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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

9 DE Reg. 415-420 (09/01/05)

Refers to Volume 9, pages 415-420 of the 
Delaware Register issued on September 1, 2005.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00. Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage. For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency 
proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a 
regulation, it shall file notice and full text of such 
proposals, together with copies of the existing 
regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, 
with the Registrar for publication in the Register of 
Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The 
notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings 
including a brief synopsis of the subject, 
substance, issues, possible terms of the agency 
action, a reference to the legal authority of the 
agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views; if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be 
held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place 
and a summary of the nature of the proposal shall 
also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation. The notice shall 
also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
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after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include: (1) A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received; (4) The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

JANUARY 1 DECEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

FEBRUARY 1 JANUARY 15 4:30 P.M.

MARCH 1 FEBRUARY 15 4:30 P.M. 

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor; 
Kathleen Morris, Unit Operations Support 
Specialist; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of 
Regulations; Steve Engebretsen, Assistant 
Registrar; Victoria Schultes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Lady Johnson, Administrative 
Specialist I; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative 
Librarian; Debbie Puzzo, Research Analyst; Judi 
Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Alice W. 
Stark, Legislative Attorney; Ted Segletes, 
Paralegal; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop 
Supervisor; Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Don 
Sellers, Printer.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE COUNCIL ON POLICE TRAINING
Minimum Standards for Firearms Qualifications.......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  488  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  768  (Final)

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Proposed Amendment to the Basin Regulations Water Supply Charges and Comprehensive

Plan Relating to Certificates of Entitlement........................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  674 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Moved to Department of State, 75 Del. Laws, Ch. 88, June 30, 2005.
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Moved to Department of State, 75 Del. Laws, Ch. 88, June 30, 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

101 On-Farm Home Food Processing Operations.................................................................. 9 DE Reg.    12  (Prop.)
225 Prohibition of Discrimination.......................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  676  (Prop.)
525 Requirements for Career-Technical Education Programs  .............................................. 9 DE Reg.  677  (Prop.)

HARNESS RACING COMMISSION
502 Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund.......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   111  (Final)
Rule 8, Veterinary Practices, Equine Health Medications...................................................... 9 DE Reg.   491  (Prop.)

NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT
1201 Nutrient Management Certification Regulations........................................................... 9 DE Reg.   305  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)........... 9 DE Reg.   533  (Final)
107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)........ 9 DE Reg.   539  (Final)
275 Charter Schools................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.     19  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   387  (Final)
396 Private Business and Trade Schools................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   493  (Prop.)
405 Minor Capitol Improvement Program............................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   496  (Prop.)
716 Maintenance of Local School District Personnel Records.............................................. 9 DE Reg.     27  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   395  (Final)
727 Credit for Experience for Educators and for Secretarial Staff......................................... 9 DE Reg.     28  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   396  (Final)
764 (Previously 364) Credentials for an Interpreter Tutor for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 9 DE Reg.   113  (Final)
765 (Previously 365) Credentials for a Resident Advisor in the Statewide Programs for 

Autism and for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   115  (Final)
920 Educational Programs for Students with Limited English Proficiency........................... 9 DE Reg.     30  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   398  (Final)
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930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound).............................................................................. 9 DE Reg.     34  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.   402  (Final)

1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA)................................................ 9 DE Reg.   117  (Final)
1008 DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic Athletics ........................................ 9 DE Reg.   124  (Final)
1009 DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics..................................................... 9 DE Reg.   126  (Final)
1105 School Transportation.................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.     35  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   404  (Final)
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

310 Certification Administrative Supervisor/Reading Coordinator   .................................... 9 DE Reg.   679  (Prop.)
324 Driver Education and Traffic Safety Education Teacher................................................. 9 DE Reg.     46  (Prop.)
332 Certification Technology Education Teacher................................................................... 9 DE Reg.     49  (Prop.)
370 Certification Teacher of Autistic/Severely Disabled Children........................................ 9 DE Reg.     51  (Prop.)
1513 Denial of Licenses......................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   138  (Final)
1514 Revocation of Licenses and Certificates........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   553  (Final)
1515 Emergency Certificate................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   555  (Final)
1518 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification.............................................. 9 DE Reg.   498  (Prop.)
1519 Alternative Routes to Teacher Licensure and Certification........................................... 9 DE Reg.   501  (Prop.)
1522 Standard Certificate Business Education Teacher......................................................... 9 DE Reg.   504  (Prop.)
1528 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive.................................. 9 DE Reg.     54  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   558  (Final)
1529 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher Secondary, Repeal of......................... 9 DE Reg.     57  (Prop.)
1533 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher Elementary, Repeal of....................... 9 DE Reg.     58  (Prop.)
1544 Art Teacher Elementary................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)
1545 Art Teacher Secondary................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)
1549 Music Teacher Elementary............................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)
1550 Music Teacher Secondary.............................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)
1552 Physical Education Teacher Elementary........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)
1553 Physical Education Teacher Secondary......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)
1564 Standard Certificate Driver Education and Traffic Safety Education Teacher.............. 9 DE Reg.   545  (Final)
1565 Standard Certificate  School-To-Work Transition Teacher............................................ 9 DE Reg.   136  (Final)
1568 Standard Certificate Technology Education Teacher..................................................... 9 DE Reg.   547  (Final)
1571 Standard Certificate Teacher of Students with Autism or Severe Disabilities.............. 9 DE Reg.   550 (Final)
1584 Permits Paraeducators.................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   139  (Final)

9 DE Reg.   232  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

Abandoned or Unclaimed Property Voluntary Disclosure Agreement and Audit Programs  9 DE Reg.  771  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Estate Recovery Program........................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  684  (Prop.)
Liens and Adjustments or Recoveries.................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  684  (Prop.)
Long Term Care Medicaid...................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  521  (Prop.)
Long Term Care Nursing Facilities......................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  509  (Prop.)
Medicare Part D Prescription Drug Program.......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  319  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  775  (Final)
Pharmaceutical Services, Mail Order Pharmacy Services...................................................... 9 DE Reg.  508  (Prop.)
Pharmaceutical Services, Multi-State Pooling Rebate Program............................................. 9 DE Reg.  506  (Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan Inpatient Hospital Services................................................... 9 DE Reg.  326  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  783  (Final)
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DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
4462 Public Drinking Water Systems..................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.    59  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  306  (Prop.)
4468 Delivery of Hospice Services........................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  415  (Final)
4469 Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code....................................................... 9 DE Reg.  307  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  786  (Final)
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Child Care Development Fund State Plan for the period October 1, 2004 through
September 30, 2005......................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  562  (Final)

Food Stamp Program.............................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  691  (Prop.)
Food Stamp Program, Sections 9016.2, 9039.1, 9041.1, 9063.1, 9078.1 and 9079.1............ 9 DE Reg.  800  (Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Pages 2-7, Attachment 1.2-A, Attachment 1.2-B, 

Attachment 1.2-C and Attachment 1.2-D........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  802  (Final)
DSSM:

1005 Case Record Maintenance and Retention............................................................... 9 DE Reg.  523  (Prop.)
3006.6   Senate Bill 101- 1999 and Employment & Training Activities..  ............... 9 DE Reg.  328  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  798  (Final)
4004 ................................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)
9059 Income Exclusions.................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.    60  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  426  (Final)
9 DE Reg.  477  (Errata)

9074 ................................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)

9075 ................................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)

9093 Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT)......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  235  (Final)
11000 Child Care Subsidy Program................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  175  (Prop.)
11003 .............................................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)
14960 Establishing a Cumulative Maximum on Pharmacy Co-Payments...................... 9 DE Reg.  164  (Emer.)

9 DE Reg.  173  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  569  (Final)

15120 .............................................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)

16230 .............................................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)

17300 .............................................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)

20103 Financial Eligibility Determination...................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  521  (Prop.)
20200 Excluded Income.................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  239  (Final)
20210 .............................................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)
20310 Reparations........................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  239  (Final)
20700.4.5 Illness or Hospitalization................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  522  (Prop.)
20810 Treatment of Couples in Medical Assistance....................................................... 9 DE Reg.  142  (Final)
20910.10, Community Spouse Resource Allowance...................................................... 9 DE Reg.    70  (Prop.)
20950 Initial Eligibility Determinations.......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.    70  (Prop.)

Child Care Subsidy Program.................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  572  (Final)
Pharmaceutical Services Program.......................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.      6  (Emer.)

9 DE Reg.    73  (Prop.)
State Plan for Child Care Development Fund for the period October 1, 2003 through

September 30, 2005......................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  167  (Prop.)
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Title XIX Medicaid State Plan: Attachment 2.6-A, Page 26a (New Page) and Supplement 13
to Attachment 2.6A;......................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.    70  (Prop.)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 3.1-A, Page 5 Addendum, 5a Addendum, 5b
Addendum........................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  420  (Final)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Establishing a Cumulative Maximum on Pharmacy
Copayments..................................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  164  (Emer.)

9 DE Reg.  173  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  569  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
607 Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles and Motorcycles)................................... 9 DE Reg.  524  (Prop.)
702 Required Disclosures for Residential Homeowners............................................................... 9 DE Reg.  438  (Final)
703 Prohibited Practices Related to the Nonrenewal of Residential Homeowners Policies......... 9 DE Reg.  196  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  593  (Final)
907 Records Relating to Consumer Complaints............................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  197  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  595  (Final)
1214 Senior Protection In Annuity Transactions........................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  693  (Prop.)
1310 Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable Settlement of Claims for Health

Care Services.......................................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  240  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING

106 Apprenticeship and Training Regulations........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  199  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  806  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

1102 Permits........................................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  207  (Prop.)
1144 Control of Stationary Generator Emissions................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  207  (Prop.)
1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review.................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  246  (Final)
1201 Accidental Release Prevention Regulation.................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  696  (Prop.)

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE
Shellfish:

3210 Horseshoe Crab Reporting Requirements.............................................................. 9 DE Reg.      9  (Emer.)
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

5102 Regulation Governing Beach Protection and the Use of Beaches  ............................... 9 DE Reg.  737  (Prop.)
7203 Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution, Section 9.4, Concentrated

Animal Feeding Operation.............................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  440  (Final)
7410 TMDL’s for the Naamans Creek Watershed.................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  224  (Prop.)
7411 TMDL’s for the Shellpot Creek Watershed.................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  224  (Prop.)
7412 TMDL’s for the Chester River....................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  529  (Prop.)
7413 TMDL’s for the Choptank River.................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  529  (Prop.)
7414 TMDL’s for the Marshyhope Creek............................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  529  (Prop.)
7415 TMDL’s for the Pocomoke River Watersheds............................................................... 9 DE Reg.  529  (Prop.)
Regulations Governing Storm Water Discharges Associated with Industrial Activities........ 9 DE Reg.  329  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1100 Board of Dental Examiners............................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.     77  (Final)
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners....................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   260  (Final)
1900 Board of Nursing........................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   226  (Prop.)
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1900 Board of Nursing........................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   815  (Final)
2000 Board of Occupational Therapists................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   598  (Final)
2500 Board of Pharmacy........................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.     85  (Final)
3000 Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals............................... 9 DE Reg.   231  (Prop.)
3100 Board of Funeral Services.............................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   262  (Final)
3500 Board of Examiners of Psychologists............................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   373  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   452  (Final)
9 DE Reg.   487 (Errata)

3600 Board of Registration of Geologists 9 DE Reg.   456  (Final)
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners..................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   265  (Final)
5200 Board of Nursing Home Administrators........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   104  (Final)

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANKING COMMISSIONER
904 Exceptions to Tying Restrictions..................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   532  (Prop.)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Regulation Docket No. 10, Sale, Resale and Other Provisions of Intrastate Telecommun-

ications Services.............................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   375  (Prop.)
Regulation Docket No. 45, Development of Regulations for the Facilitation of Competitive

Entry into the Telecommunications Local Exchange Servicemarket.............................. 9 DE Reg.   375  (Prop.)
Regulation Docket No. 50, The Consideration of Rules, Standards, and Indices to Ensure

Reliable Electrical Service by Electric Distribution Companies .................................... 9 DE Reg.   756  (Prop.)
Regulation Docket No. 55, Regarding the Minimum Standards for Service Provided by 

Public Wastewater Utilities Subject to the Jurisdiction of the Delaware Public Service 
Commission..................................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   105  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF PLANNING AND POLICY

Delaware Bicycle Facility Master Plan.................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  607  (Final)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Appointments ................................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.    47
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation.   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,
Section 1220(a) (14 Del.C. §1220(a))

14 DE Admin. Code 101

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
Section 122(D)

101 Delaware Student Testing Program

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the

State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
101 in order to reflect the changes made to 14 Del.C. 152
concerning the granting of high school diplomas for the
years 2005 through 2008 and beyond.  The changes made to
14 Del.C. 152 reflect the requirements set by Senate Bill 72
and House Bill 3 from the deliberations of the 143rd General
Assembly.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation is designed to improve
student achievement through motivating students to perform
at the higher levels required to receive a diploma. 

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulation will assist in helping to ensure that all students
receive an equitable education. 

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation addresses academic achievement not
health and safety issues. 

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
addresses academic achievement not students’ legal rights. 

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level?  The amended regulation does
dictate the process for awarding diplomas but does preserve
some authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level. 

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation may place additional administrative
requirements upon decision makers at the local board and
school levels. 
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7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity?   The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?   The amended regulation will be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?  The passage of the amended
state law required that the regulations be changed. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There may be
some additional costs due to the changing nature of the
diploma requirements.

1.0 Definition:
The Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) shall

include the assessments of all students in grades K-10 in the
areas of reading, writing and mathematics and the
assessments of all students in grades 4, 6, 8, and 11 in the
areas of science and social studies.  The DSTP shall also
include the participation of Delaware students in the
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) as
determined by the Department of Education.   All districts
and charter schools shall participate in all components of the
DSTP including field test administrations.

1.1 All students in said grades shall be tested except
that students with disabilities and students with limited
English proficiency shall be tested according to the
Department of Education’s Guidelines for the Inclusion of
Students with Disabilities and Students with Limited English
Proficiency, as the same, may from time to time be amended
hereafter.

1.2 The Department of Education shall determine the
dates upon which the DSTP will be administered, and will
advise the school districts and charter schools of those dates.

2.0 Levels of Performance:
There shall be five levels of student performance

relative to the State Content Standards on the assessments
administered to students in grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 in reading,
mathematics and writing and to students in grades 4, 6, 8 and

11 in social studies and science.  In reading, writing and
mathematics at grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 and science and social
studies at grades 4, 6, 8 and 11 the cut points for Exceeds the
Standard and Meets the Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education with the consent of the State Board
of Education, using advice from a standard setting body.
The standard setting body shall utilize a proven method for
setting standards on test instruments that utilizes student
work in making the recommendation.  Beginning with the
2006 assessments, there shall be the same five levels of
performance for students in grades 4, 6, 7 and 9 in reading,
mathematics and writing.Said levels are defined and shall be
determined as follows:

2.1 Distinguished Performance (Level 5):  A student's
performance in the tested domain is deemed exceptional.
Students in this category show mastery of the Delaware
Content Standards beyond what is expected of students
performing at the top of the grade level.  Student
performance in this range is often exemplified by responses
that indicate a willingness to go beyond the task, and could
be classified as "exemplary." The cut points for
Distinguished Performance shall be determined by the
Department of Education.

2.2 Exceeds the Performance Standard (Level 4):  A
student's performance in the tested domain goes well beyond
the fundamental skills and knowledge required for students
to Meet the Performance Standard.  Students in this category
show mastery of the Delaware Content Standards beyond
what is expected at the grade level.  Student performance in
this range is often exemplified by work that is of the quality
to which all students should aspire, and could be classified as
"very good."  The cut points for Exceeds the Performance
Standard shall be determined by the Department of
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education.

2.3 Meets the Performance Standard (Level 3):  A
student's performance in the tested domain indicates an
understanding of the fundamental skills and knowledge
articulated in the Delaware Content Standards.  Students in
this category show mastery of the Delaware Content
Standards at grade level.  Student performance in this range
can be classified as "good."  The cut points for Meets the
Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education.

2.4 Below the Performance Standard (Level 2):  A
student's performance in the tested domain shows a partial or
incomplete understanding of the fundamental skills and
knowledge articulated in the Delaware Content Standards.
Students who are Below the Performance Standard may
require additional instruction in order to succeed in further
academic pursuits, and can be classified as academically
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“deficient.” The cut points for Below the Performance
Standard shall be determined by the Department of
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education.

2.5 Well Below the Performance Standard (Level 1):  A
student's performance in the tested domain shows an
incomplete and a clearly unsatisfactory understanding of the
fundamental skills and knowledge articulated in the
Delaware Content Standards.  Students who are Well Below
the Performance Standard have demonstrated broad
deficiencies in terms of the standards indicating that they are
poorly prepared to succeed in further academic pursuits and
can be classified as “very deficient.”  The cut points for Well
Below the Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education.

7 DE Reg. 51 (7/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

3.0 Other Indicators of Student Performance
3.1 Local school districts and charter schools may

consider other indicators of student performance relative to
the state content standards pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(b)
when determining the placement of students who score at
Level 1 or Level II on a mandated retake of a portion of the
DSTP. Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(d)(2) and 153(d)(12),
local school districts and charter schools may also consider
other indicators of student performance relative to the state
content standards when determining if a student may
advance to the next grade level without attending summer
school. The only other indicators of student performance that
may be considered by a local school district or charter school
are: student performance on district administered tests
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(e)(1); student performance on
end-of-course assessments; student classroom work products
and classroom grades supported by evidence of student work
that demonstrates a student’s performance pursuant to 14
Del.C. §153(a).

3.2 Any local school district or charter school planning
to use other indicators of student performance shall submit
the proposed indicators to the Department of Education by
September 1st of each year.

3.2.1 Any such submission must include a
demonstration of how an indicator of student performance
aligns with and measures state content standards and the
level of performance required to demonstrate performance
equivalent to meeting state content standards.

3.2.2 Any proposed indicators of student
performance must be approved by the Department of
Education following consultation with the Student
Assessment and Accountability Committee and the State
Board of Education.

3.3 An academic review committee composed of
educators in the student’s local school district or charter
school may then determine if a student has demonstrated
proficient performance relative to the state content standards
using evidence from the other indicators of student
performance as approved by the Department of Education.

3.3.1 The academic review committee shall be
composed of two classroom teachers from the student’s
tested grade, one classroom teacher from the grade to which
the student may be promoted, one guidance counselor or
other student support staff member and two school building
administrators.

3.3.2 The supervisor of curriculum or
instruction for the school district or charter school or his/ her
designee shall chair the committee.

3.3.3 Placement of students with disabilities
who are eligible for special education and related services is
determined by the student’s IEP team.

7 DE Reg. 325 (9/1/03)

4.0 Individual Improvement Plan (IIP)
4.1 The following students are required to have an

Individual Improvement Plan:
Students who score below Level 3 Meets the

Standard, on the reading portion of the 3rd, 5th or 8th grade
Delaware Student Testing Program or the mathematics
portion of the 8th grade Delaware Student Testing Program
shall have an Individual Improvement Plan prepared by
school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal or
designee and the student’s parent, guardian or Relative
Caregiver.

4.1.1 Students assessed on the DSTP in grades
2, 4, 6, 7, and 9 who are not progressing satisfactorily toward
the standards or who score at Level 1 or Level 2 in reading
shall have an Individual Improvement Plan prepared by
school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal or
designee and a parent or legal guardian of the student.
Students assessed on the DSTP in grades 6, 7, and 9 who are
not progressing satisfactorily toward the standards or who
score at Level 1 or Level 2 in mathematics shall have an
Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel
and signed by the teacher(s), principal or designee and the
student’s parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver.

4.2 The Individual Improvement Plan shall be on a
form adopted by the student’s school district or charter
school. The IIP shall be placed in a student’s cumulative file
and shall be updated based on the results of further
assessments.  Such assessments may include further DSTP
results as well as local assessments, classroom observations
or inventories. For students with an Individualized
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Education Program (IEP), the IEP shall serve as the
Individual Improvement Plan (IIP).

4.3 The Individual Improvement Plan shall at a
minimum identify a specific course of study for the student
that the school will provide and the academic improvement
activities that the student shall undertake to help the student
progress towards meeting the standards. Academic
improvement activities may include mandatory participation
in summer school, extra instruction and/or mentoring
programs.

4.4 Individual Improvement Plan shall be prepared by
school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal or
designee and the student’s parent, guardian or Relative
Caregiver who must sign and return a copy of the student’s
Individual Improvement Plan to the student’s school by the
end of the first marking period.

4.5 Disputes initiated by a student’s parent or legal
guardian or Relative Caregiver concerning the student’s IIP
shall be decided by the academic review committee. Any
dispute concerning the content of a student’s IEP is subject
to resolution in conformity with the Regulations, Children
with Disabilities.

7 DE Reg. 51 (7/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

5.0 Summer School Programs for Students in Grades 3,
5, and 8 as required pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153.

5.1 Summer school programs shall be provided by the
student’s district of residence with the following exceptions:

5.1.1 Where a student attends another district as
a result of school choice or attends a charter school the
district of choice or charter school shall provide the summer
school program.

5.1.2 Where by mutual agreement of both
districts or a charter school and  the student’s parent,
guardian or Relative Caregiver another district provides
services.

5.1.3 Where by mutual agreement of the
student’s school district or a charter school and the student’s
parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver, the parent, guardian
or Relative Caregiver arranges for summer school
instruction to be provided outside the public school system.
Under such conditions the parent, guardian or Relative
Caregiver shall be responsible for the cost of providing non-
public school instruction unless the districts or the charter
school and parents or guardian agree otherwise.
Requirements for secondary testing shall be met.

5.1.4 Where a student has been offered
admission into a vocational technical school district or
charter school that district or charter school may provide
summer school services.

8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

6.0 High School Diploma Index as Derived from the 10th

Grade Assessments Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §152.
6.1 Students who graduate from a Delaware public high

school, as members of the class of 2004 and beyond shall be
subject to the diploma index for a distinguished diploma as
stated herein.

6.1.1 Beginning in 2002 for the graduating class
of 2004, the Department shall calculate a diploma index
based upon the student’s grade 10 Delaware Student Testing
Program performance levels in reading, writing, and
mathematics.

6.1.2 Beginning in 2005 for the graduating class
of 2006, the Department shall calculate a diploma index
based upon the student’s grade 10 Delaware Student Testing
Program performance levels in reading, writing,
mathematics and the grade 11 Delaware Student Testing
Program performance levels in science and social studies.

6.2 A student may choose to participate in additional
scheduled administrations of the DSTP in order to improve
his/her diploma index. The highest earned performance level
in each content area will be used in calculating the diploma
index.

6.3 The diploma index shall be calculated by
multiplying the earned performance level in each content
area by the assigned weight and summing the results.

6.3.1 Beginning with the year 2002, the
assigned weights shall be .40 for reading, .40 for
mathematics, and .20 for writing for the graduating class of
2004 and 2005.

6.3.2 Beginning with the year 2005, the
assigned weights shall be .20 for reading, .20 for
mathematics, .20 for writing, .20 for science and .20 for
social studies for the graduating class of 2006 and beyond. 

6.4 Students shall qualify for a State of Delaware
Distinguished High School diploma or a traditional State of
Delaware High School diplomas as follows:

6.4.1 A student shall be awarded a
Distinguished State Diploma upon attainment of a diploma
index greater than or equal to 4.0 provided that the student
has attained a Performance Level 3 or higher in each content
area and provided that the student has met all other
requirements for graduation as established by the State and
local districts or charter schools.

6.4.1.1 Beginning with the graduating class
of 2006 through and including the graduating class of 2007,
"Other Academic Indicators" may be substituted for specific
content area DSTP scores. The Other Academic Indicators
shall be:
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6.4.1.1.1 SAT Verbal score between
544 and 621 representing a Performance Level 4 on the
reading portion of the diploma index;

6.4.1.1.2 SAT Verbal score of 622 or
higher representing a Performance Level 5 on the reading
portion of the diploma index;

6.4.1.1.3 SAT Mathematics score
between 547 and 617 representing a Performance Level 4 the
mathematics portion of the diploma index;

6.4.1.1.4 SAT Mathematics score of
618 or higher representing a Performance Level 5 on the
mathematics portion of the diploma index;

6.4.1.1.5 SAT II Writing score
between 554 and 646 representing a Performance Level 4;

6.4.1.1.6 SAT II Writing score of 647
or higher representing a Performance Level 5 on the writing
portion of the diploma index; 

6.4.1.1.7 Advanced Placement score
of 3 representing a Performance Level 4 on the diploma
index; and

6.4.1.1.8 Advanced Placement score
of 4 or 5 representing a Performance Level 5 on the diploma
index.

6.4.1.1.9 Advanced Placement scores
may be substituted for specified content areas including, but
not limited to, Advanced Placement English Literature and
Composition for the reading portion of the diploma index;
Advanced Placement English Language and Composition
for the writing portion of the diploma index; Advanced
Placement Calculus AB, BC or Statistics for the mathematics
portion of the diploma index; Advanced Placement Biology,
Chemistry, Environment Science, or Physics B and C for the
science portion of the diploma index; and Advanced
Placement Economics (macro, micro), European History,
Government & Politics Comp, Government and Politics
U.S., Human Geography, Psychology, U.S. History, or World
History for the social studies portion of the diploma index. 

6.4.2 A student who does not qualify for a
Distinguished diploma based solely on the diploma index
may request the high school submit official documentation
of the Other Academic Indicators to the Department.

6.4.2 3 A student shall be awarded a Standard
traditional State of Delaware Diploma upon attainment of a
diploma index greater than or equal to 3.0 and provided that
the student has met all other requirements for graduation as
established by the State and local districts or charter schools.

6.4.3 A student shall be awarded a Basic State
Diploma upon attainment of a diploma index less than 3.0
and provided that the student has met all other requirements
for graduation as established by the State and local districts
or charter schools.

6.5 Parent, Guardian or Relative Caregiver
Notification: Within 30 days of receiving student
performance levels and/or diploma indices, school districts
and charter schools shall provide written notice of the same
and the consequences thereof to the student’s parent,
guardian or Relative Caregiver. 

7 DE Reg. 51 (7/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

7.0 Security and Confidentiality:
In order to assure uniform and secure procedures, the

Delaware Student Testing Program shall be administered
pursuant to the Delaware Student Testing Program
Coordinators Handbook, as the same, may from time to time
be amended hereafter.

7.1 Every district superintendent, district test
coordinator, school principal, school test coordinator and test
administrator shall sign the certification provided by the
Department of Education regarding test security before,
during and after test administration.

7.2 Violation of the security or confidentiality of any
test required by the Delaware Code and the Regulations of
the Department of Education shall be prohibited.

7.3 Procedures for maintaining the security and
confidentiality of a test shall be specified in the appropriate
test administration materials in 14 Del.C. §170 through
§174.

7.4 Procedures for Reporting Security Breaches 
7.4.1 School Test Coordinators shall report any

questionable situations to the District Test Coordinators
immediately.

7.4.2 District Test Coordinators shall report all
situations immediately to the State Director of Assessment
and Analysis. 

7.4.2.1 Within 5 days of the incident the
District Test Coordinator shall file a written report with the
State Director of Assessment and Analysis that includes the
sequence of events leading up to the situation, statements by
everyone interviewed, and any action either disciplinary or
procedural, taken by the district.

7.4.2.2 Following a review of the report by
the State Director of Assessment and Analysis and the
Associate Secretary of Education for Assessment and
Accountability, an investigator from the State Department of
Education will be assigned to verify the district report.

7.4.2.3 Within 10 days of the receipt of the
report from the District Test Coordinator, the assigned
investigator shall meet with the district personnel involved in
the alleged violation. The meeting will be scheduled through
the District Test Coordinator and the investigator shall be
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provided access to all parties involved and/or to any
witnesses.

7.4.2.4 The investigator shall report the
findings to the Associate Secretary for Assessment and
Accountability. Following the review the Associate
Secretary shall make a ruling describing any
recommendations and or required actions.

7.4.2.5 The ruling shall be delivered within
10 days of the receipt of all reports and information and
records shall be kept of all investigations.

8.0 Procedures for Reviewing Questions and Response
Sheets from the Delaware Student Testing Program
(DSTP)

8.1 School personnel, local school board members and
the public may request to review the Delaware Student
Testing Program (DSTP) questions.  In order to review the
DSTP questions individuals shall make a request in writing
to the State Director of Assessment and Analysis for an
appointment at the Department of Education. 

8.1.1 At the time of the appointment, the
individual shall: provide proper identification upon arrival,
sign a confidentiality document, remain with a Department
of Education staff member while reviewing the test
questions and take nothing out of the viewing area.

8.1.2 The Department of Education’s
responsibility is to do the following: schedule the review at a
mutually agreeable time, notify the local district that the
review has been requested, review the procedures for
looking at the DSTP questions, assist the individual(s) as
requested and keep records of all reviews.

8.1.3 In cases where more than one individual is
requesting to view the DSTP questions, the local school
district shall send a representative to sit in on the review.

8.2 A student’s parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver
may request to view the test questions and that student’s
responses.  In order to review the DSTP questions and that
student’s responses, the student’s parent, guardian or
Relative Caregiver shall make a request in writing to the
State Director of Assessment and Analysis for an
appointment at the Department of Education. The
Department shall be allowed sufficient time to secure a copy
of student responses from the test vendor.

8.2.1 At the time of the appointment, the
individual shall: provide proper identification upon arrival,
sign a confidentiality document, remain with a Department
of Education staff member while reviewing the test
questions and take nothing out of the viewing area.

8.2.2 The Department of Education’s
responsibility is to do the following: schedule the review at a
mutually agreeable time, notify the local district that the

review has been requested, review the procedures for
looking at the DSTP questions, assist the individual(s) as
requested and keep records of all reviews.

8.2.3 In the case of the stand-alone writing
response, the student’s parent, guardian or Relative
Caregiver may go to the local school district or charter
school to view the test responses.

4 DE Reg. 464 9/1/00
5 DE Reg. 620 (9/1/01)
8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

9.0 Invalidations and Special Exemptions 
9.1 Invalidations for students in grades 3, 5, 8 and 10

for reading, writing and mathematics and grades 4, 6, 8 and
11 for science and social studies: Invalidations are events or
situations that occur during the administration of the DSTP
assessments which may result in a statistically unreliable
score report for a student. Invalidations may occur as a result
of either: intentional student conduct, including but not
limited to cheating and disruptive behavior; or unforeseen
and uncontrollable events, including but not limited to onset
of illness.

9.1.1 Reporting of situations that occur during
testing.

9.1.1.1 The school building principal or
designee shall notify the District Test Coordinator in writing
within 24 hours of events or situations that the principal
reasonably believes may result in an invalid score report for
a student(s).

9.1.1.2 The District Test Coordinator shall
notify the Department of Education staff person assigned to
the district for test security purposes as soon as the
Coordinator learns of events or situations which may result
in invalidation(s). 

9.1.1.2.1 The District Test
Coordinator shall submit a DSTP Incident Report Form
within three business days of the events. Written reports
from the building principal or designee and any staff must be
included with the DSTP Incident Report Form.

9.1.1.3 The Director of Assessment for the
Department of Education shall determine whether the
reported events warrant invalidating a student(s) score and
such decision shall be final.

9.1.1.3.1 If the Director determines
that the events also warrant a security investigation the
matter will be referred to the Department of Education staff
person assigned to the district for test security purposes.

9.1.2 Consequences of invalidations.
9.1.2.1 Whenever the Director of Assessment

for the Department of Education determines that a student’s
assessment test score is invalid as a result of an intentional
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act of the student, the student will be assigned a performance
level 1 (well below standard) for that assessment and will be
subject to such consequences as may otherwise be imposed
pursuant to law for students who score at performance level
1 of the assessment; the assessment test score of any such
student shall be reported and counted in the test scores of the
student’s school for all purposes, including school and
district accountability.

9.1.2.2 Whenever the Director of Assessment
for the Department of Education determines that a student’s
assessment test score is invalid as a result of an event which
is unforeseen and beyond the control of the student and if the
student is unable to participate in a regularly scheduled test
make-up, the student shall not be subject to any of the
consequences as would otherwise be imposed pursuant to
law; the assessment score of any such student shall not be
reported or counted in the test scores of the student’s school
for any purpose, including school and district accountability.

9.2 Special Exemptions for students in grades 3, 5, 8,
and 10 for reading, writing and mathematics and grades 4, 6,
8 and 11 for science and social studies: A special exemption
may be available when a student’s short-term, physical or
mental condition prevents the student from participating in
the DSTP assessments even with accommodations, or when
an emergency arising before the start of the test prevents the
student’s participation.

9.2.1 Special exemptions for students who are
tested according to the Department of Education’s
Guidelines for Inclusion of Students with Disabilities and
Students with Limited English Proficiency are also available
as provided in the Guidelines.

9.2.2 Requests for special exemptions based on
physical or mental condition.

9.2.2.1 Special exemptions based on a
student’s physical or mental condition may be available for
students suffering from terminal illnesses or injuries or
receiving extraordinary short-term medical treatment for
either a physical or psychiatric condition. Requests for
exemptions on these grounds shall be accompanied by a
signed statement from the student’s treating physician
which; describes the nature of the terminal condition or
extraordinary treatment; confirms that the terminal condition
or the extraordinary treatment arose more than 60 calendar
days before the test administration for which the exemption
is requested and has substantially prevented the student from
accessing educational services since its inception; and
confirms that the condition or treatment is expected to be
resolved or completed within 12 months of the test
administration.

9.2.2.2 The District Test Coordinator shall
submit a completed Request for Special Exemption Form to

the Director of Assessment for the Department of Education
at least 60 calendar days before the first day of testing. A
copy of the physician’s statement required in the preceding
subsection will accompany the request.

9.2.2.2.1 The Director of Assessment
shall convene a review committee of not less than three
Department of Education  staff to review requests for special
exemptions. The Director shall submit a recommendation on
each request to the Associate Secretary for Assessment and
Accountability.

9.2.2.2.2 The Associate Secretary
shall decide whether a request for a special exemption based
on physical or mental conditions should be granted. The
Associate Secretary shall notify the District Test Coordinator
of the decision.  The Associate Secretary’s decision shall be
final.

9.2.3 Request for special exemptions based on
emergency.

9.2.3.1 Emergencies are unforeseen events or
situations arising no more than 60 calendar days before the
start of the test administration. They may include, but are not
limited to, death in a student’s immediate family, childbirth,
accidents, injuries and hospitalizations.

9.2.3.2 Special exemptions due to an
emergency may be requested for the entire test or for one or
more content areas, as the district determines appropriate.

9.2.3.3 The District Test Coordinator shall
notify the Director of Assessment for the Department of
Education as soon as the Coordinator learns of events or
situations which may result in a request for a special
exemption due to an emergency.

9.2.3.3.1 The District Test
Coordinator shall submit a completed DSTP Request for
Special Exemption Form to the Director of Assessment for
the Department of Education  within 7 calendar days of the
last day for make up testing.  Requests for exemptions on
these grounds shall be accompanied by a signed statement
from the student’s treating physician which describes the
nature of the situation.

9.2.3.3.2 The Director of Assessment
shall convene a review committee of not less than three
Department of Education staff to review requests for special
exemptions due to an emergency. The Director shall submit a
recommendation on each request to the Associate Secretary
for Assessment and Accountability.

9.2.3.3.3 The Associate Secretary
shall decide whether a request for a special exemption based
on an emergency should be granted. The Associate Secretary
shall notify the District Test Coordinator of the decision. The
Associate Secretary’s decision shall be final.

9.2.4 Consequences of Special Exemptions.
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9.2.4.1 Any special exemption granted by the
Department of Education is limited to the testing period for
which it was requested and does not carry forward to future
test administrations.

9.2.4.2 Students who are granted a special
exemption shall be included in the participation rate
calculation for school and district accountability pursuant to
14 DE Admin. Code 103.2.4 unless their medical condition
prevents them from being in school during the testing period.

9.2.4.3 Students who are granted a special
exemption shall not be subject to any of the student testing
consequences for students in grades 3, 5, or 8 for the testing
period to which the exemption applies.

5 DE Reg. 2115 (5/1/02)
8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 1220(a) (14 Del.C. 1220(a))
14 DE Admin. Code 235

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
Section 122(D)

235 Teacher of the Year Award

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE

Admin. Code 235 Teacher of the Year Award in order to
clarify in 1.4 the required status of a district or charter school
nominee for the Teacher of the Year award during their
nominated year. 

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation addresses the rules for
the Teacher of the Year award not student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulation addresses the rules for the Teacher of the Year
award not equitable education issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation addresses the rules for the Teacher of the
Year award not students' health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
addresses the rules for the Teacher of the Year award not
students' legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level?   The amended regulation will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies. 

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less burdensome
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?  The cost to the
State and to the local school boards of compliance with the
regulation will remain the same.

This program shall be administered in accordance with
14 Del.C.  Ch.  89, and the following rules and regulations.

1.0 Qualifications
To be considered for the Teacher-of-the-Year award, a

person shall have taught, continuously or intermittently, for
an accumulative period of three years or more previous to
the date of such person’s nomination; shall have been
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formally nominated; and be actively teaching in this state at
the time of nomination.  A nominee shall have met all the
requirements for a Standard Certificate for the position held,
as approved by the Professional Standards Board,
Department of Education and the State Board of Education.

To be considered for the Teacher of the Year award a
person shall:

1.1 Have taught, continuously or intermittently, for an
accumulative period of three years or more in a Delaware
public school previous to the date of such person's
nomination.

1.2 Have been formally nominated.
1.3 Be actively teaching in their district or charter

school in this state at the time of their nomination.
1.4 Continue to actively teach in the nominating district

or charter school for the duration of the year of their
nomination.

1.4.1 If the nominee chooses to leave the district
or charter school during the selection period the district or
charter school shall submit another nominee.

1.5 Meet all the requirements for a Standard Certificate
for the position held and hold a valid and current license, as
approved by the Professional Standards Board, Department
of Education and the State Board of Education.

7 DE Reg. 1178 (3/1/04)

2.0 Nominations
The following shall apply in preparing nominations in

accordance with the requirements of the Act.
2.1 The Department of Education shall meet annually

with the district coordinators of the Teacher of the Year
Program and the coordinator representative for the charter
schools for the purpose of providing them with detailed
instructions and proper forms for the presentation of
nominees.  Each district is invited to nominate one teacher
employed by the district and the charter schools are invited
to select one nominee to represent all of the charter schools.

2.1.1 Nominees shall be skillful and dedicated
teachers, pre-kindergarten through grade 12.  Administrative
personnel such as principals and guidance counselors are not
eligible to be considered for State Teacher of the Year.
Nominees for State Teacher of the Year who are not actively
engaged in teaching in a public school at the time at which
observations are made pursuant to Section 2.2 below shall be
disqualified.

2.2 Nominees shall submit a portfolio describing
themselves and setting forth their positions on educational
issues. Format will be based on the National Teacher of the
Year program.

2.3 Following the submission of the portfolios, selected
Department of Education staff members and selected former

state and local district Teachers of the Year shall be assigned
in pairs to read the portfolios of two nominees and observe
those nominees in the classroom based on the criteria
stipulated in the Teacher of the Year Nomination Information
Document Program Guide that is updated each year. Another
group of Department of Education Staff members shall be
assigned to read all of the portfolios and rate them based on
forms found in the Teacher of the Year Nomination
Information Document Program Guide. Based on the
numerical ratings from both the portfolio readers and from
the observations, three nominees shall be identified as
finalists for consideration by a panel of judges.

2.4 The panel of judges shall include: the current State
Teacher of the Year; the President of the State Congress of
Parents and Teachers; the President of the State Student
Council Association; a member of the State Board of
Education; a representative of the Chamber of Commerce;
the President of the Delaware State Education Association;
and the Chair of the Professional Standards Board or, if
necessary, their designees.

2.5 The judges shall recommend one person for the
Secretary of Education to declare as the State Teacher of the
Year.

3 DE Reg. 104 (7/1/99)
7 DE Reg. 1178 (3/1/04)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 1220(a) (14 Del.C. 1220(a))
14 DE Admin. Code 710

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
Section 122(D)

710 Public School Employees Work Day

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Required
Re-authorization of Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of The Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to re-authorize 14

DE Admin. Code 710 Public School Employees Work Day.
As part of the five year cycle of review for all of the
Administrative Code for education this regulation has been
reviewed and requires re-authorization.
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C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the re-authorized regulation help improve

student achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The re-authorized regulation addresses public
school employees work hours not student achievement.

2. Will the re-authorized regulation help ensure that
all students receive an equitable education?  The re-
authorized regulation addresses public school employees
work hours not equitable education issues.

3. Will the re-authorized regulation help to ensure that
all students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The
re-authorized regulation addresses public school employees
work hours not health and safety issues.

4. Will the re-authorized regulation help to ensure that
all students' legal rights are respected?  The re-authorized
regulation addresses public school employees work hours
not students' legal rights.

5. Will the re-authorized regulation preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the
local board and school level?  The re-authorized regulation
will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of
decision making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the re-authorized regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?   The
re-authorized regulation will not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be re-
authorized will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the re-authorized regulation be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The re-authorized regulation will be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?  The Delaware Code requires
that all of the Administrative Code for education be
amended, repealed or re-authorized every five years.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no

additional cost associated with the re-authorization of this
regulation.

1.0 Required Work Hours
Absent an existing collective bargaining agreement to

the contrary, district employees who work less than the
specified time shall have their annual salary adjusted
accordingly. Upon ratification of a new or extension of an
existing collective bargaining agreement, the local district
shall establish hours and days worked that are consistent
with those specified below. Otherwise, effective July 1, 2001
a workday for public school employees shall be defined as
follows:

1.1 Teacher - minimum of 7 1/2 hours, inclusive of 1/2
hour for lunch, plus the amount of time required for the
discharge of such duties and services as may be reasonably
expected and required of a member of the professional staff
of a public school.  (14 Del.C. §1305 defines the number of
teacher workdays per year and 14 Del.C. §1328 defines the
duty free period.)

1.2 Aide/Paraprofessional - minimum of 7 1/2 hours
inclusive of 1/2 hour for lunch.

1.3 Custodian - minimum of 8 hours inclusive of 1/2
hour for lunch.

1.4 Administrator - minimum of 7 1/2 hours exclusive
of lunch plus the amount of time required for the discharge
of such duties and services as may be reasonably expected
and required of a member of the professional staff of a public
school.

1.5 Food Service Manager - minimum of 7 hours
exclusive of lunch.

1.6 Secretary - minimum of 7 1/2 hours exclusive of
lunch.

3 DE Reg. 1077 (2/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1254 (2/1/01)
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 1220(a) (14 Del.C. 1220(a))
14 DE Admin. Code 1516

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant
to 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

1516 Standard Certificate

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend DE
Admin. Code 1516 Standard Certificate. The regulation
concerns the requirements for certification of educational
personnel, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a). It is necessary to
amend this regulation to align it with changes in statute. The
passage of PRAXIS™ II, a test of content knowledge, is now
required, where applicable and available, in addition to
academic preparation, for the issuance of a Standard
Certificate. That requirement, in addition to a revised
definition of “educator”, has been added to the regulation.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards? The amended regulation addresses student
achievement by establishing standards for the issuance of a
standard certificate to educators who have acquired the
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a
particular category of students to help ensure that students
are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach
students meet high standards and have acquired the
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a
particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation addresses educator certification, not
students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected? The amended regulation
addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity? The decision-making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies? The amended regulation will be consistent with, and
not an impediment to, the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9.  Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation? 14  Del.C. requires
that we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?  There is
no additional cost to local school boards for compliance
with the regulation.

1516 Standard Certificate

1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a).
7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 629 (11/1/03)
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2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Certification" means the issuance of a certificate,
which may occur regardless of a recipient's assignment or
employment status.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del.C. Ch. 12,
and includes teachers, specialists, and administrators, and as
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203, but does not include
substitute teachers. person licensed and certified by the State
under 14 Del.C. §1202 to engage in the practice of
instruction, administration or other related professional
support services in Delaware public schools, including
charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations
promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board.  The term ‘educator’ does not include substitute
teachers.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a
standardized test which measures knowledge in a specific
content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

“Major or its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty
(30) semester hours of course work in a particular content
area.

“NASDTEC” means The National Association of State
Directors of Teacher Education and Certification. The
organization represents professional standards boards,
commissions and departments of education in all 50 states,
the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense
Dependent Schools, the U.S. Territories, New Zealand, and
British Columbia, which are responsible for the preparation,
licensure, and discipline of educational personnel.

“NCATE” means The National Council for
Accreditation of Teacher Education, a national accrediting
body for schools, colleges, and departments of education
authorized by the U.S. Department of Education.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued to
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

"Standards Board" means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.

"State Board" means the State Board of Education of
the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 629 (11/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1742 (6/1/04)

3.0 Standard Certificate
The Department shall issue a Standard Certificate to an

educator who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing or
Advanced License; or Limited Standard, Standard, or
Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 31,
2003, who has:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or
education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular
subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards certification in the area, subject, or
category for which a Standard Certificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Meeting the requirements set forth in the
relevant Department or Standards Board regulation
governing the issuance of a Standard Certificate in the area
for which a Standard Certificate is sought; or

3.1.3 Graduating from an NCATE specialty
organization recognized educator preparation program or
from a state approved educator preparation program, where
the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards,
offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with
a major or its equivalent in the area of the standard certificate
requested; or

3.1.4 Graduating from a state approved educator
preparation program offered by a regionally accredited
college or university, with a major in the area of the Standard
Certificate requested, where the state approval body
employed the appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty
organization standards. Satisfactorily completing the
Alternative Routes for Licensure and Certification Program,
the Special Institute for Licensure and Certification, or such
other alternative educator preparation programs as the
Secretary may approve; or

3.1.5 Holding a bachelor’s degree from a
regionally accredited college or university in any content
area and for applicants applying after June 30, 2006 for their
first standard certificate, satisfactorily completing a
minimum of fifteen (15) credits in professional education
courses, taken either as part of a degree program or in
addition to it, from a regionally accredited college or
university, which include:

3.1.5.1 Human Development;
3.1.5.2 Identifying/Teaching

Exceptionalities;
3.1.5.3 Effective Teaching Strategies;
3.1.5.4 Multicultural Education; and
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3.1.5.5 Methods of Teaching; and
3.2 Graduated from an educator preparation program

offered by a Delaware higher education institution approved
by the Department pursuant to 14 DE Admin. Code 399,
with a major in the area of the Standard Certificate
requested; or For applicants applying after December 31,
2005, where a Praxis™ II examination in the area of the
Standard Certificate requested is applicable and available, A
achievinge a passing score as established by the Standards
Board, in consultation with the Department and with the
concurrence of the State Board, on a Praxis II the
examination in the area requested.or 

3.3 Achieving a passing score, as established by the
Standards Board, in consultation with the Department and
with the concurrence of the State Board, on a Praxis II
examination in the area requested.

3.4 3 Meeting the requirements for licensure and
holding a A valid and current license or certificate from
another state in the area for which a Standard Certificate is
sought requested . ;

3.43.1 A “valid and current license or
certificate from another state” means a current full or
permanent certificate or license issued by another state.  It
does not include temporary, emergency or expired
certificates or licenses issued from another state.

3.43.2 The Department shall not act on an
application for certification if the applicant is under official
investigation by any state or local authority with the power
to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the alleged
conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in
office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty or
falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides
evidence of the investigation’s resolution.

3.43.2.1 “Immorality” means conduct which
is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality
expected of an educator and may reasonably be found to
impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her
unfitness.; or

3.4 Meeting the requirements for a Meritorious New
Teacher Candidate Designation adopted pursuant to 14
Del.C. §1203.

3.5 If additional criteria are imposed by a specific
Department or Standards Board regulation in the area for
which a Standard Certificate is sought, the additional
requirements must also be met.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 629 (11/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1004 (2/1/04)
7 DE Reg. 1742 (6/1/04)

4.0 Educators may Hold Certificates in More Than One
Area Multiple Certificates

Educators may hold certificates in more than one area.
7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 629 (11/1/03)

5.0 An Applicant for a Standard Certificate Shall
Submit  Application Requirements

An applicant for a Standard Certificate shall submit:
5.1 oOfficial transcripts; or and
5.2 oOfficial scores on the Praxis II examination; or if

applicable and available;
5.3 eEvidence of passage of the National Board for

Professional Teaching Standards Certificate, if applicable; or
5.4 aAn official copy of the out-of-state license or

certification, if applicable.
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for

an Initial License, the applicant shall provide all required
documentation for that application in addition to the
documentation cited above.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 629 (11/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1004 (2/1/04)
7 DE Reg. 1742 (6/1/04)

6.0 License Holders Requirements Application
Procedures for License Holders

If an applicant holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or
Advanced Delaware License; or a Limited Standard,
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to
August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Standard
Certificates, only that documentation necessary to
demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education required for the additional Standard
Certificate requested is required.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 629 (11/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1742 (6/1/04)

7.0 Exceptions Effect of Regulation
This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of

a Standard Certificate, except as specifically addressed
herein. Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate or
a Standard Certificate issued on or before August 31, 2003
shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of
their current Professional Status Certificate or Standard
Certificate. The Standard Certificate for each area in which
they held a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard
Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License or the
Advanced License. The Department shall also recognize a
Limited Standard Certificate or Temporary Certificate issued
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prior to August 31, 2003, provided that the educator
successfully completes the requirements set forth in the
prescription letter received with the Limited Standard or
Temporary Certificate. Requirements must be completed by
the expiration date of the Limited Standard or Temporary
Certificate, but in no case later than December 31, 2008.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 629 (11/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1742 (6/1/2004)

8.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
A Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the

assignment or employment status of the holder of a
certificate or certificates, and is not subject to renewal. It
shall be revoked in the event the educator's Initial,
Continuing, or Advanced License or Limited Standard,
Standard, or Professional Status Certificate is revoked in
accordance with 14 DE Admin Code 1514. An educator
whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and
fair hearing before the Professional Standards Board.
Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the
Standards Board's Hearing Procedures and Rules.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 629 (11/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1004 (2/1/04)
7 DE Reg. 1742 (6/1/04)

9.0 Secretary of Education Review
The Secretary of Education may, upon the written

request of the superintendent of a local school district or
charter school administrator or other employing authority,
review credentials submitted in application for a Standard
Certificate on an individual basis and grant a Standard
Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a Standard Certificate, but whose
effectiveness is documented by the local school district or
charter school administrator or other employing authority.

7 DE Reg.  161 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg.  629 (11/1/03)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 1250-1252 (14 Del.C. 1250-1252)
14 DE Admin. Code 1518

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant
to 14 Del.C. Section 122(D)

1518 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and 
Certification

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
New Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks
the approval of the State Board of Education to adopt
regulation 1518 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and
Certification. It is necessary to adopt this regulation to
provide regulatory guidance for the implementation of the
Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1250 through 1252. This regulation
concerns the establishment by one or more of Delaware’s
institutions of higher education of a special institute for
teacher licensure and certification for individuals who hold a
bachelor’s degree in an area other than education to
participate in coursework and other experiences necessary to
be eligible for teacher licensure and certification in critical
needs areas, including special education.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards? The amended regulation concerns educator
licensure and certification, not student achievement. The
regulation will assist well-qualified individuals in becoming
qualified to teach in critical needs areas.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation helps ensure that all educators demonstrate high
standards for the issuance of an initial license and a standard
certificate.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation addresses educator licensure and
certification, not students’ health and safety issues.
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4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected? The amended regulation
addresses educator licensure and certification, not students’
legal rights. 

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity? The decision-making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies? The amended regulation will be consistent with, and
not an impediment to, the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the new regulation? 14 Del.C. requires that
we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the new regulation?  There is no
additional cost to local school boards for compliance with
the regulation.

1518 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and 
Certification

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the Special Institute for

Teacher Licensure and Certification, pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§§1250 through 1252.

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by
the State under chapter 12 of 14 Del.C. to engage in the
practice of instruction, administration or other related
professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations
promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board, but does not include substitute teachers.

“Emergency Certificate” means a certificate issued to
an educator who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing,
or Advanced License, but lacks necessary skills and
knowledge to meet certification requirements in a specific
content area.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a
standardized test which measures knowledge in a specific
content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Examination of General Knowledge” means a
standardized test which measures general knowledge and
essential skills in mathematics or quantitative and verbal
skills, including reading and writing, such as PRAXIS ™ I
and which, for the purposes of this regulation, means a pre-
professional skills test.

“Initial License” means the first license issued to an
educator that allows an educator to work in a position
requiring a license in a Delaware public school.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means no fewer than thirty
(30) credit hours in a content area.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware
Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of
the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.

3.0 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and
Certification

One or more of Delaware’s teacher training institutions
may establish a Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and
Certification to provide a program for college graduates
without a license and/or certificate to become licensed and
certified to teach in Delaware public schools. Tuition may
not be charged to participants.
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3.1 Candidates for admission to a Special Institute for
Teacher Licensure and Certification shall:

3.1.1 Hold a bachelor’s degree in a field other
than Education from a regionally accredited college or
university, with a major or its equivalent in a content area
that has designated as a critical needs area by the
Department.

3.1.2 Have a grade point index in the major field
of the bachelor’s degree which is two-tenths of a point
higher than the grade point index required for students
entering regular teacher education programs at the teacher
education institution(s).

3.1.3 Pass an examination of general
knowledge, such as PRAXIS™ I, or provide an acceptable
alternative to the PRAXIS™ I test scores, as set forth in 14
DE Admin. Code 1510.

3.1.4 Must agree to teach at least one (1) year in
a Delaware public school for each year funding was
received. Such service must be completed within five (5)
years of successful completion of the Special Institute for
Teacher Licensure and Certification program.

3.1.4.1 Failure to meet the requirement set
forth in 3.1.4 above shall result in the individual within sixty
(60) days arranging for repayment of a sum equivalent to the
tuition which would have been paid for the coursework
leading to licensure and certification; or

3.1.4.2 An individual may also satisfy the
requirement set forth in 3.1.4 above by providing a notarized
statement, accompanied by evidence of unsuccessful
applications, that the individual has made a good faith effort
to seek employment in at least five (5) Delaware public
school districts, but has been unable to secure a teaching
position in any of those districts.

3.1.4.3 An individual whose license and
certificate have been revoked for cause  prior to fulfilling the
service set forth in 3.1.4 shall, within sixty (60) days, arrange
for repayment of their remaining obligation.

4.0 Format of the Special Institute for Teacher
Licensure and Certification

4.1 A Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and
Certification in a secondary content area which corresponds
to the major field of study in the bachelor’s degree program
shall consist of:

4.1.1 One (1) summer of courses in the Special
Institute;

4.1.2 One (1) semester of student teaching or
one (1) year of supervised, full-time teaching experience in a
Delaware public school; and

4.1.3 Additional coursework as set forth by the
teacher training institution which constitutes the program of
study leading to initial licensure and certification.

4.2 A Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and
Certification in elementary or special education shall consist
of:

4.2.1 Two (2) summers of courses, one (1)
immediately before and one 
(1)after a student teaching experience or one year of full-
time teaching experience;

4.2.2 One (1) semester of student teaching or
one (1) year of supervised, full-time teaching experience in a
Delaware public school; and

4.2.3 Additional coursework as set forth by the
teacher training institution which constitutes a program of
study leading to initial licensure and certification.

5.0 Examination of Content Knowledge
Prior to completion of the Special Institute for Licensure

and Certification, participants must successfully pass the
appropriate examination of content knowledge, such as the
PRAXIS™ II examination, if applicable and available.

6.0 Licensure and Certification of Special Institute
Participants

6.1 The Department shall issue an Initial License of no
more than three (3) years duration conditioned on continued
enrollment in the Special Institute and an Emergency
Certificate to an individual employed to complete the one (1)
year of full-time teaching experience in lieu of student
teaching.

6.2 Upon successful completion of the Special Institute
for Teacher Licensure and Certification program, an
individual shall be issued an Initial License valid for the
balance of the three (3) year term, and a Standard Certificate.
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DEPARTMENT OF ELECTIONS FOR 
NEW CASTLE COUNTY

Statutory Authority: 15 Delaware Code,
Section 5522(b) (15 Del.C. §5522(b))

PUBLIC NOTICE

Security and Integrity of the Absentee Voting Process

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 15 of the
Delaware Code, Section 5522 (b), the Department of
Elections for New Castle is proposing a regulation to ensure
the security and integrity of the procedures set forth in
Chapter 55 and that the counting process for absentee ballots
is not subject to improper influences.

Any person who wishes to submit written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed regulation shall submit
same to Howard G. Sholl, Jr., Deputy Administrative
Director, Department of Elections for New Castle County,
820 N. French Street, Suite 400, Wilmington, Delaware
19801 by December 30, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department analysis and the consideration of the
comments and written materials filed by other interested
persons.

Citation: 
• Delaware Code, Title 15, Chapter 55

Summary of Proposed Regulation

The proposed regulation establishes standards for
protecting and securing voted and un-voted absentee ballots,
procedures for processing absentee ballots returned to the
Department by mail or by a person, procedures for
processing absentee ballots voted in the office, security of
the Absentee Ballot Room on the day of the election,
procedures for processing the absentee ballots during the
tally process, and security of the voted ballots following the
tabulation of the votes. These standards and procedures
combined with the requirements in Chapter 55 protect the
integrity of the absentee ballot process.

Security and Integrity of the Absentee Voting Process

1.0 Purpose:
Pursuant to Delaware Code, Title 15, §5522 (b) this

regulation shall ensure the security and integrity of the
absentee procedures set forth in Chapter 55 of Delaware
Code, Title 15 and that the counting process for Absentee
Ballots is not subject to improper influences.

2.0 General
2.1 This regulation applies to members of the Board of

Elections for New Castle County, employees of the
Department of Elections for New Castle County whether
merit, casual/seasonal, or temporary (hired through a third
party), Election Officers, absentee judges, and all persons
observing the tabulating of Absentee Ballots.

2.2 This regulation applies to general, special and
primary elections.

2.3 The Department shall designate a room that locks,
or an area where the Department can secure voted and un-
voted Absentee Ballots and control access as the Absentee
Ballot Room.

2.4 In the absence of the Administrative Director and/
or Deputy Administrative Director, the Department’s most
senior employees of the same political party as the absent
Administrative Director and/or Deputy Administrative shall
perform the duties of that person or persons as specified in
this regulation.

2.5 The Department shall create the various logs
required by this regulation.

2.6 The Department shall create an Absentee Ballot
Reconciliation Sheet for use in accounting for the disposition
of voted Absentee Ballots for an Election District and for
security of the Carrier Envelope.

2.7 The Department shall establish teams for handling
the return of Absentee Ballots, the mailing of Absentee
Ballots, and in-person absentee voting. Individuals may
serve on more than one team.

2.8 The Department shall train all persons involved in
the Absentee Voting process on all relevant tasks. The
Department shall document that the training took place, the
date of the training, persons who attended the training and
the name of the Instructor.

2.9 For the purposes of this regulation, the term
tabulation means equipment that counts the votes on a ballot
(a tabulator or scanner) or hand counting of ballots.

2.10 The tabulation of Absentee Ballots for an
election shall begin at 7 a.m. on the day of the election and
shall continue until the polls have closed or tabulation is
complete whichever is later.
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2.11 No one shall release absentee results to any
challenger or observer until after the polls have closed. 

2.12 The term “Chapter 55” as used in this
regulation refers to Delaware Code, Title 15, Chapter 55.

3.0 Ballot Security
3.1 The Department shall store all voted and un-voted

ballots in locked containers in the Absentee Ballot Room.
The keys to these containers shall be in the custody of the
Department’s Administrative Director, Deputy
Administrative Director and such other person or persons
designated in writing by the Administrative Director and
Deputy Administrative Director except when locking or
unlocking the containers.

3.2 The Department may leave the ballot containers
unlocked during business hours. The Department shall keep
at least two persons present in the Absentee Ballot Room at
all times that the ballot containers are unlocked.

3.3 The Department shall restrict access to the
Absentee Ballot Room from the day that Absentee Ballots
are first available to the day prior to an election to those
persons designated in writing by the Administrative Director
and Deputy Administrative Director, persons voting, and
persons waiting to vote. Except that, the Administrative
Director and/or Deputy Administrative Director may use the
Absentee Ballot Room for meetings.

3.4 Department staff or visitors shall not use the
Absentee Ballot room to move from one part of the office to
another part of office after Absentee Ballots are in the
Absentee Ballot Room. 

3.5  Persons unlocking and locking the Absentee Ballot
Room shall record such actions on the log established for
that purpose by the Department.

3.6 Persons unlocking and locking ballot containers
shall record such actions on the log established for that
purpose by the Department.

3.7 The Absentee Supervisors shall account for each
voted Absentee Ballot at least once each week. The
Absentee Supervisors shall report the results of this
accounting in writing to the Administrative Director and
Deputy Administrative Director. The supervisors shall note
each discrepancy and corrective action in their report.

3.8 The Board of Elections for New Castle County may
appoint an equal number of members from different political
parties to inspect the Department’s ballot security procedures
and practices.

3.9 No one shall write on a returned Ballot Envelope
except as provided in this regulation.

4.0 Processing Absentee Ballots Returned to the
Department 

4.1 In accordance with Chapter 55, voters may return
Absentee Ballots mailed to them by mail, in person or by a
person designated by the absentee voter.

4.2 The team handling returned ballots shall:
4.2.1 Remove Ballot Envelopes from the

Mailing Envelopes and attach by paper clip to the Ballot
Envelope any material other than the Ballot Envelope that is
in the Mailing Envelope;

4.2.2 Time stamp the back of each returned
Ballot Envelope;

4.2.3 Attach a Post-it Note (or equivalent
product) noting any Ballot Envelope discrepancy to the front
of the Ballot Envelope;

4.2.4 Attempt to notify the voter by phone or
email of the problem(s) and of the action that the voter can
take to correct the problem;

4.2.5 Record the return of each Ballot Envelope
in accordance with Department procedures; and

4.2.6 File each returned ballot alphabetically by
Election District in the appropriate container.

5.0 Processing Absentee Ballots Voted at the
Department

The team handling in-office voting shall:
5.1 Verify the absentee voter’s identity and mark the

form of identity shown by the voter on the voter’s affidavit;
5.2 Instruct the absentee voter in the proper procedure

for marking the ballot, putting the ballot into the Ballot
Envelope, sealing the Ballot Envelope, and signing the front
of the Ballot Envelope;

5.3 Make sure that the absentee voter has put the ballot
in the Ballot Envelope, sealed the Ballot Envelope and
signed the front of the Ballot Envelope;

5.4 Time stamp the back of each Ballot Envelope;
5.5 Record the return of each Ballot Envelope in

accordance with Department procedures; and
5.6 File each returned ballot alphabetically by Election

District in the appropriate container.

6.0 Absentee Ballot Room Security on Election Day
6.1 No challenger or observer shall bring into the

Absentee Ballot Room a cell phone that is on, a camera, a
briefcase, any paper except for a list of voters he/she may
challenge, a list of absentee voters or a pad or notebook for
taking notes.

6.2 No Department member, Board member, Absentee
Judge or another person present in an official capacity shall
bring a cell phone that is on into the Absentee Ballot Room.
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6.3 No challenger, observer, Department member,
Board member or Absentee Judge shall use any writing
instrument in the Absentee Voting Room except as provided
by the Department.

6.4 Challengers:
6.4.1 For a Primary Election, each candidate on

the ballot may authorize in writing two challengers at a time
to observe the tabulation process and to make challenges.

6.4.2 For a General Election, each party on the
ballot may authorize in writing two challengers at a time to
observe the tabulation process and to make challenges.

6.4.3 Challengers have the same authority and
responsibilities as provided in Delaware Code, Title 15.

6.5 Citizens may observe the tabulation process. If
more citizens than the room can accommodate appear to
observe the tabulation process, the Department shall restrict
the number of observers in order to maintain a safe and
orderly environment.

6.6 The Department shall remove all un-voted ballots
from the Absentee Room and store them in sealed containers
in the Deputy Director’s Office.

6.7 The Department shall remove all loose materials
from the Absentee Ballot Room.

6.8 The Department shall provide green pens for use by
Department staff and Absentee Judges, and red pens for use
by challengers and observers.

6.9 The Department shall establish an area where
challengers and other persons may observe the tabulation
process.

6.10 Challengers and other persons observing the
tabulation process shall enter or depart the Absentee Voting
Room by the front door unless escorted by the
Administrative Director, Deputy Administrative Director or
a member of the Board of Elections for New Castle County.

6.11 No person except for an Absentee Judge, an
employee of the Department of Elections for New Castle
County, a member of the Board of Elections for New Castle
County or another State employee acting in an official
capacity shall touch an Absentee Ballot during the tabulation
process. The Department shall expel any other person who
touches or attempts to touch an Absentee Ballot from the
Absentee Ballot Room and not permit him/her to return.

6.12 No one shall remove any voted Absentee
Ballots from the Absentee Ballot Room except as authorized
by this regulation and/or by Delaware Code, Title 15.

6.13 The Administrative Director or Deputy
Administrative Director may escort members of the media in
and around the Absentee Ballot Room.

7.0 Tabulation Process
7.1 A person or persons designated by the Department

shall announce the ED that the Absentee Judges will process
and ask if there are any challenges. If a challenger challenges
a voter, the Absentee Judges processing the ED shall hear the
challenge and then by majority vote determine whether to
count the ballot.

7.2 Challengers shall make challenges before the
Absentee Judges open the Ballot Envelope for the person
that they are challenging.

7.3 A Challenger may make challenges for reasons
stated in Chapter 55, §5513.

7.4 A Department member shall give the Absentee
Ballots and a check sheet for an ED to a team of Absentee
Judges starting with ED 01-01 and continuing in order and
shall record the team to which he/she issued an ED’s
Absentee Ballots.

7.5 The Department shall assign each team of Absentee
Judges a specific tabulator to use for tabulating ballots.

7.6 Each Absentee Judge team shall check the ballots
received against the check sheet and report any discrepancies
to the Administrative Director, the Deputy Administrative
Director or a person or persons designated in writing by the
Administrative Director and Deputy Administrative
Director.

7.7 The Absentee Judge team shall examine each Ballot
Envelope and determine whether to count the ballot in
accordance with Chapter 55, §5514.

7.7.1 If the Absentee Judges determine that they
shall not count a ballot for a reason set forth in Chapter 55,
§5514 (a) before opening the Ballot Envelope, they shall
write the word REJECTED, the reason the ballot was
rejected and their initials on the Ballot Envelope.

7.7.2 If the Absentee Judges determine that they
shall not count a ballot for a reason set forth in Chapter 55,
§5514 (a) after opening the Ballot Envelope, they shall put
the ballot back into the envelope then write the word
REJECTED, the reason the ballot was rejected and their
initials on the Ballot Envelope.

7.7.3 If the Absentee Judges know that a person
who has voted by Absentee Ballot is dead, they shall write
the words REJECTED DEAD and their initials on the Ballot
Envelope.

7.8 The Absentee Judges shall then open the remaining
Ballot Envelopes, remove the absentee ballots therein and
place them face down on the table.

7.8.1 If there are two or more ballots in the
Ballot Envelope, the Absentee Judges shall put the ballots
back into the Ballot Envelope and write the word
REJECTED, the reason that they rejected the ballot and their
initials on the Ballot Envelope. 
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7.8.2 If there is no ballot in the Ballot Envelope,
the Absentee Judges shall write the word REJECTED, the
reason that they rejected the ballot and their initials on the
Ballot Envelope.

7.9 Absentee Judges shall put Ballot Envelopes that
have been marked as “REJECTED” into the Carrier
Envelope for the ED that they are processing and enter the
information about the rejection of the Ballot Envelope on to
the appropriate log and/or documentation for the ED.

7.10 The Absentee Judges shall tabulate the
remaining ballots.

7.11 If the tabulator or scanner cannot tabulate a
ballot or ballots, the Absentee Judges shall tally those ballot
or ballots on two Absentee Vote Tally Sheets.

7.12 Absentee Judges shall record Write-in votes on
the Write-in portion of the Absentee Vote Tally Sheets or on a
separate Write-in Vote Tally Sheets as determined by the
Department as most suitable for the election.

7.13 After the Absentee Judges have tabulated all of
the Absentee Ballots for an ED, they shall put the ballots, the
Ballot Envelopes and one copy of the Absentee Vote Tally
Sheet and Write-in Vote Tally Sheet (if used) into the Carrier
Envelope for the ED. They shall then write security seal
number for the seal with which they shall secure the Carrier
Envelope on the Absentee Ballot Reconciliation Sheet and
put the Absentee Ballot Reconciliation Sheet into the Carrier
Envelope. The Absentee Judges shall then seal the Carrier
Envelope with the appropriate security seal and put the
Carrier Envelope in the appropriate transport device.

7.14 Absentee Judges who processed an ED shall
process any other Absentee Ballots that the Department
receives for that ED prior to the close of the polls in
accordance with the above procedures.

8.0 After the Polls are Closed and the Ballots Tabulated
8.1 The Department shall secure the second copies of

the Absentee Ballot Reconciliation Sheets, Absentee Vote
Tally Sheets and Write-in Vote Tally Sheets (if used) in sealed
and/or locked containers. The Department may use these
documents as necessary during the canvass process.  If the
Department opens any containers holding these documents
during the canvass process, the Department shall reseal or
lock it/them at the conclusion of the canvass process. The
Department shall keep the containers sealed or locked until
the February 1 following the election unless a court of
competent jurisdiction orders the Department to open one or
more of the containers.

8.2 After the close of the polls and the Department has
tabulated all of the Absentee Ballots, the Department shall
seal the transport devices containing the Carrier Envelopes
(ballot boxes) and record the seal numbers on a transfer log.

8.3 Upon turning the transport devices over to
representatives of Superior Court, the Department shall
obtain a signature acknowledging receipt of the transport
devices.

8.4 No one shall open a Carrier Envelope that the
Department has sealed except in the presence of the
Administrative Director, Deputy Administrative Director,
and a Deputy Attorney General to correct an error. The
officials opening the Carrier Envelope shall fully explain the
circumstance on the Absentee Ballot Reconciliation Sheet
and shall then reseal Carrier Envelope with another security
seal.

9.0 Coordination with Polling Places
9.1 The Department shall publish after 12 Noon the day

before an election a list of absentee voters that contains the
names of everyone to whom it issued an Absentee Ballot.
The Department shall also establish a process by which it
distributes the portion of the list of absentee voters for an
Election District to that Election District before the opening
of the Polls on the day of the election.

9.2 The Department shall make available a copy of the
list of absentee voters to each major political party and if
requested at least five days before the day of the election to
any minor political party on the ballot.  The Department
shall place a copy of the list in the Absentee Ballot Room for
use by those observing the Absentee Ballot tabulation.

9.3 Election Officers shall update Poll Lists in the
polling place with the information on the list of absentee
voters.

9.3.1 Election Officers shall not permit persons
on the list of absentee voters shown as having returned their
Absentee Ballot to vote at the Polling Place.

9.3.2 Election Officers shall not permit persons
who have not returned their Absentee Ballots and who
appear to vote at their Polling Place to vote at the Polling
Place until he/she has received permission for that person to
vote from the Absentee Ballot Room.

9.4 The Department shall have at least two well-trained
persons answering inquiries about absentee voting from the
Polling Place and processing all Absentee Ballots returned
on the day of the election.

9.4.1 The Department shall authorize a person
whose Absentee Ballot the Department has not received to
the Department to vote at their Polling Place.

9.4.2 The Department shall not authorize a
person who returned his/her Absentee Ballot to the
Department to vote at his/her Polling Place.

9.4.3 The Department shall maintain a log of the
name and other pertinent information of every person who
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the Department authorized to vote in accordance with
paragraph “a” above.

9.4.4 The Department shall compare the names
of persons who return their ballots on the day of the election
against the names on the log noted above. If the Department
receives a ballot for a person that it authorized to vote at his/
her Polling Place, Absentee Judges shall write the word
“REJECTED”, the reason it rejected the ballot and the
initials of the persons rejecting the ballot on the Ballot
Envelope.
 
10.0 After the Canvass

10.1 Following the canvass of a Primary Election,
the Department shall keep the Carrier Envelopes and all
Absentee Voting documents in sealed containers for at least
22 months following the date of the election. The
Department shall then destroy the Carrier Envelopes, the
material therein and all other Absentee Voting documents in
accordance with Department policy.

10.2 Following the canvass of a General or Special
Election, the Department shall keep the Carrier Envelopes in
sealed transport devices until February 1 next. The
Department shall then keep the Carrier Envelopes and all
Absentee Voting documents in sealed containers for at least
22 months following the date of the election. The
Department shall then destroy the Carrier Envelopes, the
material therein and all other Absentee Voting documents in
accordance with Department policy.

10.3 The Department shall audit the General
Election Absentee Results for at least 3% of the Election
Districts after February 1 in the year following a General
Election and report the results to the Board of Elections for
New Castle County.

10.4 The Department shall audit the Primary
Election Absentee Results for at least 3% of the Election
Districts after November 15 in the year of a General Election
and report the results to the Board of Elections for New
Castle County.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Long Term Care Medicaid

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and
Medical Assistance (DMMA) / is proposing to amend rules
in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) used to
determine eligibility for medical assistance.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906,
New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by December 31, 2005. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Statutory Authority
1924 (c) of the Social Security Act, Rules for Treatment

of Resources

Summary of Proposed Changes
The proposed expands the terms at DSSM 20910.1 and

DSSM 20910.2 to clearly define who is an institutionalized
spouse and who is a community spouse.  The definition is
being expanded to include persons receiving (20910.1) and
not receiving (20910.2) Medicaid under any of the Medicaid
Long Term Care Programs. The clarifications will assist staff
in determining if a spousal calculation needs to be
completed.  These changes will enable the Social Worker to
process the case in a more accurate and timely manner.
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DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #05-67
REVISIONS:

20910.1 Institutionalized Spouse
An individual who is in a medical institution or nursing

facility and is married to a spouse who is not in a medical
institution or nursing facility and who is not receiving
HCBS. Medicaid under any of the Long Term Care Medicaid
programs such as Home and Community Based Services,
Nursing Home Medicaid or Assisted Living Waiver.

20910.2 Community Spouse
An individual who is married to an institutionalized

spouse and who does not receive HCBS An individual who
is not receiving  Medicaid under any of the Long Term Care
Medicaid programs such as Home and Community Based
Services, Nursing Home Medicaid or Assisted Living
Waiver and is married to an institutionalized spouse.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Chronic Renal Disease Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and
Medical Assistance (DMMA) / is proposing to amend rules
in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) used to
determine eligibility for the Chronic Renal Disease Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906,
New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by December 31, 2005. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Statutory Authority
Title 29, Chapter 79, Subchapter II, Sections 7932 –

7935, The Chronic Renal Diseases Program

Background
The Delaware Legislature established the Chronic Renal

Disease Program (CRDP) effective 1970 by enacting Title
29, Chapter 79, Subchapter 11, Sections 7932-7935. The
purpose of this program is to provide assistance to state
residents diagnosed with End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD).
The CRDP is not federally funded. CRDP is 100% State
funded. Since there are limited funds available, the CRDP
should only be utilized as a program of last resort. All third
party resources (Medicare, Medicaid, Veteran's Benefits, and
Private Insurance) must be considered before CRDP funds
are utilized.

The mission of the CRDP is to “improve the quality of
life for Delawareans with ESRD by promoting health and
well-being, fostering self-sufficiency, and protecting a
vulnerable population.”

The Chronic Renal Disease Advisory Board is
composed of 11 members who are appointed by the
Secretary of Delaware Health and Social Services. The role
of this Advisory Board is to consult with the Secretary in the
administration of the Chronic Renal Disease Program, as
needed. Board members represent hospitals and medical
centers, which establish dialysis centers, voluntary agencies
interested in kidney diseases, related public agencies,
physicians licensed to practice medicine and the general
public.

