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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is  an official State publication established by authority of  69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited  by volume, issue , p age number and  date. An example
would be:

14 DE Reg. 24-47 (07/01/10)

Refers to Volume 14, pages 24-47 of the Delaware Register issued on July 1, 2010.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens an d othe r in terested p arties may p articipate in the pr ocess b y which a dministrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full tex t of su ch proposals, together with  copies o f the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the  Register of Regulations pursuant to § 1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any oth er regulations th at ma y be impacted or  affected by the proposal, and shall st ate the manner in wh ich
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public he aring sha ll not be sched uled less than 20  days fo llowing publication of no tice o f the p roposal in  the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the prop osal, notice of the time, date, pl ace and a
summary of the n ature o f the p roposal shall a lso be  published in  at lea st 2  Delawa re newspapers o f g eneral
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held  open fo r a minimum of 3 0 days af ter the  proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upo n a ll the  testim onial a nd written e vidence and information sub mitted, toge ther with
summaries o f the e vidence a nd information b y subordinates, the agency sha ll de termine whether a r egulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact w ith respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or  repeal a r egulation or to  take no action  and the  decision shall be  supported by it s findings on  the
evidence and infor mation received; ( 4) Th e exact te xt an d citation of such re gulation ad opted, am ended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in it s final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.
When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in th e pr eceding section, n o judicial r eview o f a regulation is a vailable u nless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING TIME

January 1 December 15       4:30 p.m.
February 1 January 17       4:30 p.m.
March 1 February 15       4:30 p.m.
April 1 March 15       4:30 p.m.
May 1 April 15       4:30 p.m.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF

Deborah A.  Porter, In terim Supervisor; Judi Abbo tt, Administrative S pecialist I;  Jeffrey W . Hag ue,
Registrar of  Regulations; Robert Lupo , Printer; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J. Messina,
Print Shop Supervisor; Kathleen Morris, Administrative S pecialist I; Debbie Puz zo, Research A nalyst; Don
Sellers, Printer; Georgia Roman, Unit Operations Support Specialist; Victoria Schultes, Administrative Specialist
II; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative Specialist II.
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regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations that
have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 235

PUBLIC NOTICE

235 Teacher of the Year Award

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Reauthorization of Existing Regulation 

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks to reauthorize 14 DE Admin. Code 235 Teacher of the Year Award as part

of the five-year review cycle.
Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or

before January 6, 2011 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of Education,
at 4 01 Fe deral S treet, Suite 2, Do ver, Delawa re 19901. A co py of th is r egulation is a vailable fr om the abo ve
address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievem ent as meas ured against state achievement

standards? The regulation is readopted as part of the 5 year review cycle.
2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation is

readopted as part of the 5 year review cycle.
3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation is readopted as part of the 5 year review cycle.
4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The regulation is

readopted as part of the 5 year review cycle.

Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of su ch p roposals, tog ether with cop ies of  the  e xisting regulation b eing a dopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the  Register of Regulations pursuant to § 1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any oth er regulations th at ma y be imp acted or af fected by the proposal, and shall st ate the manner in wh ich
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such
public he aring sha ll not be sched uled less than 20  days fo llowing publication of no tice o f the p roposal in  the
Register of Regulations.  If a public  hearing will be held on the prop osal, notice of the time, date, plac e and a
summary of the nature o f th e p roposal shall a lso be  pu blished in  at lea st 2  Dela ware newsp apers o f g eneral
circulation.   The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The regulation is readopted as part of the 5 year review cycle.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnec essary reporting or administrative requireme nts or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The regulation is readopted as part of the 5 year review
cycle.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The entity for decision making and accountability will not change.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational po licies, in p articular to state educational p olicies a ddressing a chievement in  the  cor e academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The regulation is readopted as part of the 5
year review cycle.

9. Is th ere a le ss bu rdensome me thod for  ad dressing the purpose o f t he r egulation? T here is  no t a  le ss
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
cost to the local school boards. 

235 Teacher of the Year Award

This pr ogram sh all b e a dministered in accordance with  14  De l.C. Ch. 89, a nd th e follo wing rules and
regulations.

1.0 Qualifications
To be considered for the Teacher of the Year award a person shall:
1.1 Have taught, continuously or  in termittently, for  an  accumulative pe riod o f three yea rs or  mo re in a

Delaware public school previous to the date of such person's nomination.
1.2 Have been formally nominated.
1.3 Be actively teaching in their district or charter school in this state at the time of their nomination.
1.4 Continue to actively teach in the nominating district or charter school for the duration of the school year

of their nomination.
1.4.1 If the nominee chooses to leave the district or charter school during the selection period the district

or charter school shall submit another nominee.
1.5 Meet all the requirements for a Standard Certificate for the position held and hold a valid and current

license, as approved by the Professional Standards Board, Department of Education and the State
Board of Education.

7 DE Reg. 1178 (3/1/04)
9 DE Reg. 1182 (2/1/06)

2.0 Nominations
The following shall apply in preparing nominations in accordance with the requirements of the Act.

2.1 The Department of Education  shall meet annually with the district coordinators of the Teacher of the
Year Program and the representative for the charter schools for the purpose of pr oviding them with
detailed instru ctions and proper form s for  th e pr esentation of nom inees. Each d istrict is in vited to
nominate one  te acher emp loyed by the  district and th e ch arter sch ools ar e invited  to sele ct one
nominee to represent all of the charter schools.

2.1.1 Nominees shall be skillful and dedicated teachers, prekindergarten thro ugh grade 12.
Administrative pe rsonnel such as principals an d gu idance co unselors a re n ot eligi ble to be
considered for State Teacher of the Year. Nominees for State Tea cher of th e Year who a re not
actively eng aged in  teaching in a p ublic sch ool a t the  tim e at wh ich ob servations a re made
pursuant to Section 2.2 below shall be disqualified.

2.2 Nominees shall su bmit a  po rtfolio de scribing themselves an d setting  for th their  p ositions on
educational issues. Format will be based on the National Teacher of the Year program.
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2.3 Following the submission of the  po rtfolios, selected Department of Ed ucation st aff members and
selected former state and local district Teachers of  th e Year shall be  ass igned in  pairs to  read the
portfolios of two  no minees an d o bserve those nominees in the classroom ba sed o n the  cr iteria
stipulated in  th e Teacher of th e Year Program Guide th at is up dated each  year. Anothe r gr oup of
Department of Educa tion Staff members shall be assigned to read all of the portfolios and rate them
based on forms found in the Teacher of the Year Program Guide. Based on the numerical ratings from
both the portfolio readers and from the observations, three nominees shall be identified as finalists for
consideration by a panel of judges.

2.4 The panel o f judges shall include: the current State Teacher of the Y ear; the President of the State
Congress of Parents and Teachers; the President of the State Student Council Association; a member
of the State Board of Education; a representative of the Chamber of Commerce; the President of the
Delaware S tate Education Ass ociation; and  the Ch air of the Pro fessional S tandards Boar d or , if
necessary, their designees.

2.5 The ju dges shall recommend one pe rson for  the Secretary o f Education to d eclare a s the State
Teacher of the Year.

3 DE Reg. 104 (7/1/99)
7 DE Reg. 1178 (3/1/04)
9 DE Reg. 1182 (2/1/06)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 710

PUBLIC NOTICE

710 Public School Employees Workday

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Reauthorization of Existing Regulation 

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks to reauthorize 14 DE Admin. Code 710 Public School Employees Workday

as part of the five-year review cycle.
Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or

before January 6, 2011 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of Education,
at 4 01 Fe deral S treet, Suite 2, Do ver, Delawa re 19901. A co py of th is r egulation is a vailable fr om the abo ve
address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievem ent as meas ured against state achievement

standards? The regulation is readopted as part of the 5 year review cycle.
2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation is

readopted as part of the 5 year review cycle.
3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulation is readopted as part of the 5 year review cycle.
4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The regulation is

readopted as part of the 5 year review cycle.
5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local

board and school level? The regulation is readopted as part of the 5 year review cycle.

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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6. Will the amended regulation place unnec essary reporting or administrative requireme nts or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The regulation is readopted as part of the 5 year review
cycle.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The entity for decision making and accountability will not change.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational po licies, in p articular to state educational p olicies a ddressing a chievement in  the  cor e academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The regulation is readopted as part of the 5
year review cycle.

9. Is th ere a le ss bu rdensome me thod for  ad dressing the purpose o f t he r egulation? T here is  no t a  le ss
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
cost to the State or local school boards for compliance with the regulation.

710 Public School Employees Workday

1.0 Required Work Hours
Absent an existing collective bargaining agreement to the contrary, district employees who work less
than the specified time shall have their annual salary adjusted accordingly. Upon ratification of a new
or extension of an existing collective bargaining agreement, the local district shall establish hours and
days worked th at are consistent wit h th ose sp ecified b elow. Other wise, effective July 1, 2001 a
workday for public school employees shall be defined as follows:

1.1 Teacher, a minimum of 7 1/2 hours, inclusive of 1/2 hour for lunch, plus the amount of time required for
the discharge of such duties and services as may be reasonably expected and required of a member
of the professional staff of a public school. (14 Del.C. §1305 defines the number of teacher workdays
per year and 14 Del.C. §1328 defines the duty free period.)

1.2 Aide and Paraprofessional, a minimum of 7 1/2 hours inclusive of 1/2 hour for lunch.
1.3 Custodian, a minimum of 8 hours inclusive of 1/2 hour for lunch.
1.4 Administrator, a m inimum of 7 1/2 hours exclusive of lunch plus th e amount of time required for the

discharge of such duties and services as may be reasonably expected and required of a member of
the professional staff of a public school.

1.5 Food Service Manager, a minimum of 7 hours exclusive of lunch.
1.6 Secretary, a minimum of 7 1/2 hours exclusive of lunch.
3 DE Reg. 1077 (2/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1254 (2/1/01)
9 DE Reg. 1183 (2/1/06)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Medicaid Recovery Audit Contractor Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - T itle 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the a uthority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 5 12, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is amending the Title XIX Medicaid

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/
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State Plan to comp ly with se ction 64 11 of th e Af fordable Ca re Act re garding the Medicaid Recovery A udit
Contractor Program. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by December 31, 2010.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the pro posed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposal amends the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to comply with section 6411 of the Affordable Care Act
which amends section 1902(a)(42) of th e Social Security Act (the Act) requ iring States to establish programs to
contract with RACs to audit payments to Medicaid providers by December 31, 2010. 

Statutory Authority
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148, Section 6411, Expansion of the Recovery

Audit Contractor (RAC) program.

Background
State Medicaid RACs
Under Section 1902(a)(42)(B)(i) of the Act, States and Territories are required to establish programs to contract

with one or more Medicaid RACs for the purpose of identifying underpayments and overpayments and recouping
overpayments under the State plan and under any waiver of the State plan with respect to all services for which
payment is m ade to a ny e ntity under su ch p lan or wa iver. States must establish th ese pr ograms in a man ner
consistent with S tate law, and gen erally in the sa me manner as the Secre tary contra cts with  contingency fee
contractors for the Medicare RAC program. 

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) will allow States to maintain flexibility in the design of
Medicaid RAC program requirements and the number of entities with which the States elect to contract within the
parameters of th e statutory requirements. There are a number of o perational and policy considerations in State
Medicaid RAC program design (some of which will be discussed in greater depth in future rulemaking) such as:

a. Qualifications of Medicaid RACs;
b. Required personnel - for example physicians and certified coders; 
c. Contract duration; 
d. RAC responsibilities; 
e. Timeframes for completion of audits/recoveries; 
f. Audit look-back periods; 
g. Coordination with other contractors and law enforcement; 
h. Appeals; and 
i. Contingency fee considerations. 

Contingency Fees 
Sections 1902(a)(42)(B)(ii)(I) and (II) of the Act provide that payments to Medicaid RACs are to be made only

from amounts “recovered” on a contingent basis for collecting overpayments and in amounts specified by the State
for identifying underpayments. CMS will not dict ate c ontingency fee rate s, but w ill establish a maximum
contingency rate for which F ederal Financial participation (FFP) will be available. This  rate will be the highest
contingency fee rate that is paid by CMS under the Medicare RAC program. 
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Appeals 
Section 1902(a)(42)(B)(ii)(III) of the Act requires States to have an adequate process for entities to appeal any

adverse decisions ma de by the Medicaid RACs. Ea ch State has ex isting administrative appeals processes with
respect to audits of Medicaid providers. So long as States are able to accommodate Medicaid RAC appeals within
their existing Medicaid provider appeal structure, CMS is not requiring States to adopt a new administrative review
infrastructure to conduct Medicaid RAC appeals. 

Reporting 
States will be required to report to CMS their c ontingency fee rates , along with other Medicaid RAC contract

metrics such as the number of audits conducted, recovery amounts, number of cases referred for potential fraud,
contract periods of performance, contractors’ names, and other factors such as whether a State has implemented
provider or service-specific Medicaid RACs. States will report certain elements of this information via the quarterly
Form CMS-64, and other information via separate data reporting forms CMS will require. 

Coordination 
Section 1902(a)(42)(B)(ii)(IV)(cc) of the Act requires that CMS ensure that States and their Medicaid RACs

coordinate their recovery audit efforts with other entities. 

Summary of Proposal
In a ccordance with  th e st atutory requirements of Sectio n 64 11 of th e Af fordable Ca re Act, th e Divisio n of

Medicaid and  Med ical Assist ance (DMM A) inten ds to subm it a  S tate pla n am endment (SP A) th rough wh ich
Delaware will attest that it will establish a compliant Medicaid RAC program by December 31, 2010. 

State programs to contract with Medicaid RACs are not required to be fully operational by December 31, 2010.
However, CMS expects States to fully implement their RAC programs by April 1, 2011.

The provisions of this state plan amendment are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS).

Fiscal Impact Statement
This revision imp oses no in crease in co st on the  General Fun d; however, there is the p otential for

administrative and system change costs.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #10-51
REVISION:

Revision: CMS
OMB No.

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State/Territory DELAWARE

SECTION 4 – GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION

4.5 Medicaid Recovery Audit Contractor Program
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Citation  
 
Section 1902(a)(42)(B)(i)  
of the Social Security Act  
 
 
 
Section 1902(a)(42)(B)(ii)(I)  
of the Act  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Section 1902 (a)(42)(B)(ii)(II)(aa) 
of the Act  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Section 1902 (a)(42)(B)(ii)(II)(bb) 
of the Act  
 
 
Section 1902 (a)(42)(B)(ii)(III)  
of the Act  
 
 
Section 1902 
(a)(42)(B)(ii)(IV)(aa) of the Act  
 
Section 
1902(a)(42)(B)(ii)(IV)(bb) of the 
Act  
 
Section 1902 
(a)(42)(B)(ii)(IV)(cc) of the Act 

The State has established a program under which it will contract with one 
or more recovery audit contractors (RACs) for the purpose of identifying 
underpayments and overpayments of Medicaid claims under the State plan 
and under any waiver of the State plan.  
____The State is seeking an exception to establishing such program for the 
following reasons: 
  
_____The State/Medicaid agency has contracts of the type(s) listed in 
section 1902(a)(42)(B)(ii)(I) of the Act. All contracts meet the requirements 
of the statute. RACs are consistent with the statute.  
Place a check mark to provide assurance of the following:  

The State will make payments to the RAC(s) only from amounts 
recovered.  

The State will make payments to the RAC(s) on a contingent basis for 
collecting overpayments.  
 
The following payment methodology shall be used to determine State 
payments to Medicaid RACs for identification and recovery of overpayments 
(e.g., the percentage of the contingency fee):  

The State attests that the contingency fee rate paid to the Medicaid RAC 
will not exceed the highest rate paid to Medicare RACs, as published in the 
Federal Register.  
_____ The State attests that the contingency fee rate paid to the Medicaid 
RAC will exceed the highest rate paid to Medicare RACs, as published in 
the Federal Register. The State will only submit for FFP up to the amount 
equivalent to that published rate.  
_____The contingency fee rate paid to the Medicaid RAC that will exceed 
the highest rate paid to Medicare RACs, as published in the Federal 
Register. The State will submit a justification for that rate and will submit for 
FFP for the full amount of the contingency fee. 
  

The following payment methodology shall be used to determine State 
payments to Medicaid RACs for the identification of underpayments (e.g., 
amount of flat fee, the percentage of the contingency fee):  
 
The Medicaid RAC will be paid an equivalent percentage contingency 
fee for the identification of underpayments. 

The State has an adequate appeal process in place for entities to appeal 
any adverse determination made by the Medicaid RAC(s).  

The State assures that the amounts expended by the State to carry out 
the program will be amounts expended as necessary for the proper and 
efficient administration of the State plan or a waiver of the plan.  
 

The State assures that the recovered amounts will be subject to a State’s 
quarterly expenditure estimates and funding of the State’s share.  
 

Efforts of the Medicaid RAC(s) will be coordinated with other contractors 
or entities performing audits of entities receiving payments under the State 
plan or waiver in the State, and/or State and Federal law enforcement 
entities and the CMS Medicaid Integrity Program. 
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DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 7906(e) (16 Del.C. §7906(e))

16 DE Admin. Code 4455

PUBLIC NOTICE

4455 Delaware Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code

The Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health is proposing regulations which amend
Title 16 o f the Delaware Code relating to th e adoption and en forcement of a Un ified Plumbing Code.  Title 16 ,
Section 7906(e), created by House Bill 488 and signed into law  on July 27, 2010, requir es that the Divis ion of
Public Health shall issue plumbing permits and shall assess a $100 fee for each permit, except that no permit shall
be re quired or  fe e a ssessed for the r eplacement of an  ex isting fix ture, p iece o f e quipment or  re lated pipin g,
including but not limited to hot water heaters and water conditioning systems. The Division of Public Health has
proposed amended regulations governing a Detailed Plumbing Code to address this mandate.  On December 1,
2010, the  Division pla ns to  publish proposed ame ndments to the D elaware Regula tions Governing a D etailed
Plumbing Code and hold them out for public comment per Delaware law.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Health Systems Protection Section, under the Division of Public Health, Department of Health and Social
Services (D HSS), will hold a public hearing to discuss pr oposed am endments to th e De laware Reg ulations
Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code.  Title 16, Section 7906(e), created by House Bill 488 and signed into law on
July 27, 2010, requires that the Division of Public Health shall issue plumbing permits and shall assess a $100 fee
for each permit, except that no permit shall be required or fee assessed for the replacement of an existing fixture,
piece of equipment or related piping, including but not limited to hot water heaters and water conditioning systems.
The Division of Public Health has proposed amended regulations governing a Detailed Plumbing Code to address
this mandate.

The public  hearing will be held on De cember 22, 2010 at 10:00 a.m. in the Third Floor Conference Room,
located in the Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the November 1, 2010 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, access ible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by callin g the Of fice of Health
Systems Protection at (302) 856-5496.

Anyone wishing to pr esent his or  her oral comments at th is hearing should contact Ms. Deborah Harvey at
(302) 744-4700 by December 20, 2010.  Anyone wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to or in lieu
of oral testimony should submit such comments by December 31, 2010 to:

Deborah Harvey, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Fax (302) 739-6659

4455 Delaware Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code

1.0 State of Delaware Plumbing Code
These Regulations shall hereby be known as the “State of Delaware Plumbing Code”.

14 DE Reg. 37 (07/01/10)

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html
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2.0 Adoption of International Plumbing Code.
The State of Delaware Plumbing Code adopts, as if fully set forth herein, “The International Plumbing
Code 2009” as amended herein:

2.1 Amend Subsection 101.1 by deleting the subsection in its entirety.
2.2 Amend Subsection 101.2 by deleting the subsection in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the

following:  “T he pr ovisions of this Code  sha ll ap ply to the  er ection, installation, alteration,  rep air,
relocation, replacement, addition to, use or maintenance of plumbing systems within this jurisdiction.”

2.3 Amend Subsection 102.2 by deleting the subsection in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the
following:  “The legal use and occupancy of any structure existing on the effective date of this Code, or
for wh ich it had  bee n h eretofore ap proved, ma y be con tinued wi thout chan ge exce pt as may b e
specifically covered in this Code or deemed necessary by the Deputy Code Official(s) for the general
safety and welfare of the occupants and the public.

Exception:  Except that upon change of permit holder in facilities and operations regulated by the
Delaware Division of Public Health such systems shall comply with the requirements of this Code
and applicable regulations promulgated and standards establ ished by the Delaware Division  of
Public Health.”

2.4 Amend Subsection 102.4 by deleting the second paragraph in its entirety.
2.45 Amend Subsection 1 02.10 by deleting the wor ds “loca l, st ate or fe deral la w” and  inserting in lieu

thereof the following:  “the Delaware Code.”
2.56 Amend Subsection 104.1 by deleting the subsection in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the

following: “For the purpose of th is document the te rm “Code Official” re fers to the Secre tary of the
Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, or his/her designee.  “Plumbing Inspectors” shall
have such duties and powers as are enumerated in Title 16, Section 7907 of the Delaware Code and
shall have the authority of a Deputy Code Official as referenced in Section 103.3 of this Code.”

2.67 Amend Subsection 10 6.6.3 by  adding thereto a n ew nu mbered paragraph f ollowing n umbered
paragraph “3” to read as follows:  “4. The State of Delaware Plumbing Code Office does not refund
plumbing p ermit fe es.” Amend Subsection 10 6.1 b y ad ding a n ew se ntence at  the e nd of  the
subsection paragraph to read as follows: “ The Division of Public Health sha ll issue plumbing permits
and a $100 fee shall be assessed for all plumbing permits issued by the Division of Public Health.  All
revenue ge nerated sh all be r etained by th e Division  of Pub lic Hea lth in order to de fray co sts
associated with the plumbing inspection program.”

2.7.1 Amend Subsection 106 .2 by ad ding th ereto a  new nu mbered p aragraph following  nu mbered
paragraph “2” to read as follows:  “3. No permit or fee is required by the Div ision of Public Health
for the replacement of an e xisting fixture, piece o f equipment or related piping, including but not
limited to hot water heaters and water conditioning systems.”

2.7.2 Amend Subsection 106.2 by adding thereto a new numbered paragraph following paragraph “3”
to read as follows:  “4. The relocation of any plumbing fixture and related pipe requires a permit.”

2.7.3 Amend Subsection 106.2 by adding thereto a new numbered paragraph following paragraph “4”
to read as follows:  “5. Any new non potable  fixture, piece of equipment, or system that connects
to the potable water supply shall require a permit and shall meet the provisions of this Code.”

2.7.4 Amend Subsection 106.6.3 by adding thereto a new numbered paragraph following paragraph “3”
to read as follows:  “4. The Division of Public Health does not refund plumbing permit fees.”

2.78 Amend Subsection 108.1 by deleting the subsection in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the
following:  “It shall be unlawful for any person to work as a licensed plumber in the State of Delaware
unless such person has received a license from the Delaware Department of Administrative Services,
Division of Professional Regulation, showing that said person has been duly licensed as a p lumber,
except as provided by Title 24, Section 1807(c) of the Delaware Code, and has a permit issued by the
Delaware Division of Public Health.

Exception: The hom eowner o f a  single -family r esidence o ccupied, o r to b e occup ied b y th e
homeowner and not for sale, rent or lease, ma y perform plumbing work only on such r esidence
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itself or auxiliary structures, and in compliance with a permit issued by the Delaw are Division of
Public Health, or applicable authority, and in compliance with all provisions of these regulations.”

2.89 Amend Subsection 108.4 by deleting the subsection in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the
following:  “Any person who shall violate any provisions of this Code, or shall fail to c omply with the
requirements thereof, or who shall install plumbing work in violation of an approved plan or directive of
the Code Official or the Deputy Code Official(s), or of a permit or certificate issued under the provisions
of this Code, shall be subject to penalties as provided by Title 16, Chapter 79 of the Delaware Code.”

2.910 Amend Subsection 108.5 by deleting the words: “shall be liable to a fine of not less than [AMOUNT]
dollars or more than [AMOUNT] dollars” as it appears therein and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
“shall be subject to penalties as provided by Title 16, Chapters 1 and 79 of the Delaware Code.”

2.1011 Section 202 General Definitions
2.1011.1 Amend Section 202 by adding thereto a new definition after the definition “Leader” and before

the definition “Local Vent Stack” t o r ead a s f ollows: “ Licensed Pl umber.  A person who  h as
complied with the provisions of the Delaware Division of Professional Regulation and the Board of
Plumbing Exa miners, and  has fur ther met th e certification, testing,  bo nding, an d licensing
requirements of the ju risdiction in which he/she plans to en gage in the business of plumbing. A
Licensed Plum ber sh all be re cognized as  be ing re sponsible fo r a ll wo rk pe rformed und er a
plumbing permit issued by the Delaware Division of Public Health.”

2.1011.2 Amend Section 202 by ad ding thereto a new de finition after  the definition  “Soil Pipe ” and
before the definition “ Spillproof Vacuum Breaker”  to read as follows:  “Solvent cement. The
sealant used to connect pipes and fittings. This Code prohibits the use of all purpose glue in any
reference to solvent cement.”

2.1011.3 Amend Section 202 by add ing thereto a new definition after the definition “Sump Vent” and
before the definition “Supports” to  read as fo llows:  “Supervision of Wo rk.  Work completed
under the permit of a licensed plumber while employed by the licensed plumber, or the same firm,
partnership, corporation, or owners of the company as the licensed plumber.”

2.11.4 Amend Section 202 by amending the definition of “Building Drain” by deleting the reference “30”
between the words “extends” and “inches” and replacing with the words “5 feet”.”

2.1112 Amend Subsection 305.6.1 by deleting the subsection in its entirety.
2.1213 Amend Subsection 31 2.3 by ad ding th ereto af ter th e last sentence the  following:  “In lieu of the

presence of the Deputy Code Official witnessing the test, the Licensed Plumber may certify in writing
upon a prescribed form that the plumbing system piping is in accor dance with Section 31 2 of these
regulations.  This shall be applicable between November 1 and April 1 of each calendar year.”

2.1314 Amend Subsection 312.4 by deleting the subsection in its entirety.
2.1415 Amend Subsection 404.1 by deleting the subsection in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the

following:  “All regulations pertaining to handicapped facilities in the International P lumbing Code will
be governed by the most recent edition of the “American National Standards Institute (ANSI).”

2.1516 Amend Section 407 by adding thereto a new subsection after subsection 407.4 to read as fo llows:
“407.5 Ov erflow dev ices. Ove rflow de vices o n all ba thtubs shall b e eva luated by th e Divisio n of
Public Health on a case by case basis.”

2.1617 Amend Subsection 502.1 by adding thereto after the last sentence the following:  “The first 12 inches
of both hot and cold water lines shall be thermally rated for maximum water temperature produced by
the hot water heater.”

