician General"- means any person
engaged in the business of installing, erecting, repairing or
contracting to install, erect or repair electric wire of
conductors to be used for the transmission of electrical
current for electric light, heat or power purposes, or
moldings, ducts, raceways, or conduits for the reception or
protection of such wires orconductors, or to electrical
machinery, apparatus, devices, or fixtures to be used for
electric light, heat, or power purposes, or planning,
estimating, laying out, and supervising such electrical work.

"Master Electrician Limited". means any person
engaged in house wiring LIMITED to not over four family
dwellings.  In the case of row or town houses, if there are
more than four hours in one row and there is no break in the
roof for a fire wall, the electrical work must be installed by a
Master Electrician General.  If the row or town houses have
a fire wall protruding through the roof and thus dividing the
houses in groups of no more than four, the electrical work
may be performed by a Master Electrician Limited.

"Master Electrician, General Special", has the same
requirements as for master electrician general, except that
the applicant must exhibit knowledge in electrical matters
relating to the applicant's specialty.

Rule 3. Every applicant must be at least 18 years of age and
shall have had a minimum practical experience, or
equivalent in technical training as prescribed for Master
Electrician General or Master Electrician Limited.

(a) Qualifications for Master Electrician General:
Each applicant for Master Electrician General shall

have had at least four years of full time or its equivalent of
technical training in a technical school or college, plus two
years of full time practical experience.

(b) Qualifications for Master Electrician Limited:
Each applicant for Master Electrician Limited, shall

have had at least two years of full time practical training or
it's equivalent of technical training in a technical school or
college, plus one year of full time practical experience.

(c) Qualifications for Master Electrician General
Special:

Must have the same requirements as for Master
Electrician General, except that the applicant must exhibit
knowledge in electrical matters relating to the applicant's
specialty.

(d) Qualifications for Master Electrician Limited
Special:

Must have the same requirements as for Master

Electrician Limited, except that the applicant must exhibit
knowledge in electrical matters relating to the applicant's
specialty.

Rule 4.Examinations.
Examinations shall consists of a knowledge of the

current National Electrical Code and a general knowledge of
electrical work as prescribed by this law.

(a) Applicants for examination will be required to
obtain a grade of at least 75% in order to obtain a Certificate
of Registration.

(b) Applicants who fail to obtain a grade of at least
75% on an examination shall be re-examined within 90 days
thereafter; applicants who fail two consecutive examinations
with a grade of less than 50% will be required to wait a
period of one year before being permitted to take the
examination again.

(c) Any person found referring to notes or books, other
than the National Electrical Code book, or misbehaving
during any examination will be barred from that examination
and must wait at least six months for re-examination.

(d) Any person aggrieved by any decision of the Board
on any question relating to examinations, may be given a
hearing before the Board, provided request is made in
writing to the Secretary/Treasurer of the Board within thirty
days of notice of said decision.  Said decision of the Board
regarding any person, shall be mailed to the aggrieved and
copies of the decisions kept on file at the office of the State
Board of Electrical Examiners.

(e) All requests for rulings by the Board shall be
submitted in writing to the Secretary/Treasurer.

(f) Examinations shall be held as required in the
presence of at least two members of the State Board of
Electrical Examiners.  All examinations will be reviewed by
the Board at their next regular board meeting.

(g) Applicants will be notified by mail of the
examination results within thirty days.

Rule 5.Fees and Bond
(a) The registration fee for Master Electrician General,

Master Electrician General Special, Master Electrician
Limited and Master Electrician Limited special, shall be set
by the Director, Division of Professional Regulation.  Ten
dollars of the required fee shall accompany the application,
the remainder to be paid upon notification that the applicant
has passed the required examination.  The initial $10.00 fee
deposit shall be retained as an application fee.  The Board
shall not be responsible for cash sent through the mail.

(b) Before any Certificate of Registration will be
issued, the applicant must furnish a good and sufficient
bond, meeting with the approval of the Board, in the name of
the State of Delaware, in the amount of $1,000.00
conditioned upon the faithful performance of any or all work
entered upon or contracted for, and to save harmless the
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owner or real party in interest in the property for which any
material is furnished for services performed by the applicant,
against loss, damage and injury resulting through want of
skill or negligence on the part of the applicant, his agents, or
employees, provided action is maintained thereon by such
owner or real party in interest within one year from the date
of installation of materials furnished or performance of such
work or service, and provided that the aggregate liability of
the surety for all such loss, damage, or injury shall in event
exceed the sum of such bond.

Rule 6.Certificate of Registration:
All Certificates of Registration, when received from the

Board, must be displayed in a prominent place in the
principal office or establishment of Certificate holder.

(a) No registration shall be transferable under penalty
of revocation.

(b) Each registration shall be issued for the State fiscal
year during which it is issued and the full fee shall be
payable irrespective of the state of issue.

(c) All persons receiving a Certificate of Registration
shall display, on the vehicles used in the performance of
their work, the words, "Registered Electrician" and the
number assigned to them in not less than three inch letters
and numbers.

Rule 7.Expirations and Renewals:
(a) Certificates of Registration shall expire on the last

day of the month of June on alternate years.  Master
Electrician General and Master Electrician General Special
certificates expire on June 30th of even years, i.e., 1986,
1988, 1990, 1992, etc.  Master Electrician Limited and
Master Electrician Limited Special certificates expire on
June 30th of odd years, i.e., 1987, 1989, 1991, 1993, etc.
Certificates shall become invalid on that day unless renewed.

(b) Renewal may be effective any time during the
month of June, by payment of the biennial fee which shall be
set by the Director, Division of Professional Regulation.
The failure on the part of any registrant to renew his
Certificate biennially in the month of June, as required, shall
not deprive such person of the right of renewal, but the fee to
be paid for the renewal of a Certificate after the month of
June shall include a late charge of SI 0.00 plus $ 1. 00 each
month or fraction of the month that payment of renewal fee
is delayed.

If an applicant has not renewed his registration
within a 36 month period, such registration is automatically
canceled and he must reapply as a new applicant.

Before any Certificate of Registration will be issued
to an approved applicant, the applicant shall pay a fee as set
by the Director, Division of Professional Regulation to the
State Board of Electrical Examiners.

When a registered holder does not do electrical
work, he may pay only his fee and late charges, if there are

any.  It is not necessary to renew the bond, as long as he is
not engaged in the electrical contracting business.

(c) Continuing Education (Adopted March 23, 1988
Public Hearing)

Every registrant shall accrue (1 0) ten hours of
approved continuing education per renewal period.  Written
proof of ten (IO) hours of approved continuing education
shall be submitted biennially during the month of June along
with payment of the renewal fee.  Continuing education
accruals in excess of 10 hours will not be carried over and
credited toward the next year's required accrual of
continuing education hours.

Rule 8.Revocation of Certificate of Registration:
(a) The Board may revoke the Certificate of

Registration of any registrant that is found guilty of.
(1) The practice of any fraud or deceit in obtaining

a Certificate of Registration.
(2) Any gross negligence, incompetency, or

misconduct in supplying material or performing services as
An electrical contractor.

(3) Permitting or causing defective electrical work,
if done deliberately or if not corrected within 15 days, or
longer if necessary, at the discretion of the Board following
notice thereof.

(a) Any person may prefer charges of fraud,
deceit, gross negligence or misconduct against any
registrant.  Such charges shall be in writing and shall be
sworn to by the person making them and shall be filed with
the Secretary/Treasurer of the Board.

(b) All charges, unless dismissed by the Board
as unfounded or trivial, shall be heard by the Board within
three months after the date on which they shall have been
preferred.

(c) The time and place for the hearing shall be
fixed by the Board, and a copy of the charges, together with
a notice of the time and place for hearing, shall be personally
served on or mailed to the last know address of the
registrant, at least 15 days before the date fixed for the
hearing. At any hearing, the accused registrant shall have the
right to appear personally and by counsel to cross-examine
witness appearing against him and to produce evidence and
witness in his own defense.  If, after such hearing, four or
more members of the Board vote in favor of finding the
accused guilty, the Board may revoke the Certificate of
Registration of such registrant.

(4) Loses or has the bond required in sub-section
1424 canceled.

(5) Is found guilty of using the certificate of
registration or allowing the certificate of registration to be
used for any work that the registrant has not directly
supervised as a full time employee or owner of the company
that performed the work.

(6) Uses or attempts to use a certificate number for
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which the registrant is not entitled.
(b) Procedure for Revocation

First Offense: A letter of reprimand and/or a
temporary revocation of the certificate of registration up to
seven days.

Second Offense: A temporary revocation of
certificate of registration up to thirty days. Third Offense:
Certificate of registration may be revoked.

(c) Electrical Work by Non-holder of Certificate of
Registration: False Representation:

(1) No person not the holder of a Certificate of
Registration, shall install, alter or repair any wiring or
appliances for electric light, heat, or power in or on any
building, and no person not the holder of such registration,
unless employed by and working under the supervision of a
person holding a registration as defined herein, shall use in
any advertising the words "Master Electrician" or the words
"Registered Electrician" or the words "Electrical
Contractor", or any words of the similar meaning or import
on any sign, card, letterhead, or in any other manner, except
as noted under Section 1432(a)(1) - (6).

(d) False Statement:
Any person who, with intent to defraud or deceive,

knowingly makes a false statement in an application for
certificate of electrical inspection and approval or in any
application provided for in this title or in any proof or
instrument in writing in connection therewith, or who shall
in an examination hereunder, deceive or substitute, shall be
in violation of this regulation.

Rule 9.Annual Inspection:
(a) All persons, firms, or corporations that are exempt

under Section 1432(2) and Section 1432(6) provisions of this
law from having a Registered Master Electrician, shall keep
a record for the electrical inspection authority of all
additional equipment or alterations to the existing electrical
system.  An applicant listing all changes and additions shall
be filed with the authorized inspection agency recognized by
the Board.

(b) In lieu of keeping such records, all persons, firms or
corporations may file application for each change or
additions at the time of completion or must request an annual
inspection each year of their complete electrical installation.

(c) All the above applications shall be sent to an
authorized inspection agency recognized by this Board.

The following is the Board's ruling on how to comply
with Section 1432(6);

1. Have in your employment a Registered Electrician,
this electrician must file on all electrical installations that he
performs and/or supervises.  This electrician must be
registered with the Delaware State Board of Electrical
Examiners.  Any electrical installation performed by a
registered electrician must be inspected upon completion.

2. Have in your employment a Professional Engineer
with ten years experience in electrical planning and design,
who is responsible for and supervises the plant's electrical
installations.  This engineer must be registered with the
Delaware State Board of Electrical Examiners and the
Delaware State Board of Electrical Examiners and the
Delaware Association of Professional Engineers.  If a plant
employs a Professional Engineer, all new installations
performed during the year must be inspected on an annual
basis.

Electrical Inspection Procedures and Regulations
for Industrial Plants:

The following procedures and regulations are set
fourth by the Delaware State Board of Electrical Examiners
as requirements of Delaware Licensed Electrical Inspection
Agencies when conducting an annual inspection of Industrial
Plants.

Title 24, Chapter 14, Subsection 4321(6), paragraph
(c) of the Delaware Code, requires all Manufacturing and
Industrial establishments to have all electrical work
inspected at least once annually.

Work Qualified for Annual Inspections:
All electrical installation in manufacturing and

industrial facilities, performed by Owner's employees or by a
properly registered and licensed Delaware Electrical
Contractor, which have been inspected by a Registered
Professional Engineer meeting the qualifications of
Subsection 1432, paragraph (6) qualify for annual
inspection.  This work must be inspected and inspection
must be requested by the Owner's authorized Engineer.

Where an Owner contracts electrical work with a
Contractor who is not properly licensed or does not have in
his employ an electrician registered in the State of Delaware,
said Contractor is in violation and is subject to legal action
and work can be stopped until compliance with the law.

Work Not Qualified for Annual Inspection:
All electrical installations performed by the

Owner's employees, under the supervision of an electrician
registered in the State of Delaware or by an Electrical
Contractor properly licensed and registered in the State of
Delaware, must be inspected as required in Subsection 1433,
paragraph (b), with the exception of work inspected by a
Professional Engineer pursuant to Subsection 1432,
paragraph 6.

Industrial Qualifications:
1. For industrial facilities that have in their

employ a full time, qualified electrical maintenance force
and/or experience engineering staff, inspections will be
conducted on a sample or random basis.  A representative
sample of each type of electrical work will beinspected. If no
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serious violations are found and it can be safely assumed that
the uninspectedwork will be of the same quality, a letter of
approval can be issued for all work subject to inspection.
Plant personnel will be responsible to check for and correct
on the uninspected work, any violations cited on the
inspected work.

2. On industrial facilities that do not have
qualified electrical maintenance personnel, inspections will
be conducted on a more thorough basis.  A larger percentage
of work will be inspected and if necessary on small facilities,
all work may be inspected until the inspector is satisfied that
all work conforms to the National Electrical Code.

Procedures:
1. Owner submits written "Application for

Electrical Inspection".  This may be initiated by telephone
and if requested, inspector will assist Owner in completing
written application.

2. Prior to inspector's visit, Owner's
representative will prepare a list of all electrical work
performed during the past year, that had not been previously
inspected.

*If the qualifications are questionable, the inspector
will refer the case to the State Board.

3. Inspector contacts plant and arranges mutually
suitable date for inspection.

4. Inspector is accompanied by qualified plant
personnel, who will assist in locating work to be inspected.
Inspector has the authority to choose and be shown those
installations that he feels have the highest safety priorities.

5. The inspection will be based on the National
Electrical Code.  He will also report any deteriorated,
damaged or abused installations that are a safety hazard.

6. Inspection agency will file report within two
weeks.  Report will cite all violations and refer to
appropriate sections of the National Electrical Code.  A
reasonable time will be indicated for plant to make
corrections.

7. Plant must make corrections within scheduled
time and notify the inspection agency for reinspection.  If
additional time is needed, industry must notify in writing,
with a copy to the State Board of Electrical Examiners, the
cause for delay and request a reasonable extension. The
Board will exercise its authority to take legal action if
adequate effort is not made to correct violations.

Regulations:
Inspection Agencies shall adhere to the following

regulations.
1. Has authority to inspect only those installations

covered by the National Electrical Code or Title 24 of the
Delaware Code.

2. Shall at all times adhere to plant's safety, sanitation
and security regulations.

3. Shall not involve himself in trivia that is not
pertinent to the National Electrical Code.

4. If required, sign a non-disclosure agreement to
which he legally binds himself and the agency which he
represents.

5. Will not interfere with the plant's normal
production procedure.  If necessary to shutdown or de-
energize production related equipment, he will schedule this
at the earliest convenience of the plant's representative to
minimize or avoid loss of production.

6. Will be expedient and attempt to conduct a
thorough and impartial inspection as quickly as possible.

7. Inspection agency will invoice the industry at an
hourly rate (rates subject to Board approval), with a
minimum two hour billing.  Invoice will include time for.

a. On site inspections.
b. Travel time.
c. Reinspection.
d. Report writing.
e. Letter of Approval with copy to the State

Board.
f. Reviewing and/or advising industrial client as

to reason for violations or possible corrective action.
Invoice will be for inspectors or supervisors time only and
will not include clerical or secretarial services.

Appeal:
Industry has at all times the right to appeal the action of

the inspection agency and its personnel to the State Board.
Prior to notifying the Board, problems should be brought to
the attention of the District's Manager of the Inspection
Agency.

Rule 10. Reciprocity:
The Board may, upon application therefore, and the

payment of the regular fee and without examination, issue a
Certificate of Registration as a Master Electrician General
and Master Electrician General Special to any person who
holds a certificate of qualification or registration issued to
him by the proper authorities of any State or Territory or
District of the United States, or of any country, provided that
the requirements for the registration of electrical contractors,
General or Limited, under which such certificate of
qualification or registration was issued do not conflict with
the provision of this chapter and are of a standard not lower
that that specified in this chapter, provided the same rights
are given to the electrical contractors of this State.

General Rules:
1. All electrical work installed by any registrant shall

be installed in accordance with the rules and regulations of
the National Electrical Code, the local light and power
company and all state, city and county building codes.

2. All electrical work, appliances or any related
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installations shall be installed in a work man like manner.
3. The State Board of Electrical Examiners shall have

the authority to appoint -representatives (other than board
members) from various specialized fields to investigate
written complaints which, in the opinion of the Board,
warrants investigation: however, these representatives shall
act only in an advisory capacity and all opinions and
decisions shall be formulated or made by the State Board of
Electrical Examiners.

4. It is resolved that the original Rules and
Regulations for the general supervision and control of the
electrical business in the State of Delaware were Adopted
October 1, 1974.

The following were added to the General Rules already
submitted by the State Board of Electrical Examiners.

5. All applications for electrical inspection must be
signed by the registration holder. These applications are not
to be accepted if the registrant's name and registration
number are typed or stamped on the application.

6. The State Board of Electrical Examiners is to be
notified by the registration holder within ten (10) days, if the
registrant terminates employment with a company or
changes the name of his company or corporation.  This
notification is to be in writing to the Board office.

7. Any person holding an electrical registration with
the State Board of Electrical Examiners, upon becoming an
electrical inspector, shall have his registration suspended
until such time as he is no longer affiliate with the inspection
agency.  A late fee will not be charged by the Board during
the time of suspension.

8. All new inspectors hired by recognized inspection
agencies may be required to take a written examination
within ninety (90) days after being hired.

9. In the case of one registered contractor taking over
and completing a job started by another contractor, the
following procedure is to be followed:

1) The contractor leaving the job must obtain a
final electrical approval on the work he has installed.

2) The contractor completing the job must file a
letter with the Board office stating that he is assuming
complete responsibility for the completion of the job and
obtaining the necessary electrical inspections and approval
on same.

10. JointVenture: The Board has deemed joint ventures
acceptable provided that all parties involved are registered
with the State Board of Electrical Examiners as Electrical
Contractors.

11. The following is the procedure for processing
service changes:

1) Electrical contractor to pick up the meter
socket and jumper bars after the meter inspector has been
consulted.

2) Upon completion of work (some maximum

period) the electrical contractor is to make temporary
connections, install jumpers, apply for inspection and advise
the meter department.

3) If final inspection agency approval is not
received in fifteen (15) days, the State Board of Electrical
Examiners is to be informed.

PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS

1.0 License required.
1.1 No person shall perform electrical services or

represent themselves as qualified to perform electrical
services  without first having been duly licensed unless
specifically excepted by statute.  24 Del.C. § 1407, 1419

1.2 To perform “electrical services” or “electrical
work” means to plan, estimate, layout, perform, or supervise
the installation, erection, or repair of any electrical
conductor, molding, duct, raceway, conduit, machinery,
apparatus, device, or fixture for the purpose of lighting,
heating, or power in any structure or for elevators,
swimming pools, hot tubs, electric signs, air conditioning,
heating, refrigeration, oil burners, and overhead and
underground primary distribution systems.

1.3 A license is not required for servicing equipment in
the fields of heating, air conditioning, refrigeration or
appliances.

2.0 Applications.
2.1 Applications may be obtained in person during

regular business hours  or by mail from the Division of
Professional Regulation, Cannon Building, Ste. 203,  861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904-2467.
Applications must be made in the name of the individual, not
a company.  The Board shall approve the application form to
insure that it contains all of the information necessary to
satisfy the statutory requirements for licensure.

2.2  Applications which are incomplete shall be
retained for one year to allow an applicant the opportunity to
supplement the application.  After one year, incomplete
applications are destroyed.  Thereafter, an applicant must
resubmit a current application with the appropriate fee.

2.3 Applications approved for testing will be valid for
two years.  If the test isn’t taken, the application is destroyed.
Thereafter, an applicant must resubmit a current application
with the appropriate fee.

3.0 Qualifications.
3.1 Persons demonstrating the education and

experience qualifications set forth in 24 Del. C. § 1408  may
be licensed as a master electrician, limited electrician, master
electrician special, or limited electrician special. 

3.2 An applicant shall submit proof of qualifications
verified by his or her  affidavit on a form approved by the
Board. Proof of experience requires either an employer’s
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affidavit, a tax form w-2, or tax Schedule C.  The required
experience and training must be completed  prior to taking
the licensure test

4.0 Examinations.
4.1 As a condition of licensure, applicants shall obtain

a grade of 75% on the Division-approved test.   Only the
National Electrical Code Book can be used during the test as
a reference.  Applicants should submit a completed
application with all necessary credentials for Board approval
at least 45 days before the test is given.  As long as the
credentials have been approved, a license may issue from the
Division of Professional Regulation upon proof of obtaining
a passing score on the test, proof of insurance, and payment
of the fee as provided herein.  A member of the State Board
of Electrical  Examiners will attend the examination. All
scores will be presented to the Board at the first meeting
after the examination results are available.  The roster of
persons qualified for licensure will appear in the minutes.

4.2 Applicants who fail  two consecutive times with a
grade of less than 50% each time must wait one year before
retesting.

5.0 Fees
5.1  Fee information can be obtained from the Division

of Professional Regulation, Cannon Building Ste. 203, 861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904 -2467.

6.0 License and Insurance.
6.1 The license will be issued by the Division of

Professional Regulation to a qualified applicant upon receipt
of the required fee and proof of insurance.

6.2 Each licensee shall maintain general liability
insurance of at least $300,000.00.  Proof of said insurance
shall be submitted at the time of license issuance and each
renewal.

7.0 Expiration and Renewal.
7.1 All licenses as master electrician or master

electrician special  expire on June 30, 2000 and even -
numbered years thereafter.  All licenses as limited electrician
or limited electrician special expire on June 30, 2001 and
odd - numbered years thereafter.

7.2 As a condition of renewal, each applicant must
show proof  of continuing education as required in the Rules
and Regulations.  Extra continuing education hours do not
carry over to the next licensing period. Renewal applications
will be audited by the Board for compliance with the
continuing education requirements.

7.3 A license is lapsed when a licensee has failed to
either complete the requirements for renewal or obtain
permission for  inactive status.  A licensee may activate a
lapsed license within one year of the date the renewal
application was due by meeting all requirements and paying

an additional fee set by the Division of Professional
Regulation.

7.4   A licensee with a valid license may request in
writing to be placed on inactive status. An inactive status can
be effective for up to two years and renewed biennially by
application to the Division.    Said license may be reactivated
by the Board  upon written request  which includes evidence
of 10 hours of continuing education completed within the
preceding 2 years, proof of insurance, and payment of a
prorated fee to be computed by the Division of Professional
Regulation. 

7.5 A  licensee is not authorized to work as a licensed
electrician in this State during the period of lapse or inactive
status.

8.0 Continuing Education
8.1 Continuing education (CE) is required of all

licensees and proof shall be submitted to the Board by April
30 of any year after 2000 in which a license is to be renewed.
For example, if a license must be renewed June 30, 2001, the
proof of completion of CE  is due on April 30, 2001. A
licensee who has submitted CE hours that are not allowed
will be notified so that he or she may obtain replacement CE
before the June 30 expiration of the license.

8.2 Sponsors or licensees seeking pre-approval of CE
hours should submit the request on a  form approved by the
Board at least 60 days before the CE course  is being offered.

8.3 Licensees shall complete 10 hours of approved CE
during each renewal period with the following exceptions - a
person licensed less than one year does not need to complete
CE at the first renewal; a person licensed one year but less
than two years must submit 5 CE hours at the first renewal.

8.4 The Board may consider a waiver of CE
requirements or acceptance of partial fulfillment based on
the Board’s review of a written request with supporting
documentation of hardship.

9.0 Loss of license holder
9.1 A procedure permitting  temporary practice after

loss of a licensee to avoid business interruption is provided
in 24 Del. C. § 1418 and is necessary only where there is no
currently employed licensee to assume the duties of the
former license holder.

9.2 The notification must include documentation of the
business relationship with the former license holder.

10.0  Exceptions.
10.1  No license is required for performing electrical

work by the following persons or entities:
10.1.1 persons working under the supervision of a

Delaware licensed master or limited electrician;
10.1.2  persons under the supervision of a licensed

electrician who is the owner or full-time employee of a
company performing electrical work;
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10.1.3  a professional engineer in a manufacturing
or industrial plant having six years experience in electrical
planning and design who is registered with the Board as the
person responsible for the plant repairs, maintenance, and
electrical additions;

10.1.4 the Department of Transportation, or a
contractor, for work performed by or under the supervision
of the Department for the installation erection, construction,
reconstruction and/or maintenance of drawbridges and
traffic control devices

10.1.5  persons working beyond the main breaker
or fuse of 200 amps or less in a structure used exclusively for
agriculture;

10.1.6  persons performing the work of any light or
power company, electric or steam railway company,
telegraph or telephone company when the work is part of the
plant or service used in rendering authorized service to the
public such as power delivery by an electric company.  This
exception ends at the point of attachment, termination box,
or d-mark; 

10.1.7 a homeowner who has obtained a
homeowner’s permit  provided by law.

11.0  Reciprocity
11.1  An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall

complete an application approved by the Board and cause a
certificate of good standing to be sent to the Board from the
licensing agencies of all jurisdictions where the applicant is
or has been licensed.  Upon request an applicant for
licensure under this provision must submit to the Board a
copy of reciprocal state’s current licensure requirements. If
the reciprocal state’s requirements are not substantially
similar to those of this State, as determined by the Board,
the applicant shall submit proof of practice for at least five
years after licensure.  Proof or practice can be by an
employer’s affidavit, tax form w-2 , or tax Schedule C

12.0  Required Inspection.
12.1  Every licensee shall file for an inspection by a

licensed inspection agency no later than five working days
after the commencement of electrical work.  The inspection
agency shall complete the inspections no later than five
working days after the application has been received.  

12.2  Any professional engineer excepted from licensure
shall at least annually file with the Board a certificate of
inspection by a licensed inspection agency and a letter
stating that all repairs, maintenance, and additions to a
manufacturing or industrial plant meet the Standards of the
National Electrical Code.  The annual inspection should
include a representative sampling of the work performed by
the authority of the responsible professional engineer.

12.3  Any person performing electrical work on
agricultural structures excepted from licensure shall
nevertheless obtain a certificate of inspection from a Board-

approved inspection agency for new installations.
12.4   Any person authorized to perform work by a

homeowner’s permit shall obtain a final inspection by a
Board-approved inspection agency.

13.0  Organization of the Board
13.1  ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Annually during the July meeting, the Board shall
elect officers to serve for a one year term from September 1-
August 31.

13.2  DUTIES OF THE OFFICERS
13.2.1  President - The president shall preside at all

meetings, designate subordinates when provided by law,
sign correspondence on behalf of the Board, and perform
other functions inherent in the position.  In conducting
meetings or hearings, the President may limit or exclude
evidence as provided under the Administrative Procedures
Act unless overruled by a majority of the Board.

13.2.2  Vice President - The Vice President
assumes the duties and powers of the President when the
President is unavailable.

13.2.3  Secretary - The Secretary assumes the duties
and powers of the President when neither the President nor
the Vice President is available.

13.2.4  Complaint officer - The complaint officer
shall be a professional member who works with the
investigator of the Division of Professional Regulation when
complaints are investigated pursuant to 29 Del.C.§8807.
The complaint officer shall report to the Board when
complaints are closed and recuse himself or herself from
participating in disciplinary hearings involving matters that
have been reviewed in his or her capacity as complaint
officer.    

13.2.5  Education officer - The education officer
may review courses submitted for continuing education
approval and makes recommendations to the Board.

13.3  MEETING MINUTES
The minutes of each meeting are taken by the

Administrative Assistant from the Division of Professional
Regulation and approved by the Board.

14.0  Homeowners Permits
14.1  The Division of Professional Regulation is

authorized to issue homeowners’ permits pursuant to an
application process approved by the Board. Generally
homeowner’s permits are not required for replacement in
kind but are required for new construction, renovation, and
any work that requires a building permit.

14.2  A homeowner shall not be permitted to install a
hot tub or a swimming pool.    

15.0  Inspection agencies
15.1  Inspection agencies shall be licensed in accord

with the provisions of 24 Del. C. § 1421 in order to operate
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in Delaware.  An application on a form  approved by the
Board must be filed at the Division of Professional
Regulation.

15.2  No inspection agency will be approved until it
produces proof of general liability insurance in the amount
of at least $1,000,000.00 and errors and omissions insurance
in the amount of at least $1,000,000.00.

15.3  Inspection agencies must submit, to the Division
of Professional Regulation, the names of its employees who
are inspectors and proof of compliance with the statutory
requirements for inspectors   Inspectors must have seven
years of experience in residential, commercial, or industrial
wiring.  Proof of experience shall be submitted by affidavit
of the named employer, a tax form w-2, or tax Schedule C.
The experience requirement for an inspector employed by an
approved inspection agency on July 20, 1999 is satisfied
with seven years of inspection experience.  Each inspector
shall also submit a passing score for the Electrical one and
two family dwelling and the Electrical General examinations
within 18 months of employment and the Electrical Plan
Review examination within 24 months of employment. For
inspectors employed by the inspection agency on July 20,
1999, the time for taking said examinations shall run from
the date these regulations become effective and not the date
first employed.

16.0  Voluntary treatment option for chemically dependent
or impaired professionals

A voluntary treatment option is available for chemically
dependent or impaired professionals as provided in 29 Del.
C. § 8807 (n) who are reported to the Board or Division
using the following procedures:

16.1  If the report is received by the president of the
Board, that president shall immediately notify the Director
of Professional regulation or his/her designate of the report.
If the Director of Professional Regulation receives the
report, he/she shall immediately notify the president of the
Board, or that president’s designate or designates.

16.2  The president of the Board or that president’s
designate or designates shall, within seven (7) days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

16.3 In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility.  This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within thirty (30) days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board president or that president’s designate(s).

16.4 A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or

alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board president or that president’s
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the with the treating professional, deem
necessary, only if such action will not endanger the public
health, welfare or safety, and the regulated professional
enters into an agreement with the Director of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate and the president of the
Board or that president’s designate for a treatment plan and
progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement.  Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
President of the Board.  

16.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the Board president
or that president’s designate or designates or the Director of
the Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
in regard to the Voluntary Treatment Option or to comply
with their requests for evaluations and screens may
disqualify the regulated professional from the provisions of
the Voluntary Treatment Option and the Board president or
that president’s designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h), § 8807 of title 29.

16.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to the following provisions:

16.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the Board.  Board approval
shall not require that the regulated professional be identified
to the Board. Treatment and evaluation functions must be
performed by separate agencies to assure an unbiased
assessment of the regulated professional’s progress.

16.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the president of the Board or to that
president’s designate or designates or to the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate at
such intervals as required by the president of the Board or
that president’s designate or designates or the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and
such person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.

16.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program.

16.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
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program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option.  The amount of the fee
imposed under this paragraph shall approximate and
reasonably reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses
of the Board, as well as the proportional expenses incurred
by the Division of Professional Regulation in its services on
behalf of the Board in addition to the administrative costs
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option.

16.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the Board’s president, or his/her
designate or designates or to the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate by the treating
professional who shall be immune from any liability for such
reporting made in good faith and without malice.

16.7  The regulated professional’s records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection.  However, the
participating Board may consider such records in setting a
disciplinary sanction in any future matter in which the
regulated professional’s chemical dependency or impairment
is an issue.

16.8  The Board’s president, his/her designate or
designates or the Direction of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with the
treating professional at any time during the Voluntary
Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a chemically
dependent or impaired professional if such action is deemed
necessary to protect the public health, welfare or safety.

16.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.

16.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an
immediate investigation and disciplinary proceedings as
appropriate.

16.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a non-disciplinary matter.

16.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK

Statutory Authority:  Title 24, Delaware Code, 
Chapter 53 (24 Del.C. Chp. 53)

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 5306(1), the Delaware
Board of Massage and Bodywork proposes to revise its rules
and regulations.  The proposed revisions define certain
modalities as constituting or not constituting the “practice of
massage and bodywork.”  The Board’s Rule regarding
Continuing Education has also been rewritten in its entirety,
changing the number of required hours for massage
therapists from 12 to 24 per biennial licensing period;
clarifying content requirements and Board approval
procedures; allowing credit for certain self-directed
activities; establishing reporting requirements, and allowing
for hardship extensions in certain cases.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Thursday, March 2, 2000 at 2:00 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of
Denise Spear at the above address.  The final date to submit
written comments shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed
Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the public
hearing should notify Denise Spear at the above address or
by calling (302) 739-4522.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

Board of Massage and Bodywork Rules and Regulations

1.0 Definitions and General Definitions.
1.1  The term "500 hours of supervised in-class study"

as referenced in 24 Del.C. Section 5308(a)(1) shall mean
that an instructor has controlled and reviewed the applicant's
education on the premises of a school or approved program
of massage or bodywork therapy, and can document that the
applicant has successfully completed a curriculum that is
substantially the same as referenced in Section 5308(a)(1)
and which includes hands-on technique and
contraindications as they relate to massage and bodywork.
More than one school or approved program of massage or
bodywork therapy may be attended in order to accumulate
the total 500 hour requirement.

1.2 The term a "100-hour course of supervised in-class
study of massage" as referenced in 24 Del.C. Section
5309(a)(1) shall mean that an instructor has controlled and
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reviewed the applicant's education on the premises of a
school or approved program of massage or bodywork
therapy, and can document that the applicant has
successfully completed a 100 hour course which includes
hands-on technique and theory, and anatomy, physiology,
and contraindications as they relate to massage and
bodywork.

1.3 The “practice of massage and bodywork” includes,
but is not limited to, the following modalities:

Acupressure
Chair Massage
Craniosacral Therapy
Deep Tissue Massage Therapy
Healing Touch
Joint Mobilization
Lymph Drainage Therapy
Manual Lymphatic Drainage
Massage Therapy
Myofascial Release Therapy
Neuromuscular Therapy
Orthobionomy
Process Acupressure
Reflexology
Rolfing
Shiatsu
Swedish Massage Therapy
Trager
Visceral Manipulation
The practice of the following modalities does not

constitute the “practice of massage and bodywork”:
Alexander Technique
Aroma therapy
Feldenkrais
Hellerwork
Polarity Therapy
Reiki
Shamanic Technique
Therapeutic Touch

2.0 Filing of Application for Licensure as Massage/
Bodywork Therapist.

2.1 A person seeking licensure as a massage/bodywork
therapist must submit a completed application on a form
prescribed by the Board to the Board office at the Division of
Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware.  Each application
must be accompanied by (1) a copy of a current certificate
from a State certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation
program as required by 24 Del.C. Section 5308(3); and (2)
payment of the application fee established by the Division of
Professional Regulation pursuant to 24 Del.C. Section 5311.

2.2 In addition to the application and materials
described in paragraph "a" of this Rule, an applicant for
licensure as a massage/bodywork therapist shall have (1)
each school or approved program of massage or bodywork

where the applicant completed the hours of study required by
24 Del.C. Section 5308(a)(1) submit to the Board an official
transcript or official documentation showing dates and total
hours attended and a description of the curriculum
completed; and (2) Assessment Systems, Incorporated or its
predecessor, submit to the Board verification of the
applicant's score on the written examination described in
Rule 3 herein.