Summary of Proposed Changes
DSSM 50100.3, 50400, 50700 and 50700.2:  The

proposal updates the transportation provider information;
clarifies the application process; clarifies eligibility
standards; and, eliminates the resource test.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #05-75
REVISIONS:

50100.3 Transportation
The CRDP may reimburse for transportation to and

from the dialysis unit, transplant hospital, or in exceptional
cases, related medical appointments. Once determined
eligible, all types of reimbursable transportation will be
explored for cost effectiveness.

The types of transportation that my be funded by CRDP
are: mileage reimbursement, DART tickets, and private
transportation.
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• Mileage Reimbursement - the CRDP may
reimburse the client, client's spouse, caregiver, or
anyone who consistently transports clients.  Round
trip mileage must be greater than 10 miles to be
eligible.

• Delaware Authority for Regional Transit (DART)
tickets - the CRDP will purchase DART tickets for
client use.  A monthly supply of DART tickets is
sent to the dialysis social worker for distribution.
These tickets are replaced monthly based on the
previous month's usage.

• Private Transportation Companies - The CRDP
may contract with private transportation companies.
Transportation may be supplied via company
vehicle or by a volunteer who is trained by the
Transportation Company.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

50400 Application Process
Applicants must be medically and financially eligible to

receive coverage.  The client or his representative must
complete and sign a CRDP an application form in person or
via the telephone. and mail or fax to the DMMA office.  The
date the application is received in the DMMA office is the
first possible date that benefits may start. The individual
must also provide the requested verifications necessary to
determine eligibility.

CRPD will consider applications without regard to race,
color, age, sex, disability, religion, national origin, or
political belief, as per Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of
1964.

Filing an application gives the applicant the right to
receive a written determination of eligibility and the right to
appeal the written determination.

At time of application and/or redetermination, each
individual must be informed that they are responsible for
notifying the CRDP worker of all changes in their
circumstances, which could potentially affect their eligibility
for the CRDP.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

50700 Financial Eligibility
CRDP staff determines financial eligibility.  The amount

of assistance received from the CRDP is dependent upon the
applicant's financial situation. Applicant's/client's income
and resources need to must be below 300% of the Federal
Poverty Level (FPL).  Applicants with a legally married
spouse will be considered a household of two. Applicants/
clients with income and resources above 300% of the FPL

may be eligible for an annual medication cost deduction
from the applicant's/client's annual income and resources.  If,
after this deduction, income and resources are below 300%
of the FPL, the individual may be eligible.

Additional factors that may be considered for eligibility
include, but are not limited to:

• Number of household members financially
dependent on applicant/client

• Cost of certain medications 
• Household expenses
• Income/resources of applicant/client
• Income/resources of any household member that

contributes to household expenses.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

50700.2 Resources
Resources are items that can be converted to cash to be

used for food, clothing or shelter.  Some examples of
resources include, but are not limited to the following: bank
accounts, stocks, bonds, certificates of deposit, money
market funds, retirement funds, etc. 

If the individual has the right, authority or power to
liquidate his or her share of the property, it is a resource.  In
addition, the individual must have:

• Some form of ownership interest in the property;
• A legal right to access the property;
• The legal ability to use the property for his/her own

support and maintenance.
There is no resource test.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,

Section 122; 128; 129; 504; 505; 507; 702 and 707 
(16 Del.C. §§122, 128, 129, 504, 505, 507, 702, 

707) 16 DE Admin. Code 4202

PUBLIC NOTICE

4202 Control of Communicable and Other Disease 
Conditions

These proposed regulations, "Regulations for the
Control of Infectious Disease," will replace by revision the
current "Regulations for the Control of Communicable and
Other Disease Conditions," adopted August 2, 1984 and
most recently amended July 10, 2001.
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In compliance with the State’s Administrative
Procedures ACT (APA – Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code), and under authority of Title 16, Chapters
1, 5 & 7 (sections enumerated above), Delaware Health and
Social Services is proposing amendments to the Regulations
for the Control of Communicable and Other Disease
Conditions and is seeking comments on these amendments.
A summary of amendments and amended regulations are
attached below.  Any person who wishes to make written
suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other
written materials concerning the proposed regulations must
submit same to David P. Walton, Office of the Director, Jesse
Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware
19901, by January 3, 2006.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulations will be based on the results of
the Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Changes
• Change the name of the regulation to “Regulations

for the Control of Infectious Disease”
• Definitions and language added to make regulation

consistent with the Emergency Health Powers Act
(EHPA)

• Permits hospitals and laboratories to report
notifiable diseases electronically and requires
reporting by that method when facilities are
authorized to do so

• Authorizes hospitals to report syndromes
(symptoms) in addition to diagnosed illnesses

• Removes requirement of DPH to destroy name on
reported cases of HIV within 90 days, and makes
other HIV reporting changes necessary for
compliance with CDC/HRSA guidelines

• Complete revision of quarantine section to make
consistent with EHPA

• Removed enforcement and penalty section
(enforcement & penalties are in code)

• Changed list of notifiable diseases and list of
diseases for which specimens must be sent to the
DPH Lab

4202 Control of Communicable and Other Disease 
Conditions

1.0 Applicable Codes
These regulations are adopted by the Department of

Health & Social Services pursuant to 16 Del. C. §122(1), (2),

(3) (a and j), (4), (5); §128; §129; §151; §503; §504; §505;
§507; §508; §702; §706 and 707. These regulations were
originally adopted on August 2, 1984 effective September 1,
1984, and subsequently amended.

1.0 Definitions
The following terms shall mean:
"Carrier" A person who harbors pathogenic organisms

of communicable disease but who does not show clinical
evidence of the disease and serves as a potential source of
infection.

“Case" A person whose body has been invaded by an
infectious agent with the result that clinical symptoms have
occurred. 

"Child Care Facility" Any organization or business
created for, and having as its major purpose, the daily care
and/or education of children under the age of 7 years.

"Communicable Disease" means an illness due to a
specific infectious agent or its toxic products which arises
through transmission of that agent or its products from a
reservoir to a susceptible host either directly as from an
infected person or animal or indirectly, through an
intermediate plant or animal host, vector, or the inanimate
environment means “Contagious Disease”.

"Contact" A person or animal that has been in such
association with an infected person or animal or a
contaminated environment as to have had opportunity to
acquire the infection.

"Contagious Disease" An infectious disease that can
be transmitted from person to person, or animal to person.

“Designee” The person named by the Director of the
Division of Public Health to assume a specific responsibility.

"Division" The Division of Public Health.
“Division Director” The Director of the Division of

Public Health.
“Directly Observed Therapy (DOT)” an adherence-

enhancing strategy in which a health care worker or other
designated person watches the patient swallow each dose of
medication.

"Epidemic" or "Outbreak" The occurrence in persons
in a community, institution, region, or other defined area of
cases of an illness of similar nature clearly in excess of
normal expectancy,  but not upon declaration of a state of
emergency due to such illness of similar nature.

"Health care provider" Any person or entity who
provides health care services, including, but not limited to,
hospitals, medical clinics and offices, special care facilities,
medical laboratories, physicians, pharmacists, dentists,
physician assistants, nurse practitioners, registered and other
nurses, paramedics, emergency medical or laboratory
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technicians, and ambulance and emergency medical
workers.

“HIV Infection” repeatedly reactive screening tests for
HIV antibody (for example, enzyme immunoassay) with
specific antibody identified by the use of supplemental tests
such as Western Blot or immunofluorescence assay; or direct
identification of virus in host tissues by virus isolation (for
example, culture); or HIV antigen detection (for example
p24 antigen); or a positive result on any other highly specific
licensed test for HIV.

"Infectious disease" A disease caused by a living
organism or other pathogen, including a fungus, bacillus,
parasite, protozoan or virus. An infectious disease may or
may not be transmissible from person to person or animal to
person.

"Isolation" The physical separation and confinement of
an individual or group of individuals who are infected or
reasonably believed to be infected with a contagious or
possibly contagious disease from non-isolated individuals to
prevent or limit the transmission of the disease to non-
isolated individuals.

"Medical Examiner" A physician appointed pursuant
to 29 Del.C. §4703 or 7903(a)(3) who is authorized to
investigate the causes and circumstances of death.

"Nosocomial Disease" A disease occurring in a patient
in a health-care facility and in whom it was not present or
incubating at the time of admission.

"Notifiable Disease" An infectious communicable
disease or condition of public health significance required to
be reported to the Division of Public Health in accordance
with these Rules.

"Notification" A written or verbal report as required by
any section of these Rules.

"Outbreak" - Refer to definition of "Epidemic".
“Post-Secondary Institution” Means and includes

state universities, private colleges, technical and community
colleges, vocational technical schools and hospital nursing
schools.

"Quarantine" An official order that limits the freedom
of movement and actions of persons or animals in order to
prevent the spread of notifiable disease or other disease
condition. The Division Director or designee shall determine
which persons or animals are subject to quarantine and shall
issue appropriate instructions The physical separation and
confinement of an individual or group of individuals who are
or may have been exposed to a contagious or possibly
contagious disease and who do not show signs or symptoms
of contagious disease from non-quarantined individuals to
prevent or limit the transmission of the to disease to non-
quarantined individuals.

“Resistant Organism” Any organism which
traditionally was inactivated or killed by a drug but has, over
time, developed mechanisms to render that drug ineffective.

"Sensitive Situation" A setting, as judged by the
Director of the Division of Public Health or designee in
which the presence of a person or animal infected with or
suspected of being infected with a notifiable or other
communicable disease or condition which may affect the
public health would increase significantly the probability of
spread of such disease and would, therefore, constitute a
public health hazard, but not a public health emergency as
defined in Title 20 3132(11) of the Delaware Code.
Sensitive situations may include, but are not limited to,
schools, child-care facilities, hospitals, and other patient-
care facilities, food storage, food processing establishments
or food outlets.

"Source of Infection" The person, animal, object or
substance from which an infectious agent passes directly to
the host.

"Suspect" A person or animal whose medical history
and symptoms suggest that he or it may have or may be
developing a communicable disease condition.

"Syndromic Surveillance" Surveillance using signs
and symptoms that precede diagnosis and may signal a
sufficient probability of a case or an outbreak to warrant
further public health response.

2.0 Notifiable Diseases or Conditions to be Reported 
Conditions to be Reported, Timeliness and Manner of 
Reporting

2.1 Notifiable Diseases Reporting
The notifiable diseases specified in the Appendices

to these regulations are declared as dangerous to the public
health. The occurrence or suspected occurrence of these
diseases, including those identified after death, shall be
reported as defined in Section 3 to the Division of Public
Health. Such reports shall be made within 48 hours of
recognition except as otherwise provided in these
regulations. Reports shall be made by telephone or in writing
except for certain specified diseases as indicated by a (T)
which shall be reported immediately by telephone. Certain
diseases are reportable in number only and are indicated by
an (N).  The Division of Public Health may list additional
diseases and conditions on its reporting forms for which
reporting is encouraged but not required.

2.2 Timeliness and Content of Notifiable Disease
Reports

2.2.1 Reports pursuant to this subsection shall
be made electronically, telephonically, facsimile, or in
writing within 48 hours of recognition to the Division
Director or designee, except as otherwise noted in these
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regulations or specified in the Appendices to these
regulations.

2.2.2 Except as otherwise provided by these
regulations, reports of notifiable or other diseases or
conditions required to be reported by these regulations shall
contain sufficient information to contact person reporting.
When available, the following information shall be reported:
the  name, address, telephone number, date of birth, race,
gender, and disease of the person ill or infected, the date of
onset of illness; the name, address, and telephone number of
the person's health care provider; and any pertinent
laboratory information.

2.3 Ordinary Skill
Any person who is required to report a disease or

other condition under this Section shall use ordinary skill in
determining the presence of the reportable disease or
condition.  If the determination of the disease or condition is
disputable and the disease or condition may have potential
public health concern or may potentially be an indicator of a
public health emergency, the Division Director or designee
may request tests through the Division's laboratory or
another certified laboratory to help resolve uncertainty.

2.4 Privacy Protection
The Division of Public Health is the state's

recognized public health authority as defined in HIPAA (45
CFR § 164.501) pursuant to 45 CFR § 164.512 (b). Covered
entities may disclose without individual authorization,
protected health information to public health authorities. As
the recognized public health authority for the State of
Delaware, the Division of Public Health is authorized by law
to collect or receive protected health information for the
purpose of preventing or controlling disease, injury or
disability, including, but not limited to, the reporting of
disease, injury, vital events such as birth or death, and the
conduct of public health surveillance, public health
investigations, and public health interventions. The
information required to be reported represents the minimum
necessary to carry out our public health mandates pursuant to
45 CFR § 164.514(d) of the HIPAA Privacy Rule.

2.5 Electronic Reporting Systems  
The Division may establish a system for electronic

reporting to improve the accuracy and timeliness of
reporting notifiable diseases.  The system shall be
technologically designed to ensure data security and
compatibility with other state and federal public health
reporting systems to the extent feasible.  Those authorized to
participate in electronic reporting systems must meet
minimum standards for compliance and training as
determined by the Division.

2.6 Syndromic Surveillance Reporting

The Division may establish a state-wide syndromic
surveillance system. The system shall be technologically
designed to ensure data security and compatibility with other
state and federal public health reporting systems to the extent
feasible.  Those authorized to participate in syndromic
surveillance must meet minimum standards for compliance
and training as determined by the Division. The Director will
establish what syndromes will be reported. The Director may
change and/or add reportable syndromes to assure the
monitoring of health events of public health importance.

3.0 Report of Outbreaks and Potential Causes of a 
Public Health Emergency

3.1 Outbreaks
A health care provider or any other person

identified in Section 4 having knowledge of any outbreak of
any notifiable disease or clusters of any illness which may be
of public concern, shall report such outbreaks within 24
hours to the Division Director or designee.

3.2 Public Health Emergencies
3.2.1 A health care provider or any other person

having knowledge of a public health emergency shall
immediately report all cases of persons who harbor any
illness or health condition, or symptoms of said illness or
health condition, that may be potential causes of a public
health emergency. The Division Director or designee may
declare certain illnesses or health conditions as public health
emergencies which shall be reported.

3.2.2 A pharmacist shall report any unusual or
increased prescription rates, unusual types of prescriptions,
or unusual trends in pharmacy visits that may be potential
causes of a public health emergency. Prescription-related
events that require a report include, but are not limited to:

3.2.2.1 An unusual increase in the number of
prescriptions to treat fever, respiratory or gastrointestinal
complaints;

3.2.2.2 An unusual increase in the number of
prescriptions for antibiotics or other pharmaceuticals or sales
of over-the-counter pharmaceuticals; and

3.2.2.3 Any prescription that treats a disease
that is relatively uncommon or may be associated with
terrorism.

4.0 Reporting of Notifiable Diseases Persons and 
Institutions Required to Report

4.1 Attending Practitioners
Reports required by Sections 1 and 2 shall be made

to the Division Director or designee by any attending
practitioner, licensed or otherwise permitted in Delaware to
practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, chiropractic,
naturopathy, or veterinary medicine, who diagnoses or
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suspects the existence of any disease on the notifiable
disease list or by the medical examiner in cases of
unattended deaths.

4.1 Health Care Providers
Reports required by Sections 2 and 3 shall be made

to the Division Director or designee by any health care
provider who diagnoses or suspects the existence of any
disease required to be reported or by the medical examiner in
cases of unattended deaths.

4.2 Hospitals
4.2.1 The chief administrative officer of each

civilian hospital, long-term care    facility, or other patient-
care facility shall (and the United States military and
Veterans Administration Hospitals are requested to) appoint
an individual from the staff, hereinafter referred to as
"reporting officer,"  who shall be responsible for reporting
cases or suspect cases of diseases on the notifiable disease
list in persons admitted to, attended to, or residing in the
facility.

3.3.2 Such case reports shall be made to the
Division Director or designee within 48 hours of recognition
or suspicion, except as otherwise provided in these
regulations.

4.2.2 Reporting of a case or suspect case of a
notifiable disease by a hospital fulfills the requirements of
the attending practitioner to report; however, it is the
responsibility of the attending practitioner to ensure that the
report is made pursuant to Section 4.1.

4.2.3 The hospital reporting officer shall also
report to the Division Director or designee communicable
diseases not specified in Section 2, should the disease occur
in a nosocomial disease outbreak situation which may
significantly impact the public health.  Such reports shall be
made within 24 hours of the recognition of such a situation.

4.2.4 Hospitals authorized to report notifiable
diseases electronically per Section 2.5 and syndromic
surveillance data per Section 2.6, shall use this method of
reporting.

4.3 Laboratories
4.3.1 Any person in charge of a clinical or

hospital laboratory, or other facilities in which a laboratory
examination of any specimen derived from a human body
and submitted for microbiologic examination shall share
with the Division of Public Health Laboratory specimens or
culture results for agents causing certain diseases listed in
the Appendices of these regulations.  In addition, such
laboratories shall report to the Division of Public Health
results of laboratory examinations of specimens indicating or
suggesting the existence of;

4.3.1.1 A notifiable disease to the Division of
Public Health within 48 hours of when the results were

obtained or as soon as possible, except as otherwise provided
in these regulations.

4.3.1.2 A suspected agent of bioterrorism
immediately upon when results were obtained 

4.3.1.3 Any other potential agent or specimen
that may be the cause of an outbreak or public health
emergency immediately upon when results were obtained.

4.3.2 The Director or designee may contact the
patient or the potential contacts so identified from laboratory
reports only after consulting with the attending practitioner,
when the practitioner is known and when said consultation
will not delay the timely control of a communicable disease.

3.4.3 Laboratories identifying salmonella or
shigella organisms in the stool specimens shall forward
cultures of these organisms or the stool specimens
themselves to the Public Health Laboratory for confirmation
and serotyping.

4.3.3 Reporting of antibiotic resistant
organisms.  Any person in charge of a clinical or hospital
laboratory, or other facility in which a laboratory
examination of any specimen derived from a human body
and submitted for microbiologic examination yields a non-
susceptible species of microorganism identified in Appendix
II I by (A), will report the infected person's name, address,
date of birth, race, sex, site of isolation, date of isolation and
MIC/Zone diameter to the Division of Public Health.  In
addition, the number of susceptible and non-susceptible
isolates of any of these organisms shall be reported monthly
to the Division of Public Health.

4.3.4 Laboratories authorized to report
notifiable diseases electronically per Section 2.5, shall use
this method of reporting.

4.4 Others
In addition to those who are required to report

notifiable diseases, the following are requested and
authorized to notify the Division Director or designee of the
name and address of any person in his or her family, care,
employ, class, jurisdiction, custody of control, who is
suspected of being afflicted with a notifiable disease
although no health care provider, as in Section 4.1 above, has
been consulted:  every parent, guardian, householder; every
nurse, every dentist, every midwife, every superintendent,
principal, teacher or counselor of a public or private school;
every administrator of a public or private institution of
higher learning; owner, operator, or teacher of a child-care
facility; owner or manager of a dairy, restaurant, or food
storage, food-processing establishment or food outlet;
superintendent or manager of a public or private camp, home
or institution; director or supervisor of a military installation;
military or Veterans Administration Hospital, jail, or juvenile
detention center.
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3.5 Confidentiality
Information identifying persons or institutions

submitted in reports required in Sections 3.1 - 3.4 shall be
held confidential to the extent permitted by law.

3.6 Information in Reports
Information included in reports required in Sections

3.1-3.4 shall contain sufficient information to contact the
patient and/or the patient's attending physician.  When
available, the name, address, telephone number, date of
birth, race, gender, and disease of the person ill or infected,
the date of onset of illness; the name, address, and telephone
number of the attending physician; and any pertinent
laboratory information, shall be provided.

5.0 Investigation of Case
5.1 Action to Be Taken

Upon being notified of a case or suspected case of a
notifiable disease or an outbreak of a notifiable disease or
other disease condition in persons or animals, the Director of
the Division or designee may take action as permitted in
these Rules, and additionally as deemed necessary to protect
the public health.  If the nature of the disease and the
circumstances warrant, the Director of the Division or
designee may make or cause to be made an examination of
the patient to verify the diagnosis, make an investigation to
determine the source of infection, and take other appropriate
action to prevent or control the spread of the disease.  These
actions may include, but shall not be limited to, confinement
on a temporary basis until the patient is no longer infectious,
and obligatory medical treatment in order to prevent the
spread of disease in the community.

5.2 Examination of Patient
Any person suspected of being afflicted with any

notifiable disease shall be subject to physical examination
and inspection by any designated representative of the
Division of Public Health, except that a duly authorized
warrant or court order shall be presented to show just cause
in instances where the suspect refuses such examination and
inspection.  Such examination shall include the submission
of bodily specimens when deemed necessary by the Division
Director or designee.

5.3 Sensitive Situations
5.3.1 No person known to be infected with a

communicable contagious disease or suspected of being
infected with a communicable contagious disease shall
engage in sensitive situations as defined in Part II I of these
regulations until judged by the Division Director or designee
to be either free of such disease or no longer a threat to
public health.  Such action shall be in accord with accepted
public health practice and reasonably calculated to abate the
potential public health risk.

 5.3.2 When, pursuant to Section 5.3.1, it is
necessary to require that a person not engage in a sensitive
situation because that person is infected or suspected of
being infected with a communicable contagious disease, the
Division Director or designee shall provide, in writing,
instructions specifying the nature of the restrictions and
conditions necessary to terminate the restrictions.  These
written instructions shall be provided to the person infected
or suspected of being infected with a communicable
contagious disease and to that person's employer or other
such individual responsible for the sensitive situation.

5.3.3 The Division Director or designee shall
have the authority to exclude from attendance in a child care
facility any child or employee suspected of being infected
with a communicable contagious disease that, in the opinion
of the Division Director or designee, significantly threatens
the public health. In addition, no person shall attend or be
employed in a child care facility who has the following
symptoms: 

5.3.3.1 unusual diarrhea, severe coughing,
difficult or rapid breathing, yellowish skin or eyes, pinkeye,
or an untreated louse or scabies infestation;

5.3.3.2 fever (100 F by oral thermometer or
101 F by rectal thermometer or higher) accompanied by one
of the following:  unusual spots or rashes, sore throat or
trouble swallowing, infected skin patches, unusually dark
tea-colored urine, gray or white stool, headache and stiff
neck, vomiting, unusually cranky behavior, or loss of
appetite.

5.3.3.3 any other symptoms which, in the
opinion of the Division Director or designee suggest the
presence of a communicable disease that significantly
threatens the public health.  Exclusion from a childcare
facility in this case shall be effective upon written
notification pursuant to Section 5.3.2.

5.0 Quarantine
5.1 Establishment

When quarantine of humans is required for the
control of any notifiable disease or other disease or
condition, the Division Director or designee shall have the
authority to initiate procedures to establish a quarantine.

5.2 Requirements
5.2.1 The Division Director or designee shall

ensure that provisions are made for proper observations of
such quarantined persons as frequently as necessary during
the quarantine period.

5.2.2 Quarantine orders shall be in effect for a
time period in accord with accepted public health practice.

5.3 Transportation
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5.3.1 Transportation or removal of quarantined
persons may be made only with prior approval of the
Division Director or designee.

5.3.2 Transportation or removal of quarantined
persons shall be made in accordance with orders issued by
the Division Director or designee.

5.3.3 Quarantine shall be resumed immediately
upon arrival of quarantined person at point of destination for
the period of time in accord with accepted public health
practices.

5.4 Disinfection
5.4.1 Concurrent disinfection is required of

infectious or potentially infectious secretions or excretions
of any quarantined person or animal or of objects
contaminated by such secretions or excretions.  The
collection, storage and disposal, of such contaminated matter
and disinfection procedures shall be approved by the
Division Director or designee.

5.4.2 Disinfection shall also be carried out at the
termination of the period of quarantine and shall be applied
to the quarter vacated.  The disinfection procedures shall be
as approved by the Division Director or designee.

6.0 Quarantine and Isolation
6.1 The Division's authority may exercise the following

over persons:
6.1.1 To establish and maintain places of

isolation and quarantine;
6.1.2 To isolate and quarantine individuals

subject to the procedures enumerated in this section; and
6.1.3 To require isolation or quarantine of any

person by the least restrictive means necessary to protect the
public health, subject to the other provisions of this section.
All reasonable means shall be taken to prevent the
transmission of infection among the isolated or quarantined
individuals.

6.2 Standard for quarantine or isolation.
6.2.1 Persons shall be isolated or quarantined if

it is determined by clear and convincing evidence that the
person to be isolated or quarantined poses a significant risk
of transmitting a disease to others with serious
consequences. A person's refusal to accept medical
examination, vaccination or treatment shall constitute prima
facie evidence that said person should be quarantined or
isolated.

6.2.2 Isolation or quarantine of any person shall
be terminated when such person no longer poses a
significant risk of transmitting a disease to others with
serious consequences.

6.3 Character of isolation and quarantine area

6.3.1 To the extent possible, the premises in
which persons are isolated or quarantined shall be
maintained in safe and hygienic manners designed to
minimize the likelihood of further transmission of infection
or other harm to persons subject to isolation or quarantine.
Adequate food, clothing, medication and other necessities
and competent medical care shall be provided.

6.3.2 Isolated individuals must be confined
separately from quarantined individuals.

6.3.3 The health status of isolated and
quarantined individuals must be monitored regularly to
determine if their status should change. If a quarantined
individual subsequently becomes infected or is reasonably
believed to have become infected with a contagious or
possibly contagious disease, the individual must promptly be
moved to isolation.

6.4 Transportation
6.4.1 Transportation or removal of quarantined

or isolated persons may be made only with prior approval of
the Division Director or designee.

6.4.2 Transportation or removal of quarantined
or isolated persons shall be made in accordance with orders
issued by the Division Director or designee.Quarantine or
isolation shall be resumed immediately upon arrival of
quarantined or isolated person at point of destination for the
period of time in accord with accepted public health
practices.

6.5 Disinfection
6.5.1 Concurrent disinfection is required of

infectious or potentially infectious secretions or excretions
of any quarantined or isolated person or animal or of objects
contaminated by such secretions or excretions. The
collection, storage and disposal, of such contaminated matter
and disinfection procedures shall be approved by the
Division Director or designee.

6.5.2 Disinfection shall also be carried out at the
termination of the period of quarantine or isolation and shall
be applied to the quarter vacated.  The disinfection
procedures shall be as approved by the Division Director or
designee.

6.6 Control of quarantine and isolation area.
6.6.1 A person subject to isolation or quarantine

shall obey the Division's rules and orders, shall not go
beyond the isolation or quarantine premises, and shall not
put himself or herself in contact with any person not subject
to isolation or quarantine other than a physician or other
health care provider, public health authority, or person
authorized to enter isolation or quarantine premises by the
Division's authority. Any person entering isolation or
quarantine premises may be isolated or quarantined.
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6.6.2 No person, other than a person authorized
by the Division, shall enter isolation or quarantine premises.
If by reason of an unauthorized entry into an isolation or
quarantine premises, the person poses a danger to public
health, that person may be subject to isolation or quarantine
pursuant to the provisions of this section.

6.7 Procedures for isolation and quarantine. The
following procedures shall protect the due process rights of
individuals:

6.7.1 The Division shall petition the Superior
Court for an order authorizing the isolation or quarantine of
an individual or groups of individuals.  Said petition shall
specify the following:

6.7.1.1 The identity of the individual or group
of individuals subject to isolation or quarantine;

6.7.1.2 The premises subject to isolation or
quarantine;

6.7.1.3 The date and time at which the
Division request isolation or quarantine to commence;

6.7.1.4 The suspected contagious disease, if
known;

6.7.1.5 A statement of compliance with the
conditions and principles for isolation and quarantine;

6.7.1.6 A statement of the basis upon which
isolation or quarantine is justified.

6.7.1.7 A statement of what effort, if any, has
been made to give notice of the hearing to the individual or
group of individuals to be isolated or quarantined, or the
reason supporting the claim that notice should not be
required.

6.7.2 Ex parte orders. Before isolating or
quarantining a person, the Division shall obtain a written
order, which may be an ex parte order, from the Superior
Court authorizing such action. An order, which may be an ex
parte order, shall be requested as part of a petition filed in
compliance with 6.1 through 6.2. The Court shall grant an
order, which may be an ex parte order, upon finding by clear
and convincing evidence that isolation or quarantine is
warranted pursuant to the provisions of this Section. A copy
of the authorizing order shall be given to the person ordered
to be isolated or quarantined, along with notification that the
person has a right to a hearing under subsection (6.7).

6.7.3 Temporary quarantine or isolation pending
filing of a petition. Notwithstanding the preceding
subsections, the Division may isolate or quarantine a person
without first obtaining a written order, which may be an ex
parte order, from the Court if a physician determines that any
delay in the isolation or quarantine of the person would pose
an immediate and severe danger to the public health.
Following such isolation or quarantine, the Division shall
file a petition within 24 hours. In addition, if the Division

exercises its powers, it must provide a written directive to
the individuals or groups under temporary quarantine or
isolation indicating the identities of the individuals or groups
subject to the directive, the premises subject to isolation or
quarantine, the date and time that the directive commences,
the suspected contagious disease (if known).

6.7.4 Speedy hearing. The Court shall grant a
hearing within 72 hours of the filing of a petition when an
individual has been isolated or quarantined.

6.7.5 Consolidation of claims. The Court may
order consolidation of individual claims into a group of
claims where:

6.7.5.1 The number of individuals involved
or to be affected is so large as to render individual
participation impractical;

6.7.5.2 There are questions of law or fact
common to the individual claims or rights to be determined;

6.7.5.3 The group claims or rights to be
determined are typical of the affected individuals' claims or
rights; and

6.7.5.4 The entire group will be adequately
represented in the consolidation, giving due regard to the
rights of affected individuals.

6.8 Relief for isolated and quarantined persons.
6.8.1 On or after 10 days following a hearing, a

person isolated or quarantined pursuant to the provisions of
this section may request in writing a Court hearing to contest
his or her continued isolation or quarantine. The hearing
shall be held within 72 hours of receipt of such request,
excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays. A request
for a hearing shall not alter the order of isolation or
quarantine. At the hearing, the Division must show by clear
and convincing evidence that continuation of the isolation or
quarantine is warranted because the person poses a
significant risk of transmitting a disease to others with
serious consequences.

6.8.2 A person isolated or quarantined pursuant
to the provisions of this section may request a hearing in the
Superior Court for remedies regarding his or her treatment
and the terms and conditions of such quarantine or isolation.
Upon receiving a request for either type of hearing, the Court
shall fix a date for a hearing. The hearing shall take place
within 10 days of the receipt of the request by the Court. The
request for a hearing shall not alter the order of isolation or
quarantine.

6.8.3 If upon a hearing, the Court finds that the
isolation or quarantine of the individual is not warranted
under the provisions of this section, then the person shall be
immediately released from isolation or quarantine. If the
Court finds that the isolation or quarantine of the individual
is not in compliance with the provisions of this section, the
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Court may then fashion remedies appropriate to the
circumstances of the necessity for the isolation or quarantine
and in keeping with the provisions of this section.

6.8.4 No person shall be permanently
terminated from employment by a Delaware employer as a
result of being isolated or quarantined pursuant to this
section. However, this paragraph shall not apply to a person
who has been quarantined as a result of refusing to comply
with an examination, treatment or vaccination program, nor
shall it apply to a person whose conduct caused the necessity
for the isolation or quarantine.

6.9 Additional due process protections.
6.9.1 A record of proceedings before the Court

shall be made and retained for at least 3 years.
6.9.2 The petitioner shall have the right to be

represented by counsel or other lawful representative, and
the State shall provide counsel to indigent persons against
whom proceedings are initiated pursuant to this section.

6.9.3 The manner in which the request for a
hearing is filed and acted upon will be in accordance with the
existing laws and rules of the Superior Court or any such
rules that are developed by the Court, provided that hearings
should be held by any means that will allow all necessary
persons to participate in the event that a public health
emergency makes personal appearances impractical.

7.0 Control of Specific Communicable Diseases 
7.1 Vaccine Preventable Diseases

7.1.1 All preschool children who are enrolled in
a child care facility must be age-appropriately vaccinated
against diseases prescribed by the Division Director.  For
those diseases so prescribed, the most current
recommendations of the federal Center's for Disease Control
and Prevention's Advisory Committee on Immunization
Practices' (ACIP) shall determine the vaccines and
vaccination schedules acceptable for compliance with this
regulation. 

7.1.2 Any child entering private school must be
age-appropriately vaccinated against diseases prescribed by
the Division Director, prior to enrolling in school.  For those
diseases so prescribed, the most current recommendations of
the federal Center's for Disease Control and Prevention's
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices' (ACIP)
shall determine the vaccines and vaccination schedules
acceptable for compliance with this regulation. This
provision pertains to all children between the ages of 2
months and 21 years entering or being admitted to a
Delaware private school for the first time including, but not
limited to, foreign exchange students, immigrants, students
from other states and territories and children entering from
public schools.

7.1.3 Acceptable documentation of the receipt
of immunization as required by Sections 7.1.1 - 7.1.2 shall
include either a medical record signed by a physician, or a
valid immunization record issued by the State of Delaware
or another State, which specifies the vaccine given and the
date of administration.

7.1.4 Immunization requirements pursuant to
sections 7.1.1 - 7.1.2 shall be waived for:

7.1.4.1 children whose physicians have
submitted, in writing, that a specific immunizing agent
would be detrimental to that child; and,

7.1.4.2 children whose parents or guardians
present a notarized document that immunization is against
their religious beliefs.

7.1.5 Child care facilities and private schools
(grades K-12) shall maintain on file an immunization record
for each child.  The facility will also be responsible to report
to the Division Director or designee on an annual basis the
immunization status of its enrollees.

7.1.6 Parents whose children present
immunization records which show that immunizations are
lacking will be allowed l4 days (or such time as may be
appropriate for a particular vaccination) to complete the
required age-appropriate doses of vaccine for their children.
In instances where more than l4 days will be necessary to
complete the age-appropriate immunization schedule, an
extension may be allowed in order to obtain the required
immunizations.  Extension of the 14-day allowance because
of missed appointments to receive needed immunizations
shall not be permitted.

7.1.7 When a child's records are lost and the
parent states that the child has completed his/her series of
immunizations, or a child has been refused admission or
continued attendance at a child care facility or private school
for lack of acceptable evidence of immunization as specified
in this regulation, a written certification must be provided by
a health care provider who has administered the necessary
age-appropriate immunizations to the child according to the
current ACIP immunization schedule.

7.1.8 It is the responsibility of the child care
facility or private school to exclude a child prior to
admission or from continued attendance who has failed to
document required immunizations pursuant to this section.

7.1.9 Upon the occurrence of a case or suspect
case of one of the vaccine preventable diseases specified in
pursuant to sections 7.1.1 and 7.1.2, any child not
immunized against that disease shall be excluded from the
premises, until the Division Director or designee has
determined that the disease risk to the unimmunized child
has passed.  Such exclusion shall apply to all those in the
facility who are admitted under either medical or religious
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exemption as well as to those previously admitted who have
not yet received vaccine against the disease which has
occurred. If, in the judgment of the Division Director or
designee, the continued operation of the facility presents a
risk of the spread of disease to the public at large, he/she
shall have the authority to close the facility until the risk of
disease occurrence has passed.

7.1.10 All full-time students of post-secondary
educational institutions and all full and part-time students in
such educational institutions if engaged in patient-care
related curriculums (included but not limited to nursing,
dentistry and medical laboratory technology), shall be
required to show evidence of immunity to measles, rubella
and mumps prior to enrollment by the following criteria:

7.1.10.1 Measles immunity:
7.1.10.1.1 persons born before January

1, 1957; or
7.1.10.1.2 physician documented

history of measles disease; or
7.1.10.1.3 serological confirmation of

measles immunity; or
7.1.10.1.4 a documented receipt from a

physician or health facility that two doses of measles vaccine
were administered after 12 months of age.

7.1.10.2 Rubella immunity:
7.1.10.2.1 persons born before January

1, 1957; except women who could become pregnant; or
7.1.10.2.2 laboratory evidence of

antibodies to rubella virus; or
7.1.10.2.3 a documented receipt from a

physician or health facility that rubella vaccine was
administered on or after 12 months of age.

7.1.10.3 Mumps immunity:
7.1.10.3.1 persons born before January

1, 1957; or
7.1.10.3.2 physician diagnosed history

of mumps disease; or
7.1.10.3.3 laboratory evidence of

immunity; or
7.1.10.3.4 a documented receipt from a

physician or health facility that mumps vaccine was
administered on or after 12 months of age.

7.1.11 Immunization requirements pursuant to
section 6.1.10 shall be waived for:

7.1.11.1 A student whose licensed physician
certifies that such immunization may be detrimental to the
student's health;

7.1.11.2 A student who presents a notarized
document that immunization is against their religious
beliefs.

7.1.12 The student health service, the admissions
office and the office of the university or college registrar are
jointly responsible for implementing Section 7.1.10 through
notification of immunization requirements, the collection
and verification of documented vaccine histories,
identification and notification of students not in compliance
and imposition of sanctions for non-compliance.

7.1.13 Students who can not show evidence of
immunity to measles pursuant to 6.1.10 and who cannot
show documented receipt of ever having received measles
vaccine shall be permitted to enroll on the condition that 2
doses be administered within 45 days or at the resolution of
an existing medical contraindication. Students who cannot
show evidence of immunity to rubella and/or mumps or who
have had only 1 dose of measles vaccine shall be permitted
to enroll on the condition that measles, mumps and rubella
immunizations be obtained within 14 days or at the
resolution of an existing medical contraindication.  However,
in implementing these requirements, doses of a measles
containing vaccine shall not be given closer than 28 days
apart.

7.1.14 The Division Director may maintain a
registry of the immunization status of persons vaccinated
against any vaccine preventable diseases (hereafter called an
"immunization registry").

7.1.14.1 Physicians and other health care
providers who give   immunizations shall report information
about the immunization and the person to whom it was given
for addition to the immunization registry in a manner
prescribed by the Division Director or designee.

7.1.14.2 The Division Director or designee
may disclose information from the immunization registry
without a patient's, parent's, or guardian's written release
authorizing such disclosure to the following:

7.1.14.2.1 The person immunized, or a
parent or legal guardian of the person immunized, or persons
delegated in writing by same.

7.1.14.2.2 Employees of public
agencies or research institutions, however only when it can
be shown that the intended use of the information is
consistent with the purposes of this section.

7.1.14.2.3 Health records staff of
school districts and child care facilities.

7.1.14.2.4 Persons who are other than
public employees who are entrusted with the regular care of
those under the care and custody of a state agency including
but not limited to operators of day care facilities, group,
residential care facilities and adoptive or foster parents.

7.1.14.2.5 Health insurers, however
only when the person immunized is a client of the health
insurer.
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7.1.14.2.6 Health care professionals or
their authorized employees who have been given
responsibility for the care of the person immunized.

7.1.14.3 If any person authorized in
subsection 7.1.14.2 discloses information from the
immunization registry for any other purpose, it is an
unauthorized release and such person may be subject to civil
and criminal penalty. 

7.2 Ophthalmia Neonatorum
Any physician, nurse, midwife, or other health care

provider so permitted to under the law, who attends the birth
of an infant in Delaware, shall provide or cause to be
provided prophylactic treatment against inflammation of the
eyes of the newborn. Said prophylactic treatment shall be
provided within 1 hour of birth and consist of (1) 1% silver
nitrate in single-dose containers, or (2) a 1-2 centimeter
ribbon of sterile ophthalmic ointment containing tetracycline
(1%) or erythromycin (0.5%) in single-use tubes, or (3) other
treatment recommended for this purpose as published in the
most recent edition of the U.S. Preventive Services Task
Force, Guide to Clinical Preventive Services.

7.3 Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs)
7.3.1 Appendix I list STDs regarded to cause

significant morbidity and mortality, can be screened,
diagnosed and treated, or are of major public health concerns
such that surveillance of the disease occurrence is in the
public interest, and therefore shall be designated as sexually
transmitted and reportable pursuant to 16 Del.C. Ch. 7.  For
the purposes of this section, a suspect is any person; having
positive or clinical findings of a STD; or in whom
epidemiologic evidence indicates a STD may exist; or is
identified as a sexual contact of a STD case, and is provided
treatment for the STD on that basis.

7.3.2 Reporting STDs
7.3.2.1 A physician or any other licensed

health care provider professional who diagnoses, suspects or
treats a reportable STD and every administrator of a health
facility or prison in which there is a case of a reportable STD
shall report such case to the Division of Public Health.
Unless reportable in number only as specified in Appendix I,
Reports provided under this rule shall specify the infected
person's name, address, date of birth, gender and race as well
as the date of onset, name and stage of disease, type and
amount of treatment given and the name and address of the
submitting licensed health care professional.

7.3.2.2 Any person who is in charge of a
clinical or hospital laboratory, blood bank, mobile unit, or
other facility in which a laboratory examination of any
specimen derived from a human body yields microscopic,
cultural, serological, or other evidence suggestive of a
reportable STD shall notify the Division of Public Health.

Unless reportable in number only as specified in Appendix I,
Reports provided under this rule shall specify the name, date
of birth, race, gender and address of the persons from whom
the specimen was obtained, laboratory findings, and the
name and address of the physician and that of the processing
clinical laboratory. 

7.3.2.3 The manner and timing of reports
required by this Section 7.3 shall be made in accordance
with Section 2 of these regulations unless otherwise
specified by these regulations. for STD's designated with the
letter "T" in Appendix I shall be made by telephone, fax, or
other rapid electronic means within 1 working day.  Reports
required by this Section for STD's designated with the letter
"N" in Appendix I shall be made at the request of the
Division of Public Health, in number only, and in
demographic categories specified by the Division of Public
Health.  All other reports required by this Section for STD's
listed in Appendix I shall be placed into the United States
mail, faxed, telephoned, or otherwise routed to the Division
of Public Health within one working day of diagnosis,
suspicion, or treatment.

7.3.2.4 All reports and notification made
pursuant to this section are confidential and protected from
release except under the provisions of Title 16 Del.C., §710,
and §711. From information received from laboratory
notifications, the Division of Public Health may contact
attending physicians. The Division of Public Health shall
inform the attending physician, if the notification indicates
the person has an attending physician, before contacting a
person from whom a specimen was obtained.  However, if
delays resulting from informing the physician may enhance
the spread of the STD, or otherwise endanger the health of
either individuals or the public, the Division of Public Health
may contact the person without first informing the attending
physician.

7.3.2.5 Any person or facility required to
report a STD under this Section shall permit the Division of
Public Health to examine records in order to evaluate
compliance with this section.

7.4   Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), Acquired
Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS)

7.4.1 HIV/AIDS infection is regarded to cause
significant morbidity and mortality, can be screened,
diagnosed and treated, and is of major public health concern,
such that surveillance of the disease occurrence is in the
public interest, and therefore shall be designated as
notifiable and reportable pursuant to 16 Del.C. Ch. 5. Under
this provision the following shall be reported:

7.4.1.1 A diagnosis of HIV, according to the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention case definition
of HIV
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7.4.1.2 A diagnosis of AIDS, according the
Centers for Disease

7.4.1.3 Control and Prevention case
definition of AIDS

7.4.1.4 A positive confirmed result of any test
approved and indicative of the presence of HIV.

7.4.1.5 All CD4 T-lymphocyte percentage
and test results and all viral load detection test results
(detectable and undetectable)

7.4.1.6 A perinatal exposure of a newborn to
HIV.

6.4.1 Reporting HIV Infection
7.4.2 Reporting of HIV/AIDS and perinatal

exposure of newborns to HIV.
7.4.2.1 A physician or any other licensed

health care professional health care provider who diagnoses
or treats HIV/AIDS and every administrator of a health care
facility or prison in which there is an HIV/AIDS infected
person or perinatal exposure to HIV shall report such
information to the Division of Public Health. Reports
provided under this rule shall specify the infected person's
name, address, date of birth, gender, mode of transmission
and race as well as the date of HIV positive laboratory result,
date of perinatal exposure, date of AIDS diagnosis and stage
of disease, type and amount of treatment given and the name
and address of the submitting licensed health care
professional health care provider.

7.4.2.2 Any person who is in charge of a
clinical or hospital laboratory, blood bank, mobile unit, or
other facility in which a laboratory examination of any
specimen derived from a human body yields serological or
other evidence of HIV/AIDS, including perinatal exposure
to HIV, shall notify the Division of Public Health. Reports
provided under this rule shall specify the name, date of birth,
race, gender and address of the person from whom the
specimen was obtained, laboratory findings, including all
CD4 T-lymphocyte percentage and test results and all viral
load detection test results (detectable and undetectable), and
the name and address of the physician  health care provider
and that of the processing clinical laboratory.

7.4.2.2.1 Reports made on the basis of
an HIV test to detect antibodies shall only be made if
confirmed with a Western Blot or other confirmatory test.

7.4.2.2.2 All facilities obtaining blood
from human donors for the purpose of transfusion or
manufacture of blood products shall report HIV/AIDS
consistent with 7.4.2.2.

7.4.2.2.3 Any laboratory that
examines specimens, or reporting source finding evidence of
HIV, shall permit the Division of Public Health to examine

the records of said laboratory, facility, or office in order to
evaluate compliance with this section.

6.4.2.3 Reports made on the basis of an HIV
test to detect antibodies shall only be made if confirmed with
a Western Blot or other confirmatory test.

6.4.2.4 All facilities obtaining blood from
human donors for the  purpose of transfusion or manufacture
of blood products shall report HIV consistent with 6.4.2.2.

6.4.2.5 Reports of HIV infection required by
Section 6.4 shall be placed into the United States mail, using
a special envelope that will be provided by the Division of
Public Health, and routed to the Division within 48 hours of
diagnosis or treatment.  Any other reporting method must be
approved in advance and must be in a time frame acceptable
to the Division.

6.4.2.6 Any laboratory that examines
specimens, or reporting source finding evidence of HIV,
shall permit the Division of Public Health to examine the
records of said laboratory, facility, or office in order to
evaluate compliance with this section.

7.4.2.3 Reports made on the basis of perinatal
HIV exposure shall be made regardless of confirmatory
testing.

7.4.2.4 Reports of HIV/AIDS, required by
Section 7.4 shall be placed into the United States mail, using
a special envelope that will be provided by the Division of
Public Health, and routed to the Division within 48 hours of
diagnosis or treatment. Any other reporting method must be
approved in advance and must be in a time frame acceptable
to the Division.

6.4.2.7 As it is the intent of the Division of
Public Health to continue the availability of anonymous HIV
counseling and testing, and as it is not the practice to collect
the name or other identifying information from a person who
is anonymously tested for HIV, and therefore no name is
available to be reported, nothing in these regulations shall
preclude the performance of anonymous HIV testing.

7.4.2.5 As it is the intent of the Division of
Public Health to continue the availability of anonymous HIV
counseling and testing, and as it is not the practice to collect
the name or other identifying information from a person who
is anonymously tested for HIV, and therefore no name is
available to be reported, nothing in these regulations shall
preclude the performance of anonymous HIV testing.

6.4.3 Confidentiality of HIV Reports
7.4.3 Confidentiality of HIV/AIDS Reports

7.4.3.1 The Division of Public Health will
evaluate reports of HIV/AIDS for completeness and
potential referrals for service.  All case reports will be kept
in a confidential and in a secure setting.  Once this function
is completed, the patient's name will be converted to a code
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and then destroyed.  From that time forward, the code will be
used in lieu of the name to determine if the patient has been
previously reported.  In carrying out this function, the
Division shall destroy the name as expeditiously as possible,
but not later than 90 days from receipt of the report.

7.4.3.2 The Division of Public Health will
evaluate its procedures for HIV/AIDS named-based
reporting on a continuous basis after implementation for
timeliness, completeness of reporting, and security of
confidential information.

7.4.3.3 The Division of Public Health will
follow the December 10, 1999 Morbidity and Mortality
Weekly Report Recommendations and Reports, "CDC
Guidelines for National Human Immunodeficiency Virus
Case Surveillance, Including Monitoring for Human
Immunodeficiency Virus Infection and Acquired
Immunodeficiency Syndrome" document as it pertains to
patient records and confidentiality, or any subsequent
revisions of said document.

7.4.3.4 All reports and notification made
pursuant to this section are confidential and protected from
release except under the provisions of 16 Del.C. §710, §711
and §1201-4, §1201A-4A. Any person aggrieved by a
violation of this Section shall have a right of action in the
Superior Court and may recover for each violation:

7.4.3.4.1 Against any person who
negligently violates a provision of this regulation, damages
of $1,000 or actual damages, whichever is greater.

7.4.3.4.2 Against any person who
intentionally or recklessly violates a provision of this
subchapter, damages of $5,000 or actual damages,
whichever is greater.

7.4.3.4.3 Reasonable attorneys' fees.
7.4.3.4.4 Such other relief, including

an injunction, as the court may deem appropriate.
7.4.3.4.5 Any action under this

regulation is barred unless the action is commenced within 3
years after the cause of action accrues. A cause of action will
accrue when the injured party becomes aware of an
unauthorized disclosure.

7.4.3.5 From information received from
reports of HIV infection, the Division of Public Health may
contact attending physicians. The Division of Public Health
shall inform the attending physician, if the notification
indicates the person has an attending physician, before
contacting a person on whom the report is made.  However,
if delays resulting from informing the physician may
enhance the spread of HIV, or otherwise endanger the health
of any individuals, the Division of Public Health may
contact the person without first informing the attending
physician.

6.4.4 Duty to Disclose the Identity of Sexual or
Needle-sharing Partners of HIV Infected Patients 

7.4.4 Duty to Disclose the Identity of Sexual or
Needle sharing Partners of HIV Infected Patients

7.4.4.1 Any physician, or any other licensed
health care professional acting on the orders of a physician,
(hereafter referred to as provider), health care provider
diagnosing or caring for an HIV infected patient shall
disclose the identity of the patient's sexual or needle-sharing
partner(s) (if known), including spouses to the Division of
Public Health so that the partner(s) may be notified of his or
her risk of infection, provided that:

a. The patient's condition satisfies the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention definition of
AIDS, or has an HIV infection as evidenced by a positive
antibody test which is confirmed by Western Blot, or based
upon other tests accepted by prevailing medical opinion, the
patient is considered to be infected with HIV;

7.4.4.1.1 The provider knows of an
identifiable partner at risk of infection who may not have
been informed of their potential risk; and

7.4.4.1.2 The provider believes there
is a significant risk of harm to the partner; and

7.4.4.1.3 Reasonable efforts have been
made to counsel the patient pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1202(e),
urging the patient to notify the partner, and the patient has
refused or is considered to be unlikely to notify the partner.

e. The provider has made reasonable
efforts to inform the patient of the intended disclosure and to
give the patient the opportunity to express a preference as to
whether the partner be notified by the provider, the patient,
or the Division.

7.4.4.2 Any health care provider diagnosing
or caring for an HIV infected patient shall also report to the
Division of Public Health relevant facts about a patient that
does not pose a threat to an identifiable partner but, in the
professional judgment of the provider based upon stated
intended acts, the patient may threaten further spread of HIV
to the general population. In this instance the conditions
specified in Section 7.4.4.1.3, 6.4.4.1 (d) and 6.4.4.1 (e) shall
apply. Disclosure shall be for the purpose of providing
appropriate counseling to the patient.

7.4.4.3 Procedures for disclosing information
pursuant to this section shall be specified by the Division.
Such procedures shall (a) include the requirement that, prior
to the Division identifying and notifying a partner,
reasonable efforts be made by the Division to counsel the
patient and urge the patient's voluntary notification of a
partner; (b) specify Division employees permitted to receive
the disclosed information; and (c) describe the manner in
which partners will be notified pursuant to these regulations.
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6.4.4.4 The provider will prepare and
maintain contemporaneous records of compliance with each
element of these regulations.

7.4.4.4 Division shall have the authority to re-
ascertain names for previously reported HIV cases and
report them as deemed necessary.

7.5   Tuberculosis
7.5.1 Any person afflicted with or suspected of

being afflicted with tuberculosis disease and in need of
hospitalization and unable to pay the cost, shall be
hospitalized at public expense wherever and whenever
facilities are available and provided that private or third
party funds are not available for this purpose.

7.5.2 Reporting Tuberculosis
7.5.2.1 Physicians, pharmacists, nurses,

hospital administrators, medical examiners, morticians,
laboratory administrators, and other health care providers
who provide health care services to a person with diagnosed,
suspected or treated tuberculosis (TB) shall report such a
case to the Division of Public Health specifying the infected
person's name, address, date of birth, race, gender, date of
onset, site of disease, prescribed anti-TB medications, and,
in the case of laboratory administrators, the name and
address of the submitting health professional.  A report shall
be telephoned into the Division of Public Health within two
working days of the provision of service or laboratory
finding. 

7.5.2.2 Any person who is in charge of a
clinical or hospital    laboratory or other facility in which a
laboratory examination of sputa, gastric contents, or any
other specimen derived from human body yields
microscopic, cultural, serological or other evidence
suggestive of tubercle bacilli shall notify the Division of
Public Health by telephone within two working days of the
occurrence.

7.5.2.3 Any health care provider, who has
knowledge about a person with multiple drug-resistant
tuberculosis (MDR-TB), even if the confirmed or suspected
TB cases had been previously reported, shall report the
occurrence to the Division of Public Health within two days
of the occurrence.

7.5.2.4  Persons with TB who have
demonstrated an inability or an unwillingness to adhere to a
prescribed treatment regimen, who refuse medication, or
who show other evidence of not taking anti-TB medications
as prescribed, shall be reported to the Division of Public
Health within two days of the occurrence.

7.5.3 Diagnostic Examinations
7.5.3.1  Any persons suspected of having

infectious tuberculosis shall have a Mantoux tuberculin skin
test, a chest radiograph, and laboratory examinations of

sputum, gastric contents or other body discharges as may be
required by the Division Director or designee to determine
whether said patient represents an infectious case of
tuberculosis.

7.5.3.2 The Division Director or designee
shall determine the names of household and other contacts
who may be infected with tuberculosis and cause them to be
examined for the presence of tuberculosis disease.  

7.5.4 Clinical Management
7.5.4.1  In addition to fulfilling the reporting

requirements of 7.5.2, health care providers shall manage
persons with active TB disease by following one of three
courses of action:

7.5.4.1.1 they shall immediately refer
the client to the Division of Public Health for comprehensive
medical and case management services; or

7.5.4.1.2 they shall provide
comprehensive assessment, treatment, and follow-up
services (including patient education, directly observed
therapy and contact investigation) to the client and his/her
contacts consistent with current American Thoracic Society
and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (ATS/
CDC) guidelines; or

7.5.4.1.3 they shall initiate appropriate
medical treatment and refer the client to the Division of
Public Health for coordination of community services and
case management including directly observed therapy
(DOT). 

If the health care provider chooses
7.5.4.1.2 or 7.5.4.1.3 above, then the Division Director or
designee may ask the health care provider for information
about the care and management of the patient, and the health
care provider shall assure that the requested information is
communicated.

7.5.4.2 Patients with infectious tuberculosis
who are dangerous to public health may be required by the
Division Director or designee to be hospitalized, isolated, or
otherwise quarantined. Whenever facilities for adequate
isolation and treatment of infectious cases are available in
the home and patient will accept said isolation, it shall be left
to the discretion of the Division Director or designee as to
whether these or other facilities shall be used.

8.0 Preparation for Burial.
See 16 Del.C. Ch. 31 and Department of Health and

Social Services regulations promulgated thereunder, entitled
"Regulations Concerning Care and Transportation of the
Dead".
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9.0 Disposal of Infectious Articles, Remains
No person shall dispose of articles, or human or animal

remains known or suspected to be capable of infecting others
with a communicable disease in such a manner whereby
exposure to such infectious agents may occur.  See also
"Regulations Concerning Care and Transportation of the
Dead", Section 10 ("Disposition of Amputated Parts of
Human Bodies").

10.0 Diseased Animals.
10.1 Importation and Sale

No person shall bring into this state or offer for sale
domestic or wild animals infected or suspected to be infected
with a disease communicable from animals to man.

10.2 Notification
It shall be the duty of persons having custody of

care of animals infected or suspected to be infected with a
disease transmitted from animals to man to notify the
Division Director or designee of the infection.

11.0 Notification of Emergency Medical Care 
Providers of Exposure to Communicable Diseases.

11.1 Definitions  
For the purposes of this section, the following

definitions shall apply.
"Emergency medical care provider" fire fighter,

law enforcement officer, paramedic, emergency medical
technician, correctional officer, ambulance attendant, or
other person who serves as employee or volunteer of an
ambulance service and/or provides pre-hospital emergency
medical service.

"Receiving medical facility" hospital or similar
facility that receives a patient attended by an emergency
medical care provider for the purposes of continued medical
care.

"Universal precautions" those precautions,
including the appropriate use of hand washing, protective
barriers, and care in the use and disposal of needles and other
sharp instruments, that minimize the risk of transmission of
communicable diseases between patients and health care
providers. Universal precautions require that all blood, body
fluids, secretions, and excretions of care providers use
appropriate barrier precautions to prevent exposure to blood
and body fluids of all patients at all times.

11.2 Universal Precautions
11.2.1 Didactic Instruction

Education and training with respect to
universal precautions shall be a mandatory component of
any required training and any required continuing education
for all emergency medical care providers who have patient
contact.  Training shall be appropriately tailored to the needs

and educational background of the person(s) being trained.
Training shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

11.2.1.1 Mechanisms and routes of
transmission of viral, bacterial, rickettsial, fungal, and
mycoplasmal human pathogens.

11.2.1.2 Proper techniques of hand
washing, including the theory supporting the effectiveness of
hand washing, and guidelines for waterless hand cleansing in
the field.

11.2.1.3 Proper techniques and
circumstances under which barrier methods of protection
(personal protective equipment) from contamination by
microbial pathogens are to be implemented.  The instruction
is to include the theory supporting the benefits of these
techniques. 

11.2.1.4 The proper techniques of
disinfection and clean-up of spills of infectious material.
This instruction is to include the use of absorbent, liquid, and
chemical disinfectants.

11.2.1.5 Instruction regarding the
reporting and documentation of exposures to infectious
agents and the requirement for employers to have an
exposure control plan.

11.2.1.6 The proper disposal of
contaminated needles and other sharps.  The instruction is to
include information about recapping needles and using
puncture-resistant, leak-resistant containers.

11.2.1.7 First aid and immediate care of
wounds which may be incurred by an emergency medical
care provider.

11.2.2 Practical or Laboratory Instruction
Practical sessions addressing the field

application of the above didactic instruction must be part of
the curriculum.  The practical sessions shall provide a means
of hands-on experience and training in the proper use of
personal protective equipment, hand-washing disinfection,
clean-up of infectious spills, handling and disposal of
contaminated sharps, and the proper completion of reporting
forms.

12.2.3 Approval of Curricula
Any provider of mandatory education and

training and continuing education pursuant to this section
must submit a curriculum for approval by the Division of
Public Health and shall not utilize curricula that are not
regarded by the Division of Public Health to be in substantial
compliance with 10.2.1 and 10.2.2.

11.3 Communicable Diseases
11.3.1 Communicable Disease Defined

For the purposes of Section 11 only,
exposure to patients infected with the following
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communicable disease agents shall warrant notification to an
emergency medical care provider pursuant to this section:

Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
Hepatitis B Virus
Hepatitis C Virus
Meningococcal disease
Haemophilus influenzae
Measles
Tuberculosis 
Uncommon or rare pathogens

11.3.2 Infection Defined
For the purposes of Section 11 only, a

patient shall be considered infected with a communicable
disease when the following conditions are satisfied:

11.3.2.1 Blood-borne pathogens
11.3.2.1.1 HIV - ELISA and western

blot (or other confirmatory test accepted by prevailing
medical opinion) tests must be positive.

11.3.2.1.2 Hepatitis B - positive for
hepatitis B surface antigen.

11.3.2.1.3 Hepatitis C - (1) IgM anti-
HAV negative, and (2) IgM anti-Hbc negative or HBsAg
negative, and (3) serum aminotransferase level more than
two and one half times the upper limit of normal, or anti-
HcB positive.  Hepatitis C antibody screening test and more
specific supplemental test positive.

11.3.2.2 Air-borne pathogens
11.3.2.2.1 Meningococcal disease -

compatible clinical findings and laboratory confirmation
through isolation of Neisseria meningitides from a normally
sterile site.

11.3.2.2.2 Haemophilus influenzae -
compatible clinical findings of epiglottitis or meningitis and
laboratory confirmation through isolation of Haemophilus
influenzae from a normally sterile site or from the epiglottis.

11.3.2.2.3 Measles - compatible clinical
findings with or without laboratory confirmation by one of
the following methods: (1) presence of the measles virus
from a clinical specimen, or (2) four-fold rise in measles
antibody level by any standard serologic assay, or (3)
positive serologic test for measles IgM antibody.

11.3.2.2.4 Tuberculosis - compatible
clinical findings of pulmonary disease and identification of
either acid-fast bacilli in sputum or the pathogen by culture.

11.3.2.3 Uncommon or rare pathogens
Infection with uncommon or rare

pathogens determined by the Division of Public Health on a
case-by-case basis.

11.3.3 Exposure Defined
11.3.3.1 Blood-borne pathogens

Exposure of an emergency medical
care provider to a patient infected with a blood-borne
pathogen as defined in 11.3.2.1 shall include a needle-stick
or other penetrating injury with an item contaminated by a
patient's blood, plasma, pleural fluid, peritoneal fluid, or any
other body fluid or drainage that contains blood or plasma.
Contact of these fluids with mucous membranes or non-
intact skin of the emergency medical care provider or
extensive contact with intact skin shall also constitute
exposure.

11.3.3.2 Air-borne pathogens
Exposure of an emergency medical

care provider to a patient infected with an air-borne pathogen
as defined in 11.3.2.2 shall be as follows:

11.3.3.2.1 Meningococcal disease and
Haemphilus influenza - Close contact with an infected
patient's oral secretions or sharing the same air space with an
infected patient for one hour or longer without the use of an
effective barrier such as a mask.

11.3.3.2.2 Measles - Sharing confined
air space with an infected patient, regardless of contact time.

11.3.3.2.3 Tuberculosis- Sharing
confined air space with an infected patient, regardless of
contact time.

11.3.3.3 Uncommon or rare pathogens
The Division of Public Health shall

determine definition of exposure to an uncommon or rare
pathogen on a case-by-case basis.

11.3.3.4 Ruling on infection and exposure
When requested by the emergency

medical care provider or receiving medical facility, the
Division of Public Health shall investigate and issue
judgment on any differences of opinion regarding infection
and exposure as otherwise defined in 11.3.

11.4 Request for Notification
11.4.1 Every employer of an emergency medical

care provider and every organization which supervises
volunteer emergency medical care providers must register
the name(s) of a designated officer who shall perform the
following duties.  The designated officer shall delegate these
duties as may be necessary to ensure compliance with these
regulations.

11.4.1.1 receive requests for notification
from emergency medical care providers;

11.4.1.2 collect facts relating to the
circumstances under which the emergency medical care
provider may have been exposed;

11.4.1.3 forward requests for notification
to receiving medical facilities;
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11.4.1.4 report to the emergency medical
care provider findings provided by the receiving medical
facility; and

11.4.1.5 assist the emergency medical care
provider to take medically appropriate action if necessary.

11.4.2 Receiving medical facilities must register
with the Division of Public Health the name or office to
whom notification requests should be sent by an emergency
medical care provider and who is responsible for ensuring
compliance with this section.

11.4.3 If an emergency medical care provider
desires to be notified under this regulation, the officer
designated pursuant to 11.4.1 shall notify the receiving
medical facility within 24 hours after the patient is admitted
to or treated by the facility on a form that is prescribed or
approved by the State Board of Health.

11.5 Notification of Exposure to Air-borne
Pathogens

11.5.1 Notwithstanding any requirement of
11.4.3, a receiving medical facility must make notification
when an emergency medical care provider has been exposed
to an air-borne communicable disease pursuant to 11.3.2.2
and 11.3.3.2. Such notification shall occur as soon as
possible but not more that 48 hours after the exposure has
been determined and shall apply to any patient upon whom
such a determination has been made within 30 days after the
patient is admitted to or treated by the receiving medical
facility.

11.5.2 To determine if notification is necessary
pursuant to this section, a receiving medical facility must
review medical records of a patient infected with an air-
borne communicable disease to determine if care was
provided by an emergency medical care provider.  If medical
records do not so indicate, the receiving medical facility
shall assume that no notification is required.

11.6 Notification of Exposure when Requested
11.6.1 When a request for notification has been

made pursuant to 10.4.3, the receiving medical facility shall
attempt to determine if the patient is infected with a
communicable disease and if the emergency medical care
provider has or has not been exposed. Information provided
on the request for notification and medical records and
findings in possession of the receiving medical facility shall
be used to make this determination.  If a determination is
made within 30 days after the patient is admitted to or treated
by the receiving medical facility, the receiving medical
facility shall notify the officer designated pursuant to 10.4.1
as soon as possible but not more than 48 hours after the
determination.  The following information shall be provided
in the notification:

11.6.1.1 The date that the patient was
attended by the emergency medical care provider; 

11.6.1.2 Whether or not the emergency
medical care provider was exposed;

11.6.1.3 If the emergency medical care
provider was exposed, the communicable disease involved.

11.6.2 If, after expiration of the 30-day period
and because of insufficient information, the receiving
medical facility has not determined that the emergency
medical care provider has or has not been exposed to a
communicable disease, the receiving medical care facility
shall so notify the officer designated pursuant to Section
11.4.1 as soon as possible but not more than 48 hours after
expiration of the 30-day period.  The following information
shall be provided in the notification:

11.6.2.1 The date that the patient was
attended by the emergency medical care provider; 

11.6.2.2 That there is insufficient
information to determine if an exposure has occurred;

11.6.3 The receiving medical facility shall
provide to the Division of Public Health a copy of each form
completed pursuant to 11.4 which shall include information
about whether or not the patient is infected, and if the
emergency medical care provider is considered by the
receiving medical facility to have been exposed.

11.7 Manner of Notification
A receiving medical facility must make a good faith

effort, which is reasonably calculated based upon the health
risks, the need to maintain confidentiality, and the urgency of
intervention associated with the exposure, to expeditiously
notify the officer designated pursuant to 11.4.1. If
notification is by mail, and if, in the judgment of the
receiving medical facility the circumstances warrant, the
receiving medical facility shall ensure by telephone or other
appropriate means that the designated officer of the
emergency medical care provider has received notification.

11.8 Transfer of Patients
If, within the 30-day limitation defined in 11.5.1

and 11.6.1 a patient is transferred from a receiving medical
facility to a second receiving medical facility, the receiving
medical facility must provide the second facility with all
requests for notification made by emergency medical care
providers for that patient.  The second receiving medical
facility must make notification to the officer designated
pursuant to 11.4.1 if the facility determines within the
remaining part of the 30-day period that the patient is
infected and shall otherwise comply with these regulations.

11.9 Death of Patient
If, within the 30-day limitation defined in

11.5.1 and 11.6.1, a patient is transferred from a receiving
medical facility to a medical examiner, the receiving medical
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facility must provide the medical examiner with all requests
for notification made by emergency medical care providers
for that patient. The medical examiner must make
notification to the designated officer if the medical examiner
determines that the patient is infected with a communicable
disease, and shall otherwise comply with these regulations.

11.10 Testing of Patients for Infection
Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to

authorize or require a medical test of an emergency medical
care provider or patient for any infectious disease.

11.11 Confidentiality
All requests and notifications made pursuant to

these regulations shall be used solely for the purposes of
complying with these regulations and are otherwise
confidential.

11.0 Enforcement
11.1 Authorization

The Department of Health and Social Services or
the Director of the Division of Public Health or their
designated representatives are authorized to enforce these
regulations to accomplish the following:

11.1.1 To insure compliance of persons who
refuse to submit themselves or others for whom they are
responsible, including their animals, to necessary inspection,
examination, treatment, sacrifice of the animal, or
quarantine.

11.1.2 To insure coordination of actions of
individuals, local authorities, or state authorities in the
control of communicable disease.

11.1.3 To insure the reporting of notifiable
diseases or other disease conditions as required in these
Rules.

11.2Penalties
Except as otherwise provided by the Delaware

Code or this regulation, failure to comply with the
requirements of this regulation will be subject to prosecution
pursuant to 16 Del.C., §107.  The Department of Health and
Social Services may seek to enjoin violations of this
regulation.

APPENDIX I
NOTIFIABLE DISEASES

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) (S)
Lymphogranuloma Venereum (S)
Anthrax (T) Malaria
Botulism (T) Measles (T)
Brucellosis Meningitis (all types other
than

meningococcal)
Campylobacteriosis Meningococcal Infections
(all types ) (T)
Chancroid (S) Mumps (T)
Chlamydia trachomatis infection (S)Nosocomial Disease
Outbreak (T)
Cholera (T)
CryptosporidiosisPelvic Inflammatory Disease (resulting 
from gonococcal and/or chlamydial infections) (S)
CyclosporidiosisPertussis (T)
Diphtheria (T)Plague (T)
E. Coli  0157:H7 infection (T)Poliomyelitis (T)
EncephalitisPsittacosis
EhrlichiosisRabies (man, animal) (T)
Foodborne Disease Outbreaks (T)Reye Syndrome
GiardiasisRocky Mountain Spotted Fever
Gonococcal Infections (S)Rubella (T)
Granuloma Inguinale (S)Rubella (congenital) (T)
Hansen's Disease (Leprosy)Salmonellosis
Hantavirus infection (T)Shigellosis 
Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS)Streptococcal disease
(invasive group A) 
Hepatitis A (T)
Hepatitis B (S)Streptococcal toxic shock syndrome (STSS)
Syphilis (S)
Hepatitis C & unspecifiedSyphilis (congenital)  (T) (S)
Herpes (congenital) (S)Tetanus
Herpes (genital) (N) Toxic Shock Syndrome
HistoplasmosisTrichinosis
Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Tuberculosis
Human papillomavirus (genital warts) (N) Tularemia
Influenza  (N)Typhoid Fever (T)
Lead PoisoningVaccine Adverse Reactions
Legionnaires DiseaseVaricella (N)
LeptospirosisWaterborne Disease Outbreaks (T)
Lyme DiseaseYellow Fever (T)

(T) report by rapid means.
(N) report in number only when so requested
For all diseases not marked by (T) or (N):
(S) - sexually transmitted disease, report required in 1 day
Others - report required in 2 days

APPENDIX I
State of Delaware - List of Notifiable Diseases/Conditions 

AIDS (S)
Amoebiasis
Anthrax (T)
Arboviruses
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Babesiosis
Botulism (T)
Brucellosis (T)
Campylobacteriosis
Chancroid (S)
Chickenpox (Varicella)
Chlamydia (S)
Cholera (toxigenic Vibrio cholerae 01 or 0139) (T)
Coccidioidomycosis
Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease (T)
Cryptosporidiosis
Cyclosporiasis
Cytomegalovirus
Dengue Fever (T)
Diphtheria (T)
Enterhemorrhagic E.coli including but not limited to E.coli
0157:H7 (T)
Ehrlichiosis
Encephalitis
Enterococcus species, Vancomycin resistant (A)
ESBL resistance (Extended-Spectrum B-lactamases) (A)
Foodborne Disease Outbreak (T)
Giardiasis
Glanders (T)
Gonorrhea (S) 
Granuloma inguinale (S)
Guillain-Barre
Hansen's Disease (Leprosy)
Hantavirus (T)
Haemophilus influenzae, invasive
Hemolytic Uremic Syndrome (T)
Hepatitis A (T)
Hepatitis B
Hepatitis C
Hepatitis Other
Herpes, congenital (S)
Herpes, genital (S)
Histoplasmosis
HIV (S)
Human Papillomavirus (S)
Influenza
Influenza Associated Infant Mortality (T)
Kawasaki Syndrome
Lead Poisoning
Legionellosis
Leptospirosis
Listeriosis
Lyme Disease
Lymphogranuloma venereum (S)
Malaria 
Measles (T)

Melioidosis
Meningitis
Meningococcal Infections, all types (T)
Monkey Pox (T)
Mumps (T)
Norovirus
Nosocomial Disease Outbreak (T)
Pelvic Inflammatory Disease (N. gonorrhea, C. trachomatis,
or unspecified) (S)
Pertussis (T)
Plague (T)
Poliomyelitis (T)
Psittacosis
Q Fever
Rabies (man and animal) (T)
Reye Syndrome
Rheumatic Fever
Ricin Toxin (T)
Rickettsial Disease
Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever
Rubella (including congenital which is rapidly reportable)
Salmonellosis
Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) (T)
Shigatoxin Production
Shigellosis
Silicosis
Smallpox (T)
Staphylococcal Enterotoxin (T)
Staphylococcal aureus, Methicillin Resistant (MRSA) (A)
Staphylococcal aureus, Vancomycin Intermediate or
Resistant (VISA, VRSA) (T) (A)
Streptococcal Disease, invasive group A or B (T)
Streptococcus pneumoniae, invasive (sensitive and resistant)
(A)
Syphilis (S)
Tetanus (T)
Toxic Shock Syndrome (Streptococcal or Staphylococcal) 
Toxoplasmosis
Trichinellosis
Tuberculosis (T)
Tularemia (T)
Typhoid Fever (T)
Typhus Fever (endemic flea borne, louse borne, tick borne)
Vaccine Adverse Reaction
Vibrio, non-cholera
Viral Hemorrhagic Fevers (T)
Waterborne Disease Outbreaks (T)
Yellow Fever (T)
Yersiniosis
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(T) - report by rapid means (telephone, fax or other
electronic means) 
(S) - sexually transmitted disease, report required within 24
hours
(A) - Drug Resistant Organisms required to be reported
within 48 hours
Others - report required within 48 hours

APPENDIX II
DRUG RESISTANT ORGANISMS REQUIRED TO BE 

REPORTED

Staphylococcus aureus intermediate or resistance  to
Vancomycin (MIC >8ug/ml)

Streptococcus pneumoniae drug-resistant, invasive disease

APPENDIX II
Organisms and Samples to be sent to the Division of 

Public Health Laboratory

1. Clinical or hospital laboratories, or other facilities,
that presumptively identify or are unable to rule out the
following organisms shall send an isolate or specimen to the
Delaware Public Health Laboratory for testing immediately:

Brucella species
Burkholderia mallei
Burkholderia pseudomallei
Clostridium botulinum
Franciscella tularensis
Yersinia pestis
Bacillus anthracis

2. Any environmental sample deemed as credible
threats for harboring a toxin or a biological agent of
terrorism shall be sent to the Delaware Public Health
Laboratory for testing immediately upon identification:

3. Clinical specimens from patients potentially
exposed to a chemical agent of terrorism shall be sent to the
Public Health Laboratory for testing immediately upon
identification.

4. Clinical specimens from suspect human cases of the
following infections shall be sent to the Delaware Public
Health Laboratory for testing immediately upon
identification

Monkeypox
Variola (Smallpox)
Vaccinia
SARS

5. The following isolates from humans shall be sent to
the Delaware Public Health Laboratory for testing within 24
hours of identification:

Enterohemorrhagic E. coli, including 0157
Haemophilus influenzae, sterile sites
Mycobaterium tuberculosis
Listeria monocytogenes
Neisseria meningitidis, sterile sites
Salmonella species
Shigella species
Streptococcus pneumoniae, sterile sites, Penicillin

resistant
Staphylococcus aureus, sterile sites, Methicillin

resistant
Staphylococcus aureus, Vancomycin intermediate

or resistant (VISA, VRSA)
Vancomycin resistant Enterococci, (VRE) sterile

series
Vibrio cholerae and Non-cholerae

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Section 122(3).0 (16 Del.C. §122(3).0)

16 DE Admin. Code 4406

PUBLIC NOTICE

4406 Home Health Agencies (Licensure)

These regulations, “State of Delaware Regulations for
Home Health Agencies,” replace by revision the current
"State of Delaware Regulations for Home Health Agencies"
previously adopted on February 15, 1986.