2.1718 Amend Subsection 504.6 by add ing thereto a n ew numbered paragraph after numbered paragraph
“13” to re ad as fo llows:  “ 14. The discharge valve shall be equipped with an a pproved heat transfer
fitting or metallic pipe.”

2.1819 Amend Table 604 .3 by ad ding th ereto in  th e secon d ro w, fir st colum n, af ter th e wor ds “Ba thtub,
balanced-pressure, th ermostatic o r combination b alanced pressure/thermostatic m ixing va lve” the
following:  “for hand held shower fixtures.”

2.1920 Amend Table 605.3 by deleting in th e parenthetical in the seventh row, f irst column after the words
“Copper or copper-alloy tubing” the letters “M” and “WM”.
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2.2021 Amend Table 605.4 by deleting in the parenthetical in the fifth row, first column after the words “Copper
or copper-alloy tubing” the letters “M” and “WM”.

2.2122 Amend Subsection 605.16.2 by adding thereto after the words “above or below ground”  the following
sentence:  “The use of all purpose glue is prohibited.”

2.2223 Amend Subsection 607.3 by adding thereto after the words “in accordance with Section 607.3.1 and
607.3.2” the  follo wing:  “All public water  inst allations shall b e required to have an exp ansion t ank
installed.”

2.2324 Amend Subsection 60 8.3 by adding th ereto a  n ew su bsection a fter s ubsection 608.3.1 t o r ead:
“608.3.2 Special eq uipment, water sup ply pro tection. There shall be  suf ficient sp ace ar ound
special equipment for accessibility.”

2.2425 Amend Subsection 903.2 by adding thereto after the first sentence the following sentence: “The stack
shall be no less than 2 inches in diameter.”

2.2526 Amend Subsection 903.3 by deleting the words “or to a stack-type air admittance valve in accordance
with Section 917.”

2.2627 Amend Subsection 912.1 by deleting the last sentence in its entirety.
2.2728 Amend Subsection 917.1 by  ad ding th ereto af ter th e last se ntence th e fo llowing:  “ Air ad mittance

valves shall be approved by the Deputy Code Official prior to use or installation.”
2.2829 Amend Section 919 by deleting the section in its entirety.
2.2930 Amend Subsection 1003.3.4 by adding thereto in the last sentence after the words “shall be installed

in accordance with the manufacturer’s ins tructions” the followin g: “or be otherwise approved by the
Code Official.”

2.3031 Amend Chapter 12 by deleting the Chapter in its entirety.
14 DE Reg. 37 (07/01/10)

3.0 Miscellaneous Provisions
3.1 Procedures for License.  Every person desiring to register as a plumber engaged in the business of

plumbing in the State of Delaware shall file an application with the Delaw are Division of Professional
Regulation.

3.2 Variances
3.2.1 Permission for a variance.  Upon receipt of a written application for a variance, the Deputy Code

Official may recommend granting written permission to vary from particular provisions set forth in
these Regulations, when the extent of the variation is clearly specified and it is documented to the
Secretary of the Delaware Dep artment o f Health a nd Social Se rvices or  h is/her appointed
designee’s satisfaction that:

3.2.1.1 Such variation is necessary to obtain a beneficial use of an existing facility;
3.2.1.2 The variation is necessary to prevent a practical difficulty or unnecessary hardship; and
3.2.1.3 Appropriate alternative measures have been taken to protect the health and safety of the

public and assure that the purpose of the provisions from which the variation is sought will
be observed.

3.2.2 Time for recommendation. Within thirty (30) business days of the receipt of a written application
for a var iance, the Deputy Code Official shall recommend either: granting the variance, denying
the variance or requesting further information from the applicant.

3.2.3 Appeal of denial. If the applicant has been denied a variance upon the recommendation of th e
Deputy Code Official, the applicant may appeal the decision by filing a written Notice of Appeal to
the Secretary of the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, or his/her designee.

14 DE Reg. 37 (07/01/10)

4.0 Special Provisions Regarding Plumbing For Food Establishments
4.1 Scope. Thes e S pecial Provis ions s hall be followed in add ition to an d shall n ot supersede the

International Plumbing Code, the Delaware Food Code or these Regulations.
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4.2 Use of Licensed Plumber. All plumbing shall be installed by a licensed plumber under a valid, current
plumbing permit in accordance with these Regulations.

4.3 Water Supply and Sewage Disposal
4.3.1 No further evaluation. Water Supply and Sewage Disposal Facilities serv ed by a public water

supply and sewage system do not require further evaluation.
4.3.2 Private we lls. Private wells must comply  with ch emical an d bacter iological s tandards; a

satisfactory analysis is required before an operating permit may be issued.
4.3.3 Individual systems. Individual sewage disposal systems require the approval of the Department

of Natural Resources and Environmental Control prior to operating the food establishment.
4.4 Backflow Prevention

4.4.1 Air gap, supply. An air  gap between the water supply and the flood r im level of the  plumbing
fixture, equipment, or nonfood equipment shall be at least twice the  diameter of the water supply
inlet and may not be less than 25 mm (1 inch). (See also DE Food Code, §5.202).

4.4.2 Air gap, drainage. A d irect connection may not ex ist be tween the sewage sys tem and a dr ain
originating from equipment in which food, portable equipment, or utensils are placed, except that
this r equirement does no t a pply to floor  d rains that o riginate in r efrigerated spaces tha t are
constructed as an integral part of the building, and except that this requirement does not apply to a
warewashing machine with a direct connection between its waste outlet and a floor drain when the
machine is lo cated within  1.5 m ( 5 fee t) of a trapped flo or dr ain a nd th e ma chine outlet is
connected to the inlet side of a properly vented floor drain trap. Equipment and fixtures utilized for
the storage, preparation and handling of food shall discharge through an indirect waste pipe by
means of an air gap.  (See also IPC2009 § 802.1.1).

4.4.3 Floor drains.  Floor drains located within walk-in refrigerators or freezers in food establishments
shall be indirectly connected to the sanitary drainage system by means of an air gap except as
allowed in IPC2009 § 2.24.3.2. (See also IPC2009, § 802.1.2)

4.4.4 Backflow pre vention de vice. A ba ckflow or  ba ck sipho nage p revention d evice installed  on  a
water supply system shall meet American So ciety of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) standards for
construction, ins tallation, ma intenance, inspection, an d testing for that sp ecific app lication and
type of device. (See also DE Food Code, § 5-202.14).

4.4.5 Plumbing fixtures. The supply lines or fittings for every plumbing fixture shall be installed so as to
prevent ba ckflow. Plum bing fixtu re fi ttings s hall provide backflow protection in accordance with
ASSE A112.18.1. (See also IPC2009, § 608.2).

4.4.6 Devices, ap pliances. All devices that connec t to the wa ter sup ply shall be provided with
protection a gainst backflow. Th is in cludes devices used for  food pr eparation an d pro cessing,
steamers, the storage of ice or food, warewashing machines, and other food service equipment.
(See also IPC2009, § 608.3)

4.4.7 Hose connections. Sillcocks, hose bibs, wall hydrants and other openings with a hose connection
shall be pr otected by an  atmospheric-type or pr essure-type vacuum br eaker or  a permanently
attached hose connection vacuum breaker. This subsection does not apply to water heater drain
valve or clothes washing machines.  (See also IPC2009, § 608.15.4.2).

4.4.8 Beverage dispensers. The water supply connection to carbonated beverage dispensers shall be
protected against backflow by a backflow preventer co nforming to ASSE 1022 or by an air gap.
The portion of the backflow preventer device downstream from the second check valve and the
piping downstream therefrom shall not be affected by carbon dioxide gas. (See also IPC2009, §
608.16.1).

4.5 Utility Service Installation
4.5.1 Installation location. Utility lines including gas , plumbing and electrical shall be installed inside

walls, above ceilings or below  floo rs whenever s tructurally prac tical, and in acc ordance with
applicable code requirements.
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4.5.1.1 Front of wall lines. If lines are run in front of walls, lines shall be installed with stand-off
brackets or  other secure mounting method, such that a m inimum clearance of one inch
(1”) exists between line and wall.

4.5.1.2 No floor installation. Exposed horizontal utility service, including water supply and drain
lines, may not be installed on the floor.

4.6 Joint Sealing
4.6.1 Joint sealing. Joints formed by fixt ures in contact with wa lls or  floors shall be seale d with  an

approved sealant. Where installation does not allow access for cleaning, fixtures shall be sealed to
walls or adjoining equipment. Where not structurally practical, a minimum gap of one inch (1”) shall
exist between the fixture and walls or adjoining equipment.

4.7 Toilet Facilities
4.7.1 Number required. At least one (1) toilet and not fe wer than the toilets required by law shall be

provided. If authorized by law and urinals are substituted for toilets, the substitution shall be done
as specified by law. (See also DE Food Code, § 5-203.12).

4.7.2 Handwashing facility. A handwashing facility shall be located in, or immediately adjacent to, toilet
rooms. (See also DE Food Code, § 5-204.11).

4.7.3 Toilet room. A toilet room shall be completely enclosed and provided with a tight-fitting and self-
closing door, except that this requirement does not apply where a toilet room is located outside a
food establishment and does not open directly into the food establishment such as a t oilet room
that is provided by the management of a shopping mall. (See also DE Food Code, § 6-202.14).

4.7.3.1 Location. Toilet rooms shall be conveniently located and accessible to employees during
all hours of operation (See also DE Food Code, § 6-402-11).

4.8 Sinks
4.8.1 Water supply. All sinks shall be supplied with hot and cold running water under pressure.
4.8.2 Splashguard Dividers. Where less than 18 inches lateral separation exists between sinks an d

adjacent fixtures, fo od co ntact surfaces or  op en st orage she lving, a s plashguard divid er
constructed of a material which is durable, easily cleanable, non-toxic and impervious to moisture
shall be installed; such divider may be wall-attached or fixture-attached, and shall extend outward
to the leading edge of the sink and extend vertically a minimum of 18 inches above the level plane
of the sink bowl.

4.8.3 Handwashing sinks. These fixtures, when located in food preparation, food dispensing, beverage
dispensing (including bar service area), food storage and warewashing areas, must be certified or
classified under an  approved industry standard for food equipment, such as  NSF In ternational,
ETL Sanitation, UL for Sanitation, BISSC, or equivalent.

4.8.3.1 Separate sink  required. A se parate, s ingle-compartment ha ndwashing s ink is
REQUIRED in  food  pr eparation, food dispensing, a nd warewashing ar eas; a nd in, or
immediately ad jacent to, toile t rooms. Handsinks shall be inst alled within 25 travel feet
within a direct line access of each primary work location.

4.8.3.2 Temperature. Tempered water temperature at a  minimum of 10 0oF and a maximum of
110oF, delivered through a mixing valve or combination faucet, is REQUIRED.

4.8.3.3 Faucets. If installed, self-closing, slow-closing, or metering faucets shall provide a flow of
water for at least 15 seconds without the need to reactivate the faucet.

4.8.3.4 No other purpose. A handwashing sink may not be used for any other purpose.
4.9 Food Preparation Sinks

4.9.1 Food preparation sinks. Any sink in which food is washed or thawed under running water as part
of th e fo od preparation pr ocess must be  certified o r classified u nder an ap proved ind ustry
standard for food equipment, such as NSF International, ETL Sanitation, UL for Sanitation, BISSC,
or equivalent.

4.9.2 No disposal. A food preparation sink may not be used for disposal of mop water or liquid wastes.
4.9.3 Required indirect drain line. An indirect drain line connection through an air-gap is REQUIRED.
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4.9.4 Grease trap connection. Connection to a properly sized grease trap is REQUIRED.
4.9.5 Multiple compartments. If a  food preparation sink ha s two or more compartments, a separate

wasteline con nection fro m ea ch sink co mpartment through a n a ir gap into  a floor sink is
REQUIRED.

4.10 Warewashing Sinks
4.10.1 Industry standard.  Warewashing sinks must be certified or classified under an approved industry

standard for food equipment, such as NSF International, ETL Sanitation, UL for Sanitation, BISSC,
or equivalent.

4.10.2 Three compartments.  A sink of at least three separate compartments with covered corners and
integral drainboards at each en d shall be  provided fo r manually washing, rinsing and sanitizing
equipment and u tensils. Each sink compartment shall be lar ge en ough to a ccommodate the
immersion of the largest equipment item or utensil. A chemical test kit that matches the type of
sanitizing agent in use is required in the warewashing area.

4.10.3 No handwashing or disposal. A warewashing sink may not be used for handwashing or disposal
of liquid wastes.

4.10.4 Grease trap connection. Connection to a properly sized grease trap is REQUIRED.
4.10.5 Alternative u se p rovision for wa rewashing sink . If the warewas hing sink will be us ed for

washing or thawing food, a separate wasteline connection from each sink compartment through an
air-gap into a floor sink is REQUIRED. The installation of a properly sized grease trap downstream
of the floor sink is REQUIRED. Alternative use of a warewashing sink for food preparation requires
prior approval from the Delaware Division of Public Health.

4.11 Service Sinks (for use as a janitorial sink, utility sink or mop sink)
4.11.1 Installation location. Wherever practical, fixture service sink must be installed outside of the food

preparation, food dispensing, food storage and warewashing areas.
4.11.2 Industry s tandard. Se rvice sinks, when located in foo d p reparation, fo od d ispensing, food

storage a nd w arewashing a reas, m ust b e ce rtified or  classifie d un der an  app roved ind ustry
standard for food equipment, such as NSF International, ETL Sanitation, UL for Sanitation, BISSC,
or equivalent.

4.11.3 Minimum number required. A m inimum of one service sink or receptor is R EQUIRED on each
floor level of food operations. This fixture may be a sink or a curbed receptor.

4.11.4 Dual use. The dual use of a utility sink as a handwashing sink is not approved in new construction,
conversion of a structure to a food establishment, nor remodeling of an existing facility.

4.11.5 Grease trap connection. Connection to a grease trap is not required.
4.12 Prewash Sinks.

4.12.1 Industry st andard. Pr ewash s inks m ust b e ce rtified o r c lassified under an  a pproved in dustry
standard for food equipment, such as NSF International, ETL Sanitation, UL for Sanitation, BISSC,
or equivalent.

4.12.2 Grease trap connection. Connection to a properly sized grease trap is REQUIRED.
4.12.3 Food waste grinder. If a food waste grinder is installed on fixture prewash sink, the grease trap

must be designed and rated for such application, or a solids interceptor is required upstream of the
grease trap.

4.13 Mechanical Warewasher
4.13.1 Industry standard. Mechanical warewashers must be certified or  classified under an approved

industry stan dard for food eq uipment, su ch as  N SF International, ETL Sanitation, U L for
Sanitation, or equivalent.

4.13.2 Warewashing machine. A warewashing machine, using hot water or a chemical rinse to sanitize,
may be installed. Large cookware which does not fit into the machine must be sanitized in a three
compartment sink. Fa cilities withou t a thr ee compartment sink wh ose war ewashers ar e fo und
functioning impr operly m ay be directed to tem porarily c lose until the mac hine is  repaired. If a
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chemical sanitizing agent is used, a test kit that matches the chemical sanitizing agent is
required.

4.13.3 Grease tra p connection. Connection to a grease trap is NOT APPROVED  due to high
temperature, pressure and detergents.

4.13.4 Indirect drainline connection. An indirect drainline connection through an air-gap is REQUIRED.
(See paragraph below for alternative installation provision.)

4.14 Alternative Installation Provision
4.14.1 Alternative installation provision  for mechanical warewasher. If approved by the Delaware

Division of Public Health, a direct drainline connection may be installed if the machine wastewater
outlet is located within five feet of a properly trapped vented floor drain and the machine outlet is
connected to the inlet side of the same properly vented floor drain trap.

4.15 Water Heater
4.15.1 Hot water supply. The water heater shall be sized to provide hot water as required to supply both

the continuous  requirements and the hourly peak demands of the fac ility. The continuous  and
hourly demands are based on the type of equipment and number of fixtures consuming hot water
as required for food operations.

4.15.2 Total availability. The total hot water availab ility in gallons per hour (gph) from a water heater is
the sum of the unit storage capacity plus the recovery rate at a 100×F rise.

4.15.3 Minimum storage capacity. A fuel-fired (gas or oil) water  heater in a food establishment shall
have a minim um sto rage capa city of thirty (3 0) gallons; an  electric water hea ter shall ha ve a
minimum storage capacity of forty (40) gallons. Storage capacities larger than the minimum shall
be required, based on the type of equipment and number of fixtures consuming hot water.

4.16 Grease Trap
4.16.1 Sizing. The grease trap must be sized in accordance with PDI standard G101.
4.16.2 Grease trap connection. Connection to a properly sized grease trap is REQUIRED for all fixtures

that discharge grease-laden waste, e.g. warewashing sinks, food prep s inks, pre-wash sinks for
warewashers, woks, and other cooking equipment.

4.16.3 Sizing procedures. Follow these procedures for sizing a grease trap to a specific fixture:
4.16.3.1 Determine the liquid volume of the fixtu re in cubic inche s (cu in)  draining to the g rease

trap.
4.16.3.2 Determine the liquid capacity of the fixture in gallons (gal).
4.16.3.3 Determine the actual drainage load (75% of fixture capacity).
4.16.3.4 Determine the unit flow rate minimum for drainage period of 2 minutes.
4.16.3.5 Determine the unit liquid holding capacity minimum (40% of fixture capacity).
4.16.3.6 Select a unit corresponding to minimum unit flow rate and liquid holding capacity.

Table 4.16.3a
EXAMPLE OF SIZING FOR GREASE TRAP SELECTION

        Select a grease trap for a three compartment warewashing sink with bowl dimensions
of 18” W x 24” L x 12” D

1. Volume = (18in  x  24in  x  12in) x 3 cmpts = (5,184 cu in) x 3 = 15,552 cubic inches
2.  Capacity = Volume (cu in) / 231 (cu in/gal) = 15,552 / 231 = 67.3 gallons
3.  Drainage load = 67.3 gal x 0.75 = 50.4, or approx. 50 gallons
4.  Unit flow rate minimum = 50 gallons / 2 minutes = 25 gallons per minute (gpm)
     Unit liquid holding capacity minimum = 67.3 x 0.40 = 26.9 gallons
5.  Select a grease trap with a minimum flow rate equal to or greater than 25 gpm
     The selected trap also must have a minimum liquid holding capacity of 26.9 gal.
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Table 4.16.3b
GREASE TRAP SIZING FOR TYPICAL SINK INSTALLATIONS

9 DE Reg. 786 (11/01/05)
14 DE Reg. 37 (07/01/10)

Bold column at far right applies PDI G101 formula to calculate minimum required grease trap
flow rate in gallons per minute (gpm).

Width
(in)

Len
gth
(in)

Dep
th
(in) 

Volume
(cuin)

Volume
(gal)

No o f
cmpts

Total vol (gal) Working vol
(75%)

Min F low
Rate (gpm)

W L D W x L x 
D = Vc

Vc / 231 
= Vg

#C Vg x #C = 
Vtg

Vtg x 0.75 = 
Vw

Vw / 2min 
= MFR

16.0 19.0 10.5 3192 13.8 1 13.8 10 5

2 27.6 21 10

3 41.5 31 16

16.0 19.0 13.5 4104 17.8 1 17.8 13 7

2 35.5 27 13

3 53.3 40 20

16.0 20.0 14.0 4480 19.4 1 19.4 15 7

2 38.8 29 15

3 58.2 44 22

18.0 20.0 14.0 5040 21.8 1 21.8 16 8

2 43.6 33 16

3 65.5 49 25

18.0 24.0 12.0 5184 22.4 1 22.4 17 8

2 44.9 34 17

3 67.3 50 25

20.0 20.0 16.0 6400 27.7 1 27.7 21 10

2 55.4 42 21

3 83.1 62 31

22.0 24.0 16.0 8448 36.6 1 36.6 27 14

2 73.1 55 27

3 109.7 82 41

24.0 24.0 16.0 9216 39.9 1 39.9 30 15

2 79.8 60 30

3 119.7 90 45”
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DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 122(3)u.1 (16 Del.C. §122(3)u.1)

PUBLIC NOTICE

4458 State of Delaware Food Code Regulations (2011)

The Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health is proposing regulations which amend
Title 16 of the Delaware Code relating to the State of Delaware Food Code.  The Division of Public Health proposes
to repeal the current 1999 State of Delaware Food Code in its entirety and in its place adopt with amendments the
United States Public Health Service 2009 Food Code to be known as the 2011 State of Delaware Food Code.  On
December 1, 2010, the Division plans to publish the proposed 2011 State of Delaware Food Code and hold them
out for public comment per Delaware law.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Health Systems Protection Section, under the Division of Public Health, Department of Health and Social
Services, will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed 201 1 State of Delaware Food Code.  Due to the
extensive number of amendments the Department has concluded that the current regulations should be repealed
and r eplaced in  th eir entir ety with the  proposed re gulations be ing pub lished. Th e Division of Public  Health
proposes to  repeal the cur rent 1999 State of Delawar e Foo d Code  in its entir ety an d in it s pla ce adopt with
amendments the United States Public Health Service 2009 Food Code to be known as the 2011 State of Delaware
Food Code.

The public hearing will be held on December 21, 2010 at 9:30 a.m. in the Felton-Farmington Room, located in
the Delaware Department of Transportation Building, 800 Bay Road, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the December 1, 2010 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov  or by calling the Office of Health
Systems Protection at (302) 744-4842.

Anyone wishing to p resent his or  her oral comments at th is hearing should contact Ms. Deborah Harvey at
(302) 744-4700 by December 20, 2010.  Anyone wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to or in lieu
of oral testimony should submit such comments by December 31, 2010 to:

Deborah Harvey, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Fax (302) 739-6659

4458 State of Delaware Food Code Regulations (2011)

1.0 State of Delaware Food Code
1.1 Name.  These Regulations shall hereby be known as the “State of Delaware Food Code”.
1.2 Effective Date.  The State of Delaware Food Code shall be effective (to be determined).
1.3 Prior Regulations Repealed.  All current or previous regulations or parts of regulations in conflict with

this State of Delaware Food Code are hereby repealed.
1.4 Location.  A copy of the comp lete State of Delaware Food Code is available for public view at the

following locations:
1.4.1 Jesse S. Cooper Building, 417 Federal St, Dover DE 19901
1.4.2 http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/hsp/files/99fdcodetoc.pdf

http://regulations.delaware.gov
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html
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1.5 Severability.  Sh ould an y part, su b-part, sectio n, p aragraph, senten ce or  p hrase of this S tate of
Delaware Fo od Code b e d eclared un constitutional or  in valid by a ny comp etent authority, the
remainder of this Code shall not be affected in anyway.

2.0 Adoption of United States Public Health Service 2009 Food Code
2.1 The State of Delaware Food Code ad opts, as if fu lly set forth herein, the “United States Public Health

Service 2009 Food Code” excluding Annex 1 through Annex 7, as amended herein:
2.1.1 Amend Subpart 1- 101.10 by inserting th e wo rds “ State of Delaware” be fore the wo rds “F ood

Code” and after the words “as the”.
2.1.2 Amend Subpart 1-102.10 by deleting the subpart in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the

following, “The purpose of this Code is to safeguard public health, reduce the r isk of foodborne
illness and provide to consumers food that is safe, unadulterated and hones tly presented.  The
purpose is also to regulate, within the State of Dela ware, the production, transportation, storage,
processing, handling, preparation and consumer service of human food; the inspections of  food
establishments; the issuing and revocation of permits to food establishments; and the application
of compliance and enforcement procedures.

2.1.3 Subpart 1-201.10(B) Terms Defined 
2.1.3.1 Amend Subpart 1-201.10(B) by adding thereto a new defined term after the defined term

“Prior Fo undation Item”  an d b efore the  de fined te rm “P ublic wa ter sys tem” to r ead as
follows:  “Private” means a use or function that is intended for a particular individual or
group, such as a celebration of a birthday, wedding, anniversary or funeral, and that is not
intended for consumers as members of the general public.  

2.1.3.2 Amend Subpart 1- 201.10(B) by deleting t he d efinition f or “ Regulatory authority” a nd
inserting in lieu th ereof the following: “Regulatory a uthority” means t he Secretary,
Delaware Health and Social Services, or his/her authorized representative.

2.1.4 Amend Subpart 8-405.11(B) by deleting the number “10” as it appears therein and inserting in lieu
thereof the following number:  “7”.

2.1.5 Amend Chapter 8 by adding thereto a new part “8-6” to read as follows:
“8-6 Enforcement Procedures

8-601 Re-inspection Fee
8-601.10 Fee Assessment and Failure to Pay

(A) A r e-inspection fe e sha ll be  asse ssed u nder o ne or more o f the  following
circumstances:

(1) Priority (P) or Priority Foundation (Pf) violations are shown to exist during a follow-
up inspection.

(2) Core (c) violations are shown to exist on successive routine inspections.
(3) A complaint inspection requires a follow-up inspection to confirm compliance.
(4) An inspection is re quired to determine compliance with the terms of a co rrective

action plan or an administrative hearing.
(5) An inspection to determine the proper posting of a valid permit.
(6) Any other follow-up inspection deemed necessary by the Regulatory Authority to

determine compliance with this Code.
(B) The fee sha ll be  that req uired by Chapter 1, Section 1 34 o f T itle 16 o f the

Delaware Code.
(C) Failure to p ay the  re -inspection fe e, as specified, shall resu lt in the automatic

suspension of the  pe rmit to op erate a foo d e stablishment.  T he permit sha ll
remain suspended until the Regulatory Authority receives full payment of all fees.

8-602 Administrative Action
8-602.10 General
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If the Regulatory Authority determines that a food establishment is operating without a
valid permit; that one or  more conditions exist which r epresent an Immin ent Health
Hazard; or that serious violations, repeat violations, or general unsanitary conditions
are found to ex ist, administrative ac tion may  occur. Administrative action will be
conducted in accordance with the law.

(A) Operation without a Permit
(1) Immediate Closure Order.  If a food establishment is fou nd operating without a

valid p ermit a s re quired by  su bpart 8- 301.11 of  th is Co de, t he Re gulatory
Authority shall order the facility immediately closed.

(2) Notice of Closure.  The closure shall be effective upon receipt of a written notice
by the pe rson in ch arge of th e food e stablishment o r an  employee of th e fo od
establishment.  A closur e notice statement recorded on the inspection report by
the representative of the Regulatory Authority constitutes a written notice.

(3) Duration of Clo sure. T he foo d e stablishment shall r emain closed  un til a  per mit
application, app licable fees a nd any r equired p lans h ave b een r eceived an d
approved by the Regulatory Authority.