2.3 The Board shall not consider an application for
licensure as a massage/bodywork therapist until all items
specified in paragraphs "a" and "b" of  this Rule are
submitted to the Board's office.

3.0 Examination.
The Board designates the National Certification

Examination administered by the National Certification
Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
("NCBTMB") as the written examination to be taken by all
persons applying for licensure as a massage/bodywork
therapist.  The Board will accept as a passing score on the
exam the passing score established by the NCBTMB.

4.0 Application for Certification as Massage Technician.
4.1 A person seeking certification as a massage

technician must submit a completed application on a form
prescribed the Board to the Board office at the Division of
Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware.  Each application
must be accompanied by (1) a copy of current certificate
form from a State certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation
program as required by 24 Del.C. Section 5308(3)
5309(a)(2) ; and (2) payment of the application fee
established by the Division of Professional Regulation
pursuant to 24 Del.C. Section 5311.

Summary: This amendment corrects a
typographical error and an error in citation in the current
rule 4(a).  This is a non-substantive amendment.  29 Del. C.
§10113(b)(4).

4.2 In addition to the application and materials
described in paragraph "a" of this Rule, an applicant for
certification as a massage technician shall have the school or
approved program of massage or bodywork therapy where
the applicant completed the hours or study required by 24
Del.C. Section 5309(a)(1) submit to the Board an official
transcript or official documentation showing dates and total
hours attended and a description of the curriculum
completed.

4.3 The Board shall not consider an application for
certification as a massage technician until all items specified
in paragraphs "a" and "b" of this Rule are submitted to the
Board's office.

5.0 Expired License or Certificate.
An expired license as a massage/bodywork therapist or

expired certificate as a massage technician may be reinstated
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within ninety (90) days after expiration upon application and
payment of the renewal fee plus a late fee as set by the
Division of Professional Regulation.

6.0 Continuing Education.
6.1 As a precedent setting condition to the renewal of

the two year license or certification, a massage/bodywork
therapist or massage technician must complete twelve hours
of study in the field of massage/bodywork practice during
the two year period immediately preceding renewal;
provided however, that if the massage/bodywork therapist or
massage technician has been licensed or certified one year or
less on the date of renewal, the requirement for continuing
education shall be pro-rated as follows:

_ Licensed or certified less than six months at date of
renewal; zero (0) hours;

_ Licensed or certified six - twelve months at date of
renewal; six (6) credit hours.

6.2 Continuing education may include, but is not
limited to conferences, seminars and classes.  Renewal of
licensure of certification is contingent upon approval of
continuing education courses by the Board.

(Continuing Education Adopted March 26, 1996).

6.1 Hours required.  For license or certification periods
beginning September 1, 2000 and thereafter, each massage/
bodywork therapist shall complete twenty-four (24) hours of
acceptable continuing education during each biennial
licensing period, except as otherwise provided in these Rules
and Regulations.  Each massage technician shall complete
twelve (12) hours of acceptable continuing education during
each biennial licensing period, except as otherwise provided
in these Rules and Regulations. Completion of the required
continuing education is a condition of renewing a license or
certificate.  Hours earned in a biennial licensing period in
excess of those required for renewal may not be credited
towards the hours required for renewal in any other licensing
period.

6.2 Proration.  Candidates for renewal who were first
licensed or certified twelve (12) months or less before the
date of renewal are exempt from the continuing education
requirement for the period in which they were first licensed
or certified.

6.3 Content.
6.3.1 Except as provided in Rule 6(c)(2),

continuing education hours must contribute to the
professional competency of the massage/bodywork therapist
or massage technician within modalities constituting the
practice of massage and bodywork. Continuing education
hours must maintain, improve or expand skills and
knowledge obtained prior to licensure or certification, or
develop new and relevant skills and knowledge.

6.3.2 No more than 25% of the continuing
education hours required in any licensing period may be
earned in any combination of the following areas and
methods:

6.3.2.1 Courses in modalities other then
massage/bodywork therapy

6.3.2.2 Personal growth and self-
improvement courses

6.3.2.3 Business and management courses
6.3.2.4 Courses taught by correspondence or

mail
6.3.2.5 Courses taught by video,

teleconferencing, video conferencing or computer
6.4 Board approval.

6.4.1 “Acceptable continuing education” shall
include any continuing education programs meeting the
requirements of Rule 6(c) and offered or approved by the
following organizations:

6.4.1.1 NCBTMB
6.4.1.2 American Massage Therapy

Association
6.4.1.3 Association of Oriental Bodywork

Therapists of America
6.4.1.4 Association of Bodywork and

Massage Practitioners
6.4.1.5 Delaware Nurses Association

6.4.2 Other continuing education programs or
providers may apply for pre-approval of continuing
education hours by submitting a written request to the Board
which includes the program agenda, syllabus and time spent
on each topic, the names and resumes of the presenters and
the number of hours for which approval is requested.  The
Board reserves the right to approve less than the number of
hours requested.

6.4.3 Self-directed activity:The Board may,
upon request, review and approve credit for self-directed
activities, including, but not limited to, teaching, research,
preparation and/or presentation of professional papers and
articles.  A licensee must obtain pre-approval of the Board
prior to undertaking the self-directed activity in order to
assure continuing education credit for the activity.  Any self-
directed activity submitted for approval must include a
written proposal outlining the scope of the activity, the
number of continuing education hours requested, the
anticipated completion date(s), the role of the licensee in the
case of multiple participants (e.g. research) and whether any
part of the self-directed activity has ever been previously
approved or submitted for credit by the same licensee.

6.4.4 The Board may award additional
continuing education credits, on an hour for hour basis, to
continuing education instructors for the first-time
preparation and presentation of an approved continuing
education course for other practitioners, to a maximum of 6
additional hours. (e.g. an instructor presenting a 8 hour
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course for the first time may receive up to 6 additional credit
hours for preparation of the course).  This provision remains
subject to the limitations of Rule 6(c)(2).

6.5 Reporting.
6.5.1 For license or certification periods

beginning September 1, 2000 and thereafter, each candidate
for renewal shall submit a summary of their continuing
education hours, along with any supporting documentation
requested by the Board, to the Board on or before May 31 of
the year the license or certification expires.  No license or
certification shall be renewed until the Board has approved
the required continuing education hours or granted an
extension of time for reasons of hardship.  The Board’s
approval of a candidate’s continuing education hours in a
particular modality does not constitute approval of the
candidate’s competence in, or practice of, that modality.

6.5.2 If a continuing education program has
already been approved by the Board, the candidate for
renewal must demonstrate, at the Board’s request, the actual
completion of the continuing education hours by giving the
Board a letter, certificate or other acceptable proof of
attendance provided by the program sponsor.

6.5.3 If a continuing education program has not
already been approved by the Board, the candidate for
renewal must give the Board, at the Board’s request, all of
the materials required in Rule 6(d)(2) and demonstrate the
actual completion of the continuing education hours by
giving the Board a letter, certificate or other acceptable proof
of attendance provided by the program sponsor.

6.6 Hardship.A candidate for renewal may be granted
an extension of time in which to complete continuing
education hours upon a showing of unusual hardship.
“Hardship” may include, but is not limited to, disability,
illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction and
exceptional family responsibilities.  Requests for hardship
consideration must be submitted to the Board in writing prior
to the end of the licensing or certification period for which it
is made.  If the Board does not have sufficient time to
consider and approve a request for hardship extension prior
to the expiration of the license, the license will lapse upon
the expiration date and be reinstated upon completion of
continuing education pursuant to the hardship exception.
The licensee may not practice until reinstatement of the
license.

7.0 Scope of Practice.
Licensed massage/bodywork therapist and certified

massage technicians shall perform only the massage and
bodywork activities and techniques for which they have been
trained as stated in their certificates, diplomas or transcripts
from the school or program of massage therapy where
trained.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
PESTICIDE SECTION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Chapter 12 (3 Del.C. Ch. 12)

The Delaware Department of Agriculture, Pesticides
Section, is proposing to amend the Delaware Pesticide Rules
and Regulations, Revised, February 10, 1999.  Any person
who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of
data, testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning
the proposed new regulations must submit same to Grier
Stayton, Department of Agriculture, 2320 S. duPont
Highway, Dover, DE  19901 by March 1, 2000.  The
proposed revisions of Sections 4, Registration, and Section
5, Licensing are the consequence of changes to 3 Del.C.
Chapter 12, Pesticide Law, made during the 140th General
Assembly session.  Amendments to Section 4 Reigistration
will provide for a biennial pesticide product registration
period and a fee increase.  Amendments to Section 5,
Licensing, will require a pesticide business license applicant
or holder of the license to employ a certified applicator with
a minimum of two years practical experience pursuant to
§1207(c)(1) of the Law. Section 5 amendments also provide
for the option of a one or two year license period.

The proposed revision of Section 22, Restrictions on the
Use of Pesticides for the Control of Subterranean Termites,
will clarify disclosure requirements and prescribe a
disclosure form for applicators of termiticides.

H. Grier Stayton
Pesticides Administrator

Delaware Pesticide Rules & Regulations

Section 1  General

1.01 Scope
These regulations establish general operating rules

and procedures for the enforcement of the Delaware
Pesticide Law, including but not limited to the certification
of users of restricted and general use pesticides.

1.02 Authority
These regulations are issued under the authority of

Title 3 Part II Chapter 12 of the Annotated Code of
Delaware.

1.03 Effective Date
These regulations were amended on February 10,

1999, in accordance with Title 29, Chapter 101, Annotated
Code of Delaware

1.04 Filing Date
These regulations were filed in the Office of the

Secretary of State on February 10, 1999.

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
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Section 2 Declaration of Policy
3 Del.C. Part II, Chapter 12, Section 1237, places the

enforcement of the Delaware Pesticide Law with the
Department of Agriculture and empowers the Department to
establish regulations.

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Secretary of
Agriculture by 3 Del.C., Part II, Chapter 12, I, John F.
Tarburton, Secretary of Agriculture, do hereby promulgate
the following rules and regulations governing the sale, use
and application of pesticides in Delaware.

Section 3 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in these

regulations, shall have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise.  All terms defined by the
Delaware Pesticides Law (3 Del.C., Part II, Chapter 12) are
hereby incorporated by reference in this regulation.

“Accident” means an unexpected, undesirable event
resulting in the presence of a pesticide that adversely affects
man or the environment.

“Brand” means any word, name, symbol, device, or any
combination thereof, which serves to distinguish a pesticide
product manufactured, distributed, sold, or offered for sale
by one person from that manufactured, distributed, sold, or
offered for sale by any other person.

“Certification” means the recognition by the
Department that a person has met the qualification standards
established under Section 8 or Section 9 of these regulations
and has been issued a written certificate from the
Department authorizing them to use pesticides for the
specified type(s) of pest control.

“Competent” means properly qualified to perform
functions associated with pesticide application, the degree of
capability required being directly related to the nature of the
activity and associated responsibility.

“Fumigant” means a gaseous or readily volatilizable
chemical (such as hydrogen cyanide or methyl bromide)
used as a pesticide.

“Fumigation” means the application of a fumigant to
one or more rooms in a structure, or to the entire structure, or
to a localized space within a structure or outside a structure,
such as a box car, aircraft, truck, ship or any object sealed or
covered.  Excluded is the use of a fumigant in or on the soil.

“Grade” means a formulation of a pesticide, except that
the addition of pigments solely for coloration shall not
constitute a change in formulation such as to constitute a
new grade requiring registration.

“Handle pesticides” means to mix, load, apply, or
dispose of pesticides.

“Hazardous waste” means a solid waste, or combination
of solid wastes, which because of its quantity, concentration,
physical, chemical, or infectious characteristics may cause or
significantly contribute to an increase in mortality or an
increase in serious irreversible, or incapacitating, irreversible

illness or poses a substantial present or potential hazard to
human health or the environment when improperly treated,
stored, transported or disposed of, or otherwise managed.
Without limitation, included within this definition are those
hazardous wastes listed in Section 261.31, 261.32 and
261.33 of the State of Delaware Hazardous Waste
Regulations and those solid wastes which otherwise exhibit
the characteristics of a hazardous waste as defined in Part
261 of the State of Delaware Hazardous Waste Regulations.

“LAW” means the Delaware Pesticide Law, 3 Del.C.,
Part II, Chapter 12.

“Regulated pest” means a specific organism considered
by the state or by a Federal Agency to be a pest requiring
regulatory restrictions, regulations or control procedures in
order to protect man or the environment.

“Service vehicle” means any vehicle used by a licensee
to transport pesticides for the purpose of their application.

Section 4 Registration
4.01 Product Registration

(a) Every pesticide which is distributed within the
State or delivered for transportation or transported in
intrastate commerce or between points within this State
through any point outside this State shall be registered with
the Secretary subject to the provisions of this law.  Such
registration shall be renewed annually prior to July 1;
provided, that r Registration is not required if a pesticide is
shipped from one plant or warehouse to another plant or
warehouse operated by the same person and used solely at
such plant or warehouse as a constituent part to make of a
pesticide which is registered under the provision of an
experimental use permit issued by the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency.

(b) The An applicant for registration for a pesticide
which is federally registered shall file a statement with the
Secretary which shall include:

(1) The name and address of the applicant and
the name and address of the person whose name will appear
on the label, if other than the applicant's.

(2) The name of the pesticide.
(3) Other necessary information required for

completion of the Department’s application for registration
form.

(4) A complete copy of the labeling
accompanying the pesticide and a statement of all claims to
be made for it, including the directions for use.

(5) The use classification as provided in the
"Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act", as
amended.

(6) The EPA product registration number.
(c) The applicant desiring to register a pesticide

shall pay an annual registration fee of twenty five dollars
($25.00) a biennial registration fee of seventy dollars
($70.00) to the Delaware Department of Agriculture for each
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brand or grade of pesticide to be registered for such
applicant.  All such registrations shall expire on June 30 of
any one year  continue in effect until June 30 of the year in
which they expire.   Applications received between January
1 and June 30 shall be registered for the upcoming two year
period Applications received between July 1 and December
31 will be registered for a two year period beginning July 1
of the year in which the application was received.

(d) Any registration approved by the Secretary and
in effect on June 30, for which a renewal application has
been made and the proper fee paid, shall continue in full
force and effect until suspended, or otherwise denied in
accordance with the provisions of Section 1205 of this law
the Law.  Forms for registration shall be mailed to registrants
at least forty-five days prior to the due date.

(e) If it appears to the Secretary that the
composition of the pesticide is such as to warrant the
proposed claims for it and if the pesticide and its labeling
and other material required to be submitted comply with the
requirements of this law these regulations, he shall register
the pesticide.    

(f) Pesticide products that are discontinued by a
registrant shall be registered for a period of two years.  Said
two year limit covers the year in which the item is declared
to be discontinued by the registrant and an additional year to
permit time to dispose of shelf stock.  Should the registrant
provide the Department with written notification that shelf
stocks of the product are depleted, the products shall be
exempt from the two year continued registration period.

4.02 Employee Registration
(a) Every licensee shall register with the

Department all employees who handle pesticides.
Registration shall be made when making an application for a
license or within 30 days after employment.  The fee for
registering each employee shall be $25.00.  However, the fee
shall be waived for any employee registration if that
employee is certified under the LAW. 

(b) Each licensee shall be responsible for insuring
that all employees handling pesticides (other than a certified
applicator) have successfully completed a training program
approved by the Department.  Such training shall be
completed within 30 days of employment and before the
employee is registered with the Department.

1. The Department will not approve any
training program that does not include the following
subjects:

(i) Pesticide Law and Regulations;
(ii) Label comprehension;
(iii) Safety and emergency procedures;
(iv) Proper pesticide handling, storage and

disposal;
(v) Pest identification and control

procedures;
(vi) Pesticide application techniques;

(vii)Environmental and health concerns;
and

(viii)Integrated pest management
principles

2. Upon request by the Department, each
licensee shall provide written verification that an employee
has completed an approved training program.

(c) The name and address of each such employee
shall be provided to the Department by the licensee. The
Department shall issue a registration card to those registered.
This registration card shall bear the name and license
number of the employee and shall become null and void
upon termination of employment with the licensee. This card
is to be carried by the employee during working hours and is
to be displayed upon request.

(d) Written notification of employment
termination of this registered employee with the licensee
shall be made to the Department within 30 days subsequent
to termination.

(e) The Department, after due notice, and
opportunity for a hearing may deny, suspend or revoke an
employee registration, if the Department finds the registered
employee has committed any violations of the LAW.

(f) The Department, after due notice and
opportunity for a hearing, may deny an application for
employee registration, if the applicant has committed any
violations under the LAW.

Section 5Licensing
5.01 Applicants for a business license shall

complete a signed and notarized application form prescribed
by the Department.

5.01 5.02 All business licensee applicants shall pay
an annual fee of $50.00, or a biennial fee of $100.00.

5.03 No license shall be issued to any person, nor
shall it remain valid, unless such person is certified or has a
certified applicator in his employ at all times.

5.04 For applicants or holders of a license in
categories 7.01(a), 7.02, or 7.07(a-c), at least one person
designated as a certified applicator under the license shall
meet the experience requirement of §1207(c)(1) of the Law.

5.02 5.05 All pest control business license numbers
shall appear on all service vehicles used by persons holding a
commercial pesticide applicators license excluding except:
7.01(a) Agriculture Plant Pest Control; 7.01(b) Agriculture
Animal Pest Control; 7.02 Forest Pest Control; 7.04 Seed
Treatment; 7.05 Aquatic Pest Control; 7.08 Public Health
Pest Control; 7.09 Regulatory Pest Control; 7.10
Demonstration and Research Pest Control.  The license
number shall be in bold readable numbers not less than 2
inches or more than 6 inches high. The full name of the
business licensee shall be displayed on the vehicle.
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Section 6 Restricted Use Pesticides Classification
6.01 Restricted use pesticides shall be classified in

the State of Delaware to conform to the current listing of
pesticides classified by the EPA as Federally registered use
products.

Section 7 Categorization of Commercial Applicators
Categories and subcategories of applicators (other than

private applicators) who use or supervise the use of
pesticides are identified below.

7.01 Agricultural Pest Control Category
(a) Agricultural Plant - This subcategory includes

commercial applicators using or supervising the use of
pesticides in the production of agricultural crops, including
without limiting the following:  feed grains, soybeans,
forage, vegetables, small fruits and tree fruits; as well as on
grasslands and non-crop agricultural lands.

(b) Agricultural Animal - This subcategory
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use
of pesticides on swine, sheep, horses,  goats, poultry and
livestock, and to places on or in which animals are confined.
Doctors of Veterinary Medicine engaged in the business of
applying pesticides for hire, or publicly holding themselves
out as pesticide applicators or engaged in large scale use are
included in this category.

(c) Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural Products -
This subcategory includes commercial applicators using or
supervising the use of pesticides for soil fumigation in the
production of an agricultural commodity and/or for
fumigation of agricultural products in storage or transit.

7.02 Forest Pest Control Category
This category includes commercial applicators

using or supervising the use of pesticides in forests, forest
nurseries, and forest seed producing areas.

7.03 Ornamental and Turf Pest Control Category
This category includes commercial applicators

using or supervising the use of pesticides to control pests in
the maintenance and production of ornamental trees, shrubs,
flowers and turf.

7.04 Seed Treatment Category
This category includes commercial applicators

using or supervising use of pesticides on seeds.
7.05 Aquatic Pest Control Category

(a) Aquatic Weed - This subcategory includes
commercial applicators using or supervising the use of any
pesticide purposefully applied to standing or running water,
excluding applicators engaged in public health related
activities.

(b) Antifouling Paint - This subcategory includes
commercial applicators using or supervising the use of any
anti-fouling paints for the protection of boat hulls.  This
subcategory also includes applicators using or supervising
the use of anti-fouling paints on containers which they sell,
lease, or use for the purpose of harvesting shellfish.

(c) Mosquito Control - This subcategory includes
applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides for the
management and control of mosquitoes.

7.06 Right-of-Way Pest Control Category
This category includes commercial applicators

using or supervising the use of pesticides in the maintenance
of  roads, electric power lines, pipelines, railway rights-of-
way or similar areas.

7.07 Industrial, Institutional, Structural and Health
Related Pest Control Category

This category includes commercial applicators
using or supervising the use of pesticides in, on, or around
food handling establishments, including warehouses and
grain elevators, and any other structures and adjacent areas,
public or private; human dwellings, institutions, such as
schools and hospitals, industrial establishments; and for the
protection of stored, processed or manufactured products.
This category contains the following subcategories:

(a) General Pest Control  -  This subcategory
includes commercial applicators who use or supervise the
use of pesticides to control household pests, including pests
that infest structures, stored products, and residential food
preparation areas, and pests that infest or contaminate food
and any stage of processing in food processing facilities.
This includes treatment of food processing areas and control
of vertebrate structural invaders. This category does not
include control of wood-destroying pests, or the use of
fumigants.

(b) Wood Destroying Pest Control  -  This
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or
supervising the use of pesticides, other than fumigants, in or
around structures for the prevention, suppression, or control
of wood destroying organisms.

(c) Fumigation Pest Control (non-agricultural) -
This subcategory includes commercial applicators using or
supervising the use of fumigant pesticides to control pests in
structures other than soils and agricultural products/
commodities.

(d) Wood Preservatives - This subcategory
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use
of pesticides for the preservation of wood or wood products.
This would include, but not be limited to, the pressure
treatments, non-pressure treatments, or brush-on
applications with wood preservatives. Commercial
applicators certified in another category of pest control and
who use or supervise the use of wood preservatives on an
incidental basis may apply these products under their current
certification.  Private applicators using wood preservative
products for purposes related to agricultural production may
also apply wood preservatives under their current
certification.

(e) Institutional and Maintenance Pest Control -
Except as otherwise provided in these regulations, this
subcategory includes any individual using pesticides on a
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property they own, or are employed or otherwise engaged to
maintain, including but not limited to janitors, general
maintenance personnel, sanitation personnel, and grounds
maintenance personnel.  This subcategory does not include
private applicators as defined in Section 9 below, individuals
who use anti-microbial pesticides, or individuals who use
pesticides which are not classified as “restricted use
pesticides” in or around their dwelling.

(f) Cooling Tower Pest Control  -  This
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or
supervising the use of pesticides to control microbial and
other pests in cooling towers or related areas.

(g) Miscellaneous Pest Control - This subcategory
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use
of pesticides in a category not previously covered in these
regulations.

7.08 Public Health Pest Control Category
This category includes, but is not limited to, State,

Federal and other governmental employees who use or
supervise the use of pesticides in public health programs for
the management and control of pests having medical or
public health importance.

7.09 Regulatory Pest Control Category
This category includes State, Federal and other

governmental employees who use or supervise the use of
restricted use pesticides in the control of regulated pests.

7.10 Demonstration and Research Pest Control
Category

This category includes:
(a) Individuals who demonstrate to the public the

proper use and technique of application of a restricted use
pesticide or supervises such demonstrations, and/or

(b) Persons conducting field research with
pesticides, and in doing so, use or supervise the use of
restricted use pesticides.  Included in the first group are such
persons as extension specialists and county agents,
commercial representatives demonstrating pesticide
products, and those individuals demonstrating methods used
in public programs. The second group includes State,
Federal, commercial and other persons conducting field
research when utilizing pesticides.

Section 8 Standards for Certification of Commercial
Applicators

8.01 Determination of Competency
(a) Competence in the use and handling of

pesticides shall be determined on the basis of written
examinations, and, as appropriate, performance testing,
based upon standards set forth below and which are
approved by the Secretary. Such examination and testing
shall include the general standards applicable to all
categories and the additional standards specifically identified
for each category or subcategory (if any) in which an
applicator is to be certified.  All examinations shall be

administered as closed book examinations.
(b) Applicants for examination shall register at

least one (1) week before the scheduled examination date.
(c) Exams shall be scheduled quarterly during the

calendar year and shall be given at such times and places as
the Secretary may direct.

(d) Correctly answering 70% or more of the
questions shall be considered to be satisfactory evidence of
competence.

(e) Failure to answer at least 70% of the questions
correctly shall be grounds for denial of certification.
Applicant may apply for one (1) reexamination scheduled at
least thirty (30) days after their initial examination. No
person shall be permitted to be examined in the same
category or subcategory more than twice in any twelve (12)
month period.

8.02 General Standards for All Categories of
Certified Commercial Applicators

All commercial applicators shall demonstrate
practical knowledge of the principles and practices of pest
control and safe use of pesticides.  Testing shall be based on
examples of problems and situations appropriate to the
particular category or subcategory of the applicator's
certification and the following areas of competency:

(a) Label & Labeling Comprehension
(1) The general format and terminology of

pesticide labels and labeling; 
(2) The understanding of instructions,

warnings, terms, symbols, and other information commonly
appearing on pesticide labels;

(3) Classification of the product, general or
restricted; and the necessity for use consistent with the label.

(b) Safety
(1) Pesticides toxicity and hazard to man and

common exposure routes; 
(2) Common types and causes of pesticides

accidents;
(3) Precautions necessary to guard against

injury to applicators and other individuals in or near treated
area; 

(4) Need for and use of protective clothing
and equipment; 

(5) Symptoms of pesticide poisoning;
(6) First aid and other procedures to be

followed in case of a pesticide accident; and 
(7) Proper identification, storage, transport,

handling, mixing procedures and disposal methods for
pesticides and used pesticide containers, including
precautions to be taken to prevent children from having
access to pesticides and pesticide containers.

(c) Environment
The potential environmental consequences of

the use and misuse of pesticides as may be influenced by
such factors as:
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(1) Weather and other climatic conditions;
(2) Types of terrain, soil or other substrate;
(3) Presence of fish, wildlife and other non-

target organisms; and     
(4) Drainage patterns.

(d) Pests
Factors such as:
(1) Common features of pest organism and

characteristics of damage needed for pest recognition; 
(2) Recognition of relevant pests; and
(3) Pest development and biology as it may be

relevant to problem identification and control.
(e) Pesticides

Factors such as:
(1) Types of pesticides;
(2) Types of formulations;
(3) Compatibility, synergism, persistence and

animal and plant toxicity of the formulations;
(4) Hazards and residues associated with use;
(5) Factors which influence effectiveness or

lead to such problems as resistance to pesticides; and,
(6) Dilution procedures.

(f) Equipment
Factors including:
(1) Types of equipment and advantages and

limitations of each type; and 
(2) Uses, maintenance and calibration.

(g) Application Techniques
Factors including:
(1) Methods or procedures used to apply

various formulations of pesticides, solutions, and gases,
together with a knowledge of which technique of application
to use in a given situation; 

(2) Relationship of discharge and placement
of pesticides to proper use, unnecessary use, and misuse; and 

(3) Prevention of drift and pesticide loss into
the environment.

(h) Laws and Regulations
Factors including:
Applicable State and Federal laws and

regulations.
8.03 Specific Standards for Competency for Each

Category of Commercial Applicators
Some of the factors referenced in this section are of

particular importance because of the different types of
activities carried out by the applicators in each category.  For
example, practical knowledge of drift problems should be
required of agricultural applicators but not seed treatment
applicators.  The latter, however, should be particularly
knowledgeable of the hazards of the misuse of treated seed
and the necessary precautionary techniques.  Commercial
applicators in each category shall be particularly qualified
with respect to the practical knowledge standards elaborated
below.

(a) Agricultural Pest Control Category
(1) Agricultural Plant Pest Control

Subcategory
Applicators must demonstrate practical

knowledge of crops grown and the specific pests of those
crops on which they may be using restricted use pesticides.
The importance of such competency is amplified by the
extensive areas involved, the quantities of pesticides needed,
and the ultimate use of many commodities as food and feed.
Practical knowledge is required concerning soil and water
problems, pre-harvest intervals, re-entry intervals,
phytotoxicity, and potential for environmental
contamination, non-target injury and community problems
resulting from the use of restricted use pesticides in
agricultural areas.

(2) Agricultural Animal Pest Control
Subcategory

Applicators applying pesticides directly to
animals must demonstrate practical knowledge of such
animals and their associated pests.  A practical knowledge is
also required concerning specific pesticide toxicity and
residue potential, since host animals will frequently be used
for food.  Further, the applicator must know the relative
hazards associated with such factors as formulation,
application techniques, age of animals, stress and extent of
treatment.

(3) Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural
Products Subcategory

Applicators must demonstrate knowledge of
application techniques appropriate to soil fumigation and
agricultural product fumigation.  This includes the use of
personal protective clothing and equipment, and general
safety procedures such as posting, reentry, aeration, and
accident procedures.

(b) Forest Pest Control Category
Applicators shall demonstrate practical

knowledge of types of forests, forest nurseries, and forest
seed production in Delaware and the pests involved.  They
should possess practical knowledge of the cyclic occurrence
of certain pests and specific population dynamics as a basis
for programming pesticide applications.  A practical
knowledge is required of the relative biotic agents and their
vulnerability to the pesticides to be applied. Because forest
stands may be large and frequently  include natural aquatic
habitats and harbor wildlife, the consequences of pesticide
use may be difficult to assess.  The applicator must,
therefore, demonstrate practical knowledge of control
methods which will minimize the possibility of secondary
problems such as unintended effects on wildlife.  Proper use
of specialized equipment must be demonstrated, especially
as it may relate to meteorological factors and adjacent land
use.

(c) Ornamental and Turf Pest Control Category
Applicators shall demonstrate knowledge of
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pesticide problems associated with the production and
maintenance of ornamental trees, shrubs, plantings, and turf,
including cognizance of phytotoxicity due to a wide variety
of plant material, drift, and persistence beyond the intended
period of pest  control.  Because of the frequent proximity of
human habitations to application activities, applicators in
this category must demonstrate practical knowledge of
application methods which will minimize or prevent hazards
to humans, pets, and other domestic animals.

(d) Seed Treatment Category
Applicators shall demonstrate practical

knowledge of types of seeds that require chemical protection
against pests and factors such as seed coloration, carriers,
and surface active agents which influence pesticide binding
and may affect germination.  They must demonstrate
practical knowledge of hazards associated with handling,
sorting and mixing, and misuse of treated seed such as
introduction of treated seed into food and feed channels, as
well as proper disposal of unused treated seeds.

(e) Aquatic Pest Control Category
(1) Aquatic Weed - Applicators shall

demonstrate practical knowledge of the secondary effects
which can be caused by improper application rates, incorrect
formulations, and faulty application of pesticides used in this
subcategory.  Further, they must have practical knowledge
concerning potential pesticide effects on plants, fish, birds,
beneficial insects and other organisms which may be present
in aquatic environments. These applicators shall also
demonstrate practical knowledge of the principles of limited
area application.

(2) Antifouling Paint - Applicators in this
subcategory shall demonstrate practical knowledge of the
labeling instructions, safety precautions and environmental
concerns associated with the use of marine anti-fouling
paints.  They shall demonstrate practical knowledge of the
term “acceptable release rate” as it applies to organotin
paints; knowledge of the types of paints approved for
specific hull types; knowledge of the types of anti-fouling
paints approved for use on equipment or containers used for
the harvesting of shellfish; knowledge of potential
environmental consequences from the use/misuse or
improper disposal of pesticides; safety precautions necessary
to avoid exposure of workers to anti-fouling paints; proper
storage, handling, and disposal methods of paint chips and
dusts suspected of containing organotin compounds; marine
pests and relevant life cycles which are controlled through
the application of anti-fouling paints; methods, procedures,
and equipment used in applying organotin and anti-fouling
paints; applicable State and Federal laws and regulations;
and recordkeeping requirements under the Delaware
Pesticide Law.

(3) Mosquito Control - Applicators shall
demonstrate a practical knowledge of the principles
associated with the management of mosquitoes, including all

of the following: their life cycle; types of formulations
appropriate for their management; methods of application;
possible effects on water quality; and, the potential health
effects on humans in the target area.

(f) Right-of-way Pest Control Category
Applicators shall demonstrate a practical

knowledge of a wide variety of environments, since right-of-
ways can traverse many different terrains, including
waterways.  They shall demonstrate practical knowledge of
problems on runoff, drift, and excessive foliage destruction
and ability to recognize target organisms. They shall also
demonstrate practical knowledge of the nature of herbicides
and the need for containment of these pesticides within the
right-of-way area, and the impact of their application
activities in the adjacent areas and communities.

(g) Industrial, Institutional, Structural and Health
Related Pest Control Category

Applicators in this category must demonstrate
a practical knowledge of a wide variety of pests including
their life cycles, types of formulation appropriate for their
control, and methods of  application that avoid
contamination of food, contamination of habitat, and  the
exposure of people and pets.  Since human exposure,
including babies, children, pregnant women, and elderly
people, is frequently a potential problem, applicators must
demonstrate practical knowledge of the specific factors
which may lead to a hazardous condition including
continuous exposure.  Because health related pest control
may involve outdoor applications, applicators must also
demonstrate practical knowledge of environmental
conditions particularly related to this activity.

(1) General Pest Control Subcategory
Applicators must demonstrate knowledge

of household pests including but not limited to: pests that
invade or infest structures, stored products, and residential
food preparation areas;  pests that infest or contaminate
foods and foodstuffs at any stage of processing in the food
manufacturing and processing areas of operation including
but not limited to:  flour mills, bakeries, bottling plants,
dairies, canneries, meat packing plants, supermarkets,
convenience stores, rest homes, hospitals, ships, vehicles,
restaurants, cafeterias, and snack bars; conditions conducive
to infestations and selection of appropriate control
procedures, other than fumigation for each situation; and
hazards associated with pesticides in food manufacturing
and processing. 

(2) Wood Destroying Pest Control
Subcategory

Applicators must demonstrate knowledge
of organisms that destroy structures made of wood including
but not limited to beetles, termites and fungi, and conditions
conducive to infestation; selection, calibration, and use of
appropriate control procedures and their related equipment
including:  rodding and trenching, topical application of
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pesticides and local injection of specially labeled liquid or
pressurized aerosol pesticides into infested wood; hazards
involved in the handling and use of these pesticides.

(3) Fumigation (Non-agricultural) Subcategory
Applicators must demonstrate a practical

knowledge of the conditions requiring the application of
fumigants, and the selection of the most appropriate
fumigation methods to use; equipment used in fumigation
including but not limited to application, monitoring, testing,
calculating, and personal protective devices; release,
distribution, and maintenance of the correct fumigant
concentrations for the product being used and the structure
being fumigated under differing conditions; and hazards
involved in the use of fumigants.

(4) Wood Preservative Subcategory
Applicators must demonstrate a practical

knowledge of the pests involved with wood products,
including their life cycles, wood degradation, the pesticides
available for controlling such problems, and methods of
application including pressure, non-pressure and brush-on
treatments.  Since there is concern regarding the potential for
environmental contamination as well as acute and chronic
health problems from applicator exposure when using
certain woodtreating pesticides, specific emphasis will be
placed upon demonstrating a practical knowledge of the
product use, precautions    which are required and found on
the labels and labeling of these pesticides and include
protective clothing and equipment, sanitation procedures,
disposal procedures and environmental precautions.  Since
treated wood products present potential environmental
problems and acute and chronic exposure problems to the
users and the general public, whether or not they come into
direct contact with the treated wood, applicators must
demonstrate a practical knowledge of the consumer
information covering use, site, and handling precautions
which are found in the Consumer Information Sheets of
products registered for pressure treatment and in the labeling
for products registered for sap and stain control, ground line
treatment of utility poles, and home and farm use (including
railroad tie repair).   