Nature of the Proceedings

The proposed Delaware Regulations for Home Health
Agencies incorporate a myriad changes in the health care
delivery system in the last 17 years and the most recent
changes prompted by passage of HB 507 in June 2002.
Major changes include:

• Requirement that the Home Health Agency office
be located in Delaware;

• Requirement of a separate license for each office;
• Establishment of a 90-day probationary license;
• Addition of an “Order to Suspend” a license;
• Time restraint on reissue of a revoked license;
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• Addition of Care Management Plan language;
• Definition of and a procedure for change of

ownership;
• Involvement of a Registered Nurse for non-skilled

patients;
• Requirement for reporting of major adverse

incidents.

Notice of Public Hearing

The Office of Health Facilities Licensing and
Certification, Division of Public Health, Department of
Health and Social Services will hold a public hearing to
discuss the proposed Delaware Regulations for Home Health
Agencies on February 7, 2006 at 1:00 p.m., in the Public
Health Preparedness Training Center, Suite 4F, Blue Hen
Corporate Center, 655 S. Bay Road, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for
review by calling the following location:

Office of Health Facilities Licensing and
Certification

2055 Limestone Road, Suite 200
Wilmington, DE  19808
Telephone: (302) 995-8521

Anyone wishing to present his or her comments at this
hearing should contact Ms. Vanette Seals at (302) 995-8521
by February 6, 2006. Anyone wishing to submit written
comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral testimony
should submit such comments by February 8, 2006 to:

David P. Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, Delaware 19901

4406 Home Health Agencies (Licensure)

Part 1:  General Terms, Conditions and Requirements 
Definitions, Application and Licensure Actions

1.0 Definitions
1.1 The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, should have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Activities of Daily Living” The tasks for self-care
which are performed either independently, with supervision,
or with assistance.  Activities of daily living include
ambulating, transferring, grooming, bathing, dressing,
eating, and toileting.

“Aide” A non-licensed person (assistant, technician
or other designation used) who provides personal care or
home health aide services to an individual primarily in their
place of residence and (A) has at least one year of practical
experience in a hospital, nursing home, or home care setting;
or (B) has satisfactorily completed an appropriate home care
course which includes the training requirements contained
within these regulations; or (C) is a student nurse pursuing a
degree in nursing who has completed the clinical practicum
portion of their training.  

“Audiologist” An individual who is licensed to
practice audiology pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 37 and who
offers the services to the public under any title or description
of services incorporating the words "audiologist," "hearing
clinician," "hearing therapist," "aural rehabilitator" or any
other similar title or description of service.

“Audiology Aide” An individual who is certified
by the Council of Accreditation of Occupational Hearing
Conservationists pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 37 and who
performs services only under the direct supervision of an
audiologist licensed in this State.

“Branch Office” A separately licensed office
within the State which is located within fifty miles of the
parent agency and shares administrative/supervisory
functions with the parent.  The branch maintains patient and
employee records while patients and employees are active
with the agency.

“Bylaws” A set of rules adopted by a home health
agency for governing the agency’s operation.

“Caregivers” Those individuals employed by or
under contract to a home health agency to provide personal
care services or health care services to patients.

“Change of Ownership (CHOW)” A change in
the legal structure by which the agency is owned and
operated.

“Clinical Director” A physician or a registered
nurse who is sufficiently qualified to provide general
supervision and direction of the skilled services offered by
the home health agency.

“Companion” A person who provides social
interaction for an individual primarily in her/his place of
residence.  A companion may not provide hands-on personal
care to the individual.  A companion may provide such
services as cooking, housekeeping, errands, etc.

“Contractor” An entity or individual
(subcontractor, independent contractor or other designation
used) that does not meet the definition of employee, who
holds a valid business license and provides services for the
agency.

“Department” The Delaware Department of
Health and Social Services.
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“Dietitian” An individual who engages in the
provision of nutrition services pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 38.
The terms nutritionist and dietitian are used interchangeably.

“Director” A job-descriptive term used to identify
the individual appointed by the governing body to act on its
behalf in the overall management of the home health agency.
Job titles may include administrator, superintendent,
director, executive director, president, vice-president, and
executive vice-president. The director shall be one of the
following: a physician, a registered nurse, or an individual
with training or experience in health services,
administration, or public health, and with at least one year of
supervisory experience in home health care or related health
programs.

Division means the Delaware Division of Public
Health.

“Governing Body or Other Legal Authority”
The individual, partnership, agency, group, or corporation
designated to assume full legal responsibility for the policy
determination, management, operation, and financial
liability of the home health agency.

“Home Health Agency (HHA)” Any business
entity or sub-division thereof, whether public or private,
proprietary or not-for-profit, which provides, to an
individual primarily in their place of residence, directly or
through contract arrangements, to individuals in their home
or private residence (excluding residents of hospitals and
nursing homes), home care services.  Home health agencies
shall provide: either (1)  multiple services including two or
more of the following home health care services, one of
which must be either  licensed nursing, home health aide
services, physical therapy, speech pathology, occupational
therapy, or social services; and where at least one of these
services is licensed nursing services or home health aide
services; or (2) home health aide personal care services
exclusively. provided under appropriate supervision. Home
health agency does not include any visiting nurse service or
home health service conducted by and for those who rely
upon spiritual means through prayer alone for healing in
accordance with the tenets and practices of a registered
church or religious denomination.

“Home Health Aide” An aide who provides
personal care services and who may perform tasks delegated
by a licensed nurse as permitted by 24 Del.C. Ch. 19 non-
licensed person who (1) has at least one year of practical
experience in a hospital, nursing home, or home care setting;
or (2) has satisfactorily completed an appropriate home care
course which includes the training requirements contained
within these regulations; or (3) a student nurse pursuing a
degree in nursing who has completed the clinical practicum

portion of their training; and (4) provides personal and health
care services to an individual in their place of residence.

“Home Health Care Services” Services, provided
to an individual primarily in their place of residence, that
include but are not limited to:  licensed nursing services;
physical therapy services; speech therapy services;
audiology services; occupational therapy services;
nutritional services; social services; or, home health aide
services.

“Homemaker” A person who performs household
chores for an individual in her/his place of residence.
Household chores may include but are not necessarily
limited to housekeeping, meal preparation, and shopping.  A
homemaker may not provide hands-on personal care to the
individual.

“Immediate Jeopardy” A crisis situation in which
the health and safety of patients is at risk.  It is a deficient
practice which indicates an inability to furnish safe care and
services.

“License” shall mean A license issued by the
Department Division of Public Health.

Licensed Clinical Social Worker An individual
licensed pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 39.

“Licensed Independent Practitioner” An
advanced practice nurse or physician’s assistant licensed
pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 17 and 24 Del.C. Ch. 19.

“Licensee” The individual, corporation, or public
entity with whom rests the ultimate responsibility for
maintaining approved standards for the home health agency.

“Nurse” An individual who is currently licensed to
practice nursing pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 19.

“Nursing Services” The performance of services
pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 19.

“Occupational Therapist” An individual who is
currently licensed as such in this State to practice
occupational therapy pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 20 and who
offers the services to the public under any title incorporating
the words "occupational therapy," "occupational therapist"
or any similar title or description of occupational therapy
services.

“Occupational Therapist Assistant” anyone
working under the direction of a registered occupational
therapist; and (2) is a graduate of an Occupational Therapy
Assistant educational program approved by the American
occupational Therapy Association; and (3) has achieved a
satisfactory passing score on the National Examination
sponsored by the American Occupational Therapy
Association An individual licensed to assist in the practice of
occupational therapy pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 20, under the
supervision of an occupational therapist.
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“Office” The physical location in which the
business of the home health agency is conducted and in
which the records of personnel, contractors and patients of
the agency are stored.  The office shall be located in the State
of Delaware.

“Other Therapist” An individual who performs
therapy duties, other than physical, occupational, and
speech, and has completed a training program and, where
appropriate, is licensed by the State.

“Parent Agency” The agency located within the
State that develops and maintains administrative/supervisory
control of branch offices.  The parent agency is separately
licensed from the branch(es) and must be located within fifty
miles of any branch.

“Patient” The individual (client, consumer, or
other designation used) receiving home health agency
services as defined in this chapter.

“Patient Service Record” A written account of all
home health aide services provided to a patient by the home
health agency, as well as other pertinent information
necessary to provide care.

“Personal Care Aide” An aide who provides
personal care services.

“Personal Care Services” The provision of
services that do not require the judgment and skills of a
licensed nurse or other professional.  The services are
limited to individual assistance with/or supervision of
essential activities of daily living, such as eating, bathing,
grooming, dressing and ambulating, supervision of self-
administered medication, helping with prescribed exercises,
performing incidental household services, reporting changes
in patient's condition and completing reports and similar
services.  Personal care services do not include solely
companion or homemaker services. Personal care services
shall not be construed to mean the provision of medical,
nursing, dental, or mental health services.

“Physical Therapist” An individual who is
currently licensed as such in this State to practice physical
therapy pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 26.

“Physical Therapist Assistant” anyone working
under the direction of a qualified physical therapist An
individual who assists licensed physical therapists pursuant
to 24 Del.C. Ch. 26.

“Physician” An individual currently licensed to
practice medicine, surgery, or osteopathy in this State as such
by 24 Del.C. Ch. 17.

“Plan of Care” A written plan that specifies scope,
frequency and duration of services.

“Plan of Correction” A home health agency’s
written response to findings of regulatory non-compliance.
Plans must adhere to the format specified by the licensing

agency, must include acceptable timeframes in which
deficiencies will be corrected and must be approved by the
licensing agency.

Practical Nurse An individual who is currently
licensed as such in this State.

“Professional” A person currently licensed in the
State as a registered nurse, physician, physical therapist,
occupational therapist, speech therapist, dentist, dietitian,
social worker, respiratory care practitioner or psychologist.

“Professional Therapy” Those services provided
by a licensed professional in one of the following areas:
physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy,
audiology, or nutrition.

Registered Nurse An individual who is currently
licensed as such in this State.

“Representative” A person acting on behalf of the
patient under Delaware law.

Services Director One of the following: a
physician, registered nurse, or an alternate professional, who
is sufficiently qualified to provide general supervision and
direction of the personnel services offered by the home
health agency.

“Skilled Services” Those services provided
directly by a licensed professional for the purpose of
promoting, maintaining, or restoring the health of an
individual or to minimize the effects of injury, illness, or
disability.  Skilled services must be ordered by a physician.

“Social worker” An individual who has met the
requirements of a graduate curriculum, leading to a master's
degree, in a school of social work that is accredited by the
council on Social Work Education; or who has the
documented equivalent in education, training, and/or
experience.

“Speech Therapist” An individual who is
currently licensed as such in this State.

“Speech/Language Pathologist” An individual
who is currently licensed pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 37 and
who offers the services to the public under any title or
description of services incorporating the words "speech/
language pathologist," "speech pathologist," "language
pathologist," "speech and/or language therapist," "speech
and/or language correctionist," "speech and/or language
clinician," "voice therapist," "communicologist,"
"aphasiologist" or any other similar title or description of
service.

“Speech Pathology Aide” An individual who
meets minimum qualifications pursuant to 24 Del.C. Ch. 37,
which permit a speech pathology aide to assist speech/
language pathologists in their professional endeavors, but
only while under the direct supervision of a licensed speech/
language pathologist.
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“Supervision of Services” Authoritative
procedural guidance by a qualified person for the
accomplishment of a function or activity with initial
direction and periodic inspection of the actual act of
accomplishing the function or activity.

2.0 Licensingure-Application, Issuance and Renewal 
Requirements and Procedures

2.1 Interpretations General Requirements
2.1.1 Licenses Required. No person, private or

public organization, political subdivision, or other
governmental agency shall establish, conduct, or maintain in
this State any home health agency without first obtaining a
license from the Division of Public Health Department. No
application shall be approved and no license shall be issued
until representatives of the Division of Public Health have
conducted an inspection of the home health agency for
determination of compliance with these standards.

2.1.2 The term home health agency shall not be
used as a part of the name of any agency or organization in
this state, unless it has been so classified by the Division of
Public Health. A separate license shall be required for each
office maintained by a home health agency.

2.1.3 Effective Date and Term of License. A
license shall be effective for a twelve-month period
following date of issue and shall expire one year following
such date; however, a facility which has not been inspected
during that year may continue to operate under its existing
license until an inspection is made. A license issued under
this Act is not assignable or transferable from person to
person or from one location to another.

2.1.4 The license and is subject to suspension or
revocation at any time for failure to comply with this Act and
shall be posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed
premises.

2.1.4 Application. A person desiring to obtain a
license shall file with the Division of Public Health an
application on a form prescribed, prepared, and furnished by
the Division. The application must state the geographical
area in which the home health agency will provide services.
The agency will provide the name and address of each
officer, director, and owner or the home health agency
having an interest of ten percent or more.

2.1.5 Inspection. Each home health agency for
which a license has been issued shall be subject to inspection
at any time without prior notice by authorized
representatives of the Division of Public Health.

2.2 Separate Licenses for Offices Application Process
2.2.1 No separate licenses are required for

offices where the parent home health agency is located
within the State, however, these offices will be subject to

inspection by the licensing agency. All persons or entities
applying for a license shall submit a written statement of
intent to the Department describing the services to be offered
by the agency and requesting a licensure application from
the Department.

2.2.1.1 The issuance of an application form is
in no way a guarantee that the completed application will be
accepted or that a license will be issued by the Department.

2.2.1.2 Patients shall not be admitted to an
agency until a license has been issued.

2.2.1.3 Applicants shall not hold themselves
out to the public as being an agency until a license has been
issued.

2.2.2 Where a parent agency is located outside
the State and has offices located within the State, the office
shall be subject to State survey for licensing under these
regulations. Applicants shall submit to the Department the
following information:

2.2.2.1 The names, addresses and types of
facilities owned or managed by the applicant.

2.2.2.2 Identity of:
2.2.2.2.1 Each officer and director of

the corporation if the entity is organized as a corporation;
2.2.2.2.2 Each general partner or

managing member if the entity is organized as an
unincorporated entity;

2.2.2.2.3 The governing body;
2.2.2.2.4 Proof of not-for-profit status

if claiming tax-exempt status; and,
2.2.2.2.5 Any officers/directors,

partners, or managing members, or members of a governing
body who have a financial interest of five percent (5%) or
more in a licensee’s operation or related businesses.

2.2.2.3 When both a parent agency and its
offices are located outside the State in a jurisdiction with a
reciprocal agreement for home health licensure, the agency
shall be inspected at the discretion of the Division of Public
Health. In the absence of a reciprocal agreement, the agency
shall agree to a State survey for licensing the agency's
services to Delaware residents. Disclosure of any officer,
director, partner, employee, managing member, or member
of the governing body with a felony criminal record;

2.2.2.4 Name of the individual (director/
administrator/etc.) who is responsible for the management of
the home health agency;

2.2.2.5 Policy and procedure manuals as
requested;

2.2.2.6 A list of management personnel,
including qualifications;
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2.2.2.7 A plan for providing continuing
education and training for agency personnel or contractors
during the first year of operation; and

2.2.2.8 Any other information required by the
Department.

2.3 Issuance of Licenses
2.3.1 Probationary license

2.3.1.1 A probationary license shall be
granted for a period of ninety (90) calendar days to all home
health agencies:

2.3.1.1.1 Which have completed the
application process and whose policies and procedures have
demonstrated willingness to comply with the rules and
regulations pertaining to home health licensure; or

2.3.1.1.2 Which have experienced a
change of ownership (CHOW) and have completed the
application process demonstrating a willingness to continue
to comply with the rules and regulations pertaining to home
health licensure.

2.3.1.2 All home health agencies shall have
an on-site survey during the first ninety (90) days of
operation.

2.3.1.3 A probationary license will permit an
agency to establish a patient caseload and hire or contract
with caregivers.

2.3.1.4 A probationary license may not be
renewed.  A home health agency, at the time of an initial on-
site survey, must meet the definition of a home health agency
as contained within these regulations and must be in
operation and caring for patients.

2.3.1.5 Home health agencies which, at the
time of an on-site survey, do not meet the definition of a
home health agency or which are not in substantial
compliance with these regulations will not be granted a
license.

2.3.2 Provisional license
2.3.2.1 A provisional license shall be granted,

for a period of less than one year, to all home health
agencies:

2.3.2.1.1 Which are not in substantial
compliance with these rules and regulations; or

2.3.2.1.2 Which fail to renew a license
within the timeframe prescribed by these regulations.

2.3.2.2 The Department shall designate the
conditions and the time period under which a provisional
license is issued.

2.3.2.3 A provisional license may not be
renewed unless a Plan of Correction has been approved by
the Department and implemented by the home health
agency.

2.3.2.4 A license will not be granted after the
provisional licensure period to any agency that is not in
substantial compliance with these rules and regulations.

2.3.3 License
2.3.3.1 A license shall be granted, for a

period of one year (12 months) to all home health agencies
which are and remain in substantial compliance with these
rules and regulations.

2.3.3.2 A license shall be effective for a
twelve-month period following date of issue and shall expire
one year following the issue date, unless it is: modified to a
provisional, suspended or revoked, or surrendered prior to
the expiration date.

2.3.3.3 Existing home health agencies must
apply for licensure at least thirty (30) calendar days prior to
the expiration date of the license.

2.3.3.4 Home health agencies which have not
been inspected/surveyed during a licensure year may apply
for and be issued a new license until an inspection/survey is
completed.

2.3.3.5 A license may not be issued to a home
health agency which is not in substantial compliance with
these regulations or whose deficient practices present an
immediate threat to the health and safety of its patients.

3.0 Licensure-Revocation or Nonrenewal
3.1 Reasons for Action
2.4  Licensure Action

2.4.1 Division of Public Health refusals. The
Division of Public Health Department may deny an
application for, may refuse to renew a license, may issue an
order to suspend, may suspend, or may revoke a license
issued under this chapter or limit a license of a home health
agency, or may suspend admissions for good cause,
including but not limited to one of the following reasons:

2.4.1.1 A vViolation of this subpart, the act,
or of other statutes any of the provisions of these rules and
regulations, which threatens the health, safety, and welfare of
patients;

2.4.1.2 Failure of an owner to submit a
reasonable timetable for correction of deficiencies;

2.4.1.3 The existence of a pattern of cyclical
deficiencies which extends over a period of two or more
years;

2.4.1.4 Failure, by the holder of a provisional
license, to correct deficiencies in accordance with a
timetable submitted by the applicant and agreed upon by the
Division of Public Health Department;

2.4.1.5 Fraud or deceit in obtaining or
attempting to obtain a license.  Conduct or practices
detrimental to the welfare of the patients;
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2.4.1.6 Lending, borrowing, or using the
license of another, or in knowingly aiding or abetting the
improper granting of a license. Incompetence, negligence, or
misconduct in operating the home health agency or in
providing services to individuals;

2.4.1.7 Mistreating or abusing individuals
cared for by the home health agency;

2.4.1.8 Serious violation of statutes relating
to Medical Assistance or Medicare reimbursement for those
agencies who participate in those programs; or

2.4.1.9 Refusal to allow the Department
access to the agency or records for the purpose of conducting
inspections/surveys/investigations as deemed necessary by
the Department.

2.4.2 Order to suspend a license
2.4.2.1 The Department may immediately

suspend a license upon issuance of a written suspension
order if the health, safety, or well being of the patients is in
immediate jeopardy or imminent danger. The order shall
state the reason(s) for the suspension. Reasons to
immediately suspend a license shall include but are not
limited to:

2.4.2.1.1 Deficient practices which
present a threat to the health and safety of patients.

2.4.2.1.2 Fraud or deceit in obtaining a
license.

2.4.2.1.3 Permitting, aiding, abetting
or tolerating the commission of any illegal act by the agency
or any of its representatives.

2.4.2.1.4 Failure to follow established
policies and procedures resulting in abuse, neglect,
mistreatment, financial exploitation, an unsafe environment
or a violation of Delaware Code.

2.4.2.2 Within ten (10) working days of the
issuance of the suspension order, the Department shall hold a
hearing with the licensee, if requested by the licensee,
unless, prior to the hearing, the conditions upon which the
suspension were based have been corrected and a new
license issued.

2.4.3 Before any license issued under this
chapter is suspended (except as authorized by 2.4.2) or
revoked or before admissions are suspended:

2.4.3.1 The Department shall give ten (10)
calendar days written notice to the holder of the license,
during which he may appeal for a hearing before the
Secretary of the Department or her/his designee.

2.4.3.2 A licensee desiring a hearing before
the Secretary of the Department or her/his designee must
submit a written appeal to the Department.  The written
appeal must be received by the Department within ten (10)

calendar days of the licensee’s receipt of the notice of
adverse action.

2.4.4 Renewal of license after suspension
2.4.4.1 If and when the conditions upon

which the suspension of a license are based have been
corrected and after a proper inspection has been made, a new
license may be granted.

2.4.5 Application for license after termination of
rights to provide services as a home health agency.

2.4.5.1 Termination of rights to provide
services as a home health agency occurs secondary to:

2.4.5.1.1 Revocation of a license; or
2.4.5.1.2 Voluntary surrender of a

license in avoidance of revocation action.
2.4.5.2 Termination of rights to provide

services extends to:
2.4.5.2.1 Agency;
2.4.5.2.2 Owner(s);
2.4.5.2.3 Officers/Directors, partners,

managing members, or members of a governing body who
have a financial interest of five percent (5%) or more in the
home health agency; and

2.4.5.2.4 Corporation officers.
2.4.5.3 The application for license after

termination of rights to provide services as a home health
agency shall follow the procedure for initial licensure
application.

2.4.5.4 In addition to the licensure
application, the home health agency must also submit and
obtain approval of a detailed plan regarding how the agency
intends to correct the deficient practices that lead to the
original termination action. Submission of evidence
supporting compliance with the plan and cooperation with
Department monitoring during probationary and provisional
licensure status is required for reinstatement to full licensure
status.

2.4.5.5 Upon successful completion of the
probationary period, the home health agency will be granted
a provisional license for a period no less than one (1) year
but no greater than (2) years.  The provisional period will be
identified by the Department after having considered the
circumstances that created the original action for license
revocation.

2.4.5.6 A license will be granted to the home
health agency after the provisional licensure period if:

2.4.5.6.1 The agency has remained in
substantial compliance with these rules and regulations and

2.4.5.6.2 The agency fulfilled the
expectations of the detailed plan that was created to address
the deficient practices that gave rise to the license
termination action.
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2.4.5.7 A license will not be granted after the
probationary or provisional licensure period to any agency
that is not in substantial compliance with these rules and
regulations.

2.4.6 Disciplinary action
2.4.6.1 The Department may request the

Superior Court to impose a civil penalty of not more than
$10,000 for a violation of these regulations.  Each day a
violation continues constitutes a separate violation.

2.4.6.2 In lieu of seeking a civil penalty, the
Department, in its discretion, may impose an administrative
penalty of not more than $10,000 for a violation of these
regulations.  Each day a violation continues constitutes a
separate violation.

2.4.6.3 In determining the amount of any civil
or administrative penalty imposed, the Court or the
Department shall consider the following factors:

2.4.6.3.1 The seriousness of the
violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent and
gravity of the violation and the threat or potential threat to
the health or safety of a patient(s);

2.4.6.3.2 The history of violations
committed by the person or the person's affiliate(s),
employee(s), or controlling person(s);

2.4.6.3.3 The efforts made by the
agency to correct the violation(s);

2.4.6.3.4 The culpability of the person
or persons who commit the violation(s);

2.4.6.3.5 Any misrepresentation made
to the Department; and

2.4.6.3.6 Any other matter that affects
the health, safety or welfare of a patient(s).

2.5 Change of Ownership (CHOW)
2.5.1 A proposed CHOW must be reported to

the Department a minimum of thirty (30) calendar days prior
to the change.  The new agency must complete the steps
outlined within these regulations in order to be licensed.

2.5.2 A change of ownership occurs whenever
the ultimate legal authority for the responsibility of the
agency’s operation is transferred.

2.5.3 Transactions constituting a change of
ownership include but are not limited to:

2.5.3.1 Transfer of the agency’s legal title;
2.5.3.2 Lease of the agency’s operations;
2.5.3.3 Dissolution of any partnership that

owns, or owns a controlling interest in, the agency;
2.5.3.4 One partnership is replaced by

another through the removal, addition, or substitution of a
partner;

2.5.3.5 Removal of the general partner, or
general partners, if the agency is owned by a limited
partnership;

2.5.3.6 Merger of an agency owner (a
corporation) into another corporation where, after the
merger, the owner’s shares of capital stock are cancelled; or

2.5.3.7 The consolidation of a corporate
agency owner with one or more corporations.

2.5.4 Transactions which do not constitute a
change of ownership include, but are not limited to, the
following:

2.5.4.1 Changes in the membership of a
corporate board of directors or board of trustees;

2.5.4.2 Two or more corporations merge and
the originally licensed corporation survives;

2.5.4.3 Changes in the membership of a non-
profit corporation; or

2.5.4.4 Corporate stock transfers or sales.
2.6 Fees

2.6.1 Fees shall be in accordance with 16 Del.C.
§122 (3) o.

2.7 Inspection
2.7.1 A representative of the Department shall

periodically inspect every home health agency for which a
license has been issued under this chapter.  Inspections by
authorized representatives of the Department may occur at
any time and may be scheduled or unannounced.

2.8 Notice to Patients
2.8.1 The home health agency shall notify each

patient or the patient's authorized representative, the patient's
attending physician (as appropriate), and any third-party
payers at least thirty (30) calendar days before the voluntary
surrender of its license, or as directed under an order of
denial, revocation, or suspension of license issued by the
Division of Public Health Department.

2.9 Exclusions from Licensure
2.9.1 Those individuals who contract directly

with a patient to provide services for that individual patient.
The patient pays the individual contractor for services
rendered and neither the patient nor the individual pays an
agency on a periodic basis.

2.9.2 Those agencies that provide only durable
medical equipment and supplies for in-home use.

2.9.3 Those agencies that provide staff to
licensed home health agencies, such as temporary
employment/staffing agencies.

2.9.3.1 Temporary employment/staffing
agencies may not provide services under direct agreements
with patients.
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2.9.3.2 Temporary employment/staffing
agencies must be contractually bound to perform services
under the contracting providers’ direction and supervision.

2.9.3.3 Temporary staff working for a
licensed provider must meet the requirements of these
regulations.

2.9.4 Any visiting nurse service or home health
service conducted by and for those who rely upon spiritual
means through prayer alone for healing in accordance with
the tenets and practices of a registered church or religious
denomination.

2.9.5 An agency which solely provides services
as defined in 16 Del.C. Ch. 94.

2.9.6 An agency that provides companion or
homemaker services exclusively and does not provide
skilled or personal care services to patients.

3.3 Notice and Hearing Prior to Denial, Suspension, or
Revocation of License

3.3.1 Should the Division of Public Health
determine to deny, suspend, or revoke a license or place a
home health agency on probation, it shall send to the
applicant or licensee, by registered mail, a notice setting
forth the particular reasons for the determination. The denial,
suspension, probation, or revocation shall become final
thirty days after the mailing of the notice unless the applicant
or licensee, within such thirty-day period, shall give written
notice of his desire for a hearing. If the applicant or licensee
shall give such notice, he shall be given a hearing before the
Division of Public Health or its designee and may present
such evidence as may be proper. On the basis of such
evidence, the determination involved shall be affirmed or set
aside; and a copy of such reasons upon which it is based,
shall be sent by registered mail to the applicant or licensee.
The decision shall become final thirty days after it is mailed,
unless the applicant or licensee, within such thirty-day
period, appeals the decision to the appropriate Court of the
State.

3.4 Provisional Status
3.4.1 The Division of Public Health may issue a

provisional license for a period of less than one year in
instances where:

3.4.1.1 The home health agency is in
existence in Delaware at the time of promulgation of these
regulations and requires a reasonable time period during
which it may come into compliance with these regulations;

3.4.1.2 The home health agency has failed to
demonstrate substantial compliance with the regulations but
has indicated, in writing, its willingness to take the necessary
corrective action to achieve substantial compliance.

3.4.1.3 The Division of Public Health shall
designate the conditions and the time period under which a
provisional license is being issued.

3.4.2A provisional license may not be renewed
unless the deficiencies have been substantially corrected or a
satisfactory Plan for Correction Action is implemented.

Part 2 General Requirements for All home Health 
Agencies

3.0 General Requirements
3.1 The home health agency shall neither knowingly

admit, nor continue to care for, patients whose needs cannot
be met by the program.

3.2 All records maintained by the home health agency
shall at all times be open to inspection by the authorized
representatives of the Department.

3.3 No policies shall be adopted by the home health
agency which are in conflict with these regulations.

4.9 Rights of Patients/Clients
4.9.1 The home health agency must establish

written policies regarding the rights and responsibilities of
patients, and these policies and procedures are to be made
available to patient/family or patient/guardian. The rights of
patients shall be consistent with Title 16 and 31 of the
Delaware Code and the Division of Public Health
Regulations regarding Patient's Rights.

3.4 The home health agency shall establish written
policies regarding the rights and responsibilities of patients,
and these policies and procedures shall be made available to
authorized representatives of the Department.

3.5 The home health agency shall establish policies and
procedures that address the handling and documentation of
incidents, accidents, and medical emergencies.  Reports of
these events shall be kept on file at the agency.

4.8 Policies Which Control the Exposure of Patients
and Staff to Persons with Communicable Diseases

3.6 The home health agency shall establish policies
which control the exposure of patients and staff to persons
with communicable diseases and which require reporting of
all reportable communicable diseases to the Department.

3.7 A procedure, approved by the Department and
including the patients and families right to report concerns/
complaints to the Department at a telephone number
established for that purpose, shall be established to enable
patients and their families or representatives, if any, to have
their concerns addressed without fear of reprisal.

3.8 The home health agency shall advise the
Department in writing within fifteen (15) calendar days
following any change in the designation of the director/
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administrator or other administrative personnel within the
agency.

3.9 The home health agency may not establish separate
offices without first contacting and receiving approval from
the Department.

3.10 The home health agency may contract for
services to be provided to its patients.  Individuals providing
services under contract must meet the same requirements as
those persons employed directly by the agency.

3.11 The director or clinical director shall be
available at all times during the operating hours of the home
health agency.

3.12 There shall be a policy describing the
procedure to be followed in the event that the home health
agency is not able to provide services scheduled for any
particular day or time.  This policy shall include at a
minimum:

3.12.1 The procedure for contacting the patient
prior to the missed visit;

3.12.2 The procedure for attempts to find a
substitute caregiver; and

3.12.3 Documentation of the missed visit, patient
contact, and attempts to find a substitute caregiver.

3.13 The home health agency shall advise the
Department in writing at least thirty (30) calendar days prior
to any change in office location.

3.14 The home health agency must permit
photocopying of any records or other information by, or on
behalf of authorized representatives of the Department, as
necessary to determine or verify compliance with these
regulations.

8.0  Governing Authority/Administration
8.1 Written Bylaws for Service/Management

8.1.1 The governing body or other legal
authority -shall organize agency services to ensure quality
patient care. An organizational chart with a written
description of the organization, authorities, responsibilities,
accountabilities, and relationships shall be maintained which
shall include, but not limited to:

• . A description of each type of home health aide
service offered;

• . Policies and procedures pertaining to these
services;

• . A description of the system for the maintenance
of patient records.

8.2 Director
8.2.1 There shall be a director of the home

health agency who shall have responsibility for providing
administrative direction to the program at all times and for
carrying out the policies and procedures of the agency. The

authority, duties, and responsibilities of the director shall be
defined in writing and shall include at least:

8.2.1.1 organizing and administering the
home health agency;

8.2.1.2 Operating the agency through
authorization of expenditures;

8.2.1.3 Maintaining agency compliance with
applicable laws and regulations;

8.2.1.4 Preparing and submitting required
reports.

8.2.2 A qualified person shall be authorized to
act in the absence of the director.

8.3 Supervision on o Home Health Aide Services
8.3.1 The director shall appoint a qualified

employee as a "services director" to provide general
supervision and direction of the home health aide services
offered by the home health agency. The services director
shall be available at all times during operating hours of the
home health agency and shall participate in all activities
related to the services provided, including the qualifications
of personnel as related to their assigned duties. In his
absence, he shall appoint a similarly qualified designee.
8.4 Written Agreements for Purchase of Services

8.4.1 The home health agency shall establish a
written contractual arrangement for the provision of all
services which are not provided directly by the agency. At a
minimum, the contract shall:

8.4.1.1 Designate the home health aide
services which are to be provided (services provided are to
be within the scope and limitation set forth in the plan of
treatment and may not be altered in type, amount, frequency,
or duration, except in the case of adverse reaction or via
mutual agreement, by the home health agency and agency/
individual under contract);

8.4.1.2 Describe how the contracted
personnel are to be supervised;

8.4.1.3 Describe how home health aide
services will be controlled, coordinated, and evaluated by the
home health agency;

8.4.1.4 Describe the procedure for submitting
progress notes, scheduling of visits, and periodic patient
evaluations;

8.4.1.5 Specify the charges for specific home
health aide services provided under contract;

8.4.1.6 Specify that only the contracting
home health agency shall bill for services provided under
these written agreements and collect the applicable
deductible or co-insurance payments pertaining to those
contracted services;

8.4.1.7 Specify the period of time that the
contract shall be in effect and how frequently it shall be
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reviewed. The contract shall be reviewed at least annually
and renewed when necessary;

8.4.1.8 Insure that personnel and home health
aide services contracted meet the requirements specified in
these regulations for home health agency personnel and
home health aide services, including personnel,
qualifications, physical examinations, functions,
supervision, orientation, and in-service education;

8.4.1.9 Provide for the acceptance of patients
for home health aide services only by the parent agency.
Patients may not be admitted for home health aide services
by a contracted individual without prior review of the case
and acceptance of the patient by the home health agency in
accordance with agency policies.

8.5 Written Personnel Policies
8.5.1 The home health agency shall have written

policies on qualifications, responsibilities, and requirements
for employment for each classification of personnel.

8.5.2 The policies of the home health agency
shall, at a minimum, provide for:

8.5.2.1 wage and salary schedules;
8.5.2.2 eligibility for vacation, sick leave, and

other fringe benefits;
8.5.2.3 in-service training and orientation of

all personnel to the objectives, policies, and functions of the
agency;

8.5.2.4 job descriptions for each classification
of personnel.

8.5.3 The policies of the home health agency
shall be reviewed annually and revised as necessary.

8.6 Staff Training Plan
8.6.1 An inservice educational program shall be

provided on an ongoing basis, which shall include an
orientation program for staff personnel employed by the
agency and a continuing program for the development and
improvement of skills of such personnel. The inservice
program shall be geared to the needs of the sick, the
handicapped, and the aged and include patient care
procedures, agency policies, prevention and control of
infection, confidentiality of patient information, rights of
patients, and other related areas of patient care.

8.6.2 Records of attendance and subjects of
programs for the previous year shall be available for review
at the time of inspection.

8.7 Policies Which Control the Exposure of Patients
and Staff to Persons with Communicable Diseases

8.7.1 Minimum requirements for employee
physical examination:

8.7.1.1 Each person, including volunteers,
who is involved in the care of patients shall have a screening
test for tuberculosis as a prerequisite to employment. Either

a negative intradermal skin test or a chest x-ray showing no
evidence of active tuberculosis within the 90-days prior to
employment shall satisfy this requirement;

8.7.1.2 A report of this test shall be on file at
the agency of employment.

8.7.2 No person having a communicable disease
shall be permitted to give care or service. All reportable
communicable diseases shall be reported to the county
Health Officer.

8.7.3 The home health agency shall have a
written procedure to be followed in the event that a
communicable disease episode occurs. It is the responsibility
of the agency to:

8.7.3.1 See that necessary precautions are
taken;

8.7.3.2 All rules of the Division of Public
Health are followed so that there is minimum danger of
transmission to the patients under its care. This
responsibility includes staff personnel as well as patients.

8.8 Rights of Patients/Clients
8.8.1 The home health agency must establish

written policies regarding the rights and responsibilities of
patients, and these policies and procedures are to be made
available to patient/family or patient/guardian. The rights of
patients shall be consistent with Title 16 and 31 of the
Delaware Code and the State Division of Public Health
Regulations regarding Patient's Rights.

8.9 Program Review and Evaluation
8.9.1 The home health agency shall establish

policies and procedures for self-evaluation of its programs.
8.9.2 The home health agency shall review its

written policies at least annually, and revise them as
necessary. The results of this review shall be presented, in
writing, to the governing body.

4.0 Governing Authority/Administration/Personnel
4.1 Written Bylaws for Service/Management

4.1.1 The governing body or other legal
authority shall organize agency services to ensure quality
patient care. 

4.1.2 There shall be aAn organizational chart
with a written description of describing the organization,
authorities, responsibilities, accountabilities, and
relationships. shall be maintained which shall include, but
not limited to:

4.1.3 There shall be a A description of each type
of service offered;.

4.1.4 There shall be written pPolicies and
procedures pertaining to each service offered;.

4.1.5 There shall be A a description of the
system for the maintenance of patient records.
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4.1.6 Bylaws shall be reviewed annually by the
governing body and so dated.  Revisions shall be completed
as necessary.

4.2 Professional Advisory Group Director
4.2.1 An advisory group of professionals, to

include at least one physician, one registered nurse
(preferably with home health and/or public health
experience), and representatives from other professional
disciplines, shall be established. Included in the foregoing
should be at least one member who is neither an owner nor
an employee of the home health agency. The advisory
group's responsibility is to review and advise annually the
agency's policies governing scope of services offered,
admission and discharge policies, medical supervision and
plans of treatment, emergency care, clinical records, and
program evaluations. There shall be a full-time agency
director. of the home health agency who shall have
responsibility for providing administrative direction to the
program at all times and for carrying out the policies and
procedures of the agency. 

4.2.2 The director must have training and
experience in health or personal care services administration
and at least one (1) year of supervisory or administrative
experience in related health or personal care services
programs.

4.2.3 The director shall have full authority and
responsibility to plan, staff, direct, and implement the
programs and manage the affairs of the agency.

4.2.4 The authority, duties and responsibilities
of the director shall be defined in writing and shall include at
least but not be limited to:

4.2.4.1 organizing and administering the
home health agency Interpretation and execution of the
policies of the home health agency;

4.2.4.2 operating the agency through
authorization of expenditures Program planning, budgeting,
management and evaluation;

4.2.4.3 Maintainingenance of the agency’s
compliance with applicable laws and licensure regulations
and standards; and

4.2.4.4 Preparingation and submittingssion of
required reports; and

4.2.4.5 Distribution of a written plan for the
delegation of administrative responsibilities and functions in
the absence of the director.

4.3.2 A qualified person shall be authorized to
act in the absence of the director.

4.3 All home health agency services must be
supervised by a registered nurse.  Supervision of services
must be accomplished and documented at least every ninety
(90) calendar days.

4.4 Written Agreements for Purchase of Services
4.5.1The home health agency shall establish a

written contractual arrangement for the provision of all
services which are not provided directly by the agency. At a
minimum, the contract shall:

4.5.1.1 Designate the services which are to be
provided (services provided are to be within the scope and
limitation set forth in the plan of treatment and may not be
altered in type, amount, frequency, or duration, except in the
case of adverse reaction or via mutual agreement, by the
home health agency and agency/individual under contract);

4.5.1.2 Describe how the contracted
personnel are to be administratively or professionally
supervised, or both;

4.5.1.3 Describe how services will be
controlled, coordinated, and evaluated by the home health
agency;

4.5.1.4 Describe the procedure for submitting
clinical and progress notes, scheduling of visits, and periodic
patient evaluation;

4.5.1.5 Specify the charges for specific
services provided under contract;

4.5.1.6 Specify that only the contracting
home health agency shall bill for services provided under
these written agreements and collect the applicable
deductible or co-insurance payments pertaining to those
contracted services;

4.5.1.7 Specify the period of time that the
contract shall be in effect and how frequently it shall be
reviewed. The contract shall be reviewed at least annually
and renewed when necessary;

4.5.1.8 Insure that personnel and services
contracted-meet the requirements specified in these
regulations for home health agency personnel and services,
including licensure, personnel, qualifications, physical
examinations, functions, supervision, orientation, in-service
education, and attendance at case conferences;

4.5.1.9 Provide for the acceptance of patients
for home health services only by the parent agency. Patients
may not be admitted for home health service by a contracted
individual without prior review of the case and acceptance of
the patient by the home health agency in accordance with
agency policies.

4.4.1 The home health agency maintains
responsibility for all services provided to the patient.

4.4.2 The home health agency shall establish a
written contractual arrangement with a contractor for the
provision of all services which are not provided directly by
the agency.

4.4.3 Services provided by the home health
agency through arrangements with a contractor agency or
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individual shall be set forth in a written contract which
clearly specifies:

4.4.3.1 That the patient’s contract for care is
with the home health agency;

4.4.3.2 The services to be provided by the
contractor;

4.4.3.3 The necessity to conform to all home
health agency policies;

4.4.3.4 The procedure for submitting clinical
and progress notes, scheduling visits, periodic patient
evaluation, and determining charges and reimbursement;

4.4.3.5 The procedure for annual assurance of
clinical competence of all individuals utilized under
contract;

4.4.3.6 The procedure for supervision of
services of the contracted individuals;

4.4.3.7 That all payments by the patient for
services rendered shall be made directly to the agency or its
billing representative and no payments shall be made to or in
the name of contractors of the agency;

4.4.3.8 That patients are accepted only by the
home health agency.  Patients may not be admitted for
services by a contracted individual without prior review of
the case and acceptance of the patient by the home health
agency in accordance with agency policies; and

4.4.3.9 That the written contractual
arrangement must contain a renewal clause or be renewed
annually.

4.5 Written Personnel  Policies
4.5.1 The home health agency shall have written

policies on regarding qualifications, responsibilities, and
requirements for employment/referral for each job
classification of personnel, including licensure where
required.

4.6.2 The policies of the home health agency
shall, at a minimum, provide for:

4.6.2.1 wage and salary schedules;
4.6.2.2 eligibility for vacation, sick leave, and

other fringe benefits;
4.6.2.3 in-service training and orientation of

all personnel to the objectives, policies, and functions of the
agency;

4.6.2.4 job descriptions for each classification
of personnel.

4.5.2 The written policies shall include but not
be limited to:

4.5.2.1 Pre-employment/referral
requirements;

4.5.2.2 Position descriptions;
4.5.2.3 Orientation policy and procedure for

all employees and contractors;

4.5.2.4 Inservice education policy;
4.5.2.5 Annual performance review and

competency testing policy and procedure; and
4.5.2.6 Program review and evaluation - self-

evaluation of its program.
4.10.1 The home health agency shall establish

policies and procedures for self-evaluation of its programs.
4.10.2 The home health agency shall review its

written policies at least annually, and revise them as
necessary. The results of this review shall be presented, in
writing, to the professional advisory group and to the
governing body.

4.5.3 The Policies of the home health agency
shall be reviewed and dated annually and revised as
necessary.

4.6 Employee/Contractor Records
4.6.1 Records of each employee/contractor shall

be kept current and available upon request by authorized
representatives of the Department.

4.6.2 For individuals utilized via contract with
another agency, the home health agency shall obtain, upon
request, any records as required by the Department.

4.6.3 For all individuals employed directly, the
agency shall maintain individual personnel records which
shall contain at least:

4.6.3.1 Written verification of compliance
with pre-employment requirements;

4.6.3.2 Documentation of clinical
competence;

4.6.3.3 Evidence of current professional
licensure, registration, or certification as appropriate;

4.6.3.4 Educational preparation and work
history;

4.6.3.5 Written performance evaluations
(annually); and

4.6.3.6 A letter of appointment specifying
conditions of employment.

4.6.4 For all individual contractors, the agency
shall maintain individual records which shall contain at least:

4.6.4.1 Written verification of compliance
with requirements at Section 4.7;

4.6.4.2 Documentation of clinical
competence;

4.6.4.3 Evidence of current business license,
AND current licensure, registration, or certification as
appropriate;

4.6.4.4 Educational preparation and work
history;

4.6.4.5 Written performance reviews
(annually); and
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4.6.4.6 A signed contract specifying
conditions of referral to potential patients.

4.7 Employment Practices
4.7.1 Home health agencies must comply with

special employment practices relating to health care and
child care facilities:

4.7.1.1 19 Del.C. §708.
4.7.1.2 11 Del.C. §8563.
4.7.1.3 11 Del.C. §8564.
4.7.1.4 Regulations regarding same as

promulgated by the Department of Labor.
4.7.2 Special employment practices relating to

home health agencies and private residences:
4.7.2.1 16 Del.C. §1145.
4.7.2.2 16 Del.C. §1146.
4.7.2.3 Regulations regarding same as

promulgated by the Department.
4.7.3 Health History

4.7.3.1 All new employees/contractors shall
be required to have a physical examination prior to providing
care.

4.7.3.1.1 The physical examination
must have been completed within 3 months prior to
employment/referral.

4.7.3.1.2 A copy of the physical
examination shall be maintained in individual files.

4.7.3.2 Minimum requirements for
tuberculosis (TB) testing are those currently recommended
by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention of the
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  Testing
must be completed within ninety (90) calendar days prior to
an employee/contractor/volunteer providing care and
annually thereafter.

4.7.3.2.1 No person found to have
active TB in an infectious stage shall be permitted to give
care or service to patients.

4.7.3.2.2 Any person having a positive
skin test but a negative chest X-ray must complete a
statement annually attesting that they have experienced no
symptoms which may indicate active TB infection.

4.7.3.2.3 A report of all TB test results
and all attestation statements shall be on file at the home
health agency.

4.8.1 Minimum requirements for employee
physical examination:

4.8.1.1 Each person, including volunteers,
who is involved in the care of patients shall have a screening
test for tuberculosis as a prerequisite to employment. Either
a negative intradermal skin test or a chest x-ray showing no
evidence of active tuberculosis within the 90-days prior to
employment shall satisfy this requirement;

4.8.1.2 A report of this test shall be on file at
the agency of employment.

4.8.2No person having a communicable disease
shall be permitted to give care or service. All reportable
communicable diseases shall be reported to the County
Health Officer.

4.8.3The home health agency shall have a written
procedure to be followed in the event that a communicable
disease episode occurs. It is the responsibility of the agency
to:

4.8.3.1 See that necessary precautions are
taken;

4.8.3.2 All rules of the Division of Public
Health are followed so that there is minimum danger of
transmission to the patients under its care. This
responsibility includes staff personnel as well as patients.

4.8 Staff Development
4.8.1 An orientation/training program should be

based on an instruction plan that includes learning
objectives, clinical content and minimum acceptable
performance standards.

4.8.2 All employees/contractors are required to
complete an orientation program which shall include but not
be limited to:

4.8.2.1 Organizational structure of the
agency;

4.8.2.2 Agency patient care policies and
procedures;

4.8.2.3 Philosophy of patient care;
4.8.2.4 Description of patient population and

geographic location served;
4.8.2.5 Patient rights;
4.8.2.6 Agency personnel and administrative

policies;
4.8.2.7 Job description; and
4.8.2.8 Applicable state regulations

governing the delivery of home health care services.
4.8.3 All newly hired/contracted aides shall be

required to complete 40 hours of orientation which shall
include instruction and supervised practicum and which
addresses:

4.8.3.1 Orientation requirements noted
above;

4.8.3.2 Personal care services;
4.8.3.3 Principles of good nutrition;
4.8.3.4 Process of growth, development, and

aging;
4.8.3.5 Principles of infection control;
4.8.3.6 Observation, reporting, and

documentation of patient status;
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4.8.3.7 Maintaining a clean, safe, and healthy
environment;

4.8.3.8 Maintaining a least restrictive
environment;

4.8.3.9 Verbal/non-verbal communication
skills;

4.8.3.10 Principles of body mechanics; and
4.8.3.11 The needs of the elderly and persons

with disabilities.
4.8.3.12 Aides who experience a break in

service with an agency for less than two (2) calendar years
will not be expected to repeat the orientation.

4.8.4 Ongoing staff development is required to
maintain and improve the skills of the caregiver. Aides shall
attend at least twelve (12) hours annually of staff
development activities which shall consist of in-service
training programs, workshops, or conferences related to
home health care or specific needs of patients and which
shall include but not be limited to:

4.8.4.1 Instruction in how to assist patients to
achieve maximum self-reliance through re-learning and
modifying activities of daily living;

4.8.4.2 Principles of good nutrition;
4.8.4.3 Meal planning, food purchasing, and

preparation of meals, including special diets;
4.8.4.4 Information on the emotional and

physical problems accompanying illness, disability or aging;
4.8.4.5 Principles and practices in

maintaining a clean, healthy, pleasant and safe environment
that encourages morale building and self-help;

4.8.4.6 Items requiring referral to the home
health agency, including changes in the patient's condition or
family situation;

4.8.4.7 Observation, reporting, and
documentation of patient status;

4.8.4.8 Policies and objectives of the agency;
4.8.4.9 Confidentiality of patient information;
4.8.4.10 Patient rights;
4.8.4.11 Principles of infection control;
4.8.4.12 Verbal/non-verbal

communication skills; and
4.8.4.13 Principles of body mechanics.

4.8.5 Documentation of orientation and
continuing education must include the date(s), content, and
name and title of the person providing the orientation.

4.8.6 It is the responsibility of the home health
agency to ensure that employees/contractors are proficient to
carry out the care assigned in a safe, effective, and efficient
manner.

4.8.7 All aides must pass a competency
evaluation test prior to providing care to patients.

4.8.8 The time allotted for training shall be
sufficient to foster safe and skillful services to the patient.

4.8.9 Attendance records must be kept for all
orientation and continuing education programs.

4.7 Staff Training Plan
4.7.1 An inservice educational program shall be

provided on an ongoing basis, which shall include an
orientation program for staff personnel employed by the
agency and a continuing program for the development and
improvement of skills of such personnel. The inservice
program shall be geared to the needs of the sick, the
handicapped, and the aged and include patient care
procedures, agency policies, prevention and control of
infection, confidentiality of patient information, rights of
patients, and other related areas of patient care.

4.7.2Records of attendance and subjects of
programs for the previous year shall be available for review
at the time of inspection.

9.0 Patient Care Management
9.1 Admission, Transfer and Discharge Policies

9.1.1 The agency shall have written policies
covering the scope and limitation of home health aide
services. The policies established by the agency shall include
conditions for admission, transfer, discharge, and continuing
care of clients.

9.2 Patient Plan of Treatment and Review
9.2.1 A written home health aide care plan shall

be developed with the appropriate supervisor for each home
care patient. The patient care plan shall include reference to
at least the following:

9.2.2.1 types of aide services and frequency
of services to be provided, including any diet, procedures,
and transportation required;

9.2.2.2 functional limitations of the patient;
9.2.2.3 activities permitted;
9.2.2.4 safety measures required to protect

the patient from injury.
9.3 Coordination of Pry Patient Services

9.3.1 All personnel within the same agency
providing services maintain liaison through the home health
aide supervisor to assure that their efforts effectively
complement one another and support the objective outlined
in the plan of treatment.

10.0 Patient Services
10.1 Home Health Aides/Duties. Supervision

10.1.1 Home health aides are selected, trained,
and assigned under appropriate supervision to provide
primarily personal care duties for the patient.

10.2 Home Health Aides/Training
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10.2.1 Training Requirements for Home Health
Aides. Aides shall be offered a quarterly, structured program
of training. The time allotted for training shall be sufficient
to foster safe and skillful services to the patient. During the
course of a year, the agency training program must include at
a minimum:

10.2.1.1 the role of the home health aide as a
member of the professional health services team;

10.2.1.2 instruction and supervised practice in
personal care services of the sick at home, with major
attention being given to personal hygiene and activities of
daily living;

10.2.1.3 instruction in how to assist patients to
achieve maximum self-reliance through re-learning and
modifying activities of daily living;

10.2.1.4 principles of good nutrition;
10.2.1.5 meal planning, food purchasing, and

preparation of meals, including special diets;
10.2.1.6 general information on the processes

of growth, development, and aging;
10.2.1.7 information on the emotional and

physical problems accompanying illness;
10.2.1.8 principles and practices in

maintaining a clean, healthy, and safe environment as well as
a pleasant one that encourages morale building and self-help;

10.2.1.9 items requiring referral to the nurse or
supervisor in the home health agency, including changes in
the patient's condition or family situation;

10.2.1.10record keeping, when applicable;
10.2.1.11policies and objectives of the agency;
10.2.1.12information concerning the duties and

responsibilities of a home health aide;
10.2.1.13ethical behavior, confidentiality of

information, and patient's rights.

5.0 Patient Care Management
5.1 Admission

5.1.1 The home health agency shall have written
policies governing referrals received, admission of patients
to agency services, delivery of those services and discharge
of patients.

5.1.2 The admission policies shall be discussed
with each patient entering the program, and their
representative, if any.

5.1.3 The home health agency shall only admit
those individuals whose needs can be met by the agency.

5.1.4 There shall be a written agreement
between the patient and the home health agency.  The
agreement shall:

5.1.4.1 Specify the services to be provided by
the agency, including but not limited to: scheduled days,

transportation agreements as appropriate, emergency
procedures and conditions for discharge and appeal.

5.1.4.2 Specify the procedure to be followed
when the agency is not able to keep a scheduled patient visit.

5.1.4.3 Specify financial arrangements which
shall minimally include:

5.1.4.3.1 A description of services
purchased and the associated cost;

5.1.4.3.2 An acceptable method of
payment(s) for these services;

5.1.4.3.3 An outline of the billing
procedures; and

5.1.4.3.4 That all payments by the
patient for services rendered shall be made directly to the
agency or its billing representative and no payments shall be
made to or in the name of individual employees/contractors
of the agency.

5.1.4.4 Be signed by the patient, if he is able,
and representative, if any, and the representative of the home
health agency.

5.1.4.5 Be given to the patient and
representative, if any, and a copy shall be kept at the agency
in the patient record.

5.1.4.6 Be reviewed and updated as necessary
to reflect any change in the services or the financial
arrangements.

5.2 Assessment
5.2.1 An initial assessment of the patient must

be performed by a registered nurse (or other appropriate
licensed health care professional for therapy services).

5.2.2 The initial assessment must be performed
in the patient’s residence prior to or at the time that home
health services are initially provided to the patient.  The
assessment must determine whether the agency has the
ability to provide the necessary services in a safe manner.

5.2.3 The assessment shall include, at a
minimum, a description of the patient’s:

5.2.3.1 Physical condition, including ability
to perform activities of daily living and sensory limitations;

5.2.3.2 Social situation, including living
arrangements and the availability of family and community
support; and

5.2.3.3 Mental status, including any cognitive
impairment and known psychiatric, emotional, and
behavioral problems.

5.2.4 Patient reassessments and monitoring
occur at regular intervals based upon the patient’s condition
and needs, but no less often than every ninety (90) calendar
days.  A registered nurse must participate in the
reassessment and monitoring of the patient.
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5.2.5 A reassessment shall be conducted when
the needs of the patient change which indicate a revision to
the plan of care is needed.

5.2.6 The initial assessment and reassessments
shall become a permanent part of the patient’s record.

5.3 Plan of Care
5.3.1 The home health agency must provide

services in accordance with a written plan of care developed
under the supervision of a registered nurse (See Section 10.1
for plan of care requirements for agencies providing skilled
services).

5.3.2 A plan of care is developed on admission
based upon the initial assessment of the patient.

5.3.3 The plan of care is reviewed no less often
than every ninety (90) calendar days and revised as
necessary based on the reassessment performed by the
registered nurse (or qualified professional of the appropriate
discipline).

5.3.4 All personnel and contractors providing
services as documented in the plan of care maintain liaison
to assure that their efforts effectively complement one
another and support the objective(s) outlined in the plan of
care.

11.0 Patient Service Records
11.1 Contents. A patient service record is

maintained in accordance with accepted standards and
contains:

11.1.1 Home health aide services request data to
include: data received, patient's name/address/telephone
number, relative/contact person (where applicable), living
arrangements, personal data-age/height/weight/sex, physical
data-hearing/vision/speech/other impairments, diagnosis/
history, home health aide activities, and documentation for
scheduling/estimated duration of service;

11.1.2 Home health aide services date to include:
date service provided, hours of service provided, home
health aides name, types of activities provided, and
observations/problems/comments;

11.1.3 A home health aide service discharge
statement.

11.2Record Review Period
11.2.1 The plan of treatment should be reviewed

by the home health aide's supervisor on a regular basis with a
supervisory visit made to the patient at least quarterly. A
report of the supervisory visit should be kept with the
patient's service record.

11.3 Transfer of Records.
11.3.1 Proper mechanisms for the timely transfer

of patient service record information upon request from duly
authorized persons and organizations.

11.4 Storage/Retention
11.4.1 Records shall be maintained by the agency

for a period of at least three years following the date of
discharge and shall be safeguarded against loss or
unauthorized use.

11.5 Protection of Records
11.5.1 Each agency shall establish policies and

procedures to govern the use and removal of records and
determine the conditions for release of information in
accordance with statutory provisions pertaining to
confidentiality. Patient's written consent is required for
release of information not authorized by law.

5.4 Records and Reports
5.4.1 There shall be a separate record

maintained at the home health agency for each patient which
shall contain:

5.4.1.1 Admission record: Including patient’s
name, birth date, home address, identification numbers, such
as social security, Medicaid, Medicare, date of admission;
physician’s name, address and telephone number; names,
addresses and telephone numbers of family members,
friends, or other designated people to be contacted in the
event of illness or an emergency;

5.4.1.2 Referral Form and Request for
Services Form;

5.4.1.3 Assessment (initial and
reassessments);

5.4.1.4 Individual plan of care (initial and
reviews) and revisions;

5.4.1.5 Progress notes, chronological and
timely;

5.4.1.6 Advance health-care directive form
that complies with 16 Del.C. Ch. 25, a statement that a copy
of the advance health-care directive form has been
requested, or a statement that none has been signed;

5.4.1.7 A copy of the written agreement
between the patient and the home health agency including
any updates made to the original reflecting changes in
services or arrangements;

5.4.1.8 Written acknowledgment that the
patient or the patient’s representative has been fully
informed of the patient’s rights; and

5.4.1.9 A discharge summary.
5.4.2 Aide notes must contain the following

information:
5.4.2.1 Date(s) on which service(s) are

provided;
5.4.2.2 Hour(s) of service(s) provided;
5.4.2.3 Type(s) of activity provided; and
5.4.2.4 Observations/problems/comments.
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5.4.3 All notes written in the patient’s record
must be signed and dated on the day that the service is
rendered.

5.4.4 All notes must be incorporated into the
patient’s record no less often than weekly.

5.4.5 All patients’ records shall be maintained in
accordance with professional standards.

5.4.6 All patient records shall be available for
review by authorized representatives of the Department and
to legally authorized persons; otherwise patient records shall
be held confidential.  The consent of the patient or her/his
representative if the patient is incapable of making decisions
shall be obtained before any personal information is released
from her/his records as authorized by these regulations or
Delaware law.

5.4.7 Computerized patient records must be
printed by the agency as requested by authorized
representatives of the Department.

5.4.8 The home health agency records shall be
retained in a retrievable form until destroyed.

5.4.8.1 Records of adults (18 years of age and
older) shall be retained for a minimum of six (6) years after
the last date of service before being destroyed.

5.4.8.2 Records of minors (less than 18 years
of age) shall be retained for a minimum of six (6) years after
the patient reaches eighteen (18) years of age.

5.4.8.3 All records must be disposed of by
shredding, burning, or other similar protective measure in
order to preserve the patients’ rights of confidentiality.

5.4.8.4 Documentation of record destruction
must be maintained by the home health agency.

5.4.9 Records shall be protected from loss,
damage, and unauthorized use.

5.4.10 All notes and reports in the patient’s
record shall be legibly written in ink (or typewritten), dated
and signed by the recording person with her/his full name
and title.

5.4.11 The home health agency must develop
acceptable policies for authentication of any computerized
records.

5.4.12 The agency must have written policies
regarding the use and removal of records and the conditions
for release of information.  The patient’s written consent
must be required for release of information not authorized by
law.

5.4.13 Report of Major Adverse Incidents
5.4.13.1 The home health agency must

report all major adverse incidents involving a patient to the
Department in addition to other reporting requirements
required by law.

5.4.13.2 A major adverse incident
includes but is not limited to:

5.4.13.2.1 Suspected abuse, neglect,
mistreatment, financial exploitation, solicitation or
harassment;

5.4.13.2.2 An accident that causes
injury to a patient;

5.4.13.2.3 A medication error with the
potential to result in adverse health outcomes for the patient;
or

5.4.13.2.4 The unexpected death of a
patient.

5.4.13.3 Major adverse incidents must be
reported within five (5) calendar days of occurrence or
within five (5) calendar days of the date that the agency first
became aware of the incident.

5.5 Discharge
5.5.1 The patient and her/his representative, if

any, shall be informed of and participate in discharge
planning.

5.5.2 The home health agency shall develop a
written plan of discharge which includes a summary of
services provided and outlines the services needed by the
patient upon discharge.

5.5.3 When discharging a patient who does not
wish to be discharged, a minimum of two (2) weeks notice
will be provided to permit the patient to obtain an alternate
service provider.  Exceptions to the two (2) week notice
provision would include:

5.5.3.1 The discharge of patients when care
goals have been met.

5.5.3.2 The discharge of patients when care
needs undergo a change which necessitates transfer to a
higher level of care and for whom a new discharge plan
needs to be developed.

5.5.3.3 The discharge of patients when there
is documented non-compliance with the plan of care or the
admission agreement (including, but not limited to, non-
payment of justified charges).

5.5.3.4 The discharge of patients when
activities or circumstances in the home jeopardize the
welfare and safety of the home health agency caregiver.

6.0 Patient Rights
6.1 The home health agency shall establish and

implement policies and procedures regarding the rights of
patients.

6.2 The home health agency must provide the patient
with a written notice of the patient’s rights during the initial
assessment visit or before initiation of care.

6.3 Each patient shall have the right to:
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6.3.1 Be treated with courtesy, consideration,
respect, and dignity;

6.3.2 Be encouraged and supported in
maintaining one’s independence to the extent that conditions
and circumstances permit, and to be involved in a program
of services designed to promote personal independence;

6.3.3 Self-determination and choice, including
the opportunity to participate in developing one’s plan of
care;

6.3.4 Privacy and confidentiality;
6.3.5 Be protected from abuse, neglect,

mistreatment, financial exploitation, solicitation and
harassment;

6.3.6 Voice grievances without discrimination or
reprisal;

6.3.7 Be fully informed, as evidenced by the
patient’s written acknowledgment of these rights, and of all
rules and regulations regarding patient conduct and
responsibilities;

6.3.8 Be fully informed, at the time of admission
into the program, of services and activities available and
related charges;

6.3.9 Be served by individuals who are properly
trained and competent to perform their duties; and

6.3.10 Refuse care and to be informed of possible
health consequences of his refusal.

7.0 Quality Improvement
7.1 Each home health agency shall develop and

implement a documented ongoing quality improvement
program.  The program shall include at a minimum:

7.1.1 An internal monitoring process that tracks
performance measures;

7.1.2 A review of the program’s goals and
objectives at least annually;

7.1.3 A review of the grievance/complaint
process;

7.1.4 A review of all patient deaths;
7.1.5 A review of all medication errors;
7.1.6 A review of actions taken to address

identified issues; and
7.1.7 A process to monitor the satisfaction of the

patients or their representatives with the program.

8.0 Insurance and Bonding
8.1 The home health agency shall have appropriate

insurance coverage in force to compensate patients for
injuries and losses resulting from services provided by the
agency.

8.2 The following types and minimum amounts of
coverage shall be in force at all times:

8.2.1 Blanket malpractice insurance for all
professional employees/contractors:

8.2.1.1 $1 million per incident; and
8.2.1.2 $3 million aggregate.

8.2.2 General liability insurance covering
personal property damages, bodily injury, libel and slander:

8.2.2.1 $1 million comprehensive general
liability per occurrence; and

8.2.2.2 $500,000 single limit coverage.
8.2.3 Performance bond of $50,000 for those

agencies utilizing only contractors as caregivers.

PART 3 Agencies Providing Exclusively Home Health 
Aides Services to Patients Consistent with Section (2) of 
the Home Health Agency Definition Agencies Providing 
Two or More Home Health Care Services, One of Which 

Must be Either Licensed Nursing Services or Home 
Health Aide Services

9.0 Administration
9.1 Professional Advisory Group

9.1.1 The home health agency must have an
advisory group of professionals to include:

9.1.1.1 At least one physician;
9.1.1.2 One registered nurse (preferably with

home health or public health experience); and
9.1.1.3 Representatives from other

professional disciplines.
9.1.2 One member of the advisory group must

be neither an owner nor an employee of the home health
agency.

9.1.3 The advisory group is responsible for the
annual review of the home health agency policies governing
scope of services offered, admission and discharge policies,
medical supervision and plans of treatment, emergency care,
patient records, and program evaluations.  Based upon this
review, the advisory group will make recommendations for
additions, revisions, or deletions to policies and programs to
the governing body.

4.4.1 The director shall appoint a full-time
employee as a "services director" to provide general
supervision and direction of the professional services offered
by the home health agency. The services director shall be
available at all times during operating hours of the home
health agency and shall participate in all activities related to
the professional services provided, including the
qualifications of personnel as related to their assigned duties.
In his absence, he shall appoint a similarly qualified
designee.

9.2 Supervision of Clinical Services
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9.2.1 The director shall appoint a full-time
employee as the clinical director.

9.2.2 The clinical director shall:
9.2.2.1 Be a physician or a registered nurse

with at least one year of home health and administrative/
supervisory experience;

9.2.2.2 Be available at all times during
operating hours of the home health agency; and

9.2.2.3 Participate in all activities related to
the professional services provided, including the
qualifications of personnel and contractors as related to their
assigned duties.

9.2.3 In the absence of the clinical director, an
equally qualified designee must be appointed.

9.3 Program Review and Evaluation
9.3.1 The home health agency shall review its

written policies at least annually, and revise them as
necessary.  The results of this review shall be presented, in
writing, to the professional advisory group and to the
governing body.

5.0 Patient Care Management
5.1 Admission. Transfer and Discharge Policies

5.1.1 The agency shall have written policies
covering the scope and limitation of services. The policies
established by the agency shall include conditions for
admission, transfer, discharge, and continuing care of clients.

5.2 Patient Plan of Treatment and Review
5.2.1 A written patient care plan shall be

developed with the appropriate supervisor for each home
care patient. The patient care plan shall include reference to
at least the following:

5.2.1.1 all pertinent diagnoses;
5.2.1.2 prognosis, including short-term and

long-term objectives of treatment;
5.2.1.3 types (such as nursing, other

therapeutic, and/or support services) and frequency of
services to be provided, including any medication, diet,
treatment, procedures, equipment, and transportation
required;

5.2.1.4 functional limitations of patient;
5.2.1.5 activities permitted;
5.2.1.6 safety measures required to protect

the patient from injury;
5.2.1.7 sociopsychological needs of the

patient.
5.3 Drug and Treatment Orders

5.3.1 Drugs, prescription and devices, and
treatments shall be administered by agency staff only as
ordered by the physician. The nurse or therapist shall

immediately record and sign oral orders and as soon as
possible obtain the physician's countersignature.

5.4 Coordination of Patient Services
5.4.1 All personnel within the same agency

providing services maintain liaison to assure that their efforts
effectively complement one another and support the
objective outlined in the plan of treatment.

5.4.2 The clinical record or minutes of case
conferences establish that effective interchange, reporting,
and coordinated patient evaluation does occur within the
same agency.

6.0 Multiple Home Health Care Services Agencies
Patient Services

6.1 Nursing/Duties, Supervision
6.1.1 Nursing services shall be provided directly

by registered and practical nurses duly licensed in this State
and in accordance with the written plan of treatment and
acceptable standards of nursing practice and under the
supervision of the services director.

6.1.2 Supervision. The home health agency
which provides skilled nursing service shall provide such
services by and under the supervision of a registered nurse
and in accordance with the plan of treatment.

6.2‘Therapy/Duties, Supervision
6.2.1 Any therapy services offered by the

agency directly or under arrangement are given by or under
the supervision of a qualified therapist in accordance with
the plan of treatment.

6.2.2 Supervision of Speech Therapy Services.
Speech therapy services are provided only by or under
supervision of a qualified speech pathologist or audiologist.

6.3 Social Services /Duties, Supervision
6.3.1 Social services, when provided, are given

by a qualified social worker and in accordance with the plan
of treatment.

6.4 Home Health Aide/Duties, Supervision
6.4.1 Home health aides are selected, trained,

and assigned to provide primarily personal care services
for.the patient under appropriate supervisor.

6.5 Home Health Aides/Training
6.5.1 Training Requirements for Home Health

Aides. Aides shall be offered a quarterly, structured program
of training. The time allotted for training shall be sufficient
to foster safe and skillful services to the patient. During the
course of a year, the agency training program must include a
minimum:

6.5.1.1 the role of the home health aide as a
member of the professional health services team;

6.5.1.2 instruction and supervised practice in
personal care services of the sick at home, with major
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attention being given to personal hygiene and activities of
daily living;

6.5.1.3 instruction in how to assist patients to
achieve maximum self-reliance through re-learning and
modifying activities of daily living;

6.5.1.4 principles of good nutrition;
6.5.1.5 meal planning, food purchasing, and

preparation of meals, including special diets;
6.5.1.6 general information on the processes

of growth, development, and aging;
6.5.1.7 information on the emotional and

physical problems accompanying illness;
6.5.1.8 principles and practices in

maintaining a clean, healthy, and safe environment as well as
a pleasant one that encourage morale building and self-help;

6.5.1.9 items requiring referral to the nurse or
supervisor in the home health agency, including changes in
the patient's condition or family situation;

6.5.1.10 record keeping, when applicable;
6.5.1.11 policies and objectives of the agency;
6.5.1.12 information concerning the duties and

responsibilities of a home health aide;
6.5.1.13 either behavior, confidentiality of

information, and patient's rights.

10.0 Patient Care Management
10.1 Plan of Care

10.1.1 A written patient plan of care shall be
established by the physician and developed in consultation
with a registered nurse or qualified professional of the
appropriate discipline.

10.1.2 The patient plan of care shall include
reference to at least the following:

10.1.2.1 All pertinent diagnoses;
10.1.2.2 Prognosis, including short-term and

long-term objectives of treatment;
10.1.2.3 Types of services (such as nursing,

other therapeutic, or support services), frequency and
duration of services to be provided, medications, diet,
treatments, procedures, equipment, and transportation
required;

10.1.2.4 Functional limitations of the patient;
10.1.2.5 Activities permitted;
10.1.2.6 Safety measures required to protect

the patient from injury; and
10.1.2.7 Sociopsychological needs of the

patient.
10.1.3 The plan of care must be reviewed by the

attending physician and a registered nurse or other qualified
professional of the appropriate discipline as often as the

severity of the patient’s condition requires, but at least every
sixty (60) calendar days.

10.1.4 The home health agency must have
policies and procedures describing the method to obtain and
incorporate the licensed independent practitioner’s orders
into the plan of care.

10.1.5 The home health agency shall promptly
alert the attending physician to any changes in the patient’s
condition that suggest a need to alter the plan of care.

10.1.6 The home health agency shall consider
benefits versus risks of treatment as well as patient choice
and independence in the development and subsequent
revisions of the plan of care.

10.2 Medication and Treatment Management
10.2.1 Medication shall not be administered to a

patient unless prescribed by a licensed practitioner with
independent prescriptive authority as provided by Delaware
Code.

10.2.2 All home health agencies shall have a drug
reference manual/compendium, no more than two (2) years
old, which lists drug actions, interactions, and side effects.

10.2.3 All medication administered to patients by
the home health agency shall be ordered in writing, dated
and signed by the prescribing licensed practitioner.  All
prescription medications shall be properly labeled in
accordance with 24 Del.C. §2536.  The label shall contain
the following information:

10.2.3.1 The prescription number;
10.2.3.2 The date the drugs were originally

dispensed to the patient;
10.2.3.3 The patient’s full name;
10.2.3.4 The brand or established name and

strength of the drug to the extent that it can be measured;
10.2.3.5 The physician’s directions as found on

the prescription;
10.2.3.6 The physician’s name; and
10.2.3.7 The name and address of the

dispensing pharmacy or physician.
10.2.4 Appropriately licensed individuals must

immediately record, sign, and date verbal orders for
medications and treatments.  The signature of the licensed
practitioner ordering the medications or treatments must be
obtained as soon as possible.

10.2.5 Medications and treatments may be self-
administered or, when administered by the home health
agency, shall be administered in accordance with all State
and Federal laws, including the State of Delaware Board of
Professional Regulation’s requirements.  Those patients
who, upon admission, are incapable of self-administration or
who become incapable of self-administration shall have their
medications/treatments administered according to the
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requirements of the Board of Professional Regulation, when
the medications/treatments are administered by the home
health agency.

10.2.6 The home health agency shall maintain a
record of all medication and treatments administered to a
patient indicating time of day, type of medication/treatment,
dose, route of self-administration/administration, by whom
given and any reactions noted.

10.3 Patient Services
10.3.1 Nursing

10.3.1.1 Services are provided by
registered and licensed practical nurses.

10.3.1.2 The home health agency must
maintain verification of current licensure as required by the
Delaware Board of Nursing.

10.3.1.3 Services must be provided in
accordance with the written plan of care and acceptable
standards of practice.

10.3.1.4 Services are provided under the
supervision and direction of the clinical director.

10.3.2 Professional therapy
10.3.2.1 Services are provided by, or

under the supervision of, the appropriate professional
therapist (physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech
therapy, audiology, nutrition).

10.3.2.2 The home health agency must
maintain verification of current licensure/registration as
required by the Delaware Board of Professional Regulation.

10.3.2.3 Services must be provided in
accordance with the written plan of care and acceptable
standards of practice.

10.3.2.4 Services are provided under the
supervision and direction of the clinical director.

10.3.3 Social services
10.3.3.1 Social services, when provided,

are given by a qualified social worker and in accordance
with the plan of care.

10.3.4 Home health aide services
10.3.4.1 Services are provided under the

supervision and direction of the clinical director or the
appropriate qualified professional.

10.3.4.2 On-site professional supervisory
visits are required for all patients receiving home health aide
services.

10.3.4.2.1 When patients are receiving
home health aide services as well as another skilled service,
a registered nurse (or another professional therapist) must
make an on-site supervisory visit to the patient’s home no
less frequently than every two (2) weeks.

10.3.4.2.2 When home health aide
services are being provided in the absence of a skilled

service, a registered nurse must make an on-site supervisory
visit to the patient’s home (while the home health aide is
providing care) no less frequently than every sixty (60)
calendar days.

10.3.5 A home health agency providing more
than one service to a single patient is responsible for
coordination of those services to assure that the services
effectively compliment one another and support the
objectives in the plan of care.

7.0 Clinical Records/Patient Service Records
7.1 For clients receiving home health aide services

exclusively, the home health agency shall meet the
requirements of 9.0 Patient Care Management.

7.2 For clients receiving multiple home health care
services, the home health agency shall maintain a Clinical
Record in accordance with the accepted standards contained
within these regulations.

7.3 Contents. The clinical record shall include:
7.3.1 pertinent past and current findings;
7.3.2 plan of treatment;
7.3.3 appropriate identifying information;
7.3.4 name of physician;
7.3.5 drug, dietary, treatment, and activity

orders;
7.3.6 signed and dated clinical and progress

notes (clinical notes are written the day service is rendered
and incorporated no less often than weekly);

7.3.7 copies of summary reports as requested by
the physician;

7.3.8 a discharge statement.
7.4 Record Review Period

7.4.1 The medical plan of treatment should be
reviewed by the attending physician and agency staff as
often as the severity of the patient's condition requires, but
no less than once every 60 days.

7.5 Transfer of Records
7.5.1 Proper mechanisms for the timely transfer

of clinical record information upon request from duly
authorized persons and organizations.

7.6 Storage/Retention
7.6.1 Records shall be maintained by the agency

for a period of at least three years following the date of
discharge and shall be safeguarded against loss or
unauthorized use.