(B) Imminent Health Hazard(s)
(1) Permit Suspension wit hout Hearing.  If some condition is determined to exist in a

food establishment which pr esents an imminent health hazard to the  public, the
Regulatory Authority may suspend the operating permit of the food establishment
without a prior hearing. The suspension shall be effective upon receipt of written
notice by th e person in cha rge of the fo od establishment or an employee of the
food establishment.  A suspension statement recorded on the inspection report by
the Regulatory Authority constitutes a written notice.

(2) A permit issued pursuant to subpart (1) shall not be suspended for a period longer
than te n ( 10) g overnment bu siness da ys without a  hearing. F ailure to  ho ld a
hearing with in the ten  (10) government business day period sha ll au tomatically
terminate the suspension.

(3) Hear ing Request.  The permit holder of the food establishment may request, in
writing, a hearing before the Regulatory Authority at any time during the period of
suspension, for the purpose of demonstrating that the imminent health hazard(s)
no longer exist.  The request for hearing shall not stay the suspension.

(C) Serious Violations, Repeat Violations and  General Unsanitary Conditions.  When
conditions exist in a food establishment that represent serious violations, repeat
violations or general unsanitary conditions, the Regulatory Authority may initiate a
corrective action plan or schedule a hearing.

8-603 Agency Emergency Actions
8-603.10 Examination of Food.

Food may be  exam ined or  samp led b y th e Reg ulatory Autho rity as of ten as
necessary for enforcement of this Code.

8-603.20 Wholesome and Free from Spoilage.
All food shall be wholesome and free from spoilage.  Food that is spoiled or unfit
for hum an co nsumption sha ll not be  kept on  th e p remises. Th e e stablished
administrative p rocedures for  the  im plementation and e nforcement of th e
provisions of Chapter 33 of Title 16 of the Delaware Code, relating to the embargo
of misbranded or ad ulterated food , an d p enalties sha ll be  a pplicable to this
subpart.

8-604 Penalties
8-604.10 Operation in Violation of Code.

Any person (or responsible officer of that person) who violates a provision of this
Code, and any person (or responsible officer of that person) who is the holder of a
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permit or who otherwise operates a food establishment that does not comply with
the requirements of this Code shall be subject to the provisions of Section 107 of
Title 16 of the Delaware Code.

8-604.20 Refusal, Failure or Neglect t o Comp ly wit h Orde r of  t he Regulatory
Authority.
Any person (or responsible officer of that person) who violates a provision of this
Code, and any person (or responsible officer of that person) who is the holder of a
permit or who ot herwise operates a fo od es tablishment th at re fuses, fa ils o r
neglects to comply with an order of the Regulatory Authority shall be subject to an
administrative penalty of no t less than $100 and not more than $1,000, together
with costs.

8-604.30 Injunction.
The Regulatory Authority may seek to enjoin violations of this Code.

8-604.40 Public Notification.
A placa rd, as pr ovided by the Division , shall b e pr ominently displaye d at all
entrances of food establishments that have failed to obtain a valid permit or have
a permit that is suspended, revoked, or expired.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Chapter 5, §512

(31 Del.C., Ch. 5, §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Employment and Training Program

In compliance w ith the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - T itle 29, Chap ter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code , Chapter 5, Section 5 12, Delaware Health and
Social Serv ices (DHSS) / Division of Soc ial Servic es is pr oposing to  amend Delaware TANF Employment and
Training Program policies in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Mandatory Participants.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 by December 31, 2010.

The action concerning the determination of whether to ad opt the proposed regulat ion will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGE

The proposed change described below amends Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
Employment and Training (E & T)  Program policies in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
Mandatory Participants. This change clarifies the rules for parents accessing the right to be exempted from TANF E
& T requirements when the parent is caring for their child who is less than 12 months old and the parent is a single
custodian parent. The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) at 45 CFR §261.2 (n)(2)(i)) gives States the option to
exempt parents caring for a child under 12 months of age for up to 12 mon ths in the lifetime of the p arent. The
policy ch ange eliminates the opportunity fo r parents wit h this exemp tion to vo lunteer to participate in E&T but
maintains access to the E&T programs through mandatory participation.

Statutory Authority
45 CFR §261.2(n)(2)(i), What definitions apply to this part?

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dss/
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45 CFR §§261.22(c)(1) and (c)(2), How will we determine a State’s overall work rate?

Summary of Proposed Change
Current policy allows a single custodial parent caring for a child less than 12 months of age to be exempted

from employment and training for up to a lifetime limit of 12 months. Single custodian parents are automatically
granted an  exemption from employment and training if months within  the ir lifetime limit ar e ava ilable. This rul e
change allows a parent to request not to be exempted and to be mandatory for employment and training activities.
Once a p arent is ma ndatory sh e or  he may no t re turn to  exempted status. A parent who is man datory for
employment and training will become exempted from E&T activities if a new biological/step/or adoptive child under
12 months of age enters the home. This policy becomes effective February 1, 2011.

The proposed changes affect the following policy sections:
DSSM 3006.1, Mandatory Participants

DSSM 3006.2, TANF Employment and Training Participation and Participation Rates

DSSM 300 6.2.1, TANF Employment and Training Participants Who Count for TANF Participation
According to the Provisions of Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATIONS #10-48
REVISIONS:

3006.1 Mandatory Participants
(45 CFR §261.2 (n)(2)(i))
All adult caretakers and other adults in the assistance unit who are not exempt must participate in Employment and
Training related activities. The four possible exemptions are:
A. A single custodial parent caring fo r a child under 12 months of age. This exemption has a lifetime limit of 12
months.
A. A single custodial parent caring for a child less than 12 months of age may be exempted from employment and
training activities for up to 12 months in the lifetime of the parent.

Single custodial parents who are caring for a child less than 12 months of age and who have not reached their
12 month limit will be exempted from employment and training activities un less they waive their employment and
training exemption.

Parents who waive their employment and training exemption are subject to all the conditions and rules of the
employment an d tr aining pr ogram. Pa rents who waive their emp loyment and tr aining exem ption cann ot be
exempted for caring for a chi ld less than 12 months of age again unless a new biological, step, or adopted child
less than 12 months of age is added to the TANF case.

Parents wh o wa ive their  em ployment an d tr aining e xemption mu st m eet the  re quired em ployment tra ining
hours based on their  family composition within 14 calendar days of waiving their exemption. Cases which fail to
meet the employment and training requirement are subject to a full family sanction.
B. An individual determined unemployable by a health care professional. 
C. On a case-by-case bas is, clients who are victims of Domestic Violence. (see DSSM 3010.2.1 through DSSM
3010.2.5)
D. A parent caring for a disabled family member* who lives in the home.

* A parent or spouse can be excluded to care for a child or a spouse as long as the following conditions apply:
1. The parent is biological, adoptive or step. 
2. The parent or spouse lives in the home with the child.
3. The need for such care is supported by medical documentation.
4. The spouse of a parent can use the caring for exemption even though the marriage is terminated by death

or divorce. 
Children age 16 or older who are not attending school must participate in work or other alternativ e activities,

e.g., GED.
Individuals who ar e exempt from Employment and Training requirements can volunteer to participate in the

Employment and T raining Program. Individuals with disab ilities w ill be afforded the same access , supports and
opportunities, including reasonable accommodations, to participate in the Employment and Training programs.
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3006.2 TANF Employment and Training Participation and Participation Rates
Under the Temporary Assistance For for Needy Families Block Grant, DSS is required to meet the following

work participation rates with respect to all families that include an adult or minor child head of household receiving
assistance:

ALL FAMILIES

TWO PARENT FAMILIES

DSS may face a lower work participation rate if it experiences a net caseload reduction compared to FY 2005.
Example: If it is determined that DSS' average monthly caseload in FY 2006 was 4 pe rcentage points lower than
average monthly caseloads in FY 2005, then, rather than having to meet a 50% work participation rate requirement
in FY 2006, the rate would be lowered by 4 percentage points to 46%.
To be counted toward meeting the work participation rate, each individual must meet the required number of hours
each week. 

Single parents who are not working 30 hours a week or making earning an equivalent of 30 hours a week times
minimum wage are required to participate in wo rk and/or work re lated ac tivities. Participation in work  and work
related activities must equal at least a minimum average of 30 hours a week; and, at least 20 of the hours per week
must come from participation in federally defined core activities.

Single p arent/caretaker TANF r ecipients with  a child  in the T ANF ho usehold u nder six ar e de emed to be
engaged in work for a month if the recipient is engaged in federally defined core work activities for an average of at
least 20 hours per week during the month. 

Two-parent families where one parent is not working at least 35 hours a week or making earning the equivalent
of 35  hours a week tim es minimum wage ar e re quired to participate in work and/or  w ork related activ ities.
Participation in work and work related activities must equal an average of at least 35 hours a week; and, at least 30
of the hours per week must come from participation in federally defined core activities.

Two-parent families who receive federally funded Purchase of Care serv ices who are not work ing at least 55
hours a week or making earning the equivalent of 55 hours times minimum wage are required to participate in work
and/or work related activities. Participation in work and work related activities for one parent must equal 35 hours a
week. Combined hours of participation in work and work re lated activities must equal an average of at  least 55
hours a week. Of the average 55 hours a week the participants must average at least 50 hours a week of federally
defined core activities.

Teen p arents ar e required to a ttend school, wor k, or participate in the employment  and tr aining activities.
Secondary, post-secondary, vocational, tr aining school, and participation in  a  GED program meets participation
requirements for the month and is the equivalent to work. If they are not attending one of the above types of school
or working for 30 hours a week they must participate in employment and training activities for 20 or 30 hours a
week.

Single custo dial p arents with  a child  under 12 mo nths of ag e ar e able  to re ceive an exem ption fro m
Employment and Training requirements for a total of 12 months in their lifetime. These 12 months can be used any
time the parent has a child less than 12 months of age . Once the youngest child reaches 12 months of age , the
parents are required to participate in Employment and Training. If they are already working the equivalent of their

Fiscal Year Minimum Participation Rate Required weekly hours of participation

2002 and after 50% 30 hours

Fiscal Year Minimum Participation Rate Required weekly hours of participation

1999 and after 90% 35 hours

55 hrs a week if rec eiving Federal Child
Care Subsidy
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required Employment and T raining hours (20, 30, 35, 55), the DCIS II sy stem will code them as volunteers for
Employment and Training.

REQUIRED EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING HOURS
The monthly participation rate is calculated as follows:

Numerator: # of T ANF families with a work -eligible- individual who meet the participation requirement for the
month

divided by
Denominator: # of TANF families that inc lude a work -eligible individual, less # of families sanctioned in that

month for failure to participate in work (for up to 3 months in preceding 12 month period), less the number of non-
needy ca retaker hou seholds, le ss the  num ber of sing le custodial p arents o pting to  u se o ne o f th e 12  m onths
allowable exemptions for caring for a child under one year of age. A parent can only use this exemption for a total
of 12 months in their his/her lifetime.

See 3006.2 TANF Employment and Training Participation and Participation Rates - History

3006.2.1 TANF Employment and Training Participants Who Count for TANF Participation
According to provisions of Delaware's Temporary Assistance for Needy  Families, the followin g indiv iduals must
participate in work related ac tivities and are included in the denominator for calculating the Federal participation
rates. 

• Work-eligible individuals as defined in DSS TANF policy; 
• Work-eligible adults in the Time-Limited Temporary program; 
• Work-eligible adult s for whom the Contract of Mutual Responsibilit y s pecifies the employment-related

activities that will be required; 
• Work-eligible adults who are not exempt because they are medically unable to participate; and 
• Work-eligible adults who are not exempt because they used their 12 month limit of child care for a child

under one year of age.
• Single custodial parents caring for a child less than 12 months of age who have waived their employment

and training exemption or are no longer eligible for an exemption. 

Family Composition Required Hours 
Per Week

Minimum 
rRequired Core 

Hours

Single Parent Family

A. With child under 12 months* 0 0

B. A. With a child under 6 years old 20 20

C. B. No children under 6 years old 30 20

Two Parent Family

A. Not receiving subsidized child care 35 30

B. Receiving subsidized child care 55 50

* subject to 12 month lifetime limit
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Child Care Subsidy Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - T itle 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the a uthority of Title 31 of the  Delaware C ode, Chapter 5, Section 5 12, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend Child Care Subsidy Program policies in
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Determination of the Chil d Care Parent Fee and Fee
Waiving Situations. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 by December 31, 2010. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to ad opt the proposed regulat ion will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGE

The proposed change described below amends Child Care Subsidy Program policies in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Determination of the Child Care Parent Fee and Fee Waiving Situations. The
purpose of this revision is to reduce the number of situations in which a family does not have a parent fee. 

Statutory Authority
45 CFR §98.20, A child’s eligibility for child care services
45 CFR §98.40, Compliance with applicable State and local regulatory requirements

Summary of Proposed Change
DSSM 1 1004.7, Determination of the Child Care Parent Fee and Fee Waiving Situations is up dated to

eliminate spec ific situations which allow the child care parent fee to be waived. This change is necessary  to
continue providing services to each family that is eligible for a child care subsidy.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #10-47
REVISION:

11004.7  Determination Of The of the Child Care Parent Fee and Fee Waiving Situations

45 CFR §§98.20 and 98.42

Under regulations, eligible families are required to contribute to the cost of child care services based upon their
ability to pay. Families contribute to the cost of care by paying a DSS child care parent fee. DSS, however, provides
child care services to certain families at no cost. Part of the process after determining the client's financial eligibility
and need for child care w ould be deter mining the p arent fee and  which families  should have their parent fee
waived.

Child care fees may be waived if the family meets one of the five (5) conditions below.
On a case by c ase basis, families active with and referred by the Division of Family Services (DFS) including

foster care families. This requires supervisory approval.
Families in Delaware's TANF Program in Categories 11 and 12, and General Assistance (GA) families.
Caretakers in  Catego ry 31 car ing for a child /children who receive TANF o r GA assist ance where the  adult

requesting the child care is n ot the child 's natural or adoptive parent (for example, grandparents, aunts, uncles,

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dss/
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etc.).
When p aying th e fee cr eates a n excessive  fin ancial burden. Excessive  finan cial bu rden is de fined a s a

situation where the family's disposable income prior to the deductions or after the deductions, result in the family
having income below 40% of the federal poverty level. Deductions are limited to:

• rent, mortgage, lot rent;
• any mandatory expenses re quired b y t he la ndlord or  m ortgage h older ( e.g., h omeowners insurance,

property taxes, school taxes);
• actual current monthly utility  expenses (e.g., electric, gas, trash, water and sewer). Late fees and past

due amounts are not included.
• telephone expenses are capped at the same rate as the FS standard deduction for telephone bills;
• un-reimbursed medical cost s (Bef ore c onsidering these medic al c osts as deductions, families not

already receiving Medicaid or on the Delaware Healthy Children Program (DHCP) must first apply for
either Medicaid or the DHCP . The DHC P premiums are included in  the un-reimbursed medic al cost
deductions. Any un-reimbursed medical costs not covered by Medicaid or the DHCP will be considered
as a deduction to determine the family's income for excessive financial burden.)

EXAMPLE:
A family of three has gross monthly income of $1,300.00. The parent fee for this family would be 16% of the

cost of care. The rent p ayment for this family  is $600 /month. U tility expenses are $20 for phone and $165 for
electric. 

Total income per month equals: $1,300.00
Total expenses are: $ 85.00
After deductions: $515.00
$515.00 is les s than $553.00, 40% of the federal poverty level for a family of 3, so thi s family can have the

parent fee waived.
EXAMPLE:
A family of four has a gross monthly income of $2,203.00. The parent fee for this family would be 44% of the

cost of care. The rent p ayment for this family  is $600 /month. U tility expenses are $20 for phone and $165 for
electric.

Total income per month equals: $2,203.00
Total expenses are: $785.00
After deductions: $1,418.00
$1,418.00 is more than $666.00, 40% of the federal poverty level for a family of 4, so this family will not have

the parent fee waived.
Teen parents 18 years old or younger attending high school or a high school equivalent.
All requests to waive the fee must be documented in the case file and be approved by the unit supervisor.
As is th e case with income, a pe rson who acts as a  child's caretaker, as defined in Sec tion 11002.9, pays a

child care fee based on ly upon income attributable to the child, unless  the family meets one of th e waived fee
conditions above.

See Administrative Notice: A-08-2004 Waiving Child Care Fee
A-13-99 Child Care Fees/ Waiving Fees For Caretakers of ABC or GA Children

Families are required to cont ribute to the cost of c hild care s ervices.  All families  receiv ing subsidized chil d
care will have a parent fee except:

1. Families active with and referred by the Division of Family Services (DFS) including foster care families.
2. Teen parents 18 years old or younger attending high school or a high school equivalent.
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. §209(a))
26 DE Admin. Code 3008

ORDER NO. 7862

AND NOW, this 10th day of November, 2010:

WHEREAS, on September 7,  2010, the Commission entered PSC O rder 7834, which, among other things,
required pu blication of pro posed chan ges to the Co mmission’s “ Rules an d Pro cedures to  Im plement the
Renewable Ener gy Por tfolio S tandard” (th e “RPS Ru les”) or iginally pro mulgated pur suant to the  “Ren ewable
Energy Portfolio Standards Act,” 26 Del.C. §§351-364 (2006 Supp.) (the “RPS Act”); and

WHEREAS, Order No. 7834 also required publication of a notice regarding the proposed changes to the RPS
Rules, which notice included a deadlin e for comments to the p roposed changes to be filed by Octob er 31, 2010
and set a hearing date of November 18, 2010; and 

WHEREAS, Or der No . 78 34 was published in th e Octo ber 201 0 edition  of the Register of Regulations;
however, du e to a  cler ical e rror, the proposed changes to th e RPS ru les published in  the Register did  no t
accurately capture the changes that the Commission approved pursuant to Order No. 7834; and

WHEREAS, ac cordingly, t he Co mmission determines th at th e proposed c hanges t o t he RP S Ru les, a s
approved by Order No. 78 34, must be r e-published in th e Re gister of Reg ulations, an d a cor responding new
deadline for comments and a date for a public hearing must be re-set. 

NOW, THER EFORE, IT IS HE REBY ORDE RED B Y TH E AFFIRMA TIVE VOTE OF NO FEWER  TH AN
THREE COMMISSIONERS:

1. That, for the reasons set for th in the body of this Order, and pursuant to  26 Del.C. §362 and 29 Del.C.
§10115, the  Commission pr oposes to r evise it s “Ru les and Procedures to Imple ment the Ren ewable En ergy
Portfolio Standard,” originally adopted by PSC Order No. 6931 (June 6, 2006) and published at 10 DE Reg. 151-57
(the “RPS Rules”).  A copy of the proposed revised RPS Rules, approved to be published by PSC Order No. 7834,
is attached to this Order as Exhibit “A”.

2. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 and 10115(a), the Acting Secretary shall transmit to the  Registrar of
Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations a copy of this Order, along with copies of the
proposed revised RPS Rules (Exhibit “A”) and the Notice of Proposed Rule-Making, attached as Exhibit “B.”  The
Secretary shall also cause such Notice of Pr oposed Rule-Making to be pu blished in The  News Journal and the
Delaware St ate News newspapers on  or  be fore December 1 , 2010.  The  Secre tary sha ll include proof of su ch
publication in the docket file before the public hearing in this matter.  Further, the Secretary shall serve (by regular
mail or by electro nic e-mail) a copy of such Notice on: (a) the Division of the Public Advocate; (b) the Delaware
Energy O ffice; (c) Delm arva Power & Lig ht Company; (d) all certificated electric suppliers and rural electric
cooperatives; and (e) e ach person o r e ntity who h as m ade a t imely r equest fo r ad vance notice o f r egulation-
making proceedings. 

3. That, pursuant to 29  Del.C. §§ 10115(a) a nd 1 0116, pe rsons o r entities may  file written comment s,
suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials, on or before December 31, 2010.  Pursuant to
29 Del.C. §10117, the Commission will conduct a public hearing on the proposed revisions to the RPS Rules on
February 22, 20 11 be ginning at 1:00 P .M. a t the  Co mmission’s of fice a t 8 61 Silve r L ake B oulevard, Ca nnon
Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware.

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF RULES AND
PROCEDURES T O IMP LEMENT THE RE NEWABLE
ENERGY PORTFOLIO STANDARDS ACT, 26 DEL. C.
§§ 351-363, AS A PPLIED T O RETAIL ELECTRICITY
SUPPLIERS (OPENED  AUGUST 23, 2005;
REOPENED SEPTEMBER 4, 2007; AUGUST 5, 2008;
AND SEPTEMBER 22, 2009; September 7, 2010)

|
|
|
|
|
|
|

PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 56

http://depsc.delaware.gov/default.shtml
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4. That the Commission will defer for the time being referring this matter to a Hearing Examiner under 26
Del.C., §502 and 29 Del.C. §10116.  Depending on what, if any, comments are received to the proposed revisions
to the Regu lations, th e Commission  may determine at a la ter time that  it is necessary to appoint a Hearing
Examiner.

5. That, pursuant to  2 6 De l.C. §§114 and 1012(c )(2), all el ectric suppliers and elec tric public utilities are
hereby notified that they will be charged the costs incurred in connection with this proceeding under the provisions
of 26 Del.C. §114(b)(1).

6. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may
be deemed necessary or proper. 

Notice of Proposed Rule-Making Amending “Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy 
Portfolio Standard”

To: All Electric Suppliers, Electric Utilities, Electric Generators using Renewable Resources, and
other Interested Persons

Under the “Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards Act,” 26 Del.C. §§ 351-364 (2006 Supp.) (the “RPS Act”),
each electric supplier making retail electric sales in Delaware must, beginning in 2007, accumulate a po rtfolio of
“renewable energy credits” equivalent to a specified percentage of its overall retail electric supply sales.  In 2006,
the Pu blic Service Commission ( “PSC”) a dopted “Ru les an d Pr ocedures to Im plement the Renewable Energy
Portfolio Standard” ( the “RPS Rules”).  See 10 DE Reg . 151-157 ( July 1 , 2006).  The RPS Rule s have b een
amended twice in the interim to conform to subsequent amendments to the RPS Act.

On July 28, 2010, Senate Substitute No. 1 for Senate Bill No. 119 (77 Del. Laws ch. 451) (July 28, 2009) was
signed into law, which adds  several new sections to the  RPS Act an d amends numerous other sections.  M ore
specifically, the recently enacted law, among other things:

• Modifies the minimum percentages of sale s that m ust be from eligible energy resources and solar
photovoltaics and extends the period for the minimum standard from 2019 to 2025.

• Establishes a mechanism for a freeze of the minimum requirements under certain circumstances.
• Provides for credits toward the minimum requirements where solar and wind installations are sited in

Delaware, as long as a certain percentage of the equipment used in the installation is manufactured
in Delaware, and where fac ilities are constructed or installed with a certain percentage of Delaware
workers.

• Increases the amount of solar alternative compliance payments.
• Provides the State Energy Coordinator with the authority to review the reasonableness of alternative

compliance payments and solar alternative compliance payments.
• Establishes a Re newable Energy Taskforce to review trading mechanisms and other structures to

support growth of renewable trading markets in Delaware. 
• Explicitly prov ides the Commiss ion with the auth ority to p romulgate ru les an d re gulations w ith

respect to certain of the above-noted amendments to the RPS Act.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

Arnetta McRae, Chair
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Dallas Winslow, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Alisa Carrow Bentley, Secretary
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The PSC n ow proposes to r evise the RPS Rules to i ncorporate, and assure consistency with, the statutory
changes made by the recently enacted law.

You can review PSC Order No. 7862 (November 10, 2010) (the “Order”) and the proposed revised RPS Rules
in the December 2010 issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations.  You can a lso review the Order and the
proposed revised RPS Rules at the PSC’s Internet website located at http://depsc.delaware.gov.  If you wish to
obtain written copies of the Order and proposed revised RPS Rules, please contact the PSC at ( 302) 736-7500.
Copies are $0.25 per page.  Payment is expected prior to copying (if you wish the copies to be mailed) or at the
time the copies are retrieved (if you retrieve them in person).

The PSC now solicits comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials about the
proposed revisions to its  RPS Rules. If you wish to file any such materials, you should submit an original and ten
copies of such written documents on or before December 31, 2010.  You should file such materials with the PSC at
the following address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 56

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission.  Such
electronic co py m ay b e f iled on  a  co py-capable CD -Rom dis k or  se nt as  an  a ttachment to  an  In ternet e- mail
addressed to Pamela.Knotts@state.de.us.

The PSC will also conduct a public evidentiary hearing on the new proposed regulations on February 22, 2011
at 1:00 P .M. at the PSC ’s of fice at  the address  set fo rth above.   Any individual  with a disability  desiring to
participate in thes e proceedings or to review the filings s hould contact the PSC to disc uss any auxiliary aids or
services needed.  Th e PSC S taff can also provide additional information about this docket.  The PSC’ s toll-free
telephone number within Delaware is 1-800-282-8574.  The PSC may be reached at (302) 736-7500 (including text
telephone communications).

3008 Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard

1.0 Definitions
1.1 The following words and terms, when used in th is Regulation, should ha ve the following meanings

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
"Alternative Co mpliance Pay ment" or  "ACP" me ans a payment of a ce rtain dollar amo unt per
megawatt hour , which a Retail Electricity Supplie r may submit in lieu of  su pplying th e minimum
percentage of RECs required under Section 3.3.4 of this Regulation.
"Commission" means the Delaware Public Service Commission.
"Compliance Year" means the calendar year beginning with June 1 and ending with Ma y 31 of the
following year, for which a Retail Electricity Supplier must demonstrate that it has met the requirements
of this Regulation.
"Customer-Sited Gene ration" means a Ge neration Unit th at is int erconnected on  the End-Use
Customer's side  o f the r etail ele ctricity meter in such a manner that it displaces all or p art of the
metered consumption of the End-Use Customer.
"DNREC" means Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.
"Eligible Energy Resources" means the following energy sources located within the PJM region or
imported into the PJM region and tracked through the PJM Market Settlement System:

Solar Photovolta ic En ergy Resources means solar  p hotovoltaic or solar  the rmal en ergy
technologies that employ solar radiation to produce electricity or to displace electricity use;
Electricity derived from wind energy;
Electricity d erived fr om oc ean e nergy in cluding wave or tidal  action, currents, or  the rmal
differences;
Geothermal energy technologies that generate electricity with a steam turbine, driven by hot water
or steam extracted from geothermal reservoirs in the earth's crust;
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Electricity generated by a fuel cell powered by Renewable Fuels;
Electricity generated by the combustion of gas from the anaerobic digestion of organic material;
Electricity generated by  a hydroelectric facilit y that has a max imum de sign capacity  of 30
megawatts or  le ss fr om a ll g enerating u nits combined that m eet a ppropriate en vironmental
standards as determined by DNREC (see DNREC Regulation's Secretary's Order No. 2006-WA-
002735);
Electricity generated from the combustion of biomass that has been cultivated and harvested in a
sustainable manner as determined by DNREC, and is not comb usted to pr oduce en ergy in a
waste to energy facility or in an incinerator (see DNREC Regulation's Secretary's Order No. 2006-
WA-002735);
Electricity generated by  the combustion of methane gas captur ed from a landfill gas recov ery
system; provided, however, that:

Increased production of landfill gas from production facilities in operation prior to January
1, 20 04 d emonstrates a net re duction in total a ir emissions c ompared to  f laring a nd
leakage;
Increased utilization of landfill gas at electric generating facilities in operation prior to
January 1, 2004 (i) is used to of fset the consumption of coal, oil, or natural gas at those
facilities, (ii) does not result in a reduction in the percentage of landfill gas in the facility's
average annual fuel mix when calculated using fuel mix measurements for 12 out of any
continuous 15 month period duri ng which the elec tricity is generated, and (iii) causes no
net increase in air emissions from the facility; and
Facilities installed on or after January 1, 2004 meet or exceed 2004 Federal and State air
emission standards, or the Federal and State air emission standards in place on the day
the facilities are first put into operation, whichever is higher.