(5) Institutional and Maintenance
Subcategory - Applicators in this subcategory must
demonstrate a practical knowledge of a wide variety of pests
for the purpose of providing structural pest control or lawn
pest control in and around schools, hospitals, nursing homes,
child day-care centers, and apartment buildings. Since
children and elderly people have a potentially higher
sensitivity to pesticides, applicators in this subcategory
should be particularly knowledgeable in avoiding
applications which may lead to a hazardous condition,
including continuous exposure.

(6) Cooling Tower Subcategory - Applicators
shall demonstrate a practical knowledge of the labeling
instructions, safety precautions and environmental concerns

associated with the use of pesticides to treat the waters of
cooling towers.  They must demonstrate an understanding of
the following: the effects of tower operation upon cooling
water composition; the importance and potential harm of
discharge of exhaust water into environment waters, the
steps that can be taken to minimize water-caused problems,
the importance of diligence and control in the execution of
cooling water treatment programs.

(7) Miscellaneous Subcategory – Applicator
must demonstrate knowledge appropriate to their specific
field of pest control.

(h) Public Health Pest Control Category
Applicators shall demonstrate practical

knowledge of vector-disease transmission as it relates to and
influences application programs.  A wide variety of pests are
involved, and it is essential that they be known and
recognized, and appropriate life cycles and habitats be
understood as a basis for control strategy.  These applicators
shall have practical knowledge of a great variety of
environments ranging from streams to those conditions
found in buildings. They should also have practical
knowledge of the importance and employment of such non-
chemical control methods as sanitation, waste disposal, and
drainage.

(i) Regulatory Pest Control Category
Applicators shall demonstrate practical

knowledge of regulated pests, applicable laws relating to
quarantine and other regulation of pests, and the potential
impact on the environment of restricted use of pesticides
used in suppression and eradication programs.  They shall
demonstrate knowledge of factors influencing introduction,
spread, and population dynamics of relevant pests.  Their
knowledge shall extend beyond that required by their
immediate duties, since their services are frequently required
in other areas where emergency measures are invoked to
control regulated pests  and where individual judgments
must be made in new situations.

(j) Demonstration and Research Pest Control
Category

Persons demonstrating the safe and effective
use of pesticides to other applicators and the public will be
expected to meet comprehensive standards reflecting a broad
spectrum of pesticides uses.  Many different pest problem
situations will be encountered in the course of activities
associated with demonstration, and practical knowledge of
problems, pests, and population levels occurring in each
demonstration situation is required.  Further, they should
demonstrate an understanding of pesticide - organism
interactions and the importance of integrating pesticide use
with other control methods.  In general, it would be expected
that applicators doing demonstration pest control work
possess a practical knowledge of all of the standards detailed
in section 8.02 above.  In addition, they shall meet the
specific standards required for categories (1) through (7) of
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this section as may be applicable to their particular activity.
Persons conducting field research or method

improvement work with restricted use pesticides should  be
expected to know the general standards detailed in 8.02
above.  In addition, they shall be expected  to know the
specific standards required for paragraph 8.03 (l) through (9)
of this section, applicable to their particular activity, or
alternatively, to meet the more inclusive requirements listed
under “Demonstration".

8.04 Certification Fees and Renewal
(a) Certification Fees

(1) Commercial applicators shall pay an
annual certification fee of $20.00.  All certifications shall
continue in full force until December 31st of each year
whereupon they shall become invalid unless renewed, except
that a certification for which a renewal application has been
submitted to the Department by November 30th, shall
remain in full force and effect until such time as the
Department gives notice to the applicant of renewal or
denial.  Applications for renewal shall be mailed to all
certified applicators by the Department before October 1st of
each year.

(2) Federal, State or Local government
employees who are certified under this law are exempt from
this fee.  This exemption shall remain valid only when
applying or supervising the application of pesticides for such
governmental agencies.

(b) Certification Renewal
(1) Commercial Applicators

(i) Commercial applicators shall be
required to be reexamined through a written test prior to their
annual certification renewal.

(ii) The reexamination requirement may
be satisfied without taking a test, if the commercial
applicator provides the Department with evidence that he has
completed a specified minimum number of hours attending
approved education courses, seminars or programs during
the three calendar years preceding certification renewal.  The
specified number of hours for each category are listed in
paragraph 8.04 (b)(1)(iv) below. This exemption from
reexamination does not apply to a person holding a lapsed
certificate, as described in paragraph 8.04 (b)(3) below.

(iii) A commercial applicator shall be
exempt from the reexamination requirement for the first two
certification renewals following his original certification in
Delaware.

(iv) The number of hours of training
required to fulfill paragraph 8.04 (b)(1)(ii) are specified as
follows:

Category of Pest Control Hours
Agricultural Plant (1A) 8
Agricultural Animal (1B) 4
Fumigation of Soils and
  Agricultural Commodities (1C) 4

Forest (02) 4
Ornamental & Turf (03) 8
Seed Treatment (04) 2
Aquatic (5A) 4
Antifouling Paint (5B) 2
Mosquito (5C) 4
Right-of-Way (06)     4
Industrial, Institutional, Structural
  & Health Related (07)
  General Pest Control (7A) 18
  Wood Destroying Pest Control  (7B)  18
  Fumigation Pest Control
   (non-agricultural) (7C) 4
  Wood Preservatives (7D) 4
  Institutional and Maintenance (7E)18
  Cooling Towers (7F) 4
  Miscellaneous (7G) 4
Public Health (08) 4
Regulatory (09) 4
Demonstration & Research (10) 8

(2) Private Applicators
(i) A private applicator's certification

shall continue in full force until December 31st of the third
year following his original certification.

(ii) A private applicator shall be required
to be reexamined prior to certification renewal.

(iii) The reexamination requirement may
be satisfied without taking a test, if the applicator provides
the Department with evidence that he has attended a
minimum of three (3) hours of approved education courses,
seminars or programs during the three (3) calendar years
preceding certification renewal.

(3) Expiration
(i) A certificate shall have a ninety (90)

day grace period after the date of expiration.  When the grace
period expires, the certificate shall be considered to have
lapsed.

(ii) A person holding a lapsed certificate
must be examined as described by paragraph 8.01, in order
to receive a new certificate.

(iii) An applicator is not imparted the right
to purchase, use or supervise the use of a restricted use
pesticide during the ninety (90) day grace period following
the expiration date on his certificate.

8.05 EXEMPTIONS
The above standards do not apply to the

following persons for the purposes of these regulations:
(a) Persons conducting laboratory type research

involving restricted use pesticides; and
(b) Doctors of Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathy,

and Doctors of Veterinary Medicine applying pesticides as
drugs or medication during the course of their normal
practice.

(c) Owners and employees of any child day-care
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center which is operated within a private home.

Section 9Standards for Certification of Private Applicators
9.01 As a minimum requirement for certification, a

private applicator must show that he possesses a practical
knowledge of the pest problem and pest control practices
associated with his agricultural operations and his related
legal responsibility.  This practical knowledge includes
ability to:

(a) Recognize common pests to be controlled and
damage caused by them.

(b) Read and understand the label and labeling
information - including the common name of pesticides he
applies; pest(s) to be controlled, timing and methods of
application; safety precautions; any pre-harvest or re-entry
restrictions; and specific disposal procedures.

(c) Apply pesticides in accordance with label
instructions and warnings, including the ability to prepare
the proper concentration of pesticide to be used under
particular circumstances taking into account such factors as
area to be covered, speed at which application equipment
will be driven, and the quantity dispersed in a given period
of operation.

(d) Recognize local environmental situations that
must be considered during application to avoid
contamination.

(e) Recognize poisoning symptoms and
procedures to follow in case of a pesticide accident.

9.02 Such competence of each private applicator
shall be verified through the administration of a private
applicator certification system here described which ensures
that the private applicator is competent, based upon the
standards set forth above, to use the restricted use pesticides
under limitations of applicable State and Federal laws and
regulations.  One or more of the following options will be
employed to certify private applicators:

(a) General Certification
This option certifies the private applicator as

competent to apply any restricted use pesticide which he
would normally expect to use in his particular agricultural
operations.  Competency determination shall reflect all
aspects of the private applicator standards and shall be broad
enough to test the private applicator's ability to apply general
principles to specific problems associated with the restricted
use pesticides required for the production and protection of
his crops.

(b) Pesticide Class Certification
This option certifies the private applicator as

competent to apply any restricted use pesticide products and
all different formulations of a pesticide used for the same
purpose, use, or application. Examples  include, but are not
limited to, preemergence herbicides for vegetable crops,
foliar insecticides on corn, rodenticides in fruit orchards,
nematicides in fields prior to planting, ground application of

fungicides on vegetables, seed treatments for plant diseases,
and livestock dips for insect control.

Competency determination shall reflect the full
range of the private applicator standards, but with special
emphasis placed on the particular characteristics of the
pesticide class, as well as the nature of  the application or
use.

(c) Commodity/Crop/Site Certification
This option certifies the private applicator as

competent to apply any restricted use pesticide needed for
specific crops or sites which the applicator would be
expected to deal with in his agricultural operations.  This
would include any pesticide products (different pesticide
classes, active ingredients, and formulations) used on a
specific line or class designation.  Examples include:  single
crop such as corn, apples, or wheat; single site class such as
poultry houses or dairy barns; single livestock line, such as
beef cattle, swine, or turkeys; crop classes such as forage
crops or small fruits, site class such as barns or greenhouses;
and livestock class such as poultry.

Competency determination shall reflect the full
range of the private applicator standards, with emphasis
placed on the particular characteristics of the specific crop or
site, or crop/site class concerned and the pests involved.

A private applicator may wish to be certified
for a specific crop or site (such as corn or beef cattle) or for a
crop or site class (such as forage crops, livestock, small grain
crops).

(d) Single Product Certification
This option certifies as competent the private

applicator for one or more uses of a single product or related
products with the same active ingredient and with a similar
formulation and uses.  Competency determination shall
reflect all appropriate uses of these products for the
agricultural area where he will be expected to make pesticide
application.

(e) Single Products/Single Use Authorization
(Emergency Program)

This option would authorize the private
applicator to make single use application(s) of a restricted
use  product (or other products of the same formulation).
This option will be used only as an emergency provision to
accommodate situations such as an unexpected pest problem
that requires immediate certification of a previously
uncertified private applicator or one whose particular type of
certification would not cover the product needed to deal with
the problem.

9.03 Determination of Competency for Private
Applicators

(a) Competence in the use and handling of
pesticides by private applicators shall be determined by
written examinations with questions based upon study
materials made available by the Department.  Correctly
answering 70% or more of the questions shall be considered
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to be satisfactory evidence of competence.
(b) Failure to answer at least 70% of the questions

correctly shall be grounds for denial of certification.  The
applicant may apply for reexamination, which shall be
scheduled by the Department at least 30 days after the
applicant’s initial examination.

(c) Upon showing of hardship, an applicant for
private applicator certification may appeal to the Secretary
for an exception to paragraphs 9.03 (a) and (b).  At his
discretion, the Secretary may provide for an alternative
means of examination, to include but not be limited to oral
examination.  Oral examinations shall cover the same
material included in the written examination.

Section 10  Standards for Supervision of Non-certified
Applicators by Certified Private and Commercial
Applicators

10.01 Certified applicators whose activities indicate a
supervisory role must demonstrate a practical knowledge of
federal and state supervisory requirements, including
labeling, regarding the application of restricted use
pesticides by non-certified applicators.

10.02 The availability of the certified applicator must
be directly related to the hazard of the situation, the
complexity of the application or the ability to readily
communicate with the non-certified applicator.  In many
situations, where the certified applicator is not required to be
physically present, "direct supervision" shall include
verifiable instructions to the competent person, as follows:

(a) Detailed guidance for applying the pesticide
properly, and

(b) Provisions for contacting the certified
applicator in the event he is needed.  In other situations, and
as required by the label, the actual physical presence of a
certified applicator may be required when  application is
made by a non-certified applicator.

Section 11    Federal Agency Pesticide Applicators
11.01 When an employee of any agency of the United

States Government has been qualified in any category as
competent to apply restricted use pesticides under the
Government Agency Plan (GAP) or under other plans
judged by the Secretary to be at least equal to the Delaware
Plan, such employee will be certified by the Secretary in the
same category without the need for a written examination
nor for the payment of any fee.

11.02 Federal employees qualified under an
acceptable Federal Plan to apply restricted use pesticides and
who intend to apply restricted use pesticides in Delaware as
a part of their agency work shall present their qualifying
documents to the Secretary and, if acceptable, these
documents will be endorsed or a state document will be
issued which will permit the federal employee to use
restricted use pesticides in Delaware.

11.03 If, in an emergency situation, federal
employees are brought into Delaware to control or eradicate
pests and when these employees have been properly
qualified to use restricted use pesticides under the plan of
another state or under an acceptable federal government
agency plan, such employee shall be considered to be
certified in Delaware and he or his agency must, within 10
days, present qualifying credentials to the Secretary.  At this
time state credentials will be issued if the employee is to
remain in Delaware as an applicator of restricted use
pesticides.

11.04 The provisions of this section do not apply to
non-federal employees contracted to perform pesticide
application for the federal government.  In an emergency,
however, and with the concurrence of the Secretary, a non-
certified person may apply pesticides under the direct
supervision of a properly certified federal applicator. Within
10 days such person working within the state boundaries
must apply for Delaware certification in the normal manner.

Section 12    Reciprocity
12.01 When a commercial applicator is certified

under the state plan of another state and desires to operate as
a commercial applicator in Delaware he shall make
application to the Secretary and shall include, along with the
proper fee and other details required by the LAW, a true
copy of his credentials certifying him as an applicator of
restricted use pesticides in another state.  The Secretary then
may, if he approves the credentials, issue a Delaware
certification to the applicator in the appropriate classification
and/or category(ies) for which he is certified in another state
without a written examination.  The original certification
must be made in the state where the commercial applicator
resides or where he has his principle place of business.

Section 13   Revocation
13.01 The Department, after due notice and

opportunity for a hearing, may deny, suspend, revoke or
modify any application for or provision of any certification,
including reciprocal certification, under the LAW if the
Department finds that the Certified Applicator or the
applicant for Certification has committed any act or acts
declared by the Law or these regulations to be unlawful.

Section 14  Records
14.01 Commercial Applicators

Commercial applicators shall, for a period of two
years from the date of application, keep records detailing the
application of any pesticides to include:

(a) The brand name of the pesticide used.  In the
case of a Restricted Use Pesticide or a pesticide which is
used under the provisions of 40 Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 170, Worker Protection Standards, the
EPA Registration Number shall also be recorded at or before
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the time of application.
(b) When applicable, the dilution rate of the

pesticide and the amount of diluted material applied per unit
(i.e. gallons/acre, lbs./acre, etc.)

(c) The date and specific area treated.
(d) The pest against which the pesticide was used.
(e) The applicator's name, and when applicable,

the name of the certified applicator responsible for his
supervision.

(f) When label directions advise precaution in
regard to drift, on-site weather conditions to include:

(i) Wind velocity and direction
(ii) Temperature
(iii) Relative humidity

(g) In addition to the above record keeping
requirements, the applicator shall have available at the site of
application, a copy of the label of the pesticide being used.
Upon request, the applicator shall provide any interested
person at or adjacent to the application site, with any
information contained on the pesticide label.

14.02 Restricted Use Pesticides Dealers
Restricted use pesticide dealers shall keep and

maintain for a period of two years, records on the sale or
other disposition of restricted use pesticides to include the
following:

(a) The name and address of the residence or
principal place of business of the certified applicator to
whom the pesticide is made available for use.

(b) The certification identification number of the
purchaser or receiver of the pesticide on the document.

(c) The product name and E.P.A. registration
number on the label of the pesticide.

(d) The quantity of the pesticide made available
for use in the transaction.

(e) Date of the sale or transaction.

Section 15   Financial Security Required of Licensee
15.01 The Secretary shall not issue a license until the

applicant has filed evidence of financial security with the
Secretary.  Such evidence shall consist of a general liability
insurance policy with completed operation coverage or
certification thereof from an insurance company, person, or
risk retention group formed under the Federal Risk Act of
1986, authorized to do business in Delaware.

(a) Agriculture
(1) Plant Pest Control

An applicant for certification in this
category shall file evidence of financial security in the
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(2) Agriculture Animal Pest Control
An applicant for certification in this

category shall file evidence of financial security in the
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(b) Forest Pest Control
An applicant for certification in this category

shall file evidence of financial security in the minimum
amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for
bodily injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(c) Ornamental and Turf Pest Control
An applicant for certification in this category

shall file evidence of financial security in the minimum
amount of  Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for
bodily injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(d) Seed Treatment
An applicant for certification in this category

shall file evidence of financial security in the minimum
amount of  Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for
bodily injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(e) Aquatic Pest Control
An applicant for certification in this category

shall file evidence of financial security in the minimum
amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for
bodily injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(f) Right-of-way Pest Control
An applicant for certification in this category

shall file evidence of financial security in the minimum
amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for
bodily injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

(g) Industrial, Institutional, Structural and Health
Related Pest Control

An applicant for certification in this category
shall file evidence of financial security in the minimum
amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for
bodily injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.02 Aerial Applicators
Aerial applicators applying for a license in any

of the above categories or subcategories shall show evidence
of  financial security in the minimum of One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for each individual damage
and Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) for bodily
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injury or death for each occurrence and One Hundred
Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage resulting
from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.03 Nothing to these regulations shall be construed
in any way to relieve any person from liability for any
damage to the person or lands of another caused by the use
of pesticides even though such use conforms to the rules and
regulations of the Secretary.

Section 16   Storing and Disposal of Pesticides and Pesticide
Containers

16.01 Prohibited Acts
No person shall dispose of or store (or receive

for disposal or storage) any pesticide, pesticide container or
pesticide container residue:

(a) In a manner inconsistent with its label or
labeling;

(b) So as to cause or allow the open dumping of
pesticides or pesticide containers;

(c) So as to cause or allow open burning of
pesticide or pesticide containers, except; the open burning by
the user of small quantities of combustible containers (but
not to exceed 50 lbs.) containing pesticides other than those
containing organic mercury, chlorates, lead, cadmium, or
arsenic compounds, is acceptable when allowed by state or
local regulations and when due regard is given to wind
direction in relation to the protection of crops, animals and
people from the pesticide vapors created through burning;

(d) So as to cause or allow dumping of pesticides
in any stream, river, pond, sewer or lake, except in
conformance with permits issued by the Delaware
Department of Agriculture or other state agency having
jurisdiction regarding water pollution;

(e) So as to violate any applicable state or federal
pollution control standard.

16.02 Pesticide and Pesticide Container Disposal
Pesticide containers shall, upon completion of

use, be triple rinsed immediately by the applicator or
someone under his direct supervision or cleaned by another
method or procedure equivalent in residue removal
effectiveness.

(a) The standard triple rinse procedure is as
follows:

(1) The emptied container shall be drained for
at least thirty (30) seconds after steady flow of pesticide
formulation has ceased and after individual drops are
evident.  Any pesticide formulation drained shall be added to
the spray tank mix and shall be applied in accordance with
label instructions.

(2) A solvent, usually water, specified by the
manufacturer and capable of removing the pesticide residue
shall be added to the drained container in an amount equal to
ten percent (10%) of its capacity. The container then shall be
shaken, agitated, or rolled vigorously in such fashion as to

dislodge residues from the top, bottom and sides. The liquid
residues (rinsate) shall be added as make-up to the spray tank
mix, and the container shall be allowed to drain for at least
thirty (30) seconds after steady flow has ceased and after
individual drops are evident.

(3) The above procedure shall be performed
two more times, each time allowing the container to drain at
least thirty (30) seconds and adding all rinsate to the spray
tank mix to be applied in accordance with label instructions.

(b) In cases where undiluted formulations are used
and rinsate cannot be added to the spray tank, the residue
must be disposed of in accordance with applicable
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) regulations.

(c) Methods of rinsing or cleaning containers,
other than the standard triple rinsing procedure described
above, may be used provided they are shown to remove
equivalent amounts of pesticide residues which can be
disposed of in an environmentally safe manner.

(d) In the case of containers with removable inner
liners that prevent contact between the pesticide and the
container, removal of the liner shall be considered the
equivalent of triple rinsing.  The removed liners must be
disposed of in a sanitary landfill or by incineration if allowed
by State and local authorities.   Liners removed from
pesticide containers containing pesticides listed as hazardous
waste are also considered hazardous waste unless the liners
are triple rinsed with an applicable solvent or other method
approved as equivalent, prior to their removal from the
container. These liners must be handled and disposed of in
accordance with applicable DNREC regulations.

(e) Following the rinsing, cleaning or liner
removal procedure, plastic or metal containers not destined
for return to manufacturers or shipment to reconditioners
shall be punctured prior to disposal to insure they are empty
and to prevent re-use.  Glass containers are exempt from this
puncture requirement.  Plastic containers may be burned if
allowed by State and local authorities.

(f) Pesticide containers labeled for commercial or
farm use, which have been triple rinsed and handled in
accordance with 16.02 (a) through 16.02 (e), shall be
disposed of at a Solid Waste Facility.

(g) Unused or unwanted farm or commercial use
pesticides which qualify as hazardous waste shall be
disposed of in accordance with 7 DEL C., Chapter 63 and the
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

(h) Pesticides and/or pesticide containers which
are not subject to these regulations are as follows:

(1) Paper, cardboard and fiberboard
containers.  Storage, handling and disposal must, however,
be in accordance with label directions and any applicable
DNREC regulations and/or local ordinances.  This waiver
applies only if all the pesticide contents have been removed
from the container using practical methods.
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(2) Aerosol containers and compressed gas
cylinders, provided that aerosol containers are disposed of
according to the product labeling and the empty compressed
gas cylinders are returned for re-use.

(3) Pesticide containers labeled as returnable,
and which are returned to the manufacturer for refill.

(4) Pesticides and pesticide containers which
are intended solely for home and garden use, provided they
are securely wrapped in several layers of paper and disposed
of singly during routine municipal solid waste disposal.

16.03 Pesticide Storage
(a) Pesticides shall be stored in such a manner so

as to prevent the contamination of food, feed and/or water.
(b) Pesticides shall be stored out of the reach of

children and so as not to present a public nuisance.
(c) Until such time as the Secretary shall, along

with the Pesticide Advisory Committee and any other person
as the Secretary may consult, promulgate more specific rules
and regulations covering the storage of pesticides and
pesticide containers not provided in 16.01 and 16.03 of this
Section, the recommended  procedures for the storage of
pesticides and containers detailed in Regulations
promulgated by the Administrator, United States
Environmental Protection Agency shall be the recommended
procedures for Delaware.  The Secretary shall make copies
of these procedures available to any person needing
guidance for proper storage of pesticides or pesticide
containers.

Section 17  Pesticide Advisory Committee
17.01 Expenses of Members Not from Government

Departments
Pesticide Advisory Committee members not

from governmental departments shall submit expense
accounts to the Secretary. Reimbursements made to
members not from governmental departments shall be made
for the actual cost of lodging and meals (out of state) and for
transportation according to the regulations applicable to
Department employees.

Section 18  Application and Equipment
18.01 No person shall apply, dispense or use any

pesticide in or through any equipment or application
apparatus unless such equipment or application apparatus is
in sound mechanical condition and capable of satisfactory
operation.  All pesticide application equipment shall be
properly equipped to dispense the proper amount of material;
all pesticide mixing, storage, or holding tanks, whether on
application equipment or not, shall not leak pesticide; all
spray distribution systems shall not leak pesticides and any
pumps which such systems may have shall not leak
pesticides and any pumps which such systems may have
shall be capable of operating at sufficient pressure to assure a
uniform and adequate rate of discharge; and all pesticide

application equipment shall be equipped with whatever cut-
off valves and discharge orifices may be necessary to enable
the operator to pass over non-target areas without
contaminating them.

18.02 All hoses, pumps or other equipment used to
fill pesticide handling, storage or application equipment
shall be fitted with an effective valve or device to prevent
backflow of pesticides or pesticide use-dilutions into water
supply systems, streams, lakes, other sources of water or
other materials.  Provided, however, such backflow devices
or valves are not required for separate water storage tanks
used to fill agricultural pesticide application equipment by
gravity systems when the fill spout, tube or pipe is not
allowed to contact or fall below the water level of the
application equipment being filled and no other possible
means of establishing a backsiphon or backflow exists.

Section 19 Antifouling Paint Restrictions
19.01 For the purposes of this section, the following

definitions shall apply:
(a) The term "acceptable release rate" means a

measured release rate not to exceed 4.0 micrograms per
square centimeter per day and as further defined in the
Organotin Anti-fouling Paint Control Act of 1988, (Pub. L. -
100-333).

(b) The term "antifouling paint" means a coating,
paint, or treatment that is applied to a vessel or any fishing
gear used to catch shellfish or finfish to control fresh water
or marine fouling organisms.

(c) The term “vessel” means every description of
watercraft, other than a seaplane, used or capable of being
used as a means of transportation on the water, whether self-
propelled or otherwise, and includes barges and tugs. 

(d) The term "commercial boat yard" means any
facility which engages for hire in the construction, storage,
maintenance, repair, or refurbishing of vessels or any
licensed independent marine maintenance contractor who
engages in such activities.

(e) The term "organotin" means any compound of
tin used as a biocide in an anti-fouling paint.

(f) The term "retail" means the transfer of title to
tangible personal property other than for resale, after
manufacturing or processing.

19.02 Except as otherwise provided in this Section,
no person shall distribute, possess, sell, or offer for sale,
apply or offer for use or application any marine anti-fouling
paint containing organotin.

19.03 No person may sell or deliver to, or purchase or
receive from, another person at retail any substance
containing organotin for the purpose of adding such
substances to paint to create an anti-fouling paint.

19.04 A person may distribute or sell a marine anti-
fouling paint containing organotin with an acceptable release
rate to the owner or agent of a commercial boat yard.  The
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owner or agent of a commercial boat yard may possess and
apply or purchase for application an anti-fouling paint
containing organotin with an acceptable release rate,
however, such paint may be applied only within a
commercial boat yard and only to vessels which exceed
twenty-five meters (82.02 feet) in length or which have
aluminum hulls.

19.05 A person may distribute, sell, or apply a marine
anti-fouling paint containing organotin having an acceptable
release rate, if the paint is distributed or sold in a spray can in
a quantity of sixteen ounces avoirdupois or less and is
commonly referred to as outboard or lower unit paint.

Section 20 Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer Permits
20.01 For the purposes of these regulations the

following definitions shall apply:
(a) The term "restricted use pesticide dealer"

means any person who makes available for use any restricted
use pesticide,  or who offers to make available for use any
such pesticide.  The term excludes any person who sells or
distributes pesticides only as an integral part of his pesticide
application service when such pesticides are dispensed only
through equipment used during a pesticide application.

(b) The term "make available for use" means to
distribute, sell, ship, deliver for shipment, or receive, and
(having so received) deliver, for use by any person.
However, the term excludes transactions solely between
persons who are pesticide producers, registrants,
wholesalers, or retail dealers, acting only in those capacities.

(c) The term "dealership" means any site owned or
operated by a restricted use pesticide dealer where any
restricted use pesticide is made available for use, or where
the dealer offers to make available for use any  such
pesticide.

20.02 Effective December 31, 1990, no person shall
make available for use any restricted use pesticide unless
that person has a valid Dealer Permit issued by the
Department.

20.03 A separate Dealer Permit shall be required for
each dealership owned or operated by the restricted use
pesticide dealer.

20.04 Issuance of a Dealer Permit:
(a) Application for a Dealer Permit shall be made

in writing to the Department on a designated form obtained
from the Department.

(b) The Department shall issue a Dealer Permit to
an applicant upon payment of a fee of $25.00 for a calendar
year or any part of a calendar year.

(c) All permits shall remain in full force and effect
until December 31st of each year whereupon they shall
become invalid unless renewed, except that a permit for
which a renewal application has been submitted to the
Department by November 30th shall remain in full force and
effect until such time as the Department gives written notice

to the permit holder of renewal or denial.
20.05 A restricted use pesticide dealer is responsible

for the acts of his employees in the solicitation and sale of all
pesticides and all claims and recommendations for the use of
pesticides.

20.06 A dealer permit is not transferable.
20.07 The Department, in addition to any penalties

authorized by the LAW, may deny, suspend, or revoke the
application or permit of a restricted use pesticide dealer if he
has failed to comply with any provisions of the LAW or any
rules and regulations promulgated thereunder.

Section 21 Institutional and Maintenance Pesticide Use
Restrictions

21.01 For the purposes of these regulations, the
following definitions shall apply:

(a) The term “general use pesticide” shall include
all pesticides as defined by 3 Del.C., Delaware Pesticide
Law, §1202 (27), with the following exceptions:

(1) Any Restricted Use Pesticides, as defined
by 3 Del.C. §1202 (30);

(2) Any State Restricted Use Pesticide, as
defined by 3 Del.C., §1202 (31);

(3) Any anti-microbial pesticide used for
controlling bacteria, viruses, or other microorganisms.

(b) The term “school” shall mean a completed
structure utilized as a public or private school, grades
kindergarten through post graduate.

(c) The term "apartment building" shall mean a
building that contains four or more dwelling units that are
rented primarily for nontransient, permanent dwelling
purposes, with rental paid by intervals of one week or longer.

(d) The term "nursing home" shall have the same
meaning assigned by 16 Del.C., Chapter 11, §1101.

(e) The term “hospital” shall have the same
meaning assigned by 16 Del.C., Chapter 10, §1001 (1).

(f) The term “child day-care center” shall mean a
facility, other than a school as defined elsewhere herein,
which provides care, education, protection, supervision and
guidance on a regular basis for children. Services are
provided for part of the 24 hour day, unattended by parent or
guardian, and for compensation. Provided, nevertheless, that
“child day-care center” shall not include any such facility
which is operated within a private home.

(g) The term "private home" shall mean a non-
public residence such as a house, duplex, townhouse,
apartment, or mobile home where the provider of child day-
care services lives and has control over the furnishings and
use of space.  An individual unit in public housing and
university housing complexes is considered a private home.

(h) The term "Institutional and Maintenance
applicator" means any person who:

(1) Owns, operates or maintains a school,
apartment building, nursing home, hospital or child day-care
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center, or is an employee of a school, apartment building,
nursing home, hospital, or child day-care center; and who

(2) Applies general use pesticides inside the
school, apartment building, nursing home, hospital, or child
day-care center.

21.02 A general use pesticide applicator must be
certified pursuant to Section 8 of these regulations, unless,
such person possesses a valid certification in subcategory
7.07 (e), Institutional and Maintenance Pest Control.

21.03 A person certified as a general maintenance
applicator may not engage in the business of pest control
outside the scope of the employment for which they have
been certified, unless the person becomes certified as
otherwise provided by the LAW.

21.04 An owner or manager of a building that is a
school, apartment building, nursing home, hospital, or child
day-care center may obtain general maintenance pest control
services for the building from a person only by:

(a) Contracting with a business licensed pursuant
to 3 Del.C., Chapter 12, §1206;

(b) Having the services performed by a general
maintenance applicator with a valid certification in Section
7.07(a) or 7.07(e) of these regulations.

21.05 Records of "general use pesticide" applications
made in a school, apartment building, nursing home,
hospital, or child day-care center shall be kept in accordance
with Section 14.01

Section 22 Restrictions on the Use of Pesticides for the
Control of Subterranean Termites

22.01 This section applies to commercial pesticide
applications for the control of subterranean termites.  It is
directed primarily towards soil treatment and does not
include other treatments applied as dusts, aerosols or
fumigants.  Nor does it address application technology such
as biological control agents or baits.

22.02 For the purpose of this section, the following
definition shall apply:

(a) "Termiticide" shall mean a pesticide registered
pursuant to the LAW and which is intended for preventing,
destroying, repelling or mitigating termites.

(b) “Continuous chemical barrier” shall mean the
application of a termiticide such that the resultant soil
residue meets or exceeds the soil residue requirements
currently recommended by the Association of Structural Pest
Control Regulatory Officials (ASPCRO) and as those
requirements may be amended in the future. Soil residue
sampling shall be conducted in conformity with the current
ASPCRO soil sampling protocol and as it may be amended
in the future.

22.03 Termiticides shall be used to establish a
continuous chemical barrier in all applicable areas
prescribed by the label.  However, where the termiticide is
applied such that a continuous barrier is not achieved, or

where the termiticide is not applied to all applicable areas
prescribed by the termiticide label, the conditions outlined in
both (a) and (b) below must be satisfied:

(a) One or more of the following situations is
present:

(1) Specific environmental conditions are
such that application of the termiticide at the full labeled
concentration and volume may result in adverse
environmental impact.  Examples may include the presence
of a well, a footing drain that empties into a water body, a
high water table, etc.;

(2) Structural barriers or soil conditions or
types exist that prohibit application of the labeled volume or
limit access to applicable soil treatment areas;

(3) Construction elements are present that
would or could encourage a reduced volume, e.g., poured
walls vs. hollow block walls;

(4) Specific customer request, or at the
recommendation of the certified applicator.

(b) Within fourteen (14) days following the
termiticide application, the following information is shall be
furnished in writing to the customer or appropriate person to
the customer’s agent:

(1) A full disclosure explaining the difference
between full and partial applications.  The disclosure shall
include the termite control strategies being utilized and the
reasons for those alternatives;

(2) The pesticide used, including brand name
and EPA registration number;

(3) The actual volume of the termiticide
applied;

(4) Specific information of sufficient detail to
distinguish where treatment actually occurred, including a
diagram of the structure identifying treated areas, utilities
known well heads and sites of termite activity;

(5) A clear, concise statement indicating
whether the application has any guarantee or warranty, and
the terms of the guarantee or warranty, e.g., retreatment (full
or partial), damage repair and retreatment, or no warranty.

This information shall be furnished to the
customer or customer's agent on the following form
prescribed by the Department: Document# 65/01/06/00/01/
101, entitled Termiticide Application Disclosure.

22.04 Any application of termiticides, pursuant to
this section, must be conducted with a commercial applicator
at the site of application.  This commercial applicator must
be certified in category 7.07(b), Wood Destroying Pest
Control.   

22.05 The disclosure information and written
notification specified in paragraph 22.03(b) are not required
of termiticide treatments to utility poles, fence posts or tree
stumps.

2206 Any pre-construction termiticide application
shall be applied in accordance with the termiticide product
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del. C., Section 122(d)

Content Standards
 
A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of

the State Board of Education to amend the regulation 500.1
Content Standards, and repeal as separate regulations 500.2
Agriscience, 500.3 Business Finance and Marketing, 500.4
Foreign Languages, and 500.5 Visual and Performing Arts,
in order to consolidate the specific content standards with
this generic content standards regulation (500.1) and to add
to this generic regulation the four sets of content standards
approved in September, 1995, (English Language Arts,
Mathematics, Science and Social Studies).  The amended
Content Standards regulation would include the statements
made in the current regulation 500.1 Content Standards and
list all of the approved sets of content standards in this same
regulation including the new regulations for Technology
Education scheduled for approval in March 2000. The
Secretary and the State Board of Education would add any
additional Content Standards as they are approved and
would approve changes to the Content Standards.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation will simply consolidate the
current regulations into a single regulation on Content
Standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation will simply consolidate the
current regulations into a single regulation on Content
Standards.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation will simply consolidate the
current regulations into a single regulation on Content
Standards.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation will simply consolidate the
current regulations into a single regulation on Content

Standards.
5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary

authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation?