7.7 protection of Records
7.7.1 Each agency shall establish policies and

procedures to govern the use and removal of records and
determine the conditions for release of information in
accordance with statutory provisions pertaining to
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confidentiality. Patient's written consent is required for
release of information not authorized by law.

10.4 Patient Record
10.4.1 In addition to those requirements outlined

in Section 5.4, the separate record maintained at the home
health agency for each patient shall contain:

10.4.1.1 Medication orders;
10.4.1.2 Nutrition orders;
10.4.1.3 Treatment orders;
10.4.1.4 Activity orders;
10.4.1.5 Clinical notes, signed and dated

on the day services are rendered and incorporated into the
record no less often that weekly; and

10.4.1.6 Copies of any summary reports
requested by the physician.

10.5 A written summary report for each patient must
be sent to the attending physician no less frequently than
every sixty (60) calendar days.

11.0 Severability
11.1 Should any section, sentence, clause, or phrase

of these regulations be legally declared unconstitutional or
invalid for any reason, the remainder of said regulations
shall not be affected thereby.  In the event any particular
clause or section of these regulations should be declared
invalid or unconstitutional by any court of competent
jurisdiction, the remaining portions shall remain in full force
and effect.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Authority on Radiation Protection

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Section 7406 (16 Del.C. §7406)

16 DE Admin. Code 4466

PUBLIC NOTICE

4466 Radiation Technologists/Technicians (Certification)

These regulations, “Regulation for the Certification of
Radiation Technologists/Technicians,” replace by revision
the current "Regulation for the Certification of Radiation
Technologists/Technicians" previously adopted on February
27, 1989 and most recently amended November 10, 2003.

Nature of the Proceedings
The Authority on Radiation Protection is proposing

amendments to the Regulation for the Certification of

Radiation Technologists/Technicians.  A summary of those
amendments and amended regulations are attached below.

Notice of Public Hearing

The Authority on Radiation Protection will hold a
public hearing to discuss the proposed changes to the
Regulation for the Certification of Radiation Technologists/
Technicians.  This public hearing will be held on Wednesday,
January 4, 2006, at 5:30 p.m. in the Pritchett Conference
Room, Delaware Hospital for the Chronically Ill on DuPont
Highway, in Smyrna, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations along with a listing
of substantial changes are available for review by contacting:

Office of Radiation Control
Jesse Cooper Building
417 Federal Street
Dover, Delaware 19901
Telephone: (302) 744-4546

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700
by close of business Tuesday, January 3, 2006.  Anyone
wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to or in
lieu of oral testimony should submit such comments by close
of business Friday, January 6, 2006 to:

David Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901

Summary of Amendments to the Regulation for the 
Certification of Radiation Technologists/Technicians

Credentialing:

• Specifies minimum age for issuance of certificate
as 18 years of age

• Clarifies Temporary Certificate can be issued only
once (initial Board exam)

• Specifies conditions for re-testing following exam
failure (re-test two times per 12 month period)

• Eliminates specific Test Administration Firm
names – uses generic language

• Indicates that the examination process will be
administered by the Division of Public Health

• Specifies 30-day grace period following certificate
expiration, to renew certificate

• Emphasizes that radiographs are not to be taken by
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a Technician/Technologist whose Permanent
Certificate has expired (after 30-day grace period)

• Specifies that renewal of certificate for national
credential must include photocopy of national
credential membership card or certificate, in good
standing (defines “proof” as stated in the original
text)

• Specifies that Rad Tech’s continuing to take
radiographs with expired certificate will subject
their employer to citation under the DRCR for
registered radiation facilities

• Increases certification renewal fee for all Rad
Tech’s from $10 to $50 every four years

4466 Radiation Technologists/Technicians (Certification)

This Regulation is approved by the Authority on
Radiation Protection on February 17, 1989, pursuant to 16
Del.C. §7406(c). Radiation Technologists/Technicians are
"users of ionizing radiation" and, therefore, subject to
certification by the Authority on Radiation Protection. This
Regulation is effective November 10, 2003 February 10,
2006.

1.0 Findings
The Authority hereby finds and declares that the citizens

of the State of Delaware are entitled to the maximum
protection practicable from the harmful effects of excessive
and improper exposure to ionizing radiation; that the
protection can be increased by requiring appropriate
education and training of individuals operating medical and
dental equipment and sources emitting ionizing radiation;
and that it is therefore necessary to establish certification
standards in radiation protection principles for these
operators and to provide for their appropriate examination
and certification.

6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

2.0 Title of Regulation
This regulation shall be known as the "Radiation

Technologist/Technician Certification Regulation".
6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

3.0 Severability
If any provision or application of any provision of these

Regulations is held invalid, that invalidity shall not affect
other provisions or applications of these Regulations.

6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

4.0 Definitions
4.1 As used in this regulation:

"Agency" means the administrative agent of the
Authority on Radiation Protection; i.e., the Office of
Radiation Control, Division of Public Health, Department of
Health and Social Services.

"ARRT" means American Registry of Radiologic
Technologists. A national certifying body that credentials
through a national test graduates of JRCERT approved
radiologic technology programs. The ARRT also provides
the State Limited Scope Licensing Examination to be used
by individuals who do not meet the national registry
requirements.

"Authority" means the Authority on Radiation
Protection as specified by 16 Del.C. §7404.

"CCI" means Cardiovascular Credentialing
International. A national certifying body that credentials
technologists in invasive cardiovascular procedures.

"Certificate" means a document issued by the
Agency recognizing the successful completion of an
Authority approved Certification Exam. The "Certificate"
allows for the practice of radiation technology as specified
by the level of examination the individual has passed. Other
credentials include "Temporary".

"Temporary Certificate" means a certificate
issued by the Agency as a temporary authorization to
practice Radiation Technology to any applicant who has
complied with the provisions of this regulation and is
scheduled for the next available examination.

"Certification Examination" means any
examination satisfactory to the Authority that is used to
determine the competency of Radiation Technologists/
Technicians in the "principles and practice of radiation
protection".

"CIS" (Cardiovascular Invasive Procedure
Specialist) means any individual, other than a licensed
practitioner who has trained to perform procedures in a
catheterization lab or special procedures lab that require the
use of radiation.

"CODA" means Commission on Dental
Accreditation.

"Dental Assistant" means an individual, other than
a "Licensed Practitioner", who applies radiation to humans
for diagnostic purposes in dentistry.

"DANB" means Dental Assisting National Board
which provides national registration credentialing for dental
assistants.

"Fee" means the money [see schedule A] an
individual must pay: 

 to apply for and to take the certification
examination

 for Re-certification - to reinstate an
expired certificate for Renewal - to renew a valid certificate
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"JRCERT" means Joint Review Committee on
Education in Radiologic Technology

"JRCECT" means Joint Review Committee on
Education in Cardiovascular Technology

"Licensed Practitioner" means an individual
licensed to practice medicine, dentistry, dental hygiene,
podiatry, chiropractic, or osteopathy in this State.

"Medical Radiographer" means an individual,
other than a Licensed Practitioner, who exposes humans to
ionizing radiation for diagnostic purposes in medicine,
podiatry, chiropractic, or osteopathy.

"NMTCB" means Nuclear Medicine Technologist
Certification Board which provides national certification of
Nuclear Medicine Technologists.

"Nuclear Medicine Technologist" means an
individual, other than a Licensed Practitioner, who uses
radiopharmaceutical agents on humans for diagnostic and/or
therapeutic purposes.

"Radiation Technician" means any individual
who has not graduated from a approved program in radiation
technology, but has passed an Authority approved
examination.

"Radiation Technologist" means any individual
who has successfully completed a JRCERT/JRCCVT
approved program in radiation technology and/or has passed
a national certification examination in his/her field of
specialization.

"Radiation Technology" means the use of a
radioactive substance or equipment emitting ionizing
radiation on humans for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes.

"Radiation Therapist" means an individual, other
than a Licensed Practitioner, who exposes humans to
ionizing radiation for therapeutic purposes.

"Source of Radiation" means a radioactive
material, or any device or equipment emitting or capable of
producing ionizing radiation.

"User of Ionizing Radiation" means an individual
who supervises the application of ionizing radiation and/or
applies ionizing radiation to human beings for diagnostic,
therapeutic and/or research purposes (16 Del.C. §7403(9)).

6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 639 (11/1/03)

5.0 Legal Titles
5.1 No individual, other than a Licensed Practitioner or

Certified Radiation Technologist/Technician, shall use a
Source of Radiation on humans for diagnostic, therapeutic
and/or research purposes.

5.1.1 The Authority shall establish certification
requirements for Radiation Technologists/Technicians; i.e.,
Dental Assistant, Dental Radiation Technician, Medical

Radiographerlogic Technologist, Medical Radiation
Technician, Nuclear Medicine Technologist, and Radiation
Therapist and Cardiovascular Radiologic Technologist.
Individuals holding these certificates shall be recognized by
such title(s).

5.1.2 Any individual certified under this
regulation is authorized to use a source of radiation on
humans for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes under the
supervision of a Licensed Practitioner, and in accordance
with the Delaware Radiation Control Regulations.

5.1.3 Holders of a certificate (legal title) under
this regulation shall display the official certificate or a
verified copy in each place of regular employment.

6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

6.0 Credentialing Process
6.1 Classification of Credentials

6.1.1 Certificate (Section 7.1)
6.1.2 Temporary Certificate (Section 7.2)

6.2 Application
6.2.1 The Agency shall accept an application for

credentialing from any Radiation Technologist/Technician
who is at least 18 years of age or who is currently enrolled in
and attending an educational program in radiation
technology and who pays a non-refundable application and
examination fee (if applicable) established by rule of the
Authority. 

6.2.2 One or more booklets on basic radiation
protection and terminology, examination specifications, and
requirements for certification and examination shall be
prepared and distributed under the supervision of the
Authority on Radiation Protection in consultation with
appropriate professional associations. (see Schedule B)
Upon acceptance of the application and examination fee, a
copy of the booklet shall be sent to all applicants. 

6.2.3 The application shall be valid for a period
of six (6) months.

6.2.4 Appropriate professional associations
include:

• Dental Assistants Association
• Dental Hygienists Association
• Medical Society of Delaware
• Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologists

Section
• Delaware Society of Radiology Professionals
• Dental Society of Delaware

The Agency shall issue a certificate to all
applicants holding a current national credential from an
Authority-recognized, national voluntary credentialing body
(see Schedule C).

6.3 Examinations
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6.3.1 The examination process shall be
administered by the Authority on Radiation Protection or its
designee, the ARRT (American Registry of Radiologic
Technologists), the CCI (Cardiovascular Credentialing
International) or Experior Assessments, Inc. by test
administration companies under contract. The fee for
examination shall accompany the application request.

6.3.2 The Authority may accept, in lieu of an
examination, a current credential by a recognized national
voluntary credentialing body, (see Section 6.3.4 Schedule C)
issued on the basis of an examination consistent with the
requirements established by the Authority, provided that the
radiation protection standards to which that body adheres are
at least as stringent as those established by the Authority.

6.3.3 An examinee who fails to pass the
certification examination may be re-examined tested two
times per calendar year, provided the prescribed application
and examination fees for each re-examination are paid.

6.3.4 List of National Credentialing
Organizations Acceptable for Delaware Certification

6.3.4.1 American Registry of Radiologic
Technologists(ARRT)

6.3.4.2 Dental Assisting National Board
(DANB)

6.3.4.3 Nuclear Medicine Technologist
Certification Board (NMTCB)

6.3.4.4 Cardiovascular Credentialing
International (CCI)

6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 639 (11/1/03)

7.0 Issuing Credentials
7.1 The Agency may issue a permanent Certificate or

Temporary Certificate to each applicant who has
successfully met the requirements under Section 6.20, is at
least 18 years of ate, and has paid the prescribed fees.
Furthermore, the Certificate shall be issued on verifying that
the applicant has passed a certification examination
acceptable to the Authority [see 6.3.1 and 6.3.2 above]. The
initial permanent Certificate shall expire after a period of
four (4) years from date of issue. Certificates based on
national credentials will automatically terminate if the
national credentials are permitted to lapse.

7.2 Temporary Certificate. The Agency may issue a
Temporary Certificate to any person whose certification or
re-certification may be pending and when issuance is
justified by special circumstances national credential. A
Only one A Temporary Certificate may be issued if the
Agency finds that it will not violate the purpose of this
regulation or endanger the public health and safety. A The
Temporary Certificate shall grant the same rights as the

credential for which the applicant is awaiting examination.
Such Temporary Certificatecredential may not be renewed
by the Agency without the approval of the Authority and
only for just cause.

7.2.1 The Temporary Certificate shall expire:
7.2.1.1 on the date of notification of the

results of the certification examination; or,
7.2.1.2 on the certification examination date

if the applicant does not take the examination; or,
7.2.1.3 in any case, after a maximum of 365

90 days from the date of issue.
7.3 Renewal of Permanent Certificate. A valid

permanent certificate may be renewed by the Agency for a
period of four (4) years upon payment of a renewal fee (see
Schedule A) established by the Authority.

7.3.1 Applicants for renewal of certificates
based on national credentials must provide proof that the
national credentials are currently valid. A photocopy of the
national credential membership card or certificate in good
standing is the proof required.

7.4 A Radiation Technologist/Technician whose
certificate has lapsed for a period of less than 180 days shall
apply for re-certification provided that he/she presents
evidence of having previously passed a Certification
Examination approved by the Authority and pays the re-
certification fee  expires is not permitted to take radiographs
until the expired certificate is renewed.  A grace period of 30
days following the expiration date of a permanent certificate
is granted to allow the affected individual to renew the
expired certificate.

7.5 A Radiation Technologist/Technician whose
permanent certificate has lapsed for more than 180 days
shall: a period of less than 180 days shall apply for re-
certification provided that he/she presents evidence of
having previously passed a certification examination
approved by the Authority and pays the re-certification fee. 

7.6 A Radiation Technologist/Technician whose
permanent certificate has lapsed for more than 180 days
shall:

7.56.1 Apply for re-certification
7.56.2 Apply to take the appropriate certification

examination or show proof of   currently valid national
credentials

7.56.3 Pay the re-certification and re-examination
fees

7.67 A radiation technologist/technician who has
allowed his/her certificate to expire shall not expose humans
to ionizing radiation until and unless he/she is re-certified.
Failure to comply with this requirement will subject the technician/
technologist's employer to citation under the Delaware Radiation
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Control Regulations addressing  Radiation Machine or Radioactive
Material Facility Registration.

6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

8.0 Limitations of Credentials
8.1 Nothing in the provisions of this regulation relating

to Radiation Technology shall limit, enlarge, or affect the
practice of Licensed Practitioners herein defined.

8.2 The requirement for certification shall not apply to
a resident physician, dentist, dental hygienist or to a student
enrolled in and attending a school or college of medicine,
osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, dentistry, or radiation
technology who applies ionizing radiation to humans in such
an educational program while under the supervision of a
certified Radiation Technologist.

8.3 A certificate, registration or license issued by
another state will not be accepted as a valid equivalent
Radiation Technologist/Technician certification by the
Authority.

6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

9.0 Appeals, Enforcements and Penalties
9.1 Offenses. The following is a list of offenses which

are grounds for disciplinary actions of a certified Radiation
Technologist or certified Radiation Technician and are the
basis for refusal of an application for certification:

9.1.1 The certificate holder or applicant:
9.1.1.1 has been found guilty of fraud or

deceit in procuring or attempting to procure a certificate to
practice radiation technology; or

9.1.1.2 has been convicted of a felony; or
9.1.1.3 has been convicted of a crime

involving moral turpitude or gross immorality; or
9.1.1.4 is unfit or incompetent by reason of

gross negligence; or
9.1.1.5 is addicted to the use of habit-forming

drugs and not currently under treatment for the addiction; or
9.1.1.6 has a physical or mental condition that

prohibits the certificate holder from performing the essential
functions of the practice authorized by the certificate; or 

9.1.1.7 has a certificate to practice as a
registered technologist that has been suspended or revoked
in any jurisdiction; or

9.1.1.8 is guilty of unprofessional conduct, or
the willful neglect of a patient.

9.2 Disciplinary Sanctions. The Authority on Radiation
Protection may impose any of the following sanctions singly
or in combination when it finds a certificate holder or an
applicant is guilty of any offense described in Section 9.1:

9.2.1 Permanently revoke a certificate to
practice

9.2.2 Suspend a certificate until the certificate
holder provides proof that the conditions in response to
which the suspension was issued no longer exist.

9.2.3 Censure a certificate 
9.2.4 Issue a letter of reprimand
9.2.5 Refuse a certificate (Applicant)
9.2.6 Refuse to renew a certificate

9.3 Procedure
9.3.1 The Agency may, upon complaint or upon

its own initiative, investigate whether a certificate holder or
applicant has engaged in activities specified in this section as
grounds for disciplinary action.    The Agency shall file a
complaint with the Authority seeking to impose sanctions
against the alleged violator.

9.3.2 The Authority shall notify the alleged
violator of the complaint and offer the alleged violator the
opportunity for a hearing, which must be requested within 30
days of the date of notification. If the alleged violator does
not timely request a hearing, the proposed sanctions shall
become final.   If the alleged violator makes a timely request
for a hearing, the Authority shall schedule the hearing and
give the alleged violator at least 15 days notice prior to the
date fixed for the hearing.

9.3.3 In all proceedings herein:
9.3.3.1 The alleged violator may be

represented by counsel who shall have the right of
examination and cross-examination.

9.3.3.2 The alleged violator and the Agency
may subpoena witnesses. Subpoenas shall be issued by the
Chairman or Vice Chairman of the Authority upon written
request.

9.3.3.3 Testimony before the Authority shall
be under oath. Any member of the Authority shall have
power to administer oaths for this purpose.

9.3.3.4 A stenographic record of the hearing
shall be made by a qualified court reporter. At the request
and expense of either party such record shall be transcribed
with a copy to the other party.

9.3.3.5 The decision of the Authority shall be
based upon a preponderance of the evidence. If the charges
are supported by such evidence, the Authority may refuse to
issue, or may revoke or may suspend a certificate, or
otherwise discipline a certificate holder as outlined in these
regulations.

9.3.3.6 The decision of the Authority will be
sent to the alleged violator by certified mail.

9.3.3.7 Any final order of the Authority may
be appealed to the Superior Court.

9.3.3.8 All findings of the original action,
hearing, appeal and conclusions will be held in file at the
Agency.
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9.3.3.9 The Agency shall notify the employer
of the alleged violator of any final order of the Authority
regarding any action taken against the certification of that
employee by registered, return receipt mail.

9.4 Judicial Review by Superior Court
9.4.1 Any final order entered in any proceeding

by the Authority shall be subject to judicial review by the
Delaware Superior Court per 16 Del.C. §7412(c).

9.5 Unlawful Practice of Radiation Technology
9.5.1 No person shall practice or offer to

practice radiation technology or claim to be a registered or
certified radiation worker in Delaware, or shall use any title,
abbreviation, sign, card, or device to indicate that such
person is certified pursuant to this regulation unless such
person is actually certified by the Authority on Radiation
Protection.

6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SCHEDULE A
Credential Fees

6 DE Reg. 99 (7/1/02)

SCHEDULE B

Delaware Professional Associations
Dental Assistants Association

Dental Hygienists Association
Medical Society of Delaware
Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologists Section
Delaware Society of Radiology Professionals
Dental Society of Delaware

SCHEDULE C

LIST OF NATIONAL CREDENTIALING 
ORGANIZATIONS ACCEPTABLE FOR DELAWARE 

CERTIFICATION

1. American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT)
2. Dental Assisting National Board (DANB)
3. Nuclear Medicine Technologist Certification Board
(NMTCB)
4. Cardiovascular Credentialing International (CCI)

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Delaware Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) State Plan Renewal

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services
(DSS) is proposing to renew Delaware's eligibility status for
the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
program provided for in the enactment of the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of
1996 (PRWORA), (P.L. 104-193).  Copies of the entire plan
and all attachments are available upon request via mail or
fax.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 by December 31, 2005.  Comments may also be
faxed to (302) 255-4454.  Additionally, Delaware’s TANF
State Plan can be viewed on the Department’s website at:

Certificate
Category

Application Examination Renewal

Dental Assisting Included in
examination
fee per testing
organization

Per Testing
Organization

$10.00
for 4
years

Medical
Radiation
Technician

$10.00 Per Testing
Organization

$10.00
for 4
years

Medical
Radiation 
Technologist

$10.00 Per National
Board

$10.00
for 4
years

Nuclear
Medicine

$10.00 Per National
Board

$10.00
for 4
years

Radiation
Therapy

$10.00 Per National
Board

$10.00
for 4
years

Cardiovascular
Radiologic
Technologist

$10.00 Per National
Board

$50.00
for 4
years
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http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/index.html.
The action concerning the determination of whether to

adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Title of Notice
Delaware TANF State Plan for Federal Fiscal Years

2006 – 2008 

Background
The State Plan outlines the provisions under which the

State will administer the TANF program for Federal Fiscal
Years 2006-2008. Under Section 402 of the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of
1996 (P.L. 104-193), the State is required to submit the
TANF State Plan to the Department of Health and Human
Services (DHHS), Administration for Children and Families
(ACF) biennially in order to receive certification to be
eligible for continued Federal TANF funding. In order to
continue to receive TANF funding, Delaware must file for
renewal with the DHHS by December 31, 2005.

One of the requirements of the grant application is that
the public submit comment on the plan and its design of
services.  All comments received during the comment period
will receive consideration for the development of the TANF
State Plan. 

Summary of Proposed Changes
Delaware has been operating its TANF program under

Section 1115 waivers from the Social Security Act, as
approved on December 12, 1995, and amended on
September 27, 1996.

DSS is not making any program “changes” but added
information about the new E&T system and made minor
updates to the language on pages 3, 4, 6, 7, 24, and 32.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-72
RENEWAL:

DELAWARE STATE PLAN FOR  TANF

This new State Plan is submitted to renew Delaware’s
eligibility status for the Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families (TANF) program provided for in the enactment of
the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), (P.L. 104-193).

Delaware has been operating its TANF program under
Section 1115 waivers from the Social Security Act, as
approved on December 12, 1995, and amended on
September 27, 1996. The waiver expired on September 30,
2002.

The current short-term reauthorization of TANF leaves
much unknown about the future of the program, and
Delaware is unwilling to make major changes to our TANF
program without full knowledge of new federal
requirements. Enactment of either the House or Senate
Finance Committee Reauthorization Bill would make many
changes in TANF, but Delaware cannot build such changes
into this Plan without knowing which of the many
conflicting provisions will prevail.

Delaware’s TANF program requires immediate work
from caretakers in time-limited families; those who cannot
secure unsubsidized employment immediately are placed in
a Work for Your Welfare component. 

Since Delaware is unable at this time to plan what
alternative provisions might be required by enactment of
long-term reauthorization legislation, we have opted to
continue operating Delaware’s TANF program as it is
currently designed with minor changes to be in compliance
with certain TANF requirements.

Delaware is closely watching the progress of federal
TANF reauthorization and will submit any needed
Amendments to this State Plan as quickly as possible after
new legislative requirements become known.

GOALS, RESULTS AND PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT

Goals
The goal of Delaware’s TANF Program is to provide a

welfare system based on a philosophy of mutual
responsibility.  In working toward that goal, the State will
strive to place individuals in private or public sector
unsubsidized employment that enables them to enter and
maintain meaningful jobs and interrupts the
intergenerational welfare dependency cycle.  To that end,
TANF creates positive incentives for families to become
employed, and expects families to accept responsibility to
become self-supporting. 

 Five key principles form the foundation of TANF:
1. Work should pay more than welfare.
2. Welfare recipients must exercise personal 

responsibility in exchange for benefits.
3. Welfare should be transitional, not a way of 

life.
4. Both parents are responsible for supporting 

their children; and
5. The formation and maintenance of two-parent 
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families should be encouraged, and teenage 
pregnancy and unwed motherhood should be 
discouraged.

Involvement of Local Governments, the Public, and
Private Sector Organizations

Welfare Reform in Delaware has a long history of active
involvement and partnership between and among state and
local governments and the private sector. Over a multi-year
period, Delaware has engaged government, the public and
the private sector in dialog about the welfare system and
ways to change it.

Since its introduction in January of 1995, in the form of
a waiver request, all sectors have had the opportunity to
influence Delaware’s welfare reform program in a series of
public meetings and forums.

A collaborative partnership among the Department of
Health and Social Services (DHSS), Department of Labor
(DOL), and the Delaware Economic Development Office
(DEDO) worked to develop Delaware’s original TANF
program; and the Delaware Transit Corporation (DTC) has
joined these components in planning any changes required.

From 1995 to the present, the TANF collaborative team
has involved other stakeholders in a number of ways.
Community partner involvement runs the gambit from
support letters for TANF-related grants, to participating in
the resultant project planning and implementation, to
membership on an initiative's advisory/oversight council.
Partnerships include the City of Wilmington's HOPE VI
subsidized housing project; the Delaware Ecumenical
Council on Children and Families' rural outreach project; the
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation's employment efforts
with people with disabilities; the National Corps/VISTA
welfare-to-work mentoring program; and the Division of
Substance Abuse and Mental Health's Youth Offender Re-
entry initiative.  Presentations on TANF are ongoing by
request to the various Section 8 and Public Housing entities;
to non-profits such as the First State Community Action
Agency and the Latin American Community Center; and to
local churches, healthcare centers, childcare providers,
schools and youth centers (e.g., Boys & Girls Club).

The Social Services Advisory Council, consisting of
educators, health professionals, religious leaders,
representatives of community-based organizations,
advocates, and government leaders, all appointed by the
Governor, continues to provide advice on improving the
delivery of Delaware’s social programs. In addition, the
Division of Social Services has regularly conducted focus
groups with clients in all counties of the States, most
recently in 2000 and 2001. 

The requirement for a 45 day public comment period
was accomplished by making the plan available for public
review and comment through the following means:

• The original State Plan was published in the
Delaware Register on October 1, 2002;

• The State Plan was published on the Delaware web
site at http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dhss.htm on
September 15, 2002; and

• Stakeholder groups as represented by the Social
Services Advisory Council, the TANF Employer
Committee, and TANF program contractors were
provided with individual copies of the Plan.

• This State Plan is being published in the Delaware
Register and on the Delaware web site. 

Delaware is proud to say that the administration
addressed and continues to build on the themes the public
identified not only in TANF but in many other areas of
public policy that support low income families, including the
Administration’s economic development, education, and
family policies.  A brief summary of where public policies
intersect with welfare system change include:

• easing transition from welfare to work by:
• passing through to TANF recipients a portion

of the child support collected
• enhancing child support collection strategies

and achieving record child support collections
• changing the way the welfare system budgets

income so that families go off assistance only
after achieving income at 75 percent of the
federal poverty level

• increasing Delaware’s investment in child care
so that there is no subsidized child care waiting
list for eligible working families with income
up to 200% of the federal poverty level

• increasing the income threshold below which
individuals are not required to file personal
income tax returns to $15,449 for married
couples and $9,399 for single individuals;
increasing the personal credit from $100 to
$110; and reducing the tax rate for all
individuals, other than the top tax bracket, by .4
percentage points

• increasing the State minimum wage to $6.15 an
hour as of September, 2000. 

• increasing the earnings potential of TANF
individuals through a State Earned Income Tax
Credit for 2006.
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• ensuring access to health care for Delaware families 
through:

• providing Medicaid coverage to uninsured
adults as well as all children in families with
income at or below 100 percent of the federal
poverty level

• providing medical coverage for uninsured
children in families with income up to 200% of
the federal poverty level, through the Delaware
Healthy Children Program (DHCP)

• providing transitional Medicaid for two years
for families with children who exit welfare, at
incomes up to 185% of poverty.

 • improving education for children by:
• expanding access to the Early Childhood

Education Program (ECAP)
• providing extra instructional time for low-

achieving students
• operating the Parents as Teachers program

statewide
• operating the Mentoring for Students program

for students who need an adult role model
• implementing a comprehensive program to

ensure safe, disciplined schools
• raising academic standards and graduation

requirements and pushing for school choice
and charter schools

 • recruiting, through the Delaware Economic
Development Office (DEDO), new companies and
maintaining existing employers with good jobs that provide
career opportunities

• strengthening Delaware’s families by:
• helping many thousands of welfare recipients

go to work, and providing continuing supports
to working families

• initiating voluntary paternity establishment
• providing transportation support for job

seekers and new workers 
• establishing more effective welfare to work

programs with a work first approach to
employment and training services, while
providing opportunities for educational
advancement

• enabling families with both parents to receive
benefits and services

• participating with community-based
organizations and the faith community to
support targeted, fragile populations

• discouraging teen pregnancy through the
Alliance on Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention

• extending home visits to all first time parents

following a child’s birth
• cracking down on domestic violence to protect

vulnerable women and children
• enforcing the Sexual Predator Act to protect

vulnerable youth and prevent teen pregnancy.

Results to be Measured and Methods for Measuring 
Progress

Delaware has committed to evaluate its welfare system.
The State had a multi-year contract with Abt Associates to
evaluate TANF.  We measured:

• the number of individuals working;
• the number of individuals sanctioned;
• the caseload size; and
• the number of months of receipt of TANF.

Recent reports by the evaluator include:

• The ABC Evaluation - A Better Chance for
Welfare Recipients? What the Public Thinks,
March, 1999;
• The ABC Evaluation - Enrollment of Families

in Delaware’s A Better Chance Program: A
Report on the First Three Years, March, 1999

• The ABC Evaluation - Carrying and Using the
Stick: Financial Sanctions in Delaware’s A
Better Chance Program, May, 1999.

• Will Welfare Reform Influence Marriage and
Fertility?  Early Evidence from the ABC
Demonstration, June, 1999.

• The ABC Evaluation - Verifying School
Attendance of Welfare Recipients’ Children,
June 2000

• The ABC Evaluation – Impacts of Welfare
Reform on Child Maltreatment, August 2000

• A report, Turning the Corner -- ABC at 4
Years, November 2000

• The DABC Evaluation How Have They Fared?
Outcomes After Four Years for the Earliest
DABC Clients, August 2001

• The DABC Evaluation Institutional Aspects of
Welfare Reform in Delaware, August 2001

These reports can be located at
http:\\www.abtassoc.com/reports/welfare-download.html.
Note that at one time, Delaware’s TANF program was
known as A Better Chance or ABC.  

Delaware is was also one of four states participating in a
Welfare Reform and Family Formation research project
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designed to provide an increased understanding of how
changes in welfare policies have affected childbearing,
marriage, and other family structure factors.  Abt Associates
is teaming teamed with a University of California research
team in analyzing random assignment data collected in
Delaware.

Ensuring Accountability
TANF is administered by the Division of Social

Services (DSS), State of Delaware Department of Health and
Social Services.  While DHSS is the lead agency, program
administration is accomplished through a partnership of
DSS, Department of Labor (DOL), Delaware Economic
Development Office (DEDO), and the Delaware Transit
Corp (DTC).

Delaware completed a massive automation
enhancement effort, to incorporate new technology in a
complete redesign of DCIS.   DCIS II is a large-scale, client/
server, interactive eligibility determination and benefit
issuance system.  DCIS II automates: client registration,
application entry, eligibility determination, benefit
calculation, benefit issuance and work programs for more
than 100 variations of cash, Medicaid, child care and food
stamp programs, administered by the Delaware Division of
Social Services.  DCIS II provides automated program
support and supports the information needs at the state and
local office level.  DCIS II also incorporates program
changes required by P.L. 104-193.

The most recent enhancements to DCIS II provide for
on-line real-time communications between DSS workers and
Employment Connection contractors.  DSS now provides
automated referral of non-exempted individuals to
contractors, contractor staff are now able to send automated
alerts to DSS workers, and contractors and DSS workers are
able to share case notes about participants.  In addition,
contractors now directly enter hours of work participation
into the system, facilitating the computation of grants for
Work for Your Welfare participants.

Delaware is participating in the income and eligibility
verification system (IEVS) required by section 1137 of the
Social Security Act.

In addition, the State operates a fraud control program
and will disqualify individuals found to have committed an
intentional program violation based on findings of
administrative disqualification hearings and findings of
prosecution or court actions.  Delaware has adopted the
penalties for intentional program violations used by the Food
Stamp Program; 12 months for the first offense and 24
months for a second instance.  An individual committing a
third offense is permanently disqualified. 

NEEDY FAMILIES

Definition of Needy Families
For program purposes, needy families are a child and or

child(ren) and caretaker relatives whose combined income
and  financial resources are not equal to or higher than the
standards established by the State.  The following sections
describe these standards and how they are applied to
applicants and recipients.

Income and Resource Rules for Determining Need
For purposes of determining need Delaware will

continue to utilize the already established income and
resource rules of the TANF program.  The following specific
features of Delaware’s TANF program shall continue to
apply:

• The equity value of a primary automobile up to
$4,650 is excluded in determining the
household resources.

• The cash value of a life insurance policy will
be excluded.

• In addition to the current resource limit,
families will be allowed to establish special
Education and Business Investment Accounts
(EBIA) of up to $5,000.00, including interest.
• Families will contribute directly to their

EBIAs.
• Funds in such accounts will not be

considered as a resource. Withdrawals
from such accounts must be for approved
purposes, as defined in TANF.  If funds are
withdrawn for non-approved purposes, the
money will be counted as a resource in the
month received.  Approved reasons for
withdrawal of funds for self-sufficiency
needs include, but are not limited to:
dependent care expenses, security deposit
for an apartment or house, or vehicle
repair costs. 

• Financial Assistance received from school
grants, scholarships, vocational rehabilitation
payments, JTPA payments, educational loans,
and other loans that are expected to be repaid
will not be counted as income for TANF
program purposes.  Also, other financial
assistance received that is intended for books,
tuition, or other self-sufficiency expenses will
be excluded. 

• Earnings of dependent children, regardless of
student status, will be disregarded in
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determining the family’s eligibility and the
amount of TANF benefits.

• A one-time bonus payment of $50.00 will be
paid from TANF funds to eligible teens who
graduate from high school by age 19.  This
bonus, which will be paid directly to the high
school graduate, will be disregarded as income.

Income Tests to Determine Eligibility
There are two income tests to determine financial

eligibility.  The first test is a gross income test, and the
second is a net income test.

• Comparing the family’s income to 185% of the
applicable standard of need is the gross income
test.  Both applicants and recipients must pass
this income test. 

• The other income test compares a family’s
income, after applying certain disregards, to the
applicable standard.  This is a net income test.
• For applicants, defined as families who

have not received assistance in at least one
of the four months immediately preceding
the application, the net income is
compared to the payment standard.

• For recipients, defined as families who
have received assistance in at least one of
the four months preceding the application
or are current recipients, the net income is
compared to the standard of need.  

• A family’s income must be less than the
gross and net income limits to be
financially eligible for TANF.  Once
eligibility is established, the grant amount
is determined.

• Gross income is the total of the earned and
unearned income. 
• Wages and self-employment income

are examples of earned income.  
• Social Security benefits, child

support, and stepparent income are
examples of unearned income.
Stepparent income will be included if
the child’s natural parent lives in the
home. 

Exhibit 1 contains the calculation steps for TANF 
applicants.

Exhibit 1: Determining Applicant Eligibility for TANF 
Benefits

Step 1) The gross income will be compared to 185% of
the applicable TANF standard of need.  Assistance will be
denied if the income exceeds 185% of the applicable TANF
standard of need.

Step 2) The standard work deduction ($90.00) and
child care expenses will be subtracted from each wage
earner’s earnings.  The applicant’s net earned income will be
added to unearned income to determine the net family
income.  The net income will be compared to the payment
standard.  Assistance will be denied if the income exceeds
the payment standard.  

If the income is less than the payment standard,
Step 3) The standard work deduction ($90.00), child

care, and the $30 plus 1/3 disregard (if applicable) will be
subtracted from each earner’s earned income.  This net
earned income will be added to the unearned income to
calculate the family’s net income.  The net income will be
subtracted from the applicable standard of need to obtain the
deficit.  The deficit will be multiplied by 50%; the number
calculated is the remainder.  The grant is either the remainder
or the payment standard whichever is less.

Exhibit 2 provides the calculations for TANF recipients.

Exhibit 2: Determining Recipient Eligibility for TANF 
Benefits

Step 1) The gross income will be compared to 185% of
the applicable TANF standard of need.  Assistance will be
denied if the income exceeds 185% of the applicable TANF
standard of need.

Step 2) The standard work deduction ($90.00), child
care, and the $30 plus 1/3 disregard (if applicable) will be
subtracted from each earner’s earned income.  The net
earned income will be added to unearned income to calculate
the family’s net income.  Assistance will be denied if the
income exceeds the standard of need.  

If the income is less than the standard of need,
Step 3) The net income will be subtracted from the

applicable standard of need; the number calculated is the
deficit.  The deficit will be multiplied by 50%; the number
calculated is the remainder.  The grant is either the remainder
or the payment standard whichever is less.

The TANF standards apply to all benefits and services
provided to needy families except for Emergency
Assistance, discussed on page twelve (12) and Attachment
A; and child care, described on pages three (3), twelve (12),
and twenty-four (24). Delaware has established separate
need standards for these programs.
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Fill-the-Gap Budgeting
Fill the Gap budgeting will be used for recipient

families to determine continued eligibility and the amount of
TANF benefits, so that families can retain more of their
income.  By having a standard of need which is greater than
the payment standard a “gap” is created.  The difference
between the family’s income and the need standard is called
the deficit.  The state pays a percentage of the deficit up to a
maximum benefit level or payment standard.

• Three standards will be used in financial
eligibility calculations: 185% of the standard
of need, the need standard and the payment
standard.  185% of the standard of need will be
used in the gross income test.  

• The standard of need used is 75% of the
Federal Poverty level.  This includes
allowances for food, clothes, utilities, personal
items, and household supplies.

Diversion Assistance Program
Delaware operates a Diversion Assistance program

intended to help a family through a financial problem which
jeopardizes employment and which, if not solved, could
result in the family needing regular ongoing assistance.  The
Diversion Assistance payment will not exceed $1,500 or the
financial need resulting from the crisis, whichever is less.
Diversion Assistance, which is available to both applicant
and recipient families, is not a supplement to regular
assistance but is in place of it.

Eligibility requirements for Diversion Assistance are as
follows:

• the parent must be living with his/her natural or
adopted children;

• the family has not received a Diversion Assistance
payment in the past 12 months;

• the Diversion Assistance amount will alleviate the
crisis;

 • the parent is currently employed but having a
problem which jeopardizes the employment or has
been promised a job but needs help in order to
accept the job;

 • the family’s income would qualify the family
for TANF as a recipient household.  (When
calculating eligibility for Diversion Assistance the
family is given the $30 plus 1/3 disregard, if
applicable, and the family’s net income is compared
to the Standard of Need.);

 • the family’s resources would qualify for TANF.

The Diversion Assistance payment may be used for
items and/or services such as but not limited to:

• transportation (such as vehicle repairs, tires,
insurance, driver’s license fee, gas);

• clothing such as uniforms or other specialized
clothing and footwear or other employment-
related apparel;

• tools and equipment;
• medical expenses not covered by Medicaid

(e.g., eye glasses);
• union dues, special fees, licenses or

certificates;
• up-front costs of employment such as agency

fees and testing fees;
• unpaid child care expenses which, if they

remain unpaid, preclude the provision of future
child care;

• relocation expenses for verified employment in
another county or state.  These expenses may
include moving equipment rental, gas, and
lodging for the days of the move and the first
month’s rent, rental and utility deposit.

Diversion Assistance payments will be made to a third
party vendor, not the parent. When the parent receives
Diversion assistance (s)he agrees to forego TANF cash
assistance as follows:

• $0 through $500.99 for 1 month;
• $501 through $1,000.99 for 2 months;
• $1,001 through $1,500 for 3 months.

The once a year limitation on Diversion Assistance and
the period of ineligibility can be eliminated when good cause
exists. Good cause exists when circumstances beyond the
client’s control make re-application for Diversion Assistance
for TANF necessary. Examples of good cause are the
employer lays off the parent or a serious illness forces the
parent to stop working.

The family is eligible for TANF related Medicaid in the
month in which the diversion Assistance payment is made.
The family would remain eligible for Section 1931 Medicaid
(TANF related Medicaid) until the family’s income exceeds
the Standard of Need.  If the family’s income exceeds the
standard of need because of increased earnings or loss of the
$30 plus 1/3 disregard and the parent is working, the family
may be eligible for Transitional Medicaid.

Diversion Assistance does not count as income in the
child care programs, and families receiving Diversion
Assistance may also be eligible to receive child care under
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Delaware’s working poor child care program if their income
does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty level.
Receipt of Diversion Assistance would not bar receipt of
Food Stamp benefits, and Food Stamp applications will be
actively solicited from individuals requesting diversion
assistance.

Diversion Assistance does not count against the time
limit on receipt of assistance.

The family will not have to assign child support to the
state.  Child support received by the parent or the Division of
Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) will belong to the
family.  DCSE will not use child support to offset or
reimburse the Diversion Assistance.

Diversion Assistance is not intended to replace TANF’s
Emergency Assistance Program or Supportive Services
payments, which will continue. The TANF Emergency
Assistance Program provides identical benefits that were
provided under Delaware’s State Plan in effect on August 21,
1996. (See Attachment A) Rather, Diversion Assistance
expands the opportunities to access as well as the value of
services to support employment.

ELIGIBILITY FOR ASSISTANCE UNDER THE TANF 
PROGRAM

Conditions of Eligibility
If the income tests described above are met, a family

will be eligible to receive TANF assistance subject to the
following conditions.

Relationship/Living Arrangements
A child must be living in the home of any relative by

blood, marriage, or adoption who is within the fifth degree of
kinship to the dependent child or of the spouse of any person
named in the above group even though the marriage is
terminated by death or divorce.

The caretaker of a teen parent who is not a parent must
demonstrate valid circumstances why the teen is not living
with a parent and must agree to be a party to the Contract of
Mutual Responsibility and fulfill the same responsibilities
thereunder as a parent.

Fugitive Felons; Individuals Convicted of Drug Related
Felonies

Fugitive felons and parole violators are ineligible for
TANF assistance.  In addition, as of August 22, 1996,
individuals convicted of drug related felonies are
permanently barred from the date of conviction.

Family Cap Provision
No additional cash benefits will be issued due to the

birth of a child, if the birth occurs more than ten (10)
calendar months after the date of application for benefits
under TANF. 

The family cap will not apply: 

• when the additional child was conceived as a
result of incest or sexual assault,

• to children who do not reside with their parents
• to children born prior to the period identified

above who return or enter the household
• to a child that was conceived in a month the

assistance unit (i.e., the entire family) was not
receiving TANF, but this does not apply in
cases that close due to being sanctioned.

The family cap will apply to children who are the
firstborn of minors included in a TANF grant, except that the
family cap does not apply to firstborn children of minors
where the child was born prior to March 1997, the date that
Delaware began its TANF program.

The additional child(ren) is included in the standard of
need for purposes of determining eligibility; and the income
and resources of the child, including child support, is
included in determining the family’s income and resources.
However, the child(ren) is not included in determining the
payment standard for the family.

• The additional child(ren) is considered a
recipient for all other purposes, including
categorical Medicaid coverage, TANF child
care, and Food Stamp benefits.

• Child support received for capped children is
passed directly through to the family. 

Denial of Benefits to Babies Born and Residing with
Unmarried Teen Parents.

Cash assistance is not provided to babies born on and
after January 1, 1999 to unmarried minor teen parents. This
applies to both applicants and recipients. For all other
purposes, these babies will be considered TANF recipients.
They may also be eligible to receive Food Stamps, Medicaid
and child care as well as vouchers for the baby’s needs.  This
provision applies as long as the teen parent resides in the
home with the baby, is unmarried or less than eighteen (18)
years of age.
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Denial of Benefits for Fraudulent Misrepresentation to
Obtain Assistance in Two States

Any individual who misrepresents residence to receive
TANF, Medicaid, or Food Stamp benefits in two states shall
be subject to a ten-year bar if convicted in a state or federal
court.

Treatment of Eligible Non-Citizens
Qualified non-citizens who enter the United States

before August 22, 1996 shall be eligible to receive the same
benefits and services and shall be subject to the same
conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients.

Qualified aliens entering the United States on or after
August 22, 1996, who are exempt from benefit restrictions as
specified in Federal law, are eligible to receive the same
benefits and services and shall be subject to the same
conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients.

Qualified non-citizens who enter the United States on or
after August 22, 1996 are, after five years, eligible to receive
the same benefits and services and shall be subject to the
same conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients. 

Program Type
Depending on circumstances, families are placed in

either the Time-Limited TANF program or the Non Time-
limited TANF program. 

Delaware’s Time-Limited TANF Program has a work
first approach. Participants are expected to meet immediate
work requirements in order to receive benefits. 

Effective October 1, 1998, Delaware began funding its
two parent program with state only funds.  The eligibility
requirements, services and benefits for this state funded two-
parent program are the same as the single parent Time-
Limited program

Time-limits for Delaware’s Time-Limited TANF
Program and the interactions between time-limits and work
requirements are described in the sections entitled, Work:
Time Limits and Work, and TANF Benefits to Needy
Families: Time Limits.  

Families with the following status will receive benefits
in the Non Time-limited program:

• Families that the agency has determined are
unemployable, either because a parent is too
physically or mentally disabled to work in an
unsubsidized work setting or because the
parent is needed in the home to care for a child
or another adult disabled to that extent; 

• Families headed by a non-needy, non-parent
caretaker;

• Families headed by a non-eligible non-citizen
parent who is not eligible to receive TANF
benefits; 

• Families where the agency has determined that
the adult caretaker is temporarily
unemployable; and 

• Families in which the adult files a claim or has
a claim being adjudicated for SSI or disability
insurance under OASDI. In this case, the
family must sign an agreement to repay cash
benefits received under the Non Time-limited
TANF program from the proceeds of the first
SSI/DI check received. The amount repaid will
not exceed the amount of the retroactive SSI/
DI benefit.

Contract of Mutual Responsibility requirements and
sanctions for noncompliance apply to families in the Non
Time-limited TANF program.  Recognizing that Delaware’s
exemptions from time-limits are broader than those
prescribed by the current TANF legislation, we are prepared
to provide some benefits utilizing state MOE funding if this
later becomes necessary in order to remain within TANF’s
time limit requirements.

Contract of Mutual Responsibility
The caretaker of children in the TANF program enters

into a Contract of Mutual Responsibility with the Division of
Social Services (DSS) of the Department of Health and
Social Services (DHSS). Applicants and recipients have a
face-to-face interview. During this interview, the DSS
worker explains to the recipient the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility (CMR) and those elements specific to the
client.

The Contract lists the responsibilities of the family and
the supports the State will provide. The family’s
responsibilities include, but are not limited to: employment-
related activities, school attendance and immunization
requirements for children, family planning, parenting
education classes, and substance abuse treatment
requirements. The State provides supports to families
including but not limited to: employment-related activities,
training activities, child care, Medicaid, and other services
identified during the development of the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.

The Contract is designed to be individualized to the
specific needs and situation of each family. Therefore, the
exact requirements within the Contract may vary from
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family to family.  This document can be revised as the needs
and the situation of the family evolve.

Services related to these CMR requirements will be
available to the participant. If the services specified in the
CMR are not reasonably available to the individual, the
participant will not be sanctioned for failure to comply and
the Contract will be modified to reflect that the service is
currently unavailable.  

It is mandatory that all caretakers enter into a Contract
of Mutual Responsibility. Contracts are completed for
families in the Time Limited TANF Program and the Non
Time-limited TANF program as well as for teen parents.
Both caretakers in an assistance unit and non-needy
caretaker payees are required to develop and comply with
CMRs.   Other family members within the assistance unit
may be required to comply with provisions of the Contract,
and are subject to sanction for non-compliance. 

If the caretaker is a non-needy caretaker relative, the
individual would not be required to participate in
employment-related activities but will be required to
participate in other Contract activities.

If a caretaker objects to certain aspects of the Contract,
the caretaker needs to present these objections up front, at
the time of the initial Contract. If good cause can be
demonstrated,  the Contract can be amended to rectify the
objections.

When staff has reason to believe that the family needs
other services to become employed or to increase work hours
and wages, these services will be identified and specified in
the Contract of Mutual responsibility. 

The fiscal sanction for not cooperating, without good
cause, in development of the Contract will be an initial
$50.00 reduction in benefits.  This reduction will increase
each month by $50.00, either until there is compliance or the
case is closed.  The sanction will end with demonstrated
compliance. 

Individuals from Another State
All families meeting the status eligibility requirements

set forth above shall be eligible for TANF benefits using
Delaware rules, regardless of how long they have been
residents of the State.

Statewideness
All definitions and determinations of need shall be

applied on a statewide basis.

Protection of Privacy of Assisted Families
31 Delaware Code, Chapter 11, Section 1101 provides

that public assistance information and records may be used
only for purposes directly connected with the administration

of public assistance programs. Thus, all information
gathered regarding individuals for public assistance purposes
is considered confidential and will be safeguarded by DSS.
By safeguarding public assistance information, DSS protects
its clients from being identified as a special group based on
financial needs and protects their right to privacy.

General information regarding expenditures, numbers of
clients served, and other statistical information is a matter of
public record and may be made available to any interested
party.  Other than the exceptions noted below, DSS will not
release any information regarding a particular individual
without the individual’s written consent.

• DSS Regional Operations Managers have the
authority to disclose the address of a recipient
to a Federal, State or local law enforcement
officer at the officer’s request if the officer
furnishes the agency with the name of the
recipient and notifies the agency that the
recipient:
• is fleeing to avoid prosecution; or 
• is a fleeing felon (or in the case of New

Jersey is fleeing from conviction of a high
misdemeanor); or 

• is violating a condition of probation or
parole; or

• has information that is necessary for the
officer to conduct his or her official duties;
and

• the location or apprehension of the
recipient is within such official duties.

• If a law enforcement officer requests
information that does not meet the guidelines
indicated above, a subpoena from a court of
law is required before the information can be
released.

• DSS is required to report to the Division of
Family Services in situations where it believes
a home is unsuitable because of neglect, abuse
or exploitation of a child.
• A Court Appointed Special Advocate

(CASA) is given permission to inspect
and/or copy any records relating to the
child and his or her family guardian
without their consent.  The CASA has the
authority to interview all parties having
significant information relating to the
child.  The CASA must also be notified of
any staffing, investigations or proceedings
regarding the child, so that (s)he may
participate and represent the child.
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• If information is released under the
procedures applying to CASA,
pertinent details of the reasons for the
release shall be documented and
written notification of this release
shall be sent to the last known address
of the individual to whom the record
refers.

• DSS has the authority to disclose information
concerning applicants and recipients provided
it pertains to:
1) an investigation, prosecution, or criminal

or civil proceeding conducted in
connection with public assistance
programs.

2) the administration of any other Federal or
federally assisted program which provides
assistance, in cash or in kind, or services,
directly to individuals on the basis of
need.  The agency must assure DSS that
such information will remain confidential
and will be used only to pursue services
for the individual. Other means tested
programs include the Supplemental
Security Income Program, School Lunch
and Breakfast Program, the Energy
Assistance Program, and the Low Income
Housing Program.

• Other agencies (such as Family and Children
Services of Delaware, Inc., Catholic Social
Services, Legal Aid, etc.) must provide written
permission from the recipient before public
assistance information may be released.

• Other governmental agencies may obtain lists
of recipients from DSS if the information will
be used to perform services for DSS, and the
agency can assure DSS that the lists will remain
confidential.

APPEALS PROCESS

DSS will provide timely and adequate notice for actions
taken which affect eligibility or benefit level. Adequate
notice means a written notice that includes a statement of
what action the agency intends to take, the reasons for the
intended agency action, the specific regulations supporting
such action, explanation of the individual’s right to request a
fair hearing, and the circumstances under which assistance
may be continued if a hearing is requested.

Timely notice means a notice which is mailed no later
than 10 days before the date of action (i.e., 10 days before

the intended change would be effective). When DSS learns
of facts indicating that assistance should be discontinued,
suspended, terminated, or reduced because of the probable
fraud of the recipient, and, where possible, such facts have
been verified through secondary sources, notice of a grant
adjustment is timely if mailed at least five days before the
action would become effective.

An opportunity for a hearing will be granted to any
applicant who requests a hearing because his/her claim for
assistance is denied or is not acted upon with reasonable
promptness and to any applicant or recipient who is
aggrieved by any Agency action.

To be considered by the Agency, a request for a hearing
must be a clear expression in writing by the appellant or his/
her representative to the effect that (s)he wants the
opportunity to present his/her case to higher authority. The
freedom to make such a request will not be limited or
interfered with in any way and the Division will assist the
appellant in submitting and processing his/her request. A
hearing need not be granted when either State or Federal law
requires automatic grant adjustments for classes of
recipients, unless the reason for an individual appeal is
incorrect grant computation.

WORK

Goals for Work
Delaware’s TANF program is based on the belief that

assistance provided is transitional and should not become a
way of life.  The State maintains that the way for persons to
avoid dependency on welfare is for them to find and
maintain employment.  Thus the primary goal of TANF is to
help recipients find private sector work and to help them
keep such work by providing them with necessary supports.

To assist families in obtaining and maintaining
employment, the State will engage the efforts of the
Departments of Health and Social Services, Labor and
Economic Development and Delaware’s private sector to
provide job readiness and placement opportunities, health
and child care, the EITC, and family services.  In turn, TANF
recipients who have the capacity to work will be required to
accept work, to keep their children in school, to cooperate
with child support, to bear the costs of additional children
they conceive while on welfare, and to leave the welfare
rolls after a defined time period.

State Agencies Involved
Delaware Health and Social Services, Labor, and

Economic Development have a unique partnership. All three
agencies are responsible for moving welfare clients to work.
These three agencies have collaborated in developing
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Delaware’s TANF program, in public information, in
implementation, and continue to collaborate in managing the
initiative.

The Delaware Transit Corporation (DTC) in the
Department of Transportation has joined the TANF
collaborative team, and has assisted to develop a statewide
transportation system plan for TANF, using vans and other
vehicle sources. 

Minutes for the TANF collaboration team for the
previous six months are included as Attachment B. 

In May 2001, the Business Planning Committee, a
subcommittee of the TANF collaborative team that deals
with transportation initiatives, sponsored a transportation
forum in each of the three counties.  The purpose of the
forums was to bring together businessmen, community
leaders and other stake holders to develop and advance
innovative, non-traditional solutions to varying
transportation problems faced by each county. 

Transportation forum highlights were a panel discussion
by the lead agencies that shared some "points of pride" in the
program and gaps and needs in transportation, Best Practices
Ideas and Transportation Information, Employer
Recognition of Innovative Success Solutions and brain-
storming sessions to identify transportation issues and to
gather ideas for further development.  Each forum was
designed to highlight transportation problems that were
county specific.  Sussex County Government, represented by
the Sussex County Administrator, was particularly effective
in explaining the population growth, the economic growth
and the problems created by their largely rural area. 

As a result of the forums, the Business Planning
Committee has been able to identify some cross-cutting
themes statewide as well as county specific. They have also
been able to identify ideas that need further development and
which will be used as the Committee continues to find
innovative solutions to transportation problems.  One over-
riding theme from the forums was the lack of knowledge of
the current transportation options available.  This has led to
the production of a transportation video which highlights all
the options available to assist individuals as they move from
dependency to self-sufficiency.

Another special partnership is that between the Division
of Social Services and the Division of Child Support
Enforcement.  Both agencies are part of Delaware Health
and Social Services.  This close linkage has enabled them to
partner throughout TANF development and implementation.

Involvement of Community, Education, Business, 
Religious, Local Government and Non-Profit 

Organizations to Provide Work

As noted in the discussion on page 2, every sector has
been actively involved in the development of Delaware’s
TANF program and continues to be involved.

A TANF Employer Committee, consisting of
representatives of both the public and private sector, assists
in placing welfare recipients in unsubsidized jobs and
provides advice on direction, policy, and implementation of
welfare-to-work efforts. This committee was established
through HB 251.  A major accomplishment of the Employer
Committee in conjunction with DEDO and the Department
of Education was the development of a program, Career Soft
Skills Essentials for employers, which is now posted on the
internet at www.delawareworkforce.com. The committee
regularly advises the collaborative team about TANF
employment issues.  Minutes of committee meetings for the
prior year are included as Attachment C. 

To further promote employer interest in hiring TANF
recipients, the Departments of Labor and Economic
Development meet with members of the business
community at regularly scheduled events like monthly
Chamber of Commerce meetings as well as at special events.
For example, to roll out Career Soft Skills Essentials, DEDO
hosted two conferences to link employers with trainers.

The Social Services Advisory Council is established by
executive order.  The Governor appoints council members to
advise the directors of both the Division of Social Services
and the Division of Child Support Enforcement on matters
related to public assistance and child support services.
Council members represent the community, advocates, non-
profit providers, educators, and interested citizens. 

DSS and DCSE management regularly meet with the
Social Services Advisory Council to discuss TANF and other
Social Services and Child Support programs.  Minutes of
Social Services Advisory Council meetings in 2005, along
with information on current Council members, are attached.
(Attachment D)

Client specific focus groups were also conducted by the
Director of DSS in 2000 and 2001.  The 2000 focus groups,
held in different locations throughout the state from May
through November, asked recipients a series of questions
about the TANF program, to ascertain their knowledge of
various program requirements, and their experiences
obtaining assistance from DSS workers and contractors.  The
2001 client focus groups were held from June through
October.  They asked a series of questions about client work
and sanction experiences, and ascertained information about
specific services that had been of assistance and obstacles
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that clients had to overcome to obtain and retain
employment. (Attachment E)

Based on these focus groups, there seemed to be a solid
majority opinion that people understood the rules, that
sanctions are appropriate, and that some people do need a
push to get motivated to get back into the job market.
However, clients did wish for more flexibility for individual
circumstances, and requested more assistance with
transportation and in juggling schedules so that program
requirements could be met.

Special interest groups such as One Church, One Family
and New Pathways have chosen to focus their resources on
welfare families and provided mentoring support to welfare
families.

Role of Public and Private Contractors in Delivery of 
Services

Delaware has contracted with private for-profit and non-
profit providers and the local community college network to
provide job readiness, job placement and retention services
to welfare clients since 1986. These contractual
arrangements continue under TANF. Contractors include
community and faith-based social services agencies and
organizations offering specialized services.

A number of community providers across the state
provide academic remediation to TANF recipients.

Who Must Participate
All adult caretakers and other adults in the time-limited

assistance unit who are not exempt must participate in TANF
employment and training related activities. The two
exemptions are:  1) a parent caring for a child under 13
weeks of age; and  2) an individual determined
unemployable by a health care professional.

Teen parents are required to attend elementary,
secondary, post-secondary, vocational, or training school,
participate in a GED program or work. Delaware will use
state MOE funds for benefits we provide to unmarried non-
graduate teen parents who are working, rather than in an
educational or training activity.  
Services to Move Families to Work

Delaware's goal is to place the adult recipient in
unsubsidized employment as quickly as possible.  To
accomplish this goal, the current menu of services includes:

• Work readiness/Life skills 
• Job search/Job placement
• Job retention
• Work Experience/OJT
• Education, including vocational education, as

described in SB 101, effective July 2, 1999

• Provide financial management training.
• Work-related activities that assist in obtaining

or maintaining employment or improve work
performance.
Non-exempt TANF participants will participate
in the job search program, consisting of job
readiness classes and supervised job search
activity.  Unsuccessful job search participants
can be placed in another job search sequence or
another work-related activity such as an
alternative work experience, OJT, remediation
or a skills training program.

Clients must keep appointments with Employment and
Training staff, cooperate in the development of the
employment activities included in their Contract of Mutual
Responsibility, and participate in employment and training
activities. The penalty for non-compliance with any of the
above client responsibilities will be subject to sanctions as
described in “Sanctions: Failure to Comply with the Contract
and Imposition of Sanctions” on page 29.

The State implemented a new Employment and Training
Management  Information System (ETMIS) July 2005 that
was incorporated into the existing Delaware Client
Information System (DCIS). This new ETMIS can track
referrals, hours of participation, and sanctions. The ETMIS
provides greater accountability and tracking of participants
to ensure the highest possible work participation rates. While
an excellent management evaluation tool, it will also provide
Delaware with the ability to determine where changes need
to be made to ensure the success of the individuals in
meeting program goals.

Work
Until January 1, 2000, one-parent families in the Time-

Limited Temporary Program were required to immediately
engage in meaningful job search and comply with conditions
set forth in their Contract of Mutual Responsibility including
work, education, and training activities. Failure to comply
with the work requirements resulted in the imposition of an
employment and training sanction. Recipients who were
unable to locate private sector jobs despite good faith efforts
to do so, were eligible to receive Work For Your Welfare
payments, for participating in a workfare job, for a
maximum of two more years.

Effective January 1, 2000, families initially applying for
or reapplying for benefits can only receive benefits if they
are employed or immediately participate in a Work For Your
Welfare position. Failure to comply with the work
requirements contained in their Contract of Mutual
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 6, THURSDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS920
Responsibility results in the imposition of an employment
and training sanction.

Single parent households are required to participate in
Work for Your Welfare up to 30 hours per week, determined
by dividing TANF and Food Stamp benefits by the minimum
wage. If the hours determined by dividing the grants by the
minimum wage exceed 30 hours per week, participants are
to complete no more than 30 hours maximum participation
hours. In addition to participating in Work For Your Welfare,
individuals must participate in 10 hours of job search,
education or a vocational activity per week. 

Participants who fail to complete the hours required by
dividing their grant by the minimum wage will have their
grant adjusted.  For each hour not worked, participants will
have the grant adjusted downward by the amount of the
minimum hourly wage. Participants who fail to complete the
10 hours of job search, education or a vocational activity per
week are subject to employment and training sanctions.

In two parent households, one parent must participate in
Work For Your Welfare and the second parent must
participate in a work-related activity, including child care.
The requirements for parents in two-parent households are
unchanged.

The January 1, 2000 change in the work requirements
for one-parent families means that, to receive Time-Limited
TANF benefits in Delaware, both one-parent and two-parent
families must either be employed or participate in a Work
For Your Welfare position with supplementary activities as
required. Delaware’s requirement for immediate work
activities exceeds the federal TANF mandate.

An individual enrolled in the TANF Time-Limited
Program who, in accordance with the requirements in their
Contract of Mutual Responsibility, participates in
unsubsidized employment of at least twenty- five hours per
week is not required to participate in Work for Your Welfare.
Individuals participating in a combination of such
employment and education of at least twenty (20) hours per
week are also not required to participate in Work For Your
Welfare. TANF Contracts of Mutual Responsibility are
designed to fit individual circumstances. It is possible for an
individual enrolled in the TANF Time-Limited Program who
is engaged in at least twenty (20) hours of combined work
and allowable education activities to meet work
requirements, if their Contract of Mutual Responsibility
contains such an activity agreement.

Recognizing that Delaware’s hourly requirements for
participation in work and work-related activities are broader
than those prescribed by the current TANF legislation, we
are prepared to provide some benefits utilizing state MOE
funding if this later becomes necessary in order to continue
to meet TANF work participation requirements.   

Time limits for Delaware’s Time-Limited TANF
Program are described in the section entitled, TANF Benefits
to Needy Families: Time Limits.

Protecting Current Workers from Displacement
Regarding the Work for Your Welfare program, DSS

conforms to Section (a)(5) of the Federal Unemployment
Tax Act which requires that a job offered cannot be available
as a result of a strike or labor dispute, that the job cannot
require the employee to join or prohibit the employee from
joining a labor organization, and that program participants
are not used to displace regular workers.

In addition DSS ensures that no participants, including
but not limited to those placed in either a Work For Your
Welfare placement or a community work experience
program, displace regular paid employees of any of the
organizations providing either the placement or the
community work experience. Such assurance complies with
State law contained in 31 Delaware Code, Chapter 9,
Section 905(b).  This assurance also complies with Section
407(f) of TANF, which requires that DSS will not use federal
funds under TANF to place individuals in a work activity
when:

• any individual is on a layoff from the same or a
substantially equivalent job;

• the employer has terminated any regular
employee or otherwise caused an involuntary
reduction of its workforce in order to fill the
vacancy created with an adult receiving TANF
benefits.

In addition, DSS has established a grievance procedure,
in conformance with Section 407(f)(3) of TANF, for
resolving complaints for any alleged violation of
nondisplacement requirements. Employees or their
representatives who believe that their jobs are being
displaced or infringed upon shall present their complaint to
the employment contractor with authority over the
placement.  If the contractor is unable to resolve the problem
within 15 days, the employee or representative may file a
formal grievance in writing to the DSS Director’s Office,
who will hear a formal grievance. The employee will have
an opportunity to: present his/her grievance on the record;
present evidence; bring witnesses and cross examine
witnesses; be represented by counsel; and receive a written
decision.

Grievance hearings will be scheduled within 30
calendar days of receipt of the formal grievance, and a
written decision will be issued within 30 days of the hearing.
If either party is dissatisfied with the State’s written decision,
they may appeal the decision to the U.S. Department of
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Labor within 20 days of receipt of the written decision.  The
procedures for appeal, which must be sent to the Office of
Administrative Law Judges, in the U.S. Department of
Labor, will be provided in writing with the decision.

Supportive Services
Delaware recognizes the importance of available child

care in helping recipients participate in work-related
activities, and securing and retaining unsubsidized
employment.  To that end, the financial resources provided
for child care have been significantly increased from the
FY95 child care funding level to the current request for
funding.

Supportive Services, such as child care, and TANF
provided assistance with other work-related expenses, such
as eye examinations and corrective lenses, dental, and
physicals not covered by Medicaid, transportation, fees,
training, and work-related equipment, uniforms, shoes, and
supplies will be available where possible. Services are
provided by voucher or directly. In addition, TANF will, on a
case by case basis, pay fees to purchase certificates, licenses,
or testing needed to obtain employment. Medical services
are not part of these supportive services. DSS will determine
when such services are necessary for a TANF recipient to
participate.  The services shall include:

• Support provided by contractors to retain
employment for one (1) year

• Health care for Delaware citizens through:
• providing Medicaid coverage to uninsured

adults with income at or below 100 percent of
the federal poverty level 

• providing medical coverage for uninsured
children in families with income up to 200% of
the federal poverty level, through the Delaware
Healthy Children program

• providing transitional Medicaid via 1931d
program effective October 1, 2002, for two
years for families with children who exit
welfare, at incomes up to 185% of poverty.

Subsidized child care for families who leave TANF to
go to work for a period of two years, as long as family
income remains below 200 percent of the federal poverty
level.  In addition, to help individuals retain unsubsidized
employment beyond two (2) years, Delaware also provides
subsidized child-care to other low income working families
until the family’s income exceeds 200 percent of the federal
poverty level.

• Job search programs and other assistance from the

Department of Labor to find a job; and
• ongoing job retention assistance.

Additional Targeted Support

Family Development Profile
The Family Development Profile is used by Delaware to

identify possible social, familial, and emotional barriers to
self-sufficiency, insofar as they impact an individual’s ability
to obtain and retain employment.  Participants who complete
the Profile answer questions about their self-esteem and
health, and relationships with family members and other
individuals. The Profile includes the capacity to identify
mental health problems.

DSS workers report that the Profile frequently surfaces
major domestic issues which participants need to resolve.
By utilizing the Profile, workers are able to refer participants
for assistance in resolving domestic violence and other abuse
situations. Further efforts to assist individuals to resolve
domestic violence and other abuse situations are described in
a later section: Parental Responsibility: Addressing
Problems of Statutory Rape and Domestic Violence.

Substance Abuse
As part of the application and redetermination

processes, workers ask clients a series of questions, called
the CAGE questions, to identify substance abusers for
referral to appropriate services.  Through the Bridge
Program and referrals to the Division of Substance Abuse
and Mental Health (DSAMH), Delaware’s TANF program
offers assessment and non-medical treatment services for all
substance abusers identified through this and other methods.
DSAMH and the Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance (DMMA) will ensure that if medical treatment
services are needed they are paid from other than TANF
funds.

Supporting Teens
Delaware is targeting youth by providing special

services.  Through the Department of Education, Delaware
provides a family literacy program which includes parenting
skills training and other services to teen parents and their
children to prevent repeat pregnancies. 

Beginning with FY 1999 funds were allocated for
Delaware’s Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiative, Teen
Hope, to support activities for at-risk teens in six School
Based Health Centers (SBHCs) and one community site.
The program, utilizing the Transtheoretical Behavior Change
Model, helps youth develop skills to make better sexual and
health related decisions.  Initial programs have been very
successful.  In addition, wellness centers located in 27 high
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schools provide medical, health and counseling services to
high school students.

Several other initiatives are being operated.  The
AmeriCorp Grant partnership grant with DHSS as lead was
awarded in 1999.  Under this grant, Planned Parenthood is
managing an effort to have AmeriCorp members provide a
responsible adult presence and a structured environment for
youth to learn, as a strategy to prevent teen pregnancy, in the
lives of at-risk teens in selected target areas.  The Abstinence
Education Grant currently provides mini-grants to agencies
providing skills building community programs for teens.

Delaware has undertaken, through an Alliance on
Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention (AAPP), a grassroots
community and media outreach campaign to convince
teenagers to postpone sexual activity and to avoid becoming
or making someone else pregnant.  AAPP works directly
with parents in this initiative to improve communication
between parents and children around sexuality and
pregnancy prevention. In addition, AAPP provides
preventive education and distributes information on
preventing teen pregnancy, utilizing a number of kinds of
interventions. For example, two full-time community
educators visit schools, community centers, churches, and
camps; and provide workshops/training to parents and
children around sexuality and teen pregnancy prevention.
AAPP also maintains a resource center for the community
and lends or gives away brochures, videos, curriculum,
posters, books, and other communications about teen
pregnancy prevention and sexuality. 

The Wise Guys initiative is an adolescent male
responsibility program that uses an established Wise Guys
curriculum over a ten-week period.  The program, operating
in six high school based health centers, promotes character
development and prevention of adolescent pregnancy by
teaching young males self-responsibility in several areas. 

Delaware’s teen pregnancy prevention campaign also
uses billboards to convey the message, and statewide
conferences to provide assistance implementing prevention
activities.

Delaware’s TANF program provides a positive incentive
to teenagers to graduate high school by age 19 by awarding a
one-time $50 bonus. Additionally, TANF requires teenage
mothers currently on welfare to live with their parent(s) or a
responsible adult, stay in school, immunize their children
and participate in parenting education.

Services to teens are also discussed in the Section
entitled Parental Responsibility: Efforts to Reduce Out-Of-
Wedlock Births.

Delivery of Services Across State
Delivery of services will be consistent across the State

TANF BENEFITS TO NEEDY FAMILIES

Computing the Benefit
Eligibility will be determined prospectively.  After

establishing eligibility, benefits will be computed
prospectively.  Income per time period will be converted to a
monthly income figure by utilizing the following conversion
factors:

Weekly 4.33
Bi-weekly 2.16
Semi-monthly 2.00

EXAMPLE:  Given a weekly income of $85, multiply by
4.33 to arrive at a monthly income of $368.05.

The benefit amount will be determined by using
prospective budgeting and the best estimate of earned and
unearned income for the assistance unit.  The payment will
not be changed until the next eligibility determination,
unless the recipient reports a change that would result in an
increase in the benefit or there is a significant change in
circumstances as defined below.

• A significant change is defined as any of the
following:

• change in household size; 
• new source of employment;
• loss of unsubsidized employment or a change

in employment status from full time to part
time which was beyond the recipient’s control; 

• an increase of forty (40) hours or more in
unsubsidized employment per month; 

• receipt of a new source of unearned income; or
• increases or decreases in existing sources of

unearned income totaling $50.00 or more per
month.

The recipient needs to verify all changes in
circumstances.

EXAMPLE:  An applicant applies in May.  The applicant is
employed.  The applicant is working 20 hours per week and
earns $5.65 per hour.  The best estimate of wages is
calculated by multiplying 20 hours times $5.65 ($113.00 per
week), then multiplying the weekly figure by 4.33 to
determine the monthly income of $485.90.

Redeterminations
At least one redetermination is required every six (6)

months.  TANF emphasizes work and work related activity.
Mandating face-to-face redeterminations might undermine
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that goal.  Therefore, mail-in redeterminations, with a
telephone interview are used as an option to encourage
recipients to continue participating in employment and
training activities or to keep working.

When a redetermination is due, the recipient must
complete a new DSS application form or a DSS renewal
form. The redetermination could be completing a paper form
or participating in an automated interactive interview. A
redetermination is complete when all eligibility factors are
examined and a decision regarding continuing eligibility is
reached.

The assistance case will be closed if a recipient fails,
without good cause, to complete the redetermination review.
Likewise, the assistance case of a recipient who fails,
without good cause, to provide requested information
necessary to establish continued eligibility will be closed.

As part of the verification process for continuing
eligibility, the person will provide verification that (s)he has
carried out the elements of the individual Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.  

Time Limits
Under TANF, cash benefits are time-limited for

households headed by employable adults age 18 or older
who are included in the grant. Prior to January 1, 2000,
Delaware limited receipt of TANF, for families in the Time-
Limited Program, to twenty-four (24) cumulative months.
During the time-limited period, employable adults received
full benefits if they met the requirements of their Contract of
Mutual Responsibility, including employment-related
activities.

After the first 24 month cumulative period ended,
families headed by employable adults could continue to
receive cash benefits for an additional 24 cumulative months
only as long as the adults participated in a Work For Your
Welfare work experience program or they were working and
family income was below the need standard of 75 percent of
the Federal Poverty Level. 

Effective January 1, 2000 the time limit for receipt of
TANF cash benefits is thirty-six (36) cumulative months.

During the time-limited period, employable adult
recipients receive full cash benefits only as long as they meet
the requirements of their Contract of Mutual Responsibility,
including participation in employment-related activities. The
ultimate goal of this time-limited period is to support the
employable adult’s search for, and placement in, an
unsubsidized job. Time limits will not apply when
Delaware’s unemployment rate substantially exceeds the
national average or is greater than 7.5 percent.

Individuals found eligible for TANF prior to January 1,
2000 will still have a forty-eight (48) month time limit even
if they reapply for benefits on or after January 1, 2000.

DSS will track the time remaining before a family’s
time limits expire and notify families on a quarterly basis of
the time they have remaining before the time limits expire.
At least two (2) months prior to the end of the 36 or 48
cumulative months in which a family has received
assistance, DSS will remind the family that assistance will
end and notify the family of the right to apply for an
extension. 

Extensions will be provided only to those families who
can demonstrate that:

• the agency substantially failed to provide the
services specified in the individual’s Contract
of Mutual Responsibility; the related extension
will correspond to the time period for which
services were not provided; or

• despite their best efforts to find and keep
employment, no suitable unsubsidized
employment was available in the local
economy to the employable adult caretaker; the
maximum extension under such circumstances
will be 12 months.

Extensions may also be granted where other unique
circumstances exist.  Extensions will not be granted if the
adult caretaker received and rejected offers of employment,
quit a job without good cause, or was fired for cause or if the
adult caretaker did not make a good faith effort to comply
with the terms of the Contract of Mutual Responsibility. 

Retroactively, starting October 1, 1995, Delaware
exempted months in which a person worked twenty hours or
more per week from counting toward the Delaware lifetime
time limit when the countable income of the family is below
the need standard. Beginning in May 2005, Delaware
exempts months in which a person works twenty-five hours
or more from counting toward the Delaware lifetime time
limit when the countable income of the family is below the
need standard.  So that families who have not reached the
State’s 36/48 month time limit won’t reach the Federal 60
month time limit, benefits for these families are provided
under a segregated program using State MOE funding,
beginning October 1, 1999. However, both the federal and
Delaware time clocks continue to run for individuals who
meet their work participation requirements by participating
in a combination of employment and education for at least
twenty (20) hours a week; and for individuals who meet their
work participation requirements by participating in
education for at least twenty (20) hours a week.
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After the time limit has been reached, benefits will be
provided to families that have been granted an extension
only for a maximum period of 12 months and only in the
Work For Your Welfare component. Thus, for Time-Limited
families, unless the caretaker is employed at least twenty-
five (25) hours per week, the maximum period for receipt of
benefits to families enrolled in the Time-Limited TANF
Program will be sixty (60) cumulative months for families
with a forty-eight (48) cumulative time limit and forty-eight
(48) months for families with a thirty-six (36) month time
limit.  Delaware will comply with federal requirements so
that no family receives more than sixty (60) months of
TANF paid through federal TANF block grant. 