"End-Use Customer" means a person or entity in Delaware that purchases electrical energy at retail
prices from a Retail Electricity Supplier.
"Fund" means the Delaware Green Energy Fund.
"GATS" me ans the  Generation Attr ibute Tracking System de veloped by PJM -Environmental
Information Services, Inc. (PJM-EIS).
"Generation At tribute" m eans a  non -price cha racteristic of the e lectrical en ergy outp ut of a
Generation Unit including, but no t limited to, the Unit's fuel ty pe, geographic  loc ation, emissions ,
vintage, and RPS eligibility.
"Generation Unit" means a facility that converts a fuel or an energy resource into electrical energy.
"Industrial Customer" means an En d-Use Customer with a  North American Industry Classification
System (NAICS) Manufacturing Sector Code.
"Municipal Electric Company" means a public corporation created by contract between 2 or  more
municipalities pursuant to provisions of Title 22, Chapter 13 of the Delaware Code  and the electric
utilities that are municipally owned within the State of Delaware.
"New Renewable Gen eration Reso urces" means E ligible Energy Resources first going into
commercial operation after December 31, 1997.
"Peak Demand" shall have the same meaning as and be determined consistently with how such term
or a similar term i s defined and determined in the applicable utility's tariff then in ef fect and approved
by the  Commission . F or cu stomers with mo re th an one  accoun t, the  pe ak dem ands sh all b e
aggregated for all ac counts. The c alculation w ill be  applied in the c urrent year based on the P eak
Demand, as defined above, in the prior year.
"PJM" o r " PJM I nterconnection" mea ns the r egional tr ansmission or ganization ( RTO) th at
coordinates the movement of wholesale electricity in the PJM region, or its successors at law.
"PJM region" means the area within which the movement of wholesale electricity is co ordinated by
PJM Inter connection. The  PJM r egion is as de scribed in  th e Amen ded an d Rest ated Ope rating
Agreement of PJM.
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"Renewable Energy Credit" or ("REC") means a tradable instrument comprised of all the Generation
Attributes equal to 1  megawatt-hour of electricity derived from Eligible E nergy Resources and that is
used to track and verify compliance with th e provisions of this Regulati on. A REC does not include
emission r eduction cre dits an d/or allowan ces encumbered or  used  by a Gen eration Uni t for
compliance wit h lo cal, st ate, or federal operating an d/or air  quality pe rmits a ssociated w ith t he 1
megawatt-hour of electricity.
"Renewable fuel" means a fue l that is derived from Eligible Energy Resources. This term does not
include a fossil fuel or a waste product from a fossil fuel source.
"RPS" and or "Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard" means the percentage of electricity sales at
retail in the State that is to be derived from Eligible Energy Resources.
"Retail Electricity Product" means an electrical energy offering that is distinguished by its Generation
Attributes on ly an d that is of fered fo r sale  by a Ret ail Elec tricity Supplier to End-Use Cus tomers.
Multiple electrical energy offerings with the sam e Generation Attr ibutes may be con sidered a single
Retail Electricity Product.
"Retail Electricity Suppli er" me ans a  pe rson or  en tity tha t sells electrical ene rgy to  End-Use
Customers in Delaware , including, but not limited to, non-regulated power producers, electric utility
distribution companies supplying standard offer, default service, or any successor service to End-Use
Customers. A Ret ail Electricity Supplier does no t include a Municip al Electric Comp any for the
purposes of this Regulation.
"Rural Elec tric Co operative" m eans a n on-stock, no n-profit, membership cor poration or ganized
pursuant to the Federal "Rural Electrification Act of 1936" and operated under the cooperative form of
ownership.
"Solar Alternative Compliance Payment" or "SACP" means a payment of a certain dollar amount per
megawatt-hour, which a Retail Electricity Supplier or Municipal Electric Supplier may submit in lieu of
supplying th e Minimum Per centage fr om Sola r Ph otovoltaic re quired under Se ction 3.3.4 of th is
Regulation.
"Sustainable Energy Utility" or ("SEU") is the nonprofit entity according to the provisions of 29 Del.C.
§8059 that develops and coordinates programs for energy end-users in Delaware for the purpose of
promoting the sustainable use of energy in Delaware.
"Solar Re newable Energy Cre dit" or "SREC" me ans a tr adable instrument that is e qual to 1
megawatt-hour of re tail electricity sales in the State t hat is  d erived from So lar Ph otovoltaic E nergy
Resources and that is used to track and verify compliance with the provisions of this Regulation.
"Total Retail Sales" means retail sales of electricity within the State of Delaware exclusive of sales to
any Industrial Customer with a Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts.

11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)
13 DE Reg. 952 (01/01/10)

2.0 Purpose and Scope
2.1 The benefits of electricity from renewable energy resources accrue to the public at large, and electric

suppliers and consumers share an obligation to develop a minimum level of these resources in the
electric supply portfolio of the State. The purpose of this Regulation, in support of 26 Del.C. §351 - 363
Subchapter III-A, is to set forth the rules for governing the RPS.

2.2 This R egulation s hall apply  to all ret ail electricity sales in the S tate of De laware except fo r ret ail
electricity sales of Municipal Electric Companies and retail electricity sales to any Industrial Customer
with a Peak Demand in excess of 1,500 kilowatts.

2.2.1 An Industrial Customer with Peak Demand in excess of 1 ,500 kilowatts may e lect to  have their
load exempt from this Regulation provided that they meet the definitions found in Section 1.1 and:

2.2.1.1 submit a notice to the Commission's Staff including, but not limited to, Name and Address
of Industrial Customer, and NAICS Code and load for each account;
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2.2.1.1.1 the Commission's Staff shall, within thirty (30) days of receipt of the notice, provide to
the Industrial Customer an acknowledgement of the status, exempt or non-exempt, of
the Industrial Customer and;

2.2.1.1.2 submit the Commission's Staff acknowledgement referenced in  Section 2.2.1.1.1 of
this Regulation to their Retail Electricity Supplier.

2.2.2 For an End-Use Customer with multiple accounts totaling in e xcess of  1,500 k ilowatts within an
applicable utility's service territory and served by a s ingle Retail Electricity Supplier, to have their
load exempt, the  agg regate of their  accounts with an NAIC S Manufact uring Sector Code must
have a Peak Demand of at least 751 kilowatts and they must follow the procedure found in Section
2.2.1.

2.3 Any Rural Electric Coo perative th at is  ha s opted-out o f Commission re gulation by it s me mbership
pursuant to 26 Del.C. §223 of the Delaware Code shall, for all purposes of administering and applying
this Re gulation, be tre ated as a Municipal Electric Co mpany du ring any per iod of time the Rura l
Electric Cooperative is exempt from Commission regulation.

2.4 A Rural Electric Cooperative may elect to be exempt from the requirements of this Regulation provided
that, on or before June 1, 2006, they: if it develops and implements a program for its ratepayers that is
comparable to the RPS be ginning in 2013.  A Rural Electric Cooperative electing to be exempt from
this Regulation must notify the Commission of such election and shall be subject to the requirements
set f orth in 26 Del.C. §3 63.  A Ru ral Electric Coop erative not electing  to be  exempt fr om this
Regulation shall be subject to this Regulation and the applicable provisions of  26 Del.C. §363.

2.4.1 submit a written notice to the Delaware General Assembly;
2.4.2 submit a written notice to the Commission;
2.4.3 alert their End-Use Customers with notices inserted in two (2) consecutive electricity bills;
2.4.4 offer th eir En d-Use Cu stomers a v oluntary p rogram for  pu rchasing r enewable en ergy un der

competitive rates; and
2.4.5 either contr ibute to the Delaware Green Energy Fund at le vels commensurate with other Retail

Electricity Supp liers or cre ate a n in dependent fund separate fr om the Delaware Gre en Energy
Fund to be used in support of energy efficiency technologies, renewable energy technologies, or
demand sid e m anagement p rograms, into which they m ake payments o f $ 0.178 fo r e ach
megawatt-hour they sell, transmit, or distribute in the State.

11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)

3.0 Administration of RPS
3.1 Certifying Eligible Energy Resources:

3.1.1 The Commission through its Staff will certify Generation Units as Eligible Energy Resources based
on the definition of Eligible Energy Resources found in Section 1.1 of this Regulation.

3.1.2 Any G eneration Un it s eeking certification a s an Eligible Energy Re source mus t submit  an
Application for Certification as  an Eligible Energy Resource Under the Delaw are Renewabl e
Energy Po rtfolio St andard ( Application) t o the Co mmission. This ma y include Customer-S ited
Generation or a Generation Unit owned or operated by a Municipal Electric Company.

3.1.3 Commission Staff will review the Applic ation and will notify the applicant of its approval as an
Eligible Energy Resource or of any deficiencies in their Application within 30 days of receipt. The
applicant will have the opportunity to revise their submission, if appropriate.

3.1.4 If Commission Staff finds the Generation Unit to be in compliance with Sections 1.0 and 3.0 of this
Regulation, as well as any this Regulation and other applicable Delaware statute law, Commission
Staff will issue a State of Delaware Certification Number.

3.1.5 Upon receipt of the State of Delaware Certification Number, a Generation Unit will be deemed an
Eligible Energy Resource.

3.1.6 Upon designation as an Eligible Energy Resource, the Generation Unit's owner shall be entitled to
one (1) Renewable Energy Credit REC for each mega-watt hour of energy derived from Eligible
Energy Re sources o ther t han So lar Ph otovoltaic En ergy Re sources. Upon d esignation as an
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Eligible Energy Resource, the owner of a Gene ration Unit em ploying Solar Photovoltaic Energy
Resources shall be entitled to one (1) Solar Renewable Energy Credit SREC for each mega-watt
hour of energy  derive d from Solar P hotovoltaic Energy  Resource. SR ECs and R ECs will be
created and supplied by the PJM-EIS GATS, or its successor at law. Elig ible Energy Resources
are subject to applicable PJM-EIS GATS rules and shall pay applicable PJM-EIS GATS fees.

3.1.6.1 However, if in t he fu ture, The Commiss ion may est ablish or p articipate in another
renewable energy track ing system, if  the Commission finds that PJM-EIS's GATS is n ot
applicable or no t suited to meet the needs or requirements of the RPS. the Commission
may establish or participate in another renewable energy tracking system.

3.1.7 RECs or SRECs created by Eligible Energy Resources on or after June 1, 2006 shall be valid to
meet retail electricity supplier requirements, subject to Section 3.2.3 of this Regulation.

3.1.7.1 If a  Generation Unit is deemed an Elig ible Energy Resource under Section 3.1 and the
Eligible Energy R esource's GATS account continues to b e maintained in go od standing,
the Eligible Energy Resource  may achiev e a Delaware des ignation for RE Cs or SRE Cs
recorded with PJM-EIS's GATS for the calendar year being traded in GATS at the time of
the Commission Staff's approval of the Eligible Energy Resource, but no earlier than June
1, 2006.

3.1.8 An Eligible Energy Resource w ill remain ce rtified unless substantive changes ar e mad e to  its
operational cha racteristics. Su bstantive chan ges include, bu t a re no t lim ited to c hanges in  fu el
type, fuel mix and generator type. An Eligible Energy Resource making substantive changes to its
operational characteristics shall notify the Commission of such changes at least 30 days prior to
the effective d ate o f such changes. At s uch t ime, the G eneration Unit sh all submit a  r evised
Application, which shall be subject to the process laid out in review and re-certification pursuant to
Section 3.1 of this Regulation.

3.1.9 RECs or SRE Cs cr eated b y an Eligible En ergy Resource shall remain v alid for c ompliance,
subject to Section 3.2.3 and Section 3.3.3 of this Regulation, even if that Eligible Energy Resource
is subsequently decertified for eligibility.

3.2 Compliance with RPS
3.2.1 The Total Retail Sales of eac h Retail Elec tricity Product sold to En d-Use Customers by a Retail

Electricity Supplier dur ing any given Co mpliance Yea r sh all includ e a minimu m per centage of
electrical en ergy sales fro m Eligib le En ergy Re sources and  Sola r Pho tovoltaics as shown in
Schedule 1. Any portion of a Retail Electric Supplier's renewable energy supply portfolio for 2007,
2008 and 2 009 Compliance Y ears th at is acquired un der wh olesale re newable en ergy supply
entered in to pursuant to the  2005 or 2006 Delaware Standard Offer  Services ( "SOS") auctions
shall be subject to the  provisions of this Regu lation as shown  in Sched ule 2 below that were in
effect on the date of the 2005 or 2006 SOS auction.

SCHEDULE 1
Compliance Year (beginning June 

1st)
Cumulative Minimum Percentage  
from Solar Photovoltaics Energy 

Resources

Minimum Cumulati ve Perc entage
from Eligible Energy Resources

2007 2.0%
2008 0.011% 3.0%
2009 0.014% 4.0%
2010 0.018% 5.50%
2011 0.04820% 7.0%
2012 0.09940% 8.5%
2013 0.20160% 10.0%
2014 0.35480% 11.5%
2015 0.559 1.0% 13.0%
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Minimum Cumulative Percentage from Eligible Energy Resources includes the Minimum Cumulative
Percentage from Solar Photovoltaics

3.2.2 A Retail Electricity Supplier's compliance with Schedule 1 shall be based on accumulating RECs
and SRECs equivalent to the current Compliance Year's Cumulative Minimum Percentage of Total
Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product sold to End-Use Customers and subject to Section
3.2.3 and, where appropriate, Commission regulations.1 Such RECs  and SREC’s shall be filed
annually with the Commission within 120 days following the completion of the Compliance Year.

3.2.3 Each Retail Electricity Supplier can provide no more than 1% of each  Compliance Year's Total
Retail Sales from Eligible En ergy Resour ces op erational be fore Decemb er 31 , 1997. Th e
remainder of ea ch year's retail sales, up to the required amount as specified in Section 3.2.1 of
this Re gulation mu st come  from New Renewable Ge neration resources. In  Compliance Year
20206 and for each Compliance Year thereafter, all Eligible Energy Resources used to meet the

2016 0.803 1.25% 14.5%
2017 1.11250% 16.0%
2018 1.54775% 18.0 17.5%
2019 2.005% 2019.0%
2020 2.25% 20.00%
2021 2.50% 21.00%
2022 2.75% 22.00%
2023 3.00% 23.00%
2024 3.25% 24.00%
2025 3.50% 25.00%

SCHEDULE 2
Compliance Year (beginning June 

1st)
 Minimum Cumulative Percentage  
from Solar Photovoltaics Energy 

Resources

Minimum Cumulative Percentage 
from Eligible Energy Resources

2007 1.00%
2008 0.011% 1.50%
2009 0.014% 2.00%
2010 0.018% 5.00%
2011 0.048% 7.00%
2012 0.099% 8.50%
2013 0.201% 10.00%
2014 0.354% 11.50%
2015 0.559% 13.0%
2016 0.803% 14.5%
2017 1.112% 16.00%
2018 1.547% 18.00%
2019 2.005% 20.00%

1. The Co mmission und erstands th e legislation to mea n that th e Total Retail Sales of each R etail E lectricity
Product so ld to End-Use Custo mers du ring a  given  Compliance Year shall include a minimum percentage of
SRECs and  RECs de termined by the curr ent Cumu lative M inimum Pe rcentage a s defined in  Sched ule 1 or
Schedule 2 . The Co mmission shall, in another proceeding, f urther d efine h ow SREC s a nd R ECs from G reen
Power product s, as that term is  de fined in Commission Docket Number 49, are to be tracked and utilized for
compliance in the RPS.
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cumulative m inimum percentage re quirements set by the Commis sion rules shall be New
Renewable Generation Resources.

3.2.4 A Retail Electricity  Supplie r shall not use REC s or SR EC’s used  to satisfy an other state's
renewable en ergy p ortfolio r equirements for  co mpliance with Schedule 1.  A Retail Elec tricity
Supplier may sell or transfer any RECs or SRECs not required to meet this Regulation.

3.2.5 On or after June 1, 2006, Eligible Energy Resources may create and accumulate RECs or SRECs
for the purposes of calculating compliance with the RPS.

3.2.6 Aggregate generation from small Eligible Energy Resources, 100 kilowatts of capacity or less, may
be used to m eet the requirements of Sche dule 1, o r Schedule 2 provided that the generators or
their agents, on an annual basis, document the level of g eneration, as  recorded by appropriate
metering.

3.2.7 A Retail Electricity Supplier or Rural Electric Cooperative shall receive 300% credit toward meeting
the Minimum Cumulative Percentage from Eligible Energy Resources of Schedule 1 or Schedule 2
of the RPS for  energy de rived from the following  sources installed on or  before December 31,
2014:

3.2.7.1 Customer-Sited solar photovoltaic physically located in Delaware; or
3.2.7.2 A fuel cell powered by Ren ewable Fuels, for Retail Electricity Suppliers , and a fuel c ell

sited in Delaware for Rural Electric Cooperatives.
3.2.8 A Retail Electricity Supplier or Rural Electric Cooperative shall receive 150% credit toward meeting

the RPS for wind energy installations sited in Delaware on or before December 31, 2012.
3.2.9 A Co mmission regulated electric co mpany s hall r eceive 35 0% cr edit toward meeting the

Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards established for energy derived from off-shore wind energy
installations sited off the Delaware coast on or before May 31, 2017.

3.2.9.1 To be entitled to 350% credit, contracts for energy and renewable energy credits from such
off-shore win d en ergy in stallations m ust be  e xecuted b y Co mmission r egulated ele ctric
companies prior to commencement of construction of such installations.

3.2.9.2 Commission regulated electric companies shall be entitled to such multiple credits for the
life of co ntracts fo r renewable energy credits from of f-shore wind inst allations executed
pursuant to section 3.2.9.

3.2.10 A Retail Electricity Supplier or a Rural Electric Cooperative shall receive an additional 10% credit
toward meeting the RPS for solar or wind energy installations sited in De laware provided that a
minimum o f 5 0% o f th e cos t o f th e r enewable en ergy eq uipment, inc lusive o f m ounting
components, are manufactured in Delaware.

3.2.11 A Retail Electricity Supplier or a Rural Electric Cooperative shall receive an additional 10% credit
toward meeting the RPS for solar or wind energy installations sited in Delaware provided that the
facility is constructed and/or installed with a minimum of 75% in-state workforce.

3.2.102A Retail Electricity Supplier or a Rural Electric Cooperative shall receive credit toward meeting the
RPS for electricity de rived from the fraction of eligible landfil l gas, biomass or b iogas combined
with other fuels (for a Rura l Electric Cooperative the Eligible Energy Resource must be s ited in
Delaware).

3.2.113 Cumulative minimu m percentage req uirements of Eligible Energy  Resources and Solar
Photovoltaic Resources shall be established by Commission rules for Compliance Year 20206 and
each subsequent year. In  no case sha ll the minimum pe rcentages estab lished by Commission
rules be  lo wer th an th ose r equired f or Com pliance Ye ar 20 1925 in Sche dule 1 o r Schedule 2 .
Each of the rules setting such minimum percentage shall be adopted at least two years prior to the
minimum percentage being required.

3.2.124 Beginning in Compliance Year 2010, and in  each Compliance Year thereafter, the Commission
may review the status of Schedule 1 and Schedule 2 and report to the legislature on the status of
the pa ce of the scheduled p ercentage in creases toward the g oal of 20 5%. If  the Commis sion
concludes at this time that the schedule either needs to be accelerated or decelerated, it may also
make recommendations to the General Assembly for legislative changes to the RPS.
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3.2.135 Beginning in Compliance Year 2014, and in  each Compliance Year thereafter, the Commission
may, in  th e eve nt of cir cumstances spe cified in this sub section an d after  co nducting he arings,
accelerate or slow the scheduled percentage increases towards meeting the goal of 205%. The
Commission may only s low the increases if t he Co mmission find s that at least 30% of RPS
compliance has be en me t thr ough the  ACP or  SACP f or th ree (3 ) c onsecutive ye ars, de spite
adequate planning by the Retail Ele ctricity Suppliers. The Commission may only accelerate the
scheduled percentage increases after finding that the average price for RECs and SRECs eligible
for RPS co mpliance ha s, fo r two  (2)  co nsecutive year s, be en be low a pr edetermined market-
based price threshold to be established by the Commission. The Commission shall establish the
predetermined ma rket-based price thr eshold in co nsultation with the Dela ware Energy Office.
Rules that would alter the percentage targets shall be promulgated at least two years before the
percentage change takes effect. In no event shall the Commission reduce the percentage target
below any level reached to that point.

3.2.16 The minim um per centages from Eligible  Energy Resou rces and Sola r Ph otovoltaic Ener gy
Resources as shown in Schedule 1 may be frozen for Commission-regulated electric companies
as authorized by, and pursuant to , 26 Del.C. §  354(i)-(j).  For a freeze to occur, the Delaware
Energy Office must determines that the cost of complying with the requirements of this Regulation
exceeds, for Solar Photovoltaic Energy Resources, 1%, and for Eligible Energy Resources, 3%, of
the total retail cost of electric ity for retail elec tricity suppliers  during the same compliance year.
The total cost of compliance shall include the costs associated with any ratepayer funded state
renewable energy rebate program, REC and SREC purchases, and ACPs and SACPsalternative
compliance payments.

3.2.16.1 Once frozen, the minimum cumulative requirements shall remain at the percentage for the
compliance year in which the freeze was instituted.

3.2.16.2 The freeze may be lifted only u pon a  fin ding b y the S tate En ergy Coo rdinator, in
consultation with  th e Co mmission, th at the total cost of co mpliance can  re asonably be
expected to be under the 1% or 3% threshold, as applicable.

3.2.17 The Renewable Energy Taskforce shall be formed for the purpose of ma king recommendations
about the  establish ment o f tr ading me chanisms and other str uctures to  su pport the  gr owth of
renewable energy markets in Delaware according to 26 Del.C. §360(d).

3.3 Verification of Compliance with the RPS
3.3.1 Within 120 days of the end of a comp liance year, each Retail Electricity Supplier who has made

sales to an End-use Customer in the State of Delaware must submit a completed Retail Electricity
Supplier's Verification of Compliance with the Delaware Renewable En ergy Po rtfolio St andard
Report (Report) which includes, but is not limited  to, evidence of the specified number of SRECs
and RECs required for that Compliance Year according to Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 and the Total
Retail Sales of each Retail Electricity Product.

3.3.2 SRECs or RECs must have been created by PJM-EIS's GATS, or its successor at law or pursuant
to Section 3.1.6.1 of this Regulation.

3.3.3 SRECs or  RECs , su bmitted for compliance with this Regula tion, may be  dated  no  ea rlier than
three (3) years prior to the beginning of the current Compliance Year.

3.3.4 The three (3) year period referred to in 3.3.3 sh all be tolled during any period that a renewable
energy credit or solar renewable energy credit is held by the SEU as defined in 29 Del.C. §8059.

3.3.5 In lieu of standard means of compliance with the RPS, any Retail Electricity Supplier may pay into
the Fund a SACP or  ACP p ursuant to the provisions of  , and in such amounts as stated in,  26
Del.C. §358, or  in such other amounts as may be determined by the State Energy Coordinator of
the Delaware Energy Office consistent with 26 Del.C. §354(a)(d)-(e).

3.3.6 The Commission Staff shall no tify any Retail Electricity Supplier o f any compliance deficiencies
within 165 days of the close of the cur rent Compliance Year. If the Retail Electricity Supplier is
found to be deficient by the Commission Staff, the Retail Elec tricity Supplier shall be required to
pay th e ap propriate ACP or  SACP, accor ding to  Sectio n 3 .3.4 of th is Re gulation. All su ch



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 6, WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2010

545

payments shall be due with in 30 days of notification by the Commission Staff. Upon receipt o f
payment, the Retail Electricity Supplier shall be found to be in compliance for that given year.

3.3.7 All compliance payments, made by the Retail Electricity Supplier, shall be payable to the Delaware
Green Energy Fund and sent to the Commission.

11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)
12 DE Reg. 1110 (02/01/09)
13 DE Reg. 952 (01/01/10)

4.0 Recovery of Costs
4.1 A Retail Electricity Supplier may recover, through a non-bypassable surcharge on its supply portion of

the bill, actual dollar for dollar co sts incurred in complying with the State of Delaware's RPS, except
that any compliance fee assessed pursuant to Section 3.3.4 and its subsections of these Rules and
Regulation shall be recoverable only to the extent authorized by Section 4.2 of this Regulation.

4.2 A Retail Electricity Supplier may recover any ACP or SAC P if the payment of an ACP or SACP is the
least cost measure to ratepayers as compared to the purchase of RECs and SRECs to comply with the
RPS; or if there are insufficient RECs and SRECs available for the Retail Electricity Supplier to comply
with the RPS.

4.3 Any cost recovered under th is section shall be  disclosed to cu stomers at least annually on in serts
accompanying customer bills.

4.4 Special provisions for customers of Public Service Commission regulated electric companies.  All costs
arising out o f c ontracts e ntered int o by a C ommission re gulated e lectric co mpany pursuant to  2 6
Del.C. §1007 (d) shall be distributed among the entire Delaware customer base of such companies
through an adjustable non-bypassable charge which shall be est ablished by the Commis sion.  S uch
costs shall be recovered if incurred as a result of such contracts unless, after Commission review, any
such costs are de termined by the Commission to have been incurred in bad faith, are the product of
waste or out of an abuse of discretion, or in violation of law.