The amended regulation is simply consolidating
existing regulations.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?

There is no additional cost to the state and to the
local school boards of compliance with the amended
regulation.

As Appears In The Regulations Of The Department 
Of Education

500.1  Content Standards
July 1997

1.0 Each school district shall develop and implement
instructional programs for grades K-12 in alignment with the
State Content Standards.  Districts shall also provide for the
integration of content areas within and across curricula.
Districts shall keep instructional materials and curricula
current and consistent with the Guidelines and Standards
adopted by the State Department of Education and any
subsequent amendments thereof.

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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500.2  Standards for Agriscience
July 1997
(See document for full text)

500.3  Standards for Business, Finance and Marketing
July 1997
(See document for full text)

500.4  Standards for Foreign Languages
July 1997
(See document for full text)

500.5  Standards for Visual and Performing Arts
November 1997
(See document for full text)

As Amended

500.1  Content Standards
July 1997
1.0 Each school district shall develop and implement

instructional programs for grades K-12 in alignment with the
State Content Standards, as the same may from time to time
hereafter be amended with the approval of the Secretary and
the State Board of Education, in the following areas:
English Language Arts, Mathematics; Science; Social
Studies; Agriscience; Business, Finance and Marketing;
Foreign Language; Visual and Performing Arts; and
Technology Education.

1.1 Districts shall also provide for the integration of
content areas within and across curricula.

1.2 Districts shall keep instructional materials and
curricula current and consistent with the Guidelines and
Standards adopted by the State Department of Education and
any subsequent amendments thereof.

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant
To 14 Del. C., Section 122(d)

K-12 Guidance Programs

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Acting Secretary seeks the consent of the State

Board of Education to amend the regulations for K-12
Guidance Programs, page A-23 and Appendix B in the
Handbook for K-12 Education.  The amended version of the
regulations will still require local school districts to have a
plan for their K-12 Guidance Program but will now be based
on the National Standards for School Counseling Programs,
and will not require sending the plan to the State Department

of Education for approval.  The existing Delaware
Guidelines for Counseling Programs are very similar to the
new national standards even dividing the standards into the
same categories, Academic Development, Career
Development and Personal/Social Development.  It was
decided that using the National Standards for Delaware’s
guidance program would be the most appropriate way to
move into the new century.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulations address the design of
guidance programs, not student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The regulations address the design of guidance
programs, not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulations address the design of
guidance programs, not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulations address the design of
guidance programs, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level?

The amended regulations will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of the decision makers at
the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulations will not place
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or
mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school
level.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will not be an impediment
to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
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the purpose of the regulations?
The purpose of the amendment is to make the

regulations less burdensome.
10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school

boards of compliance with the amended regulations?
There is no cost to the state or local school boards

for complying with the amended regulations.

As Appears in the Handbook for K-12 Education

H. GUIDANCE AND COUNSELING
1. REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES FOR K-12

GUIDANCE PROGRAMS
Regulations and Guidelines for K-12 Guidance

Programs were approved in March 1990 by the State Board
of Education.  These are included in Appendix B.  (State
Board Approved March 1990)

As Appears in Appendix B of the Handbook for K-12 
Education, Pages 1 & 2

REGULATIONS FOR K-12 GUIDANCE PROGRAMS

The purpose of these regulations is to provide a
framework for a K-12 developmental guidance program.
These programs should be planned and coordinated to
emphasize the development of positive self-esteem, the
development of activities to promote academic/career and
personal/social growth, and to encourage economic and
social self-sufficiency.  This requires the coordination of
support services within the school, district, and community.

I. Each school district in Delaware shall have a written
plan describing the guidance program for the district which
is reviewed periodically and updated at least every five
years.

A. The plan shall be submitted to the Department of
Public Instruction, Instruction Division, for review prior to
the implementation date of September 1, 1991.  Any changes
or revisions to the district plan shall be submitted to the
Department of Public Instruction, Improvement and
Assistance Branch, as they occur.

II. The district guidance plan shall be a written description
of a sequential program of services and activities to be
available to all students in grades K-12.

A. The plan shall address the needs of students in the
areas of personal/social development, academic
development, and career/life planning.

B. The plan shall systematically include as part of the
total program any existing specialized services such as the
Career Guidance and Placement Counselor, drug and
substance abuse counseling, peer counseling, crisis
counseling, and other counseling related programs.

C. The plan shall identify an individual to coordinate
the guidance program within the district for all grade levels.

D. The plan shall describe the involvement and
responsibilities of counselors, administrators, specialists,
and parents in the guidance program.

E. The plan shall describe the working relationships of
school counselors to other specialists.

F. The plan shall provide for the involvement of a
district level advisory committee which includes parents,
district teachers, and/or staff members, counselors from each
level of education, administrators, students, representatives
of business and industry, and agencies which provide
support services for district children.

G. The plan shall include procedures for coordinating
school counseling services with agencies and community
groups which provide services for children.

H. The plan shall include a job description for each
counselor which reflects the activities and services described
in the guidance program.

I. The plan shall include a method of evaluating the
program which enables counselors to determine their
effectiveness in terms of both process and outcome.

J. The plan shall describe services for all students
including special needs students and those identified as
being at risk.

As Amended

500.13 Regulations for K-12 Guidance Programs
1.0 Each local school district shall have a written

plan describing the guidance program for the district which
shall be periodically reviewed and updated by the local
school district.  The plan shall reflect the National Standards
for School Counseling Programs as developed by the
American School Counselors Association.

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del. C., 
Section 122(d)

Educational Programs for Students with
Limited English Proficiency

* PLEASE NOTE THAT REGULATION 900.6, EDUCATIONAL

PROGRAMS FOR STUDENTS WITH LIMITED ENGLISH

PROFICIENCY, WAS ORIGINALLY PROPOSED IN 3 DE REG

900 (1/1/00). THE PROPOSAL AS SET FORTH IN THE

JANUARY 1, 2000 REGISTER AT PAGE 900 HAS BEEN

WITHDRAWN AND IS REPROPOSED. 

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation
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B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of

the State Board of Education to amend the regulations
Educational Programs for Students with Limited English
Proficiency, Pages A-16 – A-18 in the Handbook for K-12
Education.  The amended regulations are substantially
changed and provide specific directions to local school
districts as to the services that they must provide to students
with limited English proficiency.  The regulations define a
student with limited English proficiency, provide an
identification procedure, define a program for these students
and set forth a reclassification procedure.  The regulations
also provide directions for monitoring student progress,
program evaluation, reports for DOE and communication
with language minority parents or guardians.  Finally the
regulations state that language minority students are to be a
part of the Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP).

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulations are designed to assist
limited English proficient students in improving their
English skills and improving their achievement in all content
areas.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulations are designed to provide
limited English proficient students with an equal opportunity
to an education.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulations address educational
opportunity, not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that
limited English proficient students’ legal rights are
respected?

The amended regulations will insure that legal
rights of students with limited English proficiency are
protected.

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level?

The amended regulations set the parameters around
required services for limited English proficient students and
still preserve the necessary authority and flexibility at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulations do not require additional
reporting but may require additional administrative decisions
at the local board and school levels pertaining to instruction

for students with limited English proficiency.
7. Will decision making authority and accountability

for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity?

8. Will the amended regulations be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulations will be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulations?

The Office of Civil Rights requires that the
Department of Education make such regulations.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulations?

There is an additional cost to local school boards
for compliance with the regulations and funds are made
available through the Academic Excellence Units and Extra
Time for Students grants.  The statewide English language
proficiency assessment will be purchased by the Department
of Education.

From the Handbook for K-12 Education

I. F. 3. Limited English Proficiency Programs (Bilingual
Education)

a. The State Board of Education believes in the
following program goals for students of limited English
proficiency (LEP):

(1) the ensurance of equal educational opportunity
to every eligible student of limited English proficiency;

(2) the enabling of limited English proficient
students to continue to develop academically while
achieving competence in the English language in order to
facilitate their successful integration into regular classrooms
and to allow them to meet grade promotion and graduation
standards.

b. Eligibility
Eligibility for instructional programs designed for

limited English proficient students should be based on the
following criteria:

(1) A student who by reason of foreign birth or
ancestry speaks a language other than English, or who has
been identified by a valid English language assessment
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instrument as a pupil of limited English proficiency, is
eligible to receive a program of bilingual education or
English as a Second Language.

(2) The parents or legal guardians of limited
English proficient children identified for enrollment in such
programs should be informed of the reasons for their child's
selection, the native language used in the program, and the
alternative educational programs in the local district.

(3) Parental involvement in their children's
instructional program should be encouraged, including the
option of deciding whether or not to enroll their children in
such programs.

c. Instructional Programs
(1) Instructional programs for pupils of limited

English proficiency should not exceed three years, which
period may be extended by the State Superintendent with
respect to individual pupils, upon application by the
appropriate school authorities.

(2) Where appropriate and practicable, transitional
bilingual education programs may be provided to meet the
needs of qualified pupils in order to facilitate their future
integration into the regular school curriculum.  Where
feasible, the bilingual education program may be provided
on a cooperative, multi-school, multi-district or regional
basis.

(3) Limited English Proficiency students bring to
their schools and communities languages and cultural
heritages that enrich the curriculum and school setting.
Therefore, it is important to provide all children with
opportunities for gaining an understanding of their own
culture as well as the cultures of others.

(4) Bilingual programs should be designed to:
(a) provide content instruction for children of

limited English proficiency using the child's native language
and English;

(b) provide native language instruction; and
(c) provide English as a Second Language

(ESL) instruction.
(5) The State Board of Education recognizes ESL-

only programs as currently the best solution in answering the
needs of school districts with small numbers of children
from nations with uncommon languages or with small
numbers of children speaking the same non-English
language.  ESL instruction should include the four language
skills areas:  listening/comprehension, speaking, reading,
and writing and assist in the learning of content areas
through structured monolingual instruction in English.

(6) Instruction in content area subjects
(mathematics, science, and social studies) should be
equivalent in scope to the curriculum required by the
Department of Public Instruction and the local school
district.  Pupils taught in their native language are expected
to progress in the content areas taught at the same rate as
their English-speaking peers are expected to progress when

taught in English.

(State Board Approved February 1987)

As Amended

900.6  Educational Programs for Students with Limited
English Proficiency

1.0 General.  Each district shall identify upon
enrollment every student with limited English proficiency,
and each district shall make available to every identified
student a program of instruction until such time as the
student becomes fully proficient in English.

2.0 Student with Limited English Proficiency Defined.
For the purpose of this section, a student with limited
English proficiency is one who, by reason of foreign birth or
ancestry, speaks a language other than English, and either
comprehends, speaks, reads or writes little or no English, or
who has been identified as a pupil of limited English
proficiency by a valid English language proficiency
assessment approved by the Department of Education for use
statewide.

3.0 Identification of Eligible Students.  Each school
district shall implement a system for the timely and reliable
identification of students with limited English proficiency.
This system shall include a home language survey and an
assessment of English language proficiency.

3.1 A home language survey shall be administered
as part of the registration process for all registering students
and shall elicit from the student’s parent or guardian the
student’s first acquired language and the language(s) spoken
in the student’s home.

3.2 Any student for whom a language other than
English is reported on the home language survey as the
student’s first acquired language or as a language used in the
student's home shall be administered an English language
proficiency assessment.  Such assessment shall be conducted
in conformance with the following standards:

3.2.1 the assessment shall be based on a
standardized instrument, validated for this purpose and
approved by the Department of Education for use statewide;

3.2.2 the assessment shall measure English
proficiency in reading, writing, speaking and oral
comprehension, except that reading and writing proficiency
will generally not be assessed for students below grade 2;

3.2.3 the assessment shall be conducted by
qualified personnel trained in the administration of the
assessment instrument;

3.2.4 the assessment shall be conducted as
soon as practicable, but not later than 25 school days after
enrollment.

3.3 Any student who achieves a score on the
English language proficiency assessment that is lower than
the eligibility cut-off score in reading, writing, or oral
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English established by the Department of Education shall be
regarded as a student with limited English proficiency and
shall be entitled to a program of instruction for students with
limited English proficiency.  Reading and writing
proficiency would not be considered for students below
grade 2.

3.4 For each student enrolled in the 1999-2000
school year, each district shall conduct a home language
survey, to the extent practicable, of every enrolled student as
in 3.1 and, as applicable pursuant to 3.2, an English language
proficiency assessment in accordance with 3.2.1 through
3.2.3 by the conclusion of the 1999-2000 school year.
Beginning with the 2000-2001 school year, each district
shall conduct such a home language survey, and as
appropriate, an English language proficiency assessment of
every new student at the time of enrollment in a school.

4.0 Specially Designed Program.  Each enrolled student
who is eligible for services pursuant to 3.3 above, shall be
provided with a program of instruction for students with
limited English proficiency.

4.1 A program of instruction for students with
limited English proficiency shall include:  formal instruction
in English language development; and instruction in
academic subjects which is designed to provide students
with limited English proficiency with access to the District’s
curriculum in a manner comparable to that provided to other
students.

4.2 In selecting program(s), each district may
choose from a variety of programs that are recognized as
sound by experts in the education of limited English
proficient students.  Such programs include bilingual
programs as well as programs that are delivered exclusively
in English.

4.2.1 Bilingual programs shall be designed
to include:

4.2.1.1 standards-based instruction for
students with limited English proficiency, using the
student’s native language and English;

4.2.1.2 instruction in reading and writing
in the student’s native language; and

4.2.1.3 English as a second language
instruction.

4.2.2 Programs delivered exclusively in
English shall be designed to include:

4.2.2.1 standards-based instruction for
students with limited English proficiency, using English in a
manner that takes into account the student’s level of English
proficiency;

4.2.2.2 instruction which builds on the
language skills and academic subject knowledge the student
has acquired in his or her native language; and

4.2.2.3 English as a second language
instruction.

4.2.3 Programs shall be implemented

consistent with the goals of prompt acquisition of full
English proficiency and progress in academic subject areas
that is at a rate comparable to that of students who are not
students with limited English proficiency.

4.2.4 Programs shall include instruction in
academic subjects (mathematics, science, social studies)
which is equivalent in scope to the instruction that is
provided to students who are not limited in English
proficiency.

4.2.5 Instruction shall be delivered by
certified teachers who are trained in the delivery of
instruction to students with limited English proficiency.

4.2.6 Where a bilingual program is offered,
the parent or guardian of an eligible student may opt for the
eligible student to be served in a program for students with
limited English proficiency carried out exclusively in
English.

5.0 Reclassification Procedures.  At least once each
school year, each eligible student shall be considered for
reclassification as a fully English proficient student who no
longer needs a program for students with limited English
proficiency.

5.1 Reclassification shall include an assessment of
English proficiency in accordance with the standards in 3.2.1
- 3.2.4 above.

5.2 Any student who achieves a score on the
English language proficiency assessment which is lower
than the eligibility cut-off score in reading, writing, or oral
English established by the Department of Education shall be
regarded as a student with limited English proficiency and
shall continue to be eligible for a program of instruction for
students with limited English proficiency.  Reading and
writing proficiency would not be considered for students
below grade 2.

5.3 Any student who achieves a score on the
English language proficiency assessment at or above the
eligibility cut-off score in reading, writing, and oral English
established by the Department of Education shall be
reclassified as fully English proficient and considered
ineligible for a program of instruction for students with
limited English proficiency.  Reading and writing
proficiency would not be considered for students below
grade 2.

5.4 Before removing any student from a program
for students with limited English proficiency, the district
shall assess the student’s level of performance in academic
subject areas (mathematics, science and social studies).  Any
reclassified student found to have incurred academic deficits
while in the program for students with limited English
proficiency shall be provided with supplemental
instructional services in the relevant subject areas.

6.0 Monitoring Performance of Ineligible and
Reclassified Students.  For at least one school year following
the determination of ineligibility or reclassification, a district
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shall monitor the academic performance of each student who
has been:  assessed pursuant to 3.2 above and found
ineligible for a program; or reclassified as fully English
proficient pursuant to 5.3 above.  Students who experience
academic performance problems during this period shall,
based on further assessment, be considered for reentry into a
program of instruction for students with limited English
proficiency.

7.0 Program Evaluation.  Each district shall prepare an
annual evaluation of its program(s) for students with limited
English proficiency.  Such evaluation shall be available for
review upon request.  At a minimum, this program
evaluation shall:

7.1 consider the validity of the assessment
processes carried out pursuant to 3.2 and 3.3, and 5.1, 5.2,
5.3, and 5.4 above, in terms of predicting student success in
the regular instructional program;

7.2 consider the effectiveness of each program of
instruction for students with limited English proficiency in
achieving the goals and standards in 4.2. above; and

7.3 describe any modifications that have been
proposed or implemented, based on the evaluation data.

8.0 Student Information Reports.  Each district shall
provide the Department of Education annually with the
language background, the current English proficiency level
of each LEP student enrolled in the district, and the type of
program in which the LEP student receives services, and
related information.  Such reporting shall take place in a
manner prescribed by the Department of Education.  A
district shall provide such other information as the
Department of Education may request, in order to assure
adherence to this regulation.

9.0 Communications with Language Minority Parents/
Guardians.  Each district shall ensure that communications
with parents/guardians, including notices of eligibility for a
program for students with limited English proficiency,
notices about the student’s educational performance and
progress in such programs, and school information that is
made available to other parents/guardians, is provided to
each language minority parent/guardian in a language the
parent/guardian can understand to the extent possible.

10.0 Accountability.  Students with limited English
proficiency and students reclassified as fully English
proficient shall be included in the Delaware Student Testing
Program (DSTP).  Alternative assessment measures may be
used as provided in Department of Education guidelines,
including the Guidelines for the Inclusion of Students with
Disabilities and Students with Limited English Proficiency,
as the same may, from time to time, be amended hereafter.

10.1 Differential analysis of the results of the
DSTP and any alternative assessment measures shall be
conducted on the performance of students with limited
English proficiency and students reclassified as fully English
proficient.  Such data shall be made available with other

accountability data for each district and the state as a whole.
10.2 The Department of Education and each

district shall ensure that consequences and benefits under
Delaware’s system of statewide accountability are dispensed
in a manner that is equitable to students with limited English
proficiency and students reclassified as fully English
proficient, based on assessments which accurately measure
the student’s performance in the area being assessed and are
reflective of the curriculum which was delivered to the
student.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

Public Notice
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its eligibility policy manual.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by February 29, 2000.

Revision:

17700 Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals
Effective July 1, 1990, Section 6408 of the Omnibus

Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1989 mandates
coverage of certain Medicare beneficiaries who are still
disabled but lost premium-free Part A Medicare coverage
because they returned to work.  Medicaid will pay the Part A
premium for Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals
(QDWIs) who meet the income and resource requirements.   

A QDWI is an individual:

• who is entitled to enroll in Medicare Part A under
§1818A of the Social Security Act;

• whose income does not exceed 200% of the Federal
Poverty Level;

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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• whose resources do not exceed twice the SSI
resource limit; and

• who is not otherwise eligible for Medicaid.

17700.3 Financial Eligibility
The income and resource methodologies of the SSI

program will be used to determine eligibility for this
program.   See the QMB section for definitions of income
and resources.  (DSSM 17300 )

17700.3.2 Resources
The resource limit is twice the SSI limit.  
Follow the resource guidelines outlined in the Qualified

Medicare Beneficiary program. 

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

Public Notice
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its General Policy Provider Manual.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by February 29, 2000.

Revision: 

Guaranteed Eligibility

Section 1902(e)(2) of the Social Security Act, as
amended by the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, permits up to
six months of guaranteed eligibility for individuals if they
are enrolled in a managed care organization.

A six-month period of guaranteed eligibility is defined
as a six-month period of continuous enrollment in a managed
care organization under the Diamond State Health Plan
(DSHP).  The following individuals may be found eligible
for a six-month period of guaranteed eligibility:

• A first-time Medicaid recipient

• An individual who becomes eligible for Medicaid
again following a period of at least one month of
ineligibility for Medicaid.

The guaranteed eligibility period begins with the first of
the month in which the individual enrolls in the DSHP and
continues for six consecutive months.  The individual who is
enrolled in DSHP retains eligibility for Medicaid services,
even if the individual otherwise loses Medicaid eligibility.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF NURSING HOME 
ADMINISTRATORS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Sections 5200, 5204(1) (24 Del.C. §§5200 and 

5204(1))

Order Adopting Rules and Regulations

AND NOW, this 11th day of January, 2000, in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118 and for the reasons stated
hereinafter, the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home
Administrators of the State of Delaware (hereinafter “the
Board”) enters this Order adopting Rules and Regulations.

Nature of the Proceedings

The Board proposes to add a new rule, Rule 2(A)(8) to
its existing Rules and Regulations, pursuant to its authority

under 24 Del.C. §§5200 and 5204(1).1  The purpose of this
Rule is to provide a definition of “direct supervision” as that
term is used by the Board.  Notice of the public hearing on
the Board’s proposal was published in the Delaware Register
of Regulations on October 1, 1999 and in two Delaware
newspapers of general circulation, all in accordance with 29

Del.C. §10115. The public hearing was held as noticed on
November 9, 1999.  The Board deliberated and voted on the
proposed rule following the public hearing at the November
9, 1999 meeting.  This is the Board’s Decision and Order
ADOPTING Rule 2(A)(8) as proposed.

Evidence and Information Submitted at Public Hearing

The Board received no written comments in response to
the notice of its intention to adopt the proposed Rule
defining “direct supervision.”  The only comment received
at the public hearing was from Irene Waldron, of Delaware
Health Care Facilities, who stated that the proposed
definition was a good, accurate definition of “direct
supervision,” and that the definition helped clarify the
requirement. 

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

As outlined in the preceding section, the public was
given the required notice of the Board’s intention to adopt a

1.  At the public hearing, counsel for the Board
noted that the publication of the proposed regu-
lation in the Delaware Register cited to an incor-
rect statute section (cited as 24 Del. C.
§2007(a)(1)) in citing the Board’s authority to
adopt the regulation.  The correct statutory
authority was clarified at the hearing.
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regulation and was offered an adequate opportunity to
provide the Board with comments on the proposed
regulation. The Board further concludes that its
consideration of the proposed Rule and Regulation is within
the Board’s general authority to promulgate regulations
under 24 Del.C. §5200. Additional statutory authority for the
Board’s adoption of Rule 2(A)(8), is found at 24 Del. C.
§5204(1) which imposes upon the Board the duty of
developing, imposing and enforcing standards for licensure,
to ensure the qualifications of  nursing home administrators.  

The Board requires that candidates for licensure
successfully complete an “Administrator-In-Training” (AIT)
Program under the direct supervision of a Preceptor.
Defining the term “direct supervision” will clarify the AIT
requirement; will allow candidates and preceptors to better
understand the direct supervision provision and will provide
for consistent, quality training of administrators, by ensuring
that a preceptor is available on the premises for consultation
with and oversight of the trainee.

In summary, the Board concludes that the proposed
addition to its Rules and Regulations is necessary for the
enforcement of 24 Del.C. Chapter 52, and for the full and
effective performance of the Board’s duties under that
Chapter. The Board also finds that adopting the regulation as
proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the State of
Delaware, particularly the direct recipients of services
regulated by the Board.  The Board, therefore, adopts
Proposed Rule and Regulation 2(A)(8), as set forth in
Exhibit “A” attached hereto.

Order

NOW, THEREFORE, by unanimous vote of a quorum
of the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators,
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

1. Proposed Rule and Regulation 2(A)(8) is approved
and adopted in the exact text attached hereto as Exhibit “A”.

2. The effective date of this Order is ten (10) days
from the date of its publication in the Delaware Register of
Regulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(e).

3. The Board reserves the jurisdiction and authority to
issue such other and further orders in this matter as may be
necessary or proper.

By Order of the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home
Administrators
(as authenticated by a quorum of the Board):

Ellen Magee, President, Public Member
Gladys Adams, Public Member
Dr. John Forest, Physician Member
Linda Jones, Public Member
Joan McDonough, Public Member
Patricia McLaughlin, Professional Member

Erwin Meyer, Public Member
Daniel Wolfberg, Professional Member

THE DELAWARE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 
NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

RULES AND REGULATIONS 

Rule 1.  Source of Authority:  24 Delaware Code, Chapter 52
The Rules and Regulations herein contained constitute,

comprise, and shall be known  as the Rules and Regulations
of the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators
of the State of Delaware, and are hereby promulgated,
pursuant to the authority granted to and imposed upon the
said Board under and pursuant to the provisions of the State
Licensing Statute, 24 Delaware Code, Chapter 52.

Rule 2.  General Definitions.
A. Whenever used in these Rules and Regulations

unless expressly otherwise stated, or unless the context or
subject matter requires a different meaning, the following
terms shall have the respective meanings hereinafter set forth
or indicated.

1. The term “Board” means the Delaware State
Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators.

2. The term “Nursing Home Administrator”
means the individual responsible for planning, organizing,
directing and controlling the operation of a nursing home, or
who in fact performs such functions, whether or not such
functions are shared by one or more other persons, and who
is duly licensed by the Board. 

3. The term “Nursing Home Administrator-In-
Training” means an individual registered as such with the
Board, under direct supervision of a currently licensed
Delaware Nursing Home Administrator in the Sponsoring
Facility (Spons), and/or Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF), and/
or Assisted Living Facility (AL).

4. The term “Practice of Nursing Home
Administration” means the performance of any act or the
making of any decision involved in the planning, organizing,
directing and/or controlling of a nursing home.

5. The term “Nursing Home” means any
institution, building or agency in which accommodation is
maintained, furnished or offered for any fee, gift,
compensation or reward, for the care of more than four aged,
infirm, chronically ill or convalescent persons, that is duly
licensed by the State Division of Public Health.

6. The term “Person” means an individual and
does not include the terms: firm, corporation, association,
partnership, institution, public body, joint stock association
or any other group of individuals.

7. Term “Preceptor” means an individual who
currently has a Delaware Nursing Home Administrator
license and is employed in a Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF)
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or Assisted Living Facility (ALF).
8. “Direct supervision” shall mean oversight on

the premises by the licensed nursing home administrator
serving as preceptor.  The licensed nursing home
administrator shall be responsible and available to provide
direction, observation, aid, training and instruction to the
administrator-in-training, including the submission of
progress reports.  It is an interactive process between the
preceptor and the AIT intended to insure the extent, quality
and scope of experience of the duties performed as a nursing
home administrator.

Rule 3.   Board Meetings.
A. The Board may meet at least every other month,

with location and dates set by the President, in accordance
with the Freedom of Information Act.

B. The President, or other presiding officer of the
Board, may call special meetings of the Board when
necessary, upon a minimum of 24 hours notice.

Rule 4.   General Powers.
A. The Board shall exercise such powers as provided

by the Laws of this State pertaining to the licensing and
registration of Nursing Home Administrators.  A majority of
the Board shall constitute a quorum and no action shall be
taken without the affirmative vote of five members of the
Board.

B. The Board may seek counsel and advice from
appropriate State Agencies, as needed.

C. From time to time, the Board shall make and
publish such Rules and Regulations, not inconsistent with
the Law, as it may deem necessary and proper for the
execution and enforcement of the Law and Rules and
Regulations governing the licensing and registration of
Nursing Home Administrators.

D. The Board shall exercise quasi-judicial powers, not
inconsistent with the law.

Rule 5.   Officers and Duties.
A. The Board shall elect annually from its membership

a President, Vice President, and Secretary.
B. The President shall preside at all meetings of the

Board and shall sign all official documents of the Board.  In
the absence of the President, the Vice President shall preside
at meetings and perform all duties usually performed by the
President.

Rule 6.   Scheduling of Examinations and Re-Examinations.
Examinations will be administered on the second

Thursday of January, April, July and October of each year in
Dover.

Rule 7.  Pre-Examination Requirements; Conditions
Precedent.

The Board shall admit to examination for licensure as a
Nursing Home Administrator, any candidate who meets the
qualifications or demonstrates to the satisfaction of the
Board that within 30 days after the examination he/she will
meet the following standards:

A. Is at least 21 years of age.
B. Shall meet the requirements of 1 or 2 or 3 set forth

below:
1. Possesses a baccalaureate or graduate degree in

Health & Human Services, Hospital Administration or
Business Administration and,

a. has three months experience as a Nursing
Home Administrator or

b. has successfully completed  six months in
a pre-approved Nursing Home Administrator-In-Training
Program under Direct supervision of the applicant’s
Preceptor(s) (this program will include all subjects as listed
in Rule 10, Content of the Administrator-In-Training
Program) or

c. has demonstrated administrative
experience as the Board deems sufficient, or

2. Possesses a baccalaureate or graduate degree in
a specialty other than Health & Human Services, Hospital
Administration or Business Administration and,

a. has six months experience as a Nursing
Home Administrator or

b. has successfully completed nine months in
a pre-approved Nursing Home Administrator-In-Training
Program under Direct supervision of the applicant’s
Preceptor(s) (this program will include all subjects as listed
in Rule 10, Content of the Administrator-In-Training
Program) or

c. has demonstrated administrative
experience as the Board deems sufficient, or

3. Possesses an associate degree or a current
Delaware license as a Registered Nurse and,

a. has twelve months experience as a
Nursing Home  Administrator or

b. has successfully completed twelve months
in a pre-approved Nursing Home Administrator-In-Training
Program under Direct supervision of the applicant’s
Preceptor(s) (this program will include all  subjects as listed
in Rule 10, Content of the Administrator-In-Training
Program) or

c. has demonstrated administrative
experience as the Board deems sufficient to satisfy this
requirement.

C. In addition to the degree requirements listed in Rule
7.

1. has completed a course of study administered
by an accredited educational institution, provided that both
the course of study and the educational institution has been
pre-approved by the Board as providing adequate academic
preparation for nursing home administration, or
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2. has demonstrated comprehensive experience
and education which the Board deems sufficient to satisfy
this requirement.

Rule 8.  Application for Examination.
A. An applicant for examination and qualification for a

license as a Nursing Home Administrator shall make
application in writing, on forms provided by the Board, and
shall  furnish evidence satisfactory to the Board that he/she
has met the pre-examination requirements as provided for in
the State Licensing Statutes and Rule 7 of these Rules and
Regulations.

B. To establish suitability and fitness to qualify for a
license as a Nursing Home Administrator, as required by the
State Licensing Statute, prior to being submitted to
examination for licensure as a Nursing Home Administrator,
the applicant shall furnish evidence satisfactory to the Board
of ability to perform the essential functions of a licensed
Nursing Home Administrator.

Some examples of essential functions of a Nursing
Home Administrator are:

1. Ability to demonstrate understanding and
communicate general and technical information necessary to
the administration and operation of a nursing home with or
without reasonable accommodation i.e., applicable health
and safety regulations, and

2. Ability to assume responsibilities for the
administration of a nursing home as evidenced by prior
accredited activities and evaluation of prior services and
evidence secured by the Board, and

3. Ability to relate the physical, psychological,
spiritual, emotional and social needs of ill and/or aged
individuals to the administration of a nursing home and to
create the compassionate climate necessary to meet the
needs of the patients therein with or without reasonable
accommodation, and

4. Thorough knowledge and demonstrated
understanding of the subjects as incorporated in the list of
Rule 10.

C. The basic requirements for suitability set forth
herein are to be considered minimal and may not be waived.

Rule 9.  Conditional Admission to Examination;
Disqualification; Re-Examination.

A. An applicant for examination who has been
disqualified shall be given written notification by certified
mail of his/her disqualification and the reason therefore and
the applicant’s right to a hearing.

B. All proceedings shall be conducted according to the
Administrative Procedures Act.

C. Where an applicant for examination has been
disqualified, he/she may submit a new application for
qualification for examination provided, however, that he/she
shall be required to meet the requirements for licensing as

shall be in force at the time of such reapplication.

Rule 10.  Content of the Administrator-In-Training Program.
A. Every Administrator-In-Training (AIT) program

shall be approved by the Board and shall be conducted under
the direct supervision of the Pre-Approved Preceptor(s), the
start date for which shall be the date of the Board’s
notification of preceptor(s) approval and must be completed
within the allotted time (an extension may be granted upon
request by either the applicant or preceptor(s) for bonafide
reason(s).)

So as to encourage entry to qualified Nursing Home
Administrator candidates, the following AIT program (see
Addendum A attached) is split between a skilled nursing
facility (SNF) and an assisted living facility (AL) and the
sponsoring facility (Spons), so called because it is generally
the applicant’s employer and could be either SNF or AL.  If
the Spons is SNF, the Board will require at least 5% of the
program be completed in a AL; if the Spons is AL, the Board
will require at least 10% of the program be completed in a
SNF, with the training for each subject of the program to be
conducted in the facility identified by an “x” under the
appropriate columnar heading. Since the AIT program is
split between a SNF and an AL, each AIT Trainee will
require a preceptor for each type of facility.

Rule 11.   Grading Examinations.
A. Every candidate for a Nursing Home

Administrator’s license shall be required to pass the National
Association of Boards examination (NAB).

B. In the event the national examination is failed, the
applicant will be notified by the Administrative Assistant.
The applicant for licensure will be permitted to retake the
examination a maximum of two additional times.  The fee
for the examination will be set by Division of Professional
Regulation.  The first makeup examination must be taken
within three months and the second, if necessary, within the
following six month period.  If an applicant must take the
exam for a third time, it will be necessary for the applicant,
prior to taking the third examination, to spend 40 hours
working in a skilled care facility, previously approved by the
Board, under a Delaware licensed administrator.

A passing score of seventy five percent (75%) will
be required on the examination. Passing grade will:

National scale-113 correct out of 150

Rule 12.  Approval of Programs of Study for Licensure of a
Nursing Home Administrator.

Any program of study offered by an Educational
Institute for the purpose of qualifying applicants for Nursing
Home Administrator licensure and/or re-licensure shall be
subject to the approval of the Board.
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Rule 13.   Programs for Continuing Education Credits.
A. Continuing education programs consisting of Board

approved seminars, resident or extension courses,
conferences and workshops totaling 48 classroom hours or
more, on any of the subject areas enumerated in Paragraph B
below, are required for biennial licensure of a license as a
Nursing Home Administrator.  A maximum of 24 additional
credit hours may be carried forward into the next licensure
period, however, they must be earned within the last nine
months of the preceding licensure period.  The following are
requirements for license renewal:

1. For licenses initially authorized during the first
six months of the biennial period, 36 credit hours will be
required for renewal.

2. For licenses initially authorized during the
second six months of the biennial period, 24 credit hours will
be required for renewal.

3. For licenses initially authorized during the
third six months of the biennial period, 12 credit hours will
be required for renewal.

4. For licenses initially authorized during the
fourth six months of the biennial period, no credit hours will
be required for renewal.