Sanctions:  Failure to Comply with the Contract and the
Imposition of Sanctions

The Contract of Mutual Responsibility encompasses
three broad categories of requirements: 1) enhanced family
functioning; 2) self-sufficiency; and 3) teen responsibility
requirements.

1) Enhanced family functioning requirements of the
Contract include, but are not limited to, acquiring
family planning information and attending
parenting education sessions, ensuring that children
are immunized, and participating in substance
abuse assessment and treatment. Sanction for non-
compliance with these requirements is an initial $50
which will increase by $50 every month until there
is compliance with the requirement. The initial $50
reduction will be imposed whether the family fails
to comply with one, or more than one requirement.
Clients will have to comply with all requirements
before the sanction can end.

2) Self-sufficiency requirements of the Contract of
Mutual Responsibility are employment and
training, work-related activities, and ensuring
school attendance requirements for dependent
children under age 16.  

• The sanction for non-compliance with
these requirements is a 1/3 reduction of the
benefit for the first occurrence, 2/3
reduction for the second occurrence and a
total and permanent loss of the benefit for
the third occurrence for work related
activities. A third occurrence of the
penalty for a child under 16 not attending
school is loss of all cash benefits but is
curable when the parent demonstrates
compliance.  The duration of the first and
second sanctions will each be two months

or until the person complies.  If, at the end
of the two month period, there is no
demonstrated compliance, the sanction
will increase to the next level.

• Clients will have to demonstrate
compliance with all self-sufficiency
requirements before all benefits are
restored.

• For the purpose of determining that the
individual’s failure to comply has ended,
the individual must participate in the
activity to which (s)he was previously
assigned, or an activity designed by the
Employment and Training provider to lead
to full participation, for a period of two
weeks before ending the sanction.

• The penalty for individuals who quit their
jobs without good cause and do not
comply with subsequent job search
requirements will be loss of all cash
benefits.  The penalty for individuals who
quit their jobs without good cause, but
who comply with subsequent job search
requirements, will be:
• for a first offense, a 1/3 reduction in

TANF, to be imposed for a period of
two months;

• for a second offense, a 2/3 reduction
in TANF, to be imposed for a period of
two months;

• for a third offense, a permanent loss of
all cash benefits.

• For dependent children under age 16, including
teen parents, the sanction will not be imposed if
the parent of the teen is working with school
officials or other agencies to remediate the
situation.

3) Teen responsibility requirements include
maintaining satisfactory school attendance, or
participation in alternative activities such as
training or employment, for dependent children 16
years of age and older. The sanction for non-
compliance with these requirements is to remove
the needs of the teen from the TANF benefit and to
remove the needs of the caretaker if the caretaker
does not work to remedy the situation. Complying
with the requirements ends the sanction.

Failing to comply with both the enhanced family
functioning and self-sufficiency requirements will result in
combined penalties.  For example, both a $50 reduction and
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a 1/3 reduction to the benefit could be assessed for first
failures to comply in two areas.  Demonstrated compliance
will not excuse penalties for the period of noncompliance.
Sanctions will be imposed for the full period of
noncompliance.

Benefit Delivery: Direct Payments and Vouchers
Currently, Delaware uses check issuance as the payment

method for TANF.
Delaware directly pays for center-based child care

authorized for TANF participants, where the center agrees to
accept the Delaware child care reimbursement rate.  Some
caretakers, however, receive vouchers to self-arrange and
pay for their child care. Delaware will reimburse these
caretakers, up to the rates published in the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) plan, for the cost of child care
provided by licensed and license-exempt child care
providers.

STAFF TRAINING

TANF training has been incorporated into the Cash
Grant training which is required for all new financial
services staff. APHSA training has now been incorporated
into Interviewing and Coaching training which is required
for all new staff.

PARENTAL RESPONSIBILITY

Adults and minor parent(s) are required to comply with
parenting expectations outlined in the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.

Cooperation with Child Support Enforcement
Participants in TANF must cooperate with the Division

of Child Support Enforcement as a condition of eligibility.
In addition, all families are required to provide sufficient
information to permit Delaware to obtain child support on
behalf of the family.  Exceptions can be made when the
caretaker demonstrates that pursuit of child support would
create a danger to the caretaker or the child(ren).  It is the
responsibility of the client to provide documentation to
verify such a good cause claim.

Failure of a caretaker, without good cause, to cooperate
with and provide information to the DCSE to permit the
State to pursue the collection of child support on behalf of
dependent children will result in a full family sanction, until
compliance. Applicants who fail to provide information so
that Delaware may pursue child support collections will be
denied.  To cure the child support sanction, the caretaker will
provide sufficient information to permit Delaware to pursue

child support collections on behalf of the needy children in
the family.

When a child lives with both the natural father and the
mother but paternity has not been legally established, the
parents will be referred to the Division of Child Support
Enforcement (DCSE) for a voluntary acknowledgment of
paternity. 

When a child lives with the natural father but paternity
has not been legally established, the father will complete a
declaration of natural relationship document and will
provide acceptable verification of relationship.

When a child lives with a relative of the natural father
but paternity has not been legally established, the relative
must complete a declaration of natural relationship
document and provide acceptable verification of
relationship.

In Delaware, DCSE determines non-cooperation with
child support requirements.  In addition, effective January 1,
1999 DCSE began making the determination of good cause.

Distribution of Child Support Collections to TANF
Recipients

Delaware, a fill-the-gap state in 1975, uses fill-the-gap
to make sure that families do not experience a net loss of
income due to the State retaining Child Support paid by
absent parents.  A portion of Child Support payments is not
counted in calculating the grant.

Efforts to Reduce Out-of-Wedlock Births
Delaware believes that the number of out-of-wedlock

births to teens must be reduced significantly to eliminate
poverty and dependency. A study by Doble Research
Associates commissioned by the Governor’s Family
Council, in June, 1998, concluded that Delaware’s efforts to
reduce teen pregnancy, including establishing more after-
school programs, strongly enforcing child-support
enforcement and the Sexual Predator Act, and making teen
mothers ineligible for cash assistance, are solidly supported
by public opinion.  We are undertaking a number of
statewide initiatives to reduce adolescent pregnancy.  Many
of these initiatives are being coordinated through the
activities of the Alliance for Adolescent Pregnancy
Prevention (AAPP). Ventures include the provision of
adolescent health services through school-based health
centers and improving teen utilization of our family planning
centers.

The AAPP is a statewide public and private partnership
charged with the development and implementation of a
comprehensive plan to prevent adolescent pregnancy in
Delaware. The organizational structure of the Alliance
includes a 12 member advisory board appointed by the
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Governor and a statewide membership of over 200 schools,
agencies, organizations, churches, and individuals concerned
with teen pregnancy.  Staff and program support for the
Alliance is provided through a contract from the Division of
Public Health (DPH) to the Medical Center of Delaware.

Since its inception, the AAPP has awarded mini-grants
to non-profit youth organizations to provide community
based teen pregnancy programs; implemented a statewide
media campaign to increase community awareness; and
worked with existing coalitions to establish teen pregnancy
prevention programs.  AAAP plans and activities include:

• statewide leadership to develop a visible, viable
structure for mobilizing resources needed to impact
the problem;

• data development to develop a methodology to
monitor rates in real time;

• public relations efforts to increase community
awareness and involvement; and

• identifying barriers to teen utilization of family
planning services and developing solutions

The Division of Public Health has the lead
responsibility in Delaware to implement initiatives to reduce
teen pregnancy.  Using the strategies and recommendations
presented by AAPP, DPH activities include school based
health centers, family planning clinics, parenting education,
and the peer leadership program.  The “teen friendly”
services provided at Department of Public Health Units
located at State Service Centers have resulted in a significant
increase in use.  In addition, all clients seen in Sexually
Transmitted Disease Clinic sites receive counseling on
family planning, as well as pregnancy prevention supplies.

Based on a report by Adolescent Health Survey
Research (AHSR), which used a survey and focus groups
with youth and their parents conducted early in 1999 to
identify top strategies in pregnancy prevention, Delaware
implemented a number of initiatives to prevent subsequent
births, including:

• Smart Start, an enhanced prenatal program that
attempts to decrease low birth weight babies, infant
mortality, and maternal mortality, through social
service, nutritional, and nursing support to at-risk
pregnant women;

• Placing information on our combined Food Stamp/
cash assistance/MA applications for the following
telephone numbers: Planned Parenthood, AAPP
and Delaware Helpline, to obtain information on
pregnancy prevention/family planning.

In addition, family planning and reproductive health
services are provided to adults in eight public health
locations in Delaware; and similar services are provided to
adults by Planned Parenthood of Delaware in five locations
in the state. Minority populations are targeted through family
planning and reproductive health services available at three
Federally Qualified Health Centers in Delaware; and family
planning and reproductive health services are available to
Delaware State University students through the DSU health
center.

These Delaware initiatives to reduce out-of-wedlock
births are complemented and strengthened by the policies of
TANF which:

• Require adults and minor parent(s) to obtain family
planning information from the provider of their
choice; 

• Provide for a fiscal sanction of an initial $50
reduction in benefits for failure, without good
cause, to obtain family planning information. This
reduction will increase each month by $50.00,
either until there is compliance or the case is closed.
The sanction will end when the adult and/or minor
parent(s) obtains the family planning information at
the provider of their choice;

• Eliminate benefit increases for children conceived
while a caretaker is receiving TANF, and apply this
family cap to children who are the firstborn of
minors included in a TANF grant where the
children are born after March 1, 1997; and

• Treat two parent families the same as single parent
families. 

The goals for the Division of Public Health teen
pregnancy prevention are mirrored in the ‘Responsible
Sexual Behavior’ section of the Healthy Delaware 2010
guidebook.  They include:

a. By 2010, increase the proportion of teens who
abstain from sexual intercourse or use condoms if currently
sexually active from 79% to 85%.

b. By 2004, implement an evidence-based media
campaign to promote responsible sexual behavior

c. By 2010, maintain the proportion of youth that
report remaining abstinent before age 13 at 90%

d. By 2005, reduce the birth rate for teenagers
aged 15 through 17 from 39.2 to 33.3 per 1,000.

Goals a. and c. are measured through the Youth Risk
Behavior Survey administered every two years by the
Department of Education.  Goal b. has been satisfied by the
implementation of an ongoing teen pregnancy prevention
media campaign managed by the Alliance for Adolescent
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Pregnancy Prevention through Christiana Health Care under
contract by DPH. Goal d. is measured by the Delaware
Health Statistics Center. 

DSS will see that TANF families receive education
about the benefits of marriage and planning to have children
when they can be best supported by both parents within the
financial management component of their training. Our goal
is to reduce the out of wedlock birth rate by 1% each year
beginning with FFY 2004. 

Initiatives to Promote Two-Parent Families
To provide broad-based support for working families,

Delaware was one of the first States to recognize that the
special eligibility requirements that applied to two-parent
families contributed both to the non-formation and the break
up of two-parent households.  The six-quarter work history
requirement was particularly responsible for non-marriage of
teen parents, who had not yet worked enough to meet this
qualification.  The denial of benefits to two-parent families if
one of the parents was working at least 100 hours a month
also contributed to the low work rate of two-parent families
which were receiving AFDC. 

When Delaware eliminated these special deprivation
requirements as part of our welfare reform waiver, the
numbers of two-parent families receiving TANF soared, and
we believe that, without the TANF change, many of these
households would have applied for and been found eligible
for benefits as single mother families. These never formed
two-parent households would have had profound effects on
the ability of the family to exit welfare and on the future
success of the children.  We have found that the average
length of stay on TANF is much lower for two-parent
families, reflecting the greater incidence of retained
employment when two adults are able to engage in work and
share child care duties.

Delaware has always allowed taxpayers to file
separately and applied the progressive rate structure to each
spouse’s income separately, which avoided most tax
increases resulting from marriage. However, a marriage
penalty could still result from uneven standard deduction
amounts. By increasing the standard deduction amount for
married taxpayers to exactly twice the single standard
deduction beginning January 1, 2000, enactment of HB 411
has effectively eliminated the income tax “marriage penalty”
in the State of Delaware

Addressing Problems of Statutory Rape and Domestic
Violence

Statutory Rape
The Sexual Predator Act of 1996 imposes more

severe criminal sanctions on adult males who are
significantly older than their victims and holds them
financially accountable when children are born as a
result of violations of this law.

The legislation requires a cooperative agreement as part
of a multi-faceted effort to combat teenage pregnancy and
reform welfare.  Specifically, the law requires the Attorney
General’s Office, the Department of Health and Social
Services, the Department of Services to Children Youth and
Their Families, the Department of Public Instruction and law
enforcement agencies statewide to establish a cooperative
agreement specifying the various roles of the agencies
involved. The Memorandum of Understanding establishing
the cooperative agreement, executed on December 10, 1996,
and SB 346 are provided as Attachment F.

Victims of Domestic Violence
As required under the optional Certification of

Standards and Procedures to Ensure that a State Will Screen
for and Identify Domestic Violence, DSS will refer
identified victims of domestic violence to appropriate
services such as shelters and counseling and to Family
Court. Under the Protection from Abuse Act (PFA), 10
Delaware Code, Chapter 9, Sections 1041-1048
(Attachment G), Family Court has the power and authority
to expeditiously adjudicate all matters related to domestic
violence including court ordered restraints, custody, property
and financial resources.

Through this strong domestic violence Law, Delaware is
clearly committed to assisting victims of domestic violence
to overcome circumstances which put them in physical,
emotional and/or financial jeopardy; and to assist them is
seeking redress and a safe environment for themselves and
their families. The Law is a strong deterrent to domestic
violence, according to a study by the National Center for
State Courts, released on December 2, 1996. The study
reported that 86 percent of those who sought protection
under the Law, which permits individuals in danger of
serious physical abuse to obtain a protection order, were no
longer being physically abused.

 In addition, using our Family Development Profile,
caseworkers ask a series of screening questions designed to
identify victims of domestic violence.  (See Attachment H)
So that we are certain that workers can use this tool to
effectively identify domestic violence issues, beginning
1998 all staff members at each of Delaware’s 17 field sites
receive a full day of Domestic Violence Training, focused on
the impact of domestic violence on clients and their ability to
abide by the conditions of the Contract of Mutual
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Responsibility. As part of this training, staff learn how to
recognize and assist women who are victims of domestic
violence. DSS has continued this training on an ongoing
basis and now provides the training not only to field staff but
to all staff.

We believe that our methodology of resolving domestic
violence situations as quickly as possible, as provided for
under a strong statute, is the most appropriate and best
course of action to assist current victims and to prevent
future violence where possible. 

Delaware certifies that the Family Development Profile
establishes a procedure that screens for domestic violence
and that, pursuant to a determination of good cause, program
requirements may be waived if it is determined that
compliance would make it more difficult for individuals to
escape violence. However, decisions to waive compliance
with TANF requirements will be made on an individual, case
by case basis, and will not endorse an individual’s failure to
behave proactively to ameliorate destructive domestic
violence situations. For our program to work, domestic
violence victims must take actions to recover their lives,
using the relief provided by the domestic violence statute
and the other resources Delaware makes available.

TRIBES

Delaware has no federally recognized tribes.

ADMINISTRATION

Structure of Agency
The Department of Health and Social Services is the

cabinet level agency designated by the State as responsible
for Delaware’s public assistance programs as allowed under
Title IV-A of the Social Security Act. Within the
Department, the Division of Social Services administers
these programs. (Organizational chart included as
Attachment I to State Plan.)

Administrative Spending
Delaware will comply with federal requirements.

Compliance With Participation Rates
Delaware intends to meet the participation rate

requirements set forth in the TANF legislation. Recognizing
that Delaware’s hourly requirements for participation in
work and work-related activities are broader than those
prescribed by the current TANF legislation, we are prepared
to provide some benefits utilizing state MOE funding if this
later becomes necessary in order to continue to meet TANF

work participation requirements. Delaware will comply with
federal requirements.

Maintenance of Effort 
Delaware is aware of and intends to fully comply with

the requirements of the law (P.L. 104-193) to maintain a
prescribed level of historic state expenditures. Delaware will
ensure that expenditures of state funds for benefits and
services (“Qualified State Expenditures” as defined in the
law) for TANF participants (either in the Part A federally
funded program or non-Part A state funded program) who
are TANF eligibles will equal or exceed the required annual
spending level.

As a 1975 fill-the-gap state, Delaware has opted to
continue to use fill-the-gap for the issuance of child support
disregard and child support supplemental payments to TANF
clients.  Delaware considers these payments to be “cash
assistance” to eligible families and therefore to be within the
definition of “Qualified State Expenditures”. 

Financial eligibility criteria for MOE-funded
assistance or services are the same as for other TANF
assistance or services, except that MOE claimed for child
care under the provisions of section 263.3 will follow the
financial eligibility criteria established in the CCDF State
Plan and associated State regulations.

Implementation Date and Plan Submittal Date
The plan is submitted for certification of completeness

on December, 2005. The implementation date for the
provisions of this plan is October 1, 2005.  Any subsequent
amendments to this Plan will be indicated by amending the
page of the Plan that describes the program or function being
changed.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) – 
Joint Custody

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services
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(DSS) is proposing to amend the Division of Social Services
Manual (DSSM) as it relates to Joint Custody and TANF.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 by December 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Regulation

Citation
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity

Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996

Background
There are often situations when two parties want to

receive TANF benefits for the same child at the same time.
In most circumstances, the party that has physical custody
and cares for the child most of the time will be able to
receive the TANF benefits. When the parties have joint
custody or shared custody, determining which party can
receive those benefits is more difficult. 

Summary of Proposal
DSSM 3004.1.1, Joint Custody:  Adds specific language

to describe the criteria and procedures for determining which
party receives TANF when two parties have joint custody or
shared custody.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-68

NEW:

DSSM 3004.1.1 Joint Custody

The home exists even if the responsible caretaker
relative or child is temporarily absent per DSSM 3023.4,
3023.5, and 3023.6 for TANF purposes. Joint custody cases
can complicate deciding if a child is eligible for TANF and
with which specified relative.

The Division of Social Services uses the following
terms and definitions. (Note: The court system may use
similar terms having different definitions.)

Joint Custody-Two parties are given the control to make
major life decisions for a child. Joint custody exists when
two parties are given, by court decree, the responsibility for
making the major decisions in a child's life. (This is not
meant to be an exhaustive list but a guide. There may be
other decisions that fall into this category.) Major life
decisions revolve around:

• Religious upbringing;
• Medical treatment options; and
• Education.

• Primary Residence- The physical home/location of
the child the majority of the time. The court may
indicate which party should maintain a primary
residence for the child. This decision is often with
one party but can sometimes be an equal split
between the adults seeking custody. A court decree
indicating that one party has the primary residence
does not automatically mean only that party is
permitted to apply for and receive TANF for that
child.

• Day-to-Day Care and Control- The person(s) who
provide the care for the child the majority of the
time. These care decisions do not necessarily rise to
the level of major life decisions but they are the
ones that the responsible adult makes on a daily
basis.

The Division of Social Services provides that in joint
custody situations, the first party to apply for and have
eligibility determined for TANF can receive it for that child.
This is permitted, whether or not the party in the joint
custody case has the primary residence of the child. We
allow this situation because the child will have just one
parent providing the day-to-day care or no parent providing
the day-to-day care at any given time. This only applies in
joint custody cases. 

When both parties in the joint custody arrangement wish
to receive TANF:

• Determine with whom the child resides most of
the time; and

• Determine who maintains the day-to-day care
and control of the child.

The party with whom the child resides most of the time
and the party who maintains the daily care and control of the
child will be able to receive TANF for that child. If both
parties have equal time and decision making for the child
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each month, then the party that applies first will be able to
receive the TANF benefits.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Refugee Cash Assistance

Self-Employment Income Standard Deduction

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services
(DSS) is proposing to amend the Division of Social Services
Manual (DSSM) to implement a simplified way to calculate
self-employment income. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program and
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 by December 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Change

Citation
45 CFR §400.56, Refugee Resettlement Program,

Structure

Background
Determining self-employment income is complicated

and error prone. Current food stamp rules do not allow
certain business costs that the Internal Revenue Service
(IRS) allows for tax purposes. Gathering the correct
information from tax records can be cumbersome for staff.
Verification of gross proceeds is fairly easy to obtain but
verifying the costs of doing business is not.

Summary of Proposed Change
DSSM 8028.1, Sources of Income: The previous

regulation that was adopted to implement the self-
employment standard deduction (October 2005 issue of the
Delaware Register) did not include Refugee Cash Assistance
(RCA).  This notice corrects the omission.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-70
REVISIONS:

8028.1 Sources of Earned Income
1. Wages - Gross earnings paid to the employee before

deductions for taxes, FICA, insurance, etc. are counted.  Sick
pay or vacation pay is considered as a wage as long as it is
paid as a wage.  If sick pay is paid through an insurance
company as disability pay, it is considered unearned income.  

NOTE: Earnings paid to employees under contract are
averaged over the number of months covered by the
contract.

EXAMPLE:  A teacher is under contract for a full calendar
year, but may choose to collect his pay during the school
year.  His wages for public assistance purposes are budgeted
over the full year.

2. Self employment - Gross earned income from self
employment is determined by subtracting business expenses
(supplies, equipment, etc.) from gross proceeds. The
individual's personal expenses (lunch, transportation, income
tax, etc.) are not deducted as business expenses but are
deducted by using the standard allowance for work
connected expenses (See DSSM 8028.2 and DSSM 8028.3).

Self employed persons must submit evidence of gross
proceeds and business expenses or income tax statements to
verify earnings.

3. Farming - Farming is defined as raising crops,
livestock, or poultry for profit. Gross earned income from
farming is determined by subtracting the farmer's operating
expenses from sales.  Produce grown for home consumption
is not considered income.

4. Room and Board Income - [See DSSM 8030 for
treatment of cash payments for shared living expenses.]
Income from the operation of a rooming and/or boarding
home is considered earned income. The following disregards
are deducted from gross proceeds as operating expenses.
These expenses are deducted before any earned income
disregards are subtracted from income.

Roomers only   subtract $10.00 per month per person.
(A roomer is a person who rents living space in the home.)
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Boarders only   subtract $30.00 per month per person.
(A boarder is a person who purchases meals provided in the
home, but does not live there.)

Roomers and Boarders   subtract $46.00 per month per
person.  (A roomer and boarder does both.)

EXAMPLE:An individual operates a rooming and boarding
home.  She has three (3) roomers who each pay $60.00 per
month and two (2) roomers and boarders who each pay
$100.00 per month.

$180.00 -  Payment from roomers $60 x 3
30.00 -  Disregards for roomers $10 x 3
$150.00 

$200.00 -  Payment from roomers and boarders($100 x 2)
92.00
$108.00 -  Disregard for roomers and boarders ($46 x 2) 

$150.00
+108.00
$258.00   Total gross income from roomers and boarders

(Earned income disregards appropriate to the category of
assistance are subtracted in the budgeting process.  See
DSSM 8028.2 ).

Self-Employment Standard Deduction for Producing
Income

The cost for producing income is a standard deduction
of the gross income. This standard deduction is a percentage
of the gross income determined annually and listed in the
Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA) notice each October.

The standard deduction is considered the cost to
produce income. The gross income test is applied after the
standard deduction. The earned income deductions are then
applied to the net self-employment income and any other
earned income in the household.

The standard deduction applies to all self-employed
households with costs to produce income. To receive the
standard deduction, the self-employed household must
provide and verify they have business costs to produce
income. The verifications can include, but are not limited to,
tax records, ledgers, business records, receipts, check
receipts, and business statements. The self-employed
household does not have to verify all their business costs to
receive the standard deduction.

Self-employed households not claiming or verifying any
costs to produce income will not receive the standard
deduction.

The self-employment standard deduction will be
reviewed annually to determine if an adjustment in the
percentage amount is needed

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Child Care Subsidy Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services
(DSS) is proposing to amend the Division of Social Services
Manual (DSSM) regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 by December 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Provisions

Statutory Basis

• The Child Care and Development Block Grant (part of
Categories 31 and 41) as amended by the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation
Act (PRWORA) of 1996; and,

• Title XX of the Social Security Act and the Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1981
establishes child care under the Social Services Block
Grant (part of Categories 31 and 41).

Summary of Changes
DSS is proposing to amend several sections in the

Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) to clarify and
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update existing Child Care Subsidy Program policy.  This
includes updating, revising, clarifying, (and deleting where
necessary) the following policy sections due, in part, to the
integration of the previous Child Care Management system
into the current DCIS II Child Care eligibility system:

1) DSSM 11003.6, Income Limits; DSSM 11003.7,
Income Eligible Child Care; DSSM 11004.7.1, Child Care
Fee Scale and Determination of Fee; and, DSSM 11006.4,
Provider Reimbursement.  Additionally, DSSM 11006.4.6,
Reimbursement is combined with DSSM 11006.4.

2) Further clarifications were made in DSSM 11002.9,
Definitions and Explanation of Terms; DSSM 11003.9.1,
Income; and, DSSM 11003.9.2., Whose Income to Count.
Sections 11002.9 and 11003.9.1 redefine employment/wages
to include the standard as minimum wage or an equivalent.
DSSM 11004.4.2 is a new section added to update and
explain the Purchase of Care Plus (POC+) program.  This
change reflects the agency’s desire to offer POC+ to all
clients who wish to participate in POC+.

These changes provide consistency with DSS programs
and underscore the Division’s mission of self-sufficiency.  

DSS PROPOSED REGULATIONS #05-71a

REVISIONS:

11003.6  Income Limits
To be eligible for child care services, a family is to have

gross income equal to or less than 200 percent of the current
federal poverty level for a family of equal size. This income
requirement typically applies to all income eligible child
care programs. Refer to Appendix I for current income limits
the most current Cost of Living Adjustment Administrative
Notice for current rates.

Income Limits Per Family Size

Family Monthly
Size Income

1 $1,552 
2 $2,082 
3 $2,612 
4 $3,142
5 $3,672 
6 $4,202 
7 $4,732 
8 $5,262 

Each Additional Child$530

11003.7  Income Eligible Child Care
A. DSS provides child care to families who are

financially eligible to receive care because the family's gross
income is equal to or under 200 percent of the federal
poverty level and they have one or more of the following a
needs for care as outlined below:. These families are
considered income eligible. DSS has two funding streams,
CCDF and SSBG, that cover income eligible individuals.

1. a low-income (200 percent or less of the federal
poverty level) parent/caretaker needs child care in order to
accept employment or remain employed and would be at risk
of becoming eligible for TANF if child care were not
provided (At-Risk Child Care, Category 31); or

2. a low-income (200 percent or less of the federal
poverty level) parent/caretaker needs child care in order to
work, attend a job training program, or participate in an
educational program, or is receiving or needs to receive
protective services (CCDBG Child Care, Category 31); or

3. a parent/caretaker needs child care to work or
participate in education or training; searches one month for
employment after losing a job; because the child or the
parent/caretaker or other adult household member has
special needs; because they care for a protective child who is
active with the Division of Family Services or the parent/
caretaker is homeless.  (SSBG Child Care, Category 31).
B. DSS programmed the DCIS II Child Care Sub system to
identify the need and include all the above child care needs
into one category, Category 31. Therefore, Case Managers
will only have to consider whether parents/caretakers meet
just one of the above needs to include them in a Category 31
funding stream. However, DSS also programmed the DCIS
II Child Care Sub system so that it could make the policy
distinctions needed to make payments from the appropriate
funding source for each child in care. Though Case
Managers will not have to make these distinctions, it is
helpful to know them.

They are:
1. At-Risk Child Care will only include parents/

caretakers who need child care to accept a job or to keep a
job.

It will include parents/caretakers who have the need
for child care because of a special needs child or a protective
child, but it will always coincide with the parent/caretaker's
need to accept or keep a job.

2.1. CCDBG CCDF Child Care will include:
a. parents/caretakers who need child care to

accept or keep a job, and/or
b. participate in education or training as

outlined in section 11003.7.4 and 11003.7.5, or
c. children who receive or need to receive

protective services.,
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d. parents/caretakers who are homeless and
need care to accept or keep a job or participate in education
or training as outlined in sectoin 11003.7.4 and 11003.7.5.

It will also include parents/caretakers who need
care because of a special needs child.  It will always coincide
with the parent/caretaker's need to work or participate in
education or training.  It will not include parents/caretakers
who have a special need or other adult household member
who has a special need.

3.2. SSBG Child Care will include:
a. parents/caretakers who need child care to

accept or keep a job,
b. parents/caretakers who need child care to

participate in education or training as outlined in section
11003.7.4 and 11003.7.5,

c. parents/caretakers whose only need is a
special need child or special needs adult household member,

d. children who need protective services, or
e. parents/caretakers who are homeless.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11004.7.1 Child Care Parent Fee Scale and
Determination of Fee

The assessed child care parent fee is based on family
size, family income as a percentage of the poverty scale and
the cost of care.  The current child care fee scale used to
determine the child care parent fee is attached as Appendix
III located in Administrative Notices as the Child Care
Sliding Fee Scale Appendix III of the Cost of Living
Adjustment Notice.

To arrive at the actual fee, look at this scale the current
Child Care Sliding Fee Scale (noted above) and use the
following steps.

A. Determine the family size as outlined in section
11003.9.3.

B. From the family size column, determine the income
range of the parent/caretaker.

C. At the top of the income ranges are percentages
from 0% to 36% all the way up to 190% to 200%.  These are
the percentages of the federal poverty scale as it relates to
family income by family size.  It means that a family’s
income can range between 0% to 36% all the way up to
190% to 200% of the federal poverty scale.  Find the
appropriate percentage column for your family.

D. Finally, based on family size and income at that
appropriate percentage range, look at the percentages below
(these are ranges from 1% to 80%).  This is the percentage of
the cost of care that this family will pay per child based on
the percentage of their income as it relates to the federal
poverty level.

Families with income between:  0% and 36% of poverty,
pay 1% of the cost of care 

E. Finally, based upon the type of care (i.e., home,
center, etc.) a parent/caretaker selects, multiply the
percentage of the cost of care by the cost for that type of
care.  This is the parent fee the parent/caretaker will pay.

This is a per child fee.  If more than one child is in
care, repeat the calculations for each child, then combine all
the per child fees to arrive at the total fee.

EXAMPLE:  Based upon income and family size, a parent is
to pay seven percent of the cost of care for a three year old
child in a contracted child care center.  If the cost of care for
a child over two in a center is $12.40 per day, multiply
$12.40 by .07, giving the parent a fee of .87 cents per day for
that child.

NOTE:  This is a per child fee.  If more than one child is in
care, repeat the calculations for each child, then combine all
the per child fees to arrive at the total fee.  Use the same
rules for determining family size for the child care fee scale
as done for determining family size for income.  Include all
of the family's children under age18 in the family size even
if not all will need child care services.  In other words, the
people whose needs and income are included together are

Poverty percentage ranges 
based on income  

Percentage of the cost of 
care paid 

0% and 36% 1% 
36% and 45% 5% 
45% and 55% 7% 
55% and 65% 8% 
65% and75% 10% 
75% and 85% 12% 
85% and 95% 14% 

95% and 100% 16% 
100% and 105% 21% 
105% and 115% 23% 
115% and 120% 25% 
120% and 125% 30% 
125% and 135% 32% 
135% and 145% 44% 
145% and155% 46% 
155% and 160% 48% 
160% and 170% 50% 
170% and 180% 60% 
180% and 190% 70% 
190% and 200% 80% 
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counted together to comprise the definition of family size.
Review Section 11003.9.3 for further guidance.
DSS programmed the CCMIS DCIS II Child Care Sub
system to do the actual child care parent fee calculation.  As
long as the appropriate information is entered (the
appropriate family size, adults, and children) on the CHILD
CARE CASE PARTICIPANT screen, the casehead by type
(either a PAR for parent or CAR for caretaker) is identified,
and the appropriate income and category information is
entered, the CCMIS will calculate the child care fee.

NOTE:  Include all of the family's children under 18 in the
family size even if not all will need child care services.  The
child care parent fee which initially shows in the CCMIS
DCIS II Child Care Sub system is the fee for a full day of
child care actual amount of care that is authorized.  The
actual fee may differ depending on the amount of care
authorized, i.e. full day, half day, day and a half, or two days.
The actual fee the parent/caretaker pays for that child is also
indicated on the authorization form.

INCOME POVERTYRANGE0%-36%36%-45%45%-55%
55%-65%65%-75%75%-85%85%-95%95%-100%100%-
105%105%-115%115%-120%120%-125%125%-135%
135%-145%145%-200%

FAMILY SIZE1%5%7%8%10%12%14%16%21%23%25%
30%32%44%46%48

1  $0.00    $  242.01  $   302.01  $   369.01  $   436.01  $
503.01  $   570.01  $   637.01  $   671.01  $   705.01  $
772.01  $   805.01  $   839.01  $   906.01  $   973.01 

 $242.00  $  302.00  $   369.00  $   436.00  $   503.00  $
570.00  $   637.00  $   671.00  $   705.00  $   772.00  $
805.00  $   839.00  $   906.00  $   973.00  $1,040.00 

2  $0.00    $  326.01  $   407.01  $   498.01  $   588.01  $
679.01  $   769.01  $   860.01  $   905.01  $   950.01 
$1,041.01  $1,086.01  $1,131.01  $1,222.01  $1,312.01 

 $326.00  $  407.00  $   498.00  $   588.00  $   679.00  $
769.00  $   860.00  $   905.00  $   950.00  $1,041.00 
$1,086.00  $1,131.00  $1,222.00  $1,312.00  $1,402.00 

3  $0.00    $  410.01  $   512.01  $   626.01  $   740.01  $
854.01  $   967.01  $1,081.01  $1,138.01  $1,195.01 
$1,309.01  $1,366.01  $1,423.01  $1,536.01  $1,650.01 
  $410.00  $  512.00  $   626.00  $   740.00  $   854.00  $
967.00  $1,081.00  $1,138.00  $1,195.00  $1,309.00 
$1,366.00  $1,423.00  $1,536.00  $1,650.00  $1,764.00 

4  $  0.00    $  494.01  $   617.01  $   754.01  $   891.01 
$1,028.01  $1,165.01  $1,302.01  $1,371.01  $1,440.01 
$1,577.01  $1,645.01  $1,714.01  $1,851.01  $1,988.01 

 $494.00  $  617.00  $   754.00  $   891.00  $1,028.00 
$1,165.00  $1,302.00  $1,371.00  $1,440.00  $1,577.00 
$1,645.00  $1,714.00  $1,851.00  $1,988.00  $2,125.00 

5 $0.00       $  578.01  $   722.01  $   883.01  $1,043.01 
$1,204.01  $1,364.01  $1,525.01  $1,605.01  $1,685.01 
$1,846.01  $1,926.01  $2,006.01  $2,167.01  $2,327.01 
  $578.00  $  722.00  $   883.00  $1,043.00  $1,204.00 
$1,364.00  $1,525.00  $1,605.00  $1,685.00  $1,846.00 
$1,926.00  $2,006.00  $2,167.00  $2,327.00  $2,487.00 

6  $0.00    $  662.01  $   827.01  $1,011.01  $1,195.01 
$1,379.01  $1,562.01  $1,746.01  $1,838.01  $1,930.01 
$2,114.01  $2,206.01  $2,298.01  $2,481.01  $2,665.01 

 $662.00  $  827.00  $1,011.00  $1,195.00  $1,379.00 
$1,562.00  $1,746.00  $1,838.00  $1,930.00  $2,114.00 
$2,206.00  $2,298.00  $2,481.00  $2,665.00  $2,849.00 

7  $0.00    $  746.01  $   932.01  $1,139.01  $1,346.01 
$1,553.01  $1,760.01  $1,967.01  $2,071.01  $2,175.01 
$2,382.01  $2,485.01  $2,589.01  $2,796.01  $3,003.01 

 $746.00  $  932.00  $1,139.00  $1,346.00  $1,553.00 
$1,760.00  $1,967.00  $2,071.00  $2,175.00  $2,382.00 
$2,485.00  $2,589.00  $2,796.00  $3,003.00  $3,210.00 

8  $0.00    $  830.01  $1,037.01  $1,268.01  $1,498.01 
$1,729.01  $1,959.01  $2,190.01  $2,305.01  $2,420.01 
$2,651.01  $2,766.01  $2,881.01  $3,112.01  $3,342.01 

 $830.00 $1,037.00 $1,268.00  $1,498.00  $1,729.00 
$1,959.00  $2,190.00  $2,305.00  $2,420.00  $2,651.00 
$2,766.00  $2,881.00  $3,112.00  $3,342.00  $3,572.00 

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11006.4 Provider Reimbursement
Reimbursement is monthly as indicated on the Day Care

Contract (Compensation, Method of Payment, and
Collection of Fee sections). Complete records must be
retained by the provider for a period of three years, listing
each child's daily attendance, accurately stating the number
of authorized days present by type, and the number of absent
days.  These records will be monitored on a regular basis.

Payment will be made only for the number of days and
type of authorization indicated on individual Form 618d and
in accordance with absent day policy.  Reimbursement rates
differ for children under the age of two and children two
years of age and older.
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FFY 2005 CHILD CARE PROVIDER RATES

NEW CASTLE COUNTY
LICENSED HOMESCENTERS            IN-HOME/
RELATIVES

Regular   Special NeedsRegular  Special NeedsRegular
Special Needs
0  $   105.00 $      110.25  $ 140.00 $      147.00  $
105.00 $        110.25 
1  $   100.00 $      100.00  $ 117.00 $      122.85  $
100.00 $        105.00 
2 to 5 $     77.35 $        81.20  $   86.25 $        90.55  $
58.00 $          60.90 
6 & over$     77.35 $        81.20  $   81.40 $        85.45  $
58.00 $          60.90 

KENT & SUSSEX COUNTIES
LICENSED HOMESCENTERSIN-HOME/RELATIVES

Regular   Special NeedsRegular   Special NeedsRegular
Special Needs
0  $   75.00 $         78.75  $   95.00 $         99.75  $   75.00
$         78.75 

1  $   75.00 $         78.75  $   80.00 $         84.00  $   75.00
$         78.75 
2 to 5 $   61.20 $         64.25  $   65.00 $         68.25  $
45.90 $         48.20 
6 & over$   61.20 $         64.25  $   65.00 $         68.25  $
45.90 $         48.20 
   
CHILD CARE INCOME LIMITS - EFFECTIVE 10/01/
2004

FAMILY SIZEINCOME
1  $     1,552.00 
2  $     2,082.00 
3  $     2,612.00 
4  $     3,142.00 
5  $     3,672.00 
6  $     4,202.00 
7  $     4,732.00 
8  $     5,262.00 
Additional personadd $        530.00

FFY 2006 CHILD CARE PROVIDER RATES

NEW CASTLE COUNTY
LICENSED HOMES CENTERS IN-HOME/RELATIVES
Regular Special Needs Regular Special Needs Regular Special Needs

0  $ 110.00  $        115.50  $ 145.00  $        152.25  $ 105.00  $        110.25 
1  $ 105.00  $        110.25  $ 122.00  $        128.10  $ 100.00  $        105.00 
2 to 5  $   82.35  $         86.45  $ 104.60  $        109.85  $   58.00  $         60.90 
6 & over  $   84.30  $         88.50  $ 104.60  $        109.85  $   58.00  $         60.90 

KENT COUNTY
LICENSED HOMES CENTERS IN-HOME/RELATIVES
Regular Special Needs Regular Special Needs Regular Special Needs

0  $   80.00  $         84.00  $   97.50  $        102.40  $   75.00  $         78.75 
1  $   75.00  $         78.75  $   85.00  $         89.25  $   75.00  $         78.75 
2 to 5  $   66.20  $         69.50  $   70.00  $         73.50  $   45.90  $         48.20 
6 & over  $   68.15  $         71.55  $   71.95  $         75.55  $   45.90  $         48.20 

SUSSEX COUNTY
LICENSED HOMES CENTERS IN-HOME/RELATIVES
Regular Special Needs Regular Special Needs Regular Special Needs

0  $   75.50  $         79.30  $   97.50  $        102.40  $   75.00  $         78.75 
1  $   75.00  $         78.75  $   85.00  $         89.25  $   75.00  $         78.75 
2 to 5  $   66.20  $         69.30  $   70.00  $         73.50  $   45.90  $         48.20 
6 & over  $   68.15  $         71.53  $   71.95  $         75.55  $   45.90  $         48.20 
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11006.4.6  Reimbursement
Payment will be made only for the number of days and

type of authorization indicated on individual Form 618d and
in accordance with absent day policy.  Reimbursement rates
differ for children under the age of two and children two
years of age and older.

FFY 2005 CHILD CARE PROVIDER RATES

NEW CASTLE COUNTY
LICENSED HOMESCENTERSIN-HOME/

RELATIVES
Regular Special NeedsRegularSpecial NeedsRegular

Special Needs
0  $   105.00  $     110.25  $ 140.00  $        147.00 $
105.00  $       110.25 
1  $   100.00  $     105.00  $ 117.00  $        122.85              $
100.00  $       105.00 
2 to 5 $     77.35  $       81.20  $   86.25  $         90.55
$   58.00  $         60.90 
6 & over $     77.35  $       81.20  $   81.40  $         85.45 $
58.00  $         60.90 

KENT & SUSSEX COUNTIES
LICENSED HOMESCENTERSIN-HOME/

RELATIVES
RegularSpecial NeedsRegularSpecial NeedsRegular

Special Needs

0  $   75.00  $         78.75  $   95.00  $         99.75  $
75.00  $         78.75 
1  $   75.00  $         78.75  $   80.00  $         84.00  $
75.00  $         78.75 
2 to 5 $   61.20  $         64.25  $   65.00  $         68.25  $
45.90  $         48.20 
6 & over $   61.20  $         64.25  $   65.00  $         68.25  $
45.90  $

DSS PROPOSED REGULATIONS #05-71b
REVISIONS:

11002.9 Definitions And Explanation Of Terms

The following words and terms, when used in the context of
these policies will, unless clearly indicated otherwise, have
the following meanings.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

K. Child Care Parent Fee - The amount the parent/caretaker
must pay toward the cost of child care.  The fee is based on
the income of the parent(s) and children, or the child if the
child lives with a caretaker, family size and a percentage of
the cost of care based on type of care requested.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

Q. Employment - Either part-time or full time work for
which the parent/caretaker receives income.  wages equal to
minimum wage or an equivalent.  It also includes periods of
up to one month of continued child care services when
parents/caretakers lose one job and need to search for
another, or when one job ends and another job has yet to
start.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

R. Family Size - The total number of persons whose needs
and income are considered together. This will always include
the parent(s) (natural, legal, adoptive, step, and unmarried
partners with a child in common) and all their dependent
children under 18 living in the home.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

AT.  Purchase of Care Plus (POC+) – Care option that
allows providers to charge for fee paying most DSS clients
the difference between the DSS reimbursement rate up to the
provider’s private fee for service.  The provider receives the

CHILD CARE INCOME LIMITS - 
EFFECTIVE 10/01/2005

FAMILY
SIZE

INCOME

1  $     1,596.00 
2  $     2,140.00 
3  $     2,682.00 
4  $     3,226.00 
5  $     3,770.00 
6  $     4,312.00 
7  $     4,856.00 
8  $     5,400.00 

Additional person add  $        544.00 
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DSS rate, the DSS determined child care parent fee, if
applicable, and any additional provider-determined co-pay.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11003.9.1  Income
A. Countable income

All sources of income, earned (such as wages) and
unearned (such as child support, social security pensions,
etc.) are countable income when determining a family's
monthly gross income. Monthly gross income typically
includes the following:

1. Money from wages or salary, such as total
money earnings from work performed as an employee,
including wages, salary, Armed Forces pay, commissions,
tips, piece rate payments and cash bonuses earned before
deductions are made for taxes, bonds, pensions, union dues,
etc. Wages need to be equal to minimum wage or an
equivalent.

Gross income from farm or non-farm self-
employment is determined by subtracting the self-
employment standard deduction for producing income as
described below. The individual's personal expenses (lunch,
transportation, income tax, etc.) are not deducted as business
expenses but are deducted by using the TANF standard
allowance for work connected expenses. In the case of
unusual situations (such as parent/caretaker just beginning
business), refer to DSSM 9056 and 9074.

Self-Employment Standard Deduction for Producing
Income

The cost for producing income is a standard deduction
of the gross income.  This standard deduction is a percentage
of the gross income determined annually and listed in the
Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA) notice each October. 

The standard deduction is considered the cost to
produce income. The gross income test is applied after the
standard deduction. The earned income deductions are then
applied to the net self-employment income and any other
earned income in the household.

The standard deduction applies to all self-employed
households with costs to produce income. To receive the
standard deduction, the self-employed household must
provide and verify they have business costs to produce
income. The verifications can include, but are not limited to,
tax records, ledgers, business records, receipts, check
receipts, and business statements. The self-employed
household does not have to verify all its business costs to
receive the standard deduction.

Self-employed households not claiming or verifying any
costs to produce income will not receive the standard
deduction.

2. Social Security pensions, Supplemental
Security Income, Veteran’s benefits, public assistance
payments, net rental income, unemployment compensation,
workers compensation, pensions, annuities, alimony,
adoption assistance, disability benefits, military allotments,
Rail Road Retirement, and child support.

B. Disregarded Income 
Monies received from the following sources are not

counted:
1. per capita payments to, or funds held in trust

for, any individual in satisfaction of a judgement judgment
of Indian Claims Commission or the Court of Claims;

2. payments made pursuant to the Alaska Native
Claims Settlement Act to the extent such payments are
exempt from taxation under ESM 21(a) of the Act;

3. money received from the sale of property such
as stocks, bonds, a house or a car (unless the person was
engaged in the business of selling such property, in which
case the net proceeds are counted as income from self-
employment);

4. withdrawal of bank deposits;
5. money borrowed or given as gifts;
6. capital gains;
7. the value of USDA donated foods and Food

Stamp Act of 1964 as amended;
8. the value of supplemental food assistance

under the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 and the special food
service program for children under the National School
Lunch Act, as amended;

9. any payment received under the Uniform
Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition
Policies Act of 1970;

10. loans or grants such as scholarships obtained
and used under conditions that preclude their use for current
living costs;

11. any grant or loan to any undergraduate student
for educational purposes made or insured under any program
administered by the Commissioner of Education under the
Higher Education Act;

12. home produce utilized for household
consumption;

13. all of the earned income of a minor or minor
parent (under 18) who is a full-time student or a part-time
student who is working but is not a full-time employee (such
as high school students who are employed full-time during
summer);
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14. all payments derived from participation in
projects under the Food Stamp Employment & Training (FS
E&T) program or other job training programs; 

15. all Vista income.; and
16. all income derived as a Census taker. 

Resources (such as cars, homes, savings accounts, life
insurance, etc.) are not considered when determining
financial eligibility or the parent fee.

9 DE Reg. 564 (10/01/05)

11003.9.2 Whose Income to Count
In all Categories, count all income attributable to the

parent(s) and children included in the family size according
to section 11003.9.1 as family income.  Family size as used
here means those persons whose needs and income are
considered together as defined in section 11003.9.3. A
person who acts as a child's caretaker (as defined in Section
11002.9) is not included in the definition of family.  In this
instance, any income attributable to the child or children is
the income which is counted.

Income of active DFS referrals/cases is excluded.
Active DFS referrals/cases do not need to meet financial
eligibility. 

11003.9.3 Family Size
The people whose needs and income are considered

together comprise the definition of family size.  Family size
is the basis upon which DSS looks at income to determine a
family's financial eligibility and the child care parent fee.
Therefore, knowing who to include in the determination of
family size is an important part in deciding financial
eligibility.  Rules to follow when considering family size are
relationship and whose income is counted.

In all instances, the people counted together for family
size when determining financial eligibility are the same
people counted for family size when determining the
family's child care parent fee.
A. Family size is defined as Pparents (natural, legal,
adoptive, or step, and unmarried partners with a child in
common) and their children under 18 living in the home, will
always be included together in the make up determination of
family size.

EXAMPLE 1:  Ms. Brown, a single mother, lives
together with her two year old daughter.  She is applying for
child care as a Category 31, income eligible case. Mrs.
Brown and her daughter are a family size of two.

EXAMPLE 2:  Susan Jones and Mark Evans live
together as unmarried partners.  Susan has a one year old
child from a previous relationship.  She applies for Category
13 31 child care.  Susan and her child are a family size of
two.  Mark is not counted.  His income is not considered

since he is not the father of the child and there is no child in
common between Susan Jones and Mark Evans.  (NOTE:  If
Mark Evans admits to being the natural parent of the child,
his income is counted and this is a family of three.)

EXAMPLE 3:  Ms. Johnson, a single parent, has three
children ages 13, 10, and 5.  She works and needs child care
for her youngest child who attends preschool.  She is
applying for Category 31 child care.  Even though she needs
care for only one child, her family size is a family size of
four when looking at financial eligibility.

EXAMPLE 4:  Ms. Green cares for her three year old
niece.  Ms. Green works and needs child care.  Since Ms.
Green is the aunt and not the parent of the child, she is
considered a caretaker.  Therefore, Ms. Green's income is not
counted and she is not included in the family composition.
Ms. Green's niece is considered a family size of one and any
income attributable to the niece is countable income.

EXAMPLE 5:  Mom and step-dad live with mom's two
children, ages two and five, from a previous marriage. Mom
and step-dad both work and need child care.  Mom, step-dad,
and her two children are a family size of four.  Step-dad is
included.

EXAMPLE 6:  Mom and step-dad live with mom's three
year old child from a previous marriage.  Step-dad also has a
five year old child from a previous marriage living in the
home.  Mom and step-dad both work and need child care.
This family is a family size of four.

EXAMPLE 7:  Mom and her unmarried partner have a
child in common.  Mom and the unmarried partner also have
one child each from previous relationships.  Since Mom and
the unmarried partner have a child in common the needs and
income of each parent will be considered for all three
children.  This would be a family size of 5. In this example
the Child Care Sub system will first build the family together
as one AG.  If the AG fails the system will break this family
down into 3 AG’s to determine as many persons eligible as
possible.  The three AG’s would be Mom, unmarried partner
and child in common, Mom and child from a previous
relationship, unmarried partner and his child from a previous
relationship.

B. Adults who are not the natural, legal, adoptive, or step-
parent of any of the child or children under 18 living in the
home are not included when determining family size and
child care fee.

EXAMPLE :  Mom lives with her grandmother. Mom
has two children ages 10 and 6 for whom she needs after-
school care.  Mom and her two children are considered a
family size of three. Grandmother is not included because
she is not the parent of the children nor is her income
counted.
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NOTE:  In all instances, the people counted together for
family size when considering financial eligibility are the
same people counted for family size when considering the
family's child care fee.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11004.4.2 Purchase of Care Plus (POC+)
POC+ is a care option that allows providers to charge

DSS clients the difference between the DSS reimbursement
rate up to the provider’s private fee for service.  The provider
receives the DSS rate, the DSS determined child care parent
fee if applicable, and any additional provider determined co-
pay. 

This option is primarily for DSS fee-paying clients.
DSS chooses not to limit childcare options for any group of
individuals.  DSS will allow all DSS purchase of care clients
eligible for POC with no parent fee the opportunity to waive
their right to receive childcare with no additional provider
co-pays and choose a POC+ slot.  

POC+ is an option for all DSS clients, not a
requirement.  If a provider does not have a regular POC slot
available, the client can choose to self arrange, enter into a
POC+ arrangement or find another provider that will take the
regular DSS payment.

It is the provider’s responsibility to include in their
contract with the DSS client the explanation of POC+, the
length of POC+ if it is specified, the co-payment amount, the
providers policy on non-payment of fees, and a statement
that they have explained to the client their options and that
the client chooses to participate in POC+. 

In order for providers to be able to participate in the
POC+ option they must agree to take a percentage of DSS
waived fee clients and attend training on POC+.

If a client is currently participating in POC+ and goes to
a zero parent fee for DSS, the client can stay POC+ or
request a regular POC slot.  If a regular POC slot is not
available the client can chose to remain in a POC+ slot, self
arrange, or find a provider with a regular POC slot.

A provider cannot change a zero parent fee client from a
regular POC slot to a POC+ slot.

NOTE:  It is important to explain to DSS clients who
receive POC and Food Stamps that if they choose to
participate in POC+ they need to inform the DSS worker of
the co-payment amount so that the Food Stamp case can be
updated.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311 & 1718 (18 Del.C. §§ 311, 1718)
18 DE Admin. Code 504

PUBLIC NOTICE

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, 
Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW
DENN hereby gives notice of a proposed change to
Department of Insurance Regulation 504 relating to producer
continuing education. The Commissioner proposes to amend
Regulation 504 relating to Continuing Education for
Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and
Consultants.  The docket number for this proposed
amendment is 2005-207.

The two proposed changes to the regulation appear in
section 8 relating to the licensee’s responsibilities. The
required number of ethics credits is proposed to decrease
from four hours to three hours for each reporting period.
Licensees who are authorized to sell homeowners and/or
personal lines coverage will be required to complete two
hours of continuing education on flood insurance each
reporting period starting March 1, 2006. The text of the
proposed amendment is reproduced in the December 2005
edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The text
can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance
Commissioner’s website at: http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a
public hearing on the proposed changes.  Any person can file
written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data
or other materials concerning the proposed amendments.
Any written submission in response to this notice and
relevant to the proposed changes must be received by the
Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Tuesday,
January 3, 2006, and should be addressed to Deputy
Attorney General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department
of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904,
or sent by fax to 302.739.5566 or email to
michael.rich@state.de.us.

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, 
Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants

1.0 Statutory Authority and Purpose
This Regulation is established and promulgated

pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§314, 1718 and 29 Del.C. Ch.101.
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS940
The purpose of this Regulation is to establish requirements
for insurance education and ethics for resident insurance
adjusters, public adjusters, producers, surplus lines brokers
and for standards for education providers and instructors in
order to ensure a high level of professionalism for the benefit
of Delaware consumers.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

2.0  Definitions
"Administrative record" means any document relating

to course approval, course offerings, attendance, course
completions or credits, and any other records required to be
kept by the Delaware Insurance Code, and any rule or order
of the Department.

"Audit" means Insurance Department activity to
monitor the offering of courses or examinations, including
visits to classrooms, test sites, and administrative offices
where documentation of individual attendance and
completion records and documentation of instructor
credentials is maintained. Audit may include re-evaluating
approved classroom course outlines, self-study programs
and distance learning programs based on current guidelines.

"Authorized representative" or “provider
representative” means the person designated by the entity
as responsible for the timely filing of all required
Department forms and documentation for courses and for the
maintenance of necessary administrative records including
but not limited to classes held, examinations monitored,
instructor qualifications, and attendance records. Where this
regulation provides for an act by an entity sponsor or
provider, such act shall be performed by an authorized
representative.

“Commissioner” means the Insurance Commissioner
of the State of Delaware and/or such designee appointed by
the Commissioner.

"Completion" when used in the context of:
Self-Study, means a passing grade of 70% or better

on the examination.
Class, means attendance for the full amount of time

approved for each course.
Seminar means attendance for the full amount of

time assigned for each workshop or break-out session
selected.

"Compliance date" means the last day of February of
even numbered years. Each biennial license shall commence
on March 1st and end on the last day of February  of even
numbered years. 

"Contact person" means the person at the entity level
with authority to transact business for the entity; through
contracts, licenses, or other means, usually as the owner or

corporate officer, and who designates the school official to
represent the entity.

"Continuously licensed" means an uninterrupted
license without lapse due to suspension, revocation,
voluntary surrender, cancellation or non-renewal for a period
of 12 months or greater.

"Course" means any class, self-study, seminar or
distance learning course for insurance producers, surplus
lines brokers, adjuster and public adjustor licensees or other
insurance professionals that has been approved by the
Department for the purpose of complying with continuing
education requirements.

"Credit hour (CEUs)” means one (1) unit of credit
based on a classroom hour or approved hour of credit for a
seminar or self-study program.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of
Insurance.

"Disciplinary action" means administrative action that
has been taken against an individual or entity as a licensee or
approved course provider, instructor, or school official for
which probation, suspension, or revocation of any license
(issued by this or any other state, country, or territory) or
approved status has been ordered or consented to or for
which a fine has been entered for a wrongdoing against a
consumer or a licensee.

“Distance learning” or “Distance education” means
instructional delivery that does not constrain the student to
be physically present in the same location as the instructor.
Distance education includes but is not limited to: audio,
instructional television, videotape, teleconferencing, audio/
video conferencing, and computer conferencing, web based
instruction, traditional self-study course(s) including CDs
and DVDs as supplied materials and  any other planned
learning that normally occurs in a different place from
teaching and as a result requires special techniques of course
design, special instructional techniques, special methods of
communication by electronic and other technology, as well
as special organizational and administrative arrangements
approved by the Department.

"Entity sponsor" or “sponsor” means a natural
person, firm, institution, partnership, company, corporation,
or association offering, sponsoring, or providing courses
approved by the Department in eligible continuing education
subjects.

"Ethics credits" means the study of fiduciary
responsibility, commingling of funds, payment and
acceptance of commissions, unfair claims practices,
professionalism, policy replacement consideration, handling
or supervising the affairs or funds of another, conflicts of
interest and matters that deal with individual character and
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personal characteristics such as honesty, integrity and
professionalism in the insurance industry.

"Hour" means sixty (60) minutes of class or seminar
time, of which at least fifty (50) minutes must be instruction,
with a maximum of ten minutes of break per hour all of
which must be accounted for on the agenda or syllabus. For
self-study courses, "hour" means sixty (60) minutes of time
including reading and studying which would be necessary to
successfully complete the final examination (actual exam
time not included). 

"Initially Licensed" means the first insurance license
issued an individual by this Department authorizing the
transaction of insurance business in this state to which the
continuing education requirement applies.

"Recognized association" means an insurance industry
association established for at least 5 years.

"School official" means the person designated by the
entity as responsible for the timely filing of all required
Department forms and documentation for courses and for the
maintenance of necessary administrative records including
but not limited to classes held, examinations monitored,
instructor qualifications, and attendance records.

"Syllabus" means an agenda showing the schedule of
how a continuing education course is to be presented
including time allotment to subject matter and including any
meals and break times.

2 DE Reg. 122 (7/1/98)
8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

3.0 Course Providers
3.1 A provider who sponsors a continuing education

course must be approved by the Department and shall be
operated by, including but not limited to, an authorized
insurance company, a recognized insurance agents’
association, an insurance trade association, a self-insurance
fund, a non-profit educational institute, national provider, a
member of a state Bar Association, an independent program
of instruction, or an institution of higher learning.
Application for entity approval shall be concurrent with
application for course approval and shall be submitted on
written forms or in an electronic format approved by the
Department. The Department may approve of or participate
in reciprocal agreements relating to continuing education
with the NAIC and/or its members. In assessing a provider’s
application for approval, the Department may consider,
among other factors, whether the management of a provider,
including officers, directors, or any other person who
directly or indirectly controls the operation of the provider,
fails to possess and demonstrate the competence, fitness and
reputation deemed necessary to serve the provider in such
position.

3.2 General Requirements and Responsibilities.
3.2.1 Providers shall maintain the records of

each individual completing a course for three (3) years from
the date of completion and shall send the Department a roster
of those in attendance within thirty (30) days of the course
completion date on forms or in electronic format prescribed
by the Department.

3.2.2 Providers shall notify the Producer
Licensing Education Section, within thirty (30) days of a
change in their mailing address or administrative office
address.

3.2.3 Course providers will provide each
licensee successfully completing their program a Certificate
of Completion for attendees’ records only after successful
completion of the entire approved education course/activity.
Entity Sponsors are required to distribute a Certificate of
Completion to each licensee successfully completing the
educational activity within thirty (30) calendar days.

3.2.4 Course providers shall obtain the
Department’s approval for each course offered. No prior
approval shall be required for any course offered through
any NAIC sponsored reciprocal agreement but course credit
under this regulation shall only be allowed for those subjects
eligible for course credit in Delaware.

3.2.5 No partial credit may be granted for any
course unless an emergency arises. In case of an emergency,
a written explanation shall be provided to the Department
upon request.

3.2.6 Self-study courses shall contain an exam
that shall be graded by the sponsor or an approved third
party. No credit shall be given for a failing grade.

3.2.7 One Continuing Education Credit shall
consist of fifty (50) minutes of qualifying classroom
instruction.

3.2.8 Course Providers are responsible for the
actions of their school officials, instructors, speakers and
monitors.

3.2.9 Entity sponsors and instructors shall
conduct themselves in a professional manner and may not
misrepresent any course material or other information.

3.2.10 Course approvals, once granted by the
Department, shall remain valid until modified or terminated
by the entity sponsor or Department. Any changes or
modifications to one or more courses by an entity sponsor
shall not be valid until submitted to and approved by the
Department in writing. All courses approved for credit as of
November 1, 2004 shall not be subject to re-approval under
the provisions of this section.

3.2.11 No activity may be advertised as having
been approved until the sponsor receives written notification
from the Department.
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8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

4.0 Instructors
4.1 An entity sponsor shall certify to the Department

that the instructor shall possess one or more of the following
qualifications:

4.1.1 A minimum of 3 years working experience
in the subject matter being taught.

4.1.2 An approved professional designation in
accordance with Section 9.3 from a recognized association.

41.3 A degree from an accredited school in the
subject matter being taught.

4.1.4 Special expertise, such as employment
with a governmental entity; or a documented history of
research or study in the area.

4.1.5 An instructor who is a licensee shall
receive the same number of continuing education credits
granted to participants. The instructor may not receive
additional credit for teaching the same course more than
once in a biennium reporting period.

4.1.6 Instructors shall have the authority and
responsibility to deny credit to anyone who disrupts the class
or is inattentive. Based on the course provider’s policies,
refunds may be given. It will be a violation of this regulation
for an instructor or school official to knowingly allow during
the class, the activities of sleeping, reading of books,
newspapers, or other non-course materials, use of a cellular
phone, or to allow absence from class other than authorized
breaks. Penalties will be assessed against participant,
instructor, and school, as provided in this regulation.
Approval of a course will constitute approval of submitted
instructors.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

5.0 Department’s Action upon Violation or Non-
conformity by Course Provider or Instructor

If the Department determines that a course provider or
instructor has violated any provisions of this regulation, the
Department may withdraw approval of the entity sponsor or
instructor or may order a refund of course fees to licensees
who attended the course, or both. The Department may also
refuse to approve courses conducted by specific sponsors or
instructors if the Department determines that past offerings
by those entity sponsors or instructors have not been in
compliance with insurance education laws, rules and
regulations. The Department or his/her designee(s) may
perform course provider audits on all educational activity
proposed to be available to licensees of this State.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

6.0 Appeals
6.1 Appeals shall be conducted in accordance with the

Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch.101
and 18 Del.C. §§323-28.

6.2 Providers may appeal to the Commissioner or
Commissioner’s designee, from any adverse decision on
their request concerning continuing education activity.
Appeals shall be in writing and minimally contain:

6.2.1 A synopsis of the issue,
6.2.2 The basis for the appeal,
6.2.3 The name, address, and telephone number

of a contact person,
6.2.4 A copy of the original course submission

and supporting documents, and
6.2.5 A copy of any correspondence from the

Continuing Education Advisory Council or the Insurance
Department.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

7.0 Required Forms
7.1 Requests for entity sponsor approval shall be made

to the Department on such forms as shall be authorized by
the Department.

7.2 Requests for entity sponsor course approval shall be
made to the Department on such forms as shall be authorized
by the Department.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

8.0 Licensee’s Responsibility
8.1 Each licensee shall retain each original course

completion certificate for a period of 3 years. The course
completion certificate may be required in the event of a
discrepancy between the licensee’s records and the
Department’s records. Each licensee may be subjected to a
Department audit of continuing education requirements.
Failure to comply with a Department audit may result in suspension
of a licensee’s license. Each licensee will have thirty (30) days
to produce such records upon request or audit by the
Department.

8.2 General Requirements. Resident licensees and
producers not otherwise exempted shall earn, at a minimum,
the number of education credits described below.

8.2.1 Resident licensees required to fulfill
continuing education requirements shall complete twenty-
four (24) credit hours of Department approved education
subjects, four three (43) of which shall be in ethics subjects
during each biennium reporting period. If the resident
producer holds a health license and solicits long term care
policies, as part of his/her biennial requirement, the producer
must complete at least three (3) hours of training in
Delaware long term care insurance that consists of product
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knowledge, laws, rules and regulations. Any resident
licensee who is authorized to write homeowners or personal
lines coverage shall be required to complete a two (2) hour
continuing education course related to flood insurance and
the National Flood Insurance Program as part of the twenty-
one (21) general credit hours necessary to maintain a
Delaware resident license.  The flood education requirement
shall become effective for reporting periods on or after
March 1, 2006.

8.2.2 Resident adjusters, public adjusters and
Fraternal Agents shall be required to fulfill twelve (12) credit
hours of Department approved education subjects, four (4)
of which shall be in ethics subjects during each biennium
reporting period.

8.2.3 Resident licensees will receive a
continuing education transcript at least ninety (90) days prior
to the end of a license biennium by mail or by electronic
access as the Department deems appropriate. The licensee is
responsible for reviewing the transcript for accuracy. To dispute the
Department’s accounting, the licensee must submit a written
exception thereto prior to the biennium deadline and include a
copy of the providers course completion certificate.

8.2.4 The maximum number of carryover
credits shall not exceed five (5) credits in a biennium
reporting period. Carryover shall not apply to ethics credit
requirements. Credits in excess of the mandatory
requirements set forth in section 8.2.1 may be applied to the
licensee’s general course requirements.

8.2.5 No continuing education requirement shall
apply to newly licensed individuals during the biennium in
which such individuals are licensed.

8.3 Automatic credit. An individual continuously licensed for
twenty-five (25) years or longer prior to the start of a biennium
reporting period or who holds a professional designation shall
receive an automatic credit of twelve (12) credits in each
biennium. The Department shall maintain a list of approved
professional designations. Automatic credits may not be
applied to satisfy the mandatory continuing education
courses set forth in section 8.2.1.

8.4 License reinstatement after suspension, revocation
or cancellation. All resident licensees whose licenses were
canceled, suspended or revoked for a period of twelve (12)
months or more shall first complete all licensing
requirements under 18 Del.C. §1706 including the retaking
of  exams for all lines of authority under which the
individual proposes to transact insurance. Any licensee who
is reinstated under the provisions of this subsection shall not
be entitled to the waiver provided for in section 8.2.5.

8.5 Extension of time. For good cause shown, the
Department may grant an extension of time during which the
requirements imposed by this regulation may be completed.

The extension shall not exceed twelve (12) months. The
extension will not alter the requirements or due date of the
succeeding biennium period. "Good cause" includes
disability, natural disaster, or other extenuating
circumstances. Each request for extension of time shall be in
writing from the licensee and shall include details and any
documentation to support the request. Each request must be
received by the Department no less than thirty (30) days
before the expiration of the biennium period.

8.6 Waiver of Continuing Education Requirements.
The requirements of this regulation may be waived in
writing by the Department for good cause shown. "Good
cause" includes long-term illness or incapacity and any other
emergency situations deemed appropriate by the
Department. Request for waivers of continuing education
requirements shall be made in writing and shall be submitted
to the Department no later than thirty (30) days prior to the end of
the biennium for which such waiver is requested. Those
individuals serving full time in the armed forces of the
United States of America on active duty outside of the State
of Delaware shall notify the Department upon their return by
supplying a copy of their activation orders as part of their
application for a waiver. Any waiver granted pursuant to this
regulation shall be valid only for the biennium for which
waiver application was made.

8.7 Sixty (60) days prior to the start of each biennium,
the Department shall prepare and publish a list of those lines
of insurance for which the producers are exempt from the
requirements of section 8.

8.8 Resident adjusters licensed for the lines of Fidelity
and Surety and/or Marine and Transportation are exempt from the
provisions of section 8.2.2 of this regulation. Nonresident
adjusters and public adjusters must meet the license
requirements of their home state.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

9.0 Penalty for Noncompliance
9.1 Pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§334, 1712, and 1718, any

licensee who fails to complete the minimum requirements of
this regulation, and who has not been granted an extension of
time to comply under section 8.5 of this regulation shall be
subject to an administrative penalty up to and including a
$2000.00 fine and suspension of license(s) for one year.
Submission of false or fraudulent information shall result in
an administrative penalty up to and including a $15,000.00
fine and permanent revocation of license.

9.2 Any appointment(s) of such licensee suspended for
failure to comply with this regulation shall likewise be
suspended by operation of law. Upon satisfactory completion
of education requirements in arrears and payment of any
administrative fine imposed within a period of twelve (12)
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months, all license(s) and appointments shall be reinstated
unless or until the insurer notifies the Department and
licensee in writing of the insurer’s intent to terminate such
appointment. If suspension is for a period of twelve (12)
months or greater, the licensee is subject to compliance with
18 Del.C. §1706 including the retaking of examinations for
all line(s) of authority for which the individual licensee seeks
a license.

9.3 The Commissioner may, by Order based upon a
reasonable belief that a violation of Title 18 occurred,
require any individual licensed under 18 Del.C. Ch. 17 to
complete in addition to biennium insurance education
requirements, approved continuing education course work to
ensure the maintenance and improvement of a licensee’s
insurance skills and knowledge.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

10.0 Continuing Education Advisory Council
10.1 The Council shall consist of fourteen (14)

licensees drawn from the professional organizations and the
insurance industry in the State, 5 from the life and health
field, 5 from the property and casualty field and four (4)
from the claims settlement field.

10.2 One of the primary responsibilities of the
Council shall be to review applications for course approvals
and make recommendations to the Department   regarding
acceptance/rejection and the number of CEUs to be granted
if accepted.

10.3 The Council shall also advise the Department
on matters of concern as they arise and be the liaison
between the Department and the professional organizations.

10.4 Members shall serve a term of 2 years. Any
member may be reappointed for successive terms. The
committee shall meet every 2 months on the third Tuesday of
the month or additionally as required. The members of the
committee shall serve without pay and shall not be
reimbursed for any expenses.

10.5 The Department’s decision with respect to any
Entity Sponsor submission shall be final.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

11.0 Separability
If any provision of this Regulation shall be held invalid,

the remainder of the Regulation shall not be affected thereby.
8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

12.0 Effective Date
This Regulation shall become effective March 1, 1998

and shall remain in effect until rescinded. Prior to the
aforementioned date the provisions of Regulation 504
(Formerly Regulation 47) as last amended in 1987 shall

remain in effect. The amendments to this Regulation shall
become effective November 15, 2004. Any matters that are
not merely procedural in nature arising prior to November
15, 2004 shall be governed by the provisions of the prior
version of this regulation in effect at the time the matter
arose.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18 Delaware Code, Sections 311 and 2503

(18 Del.C. §§311 and 2503)
18 DE Admin. Code 607

PUBLIC NOTICE

607 Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles 
and Motorcycles)

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW
DENN hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING will
be held on THURSDAY JANUARY 5, 2006 at 2:00 p.m. in
the Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware. The hearing is to receive public comment in
Docket No. 2005-140, proposed amendments to Regulation
607 relating to Defensive Driving Course Discount
Automobiles and Motorcycles as a result of comments
received in response to the original publication of the
proposed changes to Regulation 607.

The revised amendments will (1) eliminate the proposed
testing requirement for persons taking a defensive driving
course; (2) more clearly require that providers offering an on
line course will be required to assure that the persons taking
the course will meet the same time requirements as those
attending live classroom courses; (3) clarify the
requirements for live assistance for on line courses; and (4)
clarify the on line provider’s obligation to assure the identity
of the course taker.  The text of the proposed amendment is
reproduced in the December 2005 edition of the Delaware
Register of Regulations.  The text can also be viewed at the
Delaware Insurance Commissioner’s website at: http://
www.state.de.us/inscom/departments/documents/
ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 18
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or
may be presented orally at the hearing. Written comments,
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testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed
change to the regulation must be received by the Department
of Insurance no later than 2:00 p.m., Thursday January 5,
2006, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, or sent by fax to
302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us.  If you
are disabled and might need assistance in this matter, please
contact Julia Blevins at 302.739.4251 ext.111 or
Julia.Blevins@state.de.us.

607 Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles 
and Motorcycles)

1.0 Purpose and Authority
The purpose of this Regulation is to provide a discount

applicable to total premiums for persons who voluntarily
attend and complete a Defensive Driving Course and to
provide criteria for Defensive Driving Courses, Providers
and Instructors.  This Regulation is adopted pursuant to 18
Del.C. §314, and 18 Del.C. §2503 and promulgated in
accordance with the procedures specified in the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.

2 DE Reg 989 (12/1/98)

2.0 Definitions
“Classroom courses” for the purpose of this regulation

means a defensive driving program conducted with students
and instructors in a location common to all. These courses
may include the use of audio or visual aides or materials.

“Committee” for the purpose of this regulation means
the Defensive Driving Credentials Committee.

“Department” means the Delaware Insurance
Department.

“On-line courses” for the purpose of this regulation
means instruction provided online or offline through the use
of a computer  (or digital reader) including the use of CD
roms ROMS or similar pre-recorded media) or websites.

“Providers” means cCorporate sponsor for any course
as well as the individual who  signs the application for the
course.

3.0 Minimum Requirements
A Defensive Driving Course Discount shall be applied

to the total premiums for bodily injury liability coverage,
property damage liability coverage, and personal injury
protection coverage provided:

3.1 The automobile or motorcycle is individually
owned or jointly owned by husband and wife or by members
of the same household and is classified and rated as a private
passenger automobile or motorcycle; and

3.2 The driver who customarily operates the
automobile or motorcycle has a certificate certifying
voluntary attendance and successful completion within the
last 36 months from the date of application of a motor
vehicle accident prevention course or motorcycle rider
course, as appropriate, which is approved by the Insurance
Commissioner Department.

2 DE Reg 989 (12/1/98)

4.0 Application
4.1 A 10% discount shall be applied with respect to the

applicable premium(s) for each automobile or motorcycle
insured under a policy if all operators named on the policy as
insureds complete the course. If fewer than all the operators
covered as principal or occasional drivers complete the
course, then the discount shall be a fraction of 10%. The
fraction shall be the number of operators completing the
course, divided by the total number operators. The discount
shall begin at the inception date of the policy or the first
renewal date following application by the insured and shall
terminate at the policy expiration date subsequent to the
expiration of three years since completion of the course.

4.2 An insured who has received a defensive driving
discount as outlined in section 4.1 above may take a
refresher defensive driving course within the ninety days
prior to the three year expiration date thereof or within two
years thereof to receive a 15% discount for an additional
three year period as outlined in section 4.1  above. Discounts
shall not overlap. The discount may be applied as a
multiplier or on an additive basis compatible with the rating
system in use by the company.

2 DE Reg 989 (12/1/98)

5.0 Implementation
5.1 In the effective date of the Act, the discount shall be

first applied to policies written to be effective on or after July
14, 1982 (automobile), or July 19, 1990 (motorcycle), or
with renewal dates on or after July 14, 1982 (automobile), or
July 19, 1990 (motorcycle), if applied for by the insured, and
shall remain in effect for a 3-year period from the effective
date of such policies.

5.2 The discount may be applied as a multiplier or on
an additive basis compatible with the rating system in use by
the company.

5.32 All courses certified by this Department as of
September 1, 2004 shall apply for re-certification under the
provisions of section 7 of this regulation on or before
January 1, 2005. All courses not certified by this Department
prior to September 1, 2004 shall apply for certification under
the provisions of section 7 of this regulation.
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6.0 Defensive Driving Course Credential Committee
6.1 The Commissioner hereby forms an entity known

as the Defensive Driving Course Credential Committee
("Committee"). In appointing Committee members, the
Commissioner shall consider the following characteristics:

6.1.1 Knowledge of principles of teaching and
learning;

6.1.2 Knowledge of safe driving principles; and
6.1.3 Kknowledge of Delaware Motor Vehicle

laws.
6.2 The Committee shall be composed of five citizens

of this State who are not employed by or have any financial
interest in any course provider and who meet the standards
set forth in sections 10.1.1 through 10.1.4.