11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)
12 DE Reg. 1110 (02/01/09)

5.0 Other General Rules 
5.1 Under Delaware's Fr eedom o f Infor mation Act, 29  Del.C. ch. 100, all information filed w ith the

Commission is c onsidered of pu blic r ecord un less it con tains "tra de se crets a nd com mercial or
financial information obtained from a person which is of a privileged or confidential nature." 29 Del.C.
§10002(d)(2). To qu alify as a n on-public r ecord under this e xemption, ma terials received by the
Commission must be clearly and conspicuously marked on the title page and on every page containing
the sensitive information as "proprietary" or "confidential" or words of similar effect. The Commission
shall presumptively de em all in formation so d esignated to be  exemp t fro m pu blic reco rd st atus.
However, upon receipt of a request for access to information designated proprietary or confidential, the
Commission may review the appropriateness of such designation and may de termine to re lease the
information requested. Prior to such release, the Commission shall provide the entity that submitted
the information with reasonable notice and an opportunity to show why the information should not be
released.

5.2 Any End-Use Customer, Retail Electricity Supplier, Eligible Energy Resource, potential Eligible Energy
Resource or other interested party to which this Regulation may apply may f ile a complaint with the
Commission pu rsuant to th e Rules of  Practice and Proce dure of the De laware Pu blic Service
Commission.

5.3 The failure to comply with this Regulation may result in penalties, including monetary assessments,
suspension or revocation of eligibility as an Eligible Energy Resource, or other sanction as determined
by the Commission consistent with 26 Del.C., §205(a), §217, and §1019.

10 DE Reg. 151 (07/01/06)
11 DE Reg. 1670 (06/01/08)
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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS

Statutory Authority: 17 Delaware Code, Section 141; 29 Delaware Code, Section 8404(8)
17 Del.C. §141; 29 Del.C. §8404(8)

PUBLIC NOTICE

2403 Special Events Policies and Procedures—Traffic Management

Under Title 17 of the Delaware Code, Section 141, as well as 29 Delaware Code Section 8404(8), the Traffic
Section of the Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT), has the authority to regulate the traffic impacts of
special events that affect the safe movement of traffic on the State’s transportation network. The Department has
now drafted regulations for this purpose, and this draft accompanies this notice.

The Department w ill take written comments on the draf t Special Event Policies and Proc edures regulations
from December 1, 2010 through December 31, 2010. Copies of the draft Regulations can be obtained by reviewing
or downloading a PDF copy at the following web address: http://regulations.delaware.gov/

Questions or comments regarding these proposed changes should be directed to: Adam Weiser, P.E., Traffic
Section, Division of T ransportation Solu tions, Delaware Department of T ransportation 16 9 Br ick Store Landing
Road Smyrna, DE 19977 (302) 659-4073 (telephone) (302) 653-2859 (fax), or email to: adam.weiser@state.de.us 

2403 Special Events Policies and Procedures—Traffic Management

1.0 Introduction
1.1 Planned spe cial e vents includ e, b ut ar e n ot limite d to, spo rting even ts, co ncerts, festiva ls and

conventions occurring at pe rmanent multi-use venues. They also include less frequent public events
such as p arades, fireworks displays, bicy cle rac es, sporting games, motorcycle rallies , marathons,
seasonal festivals and block parties which may occur at temporary venues. A planned special event
often cr eates th e n eed to e stablish altered traffic patterns to ha ndle the  incr eased tra ffic volu mes
generated by the event and traffic diverted due to the event. The size of the temporary traffic control
(TTC) zone associated  with  a planned spe cial e vent can  be  small, such  as closin g a  str eet for a
festival, or can extend throughout a municipality for larger events.

1.2 Planned special events can have direct and indirect impacts on the transportation system. Events that
have direct impacts to the transportation system are those that require full roadway or lane closures to
accommodate the needs of the event. Events having indirect impacts to the transportation system are
those types of events that attract large crowds affecting normal traffic flow on Delaware’s roadways.

1.3 The purpose of th is Special Events Policy is to outline the  r equirements for obt aining a permit to
conduct a spec ial event that will imp act roadw ays in the S tate of Delaware and to des cribe the
temporary traffic control that may be required to ensure the least impact to the traveling public and to
provide a re asonably safe venue for the event. In ad dition, the policy identifies the requirements for
developing necessary temporary traffic control plans as well as identifying the parties responsible for
providing tem porary tr affic con trol and dete rmining who p ays th e cost s of su ch temp orary tra ffic
control.

2.0 Legal Authority
2.1 Title 17, Chapter 1, Subchapter III, Section 141 of the Delaware Code gives the Delaware Department

of Transportation jurisdiction and control over all state highways outside the limits of incorporated cities
and towns for the purpose of regulating traffic and for the use and operation of all vehicles thereover,
and gives the Department the authority to adopt any and all rules and regulations respecting the use of
such highways and the operation of all vehicles upon the same.

http://www.deldot.gov/home/divisions/
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2.2 For state ma intained roadways within the corporate limits of munic ipalities, the loc al government is
responsible for approving the special event after consultation with the Department of Transportation.
All temporary traffic control for special events inside the limit s of municipalities shall comply  with the
requirements of  th e D elaware M anual on Unifor m Traffic Con trol Devices (DE MUTCD ). For thos e
events occu rring on st ate ma intained ro adways wi thin the corporate limit s of municip alities, the
temporary traffic control shall be reviewed and approved by DelDOT. DelDOT shall also be consulted
for those events that occur on n on state maintained roadways, but divert tra ffic to state maintained
roadways.

3.0 Special Event Permit Application
3.1 The Delawa re Department of T ransportation ( DelDOT) requires th e or ganizer o f a p lanned spe cial

event that impacts the transportation system to get approval from the Department to hold such events
and to review any temporary traffic control that is ne cessary for the event to occur. Event organizers
are required to fill out D elDOT’s Special Event Permit Application and su bmit the com pleted
application to the Special Events Coordinator in the Traffic Safety Section. This form can be emailed by
clicking the  ap propriate button at the top o f th e application. The Dep artment’s S pecial Ev ents
Coordinator will review the application and the location of the event and determine if temporary traffic
control measures or other requirements are needed to safely conduct the event and to minimize the
impacts to the transport ation system. If additional informat ion is ne eded, the  S pecial Eve nts
Coordinator will coordinate that in formation with the event organizer. Once all requirement s are
satisfied, an  app roved cop y o f the Special Event Permit Application will be provided to the ev ent
organizer. An approved copy will be held by the Traffic Safety Section.

3.1.1 The following types of Planned Special Events require a Special Events Permit from the DelDOT:
3.1.1.1 Events with a  direct impact on the transportation system. These events typically require lane

and/or complete road closures.
3.1.1.2 Events with an indirect impact on the transportation system. These events typically occur off of

the roadway but attract large crowds which could affect normal traffic flow on Delaware’s
roadways

3.2 Special Event Permit Application Procedures
3.2.1 The Special Event Permit Application shall be filled out by the ev ent organizer and submitted to

the De partment n o fewer  than  90  days pr ior to  the be ginning o f th e e vent. T he Sp ecial Ev ent
Permit Application can be found at:

http://www.deldot.gov/information/community_programs_and_services/planned_spec_events/index.shtml
3.2.2 The following information is required to be shown on the permit application:

3.2.2.1 Event Organizer Information
3.2.2.1.1 Applicant’s name, address, phone number and e-mail address
3.2.2.1.2 Organization name, address and phone number, if applicable

3.2.2.2 Event Information
3.2.2.2.1 Name and location of event
3.2.2.2.2 Type of event
3.2.2.2.3 Date of event (start and end dates)
3.2.2.2.4 Time of event (start and end times)
3.2.2.2.5 Name of a cont act per son that will  be the Department’s dir ect cont act du ring the

planning stages of th e e vent. A p hone number a nd em ail address sh ould a lso be
provided.

3.2.2.2.6 Name of a  cont act p erson in cluding ad dress and a phone number at which  th at
person can be reached during the day(s) of the event.

3.2.2.2.7 Proposed ro uting for the event, if th e even t is a bike ra ce, ma rathon or  other  on-
roadway event.

3.2.2.3 Temporary Traffic Control Plan

http://www.deldot.gov/information/community_programs_and_services/planned_spec_events/index.shtml
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3.2.2.3.1 Identify if the event will require the cl osure of any S tate maint ained roadways or
intersections. If yes, list the roads or intersections that will be closed.

3.2.2.3.2 Identify if the event will requi re the c losure of any lanes on S tate maint ained
roadways. If yes, list the lanes to be closed on each roadway.

3.2.2.3.3 A temporary traffic control plan, if lanes or entire roadways will be closed. Information
regarding temp orary traffic control pl ans can  b e fou nd in Section III an d IV of this
policy.

3.2.2.3.4 Detailed temporary traffic control plans shall be submitted to the Department’s Special
Events Coordinator no less than six (6) weeks prior to the start of the event.

3.2.2.4 Additional Information
3.2.2.4.1 Identify provisions for medical treatment during the event
3.2.2.4.2 Identify provisions for sanitary facilities during the event
3.2.2.4.3 Identify pr ovisions for po lice or  fire  p olice a ssistance during t he ev ent. I f a s igned

agreement exists between the po lice agency and the event organizer, a copy of the
agreement should be included with the application.

3.2.3 The completed application can be  electronically submitted to the Special Events Coordinator by
clicking on the email button at the top of the application. If the applicant desires to mail a printed
version of the application, it can be sent to the following address:

Delaware Department of Transportation
Traffic Safety Section
Special Events Coordinator
169 Brickstore Landing Road
Smyrna, DE 19977

4.0 Event Traffic Control
4.1 Planned special events typically have impacts on the transportation system and these impacts can be

classified as either direct or indirect. Some events have both types of impacts. This section describes
the necessary temporary traffic control that is required for those events that have direct impacts on the
transportation system. In addition, it describes how the event o rganizer wo rks w ith De lDOT on the
development o f a T ransportation Operations Plan  fo r th ose e vents with a n in direct imp act on  the
transportation system. Guidelines for the use of law enforcement and the use of Portable Changeable
Message Signs (PCMS) are also provided.

4.2 Events with Direct Impacts on the Transportation System:
4.2.1 Planned specia l events with  dir ect im pacts o n th e tr ansportation system  ar e those  events th at

require a lane or roadway closure in order for the event to take place. These types of events may
include but are not limited to bike races/tours, marathons, block parties, parades and festivals. In
order to  sa fely a nd e fficiently move tr affic around t he e vent area, t emporary t raffic co ntrol is
required and shall comply with the provisions of Part 6 of the Delaware Manual on Uniform Traffic
Control Devices (DE MUTCD). This information can be found at:

http://www.deldot.gov/information/pubs_forms/manuals/de_mutcd/index.shtml
4.2.2 For events that have direct impacts on the transportation system, the event organizer shall submit

a temporary traffic control plan to DelDOT for review and approval.
4.2.3 Special Events Requiring Lane or Shoulder Closures:

4.2.3.1 Planned specia l event s with  dir ect impacts o n the tr ansportation system  may re quire th e
closure of on e o r mo re travel lanes or  a shoulder on  a two -lane ro adway or  multi-lane
highway. In order to move traffic safely around the event area, temporary traffic control is
required. In most situations, typical temp orary traffic control cases from t he DE MUTCD
should be used and the applicable cases are listed below:

4.2.3.1.1 Two-Lane, Two-Way Traffic Shoulder Closure
4.2.3.1.2 Multilane, Divided, Non-Access Controlled Highways – Shoulder Closure

http://www.deldot.gov/information/pubs_forms/manuals/de_mutcd/index.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 6, WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2010

549

4.2.3.1.3 Two-Lane, Two-Way Traffic Lane Closure
4.2.3.1.4 Multilane, Divided Highways and Interstates – Lane Closure

4.2.3.2 In most situations a copy of the standard temporary traffic control case and the accompanying
standard notes can be submitted for review by DelDOT. There are some instances that
may require additional temporary traf fic control devices and this  w ill be determined by
DelDOT through c onsultation with the applican t. Temporary traffic control plans must be
submitted no fewer than six (6) weeks prior to the event.

4.2.3.3 Several of the standard temporary traffic control cases noted above allow the use of flaggers
or require the use of flaggers to move traffic through the affected area. Due to the dangers
associated with directing traffic, the only people allowed to perform flagging operations on
Delaware’s roadways are the following:

4.2.3.3.1 A person with a  valid  flag ger registration car d from the  Ame rican T raffic Safety
Services Asso ciation (A TSSA). That per son shall ha ve their flagg er card in their
possession while performing flagging duties.

4.2.3.3.2 Uniformed Fire Police
4.2.3.3.3 Uniformed Local Police
4.2.3.3.4 Uniformed State Police

4.2.3.4 All pe rsonnel pe rforming fla gging du ties shall we ar a sa fety v est in ac cordance wit h the
Delaware MUTCD. All temporary traffic control devices shall conform to the requirements
of the Delaware MUTCD.

4.2.4 Special Events Requiring Roadway Closures
4.2.4.1 Planned special events with dire ct impacts on the transportation system may require the full

closure of one or mor e roadways. In order to move tr affic safely around the event area,
temporary tr affic c ontrol and a s igned d etour route is re quired. Detou r r outes shall be
determined by DelDOT and an official detour plan with the proper approval signatures will
be developed by DelDOT for the applicant. Requests for detour plans shall be submitted
to DelDOT no less than six (6) weeks prior to the event. Depending upon the duration of
the closure, law e nforcement personnel may be used to direct traffic around the closure
area, in lieu of providing a signed detour route. The use of law enforcement officers in lieu
of a signed detour will be determined by DelDOT in consultation with the applicant.

4.3 Events with Indirect Impacts on the Transportation System
4.3.1 Planned Special Events may have an indirect impact on the transportation system based on the

number of event participants or attendees. Events that have indirect impacts on the transportation
system include concerts, sporting events, fairs/carnivals and other events that attract large crowds
of people. While the se events may not r equire the closure of roads or lanes, they do create an
impact to existing traffic due to the increased traffic volumes (vehicular and/or pedestrian volumes)
that are experienced, sometimes on roadways that a re not designed for  the increased traffic or
pedestrians. To m itigate these impacts, it is necessary to develop a Transportation Operations
Plan to determine how traffic will be managed when  patrons are arriving at or leaving the ev ent
and how the event traffic will interact with existing traffic . If in addit ion, to having indirect impacts
on the transportation system, the event requires the closure of roadways or lanes, please refer to
the previous section for additional information.

4.3.2 The development of the Trans portation Operations Plan will typica lly be completed by  DelDOT’s
Traffic Section with input provided by Safety and Transportation Management Center staff and the
event organizer. DelDOT and the event organizer will also meet with the state police to discuss the
plan. If the event is  within the limits of a municipality , DelDOT and the ev ent organizer will also
meet with the loca l police and other local au thorities having jurisdiction. The following items are
typically reviewed and determined during the plan development:

4.3.2.1 Location of event, event parking and entrances/exits to/from the event area.
4.3.2.2 Roadways surrounding the event area and expected road closures
4.3.2.3 Locations for traffic control points during entry and exit
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4.3.2.4 Locations for parking payment, credential checks, etc.
4.3.2.5 Lane closures to accommodate en try and exit maneuvers fr om the event a rea to minimize

impacts to existing traffic and to allow for free flow movements.
4.3.2.6 Pedestrian movements around the event area to provide reasonably safe pedestrian passage
4.3.2.7 Locations for  po rtable cha ngeable me ssage sign s to  dir ect r oad user s to  an d ar ound th e

event.
4.3.2.8 Locations for traffic management devices such as portable traffic cameras, portable detection

units, etc.
4.3.3 The planning process for these types of even ts needs to sta rt early in order to ensure a smoo th

event. The event organizer shall submit the Special Event Permit Application to DelDOT no fewer
than 9 0 days pr ior t o t he b eginning of th e event. Once th e p ermit is r eceived b y D elDOT, a
meeting will be scheduled with th e event organizer and other app licable parties to discuss the
event and any operational concerns. This mee ting will be scheduled eight (8) weeks prior to the
event date. The final transportation operations plan, with approved  permit, will be completed four
(4) weeks prior to the ev ent date. The Transportation Operations Plan will include locations of all
devices necessary to carry out t he plan, including locations of a ll lane or roadway closures that
may be necessary to facilitate event traffic around the event area.

4.4 Use of Law Enforcement for Planned Special Events
4.4.1 Law enforcement officers (State Police, Local Police and/or Fire Police) may be needed to assist

with tra ffic con trol d uring a p lanned special event. La w en forcement ma y also b e n eeded to
provide esc orts fo r ce rtain types of ev ents su ch as fo ot races, bike races or pa rades. It is the
responsibility of the event organizer to secure the appropriate number of law enforcement officers
that are needed for the event and the costs of using law enforcement officers, if applicable, are the
responsibility of the event organizer.

4.5 Use of Portable Changeable Message Signs
4.5.1 Portable Changeable Message Signs (PCMS) are portable devices that can display a variety of

transportation rel ated me ssages. The se devices may be  useful for  a pla nned specia l event to
direct attendees to parking areas and to d irect other road users around the event to avoid traffic
delays. Th e use of PCM S is gover ned by th e Delawar e MUTCD and the se devices may only
display transportation related messages. They cannot be used to ad vertise the event or provide
other non-transportation related messages to th e traveling public as the device themselves can
present a distraction to motorists if not used properly.

4.5.2 DelDOT has developed an approval form that must be submitted to receive approval to use PCMS
in DelDOT’s right-of-way. This form can be found at:
http://www.deldot.gov/information/pubs_forms/manuals/de_mutcd/pdf/PCMS_Approval_Form.doc

4.5.3 Additional information regarding the use of PCMS can be found in Part 6 of the Delaware MUTCD
and in the memorandum titled “Portable Changeable Message Signs,” which can be found at:

http://www.deldot.gov/information/pubs_forms/manuals/de_mutcd/pdf/Portable_Changeable_Message_Signs.pdf

5.0 Event Organizer Responsibilities
5.1 The even t or ganizer must ensu re that t he f ollowing pre-event and e vent d ay activities h ave been

conducted:
5.1.1 Pre-Event Activities

5.1.1.1 Submit the Special Events Application to the Traffic Safety Section no fewer than 90 days prior
to the event.

5.1.1.2 Meet with r epresentatives fro m DelDOT, no  fewer  than  eig ht wee ks p rior to the e vent, to
discuss and develop a transportation operations plan, if one is required for the event.

5.1.1.3 Submit th e Temporary T raffic Contr ol Plan to the T raffic Safety Sect ion no fewer than six
weeks prior to the event.

http://www.deldot.gov/information/pubs_forms/manuals/de_mutcd/pdf/PCMS_Approval_Form.doc
http://www.deldot.gov/information/pubs_forms/manuals/de_mutcd/pdf/Portable_Changeable_Message_Signs.pdf
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5.1.1.4 Notify the local or st ate police and fire companies no fe wer than 60 days pr ior to the event
regarding the proposed lane closures and event location.

5.1.1.5 Notify DelDOT’s Public Relations Section no fewer than 10 days prior to the event  to have a
press release issued notifying the public that lanes or roads will be closed within the event
area. The Public Relations Section can be reached at (302) 760-2080

5.1.2 Event Day Activities
5.1.2.1 Contact the DelDOT Transportation Management Center no fewer than one hour prior to the

event to  no tify of the impending lane closures. The Transportation Management Center
can be reached at (302) 659-4600.

5.1.2.2 Place all temp orary traffic control devices in accordance with the a pproved temporary traffic
control plan and the Transportation Operations Plan, if an operations plan was developed.

5.1.2.3 A designated person must monitor the temporary traffic control devices and adjust as needed.
5.1.2.4 At th e conclu sion of the e vent, all temp orary tra ffic co ntrol devices  must imme diately be

removed from the roadway and the roadway restored to its normal conditions.
5.1.2.5 Contact the  De lDOT Transportation M anagement Ce nter u pon r estoring t he ro adway t o

normal conditions to notify of the completed event and removal of traffic restrictions.
5.2 In the  even t of an emergency, th e e vent or ganizer may b e r equired to im mediately re open the

roadway. Upon no tification by a  De lDOT o fficial or law en forcement personnel, the event o rganizer
shall immediately restore the roadway to normal operations. 

5.3 The e vent or ganizer o r event p articipants sh all no t erect a ny ad vertising s igns o r other non-traffic
control signs with in DelDOT’s r ight-of-way. The event organizer or  event participants shall not paint
any markings on the roadway(s) within the event location.

6.0 Costs
6.1 As of this time, there are no permit fees for the Special Events Permit Application. In addition, there are

no fees charged by DelDOT to develop temporary traffic control plans, detour plans or transportation
operations plans.

6.2 The even t or ganizer is responsible for th e co sts associated with temporary traf fic control for a
particular planned special event. These costs may include, but will not be limited to, the procurement
of the required compliant temporary traffic control devices, the u se of p ortable changeable message
signs and labor associated with the  installation and removal of temporary traffic control devices. The
event organizer may request DelDOT’s assistance with the deployment of the temporary traffic control
plan and/or the transportation operations plan, however, the Department must be re imbursed for all
equipment and lab or co sts a ssociated with the  even t. If th e e vent or ganizer re quests Del DOT
assistance, the D epartment w ill generate a cost  es timate and will send the c ost estimate and a
concurrence le tter to  th e e vent o rganizer f or re view. If the e vent or ganizer c oncurs with the cost
estimate, the event organizer shall sign the concurrence letter and send it back to DelDOT. No charges
will be incurred until af ter the even t is completed. Upon completion of the event, the Dep artment will
contact the event organizer, review all c osts incu rred and then the Dep artment will send the ev ent
organizer a bill for services rendered.

6.3 If the event organizer does not utilize DelDOT forces for the deployment of the temporary traffic control
plan or transportation operations plan, the event organizer shall procure the necessary devices and
labor from entities that have experience with te mporary traffic control. Failure to have the necessary
provisions in place for the day of the event will result in the revocation of the Special Events Permit and
will result in the removal of all event participants from DelDOT’s right-of-way.

7.0 Coordination of Special Events
There may be  instances where two or  more planned special events occurring in close  proximity to
each other will be scheduled for the same day(s). If this is  the case , the Special Events Manager for
DelDOT will meet with the event organizers from eac h event and determine how best to manage
potential conflicts between events. This may require modifications to event routes, event traffic control
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plans and event schedules. DelDOT reserves the right to direct these changes to prevent event traffic
control and ev ent routes from overlapping. Failure to c omply with DelDOT’ s changes  will res ult in
revocation of the Special Events Permit.

8.0 Revocation of Permit by DelDOT
8.1 Failure to  comply with the ap proved temporary tr affic con trol pla n, the provisions of th e ap proved

Special Ev ents Permit or failure to complete the pre-event and/or event day  ac tivities will result in
revocation of th e ap proved S pecial Event s Per mit. DelDOT res erves the right to st op the ev ent
activities and restor e the  roadway to no rmal cond itions if the ap proved tem porary traffic con trol is
conducted in an unsafe manner or if there are unforeseen traffic delays experienced as a result of the
special event.

8.2 The even t organizer or  event p articipants shall n ot erect a ny ad vertising s igns o r other n on-traffic
control signs within DelDOT’s r ight-of-way. The event organizer or even t participants shall not paint
any markings on the roadway(s) within the event location. Failure to comply will result in the revocation
of the Special Events Permit, immediate removal of all participants from DelDOT’s right-of-way.
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRIGULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 10005 (3 Del.C. §10005)
3 DE Admin. Code 501

ORDER

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 3 Del.C. §10005, the Delaware Harness Racing Commission issues this
Order adopting proposed amendments to the Commission’s Rules. Following notice and a public hearing on
October 12, 2010, the Commission makes the following findings and conclusions:

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE

1. The Commission posted public notice of the proposed amendments to DHRC Rule 7.6.6.7 in the
September 1, 2010 Register of Regulations (Volume 13, Issue 3) and for two consecutive weeks in September in
The News Journal and Delaware State News. The Commission proposed to update Rule 7.6.6.7 in its entirety after
Rules Committee review.

2. The Commission received no written comments. The Commission held a public hearing on October 12,
2010, in which no public comments were made.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Commission with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments to the Commission’s Rules.

After considering the rule changes as proposed, the Commission hereby adopts the rule changes as proposed.
The Commission believes that these rule changes will allow the Delaware Harness Racing Commission rules to

Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time
allowed of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together
with summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

http://dda.delaware.gov/harness/index.shtml
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more accurately reflect current policy and procedures.
The effective date of this Order will be ten (10) days from the publication of this Order in the Register of

Regulations on December 1, 2010.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 1st of November, 2010.

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
September 2010 issue of the Register at page 134 (14 DE Reg. 134). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 225

ORDER

225 Prohibition of Discrimination

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 225 Prohibition of Discrimination. This
regulation was reviewed pursuant to the five year review cycle. The amendment includes the addition of language
to be consistent with Executive Order 8. The Executive Order continues the Governor’s Council on Equal
Employment Opportunity, directs state agencies to pursue equal employment and promotional opportunity for all
state employees and applicants, and includes a strong recruitment and retention component.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on October
4, 2010, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. Comments were received from the Governor’s Advisory Council
for Exceptional Citizens and from the State Council for Persons with Disabilities endorsing the amendment.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 225 Prohibition of Discrimination in
order to include language consistent with the Governor’s Executive Order 8. 

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 225
Prohibition of Discrimination. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 225 Prohibition of
Discrimination attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e),
14 DE Admin. Code 225 Prohibition of Discrimination hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years
from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

Beverly H. Steele, Chairman Larry Talley, Commissioner
Robert (Breezy) Brown, Commissioner Patt Wagner, Commissioner
George P. Staats, Commissioner

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2010/final/14 DE Reg 553 12-01-10.htm
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The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 225 Prohibition of Discrimination amended hereby shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 225 Prohibition of
Discrimination in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on SBE date. The
effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 18th day of November 2010.

Department of Education
Lillian M. Lowery, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 18th day of November 2010

225 Prohibition of Discrimination

1.0 Prohibition of Discrimination
No person in the State of Delaware shall on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex,
sexual orientation, genetic information, marital status, disability, age or Vietnam Era veteran’s status
be unlawfully excluded from participation in, denied the benefits of, or subjected to discrimination
under any program or activity receiving approval or financial assistance from or through the Delaware
Department of Education.