5. When continuing education units are not met,
there will be no extensions, absent showing hardship.

B. Content of programs of continuing education shall
include one or more of the following general subject areas or
their equivalents:

1. Applicable standards of environmental health
and safety,

2. Local health and safety regulations,
3. General Administration,
4. Psychology of patient care,
5. Principles of medical care,
6. Personal and social care,
7. Therapeutic and supportive care and services in

long-term care,
8. Department organization and management,
9. Community interrelationships, and,
10. Business or financial management.

C. Programs of continuing education:
1. Those conducted solely by accredited

educational institutions.
2. Those conducted jointly by educational

institutions and associations, professional societies or
organizations other than accredited colleges or universities.

3. Those conducted solely by associations,
professional societies and other professional organizations
other than accredited educational institutions.

4. Those self-instruction or home study courses,
video computer-assisted programs, and teleconferences, pre-
approved by the Board, may be accumulated at no more than
twelve hours per renewal period.

D. Upon completion of an approved program of study

the sponsor or sponsors of the program shall issue
certificates of attendance or other evidence of attendance,
satisfactory to the Board.

E. Nothing contained in this rule shall preclude the
Board from providing for any program of study which
excludes subjects which shall be in derogation of, or in
conflict with, the teachings and practices of any recognized
religious faith, providing however, any applicant seeking to
be entitled to be admitted to such program of study
hereinunder, shall submit evidence satisfactory to the Board
that he/she is in fact an adherent of such recognized religious
faith.

Rule 14.   Licenses.
A. An Applicant for license as a Nursing Home

Administrator who has successfully complied with the
requirements of the licensing laws and standards provided
herein, passed the examination provided for by the Board
and, where applicable, complied with the requirements for
Nursing Home Administrator-In-Training, shall be issued a
license on a form provided for that purpose by the Board,
certifying that such applicant has met the requirements of the
laws, rules and regulations entitling the applicant to serve,
act, practice and otherwise hold the applicant out as a duly
licensed Nursing Home Administrator.  Unless otherwise
suspended or revoked as provided in Rule 16 of these Rules
and Regulations, such license, once issued, shall remain
valid and active until its official expiration date as noted on
such license.

1. Any licensee requesting an inactive status shall
be notified the Board has no provision for such status and,
therefore, the license in question shall be considered active
and valid, regardless of the place of residence and/or
occupation of the license holder, until its official expiration
date, after which any application for reinstatement will be
addressed as provided in Rule 15 of these Rules and
Regulations.

B. Board approval for Acting Nursing Home
Administrator

1. In the event of a permanent loss of a regularly
licensed Nursing Home Administrator by death, disability,
resignation, dismissal and or any other unexpected cause, or
due to change of ownership of the facility, the owner,
governing body or other appropriate authority of the nursing
home suffering such removal, may designate an Acting
Nursing Home Administrator. The Board may at its
discretion, issue without examination a permit for a period
not to exceed nine months.  Such permit will be issued to an
applicant who fulfills the requirements of a and b as follows :

a. Rule 7.
b. Has been nominated to be the Acting

Nursing Home Administrator in the particular facility which
shall be identified in the application. 

2. In the event of a change in the ownership of the
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facility, resulting in the removal of the licensed Nursing
Home Administrator, the new owner, governing body or
other appropriate authority of the nursing home may
designate an Acting Nursing Home Administrator under the
criteria in Rule 14, B1 above.

C. No Board approval for acting Nursing Home
Administrator shall be issued to an individual if that
individual is employed by a facility whose administrator has
operated under an acting permit within the previous year.

D. No facility may have concurrent acting permits.

Rule 15.   Renewal of Licensure.
A. Every person who holds a valid license as a Nursing

Home Administrator, issued by the Board, shall biennially
apply to the Board for a new license, and report any facts
requested by the Board.

B. On making application for renewal of license, the
established fee shall be submitted and satisfactory evidence
shall also be submitted to the Board that during the
preceding two year period, the applicant has attended
continuing education programs or courses of study as
provided in Rule 13 of these Rules and Regulations.

C. A licensed Nursing Home Administrator whose
license has expired  may, within two years following the
licensure period, have his/her license reinstated without
examination upon payment of the renewal fee, plus a late
fee. In addition, satisfactory evidence shall also be submitted
to the Board that during the preceding two year period, the
applicant has attended continuing education programs or
courses of study as provided in Rule 13 of these Rules and
Regulations.  Any licensee whose license has expired for a
period in excess of a two-year licensure period may have his/
her license reinstated upon payment of the renewal fee, late
fee and upon satisfying the Board as to the applicant’s
current qualifications by completing an application form as
outlined in Rule 8 of these Rules and Regulations, providing,
however, such applicant may attach a resume in lieu of
completing sections 4 and 5 of the application form.
Satisfactory evidence shall also be submitted to the Board
that during the preceding two year period, the applicant has
attended continuing education programs or courses of study
as provided in Rule 13 of these Rules and Regulations.

D.  Only an individual who has qualified as a licensed
Nursing Home Administrator and who holds a valid, current
registration certificate pursuant to the provisions of these
Rules and Regulations, shall have the right and the privilege
of using the abbreviation “N.H.A.” after his/her name.  No
other person shall use or shall be designated to such title or
abbreviation or any other words, letters, sign, card or device,
tending to or intended to indicate that such person is a
licensed Nursing Home Administrator.

E. The Board shall maintain all approved applications
for licensing of Nursing Home Administrators.  The Board
shall maintain a complete file of such other pertinent

information as may be deemed necessary.

Rule 16.   Refusal, Suspension and Revocation of License.
A. After due notice to the licensee with an opportunity

to be heard at a formal hearing, the Board may suspend,
revoke or refuse to issue a license for a Nursing Home
Administrator, or may reprimand or otherwise discipline a
licensee.  Such license may be denied, revoked, or
suspended if applicant or licensee has violated any of the
following:

1. Willfully or repeatedly violated any of the
provisions of the Laws, Rules or Regulations pertaining to
the licensing of a Nursing Home Administrator.

2. Willfully or repeatedly violated any of the
provisions of the Law, Rules or Regulations of the licensing
or supervising authority or agency of the State or political
subdivision thereof having jurisdiction over the operation
and licensing of nursing homes;

3. Been convicted of a felony;
4. Has practiced fraud, deceit or

misrepresentation in securing a Nursing Home
Administrator’s license;

5. Has practiced fraud, deceit or
misrepresentation in his/her capacity as a Nursing Home
Administrator;

6. Has exhibited acts or practices as a Nursing
Home Administrator that show he/she is unfit or
incompetent to practice by reason of negligence, habits or
other causes, including but not limited to:

a. Commission of acts of misconduct in the
operation of a nursing home under his/her jurisdiction;

b. Is currently using, in the possession of or
has been convicted of the unlawful sale of narcotic drugs,
look-alike substances or illegal drugs or alcohol;

c. Has wrongfully transferred or surrendered
possession of either an acting or permanent license;

d. Has been guilty of fraudulent, misleading
or deceptive advertising;

e. Has falsely impersonated another licensee
of a like or different name;

f. Has failed to exercise true regard for the
safety, health and life of any resident;

g. Has willfully permitted unauthorized
disclosure of information relating to a resident of his/her
records;

h. Has discriminated in respect to residents,
employees or staff on the basis of age, race, religion, sex,
color, disability, or national origin; or

i. Is unable to perform the essential
requirements of a Nursing Home Administrator.

Rule 17.   Complaints and Hearing Procedures.
The procedure for the investigation and prosecution of

alleged violations of this chapter and these Rules and
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Regulations, shall be set forth in 29 Del. C. Sec. 8810.

Rule 18.   Reciprocity.
A. The Board, at its discretion, and otherwise subject

to the law pertaining to the licensing of a Nursing Home
Administrator prescribing the qualifications for a Nursing
Home Administrator license, may endorse a Nursing Home
Administrator license issued by the proper authorities of any
other State, upon payment of the regular established fee and
upon submission of evidence satisfactory to the Board that:

1. The applicant is at least 21 years of age,
2. The applicant submits a letter of good standing

from another state as a Nursing Home Administrator by a
regulatory body whose purpose is to regulate the
qualifications of Nursing Home Administrators,

3. The applicant has taken the National
Association of Boards of Examiners (NAB) examination and
that the applicant’s score on the NAB examination is equal
to or exceeds the Board’s requirement for this test,

4. The applicant meets all current Delaware
requirements as set forth in Rule 7,

5. Such applicant for endorsement holds a valid
license as a Nursing Home Administrator, which has not
been revoked or suspended as such in each State from which
he/she has ever received a Nursing Home Administrator
license or reciprocal endorsement; provided, however, that
the Board may waive this requirement if upon submission of
evidence to the Board, the Board is satisfied that the
applicant has been rehabilitated.

B. The Board shall also have the power after due
notice and an opportunity to be heard at a formal hearing, to
revoke or suspend the endorsement of a Nursing Home
Administrator license issued to any person upon evidence
satisfactory to the Board that the duly constituted authorities
of any State have lawfully revoked or suspended the Nursing
Home Administrator license issued to such person by such
State.

Rule 19.   Restoration and Reinstatement of License.
A. Restoration of a license may be considered after a

period of one year from the revocation or suspension date by
the Board, at its discretion, upon submission of evidence
satisfactory to the Board that the grounds for suspension or
revocation has been removed, except where the grounds are
for a felony or conviction of Medicaid or Medicare fraud.

B. Upon denial of such application for restoration of a
license, the Board shall grant the applicant a formal hearing
upon request, in accordance with the Administrative
Procedures Act.

Rule 20.   Display of Licenses.
Every person licensed as a Nursing Home Administrator

shall display such license in a conspicuous place in the office
or place of business or employment.

Rule 21.   Duplicate Licenses.
Upon receipt of satisfactory evidence that a license has

been lost, mutilated or destroyed, the Board may issue a
duplicate license.  The duplication fee is set by the Delaware
Division of Professional Regulation.

Rule 22.   Applicability, Legal Effect, Severability.
A. The Rules and Regulations of the Board shall be

supplemental to the law providing for the licensing of
Nursing Home Administrators and shall have the force and
effect of Law.

B. Every rule, regulation, order and directive adopted
by the Board shall state the date on which it takes effect and
a copy thereof signed by the President of the Board and the
Secretary of the Board shall be filed as a public record in the
office of the Board and as may be required by Law.

C. The Rules and Regulations of the Board are
intended to be consistent with the applicable Federal and
State Law and shall be reviewed, whenever necessary, to
achieve such consistency.

D. In the event that any provision of these Rules and
Regulations is declared unconstitutional or invalid, or the
application thereof to any person or circumstance is held
invalid, the applicability of such provision to other persons
and circumstances and the constitutionality or validity of
every other provision of these Rules and Regulations shall
not be affected thereby.

E. These Rules and Regulations shall not affect
pending actions or proceedings, civil or criminal, but the
same may be prosecuted or defended in the same manner and
with the same effect as though these Rules and Regulations
had not been promulgated.

F. The Board shall furnish copies of these Rules and
Regulations and Amendments thereof for a fee set by the
Delaware Division of Professional Regulation, except, the
Board may, at its discretion, provide one free copy to each
nursing home, health related organization, educational
institutions, State or Federal Government units and other
public or noncommercial agencies or concerns.

G. Amendments to these Rules and Regulations of the
Board shall be made only at a regularly called meeting
thereof by a majority vote of all members of the Board.  No
amendment shall be acted upon unless said amendment was
presented at a prior meeting and unless notice has been given
to the members of the Board that said amendment is to be
acted upon at a particular meeting of the Board.

H. These Rules and Regulations shall take effect the
first day of December, 1982.
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Section 3506(a)(1) (24 Del.C. 3506(a)(1))

Order Adopting Rules and Regulations

AND NOW, this 10th day of January, 2000, in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118 and for the reasons stated
hereinafter, the Board of Examiners of Psychologists of the
State of Delaware (hereinafter “the Board”) enters this Order
adopting Rules and Regulations.

Nature of the Proceedings

The Board proposes to amend an existing rule, Rule
5.1.1.3, by adding a provision requiring prior approval by the
Board before an applicant can sit for the Examination for
Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP).  This proposed
rule addition is promulgated pursuant to the Board’s
authority under 24 Del.C. §§3506(a)(1) and 3506(a)(4).  The
purpose of the proposed addition to Rule 5.1.1.3 is to require
candidates for the EPPP examination to submit all
application materials to the Board for its review and
approval prior to sitting for the examination.  Notice of the
public hearing on the Board’s proposal was published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations on November 1, 1999 and
in two Delaware newspapers of general circulation, all in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10115.  The public hearing was
held as noticed on December 6, 1999.  The Board deliberated
and voted on the proposed rule following the public hearing
at the December 6, 1999 meeting.  This is the Board’s
Decision and Order ADOPTING the addition to Rule 5.1.1.3
as proposed.

Evidence and Information Submitted at Public Hearing

The Board received no written comments in response to
the notice of its intention to adopt the proposed rule addition.
No members of the public attended the December 6, 1999
public hearing.  One document was marked as a Board
exhibit at the hearing: a copy of a June 9, 1999 letter from
the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards
(ASPPB) to the Board which outlined ASPPB’s requirement
that only candidates approved for licensure be allowed to
take the EPPP exam in Delaware.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

As outlined in the preceding section, the public was
given the required notice of the Board’s intention to adopt a
regulation and was offered an adequate opportunity to
provide the Board with comments on the proposed

regulation. The Board concludes that its consideration of the
proposed Rule and Regulation is within the Board’s general
authority to promulgate regulations under 24 Del.C.
§3506(1).  Additional statutory authority for the Board’s
adoption of the rule addition is found at 24 Del. C. §3506(4)
which specifically requires that the Board “shall adopt the
administration, grading procedures and passing score of the
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards
(ASPPB) . . . .”

ASPPB, as explained in its letter of June 9, 1999 to the
Board, permits only approved candidates for licensure to sit
for the EPPP examination.  ASPPB expressed concern with
the Board’s current procedure of reviewing licensure
applications after the examination, which conflicts with
ASPPB policies.  ASPPB also expressed concern about risks
to exam security under the current procedures.  The Board is
bound by statute to adopt the administration procedures of
ASPPB with regard to exam administration.  As a result of
this, and because of the Board’s concerns over proper
examination procedure and exam security, the Board
believes that the proposed rule will ensure compliance with
ASPPB’s requirements, ensure that only qualified candidates
sit for the examination in Delaware, and enhance exam
security.

In summary, the Board concludes that the proposed
addition to its Rules and Regulations is necessary for the
enforcement of 24 Del.C. Chapter 35, and for the full and
effective performance of the Board’s duties under that
Chapter. The Board also finds that adopting the regulation as
proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the State of
Delaware, particularly those persons who are the direct
recipients of services regulated by the Board.  The Board,
therefore, adopts the proposed addition to Rule 5.1.1.3, as set
forth in Exhibit “A” attached hereto.

Order

NOW, THEREFORE, by unanimous vote of a quorum
of the Board of Examiners of Psychologists, IT IS HEREBY
ORDERED THAT:

1. The proposed addition to Rule and Regulation
5.1.1.3  is approved and adopted in the exact text attached
hereto as Exhibit “A”.

2. The effective date of this Order is ten (10) days
from the date of its publication in the Delaware Register of
Regulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(e).

3. The Board reserves the jurisdiction and authority to
issue such other and further orders in this matter as may be
necessary or proper.

By Order of the Board of Examiners of Psychologists
(as authenticated by a quorum of the Board):

Edward S. Wilson, Ph.D., President, Professional Member
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Constance Dancu, Ph.D., Vice-President,
Professional Member

Sharon L. Mitchell, Ph.D., Secretary, Professional Member
Peter B. Appel, Ph.D., Professional Member
Bobby Benjamin, Public Member
Kulendu Bole, Public Member
Shirley Reichelt, Public Member
William Ulmer, Jr., M.Ed., Professional Member

Board of Examiners of Psychologists

1.0 General Rules and Regulations
The Board of Examiners of Psychologists has been

established under the 24 Del.C. Ch. 35, and current
amendments to that Law.  Within the framework of the Law,
the Board has the responsibility for interpreting and
implementing the legal provisions and requirements of the
Law through the establishment of operating Rules and
Regulations.  The Board and the public may propose
changes in the Rules and Regulations in accordance with the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.

2.0 Official Board Office
The official office of the Board of Examiners shall be in

Dover in the Division of Professional Regulation and all
correspondence must be addressed to this office in written
form before official action can be taken.  In addition, the
Division of Professional Regulation will provide an
Administrative Assistant who will take notes at Board
meetings, keep the records for the Board, and serve as a
liaison between the Board and members of the public who
have questions for the Board.  The Division of Professional
Regulation will also set fees to defray the cost of regulation.

3.0 Meetings of the Board
The Board will hold such meetings during the year as it

may deem necessary to review licensure applications and
psychological assistant applications, evaluate continuing
education, hold disciplinary hearings, or conduct other
Board business.  Either the President, or the majority of the
Board may call a Board meeting. The Division of
Professional Regulation, Board members, and the public
shall be notified of the meeting agenda, time and location in
accordance with the Freedom of Information Act.

4.0 Officers of the Board
The Board elects its own officers at the first meeting of

each calendar year.  The President of the Board sets the
agendas of the meetings, chairs meetings, and represents the
Board at state regulatory meetings, the American
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards, and
other organizations that may interface with the Board unless
someone else is designated to attend in place of the
President.  The Vice President or Secretary acts for the

President in the President’s absence.  The Secretary of the
Board, in conjunction with the Administrative Assistant
from the Division of Professional Regulation, is responsible
for taking care of Board correspondence.

5.0 Procedures for Licensure
5.1 Application - Initial Licensure

An applicant who is applying for licensure as a
psychologist shall submit evidence showing that he/she
meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. 3508.  The applicant
must submit the following:

5.1.1  An pplication for licensure, which shall
include:

5.1.1.1  Academic credentials documented by
official transcripts showing completion of an educational
program meeting the requirements of 24 Del.C. 3508(a)(1).

5.1.1.2  Supervised experience documented by
having each supervisor complete a Supervisory Reference
Form.

5.1.1.3  Evidence that the applicant passed the
written “Examination for Professional Practice in
Psychology”, developed by the Association of State and
Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB), by achieving the
passing score recommended by the ASPPB at the time of the
application for licensure.  Candidates who are not licensed in
any other state must have passed the written examination
within five (5) years of application for licensure in
Delaware.  Applicants who have not taken the examination
must submit all other required documents to the Board for
review prior to sitting for the examination.  Only  those
applicants the Board determines are otherwise eligible for
Delaware licensure shall be approved to sit for the
examination, subject to the administration policies and
procedures of the ASPPB.  After sitting for the examination,
applicants must supplement their application materials by
submitting evidence of their passing score as recommended
by the ASPPB. 

5.1.1.4  Verification that the applicant has no
past or pending disciplinary proceedings.  [24 Del.C.
3508(a)(4)]

5.1.1.5  The application shall not be considered
complete until all materials are received by the Board for
review at an officially scheduled meeting.  The applicant
will have twelve (12) months from the date of initial
submission of the application and fee to complete the
application process.

5.1.2  Completed certification form.  The applicant
will be notified, once his/her application is complete and
available for the Board’s review.  The certification form
must be submitted before any further action can be taken.

5.2 Application - By Reciprocity
An applicant who is applying for licensure as a

psychologist by reciprocity, as defined in 24 Del.C. 3511,
shall submit evidence that he/she meets the following
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requirements:
5.2.1  An application for licensure, which shall

include:
5.2.1.1  Evidence that the applicant is licensed

or certified in another state and that the applicant has
practiced continuously, as a doctoral-level psychologist, in
good standing in that jurisdiction for two (2) years.

5.2.1.2  Evidence that the applicant passed the
written Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology
(EPPP) by achieving the passing score, as required by their
state of original licensure.

5.2.2  Completed certification form.  The applicant
will be notified once his/her application is complete and
available for the Board’s review.  The certification form
must be submitted before any further action can be taken.

6.0 Evaluation of Credentials
6.1 Candidates for licensure as psychologists in the

State of Delaware shall:
6.1.1  Have received a doctoral degree based on a

program of studies which is psychological in content and
specifically designed to train and prepare psychologists.  The
doctoral degree must be from  a college or university,
accredited as required by 24 Del.C. 3508(a)(1) having a
graduate program which states its purpose to be the training
and preparation of psychologists. The Board will consider
programs to be psychological in  content by the criteria
established by the joint designation project of the
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards and
the Council for the National Register of Health Service
Providers in Psychology, as follows:

6.1.1.1  Programs that are accredited by the
American Psychological Association are recognized as
meeting the definition of a professional psychology
program.  The criteria for accreditation serves as a model for
professional psychology training.

6.1.1.2  Or, all of the following criteria, (1)
through (9):

6.1.1.2.1 Training in professional
psychology is doctoral training offered in a regionally
accredited institution of higher education.

6.1.1.2.2  The program, wherever it may
be administratively housed,  must be clearly identified and
labeled as a psychology program.  Such program must
specify in pertinent institutional catalogues and brochures its
intent to educate and train professional psychologists.

6.1.1.2.3  The psychology program must
stand as a recognizable, coherent organizational entity
within the institution.

6.1.1.2.4  There must be a clear authority
and primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas
whether or not the program cuts across administrative lines.

6.1.1.2.5  The program must be an
integrated, organized sequence of study.

6.1.1.2.6  There must be an identifiable
psychology faculty and a psychologist responsible for the
program.

6.1.1.2.7  The program must include a
body of students who are matriculated in  that program for a
degree.

6.1.1.2.8  The program must include
supervised  practicum, internship,  field or laboratory
training appropriate to the practice of psychology.

6.1.1.2.9  The curriculum shall encompass
a minimum of three (3) academic years of full time graduate
study.  In addition to instruction in scientific and
professional ethics and standards research design and
methodology, statistics, and psychometrics, the  core
program shall require each student to demonstrate
competence in each of the following substantive content
areas.  This typically will be met by including a minimum of
three or more graduate semester hours (5 or more graduate
quarter hours) in each of these 4 substantive content areas:

6.1.1.2.9.1  Biological bases of
behavior:  Physiological psychology, comparative
psychology, neuropsychology, sensation and perception,
psychopharmacology. 

6.1.1.2.9.2  Cognitive-affective bases
of behavior: Learning, thinking, motivation, emotion. 

6.1.1.2.9.3  Social bases of behavior:
Social psychology, group processes, organizational and
systems theory.

6.1.1.2.9.4 Individual differences:
Personality theory, human development, abnormal
psychology.  

6.1.1.3  In addition, all professional education
programs in psychology will include course requirements in
specialty areas.

6.2  Have had, after receiving the doctoral degree, at
least 2 years of supervised experience in psychological work
satisfactory to the Board; and

6.3 Have achieved the passing score on the written
standardized Examination for Professional Practice in
Psychology (EPPP) developed by the Association of State
and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) or its successor;
or

6.4 The Board will qualify for licensing without
examination any person who applies for licensure and who is
a Diplomate of the American Board of Professional
Psychology.  All such applicants must meet all other
requirements for licensure.

7.0 Supervised Experience
The types of supervision pertinent to licensure as a

psychologist or registration as a psychological assistant are
comprised of three types of supervisory experiences:

7.1 Predoctoral internship supervision as required by
doctoral programs in psychology.  The predoctoral
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internship consists of a minimum of 1,500 hours of actual
work experience completed in not less than 48 weeks, nor
more than 104 weeks.  At least 50% of the predoctoral
supervised experience must be in clinical services such as
treatment, consultation, assessment, and report writing, with
at least 25% of that time devoted to face-to-face direct
patient/client contact.  No more than 25% of time shall be
allocated for research.

7.2 Postdoctoral supervision is required for initial
licensure as a psychologist. Postdoctoral experience must
consist of 3,000 hours of actual work experience.  This
experience is to be completed in not less than two years and
not more than three calendar years, save for those covered
under Section 3519(e).  For those individuals the accrual of
3,000 hours of supervised postdoctoral experience must take
place within six calendar years from the time of hire.  There
is to be one hour of face-to-face supervision for every 1-10
hours of clinical work.  This experience shall consist of at
least twenty-five percent and not more than sixty percent of
the time devoted to direct service per week in the area of the
applicant’s academic training. “Direct service” consists of
any activity defined as the practice of psychology or the
supervision of graduate students engaging in activities
defined as the practice of psychology. Not more than 25% of
this supervision can be done by other licensed mental health
professionals besides psychologists.  

The purpose of the postdoctoral supervision is to
train psychologists to practice at an independent level.  This
experience should be an organized educational and training
program with explicit goals and a clear plan to meet those
goals.  There should be regular written evaluations based on
this program.  

7.3 Supervision of psychological assistants is required
at the frequency of one hour of face-to-face supervision for
every 1-10 hours of clinical work by the psychological
assistants, as required by Section 9 of the Rules and
Regulations.  An individual registered as a psychological
assistant may or may not be receiving supervision in pursuit
of independent licensure as a psychologist.

7.4 A psychologist providing either postdoctoral
supervision or supervision of psychological assistants must
have been in practice for two years post licensure in this or
any other state without having been subject to any
disciplinary actions.  He/she must provide 24-hour
availability to both the supervisee and the supervisee’s
clients, or ensure that adequate alternative coverage is
provided in the supervisor’s absence. The supervising
psychologist shall have sufficient knowledge of all clients
including face-to-face contact when necessary and must be
employed or under contract in the setting where the clinical
service takes place and the supervision must occur within
that setting.

8.0 Failure to Pass Examination
Applicants may take the Examination for the

Professional Practice in Psychology as many times as they
choose.  Intervals between testing will be determined by the
testing agency and the ASPPB.

9.0 Psychological Assistants
9.1 A psychological assistant is an individual who

meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. Section 3509(2a-2e).
This individual may be registered as a psychological
assistant in order to receive supervision to be eligible for
later licensure to practice independently as a psychologist
and/or for any other reason as recognized by law. 

9.2 Psychological assistants are supervised, directed,
and evaluated by a Delaware licensed psychologist who
assumes professional and legal responsibility for the services
provided.  

9.2.1  Any Delaware licensed psychologist who has
had a least two (2) years of experience following the
granting of licensure in this or in any other state may
supervise a maximum of seven (7) psychological assistants.  

9.2.2  It is the responsibility of the supervising
psychologist in conjunction with the psychological assistant
to diagnose and form treatment plans for patients seen by the
psychological assistant and to file such plan in the patient/
client’s chart.  

9.2.3  The patient/client must be informed that
services are being delivered by a psychological assistant and
that the licensed psychologist is responsible for the
treatment.  

9.2.4  The patient/client shall sign a statement of
informed consent attesting that he/she understands that the
services are being delivered by a psychological assistant and
that the licensed psychologist is ultimately responsible for
his/her treatment. This document shall include the
supervising psychologist’s name and the telephone number
where he/she can be reached.  One copy shall be filed with
the patient/client’s record and another given to the patient.  

9.3 The Delaware licensed psychologist is identified as
the legally and ethically responsible party in all advertising,
public announcements, and billings.  In addition, billings and
advertisements will clearly indicate that the service is being
provided by a psychological assistant.  All treatment and
evaluation reports prepared by the psychological assistant
must be signed by the psychologist and the psychological
assistant.

9.4 The Delaware licensed psychologist who accepts
the responsibility of using a psychological assistant shall
develop and maintain a current, written job description
delineating the range and type of duties, educational
practicum and clinical experience to be assigned to the
psychological assistant, limits of independent action,
emergency procedures for contacting the  supervising
psychologist, and the amount and type of supervision to be
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provided.  This job description must be signed by the
psychologist and the psychological assistant and will be filed
in the Division of Professional Regulation, along with an
official copy of the psychological assistant’s college
transcript, and proof of a 450-hour clinical practicum
supervised by a licensed psychologist or by a faculty
member in a nationally accredited doctoral level clinical
training program in the State of Delaware who is actively
pursuing licensure.  The psychological assistant will also
provide a statement under oath as outlined in 24 Del.C.
3509(b1 - b3).  

9.5 The Board will then review credentials, job
description and supervisory arrangements, and if the
arrangements are acceptable, will inform the psychologist in
writing that the psychological assistant can begin work.  No
psychological assistant shall begin work until the Board has
approved the application. Registration for psychological
assistants expires biennially and continued performance of
the duties of a psychological assistant requires proof of
twenty (20) hours of continuing education and payment of
the renewal fee.

9.6 Supervision of the psychological assistant by the
Delaware licensed psychologist is to be a regular and formal
process.  It is required that the licensed psychologist and the
psychological assistant have weekly one-on-one, face-to-
face supervision with review of each case served by the
psychological assistant. The supervising psychologist should
be familiar with each patient/client seen by the psychological
assistant and with the ongoing progress of treatment.  One
hour of supervision for every ten hours, or fraction thereof,
of direct clinical work by the psychological assistant is
required as a minimum.  For example, if a psychological
assistant provides eight (8) hours of direct clinical service,
he or she must receive a minimum of one (1) hour of
supervision.  Likewise, a psychological assistant, who has
fifteen (15) hours of direct clinical contact, must receive at
least two (2) hours of supervision.  This supervision must be
documented in writing on patient records.  In addition, the
supervising psychologist shall submit at the time of
relicensure and at the termination of the supervision
relationship a supervision report on a form provided by the
Board which will become a part of the public record.  It will
contain information describing the date and amount of
supervision and any unscheduled supervisory contact, as
well as a brief assessment of the psychological assistant’s
functioning. The Board will consider requests to substitute
group supervision for some portion of the one-to-one, face-
to-face supervision requirement.  A supervising psychologist
must petition the Board and show good cause for this
substitution.   If the supervising psychologist’s request is
granted, no more than five (5) psychological assistants may
meet with the supervising psychologist at one time and there
must be two (2) hours of group supervision in place of every
one (1) hour of individual supervision.  All psychological

assistants must have at least one (1) hour of individual
supervision per week.  The Board reserves the right to
withdraw their permission for the substitution at any time.  

9.7 Psychological Assistants are to work in the office of
the licensed psychologist so as to have regular and continued
supervision.  When the licensed psychologist is not in the
office, he or she is expected to provide clear contingency
plans for consultation for the psychological assistant.  It is
assumed that the psychologist will be available to the
psychological assistant under most circumstances; therefore,
arrangements in which the supervising psychologist is
employed full time elsewhere will not be approved, unless it
can be demonstrated that there will be adequate supervision
and contingency coverage of the psychological assistant.
Supervising psychologists will be expected to describe in
their application for the psychological assistant how much
supervision they will provide and how that supervision will
be provided.

9.8 Psychological assistants who work for agencies
must be supervised by a psychologist employed by or under
contract to the agency.  Supervision must occur on site, and
the agency must have clearly spelled out plans for providing
consultation and backup when the supervising psychologist
is not on site.  A psychological assistant, who provides
services that are under the direction of different
psychologists, must be registered as a psychological
assistant by all of the psychologists who are directly
supervising the clinical work.

9.9 When there is a complaint of incompetent,
improper, or unethical behavior on the part of the
psychological assistant, in addition to the disciplinary action
against the psychological assistant, disciplinary action may
be taken against the supervising psychologist for failing to
provide adequate supervision of the psychological assistant.
The Board reserves the right to suspend or revoke the
Delaware licensed psychologist's privilege of hiring a
psychological assistant when just cause has been established
through a formal hearing. Violation of this regulation may
constitute cause for suspending or revoking the future
privilege of hiring a psychological assistant.

9.10  Patients/clients are always the responsibility of the
supervising psychologist.  Termination or transfer plans
must be worked out with the approval of the supervising
psychologist.  A  psychological assistant will be considered
to be working for the supervising psychologist until the
Board of Examiners is notified in writing of the change in
arrangements.  The letter terminating a psychological
assistant arrangement must also specify when the
supervising  psychologist is terminating the arrangement
because of concerns about the ethical or professional
behavior of the psychological assistant. 

10.0  Continuing Education
10.1  Psychologists must obtain 40 hours of continuing
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education every two years in order to be eligible for renewal
of license.  Psychologists will be notified in January that
they may submit their documentation beginning March 1st.
Continuing education credit must be submitted for the period
of August 1st of the year of renewal to July 31st of the
second year.  Individuals licensed within the two year period
will be notified by the Board of the prorated amount to
submit.

10.2  Psychological assistants must obtain 20 hours of
continuing education every two years for re-registration.
Psychological assistants may submit their documentation
beginning March 1st.  The appropriate period for credits to
be accrued is from August 1st of the year of renewal to July
31st of the second year. Psychological assistants registered
within the two year period will be notified by the Board of
the prorated amount to submit.

10.3  Psychologists or psychological assistants who
have not submitted their material by July 31st will be
allowed  to reapply for licensure or registration  until August
31st.  In the situation where the appropriate amount of
documentation has been submitted in a timely fashion and in
good faith and with reasonable expectation of renewal, but
has been found to be inadequate, the practitioner has 30 days
from the notification of inadequacy to submit valid
continuing education credit in the amount specified, or until
August 31st of that year, whichever is later.

10.4  It is the responsibility of the psychologist or
psychological assistant to file a record of his/her continuing
education.  Documentation of continuing education will
consist of letters/certificates of attendance from the
sponsoring entity.

10.5  The subject of the continuing education must
contribute directly to the professional competency of a
person licensed to practice as a psychologist or registered as
a psychological assistant.  The activity must have significant
intellectual or practical content and deal with psychological
techniques, issues or ethical standards relevant to the
practice of psychology.

10.6  Activities from APA-approved continuing
education sponsors will be automatically accepted. The
following may be eligible:

10.6.1  Other programs which are not APA-
approved sponsors but where the material is relevant to
professional practice and provides the equivalent of APA-
defined credit.  An applicant must provide a brochure or
other documentation that supports the following criteria:
relevance, stated objectives, faculty and educational
objectives.  To document attendance and completion, a
certificate of attendance is required.  In these circumstances,
hours will be accrued on the basis of clock hours involved in
the training.

10.6.2  Graduate courses relevant to professional
practice taken for educational credit offered by a regionally
accredited academic institution of higher education.  Each

credit hour of a course is equivalent to 5 CE hours.
10.6.3  Teaching an undergraduate or graduate level

course in applied psychology at an accredited institution.
Teaching a 3 hour semester or quarter course is considered
the equivalent of 5 CE credits.  No more than 5 CE credits
may be completed in this manner for any renewal period and
can be submitted only for the first time that a course is
presented.  Appropriate documentation of teaching must
include the listing of the course in the school catalog and a
letter from the academic institution stating that the course
was taught.

10.6.4  Teaching of a workshop or conduction of a
seminar on a topic of pertinence to the practice of
psychology.  Credit earned for one day is a maximum of 2
credits, two days is a maximum of 3 credits, and three days
or more is a maximum of 5 credits.  However, credit can be
earned only once for teaching a particular seminar or
workshop and not be eligible for re-submission at any time.
Appropriate documentation is considered to be the brochure
and demonstration of the workshop being held by the
sponsoring entity.