6.3 Duties. The Committee shall:
6.3.1 Elect its Chairperson and shall make

recommendations to the Commissioner concerning the
duties set forth herein;

6.3.2 Review and examine defensive driving
course provider, instructors and prospective providers and
instructors to its satisfaction. Recommend certification,
denial of certification or de-certification of a course provider
or prospective provider and applicants.

6.3.3 Review and examine defensive driving
courses and shall provide occasional monitoring of courses
to ensure each course continues to meet the Committee’s
minimum requirements, as outlined in this Regulation. The
Committee may from time to time recommend amendments
to course requirements 

6.3.4 Certify approved course providers and
individual instructors for a two year period so long as the
course sponsor/instructor continues to meet the requirements
of this Regulation; and

6.3.5 Conduct any other such activity
reasonably related to the furtherance of its duties.

76.0 Certification Criteria for Defensive Driving
Programs and Providers

Each course provider shall:
76.1 Submit to the Department for approval written

instructor and student materials for any defensive driving
course to be offered that minimally includes the elements
listed in this section.  On-line courses shall provide free site
access to the Department a Committee member for purposes
of verification of compliance.  The course materials for each
defensive driving course shall include, at a minimum, the
following:

76.1.1 The definition of defensive driving and the
collision prevention theory serving as the basis for the
course; 

76.1.2 A discussion of vVehicle safety devices,
including the use of seat belts, child restraint devices and
their proper use and relationship to a child’s age and size,
including the correct placement of a child in a vehicle.
Vehicle air bag systems shall be explained in detail with
special attention to proper passenger seating and proper use
of anti-lock braking systems and how they compare to
standard braking systems; 

76.1.3 A discussion of driving situations as they
relate to the condition of the driver, driver characteristics,
use of alcohol and legal/illegal drugs, including a discussion
of Delaware law on drinking and driving and the use of
drugs;

76.1.4 A discussion of the factors affecting
driving and how they pertain to driving defensively,
including, but not limited to:

76.1.4.1 The condition of the driver, the
vehicle, the road, sun glare, weather and lighting;

76.1.4.2 Distractions such as use of cellular
telephones while driving, adjusting radios, audio and video
tapes and compact discs, talking with a passenger, reading
and eating;

76.1.5 A discussion, including specific
requirements of Delaware law where applicable, of pertinent
driving situations, including stopping distances, proper
following distances, proper intersection driving, stopping at
railroad crossings, right-of-way and traffic devices as well as
situations involving passing and being passed and how to
protect against head-on collisions; and 

76.1.6 Consideration of the hazards and
techniques of various driving situations such, as but not
limited to, city, highway, expressway and rural driving,
proper use of exit and entrance ramps, driving in parking lots
and a discussion of Delaware law concerning school buses.

76.1.7 A discussion of aggressive driving
including but not limited to identifying an aggressive driver
and providing appropriate defensive driving techniques.
Discussion shall also include identifying oneself as an
aggressive driver and the appropriate manner to respond.

76.2 Require instructors in classroom courses to
present information in a manner consistent with the
approved curriculum and otherwise in accordance with the
standards set forth herein.

76.3 Require on-line courses to provide toll free
telephone lines staffed by knowledgeable customer service
personnel who can assist with content based questions at all
times during which the course is accessible online. For
courses which are accessible offline, the provider must
provide toll free telephone access at such times and for such
hours as shall be approved by the Department.
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76.4 Require that each student receives a minimum
of six hours of classroom or on-line time for the initial
course and three hours of classroom or on-line time for the
refresher advanced (renewal) course. Each classroom hour
shall consist of not less than 50 minutes of instructional time
devoted to the presentation of course curriculum. Online
courses shall be structured to provide the same learning time
as required for the classroom and shall submit to the
Department any materials necessary to demonstrate their
ability to comply with the minimum time requirement set
forth in this section.

76.5 Require that registration shall be completed
prior to the beginning of any type of instruction and shall not
be counted as instructional time.

76.6 Require its instructors in classroom courses to
be in the classroom with the students during any and all
periods of instructional time.

76.7 Require instructors in classroom courses to
maintain an atmosphere appropriate for class-work.

76.8 Material required to be covered by this
Regulation shall be discussed by the instructor in a
classroom situation and be included as on screen information
in an on-line course.

76.9 Supply students who complete a defensive
driving course and who have presented a valid Delaware
driver’s license and/or government issued photo
identification with a certificatione of completion that
includes, at a minimum, the name of the student, the date of
the class, the name of the defensive driving course and the
course sponsor’s authorized signature.

6.9.1 All online courses shall be required to
obtain the student’s driver’s license number as part of the
student identification information prior to permitting the
student access to the course materials.

6.9.2 No online course provider shall issue a
certificate of completion online or offline. All such providers
shall appoint an agent or agents in Delaware with an address
and telephone number easily accessible by all students who
shall personally compare the online identification
information with the information on the student’s Delaware
driver’s license and/or government-issued photo
identification prior to the hand delivery of a certification of
completion as described in section 6.9.

76.10 All courses shall provide all students with a
copy of a letter provided by the Committee Department
informing the student how to provide comment or file a
complaint regarding a defensive driving course. This letter
shall be in hard copy form for classroom courses. On-line
courses shall place the letter with registration on-line and
shall provide a hard copy with the certificate of completion.

76.11 Notify the Division of Motor Vehicles of each
student’s successful completion of the course in the manner
and form required by the Division. 

8.0 Complaints, De-certification, Suspension and
Probationary Status

8.1 Complaints received by the Department of
Insurance against course providers and/or instructors shall be
directed to the Chairperson for the Committee. The
Chairperson shall forward the complaint, in writing or by
electronic mail, to the provider and shall request a response.
The provider shall respond in writing or by electronic mail
within fifteen working days.  At the next meeting, the
Committee shall determine whether the complaint is in an
area over which it has the authority to take action or to make
a recommendation. The results shall be reported to the
course provider in writing as soon as reasonably possible.

8.2 Course providers and instructors may be de-
certified, placed on probation for not more than 90 calendar
days, or have certification suspended indefinitely upon a
finding of the Committee that the course presented does not
meet the criteria set forth in this Regulation. Investigations
relating to issues of compliance shall be directed by the
Committee.

8.3 Prior to de-certification, placement on probation or
suspension of certification, the course provider or instructor
or both shall be notified, in writing, by the Committee. The
course provider or instructor or both shall be given a
reasonable opportunity to submit evidence of compliance in
his or her defense.

8.4 A course provider or instructor who is placed on
probationary status and does not show proof of compliance
with the standards set forth herein within 90 calendar days
shall be subject to de-certification at the end of the
probationary period. 

8.5 A course provider or instructor or both may be de-
certified, suspended or placed on probation for the
following:

8.5.1Falsification of information on, or
accompanying, the Application for Certification/Re-
certification;

8.5.2Falsification of, or failure to keep and provide
adequate student records and information as required herein;

8.5.3Falsification of, or failure to keep and provide
adequate financial records and documents as required; and 

8.5.4Failure to comply with any section of this
Regulation.

9.0 Appeal Procedures
9.1 Within 10 business days after the date of written

notification of certification denial, suspension, probation or
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 6, THURSDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS948
de-certification, the course provider or instructor or both
may file an appeal requesting review of the action taken.

9.2 The appeal shall be addressed to the Committee,
citing the reasons for the request, and accompanied by any
other relevant substantiating information.

9.3 The Committee shall conduct all hearings pursuant
to 29 Del.C. Ch.101 of the Delaware Code Annotated.

7.0 Complaints, Hearings, De-certification, Suspension
and Probationary Status

7.1 The following procedure shall be followed for the
investigation of complaints against course providers and/or
instructors certified under section 6.0 of this Regulation (the
term "course provider" as used in section 7.0 of this
Regulation shall include individual instructors as may be
appropriate in the context of this section):

7.1.1 Any person who desires to file a complaint
against any course provider must do so in writing.

7.1.2 The complaint shall state the name of the
course provider and the facts that allegedly constitute the
basis for the complaint.  If either of these elements is missing
from the complaint, the Department may, in its discretion,
dismiss the complaint without further notice or a hearing.

7.1.3 The Department, upon determining that
the complaint is complete as provided in section 7.1.2 above,
shall, within 15 days of the receipt of the complaint, assign a
docket number to the complaint and shall transmit a copy of
the complaint by certified mail, receipted email or other
receipted delivery service to the course provider named in
the complaint at the course provider's address of record in
the Department's files. The named course provider may file
an answer to the complaint within 20 calendar days with the
Department.

7.1.4. The Department shall assign a staff
member to investigate the complaint and the course
provider’s response. 

7.1.5 The staff member, as part of the
investigation, shall provide a report of the staff member’s
findings and recommendations to the Commissioner or his
designee for further action as may be appropriate under this
section. The report shall list the evidence reviewed, the
witnesses interviewed and cite the law or regulation alleged
to have been violated and the facts to support such finding.
The report shall contain a written recommendation either to
take such action as may be authorized by this section or to
dismiss the complaint.

7.1.6 A dismissal of the complaint shall be
without prejudice and no further action shall be taken by the
Department. The Department shall provide a written
notification of the Department’s action and the basic

reason(s) therefor to the complainant and to the course
provider.  

7.2 Upon a recommendation for further action under
section 7.1 of this Regulation, the Commissioner shall
determine whether the course provider should be warned
(with or without conditions), placed on probation (with or
without conditions) for not more than 90 days, suspended for
a period not to exceed 6 months, or to be permanently
decertified for one or more violations of this Regulation.  For
purposes of the enforcement of this Regulation and the
protection of the public, progressive discipline is not
required.  

7.3 Upon making a determination as provided for in
section 7.2 of this Regulation, the Department shall provide
written notice to the course provider by certified mail,
receipted email or other receipted delivery service. A copy
of the notice shall be provided to the complainant. The
notice shall include the following:

7.3.1 a summary of the complaint;
7.3.2 a summary of the information obtained in

the investigation;
7.3.3 findings of fact and/or law; and
7.3.4 the sanction to be imposed by the

Department. 
7.4 Upon receipt of the notice provided for in section

7.3 of this Regulation, the course provider shall have the
rights to a hearing and appeal as provided for in 18 Del.C. §§
323-28.

7.5 Nothing in section 7.0 of this Regulation shall
preclude the course provider from entering into a consent
agreement with the Department.

7.6 A course provider or instructor who receives a
warning or is placed on probation and does not show proof
of compliance with the conditions of the warning or
probation within the time set forth in the consent agreement
or order may be subject to suspension or decertification.

7.7 In addition to the other provisions of this
Regulation, a course provider may be placed on probation,
suspended or decertified for any one or more of the
following:

7.7.1 Falsification of information on, or
accompanying, the Application for Certification/Re-
certification;

7.7.2 Falsification of, or failure to keep and
provide, adequate student records and information as
required herein; or

7.7.3 Falsification of, or failure to keep and
provide, adequate financial records and documents as
required.
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108.0 Certification Process for Defensive Driving
Instructors

108.1 Basic Requirements. Each instructor shall:
108.1.1 Be at least 18 years of age; 
108.1.2 Be a high school graduate or have a

G.E.D.; 
108.1.3 Provide a certified copy of his or her

driving record showing he or she holds a valid driver’s
license with no more than four (4) points, no suspensions or
revocations in the past two years; and

108.1.4 Have no felony convictions during the past
four years and no criminal convictions evidencing moral
turpitude. The Committee reserves the right toDepartment
may require a criminal history background check of all
applicants for an instructor’s certification. 

10.2 The Committee may recommend that Basic
Requirements sections 10.1.2 through 10.1.4 hereof be
waived upon a finding that an instructor is qualified and fit to
act as an instructor. 

10.38.2 Re-certification. Every two years each
instructor shall:

10.38.2.1 Submit evidence that he or she has
taught the certified course a minimum of 12 hours the
previous calendar year;

10.38.2.2 Submit evidence that he or she
attended an in-service update training seminar, or other
training session, as provided by, or specified by, a certified
defensive driving course sponsor; and 

10.38.2.3 Submit a form as prescribed by the
CommitteeDepartment certifying that he or she continues to
meet the requirements of an instructor as outlined in this
Regulation. and;

10.38.2.4 Submit a certified copy of his or her
driving record.

10.3.58.3 The above-described submissions shall be
filed not later than January 31st of the year in which re-
certification is desired. The Committee Department shall
accept requests for re-certification not earlier than November
15th of the preceding year and make reasonable efforts to act
on such requests within 30 days of receipt thereof.

8.4 The Department may provide procedural guidelines
and directives through the use of bulletins and/or circular
letters through the Commissioner’s website from time to
time as may be appropriate.

11.0 Meetings
The committee shall set a day and time for quarterly

meetings.  Other meetings may be set as needed.

12 9.0 Effective Date
12.1 This actregulation shall become effective on

September February 11, 20046. The procedural guidelines
set forth in this regulation shall govern the disposition of any
matter pending before the Defensive Driving Credentials
Committee as of the effective date of this regulation.

2 DE Reg. 989 (12/01/98)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 1406(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §1406(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 1400

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners in
accordance with 24 Del.C. §1406(a)(1) has proposed
changes to its rules and regulations to modify the continuing
education submission procedure.

A public hearing will be held at 9:00 a.m. on January  4,
2005 in the second floor conference room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments. Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board
Electrical Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at
the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

Proposed Rules and Regulations

7.0 Expiration and Renewal.
7.1  The biennial licenses granted by the Board shall

automatically terminate on June 30th of each even numbered
year or on such other date as is specified by the Division of
Professional Regulation. It is the responsibility of the
licensee to file a renewal application with the Board. The
failure of the Board to notify a licensee of his/her expiration
date does not in any way relieve the licensee of the
requirements of filing a renewal application with the Board.
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Beginning in 2006, license renewal may be accomplished
online at www.dpr.delaware.gov.

7.2 As a condition of renewal, each applicant must
show proof  of continuing education as required in the Rules
and Regulations.  Extra continuing education hours do not
carry over to the next licensing period. Renewal applications
will be audited by the Board for compliance with the
continuing education requirements.

7.3 A license is expired when a licensee has failed to
either complete the requirements for renewal or obtain
permission for  inactive status. A licensee may activate an
expired license within one year of the date the renewal
application was due by meeting all requirements and paying
an additional fee set by the Division of Professional
Regulation.

7.4 A licensee with a valid license may request in
writing to be placed on inactive status. An inactive status can
be effective for up to two years and renewed biennially by
application to the Division upon proof of 10 hours of
continuing education.  Said license may be reactivated by the
Board  upon written request, proof of insurance, and
payment of a prorated fee to be computed by the Division of
Professional Regulation.

7.5 A  licensee is not authorized to work as a licensed
electrician in this State during the period of inactive status.

7.6 An individual whose license has expired for more
than one year must reapply as a new applicant. Any prior
training and experience satisfies can be used to satisfy the
requirements under 24 Del.C. §1408(a).  However, the
applicant must take the examination required by §1408(5)
again and achieve a passing score unless he or she previously
passed an approved licensure test that covered the National
Electric Code that is the standard in Delaware at the time of
the new application .

4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)
9 DE Reg. 260 (8/1/05)

8.0 Continuing Education
8.1 Continuing education (CE) is required of all

licensees and proof shall be submitted to the Board
completed by April June 30 of any year after 2000 in which a
license is to be renewed.  For example, if a license must be
renewed June 30, 2001, the proof of completion of CE  is
due on April 30, 2001. A licensee who has submitted CE
hours that are not allowed  will be notified so that he or she
may obtain replacement CE before the June 30 expiration of
the license.

8.1.1 Proof of continuing education is satisfied
with an attestation by the licensee that he or she has satisfied
the requirements of  Rule 8.0.

8.1.2 Attestation may be completed
electronically if the renewal is accomplished online. In the
alternative, paper renewal documents that contain the
attestation of completion  can be submitted.

8.1.3 Licensees selected for random audit will
be required to supplement the attestation with attendance
verification pursuant to Rule 8.5.

8.2 Courses must be approved by the Board in order to
qualify as CE. Approved courses appear on the website of
the Division of Professional Regulation at
www.dpr.delaware.gov. Licensees may also contact the
Administrative Assistant of the Board at the Division of
Professional Regulation to determine whether particular
courses have been approved.

8.2.1 Courses shall be designed to maintain and
enhance the knowledge and skills of licensees related to
providing electrical services.

8.2.2 Sponsors or licensees can obtain Board
approval of courses at any time by completing a form
approved by the Board and including a course outline with
the number of classroom hours and name the curriculum
vitae or resume of the instructor.

8.2.3 Sponsors or licensees seeking pre-
approval should submit the request as provided in 8.1.2 at
least 60 days before the CE course  is being offered.

8.2.4 Approval of CE automatically expires on
September 1, 2002 and every three years thereafter on each
September 1. A sponsor or licensee must reapply for
approval as provided in 8.2.12.

8.3 Licensees shall complete 10 hours of approved CE
during each renewal period with the following exceptions - a
person licensed less than one year does not need to complete
CE at the first renewal; a person licensed one year but less
than two years must submit 5 CE hours at the first renewal.
Beginning with the licensee’s second renewal, 5 of the 10
CE hours required for renewal must be related to the
National Electrical Code.

8.4 The Board may consider a waiver of CE
requirements or acceptance of partial fulfillment based on
the Board’s review of a written request with supporting
documentation of hardship.

8.5 A log of CE on a form approved by the Board shall
be maintained and submitted. Documentation of the CE
should not be routinely sent with the log but must be retained
during the licensure period to be submitted if the renewal
application is selected for CE audit.  Random audits will be
performed by the Board to ensure compliance with the CE
requirements. Licensees selected for the random audit shall
submit attendance verification.

8.5.1 The Board will notify licensees within sixty
(60) days after June 30 that they have been selected for audit.
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8.5.2 Licensees selected for random audit shall be
required to submit verification within ten (10) days of receipt
of notification of selection for audit.

4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Electrical
Examners is available at:
http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/electrician/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2500 Board of Pharmacy

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 2509  (24 Del.C. §2509)

24 DE Admin. Code 2500

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Pharmacy in accordance with
24 Del.C. §2509 has proposed changes to its rules and
regulations.  Regulation 3.3 has updated the pharmacy
requirements to provide for more flexibility based on the
needs of the setting.  Regulation  5.12  provides for
centralized prescription processing. Compounding is
permitted for office use by a practitioner in Regulation 5.13.
Regulation 13.0 relating to Nuclear Pharmacies has been
replaced.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed changes
on January 13, 2006 at 10:00 a.m. in the second floor
conference room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public
can offer comments.  Anyone wishing to receive a copy of
the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from
the State Board of Pharmacy, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at
the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulation at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

3.0 Pharmacy Requirements
3.1 Pharmacist in Charge 

3.1.1 Application for permit to operate a
pharmacy in the State of Delaware must be on a form
approved by the Board.  The form shall include the statement

to be signed by the pharmacist in charge, "I understand that I
am responsible for conducting and managing the
prescription department in compliance with applicable State
and Federal laws."

3.1.2 The Board interprets the responsibilities of
the Pharmacist-in-Charge to include, but not be limited to the
following:

3.1.2.1 Maintain necessary pharmaceutical
equipment and reference texts in accordance with the State
Board of Pharmacy requirements.

3.1.2.2 Maintain records required by the
Uniform Controlled Substances Act and other relevant State
and Federal regulations.

3.1.2.3 Maintain proper security of particular
pharmacy operation during and after normal business hours.

3.1.2.4 Establish procedures within operation
that maintain standard of practice as it relates to the
dispensing of pharmaceuticals.  These procedures shall
include proper supervision of supportive personnel and
delegation of authority to another pharmacist when not on
duty.

3.1.2.5 The pharmacist on duty is directly
responsible for his own actions.

3.1.2.6 Notify the Board of Pharmacy in
writing within 10 days of termination as
pharmacist-in-charge.

3.2 Owner's Affidavit.  The owner or owners and, in the
case of a corporation, an authorized official of the
corporation must present an affidavit properly notarized
containing the statement, "I hereby swear or affirm that the
foregoing statements are correct and do hereby agree to
abide by the pharmacy laws of the State of Delaware and to
all rules and regulations of the Delaware State Board of
Pharmacy."  The Board must be notified within 10 days of
change of ownership.

3.3 Equipment and Reference Materials. Each
pharmacy shall have the following equipment and maintain a
library of the latest edition and supplements of current
reference sources (either hard copy or electronically
accessible) appropriate to the individual pharmacy practice
and to the care of the patients served.  The reference sources
must:

3.3.1 References:
3.3.1.1 Provide information on the

therapeutic use, dosing, pharmacology, adverse effects, and
interactions of drugs dispensed to patient. 

3.3.1.2 Provide information helpful in the
counseling of patients on the use of drugs dispensed.

3.3.1.3 Enable the pharmacist to properly
compound medicines within accepted standards of pharmacy
practice. 
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3.3.1.4 Include a listing of therapeutic
equivalents for drugs dispensed.

3.3.1.5 Include current Delaware and federal
laws and regulations governing pharmacy and controlled
substances.

3.3.1.6 Provide any other information
necessary to the safe and effective practice of pharmacy for
the specific practice setting.

3.3.2 Equipment
3.3.2.1 Prescription Scale, Class A

Set of Metric Weights if balance is used
3.3.2.2 Graduates, (must be glass) Metric 

One of Each:
 30 ml
 60 ml

125 ml
500 ml
(or Set with both metric and Apothecary

Graduations may be used)
3.3.2.3 Mortars and Pestles

One 8 ounce glass
One 8 ounce wedgewood

3.3.2.4 Filter Paper
3.3.2.5 Prescription/physician Order Files
3.3.2.6 Two Spatulas
3.3.2.7 One Glass Funnel
3.3.2.8 One Glass Stirring Rod
3.3.2.9 Ointment Slab or Papers
3.3.2.10 Distilled Water

Each Pharmacy shall have such additional
equipment as is necessary to perform a specific procedure.

All equipment must be clean and must be
maintained in such a manner that allows the pharmacist to
accurately weigh, measure and compound ingredients.

3.3.1 Equipment:  Each pharmacy shall have all
equipment appropriate to the individual pharmacy practice
and to the care of the patients served.

3.3.1.1 All equipment must be clean and must
be maintained in such a manner that allows the pharmacist to
accurately weigh, measure and compound ingredients.

3.3.1.2 Equipment may include such things as
prescription scale, metric graduates, mortars and pestles,
filter paper, spatulas, funnel, stirring rod, ointment slab or
papers, distilled water, and prescription/physician order files.

3.3.2 References:  Each pharmacy shall
maintain a library of the latest edition and supplements of
current reference sources, either hard copy or electronically
accessible, appropriate to the individual pharmacy practice
and to the care of the patients served.  References must:

3.3.2.1 Provide information on the
therapeutic use, dosing, pharmacology, adverse effects, and
interactions of drugs dispensed.

3.3.2.2 Provide information helpful in the
counseling of patients on the use of drugs dispensed.

3.3.2.3 Enable the pharmacist to properly
compound medicines within accepted standards of pharmacy
practice.

3.3.2.4 Include a listing of therapeutic
equivalents for drugs dispensed.

3.3.2.5 Include current Delaware and Federal
laws and regulations governing pharmacy and controlled
substances.

3.3.2.6 Provide any other information
necessary to the safe and effective practice of pharmacy for
the specific practice setting.

3.4 Physical Facilities. Have sufficient size, space,
sanitation, and environmental control for adequate
distribution, dispensing and storage of drugs and devices.
Such facilities shall include:

3.4.1 A dispensing area of adequate size and
space for proper compounding, dispensing and storage of
drugs and devices, to ensure the safety and well being of the
public and pharmacy personnel.

3.4.2 Sufficient environmental control, i.e.
lighting, ventilation, heating and cooling to maintain the
integrity of drugs and devices.  The area in which drugs and
devices are stored shall be accurately monitored using
control devices to maintain room temperature between 59
degrees and 86 degrees Fahrenheit.

3.4.3 The pharmacy department or prescription
area must contain a sink with hot and cold running water.  It
must be large enough to accommodate the equipment
required by the Board so that the utensils can be properly
washed and sanitized.

3.4.4 Suitable refrigeration with appropriate
monitoring device. Refrigerators and freezers (where
required) will be maintained within the USP/NF range:

Refrigerator - 36 degrees to 46 degrees
Fahrenheit

Freezer - Minus 13 degrees to plus 14 degrees
Fahrenheit.

A sign with letters not less than 3/4" in height
in the vicinity of the prescription department visible to the
public which shows the name of the pharmacists employed
at that pharmacy or the name of the pharmacist on duty.

3.5 Building Standards. An application to operate a
new pharmacy must include (3) copies of floor plans drawn
to scale of the proposed prescription department.  The floor
plans must include the following:
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 6, THURSDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 953
3.5.1 The requirements listed in §2534(f)(1)
through (4).

3.5.2 An area which assures patient privacy will
be provided to facilitate counseling.  This area must afford
the patient privacy from auditory detection by any
unauthorized person or persons. An area partitioned by a 5
foot divider on 2 sides with a minimum of 9 square feet
would satisfy this requirement in most settings.

3.5.3 The floor plans shall include the location
of the sink, all doors, storage room, approved Schedule II
controlled substance safe or cabinet, and the method of
securing the prescription department from floor to ceiling,
when the prescription department is closed and the
remainder of the store is open.

3.5.4 The floor plans must include the type of
alarm system to be installed, and the name, address and
phone number of alarm provider. The alarm system, as
required by Regulation 5 of the Delaware Controlled
Substance Act, must be reviewed and approved for
compliance by the Office of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.

3.5.5 The above requirements shall also apply
for any remodeling or change of location of the prescription
department. The pharmacist-in-charge or applicant for
permit must submit the floor plans requirements to the
Delaware Board of Pharmacy and the Office of Narcotics
and Dangerous Drugs prior to any construction and at least
15 days prior to the next scheduled Board of Pharmacy
meeting for its review.

3.6 Security. When the pharmacist is not physically
present and the operation is open for business, the pharmacy
department shall be physically or electronically secured from
floor to ceiling. The partitioned off section required by 24
Del.C. §2534 must be five feet high measured from the floor.
A conspicuous sign with letters not less than three inches in
height, reading "PRESCRIPTION LABORATORY
TEMPORARILY CLOSED, NO PROFESSIONAL
SERVICES RENDERED," or words of similar import, must
be posted in the front section of the operation or in front of
the prescription area, room or partitioned off section where it
can be seen by the public.

3.7 Board Interview.  Applicants for permit to operate a
pharmacy in the State of Delaware must appear before the
Board for an interview. The owner or authorized official
must be present in addition to the pharmacist-in-charge.
Whenever there is a change of pharmacist-in-charge, if that
person has never held that position in the State of Delaware,
he/she must appear before the Board for an interview within
ninety days after assuming the position.

Regulation 3.5.2 revised 6/16/97
Regulation 3.5.6 revised Effective date 10/11/98
2 DE Reg. 683 (10/1/98)

6 DE Reg. 488 (10/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 309 (9/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1666 (6/1/04)
9 DE Reg. 85 (7/1/05)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Dispensing
5.1 Definitions

“Agent”  An employee of the pharmacy supervised
by the pharmacist or a person acting on behalf of the ultimate
user.

“Automated Data Processing System (ADP)”  A
system utilizing computer software and hardware for the
purposes of recordkeeping.

“Cell”  Any container which holds the medication
for automatic dispensing.

“Central Prescription Processing” The
processing by a Pharmacy of a request from another
Pharmacy to fill or refill a prescription drug order or to
perform processing functions such as dispensing, DUR,
claims adjudication, refill authorizations and therapeutic
interventions. 

“Common Data Base”  A file or data base created
by ADP that enables authorized users to have common
access to this file regardless of physical location.

“Compounding” The art of the extemporaneous
preparation and manipulation of drugs as a result of a
practitioner's prescription order or initiative based on the
practitioner/patient/pharmacist relationship in the course of
professional practice, including the reconstitution of
powders for administration and the preparation of drugs in
anticipation of drug orders based on routine, regularly
observed prescribing patterns. Pharmaceutical compounding
must be in compliance with FFDCA Section 503A and any
regulations promulgated by FDA concerning compounding,
pertaining to this section.

“Computer”  Programmable electronic device,
capable of multifunctions including but not limited to
storage, retrieval and processing of information.

“Controlled Substance” Those drug items
regulated by Federal (CSA of 1970) and/or State Controlled
(dangerous) Substances Act.

“CRT”  Cathode Ray Tube used to impose visual
information on a screen.

“Delivery”  The transfer of a dispensed
prescription to the ultimate user (patient) or his/her agent.

“Dispensing” To furnish or deliver a drug to an
ultimate user by or pursuant to the lawful order of a
practitioner; including the preparation, packaging, labeling
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or compounding necessary to prepare the drug for that
delivery.

“Downtime” That period of time when a computer
is not operable.

“Facsimile (FAX) Prescription”  A facsimile
prescription is an order which is transmitted by an electronic
device over telephone lines which sends an exact copy image
to the receiver (pharmacy).

“Final Container” is that which holds the article,
designed to hold a quantity of drug product intended for
administration as a single dose, multiple dose, or a single
finished device intended for use promptly after the container
is opened.

“New Medication” A medication not previously
dispensed by the pharmacy for the ultimate user.

“Patient Counseling” The offer to discuss the
patient's prescription made by the pharmacist or the
pharmacist's designee in a face-to-face communication with
the patient or his/her agent, unless in the professional
judgment of the pharmacist it is deemed impracticable and in
such instances, it would be permissible for the offer to
counsel to be made through alternative means.  

“Pertinent Patient Medication Information”
Information which increases the patient's ability to minimize
the risks and enhance the benefits of drug use. The type of
information the pharmacist should consider is contained in
the latest edition of USP DI "Advice for the Patient."

“Prescriber” A practitioner authorized to prescribe
and acting within the scope of this authorization.

“Prescription” An order for medication which is
dispensed to or for an ultimate user, but does not include an
order for medication which is dispensed for immediate
administration to the ultimate user, (e.g., an order to dispense
a drug to a bed patient for immediate administration in a
hospital is not a prescription.) A written order from a
practitioner authorized to prescribe and acting within the
scope of this authorization, (other terminology: prescription
order) or a telephone order reduced to writing by the
pharmacist.

“Printout”  A hard copy produced by computer
that is readable without the aid of any special device.

“Reduced to Writing”
For new prescriptions this means the

preparation of a paper document containing all the
information required for a written prescription including the
State requirement (Section 2553)for drug product selection;

For a refill authorization, it may be handled as
a new prescription as in above, or by placing on the original
prescription or the patient profile (whichever document is
consistently used to document refills) the date, a statement
"O.K. for 'x' number of additional refills", or words of

similar import, and the pharmacist's initials.  In no instance,
shall the refill authorizations exceed the legal limits
established by State and Federal laws.

If the prescriber authorizing additional refills
differs from the Prescriber whose name appears on the
signature line of the original prescription, then that
authorization is considered a new prescription and must be
handled as described above.

“Regulatory Agency” Any Federal or State agency
charged with enforcement of pharmacy or drug laws and
regulations.

“Stop Date” A date established by an appropriate
authority which indicates when medication will no longer be
administered or dispensed in the absence of a specific time
period directed by the prescriber.

“Supportive personnel” A person who is not
registered as an intern or pharmacist with the Board who
may perform tasks as authorized by this Regulation.

5.2 The practice of dispensing shall include, but not be
limited to the following acts which shall be performed only
by a pharmacist, or a pharmacy intern or student
participating in an approved College of Pharmacy
coordinated, practical experience program under the direct
supervision of a pharmacist.

5.2.1 Receive oral prescriptions and reduce
them immediately to writing.

5.2.2 Certification of the prescription order -
(This involves authenticating the prescription, confirming
proper dosage and instructions, and reviewing for
incompatibility, etc.)

5.2.3 The pharmacist, intern or student who
dispenses the original prescription shall hand-sign or initial
the prescription. Initials mechanically or electronically
generated are acceptable in lieu of the above provided that
the individual verifies either on a daily printout or in a bound
log book daily that the information on the prescription is
correct.  The verification must be hand-signed and dated by
the individual.

5.3 Patient Counseling
5.3.1 Before dispensing or delivering a new

medication to a patient or his or her agent, a pharmacist or
pharmacy intern under the direct supervision of the
pharmacist, shall conduct a prospective drug review. A
pharmacist or pharmacy intern or student participating in an
approved College of Pharmacy coordinated practical
experience program and working under the direct
supervision of the pharmacist, shall conduct a prospective
drug review. A prospective drug review may be conducted
before refilling a prescription to the extent deemed
appropriate. A prospective drug review shall include
screening for potential drug therapy problems due to
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therapeutic duplication, drug-drug interactions, including
serious interactions with over-the-counter drugs,
drug-disease contraindications, if disease is known, incorrect
drug dosage or duration of drug treatment, drug-allergy
interactions, and clinical abuse or misuse based on available
information received by the pharmacist.

5.3.2 A pharmacist, or a pharmacy intern or
student participating in an approved College of Pharmacy
coordinated practical experience program and working under
the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall, with each new
medication dispensed, provide verbal counseling to the
patient or the patient's agent on pertinent medication
information.  The counseling may include, but not be limited
to the following:

5.3.2.1 the name and description of the
prescribed drug;

5.3.2.2 the dosage and the dosage form;
5.3.2.3 the method and route of

administration;
5.3.2.4 the duration of the prescribed drug

therapy;
5.3.2.5 any special directions and precautions

for preparation, administration, and use by the patient that
the pharmacist determines are necessary;

5.3.2.6 common severe side effects or
adverse effects or interactions and therapeutic
contraindications that may be encountered, how to avoid
them, and what actions should be taken if they occur;

5.3.2.7 patient techniques for self-monitoring
of the drug therapy;

5.3.2.8 proper storage;
5.3.2.9 prescription refill information;
5.3.2.10 the action to be taken in the event of a

missed dose; and
5.3.2.11 current over-the-counter medication

use.
5.3.3 This section does not apply to a

pharmacist dispensing drugs for inpatient use in a hospital or
other institution where the drug is to be administered by a
nurse or other appropriate health care provider.

5.3.4 Nothing in this section requires a
pharmacist or pharmacy intern or student participating in an
approved College of Pharmacy coordinated practical
experience program and working under the direct
supervision of a pharmacist, to provide patient counseling
when a patient or the patient's agent refuses the counseling.
There must be a record in a uniform place that documents a
patient's acceptance or refusal of counseling.

5.3.5 If the dispensed prescription is delivered
by an agent of the pharmacy when the pharmacist is not
present (i.e. home delivery, pharmacist off duty and

non-resident pharmacies) written or printed information
shall be included with the prescription.  The patient or his/
her agent shall be informed that the pharmacist will be
available for consultation.

5.4 Supportive personnel
5.4.1 Qualifications and training

5.4.1.1 The pharmacist-in-charge is
responsible for ensuring proper training of all supportive
personnel. The actual training may be delegated to a
pharmacist or other trained supportive personnel.

5.4.1.2 The areas of training required are to
be determined by the pharmacist-in-charge and will be
appropriate to  the practice site and responsibilities assigned
to the supportive personnel.  Areas of training shall include:

5.4.1.2.1 general drug and dosage
form knowledge

5.4.1.2.2 medical terminology 
5.4.1.2.3 pharmaceutical calculations
5.4.1.2.4 prescription labeling

requirements
5.4.1.2.5 general filling/dispensing

responsibilities
5.4.1.2.6 patient profile record system

requirements
5.4.1.2.7 requirements for patient

counseling
5.4.1.2.8 confidentiality
5.4.1.2.9 safety practices

        5.4.1.2.10 inventory functions
5.4.1.2.11 knowledge of applicable

State and Federal Statutes and Regulations
5.4.1.2.12 other site-specific

parameters
5.4.1.3 The general content of the training

program must be maintained in the policy and procedure
manual.

5.4.1.4 Documentation of successful training
in specific areas by oral or written evaluation will be
maintained and will be available for inspection by the Board
of Pharmacy. 

5.4.2 Supervision.  Supportive personnel must
be supervised by a registered pharmacist who will be
responsible for  the activities of these persons.

5.4.3 Activities allowed
5.4.3.1 Supportive personnel will be allowed

to perform only those duties permitted by this regulation.
5.4.3.2 Supportive personnel may aid in the

dispensing of prescriptions as authorized in Section 2513
under the supervision of a pharmacist by performing the
following tasks:
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5.4.3.2.1 Obtaining the medication
from stock.

5.4.3.2.2 Typing the label after the
pharmacist has interpreted the directions.

5.4.3.2.3 Counting, pouring and
selecting prefabricated medications and selecting individual
prepackaged unit dose medication provided that these are not
in conflict with the state and federal law (Federal
Comprehensive Controlled Substances Act) and that a final
check by the pharmacist is made after the medication is
placed in the final container prior to dispensing and
administration to the patient.  There will be a final check by
a licensed pharmacist prior to dispensing and administration,
except where the Board of Pharmacy grants, in writing, an
exemption for good cause shown.

5.4.3.3 Compounding is the responsibility of
the pharmacist or pharmacy intern under the direct
supervision of the pharmacist. All compounding must be in
compliance with FFDCA Section 503A and any regulations
promulgated by FDA concerning compounding pertaining to
this section. The pharmacist may utilize the assistance of
supportive personnel if the following is performed:

5.4.3.3.1 The formulation is
developed by the pharmacist before proceeding with the
compounding.

5.4.3.3.2 The compounding
ingredients are checked by the pharmacist before proceeding
with the compounding.

5.4.3.3.3 Every weight and
measurement is checked by the pharmacist before
proceeding with the compounding.

5.4.3.3.4 The finished product is
checked by the pharmacist before dispensing.

5.4.3.3.5 A log is maintained showing
the identity of the person actually compounding the
medication and the identity of the pharmacist who has
performed each of the checks indicated above for each step
of the procedure.  If policies and procedures are in place
ensuring adequate checks by the pharmacist per regulation,
the requirement for a log will be waived.

5.4.3.4 Only supportive personnel or persons
being trained as supportive personnel as required by this
regulation, may perform the activities defined by this
regulation.

5.5 Automatic Dispensing Devices. If any automatic
counting device is used by a pharmacy, each cell shall have
clearly displayed thereon, the date filled, the name of the
drug, the batch number, the manufacturer's name, and the
expiration date of the particular batch number. No drug can
be added to the cell until the present supply is depleted. 

5.6 Authorization for renewal of prescriptions. A
prescription written for medication which, pursuant to State
and Federal law, may be sold, dispensed, or furnished only
upon prescription, shall not be renewed without specific
authorization of the prescriber. The pharmacist shall in his/
her professional judgment refill prescriptions in keeping
with the number of doses ordered and the directions for use.
Refills beyond one year of the date of the original
prescription shall not be dispensed without further
authorization of the prescriber.

5.7 Mandatory Patient Profile Record System
5.7.1 A patient profile record system must be

maintained at all pharmacies for persons for whom
prescriptions are dispensed.  The patient profile system shall
be devised so as to entitle the immediate retrieval of
information necessary to enable the dispensing pharmacist to
identify previously dispensed medication at the time a
prescription is presented for dispensing.  

5.7.2 The following information shall be
recorded by a pharmacist or designee:

5.7.2.1 The family name and first name of the
person for whom the medication is intended (the patient);

5.7.2.2 The address of the patient and phone
number;

5.7.2.3 The patient's age, or date of birth, and
gender;

5.7.2.4 The original date the medication is
dispensed pursuant to the receipt of a prescriber’s
prescription;

5.7.2.5 The number or designation
identifying the prescription;

5.7.2.6 The prescriber's name;
5.7.2.7 The name, strength, quantity,

directions and refill information of the drug dispensed;
5.7.2.8 The initials of the dispensing

pharmacist and the date of dispensing medication as a
renewal (refill) if said initials and such date are not recorded
on the original prescription;

5.7.2.9 If the patient refuses to give all or part
of the required information, the pharmacist shall so indicate
and initial in the appropriate area.

5.7.2.10 Pharmacist comments relevant to the
patient's drug therapy, including any other information
peculiar to the specific patient or drug.

5.7.3 The pharmacist or pharmacy intern under
the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall attempt to
ascertain and shall record any allergies and idiosyncrasies of
the patient and any chronic disease states and frequently
used over-the-counter medication as communicated to the
pharmacist by the patient.  If the answer is none, this must be
indicated on the profile.
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5.7.4 Upon receipt of a new prescription, a
pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or student participating in a
College of Pharmacy practical experience program under the
direct supervision of a pharmacist must examine the patient’s
profile record before dispensing the medication to determine
the possibility of a harmful drug interaction or reaction.
Upon recognizing a potential harmful reaction or interaction,
the pharmacist shall take appropriate action to avoid or
minimize the problem with shall, if necessary, include
consultation with the prescriber.

5.7.2.5 The number or designation
identifying the prescription;

5.7.2.6 The prescriber's name;
5.7.2.7 The name, strength, quantity,

directions and refill information of the drug dispensed;
5.7.2.8 The initials of the dispensing

pharmacist and the date of dispensing medication as a
renewal (refill) if said initials and such date are not recorded
on the original prescription;

5.7.2.9 If the patient refuses to give all or part
of the required information, the pharmacist shall so indicate
and initial in the appropriate area.

5.7.2.10 Pharmacist comments relevant to the
patient's drug therapy, including any other information
peculiar to the specific patient or drug.

5.7.3 The pharmacist or pharmacy intern under
the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall attempt to
ascertain and shall record any allergies and idiosyncrasies of
the patient and any chronic disease states and frequently
used over-the-counter medication as communicated to the
pharmacist by the patient.  If the answer is none, this must be
indicated on the profile.

5.7.4 Upon receipt of a new prescription, a
pharmacist pharmacy intern or student participating in a
College of Pharmacy practical experience program under the
direct supervision of a pharmacist must examine the patient's
profile record before dispensing the medication to determine
the possibility of a harmful drug interaction or reaction.
Upon recognizing a potential harmful reaction or interaction,
the pharmacist shall take appropriate action to avoid or
minimize the problem which shall, if necessary, include
consultation with the prescriber.

5.7.5 A patient profile record must be
maintained for a period of not less than one year from the
date of the last entry in the profile record unless it is also
used as a dispensing record.

5.8 Exchange of Valid Non-Controlled Prescriptions
Between Pharmacies

5.8.1 Verbal Exchange of Prescriptions - When
a pharmacy receives a verbal request for a prescription
transfer, it may be honored provided that:

5.8.1.1 The request comes from a registered
pharmacist.

5.8.1.2 The copy is immediately reduced to
writing and contains the information required on a written
prescription as listed in Regulation 5.0, and  includes the first
and last name of the pharmacist transmitting the information.

5.8.1.3 The prescription used for refills must
be clearly identified as a copy. 

5.8.1.4 The copy shows the date and the file
number of the original prescription and indicates the name
and address of the pharmacy providing the copy.

5.8.1.5 The copy shows the last date of
dispensing.

5.8.1.6 Only the actual number of refills
remaining are indicated.

5.8.1.7 A notation indicating a copy was
given and refills are no longer valid must be placed on either
the original prescription or patient profile. The document
used must be the same one used for the recording of refills
per the pharmacy's policy.

5.8.2 A copy prepared or transmitted that does
not meet the requirements of this Regulation is deemed to be
an invalid prescription.

5.8.3 Written copies of prescriptions are for
information only and are not valid for refilling.

5.9 Automated Data Processing Systems
5.9.1 Profiles. When ADP's are used to maintain

patient profile records, all the requirements of Delaware
Pharmacy Regulation 5.0 must be met.

5.9.2 Prescription (Drug Order) Information.
Prescription information (drug order) shall include, but not
be limited to:

5.9.2.1 Original dispensing date
5.9.2.2 Name and address of patient (patient

location if in an institution)
5.9.2.3 Name of prescriber
5.9.2.4 DEA number of prescriber in the case

of a controlled substance
5.9.2.5 Name, strength, dosage form and

quantity, (or Stop Date), and route of administration if other
than oral form of drug prescribed

5.9.2.6 Renewals authorized
5.9.2.7 Directions of use for patient

5.9.3 Records of Dispensing. Records of
dispensing for original and refill prescriptions are to be made
and kept by pharmacies for three years.  Information must be
immediately accessible for a period of not less than one year
from the date of last entry.  Information beyond one year but
up to three years from the date of last entry may be
maintained off-line but must be produced no later than five
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days upon request from proper authorities.  The information
shall include, but not be limited to:

5.9.3.1 Quantity dispensed
5.9.3.2 Date of dispensing
5.9.3.3 Serial Number (or equivalent if an

institution)
5.9.3.4 The identification of the pharmacist

responsible for dispensing
5.9.3.5 Record of renewals to date
5.9.3.6 Name and strength of medicine

5.9.4 Record Retrieval (Documentation of
Activity).  Any such ADP system must provide via CRT
display and or hard copy printout a current history of all
authorized prescription activity.  This information shall
include, but not be limited to:

5.9.4.1 Serial number of prescription
(equivalent if an institution)

5.9.4.2 Date of processing
5.9.4.3 Quantity dispensed
5.9.4.4 The identification of the pharmacist

responsible for dispensing
5.9.4.5 Medication dispensed

5.9.5 Auxiliary Recordkeeping System. An
auxiliary recordkeeping system shall be established for the
documentation of renewals if the ADP is inoperative for any
reason. The auxiliary system shall insure that all renewals
are authorized by the original prescription and that the
maximum number of renewals are not exceeded. When the
ADP is restored to operation, the information regarding
prescriptions dispensed and renewed during the inoperative
period shall be entered into the automated data processing
system.

5.9.6 Common Data Base. Two or more
pharmacies may establish and use a common data file or
base to maintain required or pertinent dispensing
information. Pharmacies using such a common file are not
required to transfer prescriptions or information for
dispensing purposes between or among pharmacies
participating in the same common prescription file or data
base; provided however, any such common file must contain
complete and adequate records of such prescription and
renewals dispensed. Where common data base is used, this
shall not be considered a transfer under Board Regulation
5.0 for non-controlled substances.

5.9.7 Transfer of Prescriptions via ADP. A
pharmacist may transfer a prescription electronically (ADP)
for Schedule III, IV, or V controlled substances to another
pharmacy for renewal purposes in accordance with Title 21,
Code of Federal Regulations Section 1306.26.  A pharmacist
may transfer a prescription electronically (ADP) for

non-controlled drug for renewal purposes in accordance with
current State Regulations.

5.9.7.1 Any pharmacy using ADP must
comply with all applicable State and Federal regulations.

5.9.7.2 A pharmacy shall make arrangements
with the supplier of data processing services or materials to
assure that the pharmacy continues to have adequate and
complete prescription and dispensing records if the
relationship with such supplier terminates for any reason. A
pharmacy shall assure continuity in maintenance of records.

5.9.7.3 The computer record shall reflect the
fact that the prescription order has been transferred, the
name of the pharmacy to which it was transferred, the date of
transfer, the name of the pharmacist transferring information,
and any remaining refill information, if applicable.

5.9.7.4 The pharmacist receiving the
transferred prescription drug order shall reduce it to writing
with the following information:

5.9.7.4.1 Write the word
"TRANSFER" on the face of the transferred prescription.

5.9.7.4.2 Provide all information
required to be on the prescription drug order pursuant to
State and Federal laws and regulations.

5.9.7.5 To maintain the confidentiality of
patient's prescriptions (drug orders) or other pertinent
records, there must exist adequate safeguards of security.
This shall also pertain to prevent non-user access.

5.10 Electronic Transmission Of Prescriptions
5.10.1 All Prescription Drug Orders

communicated by way of Electronic Transmission shall:
5.10.1.1 be transmitted directly to a

Pharmacist in a licensed Pharmacy of the patient’s choice
with no intervening Person having access to the Prescription
Drug Order;

5.10.1.2 identify the transmitter’s phone
number for verbal confirmation, the time and date of
transmission, and the identity of the Pharmacy intended to
receive the transmission, as well as any other information
required by Federal or State law;

5.10.1.3 be transmitted by an authorized
Practitioner or his designated agent; and

5.10.1.4 be deemed the original
Prescription Drug Order provided it meets the requirements
of this subsection.

5.10.2 The prescribing Practitioner may authorize
his agent to communicate a Prescription Drug Order orally
or by way of Electronic Transmission to a Pharmacist in a
licensed Pharmacy, provided that the identity of the
transmitting agent is included in the order.

5.10.3 The Pharmacist shall exercise professional
judgment regarding the accuracy, validity, and authenticity
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of the Prescription Drug Order communicated by way of
Electronic Transmission consistent with existing Federal or
State laws and rules.

5.10.4 All electronic equipment for receipt of
Prescription Drug Orders communicated by way of
Electronic Transmission shall be maintained so as to ensure
against unauthorized access.

5.10.5 Persons other than those bound by a
confidentiality agreement pursuant to Section 2.A. (2)(k)
shall not have access to Pharmacy records containing
Confidential Information or personally identifiable
information concerning the Pharmacy’s patients.

5.10.6 Controlled substance prescriptions may
only be electronically transmitted via a facsimile.

5.10.7 Facsimile prescriptions must meet the
following requirements in addition to the above listed
electronic Transmission requirements.

5.10.7.1 The prescription order shall
include the fax number of the transmitter, the number of
transmitted pages, the name, phone number, and electronic
number of the pharmacy intended to receive the
transmission, and a confidentiality statement in bold type
stating the electronic transmission should not be seen by
unauthorized persons.  

5.10.7.2 Unless the prescription is written
for a schedule II controlled substance, the prescriber should
not issue the written prescription to the patient.

5.10.7.3 A facsimile transmitted
prescription order must be reduced to writing, unless
received as a non-fading document, with a notation that the
order was received by facsimile.

5.10.7.4 The receiving facsimile machine
must be in the prescription department to protect
patient-pharmacist-authorized prescriber confidentiality and
security.

5.10.7.5 Both non-controlled and
controlled substance prescriptions may be transmitted via
facsimile following state and federal requirements. All
prescription orders for controlled substances shall be
hand-signed by the practitioner.

5.11 Return of Medications and Supply
5.11.1 Prescriptions and items of personal

hygiene shall not be accepted for return or exchange by any
pharmacist or pharmacy after such prescription or items of
personal hygiene have been taken from the premises where
sold, distributed or dispensed.

5.11.2 Products under the direct control of a
health care professional which are packaged in manufacturer
unit dose or tamper-proof unopened bulk containers, tamper
proof seal in tact, including unused multi-dose punch cards,
may be redispensed in accordance with expiration dating in

customized patient medication package. Partially used
products may not be redispensed. Nothing in this regulation
precludes the Federal laws and regulations.

5.12 Centralized Prescription Processing
5.12.1 A Pharmacy may perform or outsource

centralized prescription processing, services provided the
parties:

5.12.1.1 have the same owner; or
5.12.1.2 have a written contract outlining

the services to be provided and the responsibilities and
accountabilities of each party in fulfilling the terms of said
contract in compliance with federal and state laws and
regulations; and

5.12.1.3 share a common electronic file or
have appropriate technology to allow access to sufficient
information necessary or required to fill or refill a
prescription drug order.
            5.12.2 The parties performing or contracting for
centralized prescription processing services shall maintain a
policy and procedures manual and documentation that
implementation is occurring in a manner that shall be made
available to the Board for review upon request and that
includes, but is not limited to, the following:

5.12.2.1 A description of how the parties
will comply with federal and state laws and regulations;

5.12.2.2 The maintenance of appropriate
records to identify the responsible pharmacist(s) in the
dispensing and counseling processes;

5.12.2.3 The maintenance of a mechanism
for tracking the prescription drug order during each step in
the dispensing process;

5.12.2.4 The maintenance of a mechanism
to identify on the prescription label all pharmacies involved
in dispensing the prescription drug, order;

5.12.2.5 The provision of adequate
security to protect the confidentiality and integrity of patient
information;

5.12.2.6 The maintenance of a quality
assurance program for pharmacy services designed to
objectively and systematically monitor and evaluate the
quality and appropriateness of patient care, pursue
opportunities to improve patient care, and resolve identified
problems.

5.12.3 In addition to the requirements of 24
Del.C. §2536, all drugs dispensed to a patient that have been
filled via a centralized prescription processing system shall
bear a label containing an identifiable code that provides a
complete audit trail of the dispensing of the drug and
pharmaceutical care activities.

5.13 Compounded medications for office use
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5.13.1 On the order of a practitioner,
compounded products may be sold to the practitioner for use
in his or her office to administer to individual patients, but
not for resale.

Effective Date:  October 11, 1996
Effective Date:  April 14, 1997 Section 5.4 revised 
Effective Date:  June 11, 1998
Amended Effective September 11, 1999
1 DE Reg. 1965 (6/1/98)
3 DE Reg. 431 (9/1/99)
4 DE Reg. 163 (7/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 682 (10/1/00)
9 DE Reg. 85 (7/1/05)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

13.0  Nuclear Pharmacy Regulations
13.1  Purpose and Scope

13.1.1  The purpose of this regulation is to
recognize the practice of nuclear pharmacy as a specialty of
pharmacy practice to be regulated by the Delaware State
Board of Pharmacy. As such, the following rules are
included to address those areas specific to this specialty
practice.

13.1.2  Nuclear Pharmacy practice refers to a
patient oriented service that embodies the scientific
knowledge and professional judgment required to improve
and promote health through the assurance of the safe and
efficacious use of radiopharmaceuticals and other drugs.

13.2  Definitions
“Authentication of Product History” includes,

but is not limited to, identifying the purchasing source, the
ultimate fate, and any intermediate handling of any
component of a radiopharmaceutical.

“Authorized Personnel” means any individual
trained through management to be permitted to perform
assigned duties in a safe and effective manner.

“Authorized User” means any individual or
institution named on a radioactive materials licensed.

“Nuclear Pharmacy” is a pharmacy which
provides radiopharmaceutical services.

“Qualified Nuclear Pharmacist” is a currently
licensed pharmacist in the State of Delaware who meets
either of the following criteria:

Must be currently certified as a nuclear pharmacist
by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties.

Must have successfully completed a minimum of
700 contact hours of instruction in nuclear pharmacy and the safe
handling and use of radioactive materials from a nationally
accredited college of pharmacy or from an American Council on

Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE)-approved training program.
The training qualifications are described in 13.6.

“Radiopharmaceutical Quality Assurance”
means, but is not limited to, the performance of tests on
radiopharmaceuticals to ascertain the radionuclidic,
radiochemical, chemical, physical, and microbiological
purity and the interpretation of the resulting data to
determine their suitability for use in humans and animals,
including internal test assessment, authentication of product
history, and the keeping of proper records.

“Radiopharmaceutical Services” means, but shall
not be limited to, the procurement, storage, handling,
preparation, labeling, quality assurance testing, dispensing,
delivery, record keeping, and disposal of
radiopharmaceuticals and other drugs.

“Radiopharmaceuticals” are radioactive drugs as
defined by the FDA to include any drug which exhibits
spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the
emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any
non radioactive reagent kit or nuclide generator which is
intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance.
This definition does not include drugs such as carbon
containing compounds or potassium containing salts which
contain trace quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides.
The term radiopharmaceutical also includes any biological
product which is labeled with a radionuclide or intended
solely to be labeled with a radionuclide.

“Restricted Area” means any area the access to which is
controlled by the license for purpose of protection of individuals
from exposure to radiation and radioactive materials.

“Unrestricted Area” means any area the access to
which is not controlled by the licensee for purpose of
protection of individuals from exposure to radiation and
radioactive materials.

13.3  Nuclear Pharmacy—general Requirements.  The
process employed by any permit holder in this state
concerning the handling of radioactive materials must
involve procedures for the purchase receipt, storage,
manipulation, compounding, distribution and disposal of
radioactive materials.  In order to insure the public health
and safety in this respect, a nuclear pharmacy in this state
shall meet the following general requirements:

13.3.1  A nuclear pharmacy may be managed only
by a qualified pharmacist acting in the capacity of a
pharmacist-in-charge who shall be responsible for the
compliance with all laws and regulations, both state and
federal pertaining to radiopharmaceuticals and
radiopharmaceutical services.  An actively licensed qualified
nuclear pharmacist must personally supervise the operation
of only one nuclear pharmacy when radiopharmaceutical
services are being performed.
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13.3.2  The nuclear pharmacy area shall be secured from
access by unauthorized personnel.

13.3.3  Each nuclear pharmacist shall maintain accurate
records of the acquisition, inventory, distribution, and disposal of
all radiopharmaceuticals.

13.3.4  All nuclear pharmacies shall provide
adequate space for radioactive storage and a product decay
area.

13.3.5  Nuclear pharmacies shall comply with all
applicable laws and regulations of federal and state agencies
for the procurement, secure storage, inventory, preparation,
distribution and disposal of radiopharmaceuticals and other
drugs.

13.3.6  Radiopharmaceuticals are to be distributed
only upon a prescription order from an authorized licensed
medical practitioner or through the practitioner's agent.

13.3.7  A nuclear pharmacist shall transfer
radioactive materials in accordance with all applicable laws
and regulations.

13.3.8  A nuclear pharmacy upon receiving an oral
prescription order for a radiopharmaceutical shall
immediately have the prescription order reduced to writing
or recorded in a data processing system which shall contain
at least the following:

13.3.8.1  the name of the authorized user or his
agent;

13.3.8.2  the date of distribution and the time of
administration of the radiopharmaceutical;

13.3.8.3  the name of procedure;
13.3.8.4  the name of the radiopharmaceutical;
13.3.8.5  the prescription number assigned to

the order for the radiopharmaceutical;
13.3.8.6  any specific instructions; and
13.3.8.7  the initials of the person who received

the order.
13.3.8.8  When the order is for a therapeutic or

blood-product radiopharmaceutical, the patient's name must
be obtained and recorded prior to dispensing.

13.3.8.9  If the product is for a therapeutic
radiopharmaceutical the patient's name must be obtained and
recorded (i.e. verified) by a pharmacist when the pharmacy
receives an oral prescription.

13.3.9  In addition to other labeling requirements of
the Board of Pharmacy for non-radioactive pharmaceuticals,
the immediate outer container shield of a
radiopharmaceutical to be dispensed shall be labeled with:

13.3.9.1  the name and address of the
pharmacy;

13.3.9.2  the name of the prescriber;
13.3.9.3  the name of the procedure;
13.3.9.4  the standard radiation symbol;

13.3.9.5  the words "caution Radioactive
material";

13.3.9.6  the prescription number of the
radiopharmaceutical;

13.3.9.7  the radionuclide and chemical form;
13.3.9.8  the amount of radioactive material

contained in millicuries (mCi), or microcuries (uCi) and the
corresponding time that applies to this activity, if different
from 13.3.9.9 of this paragraph;

13.3.9.9  the calibration date and time;
13.3.9.10  the expiration date and time;
13.3.9.11  if a liquid, the volume;
13.3.9.12  if a solid, the number of items or

weight;
13.3.9.13  if a gas, the number of ampules or

vials;
13.3.9.14  molybdenum-99 content to USP

limits; and
13.3.9.15  the name of the patient or the words

"Physicians Use Only" in the absence of a patient name.  If
the order is for a therapeutic or blood-product
radiopharmaceutical, the patient's name must be obtained
and recorded prior to dispensing.  The requirements of this
subsection shall be met when the name of the patient is
readily retrievable from the physician upon demand.

13.3.10  The immediate inner container label of a
radiopharmaceutical to be distributed shall also be labeled
with:

13.3.10.1  the standard radiation symbol
13.3.10.2  the words "Caution Radioactive

Material"
13.3.10.3  the radionuclide;
13.3.10.4  the amount of radioactivity in mCi

or uCi;
13.3.10.5  the calibration date and time
13.3.10.6  the prescription number of the

radiopharmaceutical; and
13.3.10.7  the pharmacy name; and
13.3.10.8  the name of the patient or the words

"Physicians use only" in the absence of a patient name.  If
the order is for a therapeutic or blood-product
radiopharmaceutical, the patient's name must be on the label.

13.4  Nuclear Pharmacy—minimum Requirements.  All
nuclear pharmacies must meet the requirements of the Department
of Health and Rehabilitative Services for the control of radiation
hazards and applicable requirements of the Federal Food and Drug
Administration.  In addition, in order to insure compliance with
general safety requirements, the following additional minimum
requirements must be met by a nuclear pharmacy:

13.4.1  Physical Facilities
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 6, THURSDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS962
13.4.1.1  Each nuclear pharmacy shall have an
area for the storage, compounding, distribution and disposal
of radiopharmaceuticals which shall be adequate to
completely separate such radioactive pharmaceuticals from
pharmacy areas which contain non radioactive medicinal
drugs.

13.4.1.2  The nuclear pharmacy facility shall
have adequate space commensurate with the scope of
services.

13.4.2  Equipment:
13.4.2.1  Vertical laminar air flow unit (hood)

used as a shielded radiation containment drawing station;
13.4.2.2  Exhaust/fume unit (hood) with engineering

controls to assure airborne concentrations in compliance with
federal regulations for storage and handling of all volatile
radioactive drugs, if applicable;

13.4.2.3  Vertical laminar flow biological safety
cabinet to be used for all compounding of applicable
radiopharmaceuticals (i.e. blood products; white blood cells
procedures);

13.4.2.4  Dose calibrator;
13.4.2.5  Well scintillation counters;
13.4.2.6  Area rate meters;
13.4.2.7  Geiger-Mueller (GM) Survey meters;
13.4.2.8  Refrigerator;
13.4.2.9  Microscope;
13.4.2.10  Hemacytometer
13.4.2.11  Leaded glass syringe shields;
13.4.2.12  Personal radiation detection devices

13.4.3  Supplies:
13.4.3.1  Syringes and vials required to

perform practice;
13.4.3.2  Disposable gloves and protective lab

coats;
13.4.3.2  Supplies to insure sterile practices for

I.V. solutions and preparations;
13.4.3.3  Supplies to perform thin layer

chromotography;
13.4.3.4  Lead transport shields for syringes

and vials;
13.4.3.5  D.O.T. type 7A approved transport

containers and other labels and supplies for shipping
radioactive materials.

13.4.4  Library/Current references:  In addition to
the reference requirements of Regulation 3.0, a nuclear
pharmacy shall maintain a reference library which shall
include the following:

13.4.4.1  NRC Title 10 CFR, Code of Federal
Regulations;

13.4.4.2  NRC Title 21 CFR, Code of Federal
Regulations;

13.4.4.3  NRC Title 49 CFR, Code of Federal
Regulations;

13.4.4.4  NABP Nuclear Pharmacy Practice
Guidelines;

13.4.4.5  A minimum of three current edition
texts dealing with nuclear medicine science;

13.4.4.6  A copy of the procedure manual.
13.4.4.7  Delaware Radiation Control

Regulations
13.5  Records.

13.5.1  Policy and procedure manual. All nuclear
pharmacies shall maintain a policy and procedure manual. The
nuclear pharmacy policy and procedure manual is a compilation of
written policy and procedure statements.

13.5.2  A technical operations manual governing all
nuclear pharmacy functions shall be prepared.  It shall be
continually revised to reflect changes in techniques, organization,
etc.  All pharmacy personnel shall be familiar with the contents of
the manual.

13.5.3  The nuclear pharmacy policies and procedures
manual shall be prepared by the pharmacist-in-charge with input
from other pharmacy staff members.

13.6  Training Qualifications
13.6.1  A pharmacist licensed to practice pharmacy

in this state who performs a radiopharmaceutical service
shall, prior to engaging in such specialized practice, be
qualified as a nuclear pharmacist and licensed by the Board
of Pharmacy.

13.6.2  Qualifications for a nuclear pharmacist are
as follows:

13.6.2.1  A pharmacist shall:
13.6.2.1.1  be a pharmacist licensed by the

Board to practice pharmacy in Delaware.
13.6.2.1.2  submit to the Board either:

13.6.2.1.2.1  Certification that he or
she has successfully completed a minimum of four months
on the job training providing radioactive drug services under
the supervision of a nuclear pharmacist;

13.6.2.1.2.2  certification that he or
she has successfully completed a nuclear pharmacy training
program in an accredited college; or

13.6.2.1.2.3  an application, in
affidavit form, along with such other information the Board
may require, requesting partial or equivalent credit for
education and experience gained in programs not sponsored
by an accredited college of pharmacy.

13.6.2.2  A qualified pharmacist seeking
licensure as a nuclear pharmacist in the state shall submit to
the Board of Pharmacy a course outline from an accredited
college of pharmacy or other program recognized by the
Delaware Board of Pharmacy (a program comparable to
those offered by accredited colleges of pharmacy for the
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training of nuclear pharmacists), and a certificate of training
which provides a minimum of 200 clock hours of formal
didactic training, which includes:

13.6.2.2.1  Radiation protection (45
hours);

13.6.2.2.2  Radiation physics and
instrumentation (85 hours);

13.6.2.2.3  Mathematics of radioactivity
(20 hours);

13.6.2.2.4  Radiation biology (20 hours);
and

13.6.2.2.5  Radiopharmaceutical
chemistry (30 hours).

13.6.2.3  Proof of attaining a minimum of 500
hours of clinical nuclear pharmacy training under the
supervision of a qualified nuclear pharmacist.  The training
and experience shall include, but shall not be limited to the
following:

13.6.2.3.1  Procurement
13.6.2.3.2  Compounding
13.6.2.3.3  Quality Assurance
13.6.2.3.4  Dispensing
13.6.2.3.5  Distribution
13.6.2.3.6  Health and Safety
13.6.2.3.7  Provisions of Information and

Consultation
13.6.2.3.8  Monitoring patient outcome
13.6.2.3.9  Research and Development

13.7  Nuclear Pharmacist Continuing Education
13.7.1  Proof satisfactory that a nuclear pharmacist

licensed pursuant to this section, has met the requirements
necessary for biennial renewal of this license shall be constituted by
the following:

13.7.1.1  The licensee has completed no less than ten
(10) out of the total requirements of 30 hours of coursework each
two-year period by or through a committee-approved provider (e.g
ACPE), instructionally designed to provide in-depth treatment of
nuclear pharmacy practice.

13.7.1.2  Content of nuclear pharmacist
continuing education program can include, but not be limited
to the following:

13.7.1.2.1  Formulation and quality
control issues in nuclear pharmacy

13.7.1.2.2  Radionuclide therapy in
nuclear pharmacy

13.7.1.2.3  Radiopharmaceutical updates
for target organs

13.7.1.2.4  Current concepts in radiation
physics, radiation biology and exposure.

13.7.1.2.5  Current principles of radiation
safety

13.7.1.2.6  Current principles of nuclear
pharmacy management

13.7.1.2.7  Advances in drug,
radiopharmacuetical, or related technology (including but
not limited to monoclonal antibodies, peptides, magnetic
resonance imaging, positron emission tomography, novel
radionuclide therapy and other applicable issues.

Effective 09/23/95
13.1 Purpose and Scope.

The Practice of Nuclear/Radiological
Pharmacy is hereby recognized as a specialty of Pharmacy
practice, regulated by the Delaware Board of Pharmacy.  As
such, the following rules are included to address those areas
specific or unique to this specialty practice. Nuclear/
Radiological Pharmacy Practice refers to patient-oriented
and institutional services that embody the scientific
knowledge and professional judgment required to improve
and promote health through the assurance of the safe and
efficacious use of radiopharmaceuticals and other drugs.

13.2 Definitions
“Authentication of Product History” means, but

is not limited to, identifying the purchase sources, and any
handling of any Component of a radiopharmaceutical.

“Internal Test Assessment” means, but is not
limited to, conducting those tests of quality assurance
necessary to ensure the integrity of the product.

“Nuclear Pharmacy” means a Pharmacy
providing radiopharmaceutical services or, as provided in
Section 3 of these rules, an appropriate area of any
Institutional Facility.

“Qualified Nuclear Pharmacist” means a
currently licensed Pharmacist in the State of Delaware, who
is certified as a Nuclear Pharmacist by a certification Board
recognized by the Delaware Board of Pharmacy, or who
meets the following standards set by the Delaware Board of
Pharmacy:

Satisfied the minimum standards of training for
“authorized user status” of   radioactive material as included
in the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) licensure
guide.

Completed a minimum of 200 contact hours of
instruction in nuclear Pharmacy and the safe handling and
the use of radioactive materials from a program approved by
the NRC or the Office of Radiation Control (ORC), with
emphasis in the following areas:  radiation physics and
instrumentation; radiation protection; mathematics of
radioactivity; radiation biology; and radiopharmaceutical
chemistry.

Attained a minimum of 500 hours of clinical
nuclear Pharmacy training under the supervision of a
qualified nuclear Pharmacist.
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“Radiopharmaceutical Quality Assurance”
means, but is not limited to, the performance of appropriate
chemical, biological, and physical tests on potential
radiopharmaceuticals and the interpretation of the resulting
data to determine their suitability for use in humans and
animals, including internal test assessment, authentication of
product history, and the keeping of proper records.

“Radiopharmaceutical Service” means, but is not
limited to, the procurement, storage, handling preparation,
labeling, quality assurance testing, dispensing, delivery,
recordkeeping, and disposal of radiopharmaceuticals and
other drugs.

“Radiopharmaceuticals” are radioactive drugs as
defined by the FDA.

13.3 General Requirements for Pharmacies
Providing Radiopharmaceutical Services.

13.3.1 Nuclear Pharmacy License.  A License to
operate a Pharmacy providing radiopharmaceutical services
shall only be issued to a Qualified Nuclear Pharmacist.  All
personnel performing tasks in the preparation and
distribution of radioactive drugs shall be under the direct
supervision of a Qualified Nuclear Pharmacist.  A Qualified
Nuclear Pharmacist shall be responsible for all operations of
the Pharmacy and shall be in personal attendance at all times
that the Pharmacy is open for business.

13.3.2 Nuclear Pharmacies shall have adequate
space and equipment,     commensurate with the scope of
services required and provided, meeting minimal space
requirements established for all pharmacies in the State or as
otherwise defined by the Delaware State Board of Pharmacy.

13.3.3 The Nuclear Pharmacy area shall be
secured from unauthorized  personnel.

13.3.4 Nuclear Pharmacies shall maintain records
of acquisition, inventory, and disposition of all radioactive
drugs and other radioactive materials in accordance with
NRC statute(s) and regulation(s).

13.3.5 All pharmacies handling
radiopharmaceuticals shall provide a radioactive storage and
product decay area.  Detailed floor plans shall be submitted
to the State Board of Pharmacy and the State Office of
Radiation Control and NRC before approval of the license.

13.3.6 Radiopharmaceuticals are to be dispensed
only upon a Prescription Drug Order from a Practitioner
authorized to possess, use, and administer
radiopharmaceuticals.

13.3.7 The permit to operate a Nuclear Pharmacy
is conditioned upon an approved State Office of Radiation
Control or NRC license. Copies of the Radiation Control
Agency, ORC and NRC inspection reports shall be made
available upon request for Board inspection.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Pharmacy is
available at:
http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/pharmacy/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3700 Board of Examiners of Speech/Language 

Pathologists, Audiologists & Hearing Aid 
Dispensers

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3706(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §3706(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 3700

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Speech/Language Pathologists,
Audiologists, and Hearing Aid Dispensers, in accordance
with 24 Del.C. §3706(a)(1) has proposed changes to  its
rules and regulations.  Rule 9.3.1.8 is modified to require
disclaimers or limitations in advertising to be clear and
conspicuous and at least one half the type size used in the
offer.

A public hearing will be held at 2:00 p.m. on January
11, 2006 in the second floor conference room B of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware  Board of
Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists, and Hearing
Aid Dispensers, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building,
Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit
written comments may forward these to the Board at the
above address.  The final date to receive written comments
will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

9.0 Code of Ethics for Speech-Language Pathologists,
Audiologists, and Hearing Aid Dispensers

9.1 PREAMBLE. The preservation of the highest
standards of conduct and integrity is vital to achieving the
statutory declaration of objectives in 24 Del.C. §3701.
Adopting a code of ethics by regulation puts licensees on
notice of the kinds of activity that violate the level of care
and protection to which the clients are entitled. The
provisions are not intended to be all-inclusive but rather they
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should serve as examples of obligations that must be
satisfied to maintain minimum standards.

9.2 Standards of Professional Conduct
9.2.1 A licensee who violates the following

Standards of Professional Conduct may be guilty of illegal,
negligent, or incompetent practice and disciplined pursuant
to 24 Del.C. §3715(a)(2).

9.2.1.1 Licensees shall provide all services
competently. Competent service refers to the use of
reasonable care and diligence ordinarily employed by
similarly licensed individuals. 

9.2.1.2 Licensees shall use every resource,
including referral, to provide quality service.

9.2.1.3 Licensees shall maintain reasonable
documentation of professional services rendered.

9.2.1.4 Licensees shall not evaluate or treat a
client with speech, language, or hearing disorders solely by
correspondence. Correspondence includes
telecommunication.

9.2.1.5 Licensees shall delegate responsibility
only to qualified individuals as permitted by law with
appropriate supervision. 

9.2.1.6 Licensees who have evidence that a
practitioner has violated the Code of Ethics or other law or
regulation shall present that information by complaint to the
Division of Professional Regulation for investigation.

9.3 Standards of Professional Integrity.
9.3.1 A licensee who violates the following

Standards of Professional Integrity may be guilty of
consumer fraud, deception, restraint of competition, or price-
fixing and disciplined pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3715(a)(6). 

9.3.1.1 Licensees shall not charge for services
not rendered nor misrepresent the services or products
dispensed.

9.3.1.2 Licensees shall inform clients of the
nature and possible effects of services. Care must be taken to
speak to a client in lay terms that he or she can understand. 

9.3.1.3 Licensees may use clients in research
or as subjects of teaching demonstrations only with their
informed consent. An informed consent must be explained
and written in lay terms.

9.3.1.4 Licensees shall inform clients in any
matter where there is or may be a conflict of interest.
Conflicts of interest may be found when a client is steered to
a particular provider by one with an expectation of financial
gain (kickbacks) or a provider is involved in double dipping
by providing services in a private practice that he or she is
obligated to provide though public employment (double-
dipping).

9.3.1.5 Licensees shall make no guarantees of
the results of any product or procedure but may make a
reasonable statement of prognosis.

9.3.1.6 Licensees shall provide services or
dispense products only when benefits can reasonably be
expected.

9.3.1.7 Licensees shall not engage in
misrepresentation, dishonesty, fraud, or deceit.
Misrepresentation includes statements likely to mislead or an
omission of material information.

9.3.1.8 Licensees who advertise shall provide
information in a truthful manner that is direct and not likely
to mislead the public. Any written disclaimer or condition
that limits or modifies an offer of services or merchandise
must be provided in a clear and conspicuous manner in a
type size that is at least one-half the size of the type used in
making the offer of services or merchandise

9.3.2 A licensee who violates the following
Standards of Professional Integrity may be guilty of
misrepresentation, impersonation, or facilitating unlawful
practice and disciplined pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3715(a)(1).

9.3.2.1 Licensees shall accurately represent
any credentials, education, and experience to the public.

9.3.2.2 A licensee who has evidence that an
individual is practicing the profession without a license in
violation of 24 Del.C. §3707 has a duty to report that
information to the Division of Professional Regulation.

9.4 Miscellaneous Professional Standards
9.4.1 A licensee who violates the following

Professional Standards may be subject to disciplinary action
under 24 Del.C. §3715(a)(7)

9.4.1.1 Licensees shall respect the privacy of
clients and not reveal, written authorization, any professional
or personal information unless required by law.

9.4.1.2 Licensees shall not discriminate on
the basis of race, sex, age, religion, national origin, sexual
orientation, or disability.

9.4.1.3 Licensees shall offer services and
products on their merits and should refrain from making
disparaging comments about competing practitioners or their
services and products.