2 DE Reg. 1246 (01/01/99)
7 DE Reg. 1177 (03/01/04)
9 DE Reg. 1069 (01/01/06)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 505

ORDER

505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas to provide additional information related to the World
Languages credit requirement that goes into effect for the Class of 2015 (freshmen 2011-2012).  The regulation
requiring the 2 credits in World languages was originally scheduled to go into effect for the Class of 2013.  This was
revised in January 2009 making the requirement effective for the Class of 2015.  The recommendations of the Task
Force on World Languages were taken into consideration in the proposed amendments. The definition of World
Language includes American Sign Language.  This was a recommendation of the Task Force and is also required
by legislation, pursuant to HB 345 of the 145th General Assembly.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
Monday, October 4, 2010, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  The Department received comments from
both the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities.
The comments were similar.  One comment was in regard to a News Journal article from 2006 referencing state

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/


FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 14, ISSUE 6, WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2010

556

teachers’ union concerns that students with disabilities or those not college-bound “might benefit more from an
extra year of science, social studies, or career preparation.”  The Department did not receive comments from other
entities related to this issue during this amendment period.  Additionally, the Department would like to provide
research that suggests that students with disabilities do gain valuable work-place and life skills from world
language instruction; for example, Students With Disabilities: Yes, Foreign Language Instruction Is Important!
(Kleinart, Harold L, et al, Teaching Exceptional Children, 39 no 3, 24-9, Jan/Feb 2007).

Another comment related to the definition of “World Languages” and specifically substituting the word “people”
for “peoples”.  The definition proposed was established by members of the World Languages Task Force. Members
included K-12 world language teachers, university professors, district and state administrators who represented all
levels of education, elementary to post-secondary. The term “peoples” was used to be inclusive as a single world
language may be spoken by more than one single community, tribe, nation or race. The Task Force also partially
based its definition on Jensen and Sandrock’s (2007) work about the importance of using the term “world
languages” instead of “foreign languages” as it reflects an understanding of “a world where peoples and cultures
are in a constant state of movement and interaction …”

The last comment related to students who are deaf and the proficiency standards. Currently, the regulation
provides options for fulfilling the world language graduation requirement. Students may complete a minimum of two
world language credits in the same language or demonstrate a novice-high or higher level of proficiency.
Proficiency may be demonstrated in the areas of speaking, reading and writing using the levels of proficiency as
identified by ACTFL OR as approved for use by the Delaware Department of Education. Since ASL is not a spoken
language, a test demonstrating approximate skills such as receptive skills, interactive and expressive skills would
be considered by the Department as an appropriate ASL equivalent. For classical languages such as Greek or
Latin, the skills of listening and speaking may not be as appropriate and the Department could consider equivalent
skills of reading and translation. Proficiency in modern alphabetic and logographic languages, classical languages
or visual languages can still be measured using the levels of the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 505 High School Graduation
Requirements and Diplomas  in order to provide additional information related to the World Languages credit
requirement that goes into effect for the Class of 2015 (freshmen 2011-2012).

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 505
High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin.
Code 505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 505 High School Graduation Requirements
and Diplomas hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas  amended hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 505
High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department
of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on November 18,
2010.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.
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IT IS SO ORDERED the 18th day of November 2010.

Department of Education
Lillian M. Lowery, Ed.D., Secretary of Education
Approved this 18th day of November 2010

State Board of Education

505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2010 issue of the Register at page 222 (14 DE Reg. 222). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 746

ORDER

746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 746 Criminal Background Check for
Student Teaching for implementation of the process. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on October
4, 2010, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. The Department did not receive comments on the proposed
amendments. 

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 746 Criminal Background Check for
Student Teaching in order to provide additional information on the implementation process. 

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 746
Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant
to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching
hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in
Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching amended hereby shall

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory Coverdale
Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.
G. Patrick Heffernan James L. Wilson, Ed.D.
Barbara B. Rutt

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2010/final/14 DE Reg 555 12-01-10.htm
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be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 746
Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on November 18,
2010. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 18th day of November 2010.

Department of Education
Lillian M. Lowery, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 18th day of November 2010.

746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2010 issue of the Register at page 227 (14 DE Reg. 227). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 930

ORDER

930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound)

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound)
for formatting purposes as well as clarification. The regulation was reviewed pursuant to the five year cycle.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on October
4, 2010 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. The Department received comments from the Governors
Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities. As always, the
Department appreciates the thoughtful comments provided. A comment was received related to changing
language from “physician” to “physician or advanced practice nurse”. Advanced practice nurses have varying
levels of authority and the Department believes changing this may cause confusion at the school level. A comment
was received related to adding charter schools. This regulation is designed to address students who are not
eligible to receive homebound as a result of a right created under disability laws. Such students (not eligible under
the disability laws) would have no right to homebound without this regulation, and it does not appear that there is
statutory authority to extend the regulation to include charter schools. Additional comments were related to
language usage and whether it was “affirmative” or “non affirmative”. The Department considered the comments;
however, it believes rephrasing is not needed at this time. Grammatical changes were made.

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2010/final/14 DE Reg 557 12-01-10.htm
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II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound)
for formatting purposes as well as clarification. The regulation was reviewed pursuant to the five year cycle.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 930
Supportive Instruction (Homebound). Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 930 Supportive
Instruction (Homebound) attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C.
§122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound) hereby amended shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound) amended hereby shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 930 Supportive
Instruction (Homebound) in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on November 18,
2010 date. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 18th day of November 2010.

Department of Education
Lillian M. Lowery, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 18th day of November 2010

930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound)

1.0 Definition
“Supportive Instruction” is an alternative educational program provided at home, in a hospital or at a

related site for a students temporarily at home or hospitalized for a sudden illness, injury, episodic flare
up of a chronic condition or accident considered to be of a temporary nature.

1.1 Procedures for eligibility shall be limited to appropriate certification that the student cannot attend
school.

1.2 Services for children with disabilities as defined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) (20 U.S.C 1400 et.seq), and its regulations (34 CFR parts 300 and 301), 14 Del.C., Ch. 31, and
the State Department of Education's regulations on Children with Disabilities (14 DE Admin. Code 922
through 929) shall be provided according to the Administrative Manual: Special Education Services, in
accordance with these laws and shall be processed under the district's special education authority.
Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a district from providing supportive instruction to children with
disabilities in a manner consistent with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the
Administrative Manual and its regulations, 14 Del.C., Chapter 31, and the Department of Education's
regulations on Children with Disabilities.

1.3 Nothing in this regulation shall alter a district's duties under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of
1973 or the Americans with Disabilities Act to students who are qualified individuals with disabilities.
Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a district from providing supportive instruction to such students.
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2.0 Eligibility
2.1 A student enrolled in a school district is eligible for supportive instruction when the school district

receives the required certification that an accident, injury, sudden illness or episodic flare up of a
chronic condition will prevent the student from attending school for at least ten (10) school days.

2.1.1 A physician must certify absences due to a medical condition.
2.1.2 Absences due to severe adjustment problems must be certified by a psychologist or psychiatrist

and confirmed through a staff conference.
2.1.3 A physician must certify absences due to pregnancy complicated by illness or other abnormal

conditions.
2.1.3.1 Students do A student does not qualify for supportive instruction for normal pregnancies

unless there are complications.
2.1.3.2 Students A student who remain[s] enrolled in school are is eligible for supportive

instruction during a postpartum period not to exceed six weeks. Postpartum absences
must be certified by a physician.

2.4 Supportive instruction can be requested as an in school transitional program that follows a period of
supportive instruction that was provided outside of the school setting. If the supportive instruction is
provided as an in school transitional program, it must be approved through a staff conference.

9 DE Reg. 402 (9/1/05)

3.0 Implementation
3.1 Supportive instruction for a students shall begin as soon as the documentation required by 2.0 is

received. Supportive instruction may continue upon the return to school setting only in those
exceptional cases where it is determined that a student needs a transitional program to guarantee a
successful return to the school program as delineated in setting in accordance with 2.4.

3.1.1 Supportive instruction shall adhere to the extent possible to the student's school curriculum and
shall make full use of the available technology in order to facilitate the instruction.

3.1.1.1 The school shall provide a minimum of 3 hours of supportive instruction each week of
eligibility for students a K to 5th grade student, and a minimum of five hours each week of
eligibility for students a 6 to 12th grade student. There is no minimum for in school
transition.

3.1.1.2 Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a school district [school] from providing additional
hours of supportive instruction to an eligible students from either its Academic Excellence
allotment [or] other available funding sources.

3.1.2 Summer instruction is permitted for a student who is otherwise eligible for supportive instruction
and, as determined by the student's teachers and principal, needs the instruction to complete
course work or to maintain a level of instruction in order to continue in a school program setting the
following school year.

4 DE Reg. 344 (8/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 497 (9/1/00)
9 DE Reg. 402 (9/1/05)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1517

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1517 Paraeducator Permits

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and consultation with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1517 Permits Paraeducator.  It is
necessary to amend this regulation in order to facilitate proper and current formatting trends, and to update
renewal options.  This regulation sets forth the requirements for a Paraeducator Permit.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware
State News on October 1, 2010 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.
No written comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

 III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto
as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1517 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 4TH DAY OF NOVEMBER, 2010

IT IS SO ORDERED the 18th day of November, 2010.

Department of Education
Lillian M. Lowery, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 18th day of November, 2010

State Board of Education

Kathleen Thomas, Chair Lori Hudson
Michael Casson Chris Kenton
Joanne Christian David Kohan
Samtra Devard Jill Lewandowski
Stephanie DeWitt Wendy Murray
Marilyn Dollard Whitney Price
Karen Gordon Shelley Rouser
Cristy Greaves Jacque Wisnauskas

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory Coverdale
Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.
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1517 Permits Paraeducators Permit

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2010 issue of the Register at page 233 (14 DE Reg. 233). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1517 Paraeducator Permit

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1583

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1583 School Psychologist

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation and consultation with the Department of Education,
seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1583 School Psychologist.
Amendments include limiting issuance of the Standard Certificate to applicants who have completed an organized
graduate level program of study approved by the NASP or APA, a valid NCSP Certificate from the NASP or a valid
and current license or certificate from another state in school psychology. This regulation sets forth the
requirements for a School Psychologist.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware
State News on October 1, 2010 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.
No written comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it
is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto
as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1583 of the Administrative Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

G. Patrick Heffernan James L. Wilson, Ed.D.
Barbara B. Rutt

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2010/final/14 DE Reg 560 12-01-10.htm
http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
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APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD THE 4TH DAY OF NOVEMBER, 2010

IT IS SO ORDERED the 18th day of November, 2010.

Department of Education
Lillian M. Lowery, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 18th day of November, 2010

State Board of Education

1583 School Psychologist

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
October 2010 issue of the Register at page 238 (14 DE Reg. 238). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1583 School Psychologist

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

School-Based Wellness Center Clinic Services

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
initiated proceedings to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan. The Department’s proceedings to amend the Title
XIX Medicaid State Plan to update the reimbursement methodology language for School-Based Wellness Center
Clinic Services were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the September 2010 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from
the public concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by September 30, 2010 at which time the

Kathleen Thomas, Chair Lori Hudson
Michael Casson Chris Kenton
Joanne Christian David Kohan
Samtra Devard Jill Lewandowski
Stephanie DeWitt Wendy Murray
Marilyn Dollard Whitney Price
Karen Gordon Shelley Rouser
Cristy Greaves Jacque Wisnauskas

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory Coverdale
Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.
G. Patrick Heffernan James L. Wilson, Ed.D.
Barbara B. Rutt

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2010/final/14 DE Reg 562 12-01-10.htm
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Department would receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this proposal is to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to update the reimbursement
methodology for School-Based Wellness Center Clinic Services. 

Statutory Authority
• 42 CFR 440.205, Public Notice of Changes in Statewide Methods and Standards for Setting Payment

Rates;
• 42 CFR §440.90, Clinic Services; and,
• State Medicaid Manual, Section 4320, Clinic Services. 

Summary of Proposed Amendment
School-Based Wellness Center Clinics (SBWCCs), operated by the Division of Public Health in Delaware

schools, provide primary prevention and early intervention services, including physical examinations, treatment of
acute medical problems, community referrals, counseling and other supportive services to children in school or
educational settings.

The Title XIX Medicaid State Plan is being revised to update the reimbursement methodology for School-
Based Wellness Center Clinic Services, as the current rate methodology expires on September 30, 2010.

Effective for dates of service on October 1, 2010 and after, claims for School Based Wellness Center Clinic
Services will no longer be reimbursed at a single encounter rate per child per year but will be paid based on billed
procedure codes for individual services delivered by the SBWCCs at the Delaware Medicaid Physician Fee
Schedule rates. 

No change will be made to the services provided under the school-based wellness center clinic services
benefit.

The provisions of this amendment are subject to approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS).

Fiscal Impact Statement
The proposal imposes no increase in cost on the General Fund.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES 

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) and the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations and recommendations summarized below. The Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) has considered each comment and responds as follows.

As background, the current system reimburses centers based on a single rate at each benefit year for any
client served in a clinic. DMMA is proposing to abandon this simple reimbursement system in favor of centers
billing for each discrete service based on "the DMAP physician fee schedule" which DMMA notes is published on
its Website. Finally, DMMA recites that the proposal imposes no increase in cost on the General Fund. At 143. The
GACEC and the SCPD have the following observations.

First, we were unable to locate a document titled "DMAP physician fee schedule" at the Web address provided
in the regulation. Instead, the site publishes the attached “HCPCS" and "ASC" Schedules. Assuming DMMA
intends to cross reference one of these schedules, it would be preferable to adopt consistent terminology. 

Second, the regulation notes that the centers provide services which are not provided by physicians (e.g.
"counseling and other supportive services"). At 142. It is unclear whether adopting a "physician fee schedule"
would preclude billing by non-physicians (e.g. psychologist; social worker) and would include codes covering
health care services typically provided by non-physicians. If not, centers will be prompted to abandon non-
physician support services to the detriment of students.

Agency Response: DMMA apologizes for the confusion regarding the proposed fee schedule. The proposed
fee schedule is published on the DMMA website as the “HCPCS Schedule”. Even though this fee schedule is
commonly referred to as the “physician” fee schedule, it does include payment for other practitioner types.
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Consequently, there would be no impact on the scope of services offered at the centers.
Recent discussions with CMS that occurred after the proposed regulation was published have led to

consideration of an alternative payment methodology that achieves the Social Security Act requirement for
efficiency and economy but is less administratively burdensome to administer. Under this methodology, a visit rate
will be computed based on the state’s costs for the SBWCs. This rate will be billed and paid for each day on which
a client receives an SBWC service throughout the year. This differs from the old methodology where a visit rate
was computed based on unduplicated clients and was billed only once in a calendar year. This final regulation
reflects the new visit rate methodology indicated by [bracketed bold type] on Attachment 4.19-B, Page 2 and
additionally, on Attachment 3.1-A, Page 4 Addendum.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the September 2010 Register of Regulations
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to update the reimbursement methodology for
School-Based Wellness Center Clinic Services is adopted and shall be final effective December 10, 2010.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #10-49a 
REVISION:

ATTACHMENT 3.1-A
Page 4 Addendum

State: DELAWARE

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE 
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

9. Clinic Services
Clinic services are provided consistent with the provisions of 42 CFR 440.90, including the requirement that

they be operated under the direction of a physician as described in the State Medicaid Manual Section 4320, and
include the following:

• Medical or rehabilitation clinics (including Mental Health clinics which require certification by the Division
of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) as part of the Single State Agency for Medicaid) and

• State Licensed Free Standing Surgical Centers (FSSCs) which equate to federally defined Ambulatory
Surgical Centers (ASCs) using related policies for ASCs described in Sections 2265 and 2266 of the
Medicare Carriers Manual.

• [School-Based Wellness Center Clinic Services that are provided consistent with the provisions
of 42 CFR 440.90 and are operated under the direction of a physician to provide primary
prevention and early intervention services, including physical examinations, treatment of acute
medical problems, community referrals, counseling and other supportive services to children in
school and educational settings.

• School-Based Wellness Center Clinics provide primary prevention, early intervention and
treatment services, including physical examinations, treatment of acute medical conditions,
community referrals, counseling and other supportive services to children in school settings.
Medicaid services provided by the School-Based Wellness Centers include but are not limited to:
• other laboratory and X-ray services (1905(a)(3), 42 CFR 440.30)
• physicians’ services (1905(a)(5), 42 CFR 440.50)
• medical care, or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by

licensed practitioners with the scope of their practice as defined by State law (1905(a)(6), 42
CFR 440.170)
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• other diagnostic screening, preventive and rehabilitative services (1905(a)(13), 42 CFR
440.130)

• primary care case management services (1905(a)(19), 42 CFR 440.168).

Health care professionals that provide the above services at the SBWCs include: physicians, nurse
practitioners, licensed clinical social workers, certified and licensed drug and alcohol counselors, certified
sexual assault counselors and registered dieticians. Licensure requirements for each practitioner type are
specified in the Title 24 of the Delaware Code, Professions and Occupations and in the Delaware
Administrative Code.

Payments to School-Based Wellness Centers shall be considered “preventive pediatric services” as
per 42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(i) for the purpose of applying third party billing requirements.]

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #10-49b
REVISION:

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 2

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State/Territory: DELAWARE

[School-Based Wellness Center Clinic Services, operated by the Division of Public Health in Delaware
schools, are reimbursed a single rate once each benefit year for any client served in one of the school-
based clinics. This rate methodology will sunset on September 30, 2010 using the DMAP physician fee
schedule effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 2010. Except as otherwise noted in the plan,
State-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of this
service and the DMAP physician fee schedule is available on the DMAP website. (http://
www.dmap.state.de.us/downloads/hcpcs.html)

Payments for clinic services will not exceed the upper payment limits set forth in 42 CFR 447.321:. (1) For
services covered by Medicare, payments are not to exceed the Medicare rates or the Medicare aggregate
payment amount for those services; and (2) For services not covered by Medicare, aggregate payments
are not to exceed an amount that could reasonably be estimated would have been paid under Medicare
payment principles. Since the School-Based Wellness Centers will be paid at the DMAP physician fee
schedule rates, which is paid as a percentage of the Medicare physician fee schedule, not to exceed 100%,
the payments will not exceed what Medicare would have paid.

Payments to School-Based Wellness Centers shall be considered “preventive pediatric services” as per 42
CFR 433.139(b)(3)(i) for the purpose of applying third party billing requirements.]

[School-Based Wellness Center (SBWC) Clinic Services:

1. Payment Methodology: SBWC Clinic Services are reimbursed based on a prospective single visit
per day for each day on which a medical service is provided effective for dates of service on or after
October 1, 2010. The visit rate shall be calculated by dividing provider costs for the prior year by actual
visits for the prior year submitted in a format specified by the Medicaid agency. The State-developed
prospective visit rates for this service are the same for both governmental and private providers of this
service.

2. UPL Calculation: Payments for clinic services will not exceed the upper payment limits set forth in
42 CFR 447.321. Providers will complete the Delaware Medicaid SBWC Cost Report annually within four
months after the close of each fiscal year. The Medicaid SBWC Cost Report is based on the Medicare
FQHC Cost Report (CMS 222) adjusted to account for the difference in the operating period for the SBWCs
from a full year clinic. The actual annual visits as reported on the Cost Report shall be used as the
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denominator to calculate a visit rate that approximates a Medicare rate. The Medicare rate will be
multiplied by the annual aggregate Medicaid visits for dates of service in the applicable state fiscal year to
approximate the Medicare payment which will be compared to the actual payments for the fiscal year to
determine whether the upper payment limit test is met.] 

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C., §512)

ORDER

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) Provider Specific Policy Manual

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend the existing rules in the Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Manuals
regarding Durable Medical Equipment - Ownership of Equipment. The Department’s proceedings to amend its
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the October 2010 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the
public concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by October 31, 2010 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this proposal is to amend the Delaware Medical Assistance Provider (DMAP) Manuals
regarding the ownership of certain Durable Medical Equipment (DME). 

Statutory Authority
42 CFR §414.202, Definitions (DME)
42 CFR §440.70(b)(3), Home Health services
42 CFR §440.230, Sufficiency of amount, duration, and scope

Background
The Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) covers medically necessary durable medical supplies and

equipment, under the Durable Medical Equipment (DME) program, which meet program guidelines when
prescribed by a physician. 

The Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA), in collaboration with the University of Delaware,
Center for Disabilities Studies (CDS), is interested in developing a durable medical equipment retrieval program.
Such a program would enable high-quality products such as wheelchairs, scooters, and communication devices to
be refurbished and made available to a new customer when no longer needed by the original beneficiary. Similar
programs have been implemented in other states, demonstrating both fiscal and environmental advantages.

Current DMMA policy assigns ownership of equipment purchased by DMMA to the client. The proposed
revision would assign ownership of certain specified DME to DMMA. When the equipment is no longer needed, it
will be recovered by CDS. CDS will assess and refurbish, if appropriate. A new customer service component will
also be established to periodically evaluate the effectiveness of equipment in meeting the needs of the beneficiary.
DMMA customers will also have the option of accepting refurbished equipment, when available, at a reduced cost
to the state. 

Summary of Proposal
The DME provider manual is revised to establish a policy of ownership for certain purchased durable medical

equipment. This rule revision will allow certain durable medical equipment purchased by DMMA to remain the

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/
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property of the DMMA to be used by for the benefit of the Medicaid recipient until it is no longer medically
necessary. At such time as the item is no longer medically necessary, DMMA may retrieve the durable medical
equipment product if it is determined to be administratively and fiscally prudent. 

This rule will allow DMMA to establish a durable medical equipment retrieval program and meet the needs of
Delawareans who do not have access to durable medical equipment and ultimately reducing the amount of
uncompensated care provided by DMAP healthcare providers. This rule promulgation is the first step in
establishing procedures necessary to implement a durable medical equipment retrieval program.

Fiscal Impact Statement
This revision imposes no increase in cost on the General Fund.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) and the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations and considerations summarized below. DMMA has
considered each comment and responds as follows.

As background, other states have implemented assistive technology/durable medical equipment “reuse”
programs. Attached please find a PowerPoint outline describing the Kansas program. It notes that there is a high
national rate of abandonment of AT/DME. In addition, legislators were concerned that Medicaid-purchased AT/
DME was being sold at yard sales, and considerable cost savings resulted from adopting a system of recycling
Medicaid-supplied AT/DME.

Delaware’s Center for Disabilities Studies (CDS) and DMMA are now developing a similar system in Delaware.
The regulation provides the following information:

Current DMMA policy assigns ownership of equipment purchased by DMMA to the client. The
proposed revision would assign ownership of certain specified DME to DMMA. When the equipment is no
longer needed, it will be recovered by CDS. CDS will assess and refurbish, if appropriate. A new customer
service component will also be established to periodically evaluate the effectiveness of equipment in
meeting the needs of the beneficiary. DMMA customers will also have the option of accepting refurbished
equipment, when available, at a reduced cost to the state.

At 244.

CDS is soliciting providers to support this new initiative. 
In response to my inquiry, CDS informally shared supplemental information on September 30. The following is

a summary of the supplemental information:
A. The CDS/DMMA project is supported by an RSA model demonstration project grant. A stakeholder group

comprised of state agencies, DME vendors, service providers and individuals with disabilities has been meeting for
a few years to reach consensus on the model. The plan is to contract with one or more qualified vendors to conduct
the reclamation, sanitization, refurbishment, and repair. 

B. Health and safety is a key concern. Individuals could be hurt by “mismatched” DME or malfunctioning
DME. Therefore, if a prescription is generally needed to obtain a particular piece of equipment, a prescription will
be required to obtain equipment through this project to ensure the features match the individual’s needs. Only
lightly-used equipment will be processed and restored to “like-new” condition. Some types of equipment will not be
processed due to hygiene issues.

C. DMMA is not restricting access to reclaimed equipment to Medicaid beneficiaries, but Medicaid will have
the option of procuring equipment at costs far less than retail from the reuse inventory. CDS plans, under DMMA
contract, to adopt a customer-service role in which Medicaid beneficiaries provided with DME will be contacted to
assess whether the equipment is meeting their needs. If the equipment is no longer needed, or the beneficiary has
passed away, the equipment will be retrieved and, if appropriate, refurbished for use by others.

D. The program is viewed as a means of leveraging resources. The CDS is aware of Medicaid beneficiaries
or their families selling DMMA-purchased DME on Craig’s List or DATI’s AT Exchange soon after delivery. This
project should reduce the incidence of such sales and facilitate access to DME by uninsured and underinsured
persons. 

E. As part of the project, Paul Solano, a University of Delaware economist, will conduct a cost/benefit analysis
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to provide comprehensive data about the return on the reuse investment. This analysis would be of use both locally
and nationally.

The proposed regulation represents a “first step” towards DMMA implementation of the reuse program. The
current regulation grants ownership of DME purchased through Medicaid to the beneficiary. The new regulation
“carves out” certain forms of Medicaid-purchased DME which will be “owned” by DMMA. It would then be subject to
retrieval and recycling when the beneficiary no longer needs the device.

From a consumer perspective, there are pros and cons to the initiative.
On the negative side, query whether beneficiaries will be subject to State claims if State-owned equipment is

lost or damaged, even through no fault of the beneficiary. Some of the listed DME is also so inexpensive and/or
subject to wear and tear (e.g. car seats) that sanitizing and refurbishing may be of questionable cost effectiveness.

On the positive side, the reuse program should ultimately save DHSS money, promote recycling, and facilitate
trial access to equipment. The Kansas model included receiving donations of equipment from the public with
positive results.

Balancing the competing interests, the Councils endorse the proposed regulation subject to DMMA
considering the following.

First, since Medicaid is the payor of last resort, the Councils assume there are situations in which a third party
(e.g. insurer) has partially paid (e.g. 80%) for equipment and DMMA has paid a remaining balance (e.g. 20%).
Under those circumstances, we query whether it is equitable for DMMA to assume full ownership of the equipment.

Agency Response: DMMA’s intent is to only recover certain pieces of equipment no longer needed by
Medicaid clients. Doing so will potentially enable other Medicaid clients or the general public to benefit since the
recovered items will become part of the recycling effort’s larger inventory of equipment. Since the program is
designed to acquire used equipment from the general public in addition to Medicaid, we believe equity will be
achieved through the recycling of equipment for everyone, including non-Medicaid individuals with third party
coverage who may benefit from the acquisition of a refurbished piece of equipment that may have originally been
paid in full by Medicaid.

No change to the regulation was made as a result of this comment.

Second, DMMA should consider the extent of the beneficiary’s liability for lost or damaged equipment owned
by the State. If the beneficiary exercises reasonable care, it would be inappropriate to penalize the beneficiary for
loss or damage. The beneficiary should not be treated as an “insurer” of the equipment.

Agency Response: Damage or loss of equipment can happen under current policy where a client retains
ownership. In those instances, DMMA does not penalize clients when a replacement is needed. Under the
proposed ownership change, DMMA would impose no new policy penalizing a client for damage or loss which
occurred through no fault of the client. Retention of ownership by the State is solely for the purpose of assuring that
equipment may be reused as part of the recycling program. We intend no new level of liability on the part of the
client.

No change to the regulation was made as a result of this comment.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the October 2010 Register of Regulations
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the existing rules in the Delaware
Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Manuals regarding Durable Medical Equipment – Ownership of
Equipment is adopted and shall be final effective December 10, 2010. 