10.6.5  Authorship, editing or reviewing of a
publication.  Credit may be earned only in the year of the
publication and is limited to the following:

10.6.5.1  Author of a book (maximum of 40 CE
hours)

10.6.5.2  Author of a book chapter or journal
article (maximum of 15 CE hours)

10.6.5.3  Editor of a book (maximum of 25 CE
hours)

10.6.5.4  Editor of or reviewer for a scientific
or professional journal recognized by the Board (maximum
25 CE hours)

10.6.5.5  Proof of the above (10.6.5.1 -
10.6.5.4) must include the submission of the work or
documentation of authorship by copy of title pages.
 10.6.6  Preparing and presenting a scientific or
professional paper or poster at a meeting of a professional or
scientific  organization.  Up to 2 hours may be claimed for a
poster presentation.  Up to 3 hours of credit may be claimed
for each hour of paper presentation, with a maximum of 8
CE hours per paper. Listing within the program and
certificate letters of attendance at the meeting is appropriate
documentation for both a paper or poster presentation.

10.7 The Board reserves the right to reject any CE
program, if it is outside the scope of the practice of
psychology.

10.8 The following will not be considered for credit:
service to organizations; attending business meetings of
professional organizations; business management or office
administration courses; group supervision; or case
conferences.  
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11.0 Professional Conduct
Psychologists and psychological assistants may be

disciplined for violations of provisions of 24 Del.C. 3514.
 
12.0  Complaint Procedures

12.1  Complaints against psychologists and
psychological assistants will be investigated as provided by
29 Del.C. 8807 and all hearings shall be conducted in
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 29
Del.C. Chapter 101.

12.2  Complaints must be filed, in writing, with the
Division of Professional Regulation.

13.0  License Renewal
Renewal notices will be mailed in a timely fashion to all

psychologists and psychological assistants who are currently
licensed or registered.  Continuing education requirements
must be fulfilled as detailed in Section 10 of the Rules and
Regulations and submitted along with the established fee for
renewal to be approved.  Should any psychologist fail to
renew and continue to make representation as a licensed
psychologist beyond July 31st, that individual is practicing
without a license.  Should any psychological assistant fail to
renew and continue to make representation as a registered
psychological assistant beyond July 31st, that individual is
considered no longer to be registered, and his/her
supervising psychologist is in violation of the law.

14.0  Procedures for Licensure Applicable to Full Time
Faculty Members in a Nationally Accredited Doctoral Level
Clinical Training Program in the State of Delaware

14.1  University faculty employed full time in a
nationally accredited doctoral level clinical training program
in the State of Delaware, as specified in 24 Del.C. 3519(e),
who are not licensed, are subject to the following rules and
regulations:

14.1.1  Notification.  Such individuals must notify
the Board of Examiners of Psychologists no later than 30
days after the commencement of employment, indicating
employer, position and date employment began.  At that time
they will receive a copy of the statute and Rules and
Regulations which detail the exemption under which they
operate.

14.1.2  Professional Activities.  These individuals
may participate in activities defined by statute as the practice
of psychology (including the supervision of matriculated
graduate students) only within the context of a clinical
training program.  They may conduct any research and
teaching activities related to the activities of such a program.

14.1.3  Education.  Such individuals must have
completed the doctoral degree at the time employment
commences consistent with 24 Del.C. 3508(a).

14.1.4  Active Pursuit of Licensure.  Such
individuals are required to be in active pursuit of licensure

for a period not to exceed six (6) years.  The six year time
frame for the completion of licensure requirements
commences with the initial date of employment.  The six-
year time frame for individuals employed as of June 12,
1995 commenced on that date.

14.1.5  Supervision.  The supervised experience
required for licensure of such individuals is described in
Section 7 of the Rules and Regulations.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

Regulatory Implementing Order

K-12 Comprehensive Health Education and Family Life 
Education

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend the regulation K-12
Comprehensive Health Education and Family Life
Education Policy, pages A-39-41 in the Handbook for K-12
Education.  The amended regulation retains most of the
elements found in the original regulation but no longer
requires the school districts to submit a separate plan for
their health education program.  The title has been changed
and now focuses on comprehensive health education as
including family life education.  The amended regulation
also recognizes the relationship of HIV and Drug and
Alcohol Education to the district’s Consolidated Application
planning and evaluation process.  The regulation pulls
together the Federal, State and DOE requirements for a
comprehensive K-12 health education program and includes
the relationship of those programs to the consolidated grant
process.

Notice of the proposed amendment was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on December
13, 1999, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The
notice invited written comments and none were received
from the newspaper advertisements.

II. Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend
this regulation because the regulation needs to be updated
and also to remove an additional and separate planning
activity from the work of the local school districts.

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to amend the regulation.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the
regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby amended.
Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del. C., Section 122(e), the
regulation hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of
five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in
Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
January 20, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be
ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of January, 2000.
Department of Education

Valerie A. Woodruff, Acting Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of January, 2000.
State Board of Education

Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

AS APPEARS IN THE HANDBOOK FOR K-12 
EDUCATION

8. K-12 COMPREHENSIVE HEALTH EDUCATION
AND FAMILY LIFE EDUCATION POLICY

The purpose of this policy is to provide a framework for
a K-12 Comprehensive Health Education and Family Life
Education Program that establishes a foundation for
understanding the relationships between personal behavior
and health.

a. Each school district shall have in place by
September 1, 1990 a Comprehensive Health Education and
Family Life Education Program that includes the following

minimum hours of instruction:
(1) In grades K-4, a minimum of thirty (30)

hours in each grade of Comprehensive Health Education and
Family Life Education of which ten (10) hours, in each
grade, must address Drug/Alcohol Education.

(2) In grades 5 and 6, a minimum of thirty-
five (35) hours in each grade of Comprehensive Health
Education and Family Life Education of which fifteen (15)
hours, in each grade, must address Drug/Alcohol Education.

(3) In grades 7 and 8, separate from other
subject areas, a minimum of sixty (60) hours of
Comprehensive Health Education of which fifteen (15)
hours, in each grade, must address Drug/Alcohol Education.
If all of the 60 hours are provided in one year at grade 7 or 8,
an additional fifteen hours of Drug/Alcohol Education must
be provided in the other grade.

(4) In grades 9-12, one-half (1/2) credit of
Comprehensive Health Education is required for graduation
of which fifteen (15) hours of this 1/2 credit course must
address Drug/Alcohol Education.  This 1/2 credit course
may be provided in the 9th, 10th, 11th or 12th grade.  In each
of the remaining three grades, fifteen (15) hours of Drug/
Alcohol Education must be provided for all students.

b. Each school district shall have in place by
September 1991 a written plan describing their K-12
Comprehensive Health Education and Family Life
Education Program.

(1) The plan shall be submitted to the
Department of Public Instruction for review and approval by
July 1, 1991.  Any changes or revisions to the approved
district plan shall be submitted to the Department of Public
Instruction, Improvement and Assistance Branch, as they
occur.  The approved plan should be updated at least every
five years.  The plan shall:

(a) identify a district level person to
coordinate the district program and a coordinator in each
building to carry out the district program at the building
level.

(b) identify a district advisory committee
composed of teachers, parents, school nurses, community
leaders, guidance counselors, law enforcement officers and
any others interested in the areas of health, family life and
substance abuse issues.  (This committee may also serve as
the Advisory Committee for the Federal Drug Education
Project proposal.  Names of the members are to be submitted
each year with the Federal Drug Education Project
proposal.)

(c) describe the course content and
activities for the required hours as described in Part I.

(d) incorporate the health education
content standards for grades K-12 inclusive of sex education
and an HIV prevention program that promotes abstinence.

(e) describe the Drug/Alcohol Education
program for each grade K-12.
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(f) describe how Family Life Education
concepts can be implemented through the current Health
Education and Home Economics Programs in each school
and through other appropriate subject areas.

(g) describe the family life component
which is required in the content standards for middle level
Exploratory Homemaking Programs with emphasis on
parenting and life management skills.

(h) describe the family life component of
the Home Economics Programs provided at the high school
level based on the Vocational Home Economics Content
Standards with emphasis on parenting and life management
skills.

(i) describe the staff development
component for Drug/Alcohol Education.  Three (3) or more
hours of staff training and development are required for each
teacher providing Drug/Alcohol Education at each grade K-
12.

(j) describe those specific staff
development components which address the areas of HIV
Prevention, Sex Education and Family Life Education.

(k) describe the method used to evaluate
the effectiveness of the program.

(2) The Department of Public Instruction will
provide technical assistance to each school district in
developing its plan and in providing the three (3) required
hours of staff development in Drug/Alcohol Education.

(3) The Department of Public Instruction will
monitor the implementation of each district's plan through a
review of the plan, monitoring visits and other data as
deemed necessary.

(State Board Approved September 1987, Revised July 1990)

AS AMENDED

800.25  K-12 COMPREHENSIVE HEALTH EDUCATION
PROGRAM

1.0. Each school district shall have a sequential, skill-
based K-12 Comprehensive Health Education Program that
establishes a foundation of understanding the relationship
between personal behavior and health and shall include at a
minimum the following:

1.1 Identification of a district level person to
coordinate the district program and a coordinator in each
building to assure compliance at the building level.

1.2 Appointment of persons such as teachers,
parents, school nurses, community leaders, guidance
counselors, law enforcement officers and others with
expertise in the areas of health, family life and safe and drug
free schools and communities to serve as members of the
District Consolidated Application Planning Committee.

1.3 The use of the state content standards for health
education for grades K-12 inclusive of the core concepts:

alcohol and other drugs, injury prevention, nutrition,
physical activity, family life and sexuality, tobacco,
emotional health, personal and consumer health and
community and environmental health with minimum hours
of instruction as follows:

1.3.1 In grades K-4, a minimum of thirty
(30) hours in each grade of comprehensive health education
and family life education of which ten (10) hours, in each
grade, must address drug/alcohol education.

1.3.2 In grades 5 and 6, a minimum of
thirty-five (35) hours in each grade of comprehensive health
education and family life education of which fifteen (15)
hours, in each grade, must address drug/alcohol education.

1.3.3 In grades 7 and 8, separate from other
subject areas, a minimum of sixty (60) hours of
comprehensive health education of which fifteen (15) hours,
in each grade, must address drug/alcohol education.  If all of
the 60 hours are provided in one year at grade 7 or 8, an
additional fifteen hours of drug/alcohol education must be
provided in the other grade.

1.3.4 In grades 9-12, one-half (1/2) credit of
comprehensive health education is required for graduation of
which fifteen (15) hours of this 1/2 credit course must
address drug/alcohol education.  This 1/2 credit course may
be provided in the 9th, 10th, 11th or 12th grade.  In each of
the remaining three grades, fifteen (15) hours of drug/
alcohol education must be provided for all students.

1.4 Inclusion of a comprehensive sexuality
education and an HIV prevention program that stresses the
benefits of abstinence from high-risk behaviors.

1.5 Inclusion of the core concepts of nutrition and
family life and sexuality implemented through family and
consumer science/home economics courses.

1.6 An annual staff development plan that
describes the use of effective instructional methods as
demonstrated in sound research in the core concepts and
skills inclusive of accessing information, self-management,
analyzing internal and external influences, interpersonal
communication, decision making and goal setting and
advocacy.

1.7 A description of the method(s) used to
implement and evaluate the effectiveness of the program
which shall be reported every three years as part of the
Quality Review for Ensuring School and Student Success.
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Regulatory Implementing Order

Repeal of Regulations from the Handbook of Personnel 
Administration for Delaware School Districts

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to repeal the following
regulations from the Handbook of Personnel Administration
for Delaware School Districts.

Delayed Certification, pages 7-1 and 7-2 in the
Handbook of Personnel Administration for Delaware School
Districts, should be repealed because it is addressed in
Chapter 4, A3, page 24, Receipt of Credentials for Persons in
the Delaware Public School System, in the General
Regulations of the Manual for Certification of Public School
Personnel.

Sub Standard Certification, pages 7-1 and 7-2 in the
Handbook of Personnel Administration for Delaware School
Districts, should be repealed because it is now called a
Temporary Certificate and is found in Chapter 2, A 4, Page
12, in the General Regulations of the Manual for
Certification of Public School Personnel.

Provisional Certificate, page 7-2 in the Handbook of
Personnel Administration for Delaware School Districts,
should be repealed because the certificate no longer exists.

Notice of the proposed repeal of these regulations was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on December 13, 1999, in the form hereto attached as
Exhibit A.  The notice invited written comments and none
were received from the newspaper advertisements.

II. Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to repeal
these regulations because Sub-standard Certification and
Provisional Certificate are already listed in the Handbook of
Personnel Administration for Delaware School Districts as
described above and the Provisional Certificate no longer
exists.

III. Decision to Repeal These Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to repeal these regulations.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the
regulations attached hereto as Exhibit B are hereby repealed.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulations repealed hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be removed from the Handbook of Personnel

Administration for Delaware School Districts.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
January 20, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be
ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of January, 2000.

Department of Education
Valerie A. Woodruff, Acting Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of January, 2000.
State Board of Education

Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

Repeal Of Regulations From The Handbook Of 
Personnel Administration For Delaware School Districts

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to repeal the following
regulations from the Handbook of Personnel Administration
for Delaware School Districts:

Delayed Certification, pages 7-1 and 7-2, is addressed in
Chapter 4, A3, page 24, Receipt of Credentials for Persons in
the Delaware Public School System, in the General
Regulations of the Manual for Certification of Public School
Personnel.

Sub-Standard Certification, pages 7-1 and 7-2, is now
called a Temporary Certificate and is found in Chapter 2,
A4, page 12, in the General Regulations of the Manual for
Certification in Public School Personnel.

Provisional Certificate, page 7-2, is no longer a valid
regulation.

As Appears in the Handbook of Personnel 
Administration for Delaware School Districts

Delayed Certification - If all credentials have not been
received by the State Department of Public Instruction
within one month after beginning service, the applicant shall
be paid on the substitute teachers' salary basis until he is
properly certificated.  The salary will then be determined on
the basis of education, experience and military service, and
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certificate status and will be made retroactive to the time of
beginning service.  (State Board of Education regulation,
June 14, 1972)

Sub-Standard Certification - The table below shows the
salary to be paid or the deductions from salary to be made,
whichever is applicable, on account of the various
substandard certificates:

General Certification Salary

Emergency 80% of the salary set forth for the position 
Provisional 90% of the salary set forth for the position 

(State Board of Education regulation, December 16,1971)

Trade & Industry Certification

Emergency salary for the position minus $400
Provisional salary for the position minus $200

(State Board of Education regulation, June 14, 1972)

Provisional Certificate - In any case where the State portion
of a salary is drawn from several sections of 14 Delaware
Code, Chapter 13, or any other salary provision, the portion
of the salary to be paid to persons holding the provisional
certificate shall be applied to the total salary paid as
authorized by any section or combination of sections in the
law.

(State Board of Education regulation, June 11, 1973)

Regulatory Implementing Order

Amendments to Regulations from the Handbook of 
Personnel Administration for Delaware School Districts

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks to amend the
following four regulations from the Handbook for Personnel
Administration for Delaware School Districts:  Teacher
Work Day, Professional Employees Strikes, Administrator
Contracts, and Permanent File of School Districts.

700.5 Teacher Work Day from pages 11-10 and 11-11
has been amended to remove the technical assistance
language and add clarity to the regulation.

700.6 Professional Employee Strikes from pages 6-1
and 6-2 has been amended to remove the technical assistance
language and to clearly include in a single regulation the part
passed in February 1976 and the part passed in May of 1979.
Language has also been added to 1.2 as follows, “unless such

dues are deducted pursuant to a court order entered for the
purpose of securing the payment of a contempt fine”.

700.7 Administrator Contracts from pages 8-1 to 8-3 has
been amended to eliminate the Del. C. references and the
technical assistance and to add clarity by bringing the
elements together in a more coherent fashion.  The wording
has also been changed to reflect the specific language used in
the sample contract developed by the Department of
Education as per Del. C., Title 14, Section 1094.

700.8 Permanent Files of School Districts from pages 5-
1 to 5-2 has been amended to reflect changes in the way
vacation leave is handled and to make the numbering system
conform to that of other regulations.  The language in 1.7.1
has also been changed to remove the reference to
microfilming as a means for keeping records.  This allows
for the use of the current technology for preserving records.

Notice of the proposed amendments to the regulations
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State
News on December 13, 1999, in the form hereto attached as
Exhibit A.  The notice invited written comments and none
were received from the newspaper advertisements but
communications were received from the Delaware State
Education Association and the Chief School Officers
Association on item 700.5 and from the Colonial School
District on Items 700.5, 700.6, 700.7 and 700.8.  The three
letters are attached.

In response to the concerns expressed in the letters
received the following decisions were made concerning the
amended regulations.

Item 700.5  Teacher Work Day
The Colonial School District wants the teacher work

year converted to hours in order to reflect the pupil calendar,
which is stated in instructional hours (Title 14, Section
1049). This concern had been expressed before and is again
an issue because pending legislation is recommending
adding additional days to the teachers’ work year.  The
Department will convene a work group to deal with the
issue.  DSEA expressed a concern with the phrase in the
regulation, “plus the amount of time required for the
discharge of such duties and services as may be reasonably
expected and required of a member of the professional staff
of a public school”.  DSEA has recommended deleting the
phrase because it is addressed in the local school district
contracts.  The Chief School Officers want to keep this
phrase in the regulation and add an additional phrase stating
that “Teachers are legally bound to perform such activities as
may be reasonably assigned by the district board of
education”. The Acting Secretary is recommending that the
State Board approve the regulation as initially proposed.

Item 700.6 Professional Employees Strikes
The phrase, “unless dues are deducted pursuant to a

court order entered for the purpose of securing the payment
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of a contempt fine” suggested by the Colonial School
District has been added to 1.2 of the regulation.

Item 700.7 Administrator Contracts
The wording of the regulation has been revised to

specifically reflect the original language in the DOE
approved Contract for Administrators and this wording
specifically mentions the local district board’s right to
appoint a hearing officer in contract disputes in response to
the Colonial School District’s concern.  The revised wording
does not change the intent of the regulation.

Item 700.8 Permanent Files of School Districts
The Colonial School District recommended adding

additional types of record keeping beyond microfilming to
reflect today’s technology.  The concern has been addressed
by referring to “secured copies of records” and not
mentioning microfilming thus leaving the means of storing
the records to be defined by the technology available.

II. Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend
these regulations in order to remove the Del. C. references
and the technical assistance language and to update the
references to reflect present practice.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to amend the regulations as
presented.  Therefore, pursuant to Section 122 the
regulations attached hereto as Exhibit B are hereby
amended. Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del. C., Section
122(e), the regulations hereby amended shall be in effect for
a period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulations amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
January 20, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be
ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of January, 2000.

Department of Education
Valerie A. Woodruff, Acting Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of January, 2000.
State Board of Education

Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

AS AMENDED

700.5  Teacher Work Day
1.0 Teacher Work Day – [In compliance with 14 Del.

C., Section 1305(e) the Secretary of Education shall
define a teacher’s work day] [A teacher’s work day shall
be] a minimum of 7 1/2 hours, inclusive of lunch, plus the
amount of time required for the discharge of such duties and
services as may be reasonably expected and required of a
member of the professional staff of a public school.  (14 Del.
C., Section 1305(e) defines the number of teacher work days
per year and 14 Del. C., Section 1328 defines the duty free
period.)

[700.6  Employee Leave
1.0 Sick Leave - Sick leave accumulated by an

employee of any state agency shall be transferred when
said employee begins subsequent employment in a school
district.

1.1 Adjustments for employees who terminate
service prior to the end of the school year shall be made
in the final paycheck.

2.0 Vacation Leave – Accumulated vacation leave
shall be paid upon termination of employment.  The
employee may either remain on the regular payroll until
such time as all vacation time is exhausted, or a lump
sum payment may be made for all unused vacation time
on the employee’s final paycheck.  Accumulated vacation
time shall not be transferred between different
employing state agencies.]

700.[7] [6]  Professional Employee Work Stoppage or Strike
1.0 If it is determined that illegal activity such as a

work stoppage or strike has taken place, the local board
shall:

1.1 Adopt a resolution informing the exclusive
negotiating representative that the employee organization
has violated the terms of 14 Delaware Code, Section 4011,
and that the certification of such organization as the



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 8, TUESDAY,  FEBRUARY 1, 2000

1079

exclusive representative will be revoked at a time to be
determined by the board of education;

1.2 Refrain from making payroll deductions for the
dues of any employee organization, which violated the law
unless such dues are deducted pursuant to a court order
entered for the purpose of securing the payment of a
contempt fine;

1.3 Deduct salary for unexcused absence in
accordance with 14 Delaware Code, Section 1320;

1.4 Execute items 1.2 and 1.3 above in the
preparation of the next regular payroll;

1.5 Require a medical certificate for each
employee absent claiming sick leave during the period of the
strike.

2.0 As a part of any settlement following a strike or
work stoppage, the local board shall not enter into any direct
or implied agreement, which would permit school days lost
because of the strike to be rescheduled. Similarly, the local
board shall not agree to extend the school year or to request
such an extension from the Secretary of Education.

700.[8] [7]  School Administrator Contracts/Agreements
[1.0 Nonrenewal of the Existing Contracts

1.1 Failure on the part of either the
administrator or the employing board to notify the other
in writing by certified mail no later than six months prior
to the end of the contract, of either party’s intent not to
renew the contract will automatically result in one year’s
extension of the existing contract.

2.0 Termination of a Contract with an
Administrator in the Middle of the Contract Period

2.1 Termination of a contract with
administrators may occur by mutual consent of both
parties or by action of the employing Board for good and
just cause provided the Board does not arbitrarily call
for dismissal; but does serve the administrator with
written performance evaluation and a fair hearing before
the Board.

2.2 Failure on the part of the administrator to
comply with the conditions specified in the contract may
result in suspension or revocation of the administrator’s
certificate by the Secretary of Education with right of
appeal to the State Board of Education.]

[1.0 Duties of a School Administrator
1.1 The Administrator shall faithfully perform

those duties which may be assigned by the local Board
and shall serve the School District in a professional
manner.  The Administrator shall observe and comply
with the laws of the State of Delaware and with the
regulations of the State Department of Education and the
local Board as currently in force and as from time to time
amended, enacted or promulgated.

2.0 Nonrenewal of the Existing Contracts/
Agreements

2.1 Failure on the part of the local Board or the
Administrator to notify the other in writing by certified
mail, no later than six (6) months prior to the expiration
of the Agreement, of either party’s intent not to renew
the Agreement, will automatically result in a one year
extension of the existing Agreement.

3.0 Termination of a Contract with a School
Administrator Prior to Expiration of the Agreement

3.1 The Administrator shall not vacate his or
her position during the term of this Agreement without
the written consent of the local Board.

3.2 The local Board shall not terminate the
Contract, prior to the expiration date, except for good
and just cause and shall provide the opportunity for a
fair hearing before the local Board or before a Hearing
Officer designated by the local Board.  Prior to any
hearing in regard to the termination of the
Administrator, the local Board shall serve the
Administrator with a written statement of the reasons for
termination.

3.3 If the local Board designates a Hearing Officer
to conduct such a hearing, a majority of the local Board
shall convene to review the record of the proceedings
before the Hearing Officer and the Hearing Officer’s
report and recommendation to the local Board, and
within fifteen (15) days of the hearing before the Hearing
Officer, shall submit to the Administrator its decision in
writing.

3.4 If the Administrator chooses to be represented
by legal counsel, all legal expenses incurred by the
Administrator in connection with any termination
hearing shall be borne by the Administrator.

3.5 Appeal from a decision of the local Board
concerning the provisions of the Agreement may be made
to the State Board of Education.]

700.8  Permanent File of School Districts
1.0 The Del. C., Title 14, Section 122 (b)(13) requires

local school districts to assure the permanent maintenance of
personnel records of all employees in the school districts of
the State for a period of not less than 40 years.  The records
must include but are not limited to all annual salaries and
sick leave and vacation information.  The following
definitions shall apply and the following procedures shall be
observed:

1.1 "Employee" shall in this case mean any person
whose terms of employment are adequate to qualify the
employee for the earning of credit toward pension.

1.2 "Termination" in this case does not refer only
to retirement but to any reason for the employee to leave the
district.

1.3 Records for all currently employed persons
shall at all times be kept up to date.

1.4 Salary data records shall be for each year of
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employment in the particular school district. (Total salary
paid identified as fiscal or calendar year.)

1.5 The record shall show a statement concerning
sick leave days earned and used under 14 Delaware Code,
Section 1318, showing the number of days available at any
time.

1.6 The record of vacation time for those
employees whose terms of employment provide for earned
vacation.

1.7 In compliance with the provisions of the statute
herein referred to, each school district shall keep at least the
above referenced information concerning each employee
ever employed by the district and this material shall be kept
on file for at least forty years following termination and
preferably on a permanent basis.

1.7.1 For the security of records and the
protection of the personnel for whom the information is
recorded, it is recommended that original records are to be
maintained at the school district for three (3) years after
termination of an employee and a successful audit of such
records.  Records are to be purged according to Bureau of
Archives and Records Management instructions.  A secured
copy of the [microfilmed] record[s] is to be retained
permanently at the State Archives with a copy going back to
the school district.  A second option is that a school district
may retain employee personnel records at the agency for
three (3) years and successful audit of these records and then
have these records placed on [microfiche] [a secured
system] and updated annually.  The secured copy of the
records would be retained permanently at the State Archives
with a copy going back to the school district.  The original
documents are then to be destroyed.

1.7.2 The style and form of the presentation
of material shall be at the discretion of the local school
district except that materials presented to the Division of
Historical and Cultural Affairs are to be grouped first by
district, second by year or block of years, and within the year
or years alphabetically.

1.7.3 The information referred to above
shall be maintained and shall be available at the school
district level for any employee or former employee seeking
that information for a period extending forty years beyond
termination in that district.  (It is recommended that for the
convenience of employees and former employees that school
districts develop a card or other indexed alphabetically
arranged file showing the name of each employee and the
disposition of his or her records.)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

DELAWARE STATE LOTTERY OFFICE

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, 
Section 4805(a) (29 Del.C. 4805(a))

Order

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. §4805(a), the Delaware State
Lottery Office hereby issues this Order regarding proposed
amendments to the Video Lottery Regulations.  Following
notice and a request for public comments, the Lottery makes
the following findings and conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Lottery posted public notice of the proposed
amendments in the Register of Regulations on December 1,
1999 and in the News-Journal and Delaware State News.
The Lottery proposed to amend several provisions of the
existing Video Lottery Regulations.  Regulation 2.0 as
amended would amend the definition of “technology
provider” to include vendors providing services to the video
lottery agents or the Lottery.  Regulations 4.1 and 4.2 as
amended would clarify the licensing process for technology
providers to be consistent with the proposed amendment to
Regulation 2.0.  Regulation 5.1 would be amended to
reference the applicable section of the procurement law in
title 29, chapter 69. Regulation 5.2 would be amended to
include new Regulations 5.2.1 and 5.2.2.  The proposed
amendments would reorder the existing Regulation to clarify
the contractual provisions for technology providers who do
or do not manufacture video lottery machines.  Regulation
5.11 regarding technology provider duties would be
amended to require:  i)supervision of employees in
compliance with Lottery rules;  ii)prompt reporting of
violations of laws to the Lottery;  and iii)compliance with all
other requirements specified by the Director.  Regulation
6.35 would be amended to require video lottery agents to file
with the Director copies of all video lottery related contracts
in excess of $1,000 and to notify the Director of any contract
with a vendor subject to the Lottery’s licensure
requirements.  Regulation 8.2 would be amended to add new
Regulations 8.2.1 through 8.2.5.  Regulation 8.2.1 and 8.2.2
would require video lottery agents to file financial reports as
required by the Lottery.  Regulation 8.2.3 would require
video lottery agents to prepare annual financial statements.
Regulation 8.2.4 would allow the Lottery to prescribe the
reporting forms to be used by the video lottery agents for
reporting purposes.  Regulation 8.2.5 would specify that the
video lottery agents must meet the minimum requirements of
the Lottery’s internal control procedures. 

2. On December 15, 1999, the Lottery received a letter

http://www.state.de.us/finance/index.htm
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from Laura J. Waterland, Esquire of the Disabilities Law
Program of Community Legal Aid Society, Inc. commenting
on the proposed amendments.  The Disabilities Law
Program suggested an amendment to Regulation 5.1 to add
language requiring that a technology provider’s video lottery
machines be accessible to people with disabilities.  As an
alternative, the submission suggested language that the
machines supplied under contract meet current industry
designs as required by state and federal law.  Ms. Waterland
also proposed amendment of Regulation 5.2.1(6) to provide
that the Director shall not certify machines that are not
accessible by people with disabilities or that video lottery
machines meet current industry designs for accessibility.  

3. On December 22, 1999, the Lottery conducted a
public hearing at the Lottery Office.  The Lottery received
no public comments at that hearing.  On December 29, 1999,
the Lottery received a letter from Robert Osgood, the
Chairperson of the Delaware State Council for Persons with
Disabilities.  Mr. Osgood recommended further amendment
of the definition of “technology provider” to require the
Lottery assess video lottery machines to certify accessibility.
Mr. Osgood recommended the addition of a sentence to the
end of Regulation 5.1 or Regulation 5.2.1(6) to essentially
provide that video lottery machines be accessible to persons
with disabilities, or in the alternative, accessible as permitted
by current industry design.

On December 29, 1999, the Lottery received a letter
from Michael Vautrin and Anthony Casdia of Midway Slot
and Simulcast, Harrington, DE.  The submission stated that
the proposed Regulation 6.35 did not specify if the Lottery
had to approve the vendor for suitability prior to the
exchange of goods or services.  The submission also
commented that the $1,000 notification level was too low
and should be raised to $50,000, with a possible narrowing
of the scope of the definition of goods and services.  The
submission also proposed that with regard to Regulation
8.2.5, the Lottery’s “internal controls should be included in
detail as part of the regulations and made available for public
comment.”  

Findings of Fact

4. The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Lottery with comments on the proposed
Regulations.  The evidence received by the Lottery is
summarized in paragraphs #2-3.  

5. The Lottery received no comments or objections to
the proposed amendments to Regulations 2.0, 4.1, 4.2, 5.11,
6.35, 8.2.1, 8.2.2., 8.2.3, or 8.2.4.  The Lottery finds the
proposed amendments necessary and desirable for the
operation of the Lottery and will adopt the Regulations as
proposed.

6. The Lottery has considered the written comments
from the Disabilities Law Program and the Delaware State

Council for Persons with Disabilities concerning the
proposed amendments to the Regulation 5.1 and 5.2.  The
Lottery proposed an amendment to Regulation 5.1 to simply
amend the Regulation to reference the most recent statutory
change to the State procurement laws in 29 Del. C. chapter
69.  The proposed amendment to Regulation 5.2 simply
reordered the Regulation to distinguish the contractual duties
for technology providers and video lottery machine
manufacturers.  Neither of the proposed amendments to
Regulations 5.1 or 5.2 are substantive in nature.  The
proposed written comments from Mr. Osgood and Ms.
Waterland basically requested that the technology provider
regulations be amended to provide that video lottery
machines be accessible or accessible as permitted by current
industry design.  As proposed, these written comments go
beyond the scope of the original proposal to amend
Regulations 5.1 and 5.2.  The written comments do not
object to the proposed amendments to Regulations 5.1 and
5.2 and the Lottery concludes that the Regulations should be
adopted as proposed.  

The proposal suggested by the written submissions
would require the Lottery to renotice a proposed change and
conduct another public hearing.  The Lottery believes this
issue requires further study in order to determine if
additional regulations are necessary.    The Lottery will
determine the status of current industry design standards for
accessibility of video lottery machines and further consider
the proposed amendments on this subject.

Conclusions

9. The proposed amendments were promulgated by
the Lottery Office in accord with its statutory duties and
authority as set forth in 29 Del. C. §4805(a).  The Lottery
concludes the proposed amendments are necessary for the
effective enforcement of 29 Del. C. §4805 and for the full
and efficient performance of the Lottery’s duties thereunder.
The Lottery concludes that the proposed amendments are
consistent with the overall purpose of the Lottery’s Video
Lottery Regulations.  The Lottery concludes that the
proposed amendments are necessary to provide for a
complete and workable set of Regulations in this area.  The
Lottery concludes that the adoption of the proposed
amendments to the Regulations would be in the best interests
of the citizens of the State of Delaware and consonant with
the dignity of the State and general welfare of the people
under §4805(a).

10. The Lottery will adopt the proposed Amended
Regulations pursuant to 29 Del. C. §4805 and 29 Del. C.
§10118.  On proposed Regulation 8.2.5, the proposed
Regulation contains a typographical error and the Lottery
will insert the word “meet” in place of the word “met.”  The
Lottery has considered the written comments of the public
prior to issuance of this Order.  A copy of the adopted



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 8, TUESDAY,  FEBRUARY 1, 2000

1082

amendments to the Regulations is attached as exhibit #1 and
incorporated as part of this Order.

11. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the date of publication of the Order in the Register
of Regulations on February 1, 2000.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 10th day of January, 2000

Wayne Lemons, Director 
Delaware State Lottery Office

Final Amendments to Video Lottery Regulations

2.0 Definitions
“technology provider” – any person or entity, including

video lottery manufacturers, who propose seeks to contract
with a video lottery agent or the agency for the provision of
goods or services, including management services, related to
video lottery operations, the provision of which require a
license pursuant to 29 Del. C. chapter 48.

4.0 Licensing of Technology Providers
….

4.1 As deemed necessary, the Director shall give public
notice of the agency’s intent to select technology providers
of video lottery machines through a request for proposal and
qualifications by advertising in a newspaper of general
circulation in Delaware and in a prominent trade publication
requesting expressions of interest to serve as a technology
provider.  The licensing of a technology provider shall not
serve as the basis of requiring the Director to select the
technology provider under the procurement procedures set
forth in chapter 69 of title 29 of the Delaware Code.

4.2 Each person desiring to obtain a license from the
agency as a technology provider for video lottery games
shall submit a license application on a form specified and
supplied by the agency.  The license application shall,
among other things:

(1) Give notice that the applicant may be required
to submit to a background investigation, the cost of which
must be borne by the applicant…

5.0 Technology Providers:  Contracts;  Requirements;
Duties

5.1 The Director shall, pursuant to the procedures set
forth in chapter 69 of title 29 of  the Delaware Code, enter
into contracts with licensed technology providers as he or
she shall determine to be appropriate, pursuant to which the
technology providers shall furnish by sale or lease to the
State video lottery machines in such numbers and for such
video games as the Director shall approve from time to time
as necessary for the efficient and economical operation of
the Lottery, or convenience of the players, and in accordance
with the agents’ business plans as approved and amended by

the Director.  No single technology provider shall provide
more than 65% of the total number of video lottery machines
at the premises of any agent.  No more than 1,000 video
lottery machines shall be located within the confines of an
agent’s premises unless the Director approves up to an
additional 1,000 machines or other number approved by the
Director as permitted by law.