8 DE Reg. 1106 (2/1/05)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Speech/
Language Pathologists, Audiologists, and Hearing Aid
Dispensers is available at:
http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/speechaudio/index.shtml
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence
and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code,
Section 2221 (3 Del.C. §2221)

3 DE. Admin. Code 1201

ORDER

1201 Nutrient Management Certification Regulations

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10115, I hereby recommend
adoption of the modified nutrient management and request
that they be published as final regulations.

Synopsis: Certification by the Delaware Nutrient
Management Program, 2320 S. Dupont Hwy., Dover, DE
19901,  is required (3 Del.C. §2201 - 2290) for all who apply
fertilizer and/or animal manure greater than 10 acres or who
manage animals greater than 8,000 pounds of live animal
weight. As required by the regulations, certain continuing
education credits are needed in order to maintain
certification. The proposed changes reduce the required
credits in order to maintain consistency with recertification
requirements from regional programs.

The proposed regulation was posted in Volume 9, Issue
3, page 305, September 1, 2005.  The comment period was
from September 1, 2005 until October 11, 2005 and the
public hearing was conducted November 8, 2005. The

hearing was noticed according to 29 Del.C. §10115. No
comments were received.  This final order shall be effective
December 10, 2005.

7.0 Continuing Education
7.1 After a certificate is issued, the certificate holder

must take and successfully complete continuing education
courses approved by the Commission or Program
Administrator in accordance with the following:

7.1.1 Nutrient generator - 6 credits of continuing
education in each three-year period following the issuance of
the certification.

7.1.2 Private nutrient handlers - 6 credits of
continuing education in each three-year period following the
issuance of the certification.

7.1.3 Commercial nutrient handlers - 9 6 credits
of continuing education in each three-year period following
the issuance of the certification.

7.1.4 Nutrient consultants - 8 5 credits of
continuing education each year following the issuance of the
certification.

7.2 Failure to satisfy the continuing education
requirements may result in the revocation of a certificate or
non-renewal of the certificate.

7.3 Any dispute regarding continuing education credits
may be directed to the Commission which will determine
whether a hearing is necessary to resolve the dispute.
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*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended, they are not being published. The complete
regulation is available at:
 http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title3/1200/
1201%20Nutrient%20Management%20Certification%2
0Regulations.shtml#P2_24

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

14 DE Admin. Code 396

ORDER

396 Private Business and Trade Schools

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE
Admin. Code 396 Private Business and Trade Schools. The
amendments to add 3.6 and to change 7.1 are necessary in
order to change the renewal cycle for the certification of
approval for private business and trade schools by the
Department of Education. Instead of all renewals occurring
at the same time the renewals will be done on a quarterly
basis. These changes are needed because of the large
increase in the number of schools seeking renewal of their
approval at the same time. The number of the regulation has
also been changed from 396 to 282 placing the regulation in
the 200 section of the Administrative Code entitled
Administrations and Operations.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on September
21, 2005, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14
DE Admin. Code 396 in order to change the renewal cycle
for the certification of approval for private business and
trade schools due to large increase in the number of schools
seeking renewal of their approval at the same time.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 396.

Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch. 85, 14 DE Admin.
Code 396 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE
Admin. Code 396 hereby amended shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 396 amended hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 282 in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch. 85 on November 8,
2005. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 8th day of November 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

396 282 Private Business and Trade Schools

1.0 Definitions
For purposes of this regulation:
"Agent" has the same meaning as in 14 Del.C.

§8501(4).
"Agent Card" shall mean the pocket card provided for

in 14 Del.C. §8510.
“Department" means the Delaware Department of

Education.
"Private Business and Trade School" has the same

meaning as in 14 Del.C. §8501(1).

2.0 General Provisions
2.1 The distinguishing characteristic of a private

business or trade school shall be the potential for wage
earning by its graduates.

2.2 Private business and trade schools shall include:
2.2.1 Correspondence school courses offered as

post high school courses in trade or business subjects; and
2.2.2 Programs that may also be available as

high school introductory courses in trade or business
subjects, without regard for the age or the prior educational
attainment of the student.
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2.3 A private business and trade school which actively
seeks enrollees from the State of Delaware, or which sends
an agent or agents into the State of Delaware to solicit
enrollees, shall ensure that each of its agents maintains a
current agent permit issued by the Department.

2.4 The term agent shall include individuals who solicit
enrollees in Delaware even though the institution the agent
represents does not conduct classes within the State of
Delaware.

2.5 All advertising by a private business and trade
school shall be in accordance with the statutes, rules and
regulations for advertising administered and supervised by
the Department of Justice Consumer Protection Division.

2.6 [The Department's 14 DE Admin. Code 225,
prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, creed,
national origin, disability, age or gender in programs
receiving approval from the Department applies to
private business and trade schools and agents approved
by the Department. 14 DE Admin. Code 225 Prohibition
of Discrimination shall apply to all private business and
trade schools and agents approved by the Department.]

3.0 Certificates of Approval
3.1 Applications for an initial certificate of approval to

conduct a private business and trade school, and for annual
renewal of such certificates, shall be made on forms
approved by the Department and include such information
and fees as required by the Department.  Applications are not
considered complete until all required information and fees
are received by the Department.

3.2 A private business and trade school offering more
than one program of instruction must have each program
approved by the Department.

3.3 The Department may conduct an on-site evaluation
of any applicant for a certificate of approval or for renewal
of a certificate of approval. The Secretary of Education may
waive an on-site evaluation if the applicant is accredited by a
regional or national accrediting association recognized by
the Department, or is certified to conduct a similar program
or school by the state education agency of another state with
comparable standards for such schools.

3.4 If a private business and trade school makes any
material change in its operation, such as, but not limited to,
corporate structure or financial structure, the school shall
notify the Department of the change within thirty days.  The
school shall also identify the change in its next renewal
application.

3.5 The fees charged as filing and renewal fees are not
refundable.

3.6 For purposes for this section, the following
definitions shall apply: first calendar quarter – January 1st

through March 31st; second calendar quarter – April 1st
through June 30; third calendar quarter – July 1st through
September 30th; and fourth calendar quarter- October 1st
through December 31st.

3.6.1 Any current and valid Certificate of
Approval with an expiration date of December 31, 2005,
shall automatically be extended to the end of the calendar
quarter in which the private business and trade school was
originally granted its Certificate of Approval, conditioned on
the school providing the Department with evidence of
continuation of surety bond at least through the extension
period.

3.6.2 Beginning with the fourth quarter of 2005,
a private business and trade school will be required to renew
its certification by the end of the calendar quarter in which
the Department originally granted its Certificate of
Approval.

3.6.3 Private business and trade schools with
multiple campuses may request the Department to renew all
campuses on a single renewal date based on initial approval
of any one of the campuses.

4.0 Agent Permits
4.1 Applications for an initial agent permit, and for

renewal of such permits, shall be made on forms approved
by the Department and include such information and fees as
required by the Department.  Applications are not considered
complete until all required information and fees are received
by the Department.

4.2 An agent representing more than one private
business and trade school must apply for separate permits for
each such school.

4.3 Agents shall apply to renew their permit(s) each
year at the same time that the school or schools the agent
represents make application to renew their respective
certificates of approval. In the case of a school not
conducting classes in Delaware, but sending agents into
Delaware, the application for an agent permit must be
accompanied by a notarized verification of employment
from the school represented and must be received by the
Department on or before the expiration of the current permit.
No permit shall be issued for a period of more than twelve
calendar months.

4.4 No agent shall solicit Delaware enrollees on behalf
of the private business and trade school represented until the
Department issues the appropriate agent card.

4.5 The lapse, suspension, revocation, or non-renewal
of a private business and trade school certificate of approval
for any cause shall terminate all agent permits for that
institution.
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4.6 A school shall report the discharge or resignation of

any agent to the Department within thirty days.
4.7 The fee for the agent permit will be waived for the

owner or chief executive officer of a private business and
trade school who also serves as its agent. Each such
individual must still apply for and obtain the agent permit.
Any additional agents must obtain permits as otherwise
described.

4.8 The fees charged as filing and renewal fees are not
refundable.

5.0 Complaints
5.1 Each private business and trade school shall adopt a

policy and procedures to address complaints by its students.
The school catalogue shall contain its complaint policy and
procedures or a reference to where the policy and procedures
can be obtained.

5.2 In addition to the complaint procedures adopted by
a private business and trade school for its students, the
Department will investigate complaints by any person
alleging facts that, if true, would constitute grounds for
refusing or revoking a certificate of approval or an agent
permit. In either event, the Department will notify the
complainant of its conclusions and provide the complainant
with a copy of the school or agent's initial response, if any.

5.2.1 Such complaints must be in writing and
verified by the signature of the person making the complaint.
Oral, anonymous or unsigned complaints will not be
investigated.

5.2.2 A copy of the written complaint will be
provided to the affected private business and trade school or
agent for their written response. The Department may
require that the complainant provide written permission for
the Department to forward the complaint to the school or
agent.

5.2.2.1 If, after reviewing the school or
agent's response, the Department concludes that there is
insufficient evidence to believe that the school or agent has
violated applicable law or a standard, rule or regulation of
the Department, the Department may close the complaint
without further investigation. In such case, the Department
will notify the complainant and the school or agent of this
conclusion and provide the complainant with a copy of the
school or agent's response.

5.2.2.2 If, after reviewing the school or agent
response, the Department concludes that there is sufficient
evidence to believe that the school or agent has violated
applicable law or a standard, rule or regulation of the
Department, the Department may continue its investigation
or begin revocation or other action against the school or
agent as the Department determines appropriate. The

Department may also continue its investigation or begin
revocation or other action if the school or agent fails to
respond to a complaint within the time established by the
Department.

5.3 The Department may also investigate
circumstances that would constitute grounds for refusing or
revoking a certificate of approval or an agent permit on its
own initiative.

6.0 Denials and Revocations of Certificates and Permits
6.1 In view of an apparent conflict between the

statutory statement in 14 Del.C. §8516 (for any combination
of the following) and 14 Del.C. §8517 (for any cause
enumerated in §8516), the Department interprets and shall
administer §8516 to mean that a certificate of approval or an
agent permit may be denied or revoked for any one or
combination of the causes identified in that Section.

7.0 Bonds
7.1 Applications for an initial certificate of approval or

for renewal of certificates shall include evidence that the
required surety bond is valid from the date of the complete
application through the new certificate of approval
expiration date.

7.2 The amount of the surety bond required of a school
shall be determined as provided in 14 Del.C. §8505(b). In no
event shall a bond be for less than $5,000 per calendar year.

7.3 The Department interprets and shall administer the
phrase fail to provide the services called for in a contract or
agreement with a student, as used in 14 Del.C., §8523 to
mean failure to substantially provide the essential services."

7.4 Forfeiture
7.4.1 In the event a surety bond is forfeited, the

Department shall notify the students identified on the last
available school roster of their right to submit a claim for
reimbursement. Such students shall have thirty days from the
date they are notified by the Department to submit a claim
for reimbursement. Claims received more than thirty days
after the Departments notification shall not be considered.

7.4.2 Other students wishing to submit a claim
for reimbursement must contact the Department within thirty
days of the schools closing to submit their claim for
reimbursement. Claims received more than thirty days after
the schools closing shall not be considered.

7.4.3 Claims for reimbursement shall be
submitted and documented as directed by the Department.
The Department shall consider only appropriately
documented claims in distributing the proceeds of any surety
bond.

4 DE Reg. 986 (12/1/00)
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 405

ORDER

405 Minor Capitol Improvement Program

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE
Admin. Code 405 Minor Capitol Improvement Program in
order to remove the reference in 1.2 and 1.5 to sending
copies of purchase orders and invoices to the Department of
Education. This practice in not needed and is inconsistent
with current practice.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on September
21, 2005, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No
Comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14
DE Admin. Code in order to remove the reference in 1.2
and 1.5 to sending copies of purchase orders and invoices to
the Department of Education.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 405.
Therefore, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 75, 14 DE Admin.
Code 405 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE
Admin. Code 405 hereby amended shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 405 amended hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 405 in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 75 on November 8,
2005. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 8th day of November 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

405 Minor Capital Improvement Programs

1.0 The Minor Capital Improvement Program
The Minor Capital Improvement Program is a program

to provide for the planned and programmed maintenance and
repair of the school plant. The program's primary purpose is
to keep real property assets in their original condition of
completeness and efficiency on a scheduled basis. It is not
for increasing the plant inventory or changing its
composition. Minor Capitol Improvement Projects are
projects that cost less than $500,000 unless the project is for
roof repair. The program is reviewed annually and should be
comprised of work necessary for good maintenance practice.

1.1 Minor Capitol Improvement Project purchase
orders shall be submitted to the State Division of Accounting
prior to any work being done. A separate purchase order
must be submitted for each project. (One copy of the
approved purchase order will be returned to the district for
their information and record.)

1.2 The local school district shall send a copy of the
purchase order to the Department of Education.

1.3 1.2 Use of Funds: The following areas are
authorized for Minor Capital Improvement Program funds:
roofs, heating systems, ventilation and air conditioning
systems, plumbing & water systems, electrical systems,
windows, doors, floors, ceilings, masonry, structural built-in
equipment, painting, fire suppression systems, life safety
systems, maintenance of site, office equipment used for
instructional purposes only and renovations/alterations/
modernizations that do not require major structural changes.

1.4 1.3 Exclusions: Funds allocated for a specific
project shall be used only for that project. Program funds
may not be used for the following: movable equipment other
than office equipment used for instructional purposes that is
transported from one location to another, routine janitorial
supplies, new construction that increases the area of a
building or extends any of its component systems, site
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improvements that add to or extend the existing roadways or
side walks, surfacing a non-surfaced area for parking,
completing major construction projects or specific items
omitted/deleted from major construction projects or floor
space allocated according to formula and used otherwise.

1.5 1.4 Invoices: Invoices may be sent directly to the
Division of Accounting for processing after work has been
completed and accepted. except for invoices with an
adjustment which must be approved by the Department of
Education before transmittal to the Division of Accounting.

2.0 Career-Technical Program Equipment Replacement 
Requests

2.1 Requests for the replacement of Career-Technical
Program equipment may be made under the Minor Capital
Improvement Program. Requests shall be made when the
equipment is within three years of its estimated life so
districts can accumulate the necessary dollars to purchase the
item. Districts desiring to participate in the Career Technical
Program equipment replacement program shall submit a
request in writing to the Office of School Plant Planning at
the time of the Minor Capital Improvement Program
submission. Districts should not include Career-Vocational
Program replacements with regular Major Capitol
Improvement Projects.

2.2 Career-Vocational Program Equipment is defined as
either a movable or fixed unit but not a built-in unit. In
addition, the equipment shall retain its original shape and
appearance with use, be non-expendable, represent an
investment which makes it feasible and advisable to
capitalize and not lose its identity through incorporation into
a different or more complex unit.

2.2.1 In order to replace Career-Vocational
Program equipment, the equipment must have a minimum
10 year life expectancy, have a unit cost of $500 or more, be
obsolete or more then five (5) years old, and be purchased
with state, state and local or local funds.

2.3 Funds: Funds shall be allocated based on the
percentage of a district's Vocational Division II Units to the
total of such units of all participating districts. This
percentage is applied to the total funds available in a given
year for capital equipment. Vocational Career-Technical
Schools are 100% State funded.

3.0 Purchase Orders.
Funds may be expended anytime during the life of the

Act which appropriated the funds, usually, a three-year
period. Appropriations may be accumulated over those three
years and expended for a major replacement when a
sufficient balance is attained. However, should funds prove
insufficient after three years of appropriations, the district

must supplement the program from their own or other
resources. Funds unexpended when the appropriating Act
expires shall revert to the State. Purchase orders shall include
the reference ID system, sub system, component and
deficiency code from the correction on the facility
assessment website database.

4.0 Cost Limitations.
The maximum cost of a Minor Capital Improvement

Project is $500,000 except roof repairs/replacements which
are not cost limited. Non-roof projects exceeding the ceiling
shall be requested in the Major Capital Improvement
Program.

5.0 Temporary Employees.
Workers may be hired under the Minor Capital

Improvement Program provided they are temporary hires
and directly involved in the planning, constructing, or record
maintenance of the construction project.

6.0 Reporting.
At the end of each fiscal year, school districts shall

submit a list of completed projects accomplished under the
Minor Capital Improvement Program.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Sections 1260-1264 (14 Del.C. §§1260-1264)
14 DE Admin. Code 1519

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1519 Alternative Routes to Teacher Licensure and 
Certification

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE
Admin. Code 1519 Alternative Routes to Teacher Licensure
and Certification. It is necessary to revise this regulation to
align it with changes in statute and to correct some
discrepancies in the existing regulation. This regulation
concerns the organization and operation of the alternative
routes for teacher licensure and certification program, which
provides a vehicle for individuals who hold a bachelor’s
degree in a content area appropriate to secondary education
to participate in course work and other experiences
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necessary to be eligible for teacher licensure and
certification in critical needs areas while serving as a teacher
in a Delaware school district. The word ‘to” in the title and
elsewhere in the regulation was changed to “for”.  In Section
2.0, the definition of “educator” was changed, and
definitions for “examination of content knowledge” and
“major or its equivalent” were added. Clarification of the
issuance of an Initial License and Emergency Certificate
conditioned on continued enrollment in the program was
inserted in Section 3.0. Time requirements for the passage of
PRAXIS™ I and II were adjusted to comply with changes in
statute.  Section 6.0 dealing with evaluation and supervision
was revised.  New sections 7.0, 8.0, 9.0, and 10.0 were added
to address licensure and certification recommendations and
the candidates’ right to a hearing.  Sections 7.0 and 8.0 were
renumbered 11.0 and 12.0. The title has been changed to
Alternative Routes for Teacher Licensure and Certification
to align it with changes is statute Comments received from
the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Children
suggested a statement clarifying that mentors were in no way
involved in decisions having a bearing on licensure,
certification or employment of teachers in the Alternative
Routes program.  A statement to that effect has been added. 

II.  Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board
of Education find that it is appropriate to adopt this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III.  Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is
appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to
14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit
“B” is hereby adopted. Pursuant to the provision of 14
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1519 of the Administrative
Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days

from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

Approved by the Professional Standards Board the 3rd 
day of November, 2005

Harold Roberts, Chair Sharon Brittingham
Norman Brown Heath Chasanov
Edward Czerwinski Angela Dunmore
Karen Gordon Barbara Grogg
Bruce Harter Leslie Holden
Carla Lawson Mary Mirabeau
Gretchen Pikus Karen Schilling Ross
Carol Vukelich

For Implementation by the Department of Education:
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED this 17th day of November,
2005

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Jean W. Allen, President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr., Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Barbara Rutt
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1519 Alternative Routes [to for] Teacher Licensure and 
Certification

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the Alternative Routes to

for Teacher Licensure and Certification Program, pursuant to
14 Del.C. §1260 through 1264.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Coherent Major” means a major in an area
appropriate to the instructional field.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del.C. Chapter
12, and includes teachers and administrators, and as
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otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203, but does not include
substitute teachers. person licensed and certified by the State
under Chapter 12 of 14 Del.C. to engage in the practice of
instruction, administration or other related professional
support services in Delaware public schools, including
charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations
promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board, but does not include substitute teachers.

“Emergency Certificate” means a certificate issued to
an educator who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing,
or Advanced License, but lacks necessary skills and
knowledge to meet certification requirements in a specific
content area.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a
standardized State test of subject matter knowledge which
measures knowledge in a specific content area, such as
PRAXIS™ II.

“Examination of General Knowledge” means a
standardized test which measures general knowledge and
essential skills in mathematics or quantitative and verbal
skills, including reading and writing, such as PRAXIS™ I,
which for the purposes of this regulation, means the State
Basic Skills Test.

“Initial License” means the first license issued to an
educator that allows an educator to work in a position
requiring a license in a Delaware public school.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means no fewer than thirty
(30) credit hours in a content area.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware
Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.  §1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of
the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)

3.0 Alternative Routes for Teacher Licensure and
Certification Program Candidates

Candidates seeking participation in the Alternative
Routes for Teacher Licensure and Certification Program
shall be issued an Initial License of no more than three (3)
years duration conditioned on continued enrollment in the
Alternative Routes for Teacher Licensure and Certification
Program and a Standard or an Emergency Certificate or
Certificates of no more than three years duration.
Candidates must:

3.1 Hold a bachelor’s degree from a regionally
accredited college or university in a coherent major, or its
equivalent, appropriate to the instructional field they desire
to teach;

3.2 Pass an examination of general knowledge, such as
PRAXIS™ I, or provide an acceptable alternative to the
PRAXIS™ I test scores, as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code
1510, within the period of time from the date of hire to the
end of the next consecutive fiscal year;

3.3 Pass an examination of content knowledge, such as
PRAXIS™ II, in the instructional field they desire to teach,
if applicable and available, within the period of time from
the date of hire to the end of the next fiscal year;

3.34 Obtain an acceptable health clearance and an
acceptable criminal background check clearance; and

3.45 Obtain and accept an offer of employment in a
position that requires licensure and certification.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)

4.0 Content of the Alternative Routes for Teacher
Licensure and Certification Program

The Alternative Routes to for Teacher Licensure and
Certification Program shall consist of: three interrelated but
distinct components:  a summer institute of intensive study, a
practicum experience the first year of teaching, and seminars
in teaching during, and, immediately following, the first year
of teaching.

4.1 A summer institute of approximately 120
instructional (clock) hours completed by the candidate prior
to the beginning of his/her teaching assignment. This
includes an orientation to the policies, organization and
curriculum of the employing school district or charter
school, instructional strategies and classroom management
and child or adolescent development.

4.1.1 Candidates employed too late to
participate in the summer institute will complete the
practicum experience and seminars on teaching during the
first school year and will participate in the summer institute
following their first year of teaching.

4.2 A one-year, full-time practicum experience which
includes a period of intensive on-the-job mentoring and
supervision beginning the first day in which the candidate
assumes full responsibility for a classroom and continuing
for a period of thirty (30) weeks. 

4.3 Seminars on teaching that provide alternative routes
to licensure and certification teachers with approximately
120 200 instructional (clock) hours or equivalent
professional development during the first year of their
teaching assignment and during a one week an intensive
seminar the following summer. Content shall include
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curriculum, student development and learning, and the
classroom and the school.

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)

5.0 Mentoring Support
Mentoring support shall be carried out in accordance

with Section 1261 (b) (2) and (3) of 14 Del.C. 14 DE
Admin. Code 1502. [No mentor shall participate in any
way in decisions which might have a bearing on the
licensure, certification or employment of teachers
participating in the Alternative Routes for Teacher
Licensure and Certification Program.]

7 DE Reg. 161 (8/1/03)

6.0 Evaluation/Supervision Supervision and Evaluation 
Evaluation/supervision shall be conducted as per

Section 1261 (b) (2) (3) of 14 Del.C. Teachers enrolled in the
Alternative Routes for Teacher Licensure and Certification
Program shall be observed and formally evaluated by a
certified evaluator using the state approved evaluation
system at least once during the first ten (10) weeks in the
classroom, and a minimum of two (2) additional times
within the next twenty (20) weeks. Evaluations shall be no
more than two (2) months apart.

7.0 Recommendation for Licensure and Certification
Upon completion of the Alternative Routes for Teacher

Licensure and Certification Program, the certified evaluator
shall prepare a summative evaluation report for the teacher
participating in the Program. The evaluation report shall
include a recommendation as to whether or not a license
shall be issued. The evaluation report and license
recommendation shall be submitted to the Department. A
copy of the evaluation report and license recommendation
should be issued to the candidate twenty (20) days before
submission to the Department.

8.0 Issuance of License
If the evaluation report recommends approval of the

candidate for licensure, the Department shall issue an Initial
License valid for the balance of the three (3) year term, if the
participant has completed the Program in less than three (3)
years, or a Continuing License, if the three (3) year term of
the Initial License has expired, and shall issue the
appropriate Standard Certificate or Certificates.

Candidates who receive a recommendation of
‘disapproved’ shall not be issued an Initial 

License and Standard Certificate by the Department,
and may not continue in the Alternative Routes for Licensure
and Certification Program.

9.0 Recommendation of “Disapproved”
Candidates who receive a recommendation of

“disapproved” may petition the Department for approval of
additional opportunities to participate in the Alternative
Routes for Teacher Licensure and Certification Program.
Within fifteen (15) days of receipt of the evaluation report
and the certification recommendation, a candidate[s]
disagreeing with the recommendation may submit [the to]
the evaluator written materials documenting the reasons that
the candidate believes a license should be awarded. The
evaluator shall forward all documentation submitted by the
candidate, along with the evaluation report and
recommendation concerning licensure and certification [to
the Secretary of Education]. The Secretary or his or her
designee shall review the evaluation report, the licensure and
certification recommendation, and any documentation
supplied by the candidate and make a determination with
respect to licensure and certification.

10.0 Right to a Hearing
A teacher participating in the Alternative Routes for

Teacher Licensure and Certification Program who is denied
a license and certificate may appeal the decision, and is
entitled to a full and fair hearing before the Standards Board.
Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standard
Board’s Hearing Procedures and Rules.

7.0 11.0 Program Evaluation 
Those responsible for alternative routes to certification

Programs approved by the Standards Board and the State
Board shall develop a Program evaluation process. The
focus of the Program evaluation must be to demonstrate the
degree to which teachers who complete the Program are
effective in the classroom.

8.0 12.0 Additional Alternative Routes to Teacher
Licensure and Certification Programs
          The Secretary may implement other Alternative Routes
to Teacher Licensure and Certification Programs, provided
the Programs meet the minimum criteria set forth in this
regulation.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Pharmaceutical Services – Multi-State Pooling Rebate 
Program

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
initiated proceedings to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan to expand the recently approved preferred drug list by
participating in a Medicaid Multi-State Pooling Rebate
Program to reduce the cost of pharmaceuticals in a clinically
sound way. The Department’s proceedings to amend its
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the October 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by October 31, 2005 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary of Proposed Amendment

Statutory Authority

• 1927(a)(1) and 1927 (a)(4) of the Social Security
Act, Authorizes state to enter directly into
separate or supplemental rebate agreements with
manufacturers

• 1902(a)(19) of the Social Security Act, Care and
services under a Medicaid state plan be provided
in a manner consistent with simplicity of
administration and the best interests of
beneficiaries

• 42 CFR §440.120, Prescribed drugs et al
• 42 CFR §447.201, State plan requirements
• State Medicaid Director Letter, SMDL #04-006,

September 9, 2004, Guidelines for Multi-State
Pooling Agreements

Amending the Following State Plan Page
Attachment 3.1-A, Page 5 Addendum

Background
On September 9, 2004, CMS issued a State Medicaid

Director letter giving guidance to states on how to
implement multi-state pooling arrangements that achieve
cost savings and protect the interest of Medicaid
beneficiaries while promoting competition.

Summary of Proposed Changes
DMMA intends to submit an amendment to the Title

XIX Medicaid State Plan to the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) to participate in a multi-state pool
by submitting a SPA package that includes the following
elements:

1. Standard multi-state pooling language
incorporated into the supplemental rebate
agreement portion of the state plan.

2. A supplemental rebate agreement template.
3. A document referenced in the supplemental

rebate agreement template that indicates the
state’s participation in the purchasing pool.

Although, the state will pool its efforts in buying drugs,
DMMA will maintain its own Preferred Drug List (PDL) and
exercise clinical oversight of the list to assure adequate
access to needed prescribed drugs for its beneficiaries. This
approach builds on the Department’s efforts to curb program
costs while assuring access to prescribed drugs and quality
care.

DMMA is working with Provider Synergies, L.L.C.
TOP$(SM), a multi-state pharmaceutical purchasing pool
administered by Provider Synergies, L.L.C., has received
CMS approval. TOP$ (SM) stands for “The Optimal PDL
Solution”. 

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response 
The Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council

(DDDC) and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities
(SCPD) offered the following concerns summarized below.
DMMA has considered each comment and responds as
follows:

DDDC 
Delaware plans to join a multi-state pool administered

by a firm (Provider Synergies) already approved by CMS in
this context. DMMA provides assurances that participation
in the purchasing pool will not affect its individual PDL. In
other words, DMMA does not intend to define its PDL based
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on a multi-state list. And, yet we understand that Provider
Synergies currently is a consultant for EDS, the agency that
DMMA contracts with to manage the system and make
recommendations for our PDL. We are concerned as citizens
and taxpayers that a potential conflict of interest may be
present in this relationship.

We strongly encourage the DMMA to keep a close eye
on this process and the development of the PDL for
Delaware so that we do not end up with a PDL that is
comprised of only generic medications for Medicaid
recipients. We also strongly encourage that Provider
Synergies, EDS, and the members of the PDL review
committee adhere to a strict disclosure of conflict of interest
while doing business in Delaware.

SCPD
While the SCPD is generally supportive of securing

drugs at competitive prices, this proposal gives us reason for
pause. The regulations ostensibly provide assurances that the
selection of drugs on the PDL will be based on clinical
factors without influence from the existence or lack of
existence of a rebate. The Council has been advised that
inclusion of drugs in PDLs in other states has been
materially influenced by the availability of multi-state drug
pool rebates. As a result, some clinically effective
medications have been excluded from PDLS in other states.

Since Provider Synergies may be involved in both
development of the PDL and the rebate program, it is
imperative that a “firewall” be established to prevent the
rebate program from affecting selection of drugs on the PDL
in any way. Council recommends that further assurances in
this context be provided.

Agency Response: The Secretary has formed a
committee of fifteen (15) members that includes Doctors,
Pharmacist, Nurses, Medical Practitioners, and Consumers
that review and make decisions on what drugs will be put on
the PDL. The members act independently and, based on
sound medical evidence, determine which drugs should be
placed on the PDL. All members of the committee are aware
of their responsibilities concerning conflict of interests and
the need for them to declare any potential conflict of interest.
DMMA appreciates your comments and will closely monitor
the process.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the October 2005 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan
regarding Pharmaceutical Services – Multi-State Pooling
Drug Rebate Program is adopted and shall be final effective
December 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, November 17, 2005

Pharmaceutical Services – Multi-State Pooling Rebate 
Program

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-74
REVISIONS:       ATTACHMENT 3.1-A

Page 5 Addendum

LIMITATIONS

12.a.  Prescribed Drugs:
Drug Coverage
1. Drug products are covered when prescribed or

ordered by a physician, or other licensed practitioner within
the scope of their practice and when obtained from a licensed
pharmacy. Covered drugs, as defined in Section 1927(k)(2)
of the Act, are those which are prescribed for a medically
accepted indication, medically necessary, and produced by
any pharmaceutical manufacturer, which has entered into
and complies with a drug rebate agreement under Section
1927(a) of the Act.

2. Drugs excluded from coverage as provided by
Section 1927(d)(2) of the Act, include: 

a. Drugs designated less than effective by the
FDA (DESI drugs) or which are identical, similar, or related
to such drugs;

b. Drugs when used for cosmetic purposes or hair
growth (products, such as Minoxidil Lotion and Retin A are
not covered for adults, except for certain medical
conditions);

c. Drugs when used to promote fertility;
d. Drugs that have an investigational or

experimental or unproven efficacy or safety status;
e. Drugs when used for anorexia, weight loss, or

weight gain. Drugs for the purpose of weight control may be
reimbursed when prior authorized following established
criteria as reviewed and approved by the DUR Board and
deemed medically necessary.

3. Non-covered services also include: drugs used to
correct sexual dysfunction and compound drugs (compound
prescriptions must include at least one medication that on its
own would be a covered entity).

4. Participating manufacturers' new drugs are covered
(except excluded/restricted drugs specified in Section
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1927[d][1]-[2] of the Social Security Act) for six months
after FDA approval and upon notification by the
manufacturer of a new drug.

Quantity and Duration
1. Dosage limits: Medications are limited to a

maximum dose recommended by the FDA and appropriate
medical compendia described in section 1927(k) of the
Social Security Act, that indicate that doses that exceed FDA
guidelines are both safe and effective or doses that are
specified in regional or national guidelines published by
established expert groups such as the American Academy of
Pediatrics, or guidelines recommended by the Delaware
Medicaid Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board and
accepted by the DHSS Secretary.

2. Quantity limits are placed on therapeutic categories
that will allow for coordinated care and improve outcomes.
Limits exist for:

a. Sedative hypnotics-15 doses per 30 days
b. Triptans, acute treatment of migraines, 9 doses

per 45 days
c. Opioid analgesics-200 doses per 30 days
d. Skeletal muscle relaxants-120 tablets/capsules

per 30 days
e. Benzodiazepines-120 tablets per 30 days
f. Tramadol-240 tablets per 30 days
g. Narcotic cough medications-480ml per 30 days
h. Adjunctive anticonvulsants-240 tablets/

capsules per 30 days
i. Nebulizer solutions-3 acute exacerbations per

30 days
j. Clients utilizing greater than 15 unique

medications per 30 days
k. Medications that are dosed once a day are

limited to one dose per day unless that total dosage required
is within the limits stated above and require more than one
tablet/capsule to obtain the required therapeutic amount.

3. Duration of therapy
a. Nicotine cessation products are limited to the

duration that has been approved by the FDA.
b. Palivizumab-6 months during the high viral

period of the year.
4. Prescriptions are limited to a quantity not to exceed

the greater of 100 dosing units or a 34-day supply except for
drugs selected and received through mail order.

Prior Authorization
1. Prior authorization requirements may be

established for certain drug classes or particular drugs, or a
medically accepted indication for uses and doses.

2. The DUR Board determines which prescription
drugs may require prior authorization. The Board assesses
data on drug use in accordance with predetermined
standards.  The standards shall be:

a. monitoring for therapeutic appropriateness
b. over-utilization and underutilization
c. appropriate use of generic products
d. therapeutic duplication
e. drug-disease contraindications
f. drug-drug interactions
g. incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug

treatment
h. clinical efficacy
i. safety
j. medical necessity
k. potential for abuse, misuse and diversion
l. experimental use opportunity
m. cost effectiveness relative to similar therapies
The recommendations of the DUR Board constitute

interpretive guidelines to be used in determining whether to
grant or deny prior authorization of a prescription drug. The
make up and membership authority for the DUR Board
complies with 42 U.S.C. S1396r-8.

3. A request for prior authorization for covered
outpatient drugs is processed within 24 hours of receipt of a
completed prior authorization request from a prescribing
provider by telephone, mail or electronic communication. A
72-hour supply of medically necessary covered drugs is
provided in an emergency situation as mandated and
pursuant to 42 United States Code s1396r-8.

Preferred Drug Lists with Prior Authorization
A process is established which utilized a preferred drug

list (PDL) for selected therapeutic classes. Drugs in those
classes that are not included on the PDL shall require prior
authorization. A Pharmaceutical & Therapeutics (P&T)
Committee, comprised of pharmacists, physicians, and
community members, appointed by the Secretary, Delaware
Health and Social Services, selects drugs for the PDL.

Delaware will participate in a multi-state pooling
program that will negotiate supplemental rebates in addition
to the federal rebates provided for in Title XIX of the Social
Security Act.

Drug Rebate Agreements
CMS has authorized the state of Delaware to enter into

The State of Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services supplemental drug rebate agreement. This
supplemental drug rebate agreement was submitted to CMS
on April 7, 2005 and has been authorized by CMS.

• Pharmaceutical manufacturers are allowed to audit
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utilization rates;
• Compliance with the reporting requirements for

state utilization information and restrictions to
coverage;

• The unit rebate amount is confidential and cannot
be disclosed for purposes other than rebate
invoicing and verification; and,

• Rebate agreements between the state and a
pharmaceutical manufacturer that are separate from
the drug rebate agreements of Section 1927 are
approved by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services. The state reports rebates from
separate agreements to the Secretary of Health and
Human Services. The state will remit the federal
portion of any cash state supplemental rebates
collected.

Diagnostic Services
Medicaid will pay for the rental of an apnea monitor to

monitor the breathing of an infant for whom a diagnosis of
apneic episodes (near-miss Sudden Infant Death Syndrome)
has been made.

9 DE Reg. 420 (9/1/05)

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Long Term Care Nursing Facilities

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
initiated proceedings to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan regarding the reimbursement methodology for nursing
facilities. Additionally, the proposed rule is technical in
nature to change a reference from the HCFA (Health Care
Financing Administration) to the CMS (Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services). The Department’s
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant
to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section

10115 in the October 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by October 31, 2005 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary of Proposed Amendment

Title of Regulation
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates

– Prospective Reimbursement System for Long Term Care
Facilities

Statutory Authority
42 CFR Part 447, Subpart C – Payment for Inpatient

Hospital and Long-Term Care Facility Services

Amending the Following State Plan Pages
Attachment 4.19-D and Attachments

Summary of Proposed Changes

• Clarifies the calculation of primary patient care
reimbursement policy regarding the placement of
costs for administrative nurses on the cost report.

• Clarifies the policy regarding the calculation of
the rate for “Incentive add-ons”, such as the level
of care classifications of Rehabilitative,
Psychological/Social and Rehab/Psych
Preventive and Treatments.

• Changes the reimbursement rate year from
October 1 to January 1 for private facilities.

• Clarifies the policy regarding the calculation of
the base rate portion of the reimbursement rate.

• Clarifies the policy regarding the calculation of
the capital rate component of the base rate
portion of the reimbursement rate.

• Changes the source of the inflator applied to the
rate. The inflator source was the University of
Delaware. New source for the inflator will be a
recognized source based on an appropriate index
for the primary cost center and the cost centers
that make up the base rate.

• Changes the period for rebasing the rates.
Current policy indicates a rebase every three
years; new policy changes rebase cycle to every
fourth year.

• Changes the next rebase year. Currently, the
rebase year would have taken place for rates
effective October 1, 2006, new policy indicates
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the next rebase will take place for rates effective
January 1, 2008.

• Changes the federal agency reference from
HCFA to CMS.

• Clarifies that the reimbursement methodology for
super skilled prior to 4/1/93 and after is the same.

• Removes the estimate of the cost increases due to
OBRA ‘87.

• Removes the Nursing Facility Cost Report and
Instructions from the State Plan.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response 
and Explanation of Changes

The Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council
(DCCC); the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional
Citizens (GACEC); the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD); the Delaware Health Care Facilities
Association (DHCFA); the Long Term Care Corporation
(LTCC); and, the Delaware Healthcare Association (DHA)
offered the following observations and recommendations
summarized below. DMMA has considered each comment
and responds as follows:

SCPD, GACEC & DDDC
The Councils have the observations given that it lacks

specific background in nursing home finances and generally
recommends that the proposed changes not reduce overall
reimbursement rates for Medicaid beneficiaries seeking
long-term care residence.

Agency Response: The Division of Medicaid and
Medical Assistance (DMMA) does not anticipate a reduction
in the overall reimbursement rates for Medicaid beneficiaries
seeking long-term care residence. The expected savings are a
result of changing the rate year from October 1st to January
1st.

First, it appears that some changes may reduce
reimbursement to nursing homes. For example, “rebasing”
rates every 4 years instead of every 3 years and postponing
the “rebase” date from October 1, 2006 to January 1, 2008.
These changes delay a rate increase. However, DMMA plans
to apply an inflation factor annually. This will at least
partially offset the effect of delays in “rebasing” rates.

Agency Response: The language has been changed to
clarify that the rebasing takes place every fourth year, with
three years in between. This is not a change in the DMMA
policy, merely a clarification of existing policy.

Second, the formula for calculating enhanced
reimbursement based on patients receiving active

rehabilitation is changed from reimbursement “at the next
higher patient class” to “an additional 20% of the primary
care rate component”. Without specific knowledge of
nursing home finances, it is difficult to assess whether this
will generally result in more or less compensation.

Agency Response: This policy has been in place since
the implementation of the Patient Index Reimbursement
System (PIRS) reimbursement methodology in 1990. It does
not change the reimbursement methodology. 

Third, there is a favorable sentence added at page 513 to
authorize a payment enhancement for “disruptive” patients:
Patients exhibiting disruptive psychosocial behaviors on a
frequent basis as defined by the Department and are
receiving an active rehabilitation/preventive program as
defined and approved by the Department shall be reimbursed
an additional 10% of the rehabilitative/preventive primary
care rate component.
 Agency Response: This policy has been in place since
the implementation of the Patient Index Reimbursement
System (PIRS) reimbursement methodology in 1990. It does
not change the reimbursement methodology.  

Historically, some nursing homes have used civil
commitment process or other means to try to have
“disruptive” Medicaid patients removed from home. Once
the bed hold period lapses, the patient may lose his/her slot
and be unable to return.  This circumvents the Bill of Rights
Act protections against transfer. See Title 16 Del.C.
§1121(18). We endorse the 10% enhancement for
“disruptive” residents to deter facilities from seeking
discharge based on such behavior.

Agency Response:  The DMMA thanks the Councils for
their endorsement.

DHCFA (letter dated 10/14/05)

Section II, B – Primary Care Administrative Nurses
In the summary of proposed changes, this change is

described as a clarification of policy regarding the placement
of costs for administrative nurses on the cost report. What is
the effective date of when this policy was put into place by
the Division? Do the current payment ceilings used to limit
the costs for administrative nurses include administrative
nurse costs? Or was this change made after the last
“rebasing” of these ceilings? Does the State intending on
making any accommodations to ensure providers they will
be paid for these costs, which were incurred, provide
services in conformity with applicable State and Federal
laws, regulations and quality and safety standards?
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Agency Response: This is a clarification of policy
regarding the placement of administrative nursing costs. The
effective date of this policy was for the cost report period
ending June 30, 2004. The current payment ceilings used to
limit the costs for administrative nurses include the
administrative nurse costs up to the administrative cost
center cap. This change was made after the last “rebasing”.
The Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
has no plans to make any accommodation for changing the
administrative cost center cap.

Section II, D, 2 – Incentive Add-ons for Rehabilitative
Services

In the summary of proposed changes this change is
described as a clarification of policy regarding the incentive
add-ons for rehabilitative, psychological/social and rehab./
psych preventive and treatments. This particular paragraph
only refers to the rehabilitative services. What is the
effective date of when this policy was put into place by the
Division?

Agency Response:  This policy has been in place since
the implementation of the Patient Index Reimbursement
System (PIRS) reimbursement methodology in 1990. It does
not change the reimbursement methodology.

Section II, D, 4 – Reimbursement Rate Year Change
[Primary Care]

The State intends on changing the effective date on
which the Medicaid reimbursement rates are paid to
providers. These rates are annually updated to account for
information reported on both the annual wage surveys
[typically performed in June] and the fiscal year ending June
30th cost reports of the previous reimbursement year. The
reported costs are then inflated to account for the time
variance between when the costs are incurred and when the
rates are set. The appropriate inflation methodology would
apply an inflation rate for the number of months from the
midpoint of the cost reporting year to the midpoint of the rate
setting year. Since facilities will still be reporting on a June
30th year-end and the rate year is now based on a calendar
year the inflation period would go from January 1 of the cost
reporting year to July 1 of the rate setting year - an 18 month
period.

It is our understanding that the State has already
received the inflation factors that would have been used to
inflate the costs had the rates been effective October 1 of this
current year. It is the DHCFA’s position that these inflation
factors need to be updated to account for the change in the
reimbursement year to January 1. In order for Delaware
Medicaid to use rates that are reasonable and adequate to

meet costs that must be incurred by providers to provide
services in conformity with applicable State and Federal
laws, regulations and quality and safety standards, these
inflation factors must account for this extension in time.

The association strongly opposes this change unless
assurances are made that the inflation factors will be
revised to account for date change.

Agency Response:  The DMMA thanks the Delaware
Health Care Facilities Association (DHCFA) for their
comments. Regarding DHCFA’s concern about the inflation
factor, DMMA intends to use the annual inflation factors as
supplied by the University of Delaware for the time period
January 1, 2006 through December 31, 2006. Annual
inflation factors to be applied in the future will cover
inflation from January 1st – December 31st. However, the
DMMA intends to explore alternative sources for the
inflation factor.The DMMA would welcome any suggestions
from the DHCFA regarding alternative sources. Once the
DMMA has made a determination regarding the source, it is
the DMMA’s intention to use that source indefinitely. If the
source is changed, the DMMA will notify the providers of
any change in the source.

Section II, D, 4 – Incentive Add-ons for Rehabilitative
and Rehab./Psych Services.

In the summary of proposed changes this change is
described as a clarification of policy regarding the incentive
add-ons for rehabilitative, psychological/social and rehab./
psych preventive and treatments. These two particular
paragraphs only refer to the rehabilitative and Rehab/Psych
services. What is the effective date of when this policy was
put into place by the Division?

Agency Response: This policy has been in place since
the implementation of the PIRS reimbursement methodology
in 1990.  It does not change the reimbursement methodology.
The PIRS reimbursement methodology was developed with
industry input.

Section II, E – Reimbursement Rate Year Change [Base
Rate] [Non-Primary]

The same comments that were made for Section II, D, 4
– Reimbursement Rate Year Change [Primary Care] apply to
this section as well.

The State intends on changing the effective date on
which the Medicaid reimbursement rates are paid to
providers. These rates are annually updated to account for
information reported on both the annual wage surveys
(typically performed in June) and the fiscal year ending June
30th cost reports of the previous reimbursement year. The
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reported costs are then inflated to account for the time
variance between when the costs are incurred and when the
rates are set. The appropriate inflation methodology would
apply an inflation rate for the number of months from the
midpoint of the cost reporting year to the midpoint of the rate
setting year. Since facilities will still be reporting on a June
30th year end and, the rate year is now based on a calendar
year, the inflation period would go from January 1 of the cost
reporting year to July 1 of the rate setting year – an 18 month
period.

It is our understanding that the State has already
received the inflation factors that would have been used to
inflate the costs had the rates been effective October 1 of this
current year. It is the DHCFA’s position that these inflation
factors need to be updated to account for the change in the
reimbursement year to January 1. In order for Delaware
Medicaid to use rates that are reasonable and adequate to
meet costs that must be incurred by providers to provide
services in conformity with applicable State and Federal
laws, regulations and quality and safety standards, these
inflation factors must account for this extension in time.

The association strongly opposes this change unless
assurances are made that the inflation factors will be
revised to account for date change.

Agency Response:  The DMMA thanks the DHCFA for
their comments.  Regarding DHCFA’s concern about the
inflation factor, DMMA intends to use the annual inflation
factors as supplied by the University of Delaware for the
time period January 1, 2006 through December 31, 2006.
Annual inflation factors to be applied in the future will cover
inflation from January 1st – December 31st. However, the
DMMA intends to explore alternative sources for the
inflation factor. The DMMA would welcome any
suggestions from DHCFA regarding alternative sources.
Once the DMMA has made a determination regarding the
source, it is the DMMA’s intention to use that source
indefinitely. If the source is changed, the DMMA will notify
the providers of any change in the source.

Section II, E – Occupancy Limitation for Base Rate
Calculations

In the summary of proposed changes, this change is
described as a clarification of policy regarding the
calculation of the base rate. In essence, what this change
does is put in to wording the Divisions policy regarding the
application of the occupancy limitation and how it applies to
capital costs. It is our memberships understanding that there
was no occupancy limitation applied to capital since these
costs already have a 95% stop/loss application and were not
subject to inflation, even though providers are required to

report costs that fluctuate with inflation, such as RE Taxes,
equipment rentals and property insurance. When did the
State implement this policy and what was the methodology
behind it? What was the date in which the Division made the
public aware of this policy change?

Additionally, we object to any cap being applied for
agency personnel, since nursing home operators have no
alternative but to use agency to meet staffing
requirements when there is a shortage. 

Agency Response: The 90% occupancy limitation has
been applied to the capital cost center since the creation of
the PIRS Reimbursement methodology, which was designed
with the assistance of the industry. The policy has not
changed and is only clarified with this new wording. The cap
that is applied to agency personnel was raised when Eagles
Law was implemented.  The DMMA does not have plans at
this time to change the 30% cap placed on the usage of
agency nursing. The DMMA is concerned with the
continuity of care, as well as the quality of care being given
to Delaware’s nursing home patients. We thank the Delaware
Health Care Facilities Association for their comment.

Section II, I, 3 – Source of the Inflation Factor Applied to
Rates

This section currently details exactly how and where the
Division will obtain its inflation factor that is to be applied to
the rates. The proposed change eliminates this completely
and replaces it with generalizations and ambiguity. By
removing any form of detail of exactly where these inflation
factors come from and how they are used, allows the State
unrestrained freedom to select whatever inflation index they
choose for any given year. To our membership’s knowledge,
there is no other State Plan filed with the Federal
Government that does not explicitly state the source and
means in which an inflation factor is applied.

Historically, the State has retained the University of
Delaware to calculate inflationary rates for a wide array of
matters, including the calculation of its Medicaid rates. By
changing this source for this one division’s purpose can and
will lead to inconsistencies in applications such as the State’s
budgets, forecasts and analytical review processes.

The association strongly opposes this change and feels
that any type of change made to this process must be laid
out in a precise and accurate manner in which all nursing
facilities providing services to the State’s Medicaid
patients can understand and substantiate. In its current
form, this change makes it impossible for anyone to know
what source of the inflation factor is and what it will be in
the future and is completely unacceptable.
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Agency Response:  The DMMA thanks the DHCFA for
their comments. Regarding DHCFA’s concern about the
inflation factor, DMMA intends to use the annual inflation
factors as supplied by the University of Delaware for the
time period January 1, 2006 through December 31, 2006.
Annual inflation factors to be applied in the future will cover
inflation from January 1st – December 31st. However, the
DMMA intends to explore alternative sources for the
inflation factor. The DMMA would welcome any
suggestions from DHCFA regarding alternative sources.
Once the DMMA has made a determination regarding the
source, it is the DMMA’s intention to use that source
indefinitely. If the source is changed, the DMMA will notify
the providers of any change in the source.

Section II, I, 3 – Rebasing Periods
In the summary of proposed changes, this change is

described as a change in policy regarding the period in which
cost reports will be rebased. Specifically, the summary
indicates the State’s old policy was to rebase every three
years and now will be every fourth year. Please clarify the
difference between these policies. Historically the State has
been rebasing every fourth year, not every three years. As
identified by the summary, if the State’s policy was to rebase
every three years, then the State is currently off on its
rebasing cycles. If this is the case, how does the State plan on
setting forth corrections to this oversight?

In order to avoid any future confusion, please identify
when the next two rebasing cycles will occur?  It is
already indicated in the proposed changes that the next
change will be January 1, 2008; does this mean the cycle
after this would be January 2012? 

Agency Response: This is a clarification of current
policy and does not result in a change. The State has been
rebasing every fourth year and intends to continue rebasing
every fourth year. The clarification is in the wording of the
State Plan. The next rebase will be for the rate year starting
January 1, 2008, then January 1, 2012. 

Section IV. Rate Reconsideration
The threshold on patient reclassification re-
determinations is too high.
The Medicaid programs allow a seller's basis to be
indexed by marshall swift. 

Agency Response: This section of the State Plan was
developed originally by the joint State-Provider group,
which determined this process to be appropriate. Currently,
the DMMA has no information, which supports a change in
this language. However, certainly, if a typographical error

occurred in entering the level of care, the DMMA would
correct this when the provider identifies it. The Department
plans to proceed with the amendment as published. No
change will be made to the State Plan because of this
comment.

Section VI. Audit
We also object to recalculating the ceilings for a

provider based on that provider's disallowed. We know of no
other State that does this. 

Agency Response: The DMMA will recalculate the
payment caps, floors, ceilings and incentive payments after a
field audit. However, it is not the intention of the DMMA to
have those revisions affect providers that have not been
audited. The Department plans to proceed with the
amendment and no change will be made to the State Plan
Amendment because of this comment.

DHCFA (letter dated 10/25/05 following 10/24/05 meeting
with DMMA)

Primary issues – There is one primary issue, which has
basically two aspects to it. That issue relates to how
Delaware Medicaid will set providers rates now that the rate
setting year is a Calendar year as opposed to the previous
October 1st to September 30th rate setting year. Of primary
importance to us is the inflation of the cost reports for the
rate setting year follow encompasses the proper number of
months from the mid-point of the cost reporting year to the
mid-point of the rate setting year. It is our understanding that
cost reports will still be filed on a June 30th year end.
Therefore, we feel rates should be inflated from the mid-
point of the cost report year, which would be January 1st for
a June 30th cost reporting year to the mid-point of the rate
setting year, which would be July 1st for the new calendar
rate setting year. This encompasses an 18 month time frame.
We feel this is equitable to both the long term care industry
and the Division of Medical Assistance since the mid-point
of the cost report year represents a logical starting point for
applying inflation and the mid-point of a rate setting year is a
logical ending point for the application of that inflation.

In addition, we feel it very important that the inflation
index used in the rate setting process be clearly defined. For
many years, the University of Delaware Economic Index has
been used and accepted by the Division of Medicaid and
Medical Assistance and by the provider community. To
change to an unknown and undefined index either
immediately or in the future, will cause an inconsistency
with the application of inflation to provider incurred cost and
more importantly, will create a great amount of uncertainty
as to how the rates will be set each year. We, therefore,
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request that the University of Delaware Economic Index be
used going forward. If the Division of Medical Assistance
desires consideration for a change of that index, we are
requesting that the provider community and the Division
meet to discuss any changes before implementation, and that
any changes decided upon, be clearly defined.

The re-basing of cost in the past has shown that the
current inflation index is reasonably conservative since
re-basing has, for the most part, resulted in an increase in
provider ceilings. Therefore, we would conclude that the
index currently in use is the appropriate index.

Agency Response: The DMMA thanks the Delaware
Health Care Facilities Association (DHCFA) for their
comments. Regarding DHCFA’s concern about the inflation
factor, DMMA intends to use the annual inflation factors as
supplied by the University of Delaware for the time period
January 1, 2006 through December 31, 2006. Annual
inflation factors to be applied in the future will cover
inflation from January 1st – December 31st. However, the
DMMA intends to explore alternative sources for the
inflation factor. The DMMA would welcome any
suggestions from DHCFA regarding alternative sources.
Once the DMMA has made a determination regarding the
source, it is the DMMA’s intention to use that source
indefinitely. If the source is changed, the DMMA will notify
the providers of any change in the source.

Secondary issues – There are four issues, which fall in
this category:

1. The application of the agency caps as indicated on
Page 6 of the proposed regulations we feel is not justified
and is inconsistent with the mandate for providers to fully
staff their facilities to meet “ppds” as well as staff to patient
ratios. All providers desire that professional nurses and
nursing assistants be employees of the facility and not
agency staff. As you know, however, with shortages over the
years, it has been necessary for the provider community to
contract agency staff for periods of time. This is always a last
resort for providers and only after they have made extensive
attempts to recruit staff for their facilities. Moreover, the
opening of 4 new facilities in Delaware will further
exacerbate the shortage that exists. Therefore, we feel there
is no logic to the application of the limitation on agency cost
for a facility or for the entire industry. Therefore, we would
request that any limitation on nurse agency cost as indicated
by the proposed regulations be eliminated.

Agency Response: The cap that is applied to agency
personnel was raised when Eagles Law was implemented.
The DMMA does not have plans at this time to change the
30% cap placed on the usage of agency nursing. The DMMA

is concerned with the continuity of care, as well as the
quality of care being given to Delaware’s nursing home
patients. We thank the Delaware Health Care Facilities
Association for their comment.

2. On Page 14 (A1) of the proposed regs, there is a
methodology in place for when reconsideration of a patient
classification can be made. That reconsideration indicates a
threshold of at least 10% of the Medicaid revenue for the
facility for a month in order for the State to consider
reconsideration. We feel this limitation is too high and will
prevent providers from ever being able to request
reconsideration. We are asking that this threshold be lowered
and be based on a percentage of Medicaid patients for the
facility where a reconsideration is deemed appropriate.

Agency Response: This section of the State Plan was
developed originally by the joint State-Provider group,
which determined this process to be appropriate. Currently,
the DMMA has no information, which supports a change in
this language. However, certainly, if a typographical error
occurred in entering the level of care, the DMMA would
correct this when the provider identifies it. The Department
plans to proceed with the amendment as published. No
change will be made to the State Plan because of this
comment.

3. On Page 16 (B) regarding audits, the paragraph
indicates that payment ceilings and incentive payments for
other facilities within a peer group will not be altered by
audit revisions. We would request the words “and incentive
payments for other facilities within the peer group” be
removed.

Agency Response: The DMMA will recalculate the
payment caps, floors, ceilings and incentive payments after
a field audit.  However, it is not the intention of the DMMA
to have those revisions affect providers that have not been
audited. The Department plans to proceed with the
amendment and no change will be made to the State Plan
Amendment because of this comment.

4. On Page 13 (J) under Medicare Aggregate Upper
Limitations proposed language reads for any change of
ownership after July 18, 1984, the state will not increase
payments to providers for depreciation interest and capital
and return on equity. We know that Medicaid regulations
permit state Medicaid programs to increase seller’s basis by
a recognized construction index to partially reflect current
replacement cost. In the States of Wisconsin, Georgia, and
Virginia, a percentage of the Dodge construction index has
been applied to the original seller’s basis to index that basis
up to the audit period year in order to have a basis more
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reflective of current replacement costs for the facility. We are
requesting that Delaware give consideration to this same
methodology for seller asset basis. 

Agency Response: The DMMA acknowledges and has
considered the commenter's concerns but declines the
suggestion. The Department plans to proceed with the
amendment as published. No change will be made to the
State Plan because of this comment.

LTCC
Incorporating new language in the capital

reimbursement element of the plan stipulating an occupancy
reimbursement adjustment will be of grave concern. Also,
this provision could potentially have a very negative effect
on the new Veteran’s Home.

It is requested that a new reimbursement adjustment for
occupancy not be applied to capital reimbursement for any
facility that has applied for and received a Certificate of
Public Review as of December 31, 2005.

Moving forward, as it relates to new facilities, if the
department is insistent upon implementing an occupancy
adjustment, the following is suggested as a fair compromise:

Year 1 40%
Year 2 70%
Year 3 90%.

The last new facility opened in 1996. The reason NO
new facilities have opened in Delaware despite the obvious
severe demand for new nursing home beds is a function of
the reimbursement plan and the very strict regulatory
environment.

Agency Response: The 90% occupancy limitation has
been applied to the capital cost center since the creation of
the PIRS Reimbursement methodology, which was designed
with the assistance of the industry. The policy has not
changed and is only clarified with this new wording. The
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance thanks Long
Term Care Corp. for its comments. The Department plans to
proceed with the amendment as published. No change will
be made to the State Plan because of this comment.  

DHA
We have one overall concern that are included in the

proposed regulation are current practice and apparently have
been for some time. This is consistent with our comments on
the proposed regulation for inpatient facilities that we made
last month.

Our two overwhelming concerns are those contained in
Section 2.D.4, which changes the reimbursement year from
October 1st through September 30th to January 1st through

December 31st; and, Section 2.I.3., which eliminates the
very detailed language regarding generation of the inflation
indices and replaces the detail with a very vague “inflation
indices will be obtained from a recognized source and based
on an appropriate index for the primary cost center and the
following cost centers: secondary, support and
administrative.”

There apparently is substantial variation in inflation
factors for long-term care facilities, depending on whether
capital is included. If the factors were used for budgetary
purposes, then our members would urge you to consider that
one source should be identified and used consistently and
that the source is appropriately the University of Delaware.

It is our conclusion that once again the State is intending
to pass on another portion of its financial shortfalls to all
long-term care facilities. Additionally, by means of this
proposed regulation, DMMA is seeking a formal retroactive
approval for practices that have already been implemented
without amendment to its State Plan.

Therefore, we strongly oppose Sections 2.D.4 and
2.I.3 and suggest that the reimbursement year remain and the
Department of Economics at the University of Delaware
continue to provide the inflation factors for the State.

Agency Response: The DMMA thanks the Delaware
Healthcare Association (DHA) for their comments regarding
the change in rate year and the inflation factor. The DMMA
intends to change the rate year as specified. The annual
inflation factors will be supplied by the University of
Delaware for the time period January 1, 2006 through
December 31, 2006. Annual inflation factors to be applied in
the future will cover inflation from January 1st – December
31st. However, the DMMA intends to explore alternative
sources for the inflation factor. The DMMA would welcome
any suggestions from the DHA regarding alternative
sources. Once the DMMA has made a determination
regarding the source, it is the DMMA’s intention to use that
source indefinitely. If the source is changed, the DMMA will
notify the providers of any change in the source. The
Department plans to proceed with the amendment and no
change will be made to the State Plan Amendment because
of this comment.

Additionally, the DMMA initiated a few changes to
correct grammatical and typographical errors. These changes
are indicated by [bracketed bold type] and [bracketed bold
strikethrough].

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the October 2005 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.
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THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed

regulation to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan
regarding the reimbursement methodology for Long Term
Care Nursing Facilities is adopted and shall be final effective
December 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, November 17,
2005

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-73
REVISIONS:    ATTACHMENT 4.19-D

Page 1

State Plan Under Title XIX of the Social Security Act

STATE OF DELAWARE

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates

Prospective Reimbursement System for Long Term Care 
Facilities

I. General Provisions
A. Purpose 

This plan establishes a reimbursement system for
long-term care facilities that complies with federal
requirements, including but not limited to:

• Requirements of the Omnibus
Reconciliation Act of 1981 that nursing
facility provider reimbursements be
reasonable and adequate to assure an
efficient and economically operated facility. 

• The requirement that Medicaid payments in
the aggregate do not exceed what would
have been paid by Medicare based on
allowable cost principles.

• Limitations on the revaluation of assets
subsequent to a change of ownership since
July 18, 1984.

•  Requirements of the Omnibus Reconciliation
Act of 1987 to establish one level of nursing
care, i.e., Nursing Facility Care, to eliminate
the designation of Skilled and Intermediate
Care, and to provide sufficient staff to meet
these requirements.

• The requirement to employ only nurse aides
who have successfully completed a training
and competency evaluation program or a
competency evaluation program. 

B. Reimbursement Principles

1. Providers of nursing facility care shall be
reimbursed prospectively determined per diem rates based
on a patient based classification system. Providers of ICF-
MR and ICF-IMD services shall be reimbursed
prospectively determined per diem rates. 
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2. The Delaware Medicaid Program shall
reimburse qualified providers of long-term care based on the
individual Medicaid recipient's days of care multiplied by
the applicable per diem rate for that patient's classification
less any payments made by recipients or third parties. 

II. Rate Determination for Nursing Facilities 
A. Basis for Reimbursement

Per Diem reimbursement for nursing facility
services shall be composed of five prospectively determined
rate components that reimburse providers for primary patient
care, secondary patient care, support services,
administration, and capital costs.

The primary patient care component of the per diem
rate is based on the nursing care costs related specifically to
each patient's classification. In addition to assignment to
case mix classifications, patients may qualify for
supplementary primary care reimbursement based on their
characteristics and special service needs. Primary care
component reimbursement for each basic patient
classification will be the same for each facility within a
group. A schedule of primary rates, including rate additions,
is established for each of three groups of facilities: 

• Private facilities in New Castle County
• Private facilities in Kent and Sussex

Counties
• Public facilities
Payment for the secondary, support, administrative,

and capital costs comprise the base rate, and is unique to
each facility. Provider costs are reported annually to
Medicaid and are used to establish rate ceilings for the
secondary, support, and administrative cost centers in each
provider group. 

The sections that follow provide specific details on
rate computation for each of the five rate components.

B. Rate components 
Payment for services based on the sum of five rate

components. The rate components are defined as:
• Primary Patient Care. This cost center

encompasses all costs that are involved in the
provision of basic nursing care for nursing
home patients and is inclusive of nursing
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staff salaries, fringe benefits, and training
costs. Costs of completing Resident
Assessment and Plans of Care will be
covered in this cost center. All nurses
salaries, fringe benefits, and training for staff
with duties that count[s[ towards the
minimum staff requirements will be included
in this cost center.

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
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• Secondary Patient Care. This cost center
encompasses other patient care costs that
directly affect patient health status and
quality of care and is inclusive of clinical
consultants, social services, raw food,
medical supplies, and non prescription drugs,
dietitian services, dental services (in public
facilities only), and activities personnel.

• Support Services. This cost center includes
costs for departments that provide supportive
services other than medical care and is
inclusive of dietary, operation and
maintenance of the facility, housekeeping,
laundry and linen, and patient recreation. 

• Administrative. This category includes costs
that are not patient related and is inclusive of
owner/administrator salary, medical and
nursing director salary (excluding such time
spent in direct patient care), administrative
salaries, medical records, working capital,
benefits associated with administrative
personnel, home office expenses,
management of resident personal funds, and
monitoring and resolving patient’s rights
issues. 

• Capital. This category includes costs related
to the purchase and lease of property, plant
and equipment and is inclusive of lease costs,
mortgage interest, property taxes and
depreciation.

C. Excluded Services
Those services to residents of private long term care

facilities that are ordinarily billed directly by practitioners
will continue to be billed separately and are not covered by
the rate component categories. This includes prescription
drugs, Medicare Part B covered services, physician services,
hospitalization and dental services, laboratory, radiology,
and certain ancillary therapies.

For public facilities, laboratory, radiology,
prescription drugs, physician services, dental services, and
ancillary therapies [are maybe] included in the per diem.

Costs of training and certification of nurse aides are
billed separately by the facilities as they are incurred, and
reimbursed directly by Medicaid.

D. Primary Payment Component Computations
The primary patient care rate component is based

on a patient index system in which all nursing home patients
are classified into patient classes. The lowest resource
intensive clients are placed in the lowest class. 
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The Department will assign classes to nursing home
patients.  Initial classification of patients occurs through the
State's pre-admission screening program. These initial
classifications will be reviewed by Department nurses within
31 to 45 days after assignment. Patient classification will
then be reviewed twice a year. Facilities will receive notices
from the Department concerning class changes and relevant
effective dates.

1. In order to establish the patient classification for
reimbursement, patients are evaluated and scored by
Medicaid review nurses according to the specific amount of
staff assistance needed in Activity of Daily Living (ADL)
dependency areas. These include Bathing, Eating, Mobility/
Transfer/Toileting.  Potential scores are as follows:

0 - Independent
1 - Supervision (includes verbal cueing and

occasional staff standby)
2 - Moderate assistance (requires staff standby/

physical presence)
3 - Maximum Assistance
Patients receiving moderate or maximum assistance

will be considered "dependent" in that ADL area. Patients
receiving supervision will not be considered dependent.

Reimbursement is determined by assigning the
patient to a patient classifications based on their ADL scores
or range of scores.

Each patient classification is related to specific
nursing time factors. These time factors are multiplied by the
75th percentile nurse wage in each provider group to
determine the per diem rate for each classification.

2. Patients receiving an active rehabilitative/
preventive program as defined and approved by the
Department shall be reimbursed at the next higher patient
class. For qualifying patients at the highest level, the facility
will receive an additional IO percent of the primary care rate
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component. an additional 20% of the primary care rate
component.

To be considered for the added reimbursement
allowed under this provision, a facility must develop and
prepare an individual rehabilitative/preventive care plan.
This plan of care must contain rehabilitative/preventive care
programs as described in a Department approved list of
programs. The services must seek to address specific activity
of daily living and other functional problems of the patient.
The care plan must also indicate specific six month and one-
year patient goals, and must have a physician's approval.

6 DE Reg. 964 (2/1/03)
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The Department will evaluate new facility-
developed rehabilitative/preventive care plans during its
patient classification reviews of nursing homes. 

Interim provisional approval of plans can be
provided by Department review nurses. When reviewed, the
Department will examine facility documentation on the
provision of rehabilitative/preventive services to patients
with previously approved care plans as well as progress
towards patient goals.

3. Patients exhibiting disruptive psycho social
behaviors on a frequent basis as defined and classified by the
Department shall receive an additional 10 percent of the
primary care rate component for the appropriate
classification.

The specific psychosocial behaviors that will be
considered for added reimbursement under this provision are
those that necessitate additional nursing staff intervention in
the provision of personal and nursing care. Such behaviors
include: verbal and physically disruptive actions,
inappropriate social behavior, non-territorial wandering, and
any other similar patient problems as designated by the
Department.

Facilities must have complete documentation on
frequency of such behaviors in a patient's chart for the
Department to consider the facility for added reimbursement
under this provision. This documentation will be evaluated
during patient classification reviews of a nursing home.

4. Patient class rates are determined based on the time
required to care for patients in each classification, and
nursing wage, fringe benefit, and training costs tabulated
separately for private facilities in New Castle County,
private facilities in Kent and Sussex Counties, and public
facilities statewide.

Primary rates are established by the following
methodology:

• Annual wage surveys and cost reports
required of each provider are used to
determine 75th percentile hourly nursing
wages. 
The cost report used in the calculations will
represent the fiscal year ending June 30th of
the previous reimbursement year. The
Delaware reimbursement year, for purposes
of rate setting, is from October 1 through
September 30 January 1 through December
31 for private facilities and October 1
through September 30 for State facilities.
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This is calculated by first dividing total pay
by total hours for each nursing classification
(RN, LPN, Aide) in each facility, then
arraying the representative 75th percentile
wages of each facility them to determine the
75th percentile within each provider group.
Based on cost data from each provider group,
hourly wage rates are adjusted to include
hourly training and fringe benefit costs
within each provider group. 

• In each of the three provider groups (private
facilities in New Castle County, Kent and
Sussex Counties, and public facilities), the
rates are established in the same manner. 
The primary component of the Medicaid
nursing home rate is determined by
multiplying the 75th percentile hourly
nursing wage for RNs, LPNs, and Aides by
standard nursing time factors for each of the
base levels of patient acuity. 

• Providers will be reimbursed for agency
nurse costs if their use of agency nurses does
not exceed the allowable agency nurse cap
determined each year by the Delaware
Medicaid staff. Any nursing cost incurred in
excess of the allowable cap will not be
included in the nursing cost calculation. 

• Within each of the patient classes, Medicaid
provides "Incentive add-ons" to encourage
rehabilitative and preventive programs.
Rehabilitative and preventive services shall
be reimbursed at the same rate as the next
highest patient class.  In the case of patients
in the highest class, the facility will receive
an additional 10 percent of the primary care
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rate component. an additional 20% of the
primary care rate component. Incentive
payments discourage the deterioration of
patients into higher classifications. 

• Patients exhibiting disruptive psychosocial
behaviors on a frequent basis as defined by
the Department and are receiving an active
rehabilitation/preventive program as defined
and approved by the Department shall be
reimbursed an additional 10% of the
rehabilitative/preventive primary care rate
component.

E. Non-primary Rate Component Computations 
Facility rates for the four non-primary components

of secondary, support, administrative, and capital are
computed from annual provider cost report data on
reimbursable costs. Reimbursable costs are defined to be
those that are allowable based on Medicare principles,
according to HIM 15. Costs applicable to services, facilities,
and supplies furnished to a provider by commonly owned,
controlled or related organizations shall not exceed the lower
cost of comparable services purchased elsewhere. 
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The cost report used in the calculations will
represent the fiscal year ending June 30th of the previous
reimbursement year. The Delaware reimbursement year, for
purposes of rate setting is from October 1 through September
30 January 1 through December 31 for private facilities and
October 1 through September 30 for State facilities.

• Individual allowable cost items from cost
reports for each facility comprising the base
rate component are summed and divided by
patient days.  For established facilities, the
patient day amount used in this computation
equal actual patient days or estimated days
based on a 90 percent occupancy of
Medicaid certified beds, whichever is
greater. The day amount for new facilities¹
equals actual patient days for the period of
operation, or estimated days based on a 75
percent occupancy of Medicaid certified
beds, whichever is greater. This applies to
cost centers comprising the basic rate.

The discussion that follows explains rate
computation for the secondary, support, administrative and
capital payment centers.

1. Secondary patient care rates are reimbursed
according to the cost of care determined prospectively up to
a calculated ceiling (115 percent of median per diem costs).
Three steps are required:

• Facilities are grouped into three peer groups
– private facilities in New Castle County,
private facilities in Kent and Sussex
Counties, and public facilities.

• Individual allowable cost items from cost
reports for each facility comprising the
secondary care component are summed and
divided by patient days. For established
facilities, the patient day amount used in this
computation equals actual patient days or
estimated days based on a 90 percent
occupancy of Medicaid certified beds,
whichever is greater. The day amount for
new facilities¹ equals actual patient days for
the period of operation, or estimated days
based on a 75 percent occupancy of
Medicaid certified beds, whichever is
greater.

• The median per diem cost is determined for
each category of facility and inflated by 15
percent. The secondary care per diem
assigned to a facility is the actual allowable
cost up to a maximum of 115 percent of the
median.

2. Support service component rates are
determined in a manner that parallels the secondary
component rate calculation process. However, the ceiling is
set at 110 percent of median support costs per day for the
appropriate category of facility. In addition, facilities, which
maintain costs below the cap, are entitled to an incentive
payment 25 percent of the difference between the facility’s
actual per day cost and the applicable cap, up to a maximum
incentive of 5 percent of the cap amount.

* “New facility” is defined as:  (1) New construction built to
provide a new service of either intermediate or skilled nursing care
for which the existing facility has never before been certified, or (2)
construction of an entirely new facility totally and administratively
independent of an existing facility.
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3. Administrative component rates are
determined in a manner parallel to the secondary component.
However, the ceiling is set at 105 percent of median costs per
day. A facility is entitled to an incentive payment of 50
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percent of the difference between its actual costs and the cap.
The incentive payment is limited to 10 percent of the ceiling
amount.

4. Capital component rates are determined
prospectively and are subject to a rate floor and rate ceiling.
The dollar amounts representing the 20th percentile of actual
per diem capital cost (floor) and the 80th percentile of actual
per diem capital cost (ceiling) are calculated. If the facility's
costs are greater than or equal to the floor, and less than or
equal to the ceiling, the facility's prospective rate is equal to
its actual cost. If the facility's costs are below the floor, the
prospective rate is equal to the lower of the floor or actual
cost plus twenty-five percent of actual cost. If the facility's
costs are greater than the ceiling, the prospective rate is
equal to the higher of the ceiling or ninety-five percent of
actual cost. Costs associated with revaluation of assets of a
facility will not be recognized.

The capital component is also subject to the
occupancy standards as set forth in section II.E. of  State
Plan Amendment 4.19-D. The capital component rate is
calculated on a statewide basis.

5. Where services are currently contracted by the
nursing facility to a practitioner, additional services may be
billed directly. These services are not covered by the rate
component categories for private facilities, but may be
included in the rate for public facilities. These services
include therapies, physician services, dental services and
prescription drugs.

F. Computation of Total Rate from Components 
A facility's secondary, support, administrative, and

capital payments will be summed and called its basic rate.
The total rate for a patient is then determined by adding the
primary rate for which a patient qualifies to the facility's
basic rate component. The basic payment amount will not
vary across patients in a nursing home. However, the
primary payment [depend] will depend on a patient's class
and qualification for added rehabilitative/preventive and/or
psychosocial reimbursement.

G. OBRA '87 Additional Costs 
1. Nurse Aide Training and Certification

Providers of long-term care services will be
reimbursed directly for the reasonable costs of training,
competency testing and certification of nurse aides in
compliance with the requirements of OBRA '87. The
training and competency testing must be in a program
approved by the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services, Division of Public Health. A "Statement of
Reimbursement Cost of Nurse Aide Training" is submitted
to the state by each facility quarterly. 
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Costs reported on the Statement of
Reimbursement Cost are reimbursed directly and claimed by
the State as administrative costs. They include:

• Costs incurred in testing and
certifying currently employed nurse
aides, i.e., testing fees, tuition,
books, and training materials.

• Costs of providing State approved
training or refresher training in
preparation for the competency
evaluation testing to employed
nurse aides who have not yet
received certification.

• Salaries of in-service [instructions
instructors] to conduct State
approved training programs for the
portion of their time involved with
training, or fees charged by
providers of a State approved
training program. 

• Costs of transporting nurse aides
from the nursing facility to a testing
or training site.

The following costs of nurse aide training are
considered operational, and will be reported annually on the
Medicaid cost report. These costs will be reimbursed
through the Primary cost component of the per diem rate:

• Salaries of nurse aides while in
training or competency evaluation. 

• Costs of additional staff to replace
nurse aides participating in training
or competency evaluation. 

• Continuing education or of nurse
aides following certification. 