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #10-50
REVISION:
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DELAWARE MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) Provider Specific Policy Manual

3.5 Purchase Versus Rental
3.5.4 If purchase is the only option (such as for a custom-made wheelchair), or is determined to be the

most cost effective method of providing the equipment, the equipment will become the property of
the client after the DMAP reimbursement is made. Items specified below, purchased by DMMA
shall be the property of DMMA. Other equipment purchased by DMMA will become the property of
the client after the DMAP reimbursement is made.

• Augmentative Communication Devices
• Bath Benches
• Bi-Paps
• C-Paps
• Car Seats
• Commodes
• Feeder Seats
• Feeding Pumps
• Gait Trainers
• Hospital Beds and Hospital Bed Accessories
• Nebulizers
• Oxygen Concentrators
• Patient Lifts
• Quad Canes
• Scooters
• Shower Chairs
• Standers
• Strollers
• Walkers
• Wheelchairs and Wheelchair Accessories

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 2602 (16 Del.C., §2602)

ORDER

4459A Regulations for the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”) initiated proceedings to adopt the State of Delaware
Regulations Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act for Children Between the Ages of 22 and 26
Months. The DHSS proceedings to adopt the regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C., Ch. 101 and
authority as prescribed by 16 Del.C., Ch. 26.

On October 1, 2010 (Volume 14, Issue 4), DHSS published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice
of proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10115. It requested that written materials and suggestions from
the public concerning the proposed regulations be delivered to DHSS by November 1, 2010, or be presented at a
public hearing on October 22, 2010, after which time the DHSS would review information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed regulations.

No oral comments were made at the public hearing and no written comments were received during the public
comment period. Therefore, no evaluation or summarization of comments is presented in the accompanying
“Summary of Evidence.” Two letters of endorsement were received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html
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Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities, respectively.

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE

In accordance with Delaware Law, public notices regarding proposed Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) Regulations Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act for Children Between the
Ages of 22 and 26 Months were published in the Delaware State News, the News Journal and the Delaware
Register of Regulations. No oral comments were received at the October 22, 2010 public hearing and no written
comments were received on the proposed regulations during the public comment period (October 1, 2010 through
November 1, 2010).

Only minor grammatical corrections were made to further clarify the proposed regulations.
The public comment period was open from October 1- November 1, 2010.
Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing Officer’s record. The regulation has been approved by the

Delaware Attorney General’s office and the Cabinet Secretary of DHSS.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

There were no public comments received and only minor non-substantive changes were made to the proposed
regulations. The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as set forth in the attached copy should be
adopted in the best interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed State of Delaware Regulations Governing the Childhood
Lead Poisoning Prevention Act for Children Between the Ages of 22 and 26 Months are adopted and shall become
effective December 11, 2010, after publication of the final regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations. 

Rita M. Langraf, Secretary

4459A Regulations Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act for Children Between the 
Ages of 22 and 26 Months [of Age]

1.0 General Provisions.
1.1 Preamble.

1.1.1 These regulations are adopted by the Secretary of Delaware Health and Social Services pursuant
to 16 Del.C., §122(3)(t) and § 2602. These regulations establish standards for blood lead testing of
children between 22 and 26 months of age who are at high risk of lead poisoning. These
regulations also establish a record retention policy, enforcement modalities and penalties for
violators.

2.0 Definitions.
For purposes of this chapter, the following definitions shall apply:

“Blood lead registry” means the database maintained by the Department that includes the results of
all blood lead testing reported to the Department.
“Blood lead testing” means taking a capillary or venous sample of blood for point of care testing
using a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act of 1988 (CLIA) licensed or waived test or sending it to a
laboratory to determine the level of lead in the blood.
“Capillary” means a blood sample taken from the finger or heel for lead analysis.
“Division” means the Delaware Division of Public Health.
“Department” means the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services.
“Health care provider” means the individual that generally provides medical care to a child including,
but not limited to, a physician, a physician’s assistant or a nurse.
“High risk” means a child between the ages of 22 and 26 months who meets any of the following
conditions:
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• Is suspected by a parent or a health care provider to be at risk for lead exposure or to exhibit
the symptoms of lead poisoning.

• Has a sibling or frequent playmate with lead poisoning.
• Is a recent immigrant, refugee, or foreign adoptee.
• Has a household member who uses traditional, folk, or ethnic remedies or cosmetics or who

routinely eats food imported informally (e.g., by a family member) from abroad.
• Lives in or regularly visits a house or day care center (including out buildings) built before

1978.
• Lives with an adult whose job or hobby involves exposure to lead (e.g. construction, welding,

pottery, mechanic, jeweler, plumber, renovator, firing range enthusiast, stained glass maker). 
• Lives near an active lead smelter, battery recycling plant, or other industry likely to release

lead.
• Lives in, attends day care in, or visits any of the following zip code areas at least 6 hours a

week or 60 hours a year:
• 197XX: 01, 02, 03, 06, 09, 11, 13, 20, 33
• 198XX: 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 08, 09, 10
• 199XX: 01, 04, 33, 34, 38, 39, 40, 41, 43, 45, 46, 47, 50, 52, 53, 56, 58, 60, 62, 63, 66,

68, 71, 73, 75, 77.
“Laboratory” means a laboratory certified to perform either waived or non-waived blood lead analysis
according to the federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act of 1988 (CLIA).
“Low Risk” means a child between the ages of 22 and 26 months who does not meet any of the
conditions listed in the definition for “High Risk”.
“Venous” means a blood sample taken from a vein in the arm for lead analysis.

3.0 Requirement.
The health care provider of a child between the ages of 22 and 26 months shall determine if said child
is at high risk of lead poisoning. If the child is determined to be at high risk, the health care provider
shall perform or cause to be performed a blood lead test.

4.0 Applicability.
4.1 The blood lead testing requirement specified in these regulations applies to all children 22 to 26

months of age except those determined not to be at high risk.
4.2 Blood lead testing is not required on a child between the ages of 22 and 26 months when said child is

determined by the health care provider to be at low risk for elevated blood lead levels. If a health care
provider determines that a child is low risk, the health care provider will keep the completed risk
assessment questionnaire (with all “NO” responses) in the child’s chart for at least three years.

5.0 Religious exemption.
A religious exemption may be granted to a child if the blood lead testing conflicts with a genuine and
sincere religious belief and not a belief based merely on philosophical, scientific, moral, personal, or
medical opposition to blood lead testing. A certificate of blood lead testing exemption for religious
reasons shall be signed and dated by the child’s parent or guardian, notarized, and kept in the child’s
medical chart.

6.0 Time line for valid blood lead testing.
To be valid, a blood lead test shall be performed, as required by these regulations, on a child after
completion of a risk assessment questionnaire when the child is between the ages of 22 and 26
months. Children that test with blood lead levels above the level of concern established by the Centers
for Disease Control (“CDC”), which is currently 10 μg/dl, will have venous confirmation by a laboratory
prior to intervention.
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7.0 Documentation.
7.1 A health care provider and a laboratory performing a blood lead test required by these regulations shall

ensure that the results of the blood lead test are reported to the Division.
7.2 Proof of blood lead testing will be verified through the Blood Lead Registry and by auditing a child’s

medical charts.

8.0 Records.
A completed risk assessment questionnaire, including the determination of the child’s risk of lead
poisoning, shall be maintained in a child’s medical chart for at least three years. The Division will
conduct scheduled and impromptu chart audits to monitor compliance.

9.0 Severability.
If any provision or application of any provision of these regulations is held invalid, that invalidity shall
not affect the validity of other provisions or applications of these regulations.

10.0 Penalty.
Violators are subject to sanctions pursuant to 16 Del.C., §107 for each violation of the requirements
established in these regulations.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 314 & 1111 (18 Del.C. §§313, 1111)

ORDER

506 Crop Insurance Adjusters and Producers

Proposed Regulation 506 relating to Crop Insurance Adjusters and Producers was published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations on October 1, 2010. The comment period remained open until November 1, 2010. There
was no public hearing on proposed Regulation 506. Public notice of the proposed Regulation 506 in the Register of
Regulations was in conformity with Delaware law.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Comment was received from Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCIAA). PCIAA believes the
definition of Crop Adjuster is too vague and is additionally concerned that the requirements of this “new license” will
negatively affect existing licensed adjusters. As noted below, the proposed regulation does not create a new
adjuster license, but a new “line” within the casualty adjuster licensing realm. 

FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on Delaware law and the record in this docket, I make the following findings of fact:
The requirements of the proposed Regulation 506 best serve the interests of the public and of insurers and

comply with Delaware law. The creation of a separate line of Crop Insurance Producers and of Crop Insurance
Adjusters, within existing Property Insurance Producer and Adjuster licensing keeps the public better informed of
who is licensed in the important Crop Insurance producing and adjusting fields.

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§314, 1111 and 29 Del.C. §§10113-10118 and the record in this docket,
I hereby adopt amended Regulation 506 as may more fully and at large appear in the version attached hereto to be

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/
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effective on January 3, 2011. 

TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the proposed Regulation 506 last appeared in the Register of Regulations Vol. 14, Issue 4, pages
249-250.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 5th day of November, 2010.
Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner

506 Crop Insurance Adjusters and Producers

1.0 Purpose
1.1 The purpose of this Chapter is to provide rules to assist the Commissioner in administering the laws

relating to the licensure and regulation of crop insurance producers and adjusters, as provided for in
18 Del.C. Chapter 17 et. seq.

1.2 This regulation should not be viewed as replacing any other or additional statutory requirements not
explicitly included in this regulation.

2.0 Scope
This regulation applies to all persons acting as crop insurance adjusters or producers in this state. The
crop insurance producer and adjuster licenses to be issued by the Commissioner.

3.0 Definitions
"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Delaware Insurance Department.
"Crop" means and includes any agricultural product, including livestock, nursery product, tree and
product from a tree, as well as anything insured by the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation under a
crop insurance program.
 “Crop insurance adjuster” means any person, who, for compensation or any other thing of value,
does any of the following:

• Acts or aids in investigating, verifying, substantiating, estimating, appraising, determining,
presenting, and discussing the value of the claim, and/or effectuating the resolution of a
claim for loss or damage covered by an insurance contract that insures crops;

• Advertises for employment as an adjuster of claims arising under insurance contracts that
insure crops or solicits business or represents to the public to be a crop insurance adjuster
of insurance claims, for losses or damages arising out of policies of insurance that insure
crops; or

• Directly or indirectly solicits business, investigates or adjusts losses, or advises an insured
about claims for losses or damages arising out of policies of insurance that insure crops,
when doing any of the foregoing for or on behalf of another person engaged in the business
of adjusting losses or damages covered by an insurance policy that insures crops, for the
insured.

"Department" means the Department of Insurance; 
“NAIC” means the National Association of Insurance Commissioners;
"Person" means a natural person;
“Producer” means any person required to be licensed under the laws of this State to sell, solicit, or
negotiate contracts of insurance authorized within the scope of said license.
"Risk Management Agency" means that agency of the United States Department of Agriculture
acting on behalf of the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation to administer federal crop insurance
programs.
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4.0 Qualification for the Issuance of a License
A person shall apply for and receive from the Commissioner a multi-peril crop insurance adjuster and/
or producer license to operate as a multi-peril crop insurance producer or adjuster in this State. All
applications for licensure shall be in accordance with the requirements of 18 Del.C., §§1706 and 1707
(1).

5.0 Examination Requirements
5.1 All individuals applying for a multi-peril crop insurance adjuster license are required to pass the Risk

Management Agency-approved Proficiency test for multi-peril crop insurance adjusters.
5.2 All individuals applying for a multi-crop insurance producer license shall be required pass a written

examination as required by 18 Del.C., §1705.
5.3 The Commissioner may enter into a contract with a testing organization for the examination of

applicants for a license as a multi-peril crop insurance producer or adjuster. Such contract may provide
that the testing organization shall:

5.3.1 Assume responsibility for the administration and grading of the examination; and
5.3.2 Charge and collect from each applicant the fee for administering the examination.

6.0 Continuing Education Requirement
6.1 An individual, who holds a multi-peril crop insurance license shall satisfactorily complete a minimum of

twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education credits. The education required by this section shall be
in addition to any other continuing education requirements required for other professional licenses held
by the individuals licensed under Chapter 17 of the Delaware Code.

6.2 Only continuing education courses approved by the Commissioner shall be used to satisfy the
continuing education requirement of Paragraph 6.1.

7.0 Effective Date
This Regulation shall take effect 10 days after execution of an Order by the Commissioner and its
publication in the Register of Regulations or January 1, 2011, whichever shall occur last.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 314 & 1111 (18 Del.C. §§313, 1111)

ORDER

507 Workers’ Compensation Insurance Adjusters

Proposed Regulation 507 relating to Workers’ Compensation Insurance Adjusters was published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations on October 1, 2010. The comment period remained open until November 1,
2010. There was no public hearing on proposed Regulation 507. Public notice of the proposed Regulation 507 in
the Register of Regulations was in conformity with Delaware law.
 

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Comment was received from the American Insurance Association (AIA). AIA was concerned that the proposed
regulation would impose additional requirements on currently licensed casualty adjusters, adjusters currently
licensed to adjust workers’ compensation in other states, and those employed as such adjusters and certified by
CPCU or AIC. AIA expressed concern that these adjusters would not be “waived in”. Comment along the same line
was also received from Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCIAA). In addition, PCIAA believes
the proposed regulation is vague as it defines who may need a license.

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/
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FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on Delaware law and the record in this docket, I make the following findings of fact:
The requirements of the proposed Regulation 507 best serve the interests of the public and of insurers and

comply with Delaware law. The concerns expressed by AIA are valid. However, the proposed regulation does not
establish a new license requirement, but establishes a new line for currently-licensed casualty adjusters, licensed
either in Delaware or another jurisdiction. Currently-licensed casualty adjusters who adjust workers’ compensation
claims will merely add this new line to their licensing information after the effective date of the regulation.

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§314, 1111 and 29 Del.C. §§10113-10118 and the record in this docket,
I hereby adopt amended Regulation 507 as may more fully and at large appear in the version attached hereto to be
effective on January 3, 2011. 

TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the proposed Regulation 507 last appeared in the Register of Regulations Vol. 14, Issue 4, pages
251-252.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 5th day of November 2010. 

Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner

507 Workers’ Compensation Insurance Adjusters

1.0 Purpose
1.1 The purpose of this Chapter is to provide rules to assist the Commissioner in administering the laws

relating to the licensure and regulation of Workers’ Compensation insurance adjusters, as provided for
in 18 Del.C. Chapter 17 et. seq.

1.2 This regulation should not be viewed as replacing any other or additional statutory requirements not
explicitly included in this regulation.

2.0 Scope
This regulation applies to all persons acting as Workers’ Compensation insurance adjusters in this
state. The Workers’ Compensation Insurance adjuster license is to be issued by the Commissioner.

3.0 Definitions.
"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Delaware Insurance Department.
"Department" means the Department of Insurance;
“NAIC” means the National Association of Insurance Commissioners;
"Person" means a natural person;
“Workers Compensation insurance adjuster” means any person, who, as an independent
contractor, or on behalf of an independent contractor, insurer or self-insurer, producer or managing
general agent, investigates and/or negotiates settlement of workers’ compensation claims arising
under insurance contracts.

4.0 Qualification for the Issuance of a License.
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A person shall apply for and receive from the Commissioner a Workers Compensation insurance
adjuster license to operate as a workers compensation adjuster in this State. All applications for
licensure shall be in accordance with the requirements of 18 Del.C. §§1706 and 1707(1).

5.0 Examination Requirements.
5.1 All individuals applying for a workers compensation insurance adjuster license are required to pass the

approved proficiency test for workers compensation insurance adjusters.
5.2 The Commissioner may enter into a contract with a testing organization for the examination of

applicants for a license as a workers compensation insurance adjuster. Such contract may provide that
the testing organization shall:

5.2.1 Assume responsibility for the administration and grading of the examination; and
5.2.2 Charge and collect from each applicant the fee for administering the examination.

6.0 Continuing Education Requirement.
6.1 An individual, who holds a workers compensation insurance adjuster license shall satisfactorily

complete a minimum of twelve (12) hours of continuing education credits, three (3) of which shall be in
ethics subjects, during each biennium reporting period. The education required by this section shall be
in addition to any other continuing education requirements required for other professional licenses held
by the individuals licensed under Chapter 17 of the Delaware Code.

6.2 Only continuing education courses approved by the Commissioner shall be used to satisfy the
continuing education requirement of Paragraph 6.1.

7.0 Effective Date
This Regulation shall take effect 10 days after execution of an Order by the Commissioner and its
publication in the Register of Regulations or January 1, 2011, whichever shall occur last.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
FRAUD AND CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

CONSUMER PROTECTION UNIT
Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 2521 (29 Del.C. §2521)

ORDER

103 Consumer Protection Unit Administrative Enforcement Proceedings

A public hearing was held to receive comments related to the proposed rules relating to the enforcement of
consumer protection laws. Notice was provided as required under the Administrative Proceedings Act 29 Del.C.
§10115 in the Register of Regulations at 14 DE Reg. 252 (10/01/10) as well as in the News Journal and Delaware
State News on October 14, 2010. 

The Director of Consumer Protection conducted the public hearing which was held at 10 a.m. on November 3,
2010 in the Attorney General’s Conference Room at the Carvel State Office Building, 6th floor, 820 N. French St.,
Wilmington, DE 19801.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Written Comments received: None
Oral Comments received:

1. Andrew P. Taylor, Esquire, of Cooch and Taylor, representing the Delaware Association of Realtors,
provided comments about specific proposed rules as follows:

http://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/
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Proposed Rule 4.1: No notice of the reason for disqualification should be required. A statement by a
Deputy Attorney General that he or she is withdrawing is sufficient.

Proposed Rule 4.2: Mr. Taylor inquired about whether there is an opportunity to appeal a decision by a
hearing officer to proceed with a hearing after a motion has been made for his or her disqualification.

Proposed Rule 7.1:  The most important comment relates to the notice initiating a proceeding. Given the
importance of the proceedings, it should not be sufficient to simply have an unsigned return receipt
after notice by first class mail though that is sufficient in some landlord tenant matters in the Justice of
the Peace Court.   

Proposed Rule 12.1: The title “Director” should be defined.
Proposed Rule 18.0: Although there is no discovery in these administrative proceedings, the parties would

benefit from a fact-finding opportunity in advance of the hearing in order to explore the allegations
much like an investigator does in fair housing investigations by the Division of Human Relations.

Proposed Rule 25.1.2: Mr. Taylor inquired about the use of the word “finding” and whether it implies a
hearing has been held.

FINDINGS OF FACT BASED ON THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The change to proposed Rule 4.1 will be considered in connection with any future amendment of these Rules.
It is important to publish final rules without substantive change to implement the statute expeditiously. This change
is non-substantive.
There is no interlocutory appeal from a decision by a hearing officer to continue after a motion for withdrawal
pursuant to proposed Rule 4.2. The issue can be raised on the appeal of a final order.

The flexible service provided in proposed Rule 7.1 is necessary for the enforcement of consumer fraud
violations because the actors are frequently out of state and on the internet, making personal service practically
difficult. 

I agree that the “Director” would be better identified as the “Director of Consumer Protection” in proposed Rule
12.1.

The change recommended to proposed Rule 18.0 would encumber the process, which is intended to be
informal and expeditious.

The term “finding” of a violation in proposed Rule 25.1.2 means after a hearing. 

DECISION AND ORDER

After considering the relevant statutes and the comments received and pursuant to the authority in 29 Del.C.
§2520, I hereby adopt the proposed regulations as published in 14 DE Reg 252 (10/1/10) with one exception:

In proposed Rule 12.1 the words “Director of Consumer Protection” shall be substituted for the word “Director”
in the final rule.

Comments on proposed Rule 4.1 will be reconsidered at a later date after a new notice and opportunity for
comment.

EFFECTIVE DATE

The effective date shall be ten days following publication in the Register of Regulations.
SO ORDERED THIS 10th day of November, 2010. 
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Ian R. McConnel, Director of Consumer Protection

103 Consumer Protection Unit Administrative Enforcement Proceedings

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

12.0 Complaints: general and summary proceedings.
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12.1 General. If the Director [of Consumer Protection] or a Deputy Attorney General acting under his or
her authority believes that any person is violating or has violated any provision of the statutes the CPU
is charged to enforce, or any rule or regulation thereunder, the CPU may issue a complaint as provided
herein. The service and filing of the complaint constitutes the commencement of the administrative
proceeding. If no hearing officer has been generally designated, the Director [of Consumer
Protection] or the Deputy Attorney General filing the complaint shall give notice to the Attorney
General, Chief Deputy Attorney General, or the State Solicitor requesting the appointment of a hearing
officer for the proceeding.

12.2 Summary proceedings. See Rule 25.1.3 for procedure in summary proceedings.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

*Please note the only amendment to the proposed regulation was to the above section. As the balance of
the regulation was not amended since it was proposed, is it is not being republished. A copy of the final
regulation is available at:

103 Consumer Protection Unit Administrative Enforcement Proceedings

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

7 DE Admin. Code 1125, 1130

1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review
1130 Title V State Operating Permit Program

Secretary’s Order No.:  2010-A-0040
Date of Issuance:   November 17, 2010

Effective Date of the Amendment:  December 11, 2010

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”) the following findings, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking proceeding.

Background and Procedural History

This Order considers proposed regulatory amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1125, Requirements for
Preconstruction Review, Section 3.0, “Prevention of Significant Deterioration of Air Quality” and 7 DE Admin. Code
1130, Title V State Operating Permit Program, Section 2.0, “Definitions”: Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Emissions, to
enable Delaware to conform to the requirements of a recent federal rule, 75 FR 31514, “Prevention of Significant
Deterioration and Title V Greenhouse Gas Tailoring Rule” (June 3, 2010), providing for the regulation of certain
greenhouse gases, which are considered pollutants under existing Delaware air quality regulations.

The Department is proposing to amend existing Regulations 1125 and 1130 by adding definitions which
describe greenhouse gases (GHG) as composed of the aggregate group of six greenhouse gases: carbon dioxide
(CO2), nitrous oxide (N20), methane (CH4), hydrofluorocarbons (HFC), perfluorocarbons (PFC), and sulfur
hexafluoride (SF6), as well as for carbon dioxide equivalent emissions (CO2e).  These regulations also will be
amended to require consideration for permitting of certain GHG emitting sources, under Title V (Reg. 1130) and
new source review (Reg. 1125), beginning January 2, 2011, that emit or have the potential to emit, 75,000 tons per
year, or, 100,000 tons per year of CO2e.  The Department is proposing to make these revisions now to add the new
threshold limits for regulating these emissions in these regulations as shown in the recently issued federal rule 75
FR 31514, "Prevention of Significant Deterioration and Title V Greenhouse Gas Tailoring Rule", as noted above.

http://www.awm.delaware.gov/Pages/default.aspx
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2010/final/14 DE Reg 577 12-01-10.htm
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On August 31, 2010, the Department’s Division of Air Quality (DAQ) commenced the regulatory development
process with Start Action Notice 2010-19.  The Department published the proposed regulatory amendments in the
October 1, 2010 Delaware Register of Regulations and held a public hearing on November 10, 2010. The
Department’s presiding hearing officer, Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated November 12,
2010 (Report). The Report recommends certain findings and the adoption of the proposed regulatory amendments
as attached to the Report as Appendix A.

Findings and Discussion

I find that the proposed Amendments are well-supported by the record developed by the Department, and
adopt the Report to the extent it is consistent with this Order.   The Department’s experts developed the record and
drafted the proposed Amendments. The Department received public comments from the regulated community, as
noted in the Report, and considered and responded to all timely and relevant public comments in making its
determination.

I find that the Department’s experts in the Division of DAQ fully developed the record to support adoption of this
Amendment.   With the adoption of the regulatory amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1125, Requirements for
Preconstruction Review, Section 3.0, “Prevention of Significant Deterioration of Air Quality” and 7 DE Admin. Code
1130, Title V State Operating Permit Program, Section 2.0, “Definitions”: Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Emissions,
Delaware will be enabled to conform to the requirements of a recent federal rule, 75 FR 31514, “Prevention of
Significant Deterioration and Title V Greenhouse Gas Tailoring Rule” (June 3, 2010), providing for the regulation of
certain greenhouse gases, which are considered pollutants under existing Delaware air quality regulations.
Additionally, these regulations are being amended at this time to require consideration for permitting of certain
GHG emitting sources, under Title V (Reg. 1130) and new source review (Reg. 1125), beginning January 2, 2011,
that emit or have the potential to emit, 75,000 tons per year, or, 100,000 tons per year of CO2e.

In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are entered:
1.) The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to issue an Order adopting these proposed

Amendments as final;
2.) The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed Amendments, and provided the public

with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed Amendments, including at a public hearing; 
3.) The Department held a public hearing on November 10, 2010 on the proposed Amendments in order to

consider public comments before making any final decision, and fully considered and responded to all timely and
relevant comments received from the regulated community concerning this matter;

4) The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its recommended record and the recommended
Amendments as set forth in Appendix A, are adopted to provide additional reasons and findings for this Order;  

5.) The recommended Amendments do not reflect any substantive changes from the proposed regulation
Amendments as published in the October 1, 2010, Delaware Register of Regulations; 

6.)  The recommended Amendments should be adopted as final regulation Amendments because (1)
Delaware will be enabled to conform to the requirements of a recent federal rule, 75 FR 31514, “Prevention of
Significant Deterioration and Title V Greenhouse Gas Tailoring Rule” (June 3, 2010), providing for the regulation of
certain greenhouse gases, which are considered pollutants under existing Delaware air quality regulations; (2)
consideration will now be required for permitting of certain GHG emitting sources, under Title V (Reg. 1130) and
new source review (Reg. 1125), beginning January 2, 2011, that emit or have the potential to emit, 75,000 tons per
year, or, 100,000 tons per year of CO2e; and (3) the regulation amendments are well supported by documents in
the record; and that

7.) The Department shall submit this Order approving the final regulations to the Delaware Register of
Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the law and regulation
require and the Department determines is appropriate. 

David S. Small (for) Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review
1130 Title V State Operating Permit Program
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*Please note that no changes were made to the regulations as originally proposed and published in the
October 2010 issue of the Register at page 263 (14 DE Reg. 263). Therefore, the final regulations are not
being republished. A copy of the final regulations are available at:

1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review & 1130 Title V State Operating Permit Program

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

7 DE Admin. Code 1138

Secretary’s Order No.: 2010-A-0038
Date of Issuance: November 10, 2010

Effective Date of the Amendment: December 11, 2010

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”) the following findings, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking proceeding.