5.2.1  All contracts with technology providers who
are video lottery machine manufacturers shall include
without limitation, provisions to the following effect:

(1) The technology provider shall furnish a
person to work with the agency and its consultants to provide
assistance as needed in establishing, planning and executing
acceptance tests on the video lottery machines provided by
such technology provider.  Technology provider assistance
shall be provided as requested by the agency in
troubleshooting communication and technical problems that
are discovered when video lottery machines are initially
placed at the agent’s site;

(2) The technology provider shall submit
video lottery machine illustrations, schematics, block
diagrams, circuit analysis, technical and operation manuals,
program source code and object code and any other
information requested by the Director for purposes of
analyzing and testing the video lottery machines.  A
maximum of Twenty Five Dollars ($25) shall be permitted
for wagering on a single play of any video game;

(3) For testing, examination and analysis
purposes, the technology provider shall furnish working
models of video lottery machines, associated equipment, and
documentation at locations designated by the Director.  The
technology provider shall pay all costs of any testing,
examination, analysis and transportation of the video lottery
machines, which may include the entire dismantling of the
machines and some tests that may result in damage or
destruction to one or more electronic components of the
machines.  The agency and its agents shall have no liability
for any such damage or destruction.  The agency may require
that the technology provider provide specialized equipment
or the agency may employ the services of an independent
technical laboratory expert to test the video lottery machine
at the technology provider’s expense;

(4) Technology providers shall submit all
hardware, software, and test equipment necessary for testing
of their video lottery machines, and shall provide the
Director with keys and locks subject to the Director’s
specifications for each approved video lottery machine;

(5) The EPROMs of each video lottery
machine shall be certified to be in compliance with
published specifications;

(6) No video lottery machine shall be put into
use prior to certification of its model by the Director.

5.2.2  All contracts with technology providers shall
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include without limitation, provisions to the following
effect:

(1)  Technology providers shall agree to
promptly report any violation or any facts or circumstances
that may result in a violation of these rules;  provide
immediate access to all its records and its physical premises
for inspection at the request of the Director;  attend all trade
shows or conferences as required by the Director.;  provide
the Director with keys and locks subject to the Director’s
specifications for each approved video lottery machine.

(2) Technology providers shall agree to
modify their hardware and software as necessary to
accommodate video game changes directed by the agency
from time to time.  

(3) Technology providers shall provide such
bonds and provide evidence of such insurance as the
Director shall require from time to time and in such amounts
and issued by such companies as the Director shall approve.

(4)  Technology providers shall have a valid
license to conduct business in the State of Delaware, shall
comply with all applicable tax provisions, and shall in all
other respects be qualified to conduct business in Delaware.

5.11 The following duties are required of all licensed
technology providers, without limitation:
….

(15) Supervise its employees and their
activities to ensure compliance with these rules.

(16) Promptly report to the Lottery any
violation or any facts or circumstances that may result in a
violation of State or Federal law and/or any rules or
regulations pursuant thereto, excluding violations
concerning motor vehicle laws.

(17) Comply with such other requirements as
shall be specified by the Director.

6.0 Agents:  Duties
The following duties are required of all licensed agents:

….
6.35 As soon as it is known to the agent, file with

the Director a copy of any current or proposed agreement
and disclose to the Director any other relationship between
the agent, its parents, subsidiaries, related entities, partners,
owners, directors, officers or key employees for the sale,
lease, maintenance, repair or other assignment of the agent’s
premises, or any other relationship of any vendor,
manufacturer or other person who stands to benefit
financially from the possession or use of video lottery
machines by such agent.  The agent shall file with the
Director for approval every contract in excess of $1,000
which pertains to the agent’s video lottery operations.  The
agent shall notify the Director of any contract with an entity
that is subject to the license requirements for  vendors or
technology providers under 29 Del. C. §4805(17) and

Chapter 4 of these Regulations.

8.0 Accounting and Distribution Procedures
…

8.2 Each agent and technology provider shall submit to
the Director such financial and operating information as the
Director shall require from time to time at such times and in
such format as the Director shall specify.  For purposes of
this and other information, each agent shall have a computer
on the premises which is suitable for the purpose.

8.2.1 Each agent, unless specifically exempted
by the Agency, shall file weekly,   monthly, quarterly and
annual reports of financial reports and statistical data in a
format specified by the Director.  The data may be used by
the Agency to evaluate the financial position and operating
performance of individual video lottery agents and to
compile information regarding the performance and trends
of the video lottery industry in the State of Delaware.

8.2.2 Each agent, unless specifically exempted
by the Agency, shall at its own expense, cause its annual
financial statements to be audited in accordance with
generally accepted auditing standards by an independent
certified public accountant licensed to practice in the State of
Delaware.

8.2.3 The annual financial statement shall be
prepared on a comparative basis for the current and prior
fiscal year, and shall present the video lottery agent’s present
financial position and results of operations in conformity
with generally accepted principles.

8.2.4 The Agency may periodically prescribe a
set of standard reporting forms and instructions to be used by
each video lottery agent for filing the weekly, monthly, and
quarterly reports.

8.2.5 Each video lottery agent and technology
provider, unless specifically exempted by the Agency, shall
conduct its video lottery operations to met the minimum
requirements set forth in the Agency’s Video Lottery
Internal Control Procedures.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

In the Matter Of: |
|

Revision of the Regulations |
Of the Medicaid/medical |
Assistance Program |

Nature of the Proceedings:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update
policies related to eligibility policies for Low-Income
Medicare Beneficiaries, Non-IV-E Adoption Subsidy
Children and the Delaware Healthy Children Program.  The
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the November 1999 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by November 30, 1999, at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the November 1999 Register of Regulations should
be adopted as written .

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective February 10, 2000.

Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D., Secretary
January 13, 2000

13444 Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMB)
Effective January 1990, Delaware began to pay

Medicare co-insurance and deductible amounts for Medicare
beneficiaries with income that does not exceed less than
100% of poverty. and resources up to two times the SSI
program resource standard.

13445 Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiaries
(SLMB)

Beginning January 1, 1993, Medicaid will pay the
Medicare Part B premium for these individuals who have
income that does not exceed 120% of poverty. and who have
resources that do not exceed twice the SSI standard.  They
do not receive any Medicaid services.   

13447 Qualifying Individuals
Two new mandatory eligibility groups of low income

Medicare beneficiaries were established by the Balanced
Budget Act of 1997.  The first group (QI-1s) have income
between 120% and 135% of FPL and are eligible to have
their Part B premiums paid by Medicaid.  The second group
(QI-2s) have income between 135% and 175% of FPL and
receive a direct payment from Medicaid for the small portion
of Part B premium that was transferred from Part A.
Resources for both QI-1s and QI-2s must not exceed twice
the SSI resource standard.  Funding for these groups come
out of the Medicare Trust fund and are not out of Medicaid's
federal funding.  The state receives 100% FFP for the
premiums for these groups. 

17300 Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries
A Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) is someone

who is entitled to hospital insurance benefits under Part A
Medicare and whose income does not exceed the Federal
Poverty Level. and whose resources are at or below twice the
SSI resource standard.  All resources of the applicant and
spouse are excluded when determining eligibility.

QMB's qualify for Medicaid to pay their Medicare Part
A and B premiums, deductibles, and co-insurance expenses.
They do not receive any Medicaid services.

This category of eligibles is mandated for coverage by
the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988 (MCCA).
Delaware Medicaid implemented the program effective 1/1/
90.  The eligibility and benefits are not retroactive.

17300.3.2.5 Unearned Income
Unearned income is income that is paid because of a

legal or moral obligation rather than for work activity
performed. It is all income that is not earned income. This
includes Social Security, Railroad Retirement, pensions,
benefits, interest, dividends, alimony, child support and
other types of payments.   Interest and dividend income is
excluded.

Rental income is unearned unless the rental proceeds are
ordinary income of a trade or business being carried on by a
self-employed individual, such as a real estate broker.  

See the Long Term Care Section for more information
on determining net rental income and more types of
unearned income.  (DSSM 20000 )

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm


FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 8, TUESDAY,  FEBRUARY 1, 2000

1085

17300.3.3 Resources
The resource limit is twice the SSI (Supplemental

Security Income) limit.   The couple limit is used even if one
spouse is ineligible for Medicare.  Federal regulations
mandate that in determining resources we must use the
methodologies used in the SSI program.  We will follow
these basic guidelines in determining resources:

The term "resources" means things a person owns.  It
includes real estate and personal property, such as cash,
savings and checking accounts, certificates of deposit, stocks
and bonds, life insurance, and other assets that can be
applied to meet a person's needs for food, clothing, or
shelter.  

The total value of resources owned by either spouse
counts toward the resource limit.

17300.3.3.1    Excluded Resources
Following are some of the most common items that are

excluded in determining the amount of a person's resources
for QMB purposes:

 1. A home (and adjacent land) which a person owns
and makes his or her principal place of residence, regardless
of its value.

 2. Personal effects and household goods.
 3. A car, regardless of value, if for the individual or a

member of the individual's household (member of a
household is one who receives food, clothing and shelter at
the applicant's home):

a) it is necessary for employment, 
b) it is necessary for medical treatment of a

specific or regular medical problem,
c) it is modified for operation by or transportation

of a handicapped person, or 
d) it is necessary because of climate, terrain,

distance, or similar factors to provide necessary
transportation to perform essential daily activities.   

NOTE:  Only one car may be excluded per married
couple.

 4. Jointly owned vehicle if co-owner refuses to sell
 5. Life insurance policies with a total face value of

$1,500 or less per person.
 6. Burial plots or spaces regardless of value, if

intended for use by a person or his or her immediate family.
 7. Burial funds set aside for an individual or his/her

spouse, up to $1,500 each.  
 8. Any resources that were transferred or given away.

Transfer of Assets Policy applies only to institutionalized
applicants and recipients.

NOTE:  Please see the Long Term Care Section for
further explanation of countable resources, excluded
resources, burial resources, property ownership and
conditional benefits while attempting to sell a resource.
(DSSM 20000)

15430    Adoption Subsidy Children
Section 9529 of P.L. 99-272, the Consolidated Omnibus

Reconciliation Act of 1985, permits states to extend
Medicaid services to children with special medical or
rehabilitative needs whose adoptive families are receiving a
subsidy under a state (non-IV-E) adoption agreement.

Effective 7/1/87, the Delaware Medicaid program added
coverage for state-funded adoption subsidy children.
Eligibility criteria are:

1) Must have an adoption assistance agreement in
effect with DSCYF.  Children coming into Delaware must
have an adoption assistance agreement in effect with the
former state.

2) Must receive a medical/psychological subsidy
from DSCYF.

3) Must have been Medicaid eligible prior to
adoption assistance agreement.

18700.5  Cancellation of Coverage for Nonpayment of
Premiums

Coverage will be cancelled when the family is in arrears
for two premium payments. The coverage will end the last
day of the month when the second payment is due.  A notice
of cancellation will be sent to the family advising the family
to report any change in circumstances, such as a decrease in
income,  that may result in eligibility for Medicaid.  If one
premium payment is received by the last day of the
cancellation month, coverage will be reinstated.   

Families who lose coverage for nonpayment of
premiums will have received two unpaid months of
coverage. Families who are cancelled for nonpayment of
premiums cannot reenroll for six months from their coverage
end date. There is no automatic reenrollment  at the end of
the six month cancellation period. The family must initiate
reenrollment and must pay an initial premium.    Families
who are cancelled for nonpayment of premiums may reenroll
at any time without penalty, with the reenrollment period
starting with the first month for which the premium is paid.

Eligibility redeterminations will be processed without
regard to the families' enrollment status.
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Section 903(e)(2)(a) (7 Del.C. 903(e)(2)(a))

Amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation Nos. 4, 7, 10, 
23, 25 and 26

Order No. 2000-F-0003

Order

Summary of the Evidence and Information

Pursuant to due notice 3:6 Del. R. 830-831, the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control proposed to amend Tidal Finfish Regulations
pertaining to summer flounder, striped bass, weakfish, black
sea bass, sharks and shad in order to remain in compliance
with their fishery management plans, as amended, adopted
by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.  The
Atlantic Coastal Fisheries Cooperative Management Act
(1993) requires coastal states to comply with fishery
management plans adopted by the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission.

The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposed to amend Tidal Finfish
Regulation No. 4 to adjust the fishing season closure dates,
creel limits and minimum size limits on summer flounder in
2000 to reduce the recreational landings by 41% relative to
the number of summer flounder landed in 1998.  

The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposed to amend Tidal Finfish
Regulation Nos. 6 and 7 to adjust the fishing season, creel
limits and minimum size limits of striped bass in order to
reduce the fishing mortality of striped bass over 28 inches by
14% in 2000.

The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposed to amend Tidal Finfish
Regulation No. 10 to change the 1999 dates when it is
unlawful to take weakfish with any gear other than a hook
and line in the Delaware Bay and Ocean to the
corresponding dates in 2000.

The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposed to amend Tidal Finfish
Regulation No. 23 to reduce the commercial quarterly trip
limits on black sea bass in order to prevent the quarterly
quota from being exceeded and prolong each quarterly
fishery.

The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposed to amend Tidal Finfish

Regulation No. 25 to place a minimum size limit of 54
inches on large coastal, pelagic and small coastal sharks and
reduce the recreational creel limit to one per vessel.  It also
proposed to place 14 more sharks on the prohibited list.

The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control proposed to amend Tidal Finfish
Regulation No. 26 to prohibit the possession of any shad
taken from the Nanticoke River in order to restore the
spawning population of shad.

A public workshop was held on October 19,1999 to
discuss the above proposals.

A public hearing was held on December 21, 1999 on the
above proposals.

Finding of Fact:

I find the following facts from testimony and evidence
presented:

Summer Flounder

• The State of Delaware must comply with the
requirements of the Fishery Management Plan for
Summer Flounder approved by the Atlantic States
Marine Fisheries Commission.

• Delaware must reduce its recreational landings in
2000 by number by 41% relative to the 1998
Delaware landings.

• The coast wide option, based on a coast wide data
set, is the most liberal option relative to any option
that uses a Delaware data set.

• Closing the recreational summer flounder season in
the summer months adversely impacts the socio
economics of the head and charter boat fishery, the
bait and tackle dealers and tourism in Delaware.

• Summer flounder over 16 inches are relatively
scarce in Delaware during the summer, other than
deep water.

Striped Bass

• The State of Delaware is required to reduce
landings of striped bass that measure 28 inches or
greater by 14% in 2000 according to the Fishery
Management Plan for Striped Bass approved by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.

• Delaware landed 2.7% of the total coast wide
landings of striped bass in 1998.

• Fishing for striped bass in the upper Delaware Bay
and Delaware River is most popular in the late
spring and summer.

• Fishing for striped bass in the lower Delaware Bay
and Ocean is most popular in the fall.

• New Jersey and Delaware fishermen mostly fish in

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/fwwel.htm
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the same vacinity at the month of Delaware Bay.
• New Jersey, at this time, has not decided what

option they will implement to reduce their landings
by 14%.

• 80% of Delaware’s striped bass landings occur in
September, October, November and December.

Weakfish

• The Fishery Management Plan for Weakfish
approved by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission does not require any changes in
Delaware for 2000.

Black Sea Bass

• The Fishery Management Plan for Black Sea bass
adopted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission requires Delaware to reduce the
quarterly trip limit for commercial fishermen in
order to prolong each quarterly fishing period.

Sharks

• The Federal Fishery Management Plan (FMP) for
Atlantic Sharks lists 19 sharks on the prohibited
list.

• The FMP established a recreational creel limit of
one shark per vessel.  The FMP established a
minimum size limit of 54 inches for large and small
coastal sharks and pelagic sharks.

• Delaware Bay is a nursery area for sand tiger sharks
and sandbar sharks.

Shad

• The American shad spawning population in the
Nanticoke River is depleted.

Conclusions:

Summer Flounder

• Delaware must implement regulations that reduce
the landings by number of summer flounder by
41% relative to the 1998 landings.

• Delaware should not have a closed summer
flounder recreational fishing season during the
summer.

• Delaware should implement regulations that are
similar to New Jersey’s to avoid confusion to
anglers fishing in the Delaware Bay.

• The coast wide option should minimize any adverse
impact to the recreational fishing industry in

Delaware.

Striped Bass

• Any one of Delaware’s three options that would
reduce the fishing mortality of striped bass 28
inches and greater in size and that were approved
by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission will not be popular with some
recreational fishermen in Delaware.

• New Jersey and Delaware should have similar
regulations to govern the recreational striped bass
fishery in the Delaware estuary to avoid fishermen
showing a preference for either state.

• A minimum size limit greater than 28 inches will
adversely affect the charter boat recreational fishery
in the lower Delaware Bay.

• Any recreational Spring closure will adversely
affect the charter boat fishery in the lower Delaware
Bay.

• The commercial striped bass fishery should be
reduced 14% for fish over 28 inches in length.

• The selection of an option to reduce the recreational
fishery 14% for striped bass over 28 inches should
be delayed until New Jersey decides its option for
reducing their recreational fishery by 14%.

Weakfish

• The 34 calendar dates for days when it is unlawful
to harvest weakfish with any gear other than a hook
and line should be changed from 1999 to the
corresponding dates in 2000.

Black Sea Bass

• Delaware should implement the quarterly trip limits
to prolong the quarterly commercial fishery during
each quarter.

Sharks

• Delaware should implement regulations to
compliment the Federal Fishery Management Plan
for Atlantic Sharks since Delaware Bay is a nursery
area for the sand tiger and sandbar sharks.

Shad

• Delaware should close the Nanticoke River to the
harvest of shad to compliment the efforts of
Maryland in restoring the spawning population of
American shad in that river system.
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Recommendations

Summer Flounder

• An amendment to the Tidal Finfish Regulation
pertaining to summer flounder should be adopted
by DNREC to implement the coast wide option.

Striped Bass

• An amendment to the Tidal Finfish Regulation
pertaining to striped bass size limits should be
adopted by the Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control to implement a slot size
limit of 20 to 32 inches for commercial fishermen
to reduce their harvest of striped bass measuring
over 28 inches by 14%.

• At this time, the Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control should delay adopting
any changes to the recreational striped bass fishing
regulations until New Jersey decides on changes to
its recreational striped bass fishery.  At that time,
the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control should implement similar
changes that meet the 14% reduction in harvest of
striped bass over 28 inches in 2000.  This will
minimize any preference for fishing in the
Delaware Bay from either state.

Weakfish

• An amendment to the Tidal Finfish Regulation
pertaining to weakfish should be adopted by the
Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control to change the 34 dates in
1999 when it is unlawful to harvest weakfish with
any gear other than hook and line in the Delaware
Bay and Ocean to corresponding dates in 2000.

Black Sea Bass

• An amendment to the Tidal Finfish Regulation
pertaining to black sea bass should be adopted by
the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control to adjust the quarterly trip
limits in order to prolong quarterly commercial
fisheries.

Sharks

• An amendment to the Tidal Finfish Regulation
pertaining to sharks should be adopted by the
Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control to implement a one shark

per vessel possession limit and a 54 inch minimum
size limit for certain sharks and also add fourteen
small and large coastal and pelagic sharks to the
prohibited list.

Shad

• An amendment to the Tidal Finfish Regulation
pertaining to shad should be adopted by the
Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control to prohibit the harvest of
any shad from the Nanticoke River.

Order

It is hereby ordered this 6th day of January in the year
2000 that amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation Nos. 4, 7,
10, 23, 25 and 26, copies of which are attached hereto, are
adopted pursuant to 7 Del.C. §903 (e)(2)(a) and 7 Del.C.
§903 (e)(3) and are supported by the Departments findings
of evidence and testimony received.  This Order shall
become effective on February 10, 2000.

Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Secretary

FINAL AMENDMENTS TO TIDAL FINFISH 
REGULATIONS

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 4. SUMMER
FLOUNDER SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
SEASONS.

a) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
or any commercial hook and line fisherman to take and
reduce to possession or to land any summer flounder during
the period beginning at 12:01 AM on July 16 and ending at
midnight on August 7.  [(Note: Some period(s) of time in
the spring and/or fall may be closed; the dates to be
decided after the public hearing).] [on January 1 and
ending at midnight on May 9 and during the period
beginning at 12:01 AM on October 3 and ending at
midnight on December 31.]

b) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to have in possession more than eight (8) [(Note: The creel
limit may change depending on the season closure)]
[eight (8)] summer flounder at or between the place where
said summer flounder were caught and said recreational
fisherman's personal abode or temporary or transient place of
lodging.

c) It shall be unlawful for any person, other than
qualified persons as set forth in paragraph (f) of this
regulation, to possess any summer flounder that measure less
than fifteen (15) [(Note:  This size may change depending
on the season closure)] [fifteen and one-half (15.5)] inches
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between the tip of the snout and the furthest tip of the tail.
d) It shall be unlawful for any person, while on board

a vessel, to have in possession any part of a summer flounder
that measures less than fifteen (15) [(Note:  The size may
change depending on the season closure)] [fifteen and
one-half (15.5)]inches between said part's two most distant
points unless said person also has in possession the head,
backbone and tail intact from which said part was removed.

e) Is omitted intentionally.
f) Notwithstanding the size limits and possession

limits in this regulation, a person may possess a summer
flounder that measures no less than fourteen (14) inches
between the tip of the snout and the furthest tip of the tail and
a quantity of summer flounder in excess of the possession
limit set forth in this regulation, provided said person has
one of the following:

1) A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the
date said summer flounder were received, the amount of said
summer flounder received and the name, address and
signature of the person who had landed said summer
flounder;

2) A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish
dealer who obtained said summer flounder; or

3) A bill of lading while transporting fresh or
frozen summer flounder.

g) Is omitted intentionally.
h) It shall be unlawful for any commercial

finfisherman to sell, trade and or barter or attempt to sell,
trade and or barter any summer flounder or part thereof that
is landed in this State by said commercial fisherman after a
date when the de minimis amount of commercial landings of
summer flounder is determined to have been landed in this
State by the Department.  The de minimis amount of summer
flounder shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota
as set forth in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management
Plan approved by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission. 

i) It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than
200 pounds of summer flounder in any one day in this State.

j) It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been
issued a commercial foodfishing license and fishes for
summer flounder with any food fishing equipment other than
a gill net, to have in possession more than eight (8) [(Note:
The creel limit may change depending on the season
closure)] [eight (8)] summer flounder at or between the
place where said summer flounder were caught and said
persons personal abode or temporary or transient place of
lodging.

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION 7.  STRIPED BASS
POSSESSION SIZE LIMIT; EXCEPTIONS.

a) Notwithstanding, the provisions of §929(b)(1),
Chapter 9, Title 7, Delaware Code or unless otherwise
authorized, it shall be unlawful for any recreational

fisherman to take and reduce to possession any striped bass
from the tidal waters of this State that measures less than
twenty-eight (28) [thirty (30)] [twenty-eight (28)] inches in
total length.

b) Notwithstanding, the provisions of §929(b)(1),
Chapter 9, Title 7, Delaware Code or unless otherwise
authorized, it shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any striped bass
from the tidal waters of this State that measure less than
twenty (20) inches  in total length. or more than 32 inches in
total length.

c) Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful
for any person to possess a striped  bass that measures less
than 28 inches [thirty (30)] [twenty-eight (28)] total length,
unless said striped bass is in one or more of the following
categories:

1) It has affixed, a valid strap tag issued by the
Department to a commercial food fisherman; or

2) It was legally landed in another state for
commercial purposes and has affixed a valid tag issued by
said state's marine fishery authority; or

3) It is packed or contained for shipment, either
fresh or frozen, and accompanied by a bill-of-lading with a
destination to a state other than Delaware; or

4) It was legally landed in another state for non
commercial purposes by the person in possession of said
striped bass and there is affixed to either the striped bass or
the container in which the striped bass is contained a tag that
depicts the name and address of the person landing said
striped bass and the date, location, and state in which said
striped bass was landed; or

5) It is the product of a legal aquaculture
operation and the person in possession has a written bill of
sale or receipt for said striped bass.

d) Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful
for any commercial finfisherman to possess any striped bass
for which the total length has been altered in any way prior
to selling, trading or bartering said striped bass.

e) The words "land" and "landed" shall mean to put or
cause to go on shore from  a vessel.

f) It shall be unlawful for any person, except a
commercial finfisherman authorized to fish during
Delaware’s commercial striped bass fishery, to land any
striped bass that measures less than twenty eight (28)[thirty
(30)] [twenty-eight (28)] inches in total length.

g) It shall be unlawful for a commercial finfisherman
authorized to fish during Delaware’s commercial striped
bass fishery to land any striped bass that measures less than
twenty (20) inches in total length. or more than 32 inches in
total length.
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TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION 10.  WEAKFISH
SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS.

a) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess
weakfish Cynoscion regalis taken with a hook and line, that
measure less than fourteen (14) inches, total length.

b) It shall be unlawful for any person to whom the
Department has issued a commercial food fishing license
and a food fishing equipment permit for hook and line to
have more than fourteen (14) weakfish in possession during
the period beginning at 12:01 AM on May 1 and ending at
midnight on October 31 except on four specific days of the
week as indicated by the Department on said person’s food
fishing equipment permit for hook and line.

c) It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been
issued a valid commercial food fishing license and a valid
food fishing equipment permit for equipment other than a
hook and line to possess weakfish, lawfully taken by use of
such permitted food fishing equipment, that measure less
than twelve (12) inches, total length.

d) It shall be unlawful for any person, except a person
with a valid commercial food fishing license, to have in
possession more than fourteen (14) weakfish, not to include
weakfish in one's personal abode or temporary or transient
place of lodging.  A person may have weakfish in possession
that measure no less than twelve (12) inches, total length,
and in excess of fourteen (14) if said person has a valid
bill-of-sale or receipt for said weakfish that indicates the date
said weakfish were received, the number of said weakfish
received and the name, address and signature of the
commercial food fisherman who legally caught said
weakfish or a bill-of-sale or receipt from a person who is a
licensed retailer and legally obtained said weakfish for
resale.

e) It shall be unlawful for any person to fish with any
gill net in the Delaware Bay or Atlantic Ocean or to take and
reduce to possession any weakfish from the Delaware Bay or
the Atlantic Ocean with any fishing equipment other than a
hook and line during the following periods of time:

Beginning at 12:01 AM on May 1, 1999 2000 and
ending at midnight on May 9, 1999 2000;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 14, 1999 12, 2000 and
ending at midnight on May 16, 1999 14, 2000;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 21, 1999 19, 2000 and
ending at midnight on May 23, 1999 21, 2000;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 28, 1999 26, 2000 and
ending at midnight on May 30, 1999 28, 2000;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 4, 1999 2, 2000 and
ending at midnight on June 6, 1999 4, 2000;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 11, 1999 9, 2000 and
ending at midnight on June 13, 1999 11, 2000;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 18, 1999 16, 2000 and
ending at midnight on June 20, 1999 18, 2000;

and beginning 12:01 AM on June 24, 1999 2000 and
ending at midnight on June 30, 1999 2000.”

f) The Department shall indicate on a persons food
fishing equipment permit for hook and line four (4) specific
days of the week during the period May 1 through October
31, selected by said person when applying for said permit, as
to when said permit is valid to take in excess of fourteen (14)
weakfish per day.  These four days of the week shall not be
changed at any time during the remainder of the calendar
year.

g) It shall be unlawful for any person with a food
fishing equipment permit for hook and line to possess more
than fourteen (14) weakfish while on the same vessel with
another person who also has a food fishing equipment permit
for hook and line unless each person’s food fishing
equipment permit for hook and line specifies the same day of
the week in question for taking in excess of fourteen (14)
weakfish.

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 23 BLACK SEA
BASS SIZE LIMIT; TRIP LIMITS; SEASONS;
QUOTAS

a) It shall be unlawful for any person to have in
possession any black sea bass Centropritis striata that
measures less than ten (10) inches, total length.

b) Is omitted intentionally.
c)  It shall be unlawful for any person to possess on

board a vessel at any time or to land after one trip more than
the following quantities of black sea bass during the quarter
listed:

First Quarter (January, February and March) -
11,000 lbs. 9000 lbs.

Second Quarter (April, May and June) - 7,000 lbs.
3000 lbs.

Third Quarter (July, August and September) - 3,000
lbs. 2000 lbs.

Fourth Quarter (October, November and
December) - 4,000 lbs. 3000 lbs.

“One trip” shall mean the time between a vessel
leaving its home port and the next time said vessel returns to
any port in Delaware.”

d) It shall be unlawful for any person to fish for black
sea bass for commercial purposes or to land any black sea
bass for commercial purposes during any quarter indicated in
subsection (c) after the date in said quarter that the National
Marine Fisheries Services determines that quarter’s quota is
filled.”  

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION 25. ATLANTIC
SHARKS

(a) Definitions:
(1) Fillet shall mean to remove slices of fish flesh,

of irregular size and shape, from the carcass by cuts made
parallel to the backbone.

(2) Land or Landing shall mean to put or cause to
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go on shore from a vessel.
(3)  Management Unit shall mean any of the large

coastal species, small coastal species, pelagic species and
prohibited species of sharks or parts thereof defined in this
regulation. 

(4) Large coastal species shall mean any of the
following species of sharks or parts thereof:

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran
Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini
Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zyqaena
White shark, Carcharodon carcharias
Nurse shark, Ginglymostoma cirratum
Bignose shark, Carcharhinus altimus
Blacktip shark, Carcharhinus limbatus
Bull shark, Carcharhinus leucas
Caribbean reef shark, Carcharhinus perezi
Dusky shark, Carcharhinus obscurus
Galapagos shark, Carcharhinus galapaqensis
Lemon shark, Neqaprion brevirostris
Narrowtooth shark, Carcharhinus brachyurus
Night shark, Carcharhinus siqnatus
Sandbar shark, Carcharhinus plumbeus
Silky shark, Carcharhinus falciformis
Spinner shark, Carcharhinus brevipinna
Tiger shark, Galeocerdo cuvieri

(5) Small coastal species shall mean any of the
following species of sharks or parts thereof:

Atlantic angel shark, Squatina dumerili
Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo
Atlantic sharpnose shark, Rhizoprionodon

terraenovae
Blacknose shark, Carcharhinus acronotus
Caribbean sharpnose shark, Rhizoprionodon

porosus
Finetooth shark, Carcharhinus isodon
Smalltail shark, Carcharhinus porosus

(6) Pelagic species shall mean any of the following
species of sharks or parts thereof:

Bigeye sixgill shark, Hexanchus vitulus
Sevengill shark, Heptranchias perlo
Sixgill shark, Hexanchus griseus
Longfin mako, Isurus paucus
Porbeagle shark, Lamna nasus
Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus
Blue shark, Prionace qlauca
Oceanic whitetip shark, Carcharhinus

longimanus
Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus
Thresher shark, Alopias vulpinus

(7) Prohibited species shall mean any of the
following species of sharks or parts thereof:

Basking shark, Cetorhinidae maximus
White shark, Carcharodon carcharias
Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai

Sand tiger, Odontaspis taurus
Whale shark, Rhincodon typus
Bignose shark, Carcharhinus altimus
Caribbean reef shark, Carcharhinus perezi
Dusky shark, Carcharhinus obscurus
Galapagos shark, Carcharhinus galapaqensis
Narrowtooth shark, Carcharhinus brachyurus
Night shark, Carcharhinus siqnatus
Atlantic angel shark, Squatina dumerili
Caribbean sharpnose shark, Rhizoprionodon

porosus
Smalltail shark, Carcharhinus porosus
Bigeye sixgill shark, Hexanchus vitulus
Sevengill shark, Heptranchias perlo
Sixgill shark, Hexanchus griseus
Longfin mako, Isurus paucus
Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to land,
purchase, trade, barter, or possess or attempt to land,
purchase, trade, barter, or possess a prohibited species.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess
the fins from any shark in the management unit prior to
landing sand shark unless said fins are naturally attached to
the body of said shark.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to fillet a
shark in the management unit prior to landing said shark. A
shark may be eviscerated and the head removed prior to
landing said shark.

(e) It shall be unlawful to release any shark in the
management unit in a manner that will not ensure said sharks
maximum probability of survival.

(f) It shall be unlawful for the operator of any
vessel without a commercial food fishing license to have on
board said vessel more than two one sharks in the
management unit except that two Atlantic sharpnose sharks
also may be on board. 

(g) It shall be unlawful for any person who has
been issued a valid commercial food fishing license while on
board any vessel to possess any large coastal shark, any
small coastal shark or any pelagic shark in the management
unit during the remainder of  any period after the effective
date a commercial quota for that group of sharks has been
reached in said period or is projected to be reached in said
period by the National Marine Fisheries Service, National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and the U.S.
Department of Commerce.

(h) It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in
a directed commercial fishery for a prohibited species.

(i) It shall be unlawful for the operator of any
vessel without a commercial foodfishing license to have on
board said vessel any large coastal shark, any pelagic shark
or any small coastal shark that measures less than 54 inches,
fork length.
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TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION NO. 26, AMERICAN
SHAD AND HICKORY SHAD, CREEL LIMITS”

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who does not
have a valid commercial food fishing license to have in
possession more than an aggregate of ten (10) American
shad and hickory shad at or between the place caught and
his/her personal abode or transient place of lodging.”

b) It shall be unlawful for any person to take and
reduce to possession any American shad or hickory shad
from the Nanticoke River or its tributaries.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 2017 (7 Del.C. 2017)

Re: Amendments to Shellfish Regulations Nos. S-52, S-
53, S-54, S-58 and new Shellfish Regulation S-61

Order No.99-F-0068

Order

Summary of the Evidence and Information

Pursuant to due notice 3:5 Del. R. 622-623, The
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control proposed to amend Shellfish Regulations pertaining
to Horseshoe Crabs to prohibit commercial eel fishermen
and their alternates from assisting commercial horseshoe
crab collectors and visa versa.  The Department also
proposed to prohibit commercial eelers and commercial
horseshoe collectors from commingling their harvests of
horseshoe crabs.  Commercial eelers were proposed to not be
authorized to collect horseshoe crabs at night. A daily limit
on commercial horseshoe crab collectors was proposed if
shellfish regulation S-58, Horseshoe Crab Containment and
Transportation Restrictions is striken.

A public workshop was held on October 12, 1999 to
discuss options for separating commercial eelers and
commercial horseshoe crab collectors and their harvests.
Striking the vehicle size restrictions for transporting
horseshoe crabs was discussed. Unauthorized persons
assisting commercial horseshoe crab collectors also was
discussed.

A public hearing was conducted on December 14, 1999
on proposed amendments to shellfish regulations and a new
shellfish regulation to make it unlawful for commercial
eelers and their alternates to assist commercial horseshoe
crab collectors and visa versa, to prevent commercial eelers
and horseshoe crabs from commingling their catches of
horseshoe crabs, to prevent unauthorized persons from
assisting commercial horseshoe crab collectors load and

handle horseshoe crabs near the beaches where horseshoe
crabs are harvested, to prohibit the harvest of horseshoe
crabs at night by commercial eelers, to strike shellfish
regulation No. S-58 and implement a possession limit of 300
cubic feet of horseshoe crabs.

Finding of Fact:

• Some Commercial horseshoe crab collectors and
Commercial eel fisherman and their alternates
commingle their harvests of horseshoe crabs to
disguise the disposition of said horseshoe crabs.

• Commercial eel fishermen are not authorized to sell
any horseshoe crabs.

• Some commercial eel fishermen sell horseshoe
crabs.