2. Additional Nurse Staff Requirements 
Additional nurse staff required by a nursing

facility to comply with the requirements of OBRA '87 will
be reimbursed under the provisions of the Delaware
Medicaid Patient Index Reimbursement System (PIRS).
This system makes no distinction between levels of care for
reimbursement. Nursing costs are derived from average
hourly wage, benefit, and training cost data provided on the
Nursing Wage Survey submitted by each facility.
Prospective rates for each patient acuity classification are
calculated by these costs by the minimum nursing time
factors. Although representative of actual costs incurred,
these prospectively determined rates are independent of the
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number employed or the number of staff vacancies at any
given time.
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3. Additional Non-Nursing Requirements 
The Delaware Medicaid reimbursement system

will recognize the incremental costs of additional staff and
services incurred by nursing facilities to comply with the
mandates of OBRA '87. Prospective rate calculations will be
adjusted to account for costs incurred on or after October 1,
1990. 

Where services are currently contracted by the
nursing facility to a practitioner, additional services may be
billed directly. These services are not covered by the rate
component categories (for private facilities, but may be
included in the rate for public facilities.) These services
include therapies, physician services, dental services, and
prescription drugs.

A supplemental schedule to the Statement of
Reimbursement Costs (Medicaid Cost Report) will be
submitted by each facility to demonstrate projected staff and
service costs required to comply with OBRA'87.  For the rate
year beginning October 1, 1990, facilities may project full
year costs onto prior year reported actual costs to be included
in the rate calculation.

The supplemental schedule will be used to
project costs incurred for programs effective October 1, 1990
into the prospective reimbursement rates. Where nursing
care facilities indicate new and anticipated staff positions,
those costs will be included with the actual SFY '90 costs
when calculating the reimbursement rates effective October
1, 1990.

Additional staff requirements include dietitian,
medical director, medical records, activities personnel, and
social worker. 

H. Hold Harmless Provision
For the first year under the patient index

reimbursement system the Department will have in effect a
hold-harmless provision. The purpose of the provision is to
give facilities an opportunity to adjust their operations to the
new system. Under this provision, no facility will be paid
less by Medicaid under the patient index system than it
would have been paid had Federal Fiscal Year 1988 rates,
adjusted by an inflation factor, been retained.

For the period October 1, 1990 to September
30, 1991, the Department will have in effect a hold-harmless
provision with respect to capital reimbursement rates. The
purpose of this provision is to give facilities an opportunity
to adjust their operations to the new system. Under this

provision, facilities will be paid the greater of the rate under
the prospective capital rate methodology or the rate based on
reimbursable costs. Beginning October 1, 1991, all facilities
will be subject to the prospective capital rate methodology
described in Section II, E.4.
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I. Annual Rate Recalculation
1. Primary Payment Component

Rates for the primary patient care component
will be rebased annually. Two sources of provider-supplied
data will be used in this rate rebasing:

• An annual nursing wage and salary
survey that the Department will conduct
of all Medicaid-participating nursing
facilities in Delaware.

• Nursing home cost report data on
nurses’ fringe benefits and training
costs.

The 75th percentile wages will be redetermined
annually from the wage and salary survey, and the standard
nurse time factors will be applied for each patient
classification. The cost report and wage and salary survey
will be for the previous year ending June 30.

2. Non-Primary Payment Components
The payment caps for the secondary, support,

and administrative components will be rebased every fourth
year using the computation methods specified in Section E
above. For the interim periods between rebasing, the
payment caps will be inflated annually based on reasonable
inflation estimates as published by the Department. Facility-
specific payment rates for these cost centers shall then be
calculated using these inflated caps and cost report data from
the most recently available cost reporting period.

The capital floor and ceiling will be rebased
annually.
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3. Inflation Adjustment
Per Diem caps for primary, secondary, support

and administrative cost centers will be adjusted each year by
inflation indices. The inflation indices are obtained from the
Department of Economics of the University of Delaware and
include both regional and national health care-specific
economic trends. The inflation forecast is based on the U.S.
Consumer Price Indexed.  Factors reviewed on the demand
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side include recent growth rates in the money supply,
employment, and business and government debt, as well as
the state of the business cycle. Current capacity utilization
rates and new capital spending plans, production delivery
delays, employment to population ratios, wages, and trends
in energy, housing, and food are studies on the supply side.
The forecast is also confirmed by reviewing the Consumer
Estimates and Columbia University Leading Index of
Inflation, interest rates in the futures markets, the
Commodity Research Bureau’s Index of Future Prices, and
the trade weighted price of the dollar. will be obtained from a
recognized source and based on an appropriate index for the
primary cost center and the following cost centers:
secondary, support and administrative.

The inflation factors are applied to the actual
nursing wage rates to compensate for the annual inflation in
nursing costs. This adjustment is made before the nurse
training and benefits are added and the wages are multiplied
by the standard nurse time factors.

Cost center caps are used to set an upper limit
on the amount a provider will be reimbursed for the costs in
the secondary, support, and administrative cost centers.
Initially, these caps are computed by determining the median
value of the provider’s actual daily costs, then adjusting
upwardly according to the particular cost center. The
Secondary cost center cap is 115% of the provider group
median, and Administrative costs are capped at 105% of the
median. Delaware Medicaid will recalculate non-primary
cost center caps every three years fourth year. The next
rebase will be for rates effective January 1, 2008. In interim
rate years, these cost center caps will not be recomputed.
Instead, cost center caps will be adjusted by inflation factors.
The inflation index provided by the University of Delaware a
recognized source will be applied to the current cap in each
cost center in each provider group to establish the new cap.
The actual reported costs will be compared to the cap.
Facilities with costs above the cap will receive the amount of
the cap.
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J. Medicare Aggregate Upper Limitations
The State of Delaware assures HCFA CMS that in

no case shall aggregate payments made under this plan,
inclusive of DEFRA capital limitations, exceed the amount
that would have been paid under Medicare principles of
reimbursement. As a result of a change of ownership, on or
after July 18, 1984, the State will not increase payments to
providers for depreciation, interest on capital and return on
equity, in the aggregate, more than the amount that would be

recognized under section 1861(v)(1)(0) of the Social
Security Act. Average projected rates of payment shall be
tested against such limitations. In the event that average
payment rates exceed such limitations, rates shall be reduced
for those facilities exceeding Medicare principles as applied
to all nursing facilities.

III. Rate Determination ICF/MR and ICF/IMD Facilities
Delaware will recalculate the prospective per diem rates

for ICF/MRs and ICF/IMDs annually for the reimbursement
year, of October through September 30 January 1 through
December 31 for private facilities and October 1 through
September 30 for public facilities. ICF/MR and ICF/IMD
facilities shall be reimbursed actual total per diem costs
determined prospectively up to a ceiling. The ceiling is set at
the 75th percentile of the distribution of costs of the facilities
in each class. There are four (4) classes of facilities, which
are:

1. Public ICF/MR facilities of 8 beds or less.
2. Public ICF/MR facilities of greater than 8 beds.
3. Private ICF/MR facilities of 60 beds or less.
4. Public ICF/IMD facilities.

An inflation factor (as described in II.H.3 above) will be
applied to prior year’s costs to determine the current year’s
rate.

IV. Rate Reconsideration
A. Primary Rate Component

Long-term care providers shall have the right to
request a rate reconsideration for alleged patient
misclassification relating to the Department’s assignment of
the case mix classification. Conditions for reconsideration
are specified in the Department’s nursing home appeals
process as specified in the long-term care provider manual.
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1. Exclusions from Reconsideration
Specifically excluded from patient class

reconsiderations are:
• Changes in patient status between

regular patient class reviews.
• Patient classification determinations,

unless the loss of revenues for a month’s
period of alleged misclassification
equals ten percent or more of the
facility’s Medicaid revenues in that
month.

2. Procedures for Filing
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Facilities shall submit requests for
reconsiderations within sixty days after patient
classifications are provided to a facility. All requests shall be
submitted in writing and must be accompanied by supporting
documentation as required by the Department.

3. Patient Reclassifications
Any reclassification resulting from the

reconsideration process will become effective on the first
day of the month following such reclassification.

B. Non-Primary Rate Components
Long-term care providers shall have the right to

request a rate reconsideration for any alleged Department
miscalculation of one or more non-primary payment rates.
Miscalculation is defined as incorrect computation of
payment rates from provider supplied data in annual cost
reports.

1. Exclusions from Reconsideration
Specifically excluded from rate consideration

are:
• Department classification of cost items

into payment centers.
• Peer-group rate ceilings.
• Department inflation adjustments.
• Capital floor and ceiling rate percentiles.
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2. Procedures for Filing
Rate reconsiderations shall be submitted within

sixty days after payment rate schedules are provided to a
facility. All requests shall be submitted in writing and must
be accompanied by supporting documentation as requested
by the Department.

3. Rate Adjustments
Any rate adjustments resulting from the

reconsideration process will take place on the first day of the
month following such adjustment. Rate adjustments
resulting from this provision will only affect the facility that
had rate miscalculations. Payment ceilings and incentive
amounts for other facilities in a peer group will not be altered
by these adjustments.

V. Reimbursement for Super Skilled Care
A higher rate will be paid for individuals who need a

greater level of skilled care than that which is currently
reimbursed in Delaware nursing facilities. For patients in the
Super Skilled program prior to 4/1/93, the rate will be
determined as follows:

A summary of each individual who qualified under the
Medicaid program’s criteria for a “Super Skilled” level of

care will be sent to local nursing facilities, which have
expressed an interest in providing this level of care. They
will be asked to submit bids, within a specific time frame, for
their per diem charge for caring for the individual. The
Medicaid program will review the bids and select the one
that most meets the needs of the patient at the lowest cost.

Effective 4/1/93, all new patients who would have
formerly been placed in a super skilled level will be placed
in one of the patient class levels and reimbursed as any other
client. The Medicaid program will pay outside of the per
diem rate for the exceptional costs of their care, such as
ventilator equipment and special supplies required.

VI. Reporting and Audit Requirements
A. Reporting

All facilities certified to participate in the Medicaid
program are required to maintain cost data and submit
reports on the form and in the format specified by the
Department. Such reports shall be filed annually. Cost
reports are due within ninety days of the close of the state
fiscal year. All Medicaid participating facilities shall report
allowable costs on a state fiscal year basis, which begins on
July 1 and ends the following June 30. The allowable costs
recognized by Delaware are those defined by Medicare
principles.
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In addition, all facilities are required to complete
and submit an annual nursing wage survey on a form
specified by the Department. All facilities must provide
nursing wage data for the time periods requested on the
survey form.

For patients in the Super Skilled program, prior to
4/1/93 annual Super Skilled bids will be considered the cost
report for Super Skilled services. The nursing facility cost
report must be adjusted to reflect costs associated with care
for Super Skilled patients.

Failure to submit timely cost reports or nursing
wage surveys within the allowed time periods when the
facility has not been granted an extension by the
Department, shall be grounds for suspension from the
program. The Department may levy fines for failure to
submit timely data as described in Section II.D. of the
General Instructions to the Medicaid nursing facility cost
report.

 B. Audit
The Department shall conduct a field audit of

participating facilities, in accordance with Federal regulation
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and State law. Both cost reports and the nursing wage
surveys will be subject to audit.

Overpayments identified and documented as a
result of field audit activities, or other findings made
available to the Department, will be recovered. Such
overpayments will be accounted for on the Quarterly Report
of Expenditures as required by regulation.

Rate revisions resulting from field audit will only
affect payments to those facilities that had an identified
overpayment. Payment ceilings and incentive payments for
other facilities within a peer group will not be altered by
these revisions.

C. Desk Review
All cost reports and nursing wage surveys shall be

subjected to a desk review annually. Only desk reviewed
cost report and nursing wage survey data will be used to
calculate rates.

VII.  Reimbursement for Out-of-State Facilities
Facilities located outside of Delaware will be paid the

lesser of the Medicaid reimbursement rate from the state in
which they are located or the highest rate established by
Delaware for comparably certified non-state operated
facilities as specified above.
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VIII.  Reimbursement of Ancillary Service for Private
Facilities

Oxygen, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and
speech therapy will be reimbursed on a fee-for-service basis.
The rates for these services are determined by a survey of all
enrolled facilities’ costs. The costs are then arrayed and a
cap set at the median rate. Facilities will be paid the lower of
their cost or the cap.  The cap will be recomputed every three
years based on new surveys.

The Delaware Medicaid Program’s nursing home rate
calculation, the Patient Index Reimbursement System,
complies with requirements found in the Nursing Home
Reform Act and all subsequent revisions. A detailed
description of the methodology and analysis used in
determining the adjustment in payment amount for nursing
facilities to take into account the cost of services required to
attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental
and psychosocial well-being of each resident eligible for
benefits under Title XIX is found in Attachment A.

DELAWARE MEDICAID PROGRAM
ESTIMATE OF THE COST INCREASES INCURRED 

BY NURSING FACILITY 
IN MEETING THE REQUIREMENTS OF OBRA '87

I.  TRAINING, CERTIFICATION AND CONTINUING 
EDUCATION FOR NURSE AIDES

Information from DE Office of Licensing and
Certification indicates that most currently employed nurse
aides were able to take the certification examination prior to
October 1, 1990 without the 75 hour training program. An
estimate of 10% requiring the training is used here.

Average staff salaries are derived from the Nurse Wage
Survey, July 1989, and projected forward to 1990.

Nurse aide training and certification costs will be
reimbursed directly as administrative costs from billing
submitted by each nursing facility.

#
Aid
es

Cost
/
Aide

Total
Cost

A
.

Prior to
October 1,
1990
Competency
Evaluation

204
1

$50 $102.
050

75 hour
Training
(10%)

204 Average fee
for training

$160 $32,6
40

Staff Salaries
– Testing 

204
1

Average
$6.82/hr x 6
hrs

$41 $83,6
81

Staff Salaries
– Training

204 Average
$6.82/hr x 75
hrs x 80%

$409 $83,4
36

Travel Costs 700 $.30/mi x 34
mi / 5 persons

$3 $2,10
0

Total Cost $303.
907

Cost per Aide $149
Avg # Aides
per facility

33

Avg Cost per
facility

$4,91
4

#
Aides

Cost
/
Aide

Total
Cost

B
.

After
October 1,
1990
Competency
Evaluation

680 33% Turnover /
year

$50 $34,000
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Continuing education for nurse aides will be reported on
the annual cost report and will be reimbursed as part of the
per diem.

Annual staff turn-over estimate of 33Z is derived from
staffing experience of facilities.

II. ADDITIONAL NURSE STAFF REQUIREMENTS 
A. Nursing Staff

1.   RN on Day Shift# Facilities Currently Meeting
Requirement

# Facilities That Must Increase Staff to 
Comply With Requirement

o No financial impact of this additional
staff requirement because all facilities are currently
meeting minimum staffing requirement.

2.    RN/LPN on all shifts   #Facilities Currently
Meeting Requirement 29

      #Facilities That Must Increase Staff to
Comply With Requirement

 3 Total Cost per Facility    1.7 FTE x 2080 hrs/
FTE x $15.30/hr Salary/Benefit/Training   $54,101
Current reimbursement under the Delaware Patient
Index Reimbursement System makes no distinction
between Skilled and Intermediate levels of care. The
three facilities which must increase their staff to
comply with the new regulations have always been paid
on the same basis as those facilities which exceeded the
new staffing requirement. The nursing time factors in
the Medicaid time matrix are sufficient to reimburse
for the required staffing.

Three of 29 private facilities in Delaware must
increase their nursing staff in order to meet the new
requirements. Two of the three facilities will continue
to receive reimbursement exceeding their costs
providing that they maintain their current patient mix.

The third facility currently has costs exceeding
reimbursement due to several factors. Significant
factors include their corporate policy to accept low
care patients, their 72% occupancy rate, and higher
than average nursing salaries. By making only minor
adjustments to the patient mix, this facility could
increase the. average daily reimbursement per patient
from $20.94 to $26.75. Their costs will increase from
$22.62 to $26.62 as a result of the additional nursing
staff required.
Resident Assessment

Avg 87 pts/facility x 25 minutes/pt/year @
$16.98/hr= $615.53 per Facility

o The PIRS nursing time requirements matrix
has been adjusted to account for the additional nursing
time required to conduct Resident Assessment. Time for
assessment and documentation was originally included
in the nursing time requirements for RN and LPN at
each level of patient accuity. Additional time will be
included when calculating the Oct 1, 1990 rates to
account for the new requirements. The amount of time
added to the matrix was calculated by estimating the
time required for assessment per patient per year and
dividing by the number of annual available patient days
per patient.

C.  Plans Of Care
Avg 87 pts/facility x 30 minutes/pt/year @ $16.98/

hr = $738.63 per Facility
The PIRS nursing time requirements matrix

has been adjusted to account for the additional nursing
time required to conduct Plans of Care. Time for plans
of care and documentation was originally included in the
nursing time requirements for IN and LPN at each level
of patient acuity. Additional time will be included
when calculating the Oct 1, 1990 rates to account for
the new requirements. The amount of time added to the
matrix was calculated by estimating the time required
for plans of care per patient per year and dividing by
the number of annual available patient days per patient.

III. EXTENDED PATIENT SERVICES
A.   Dietary:No cost increase is expected as a result

of the new
No cost increase is expected as a result of the new

requirements
Current State certification standards require the

level of
Dietary standards required by OBRA.
The PIRS reimbursement system will reflect any

increase in staffing.

75 hour
Training
(100%)

680 Average fee for
training

$160 $108,80
0

Staff Salaries
– Testing

680 Average $6.82/hr
x 6 hrs

$41 $27,880

Staff Salaries
– Training 

680 Average $6.82/hr
x 75 hrs x 80%

$409 $278,12
0

Travel Costs 230 $.30/mi x 34 mi /
5 persons

$3 $690

Total Costs  $449,49
0

Cost per
Aide

$661

Avg # Aides
per facility

33

Avg Cost per
facility

$21,813
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B. Pharmacy: No cost increase is expected as a

result of the new       requirements 
Current State certification standards require

the level of Pharmacy standards required by OBRA. The
FIRS reimbursement system will reflect any
increase in staffing.

C. Dental Services: Delaware does not
currently cover Dental Care under the State Plan. No cost
impact is expected.

D.  Medical Records:  Nursing time for conducting
Patient Assessment and coordinating Plans of Care will has
been expanded in the Nursing Time Requirements Matrix.
This accounts for the additional time required to manage
medical records.

Please refer to the explanation of the Additional
Nursing  Staff Requirements above.

E. Activities Personnel:  8 Facilities - P.T.
Activities Director @ $23,400 annually
8 facilities expect to expand their activities staff, although
they currently employ an Activities Director.
All Delaware facilities currently meet this requirement by
employing an an qualified Activities Director on staff.
Many facilities also have activities personnel in addition
to the Director. The estimates of the number of facilities
effected by this requirement and the cost of a part time
Activities Director were derived from a telephone survey
of 9 facilities and information from the state nursing
facilities association.

F.   Social Worker:> 120 beds  4  Facilities -
F.T. Social Worker   @  $31,200 annually 
< 120 beds  11Facilities - P.T. Social Worker   @  
$23,400 

4 of 10 facilities over 120 beds will incur costs to
upgrade their social work activities.
11 of 22 facilities under 120 beds must upgrade their
social work program  by increasing their social work
staff.

The estimates of the number of facilities effected by
this requirement and the cost of Social Workers were derived
from a telephone survey of 9 facilities and information from
the state nursing facilities association.

G.  Physical Therapy:1753 ICI beds x 90%
occupancy = 1578 patients x 20% increase = 316 patients
Therapist treats 6 pts/hr @ avg $35/hr x 2 times/week/pt
= $11.67/pt/week Total Cost 316 patients x $11.67/pt/
week = $3,688/week total

Average Cost per Facility 11 pts @ $11.67/pt/
week = $128.37/wk = $6,675/yr.

On-site therapy will continue to be billed directly as
a contracted ancillary service, and will not be part of the per
diem reimbursement rate.

ICF  as well as SNF patients are currently receiving
therapy as needed.  An  increase of about 20% utilization is
anticipated, primarily for ICF patients.
Estimates of additional costs were derived from information
from the Delaware Division of Public Health, Office of
Health Facilities Licensing and Certification, and a review of
therapy reimbursement.

IV.   MEDICAL DIRECTOR
Average $66/hour for contractual services x 5 hours per

month
$330 per month x 12 months = $3,960 per year for

Medical Director 

All Delaware nursing facilities are currently required to have
Medical Director. Many will need to expand the
responsibilities of the designated position.
12 facilities to increase Medical Director hours under
contract from an average of $720/ mo to $1050/ mo.
Increase represents $3,960 per facility per year.

The cost estimate for the Medical Director was based on
information from the Medicaid review nurse, who projected
the number of hours required and the average hourly
reimbursement, and called a number of facilities to
determine how this requirement would be met. The number
of facilities effected was estimated by the state nursing
facilities association.

V.   RESIDENT’S RIGHTS
A.  Resident Personal Funds: 8 hours/day x 1.5 days/

mo x 12 mo/yr x $12.50/hr = $1,800 per year
Estimated 20 facilities will increase their bookkeeping

staff to maintain records of interest bearing accounts,
calculate interest, and produce quarterly statements.
Most likely approach to this requirement will be to employ
temporary bookkeeping services.

Other facilities will absorb this requirement into their
current bookkeeping staff.

This is the estimate of the Medicaid review nurse, who
contacted a number of facilities to determine how this
requirement would be met.

B.  Other Resident’s Rights:
The following patient’s rights are not expected to result

in additional costs for the nursing facilities:

1.  Notice of Rights and Services
2.  Rights of Incompetent Residents
3.  Transfer and Discharge Rights
4.  Access and Visitation Rights
5.  Equal Access to Quality Care
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6.  Admissions Policy

No additional costs are anticipated for nursing facilities to
implement other resident’s rights. Most state regulations
concerning specific patient’s rights are the same as or more
stringent than the Federal requirements. Those rights that are
not addressed specifically as individual requirements in the
state regulations, are protected by the Delaware’s Patient Bill
of Rights.

STATE OF DELAWARE
STATEMENT OF REIMBURSEMENT COST FOR
SKILLEDAND INTERMEDIATE CARE NURSING
FACILITIES TITLE XIX

1. FOR THE PERIOD:TO:
2.  NAME OF FACILITY
STREET ADDRESS
CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE
3. Name and telephone number of person to contact in case
of questions concerning this report:
NAME:
TITLE:
TELEPHONE NUMBER:

4. TYPE OF ENTITY: (check one only)
A. Corporation
B. Individual Proprietorship
C. Non-Profit Organization
D. Partnership
E. State Facility
F. Other (Describe)
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined
this Statement of Reimbursement Cost, including
accompanying schedules, statements and adjustments and to
the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and
complete. Declaration of preparer (other than facility
personnel) is based on all information of which preparer has
any knowledge.

5. Your signature: Date: Title:
6. Preparer's signature: Date: Company or Organization
Name:
Street address:
City, State, Zip Code:

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Long Term Care Medicaid

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend the Division of Social Services
Manual (DSSM) regarding the Medicaid Long Term Care
Program. The proposal amends a rule in the Division of used
to determine eligibility for medical assistance. Additionally,
the proposed rule is technical in nature to change reference
from the Division of Social Services to the Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance. The Department’s
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant
to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the October 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by October 31, 2005 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary of Proposed Amendment

Statutory Authority
• 42 CFR §435.907, Written Application
• 42 CFR §435.908, Assistance with Application

Summary of Proposed Change
DSSM 20103: Clarifies who is permitted to file an

application for Long Term Care Medical Assistance to
ensure that a person who is knowledgeable about the
applicant’s finances completes the application. DMMA adds
an eligibility determination requirement that a
knowledgeable and responsible representative complete the
application process for the applicant. This will enable the
Social Worker to process the case in a more accurate and
timely manner.
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Additionally, the proposed rule is technical in nature to

revise reference to the Division of Social Services to the
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response 
and Explanation of Changes

The Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council
(DDDC), the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional
Citizens (GACEC) and, the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations and
recommendations summarized below. DMMA has
considered each comment and responds as follows:

First, if there is a guardian or agent with a POA, it is
unclear if the applicant is an optional attendee at the
interview. To clarify that the representative substitutes for
the applicant at the interview and covers the situation in
which the guardian or agent with a POA is a non-relative, it
would be clearer to modify the reference in the first sentence
to read “…with the applicant, family member, or other
representative”.

Agency Response: Often the applicant is unable to
come in to the interview, so a family member may apply on
their behalf DMMA has added clarifying language on this
point. 

Second, the standards for waiving an interview are
unduly narrow. There must be medical inability to attend.
There may be other reasons justifying waiver. For example,
if the applicant were severely cognitively impaired (e.g. by
Alzheimer’s), the applicant could physically appear but the
interview would be meaningless. We recommend the
following substitute for the sixth sentence in the second
paragraph:

The interview can only be waived if the applicant is
medically unable to come in for the interview, there
is no family member, POA agent or Guardian
medically unable to come in for the interview, or
other good cause exists which obviates the
usefulness of the interview (e.g. applicant lacks
mental capacity to meaningfully participate in the
interview).

Agency Response: DMMA has changed the language to
read “or other good cause exists” and has amended the rules
accordingly.

Third, since the application is not deemed complete
until the interview is finished, we recommend a provision be
added indicating that DMMA will use affirmative efforts
(e.g. contact the applicant) to promptly schedule the
interview. Otherwise, weeks may pass during which time the

applicant (who may have limited sophistication) may believe
the application is being processed.

Agency Response:  This is an office practice already in
place. No change will be made to the regulation because of
this comment.

Fourth, the proposed regulation eliminates the current
requirement that the applicant sign a form, which discloses
the opportunity to avoid institutionalization by opting for
community services (attached). The rationale for this change
is unclear and may result in unnecessary nursing home
admission since the applicant may be unaware of
community-based options. It is our impression that the use of
the form is at least encouraged, if not required, by CMS. If
this form is no longer part of the application process, how
will DMMA provide information to applicants about
community alternatives to institutionalization?

Agency Response:  Form HCBS 1 is actually signed by
the client/representative at the medical evaluation by the Pre-
Admission Screening (PAS) nurse and not at the interview.
Procedurally this gives SSI recipients, who do not come to
the interview or file an application, the opportunity to see the
form.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the October 2005 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
regarding financial eligibility determination for the Medicaid
Long Term Care Program is adopted and shall be final
effective December 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, November 17,
2005

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-65
REVISIONS:

20103 Financial Eligibility Determination

This is the second step in the application process. A
referral is passed to the LTC financial eligibility unit within
two days of being referred to the Medicaid PAS unit.

An application for Medicaid is presumed to be made
only when an interview is held with the applicant or his
family member [who is applying on the applicant’s
behalf]. Should anyone hold Power of Attorney or
Guardianship over the applicant, he [also] must attend the
interview [along with the applicant/family member,]
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unless his attendance is waived by the supervisor. and the In
addition, the application form is must be signed listing those
individuals for whom Medicaid coverage is being sought.
The applicant or his representative must sign the An
Application, Affidavit of Citizenship, and Responsibility
Statement. and HCBS-1 Awareness Form must be signed by
the applicant or his representative. The application date is
considered the date of the interview unless the interview
requirement is waived. The interview can only be waived if
the applicant is medically unable to come in for the interview
and there is no family member, POA [agent] or Guardian
friend medically able to come in for the interview [or other
good cause exists]. The unit Supervisor must approve the
waiving of the interview  requirement.

For cases in which the interview is waived, the
application must be date stamped when it is received in the
Division of Social Services Medicaid and Medical
Assistance office. The stamped date sets the base for the
timeliness of determination.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver Program

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance initiated
proceedings to amend a rule in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) related to the Assisted Living
Medicaid Waiver Program. The Department’s proceedings to
amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29
Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the October 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by October 31, 2005 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary of Proposed Change

Statutory Authority
• 42 CFR Subpart G – Home and Community-

Based Services: Waiver Requirements 

Background
The Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver Program

(ALMWP) is a community based residential services
program administered by the Division of Services for Aging
and Adults with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD). The
ALMWP pays for services for eligible clients living in
assisted living facilities who would otherwise need nursing
home placement. To be eligible, a client must meet financial
and functional criteria. 

Summary of Proposed Change
DSSM 20700.4.5: This change provides clarification of

an existing policy regarding Medicaid bed hold days for the
Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver Program. There are no
Medicaid bed hold days for hospitalization.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response 
and Explanation of Changes

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional
Citizens (GACEC) and the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations
summarized below. DSS has considered the comment and
responds as follows:

Historically, DHSS has not paid for “bed hold” days for
persons in assisted living facilities participating in the
Medicaid assisted living waiver. The reference to a 14-day
nursing home bed-hold policy is inaccurate since it was
reduced to 7 days a few years ago.  

The Councils prefer that the Division maintain a bed
hold policy since the short-term continuation of
compensation for assisted living services due to resident
hospitalization would ostensibly deter loss of the
“placement”. However, we endorse the technical amendment
which deletes an incorrect reference to a 14-day nursing
home bed hold policy.

Agency Response: DMMA thanks the Councils for their
endorsement.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the October 2005 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.
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THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed

regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
regarding the Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver Program is
adopted and shall be final effective December 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, November 17,
2005

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-66
REVISION:

20700.4.5 Illness Or Hospitalization

The assisted living provider shall NOT provide services
for an individual that has been bedridden for 14 consecutive
days unless a physician certifies that the consumer’s needs
may be safely met by the service agreement.  

There is no 14 day bed hold day Medicaid payment for
hospitalization (20650) as available for nursing facility
residents. There are no Medicaid bed hold days for
hospitalization.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,

Section 122(3)c (16 Del.C. §122)(3)c, §7906)
16 DE. Admin. Code 4462

ORDER

4462 Public Drinking Water Systems

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”)
initiated proceedings to adopt Rules and Regulations
Governing Public Drinking Water Systems. The DHSS
proceedings to adopt regulations were initiated pursuant to
29 Delaware Code, Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed
by 16 Delaware Code Chapter 1, Section 122 (3) c.

On September 1, 2005 (Volume 9, Issue 3), DHSS
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice
of proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code,
Section 10115. It requested that written materials and
suggestions from the public concerning the proposed
regulations be delivered to DHSS by September 30, 2005, or
be presented at a public hearing on September 29, 2005, after
which time DHSS would review information, factual
evidence and public comment to the said proposed
regulations.

Written and verbal comments were received and
evaluated. The results of that evaluation are summarized in
the accompanying “Summary of Evidence.”

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as
set forth in the attached copy should be adopted in the best
interest of the general public of the State of Delaware. The
proposed regulations include modifications from those
published in the September 1, 2005, Register of Regulations,
based on comments received during the public notice period.
These modifications are deemed not to be substantive in
nature.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
Rules and Regulations Governing Public Drinking Water
Systems are adopted and shall become effective December
10, 2005, after publication of the final regulation in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, November 17,
2005

Summary of Evidence

A public hearing was held on September 29, 2005, in
the Emergency Preparedness Training Center, Suite 4-g,
Blue Hen Corporate Center, 655 S. Bay Road, Dover,
Delaware, before David P. Walton, Hearing Officer, to
discuss the proposed amendments to the Delaware Rules and
Regulations Governing Public Drinking Water Systems. The
announcement regarding the public hearing was advertised
in the Delaware State News, the News Journal and the
Delaware Register of Regulations in accordance with
Delaware Law. Mr. Edward Hallock, Program
Administrator, Office of Drinking Water, Division of Public
Health, made the Agency’s presentation. Attendees were
encouraged to discuss and ask questions regarding the
proposed amendments. One comment was made during the
public hearing and only two organizations (Artesian Water
Company, Inc. and U.S. EPA) submitted written comments
during the public comment period. Entities represented at the
public hearing included:

• City of Milford
• Asset Builders
• Delmarva Rural Water Association
• Sussex County
• Tuckahoe Acres Camping
• Kitts Hummock
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• Hercules/Research Center
• Dover Air Force Base
• Town of Milton
• United Water of Delaware
• Lewes Board of Public Works
• Perdue
• City of Wilmington
• Angola Crest
• Camden Wyoming Sewer & Water Authority

Comments Received with Agency Response

Section 2.12.1.6: Detailed as-built drawings are
typically finished following the completion of the project,
often after the need to begin operating a system. The
Division should consider a time limitation on the review of
these drawings, preferably one week, or accept red-line
markup drawings until formal as-built plans are completed
and submitted.

Agency Response: The Office of Drinking Water
(ODW) does accept red-line markup drawings. Approval to
operate will be granted if red-line markup drawings are
submitted.

Section 3.6.1: It needs to be noted that this Section
should apply to all persons collecting a water sample,
including Division personnel.

Agency Response: Division personnel, Office of
Drinking Water staff will be required to take and pass the
approved sampler/tester course and exam.

Section 4.2.2.5.6: Public notification language for
fluoride is contained under this paragraph and should be
contained within its own paragraph (4.2.2.5.7).

Agency Response: As a result of this comment, a new
Section (4.2.2.5.7) was added to the Regulation.

Section 4.3.5.7: This references paragraph 4.3.4.1 and
states that systems serving less than 10,000 persons may
forgo the requirement in said paragraph. However, paragraph
4.3.4.1 refers to the mandatory language that must be
included in each CCR. Is this correct or should it refer to
paragraph 4.3.5.1.1?

Agency Response: As a result of this comment, the
reference in Section 4.3.5.7 was corrected to indicate
4.3.5.1.1.

Section 6.1.3.1: This paragraph seems to indicate that
one sample that has a fluoride concentration of over 2.0 mg/l
is an automatic violation. This paragraph should include
language that requires a confirmation sample within 2 hours

of original analysis to ensure a violation of the fluoride MCL
has truly occurred.

Agency Response: Typically, the Office of Drinking
Water does require a confirmation sample before taking an
enforcement action. Depending upon the level of the
exceedence the ODW will work with the water supplier on
the need for public notification.

Section 8.2: One requirement that Delaware has that
the EPA does not have is that free-residual chlorine needs to
be at 0.3 milligrams per liter or higher at all taps. If you have
a very extensive system with a lot of dead legs, that is
virtually impossible to achieve. And it doesn’t look like
that’s been addressed in the changes in the Regulation. My
experience has been that in order to get that number up high
in some systems like ours, you need to waste an awful lot of
water, constantly flushing through some of the lesser used
buildings where those dead legs occur, which would be anti
water conservation.

Agency Response: The Office of Drinking Water
recognizes the issues involved in maintaining free available
chlorine residuals in large water distribution systems. We
will work with water systems on flushing plans and will take
into account the total coliform monitoring results. As long as
a system meets the requirements of the total coliform rule
and maintains best management practices the ODW will not
take an enforcement action for failure to maintain 0.3 mg/L
of free available chlorine at all parts of the distribution
system.

There were other grammatical, formatting and citation
corrections as a result of comments from the U.S. EPA and
Artesian Water Company. None of these corrections are
considered substantive in nature.

The public comment period was open from September
1, 2005 through September 30, 2005.

Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing
Officer’s record. The Delaware Attorney General's office
and the Cabinet Secretary of DHSS have approved this
regulation.

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is
not being published here. To obtain a copy, contact either
the Division of Public Health or the Registrar’s Office.

PDF Version (Adobe Acrobat Reader required)

HTML Version
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Case Record Maintenance and Retention

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services (DSS) initiated proceedings to
amend the language in the Division of Social Services
Manual (DSSM) as it relates to case record maintenance and
retention. The Department’s proceedings to amend its
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the October 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by October 31, 2005 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary of Proposed Change

Citation
Title 29 Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Subchapter I,

Public Records

Summary of Proposed Change
DSSM 1005: Changes the retention period for case

records for State and/or federally funded programs from
three (3) years to five (5) years.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response 
and Explanation of Changes

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional
Citizens (GACEC) and the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observation
summarized below. DSS considered each comment and
responds as follows:

SCPD
Although, SCPD recognizes that there may be some

negative aspects to longer retention periods (e.g. potentially
promoting overpayment inquiries several years after

provision of benefits), maintaining records for longer
periods should generally promote the quality and accuracy of
claims processing and program administration. Therefore,
Council endorses the proposed regulation.

GACEC
There are essentially two changes to the existing

regulations: 1) the standards would apply not only to DSS
but to DMMA as well; and 2) the current 3-year general
records retention period would be expanded to 5 years.

The GACEC endorses the proposed regulation.
Agency Response:  DSS thanks the Councils for their

endorsement.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the October 2005 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the language in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates to case record
maintenance and retention is adopted and shall be final
effective December 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, November 17,
2005

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-69
REVISION:

1005 Case Record Maintenance and Retention

Case records will contain important facts regarding
applicants for and recipients of DSS and DMMA services,
the dates that applications for benefits are filed and the dates
eligibility decisions are reached, the facts essential to
determining initial and continuing eligibility for financial
assistance, medical assistance, food stamps or other services,
the basis for terminating assistance or services, and
information regarding overpayments and claims.

The Division of Management (DMS) of the Department
of Health and Social Services, in discharging its fiscal
accountability, will maintain an accounting system and
supporting fiscal records adequate to assure that claims for
federal funds are in accord with applicable Federal
requirements.

The Division of Social Services and the Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance will maintain case records
for its State and/or federally funded programs for a period of
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three (3) years five (5) years subject to the following
qualifications:

a) The three-year five-year retention period starts
from the date of termination of cash assistance benefits.

b) The records will be retained beyond the three
(3) year five (5) year period if the Division has been notified
of a pending audit.

c) Records of non-expendable property which
was acquired with Federal grant funds shall be retained by
the State Office for three (3) years five (5) years after final
disposition of such property.

d) Any papers (forms or correspondence) in an
active record which are more than four (4) calendar years old
may be destroyed on site with the permission of the unit
supervisor who has possession of the record. In destroying
such papers, care should be taken not to destroy records of
permanent value such as birth certificates, deeds, trusts,
contracts, or other records of value. The following are
examples of forms which may be destroyed on site:

Cash Assistance and Food Stamp budget sheets; Bank
forms or statements; Wage forms or stubs; Shelter
statements, bills, or receipts; Duplicate forms, letters, etc.
Note: Information needed to substantiate outstanding
overpayments cannot be destroyed.

Cases that are under investigation by the Department of
Justice (DOJ) or that have outstanding overpayments will be
retained beyond the three-year period and will remain intact
until the investigation and subsequent legal action is
complete or the overpayment is filed. Case files that have
been referred to DOJ for prosecution are so indicated with a
file copy of the Criminal Justice Report.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

7 DE Admin. Code 7410, 7411
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,

Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Order No. 2005-W-0038

7410 TMDLs for the Naamans Creek Watersheds
7411 TMDLs for Shellpot Creek, Delaware

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (“Department” or “DNREC”) under 29 Del.C.

§§8001 et seq., 29 Del.C. §§10111 et seq. and 7 Del.C.
§6010 (a), the following findings, reasons and conclusions
are entered as an Order of the Secretary in the above-
referenced rulemaking proceeding.

Based on the record, including the public hearing record
reviewed in the November 10, 2005, Hearing Officer’s
Report (“Report”), attached as Appendix A, I find that the
proposed regulation is well supported and is not arbitrary or
capricious. The Report reviews and summarizes the public
hearing record, which was developed at the September 7,
2005, public hearing. The Report recommends approval of
the proposed regulation as a final regulation without
modification. I agree with the Report and adopt it as part of
this Order along with its reasons.

The proposed regulation is based upon sound scientific
evidence, is consistent with state and federal law, and is a
reasoned regulation that will result in improved water quality
within the two watersheds. The improvements will occur
through the Total Maximum Daily Loads (“TMDLs”), which
will require nonpoint sources to reduce or cap nitrogen,
phosphorous and bacteria loads. The TMDLs will reduce
pollutants to levels that the Department’s experts have
determined are necessary to improve the quality within these
waters. The levels should meet the water quality standards
that the Department and the federal government have
determined are necessary to support the waters’ beneficial
uses. Thus, the establishment of these TMDLs for these
watersheds is part of a multi-step federal and state regulatory
process that will result in improved water quality for both
watersheds.

The Report discusses the comments submitted by the
Mid-Atlantic Environmental Law Clinic (“MAELC”). The
Report notes that these comments, if adopted, would result in
a significant delay in the establishment of any TMDLs. The
Report further states that the proposed regulation reflects a
reasonable regulation that should be approved now, as
opposed to later, because it represents a clear improvement
over not establishing any TMDLs. The proposed regulation
was the subject of considerable public outreach efforts,
including contacting interested persons when the process
was first approved. The public participation culminated in
the public hearing on the proposed regulation. The public
comments received during the hearing were excellent, but do
not convince me to change the prompt promulgation of the
proposed regulation as a final regulation because that will
improve the environment sooner than if the comments were
to be adopted.

The comments, if adopted, would require the
Department to undertake more studies, which would delay
the establishment of any TMDLs for a long time. Moreover,
the studies that the comments seek may result in no change
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 6, THURSDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2005

http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/default.htm


FINAL REGULATIONS 1003

to the conclusion supported in the present record. If the
studies do not change the conclusions, then the result would
be a considerable delay in the regulatory progress towards
cleaner waters in the two watersheds. The Department
considers it more important to move forward now and direct
definite pollution control steps now through establishing
well-supported TMDLs that will be in effect next month, as
opposed to possibly years from now. 

The Report also recommends that MAELC participate
earlier in the regulatory process. I agree and encourage the
early and often participation of MAELC and others in this
and other of the Department’s regulatory proceedings.

In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions
are entered:

1. The Department, acting through this Order of the
Secretary, adopts the proposed regulation as a final
regulation, as set forth in the Appendix B to the Report,
under 29 Del.C. §6010 (a) and pursuant to the federal Clean
Water Act, 33 U.S.C §1251 et seq. and the United States
Environmental Protection Agency’s regulations pursuant to
the Clean Water Act;

2. The issuance of the proposed regulation as a final
regulation will protect and improve the water quality of the
Shellpot Creek and Naamans Creek watersheds, as defined
by elevation maps, and allow Pollution Control Strategies to
be developed for them;
 3. The TMDLs that are approved by this Order were
developed consistent with the applicable law and regulatory
standards, and are adequately supported by expert technical
analysis; 

 4. The Department provided adequate public notice of
the proceeding and the public hearing in a manner required
by the law and regulations, held a public hearing in a manner
required by the law and regulations, and considered all
timely and relevant public comments in making its
determination;
 5. The Department’s proposed regulation, as
published in the August 1, 2005, Delaware Register of
Regulations, and set forth in Appendix B to the Report, is
adequately supported, not arbitrary or capricious, is
consistent with the applicable laws and regulations, and
should be approved as a final regulation to go into effect ten
days after its publication in the next available issue of the
Delaware Register of Regulations; and that;
 6. The Department shall provide written notice to the
persons affected by the Order, as determined by those who
participated in this rulemaking at either the public workshop
or at the public hearing, including participation through the
submission of timely and relevant written comments.

John A. Hughes, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental

Control

Date of Issuance:  November 15, 2005
Effective Date:    December 11, 2005

7410 TMDLs for the Naamans Creek Watersheds

1.0  Introduction and Background
1.1 Water quality monitoring performed by the

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) has shown that Naamans Creek is
impaired by high levels of bacteria and elevated levels of the
nutrients nitrogen and phosphorous, and that the designated
uses are not fully supported by water quality in the stream.

1.2 Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act
(CWA) requires states to develop a list (303(d) List) of
waterbodies for which existing pollution control activities
are not sufficient to attain applicable water quality criteria
and to develop Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for
pollutants or stressors causing the impairment. A TMDL sets
a limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged
into a waterbody and still protect water quality. TMDLs are
composed of three components, including Waste Load
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of
Safety (MOS).

1.3 DNREC listed the Naamans Creek on several of the
State’s 303(d) Lists and proposes the following Total
Maximum Daily Load regulation for nitrogen, phosphorous,
and Enterococcus bacteria.

2.0 Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation 
for Naamans Creek, Delaware

Article 1. The nonpoint source nitrogen load shall be
capped at the 2000-2004 baseline level. This shall result in a
yearly-average total nitrogen load of 228 pounds per day.

Article 2. The nonpoint source phosphorous load
shall be capped at the 2000-2004 baseline level. This shall
result in a yearly-average total phosphorous load of 13
pounds per day.

Article 3. The nonpoint source bacteria load shall be
reduced by 78%. This shall result in reducing a yearly-mean
bacteria load from 5.8E+10 CFU per day to 1.6E+10 CFU
per day.

Article 4. Based upon water quality model runs and
assuming implementation of reductions identified by
Articles 1 through 3, DNREC has determined that, with an
adequate margin of safety, water quality standards will be
met in Naamans Creek.
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Article 5. Implementation of this TMDL Regulation
shall be achieved through development and implementation
of a Pollution Control Strategy. The Strategy will be
developed by DNREC in concert with a Naamans Creek
Tributary Action Team, other stakeholders, and the public.

7411 TMDLs for Shellpot Creek, Delaware

1.0 Introduction and Background
1.1 Water quality monitoring performed by the

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (DNREC) has shown that the Shellpot Creek is
impaired by high levels of bacteria and elevated levels of the
nutrients nitrogen and phosphorous, and that the designated
uses are not fully supported by water quality in the stream.

1.2 Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act
(CWA) requires states to develop a list (303(d) List) of
waterbodies for which existing pollution control activities
are not sufficient to attain applicable water quality criteria
and to develop Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for
pollutants or stressors causing the impairment. A TMDL sets
a limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged
into a waterbody and still protect water quality. TMDLs are
composed of three components, including Waste Load
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of
Safety (MOS).

DNREC listed Shellpot Creek on several of the State’s
303(d) Lists and proposes the following Total Maximum
Daily Load regulation for nitrogen, phosphorous and
Enterococcus bacteria.

2.0 Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation 
for the Shellpot Creek, Delaware

Article 1. The nonpoint source nitrogen load from
the area south of Business Route 13 shall be reduced by 35%
(from the 2000-2003 baseline). This shall result in reducing
the yearly-average total nitrogen load from 19.2 pounds per
day to 12.5 pounds per day.

Article 2. The nonpoint source nitrogen load from
the area north of Business Route 13 shall be capped at the
2000-2003 baseline level. This shall result in a yearly-
average total nitrogen load of 89.4 pounds per day.

Article 3. The nonpoint source phosphorous load
from the area south of Business Route 13 shall be reduced by
35% (from the 2000-2003 baseline). This shall result in
reducing the yearly-average total phosphorous load from 2.0
pounds per day to 1.3 pound per day.

Article 4. The nonpoint source phosphorous load
from the area north of Business Route 13 shall be capped at

the 2000-2003 baseline level. This shall result in a yearly-
average total phosphorous load of 5.7 pounds per day.

Article 5. The nonpoint source bacteria load shall be
reduced by 74% from the 1998-2004 baseline level. This
shall result in reducing a yearly-mean bacteria load from
3.7E+10 CFU per day to 9.0E+9 CFU per day.

Article 6. The bacteria load from Wilmington CSO
31 shall be reduced by 28% from the 1998-2004 baseline
level. This shall result in reducing a yearly-mean bacteria
load from 5.4E+10 CFU per day to 3.9E+10 CFU per day.

Article 7. Based upon water quality model runs and
assuming implementation of reductions identified by
Articles 1 through 6, DNREC has determined that, with an
adequate margin of safety, water quality standards will be
met in Shellpot Creek.

Article 8. Implementation of this TMDLs
Regulation shall be achieved through development and
implementation of a Pollution Control Strategy. The Strategy
will be developed by DNREC in concert with a Shellpot
Creek Tributary Action Team, other stakeholders, and the
public.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
OFFICE OF THE STATE BANKING 

COMMISSIONER
Statutory Authority:  5 Delaware Code,

Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code §904

ORDER

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED the 4th day of November,
2005 that new Regulation 904 is adopted as a regulation of
the State Bank Commissioner. A copy of new Regulation
904 is attached hereto and incorporated herein by reference.
The effective date of new Regulation of 904 is December 11,
2005. This new regulation is adopted by the State Bank
Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware
Code.

New Regulation 904 is adopted pursuant to the
requirements of Chapter 11 and 101 of Title 29 of the
Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Notice of the proposed new Regulation 904 and its
text was published in the October 1, 2005 issue of the
Delaware Register of Regulations. The notice was also
published in the News Journal on September 23, 2005, and
in the Delaware State News on September 22, 2005. In
addition, the notice was also mailed to all persons who had
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made timely written requests to the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner for advance notice of its regulation making
proceedings. The notice, among other things, summarized
the proposed new regulation, invited interested persons to
submit written comments to the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner on or before November 4, 2005 and stated
that the proposed new regulation was available for
inspection at the Office of the State Bank Commissioner, that
copies were available upon request and that a public hearing
would be held on November 4, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. in the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner in Dover, DE.

2. One written comment concerning the proposed new
regulation was received prior to the November 4, 2005
public hearing. In a letter received on October 26, 2005,
Discover Bank stated that it strongly supported the adoption
of the regulation and requested clarification of the term
“certain products specified by the bank” in §2.1 of the
proposed regulation. The suggested interpretation of that
term is correct, and under that language, a bank is permitted
to specify products of the bank itself or an affiliate of the
bank. This conforms to a proposed interpretation by the
Federal Reserve Board of its equivalent regulation.

3. A public hearing was held on November 4, 2005 at
10:00 a.m. concerning the proposed new Regulation 904.
The State Bank Commissioner, the Deputy Commissioner
for Supervisory Affairs and a court reporter attended the
hearing.  No other persons attended the hearing. The State
Bank Commissioner and the Deputy Commissioner for
Supervisory Affairs summarized the proposed regulation for
the record.  No other comments were made or received at the
hearing.

4. After review and consideration, the State Bank
Commissioner hereby adopts new Regulation 904 as
proposed.

November 4, 2005
Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

904 Exceptions to Tying Restrictions
[5 Del.C. §929]

Effective Date: [December 11, 2005]

1.0 Purpose.
This Regulation authorizes certain conduct as

exceptions to the anti-tying restrictions of Section 929 of the
State Banking Code (5 Del.C. §929), pursuant to Section
929(f). These exceptions are in addition to those elsewhere
in Section 929.

2.0 Exceptions to statute.
Subject to the limitations of paragraph 3.0 of this

Regulation, a bank may:
2.1 Safe harbor for combined-balance discounts. Vary

the consideration for any product or package of products
based on a customer's maintaining a combined minimum
balance in certain products specified by the bank (eligible
products), if:

2.1.1 The bank offers deposits, and all such
deposits are eligible products; and

2.1.2 Balances in deposits count at least as much
as nondeposit products toward the minimum balance.

2.2 Safe harbor for foreign transactions.  Engage in any
transaction with a customer if that customer is:

2.2.1 A corporation, business, or other person
(other than an individual) that:

2.2.1.1 Is incorporated, chartered, or
otherwise organized outside the United States; and

2.2.1.2 Has its principal place of business
outside the United States; or

2.2.2 An individual who is a citizen of a foreign
country and is not resident in the United States.

3.0 Limitations on exceptions.
Any exception authorized pursuant to this Regulation

shall terminate upon a finding by the Commissioner that the
arrangement is resulting in anti-competitive practices. The
eligibility of a bank to operate under any exception
authorized pursuant to this Regulation shall terminate upon a
finding by the Commissioner that its exercise of this
authority is resulting in anti-competitive practices.
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GOVERNOR’S EXECUTIVE ORDERS
STATE OF DELAWARE

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-SIX

RE: Regarding Management of Labor Relations and
Administrative Proceedings in State

Government

WHEREAS, a responsive and adaptive government
helps promote the public interest by rationally managing its
workforce to assure accountability, efficiency and stability in
the provision of government services; and

WHEREAS, while the various Executive Branch
departments and agencies have different structures, histories
and missions, their goals are identical in the EEOC case
management and labor relations arena: efficient and effective
management practices that encourage employee productivity
and creativity, and produce workplace fairness and stability
at the lowest practical cost; and

WHEREAS, the provision of consistent and effective
labor-management relations requires that the Executive
Branch and its departments and agencies speak with one
voice to ensure a uniform employer position, high quality
management services, equitable treatment of employees, and
the ability to address issues in a timely and decisive manner;
and

WHEREAS, these goals can best be achieved by the
central management of labor relations and employment
related administrative proceedings by the Office of
Management and Budget,

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State
of Delaware, do hereby declare and order that:

1. The Office of Management and Budget shall
maintain the central managerial role over all administrative
proceedings relating to personnel matters (including equal
employment opportunity cases) and labor relations matters
in the Executive Branch, and shall represent the interests of
the Executive Branch and its departments and agencies.
Public and higher education agencies and the judicial branch
of government are urged to continue using the Office of
Management and Budget in an advisory role.

2. To manage this critical function effectively, the
responsibilities and duties performed by the Office of
Management and Budget are set forth herein as follows:

a. The Office of Management and Budget shall
exercise the authority and responsibilities reposed in it, or
any of its sections, by prior Executive Orders, policy
statements and directives;

b. The Office of Management and Budget shall
manage and conduct all collective bargaining negotiations
with employee organizations, including, after prior
consultation with the department or client agency, approving
management team members nominated by departments and
agencies. On behalf of the State, the Office of Management
and Budget shall approve and sign all collective bargaining
agreements and any other agreements or arrangements made
involving employee organizations that represent employees
subject to Executive Branch authority;

c. The Office of Management and Budget shall
manage and represent the Executive Branch and its
departments and agencies in labor arbitration, Public
Employment Relations Board, Department of Labor, Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission and other
administrative proceedings involving labor relations;

d. The Office of Management and Budget shall
provide policy direction and professional/technical expertise
on EEOC cases and labor relations issues;

e. The Office of Management and Budget shall
assist department and agency managers and human resource
representatives in maintaining consistency with the State’s
management policies and objectives, and adherence to
specified contractual terms, defined employee due process
rights and merit system requirements;

f. The decision whether to use any non-Office of
Management and Budget staff or outside representatives or
advisors, e.g., outside consultants or attorneys, to perform or
otherwise engage in any EEOC or labor relations activities
shall be made by the Governor’s Office, after consultation
with the Director of the Office of Management and Budget,
in compliance with relevant state laws, including 29 Del.C.
§2507; and

g. All departments and agencies shall notify the
Office of Management and Budget promptly of any
information requests or subpoenas involving any
administrative process or labor relations matter, including
contract negotiations and grievance arbitration proceedings.
Upon review and consultation with the affected department
or agency, the Office of Management and Budget shall
determine the appropriate response to all such requests and
non-court subpoenas. Where major policy and/or legal
considerations may be involved, the Office of Management
and Budget shall consult with the Governor’s Office and/or
the Department of Justice.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 6, THURSDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2005

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.shtml


GOVERNOR’S EXECUTIVE ORDERS1007
3. This Order shall be circulated by all cabinet
secretaries and agency heads to their relevant human
resource managers. Executive Order Number Forty-Five,
adopted by Governor Carper on April 30, 1997, is hereby
repealed.

APPROVED: November 8, 2005

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Advisory Council to the Division of SubstanceMs. Mary S. Wicks 10/12/2008
Abuse and Mental Health

Architectural Accessibility Board Mr. Nash M. Childs 10/12/2009
Mr. Francis J. DiSabatino, Jr. 10/12/2009
Ms. Deana M. Forrest 10/12/2009
Mr. Armando Liberti, Jr. 10/12/2009

Board of Chiropractic Gary B. Morgan, D.C. 10/24/2008

Board of Examiners in Nursing Home Ms. Virginia Gray 10/12/2008
Administrators

Board of Examiners of Private Investigators Ms. Mary L. McKenzie-Dantzler 10/24/2008
and Private Security Agencies Mr. P. Scott Wilson 10/24/2008

Mr. John F. Tharan, Sr. 10/24/2008

Board of Medical Practice Nasreen Khan, D.O. 9/12/2008

Child Death, Near Death and Stillbirth ReviewMs. Kathy A. Janvier 9/6/2008
Commission Ms. Lani L. Nelson-Zlupko 9/6/2008

Child Placement Review Board-Kent Ms. Gail L. Allen 9/6/2008
Ms. Candice B. Swetland 10/24/2008

Child Placement Review Board-New Castle Ms. Florence M. Alberque 10/12/2008
Ms. Helen Willauer 10/12/2008

Commission on State Surplus Real Property, The Honorable Jennifer W. Davis Pleasure of the
Chair Governor

Committee on Disposition of Unmarked Ms. Karen Rosenberg 10/14/2006
Human Burials

Council on Correction Ms. Rita Patrick 5/16/2006

Council on Housing Mr. Fernando N. Guajardo 9/5/2008
Ms. Constance C. McCarthy 9/5/2008

Council on Real Estate Appraisers Mr. Erik T. Painter 10/12/2008
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Council on Soil and Water Conservation Mr. Bangalore T. Lakshman 10/14/2008

Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Mr. Theodore P. Bobola, Jr. 10/24/2008

Delaware College Investment Plan Board Mr. A. Glenn Barlow, Jr. 10/14/2008

Delaware Commission of Veterans’ Affairs Mr. Richard E. Ennis, Sr. 10/26/2009
Mr. David Timberman 10/26/2009

Delaware Commission for Women Ms. Michele D. Allen 10/12/2008
Ms. Robin M. Fisher 10/24/2008
Ms. Muriel E. Gilman 10/12/2008
Ms. Valerie A. Lemoi 10/12/2008
Ms. Carol Ann Weisenfeld 10/12/2008

Delaware Greenways and Trails Council Ms. Lisa S. Lasher 10/24/2008

Delaware Health Disparities Task Force Darrin W. Anderson, Sr., Ph.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Lisa C. Barkley, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Timothy Barnekov, Ph.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Cedric T. Barnes, D.O. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Renee P. Beaman Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Timothy J. Constantine Pleasure of the
Governor

Keith Doram, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Mawuna Gardesey Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Helene Gladney Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Renata J. Henry Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Lolita Lopez Pleasure of the
Governor
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Delaware Health Disparities Task Force S. Monet Sifford-Wilson, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Anthony M. Policastro, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Jaime H. Rivera, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Debra Singletary Pleasure of the
Governor

Janice Tildon-Burton, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Kristen Williams Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware Health Disparities Task Force, Ms. Lisa Blunt-Bradley Pleasure of the
Co-Chair Governor

The Honorable John C. Carney, Jr. Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware Health Resources Board Ms. Teresa L. Dressler 10/12/2008

Delaware Institute of Medical Education and Anthony D. Alfieri, D.O. 10/14/2008
Research, Board of Directors

Developmental Disabilities Council Ms. Louann Vari 10/14/2011

Governor’s Council on Lifestyles and Fitness Mr. Darrin W. Anderson, Sr. 10/12/2007
Ms. Susan R. Weimer 10/12/2007

Interagency Coordinating Council Michael Gamel-McCormick, Ph.D. 10/18/2008

New Castle Vo-Tech Board of Education Ms. Arnetta McRae 10/14/2012

State Fire Prevention Commission Mr. Marvin C. Sharp 9/22/2011
Mr. Raymond Stevens 9/22/2006

Statewide Independent Living Council Ms. Anne Dunlap 10/24/2008
Ms. Melissa H. Shahan 10/24/2008

Sussex County Vocational-Technical School Ms. Teresa G. Carey 10/14/2012
Board of Education
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Tourism Advisory Board Barbara Benson, Ph.D. 10/24/2008
Ms. Norma Lee Derrickson 10/24/2008
Ms. F. Kay Wheatley 10/24/2008

Unemployment Compensation Advisory Mr. Harry Gravell, Jr. 10/14/2008
Council

Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Council Ms. Deborah A. Briddell 10/24/2008
for DVI Ms. Diana S. Erickson 10/24/2008

Worker’s Compensation Advisory Council Mr. John S. Bonk 10/24/2008
Mr. Lowell L. Groundland 10/24/2008
Mr. Clifford B. Hearn, Jr. 10/24/2008
Mr. George B. Heckler, Jr. 10/24/2008
Mr. A. Richard Heffron 10/24/2008
Mr. Joseph J. Rhoades 10/24/2008
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

Statutory Authority: 12 Delaware Code, 
Section 1154 (12 Del.C. §1154)

Technical Information Memorandum 2005-02
Legislation Passed During the First Session of the 143rd 

Delaware General Assembly

During the First Session of Delaware’s 143rd General
Assembly, ending June 30, 2005, fourteen (14) bills were
enacted of interest to or having an impact on Delaware
taxpayers and the state’s Division of Revenue. The subjects
of these bills range from the technological neutrality of the
Internet for taxation purposes (HB11) to a $10 million
earmark of Realty Transfer Tax revenues for the Farmland
Preservation Fund (HB229).

Legislation significant to Delaware’s Division of
Revenue has been summarized below and is divided into two
categories for retrieval ease: (I) legislation directly affecting
tax procedures and filing requirements for businesses and
individuals in the upcoming year; and (II) legislation
implementing broad policy changes with little to no affect on
tax-filing requirements for the upcoming year. 

Bills in their entirety may be viewed online through the
Delaware General Assembly website: http://
www.legis.state.de.us. 

This memorandum is intended for general notification
and explanation of recently enacted Delaware laws and
should not be relied upon exclusively in any pending or
future audit or judicial review of an individual taxpayer
ortransaction. Taxpayers are advised to consult the particular
bill, the Delaware Code, or Delaware regulations in all
matters conflicting with anypart of this memorandum.

Taxpayers with general questions about the application
of Delaware law andprocedures may call the Division of
Revenue Help Line at (302) 577-8200, orvisit the Division's
website at http://www.state.de.us/revenue where information
about tax topics and links to phone numbers for other
informationmay be found. 

(I) Legislation directly affecting tax procedures and filing 
requirements for businesses and individuals in the 

upcoming year: 

House Bill No. 56 
Introduced 02/04/05
Signed 07/12/05 

This Bill extends the period which a Delaware taxpayer
can apply for a tax credit in regards to research and
development expenses. This Bill also changes the timeline
for when the Director can approve a research and
development tax credit to 2010.

House Bill No. 163 
Introduced 05/04/05
Signed 06/30/05 

It is in the best interests of the people of the State of
Delaware to recognize and encourage the valuable service
contributed to their communities by the members of their
local fire, ambulance and rescue companies and their
auxiliaries.

In appreciation of that service, and to encourage active
membership in such companies and auxiliaries, this Act will
allow a non-refundable income tax credit of $400 for active
members of Delaware fire, rescues, and ambulance
companies, and their auxiliaries without requiring the proof
of expenditures in the performance of their service. Active
status of the members shall be verified annually by the
volunteer fire, ambulance or rescue service or their
auxiliaries. 

House Bill No. 220 
Introduced 06/09/05
Signed 07/12/05 

This Act creates a new Section establishing a Delaware
State Income Tax deduction to be credited to the Delaware
Juvenile Diabetes Fund through the Delaware Juvenile
Diabetes Foundation. 

House Bill No. 228 
Introduced 06/14/05
Signed 07/12/05 

This Act changes the total availability of Land and
Historic Resource credits to $5,000,000 per fiscal year. 

House Bill No. 264 
Introduced 06/21/05
Signed 07/07/05 

This Act amends statutes relating to the tax on
Headquarters Management Corporations. 

Section 1 of the Act makes the income tax rate for all
corporations and Headquarters Management Corporations
uniform.
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Section 2 permits Headquarters Management
Corporations that are members of an affiliated group to file
consolidated income tax returns.

Sections 3, 4 and 5 of the Act clarify that the credit
permitted under §2061 is intended as a credit against the tax
of a Headquarters Management Corporation for economic
development.

Section 6 of the Act provides an exception in
§2061(b)(2)b that is consistent with the exception in
§2061(b)(2)a.

Section 7 of the Act permits Headquarters Management
Corporations to combine the employment and expenditure
factors of multiple affiliated Headquarters Management
Corporations to earn tax credits under §2061 when a
consolidated return is filed.

House Bill No. 303 
Introduced 06/29/05
Signed 07/19/05 

This Act reduces General Fund business and
occupational gross receipts tax rates by 20% for all
categories of taxpayers except automobile manufacturers,
for which rates are reduced 25%. Further, the Act increases
the monthly exemption amount by $30,000 for all categories
except manufacturing. 

Senate Bill No. 25 
Introduced 01/27/05
Passed 03/22/05 

Sections 1 and 2 of the Act move the time for the
payment and delivery of all types of abandoned property to
the time the report is required. The new payment date will
provide for more time in and better information for budget
estimations. 

Section 3 of the Act will require holders to immediately
report and pay over property that would ordinarily be
payable to this State but which some other state might
require be paid to it because of some shorter dormancy
period or report period. 

Section 4 of the Act will permit, but not require, the
State Escheator to accept early custody of abandoned
property without ambiguity as to his authority to do so,
provided such property would eventually be paid over in a
subsequent year. Because of the timing of audits and other
economic efficiencies, holders often request the Director to
take custody of property that is not yet ripe for abandonment.
The interests of the owner in property paid over early are
also protected. 

Senate Bill No. 108 
Introduced 05/04/05
Signed 07/12/05 

This Bill will reduce the cost of certain occupational and
business licenses for certain persons 65 years of age or older
whose gross receipts from such licensed occupation or
business are less than $10,000 per year.

Senate Bill No. 227 
Introduced 06/29/05
Signed 07/12/05

Section 1 of the Act eliminates the requirement to file a
Delaware estate tax return for dates on which the federal
estate tax law does not allow a credit for state death tax
(currently 2005 through 2010). Under such circumstances, it
is not possible for a Delaware estate tax to be due. 

Section 2 eliminates the special lien on the gross estate
tax if the decedent dies on a date on which the federal estate
tax does not allow credit for state death taxes paid.

Section 3 eliminates the requirement of filing an
affidavit with the Register of Wills that no estate tax return is
required for decedent’s dying on such a date. 

Senate Bill No. 230 
Introduced 06/29/05
Signed 08/22/05

This bill establishes an earned income tax credit equal to
20% of the corresponding federal tax credit.

(II) Legislation implementing broad policy changes with 
little to no affect on tax-filing requirements for the 

upcoming year:

House Bill No. 11 
Introduced 01/11/05 Signed 02/07/05 
This Bill ensures technological neutrality by providing

that all Internet access is free from taxation, regardless of the
technology used.

Section 2 defines “Internet access” and includes
telecommunications, wireless and cable services to the
extent they are purchased, used, or sold by a provider of
Internet access to provide Internet access.

Sections 3 and 4 exempt the charges for Internet access,
as defined in Section 2 of the Bill, from the excise tax
imposed on telephone, wireless and cable providers in the
state. 

Section 5 of the Bill clarifies that the entire sales price
of bundled transactions, consisting of distinct and
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identifiable services which are sold for a single non-itemized
sales price but which are treated differently for tax purposes,
are subject to tax unless the provider identifies and allocates
the non-taxable portion from its books and records kept in
the ordinary course of business. 

House Bill No. 141 
Introduced 04/26/05
Signed 07/07/05 

This act eliminates the Sunset Provision of the law
passed in the 142nd General Assembly that permits
municipalities with a population greater than 50,000 to
impose a lodging tax. The provision would expire, without
this legislation, in July 2005.

House Bill No. 229 
Introduced 06/29/05
Signed 07/12/05

This act creates an annual earmark of $10 million in
Realty Transfer Tax revenues to the Farmland Preservation
Fund.

House Resolution No. 43
Introduced 07/01/05
Passed 07/01/05 

This resolution establishes a committee to review and
report Delaware's abandoned property laws and practices.
The committee is required to issue a written report of its
findings by January 31, 2006.

Patrick Carter
Director of Revenue
November 14, 2005
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly
meeting on Thursday, December 15, 2005 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF ELECTIONS FOR 
NEW CASTLE COUNTY

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD
Security and Integrity of the Absentee Voting Process

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 15 of the
Delaware Code, Section 5522 (b), the Department of
Elections for New Castle is proposing a regulation to ensure
the security and integrity of the procedures set forth in
Chapter 55 and that the counting process for absentee ballots
is not subject to improper influences.

Any person who wishes to submit written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed regulation shall submit
same to Howard G. Sholl, Jr, Deputy Administrative
Director, Department of Elections for New Castle County,
820 N. French Street, Suite 400, Wilmington, Delaware
19801 by December 30, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department analysis and the consideration of the
comments and written materials filed by other interested
persons.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Long Term Care Medicaid

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and
Medical Assistance (DMMA) / is proposing to amend rules

in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) used to
determine eligibility for medical assistance.  

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906,
New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by December 31, 2005. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD
Chronic Renal Disease Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid &
Medical Assistance (DMMA) / is proposing to amend rules
in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) used to
determine eligibility for the Chronic Renal Disease Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906,
New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by December 31, 2005. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

4202 Control of Communicable and Other Disease 
Conditions

These proposed regulations, "Regulations for the
Control of Infectious Disease," will replace by revision the
current "Regulations for the Control of Communicable and
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Other Disease Conditions," adopted August 2, 1984 and
most recently amended July 10, 2001.

In compliance with the State’s Administrative
Procedures ACT (APA – Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code), and under authority of Title 16, Chapters
1, 5 & 7 (sections enumerated above), Delaware Health and
Social Services is proposing amendments to the Regulations
for the Control of Communicable and Other Disease
Conditions and is seeking comments on these amendments.
A summary of amendments and amended regulations are
attached below.  Any person who wishes to make written
suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other
written materials concerning the proposed regulations must
submit same to David P. Walton, Office of the Director, Jesse
Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware
19901, by January 3, 2006.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulations will be based on the results of
the Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

4406 Home Health Agencies (Licensure)

The Office of Health Facilities Licensing and
Certification, Division of Public Health, Department of
Health and Social Services will hold a public hearing to
discuss the proposed Delaware Regulations for Home Health
Agencies on February 7, 2006 at 1:00 p.m., in the Public
Health Preparedness Training Center, Suite 4F, Blue Hen
Corporate Center, 655 S. Bay Road, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for
review by calling the following location:

Office of Health Facilities Licensing and
Certification

2055 Limestone Road, Suite 200
Wilmington, DE  19808
Telephone: (302) 995-8521

Anyone wishing to present his or her comments at this
hearing should contact Ms. Vanette Seals at (302) 995-8521
by February 6, 2006.  Anyone wishing to submit written
comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral testimony
should submit such comments by February 8, 2006 to:

David P. Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, Delaware 19901

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Authority on Radiation Protection

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING
4466 Radiation Technologists/Technicians (Certification)

The Authority on Radiation Protection will hold a
public hearing to discuss the proposed changes to the
Regulation for the Certification of Radiation Technologists/
Technicians.  This public hearing will be held on Wednesday,
January 4, 2006, at 5:30 p.m. in the Pritchett Conference
Room, Delaware Hospital for the Chronically Ill on DuPont
Highway, in Smyrna, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations along with a listing
of substantial changes are available for review by contacting:

Office of Radiation Control
Jesse Cooper Building
417 Federal Street
Dover, Delaware 19901
Telephone: (302) 744-4546

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700
by close of business Tuesday, January 3, 2006.  Anyone
wishing to submit written comments as a supplement to or in
lieu of oral testimony should submit such comments by close
of business Friday, January 6, 2006 to:

David Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Delaware Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) State Plan Renewal

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services
(DSS) is proposing to renew Delaware's eligibility status for
the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
program provided for in the enactment of the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of
1996 (PRWORA), (P.L. 104-193).  Copies of the entire plan
and all attachments are available upon request via mail or
fax.
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Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 by December 31, 2005.  Comments may also be
faxed to (302) 255-4454.  Additionally, Delaware’s TANF
State Plan can be viewed on the Department’s website at:

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/index.html.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) – 
Joint Custody

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services
(DSS) is proposing to amend the Division of Social Services
Manual (DSSM) as it relates to Joint Custody and TANF.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 by December 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Refugee Cash Assistance

Self-Employment Income Standard Deduction

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services
(DSS) is proposing to amend the Division of Social Services
Manual (DSSM) to implement a simplified way to calculate
self-employment income. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program and
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 by December 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Child Care Subsidy Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services
(DSS) is proposing to amend the Division of Social Services
Manual (DSSM) regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North
DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 by December 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Proposed Changes to the Department of Insurance’s 
Regulation Relating to Producer Continuing Education

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN
hereby gives notice of a proposed change to Department of
Insurance Regulation 504 relating to producer continuing
education. The Commissioner proposes to amend
Regulation 504 relating to Continuing Education for
Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and
Consultants.  The docket number for this proposed
amendment is 2005-207.

The two proposed changes to the regulation appear in
section 8 relating to the licensee’s responsibilities. The
required number of ethics credits is proposed to decrease
from four hours to three hours for each reporting period.
Licensees who are authorized to sell homeowners and/or
personal lines coverage will be required to complete two
hours of continuing education on flood insurance each
reporting period starting March 1, 2006.  The text of the
proposed amendment is reproduced in the December 2005
edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations.  The text
can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance
Commissioner’s website at: http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a
public hearing on the proposed changes.  Any person can file
written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data
or other materials concerning the proposed amendments.
Any written submission in response to this notice and
relevant to the proposed changes must be received by the
Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Tuesday,
January 3, 2006, and should be addressed to Deputy
Attorney General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department
of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904,
or sent by fax to 302.739.5566 or email to
michael.rich@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Proposed Changes to the Department of Insurance’s 
Regulation Relating to Defensive Driving Course 

Discount Automobiles and Motorcycles

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN
hereby gives notice of a proposed change to Department of
Insurance Regulation 607 relating to the defensive driving
course for automobiles and motorcycles.  The Commissioner
proposes to amend Regulation 607 relating to Defensive
Driving Course Discount Automobiles and Motorcycles

as a result of comments received in response to the original
publication of the proposed changes to Regulation 607.  The
docket number for this proposed amendment is 2005-140.

The new revised amendments will (1) eliminate the
proposed testing requirement for persons taking a defensive
driving course; (2) more clearly require that providers
offering an on line course will be required to assure that the
persons taking the course will meet the same time
requirements as those attending live classroom courses; (3)
clarify the requirements for live assistance for on line
courses; and (4) clarify the on line provider’s obligation to
assure the identity of the course taker.  The text of the
proposed amendment is reproduced in the December 2005
edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations.  The text
can also be viewed at the Delaware Insurance
Commissioner’s website at: http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
departments/documents/ProposedRegs/ProposedRegs.shtml.

The Department of Insurance does not plan to hold a
public hearing on the proposed changes.  Any person can file
written comments, suggestions, briefs, compilations of data
or other materials concerning the proposed amendments.
Any written submission in response to this notice and
relevant to the proposed changes must be received by the
Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Tuesday,
January 3, 2006, and should be addressed to Deputy
Attorney General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department
of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904,
or sent by fax to 302.739.5566 or email to
michael.rich@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Board of Electrical Examiners
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners in
accordance with 24 Del.C. §1406(a)(1) has proposed
changes to its rules and regulations to modify the continuing
education submission procedure.

A public hearing will be held at 9:00 a.m. on January  4,
2005 in the second floor conference room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board
Electrical Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at
the above address.  The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.
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The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Board of Pharmacy in accordance with
24 Del.C. §2509 has proposed changes to its rules and
regulations. Regulation 3.3 has updated the pharmacy
requirements to provide for more flexibility based on the
needs of the setting. Regulation 5.12  provides for
centralized prescription processing. Compounding is
permitted for office use by a practitioner in Regulation 5.13.
Regulation 13.0 relating to Nuclear Pharmacies has been
replaced.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed changes
on January 13, 2006 at 10:00 a.m. in the second floor
conference room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public
can offer comments.  Anyone wishing to receive a copy of
the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from
the State Board of Pharmacy, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at
the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulation at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
Board of Examiners of Speech/Language 
Pathologists, Audiologists & Hearing Aid 

Dispensers
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Board of Speech/Language Pathologists,
Audiologists, and Hearing Aid Dispensers, in accordance
with 24 Del.C. §3706(a)(1) has proposed changes to  its
rules and regulations.  Rule 9.3.1.8 is modified to require
disclaimers or limitations in advertising to be clear and
conspicuous and at least one half the type size used in the
offer.

A public hearing will be held at 2:00 p.m. on January
11, 2006 in the second floor conference room B of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.

Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware  Board of
Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists, and Hearing
Aid Dispensers, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building,
Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit
written comments may forward these to the Board at the
above address.  The final date to receive written comments
will be at the public hearing.
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