Background and Procedural History

This Order considers the proposed regulatory amendment to 7 DE Admin. Code 1138, Emission Standards for
Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories, Section 16.0, “Area Source Asphalt Processing and Asphalt
Roofing Products Manufacturing Operations”. This proposed new Section 16.0 is based upon a federal rule that the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) promulgated at 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart AAAAAAA, and is
applicable to new and existing asphalt processing operations and asphalt roofing manufacturing operations located
at area sources.

This area source standard addresses the emissions of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (“PAHs”), which
represent a broad class of aromatic compounds. EPA has classified seven PAHs (benzo[a]pyrene,
benz[a]anthracene, chrysene, benzo[b]fluoranthene, benzo[k]fluoranthene, dibenz[a,h]anthracene, and
indeno[1,2,3-cd]pyrene) as probable human carcinogens. The major non-cancerous effects from chronic inhalation
exposure are diseases associated with the respiratory tract. The purpose of this proposed regulatory action is to
provide increased protection for Delaware citizens against the aforementioned potential adverse health effects
linked to the aforementioned PAHs.

Facilities that will be subject to Section 16 include facilities that conduct asphalt processing operations, as well
as facilities that manufacture roofing products, such as roofing shingles, rolled roofing and tar paper. Roofing
companies that install built-up roofing systems on buildings are exempt from this proposed regulation, even if one
of the layers is asphalt. Hot mix asphalt cement plants are also exempt from this regulation (asphalt cement is used
in road construction, parking lots, and storage pads).

The proposed Section 16 specifies emissions limitations from the asphalt process operations and asphalt
roofing products manufacturing operations. Asphalt roofing products manufacturing operations must also limit their
emissions to either a particulate matter or polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon level. Facilities have some freedom in
choosing the control technology they wish to use to maintain their emissions below said limitations. Based on the
already demonstrated use in the industry, the EPA has already approved the use of thermal oxidizers, high
efficiency air filter, fiber bed filters, and electrostatic precipitators to control the emissions from asphalt processing
operations and asphalt roofing products manufacturing operations. Should a facility wish to use a different control
technology, the proposed regulation provides the procedure to follow to request the EPA’s approval of alternative
controls.

In addition to the above compliance requirements for facilities subject to Section 16.0, each such facility must
be found compliant with the following four requirements as well:

• The development and implementation of a startup, shutdown, and malfunction plan, which shall provide
appropriate operation instructions, proper corrective actions during malfunctions, required maintenance
and inspection schedules, and proper maintenance procedures;

http://www.awm.delaware.gov/Pages/default.aspx
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2010/final/14 DE Reg 579 12-01-10.htm
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• The development and implementation of a site specific monitoring plan, which shall identify the
appropriate monitoring locations, define the proper performance and equipment specification for the
monitoring system, and document the various procedure needed to insure the quality of the data
collected by the monitoring system;

• The demonstration of its initial compliance with the emission limitation for each operation, which is done
by conducting a performance test and comparing the emission results of the performance test with the
applicable emission limitation and

• The demonstration of its ongoing compliance with the emission limitation for each operation.

The Department’s Division of Air Quality (DAQ) commenced the regulatory development process with Start
Action Notice 2009-17. The Department published the proposed regulatory amendment in the September 1, 2010
Delaware Register of Regulation and held a public hearing on September 22, 2010. The Department’s presiding
hearing officer, Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated November 1, 2010 (Report). The Report
recommends certain findings and the adoption of the proposed Amendment as attached to the Report as Appendix
A.

Findings and Discussion

I find that the proposed Amendment is well-supported by the record developed by the Department, and adopt
the Report to the extent it is consistent with this Order. The Department’s experts developed the record and drafted
the proposed Amendment.

I find that the Department’s DAQ expert fully developed the record to support adoption of this Amendment.
With the adoption of the regulation amendment to 7 DE Admin. Code 1138, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants for Source Categories, Section 16.0, “Area Source Asphalt Processing and Asphalt Roofing Products
Manufacturing Operations”, Delaware will be able to mirror the recently issued federal rule promulgated by the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) at 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart AAAAAAA and provide increased protection
for Delaware citizens against potential adverse health effects linked to long-term exposure to the aforementioned
PAHs, which are (1) known probable human carcinogens; and (2) have additional non-cancerous effects from
chronic inhalation exposure, including diseases associated with the respiratory tract.

In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are entered:
1.) The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to issue an Order adopting this proposed

Amendment as final;
2.) The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed Amendment, and provided the

public with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed Amendment, including at a public
hearing; 

3.) The Department held a public hearing on September 22, 2010 on the proposed Amendment in order to
any consider public comments before making any final decision;

4) The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its recommended record and the recommended
Amendment as set forth in Appendix A, are adopted to provide additional reasons and findings for this
Order; 

5.) The recommended Amendment does not reflect any substantive change from the proposed regulation
Amendment as published in the September 1, 2010, Delaware Register of Regulations; 

6.) The recommended Amendment should be adopted as final regulation Amendment because Delaware
will then be enabled to (1) mirror the recently issued federal rule promulgated by the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) at 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart AAAAAAA; and (2) provide
increased protection for Delaware citizens against potential adverse health effects linked to long-term
exposure to the aforementioned PAHs, which are known probable human carcinogens, and have
additional non-cancerous effects from chronic inhalation exposure, including diseases associated with
the respiratory. Moreover, the regulation amendment is well supported by documents in the record;
and 

7.) The Department shall submit this Order approving the final regulation to the Delaware Register of
Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the law and
regulation require and the Department determines is appropriate. 
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David S. Small, Acting Sec. (for) Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories
*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

7 DE Admin. Code 1140

Secretary’s Order No.: 2010-A-0039
Date of Issuance: November 9, 2010

Effective Date of the Amendment: December 11, 2010

1140 Delaware’s National Low Emission Vehicle (NLEV) Regulation

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”) the following findings, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking proceeding.

Background and Procedural History

This Order considers the proposed regulatory amendment to 7 DE Admin. Code 1140, Delaware Low
Emission Vehicle Program. The primary purpose of this promulgation is to reduce vehicle emissions from new
vehicles in Delaware, beginning with model year 2014. Considerable benefits to human health and the
environment will be realized under this program in the long term by the adoption of California’s emissions
standards, which are more stringent than the current federal standards. The Low Emission Vehicle (“LEV”)
Program reduces emissions of ozone precursors, particulates, toxic air pollutants, and greenhouse gases.

The Department’s Division of Air Quality (DAQ) commenced the regulatory development process with Start
Action Notice 2009-33. The Department published the proposed regulatory amendment in the October 1, 2010
Delaware Register of Regulation and held a public hearing on October 22, 2010. The Department’s presiding
hearing officer, Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated November 5, 2010 (Report). The Report
recommends certain findings and the adoption of the proposed Amendment as attached to the Report as Appendix
A.

Findings and Discussion

I find that the proposed Amendment is well-supported by the record developed by the Department, and adopt
the Report to the extent it is consistent with this Order.   The Department’s experts developed the record and
drafted the proposed Amendment. Throughout the entire regulatory development process regarding this
promulgation, the Department received public comments from the regulated community, as noted in the Report,
and considered and responded to all timely and relevant public comments in making its determination.

I find that the Department’s DAQ expert fully developed the record to support adoption of this Amendment.
The adoption of the regulation amendment to 7 DE Admin. Code 1140, Delaware Low Emission Vehicle Program,
will formally establish the Delaware Low Emission Vehicle Program (DEL LEV). The inclusion of Delaware into
California’s Low Emission Vehicle Program (CAL LEV) will allow additional reductions of motor vehicle emissions
from new vehicles (less than 7,500 miles) transferred (i.e., sold, delivered, purchased, leased, rented, acquired,
received, and/or registered) into Delaware, beginning with model year 2014, as the proposed program is more
stringent than the current federal rule.

The amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1140 will also provide increased protection for Delaware citizens
against a variety of potential adverse health effects linked to long-term exposure to particulate matter (PM), volatile
organic compounds (VOCs), nitrogen oxide (NOx), and greenhouse gases (GHGs). This implementation proposes

http://www.awm.delaware.gov/Pages/default.aspx
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2010/final/14 DE Reg 581 12-01-10.htm
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to adopt requirements that are at least as health protective as requirements of the existing Federal Tier 2
standards. 

In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are entered:
1.) The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to issue an Order adopting this proposed

Amendment as final;
2.) The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed Amendment, and provided the

public with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed Amendment, including at a public
hearing; 

3.) The Department held a public hearing on October 22, 2010 on the proposed Amendment in order to
consider public comments before making any final decision, and fully considered and responded to all
timely and relevant comments received from the regulated community concerning this matter;

4) The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its recommended record and the recommended
Amendment as set forth in Appendix A, are adopted to provide additional reasons and findings for this
Order; 

5.) The recommended Amendment does not reflect any substantive change to either the intent or content
of the proposed regulation Amendment as published in the October 1, 2010, Delaware Register of
Regulations; 

6.) The recommended Amendment should be adopted as final regulation Amendment because Delaware
will then be enabled to (1) provide for additional reductions of motor vehicle emissions from new
vehicles (less than 7,500 miles) transferred (i.e., sold, delivered, purchased, leased, rented, acquired,
received, and/or registered) into Delaware, beginning with model year 2014, as the proposed program
is more stringent than the current federal rule; and (2) provide increased protection for Delaware
citizens against potential adverse health effects linked to long-term exposure to particulate matter
(PM), volatile organic compounds (VOCs), nitrogen oxide (NOx), and greenhouse gases (GHGs). This
implementation proposes to adopt requirements that are at least as health protective as requirements
of the existing Federal Tier 2 standards. Moreover, the regulation amendment is well supported by
documents in the record; and 

7.) The Department shall submit this Order approving the final regulation to the Delaware Register of
Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the law and
regulation require and the Department determines is appropriate. 

Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

1140 Delaware’s National Low Emission Vehicle (NLEV) Regulation

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

1140 Delaware’s National Low Emission Vehicle (NLEV) Regulation

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Sections 1133 and 10115(a)
(29 Del.C., §§1133 & 10115(a))

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF RULES |
AND REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE |
PROCEDURE FOR INSPECTION AND COPYING | PSC REGULATION DOCKET NO. 62
OF PUBLIC RECORDS UNDER THE FREEDOM |
OF INFORMATION ACT, 29 DEL.C. §§10001-10006 |
(OPENED AUGUST 17, 2010) |

http://depsc.delaware.gov/default.shtml
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2010/final/14 DE Reg 583 12-01-10.htm
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ORDER NO. 7868

AND NOW, this 18th day of November, 2010:
WHEREAS, from time to time, the Delaware Public Service Commission (the “Commission”) receives requests

for documents pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. §§10001-10006 (“FOIA”); and
WHEREAS, section 10003 of FOIA states that it is the responsibility of public bodies to establish rules and

procedures regarding access to public records as well as fees charged for copying such records; and
WHEREAS, on August 17, 2010, the Commission entered PSC Order No. 7820, which opened this docket and

required that notice of proposed FOIA rules, entitled the Delaware Public Service Commission Freedom of
Information Act Regulations Governing the Procedure for Inspection and Copying of Public Records (“FOIA
Rules”), with a deadline to provide comments, be published in the Delaware Register of Regulations and The News
Journal and the Delaware State News newspapers; and

WHEREAS, said notice was published as ordered; and
WHEREAS, the Commission received no comments or objections to the proposed FOIA Rules; and
WHEREAS, the Commission considered the proposed FOIA Rules at its meeting on November 18, 2010.
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED BY THE AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF NOT FEWER THAN

THREE COMMISSIONERS:
1. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§209(a) and 821, and 29 Del.C. §§10111 et seq., the Commission hereby

promulgates the Delaware Public Service Commission Freedom of Information Act Regulations
Governing the Procedure for Inspection and Copying of Public Records (the “FOIA Rules”), a true and
correct copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit A, as official regulations as defined by 29 Del.C.
§1132. 

2. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§10113 and 10118, the Secretary of the Commission shall transmit to the
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware Register a copy of this Order (with the
attached FOIA Rules). An exact copy of the FOIA Rules attached hereto shall be published as final,
official regulations in the Delaware Register.

3. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further Orders in this matter
as may be deemed necessary or proper.

1008 Regulations Governing Requests Made Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
September 2010 issue of the Register at page 164 (14 DE Reg. 164). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1008 Regulations Governing Requests Made Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
     Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner

     Dallas Winslow, Commissioner
ATTEST: Alisa Carrow Bentley, Secretary

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/december2010/final/14 DE Reg 584 12-01-10.htm
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER TWENTY-ONE

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS AND AGENCIES

RE: REAUTHORIZING THE DELAWARE HOMELAND SECURITY ADVISORY COUNCIL WITH AN "ALL
HAZARDS, ALL PERSONS" APPROACH

WHEREAS, on September 11, 2001, the United States was attacked by a foreign enemy intent on weakening
its national infrastructure, institutions, and resolve through the application of terrorism; and

WHEREAS, the magnitude and nature of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, the anthrax crisis, and the
resulting national alerts led governors to initiate un precedented efforts to implement comprehensive state-based
strategies to prevent, prepare for, respond to, and recover from terrorist attacks; and 

WHEREAS, since Se ptember 11, 2001, our nation and our state have learned valuable lessons from major
catastrophic events su ch as Hu rricanes Katrin a and Rita, an d the  st ate continues to im prove it s o verall
preparedness for emergency events, including Nor'easters and heavy rain and snowfall; and

WHEREAS, the variety of threats to our state requires recognition that homeland security is interested in not
only acts of terrorism, but all events that may cause disruption to society, be they man made or natural; and

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware, through the efforts of numerous persons representing the private sector,
municipalities, co unties, an d st ate and fed eral ag encies, ha s r evised a nd u pgraded the Delawar e Eme rgency
Operations Plan; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware Homeland Security Advisory Council has t aken a leadership role in incorporating
advice and input from its members in the development of appropriate strategies to address risks from terrorism and
other threats to the security of Delaware's citizens; and 

WHEREAS, it is a ppropriate to b roaden the focus of the Delaware Homeland Security Adv isory Council to
include an “All Hazards, All Persons” approach to promoting and protecting the citizens, visitors, and infrastructure
of the State of Delaware.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JACK A. MARKELL, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby DECLARE and ORDER that:

1. The Delaware Homeland Secur ity Advisory Council (hereinafter, the "Council”) is continued to pr eserve
and protect the citizens, visitors, and infrastructure of the State of Delaware utilizing an “All Hazards, All Persons”
approach.

2. The Council shall be comprised of the following members:
(a) The Secretary of the Department of Safety and Homeland Security, who shall serve as chair;
(b) The Homeland Security Advisor for the Department of Safety and Homeland Security;
(c) The Adjut ant Gen eral of the De laware Na tional Guard, or  a designee ap pointed by th e Adjut ant

General; 
(d) The Chief Information Officer of the State of Delaware, or a designee appointed by the CIO; 
(e) The Secre tary o f the Dep artment of Natur al Re sources and Envir onmental Co ntrol, o r a de signee

appointed by the Secretary; 
(f) The Secretary of th e De laware De partment of T ransportation, or  a de signee appointed by the

Secretary; 
(g) The Secretary of the Delaware Department of Education, or a designee appointed by the Secretary; 
(h) The Secretary of the Delaware Department of Agriculture, or a designee appointed by the Secretary; 
(i) The Commissioner of the Department of Correction, or a designee appointed by the Commissioner; 
(j) The Superintendent of the Delaware State Police, or a designee appointed by the Superintendent; 
(k) The Director of the Division of Public Health, or a designee appointed by the Director; 
(l) The Director of th e De laware Eme rgency Management Age ncy, or  a designee appointed by the

Director; 
(m) The Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles, or a designee appointed by the Director; 

http://governor.delaware.gov/orders/index.shtml
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(n) The Executive Secretary of the Delaware Volunteer Firefighters’ Association, or a designee appointed
by the Executive Secretary;

(o) The Chair of the Delaware Police Chiefs’ Council, or a designee appointed by the Chair;
(p) The Pre sident o f the  League of Local Gover nments, o r a d esignee a ppointed by the Lea gue's

President; and 
(q) Other representatives from federal, state, and local governments, private sector partners, academia,

and emergency service organizations, as recommended by the Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security and
appointed by the Governor. 

3. The purpose of the Council shall be to provide advice, counsel and assistance to the Secretary of Safety
and Homeland Security and the Homeland Security Advisor concerning:

(a) The prevention, detection, preparation for, protection against, response to, and recovery from terrorist
threats, a ttacks, man-made or  na tural cat astrophic in cidents a nd even ts that ma y ca use d isruption to citizens,
visitors and infrastructure of the State of Delaware using an “All Hazards, All Persons” approach; 

(b) Providing ad vice a nd co unsel to  th e st ate-designated fusion  ce nter, as re quired un der U.S.
Department of Homeland Security “Fusion Center Baseline Capabilities;”

(c) The exchange of intelligence, information and analysis concerning homeland security and the events
listed in subsection (a) above;

(d) Interoperability of equipment, technologies, and partnering agencies as they pertain to subsection (a)
above;

(e) The in tegration and maximization o f federal g rant funding r elating to  homeland s ecurity, including
compliance with U.S. Department of Homeland Security Grant Program requirements;

(f) The dissemination of infor mation to the citizens of Delaware, the private sector and other partnering
agencies as they pertain to subsection (a) above;

(g) Interaction a nd coo rdination betwee n th e Secr etary of Safe ty an d Ho meland Security and  other
executive agencies;

(h) Homeland security planning, except as specifically assigned to another entity by statutory or executive
order; and

(i) Other matters of homeland security, as determined by the Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security
or the Homeland Security Advisor.

4. The Council shall meet at the direction of the Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security. The Secretary of
Safety and Homeland Security, in concert with the Homeland Security Advisor, shall be responsible for determining
the agenda of the Council meetings. For administrative purposes, the Council will be located within the Department
of Safety and Homeland Security, which shall provide staff support to the Council.

5. Executive Order Number Forty-Six, issued by Governor Ruth Ann Minner, is hereby rescinded.

APPROVED this 12th day of October, 2010

Jack A. Markell,
Governor

14 DE Reg. 586 (12/01/10)
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Dela ware River  Basin Comm ission will  hold a pub lic hearing an d bu siness meeting on  Wednesday,
December 8, 2010 beginning at 10:30 a.m. The meeting location could not be confirmed as of the deadline for this
notice.  For more information, visit the DR BC web s ite a t www .drbc.net or  co ntact Pam ela M . Bu sh, Esq.,
Commission Secretary and Assistant General Counsel, at 609 883-9500 extension 203.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday, November  18, 2010 at 1:00 p.m. in
the Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Medicaid Recovery Audit Contractor Program
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - T itle 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 5 12, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is amending the Title XIX Medicaid
State Plan to comp ly with se ction 64 11 of th e Af fordable Ca re Act re garding the Medicaid Recovery A udit
Contractor Program. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by December 31, 2010.

The action concerning the determinat ion of whether to adopt the propos ed regulation will be  based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
4455 Delaware Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health is proposing regulations which amend
Title 16 o f the Delaware Code relating to th e adoption and enforcement of a  Unified Plumbing Code.  Title 16,
Section 7906(e), created by House B ill 488 and signed into la w on July 27, 2010, requi res that the Divis ion of
Public Health shall issue plumbing permits and shall assess a $100 fee for each permit, except that no permit shall
be re quired or  fe e a ssessed fo r the  replacement of an  ex isting fixtur e, pie ce of eq uipment or  re lated pipin g,
including but not limited to h ot water heaters and water conditioning systems. The Div ision of Public Health has
proposed amended regulations governing a Detailed Plumbing Code to address this mandate.  On December 1,
2010, the  Division pla ns to  publish proposed ame ndments to the Delaware Regula tions Governing a D etailed
Plumbing Code and hold them out for public comment per Delaware law.

The Health Systems Protection Section, under the Division of Public Health, Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS), w ill hold a public hearing to dis cuss pr oposed am endments to th e De laware Reg ulations

http://www.doe.k12.de.us/
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/
http://www.state.nj.us/drbc/
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Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code.  Title 16, Section 7906(e), created by House Bill 488 and signed into law on
July 27, 2010, requires that the Division of Public Health shall issue plumbing permits and shall assess a $100 fee
for each permit, except that no permit shall be required or fee assessed for the replacement of an existing fixture,
piece of equipment or related piping, including but not limited to hot water heaters and water conditioning systems.
The Division of Public Health has proposed amended regulations governing a Detailed Plumbing Code to address
this mandate.

The public  hearing will be held on De cember 22, 2010 at 10:00 a.m. in the Third Floor Conference Room,
located in the Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the November 1, 2010 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, access ible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by callin g the Of fice of Health
Systems Protection at (302) 856-5496.

Anyone wishing to pr esent his or  her oral comments at th is hearing should contact Ms. Deborah Harvey at
(302) 744-4700 by December 20, 2010.  Anyone wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to or in lieu
of oral testimony should submit such comments by December 31, 2010 to:

Deborah Harvey, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Fax (302) 739-6659

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
PUBLIC NOTICE

4458 State of Delaware Food Code Regulations (2011)

The Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health is proposing regulations which amend
Title 16 of the Delaware Code relating to the State of Delaware Food Code.  The Divis ion of Public Health pro-
poses to repeal the current 1999 State of Delaware Food Code in its entirety and in its place adopt with amend-
ments the United States Public Health Service 2009 Food Code to be known as the 2011 State of Delaware Food
Code.  On December 1, 2010, the Division plans to publish the proposed 2011 State of Delaware Food Code and
hold them out for public comment per Delaware law.

The Health Systems Protection Section, under the Division of Public Health, Department of Health and Social
Services, will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed 2011 State of Delaware Food Code.  Due to the exten-
sive number of amendments the Department has concluded that the current regulations should be repealed and
replaced in their entirety with the proposed regulations being published. The Division of Public Health proposes to
repeal the current 1999 State of Dela ware Food Code in its entirety and in its place adopt with amendments the
United States Public Health Service 2009 Food Code to be known as the 2011 State of Delaware Food Code.

The public hearing will be held on December 21, 2010 at 9:30 a.m. in the Felton-Farmington Room, located in
the Delaware Department of Transportation Building, 800 Bay Road, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the December 1, 2010 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov  or by calling the Offic e of Health
Systems Protection at (302) 744-4842.

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at this hearing should contact Ms. Deborah Harvey at
(302) 744-4700 by December 20, 2010.  Anyone wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to or in lieu
of oral testimony should submit such comments by December 31, 2010 to:

Deborah Harvey, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Fax (302) 739-6659

http://regulations.delaware.gov
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Delaware Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Employment and Training Program

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

In compliance w ith the State's Administrative Procedures Act (AP A -  Title 29, Chap ter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code , Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Servic es (DHSS) / Division of Soc ial Servic es is proposing to amend De laware TANF Emp loyment and
Training Program policies in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Mandatory Participants.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 by December 31, 2010.

The action concerning the determinat ion of whether to adopt the propos ed regulation will be  based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Child Care Subsidy Program

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - T itle 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the a uthority of Title 31 o f the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 5 12, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend Child Care Subsidy Program policies in
the Div ision of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Determination of the Ch ild Care Parent Fee and Fee
Waiving Situations. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 by December 31, 2010. 

The action concerning the determinat ion of whether to adopt the propos ed regulation will be  based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

3008 Rules and Procedures to Implement the Renewable Energy Portfolio Standard
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Under the “Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards Act,” 26 Del.C. §§ 351-364 (2006 Supp.) (the “RPS Act” ),
each electric supplier making retail electric sales in Delaware must, beginning in 2007, accumulate a po rtfolio of
“renewable energy credits” equivalent to a specified percentage of its overall retail electric supply sales.  In 2006,
the Pu blic Service Commission ( “PSC”) a dopted “Ru les an d Pr ocedures to Im plement the Renewable Energy
Portfolio Standard” (the  “RPS Rule s”).  Se e 10 DE Reg. 1 51-157 ( July 1, 20 06).   Th e RPS Rules h ave been
amended twice in the interim to conform to subsequent amendments to the RPS Act.

The PSC n ow proposes to r evise the RPS Ru les to incorporate, and assure consistency with, the statutory
changes made by the recently enacted law.

You can review PSC Order No. 7862 (November 10, 2010) (the “Order”) and the proposed revised RPS Rules
in the December 2010 issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations.  You can a lso review the Order and the
proposed revised RPS Rules at the PSC’s Internet website located at http://depsc.delaware.gov.  If you wish to

http://depsc.delaware.gov/default.shtml
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dss/
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dss/
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obtain written copies of the Order and proposed revised RPS Rules, please contact the PSC at ( 302) 736-7500.
Copies are $0.25 per page.  Payment is expected prior to copying (if you wish the copies to be mailed) or at the
time the copies are retrieved (if you retrieve them in person).

The PSC now solicits comments, suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials about the
proposed revisions to its  RPS Rules. If you wish to file any such materials, you should submit an original and ten
copies of such written documents on or before December 31, 2010.  You should file such materials with the PSC at
the following address:

Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building, Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn:  Reg. Dckt. No. 56

If possible, you should accompany such written comments with an electronic version of the submission.  Such
electronic co py m ay b e f iled on  a  co py-capable CD -Rom dis k or  se nt as  an  a ttachment to  an  In ternet e- mail
addressed to Pamela.Knotts@state.de.us.

The PSC will also conduct a public evidentiary hearing on the new proposed regulations on February 22, 2011
at 1:00 P .M. at the PSC ’s of fice at  the address  set fo rth above.   Any individual  with a disability  desiring to
participate in thes e proceedings or to review the filings s hould contact the PSC to disc uss any auxiliary aids or
services needed.  Th e PSC S taff can also provide additional information about this docket.  The PSC’ s toll-free
telephone number within Delaware is 1-800-282-8574.  The PSC may be reached at (302) 736-7500 (including text
telephone communications).

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS

2403 Special Events Policies and Procedures—Traffic Management
PUBLIC NOTICE

Under Title 17 of the Delaware Code, Section 141, as well as 29 Delaware Code Section 8404(8), the Traffic
Section of the Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT), has the authority to regulate the traffic impacts of
special events that affect the safe movement of traffic on the State’s transportation network. The Department has
now drafted regulations for this purpose, and this draft accompanies this notice.

The Department w ill take written comments on the draf t Special Event Policies and Proc edures regulations
from December 1, 2010 through December 31, 2010. Copies of the draft Regulations can be obtained by reviewing
or downloading a PDF copy at the following web address: http://regulations.delaware.gov/

Questions or comments regarding these proposed changes should be directed to: Adam Weiser, P.E., Traffic
Section, Division of T ransportation Solu tions, Delaware De partment of T ransportation 16 9 Br ick Store Landing
Road Smyrna, DE 19977 (302) 659-4073 (telephone) (302) 653-2859 (fax), or email to: adam.weiser@state.de.us

http://www.deldot.gov/home/divisions/
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