• Unauthorized persons assist commercial horseshoe
crab collectors in loading, handling and driving
vehicles on the beach where horseshoe crabs are
collected.

• Limits on the capacity of vehicles to transport
horseshoe crabs is not enforceable.

• Some commercial eel fishermen and their alternates
harvest horseshoe crabs at night.

• The harvest of horseshoe crabs from the beaches in
Delaware during their spawning season is not
allowed to exceed the number landed in 1998;
estimated to have been 350,000.

Conclusions:

I have reached the following conclusions relative to
proposed amendments to shellfish regulations pertaining to
horseshoe crabs.

• A Commercial horseshoe crab collector should not
be an alternate to a commercial eel fishermen while
collecting horseshoe crabs. (SR-52 (b)).

• Persons, 16 years old or older, should not assist
commercial horseshoe crab collectors in the driving
of a vehicle, loading or handling of horseshoe crabs
in the immediate vicinity of the beach where said
horseshoe crabs are collected or the point where
they are landed.  One thousand feet is excessive.
Three hundred feet is adequate (SR-53 (b)).

• A Commercial eel fisherman’s alternate should be
listed on the license by the DNREC before assisting
or collecting horseshoe crabs for said commercial
eel fisherman (SR-54(c)).

• Any person who is both a licensed commercial
horseshoe crab collector and a licensed  commercial
eel fisherman should be considered a commercial
horseshoe crab collector while collecting horseshoe
crabs.  No one, 16 years of age and older, is

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/fwwel.htm
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authorized to assist a commercial horseshoe crab
collector.  Commercial eelers are authorized to have
their alternates assist them (SR-54 (d)).

• Commercial eel fisherman and commercial
horseshoe crab collectors or commercial horseshoe
crab dredgers should not mix their harvested
horseshoe crabs in order to sell horseshoe crabs
collected by the commercial eeler (SR-54 (e)) and
(SR-54 (f)).

• The possession limit of 300 cubic feet of horseshoe
crabs will impose no greater limit on the current
amount of horseshoe crabs one can load on a truck.
(SR-54 (g)).

• Commercial eelers should not be authorized to
collect horseshoe crabs at night.  This is consistent
with the law that prohibits the taking of shellfish for
commercial purposes between sunset and sunrise
(SR-61)).

Recommendations:

The DNREC should maintain the landings of horseshoe
crabs collected from the beaches to 350,000 per year to be
consistent with the provisions of the FMP for Horseshoe
Crabs.

Commercial eelers and Commercial horseshoe crab
collectors should not be allowed to assist each other or
commingle their harvest in order to lessen the possibility of
commercial eelers selling any horseshoe crabs.

A possession limit on horseshoe crabs of 300 cubic feet
should be implemented.

The current Shellfish Regulation, S58 Horseshoe Crab
Containment and Transportation Restrictions should be
striken.

Order

It is hereby ordered, this 28th day of December that
amendments to shellfish regulations Nos. S-52, S-53, S-54
and S-58 and a new shellfish regulation S-61, copies of
which are attached hereto, are adopted pursuant to §2701, 7
Del. C. and are supported by the Departments findings on the
evidence and testimony received.  This Order shall become
effective on February 10, 2000.

Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Secretary

Shellfish Regulation No. S-52 Requirement for Collecting
Horseshoe Crabs for Persons under 16

a) It shall be unlawful for any person under the age of
sixteen (16) years to possess more than six (6) horseshoe
crabs unless accompanied by a person who has been issued a
valid horseshoe crab scientific collecting, commercial
collecting or dredge permit.

b)  It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe crab collecting permit to collect any horseshoe
crabs as an alternate to a person with a valid commercial eel
fishing license. 

Shellfish Regulation No.S-53 Number of Persons
Accompanying a Person with a Valid Horseshoe Crab
Collecting Permit

a) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe crab commercial collecting permit when
collecting horseshoe crabs to be assisted by more than three
(3) persons who are not required to have valid horseshoe
crab commercial collecting permits.

b) It shall be unlawful for any person 16years of age or
older who does not have a valid [commercial] horseshoe
crab collecting permit, to assist any person with a valid
[commercial] horseshoe crab collecting permit in the
handling, loading or [transporting of] [driving a vehicle
used to transport] horseshoe crabs collected by said
horseshoe crab collecting permittee while within [1000]
[300] feet of the shoreline of the water from which said
horseshoe crabs [were] [are] collected [or landed] [or the
point on shore where said horseshoe crabs are landed.]

Shellfish Regulation No. S-54 Possession Limit of
Horseshoe Crabs, Exceptions

a) Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful
for any person to possess more than six (6) horseshoe crabs,
except a person with a validated receipt from a person with a
valid horseshoe crab commercial collecting or dredge permit
for the number of horseshoe crabs in said person’s
possession.  A receipt shall contain the name, address and
signature of the supplier, the date and the number of
horseshoe crabs obtained.

b) Any person who has been issued a valid
commercial eel fishing license by the Department or said
person’s alternate while in the presence of the licensee, is
exempt from the possession limit of six (6) horseshoe crabs,
provided said commercial eel fishing licensee has filed all
required reports of his/her and his/her alternate’s previous
month’s harvest of horseshoe crabs with the Department in
accordance with S-57.  Any person who has been issued a
commercial eel fishing license and said person’s alternate
while in the presence of the licensee, may collect horseshoe
crabs by hand without a horseshoe crab commercial
collecting permit provided all horseshoe crabs taken are for
personal, non-commercial use, as bait for the licensee’s eel
pots fished in this state.”

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to be assisted in collecting
horseshoe crabs by any person who is not listed on his
commercial eel fishing license as [the] alternate.

(d) Any person with both a valid commercial eel
fishing license and a valid [commercial] horseshoe crab
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collecting permit shall be considered as a [commercial]
horseshoe crab collecting permittee for purposes of
enforcing the provisions of chapter 27, 7 Del. C. and/or
shellfish regulations pertaining to horseshoe crabs.

(e) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to commingle any horseshoe
crabs collected either by said commercial eel fishing licensee
or by his or her alternate with horseshoe crabs either
collected by a person with a valid horseshoe crab dredge
permit or by a person with a valid commercial horseshoe
crab collecting permit.

(f) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe drab dredge permit or with a valid [commercial]
horseshoe crab collecting permit to commingle any
horseshoe crab dredged or collected by said horseshoe crab
dredge permittee or horseshoe crab collecting permittee with
horseshoe crabs collected by any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license.

[g) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess
more than 300 cubic feet of horseshoe crabs except in a
stationary cold storage or freezer facility.]

Shellfish Regulation No. S- 58  Horseshoe Crab
Containment and Transportation Restrictions

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to put, place,
contain or cause to be contained any horseshoe crabs in any
enclosure, container or facility, other than cold storage or a
freezer, that contains more than 300 cubic feet of storage
space.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to transport or
cause to be transported any horseshoe crab in any vehicle or
trailer that contains more than 300 cubic feet of  storage
space.”

Shellfish Regulation No. 61  Collecting Horseshoe Crabs
at Night, Prohibited

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to collect horseshoe crabs
between sunset and sunrise.
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-TWO

To: Heads of All State Departments, Agencies and
Authorities, and All Political Subdivisions and
Governmental Units of the State of Delaware

Re: State Employees and the Right to Organization and
Effective Union Representation

WHEREAS, in accordance with state and federal law,
state employees have the right of organization and union
representation;

WHEREAS, experience in the public and private sector
indicates that fully protecting the right to participate in
employee organizations contributes to fair and effective
human resource policies and programs;

WHEREAS, the decision to organize must rest with
state employees and management should not seek to
intervene or influence such decisions;

WHEREAS, state employees must be afforded the
opportunity to make such decisions, free of undue influence
from management;

WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Administration to
strictly observe the right of state employees to organize and
engage in collective bargaining;

WHEREAS, it is the policy of this State to ensure that
employees have access to information provided by employee
organization representatives and other bargaining unit
representatives concerning union representation and
collective bargaining;

WHEREAS, it is important that state employee union
representatives be afforded the opportunity to fully represent
their members; and
 WHEREAS, state employee union representatives
should be afforded the opportunity to make formal
presentations before the Budget Director so that state
employee concerns are given full consideration.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, THOMAS R. CARPER, by
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of
Delaware, do hereby order and declare that:

1. Managers and supervisors shall not interfere or
otherwise hinder state employee efforts to exercise their
right to organize for purposes of collective bargaining.

2. It is the policy of this State to maintain a
neutral position as to whether
employees become involved in an organizing campaign.

3. Managers and supervisors shall not express any

view, argument, or opinion on employee organization or
collective bargaining except to:

(1) publicize the fact of a union representation
election and encourage employees to vote; and

(2) inform employees of the requirements of
this executive order relating to labor management relations
and representation.

4. The distribution of literature and solicitation of
employees during working hours in violation of the Public
Employee Relations Act is strictly prohibited.  State
agencies shall authorize such activity in non-work areas,
during non-work hours when the activity does not otherwise
interfere with operations, provided that such authorization is
otherwise consistent with state and federal law.

5. State employee union representatives shall be
afforded the opportunity to make presentations to the Budget
Director at public hearings held pursuant to 29 Del.C. §6332.

Approved this 30th day of December, 1999.
Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest:
Edward Freel, Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-THREE

To: Heads of All State Departments, Agencies and
Authorities, and All Political Subdivisions and
Governmental Units of the State of Delaware

Re: Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond
Volume Cap for Calendar Year 1999 and Initial
Suballocation of State Private Activity Bond
Volume Cap for Calendar Year 2000

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5091, the State's
private activity bond volume cap ("Volume Cap") for 1999
under §103 of the Internal Revenue Code of 19 8 6 (the
"Code") has been allocated among various state and local
government issuers; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Executive Order Number
Fifty-Seven, $75,000,000 of the Volume Cap for 1999 which
had been allocated to the State of Delaware was further
suballocated between the Delaware Economic Development
Authority and the Delaware State Housing Authority; and

WHEREAS, the allocation of Volume Cap in Executive

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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Order Number Fifty-Seven is subject to modification by
further Executive Order; and

WHEREAS, the State's Volume Cap for 1999 and 2000
is allocated among the various State and local government
issuers by 29 Del.C. §5091(a); and
 WHEREAS, Kent County has reassigned $4,700,000 of
its unallocated Volume Cap for 1999 to the State of
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, Sussex County has reassigned $5,945,000
of its unallocated Volume Cap for 1999 to the State of
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware Economic Development
Authority has reassigned $37,500,000 of its unallocated
Volume Cap for 1999 to the Delaware State Housing
Authority; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5091(b), the State's
$75,000,000 Volume Cap for 2000 is to be suballocated by
the Governor among the Delaware State Housing Authority,
the Delaware Economic Development Authority and other
governmental issuers within the State; and

WHEREAS, the Secretary of Finance recommends (i)
that the $10,645,000 unallocated Volume Cap for 1999
reassigned to the State of Delaware by other issuers be
suballocated to the Delaware State Housing Authority for
carry forward for use in future years; and (ii) that the
$37,500,000 of unallocated Volume Cap reassigned by the
Delaware Economic Development Authority be suballocated
to the Delaware State Housing Authority for carry forward
for use in future years; and (iii) that the State's $75,000,000
Volume Cap for 2000 be allocated equally between the
Delaware State Housing Authority and the Delaware
Economic Development Authority; and

WHEREAS, the Chairperson of the Delaware Economic
Development Authority and the Chairperson of the Delaware
State Housing Authority concur in the recommendations of
the Secretary of Finance.

NOW, THEREFORE,  I, Thomas R. Carper, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware,
do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The $10,645,000 of unallocated Volume Cap for
1999 that has been reassigned by other issuers to the State of
Delaware is hereby reassigned to the Delaware State
Housing Authority for carry forward use, in addition to the
$37,500,000 previously suballocated to the Delaware State
Housing Authority for 1999 under Executive Order Fifty-
Seven and the $37,500,000 of unallocated Volume Cap for
1999 that has been reassigned by the Delaware Economic
Development Authority, for a total carry forward amount of
$85,645,000.

2. The $75,000,000 allocation to the State of
Delaware of the 2000 Volume Cap is hereby suballocated
$37,500,000 to the Delaware State Housing Authority and
$37,500,000 to the Delaware Economic Development

Authority.
3. The aforesaid suballocations have been made with

due regard to actions taken by other persons in reliance upon
previous suballocations to bond issuers.

Approved this 29th day of December, 1999
Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest:
Edward Freel, Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-FOUR

To: Heads of All State Departments, Agencies and
Authorities, and All Political Subdivisions and
Governmental Units of the State of Delaware.

RE: Implementation of the Recommendations of the
Water Supply Task Force; Appointment of
Temporary Water Coordinator; Establishment of a
Water Supply Coordinating Council.

WHEREAS, on July 23, 1999, by Executive Order
Number Sixty-One, I proclaimed a drought warning for the
State of Delaware and urged specific voluntary conservation
measures;

WHEREAS, on August 5, 1999, by Executive Order
Number Sixty-Two, I proclaimed a State of Emergency due
to drought and imposed certain mandatory conservation
measures;

WHEREAS, on August 26, 1999, by Executive Order
Number Sixty-Five, I established a Water Supply Task Force
(herein after referred to as "the Task Force") and charged
that body with reviewing Delaware's current and projected
water supply along with current and projected demand;

WHEREAS, the Task Force was further charged with
providing recommendations to the Governor concerning
long-term solutions to northern New Castle County's water
supply needs, both in terms of normal weather conditions
and severe drought condition;

WHEREAS, The Task Force met on September 14,
October 1, October 21, November 5, and November 18,
1999, and submitted a final report (herein after referred to as
"the Report") to the Office of the Governor on December 2,
1999, containing, among others, the following
recommendations:

1. "Appoint an interim or temporary water master, or

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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central coordinator who would obtain input from, facilitate,
mediate, and interface with the water providers to ensure that
the "A" list of committed to projects and possibly the "B" list
projects are implemented according to an agreed upon
schedule without slippage."

2. "Appoint a Water Supply Coordinating Council
composed of State, Regional, New Castle County officials
and the five water providers to work with the water master or
coordinator to implement the water supply options."; and

WHEREAS, Given the severity of the drought
experienced in northern New Castle County during the
summer of 1999, steps must be taken to ensure that the
recommendations of the Task Force are implemented as
soon as possible so that Delaware is better prepared for
future droughts;

NOW THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware,
do hereby proclaim as follows:

A. Establishment of Temporary Water Coordinator for
Northern New Castle County.

1 . The Water Resources Agency (WRA) at the
University of Delaware is hereby designated as the
"Temporary Water Coordinator" pursuant to the
recommendations of the Task Force. The WRA shall oversee
the implementation of short-term water supply enhancement
projects as documented in the Report.

2. The Delaware Geological Survey (DGS) and
the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) shall work with the WRA to ensure
timely implementation of the projects listed in the Report,
and shall assist the WRA in preparing a regular summary on
the progress of the water supply projects identified in the
Report to the Governor and the General Assembly.

3. Said summary shall be prepared no less than
two times per year, with the first such summary being
submitted to the Governor and the General Assembly on or
before May 31, 2000.

4. The designation of the WRA as Temporary
Water Coordinator, and the duties conferred upon it by this
Executive Order shall cease as of December 31, 2000.

B. Establishment of a Temporary Water Supply
Coordinating Council.

1. A Water Supply Coordinating Council (herein
after referred to as "the Council") is hereby established.

a) The Council shall have the following
membership:

i. The Secretary of DNREC;
ii. The Secretary of the Department of

Agriculture
iii. A representative of the Office of the

Governor;
iv. The Director of the Delaware Public

Service Commission;
v. The Director of the Delaware

Emergency Management Office;
vi. The Director of the Delaware

Division of Public Health;
vii. The Delaware Public Advocate
viii. The Executive Director of the

Delaware River Basin Commission;
vix. A representative of the Government

of New Castle County;
x. A representative of each public and

private water utility serving northern New Castle County;
xi. A representative of the New Castle

County Chamber of Commerce;
xii. A representative of the Delaware

State Chamber of Commerce;
xiii. A representative of the Delaware

Association of Nurserymen;
xiv. A representative of the Professional

Grounds Management Society;
xv. A representative of the Delaware

State Golf Association; and
xvi. A representative of the Delaware

Nature Society.
b) Members shall serve at the pleasure of the

Governor, and the Governor shall select a Chairperson.
c) Additional members shall be designated

by a majority vote of the Council.
2. Consistent with the Report, the Council shall

have the following duties and
responsibilities:

a) Work cooperatively with the Temporary
Water Coordinator to implement the short-term water supply
enhancement projects;

b) Conduct hydraulic field tests and/or
modeling to optimize and expand the intra-county
interconnections to convey water from suppliers with excess
capacity to suppliers in need of additional water to meet peak
demands;

c) Encourage water providers in northern
New Castle County to adopt inclining block and/or
conservation water rates as a demand side management
measure in a manner that does not hinder economic
development in New Castle County;

d) Work with water utilities to develop
cooperative cost and capacity agreements to purchase water
supplies during drought;

e) Advise the DNREC and provide technical
input to the recently authorized U.S. Corps of Engineers
Groundwater Availability Study for Northern New Castle
County; and

f) Review the policy decision made by
DNREC to reserve water supply in Southern New Castle
County vis-a-vis the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal
Pipeline in light of the recent demand and supply analysis
and the changing socioeconomic character of southern New
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Castle County.
3. The Delaware Department of Natural

Resources and Environmental Control, the Delaware
Geological Survey and the Water Resources Agency shall
provide staff support to the Council.

4. The designation of Water Supply Coordinating
Council and the duties and responsibilities conferred upon it
by this Executive Order shall cease as of December 31,
2000.

C. The provisions of this Order shall be effective as of
January 1, 2000.

APPROVED this 30th day of December 1999.
Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest:
Edward Freel, Secretary of State
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BOARD/COMMISSION      TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE        OFFICE

Board of Medical Practice Mr. Vance G. Daniels 12/14/02

Child Protection Accountability Commission Colonel Gerald W. Pepper Pleasure of the
Governor

Council on Corrections Dr. Glover A. Jones 001/12/03

Council on Real Estate Appraisers Mr. William J. Tansey 12/15/02

Council on Volunteer Services Mr. Mark T. Brainard 12/15/01
Ms. Rachael A. Schreiber 11/21/01

Delaware Board of Nursing Ms. Debora Boyle-Borkowski 12/15/02

Delaware Economic and Financial Advisory Mr. John G. Goddard Pleasure of the
Council Governor

Delaware Institute of Medical Education & Research Dr. Steven Selbst 12/15/02

Governor’s Council on Equal Opportunity Ms. Frann S. Anderson Pleasure of the
Employment Governor

Ms. Bernice M. Edwards Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Sharon W. Yarborough Pleasure of the
Governor

Governor’s Council for Exceptional Citizens Ms. Linda M. Fleetwood Pleasure of the
Governor

Pesticide Advisory Committee Mr. Wayne A. George, Jr. 12/15/02

Real Estate Commission of Delaware Mr. John Giles 12/13/02
Mr. Marvin Sachs 12/13/02

State Board of Veterinary Medicine Mr. William H. Cross 12/14/02

Water Supply Coordinating Council Mr. Robert Appleby Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Bruce Burcat Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Carol Collier Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Nona J. Cunane Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Pleasure of the
Nicholas A. DiPasquale Governor
Mr. Joseph Dombrowski Pleasure of the

Governor
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BOARD/COMMISSION        TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE          OFFICE

Water Supply Coordinating Council Mr. Dan Dunkle Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Lorraine Fleming Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Thomas Gordon Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Mark J. Headd Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Richard Heffron Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. John P. Mulhern, Jr. Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. J. Curtis Riley Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Kris Srinivasan Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Patricia A. Stowell Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable John F. Tarburton Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Dian Taylor Pleasure of the
Governor

Dr. Ulder J. Tillman Pleasure of the
Governor

Welfare Employment Committee Ms. Nancy E. Ward, Pleasure of the
Chairperson Governor
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OFFICE OF STATE PLANNING 
COORDINATION

January 1, 2000

Dear Friend in Planning:

At the dawn of the 21st Century, my Cabinet Committee
on State Planning Issues approved a set of management
strategies designed to continue my mission of improving
Delaware’s quality of life.  

“Shaping Delaware’s Future: Managing Growth in 21st

Century Delaware” outlines strategies to ensure that by
2020, the First State is still a viable place to live, work and
play.  The initiative embraces the concept of wise
development, directing new construction to where it makes
the most economic, environmental and social sense – not to
where it contributes to unfocused and costly sprawl.  State
agencies will use the strategies to coordinate state spending
to revitalize existing cities and towns while protecting the
environment.  Furthermore, since much of Delaware’s
infrastructure is state-funded, local governments will benefit
by linking their projects with the state’s approach.  The
result should be the wise expenditure of taxpayer money and
a sensible, efficient pattern of growth.  

I am pleased that my Cabinet Committee on State
Planning Issues, staffed by the Office of State Planning
Coordination, steadfastly worked on these strategies with the
leadership and cooperation of local government officials,
civic leaders, business leaders, and other State agency
planners.  The stakeholders understood that Delaware's
quality of life was imperiled with inaction.  I commend and
thank them for a unified start in protecting and preserving
the First State's virtues.

Finalizing this set of strategies is yet another step in
“Shaping Delaware’s Future,” a vision started with a land
use planning conference in 1994.  By amending the Quality
of Life Act the following year, our counties were required to
submit updated comprehensive land use plans to the State,
and for the State to share its land use plans and projects with
the counties.

Legislation passed in 1998 mandated that all local
governments regularly convey their comprehensive plan
intentions to the State, and vice versa.  These events were
especially important because Delaware lost 48,000 acres of
farmland between 1983 and 1994, and Delaware faces a 20
percent projected population increase by 2020.  Today,
Delaware has permanently protected 37,000 acres of
farmland – the highest percentage of any state preserved
nationwide – nearly 3 percent of Delaware’s total land area,
and another 18,000 acres of open space greenways, nature
preserves and local parks.

I’ve enclosed a copy of “Shaping Delaware’s Future:

Managing Growth in 21st Century Delaware.”  I hope you
will read it to further understand Delaware’s current land use
patterns, our predicted development growth, and the

resulting vision for the 21st century and beyond.  The report
is also available on the Office of State Planning
Coordination’s web site at http://www.state.de.us/planning.

I am proud to present you with this set of spending and
management strategies designed to make Delaware a better
place to live.

Sincerely,
Thomas R. Carper,Governor

Shaping Delaware’s Future

Managing Growth in 21st Century Delaware:
Strategies for state policies and spending

All across Delaware, people are talking about growth.

No matter how they differ, communities from center
city Wilmington to downtown Dover, from historic Seaford
to the beachfront resort communities, are facing the same
question: How can we handle the myriad challenges that
arise from the First State’s phenomenal increase in
population and land development?
These increases present both opportunities and problems:
more jobs, but more traffic; greater housing choices, but
fewer acres of farmland; a gain in shopping options, but a
loss of community character; a larger pool of potential
employees for businesses, but a poorer quality of life for
those employees.

The pace of change

The mix of benefits and difficulties that result from
growth are nothing new -- they have been part of the
“suburbanization” of America since the 1950s, when an
exodus began from urban areas (the traditional population
centers) to outlying areas.

Although the pace of change was somewhat slower in
Delaware, it has accelerated in recent years at a startling
pace. Here are a few indicators of that growth:

• Delaware’s population increased by almost 67
percent between 1960 and 1998.

• Most of that increase was in unincorporated areas,
where population doubled.

• Delaware’s residential areas grew by almost 50
percent between 1984 and 1992.

• Commercial and industrial uses increased by more
than 60 percent during that period.

• The state lost 21 percent of its farmland to
development between 1970 and 1997.

http://www.state.de.us/planning/index.htm


GENERAL NOTICES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 8, TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2000

1102

What can we do to manage this explosive growth?

Although decisions concerning land-use remain at the
local and county level, the state can influence the way
development occurs through its spending and management
policies. By making wise decisions about building and
managing highways, water and sewer systems, and other
public facilities (commonly called “infrastructure”), the state
can reduce the negative effects of poorly planned, unfocused
growth.

By promoting and supporting development and
redevelopment in places where adequate infrastructure exists
or is planned, the state can manage congestion, preserve
farmland, enhance community character and protect
important state resources. In short, it can preserve
Delaware’s high quality of life.

To do so, state agencies have to work closely with
county and municipal governments, and all parties need
guidelines to help make smart land-use decisions.
To that end, the Cabinet Committee on State Planning Issues
has developed a set of strategies to guide state spending and
policies.

The Strategies

In workshops conducted by the Cabinet Committee on
State Planning Issues, Delawareans said they want well-
planned, efficient and orderly growth. Accomplishing that
requires new development to be directed to where it makes
the most economic, environmental and social sense. The
strategies for doing so are based on common-sense
distinctions between highly developed cities and towns, less
developed rural areas and the developing transition zones
between them. Because the types of development are so
different, spending and policies for each type would also
differ.

Trying to neatly fit the many, diverse areas of Delaware
into a just a handful of categories is impossible, but this
document will use the following broad terms as convenient
shorthand for the range of developed-through-undeveloped
areas:

• Communities -- In these areas where population is
concentrated, commerce is bustling and a wide
range of housing types already exists, state policies
should encourage redevelopment and reinvestment.
They should also increase transportation options,
improve water and wastewater systems, and ensure
community identity and vitality.

• Urban centers – In more urban, city areas, the state
will pursue the same goals listed under
“communities” as well as specific strategies that
address the special conditions of these places with
major concentrations of population and economic,

governmental, academic, and cultural activities.
• Employment centers – In these specially

designated areas, the state will promote new
economic development, and a balance between
workplaces and residences.

• Developing areas -- In these zones between
development centers and rural areas, state
investments and policies will be targeted to
accommodate existing development and orderly
growth. State investments should link development
plans to available infrastructure, encourage
interconnections between developments, promote a
variety of housing types and protect natural
resources.

• Environmentally sensitive developing areas – In
these areas surrounding the Inland Bays, where
development is putting pressure on the both the
natural environment and infrastructure such as
roads, the state will seek a balance between
resource protection and sustainable growth.

• Secondary developing areas – In these areas
designated for growth by county plans, but not
included in the state's developing areas, the state
will promote efficient, orderly development and the
coordinated phasing of infrastructure investment,
consistent with the extent and timing of future
growth, and within the limitations of state financial
resources.

• Rural areas -- In these historically open areas,
state policies should encourage the preservation of
a rural lifestyle and discourage new development.
Spending on transportation, water and wastewater
systems should be limited to what is needed to
alleviate health and environmental risks and to
accommodate regional trips, with little additional
capacity that would encourage further development.
State policies should protect farmlands and natural
areas, while also promoting the revitalization and
enhancement of small rural communities.

How will these strategies be used?

The state will use these strategies to make decisions
such as the allocation of new state funding for farmland
preservation, road construction, open-space preservation,
transportation investments, state-supported housing
development, and water and wastewater financing. The
strategies will also serve as a guide for review and, if
necessary, revision of existing state policies. They also
provide a framework for state comments on local
comprehensive planning and land use decisions.

The state strategies will be useful tools for county and
local governments, but they are not intended to restrict
county and municipal authority in land use decisions. The
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strategies will be a critical component of the information
considered for county comprehensive plans, and they will be
part of the state guidance for municipal planning and for
intergovernmental coordination between counties and
municipalities. 

These strategies are not intended to replace local land
use plans. The state is not determining where the counties or
municipalities can or cannot exercise their responsibilities
nor where they should allow or not allow development to
occur. The strategies do not restrict landowners’ rights to use
or develop their lands nor do they restrict a purchaser’s
option to live anywhere desired. The strategies do create a
framework for where the state will most likely allocate its
resources and focus state program efforts. 

The criteria that are the basis for the strategies will be
continually refined, and the strategies will be reviewed and,
if necessary, revised every five years. 

Working for the future

The Strategies for Managing Growth in 21st Century
Delaware are based on these basic premises:

• State actions influence development, and affect
quality of life.

• State spending should promote quality and
efficiency, not sprawl.

• State policies should foster order and resource
protection, not degradation.

Putting these ideas into action requires a clear vision of
where development should, and should not, be directed.
Using carefully thought-out strategies, the state can
influence where growth occurs. County governments will be
able to plan for growth with a clear understanding of where
state resources will be most readily available. Municipal
governments will be able to plan for the growth of their cities
and towns with a clear knowledge of how the state and
county governments view the areas around their borders.

People want to live in Delaware, and we all understand
why. We can welcome more Delawareans, more new
businesses, more new jobs, and still maintain our high
quality of life -- if we plan it that way.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Public Notice
Division of Social Services

The Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of
Social Services, is requesting that information relative to
Senate Bill No. 101 be published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations. Senate Bill No. 101, passed into law by the

140th Delaware General Assembly, allows participants of
Delaware’s A Better Chance welfare reform program to
engage in adult basic education, secondary education, post-
secondary education and vocational training as part of the
work activity requirement. This new law took effect on July
2, 1999.   
 

Summary of Senate Bill No. 101:

• Allows participants of Delaware’s A Better Chance
Welfare Reform program to engage in adult basic
education, secondary education, post-secondary
education and vocational training as part of the
work activity requirement.    

• Participants must be enrolled as full-time students,
must be students in good standing and be required
to have a combination of credit hours and work
hours equaling at least 20 hours per week.

• Participants must attend accredited or approved
programs and will receive the same support
services while in school as do other Better Chance
participants.      

Section 1. Amend Chapter 5, Title 31 of the Delaware Code
by adding a new Section 523, to read as follows:

Section 523. Education and training for recipients of aid
under Section 505(1) of this chapter.

(a) Persons who qualify for assistance under Section
501(1) of this chapter shall be eligible to participate in
secondary education, post-secondary education up to the
baccalaureate level, adult basic education or vocational
training as an approved work activity provided each of the
following requirements are met:

1. The person does not hold a baccalaureate
degree.

2. The secondary, post-secondary education up to
the baccalaureate level, or vocational training is pursued
through an accredited or approved school program.

3. The person is enrolled with enough credit
hours to have full-time student status and is in good standing

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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as it relates to attendance and achievement as defined by the
program the person is attending.

4. If the person attending school would otherwise
be subject to a work requirement in order to receive
assistance under Section 505(1) of this chapter, the
combination of credit hours and work hours shall equal at
least 20 hours per week while the program is in session. This
work requirement may be met through work-study,
internships, externships, or through work as a research
assistant. If possible, during scheduled breaks, the work
requirement will be the same as for other program
participants, with work experience related to the field of
study. However, if the student is enrolled full-time for the
next semester and work activity placement cannot be
arranged for the duration of the break in classes, it may be
excused. 

(b) Loans, scholarships, grants and work-study
received by the recipient to   pay for tuition and materials are
excluded in determination of eligibility for assistance under
Section 505(1) of this Title or the amount of assistance
received by the recipient

(c) The Department of Health and Social Services shall
advise all persons of this section at application interviews
and, at a minimum, at each recertification appointment.

(d) Persons attending education and training programs
under this section shall receive support services, such as
assistance with transportation and child care, while they
attend the educational or vocational training program on the
same basis as support services are provided other persons
who are receiving assistance under Section 505(1) of this
Title.

(e) If program completion will occur within one
semester or quarter after the time limit expires, an extension
may be granted for that semester or quarter.

(f) Persons sanctioned while attending educational or
vocational programs shall be afforded the same due process
as provided other persons under Section 518 and Section 520
of this Title.  
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

*  PLEASE NOTE: THE MEETING TIME FOR THE PUBLIC

HEARING  REGARDING THE PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY RULES AND REGULATIONS WAS

OMITTED FROM THE MEETING NOTICE PUBLISHED IN THE

JANUARY 1, 2000 REGISTER (3 DE REG 850 (1/1/00)). 
THE BOARD WILL MEET ON WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY

23, 2000 AT 9:00 A.M. IN THE SECOND FLOOR

CONFERENCE ROOM A OF THE CANNON BUILDING, 861
SILVER LAKE BOULEVARD, DOVER, DELAWARE, 19904.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 105(1), the Delaware
Board of Accountancy proposes to revise its rules and
regulations.  Please note that the following rules and
regulations are a total rewriting and reordering of existing
regulations, and will supersede and replace any previously
adopted rules and regulations of the Board.  Substantive
changes to the regulations include changes in definitions of
full and part time employment as it relates to the statutory
experience requirement; deletion of provisions pertaining to
matters governed by other Acts and Statutes (e.g.
disciplinary hearings); establishes application requirements;
requires demonstration of good character and education
requirements prior to approval to sit for examination;
clarifies statutory requirements and required documentation
for permits to practice certified public accountancy and for
certificate reciprocity; establishes reporting requirements
and clarifies substantive requirements for continuing
education credits; and establishes procedural rules pertaining
to hearings before the Board.  In addition, material which
unnecessarily duplicates the statutes or other rules and
regulations has been stricken.  The rules and regulations
have been entirely re-ordered and re-numbered.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Wednesday, February 23, 2000 at 9:00 a.m.
in the Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware,
19904.  The Board will receive and consider input in writing
from any person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.
Any written comments should be submitted to the Board in
care of Mary Paskey at the above address.  The final date to
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the
public hearing should notify Mary Paskey at the above
address or by calling (302) 739-4522, extension 207.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of

general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS

The Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners in
accordance with 24 Del. C. Section 1406(a)(1) has proposed
a comprehensive revision of its rules and regulations to
implement the statutory revision that became effective July
20, 1999.  The changes in part  include new requirements for
insurance coverage, a provision for an inactive license,
requirements for continuing education, timetables for
qualifications of employees of inspection agencies,
clarification of licensure exceptions, proof required to
substantiate required experience, reciprocity procedures,
and a program for impaired professionals.

A public hearing will be held at 9:00 a.m. on March 7,
2000 in the second for conference room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Electrical Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons to submit
written comments may forward these comments to the Board
at the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

 The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations  at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
conclusion of the public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK

Statutory Authority:  Title 24, Delaware Code, 
Chapter 53 (24 Del.C. Chp. 53)

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 5306(1), the Delaware
Board of Massage and Bodywork proposes to revise its rules
and regulations.  The proposed revisions define certain
modalities as constituting or not constituting the “practice of
massage and bodywork.”  The Board’s Rule regarding
Continuing Education has also been rewritten in its entirety,
changing the number of required hours for massage
therapists from 12 to 24 per biennial licensing period;
clarifying content requirements and Board approval
procedures; allowing credit for certain self-directed
activities; establishing reporting requirements, and allowing
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for hardship extensions in certain cases.
A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and

Regulations on Thursday, March 2, 2000 at 2:00 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of
Denise Spear at the above address.  The final date to submit
written comments shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed
Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the public
hearing should notify Denise Spear at the above address or
by calling (302) 739-4522.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

The Pesticide Section proposes to amend its regulations.  
Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Grier Stayton, Department of Agriculture,
2320 S. duPont Highway, Dover, DE  19901 by March 1,
2000.

 

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The Department of Education will hold its
monthly meeting on Thursday, February 17, 2000
at 2:00 p.m. in the Townsend Building, Dover,
Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Public Notice
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its eligibility policy manual.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by February 29, 2000.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Public Notice

Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its General Policy Provider Manual.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by February 29, 2000.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm

